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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an official State publication established by authority of 69 Del.
Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed
and any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited by volume, issue, page number and date. An example
would be:

15 DE Reg. 1728 - 1759 (06/01/12)

Refers to Volume 15, pages 1728 - 1759 of the Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2012.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties may participate in the process by which administrative
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
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The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed,
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court
for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.
When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation may be
reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, no judicial review of a regulation is available unless a
complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was
published in the Register of Regulations.

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 
REGULATIONS
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September 1 August 15       4:30 p.m.
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new
text.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Emergency Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10119 an agency may promulgate a regulatory change as an Emergency under the following
conditions:

§ 10119. Emergency regulations.
If an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the adoption,

amendment or repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by § 10115, the following rules shall apply:
(1) The agency may proceed to act without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and hearing that

it finds practicable;
(2) The order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation shall state, in writing, the reasons for the agency's

determination that such emergency action is necessary;
(3) The order effecting such action may be effective for a period of not longer than 120 days and may be renewed

once for a period not exceeding 60 days;
(4) When such an order is issued without any of the public procedures otherwise required or authorized by this

chapter, the agency shall state as part of the order that it will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested
person for the reconsideration or revision thereof; and

(5) The agency shall submit a copy of the emergency order to the Registrar for publication in the next issue of the
Register of Regulations. (60 Del. Laws, c. 585, § 1; 62 Del. Laws, c. 301, § 2; 71 Del. Laws, c. 48, § 10.)
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 4805 (29 Del.C. §4805)

PUBLIC NOTICE

204 Sports Lottery Rules and Regulations

AUTHORITY

Delaware Department of Finance, Office of the State Lottery, pursuant to 29 Delaware Code, Section 4805 (29
Del.C. §4805) is adopting amendments to 10 DE Admin. Code 204 without prior notice or public hearing in
response to the signing of House Bill 333, the Delaware Gaming Competitiveness Act of 2012, on June 28, 2012.

REASON FOR THE EMERGENCY ORDER

Existing Sports Lottery Rules and Regulations were originally created to assist with the administration and
oversight of the Delaware Sports Lottery conducted at the State's three Video Lottery Agents.  The Delaware
Gaming Competitiveness Act of 2012, signed into law June 28, 2012, expanded the offering of Sports Lottery
products to include retail locations. In order to ensure the integrity of the current gaming season, it is imperative
that newly authorized Sports Lottery Agents be held to a standardized set of operational regulations consistent with
their business and trade style. As with any large technical installation, it is in the best interests of the program
administrator, in this case the State, to ensure proper time for system testing and personnel training prior to "going
live".  Experience in the production environment is also best gained during a low volume period (such as pre-
season) to ensure that staff and equipment are functioning as expected.

These amendments effectively rewrite the section on licensing of agents to allow sports betting to take place at
retail establishments other than casinos. The amendments will substantially rewrite section 6 regarding the duties
of agents and will substantially rewrite the licensing procedure of section 12. The amendments will eliminate
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section 13 regarding self-excluded persons, as that section will not be applicable. 
Due to the condensed time frame between program expansion and the commencement of the gaming season,

it is necessary to implement amended, emergency regulations.  In conjunction with this Emergency Order, the
Department of Finance, Office of the State Lottery has also issued Proposed Regulations to allow for sufficient
public notice and comment.  

EFFECTIVE DATE OF THE ORDER

This Emergency Order shall take effect at 12:01 a.m. August 1, 2012 and shall remain in effect until such time
as the Proposed Regulations are finalized.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered the 31st day of July that the above referenced amendment to 10 DE Admin. Code 204 are
adopted pursuant to 29 Delaware Code, Section 4805.

Tom Cook, Secretary
Department of Finance

204 Sports Lottery Rules and Regulations

*Please Note: Due to the size of the Emergency regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

204 Sports Lottery Rules and Regulations
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new
text.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it
shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation.   The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 804

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

804 Immunizations

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 804 Immunizations to update the regulation

to take into consideration the Interstate Compact on Education for Children of Military Families. The regulation was
reviewed as part of the five year review cycle.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before September 5, 2012 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation is available from the
above address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation is related to immunizations and does not specifically address student
achievement as measured against state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation is intended to continue to ensure all students receive an equitable education.
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3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
The amended regulation is intended to ensure all students’ health and safety are adequately protected.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation continues to help ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation preserves the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amendments do not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school level.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? There are no changes to decision making or accountability because of the amendments. 

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendments are consistent with other
state educational policies. 

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing this subject. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are
no additional costs to the State or to the local school boards because of compliance with the regulation.

804 Immunizations

1.0 Definition
"School Enterer" means any child between birth and twenty (20) years inclusive entering or being
admitted to a Delaware public school district or public school for the first time, including but not limited
to, foreign exchange students, immigrants, students from other states and territories and children
entering from nonpublic schools.

2.0 Minimum Immunizations Required for All School Enterers
2.1 All School Enterers shall have immunizations given up to four days prior to the minimum interval or

age and shall include:
2.1.1 Four or more doses of diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis (DTaP, DTP, or other approved vaccine) or a

combination of these vaccines. A booster dose of Td or Tdap (adult) is recommended by the
Division of Public Health for all students at age 11 or five years after the last DTaP, DTP or DT
dose was administered whichever is later. Notwithstanding this requirement:

2.1.1.1 A child who received a fourth dose prior to his or her fourth birthday shall have a fifth dose; 
2.1.1.2 A child who received the first dose of Td (adult) at or after age seven may meet this

requirement with only three doses of Td or Tdap (adult).
2.1.2 Three or more doses of inactivated polio virus (IPV), oral polio vaccine (OPV), or a combination of

these vaccines with the following exception. Notwithstanding this requirement:
2.1.2.1 aA child who received a third dose prior to the his or her fourth birthday shall have a fourth

dose.
2.1.3 Two doses of measles, mumps and rubella (MMR) vaccine. The first dose should be administered

on or after the age of 12 months. The second dose should be administered after the fourth
birthday. Individual combination vaccines of measles, mumps, rubella (MMR) may be used to
meet this requirement.

2.1.3.1 Disease histories for measles, rubella and mumps shall not be accepted unless
serologically confirmed.

2.1.4 Three doses of Hepatitis B vaccine.
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2.1.4.1 For children 11 to 15 years old age, two doses of a vaccine approved by the Center for
Disease Control (CDC) may be used.

2.1.4.2 Titers are not acceptable in lieu of completing the vaccine series and a disease history for
Hepatitis B shall not be accepted unless serologically confirmed.

2.1.5 Varicella vaccine is required beginning in the 2003-2004 school year with kindergarten. One grade
shall be added each year thereafter so that by the 2015-2016 school year all children in grades
kindergarten through 12 shall have received the vaccination. Beginning in the 2008-2009 school
year new enterers into the affected grades shall be required to have two doses of the Varicella
vaccine. The first dose shall be administered on or after the age of twelve (12) months and the
second at kindergarten entry into a Delaware public school. A written disease history, provided by
the health care provider, parent, legal guardian, Relative Caregiver or School Enterer who has
reached the statutory age of majority (18), 14 Del.C. §131(a)(9), will be accepted in lieu of the
Varicella vaccination. Beginning in the 2008-2009 school year, a disease history for the Varicella
vaccination must be verified by a health care provider to be exempted from the vaccination.

2.2 Children who enter school prior to age four (4) shall follow current Delaware Division of Public Health
recommendations.

3.0 Certification of Immunization
3.1 The parent, legal guardian, Relative Caregiver or a School Enterer who has reached the statutory age

of majority (18), 14 Del.C. §131(a)(9), shall present a certificate specifying the month, day, and year
that the immunizations were administered by a licensed health care practitioner.

3.2 According to 14 Del.C. §131, a principal or person in charge of a school shall not permit a child to enter
into school without acceptable evidence of immunization. The parent, legal guardian, Relative
Caregiver or a School Enterer who has reached the statutory age of majority (18), 14 Del.C.
§131(a)(9), shall be notified of this requirement in writing. Within 14 calendar days after notification,
evidence must be presented to the school that the basic series of immunizations has been initiated or
has been completed.

3.3 A school enterer may be conditionally admitted to a Delaware school district by presenting a statement
from a licensed health care practitioner who specifies that the School Enterer has received at least:

3.3.1 One dose of DTaP, or DTP, or DT; and
3.3.2 One dose of IPV or OPV; and
3.3.3 One dose of measles, mumps and rubella (MMR) vaccine; and
3.3.4 The first dose of the Hepatitis B series; and
3.3.5 One dose of Varicella vaccine as per 2.5.

3.4 14 DE Admin. Code 901 Education of Homeless Children and Youth 6.0 states that "School districts
shall ensure that policies concerning immunization, guardianship and birth certificates do not create
barriers to the school enrollment of homeless children and youth". To that end, school districts shall as
stated in 14 DE Admin. Code "assist homeless children and youth in meeting the immunization
requirements".

3.5 Title 14, Ch. 1, Subchapter III-A Interstate Compact on Education For Children of Military Families
(MIC3) and its enabling regulation, provides that a school enterer subject to MIC3 shall be allowed
thirty (30) calendar days from the date of enrollment to initiate the basic series of immunizations.

3.56 If the school enterer fails to complete the series of required immunizations the parent, legal guardian,
Relative Caregiver or a school enterer who has reached the statutory age of majority (18), 14 Del.C.
§131(a)(9), shall be notified that the School Enterer will be excluded according to 14 Del.C. §131.

4.0 Lost or Destroyed Immunization Record
When a student’s immunization record has been lost or destroyed by the medical provider who
administered the vaccine, the parent, legal guardian, Relative Caregiver or a school enterer who has
reached the statutory age of majority (18), 14 Del.C. §131(a)(9), shall sign a written statement to this
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effect and must obtain at least one dose of each of the immunizations as identified in 3.3. Evidence
that the vaccines were administered shall be presented to the superintendent or his or her designee.

5.0 Exemption from Immunization
5.1 Exemption from this requirement may be granted in accordance with 14 Del.C. §131 which permits

approved medical and notarized religious exemptions.
5.2 Alternative dosages or immunization schedules may be accepted with the written approval of the

Delaware Division of Public Health.

6.0 Verification of School Records
The Delaware Division of Public Health shall have the right to audit and verify school immunization
records to determine compliance with the law.

7.0 Documentation
7.1 School nurses shall record and maintain documentation of each student's immunization status.
7.2 Each student's immunization record shall be included in the Delaware Immunization Registry.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 930

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound) in

response to legislative action as well as other changes that have been brought forward through this review of the
regulation. Legislation from the 146th General Assembly codified a requirement that Department of Education
regulation define eligibility for supportive instruction for school district and charter school students; identify the
licensed professional authorized to certify eligibility. Additionally, an amendment was made to address identification
of those areas for supportive instruction that are not a result of sudden illness, injury, accident, episodic flare up of
a chronic condition.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before September 5, 2012 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation is available from the
above address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The regulation is related to supportive instruction and should continue to assist those affected students
improve student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The regulation is
related to supportive instruction and should continue to ensure all students receive and equitable education. 
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3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
The regulation is related to supportive instruction and should continue to ensure the adequate protection of health
and safety for all students’. 

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The regulation is
related to supportive instruction and should continue to ensure all students’ legal rights are respected. 

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation preserves the necessary authority and flexibility at the local
board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels. 

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability does not change because of these
amendments.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The regulation is consistent with other state
educational policies. 

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are
no additional costs to the State or local school boards for compliance because of the amendments. 

930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound)

1.0 Definition
“Supportive Instruction” is an alternative educational program provided at home, in a hospital or at a

related site for a student temporarily at home or hospitalized for a sudden illness, injury, episodic flare
up of a chronic condition or accident considered to be of a temporary nature. This may also include an
alternative educational program provided at home to a student that has been suspended, expelled or
subject to expulsion based upon the student’s local school district or charter school policy.

1.1 Procedures for eligibility shall be limited to appropriate certification that the student cannot attend
school.

1.2 Services for children with disabilities as defined in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
(IDEA) (20 U.S.C 1400 et.seq), and its regulations (34 CFR parts 300 and 301), 14 Del.C., Ch. 31, and
the Department of Education's regulations on Children with Disabilities (14 DE Admin. Code 922
through 929) shall be provided in accordance with these laws and shall be processed under the
district's special education authority. Nothing in this regulation shall prevent a district from providing
supportive instruction to children with disabilities in a manner consistent with the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and its regulations, 14 Del.C., Chapter 31, and the Department of
Education's regulations on Children with Disabilities.

1.3 Nothing in this regulation shall alter a district's duties under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of
1973 or the Americans with Disabilities Act to students who are qualified individuals with disabilities.
Nothing in this regulation shall prevent a district from providing supportive instruction to such students.

2.0 Eligibility for Conditions other than Suspension, Expulsion or Subject to Expulsion
2.1 A student enrolled in a school district is eligible for supportive instruction when the district or charter

school receives the required certification that an accident, injury, sudden illness or episodic flare up of
a chronic condition will prevent the student from attending school for at least ten (10) school days.

2.1.1 A physician or an advanced practice nurse, employed by or who has a collaborative agreement
with a licensed physician, must certify absences due to a medical condition.
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2.1.2 Absences due to severe adjustment problems must be certified by a psychologist or psychiatrist
and confirmed through a staff conference.

2.1.3 A physician or an advanced practice nurse, employed by or who has a collaborative agreement
with a licensed physician, must certify absences due to pregnancy complicated by illness or other
abnormal conditions.

2.1.3.1 A student does not qualify for supportive instruction for normal pregnancies unless there
are complications.

2.1.3.2 A student who remains enrolled in school is eligible for supportive instruction during a
postpartum period not to exceed six weeks. Postpartum absences must be certified by a
physician.

2.4 Supportive instruction can be requested as an in school transitional program that follows a period of
supportive instruction that was provided outside of the school setting. If the supportive instruction is
provided as an in school transitional program, it must be approved through a staff conference.

3.0 Implementation
3.1 Supportive instruction for a student shall begin as soon as the documentation required by 2.0 is

received. Supportive instruction may continue upon the return to school setting only in those
exceptional cases where it is determined that a student needs a transitional program to guarantee a
successful return to the school setting in accordance with 2.4.

3.1.1 Supportive instruction shall adhere to the extent possible to the student's school curriculum and
shall make full use of the available technology in order to facilitate the instruction.

3.1.1.1 The school shall provide a minimum of 3 hours of supportive instruction each week of
eligibility for a K to 5th grade student, and a minimum of five hours each week of eligibility
for a 6 to 12th grade student. There is no minimum for in school transition.

3.1.1.2 Nothing in this regulation shall prevent a school district from providing additional hours of
supportive instruction to an eligible student from other available funding sources.

3.1.2 Summer instruction is permitted for a student who is otherwise eligible for supportive instruction
and, as determined by the student's teachers and principal, needs the instruction to complete
course work or to maintain a level of instruction in order to continue in a school setting the
following school year.

4.0 Eligibility and Implementation for Suspension, Expulsion, or Subject to Expulsion
If a local school district or charter school provides for supportive instruction (homebound) for students
that have been suspended or expelled, the local school district or charter school shall have a written
policy regarding eligibility and implementation.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1101

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1101 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in Production After March 1, 1998
(Terminology and School Bus Types are described in the National Standards for School Transportation 

1995)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Reauthorization of Existing Regulation 
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B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to re-adopt 14 DE Admin. Code 1101 Standards for School Bus Chassis

and Bodies Placed in Production After March 1, 1998 (Terminology and School Bus Types are described in the
National Standards for School Transportation 1995). The regulation is subject to the five year review cycle.   Bus
specifications are reviewed every five years to include changes that come from the National Congress on School
Transportation (NCST). The NCST met in 2010, and there were no NCST changes affecting past regulations. The
NCST will meet in 2015, and the Department will include any changes in a new regulation. 

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before September 5, 2012 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation is available from the
above address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? This regulation is related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.
2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? This regulation

is related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.
3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

This regulation is related to school transportation and reflects the national standards.
4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? This regulation is

related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.
5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local

board and school level? This regulation is related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current
regulation.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? This regulation is related to school transportation and
is a re-adoption of the current regulation.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? This regulation is related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? This regulation is related to school
transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? This regulation is related
to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation. This regulation reflects national standards. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are
no additional costs to the State and to the local school boards for compliance as this is a re-adoption of the current
regulation.

1101 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in Production After March 1, 1998 (Terminology 
and School Bus Types are described in the National Standards for School Transportation 1995)

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1101 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in Production After March 1, 1998
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OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1102

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1102 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in Production on or after March 1, 2002 and on 
or after March 1, 2003 with Specific Changes for Buses Placed in Production after January 1, 2004

(Terminology and School Bus Types are those described in the National School Transportation 
Specifications and Procedures (NSTSP), May 2000

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Reauthorization of Existing Regulation 

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to re-adopt 14 DE Admin. Code 1102 Standards for School Bus Chassis

and Bodies Placed in Production on or after March 1, 2002 and on or after March 1, 2003 with Specific Changes for
Buses Placed in Production after January 1, 2004 (Terminology and School Bus Types are those described in the
National School Transportation Specifications and Procedures (NSTSP), May 2000. The regulation is subject to
the five year review cycle.   Bus specifications are reviewed every five years to include changes that come from the
National Congress on School Transportation (NCST). The NCST met in 2010, and there were no NCST changes
affecting past regulations. The NCST will meet in 2015, and the Department will include any changes in a new
regulation. 

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before September 5, 2012 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation is available from the
above address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? This regulation is related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.
2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? This regulation

is related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.
3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?

This regulation is related to school transportation and reflects the national standards.
4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? This regulation is

related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.
5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local

board and school level? This regulation is related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current
regulation.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? This regulation is related to school transportation and
is a re-adoption of the current regulation.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? This regulation is related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? This regulation is related to school
transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.
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9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? This regulation is related
to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation. This regulation reflects national standards. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are
no additional costs to the State and to the local school boards for compliance as this is a re-adoption of the current
regulation.

1102 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in Production on or after March 1, 2002 and on 
or after March 1, 2003 with Specific Changes for Buses Placed in Production after January 1, 2004 

(Terminology and School Bus Types are those described in the National School Transportation 
Specifications and Procedures (NSTSP), May 2000

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:
1102 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in Production on or after March 1, 2002 and on 

or after March 1, 2003 with Specific Changes for Buses Placed in Production after January 1, 2004

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1103

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

1103 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies For Buses placed in production on or after January 1, 
2007

 (Terminology and School Bus Types are Those Described in the National School Transportation 
Specifications and Procedures (NSTSP), May 2005).

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Reauthorization of Existing Regulation 

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to re-adopt 14 DE Admin. Code 1103 Standards for School Bus Chassis

and Bodies For Buses placed in production on or after January 1, 2007 (Terminology and School Bus Types are
Those Described in the National School Transportation Specifications and Procedures (NSTSP), May 2005). The
regulation is subject to the five year review cycle. Bus specifications are reviewed every five years to include
changes that come from the National Congress on School Transportation (NCST).  The NCST met in 2010, and
there were no NCST changes affecting past regulations. The NCST will meet in 2015, and the Department will
include any changes in a new regulation. 

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before September 5, 2012 to Susan Haberstroh, Education Associate, Regulation Review, Department of
Education, at 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901.  A copy of this regulation is available from the
above address or may be viewed at the Department of Education business office.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards?  This regulation is related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.
2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? This regulation

is related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.
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3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
This regulation is related to school transportation and reflects the national standards.  

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? This regulation is
related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? This regulation is related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current
regulation.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? This regulation is related to school transportation and
is a re-adoption of the current regulation.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? This regulation is related to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? This regulation is related to school
transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? This regulation is related
to school transportation and is a re-adoption of the current regulation. This regulation reflects national standards. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are
no additional costs to the State and to the local school boards for compliance as this is a re-adoption of the current
regulation.

1103 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies For Buses placed in production on or after January 1, 
2007 (Terminology and School Bus Types are Those Described in the National School Transportation 

Specifications and Procedures (NSTSP), May 2005).
*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:
1103 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies For Buses placed in production on or after January 1, 

2007

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

DSSM: 20500 Estate Recovery and Civil Unions and Medicare Cost Sharing

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to update current
regulations in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Medicaid Estate Recovery, specifically 1)
asset protections recognized for civil union partners; and, 2) eliminating Medicare cost-sharing expenses from
estate recovery.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by August 31, 2012.
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The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The proposed amends the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) to update current regulations regarding
Medicaid Estate Recovery, specifically 1) asset protections recognized for civil union partners; and, 2) eliminating
Medicare cost-sharing expenses from estate recovery.

Statutory Authority
• 146th General Assembly, Senate Bill #30, An Act to Amend Title 13 of the Delaware Code Relating to 

Civil Unions
• Section 1917 of the Social Security Act, Liens, Adjustments and Recoveries, and Transfers of Assets
• 42 CFR §433.36, Liens and Recoveries
• State Medicaid Manual, Section 3810, Medicaid Estate Recoveries
• Title 25, Delaware Code, Chapter 50, Liens and Estate Recoveries
• Medicare Improvements for Patients and Providers Act of 2008 (MIPPA), P.L. 110-275

Background
Senate Bill #30
Signed into law by the Governor on May 11, 2011, Senate Bill #30 is an Act that creates the recognized legal

relationship of civil union in Delaware for eligible persons. This Act further recognizes as civil unions for all
purposes under Delaware law legal unions between two persons of the same sex entered into in jurisdictions
outside of Delaware provided that such union and the parties thereto meet the Delaware eligibility requirements to
enter into a civil union in the State of Delaware. Parties who enter into a lawful civil union in Delaware, or whose
legal union is recognized as a civil union under Delaware law, will have all of the same rights, benefits, protections
and responsibilities as married persons under Delaware law. It is not the intent of the Delaware General Assembly
to revise the definition or eligibility requirements of marriage under Delaware law or to require any religious
institution to perform solemnizations of civil unions.

