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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an 
official State publication established by authority 
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the 
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any 
regulations that are proposed to be adopted, 
amended or repealed and any emergency 
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of 
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the 

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is 
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An 
example would be:

6 DE Reg. 1541-1542 (06/01/03)

Refers to Volume 6, pages 1541-1542 of the 
Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2003.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) 
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is 
$135.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of 
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more 
information contact the Division of Research at 
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties 
may participate in the process by which 
administrative regulations are adopted, amended 
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which 
the validity and applicability of regulations is 
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an 
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or 
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text 
of such proposals, together with copies of the 
existing regulation being adopted, amended or 
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the 
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this 
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the 
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the 
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the 
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of 
the agency to act, and reference to any other 
regulations that may be impacted or affected by 
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of 
the place to which and the final date by which such 
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, 
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not 
be scheduled less than 20 days following 
publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will 
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, 
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal 
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice 
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made 
timely written requests of the agency for advance 
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be 
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the 
proposal is published in the Register of 
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and 
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written 
materials, upon all the testimonial and written 
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evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by 
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether 
a regulation should be adopted, amended or 
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order 
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the 
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief 
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of 
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A 
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or 
to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and 
information received;  (4)  The exact text and 
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6) 
Any other findings or conclusions required by the 
law under which the agency has authority to act; 
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the 
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, 
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less 
than 10 days from the date the order adopting, 
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal 
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the 
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an 
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the 
making or consideration of a proposed adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an 
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of 
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a 
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, 
no judicial review of a regulation is available 
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court 
within 30 days of the day the agency order with 
respect to the regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 

REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
DATE           DATE        TIME

SEPTEMBER 1 AUGUST 16 4:30 P.M.
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Specialist I; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative 
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed 
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that 
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with 
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with 
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
State Fire Prevention Regulations.......................................................................................... .......... 8 DE Reg.     6 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION (TITLE 24 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)

2100 Board of Examiners in Optometry......................................................................... 8 DE Reg.    16 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION  (TITLE 14 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)
101 Delaware Student Testing Program................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   17 (Prop.)
106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II).......... 8  DE Reg.   23 (Prop.)
107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance  Appraisal System (DPAS II)...... 8  DE Reg.   23 (Prop.)
108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) 8  DE Reg.   23 (Prop.)
501 State Content Standards.................................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   36 (Prop.)
718 Health Examinations for School District Employees..................................................... 8  DE Reg.   37 (Prop.)
805 The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control Program................................................ 8  DE Reg.   38 (Prop.)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
368 Certification School Psychologist................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   41 (Prop.)
1501 Knowledge, Skills And Responsibility Based Supplements For Educators................. 8  DE Reg.   73 (Final)
1505 Professional Growth Programs..................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   78 (Final)
1528 Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive.................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   80 (Final)
1529 Foreign Language Teacher Secondary.......................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   80 (Final)
1533 Foreign Language Teacher Elementary........................................................................ 8  DE Reg.   80 (Final)
1537 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary........................................................................ 8  DE Reg.   80 (Final)
1558 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary Middle Level..................................................... 8  DE Reg.   80 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Assisted Living Facilities, Regulations for..................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   46 (Prop.)
      8  DE Reg.   85 (Final)

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Regulations Pertaining to the Testing of Newborn Infants for Metabolic, Hematologic

and Endocrinologic Disorders................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.  100 (Final)
203 Cancer Treatment Program...................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  107 (Final)
463 Licensing and Registration of Operators of Public Water Supply Systems............. 8  DE Reg.    47 (Prop.)

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM)

9068.1  Certification Period Length........................................................................ 8  DE Reg.  113 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
606, (Formerly Reg. No. 31) Proof of Automobile Insurance............................................... 8  DE Reg.   55 (Prop.)
607, (Formerly Reg. No. 37) Defensive Driving Course Discount Automobiles

and Motorcycles.............................................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.   59 (Prop.)
1501, Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards................................................ 8  DE Reg.   62 (Prop.)
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DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
COUNCIL ON APPRENTICESHIP & TRAINING

Section 106.5, Standards of Apprenticeship................................................................... 8  DE Reg.   65 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Green Energy Fund Program Regulation............................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  114 (Final)
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT-AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Reporting of a Discharge of a Pollutant or Air Contaminant......................................... 8  DE Reg.  126 (Final)
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

Surface Water Quality Standards.................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  154 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF HISTORICAL AND CULTURAL AFFAIRS

Historic Preservation Tax Credit, Regulations Governing ............................................ 8  DE Reg.  194 (Final)
OFFICE OF THE STATE BANKING COMMISSIONER

708 (Formerly Reg. No. 5.770.0009) Establishment of a Branch Office by a Bank or 
Trust Company........................................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.   68 (Prop.)

714 Establishment of a Mobile Branch Office by a Bank or Trust Company................ 8  DE Reg.   68 (Prop.)
1113 Election by a Subsidiary Corporation of a Banking Organization of Trust Company

to be Taxed in Accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30.......................................... 8  DE Reg.   68 (Prop.)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE
Executive Order No. 56, Establishing The Infant Mortality Task Force............................... 8  DE Reg.  199 (Final)
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text. 
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file 
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with 
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature 
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference 
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the 
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final 
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the 
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a 
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The 
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its 
regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE 
SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK 

EXAMINERS
24 DE Admin. Code 3900

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 3906(1) (24 Del.C. §3906(1))

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners 
is proposing to revise its rules and regulations pursuant to 29 
Del.C. Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. §3906(1).  The Board is 
proposing changes to the following Regulations:

• Regulations 7.1 through 7.4 regarding the 
Definition and Scope of Continuing Education,

• Continuing Education Hourly Requirements and 
Continuing Education Reporting and 
Documentation.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and 
Regulations on Monday, September 20, 2004 at 9:00 a.m. in 
the Second Floor Conference Room “A” of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 
19904. If the number of persons desiring to testify at the 
Public Hearing is large, the amount of time allotted to each 
speaker will be limited.

The Board will receive and consider input in writing 
from any person on the proposed Rules and Regulations. 

Any written comments should be submitted to the Board in 
care of Karin Stone at the above address. The final date to 
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled 
public hearing. Persons may view the proposed changes to 
the Regulations between the hours of 8:15 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., 
Monday through Friday, at the Board’s office at the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
19904. There will be a reasonable fee charged for copies of 
the proposed changes. 

This notice will be published in two newspapers of 
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the 
date of the hearing.

Amend Sections 7.1, 7.2, 7.3 and 7.4 as follows:

7.0 Continuing Education
7.1 Required Continuing Education Hours:

7.1.1 Hours Required. All licensees must 
complete forty-five (45) hours of continuing education 
during each biennial license period. For license periods 
beginning January 1, 1999 2005 and thereafter, 
documentation, as required by Rule 5.4 7.4  of all continuing 
education hours must be submitted to the Board for approval 
by October 31 of each biennial license period.

7.1.2 Proration. At the time of the initial license 
renewal, some individuals will have been licensed for less 
than two (2) years. Therefore, for these individuals only, the 
continuing education hours will be prorated as follows:

License Granted During First Credit Hours
Year Of Licensing Period Required 

January 1 - June 30  35 hours
July 1 - December 31  25 hours
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License Granted During Second Credit Hours
Year Of Licensing Period Required

January 1 - June 30 15 hours
July 1 - December 31 5 hours
7.1.3 Hardship. A candidate for license renewal 

may be granted an extension of time in which to complete 
continuing education hours upon a showing of good cause. 
"Good Cause" may include, but is not limited to, disability, 
illness, extended absence from the jurisdiction and 
exceptional family responsibilities. Requests for hardship 
consideration must be submitted to the Board in writing prior 
to the end of the licensing period, along with payment of the 
appropriate renewal fee. No extension shall be granted for 
more than 120 days after the end of the licensing period. If 
the Board does not have sufficient time to consider and 
approve a request for hardship extension prior to the 
expiration of the license, the license will lapse upon the 
expiration date and be reinstated upon completion of 
continuing education pursuant to the hardship exception.

See 2 DE Reg 775 (11/1/98)
7.2 Definition and Scope of Continuing Education:

7.2.1 Continuing Education is defined to mean 
approved acceptable courses offered by colleges and 
universities, televised and extension internet courses, 
independent study courses which have a final exam or paper, 
workshops, seminars, conferences and lectures oriented 
toward the enhancement of clinical social work practice, 
values, skills and knowledge, including self-directed 
activityies and preparation of a first-time clinical course as 
described herein.  The following types of courses are NOT 
acceptable for credit: business, computer, financial, 
administrative or practice development courses or portions 
of courses.

7.2.1.1 Approved Courses shall be those 
courses which: increase the clinical social worker (CSW)’s 
knowledge about, skill in diagnosing and assessing, skill in 
treating, and/or skill in preventing mental and emotional 
disorders, developmental disabilities and substance abuse; 
AND are instructed or presented by persons who have 
received specialized graduate-level training in the subject, or 
who have no less than two (2) years of practical application 
or research experience pertaining to the subject.

7.2.1.2 Mental and Emotional Disorders, 
Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse are those 
disorders enumerated and described in the most current 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual including, but not limited 
to, the V Codes and the Criteria Sets and Axes provided for 
further study.   

7.2.1.1 The Board will accept for continuing 
education credit all courses designated for clinical social 
workers which are offered by the Association of Social Work 
Boards (ASWB), the National Association of Social Work 
(NASW) and the American Psychological Association 

(APA) approved providers. Other courses will be evaluated 
for acceptability at the time they are submitted for license 
renewal.  The Board will no longer “pre-approve” 
continuing education courses.

7.2.1.2 Acceptable Courses, other than those 
approved pursuant to Rule 5.2.1.1, shall be courses which: 
increase the licensed clinical social worker’s knowledge 
about skill in diagnosing and assessing, skill in treating, and/
or skill in preventing mental and emotional disorders, 
developmental disabilities and substance abuse; AND are 
instructed or presented by persons who have received 
specialized graduate-level training in the subject, or who 
have no less than two (2) years of practical application or 
research experience pertaining to the subject.

7.2.1.2.1 Mental and Emotional 
Disorders, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse 
are those disorders enumerated and described in the most 
current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual including, but not 
limited to, the V Codes and the Criteria Sets and Axes 
provided for further study.

7.2.2 7.2.4 The Board may, upon request, review 
and approve credit for self-directed activities, to a maximum 
of 15 10 hours per biennial licensing period.  A licensee 
must obtain pre-approval of the Board prior to undertaking 
the self-directed activity in order to assure continuing 
education credit for the activity.  Any self-directed activity 
submitted for approval must include a written proposal 
outlining the scope of the activity, the number of continuing 
education hours requested, the anticipated completion 
date(s), the role of the licensee in the case of multiple 
participants (e.g. research) and whether any part of the self-
directed activity has ever been previously approved or 
submitted for credit by the same licensee.

7.2.2.1 7.2.1.3  Self-Directed Activity shall 
include teaching, research, preparation and/or presentation 
of professional papers and articles, and other activities 
specifically approved by the Board, which may include one 
or more of the following.  The Board shall require 
documentation of each activity as noted below:

7.2.2.1.1 Publication of a professional 
clinical social work-related book, or initial preparation/
presentation of a clinical social work-related college or 
university course (maximum of 10 hours);

7.2.2.1.1.1 Required documentation 
shall be proof of publication, or syllabus of course and 
verification that the course was presented.

7.2.2.1.2 Publication of a professional 
clinical social work-related article or chapter of a book 
(maximum of 5 hours);

7.2.2.1.2.1 Required documentation 
shall be reprint of publication(s).

7.2.2.1.3 Initial preparation/
presentation of a professional clinical social work-related 
continuing education course/program (maximum of 2 hours, 
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in addition to number of hours actually attended at the 
course/program) (Will only be accepted one time for any 
specific program);

7.2.2.1.3.1 Required documentation 
shall be outline, syllabus agenda and objectives for course 
and verification that the course was presented.

7.2.2.1.4 One year of Field instruction 
of graduate students in a Council on Social Work Education-
accredited school program, in a clinical setting (maximum of 
2 hours);

7.2.2.1.4.1 Required documentation 
shall be a letter of verification from school of social work.

7.2.2.1.5 Participation in formal 
clinical staffings at federal, state or local social service 
agencies, public school systems or licensed health facilities 
and licensed hospitals (maximum of 5 hours);

7.2.2.1.5.1 Required documentation 
shall be a signed statement from the agency, school system, 
facility or hospital, from a supervisor other than the licensee, 
including date and length of staffing.

7.2.2 7.2.3 Any program submitted for continuing 
education hours must have been attended during the biennial 
licensing period for which it is submitted.  Excess credits 
may not be carried over to the next licensing period.  

7.2.3 7.2.4 An “hour” for purposes of continuing 
education credit shall mean 60 50 (fifty) minutes of 
instruction or participation in an appropriate course or 
program. Meals and breaks shall be excluded from credit.

7.2.5 The Board may award a maximum of 5 
continuing education hours for the first-time preparation and 
presentation of a clinical social work course, in-service 
training, workshop, or seminar.  A copy of the course 
syllabus and verification that the course was presented is 
required for Board approval.

7.3 Continuing Education Content Hourly
Requirements:

During each biennial licensing period, licensees 
shall complete a minimum of thirty (30) forty-five (45) hours 
of continuing education.  in Category I courses.  The 
remaining fifteen (15) continuing education hours may be 
taken in Category II courses.  At least three (3) of the 30 
Category I 45 hours shall consist of courses acceptable to the 
Board in the area of ethics for mental health professionals.

Category I: Courses which have as their primary 
focus and content the assessment, diagnosis, and 
biopsychosocial (biological, psychological and social) 
treatment of mental and emotional disorders, developmental 
disabilities, and/or substance abuse; courses which have as 
their primary focus and content the ethical practice of social 
work.

Category II: Courses in any of the following areas 
which are related to and increase the CSW’s knowledge of 
mental and emotional disorders, developmental disabilities, 
and/or substance abuse

research methods and findings;
psychology and sociology; 
human growth and development;
child and family constructs;
physical illness and health;
social action;
advocacy; 
human creativity;
spirituality
HIV

7.4 Continuing Education Reporting and 
Documentation

7.4.1 Continuing Education Reporting Periods.
Licenses are valid for 2 year periods, renewing 

on January 31 of odd numbered years (e.g. January 31, 
20015, 20037).  Continuing education (CE) reporting 
periods run from October 31 November 1 to October 31 of 
the preceding two even-numbered years. (e.g. credits for the 
January 2001 license renewal may be obtained between 
October 31, 1998 and October 31, 2000).  The Board will 
allow credits obtained between October 31 and January 31 to 
apply to either (but not both) of the biennial licensing 
periods, at the licensee’s discretion.  Beginning with the 
January 20035 license renewal, all required continuing 
education shall should be completed within the previous two 
year October November to October period (e.g. between 
October 31 November 1, 20002 and October 31, 20024 for 
January 20035 renewal).  The Board shall continue to have 
the discretion, however, to grant extensions of time in which 
to complete continuing education in cases of hardship, 
pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3912 and Rule 7.1.3.

7.4.2 In order to assure receipt of continuing 
education credits, a licensee must complete and submit the 
appropriate continuing education form provided by the 
Division of Professional Regulation no later than October 
31st preceding the start of the next biennial licensing period.

7.4.3 In addition to the form, each licensee must 
submit the following documentation as to each course 
attended: a certificate of attendance or completion signed by 
the presenter and attesting to the number of hours the 
licensee attended and documentation identifying the date and 
location of the course. , the total number of CE hours 
attended and the agenda, outline or brochure describing the 
course.  Originals or photocopies will be accepted and 
retained by the Board.  The Board reserves its right to 
request additional documentation, such as copies of program 
materials, to verify CE compliance. Statutory Authority:  24 
Del.C. §§3906(7), 3912.

7.4.4 Prior to the end of each renewal period, the 
Board shall conduct a random audit of licensees to verify 
compliance with continuing education for that renewal 
period.  Upon request from the Board, an audited licensee 
will be required to submit, in addition to the documents 
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noted above, copies of agenda, outline and brochure, for 
each course submitted for credit.  Originals or photocopies 
will be accepted and retained by the Board.  The Board
reserves its right to request additional documentation to 
verify CE compliance.

7.4.5 In addition to licensees selected for 
random audit, the Board also may request additional 
supporting documentation from any licensee whose renewal 
materials, as required by Rules 7.4.2 and 7.4.3, raise 
questions as to the completion or acceptable content of the 
course(s). 

See 2 DE Reg 1680 (6/1/00)
See 4 DE Reg 1815 (5/1/01)
See 7 DE Reg 1667 (6/1/04)

* Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published. A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Clinical Social 
Work Examiners is available at:
http://www.state.de.us/research/profreg/Frame.htm

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 260

Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,
Section 220 (14 Del.C. §220)

Education Impact Analysis
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

260 General Appeal Procedure for the Child and Adult 
Care Food Program of the United States Department of 

Agriculture CACFP/USDA

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 

Admin Code 260 General Appeal Procedure for the Child 
and Adult Care Food Program of the United States 
Department of Agriculture CACEP/USDA.  The 
amendments are necessary in order to bring the state’s 
regulations in line with the requirements of the federal 
statute.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses appeal 
procedures for the Child and Adult Care Food Program not 
student achievement.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education? The amended regulation 
addresses appeal procedures for the Child and Adult Care 
Food Program not equitable education issues.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected?  The amended 
regulation addresses appeal procedures for the Child and 
Adult Care Food Program not health and safety issues.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses appeal procedures for the Child and Adult Care 
Food Program which does help to protect the rights of the 
individuals enrolled in the programs.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority 
and flexibility of decision making at the local board and 
school level?  The amended regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?  The amended 
regulation will not place any unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an 
impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies?  The amended 
regulations will be consistent with and not an impediment to 
the implementation of other state educational policies, in 
particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation? The federal statute requires 
the Department of Education to maintain regulations for this 
appeal procedure.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no 
additional cost to the local school boards of compliance with 
the amended regulation. 

260 General Appeal Procedures for the Child and Adult 
Care Food Programs of the United States Department of 

Agriculture CACFP/USDA

1.0 When a participating institution or agency seeks to 
appeal actions taken by the Delaware Department of 
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Education pursuant to findings based on monitoring or 
administrative reviews the following shall apply:

1.1 The institution or agency shall be advised in writing 
of the grounds on which the Delaware Department of 
Education has based its action.  The notice of action, which 
shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested shall 
also include a statement indicating that the institution has the 
right to appeal the action.

1.2 To initiate an appeal procedure, a written request 
for review shall be filed by the appellant not later than 15 
calendar days from the date the appellant received the notice 
of action, and the Delaware Department of Education shall 
acknowledge the receipt of the request for appeal within 10 
calendar days.  Then, the following procedures shall pertain:

1.2.1 Within five (5) days of receipt of an appeal 
for review, the Delaware Secretary of Education, or his/her 
designee, shall appoint a review official who shall be 
selected from the approved list of hearing officers.  The 
review official shall be an independent and impartial official 
other than, and not accountable to, any person authorized to 
make decisions that are subject to appeal under the 
provisions of this section.

1.2.2 The appellant may refute the charges 
contained in the notice of action in person and by written 
documentation to the review official.  In order to be 
considered, written documentation must be filed with the 
review official not later than 30 calendar days after the 
appellant received the notice of action. The appellant may 
retain legal counsel, or may be represented by another 
person.  A hearing shall be held by the review official in 
addition to, or in lieu of, a review of written information 
submitted by the appellant only if the appellant so specifies 
in the letter of request for review.  Failure of the appellant 
institution's representative to appear at a scheduled hearing 
shall constitute the appellant institution's waiver of the right 
to a personal appearance before the review official, unless 
the review official agrees to reschedule the hearing. A 
representative of the Delaware Department of Education 
shall be allowed to attend the hearing to respond to the 
appellant's testimony and to answer questions posed by the 
review official.

1.2.2.1 If the appellant does not specifically 
request a hearing in the letter of request for review, and the 
review official determines that a review of documentation is 
sufficient for resolution, the appellant and the Delaware 
Department of Education shall be advised of the official’s 
determination.

1.2.2.2 If the appellant has requested a 
hearing, the appellant and the Delaware Department of 
Education shall be provided with at least 10 calendar days 
advance written notice, sent by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, of the time and place of the hearing.

1.2.3 Any information on which the Delaware 
Department of Education’s action was based shall be 

available to the appellant for inspection from the date of 
receipt of the request for review.

1.2.4 The review official shall make a 
determination based on information provided by the 
Delaware Department of Education and the appellant, and on 
Program regulations.

1.2.5 Within 60 calendar days of the Delaware 
Department of Education’s receipt of the request for review, 
the review official shall inform the State agency and the 
appellant of the determination of the review.

1.2.6 The Delaware Department of Education’s 
action shall remain in effect during the appeal process. 
However, participating institutions and facilities may 
continue to operate under the Program during an appeal of 
termination, unless the action is based on imminent dangers 
to the health or welfare of participants.

1.2.7 The determination by the Delaware 
Department of Education’s review official is the final 
administrative determination to be afforded to the appellant.

1.2.8 Appeals shall not be allowed on decisions 
made by the Food and Consumer Services, U.S. Department 
of Agriculture, on requests for exceptions to the claims 
submission deadlines stated in 7CFR Sec. 226.10(e) or 
requests for upward adjustments to claims.

1.2.9 n cases where an appeal results in the 
dismissal of a claim against an institution, which was 
asserted by the Delaware Department of Education, based 
upon Federal audit findings of the  Food and Consumer 
Services, U.S. Department of Agriculture, may assert a claim 
against the Delaware Department of Education in 
accordance with the procedures outlined in 7CFR Sec. 
226.14(c).

Authority: 7 CFR Sec. 226.6 State Agency 
Administrative Responsibilities, (k) Institution appeal 
procedures.

5 DE Reg. 461 (8/1/01)

260 General Administrative Review Procedures for the 
Child and Adult Care Food Programs of the United 

States Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA

1.0 Institutions participating in the Delaware CACFP may 
request an Administrative Review of the following actions:

1.1 Denial of a new or renewing institution's 
application for participation;

1.2 Denial of an application submitted by a sponsoring 
organization on behalf of a facility;

1.3 Proposed termination of an institution’s agreement;
1.4 Proposed disqualification of a responsible principal 

or responsible individual;
1.5 Suspension of an institution’s participation;
1.6 Denial of an institution's application for start-up or 

expansion payments;
1.7 Denial of all or a part of an institution’s claim for 
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reimbursement except for a denial based on a late 
submission under 7 CFR § 226.10(e);

1.8 Demand for the remittance of an overpayment; and 
1.9 Any other action of the State agency affecting an 

institution’s participation or its claim for reimbursement.

2.0 Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 1.0 above, 
institutions participating in the Delaware CACFP may not 
request an Administrative Review of the following actions: 

2.1 A determination that an institution is seriously 
deficient; 

2.2 Disqualification of an institution or a responsible 
principal or responsible individual, and the subsequent 
placement on the State agency list and the National 
disqualified list; or 

2.3 Termination of a participating institution’s 
agreement, including termination of a participating 
institution’s agreement based on the disqualification of the 
institution by any publically funded program.

3.0 Except where the abbreviated administrative review 
procedures apply as set forth below, administrative reviews 
will be conducted as follows:

3.1 The Department of Education (“Department”) must 
give notice of the action being taken or proposed, the basis 
for the action, and the procedures under which the institution 
and the responsible principals or responsible individuals may 
request an administrative review of the action.  Notice shall 
be given to the institution’s executive director and chairman 
of the board of directors, and the responsible principals and 
responsible individuals by U. S. Mail postage prepaid.   As 
used herein, “Petitioner” means a participating institution or 
agency, or its responsible principals or responsible 
individuals, as appropriate under the circumstances. 

3.2 A request for administrative review must be 
submitted to the Department in writing not later than 15 days 
after the date the notice of action is received.

3.3 The petitioner may retain legal counsel or may be 
represented by another person if permitted by law.

3.4 Any information on which the Department’s action 
was based will be available to the petitioner for inspection 
from the date of receipt by the Department of the request for 
an administrative review.

3.5 The petitioner may refute the findings contained in 
the notice of action in person or by submitting written 
documentation to the Department’s review official.  In order 
to be considered, written documentation must be submitted 
to and received by the review official not later than 30 days 
after the petitioner received the notice of action.

3.6 A hearing must be held by the administrative 
review official in addition to, or in lieu of, a review of 
written information only if the petitioner requests a hearing 
in the written request for an administrative review.  If the 
petitioner fails to appear at a scheduled hearing, the 

petitioner waives the right to a personal appearance before 
the administrative review official, unless the administrative 
review official agrees to reschedule the hearing.  A 
representative of the Department may, but is not required, to 
attend the hearing to respond to the petitioner’s testimony 
and to answer questions posed by the administrative review 
official.  If a hearing is requested, the petitioner and the 
Department must be provided with at least 10 days notice of 
the time and place of the hearing.  

3.7 The administrative review official shall be 
independent and impartial.  The administrative review 
official may be an employee of the Department, but must not 
have been involved in the action that is the subject of the 
administrative review, or have a direct personal or financial 
interest in the outcome of the administrative review.   The 
petitioner may contact the administrative review official 
directly, but all such contacts must include the participation 
of a representative of the Department if the Department 
chooses to participate.

3.8 The administrative review official shall make a 
determination based solely on the information provided by 
the Department, the petitioner, and based upon federal and 
Delaware laws, regulations, policies and procedures 
governing the CACFP/USDA.

3.9 The decision of the administrative review official 
shall be issued to the Department and petitioner within 60 
days of the Department’s receipt of the written request for an 
administrative review.  If the last day on which the decision 
is to be issued shall fall on a Saturday, Sunday, legal state 
holiday, or day when the Department is closed due to 
adverse weather conditions, the decision shall be issued on 
the next regular work day of the Department. The failure to 
issue a timely decision shall not, solely in itself, constitute 
grounds for reversing the Department’s action.  The decision 
of the administrative review official is the final 
administrative determination to be afforded to the petitioner.

3.10 The Department shall maintain a searchable 
record of all administrative reviews and the dispositions of 
the same.

3.11 The Department shall conduct the 
administrative review of the proposed disqualification of the 
responsible principals and responsible individuals as part of 
the administrative review of the application denial, proposed 
termination and/or proposed disqualification of the 
institution with which the responsible principals or 
responsible individuals are associated.  However, at the 
discretion of the administrative review official, separate 
administrative reviews may be held if the institution does not 
request an administrative review or if either the institution or 
the responsible principal or responsible individual 
demonstrates that their interests conflict.

4.0 Notwithstanding any of the foregoing to the contrary, 
administrative review will be limited to a review of written 
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submissions concerning the accuracy of the Department’s 
determination if the application was denied or the 
Department proposes to terminate the institution’s agreement 
because:

4.1 The information submitted on the application was 
false; or

4.2 The institution, one of its sponsored facilities, or 
one of the principals of
the institution or its facilities is

4.2.1 On the National Disqualified List; or
4.2.2 Ineligible to participate in any other 

publicly funded program by reason of violation of the 
requirements of the program; or

4.2.3 Has been convicted for any activity that 
indicates a lack of business integrity.

5.0 The Department’s administrative responsibilities to a 
participating institution shall remain in effect during the 
administrative review as follows:

5.1 Overpayment demand.  During the period of the 
administrative review, the Department is prohibited from 
taking action to collect or offset the overpayment.  However, 
the Department must assess interest beginning with the 
initial demand for remittance of the overpayment and 
continuing through the period of administrative review 
unless the administrative review official overturns the 
Department’s action.

5.2 Program payments.  The availability of Program 
payments during an administrative review of the denial of a 
new institution’s application, denial of a renewing 
institution’s application, proposed termination of a 
participating institution’s agreement, and suspension of an 
institution shall be treated in accordance with the provisions 
of7 CFR § 226.6 (c)(1)(iii)(D), (c)(2)(iii)(D), (c)(3)(iii)(D), 
(c)(5)(i)(D), and (c)(5)(ii)(E), respectively.

Education Impact Analysis
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

852 Child Nutrition

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 

State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
852 in order to add the appropriate references to the federal 
legislation concerning nutrition standards and to correct the 
grammar.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The regulation and the amendments address 
child nutrition which has an impact on student achievement.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education? The amended regulation 
addresses child nutrition not equity issues.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected?  The amended 
regulation contributes to student  health.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses child nutrition not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority 
and flexibility of decision making at the local board and 
school level?  The amended regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?  The amended 
regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an 
impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies?  The amended 
regulation will be consistent with and not an impediment to 
the implementation of other state educational policies, in 
particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation? There is no less burdensome 
method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no 
additional cost to the State and to the local school boards of 
compliance with the regulation.

852 Child Nutrition

1.0 Each school district shall have a Child Nutrition Policy 
which at a minimum shall provide that:

1.1 Meals served to children will be are nutritious and 
well balanced as defined by USDA 7CFR Part 210.10 
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Nutrition Standards for Lunches and Menu Planning 
Methods and USDA 7CFR Part 220.8 Nutrition Standards 
for Breakfast and Menu Planning Alternatives.

1.2 The foods sold in addition to meals be are selected 
to promote healthful eating habits and exclude those foods of 
minimal nutritional value as defined by the Food and 
Nutrition Service, USDA 7 CFR Part 210, Appendix B.

1.3 Purchasing practices ensure the use of quality 
products.

1.4 Students have adequate time to eat breakfast and 
lunch.

1.5 Nutrition education be an integral is part of the 
curriculum from preschool to twelfth grade.

1.6 Food service personnel use training and resource 
materials developed by the Department of Education and the 
United States Department of Agriculture to motivate 
children in selecting healthy diets.

Education Impact Analysis
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

925 Children with Disabilities

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 

State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
925 Children with Disabilities in order to change the 
eligibility criteria for Autism in 4.3, for Developmental 
Delay in 4.4, for Mental Disability in 4.9, for Orthopedic 
Impairment in 4,10 and for other Health Impairment in 4.11 
and to replace 21.2 Reserved with 21.2 the Statewide 
Monitoring Review Board (SMRB) for Children with 
Autism.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses changes in 
criteria for five categories of children with disabilities and 
describes the Statewide Monitoring Review Board (SMRB) 
for Children with Autism all of which may contribute to 
improved student achievement. 

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulation addresses changes in criteria for five categories of 
children with disabilities and describes the Statewide 
Monitoring Review Board (SMRB) for Children with 
Autism all of which may contribute to ensuring that all 
children receive an equitable education. 

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 

students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The 
amended regulation addresses changes in criteria for five 
categories of children with disabilities and describes the 
Statewide Monitoring Review Board (SMRB) for Children 
with Autism all of which may contribute to ensuring that all 
students’ health and safety are adequately protected. 

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses changes in criteria for five categories of children 
with disabilities and describes the Statewide Monitoring 
Review Board (SMRB) for Children with Autism all of 
which may contribute to ensuring that all students’ legal 
rights are protected. 

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level?  The amended regulation will 
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision 
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The 
amended regulation will not place any unnecessary reporting 
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation?  The federal law requires the 
state to make regulations concerning students with 
disabilities.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There will be no 
additional cost to the State and to the local school boards of 
compliance with the regulation.

925 Children with Disabilities 

4.0 Eligibility for Services
4.1 Age of Eligibility: Programs shall be provided for 

children with disabilities in age ranges as set out in 
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accordance with 14 Del.C. Ch.7 and 14 Del.C. Ch.31 and 
other age ranges as provided for by State and/or federal 
legislation.

4.1.1 The age of eligibility for special education 
and related services for children identified as having a 
hearing impairment, visual impairment, deaf- blindness, or 
autism, shall be from birth through 20 years, inclusive.

4.1.2 The age of eligibility for children 
identified as having preschool speech delay shall be from the 
third birthday up to, but not including, the fifth birthday.

4.1.3 The age of eligibility for children 
identified as having speech and/or language impairment 
shall be from the fifth birthday through twenty years, 
inclusive; provided, however, that children attaining the 
minimum age by August 31 of the school year shall also be 
eligible. These children receive a free appropriate public 
education as preschool speech delayed upon reaching their 
third birthday.

4.1.4 The age of eligibility for children 
identified as having a developmental delay shall be from the 
third birthday up to, but not including, the fourth birthday.

4.1.5 The age of eligibility for children 
identified as having a physical impairment, trainable mental 
disability, traumatic brain injury, or severe mental disability 
shall be from the third birthday through 20 years inclusive; 
provided, however, that students in these categories attaining 
the minimum age by August 31 of the school year shall also 
be eligible.

4.1.6 The age of eligibility for children 
identified as having emotional disturbance, educable mental 
disability, or learning disability shall be from the fourth 
birthday through 20 years inclusive; provided, however, that 
children in these categories attaining the minimum age by 
August 31 of the school year shall also be eligible. These 
children receive a free appropriate public education as 
developmentally delayed upon reaching their third birthday.

4.1.7 Children in special education who attain 
age 21 after August 31 may continue their placement until 
the end of the school year including appropriate summer 
services through August 31.

4.2 Definitions and General Eligibility/Exit Criteria
4.2.1 Eligibility Criteria - General: A child shall 

be considered eligible to receive special education and 
related services, and to be counted in the appropriate section 
of the unit funding system noted in 14 Del.C. §1703, when 
such eligibility and the nature of the disabling condition are 
determined by an IEP team. Eligibility and the nature of the 
condition shall be based upon consideration of the results of 
individual child evaluation data obtained from reports and 
observations and the definitions and criteria delineated in 
these regulations. Eligibility for classification under any one 
or more categories shall include documentation of the 
educational impact of the disability. Documentation of 
eligibility shall include an evaluation report from a qualified 

evaluation specialist. Eligibility for classification under any 
one or more categories shall include, but shall not be limited 
to, an evaluation report from the evaluation specialist 
designated under the eligibility criteria for each disability.

4.2.2 Exit Criteria - General: A child ceases to 
be eligible for special education and related services when 
the IEP team determines that special education is no longer 
needed for the child to benefit from his or her educational 
program or the child graduates with a high school diploma. 
In making the determination, the team shall consider:

4.2.2.1 Eligibility criteria;
4.2.2.2 Data-based and/or documented 

measures of educational progress; and
4.2.2.3 Other relevant information

4.3 Eligibility Criteria for Autism: An IEP team shall 
review evidence for the following behavioral manifestations:

4.3.1 The presence of an impairment of verbal 
and nonverbal communication skills including the absence 
of speech or the presence of unusual speech features, and a 
combination of the following:

4.3.1.1 Impairment in reciprocal social 
orientation/interaction;

4.3.1.2 Extreme resistance to change and/or 
control;

4.3.1.3 Preoccupation with objects and/ or 
inappropriate use of objects; and/or

4.3.1.4 Unusual motor patterns, including, 
but not limited to, self-stimulation and self- injurious 
behavior.

4.3.2 Identification of autism shall be 
documented through an evaluation by either a licensed 
psychologist, a certified school psychologist, a qualified 
physician, or a qualified psychiatrist. Determination of the 
condition of autism and eligibility for special education shall 
be made by an IEP team.

4.3.3 Age of Eligibility: The age of eligibility 
for children identified under this definition shall be from 
birth through 20 years, inclusive.

4.4 Eligibility Criteria for Developmental Delay: A 
developmental delay is a term applied to a young child, who 
exhibits a significant delay in one or more of the following 
developmental domains: cognitive, communication 
(expressive and/or receptive), physical (gross motor and/or 
fine motor), social/emotional functioning, and adaptive 
behavior. A developmental delay shall not be primarily the 
result of a significant visual or hearing impairment.

4.4.1 In order for an IEP team to determine 
eligibility for special education services, under the 
Developmental Delay category, the following is required:

4.4.1.1 Standardized test scores of 1.5 or 
more standard deviations below the mean in two or more of 
the following developmental domains: cognitive, 
communication (expressive and/or receptive), physical 
(gross and/or fine), social/emotional functioning or adaptive 
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behavior; or
4.4.1.2 Standardized test scores of 2.0 or 

more standard deviations below the mean in any one of the 
developmental domains listed above; or

4.4.1.3 Professional judgment of the IEP 
team that is based on the multiple sources of information 
used in the assessment process and with justification 
documented in writing in the evaluation report.

4.4.2 Age of Elibility: The age of eligibility for 
classification under the developmental delay classification is 
from the third birth date until the fourth birth date.

4.3. Eligibility Criteria for Autism:  The educational 
classification of autism encompasses the clinical condition 
of Autistic Disorder, as well as other typically  less severe 
Pervasive Developmental Disorders, (i.e., Asperger 
Syndrome and Pervasive Developmental Disorder – Not 
Otherwise Specified). These conditions share important 
features, and together, comprise the Autistic Spectrum 
Disorders (ASDs).  Students with educational classifications 
of autism may have ASD of differing severity as a function 
of the number and pattern of features defined in the 
eligibility criteria listed below.

4.3.1 In order for the IEP team to determine 
eligibility for special education services under the Autism 
category, the following is required:

4.3.1.1 All students with an educational 
classification of autism demonstrate a marked, qualitative 
impairment in reciprocal social interaction, as manifested by 
deficits in at least two of the following:

4.3.1.1.1 Use of multiple nonverbal 
behaviors to regulate social interactions;

4.3.1.1.2Development of peer 
relationships;

4.3.1.1.3 Spontaneous seeking to 
share enjoyment, interests, or achievements with other 
people; or

4.3.1.1.4 Social or emotional 
reciprocity.

4.3.1.2 All students with an educational 
classification of autism also demonstrate at least one feature 
from either 4.3.1.2.1. or 4.3.1.2.2. below:

4.3.1.2.1 A qualitative impairment in 
communication, as manifested by:

4.3.1.2.1.1 A lack of, or delay in, 
spoken language and failure to compensate through gesture;

4.3.1.2.1.2 Relative failure to 
initiate or sustain a conversation with others;

4.3.1.2.1.3 Stereotyped, 
idiosyncratic, and/or repetitive speech; or

4.3.1.2.1.4 A lack of varied, 
spontaneous make-believe play or social imitative play.

4.3.1.2.2 Restricted, repetitive, 
and stereotyped patterns of behavior, as manifested by:

4.3.1.2.2.1 Encompassing 

preoccupation or circumscribed and restricted patterns of 
interest;

4.3.1.2.2.2 Apparently compulsive 
adherence to specific, nonfunctional routines/rituals; 

4.3.1.2.2.3 Stereotyped and 
repetitive motor mannerisms; or

4.3.1.2.2.4 Persistent preoccupation 
with parts/sensory qualities of objects.

4.3.1.3 All students with an educational 
classification of autism have impairments that:

4.3.1.3.1 Are inconsistent with the 
student’s overall developmental/functional level; and

4.3.1.3.2 Result in an educationally 
significant impairment in important  areas of functioning; 
and

4.3.1.3.3 Are a part of a clear pattern 
of behavior that is consistently manifested across a variety of 
people, tasks and settings, and that persists across a 
significant period of time; and

4.3.1.3.4 Are not primarily accounted 
for by an emotional disorder.

4.3.2 An educational classification of autism is 
established:

4.3.2.1 Using specialized, validated 
assessment tools that provide specific evidence of the 
features of ASD described above;

4.3.2.2 By individuals who have specific 
training in the assessment of students with ASD in general, 
and in the use of the assessment procedures referred to in 
4.3.2.1.; and

4.3.2.3 Based upon an observation of the 
student in a natural education environment, an observation 
under more structured conditions, and information regarding 
the student’s behavior at home.

