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DELAWARE REGISTER OF 
REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

6 DE Reg.  279 - 280 (09/01/02)

Refers to Volume 6, pages 279 - 280 of the
Delaware Register issued on September 1, 2002.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$120.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written
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evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,
no judicial review of a regulation is available

unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER 

OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
DATE           DATE        TIME

DECEMBER 1 NOVEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

JANUARY 1 DECEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

FEBRUARY 1 JANUARY 15 4:30 P.M.

MARCH 1 FEBRUARY 15 4:30 P.M.

APRIL 1 MARCH 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

Walter G. Feindt, Deputy Director; Judi
Abbott, Secretary; Sandra F. Clark,
Administrative Assistant; Jeffrey W. Hague,
Registrar of Regulations; Ruth Ann Melson,
Legislative Librarian; Deborah J. Messina, Print
Shop Supervisor; Kathleen Morris, Operations
Support Specialist; Alex W. Mull, Assistant
Registrar of Regulations; Deborah A. Porter,
Interim Supervisor; Lisa Schieffert, Research
Analyst; Victoria Schultes, Administrative
Assistant; Ted Segletes, Paralegal;  Don Sellers,
Printer; Thom Shiels, Legislative Attorney; Alice
W. Stark, Legislative Attorney; Marvin L.
Stayton, Printer; Rochelle Yerkes, Senior
Secretary.
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DELAWARE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
Sec. XVII, Ambulance Company’s Intent to Discontinue Service & Sec. XVII, Basic Life 

Support Data Assessment Committee..................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.    87 (Final)

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
Proposed Amendments to the Comprehensive Plan and the Water Code Relating to the

Operation of Lake Wallenpaupack During Drought Watch, Drought Warning and
Drought Conditions................................................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   476 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION (TITLE 24 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)

300 Board of Architects, Rules and Regulations............................................................. 6  DE Reg.   401 (Prop.)
  700 Board of Chiropractic...................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   270 (Final)

1000 Board of Pilot Commissioners.................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   231 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   635 (Final) 

1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies............. 6  DE Reg.   124 (Prop.
6  DE Reg.   637 (Final)

1800 Board of Plumbing Examiners................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   571 (Prop.)
2000 Board of Occupational Therapy, Rules and Regulations.......................................... 6  DE Reg.   270 (Final)

6  DE Reg.   410 (Prop.)
2500 Board of Pharmacy................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   480 (Final)
2600 Board of Physical Therapists, .................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   410 (Prop.)
2700 Board of Professional Land Surveyors..................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   271 (Final)
2900 Real Estate Commission........................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.       8 (Prop.)
2925 Real Estate Commission, Education Guidelines...................................................... 6  DE Reg.   272 (Final)

6  DE Reg.   516 (Final)
3300 Board of Veterinary Medicine.................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   273 (Final)

6  DE Reg.   575 (Prop.)
Public Service Commission

Regulations Governing Pay phone Service Providers &
Providers of Operator Services for Pay phones........................................................ 6  DE Reg.     65 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Forest Service Regulations............................................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   127 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   517 (Final)
6  DE Reg.   581 (Prop.)

Harness Racing Commission
Rules 6.2.9, 8.3.6, 8.7 and 10.2.7.4......................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   416 (Prop.)

Thoroughbred Racing Commission
15.0 Medication, Testing Procedures...................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   233 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   641 (Final)
15.0 Medication, Shock Wave Therapy.................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   585 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION  (TITLE 14 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)
275 Charter Schools....................................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.     13 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   273 (Final)

The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
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540 Driver Education..................................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   133 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   432 (Prop.)

601 School/Police Relations.......................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   434 (Prop.)
701 Unit Count.............................................................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.     74 (Final)
707 Salary Continuation: Operation Noble Eagle & Enduring Freedom...................................... 6  DE Reg.   398(Emer.)

6  DE Reg.   436 (Prop.)
1001 Participation in Extra-Curricular Activities.. ......  ............................................................... 6  DE Reg.     18 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   279 (Final)
1005 Membership in Fraternities and Sororities............................................................................ 6  DE Reg.   255 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   643 (Final)
1025 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association..................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   280 (Final)
1049 DIAA Definitions.................................................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   282 (Final)
1050 DIAA Sportsmanship............................................................................................................ 6  DE Reg.   284 (Final)
1051 DIAA Senior High School Interscholastic Athletics............................................................ 6  DE Reg.      6 (Errata)

6  DE Reg.   288 (Final)
1052 DIAA Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic Athletics 6  DE Reg.   304 (Final)
1053 DIAA Waiver Procedure....................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   282 (Final)
1054 DIAA Investigative Procedure.............................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   282 (Final)
1055 DIAA Appeal Procedure....................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   282 (Final)
1056  Recognition of Officials’ Association.................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   282 (Final)
1105 School Transportation........................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   256 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   643 (Final)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

301 General Regulations for Certification of Professional Public School Personnel.................... 6  DE Reg.   235 (Prop.)
1510 Issuance of Initial License..................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   251 (Prop.)
1511  Issuance & Renewal of Continuing License........................................................................ 6  DE Reg.   135 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   518 (Final)
1512 Issuance & Renewal of Advanced License........................................................................... 6  DE Reg.     77 (Final)
1513 Denial of Licenses................................................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   253 (Prop.)
1514 Revocation of Licenses......................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   254 (Prop.
1517  Certification Career & Technical Specialist......................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   140 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   523 (Final)
1540 Certification Science Teacher............................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.     19 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   319 (Final)
1541 Limited Standard Certificate for Middle Level Mathematics and Science and 

Secondary Science, Certificate for Middle Level Science...................................................... 6  DE Reg.     21 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   321 (Final)

1594 Delaware Administrator Standards............... ...... .......................................................... 6  DE Reg.     22 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   322 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Assisted Living Facilities, Regulations for............................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   525 (Final)
Criminal History Checks & Drug Testing for Home Health Agencies, Regulations for........ 6  DE Reg.   585 (Prop.)
Group Homes for Persons with Mental Illness, Regulations Pertaining to............................ 6  DE Reg.   266 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   323 (Final)
6  DE Reg.   654 (Final)

Nursing Homes Admitting Pediatric Residents, Regulations for........................................... 6  DE Reg.     79 (Final)
Regulations for Assisted Living Facilities.............................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   141 (Prop.)

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Clean Indoor Air Act Regulations.......................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   267 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   655 (Final)

Delaware Radiation Control Regulations.............. ......  ................................................... 6  DE Reg.     98 (Final)
EMS Pre-Hospital Advanced Care Directive Regulations..................................................... 6  DE Reg.   588 (Prop.)
Regulations for Adult Day Care Facilities.............................................................................. 6  DE Reg.     83 (Final)
Regulation for the Certification of Radiation Technologists/Technicians.............................. 6  DE Reg.     99 (Final)



CUMULATIVE TABLES

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 6, ISSUE 6, SUNDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2002

715

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

DSSM
3002   Time Limit, Temporary Welfare Program................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   155 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   528 (Final)
3008 & 3012 Dependent Children.......................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   337 (Final)
6103, Eligibility...................................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   592 (Prop.)
9007.1  Citizenship and Alien Status...................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   156 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   530 (Final)
9045   Maximum Allowable Resources.................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   158 (Prop.

6  DE Reg.   531 (Final)
9046, 9048, 9049 & 9051, Noncitizen Eligibility and Certification....................................... 6  DE Reg.   339 (Final)
9060  Income Deductions....................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   439 (Prop.)
9085  Reporting Changes........................................................................................................ 6  DE Reg.   441 (Prop.)
14600  Third-Party Liability................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   158 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   532 (Final)
14900  Enrollment in Managed Care...................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   533 (Final)
15160.1  Eligibility Determination......................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   534 (Final)
15200  Transitional Medicaid....................................... ......  ............................................ 6  DE Reg.     29 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   344 (Final)
15503  Screening Requirement............................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   534 (Final)
15505  Uninsured Requirement.............................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   535 (Final)
16110  Adult Expansion Population....................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   535 (Final)
16210  Limitations on Retroactive Coverage......................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   535 (Final)
16220.5  Enrollment in Managed Care-Special Requirement for Adult Expansion

Population........................................................................................................................ 6  DE Reg.   535 (Final)
16310.3  Adults....................................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   536 (Final)
16500.2  Procedures for Determining Eligibility.................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   536 (Final)
18200.2  Uninsured Requirement........................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   536 (Final)
25000  Children’s Community Alternative Disability Program (CCADP)............................ 6  DE Reg.   536 (Prop.)
Delaware State Plan for TANF............................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   525 (Final)

6  DE Reg.   442 (Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Inpatient Hospital Care Reimbursement Methodology

for Interim Payments....................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   593 (Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Transportation as an Administrative Expense...................... 6  DE Reg.   335 (Final)

6  DE Reg.   437 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.  570 (Errata)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Regulation 41, Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards.................................. 6  DE Reg.   437 (Prop.)
Regulation 80, Standards for Prompt, Fair & Equitable Settlement of Claims...................... 6  DE Reg.   593 (Prop.)
Regulation 86, Standards for Safeguarding Customer Information....................................... 6  DE Reg.   595 (Prop.)
Regulation 87, Use of Credit Information.............................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   597 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
DELAWARE SECURITIES ACT

600  Registration of Broker-Dealers....................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   461 (Prop.)
601  Registration of Broker-Dealer Agents............................................................................ 6  DE Reg.   461 (Prop.)
608  Registration Exemption for Certain Canadian Broker-Dealers...................................... 6  DE Reg.   463 (Prop.)
610  Examination Requirement.............................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   467 (Prop.)
700  Registration of Investment Advisors.............................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   467 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF INDUSTRIAL AFFAIRS

Clean Indoor Air Act Regulations.......................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   602 (Prop.)
Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board Regulations............................................................ 6  DE Reg.   605 (Prop.)
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR & WASTE MANAGEMENT

Waste Management Section
2002 Amendments to Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.................... 6  DE Reg.   106 (Final)
Delaware 2005 Rate-of-Progress Plan............................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   621 (Prop.)
Delaware Phase II Attainment Demonstration for the Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton

Ozone Non-attainment area...................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   628 (Prop.)
Reg. No. 3, Sec. 11, Ambient Air Quality Standards...................................................... 6  DE Reg.   609 (Prop.)
Reg. No. 24, Section 10, Aerospace Coatings................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   190 (Final)

6  DE Reg.   611 (Prop.)
6028, Reporting of a Discharge of a Pollutant or an Air Contaminant........................... 6  DE Reg.   661 (Final)

DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE

Shellfish Reg. S-63 Oyster Harvesting Seasons..................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   399 (Emer)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 23, Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Trip Limits; Seasons; Quotas.......... 6  DE Reg.     35 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   348 (Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No.24, Fish Pot Requirements.................................................................. 6  DE Reg.     35 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   350 (Final)
Wildlife & Non-Tidal Fishing Regulations

WR-2  Method of Take.................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   162 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   536 (Final)

WR-3  Federal Laws & Regulations Adopted................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   162 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   537 (Final)

WR-4  Seasons................................................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   163 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   537 (Final)

WR-7  Deer...................................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   163 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   538 (Final)

WR-14  Falconry............................................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   164 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   538 (Final)

WR-15  Collection or Sale of Nongame Wildlife............................................................ 6  DE Reg.   164 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.    539 (Final)

WR-16  Endangered Species........................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   165 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   539 (Final)

WR-17  Species of Special Concern................................................................................ 6  DE Reg.   165 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   539 (Final)

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

Delaware Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution......................................... 6  DE Reg.   474 (Prop.)
Total Maximum Daily Load (TDML) for Nutrients in the Appoquinimink Watershed......... 6  DE Reg.   350 (Final)
Regulations for Licensing Water Well Contractors, Pump Installer Contractors, Well

Drillers, Well Drivers, and Pump Installers.............................................................. 6  DE Reg.   165 (Prop.)
Shellfish Sanitation Regulations............................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.     36 (Prop.)

................................................................................................................................. 6  DE Reg.    350 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF STATE POLICE

Nonconsensual Towing Regulations....................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   206 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF HISTORICAL & CULTURAL AFFAIRS

Historic Preservation Tax Credit Program.............................................................................. 6  DE Reg.   108 (Final)

DEPARTENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Statewide Long Range Transportation Plan................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.    38 (Prop.)

6  DE Reg.   353 (Final)
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EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
DELAWARE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OFFICE

Co-Op Advertising Program................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   174 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   212 (Final)
6  DE Reg.   683 (Final)

Direct Grants Program............................................................................................................ 6  DE Reg.   176 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   685 (Final)

Matching Grants Program....................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   178 (Prop.)
6  DE Reg.   688 (Final)

Neighborhood Assistance Act Tax Credit Program Regulationq...........................................  6 DE Reg.   630 (Prop.)
GOVERNOR’S OFFICE

Appointments.......................................................................................................................... 6  DE Reg.   214
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

This emergency regulation is being promulgated to
amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to change drug-
pricing methodology, effective January 1, 2003.  Delaware
Health and Social Services (“Department”) must take this
action on an emergency basis as a cost containment
initiative.  The Department has determined that a threat to
the public welfare exists if is not implemented without prior
notice or hearing.  

Summary of Proposed Change:

Currently, Delaware reimburses pharmaceuticals using
the lower of:

• the usual and customary charge to the general
public for the product,

• the Average Wholesale Price (AWP) minus
12.9% plus a dispensing fee, or 

• a State-specific maximum allowable cost (DMAC)
and, in some cases, the federally defined Federal
Upper Limit (FUL) prices plus a dispensing fee.

The proposed State Plan Amendment (SPA) changes the
AWP methodology as follows:

• Brand name drugs:

• for traditional chain pharmacies and
independent pharmacies: AWP minus 16.32%
plus a dispensing fee per prescription

• for non-traditional pharmacies: AWP minus
24.32% plus a dispensing fee per prescription.

• Generic drugs for all pharmacies: Average of the
Average Wholesale Price (AAWP) minus 58% plus
a dispensing fee per prescription.

The dispensing fee remains the same.
The SPA also:

• clarifies terms used in the methodology process by
revising the definition of the Delaware Maximum
Allowable Cost (DMAC)

• provides definitions of traditional and non-
traditional pharmacies; and,

revises reimbursement limits and exceptions.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that these changes should be
made in the best interest of the general public of the State of
Delaware.  The Department will receive, consider, and
respond to petitions by any interested person for the
reconsideration or revision thereof.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
revision to the regulation be adopted on an emergency basis
without prior notice or hearing, and shall become effective
January 1, 2003.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS
11.13.02

Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the emergency regulation being promulgated. Underline type  indicates
new text.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Emergency Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10119, if an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires
the adoption, amendment or repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by 29 Del.C. §10115, then the following
rules shall apply:  (1)  The agency may proceed to act without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and
hearing that it finds practicable;  (2)  The order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation shall state in writing the reasons
for the agency’s determination that such emergency action is necessary;  (3)  the order effecting such action may be effective
for a period of not longer than 120 days and may be renewed once for a period not exceeding 60 days;  (4)  When such an order
is issued without any of the public procedures otherwise required or authorized by Chapter 101 of Title 29, the agency shall
state as part of the order that it will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested person for the reconsideration
or revision thereof; and  (5)  The agency shall submit a copy of the emergency order to the Registrar for publication in the next
issue of the Register of Regulations.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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DSS EMERGENCY ORDER REGULATIONS #02-48

REVISIONS:

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 14

State/Territory  DELAWARE

Reimbursement for pharmaceuticals:

Overview
The Delaware Medical Assistance (DMAP) program

will reimburse pharmaceuticals using the lower of 
• the usual and customary charge to the general

public for the product,
• the Average Wholesale Price (AWP) minus 12.9%

plus a dispensing fee, or
• Brand name drugs:

• for traditional chain and independent
pharmacies: AWP-16.32% plus dispensing fee
per prescription

• for non-traditional pharmacies: AWP-24.32%
plus dispensing fee per prescription

• Generic drugs for all pharmacies: AAWP-58% plus
dispensing fee per prescription

• a State-specific maximum allowable cost (DMAC)
and, in some cases, the Federally defined Federal
Upper Limit (FUL) prices plus a dispensing fee.

Entities that qualify for special purchasing under
Section 602 of the Veterans Health Care Act of 1992, Public
Health Service covered entities, selected disproportionate
share hospitals and entities exempt from the Robinson-
Patman Price Discrimination Act of 1936 must charge the
DMAP no more than an estimated acquisition cost (EAC)
plus a professional dispensing fee.  The EAC must be
supported by invoice and payment documentation.

Definitions:

Delaware Maximum Allowable Cost (DMAC) - The
DMAC payment limits will be calculated, for drugs selected
by the DMAP, by First Data Bank (FDB) under contract
with Delaware Medicaid using the following protocol.  

• All DMACs will be based on the direct prices.
• FDB will use the lowest of either Geneva Generic

or Rugby prices.  These are national generic
labelers/manufacturers that sell directly to
pharmacies.

• Prices for solid dosing forms will be based on a
package size of 100.  If that size is not available, the
next largest package size will be used.

• Prices for liquid products will be based on 120 ml

for over-the-counter (OTC) medications and 473 -
480 ml for legend products.

• All unit dose packaging calculations will be
eliminated.

• If neither identified labeler markets the product, the
median of all other HCFA rebate participating
sources will be used to establish a price.

Drugs are selected based on experience with charges
from pharmacies, which indicates that the product cost is
less than or equal to AWP minus 20%.

Additional medications will be added to the DMAC
program after general provider notification.

Delaware Maximum Allowable Cost (DMAC) - A
maximum price set for reimbursement when a single source
product has Average Selling Prices provided by the
manufacturer that indicates the AWP is exaggerated.  A
DMAC will also be established if a single provider agrees to
a special price.  Any willing provider can dispense the
product.

Federal Upper Limit (FUL) - The FUL is a federally
defined price and constitutes the upper limit of
reimbursement where a DMAC limit does not exist.

ATTACHMENT 4.19B
Page 14a

Limits - the maximum allowed using any of the state
methods for calculation ingredient costs.

Non-Traditional Pharmacy - long term care and specialty
pharmacies.

Traditional Pharmacy - retail independent and retail chain
pharmacies.

Reimbursement Policy:

• Pharmacy providers are free to dispense any
product they wish (within the limits of State and
federal laws governing pharmacies), but the DMAP
payment will not exceed the limits identified above.

• The limits apply to all drugs listed in Appendix B
(FUL/MAC listing containing the generic name and
upper limit/unit source) of the Pharmacy Provider
Manual, including brand and substitutes/generics.

• State DMAC/FUL limits do not apply to drugs in
unit dose packages

• The limits apply to all drugs that have a FUL or
DMAC.

• Medicaid reimbursement is limited to only those
drugs supplied from manufacturers that have a
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signed national agreement or an approved existing
agreement under Section 1927(a) of the Social
Security Act.  Restrictions in drug coverage are
listed on Page 5 Addendum of Attachment 3.1-A of
this Plan.

Exceptions:

Exceptions to the reimbursement limits can be made if a
physician certifies in his/her their own handwriting that a
specific brand is medically necessary. for a particular
recipient.  The medical necessity must be documented on a
FDA Med-Watch form based on the client experiencing an
adverse reaction.

• A check-off box is NOT acceptable.
• A notation of intent in the prescribing physician’s

own handwriting (such as, “brand necessary”,
“brand only”, dispense as written”) IS acceptable
(42 CFR §447.331).

• Phone-in prescriptions which qualify for an
exception must be followed by the proper
certification written by the prescriber.

• Faxed prescriptions must follow Board of
Pharmacy regulations.

When an exception exists and a pharmacist wishes to
override the limit due to the medical necessity of using the
brand name product, refer to the billing section of the
Provider Manual for instructions on the proper coding of the
claim.

If the pharmacist is not willing to accept the DMAP’s
DMAC/FUL payment when a prescription is received for a
brand name product with no substitutions permitted AND
the physician has not indicated that the brand is medically
necessary according to the above instructions, the
pharmacist should:

• contact the physician to obtain proper written
documentation, or

• refer the recipient to another pharmacy that may be
willing to fill the prescription for the DMAC price,
or, as a last resort,

• request full payment from the recipient for the
product.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

This emergency regulation is being promulgated to
reduce the number of nursing home patient health care
assessments, effective January 1, 2003.  Delaware Health
and Social Services (“Department”) must take this action on
an emergency basis as a cost containment initiative.  The
Department has determined that a threat to the public welfare
exists if is not implemented without prior notice or hearing.  

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED REVISION

This emergency regulation amends the Division of
Social Services Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to reduce the
number of nursing home patient health care assessments to
two times per year, effective January 1, 2003.
 

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that these changes should be
made in the best interest of the general public of the State of
Delaware.  The Department will receive, consider, and
respond to petitions by any interested person for the
reconsideration or revision thereof.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
revision to the regulation be adopted on an emergency basis
without prior notice or hearing, and shall become effective
January 1, 2003.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS
11.18.02

DSS EMERGENCY ORDER REGULATION #02-50

REVISION:

ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
PAGE 4

The Department will assign classes to nursing home
patients.  Initial classification of patients occurs through the
State's pre-admission screening program.  These initial
classifications will be reviewed by Department nurses within
31 to 45 days after assignment.  Patient classification will
then be reviewed on an ongoing 90-day basis twice a year.
Facilities will receive notices from the Department
concerning class changes and relevant effective dates.

1. In order to establish the patient classification for
reimbursement, patients are evaluated and scored by

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html


EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 6, ISSUE 6, SUNDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2002

721

Medicaid review nurses according to the specific amount of
staff assistance needed in Activity of Daily Living (ADL)
dependency areas.  These include Bathing, Eating, Mobility/
Transfer/Toileting.  Potential scores are as follows:

0 - Independent
1 - Supervision (includes verbal cueing and

occasional staff standby)
2 - Moderate assistance (requires staff standby/

physical presence)
3 - Maximum Assistance

Patients receiving moderate or maximum assistance
will be considered "dependent" in that ADL area.  Patients
receiving supervision will not be considered dependent.

Reimbursement is determined by assigning the
patient to a patient classifications based on their ADL scores
or range of scores.

Each patient classification is related to specific
nursing time factors.  These time factors are multiplied by

the 75th percentile nurse wage in each provider group to
determine the per diem rate for each classification.

2. Patients receiving an active rehabilitative/
preventive program as defined and approved by the
Department shall be reimbursed at the next higher patient
class.  For qualifying patients at the highest level, the facility
will receive an additional 10 percent of the primary care rate
component.

To be considered for the added reimbursement
allowed under this provision, a facility must develop and
prepare an individual rehabilitative/preventive care plan.
This plan of care must contain rehabilitative/preventive care
programs as described in a Department approved list of
programs.  The services must seek to address specific
activity of daily living and other functional problems of the
patient.  The care plan must also indicate specific six month
and one-year patient goals, and must have a physician's
approval.
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DELAWARE COUNCIL ON
POLICE TRAINING

Statutory Authority:  11 Delaware Code,
Section 8404(a)(5) (11 Del.C. 8404(a)(5))

The Council on Police Training (COPT), in accordance
with 11 Delaware Code Section 8404(a)(14) and 29
Delaware Code Section 10115 of the Administrative
Procedures Act, hereby gives notice that it shall hold a
public hearing on December 19, 2002 at 9:00 a.m. in the
conference room at the Delaware State Police Training
Academy, N. DuPont Highway, Dover, Delaware  19903.

The Council on Police Training will receive written
comments or oral testimony from interested persons
regarding the following regulation to amend the current
COPT regulation II-16 (Emergency Care & CPR Training).
The final date for interested persons to submit written
comments shall be the date of the public hearing.  Written
comments should be addressed to: Captain Gregory Warren,
State Police Headquarters, P.O. Box 430, Dover, DE  19903-
0430.

Anyone wishing to make written or oral comments who
would like a copy of the proposed regulation may contact the
COPT at (302) 739-5903, or write the above address.

PROPOSED REVISION

As authorized by 8404(a)(5): In order to retain
certification, all police officers in the State of Delaware must
receive recertification in Emergency Care every three years,
and recertification in C.P.R. annually from a certified
Council on Police Training or Delaware State Fire School

instructor.  The Chief of Police shall forward to the
Administrator, documentation of recertification for each
officer under his/her command within 90 days of the
anniversary of initial Emergency Care & C.P.R.
Certification.

All police officers in the State of Delaware shall have
successfully completed a First Responder course adhering to
the United States Department of Transportation curriculum
for First Responder courses as offered by the Delaware State
Fire School or as taught in a certified police training
academy by a credentialed medical services instructor.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF NURSING

24 Delaware Admin. Code 1900
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 1906(1) (24 Del. C. §1906(1)) 

The Delaware Board of Nursing in accordance with 24
Del.C. 1906(1) has proposed to amend Section 7.6
“Dispensing” of the Board’s Rules and Regulations.

This proposed rules and regulations specified the
limited extent to which licensed practical nurses are
authorized to engage in dispensing of medications.

A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, January
15, 2003 at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor Conference Room
A, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware.

Symbol Key
Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.

Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nat ure
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/nursing/index.shtml
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Anyone desiring a copy of the proposed change of the
Rules and Regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware
Board of Nursing, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon
Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE  19904, (302) 744-4516 or
744-4515.  Persons desiring to submit written comments on
the revised rules and regulations may forward these
comments to the above address.  The final date to receive
written comments will be January 15, 2003.

7.0 Standards of Nursing Practice
7.1 Authority “Standards of nursing practice” means

those standards of practice adopted by the Board that
interpret the legal definitions of nursing, as well as provide
criteria against which violations of the law can be
determined. Such standards of nursing practice shall not be
used to directly or indirectly affect the employment practices
and deployment of personnel by duly licensed or accredited
hospitals and other duly licensed or accredited health care
facilities and organizations. In addition, such standards shall
not be assumed the only evidence in civil malpractice
litigation, nor shall they be given a different weight than any
other evidence.

7.2 Purpose The purpose of standards is to establish
minimal acceptable levels of safe practice for the Registered
and Licensed Practical Nurse, and to serve as a guide for the
Board to evaluate safe and effective nursing care.

7.3 Standards of Practice for the Registered and
Licensed Practical Nurse

7.3.1 Standards related to the Registered Nurse.
7.3.1.1 The Registered Nurse shall conduct

and document nursing assessments of the health status of
individuals and groups by:

7.3.1.1.1 Collecting objective  and
subjective data from observations, examinations, interviews
and written records in an accurate and timely manner. The
data include but are not limited to:

7.3.1.1.1.1 Biophysical and
emotional status and observed changes;

7.3.1.1.1.2 Growth and
development;

7.3.1.1.1.3 Ethno-cultural, spiritual,
socio-economic and ecological background;

7.3.1.1.1.4 Family health history;
7.3.1.1.1.5 Information collected by

other health team members;
7.3.1.1.1.6 Ability to perform

activities of daily living;
7.3.1.1.1.7 Consideration of client’s

health goals;
7.3.1.1.1.8 Client knowledge and

perception about health status and potential, or maintaining
health status;

7.3.1.1.1.9 Available and accessible
human and material resources;

7.3.1.1.1.10 Patterns of coping and
interaction.

7.3.1.1.2 Sorting, selecting, reporting,
and recording the data.

7.3.1.1.3 Analyzing data.
7.3.1.1.4 Validating, refining and

modifying the data by using available resources including
interactions with the client, family, significant others, and
health team members.

7.3.1.1.5 Evaluating data.
7.3.1.2 Registered Nurses shall establish and

document nursing diagnoses that serve as the basis for the
strategy of care.

7.3.1.3 Registered Nurses shall develop
strategies of care based on assessment and  nursing
diagnoses. This includes, but is not limited to:

7.3.1.3.1 Prescribing nursing
intervention(s) based on the nursing diagnosis.

7.3.1.3.2 Initiating nursing
interventions through

7.3.1.3.2.1 Giving care.
7.3.1.3.2.2 Assisting with care.
7.3.1.3.2.3 Delegating care.

7.3.1.3.3 Identifying to the
identification of priorities in the strategies of care.

7.3.1.3.4 Setting realistic and
measurable goals for implementation.

7.3.1.3.5 Identifying measures to
maintain comfort, to support human functions and responses,
to maintain an environment conducive to well being, and to
provide health teaching and counseling.

7.3.1.3.6 Supervising the caregiver to
whom care is delegated.

7.3.1.4 Registered Nurses shall participate in
the implementation of the strategy of care by:

7.3.1.4.1 Providing care for clients
whose conditions are stabilized or predictable.

7.3.1.4.2 Providing care for clients
whose conditions are critical and/or fluctuating, under the
direction and supervision of a recognized authority.

7.3.1.4.3 Providing an environment
conducive to safety and health.

7.3.1.4.4 Documenting nursing
interventions and client outcomes.

7.3.1.4.5 Communicating nursing
interventions and client outcomes to health team members.

7.3.1.5 Registered Nurses shall evaluate
outcomes, which shall include the client, family, significant
others and health team members.

7.3.1.5.1 Evaluation data shall be
appropriately documented; and

7.3.1.5.1.1 Be communicated to the
client, family, significant others and appropriate members of
the health care team; and
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7.3.1.5.1.2 Used  as a basis for
modifying outcomes by reassessing client health status,
modifying nursing diagnoses, revising strategies of care or
prescribing changes in nursing interventions.

7.4 Standards of Practice for the Licensed Practical
Nurse

7.4.1 Standards related to the Licensed Practical
Nurse’s contributions to the nursing process.

7.4.1.1 The Licensed Practical Nurse shall
contribute to and document nursing assessments of the
health status of individuals and groups by:

7.4.1.1.1 Sorting, selecting, reporting,
and recording the data.

7.4.1.1.2 Collecting objective and
subjective data from observations, examinations, interview
and written records in an accurate and timely manner. The
data include but are not limited to:

7.4.1.1.2.1 Biophysical and
emotional status and observed changes;

7.4.1.1.2.2 Growth and
development;

7.4.1.1.2.3 Ethno-cultural, spiritual,
socio-economic, and ecological background;

7.4.1.1.2.4 Family health history;
7.4.1.1.2.5 Information collected by

other health team members;
7.4.1.1.2.6 Ability to perform

activities of daily living;
7.4.1.1.2.7 Consideration of client’s

health goals;
7.4.1.2 Licensed Practical Nurses shall

participate in establishing and documenting nursing
diagnoses that serve as the basis for the strategy of care.

7.4.1.3 Licensed Practical Nurses shall
participate in developing strategies of care based on
assessment and nursing diagnoses.

7.4.1.3.1 Contributing to setting
realistic and measurable goals for implementation.

7.4.1.3.2 Participating in identifying
measures to maintain comfort, to support human functions
and responses to maintain an environment conducive to
well-being, and to provide health teaching and counseling.

7.4.1.3.3 Contributing to setting client
priorities.

7.4.1.4 Licensed Practical Nurses shall
participate in the implementation of the strategy of care by:

7.4.1.4.1 Providing care for clients
whose conditions are stabilized or predictable.

7.4.1.4.2 Providing care for clients
whose conditions are critical and/or fluctuating, under the
directions and supervision of a recognized licensed authority.

7.4.1.4.3 Providing an environment
conducive to safety and health.

7.4.1.4.4 Documenting nursing

interventions and client outcomes.
7.4.1.4.5 Communicating nursing

interventions and client outcomes to health team members.
7.4.1.5 Licensed Practical Nurses shall

contribute to evaluating outcomes by appropriately
documenting and communicating to the client, family,
significant others and the health care team members.

7.5 Standards Related to the Registered and
Licensed Practical Nurse’s Competencies and
Responsibilities.

7.5.1 Registered and Licensed Practical Nurses
shall:

7.5.1.1 Have knowledge of the statutes and
regulations governing nursing and function within the legal
boundaries of professional and practical nursing practice.

7.5.1.2 Accept responsibility for competent
nursing practice.

7.5.1.3 Function as a member of the health
team:

7.5.1.3.1 By collaborating with other
members of the health team to provide optimum care, or

7.5.1.3.2 As an LPN under the
direction and supervision of a recognized licensed authority.

7.5.1.4 Consult with nurses, other health team
members and community agencies for continuity of care and
seek guidance as necessary.

7.5.1.5 Obtain instruction and supervision as
necessary when implementing nursing techniques.

7.5.1.6 Contribute to the formulation,
interpreting, implementing and evaluating of the objectives
and  policies related to professional and practical nursing
practice within the employment setting.

7.5.1.7 Participate in  evaluating nurses
through peer review.

7.5.1.8 Report unsafe nursing practice to the
Board and unsafe practice conditions to recognized legal
authorities.

7.5.1.9 Practice without discrimination as to
age, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, national origin, or
disability.

7.5.1.10 Respect the dignity and rights of
clients regardless of social or economic status, personal
attributes or nature of health problems.

7.5.1.11 Respect the client’s right to
privacy by protecting confidentiality unless obligated by law
to disclose the information.

7.5.1.12 Respect the property of clients,
their families and significant others. In addition to the
proceeding, the Registered Nurse shall:

7.5.1.13 Delegate to others only those
nursing interventions that those persons are prepared or
qualified to perform.

7.5.1.14 Supervise others to whom
nursing interventions are delegated.
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7.5.1.15 Retain professional
accountability for care when delegating.

7.5.1.16 Teach safe practice to other
health care workers as appropriate.

7.6  Dispensing
7.6.1  Definitions

7.6.1.1  “Dispense” - To deliver a medication
pursuant to a standing order. “Dispensing” means providing
medication according to an order of a practitioner duly
licensed to prescribe medication.  The term shall include
both the repackaging and labeling of medication from bulk
to individual dosages.

7.6.1.2  “Prescription label” - a label affixed to
every prescription or drug order which contains the
following information at  to a minimum.

7.6.1.2.1  A unique number for that
specific drug order.

7.6.1.2.2  The date the drug was dispensed.
7.6.1.2.3  The patient’s full name.
7.6.1.2.4  The  brand or established  name

and  manufacturer and the strength of the drug to the extent it
can be measured.

7.6.1.2.5  The practitioner’s directions as
found on the prescription order.

7.6.1.2.6  The practitioner’s name.
7.6.1.2.7  The initials of the dispensing

nurse.
7.6.1.2.8  The name and address of the

facility or practitioner from which the drug is dispensed.
7.6.1.2.9  Expiration date.

7.6.1.3  “Standing order” - An order written by
the practitioner which authorizes a designated registered
nurse or nurses to dispense prescription drugs to his/her
patients) according to the standards listed below.

7.6.2 Standards:
 7.6.2.1 Only registered nurses may assume
the responsibility of dispensing as defined in the Nurse
Practice Act. and delineated below.

7.6.2.2 The  medication must be prepackaged
by a pharmaceutical company or prepared by a registered
pharmacist. 

7.6.2.3 The nurse shall be responsible for
proper drug storage of the medication prior to dispensing.

7.6.2.4 The practitioner who originated the
prescription or drug order must be on the premises or he/she
or  their designated coverage shall be available by telephone
during the act of dispensing.

7.6.2.5 Once a drug has been dispensed it
shall not be returned for reuse by another or the same patient
in an institutional setting.

7.6.2.6 The nurse may not designate any part
of the dispensing function to any other individual who is not
licensed to dispense.

7.6.2.7 The dispensing nurse must assure

compliance to the state generic substitution laws when
selecting the product to be dispensed.

7.6.2.8 The nurse-dispensed prescription may
not be refillable; it requires the authority of the prescriber
with each dispensing.

7.6.2.9 A usage review process must be
established for the medicines dispensed to assure proper
patient usage.

7.6.2.10 All  dispensed drugs must be
labeled as defined above and dispensed in proper safety
closure containers that meet the standards established by the
United States Pharmacopoeia for stability.

7.6.2.11 Record keeping must include the
maintenance of the original written prescription of drug
order for at least three years, allow retrospective review of
accountability, and provide an audit trail. All dispensing
records must be maintained on site, and available for
inspection by authorized agents of the Board of Health,
Pharmacy, and Nursing.

7.6.2.12 The dispensing nurse shall
assume the responsibility of patient counseling of drug
effects, side-effects, desired outcome, precautions, proper
storage, unique dosing criteria, drug interactions, and other
pertinent data, and record evidence of patient education.

7.6.2.13 Conformance  to paragraphs G
through L are not  necessary if the original prescription was
dispensed by a pharmacist for that specific patient.

7.6.3 Medication modifications
7.6.3.1 A nurse may accept a change in the

dosage of a medication from a pharmacist who is acting as
an agent of the physician.

7.6.2 Authority to Dispense
7.6.2.1 Registered Nurses may assume the

responsibility of dispensing as defined in the Nurse 
Practice Act.

7.6.2.2 Licensed Practice Nurses may assume the
responsibility of dispensing as authorized by the Nurse
Practice Act and defined in these Regulations, Section
7.6.2.2.1., 7.6.2.2.2, and 7.6.2.2.3

7.6.2.2.1 Licensed Practical Nurses may
provide to a patient pre-packaged medications in accordance
with the order of a practitioner duly licensed to prescribe
medication where such medications have been pre-packaged
by a person with lawful authority to dispense drugs.

7.6.2.2.2 Licensed Practical Nurses, per
written order of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, advanced
practice nurse, or other practitioner duly licensed to
prescribe medication, may add the name of the client to a
preprinted label on a pre-packaged medication.

7.6.2.2.3 Licensed Practical Nurses in a
licensed methadone clinic may apply a preprinted label to a
pre-packaged medication.

7.6.3 Standards for Dispensing
7.6.3.1 All licensed nurses engaged in
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dispensing shall adhere to these standards.
7.6.3.1.1 The medication must be

prepackaged by a pharmaceutical company or prepared by a
registered pharmacist.

7.6.3.1.2 The nurse shall be
responsible for proper drug storage of the medication prior to
dispensing.

7.6.3.1.3 The practitioner who
originated the prescription or drug order must be on the
premises or he/she or their designated coverage shall be
available by telephone during the act of dispensing.

7.6.3.1.4 Once a drug has been
dispensed it shall not be returned for reuse by another or the
same patient in an institutional setting.

7.6.3.1.5 The nurse may not delegate
any part of the dispensing function to any other individual
who is not licensed to dispense.

7.6.3.1.6 The dispensing nurse must
assure compliance to the state generic substitution laws
when selecting the product to be dispensed.

7.6.3.1.7 The nurse-dispensed
prescription may not be refillable; it requires the authority of
the prescriber with each dispensing.

7.6.3.1.8 A usage review process must
be established for the medicines dispensed to assure proper
patient usage.

7.6.3.1.9 All dispensed drugs must be
labeled as defined above and dispensed in proper safety
closure containers that meet the standards established by the
United States Pharmacopoeia for stability.

7.6.3.1.10 Record keeping must include
the maintenance of the original written prescription of drug
order for at least three years, allow retrospective review of
accountability, and provide an audit trail.  All dispensing
records must be maintained on site, and available for
inspection by authorized agents of the Board of Health,
Pharmacy, and Nursing.

7.6.3.1.11 The dispensing nurse shall
assume the responsibility of patient counseling of drug
effects, side-effects, desired outcome, precautions, proper
storage, unique dosing criteria, drug interactions, and other
pertinent data, and record evidence of patient education.

7.6.3.1.12 Conformance to paragraphs
6 through 11 are not necessary if the original prescription
was dispensed by a pharmacist for that specific patient.

7.7  Delegation
7.7.1  Definitions

7.7.1.1  “Unlicensed Assistive Personnel” -
Individuals not licensed to perform nursing tasks that are
employed to assist in the delivery of client care.  The term
“unlicensed assistive personnel” does not include members
of the client’s immediate family, guardians, or friends; these
individuals may perform incidental care of the sick in private
homes without specific authority from a licensed nurse (as

established in 24 Del.C. §1921(a)(4) of the Nurse Practice
Act).

7.7.1.2  “Delegation” - Entrusting the
performance of selected nursing duties to individuals
qualified, competent and legally able to perform such duties
while retaining the accountability for such act.

7.7.1.3  “Supervision” - The guidance by a
registered nurse (RN) for the accomplishment of a function
or activity.  The guidance consists of  the activities included
in monitoring as well as establishing the initial direction,
delegating, setting expectations, directing activities and
courses of action, critical watching, overseeing, evaluating,
and changing a course of action.

7.7.1.4  “Accountability” - The state of being
accountable, answerable, or legally liable for actions and
decisions, including supervision.

7.7.2 Conditions
7.7.2.1  The following conditions are relevant

to delegation:
7.7.2.1.1  Only RNs  may delegate.
7.7.2.1.2  The RN must be knowledgeable

regarding the unlicensed assistive personnel’s education and
training and have opportunity to periodically verify the
individual’s ability to perform the specific tasks.

7.7.2.1.3  The RN maintains
accountability for determining the appropriateness of all
delegated nursing duties and responsibility for the delivery
of  safe and competent care.  Unlicensed assistive personnel
may not reassign a delegated act.

See 1 DE Reg. 1888 (6/1/98)
7.7.3  Criteria

7.7.3.1  The RN may delegate only tasks that
are within the scope of sound professional nursing judgment
to delegate.

7.7.3.2  Determination of appropriate factors
include, but are not limited to:

7.7.3.2.1  stability of the client’s condition
7.7.3.2.2  educational background, skill

level, or preparation of the individual
7.7.3.2.3  nature of the nursing act that

meets the following:
7.7.3.2.3.1  task is performed

frequently in the daily care of a client 
7.7.3.2.3.2  task is performed

according to an established sequence of steps
7.7.3.2.3.3  task may be performed

with a predictable outcome
7.7.3.2.3.4  task does not involve

ongoing assessment, interpretation or decision making that
cannot be logically separated from the task itself.

7.7.3.3  The RN must be readily available in
person or by telecommunication.

7.7.4  Exclusions
7.7.4.1  The following activities require
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nursing knowledge, judgment, and skill and may not be
delegated by the RN to an unlicensed assistive person. These
exclusions do not apply to Advanced Practice Nurses.

See 1 DE Reg. 1888 (6/1/98)
7.7.4.2  Physical, psychological, and social

assessment which requires professional nursing judgment,
intervention, referral, or follow-up;

7.7.4.3  Development of nursing diagnosis and
care goals;

7.7.4.4  Formulation of the plan of nursing care
and evaluation of the effectiveness of the nursing care
provided;

7.7.4.5  Specific tasks involved in the
implementation of the plan of care which require nursing
judgment, skill, or intervention, that include, but are not
limited to: performance of sterile invasive procedures
involving a wound or anatomical site; nasogastric, newly
established gastrostomy and jejunostomy tube feeding;
nasogastric, jejunostomy and gastrostomy tube insertion or
removal; suprapubic catheter insertion and removal;
(phlebotomy is not considered a sterile, invasive procedure);

7.7.4.6  Administration of medications,
including prescription topical medications; and

7.7.4.7  Receiving or transmitting verbal
orders.

* PLEASE NOTE:  AS THE REST OF THE REGULATIONS

WERE NOT AFFECTED THEY ARE NOT BEING REPRODUCED

HERE.

BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS

24 Delaware Admin. Code 3500
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 3506 (24 Del. C. §3506(a)(1)) 

Please take notice, pursuant to 29 Del.C. Ch. 101 and 24
Del.C. Ch. 35, the Delaware Board of Examiners of
Psychologists proposes the following amendment to Rule
7.2 of the Delaware Board of Examiners of Psychologists'
Rules and Regulations.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed
amendment to Rule 7.2 on January 6, 2003 at 9:00 a.m. in
Conference Room A of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver
Lake Blvd., Dover, Delaware.  The purpose of this hearing
will be to receive public comments on the proposed
amendment to Rule 7.2 in order that the Board of Examiners
of Psychologists  may vote to adopt, amend or reject said
amendment at its January, 2003 meeting.  

The Board will receive and consider input in writing
from any person regarding the proposed amendment to Rule
7.2.   Written comments should be submitted to the Board up

through and including the date and time of the hearing on
January 6, 2003 at 9:00 a.m., to Vicki Gingrich,
Administrative Assistant, at the Division of Professional
Regulation, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite
203, Dover, Delaware 19904-2467.  For copies of the
proposed amendment to Rule 7.2, please contact Ms.
Gingrich at the above address or by calling (302) 744-4500.

7.0  Supervised Experience
The types of supervision pertinent to licensure as a

psychologist or registration as a psychological assistant are
comprised of three types of supervisory experiences:

7.1  Predoctoral internship supervision as required by
doctoral programs in psychology. The predoctoral internship
consists of a minimum of 1,500 hours of actual work
experience completed in not less than 48 weeks, nor more
than 104 weeks.  At least 50% of the predoctoral supervised
experience must be in clinical services such as treatment,
consultation, assessment, and report writing, with at least
25% of that time devoted to face-to-face direct patient/client
contact.  No more than 25% of time shall be allocated for
research.

7.2  Postdoctoral supervision is required for initial
licensure as a psychologist. Postdoctoral experience must
consist of 3,000 1,500 hours of actual work experience.  This
experience is to be completed in not less than two years one
year and not more than three calendar years, save for those
covered under 24 Del.C. §3519(e).  For those individuals the
accrual of 3,000 1,500 hours of supervised postdoctoral
experience must take place within six calendar years from
the time of hire.  There is to be one hour of face-to-face
supervision for every 1-10 hours of clinical work.  This
experience shall consist of at least twenty-five percent and
not more than sixty percent of the time devoted to direct
service per week in the area of the applicant’s academic
training. “Direct service” consists of any activity defined as
the practice of psychology or the supervision of graduate
students engaging in activities defined as the practice of
psychology. Not more than 25% of this supervision can be
done by other licensed mental health professionals besides
psychologists.  

The purpose of the postdoctoral supervision is to
train psychologists to practice at an independent level.  This
experience should be an organized educational and training
program with explicit goals and a clear plan to meet those
goals.  There should be regular written evaluations based on
this program.  

7.3  Supervision of psychological assistants is required
at the frequency of one hour of face-to-face supervision for
every 1-10 hours of clinical work by the psychological
assistants, as required by Section 9 of the Rules and
Regulations.  An individual registered as a psychological
assistant may or may not be receiving supervision in pursuit
of independent licensure as a psychologist.

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/psychology/index.shtml
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7.4  A psychologist providing either postdoctoral
supervision or supervision of psychological assistants must
have been in practice for two years post licensure in this or
any other state without having been subject to any
disciplinary actions.  He/she must provide 24-hour
availability to both the supervisee and the supervisee’s
clients, or ensure that adequate alternative coverage is
provided in the supervisor’s absence. The supervising
psychologist shall have sufficient knowledge of all clients
including face-to-face contact when necessary and must be
employed or under contract in the setting where the clinical
service takes place and the supervision must occur within
that setting.

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)

* PLEASE NOTE:  AS THE REST OF THE REGULATIONS

WERE NOT AFFECTED THEY ARE NOT BEING REPRODUCED

HERE.

MERIT EMPLOYEE RELATIONS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, 
Section 5914 (29 Del.C. §5914)

Public Notice
Proposed Changes To 

State Of Delaware Merit Rules

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that on August 1, 2002,
pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5914 and 29 Del.C. ch. 101,
proposed changes in two (2) Rules in Chapter 10 of the Merit
Rules have been transmitted to the Merit Employee
Relations Board of the State of Delaware (“MERB”) from
the Director of the Office of State Personnel (“Director”).
The proposed changes, which the Director asserts have been
approved by both the Director and by the Statewide
Labor-Management Committee, would modify Merit Rule
No. 10.0230 and Merit Rule No. 10.0240.

The stated basis for the proposed changes are legislative
modifications of the Delaware Statutes governing State
Classified Service and the Merit Rules:

By 72 Del. Laws. c. 359, the provisions of 29 Del.C.
§5921 [relating to the appointment of the highest ranking
candidates] was modified by the Delaware General
Assembly by deleting the second sentence which read “The
rules shall not require the employing agency to interview
more than 1 person on such list.” and substituting in its place
a new sentence reading “These rules shall not require an
employing agency with less than 200 full time employees to
interview more than 1 person on such list.  If the employing
agency has 200 or more full time employees, the rules shall
require the employing agency to interview at least 5 persons
on such list.”

As a result of the legislative change, the Director has
proposed that Merit Rule No. 10.0230 be modified as
follows:

Rule No. 10.0230  Any candidate whose name
appears on a certified list may be considered to full
the vacancy for which the list was requested.
Agencies with 200 or more full-time employees
shall interview at least five candidates from the list
if there are at least five names on the list.  Agencies
with fewer than 200 full-time employees shall
interview at least one candidate from the list.  If
Should the list be is unsatisfactory, it may be
returned and subsequent new lists may be
requested, provided the reasons for rejection
accompany the returned list.