State Medicaid Director Letter (SMDL) #11-006
In a letter dated June 10, 2011 and entitled “Same Sex Partners and Medicaid Liens, Transfers of Assets, and

Estate Recovery.” the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) notified states that they may elect to
provide same-sex spouse and domestic partners of long-term care Medicaid Beneficiaries certain asset protections
regarding home ownership including protection from liens, recognition that denial of eligibility for transfer of a home
can result in undue hardship, and exemption from estate recovery.

Specifically, CMS notified states that they may elect to: 
• Add same-sex spouses and domestic partners of Medicaid beneficiaries to the list of people whose resi-

dence in the home of a Medicaid beneficiary prevents a state from imposing a lien; 
• Include in the definition of their transfer-of-asset undue hardship exceptions transfers of the home 

between same-sex spouses or domestic partners;
• Include in the definition of their estate recovery undue hardship exceptions certain protections for the 

surviving same-sex spouses or domestic partners of Medicaid beneficiaries.

Summary of Proposal
This regulatory action is based upon State Medicaid Director Letter guidance document provided by the

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), entitled, “Same Sex Partners and Medicaid Liens, Transfers
of Assets, and Estate Recovery. The proposed regulation changes take advantage of existing choices and
flexibilities regarding spousal and domestic partner protections related to liens and estate recovery by adding a
new definition, Civil Union Partner and adds civil union partner as an exception to the Lien policy. Estate Recovery
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may be waived if there is a civil union partner that has resided in the home for at least two years immediately prior
to institutionalization. Also, definitions are placed in alphabetical order.

This action further adds language to comply with section 115 of Medicare Improvements for Patients and
Providers Act of 2008 (MIPPA). Section 115 provides that medical assistance for Medicare cost sharing is
protected from estate recovery for the following categories of dual eligible individuals: qualified Medicare
beneficiaries (QMB), specified low-income Medicare beneficiaries (SLMB), qualified individuals (QI), and qualified
disabled and working individuals (QDWI). This protection extends to medical assistance for four Medicare cost
sharing benefits including Part A and B premiums, deductibles, coinsurance and co-payments and is effective with
dates of service on or after January 1, 2010, for duly eligible individuals who were over age 55 when the expense
was incurred.

Also, DSSM 20500.6 is revised to incorporate “People First Language”.
The proposed changes affect the following policy sections:

DSSM 20500.1, Application
DSSM 20500.2, Notification
DSSM 20500.3, Definitions
DSSM 20500.5.3.2, Individuals Eligible for Recovery Waiver
DSSM 20500.6, Liens
DSSM 20500.6.1, Exceptions to the Lien Policy.

Fiscal Impact Statement
The proposed regulation imposes no increase in costs on the General Fund.

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #12-34
REVISION:

20500  Estate Recovery and Liens
BACKGROUND

The Delaware Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS), in order to comply with Chapter 50, Title 25
of the Delaware Code and Section 1917 of the Social Security Act as amended by Section 13612 of the Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993, and Delaware House Bill No. 437 as amended by House Amendment Nos. 1, 2,
and 4, has established policies and procedures for filing liens against the real property, and recovering from
estates of, individuals applying for or receiving DHSS long-term care services.

20500.1  Application
These policies and procedures shall apply to individuals age 55 and over who are applying for DHSS Long

Term Care Services.  This includes the Medicaid nursing facility program services, all Hhome and Ccommunity-
Bbased waiver Sservices, Waivers (1915) and state owned nursing facilities and community-based long-term care
services and supports.

Medicaid benefits paid for Medicare cost-sharing expenses, with a date of service on or after January 1, 2010,
are exempted from estate recovery. These benefits include Part A and B premiums, deductibles, coinsurance, and
co-payments. The date of service for deductibles, coinsurance, and co-payments is the date the request for
payment is received by the State Medicaid agency. The date of service for premiums is the date the State Medicaid
Agency pays the premium.

20500.2  Notification
All applicants will be informed of the Estate Recovery and Lien Policy and procedures at the time of

application.  Recipients whose who turn 55 after their cases are active will be informed of the policy and
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procedures at their first financial redetermination after the initial date of enforcement ( May 1, 1996 ) of this policy
their 55th birthday.

Notification of the policy will be via recovery forms and/or a letter, that will be provided to the applicant or the
applicant’s representative.

20500.3  Definitions
The following definitions apply to this section:

Child means offspring or legally adopted child of the recipient or the applicant.
Civil Union Partner means an individual who enters into a legal union with another individual of the same

sex.
Estate means all real property, as well as all personal property that constitutes assets of the individual’s

estate as described in Chapter 19 of Title 12 of the Delaware Code.
Family means legal spouse, dependent parents (claimed for income tax purposes), and children.
Lawfully residing in the home means residing in the home with the permission of the owner or, if under

guardianship, the owner’s legal guardian.
Legal representative means power of attorney over property or guardian of property.
Long-term care means a service provided in a long-term care facility or in the home as an alternative to

institutionalization (known as Long-Term Care Community Services or home and community-based services
(1915(c) waivers).

Real Property means land, including houses or immovable structures or objects attached permanently to
the land. The terms “real estate," “realty," and “real property are used synonymously with one another and
designate real property in which an individual has ownership rights and interests.

Residing in the home on a continuous basis means using the home as the principal place of residence.
Sibling means brother, sister, legally adopted brother or sister, half brother or half sister.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

20500.5.3.2  Individuals Eligible for Recovery Waiver
These individuals are limited to a civil union partner, children, grandchildren, parents, or siblings of the DHSS

long-term care recipient who meet 1 of the following conditions:
Receive any Federal or State funded assistance for living expenses (examples: SSI, AFDC, VA Aid and

Attendance) and have no other home to which they can return.
Or

Have total family income less than or equal to 200% of the current monthly Federal Poverty limit, and have
total family resources that can be converted to cash less than or equal to $3,000, including any real property that
they own.

Or
DHSS will also not recover if the real property that is held in ownership with a civil union partner, children,

grandchildren, siblings or parents constitutes a business that contributes to the livelihood of that other individual or
his/her dependents or heirs.

NOTE.  The waiver for recovery will exist as long as one of the above conditions continues to be met and
as long as the above described individuals reside in the DHSS long-term care recipient’s home on a continuous
basis.

The maximum amount to be recovered will be the total of funds disbursed or incurred by DHSS with any
Federal matching dollars during the time an individual receives long-term care services from DHSS.
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20500.6  Liens
DHSS will place a lien against the real property of recipients who are inpatients in a nursing facility,

intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded individuals with developmental disabilities or other medical
institution whose property does not meet the exemption or undue hardship conditions.  

NOTE:  The lien policy does not apply to recipients of home and community based waiver services Long
Term Care Community Services or Division of Developmental Disabilities Services Waiver unless they become
institutionalized.

20500.6.1  Exceptions to the Lien Policy
1. Clients intending to return home within sixty (60) days of their admission date to a facility. 

a)  If the stay in the facility is sixty (60) days or more, DHSS will place a lien on the property.
b) The lien on the property will be released if the patient is discharged after sixty (60) days and returns to

live in the home.
2.  DHSS will not file a lien as long as the following individuals lawfully resided in the home before the date of

application for long term care services and continue to reside in the home while the applicant receives long term
care services:

a) Husband or wife of the applicant or recipient (NOTE:  Common law marriages are not recognized by
the Courts of Delaware).

b) A Civil Union Partner;
bc) Son or daughter who is blind or disabled as defined in accordance with the disability rule of the

federally administered Supplemental Security Income (Title XVI of the Social Security Act).
cd) Child under age 21 who is lawfully residing in the home.
de) Sibling lawfully residing in the home for 1 year (12 months) immediately prior to admission to a long

term care facility and who has equity in the property. 
3. DHSS will also not file a lien if the real property that is held in ownership with a civil union partner, children,

grandchildren, siblings or parents constitutes a business which contributes to the livelihood of that other individual
or his/her dependents or heirs.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

DSSM 20775: Program of All Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to establish PACE
Program enrollee eligibility requirements.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by August 31, 2012.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.
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SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The proposed amends the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) to set out new rules governing the
Medicaid eligibility requirements for Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) enrollees. 

Statutory Authority
42 CFR Part 460, Program of All Inclusive Care for the Elderly 

Background
Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) is a federal program administered by the Centers for

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). PACE, a managed care program, enables elderly individuals who are
certified to need nursing facility care to live as independently as possible. 

PACE participants receive a comprehensive service package which permits them to live at home while
receiving services. This prevents institutionalization. The PACE organization must provide all Medicaid covered
services, in addition to other services determined necessary by PACE for the individual beneficiary. The PACE
program becomes the sole source of services for Medicaid and/or Medicaid/Medicare eligible enrollees. 

The PACE program is a fully capitated managed care benefit. The PACE organization assumes full financial
risk for participants’ care without limits on amount, duration, or scope of services. CMS establishes and pays the
Medicare capitation and each State establishes and pays the Medicaid capitation. When the enrollee receives
Medicaid and Medicare, the PACE organization receives a Medicaid capitation payment and a Medicare capitation
payment.

The State of Delaware has received approval from the CMS to amend the Medicaid State Plan to include PACE
as an optional State plan service.

Summary of Proposal
This rule sets forth methods used to determine participant eligibility for the Program for All-Inclusive Care for

the Elderly (PACE). Effective October 1, 2012, new policy is added to the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) at DSSM 20775 to provide PACE Program enrollment requirements.

Fiscal Impact Statement
Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) is a capitated benefit authorized by the Balanced Budget

Act of 1997 (BBA) that features a comprehensive service delivery system and integrated Medicare and Medicaid
financing. Capitated financing allows providers to deliver all services participants need rather than be limited to
those reimbursable under the Medicare and Medicaid fee-for-service systems.

PACE providers receive prospective monthly Medicare and Medicaid capitation payments for each eligible
enrollee. In order to comply with the upper payment limit requirement at 42 CFR §460.182(b), the PACE capitation
rates are established as a fixed percentage, of less than 100 percent, of the respective PACE UPL (Upper Payment
Limit) per member per month amounts. PACE providers assume full financial risk for participants' care without
limits on amount, duration, or scope of services. Therefore, PACE expenditures will be no more than what they
would have been under the former fee for service payment structure.

The proposed regulation imposes no increase in cost on the General Fund as the PACE program will be
budget-neutral.

DMMA PROPOSED REGULATION #12-33
NEW: 

LTC POL-20775 PROGRAM OF ALL- INCLUSIVE CARE FOR THE ELDERLY (PACE)
Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) is a benefit that features a comprehensive service delivery

system and integrated Medicare and Medicaid financing. The PACE model was developed to address the needs of
long-term care clients, providers, and payers. For most participants, the comprehensive service package permits
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them to continue living at home, while receiving services rather than be institutionalized. Through PACE,
organizations are able to deliver all services covered by PACE which participants need rather than only those
services reimbursable under the Medicare and Medicaid fee-for-service systems.

This policy applies to all individuals that elect to receive their long-term care services through the PACE and
request Medicaid payment for these services.

1. Participation in PACE is voluntary.
2. A PACE participant’s eligibility will be determined under rules applying to institutional groups.

See DSSM 20000
3. Spousal Impoverishment rules apply if individual is married and spouse continues to reside in the

community and does not receive long-term care Medicaid.
See DSSM 20900

4. Post eligibility treatment of income does not apply to PACE participants.
Participants will not be required to contribute to the cost of their care received from the PACE Organization.

5. To be eligible for enrollment in PACE the individual must:
• Be at least 55 years old;
• Meet the State’s eligibility criteria for nursing home level of care;
• Reside in the PACE approved service area;
• Be living in the community;
• Be able to be maintained safely in the community based setting at the time of enrollment with the 

assistance of the PACE;
• Not be enrolled in a Medicaid/Medicare managed care program; and
• Voluntarily agree to enroll in PACE and receive services exclusively through the PACE organization 

and their subcontractors.
6. The Pre-Admission Screening process will be followed when determining medical eligibility.

See DSSM 20102
7. An individual’s enrollment effective date is the first day of the month following the month the PACE

Organization receives the signed enrollment form.
8. There is no retroactive coverage for PACE.
9. Nursing facility services are part of the PACE benefit package.

The PACE Organization must notify the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) eligibility
worker of the individual’s placement in the nursing facility.

The PACE individual is not required to contribute to the cost of their care while in a nursing facility.
10. An individual’s enrollment continues until the enrollee’s death unless either of the following

actions occurs:
a. The enrollee voluntarily disenrolls for any reason.
b. The enrollee is involuntarily disenrolled for any of the following reasons:

• No longer meets the nursing facility level of care requirement and there is no indication that the 
participant is expected to need nursing facility level of care within the next 6 months;

• Moves out of the PACE service delivery area;
• Has decision making capacity and is consistently non-compliant with the individual plan of care 

and enrollment agreement, which may impact the participant’s health and welfare in the commu-
nity;

• Engages in disruptive, threatening or non-compliant behavior which jeopardizes his or her safety 
or the safety of others;

• Is out of the service area for more than 30 consecutive days (unless arrangements have been 
made in advance with the PACE Organization); or

• Is enrolled in a PACE Organization that cannot provide the required services due to loss of licen-
sure or contracts with outside providers, and/or the PACE program agreement is not renewed.

11. An individual may be administratively disenrolled if the participant is admitted to a hospital prior to
the effective date of PACE enrollment.
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512th)

16 DE Admin. Code 6001, 6002, 6003, 6004, 6005, 6006 & 6007

PUBLIC NOTICE

DSSM: 6001 - 6007 Emergency Assistance Services

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) regarding Emergency Assistance Services.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program &
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4425 by August 31, 2012. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The proposal described below amends policies in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding
Emergency Assistance Services.  

Statutory Authority
• Social Security Act §404, Use of Grants
• 31 Delaware Code, Section 521, Emergency and Disaster Assistance

Background
The Division of Social Services (DSS) is the appointing authority for Emergency Assistance Services.

Emergency Assistance funds for rent, utilities and emergency shelter are provided for eligible low-income persons
in order to help to maintain self-sufficiency and prevent homelessness. The purpose of Emergency Assistance is to
avoid, eliminate or alleviate an emergency condition caused by an unforeseen circumstance resulting in a situation
that calls for immediate action. Services are provided through the Delaware Division of State Service Centers
(DSSC).

Summary of Proposed Changes
DSSM 6001 through DSSM 6007, Emergency Assistance Services: The name of each affected section is

being changed to more accurately indicate the content of the policy. All sections are reformatted and reworded for
clarity.  In addition:

• DSSM 6001, Legal Base is removed. It is no longer needed since legal authority is cited in the individual
sections;

• DSSM 6004 is combined with 6003; and,
• DSSM 6007 is removed. It is procedure and not policy. Consequently, the policy manual is not the

appropriate place for this information.
As noted above, applicable federal and state citations are also added to the policy section.
The proposed changes affect the following sections of the DSSM:

DSSM 6001, Legal Base
DSSM 6002, Eligibility Determining Eligibility for Emergency Assistance
DSSM 6003, Vendor Payments Making Payments for Emergency Assistance Services
DSSM 6004, Payment Limitation: Time Restriction RESERVED
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DSSM 6005, Scope of Service Providing Assistance for Qualified Emergencies
DSSM 6006, Classification of Emergency Assistance Services – Content of Services Offering Emergency

Assistance Services
DSSM 6007, Accountability Reports RESERVED

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #12-35
REVISION

6001 Legal Base
Provision is made by the Delaware General Assembly for payments for emergency needs.  A limitation on

payments of $1,200 for emergency shelter certified by the Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS), $450
for mortgage or rent assistance, and $200 for other costs related to self-sufficiency of the household.  The federal
government provides funds under Title IV-A of the Social Security Act for emergency payments to families with
children.  Payments are allocated annually to simplify the program.

6002 Eligibility
Delaware residents may participate in the Emergency Assistance Program if:
Individual/Family is in receipt of or eligible for the following:

Cash Assistance receiving households (TANF, GA, SSI):
1931:  Transitional, and Prospective Medicaid; and
Poverty-related Pregnant Women, Infants and Children Medicaid;

OR
A) Family has children at risk of removal or removed from their home due to, or suspected at risk of,

abuse or neglect; or
B) Family has children removed from, or at risk of removal from, the community.

In order to qualify for Emergency Assistance Services:
1) The Medicaid individual / family must be without resources immediately accessible to meet their

needs;
2) The child is without resources immediately accessible for meeting his/her needs; or
3) The emergency assistance is necessary to avoid the destitution of a child or to provide living

arrangements for him in a home; and
4) The emergency must have resulted from an unforeseen circumstance or combination of

circumstances that are beyond the recipient's control.  The cause of the emergency must be evaluated on a case-
by-case basis.  In making a decision, the limited resources of the recipient will be considered, except that no
assistance will be authorized when the emergency was due to a recipient's failure to comply with a requirement of
a Social Services program.

Sanctions/Disqualifications 
For example, a recipient who is sanctioned or disqualified and whose cash grant is reduced is not eligible if the

emergency is a direct result of the reduction of the grant amount.  The inability to pay the rent or electric due to the
reduction of the grant would make the recipient ineligible for EAS.  If the emergency is a broken refrigerator or
stove that needs replaced or repaired, this is not a direct result of the reduction of the grant, and the recipient would
be eligible for EAS.  Sometimes a sanction or disqualification may be permanent for an individual.  A case-by-case
determination must be made on whether or not the emergency was a direct result of the reduction in the grant
amount.

An example of other circumstances not beyond the recipient's control is when the recipient carelessly spends
his/her money on non-necessities, such as cable TV paid channels and telephone features like call waiting and
caller ID.

A recipient whose money is stolen can receive assistance if otherwise eligible, provided the recipient furnishes
a police report of the incident.
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6003 Vendor Payments
Payments under the Emergency Assistance Program are made by check payable to the vendor of the needed

assistance with the exception of payments for food which may be made directly to the recipient.

6004 Payment Limitation: Time Restriction
The maximum payment a household can receive is $1,200 for emergency shelter certified by the Department

of Health and Social Services (DHSS), $450 for mortgage or rent assistance, and $200 for other costs related to
self-sufficiency of the household during one period of 30 consecutive days in any twelve consecutive months.  The
payment can be used to meet needs which arose before such 30-day period or for such needs as rent or
emergency shelter which extend beyond the 30-day period.  Payments authorized within the 30-day period may be
made for needs which will arise during the 60 consecutive days beginning on the day after the end of the 30-day
period.  Payments authorized within the 30-day period may be made for debts which became due and payable
within the 60 consecutive days immediately prior to the day the recipient applies for assistance.

The payment limitation and time restrictions apply only to the original household.  Former members of a
household that received assistance can themselves receive assistance if otherwise eligible provided they had not
requested funds while part of the original household.  For example, a household (F1) contains two TANF cases
(A1) and (A2).

A1 receives emergency assistance to purchase a refrigerator in July.  In September A2 moves to their own
apartment.  Several months later in December A2 needs money to pay the rent because her money was stolen.
A2 can receive help because she is no longer part of the F1 household and while part of the F1 household had not
requested assistance.  If A1 asked for help, they would be denied because they received an emergency assistance
payment less than twelve months ago.

6005 Scope of Coverage
Recipients in emergent need as defined in DSSM 6000 and meeting the eligibility requirements in DSSM 6002

are eligible to receive assistance to alleviate the emergency. The covered items and the conditions that must be
present before payments can be authorized are listed below:

1) Home repairs - The repair must be needed to assure adequate heating, refrigeration, cooking facilities,
and water supplies.

2) Shelter expense - The recipient(s) must be homeless or in jeopardy of losing their home, such as
being no more than 60 days behind in making payments on rent or mortgage or property taxes.

A maximum amount of $1,200 for up to 90 consecutive days is allowed to provide a homeless recipient
with temporary emergency shelter in a DHSS certified shelter.  A maximum of $650 is allowed to help a recipient:

a) Secure permanent shelter,
b) Maintain existing shelter, and
c) Transition from temporary emergency shelter to secure permanent shelter.

Before DHSS will authorize temporary emergency shelter, DHSS must establish that free or
permanent shelter is not available or, if available, has not been refused without good cause. Good cause includes
the need for a family member to remain in a school district or near an employer when public or private
transportation is not reasonably available.  Good cause does not include preference for a motel or hotel over free
shelter due to greater privacy or for similar reasons.

The recipient has the primary responsibility for seeking and securing permanent shelter.  DHSS will
authorize temporary emergency shelter in a DHSS certified shelter commensurate with the recipient's need for
shelter up to the maximum time and amount allowed without regard to funds received from the regular cash
assistance grant or funds considered in computing the amount of that grant unless the recipient refuses to:

a) Relocate to subsequently arranged temporary emergency shelter in a free shelter, or
b) Actively seek permanent housing and cooperate with DHSS in monitoring progress.

To monitor housing search progress, DHSS will require that the recipient contact DHSS at least
weekly at mutually agreed upon times by telephone or arranged office appointment.  The worker will discuss with
the recipient the number of housing contacts, who was contacted, and where they were located.  Recipients who
refuse without good cause (e.g., illness of recipient or immediate family member, or no viable contacts remaining)
to make housing contacts, keep appointments, or discuss progress with the worker will be considered to be non-
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cooperative.  Failure to cooperate without good cause will result in termination of the recipient's authorization for
temporary emergency shelter.