4.3.3 Age of Eligibility:  The age of eligibility 
for children with autism shall be from birth through age 20, 
inclusive.

4.4 Eligibility Criteria for Developmental Delay:  A 
developmental delay is a term applied to a young child who 
exhibits a significant delay in one or more of the following 
developmental domains:  cognition, communication 
(expressive and/or receptive), physical (gross motor and/or 
fine motor) social/emotional functioning and adaptive 
behavior.  A developmental delay shall not be primarily the 
result of a significant visual or hearing impairment. 

4.4.1 In order for an IEP team to determine 
eligibility for special education services under the 
Developmental Delay category, the following is required:

4.4.1.1 Standardized test scores of 1.5 or 
more standard deviations below the mean in two or more of 
the following developmental domains:  cognition, 
communication (expressive and/or receptive), physical 
(gross motor and/or fine motor) social/emotional functioning 
and adaptive behavior; or
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4.4.1.2 Standardized test scores of 2.0 or 
more standard deviations below the mean in any one of the 
developmental domains listed above; or

4.4.1.3 Professional judgment of the IEP 
team that is based on multiple sources of information used in 
the assessment process and with justification documented in 
writing in the evaluation report of a significant difference 
between the child’s chronological age and his/her current 
level of functioning. A significant difference is defined as a 
minimum of a 25% delay in comparison to same-aged peers.

4.4.2 Multiple sources/ methods of information 
shall be used in the determination of eligibility for service 
provision.  An assessment shall include, but not be limited 
to, the following sources of information:

4.4.2.1 Developmental and medical history;
4.4.2.2 Interview with the child’s parent or 

primary caregiver;
4.4.2.3 Behavioral observations;
4.4.2.4 Standardized norm-referenced 

instruments; and
4.4.2.5 Other assessments which could be 

used for intervention planning, such as dynamic or criterion-
referenced assessments, behavior rating scales, or language 
samples.

4.4.3 The assessment of a child suspected of a 
developmental delay shall be culturally and linguistically 
sensitive.  

4.4.4 Age of eligibility:  The age of eligibility 
for classification under the developmental delay 
classification is from the third birth date until the ninth birth 
date.

Non-regulatory note: Under the Delaware Code, 
funding for the Developmental Delay category is only 
available through the Preschool Children with Disabilities 
block grant, except as authorized through the Special 
Education Funding Pilot. 

4.5 Eligibility Criteria for Deaf Blind: An IEP team 
shall consider the following in making a determination that a 
child has a deaf-blind condition:

4.5.1 A qualified physician or licensed 
audiologist shall document that a child has a hearing loss so 
severe that he or she cannot effectively process linguistic 
information through hearing, with or without the use of a 
hearing aid. Such documentation shall be based upon a 
formal observation or procedure; and a licensed 
ophthalmologist or optometrist shall document that a child 
has a best, corrected visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the 
better eye, or a peripheral field so contracted that the widest 
lateral field of vision subtends less than 20 degrees; and

4.5.2 An IEP team shall consider the 
documentation of auditory and visual impairment in addition 
to other information relevant to the child’s condition in 
determining eligibility for special education under the above 
definition.

4.5.3 Classification as a child who is deaf- blind 
shall be made by the IEP team after consideration of the 
above eligibility criteria.

4.5.4 Age of Eligibility: The age of eligibility 
for children identified under this definition shall be from 
birth through 20 years, inclusive.

4.6 Eligibility Criteria for Emotional Disturbance: The 
IEP team shall consider documentation of the manifestation 
of the clusters or patterns of behavior associated with 
emotional disturbance and documentation from multiple 
assessment procedures. Such procedures shall include, but 
not be limited to, an evaluation by either a licensed or 
certified school psychologist, or a licensed psychiatrist, 
classroom observations by teacher(s) and at least one other 
member of the IEP team, a review of records, standardized 
rating scales, and child interviews.

4.6.1 The documentation shall show that the 
identified behaviors have existed over a long period of time 
and to a marked degree, and:

4.6.2 Adversely affect educational performance. 
This means that the child's emotions and behaviors directly 
interfere with educational performance. It also means that 
such interference cannot primarily be explained by 
intellectual, sensory, cultural, or health factors, or by 
substance abuse; and

4.6.2.1 Are situationally inappropriate for the 
child's age. This refers to recurrent behaviors that clearly 
deviate from behaviors normally expected of other students 
of similar age under similar circumstances. That is, the 
student's characteristic behaviors are sufficiently distinct 
from those of his or her peer groups; or

4.6.2.2 Preclude personal adjustment or the 
establishment and maintenance of interpersonal 
relationships. This means that the child exhibits a general 
pervasive mood of unhappiness or depression and/or is 
unable to enter into age-appropriate relationships with peers, 
teachers and others; and

4.6.3 The age of eligibility for children 
identified under this definition shall be from the fourth 
birthday through 20 years, inclusive.

4.7 Eligibility Criteria for Hearing Impairment
4.7.1 A qualified physician or licensed 

audiologist shall document that a child has a hearing loss 
such that it makes difficult or impossible the processing of 
linguistic information through hearing, with or without 
amplification. Such documentation shall be based upon a 
formal observation or procedure; and

4.7.2 The IEP team shall consider the 
documentation of hearing impairment in addition to other 
information relevant to the child’s condition in determining 
eligibility for special education under the above definition.

4.7.3 The age of eligibility of children identified 
under this definition shall be from birth through 20 years, 
inclusive.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 2, SUNDAY, AUGUST 2, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 229
4.8 Eligibility Criteria for Learning Disability: In order 
for an IEP team to determine eligibility for special education 
services under the learning disability category, the following 
is required:

4.8.1 Written document for the formative 
intervention process used with the student. (See section 2.3, 
“Referral to Instruction Support Team” above). The 
documentation shall include a clear statement of the 
student’s presenting problem(s); summary of diagnostic data 
collected and the sources of that data; and summary of 
interventions implemented to resolve the presenting 
problem(s) and the effects of the interventions; and

4.8.2 A comprehensive psychological 
assessment to evaluate the student’s reasoning and cognitive 
processes in order to rule out mental retardation and 
emotional disturbance, and

4.8.3 A severe discrepancy between 
achievement and intellectual ability in one or more of the 
following areas: oral expression, listening comprehension, 
written expression, basic reading skills, reading 
comprehension, mathematics calculation or mathematics 
reasoning, based on correlation tables approved by the 
Department of Education.

4.8.4 The age of eligibility for students 
identified under this definition shall be from the fourth 
birthday through 20 years inclusive.

4.9 Mental Disability: The degree of mental disability 
is defined as follows: Educable Mental Disability (EMD) - 
I.Q. 50-70, +5 points; Trainable Mental Disability (TMD) - 
I.Q. 35-50, +5 points; Severe Mental Disability (SMD) - I.Q. 
below 35.

4.9.1 Eligibility Criteria for Mental Disability: 
The IEP team shall consider both the level of intellectual 
functioning and effectiveness of adaptive behavior, as 
measured by a licensed or certified school psychologist, in 
determining that a child has a mental disability and the 
degree of mental disability.

4.9.2 The age of eligibility for children 
identified under the TMD, and SMD definition shall be from 
the third birthday through 20 years, inclusive. Children 
identified under the EMD definition shall be from the fourth 
birthday through 20 years inclusive. These children may be 
served at age 3 as having a developmental delay.

4.10 Eligibility Criteria for Physical Impairments: 
Eligibility criteria for physical impairments include 
examples of orthopedic disabilities, but are not limited to: 
traumatic brain injury, cerebral palsy, muscular dystrophy, 
spina bifida, juvenile rheumatoid arthritis, amputation, 
arthrogryposis, or contractures caused by fractures or burns. 
Examples of health impairments include, but are not limited 
to: cancer, burns, asthma, heart conditions, sickle cell 
anemia, hemophilia, epilepsy, HIV/AIDS or medical 
fragility.

4.10.1 A qualified physician shall document that 

a child has a physical impairment in order to be considered 
for special education and related services under the above 
definition.

4.10.2 The IEP team shall consider the child’s 
need for special education and related services if the physical 
impairment substantially limits one or more major activities 
of daily living and the student has:

4.10.2.1 Muscular or neuromuscular 
disability(ies) which significantly limit(s) the ability to 
communicate, move about, sit or manipulate the materials 
required for learning; or

4.10.2.2 Skeletal deformities or other 
abnormalities which affect ambulation, posture and/or body 
use necessary for performing school work; or

4.10.2.3 Similar disabilities which result in 
reduced efficiency in school work because of temporary or 
chronic lack of strength, vitality, or alertness.

4.10.3 Determination by the IEP team of 
eligibility for services shall be based upon data obtained 
from:

4.10.3.1 Medical records documenting the 
physical impairment are required, and current medical 
prescriptions such as O.T./P.T., medication, catheterization, 
tube feeding shall be included if available;

4.10.3.2 Results from specialist team screening 
using appropriate measures which identify educational and 
related service needs, as well as environmental adjustments 
necessary. The team shall include, but not necessarily be 
limited to, an educator and physical or occupational 
therapist; and

4.10.3.3 Prior program or school records if 
available; and when determined necessary, a speech/ 
language evaluation, adaptive behavior scale, vision or 
hearing screening, social history, and/or psychological 
evaluation.

4.10.4 Age of Eligibility: The age of eligibility 
for children under this definition shall be from the third 
birthday through 20 years, inclusive.

4.9 Eligibility Criteria for Mental Disability
4.9.1 Eligibility Criteria for Mental Disability: 

In order for the IEP team to determine eligibility for special 
education services under the Mental Disability category, the 
following is required:

4.9.1.1 A level of intellectual functioning, as 
indicated below:

4.9.1.1.1 Educable Mental Disability: 
IQ 50-70 +/- 5 points; 

4.9.1.1.2 Trainable Mental Disability:
IQ 35-50 +/-5 points; 

4.9.1.1.3 Severe Mental Disability: IQ 
below 35; and

4.9.1.2 Significant limitations in two or more 
areas of adaptive behavior, including communication, self-
care, home/school living, social/interpersonal, community 
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use, self-direction/coping, health and safety, functional 
academics, leisure/play, and work.

4.9.2 Assessment for both intellectual 
functioning and adaptive behavior shall be conducted by a 
licensed psychologist or certified school psychologist.

4.9.3 Age of Eligibility:  The age of eligibility 
for children identified as Trainable Mental Disability and 
Severe Mental Disability shall be from the third birthday 
through 20 years, inclusive.  Children identified as Educable 
Mental Disability shall be from the fourth birthday through 
20 years, inclusive.  These children may be served at age 3, 
as having a Developmental Delay.

4.10 Eligibility Criteria for Orthopedic Impairment: 
In order for an IEP team to determine eligibility for special 
education services under the orthopedic impairment 
category, the following is required:

4.10.1 A qualified physician shall document that 
a child has an orthopedic impairment in order to be 
considered for special education and related services.

4.10.2 The IEP team shall consider the child’s 
need for special education and related services if the 
orthopedic impairment substantially limits one or more 
major activities of daily living and the child has:

4.10.2.1 Muscular or neuromuscular 
disability(ies) which significantly limit(s) the ability to 
communicate, move about, sit or manipulate the materials 
required for learning; or

4.10.2.2 Skeletal deformities or other 
abnormalities which affect ambulation, posture, and/or body 
use necessary for performing school work.

4.10.3 Determination by the IEP team of 
eligibility for services shall be based upon data obtained 
from:

4.10.3.1 Medical records documenting the 
physical impairment (required) and current prescriptions 
(e.g., O.T., P.T., medications, etc., if available);

4.10.3.2 Results from physical and 
occupational therapist screening(s) using appropriate 
measures which identify educational and related service 
needs, as well as environmental adjustments necessary; and

4.10.3.3 Prior program or school records (if 
available), and, when determined necessary, a speech/
language evaluation, adaptive behavior scale, vision or 
hearing screening, social history and/or psychological 
evaluation.

4.10.4 For purposes of initial eligibility or 
continued eligibility determination, at least one of the 
following, and as many as are appropriate for the child’s 
needs; physical therapist, occupational therapist, or nurse, 
shall be members of the IEP team.

4.10.5 Age of Eligibility:  The age of eligibility 
for children with orthopedic impairments shall be from the 
third birthday through 20 years, inclusive.

Non-regulatory Note:  For purposes of funding, children 

classified under the Orthopedic Impairment category will be 
counted as Physically Impaired in the Unit Count.

4.11 Eligibility Criteria for Other Health 
Impairment:  In order for an IEP team to determine 
eligibility for special education services under the Other 
Health Impairment category, the following is required:

4.11.1 Documentation from a qualified physician 
that a child has a chronic or acute health problem.

4.11.2 For ADD/ADHD, the above requirement 
and a school team of qualified evaluators that determine the 
child exhibits:

4.11.2.1 Six (or more) of the following 
symptoms of inattention for at least six months, to a degree 
that is maladaptive and inconsistent with developmental 
level;

4.11.2.1.1 Often fails to give close 
attention to details or makes careless mistakes in 
schoolwork, work, or other activities;

4.11.2.1.2 Often has difficulty 
sustaining attention in tasks or play activities;

4.11.2.1.3 Often does not seem to listen 
when spoken to directly;

4.11.2.1.4 Often does not follow 
through on instructions and fails to finish schoolwork, 
chores, or duties in the work place (not due to oppositional 
behavior or failure to understand instructions);

4.11.2.1.5 Often has difficulty 
organizing tasks and activities;

4.11.2.1.6 Often avoids, dislikes, or is 
reluctant to engage in tasks that require sustained mental 
effort (such as school work or homework);

4.11.2.1.7 Often loses things necessary 
for tasks or activities (e.g., toys, school assignments, pencils, 
books, or tools);

4.11.2.1.8 Is often easily distracted by 
extraneous stimuli;

4.11.2.1.9 Is often forgetful in daily 
activities; Or

4.11.2.2 Six (or more) of the following 
symptoms of hyperactivity-impulsivity have persisted for at 
least six months to a degree that is maladaptive and 
inconsistent with developmental level:

4.11.2.2.1 Often fidgets with hands or 
feet and squirms in seat;

4.11.2.2.2 Often leaves seat in 
classroom or in other situations in which remaining seated is 
expected;

4.11.2.2.3 Often runs about or climbs 
excessively in situations in which it is inappropriate (in 
adolescents or adults, may be limited to subjective feelings 
of restlessness);

4.11.2.2.4 Often has difficulty laying or 
engaging in leisure activities quietly;

4.11.2.2.5 Is often “on the go” or often 
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acts as if “driven by a motor”;
4.11.2.2.6 Often talks excessively;
4.11.2.2.7 Often blurts out answers 

before questions have been completed;
4.11.2.2.8 Often has difficulty waiting 

turn;
4.11.2.2.9 Often interrupts or intrudes 

into conversations or games; and 
4.11.2.3 Some hyperactive-impulsive or 

inattentive symptoms that caused impairment were present 
before seven years of age;

4.11.2.4 A clear pattern that is consistently 
manifested across a variety of people, tasks and settings, and 
that persists across a significant period of time;

4.11.2.5 Clear evidence of clinically 
significant impairment in social, academic or occupational 
functioning; and

4.11.2.6 The symptoms do not occur 
exclusively during the course of a pervasive developmental 
disorder, schizophrenia, or other psychotic disorder, and are 
not better accounted for by another mental disorder (e.g. 
mood disorder, anxiety disorder, dissociative disorder, or 
personality disorder).

4.11.3 Determination by the IEP team of 
eligibility for services shall be based upon data obtained 
from:

4.11.3.1 Written documentation from the 
formative intervention process used with the student (see 
section 2.3, p.11 “Referral to Instructional Support Team” 
above).  The documentation shall include a clear statement 
of the student’s presenting problem(s); summary of 
diagnostic data collected, and the sources of that data; and 
summary of interventions implemented to resolve the 
presenting problem(s) and the effects of the interventions; 
and

4.11.3.2 Medical records documenting the 
health impairment or, in the case of students with ADD/
ADHD, medical records documenting that a child has such 
health impairment and determination by a school team of 
qualified evaluators, or, in the case of re-evaluation, the IEP 
team, including the school psychologist, that the child 
exhibits the criteria listed in number 4.11.2 above.

4.11.4 For purposes of initial eligibility or 
continued eligibility determination, the school psychologist 
and the school nurse shall be members of the IEP team.

4.11.5 Age of Eligibility:  The age of eligibility 
for children with Other Health Impairments shall be from the 
third birthday through 20 years, inclusive.

Non-regulatory Note:  For purposes of funding, children 
classified under the Other Health Impaired category will be 
counted as Physically Impaired in the Unit Count.

4.11 4.12 Eligibility Criteria for Speech and/or 
Language Impairment Eligibility Criteria: In determining 
eligibility under the Speech and/or Language classification, 

the IEP team shall consider the results of an evaluation 
conducted by a licensed Speech-Language Pathologist which 
identifies one or more of the following conditions: an 
articulation disorder, a language disorder, dysfluent speech; 
and/or a voice disorder.

4.11.1 4.12.1 The age of eligibility for children 
identified under this definition shall be from the fifth 
birthday through 20 years, inclusive, except where speech 
and/or language therapy is provided as a related service. In 
the latter instance, the age of eligibility shall correspond with 
that of the identified primary disability condition.

4.12 4.13 Eligibility Criteria for Traumatic Brain 
Injury: A qualified physician must document that a child has 
a traumatic brain injury in order to be considered for special 
education and related services under the above definition.

4.12.1 4.13.1 The IEP team shall consider the 
child’s need for special education and related services if the 
traumatic brain injury substantially limits one or more major 
activities of daily living.

4.12.2 4.13.2 The age of eligibility for children 
under this definition shall be from the third birthday through 
20 years, inclusive.

4.13 4.14 Eligibility Criteria for Visual Impairment 
Eligibility Criteria

4.13.1 4.14.1 Legally Blind shall be defined as 
a visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye with best 
correction, or a peripheral field so contracted that the widest 
diameter of such field subtends less than 20 degrees.

4.13.2 4.14.2 Partially Sighted shall be defined 
as a visual acuity between 20/70 and 20/200 in the better eye 
after best correction, or a disease of the eye or visual system 
that seriously affects visual function directly, not 
perceptually. A visual impairment may be accompanied by 
one or more additional disabilities, but does not include 
visual-perceptual or visual-motor dysfunction resulting 
solely from a learning disability.

4.13.3 4.14.3 A licensed ophthalmologist or 
optometrist shall document that a child has a best, corrected 
visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye, or a 
peripheral field so contracted that the widest diameter of 
such field subtends less than 20 degrees, legally blind, or a 
visual acuity of 20/70 or less in the better eye after all 
correction, partially sighted.

4.13.4 4.14.4 The IEP team shall consider the 
documentation of visual impairment in addition to other 
information relevant to the child’s condition in determining 
eligibility for special education under the above definition.

4.13.5 4.14.5 The age of eligibility for children 
identified under this definition shall be from birth through 20 
years, inclusive.

4.14 4.15 Eligibility Criteria for Preschool Speech 
Delay (3 and 4 year olds only)

4.14.1 4.15.1 A speech disability is defined as a 
communication disorder/delay involving articulation, voice 
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quality, and/or speech fluency to such a degree that it 
interferes with a child’s overall communicative performance.

4.14.2 4.15.2 In order to determine a 
significant delay or disorder in this area, the child shall 
receive a speech and language evaluation conducted by a 
licensed Speech and Language Pathologist.

4.14.2.1 4.15.2.1 A speech and language 
evaluation shall include assessment of articulation, receptive 
language and expressive language as measured by a 
standardized/norm-based instrument. It is strongly 
recommended that the evaluation include clinical 
observations and/or an assessment of oral motor functioning, 
voice quality and speech fluency. Results of the evaluation 
may identify a significant delay or disorder in one or more of 
the following areas:

4.14.2.1.1 4.15.2.1.1 Articulation errors 
of sounds that are considered to be developmentally 
appropriate for the child’s age as measured by an articulation 
test,

4.14.2.1.2 4.15.2.1.2 Conversational 
speech that is not developmentally appropriate for the child’s 
age as measured by a speech and language pathologist,

4.14.2.1.3 4.15.2.1.3 Oral motor 
involvement which may affect the development of normal 
articulation,

4.14.2.1.4 4.15.2.1.4 Speech Fluency, or
4.14.2.1.5 4.15.2.1.5 Voice Quality

4.14.3 4.15.3 Results of the evaluation may 
indicate a significant delay in receptive and/or expressive 
language which warrants further evaluation. In this event, 
the child is to be referred for a multidisciplinary evaluation 
to determine if he/she meets the eligibility criteria for 
developmental delay.

4.14.4 4.15.4 The age of eligibility for 
preschool children identified under this definition shall be 
from the third birth date until the fifth birth date.

3 DE Reg. 1551 (5/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 470 (9/1/00)

21.0 Special Programs for Children with Autism:
21.1 Definitions of terms applicable only to special 

programs for children with autism.
21.1.1 “Behavior Management Procedure”

means any procedure used to modify the rate or form of a 
target behavior.

21.1.2 “Behavior Management Target” means 
any child’s behavior that either causes or is likely to cause 
(a) injury to the child (e.g., self-abuse), (b) injury to another 
person (e.g., aggression), (c) damage to property, (d) a 
significant reduction in the child’s actual or anticipated rate 
of learning (e.g., self-stimulation, non-compliance, etc.) or 
(e) a significant reduction in the societal acceptability of a 
child (e.g., public masturbation, public disrobing, etc.).

21.1.3 “Emergency Intervention Procedure”

means any procedure used to modify episodic dangerous 
behavior (e.g., self-injurious behaviors, physical aggression 
property destruction) identified in a behavioral intervention 
plan.

21.1.4 “Ethical Use” means the application of a 
procedure in a manner that is consistent with current 
community values and protects all of a child’s rights.

21.1.5 “Informed Consent” means knowing and 
voluntary consent by the parent(s), based upon a thorough 
explanation by the program staff member supervising the 
individualized Behavior Management procedure, of the 
nature of the procedure, the possible alternative procedures, 
the expected behavior outcomes, the possible side effects 
(positive and negative), the risks and discomforts that may 
be involved, and the right to revoke the Procedure at any 
time.

21.1.6 “Least Restrictive Procedure” means 
that behavior management procedure which is the least 
intrusive into, and least disruptive of, the child’s life, and 
that represents the least departure from normal patterns of 
living that can be effective in meeting the child’s educational 
needs.

21.1.7 “School” means any public school or 
program (special education or otherwise), which has 
enrolled a child classified with autism.

21.1.8 “Accepted Clinical Practice” means any 
behavior management procedure or treatment, the 
effectiveness of which has received clear empirical support 
as documented by publication in peer-reviewed journals or 
similar professional literature.

21.2 Reserved. The Statewide Monitoring 
Review Board (SMRB) shall be generally administered by 
the Director for State Services for Children with Autism and 
the Director of the Exceptional Children and Early 
Childhood Education Group, Department of Education.

21.2.1 The purpose of the SMRB is to define 
research-based best educational practices for students with 
autism served in approved programs in Delaware.  This 
includes reviewing and making recommendations to the 
Secretary of Education regarding the special education and 
related services for children with autism in approved 
programs, including programs for students with autism 
whose placement in private facilities has been authorized by 
the Department of Education.

21.2.2 The SMRB shall consist of the following 
members:

21.2.2.1 Director for State Services for 
Children with Autism.

21.2.2.2 Director of the Exceptional Children 
and Early Childhood Education Group, or designee.

21.2.2.3 One administrator from each LEA/
charter school with an approved program for students with 
autism, or their designee.  The administrator or designee 
must have experience in, and responsibility for, the program 
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for students with autism.
21.2.2.4 One non-administrative experienced 

professional from each approved program for students with 
autism.  These individuals are nominated by the 
administrator responsible for the approved program and are 
subject to the approval of the Director for State Services for 
Children with Autism.

21.2.2.5 Two non-voting public 
representatives nominated annually by the Statewide Parent 
Advisory Committee.  These individuals must not have a 
child currently served in an approved program.

21.2.3 The SMRB shall operate under the 
following procedures:

21.2.3.1 The Director of State Services for 
Children with Autism shall serve as the Chairperson of the 
Board.

21.2.3.2 A majority of the voting members of 
the board shall constitute a quorum.

21.2.3.3 Decisions of the Board shall be 
determined by a majority vote of the quorum.  

21.2.3.4 The chairperson shall set mutually 
agreeable times and places for meetings, which shall be 
scheduled at least five times per year, contingent upon 
agenda items.  

21.2.3.5 The SMRB shall discharge its 
responsibilities in accordance with the IDEA and the 
Administrative Manual for Special Education Services 
(AMSES).

21.2.3.6 The SMRB shall function in an 
advisory capacity and the procedural safeguards guaranteed 
to students with autism, their parents (as defined under 
IDEA), and local school districts, charter schools, or 
agencies, shall not be diminished by the activities of the 
SMRB.

21.2.4 The SMRB has the following 
responsibilities:

21.2.4.1 To determine which educational 
methods and curricula are consistent with research-based 
best practices for students with autism.  This includes 
reviewing and making recommendations regarding proposed 
new practices.

21.2.4.1.1 Requests for review of 
practices may be submitted to the SMRB by SMRB 
members, the Secretary of Education, the State Parent 
Advisory Committee, Superintendents of LEAs, or Chief 
Administrators of Charter Schools. 

21.2.4.1.2 If the party making the 
request for review disagrees with the recommendation of the 
SMRB regarding best educational practices, they may 
request the Secretary of Education appoint an independent 
expert to review the practice.

21.2.4.2 To review, at least annually, 
educational programming and aggregated performance data 
for students with autism in approved programs in Delaware.

21.2.4.3 To make recommendations based on 
this review regarding appropriate strategies, supports, 
services, and professional development necessary to ensure 
the implementation of research-based best educational 
practices with respect to the evaluation and educational 
programming for students with autism.

21.2.4.4 To assist LEAs /charter schools with 
approved programs in developing and implementing plans to 
address the recommendations of the SMRB.

21.2.4.5 To submit an Annual Report by 
September 1 of each year to the Secretary, Department of 
Education and the President of the State Board of Education.

21.3 A Parent Advisory Committee (PAC) shall be 
established by each local education agency operating a 
center for the Delaware Autistic Program.

21.3.1 The function of the PAC shall be to advise 
the local education agency on matters pertaining to the local 
center.

21.3.2 Each PAC shall meet no less than four 
times each year and must be representative of the age groups 
of children with autism served by the local center.

21.3.3 When a local education agency operates a 
residential program, at least one member of the PAC shall be 
a parent of a child with autism served in the residential 
program associated with that center.

21.4 A Statewide Parent Advisory Committee 
(SPAC) shall be established whose membership shall consist 
of one representative elected annually from each local 
education agency PAC.

21.4.1 The SPAC shall meet no less than four 
times each year with the Director of DAP advising on 
matters pertaining to the program.

21.4.2 The establishment of bylaws for the SPAC 
shall be by vote of all of its eligible members.

21.4.3 A current statewide membership list shall 
be provided to all parents.

21.4.4 Reimbursement for travel expenses shall 
be available to members of the Statewide Parent Advisory 
Committee (SPAC).

21.5 A Peer Review Committee (PRC) shall be 
established by the Director of the Delaware Autism Program 
(DAP) and the Department of Education in consultation with 
the Statewide Monitoring Review Board (SMRB).

21.5.1 Purpose: The purpose of the PRC shall be 
to review, in light of accepted clinical practice, the 
professional and clinical issues involved in the use of 
behavior management procedures to ensure their appropriate 
use by the staff of a school district serving children with 
autism.

21.5.2 Composition: The PRC shall consist of 
three to five members who shall be competent, 
knowledgeable professionals with at least three years of 
post-doctoral experience in the theory and ethical application 
of behavior management procedures. Membership shall be 
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external to the Delaware Autism Program (DAP), the 
Department of Education, any Delaware school district, and 
any other State agency or department, excluding State 
institutions of higher education. Members shall not belong to 
any in-State committee, council, board or program that deals 
directly with children with autism.

21.5.3 Operation: The PRC shall elect a 
chairperson and shall adopt a set of rules to guide its 
operation. A copy of these rules shall be provided to the 
Department of Education and the Director of the DAP.

21.5.4 Peer Review Committee (PRC) 
Responsibilities

21.5.4.1 The PRC shall meet at least every 
three months to review those behavior management 
procedures requiring after-the-fact examination. (See 
Section 21.7.1)

21.5.4.1.1 A quorum shall consist of a 
majority of the Committee.

21.5.4.1.2 The PRC chairperson shall 
announce the dates of review at least one month prior to the 
review date.

21.5.4.2 The PRC shall meet at least six (6) 
times per year to review procedures requiring prior, case-by- 
case review that have been granted interim or on-going 
approval. The monthly review shall continue until said 
procedure has been discontinued or the PRC votes 
otherwise. This review may be held jointly with HRC.

21.5.4.3 The PRC chairperson shall invite staff 
members of DAP responsible for implementation of 
behavior management procedures, the Director of DAP, or 
any other individual (e.g., a consultant to ensure expertise in 
a specific behavior management procedure under review) to 
participate as needed in a non-voting capacity.

21.5.4.4 The PRC shall provide technical 
assistance when requested by the Program Director to 
develop a behavior management procedure for children 
engaged in behaviors that pose a significant health risk to the 
child or others, a significant risk of damage to property, and/
or a significant reduction of learning.

21.5.4.5 The PRC shall review and evaluate 
the training and supervision for the staff that will carry out 
all behavior management procedures requiring prior, 
individual review and may evaluate the training of staff 
carrying out procedures requiring after-the- fact review.

21.5.4.5.1 The PRC shall provide the 
Program Director with written comments and 
recommendations concerning the findings of this review.

21.5.4.6 The PRC shall keep written minutes 
of all its meetings and shall submit them to the Director of 
DAP, the Department of Education and the HRC 
chairperson.

21.5.4.6.1 These minutes shall be 
submitted within two weeks of each meeting.

21.5.4.6.2 An oral summary of the PRC 

recommendations shall be made within twenty-four hours 
following the PRC meeting to the Director of DAP and the 
HRC chairperson.

21.6 A Human Rights Committee (HRC) shall be 
established by the Director of the DAP and the Department 
of Education in consultation with the Statewide Autistic 
Program Monitoring Review Board.

21.6.1 Purpose: The purpose of the HRC shall be 
to review the ethical and children rights issues involved in 
the use of behavior management procedures to ensure their 
humane and proper application.

21.6.2 Composition: The HRC shall consist of 
five to ten members representing various occupations, who 
are not employees or relatives of children enrolled in the 
DAP, who are not employees of the Department of 
Education, and who are not members of any in-State 
organization, agency, or program that deals directly with 
children with autism. No member of the HRC shall be a 
member of the PRC.

21.6.3 Operation: The HRC shall elect a 
chairperson and shall adopt a set of rules to guide its 
operation. A copy of these rules shall be provided to the 
Department of Education and the Director of the DAP.

21.6.4 Human Rights Committee Responsibilities
21.6.4.1 Whenever a school proposed to use a 

behavior management procedure requiring review prior to 
implementation, the HRC shall meet and review the 
proposed use of the behavior management procedure. This 
review shall occur within seven days after the PRC 
chairperson informs the HRC chairperson of PRC’s 
recommendations.

21.6.4.1.1 A quorum shall consist of a 
majority of the Committee.

21.6.4.1.2 This review, however, may 
be held jointly with the PRC.

21.6.4.2 The HRC chairperson shall invite 
staff members who are responsible for the implementation of 
behavior management procedures, the Director of DAP, or 
any other individual (e.g., consultant, parent) to participate 
as needed in a non-voting capacity.

21.6.4.3 The HRC shall develop a written form 
to be used to ensure that informed parental consent is 
obtained before implementation of specified behavior 
management procedures.

21.6.4.4 The HRC shall keep written minutes 
of all its meetings and shall submit them to the Director of 
DAP, the Director, Exceptional Children Group, and the 
PRC chairperson.

21.6.4.4.1 These minutes shall be 
submitted within two weeks of each meeting.

21.6.4.4.2 An oral summary of the 
HRC recommendations shall be made within twenty-four 
hours following the HRC meeting to the Director of DAP 
and the PRC chairperson.
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21.7 Joint responsibilities of the Peer Review and 
Human Rights Committees are as follows:

21.7.1 Issue a written statement indicating which 
behavior management procedure(s) shall be recommended 
for use:

21.7.1.1 Without further PRC/HRC review 
during the year approved;

21.7.1.2 Without a case-by-case PRC/HRC 
review but with after-the- fact review (timelines to be 
established by the PRC); or

21.7.1.3 Only with prior case-by-case PRC and 
HRC (before-the-fact) review;

21.7.2 Recommend written modifications, if 
necessary, of behavior management procedures along with 
accompanying rationale;

21.7.3 Review a school’s proposed Emergency 
Intervention Procedures for children with autism and issue a 
written statement indicating which Emergency Intervention 
Procedures shall be recommended:

21.7.3.1 For use without after-the-fact 
reporting to the PRC/HRC; or

21.7.3.2 For use with after-the-fact reporting to 
the PRC/HRC;

21.7.4 Issue an advisory, not mandatory, 
statement presenting a recommended hierarchy of reviewed 
behavior management procedures according to the Least 
Restrictive Procedure principle.

21.7.4.1 Notice shall be given to parents of 
children with autism in the program of the availability upon 
request, and at no cost to parents, of copies of the reviewed 
behavior management procedures.

21.7.4.2 A copy shall also be forwarded to the 
Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens.

21.7.5 The PRC chairperson, in cooperation with 
the HRC chairperson, shall announce the joint PRC/ HRC 
annual review at least one month prior to the review date.

21.7.5.1 At the discretion of either 
chairperson, Committees may meet jointly or separately to 
conduct before-the-fact and after-the-fact reviews.

21.7.6 Approve, before-the-fact, the housing of 
children under age twelve with a child over age sixteen in a 
community-based residential program for children with 
autism operated by a school district designated and approved 
by the Secretary of Education as the administering agency 
for the DAP.

21.7.7 Review, within 30 days of the granting of 
interim approval, any request by a school for the immediate 
implementation of a behavior management procedure 
requiring prior, case- by-case review.

21.7.7.1 Immediate implementation of a 
proposed procedure may occur after the Program Director 
has obtained unanimous interim approval from one PRC 
member and two HRC members.

21.7.7.2 Proposed prior review procedures not 

requiring immediate implementation shall be submitted by a 
school directly to PRC and HRC chairperson to be reviewed 
within two weeks of submission of the proposal.

21.7.8 Have access to the educational records of 
any child with autism for purposes of 21.5.1 and 21.6.1 of 
this section.

21.7.8.1 A quorum of a joint meeting shall 
consist of a majority of combined membership.

21.7.9 Submit written Procedural Descriptions 
for Behavior Management and Emergency Interventions

21.7.9.1 Prior to utilizing a behavior 
management procedure or an emergency intervention 
procedure for a particular child with autism, a school shall 
submit written procedural descriptions for at least annual 
joint review by the PRC and HRC.

21.7.9.1.1 The annual date of review 
shall be announced by the HRC chairperson at least one 
month prior to the review date.

21.7.9.1.2 The school shall submit 
written procedural descriptions at least two weeks prior to 
the joint annual review date to the PRC and HRC 
chairpersons.

21.7.9.1.3 The written descriptions 
shall contain information determined by PRC and HRC and 
set forth in their operating rules.

21.7.9.1.4 PRC and HRC may request 
pertinent information needed for the completion of reviews.

21.7.9.2 After reviewing each behavior 
management and emergency procedure, the PRC and HRC 
shall indicate what kind of review each procedure requires 
(annual, after-the-fact, or prior case-by-case review). A 
school serving children with autism shall then submit 
proposals in accordance with PRC/HRC recommendations.

21.7.9.3 Behavior management and emergency 
intervention procedures that require annual review only may 
then be implemented by a school without further PRC/HRC 
review until the next annual joint review. A school shall 
require that the use of these procedures be indicated in a 
child’s IEP.

21.7.9.4 Behavior management and emergency 
intervention procedures that require after-the-fact review 
only shall be used by a school without case-by-case review, 
but shall be reported after the fact to the PRC by dates 
specified by the Committee chairperson.

21.7.9.4.1 The school shall submit 
written records as set forth in PRC and HRC operating rules, 
or any other relevant information requested by either 
Committee, to the PRC chairperson at least one week prior 
to the review date.

21.7.9.5 Behavior management procedures 
that require prior case-by- case review shall be submitted to 
the PRC and HRC for joint review prior to implementation.

21.7.9.5.1 If the PRC and HRC decide 
not to review the case jointly, the PRC shall first review the 
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proposal.
21.7.9.5.2 The proposal shall contain 

information determined by PRC and HRC and set forth in 
their operating rules.

21.7.9.5.3 Recommendations and 
rationale for the decision shall be provided whenever the 
PRC fails to recommend use of a proposed procedure.

21.7.9.6 Following the PRC recommendation 
(or following joint PRC/HRC approval), written informed 
parental consent shall be obtained by the school.

21.7.9.6.1 If an interim consent is 
obtained by telephone, then two witnesses to the content of 
the conversation shall sign a form certifying that the 
parent(s) gave informed consent. The school must then 
obtain written verification of this consent from the parent(s).

21.7.9.6.2 Parents may withdraw 
consent at any time; if said withdrawal is done verbally in 
person or by telephone, the parent shall provide written 
verification of withdrawal within 10 days of the initial 
notice.

21.7.9.7 Whenever the PRC and HRC choose 
not to meet jointly, the information provided by a school 
shall be submitted to the HRC along with the PRC’s 
recommendations.

21.7.9.7.1 Recommendations and 
rationale for the decision shall be provided whenever the 
HRC fails to recommend the use of a proposed procedure.

21.7.9.7.2 Whenever a proposal is 
recommended for implementation, an IEP objective shall be 
developed relating to the behavior management target and 
the proposed procedure.

21.7.9.8 Whenever the PRC or HRC fail to 
recommend or modify the proposed procedure, the parent(s) 
shall be notified by the school.

21.7.9.8.1 If the procedure is to be 
modified, informed written consent shall be obtained from 
the parents.

21.7.9.9 The school staff responsible for 
implementing the behavior management procedure shall 
provide written reports to the PRC and HRC, summarizing 
the records (which shall be kept on a daily basis) on the use 
and results obtained by implementing the procedure.

21.7.9.9.1 Records shall be kept in an 
objective, quantitative form, permitting easy evaluation of 
child data.

21.7.9.9.2 The PRC and HRC shall 
have unrestricted access to all data, records, and reports 
relating to the behavior management procedures used.