By 73 Del. Laws. c. 142, the provisions of 29 Del.C.
§5919 [relating to eligibility lists] was modified by the
Delaware General Assembly by deleting 29 Del.C. §5919 in
its entirety and replacing it with a new §5919 which reads:

The rules shall provide for the establishment of
eligibility lists for appointment and promotion.
Such lists shall include the names of successful
candidates in the order of their relative performance
in the particular examinations, except where such
lists contain fewer than 15 candidates, in which
case the names of the successful candidates may be
listed in alphabetical order.  Eligibility for
appointment from any such list shall continue for
not more than 3 years.  Vacant positions in pay
grades 1-4 will be filled by agency recruitment
efforts unless an eligibility list is required by
federal law for that position.

The Director has proposed the following change to
Merit Rule No. 10.0240 :

Merit Rule No. 10.0240  Eligibility lists must
be rank ordered in accordance with procedures
outlined by the Director.,except that if the number
of qualified candidates is less than 15, the In those
circumstances where there are no ranking
procedures in place and the number of qualified
candidates is equal to or fewer than the maximum
number to be certified, names may be certified in
alphabetical order. In those instances, the
appointing authority must shall be informed that the
list is in alphabetical order.

On January 9, 2003, the MERB will conduct a Public
Hearing on the proposed Merit Rule changes submitted by
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the Director.  The hearing will begin at 9:30 a.m. in the 2nd

Floor Conference Room of the Margaret M. O’Neill
Building, 410 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware.

The MERB will also receive and consider timely filed
written submissions from interested individuals and groups
concerning the proposed Merit Rule changes. The final date
for any such written submissions is the date set forth above
for the public hearing.  Any such submissions should be
mailed or delivered to the following address:

Merit Employee Relations Board
Margaret M. O’Neill Building, Suite 213
410 Federal Street
Dover, Delaware   19901

PLEASE NOTE pursuant to 24 Del.C. §5914, the
changes as proposed by the Director will shall become
final upon the completion of the public hearing, unless
rejected by a majority of the members appointed to the
Board.  Anyone wishing to obtain copies of the Director’s
written filing with MERB or to present oral comments at the
hearing should call Ms. Jean Lee Turner the Merit Employee
Relations Board at (302) 739-6772.

Chapter 10.0000 Certification

10.0100 Request for Certification
Whenever an appointing authority desires to fill a

position, a request for certification of eligibles shall be
completed following the procedure prescribed by the
Director.

10.0200 Certification of Eligibles
Upon receipt of a request for certification, the

appointing authority shall certify all names from layoff list
that exists for the class, names of former employees
approved for reinstatement, current employees eligible for
transfer and no more than 5 or 15% of the eligible
candidates, whichever is the greater number.

10.0210 If the appointing authority requests names
to fill more than one position, the number of names certified
shall be increased by twice the number of additional
vacancies.

10.0220 While an appointing authority is
considering names from a certified list, subsequent requests
may be received for certified lists using the same eligibility
register for other vacancies. The number of names on each
certified list will be determined in accordance with l0.02l0,
that is, the number of names shall be increased by two (from
the base of l5% or 5) for each prior outstanding vacancy
being considered from the same employment register.

l0.0230 Any candidate whose name appears on a
certified list may be considered to full the vacancy for which

the list was requested. Agencies with 200 or more full-time
employees shall interview at least five candidates from the
list if there are at least five names on the list.  Agencies with
fewer than 200 full-time employees shall interview at least
one candidate from the list.  If Should the list be is
unsatisfactory, it may be returned and subsequent new lists
may be requested, provided the reasons for rejection
accompany the returned list.

l0.0240 Eligibility lists must be rank ordered in
accordance with procedures outlined by the Director.,except
that if the number of qualified candidates is less than 15, the
In those circumstances where there are no ranking
procedures in place and the number of qualified candidates is
equal to or fewer than the maximum number to be certified,
names may be certified in alphabetical order.  In those
instances, the appointing authority must shall be informed
that the list is in alphabetical order.

10.0300 Residence
For tie breaking purposes, Delaware residents with

identical final scores will be placed on the certified list.

10.0400 Veteran's Preference
Veterans and disabled veterans, as defined in Chapter 2

or their unremarried widows, shall receive five (5) additional
and ten (10) additional points respectively upon successful
completion of an examination for initial appointment to State
employment only and that they may be required to present
proof of honorable discharge, and in the case of disabled
veterans, of disability.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Section 10103 (3 Del.C. §10103)

The Commission proposes to amend the Rules as
follows:  1)  amend Rule 13.01 to provide that owners who
are stabled on the licensee’s grounds and who have started a
horse may claim, and that an owner shipping in a horse may
claim a horse to replace a claimed horse, and to set forth the
procedure to obtain an open claiming license; and,  2) amend
Rule 13.16 to add a provision that a stable will lose its
claiming rights when eliminated by sale of horses or removal
from the grounds, and that an owner who claims a horse
under the rule is required to reinstate his eligibility to claim
under the rules.

The Commission issues these proposed rules pursuant to
3 Del.C. §10103 and 29 Del.C. §10115.  The Commission
will accept written comments from December 1, 2002
through December 30, 2002.  The Commission will hold a
public hearing on the proposed amendments on January 6,

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/thoroughbred/index.htm
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2003 at 11:00 a.m. at Delaware Department of Agriculture,
2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901. Written
comments should be submitted to John Wayne,
Administrator of Racing, Delaware Thoroughbred Racing
Commission, 2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901.

Part 13-Claiming Races

13.01  Owners Entitled:
In claiming races, any horse is subject to claim for its

entered price by any Owner in good standing who possesses
a valid/current Delaware license.

In claiming races, any horse is subject to claim for its
entered price by any Owner in good standing, who has
horses stabled on the Licensee’s grounds, and who has
started a horse at the race meeting at which the claim is
made.  An Owner may claim out of the race in which he first
starts a horse.  Owners shipping in from other stable areas
who have a horse claimed shall be allowed one claim to
replace the horse lost via claiming.  

A new Owner, i.e., an individual, partnership,
corporation or any other authorized racing interest who has
not held an Owner’s license in any racing jurisdiction during
the prior year, is eligible to claim by obtaining an “Open
Claiming License” from the Commission.

In order to obtain an open claiming license and file an
open claim, an individual must comply with the following
procedures:

(a) Depositing an amount no less than the
minimum claiming price of the intended claim at that meet
with the Horsemen’s Bookkeeper.  Such amount shall remain
on account until a claim is in fact made.  In the event of
withdrawal of such fund, any license issued hereunder shall
be automatically revoked and terminated.

(b) Securing an Owner or authorized racing
interest license by the Commission.  Such license will be
conditioned upon the making of a claim and shall be revoked
if no such claim is, in fact, made within thirty (30) racing
days after issuance or if the deposit above required is
withdrawn prior to completion of a claim.

(c) Naming a Trainer licensed by the Commission
who will represent him once said claim is made. 

See 5 DE Reg. 849 (10/1/01)

13.02 Claim by Agent:
A claim may be made by an authorized agent, but an

agent may claim only for the account of those for whom he is
authorized and registered as agent and the name of the
authorized agent, as well as the name of the Owner for
whom the claim is being made, shall appear on the claim
slip.
13.03 Claiming Own Horse Prohibited:

No person shall claim his own horse or cause his own
horse to be claimed, directly or indirectly, for his own

account.  No claimed horse shall remain in the same stable or
under the care or management of the Owner or Trainer from
whom claimed.

13.04 Limits on claims:
No person shall claim more than one horse from any one

race. No authorized agent, although representing several
Owners, shall submit more than one claim for any race.
When a stable consists of horses owned by more than one
person, trained by the same Trainer, not more than one claim
may be entered on behalf of such stable in any one race.  An
Owner who races in a partnership may not claim except in
the interest of the partnership, unless he has also started a
horse in his own individual interest.  An owner who races in
a partnership may claim in his or her individual interest if the
individual has started a horse in the partnership.  The
individual must also have an account with the horsemen's
bookkeeper that is separate from the partnership account.

See 2 DE Reg. 2043 (5/1/99)

13.05 Thirty Day Prohibition -- Racing Claimed
Horse:

A claimed horse shall not run for twenty days after
being claimed in a race in which the determining eligibility
price is less than twenty-five percent more than the price for
which the horse was claimed.  The day claimed shall not
count but the following calendar day shall be the first day,
and the horse shall be entitled to enter whenever necessary
so that it may start on the twenty-first day calendar following
the claim.  This provision shall not apply to starter
handicaps, allowance and starter allowance races.

See 5 DE Reg. 1710 (3/1/02)

13.06 Thirty Day Prohibition -- Sale of Claimed
Horse:

No horse claimed in a claiming race shall be sold or
transferred, wholly or in part, to anyone within thirty (30)
days after the day it was claimed, except in another claiming
race.  No claimed horse shall race elsewhere until sixty (60)
calendar days after the date on which it was claimed or until
after the close of the meeting at which it was claimed,
whichever comes first.  The day claimed shall not count, but
the following calendar day shall be the first day and the
horse shall be entitled to enter elsewhere whenever
necessary so the horse may start on the 61st calendar day
following the claim.  The Stewards shall have the authority
to waive this rule upon application, so as to allow a claimed
horse to race in a stakes race.  The Stewards may also permit
a horse claimed in a steeplechase or hurdle race to race
elsewhere in a steeplechase or hurdle race after the close of
the steeplechase program, if such a program ends before the
close of the meeting at which it is claimed.

Revised:  7/16/86
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13.07 Form of Claim:
Each claim shall be made in writing on a form and in an

envelope supplied by Licensee.  Both form and envelope
must be filled out completely and must be accurate in every
detail.

13.08 Procedure for Claim:
Claims must be deposited in the claim box at least ten

(10) minutes before post time of the race from which the
claim is being made.  No money or its equivalent shall be put
in the claim box.  For a claim to be valid, the claimant must
have, at the time of filing the claim, a credit balance in his
account with the Horsemen's Bookkeeper of not less than the
amount of the claim.

Revised:  8/15/95

13.09 Stewards' Duties:
The Stewards, or their designated representatives, shall

open the claim envelopes for each race as soon as the horses
leave the paddock en route to the post.  They shall thereafter
check with the Horsemen's Bookkeeper to ascertain whether
the proper credit balance has been established with the
Licensee and with the Racing Secretary as to whether the
claimant has claiming privileges at Licensee's meeting.

13.10 Conflicting claims:
If more than one valid claim is filed for the same horse,

title to the horse shall be determined by lot under the
supervision of the Stewards or their designated
representative.

13.11 Delivery of Claimed Horse:
Any horse that has been claimed shall, after the race has

been run, be taken to the paddock for delivery to the
claimant, who must present written authorization for the
claim from the Racing Secretary.  No person shall refuse to
deliver to the person legally entitled thereto a horse claimed
out of a claiming race and, until delivery is made, the horse
in question shall be disqualified from further racing.

13.12 Nature and Effect of a Claim:
Claims are irrevocable.  Title to a claimed horse shall be

vested in the successful claimant from the time the said horse
is a starter and said claimant shall then become the Owner of
the horse, whether it be alive or dead, sound or unsound, or
injured, during the race or after it.  A claimed horse shall run
in the interest of and for the account of the Owner from
whom claimed.

13.13 Prohibited Practices:
No person shall offer or enter into an agreement to claim

or not to claim or to attempt to prevent another person from
claiming any horse in a claiming race.  No person shall
attempt, by intimidation, to prevent anyone from running a

horse in any claiming race.  No Owner or Trainer shall make
an agreement with another Owner or Trainer for the
protection of each other's horses in a claiming race.

Rule 13.06 Rev. March 1976.

13.14 Invalidation of Claim:
Claims which are not made in keeping with the Rules

shall be void.  The Stewards may, at any time in their
discretion, require any person filing a claim to furnish an
affidavit in writing that he is claiming in accordance with
these Rules.  The Stewards shall be the judges of the validity
of the claim and, if they feel that a "starter" was nominated
for the purpose of making its Owner eligible to claim, they
may invalidate the claim.

13.15 Necessity to Record Lien:
Any person holding a lien of any kind against a horse

entered in a claiming race must record the same with the
Racing Secretary and/or Horsemen's Bookkeeper at least
thirty (30) minutes before post time for that race.  If none is
so recorded, it shall be conclusively assumed, for claiming
purposes, that none exists.

13.16  Claiming Privileges-Eliminated Stable:
If a person’s stable shall be eliminated within thirty (30)

racing days or less remaining in the current racing season,
and such person is unable to replace the horse(s) lost via a
claim by the end of the racing season, such person may apply
to the Stewards for an additional thirty (30) racing days of
eligibility to claim in the new race meeting as long as the
person owns no other horses at the start of the next race
meeting.

Should a stable at a meeting be eliminated by sale or
removal from the grounds, the right to claim is void.  After
claiming a horse under the conditions of this Rule, the
Owner shall be required to reinstate his eligibility to claim
pursuant to these Rules before being eligible to make another
claim.

See 1 DE Reg. 714 (12/1/97)

13.17 Claim Embraces Horse's Prior Engagements:
The engagements of a claimed horse pass automatically

with the horse to the claimant.

13.18 Caveat Emptor:
Notwithstanding any designation of sex or age

appearing on the racing program or in any racing
publication, the claimant of a horse shall be solely
responsible for determining the age or sex of the horse
claimed.

13.19 Racing Claimed Horse:
Repealed
See 2 DE Reg. 374 (9/1/98)
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See 5 DE Reg. 1710 (3/1/02)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

Educational Impact Analysis
525 Requirements for Vocational-Technical

Education Programs
530 Cooperative Education

535 Diversified Occupations Programs

A. Type Of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of The Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the

State Board of Education to amend regulations 525
Requirements for Vocational-Technical Education Programs,
530 Cooperative Education and 535 Diversified Occupations
Programs by adding regulations 530 and 535 to regulation
525 making one regulation instead of three.  Other
amendments include substituting the word “Career” for the
word “Vocational” (including the word “Vocational” in the
title of regulation 525) when applied to teachers and
programs and correcting the names of three student
organizations.  Language was also removed from Sections
2.1 and 2.11 that could have restricted the approval of certain
Career and Technical Programs in the regular high schools in
the state (required as per Section 264 of the 2003. Budget
Epilogue).  Additional amendments were made for clarity in
3.3. and 4.3 concerning the inclusion of training objectives
in each student’s training agreement and the ages and
signatures required for the State Work Permit for Minors.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulation corrects and clarifies
parts of the regulation thus making it more effective as a tool
for improving student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?  The amended
regulation seeks to standardize the quality of all career and
Technical programs in the state.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amended regulation does, indirectly through the Career and
Technical Education Program requirements, help to insure
the health and safety of career and technical education
students.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation
does not directly address a student’s legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level?  The amended regulation will
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation will not place any unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulation?  There must be
regulations in place in order to carry out state and federal
mandates for career and technical education.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no
additional cost to the State or to the local school boards of
compliance with the regulation.

525  Requirements for Vocational Career-Technical 
Education Programs

1.0 All Vocational Career-Technical Education Programs
shall meet the provisions of Delaware's State Plan for
Vocational Career and Technical Education and meet the
provisions of the content standards approved by the
Department of Education or, if there are no approved state
content standards, meet local program standards approved
by the Department of Education.

2.0 All local school districts and charter schools offering
that offer state approved vocational technical education
programs Career-Technical Education Programs shall:

2.1 Have the approval of the Department of Education

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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before implementing new programs.  New programs of a
similar nature may not be approved where enrollment may
compete with already existing programs.

2.2 Have adequate funding to support and sustain the
instructional program.

2.3 Employ teachers certified in vocational-technical
education program Career-Technical Education Program
areas.

2.4 Make provisions for meeting the unique needs of all
students.

2.5 Establish and maintain an active advisory
committee which includes labor and management personnel
to assist in the development and operation of the program.

2.6 Use present and projected labor market
information, available from the Delaware Occupational
Information Coordinating Committee, to determine the need
for new and continuing vocational-technical education
programs Career-Technical Education Programs.

2.7 Survey local business and industry to determine
their occupational needs and the availability of placement
and employment opportunities for program completers.

2.8 Survey the student population to determine their
occupational interests and needs.

2.9 Organize and financially support vocational career-
technical student organizations as integral components of
vocational-technical education programs Career-Technical
Education Programs in public schools that complement and
enrich instruction.  The following vocational career-
technical student organizations are affiliated in Delaware:

2.9.1 Business Professionals of America (BPA)
2.9.2 Technology Student Association (TSA)
2.9.3 Distributive Education Clubs of America

(DECA), an association of marketing students
2.9.4 Future Homemakers of America (FHA/

HERO) Family, Career and Community Leaders of America
(FCCLA)

2.9.5 The National Future Farmers of America
(FFA) FFA Organization

2.9.6 Vocational Industrial Clubs of America
(VICA) Skills USA/VICA

2.10 Integrate related academic content into
individual vocational-technical career-technical education
courses, and guide students through a course selection
process that supports the necessary academic preparation
required by the student’s career path and educational goals.

2.11 Schedule trade and industrial education
programs, when offered, for a minimum of two consecutive
periods a day or the equivalent, five days a week for two or
more years.  Trade and Industry programs are highly
specialized and are conducted in comprehensive vocational
technical school districts.  Any exception must be requested
in writing showing just cause, and be approved by the
Department of Education.

2.12 Establish no rules practices or regulations that

interfere with, prohibit or otherwise prevent students from
having the opportunity to learn about, enroll in and complete
a vocational-technical education program Career-Technical
Education Program in a Vocational-Technical School
District career-technical school district.

2.13 Use equipment and facilities comparable to
that used by local business and industry for which the
vocational-technical program Career-Technical Education
Program is preparing students.

2.14 Schedule Department of Education and
Delaware Advisory Council on Career and Vocational
Education program review and monitoring visits upon
request.

See 1 DE Reg. 1196 (2/1/98)

3.0 Cooperative Education Programs: Cooperative
Education provides senior Career-Technical Education
Program students with coordinated on-the-job training not
ordinarily available in the classroom.  During the student’s
senior year, employers may provide this on-the-job training
in occupations directly related to the Career-Technical-
Education Program in which the student is enrolled.  For the
purpose of granting credit during the school year two hours
of Cooperative Education Work Experience shall equal one
hour of instructional time.  In a summer Cooperative
Education Work Experience Program one-half unit of credit
shall be granted and shall be counted toward the units of
credit necessary for graduation.

3.1 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education
funding units the Career-Technical Education Program
Teacher or Career Guidance Counselor shall be provided
with a full class period, each day, for every fifteen (15)
students enrolled in the Cooperative Education Work
Experience Program in order to make quarterly visits to the
student’s place of employment to ensure coordination
between the classroom and the on-the-job experience.

3.2 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education
funding units the students shall; possess minimum
occupational competencies specified by the Career-
Technical Education Teacher Coordinator before being
placed in cooperative employment, be in their senior year
and be in a Cooperative Education Work Experience
Program that relates directly to the student’s current or
completed career-technical education pathway and be
supervised through on-site visits by an assigned Career-
Technical Education Program Teacher Coordinator or Career
Guidance Counselor.

3.3 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education
funding units the school shall have on file, for each student;
a training agreement that includes training objectives and is
signed by a parent or guardian, the employer, the student and
a representative of the district.  A State Work Permit for
Minors in accordance with State Department of Labor
regulations shall also be on file.



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 6, ISSUE 6, SUNDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2002

734

See 2 DE Reg. 111 (7/1/98)

4.0 Diversified Occupations Programs: Diversified
Occupations Programs provide students with coordinated
on-the-job training not ordinarily available in the classroom.
During the student’s junior and senior year, employers
provide this on-the-job training.  For the purpose of granting
credit during the school year, two hours of work experience
in a Diversified Occupations Work Experience Program
shall equal one hour of instructional time.  In a summer
Diversified Occupations Work Experience Program one-half
unit of credit shall be granted and that credit shall be counted
toward the units of credit necessary for graduation.

4.1 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education
funding units a Career-Technical Education Program
Teacher or Career Guidance Counselor shall be provided
with a full class period, each day, for every fifteen (15)
students enrolled in the Diversified Occupations Work
Experience Program in order to make on-site visits to the
student’s place of employment to ensure coordination
between the classroom and the on-the-job experience.

4.2 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education
funding units the students shall; possess minimum readiness
competencies as specified by the Career-Technical
Education Program Teacher Coordinator before being placed
in a Diversified Occupations Work Experience Program
employment situation, be in their junior or senior year and be
actively enrolled in a Diversified Occupations Work
Experience Program that meets for at least one class period
per week.

4.3 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education
funding units the school shall have on file, for each student;
a training agreement that includes training objectives and is
signed by a parent or guardian, the employer, the student and
a representative of the district.  A State Work Permit for
Minors in accordance with State Department of Labor
regulations shall also be on file.

See 2 DE Reg. 111 (7/1/98)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Amendment Of Certification Regulations 302, 304, 311, 
312, 313, 314, 1535, 1536, 1538

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested.
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board in cooperation and

collaboration with the Department of Education seeks the
approval of the State Board of Education to amend the
following regulations:

302 Certification Administrative – Superintendent
304 Certification Administrative – Assistant

Superintendent for Curriculum
311 Certification Administrative – Elementary

School Principal or Assistant Principal
312 Certification Administrative – Secondary

School Principal or Assistant Principal
313 Certification Administrative – Principal of a

School for Children with Disabilities
314 Certification Administrative – Principal or

Assistant Principal/Administrator of
Adult and Adult/Alternative Education

1535 Certification Administrative – Administrative
Assistant

1536 Certification Administrative – Director
1538 Certification Administrative – Supervisor

It is necessary to amend these regulations in order to
comply with changes in statute regarding the licensure and
certification of educators.  Further, by amending these
regulations, the number of regulations will be reduced from
nine to three, thereby furthering the goal of reducing the
number and complexity of regulations.

Regulations 311 Certification Administrative –
Elementary School Principal or Assistant Principal, 312
Certification Administrative – Secondary School Principal
or Assistant Principal, 313 Certification Administrative –
Principal of a School for Children with Disabilities, and 314
Certification Administrative – Principal of Assistant
Principal/Administrator of Adult and Adult/Alternative
Education will be amended by deleting them in their entirety
and replacing them with regulation 1530 Certification
Administrative – School Principal. This amended regulation
is aligned with the Delaware Administrator Standards and
acknowledges the core of skills and knowledge required for
school leaders.  The amended regulation also reflects current
research in school leadership and is consistent with leader
training and preparation programs being delivered and/or
developed in the State of Delaware.

Regulations 1535 Certification Administrative –
Administrative Assistant, 1536 Certification Administrative
– Director, and 1538 Certification Administrative –
Supervisor will be amended by deleting them in their
entirety and replacing them with regulation 1531
Certification Administrative – School Leader I.  This
amended regulation is aligned with the Delaware
Administrator Standards and acknowledges the core of skills
and knowledge required for school leaders.  The amended
regulation also reflects current research in school leadership
and is consistent with leader training and preparation
programs being delivered and/or developed in the State of
Delaware.  Further, the amended regulation acknowledges
the expanded skill and knowledge required at a broader level
than the school building level.
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Regulations 302 Certification Administrative –
Superintendent and 304 Certification Administrative –
Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum will be amended by
deleting them in their entirety and replacing them with
regulation 1532 Certification Administrative – School
Leader II.  This amended regulation is aligned with the
Delaware Administrator Standards and acknowledges the
core of skills and knowledge required for school leaders.
The amended regulation also reflects current research in
school leadership and is consistent with leader training and
preparation programs being delivered and/or developed in
the State of Delaware.  Further, the amended regulation
acknowledges the expanded and deeper skill and knowledge
required to exercise leadership as a chief school officer or
assistant.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulations help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulations address student
achievement by educational leaders support and lead
Delaware educators and establish and sustain positive
environments which encourage high student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulations help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education? The amended and
new regulations helps to ensure that all school administrators
hired to lead buildings or districts meet high standards for
certification.

3. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amended regulations address educator certification.
Regulations concerning high standards and appropriate
credentials and training for school leaders help to ensure that
all students’ health and safety are adequately protected.

4. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected? The amended
regulations address school leader certification, not students’
legal rights. Appropriate credentials and training for school
leaders will help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are
respected.

5. Will the amended regulations preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level?  The amended regulations will
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
makers at the local board and school level. By reducing the
number and complexity of the regulations, decision makers
at the local board and school level will have greater authority
and flexibility.

6. Will the amended regulations place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulations will not place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subjects to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?  The decision-making authority and
accountability for addressing the subjects to be regulated
rests with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration
and cooperation with the Department of Education, and with
the consent of the State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulations be consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulations will be consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulations?  14 Del. C. requires
that we promulgate these regulations.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended and new
regulations?  There is no additional cost to local school
boards for compliance with the regulations.

302 Certification Administrative - Superintendent
Effective July 1, 1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for the Superintendent and the general Assistant
Superintendent in all school districts.

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree plus thirty graduate

semester hours or a Doctor's degree from a regionally
accredited college or university and,

1.2 Experience
1.2.1 A minimum of three years of successful,

full-time elementary or secondary experience, at the
building-level, as a teacher or administrator and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 Graduate level coursework must include

the following areas:
1.3.1.1 Personnel Administration
1.3.1.2 Supervision/Evaluation of Staff
1.3.1.3 Curriculum Development and

Instruction
1.3.1.4 School Business Management
1.3.1.5 School Law/Legal Issues in Education
1.3.1.6 Human Resource Management
1.3.1.7 Organizational Management
1.3.1.8 Child or Adolescent Development, if

not taken at the undergraduate level.

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
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Standard License
2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a

period of three years, at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License as listed in 1.0.

2.1.1 Requirements listed in 1.1. and 1.2.
2.1.2 Within six semester hours as required in

1.3

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

304 Certification Administrative - Assistant
Superintendent For Curriculum

Effective July 1, 1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for an individual who is employed to be in charge of the
specialized areas of curriculum/program development within
a public school district.

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally

accredited college plus 30 graduate semester hours and,
1.2 Experience

1.2.1 A minimum of three years of successful,
full-time elementary or secondary experience, at the
building-level, as a teacher or administrator and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 A minimum of 18 semester hours of

graduate level coursework in Curriculum to include:
curriculum development, design, implementation and
evaluation and,

1.3.2 A minimum of 18 semester hours of
graduate level coursework in the area of administration, to
include one course in each of the following areas:

1.3.2.1 Supervision/Evaluation of Staff
1.3.2.3 School Business Management
1.3.2.3 School Law/Legal Issues in Education
1.3.2.4 Human Resource Management
1.3.2.5 Organizational Management
1.3.2.6 Personnel Administration
1.3.2.7 Child Development if not taken at

undergraduate level 1.2.1.8 Adolescent Development if not
taken at undergraduate level.

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License in 1.0.

2.1.1 Meets requirements specified in 1.1 and

1.2 and,
2.1.2 Within nine semester hours of meeting the

requirements in 1.3.1 and 1.3.2.

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

1532 Certification Administrative – School Leader II

1.0 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a standard
certificate for school district superintendents and assistant
superintendents, pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 1220.

2.0 The following shall be required for the Standard
Certificate for school district superintendents and assistant
superintendents.

2.1 Educational requirements
2.1.1 A doctoral degree in educational

leadership from a regionally accredited college, or
2.1.2 A master’s or doctoral degree in any field

from a regionally accredited college and successful
completion of a Delaware approved alternative routes to
certification program for school leaders/superintendents.
Until approval and implementation of an alternative routes to
certification program occurs, candidates completing the
standard certificate in accordance with 2.1.2 of this
regulation shall provide evidence of graduate course work in
the following areas, either as part of the master’s or doctoral
degree program or in addition to it.

2.1.2.1 Personnel Administration
2.1.2.2 Supervision/Evaluation of Staff
2.1.2.3 Curriculum Development and

Instruction
2.1.2.4 School Business Management
2.1.2.5 School Law/Legal Issues in Education
2.1.2.6 Human Resource Management
2.1.2.7 Organizational Management
2.1.2.8 Child or Adolescent Development, if

not taken at the undergraduate level.
2.2 Experience requirements

2.2.1 A minimum of five (5) years of
experience consisting of full-time  classroom teaching and/
or full-time school leadership experience at the building or
district level.

311 Certification Administrative - Elementary
School Principal Or Assistant Principal

Effective July 1, 1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for the principal of a building containing any combination of
grades K-8 designated as an elementary school, and is valid
for a principal of a middle level school.

1.1 Degree required
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1.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally
accredited college and,

1.2 Experience
1.2.1 A minimum of three years of successful,

full-time classroom teaching experience at the elementary
level or two years of elementary classroom teaching
experience, as specified, and a one-year internship in
Administration at the elementary level and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 Master's degree from a regionally

accredited college with an approved program in Elementary
School Administration and,

1.3.2 A minimum of three semester hours in
each of the following areas:

1.3.2.1 Child Development
1.3.2.2 Methods of Teaching Reading at the

elementary level
1.3.2.3 Methods of Teaching Mathematics at

the elementary level or,
1.3.3 Completion of any graduate program in

Elementary School Administration and,
1.3.4 A minimum of three semester hours in

each of the following areas:
1.3.4.1 Child Development
1.3.4.2 Methods of Teaching Reading at the

elementary level
1.3.4.3 Methods of Teaching Mathematics at

the elementary level or,
1.3.5 A Master's degree in any field and,
1.3.6 A  three-semester hour graduate level

course in each of the following areas:
1.3.6.1 Elementary School Administration
1.3.6.2 Supervision/Evaluation of Staff
1.3.6.3 Curriculum Development
1.3.6.4 School Business Management
1.3.6.5 School Law/Legal Issues in Education
1.3.6.6 Human Relations and

1.3.7 A minimum of three semester hours in
each of the following areas:

1.3.7.1 Child Development
1.3.7.2 Methods of Teaching Reading at

elementary level
1.3.7.3 Methods of Teaching Mathematics at

elementary level 
(The requirements specified in 1.3.1 and 1.3.2 and

1.3.3. may be met by previously taken undergraduate
coursework or through undergraduate or graduate level
coursework taken specifically to meet these requirements.)

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License:

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years, at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to

allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License in 1.0.

2.2 Master's degree from a regionally accredited
college and,

2.3 Meets requirements listed in 1.2 and,
2.4 Within six semester hours of the coursework

specified in 1.3.2 or 1.3.4 or 1.3.6 and 1.3.7.

3.0 Licenses that may be issues for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

312 Certification Administrative   Secondary School
Principal Or Assistant Principal

Effective July 1, 1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for the principal of a building containing grades 7-12
designated as a junior high school, high school, vocational
high school or a senior high school.  Valid for a principal of a
middle level school.

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally

accredited college and,
1.2 Experience

1.2.1 Minimum of three years successful,
full-time classroom teaching experience at the secondary
level or two years of successful, full-time secondary
classroom teaching experience and a one year internship in
School Administration at the secondary level and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 Master's degree from an accredited college

in an approved program for Secondary School
Administration; and

1.3.2 A minimum of three semester hours of
Adolescent Development, if not taken at the undergraduate
level or,

1.3.3 Completion of a graduate program in
Secondary School Administration and,

1.3.4 A minimum of three semester hours of
Adolescent Development, if not taken at the undergraduate
level or,

1.3.5 A Master's degree in any field and,
1.3.6 A three semester hour graduate level

course in each of the following areas
1.3.6.1 Secondary School Administration
1.3.6.2 Supervision/Evaluation of Staff
1.3.6.3 Curriculum Development
1.3.6.4 School Business Management
1.3.6.5 School Law/Legal Issues in Education
1.3.6.6 Human Relations
1.3.6.7 Three semester hours Adolescent

Development, taken at the graduate or undergraduate level.
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2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License:

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License as in 1.0.

2.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally
accredited college and,

2.1.2 Meets the requirements in 1.2 and,
2.1.3 Within six semester hours of the

completion of the coursework in 1.3.6.

3.0 Licenses that may be issues for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

313 Certification Administrative Principal Of A
School For Children With Disabilities

Effective July 1, 1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for a principal of a school for children with disabilities.

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally

accredited college and,
1.2 Experience

1.2.1 Three years of full-time, successful
classroom experience as a teacher of children with
disabilities, while holding a Standard License to teach
children with disabilities. Standard certification is limited to
these areas of special education:  LD, SED, MD, VI, HI, PI,
Autistic/Severely Disabled and combinations thereof and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 A Master's degree in any field from a

regionally accredited college; and
1.3.2 The individual shall meet the State of

Delaware's requirement for Standard certification as an
Elementary or Secondary School Principal; and

1.3.3 The individual shall hold, or be eligible to
hold a Standard License as a teacher of exceptional children
LD, SED, MD, VI, HI, PI, Autistic or Severely Disabled and
combinations thereof.

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years, at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License in 1.0.

2.1.1 Meets all requirements in 1.1, 1.2, 1.3.1
and,

2.1.2 Within six semester hours of meeting the

requirement in 1.3.2.

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

314 Certification Administrative - Principal Or Assistant
Principal/Administrator Of Adult And Adult/Alternative
Education

Effective July 1, 1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard
License. 

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally

accredited college and,
1.2 Experience

1.2.1 A minimum of three years of successful,
full-time or full-time/part-time experience in an adult
educational setting, working as an administrator,
coordinator, counselor or teacher.  One year of the three
years may be experience in an alternative education or
non-traditional educational setting, as long as the program is
regularly organized and supported by state/federal funding
and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 Completion of one course in each of the

areas listed below.   Coursework may be taken either within
or in addition to the Master's degree or as part of a
Department of Education pre- approved, in-service program
in adult education.  The total number of credits required,
independent of the type of course, is twenty-one semester
hours or its equivalent.

1.3.1.1 Adult Learning and the Adult Learner
1.3.1.2 Organization and Administration of

Adult Education Programs
1.3.1.3 Program Planning and Development

(Curriculum) in Adult Education
1.3.1.4 Program Evaluation in Adult

Education
1.3.1.5 Financial Management
1.3.1.6 Human Relations
1.3.1.7 Evaluation and Supervision of Staff
1.3.1.8 Legal Issues in Education

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years, at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License as listed in 1.0.

2.1.1 Master's degree from an accredited college
and,

2.1.2 Meets requirements of 1.2 and,
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2.1.3 Within six semester hours of meeting the
requirements in 1.3.
3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

1530 Certification Administrative – School Principal

1.0 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a standard
certificate for school principal, pursuant to 14 Del. C. §
1220.

2.0 The following shall be required for the Standard
Certificate for the principal of an elementary or intermediate
school, a middle school, a high school, a school for
exceptional students, or an adult education program.

2.1 Educational requirements
2.1.1 A master’s degree in educational

leadership from a regionally accredited college, or
2.1.2 A master’s degree in any field from a

regionally accredited college and a current principal
certificate from another state or a master’s degree in any
field from a regionally accredited college and successful
completion of a Delaware approved alternative routes to
certification program for school leaders.  Until approval and
implementation of an alternative routes to certification
program occurs, candidates completing the standard
certificate in accordance with 2.1.2 of this regulation shall
fulfill the following requirements.

2.1.2.1 A three semester hour graduate level
course in each of the following areas:  School
Administration (at the level to be initially assigned),
Supervision/ Evaluation of Staff, Curriculum Development,
School Business Management, School Law/Legal Issues in
Education, Human Relations, and Adolescent Development,
if not taken at the undergraduate level.

2.2 A minimum of three (3) years of full-time
classroom teaching experience at the level to be initially
assigned as a school principal or assistant principal, except at
the middle level, where the full-time classroom teaching
experience may be at any K-12 level.

1535 Certification Administrative - Administrative
Assistant

Effective October 11, 2001

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
1.1 Degree required

1.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally
accredited college and,

1.2 Experience
1.2.1 A minimum of three years of successful,

full-time classroom teaching experience, or three years of
administrative experience, and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation

1.3.1 Specific training or satisfactory experience
including an internship and/or fieldwork in the area in which
employed. 

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years, at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License in 1.0.

2.1.1 Master's degree from an accredited college
and,

2.1.1.1 Meets the requirements of 1.2 and,
2.1.1.2 Within six semester hours of meeting

the requirements as specified in 1.3.

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

See 5 DE Reg. 856 (10/1/01)

1536 Certification Administrative - Director 
Effective October 11, 2001

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for persons employed to be responsible for the
administration of specialized instructional areas.

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree plus thirty semester hours

of graduate level coursework from a regionally accredited
college(s) and,

1.2 Experience
1.2.1 A minimum of three years of successful,

full-time classroom teaching experience or,
1.2.2 A minimum of three years of successful,

full-time administrative experience in the specific area to be
directed, within a school system or,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 Master's degree plus thirty semester hours

of graduate level coursework from a regionally accredited
college(s) with a major in Educational Supervision and
Curriculum or Educational Administration or Educational
Leadership, or Human Resource Management; and Twenty-
one semester hours of graduate level coursework specific to
the area to be directed or,

1.3.2 Master's degree in any field plus thirty
semester hours of graduate level coursework from a
regionally accredited college(s) to include the following
graduate level coursework:

1.3.2.1 A minimum of twenty-one semester
hours of graduate level coursework specific to the area to be
directed and,

1.3.2.2 A minimum of twenty-one semester
hours of graduate level coursework in the area of
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administration, to include at least one course in each of the
following areas:

1.3.2.2.1 Curriculum Development
and Instruction

1.3.2.2.2 Supervision/Evaluation of
Staff

1.3.2.2.3 School Business
Management

1.3.2.2.4 School Law/Legal Issues in
Education

1.3.2.2.5 Human Resource
Management

1.3.2.2.6 Human Development (to
include child/adolescent development)

1.3.2.2.7 Organizational Management
(NOTE: Any of the requirements listed in 1.3.1. or 1.3.2

may be met by coursework taken either within or in addition
to the Master's degree plus thirty semester hours.)

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years, at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License in 1.0.

2.1.1 Master's degree plus thirty semester hours
of graduate level coursework from a regionally accredited
college; and

2.1.2 Meets all experience requirements in 1.2
and

2.1.3 Meets the Specialized Professional
Preparation requirement in the specialized area 1.3.2.1 and is
within six semester hours of meeting the administrative
coursework in 1.3.2.1.

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

See 5 DE Reg. 856 (10/1/01)

1538 Certification Administrative - Supervisor 
Effective October 11, 2001

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for persons employed to be responsible for the
administration of specialized areas.

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally

accredited college and,
1.2 Experience

1.2.1 A minimum of three years of successful,
full-time classroom teaching experience in the instructional
area to be supervised and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation

1.3.1 Master's degree from a regionally
accredited college with a major in Educational Supervision
and Curriculum and,

1.3.2 Fifteen semester hours of graduate level
coursework, specific to the area to be supervised or,

1.3.3 A Master's degree in any field from a
regionally accredited college with the following graduate
level coursework included within, or in addition to, the
degree:

1.3.3.1 A minimum of fifteen semester hours
of graduate level coursework in the area to be supervised
and,

1.3.3.2 A minimum of fifteen semester hours
of graduate level coursework in administration to include
one course in each of the following areas:

1.3.3.2.1 Curriculum Development
1.3.3.2.2 Supervision/Evaluation of

Staff
1.3.3.2.3 Human Relations
1.3.3.2.4 School Law/Legal Issues

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License in 1.1.

2.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally
accredited college; and

2.1.2 Meets all requirements in 1.2.
2.1.3 Within six semester hours of meeting the

specific coursework requirements in 1.3.1 and 1.3.2, or
within six semester hours of meeting the specific coursework
requirements in 1.3.3.1 and 1.3.3.2.

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

See 5 DE Reg. 856 (10/1/01)

1531 Certification Administrative – School Leader I

1.0 The following shall apply to the issuance of a standard
certificate for directors, supervisors, administrative
assistants, and managers in instructional areas, pursuant to
14 Del. C. § 1220.

2.0 The following shall be required for the standard
certificate for directors, supervisor, administrative assistants,
and managers in instructional areas.

2.1 A master’s degree in educational leadership from a
regionally accredited college, or

2.2 A master’s degree in any field from a regionally
accredited college and successful completion of a Delaware
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approved alternative routes to certification program for
school leaders. Until approval and implementation of an
alternatives routes to certification program occurs,
candidates completing the standard certificate in accordance
with 2.2 of this regulation shall fulfill the following
requirements;

2.2.1 A minimum of twenty-four semester hours
of graduate level course work, completed either as  part of
the master’s degree or in addition to it, in administration to
include at least one course in each of the following areas:
Curriculum Development, Supervision/Evaluation of Staff,
Human Relations, and School Law/Legal Issues and in the
area(s) to be supervised (may include courses in curriculum,
instruction, and/or methods) and,

2.3 A minimum of three (3) years of  full-time
classroom teaching experience at the K-12 level.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,
Section 203 (16 Del.C. §203)

Nature of the Proceedings

The attached regulations, "State of Delaware Birth
Defect Surveillance and Registry Program Regulations" are
being proposed in accordance with 16 Delaware Code,
Chapter 2.

The proposed regulations define birth defect reporting
requirements for health care providers in Delaware.  The
regulations also provide for reported birth defect data to be
compiled in a Statewide Birth Defects Registry.  The
Registry will be used to gather data to assist with
identification of risk factors, including environmental and
hereditary; assist in the investigation of causes and
prevalence; and assist in the development of strategies to
reduce the occurrence of, or prevent such defects.

Notice of Public Hearing

The Community Health Care Access Section, Division
of Public Health, Department of Health and Social Services
will hold a public hearing to discuss the proposed Delaware
Birth Defect Surveillance and Registry Program
Regulations.

The public hearing will be held on Friday, January 10,
2003 at 1:00 PM in the third floor conference room of the
Jesse Cooper Building, Federal and Waters Streets, Dover,
Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for

review by contacting:

JoAnn Baker, Community Health Care Access
Jesse Cooper Building
Federal and Water Streets
Dover, Delaware 19903
Telephone: (302) 744-4554

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at
this hearing should contact David Walton at (302) 744-4700
by Thursday, January 9, 2003.  Anyone wishing to submit
written comments as a supplement to or in lieu of oral
testimony should submit such comments by January 10,
2003 to:

David P. Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903-0637

BIRTH DEFECT SURVEILLANCE AND REGISTRY 
PROGRAM REGULATIONS

Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Chapter 2, Section 203

1.0 Purpose
1.1 Birth defects are one of the causes of infant

mortality and disabilities in Delaware.  A Birth Defects
Surveillance System, or Birth Defects Registry, will enable
the Department of Health & Social Services (DHSS),
Division of Public Health (DPH) to collect birth defects data,
to create a statewide registry, and to link surveillance with
tracking of individual children for the provision of services.

1.2 The purpose of the Birth Defects Registry is to
provide information to Public Health officials as to the
existence of previously unrecognized health and
environmental hazards, help prevent certain birth defects and
ultimately decrease the infant mortality rate. The Birth
Defects Registry will gather data to assist with identification
of risk factors, including environmental and hereditary, assist
in the investigation of causes and prevalence; assist in the
development of strategies to reduce the occurrence of, or
prevent such defects; and track and follow-up abnormal
newborn hearing screening results.

1.3 The usefulness of the data collected in the Birth
Defects Registry will depend upon the full and accurate
reporting of such defects by health care practitioners, health
care facilities, clinics and laboratories.

1.4 The Birth Defects Registry will be a component of
the Newborn Screening Case Management System,
including metabolic and hearing screening.  All results of
metabolic and hearing screens will become part of the
screening record.  Tracking and follow-up of incomplete and
abnormal cases will be followed by the Division of Public

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dph/index.htm
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Health Newborn Screening Program.

2.0 Definitions  The following words shall have the
meanings indicated:

"BIRTH DEFECT" means any structural or
biochemical abnormality, regardless of cause, diagnosed at
any time before or after birth, that requires medical or
surgical intervention or that interferes with normal growth or
development.  This includes abnormal newborn hearing
screening.  Reportable birth defects are listed in Appendix A
of these Regulations.

"DIVISION" refers to the Division of Public Health
under the Department of Health and Social Services.

"REGISTRY" means a central data bank containing
collected, classified, coded, and sorted data relating to
defects in children under age 5, reported by health care
providers.

"SURVEILLANCE" means the process of identifying
and investigating birth defects in children under age 5.

3.0 Reporting Requirements
The provisions of this section shall apply to the

Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of Public
Health, Birth Defect Registry:

3.1 The registry shall collect information on all births
after viability and any child under the age five (5) who is a
resident of the state of Delaware, or whose parent is a
resident of Delaware, and who is diagnosed at any time prior
to age five (5) as having a birth defect.  For the purposes
related to the registry the Division shall have access to any
medical record of the child that pertains to a diagnosed or
suspected birth defect.  Prenatal information on the birth
mother may be obtained with prior consent.

3.2 Any diagnosed birth defects shall be reported for all
infants and children up to age 5, including those who have
since died (if the data is still available).

3.3 For purposes of these reporting requirements,
reportable diagnoses are those diagnoses, from the
International Classification of Diseases (ICD), as listed in
Appendix A of these regulations.  The reportable diagnoses
listed in Appendix A may be revised, upon notice, to reflect
changes in publications accepted for use by the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention or State.

3.4 The following persons and organizations are
required to report occurrences of birth defects within 30 days
of diagnosis to the Division of Public Health.

3.4.1 Any physician, surgeon, dentist, podiatrist,
certified nurse midwife, or other health care practitioner who
diagnoses or provides treatment, or both, for a child under
age 5 with birth defects who is not known to be previously
reported;

3.4.2 The designated representative of any
clinical laboratory that performs any test which identifies a
child or children under age 5 with birth defects not known to

be previously reported; and
3.4.3 The designated representative of any

hospital, dispensary, clinic, or other similar public or private
institution that diagnoses or provides treatment, or both, for a
child or children under age 5 with birth defects.

3.4 The administrative officer of every health care
facility shall be responsible for establishing reporting
procedures at that facility, using the identified Birth Defect
Registry reporting form.  Reporting procedures must ensure
that each infant initially diagnosed as having a birth defect
shall be reported to the Division.  Any presumptive or actual
diagnosis in a child up to the age of 5 must be reported to the
Division.

3.5 Reporting sources shall complete the Division of
Public Health Birth Defects Surveillance Form for each
reported case, and forward the completed form to the
Division of Public Health Director or designee.

4.0 Confidentiality of Reports
4.1 No report of a diagnosis or treatment of a birth

defect shall be disclosed in such a way as to identify the
child who is the subject of the report, or as to identify the
child's family.  However, patient-identifying information
may be exchanged among authorized agencies as approved
by the Department and upon receipt by the Department of
satisfactory assurances by those agencies of the preservation
of the confidentiality of such information.  Agencies will
maintain the confidentiality of any information exchanged
for the purpose of delivery of program services, evaluation,
early intervention and epidemiological investigation.

4.2 No individual or organization providing
information pursuant to these regulations shall be held liable
for divulging such information to the Division.

5.0 Penalties
Any person or organization required to report the

diagnosis or treatment of a birth defect pursuant to these
regulations, and who violates these regulations, shall be
subject to a fine of up to $100 for each violation, pursuant to
16 Del.C. Sec. 206.  Justices of the Peace Courts have
jurisdiction over such violations.

6.0 Severability
In the event any particular clause or section of the

regulations should be declared invalid or unconstitutional by
any court of competent jurisdiction, the remaining portions
shall remain in full force and effective.