Before authorizing help toward permanent shelter, DHSS will ascertain that the recipient has the ability
to maintain ongoing permanent shelter costs.  Assistance can be used to pay up to two months' arrearage or the
first month's rent and/or security deposit pursuant to Section 6004.

3) Moving expenses - The move must be necessitated by a crisis situation such as fire, eviction or
condemnation of a house.  Estimates must be provided before payments can be authorized.

4) Household appliances and home furnishings - The appliance or furnishing must be needed to assure
adequate heating, refrigeration, and cooking facilities, and to provide appropriate sleeping arrangements.  Funds
may be used to purchase new items or replace existing items except that when an existing item is replaced, it must
be worn out.  Replacement of existing items is not permitted if the item is still serviceable.

5) Medical needs - A medical need is present that could result in serious impairment of health, prolonged
hospitalization, or death.

6) Fuel and utility bills - The recipient must have an unpaid bill which became due and payable within 60
consecutive days immediately prior to the day the recipient applies for assistance and be in immediate jeopardy of
having their service disconnected or be unable to purchase fuel to maintain adequate living conditions.  Recipients
who have applied for funds under the Energy Crisis Assistance Program (ECAP) are eligible for assistance only
when a delay in receiving ECAP funds will cause a hardship.  
For example, a recipient who needs fuel oil applies with ECAP and is given an appointment two weeks later.  If the
recipient applies with the Division and has an emergent need, emergency assistance would be authorized if
otherwise eligible.

7) Food expenses - A food need is present that could result in hunger in spite of the expedited service
requirements of the Food Stamp Program.  Under these requirements, eligible households must receive their food
stamp benefits within seven (7) calendar days following the date the application was filed.

Payments for food expense are limited as follows:
1 person $20.00
2-4 persons $27.00
5-7 persons $33.00
8-10 persons $40.00
11 or more persons $53.00

8) Clothing - Clothing is required for decency, but only if the need results from fire or theft and there is no
other resource available.

9) Transportation - Costs are allowed only when the consequences arising out of the emergency demand
that transportation be provided to the client in order to ameliorate the situation and when transportation without
cost is not available, such as, transportation under Title XIX.

6006 Classification of Emergency Assistance Services - Content of Services
Service staff are assigned to provide emergency assistance services and offer at least the following services,

as required:
1. Personal and Family Crisis Situations

a) Providing casework or counseling service;
b) Arranging for emergency monetary assistance, if necessary;
c) Providing other services required because of the nature of the emergency situation.

2. Medical Crisis Situations
a) Obtaining the services of a physician for a client;
b) Arranging for the care of dependents;
c) Assisting in obtaining other services and assistance, such as medical diagnosis treatment, care in

appropriate settings.
3. Housing and Maintenance Crisis Situations

a) Securing temporary shelter, utilities, food, clothing, and other maintenance items for the duration
of the emergency;
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b) Referring applicants to appropriate agencies for assistance in procuring permanent living
arrangements appropriate to the client and his/her dependents after they leave a temporary shelter;

c) Providing necessary replacement of lost household furniture, equipment and supplies;
d) Providing temporary financial assistance to relieve distress.

6007 Accountability Reports
Each Regional Office will maintain a checking account for deposit and withdrawal of allocated funds.

Payments may not exceed the amount allocated to each region in each calendar quarter except that funds that are
surplus in a quarter may be transferred to a regional office having a deficit at the request of the Operations
Administrator with the approval of the Director.

The Operations Administrator in each region will designate an individual to prepare on a monthly basis a
"Monthly Report-Emergency Assistance" report.  The report will be submitted to the State Office of the Division and
to DMS not later than the fifth working day of the month following the month covered in the report.

All approvals for payment must be made on Form 113 and must be filed in the applicant's case record.  A
Supervisor's co-signature is required if the employee is in a probationary period.

6001 RESERVED

6002 DETERMINING ELIGIBILITY FOR EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE
Title IV §404(a)(2), 31 Del. Code §521

This policy applies to Delaware residents who are experiencing a crisis due to unforeseen
circumstances. Services are provided through the Division of State Service Centers (DSSC).
1. DHSS Staff Determine Eligibility

Individuals or families must meet technical and financial eligibility criteria.
Technical Eligibility

Only the following Delaware residents may participate:
A. Individual or family receiving the following types of cash assistance:

1. Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
2. General Assistance (GA)
3. Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

B. Individual or family receiving or eligible for the following types of Medicaid:
1. 1931 Medicaid
2. Transitional Medicaid
3. Prospective Medicaid
4. Poverty-related Pregnant Women, Infants and Children Medicaid

C. Family has children at risk of removal from their home due to abuse or neglect, or the
children are suspected at risk of abuse or neglect

D. Family has children at risk of removal from the community
E. Family has children removed from their home due to abuse or neglect, or the children

were suspected at risk of abuse or neglect
F. Family has children removed from the community

Financial Eligibility
A. Household Income Is Limited

Income eligibility is met if the family meets the technical eligibility criteria above.
B. Household Resources Are Limited

1. Medicaid individuals and families cannot have resources immediately accessible
to meet their needs.
2. The child cannot have resources immediately accessible to meet his or her needs;
or
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3. The emergency assistance is necessary to avoid the destitution of a child or to
provide living arrangements for him in a home; and
4. The emergency is one that resulted from an unforeseen circumstance or
combination of circumstances that are beyond the recipient's control.

2. DHSS Staff Limits Assistance to Recipients
This section only applies to those who are technically eligible due to receipt of cash or medical
assistance as listed in Technical Eligibility above.
A. Applicants for assistance must have a qualifying emergency. A qualifying emergency is

one that resulted from an unforeseen circumstance or combination of circumstances that
are beyond the recipient's control.
NOTE: A recipient whose money is stolen may receive assistance if the recipient provides
a police report of the incident.
DHSS will not authorize emergency assistance when the emergency was due to a
recipient's failure to comply with a requirement of a Division of Social Services program.
This includes individuals whose grant was reduced as the result of a sanction or
disqualification.
Example:
a. Mary was sanctioned which resulted in a reduction of her TANF grant. Because she

has less money she is not able to pay her electric bill. She is not eligible for
emergency assistance because a grant reduction is a foreseeable consequence of a
sanction.

b. Joey was disqualified which resulted in a reduction of his TANF grant. Because he has
less money he is not able to pay his rent.  At the same time his refrigerator breaks
down. This is not a result of his disqualification (grant reduction) and Joey could be
eligible for emergency assistance to repair or replace his refrigerator.

6003 MAKING PAYMENTS FOR EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE SERVICES
31 Del.Code §521

This policy applies any time a payment is issued for Emergency Assistance Services.
1. DHSS Makes Payments to Vendors

Payments for Emergency Assistance Services are made by check directly to the vendor..

2. DHSS Limits Amounts and Frequency of Payments to Vendors
A household can receive approval for a payment from each of the following categories. Payment is
limited to one period of 30 consecutive days in any twelve consecutive months. 
Payments authorized within the 30-day period may cover needs which will arise during the 60
consecutive days beginning on the day after the end of the 30-day period.
Payments authorized within the 30-day period may cover debts which became due and payable within
the 60 consecutive days immediately prior to the day the recipient applies for assistance.
The maximum payment a household can receive during the 30 day period is:

A. $1,200 for emergency shelter certified by the Department of Health and Social Services
(DHSS)

B. $450 for mortgage or rent assistance
C. $200 for other costs related to the self-sufficiency of the household 

3. Payment Limits Apply to the Original Household
The payment limitation and time restrictions apply only to the original household.

Exception:  Payments for food may be made directly to the recipient.
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Former members of a household that received emergency assistance may themselves receive
assistance if they had not requested funds while part of the original household. For example, a
household (F1) contains two TANF cases (A1) and (A2).
A1 receives emergency assistance to purchase a refrigerator in July. In September A2 moves to its
own apartment. Several months later in December A2 needs money to pay the rent because her
money was stolen. A2 can receive help because she is no longer part of the F1 household and while
part of the F1 household had not requested assistance. If A1 asked for help, they would be denied
because they received an emergency assistance payment less than twelve months ago.

6004 RESERVED

6005 PROVIDING ASSISTANCE FOR QUALIFIED EMERGENCIES
31 Del. Code §521

This policy applies after applicants are determined eligible for Emergency Assistance services.
1. Emergency Assistance is Provided for Qualified Emergencies

Recipients with an emergency as defined in DSSM 6000 and who meet the eligibility criteria in
DSSM 6002 are eligible to receive emergency assistance.
The covered items and the conditions that must be present before payments can be authorized
are listed below.

A. Home repairs
The repair must be needed to assure adequate heating, refrigeration, cooking facilities, and water
supplies.

B. Shelter expense
The recipients must be homeless or in jeopardy of losing their home. They cannot be more than 60
days behind in making payments on rent or mortgage or property taxes.
A maximum of $1,200 is allowed to provide a homeless recipient with up to 90 consecutive days of
temporary emergency shelter in a DHSS certified shelter.
A maximum of $650 is allowed to help a recipient:

a. Secure permanent shelter
b. Maintain existing shelter
c. Transition from temporary emergency shelter to secure permanent shelter

1. Temporary emergency shelter
i. DHSS will authorize temporary emergency shelter in a DHSS certified shelter that meets

the recipient's needs.  DHSS will not count cash assistance received or money counted to
determine the amount of cash assistance when authorizing temporary shelter.

ii. DHSS will authorize the maximum time and amount allowed for temporary emergency
shelter unless the recipient refuses to:
a. Relocate to subsequently arranged temporary emergency shelter in a free shelter
b. Actively seek permanent housing and cooperate with DHSS in monitoring progress of

the housing search
Cooperation with the housing search requires the recipient to:
i. Contact DHSS at least weekly at mutually agreed upon times by telephone or
arranged office appointment
ii. Make housing contacts
iii. Keep appointments
iv. Discuss progress with the worker
Failure to cooperate without good cause (e.g., illness of recipient or immediate family
member, no viable contacts remaining) will result in termination of the recipient's
authorization for temporary emergency shelter
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iii. DHSS will not authorize temporary emergency shelter if free or permanent shelter is
available or was refused without good cause.
Good cause includes the need for a family member to remain in a school district or near
an employer when public or private transportation is not reasonably available.

iv. The recipient has the primary responsibility for seeking and securing permanent shelter.
2. Permanent shelter

Recipients must be able to maintain ongoing permanent shelter costs in order to receive help
toward permanent shelter.  Assistance can be used to pay up to two months' arrearage or the first
month's rent and/or security deposit. See DSSM 6003 for amounts and limitations.

C. Moving expenses
The move must be necessitated by a crisis situation such as fire, eviction or condemnation of a
house. The applicant must provide estimates before payments can be authorized.

D. Household appliances and home furnishings
The appliance or furnishing must be needed to assure adequate heating, refrigeration, and
cooking facilities, and to provide appropriate sleeping arrangements. Funds may be used to
purchase new items or replace existing items.

E. Medical needs
A medical need is present if that need could result in serious impairment of health, prolonged
hospitalization, or death.

F. Fuel and utility bills
The recipient must have an unpaid bill which became due and payable within 60 consecutive days
immediately prior to the day the recipient applies for assistance. The recipient must be in
immediate jeopardy of having his or her service disconnected or be unable to purchase fuel to
maintain adequate living conditions. Recipients who have applied for funds under the Energy
Crisis Assistance Program (ECAP) are eligible for assistance only when a delay in receiving ECAP
funds will cause a hardship.

G. Food expenses
A food need is present that could result in hunger in spite of the expedited service requirements of
the Food Supplement Program. Households eligible for expedited service must receive their food
benefits within 7 calendar days following the date the application was filed.
Payments for food expense are limited as follows

H. Clothing
Assistance for clothing is authorized only if the need results from fire or theft and there is no other
resource available.

I. Transportation
Costs are allowed only when:
a. The consequences arising out of the emergency demand that transportation be provided to
the client in order to improve the situation
b. Free transportation is not available, such as, transportation under Title XIX

Exception:  When an existing item is replaced, it must be worn out. 
Replacement of existing items is not permitted if the item is still serviceable.

1 person $20.00

2 - 4 persons $27.00

5 - 7 persons $33.00

8 - 10 persons $40.00

11 or more persons $53.00
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 2, WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 1, 2012



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 181
6006 OFFERING EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE SERVICES
This policy applies to any staff assigned to provide emergency assistance services.
Emergency Assistance Staff Offer Specific Services

Emergency assistance staff will offer at least the following services, as required.
A. In personal and family crisis situations:

1. Provide casework or counseling service
2. Arrange for emergency financial assistance, if necessary
3. Provide other services required because of the nature of the emergency situation

B. In medical crisis situations:
1. Obtain the services of a physician for a client
2. Arrange for the care of dependents
3. Assist in obtaining other services and assistance, such as medical diagnosis treatment, care in

appropriate settings
C. In housing and maintenance crisis situations:

1. Secure temporary shelter, utilities, food, clothing, and other maintenance items for the duration
of the emergency

2. Refer applicants to appropriate agencies for assistance in obtaining permanent living
arrangements appropriate to the client and his/her dependents after they leave a
temporary shelter

3. Provide necessary replacement of lost household furniture, equipment and supplies
4. Provide temporary financial assistance

6007 RESERVED

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR QUALITY
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60; (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)

7 DE Admin. Code 1120

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN #2012-10

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Amendment to Regulation 1120 New Source Performance Standards

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
Congress sought to reduce public health impacts due to the exposure to criteria pollutants in the 1990

Amendments to the Clean Air Act. Under Section 111(b), the EPA Administrator is required to establish Federal
standards of performance for new sources in prescribed source categories. Under Section 111(d)(1), each State is
required to submit a plan to the EPA Administrator which establishes standards of performance for existing sources
in those prescribed source categories.

On September 15, 1997, the EPA adopted a New Source Performance Standard and an Emission Guideline,
40 CFR Part 60 Subparts Ec and Ce, respectively, which were applicable to new and existing hospital, medical and
infectious waste incinerator (HMIWI) units. As required under the Clean Air Act, Delaware adopted Section 29,
“New Source Performance Standards for Hospital/Medical/Infectious Waste Incinerators” into Regulation 1120 on
September 1, 1998. At the time of the adoption of Section 29, there were 3 existing Delaware HMIWI units in
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operation. Since the 1998 adoption of Section 29, those 3 existing HMIWI units have been dismantled and no new
HMIWI units have been built.

Delaware is proposing to repeal Section 29 as its inherent regulatory requirements are currently outdated and
its continuance is no longer justified by present realities. Any new HMIWI units would be regulated under the
amended 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Ec that the EPA adopted on October 6, 2009.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:
7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Statements and testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at a public hearing to be held on

Wednesday, August 22, 2012 beginning at 6:00 PM in the DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Auditorium, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, DE. Interested parties may submit comments in writing to: Jim Snead, DNREC Division of Air
Quality, 715 Grantham Lane, New Castle, DE 19720.

7. PREPARED BY:
James R. Snead          (302) 323-4542          jsnead@state.de.us          July 5, 2012

1120 New Source Performance Standards

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1120 New Source Performance Standards

DIVISION OF AIR QUALITY
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60; (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)

7 DE Admin. Code 1138

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN #2011-11

1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
Amendment to Regulation 1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
Under Section 112(k) of the 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments, Congress mandated that the EPA identify not

less than 30 hazardous air pollutants (HAPs) which pose the greatest threat to public health in urban areas, identify
the area source categories emitting those HAPs, and develop regulations to address 90% of the emissions of
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those same HAPs.  In 1999, the EPA identified 33 HAPs that posed the greatest threat to public health and has
since that time, identified over 60 new area source categories for which regulations would be developed.

On January 5, 2010, the EPA promulgated one of these area source category standards that would affect
existing and future Delaware sources, the area source standard for prepared feed manufacturing facilities, under
40 CFR Part 63 Subpart DDDDDDD.

Delaware is proposing to amend Regulation 1138 by adding a new Section 17 that addresses the emissions of
chromium and manganese compounds from prepared feed manufacturing facilities. The purpose of this proposed
amendment is to provide increased protection for Delaware citizens against a variety of potential adverse health
effects.  The major health effects from chronic inhalation exposure are diseases associated with the respiratory
tract (chromium compounds) and the central nervous system (manganese compounds).  The proposed
amendment will provide greater consistency between Delaware’s air toxics standards for these types of facilities
and the recently promulgated federal standard (40 CFR Part 63 Subpart DDDDDDD) on which this proposed
amendment is heavily based.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT: 
7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Statements and testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at a public hearing to be held on

Wednesday, August 22, 2012 beginning at 6:00 PM in the DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Auditorium, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, DE.  Interested parties may submit comments in writing to:  Jim Snead, DNREC Division of Air
Quality, 715 Grantham Lane, New Castle, DE 19720.

7. PREPARED BY:
James R. Snead          (302) 323-4542          jsnead@state.de.us          June 19, 2012

1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories
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DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Sections 901(b) and 903(e)(2)a 

(7 Del.C. §901(b); 7 Del.C. §903 (e)(2)a)
7 DE Admin. Code 3507

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN #2012-08

3507 Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Trip Limits, Seasons; Quotas

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATION:
3507 Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Trip Limits, Seasons; Quotas

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUE:
The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC) approved Addendum XXII to the Fishery

Management Plan for Summer Flounder, Scup and Black Sea Bass. Addendum XXII established a regional
management approach and requires the southern region states (Delaware to North Carolina) to implement
management measures consistent with those required for federal waters. The Department was notified on May 17,
2012 by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration that a federal rule was approved that included
among its provisions an open season for the recreational black sea bass fishery from May 19 through October 14.
In response, the Department issued an Emergency Order (2012-F-0019) to remain consistent with Addendum XXII
and to prevent Delaware anglers and dependent businesses from being disadvantaged by remaining closed to
recreational sea bass fishing through May 21. 

The purpose of this action is to formally adopt the full provisions of the federal rule for the recreational black
sea bass fishery and remain compliant with Addendum XXII by amending Tidal Finfish Regulation 3507 Black Sea
Bass Size Limit; Trip Limits; Seasons; Quotas through the normal regulatory process. The federal rule establishes
a 12.5-inch minimum size limit; an open season from January 1 through February 28 with a corresponding 15-fish
per person possession limit; and open seasons from May 19 through October 14 and from November 1 through
December 31 with corresponding 25-fish per person possession limits. 

Based on the stock projections completed in 2011, the black sea bass stock is not overfished and overfishing is
not occurring. The projections indicate the stock is at about 111% of its biomass target.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT: 
7 Del.C., §901(b) & §903(e)(2)a

5. LIST OF OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE IMPACTED OR AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
N/A 

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
The hearing record on the proposed changes to the black sea bass regulation will be open August 1, 2012.

Individuals may submit written comments regarding the proposed changes via e-mail to Lisa.Vest@state.de.us or
via the USPS to Lisa Vest, Hearing Officer, DNREC, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901 (302) 739-9042. A public
hearing on the proposed amendment will be held on August 30, 2012 beginning at 7 pm in the DNREC Auditorium,
located at the Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901.
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7. PREPARED BY:
Stewart Michels          Stewart.Michels@state.de.us          (302) 739-9914

David E. Saveikis, Director

3507 Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Trip Limits, Seasons; Quotas
(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial person to have in possession any black sea bass (Centropristis
striata) that measures less than eleven (11) inches, total length excluding any caudal filament.

2.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational person to have in possession any black sea bass that
measures less than twelve and one-half (12.5) inches total length excluding any caudal filament.

3.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial fisherman to land, to sell, trade and or barter any black sea
bass in Delaware unless authorized by a black sea bass landing permit issued by the Department. The
black sea bass landing permit shall be presumed to transfer with the vessel whenever it is bought,
sold, or otherwise transferred, unless there is a written agreement, signed by the transferor/seller and
transferee/buyer, or other credible written evidence, verifying that the transferor/seller is retaining the
vessel’s fishing and permit history for purposes of replacing the vessel.

4.0 The black sea bass pot fishery and the black sea bass commercial hook and line fishery shall be
considered separate black sea bass fisheries. The total pounds allocated to each fishery by the
Department shall be as follows: 96 percent of the State’s commercial quota, as determined by the
ASMFC, for the pot fishery; 4 percent for the commercial hook and line fishery. 

5.0 The Department may only issue a black sea bass landing permit for the pot fishery to a person who is
the owner of a vessel permitted by the National Marine Fisheries Service in accordance with 50 CFR
§§ 648.4 and who had applied for and secured from the Department a commercial food fishing license
and has a reported landing history in either the federal or state reporting systems of landing by pot at
least 10,000 pounds of black sea bass during the period 1994 through 2001. Those individuals that
have landing history only in the federal data base must have possessed a state commercial food
fishing license for at least one year during the time from 1994 through 2001.

6.0 The Department may only issue a black sea bass landing permit for the commercial hook and line
fishery to a person who has applied for and secured from the Department a commercial food fishing
license and a fishing equipment permit for hook and line and submitted landings reports in either the
federal or state landing report systems for black sea bass harvested by hook and line during at least
one year between 1994 and 2001.

7.0 Any overage of the State's commercial quota will be subtracted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission from the next year's commercial quota.
Any overage of an individual’s allocation will be subtracted from that individual's allocation the next
year and distributed to those individuals in the appropriate fishery that did not exceed their quota.