21.7.9.10 Any behavior management or 
emergency intervention procedure that is developed by a 
school after the joint annual review date for a particular 
school year shall be submitted to the PRC and HRC 
chairpersons for joint review prior to any implementation of 
the new procedure, unless interim approval has been 

recommended as described in 21.7.7.
21.8 Private facilities serving autistic children shall 

have Peer Review and Human Rights Committee policies as 
follows:

21.8.1 Private facilities serving children with 
autism located in Delaware shall have Peer Review 
Committee and Human Rights Committee policies that 
comply with DELACARE standards (requirements for 
Residential Child Care Facilities, Department of Services for 
Children, Youth and their Families).

21.8.2 Private facilities serving Delaware 
children with autism located in other states shall comply 
with the Peer Review Committee and Human Rights 
Committee policies used by the state in which the facility is 
located.

21.8.2.1 Said policies shall be reviewed by 
Delaware’s Department of Education to determine that they 
grant protection substantially equivalent to that provided by 
Delaware for children prior to any recommendation of 
approval for private placement by the State Board of 
Education.

21.8.3 Private facilities serving Delaware 
children with autism located in states which have no Peer 
Review Committee and Human Rights Committee policies 
shall have written Peer Review and Human Rights 
Committee policies that shall be reviewed by Delaware’s 
Department of Education in consultation with Delaware’s 
PRC, to determine that they grant protection substantially 
equivalent to that provided by Delaware for children, prior to 
any recommendation of approval for private placement by 
the Secretary of Education.

21.8.4 Private facilities serving Delaware 
children with autism located in states which require 
substituted judgment or other court order for the use of 
aversive or related restrictive procedures, and which have 
obtained such an order for each Delaware child, shall be 
deemed to have met the peer review and human rights 
requirements of this section.

21.9 Whenever psychotropic medication has been 
prescribed by a physician and appears to affect adversely the 
educational program of a child with autism, the 
administrator of the center shall contact the parent and 
request a medication review with the parent and physician.

21.10 Appropriate liaison with the Department of 
Health and Social Services and other agencies shall be 
established by the Director of DAP and the Department of 
Education.

3 DE Reg. 1709 (6/1/00)

* Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published. The complete 
regulation can be found at: http://www.state.de.us/
research/AdminCode/title14
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Education Impact Analysis
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

1105 School Transportation

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 

State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 
1105 School Transportation in order to add a new section 
22.0 that includes the responsibilities of non-public, non-
profit schools for the administration of their transportation 
systems under the rules and regulations of the Department of 
Education.  Section 13.2.1 is also amended in order to 
change the statement about when the bus contractors are paid 
from “at the end of the month” to “in the middle of the 
month” due to the fact that schools are starting earlier in the 
fall.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses school 
transportation issues not student achievement issues.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education? The amended regulation 
addresses school transportation issues not equity issues.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected?  The amended 
regulation addresses school transportation issues which 
include numerous references to safety.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses school transportation issues and protection of 
students rights are included.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority 
and flexibility of decision making at the local board and 
school level?  The amended regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?  The amended 
regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an 

impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies?  The amended 
regulation will be consistent with and not an impediment to 
the implementation of other state educational policies, in 
particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation? The Delaware Code requires 
that the Department of Education make regulations 
concerning School transportation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no cost 
to the State and to the local school boards of compliance 
with the regulation.

1105  School Transportation

1.0 Responsibilities of Local Superintendents:u
Local District Superintendents or their designees shall 

assume the following responsibilities concerning the 
transportation of students:

1.1 Implement state school transportation regulations. 
Local school disciplinary policies shall include pupil 
behavior and discipline on the school bus.

1.2 Define and coordinate changes to school 
transportation operations impacting local district budget 
allocations with the Department of Education.

1.3 Provide resource material and encourage teachers 
to include instruction in passenger safety in the school 
curriculum.

1.4 Provide for close and continuous supervision of the 
unloading and loading zones on or near the school plant, and 
of the emergency drills.

1.5 Provide supervision for those students whose bus 
schedules require them to arrive at school before classes 
begin and remain after classes terminate.

1.6 Promote public understanding of, and support for 
the district‘s school transportation program.

1.7 Assume prime responsibility for student conduct.

2.0 Conditions for School Bus Contractors:
School Bus Contractors shall agree to the following 

conditions in their contracts:
2.1 Follow all applicable federal, state, and local school 

bus regulations and policies.
2.2 Communicate effectively with the district 

transportation supervisor.
2.3 Dismiss a school bus driver when it can be shown 

that the driver is not satisfactorily performing driver tasks.
District transportation supervisors may restrict a driver from 
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operating in their school district.
2.4 Pay drivers and aides and provide substitute drivers 

and aides.

3.0 Responsibilities of School Bus Drivers:
Local school districts shall have a policy concerning the 

responsibilities of school bus drivers which, at a minimum, 
includes the following:

3.1 A statement that the school bus driver is in full 
charge of the bus and pupils, has the authority of a classroom 
teacher and is responsible for the health, safety, and welfare 
of each passenger.

3.2 Statements listing the following specific 
responsibilities of the bus driver:

3.2.1 Operate the school bus in a safe and 
efficient manner.

3.2.2 Conduct pre-trip and post-trip checks on 
the vehicle.

3.2.3 Establish and maintain rapport with 
passengers.

3.2.4 Maintain discipline among passengers.
3.2.5 Meet emergency situations effectively.
3.2.6 Communicate effectively with district and 

school staff.
3.2.7 Maintain effective contact with the public.
3.2.8 Complete reports as required by the state 

or school district.
3.2.9 Complete required training programs 

satisfactorily.
3.2.10 Refrain from using profane or indecent 

language or tobacco while on duty.
3.2.11 Dress appropriately.
3.2.12 Pickup and drop-off students at designated 

stops.
3.2.13 Submit to periodic random drug and 

alcohol testing and be subject to actions specified in the 
Delaware Code and in federal requirements.

3.2.14 Report suspected cases of child abuse to 
the school principal or designated official.

3.2.15 Notify the district transportation 
supervisor of any school bus accident.

3.3 A statement requiring a report of a physical 
examination on forms designated by the Department of 
Education.
4.0 Qualifications and Responsibilities of School Bus 
Aides

4.1 Qualifications for School Bus Aides include the 
following and shall apply to all new applicants and for any 
person whose employment as an aide has lapsed for a period 
of over one year.
 4.1.1 Be at least 18 years of age.

4.1.2 Be fingerprinted to allow a criminal 
history check at both state and federal level and meet the 
same requirements (pre-licensing) specified for school bus 

drivers in the Delaware Code.
4.1.3 File with the district transportation 

supervisor a notarized affidavit (the same as the school bus 
driver affidavit) attesting to acceptable criminal history 
pending an official state and federal criminal record report.

4.1.4 Submit to the federal drug and alcohol 
testing procedures established for school bus drivers.

4.2 Local school districts shall have a policy 
concerning school bus aides which, at a minimum, lists the 
following responsibilities:

4.2.1 Assist in loading and unloading of 
students, including lift operation.

4.2.2 Ensure that students and equipment are 
properly strapped in seats.  Adjust, fasten, and release 
restraint devices for students and equipment, as required. 
Monitor overall safety of students and equipment.

4.2.3 Ensure that all students remain seated at 
all times.

4.2.4 Assist the driver during unusual traffic 
conditions; act as a lookout if necessary when bus must be 
backed.

4.2.5 Assist the driver in the enforcement of all 
state and school district bus safety regulations.

4.2.6 Perform record keeping tasks related to 
student attendance and bus assignment.

4.2.7 Monitor and report student misbehavior 
according to established procedure.

4.2.8 Assist the driver in keeping the interior of 
the bus clean.

4.2.9 Assist students with disabilities with 
personal needs associated with their disabilities.

4.2.10 Assist in bus evacuation drills.
4.2.11 Work cooperatively with all school 

personnel and parents.
4.2.12 Perform other duties as assigned by the 

district transportation supervisor or designee.
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5.0 Student Conduct on School Buses:

School Districts shall have a policy concerning the 
behavior of students on school buses that shall, at a 
minimum, contain the following rules which if not followed 
may result in the suspension of bus riding privileges.

5.1 Obey the driver promptly, and be courteous to the 
driver and to fellow students.Students are to conduct 
themselves while on the bus in such a way that it will not 
distract the driver from the job of driving.

5.2 Be at their bus stop on time for pickup.
5.3 Wait for the bus on the sidewalk or shoulder, not the 

roadway.
5.4 Keep a safe distance from the bus while it is in 

motion.
5.5 Enter the bus without crowding or disturbing others 

and occupy their seats immediately.
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5.6 Get on or off the bus only when it is stopped.
5.7 Remain seated and facing forward.  No student 

shall occupy a position in the driver area in front of a 
stanchion, barrier, or white floor line that may distract the 
driver’s attention or interfere with the driver’s vision.

5.8 Stay out of the driver’s seat.  Also, unnecessary 
conversation with the driver is prohibited while the bus is in 
motion.

5.9 Follow highway safety practices in accordance with 
the Motor Vehicle Laws of the State of Delaware and walk 
on the side of the road facing traffic when going to or from 
the bus or bus stop along the highway.  Before crossing the 
road to board the bus or after being discharged from the bus 
cross only upon an audible clearance signal from the driver.

5.10 Do not cross the road until it is clear of all 
traffic or that traffic has come to a complete stop and then 
walk in front of the bus far enough to be seen by the driver at 
all times.

5.11 Observe classroom conduct when on the bus.
5.12 Do not call out to passers-by or open the bus 

windows without permission from the driver, nor extend 
head or arms out of the windows.

5.13 Do not leave the bus without the driver’s 
consent, except on arrival at their regular bus stop or at 
school.

5.14 Keep the bus clean, sanitary, and orderly and 
not damage or abuse the equipment.

5.15 Do not smoke, use profanity or eat or drink on 
the bus.

5.16 Do not throw articles of any kind in, out, or 
around the bus.

5.17 Other forms of misconduct that will not be 
tolerated are acts such as, but not limited to, indecent 
exposure, obscene gestures, spitting, and others that may be 
addressed in the school code of conduct.

6.0 Procedures for Operating Buses:
Each school district shall adopt the following 

procedures for the operation of their school buses:
6.1 No person other than a pupil, teacher, school 

official, aide or substitute driver shall be permitted to ride on 
a school bus while transporting pupils.  Exceptions may be 
made for parents involved in Department of Education 
educational programs that provide for transportation and 
others approved by the district transportation supervisor.

6.2 The driver shall maintain a schedule in the bus and 
shall at all times adhere to it.Drivers shall not be required to 
wait for pupils unless they can be seen making an effort to 
reach the bus stop.

6.3 The driver shall maintain discipline on the bus, and 
shall report cases of disobedience or misconduct to the 
proper school officials.  No pupils may be discharged from 
the bus for disciplinary reasons except at the home or school. 
The principal or designated school official shall be notified 

of such action immediately. Any change to the action taken 
by the driver or any further disciplinary action to be taken is 
the responsibility of the principal or designated school 
official.

6.4 Pupils shall have definite places to get on and leave 
the bus, and should not be allowed to leave the bus at any 
place other than the regular stop without written permission 
from their parents, and approval by the principal or 
designated school official, except in cases of emergency. 
Districts may adopt a more restrictive policy.

6.5 Buses shall be brought to a full stop before pupils 
are allowed to get on or off. Pupils are not permitted to ride 
outside or in any hazardous location in the bus including the 
area ahead of the stanchions, barriers, or white floor line 
designating the driver-area.

6.6 Buses shall not stop near the crest of hills, on 
curves, or on upgrades or downgrades of severe inclination. 
When stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging 
pupils, the bus shall always be stopped on the right side of 
the road and as far off the paved or main traveled portion of 
the highway as the condition of the shoulder permits.

6.7 Pupils who must cross the road to board the bus or 
after leaving the bus shall cross at a distance in front of the 
bus and beyond the crossing control arms so as to be clearly 
seen by the driver and only upon an audible clearance by the 
driver.  The driver shall attempt to signal pupils to cross by 
instructions through the external speaker of the public 
address system.

6.8 All loading and unloading of pupils shall be made 
from the service door.  The rear exit door is not to be used 
except in cases of emergency or emergency drills.  No object 
shall be placed in the bus that restricts the passage to the 
emergency door or other exits.

6.9 No one but the driver shall occupy the driver’s seat. 
Pupils shall remain behind the white floor line.

6.10 Seats may be assigned to pupils by the driver, 
subject to the approval of a school official.

6.11 The doors of the bus shall be kept closed while 
the bus is in motion, and pupils shall not put their head or 
arms out of open windows.

6.12 When the bus is stopped on school grounds, 
students are aboard, and the motor is running, the 
transmission shall be in neutral (clutch disengaged) and the 
parking brake set.  While on school grounds, drivers shall 
not leave their seat while the motor is running or leave the 
key in the ignition switch.

6.13 Fuel tanks shall not be filled while the engine 
is running or while pupils are in the bus.

6.14 Weapons of any kind are not permitted on a 
school bus.

6.15 Animals are not permitted on school buses; 
however, a service animal is permitted if a physician certifies 
that it is required.

6.16 A school bus shall not be used for hauling 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 2, SUNDAY, AUGUST 2, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS240
anything that would make it objectionable for school use or 
unsafe for passengers.

6.17 Band instruments, shop projects and other 
school projects shall not be permitted on the bus if they 
interfere with the driver or other passengers.  The aisle, exits, 
and driver’s vision shall not be blocked.

6.18 Bus stops on roadways with three or more 
lanes (with oncoming traffic) must be made on the right side 
of the road.  Students shall not be required to cross more than 
two lanes of traffic when entering or leaving the bus.

6.19 Headlights or daytime running lights shall be 
on at all times when the bus is in motion.

6.20 On the bus route every effort should be made to 
load children before turn- arounds are made and unload them 
after the turn-around is made.

6.21 Backing of school buses is prohibited, except 
in unusual circumstances:

6.21.1 A school bus shall not be driven 
backwards on school grounds unless an adult is posted to 
guard the rear of the bus.

6.21.2 When backing is unavoidable extreme 
caution must be exercised by the bus operator and an outside 
observer should be used if possible.

3 DE Reg. 942 (1/1/00)

7.0 Accident Reports
All drivers or contractors shall complete accident 

reports and submit them to the district person in charge of 
transportation in order to assure accurate information 
pertaining to school bus accidents.

7.1 The following information shall be included on all 
school bus accident reports and be maintained in the district 
transportation files:

7.1.1 A description, preferably using diagrams, 
of the damage to each vehicle in addition to estimates of 
damage costs.

7.1.2 A description of all personal injuries.
7.1.3 A list of passengers and witnesses.
7.1.4 Name, address and telephone number of 

the driver.
7.1.5 Follow-up information, such as the actual 

cost of repairs, should be added to the accident report 
wherever it is filed; i.e., in federal, state or local offices, so 
that the record of the accident is completed.  Other pertinent 
information relating to the accident that should be added 
later, if the information is readily available, includes:

Disposition of any litigation.
Disposition of any summonses.
Net effects of all personal injuries 

sustained, including medical care given, physician’s fees, 
hospital expenses, etc.

Amount of property damage other than to 
vehicles involved. 

Any corrective actions taken against the 

school bus driver, e.g., training, suspension, or dismissal.
A summation of the driver’s total accident 

record so that each completed report form will contain a 
listing of the total number of accidents that the driver has 
had.

3 DE Reg. 942 (1/1/00)

8.0 Transportation Benefits:
Transportation benefits shall be provided for pupils in 

grades K-6 whose legal residences are one (1) mile or more 
from the public schools to which they would normally be 
assigned by the district administrations and for pupils in 
grades 7-12 whose legal residences are two (2) miles or more 
from the public schools to which they would normally be 
assigned by the district administrations.

8.1 For the purpose of these regulations, the “legal 
residence” of the pupil is deemed to be the legal residence of 
the parent(s), legal guardian(s), or caregiver Relative 
Caregiver as described in 14 Del.C. §202(e)(3). Daycare 
facilities may be designated as a pupil’s residence for pickup 
and drop off.

8.2 To determine pupil eligibility for transportation 
benefits, measurement shall be by the most direct route 
provided by a public road or public walkway.  The 
measurement shall be from the nearest point where a private 
road or walkway connects the legal residence of the pupil 
with the nearest public entrance of the school building to 
which the pupil is normally assigned by the school district 
administration.

8.3 All school bus routes shall be measured from the 
first pick-up point to the respective schools served in the 
approved sequence, and then by the most direct route back to 
the first pick- up point.

8.4 Additional bus routes required after the opening of 
school shall be approved by the Department of Education 
and supported by evidence of need to include:  enrollment 
number changes, descriptions of existing routes in the area 
of proposed additional service, the run times, and actual 
loads.  A description of the proposed route shall also 
accompany the request.

8.5 Transportation for eligible pupils may be provided 
from locations other than their legal residence provided that:

8.5.1 Such pickup and discharge points as 
approved by the district administration are in excess of the 
relevant one and two mile limits from the school to be 
attended, and such transportation to be provided will be to 
the public school to which the pupil is assigned by the 
district administration.

8.5.2 Such transportation to be provided be on 
the same bus and/or route to and from the school attended by 
the pupil (i.e. each student is entitled to one seat on one bus) 
except that permission may be granted on a year-by-year 
basis by the district administration for eligible pupils to ride 
other buses if seats are available and does not create 
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additional expense to the State.
8.5.3 The limitation pertaining to “same bus and 

route” indicated above is not applicable to pupils attending 
vocational-technical schools or kindergartens operating one-
half day sessions.

8.6 A spur to a bus route (where a bus leaves a main 
route) shall not be scheduled unless the one-way distance is 
greater than ½ mile.  Requests for exception due to a unique 
traffic hazard from a parent must be in writing, approved by 
the local school board, and submitted through the Chairman 
of the Unique Hazard Committee for review.

8.7 Students otherwise ineligible to ride a bus may ride 
if a physician certifies that a student is unable or should not 
walk from home to school and return.

9.0 Bus Capacities:
9.1 Bus capacities for children in grades K-6 shall be 

established by the manufacturer on the basis of 13 inches per 
child, and for Grades7-12 secondary pupils the capacity shall 
be established on the basis of 15 inches per child.

9.2 A mixture of the criteria will be used to plan loads 
when pupils come from both of the above groups.

9.3 Actual bus loads may not exceed this guidance. 
Standees shall not be permitted under normal circumstances; 
however, exceptions may be made in emergency situations 
on a temporary basis.

10.0 Loading and Unloading: 
Each school shall have a loading and unloading dock or 

area, rather than load or discharge passengers onto the street. 
On school grounds all other traffic is prohibited in the 
loading and unloading area during school bus loading/
unloading operations.

11.0 Unique Hazards:
Unique hazards are considered to be conditions or 

situations that expose the pedestrian to rare or uncommon 
traffic dangers.  This definition is not intended to include 
hazards representative of situations which may exist 
throughout the State.

11.1 Procedures for handling Unique Hazards 
requests.

11.1.1 When the request for relief originates with 
parents of pupils affected or vested officials, such as State 
and local police representatives, Safety Council 
representatives, and legislators, it shall be presented in 
writing to the local school authorities.

11.1.1.1 The local school administration shall 
make every effort to resolve problems identified by the 
parents, vested officials, or by the local district staff.

11.1.1.2 If the problem cannot be resolved by 
the local school administration, the request shall be 
forwarded to the local board of education for appropriate 
action.  If the local board of education has explored all of the 

local alternatives to resolve the problem without success, a 
request by board action shall be made to the Chairman of the 
Unique Hazards Committee (Education Associate for School 
Transportation).

11.2 The request to the Unique Hazards Committee 
must include:

11.2.1 The original request from the parents, 
vested officials, or the district staff.

11.2.2 A statement of the specific hazard and area 
involved including maps showing the specific location, 
points of concern and schools attended.

11.2.3 Number and grades of children involved.
11.2.4 School schedule and the time children 

would normally be walking to and from school in the area of 
concern.

11.2.5 List any actions to resolve the problem 
taken by the local school administration.

11.2.6 List any actions to resolve the problem 
taken by the local board of education.

11.2.7 List any actions to resolve the problem 
taken by the town, the city or county.

11.3 The Unique Hazards Committee will process 
the request and report its findings and recommendations to 
the Department of Education for their consideration and 
action.  A copy of the report will also be forwarded to the 
local board of education involved.

11.4 The Unique Hazards Committee consists of 
representatives from the Department of Transportation; the 
New Castle County Crossing Guard Division; Delaware 
Safety Council; Traffic Control Section, the Delaware State 
Police; and the Department of Education Education 
Associate for School Transportation (Chairman).

11.5 Unique Hazards Committee Recommendations 
Appeal Process

11.5.1 Appeals to the Unique Hazards Committee 
recommendations approved by the State Department of 
Education must be in writing and from the local board of 
education.

11.5.2 The local school board shall, before 
making an appeal, make every effort to resolve the problem. 
If, in the opinion of the local board of education, 
reconsideration is needed by the Unique Hazards 
Committee, the appeal, along with pertinent information, 
should be forwarded to the Chairman of the Unique Hazards 
Committee.

11.5.3 The Unique Hazards Committee will 
submit to the State Department of Education its 
recommendations regarding the appeal for reconsideration 
by the local board of education.  A copy of the report will 
also be forwarded to the local board of education involved.

12.0 Contingency Plans:
12.1 Each school district shall have contingency 

plans for inclement weather, accidents, bomb threats, 
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hostages, civil emergencies, natural disasters, and facility 
failures (environmental/water, etc.).  These plans shall be 
developed in cooperation with all those whose services 
would be required in the event of various types of 
emergencies.

12.2 The school transportation supervisor, school 
administrators, teachers, drivers, maintenance and service 
personnel, students, and others shall be instructed in the 
procedure to be followed in the event of the contingencies 
provided for in the plans.

13.0 Reimbursements for School Bus Ownership and 
or Contracts:

School buses may be either state owned/district 
operated or contracted.

13.1 Reimbursements for buses operated by the 
district shall be on the basis of the formula for district 
operated buses unless otherwise approved by the Department 
of Education.

13.1.1 Drivers employed by the district shall be 
paid on the regular payroll of the district.  When drivers are 
employed in a dual capacity there shall be strict accounting 
for salary division.

13.2 Reimbursement for buses operated on contract 
shall be on the basis of the approved formula or of a bid if 
the amount should be less.

13.2.1 Contractors shall be paid regularly at the 
end in the middle of the month.  The total contract shall be 
paid in ten (10) installments, with the first payment at the 
end in the middle of September.

13.3 Any transportation costs caused by grade 
reorganizations and/or pupil re- assignments during the 
school term after October 1, other than the occupancy of a 
new school building, shall be at the expense of the local 
school district unless approved by the Department of 
Education.

13.4 Bills unpaid from Transportation funding lines 
that have not been encumbered as of June 30, shall be the 
responsibility of the local school district.

13.5 Reimbursement to the local school district for 
contracts or for district- owned or leased buses shall be made 
on the basis of a Department of Education formula approved 
by the State Board of Education.  This formula shall take 
into consideration school bus cost and depreciation, fixed 
charges, operations, maintenance, driver and aide wages. 
Reimbursement shall be made only for transportation of 
eligible pupils and exceptions approved by the Department 
of Education and the State Board of Education.

13.6 Contract allowances for buses when there are 
Emergency Days (forgiven by the Department of Education 
with the consent of the State Board of Educaton), Specially 
Declared Holidays or Strikes by Teachers.

13.6.1 School bus contractors and school districts 
shall be paid the normal rate of pay as provided for in their 

contract, less the allowance for fuel, maintenance and 
administration.  Driver (including layover allowance) and 
aide allowances shall be paid.

13.6.2 School bus contractors and school districts 
with buses assigned to midday kindergarten or vocational-
technical trips shall be paid the normal rate of pay as 
provided for in their contract, less the allowance for fuel.

13.6.3 The additional mileage allowance for 
contractor and school district buses will not include fuel and 
maintenance allowances.

13.6.4 The Delmar School District shall be 
reimbursed on the basis of the additional days necessary to 
operate as a result of the agreement with the Wicomico 
County Board of Education for the Delmar, Maryland 
elementary schools.

7 DE Reg. 1546 (5/1/04)

14.0 Transportation Formulas for Public School 
Districts Operating District, Lease, or Lease Purchase 
Buses

Items which are not on this list must be approved by the 
State Department of Education.  Any purchase, commitment, 
or obligation exceeding the transportation allocation to the 
district is the responsibility of the district.

14.1 The following items may be used for the 
purpose of providing pupil transportation in accordance with 
the regulations of the Department of Education.

14.1.1 Advertising including equipment, routes, 
supplies, and employees.

14.1.2 Communication systems including two-
way radios, cellular phones, and AM-FM radio.

14.1.3 Fuel including gasoline, diesel, propane, 
kerosene, storage tanks, pumps, additives, and oil.

14.1.4 Leasing/rental including tools, equipment, 
storage facilities, buses, garage space, and office space.

14.1.5 Office supplies and materials including 
computer hardware, computer software, data processing, 
maps, postage, printing, subscription, and measuring 
devices.

14.1.6 Safety materials including audio-visual 
aids, restraining vests, belts, safety awards, pins, patches, 
certificates, wheelchair ramps, wheelchair retainers, 
printing, handout materials, pamphlets, training materials, 
subscriptions, and bus seats.

14.1.7 Salary/wages including attendants (aide) 
as approved by the Department of Education when required 
in a student’s IEP, dispatchers, drivers, maintenance helpers, 
mechanics, mechanics helpers, office workers, secretarial, 
substitute drivers, supervisory (other than State supported 
supervisor or manager), and State provided employee 
benefits.

14.1.8 Shop facilities including heat, electric, 
water, sewer, security, fences, lights, locks, guards, bus 
storage, janitorial supplies, brushes, mops, buckets, soap, 
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tools, maintenance vehicles, grease, service vehicles, and 
work uniforms for maintenance staff.

14.1.9 Sidewalks including construction of 
sidewalks, footbridges, etc. that would be offset in reduced 
busing costs in 5 years or less, with prior approval of 
Supervisors of Transportation and School Plant Planning.

14.2 Special 01-60 state funds are provided to 
school districts for training supplies.  This account may also 
be used for reimbursements for state provided equipment 
and services.

14.3 Examples of Programs Excluded from State 
Reimbursement:

14.3.1 Extracurricular Field trips
14.3.2 Transportation of pupils from one school 

to another for special programs (e.g., music festivals, 
Christmas programs, etc.)

14.3.3 Transportation of pupils to and from 
athletic contests, practices, tutoring, band events, etc.

14.3.4 Post-secondary classes
14.3.5 Federal programs
14.3.6 Alternative school transportation when not 

using a shuttle concept that is as efficient as a shuttle 
concept.

14.3.7 Choice school transportation outside of the 
school district or outside of the attendance area of school that 
the bus normally serves.

14.3.8 Charter school transportation outside of 
the school district.

15.0 Transportation Allowances for Individuals:
Requests for transportation allowances shall be made in 

writing to the Department of Education by districts with 
justification.  This information is necessary in order for the 
Department to determine a pupil’s eligibility.  The 
responsibility for establishing a claim for transportation 
allowances rests upon the district and claimant.

15.1 All requests shall be signed by the parent or 
guardian and certified by the superintendent, principal or the 
principal teacher of the school to be attended.  In case of a 
car pool, only the driver shall be paid.

15.2 Payments or reimbursements for transportation 
by private means shall be on the following basis:

15.2.1 When adequate public services is 
available, the public service rates shall be used.

15.2.2 When public service is not available and it 
is necessary to provide transportation by private conveyance, 
the allowance shall be calculated at the prevailing state rate 
per mile for the distance from the home to the school or 
school bus and return twice a day, or for the actual distance 
traveled.

15.2.3 Districts shall maintain a monthly record 
of mileage travelled on a form provided by the Department 
of Education.

15.2.4 Any exception or variation must be 

approved by the Department of Education.

16.0 Cost Records:
Cost Records shall include the following costs directly 

attributable to the transportation of eligible students on 
district school buses:

16.1 Total expenditures by funding code.
16.2 Wages of the Drivers.
16.3 Bus maintenance costs (expenditure for all bus 

supplies, repairs and routine service).
16.4 Cost of accidents, including bus repairs.
16.5 Indirect costs (all those costs not included in 

above categories and all costs associated with those who 
supervise the school transportation operation).

17.0 Bus Replacement Schedules
The time begins for a new bus when it is placed in 

service.  A bus shall have the required mileage prior to the 
start of the school year. Once a bus is placed in service for 
the school year, it will not be replaced unless it is unable to 
continue service due to mechanical failure.

17.1 The following age and mileage requirements 
apply:

17.1.1 12th year must be replaced ( it may then be 
used as a spare); or

17.1.2 150,000 miles no matter age of bus; or
17.1.3 7 years plus 100,000 miles; or
17.1.4 may be replaced after 10 years.

17.2 Contractors shall be reimbursed for their 
eligible school buses for the annual allowances permitted by 
the Formula.  New (unused) buses placed in service in a year 
following their manufacture shall begin their 7 years of 
capital allowances with the rate specified for the year of 
manufacture and continue in year increments until 
completed.

17.3 School buses purchased with state-allocated 
transportation funds may be used by the school districts for 
purposes other than transportation of pupils to and from 
school.  This type of use shall be at the district’s expense and 
shall occur only during a time when the bus is not making its 
normal school run.

17.4 In accordance with the Attorney General’s 
opinion of June 18, 1974, regarding the use of buses 
purchased from State-allocated transportation funds for 
purposes other than the regular transportation of pupils to 
and from school, the provisions of Title 14, Section 1056, 
School Property, Use, Control and Management, shall apply.

18.0 School Bus Inspections:
The Delaware Motor Vehicle Division has two periods 

of time when all school bus owners shall have their buses 
inspected each year, once during January or February and the 
second yearly inspection during June, July, or August.
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19.0 Transportation for Students with Disabilities:
Transportation or a reimbursement for transportation 

expenses actually incurred shall be provided by the State for 
eligible persons with disabilities by the most economically 
feasible means compatible with the person’s disability 
subject to the limitations in the following regulations:

19.1 When the legal residence of a person 
receiving tuition assistance for private placement is within 
sixty (60) miles (one way) of the school or institution to be 
attended, the person shall be eligible for round trip 
reimbursement for transportation on a daily basis at the per 
mile rate allowed by the Internal Revenue Service for 
business use of a private vehicle, or for transportation at 
State expense which may be provided in lieu of the per mile 
reimbursement.  (Round trip mileage is considered to be 
from the person’s legal residence to the school or institution 
and return twice a day, or for actual mileage traveled, 
whichever is less.)

19.2 When the legal residence of a person 
receiving tuition assistance for private placement is in excess 
of sixty (60) miles (one way) but less than one hundred (100) 
miles (one way) from the school or institution to be attended, 
the person shall be eligible for round trip transportation 
reimbursement at the per mile rate allowed by the Internal 
Revenue Service for business use of a private vehicle, or for 
transportation at State expense which may be provided in 
lieu of the per mile reimbursement on a weekly basis and on 
such other occasions as may be required when the school is 
not in session due to scheduled vacations or holidays of the 
school or institution.  (Round trip mileage is considered to be 
from the person’s legal residence to the school or institution 
and return twice a week.  The weekly basis is to be 
determined by the calendar of the school or institution to be 
attended.)

19.3 When the legal residence of a person 
receiving tuition assistance for private placement is in excess 
of one hundred (100) miles (one way) of the school or 
institution to be attended, the person shall be eligible for 
round trip reimbursement on the basis of one round trip per 
year from the person’s legal residence to the school or 
institution and return, and at such other times when care and 
maintenance of the person is unavailable due to the closing 
of the residential facility provided in conjunction with the 
school or institution.  (Round trip is considered to be from 
the person’s legal residence to the school or institution to be 
attended and from the school or institution to the legal 
residence of the person on an annual basis or at such times as 
indicated above.)

19.4 Reimbursement shall be computed on the 
per mile rate allowed by the Internal Revenue Service for 
business use of a private vehicle from the legal residence to 
the point of embarkation and return to the legal residence 
and for the actual fares based on the most economical means 
of transportation from the point of embarkation to the school 

or institution to be attended; the return trip shall be computed 
on the same basis.

19.5 Transportation at State expense may be 
provided from the legal residence to the point of 
embarkation in lieu of the per mile reimbursement when it is 
determined by the local district to be more economically 
feasible.

19.6 The local district of residence shall be 
responsible for payment of all such transportation 
reimbursement when it is determined by the local district to 
be more economically feasible.

19.7 All requests for payment shall be made by 
the parent or legal guardian or other person who has control 
of the child to the transportation supervisor responsible for 
transportation in the district of residence at a time 
determined by the district but prior to June 5 of any year.

19.8 When reimbursements are made they shall 
be based on required documentation to support such 
payment.

19.9 The legal residence for the purpose of 
these regulations is defined as the residence of the parent, 
legal guardian or other persons in the state having control of 
the child with disabilities and with whom the child actually 
resides.

19.10 School Transportation Aides:  With the 
approval of the Department of Education, a state funded 
school bus aide may be provided on school buses serving 
special schools/ programs for children with disabilities.

3 DE Reg. 1548 (5/1/00)

20.0 Transportation for Alternative Programs:
Costs for transportation shall be paid by the state from 

funds appropriated for student transportation if 
transportation is provided by extending already existing 
routes. Shuttle services that extend existing routes will be 
allowed. Additional routes established to transport students 
to and from the Alternative Programs or other special 
transportation designs will not be paid by the state from the 
school transportation appropriation and shall be included in 
the Alternative Program budget and be paid from the state 
allocation for alternative programs and/or the districts 30% 
share.  Planning committees for these programs shall include 
the transportation supervisors who will be providing 
services.  In addition, those supervisors must coordinate 
planning with and submit their transportation plans to the 
Education Associate for School Transportation at the 
Department of Education.

21.0 Drugs and Alcohol Testing
21.1 Content:

21.1.1 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §2910, this 
regulation shall apply to the contracting for a program of 
drug and alcohol testing services necessary to enable public 
school districts, charter schools, and any person or entity that 
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contracts with a school district or charter school to provide 
transportation for State public school students, to comply 
with such drug and alcohol testing requirements applicable 
to Delaware public school bus drivers as are now, or may 
hereafter be, imposed by federal law.

21.1.2 School bus aides shall be subject to the 
same federal and state drug and alcohol testing requirements 
as school bus drivers.  They shall use non-DOT forms, and 
the employer shall follow the same procedures set forth 
herein.

21.2 Definitions:  The following words and terms, 
when used in this regulation, shall have the following 
meaning unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Alcohol” means the intoxicating agent in 
beverage alcohol, ethyl alcohol or other low molecular 
weight alcohols, including methyl or isopropyl alcohol.

“CDL” means a commercial drivers license issued 
pursuant to 21 Del.C. Ch. 26.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“DOT” means the United States Department of 
Transportation.

“Drug” means the controlled substances for which 
tests are required under the provisions of 49 U.S.C. ' 31306, 
49 CFR Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40, and include marijuana, 
cocaine, amphetamines, phencyclidine (PCP), and opiates.

“Employer” means school bus contractors or 
school districts and charter schools when they directly 
employ school bus drivers.

“Negative Result” means a verified negative drug 
test result or an alcohol test result lower than the Federal 
standard as defined by the provisions of 49 U.S.C. ' 31306, 
49 CFR Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40.

“Positive Result” means a verified positive, 
adulterated, or substituted drug test result, an alcohol test 
result equal to or greater than the Federal standard or a 
refusal to take a drug or alcohol test as defined by the 
provisions of 49 U.S.C. ' 31306, 49 CFR Part 382 and 49 
CFR Part 40.

21.3 Federal Regulations
Employers shall comply with the drug and alcohol 

testing regulations issued by the Secretary of Transportation 
of the United States pursuant to 49 U.S.C. ' 31306 and 
located at 49 CFR Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40.

21.4 Drug and Alcohol testing program 
requirements:

21.4.1 The employer shall:
21.4.1.1 Be responsible for compliance with 

all federal and state regulations;
21.4.1.2 Maintain drug and alcohol testing 

records for their school bus drivers and aides.
21.4.1.2.1 Documentation of drug and 

alcohol testing results shall flow directly from the 
Consortium/Third Party Administrator Medical Review 

Officer (C/ TPA/MRO), as defined by the provisions of 49 
CFR Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40, to the employer.Copies 
of positive results shall be sent to the transportation 
supervisor for the school district or charter school and the 
Department for accounting and audit purposes.

21.4.1.2.2 Documentation of results 
shall be addressed to the individual, or employer, and the 
transportation supervisors for the school district, charter 
school or Department so as to ensure confidentiality.

21.4.2 The Department shall:
21.4.2.1 Bid the contract for the drug and 

alcohol testing program;
21.4.2.2 Monitor the drug and alcohol 

testing program;
21.4.3 Any school bus driver or aide who is not in 

compliance with federal and state drug and alcohol testing 
requirements shall not perform driver or aide duties until 
they have satisfied the federal and state requirements.

21.4.3.1 Any school bus driver or aide who has 
a positive drug or alcohol test result shall comply with DOT 
regulations regarding a Substance Abuse Professional (SAP) 
evaluation, treatment and return-to-duty testing before 
another pre-employment test is allowed.

21.4.3.2 An employer who hires a school bus 
driver or aide who has previously failed a drug or alcohol 
test shall ensure that all follow-up drug and/or alcohol 
testing recommended by the SAP evaluation is implemented.

21.5 Pre-employment Testing
21.5.1 School bus drivers with no CDL and aides 

with no prior experience must have a negative 
pre-employment drug test, and the employer must receive a 
negative result before the prospective employee can operate 
a school bus or serve as an aide.

21.5.2 Bus drivers with a CDL and school bus 
aides with past experience shall follow DOT rules and 
regulations to determine the necessity for pre-employment 
drug testing.

21.5.3 Employers shall provide Federal Drug 
Testing Custody and Control (CCF) forms to new school bus 
drivers and non-DOT forms to school bus aides who shall 
take the forms to the appropriate collection facility where the 
driver or aide shall be administered a drug test.Forms shall 
note the employer and school district or charter school.

21.5.4 Negative results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.

21.5.5 Positive results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO to the employer. Copies of positive results 
shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for the school 
district or charter school and the Department for accounting 
and audit purposes.

21.5.6 Employers shall notify prospective school 
bus drivers and aides in writing of a positive result.Copies 
of this letter shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for 
the school district or charter school and the Department. 
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21.6 Random Testing
21.6.1 Employers shall provide the C/TPA/MRO 

a quarterly list of eligible drivers and aides to be drug and 
alcohol tested no later than one week before the testing 
quarter.  The list shall note the primary school district or 
charter school of the drivers and aides.  Copies of the lists 
shall be provided to the school district or charter school 
transportation supervisors.

21.6.2 The C/TPA/MRO shall send the employer 
lists of drivers and aides to be tested by the end of the first 
week of the quarter.

21.6.3 Employers shall provide CCF and alcohol 
testing forms to the drivers and aides who shall take the 
forms and go immediately to the appropriate collection 
facility where the driver or aide shall be administered a drug 
test or a drug and alcohol test.  Forms shall note the 
employer and the school district or charter school.

21.6.4 Employers shall complete the required 
random tests before the end of the calendar quarter.

21.6.5 Negative results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.

21.6.6 Notification of positive results shall be 
forwarded from the C/ TPA/MRO to the employer.Copies of 
the positive results forms shall be sent to the transportation 
supervisor for the school district or charter school and the 
Department for accounting and audit purposes.