APPENDIX A
October 2002

DELAWARE BIRTH DEFECTS REGISTRY 
REPORTABLE DIAGNOSES
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Broad Categories Specific Categories ICD-9 Codes

Congenital Infections
Congenital syphilis 090.0-090.3
Congenital rubella 771.0
Congenital cytomegalovirus771.1
Congenital toxoplasmosis
(not specific code) 771.2
Other infections specific
to perinatal period 771.80
Other congenital infections771.x

Neoplasms
Neurofibromatosis 237.70

Endocrine, Nutritional, Metabolic, Immunological Diseases
Congenital hypothyroidism243.00
Phenylketonuria 270.10
Galactosemia 271.1
Cystic Fibrosis 277.00.01
Other Metabolic diseases

Diseases of Blood
Sickle Cell Disease 282.60
Other hemoglobinopathies282.63, 282.69, 

282.4

Developmental Disorders
Developmental Language 
Disorder 315.31-315.39
Coordination Disorder 315.40
Mental Retardation 317 – 319

Congenital Anomalies of Central Nervous System
Anencephalus 740.0-740.1
Spina bifida without
anencephalus 741.0,741.9w/o

740.0-740.10
Hydrocephalus without
spina bifida 742.3  w/o

741.0, 741.9
Encephalocele 742.0
Microcephalus 742.1
Holoprosencephaly/
Porencephaly 742.2
Other Congenital Anomalies
of Nervous System 742.4 - 742.9

Congenital Anomalies of the Eye
Anophthalmia/microphthalmia743.0,743.1
Congenital cataract 743.30-743.34
Aniridia 743.45
Glaucoma 743.20-743.22
Coloboma 743.46*

Congenital Anomalies of the Ear
Anotia/microtia 744.01,744.23

Congenital Anomalies of the Cardiovascular System
Common truncus 745.0
Transposition of great
arteries 745.10,745.11,

745.12, 745.19
Tetralogy of Fallot 745.2
Ventricular septal defect 745.4
Atrial Septal Defect 745.5
Endocardial cushion defect745.60,745.61,

745.69
Single Ventricle 745.3
Pulmonary valve atresia
and stenosis 746.01,746.02
Tricuspid valve atresia and
stenosis 746.1
Ebstein’s anomaly 746.2
Aortic valve stenosis 746.3
Hypoplastic left heart syndrome746.7
Patent ductus arteriosus
>2500 gms 747.0
Coarctation of aorta 747.10
Pulmonary artery anomalies747.3

Congenital anomalies of the Respiratory System
Anomalies of larynx/trachea/
bronchus 748.30
Lung agenesis/hypoplasia 748.5
Other respiratory anomalies

Congenital Anomalies of the Orofacial Area
Cleft palate without cleft
lip 749.00-749.04
Cleft lip with or without
cleft palate 749.1,749.2
Choanal atresia 748.0

Congenital Anomalies of the Gastrointestinal Tract
Esophageal atresia/
tracheoesophageal fistula750.3
Atresia/stenosis of intestine
and rectum 751.10,751.2
Hirschsprung’s disease
(congenital megacolon) 751.3
Anomalies of internal fixation
of bowel 751.40
Biliary atresia 751.61
Malrotation of intestine 751.4*
Pyloric stenosis 750.5
Anorectal malformation 751.4*

Congenital Anomalies of the Genitourinary System



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 6, ISSUE 6, SUNDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2002

744

Renal Agenesis/hypoplasia753.0
Bladder exstrophy 753.5
Cloacal exstrophy *
Cystic/dysplastic kidneys 753.10,753.15
Obstructive genitourinary
defect 753.2,753.6
Hypospadias and Epispadias752.6
Ambiguous genitalia 752.9*
Polycystic kidneys 753.12-753.14

Congenital Anomalies of the Musculoskeletal Regions
Reduction defect, upper
limbs 755.20-755.29
Polydactyly/Syndactyly/
Adactyly 755.00-755.02

755.10-755.14
755.4*

Reduction defect, lower
limbs 755.30-755.39
Arthrogryposis multiplex
congenital 754.89*
Achondroplasia 756.4
Osteogenesis imperfecta 756.51
Other skeletal dysplasia
Gastroschisis 756.7
Omphalocele 756.7
Diaphragmatic hernia
(moved up) 756.6
Scoliosis/Lordosis/Kyphosis754.0, 756.19
Congenital hip dysplasia 754.30, 754.31

754.35*
Club Foot 754.50, 51, 53,

60, 70, 79
Craniosynostosis 756.0*

Chromosomal Disorders
Trisomy 21 (Down
syndrome) 758.0
Trisomy 13 758.1
Trisomy 18 758.2
Autosomal deletion
syndromes 758.30
Other conditions due to
autosomal anomalies 758.50
Gonadal dysgenesis (Turner’s
syndrome) 758.60
Klinefelter’s syndrome 758.70
Other conditions due to sex
chromosome anomalies 758.80
Conditions due to anomaly of
unspecified Chromosome 758.90
Fragile X Syndrome 759.83

Other Congenital Malformations

Amniotic bank disruption
complex no code

Embryopathy from Toxic Exposure in Utero
Fetal Alcohol syndrome 760.71
Phenytoin 760.79*
Isotretinoin 760.79*
Warfarin 760.79*
Other toxic exposures 760.7x

Conductive hearing loss, external ear 389.01
Conductive hearing loss, middle ear 389.03
Ear disorder, unspecified 388.9
Hearing loss, noise-induced 388.12
Hearing loss, sudden, unspecified 388.2
Hearing loss, unspecified 388.9
Sensorineural hearing loss, unspecified 389.10

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,
Section 3204 (16 Del.C. §3204)

Nature of the Proceedings

The attached regulations, "State of Delaware Cancer
Registry Regulations” are being proposed in accordance
with 16 Delaware Code, Chapter 32.

The proposed regulation defines procedures to be used
by health care providers to report cancer to Delaware Health
and Social Service’s Cancer Registry.  The proposed
regulation specifies forms that shall be used for this purpose,
deadlines for submission, and fines.  The proposed
regulation also describes information to be retained by health
care providers that diagnose cancer, and that health care
providers may request a voluntary audit.

Notice of Public Hearing

The Disease Prevention and Control Section, Division
of Public Health, Department of Health and Social Services
will hold a public hearing to discuss the proposed Delaware
Cancer Registry Regulations.

The public hearing will be held on Monday, December
23, 2002 at 10:00 AM in the third floor conference room of
the Jesse Cooper Building, located on Federal and Water
Streets, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for
review by contacting:

Dr. Leroy Hathcock,
Disease Prevention and Control
Federal and Water Streets
Dover, Delaware 19903

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dph/index.htm
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Telephone: (302) 744-4790

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at
this hearing should contact David Walton at (302) 744-4701
by Friday, December 20, 2002.  Anyone wishing to submit
written comments as a supplement to or in lieu of oral
testimony should submit such comments by January 3, 2003
to:

David P. Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903-0637

CANCER REGISTRY REGULATIONS

1.0 Purpose
These regulations are promulgated by the Department

pursuant to Senate Bill 372 of the 141st General Assembly.
These regulations are also independently authorized by 29
Del.C. §7903.  The purpose of the regulations is to
implement Title 16, Chapter 32 of the Delaware Code.

2.0 Definitions
“Benign tumor” means any nonmalignant neoplasm,

regardless of the tissue   or origin, that appears on the
American College of Surgeons most recently published list
of reportable cancers and benign tumors.

“Cancer” means any malignant neoplasm, regardless of
the tissue origin, that appears on the American College of
Surgeons most recently published annual list of reportable
cancers and benign tumors.

“Clinical laboratory” means a facility in which tests
are performed identifying findings of anatomical changes,
and/or specimens are interpreted and pathological diagnoses
are made.

“The Department” means the Department of Health
and Social Services.

“Health care provider” means:
person, corporation, facility or institution licensed

by this State pursuant to Titles 16 or 24 of the Delaware
Code to perform any act to or on behalf of a patient during
the patient’s medical care, treatment, or confinement, or

a clinical laboratory.  When a person acting as a
health care provider is working for a corporation, facility, or
institution, the corporation, facility, or institution shall be
considered the health care provider for purposes of these
regulations.

3.0 Duty to Report
Each health care provider shall complete and submit to

the Department the forms described in Section 3 with respect
to (a) each patient whom it diagnoses with cancer or a benign

tumor, and (b) each patient for whom it renders any care
after the individual is diagnosed with cancer or a benign
tumor.  Compliance by one health care provider with this
Section with respect to an individual patient shall not obviate
compliance by other health care providers with respect to the
same patient. 

4.0 Forms Supplied by Department
Forms prepared by the Department for use by health

care providers in complying with Section 2 shall request all
data required by the reporting requirements of the National
Cancer Data Base established by the American College of
Surgeons.  Forms prepared under this section shall also
request disclosure of the address at which the patient has
lived for the longest period of time, the occupation at which
the patient has worked for the longest period of time, and the
name and address of the employer at the occupation where
the patient has worked for the longest period of time, if such
information is available to the health care provider.  A health
care provider shall make reasonable efforts to obtain all
information requested by the form prepared under this
Section.  However, reasonable efforts by a clinical laboratory
shall not include the interviewing of patients to obtain
required information.

5.0 Retention of Required Information
A health care provider who is treating a patient who has

been diagnosed with cancer or a benign tumor shall ask that
patient to fill out a form requesting disclosure of the address
at which the patient has lived for the longest period of time
in his or her life, the occupation at which the patient has
worked for the longest period of time in his or her life, and
the name and address of the employer at the occupation
where the patient has worked for the longest period of time.
The health care provider shall retain the form required by
this Section with the patient’s medical records pursuant to
generally accepted protocol for the retention of patient
medical records.  The health care provider shall include the
information from the form required by this Section with
information it submits pursuant to Section 2 of these
regulations.  The Department shall provide a form for use in
complying with this Section.

6.0 Deadlines for Submission
A health care provider shall provide the information

required by Section 2 within 180 days of the initiation of
treatment of a patient or diagnosis of that patient with a
cancer or benign tumor, whichever is earlier.

7.0 Failure to Submit Required Information
A health care provider that fails to comply with Section

5 shall permit the Department to audit its records and
abstract information that should have been provided under
Section 5.  The health care provider shall reimburse the
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Department for the cost of said audit.  If the audit does not
identify a compliance failure by the health care facility or
provider, the cost of such audit shall not be assessed against
the facility or provider.

8.0 Voluntary Audit
A health care provider may voluntarily request that an

audit be performed if it does not intend to submit the
information required by Section 5.  The Department shall
determine if the request for an audit will be honored.  The
health care provider shall reimburse the Department for the
cost of said audit if the Department honors the request.  The
Department shall determine whether said costs shall be
prepaid, or paid upon completion of the audit.

9.0 Fines
Failure to comply with Section 5 of these regulations

may result in a $100 fine against the health care provider that
has failed to comply.  Each failure to comply shall constitute
a separate violation and shall subject the health care provider
to a separate $100 fine.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid/Medical Assistance programs

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 107, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) /
Division of Social Services / Medicaid/Medical Assistance
Program is proposing to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State
Plan to change the drug pricing methodology.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by December 31, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary of Proposed Change:

Currently, Delaware reimburses pharmaceuticals using

the lower of:
• the usual and customary charge to the general

public for the product,
• the Average Wholesale Price (AWP) minus

12.9% plus a dispensing fee, or 
• a State-specific maximum allowable cost (DMAC)

and, in some cases, the federally defined Federal
Upper Limit (FUL) prices plus a dispensing fee.

The proposed State Plan Amendment (SPA) changes the
AWP methodology as follows:

• Brand name drugs:
• for traditional chain pharmacies and

independent pharmacies: AWP minus 16.32%
plus a dispensing fee per prescription

• for non-traditional pharmacies: AWP minus
24.32% plus a dispensing fee per prescription.

• Generic drugs for all pharmacies: Average of the
Average Wholesale Price (AAWP) minus 58% plus
a dispensing fee per prescription.

The dispensing fee remains the same.
The SPA also:

• clarifies terms used in the methodology process by
revising the definition of the Delaware Maximum
Allowable Cost (DMAC)

• provides definitions of traditional and non-
traditional pharmacies; and,

• revises reimbursement limits and exceptions.

REVISIONS:

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 14

State/Territory  DELAWARE

Reimbursement for pharmaceuticals:

Overview
The Delaware Medical Assistance (DMAP) program

will reimburse pharmaceuticals using the lower of 
• the usual and customary charge to the general

public for the product,
• the Average Wholesale Price (AWP) minus 12.9%

plus a dispensing fee, or
• Brand name drugs:

• for traditional chain and independent
pharmacies: AWP-16.32% plus dispensing fee
per prescription

• for non-traditional pharmacies: AWP-24.32%
plus dispensing fee per prescription

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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• Generic drugs for all pharmacies: AAWP-58% plus
dispensing fee per prescription

• a State-specific maximum allowable cost (DMAC)
and, in some cases, the Federally defined Federal
Upper Limit (FUL) prices plus a dispensing fee.

Entities that qualify for special purchasing under
Section 602 of the Veterans Health Care Act of 1992, Public
Health Service covered entities, selected disproportionate
share hospitals and entities exempt from the Robinson-
Patman Price Discrimination Act of 1936 must charge the
DMAP no more than an estimated acquisition cost (EAC)
plus a professional dispensing fee.  The EAC must be
supported by invoice and payment documentation.

Definitions:

Delaware Maximum Allowable Cost (DMAC) - The
DMAC payment limits will be calculated, for drugs selected
by the DMAP, by First Data Bank (FDB) under contract with
Delaware Medicaid using the following protocol.  

• All DMACs will be based on the direct prices.
• FDB will use the lowest of either Geneva Generic

or Rugby prices.  These are national generic
labelers/manufacturers that sell directly to
pharmacies.

• Prices for solid dosing forms will be based on a
package size of 100.  If that size is not available, the
next largest package size will be used.

• Prices for liquid products will be based on 120 ml
for over-the-counter (OTC) medications and 473 -
480 ml for legend products.

• All unit dose packaging calculations will be
eliminated.

• If neither identified labeler markets the product, the
median of all other HCFA rebate participating
sources will be used to establish a price.

Drugs are selected based on experience with charges
from pharmacies, which indicates that the product cost is
less than or equal to AWP minus 20%.

Additional medications will be added to the DMAC
program after general provider notification.

Delaware Maximum Allowable Cost (DMAC) - a
maximum price set for reimbursement when a single source
product has Average Selling Prices provided by the
manufacturer that indicates the AWP is exaggerated.  A
DMAC will also be established if a single provider agrees to
a special price.  Any willing provider can dispense the
product.

Federal Upper Limit (FUL) - The FUL is a federally
defined price and constitutes the upper limit of

reimbursement where a DMAC limit does not exist.

ATTACHMENT 4.19B
Page 14a

Limits - the maximum allowed using any of the state
methods for calculation ingredient costs.

Non-Traditional Pharmacy - long term care and specialty
pharmacies.

Traditional Pharmacy - retail independent and retail chain
pharmacies.

Reimbursement Policy:

• Pharmacy providers are free to dispense any
product they wish (within the limits of State and
federal laws governing pharmacies), but the DMAP
payment will not exceed the limits identified above.

• The limits apply to all drugs listed in Appendix B
(FUL/MAC listing containing the generic name and
upper limit/unit source) of the Pharmacy Provider
Manual, including brand and substitutes/generics.

• State DMAC/FUL limits do not apply to drugs in
unit dose packages

• The limits apply to all drugs that have a FUL or
DMAC.

• Medicaid reimbursement is limited to only those
drugs supplied from manufacturers that have a
signed national agreement or an approved existing
agreement under Section 1927(a) of the Social
Security Act.  Restrictions in drug coverage are
listed on Page 5 Addendum of Attachment 3.1-A of
this Plan.

Exceptions:

Exceptions to the reimbursement limits can be made if a
physician certifies in his/her their own handwriting that a
specific brand is medically necessary. for a particular
recipient.  The medical necessity must be documented on a
FDA Med-Watch form based on the client experiencing an
adverse reaction.

• A check-off box is NOT acceptable.
• A notation of intent in the prescribing physician’s

own handwriting (such as, “brand necessary”,
“brand only”, dispense as written”) IS acceptable
(42 CFR §447.331).

• Phone-in prescriptions which qualify for an
exception must be followed by the proper
certification written by the prescriber.

• Faxed prescriptions must follow Board of
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Pharmacy regulations.
When an exception exists and a pharmacist wishes to

override the limit due to the medical necessity of using the
brand name product, refer to the billing section of the
Provider Manual for instructions on the proper coding of the
claim.

If the pharmacist is not willing to accept the DMAP’s
DMAC/FUL payment when a prescription is received for a
brand name product with no substitutions permitted AND
the physician has not indicated that the brand is medically
necessary according to the above instructions, the
pharmacist should:

• contact the physician to obtain proper written
documentation, or

• refer the recipient to another pharmacy that may be
willing to fill the prescription for the DMAC price,
or, as a last resort,

• request full payment from the recipient for the
product.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid/Medical Assistance programs

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 107, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) /
Division of Social Services / Medicaid/Medical Assistance
Program is proposing to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State
Plan to change the number of nursing home patient health
assessments to two times per year.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by December 31, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #02-51 

REVISION:

ATTACHMENT 4.19-D
PAGE 4

The Department will assign classes to nursing home
patients.  Initial classification of patients occurs through the
State's pre-admission screening program.  These initial
classifications will be reviewed by Department nurses within
31 to 45 days after assignment.  Patient classification will
then be reviewed on an ongoing 90-day basis twice a year.
Facilities will receive notices from the Department
concerning class changes and relevant effective dates.

1. In order to establish the patient classification for
reimbursement, patients are evaluated and scored by
Medicaid review nurses according to the specific amount of
staff assistance needed in Activity of Daily Living (ADL)
dependency areas.  These include Bathing, Eating, Mobility/
Transfer/Toileting.  Potential scores are as follows:

0 - Independent
1 - Supervision (includes verbal cueing and

occasional staff standby)
2 - Moderate assistance (requires staff standby/

physical presence)
3 - Maximum Assistance

Patients receiving moderate or maximum assistance
will be considered "dependent" in that ADL area.  Patients
receiving supervision will not be considered dependent.

Reimbursement is determined by assigning the
patient to a patient classifications based on their ADL scores
or range of scores.

Each patient classification is related to specific
nursing time factors.  These time factors are multiplied by

the 75th percentile nurse wage in each provider group to
determine the per diem rate for each classification.

2. Patients receiving an active rehabilitative/
preventive program as defined and approved by the
Department shall be reimbursed at the next higher patient
class.  For qualifying patients at the highest level, the facility
will receive an additional 10 percent of the primary care rate
component.

To be considered for the added reimbursement
allowed under this provision, a facility must develop and
prepare an individual rehabilitative/preventive care plan.
This plan of care must contain rehabilitative/preventive care
programs as described in a Department approved list of
programs.  The services must seek to address specific
activity of daily living and other functional problems of the
patient.  The care plan must also indicate specific six month
and one-year patient goals, and must have a physician's
approval.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
DIVISION OF SECURITIES
DELAWARE SECURITIES ACT

Statutory Authority:  6  Delaware Code,
Sections 7325(b) (6 Del. C. §7325(b))

NOTICE OF PROPOSED REVISIONS TO THE 
RULES AND REGULATIONS PURSUANT TO THE 

DELAWARE SECURITIES ACT

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA-Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and section 7325(b) of Title 6 of the Delaware Code,
the Division of Securities of the Delaware Department of
Justice hereby publishes notice of proposed revisions to the
Rules and Regulations Pursuant to the Delaware Securities
Act. The Division proposes hereby to amend sections 600,
601, 608, and 700 of the Rules and Regulations Pursuant to
the Delaware Securities Act and to add a new section 610.

Persons wishing to comment on the proposed
regulations may submit their comments in writing to:

James B. Ropp Securities Commissioner Department of
Justice State Office Building, 5th Floor 820 N. French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801 The comment period on the
proposed regulations will be held open for a period of thirty
days from the date of the publication of this notice in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

SUMMARY OF THE PROPOSED REVISIONS

1. Canadian Broker-Dealer Exemption: The Securities
Division proposes to revise the Canadian broker-dealer
registration exemption set forth at section 608 of the Rules
and Regulations Pursuant to the Delaware Securities Act to
extend to Canadian broker-dealer agents the benefit of the
exemption. The proposed revision is consistent with the
model regulation as drafted by the North American
Securities Administrators Association ("NASAA"). These
revisions are being proposed to correct what appears to have
been an inadvertent oversight when the exemption was
originally promulgated.

2. Registration Requirements for Sole Proprietorships:
The Securities Division proposes to revise the registration
requirements for broker-dealers and investment advisers to
clarify that a person conducting a brokerage or investment
advisory business as a sole proprietor need not register an
agent or representative with the Securities Commissioner.

PROPOSED REVISIONS

Part F. Broker-Dealers, Broker-Dealer  Agents, and
Issuer Agents

§600 Registration of Broker-Dealers 
(a) A person applying for a license as a broker-dealer

in Delaware shall make  application for such license on Form
BD (Uniform Application for Broker-Dealer  Registration).
Amendments to such applications shall also be made on
Form BD.

(b) An applicant who is registered or registering under
the Securities  Exchange Act of 1934 shall file its
application, together with the fee required by  Section 7314
of the Act, with the NASD Central Registration Depository
("CRD")  and shall file with the Commissioner such other
information as the Commissioner  may reasonably require. 

(c) An applicant who is not registered or registering
under the Securities  Exchange Act of 1934 shall file its
application; the fee required by Section 7314 of  the Act; and
an audited financial statement prepared in accordance with
17 C.F.R.  §240.17a-5(d) with the Commissioner, together
with such other information as the  Commissioner may
reasonably require. 

(d) A broker-dealer registered with the Commissioner
shall  register at least one agent] with the Commissioner.
Except for a broker-dealer that is a sole proprietorship or the
substantial equivalent, a broker-dealer registered with the
Commissioner shall register with the Commissioner at least
one broker-dealer agent.

(e) Registration expires at the end of the calendar year.
Any broker-dealer  may renew its registration by filing with
the NASD CRD, or with the Commissioner  in the case of a
broker-dealer not registered under the Securities Exchange
Act of  1934, such information as is required by the NASD,
together with the fee required by  Section 7314 of the Act.

See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98)

§601 Registration of Broker-Dealer Agents 
(a) A person applying for a license as a broker-dealer

agent in Delaware shall  make application for such license on
Form U-4 (Uniform Application for Securities  Industry
Registration or Transfer).  Amendments to such application
shall also be  made on Form U-4.

(b) An applicant for registration as an agent for a
broker-dealer that is a  member of the NASD shall file his or
her application, together with the fee required  by Section
7314 of the Act, with the NASD CRD and shall file with the
Commissioner such other information as the Commissioner
may reasonably require. 

(c) Any applicant for registration as an agent for a
broker-dealer that is not an  NASD member shall file his or
her application, together with the fee required by  Section
7314 of the Act, with the Commissioner, together with such
other  information as the Commissioner may reasonably
require. 

(d) Any applicant for a broker-dealer agent license
must also successfully complete the Uniform Securities
Agent State Law Examination (Series  63 or 66)

http://www.state.de.us/securities/
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administered by the NASD.  The Commissioner may waive
the exam  requirement upon good cause shown.

(e) (d) Registration expires at the end of the calendar
year.  Any broker-dealer  agent may renew its registration by
filing with the NASD CRD, or with the  Commissioner in
the case of a broker-dealer agent employed by a
broker-dealer not  registered under the Securities Exchange
Act of 1934, such information as is  required by the NASD,
together with the fee required by Section 7314 of the Act.

See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98) 

§602 Registration of Issuer Agents 
(a) A person applying for a license as an issuer agent in

Delaware shall make  application for such license on Form
U-4 (Uniform Application for Securities  Industry
Registration or Transfer). Amendments to such application
shall also be  made on Form U-4. 

(b) An applicant for registration as an issuer agent shall
file his or her  application and the fee required by Section
7314 of the Act with the Commissioner,  together with such
further information as the Commissioner may reasonably
require. 

(c) Any applicant for an issuer agent license must also
successfully complete the Uniform Securities Agent State
Law Examination (Series  63 or 66) administered by the
NASD. The Commissioner may waive the exam
requirement upon good cause shown.

See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98)

§603 Continuing Obligation of Registrants to Keep
Information Current 

(a) Persons registering or registered as broker-dealers,
broker-dealer agents  or issuer agents are required to keep
reasonably current the information set forth in  their
applications for registration and to notify the Commissioner
of any material  change to any information reported in their
application for registration.  An  applicant or registrant who
is registered with the NASD may notify the  Commissioner
of such material change by filing an amendment through the
NASD CRD.  All other persons shall notify the
Commissioner directly.

(b) Failure to keep current the information set forth in
an application or to  notify the Commissioner of any material
change to any information reported in the  application shall
constitute a waiver of any objection to or claim regarding
any  action taken by the Commissioner in reliance on
information currently on file with  the Commissioner.

See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98)

§604 Minimum Financial Requirements and
Financial Reporting Requirements of Broker-Dealers 

(a) Each broker-dealer registered or required to be
registered under the Act shall comply with SEC Rules
15c3-1 (17 C.F.R. §240.15c3-1), 15c3-2 (17 C.F.R.

§240.15c3-2), and 15c3-3 (17 C.F.R. §240.15c3-3).
(b) Each broker-dealer registered or to be registered

under the Delaware Securities Act shall comply with SEC
Rule 17a-11 (17 C.F.R. §240.17a-11) and shall file with the
Commissioner, upon request, copies of notices and reports
required under SEC Rules 17a-5(17 C.F.R. §240.17a-5),
17a-10 (17 C.F.R. §240.17a-10), and 17a-11 (17 C.F.R.
§240.17a-11).

(c) To the extent that the SEC promulgates changes to
the above-referenced rules, broker-dealers in compliance
with such rules as amended shall not be subject to
enforcement action by the Securities Division for violation
of this section to the extent that the violation results solely
from the broker-dealer’s compliance with the amended rule.

§605 Bonding Requirements of Intrastate
Broker-Dealers

Every broker-dealer registered or required to be
registered under the Act whose business is exclusively
intrastate, who does not make use of any facility of a
national securities exchange, and who is not registered under
Section 15 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 shall be
bonded in an amount of not less than $100,000 by a bonding
company qualified to do business in this state. 

§606 Record keeping Requirements of
Broker-Dealers

(a) Unless otherwise provided by order of the SEC,
each broker-dealer registered or required to be registered
under the Act shall make, maintain, and preserve books and
records in compliance with SEC Rules 17a-3 (17 C.F.R.
§240.17a-3), 17a-4 (17 C.F.R. §240.17a-4), 15c2-6 (17
C.F.R. §240.15c2-6) and 15c2-11 (17 C.F.R. §240.15c2-11).

(b) To the extent that the SEC promulgates changes to
the above-referenced rules, broker-dealers in compliance
with such rules as amended shall not be subject to
enforcement action by the Securities Division for violation
of this section to the extent that the violation results solely
from the broker-dealer’s compliance with the amended rule. 

§607 Use of the Internet for General Dissemination  of
Information on Products and  Services

(a) Broker-dealers and broker-dealer agents who use
the Internet to distribute  information on securities, products
or services through  communications made on the Internet
directed generally to anyone having access to  the Internet,
and transmitted through postings on Bulletin Boards,
displays on "Home  Pages" or otherwise (an "Internet
Communication") shall not be deemed to be "transacting
business" in Delaware for purposes of Section 7313 of the
Act based  solely on the Internet Communication if the
following conditions are met:

(1) The Internet Communication contains a legend
in which it is clearly  stated that: 
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(i) the broker-dealer or agent in question may
only transact business in a state requiring registration if first
registered, excluded or exempted  from state broker-dealer
or agent registration requirements, as the case may be; and 

(ii) follow-up, individual responses to persons
in Delaware by such broker-dealer, or agent that involve
either the effecting or attempting to effect  transactions in
securities, will not be made absent compliance with state
broker-dealer or agent registration requirements, or an
applicable exemption or exclusion;

(2) The Internet Communication contains a
mechanism, including and  without limitations, technical
"firewalls" or other implemented policies and  procedures,
designed reasonably to ensure that prior to any subsequent,
direct  communication with prospective customers or clients
in Delaware, said broker-dealer  or agent is first registered in
Delaware or qualifies for an exemption or exclusion  from
such requirement.  Nothing in this paragraph shall be
construed to relieve a  state registered broker-dealer or agent
from any applicable securities registration  requirement in
Delaware; 

(3) The Internet Communication does not involve
either effecting or  attempting to effect transactions in
securities in Delaware over the Internet, but is  limited to the
dissemination of general information on securities, products
or services; and

(4) In the case of an agent: 
(i) the affiliation with the broker-dealer is

prominently disclosed within  the Internet Communication; 
(ii) the broker-dealer with whom the agent is

associated retains  responsibility for reviewing and
approving the content of any Internet  Communication by the
agent; 

(iii) the broker-dealer or investment adviser
with whom the agent is associated first authorizes the
distribution of information on the securities, products or
services through the Internet Communication; and 

(iv) in disseminating information through the
Internet Communication, the agent acts within the scope of
the authority granted by the broker-dealer; 

(b) The position expressed in this rule extends to state
broker-dealer and  agent registration requirements only, and
does not excuse compliance with  applicable securities
registration, antifraud or related provisions; 

(c) Nothing in this rule shall be construed to affect the
activities of any  broker-dealer and agent engaged in
business in this state that is not subject to the  jurisdiction of
the Commissioner as a result of the National Securities
Markets  Improvement Act of 1996, as amended.

See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98)

§608 Registration Exemption for Certain Canadian
Broker-Dealers

(a) A Canadian broker-dealer which meets the

conditions of this rule as set forth below shall be exempt
from the registration requirement of Section 7313 of the Act.

(b) To be eligible for this exemption, the broker-dealer
must be resident in Canada, have no office or other physical
presence in Delaware, and comply with the following
conditions:

(1) Only effects or attempts to effect transactions
in securities with, or for, one or more of the following;

(i) A person from Canada who is temporarily
present in Delaware, with whom the Canadian broker-dealer
had a bona fide business-client relationship before the person
entered Delaware;

(ii) A person from Canada who is present in
Delaware, whose transactions are in a self-directed tax
advantaged retirement plan in Canada of which the person is
the holder or contributor; or

(iii) A "U.S. institutional investor" or a "major
U.S. institutional investor" to the extent permitted by SEC
Reg. §240.15a-6 (17 CFR §240.15a-6)As otherwise
permitted by the act; and 

(2) Is registered in its home province or territory,
and a member in good standing of a self-regulatory
organization or stock exchange in Canada;

(3) Files with the Securities Commissioner a
notice in the form of the current application required by the
jurisdiction in which its head office is located;

(4) Files with the Securities Commissioner a
consent to service of process in a form which complies with
the requirements of Section 7327 of the Act.

(5) Discloses to its clients in Delaware that it is not
subject to the full regulatory requirements of the Act; and

(6) Is not in violation of Sections 7303 or 7316 of
the Act or any rules promulgated thereunder.

(c) Exempt transactions. Offers or sales of any security
effected by a broker-dealer who is exempt from registration
under this Regulation are exempt from the registration
requirements of Section 7304 of the Act and the filing
requirements of Section 7312 of the Act.

(d) Agent exemption:  An agent who represents a
Canadian broker-dealer who is exempt from registration
under this Regulation is also exempt from the registration
requirement of Section 7313 of the Act, provided such agent
maintains his or her provincial or territorial registration in
good standing.  

(e) Denial, Suspension or Revocation.  The
Commissioner may by order deny, suspend or revoke the
exemption of a particular Canadian broker-dealer provided
pursuant to Rule 608 if he finds that the order is in the public
interest and that the Canadian broker-dealer (or any partner,
officer, director, or any person occupying a similar status or
performing similar functions, or any person directly or
indirectly, controlling the broker-dealer) has done anything
prohibited by Section 7316(a)(1) to (8),(12) or (13). 
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§609 Dishonest or Unethical Practices
(a) Each broker-dealer and broker-dealer agent

registered in Delaware is  required to observe high standards
of commercial honor and just and equitable  principles of
trade in the conduct of their business.  The acts and practices
described  below in this rule, among others, are considered
contrary to such standards and may  constitute grounds for
denial, suspension or revocation of registration or such other
action authorized by the Act. 

(b) Broker-Dealers.  For the purposes of 6 Del. C.
§7316(a)(7), dishonest or unethical practices by a
broker-dealer shall include, but not be limited to, the
following conduct:

(1) Engaging in an unreasonable and unjustifiable
delay in the delivery  of securities purchased by any of its
customers or in the payment, upon request, of  free credit
balances reflecting completed transactions of any of its
customers, or  failing to notify customers of their right to
receive possession of any certificate of  ownership to which
they are entitled; 

(2) Inducing trading in a customer's account that is
excessive in size  or frequency in view of the customer's
investment objective, level of sophistication  in investments,
and financial situation and needs; 

(3) Recommending a transaction without
reasonable grounds to  believe that such transaction is
suitable for the customer in light of the customer's
investment objective, level of sophistication in investments,
financial situation and  needs, and any other information
material to the investment; 

(4) Executing a transaction on behalf of a customer
without prior  authorization to do so;

(5) Exercising any discretionary power in effecting
a transaction for a  customer's account without first obtaining
written discretionary authority from the  customer, unless the
discretionary power relates solely to the time and/or price for
the execution of orders; 

(6) Executing any transaction in a margin account
without securing  from the customer a properly executed
written margin agreement promptly after the  initial
transaction in the account;

(7) Failing to segregate and identify customer's
free securities or  securities held in safekeeping;

(8) Hypothecating a customer's securities without
having a lien  thereon unless the broker-dealer secures from
the customer a properly executed  written consent promptly
after the initial transaction, except as permitted by SEC
regulations; 

(9) Entering into a transaction with or for a
customer at a price not  reasonably related to the current
market price of the security or receiving an  unreasonable
commission or profit (commissions or profits equal to 10%
or more of  the price of a security are presumed to be
unreasonable); 

(10) Failing to furnish to a customer purchasing
securities in an  offering, no later than the date of
confirmation of the transaction, either a final  prospectus or a
preliminary prospectus and an additional document, which,
together  with the preliminary prospectus, includes all
information set forth in the final  prospectus; 

(11) Charging unreasonable and inequitable
fees for services  performed, including miscellaneous
services such as collection of monies due for  principal,
dividends or interest, exchange or transfer of securities,
appraisals,  safekeeping, or custody of securities and other
services related to its securities  business; 

(12) Charging any fee for which no notice is
given to the customer, and  consent obtained, prior to the
event incurring the fee; 

(13) Offering to buy from or sell to any person
any security at a stated  price, unless such broker-dealer is
prepared to purchase or sell, as the case may be, at  such
price and under such conditions as are stated at the time of
such offer to buy or  sell; 

(14) Representing that a security is being
offered to a customer "at the  market" or a price relevant to
the market price, unless such broker-dealer knows or  has
reasonable grounds to believe that a market for such security
exists other than  that made, created or controlled by such
broker-dealer, or by any person for whom he  is acting or
with whom he is associated in such distribution, or any
person controlled  by, controlling or under common control
with such broker-dealer; 

(15) Effecting any transaction in, or inducing
the purchase or sale of,  any security by means of any
manipulative or deceptive device, practice, plan,  program,
design or contrivance, that may include but not be limited to: 

(i) Effecting any transaction in a security that
involves no  change in the beneficial ownership thereof; 

(ii) Entering an order or orders for the
purchase or sale of any  security with the knowledge that an
order or orders of substantially the same size, at
substantially the same time and substantially the same price,
for the sale of any such  security, has been or will be entered
by or for the same or different parties for the  purpose of
creating a false or misleading appearance of active trading in
the security  or false or misleading appearance with respect
to the market for the security;  provided, however, nothing in
this subparagraph shall prohibit a broker-dealer from
entering bona fide agency cross transactions for its
customers; or 

(iii) Effecting, alone or with one or more other
persons, a series  of transactions in any security creating
actual or apparent active trading in such  security or raising
or depressing the price of such security for the purpose of
inducing the purchase or sale of such security by others; 

(16) Guaranteeing a customer against loss in
any securities account of  such customer carried by the
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broker-dealer or in any securities transaction effected  by the
broker-dealer with or for such customer; 

(17) Publishing or circulating or causing to be
published or circulated,  any notice, circular, advertisement,
newspaper article, investment service, or  communication of
any kind that purports to report any transaction as a purchase
or  sale of any security, unless such broker-dealer believes
that such transaction was a  bona fide purchase or sale of
such security; or that purports to quote the bid price or  asked
price for any security, unless such broker-dealer believes that
such quotation  represents a bona-fide bid for, or offer of,
such security; 

(18) Using any advertising or sales presentation
in such a fashion as to  be deceptive or misleading.  An
example of such practice would be a distribution of  any
nonfactual data, material, or presentation based on
conjecture, unfounded or  unrealistic claims or assertions in
a brochure, flyer, or display by words, pictures,  graphs or
otherwise designed to supplement, detract from, supersede
or defeat the  purpose or effect of any prospectus or
disclosure; 

(19) Failing to disclose that the broker-dealer is
controlled by,  controlling, affiliated with or under common
control with the issuer of any security  before entering into
any contract with or for a customer for the purchase or sale
of  such security, and, if such disclosure is not made in
writing, it shall be supplemented  by the giving or sending of
written disclosure at or before the completion of the
transaction; 

(20) Failing to make a bona fide public offering
of all the securities  allotted to a broker-dealer for
distribution, whether acquired as an underwriter or a  selling
group member, or from a member participating in the
distribution as an  underwriter or selling group member; 

(21) Failing or refusing to furnish a customer,
upon reasonable request,  information to which he is entitled,
including: 

(i) with respect to a security recommended by
the broker-dealer, material information that is reasonably
available; and 

(ii) a written response to any written request
or complaint; 

(22) Making a recommendation that one
customer buy a particular  security and that another customer
sell that security, where the broker-dealer acts as  a principal
and such recommendations are made within a reasonably
contemporaneous time period, unless individual suitability
considerations or  preferences justify the different
recommendations; 

(23) Where the broker-dealer holds itself out as
a market maker in a  particular security, or publicly quotes
bid prices in a particular security, failing to  buy that security
from a customer promptly upon the customer's request to
sell; 

(24) Recommending a security to its customers
without conducting a  reasonable inquiry into the risks of
that investment or communicating those risks to  its agents
and its customers in a reasonably detailed manner and with
such emphasis  as is necessary to make the disclosure
meaningful; 

(25) Representing itself as a financial or
investment planner,  consultant, or adviser, when the
representation does not fairly describe the nature of  the
services offered, the qualifications of the person offering the
services, and the  method of compensation for the services; 

(26) Falsifying any record or document or
failing to create or maintain  any required record or
documents; 

(27) Violating any ethical standard in the
conduct rules promulgated by  the National Association of
Securities Dealers; or 

(28) Aiding or abetting any of the conduct
listed above. 

(c) Broker-Dealer Agents and Issuer Agents.  For the
purposes of 6 Del. C.  §7316(a)(7), dishonest or unethical
practices by a broker-dealer agent or an issuer  agent shall
include, but not be limited to, the following conduct: 

(1) Engaging in the practice of lending or
borrowing money or  securities from a customer, or acting as
a custodian for money, securities or an  executed stock
power of a customer; 

(2) Effecting securities transactions not recorded
on the regular books  or records of the broker-dealer that the
agent represents, unless the transactions are  authorized in
writing by the broker-dealer prior to execution of the
transaction; 

(3) Establishing or maintaining an account
containing fictitious  information in order to execute
transactions that would otherwise be prohibited; 

(4) Sharing directly or indirectly in profits or
losses in the account of  any customer without the written
authorization of the customer and the broker-dealer  that the
agent represents; 

(5) Dividing or otherwise splitting the agent's
commissions, profits or  other compensation from the
purchase or sale of securities with any person not also
registered as an agent for the same broker-dealer or for a
broker-dealer under direct  or indirect common control; 

(6) Where a recommendation is made that an
unsophisticated customer  purchase an over-the-counter
security that (A) trades sporadically or in small  volume, and
(B) is not traded on any United States securities exchange
(excluding  the Spokane Exchange) or on the NASDAQ
National Market System, failing to  inform the customer that
he may not be able to find a buyer if the customer would
subsequently want to sell the security; 

(7) Where a recommendation is made to purchase
an over-the-counter  security in which the asked price is
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greater than the bid by 25 percent or more,  failing to inform
the customer of the bid and the asked prices and of the
significance  of the spread between them should the
customer wish to resell the security; 

(8) Using excessively aggressive or high pressure
sales tactics, such as  repeatedly telephoning and offering
securities to individuals who have expressed  disinterest and
have requested that the calls cease, or using profane or
abusive  language, or calling prospective customers at home
at an unreasonable hour at night  or in the morning; 

(9) Conducting or facilitating securities
transactions outside the scope  of the agent's relationship
with his broker-dealer employer unless he has provided
prompt written notice to his employer; 

(10) Acting or registering as an agent of more
than one broker-dealer  without giving written notification to
and receiving written permission from all such
broker-dealers; or 

(11) Holding himself out as an objective
investment adviser or  financial consultant without fully
disclosing his financial interest in a recommended  securities
transaction at the time the recommendation is made; 

(12) Engaging in any of the conduct specified
in subparagraph (b)  above; or 

(13) Aiding or abetting any of the conduct
listed above. 

(d) Prohibited practices in connection with investment
company shares. For purposes of 6 Del. C. §7316(a)(7),
unethical practices by a broker-dealer, broker-dealer agent or
issuer agent shall include, but not be limited to, the following
conduct: 

(1) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  failing to adequately disclose
to a customer all sales charges, including asset based  and
contingent deferred sales charges, which may be imposed
with respect to the  purchase, retention or redemption of such
shares; 

(2) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  stating or implying to a
customer, either orally or in writing, that the shares are sold
without a commission, are "no load" or have "no sales
charge" if there is associated  with the purchase of the shares
a front-end loan, a contingent deferred sales load, a  SEC
Rule 12 b-1 fee or a service fee which exceeds.25 percent of
average net  fund assets per year, or in the case of closed-end
investment company shares,  underwriting fees,
commissions or other offering expenses;

(3) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  failing to disclose to a
customer any relevant sales charge discount on  the purchase
of shares in dollar amounts at or above a breakpoint or the
availability  of a letter of intent feature which will reduce the
sales charges to the customer; 

(4) In connection with the offer or sale of

investment company shares, recommending to a customer
the purchase of a specific class of investment company
shares in connection with a multi-class sales charge or fee
arrangement without  reasonable grounds to believe that the
sales charge or fee arrangement associated  with such class
of shares is suitable and appropriate based on the customer's
investment objectives, financial situation and other securities
holdings, and the  associated transaction or other fees; 

(5) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares, recommending to a customer
the purchase of investment company shares which  results in
the customer simultaneously holding shares in different
investment  company portfolios having similar investment
objectives and policies without  reasonable grounds to
believe that such recommendation is suitable and appropriate
based on the customer's investment objectives, financial
situation and other  securities holdings, and any associated
transaction charges or other fees; 

(6) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares, recommending to a customer
the liquidation or redemption of investment company  shares
for the purpose of purchasing shares in a different
investment company  portfolio having similar investment
objectives and policies without reasonable  grounds to
believe that such recommendation is suitable and appropriate
based on the  customer's investment objectives, financial
situation and other securities holdings  and any associated
transaction charges or other fees; 

(7) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  stating or implying to a
customer, either orally or in writing, the fund's current yield
or income without disclosing the fund's most recent average
annual total return,  calculated in a manner prescribed in
SEC Form N-1A, for one, five and ten year  periods and fully
explaining the difference between current yield and total
return;  provided, however, that if the fund's registration
statement under the Securities Act  of 1933 has been in effect
for less than one, five, or ten years, the time during which the
registration statement was in effect shall be substituted for
the periods otherwise  prescribed;

(8) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  stating or implying to a
customer, either orally or in writing, that the investment
performance of an investment company portfolio is
comparable to that of a savings  account, certificate of
deposit or other bank deposit account without disclosing to
the  customer that the shares are not insured or otherwise
guaranteed by the FDIC or any  other government agency
and the relevant differences regarding risk, guarantees,
fluctuation of principal and/or return, and any other factors
which are necessary to ensure that such comparisons are fair,
complete and not misleading; 

(9) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  stating or implying to a
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customer, either orally or in writing, the existence of
insurance, credit quality, guarantees or similar features
regarding securities held, or  proposed to be held, in the
investment company's portfolio without disclosing to the
customer other kinds of relevant investment risks, including
but not limited to,  interest rate, market, political, liquidity,
or currency exchange risks, which may  adversely affect
investment performance and result in loss and/or fluctuation
of principal notwithstanding the creditworthiness of such
portfolio securities; 

(10) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  stating or implying to a
customer, either orally or in writing,

(i) that the purchase of  such shares shortly
before an ex-dividend date is advantageous to such customer
unless there are specific, clearly described tax or other
advantages to the customer,  or

(ii) that a distribution of long-term capital
gains by an investment company is part  of the income yield
from an investment in such shares; 

(11) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  making representations to a
customer, either orally or in writing, that the broker-dealer or
agent knows or has reason to know are based in whole or in
part on  information contained in dealer-use-only material
which has not been approved for  public distribution; or 

(12) Aiding or abetting any of the conduct
listed above. 

(13) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  the delivery of a prospectus
shall not be dispositive that the broker-dealer or agent  has
fulfilled the duties set forth in the subparagraphs of this rule. 

(e) The conduct set forth above is not exclusive.
Engaging in other  conduct such as forgery, embezzlement,
theft, exploitation, nondisclosure,  incomplete disclosure or
misstatement of material facts, manipulative or deceptive
practices, or aiding or abetting any unethical practice, shall
be deemed an unethical  business practice and shall also be
grounds for denial, suspension or revocation of  registration.

See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98)

§610 Examination Requirement
An individual applying to be registered as a broker-

dealer or a broker-dealer agent under the Act must
successfully complete the Uniform Securities Agent State
Law Examination (Series 63 or 66) administered by the
NASD.  The Commissioner may waive the exam
requirement upon good cause shown.

Part G. Investment Advisers and Investment Adviser
Representatives

§700 Registration of Investment Advisors 
(a) A person applying for a license as an investment

adviser in Delaware  shall make application for such license
on Form ADV (Uniform Application for  Investment
Adviser Registration under the Investment Advisers Act of
1940). Amendments to such application shall also be made
on Form ADV. 

(b) The applicant shall file the following items with the
Commissioner:  (i)  the application on Form ADV; (ii) the
fee required by Section 7314 of the Act; (iii)  a balance sheet
prepared in accordance with Schedule G of Form ADV; (iv)
a list of all investment adviser  representatives employed by
the investment adviser; and (v)proof of compliance with
Rule 710 by filing an Investment Adviser Affidavit available
at http://www.state.de.us/securities or by contacting the
Division of Securities; and (vi) such other information as the
Commissioner may reasonably require.

(c) Registration expires at the end of the calendar year.
Any investment  adviser may renew its registration by filing
with the Commissioner an updated Form  ADV, together
with the fee required by Section 7314 of the Act and a list of
all  investment adviser representatives employed by the
investment adviser. 

(d) Every investment adviser must have  at least one
investment  adviser representative registered with the
Commissioner to obtain or to maintain its license as an
investment adviser.  Except for an investment advisor that is
a sole proprietorship or the substantial equivalent, an
investment adviser registered with the Commissioner shall
register with the Commissioner at least one investment
advisor representative.

See 4 DE Reg 510 (9/1/00)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Section 903(e)(2)(a) (7 Del.C. §903(e)(2)(a))

SAN# 2002-20

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS: 
Tidal Finfish Regulations

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT,
SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:

To amend Tidal Finfish Regulation 11 and add a new
regulation, Tidal Finfish Regulation 28, to remain in
compliance with fishery management plans as amended and
adopted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission.

Tidal Finfish Regulation 11.  RED DRUM SIZE

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/FW/FW.htm
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LIMITS: CREEL LIMITS; is proposed to be amended to
adjust the minimum size from 18 inches to 20 inches and the
maximum size to 27 inches as required in Amendment 2 to
the Interstate Fishery Management Plan for Red Drum.

Tidal Finfish Regulation 28.  ATLANTIC OCEAN
AMERICAN SHAD SEASON AND CLOSURE; is
proposed to set up a registration system for commercial gill
netters intending to participate in the American shad fishery
in the Atlantic Ocean in 2003 and 2004.  If three or fewer
Delaware licensed commercial gill netters register for this
fishery, the season for American shad in the Atlantic Ocean
shall open February 14 and close midnight April 21.  If four
or more commercial gill netters register for this fishery, the
season for American shad will open later and close sooner.
The exact dates of opening and closure in 2003 or 2004 will
depend on the number of fishermen who register.  Beginning
January 1, 2005, it shall be illegal to take American shad
from the Atlantic Ocean by means of gill net.  The purpose
of the regulation is to meet the intent of Amendment I of the
Interstate Fishery Management Plan for Shad and River
Herring which requires all states to reduce American shad
commercial fishing effort by 40% in the ocean by January 1,
2003 and close the ocean fishery for American shad by
January 1, 2005.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
If Delaware is found to be out of compliance with a

Fishery Management Plan by the Atlantic States Marine
Fisheries Commission, that particular fishery may be closed
by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Commerce.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY
TO ACT:

7 Delaware Code  §903(e)(2)(a).

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, calling or
visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901, (302)739-3441.
A public hearing on this proposed amendment and new
regulation will be held at the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control Auditorium 89 Kings
Highway, Dover DE at 7:30 PM on Monday December 30,
2002.  The record will remain open for written comments
until 4:30 PM on January 10, 2003.