8.0 Each participant in a black sea bass fishery shall be assigned a equal share of the total pounds of
black sea bass allotted by the Department for that particular fishery. A share shall be determined by
dividing the number of pre-registered participants in one of the two recognized fisheries into the total
pounds of black sea bass allotted to the fishery by the Department. In order to pre-register an
individual must indicate their intent in writing to participate in this fishery.

9.0 Individual shares of the pot fishery quota may be transferred to another participant in the pot fishery.
Any transfer of black sea bass individual pot quota shall be limited by the following conditions:

9.1 A maximum of one transfer per year per person.
9.2 No transfer of shares of the black sea bass pot fishery quota shall be authorized unless such

transfer is documented on a form provided by the Department and approved by the Secretary in
advance of the actual transfer.
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10.0 Individual shares of the commercial hook and line fishery quota may be transferred to another
participant in the commercial hook and line fishery. Any transfer of black sea bass individual
commercial hook and line quota shall be limited by the following conditions:

10.1 A maximum of one transfer per year per person.
10.2 No transfer of shares of the black sea bass commercial hook and line quota shall be authorized

unless such transfer is documented on a form provided by the Department and approved by the
Secretary in advance of the transfer.

11.0 Each commercial food fisherman participating in a black sea bass fishery shall report to the
Department, via the interactive voice phone reporting system operated by the Department, each days
landings in pounds at least one hour after packing out their harvest.

12.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to take and reduce to possession or to land any
black sea bass beginning at 12:01a.m. January March 1, and ending midnight May 21 18, and
beginning at 12:01 a.m. October 12 15 and ending mid-night October 31.

12.1 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to have in possession more than 25 black sea
bass at or between the place where said black sea bass were caught and said recreational
fisherman’s personal abode or temporary or transient place of lodging during the period May 19
through October 14 and during the period November 1 through December 31.

12.2 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to have in possession more than 15 black sea
bass at or between the place where said black sea bass were caught and said recreational
fisherman’s personal abode or temporary or transient place of lodging during the period January 1
through February 28.

DIVISION OF WATERSHED STEWARDSHIP
Surface Water Discharges Section

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60; (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)

REGISTER NOTICE

7431 Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) for the Lums Pond Sub-Watershed, Delaware

1. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance, and Issues
The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) plans to conduct a Public Hearing

regarding a Proposed Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Regulation for nutrients and oxygen consuming materials
for the Lums Pond Sub-Watershed.   A TMDL sets a limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged into
a waterbody and still meet water quality standards. TMDLs are composed of Waste Load Allocations (WLAs) for
point source discharges, Load Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of Safety (MOS) to account for
uncertainties.

2. Possible Terms of the Agency Action
The proposed TMDL Regulation calls for pollutant load reductions from point and nonpoint sources of the

Lums Pond State Park, an area managed by the Division of Parks and Recreation, DNREC, and from nonpoint
sources from the area surrounding the Lums Pond State Park. DNREC will work with local citizen groups and
internally among the Division of Parks and Recreation, the Division of Water’s Surface Water Discharges Section,
and the Division of Watershed Stewardship to implement the point and nonpoint source load reduction
requirements.
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3. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act
The authority to develop a TMDL is provided by Title 7 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 60, and Section 303(d)

of the Federal Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251 et. seq., as amended.

4. Other Legislation That May be Impacted
None

5. Notice of Public Hearings and Comment Period
The Public Hearing for the proposed TMDL Regulations for the Lums Pond Sub-Watershed will be held at 3:00

p.m., Tuesday, August 21, 2012, at the New Castle Conservation District, 2430 Old Country Road, Newark, DE
19702.

The hearing record for this proposed TMDL Regulation will remain open until 4:30 p.m., Friday, September 14,
2012. Please send written comments to Hassan Mirsajadi, Watershed Assessment and Management Section,
Division of Watershed Stewardship, Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, 820 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Suite 220, Dover, DE 19904-2464, (302) 739-9939, facsimile: (302) 739-6140, email:
(Hassan.Mirsajadi@state.de.us).  All written comments must be received by 4:30 p.m., Friday, September 14,
2012.  Electronic submission is preferred.

Copies of the Proposed TMDL Regulations and technical support document will be available as of Wednesday,
August 1, 2012 on the Department’s website at http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/swc/wa/Pages/
WatershedAssessmentTMDLs.aspx or by contacting Hassan Mirsajadi, Watershed Assessment and Management
Section, Division of Watershed Stewardship, Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, 820
Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 220, Dover, DE 19904-2464, (302) 739-9939, facsimile: (302) 739-6140, email:
(Hassan.Mirsajadi@state.de.us).

6. Prepared By:
John Schneider, Watershed Assessment and Management Section, (302) 739-9939.

7431 Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) for the Lums Pond Sub-Watershed, Delaware

1.0 Introduction and Background
1.1 Water quality monitoring performed by the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental

Control (DNREC) has shown that, within the Lums Pond Sub-Watershed, a small tributary southeast of
Lums Pond that connects the Pond to a marina on the C&D Canal (Summit Marina) is impaired
because of low dissolved oxygen. This small tributary receives pollutants from nonpoint sources, Lums
Pond overflow, and the Lums Pond State Park Wastewater Treatment Plant discharge. A reduction of
oxygen consuming pollutants and nutrients from point and nonpoint sources within the sub-watershed
is necessary to improve water quality in this tributary and attain applicable water quality standards.

1.2 Section 303(d) of the Federal Clean Water Act requires states to develop a list (303(d) List) of
waterbodies for which existing pollution control activities are not sufficient to attain applicable water
quality criteria and to develop Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for pollutants or stressors causing
the impairment. A TMDL sets a limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged into a
waterbody and still protect water quality. A TMDL has three components including a Waste Load
Allocation (WLA) for point source discharges, a Load Allocation (LA) for nonpoint sources, and a
Margin of Safety (MOS) to account for uncertainties and future growth.

1.3 DNREC has listed the Lums Pond Sub-Watershed on Delaware’s 303(d) Lists and proposes the
following Total Maximum Daily Load Regulation for nitrogen, phosphorus, and 5-day Carbonaceous
Biochemical Oxygen Demand (CBOD5) material. 
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2.0 Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Regulation for the Lums Pond Sub-Watershed, Delaware
2.1 The total nitrogen waste load allocation from the Lums Pond State Park Wastewater Treatment Plant

shall be limited to 9 pounds per day. 
2.2 The total phosphorus waste load allocation from the Lums Pond State Park Wastewater Treatment

Plant shall be limited to 2 pounds per day.
2.3 The 5-day Carbonaceous Biochemical Oxygen Demand (CBOD5) waste load allocation from the Lums

Pond State Park Wastewater Treatment Plant shall be limited to 13 pounds per day. 
2.4 The nonpoint source nitrogen load in the sub-watershed shall be reduced by 40 percent from the 2009-

2011 baseline level. This shall result in an average of 30 pounds per day of nitrogen load. 
2.5 The nonpoint source phosphorus load in the sub-watershed shall be reduced by 40 percent from the

2009-2011 baseline level. This shall result in an average of 1 pound per day of phosphorus load.
2.6 The nonpoint source CBOD5 in the sub-watershed shall be reduced by 40 percent from the 2009-2011

baseline level. This shall result in an average of 88 pounds per day of CBOD5 load.
2.7 Based upon water quality model runs and assuming implementation of reductions identified by

subsections 2.1 1 through 2.6 above, DNREC has determined that water quality standards will be met
in the Lums Pond Sub-Watershed with an adequate margin of safety.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 1406(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §1406(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 1400

PUBLIC NOTICE

1400 Board of Electrical Examiners

The Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners in accordance with to 24 Del.C. §1406 (a)(1) proposes to revise
their rules and regulations. The proposed revisions to the rules are an attempt to define electrical work more
broadly to include any work covered by the National Electrical Code and specifically adding solar, generators and
windmills to the list of work that is considered electrical services or electrical work. This rule change will also add
the continuing education credits required for licensed Journeypersons and Apprentices and except
Journeypersons and Apprentices from rules that do not apply to them.

A public hearing will be held on September 5, 2012 at 9:15 a.m. in the second floor conference room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from Jennifer Witte,
Administrative Assistant for the Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building,
Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the Board at the
above address. The final date to receive written comments will be 15 (fifteen days) after the public hearing. 

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

1400 Board of Electrical Examiners

1.0 License Required
1.1 To perform “electrical services” or “electrical work” means to plan, estimate, layout, perform, maintain,

troubleshoot or supervise any electrical work covered by the National Electrical Code (NEC) as
adopted by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission which may include but is not limited to the
installation, erection, or repair of any electrical conductor, molding, duct, raceway, conduit, machinery,
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apparatus, device, or fixture for the purpose of lighting, heating, or power in or on any structure or for
elevators, swimming pools, hot tubs, electric signs, air conditioning, heating, refrigeration, oil burners,
solar electrical work, generators, windmills and overhead and underground primary distribution
systems.

1.2 A licensee under this chapter shall perform all electrical services or electrical work in accordance with
the standards established in the National Electric Code (NEC) as adopted by the Delaware Fire
Prevention Commission and in any applicable local building code. The version of the NEC applicable
to a particular project is determined by the Delaware Fire Prevention Commission.

1.3 Every individual who receives a license with the exception of Journeypersons and Apprentice
Electricians shall prominently display the words “Licensed Electrician” and the license number on the
exterior of all vehicles used for work in not less than three inch letters and numbers. This section is
satisfied by any abbreviation readily understood to mean “Licensed Electrician” such as “Lic. Elec.”
along with the license number.

1.4 Solar Electrical Services means to install, erect, repair any electrical conductor, duct, conduit,  or  array
which is used for grounding and bonding of the array or any part thereof, which generate, transmit,
transform, disconnect, or utilize electrical energy in any form or for any purpose.

1.45 Licensees shall notify the Board of a change of address. Change of address notifications shall be sent
by certified mail within 60 days of date the address change.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5.0 [Reserved]

6.0 License and Insurance
6.1 Licensees with the exception of Journeypersons and Apprentice Electricians shall maintain general

liability insurance of at least $300,000.00. Master Special Elevator Electricians do not need general
liability insurance if the contractor has general liability insurance. Proof of insurance must be submitted
with licensure applications and maintenance of the required insurance shall be attested to in the
course of each licensure renewal.

6.2 The insurance requirement is satisfied for a licensee who is performing work as an employee as long
as the employer is insured for the risk on the work performed as required under these regulations. A
licensee who also works independently from his employer must maintain separate insurance for that
risk as provided under these regulations.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

8.0 Continuing Education
8.1 Continuing education (CE) is required of all licensees and shall be completed by June 30 of any year in

which a license is to be renewed. Extra continuing education hours do not carry over to the next
licensing period. Licensees will only get CE credit for their first attendance of CE courses during each
licensing period. Licensees may retake a CE course in the same licensing period but will not receive
additional CE credit.

8.2 Courses must be approved by the Board in order to qualify as CE. Approved courses appear on the
website of the Division of Professional Regulation at www.dpr.delaware.gov. Licensees may also
contact the Administrative Assistant of the Board at the Division of Professional Regulation to
determine whether particular courses have been approved.

8.2.1 Courses shall be designed to maintain and enhance the knowledge and skills of licensees related
to providing electrical services.
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8.2.2 Sponsors or licensees can obtain Board approval of courses at any time by completing a form
approved by the Board and including a course outline with the number of classroom hours and the
curriculum vitae or resume of the instructor.

8.2.3 Sponsors or licensees seeking pre-approval should submit the request as provided in 8.1.2 at
least 60 days before the CE course is being offered.

8.2.4 Approval of CE automatically expires on September 1, 2002 and every three years thereafter on
each September 1. A sponsor or licensee must reapply for approval as provided in 8.2.2.

8.3 Licensees shall complete 10 hours of approved CE during each renewal period with the following
exceptions - a person licensed less than one year does not need to complete CE at the first renewal; a
person licensed one year but less than two years must submit 5 CE hours at the first renewal.
Beginning with the licensee’s second renewal, 5 of the 10 CE hours required for renewal must be
related to the National Electrical Code.

8.4 Journeypersons and Apprentice Electricians shall complete 5 hours of approved CE during each
renewal period with the following exceptions – a person licensed less than one year does not need to
complete CE at the first renewal; a person licensed one year but less than two years must submit 2 CE
hours at the first renewal. Apprentice training will count towards CE hours during that licensure period.

8.45 The Board may consider a waiver of CE requirements or acceptance of partial fulfillment based on the
Board’s review of a written request with supporting documentation of hardship.

9.0 Loss Of License Holder
9.1 A procedure permitting temporary practice after loss of a licensee to avoid business interruption is

provided in 24 Del.C. §1418 and is necessary only where there is no currently employed licensee to
assume the duties of the former license holder.

9.2 The notification must include documentation of the business relationship with the former license
holder.

10.0 Exceptions.
10.1 No license is required for performing electrical work by the following persons or entities:

10.1.1 persons working under the supervision of a Delaware licensed master or limited electrician;
10.1.2 persons under the supervision of a licensed electrician who is the owner or full-time employee of a

company performing electrical work;
10.1.31 a professional engineer in a manufacturing or industrial plant having six years experience in

electrical planning and design who is registered with the Board and who is licensed and listed on
the Delaware Association of Professional Engineers as the person responsible for the plant
repairs, maintenance, and electrical additions;

10.1.42 the Department of Transportation, or a contractor, for work performed by or under the supervision
of the Department for the installation erection, construction, reconstruction and/or maintenance of
drawbridges and traffic control devices

10.1.53 persons working beyond the main breaker or fuse of 200 amps or less in a structure used
exclusively for agriculture;

10.1.64 persons performing the work of any light or power company, electric or steam railway company,
telegraph, high voltage certified testing agency or telephone company when the work is part of the
plant or service used in rendering authorized service to the public such as power delivery by an
electric company. This exception ends at the point of service, termination box, or demarcation
point; 

10.1.75 a homeowner who has obtained a homeowner’s permit provided by law.
10.1.6 A communication and low voltage contractor that installs, services and maintains all types of

communication and low voltage systems which are energy limited. These systems include, but are
not limited to telephone systems, sound systems, cable television systems, closed circuit video
systems, satellite dish antennas, instrumentation and temperature controls, and low voltage
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landscape lighting, directional boring, networking systems, communication systems, security and
burglar systems. Low voltage fire alarm systems are specifically not included in this section.

10.1.7 Fire Alarm Signaling Licensees issued by the Office of the State Fire Marshal.
10.1.8 Persons working for the organization Habitat for Humanity or on USDA Rural  Development Self

Help Housing Projects. The work still needs to be inspected by a licensed electrician.
10.1.9 Factory trained and authorized Representatives.

11.0 Reciprocity
11.1 An applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall complete an application approved by the Board and

cause a certificate of good standing to be sent to the Board from the licensing agencies of all
jurisdictions where the applicant is or has been licensed. Upon request an applicant for licensure
under this provision must submit to the Board a copy of reciprocal state’s current licensure
requirements.

11.2 If the reciprocal state’s requirements are not substantially similar to those of this State, as determined
by the Board, the applicant shall submit proof of practice for at least five years after licensure. Proof of
practice requires an employer’s affidavit describing the nature of the applicant’s experience. If an
applicant cannot obtain an affidavit from the employer, tax W-2 forms showing full-time employment
may be substituted at the discretion of the Board. A self-employed applicant may submit tax form
Schedule C as proof of practice.

12.0 Required Inspection.
12.1 Every licensee, with the exception of Journeypersons and Apprentice Electricians, shall file an

application for an inspection by a licensed inspection agency no later than five working days after the
commencement of electrical work. The inspection agency shall perform an inspection no later than five
working days after the inspection has been requested. It shall be beyond the scope of a
Journeyperson or Apprentice Electrician to file for an inspection for electrical work.

12.2 An application for an inspection shall be filed with the inspection agency on a form, signed by the
licensee, or person authorized under Rules 12.7, 12.8, or 12.9, containing at least the following
information:

12.2.1 Full names of the licensee and any job foreman
12.2.2 License number, type (T-1, T-2, or Specialty) and expiration date
12.2.3 Date inspection requested
12.2.3 Location of work to be inspected
12.2.4 Permit numbers, if applicable
12.2.5 Applicant’s name and contact information, if other than the licensee
12.2.6 A detailed description of the work to be inspected including any devices or equipment
12.2.7 Signature of the licensee

12.3 A licensee who signs an application for inspection form is deemed to have authorized and shall be
responsible for the work described in the form.

12.4 An inspection agency shall not conduct an inspection of work performed until it has received a request
made in compliance with Rule 12.2.

12.5 An inspection agency is responsible to ensure that the standards for its inspection are those
established in the National Electric Code as adopted by the Delaware Fire Commission and in any
applicable local building code. The version of the Code applicable to a particular project is determined
by the Delaware Fire Commission.

12.6 An inspection report shall be recorded legibly on a form containing at least the following information:
12.6.1 Full name of the licensee
12.6.2 License number, type (T-1, T-2, or Specialty) and expiration date
12.6.3 Location of work to be inspected
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 2, WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 1, 2012



PROPOSED REGULATIONS192
12.6.4 Permit numbers
12.6.5 Inspector’s full name
12.6.6 A detailed description of the work inspected
12.6.7 Deficiencies noted, any applicable NEC section, and inspection dates
12.6.8 Signature of inspector
12.6.9 Date inspection completed.

12.7 Any professional engineer excepted from licensure shall at least annually file with the Board a
certificate of inspection by a licensed inspection agency and a letter stating that all repairs,
maintenance, and additions to a manufacturing or industrial plant meet the Standards of the National
Electrical Code. The annual inspection should include a representative sampling of the work
performed by the authority of the responsible professional engineer.

12.8 Any person performing electrical work on agricultural structures excepted from licensure shall
nevertheless obtain a certificate of inspection from a licensed inspection agency for new installations.

12.9 Any person authorized to perform work by a homeowner’s permit shall obtain a final inspection as
provided in Rule 12.0 by an inspection agency licensed by the Board.

12.10 Fire Alarm Signaling Licensees installing conductors covered under the licensing requirements of the
Office of the State Fire Marshal shall nevertheless obtain a certificate of inspection from a licensed
inspection agency for new installations prior to filing for a final inspection from the Office of the State
Fire Marshal. This rule will be effective 12/31/2012.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF PLANNING AND POLICY

Statutory Authority: 17 Delaware Code, Sections 132, 137 and 149; 29 Delaware Code, Section 
8404 (17 Del.C. §§132, 137 & 149; 29 Del.C. §8404)

PUBLIC NOTICE

2309 Standards and Regulations for Subdivision Streets and State Highway Access

Background

The Delaware Department of Transportation, through its Division of Planning, seeks to adopt amendments to
its existing regulations regarding subdivision streets and state highway access, with respect to the current
provisions concerning Traffic Impact Studies and Traffic Operational Analyses.  Changes are proposed several
areas of Chapter 2, Traffic Impact Studies and several sections from Chapter 3, Site Plan Design, are proposed for
movement to Chapter 2.

In July, 2011, the Department published proposed revisions to its Standards and Regulations for Subdivision
Streets and State Highway Access in the Delaware Register of Regulations, 15 DE Reg. 56 (07/01/11). A
significant number of comments were received to in response to that publication. After consideration of those
comments, the Department decided to publish a re-draft of that document here, to reflect the comments received
from the July, 2011 version, as well as other considerations.

As detailed in the current Manual, the Department has broad statutory authority to regulate the process of
determining whether and under what conditions property developers may gain access to the state highway system.
These authorities include Sections 131, 141, 146, 507, and 508 of Title 17, Delaware Code; Chapter 41 of Title 21,
Delaware Code; Section 6103 of Title 29, Delaware Code; and certain provisions in Title 9 of the Delaware Code.

The Department previously entered into agreements with county governments regarding traffic impact studies
and traffic operational analyses. For New Castle County, for example, the agreement calls for the Department, as
part of its scoping of the study areas for TIS work, to assure that the study looks at a minimum number of
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intersections from the proposed site entrance(s). However, what is considered an intersection for this purpose may
be subject to differing interpretations, and may risk unduly limiting or unduly expanding the TIS study area. 

The draft regulations are intended to provide sufficient guidance to the state, local governments, the
development community, and those interested in development matters in this regard. The Department wishes to
assure that the study areas selected match well with what intersections the Department reasonably expects to be
significantly affected by the traffic from the subject property, given its proposed uses.

The proposed changes also include a new section on Transportation Improvement Districts, which were
previously discussed in much less detail.  The Department seeks to promote the creation of such districts as a
superior approach to assessing the transportation impacts of development relative to Traffic Impact Studies for
individual developments.

Other proposed changes include the addition of rules for the requirement of Traffic Operational Analyses,
previous published as informal guidelines, and the changes to how contributions to the Traffic Signal Revolving
Fund should be calculated. 

Public Comment Period and Public Workshop Schedule

The Department will accept written comments on the proposed Amendment to its Standards and Regulations
for Subdivision Streets and State Highway Access from August 1, 2012 through October 1, 2012. The proposed
Regulations appear below. 

The Department will hold public workshops on the proposed Amendment, as follows:
• New Castle County: Thursday, September 13, 2012, Troop 2 Conference/Training Room, Newark,

Delaware.
• Kent County: Monday, September 17, 2012, Felton/Farmington Room, DelDOT Administration

Building, Dover, Delaware.
• Sussex County: Thursday, September 20, 2012, DelDOT South District Conference Room,

Georgetown, Delaware.