21.6.7 Employers shall notify school bus drivers 
and aides in writing of a positive result. Copies of this letter 
shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for the school 
district or charter school and Department.

21.7 Post-Accident and Reasonable Suspicion 
Testing

21.7.1 Employers shall provide CCF and alcohol 
testing forms to the school bus drivers and aides who shall 
take the forms and go immediately to the appropriate 
collection facility where the driver or aide shall be 
administered a drug and/or alcohol test. Forms shall note the 
employer and school district and charter school.

21.7.2 Negative results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.

21.7.3 Notification of positive results shall be 
forwarded from the C/ TPA/MRO to the employer.  Copies 
of the positive result form shall be sent to the transportation 
supervisor for the school district or charter school and the 
Department for accounting and audit purposes.

21.7.4 Employers shall notify school bus drivers 
and aides in writing of a positive result. Copies of this letter 
shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for the school 
district or charter school and the Department. 

3 DE Reg. 942 (1/1/00)
6 DE Reg. 643 (11/1/02)

22.0 The nonpublic, nonprofit schools shall be 
responsible for the administration and supervision of the 

family transportation allowance provided by the State 
Department of Education.

22.1 The nonprofit, nonpublic school shall act as the 
administrator and fiscal agent.  If the nonpublic, nonprofit 
school chooses to use an agent to receive payment other than 
the nonpublic, nonprofit school, written authorization from 
the governing board of the nonpublic, nonprofit school, such 
as the board of trustees or the school board, specifying such 
agent shall be forwarded to the Education Associate for 
School Transportation in the Department of Education.  The 
use of an agent to accept payment shall not relieve the 
nonpublic, nonprofit school from its responsibility to 
administer and supervise the transportation program, to 
maintain records, or to submit such reports as may be 
required.

22.2 Those nonpublic, nonprofit schools with 
families requesting transportation allowances shall have a 
Federal ID number.  The nonpublic, nonprofit school shall 
submit the initial transportation form, provided by the 
Department of Education, no later than August 31st of each 
year.

22.3 Transportation allowances shall be made only 
for those eligible students (Delaware residents attending 
Delaware schools) who meet residence-to-school proximity 
guidance of one (1) mile or more for grades K-6 and two (2) 
miles or more for grades 7-12 and who make application to 
the nonpublic, nonprofit school for such transportation 
allowances.  These applications for transportation 
allowances shall be signed by the parent, guardian, or 
Relative Caregiver and certified by a school administrator. 
The responsibility for establishing a claim for transportation 
allowances rests upon the claimant, and all records of this 
request shall be kept on file in the nonpublic, nonprofit 
school office.  Such records shall be made available for audit 
by a representative of the Department of Education or the 
State Auditors.

22.4 The State shall provide the transportation funds 
to the nonpublic, nonprofit school or designated agent for 
eligible families.  The family shall direct the nonpublic, 
nonprofit school or designated agent how the funds are to be 
dispersed.  The nonpublic, nonprofit school shall ensure that 
its tuition, transportation fees, and other costs of attendance 
are independent of the allowances.

22.5 Payment shall be made only on the basis of one 
trip to and one trip from nonpublic, nonprofit school daily. 
Families who transport more than one child to the same 
school by private conveyance shall be reimbursed on the 
basis of the number of trips rather than on the number of 
children transported.  No family shall qualify for more than 
one reimbursement for students it transports to a single 
school except for families with two or more children, one of 
whom is enrolled in a half day kindergarten program. In the 
event of car pools, each family is entitled to reimbursement, 
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but a family shall not receive more than the annual 
allowance.

22.6 The nonpublic, nonprofit school or designated 
agent shall submit the final transportation form provided by 
the Department of Education no later than October 3rd of 
each year.  All information shall be based on September 30th

enrollment and eligibility.  After the submission of the final 
transportation form no further adjustments for eligibility 
shall be made for the remainder of the school year.  

22.7 Upon receipt of the initial form required by the 
Department of Education the first payment shall be made at 
the end of September.  Upon receipt of the final form the 
remaining payments will be made at the end of  October, 
January, and April.  The school shall return funds not 
distributed to parents, guardians or Relative Caregivers to 
the State of Delaware.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
14 DE Admin. Code 323

Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

Repeal Of Regulations
323 Certification Computer Science Teacher

A. Type Of Regulatory Action Requested
Repeal

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 

and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks 
the approval of the State Board of Education to repeal 14 DE 
Admin. Code §323 Certification Computer Science Teacher. 
It is necessary to repeal this regulation as it reflects skills 
which are no longer taught, making the position obsolete.

323  Certification Computer Science Teacher 
Effective July 1, 1993

1.0  The following shall be required for a Standard License 
for all teachers assigned to teach computer programming 
grades 9-12 or any aspect of computer science, and is valid 
in grades 7-8.

1.1  Bachelor's degree from an accredited college and,
1.2  Professional Education

1.2.1  Completion of an approved teacher education 
program in Computer Science or,

1.2.2  A current, valid Standard License in any area 
of secondary education or,

1.2.3  A minimum of 24 semester hours to include 
Human Development, Methods of Teaching Computer 

Science, Identifying/Treating Exceptionalities, Effective 
Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education, and student 
teaching at the secondary (9-12) level in an accredited 
secondary school and,

1.3  Specific Teaching Field
1.3.1  A major in Computer Information Science or,
1.3.2  A minimum of 12 semester hours of 

Computer Science course work to include a one-semester 
course in each of the following areas:

1.3.2.1  Data Structures and File Processing
1.3.2.2  Pascal Programming
1.3.2.3  Assembly Language
1.3.2.4   Operating Systems and,
1.3.2.5  A minimum of 6 semester hours of 

elective course work in Computer Science from courses 
designated with a Computer Science or Computer 
Information Science symbol.

2.0  The following shall be required for a Limited Standard 
License

2.1  This License may be issued for a 3-year period at 
the request of a Delaware public school district to a person 
who meets the requirements listed below, and who is 
employed as a teacher of Computer Science/Programming or 
related areas, to allow for the completion of the requirements 
stated in 1.0.

2.1.1  Requirements as stated in 1.1 and 1.2.2, and 
course work in 3 of the 4 required areas listed in 1.3.2 and,

2.1.2  Three years of successful classroom teaching 
experience at the secondary level in an accredited secondary 
school, while holding a Standard License in the content area 
taught.

3.0  Present Computer Teachers Protected
3.1  Those teachers authorized prior to the adoption of 

this License by the Delaware State Board of Education (4/
89) to teach computer science or programming, and who 
have the recommendation of the district superintendent shall 
be authorized to continue in such a teaching assignment in 
the school district where the assignment was authorized. 
Authorization to teach in this circumstance does not 
constitute a License in the area of computer science, nor is 
such authorization transferable to any other school district. 
Courses taught for computer literacy or word processing 
skills do not require certification in computer science.

4.0  Licenses that may be issued for this position include 
Standard and Limited Standard.
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Educational Impact Analysis

 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(D)

331 Certification Family And Consumer Sciences 
Teacher

 
A. Type Of Regulatory Action Requested

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 

and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 331 Certification Family and Consumer 
Sciences Teacher.  The regulation concerns the requirements 
for a standard certificate for educational personnel. It is 
necessary to amend this regulation due to changes in statute 
regarding licensure and certification of educators.  The 
regulation will be renumbered 1566 to reflect its movement 
to the Professional Standards section of the Department 
regulations.

Changes in statute in 2000 and again in 2003 
necessitated major changes in the licensure and certification 
system for educators.  All educators must have an initial, 
continuing, or advanced license, as well as a standard 
certificate, which delineates the area in which an educator 
may practice.  A standard certificate is issued to an educator 
who holds a license and who has acquired the prescribed 
knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a particular 
area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular 
category of students.  Educators who have graduated from an 
educator preparation program offered by a Delaware higher 
education institution approved by the Department, who have 
achieved a passing score on a PRAXIS II examination, who 
have obtained National Board for Professional Teaching 
Standards certification, or who hold a current and valid 
certificate from another state in the area in which the 
standard certificate is sought are granted a standard 
certificate.  It is necessary to amend existing requirements 
for standard certificates to reflect these changes and to 
provide an interim set of requirements for individuals who 
are in the process of acquiring the necessary content 
knowledge or pedagogy under the regulations that are 
currently in place. 

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses student 
achievement by establishing standards for the issuance of a 
standard certificate to educators who have acquired the 
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a 
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a 

particular category of students to help ensure that students 
are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach 
students meet high standards and have acquired the 
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a 
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a 
particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students' health and safety are adequately protected?   The 
amended regulation addresses educator certification, not 
students’ health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students' legal rights are respected? The amended regulation 
addresses educator certification, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board 
and school level?   The amended regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?   The 
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.  

7. Will decision making authority and accountability 
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the 
same entity?   The decision-making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subjects to be regulated 
rests with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration 
with the Department of Education, and with the consent of 
the State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulations be consistent with 
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulations will be consistent with, 
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the amended regulation? 14 Del. C. requires 
that we promulgate this regulations.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the amended regulation?   There 
is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance 
with the regulation.
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331 1566  Standard Certificateion Family and Consumer 
Sciences Teacher 

Effective July 1,1993
(Formerly Home Economics)

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard license 
in grades 9-12 and is valid in grades 5-8 in a middle level 
school

1.1 License 1   Comprehensive
1.1.1 Bachelor's degree from an accredited 

college or university and,
1.2 Professional Education

1.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher 
education program in Family and Consumer Science/ 
Comprehensive or,

1.3 Specific Teaching Field
1.3.1 Completion of a major in Family and 

Consumer Science/Comprehensive or,
1.3.2 Completion of an approved teacher 

education program in Family and Consumer Science /
Comprehensive or,

1.3.3 A minimum of 36 semester hours in 
Family and Consumer Science with at least one course in 
each of the following areas:

1.3.3.1 Housing/Home Furnishings/Home 
Equipment, Consumer/Family Economics, Home 
Management, Child Development, Family Life/Parenthood 
Education, Foods/Nutrition, Textiles/Clothing, and 
Computer Literacy.

1.0 Content.
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a 

Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for 
Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher.

2.0 License II - Specialized Areas
2.1 Bachelor's degree from an accredited college and,
2.2 Professional Education

2.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher 
education program in Family and Consumer Science or,

2.2.2 A minimum of 24 semester hours to 
include Human Development/Learning, Methods of 
Teaching Family and Consumer Science (including clinical 
experience), Identifying/Treating Exceptionalities, Effective 
Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education, and student 
teaching evenly divided between the middle and high school 
levels and,

2.3 Specific Teaching Field
2.3.1 License II A:  Child Care and Guidance, 

Management and Services
2.3.1.1 A minimum of 36 semester hours 

distributed as follows: 21 semester hours covering the 
following areas:  Child Development, Care and Guidance; 
Child Care Management (Preschool Education); Family 

Life/Parenthood Education, Computer Literacy, and 15 
semester hours from the other areas of Family and Consumer 
Sciences listed in 1.3.3.

2.3.2 License II B:  Food Production, 
Management, and Services

2.3.2.1 A minimum of 36 semester hours 
distributed as follows:

2.3.2.1.1 21 semester hours covering 
the following areas:  Food Sciences, Human Nutrition, Food 
Service, Institutional Management, Computer Literacy and, 
Fifteen semester hours from the other areas of Family and 
Consumer Sciences listed in1.3.3.

2.3.3 License II C:  Clothing, Apparel, and 
Textiles Management, Production and Services

2.3.3.1 A minimum of 36 semester hours 
distributed as follows: 

2.3.3.1.1 21 semester hours covering 
the following areas:

2.3.3.1.1.1 Commercial Garment 
and Apparel, Fashion Design, Clothing Construction, 
Textiles and Clothing Retail, Textiles Testing, Custom 
Tailoring and Alteration, Fashion/Fabric Coordination, 
Computer Literacy, and

2.3.3.1.1.2 15 semester hours from 
the other areas of Family and Consumer Sciences in 1.3.3.

2.3.4 License II D:  Institutional, Home 
Management, and Supporting Services

2.3.4.1 A minimum of 36 semester hours 
distributed as follows:

2.3.4.1.1 21 semester hours covering 
the following areas:

2.3.4.1.1.1 Companion to the Aged, 
Consumer Assisting, Custodial Services, Executive 
Housekeeping, Homemaker's Aide, Computer Literacy, and 
15 semester hours from the other areas of Family and 
Consumer Sciences in 1.3.3.

2.0 Definitions.
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill, 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include 
Standard and Limited Standard.

3.1 The limited Standard license may be issued upon 
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request of a Delaware public school district for a teacher 
employed in one of these positions who meets the standards 
set forth in 2.3 of regulation 301 General Regulations for 
Certification of Professional Public School Personnel.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department 
shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Family and Consumer 
Sciences Teacher to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware 
Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or 
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department 
prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following 
requirements:

3.1 Graduating from an NCATE specialty organization 
recognized educator preparation program offered by a 
regionally accredited college or university, with a major in 
Family and Consumer Science; or

3.2 Graduating from a state approved educator 
preparation program offered by a regionally accredited 
college or university, with a major in Family and Consumer 
Science, where the state approval body employed the 
appropriate NCATE specialty organization standards; or

3.3 1.2.2  A minimum of 24 36 semester hours with at 
least one course in each of the following areas:

3.3.1 Human Development/Learning Adult 
Development and Aging;

3.3.2 Methods of Teaching Family and 
Consumer Science (including clinical experience); 

3.3.3 Identifying/Treating Exceptionalities; 
3.3.4 Effective Teaching Strategies; 
3.3.5 Multicultural Education; student teaching 

evenly divided between the middle and high school levels 
and,

3.3.6 Family Resource Management; 
3.3.7 Child Development; 
3.3.8 Adolescent Development; 
3.3.9 Family Life/Human Sexuality; 
3.3.10 Foods/Nutrition; 
3.3.11 Textiles/Clothing; and
3.3.12 Curriculum and Evaluation for Family and 

Consumer Sciences.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Acquired Brain Injury Waiver Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding the Acquired Brain Injury Waiver 
Program (ABIWP). 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program & 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, and P.O. 
Box 906, New Castle, Delaware by August 31, 2004.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

The Acquired Brain Injury Medicaid Waiver Program 
(ABIMWP) is a community-based services program funded 
by the Division of Social Services (DSS), Delaware Medical 
Assistance Program (DMAP) and operated by the Division 
of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities 
(DSAAPD). It is targeted to individuals with acquired brain 
injury who meet Medicaid nursing facility admission 
criteria.

The proposed set forth the rules and regulations 
governing the administration of the ABIWP, and describe the 
types of services available under the program.  The 
regulations being proposed would also define the eligibility 
criteria that must be met by applicants for the services and 
the scope of services available to eligible applicants. 

The earliest effective date for the ABIMWP is October 
10, 2004.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #04-18

20700.5 Acquired Brain Injury Medicaid Waiver 
Program
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The Acquired Brain Injury Medicaid Waiver Program 
(ABIMWP) is a home and community-based services 
program funded by the Division of Social Services (DSS), 
Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) and 
operated by the Division of Services for Aging and Adults 
with Physical Disabilities (DSAAPD). It is targeted to 
individuals with acquired brain injury who meet Medicaid 
nursing facility admission criteria.

The earliest effective date for the ABIMWP is October 
10, 2004.

20700.5.1 Eligibility Criteria
To be eligible for the ABIMWP, an 

individual must:
1. be a Delaware resident
2. be between 18 and 64 years of age 

(persons who enter the waiver before age 65 may remain in 
the waiver after age 65)

3. meet the financial and medical criteria 
for the DSS Long Term Care Medicaid Program and meet 
nursing facility admission criteria.

Medical eligibility is determined by the 
Pre-Admission Screening Unit of DSAAPD.

Financial eligibility is determined by DSS.
Program eligibility is determined by 

DSAAPD. An individual must meet all of the following 
criteria:

a have an injury to the brain which is 
not hereditary or congenital (Acquired Brain Injury) 

b have a need of one waiver service, in 
addition to case management, on a monthly basis

c have a physical, cognitive and/or 
behavioral symptom of an acquired brain injury and 
currently reside in a nursing facility or is at risk for 
placement in a nursing facility

d have completed or would no longer 
benefit from intensive, inpatient, post-trauma or 
rehabilitation programs

e accept and maintain case management 
services

20700.5.2 Number of Recipients
There is a maximum number of recipients 

who may be served under the ABIMWP each fiscal year. 
The total unduplicated number of recipients served under the 
program cannot exceed the maximum number approved by 
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). 
DSAAPD will monitor the number of individuals receiving 
ABIMWP services so the maximum number will not be 
exceeded.

20700.5.3 Cost Effective Requirement
In order for an applicant to be eligible for 

the ABIMWP, the applicant’s cost of care cannot exceed the 
cost of their care if the same applicant was institutionalized. 
An average monthly cost for institutionalized individuals is 
used to determine the amount that may be spent on 

ABIMWP recipients. A DSAAPD worker determines cost 
effectiveness.

20700.5.4 Approval
Upon approval, DSS will send a notice of 

approval to the applicant or the applicant’s  representative 
and the ABIMWP provider. The notice to the provider will 
include the effective date of Medicaid coverage, the patient 
pay amount, and the Medicaid identification number. 

20700.5.5 Post Eligibility Budgeting
See DSSM 20720 and 20995.1 for patient 

pay calculation.
For recipients residing in Assisted Living 

facilities, the personal needs allowance is equal to the 
current Adult Foster Care rate.    Collection of the patient 
pay amount from the recipient or the recipient’s 
representative is the responsibility of the assisted living 
provider.

For recipients residing in community-
based settings, the personal needs allowance is equal to 
250% of the Federal SSI Benefit Rate.   Collection of the 
patient pay amount from the recipient or the recipient’s 
representative is the responsibility of the provider who is 
providing the most costly service.

20700.5.6 Days Appropriate for Billing
The waiver provider may not bill for any 

day that the recipient is absent from the program or facility 
for the entire day. The waiver provider may bill for services 
for any day that the recipient is present in the facility or 
program for any part of the day. 

If the recipient resides in an assisted living 
facility, the waiver provider may not bill Medicaid for room 
and board. 

20700.5.7 Hospitalization or Illness
Waiver services will terminate upon 

hospitalization.  There are no Medicaid  bed hold days for 
hospitalization.  DSS will redetermine eligibility for 
continued Medicaid coverage.  Waiver services may restart 
after hospital discharge as determined by DSAAPD staff. 

If the recipient is a resident of an assisted 
living facility, the waiver provider shall not provide services 
to a recipient that has been bedridden for seven (7) 
consecutive days unless a physician certifies that the 
individual’s needs may be safely met by the service 
agreement.   If a physician certification is not obtained, 
waiver services will terminate and DSS will redetermine 
eligibility for continued Medicaid coverage.

20700.5.8 ABIMWP Services
Acquired brain injury waiver services will 

include the following:
Case Management
Personal Care
Respite Care
Adult Day Expanded Services
Specialized Medical Equipment and 
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Supplies
Personal Emergency Response Systems 

(PERS)
Assisted Living Program
Behavioral and/or Cognitive Services

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,

Sections 311 and 2304 
(18 Del.C. §§311 and 2304))

PUBLIC NOTICE

 301 Audited Financial Reports
[Formerly Regulation 50]

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER DONNA LEE H. 
WILLIAMS hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING 
will be held on Wednesday September 1, 2004, at 10:00 a.m. 
in the Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware 
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware. The hearing is to consider amending Regulation 
301 relating to AUDITED FINANCIAL REPORTS.

The purpose for amending Regulation 301 is to reflect 
the changes to the NAIC model regulation, upon which 
Regulation 301 is based, that have been adopted by the 
NIAC in the ten years since the regulation was last amended.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 19 
Del.C. §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures 
Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101. Comments are being solicited from 
any interested party. Comments may be in writing or may be 
presented orally at the Hearing. Written comments, 
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed 
change to the regulation must be received by the Department 
of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Wednesday September 
1, 2004, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney 
General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of 
Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, 
telephone 302.739.4251. 

1.0 Authority
1.1 This Regulation is promulgated and adopted 

pursuant to 18 Del.C. §§314, 322(a), 324 and 526, and 29 
Del. C. §10117.

2.0 Purpose and Scope
2.1 The purpose of this Regulation is to improve the 

Delaware Insurance Department's surveillance of the 
financial condition of insurers by requiring an annual 
examination by independent certified public accountants of 
the financial statements reporting the financial condition and 

the results of operations of insurers.
2.2 Every insurer (as defined in Section 3.0) shall be 

subject to this regulation. Insurers having direct premiums 
written in this state of less than $1,000,000 in any calendar 
year and less than 1,000 policyholders or certificate holders 
of directly written policies nationwide at the end of such 
calendar year shall be exempt from this Regulation for such 
year unless the Commissioner makes a specific finding that 
compliance is necessary for the Commissioner to carry out 
statutory responsibilities except those insurers having 
assumed premiums pursuant to contracts and/or treaties of 
reinsurance of $1,000,000 or more will not be so accepted
exempt.

2.3 Foreign or alien insurers filing audited financial 
reports in another state, pursuant to such other state's 
requirements of audited financial reports are exempt from 
filing in Delaware unless such filing is specifically requested 
by the Commissioner. Any foreign or alien insurer receiving 
a copy of any notification of adverse financial condition 
report must file such report with the Commissioner within 
the time specified in Section 10.0 that has been found by the 
Commissioner to be substantially similar to the requirements 
herein, are exempt from this regulation if: 

2.3.1 A copy of the Audited Financial Report, 
Report on Significant Deficiencies in Internal Controls, and 
the Accountant’s Letter of Qualifications that are filed with 
the other state are filed with the commissioner in accordance 
with the filing dates specified in Sections 4, 11 and 12, 
respectively (Canadian insurers may submit accountants’ 
reports as filed with the Canadian Dominion Department of 
Insurance).

2.3.2 A copy of any Notification of Adverse 
Financial Condition Report filed with the other state is filed 
with the commissioner within the time specified in Section 
10.

2.4 This regulation shall not prohibit, preclude or in 
any way limit the Commissioner from ordering and/or 
conducting and/or performing examinations of insurers 
under the rules and regulations of the Delaware Insurance 
Department and the practices and procedures of the 
Delaware Insurance Department.

3.0 Definitions
3.1 "Audited financial report" means and includes 

those items specified in Section 5.0 of this rule.
3.2 "Accountant" and or "Independent Certified 

Public Accountant" means an independent certified public 
accountant or accounting firm in good standing with the 
American Institute of CPAs and in all states in which he, she 
or they are licensed to practice; for Canadian and British 
companies, it means a Canadian-chartered or British-
chartered accountant.

3.3 “Indemnification” means an agreement of 
indemnity or a release from liability where the intent or 
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effect is to shift or limit in any manner the potential liability 
of the person or firm for failure to adhere to applicable 
auditing or professional standards, whether or not resulting 
in part from knowing of other misrepresentations made by 
the insurer or its representatives.

3.3 4 "Insurer" means a licensed insurer as defined 
in Title 18 Del. C. Ch.5 or authorized insurer as defined in 
Title 18 Del. C., Ch.19.

4.0 Filing and Extensions for Filing of Annual Audited 
Financial Reports

4.1 All insurers shall have an annual audit by an 
independent certified public accountant and shall file an 
audited financial report with the Commissioner on or before 
June 1 for the year ended December 31 immediately 
preceding. The Commissioner may require an insurer to file 
an audited financial report earlier than June 1 with ninety 
(90) days advance notice to the insurer.  4.2 Extensions of 
the June 1 filing date may be granted by the Commissioner 
for thirty-day periods upon a showing by the insurer and its 
independent certified public accountant of the reasons for 
requesting such extension and determination by the 
Commissioner of good cause for an extension. The request 
for extension must be submitted in writing not less than ten 
(10) days prior to the due date in sufficient detail to permit 
the Commissioner to make an informed decision with 
respect to the requested extension.

5.0 Contents of Annual Audited Financial Report
5.1 The aAnnual aAudited fFinancial rReport shall 

report the financial position of the insurer as of the end of the 
most recent calendar year and the results of its operations, 
cash flows and changes in capital and surplus for the year 
then ended in conformity with statutory accounting practices 
prescribed, or otherwise permitted, by the Department of 
Insurance of the state of domicile

5.2 The annual Audited Financial Report shall include 
the following:

5.2.1 Report of independent certified public 
accountant.

5.2.2 Balance sheet reporting admitted assets, 
liabilities, capital and surplus.

5.2.3 Statement of operations.
5.2.4 Statement of cash flows.
5.2.5 Statement of changes in capital and 

surplus.
5.2.6 Notes to financial statements. These notes 

shall be those required by the appropriate NAIC Annual 
Statement Instructions and any other notes required by 
generally accepted accounting principles and shall also 
include: the NAIC Accounting Practices and Procedures 
Manual.  The notes shall include a reconciliation of 
differences, if any, between the audited statutory financial 
statements and the annual statement filed pursuant to 18 Del. 

C. § 526 with a written description of the nature of these 
differences. 

5.2.6.1 A reconciliation of differences, if any, 
between the audited statutory financial statements and the 
Annual Statement filed pursuant to 18 Del. C. §526 of the 
Delaware Insurance Statute with a written description of the 
nature of these differences.

5.2.6.2 A summary of ownership and 
relationships of the insurer and all affiliated companies.

5.2.7 The financial statements included in the 
aAudited fFinancial rReport shall be prepared in a form and 
using language and groupings substantially the same as the 
relevant sections of the aAnnual sStatement of the insurer 
filed with the Commissioner, and the financial statement 
shall be comparative, presenting the amounts as of 
December 31 of the current year and the amounts as of the 
immediately preceding December 31. However, in the first 
year in which an insurer is required to file an audited 
financial report, the comparative data may be omitted.

6.0 Designation of Independent Certified Public 
Accountant

6.1 Each insurer required by this regulation to file an 
annual audited financial report must within sixty (60) days 
after becoming subject to such requirement, register with the 
Commissioner in writing the name and address of the 
independent certified public accountant or accounting firm 
(generally referred to in this rule as the "accountant") 
retained to conduct the annual audit set forth in this 
regulation. Insurers not retaining an independent certified 
public accountant on the effective date of this regulation 
shall register the name and address of their retained certified 
public accountant not less than six (6) months before the date 
when the first audited financial report is to be filed.

6.2 The insurer shall obtain a letter from the 
accountant, and file a copy with the Commissioner stating 
that the accountant is aware of the provisions of the 
Insurance Code and the rRules and rRegulations of the 
Insurance Department of the state of domicile that relate to 
accounting and financial matters and affirming that 
accountant he will express his or her opinion on the financial 
statements in terms of their conformity to the statutory 
accounting practices prescribed or otherwise permitted by 
that Department, specifying such exceptions as he or she 
may believe appropriate.

6.3 If an accountant who was the accountant for the 
immediately preceding filed audited financial report is 
dismissed or resigns the insurer shall within five (5) business 
days notify the Department of this event. 

6.3.1 The insurer shall also furnish the 
Commissioner with a separate letter within ten (10) business 
days of the above notification stating whether in the twenty-
four (24) months preceding such event there were any 
disagreements with the former accountant on any matter of 
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accounting principles or practices, financial statement 
disclosure, or auditing scope or procedure; which 
disagreements, if not resolved to the satisfaction of the 
former accountant, would have caused him or her to make 
reference to the subject matter of the disagreement in 
connection with his or her opinion. 

6.3.2 The disagreements required to be reported 
in response to this Section include both those resolved to the 
former accountant's satisfaction and those not resolved to the 
former accountant's satisfaction. 

6.3.3 Disagreements contemplated by this 
section are those that occur at the decision-making level, i.e., 
between personnel of the insurer responsible for presentation 
of its financial statements and personnel of the accounting 
firm responsible for rendering its report.

6.3.4 The insurer shall also in writing request 
such former accountant to furnish a letter addressed to the 
insurer stating whether the accountant agrees with the 
statements contained in the insurer's letter and, if not, stating 
the reasons for which he or she does not agree; and the 
insurer shall furnish such responsive letter from the former 
accountant to the Commissioner together with its own.

7.0 Qualifications of Independent Certified Public 
Accountant

7.1 The Commissioner shall not recognize any person 
or firm as a qualified independent certified public accountant 
that is not in good standing with the American Institute of 
CPAs and in all states in which the accountant is licensed to 
practice, or, for a Canadian or British company, that is not a 
chartered accountant.  if the person or firm: 

7.1.1 Is not in good standing with the American 
Institute of CPAs and in all states in which the accountant is 
licensed to practice, or, for a Canadian or British company, 
that is not a chartered accountant; or

7.1.2 Has either directly or indirectly entered 
into an agreement of indemnity or release from liability 
(collectively referred to as indemnification) with respect to 
the audit of the insurer.

7.2 Except as otherwise provided herein, an 
independent certified public accountant shall be recognized 
as qualified as long as he or she conforms to the standards of 
his or her profession, as contained in the Code of 
Professional Ethics of the American Institute of Certified 
Public Accountants and Rules and Regulations and Code of 
Ethics and Rules of Professional Conduct of the Delaware 
Board of Public Accountancy, or similar code.

7.3 A qualified independent certified public accountant 
may enter into an agreement with an insurer to have disputes 
relating to an audit resolved by mediation or arbitration. 
However, in the event of a delinquency proceeding 
commenced against the insurer under 18 Del. C. Ch. 59, the 
mediation or arbitration provisions shall operate at the option 
of the statutory successor.

7.4 The time during which an accountant may serve 
shall be subject to the following provisions:

7.4.1 No partner or other person responsible for 
rendering a report may act in that capacity for more than 
seven (7) consecutive years. Following any period of service 
such person shall be disqualified from acting in that or a 
similar capacity for the same company or its insurance 
subsidiaries or affiliates for a period of two (2) years. An 
insurer may make application to the Commissioner for relief 
from the above rotation requirement on the basis of unusual 
circumstances. The Commissioner may consider the 
following factors in determining if the relief should be 
granted:

7.43.1.1 Number of partners, expertise of 
the partners or the number of insurance clients in the 
currently registered firm;

7.43.1.2 Premium volume of the insurer; or
7.43.1.3 Number of jurisdictions in which the 

insurer transacts business.
7.3.4 The requirements of this paragraph shall 

become effective two (2) years after the enactment of this 
rule.

7.54 The Commissioner shall not recognize as a 
qualified independent certified public accountant, nor accept 
any annual Audited Financial Report, prepared in whole or 
in part by, any natural person who:

7.54.1 Has been convicted of fraud, bribery, a 
violation of the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt 
Organizations Act, 18 U.S.C. Sections 1961-1968, or any 
dishonest conduct or practices under federal or state law;

7.54.2 Has been found to have violated the 
insurance laws of this state with respect to any previous 
reports submitted under this regulation; or

7.54.3 Has demonstrated a pattern or practice of 
failing to detect or disclose material information in previous 
reports filed under the provisions of this regulation.

7.65 The Insurance Commissioner, as provided in 
the Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del. C. Ch. 
101, and 18 Del.C. Ch. 3, may hold a hearing to determine 
whether a certified public accountant is qualified and, 
considering the evidence presented, may rule that the 
accountant is not qualified for purposes of expressing his or 
her opinion on the financial statements in the annual 
aAudited fFinancial Rreport made pursuant to this regulation 
and require the insurer to replace the accountant with another 
whose relationship with the insurer is qualified within the 
meaning of this regulation.

8.0 Consolidated or Combined Audits
8.1 An insurer may make written application to the 

Commissioner for approval to file audited consolidated or 
combined financial statements in lieu of separate annual 
audited financial statements if the insurer is part of a group 
of insurance companies which utilizes a pooling or one 
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hundred percent reinsurance agreement that affects the 
solvency and integrity of the insurer's reserves and such 
insurer cedes all of its direct and assumed business to the 
pool. In such cases, a columnar consolidating or combining 
worksheet shall be filed with the report, as follows:

8.1.1 Amounts shown on the consolidated or 
combined aAudited fFinancial rReport shall be shown on the 
worksheet;.

8.1.2 Amounts for each insurer subject to this 
section shall be stated separately;.

8.1.3 Noninsurance operations may be shown 
on the worksheet on a combined or individual basis;.

8.1.4 Explanations of consolidating and 
eliminating entries shall be included;. and

8.1.5 A reconciliation shall be included of any 
differences between the amounts shown in the individual 
insurer columns of the worksheet and comparable amounts 
shown on the aAnnual sStatements of the insurers.

9.0 Scope of Examination and Report of Independent 
Certified Public Accountant

9.1 Financial statements furnished pursuant to Section 
5.0 hereof shall be examined by an independent certified 
public accountant. The examination of the insurer's financial 
statements shall be conducted in accordance with generally 
accepted auditing standards. Consideration should also be 
given to such other procedures illustrated in the Financial 
Condition Examiner's Handbook promulgated by the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners as the 
independent certified public accountant deems necessary.

10.0 Notification of Adverse Financial Condition
10.1 The insurer required to furnish the annual 

Audited Financial Report shall require the independent 
certified public accountant to report, in writing, within five 
(5) business days to the board of directors or its audit 
committee any determination by the independent certified 
public accountant that the insurer has materially misstated its 
financial condition as reported to the Commissioner as of the 
balance sheet date currently under examination or that the 
insurer does not meet the minimum capital and surplus 
requirement of the Delaware Insurance Statute as of that 
date.  10.1.1 An insurer that who has received a report 
pursuant to this paragraph shall forward a copy of the report 
to the Commissioner within five (5) business days of receipt 
of such report and shall provide the independent certified 
public accountant making the report with evidence of the 
report being furnished to the Commissioner.  10.1.2 If the 
independent certified public accountant fails to receive such 
evidence within the required five (5) business day period, the 
independent certified public accountant shall furnish to the 
Commissioner a copy of its report within the next five (5) 
business days.

10.2 No independent public accountant shall be 

liable in any manner to any person for any statement made in 
connection with the above paragraph if such statement is 
made in good faith in compliance with the section 10.1
above paragraph.

10.3 If the accountant, subsequent to the date of the 
Audited Financial Report filed pursuant to this regulation, 
becomes aware of facts which might have affected his or her
report, the Department notes the obligation of the accountant 
to take such action as prescribed in Volume 1, Section AU 
561 of the Professional Standards of the American Institute 
of Certified Public Accountants.

11.0  Report on Significant Deficiencies in Internal 
Controls

11.1 In addition to the annual audited financial 
statements, each insurer shall furnish the Commissioner with 
a written report prepared by the accountant describing 
significant deficiencies in the insurer's internal control 
structure noted by the accountant during the audit. SAS No. 
60, Communication of Internal Control Structure Matters 
Noted in an Audit (AU Section 325 of the Professional 
Standards of the American Institute of Certified Public 
Accountants) requires an accountant to communicate 
significant deficiencies (known as "reportable conditions") 
noted during a financial statement audit to the appropriate 
parties within an entity. 11.2 No report should be issued if 
the accountant does not identify significant deficiencies. If 
significant deficiencies are noted, the written report shall be 
filed annually by the insurer with the Department within 
sixty (60) days after the filing of the annual audited financial 
statements. 1.3 The insurer is required to provide a 
description of remedial actions taken or proposed to correct 
significant deficiencies, if such actions are not described in 
the accountant's report.

12.0 Accountant's Letter of Qualifications
12.1 The accountant shall furnish the insurer in 

connection with, and for inclusion in, the filing of the annual 
audited financial report, a letter stating:

12.1.1 That the accountant is independent with 
respect to the insurer and conforms to the standards of his or 
her profession as contained in the Code of Professional 
Ethics and pronouncements of the American Institute of 
Certified Public Accountants and the Rules of Professional 
Conduct of the Delaware Board of Public Accountancy, or 
similar code;.

12.1.2 The background and experience in 
general, and the experience in audits of insurers of the staff 
assigned to the engagement and whether each is an 
independent certified public accountant. Nothing within this 
regulation shall be construed as prohibiting the accountant 
from utilizing such staff as he or she deems appropriate 
where use is consistent with the standards prescribed by 
generally accepted auditing standards.
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12.1.3 That the accountant understands the 
annual audited financial report and his or her opinion thereon 
will be filed in compliance with this regulation and that the 
Commissioner will be relying on this information in the 
monitoring and regulation of the financial position of 
insurers.

12.1.4 That the accountant consents to the 
requirements of Section 13.0 of this regulation and that the 
accountant consents and agrees to make available for review 
by the Commissioner, or the Commissioner’s his designee or 
his appointed agent, the workpapers, as defined in Section 
13.0;.

12.1.5 A representation that the accountant is 
properly licensed by an appropriate state licensing authority 
and is a member in good standing in the American Institute 
of Certified Public Accountants;. and

12.1.6 A representation that the accountant is in 
compliance with the requirements of Section 7.0 of this 
regulationule.

13.0 Definition, Availability and Maintenance of CPA 
Workpapers

13.1 Workpapers are the records kept by the 
independent certified public accountant of the procedures 
followed, the tests performed, the information obtained, and 
the conclusions reached pertinent to the accountant’s his 
examination of the financial statements of an insurer. 13.1.1 
Workpapers, accordingly, may include audit planning 
documentation, work programs, analyses, memoranda, 
letters of confirmation and representation, abstracts of 
company documents and schedules or commentaries 
prepared or obtained by the independent certified public 
accountant in the course of his examination of the financial 
statements of an insurer and which support the accountant’s
his opinion thereof.

13.2 Every insurer required to file an Audited 
Financial Report pursuant to this regulation, shall require the 
accountant to make available for review by Department 
examiners, all workpapers prepared in the conduct of the 
accountant’s his examination and any communications 
related to the audit between the accountant and the insurer, at 
the offices of the insurer, at the Insurance Department or at 
any other reasonable place designated by the Commissioner.
13.3 The insurer shall require that the accountant retain the 
audit workpapers and communications until the Insurance 
Department has filed a Report on Examination covering the 
period of the audit but no longer than seven (7) years from 
the date of the audit report.

13.43 In the conduct of the aforementioned periodic 
review by the Department examiners, it shall be agreed that 
photocopies of pertinent audit workpapers may be made and 
retained by the Department. Such reviews by the Department 
examiners shall be considered investigations and all working 
papers and communications obtained during the course of 

such investigations shall be afforded the same confidentiality 
as other examination workpapers generated by the 
Department.

14.0 Exemptions and Effective Dates
14.1 Upon written application of any insurer, the 

Commissioner may grant an exemption from compliance 
with this regulation if the Commissioner finds, upon review 
of the application, that compliance with this regulation 
would constitute a financial or organizational hardship upon 
the insurer. An exemption may be granted at any time and 
from time to time for a specified period or periods. Within 
ten (10) days from a denial of an insurer's written request for 
an exemption from this regulation, such insurer may request 
in writing a hearing on its application for an exemption. 
Such hearing shall be held in accordance with the Delaware 
Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, and 18 
Del.C.  Ch. 3 Section 3.0.

14.2 Domestic insurers retaining a certified public 
accountant on the effective date of this regulation who 
qualify as independent shall comply with this regulation for 
the year ending December 31, 1994 and each year thereafter 
unless the Commissioner permits otherwise.