Tidal Finfish Regulation 11.  Red Drum Size Limits; 
Creel Limits.

(a)  Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for
any person to possess any red drum, (Sciaenops ocellatus),
that measures less than eighteen (18) inches, twenty (20)
inches total length or more than twenty-seven (27) inches,
total length., except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b)
in this regulation.

(b)  Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for
any person to possess more than five (5) red drum., one of
which may exceed twenty-seven (27) inches, total length.

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 28, Atlantic Ocean 
American Shad Season And Closure

(a) All Delaware licensed commercial gill netters who
wish to harvest and land American shad, Alosa sapidissima,
in the Atlantic Ocean must register with the Department their
intent to participate in this Atlantic Ocean commercial shad
fishery by February 1 each year during either or both of
2003 and 2004.

(b) If three or fewer licensed commercial gill netters
register to participate in the Atlantic Ocean commercial
Atlantic shad fishery in any given year in 2003 or 2004, then
the season for that year shall open at 12:01 a.m. February 14
and shall close on or before midnight April 21.  If more than
three licensed commercial gill netters register to participate
in the Atlantic Ocean commercial Atlantic shad fishery in
any given year in 2003 or 2004, then the season start and end
dates shall be adjusted according to the following table based
on the number of registered Atlantic Ocean shad commercial
gill net fishermen:

Number of RegisteredSeason Season Dates
Shad Fishermen Length

4 59 days 14 Feb. - 13 April
5 47 days 20 Feb. - 7 April
6 39 days 24 Feb. – 3 April
7 34 days 27 Feb. – 1 April
8 29 days 1 March – 29 March  
9 26 days 2 March – 27 March
10 24 days 3 March – 26 March
11 21 days 4 March – 24 March

If more than 11 fishermen register to participate in the
Atlantic Ocean commercial Atlantic shad fishery in 2003 or
2004, the season length for that year shall be shortened one
day for each additional registered fisherman and the season
dates shall be adjusted accordingly.

(c) Beginning 12:01 a.m. on January 1, 2005, it shall be
unlawful for any Delaware fisherman to take and reduce to
possession any American shad caught by gill net from the
waters of the Atlantic Ocean.
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DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,
Section 6010, (7 Del. C. 6010)

SAN # 2002-18

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATION:
Tidal Finfish Regulations

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT,
SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:

The Black Sea Bass Fishery Management Plan (FMP)
was implemented by the National marine Fisheries Service
(NMFS) and the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission (ASMFC) in 1996 to manage the coastwide
black sea bass stock.  This management plan instituted a
coast wide harvest quota, operating with daily or weekly trip
limits and trigger mechanisms which lowered the trip limits
in each of the quarterly harvest periods.  The program was
designed to allow harvest to proceed throughout each
quarterly period without early closures.  The plan rarely
succeeded and was often characterized by early closures in
many quarters.  These early closures had serious economic
consequences for commercial fishermen, necessitating a
change to the program.

In order to improve the FMP, ASMFC adopted
Amendment 13 to the plan by allocating state by state quotas
to all Atlantic coast states.  Delaware was allocated 5 percent
of the allowable coast wide commercial quota equating to
approximately 165,000 pounds of black sea bass for 2003.

The quota will be evenly distributed to those individuals
that qualify and pre-register with the Department prior to the
commencement of harvest operations.  Two options are
presented for fishermen to qualify for participation in the
fish pot fishery and the commercial hook and line fishery for
black sea bass.  Participants will be required to provide daily
harvest reports via a telephone reporting system operated by
the Department.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
Delaware is required to comply with Fishery

Management Plans approved by the Atlantic States Marine
Fisheries Commission.  Failure to do so could result in a
complete closure of a specific fishery in Delaware.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY
TO ACT:

7 Delaware Code §903, (e)(2)(a).

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENTS:
Individuals may present their comments or request

additional information by contacting the Fisheries Section,
Division of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE
19901.  A public hearing will be held in the DNREC
auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901 at 7:30 on
Wednesday, January 8, 2003.  The record shall remain open
for written comments until 4:30 pm on January 18, 2003.

7. PREPARED BY:
Richard Cole, (302) 739-4782

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 23 Black Sea Bass Size 
Limit; Trip Limits; Seasons; Quotas

a) It shall be unlawful for any person to have in
possession any black sea bass Centropristis striata  that
measures less than eleven (11) inches, total length.

b) It shall be unlawful for any recreational person to
have in possession any black sea bass that measures less than
eleven and one-half (11.5) inches, total length.  (Note the
minimum size may have to be adjusted within the range of
11.5-12.5 inches pending action taken by the Atlantic States
Marine Fisheries Commission in December of 2002).

c) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess on
board a vessel at any time or to land after one trip more than
the quantity of black see bass determined by the Atlantic
States Marine Fisheries Commission for any quarter.  The
Department shall notify each individual licensed to land
black sea bass for commercial purposes of the quarterly trip
limits established by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission.  It shall be unlawful for any commercial
fisherman to land, to sell, trade and or barter any black sea
bass in Delaware unless authorized by a black sea bass
landing permit issued by the Department.  The black sea bass
landing permit shall be presumed to transfer with the vessel
whenever it is bought, sold, or otherwise transferred, unless
there is a written agreement, signed by the transferor/seller
and transferee/buyer, or other credible written evidence,
verifying that the transferor/seller is retaining the vessel's
fishing and permit history for purposes of replacing the
vessel.

“One trip” shall mean the time between a vessel leaving
its home port and the next time said vessel returns to any port
in Delaware.”

d) It shall be unlawful for any person to fish for black
sea bass for commercial purposes or to land any black sea
bass for commercial purposes during any quarter after the
date in said quarter that the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission determines that quarter’s quota is filled.”  The
Department shall notify each individual licensed in
Delaware to land black sea bass for commercial purposes of
any closure when a quarterly quota is filled.  The black sea
bass pot fishery and the black sea bass commercial hook and

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/FW/FW.htm
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line fishery shall be considered separate black sea bass
fisheries.  The total pounds allocated to each fishery by the
Department shall be as follows: 96 percent of the State’s
commercial quota, as determined by the ASMFC, for the pot
fishery; 4 percent for the commercial hook and line fishery.

e) Is omitted intentionally.  Option 1) The Department
may only issue a black sea bass landing permit for the pot
fishery to a person who is the owner of a vessel permitted by
the National Marine Fisheries Service in accordance with 50
CFR §§ 648.4 and who had applied for and secured from the
Department a commercial food fishing license with a food
fishing equipment permit for fish pots and submitted
landings reports to the Department for black sea bass
harvested during at least one year between 1994 and 2001.

f) It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
to have in possession more than 25 black sea bass at or
between the place where said black sea bass were caught and
said recreational fisherman’s personal abode or temporary or
transient place of lodging.   Option 2)  The Department may
only issue a black sea bass landing permit for the pot fishery
to a person who is the owner of a vessel permitted by the
National Marine Fisheries Service in accordance with 50
CFR §§ 648.4 and who has a current Delaware food fish
license and a current food fishing equipment permit for fish
pots.

f) Option 1)  The Department may only issue a black
sea bass landing permit for the commercial hook and line
fishery to a person who has applied for and secured from the
Department a commercial food fishing license and a fishing
equipment permit for hook and line and submitted landings
reports to the Department for black sea bass harvested at
least one year during the period 1994 through 2001.

Option 2)  The Department may only issue a black
sea bass landing permit for the commercial hook and line
fishery to a person who has a current Delaware commercial
food fishing license and a current fishing equipment permit
for hook and line. 

g) Any overage of the State's commercial quota will
be subtracted from the next year's commercial quota.  
Any overage of an individual’s allocation will be subtracted
from that individual's allocation the next year.

h) Each participant in a black sea bass fishery shall be
assigned a equal share of the total pounds of black sea bass
allotted by the Department for that fishery.  A share shall be
determined by dividing the number of pre-registered
participants in that fishery into the total pounds of black sea
bass allotted to the fishery by the Department.  In order to
pre-register an individual must indicate their intent in writing
to participate in this fishery by 4:30 PM on a date no later
than 15 days after this regulation is signed by the Secretary
of the Department.

i) It shall be unlawful for a commercial food
fisherman to transfer quota allocation shares of black sea
bass to another commercial food fishermen.

j) Each commercial food fishermen participating in a
black sea bass fishery shall report to the Department, via the
interactive voice phone reporting system operated by the
Department, each days landings in pounds at least one hour
after packing out their harvest.

k) It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
to have in possession more than 25 black sea bass at or
between the place where said black sea bass were caught and
said recreational fisherman’s personal abode or temporary or
transient place of lodging.  (Note, the possession limit may
vary between 10 and 25 black sea bass depending on action
to be taken by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission in December of 2002).

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF HIGHWAY SAFETY

Statutory Authority: 21 Delaware Code, 
Section 4177D (21 Del.C. § 4177D)

Notice Of Public Hearing

The Department of Public Safety will hold a hearing
pursuant to 29 Del.C. Chapter 101 concerning the adoption
of Policy Regulation Number 92, entitled “STANDARD
OPERATING PROCEDURES FOR THE DUI
EVALUATION, EDUCATION, AND OUTPATIENT
TREATMENT AGENCIES FOR THE STATE OF
DELAWARE, DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY.”
The Department will receive public comment regarding the
proposed Department of Public Safety Policy Regulation.

Department Of Public Safety And Division Of Highway
Safety Policy Regulation Number 92 Concerning: Standard
Operating Procedures For The Dui Evaluation, Education,
And Outpatient Treatment Agencies For The State Of
Delaware, Department Of Public Safety.

Date, Time And Place Of Public Hearing

DATE: January 9, 2003
TIME: 10:00 a.m.

PLACE:Main Conference Room, 2nd Floor
Department of Public Safety
Public Safety Building
303 Transportation Circle
Dover, DE  19901

Persons may view the proposed Policy Regulation
between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday
through Friday, at the Division of Highway Safety, in the

Public Safety Building, 2nd floor, 303 Transportation Circle,

http://www.state.de.us/highway/index.htm
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Suite 201, Dover, DE  19901. 
Persons may present their views in writing by mailing

them to Lisa Moore, DUI Programs Coordinator, Division of
Highway Safety, PO Box 1321, Dover, DE  19903. Written
comments will be accepted until the close of business on
January 8, 2003.  Persons may also present their views by
offering testimony at the public hearing. If the number of
persons desiring to testify at the public hearing is large, the
amount of time allotted to each speaker will be limited.

Policy Regulation Number 92: Drinking Driver 
Programs

Standard Operating Procedures

1.0 Nature and Purpose
Pursuant to 21 Del.C. § 4177D, this is a policy of the

Department of Public Safety, Office of Highway Safety.  The
purpose of this document is to provide a written operating
procedure that shall apply to all Department of Public Safety
contracted treatment, education and assessment providers.
The Secretary of Public Safety or his/her designee must
approve any changes to this document.

2.0 Definitions
"Enrollment",  The point at which the intake

process has been completed, the client has paid the full
Education Program fee or half of the Outpatient Program
fee, and the program begins to provide clinical service.

"No Show", Defined as when a client fails to show
for a scheduled appointment; is late for a scheduled
appointment; calls to cancel a scheduled appointment
without adequate notice; arrives for an appointment without
the needed documentation; or arrives for an appointment
under the influence of alcohol as evidenced by a positive
breathalyzer.

"Case Management", The process of coordinating
and monitoring the services provided to a client both within
a program and in conjunction with other providers.  In the
context of the Delaware DUI System, Case Management
Services will only be provided by the Department of Public
Safety contracted evaluation and referral provider. 

"In-State Clients", The Delaware Evaluation
and Referral Program will be responsible for coordinating
services to address the client’s DUI incident, for monitoring
compliance with Delaware law regarding DUI, and updating
client information and disposition status in the online
tracking system.  For those clients discharged at-risk, DERP
is responsible for coordinating a referral for continuing
treatment.  DERP will also monitor the client’s status for
compliance with discharge requirements and update their
disposition in the online tracking system.

"Out-of-State Clients", DERP is responsible
for referring out-of-state clients to an approved provider in
their area. DERP will continue to monitor the client’s

progress and status through communications with the out-of-
state agency.  Once the offender has completed the program
in their area, DERP will review the evaluation results for
compliance with the Delaware DUI program requirements.
DERP will also be responsible to update the online tracking
system with regard to the client’s disposition status.

"Discharge Status"
"Satisfactory", This category indicates that

the client has completed the program and that he/she has
evidenced positive behavioral change, which indicates the
capacity for responsible future behavior.

"Discharge At Risk", This category indicates that
the client has completed the program’s attendance
requirements and paid the required fee, but has not
demonstrated sufficient change to indicate responsible
behavior in the community.

"Non-Compliance",  The client has failed to
comply with the rules and regulations associated with
program entry and has also failed to comply with the
conditions and expectations as outlined in the initial
sessions.

"Administrative Discharge", The client has
evidenced a need for services other than those available
through the program.  For example, worsening alcoholism
that results in admission to detoxification or residential
treatment services.  This status is also assigned for clients
who cannot attend the program for reasons beyond their
control (i.e., permanent disability occurring after
enrollment).

3.0 Applicability
These standard operating procedures apply to all

Department of Public Safety contracted DUI treatment,
education, and assessment providers, as well as to all clients
referred to this program whether they reside in or out of the
State of Delaware.

4.0 Client Flow
4.1 Referral to the Delaware Evaluation and Referral

Program (DERP).  The court is the organization that
generally makes the referral to DERP by providing them
with the client’s name and referral information.  DERP will
then process this information according to the following
procedures:

4.1.1 For a DUI client residing in Delaware or
seeking treatment services through a Delaware contracted
provider:

4.1.1.1 Sources of Referral
4.1.1.1.1 Court System
4.1.1.1.2 Probation and Parole
4.1.1.1.3 Client Self-Referral
4.1.1.1.4 Out-of-State DMV
4.1.1.1.5 Delaware DMV

4.1.1.2 Intake and Referral Process (at
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DERP)
4.1.1.2.1 DERP will enter client

information into the online tracking system upon receipt.
4.1.1.2.2 The client has 72 hours from

the court appearance time and date to contact DERP and
schedule an interview.  DERP will send an introduction letter
(Attachment A) to the client, typically within 24 hours of
receipt of the referral.

4.1.1.2.3 DERP will contact each
client by telephone on the evening prior to his or her
scheduled appointment.*

*Please note Should the client fail to
contact DERP and schedule the appointment with 72 hours
of their court appearance, the staff at DERP may issue a
non-compliance discharge (Attachment C).  Referral agency
will be notified, the tracking system will be updated, and the
process now stops.

Should the client fail to keep an
appointment or arrive at the appointment without the fee or
required paperwork, the staff at DERP will apply a no-show
fee of $25.00 to the client’s account, and the scheduling
process will begin again.

Should the client fail to reschedule
within 24 hours of the missed appointment, the staff at DERP
may issue a non-compliance discharge.  Referral agency will
be notified, the tracking system will be updated, and the
process now stops until the client takes the necessary steps to
re-entry (Attachment D)

4.1.1.2.4 DERP will conduct a
screening of the client and make a recommendation for
program level of treatment, provide a supervisory clinical
review (CADC), and make a referral (Attachment B) to a
Delaware contracted DUI provider agency, as selected by the
client.

4.1.1.2.5 A DERP screening is valid
for two years.  Education referrals, however, must be re-
screened after each non-compliance discharge.

4.1.1.2.6 The Delaware contracted
DUI provider agency selected should be county-appropriate,
or by client request, and the referral shall be made within
five business days of the client’s assessment appointment.

4.1.1.3 Reasons for and Process of a DERP
Non-Compliance

4.1.1.3.1 Client fails to contact DERP
within 72 hours of court appearance.

4.1.1.3.2 Client fails to show for a
scheduled appointment and does not contact DERP to
reschedule within 24 hours of the missed appointment.

4.1.1.3.3 Client fails to keep two
scheduled appointments per referral episode.

4.1.1.4 Completion Process (In-State Clients
at DERP)

4.1.1.4.1 Update the tracking system
with a notification date to the court (in-state or out-of-state

court) of completion.
4.1.1.4.2 Advise Delaware, or other

state’s DMV, of completion.
4.1.1.4.3 Notify referring organization

of discharge status.
4.1.1.4.4 Close case and maintain file.

4.1.1.5 Fees (In-State Clients)
4.1.1.5.1 Screening - $75.00 
4.1.1.5.2 No-Show - $25.00 per

missed appointment
4.1.1.5.3 Administrative Re-Entry

Processing - $25.00 
4.1.2 For a DUI client not residing in Delaware:

4.1.2.1 Sources of Referral
4.1.2.1.1 Court System
4.1.2.1.2 Probation and Parole
4.1.2.1.3 Client Self-Referral
4.1.2.1.4 Out-of-State DMV
4.1.2.1.5 Delaware DMV

4.1.2.2 Intake and Referral Process (at
DERP)

4.1.2.2.1 Enter the client information
into the online tracking system upon receipt.

4.1.2.2.2 Send to and receive back
from the client a complete release of information
(Attachment E) and a letter regarding the process to reach
completion (Attachment F).

4.1.2.2.3 If necessary, direct the client
to a facility in their area for an evaluation.

4.1.2.2.4 If required paperwork is
incomplete, or not received within 15 days of the date DERP
sent the letter, DERP may issue a non-compliance discharge
and close the case.  The Administrative Processing Fee
would then be applicable for the client to re-enter the system.

4.1.2.2.5 Refer the client to a facility
in their area for the appropriate program as determined by
the evaluation.  

4.1.2.2.6 Maintain contact with the
client until all client information is received.

4.1.2.3 Completion Process (Out-of-State
Clients at DERP)

4.1.2.3.1 Update the tracking system
with a notification date to the court (in-state or out-of-state
court) of completion.

4.1.2.3.2 Advise Delaware, or other
state’s DMV, of completion.

4.1.2.3.3 Notify referring organization
of discharge status.

4.1.2.3.4 Close case and maintain file.
4.1.2.4 Fees (Out-of-State Clients)

4.1.2.4.1 Out of State Client
Processing - $100.00 

4.1.2.4.2 Administrative Re-Entry
Processing - $25.00 
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4.2 Referral from DERP is made to a Delaware
Department of Public Safety DUI contracted provider.

4.2.1 Intake and Referral Process (at Provider
Agency)

4.2.1.1 Check the DUI tracking system
and extract new referrals daily.

4.2.1.2 Print the new referral information
and establish a client chart.

4.2.1.3 Mail an appropriate introduction letter
(Attachment G) to the client and update the online system
indicating that the initial notification has been made.

4.2.1.4 Enter data into the provider’s internal
client tracking system.

4.2.1.5 Conduct client Orientation Meeting
and schedule clients’ events, client completes clinical intake
and begins the program.*

*Please note. Should the client fail to attend an
Orientation within 30 days of referral, the staff at the
Provider Agency shall send a 30-day letter, issue a non-
compliance discharge (Attachment H), and update the
tracking system.  The client seeking re-entry will be
responsible for any no-show fees and the administrative
processing fee.

4.2.2 Program Completion and Client
Disposition (at Provider Agency)

4.2.2.1 Assign discharge status to client’s
event (s).

4.2.2.2 Update the online system.  For clients
other than satisfactory discharge, any notes that explain the
status will be helpful to DMV and the court system.

4.3 Re-Licensing
4.3.1 Ignition Interlock Device Program

4.3.1.1 First Offense Election. The IID
Diversion Program is offered to DUI first offenders who
qualify for the regular first offense election.  This election
must be made in court at the time of their plea.  Eligibility
requirements include enrollment in an appropriate education
or treatment program and license revocation of at least one
month.

4.3.1.2 Refused Chemical Test. Offenders
with a revoked license for refusal to submit to a chemical test
may voluntarily participate in the IID program.  Eligibility
requirements include enrollment in an appropriate education
or treatment program, license revocation for an additional
two month period above and beyond their initial revocation,
and their revoked license must be in the Division for a
minimum period of two months (for a 12 month revocation),
six months (for an 18 month revocation), or twelve months
(for a 24 month revocation).

4.3.1.3 Subsequent Conviction or Probable
Cause Administrative Action. Offenders revoked for a
subsequent DUI offense in either of these categories may
voluntarily participate in the IID program.  Eligibility
requirements include enrollment in an appropriate treatment

program, license revocation for an additional two month
period above and beyond their initial revocation, and the
revoked license must be in the Division for a minimum
period of two months (for a 12 month revocation) or six
months (for an 18 month revocation).

4.3.1.4 License Validity. The IID license is
valid for Class D driving privileges provided the offender is
driving a vehicle equipped with an approved Ignition
Interlock Device and has the IID license in their possession.

4.3.2 Conditional Licensing
4.3.2.1 The conditional license is only

authorized for offenders with a first DUI violation who elect
the First Offender Election option in court upon meeting the
specific criteria.

4.3.2.2 The offender must satisfactorily
complete a minimum of sixteen (16) hours of alcohol
education or treatment as determined by the Delaware
Evaluation and Referral Program.

4.3.2.3 There is a minimum 90-day hard
revocation before a conditional license may be issued.

4.3.2.4 The fee for a conditional license is
$10.00.

4.3.3 Reinstatement for First Offense Election
4.3.3.1 The offender must satisfactorily

complete an education or treatment program as determined
by the Delaware Evaluation and Referral Program.

4.3.3.2 There is a minimum six-month hard
revocation before reinstatement can be made.

4.3.3.3 The offender must complete a
favorable character background review with the Division.

4.3.3.4 The fee for reinstatement is $143.75.
4.3.4 Reinstatement for DUI Conviction

(without administrative action)
4.3.4.1 The offender must satisfactorily

complete an education or treatment program as determined
by the Delaware Evaluation and Referral Program.

4.3.4.2 There is a minimum six-month hard
revocation before reinstatement can be made.

4.3.4.3 The offender must complete a
favorable character background review with the Division

4.3.4.4 The fee for reinstatement is $143.75.
4.3.4.5 The offender must pass the vision,

law, and road test administered by the Division, as well as
pay the $12.50 license fee. (in-state offenders only)

4.3.5 Reinstatement for Probable Cause or
Refused Chemical Test (alone or with a DUI conviction)

4.3.5.1 The offender must satisfactorily
complete an education or treatment program as determined
by the Delaware Evaluation and Referral Program.

4.3.5.2 The offender must serve the
revocation period in full.

4.3.5.3 The offender must complete a
favorable character background review with the Division.

4.3.5.4 The fee for reinstatement is $143.75.
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4.3.5.5 The offender must pass the vision,
law, and road test administered by the Division, as well as
pay the $12.50 license fee. (in-state offenders only)

5.0 Provider Programs
5.1 DUI Education Program

5.1.1 Overview
5.1.1.1 The DUI Education Program consists

of 16 hours of drug and alcohol education.
5.1.1.2 This program is designed for the first

time offender who is of legal age to consume alcohol in the
State of Delaware and who presents for an assessment
following a DUI incident without evidence of an abuse
problem, and typically with a BAC of less than 0.15.

5.1.1.3 The client referred to the program will
receive 16 hours of education services through eight 2-hour
classes.  The class enrollment may be open or closed as long
as the client does not have to wait more than 30 days to get
started.  The frequency of the meetings may vary by
program. 

5.1.1.4 Typically, the client will be referred to
a program in the client’s county of residence, but may
request a referral to any of the three counties in Delaware.  

5.1.1.5 During the course of the 16-hour
program, a urine-drug screen (UDS) will be administered to
every client.   A positive UDS is grounds for immediate
discharge at-risk from the Education program. (Other criteria
that can result in a discharge at-risk can be found on Page
14.)

5.1.1.6 Clients discharged at-risk from the
Education program will be referred to a higher level of care,
as determined by the client’s counselor. This can include a
referral to a DUI Outpatient treatment program, an intensive
outpatient program at another agency, or an inpatient
program at another agency.

5.1.2 Associated Fees
5.1.2.1 Education Program - $200.00
5.1.2.2 No Show - $25.00 per missed

appointment
5.1.2.3 Urinalysis - $25.00
5.1.2.4 Administrative Re-Entry - $25.00 

5.1.3 Discharge Criteria (Attachment I)
5.1.3.1 Satisfactory. The client must attend all

scheduled classes, pay the fee, and get a passing grade (80%
or greater) on a standardized content test; the client must also
complete the requirements of the program within 90 days of
the referral.  Participation must be evident and the client
must present an acceptable DUI Avoidance Plan.
(Attachment J) Attendance at an addiction-focused
community support group is also required.

5.1.3.2 Non-Compliance. The client will be
considered non-compliant and a non-compliance discharge
status will be assigned if the client meets any of the
following criteria:

5.1.3.2.1 The client fails to begin the
program within 30 days of referral.

5.1.3.2.2 The client fails to pay the
required fee according to the program, or individually
designed payment plan.

5.1.3.2.3 The client contact is lost for
more than 30 days.

5.1.3.2.4 The client has failed to
complete the program within 90 days of the referral.

5.1.3.2.5 A non-compliance discharge
will also be assigned to clients who are disruptive to the
process.

5.1.3.2.6 Clients who fail to show for
two consecutive scheduled appointments, or fail to show for
three scheduled appointments during the entire course of
treatment, will also be non-complied.  (Attachment K)

5.1.3.3 At-Risk. A client who has failed to
accomplish the goals and objectives of the Education
Program will be released under an At-Risk status.
(Attachment K)  Specific reasons for this status include:

5.1.3.3.1 Failure of a client to remain
abstinent while in the program.

5.1.3.3.2 Lack of participation in the
group setting.

5.1.3.3.3 Lack of, or an unacceptable
DUI Avoidance Plan.

5.1.3.3.4 Failure to achieve a passing
grade on the content test.

5.1.3.3.5 Being arrested for an
alcohol-related incident while in the program.

5.1.3.3.6 The presence of clinical
issues that indicate the necessity of further treatment in
accordance with the DSM IV diagnostic criteria.

5.1.3.4 Administrative Discharge. This
discharge status is reserved for clients who cannot attend the
program for medical reasons, have passed away, or cannot
attend for a sound reason.  This status may also be used to
discharge a client to the services of another.

5.2 The DUI Out-Patient Treatment Program
5.2.1 Overview

5.2.1.1 This program consists of the base
program and two sub-programs, all of which require a
minimum of sixteen hours of drug and alcohol treatment.

5.2.1.1.1 The “21 and Under
Treatment Program” provides services specifically geared to
the issues most common to a population of this age.

5.2.1.1.2 The “Alternative/Mental
Health Treatment Program” provides services specifically
geared to the issues most common to this population.

5.2.1.2 This program is designed for the
repeat offender and the first offender who presents for an
assessment following a DUI incident with evidence of an
abuse problem and typically with a BAC of greater than
0.15.



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 6, ISSUE 6, SUNDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2002

763

5.2.1.3 The client referred to the program will
receive a minimum of 16 hours of treatment services.  The
services are provided through a variety of methods and will
differ by contracted service provider.  The class enrollment
may be open or closed as long as the client does not have to
wait more than thirty (30) days to get started.  The frequency
of the meetings may vary by program.

5.2.1.4 Typically, the client will be referred to
a program in the client’s county of residence, but may
request a referral to any of the three counties in Delaware.  

5.2.2 Acceptance of Prior Treatment
5.2.2.1 Clients having received prior

treatment services will be required to attend the DUI
Provider’s DUI program orientation.  Having completed any
form of intensive substance abuse treatment indicates, in and
of itself, a level of need that would typically warrant
extended care and monitoring.

5.2.2.2 These clients will be required to
submit for a detailed assessment and should bring all
paperwork relating to any prior substance abuse treatment.
A urine drug screen will be required at the time of
assessment.  Any treatment received within the last 60 days
will be reviewed and a clinical decision made to determine
the extent to which the treatment satisfies DUI Outpatient
Treatment Program’s requirements.  Any treatment older
than 60 days will not be considered.

5.2.2.3 If the clinical determination is that the
substance abuse treatment was adequate, but the “drinking
and driving” component of the program was missing, the
client will be referred to a DUI Education Program to ensure
that this component is received.  If the treatment completed
was an inpatient program, after-care services will be
required prior to discharge from the DUI program.

5.2.3 Fees
5.2.3.1 Program - $600.00
5.2.3.2 No Show (group session) - $25.00
5.2.3.3 No Show (individual session) -

$25.00
5.2.3.4 Urinalysis - $25.00
5.2.3.5 Administrative Re-entry - $25.00

5.2.4 Discharge Criteria (Attachment I)
5.2.4.1 Satisfactory. The client must attend all

scheduled classes, pay the fee, and get a passing grade (80%
or greater) on a standardized content test; and must complete
the requirements of the program within 120 days of the
referral.  Participation must be evident, client demonstrated a
change in behavior, and the client must present an acceptable
DUI Avoidance Plan.  Attendance at a minimum of 6
addiction-focused community support group meetings is also
required.

5.2.4.2 Non-Compliance. The client will be
considered non-compliant and a non-compliance discharge
status will be assigned if the client meets any of the
following criteria:

5.2.4.2.1 The client fails to begin the
program within 30 days of referral.

5.2.4.2.2 The client fails to pay the
required fee according to the program, or individually
designed payment plan.

5.2.4.2.3 The client contact is lost for
more than 30 days.

5.2.4.2.4 The client has failed to
complete the program within 120 days of the referral.

5.2.4.2.5 A non-compliance discharge
will also be assigned to clients who are disruptive to the
process.

5.2.4.2.6 Clients who fail to show for
two consecutive scheduled appointments, or fail to show for
three scheduled appointments during the entire course of
treatment, will also be non-complied.

5.2.4.3 At-Risk A client who has failed to
accomplish the goals and objectives of the Treatment
Program will be released under an At-Risk status
(Attachment L).  Specific reasons for this status include:

5.2.4.3.1 Failure of a client to remain
abstinent while in the program.

5.2.4.3.2 Lack of participation in the
group setting.

5.2.4.3.3 Failure to complete the
treatment plan

5.2.4.3.4 Lack of, or an unacceptable
DUI Avoidance Plan.

5.2.4.3.5 Failure to achieve a passing
grade on the content test.

5.2.4.3.6 Being arrested for an
alcohol-related incident while in the program.

5.2.4.3.7 The presence of clinical
issues that indicate the necessity of further treatment in
accordance with the DSM IV diagnostic criteria.

5.2.4.4 Administrative Discharge. This
discharge status is reserved for those clients who cannot
attend the program for medical reasons, have passed away,
or cannot attend for a sound reason.  This status may also be
used to discharge a client to the service of another.

5.3 Other Programs.  There are other, more intensive
services available for use at the discretion of the Program
Managers.  These include services such as residential
treatment and medical detoxification.  In addition, a
Hardcore Program for drinking drivers is currently in the
development stages.  This program will target offenders with
a history of DUI incidents, and offer appropriate treatment
services. 

6.0 Appeals Process
6.1 Overview. An individual who has been discharged

from a DUI Education/Treatment Program, and has
unsuccessfully appealed that discharge in accordance with
the duly established appeals procedures of the education/
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treatment agency, may appeal the discharge to the Division
of Alcoholism, Drug Abuse and Mental Health (DADAMH).

6.2 Client Responsibilities. Within 10 days from the
effective date on the official notice of the internal appeals
decision of the education/treatment agency, the client must
submit an appeal to DADAMH, which includes all of the
following documents:

6.2.1 Notice of Appeal of Discharge to
DADAMH form (Attachment M).  This form should be
obtained from the education/treatment agency.  The client
must use the form to clearly state the reason (s) for the
appeal.  The client must clearly cite the specific items in the
discharge letter from the treatment/education agency that he/
she is challenging.  The client must also present objective,
measurable facts that support his/her challenge to the
education/treatment agency’s decision.

6.2.2 Discharge letter from education/treatment
agency that clearly indicates the specific reasons for
discharge.

6.2.3 Official notice of the internal appeals
decision from the education/treatment agency verifying that
the client has completed the agency’s internal appeal
process, and that the decision to discharge has been upheld.

6.2.4 A fully completed and signed “Consent for
Release of Confidential Information” that complies with 42
CFR requirements allowing the education/treatment agency
to provide information to the DADAMH DUI Appeals
Team.  A copy of this form must also be given to the
education/treatment agency.  (This form should be obtained
from the education/treatment agency.)

6.3 Education/Treatment Agency Responsibilities. The
education/treatment agency that has discharged the client
must:

6.3.1 Provide the client with a letter, which
details the specific objective, measurable reasons why he/she
has been discharged from the program.  These reasons must
be based upon the Criteria for Discharge that have been
approved by the Office of Highway Safety (OHS) for the
DUI Education/Treatment Program.

6.3.2 Offer the client the opportunity to appeal
the discharge to the education/treatment agency following
the appeals process approved by OHS and give the client an
official notice of the internal appeals decision verifying that
the discharge was upheld.

6.3.3 Explain the process to appeal further to
DADAMH and provide the client with the Appeal of
Discharge to DADAMH form.

6.3.4 Provide the client with the appropriate
“Consent for Release of Confidential Information” form and
assist the client to complete the form correctly and
completely.  Keep one signed original and give the client one
signed copy.

6.3.5 Upon notification from the DADAMH
Appeals Team that an appeal has been received, provide the

DADAMH Appeals Team, within 10 working days, the
specific, objective, measurable documentation to support the
reasons for discharge in the letter given to the client.

6.4 DADAMH Appeals Team Responsibilities
6.4.1 Log in and date stamp the appeal packages

received from clients
6.4.1.1 Appeal packages received in the

DADAMH Appeals Team office, or postmarked no later
than ten (10) days from the effective date of the official
notice of the internal appeals decision from the education/
treatment program, will be scheduled to be reviewed by the
DADAMH Appeals Team.

6.4.1.2 Appeals not received in the
DADAMH Appeals Team office, or postmarked later than
ten (10) days from the effective date of the official notice of
the internal appeals decision from the education/treatment
program, will be logged in and returned to the appellant
without further action.

6.4.1.3 Appeal packages that are incomplete
(i.e., do not contain all four of the items outlined in Chapter
VI, Section B – Client Responsibilities above, completed
inaccurately, or without appropriate signatures as required)
will be logged in and returned to the appellant.  If a corrected
appeals package is not returned before the original ten (10)
day period expires, the appeal will not be reviewed by the
DADAMH Appeals Team.

6.4.2 The DADAMH Appeals Team will contact
the education/treatment agency to request specific, objective,
measurable documentation to support the reasons for
discharge in the letter given to the client.  If the
documentation is not received by the DADAMH Appeals
Team within 10 working days from the contact date, the
Team’s decision will be based solely upon the
documentation provided by the appellant.

6.4.3 The DADAMH Appeals Team will meet
at least monthly to review appropriately submitted appeals.
All appropriately submitted appeals received by the
DADAMH Appeals Team three days prior to a scheduled
review will be considered at the review.  Appeals received
after three working days before a scheduled review will be
considered at the next scheduled review.

6.4.4 The DADAMH Appeals Team will
carefully consider all the required documentation provided
by the client and the education/treatment provider.
Decisions will be based solely on the documentation
provided in writing.  No in-person hearings will be
conducted.  No in-person appearances by education/
treatment providers will be allowed.  THE TEAM WILL
RENDER A DECISION REGARDING WHETHER OR
NOT THE EDUCATION/TREATMENT AGENCY
FOLLOWED THE CRITERIA APPROVED BY DPS/OHS
FOR DISCHARGE OF CLIENTS FROM THE DUI
EDUCATION/TREATMENT PROGRAM.

6.4.5Within 10 days of the review, the DADAMH
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Appeals Team will notify the client, OHS, and the education/
treatment agency of the Team’s decision and rationale
behind the decision.  All decisions are final, and no
subsequent review will be held by DADAMH on the same
appeal.

6.4.6Within 10 days of the review, the DADAMH
Appeals Team will enter the decision into the DUI Tracking
System.

7.0 Fee Schedules

*This is an administrative fee is for non-complied
clients that do not require a new evaluation, but must be re-
entered and referred to a program.  The client will also be
charged this fee at the Provider Agency for administrative
costs associated with processing the client referral.

8.0 Reports
Each agency is responsible for maintaining current

information in the tracking system on client activity.  The
information must be sufficient to permit the following
reports to be generated:

8.1 The number of clients referred to any provider
agency by DERP.  The program the client was referred to
within the provider agency must also be shown.  The client
referral date to the program represents the reference datum.
All time-related information reported must be relative to this
date.

8.2 The number of calendar days from referral date to

the provider agency and 1st contact with client by the
provider.

8.3 The number of calendar days from referral date to
the provider agency and client enrollment.

8.4 The number of clients that have been referred in the
target month but have not started the program in that same
month.

8.5 The number of calendar days from referral date to
the client completing the program.

8.6 The number of clients referred during a target
month by the discharge status assigned.

8.7 It is also necessary for the agencies to report the
distribution of the population by age, BAC, sex and number
of DUI events.

9.0 Attachments
9.1 Client Introductory Letter from DERP
9.2 In-State Client Letter from DERP
9.3 Client Non-Compliance Letter from DERP
9.4 DERP Re-entry Letters
9.5 Standard Release of Information
9.6 Out-of-State Client Information Letters
9.7 Client Introductory Letter from Program
9.8 Client Non-Compliance Letter from Program
9.9 Discharge Criteria – Supporting Information
9.10 Sample DUI Avoidance Plan
9.11 No-Show Non-Compliance Letter from

Program
9.12 At-Risk Letter from Program

DADAMH Appeals Process and Letter

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR 
CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR 

FAMILIES
DIVISION OF FAMILY SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,
Chapter 9 (16 Del.C. Ch. 9)

The Delaware Department of Services for Children,
Youth and Their Families, Division of Family Services is
requesting public comment on “Regulations Pursuant to 16
Del. C. Ch. 9 for Designation of Substantiated Acts of Abuse
or Neglect to Child Protection Levels and for Classifying
Unsubstantiated Cases of Abuse or Neglect in the Division
of Family Services’ Internal Information System.”  Anyone
wishing to submit written comments should submit such
comments by December 30, 2002 to: Linda M. Shannon,
Program Manager, Intake & Investigation, Division of
Family Services, 1825 Faulkland Road, Wilmington, DE
19805.  Fax comments to: (302) 633-2652

Legislation regarding the Child Protection Registry was
signed into law by Governor Ruth Ann Minner on July 22,
2002.  The registry is a database of information about
persons the Division of Family Services has substantiated to
have committed child abuse or neglect.  The statute assigns
individuals who are substantiated for child abuse or neglect
to one of four levels for a specific number of years.  The

Service Current Fee

Screening by DERP $75.00

Out of State Processing $100.00

No Show (DERP) $25.00

Administrative Re-entry (DERP)* $25.00

Education Program $200.00

No Show (Education) $25.00

Outpatient Treatment $600.00

No Show (Treatment-Group) $25.00

No Show (Treatment-Individual) $25.00

Administrative Re-Entry (Programs)* $25.00

Urinalysis $25.00

Hardcore Program – in development

http://www.state.de.us/kids/dfshome.htm
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levels also address who may be reported out to health care
and child care employers for employment purposes.  In
addition, the statute mandates that all appeals be heard in
Family Court instead of attorneys contracted by the Division
of Family Services.  Finally, the Division of Family Services
will classify unsubstantiated cases on its internal system
utilizing two categories: Unsubstantiated – No Evidence and
Unsubstantiated with Concern.

303  Regulations for Entry on to and Expungement from 
the Central Child Abuse Registry under 16 Del.C., 

Chapter 9 and 10 Del.C., Chapter 9

1.0 Legal Authorization
1.1 The legal authority for these regulations is found in

the Delaware Code: Title 10, Chapters 9 and 10; Title 11,
Chapters 5 and 85; Title 16, Chapter 9; and Title 31, Chapter
3. 

2.0 Purpose
2.1 The purpose of these regulations is to provide a

process for notice and opportunity for hearing prior to a
person’s entry on the Central Child Abuse Registry.

3.0 Date of Implementation 
3.1 These regulations become effective ten days after

publication in final form in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

4.0 Individuals Subject to the Law
4.1 Persons, adults or children, substantiated on or after

April 1, 2001 to have committed child abuse or neglect,
except that the opportunity for administrative expungement
shall be provided for substantiated cases before or after April
1, 2001 unless a disqualifying factor applies.

5.0 Definitions
“Abuse” as defined in 16 Del.C., § 902 (1) means any

physical injury to a child by those responsible for the care,
custody, and control of the child, through unjustified force as
defined in 11 Del.C., § 468, emotional abuse, torture,
criminally negligent treatment, sexual abuse, exploitation, or
mistreatment.

“Administrative Expungement” as defined in 16
Del.C., § 902A (g) means that the individual's name shall no
longer be reported to employers pursuant to 11 Del.C. §
8563(b) in a Central Child Abuse Registry check as a
substantiated case from the central registry. Notwithstanding
the granting of a request for administrative expungement
under this section, the individual's name and other case
information shall remain on the central registry as
substantiated for all other purposes, including, but not
limited to, the Division's use of such information for
historical, treatment and investigative purposes, child care

licensing decisions, reporting pursuant to 31 Del.C. § 309,
reporting to law enforcement authorities, or any other
purpose set forth in 16 Del.C. § 906(b).

“Central Registry” as defined in 16 Del.C., § 902 (2)
means a registry of information about persons the Division
of Family Services has substantiated to have committed
child abuse and neglect. Substantiation may be made
through civil or criminal proceedings or through civil
administrative decision or proceedings where the burden of
proof is at a minimum a preponderance of the evidence. The
persons shall have been responsible for the care, custody,
and control of the child as defined in 16 Del.C. § 902 (13).

“Department” means the Department of Services for
Children, Youth and Their Families.

“Disqualifying Factors” means items that disqualify an
individual from the opportunity for notice and a
substantiation hearing or the opportunity for administrative
expungement.

“Division” means the Division of Family Services.
“Good Cause” means discretionary factors that justify

not reporting a substantiated case of child abuse or neglect to
an employer. It depends upon the circumstances of the
individual case and the finding of it lies in the discretion of
the decision-maker to which the decision is committed.

“Neglect” as defined in 16 Del.C., §902 means the
failure to provide, by those responsible for the care, custody,
and control of the child, the proper or necessary: education
as required by law; nutrition; or medical, surgical, or any
other care necessary for the child's well-being.

“Intent to Substantiate” means a person for whom the
Division of Family Services intends to substantiate for child
abuse or neglect, but whose name has not been entered on
the registry.

“Preponderance of the Evidence” is a standard of
proof that is met when a party's evidence indicates that the
fact "is more likely than not" what the party alleges it to be.
Evidence which, as a whole, shows the fact to be proved is
more probable than not.

“Substantiated” means that the Division of Family
Services after an investigation has concluded by a
preponderance of the evidence that child abuse or neglect
occurred. In addition, substantiation may occur through civil
or criminal judicial proceedings, failure to request a
Substantiation Hearing within the specified time frame, or
by decision of a hearing officer. 

“Substantiation Hearing” means a hearing held by a
hearing officer to determine whether or not an individual
committed child abuse or neglect.

“Substantiated Person” means a person who has been
substantiated by the Division of Family Services as having
committed child abuse or neglect and has been entered on
the Central Child Abuse Registry.

6.0 Substantiation Hearing 
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6.1 Notice to Substantiated Persons Pending Entry on
the Central Child Abuse Registry

6.2 At the conclusion of an investigation the Division
shall send written notice, by certified mail, return receipt
requested to the person's last known address, of its intent to
place a person on the Central Registry for having committed
child abuse or neglect, and shall advise the individual of the
opportunity to request a Substantiation Hearing. The person
can also be notified by personal delivery and accepting
service of the notice in writing. 

6.3 A person substantiated for child abuse or neglect, or
an attorney acting on his or her behalf, shall have twenty
(20) calendar days from the date the notice was mailed to
request a Substantiation Hearing. The request for a
Substantiation Hearing shall be in writing and shall be
received by the Division Director, or designee, within 20
days of the date the notice was mailed.

6.4 Though the Division shall still issue its notice and
the individual may request a Substantiation Hearing within
twenty (20) days, when such Substantiation Hearing is
timely requested, such hearing shall be stayed if civil or
criminal proceedings regarding the same allegations of child
abuse or neglect are pending. He or she shall be eligible to
reschedule a Substantiation Hearing following the resolution
of the criminal or delinquency charges or other civil court
proceeding, unless the same conditions in Regulation 10.0
apply for the same child abuse or neglect incident
investigated by the Division.

6.5 A person substantiated for child abuse or neglect
may waive in writing his or her right to a Substantiation
Hearing and request an Administrative Expungement in
writing to the Division Director, or designee.

7.0 Disqualifying Factors
7.1 See circumstances identified in Regulation  10.0.

8.0 Procedures
8.1 Unless postponed or stayed, within twenty (20)

calendar days of receiving a request for a hearing by the
person found to have committed child abuse or neglect
(appellant), a Substantiation Hearing date shall be set, and
such hearing shall be held by the hearing officer within sixty
(60) calendar days of the receipt of such request.

8.2 The burden of proof at the hearing shall be upon the
Division, which shall be required to prove by a
preponderance of the evidence that abuse or neglect
occurred.

8.3 The appellant and the Division may have legal
representation during the hearing. The parties may also
present witnesses and other evidence on their behalf.

8.4 The hearing officer shall have the authority to:
8.4.1 issue subpoenas for witnesses and other

sources of evidence, either at the request of the Division or at
the request of the appellant;

8.4.2 administer oaths to witnesses;
8.4.3 exclude irrelevant, immaterial,

insubstantial, cumulative and privileged evidence;
8.4.4 limit proof, rebuttal and cross-examination

if they are repetitive; and
8.4.5 hold pre-hearing conferences for the

settlement or simplification of issues by consent, for the
disposal of procedural requests or disputes and to regulate
and expedite the course of the hearing.

8.5 An audio tape recording shall be made of the
hearing. Copies of the tape or request for a transcript of same
may be made at the request of and expense of the appellant.

8.6 Following the Substantiation Hearing, the hearing
officer shall issue a written decision to the appellant by
certified mail, return receipt requested and by regular mail to
the Division no later than sixty (60) calendar days from the
last day of the conclusion of the hearing and arguments. 

8.7 The decision shall include a brief summary of
evidence and findings of fact based upon the evidence and
conclusions of law. The appellant should be advised of the
right to request an appeal of the decision to Family Court. 

9.0 Appeal to Family Court Following Substantiation
Hearing Decision 

9.1 The appellant or the Division may request a review
by Family Court within thirty (30) days of the date of the
hearing officer's decision. 

9.2 The Family Court review shall be limited in scope
to whether there is substantial evidence to support the
findings of fact or whether any error of law was made.

9.3 Such reviews, hearings and decisions, audio tapes,
transcripts, and records on appeal to Family Court shall be
confidential and not open to the public. Neither the
Administrative Procedures Act 29 Del.C., Ch.101 nor the
Freedom of Information Act shall apply to such hearings,
any record thereof, or any evidence or documents produced
or introduced at such hearings. The Division shall have the
discretion to release records, the decision, and hearing
evidence pursuant to 16 Del.C. § 906 (b)(18).

10.0 Entry on to the Central Child Abuse Registry
10.1 A person found to have committed child abuse

or neglect shall be entered on the Central Registry when he
or she:

10.1.1 fails to make timely request in writing for
a Substantiation Hearing in response to a notice as specified
in law and regulation or failed to make a timely written
request to appeal a similar notice issued prior to the
enactment of this law;

10.1.2 fails to appear at a scheduled
Substantiation Hearing without prior approval of the hearing
officer or fails to show that good cause existed to postpone
the hearing within ten (10) calendar days after the scheduled
hearing date of the reason for his or her absence from the
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hearing; 
10.1.3 has been afforded a hearing and the

substantiation was upheld;
10.1.4 has been convicted or pled guilty to a

criminal offense contained in Subchapters II or V of Chapter
5 of Title 11 including those taken nolo contendere or
subsequently discharged or dismissed under a First
Offenders program pursuant to 10 Del.C. § 1024 and the plea
or conviction is for the same incident substantiated by the
Division;

10.1.5 has been adjudicated delinquent as a
juvenile for any of the comparable criminal offenses listed
for adults for the same incident investigated by the Division;
and

10.1.6 has been substantiated for abuse or neglect
at a civil court hearing or administrative hearing at which the
minimum standard of proof was preponderance of the
evidence for the same incident investigated by the Division.