The workshops shall be held from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. at each location.
Any requests for copies of the proposed Regulations, or any questions or comments regarding this document

should be directed to:
Shailen P. Bhatt, Secretary
Delaware Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 778
Dover, DE 19903
(302) 760-2303 (telephone)
(302) 739-2895 (fax)
shailen.bhatt@state.de.us

2309 Standards and Regulations for Subdivision Streets and State Highway Access

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

2309 Standards and Regulations for Subdivision Streets and State Highway Access
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DIVISION OF TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS
Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 8404(8); (29 Del.C. §8404(8))

PUBLIC NOTICE

2404 Traffic Calming Manual

The Delaware Department of Transportation Division of Transportation Solutions hereby gives notice of its
intention to adopt revisions to the existing Delaware Traffic Calming Manual pursuant to 29 Del.C. §8404(8) and in
compliance with the Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. §10115. Traffic calming is the combination
of mainly physical measures that reduce the negative effects of motor vehicle use, alter driver behavior, and
improve conditions for non-motorized street users. The regulations contained in this manual are an attempt to
control speeding and cut through traffic, primarily on neighborhood streets, through use of physical measures and
education.

The Department solicits, and will consider timely filed written comments from interested individuals and groups
concerning these proposed regulations. The deadline for the filing of such comments will be thirty (30) days after
the proposed amendments are promulgated in the Delaware Register of Regulations. Any such submissions
should be mailed, emailed or hand-delivered to Michael Somers, whose address is Delaware Department of
Transportation, 169 Brick Store Landing Road, Smyrna, DE, 19977, or Michael.Somers@state.de.us by August 31,
2012.

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/august2012/proposed/DETCM.pdf

(Adobe Acrobat Reader required)

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
DELAWARE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OFFICE

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 5029(a), (29 Del.C. §5029(a))

PUBLIC NOTICE

402 Procedures Governing The Delaware Strategic Fund, 451 Matching Grants Program, 452  Direct Grants 
Program, 453 Co-Op Advertising Program, 454 Procedures Governing Delaware Tourism Grant Program

The State of Delaware, Delaware Economic Development Office (“DEDO”) and The Delaware Economic
Development Authority (the “Authority”) hereby give notice of their intention to amend their regulations pursuant to
the General Assembly’s delegation of authority to adopt such measures found at 29 Del.C. §§5029(a) and
5054(e)(1) and in compliance with Delaware’s Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. §10115. The proposed
regulation constitutes a  revision of the Strategic Fund procedures used to administer the Fund to retain, attract and
expand Delaware employment. DEDO is also proposing that  four regulations that deal with tourism be repealed.
These programs are no longer operating and have been declared obsolete by DEDO.

DEDO and the Authority solicit, and will consider, timely filed written comments from interested individuals and
groups concerning the proposed amended regulation and the repeal of obsolete regulations. The deadline for the
filing of such written comments will be thirty days (30) after these regulations are published in the Register of
Regulations.

Any such submissions should be mailed or delivered to Lee Porter, 99 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901 by
September 30, 2012.
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402 Procedures Governing The Delaware Strategic Fund, 451 Matching Grants Program, 452  Direct Grants 
Program, 453 Co-Op Advertising Program, 454 Procedures Governing Delaware Tourism Grant Program

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:
402 Procedures Governing The Delaware Strategic Fund, 451 Matching Grants Program, 452  Direct Grants 

Program, 453 Co-Op Advertising Program, 454 Procedures Governing Delaware Tourism Grant Program

 

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 16, ISSUE 2, WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 1, 2012

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/august2012/proposed/16 DE Reg 194 08-01-12.htm


FINAL REGULATIONS 196

Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new
text added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed bold
stricken through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time
allowed of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together
with summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
FOOD PRODUCTS INSPECTION SECTION

Statutory Authority: Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, Section 8708(8) (3 Del.C. §8708(8))
3 DE Admin. Code 301

ORDER

301 Food Products Inspection

I. NATURE OF PROCEEDINGS

Pursuant to its delegated authority under 3 Del.C. §8708(8) and Delaware's Administrative Procedures Act, 29
Del.C. §10100 et seq., the State of Delaware Department of Agriculture ("DDA") proposed to amend its regulations
in order to ensure that its procedures for inspecting meat, poultry and egg products, and for slaughtering animals,
were always at least equal to those mandated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture and federal law.

Notice of a public comment period of thirty (30) days relating to the proposed regulations was published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations for June 1, 2012 as required by law. This is the DDA's Decision and Order
adopting the proposed amended regulations.

II. PUBLIC COMMENTS

DDA received no public comments in response to its notice of intent to adopt the proposed regulations.

III. FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

The public was given the required notice of DDA's intent to adopt the proposed regulations and the opportunity
to provide comments concerning them. Having received no such comments, the DDA concludes that its
consideration of the proposed amended regulations was entirely within its prerogatives and statutory authority, it is
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now free to adopt them.

IV. ORDER

AND NOW, this 11 day of July, 2012 it is hereby ordered that:
The proposed amended regulations are adopted;
The text of the proposed regulations shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A;
The effective date of this Order is ten (10) days from the date of its publication in the Delaware Register of

Regulations in accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(e); and
DDA reserves unto itself the authority to issue such other and further orders concerning its practices and

procedures as may be just and proper.

IT IS SO ORDERED.
Edwin Kee, Secretary
Delaware Department of Agriculture

301 Food Products Inspection

1.0 Authority
1.1 These proposed amendments to existing Delaware regulations as well as the adoption of new

regulations governing meat, poultry, and egg products inspection and the humane slaughtering of
livestock are promulgated pursuant to the Department's authority specifically set forth in Section
8708(8) of Title 3 of the Delaware Code.

2.0 Purpose
2.1 The purpose of these proposed regulations is to re-establish the standards and procedures for the

meat, poultry, and egg product inspection programs of Delaware as well as Delaware's humane
slaughtering of livestock procedures so that they shall be equal to those imposed by the Federal Meat
Inspection Act, the Federal Poultry Inspection Act, the Federal Egg Products Inspection Act and the
Federal Humane Methods of Slaughter Act with respect to operations occurring within the State of
Delaware.

3.0 Substantive Provisions
3.1 The Department adopts and incorporates by reference herein the rules, regulations, definitions and

standards of the U.S. Department of Agriculture governing meat and meat products inspection, poultry
products inspection, voluntary inspection of poultry, egg and egg products inspection and humane
methods for slaughtering animals as they are currently written and which are found appear, and as
they may be amended from time to time, at Title 9 of the Code of Federal Regulations, at Subchapters
A, E, and I of Title 9, Parts 301 through 592, Parts 301 through 592, excluding Parts 390 and 391, of
the Code of Federal Regulations.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 275

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

275 Charter Schools
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I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
275 Charter Schools. The amendments reflect the process for Performance Reviews as well as other amendments
to align with specific Delaware Code revised during the 146th General Assembly. The Department, State Board of
Education and Governor’s office held several meetings with stakeholders prior to publication. In addition,
individuals from the Department of Education charter school office and the Executive Director of the State Board of
Education met with a subcommittee of the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on June
30, 2012, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. Comments were received from Governor’s Advisory Council
for Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities. Comments were also made by
members of the State Board of Education during the discussion period in June. Some of the comments were
grammatical in nature and have been addressed. Additional comments with Department responses are as follows:

GACEC and SCPD Comment
§3.6 authorizes a “Highly Successful Charter School Operator” to bypass any annual ban on new charter

school applications to address the needs of students whose current charter school is closing. The definition of
“Highly Successful Charter School” is included in §2.1. This is a salutary concept which is loosely based on Title 14
Del.C. §511(n).  See also Title 14 Del.C. §511(e)(2).  SCPDs concern is that there are charter schools which focus
on “at risk” students.  See §4.2.1.5.  If such a charter school were closing, it would be logical for another charter
school serving “at risk” students to be solicited to apply for a charter to cover the students in the school which is
closing.  This would be undermined by the definition of “Highly Successful Charter School” which categorically
requires above average performance on student assessment tests.  The DOE should consider modifying the
definition of “Highly Successful Charter School” to allow a charter school for “at risk” students to qualify without
meeting the “above average performance” standard.  Parenthetically, SCPD also recommends not capitalizing
“Operator” in §3.6.

Department Response
The Department has made the grammatical corrections as offered; however, after consideration, the

Department believes the proposed definition meets the intent of the law. This does not prohibit a charter school that
focuses primarily on “at risk” students from applying and operating in Delaware.

GACEC and SCPD Comment
§4.3.1 “red flags” the need for a charter school to include the capacity for “summer school”, “extra instructional
time”, and other remedial services for underperforming students in its program based on Title 14 Del.C. §512(6).  It
would be preferable to add another sentence to implement the recently adopted Title 14 Del.C. §122(b)(24). This is
a new statute which requires charter schools to offer supportive instruction (e.g. homebound; instruction in
hospitals) which charter schools could easily overlook. It does not appear in Title 14 Del.C. Ch. 5. The following
sentence could be added: “The educational program shall include the provision of supportive services conforming
to 14 Del.C. §122(b)(24).”  

Department Response
The Department is promulgating a separate regulation related to supportive instruction. This regulation is

published for comment in the August Register of Regulations.

GACEC and SCPD Comment
§4.5.1.1, the reference and citation to the Gun Free Schools Act does not match that in the DOE’s “Compliance

with the Gun Free Schools Act” regulation, 14 DE Admin. Code 603.
Department Response
The reference has been revised. 

GACEC and SCPD Comment
§10.4, it would be preferable to include a recital that the results of the Performance Review would also be

published on the DOE’s Website.  For example, the second sentence could be amended to read as follows: “The
Department shall provide the results of the Performance Review to the school and publish the results on the
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Department’s Website.”
Department Response
The Department will take the comment under consideration for future revisions to this regulation.  

GACEC and SCPD Comment
§12.0 literally requires a new member of the charter school’s board of directors to directly submit the member’s

criminal background check results to the DOE.  The Councils raised concerns with the process. 
Department Response
The Department has a process in effect to receive and review the reports in compliance with §511(q).

GACEC and SCPD Comment
The overall regulation is somewhat myopic in focusing on academic performance to the exclusion of other

factors which make a school “successful”.  For example, Section 4.2 contains multiple references to the State
Assessment System. Section 4.2.1.4 defines the scope of the Performance Agreement as only covering
organizational, academic, and financial performance. Charter schools are intended to be “innovative” and not
“cookie cutter” institutions. See Title 14 Del.C. §501 and 506(b)(3)c. If a school focuses on the arts (dancing;
acting; singing), solely evaluating that school based on academics ignores the primary reason students attend the
school.  Similarly, for a military charter, it would be logical to assess what percentage of the student body who
choose to apply to enlist in the Armed Services are accepted.  Other factors to consider in assessing
“performance” would include statistics on discipline, attendance, graduation, participation in extracurricular
activities, substantiated special education and non-special education complaints to DOE, student satisfaction, and
parent satisfaction.

Department Response
The proposed regulation proposes a less myopic approach to evaluating charter school performance than is in

the current regulation.  The single performance measure in the existing regulation is that a school meets or
exceeds state average performance on the state assessment.  The proposed regulation proposes to measure a
charter school against their compliance with their Performance Agreement, which is evaluated by the Performance
Framework.  The Performance Framework measures academic performance expectations, organizational
responsibilities, and economic viability requirements.  The references to “school focuses” such as the arts or
military service are able to be incorporated through the “Mission Specific Measures” in the academic framework as
well as included in the Renewal Application. The intent of the Performance Framework and Performance Review is
to shift from what is felt to be a currently limiting measure to a process that is more inclusive of multiple measures
thus able to show a more comprehensive picture of a charter school’s performance.

GACEC and SCPD Comment
Neither the statute nor §4.2.1.5 define “students at risk of academic failure”. The DOE may wish to include a

definition to provide guidance in this context.  
Department Response
The Department has taken the comment under advisement; however, maintains the need for flexibility in this

area.

GACEC Comment
§4.2.1.5 this section previously applied only to schools with an enrollment preferences for students in special

education. As it is written in the proposed regulation, it will apply to any school and in essence can give any school
a blanket waiver from performance measures. The potential implications are lowered expectations for students
with disabilities and the ability of any charter to avoid adverse performance ratings for sub-groups of their choice.

Department Response
The previous §4.2.2.1 allowed for a charter school proposing to have enrollment preferences for students at

risk of academic failure to have the ability to be measured by alternative performance goals and timelines
appropriate for its student population.  The Department had to agree to any alternative measures and timelines. 

In the proposed amendments, this ability remains in place; however, any alternative proposed measures or
performance goals must be incorporated into the charter school’s Performance Agreement, which requires
approval by the Secretary and the State Board of Education. 
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II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 275 Charter Schools in order to reflect
the process for Performance Reviews as well as to align with specific Delaware Code revised during the 146th

General Assembly.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 275
Charter Schools.  Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 275 Charter Schools attached
hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 275
Charter Schools hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 275 Charter Schools amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as
Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 275 Charter Schools in the Administrative
Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on July 19, 2012.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 19th day of July 2012.

Department of Education
Mark T. Murphy, Secretary of Education

Approved this 19th day of July 2012

State Board of Education

275 Charter Schools

1.0 Purpose and Effect
1.1 The purpose of these regulations is to provide rules to govern the implementation of 14 Del.C. Ch. 5

(hereafter, the “Charter School Law”) develop and maintain chartering policies and practices
consistent with nationally recognized principles and standards for quality charter authorizing in all
major areas of authorizing, including:

1.1.1 Agency commitment and capacity;
1.1.2 Application process and decision-making;
1.1.3 Performance-based accountability;
1.1.4 Ongoing oversight and evaluation; and
1.1.5 Renewal and revocation decision-making.

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory Coverdale
Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.
G. Patrick Heffernan Randall L. Hughes
Barbara B. Rutt
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1.2 These regulations establish the requirements for applying for a charter to operate a public school, and
for opening and operating the school, when a charter is granted by the Department of Education with
the approval of the State Board of Education.

1.3 These regulations affect students who attend Charter Schools, the parents and other caregivers of
these students, the directors, staff administrators and boards of the Charter Schools, and the students,
staff, administrators and boards of the reorganized school districts of the State.

1.4 These regulations shall bind all Charter Schools and are incorporated into all charters approved by, or
transferred to the Department with the consent of the State Board.

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following definitions apply for purposes of interpreting the Charter School Law and these

regulations:
“Accountability Committee”: Any Charter School Accountability Committee established by the

Department to review and report to the Department as provided in Sections 511 and 515 of the Charter
School Law.

“Applicant”: A legal entity organized under the Delaware General Corporation Law that has applied to the
Department for, but not yet received, a charter to operate a charter school, or the [rR]enewal or
modification of such a charter, as the context indicates.

“Audit”: An informal financial, programmatic, or compliance audit of a charter school.
“Charter Holder”: The legal entity organized under the Delaware General Corporation Law to which a

charter is issued by the Department with the approval of the State Board.
“Charter School”: A non home based full time public school that is operated in an approved physical

plant under a charter granted by, or transferred to the Department with the approval of the State Board
for the personal physical attendance of all students.

“DSTP”: The Delaware Student Testing Program or successor statewide assessment program established
at 14 Del.C. §151, et.seq., and, as the context requires, the assessments administered pursuant to the
program.

“Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS)” means the statewide assessment used to
measure student achievement of the Delaware academic content standards, including an alternate
assessment based on alternate achievement standards for students with the most significant cognitive
disabilities.

“Department”: The Delaware Department of Education.
“Financial Audit”: The audit required to be conducted pursuant to 14 Del.C. 513(a).
“First Instructional Day”: The first day a Charter School is open with students in attendance.
“Formal Review”: The lawful investigation of a Charter School to determine whether the school is

violating the terms of its charter. Formal reviews may include, but are not limited to, on site visits,
inspection of educational records and other documents, and interviews of parents, Charter School
employees and others with knowledge of the school’s operations and educational programs.

“Founding Board of Directors”: The Board of Directors of an Applicant at the time the original
application for a charter is filed with the Department.

“Highly successful charter school [operator]”: A charter school with sustained high levels of student
achievement and sustained financial stewardship. A highly successful charter school is one which has
been in operation for at least three years and which, during the three years prior to filing a charter
application in Delaware, has a combined student performance which exceeds the statewide average
student performance in the state in which the highly successful charter school is located based upon
that state’s performance score or measure on its statewide assessment for purposes of the
Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) or any reauthorization thereof. In addition,
during the same three year period the school must have had no adverse financial findings and
successfully completed any required financial audits in the state in which it is located, and be able to
demonstrate that it will be economically viable.
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“Parent”: The natural or adoptive parent, or the legal guardian, of a student enrolled in the charter school.
“Parent” also includes individuals authorized to act as Relative Caregivers under the provisions of 14
Del.C. §202(e)(2).

“Performance Agreement”: The document which describes the academic performance expectations,
identifies economic viability requirements, defines organizational responsibilities, and outlines
accountability of the Charter School. An approved charter school application serves as the basis for
the performance agreement, which is for a specified term and as prescribed by the Department with
the assent of the State Board of Education. The Performance Agreement is enforceable as part of the
school’s charter.

“Performance Framework”: A rubric based tool established by the Department with the assent of the
State Board of Education, as amended from time to time, which contains the details, utilizing multiple
measures, used by the Department to assess compliance with the Performance Agreement in the
areas of academic performance, economic viability, organizational responsibilities and accountability
of the Charter School. The completed frameworks will be provided to the Charter School Accountability
Committee, Secretary and State Board of Education to inform their decision making for [rR]enewals,
modifications and formal reviews.

“Performance Review”: Reserved The process by which the Charter School’s compliance with its
Performance Agreement is evaluated annually to inform [rR]enewal, major modification and formal
review decisions. Compliance with the charter and the Performance Agreement, as assessed through
the Performance Framework, is the basis for the Performance Review. Review and results will be
reported in the Department’s annual report.

“Renewal”: The approval of an application to continue operating an existing Charter School for an
additional five year period, available after the school has been in operation for four years. Renewal
decisions are based on the criteria set forth in 14 Del.C. §512, and informed by a Charter School’s
compliance with its Performance Agreement as evaluated by the Performance Framework.

“Secretary”: The Secretary of the Delaware Department of Education.
“State Assessment System” means the statewide assessment used to measure student achievement of

the Delaware academic content standards including an alternate assessment based on alternate
achievement standards for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities, and other
assessments such as, but not limited to, the National Assessment for Educational Progress (NAEP), a
college readiness assessment, an assessment for English Language Learners (ELL), a norm-
referenced assessment that may be administered or required as determined by the Department of
Education.

“State Board”: The Delaware State Board of Education.

3.0 Application Process
3.1 Application Deadlines: Applications to establish new Charter Schools must be submitted to the

Department between November 1st and December 31st for schools preparing to admit students the
first day of school of the second school year thereafter, unless otherwise agreed upon by the
authorizer and the applicant to allow the applicant to serve students who would otherwise be displaced
because of the closure of an existing charter school.

3.2 All applications, whether for an original charter, a modification of a charter or the [Rr]enewal of a
charter, shall be made on forms approved by the Department.

3.3 The Department may require a criminal background check on any person involved in the preparation of
an application, whether for an original charter, a major modification or a charter Renewal, and on any
person involved in the development of the proposed Charter School.

3.43 An original and ten (10) copies of a completed application must be received by the Department by the
application deadline in order for the application to be considered; an electronic copy shall also be
submitted at the same time either as an attachment to an e-mail message or by electronic portable
storage. The electronic copy shall be identical in all respects to the original application. Incomplete
applications, or applications received after the deadline, will not be considered. 
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3.54 All written communications from the Department or the Accountability Committee to an Applicant shall
be sent to the contact person identified in the application, at the address provided in the application.
An Applicant is responsible for notifying the Department in writing of any change in the contact person
or contact address after its application is submitted.

3.65 An application is not complete unless all of the following requirements are met:
3.65.1 All questions on the application form are answered.
3.65.2 All documentation required by the application form or subsequently requested by the Department

or the Accountability Committee is received.
3.76 No application for a new Charter School will be accepted by the Department in any year in which the

Department with the approval of the State Board has decided not to accept applications; except for an
application submitted by a Highly [Ssuccessful Ccharter Ooperator] for the purpose of operating a
charter school at a site of and serving students currently attending a charter school whose charter has
been revoked, has not been renewed, or whose charter is on formal review and whose Board of
Directors has agreed to abandon their charter.

3.87 Applications will not remain pending from year to year. Applications that do not result in the issuance of
a charter must be resubmitted in full in subsequent years to be considered in subsequent years.

3.98 The State Board of Education may designate one or more of its members to sit as nonvoting members
of the Accountability Committee.

3.109 In deciding whether to approve or disapprove any application for an original charter, a major
modification of a charter, the renewal of a charter, or the formal review of a charter, the Secretary and
State Board shall base the decision on the record. The record shall consist of the application and any
documents filed therewith in support of the application, the [pPerformance fFramework] (not
applicable for new applications), the preliminary and final report of the Accountability Committee, any
response or other evidence, oral or otherwise, provided by the Applicant to the Accountability
Committee prior to the issuance of its final report, any comments received at any public hearing
conducted pursuant to the provisions of the Charter School Law, including comments made at any
such hearing by the applicant in response to the Accountability Committee’s final report and any
written or electronic comments received at or before any such public hearing. In the case of the
renewal, major modification, or formal review of a charter, the record may shall also include
performance documentation generated during the term of the charter or related to the subject of the
formal review, including but not limited to, compliance with the school’s Performance Agreement,
audits and performance reviews, student testing data, and parent complaint documentation. No other
evidence shall be considered. Written and electronic comments must be received by the Education
Associate for Charter Schools no later than the beginning of the public hearing to be included in the
record.