14.3 Domestic insurers not retaining a certified 
public accountant on the effective date of this regulation who 
qualify as independent may meet the following schedule for 
compliance unless the Commissioner permits otherwise.

14.3.1 As of December 31, 1994, file with the 
Commissioner:

14.3.1.1 Report of independent certified public 
accountant;

14.3.1.2 Audited balance sheet;
14.3.1.3 Notes to audited balance sheet.

14.3.2 For the year ending December 31, 1994 
and each year thereafter, such insurers shall file with the 
Commissioner all reports required by this regulation.

14.4 14.3.3 Foreign insurers shall comply with this 
regulation for the year ending December 31, 1994 and each 
year thereafter, unless the Commissioner permits otherwise.

15.0 Canadian and British Companies
15.1 In the case of Canadian and British insurers, 

the annual audited financial report shall be defined as the 
annual statement of total business on the form filed by such 
companies with their domiciliary supervision authority duly 
audited by an independent chartered accountant.

15.2 For such insurers, the letter required in Section 
6.0 shall state that the accountant is aware of the 
requirements relating to the annual audited statement filed 
with the Commissioner pursuant to Section 4.0 and shall 
affirm that the opinion expressed is in conformity with such 
requirements.
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16.0 Severability Provision
16.1 If any section or portion of a section of this 

regulation or the applicability thereof to any person or 
circumstance is held invalid by a court, the remainder of the 
regulation or the applicability of such provision to other 
persons or circumstances shall not be affected thereby.

17.0 Effective Date
This regulation became effective July 29, 1987.  the first 

amendment became effective on September 12, 1994.  This 
second amendment shall become effective on October 12, 
2004. 

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,

Section 311 (18 Del.C. §311)

PUBLIC NOTICE
1404 LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE

[Formerly Regulation 63]

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER DONNA LEE H. 
WILLIAMS hereby gives notice that a public hearing will be 
held on Wednesday September 1, 2004, at 10:30 a.m. in the 
Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware 
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware.  The hearing is to consider amending Regulation 
1404 (formerly Regulation 63) relating to LONG-TERM 
CARE INSURANCE.

The purpose for amending Regulation 1404 is to add 
sections to the regulation dealing with (1) required 
disclosures of rating practices to consumers, (2) initial filing 
requirements, (3) premium rate schedule increases and (4) 
make technical corrections to the existing regulation.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 19 
Del.C.  §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures 
Act, 29 Del.C.  Chapter 101.  Comments are being solicited 
from any interested party.  Comments may be in writing or 
may be presented orally at the Hearing.  Written comments, 
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed 
change to the regulation must be received by the Department 
of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Wednesday September 
1, 2004, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney 
General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of 
Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE  19904, 
telephone 302.739.4251.

1404 LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE
[Formerly Regulation 63]

1.0 Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to implement 18 Del.C.

Ch. 71, to promote the public interest, to promote the 
availability of long-term care insurance coverage, to protect 
applicants for long-term care insurance, from unfair or 
deceptive sales or enrollment practices, to facilitate public 
understanding and comparison of long-term care insurance 
coverages, and to facilitate flexibility and innovation in the 
development of long-term care insurance. 

2.0 Authority
This regulation is issued pursuant to the authority vested 

in the Commissioner under 18 Del.C. §§ 3141 and 7105. 

3.0 Applicability and Scope
Except as otherwise specifically provided, this 

regulation applies to all long-term care insurance policies 
and certificates delivered or issued for delivery in this state 
on or after the effective date hereof, by insurers; fraternal 
benefit societies; nonprofit health, hospital and medical 
service corporations; prepaid health plans; health 
maintenance organizations and all similar organizations.

4.0 Definitions
For the purpose of this regulation, the terms 

"Department," "long-term care insurance," "Commissioner," 
"applicant," "policy" and "certificate" shall have the 
meanings set forth in 18 Del.C. §§ 102 and 7103. 

5.0 Policy Definitions
No long-term care insurance policy delivered or issued 

for delivery in this state shall use the terms set forth below, 
or terms of like or similar meaning, unless the terms are 
defined in the policy and the definitions satisfy the following 
requirements:

5.1 “Activities of daily living” means at least bathing, 
continence, dressing, eating, toileting and transferring.

5.2 "Acute Condition" means that the individual is 
medically unstable.  Such an individual requires frequent 
monitoring by medical professionals, such as physicians and 
registered nurses, in order to maintain their health status.

5.3 "Adult day care" means a program for six (6) or 
more individuals, of social and health-related services 
provided during the day in a community group setting for the 
purpose of supporting frail, impaired elderly or other 
disabled adults who can benefit from care in a group setting 
outside the home.

5.4 “Chronically ill” means any individual who has 
been certified by a Licensed Health Care Practitioner as 
being unable to perform, without substantial assistance from 
another individual, at least two activities of daily living for a 
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period of at least ninety (90) days; or who requires 
substantial supervision to protect such individual from 
threats to health and safety due to severe cognitive 
impairment.

5.5 “Cognitive impairment” means a deficiency in a 
person’s short-term or long-term memory, orientation as to 
person, place, and time, deductive or abstract reasoning, or 
judgment as it relates to safety awareness.

5.6 "Home health care services" means medical and 
nonmedical services provided to ill, disabled or infirm 
persons in their residences.  Such services may include 
homemaker services, assistance with activities of daily 
living and respite care services.

5.7 "Medicare" means "The Health Insurance for the 
Aged Act, Title XVIII of the Social Security Amendments of 
1965 as Tthen Cconstituted or Llater Aamended," or "Title I, 
Part I of Public Law 89-97, as Eenacted by the Eighty-Ninth 
Congress of the United States of America and popularly 
known as the Health Insurance for the Aged Act, as then 
constituted and any later amendments or substitutes thereof," 
or words of similar import.

5.8 "Mental or nervous disorder" shall not be 
defined to include more than neurosis, psychoneurosis, 
psychopathy, psychosis, or mental or emotional disease or 
disorder.

5.9 "Personal care" means the provision of hands-on 
services to assist an individual with activities of daily living 
(such as bathing, eating, dressing, transferring and toileting).

5.10 "Preexisting Conditions" shall be defined in 
accordance with 18 Del.C. § 7105 (Cc).

5.11 “Qualified Long-Term Care Insurance 
Policy” means a policy that provides coverage for qualified 
long-term care services that is intended to meet the 
requirements of §7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986, as amended.

5.12 “Qualified Long-Term Care Services” means 
necessary diagnostic, preventive therapeutic, curing, 
treating, mitigating and rehabilitative services and 
Maintenance or Personal Care Services which are required 
by a Chronically Ill Individual and are provided pursuant to a 
Plan of Care prescribed by a Licensed Health Care 
Practitioner.

5.13 "Skilled nursing care", "intermediate 
care", "personal care", "home care", and other services 
shall be defined in relation to the level of skill required, 
nature of the care and the setting in which care must be 
delivered.

5.14 All providers of services, including but not 
limited to "skilled nursing facility", "extended care facility", 
"intermediate care facility", "convalescent nursing home", 
"personal care facility", and "home care agency" shall be 
defined in relation to the services and facilities required to be 
available and the licensure or degree status of those 
providing or supervising the services.  The definition may 

require that the provider be appropriately licensed or 
certified.

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

6.0 Policy Practices and Provisions
6.1 Renewability.  The terms "guaranteed renewable" 

and "noncancellable" shall not be used in any individual 
long-term care insurance policy without providing further 
explanatory language in accordance with the disclosure 
requirements of section 7.0 of this regulation.

6.1.1 No such policy issued to an individual 
shall contain renewal provisions less favorable to the insured 
than "guaranteed renewable."  However, the Commissioner 
may authorize nonrenewal on a statewide basis, on terms and 
conditions deemed necessary by the Commissioner, to best 
protect the interests of the insureds, if the insurer 
demonstrates:  That renewal will jeopardize the insurer's 
solvency.

6.1.2 The term "guaranteed renewable" may be 
used only when the insured has the right to continue the 
long-term care insurance in force by the timely payment of 
premiums, during which period the insurer has no unilateral 
right to make any change in any provision of the policy or 
rider, and cannot decline to renew and cannot revise rates 
except on a class basis in accordance with section 6.1.4 
below.  This cost disclosure must be approved by the 
Commissioner and included in any solicitation and also 
prominently displayed on the initial policy.

6.1.3 Every long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate issued or delivered in this State must be 
"guaranteed renewable" as defined in section 6.1.2 above, 
and contain a cost disclosure section as defined section 6.1.4 
below.

6.1.4 Cost Disclosure Information.
6.1.4.1 The following cost disclosure 

information shall appear in bold print on the cover page of 
every individual policy and Outline of Coverage issued or 
delivered in this state:  "This policy provides only the 
following price protection, and no more.  Your premiums 
may not increase by more than X% during any given 
calendar year and your benefits may not decrease.  Any 
representations that these increases will not take place are 
unauthorized and shall not be relied upon."

6.1.4.2 The following cost disclosure 
information shall appear in bold print on the cover page of 
every certificate and Outline of Coverage issued or delivered 
in this state:  "This policy provides only the following price 
protection, and no more.  Your premiums are guaranteed to 
remain the same for the first three (3) years this policy is in 
force.  Your premiums may not increase by more than X% 
during any three year rating period.  Insurers will be allowed 
a carry forward of the initially disclosed maximum premium 
increase, but said carry forward is lost within twenty-four 
(24) months if not utilized."  Any additional language that 
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appears under the cost disclosure section must be approved 
in advance by the Delaware Insurance Department.  The 
purpose of this cost disclosure section is twofold: first, to 
make crystal clear to the purchaser what the maximum cost 
will be from year to year, and second, to prohibit the practice 
of low pricing during the early years of a policy followed by 
dramatic increases designed to produce a high ratio of 
cancellations when the group insured reaches that age at 
which its members are more likely to file claims.  Therefore, 
this section does not permit annual increases to be 
accumulated and applied all at once.  For example, if the 
price is $100 in the initial year of the policy and 10% is the 
represented annual maximum increase, then during the 
second year of the policy, the maximum allowable price is 
$110, the third year of the policy the maximum allowable 
price is not more than 110% of the price actually charges 
during year two of the policy.  It is not permissible to charge 
$121 during the third year of the policy unless $110 had 
actually been charged during year two of the policy.  In other 
words, any permitted annual price increase not implemented 
during a calendar year is thereafter waived and may not be 
considered in calculating future prices.

6.1.5 In addition to other requirements of this 
subsection, a qualified long-term care insurance contract 
shall be guaranteed renewable.

6.2 Limitations and Exclusions.  No policy may be 
delivered or issued for delivery in this state as long-term care 
insurance if such policy limits or excludes coverage by type 
of illness, treatment, medical condition or accident, except as 
follows:  

6.2.1 Preexisting conditions;
6.2.2 Mental or nervous disorders; however, this 

shall not permit exclusion or limitation of benefits on the 
basis of Alzheimer's Disease;

6.2.3 Alcoholism and drug addiction;
6.2.4 Illness, treatment or medical condition 

arising out of:
6.2.4.1 War or act of war (whether declared 

or undeclared);
6.2.4.2 Participation in a felony, riot or 

insurrection;
6.2.4.3 Service in the armed forces or units 

auxiliary thereto;
6.2.4.4 Suicide (sane or insane), attempted 

suicide or intentionally self-inflicted injury; or
6.2.4.5 Aviation (this exclusion applies only 

to non-fare-paying passengers).
6.2.5 Treatment provided in a government 

facility (unless otherwise required by law), services for 
which benefits are available under Medicare or other 
governmental program (except Medicaid), any state or 
federal workers' compensation, employer's liability or 
occupational disease law, or any motor vehicle no-fault law, 
services provided by a member of the covered person's 

immediate family and services for which no charge is 
normally made in the absence of insurance.

6.2.6 No territorial limitations are permissible, 
except that nothing herein shall preclude limiting benefits for 
specific services to a specific dollar amount, or to that dollar 
amount which is reasonable and prevailing in a particular 
geographic area which is defined and clearly delineated in 
the original offering or solicitation and the initial policy or 
certificate, or to specific providers within a particular 
geographic area.  Moreover, nothing herein shall prohibit the 
limitation of services to a particular geographic area when 
the insured elects to receive services within that specific 
geographical area.  For purposes of this clause, the location 
of receipt of services must be within 50 miles of the domicile 
of the insured at the time of entry therein or that area, 
including the nearest three nursing homes, whichever 
distance is greater.

6.2.7 Expenses for services or items available or 
paid under another long-term care insurance or health 
insurance policy.

6.2.8 In the case of a qualified long-term care 
insurance contract expenses for services or items to the 
extent that the expenses are reimbursable under Title XVIII 
of the Social Security Act or would be so reimbursable but 
for the application of a deductible or coinsurance amount.

6.2.9 This section 6.2 is not intended to prohibit 
exclusions and limitations by type of provider.

6.3 Extension of Benefits.  Termination of long-term 
care insurance shall be without prejudice to any benefits 
payable for institutionalization which began while the long-
term care insurance was in force and continues without 
interruption after termination.  Such extension  of benefits 
beyond the period the long-term care insurance was in force 
may be limited to the duration of the benefit period, if any, or 
to payment of the maximum benefits and may be subject to 
any policy waiting period, and all other applicable 
provisions of the policy.

6.4 Continuation or Conversion.
6.4.1 Group long-term care insurance issued in 

this state on or after the effective date of this section shall 
provide covered individuals with a basis for continuation or 
conversion of coverage.

6.4.2 For the purposes of this section, "a basis 
for continuation of coverage" means a policy provision 
which maintains coverage under the existing group policy 
when such coverage would otherwise terminate and which is 
subject only to the continued timely payment of premium 
when due. Group policies which restrict provision of 
benefits and services to, or contain incentives to use certain 
providers and/or facilities may provide continuation benefits 
which are substantially equivalent to the benefits under the 
existing policy.  The Commissioner shall make a 
determination as to the substantial equivalency of benefits, 
and in doing so, shall take into consideration the differences 
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between managed care and non-managed care plans, 
including, but not limited to, provider system arrangements, 
service availability, benefit levels and administrative 
complexity.

6.4.3 For the purposes of this section, "a basis 
for conversion of coverage" means a policy provision that an 
individual whose coverage under the group policy would 
otherwise terminate or has been terminated for any reason, 
including discontinuance of the group policy in its entirety or 
with respect to an insured class, and who has been 
continuously insured under the group policy (and any group 
policy which it replaced), for at least six months 
immediately prior to termination, shall be entitled to the 
issuance of a converted policy by the insurer under whose 
group policy he or she is covered, without evidence of 
insurability.

6.4.4 For the purposes of this section, 
"converted policy" means an individual policy of long-term 
care insurance providing benefits identical to or determined 
by the Commissioner to be substantially equivalent to or in 
excess of those provided under the group policy from which 
conversion is made.

6.4.4.1 Where the group policy from which 
conversion is made restricts provision of benefits and 
services to, or contains incentives to use certain providers 
and/or facilities, the Commissioner, in making a 
determination as to the substantial equivalency of benefits, 
shall take into consideration the differences between 
managed care and non-managed care plans, including, but 
not limited to, provider system arrangements, service 
availability, benefit levels and administrative complexity. 
When the policyholder or certificate holder is no longer in 
the geographical area of the provider system or available 
services, the insurer must calculate the financial worth of the 
group policy and make a cash contribution toward the 
purchase of any health insurance policy the policyholder 
may select.

6.4.5 Written application for the converted 
policy shall be made and the first premium due, if any, shall 
be paid as directed by the insurer no later than thirty-one (31) 
days after termination of coverage under the group policy. 
The converted policy shall be issued effective on the day 
following the termination of coverage under the group 
policy, and shall be renewable annually.

6.4.6 Unless the group policy from which 
conversion is made replaced previous group coverage, the 
premium for the converted policy shall be calculated on the 
basis of the insured's age at inception of coverage under the 
group policy from which conversion is made.  Where the 
group policy from which conversion is made replaced 
previous group coverage, the premium for the converted 
policy shall be calculated on the basis of the insured's age at 
inception of coverage under the group policy replaced.

6.4.7 Continuation of coverage or issuance of a 

converted policy shall be mandatory, except where:
6.4.7.1 Termination of group coverage 

resulted from an individual's failure to make any required 
payment of premium or contribution when due; or

6.4.7.2 The terminating coverage is replaced 
no later than thirty-one (31) days after termination, by group 
coverage effective on the day following the termination of 
coverage:

6.4.7.2.1 Providing benefits identical 
to or benefits determined by the Commissioner to be 
substantially equivalent to or in excess of those provided by 
the terminating coverage; and

6.4.7.2.2 The premium for which is 
calculated in a manner consistent with the requirements of 
6.4.6 of this section.

6.4.8 Notwithstanding any other provision of 
this section, a converted policy issued to an individual who 
at the time of conversion is covered by another long-term 
care insurance policy which provides benefits on the basis of 
incurred expenses, may contain a provision which results in 
a reduction of benefits payable if the benefits provided under 
the additional coverage, together with the full benefits 
provided by the converted policy, would result in payment of 
more than 100 percent of incurred expenses.  Such provision 
shall only be included in the converted policy if the 
converted policy also provides for a premium decrease or 
refund which reflects the reduction in benefits payable.

6.4.9 The converted policy may provide that the 
benefits payable under the converted policy, together with 
the benefits payable under the group policy from which 
conversion is made, shall not exceed those that would have 
been payable had the individual's coverage under the group 
policy remained in force and effect.

6.4.10 Notwithstanding any other provision of 
this section, any insured individual whose eligibility for 
group long-term care coverage is based upon his or her 
relationship to another person, shall be entitled to 
continuation of coverage under the group policy upon 
termination of the qualifying relationship by death or 
dissolution of marriage.

6.4.11 For the purposes of this section: a 
"Managed-Care Plan" is a health care or assisted living 
arrangement designed to coordinate patient care or control 
costs through utilization review, case management or use of 
specific provider networks.

6.5 Discontinuance and Replacement.
If a group long-term care insurance policy is 

replaced by another group long-term care policy issued to 
the same policyholder, the succeeding insurer shall offer 
coverage to all persons covered under the previous group 
policy on its date of termination.  Coverage provided or 
offered to individuals by the insurer and the premiums 
charged under the new group policy:

6.5.1 Shall not result in any exclusion for pre-
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existing conditions that would have been covered under the 
group policy being replaced; and

6.5.2 Shall not vary or otherwise depend on the 
individual's health or disability status, claim experience or 
use of long-term care services.

6.6 The premiums charged to an insured for long-term 
care insurance shall not increase due to either:  (1) The 
increasing age of the insured at ages beyond sixty-five (65); 
or (2) The duration the insured has been covered under the 
policy.

6.7 Electronic Enrollment for Group Policies
6.7.1 In the case of a group defined in 18 Del.C.

§ 7103(4)a. any requirement that a signature of an insured be 
obtained by an agent or insurer shall be deemed satisfied if:

6.7.1.1 The consent is obtained by telephonic 
or electronic enrollment by the group policyholder or 
insurer.  A verification of enrollment information shall be 
provided to the enrollee;

6.7.1.2 The telephonic or electronic 
enrollment provides necessary and reasonable safeguards to 
assure the accuracy, retention and prompt retrieval of 
records; and

6.7.1.3 The telephonic or electronic 
enrollment provides necessary and reasonable safeguards to 
assure that the confidentiality of individually identifiable 
information is maintained.

6.7.2 The insurer shall make available, upon 
request of the Commissioner, records that will demonstrate 
the insurer’s ability to confirm enrollment and coverage 
amounts.

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

7.0 Required Disclosure Provisions
7.1 Renewability.  Individual long-term care insurance 

policies shall contain a renewability provision consistent 
herewith.  Such provision shall be appropriately  captioned, 
shall appear on the first page of the policy, and shall clearly 
state the duration, where limited, of renewability and the 
duration of the term of coverage for which the policy is 
issued and for which it may be renewed, subject to section 
6.1.1 hereof. This provision shall not apply to policies which 
do not contain a renewability provision, and under which the 
right to nonrenew is reserved solely to the policyholder.  

7.2 Riders and Endorsements.  Except for riders or 
endorsements by which the insurer effectuates a request 
made in writing by the insured under an individual long-term 
care insurance policy, all riders or endorsements added to an 
individual long-term care insurance policy after date of issue 
or at reinstatement or renewal which reduce or eliminate 
benefits or coverage in the policy shall require signed 
acceptance by the individual insured.  After the date of 
policy issue, any rider or endorsement which increases 
benefits or coverage with a concomitant increase in premium 
during the policy term must be agreed to in writing signed by 

the insured, except if the increased benefits or coverage are 
required by law.  Where a separate additional premium is 
charged for benefits provided in connection with riders or 
endorsements, such premium charge shall be set forth in the 
policy, rider or endorsement.  

7.3 Payment of Benefits.  A long-term care insurance 
policy which provides for the payment of benefits based on 
standards described as "usual and customary", "reasonable 
and customary", "reasonable and prevailing", or words of 
similar import shall include a definition of such terms and an 
explanation of such terms in its outline of coverage.  

7.4 Limitations.  If a long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate contains any limitations with respect to 
preexisting conditions, such limitations shall appear as a 
separate paragraph of the policy or certificate and shall be 
labeled as "Preexisting Condition Limitations."

7.5 Other Limitations or Conditions on Eligibility for 
Benefits.  A long-term care insurance policy or certificate 
containing any limitations or conditions for eligibility, 
except in accordance with 18 Del.C. § 7105, shall set forth a 
description of such limitations or conditions, including any 
required number of days or confinement, in a separate 
paragraph of the policy or certificate and shall label such 
paragraph "Limitations or Conditions of Eligibility for 
Benefits."

7.6 Disclosure of Tax Consequences.  
7.6.1 With regard to life insurance policies 

which provide an accelerated benefit for long-term care, a 
disclosure statement is required at the time of application for 
the policy or rider and at the time the accelerated benefit 
payment request is submitted that receipt of these 
accelerated benefits may be taxable, and that assistance 
should be sought from a personal tax advisor.  The disclosure 
statement shall be prominently displayed on the first page of 
the policy or rider and any other related documents. This 
subsection shall not apply to qualified long-term care 
insurance contracts.

7.6.2 With regard to qualified long-term care 
insurance policies a disclosure statement shall appear in bold 
print on the face of the policy and outline of coverage 
indicating the policy is intended to be a qualified long-term 
care policy under Section 7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue 
Code of 1996.

7.7 Benefit Triggers.  Activities of daily living and 
cognitive impairment shall be used to measure an insured’s 
need for long term care and shall be described in the policy 
or certificate in a separate paragraph and shall be labeled 
“Eligibility for the Payment of Benefits.”  Any additional 
benefit triggers shall also be explained in this section.  If 
these triggers differ for different benefits, explanation of the 
trigger shall accompany each benefit description.  If an 
attending physician or other specified person must certify a 
certain level of functional dependency in order to be eligible 
for benefits, this too shall be specified.
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8.0 Required Disclosure of Rating Practices to 
Consumers  

8.1 This subsection shall apply as follows:
8.1.1 Except as provided in section 8.1.2, this 

section applies to any long-term care policy or certificate 
issued in this state on or after March 1, 2005.

8.1.2 For certificates issued on or after the 
effective date of this amended regulation under a group long-
term care insurance policy as defined in 18 Del.C. § 7103(4), 
which policy was in force at the time this amended 
regulation became effective, the provisions of this section 
shall apply on the policy anniversary following January 1, 
2006.

8.2 Other than policies for which no applicable 
premium rate or rate schedule increases can be made, 
insurers shall provide all of the information listed in this 
subsection to the applicant at the time of application or 
enrollment, unless the method of application does not allow 
for delivery at that time. In such a case, an insurer shall 
provide all of the information listed in this section to the 
applicant no later than at the time of delivery of the policy or 
certificate.

8.2.1 A statement that the policy may be subject 
to rate increases in the future; 

8.2.2 An explanation of potential future 
premium rate revisions, and the policyholder’s or 
certificateholder’s option in the event of a premium rate 
revision;

8.2.3 The premium rate or rate schedules 
applicable to the applicant that will be in effect until a 
request is made for an increase;

8.2.4 A general explanation for applying 
premium rate or rate schedule adjustments that shall include:

8.2.4.1 A description of when premium rate 
or rate schedule adjustments will be effective (e.g., next 
anniversary date, next billing date, etc.); and

8.2.4.2 The right to a revised premium rate or 
rate schedule as provided in section 8.2.3 if the premium rate 
or rate schedule is changed; 

8.2.5 Premium rate increase information
8.2.5.1 Information regarding each pr0emium 

rate increase on this policy form or similar policy forms over 
the past ten (10) years for this state or any other state that, at 
a minimum, identifies:

8.2.5.1.1 The policy forms for which 
premium rates have been increased;

8.2.5.1.2 The calendar years when the 
form was available for purchase; and 

8.2.5.1.3 The amount or percent of 
each increase. The percentage may be expressed as a 
percentage of the premium rate prior to the increase, and 
may also be expressed as minimum and maximum 

percentages if the rate increase is variable by rating 
characteristics. 

8.2.5.2 The insurer may, in a fair manner, 
provide additional explanatory information related to the rate 
increases.

8.2.5.3 An insurer shall have the right to 
exclude from the disclosure premium rate increases that only 
apply to blocks of business acquired from other nonaffiliated 
insurers or the long-term care policies acquired from other 
nonaffiliated insurers when those increases occurred prior to 
the acquisition. 

8.2.5.4 If an acquiring insurer files for a rate 
increase on a long-term care policy form acquired from 
nonaffiliated insurers or a block of policy forms acquired 
from nonaffiliated insurers on or before the later of the 
effective date of this section or the end of a twenty-four-
month period following the acquisition of the block or 
policies, the acquiring insurer may exclude that rate increase 
from the disclosure. However, the nonaffiliated selling 
company shall include the disclosure of that rate increase in 
accordance with section 8.2.5.1.

8.2.5.5 If the acquiring insurer in section 
8.2.5.4 above files for a subsequent rate increase, even 
within the twenty-four-month period, on the same policy 
form acquired from nonaffiliated insurers or block of policy 
forms acquired from nonaffiliated insurers referenced in 
section 8.2.5.4, the acquiring insurer shall make all 
disclosures required by section 8.2.5, including disclosure of 
the earlier rate increase referenced in section 8.2.5.4.

8.3 An applicant shall sign an acknowledgement at the 
time of application, unless the method of application does 
not allow for signature at that time, that the insurer made the 
disclosure required under sections 8.2.1 and 8.2.5. If due to 
the method of application the applicant cannot sign an 
acknowledgement at the time of application, the applicant 
shall sign no later than at the time of delivery of the policy or 
certificate.

8.4 An insurer shall use the forms in Appendices B and 
F to comply with the requirements of sections 8.2 and 8.3 of 
section 8.

8.5 An insurer shall provide notice of an upcoming 
premium rate schedule increase to all policyholders or 
certificateholders, if applicable, at least forty-five (45) days 
prior to the implementation of the premium rate schedule 
increase by the insurer. The notice shall include the 
information required by section 8.2 when the rate increase is 
implemented

89.0 Unintentional Lapse
89.1 Each insurer offering long-term care insurance 

shall, as a protection against unintentional lapse, comply 
with the following:

89.1.1 Notice before lapse or termination. No 
individual long-term care policy or certificate shall be issued 
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until the insurer has received from the applicant either a 
written designation of at least one person, in addition to the 
applicant, who is to receive notice of lapse or termination of 
the policy or certificate for nonpayment of premium, or a 
written waiver dated and signed by the applicant electing not 
to designate additional persons to receive notice. The 
applicant has the right to designate at least one person who is 
to receive the notice of termination, in addition to the 
insured. Designation shall not constitute acceptance of any 
liability on the third party for services provided to the 
insured. The form used for the written designation must 
provide space clearly designated for listing at least one 
person. The designation shall include each person’s full 
name and home address. In the case of an applicant who 
elects not to designate an additional person, the waiver shall 
state: “Protection against unintended lapse.  I understand that 
I have the right to designate at least one person other than 
myself to receive notice of lapse or termination of this long-
term care insurance policy for nonpayment of premium. I 
understand that notice will not be given until thirty (30) days 
after a premium is due and unpaid. I elect NOT to designate 
a person to receive this notice.”

89.1.1.1 The insurer shall notify the insured of 
the right to change this written designation, no less often 
than once every two (2) years.

89.1.2 When the policyholder or certificateholder 
pays premium for a long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate through a payroll or pension deduction plan, the 
requirements contained in section 89.1.1.1 need not be met 
until sixty (60) days after the policyholder or 
certificateholder is no longer on such a payment plan.  The 
application or enrollment form for such policies or 
certificates shall clearly indicate the payment plan selected 
by the applicant.

89.1.3 Lapse or termination for nonpayment of 
premium. No individual long-term care policy or certificate 
shall lapse or be terminated for nonpayment of premium 
unless the insurer, at least thirty (30) days before the 
effective date of the lapse or termination, has given notice to 
the insured and to those persons designated pursuant to 
section 89.1.1.1, at the address provided by the insured for 
purposes of receiving notice of lapse or termination. Notice 
shall be given by first class United States mail, postage 
prepaid; and notice may not be given until thirty (30) days 
after a premium is due and unpaid. Notice shall be deemed to 
have been given as of five (5) days after the date of mailing.

89.2 Reinstatement.  In addition to the requirement 
in section 89.1.1, a long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate shall include a provision that provides for 
reinstatement of coverage, in the event of lapse if the insurer 
is provided proof that the policyholder or certificateholder 
was cognitively impaired or had a loss of functional capacity 
before the grace period contained in the policy expired.  This 
option shall be available to the insured if requested within 

five (5) months after termination and shall allow for the 
collection of past due premium, where appropriate.  The 
standard of proof of cognitive impairment or loss of 
functional capacity shall not be more stringent than the 
benefit eligibility criteria on cognitive impairment or the loss 
of functional capacity contained in the policy and certificate.

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

10.0 Initial Filing Requirements
10.1 This section applies to any long-term care 

policy issued in this state on or after March 1, 2005.
10.2 An insurer shall provide the information listed 

in this subsection to the commissioner 30 days prior to 
making a long-term care insurance form available for sale.

10.2.1 A copy of the disclosure documents 
required in Section 8; and

10.2.2 An actuarial certification consisting of at 
least the following:

10.2.2.1 A statement that the initial 
premium rate schedule is sufficient to cover anticipated costs 
under moderately adverse experience and that the premium 
rate schedule is reasonably expected to be sustainable over 
the life of the form with no future premium increases 
anticipated; 

10.2.2.2 A statement that the policy 
design and coverage provided have been reviewed and taken 
into consideration;

10.2.2.3 A statement that the underwriting 
and claims adjudication processes have been reviewed and 
taken into consideration;

10.2.2.4 A complete description of the 
basis for contract reserves that are anticipated to be held 
under the form, to include:

10.2.2.4.1 Sufficient detail or sample 
calculations provided so as to have a complete depiction of 
the reserve amounts to be held;

10.2.2.4.2 A statement that the 
assumptions used for reserves contain reasonable margins 
for adverse experience; 

10.2.2.4.3 A statement that the net 
valuation premium for renewal years does not increase 
(except for attained-age rating where permitted); and 

10.2.2.4.4 A statement that the 
difference between the gross premium and the net valuation 
premium for renewal years is sufficient to cover expected 
renewal expenses; or if such a statement cannot be made, a 
complete description of the situations where this does not 
occur;

10.2.2.4.4.1 An aggregate 
distribution of anticipated issues may be used as long as the 
underlying gross premiums maintain a reasonably consistent 
relationship; 

10.2.2.4.4.2 If the gross premiums 
for certain age groups appear to be inconsistent with this 
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requirement, the commissioner may request a demonstration 
under section10.3 based on a standard age distribution; and

10.2.2.4.5 Premium schedules.
10.2.2.4.5.1 A statement that the 

premium rate schedule is not less than the premium rate 
schedule for existing similar policy forms also available 
from the insurer except for reasonable differences 
attributable to benefits; or

10.2.2.4.5.2 A comparison of the 
premium schedules for similar policy forms that are 
currently available from the insurer with an explanation of 
the differences.

10.3 Actuarial information.
10.3.1 The commissioner may request an 

actuarial demonstration that benefits are reasonable in 
relation to premiums. The actuarial demonstration shall 
include either premium and claim experience on similar 
policy forms, adjusted for any premium or benefit 
differences, relevant and credible data from other studies, or 
both. 

10.3.2 In the event the commissioner asks for 
additional information under this provision, the period in 
section 10.2 does not include the period during which the 
insurer is preparing the requested information.

911.0 Prohibition Against Post-Claims Underwriting
911.1 All applications for long-term care insurance 

policies or certificates except those which are guaranteed 
issue shall contain clear and unambiguous questions 
designed to ascertain the health condition of the applicant.

911.2 If an application for long-term care insurance 
contains a question which asks whether the applicant has had 
medication prescribed by a physician, it must also ask the 
applicant to list the medication that has been prescribed.

911.2.1 If the medications listed in such 
application were known by the insurer, or should have been 
known at the time of application, to be directly related to a 
medical condition for which coverage would otherwise be 
denied, then the policy or certificate shall not be rescinded 
for that condition. 

911.3 Except for policies or certificates which are 
guaranteed issue:  

911.3.1 The following language shall be set out 
conspicuously and in close conjunction with the applicant's 
signature block on an application for a long-term care 
insurance policy or certificate:  Caution:  If your answers on 
this application are incorrect or untrue [company] has the 
right to deny benefits or rescind your policy.

911.3.2 The following language, or language 
substantially similar to the following, shall be set out 
conspicuously on the long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate at the time of delivery:  Caution:  The issuance of 
this long-term care insurance [policy] [certificate] is based 
upon your responses to the questions on your application.  A 

copy of your [application] [enrollment form] [is enclosed] 
[was retained by you when you applied].  If your answers are 
incorrect or untrue, the company has the right to deny 
benefits or rescind your policy.  The best time to clear up any 
questions is now, before a claim arises!  If, for any reason, 
any of your answers are incorrect, contact the company at 
this address: [insert address].

911.3.3 Prior to issuance of a long-term care 
insurance policy or certificate to an applicant age eighty (80) 
or older, the insurer shall obtain one of the following:

911.3.3.1 A report of a physical 
examination,

911.3.3.2 An assessment of functional 
capacity,

911.3.3.3 An attending physician's 
statement, or 

911.3.3.4 Copies of medical records.
911.4 A copy of the completed application or 

enrollment form (whichever is applicable) shall be delivered 
to the insured no later than at the time of delivery of the 
policy or certificate unless it was retained by the applicant at 
the time of application.

911.5 Every insurer or other entity selling or issuing 
long-term care insurance benefits shall maintain a record of 
all policy or certificate rescissions, both state and 
countrywide, except those which the insured voluntarily 
effectuated and shall annually furnish this information to the 
Insurance Commissioner in the form prescribed by the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

1012.0 Minimum Standards for Home Health and 
Community Care Benefits in Long-Term Care Insurance 
Policies

1012.1 A long-term care insurance policy or certificate 
shall not, if it provides benefits for home health or 
community care services, limit or exclude benefits;

1012.1.1 By requiring that the insured/claimant 
would need skilled care in a skilled nursing facility if home 
health care services were not provided.

1012.1.2 By requiring that the insured/claimant 
first or simultaneously receive nursing and/or therapeutic 
services in a home, community or institutional setting before 
home health care services are covered.

1012.1.3 By limiting eligible services to 
services provided by registered nurses or licensed practical 
nurses.

1012.1.4 By requiring that a nurse or therapist 
provide services covered by the policy that can be provided 
by a home health aide, or other licensed or certified home 
care worker acting within the scope of his or her licensure or 
certification.

1012.1.5 By excluding coverage for personal 
care services provided by a home health aide;

1012.1.6 By requiring that the provision of 
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home health care services be at a level of certification or 
licensure greater than that required by the eligible service;

1012.1.7 By requiring that the insured/claimant 
have an acute condition before home health care services are 
covered.

1012.1.8 By limiting benefits to services 
provided by Medicare-certified agencies or providers;

1012.1.9 By excluding coverage for adult day 
care services.

1012.2 A long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate, if it provides for home health or community care 
services, shall provide total home health or community care 
coverage that is a dollar amount equivalent to at least one-
half of one year's coverage available for nursing home 
benefits under the policy or certificate.  This requirement 
shall not apply to policies or certificates issued to residents 
of continuing care retirement communities.

1012.3 Home health care coverage may be applied to 
non-home health care benefits provided in the policy or 
certificate when determining the maximum coverage under 
the terms of the policy or certificate. 

1113.0 Requirement to Offer Inflation Protection
1113.1 No insurer may offer a long-term care 

insurance policy unless the insurer also offers to the 
policyholder the option to purchase a policy that provides for 
benefit levels to increase with benefit maximums or 
reasonable durations which are meaningful to account for 
reasonably anticipated increases in the costs of long-term 
services covered by the policy.  Insurers must offer to each 
policyholder, at the time of purchase, the option to purchase 
a policy with an inflation protection feature no less favorable 
than one of the following:

1113.1.1 Increases benefit levels annually in a 
manner so that the increases are compounded annually at a 
rate not less than five percent (5%).;  However, if the insured 
individual shall reject the inflation protection offer as 
provided for in this section, the insurer may offer other or 
alternate forms of inflation protection;  

1113.1.2 Guarantees the insured individual the 
right to periodically increase benefit levels without 
providing evidence of insurability or health status so long as 
the option for the previous period has not been declined. 
The amount of additional benefit shall be no less than the 
difference between the existing policy benefit and that 
benefit compounded annually at a rate of at least five percent 
(5%) for the period beginning with the purchase of the 
existing benefit and extended until the year in which the 
offer is made; or

1113.1.3 Covers a specific percentage of actual 
or reasonable charges and does not include a maximum 
specified indemnity amount of limit.

1113.2 Where the policy is issued to a group, the 
required offer in section 1113.1 above shall be made to the 

group policyholder; except, if the policy is issued to a group 
defined in 18 Del.C. § 7103(4), other than to a continuing 
care retirement community, the offering shall be made to 
each proposed certificate holder.

1113.3 The offer in section 1113.1 above shall not be 
required of life insurance policies or riders containing 
accelerated long-term care benefits. 

1113.4 Insurers shall include the following 
information in or with the outline of coverage:

1113.4.1 A graphic comparison of the benefit 
levels of a policy that increases benefits over the policy 
period with a policy that does not increase benefits.  The 
graphic comparison shall show benefit levels over at least a 
twenty (20) year period.

1113.4.2 Any expected premium increases or 
additional premiums to pay for automatic or optional benefit 
increases. An insurer may use a reasonable hypothetical, or a 
graphic demonstration, for the purposes of this disclosure.

1113.5 Inflation protection benefit increases under a 
policy which contains such benefits shall continue without 
regard to an insured's age, claim status or claim history, or 
the length of time the person has been insured under the 
policy.

1113.6 An offer of inflation protection which provides 
for automatic benefit increases shall include an offer of a 
premium which the insurer expects to remain constant.  Such 
offer shall disclose in a conspicuous manner that the 
premium may change in the future unless the premium is 
guaranteed to remain constant. 