10.1.7 has been substantiated as provided in 16
Del.C. § 902A(f)(1).

11.0 Administrative Expungement of Substantiated
Cases

11.1 An application for administrative expungement
of a substantiated case may be made by any individual
whose name is entered on the Central Child Abuse Registry
unless there is one or more disqualifying factors.
Expungement may be granted only for good cause, and at the
discretion of the Division considering, but not limited to, the
factors below:

11.1.1 the nature of the substantiation with
respect to safety of the children who may come into the
individual's direct care;

11.1.2 compliance with a DFS recommended or
court-ordered treatment plan; 

11.1.3 history of substantiated or unsubstantiated
reports of child abuse and neglect;

11.1.4 any evidence of acts involving weapons,
explosive devices, or threats of harm;

11.1.5 any evidence of domestic violence
involving assaults, stalking, or cruelty to animals;

11.1.6 any evidence of addiction to drugs or
alcohol that presents a significant and current threat of harm
to children;

11.1.7 untreated or treated medical conditions
that present a significant and current threat of harm to
children;

11.1.8 length of time since the child abuse or
neglect incident;

11.1.9 seriousness of the child abuse or neglect
incident; 

11.1.10 number of child abuse or neglect
incidents;

11.1.11 indication of remorse; and changed

behavior.
11.1.12 The Division may consider any other

factors relevant to the substantiated individual’s application
for expungement.

12.0 Disqualifying Factors
12.1 The entire criminal history of a person,

including all convictions, is required to be reported for any
person seeking employment with a licensed child care
provider (11 Del.C. § 8561) and for a person seeking
employment in a nursing home, hospital, or other entity
licensed pursuant to Chapter 11 of Title 16 of the Delaware
Code (16 Del.C. § 1141), thus an individual shall not be
eligible for Administrative Expungement when he or she has
been convicted, pled guilty, or has been adjudicated
delinquent via plea or adjudication of any criminal offense
contained in Subchapters II or V of Chapter 5 of Title 11, or
of the same offenses if charged or delinquent in which the
person was responsible for the care, custody, and control of
the child at the time of the offense.

13.0 Procedures
13.1 A person placed on the Central Child Abuse

Registry may submit a written request for Administrative
Expungement to the Division Director, or designee, with the
reasons therefor.

13.2 Within sixty (60) days of receiving the written
request for Administrative Expungement, the Division shall
send its decision by certified mail, return receipt requested to
the person requesting expungement. The decision shall
include notice of the right to appeal to a hearing officer for a
hearing on the issue of administrative expungement.

13.3 A person placed on the Central Child Abuse
Registry, or an attorney acting on his or her behalf, shall
have thirty (30) calendar days of the Division’s decision to
request an Administrative Expungement hearing before a
hearing officer. The request shall be made in writing to the
hearing officer.

13.4 The procedures for an Administrative
Expungement hearing shall be the same as for the
Substantiation Hearing before a hearing officer. (See
Regulations 8.3-8.7).

14.0 Appeal to Family Court Following
Administrative Expungement Decision

14.1 Within thirty (30) days of the date of the
hearing officer’s decision, either the Division or the person
requesting expungement, or an attorney acting on his or her
behalf, may file a written appeal to Family Court.

14.2 Such reviews, hearings and decisions, audio
tapes, transcripts, and records on appeal to Family Court
shall be confidential and not open to the public. Neither the
Administrative Procedures Act 29 Del.C., Ch.101 nor the
Freedom of Information Act shall apply to such hearings,
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any record thereof, or any evidence or documents produced
or introduced at such hearings. The Division shall have the
discretion to release records, the decision, and hearing
evidence pursuant to 16 Del.C. § 906 (b)(18).

15.0 Cases Substantiated Prior to April 1, 2001
15.1 A substantiated person can request a

Substantiation Hearing unless they have already been
notified by the Division of the right to appeal and failed to
appeal, have already been given a hearing regarding the
substantiation, or he or she have the circumstances described
in Regulation 10.0 or in 16 Del.C. § 902A(f)(1).

15.2 A substantiated person can request an
Administrative Expungement unless a disqualifying factor
applies.

See 4 DE Reg. 1556 (3/1/01)

REGULATIONS PURSUANT TO 16 DEL.C. CH. 9 FOR 
DESIGNATION OF SUBSTANTIATED ACTS OF 

ABUSE OR NEGLECT TO CHILD PROTECTION 
LEVELS AND FOR CLASSIFYING 

UNSUBSTANTIATED CASES OF ABUSE OR 
NEGLECT IN THE DIVISION OF FAMILY 

SERVICES’ INTERNAL INFORMATION SYSTEM.

1.0  Legal Authorization
The legal authority for these regulations is found in the

Delaware Code: Title 16, Chapter 9.

2.0 Purpose
The purpose of these regulations is (1) to develop

regulations that assess the risk of future harm to children
from acts of abuse or neglect and to designate each such act
of abuse or neglect to a Child Protection Level, pursuant to
16 Del.C. §923; and (2) to develop regulations for
classifying unsubstantiated cases of abuse or neglect within
the Division of Family Services’ internal information
system, pursuant to 16 Del.C. §924.

3.0 Date of Implementation
These regulations become effective February 1, 2003.

4.0 Applicability
These regulations apply to acts of abuse or neglect that

are alleged to have  occurred on or after February 1, 2003;
and to the designation to Child Protection Levels of each
case substantiated for abuse or neglect that was placed on the
Central Registry (also known as the Central Child Abuse
Registry, the Child Abuse Registry, and the Central Abuse
Registry) between August 1, 1994 and February 1, 2003. 

5.0 Definition
“Parent/caretaker” means those responsible for the

care, custody, and control of the child as that term is defined

in §902 of Title 16 of the Delaware Code. 
6.0 Assessment of the Risk of Future Harm and
Designation of Child Protection Levels

6.1 During an investigation of an incident of abuse or
neglect, the Division of Family Services shall be guided by
16 Del.C. §906 (b).

6.2 A person who has been substantiated for abuse or
neglect must be entered  on the Child Protection Registry at
one of four designated Child Protection Levels related to the
risk of future harm to children arising from the incident
under investigation or for which a person has been
substantiated.

7.0   Child Protection Level I 
7.1 The following incidents of abuse or neglect shall

be deemed to present a low risk of future harm to children
and shall be designated to Child Protection Level I:

7.1.1 “Educational Neglect” means failure by a
parent/caretaker to follow through with Court-ordered
activity for the child after conviction in Court for “Failure to
Send Child to School.”

7.1.2 “Emotional Neglect” means mild to
moderate and/or isolated incidents of isolating/shunning,
rejecting, or ignoring a child.

7.1.3 “Incarceration” means a parent/caretaker
of a child is unable to provide for the basic needs of the child
because they are being detained in a correctional facility.

7.1.4 “Mental Incapacitation” means a parent/
caretaker of a child has a medically diagnosed mental
condition that renders them unable to meet the basic needs of
the child.

7.1.5 “Non-Relative Placement” means a child
whose needs are being met by a non-relative/non-family
member, through no neglect or fault of the parent/caretaker.

7.1.6 “Parent Child Conflict” means
unresolved conflict between a parent/caretaker and a child
over rules, expectations, and responsibilities.

7.1.7 “Physical Incapacitation” means a
parent/caretaker of a child has a medically diagnosed
physical condition that prevents them from meeting the basic
needs of the child.

7.1.8 “Relative Placement” means a child
whose needs are being met by a relative or family as those
terms are defined in 10 Del.C. §901, through no neglect or
fault of the parent/caretaker.

7.1.9 “Runaway” means a child is absent
without the permission of the parent/caretaker.

7.1.10 “Uncontrollable Behavior” means a
child is unwilling to abide by rules and boundaries set by the
parent/caretaker.

7.2 Conviction of any of the following crimes when
based on the same incident of abuse or neglect as alleged in
the Notice of Intent to Substantiate shall be deemed to
present a low risk of future harm to children and shall be
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designated Child Protection Level I: violation of compulsory
school attendance requirements or truancy

7.2.1 An incident of abuse or neglect containing
the elements of any crime or offense listed or described in
7.2 without regard to the institution or result of criminal or
delinquency proceedings based on such incident.

8.0 Child Protection Level II  
8.1 The following incidents of abuse or neglect shall be

deemed to present a moderate risk of future harm to children
and shall be designated Child Protection Level II:

8.1.1 “Bruises, cuts and lacerations not
requiring intervention by a medical professional” means
injury caused by a parent/caretaker to the body tissue of a
child causing discoloration, but without breaking the skin
(bruise) or an injury which causes an open wound (cut/
laceration) of a child over the age of six months. The injuries
did not require medical treatment beyond medical
examination.

8.1.3 “Emotional Abuse” includes, but is not
limited to, behaviors by a parent/caretaker toward a child
such as ridiculing, demeaning, making derogatory remarks,
cursing, or threatening to inflict physical or emotional harm.

8.1.6 “Lack of Supervision, ages 7 – 11”
means the parent/caretaker of a child is not providing
immediate care, thereby ensuring the well-being and safety
for the child, who is unable to care for him/herself or
respond appropriately to an emergency.  These are incidents
in which the parent/caretaker is physically present, but is not
attending to the child due to behaviors such as sleeping or
intoxication.

8.1.8 “Lock In/Out, ages 12 – 17” occurs when
a parent/caretaker locks a child  in a confined area such as a
bedroom, closet, and car or locks the child out of the home.  

8.1.7 “Moderate Physical Neglect” means
failure by a parent/caretaker of a child to provide for the
basic needs (e.g., food, clothing, shelter) of the child, for no
apparent financial reason, and this failure decreases the
child’s safety or general well-being.

8.1.2 “Other Physical Abuse” means actions
prohibited by Delaware Code such as punching, kicking,
biting, pulling hair, pushing/shoving, choking, and use of a
deadly weapon by a parent/caretaker of a child which have
not resulted in observable injury to the child.

8.1.5 “Severe Emotional Neglect” includes
behaviors by a parent/caretaker such as chronically isolating/
shunning, rejecting, or ignoring a child.  Child witnessing of
domestic violence is also included at this level.

8.1.4 “Verbal Innuendo” means inappropriate
sexualized statements to a child by a parent/caretaker
intended to entice or alarm.

8.2 Conviction of any of the following crimes when
based on the same incident of abuse or neglect as alleged in
the Notice of Intent to Substantiate shall be deemed to

present a moderate risk of future harm to children and shall
be designated Child Protection Level II: interference with
custody or indecent exposure in the second degree.

8.2.1 An incident of abuse or neglect containing
the elements of any crime or offense listed or described in
8.2 without regard to the institution or result of criminal or
delinquency proceedings based on such incident.

9.0 Child Protection Level III
9.1 The following incidents of abuse or neglect shall be

deemed to present a high risk of future harm to children and
shall be designated Child Protection Level III:

9.1.1 “Abandonment, ages 13 – 17” means the
parent/caretaker fails to assume or refuses to assume
responsibility or to provide basic care for a child on a daily
basis.   The basic care consists of food, clothing, shelter,
medical care, reasonable and consistent financial support,
and the maintenance of regular communication/contact
between the parent/caretaker and child.

9.1.2 “Bizarre Treatment” means behavior
toward a child by a parent/caretaker that is odd, extreme, or
significantly disproportionate to the precipitating event
initiated by the child, or would not be perceived as a logical
consequence by a  reasonable person.  

9.1.3 “Bruises, cuts, lacerations requiring
intervention by a medical professional” means injury
caused by a parent/caretaker to the body tissue of a child
causing discoloration, but without breaking the skin (bruise)
or an open wound (cut/laceration) necessitating medical
treatment beyond medical examination.  All children under
the age of six months are included at this level, regardless of
the need for medical treatment beyond medical examination.
Current evidence of historical injuries (perhaps appearing on
an x-ray) that would have required medical treatment at the
time of the injuries, but which do not necessitate current
treatment, also require a finding at this level.

9.1.4 “Child, Ages 7 – 11, Left Alone” means a
child who is unable to care for him/herself, or to respond to
an emergency, has not been left in the care of anyone by the
parent/caretaker.

9.1.5 “Dislocation/Sprain” means a medically
diagnosed displacement of a bone or injury to a ligament or
muscle caused by a parent/caretaker.

9.1.6 “Lack of Supervision, Age 6 and
Younger” means the parent/caretaker is not providing
immediate care, ensuring well-being and safety, for a child
who is unable to care for him/herself or respond
appropriately to an emergency.  These are incidents in which
the parent/caretaker is physically present, but is not
attending to the child due to behaviors such as sleeping or
intoxication.

9.1.7 “Lock In/Out, ages 0 – 11” occurs when a
parent/caretaker locks a child  in a confined area such as the
bedroom, closet, and car or locks the child out of the home.
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9.1.8 “Malnutrition” means a medically
diagnosed condition of poor nourishment of a child resulting
from insufficient food or an improper diet caused by a
parent/caretaker.

9.1.9 “Non-Organic Failure to Thrive” means
medically diagnosed Failure to Thrive that is documented as
life-threatening.

9.1.10 “Other Medical Neglect” means failure
by a parent/caretaker to obtain  proper or necessary medical
care, but the medical care is not life-threatening.

9.1.11 “Serious Physical Neglect” means failure
by the parent/caretaker of a child to provide for the basic
needs (e.g., food, clothing, shelter) of the child, for no
apparent financial reason, and this failure could result in
bodily harm or death.  

9.2 Conviction of any of the following crimes when
based on the same incident of abuse or neglect as alleged in
the Notice of Intent to Substantiate shall be deemed to
present a high risk of future harm to children and shall be
designated Child Protection Level III: offensive touching,
menacing, reckless endangering, assault in the third degree,
terroristic threatening, unlawful administration of drugs or
controlled substances, indecent exposure in the first degree,
sexual harassment, unlawful imprisonment, abandonment of
a child, or misdemeanor endangering the welfare of a child
or an incompetent person.

9.2.1 An incident of abuse or neglect containing
the elements of any crime or offense listed or described in
9.2 without regard to the institution or result of criminal or
delinquency proceedings based on such incident.

10.0 Child Protection Level IV           
10.1 The following incidents of abuse or neglect

shall be deemed to present the highest risk of future harm to
children and shall be designated Child Protection Level IV:

10.1.1 “Abandonment 0 – 12” means the parent/
caretaker fails to assume or refuses to assume responsibility
or to provide basic care for a child on a daily basis.   The
basic care consists of food, clothing, shelter, medical care,
reasonable and consistent financial support, and the
maintenance of regular communication/contact between the
parent/caretaker and child.  This finding does not include the
voluntary surrender of a baby pursuant to the Safe Arms for
Baby Act.

10.1.2 “Anal Intercourse” means penetration of
the anus of a child by parent/caretaker for reasons other than
appropriate medical diagnosis/treatment such as using a
rectal thermometer or giving a child an enema or
suppository.  The penetrating object could be the parent/
caretaker’s tongue, penis or fingers, or might involve
inanimate objects such as crayons or pencils.

10.1.3 “Blunt Force Trauma” means serious or
life-threatening bruises, cuts, lacerations caused by a parent/
caretaker that require medical treatment beyond medical

examination.
10.1.4 “Bone Fracture” means a medically

diagnosed break or crack in a bone or cartilage caused by a
parent/caretaker.

10.1.5 “Burn/Scald” means a medically
diagnosed injury intentionally or recklessly inflicted by the
parent/caretaker to a child by contacting the child’s skin/hair
to a flame, hot object, hot liquid, electrical source, or a
chemical source.

10.1.6 “Child, Aged 6 or Younger, Left Alone”
means a child who is unable to care for him/herself, or to
respond to an emergency, has not been left in the care of
anyone by the parent/caretaker.

10.1.7 “Death” means a child’s loss of life due to
abuse or neglect by parent/caretaker.

10.1.8 “Driving Under the Influence (DUI)”
means incidents documented by law enforcement of a
parent/caretaker driving a vehicle under the influence of
alcohol or drugs with a child present.

10.1.9 “Exploitation” occurs when a parent/
caretaker behaves unethically toward a child, using the
parent’s/caretaker’s position of power to solicit sexual acts in
an attempt to obtain some type of sexual gratification.  This
category includes situations in which a parent/caretaker
prostitutes a child or knowingly permits a child to be “used”
by another party, regardless of whether the parent/caretaker
receives sexual gratification or other compensation (money,
drugs) or no compensation at all.

10.1.10 "Head Trauma” means a medically
diagnosed serious or life-threatening injury inflicted by a
parent/caretaker to a child’s face or head.

10.1.11 “Inappropriate Touching” means
intentional touching of the breasts, abdomen, genital area,
inner thighs or buttocks by a parent/caretaker for the sexual
gratification of the parent/caretaker. The parent/caretaker
and child may be clothed or unclothed and this finding is
also appropriate in cases in which the parent/caretaker has
asked the child to touch them.  This category does not
include touching by the parent/caretaker necessary to
provide routine hygienic care such as bathing or to
administer medications such as a menthol rub for a chest
cold.

10.1.12 “Internal Injury” means a medically
diagnosed serious injury within the abdominal or chest area
inflicted by a parent/caretaker.

10.1.13 “Life-Threatening Medical Neglect”
means a parent’s/caretaker’s failure to obtain medical care
for a child has resulted in permanent functional impairment
attributable to neglect.  Medical diagnosis is necessary to
support this finding.  This category also includes failure by a
parent/caretaker to use equipment such as an apnea monitor
or respirator, to provide medications for health problems
such as diabetes or asthma, or to practice therapies in the
home for a child such as suctioning of the airway as directed
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by a physician for the purpose of preventing death and
sustaining life.

10.1.14 “Operating a Vessel or Boat Under the
Influence (BUI)” means incidents documented by law
enforcement of a parent/caretaker driving a vessel or boat
under the influence of alcohol or drugs with a child present.

10.1.15 “Oral Intercourse” means oral (mouth) –
genital (penis, vagina) contact between a parent/caretaker
and a child.

10.1.16 “Other Sexual Abuse” means sexually
inappropriate behavior between a parent/caretaker and a
child which is not included in 10.1.10 – 10.1.15.

10.1.17 “Poisoning” means a parent/caretaker
non-accidentally over-medicates or causes a child to ingest
alcohol, drugs (legal/illegal) not prescribed for that child, or
other toxic substances, resulting in significant and/or
enduring functional impairment.

10.1.18 “Pornography” means production or
possession of visual material (e.g., pictures, films, video) by
a parent/caretaker depicting a child engaged in a sexual act
or a simulation of such an act.  The visual material involves
sexualized content, as opposed to “naked baby” pictures.

10.1.19 “Puncture/Stab” means a parent/
caretaker inflicts injury, piercing the child’s body with a
pointed object, which requires medical treatment beyond
medical examination.

10.1.20 ”Shaken Baby” means a medically
diagnosed condition in which violent shaking of an infant by
a parent/caretaker has resulted in subdural hematomas
(blood clots on the surface of the brain), and/or retinal
hemorrhages (bleeding behind the eyes), causing serious and
permanent brain damage.  

10.1.21 “Suffocation” means a parent/caretaker
deliberately interferes with child’s ability to breathe, by
strangling, smothering or otherwise depriving the child of
oxygen.

10.1.22 “Vaginal Intercourse” occurs when a
parent/caretaker of a female child penetrates the child’s
vagina with a penis, fingers, or with an inanimate object; or
when a parent/caretaker manipulates a child of either sex to
penetrate the parent’s/caretaker’s vagina.

10.2 Conviction of any of the following crimes
when based on the same incident  of abuse or neglect as
alleged in the Notice of Intent to Substantiate shall be
deemed to present the highest risk of future harm to children
and shall be designated Child Protection Level 4: vehicular
assault, vehicular homicide, criminally negligent homicide,
assault in the first degree, assault in the second degree,
murder, manslaughter, murder by abuse or neglect, incest,
rape, unlawful sexual contact, sexual extortion, sexual
solicitation of a child, bestiality, continuous sexual abuse of
a child, possession of child pornography, unlawfully dealing
in child pornography, felony endangering the welfare of a
child or an incompetent person, dangerous crime against a

child, kidnapping, coercion, dealing in children, unlawful
dealing with a child, sexual exploitation of a child, or
promoting suicide.

10.2.1 An incident of abuse or neglect containing
the elements of any crime or offense listed or described in
10.2 without regard to the institution or result of criminal or
delinquency proceedings based on such incident.

11.0 Unsubstantiated Investigations
11.1 If the Division determines from its

investigation not to substantiate the person for abuse or
neglect, the person may not be entered on the Child
Protection Registry for that reported incident.  The Division
shall indicate in its internal information system that the
incident is unsubstantiated, and so notify the person in
writing.

11.2 If the Division determines from its
investigation that there is no credible  evidence to
substantiate the person for abuse or neglect for that incident,
the internal information system will indicate that the finding
is “Unsubstantiated – No Evidence.”

11.3 If the Division determines from its
investigation that substantiation proceedings for that incident
of abuse or neglect are not warranted or justified, but that
there are reasons for concern, the internal information
system will indicate that the finding is “Unsubstantiated with
Concern.”
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.  

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 540

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 
Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

Regulatory Implementing Order
540 Driver Education

I. Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to amend regulation 540 Driver Education. The
regulation has been renumbered for clarity by clustering like
issues together. Amendments have also been made to
renumbered sections 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 4.0 and 5.0 for the purpose
of clarity.  A new section 6.0 states that all high schools with
twenty-five or more students shall provide instruction in
driver education.  Proposed amendments to regulation 540
Driver Education were previously published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations in August 2002, (Volume 6 page
133) and due to substantive changes in the amendments it is
was re-published.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on September
25, 2002, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
Comments were received from the Governors Advisory
Council for Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for
Persons with Disabilities concerning Section 1.2 of the

regulation.  The Department feels that the proposed language
relating to Section 504 and the ADA was carefully
considered when the Department reviewed the Council’s
earlier comments.  The Department believes that the
language proposed in the published regulation protects the
rights of children with disabilities under all the applicable
statutes without creating the risk of contrary interpretations
of the regulation and the statutes.  Interestingly, framing the
regulation as a negative is consistent with language in the
IDEA describing the interaction of the IDEA with the
Rehabilitation Act and ADA.  (See 20 USC. §1415(1).

II. Findings Of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation in order to add clarity and focus to the contents of
the regulation and to make it clear that all high schools with
twenty five or more students must provide instruction in
Driver Education. 

III. Decision To Amend The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore,
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, the regulation attached hereto as
Exhibit “B” is hereby Amended.  Pursuant to the provision
of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §540 in the
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date Of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, on November 21,
2002.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 21st  day of November 2002.

Department Of Education
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st. day of November 2002

State Board Of Education
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Robert J. Gilsdorf
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

540  Driver Education

1.0 Delaware residents are entitled to free driver education
one time only.  Students who are not successful in their
initial driver education course may register in any of the
adult driver education programs for a fee.

1.1  2.0 The Individualized Education Program Team,
in consultation with the Driver Education teacher, may make
accommodations to the Driver Education program and offer
specialized instruction for special education students through
the students’ student’s Individual Education Program
(I.E.P.).

1.2 Nothing in this regulation shall alter a school’s
duties under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or
the Americans with Disabilities Act to students who are
qualified individuals with disabilities.  Nothing in this
regulation shall prevent a school from providing driver
education to such students.

1.3  3.0 Delaware residents attending school out of
state as sophomores, students in excess of the September

30th unit allotment, students attending private and parochial
academies in state with sophomore enrollments of less than
twenty-five, home schooled students and any student

approved by the Secretary as an exceptional case are entitled
to attend summer driver education without charge. Districts
shall notify all nonpublic and public high schools in their

district by April May 1st annually as to the location of the
nearest summer driver education program.  Summer Driver
Education shall be offered between June 1 - August 31 and
each request for free tuition must be approved by the
Secretary of Education through the Office of the Education
Associate for Driver Education, Safety and Physical
Education.

1.4  4.0 Adult Driver Education programs, when
offered, shall follow the same regulations established for the
high school and the summer programs.  The adult programs
are available to any individual for a fee through a local
school district in each county.  The costs cost per student for
adult driver education will be determined by the Department
of Education.

2.0  5.0 The driver education course shall include a
minimum of forty-four (44) class hours of instruction
consisting of thirty (30) class hours of classroom instruction,
seven (7) class hours of in-the-car behind-the-wheel
laboratory instruction and seven (7) hours of actual
observation in-the-car. The class hours must not be less than
forty-five (45) minutes each.  For those schools with varying
class schedules the minimum classroom instruction must be
no less than one thousand three hundred fifty (1350) minutes
and behind-the-wheel laboratory instruction no less than
three hundred fifteen (315) minutes.

2.1 5.1 Driving simulators may be substituted for the
required hours of behind-the-wheel laboratory instruction
but only up to three (3) hours of time at the ratio of four (4)
hours of driving simulation to one (1) hour of actual behind-
the-wheel laboratory instruction.

2.2  5.2 Off-the-street driving ranges or multiple
driving ranges that are off the street may be substituted for
actual behind-the-wheel laboratory instruction up to three (3)
hours time at the ratio of two (2) hours of range instruction
time to one (1) hour of actual behind-the-wheel laboratory
instruction time.

2.3  5.3 Driving simulation and off-the-street driving
range time shall not be taken from or cause a reduction of
classroom instruction time.

2.4  5.4 Driving simulation and off-the-street driving
range time shall not be substituted for more than one-half
(½) of the total required seven (7) hours of actual behind-
the-wheel laboratory instruction and only at the ratios
defined in the above items.  This includes individually or in
any combination.

3.0  6.0 The Driver Education teachers shall use the
“Teachers’ Guide for Driver Education” developed by the
Department of Education for classroom instruction and
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behind-the-wheel laboratory instruction time.  Teachers
should include student activities requiring reading, writing
and research as part of the Driver Education curriculum.

4.0  7.0 Beginning with the 1998-99 school year, grades for
the Driver Education Program Final grades for the forty-four
hour driver education course shall be either pass or fail.
Districts Schools may grant one-fourth (1/4) credit for
successful completion of the minimum hours in both the
classroom and the behind-the-wheel laboratory experience.
The one fourth credit for driver education may be included
as part of the elective credits counted toward graduation.

4.1  7.1 Pass/Fail grades for publication in the
Department of Education “Report of Educational Statistics”
must be received by the Department of Education no later

than June 30th for Regular Driver Education Programs and

August 31st for Summer Driver Education Programs.  Final
grades will be maintained by the Department for a seven-
year period.

8.0 During the school day, automobiles purchased by a
district or leased from Fleet Services or leased directly from
a dealership using state funds allocated for Driver Education
shall be used solely for the instruction of students enrolled in
Driver Education.  

5.0 Automobiles purchased, leased from Fleet Services or
leased directly from a dealership using state funds allocated
for driver education shall be used solely for the instruction of
students enrolled in Driver Education; except that a school
district or charter school may permit a driver education
teacher to drive such automobile to and from the teacher’s
place of residence when the school district or charter school
determines that it would be unsafe to store the automobile
overnight at the school; and further provided that in the case
of a private school driver education teacher, the Education
Associate for Driver Education and Physical Education at
the Department of Education may permit the teacher to drive
the automobile to and from school from the teacher’s place
of residence when it appears that it would be unsafe to store
the automobile overnight at the school.

6.0 All public and non-public high schools with enrollments
of twenty-five or more sophomore students shall offer driver
education as an integral part of the curriculum.

See 1 DE Reg. 964 (1/1/98)

Regulatory Implementing Order
601 School/Police Relations

I. Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Secretary seeks to amend regulation 601 School
Police Relations in order to include charter schools and
alternative schools in the requirements of the regulation and
to clarify the list of school crimes that must be reported to
the Department of Education, in addition to those required to
be reported by law and to reflect current conditions.  Some
incidents of student misconduct have been removed from the
list and bomb threats, alcohol possession and use and
bullying have been added to the list.  A definition of bullying
has been added in 5.0. The requirement in 2.0 for DOE
approved training was removed since the training is done
locally with technical assistance from DOE if requested.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on September
25, 2002, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.
Comments were received from the Governors Advisory
Council for Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for
Persons with Disabilities concerning the concept of
“bullying” and the use of the reference to “alternative
schools”.  The Department’s response is as follows.

On January 15, 2002, a task force created by House
Resolution No. 24 made recommendations to the Governor
and General Assembly regarding the consistency of school
district Codes of Conduct.  The task force agreed with earlier
findings that the development of a statewide code of conduct
would “not act favorably upon the very complex problem of
student behavior” and that districts should develop their own
codes of conduct. The proposed regulation is consistent with
the task force’s findings regarding local autonomy, while
allowing the Department to track and analyze information
about the nature and extent of bullying in our public schools.  

In addition, the Council correctly notes that alternative
schools are not specifically mentioned in 14 Del.C. §4112.
Alternative Schools are actually programs of school districts
or consortia of school districts and as such are already
covered in the reporting regulations. Mentioning alternative
schools here simply makes that clear and is consistent with
the Department’s broad regulatory authority over such
programs. See 14 Del.C. §§1603, 1605.

II. Findings Of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation to clarify the list of school crimes that must be
reported to the Department of Education, in addition to those
required to be reported by law, and to reflect current
conditions.
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III. Decision To Amend The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore,
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1603, the regulation attached hereto
as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended  Pursuant to the provision
of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §601 in the
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date Of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1603, on November 14,
2002.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 14th day of November 2002.

Department Of Education
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

601  School/Police Relations

1.0 All local school districts shall establish a policy on
school/police relations.  Each school district  shall develop a
Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) between the district
board of education and each police department which
provides police coverage to the district.  Each district’s
MOA shall be in a form substantially similar to the Model
Memorandum of Agreement (MMO) Between Board(s) of
Education and Law Enforcement Agencies in the State of
Delaware as approved by the Secretary of the Department of
Education.  Section 6 of the MMO must be included in each
district’s MOA verbatim.  Districts shall submit a signed
copy of its current MOA and be submitted to the Department
of Education.

1.0 All local school districts, charter schools and alternative
schools or consortia shall establish a policy on school/police
relations.  Each school district, charter school and alternative
school or consortium shall develop a Memorandum of
Agreement (MOA) with each police department which
provides services to it.  Each MOA shall be in a form
substantially similar to a Model MOA as developed,
approved and from time to time revised by the Department
of Education.

2.0 Each school administrator involved in the student
disciplinary process shall complete DOE approved training
in school/police relations and in student disciplinary matters
in general and, thereafter, such additional training in those
areas as the Department of Education  may from time to time
prescribe.

2.0  3.0 Each school district, charter school and alternative
school or consortium shall, at the time of hiring and at the
beginning of each school year thereafter, advise each school
employee (as that term is defined in 14 Dolce §4112) of his/
her duty to report school crimes and the penalty for failure to
so report. 

3.0  4.0 The Superintendent of each school district and
program administrator for each charter school and
alternative school, or his/her designee, shall report to the
DOE Department of Education all school crimes required to
be reported pursuant to 14 Dolce §4112, and any subsequent
amendment thereto. Such reports shall be made on the
Student Conduct Report (SCR) form to be provided by forms
as designated by the Department of Education and filed with
the Department of Education within the time prescribed by
statute. 

5.0 In addition to those school crimes required to be
reported pursuant to statute, the Superintendent of each
school district shall report to the Department of Education
the following incidents of misconduct.

4.0 In addition to those school crimes required to be
reported pursuant to statute, the Superintendent of each
school district and program administrator for each charter
school and alternative school or consortia shall report to the
Department of Education incidents of misconduct 4.1
through 4.7.  Such reports shall be made on forms as
designated by the Department of Education and filed with
the Department of Education not later than five working
days following the incident of student misconduct. 

5.1 Pornography, exhibitionism, peeping
5.2 Criminal mischief
5.3 Evidence of organized gambling offenses
5.4 Offenses involving school property
5.5 Felony theft offenses
5.6 Forgery offenses
5.7 Fraud offenses
5.8 Tampering with public records
5.9 Computer/recorded sounds
5.10 Disorderly conduct/fighting
5.11 Offensive touching (non-employee)
5.12 Terroristic threatening (non-employee)

4.1 Pornography, possession and production
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4.2 Bomb threats
4.3 Criminal mischief (vandalism)
4.4 Tampering with public records
4.5 Alcohol, possession and use
4.6 Felony theft ($1,000 or more)
4.7 Bullying

5.0 For purposes of the reporting required pursuant to 4.7 of
this regulation, “Bullying” is defined as when one person, or
a group of persons, targets another person with repeated
direct or indirect negative actions over a period of time
which are harmful to the victim either emotionally or
physically.  A negative action occurs when a person
knowingly inflicts, or attempts to inflict, physical or
emotional injury or discomfort upon another person.  

6.0 Such reports shall be made on the SCR form to be
provided by the Department of Education and filed with the
Department of Education not later than five working days
following the incident of student misconduct.

See 1 DE Reg. 511 (11/1/97)

Regulatory Implementing Order
707 Salary Continuation: Operation Noble Eagle And 

Enduring Freedom

I. Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The secretary seeks to approve the regulation 707 Salary
Continuation: Operation Noble Eagle and Enduring Freedom

in order to comply with the 141st General Assembly Senate
Bill 272 and Senate Amendment 1 entitled  An Act to Amend
Title14 and Title 29 Relating to Leave of Absence for
Military Service.  The purpose of this bill is to assure that
school district employees will continue to receive state
compensation (less military service compensation) for time
served on active duty in Operation Noble Eagle and
Enduring Freedom.

This regulation had been approved on an emergency
basis for ninety days.  The Secretary is now seeking to
approve the regulation for permanent inclusion in the
Regulations of the Department of Education and in the
records of the Register of Regulations.  

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on September
25, 2002 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  No
comments were received.

II. Findings Of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to approve this
regulation 707 Salary Continuation: Operation Noble Eagle

and Enduring Freedom in order to comply with the 141st

General Assembly Senate Bill 272 and Senate Amendment 1
entitled  An Act to Amend Title14 and Title 29 Relating to
Leave of Absence for Military Service.  The purpose of this
bill is to assure that school district employees will continue
to receive state compensation (less military service
compensation) for time served on active duty in Operation
Noble Eagle and Enduring Freedom.

III. Decision To Approve The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to approve this regulation.  Therefore,
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1327(b) the regulation attached
hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby approved.  Pursuant to the
provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby
approved shall be in effect for a period of five years from the
effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §707 in the
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date Of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1327(b) on November 14,
2002.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 14th day of November 2002.

Department Of Education
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

707 Salary Continuation: Operation Noble Eagle and 
Enduring Freedom

1.0 Principals, teachers and other employees of a school
district called to active military service in connection with
Operation Noble Eagle and/or Operation Enduring Freedom
shall be eligible for continuation of their state share of
salary, less any military compensation received during the
initial period of active duty.

2.0 Employees receiving continuation of their state share of
salary shall be placed either on a “Military Leave Without
Pay” if they are to receive their pay when they return from
active duty or on a “Military Leave With Pay”if they are to
receive their biweekly pay while on active duty. They will
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not accumulate holidays, sick leave, or annual leave while in
a leave status.  In accordance with state and federal statutes,
employees will be credited with state service for the amount
of time on military leave upon their return to active
employment.

3.0 The amount of salary continuation provided through this
regulation shall apply to the state share of salary only.
However, a local school district may elect to provide salary
continuation for the local district portion of the employee’s
salary.

3.1 The state share of compensation shall be limited to
the state share of the base salary as calculated from the
appropriate salary schedule, administrative supplements and
all other stipends as provided for in 14 Del.C. Chapter 13.

3.2 Military compensation shall include base salary,
basic allowance for quarters (BAQ), basic allowance for
subsistence (BAS), hazardous duty pay and all other
supplemental compensation.  The military compensation
shall be multiplied by the ratio of state share of
compensation to total compensation in determining the state
portion of the salary continuation.

3.3 Salary continuation checks shall be subject to
applicable federal, state, and city of Wilmington taxes and
FICA, if the employee is in a FICA eligible position.
Pension contributions, if the employee is in a pension
eligible position, and garnishments will also be made from
the salary continuation checks.  Other deductions from the
salary continuation checks will be made in accordance with
Department of Education guidelines.

4.0 Claims must be filed within 90 days of release from
active duty or by Tuesday November 12, 2002 whichever is
later.

4.1 Salary continuation shall be effective retroactive to
September 11, 2001.

4.2 The request for continuation of salary shall be
initiated by the employee.  Employees must contact the
school district personnel office for a copy of the forms and
instructions for filing a claim.

4.3 Claims shall be processed in accordance with the
procedures and forms developed by the Department of
Education.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 505 (31 Del.C. §505)

ORDER

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services / Medicaid/Medical Assistance
Programs is proposing to amend the Title XIX Medicaid
State Plan to establish a client co-pay amount for non-
emergency medical transportation services.  The
Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the October, 2002 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by October 31, 2002 at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary of Proposed  Regulation - Non-Emergency 
Transportation Co-Pay Policy

• Non-emergency transportation is provided to all eli-
gible Medicaid clients under the Medicaid State
Plan as an “Administrative” activity and cost.  Non-
emergency transportation is also provided to non-
Medicaid clients participating in the DSS Chronic
Renal Disease Program. Clients eligible for the Del-
aware Healthy Children Program are not covered
for non-emergency transportation services.  Non-
emergency transportation services (NET) are pro-
vided under an Administrative contract with a
transportation broker.  

• Under the Transportation Broker contract, non-
emergency transportation is provided free-of-
charge to all eligible Medicaid and CRDP clients
who use public bus passes or paratransit services
through the Delaware Transit Corporation.

• All other means of transportation require a standard
co-payment of $1.00 per trip.  A trip is defined as
transportation “to” or “from” a medical service.  A
round-trip would incur a $2.00 co-payment on the
part of the eligible client. 

• All eligible clients other than those excluded above,
are liable for the applicable co-pay amount.  Non-
payment of this standard cost-sharing amount may

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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result in denial of the service at the Transportation
Broker’s or Transportation Provider’s discretion.
Providers may voluntarily provide transportation to
client who cannot pay the co-pay amount, however
the State will not reimburse the Transportation Bro-
ker or the Transportation Provider any co-payment
amounts for which the client is or would have been
liable.

• Further, the Transportation Broker or Transporta-
tion Provider have complete discretion as to
whether they will pursue any unpaid co-pay
amounts from clients who were provided non-emer-
gency transportation but failed to reimburse the
Transportation Provider the required co-pay fee at
the time of the service.  The State will not pursue
unpaid co-pay amounts from clients.

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response

The Governor's Advisory Council For Exceptional
Citizens (GACEC), the Delaware Developmental
Disabilities Council (DDDC), and the State Council for
Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following
comments:

• First, these are essentially "nuisance" co-pays.
Query whether they are worth the cost of adminis-
tration by providers. 

Response: DSS chose to implement a co-payment for
the following reasons: to control costs and to discourage
unnecessary trips.

• Second, most Medicaid recipients are low-income.
Why provide a disincentive to seek medical care for
self or children?  The $1.00 represents a loaf of
bread.  To a homeless person, it may represent a
bowl of soup.

Response: The Division's approach to necessary cost
containment is to use strategies with the most modest
impact on the user.  We believe that a $1.00 co-payment
complies with this goal and minimizes the need for more
drastic measures.

• Third, DSS appears uncertain that these co-pays
comply with Federal regulations:

Non-Emergency Transportation (NET) is provided as an
administrative activity under the State Plan.  The State's
position is that as an administrative activity, NET co-pay
requirements are not subject to 42 C.F.R. 447.53(b),
exclusions from cost-sharing.

Find attached a copy of 42 C.F.R. §447.53(b) for

facilitated reference.  Literally, this regulation appears to
proscribe or limit the co-pay system that DSS is attempting
to adopt.  Moreover, even if authorized, DSS ostensibly fails
to meet 42 C.F.R. 447.53(d)(4) which requires that the State
plan must "specify the basis for determining whether an
individual is unable to pay the charge and the means by
which such an individual will be identified to providers."

Response: Since this is an administrative activity
rather than a program service, the exclusions language
does not apply.

• Fourth, DSS is apparently establishing the co-pay
system retroactively!  See chart on p.438 containing
October 1, 2002 effective date.  This is not an emer-
gency regulation and DSS should not be retroac-
tively amending standards.  Compare DSS adoption
of the guaranteed eligibility regulation [5 DE Reg.
1930 April 1, 2002] which were amended to
remove retroactive application provisions.  

Response: DSS acknowledges that the time for
comment and implementation on the State Plan
Amendment was compressed.  Previous notice of the
potential for client co-payments was stated in 5 DE reg.
2239, June 1, 2002. 

• Fifth, has the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services (CMS) been notified of this attempted
change in the State Plan?

Response: DSS follows federal regulations regarding
the submittal of state plan amendments.  Accordingly, the
proposed regulatory change will be submitted to CMS.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the October, 2002 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Programs to
establish a client co-payment amount for non-emergency
medical transportation services be adopted and shall be final
effective December 10, 2002.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, November 13, 2002

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation
as originally proposed and published in the October 2002
issue of the Register at page 437 (6 DE Reg. 437).
Therefore, the final regulation is not being republished.
Please refer to the October 2002 issue of the Register or
contact the Division of Social Services.
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

ORDER

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services / Food Stamp Program initiated
proceedings to implement changes to the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM).  The purpose of this regulatory
action is to mandate the use of utility standards.

The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations
were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114
and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section
512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the October, 2002 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by October 31, 2002 at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

No comments were received.

Summary of Proposed Change: DSSM 9060 - Income 
Deductions

Authority: 7 CFR 273.9 and Section 4104 of Public Law
107-171

Purpose: Households with utility expenses will be required
to use the appropriate mandatory utility standard regardless
of the actual costs of their expenses.  The intent is to stop
prorating the allowances when more than one family shares
expenses. 

Reason:  Mandating the use of utility standards will reduce
food stamp errors and reduce the number of verifications
currently needed.  Eligible clients that have the allowances
currently prorated may get an increase in food stamps.

Findings Of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the October, 2002 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Food Stamp Program related to Standard
Utility Allowances are adopted and shall be final effective
December 10, 2002.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, November 13, 2002

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation
as originally proposed and published in the October 2002
issue of the Register at page 439 (6 DE Reg. 439).
Therefore, the final regulation is not being republished.
Please refer to the October 2002 issue of the Register or
contact the Division of Social Services.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

ORDER

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services / Food Stamp Program initiated
proceedings to implement changes to the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM). This regulatory action is related
to the six-month reporting requirements for certified food
stamp households.  The Department’s proceedings to amend
its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the October, 2002 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by October 31, 2002 at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

No comments were received.

Summary Of Proposed Change: DSSM 9085 - Reporting 
Changes

Authority: Section 4104 of the Farm Security and Rural
Investment Act of 2002

Purpose: To have all households under the six-month
reporting requirements, with certain exceptions, report only
when their income increases above 130% of the Federal
Poverty Level.

Reason:  This option will decrease client caused errors from
failing to report changes.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the October, 2002 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html


FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 6, ISSUE 6, SUNDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2002

781

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Food Stamp Program related to Reporting
Changes are adopted and shall be final effective December
10, 2002.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, November 13, 2002

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation
as originally proposed and published in the October 2002
issue of the Register at page 441 (6 DE Reg. 441).
Therefore, the final regulation is not being republished.
Please refer to the October 2002 issue of the Register or
contact the Division of Social Services.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

ORDER

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to renew
Delaware's eligibility status for the Temporary Assistance
for Needy Families (TANF) program provided for in the
enactment of the Personal Responsibility and Work
Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA), (P.L.
104-193). The Department’s proceedings to amend its
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the October, 2002 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by October 31, 2002 at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

No comments were received.

Summary Of TANF State Plan Renewal

This new State Plan is submitted to renew Delaware's
eligibility status for the Temporary Assistance for Needy
Families (TANF) program provided for in the enactment of
the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA), (P.L. 104-193).

Delaware has been operating its TANF program under
Section 1115 waivers from the Social Security Act, as
approved on December 12, 1995, and amended on
September 27, 1996. 

The current authorization of the TANF waivers

terminated on September 30, 2002.  TANF is authorized to
continue through December 31, 2002. Delaware has
prepared this State Plan renewal with much unknown
information.  Enactment of either the House or Senate
Finance Committee Reauthorization Bill would make many
changes in TANF, but Delaware cannot build such changes
into this Plan without knowing which of the many
conflicting provisions will prevail.  In addition, one
provision that Delaware has reviewed with particular interest
is the authority provided to states by Section 711 of the
Senate Finance Bill, to continue to operate TANF using
section 1115 waiver provisions.  Enactment of this proposal
would permit Delaware to continue to operate TANF using
the Delaware provisions that DHHS agreed were
inconsistent with TANF based on our 1999 Waiver
Inconsistency Certification. 

Although our rate of caseload decline has flattened
somewhat recently due to the economic downturn, we are
certain that this temporary slow-down will be short-lived.
Delaware's TANF program requires immediate work from
caretakers in time-limited families; those who cannot secure
unsubsidized employment immediately are placed in a Work
for Your Welfare component.  

Since the Senate Bill would permit our waivers to
continue, and Delaware is unable at this time to plan what
alternative provisions might be required by enactment of
reauthorization legislation, we have opted to continue
operating Delaware's TANF program as is currently
designed with minor changes to be in compliance with
certain TANF requirements. In making this decision,
Delaware has carefully considered any potential risks to our
ability to be meet TANF participation rates and have
formulated contingency plans that will ensure we avoid
participation rate penalties. Delaware's contingency plans
include the potential for temporary movement of some
families who are performing work services that would not
count as participation under current TANF rules, into
segregated or separate state programs using maintenance of
effort (MOE) funding. 

Delaware plans to closely watch the progress of federal
TANF reauthorization and to submit any needed
Amendments to this State Plan as quickly as possible after
new legislative requirements become known.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the October, 2002 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations related to the renewal of the TANF State Plan are
adopted and shall be final effective December 10, 2002.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, November 13, 2002

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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RENEWAL:

Delaware State Plan For TANF

This new State Plan is submitted to renew Delaware's
eligibility status for the Temporary Assistance for Needy
Families (TANF) program provided for in the enactment of
the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA), (P.L. 104-193).

Delaware has been operating its TANF program under
Section 1115 waivers from the Social Security Act, as
approved on December 12, 1995, and amended on
September 27, 1996. [Delaware received approval to
continue its waiver program based on the Waiver
Inconsistency Certification submitted by the Governor
on September 27, 1999.  Complete information about the
waivers we are continuing is contained in the Waiver
Inconsistency Certification.]

[Five years have passed since the enactment of
PRWORA, and] [the] [The] current authorization of the
TANF [program is scheduled to end on September 30,
2002, which is coincidentally the last day as the
Delaware] waiver[s] [is scheduled to] terminate[d] [on
September 30, 2002].  [TANF is authorized to continue
through December 31, 2002.] [With reauthorization
legislation still pending federal action,] Delaware has
prepared this State Plan renewal with much unknown
information.  Enactment of either the House or Senate
Finance Committee Reauthorization Bill would make many
changes in TANF, but Delaware cannot build such changes
into this Plan without knowing which of the many
conflicting provisions will prevail.  In addition, one
provision that Delaware has reviewed with particular interest
is the authority provided to states by Section 711 of the
Senate Finance Bill, to continue to operate TANF using
section 1115 waiver provisions.  Enactment of this proposal
would permit Delaware to continue to operate TANF using
the Delaware provisions that DHSS agreed were inconsistent
with TANF based on our 1999 Waiver Inconsistency
Certification. 

[Delaware's TANF program has been extremely
successful.  From January 1997, when our waiver was
implemented statewide, through December, 2001, we
achieved a caseload reduction of 46 percent.]  Although
our rate of caseload decline has flattened somewhat recently
due to the economic downturn, we are certain that this
temporary slow-down will be short-lived.  Delaware's TANF
program requires immediate work from caretakers in time-
limited families; those who cannot secure unsubsidized
employment immediately are placed in a Work for Your
Welfare component.  