3.10 Applicants and Charter Holders shall make the financial disclosures relating to ownership and financial
interest as required by 14 Del.C. §511(o). A charter school founder or member of a charter school
board has a “financial interest” in the charter school if that person receives compensation in excess of
$5,000.00 from the charter school in any calendar year. Compensation means money, thing of value,
or any other economic benefit of any kind or nature whatsoever conferred on or received by a charter
school founder or member of a charter school board.  “Ownership” shall have the meaning commonly
ascribed to it as appropriate in context.

4.0 Standards and Criteria for Granting Charter
4.1 Applicant Qualifications

4.1.1 The Applicant must demonstrate that its board of directors has and will maintain collective
experience, or contractual access to such experience, in the following areas:

4.1.1.1 Research based curriculum and instructional strategies, to particularly include the
curriculum and instructional strategies of the proposed educational program.

4.1.1.2 Business management, including but not limited to accounting and finance.
4.1.1.3 Personnel management.
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4.1.1.4 Diversity issues, including but not limited to outreach, student recruitment, and instruction.
4.1.1.5 At risk populations and children with disabilities, including but not limited to students

eligible for special education and related services.
4.1.1.6 School operations, including but not limited to facilities management.

4.1.2 The application must identify the certified teachers, the parents and the community members who
have been involved in the preparation of the application and the development of the proposed
Charter School.

4.1.3 The Applicant’s bylaws must be submitted with the application and must demonstrate that:
4.1.3.1 The Charter Holder’s board of directors will include a certificated teacher employed as a

teacher at the Charter School and a Parent of a currently enrolled student of the school no
later than the school’s First Instructional Day, further provided a single individual shall not
represent both the certified teacher and parent role on the board At the time at which the
school commences its instructional program and all times thereafter, the board of directors
of the charter holder must include a Delaware certified teacher employed as a teacher at a
charter school operated by the Applicant in Delaware and also include at least one parent
of a student enrolled in a charter school operated in Delaware by the charter holder;
further provided a single individual shall not represent both the certified teacher and
parent role on the board;

4.1.3.2 The Applicant’s business is restricted to the opening and operation of: Charter Schools,
before school programs, after school programs and educationally related programs
offered outside the traditional school year.

4.1.3.3 The board of directors will meet regularly and comply with the Freedom of Information Act,
29 Del.C. Ch. 100 in conducting the Charter School’s business.

4.2 Student Performance Requirements
4.2.1 Minimum Requirements

4.2.1.1 The Applicant must agree and certify that it will comply with the requirements of the State
Public Education Assessment and Accountability System pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§151,
152, 153, 154, and 157 and the Department’s implementing rules and regulations
implementing Accountability, to specifically include the Delaware Student Testing Program
or any successor statewide assessment program including without limitation those relating
to the State Assessment System.

4.2.1.2 The Applicant must demonstrate that it has established and will apply measurable student
performance goals on the applicable assessments administered pursuant to the Delaware
Student Testing Program (DSTP) State Assessment System, and a timetable for
accomplishment of those goals. 

4.2.1.3 The Applicant must agree and certify that the Charter School’s average student
performance on the DSTP assessments in each content area will meet or exceed the
statewide average student performance of students in the same grades for each year of
test administration, unless the student population meets the criteria established in Section
4.2.2. If the Applicant plans to adopt or use performance standards or assessments in
addition to the standards set by the Department or the assessments administered
pursuant to the State Assessment System, the application and performance agreement
must specifically identify those additional standards or assessments and include a
planned baseline acceptable level of performance, measurable goals for improving
performance and a timetable for accomplishing improvement goals for each additional
indicator or assessment. The use of additional performance standards or assessments
shall not replace, diminish or otherwise supplant the Charter School’s obligation to meet
the performance standards set by the Department or to use the assessments
administered pursuant to the State Assessment System.

4.2.1.4 Following charter approval, but not later than a date established by the Department, the
Applicant must enter into a Performance Agreement approved by the Department with the
assent of the State Board, which shall address the organizational, academic and financial
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performance expectations of the Applicant during the term of the charter. The Department,
with the assent of the Board, shall establish and publish a Performance Framework which
shall be used to assess the school’s compliance with its Performance Agreement. Nothing
contained herein shall be interpreted to relieve an applicant of its obligation to comply with
any approval criteria or requirement set forth in 14 Del.C. Ch. 5. The Department shall
conduct annual audits using the Performance Framework to ensure ongoing compliance
with the school’s Performance Agreement.

4.2.1.5 For an Applicant proposing to serve students at risk of academic failure, the school’s
Performance Agreement shall specify what, if any, portion of the Performance Framework
shall or shall not apply to the school, or whether the Performance Framework shall be
modified to more appropriately measure the performance of the school.

4.2.2 Special Student Populations
4.2.2.1 An Applicant for a charter proposing enrollment preferences for students at risk of

academic failure shall comply with the minimum performance goals established in
Subsections 4.2.1.2 and 4.2.1.3. This requirement shall be waived where the Applicant
demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Department and State Board that the Charter
School will primarily serve at risk students and will apply performance goals and
timetables which are appropriate for such a student population.

4.2.2.2 An Applicant for a charter proposing an enrollment preference other than a preference for
students at risk of academic failure shall comply with the Section. 4.2.1. In addition, the
Department, with the approval of the State Board, may require such an Applicant to
establish and apply additional and higher student performance goals consistent with the
needs and abilities of the student population likely to be served as a result of the proposed
enrollment preferences.

4.2.3 If the Applicant plans to adopt or use performance standards or assessments in addition to the
standards set by the Department or the assessments administered pursuant to the DSTP, the
application must specifically identify those additional standards or assessments and include a
planned baseline acceptable level of performance, measurable goals for improving performance
and a timetable for accomplishing improvement goals for each additional indicator or assessment.
The use of additional performance standards or assessments shall not replace, diminish or
otherwise supplant the Charter School’s obligation to meet the performance standards set by the
Department or to use the assessments administered pursuant to the DSTP.

4.3 Educational Program
4.3.1 The application must demonstrate that the school’s proposed program, curriculum and

instructional strategies are aligned to State content standards, meet all grade appropriate State
program requirements, and in the case of any proposed Charter High School, includes driver
education. The educational program shall include the provision of extra instructional time for at risk
students, summer school and other services required to be provided by school districts pursuant to
the provisions of 14 Del.C. §153. Nothing in this subsection shall prevent an Applicant from
proposing high school graduation requirements in addition to the state graduation requirements.

4.3.2 The application must demonstrate that the Charter School’s educational program has the potential
to improve student performance. The program’s potential may be evidenced by:

4.3.2.1 Academically independent, peer reviewed studies of the program conducted by persons
or entities without a financial interest in the educational program or in the proposed
Charter School; 

4.3.2.2 Prior successful implementation of the program; and
4.3.2.3 The Charter School’s adherence to professionally accepted models of student

development.
4.3.3 The application must demonstrate that the Charter School’s educational program and procedures

will comply with applicable state and federal laws regarding children with disabilities, unlawful
discrimination and at risk populations, including but not limited to the following showings.
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4.3.3.1 The school’s plan for providing a free appropriate public education to students with
disabilities in accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, with 14
Del.C. Ch. 31 and with 14 DE Admin. Code 925 922 through 929, specifically including a
plan for having a continuum of educational placements available for children with
disabilities.

4.3.3.2 The school’s plan for complying with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and
with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.

4.3.3.3 The school’s plan for complying with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.
4.3.3.4 The school’s plan for complying with Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972. 

4.4 Economic Viability.
4.4.1 The application must demonstrate that the school is economically viable and shall include

satisfactory documentation of the sources and amounts of all proposed revenues and
expenditures during the school’s first three years of school operation after opening for instructional
purposes. There must be a budgetary reserve for contingencies of not less than 2.0% of the total
annual amount of proposed revenues. In addition, the application shall document the sources and
amounts of all proposed revenues and expenditures during the start up period prior to the opening
of the school.

4.4.2 The Department may require that the Applicant submit data demonstrating sufficient demand for
Charter School enrollment if another Charter School is in the same geographic area as the
Applicant’s proposed school. Such data may include, but is not limited to, enrollment waiting lists
maintained by other Charter Schools in the same geographic area and demonstrated parent
interest in the Applicant’s proposed school.

4.4.3 The application shall identify with specificity the proposed source(s) of any loan(s) to the Applicant
including, without limitation, loans necessary to implement the provisions of any major contract as
set forth below, and the date by which firm commitments for such loan(s) will be obtained.

4.4.4 The application shall contain a timetable with specific dates by which the school will have in place
the major contracts necessary for the school to open on schedule. “Major contracts” shall include,
without limitation, the school’s contracts for equipment, services (including bus and food services,
and related services for special education), leases of real and personal property, the purchase of
real property, the construction or renovation of improvements to real property, and insurance.
Contracts for bus and food services must be in place no later than August 1st of the year in which
the school proposes to open and August 1st of each year thereafter. Contracts for the lease or
purchase of real property, or the construction or renovation of improvements to real property must
be in place sufficiently far in advance so that the Applicant might obtain any necessary certificate
of occupancy for the school premises no later than June 15th of the year in which the school
proposes to open.

4.4.5 Reserved
4.5 Attendance, Discipline, Student Rights and Safety

4.5.1 The application must include a draft “Student Rights and Responsibilities Manual” that meets
applicable constitutional standards regarding student rights and conduct, including but not limited
to discipline, speech and assembly, procedural due process and applicable Department
regulations regarding discipline. 

4.5.1.1 The “Student Rights and Responsibilities Manual” must comply with the Gun Free Schools
Act of 1994 (20 U.S.C.A. §[8921 7151]) and Department Regulation 878 605.

4.5.1.2 The application must include a plan to distribute the “Student Rights and Responsibilities
Manual” to each Charter School student at the beginning of each school year. Students
who enroll after the beginning of the school year shall be provided with a copy of the
“Student Rights and Responsibilities Manual” at the time of enrollment.

4.5.2 The application must include the process and procedures the Charter School will follow to comply
with the following laws:
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4.5.2.1 14 Del.C. Ch. 27 and applicable Department regulations regarding school attendance,
including a plan to distribute attendance policies to each Charter School student at the
beginning of each school year. Students who enroll after the beginning of the school year
shall be provided with a copy of the attendance policy at the time of enrollment.

4.5.2.2 11 Del.C. Ch. 85 and applicable 14 Del.C. §511(p), and Department regulations regarding
criminal background checks for public school related employment.

4.5.2.3 14 Del.C. §4112 and applicable Department regulations regarding the reporting of school
crimes.

4.5.2.4 The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) and implementing federal and
Department regulations regarding disclosure of student records.

4.5.2.5 The provision of free and reduced lunch to eligible students pursuant to any applicable
state or federal statute or regulation.

4.5.3 The requirement that the Applicant provide for the health and safety of students, employees and
guests will be judged against the needs of the student body or population served. Except as
otherwise required in this regulation, the Applicant must either agree and certify that the services
of at least one (1) full time nurse will be provided for each facility in which students regularly attend
classes, or demonstrate that it has an adequate and comparable plan for providing for the health
and safety of its students. Any such plan must include the Charter School’s policies and
procedures for routine student health screenings, for administering medications to students
(including any proposed self administration), for monitoring chronic student medical conditions and
for responding to student health emergencies. Any applicant which receives funding equivalent to
the funding provided to school districts for one or more school nurses shall provide its students the
full time services of a corresponding number of registered nurses.

5.0 Nature of Charter
5.1 When granted, a charter is an authorization for the Charter Holder to open and operate a Charter

School in accordance with the terms of the charter, including the terms of any conditions placed on the
charter by the Department with the approval of the State Board.

5.1.1 It is the responsibility of the Charter Holder to notify the Department in writing of its compliance
with any time frames or other terms or conditions contained in or imposed on the charter. The
Department may require the Charter Holder to produce satisfactory evidence, including written
documentation, of compliance.

5.2 Compliance with the charter, including compliance with the terms of any conditions placed on the
charter, is a condition precedent to the authority to open and operate the Charter School. Failure to
comply with the terms of the charter and any conditions placed on the charter, including deadlines,
operates as a forfeiture of the authority to open the Charter School regardless of previous approval.
These regulations are incorporated into and made a part of each charter approved by the Department
with the consent of the State Board. A Charter School’s failure to comply with these regulations may be
treated as a failure on the part of the school to comply with its charter.

6.0 Funding
6.1 The Department may withhold State and local funding from a Charter Holder not in compliance with the

terms of the charter being funded, including compliance with any conditions placed on such charter.
6.2 The Department may withhold State and local funding from a Charter Holder while one or more of its

charters is under formal review.
6.3 State and local funding of any charter on probationary status will be released in accordance with the

terms of the probation.
6.4 Federal funding for a Charter Holder and under the control of the Department will be disbursed

according to the laws, regulations and policies of the federal program providing the funding and the
terms of any applicable federal grant approval including state requirements.
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7.0 Reserved Financial Audit
After July 1st of each year, each Charter Holder shall contract to have an audit of the business and
financial transactions, records, and accounts of the school, in a form and manner satisfactory to the
Department, and shall provide the audit results to the Department.

8.0 Enrollment Preferences, Solicitations and Debts
8.1 Enrollment Preferences

8.1.1 An Applicant to establish a new Charter School shall indicate in its application whether children of
the Charter School’s founders will be given an enrollment preference. If a founders’ preference will
be given, the application shall include the standard adopted by the Founding Board of Directors to
determine the founders. The standard used to determine the founders shall be consistent with the
requirements of Section 506(b)(4) of the Charter School Law. If the application is approved, the
Charter Holder shall provide the Department with the identity of its founders no later than March 1
immediately preceding the First Instructional Day.

8.2 Solicitations.
8.2.1 Any person or entity soliciting contributions, gifts or other funding on behalf of or for the benefit of

an existing or potential Charter School shall notify the person or entity solicited that enrollment of
an individual student in the Charter School is not contingent on, or assured by, any such
contribution, gift or other funding.

8.2.2 Written notices of fund raising activities for the benefit of a Charter School must contain the
following statement: “The [name of school] is a public school. Contributions and gifts are not
required for admission to the school and will in no way affect or improve a student’s opportunity for
admission.”

8.3 Debts
8.3.1 Any person or entity offering a loan to a Charter School must be advised by the school that debts

of the school are not debts of the State of Delaware and that neither the State nor any other
agency or instrumentality of the State is liable for the repayment of any indebtedness.

9.0 Modifications of Charters
9.1 A charter holder may apply to the Department for a modification of the charter following the granting of

the charter.
9.2 The application shall be submitted on a form approved by the Department and shall specify the exact

modification requested and describe the need for the modification.
9.3 The standards for deciding a modification application shall be as provided in Section 4.0 of these

regulations for the original grant of the charter. 
9.4 The following are considered applications for a new charter and shall not be processed or considered

as a modification application:
9.4.1 An application to collectively change the mission, goals for student performance and educational

program of the charter school; or
9.4.2 An application, at any time before the First Instructional Day, to offer educational services at a site

other than the site approved as part of the school’s charter, when the charter has previously been
amended to change the school’s site; or

9.4.3 An application to replace, remove or permit the school to operate without an educational
management organization providing administrative, managerial or instructional staff or services to
the charter holder at any time before the First Instructional Day.

9.5 An application for a major or minor charter modification may not be filed while a school’s charter is on
formal review, except where the Secretary determines that the requested modification is unrelated to
the reason the school’s charter has been placed on formal review or where the modification addresses
the reason the school was placed on formal review provided the modification is filed before the
preliminary report is approved by the Accountability Committee.
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9.6 A charter shall not be modified to permit a charter school’s first instructional day to occur later than the
third September 15th after the date the charter is originally granted. In the event that the first
instructional day does not occur by that date, the charter shall be deemed forfeited and the authority to
open and operate a charter school expired. Further, no charter shall be modified to permit a charter
school to obtain a certificate of occupancy, either temporary or final, for all or any part of the premises
to be occupied by the school, later than June 15 immediately preceding the authorized opening date of
the school.

9.7 An increase or decrease of up to 5% in a charter school’s current authorized enrollment shall not be
considered a modification of the school’s charter. Any modification application to increase or decrease
a charter school’s current authorized enrollment by more than 5% must be filed between November 1st

and December 31st and, if approved, shall be effective the following school year.
9.8 Major modifications.

9.8.1 A major modification is any proposed change to a charter, including proposed changes to any
condition placed on the charter, which would:

9.8.1.1 Replace, remove or permit the school to operate without an educational management
organization providing administrative, managerial or instructional staff or services to the
charter school at anytime on or after the First Instructional Day; or

9.8.1.2 Alter enrollment preferences; or
9.8.1.3 Result in an increase or decrease in the school’s total authorized enrollment of more than

15%, provided further the major modification request must be filed between November 1st

and December 31st and, if approved, shall be effective the following school year; or
9.8.1.4 Alter grade configurations; or
9.8.1.5 At any time after the First Instructional Day, offer educational services at a site other than

the site approved as part of the school’s charter, except where such change is the
unavoidable result of a loss by fire or other “casualty” as that term is defined in Black’s
Law Dictionary; or

9.8.1.6 At any time before the First Instructional Day, offer educational services at a site other
than the site approved as part of the school’s charter, provided that the charter has not
previously been amended to change the school’s site; or

9.8.1.7 Alter any two of the following: the school’s mission, goals for student performance, or
educational program; or

9.8.1.8 Alter the charter school’s performance agreement with the Department; or
9.8.1.9 Alter the charter school's charter to satisfy the provisions of "restructuring" as prescribed

in the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) or any
reauthorization thereof.

9.8.1.10 Transfer of the charter, and of oversight of that charter school, from another authorizer to
the Department, before the expiration of the charter term, shall be made by filing a written
petition with the Department, on a form approved by the Department, by the public charter
school or its original authorizer. The Department will approve a transfer only where the
Charter School is fully in compliance with the current terms of its charter and any
applicable rules, regulations and statutes. The Department may impose conditions upon
the transfer in order to ensure continuing compliance with the approval criteria and the
regulations of the Department.

9.9 Minor modifications.
9.9.1 A minor modification is any proposed change to a charter, including proposed changes to any

condition placed on the charter, which is not a major modification. Minor modifications include, but
are not limited to:

9.9.1.1 Changes to the name of either the charter school or charter holder; or
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9.9.1.2 The first extension of any deadline imposed on the charter school or charter holder by
thirty (30) working days or less (or by 15 calendar days in the case of the First Instructional
Day); or

9.9.1.3 Changes in the standards or assessments used to judge student performance (other than
the State standards or the assessments administered pursuant to the DSTP); or

9.9.1.43 In the case of a charter school which is open with students in attendance, offering
educational services at a site other than, or in addition to, the site approved as part of the
school’s charter, when use of the approved site has unavoidably been lost by reason of
fire or other casualty as that term is defined in Black’s Law Dictionary; or

9.9.1.5 Changes to alter not more than one of the following: the school’s mission, goals for
student performance, or educational program; or

9.9.1.64 An increase or decrease in the school’s total authorized enrollment of more than 5%, but
not more than 15%, provided further the minor modification request must be filed between
November 1st and December 31st and, if approved, shall be effective the following school
year; or

9.9.1.75 Alter, expand or enhance existing or planned school facilities or structures, including any
plan to use temporary or modular structures, provided that the applicant demonstrates
that the school will maintain the health and safety of the students and staff and remain
economically viable as provided in 4.4 above; or

9.9.1.86 Any change in the school’s agreement with an educational management organization
other than as set forth in 9.4.3 and 9.8.1.1 above; or

9.9.1.97 A change to the current authorized number of hours, either daily or annually, devoted to
actual school sessions. Regardless of any proposed change, the school shall maintain the
minimum instructional hours required by 14 Delaware Code; or

9.9.1.108 A change in the terms of the current site facilities arrangements including, but not limited
to, a lease to a purchase or a purchase to a lease arrangement; or

9.9.2 The Secretary may decide the minor modification application based on the supporting documents
supplied with the application unless the Secretary finds that additional information is needed from
the applicant.

9.9.3 The Secretary may refer a minor modification request to the Accountability Committee for review if
the Secretary determines, in her/his sole discretion, that such review would be helpful in her/his
consideration of the application. If the Secretary refers a minor modification application to the
Accountability Committee, she/he may decide the application based on any report from the
Committee and the supporting documents related to the application. The applicant for a minor
modification shall be notified if the minor modification request has been forwarded to the
Accountability Committee. The applicant may be asked to provide additional supporting
documentation.

9.9.4 The Secretary may deny a minor modification request if the supporting documentation is
incomplete or insufficient provided the applicant has been advised additional information was
needed

9.9.5 Upon receiving an application for a minor modification, the Secretary shall notify the State Board of
the application and her/his decision on whether to refer the application to the Accountability
Committee.

9.9.6 The meeting and hearing process provided for in Section 511(h), (i) and (j) of the Charter School
Law shall not apply to a minor modification application even where the Secretary refers the
application to the Accountability Committee.

9.9.7 Decisions for minor modifications to a charter shall may be decided by the Secretary, with the
concurrence of the State Board of Education, within 30 working days from the date the application
was filed, unless the timeline is waived by mutual agreement of the Secretary and the applicant, or
in any case where the Secretary, in the sole discretion of the Secretary, deems that it would be
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beneficial to either refer the matter to the Accountability Committee or to seek advice from the
State Board prior to deciding the matter.