1113.7
1113.7.1 Inflation protection as provided in 

section 1113.1.1 of this section shall be included in a long-
term care insurance policy unless an insurer obtains a 
rejection of inflation protection signed by the policyholder as 
required in this subsection.

1113.7.2 The rejection shall be considered part 
of the application and shall state:

I have reviewed the outline of coverage and the 
graphs that compare the benefits and premiums of this policy 
with and without inflation protection. Specifically, I have 
reviewed Plans __________ and I reject inflation protection.

1214.0 Requirements for Replacement
1214.1 Application forms shall include the following 

questions designed to elicit information as to whether, as of 
the date of the application, the applicant has another long-
term care insurance policy or certificate in force or whether a 
long-term care policy or certificate is intended to replace any 
accident and sickness or long-term care policy or certificate 
presently in force. A supplementary application or other 
form to be signed by the applicant and the agent, except 
where the coverage is sold without an agent, containing such 
questions may be used.  With regard to a replacement policy 
issued to a group defined in 18 Del.C. § 7103(4), the 
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following questions may be modified only to the extent 
necessary to elicit information about health or long-term care 
insurance policies other than the group policy being 
replaced; provided, however, that the certificate holder has 
been notified of the replacement.

1214.1.1 Do you have another long-term care 
insurance policy or certificate in force (including health care 
services contract, health maintenance organization contract)?

1214.1.2 Did you have another long-term care 
insurance policy or certificate in force during the last twelve 
(12) months?

1214.1.2.1 If so, with which company?
1214.1.2.2 If that policy lapsed, when did it 

lapse?
1214.1.3 Are you covered by Medicaid?
1214.1.4 Do you intend to replace any of your 

medical or health insurance with this policy {certificate}?
1214.2 Agents shall list any other health insurance 

policies they have sold to the applicant.
1214.2.1 List policies sold which are still in 

force. 
1214.2.2 List policies sold in the last five (5) 

years which are no longer in force.
1214.3 Solicitations Other than Direct Response. 

Upon determining that a sale will involve replacement, an 
insurer; other than an insurer using direct response 
solicitation methods, or its agent; shall furnish the applicant, 
prior to issuance or delivery of the individual long-term care 
insurance policy, a notice regarding replacement of accident 
and sickness or long-term care coverage.  One copy of such 
notice shall be retained by the applicant and an additional 
copy signed by the applicant shall be retained by the insurer. 
The required notice shall be provided in the following 
manner:

NOTICE TO APPLICANT REGARDING 
REPLACEMENT OF INDIVIDUAL

ACCIDENT AND SICKNESS OR LONG-TERM CARE 
INSURANCE

According to [your application] [information you have 
furnished], you intend to lapse or otherwise terminate 
existing accident and sickness or long-term care insurance 
and replace it with an individual long term care insurance 
policy to be issued by [company name] Insurance Company. 
Your new policy provides thirty (30) days within which you 
may decide, without cost, whether you desire to keep the 
policy.  For your own information and protection, you should 
be aware of and seriously consider certain factors which may 
affect the insurance protection available to you under the 
new policy.

You should review this new coverage carefully, 
comparing it with all accident and sickness or long-term care 
insurance coverage you now have, and terminate your 
present policy only if, after due consideration, you find that 
purchase of this long-term care insurance is a wise decision.

STATEMENT TO APPLICANT BY AGENT
[BROKER OR OTHER REPRESENTATIVE]:

(Use additional sheets, as necessary).
I have reviewed your current medical or health 

insurance coverage.  I believe the replacement of insurance 
involved in this transaction materially improves your 
position.  My conclusion has taken into account the 
following considerations, which I call to your attention:

1. Health conditions which you may presently 
have (preexisting conditions), may not be immediately or 
fully covered under the new policy.  This could result in 
denial or delay in payment of benefits under the new policy, 
whereas a similar claim might have been payable under your 
present policy.

2. State law provides that your replacement 
policy or certificate may not contain new pre-existing 
conditions or probationary periods.

3. If you are replacing existing long-term care 
insurance coverage, you may wish to secure the advice of 
your present insurer or its agent regarding the proposed 
replacement of your present policy.  This is not only your 
right, but it is also in your best interest to make sure you 
understand all the relevant factors involved in replacing your 
present coverage.

4. If, after due consideration, you still wish to 
terminate your present policy and replace it with new 
coverage, be certain to truthfully and completely answer all 
questions on the application concerning your medical health 
history.  Failure to include all material medical information 
on an application may provide a basis for the company to 
deny and future claims and to refund your premium as 
though your policy had never been in force.  After the 
application has been completed and before you sign it, 
reread it carefully to be certain that all information has been 
properly recorded.
_______________________________

(Date)
_______________________________

(Agent's Signature) 
The above "Notice to the Applicant" was delivered to me on:
________________________________

(Date)
_________________________

(Applicant's Signature) 

1214.4 Direct Response Solicitations.  Insurers using 
direct response solicitation methods shall deliver a notice 
regarding replacement of accident and sickness or long-term 
care coverage to the applicant upon issuance of the policy. 
The required notice shall be provided in the following 
manner:

NOTICE TO APPLICANT REGARDING 
REPLACEMENT OF INDIVIDUAL

ACCIDENT AND SICKNESS OR LONG-TERM CARE 
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INSURANCE
According to [your application] [information you have 

furnished], you intend to lapse or otherwise terminate 
existing accident and sickness or long-term care insurance 
and replace it with the long-term care insurance policy 
delivered herewith issued by [company name] Insurance 
Company.  Your new policy provides thirty (30) days within 
which you may decide, without cost, whether you desire to 
keep the policy.  For your own information and protection, 
you should be aware of and seriously consider certain factors 
which may affect the insurance protection available to you 
under the new policy.

You should review this new coverage carefully, 
comparing it with all accident and sickness or long-term care 
insurance coverage you now have, and terminate your 
present policy only if, after due consideration, you find that 
purchase of this long-term care coverage is a wise decision.

1. Health conditions which you may presently 
have (preexisting conditions), may not be immediately or 
fully covered under the new policy.  This could result in 
denial or delay in payment of benefits under the new policy, 
whereas a similar claim might have been payable under your 
present policy.

2. State law provides that your replacement 
policy or certificate may not contain new pre-existing 
conditions or probationary periods.  

3. If you are replacing existing long-term care 
insurance coverage, you may wish to secure the advice of 
your present insurer or its agent regarding the proposed 
replacement of your present policy.  This is not only your 
right, but it is also in your best interest to make sure you 
understand all the relevant factors involved in replacing your 
present coverage.

4. [To be included only if the application is 
attached to the policy.]  If, after due consideration, you still 
wish to terminate your present policy and replace it with new 
coverage, read the copy of the application attached to your 
new policy and be sure that all questions are answered fully 
and correctly.  Omissions or misstatements in the application 
could cause an otherwise valid claim to be denied.  Carefully 
check the application and write to [company name and 
address] within (30) thirty days if any information is not 
correct and complete, or if any past medical history has been 
left out of the application.

__________________________
(Company Name)

1214.5 Where replacement is intended, the replacing 
insurer shall notify, in writing, the existing insurer of the 
proposed replacement.  The existing policy shall be 
identified by the name of the insurer, name of the insured 
and policy number or address including zip code.  Such 
notice shall be made within five (5) working days from the 
date the application is received by the insurer or the date the 

policy is issued, whichever is sooner.
14.6 Life Insurance policies that accelerate benefits 

for long-term care shall comply with this section if the policy 
being replaced is a long-term care insurance policy. If the 
policy being replaced is a life insurance policy, the insurer 
shall comply with the replacement requirements of 
Regulation 1204. If a life insurance policy that accelerates 
benefits for long-term care is replaced by another such 
policy, the replacing insurer shall comply with both the long-
term care and the life insurance replacement requirements.

1315.0 Reportinglacement Requirements
1315.1 Every insurer shall maintain records for each 

Delaware-licensed agent of that agent's amount of 
replacement sales as a percentage of the agent's total annual 
sales and the amount of lapses of long-term care insurance 
policies sold by the agent as a percent of the agent's total 
annual sales.

1315.2 Each insurer shall report annually by June 30 
the ten percent (10%) of its Delaware-licensed agents with 
the greatest percentages of lapses and replacements as 
measured by section 1315.1 above.

1315.3 Reported replacement and lapse rates do not 
alone constitute a violation of insurance laws or necessarily 
imply wrongdoing.  The reports are for the purpose of 
reviewing more closely agent activities regarding the sale of 
long-term care insurance.

1315.4 Every entity providing long-term care 
insurance in this state shall file annually as an attachment to 
its annual statement an exhibit that discloses the total 
number of long-term care insurance policies, by form 
number, in force in this state and the total number of 
policies, by form number, that have lapsed over the previous 
five years.  Companies must provide in-force policy and 
lapsed policy information in the following manner:

POLICY FORM # ______

SOLD   LAPSED   LAPSED   LAPSED LAPSED  LAPSED  TOTAL
1985 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989
100 6 21 11 32 14 84

1986 1986 1987 1988 1989
100 6 11 21 32 70

1987 1987 1988 1989
100 6 21 28 50

1988 1988 1989
100 6 14 20

1989 1989
100 6 6

1315.5 Every insurer shall report, annually by June 30 
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the number of replacement policies sold as a percentage of 
its total annual sales and as a percentage of its total number 
of policies in force as of the preceding calendar year.

1315.6 For purposes of this section, "policy" shall 
mean only long-term care insurance and "report" shall mean 
on a statewide basis.

146.0 Licensing
146.1 No agent is authorized to market, sell, solicit or 

otherwise contact any person for the purpose of marketing 
long-term care insurance unless the agent has demonstrated 
his or her knowledge of long-term care insurance and the 
appropriateness of such insurance by passing a test required 
by this state and maintaining appropriate licenses.

146.2 Agents shall comply with the licensing 
provisions contained in 18 Del.C. Ch. 17 and Delaware 
Insurance Department Regulation 504, as the same may be 
amended or supplemented, §§ 1716(a)(4) and 1725(a) 
relating to lines of authority and examinations, respectively. 

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

1517.0 Discretionary Powers of Commissioner
The Commissioner may, upon written request and after 

an administrative hearing, issue an order to modify or 
suspend a specific provision or provisions of this regulation 
with respect to a specific long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate upon a written finding that:

1517.1 The modification or suspension would be in the 
best interest of the insureds; and

1517.2 The purposes to be achieved could not be 
effectively or efficiently achieved without the modification 
or suspension; and

1517.3
1517.3.1 The modification or suspension is 

necessary to the development of an innovative and 
reasonable approach for insuring long-term care; or

1517.3.2 The policy or certificate is to be 
issued to  residents of a life care or continuing care 
retirement community or some other residential community 
for the elderly and the modification or suspension is 
reasonable related to the special needs or nature of such a 
community; or

1517.3.3 The modification or suspension is 
necessary to permit long-term care insurance to be sold as 
part of, or in conjunction with, another insurance product.

1618.0 Reserve Standards
1618.1 When long-term care benefits are provided 

through the acceleration of benefits under group or 
individual life policies or riders to such policies, policy 
reserves for such benefits shall be determined in accordance 
with 18 Del.C. § 1113.  Claim reserves must also be 
established in the case when such policy or rider is in claim 
status. Reserves for policies and riders subject to this 

subsection should be based on the multiple decrement model 
utilizing all relevant decrements except for voluntary 
termination rates.  Single decrement approximations are 
acceptable if the calculation produces essentially similar 
reserves, if the reserve is clearly more conservative, or if the 
reserve is immaterial.  The calculations may take into 
account the reduction in life insurance benefits due to the 
payment of long-term care benefits.  However, in no event 
shall the reserves for the long-term care benefit and the life 
insurance benefit be less than the reserves for the life 
insurance benefit assuming no long-term benefit.  In the 
development and calculation of reserves for policies and 
riders subject to this subsection, due  regard shall be given to 
the applicable policy provisions, marketing methods, 
administrative procedures  and all other considerations 
which have an impact on projected claim costs, including, 
but not limited to, the following:

1618.1.1 Definition of insured events;
1618.1.2 Covered long-term care facilities;
1618.1.3 Existence of home convalescence 

coverage;
1618.1.4 Definition of facilities;
1618.1.5 Existence or absence of barriers to 

eligibility;
1618.1.6 Premium waiver provision;
1618.1.7 Renewability;
1618.1.8 Ability to raise premiums;
1618.1.9 Marketing method;
1618.1.10 Underwriting procedures; 
1618.1.11 Claims adjustment procedures;
1618.1.12 Waiting period;
1618.1.13 Maximum benefit;
1618.1.14 Availability of eligible facilities;
1618.1.15 Margins in claim costs;
1618.1.16 Optional nature of benefit;
1618.1.17 Delay in eligibility for benefit;
1618.1.18 Inflation protection provisions; and
1618.1.19 Guaranteed insurability options.

Any applicable valuation morbidity table shall 
be certified as appropriate as a statutory valuation table by a 
member of the American Academy of Actuaries.

1618.2 When long-term care benefits are provided 
other than as in section 1618.1 above, reserves shall be 
determined in accordance with 18 Del.C. § 1108. 

1719.0 Loss Ratio
1719.1 This section shall apply to all long-term care 

insurance policies or certificates except those covered under 
Sections 10 and 20.

1719.2 Benefits under long-term care insurance 
policies shall be deemed reasonable in relation to premiums 
provided the expected loss ratio is at least sixty percent 
(60%) for individual policies and at least sixty-five percent 
(65%) for group policies, calculated in a manner which 
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provides for adequate reserving of the long-term care 
insurance risk. In evaluating the expected loss ratio, due 
consideration shall be given to all relevant factors, including:

1719.2.1 Statistical credibility of incurred 
claims experience and earned premiums;

1719.2.2 The period for which rates are 
computed to provide coverage;

1719.2.3 Experienced and projected trends;
1719.2.4 Concentration of experience within 

early policy duration;
1719.2.5 Expected claim fluctuation;
1719.2.6 Experience refunds, adjustments or 

dividends;
1719.2.7 Renewability features;
1719.2.8 All appropriate expense factors;
1719.2.9 Interest;
1719.2.10 Experimental nature of the coverage;
1719.2.11 Policy reserves;
1719.2.12 Mix of business by risk classification; 

and
1719.2.13 Product features such as long 

elimination periods, high deductibles and high maximum 
limits.

1719.3 Section 19.2 shall not apply to life insurance 
policies that accelerate benefits for long-term care. A life 
insurance policy that funds long-term care benefits entirely 
by accelerating the death benefit is considered to provide 
reasonable benefits in relation to premiums paid, if the 
policy complies with all of the following provisions:

1719.3.1 The interest credited internally to 
determine cash value accumulations, including long-term 
care, if any, are guaranteed not to be less than the minimum 
guaranteed interest rate for cash value accumulations 
without long-term care set forth in the policy;

1719.3.2 The portion of the policy that provides 
life insurance benefits meets the nonforfeiture requirements 
of 18 Del. C. § 2929;

1719.3.3 The policy meets the disclosure 
requirements of 18 Del. C. § 7105;

1719.3.4 Any policy illustration that meets the 
applicable requirements of the Delaware Insurance 
Department Regulation 1210; and

1719.3.5 An actuarial memorandum is filed 
with the insurance department that includes:

1719.3.5.1 A description of the basis on 
which the long-term care rates were determined;

1719.3.5.2 A description of the basis for the 
reserves;

1719.3.5.3 A summary of the type of policy, 
benefits, renewability, general marketing method, and limits 
on ages of issuance;

1719.3.5.4 A description and a table of each 
actuarial assumption used. For expenses, an insurer must 
include percent of premium dollars per policy and dollars per 

unit of benefits, if any;
1719.3.5.5 A description and a table of the 

anticipated policy reserves and additional reserves to be held 
in each future year for active lives;

1719.3.5.6 The estimated average annual 
premium per policy and the average issue age;

1719.3.5.7 A statement as to whether 
underwriting is performed at the time of application. The 
statement shall indicate whether underwriting is used and, if 
used, the statement shall include a description of the type or 
types of underwriting used, such as medical underwriting or 
functional assessment underwriting. Concerning a group 
policy, the statement shall indicate whether the enrollee or 
any dependent will be underwritten and when underwriting 
occurs; and

1719.3.5.8 A description of the effect of the long-
term care policy provision on the required premiums, 
nonforfeiture values and reserves on the underlying life 
insurance policy, both for active lives and those in long-term 
care claim status.

17.1 Benefits under individual long-term care 
insurance policies and group policies with fewer than 250 
insureds shall be deemed reasonable in relation to premiums 
provided the expected loss ratio is at least sixty percent, 
calculated in a manner which provides for adequate 
reserving of the long-term care insurance risk.  Long-term 
care benefits provided through the acceleration of the death 
benefit under a life insurance policy or annuity, where the 
charge or the premium for the acceleration benefit is 
identifiable and where the payment of such long-term care 
benefits cannot result in the decrease of the total amount of 
benefits payable under the policy (i.e., long-term care 
benefits plus balance payable upon death), shall be exempt 
from this section.  In evaluating the expected loss ratio, due 
consideration shall be given to all relevant factors, including:

17.1.1 Statistical credibility of incurred claims 
experience and earned premiums;

17.1.2 The period for which rates are computed 
to provide coverage;

17.1.3 Experienced and projected trends;
17.1.4 Concentration of experience within early 

policy duration;
17.1.5 Expected claim fluctuation;
17.1.6 Experience refunds, adjustments or 

dividends;
17.1.7 Renewability features;
17.1.8 All appropriate expense factors;
17.1.9 Interest;
17.1.10 Experimental nature of this coverage;
17.1.11 Policy reserves;
17.1.12 Mix of business by risk classification; and
17.1.13 Product features such as long elimination 

periods, high deductibles and high maximum limits.
17.2 Every entity providing long-term care 
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insurance in this State shall file annually its rates, rating 
schedule and supporting documentation including ratios of 
incurred losses to earned premiums by number of years of 
policy duration demonstrating that it is in compliance with 
the foregoing applicable loss ratio standards and that the 
period for which the policy is rated is reasonable in 
accordance with accepted actuarial principles and 
experience.

For purposes of this section, policy forms shall be 
deemed to comply the loss ratio standards if:

17.2.1f or the most recent year, the ratio of the 
incurred losses to earned premiums for policies or 
certificates which have been in force for three years or more 
is greater that or equal to the applicable percentages 
contained in this section; and

17.2.2 the expected losses in relation to 
premiums over the entire period for which the policy is rated 
comply with the requirements of this section.  An expected 
third-year loss ratio which is greater than or equal to the 
applicable percentage shall be demonstrated for policies or 
certificates in force less than three years.

20.0 Premium Rate Schedule Increases
20.1 This section shall apply as follows:

20.1.1 Except as provided in section 20.1.2, this 
section applies to any long-term care policy or certificate 
issued in this state on or after September 1, 2005.

20.1.2 For certificates issued on or after the 
effective date of this amended regulation under a group long-
term care insurance policy as defined in Section 18 Del. C. § 
7103(4), which policy was in force at the time this amended 
regulation became effective, the provisions of this section 
shall apply on the policy anniversary following January 1, 
2006.

20.2 An insurer shall provide notice of a pending 
premium rate schedule increase, including an exceptional 
increase, to the commissioner at least 30 days prior to the 
notice to the policyholders and shall include:

20.2.1 Information required by section 8;
20.2.2  Certification by a qualified actuary that:

20.2.2.1 If the requested premium rate 
schedule increase is implemented and the underlying 
assumptions, which reflect moderately adverse conditions, 
are realized, no further premium rate schedule increases are 
anticipated;

20.2.2.2 The premium rate filing is in 
compliance with the provisions of this section;

20.2.3 An actuarial memorandum justifying the 
rate schedule change request that includes:

20.2.3.1 Lifetime projections of earned 
premiums and incurred claims based on the filed premium 
rate schedule increase; and the method and assumptions used 
in determining the projected values, including reflection of 
any assumptions that deviate from those used for pricing 

other forms currently available for sale; 
20.2.3.1.1 Annual values for the five 

(5) years preceding and the three (3) years following the 
valuation date shall be provided separately; 

20.2.3.1.2 The projections shall include 
the development of the lifetime loss ratio, unless the rate 
increase is an exceptional increase;

20.2.3.1.3 The projections shall 
demonstrate compliance with section 20.3; and

20.2.3.1.4 For exceptional increases, 
20.2.3.1.4.1 The projected 

experience should be limited to the increases in claims 
expenses attributable to the approved reasons for the 
exceptional increase; and

20.2.3.1.4.2 In the event the 
commissioner determines as provided in section 4.1.4 that 
offsets may exist, the insurer shall use appropriate net 
projected experience;

20.2.3.2 Disclosure of how reserves have been 
incorporated in this rate increase whenever the rate increase 
will trigger contingent benefit upon lapse;

20.2.3.3 Disclosure of the analysis performed 
to determine why a rate adjustment is necessary, which 
pricing assumptions were not realized and why, and what 
other actions taken by the company have been relied on by 
the actuary;

20.2.3.4 A statement that policy design, 
underwriting and claims adjudication practices have been 
taken into consideration; and

20.2.3.5 In the event that it is necessary to 
maintain consistent premium rates for new certificates and 
certificates receiving a rate increase, the insurer will need to 
file composite rates reflecting projections of new 
certificates;

20.2.4 A statement that renewal premium rate 
schedules are not greater than new business premium rate 
schedules except for differences attributable to benefits, 
unless sufficient justification is provided to the 
commissioner; and

20.2.5 Sufficient information for review of the 
premium rate schedule increase by the commissioner.

20.3 All premium rate schedule increases shall be 
determined in accordance with the following requirements:

20.3.1 Exceptional increases shall provide that 
seventy percent (70%) of the present value of projected 
additional premiums from the exceptional increase will be 
returned to policyholders in benefits;

20.3.2 Premium rate schedule increases shall be 
calculated such that the sum of the accumulated value of 
incurred claims, without the inclusion of active life reserves, 
and the present value of future projected incurred claims, 
without the inclusion of active life reserves, will not be less 
than the sum of the following:

20.3.2.1 The accumulated value of the initial 
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earned premium times fifty-eight percent (58%);
20.3.2.2 Eighty-five percent (85%) of the 

accumulated value of prior premium rate schedule increases 
on an earned basis;

20.3.2.3 The present value of future projected 
initial earned premiums times fifty-eight percent (58%); and

20.3.2.4 Eighty-five percent (85%) of the 
present value of future projected premiums not in section 
20.3.2.3 on an earned basis;

20.3.3 In the event that a policy form has both 
exceptional and other increases, the values in section 
20.3.2.2 and 20.3.2.4 will also include seventy percent 
(70%) for exceptional rate increase amounts; and

20.3.4 All present and accumulated values used 
to determine rate increases shall use the maximum valuation 
interest rate for contract reserves as specified by applicable 
Delaware law or regulation.  The actuary shall disclose as 
part of the actuarial memorandum the use of any appropriate 
averages.

20.4 For each rate increase that is implemented, the 
insurer shall file for review by the commissioner updated 
projections, as defined in section 20.2.3.1, annually for the 
next three (3) years and include a comparison of actual 
results to projected values. The commissioner may extend 
the period to greater than three (3) years if actual results are 
not consistent with projected values from prior projections. 
For group insurance policies that meet the conditions in 
section 20.11, the projections required by this subsection 
shall be provided to the policyholder in lieu of filing with the 
commissioner.

20.5 If any premium rate in the revised premium 
rate schedule is greater than 200 percent of the comparable 
rate in the initial premium schedule, lifetime projections, as 
defined in section 20.2.3.1, shall be filed for review 
[approval] by the commissioner every five (5) years 
following the end of the required period in section 20.4. For 
group insurance policies that meet the conditions in section 
20.11, the projections required by this subsection shall be 
provided to the policyholder in lieu of filing with the 
commissioner.

20.6 Actual v. projected experience.
20.6.1 If the commissioner has determined that 

the actual experience following a rate increase does not 
adequately match the projected experience and that the 
current projections under moderately adverse conditions 
demonstrate that incurred claims will not exceed proportions 
of premiums specified in section 20.3, the commissioner 
may require the insurer to implement any of the following:

20.6.1.1 Premium rate schedule adjustments; 
or 20.6.1.2 Other measures to reduce the 
difference between the projected and actual experience. 

20.6.2 In determining whether the actual 
experience adequately matches the projected experience, 
consideration should be given to section 20.2.3.5, if 

applicable.
20.7 If the majority of the policies or certificates to 

which the increase is applicable are eligible for the 
contingent benefit upon lapse, the insurer shall file:

20.7.1 A plan, subject to commissioner approval, 
for improved administration or claims processing designed 
to eliminate the potential for further deterioration of the 
policy form requiring further premium rate schedule 
increases, or both, or to demonstrate that appropriate 
administration and claims processing have been 
implemented or are in effect; otherwise the commissioner 
may impose the condition in section 20.8; and

20.7.2 The original anticipated lifetime loss ratio, 
and the premium rate schedule increase that would have 
been calculated according to section 20.3 had the greater of 
the original anticipated lifetime loss ratio or fifty-eight 
percent (58%) been used in the calculations described in 
section 20.3.2.1 and 20.3.2.3.

20.8 Lapse rate review.
20.8.1 For a rate increase filing that meets the 

following criteria, the commissioner shall review, for all 
policies included in the filing, the projected lapse rates and 
past lapse rates during the twelve (12) months following 
each increase to determine if significant adverse lapsation 
has occurred or is anticipated: 

20.8.1.1 The rate increase is not the first rate 
increase requested for the specific policy form or forms;

20.8.1.2 The rate increase is not an exceptional 
increase; and 

20.8.1.3 The majority of the policies or 
certificates to which the increase is applicable are eligible for 
the contingent benefit upon lapse

20.8.2 In the event significant adverse lapsation 
has occurred, is anticipated in the filing or is evidenced in 
the actual results as presented in the updated projections 
provided by the insurer following the requested rate 
increase, the commissioner may determine that a rate spiral 
exists. Following the determination that a rate spiral exists, 
the commissioner may require the insurer to offer, without 
underwriting, to all in force insureds subject to the rate 
increase the option to replace existing coverage with one or 
more reasonably comparable products being offered by the 
insurer or its affiliates.

20.8.2.1 The offer shall:
20.8.2.1.1 Be subject to the approval of 

the commissioner;
20.8.2.1.2 Be based on actuarially 

sound principles, but not be based on attained age; and
20.8.2.1.3 Provide that maximum 

benefits under any new policy accepted by an insured shall 
be reduced by comparable benefits already paid under the 
existing policy.

20.8.2.2 The insurer shall maintain the 
experience of all the replacement insureds separate from the 
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experience of insureds originally issued the policy forms. In 
the event of a request for a rate increase on the policy form, 
the rate increase shall be limited to the lesser of: 

20.8.2.2.1 The maximum rate increase 
determined based on the combined experience; and

20.8.2.2.2 The maximum rate increase 
determined based only on the experience of the insureds 
originally issued the form plus ten percent (10%).

20.9 If the commissioner determines that the insurer 
has exhibited a persistent practice of filing inadequate initial 
premium rates for long-term care insurance, the 
commissioner may, in addition to the provisions of section 
20.8 of this section, prohibit the insurer from either of the 
following:

20.9.1 Filing and marketing comparable coverage 
for a period of up to five (5) years; or

20.9.2 Offering all other similar coverages and 
limiting marketing of new applications to the products 
subject to recent premium rate schedule increases.

20.10 Sections 20.1 through 20.9 shall not apply to 
policies for which the long-term care benefits provided by 
the policy are incidental, as defined in section 4.2, if the 
policy complies with all of the following provisions:

20.10.1 The interest credited internally to 
determine cash value accumulations, including long-term 
care, if any, are guaranteed not to be less than the minimum 
guaranteed interest rate for cash value accumulations 
without long-term care set forth in the policy;

20.10.2 The portion of the policy that provides 
insurance benefits other than long-term care coverage meets 
the nonforfeiture requirements as set forth by law or 
regulation including but not limited to the following:

20.10.2.1 18 Del.C. §2929; and
20.10.2.2 Delaware Insurance Department 

Regulation 1201;
20.10.3 The policy meets the disclosure 

requirements of 18 Del. C. §§ 7105 and 7106;
20.10.4 The portion of the policy that provides 

insurance benefits other than long-term care coverage meets 
the requirements as set forth by law or regulation including 
but not limited to the following:

20.10.4.1 Policy illustrations as required by 
Delaware Insurance Department Regulation 1210; and

20.10.4.2 Disclosure requirements in 
Delaware Insurance Department Regulation 1201.

20.10.5 An actuarial memorandum is filed with the 
insurance department that includes:

20.10.5.1 A description of the basis on 
which the long-term care rates were determined;

20.10.5.2 A description of the basis for the 
reserves;

20.10.5.3 A summary of the type of policy, 
benefits, renewability, general marketing method, and limits 
on ages of issuance;

20.10.5.4 A description and a table of each 
actuarial assumption used. For expenses, an insurer must 
include percent of premium dollars per policy and dollars per 
unit of benefits, if any;

20.10.5.5 A description and a table of the 
anticipated policy reserves and additional reserves to be held 
in each future year for active lives;

20.10.5.6 The estimated average annual 
premium per policy and the average issue age;

20.10.5.7 A statement as to whether 
underwriting is performed at the time of application. The 
statement shall indicate whether underwriting is used and, if 
used, the statement shall include a description of the type or 
types of underwriting used, such as medical underwriting or 
functional assessment underwriting. Concerning a group 
policy, the statement shall indicate whether the enrollee or 
any dependent will be underwritten and when underwriting 
occurs; and

20.10.5.8 A description of the effect of the 
long-term care policy provision on the required premiums, 
nonforfeiture values and reserves on the underlying 
insurance policy, both for active lives and those in long-term 
care claim status.

20.11 Sections 20.6 and 20.8 shall not apply to group 
insurance policies as defined in 18 Del. C. § 7103(4) where:

20.11.1 The policies insure 250 or more persons 
and the policyholder has 5,000 or more eligible employees 
of a single employer; or

20.11.2 The policyholder, and not the 
certificateholders, pays a material portion of the premium, 
which shall not be less than twenty percent (20%) of the total 
premium for the group in the calendar year prior to the year a 
rate increase is filed. 

1821.0 Filing Requirement
Prior to an insurer or similar organization offering group 

long-term care insurance to a resident of this state pursuant 
to 18 Del.C. §7104 it shall file with the Commissioner 
evidence that the group policy or certificate thereunder has 
been approved by a state having statutory or regulatory long-
term care insurance requirements substantially similar to 
those adopted in this state.

1922.0 Standard Format Outline of Coverage
This section of the regulation implements, interprets and 

makes specific, the provisions of 18 Del.C. Section 7105, in 
prescribing a standard format and the content of an outline of 
coverage.

1922.1 The outline of coverage shall be a free-standing 
document, using no smaller than ten point type.

1922.2 The outline of coverage shall contain no 
material of an advertising nature.

1922.3 Text which is capitalized or underscored in the 
standard format outline of coverage may be emphasized by 
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other means which provide prominence equivalent to such 
capitalization or underscoring.

1922.4 Use of the text and sequence of text of the 
standard format outline of coverage is mandatory, unless 
otherwise specifically indicated.

1922.5 Format for outline of coverage;: 
[COMPANY NAME]

[ADDRESS - CITY & STATE]
[TELEPHONE NUMBER]

LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE
OUTLINE OF COVERAGE

[Policy Number or Group Master Policy and Certificate 
Number]

[Except for polices or certificates which are guaranteed 
issue, the following cautionary statement, or language 
substantially similar, must appear as follows in the  on the
outline of coverage.]

Caution:  The issuance of this long-term care insurance 
[policy] [certificate] is based upon your responses to the 
questions on your application.  A copy of your [application] 
[enrollment form] [is enclosed] [was retained by you when 
your applied].  If your answers are incorrect or untrue, the 
company has the right to deny benefits or rescind your 
policy.  The best time to clear up any questions is now, 
before a claim arises!  If, for any reason, any of your answers 
are incorrect, contact the company at this address: [insert 
address].

1. This policy is [an individual policy of 
insurance] ([a group policy] which was issued in the 
[indicate jurisdiction in which group policy was issued]).

2. Purpose Of Outline Of Coverage.  This outline 
of coverage provides a very brief description of the 
important features of the policy.  You should compare this 
outline of coverage to outlines of coverage for other policies 
available to you.  This is not an insurance contract, but only a 
summary of coverage.  Only the individual or group policy 
contains governing contractual provisions.  This means that 
the policy or group policy sets forth in detail the rights and 
obligations of both you and the insurance company. 
Therefore, if you purchase this coverage, or any other 
coverage, it is important that you READ YOUR POLICY 
(OR CERTIFICATE) CAREFULLY!

3. FEDERAL TAX CONSEQUENCES. 
This [POLICY] [CERTIFICATE] is intended to be a 
federally tax-qualified long-term care insurance contract 
under Section 7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986, as amended.

OR
Federal Tax Implications of this [POLICY] 
[CERTIFICATE]. This [POLICY] [CERTIFICATE] is not 
intended to be a federally tax-qualified long-term care 
insurance contract under Section 7702B(b) of the Internal 

Revenue Code of 1986 as amended. Benefits received under 
the [POLICY] [CERTIFICATE] may be taxable as income.

4. TERMS UNDER WHICH THE POLICY OR 
CERTIFICATE MAY BE CONTINUED IN FORCE OR 
DISCONTINUED.

(a) [For long-term care health insurance 
policies or certificates describe one of the following 
permissible policy renewability provisions:

(1) Policies and certificates that are 
guaranteed renewable shall contain the following statement:] 
RENEWABILITY: THIS POLICY [CERTIFICATE] IS 
GUARANTEED RENEWABLE. This means you have the 
right, subject to the terms of your policy, [certificate] to 
continue this policy as long as you pay your premiums on 
time. [Company Name] cannot change any of the terms of 
your policy on its own, except that, in the future, IT MAY 
INCREASE THE PREMIUM YOU PAY.

(2) [Policies and certificates that are 
noncancellable shall contain the following statement:] 
RENEWABILITY: THIS POLICY [CERTIFICATE] IS 
NONCANCELLABLE. This means that you have the right, 
subject to the terms of your policy, to continue this policy as 
long as you pay your premiums on time. [Company Name] 
cannot change any of the terms of your policy on its own and 
cannot change the premium you currently pay. However, if 
your policy contains an inflation protection feature where 
you choose to increase your benefits, [Company Name] may 
increase your premium at that time for those additional 
benefits.

(b) [For group coverage, specifically describe 
continuation/conversion provisions applicable to the 
certificate and group policy;]

(c) [Describe waiver of premium provisions 
or state that there are not such provisions.]

5. TERMS UNDER WHICH THE COMPANY 
MAY CHANGE PREMIUMS.
[In bold type larger than the maximum type required to be 
used for the other provisions of the outline of coverage, state 
whether or not the company has a right to change the 
premium, and if a right exists, describe clearly and concisely 
each circumstance under which the premium may change.]

6. TERMS UNDER WHICH THE POLICY OR 
CERTIFICATE MAY BE RETURNED AND PREMIUM 
REFUNDED.

(a) [Provide a brief description of the right to 
return–“free look” provision of the policy.]

(b) [Include a statement that the policy either 
does or does not contain provisions providing for a refund or 
partial refund of premium upon the death of an insured or 
surrender of the policy or certificate. If the policy contains 
such provisions, include a description of them.]

7. THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT 
COVERAGE. If you are eligible for Medicare, review the 
Medicare Supplement Buyer’s Guide available from the 
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insurance company.
(a) [For agents] Neither [insert company 

name] nor its agents represent Medicare, the federal 
government or any state government.

(b) [For direct response] [insert company 
name] is not representing Medicare, the federal government 
or any state government.

8. LONG-TERM CARE COVERAGE. Policies 
of this category are designed to provide coverage for one or 
more necessary or medically necessary diagnostic, 
preventive, therapeutic, rehabilitative, maintenance, or 
personal care services, provided in a setting other than an 
acute care unit of a hospital, such as in a nursing home, in the 
community or in the home.  This policy provides coverage in 
the form of a fixed dollar indemnity benefit for covered 
long-term care expenses, subject to policy [limitations] 
[waiting periods] and [coinsurance] requirements. [Modify 
this paragraph if the policy is not an indemnity policy.]

9. BENEFITS PROVIDED BY THIS POLICY.
(a) [Covered services, related deductibles, 

waiting periods, elimination periods and benefit maximums.]
(b) [Institutional benefits, by skill level.]
(c) [Non-institutional benefits, by skill level.]
(d) Eligibility for Payment of Benefits

[Activities of daily living and cognitive 
impairment shall be used to measure an insured’s need for 
long-term care and must be defined and described as part of 
the outline of coverage.] [Any additional benefit triggers 
must also be explained. If these triggers differ for different 
benefits, explanation of the triggers should accompany each 
benefit description. If an attending physician or other 
specified person must certify a certain level of functional 
dependency in order to be eligible for benefits, this too must 
be specified.]

10. LIMITATIONS AND EXCLUSIONS.
[Describe:
(a) Preexisting conditions;
(b) Non-eligible facilities and provider;
(c) Non-eligible levels of care (e.g., 

unlicensed providers, care or treatment provided by a family 
member, etc.);

(d) Exclusions and exceptions;
(e) Limitations.]
[This section should provide a brief specific 

description of any policy provisions which limit, exclude, 
restrict, reduce, delay, or in any other manner operate to 
qualify payment of the benefits described in Number 6 
above.]

THIS POLICY MAY NOT COVER ALL THE EXPENSES 
ASSOCIATED WITH YOUR LONG-TERM CARE 
NEEDS.

11. RELATIONSHIP OF COST OF CARE AND 
BENEFITS. Because the costs of long-term care services 

will likely increase over time, you should consider whether 
and how the benefits of this plan may be adjusted. [As 
applicable, indicate the following:

(a) That the benefit level will not increase 
over time;

(b) Any automatic benefit adjustment 
provisions;

(c) Whether the insured will be guaranteed the 
option to buy additional benefits and the basis upon which 
benefits will be increased over time if not by a specified 
amount or percentage;

(d) If there is such a guarantee, include 
whether additional underwriting or health screening will be 
required, the frequency and amounts of the upgrade options, 
and any significant restrictions or limitations;

(e) And finally, describe whether there will be 
any additional premium charge imposed, and how that is to 
be calculated.]

12. ALZHEIMER’S DISEASE AND OTHER 
ORGANIC BRAIN DISORDERS.  [State that the policy 
provides coverage for insureds clinically diagnosed as 
having Alzheimer’s disease or related degenerative and 
dementing illnesses. Specifically describe each benefit 
screen or other policy provision which provides 
preconditions to the availability of policy benefits for such 
an insured.] 

13. PREMIUM.
[(a) State the total annual premium for the 

policy;
(b) If the premium varies with an applicant’s 

choice among benefit options, indicate the portion of annual 
premium which corresponds to each benefit option.]