Since the Senate Bill would permit our waivers to
continue, and Delaware is unable at this time to plan what
alternative provisions might be required by enactment of

reauthorization legislation, we have opted to continue
operating Delaware's TANF program [using our current
waiver provisions]  [as is currently designed with minor
changes to be in compliance with certain TANF
requirements].  In making this decision, Delaware has
carefully considered any potential risks to our ability to [be
in compliance with] [meet] TANF [rules] [participation
rates and] [, in the event that the waivers are not
extended: We] have formulated contingency plans that will
ensure [that the State remains in compliance with
whatever TANF requirements are enacted]  [we avoid
participation rate penalties].  Delaware's contingency
plans include the potential for temporary movement of some
families who are performing work services that would not
count as participation under current TANF rules, into
segregated or separate state programs using maintenance of
effort (MOE) funding. 

Delaware plans to closely watch the progress of federal
TANF reauthorization and to submit any needed
Amendments to this State Plan as quickly as possible after
new legislative requirements become known. 

Goals, Results And Public Involvement

Goals
The goal of Delaware's TANF Program is to provide a

welfare system based on a philosophy of mutual
responsibility.  In working toward that goal, the State will
strive to place individuals in private or public sector
unsubsidized employment that enables them to enter and
maintain meaningful jobs and interrupts the
intergenerational welfare dependency cycle.  To that end,
TANF creates positive incentives for families to become
employed, and expects families to accept responsibility to
become self-supporting. 

Five key principles form the foundation of TANF:
1. Work should pay more than welfare.
2. Welfare recipients must exercise personal

responsibility in exchange for benefits.
3. Welfare should be transitional, not a way of life.
4. Both parents are responsible for supporting their

children; and
5. The formation and maintenance of two-parent

families should be encouraged,  and teenage pregnancy and
unwed motherhood should be discouraged.

Involvement of Local Governments, the Public, and
Private Sector Organizations

Welfare Reform in Delaware has a long history of active
involvement and partnership between and among state and
local governments and the private sector.  Over a multi-year
period, Delaware has engaged government, the public and
the private sector in dialog about the welfare system and
ways to change it.
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Since its introduction in January of 1995, in the form of
a waiver request, all sectors have had the opportunity to
influence Delaware's welfare reform program in a series of
public meetings and forums.

A collaborative partnership among the Department of
Health and Social Services (DHSS), Department of Labor
(DOL), and the Delaware Economic Development Office
(DEDO) worked to develop Delaware's original TANF
program; and the Delaware Transit Corp (DTC) has joined
these components in planning any changes required.

From 1995 to the present, the TANF collaborative team
has involved other stakeholders in a number of ways.
Community partner involvement runs the gambit from
support letters for TANF-related grants, to participating in
the resultant project planning and implementation, to
membership on an initiative's advisory/oversight council.
Partnerships include the City of Wilmington's HOPE VI
subsidized housing project; the Delaware Ecumenical
Council on Children and Families' rural outreach project; the
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation's employment efforts
with people with disabilities; the National Corps/VISTA
welfare-to-work mentoring program; and the Division of
Substance Abuse and Mental Health's Youth Offender Re-
entry initiative.  Presentations on TANF are ongoing by
request to the various Section 8 and Public Housing entities;
to non-profits such as the First State Community Action
Agency and the Latin American Community Center; and to
local churches, healthcare centers, childcare providers,
schools and youth centers (e.g., Boys & Girls Club).

The Social Services Advisory Council, consisting of
educators, health professionals, religious leaders,
representatives of community-based organizations,
advocates, and government leaders, all appointed by the
Governor, continues to provide advice on improving the
delivery of Delaware's social programs.  In addition, the
Division of Social Services has regularly conducted focus
groups with clients in all counties of the States, most
recently in 2000 and 2001. 

The requirement for a 45-day public comment period
was accomplished by making the plan available for public
review and comment through the following means:

• The State Plan was published in the Delaware Reg-
ister on October 1, 2002;

• The State Plan was published on the Delaware web
site at http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dhss.htm on
September 15, 2002; and

• Stakeholder groups as represented by the Social
Services Advisory Council, the TANF Employer
Committee, and TANF program contractors were
provided with individual copies of the Plan.

Delaware is proud to say that the administration
addressed and continues to build on the themes the public

identified not only in TANF but in many other areas of
public policy that support low income families, including the
Administration’s economic development, education, and
family policies.  A brief summary of where public policies
intersect with welfare system change include:

• easing transition from welfare to work by:
• passing through to TANF recipients a portion

of the child support collected
•. enhancing child support collection strategies

and achieving record child support collections
•. changing the way the welfare system budgets

income so that families go off assistance only
after achieving income at 75 percent of the fed-
eral poverty level

•. increasing Delaware's investment in child care
so that there is no subsidized child care waiting
list for eligible working families with income
up to 200% of the federal poverty level

•. Increasing the income threshold below which
individuals are not required to file personal
income tax returns to $15,449 for married cou-
ples and $9,399 for single individuals; increas-
ing the personal credit from $100 to $110; and
reducing the tax rate for all individuals, other
than the top tax bracket, by .4 percentage
points

•. increasing the State minimum wage to $6.15 an
hour as of September, 2000. 

• ensuring access to health care for Delaware families
through:
•. providing Medicaid coverage to uninsured

adults as well as all children in families with
income at or below 100 percent of the federal
poverty level

•. providing medical coverage for uninsured chil-
dren in families with income up to 200% of the
federal poverty level, through the Delaware
Healthy Children Program (DHCP)

•. providing transitional Medicaid for two years
for families with children who exit welfare, at
incomes up to 185% of poverty.

• improving education for children by:
•. expanding access to the Early Childhood Edu-

cation Program (ECAP)
•. providing extra instructional time for low-

achieving students
•. operating the Parents as Teachers program

statewide
•. operating the Mentoring for Students program

for students who need an adult role model
•. implementing a comprehensive program to

ensure safe, disciplined schools
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•. raising academic standards and graduation
requirements and pushing for school choice
and charter schools

• recruiting, through the Delaware Economic Devel-
opment Office (DEDO), new companies and main-
taining existing employers with good jobs that
provide career opportunities

• strengthening Delaware's families by:
•. helping many thousands of welfare recipients

go to work, and providing continuing support
to working families

•. initiating voluntary paternity establishment
•. providing transportation support for job seek-

ers and new workers 
•. establishing more effective welfare to work

programs with a work first approach to
employment and training services, while pro-
viding opportunities for educational advance-
ment

•. enabling families with both parents to receive
benefits and services

•. participating with community-based organiza-
tions and the faith community to support tar-
geted, fragile populations.

•. discouraging teen pregnancy through the Alli-
ance on Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention

•. extending home visits to all first time parents
following a child’s birth

•. cracking down on domestic violence to protect
vulnerable women and children

•. enforcing the Sexual Predator Act to protect
vulnerable youth and prevent teen pregnancy.

Results to be Measured and Methods for Measuring
Progress

Delaware has committed to evaluate its welfare system.
The State has a multi-year contract with Abt Associates to
evaluate TANF.  We continued to measure:

• the number of individuals working;
• the number of individuals sanctioned;
• the caseload size; and
• the number of months of receipt of  TANF.

Recent reports by the evaluator include:

• The ABC Evaluation - A Better Chance for Welfare
Recipients? What the Public Thinks, March, 1999;

• The ABC Evaluation - Enrollment of Families in
Delaware's A Better Chance Program: A Report on
the First Three Years, March, 1999

• The ABC Evaluation - Carrying and Using the
Stick: Financial Sanctions in Delaware's A Better
Chance Program, May, 1999.

• Will Welfare Reform Influence Marriage and Fer-
tility?  Early Evidence from the ABC Demonstra-
tion, June, 1999.

• The ABC Evaluation - Verifying School Attendance
of Welfare Recipients’ Children, June 2000

• The ABC Evaluation – Impacts of Welfare Reform
on Child Maltreatment, August 2000

• A report, Turning the Corner -- ABC at 4 Years,
November 2000

• The DABC Evaluation How Have They Fared?
Outcomes After Four Years for the Earliest DABC
Clients, August 2001

• The DABC Evaluation Institutional Aspects of Wel-
fare Reform in Delaware, August 2001 

These reports can be located at
http:\\www.abtassoc.com/reports/welfare-download.html.
Note that at one time, Delaware's TANF program was
known as A Better Chance or ABC.  

Delaware is also one of four states participating in a
Welfare Reform and Family Formation research project
designed to provide an increased understanding of how
changes in welfare policies have affected childbearing,
marriage, and other family structure factors.  Abt Associates
is teaming with a University of California research team in
analyzing random assignment data collected in Delaware.

Ensuring Accountability
TANF is administered by the Division of Social

Services (DSS), State of Delaware Department of Health and
Social Services.  While DHSS is the lead agency, program
administration is accomplished through a partnership of
DSS, Department of Labor (DOL), Delaware Economic
Development Office (DEDO), and the Delaware Transit
Corp (DTC).

Delaware completed a massive automation
enhancement effort, to incorporate new technology in a
complete redesign of DCIS.   DCIS II is a large-scale, client/
server, interactive eligibility determination and benefit
issuance system.  DCIS II automates: client registration,
application entry, eligibility determination, benefit
calculation, benefit issuance and work programs for more
than 100 variations of cash, Medicaid and food stamp
programs, administered by the Delaware Division of Social
Services.  DCIS II provides automated program support and
supports the information needs at the state and local office
level.  DCIS II also incorporates program changes required
by P.L. 104-193.

The most recent enhancements to DCIS II provide for
on-line real-time communications between DSS workers and
Employment Connection contractors.  DSS now provides
automated referral of non-exempted individuals to
contractors, contractor staff are now able to send automated
alerts to DSS workers, and contractors and DSS workers are
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able to share case notes about participants.  In addition,
contractors now directly enter hours of work participation
into the system, facilitating the computation of grants for
Work for Your Welfare participants. 

Delaware is participating in the income and
eligibility verification system (IEVS) required by section
1137 of the Social Security Act.

In addition, the State operates a fraud control program
and will disqualify individuals found to have committed an
intentional program violation based on findings of
administrative disqualification hearings and findings of
prosecution or court actions.  Delaware has adopted the
penalties for intentional program violations used by the Food
Stamp Program; 12 months for the first offense and 24
months for a second instance.  An individual committing a
third offense is permanently disqualified. 

Needy Families

Definition of Needy Families
For program purposes, needy families are a child and or

child(ren) and caretaker relatives whose combined income
and financial resources are not equal to or higher than the
standards established by the State.  The following sections
describe these standards and how they are applied to
applicants and recipients.

Income and Resource Rules for Determining Need
For purposes of determining need Delaware will

continue to utilize the already established income and
resource rules of the TANF program.  The following specific
features of Delaware's TANF program shall continue to
apply:

• The equity value of a primary automobile up to
$4,650 is excluded in determining the household
resources.

• The cash value of a life insurance policy will be
excluded.

• In addition to the current resource limit, families
will be allowed to establish Special Education and
Business Investment Accounts (SEBIA) of up to
$5,000.00, including interest.
• Families will contribute directly to their

SEBIAs.
• Funds in such accounts will not be considered

as a resource. Withdrawals from such accounts
must be for approved purposes, as defined in
TANF.  If funds are withdrawn for non-
approved purposes, the money will be counted
as a resource in the month received.  Approved
reasons for withdrawal of funds for self-suffi-
ciency needs include, but are not limited to:
dependent care expenses, security deposit for
an apartment or house, or vehicle repair costs. 

• Financial Assistance received from school grants,
scholarships, vocational rehabilitation payments,
JTPA payments, educational loans, and other loans
that are expected to be repaid will not be counted as
income for TANF program purposes.  Also, other
financial assistance received that is intended for
books, tuition, or other self-sufficiency expenses
will be excluded. 

• Earnings of dependent children, regardless of stu-
dent status, will be disregarded in determining the
family’s eligibility and the amount of TANF bene-
fits.

• A one-time bonus payment of $50.00 will be paid
from TANF funds to eligible teens who graduate
from high school by age 19.  This bonus, which will
be paid directly to the high school graduate, will be
disregarded as income.

Income Tests to Determine Eligibility
There are two income tests to determine financial

eligibility.  The first test is a gross income test, and the
second is a net income test.  

• Comparing the family’s income to 185% of the
applicable standard of need is the gross income test.
Both applicants and recipients must pass this
income test. 

• The other income test compares a family’s income,
after applying certain disregards, to the applicable
standard.  This is a net income test.
• For applicants, defined as families who have

not received assistance in at least one of the
four months immediately preceding the appli-
cation, the net income is compared to the pay-
ment standard.  

• For recipients, defined as families who have
received assistance in at least one of the four
months preceding the application or are current
recipients, the net income is compared to the
standard of need.  

• A family’s income must be less than the gross
and net income limits to be financially eligible
for TANF.  Once eligibility is established, the
grant amount is determined.

• Gross income is the total of the earned and
unearned income. 
• Wages and self-employment income are

examples of earned income.  
• Social Security benefits, child support, and

stepparent income are examples of
unearned income. Stepparent income will
be included if the child’s natural parent
lives in the home. 

Exhibit 1 contains the calculation steps for TANF
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applicants.

Exhibit 1: Determining Applicant Eligibility for TANF 
Benefits

Step 1) The gross income will be compared to 185% of
the applicable TANF standard of need.  Assistance will be
denied if the income exceeds 185% of the applicable TANF
standard of need.

Step 2) the standard work deduction ($90.00) and child
care expenses will be subtracted from each wage earner’s
earnings.  The applicant’s net earned income will be added
to unearned income to determine the net family income.  The
net income will be compared to the payment standard.
Assistance will be denied if the income exceeds the payment
standard.

If the income is less than the payment standard;
Step 3) The standard work deduction ($90.00), child

care, and the 30 plus 1/3 disregard (if applicable) will be
subtracted from each earner’s earned income.  This net
earned income will be added to the unearned income to
calculate the family’s net income.  The net income will be
subtracted from the applicable standard of need to obtain the
deficit.  The deficit will be multiplied by 50%; the number
calculated is the remainder.  The grant is either the
remainder or the payment standard whichever is less.

Exhibit 2 provides the calculations for TANF recipients.

Exhibit 2: Determining Recipient Eligibility for TANF Benefits

Step 1) The gross income will be compared to 185% of
the applicable TANF standard of need.  Assistance will be
denied if the income exceeds 185% of the applicable TANF
standard of need;

Step 2) The standard work deduction ($90.00), child
care, and the 30 plus 1/3 disregard (if applicable) will be
subtracted from each earner’s earned income.  The net
earned income will be added to unearned income to calculate
the family’s net income.  Assistance will be denied if the
income exceeds the standard of need.  

If the income is less than the standard of need;
Step 3) The net income will be subtracted from the

applicable standard of need; the number calculated is the
deficit.  The deficit will be multiplied by 50%; the number
calculated is the remainder.  The grant is either the
remainder or the payment standard whichever is less.

The TANF standards apply to all benefits and services
provided to needy families except for Emergency
Assistance, discussed on page twelve (12) and Attachment
A; child care, described on pages three (3), twelve (12), and

twenty-four (24). Delaware has established separate need
standards for these programs.

Fill-the-Gap Budgeting
Fill the Gap budgeting will be used for recipient

families to determine continued eligibility and the amount of
TANF benefits, so that families can retain more of their
income.  By having a standard of need which is greater than
the payment standard a “gap” is created.  The difference
between the family’s income and the need standard is called
the deficit.  The state pays a percentage of the deficit up to a
maximum benefit level or payment standard.

• Three standards will be used in financial eligibility
calculations: 185% of the standard of need, the
need standard and the payment standard.  185% of
the standard of need will be used in the gross
income test.  

• The standard of need used is 75% of the Federal
Poverty level.  This includes allowances for food,
clothes, utilities, personal items, and household
supplies.

Diversion Assistance Program
Delaware operates a Diversion Assistance program

intended to help a family through a financial problem that
jeopardizes employment and which, if not solved, could
result in the family needing regular ongoing assistance.  The
Diversion Assistance payment will not exceed $1,500 or the
financial need resulting from the crisis, whichever is less.
Diversion Assistance, which is available to both applicant
and recipient families, is not a supplement to regular
assistance but is in place of it.

Eligibility requirements for Diversion Assistance are as
follows:

• the parent must be living with his/her natural or
adopted children;

• the family has not received a Diversion Assistance
payment in the past 12 months;

• the Diversion Assistance amount will alleviate the
crisis;

• the parent is currently employed but having a prob-
lem which jeopardizes the employment or has been
promised a job but needs help in order to accept the
job;

• the family’s income would qualify the family for
TANF as a recipient household.  (When calculating
eligibility for Diversion Assistance the family is
given the $30 plus 1/3 disregard, if applicable and
the family’s net income is compared to the Standard
of Need.);

• the family’s resources would qualify for TANF.

The Diversion Assistance payment may be used for
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items and/or services such as but not limited to:

• transportation (such as vehicle repairs, tires, insur-
ance, driver’s license fee, gas);

• clothing such as uniforms or other specialized
clothing and footwear or other employment-related
apparel;

• tools and equipment;
• medical expenses not covered by Medicaid (e.g.

eye glasses);
• union dues, special fees, licenses or certificates;
• up-front costs of employment such as agency fees

and testing fees;
• unpaid child care expenses which, if they remain

unpaid, preclude the provision of future child care;
• relocation expenses for verified employment in

another county or state.  These expenses may
include moving equipment rental, gas, and lodging
for the days of the move and the first month’s rent,
rental and utility deposit.

Diversion Assistance payments will be made to a third
party vendor, not the parent. When the parent receives
Diversion assistance (s)he agrees to forego TANF cash
assistance as follows:

• $0 through $500.99 for 1 month;
• $501 through $1,000.99 for 2 months;
• $1,001 through $1,500 for 3 months.

The once a year limitation on Diversion Assistance and
the period of ineligibility can be eliminated when good cause
exists.  Good cause exists when circumstances beyond the
client’s control make re-application for Diversion Assistance
for TANF necessary.  Examples of good cause are the
employer lays off the parent or a serious illness forces the
parent to stop working.

The family is eligible for TANF related Medicaid in the
month in which the Diversion Assistance payment is made.
The family would remain eligible for Section 1931 Medicaid
(TANF related Medicaid) until the family’s income exceeds
the Standard of Need.  If the family’s income exceeds the
standard of need because of increased earnings or loss of the
$30 plus 1/3 disregard and the parent is working, the family
may be eligible for Transitional Medicaid.   

Diversion Assistance does not count as income in the
child care programs, and families receiving Diversion
Assistance may also be eligible to receive child care under
Delaware's working poor child care program if their income
does not exceed 200 percent of the federal poverty level.
Receipt of Diversion Assistance would not bar receipt of
Food Stamp benefits, and Food Stamp applications will be
actively solicited from individuals requesting diversion
assistance.

Diversion Assistance does not count against the time
limit on receipt of assistance.

The family will not have to assign child support to the
state.  Child support received by the parent or the Division of
Child Support Enforcement (DCSE) will belong to the
family.  DCSE will not use child support to offset or
reimburse the Diversion Assistance.

Diversion Assistance is not intended to replace TANF’s
Emergency Assistance Program or Supportive Services
payments, which will continue.  The TANF Emergency
Assistance Program provides identical benefits that were
provided under Delaware's State Plan in effect on August 21,
1996. (See Attachment A)  Rather, Diversion Assistance
expands the opportunities to access as well as the value of
services to support employment.

Eligibility For Assistance Under The TANF Program

Conditions of Eligibility
If the income tests described above are met, a family

will be eligible to receive TANF assistance subject to the
following conditions.

Relationship/Living Arrangements
A child must be living in the home of any relative by

blood, marriage, or adoption who is within the fifth degree of
kinship to the dependent child or of the spouse of any person
named in the above group even though the marriage is
terminated by death or divorce.

The caretaker of a teen parent who is not a parent must
demonstrate valid circumstances why the teen is not living
with a parent and must agree to be a party to the Contract of
Mutual Responsibility and fulfill the same responsibilities
thereunder as a parent.

Fugitive Felons; Individuals Convicted of Drug Related
Felonies

Fugitive felons and parole violators are ineligible for
TANF assistance.  In addition, as of August 22, 1996,
individuals convicted of drug related felonies are
permanently barred from the date of conviction.

Family Cap Provision
No additional cash benefits will be issued due to the

birth of a child, if the birth occurs more than ten (10)
calendar months after the date of application for benefits
under TANF. 

The family cap will not apply: 

• when the additional child was conceived as a result
of incest or sexual assault,

• to children who do not reside with their parents
• to children born prior to the period identified above

who return or enter the household
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• to a child that was conceived in a month the assis-
tance unit (i.e. the entire family) was not receiving
TANF, but this does not apply in cases that close
due to being sanctioned.  

The family cap will apply to children who are the
firstborn of minors included in a TANF grant, except that the
family cap does not apply to firstborn children of minors
where the child was born prior to March 1997, the date that
Delaware began its TANF program.

The additional child(ren) is included in the standard of
need for purposes of determining eligibility; and the income
and resources of the child, including child support, is
included in determining the family’s income and resources.
However, the child(ren) is not included in determining the
payment standard for the family.

• The additional child(ren) is considered a recipient
for all other purposes, including categorical Medic-
aid coverage, TANF child care, and Food Stamp
benefits.

• Child support received for capped children is
passed directly through to the family.

Denial of Benefits to Babies Born and Residing with
Unmarried Teen Parents.

Cash assistance is not provided to babies born on and
after January 1, 1999 to unmarried minor teen parents.  This
applies to both applicants and recipients.  For all other
purposes, these babies will be considered TANF recipients.
They may also be eligible to receive Food Stamps, Medicaid
and child care as well as vouchers for the baby’s needs.  This
provision applies as long as the teen parent resides in the
home with the baby, is unmarried or less than eighteen (18)
years of age.

Denial of Benefits for Fraudulent Misrepresentation to
Obtain Assistance in Two States

Any individual who misrepresents residence to receive
TANF, Medicaid, or Food Stamp benefits in two states shall
be subject to a ten-year bar if convicted in a state or federal
court.

Treatment of Eligible Non-Citizens
Qualified non-citizens who enter the United States

before August 22, 1996 shall be eligible to receive the same
benefits and services and shall be subject to the same
conditions and requirements as all other applicants and
recipients.

Qualified aliens entering the United States on or after
August 22, 1996, who are exempt from benefit restrictions as
specified in Federal law, are eligible to receive the same
benefits and services and shall be subject to the same
conditions and requirements as all other applicants and

recipients.
Qualified non-citizens who enter the United States on or

after August 22, 1996 are, after five years, eligible to receive
the same benefits and services and shall be subject to the
same conditions and requirements as all other applicants and
recipients. 

Program Type
Depending on circumstances, families are placed in

either the Time-Limited TANF program or the Non Time-
limited TANF program. 

Delaware's Time-Limited TANF Program has a work
first approach. Participants are expected to meet immediate
work requirements in order to receive benefits. 

Effective October 1, 1998, Delaware began funding its
two- parent program with state only funds.  The eligibility
requirements, services and benefits for this state funded two-
parent program are the same as the single parent Time-
Limited program

Time-limits for Delaware's Time-Limited TANF
Program and the interactions between time-limits and work
requirements are described in the sections entitled, Work:
Time Limits and Work, and TANF Benefits to Needy
Families: Time Limits.  

Families with the following status will receive benefits
in the Non Time-limited program:

• Families that the agency has determined are unem-
ployable, either because a parent is too physically
or mentally disabled to work in an unsubsidized
work setting or because the parent is needed in the
home to care for a child or another adult disabled to
that extent; 

• Families headed by a non-needy, non-parent care-
taker;

• Families headed by a non-eligible non-citizen par-
ent who is not eligible to receive TANF benefits. 

• Families where the agency has determined that the
adult caretaker is temporarily unemployable, and 

• Families in which the adult files a claim or has a
claim being adjudicated for SSI or disability insur-
ance under OASDI.  In this case, the family must
sign an agreement to repay cash benefits received
under the Non Time-limited TANF program from
the proceeds of the first SSI/DI check received.
The amount repaid will not exceed the amount of
the retroactive SSI/DI benefit.

Contract of Mutual Responsibility requirements
and sanctions for noncompliance apply to families in the
Non Time-limited TANF program.

Contract of Mutual Responsibility
The caretaker of children in the TANF program enters
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into a Contract of Mutual Responsibility with the Division of
Social Services (DSS) of the Department of Health and
Social Services (DHSS).  Applicants and recipients have a
face-to-face interview.  During this interview, the DSS
worker explains to the recipient the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility (CMR) and those elements specific to the
client.  

The Contract lists the responsibilities of the family and
the supports the State will provide.  The family’s
responsibilities include, but are not limited to: employment-
related activities, school attendance and immunization
requirements for children, family planning, parenting
education classes, and substance abuse treatment
requirements.  The State provides supports to families
including but not limited to: employment-related activities,
training activities, child care, Medicaid, and other services
identified during the development of the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility.   

The Contract is designed to be individualized to the
specific needs and situation of each family.  Therefore, the
exact requirements within the Contract may vary from
family to family.  This document can be revised as the needs
and the situation of the family evolve.

Services related to these CMR requirements will be
available to the participant. If the services specified in the
CMR are not reasonably available to the individual, the
participant will not be sanctioned for failure to comply and
the Contract will be modified to reflect that the service is
currently unavailable.  

It is mandatory that all caretakers enter into a Contract
of Mutual Responsibility.  Contracts are completed for
families in the Time Limited TANF Program and the Non
Time-limited TANF program as well as for teen parents.
Both caretakers in an assistance unit and non-needy
caretaker payees are required to develop and comply with
CMRs.   Other family members within the assistance unit
may be required to comply with provisions of the Contract,
and are subject to sanction for non-compliance. 

If the caretaker is a non-needy caretaker relative, the
individual would not be required to participate in
employment-related activities but will be required to
participate in other Contract activities.

If a caretaker objects to certain aspects of the Contract,
the caretaker needs to present these objections up front, at
the time of the initial Contract.  If good cause can be
demonstrated, the Contract can be amended to rectify the
objections.

When staff has reason to believe that the family needs
other services to become employed or to increase work hours
and wages, these services will be identified and specified in
the Contract of Mutual responsibility. 

The fiscal sanction for not cooperating, without good
cause, in development of the Contract will be an initial
$50.00 reduction in benefits.  This reduction will increase

each month by $50.00, either until there is compliance or the
case is closed.  The sanction will end with demonstrated
compliance. 

Individuals from Another State
All families meeting the status eligibility requirements

set forth above shall be eligible for TANF benefits using
Delaware rules, regardless of how long they have been
residents of the State.

Statewideness
All definitions and determinations of need shall be

applied on a statewide basis.

Protection of Privacy of Assisted Families
31 Delaware Code, Chapter 11, Section 1101 provides

that public assistance information and records may be used
only for purposes directly connected with the administration
of public assistance programs.  Thus, all information
gathered regarding individuals for public assistance purposes
is considered confidential and will be safeguarded by DSS.
By safeguarding public assistance information, DSS protects
its clients from being identified as a special group based on
financial needs and protects their right to privacy.

  General information regarding expenditures, numbers
of clients served, and other statistical information is a matter
of public record and may be made available to any interested
party.  Other than the exceptions noted below, DSS will not
release any information regarding a particular individual
without the individual’s written consent.

• DSS Financial Services Regional Operations Man-
agers have the authority to disclose the address of a
recipient to a Federal, State or local law enforce-
ment officer at the officer’s request if the officer
furnishes the agency with the name of the recipient
and notifies the agency that the recipient:
• is fleeing to avoid prosecution; or
• is a fleeing felon (or in the case of New Jersey

is fleeing from conviction of a high misde-
meanor); or 

• is violating a condition of probation or parole;
or;

• has information that is necessary for the officer
to conduct his or her official duties; and

• the location or apprehension of the recipient is
within such official duties.

• If a law enforcement officer requests information
that does not meet the guidelines indicated above, a
subpoena from a court of law is required before the
information can be released.

• DSS is required to report to the Division of Family
Services in situations where it believes a home is
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unsuitable because of neglect, abuse or exploitation
of a child.
• A Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA)

is given permission to inspect and/or copy any
records relating to the child and his or her fam-
ily guardian without their consent.  The CASA
has the authority to interview all parties having
significant information relating to the child.
The CASA must also be notified of any staff-
ing, investigations or proceedings regarding
the child, so that they may participate and rep-
resent the child.
• If information is released under the proce-

dures applying to CASA, pertinent details
of the reasons for the release shall be doc-
umented and written notification of this
release shall be sent to the last known
address of the individual to whom the
record refers.

• DSS has the authority to disclose information con-
cerning applicants and recipients provided it per-
tains to:
1 An investigation, prosecution, or criminal or

civil proceeding conducted in connection with public
assistance programs.

2 the administration of any other Federal or
federally assisted program which provides assistance, in
cash or in kind, or services, directly to individuals on the
basis of need.  The agency must assure DSS that such
information will remain confidential and will be used only to
pursue services for the individual. Other means tested
programs include the Supplemental Security Income
Program, School Lunch and Breakfast Program, the Energy
Assistance Program, and the Low Income Housing Program.

• Other agencies (such as Family and Children Ser-
vices of Delaware, Inc. Catholic Social Services,
Legal Aid, etc.) must provide written permission
from the recipient before public assistance informa-
tion may be released.

• Other governmental agencies may obtain lists of
recipients from DSS if the information will be used
to perform services for DSS, and the agency can
assure DSS that the lists will remain confidential.

APPEALS PROCESS

DSS will provide timely and adequate notice for actions
taken which affect eligibility or benefit level.  Adequate
notice means a written notice that includes a statement of
what action the agency intends to take, the reasons for the
intended agency action, the specific regulations supporting
such action, explanation of the individual’s right to request a
fair hearing, and the circumstances under which assistance
may be continued if a hearing is requested.  

 Timely notice means a notice which is mailed no later
than 10 days before the date of action (i.e. 10 days before the
intended change would be effective).  When DSS learns of
facts indicating that assistance should be discontinued,
suspended, terminated, or reduced because of the probable
fraud of the recipient, and, where possible, such facts have
been verified through secondary sources, notice of a grant
adjustment is timely if mailed at least five days before the
action would become effective.

An opportunity for a hearing will be granted to any
applicant who requests a hearing because his/her claim for
assistance is denied or is not acted upon with reasonable
promptness and to any applicant or recipient who is
aggrieved by any Agency action.

To be considered by the Agency, a request for a hearing
must be a clear expression in writing by the appellant or his/
her representative to the effect that (s)he wants the
opportunity to present his/her case to higher authority. The
freedom to make such a request will not be limited or
interfered with in any way and the Division will assist the
appellant in submitting and processing his/her request. A
hearing need not be granted when either State or Federal law
requires automatic grant adjustments for classes of
recipients, unless the reason for an individual appeal is
incorrect grant computation.

WORK 

Goals for Work 
Delaware's TANF program is based on the belief that

assistance provided is transitional and should not become a
way of life.  The State maintains that the way for persons to
avoid dependency on welfare is for them to find and
maintain employment.  Thus the primary goal of TANF is to
help recipients find private sector work and to help them
keep such work by providing them with necessary supports.

To assist families in attaining and maintaining
employment, the State will engage the efforts of the
Departments of Health and Social Services, Labor and
Economic Development and Delaware's private sector to
provide job readiness and placement opportunities, health
and child care, the EITC, and family services.  In turn,
TANF recipients who have the capacity to work will be
required to accept work, to keep their children in school, to
cooperate with child support, to bear the costs of additional
children they conceive while on welfare, and to leave the
welfare rolls after a defined time period.

State Agencies Involved
Delaware Health & Social Services, Labor, and

Economic Development have a unique partnership.  All
three agencies are responsible for moving welfare clients to
work.  These three agencies have collaborated in developing
Delaware's TANF program, in public information, in
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implementation, and continue to collaborate in managing the
initiative.

The Delaware Transit Corporation (DTC) in the
Department of Transportation has joined the TANF
collaborative team, and has assisted to develop a statewide
transportation system plan for TANF, using vans and other
vehicle sources. 

Minutes for the TANF collaboration team for the
previous six months are included as Attachment B. 

In May 2001, the Business Planning Committee, a
subcommittee of the TANF collaborative team that deals
with transportation initiatives, sponsored a transportation
forum in each of the three counties .The purpose of the
forums was to bring together businessmen, community
leaders and other stake holders to develop and advance
innovative, non-traditional solutions to varying
transportation problems faced by each county. 

Transportation forum highlights were a panel discussion
by the lead agencies that shared some "points of pride" in the
program and gaps and needs in transportation, Best Practices
Ideas and Transportation Information, Employer
Recognition of Innovative Success Solutions and brain-
storming sessions to identify transportation issues and to
gather ideas for further development.  Each forum was
designed to highlight transportation problems that were
county specific.  Sussex County Government, represented by
the Sussex County Administrator, was particularly effective
in explaining the population growth, the economic growth
and the problems created by their largely rural area. 

As a result of the forums, the Business Planning
Committee has been able to identify some cross-cutting
themes statewide as well as county specific. They have also
been able to identify ideas that need further development and
which will be used as the Committee continues to find
innovative solutions to transportation problems.  One over-
riding theme from the forums was the lack of knowledge of
the current transportation options available.  This has led to
the production of a transportation video which highlights all
the options available to assist individuals as they move from
dependency to self-sufficiency.

Another special partnership is that between the Division
of Social Services and the Division of Child Support
Enforcement.  Both agencies are part of Delaware Health
and Social Services.  This close linkage has enabled them to
partner throughout TANF development and implementation.

Involvement of Community, Education, Business,
Religious, Local Government and Non-Profit
Organizations to Provide Work

As noted in the discussion on page 2, every sector has
been actively involved in the development of Delaware's
TANF program and continues to be involved.

A TANF Employer Committee, consisting of
representatives of both the public and private sector, assists

in placing welfare recipients in unsubsidized jobs and
provides advice on direction, policy, and implementation of
welfare-to-work efforts.  This committee was established
through HB 251.  A major accomplishment of the Employer
Committee in conjunction with DEDO and the Department
of Education was the development of a program, Career Soft
Skills Essentials for employers, which is now posted on the
internet at www.delawareworkforce.com.  The committee
regularly advises the collaborative team about TANF
employment issues.  Minutes of committee meetings for the
prior year are included as Attachment C. 

To further promote employer interest in hiring TANF
recipients, the Departments of Labor and Economic
Development meet with members of the business
community at regularly scheduled events like monthly
Chamber of Commerce meetings as well as at special events.
For example, to roll out Career Soft Skills Essentials, DEDO
hosted two conferences to link employers with trainers.

The Social Services Advisory Council is established by
executive order.  The Governor appoints council members to
advise the directors of both the Division of Social Services
and the Division of Child Support Enforcement on matters
related to public assistance and child support services.
Council members represent the community, advocates, non-
profit providers, educators, and interested citizens. 

DSS and DCSE management regularly meets with the
Social Services Advisory Council to discuss TANF and
other Social Services and Child Support programs.  Minutes
of Social Services Advisory Council meetings for February,
March, and April, 2002, along with information on current
Council members, are attached.  The Council and DSS will
resume regular monthly meetings after the summer.
(Attachment D)

Client specific focus groups were also conducted by the
Director of DSS in 2000 and 2001.  The 2000 focus groups,
held in different locations throughout the state from May
through November, asked recipients a series of questions
about the TANF program, to ascertain their knowledge of
various program requirements, and their experiences
obtaining assistance from DSS workers and contractors.  The
2001 client focus groups were held from June through
October.  They asked a series of questions about client work
and sanction experiences, and ascertained information about
specific services that had been of assistance and obstacles
that clients had to overcome to obtain and retain
employment. (Attachment E)  

Based on these focus groups, there seemed to be a solid
majority opinion that people understood the rules, that
sanctions are appropriate, and that some people do need a
push to get motivated to get back into the job market.
However, clients did wish for more flexibility for individual
circumstances, and requested more assistance with
transportation and in juggling schedules so that program
requirements could be met.
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Special interest groups such as One Church, One Family
and New Pathways have chosen to focus their resources on
welfare families and provided mentoring support to welfare
families.

Role of Public and Private Contractors in Delivery of
Services

Delaware has contracted with private for-profit and non-
profit providers and the local community college network to
provide job readiness, job placement and retention services
to welfare clients since 1986.  These contractual
arrangements continue under TANF.  Contractors include
community and faith-based social services agencies and
organizations offering specialized services.

A number of community providers across the state
provide academic remediation to TANF recipients.

Who Must Participate
All adult caretakers and other adults in the time-limited

assistance unit who are not exempt must participate in TANF
employment and training related activities.  The two
exemptions are:  1) a parent caring for a child under 13
weeks of age; and  2) an individual determined
unemployable by a health care professional.

Teen parents are required to attend elementary,
secondary, post-secondary, vocational, or training school,
participate in a GED program or work. 

Services to Move Families to Work
Delaware's goal is to place the adult recipient in

unsubsidized employment as quickly as possible.  To
accomplish this goal, the current menu of services includes:

• Work readiness/Life skills 
• Job search/Job placement
• Job retention
• Work Experience/OJT
• Education, including vocational education, as

described in SB 101, effective July 2, 1999

Non-exempt TANF participants will participate in the
job search program, consisting of job readiness classes and
supervised job search activity.  Unsuccessful job search
participants can be placed in another job search sequence or
another work-related activity such as an alternative work
experience, OJT, remediation or a skills training program.

Clients must keep appointments with Employment and
Training staff, cooperate in the development of the
employment activities included in their Contract of Mutual
Responsibility, and participate in employment and training
activities.  The penalty for non-compliance with any of the
above client responsibilities will be subject to sanctions as
described in “Sanctions:  Failure to Comply with the
Contract and Imposition of Sanctions” on page 29.

Work
Until January 1, 2000, one-parent families in the Time-

Limited Temporary Program were required to immediately
engage in meaningful job search and comply with conditions
set forth in their Contract of Mutual Responsibility including
work, education, and training activities. Failure to comply
with the work requirements resulted in the imposition of an
employment and training sanction. Recipients who were
unable to locate private sector jobs despite good faith efforts
to do so, were eligible to receive Work For Your Welfare
payments, for participating in a workfare job, for a
maximum of two more years.
Effective January 1, 2000, families initially applying for or
reapplying for benefits can only receive benefits if they are
employed or immediately participate in a Work For Your
Welfare position. Failure to comply with the work
requirements contained in their Contract of Mutual
Responsibility results in the imposition of an employment
and training sanction.

Single parent households are required to participate in
Work for Your Welfare up to 30 hours per week, determined
by dividing TANF and Food Stamp benefits by the minimum
wage.  If the hours determined by dividing the grants by the
minimum wage exceed 30 hours per week, participants are
to complete no more than 30 hours maximum participation
hours.  In addition to participating in Work For Your
Welfare, individuals must participate in 10 hours of job
search, education or a vocational activity per week. 

Participants who fail to complete the hours required by
dividing their grant by the minimum wage will have their
grant adjusted.  For each hour not worked, participants will
have the grant adjusted downward by the amount of the
minimum hourly wage. Participants who fail to complete the
10 hours of job search, education or a vocational activity per
week are subject to employment and training sanctions.

In two parent households, one parent must participate in
Work For Your Welfare and the second parent must
participate in a work-related activity, including child care.
The requirements for parents in two-parent households are
unchanged.

The January 1, 2000 change in the work requirements
for one-parent families means that, to receive Time-Limited
TANF benefits in Delaware, both one-parent and two-parent
families must either be employed or participate in a Work
For Your Welfare position with supplementary activities as
required.  Delaware's requirement for immediate work
activities exceeds the federal TANF mandate. 

An individual enrolled in the TANF Time-Limited
Program who, in accordance with the requirements in their
Contract of Mutual Responsibility, participates in
unsubsidized employment of at least twenty hours per week
is not required to participate in Work for Your Welfare.
Individuals participating in a combination of such
employment and education of at least twenty (20) hours per
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week are also not required to participate in Work For Your
Welfare. TANF Contracts of Mutual Responsibility are
designed to fit individual circumstances. It is possible for an
individual enrolled in the TANF Time-Limited Program who
is engaged in at least twenty (20) hours of combined work
and allowable education activities to meet work
requirements, if their Contract of Mutual Responsibility
contains such an activity agreement.

Time limits for Delaware's Time-Limited TANF
Program are described in the section entitled, TANF
Benefits to Needy Families: Time Limits.

Protecting Current Workers from Displacement
Regarding the Work for Your Welfare program, DSS

conforms to Section (a)(5) of the Federal Unemployment
Tax Act which requires that a job offered cannot be available
as a result of a strike or labor dispute, that the job cannot
require the employee to join or prohibit the employee from
joining a labor organization, and that program participants
are not used to displace regular workers.

In addition DSS ensures that no participants, including
but not limited to those placed in either a Work For Your
Welfare placement or a community work experience
program, displace regular paid employees of any of the
organizations providing either the placement or the
community work experience.  Such assurance complies with
State law contained in 31 Delaware Code, Chapter 9, Section
905(b).  This assurance also complies with Section 407(f) of
TANF, which requires that DSS will not use federal funds
under TANF to place individuals in a work activity when:

• any individual is on a layoff from the same or a sub-
stantially equivalent job;

• the employer has terminated any regular employee
or otherwise caused an involuntary reduction of its
workforce in order to fill the vacancy created with
an adult receiving TANF benefits.

In addition, DSS has established a grievance procedure,
in conformance with Section 407(f)(3) of TANF, for
resolving complaints for any alleged violation of
nondisplacement requirements.  Employees or their
representatives who believe that their jobs are being
displaced or infringed upon shall present their complaint to
the employment contractor with authority over the
placement.   If the contractor is unable to resolve the
problem within 15 days, the employee or representative may
file a formal grievance in writing to the DSS Director’s
Office, who will hear a formal grievance.  The employee will
have an opportunity to: present their grievance on the record;
present evidence; bring witnesses and cross examine
witnesses; be represented by counsel; and receive a written
decision.

Grievance hearings will be scheduled within thirty

calendar days of receipt of the formal grievance, and a
written decision will be issued within 30 days of the hearing.
If either party is dissatisfied with the State’s written
decision, they may appeal the decision to the U.S.
Department of Labor within 20 days of receipt of the written
decision.  The procedures for appeal, which must be sent to
the Office of Administrative Law Judges, in the U.S.
Department of Labor, will be provided in writing with the
decision.

Supportive Services
Delaware recognizes the importance of available child

care in helping recipients participate in work-related
activities, and securing and retaining unsubsidized
employment.  To that end, the financial resources provided
for child care have been significantly increased from the
FY95 child care funding level to the current request for
funding.

Supportive Services, such as child care, and TANF
provided assistance with other work-related expenses, such
as eye examinations and corrective lenses, dental, and
physicals not covered by Medicaid, transportation, fees,
training, and work-related equipment, uniforms, shoes, and
supplies will be available where possible. Services are
provided by voucher or directly. In addition, TANF will, on
a case by case basis, pay fees to purchase certificates,
licenses, or testing needed to obtain employment. Medical
services are not part of these supportive services. DSS will
determine when such services are necessary for a TANF
recipient to participate.  The services shall include:

• Support provided by contractors to retain employ-
ment for one (1) year

• Health care for Delaware citizens through:
• providing Medicaid coverage to uninsured

adults with income at or below 100 percent of
the federal poverty level 

• providing medical coverage for uninsured chil-
dren in families with income up to 200% of the
federal poverty level, through the Delaware
Healthy Children program

• providing transitional Medicaid for two years
for families with children who exit welfare, at
incomes up to 185% of poverty.  

• Subsidized child care for families who leave TANF
to go to work for a period of two years, as long as
family income remains below 200 percent of the
federal poverty level.  In addition, to help individu-
als retain unsubsidized employment beyond two (2)
years, Delaware also provides subsidized child care
to other low income working families until the fam-
ily’s income exceeds 200 percent of the federal
poverty level.
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• Job search programs and other assistance from the
Department of Labor to find a job; and

• ongoing job retention assistance.

Additional Targeted Support

Family Development Profile
The Family Development Profile is used by Delaware to

identify possible social, familial, and emotional barriers to
self-sufficiency, insofar as they impact an individual’s
ability to obtain and retain employment.   Participants who
complete the Profile answer questions about their self-
esteem and health, and relationships with family members
and other individuals.  The Profile is currently being
enhanced to provide the capacity to identify mental health
problems.

DSS workers report that the Profile frequently surfaces
major domestic issues which participants need to resolve.
By utilizing the Profile, workers are able to refer participants
for assistance in resolving domestic violence and other abuse
situations.  Further efforts to assist individuals to resolve
domestic violence and other abuse situations are described in
a later section: PARENTAL RESPONSIBILITY:
Addressing Problems of Statutory Rape and Domestic
Violence.  

Substance Abuse
As part of the application and redetermination

processes, workers ask clients a series of questions, called
the CAGE questions, to identify substance abusers for
referral to appropriate services.  Through the Bridge
Program and referrals to DSAMH, Delaware's TANF
program offers assessment and non-medical treatment
services for all substance abusers identified through this and
other methods. DSAMH and Medicaid will ensure that if
medical treatment services are needed they are paid from
other than TANF funds.

Supporting Teens 
Delaware is targeting youth by providing special

services.  Through the Department of Education, Delaware
provides a family literacy program which includes parenting
skills training and other services to teen parents and their
children to prevent repeat pregnancies. 

Beginning with FY 1999 funds were allocated for
Delaware's Teen Pregnancy Prevention Initiative, Teen
Hope, to support activities for at-risk teens in six School
Based Health Centers (SBHCs) and one community site.
The program, utilizing the Transtheoretical Behavior
Change Model, helps youth develop skills to make better
sexual and health related decisions.  Initial programs have
been very successful.  In addition, wellness centers located
in 27 high schools provide medical, health and counseling
services to high school students.

Several other initiatives are being operated.  The
AmeriCorp Grant partnership grant with DHSS as lead was
awarded in 1999.  Under this grant, Planned Parenthood is
managing an effort to have AmeriCorp members provide a
responsible adult presence and a structured environment for
youth to learn, as a strategy to prevent teen pregnancy, in the
lives of at-risk teens in selected target areas.  The Abstinence
Education Grant currently provides mini-grants to agencies
providing skills building community programs for teens.

Delaware has undertaken, through an Alliance on
Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention (AAPP), a grassroots
community and media outreach campaign to convince
teenagers to postpone sexual activity and to avoid becoming
or making someone else pregnant.  AAPP works directly
with parents in this initiative to improve communication
between parents and children around sexuality and
pregnancy prevention.  In addition, AAPP provides
preventive education and distributes information on
preventing teen pregnancy, utilizing a number of kinds of
interventions.  For example, two full-time community
educators visit schools, community centers, churches, and
camps; and provide workshops/training to parents and
children around sexuality and teen pregnancy prevention.
AAPP also maintains a resource center for the community
and lends or gives away brochures, videos, curriculum,
posters, books, and other communications about teen
pregnancy prevention and sexuality. 

The Wise Guys initiative is an adolescent male
responsibility program that uses an established Wise Guys
curriculum over a ten-week period.  The program, operating
in six high school based health centers, promotes character
development and prevention of adolescent pregnancy by
teaching young males self-responsibility in several areas. 

Delaware's teen pregnancy prevention campaign also
uses billboards to convey the message, and statewide
conferences to provide assistance implementing prevention
activities.
       Delaware's TANF program provides a positive incentive
to teenagers to graduate high school by age 19 by awarding a
one-time $50 bonus. Additionally, TANF requires teenage
mothers currently on welfare to live with their parent(s) or a
responsible adult, stay in school, immunize their children
and participate in parenting education.

Services to teens are also discussed in the Section
entitled Parental Responsibility Efforts to Reduce Out-Of-
Wedlock Births.

Delivery of Services Across State
Delivery of services will be consistent across the State. 

TANF BENEFITS TO NEEDY FAMILIES

Computing the Benefit
Eligibility will be determined prospectively.  After
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establishing eligibility, benefits will be computed
prospectively.  Income per time period will be converted to a
monthly income figure by utilizing the following conversion
factors:

Weekly 4.33
Bi-weekly 2.16
Semi-monthly 2.00

Example:  Given a weekly income of $85, multiply by
4.33 to arrive at a monthly income of $368.05.

The benefit amount will be determined by using
prospective budgeting and the best estimate of earned and
unearned income for the assistance unit.  The payment will
not be changed until the next eligibility determination,
unless the recipient reports a change that would result in an
increase in the benefit or there is a significant change in
circumstances as defined below.