10.0 Renewals
10.1 Charters are granted for an initial period of 4 years of operation and are renewable every 5 years

thereafter.  
10.2 Renewals are only available to the current Charter Holder and may not be used to transfer a charter to

a different legal entity.
10.3 Charters shall be renewed only if the school receives a satisfactory Pperformance Rreview.

Performance reviews shall be conducted by the Department using the Performance Framework
approved by the Department with the assent of the State Board.

10.4 The Department shall conduct annual performance reviews based on the Performance Framework.
The Department shall provide the results of the Performance Review to the school.

11.0 Public Hearings
11.1 Any public hearing conducted by the Department pursuant to the provisions of the Charter School Law

shall be conducted as a joint public hearing with the State Board of Education.

12.0 Background Checks
In addition to the criminal background check and Child Protection Registry check required by law to be
provided during the application process, whenever a new member shall be elected to the board of
directors of a charter school, the school shall promptly provide the name and mailing address of such
new member to the Department of Education, Charter School Office; the newly elected member of the
board shall, within 45 days of election to the board, provide the Department of Education with any
authorization necessary to conduct the Child Protection Registry check and with a copy of that
member’s criminal background check.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Transitional Resources to Relative Caregivers

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to
amend the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Transitional Resources to Relative Caregivers.
The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the June 2012 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the
public concerning the proposed regulations to be produced June 30, 2012 at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The proposal described below amends policies in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding
Transitional Resources to Relative Caregivers.  
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Statutory Authority
• 31 Delaware Code, Section 356, Kinship Care Program
• 45 CFR §205.10, Hearings
• Social Security Act §404, Use of Grants

Background
The Kinship Care Program provides assistance for relative caregivers during the 180-day transition period

when a child first moves into the non-parent caregiver's home (relative caregivers are non-parental relatives, such
as grandparents or aunts and uncles, who take on the responsibility of caring for a relative child). The program
assists in meeting immediate needs for clothing, shelter, health, safety, and educational supplies.

Financing of the program is provided by the Delaware General Assembly and is limited to available funds. The
program is provided through a partnership between the Division of State Service Centers, the Division of Social
Services, and the Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities.

Summary of Proposed Changes
DSSM 6100 through DSSM 6111, Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional Resource Program

Providing Transitional Resources to Relative Caregivers: The name of the section is being changed to more
accurately indicate the content of the policy. All policy sections are reformatted and reworded for clarity and ease of
readability. Applicable federal and state citations are also added to policy sections.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE

The Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) offered the following observations. The
Division of Social Services (DSS) has considered each comment and responds as follows.

The Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) has reviewed the Division of Social
Services (DSS) proposal to rename and revise the regulations covering the “Kinship Care Program”.  We endorse
the proposed regulation. 

The regulations define eligibility, scope of services and appeal rights. In general, the standards appear to be
consumer-oriented.  

Agency Response: DSS thanks GACEC for their endorsement.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the June 2012 Register of Regulations should

be adopted.
THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual

(DSSM) regarding Transitional Resources to Relative Caregivers is adopted and shall be final effective August 10,
2012.

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #12-36
REVISION:

DSSM 6100 - 6111 Transitional Resources to Relative Caregivers

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
June 2012 issue of the Register at page 1670 (15 DE Reg. 1670). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

DSSM 6100 - 6111 Transitional Resources to Relative Caregivers
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Child Care Subsidy Program

Determining Income Eligibility

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:
Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to

amend the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding the Child Care Subsidy Program, specifically,
Determining Income Eligibility. The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to
29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the June 2012 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the
public concerning the proposed regulations to be produced June 30, 2012 at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The proposal described below amends policies in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding
the Child Care Subsidy Program, specifically, Determining Income Eligibility.  

Statutory Authority
45 CFR §98.20, A child’s eligibility for child care services

Summary of Proposed Changes
DSSM 11003.6, Income Limits Determining Income Eligibility: The name of the section is being changed to

more accurately indicate the content of the policy. This policy section is reformatted and clarifying language is also
provided to make the rules easier to understand and follow. Specifically, this regulatory action adds the statement
that families that are referred by and active with the Delaware Division of Family Services (DFS) are exempt from
the income requirements. This exemption has long been in practice and is also found in DSSM 11003.9.2. The
applicable federal citation is also added to the policy section.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE

The Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) offered the following observations. The
Division of Social Services (DSS) has considered each comment and responds as follows. 

The Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) has reviewed the Division of Social
Services proposal to revise the “income eligibility” standard in its child care subsidy regulation. This changes the
heading of the section and clarifies that “(f)amilies referred by and active with the Division of Family Services do
not have to meet the income limit.”

We did not identify any concerns with the revised standards; therefore, we endorse the proposed regulation.
Agency Response: DSS thanks GACEC for their endorsement.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the June 2012 Register of Regulations should

be adopted.
THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual

(DSSM) regarding the Child Care Subsidy Program, specifically, Determining Income Eligibility is adopted and
shall be final effective August 10, 2012.
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Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #12-37
REVISION:

11003.6 Income Limits Determining Income Eligibility
45 CFR 98.20

To be eligible for child care services, a family is to have gross income equal to or less than 200 percent of the
current federal poverty level for a family of equal size. This income requirement typically applies to all income
eligible child care programs. Refer to the most current Cost of Living Adjustment Administrative Notice for current
rates.

This policy applies to applicants for and recipients of child care assistance.
1. Gross Income Is Capped

Gross monthly income must be equal to or less than 200% of the Federal Poverty Limit for the family size. 
2. Income Requirement

The income requirement applies to all income eligible child care programs.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR QUALITY
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60; (7 Del.C., Ch. 60)

7 DE Admin. Code 1125

Secretary’s Order No.: 2012-A-0025
Date of Issuance: July 16, 2012

Effective Date of the Amendment: August 11, 2012

1125 Requirements for Preconstruction Review

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
(“Department” or “DNREC”) the following findings, reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the
Secretary in the above-referenced rulemaking proceeding.

Background and Procedural History

This Order considers proposed revised regulations to amend 7 DE Admin. Code 1125, Requirements for
Preconstruction Review: Sections 1.9 (“Definitions”). The Department’s Division of Air Quality commenced the
regulatory development process with Start Action Notice 2012-05. The Department published its initial proposed
regulation Amendments in the June 1, 2012 Delaware Register of Regulations, and held a public hearing on June
25, 2012. It should be noted that public comment was received from the Delaware Solid Waste Authority by the
Department with regard to this proposed promulgation, and the Department provided a very thorough and detailed
response to the same. 

The proposed revised amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1125 will clarify that a major source for any pollutant
subject to regulation under the Clean Air Act (“CAA”) is subject to Prevention of Significant Deterioration (“PSD”)
review for all pollutants emitted at greater than the significance level. Without this clarification, the U.S. EPA will be
unable to approve Delaware’s State Implementation Plan (“SIP”)’s November 10, 2010 revision. Additionally, the
Department seeks to correct (1) existing clerical errors contained within the proposed rule language as set forth in

Exception:  Families referred by and active with the Division of Family Services do
not have to meet the income limit.
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the June 1, 2012 edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations; and (2) an additional typographical error
contained within the current version of this regulation. 

The Department’s presiding hearing officer, Lisa A. Vest, prepared a Hearing Officer’s Report dated July 7,
2012 (Report). The Report recommends certain findings and the adoption of the proposed revised Amendments as
attached to the Report as Appendix A.

Findings and Discussion

I find that the proposed revised Amendments are well-supported by the record developed by the Department,
and I adopt the Report to the extent it is consistent with this Order. The Department’s experts developed the record
and drafted the proposed Amendments. I find that the Department’s experts in the Division of Air Quality fully
developed the record to support adoption of these revised Amendments. With the adoption of this Order, Delaware
will (1) clarify that a major source for any pollutant subject to regulation under the Clean Air Act (“CAA”) is subject
to Prevention of Significant Deterioration (“PSD”) review for all pollutants emitted at greater than the significance
level; and (2) correct both existing clerical errors contained within the proposed rule language as set forth in the
June 1, 2012 edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations, as well as one additional typographical error
contained within the current version of this regulation.
In conclusion, the following findings and conclusions are entered:

1.) The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority to issue an Order adopting these proposed
Amendments as final;

2.)  The Department provided adequate public notice of the proposed Amendments, and provided the public
with an adequate opportunity to comment on the proposed Amendments, including at the public hearing held on
June 25, 2012; 

3.) The Department held a public hearing on June 25, 2012 in order to consider public comment before
making any final decision;

4.) The Department’s Hearing Officer’s Report, including its recommended record and the recommended
revised Amendments, as set forth in Appendix A, are adopted to provide additional reasons and findings for this
Order;

5.) The recommended revised Amendments should be adopted as final regulation Amendments because
Delaware will be able to (1) clarify that a major source for any pollutant subject to regulation under the Clean Air Act
(“CAA”) is subject to Prevention of Significant Deterioration (“PSD”) review for all pollutants emitted at greater than
the significance level; (2) correct both existing clerical errors contained within the proposed rule language as set
forth in the June 1, 2012 edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations, as well as one additional typographical
error contained within the current version of this regulation.; and, lastly, because (3) the amendments are well
supported by documents in the record; 

6.) Moreover, promulgation of the proposed revised amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1125 will further
enable the U.S. EPA to approve Delaware’s State Implementation Plan (“SIP”)’s November 10, 2010 revision.

7.) The Department shall submit this Order approving the final revised regulation to the Delaware Register of
Regulations for publication in its next available issue, and provide such other notice as the law and regulation
require and the Department determines is appropriate.

Collin P. O’Mara, Secretary

1125 Requirements for Preconstruction Review

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1125 Requirements for Preconstruction Review
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DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Sections 901(b) and 903(e); (7 Del.C., §§901(b) & 

903(e))
7 DE Admin. Code 3531

Secretary’s Order No.: 2012-F-0026
Date of Issuance: July 16, 2012

Effective Date of the Amendment: August 11, 2012

3531 Tautog

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
(“Department” or “DNREC”) the following findings, reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the
Secretary in the above-referenced rulemaking proceeding.

Background and Procedural History

This Order considers proposed regulatory amendments to Delaware Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 3531
regarding Tautog.  The Department’s Division of Fish and Wildlife commenced the regulatory development process
with Start Action Notice 2012-07. The Department published the proposed amendments in the June 1, 2012
Delaware Register of Regulations and held a public hearing on June 22, 2012. The Department’s presiding hearing
officer, Lisa A. Vest, prepared a Hearing Officer’s Report dated July 11, 2012 (Report). The Report recommends
certain findings and the adoption of the proposed regulation amendments as attached to the Report as Appendix A.

Findings and Discussion

I find that the proposed new regulation is well-supported by the record developed by the Department, and
adopt the Report to the extent it is consistent with this Order. The Department’s experts in the Division of Fish and
Wildlife developed the record and drafted the proposed regulation. As a result of the regulatory development
process, the Department received public comments supporting this proposed regulation, as discussed in the
Report.

With the adoption of these regulatory amendments to Delaware Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 3531 as final,
Delaware will be able to modify its existing regulations to allow for less restrictive management measures,
consistent with a 39% reduction in exploitation, while remain in compliance with the federal guidelines for the
management of Tautog, as set forth by the ASMFC, to wit: to reduce the size limit from 16 inches to 15 inches.  The
current creel limit of five (i.e., five fish per day), with the exception of the time period from April 1 through May 11, at
which time the creel limit will be 3, as well as the two current closures (the first at the beginning of summer, from
May 12th through July 16th, and then a second closure at the end of summer, from Sept. 1st through Sept. 28th)
shall all remain the same.

Of the two possible options vetted to the public during this promulgation process, the Department believes
Option #1, as set forth above, to be the preferred reduction strategy with regard to tautog management for the
2012 season.  Tautog exhibit site fidelity (aggregate around structure and return to the same sprawling areas),
which makes them vulnerable to fishing pressure.  Prior to the development of Addendum VI, Delaware’s
recreational tautog anglers expressed sentiment for Delaware to voluntarily reduce its ten fish creel limit, despite
the fact that Delaware would receive no credit for taking a voluntary reduction.  The requests for such action were
largely prompted by concerns that out-of-state charter boats were relocating to Delaware to fish for tautog in the
winter, due to the liberal reel limits (highest along the Atlantic coast).  The eight fish creel limit contained in “Option
2” would have continued to give Delaware the highest creel limits of any state along the coast, and would have thus
perpetuated this concern.  Furthermore, the ASMFC’s Tautog Technical Committee has historically favored the use
of lower creel limits to constrain the fishery in an effort to reduce the likelihood of recoupment.

The recreational spear fishing sector appears to prefer “Option 2”, as the longer season may decrease the
likelihood that poor water clarity will impact tautog catchability, as it does later in the summer.  Comments from this
sector of the recreational fishery appeared disproportionate to the larger recreational hook and line sector.  As
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referenced above, the hook and line sector has a history of advocating for a reduced creel limit in recent years,
based largely on concern that the local stock is being targeted by out of state vessels.  Further, a popular Delaware
fishing discussion website conducted a poll that substantiates a preference by the broader recreational fishing
community for Option #1, with 66% (47) of the respondents supporting Option #1, and 34% (24) of the respondent
supporting Option #2.  This poll was incorporated into the public hearing record for consideration.

The Department concludes that, while either Option #1 or #2 would be consistent with the requirements
contained in Addendum VI, Option #2 reduces the likelihood of recoupment and addresses concerns regaring
Delaware’s liberal creel limits.  For these reasons, the Department’s Division of Fish & Wildlife supports the formal
adoption of Option #1 as Delaware’s preferred reduction strategy for tautog management in 2012.
In conclusion, the following findings and conclusions are entered:

1.) The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority to issue an Order adopting these proposed
Amendments as final;

2.)  The Department provided adequate public notice of the proposed regulatory amendments to this
regulation, and provided the public with an adequate opportunity to comment on the proposed amendments,
including at a public hearing; 

3.) The Department held a public hearing on the proposed amendments to this regulation in order to consider
public comments before making any final decision, and has considered all relevant and timely public comment
received;

4) The Department’s Hearing Officer’s Report, including its recommended record and the recommended
amendments to this regulation, as set forth in Appendix A, are adopted to provide additional reasons and findings
for this Order;  

5.) The recommended amendments to this regulation satisfy the aforementioned federal requirements of
reduction strategies with regard to Delaware’s management of Tautog, and do not result in any change from the
proposed amendments as originally published in the June 1, 2012, Delaware Register of Regulations; 

6.)  The recommended amendments should be adopted as final because Delaware will be enabled to modify
its existing regulations to allow for less restrictive management measures, consistent with a 39% reduction in
exploitation, while remain in compliance with the federal guidelines for the management of Tautog, as set forth by
the ASMFC.  Furthermore, with the promulgation of Option #1 as the preferred reduction strategy for tautog
management in 2012, Delaware will be able to meet the aforementioned 39% reduction mandate by the reduction
of the size limit for tautog from 16 inches to 15 inches.  The current creel limit of five (i.e., five fish per day), with the
exception of the time period from April 1 through May 11, at which time the creel limit will be 3, as well as the two
current closures (the first at the beginning of summer, from May 12th through July 16th, and then a second closure
at the end of summer, from Sept. 1st through Sept. 28th) shall all remain the same; and

7.) The Department shall submit this Order approving the final amendments to this regulation to the Delaware
Register of Regulations for publication in its next available issue, and provide such other notice as the law and
regulation require and the Department determines is appropriate. 

Collin P. O’Mara, Secretary

3531 Tautog

1.0 Notwithstanding the provisions of 7 Del.C. §939, it shall be unlawful for any person to possess any
tautog, Tautoga onitis, less than sixteen (16) [fifteen (15) inches] in total length.

2.0 Notwithstanding the provisions of 7 Del.C. §§938, 939, it shall be unlawful for any person to possess
more than five (5) [five (5)] tautog during the period beginning at 12:00 a.m. on January 1 and ending
at 11:59 p.m. on March 31, and during the period beginning at 12:00 a.m. on July 17 [July 17] and
ending at 11:59 p.m. on August 31, and during the period beginning at 12:00 a.m. on September 29
and ending at 11:59 p.m. on December 31, at or between the place where said tautog were caught and
said person's personal abode or temporary or transient place of lodging.

3.0 Notwithstanding the provisions of 7 Del.C. §§938, 939, it shall be unlawful for any person to possess
more than three (3) tautog during the period beginning at 12:00 a.m. on April 1 and ending at 11:59
p.m. on May 11, at or between the place where said tautog were caught and said person's personal
abode or temporary or transient place of lodging.
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4.0 Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections 1.0, 2.0 and 3.0 of this regulation, it shall be unlawful for
any person to possess any tautog during the period beginning at 12:00 a.m. on May 12 and ending at
11:59 p.m. on July 16 and during the period beginning at 12:00 a.m. on September 1 and ending at
11:59 p.m. on September 28, except in said person's personal abode or temporary or transient place
of lodging.

DIVISION OF WASTE AND HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCES
Statutory Authority:  Title 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 91

7 DE Admin. Code 1375

Secretary’s Order No.: 2012-WH-0024
Date of Issuance: July 10, 2012

Effective Date of the Amendment: August 11, 2012

1375 Regulations Governing Hazardous Substance Cleanup

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
(“Department” or “DNREC”) the following findings, reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the
Secretary in the above-referenced rulemaking proceeding.

Background and Procedural History

This Order considers proposed regulatory amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1375, Delaware Regulations
Governing Hazardous Substance Cleanup (“HSC Regulations”). The Department’s Site Investigation and
Restoration Section (formerly known as the Site Investigation and Restoration Branch) of the Division of Waste and
Hazardous Substances (formerly known as the Division of Air & Waste Management) commenced the regulatory
development process with Start Action Notices 2008-26.  The Department initially published the proposed
regulatory amendments in the May 1, 2012 Delaware Register of Regulations and held a public hearing on May 31,
2012.  The Department’s presiding hearing officer, Lisa A. Vest, prepared a Hearing Officer’s Report dated June
27, 2012 (Report). The Report recommends certain findings and the adoption of the proposed Amendments as
attached to the Report as Appendix A.

Findings and Discussion

I find that the proposed Amendments are well-supported by the record developed by the Department, and I
adopt the Report to the extent it is consistent with this Order. The Department’s experts developed the record and
drafted the proposed Amendments. Throughout the lengthy regulatory development process regarding this
promulgation, the Department received absolutely no public comment from the regulated community, as noted in
the Report, and no member of the public attended the hearing held on May 31, 2012.

I find that the Department’s experts in the Site Investigation and Restoration Section of the Division of Waste
and Hazardous Substances fully developed the record to support adoption of these Amendments. With the
adoption of this Order, Delaware will be enabled to amend its Hazardous Substance Cleanup (“HSC”) Regulations
to establish new procedures for implementing the Hazardous Substance Cleanup Act, including Subchapter II, the
Brownfields Development Program.  Other substantive revisions to Delaware’s HSC Regulations are as follows:
(1) new definitions; (2) reporting requirements for releases of hazardous substances; (3) Environmental Consultant
Certification Requirements; (4) additional types of investigations for sites with releases; (5) new cleanup, oversight,
and reporting requirements for remedial actions; (6) incorporation of the Uniform Environmental Covenant Act
(UECA) and Consolidation of Long Term Stewardship Requirements; (7) facility closure for cleaned up sites; (8)
Natural Resource Damage Assessment; and (9) formal reformatting and re-organization of HSC Regulations to
enhance overall clarity and understanding for the regulated community.

In conclusion, the following findings and conclusions are entered:
1.) The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority to issue an Order adopting these proposed
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Amendments as final;
2.)  The Department provided adequate public notice of the proposed Amendments, and provided the public

with an adequate opportunity to comment on the proposed Amendments, including at the public hearing held on
May 31, 2012; 

3.) The Department held a public hearing on May 31, 2012 in order to consider public comments before
making any final decision;

4) The Department’s Hearing Officer’s Report, including its recommended record and the recommended
Amendments as set forth in Appendix A, are adopted to provide additional reasons and findings for this Order;  

5.) The recommended Amendments do not reflect any changes from the proposed Amendments as published
in the May 1, 2012, Delaware Register of Regulations; 

6.)  The recommended Amendments should be adopted as final regulation Amendments because Delaware
will be enabled to (1) establish new procedures for implementing the Hazardous Substance Cleanup Act, including
Subchapter II, the Brownfields Development Program; (2) update and revise the existing HSC regulations to more
closely follow the HSCA process; (3) clarifications and reorganizations made to specific sections of these
regulations will promote a greater understanding of said regulations for the regulated community; and (4) the
amendments are well supported by documents in the record; and that

7.) The Department shall submit this Order approving the final regulation to the Delaware Register of
Regulations for publication in its next available issue, and provide such other notice as the law and regulation
require and the Department determines is appropriate. 

Collin P. O’Mara, Secretary

1375 Regulations Governing Hazardous Substance Cleanup

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the May
2012 issue of the Register at page 1559 (15 DE Reg. 1559). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1375 Regulations Governing Hazardous Substance Cleanup

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Gaming Control Board
Statutory Authority: 28 Delaware Code, Section 1122 (28 Del.C. §1122)

10 DE Admin. Code 101, 102, 103 & 104

ORDER

101 Regulations Governing Bingo; 102 Regulations Governing Raffles; 103 Regulations Governing 
Charitable Gambling Other Than Raffles; 104 Regulations Governing Texas Hold’em Poker

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on
Thursday, July 5, 2012, at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of Charitable Gaming, to receive comments
and to review written comments submitted by the public, if any, regarding proposed amendments to the Board’s
Rules. 