14. ADDITIONAL FEATURES.
[(a) Indicate if medical underwriting is used;
(b) Describe other important features.]

15. CONTACT THE STATE SENIOR HEALTH 
INSURANCE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM IF YOU HAVE 
GENERAL QUESTIONS REGARDING LONG-TERM 
CARE INSURANCE. CONTACT THE INSURANCE 
COMPANY IF YOU HAVE SPECIFIC QUESTIONS 
REGARDING YOUR LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE 
POLICY OR CERTIFICATE.

19.5.3 TERMS UNDER WHICH THE POLICY 
OR CERTIFICATE MAY BE RETURNED AND 
PREMIUM REFUNDED.

19.5.3.1[Provide a brief description of the right 
to return--"free look" provision of the policy.]

19.5.3.2[Include a statement that the policy 
either does or does not contain provisions providing for a 
refund or partial refund of premium upon the death of an 
insured or surrender of the policy or certificate.  If the policy 
contains such provisions, include a description of them.] 

19.5.4 THIS IS NOT MEDICARE 
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SUPPLEMENT COVERAGE.  If you are eligible for 
Medicare, review the Medicare Supplement Buyer's Guide 
provided by the insurance company.

19.5.4.1[For agents] Neither [insert company 
name] nor its agents represent Medicare, the federal 
government or any state government. 

19.5.4.2[For direct response] [insert company 
name] is not representing Medicare, the federal government 
or any state government. 

19.5.5 LONG-TERM CARE COVERAGE. 
Policies of this category are designed to provide coverage for 
one or more necessary or  medically necessary diagnostic, 
preventive, therapeutic, rehabilitative, maintenance, or 
personal care services, provided in a setting other than an 
acute care unit of a hospital, such as in a nursing home, in the 
community or in the home.

This policy provides coverage in the form of a 
fixed dollar indemnity benefit for covered long-term care 
expenses, subject to policy [limitations] [waiting periods] 
and [coinsurance] requirements.  [Modify this paragraph if 
the policy is not an indemnity policy.]

19.5.6 BENEFITS PROVIDED BY THIS 
POLICY.

19.5.6.1[Covered services, related 
deductible(s), waiting periods, elimination periods and 
benefit maximums.]

19.5.6.2[Institutional benefits, by skill level.]
19.5.6.3[Non-institutional benefits, by skill 

level.]
[Any benefit triggers must be explained in 

this section.  If these triggers differ for different benefits, 
explanation of the screen trigger should accompany each 
benefit description.  If an attending physician or other 
specified person must certify a certain level of functional 
dependency in order to be eligible for benefits, this too must 
be specified.  If activities of daily living (ADLs) are used to 
measure an insured's need for long-term care, then these 
qualifying criteria or triggers must be explained.]

19.5.6.4Activities of daily living and cognitive 
impairment shall be used to measure an insured’s need for 
long-term care and must be defined and described as part of 
the outline of coverage.

19.5.7LIMITATIONS AND EXCLUSIONS.
19.5.7.1Describe:

19.5.7.1.1Preexisting conditions;
19.5.7.1.2Non-eligible facilities/provider;
19.5.7.1.3Non-eligible levels of care (e.g., 

unlicensed providers, care of treatment provided by a family 
member, etc.);

19.5.7.1.4Exclusions/exceptions; 
19.5.7.1.5Limitations.

This section should provide a brief 
specific description of any policy provisions which limit, 
exclude, restrict, reduce, delay, or in any other manner 

operate to qualify payment of the benefits described in 
section 19.5.6 above.

THIS POLICY MAY NOT COVER 
ALL THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH YOUR 
LONG-TERM CARE NEEDS.

19.5.8RELATIONSHIP OF COST OF CARE AND 
BENEFITS.  Because the costs of long-term care services 
will likely increase over time, you should consider whether 
and how the benefits of this plan may be adjusted.  As 
applicable, indicate the following:

19.5.8.1That the benefit level will not increase 
over time;

19.5.8.2Any automatic benefit adjustment 
provisions;

19.5.8.3Whether the insured will be guaranteed 
the option to buy additional benefits and the basis upon 
which benefits will be increased over time if not only by a 
specified amount or percentage;

19.5.8.4If there is such a guarantee, include 
whether additional underwriting or health screening will be 
required, the frequency and amounts of the upgrade options, 
and any significant restrictions or limitations;

19.5.8.5And finally, describe whether there 
will be any additional premium charge imposed, and how 
that is to be calculated.

19.5.9TERMS UNDER WHICH THE POLICY 
(OR CERTIFICATE) MAY BE CONTINUED IN FORCE 
OR DISCONTINUED.

19.5.9.1Describe the policy renewability 
provisions;

19.5.9.2For group coverage, specifically 
describe continuation/conversion provisions applicable to 
the certificate and group policy;

19.5.9.3Describe waiver of premium 
provisions or state that there are not such provisions;

19.5.9.4State whether or not the company has a 
right to change premium, and if such a right exists, describe 
clearly and concisely each circumstance under which 
premium may change.

19.5.10ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE AND OTHER 
ORGANIC BRAIN DISORDERS.

State that the policy provides coverage for 
insureds clinically diagnosed as having Alzheimer's disease 
or related degenerative and dementing illnesses. 
Specifically describe each benefit screen or other policy 
provision which provides preconditions to the availability of 
policy benefits for such an insured.

19.5.11PREMIUM.
19.5.11.1State the total annual premium for the 

policy;
19.5.11.2If the premium varies with an 

applicant's choice among benefit options, indicate the 
portion of annual premium that corresponds to each benefit 
option.
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19.5.12ADDITIONAL FEATURES.
19.5.12.1Indicate if medical underwriting is 

used;
19.5.12.2Describe other important features. 

[COMPANY NAME]
[ADDRESS - CITY & STATE]
[TELEPHONE NUMBER]

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

203.0 Filing Requirements for Advertising
203.1 Prior to use, every insurer, health care service 

plan or other entity providing long-term care insurance in 
this State shall provide a copy of any long-term care 
insurance advertisement intended for use in this State 
whether through written, radio or television medium to the 
Insurance Commissioner of the State Delaware for review 
and approval by the Commissioner.

2124.0 Standards for Marketing
2124.1 Every insurer, health care service plan or other 

entity marketing long-term care insurance coverage in this 
state, directly or through its producers, shall:

2124.1.1 Establish marketing procedures to 
assure that any comparison of policies by its agents or other 
producers will be fair and accurate.

2124.1.2 Establish marketing procedures to 
assure excessive insurance is not sold or issued.

2124.1.3 Display prominently by type, stamp 
or other appropriate means, on the first page of the outline of 
coverage and policy, the following:  "Notice to Buyer: This 
policy may not cover all of the costs associated with long-
term care incurred by the buyer during the period of 
coverage.  The buyer is advised to review carefully all policy 
limitations."

2124.1.4 Inquire and otherwise make every 
reasonable effort to identify whether a prospective applicant 
or enrollee for long-term care insurance already has accident 
and sickness or long-term care insurance and the types and 
amounts of any such insurance.

2124.1.5 Every insurer or entity marketing 
long-term care insurance shall establish auditable procedures 
for verifying compliance with this section 2124.0.

2124.1.6 If the state of Delaware is the state in 
which the policy or certificate is delivered or issued for 
delivery, the insurer shall, at solicitation, provide written 
notice to the prospective policyholder or certificate holder 
that the Elderinfo Program, a senior counseling program 
approved by the Commissioner, is available and the name, 
address and telephone number of the Elderinfo Program.

2124.2 In addition to the practices prohibited in 18 
Del.C. Ch. 23, Unfair Trade Practices, the following acts and 
practices are prohibited:

2124.2.1 Twisting.  Knowingly making any 

misleading representation or incomplete or fraudulent 
comparison of any insurance policies or insurers for the 
purpose of inducing, or tending to induce, any person to 
lapse, forfeit, surrender, terminate, retain, pledge, assign, 
borrow on or convert any insurance policy or to take out a 
policy of insurance with another insurer.

2124.2.2 High Pressure Tactics.  Employing 
any method of marketing having the effect of or tending to 
induce the purchase of insurance through force, fright, 
threat, whether explicit or implied, or undue pressure to 
purchase or recommend the purchase of insurance.

2124.2.3 Cold lead advertising.  Making use 
directly or  indirectly of any method of marketing which fails 
to disclose in a conspicuous manner that a purpose of the 
method of marketing is solicitation of insurance and that 
contact will be made by an insurance agent or insurance 
company.

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

2225.0 Suitability
2225.1 This section shall not apply to life insurance 

policies that accelerate benefits for long-term care.
2225.2 Every insurer, health care service plan or other 

entity marketing long-term care insurance (“insurer”) shall:
2225.2.1 Develop and use suitability standards 

to determine whether the purchase or replacement of long-
term care insurance is appropriate for the needs of the 
applicant; 

2225.2.2 Train its agents in the use of its 
suitability standards; and

2225.2.3 Maintain a copy of its suitability 
standards and make them available for inspection upon 
request by the Commissioner.

2225.3 Procedures required.
2225.3.1 To determine whether the applicant 

meets the standards developed by the insurer, the agent and 
insurer shall develop procedures that take the following into 
consideration:

2225.3.1.1 The ability to pay for the 
proposed coverage and other pertinent financial information 
related to the purchase of the coverage;

2225.3.1.2 The applicant’s goals or needs 
with respect to long-term care and the advantages and 
disadvantages of insurance to meet these goals or needs; and

2225.3.1.3 The values, benefits and costs of 
the applicant’s existing insurance, if any, when compared to 
the values, benefits and costs of the recommended purchase 
or replacement.

2225.3.2 The insurer, and where an agent is 
involved, the agent shall make reasonable efforts to obtain 
the information set out in section 2225.3.1 above.  The 
efforts shall include presentation to the applicant, at or prior 
to application, the “Long-Term Care Insurance Personal 
Worksheet.”  The personal worksheet used by the issuer shall 
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contain, at a minimum, the information in the format 
contained in Appendix B, in not less than twelve (12) point 
type.  The insurer may request the applicant to provide 
additional information to comply with its suitability 
standards.  A copy of the insurer’s personal worksheet shall 
be filed with the Commissioner.

2225.3.3 A completed personal worksheet shall 
be returned to the insurer prior to the insurer’s consideration 
of the applicant for coverage, except the personal worksheet 
need not be returned for sales of employer group long-term 
care insurance to employees and their spouses.

2225.3.4 The sale or dissemination outside the 
company or agency by the issuer or agent of information 
obtained through the personal worksheet in Appendix B is 
prohibited.

2225.4 The insurer shall use the suitability standards it 
has developed pursuant to this section in determining 
whether issuing long-term care insurance coverage to an 
applicant is appropriate.

2225.5 Agents shall use the suitability standards 
developed by the insurer in marketing long-term care 
insurance.

2225.6 At the same time as the personal worksheet is 
provided to the applicant, the disclosure form entitled 
“Things You Should Know Before You Buy Long-Term 
Care Insurance” shall be provided.  The form shall be in the 
format contained in Appendix C, in not less than twelve (12) 
point type.

2225.7 If the issuer determines that the applicant does 
not meet its financial suitability standards, or if the applicant 
has declined to provide the information, the issuer may reject 
the application.  In the alternative, the issuer shall send the 
applicant a letter similar to Appendix D.  However, if the 
applicant has declined to provide financial information, the 
issuer may use some other method to verify the applicant’s 
intent.  Either the applicant’s returned letter or a record of the 
alternative method of verification shall be made part of the 
applicant’s file.

2225.8 The insurer shall report annually to the 
Commissioner the total number of applications received 
from residents of this state, the number of those who 
declined to provide information on the personal worksheet, 
the number of applicants who did not meet the suitability 
standards, and the number of those who chose to confirm 
after receiving a suitability letter.

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

2326.0 Standards for Benefit Triggers
2326.1 A long-term care insurance policy shall 

condition the payment of benefits on a determination of the 
insured’s ability to perform activities of daily living and on 
cognitive impairment.  Eligibility for the payment of benefits 
shall not be more restrictive than requiring either a 
deficiency in the ability to perform not more than three (3) of 

the activities of daily living or the presence of cognitive 
impairment. 

2326.2 Activities of Daily Living
2326.2.1 Activities of daily living shall include 

at least the following as defined in section 5.0 and in the 
policy:

2326.2.1.1 Bathing;
2326.2.1.2 Continence;
2326.2.1.3 Dressing;
2326.2.1.4 Eating;
2326.2.1.5 Toileting; and
2326.2.1.6 Transferring;

2326.2.2 Insurers may use activities of daily 
living to trigger covered benefits in addition to those 
contained in section 2326.2.1 as long as they are defined in 
the policy.

2326.3 An insurer may use additional provisions for 
the determination of when benefits are payable under a 
policy or certificate; however the provisions shall not 
restrict, and are not in lieu of, the requirements contained in 
sections 2326.1 and 2326.2.

2326.4 For purposes of this section the determination 
of a deficiency shall not be more restrictive than: 

2326.4.1 Requiring the hands-on assistance of 
another person to perform the prescribed activities of daily 
living; or

2326.4.2 If the deficiency is due to the presence 
of a cognitive impairment, supervision or verbal cueing by 
another person is needed in order to protect the insured or 
others.

2326.5 Assessments of activities of daily living and 
cognitive impairment shall be performed by licensed or 
certified professionals, such as physicians, nurses or social 
workers.

2326.6 Long term care insurance policies shall include 
a clear description of the process for appealing and resolving 
benefit determinations.

2326.7 The requirements set forth in this section 
shall be effective (12 months after adoption of this 
provision) and shall apply as follows:

2326.7.1 Except as provided in section 
2326.7.2, the provisions of this section apply to a long-term 
care policy issued in this state on or after the effective date of 
the amended regulation.

2326.7.2 For certificates issued on or after the 
effective date of this section, under a group long-term care 
insurance policy as defined in 18 Del.C. § 7103(4)a, the 
provisions of this section shall not apply.

2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

247.0 Prohibition Against Pre-Existing Conditions and 
Probationary Periods in Replacement Policies or 
Certificates

24.1 If a long-term care insurance policy or 
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certificate replaces another long-term care insurance policy 
or certificate, the replacing insurer shall waive any time 
periods applicable to pre-existing conditions and 
probationary periods in the new long-term care insurance 
policy or certificate to the extent that similar exclusions have 
been satisfied under the original policy.

258.0 Requirement to Deliver Shopper's Guide
258.1 A long-term care insurance shopper's guide in 

the format developed by the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners, or one developed or approved by 
the Commissioner, shall be provided to all prospective 
applicants of a long-term care insurance policy or certificate.

258.1.1 In the case of agent solicitations, an agent 
must deliver the shopper's guide prior to the presentation of 
an application or enrollment form.

258.1.2 In the case of direct response solicitations, 
the shopper's guide must be presented in conjunction with 
any application or enrollment form.

258.2 Life insurance policies or riders containing 
accelerated long-term care benefits are not required to 
furnish the above-referenced guide, but shall furnish the 
policy summary required under 18 Del.C. § 7105 (j).

2629.0 Requirement to Offer Nonforfeiture Benefit
2629.1 No policy or certificate may be delivered or 

issued for delivery in this state unless the insurer also offers 
to the policyholder or certificateholder the option to 
purchase a policy that provides for nonforfeiture benefits to 
the defaulting or lapsing policyholder or certificateholder.

This section does not apply to life insurance 
policies or riders containing accelerated long-term care 
benefits.

2629.1.1 For purpose of this section, attained 
age rating is defined as a schedule of premiums starting from 
the issue date which increases with increasing age at least 
one percent per year to age fifty (50), and at least three 
percent (3%) per year beyond age fifty (50).

2629.1.2 For purposes of this section, the 
nonforfeiture benefit shall be a shortened benefit period 
providing paid-up long-term care insurance coverage after 
lapse.  The same benefits (amounts and frequency in effect at 
the time of lapse but not increased thereafter) will be payable 
for a qualifying claim, but the lifetime maximum dollars or 
days of benefit shall be determined as specified in section 
2629.1.3.

2629.1.3 The standard nonforfeiture credit will 
be equal to 100 percent of the sum of all premiums paid, 
including the premiums paid prior to any changes in 
benefits.  The insurer may offer additional shortened benefit 
period options, as long as the benefits for each duration 
equal or exceed the standard nonforfeiture credit for that 
duration.  However, the minimum nonforfeiture credit shall 
not be less than thirty (30) times the daily nursing home 

benefit at the time of lapse.  In either event, the calculation of 
the nonforfeiture credit is subject to the limitation of section 
2629.2.

26.1.4 No Policy or certificate shall begin a 
nonforfeiture benefit later then the end of the third year 
following the policy or certificate issue date except that for a 
policy or certificate with attained age rating, the 
nonforfeiture benefit shall begin on the earlier of:

2629.1.4 Effective Dates
29.1.4.1 The nonforfeiture benefit shall begin 

not later than the end of the third year following the policy or 
certificate issue date.  The contingent benefit upon lapse 
shall be effective during the first three (3) years.

29.1.4.2 Section 29.1.4.1 notwithstanding, 
Nno policy or certificate shall begin a nonforfeiture benefit 
later than the end of the third year following the policy or 
certificate issue date except that for a policy or certificate 
with attained age rating, the nonforfeiture benefit shall begin 
on the earlier of:

2629.1.4.2.1 The end of the tenth year 
following the policy or certificate issue date; or

2629.1.4.2.2 The end of the second year 
following the date the policy or certificate is no longer 
subject to attained age rating.

2629.1.5 Nonforfeiture credits may be used for 
all care and services qualifying for benefits under the terms 
of the policy or certificate, up to the limits specified in the 
policy or certificate.

2629.2 All benefits paid by the insurer while the policy 
or certificate is in premium paying status and in the paid up 
status will not exceed the maximum benefits which would 
have been payable if the policy or certificate had remained in 
premium paying status.

2629.3 There shall be no difference in the minimum 
nonforfeiture benefit as required under this section for group 
and individual policies.

2629.4 The requirements set forth in this section shall 
become effective on May 1, 1997, except for certificates 
issued on or after the effective date of this section under a 
group long-term care insurance policy as defined in 18 
Del.C. § 7103, which policy was in force at the time this 
amended regulation became effective.

2629.5 Premiums charged for a policy or certificate 
containing nonforfeiture benefits shall be subject to the loss 
ratio requirements of section 1618.0 treating the policy as a 
whole.

2629.6 Rejection of nonforfeiture benefit.
2629.6.1 A nonforfeiture benefit as provided in 

sections 2629.1.2 and 2629.1.3 shall be included in a long-
term care insurance policy or certificate unless an insurer 
obtains a rejection of a nonforfeiture benefit signed by the 
policyholder or certificateholder as required in this section.

2629.6.2 The rejection shall be considered part 
of the application and shall state: I have reviewed the outline 
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of coverage and the nonforfeiture benefit as described 
therein.  Specifically, I have reviewed Plan ___________ 
and I reject the nonforfeiture benefit.

2629.7 Nonforfeiture benefits for qualified long-
term care policies shall meet the following requirements:

2629.7.1 The nonforfeiture provision shall be 
appropriately captioned:

2629.7.2 The nonforfeiture provision shall 
provide a benefit available in the event of a default in the 
payment of any premiums and shall state that the amount of 
the benefit may be adjusted subsequent to being initially 
granted only as necessary to reflect changes in claims, 
persistency and interest as reflected in changes in rates for 
premium paying contracts approved by the Commissioner
Secretary of the Treasury for the same contract form; and

2629.7.3 The nonforfeiture provision shall 
provide at least one of the following:

2629.7.3.1 Reduced paid-up insurance;
2629.7.3.2 Extended term insurance;
2629.7.3.3 Shortened benefit insurance; or
2629.7.3.4 Other similar offerings approved 

by the Commissioner.
2629.8 If the required offer of a nonforfeiture 

benefit is rejected, the insurer shall provide the contingent 
benefit upon lapse described below.  In the event that a group 
policyholder elects to make the nonforfeiture benefit an 
option to the certificateholder, a certificate shall provide 
either the nonforfeiture benefit or the contingent benefit 
upon lapse.

2629.8.1 The contingent benefit on lapse shall 
be triggered every time an insurer increases the premium 
rates to a level which results in a cumulative increase of the 
annual premium set forth below based on the insured’s issue 
age, and the policy or certificate lapses within 120 days of 
the due date of the premium so increased.  Unless otherwise 
required, policyholders shall be notified at least thirty (30) 
days prior to the due date of the premium reflecting the rate 
increase.

Triggers for a Substantial Premium Increase
Percent Increase Over
Issue Age     Initial Premium
29 and under 200%
30-34 190%
35-39 170%
40-44 150%
45-49 130%
50-54 110%
55-59 90%
60 70%
61 66%
62 62%
63 58%
64 54%

65 50%
66 48%
67 46%
68 44%
69 42%
70 40%
71 38%
72 36%
73 34%
74 32%
75 30%
76 28%
77 26%
78 24%
79 22%
80 20%
81 19%
82 18%
83 17%
84 16%
85 15%
86 14%
87 13%
88 12%
89 11%
90 and over 10%

2629.8.2 On or before the effective date of a 
substantial premium increase as defined in section 2629.8.1 
above, the insurer shall:

2629.8.2.1 Offer to reduce policy benefits 
provided by the current coverage without the requirement of 
additional underwriting so that required premium payments 
are not increased;

2629.8.2.2 Offer to convert the coverage to a 
paid-up status with a shortened benefit period in accordance 
with the terms of section 2629.5.  This option may be elected 
at any time during the 120-day period referenced in section 
2629.8.1; and

2629.8.2.3 Notify the policyholder or 
certificateholder that a default or lapse at any time during the 
120-day period referenced in section 2629.8.1 shall be 
deemed to be the election of the offer to convert in section 
2629.8.2.2 above.

2629.8.2.4 The contingent benefit upon 
lapse shall begin not later than the end of the third year 
following the policy or certificate issue date.

2730.0 Permitted Compensation Arrangements
2730.1 An insurer or other entity may provide 

commission or other compensation to an agent or other 
representative for the sale of a long-term care insurance 
policy or certificate which shall not exceed thirty-five 
percent (35%) of the total premium paid for that policy year.
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2730.2 No entity shall provide compensation to its 
agents or other producers and no agent or producer shall 
receive compensation greater than twenty-five percent 
(25%) of the total premium paid for that policy year for the 
sale of a replacement long-term care insurance policy or 
certificate.

2730.3 For purposes of this section, "compensation" 
includes pecuniary or non-pecuniary remuneration or any 
kind relating to the sale or renewal of the policy or certificate 
including but not limited to bonuses, gifts, prizes, awards 
and finders fees.

2831.0 Penalties
28.1 In addition to any other penalties provided by 

the laws of this state, any insurer and any agent found to 
violate any requirement of this state relating to the regulation 
of long-term care insurance or the marketing of such 
insurance shall be subject to a fine of up to three (3) times 
the amount of any commissions paid for each policy 
involved in the violation or up to $10,000, whichever is 
greater.

2932.0 Separability
29.1 If any provision of this regulation or the 

application thereof to any person or circumstance is for any 
reason held to be invalid, the remainder of the regulation and 
the application of such provision to other persons or 
circumstances shall not be affected thereby.

303.0 Effective Date
303.1 This regulation became effective July 30, 1990, 

except Section 13 became effective July 1, 1993. 
Amendment #1 adopted nonforfeiture benefits (Section 
2326) on December 23, 1996, to become effective on May 1, 
1997.  Amendment #2 became effective on March 22, 1999 
to become effective 120 days thereafter.  Amendment #3 
adding sections 8.0, 10.0 and 20.0 shall become effective on 
January 1, 2005Subsequent amended provisions of this 
Regulation shall become effective 120 days from the 
Commissioner’s order amending this regulation. 

See 2 DE Reg. 2113 (5/1/99)

APPENDIX A

RESCISSION REPORTING FORM FOR
LONG-TERM CARE POLICIES

FOR THE STATE OF DELAWARE
FOR THE REPORTING YEAR 19[ ]

Company 
Name:___________________________________________

Address:______________________________________

Phone Number:__________________________________

Due: March 1 annually

Instructions:
The purpose of this form is to report all rescissions of 

long-term care insurance policies or certificates. Those 
rescissions voluntarily effectuated by an insured are not 
required to be included in this report. Please furnish one 
form per rescission.

Detailed reason for rescission: 
________________________________________________
__________________________________

Signature
__________________________________

Name and Title (please type)
__________________________________

Date

Appendix B
Long Term Care Insurance

Personal Worksheet

People buy long-term care insurance for a variety of 
reasons.  Some don’t want to use thier own assets to pay for 
long-term care  Some buy insurance to make sure they can 
choose  the type of care they get. Others don’t want their 
family to have to pay for care or don’t want to go on 
Medicaid. But long term care insurance may be expensive, 
and may not be right for everyone. 

By state law, the insurance company must fill out 
part of the information on this worksheet and ask you to fill 
out the rest  to help you and the company decide if you 
should buy this policy.

Premium Information

Policy Form Numbers____________________
The premium for the coverage you are considering will 

be [$_________ per month, or $_______ per year,] [a one-
time single premium of $____________.]

Type of Policy (non cancellable/guaranteed 
renewable):________________________________

The Company’s Right to Increase Premiums:

Policy
Form #

Policy and
Certificate #

Name 
of
Insured

Date of
Policy
Issuanc
e

Date/s
Claim/s
Submitted

Date of
Rescission
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[The company cannot raise your rates on this policy.] 
[The company has a right to increase premiums on this 
policy in the future, provided it raises rates for all policies in 
the same class in this state.] [Insurers shall use appropriate 
bracketed statement.  Rate guarantees shall not be shown on 
this form.]  

Rate Increase History
The company has sold long-term care insurance since 

[year] and has sold this policy since [year].  [The company 
has never raised its rates for any long-term care policy it has 
sold in this state or any other state.] [The company has not 
raised its rates for this policy form or similar policy forms in 
this state or any other state in the last 10 years.] [The 
company has raised its premium rates on this policy form or 
similar policy forms in the last 10 years.  Following is a 
summary of the rate increases.] 

Questions Related to Your Income
How will youpay each year’s premium?

From my Income From my Savings/Investments My 
Family will Pay

[  Have you considered whether you could afford to keep 
this policy if the premiums went up, for example, by 20%?]

What is your annual income? (check one)
Under $10,000 $[10-20,000] $[20-30,000]
$[30-50,000] Over $50,000

How do you expect your income to change over the 
next 10 years? (check one)

No change Increase Decrease
If you will be paying premiums with money 

received only from your own income, a rule of thumb is that 
you may not be able to afford this policy if the premiums 
will be more than 7% of your income.

Will you buy inflation protection?(check one) Yes 
No
If not, have you considered hwo you will pay for the 
difference between future costs and your daily benefit 
amount?  From my Income From my Savings/Investments 

My Family will Pay

How are you planning to pay for your care during the 
elimination period? (check one)

From my Income From my Savings/Investments My 
Family will Pay

Question Related to Your Savings and Investments
Not counting your home, about how much are all of 

your assets (savings and investments) worth? (check one)
Under $20,000 $20,000-$30,000 $30,000-

$50,000 Over $50,000
How do you expect your assets to change over the 

next ten years? (check one)

Stay about the same Increase Decrease
If you are buying this policy to protect your assets 

and your assets are less than $30,000, you may wish to 
consider other options for financing your long-term care.
Disclosure Statement

Signed:
(Applicant) (Date)
[ I explained to the applicant the importance of 

completing this information.
Signed:
(Agent)(Date)
Agent’s Printed Name:]
[Note:  In order for us to process your application, 

please return this signed statement to [name of company], 
along with your application.]

[My agent has advised me that this policy does not 
appear to be suitable for me.  However, I still want the 
company to consider my application.

Signed: ]
(Applicant) (Date)
Drafting Note:  Choose the appropriate sentences 

depending on whether this is a direct mail or agent sale.
The company may contact you to verify your 

answers.
Drafting Note:  When the Long-Term Care 

Insurance Personal Worksheet is furnished to employees and 
their spouses under employer group policies, the text from 
the heading “Disclosure Statement” to the end of the page 
may be removed.

Appendix C

Things You Should Know Before You Buy Long-Term 
Care Insurance

Drafting Note:  For single premium policies, delete this 
bullet; for noncancellable policies, delete the second 

®The information provided 
above accurately describes my 
financial situation.

®I choose not to complete 
this information.

Long-
Term
Care
Insurance

²A long-term care insurance policy may pay 
most of the costs for your care in a nursing 
home. Many policies also pay for care at 
home or other community settings. Since 
policies can vary in coverage, you should 
read this policy and make sure you 
understand what it covers before you buy it.

²[You should not buy this insurance policy 
unless you can afford to pay the premiums 
every year.]  [Remember that the company 
can increase premiums in the future.]
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sentence only.

Appendix D
Long-Term Care Insurance Suitability Letter

Dear [Applicant]:
Your recent application for long-term care insurance 

included a “personal worksheet,” which asked questions 
about your finances and your reasons for buying long-term 

care insurance.  For your protection, state law requires us to 
consider this information when we review your application, 
to avoid selling a policy to those who may not need 
coverage.

[Your answers indicate that long-term care insurance 
may not meet your financial needs.  We suggest that you 
review the information provided along with your 
application, including the booklet “Shopper’s Guide to 
Long-Term Care Insurance” and the page titled “Things You 
Should Know Before Buying Long-Term Care Insurance.” 
Your state insurance department also has information about 
long-term care insurance and may be able to refer you to a 
counselor free of charge who can help you decide whether to 
buy this policy.]

[You chose not to provide any financial information for 
us to review.]

Drafting Note:  Choose the paragraph that applies.
We have suspended our final review of your application. 

If, after careful consideration, you still believe this policy is 
what you want, check the appropriate box below and return 
this letter to us within the next 60 days.  We will then 
continue reviewing your application and issue a policy if you 
meet our medical standards.

If we do not hear from you within the next 60 days, we 
will close your file and not issue you a policy.  You should 
understand that you will not have any coverage until we hear 
back from you, approve your application and issue you a 
policy.

Please check one box and return in the enclosed 
envelope.

Yes, [although my worksheet indicates that long-
term care insurance may not be a suitable purchase,] I wish 
to purchase this coverage.  Please resume review of my 
application.

Drafting Note:  Delete the phrase in brackets if the 
applicant did not answer the questions about income.

No.  I have decided not to buy a policy at this time.

APPLICANT’S SIGNATUREDATE
Please return to [issuer] at [address] by [date].

²The personal worksheet includes 
questions designed to help you and the 
company determine whether this policy is 
suitable for your needs.

Medicare ²Medicare does not pay for most long-
term care.

Medicaid ²Medicaid will generally pay for long-
term care if you have very little income 
and few assets. You probably should not 
buy this policy if you are now eligible for 
Medicaid.

²Many people become eligible for 
Medicaid after they have used up their 
own financial resources by paying for 
long-term care services.

²When Medicaid pays your spouse’s 
nursing home bills, you are allowed to 
keep your house and furniture, a living 
allowance, and some of your joint assets.

²Your choice of long-term care services may be 
limited if you are receiving Medicaid.  To learn 
more about Medicaid, contact your local or 
state Medicaid agency.

Shopper’s
Guide

²Make sure the insurance company or agent 
gives you a copy of a book called the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners’ 
“Shopper’s Guide to Long-Term Care 
Insurance.”  Read it carefully.  If you have 
decided to apply for long-term care insurance, 
you have the right to return the policy within 
30 days and get back any premium you have 
paid if you are dissatisfied for any reason or 
choose not to purchase the policy.

Counseling ²Free counseling and additional information 
about long-term care insurance are available 
through your state’s insurance counseling 
program.  Contact your state insurance 
department or department on aging for more 
information about the senior health insurance 
counseling program in your state.
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Section 6010  (7 Del.C. §6010)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The State of Delaware revised on-site wastewater 

treatment and disposal system criteria and standards to keep 
pace with the industry and maintain its prominence as a 
nationally recognized leader in this field.  To ensure the 
Regulations Governing the Design, Installation and 
Operation of On-Site Wastewater Treatment and 
Disposal Systems are current with industry standards, 
engineering practices, soil science principles and compliance 
issues, the State of Delaware, in accordance with 7 Del.C. 
§6010, will amend Sections 1 through 10 and the Exhibits. 

2. Possible Terms of the Agency Action: 
N/A

3. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
7 Del.C.  Section  6010

4. List of Other Regulations That May be Impacted or 
Affected by the Proposal:  

N/A

5. Notice Of Public Comment:
The Department of Natural Resources and 

Environmental Control, Division of Water Resources, will 
conduct a public hearing on September 13, 2004 beginning 
at 6:00 p.m., in Down’s Lecture Hall, Delaware Technical & 
Community College, Terry Campus, Dover, Delaware to 
hear testimony and receive comments on the proposed 
amendments to the Regulations Governing the Design, 
Installation and Operation of On-Site Wastewater Treatment 
and Disposal Systems.

The State of Delaware revised on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system criteria and standards to keep 
pace with the industry and maintain its prominence as a 
nationally recognized leader in this field.  To ensure the 
Regulations Governing the Design, Installation and 
Operation of On-Site Wastewater Treatment and Disposal 
Systems are current with industry standards, engineering 
practices, soil science principles and compliance issues, the 
State of Delaware, in accordance with 7 Del.C. §6010, will 
amend Sections 1 through 10 and the Exhibits. 

For additional information or to request a copy of the 

proposed revisions to the regulations please contact the 
Ground Water Discharges Section at (302) 739-4761.

The procedures for public hearings are established in 7 
Del.C. §6006 and 29 Del.C. §10117.  Inquiries regarding the 
public hearing should be directed to Lisa Vest at (302) 739-
4403.  Statements and testimony may be presented orally or 
in written form at the hearing.  It is requested that those 
interested in presenting statements register in advance by 
mail.  The deadline for inclusion of written comments in the 
hearing record will be announced at the time of the hearing. 
Written statements may be presented prior to the hearing and 
should be addressed to: Lisa Vest, Hearing Officer, DNREC, 
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901.

FORWARD

The Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control (the Department) finds that a 
substantial portion of the State’s population lives where 
centralized water supplies or wastewater treatment services 
are limited.  It is the intent of the Department to aid and 
assist the public in the installation of on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal systems, where possible, by utilizing 
the best information, techniques and soil evaluations for the 
most suitable system that site and soil conditions permit.

Statewide regulations governing the installation and 
operation of septic tank wastewater treatment and disposal 
systems have existed since 1968.  Inappropriate installations 
and poor operation and maintenance practices resulted in 
disposal system malfunctions.  Inadequately renovated 
wastewater contaminated the State’s ground water and 
presented a threat to the public health, safety, and welfare. 
Corrective measures required the replacement of water 
supply and wastewater systems at a very high cost which 
was sometimes borne by the general public.  After years of 
working under the Regulations which were first 
implemented in the 1960’s, numerous deficiencies were 
found to be present within the same.  Given this, the 
Department concluded that significant revisions to its 
regulations governing the site evaluation, siting density, 
design, installation and operation of on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal systems were required.

In considering these findings, the Department 
determined that the adoption of effective on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal regulations was the proper course of 
action.  Through a process that included considerable staff 
research, public meetings and presentations, public 
workshops, a public hearing and a hearing officer’s report 
along with four draft versions of this Regulation were 
prepared, reviewed and revised.  This final version is the 
result of those various activities, and incorporates, as best as 
possible, all valid concerns into its provisions.

The purpose of this Regulation, is to prevent the 
problems listed above.  They are based on the best 
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information available and include the establishment of a 
process for updating Regulations as information changes. 
They include what are considered to be the best engineered 
design standards for on-site systems, as determined by 
research and practical experience.  These Regulations seek 
to require the use of on-site systems that will function 
according to their performance criteria without causing the 
State’s ground water resources to violate U. S. 
Environmental Protection Agency Drinking Water Standards 
on an average annual basis.  Wastewater management 
actions necessary to achieve those standards were 
recommended to the Department in Delaware’s 1983 
Comprehensive Committee’s Final Report which has since 
been adopted as state policy.

The proper siting of systems is addressed by the 
establishment of various soil criteria which lead to the 
selection of the most suitable on-site wastewater treatment 
and disposal system for local conditions.  System selection 
and sizing are determined using the results of the site 
specific soil evaluations and percolation tests.  Density is 
addressed by the adoption of minimum lot sizes tied to 
appropriate treatment and disposal techniques, and in some 
cases, the use of scientific ground water and geological 
analyses that both assure renovation of degradable pollutants 
and dilution of wastes which are inadequately treated in the 
soil.  Site evaluation and system selection, design, 
installation and pump-outs are required to be performed by 
individuals licensed under these regulations.  Alternative 
system design criteria were established to enable proper 
waste treatment and disposal to occur in locations where 
conventional systems would be inappropriate.  With the 
advent of mortgage companies requiring wastewater system 
inspection prior to loan approval, the Department took a pro-
active approach to create a new licensee category (Class H 
System Inspector) and standardized format to perform the 
inspection so all inspections will be evaluated under the set 
of criterion.  Finally, a specific variance procedure is 
established to provide an opportunity to reconsider any 
provision of these Regulations, provided that proper public 
disclosure and adequate consideration of the consequences 
are provided.

In developing these Regulations, the Department 
operated under the philosophy that where soil and site 
conditions permit, the least complex, easy to maintain and 
most economical system should be used.  Although it has not 
been possible to include directly every method of on-site 
treatment and disposal, the Department’s policy is to 
encourage development of systems, processes and 
techniques which may benefit significant numbers of people 
within Delaware.  It is expected that these Regulations will 
be reviewed and revised periodically and that standards for 
other alternative systems will be prepared as more 
experience and research data become available.  The 
Regulations contain provisions that enable that process to 

occur.

SECTION 1.00000 - AUTHORITY AND SCOPE

1.01000 These Regulations are adopted by the Secretary of 
the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control under and pursuant to the authority set forth in 7 
Del.C., Chapter 60.

1.02000 These Regulations shall apply to all aspects of:
1.02010 The planning, design, construction, 

operation, maintenance, rehabilitation, replacement, 
inspection and modification of individual and community 
on-site wastewater treatment and disposal systems within the 
boundaries of the State of Delaware; and

1.02020 The planning, design, construction and 
operation and maintenance of on-site wastewater holding 
tanks within the boundaries of the State of Delaware; and

1.02030 The licensing of percolation testers, 
on-site wastewater treatment and disposal system designers, 
site evaluators, on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
system contractors, system inspectors and liquid waste 
haulers within the boundaries of the State of Delaware.

1.03000 These Regulations shall supersede and replace 
Water Pollution Control Regulations #2 Governing The 
Installation and Operation of Septic Tank Sewage Disposal 
Systems, the Guidelines for Septic Tank Systems, and Part II 
of Section 9 of the Regulations Governing the Control of 
Water Pollution. With respect to the other provisions of the 
Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution these 
Regulations shall supersede such Regulations only to the 
extent of any inconsistency. These Regulations shall apply 
throughout the State of Delaware.

1.04000 The Department has the authority to establish 
and collect fees for the defraying of expenses incurred by the 
Department for facilities and services needed to provide for 
the administration of its programs.  The authority is 
contained within Amendment 4701(a), 6026(a), 7 Del.C., 
Chapter 60, which also contains the schedule of fees.