A significant change is defined as any of the following:

• change in household size; 
• new source of employment;
• loss of unsubsidized employment or a change in

employment status from full time to part time
which was beyond the recipient’s control; 

• an increase of forty (40) hours or more in unsubsi-
dized employment per month; 

• receipt of a new source of unearned income; or
• increases or decreases in existing sources of

unearned income totaling $50.00 or more per
month.

The recipient needs to verify all changes in
circumstances.

Example:  An applicant applies in May.  The applicant
is employed.  The applicant is working 20 hours per week
and earns $5.65 per hour.  The best estimate of wages is
calculated by multiplying 20 hours times $5.65 ($113.00 per
week), then multiplying the weekly figure by 4.33 to
determine the monthly income of $485.90.

Redeterminations
At least one redetermination is required every six (6)

months.  TANF emphasizes work and work related activity.
Mandating face-to-face redeterminations might undermine
that goal.  Therefore, mail-in redeterminations, with a
telephone interview are used as an option to encourage
recipients to continue participating in employment and
training activities or to keep working.

When a redetermination is due, the recipient must
complete a new DSS application form (FORM 100).  A
redetermination is complete when all eligibility factors are

examined and a decision regarding continuing eligibility is
reached.

The assistance case will be closed if a recipient fails,
without good cause, to complete the redetermination review.
Likewise, the assistance case of a recipient who fails,
without good cause, to provide requested information
necessary to establish continued eligibility will be closed.

As part of the verification process for continuing
eligibility, the person will provide verification that s/he has
carried out the elements of the individual Contract of Mutual
Responsibility.  

Time Limits
Under TANF, cash benefits are time-limited for

households headed by employable adults age 18 or older
who are included in the grant. Prior to January 1, 2000,
Delaware limited receipt of TANF, for families in the Time-
Limited Program, to twenty-four (24) cumulative months.
During the time-limited period, employable adults received
full benefits if they met the requirements of their Contract of
Mutual Responsibility, including employment-related
activities.

After the first 24 month cumulative period ended,
families headed by employable adults could continue to
receive cash benefits for an additional 24 cumulative months
only as long as the adults participated in a Work For Your
Welfare work experience program or they were working and
family income was below the need standard of 75 percent of
the Federal Poverty Level. 

Effective January 1, 2000 the time limit for receipt of
TANF cash benefits is thirty-six (36) cumulative months.

During the time-limited period, employable adult
recipients receive full cash benefits only as long as they meet
the requirements of their Contract of Mutual Responsibility,
including participation in employment-related activities. The
ultimate goal of this time-limited period is to support the
employable adult’s search for and placement in an
unsubsidized job.  Time limits will not apply when
Delaware's unemployment rate substantially exceeds the
national average or is greater than 7.5 percent.

Individuals found eligible for TANF prior to January 1,
2000 will still have a forty-eight (48) month time limit even
if they reapply for benefits on or after January 1, 2000.

DSS will track the time remaining before a family’s
time limits expire and notify families on a quarterly basis of
the time they have remaining before the time limits expire.
At least two (2) months prior to the end of the 36 or 48
cumulative months in which a family has received
assistance, DSS will remind the family that assistance will
end and notify the family of the right to apply for an
extension. 

Extensions will be provided only to those families who
can demonstrate that:
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• the agency substantially failed to provide the ser-
vices specified in the individual’s Contract of
Mutual Responsibility; the related extension will
correspond to the time period for which services
were not provided; or

• despite their best efforts to find and keep employ-
ment, no suitable unsubsidized employment was
available in the local economy to the employable
adult caretaker; the maximum extension under such
circumstances will be 12 months.

Extensions may also be granted where other unique
circumstances exist.  Extensions will not be granted if the
adult caretaker received and rejected offers of employment,
quit a job without good cause, or was fired for cause or if the
adult caretaker did not make a good faith effort to comply
with the terms of the Contract of Mutual Responsibility. 

Retroactively, starting October 1, 1995, Delaware
exempted months in which a person worked twenty hours or
more per from counting toward the Delaware lifetime time
limit when the countable income of the family is below the
need standard.  So that families who have not reached the
State’s 36/48 month time limit won’t reach the Federal 60
month time limit, benefits for these families are provided
under a segregated program using State MOE funding,
beginning October 1, 1999.  However, both the federal and
Delaware time clocks continue to run for individuals who
meet their work participation requirements by participating,
as permitted under the waiver, in a combination of
employment and education for at least twenty (20) hours a
week; and for individuals who meet their work participation
requirements by participating in education for at least twenty
(20) hours a week.

After the time limit has been reached, benefits will be
provided to families who have been granted an extension
only for a maximum period of 12 months and only in the
Work For Your Welfare component. Thus, for Time-Limited
families, unless the caretaker is employed at least twenty
(20) hours per week, the maximum period for receipt of
benefits to families enrolled in the Time-Limited TANF
Program will be sixty (60) cumulative months for families
with a forty-eight (48) cumulative time limit and forty-eight
(48) months for families with a thirty-six (36) month time
limit. 

Sanctions:  Failure to Comply with the Contract and the
Imposition of Sanctions

The Contract of Mutual Responsibility encompasses
three broad categories of requirements: 1) enhanced family
functioning; 2) self-sufficiency; and 3) teen responsibility
requirements.

1 Enhanced family functioning requirements of the
Contract include, but are not limited to, acquiring family
planning information and attending parenting education

sessions, ensuring that children are immunized, and
participating in substance abuse assessment and treatment.
Sanction for non-compliance with these requirements is an
initial $50 which will increase by $50 every month until
there is compliance with the requirement.  The initial $50
reduction will be imposed whether the family fails to comply
with one, or more than one requirement.  Clients will have to
comply with all requirements before the sanction can end.

2 Self-sufficiency requirements of the Contract of
Mutual Responsibility are employment and training, work-
related activities, and ensuring school attendance
requirements for dependent children under age 16.  

• The sanction for non-compliance with these
requirements is a 1/3 reduction of the benefit for the
first occurrence, 2/3 reduction for the second occur-
rence and a total and permanent loss of the benefit
for the third occurrence for work related activities.
A third occurrence of the penalty for a child under
16 not attending school is loss of all cash benefits
but is curable when the parent demonstrates com-
pliance.  The duration of the first and second sanc-
tions will each be two months or until the person
complies.  If, at the end of the two month period,
there is no demonstrated compliance, the sanction
will increase to the next level.

• Clients will have to demonstrate compliance with
all self-sufficiency requirements before all benefits
are restored.

• For the purpose of determining that the individual’s
failure to comply has ended, the individual must
participate in the activity to which s/he was previ-
ously assigned, or an activity designed by the
Employment and Training provider to lead to full
participation, for a period of up to two weeks before
ending the sanction.

• The penalty for individuals who quit their jobs
without good cause and do not comply with subse-
quent job search requirements will be loss of all
cash benefits.  The penalty for individuals who quit
their jobs without good cause, but who comply with
subsequent job search requirements, will be:
• for a first offense, a 1/3 reduction in TANF, to

be imposed for a period of two months;
• for a second offense, a 2/3 reduction in TANF,

to be imposed for a period of two months;
• for a third offense, a permanent loss of all cash

benefits.
• For dependent children under age 16, including teen

parents, the sanction will not be imposed if the par-
ent of the teen is working with school officials or
other agencies to remediate the situation.

3) Teen responsibility requirements include
maintaining satisfactory school attendance, or participation
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in alternative activities such as training or employment, for
dependent children 16 years of age and older.  The sanction
for non-compliance with these requirements is to remove the
needs of the teen from the TANF benefit and to remove the
needs of the caretaker if the caretaker does not work to
remedy the situation. Complying with the requirements ends
the sanction.

Failing to comply with both the enhanced family
functioning and self-sufficiency requirements will result in
combined penalties.  For example, both a $50 reduction and
a 1/3 reduction to the benefit could be assessed for first
failures to comply in two areas.  Demonstrated compliance
will not excuse penalties for the period of noncompliance.
Sanctions will be imposed for the full period of
noncompliance. 

Benefit Delivery: Direct Payments and Vouchers
Currently, Delaware uses check issuance as the payment

method for TANF.
Delaware directly pays for center-based child care

authorized for TANF participants, where the center agrees to
accept the Delaware child care reimbursement rate.  Some
caretakers, however, receive vouchers to self-arrange and
pay for their child care.  Delaware will reimburse these
caretakers, up to the rates published in the Child Care and
Development Fund (CCDF) plan, for the cost of child care
provided by licensed and license-exempt child care
providers.

STAFF TRAINING

TANF training has been incorporated into the Cash
Grant training which is required for all new financial
services staff.  APHSA training has now been incorporated
into Interviewing and Coaching training which is required
for all new staff.

PARENTAL RESPONSIBILITY

Adults and minor parent(s) are required to comply with
parenting expectations outlined in the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility.

Cooperation with Child Support Enforcement
Participants in TANF must cooperate with the Division

of Child Support Enforcement as a condition of eligibility.
In addition, all families are required to provide sufficient
information to permit Delaware to obtain child support on
behalf of the family.  Exceptions can be made when the
caretaker demonstrates that pursuit of child support would
create a danger to the caretaker or the child(ren).  It is the
responsibility of the client to provide documentation to
verify such a good cause claim.

Failure of a caretaker, without good cause, to cooperate

with and provide information to the DCSE to permit the
State to pursue the collection of child support on behalf of
dependent children will result in a full family sanction, until
compliance.  Applicants who fail to provide information so
that Delaware may pursue child support collections will be
denied.  To cure the child support sanction, the caretaker will
provide sufficient information to permit Delaware to pursue
child support collections on behalf of the needy children in
the family.

When a child lives with both the natural father and the
mother but paternity has not been legally established, the
parents will be referred to the Division of Child Support
Enforcement (DCSE) for a voluntary acknowledgment of
paternity.  If the alleged father is unwilling to complete the
voluntary acknowledgment of paternity, DSS will consider
the child deprived of the care and support of his/her father.
The case will be referred to DCSE for follow up on
establishing paternity.

When a child lives with the natural father but paternity
has not been legally established, the father will complete a
declaration of natural relationship document and will
provide acceptable verification of relationship.

When a child lives with a relative of the natural father
but paternity has not been legally established, the relative
must complete a declaration of natural relationship
document and provide acceptable verification of
relationship.

In Delaware, DCSE determines non-cooperation with
child support requirements.  In addition, effective January 1,
1999 DCSE began making the determination of good cause.

Distribution of Child Support Collections to TANF
Recipients

Delaware, a fill-the-gap state in 1975, uses fill-the-gap
to make sure that families do not experience a net loss of
income due to the State retaining Child Support paid by
absent parents.  A portion of Child Support payments is not
counted in calculating the grant.

Efforts to Reduce Out-of Wedlock Births
Delaware believes that the number of out-of-wedlock

births to teens must be reduced significantly to eliminate
poverty and dependency.  A study by Doble Research
Associates commissioned by the Governor’s Family
Council, in June, 1998, concluded that Delaware's efforts to
reduce teen pregnancy, including establishing more after-
school program, strongly enforcing child-support
enforcement and the Sexual Predator Act, and making teen
mothers ineligible for cash assistance, are solidly supported
by public opinion.   We are undertaking a number of
statewide initiatives to reduce adolescent pregnancy.  Many
of these initiatives are being coordinated through the
activities of the Alliance for Adolescent Pregnancy
Prevention (AAPP).  Ventures include the provision of
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adolescent health services through school-based health
centers and improving teen utilization of our family planning
centers.

The AAPP is a statewide public and private partnership
charged with the development and implementation of a
comprehensive plan to prevent adolescent pregnancy in
Delaware.  The organizational structure of the Alliance
includes a 12 member advisory board appointed by the
Governor and a statewide membership of over 200 schools,
agencies, organizations, churches, and individuals concerned
with teen pregnancy.  Staff and program support for the
Alliance is provided through a contract from the Division of
Public Health (DPH) to Christiana Care.

Since its inception, the AAPP has awarded mini-grants
to non-profit youth organizations to provide community
based teen pregnancy programs; implemented a statewide
media campaign to increase community awareness; and
worked with existing coalitions to establish teen pregnancy
prevention programs.  AAAP plans and activities include:

• statewide leadership to develop a visible, viable
structure for mobilizing resources needed to impact
the problem;

• data development to develop a methodology to
monitor rates in real time;

• public relations efforts to increase community
awareness and involvement; and

• identifying barriers to teen utilization of family
planning services and developing solutions

The Division of Public Health has the lead
responsibility in Delaware to implement initiatives to reduce
teen pregnancy.  Using the strategies and recommendations
presented by AAPP, DPH activities include school based
health centers, family planning clinics, parenting education,
and the peer leadership program.  The “teen friendly”
services provided at Department of Public Health Units
located at State Service Centers have resulted in a significant
increase in use.  In addition, all clients seen in Sexually
Transmitted Disease Clinic sites receive counseling on
family planning, as well as pregnancy prevention supplies.

Based on a report by Adolescent Health Survey
Research (AHSR), which used a survey and focus groups
with youth and their parents conducted early in 1999 to
identify top strategies in pregnancy prevention, Delaware
implemented a number of initiatives to prevent subsequent
births, including:

• Smart Start, an enhanced prenatal program that
attempts to decrease low birth weight babies, infant
mortality, and maternal mortality, through social
service, nutritional, and nursing support to at-risk
pregnant women;

• Placing information on our combined Food Stamp/
cash assistance/MA applications for the following
telephone numbers: Planned Parenthood, AAPP
and Delaware Helpline, to obtain information on
pregnancy prevention/family planning.

In addition, family planning and reproductive health
services are provided to adults in eight public health
locations in Delaware; and similar services are provided to
adults by Planned Parenthood of Delaware in five locations
in the state.  Minority populations are targeted through
family planning and reproductive health services available at
three Federally Qualified Health Centers in Delaware; and
family planning and reproductive health services are
available to Delaware State University students through the
DSU health center.

These Delaware initiatives to reduce out-of-wedlock
births are complemented and strengthened by the policies of
TANF which:

• Require adults and minor parent(s) to obtain family
planning information from the provider of their
choice; 

• Provide for a fiscal sanction of an initial $50 reduc-
tion in benefits for failure, without good cause, to
obtain family planning information.  This reduction
will increase each month by $50.00, either until
there is compliance or the case is closed.  The sanc-
tion will end when the adult and/or minor parent(s)
obtains the family planning information at the pro-
vider of their choice;

• Eliminate benefit increases for children conceived
while a caretaker is receiving TANF, and apply this
family cap to children who are the firstborn of
minors included in a TANF grant where the chil-
dren are born after March 1, 1997; and

• Treat two parent families the same as single parent
families. 

Initiatives to Promote Two-Parent Families
To provide broad-based support for working families,

Delaware was one of the first States to recognize that the
special eligibility requirements that applied to two-parent
families contributed both to the non-formation and the break
up of two-parent households.  The six-quarter work history
requirement was particularly responsible for non-marriage of
teen parents, who had not yet worked enough to meet this
qualification.  The denial of benefits to two-parent families if
one of the parents was working at least 100 hours a month
also contributed to the low work rate of two-parent families
which were receiving AFDC. 

When Delaware eliminated these special deprivation
requirements as part of our welfare reform waiver, the
numbers of two-parent families receiving TANF soared, and
we believe that, without the TANF change, many of these
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households would have applied for and been found eligible
for benefits as single mother families.  These never formed
two-parent households would have had profound effects on
the ability of the family to exit welfare and on the future
success of the children.  We have found that the average
length of stay on TANF is much lower for two-parent
families, reflecting the greater incidence of retained
employment when two adults are able to engage in work and
share child care duties.

Delaware has always allowed taxpayers to file
separately and applied the progressive rate structure to each
spouse’s income separately, which avoided most tax
increases resulting from marriage.  However, a marriage
penalty could still result from uneven standard deduction
amounts.  By increasing the standard deduction amount for
married taxpayers to exactly twice the single standard
deduction beginning January 1, 2000, enactment of HB 411
has effectively eliminated the income tax “marriage penalty”
in the State of Delaware

ADDRESSING PROBLEMS OF STATUTORY RAPE 
AND DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

Statutory Rape
The Sexual Predator Act of 1996 imposes more severe

criminal sanctions on adult males who are significantly older
than their victims and holds them financially accountable
when children are born as a result of violations of this law.

The legislation requires a cooperative agreement as part
of a multi-faceted effort to combat teenage pregnancy and
reform welfare.  Specifically, the law requires the Attorney
General’s Office, the Department of Health and Social
Services, the Department of Services to Children Youth and
Their Families, the Department of Public Instruction and law
enforcement agencies statewide to establish a cooperative
agreement specifying the various roles of the agencies
involved.   The Memorandum of Understanding establishing
the cooperative agreement, executed on December 10, 1996,
and SB346 are provided as Attachment F.

Victims of Domestic Violence
As required under the optional Certification of

Standards and Procedures to Ensure that a State Will Screen
for and Identify Domestic Violence, DSS will refer
identified victims of domestic violence to appropriate
services such as shelters and counseling and to Family
Court.  Under the Protection from Abuse Act (PFA), 10
Delaware Code, Chapter 9, Sections 1041-1048
(Attachment G), Family Court has the power and authority
to expeditiously adjudicate all matters related to domestic
violence including court ordered restraints, custody, property
and financial resources.

Through this strong domestic violence Law, Delaware is

clearly committed to assisting victims of domestic violence
overcome circumstances which put them in physical,
emotional and/or financial jeopardy; and to assist them is
seeking redress and a safe environment for themselves and
their families.  The Law is a strong deterrent to domestic
violence, according to a study by the National Center for
State Courts, released on December 2, 1996.  The study
reported that 86 percent of those who sought protection
under the Law, which permits individuals in danger of
serious physical abuse to obtain a protection order, were no
longer being physically abused.

 In addition, using our Family Development Profile,
caseworkers ask a series of screening questions designed to
identify victims of domestic violence.  (See Attachment H)
So that we are certain that workers can use this tool to
effectively identify domestic violence issues, beginning
1998 all staff members at each of Delaware's 14 field sites
receive a full day of Domestic Violence Training, focused on
the impact of domestic violence on clients and their ability to
abide by the conditions of the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility.  As part of this training, staff learn how to
recognize and assist women who are victims of domestic
violence.  DSS has continued this training on an ongoing
basis and now provides the training not only to field staff but
to all staff.

We believe that our methodology of resolving domestic
violence situations as quickly as possible, as provided for
under a strong statute, is the most appropriate and best
course of action to assist current victims and to prevent
future violence where possible.

Delaware certifies that the Family Development Profile
establishes a procedure that screens for domestic violence
and that, pursuant to a determination of good cause, program
requirements may be waived if it is determined that
compliance would make it more difficult for individuals to
escape violence.  However, decisions to waive compliance
with TANF requirements will be made on an individual, case
by case basis, and will not endorse an individual’s failure to
behave proactively to ameliorate destructive domestic
violence situations.   For our program to work, domestic
violence victims must take actions to recover their lives,
using the relief provided by the domestic violence statute
and the other resources Delaware makes available.

TRIBES

Delaware has no federally recognized tribes.

ADMINISTRATION

Structure of Agency
The Department of Health and Social Services is the

cabinet level agency designated by the State as responsible
for Delaware's public assistance programs as allowed under
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Title IV-A of the Social Security Act.  Within the
Department, the Division of Social Services administers
these programs.  (Organizational chart included as
Attachment I to State Plan.)

Administrative Spending
Delaware will comply with federal requirements.

Compliance With Participation Rates
In order that federal TANF funds are spent in

accordance with the law (P.L. 104-193), Delaware will
ensure compliance with the mandatory work and
participation rate provisions of the law (as modified by this
State Plan which includes our previously approved waivers,
described in the Waiver Inconsistency Certification,
submitted to the U.S. Department of Health and Human
Services on September 27, 1999.)

Delaware intends to meet the participation rate
requirements set forth in the TANF legislation.  If the waiver
is extended, as is proposed by the reauthorization legislation
approved by the Senate Finance Committee, we will
continue to operate in accordance with participation
requirements in the waiver.  If the waiver is not extended we
will makes necessary changes to ensure that we meet federal
participation mandates. In either situation, Delaware will
ensure that federal TANF funds are expended for groups of
TANF clients engaged in work, using federally acceptable
work activities.

Maintenance of Effort 
Delaware is aware of and intends to fully comply with

the requirements of the law (P.L. 104-193) to maintain a
prescribed level of historic state expenditures.  Delaware
will ensure that expenditures of state funds for benefits and
services (“Qualified State Expenditures” as defined in the
law) for TANF participants (either in the Part A federally
funded program or non-Part A state funded program) who
are TANF eligibles will equal or exceed the required annual
spending level.

Delaware has opted to continue the issuance of child
support disregard and child support supplemental payments
to TANF clients under our fill-the-gap waiver.  Delaware
considers these payments to be “cash assistance” to eligible
families and therefore to be within the definition of
“Qualified State Expenditures”. 

Financial eligibility criteria for MOE-funded assistance
or services are the same as for other TANF assistance or
services, except that MOE claimed for child care under the
provisions of section 263.3 will follow the financial
eligibility criteria established in the CCDF State Plan and
associated State regulations.

Implementation Date and Plan Submittal Date
The plan is submitted for certification of completeness

on October 1, 2002.  The implementation date for the
provisions of this plan is October 1, 2002.  Any subsequent
amendments to this Plan will be indicated by amending the
page of the Plan that describes the program or function being
changed.

See 6 DE Reg. 442 (10/1/02)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, 

Section 311 (18 Del.C. §311)

Order

On January 1, 1992, the Department of Insurance
promulgated Regulation 41 relating to Medicare Supplement
Insurance Minimum Standards.  That regulation has been
amended five times in the intervening years.  On August 15,
2002, I approved substantial amendments to Regulation 41
based on changes to the Medicare, Medicaid and SCHIP
laws.  Those changes to Regulation 41 were published in the
Register of Regulations on September 1, 2002 and became
effective on September 15, 2002.

Subsequent to the publication of those changes, a
typographical error was discovered in section 12.5.3 of the
regulation.  Section 12.5.3 is amended by substituting the
term “12.2.6” for the term “12.2.5” as follows:

12.5.3 Section 12.2.5 6 shall include any Medicare
Supplement policy offered by any insurer.

The technical change described above does not
materially or substantively alter the provisions of Regulation
41.  The correction carries out the intent of the changes I
approved on August 15, 2002 and assures that Regulation 41
is in compliance with applicable federal law that governs
Medicare supplement coverage.

Since a public hearing is not required for the adoption of
non-substantive technical changes that conform the
regulation to existing law but which do not otherwise alter
the substance of the regulation, there is no preexisting text or
citation for purposes of reference.  The limited nature of the
proposed amendment does not require a full republication of
Regulation 41.  The final text of the proposed amendment to
Regulation 41 is designated to appear in the Register of
Regulations, Volume 6, Issue 6, for publication on
December 1, 2002.

I hereby adopt the foregoing amendment to Regulation
41 to be effective on December 11, 2002.

Donna Lee H. Williams
Insurance Commissioner

http://www.state.de.us/inscom/
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DATED:  November 4, 2002

* PLEASE NOTE:  AS THE REST OF THE REGULATION WAS

NOT AFFECTED IT IS NOT BEING REPRODUCED HERE.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

WATER SUPPLY SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Sections 6010 and 6023 (7 Del.C. §§6010,6023)

Date of Issuance:  October 31, 2002
Effective Date of the Amendment:  January 1, 2003

I.  Background

On September 4, 2002, a public hearing was held in the
DNREC Auditorium in Dover to receive comment on
proposed amendments to the Delaware Regulations for
Licensing Water Well Contractors, Pump Installer
Contractors, Well Drillers, Well Drivers and Pump
Installers.  These proposed amendments add limitations on
the work that can be performed by an individual whose
license has been suspended or revoked.  Additional
amendments provide clarification of definitions and offer a
more concise and reader-friendly version of these
regulations, thereby reducing the potential for future
misinterpretations. A public workshop concerning these
proposed amendments was held by the Department on July
2, 2002, and comments from the public were incorporated
into the drafting of these proposed amendments at that time.
Additionally, Robert Wiesner, a member of the public who is
also a well pump installer and contractor, offered his
comments at the public hearing.  The Division of Water
Resources responded to these comments in a memorandum
to the Hearing Officer, dated September 17, 2002.  Proper
notice of the hearing was provided as required by law.
Thereafter, the Hearing Officer prepared his report and
recommendation in the form of a memorandum to the
Secretary dated October 29, 2002, and that memorandum is
expressly incorporated herein by reference.

II. Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the
Hearing Officer’s Memorandum dated October 29, 2002, are
expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the
findings and conclusions of the Secretary.

III. Order

In view of the above, I hereby order that the proposed
amendments be promulgated and implemented in the manner
and form provided for by law, as recommended in the
Hearing Officer’s memorandum.

IV.  Reasons

The implementation of these amendments will be
beneficial to the State of Delaware, in that it will clarify the
licensing requirements of these regulations, and will reduce
the potential for misinterpretations.  Furthermore, by
keeping the contractor liability coverage requirements at the
same level as it has been in the past, the smaller contractors
throughout the State of Delaware will continue to be able to
conduct their business, whereas the substantially higher
coverage limits initially proposed in these amendments may
have, in the long run, been too great of a cost for the smaller
businesses to bear.  Additionally, the adoption of these
amendments will help to improve and/or enhance the overall
performance of the State of Delaware’s licensing program
for water well contractors, pump installer contractors, well
drillers, well drivers, and pump installers, in furtherance of
the policies and purposes of 7 Del. C. Ch. 63. 

John A. Hughes, Secretary

Regulations For Licensing Water Well Contractors, 
Pump Installer Contractors, Well Drillers, Well Drivers,

And Pump Installers

[Adopted:  October 31, 2002]
[Effective:   January 1, 2003]  

SECTION 1 – GENERAL PROVISIONS

1.01 Purpose
It is the purpose of [this regulation these regulations]

to: 
A. Protect the public health and to conserve and

protect the water resources of the state. 
B Examine and license those persons engaged in the 

1. Contracting for and [the drilling, boring,
coring, driving, digging, construction, installation,
removal, or repair of constructing, abandoning,
modifying or repairing] water wells and water test wells; or
and

2. [Abandoning, sealing and or modifying
wells and test wells; and]

3. The installation, repair or removal of pumping
equipment in and for a water well. or water test well; and

C. Provide for the Secretary to appoint a Water Well
Licensing Board to advise and assist the Secretary in the

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/Water/Water.htm
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administration of the licensing program.

1.02 Statutory Authority
The Department of Natural Resources and

Environmental Control establishes and adopts [this
regulation these regulations] pursuant to the authority
granted by §6010(a) and §6023 of the Delaware
Environmental Protection Act, Title 7 Del. C., Chapter 60.

1.03 Scope and Applicability
A. Minimum requirements are hereby prescribed

governing the licensing of persons who conduct activities
governed by [this regulation  these regulations].

B. No person shall conduct any activity contrary to the
provisions of [this Regulation these regulations].

C. SEVERABILITY If any part of [this Regulation
these regulations] or the application of any part thereof is
held invalid or unconstitutional, the application of such part
to other persons or circumstances and the remainder of [this
Regulation these regulations] shall not be affected thereby
and shall be deemed valid and effective. 

D. [This Regulation These regulations] being
necessary for the protection and conservation of the water
resources of the state, shall be liberally construed in order to
preserve the land, surface water and groundwater resources
of the State of Delaware.

E. The Department shall have the right to enter at
reasonable times upon any private or public property for the
purpose of inspecting and investigating conditions relative to
the enforcement of [this Regulation these regulations];
upon [providing verbal] notice and after presenting official
identification to the owner, occupant, custodian, or agent of
the property.

F. REPEALER  The provisions of [this Regulation
these regulations] are intended to shall supercede [existing
regulations of this state previous versions of these
regulations.  insofar as they relate to the matters
included in this Regulation.] 

1.04 Enforcement and Penalties
The provisions of [this regulation these regulations]

shall be enforced by the Department as provided in Title 7
Del. C., §6005 and §6013.  Such enforcement may include
suspension or revocation of any license for cause.  The
failure of the Department to enforce any of the provisions of
[this Regulation these regulations] shall not constitute a
waiver by the Department of such provisions.

SECTION 2 – DEFINITIONS

2.01 Agricultural Well – A well used for watering
livestock, poultry, and for aquaculture uses; or solely for
watering household yards and gardens; or for other purposes
related to farming in general but not including the irrigation

of lands or crops.  Water is not used for human consumption
or to service a dwelling.

2.02 Application Fee – means The fee set forth by the
Secretary to apply for that must be submitted with an
application for a license in one of the categories of [this
regulation these regulations].

2.03 Board – means The Water Well Licensing Board.

2.04 Certificate of Insurance – means Contractors
Liability Insurance.

2.04 Construction of Water Wells – means All acts
necessary to obtain ground water by wells, including the
location and excavation of the well, installation of casing,
grout, screens, and developing and testing. complete a well
from the initial penetration or excavation of the ground
through development, equipment installation, and
disinfection.  Set-up of construction equipment before actual
penetration or excavation is not considered part of
construction.

2.05 Department – means The Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control.

2.06 Dewatering Well – means the temporary lowering
of the ground water level for the construction of sewer lines,
water lines, elevator shafts and foundations.  A well used to
temporarily remove ground water during the construction of
footings, sewer lines, building foundations, elevator shafts,
etc.

2.07 Geotechnical Well – A well constructed for
monitoring water quality, measuring water levels, for
removing a product mixed with or adjacent to groundwater
or for injecting air or other product(s) into the groundwater
with the intent to [mediate remediate] contamination.
Geotechnical wells are typically classified as observation,
monitor, recovery or injection wells.

2.08 Installation – means The actual installation
placement of pumps, and/or pumping equipment in and for
water wells; and the removal of pumps and related
equipment in and for wells for repair, or service and or the
reinforcement thereof.

2.09 [Irrigation Well – A well that is used for the
watering of lands or crops other than household lawns
and gardens.]

2.10 License Fees – means The fee set forth by the
Secretary for the licensing of water well contractors, pump
installer contractors, well drillers, well drivers, and pump
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installers.

2.11 Person – means any individual, partnership,
corporation, association, institution, cooperative enterprise,
municipality, commission, political subdivision or duly
established legal entity.  Any individual, firm, association,
organization, partnership, business, trust, corporation,
company, contractor, supplier, installer, user, or owner, or
any Federal, State or local governmental agency or public
district or any officer or employee thereof.

2.12 Pumps and/or Pumping Equipment – means Any
equipment or material(s) utilized or intended for use in
withdrawing or obtaining ground water or other fluids from
water wells.

2.13 Pump Installer Contractor – means any person
engaged in the business of contracting for the installation,
modification, and repair of water well pumps and related
equipment.  Any person licensed by the State of Delaware to
engage in the business of contracting for the installation,
modification, or repair of water well pumps and related
equipment.

2.14 Pump Installer – means any person in responsible
charge of all on-site work in the installation, modification,
and repair of water well pumps and related equipment.  Any
person licensed by the State of Delaware to act in
responsible charge of all on-site work in the installation,
maintenance, and repair of pumps and related equipment in
and for wells.

2.15 Repair of Water Wells – means work on any well
involving re-drilling, deepening, changing casing and screen
depths, re-screening, cleaning by use of chemicals, re-
development, the removal and re-installation of pumps,
pumping equipment, and all related equipment to draw water
from a water well.  The repair or rehabilitation of a well to
restore the original yield to the best extent possible,
providing the location and physical dimensions of the well
are not changed.

2.16 Secretary – means The Secretary of the Department
of Natural Resources and Environmental Control or his or
her duly authorized designee.

2.17 [Test Boring and Coring] – means [The removal
and collection of soil samples from the earth by means of
augers, core-barrels, spoons, wash casing and bailers for
the purpose of obtaining geologic and hydrologic
information.]

2.18 Water Well – means  Any excavation that is drilled,
cored, bored, washed, driven, dug, jetted, or otherwise

constructed when the intended use of such excavation is for
the location, testing, acquisition, or artificial recharge or
injection of underground water fluids or gases, or to
otherwise make use of groundwater and where the depth is
greater than the diameter or width.  For the purpose of [this
regulation these regulations] this definition does not
include geotechnical test; soil, telephone, and construction
piling borings; fence posts or test pits.   Horizontal closed
loop heat pump circulation systems constructed within
twenty (20) feet of the ground surface are not considered
wells.

2.19 Water Well Contractor – means [Any person
engaged in the business of contracting for the
construction of water wells, and/or the installation of
pumping equipment in or for wells.  Any person licensed
by the State of Delaware to engage in the business of
contracting for the construction, modification, repair or
abandonment of wells and/or the installation, removal or
repair of pumping equipment in or for wells, or both.]

2.20 Water Well Driller – means [Any person in
responsible charge of all on-site work relating to the
drilling, boring, coring, driving, digging, construction,
installation, removal or repair of a well.  construction,
developing and testing of water wells, water well
alteration and repair, test boring and coring, and the
installation, modification, and repair of water well
pumps and related equipment. Any person licensed by
the State of Delaware to act in responsible charge of all
on-site work relating to the, construction, abandonment,
modification, repair, development or testing of wells; test
boring and coring; and the installation, removal,
modification or repair of water well pumps and related
equipment.]

2.21 Water Well Driver – means [Any person in
responsible charge for all on-site work relating to the
driving, construction, installation, removal or repair]
developing and testing of driven wells, dewatering,
alteration and repair [of driven wells,] test boring, coring
[and or the installation modification or repair of water
well pumps and related equipment ordinarily used in
driven wells. Any person licensed by the State of
Delaware to act in responsible charge of all on-site work
limited to the construction, abandonment, modification,
repair, development, and testing of driven wells and the
installation, removal, modification or repair of water
well pumps and related equipment in or for driven
wells.]

SECTION 3 – WATER WELL LICENSING BOARD

3.01 Board Membership
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The Secretary shall appoint[, with the power of
removal,] a Water Well Licensing Board (hereafter referred
to as the “Board”) to advise and assist the Secretary in the
administration of the licensing program.  The Board shall
consist of six members [as follows:] four members who are
shall currently licensed by the Department to engage in the
construction of water wells or the installation of water well
pumping equipment hold valid well driller, [well driver] or
pump installer licenses, one member shall be from the office
of the State Geologist who shall serve at the pleasure of the
Secretary Delaware Geological Survey, and one member
shall be from the Department.  who All members shall serve
at the pleasure of the Secretary.  The member from the
Department shall act as secretary of the Board and shall be
responsible for the keeping of records, the collection of fees,
and any other duties delegated either by the Secretary or the
Board.  All persons appointed to the Board shall be citizens
of the United States and residents of the State of Delaware.
Initially, the four Board members from the water well
industry shall be appointed to staggered terms so that no
more than two members’ terms shall expire the same year,
two being appointed to one year terms, one appointed for a
two year term and one appointed for three years.  Thereafter,
Board members shall be appointed to terms of three years.

3.02 Board Responsibilities
The [Water Well] Contractor [Licensing] Board, with

the consent of the Secretary, shall establish and administer
such procedures and guidelines as may be necessary for the
licensing regulation of those any person[, as defined in
section 2.10 of this regulations,] involved in contracting for
and the construction, abandonment or repair of water well
construction wells or in contracting for and the installation,
removal, maintenance, modification or repair of pumps in
and from for wells, pump installation [and shall include at
least the following provisions responsibilities:
including:]

A. Develop[ing] application forms
B. Develop[ing] examinations
C. Review[ing] applications for adherence to the

requirements of [this regulation these regulations.]
D. [Examining] [Examination of] candidates 

the  Recommend[ing] the granting, renewal or denial of
licenses 
F. Recommend[ing] the suspension or revocation of
licenses

SECTION 4 – WHO MUST BE LICENSED

4.01 Water Well Contractor, Pump Installer Contractor
A. All persons [as defined in section 2.10 of this

regulation,] who engage in the business of contracting for
[drilling, boring, coring, driving, digging, construction,
installation, removal or repair of a well the construction,

abandonment, modification or repair of] water [wells,]
test boring and coring, dewatering in the State of Delaware
shall be licensed by the Department as a water well
contractor.  

B. All persons [as defined in section 2.10 of this
regulation,] who engage in the business of contracting for
the installation[, removal modification], maintenance and
or repair of water well pumps and [related pumping]
equipment in and for wells within in the State of Delaware
shall be licensed by the Department as a pump installer
contractor or a water well contractor.

4.02 Well Driller, Well Driver
Except as noted in [11.04(B)] [4.04(A)] and [11.05(B)]

[4.04(B)] of   [this regulation these regulations,] all
persons who actively engage in any of the following
activities in within the State of Delaware shall be licensed by
the Department as a well driller or well driver or shall be
under the direct on-site supervision of a licensed well driller
or well driver while engaged in such activities.

A. The [drilling, boring, coring, driving, digging,
construction, installation, removal or repair of a
construction, abandonment, modification or repair of
wells] within [in the] engage in the business of water well
drilling, water well driving, test boring and coring
dewatering and 

B. The drilling, boring, coring, driving, digging,
[augering,] construction, [installation, or removal
abandonment, or modification] of any excavation other
than a well, to a depth greater than twenty (20) feet from the
natural ground surface, where the depth is greater than the
width and where the saturated zone is intercepted.

C. The installation, [removal, modification,]
maintenance or repair of water well pumps or pumping
equipment in or for wells

4.03 Pump Installer
Except as noted in [paragraph] 4.04 [, 11.04(B) and

11.05(B)] of [this regulation these regulations,] all persons
engaged who engage in the installation[, removal,
modification,] maintenance and or repair of water well
pumps and pumping related equipment in and for wells
within in the State of Delaware shall be licensed by the
Department as a pump installer, well driller, or well driver,
or shall be under the direct on-site supervision of a licensed
plumber, pump installer, well driller or well driver. 

4.04 Exceptions
A. A person owning or leasing land on which he or she

is installing[, removing,] maintaining or repairing pumping
equipment in or from an agricultural [a] well[, as defined in
section 2.01 of this regulation, used for the irrigation of
crops, for watering livestock or poultry, for aquaculture
uses, or for other on-farm purposes where the water is
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not to be used for human consumption or to service a
residential dwelling] is exempt from the requirement to
hold a pump installer license.

B. A person who holds a Delaware Plumbers License
or who is working under the direct on-site supervision of a
Delaware licensed plumber, well driller, well driver or pump
installer and who installs[, removes,] maintains, [modifies]
or repairs [or removes] pumps and pumping equipment in
and for wells is exempt from the requirement to hold a pump
installer license.

SECTION 5 – LICENSING PROCEDURES FOR
LICENSING

5.01 Application Fee
An application for any type of license issued by the

Board shall be made on forms furnished by the Board and be
accompanied by a non-refundable application fee of $10.00.
All applications shall include the required non-refundable
application fee.

5.02 Minimum Requirements [for Licensing]
A. [Age Contractor Liability Insurance Coverage]

1. The Board shall require, as a condition of
licensing, that  All water well contractors and pump installer
contractors shall carry and maintain [the following
minimum levels of contractor’s liability insurance
coverage: a minimum of $1,000,000 Contractor’s
Liability insurance coverage per occurrence.]  

Contractor’s Liability Insurance:
[Bodily Injury: $100,000 each person

$300,000 each occurrence
Property Damage: $ 50,000 each occurrence

$ 50,000 each aggregate]
2. Failure to provide evidence of continual

insurance coverage shall result in the automatic suspension
of the water well contractor or pump installer contractor
license.  The suspension shall remain in effect until the
Department has received proof of insurance or until the
license expires. The insurance held by [a the] water well
contractor or pump installer contractor shall cover all
licensed well drillers, well drivers, [and] pump installers,
[and others] in their employ.

[The Board may accept a Certificate of
Insurance in lieu of a policy providing that the
Certificate of Insurance is endorsed to include said
license holder by name.]  Said insurance is a condition of
licensing and must remain in effect during period when
license is valid. 

B. [Well Driller Experience]
1. [The] Applicant[s] [must shall] be at least

eighteen years of age.
2. Applicants [for well driller and well driver

licenses] shall have Has had at least two years experience in

the work for which he is applying for a license operating
well construction equipment, in constructing wells, and in
the installation, [removal,] maintenance[, modification] and
repair of pumps in and for wells.  (one year in the case of a
pump installer)  The Board may recommend granting a
license with conditions limiting the scope of the license
based on the applicant’s experience.  Examples of license
limitations may include but are not limited to work on
geotechnical wells or dewatering wells or to the operation of
certain types of equipment.

3. Applicants [for well driller, well driver and
pump installer licenses] shall demonstrate professional
competence by passing a written and/or oral examination
prescribed by the Board. 

4. [Applicants shall only perform work as a
well driller when under the employ of a licensed water
well contractor.]

C. [Examination Well Driver] 
1. [Applicants shall be at least eighteen years

of age.
2. Applicants for licenses shall have at least

two years experience in operating well driving
equipment, in constructing wells, and in the installation,
maintenance, and repair of pumps in and for wells.

3. Applicants shall demonstrate professional
competence by passing a written or oral examination.

4. Applicants shall only perform work as a well
driver when under the employ of a licensed water well
contractor.

D. Insurance Pump Installer
1. Applicants shall be at least eighteen years of

age.
2. Applicants shall have at least one year

experience in the installation, maintenance, and repair of
pumps in and for wells.

3. Applicants shall demonstrate professional
competence by passing a written or oral examination.

4. Applicants shall only perform work as a
pump installer when under the employ of a licensed
water well contractor or pump installer contractor.]

5.03 Application Procedures 
A. [Water well contractor and pump installer

contractor] license[s] applications [for] shall consist of the
following:

1. [Submission of a signed and notarized An]
application on forms provided by [DNREC the
Department, signed by an officer of the business seeking
the license, and bearing the signature and seal or stamp
of a notary public.

2. A listing of all past or outstanding civil,
administrative, or criminal proceedings instituted
against the applicant (including any form of permit
suspensions or revocations) for any environmental or
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regulatory violations over the past five (5) years,
regardless of location.   Include details of the violation,
the proceedings, and the outcome of the proceedings.]

3. [Submission of the All] appropriate
application and license fees. 

4. [Submission of proof] Evidence of current
Contractor Liability Insurance [coverage] meeting the
requirements of section 5.02(A) of [this regulation these
regulations.]

B. Well Driller, Well Driver [license applications
shall consist of the following:]

1. Furnishes the Board with Submission of a
signed and notarized application on forms provided by the
Department.

2. [A listing of all past or outstanding civil,
administrative, or criminal proceedings instituted
against the applicant (including any form of permit
suspensions or revocations) for any environmental or
regulatory violations over the past five (5) years,
regardless of location.   Include details of the violation,
the proceedings, and the outcome of the proceedings.]

3. Submission of the appropriate application fee.
4. Submission of references from two persons

who are actively engaged in the well drilling business and
who hold current licenses as well drillers or well drivers.
And

C. Pump Installer [license applications shall consist
of the following:]

1. Submission of a signed and notarized
application on forms provided by the Department.

2. [A listing of all past or outstanding civil,
administrative, or criminal proceedings instituted
against the applicant (including any form of permit
suspensions or revocations) for any environmental or
regulatory violations over the past five (5) years,
regardless of location.   Include details of the violation,
the proceedings, and the outcome of the proceedings.]

3. Submission of the appropriate application fee.
4. Submission of references from two persons

who are actively engaged in the well drilling and/or pump
installation business and who hold current licenses as well
drillers, well drivers, [pump installers,] or plumbers.

D. Eligibility for Examination

5.04 Application Review
The Board shall review the application and may

interview the applicant to determine [that the application is
in proper form and meets the requirements of these
regulations. whether an applicant meets the necessary
requirements by of 5.02 (A) through (D) of the above
criteria to be eligible for examination.  After determining
that an applicant is eligible for examination, the Board
shall notify] The applicant shall be notified of his [their]
eligibility for examination.  Applicants who are determined

to be ineligible for examination shall be so notified in
writing by the Board and may reapply [after] 90 days from
the date of notification.

5.05 Notification for Examination Notification
The Department Board shall, not less than thirty days

prior to the examination, notify each eligible applicant of the
time and place of the examination.  The Board may, if the
applicant meets all other requirements, issue a temporary
license not to exceed 90 days duration until the next
examination is given by the Board.

5.06 Examination
A. The [written] examination shall be given at least

annually and at such other times as in the opinion of the
Board, the number of applicants warrants.  Oral
examinations will be scheduled and administered as
necessary.  [A written request for an oral examination
must be submitted before the exam is scheduled .]

B. The examination shall consist of a written and/or
oral examination, and shall fairly test the applicant’s
knowledge and application [thereof] in the following
subjects:  

1. Basics of well drilling methods and basics of
well construction; 

2. State and local laws and ordinances concerning
the construction, abandonment, modification and repair of
water wells and/or the removal, installation or maintenance
of pumps and pumping equipment, and 

3. The rules and regulations promulgated in
connection therein.

C. [Eligibility for examination shall expire 12
months from the date the Board reviews the application.
The examination may be taken no more than twice
within one year 12 months of the Board’s determination
of eligibility.]  

D. Applicants who fail to receive a passing grade shall
wait at least 90 days before re-taking the examination. 

Reciprocity
The Secretary may license, without examination, upon

payment of the required application and license fees, and
evidence of required insurance where applicable, applicants
who are duly licensed under the laws of any other state
having requirements deemed by the Board at least equivalent
to those of the State of Delaware.

5.07 Reapplication after Failure of Examination
In the event When an applicant fails to receive a passing

grade [within one year of notification of eligibility to take
the examination, during his or her period of eligibililty,]
the applicant he shall be so notified by the Board within 30
days and [may will be required to] re-apply for a license
subsequent examination with payment of the application fee,
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[no less than 90 days after the date of said notification
their most recent failed examination or one year from the
date their previous application was received, whichever
is greater subject to the requirements of section 5.03 of
these regulations.]

Persons Previously Licensed 
Exemptions from Examination and Proof of Experience 
Any person who has been licensed in the business of

Water Well Contractor, Pump Installer Contractor, Well
Driller, Well Driver or Pump Installer by the Department for
the calendar  year 1981, accompanied by satisfactory proof
to the Board that he was so licensed, and accompanied by
payment of the required fee and the furnishing of the
required insurance where applicable, be granted a license in
the category of which he was licensed without fulfilling the
requirements that he pass the examination prescribed in the
Minimum Requirements for Licensing.

5.08 License Issuance
[Upon notification of passing the examination,] The

applicant shall submit the appropriate license fee upon
[receipt of] notification of [receiving a] passing [score on]
the examination.  Thereafter, the Department shall issue a
license.  Upon Notification of Being Qualified for Licensing,
the Applicant shall where applicable, submit to the Board the
following:

A. Certificate of Insurance indicating Contractors
Liability Insurance in the minimum amounts required where
applicable and specified herein, and 

B. Payment of License fee (payable to the “State of
Delaware”)

C. License fees, effective July 1, 1991
Water Well Contractor $150.00
Pump Installer Contractor   115.00
Well Driller     30.00
Well Driver     15.00
Pump Installer     15.00

5.09 License Denial
Any person whose application for a license has been

denied shall be notified in writing and provided the reason(s)
for the decision.  Within thirty (30) days of  notification, the
person shall notify the Secretary in writing if a public
hearing pursuant to 7 Del. C. §6006 is desired.  If no hearing
request is received within the thirty (30) day period, the
decision for denial shall become final.

SECTION 6 – LICENSE RENEWAL 

6.01 License Term
Licenses issued pursuant to [this regulation these
regulations] are not transferable and shall expire on
December 31 of each year.  The Department shall send a
written notice to the address on file for each water well

contractor and pump installer contractor to remind them to
renew the licenses for the company and their employees.  It
is the responsibility of the license holder to renew the license
yearly and to notify the Department of any changes.

All licenses shall expire on December 31st of the year issued
unless otherwise indicated on the license.  

6.02 Application for Renewal 
A. In order to avoid a lapse in license term, the

following shall be submitted no later than November 30 of
the year the license expires.  A license may be renewed
PRIOR to its expiration date providing the license submits
the following:

1. A renewal application on forms provided by
the Department.

2. Well drillers, well drivers and pump installers
shall submit satisfactory evidence of compliance with the
continuing education requirements of table 1 and sections
6.03 and 7 of [this regulation these regulations], except as
exempted by section 6.03[(C) (B)(2)].