There are several proposed amendments. Some would simply eliminate references to specific statutes,
because pending legislation will probably result in those statutes being renumbered. Certain language is changed
as well to update the rules. One change would amend 10 DE Admin. Code 101, by adding Rule 2.6, prohibiting
the playing of bingo at a charitable gaming vendor’s facility.  

Another would amend 10 DE Admin. Code 102, by allowing raffles over an extended period of time, with a
chance to win on multiple occasions, and an opportunity to purchase a chance throughout the period of the raffle.
It would also make clear that such a raffle, lasting up to six months, would be charged a single application fee. In
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addition, the rules will make it clear that one must be 18 years of age to purchase a raffle ticket.  Another
amendment would clarify that the sponsoring organization must handle all money, and no third party vendor, such
as PayPal, may be used. A new section 3.8 will provide that no houses or other buildings may be won in a raffle. A
new Rule 3.9 will provide that no raffle tickets may be sold until a license to conduct the raffle has been issued. 

There will also be amendments to 10 DE Admin. Code 103 to update language and eliminate certain statutory
references.  A new section 6.4 will require a new owner of a charitable gaming vendor to produce a Delaware
business license to the Board.  Also, an organization using that vendor for an event must inform the Board that it
knows of the change in ownership and will continue with the event using the new owners.  An amendment to Rule
3.1.6 will make it clear that no tip cups are permitted at charitable gaming events.  Donations are permitted, but
must be placed in containers located near  the entrance and be at all times accessible to the member in charge of
the event.

The proposed amendments were published in the Register of Regulations, Volume 15, Issue 12, on June 1,
2012.

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

No written comments were received by the Board.  No member of the public appeared to testify at the hearing. 

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide written comments and testimony on the
proposed amendments. 

2. The Board finds that the proposed amendments are necessary and in the public interest. 
3. Pursuant to 28 Del.C. §1122, the Board has statutory authority to promulgate regulations governing

charitable gaming. 

DECISION AND EFFECTIVE DATE

The Board hereby adopts the proposed amendments to its rules in the manner to be published in the Register
of Regulations in August, 2012, to be effective ten days after publication of the Order in the Register of
Regulations.

TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the revised rules shall be as published in the Register of Regulations in June, 2012, as attached
hereto as Exhibit A.

SO ORDERED this 5th day of July, 2012.

DELAWARE BOARD OF CHARITABLE GAMING

101 Regulations Governing Bingo

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
June 2012 issue of the Register at page 1679 (15 DE Reg. 1679). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

101 Regulations Governing Bingo; 102 Regulations Governing Raffles; 103 Regulations Governing 
Charitable Gambling Other Than Raffles; 104 Regulations Governing Texas Hold’em Poker

Scott Angelucci, Chair Deborah Messina, Member
James Greene, Member Janet Williams-Coger, Member
Sharon McDowell, Member
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 2905 (24 Del.C., §2905)

24 DE Admin. Code 2930

ORDER

2930 Council on Real Estate Appraisers

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118 and 24 Del.C. §4006(1), the Delaware Council on  Real  Estate  Appraisers
issues  this  Order  adopting  proposed  amendments  to  the Board's  Rules.  Following notice and a public
hearing on July 17, 2012 the Board makes the following findings and conclusions:

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE

1. The Council posted public notice of the proposed amendments in the June 1, 2012 Register of
Regulations  and in the Delaware  News Journal Review and Delaware State News. The Commission
proposed  to change rule 2.2.4 to extend  the maximum period of time during which a licensee may maintain
inactive status from six years to an indefinite time period.

2. The Council received no written comments during June or July of 2012. The Council held a public
hearing on July 17, 20012 and received no public comments. The Council marked at Board Exhibit 1 affidavits
of publication of the proposed rule change and public hearing.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS

3. The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide the Council  with comments in writing and
by testimony at the public hearing on the proposed amendments to the Council's Rules.   Having  received  no
comments,  the Council  finds no basis to make  any  additional  changes  to  the proposed  changes  to the
regulations  and  hereby adopts the changes as proposed:

2.2.4 A licensee or certificate holder may apply for inactive status for an indefinite time period not to
exceed 6 years if he or she is not performing appraisals in Delaware.

The effective date of this Order will be ten (10) days from the publication of this Order in the Register of
Regulations on September 1, 2012.

IT IS SO ORDERED this  17th day of July, 2012.
William Dively, Chair

2930 Council on Real Estate Appraisers

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
June 2012 issue of the Register at page 1707 (15 DE Reg. 1707). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

2930 Council on Real Estate Appraisers
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 5306(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §5306(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 5300

ORDER

5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork

After due notice in the Delaware Register of Regulations and two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was
held on June 21, 2012 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of Massage and Bodywork (“the Board”) to
receive comments regarding proposed amendments to the Board’s Rules and Regulations.  The Board has
proposed revisions to Rule 3.0, pertaining to the examination required for licensure as a massage therapist.
Currently, an applicant is required to take and pass the National Certification Examination administered by the
National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (“NCBTMB”). The proposed revision will
permit an applicant to take either the NCBTMB examination, or the MBLEx examination administered by the
Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards.  This revision will give applicants two methods to achieve licensure.
In addition, the Board has proposed a new Rule 7.9, which will permit professional Board members to use Board
meeting attendance towards CE requirements, pursuant to the limitations of Rule 7.3.2.

Pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. §10115, notice of the proposed amendments to the
Rules and Regulations was published on May 1, 2012 in the Delaware Register of Regulations, Volume 15, Issue
11 at 15 DE Reg. 1581.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

There was no written or verbal comment presented at the June 21, 2012 hearing. 
The following notices were admitted as exhibits and made part of the record:
Exhibit 1:  News Journal Affidavit of Publication.
Exhibit 2:  Delaware State News Affidavit of Publication.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions
There was no written or verbal comment presented.
Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §5306(a)(3), the Board has the authority to “[d]esignate the written examination to be

taken by all persons applying for licensure as massage and bodywork therapists.”  This provision recognizes the
expertise of the Board to make this determination.  Currently, an applicant is required to take and pass the National
Certification Examination administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork
(“NCBTMB”). The proposed revision will permit an applicant to take either the   NCBTMB examination, or the
MBLEx examination administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards.  The Board determined
that both examinations will ensure that applicants are qualified to practice massage and bodywork in the State of
Delaware. Permitting applicants to choose which examination to take will simply give applicants two methods to
achieve licensure.

With respect to the proposed new Rule 7.9, professional members will be able to use Board meeting
attendance towards CE requirements, pursuant to the limitations of Rule 7.3.2.  The Board determined that this
Rule is appropriate and consistent with what a number of other Title 24 boards permit, such as the Delaware Real
Estate Commission and the Delaware Board of Occupational Therapy Practice.

The Law
The Board’s rulemaking authority is provided by 24 Del.C. §5306(a)(1)).

Decision and Effective Date
The Board hereby adopts the proposed amendments to the Rules and Regulations as effective 10 days

following publication of this Order in the Delaware Register of Regulations.
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Text and Citation
The text of the revised Rules and Regulations remains as published in the Delaware Register of Regulations,

Volume 15, Issue 11 on May 1, 2012, without modification.

SO ORDERED this 21st day of June 2012.

DELAWARE BOARD OF MASSAGE AND BODYWORK

5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the May
2012 issue of the Register at page 1581 (15 DE Reg. 1581). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork

Holly Overmyer, President Rachel Dunning
Sandra Jachimowski, Vice President Gordon Gelley
Kari Ainsworth Sharon Harris, Secretary
Wayne Dawson
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly meeting on Thursday, July 19, 2012 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

PUBLIC NOTICE
Estate Recovery and Civil Unions and Medicare Cost Sharing

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to update current reg-
ulations in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding Medicaid Estate Recovery, specifically 1)
asset protections recognized for civil union partners; and, 2) eliminating Medicare cost-sharing expenses from
estate recovery.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by August 31, 2012.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
PUBLIC NOTICE

Program of All Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to establish PACE
Program enrollee eligibility requirements.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Planning & Policy
Development Unit, Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New
Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 or by fax to 302-255-4425 by August 31, 2012.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Emergency Assistance Services

PUBLIC NOTICE

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) regarding Emergency Assistance Services.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program &
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Development Unit, Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware
19720-0906 or by fax to (302) 255-4425 by August 31, 2012. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR QUALITY
1120 New Source Performance Standards

PUBLIC NOTICE

Congress sought to reduce public health impacts due to the exposure to criteria pollutants in the 1990
Amendments to the Clean Air Act. Under Section 111(b), the EPA Administrator is required to establish Federal
standards of performance for new sources in prescribed source categories. Under Section 111(d)(1), each State is
required to submit a plan to the EPA Administrator which establishes standards of performance for existing sources
in those prescribed source categories.

On September 15, 1997, the EPA adopted a New Source Performance Standard and an Emission Guideline,
40 CFR Part 60 Subparts Ec and Ce, respectively, which were applicable to new and existing hospital, medical and
infectious waste incinerator (HMIWI) units. As required under the Clean Air Act, Delaware adopted Section 29,
“New Source Performance Standards for Hospital/Medical/Infectious Waste Incinerators” into Regulation 1120 on
September 1, 1998. At the time of the adoption of Section 29, there were 3 existing Delaware HMIWI units in
operation. Since the 1998 adoption of Section 29, those 3 existing HMIWI units have been dismantled and no new
HMIWI units have been built.

Delaware is proposing to repeal Section 29 as its inherent regulatory requirements are currently outdated and
its continuance is no longer justified by present realities. Any new HMIWI units would be regulated under the
amended 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Ec that the EPA adopted on October 6, 2009.

Statements and testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at a public hearing to be held on
Wednesday, August 22, 2012 beginning at 6:00 PM in the DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Auditorium, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, DE. Interested parties may submit comments in writing to: Jim Snead, DNREC Division of Air
Quality, 715 Grantham Lane, New Castle, DE 19720.

DIVISION OF AIR QUALITY
1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories

PUBLIC NOTICE

Under Section 112(k) of the 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments, Congress mandated that the EPA identify not
less than 30 hazardous air pollutants (HAPs) which pose the greatest threat to public health in urban areas, identify
the area source categories emitting those HAPs, and develop regulations to address 90% of the emissions of
those same HAPs.  In 1999, the EPA identified 33 HAPs that posed the greatest threat to public health and has
since that time, identified over 60 new area source categories for which regulations would be developed.

On January 5, 2010, the EPA promulgated one of these area source category standards that would affect
existing and future Delaware sources, the area source standard for prepared feed manufacturing facilities, under
40 CFR Part 63 Subpart DDDDDDD.

Delaware is proposing to amend Regulation 1138 by adding a new Section 17 that addresses the emissions of
chromium and manganese compounds from prepared feed manufacturing facilities. The purpose of this proposed
amendment is to provide increased protection for Delaware citizens against a variety of potential adverse health
effects.  The major health effects from chronic inhalation exposure are diseases associated with the respiratory
tract (chromium compounds) and the central nervous system (manganese compounds). The proposed
amendment will provide greater consistency between Delaware’s air toxics standards for these types of facilities
and the recently promulgated federal standard (40 CFR Part 63 Subpart DDDDDDD) on which this proposed
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amendment is heavily based.  
Statements and testimony may be presented either orally or in writing at a public hearing to be held on

Wednesday, August 22, 2012 beginning at 6:00 PM in the DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Auditorium, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, DE.  Interested parties may submit comments in writing to:  Jim Snead, DNREC Division of Air
Quality, 715 Grantham Lane, New Castle, DE 19720.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
3507 Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Trip Limits, Seasons; Quotas

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC) approved Addendum XXII to the Fishery
Management Plan for Summer Flounder, Scup and Black Sea Bass. Addendum XXII established a regional
management approach and requires the southern region states (Delaware to North Carolina) to implement
management measures consistent with those required for federal waters. The Department was notified on May 17,
2012 by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration that a federal rule was approved that included
among its provisions an open season for the recreational black sea bass fishery from May 19 through October 14.
In response, the Department issued an Emergency Order (2012-F-0019) to remain consistent with Addendum XXII
and to prevent Delaware anglers and dependent businesses from being disadvantaged by remaining closed to
recreational sea bass fishing through May 21. 

The purpose of this action is to formally adopt the full provisions of the federal rule for the recreational black
sea bass fishery and remain compliant with Addendum XXII by amending Tidal Finfish Regulation 3507 Black Sea
Bass Size Limit; Trip Limits; Seasons; Quotas through the normal regulatory process. The federal rule establishes
a 12.5-inch minimum size limit; an open season from January 1 through February 28 with a corresponding 15-fish
per person possession limit; and open seasons from May 19 through October 14 and from November 1 through
December 31 with corresponding 25-fish per person possession limits. 

Based on the stock projections completed in 2011, the black sea bass stock is not overfished and overfishing is
not occurring. The projections indicate the stock is at about 111% of its biomass target.

The hearing record on the proposed changes to the black sea bass regulation will be open August 1, 2012.
Individuals may submit written comments regarding the proposed changes via e-mail to Lisa.Vest@state.de.us or
via the USPS to Lisa Vest, Hearing Officer, DNREC, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901 (302) 739-9042. A public
hearing on the proposed amendment will be held on August 30, 2012 beginning at 7 pm in the DNREC Auditorium,
located at the Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901.

DIVISION OF WATERSHED STEWARDSHIP
Surface Water Discharges Section

Proposed Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) for the Lums Pond Sub-Watershed, Delaware
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) plans to conduct a Public Hearing
regarding a Proposed Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Regulation for nutrients and oxygen consuming materials
for the Lums Pond Sub-Watershed.   A TMDL sets a limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged into
a waterbody and still meet water quality standards. TMDLs are composed of Waste Load Allocations (WLAs) for
point source discharges, Load Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of Safety (MOS) to account for
uncertainties.

The proposed TMDL Regulation calls for pollutant load reductions from point and nonpoint sources of the
Lums Pond State Park, an area managed by the Division of Parks and Recreation, DNREC, and from nonpoint
sources from the area surrounding the Lums Pond State Park. DNREC will work with local citizen groups and
internally among the Division of Parks and Recreation, the Division of Water’s Surface Water Discharges Section,
and the Division of Watershed Stewardship to implement the point and nonpoint source load reduction
requirements.

The Public Hearing for the proposed TMDL Regulations for the Lums Pond Sub-Watershed will be held at 3:00
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p.m., Tuesday, August 21, 2012, at the New Castle Conservation District, 2430 Old Country Road, Newark, DE
19702.

The hearing record for this proposed TMDL Regulation will remain open until 4:30 p.m., Friday, September 14,
2012. Please send written comments to Hassan Mirsajadi, Watershed Assessment and Management Section,
Division of Watershed Stewardship, Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, 820 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Suite 220, Dover, DE 19904-2464, (302) 739-9939, facsimile: (302) 739-6140, email:
(Hassan.Mirsajadi@state.de.us).  All written comments must be received by 4:30 p.m., Friday, September 14,
2012.  Electronic submission is preferred.

Copies of the Proposed TMDL Regulations and technical support document will be available as of Wednesday,
August 1, 2012 on the Department’s website at http://www.dnrec.delaware.gov/swc/wa/Pages/
WatershedAssessmentTMDLs.aspx or by contacting Hassan Mirsajadi, Watershed Assessment and Management
Section, Division of Watershed Stewardship, Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, 820
Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 220, Dover, DE 19904-2464, (302) 739-9939, facsimile: (302) 739-6140, email:
(Hassan.Mirsajadi@state.de.us).

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1400 Board of Electrical Examiners
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners in accordance with to 24 Del.C. §1406 (a)(1) proposes to revise
their rules and regulations. The proposed revisions to the rules are an attempt to define electrical work more
broadly to include any work covered by the National Electrical Code and specifically adding solar, generators and
windmills to the list of work that is considered electrical services or electrical work. This rule change will also add
the continuing education credits required for licensed Journeypersons and Apprentices and except
Journeypersons and Apprentices from rules that do not apply to them.

A public hearing will be held on September 5, 2012 at 9:15 a.m. in the second floor conference room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from Jennifer Witte,
Administrative Assistant for the Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building,
Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the Board at the
above address. The final date to receive written comments will be 15 (fifteen days) after the public hearing. 

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF PLANNING AND POLICY

PUBLIC NOTICE
2309 Standards and Regulations for Subdivision Streets and State Highway Access

Background

The Delaware Department of Transportation, through its Division of Planning, seeks to adopt amendments to
its existing regulations regarding subdivision streets and state highway access, with respect to the current
provisions concerning Traffic Impact Studies and Traffic Operational Analyses.  Changes are proposed several
areas of Chapter 2, Traffic Impact Studies and several sections from Chapter 3, Site Plan Design, are proposed for
movement to Chapter 2.

As detailed in the current Manual, the Department has broad statutory authority to regulate the process of
determining whether and under what conditions property developers may gain access to the state highway system.
These authorities include Sections 131, 141, 146, 507, and 508 of Title 17, Delaware Code; Chapter 41 of Title 21,
Delaware Code; Section 6103 of Title 29, Delaware Code; and certain provisions in Title 9 of the Delaware Code.
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The Department previously entered into agreements with county governments regarding traffic impact studies
and traffic operational analyses. For New Castle County, for example, the agreement calls for the Department, as
part of its scoping of the study areas for TIS work, to assure that the study looks at a minimum number of
intersections from the proposed site entrance(s). However, what is considered an intersection for this purpose may
be subject to differing interpretations, and may risk unduly limiting or unduly expanding the TIS study area. 

The draft regulations are intended to provide sufficient guidance to the state, local governments, the
development community, and those interested in development matters in this regard. The Department wishes to
assure that the study areas selected match well with what intersections the Department reasonably expects to be
significantly affected by the traffic from the subject property, given its proposed uses.

The proposed changes also include a new section on Transportation Improvement Districts, which were
previously discussed in much less detail.  The Department seeks to promote the creation of such districts as a
superior approach to assessing the transportation impacts of development relative to Traffic Impact Studies for
individual developments.

Other proposed changes include the addition of rules for the requirement of Traffic Operational Analyses,
previous published as informal guidelines, and the changes to how contributions to the Traffic Signal Revolving
Fund should be calculated. 

Public Comment Period and Public Workshop Schedule

The Department will accept written comments on the proposed Amendment to its Standards and Regulations
for Subdivision Streets and State Highway Access from August 1, 2012 through October 1, 2012. The proposed
Regulations appear below. 

The Department will hold public workshops on the proposed Amendment, as follows:
• New Castle County: Thursday, September 13, 2012, Troop 2 Conference/Training Room, Newark,

Delaware.
• Kent County: Monday, September 17, 2012, Felton/Farmington Room, DelDOT Administration

Building, Dover, Delaware.
• Sussex County: Thursday, September 20, 2012, DelDOT South District Conference Room,

Georgetown, Delaware.

The workshops shall be held from 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. at each location.
Any requests for copies of the proposed Regulations, or any questions or comments regarding this document

should be directed to:
Shailen P. Bhatt, Secretary
Delaware Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 778
Dover, DE 19903
(302) 760-2303 (telephone)
(302) 739-2895 (fax)
shailen.bhatt@state.de.us

DIVISION OF TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS
PUBLIC NOTICE

2404 Traffic Calming Manual

The Delaware Department of Transportation Division of Transportation Solutions hereby gives notice of its
intention to adopt revisions to the existing Delaware Traffic Calming Manual pursuant to 29 Del.C. §8404(8) and in
compliance with the Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. §10115. Traffic calming is the combination
of mainly physical measures that reduce the negative effects of motor vehicle use, alter driver behavior, and
improve conditions for non-motorized street users. The regulations contained in this manual are an attempt to
control speeding and cut through traffic, primarily on neighborhood streets, through use of physical measures and
education.

The Department solicits, and will consider timely filed written comments from interested individuals and groups
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concerning these proposed regulations. The deadline for the filing of such comments will be thirty (30) days after
the proposed amendments are promulgated in the Delaware Register of Regulations. Any such submissions
should be mailed, emailed or hand-delivered to Michael Somers, whose address is Delaware Department of
Transportation, 169 Brick Store Landing Road, Smyrna, DE, 19977, or Michael.Somers@state.de.us by August 31,
2012.

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
DELAWARE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OFFICE

PUBLIC NOTICE
402 Procedures Governing The Delaware Strategic Fund, 451 Matching Grants Program, 452  Direct Grants 

Program, 453 Co-Op Advertising Program, 454 Procedures Governing Delaware Tourism Grant Program

The State of Delaware, Delaware Economic Development Office (“DEDO”) and The Delaware Economic
Development Authority (the “Authority”) hereby give notice of their intention to adopt amended regulations pursuant
to the General Assembly’s delegation of authority to adopt such measures found at 29 Del.C. §§5029(a) and
5054(e)(1) and in compliance with Delaware’s Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. §10115. The proposed
regulations constitute a regulatory adoption of Strategic Fund procedures used to administer the Fund to retain,
attract and expand Delaware employment, and the deletion of obsolete programs.

DEDO and the Authority solicit, and will consider, timely filed written comments from interested individuals and
groups concerning these proposed amended regulations. The deadline for the filing of such written comments will
be thirty days (30) after these proposed amended regulations are promulgated in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

Any such submissions should be mailed or delivered to Lee Porter, 99 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901 by
September 30, 2012.
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