3. Any Applicable renewal fee.
B. An expired license may be renewed within one (1)

year following its expiration by submitting the information
required in section 6.02(A)(1-3) of [this regulation these
regulations] and any applicable late fee.

C. Licensees Persons who apply for renewal of their
licenses under section 6.02(A) and (B) of [this regulation
these regulations] shall not be required to take an
examination. as a condition of license renewal.

D. Reinstatement of Expired Licenses  Applicants for
the reinstatement renewal of licenses that have been expired
for more than one (1) year shall be subject to all
requirements of section 5 of [this regulation these
regulations].

6.03 Continuing Education Credit[s] [Hours]
A. All licensees shall comply with the continuing

education requirements of section 7.03 of these regulations
as a condition for the renewal of their license.

A licensee person holding two (2) or more licenses
issued under [this regulation these regulations] may fulfill
the continuing education requirements for renewal of all
licenses by obtaining the larger of the minimum hours of
continuing education subject to the requirements of [section
6.03(B) this regulation these regulations].

B. The Secretary may consider a request for a
temporary extension of a license for a period not to exceed
three (3) months providing sufficient cause can be proven
subject to the Secretary’s discretion.  In order to be
considered for such an extension, the applicant must submit
a written request with a statement containing the reason(s)
why he or she was or is not able to obtain the necessary
credits within the required time frame. Persons holding valid
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well driller[s] or well driver[s] licenses shall complete a
minimum of four (4) hours of continuing education credits
prior to being granted a license renewal, with the following
exceptions:

1. Persons holding [valid] well driller[s] or well
driver[s] licenses that are restricted contain conditions
limiting the license holder to the installation of dewatering
wells and pumping equipment shall complete a minimum of
two (2) hours of continuing education credits prior to being
granted a license renewal.

2. [Persons holding valid well driller or well
driver licenses with a condition limiting them to the
construction of geotechnical wells with hand operated
tools are not required to obtain continuing education as a
requirement for license renewal. The requirements of
section 6.02(A)(3) shall not apply to well driller licenses
that are restricted contain conditions limiting the license
holder to the construction of geotechnical wells using
hand-operated tools.]

C. Persons holding valid pump installer licenses shall
complete a minimum of two (2) hours of continuing
education [credits] prior to being granted a license renewal.

D. [Continuing education hours required for
persons licensed for less than one year shall be required
as outlined in Table 1.]

CONTINUING EDUCATION [CREDITS HOURS] 
REQUIRED FOR LICENSE RENEWAL

(Table 1)

E. The licensee licensed person shall be responsible
for all costs of obtaining the required number of continuing
education [credit] hours.

F. Continuing education credits for renewal of a
license held for less than one year by a person who did not
hold a license during the previous twelve months shall be
required as shown in table 1.

SECTION 7 – APPROVAL OF CONTINUING
EDUCATION PROGRAMS

7.01 Continuing Education Program Approval
A. Continuing education programs shall be designed to

improve, advance or extend the licensee’s license holder's
professional skills and knowledge relating to the practice of
well construction, maintenance, repair or abandonment of
wells or repair and pump installation, removal, modification,

maintenance or repair.  Acceptance of continuing education
programs shall be based upon the curriculum or program
content and the qualifications of the instructor.

B. Prospective continuing education programs shall be
submitted for the [Secretary’s Board's] approval on
application form(s) provided by the Department; and, the
program(s) shall be instructed by persons knowledgeable in
the subject matter. or shall be conducted by an accredited
educational institution 

C. Applications for the approval of curriculums,
programs, seminars, etc. shall be submitted on forms
provided by the Department and shall include the following
minimum information:

1. Description of subject matter Course outline or
syllabus including the course objectives

2. Length of course or courses in actual training
hours

3. Name and qualifications of instructor(s)
D. Approval of a program shall remain in effect for as

long as it and the instructor remain unchanged, the program
content remains unchanged and the program is not outdated
remains essentially unchanged.

E. A change in subject matter, length, or instructor(s)
Any significant changes [in items outlined in 7.01(C)] shall
require resubmission and approval.

F. Approval shall not be granted for any course,
seminar, workshop, etc. dealing with the requirements of the
1999 revisions to the “Regulations for Licensing Water Well
Contractors, Pump Installer Contractors, Well Drillers, Well
Drivers, and Pump Installers” or the 1997 “Regulations
Governing the Construction and Use of Wells.” Approval of
program(s) dealing with proposed revisions or additions to
the states’ regulations governing wells noted in section
7.01(F) above and any other state or local requirements
regarding well construction or repair, pump installation or
pump repair may be considered for continuing education
credit providing the program(s) are held within the first six
(6) months of implementation of the requirements. 

G. Subject to approval by the [Secretary Board],
continuing education [credit] relevant to the practice of well
construction, abandonment, and repair; and pump
installation, removal, maintenance and repair may be
obtained by, but are not limited to the following:

1. Course work Courses, seminars, workshops,
and lectures etc. given by accredited educational
institution[s.]

2. Courses, seminars, workshops, or lectures
given by national, state and or local trade associations,
professional organizations, product vendors, manufacturers,
etc.

3. Extension studies and correspondence courses.
4. Papers written by a licensee and published in a

professional journal or scientific media requiring peer
review.

Months Licensed
Well Driller
Well Driver

(WD)

Dewat
ering
(WD)

Pump 
Installer

(PI)
Less than 1 0 0 0

Between 1 and 3 0 0 0
Between 3 and 6 2 1 2 1
Between 6 and 12 4 2 2
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5. Instruction of continuing education courses.
6. Attendance at conferences and conventions

sponsored by regional, national and or local trade
associations or professional organizations.

7.02 Assignment of Credit
A. Continuing education credits shall be awarded on

an hour-for-hour basis for attendance at an approved
continuing education program unless otherwise indicated in
section 7.02(B) through (F) of [this regulation these
regulations].

B. Credits shall be awarded in not less than one-half
(½) hour increments.

C. For programs where continuing education units
have been assigned, one unit is equivalent to one credit of
approved training.  Instructor(s) of approved continuing
education programs shall receive credits at the rate of one (1)
credit for two (2) hours of continuing education instruction.

D. [A maximum of] five (5) credit hours [are
approved will be given] for each day of attendance at a
national, regional or local trade association conference or
convention.

E. One-half (½) credit hour [is approved will be
given] for attendance at a local trade association or
professional organization meeting or seminar.

F. [A maximum of] three (3) credit hours shall be
awarded for each paper written by a licensee and published
in a scientific media or professional journal requiring peer
review.  The subject of the paper shall be directly related to
the license holder’s license category.

7.03 Recording Reporting Credits
A. Approved continuing education credits obtained

within the appropriate license renewal period shall be
credited as provided in section 7.02 of [this regulation these
regulations]. 

B. The licensee license holder is responsible for
submission of proof of attendance at all approved continuing
education programs.  Documentation of credits received
shall consist of any one of the following, unless otherwise
approved by the [Secretary Board]:

1. A record of attendance for each course on
forms provided by the Department or,

2. An official student transcript issued by the
educational institution or,

3. A certificate or other documentation signed by
the instructor or sponsor of the program providing the name
of the individual who attended, the date the program was
held, the name of the program, and the number of training
hours completed. and attesting to the satisfactory completion
of the program.

C. Inability to substantiate credit hours earned shall be
is grounds for disallowance of the credits in question.

SECTION 8 - SUSPENSION IDENTIFICATION OF
LICENSE HOLDER 

8.01 Any person licensed by the Water Well
Licensing Board All well drillers, well drivers and pump
installers licensed under [this regulation these regulations]
shall, possess while he is working while he or she is
performing any activity governed by [this regulation these
regulations], have in his or her possession a valid and
current identification card furnished by the Board
Department and shall exhibit it on demand.   The card shall
bear showing his or her identity name, type of license, and
license number and the license expiration date.  Only a
person licensed by the Board shall be authorized to operate
equipment used in the business of well drilling and/or pump
installation, or if an unlicensed person is employed for the
operation of the equipment, he shall perform all work under
the immediate and continuous supervision of a person
licensed by the Board present at the work site.

SECTION  9 – MARKING OF VEHICLES AND
EQUIPMENT

9.01 Any contractor All licensed water well contractors
and pump installer contractors licensed by the Water Well
Licensing Board shall mark each well drilling rig, well
driving rig, water tank truck, and well and pump service rig
vehicle used by the contractor or his employee(s) with
legible and plainly visible identification markings.  The
identification markings used shall be include the name of the
company, corporation, or contractor and the water well or
pump installer contractor’s [valid] license number.  The
identification marking(s) shall be printed upon displayed on
each side of the well drilling rig, well driving rig, water tank
truck, and well and pump service rig vehicle(s) and
equipment in letters and numerals at least 1½ inches high.
and The letters and numerals shall be in a color sufficiently
different from the color of the vehicle or equipment so that
identification markings are plainly legible.  Weatherproof
decals or magnetic signs meeting the requirements above of
[this regulation these regulations] are acceptable.

SECTION 10 – RESPONSIBILITIES OF WATER
WELL CONTRACTORS, PUMP INSTALLER
CONTRACTORS, WELL DRILLERS, WELL
DRIVERS AND PUMP INSTALLERS

10.01 Pursuant to [this regulation these regulations],
licensed water well contractors, pump installer contractors,
well drillers, well drivers and pump installers shall be
responsible for the following:

A. Initiating work only on wells for which the proper
approval has been granted

B. Compliance with all applicable laws, regulations
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and requirements
C. The conduct of work carried out by himself

themselves and any employee [or others under their
supervision] and

D. The proper and timely submission of completion
reports for all work done, signed by the licensed water well
driller or driver. all required reports and forms 

E. Maintaining contractor’s liability insurance
pursuant to the requirements of [this regulation these
regulations] at all times

F. Submitting proof of insurance annually
G. Notifying the Department of any changes of

employment, address, phone, etc.
H. Submission of renewal and continuing education

credit forms prior to license expiration.
I.Well drillers, well drivers and pump installers shall

only perform work authorized by their license while in the
employ of the licensed water well contractor or pump
installer contractor listed on their license certificate.

SECTION 11 – SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF
LICENSE

The Board shall recommend to the Secretary the
revocation of the license of any licensee  who, upon hearing
by the Board, has been found guilty of fraud or deceit in
obtaining his license.

The Board shall recommend to the Secretary the
suspension or revocation of the license of any licensee who,
upon investigation and hearing by the Board, is:

a. Found to be guilty of gross neglilgence,
incompetence, or misconduct in the business of well drilling
or pump installation and repair in the State of Delaware,
including flagrant violations of the laws, regulations or
conditions of permits; or is

b. No longer able to perform his duties properly.
11.01 Board Meeting

A. Whenever the Board [finds that obtains
information that a] the licensee under this regulation may
be or may have been engaging in practices which are in
violation of the laws, regulations or conditions of permits in
relation to their license or when a licensee may no longer be
performing their duties properly any provision of these or
other regulations applicable to water well construction and
abandonment, the Board shall give written notice to notify
the licensee license holder describing the alleged violation
and requesting that the alleged offender appear before the
Board for a hearing to [address the alleged violations or
deficiencies and, if necessary,] show cause why his or her
license(s) should not be suspended or revoked.

B. The Board shall hold an informal meeting, open to
the public, to review [the alleged violations and decide on
a recommendation to the Secretary].  The Board shall
consider testimony of the license holder, the Department,
[any relevant witnesses,] and the public and shall make a

recommendation to the Secretary.

11.02 Secretary’s Decision
The Secretary may suspend or revoke the license of a

water well contractor, pump installer contractor, well driller,
well driver or pump installer after considering the
recommendations of the Water Well Licensing Board when
it is found that the license holder:

A. Has practiced fraud, deception or concealment
of material facts in obtaining a license or in the performance
of their duties. 

B. Has not used reasonable care, judgment or the
application of their knowledge or ability in the performance
of his or her duties.

C. Is incompetent or unable to perform his or her
duties properly.

D. [Has] violated any provision of [this
regulation these regulations], other applicable regulations
or permit condition(s), [and any other environmental laws
or regulations within the State of Delaware.]

E. [Has] violated any lawful order, regulation, or rule
rendered or adopted by the Department.

F. Is found guilty of misconduct in the pursuit of his or
her profession.

11.03 Notification
Any person whose license has been suspended or

revoked shall be notified in writing and provided the
reason(s) for the decision.

11.04 Appeals 
Any person whose license has been suspended or

revoked may appeal to the Environmental Appeals Board
pursuant to Title 7 Del. C., §6008 within 20 days after
receipt of the Secretary's decision.

Public Hearing 
Any appeal of the Secretary’s decision will be subject to

the provisions in 7 Del. C., Section 6008.
Procedures for Hearings

A. The Board shall advise the Secretary to notify
the alleged violator of his right to a hearing before the Board
to show cause why his license would not be suspended or
revoked.  The notification shall be in the form of a registered
or certified letter, return receipt requested, setting forth the
alleged violation or violations, and making known to the
alleged violator the time and place of the hearing.  This
notice must be given at least twenty (20) days prior to the
hearing.

B. The alleged violator may appear with counsel
at the hearing.

C. The Secretary shall appoint one of the
members of the Board to act as the hearing officer.

D. A record shall be made of any hearing
concerning revocation or suspension of licenses.
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E. At the conclusion of the hearing the Board, by
a majority of those present vote, shall recommend to the
Secretary suspension, revocation or affirmation of the
license of the accused based upon evidence and testimony
given at the hearing.

F. The Board shall advise the Secretary of its
decision within three (3) days of the hearing. 

G. The Secretary shall provide the accused with
notice by registered or certified mail, return receipt
requested, as to his decision within twenty (20) days of the
conclusion of the hearing.

11.05 License Suspension – Terms and Conditions
A. A person whose water well contractor or pump

installer contractor license has been suspended shall not
contract for the construction, abandonment, modification or
repair of a well or for the installation, maintenance, repair or
removal of a pump in or for a well; [and shall not advertise,
solicit business or receive payment as a water well
contractor or pump installer contractor] during the term
of license suspension.

B. A person whose well driller or well driver license
has been suspended shall not physically operate a well rig,
construct, [drill, bore, core, drive, dig, install, remove or
repair] a well, abandon a well, install a pump in or for a
well, remove a pump from a well, modify a pump in or for a
[well or], service a pump in or for a well, [or undertake any
activity that requires a license as a well driller or well
driver] during the term of license suspension. 

C. A person whose pump installer license has been
suspended shall not install a pump in or for a well, remove a
pump from a well, modify a pump in or for a well, [or]
service a pump in or for a well, [or undertake any activity
that requires a license as a pump installer] during the term
of license suspension.

D. [Vehicles or equipment] used in any activity
requiring a license pursuant to [this regulation these
regulations] shall not bear the name or contractor’s license
number of the suspended license during the term of a water
well or pump installer contractor license suspension.

E. Upon expiration of the term of suspension, the
license of the suspended person, [as defined in section 2.10
of these regulations] company or corporation, shall be
deemed in good standing on the first calendar day after the
term of suspension has expired provided that the cause of the
suspension has been corrected to the satisfaction of the
Board.  [In cases where a license expires prior to the end
of the suspension period, the licensee must comply with
the requirements of section 6 of these regulations before
the license is reinstated.]

11.06 License Revocation – Terms and Conditions
A. A person whose water well contractor or pump

installer contractor license has been revoked shall not

contract for the construction, abandonment, modification or
repair of a well or for the installation, maintenance, repair or
removal of a pump in or for a well; [and shall not advertise,
solicit business or receive payment as a water well
contractor or pump installer contractor] until that person
has first obtained a current Delaware water well contractor
or pump installer contractor license.

B. A person whose well driller or well driver license
has been revoked shall not physically operate a well rig,
construct a well, [drill, bore, core, drive, dig, install,]
remove or repair a well, abandon a well, repair or modify a
well, install a pump in or for a well, remove a pump from a
well, modify a pump in or for a well, [or] service a pump in
or for a well, [or undertake any activity that requires a
license as a well driller or well driver] until that person has
first obtained a current Delaware well driller [or well
driver] license.

C. A person whose pump installer license has been
revoked shall not install a pump in or for a well, remove a
pump from a well, modify a pump in or for a well, or service
a pump in or for a well, [or undertake any activity that
requires a license as a pump installer during the term of
license revocation and] until that person has first obtained a
current Delaware pump installer license.

D. Vehicles [or equipment] used in any activity
requiring a license pursuant to [this regulation these
regulations] shall not bear the name or water well or pump
installer contractor’s license number of the revoked license
during the term of license revocation.

E. Upon completion of the term of revocation, the
person may submit an application for a license under [this
regulation these regulations.] 
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Section 6010 (7 Del.C. §6010)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Post 2002 Title V Permit Fees

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT,
SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:

Pursuant to House Bill 562, effective July 8, 2002, the
Department shall publish each source Name, Base Fee
information, and User Fee information in the Delaware
Register.

These Post 2002 Title V Fees will be charged to
facilities during 2003, 2004, and 2005.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE ACTION AGENCY:
N/A

4. STATUTORY BASIS:
7 Del.C., Chapter 60, section 6097, and Clean Air Act

Amendments of 1990

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:

NONE

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
N/A

7. PREPARED BY:
Craig A. Koska, 11/04/02

POST 2002 TITLE V FEES- INTRODUCTION

Pursuant to House Bill 562, which becomes effective
01/01/03, the attached tables were to be published in the
Delaware Register. The purpose of this publishing is to
allow individual sources to be aware of the fee amounts
which will be billed starting January 1, 2003. The new fees
will be used to assess Title V Fees for the calendar years
2003, 2004, and 2005. Any questions should be directed to
the Air Quality Management Section at (302) 739-4791.

Facility Name  Base Fee  User Fee  Total Fees 

1 ALLEN FAMILY FOODS, INC  $           3,000  $           2,000  $                  5,000 

2 ALLENS MILLING COMPANY  $         18,000  $           5,000  $                23,000 

3 AMERICAN INTERNATIONAL BUILDING  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

4 AMERICAN MINERALS, INC  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

5 AMETEK, INC /HAVEG DIVISION  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

6 AMTRAK WILMINGTON MAINTENANCE FACILITY  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

7 ARLON, INC  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

8 ASTRA ZENECA PHARMACEUTICALS -FAIRFAX  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

9 AVECIA, INC  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

10 BEASLEY (WARREN F.) POWER STATION  $           3,000  $           2,000  $                  5,000 

11 CAMDEL METALS CORPORATION  $         18,000  $           1,000  $                19,000 

12 CHESWOLD AGGREGATES  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

13 CHRISTIANA HOSPITAL  $           7,500  $           5,000  $                12,500 

14 CHRISTIANA MATERIALS  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

15 CHRISTIANA MATERIALS MIDDLETOWN  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

16 CIBA SPECIALTY CHEMICALS CORP.  $         39,500  $           2,000  $                41,500 

17 CITISTEEL USA  $         39,500  $           5,000  $                44,500 

18 CITY OF DOVER - MCKEE RUN POWER PLANT  $         18,000  $         40,000  $                58,000 

19 CITY OF DOVER, VAN SANT GENERATING STATION  $         18,000  $           2,000  $                20,000 

20 CITY OF SEAFORD - ELECTRIC  $           7,500  $           2,000  $                 9, 500 

21 CLEAN EARTH OF NEW CASTLE  $         18,000  $           2,000  $                20,000 

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm


GENERAL NOTICES

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 6, ISSUE 6, SUNDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2002

813

22 COATINGS INC  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

23 COKER CONCRETE  $           3,000  $           2,000  $                  5,000 

24 COMPUTER SCIENCE CORP.  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

25 CONECTIV DELMARVA GENERATION - HAY ROAD  $         39,500  $         10,000  $                49,500 

26 CONECTIV DELMARVA GENERATION- CHRISTIANA  $           7,500  $           2,000  $                 9,500 

27 CONECTIV DELMARVA GENERATION -MADISON ST.  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

28 CONECTIV DELMARVA GENERATION-DE CITY  $          7,500  $          1,000  $                  8,500 

29 CONECTIV DELMARVA GENERATION-EDGE MOOR  $         39,500  $       100,000  $             139,500 

30 CONECTIV DELMARVA GENERATION-WEST SUBSTATION.  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

31 CONECTIV THERMAL SYSTEMS  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

32 CROWELL CORP0RATION  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

33 CUSTOM DECORATIVE MOLDINGS  $           3,000  $           2,000  $                  5,000 

34 DADE BEHRING INC  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

35 DAIMLER CHRYSLER CORPORATION  $         39,500  $         10,000  $                49,500 

36 DANA RAILCAR SERVICE, INC  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

37 DASSAULT FALCON-JET WILMINGTON  $         18,000  $           1,000  $                19,000 

38 DE SOLID WASTE AUTHORITY CHERRY ISLAND  $           7,500  $           2,000  $                  9,500 

39 DE SOLID WASTE AUTHORITY, PIGEON POINT  $           7,500  $           2,000  $                  9,500 

40 DE SOLID WASTE AUTHORITY, SANDTOWN  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

41 DE SOLID WASTE AUTHORITY, SOUTHERN   $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

42 DELAWARE CORRECTIONAL CENTER-SMYRNA, DE  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

43 DELAWARE HOSPITAL FOR THE CHRONICALLY ILL  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

44 DELAWARE RECYCLABLE PRODUCTS, INC.  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

45 DELAWARE STATE UNIVERSITY  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

46 DELAWARE TERMINAL COMPANY  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

47 DIAMOND MATERIALS, LLC  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

48 DOVER AIR FORCE BASE  $         18,000  $           2,000  $                20,000 

49 DOVER PRODUCTS COMPANY  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

50 DUPONT CHESTNUT RUN  $           7,500  $           5,000  $                12,500 

51 DUPONT EDGE MOOR  $         39,500  $         10,000  $                49,500 

52 DUPONT EXPERIMENTAL STATION  $         39,500  $         10,000  $                49,500 

53 DUPONT HOSPITAL FOR CHILDREN  $           7,500  $           5,000  $                12,500 

54 DUPONT SEAFORD  $         18,000  $       100,000  $             118,000 

55 DUPONT STINE - HASKELL RESEARCH CENTER  $         18,000  $           5,000  $                23,000 

56 DUPONT WILMINGTON OFFICE BUILDINGS  $           7,500  $           5,000  $                12,500 

57 E-A-R SPECIALTY COMPOSITES CORPORATION  $         18,000  $           1,000  $                19,000 

58 EASTERN SHORE NATURAL GAS  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

59 EDGEMOOR MATERIALS - HOT MIX PLANT  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

60 FMC CORPORATION  $         18,000  $           2,000  $                20,000 

61 FORMOSA PLASTICS CORPORATION  $         39,500  $           5,000  $                44,500 

62 FP INTERNATIONAL INC.  $         18,000  $           2,000  $                20,000 

63 GAC,SEAFORD INC.  $           3,000  $           2,000  $                  5,000 

64 GANDERHILL MULTIPURPOSE CJF  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

65 GENERAL CHEMICAL CORPORATION  $         39,500  $         10,000  $                49,500 

66 GENERAL CLOTHING COMPANY, INC.  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

67 GENERAL MOTORS WILMINGTON  $         39,500  $         10,000  $                49,500 
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68 HANOVER FOODS CORP., CLAYTON  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

69 HARDCORE COMPOSITES (Div of Harris Specialties)  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

70 HERCULES INCORPORATED, RESEARCH CENTER  $         18,000  $           5,000  $                23,000 

71 HIRSH INDUSTRIES, INC.  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

72 HONEYWELL INTERNATIONAL  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

73 I. A. CONSTRUCTION CORP., GUMBORO  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

74 IKO PRODUCTION, WILMINGTON  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

75 ILC DOVER, INC.  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

76 INDIAN RIVER POWER L.L.C.  $         39,500  $       100,000  $             139,500 

77 INLAND PAPERBOARD AND PACKAGING  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

78 INTERNATIONAL PETROLEUM CORP OF DELAWARE  $           3,000  $           2,000  $                  5,000 

79 JUSTIN TANKS, L.L.C.  $          7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

80 KANEKA DELAWARE CORP.  $         39,500  $           2,000  $                41,500 

81 KAYE CONSTRUCTION (EDWARD J.)  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

82 KENT GENERAL HOSPITAL  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

83 KRAFT FOODS INC.  $         18,000  $           1,000  $                19,000 

84 LAFARGE CORPORATION  $         18,000  $           5,000  $                23,000 

85 LAIDLAW CORPORATION  $           7,500  $           2,000  $                  9,500 

86 LEWES ELECTRIC DEPARTMENT  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

87 MACDERMID INC.  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

88 MARITRANS  $         18,000  $         40,000  $                58,000 

89 MBNA AMERICA- Deerfield Center  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

90 MEDAL L.P., AIR LIQUIDE  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

91 MILFORD MEMORIAL HOSPITAL  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

92 MOTIVA ENTERPRISE MARKETING TERMINAL  $           7,500  $           2,000  $                  9,500 

93 MOTIVA ENTERPRISES LLC, DELAWARE CITY PLANT  $         39,500  $       225,000  $             264,500 

94 MOUNTAIRE FARMS FEEDMILL, FRANKFORD  $           3,000  $           5,000  $                  8,000 

95 MOUNTAIRE FARMS OF DELMARVA-MILLSBORO  $         18,000  $         10,000  $                28,000 

96 MOUNTAIRE FARMS, SELBYVILLE  $           7,500  $           5,000  $                12,500 

97 MULTI-TECH, INC.  $           7,500  $           2,000  $                  9,500 

98 NANTICOKE MEMORIAL HOSPITAL  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

99 NEW CASTLE HOT MIX, INC.  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

100 NEW LONDON TEXTILE INC  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

101 NORAMCO OF DELAWARE, INC.  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

102 NRG ENERGY CENTER, DOVER  $         18,000  $       100,000  $             118,000 

103 NVF COMPANY, YORKLYN  $           7,500  $           2,000  $                  9,500 

104 OCCIDENTAL CHEMICAL CORP.  $         18,000  $           2,000  $                20,000 

105 ORIENT CHEMICAL CORPORATION  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

106 PAT'S SUPPORT INC.  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

107 PERDUE AGRI-RECYCLE  $           3,000  $           5,000  $                  8,000 

108 PERDUE FARMS INC., GEORGETOWN  $         18,000  $           5,000  $               23,000 

109 PERDUE FARMS INCORPORATED, MILFORD  $           3,000  $           2,000  $                  5,000 

110 PERDUE FARMS, BRIDGEVILLE  $           3,000  $           2,000  $                  5,000 

111 PINNACLE FOODS CORP.  $           3,000  $           2,000  $                  5,000 

112 PLAYTEX APPAREL, INC., PLANT 3  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

113 PLAYTEX PRODUCTS, INC - PLANT 1  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 
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114 POWER SYSTEMS COMPOSITES  $          3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

115 PRINTPACK, INC.  $         18,000  $           2,000  $                20,000 

116 PROCTER & GAMBLE DOVER WIPES COMPANY  $           7,500  $           5,000  $                12,500 

117 PTFE COMPOUNDS INC., NEW CASTLE  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

118 PURE GREEN INDUSTRIES  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

119 REICHHOLD  $         39,500  $           5,000  $                44,500 

120 RODEL, INC  $         18,000  $           2,000  $                20,000 

121 SEA WATCH INTERNATIONAL, LTD  $           3,000  $           2,000  $                  5,000 

122 SPI PHARMA  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

123 SPI POLYOLS, INC.  $         39,500  $         10,000  $                49,500 

124 ST FRANCIS HOSPITAL  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

125 SUN COMPANY INC  $         39,500  $         40,000  $                79,500 

126 TILCON DELAWARE, INC  -  BAY ROAD  $           3,000  $           2,000  $                  5,000 

127 TILCON DELAWARE, INC., GEORGETOWN  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

128 TILCON PORTABLE CRUSHER  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

129 TILCON, TERMINAL AVENUE  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

130 TILCON. HORSEPOND ROAD, DOVER  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

131 UNIQEMA  $         18,000  $           2,000  $                20,000 

132 UNISOURCE WORLDWIDE, INC.  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

133 UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE, NEWARK  $         18,000  $           2,000  $                20,000 

134 VETERANS ADMINISTRATION HOSPITAL  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

135 VFL TECHNOLOGY CORP.  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

136 VPI MIRREX CORPORATION  $         18,000  $           2,000  $                20,000 

137 W. L. GORE & ASSOC INC, PAPER MILL ROAD  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

138 WESTVACO CPD NEWARK  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

139 WILMINGTON HOSPITAL  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 

140 WILMINGTON PIECE DYE  $           7,500  $           2,000  $                  9,500 

141 WILMINGTON RECYCLING, L.L.C., MARSH LANE  $           3,000  $           1,000  $                  4,000 

142 WILMINGTON WASTE WATER TREATMENT PLANT  $           7,500  $           1,000  $                  8,500 
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DELAWARE COUNCIL ON
POLICE TRAINING

Statutory Authority:  11 Delaware Code,
Section 8404(a)(5) (11 Del.C. 8404(a)(5))

The Council on Police Training (COPT), in accordance
with 11 Delaware Code Section 8404(a)(14) and 29
Delaware Code Section 10115 of the Administrative
Procedures Act, hereby gives notice that it shall hold a
public hearing on December 19, 2002 at 9:00 a.m. in the
conference room at the Delaware State Police Training
Academy, N. DuPont Highway, Dover, Delaware  19903.

The Council on Police Training will receive written
comments or oral testimony from interested persons
regarding the following regulation to amend the current
COPT regulation II-16 (Emergency Care & CPR Training).
The final date for interested persons to submit written
comments shall be the date of the public hearing.  Written
comments should be addressed to: Captain Gregory Warren,
State Police Headquarters, P.O. Box 430, Dover, DE  19903-
0430.

Anyone wishing to make written or oral comments who 
would like a copy of the proposed regulation may contact the 

COPT at (3020 739-5903, or write the above address.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF NURSING

The Delaware Board of Nursing in accordance with 24
Del.C. 1906(1) has proposed to amend Section 7.6
“Dispensing” of the Board’s Rules and Regulations.

This proposed rules and regulations revision defines the
specific elements of dispensing that licensed practical nurses
are authorized to engage in. 

A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, January
15, 2003 at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor Conference Room
A, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware.

Anyone desiring a copy of the proposed change of the
Rules and Regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware
Board of Nursing, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon
Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE  19904, (302) 744-4516 or
744-4515.  Persons desiring to submit written comments on
the revised rules and regulations may forward these
comments to the above address.  The final date to receive
written comments will be January 15, 2003.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS

Please take notice, pursuant to 29 Del.C. Ch. 101 and 24
Del.C. Ch. 35, the Delaware Board of Examiners of
Psychologists proposes the following amendment to Rule
7.2 of the Delaware Board of Examiners of Psychologists'
Rules and Regulations.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed
amendment to Rule 7.2 on January 6, 2003 at 9:00 a.m. in
Conference Room A of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver
Lake Blvd., Dover, Delaware.  The purpose of this hearing
will be to receive public comments on the proposed
amendment to Rule 7.2 in order that the Board of Examiners
of Psychologists  may vote to adopt, amend or reject said
amendment at its January, 2003 meeting.  

The Board will receive and consider input in writing
from any person regarding the proposed amendment to Rule
7.2.   Written comments should be submitted to the Board up
through and including the date and time of the hearing on
January 6, 2003 at 9:00 a.m., to Vicki Gingrich,
Administrative Assistant, at the Division of Professional
Regulation, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite
203, Dover, Delaware 19904-2467.  For copies of the
proposed amendment to Rule 7.2, please contact Ms.
Gingrich at the above address or by calling (302) 744-4500.

MERIT EMPLOYEE RELATIONS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, 
Section 5914 (29 Del.C. §5914)

Public Notice
Proposed Changes To 

State Of Delaware Merit Rules

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that on August 1, 2002,
pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5914 and 29 Del.C. ch. 101,
proposed changes in two (2) Rules in Chapter 10 of the Merit
Rules have been transmitted to the Merit Employee
Relations Board of the State of Delaware (“MERB”) from
the Director of the Office of State Personnel (“Director”).
The proposed changes, which the Director asserts have been
approved by both the Director and by the Statewide
Labor-Management Committee, would modify Merit Rule
No. 10.0230 and Merit Rule No. 10.0240.

The stated basis for the proposed changes are legislative
modifications of the Delaware Statutes governing State
Classified Service and the Merit Rules:

On January 9, 2003, the MERB will conduct a Public
Hearing on the proposed Merit Rule changes submitted by

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/nursing/index.shtml
http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/psychology/index.shtml
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the Director.  The hearing will begin at 9:30 a.m. in the 2nd

Floor Conference Room of the Margaret M. O’Neill
Building, 410 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware.

The MERB will also receive and consider timely filed
written submissions from interested individuals and groups
concerning the proposed Merit Rule changes. The final date
for any such written submissions is the date set forth above
for the public hearing.  Any such submissions should be
mailed or delivered to the following address:

Merit Employee Relations Board
Margaret M. O’Neill Building, Suite 213
410 Federal Street
Dover, Delaware   19901

PLEASE NOTE pursuant to 24 Del.C. §5914, the
changes as proposed by the Director will shall become
final upon the completion of the public hearing, unless
rejected by a majority of the members appointed to the
Board.  Anyone wishing to obtain copies of the Director’s
written filing with MERB or to present oral comments at the
hearing should call Ms. Jean Lee Turner the Merit Employee
Relations Board at (302) 739-6772.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

The Commission proposes to amend the Rules as
follows:  1)  amend Rule 13.01 to provide that owners who
are stabled on the licensee’s grounds and who have started a
horse may claim, and that an owner shipping in a horse may
claim a horse to replace a claimed horse, and to set forth the
procedure to obtain an open claiming license; and,  2) amend
Rule 13.16 to add a provision that a stable will lose its
claiming rights when eliminated by sale of horses or removal
from the grounds, and that an owner who claims a horse
under the rule is required to reinstate his eligibility to claim
under the rules.

The Commission issues these proposed rules pursuant to
3 Del.C. §10103 and 29 Del.C. §10115.  The Commission
will accept written comments from December 1, 2002
through December 30, 2002.  The Commission will hold a
public hearing on the proposed amendments on January 6,
2003 at 11:00 a.m. at Delaware Department of Agriculture,
2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901. Written
comments should be submitted to John Wayne,
Administrator of Racing, Delaware Thoroughbred Racing
Commission, 2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly
meeting on Thursday, December 19, 2002 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Notice of Public Hearing

The Community Health Care Access Section, Division
of Public Health, Department of Health and Social Services
will hold a public hearing to discuss the proposed Delaware
Birth Defect Surveillance and Registry Program
Regulations.

The public hearing will be held on Friday, January 10,
2003 at 1:00 PM in the third floor conference room of the
Jesse Cooper Building, Federal and Waters Streets, Dover,
Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for
review by contacting:

JoAnn Baker, Community Health Care Access
Jesse Cooper Building
Federal and Water Streets
Dover, Delaware 19903
Telephone: (302) 744-4554

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at
this hearing should contact David Walton at (302) 744-4700
by Thursday, January 9, 2003.  Anyone wishing to submit
written comments as a supplement to or in lieu of oral
testimony should submit such comments by January 10,
2003 to:

David P. Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903-0637

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Notice of Public Hearing

The Disease Prevention and Control Section, Division
of Public Health, Department of Health and Social Services
will hold a public hearing to discuss the proposed Delaware
Cancer Registry Regulations.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dph/index.htm
http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/thoroughbred/index.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dph/index.htm
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The public hearing will be held on Monday, December
23, 2002 at 10:00 AM in the third floor conference room of
the Jesse Cooper Building, located on Federal and Water
Streets, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for
review by contacting:

Dr. Leroy Hathcock,
Disease Prevention and Control
Federal and Water Streets
Dover, Delaware 19903
Telephone: (302) 744-4790

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at
this hearing should contact David Walton at (302) 744-4701
by Friday, December 20, 2002.  Anyone wishing to submit
written comments as a supplement to or in lieu of oral
testimony should submit such comments by January 3, 2003
to:

David P. Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903-0637

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Medicaid/Medical Assistance programs

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 107, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) /
Division of Social Services / Medicaid/Medical Assistance
Program is proposing to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State
Plan to change the drug pricing methodology.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by December 31, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Medicaid/Medical Assistance programs

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 107, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) /
Division of Social Services / Medicaid/Medical Assistance
Program is proposing to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State
Plan to change the number of nursing home patient health
assessments to two times per year.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by December 31, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
DIVISION OF SECURITIES

NOTICE OF PROPOSED REVISIONS TO THE 
RULES AND REGULATIONS PURSUANT TO THE 

DELAWARE SECURITIES ACT

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA-Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and section 7325(b) of Title 6 of the Delaware Code,
the Division of Securities of the Delaware Department of
Justice hereby publishes notice of proposed revisions to the
Rules and Regulations Pursuant to the Delaware Securities
Act. The Division proposes hereby to amend sections 600,
601, 608, and 700 of the Rules and Regulations Pursuant to
the Delaware Securities Act and to add a new section 610.

Persons wishing to comment on the proposed
regulations may submit their comments in writing to:

James B. Ropp Securities Commissioner Department of
Justice State Office Building, 5th Floor 820 N. French Street
Wilmington, DE 19801 The comment period on the
proposed regulations will be held open for a period of thirty
days from the date of the publication of this notice in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

http://www.state.de.us/securities/
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS: 
Tidal Finfish Regulations

BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

To amend Tidal Finfish Regulation 11 and add a new
regulation, Tidal Finfish Regulation 28, to remain in
compliance with fishery management plans as amended and
adopted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission.

Tidal Finfish Regulation 11.  RED DRUM SIZE
LIMITS: CREEL LIMITS; is proposed to be amended to
adjust the minimum size from 18 inches to 20 inches and the
maximum size to 27 inches as required in Amendment 2 to
the Interstate Fishery Management Plan for Red Drum.

Tidal Finfish Regulation 28.  ATLANTIC OCEAN
AMERICAN SHAD SEASON AND CLOSURE; is
proposed to set up a registration system for commercial gill
netters intending to participate in the American shad fishery
in the Atlantic Ocean in 2003 and 2004.  If three or fewer
Delaware licensed commercial gill netters register for this
fishery, the season for American shad in the Atlantic Ocean
shall open February 14 and close midnight April 21.  If four
or more commercial gill netters register for this fishery, the
season for American shad will open later and close sooner.
The exact dates of opening and closure in 2003 or 2004 will
depend on the number of fishermen who register.  Beginning
January 1, 2005, it shall be illegal to take American shad
from the Atlantic Ocean by means of gill net.  The purpose
of the regulation is to meet the intent of Amendment I of the
Interstate Fishery Management Plan for Shad and River
Herring which requires all states to reduce American shad
commercial fishing effort by 40% in the ocean by January 1,
2003 and close the ocean fishery for American shad by
January 1, 2005.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, calling or
visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901, (302)739-3441.
A public hearing on this proposed amendment and new
regulation will be held at the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control Auditorium 89 Kings
Highway, Dover DE at 7:30 PM on Monday December 30,
2002.  The record will remain open for written comments
until 4:30 PM on January 10, 2003.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
SAN # 2002-18

TITLE OF THE REGULATION:
Tidal Finfish Regulations

BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

The Black Sea Bass Fishery Management Plan (FMP)
was implemented by the National marine Fisheries Service
(NMFS) and the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission (ASMFC) in 1996 to manage the coastwide
black sea bass stock.  This management plan instituted a
coast wide harvest quota, operating with daily or weekly trip
limits and trigger mechanisms which lowered the trip limits
in each of the quarterly harvest periods.  The program was
designed to allow harvest to proceed throughout each
quarterly period without early closures.  The plan rarely
succeeded and was often characterized by early closures in
many quarters.  These early closures had serious economic
consequences for commercial fishermen, necessitating a
change to the program.

In order to improve the FMP, ASMFC adopted
Amendment 13 to the plan by allocating state by state quotas
to all Atlantic coast states.  Delaware was allocated 5 percent
of the allowable coast wide commercial quota equating to
approximately 165,000 pounds of black sea bass for 2003.

The quota will be evenly distributed to those individuals
that qualify and pre-register with the Department prior to the
commencement of harvest operations.  Two options are
presented for fishermen to qualify for participation in the
fish pot fishery and the commercial hook and line fishery for
black sea bass.  Participants will be required to provide daily
harvest reports via a telephone reporting system operated by
the Department.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENTS:
Individuals may present their comments or request

additional information by contacting the Fisheries Section,
Division of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE
19901.  A public hearing will be held in the DNREC
auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901 at 7:30 on
Wednesday, January 8, 2003.  The record shall remain open
for written comments until 4:30 pm on January 18, 2003.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/FW/FW.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/FW/FW.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF HIGHWAY SAFETY

Notice Of Public Hearing

The Department of Public Safety will hold a hearing
pursuant to 29 Del.C. Chapter 101 concerning the adoption
of Policy Regulation Number 92, entitled “STANDARD
OPERATING PROCEDURES FOR THE DUI
EVALUATION, EDUCATION, AND OUTPATIENT
TREATMENT AGENCIES FOR THE STATE OF
DELAWARE, DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY.”
The Department will receive public comment regarding the
proposed Department of Public Safety Policy Regulation.

Department Of Public Safety And Division Of Highway
Safety Policy Regulation Number 92 Concerning: Standard
Operating Procedures For The Dui Evaluation, Education,
And Outpatient Treatment Agencies For The State Of
Delaware, Department Of Public Safety.

Date, Time And Place Of Public Hearing

DATE: January 9, 2003
TIME: 10:00 a.m.

PLACE:Main Conference Room, 2nd Floor
Department of Public Safety
Public Safety Building
303 Transportation Circle
Dover, DE  19901

Persons may view the proposed Policy Regulation
between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday
through Friday, at the Division of Highway Safety, in the

Public Safety Building, 2nd floor, 303 Transportation Circle,
Suite 201, Dover, DE  19901. 

Persons may present their views in writing by mailing
them to Lisa Moore, DUI Programs Coordinator, Division of
Highway Safety, PO Box 1321, Dover, DE  19903. Written
comments will be accepted until the close of business on
January 8, 2003.  Persons may also present their views by
offering testimony at the public hearing. If the number of
persons desiring to testify at the public hearing is large, the
amount of time allotted to each speaker will be limited.

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR 
CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR 

FAMILIES
DIVISION OF FAMILY SERVICES

The Delaware Department of Services for Children,
Youth and Their Families, Division of Family Services is
requesting public comment on “Regulations Pursuant to 16
Del. C. Ch. 9 for Designation of Substantiated Acts of Abuse
or Neglect to Child Protection Levels and for Classifying
Unsubstantiated Cases of Abuse or Neglect in the Division
of Family Services’ Internal Information System.”  Anyone
wishing to submit written comments should submit such
comments by December 30, 2002 to: Linda M. Shannon,
Program Manager, Intake & Investigation, Division of
Family Services, 1825 Faulkland Road, Wilmington, DE
19805.  Fax comments to: (302) 633-2652

Legislation regarding the Child Protection Registry was
signed into law by Governor Ruth Ann Minner on July 22,
2002.  The registry is a database of information about
persons the Division of Family Services has substantiated to
have committed child abuse or neglect.  The statute assigns
individuals who are substantiated for child abuse or neglect
to one of four levels for a specific number of years.  The
levels also address who may be reported out to health care
and child care employers for employment purposes.  In
addition, the statute mandates that all appeals be heard in
Family Court instead of attorneys contracted by the Division
of Family Services.  Finally, the Division of Family Services
will classify unsubstantiated cases on its internal system
utilizing two categories: Unsubstantiated – No Evidence and
Unsubstantiated with Concern.

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
DELAWARE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OFFICE

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL 
SERVICES AND THE TAX APPEAL BOARD

NOTICE OF RESCHEDULED PUBLIC HEARING

Title Of Regulation
Neighborhood Assistance Act Tax Credit Program

Regulation

Nature Of Proceedings; Synopsis Of The Subject And
Substance Of The Proposed Regulation

In accordance with procedures set forth in  29 Del.C.
Ch. 11, Subch. III and 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, the Secretary of
the Department of Health and Social Services, the Director
of the Delaware Economic Development Office and the

http://www.state.de.us/dedo/new_web_site/
http://www.state.de.us/kids/dfshome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/highway/index.htm
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members of the Tax Appeal Board are proposing to adopt
regulations pertaining to the tax credit set forth in the
Neighborhood Assistance Act, 30 Del.C. §§2001 — 2007.
The regulation sets forth certain definitions pertaining to the
Act and the regulation and explains how to apply for an
NAA Credit and the procedures pertaining to the application
process.

Notice Of Public Hearing; How To Comment On The
Proposed Regulations

Members of the public may receive a copy of the
proposed amendments to the regulation at no charge by
United States Mail by writing or calling Mr. Jack Tarburton,
Delaware Economic Development Office, 99 Kings
Highway,  Dover, DE, 19901-7305, phone (302) 739-4271.
The Secretary of the Department of Health and Social
Services, the Director of the Delaware Economic
Development Office and the members of the Tax Appeal
Board, or an employee of the Delaware Economic
Development Office designated by the Secretary, the
Director and the members of the Tax Appeal Board, will
hold a public hearing at which members of the public may
present comments on the proposed regulation on December
9, 2002 in the conference room of the offices of the

Delaware Economic Development Office on the 10th floor of
the Carvel State Office Building, 820 N. French Street,
Wilmington, DE, 19801 from 5:00 PM to 7:00 PM.
Additionally, members of the public may present written
comments on the proposed regulation by submitting such
written comments to Mr. Jack Tarburton at the address of the
Delaware Economic Development Office set forth above.
Written comments must be received on or before November
30, 2002.
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A single-source document for regulatory
information, including proposed and adopted text
of state regulations, all emergency  regulations,
Governors Executive Orders and Appointments,
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notices of public hearings and open meetings of state agencies.   
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You will be billed upon receipt of your order.   Subscription period runs from January to December. Mid-
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fees are non refundable. 
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ORGANIZATION _______________________         CITY _______________________________________
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Please clip and return to:REGISTRAR OF REGULATIONS
    LEGISLATIVE HALL, DOVER, DELAWARE 19903 

FAX: 302-739-3895
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Visit The Delaware General 
Assembly On The Web! 

  The General Assembly Website features:

• Current legislative information
• Information on both the Senate and House of Representatives
• Access the Delaware Code
• Access to the Delaware Register of Regulations
• Information on the legislative process
• Various reports and publications

The General Assembly Website is located at:
http://www.legis.state.de.us



DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 6, ISSUE 6, SUNDAY, DECEMBER 1, 2002

LEGISLATIVE BILL SUBSCRIPTION SERVICES

Order Form  (please print or type)

NAME ________________________________  ADDRESS __________________________________

ORGANIZATION _______________________     CITY _________________   FAX ______________

PHONE _____________      STATE ___________   ZIP _____________    EMAIL ________________

Please check the specific service(s) to which you wish to subscribe :

                    SERVICES                                                                                                       ANNUAL COST
One copy of all legislation introduced:

_ Picked up by subscriber *-  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $110.00
_ Mailed daily via First Class postage -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $850.00

One copy of all legislation signed by the Governor:
_ Mailed via First Class postage   -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $215.00

One copy of House and Senate calendars:
_ Picked up by subscriber *-  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $110.00
_ Mailed daily via First Class postage -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $850.00

One copy of all Governor’s Advisories:
_ Mailed via First Class postage   -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $30.00

Daily Legislative Agendas and weekly Standing Committee Notices:
_ Via Fax  -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $135.00

* Subscribers who choose to pick up their materials at Legislative Hall are requested to do so at least once a week, due to
limited on-site file space.  Thank you.

If you have any questions about our subscription services, please contact the Division of Research by dialing, toll-free,  (800)
282-8545 (in  state) or via E-Mail at jeffrey.hague@state.de.us.  Please dial (302) 744-4114 if you are calling from outside
Delaware.

Please return this order form to the Division of Research at P.O. Box 1401, Legislative Hall, Dover, Delaware, 19903, or fax it
to (302) 739-3895 as soon as possible.  (Don’t forget to make a copy for your own files).  You will be billed upon our receipt
of your order. Your service(s) will begin, promptly, when payment is received and the General Assembly convenes.  Thank
you for using the Subscription Services of the Division of Research.
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ACCESS THE DELAWARE CODE 
ON-LINE! 

• Up-to-date version of the Code reflecting recent legislative
enactments
• Comprehensive full text search capabilities.

Visit the Delaware Code On-Line at:

http://www.delcode.state.de.us/