SECTION 2.00000 - DEFINITIONS

2.01000 Words and Phrases
The following words and phrases, when used in these 

Regulations have the meaning ascribed to them as follows, 
unless the text clearly indicates otherwise:

2.01010 Absorption Facility: System of 
open-jointed or perforated piping, alternative distribution 
units, or other seepage systems for receiving the flow from 
septic tanks or other treatment facilities and designed to 
distribute effluent for oxidation and absorption by the soil 
within the zone of aeration.
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2.01015 Aggregate-free Chambers: A buried structure 
used to create an enclosed unobstructed soil bottom 
absorption area and side-wall absorption area for infiltration 
and treatment of wastewater which can be use to replace the 
filter aggregate and distribution pipe in an absorption 
facility.

2.01020 Alteration: Any physical change in the design 
capacity of an existing system or any part thereof.

2.01030 Alternating System: Two or more disposal 
fields, equal in size with dosing provided alternatively to 
each field. 

2.01040 Alternative Treatment and Disposal System: A 
wastewater treatment or disposal system not specified in 
these regulations which has been proven to provide at least 
an equivalent level of treatment as the conventional systems 
included in these regulations.

2.01050 Applicant: The owner or legally authorized 
agent of the owner as evidenced by sufficient written 
documentation.

2.01060 Authorization to Use Existing System Permit: 
A written document issued by the Department which states 
that an on-site wastewater treatment and disposal system 
appears adequate to serve the purpose for which a particular 
application is made.

2.01065 Aquifer: A part of a formation, a formation, or 
a group of formations that contains sufficient saturated 
permeable material to yield economically useful quantities 
of water to wells or springs.

2.01070 Backfill: Soil which is clean and free of foreign 
debris, placed over the disposal area and fill extensions.

 2.01075 Blackwater: Waste carried off by toilets, 
urinals, and kitchen drains.

2.01080 Building Sewer: Piping which carries 
wastewater from a building to the first component of the 
treatment and disposal system.

2.01090 Cesspool: A covered pit with a porous lining 
into which wastewater is discharged and allowed to seep or 
leach into the surrounding soils with or without an 
absorption facility. 

2.01100 Commercial Facility: Any structure or 
building, or any portion therefore, other than a residential 
dwelling.

2.01110 Community System: An on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system which will serve more than 
three (3) lots or parcels or more than three (3) condominium 
units or more than three (3) units of a planned unit 
development.

2.01120 Completed Application: One in which the 
application form is properly completed in full, is signed by 
the applicant, is accompanied by all required exhibits, 
detailed plans and specifications, and required fee.

2.01123 Confined Aquifer: An aquifer bounded above 
and below by impermeable beds or by beds of distinctly 
lower permeability than that of the aquifer itself and 

containing ground water.  An aquifer containing ground 
water which is at a pressure greater than atmospheric 
pressure and from which water in a well will rise to a level 
above the top of the aquifer.

2.01126 Confining Layer: A body of impermeable or 
distinctly less permeable material stratigraphically adjacent 
to one or more aquifers.

2.01130 Construction Permit: A permit issued by the 
Department for the construction, alteration, repair or 
replacement of an on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
system.

2.01132 Construction Report: A report prepared by the 
contractor and submitted to the Department within 10 
calendar days after the absorption facility has been 
completely installed.

2.01136 Conventional On-Site Wastewater Treatment 
and Disposal Systems: Gravity, low pressure pipe, pressure-
dosed, sand-lined and elevated sand mound.

2.01150 Department: The Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control of the State of 
Delaware (DNREC)

2.01160 Developer: A person, persons, partnership, 
firm, corporation, or cooperative enterprise undertaking or 
participating in the development of a subdivision, 
manufactured home community, or multi-unit housing 
project.

2.01170 Director: The Director of the Division of Water 
Resources for the State of Delaware or his/her authorized 
representative.

2.01180 Disposal Area: The entire area used for the 
absorption facility.

2.01190 Distribution Box: A box for distributing 
wastewater equally to separate distribution laterals of the 
absorption facility.

2.01200 Distribution System: Piping or other devices 
used in the distribution of wastewater within the absorption 
facility.  (Also referred to as distribution laterals)

2.01220 Dosing: The pumped or regulated flow of 
wastewater to the absorption facility.

2.01230 Dosing Chamber: A receptacle for retaining 
wastewater until pumped or regulated to the absorption 
facility.

2.01235 Down Gradient: An area that has a lower 
potentiometric surface (hydraulic head) than a comparative 
reference point.

2.01240 Dwelling: Any structure or building, or any 
portion thereof which is used, intended, or designed to be 
occupied for human living purposes including but not 
limited to, houses, houseboats, boathouses, mobile homes, 
manufactured homes, travel trailers, hotels, motels, 
apartments, and condominiums.

2.01245 Easement: An interest in land owned by 
another that entitles its holder to a specific limited use or 
enjoyment.
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2.01247 Effluent Filter: A device placed in the outlet 
compartment of a septic tank which conforms to ANSI/NSF 
Standard 46 for the purpose of removing particulate matter 
before the effluent enters the absorption facility. 

2.01250 Effluent Line: The pipe beginning at the 
treatment unit or septic tank and terminating at the 
absorption facility.

2.01255 Elevated Sand Mound: An on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system which maintains a 36 inch 
separation distance above the limiting zone which is 
pressurized into suitable fill material constructed above 
existing grade.

2.01260 Emergency Repair: Repair of a broken system 
component where immediate action is necessary to protect 
public health.

2.01270 Escarpment: Any naturally occurring slope 
greater than thirty (30) percent which extends vertically six 
(6) feet or more as measured from toe to top, and which is 
characterized by a long cliff or steep slope which separates 
two (2) or more comparatively level or gently sloping 
surfaces, and may intercept one (1) or more layers than limit 
soil depth.

2.01280 Existing On-Site Wastewater Treatment and 
Disposal System: Any installed on-site wastewater treatment 
and disposal system constructed in conformance with the 
rules, laws and local ordinances in effect at the time of 
construction, or which would have conformed satisfactorily 
with system design provided for in Department Regulations. 

2.01290 Feasibility Study: A site/soil investigative 
report identifying the suitability of a parcel of land for on-
site wastewater treatment and disposal systems.  The report 
includes information pertinent to the Department and other 
local government agencies in the determination of certain 
land use decisions. 

2.01300 Fill: Soil material which has been transported 
to and placed over the original soil or bedrock and is 
characterized by a lack of distinct horizons or color patterns 
as found in naturally developed, undisturbed soils.

2.01310 Filter Aggregate: Washed gravel or crushed 
stone ranging in size from 3/4" to 2 l/2" in any dimension and 
clean and free of fine materials (dust) or meeting grading 
specifications in Section 6.01042.

2.01315 Filter Fabric: Any material approved by the 
Department which is permeable but does not allow soil 
particles to pass through for the purpose of protecting the 
filter aggregate or aggregate free chambers within the 
absorption facility. 

2.01317 Full Depth Gravity: A gravity fed on-site 
wastewater treatment and disposal system which maintains a 
36 inch separation distance above the limiting zone where 
the trench or bed is installed 24 inches into the natural soil.

2.01320 Governmental Unit: The state or any county, 
municipality, or any part thereof.

2.01330 GPD: Gallons per day.
2.01340 Grade: The inclination or slope of a conduit or 

ground or plane surface.
2.01344 Gravity Capping Fill: A gravity fed on-site 

wastewater treatment and disposal system which maintains 
36 inches separation distance above the limiting zone where 
the trench or bed is installed between 12 and 23 inches into 
the natural soil below a soil cap of a specified depth and 
texture.

2.01347 Greywater: The untreated wastewater that has 
not come into contact with toilet waste.  Greywater includes 
wastewater from bathtubs, showers, bathroom wash basins, 
clothes washing machines, laundry tubs and other 
wastewater which does not present a threat from 
contamination by unhealthy processing, manufacturing or 
operating wastes.  It does not include wastewater from 
kitchen sinks or dishwashers.

2.01350 Grease Trap: A watertight tank for the collection 
and retention of grease that is accessible for periodic removal.

2.01360 Groundwater: Any water naturally found under 
the surface of the earth.

2.01370 Holding Tank: A watertight receptacle used to 
store wastewater prior to being removed by a licensed waste 
hauler.

2.01375 Hydraulic Conductivity: A specific 
mathematical coefficient (quantitative) that relates the rate of 
water movement to the hydraulic gradient.  A term of 
Darcy’s law Q = KAi where K represents hydraulic 
conductivity and is the current standard for measuring a soils 
ability to transmit water.

2.01380 Impervious Strata and Formation: An 
underground or surface layer of soil or rock which will not 
allow water to pass through it at a rate permissible for 
subsurface disposal and having a percolation rate slower 
than one hundred twenty (120) minutes per inch.

2.01390 Invert: The floor, bottom or lowest portion of 
the internal cross section of a closed conduit or structure.

2.01400 Isolation Distance: The horizontal distance 
between a system component and selected site features or 
structures.

2.01410 Large System: Any on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system with a projected wastewater 
design flow rate greater than two thousand five hundred 
(2,500) gallons per day.

2.01415 Lift Pump Station: A receptacle for pumping 
wastewater to a system component to overcome slope 
differentials for the use of gravity distribution.

2.01420 Limiting Zone: Any horizon or condition in the 
soil profile or underlying strata which includes:

(a) The presence of seasonal or perennial 
saturation as evidenced by redoximorphic features or direct 
measurement of observation wells; or

(b) Rock with open joints, fractures or solution 
channels, masses of loose rock fragments, or loose 
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weathered rock, including gravel, with insufficient fine soil 
to fill the voids between the fragments; or

(c) Geologic stratum or soil zone in which the 
permeability of the stratum or zone effectively limits the 
movement of water

2.01430 Lot: A portion of a subdivision or parcel of 
land.

2.01433 Low Pressure Pipe Capping Fill: A pressurized 
on-site wastewater treatment and disposal system which is 
installed as trenches and maintains 18 inch separation 
distance above the limiting zone.  The trenches are installed 
between 9-17 inches into natural soil below a soil cap of a 
specified depth and texture.

2.01435 Low Pressure Pipe Full Depth: A pressurized 
on-site wastewater treatment and disposal system which is 
installed as trenches and maintains 18 inch separation 
distance above the limiting zone.  The trenches are installed 
18 inches into natural soil.

2.01440 Malfunctioning System: A system which is not 
adequately renovating or hydraulically eliminating the 
wastewater it is receiving as evidenced by, but not limited to, 
the following conditions:

(a) Failure of a system to accept wastewater 
discharge or the backup of wastewater into the structure 
served by the system.

(b) Direct discharge of wastewater to the surface 
of the ground, surface water, or groundwater without 
adequate renovation.

2.01450 Manifold: A pipe with numerous branches to 
convey effluent between a large pipe and several smaller 
pipes, or to permit choice of diverting flow from one of 
several sources or to one of several discharge points.

2.01460 Manufactured Home: A home built entirely in 
the factory under a federal building code administered by the 
Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). 
Manufactured homes may be single or multi-section and are 
transported to the site and installed.

2.01470 Mineral Soil: A soil that is saturated with water 
less than 30 days (cumulative) per year in normal years and 
contains less than 20 percent (by weight) organic carbon; or 
is saturated for greater than 30 days or more cumulative in 
normal years, and has an organic carbon content (by weight) 
of less than 18 percent if the mineral fraction contains 60 
percent or more clay; or less than 12 percent if the mineral 
fraction contains no clay.

2.01475 Monitor Well: A well installed for the sole 
purpose of the determination of subsurface conditions and 
collecting groundwater samples.

2.01480 Mottling: Soil irregularly marked with spots of 
different colors that vary in number and size which may 
indicate poor aeration, lack of drainage and the upper extent 
of the seasonal high water table.

2.01495 Observation well: A well used for the sole 
purpose of determining groundwater levels.

2.01500 On-Site Wastewater Treatment and Disposal 
System: Conventional or alternative, wastewater treatment 
and disposal systems installed or proposed to be installed on 
land of the owner or on other land to which the owner has the 
legal right to install the system.

2.01505 On-Site System Advisory Board (OSSAB): A 
panel of licensee’s representing the on-site industry, asked to 
serve by the Secretary, on all matters pertaining to the 
issuance and revocation of all on-site licenses.

2.01510 Owner: The person who has a vested legal or 
equitable title to real or personal property, including an 
on-site wastewater treatment and disposal system.

2.01530 Percolation rate: The rate of water movement 
through a soil.  Percolation rate is usually measured and 
assigned on the basis of elapsed time per unit volumetric 
water level drop.  The most commonly used unit for 
expressing percolation rate is minutes per inch (mpi).

2.01540 Permeability: The property of a soil horizon that 
enables the soil to transmit gases, liquid, or other substances.

2.01550 Permit: The written document approved by the 
Department which authorizes the installation of a system or 
any part thereof, which may also require operation and 
maintenance of the system.

2.01560 Permittee: Any individual, partnership, 
corporation, association, institution, cooperative enterprise, 
agency, municipality, commission, political subdivision or 
duly established entity to which a permit is issued.

2.01565 Piezometer: A small diameter non-pumping 
well with a short screen that is used to measure the elevation 
of the water table or potentiometric surface.

2.01570 Platy Structure: Soil aggregates that are 
developed predominantly along the horizontal axes, 
laminated and flaky.

2.01580 75 Pollution or Water Pollution: Any 
alteration of the physical, chemical or biological properties 
of any waters of the state, including change in temperature, 
taste, color, turbidity, silt or odor of the waters, or such 
discharge of any liquid, gaseous, solid, radioactive or other 
substance into any waters of the state, which will or tends to, 
either by itself or in connection with any other substance, 
create a public nuisance or which will or tends to render such 
waters harmful, detrimental or injurious to public health, 
safety or welfare, or to domestic, commercial, industrial, 
agricultural, recreational or other legitimate beneficial uses 
or to livestock, wildlife, fish or other aquatic life or the 
habitat thereof.

2.01581 Potentiometric Surface: A surface that 
represents the level to which water will rise in tightly cased 
wells.

2.01582 Pressure Dosed Capping Fill: A pressurized 
on-site wastewater treatment and disposal system which 
maintains a 36 inch separation distance above the limiting 
zone where the trench or bed is installed between 12 and 23 
inches into the natural soil below a soil cap of a specified 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 2, SUNDAY, AUGUST 2, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS288
depth and texture. 
2.01587 Pressure Dosed Full Depth: A pressurized on-

site wastewater treatment and disposal system which 
maintains a 36 inch separation distance above the limiting 
zone where the trench or bed is installed 24 inches into the 
natural soil.

2.01590 Pressurized Distribution: A network of piping 
with orifices designed to evenly distribute wastewater under 
pressure through the entire absorption facility.

2.01595 Primary Treatment: A wastewater treatment 
process that takes place in a tank and allows those substances 
in wastewater that readily settle or float to be separated from 
the water being treated.

2.01600 Professional Engineer: A person registered by 
the Delaware Association of Professional Engineers to 
practice professional engineering in the State of Delaware. 

2.01610 Professional Geologist: A person registered by 
the Delaware State Board of Registration of Geologists to 
practice professional geology in the State of Delaware.

2.01620 Project Site: The total area within the property 
lines of an individual lot or within the division lines of a 
parcel or subdivision.

2.01630 Public Health Hazard: A condition whereby 
there are sufficient types and amounts of biological, 
chemical or physical, including radiological, agents relating 
to water or sewage which are likely to cause human illness, 
disorders or disability. These include, but are not limited to, 
pathogens, viruses, bacteria, parasites, toxic chemicals, and 
radioactive isotopes.

2.01635 Redoximorphic Features: Characteristic soil 
patterns formed by the reduction, translocation and oxidation 
of iron and manganese oxides.  The occurrence of these 
features may be indicative of poor drainage, or lack of 
aeration associated with the upper most extent of the 
seasonal high water table.

2.01640 Repair: Any modification to an existing on-site 
wastewater treatment and disposal system necessary to fix a 
problem or malfunction.

2.01650 Replacement System: An on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system to replace the existing on-site 
wastewater treatment and disposal system or a portion 
thereof.

2.01660 Sand: Individual mineral particles in a soil that 
range in diameter from the upper limit of silt (0.05 
millimeters) to 2.0 millimeters.

2.01680 Sand Lined System: A type of seepage trench 
or seepage bed soil absorption facility constructed in the
sandy fill material below the natural soil surface and may 
require pressurization. The fill material is used to replace a 
natural impermeable or slowly permeable soil layer or to 
completely remove an existing absorption facility.

2.01685 Sandy Fill: Materials that consist of medium 
sand, sandy loam, loamy sand/sandy loam mixtures (see 
sieve requirements in Section 6.01041).

2.01700 Scarifying: Scraping or loosening the bottom 
and sidewall soil surfaces in the preparation of percolation 
test holes, seepage trenches, beds, or similar excavations.

2.01710 Scum: A mass of sewage solids floating at the 
surface of effluent and buoyed up by entrained gas, grease or 
other substances.

2.01720 Seasonal High Water Table: The highest zone 
of soil or rock that is seasonally or permanently saturated by 
a perched or shallow water table.  A planar surface below 
which all pores in rock or soil (whether primary or 
secondary) is seasonally or permanently saturated.

2.01725 Secondary Treatment: A combination of unit 
processes that will consistently remove 85% or more of the 
organic and suspended material in domestic wastewater and 
produce an effluent of sufficient quality to satisfy the 
following requirements; monthly average effluent BOD5 and 
TSS concentrations of 30 mg/L; daily maximum effluent 
BOD5 and TSS concentrations of 45 mg/L.

2.01730 Secretary: Secretary of the Department of 
Natural Resources and Environmental Control or a duly 
authorized designee. 

2.01750 Seepage Bed: An absorption facility consisting 
of an area from which the entire earth contents have been 
removed and replaced with a network of perforated pipe, 
filter aggregate or aggregate-free chambers and covered with 
suitable backfill material.

2.01755 Seepage Pit: Synonymous with “cesspool” 
except it is usually A covered pit with a porous lining into 
which wastewater is discharged and allowed to seep or leach 
into the surrounding soil and is preceded by a septic tank.
where a cesspool is not. 

2.01760 Seepage Trench: A soil absorption facility 
consisting of ditches with vertical sides and flat bottoms 
partially filled with filter aggregate and containing 
perforated pipe or aggregate-free chambers and covered with 
suitable backfill material.

2.01770 Septage: The liquid and solid contents of a 
septic tank.

2.01780 Septic Tank: A watertight receptacle which 
receives the discharge of wastewater from a structure or part 
thereof and is designed and constructed so as to permit 
settling of solids from the liquid, digestion of the organic 
matter by detention, and discharge of the liquid portion into 
an absorption facility.

2.01810 Single Family Dwelling: A residence intended 
for single family residential use. 

2.01820 Siphon: A hydraulically operated device 
designed to rapidly discharge the contents of a dosing tank 
between predetermined hydraulic levels.

2.01830 Site Evaluation: The practice of investigating, 
evaluating and reporting basic soil and site conditions which 
apply to the on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
system type and design criteria.
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2.01840 Slope: Deviation of a plane surface from the 
horizontal. It is usually expressed as a ratio or percentage of 
number of units of vertical rise or fall per unit of horizontal 
distance.

2.01860 Soil Horizon: A layer of soil or soil material 
approximately parallel to the land surface and differing from 
adjacent genetically related layers in physical, chemical, and 
biological properties or characteristics such as color, 
structure, texture, consistence and pH.

2.01870 Soil Profile: A vertical cross-section of a soil 
that shows the various soil horizons.  Soil drainage or 
moisture status are soil characteristics that can be inferred 
from the soil profile.

2.01880 Soil Structure: The combination or 
arrangement of primary soil particles into secondary 
compound particles or clusters, the principle forms of which 
are: platy (laminated); prismatic (prisms with rounded tops); 
blocky (angular or subangular); granular and columnar. 

2.01890 Soil Texture: The grain sizes that comprise a 
soil consisting of three textural classes; sand, silt and clay. 
Field methods for judging the texture of a soil consist of 
forming a cast of soil, both dry and moist, in the hand and 
pressing a ball of moist soil between thumb and finger.

(a) The major textural classifications are observed 
and can be determined in the field as follows:

(1) Sand: Individual grains can be seen and 
felt readily.  Squeezed in the hand when dry, this soil will fall 
apart when the pressure is released. Squeezed when moist, it 
will form a cast that will hold its shape when the pressure is 
released, but will crumble when touched.

(2) Sandy Loam: Consists largely of sand, but 
has enough silt and clay present to give it a small amount of 
stability. Individual sand grains can be readily seen and felt. 
Squeezed in the hand when dry, this soil will readily fall 
apart when the pressure is released. Squeezed when moist, it 
forms a cast that will not only hold its shape when the 
pressure is released, but will withstand careful handling 
without breaking. The stability of the moist cast 
differentiates this soil from sand.

(3) Loam: Consists of an even mixture of sand 
and of silt and a small amount of clay.  It is easily crumbled 
when dry and has a slightly gritty yet fairly smooth feel. It is 
slightly plastic. Squeezed when moist, it forms a cast that 
will not only hold its shape when the pressure is released, but 
will withstand careful handling without breaking. The 
stability of the moist cast differentiates this soil from sand.

(4) Silt Loam: Consists of a moderate amount 
of fine grades of sand, a small amount of clay, and a large 
quantity of silt particles. Lumps in a dry, undisturbed state 
appear quite cloddy, but they can be pulverized readily; the 
soil then feels soft and floury. When wet, silt loam runs 
together in puddles. Either dry or moist, casts can be handled 
freely without breaking. When a ball of moist soil is pressed 
between thumb and finger, it will not press out into a 

smooth, unbroken ribbon, but will have a ribbon appearance.
(5) Clay Loam: Consists of an even mixture of 

sand, silt, and clay, which breaks into clods or lumps when 
dry. When a ball of moist soil is pressed between the thumb 
and finger, it will form a thin ribbon that will readily break, 
barely sustaining its own weight. The moist soil is plastic 
and will form a cast that will withstand considerable 
handling.

(6) Silty Clay Loam: Consists of a moderate 
amount of clay, a large amount of silt, and a small amount of 
sand. It breaks into moderately hard clods or lumps when 
dry. When moist, a thin ribbon or one-eighth (1/8) inch wire 
can be formed between thumb and finger that will sustain its 
weight and will withstand gentle movement.

(7) Silty Clay: Consists of even amounts of 
silt and clay and very small amounts of sand. It breaks into 
hard clods or lumps when dry. When moist, a thin ribbon or 
one-eighth (1/8) inch or less sized wire formed between 
thumb and finger withstand considerable movement and 
deformation. 

(8) Clay: Consists of large amounts of clay 
and moderate to small amounts of sand. It breaks into very 
hard clods or lumps when dry. When moist, a thin, long 
ribbon or one-sixteenth (1/l6) inch wire can be molded with 
ease. Fingerprints will show on the soil, and a dull to bright 
polish is made on the soil by a shovel.

(9) Silt: Consists largely of silt with very 
small amounts of clay.  The soil feels very silky or floury. 
When pressed between thumb and finger, it will readily 
pulverize without forming a ribbon.

(10) Loamy Sand: Is predominately 
composed of sand, but has enough clay so that it can be 
formed into a weakly developed ball with careful handling.

(11) Sandy Clay Loam: The predominant 
particle size found within this soil textural class is sand, 
although it contains relatively high levels of clay with lesser 
amounts of silt.  When moist, it will form a thin ribbon that 
does not readily break.

(12) Sandy Clay: Consists of relatively 
even amounts of sand and clay with very small amounts of 
silt.  When moist, a thin ribbon can readily be formed 
between thumb and finger without considerable deformation 
or movement.

(b) These and other soil textural characteristics are 
defined as shown in the United States Department of 
Agricultural Textural Classification Chart which is hereby 
adopted as part of these Regulations (see Exhibit B). This 
textural classification chart is based on the Standard Pipette 
Analysis as defined in the United States Department of 
Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service Soil Survey 
Investigations Report No. 1.

(c) Throughout these Regulations where soil 
textural classes and other terminology describing soils are 
utilized, definition and interpretation shall be in accordance 
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with the latest edition of Soil Survey Manual (Handbook 
18), Field Book for Describing and Sampling Soils, and 
Field Indicators of Hydric Soils in the Mid-Atlantic States as 
published by either the U.S. Department of Agriculture or 
the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

2.01910 Solum: The upper part of the soil profile (A, E 
and B horizons) above the parent material in which the 
processes of soil formation are active.

2.01915 Spare Area: An area set aside for construction 
of a second absorption facility to be used in the event the 
original absorption facility malfunctions or is expanded. 

2.01930 Subdivision: Any tract or parcel of land which 
has been divided into two or more lots for which 
development is intended.

2.01940 System: Refers to an on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system.

2.01945 System Inspector: A person licensed by the 
Department to inspect, investigate, collect data and make 
determinations regarding the present operational condition 
of an on-site wastewater treatment and disposal system.

2.01950 Test Pit: An excavation used to examine a soil 
profile in order to assess soil permeability and depth to a 
seasonal high water table using soil texture, structure, and 
redoximorphic features as a basis for assessing site 
suitability.

2.01960 Topography: Ground surface variations or 
contours of the earth's surface, both natural and 
anthropogenic.

2.01965 Unconfined Aquifer: An aquifer in which no 
relatively impermeable layer exists between the water table 
and the ground surface and an aquifer in which the water is 
at atmospheric pressure.

2.01970 Undisturbed Soil: Soil or soil profile unaltered 
by filling, removal, or other man-made changes with the 
exception of agricultural activities.

2.01975 Upgradient: An area that has a higher 
potentiometric surface (hydraulic head) than a comparative 
reference point.

2.01980 Wastewater: Water-carried waste from septic 
tanks, water closets, residences, buildings, industrial 
establishments, or other places, together with such 
groundwater infiltration, subsurface water, and mixtures of 
industrial wastes or other wastes as may be present.

2.01990 Wastewater Utility: Any person who engages 
in the business of providing wastewater disposal and related 
services to the public for a fee, charge, or other remuneration 
in the State of Delaware.

2.02000 Watercourse: Any ocean, bay, lake, pond, 
stream, river or defined ditch that will permit drainage into 
any surface water body, excluding ephemeral watercourses 
as defined below.

(a) Ephemeral – A watercourse which flows 
briefly, only in direct response to precipitation in the 
immediate vicinity, and whose invert is above the seasonal 

high water table.
2.02010 Water Table: The surface of an unconfined 

aquifer where the groundwater pore water pressure is equal 
to atmospheric pressure.

2.02020 Waters of the State: Public waters, including 
lakes, bays, sounds, ponds, impounding reservoirs, springs, 
wells, rivers, streams, creeks, estuaries, marshes, inlets, 
canals, the ocean within the territorial limits of the State, and 
all other bodies of surface or underground water, natural or 
artificial, inland or coastal, fresh or salt, within the 
jurisdiction of the State of Delaware.

2.02023 Well: Any excavation that is drilled, cored, 
bored, washed, driven, dug, jetted, or otherwise constructed 
when the intended use of such excavation is for the location, 
testing, acquisition, use; for extracting water from or for the 
artificial recharge of subsurface fluids; and where the depth 
is greater than the diameter or width.  For the purpose of this 
regulation this definition does not include geotechnical test, 
soil, telephone and construction piling borings, fence posts, 
test pits, or horizontal closed loop heat pump circulation 
systems constructed within twenty (20) feet of the ground 
surface.

2.02030 Zone of Aeration: A subsurface zone 
containing water under pressure less than that of the 
atmosphere, including water held by capillary and 
containing air or gases generally under atmospheric 
pressure.  This zone is limited above by the land surface and 
below by the surface of the zone of saturation, i.e., the water 
table.

SECTION 3.00000 - GENERAL STANDARDS, 
PROHIBITIONS AND PROVISIONS

3.01000 Each and every owner of real property is jointly and 
severally responsible for:

(a) Disposing of wastewater in conformance with all 
applicable Regulations; and

(b) Connecting all plumbing fixtures on that property, 
from which wastewater is or may be discharged, to a central 
wastewater system or on-site wastewater treatment and 
disposal system approved by the Department; and

(c) Maintaining, repairing, and/or replacing the system 
as necessary to assure proper operation of the system

3.02000 No person shall construct, install, modify, 
rehabilitate, or replace an on-site wastewater treatment and 
disposal system or construct or place any dwelling, building, 
mobile home, manufactured home or other structure capable 
of discharging wastewater on-site unless such person has a 
valid license and permit issued by the Department pursuant 
to these Regulations.

3.03000 No permit may be issued by the Department under 
these Regulations unless the county or municipality having 
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land use jurisdiction has first approved the activity through 
zoning procedures provided by law.

3.04000 Any county may assume responsibility and 
authority for administering its own regulatory program for 
on-site wastewater treatment and disposal systems pursuant 
to 7 Del.C., Chapter 60, Section 6003(d), if the delegated 
program establishes standards no less stringent than the 
standards established in these Regulations. 

3.05000 Administrative and judicial review and the 
enforcement under these Regulations shall be in accordance 
with the provisions of 7 Del.C., Chapter 60.

3.06000 If any part of these Regulations, or the application 
of any part thereof, is held invalid or unconstitutional, the 
application of such part to other persons or circumstances, 
and the remainder of these Regulations, shall not be affected 
thereby and shall be deemed valid and effective.

3.07000 These Regulations, being necessary for the health 
and welfare of the State and its inhabitants, shall be liberally 
construed in order to preserve the land, surface water and 
ground water resources of the State.

3.08000 At the sole discretion of the Department, if the 
proposed operation of a system may cause pollution of 
public waters or create a public health hazard, system 
installation or use shall not be authorized.

3.09000 All wastewater shall be treated and disposed of in a 
manner approved by the Department.

3.10000 No person shall dispose of wastewater at any 
location not authorized by the Department under applicable 
laws and regulations for such disposal.

3.11000 Discharge of untreated or partially treated 
wastewater or septic tank effluent directly or indirectly onto 
the ground surface or into surface waters of the State, unless 
authorized by a permit issued by the Department, constitutes 
a public health hazard and is prohibited.

3.12000 No cooling water, air conditioning water, 
groundwater, oil, water softener brine or roof drainage shall 
be discharged into any system without specific authorization 
of the Department.  Water softener brine shall be discharged 
in a manner that does not allow surface discharge (curtain 
drain).

3.13000 Except where specifically allowed within these 
Regulations, no person shall connect a dwelling or 
commercial facility to a system if the total projected 
wastewater flow would be greater than that allowed under 

the original system construction permit.

3.14000 Each system shall have adequate capacity to 
properly treat and dispose of the maximum projected daily 
wastewater flow.  The quantity of wastewater shall be 
determined from these Regulations or other information the 
Department determines to be valid that may show different 
flows.

3.15000 A permit to install a new system can be issued only 
if each site has received an approved site evaluation and is 
free of encumbrances (e.g., easements, deed restrictions, 
etc.) which could prevent the installation or operation of the 
system from being in conformance with these Regulations.

3.16000 A recorded utility easement is required whenever a 
system crosses a property line separating property under 
different ownership. The easement must accommodate that 
part of the system, including setbacks, which lies beyond the 
property line, and must allow entry to install, maintain and 
repair the system.

3.17000 Whenever real property is recorded as two separate 
lots under common ownership and an on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system crosses the common boundary 
of the recorded lots, the owner shall execute and record, in 
the appropriate county office of Recorder of Deeds, an 
affidavit which notifies prospective purchasers of this fact on 
a form approved by the Department.

3.18000 Except as provided in these Regulations, the spare 
area shall be kept vacant, free of vehicular traffic and soil 
modifications.

3.19000 All systems shall be operated and maintained so as 
not to create a public health hazard or cause water pollution.

3.20000 Exhibits A through Z are incorporated into these 
Regulations by reference.

3.21000 No person shall transfer any portion of real property 
if the transfer would create a lot boundary which would cross 
an existing system or any part thereof including required 
setbacks and isolation distances unless, a utility easement is 
granted to the owner of the existing system and recorded in 
the appropriate county office of Recorder of Deeds.

3.22000 The Department shall have the power to enter, at 
reasonable times, upon any private or public property for the 
purpose of inspecting and investigating conditions relative to 
the enforcement of these Regulations.

3.23000 No person shall transfer any portion of real property 
after the issuance of a permit pursuant to these Regulations if 
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the transfer would result in the use of the permitted on-site 
system on a lot which does not comply with these 
Regulations and the terms of the permit, including density, 
set back and isolation distance requirements.

SECTION 4.00000 - LICENSES

4.01000 The Department shall administer a program for the 
licensing of percolation testers, system designers, site 
evaluators, system contractors and liquid waste haulers. The 
licensing program shall provide the issuance of licenses as 
follows;

(a) Class A - Percolation Tester: The Class A license 
authorizes the performance of percolation tests and other 
types of infiltrometer testing.

(b) Class B - Designer: The Class B license authorizes 
the design of conventional on-site wastewater treatment and 
disposal systems which utilize gravity distribution systems 
for seepage beds and seepage trenches and lift pump stations 
as provided for in these Regulations. 

(c) Class C - Designer: The Class C license authorizes 
the design of conventional and alternative on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal systems and all pressure distribution 
systems.

(d) Class D - Site Evaluator: The Class D license 
authorizes the performance of site soil evaluations, 
percolation and/or permeability tests or hydraulic 
conductivity tests.

(e) Class E - System Contractor: The Class E license 
authorizes the construction, repair and installation of on-site 
wastewater treatment and disposal systems.

(f) Class F - Liquid Waste Hauler: The Class F license 
authorizes the removal or disposal of the solid and liquid 
contents of septic tanks, cesspools, seepage pits, holding 
tanks or other wastewater treatment or disposal facilities as 
specified and required under these Regulations.

(g) Class GB - Designer: The Class GB license 
authorizes the design of combined well and conventional 
on-site wastewater treatment and disposal systems which 
utilize gravity distribution systems for bed and trench 
designs.

(h) Class GC - Designer: The Class GC license 
authorizes the design of combined well and conventional and 
alternative on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
systems and all pressure distribution systems.

(i) Class H – System Inspector: The Class H license 
authorizes the inspection, investigation and data collection to 
make determinations regarding the present operational 
condition of on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
systems.

4.02000 It shall be necessary to have the Class A, Class B, 
Class C, Class D, Class E, Class F, Class GB, and Class GC 
and Class H licenses in order to engage in the specified 

activities under Section 4.01000 of these Regulations except 
the Class H license will become effective June 1, 2005.

4.03000 Any person seeking a license under this Section 
shall submit a complete application to the Department, on a 
standard form provided by the Department, references and 
pay the non-refundable application fee, if required. All 
applicants for a Class A, B, E, F, and/or GB and/or H license 
will be required to pass an examination prepared and 
administered by the Department to test the competency and 
knowledge of the applicant regarding pertinent subject 
matter and the application and use of these Regulations. (GB 
and GC licenses shall not be available until Section 3.04 of 
the Regulations Governing the Construction and Use of 
Wells is amended.

4.03050 In the event an applicant fails to receive a passing 
grade on the examination, he/she shall be so notified by the 
Board within 30 days.  The applicant may re-apply for a 
subsequent examination only after completion of a training 
course approved by the On-Site System Advisory Board 
(OSSAB).  The examination may be taken no more than 
twice in a twelve (12) month time period.

4.04000 With respect to Class C licenses the following shall 
constitute the Department's requirements:

(a) Registration as a Professional Engineer with the 
Delaware Association of Professional Engineers; and

(b) A complete qualifications statement on approved 
Department forms which verify the individual's knowledge 
and competency in the field of on-site wastewater treatment 
and disposal system engineering and design.

4.05000 With respect to Class D licenses the following shall 
constitute the Department's requirements:

(a) A completed qualifications statement on 
appropriate Department forms which verify the individual's 
knowledge and competency in the field of site evaluations 
for on-site wastewater treatment and disposal systems; and

(b) Registration as a Professional Soil Scientist or Soil 
Classifier with the American Registry of Certified 
Professionals in Agronomy, Crops and Soils (ARCPACS); or

NOTE:  If not ARCPACS certified, a field practicum 
shall be performed to assess whether competency exists for 
soils in Delaware.  This field practicum shall be 
administered by the soil scientist(s) on the On-Site System 
Advisory/Site Interpretations Boards and/or from DNREC.

(c) Six (6) years of professional experience in soil 
classifications, mapping and interpretations with nine (9) 
semester hours in soil science and six (6) semester hours in 
geological sciences from an accredited college or university; 
or

(d) Four (4) years of professional experience in soils 
classifications, mapping and interpretations and an 
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undergraduate degree from an accredited college or 
university with nine (9) semester hours in soil science and 
six (6) semester hours in geological sciences; or

(e) Two (2) years of professional experience in soils 
classifications, mapping and interpretations and a graduate 
degree from an accredited college or university, with thirty 
(30) semester hours or the equivalent in biological, physical 
and earth sciences with fifteen (15) of such semester hours in 
soil science.

4.06000 With respect to Class E licenses the following shall 
constitute the Department's requirements:

(a) A completed qualifications statement, on 
appropriate Department forms, which verify the individual’s 
knowledge and competency of the application and 
requirements of these Regulations; and

(b) A minimum of two (2) years of experience 
under the guidance of an experienced supervisor in the 
construction of on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
systems

(c) Show proof of insurance for a minimum of 
$300,000 for general liability and $100,000 per occurrence

4.06050 With respect to Class GB licenses the 
following shall constitute the Department’s requirements:

(a) A complete qualifications statement on 
approved Department forms which verify the individual's 
knowledge and competency in the field of gravity on-site 
wastewater treatment and disposal systems; and

(b) A complete qualifications statement on 
approved Department forms which verify the individual’s 
knowledge and competency in the placement of wells and 
the Regulations Governing the Construction and Use of 
Wells

4.06100 With respect to Class GC licenses the 
following shall constitute the Department's requirements:

(a) Registration as a Professional Engineer with 
the Delaware Association of Professional Engineers; and

(b) A complete qualifications statement on 
approved Department forms which verify the individual's 
knowledge and competency in the field of engineering and 
the design of on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
systems

(c) A complete qualifications statement on 
approved Department forms which verify the individual’s 
knowledge and competency in the placement of wells and 
the Regulations Governing the Construction and Use of 
Wells

4.06200 With respect to Class H licenses the following 
shall constitute the Department’s requirements:

(a) Furnishes certification of training completed 
under the National Association of Waste Transporters 
(NAWT) certification, Pennsylvania Septage Management 
Association (PSMA) certification, Delaware Technical & 
Community College certification program or as approved by 

the Board.
4.06250 Responsibilities of Licensees
4.06260 Any Class D licensed site evaluator may be 

required to notify the Department orally or in writing at least 
thirty-six (36) hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and state 
holidays, prior to conducting the site evaluation.  This is at 
the sole discretion of the Department.

4.06270 All Class A, B, C, D, E, F, GB, and GC and H
licensee’s are responsible for correct and complete 
information submitted to the Department as it pertains to 
current Regulations.

4.06300 All Class E licensed system contractors shall:
(a) Initiate work only on systems for which a 

construction permit has been granted; and
(b) Comply with all applicable regulations and 

requirements; and
(c) Be responsible for the work carried out by their 

employees; and
(d) Submit to the Department within ten (10) days 

of completion of a system, a Construction Report on forms 
provided by the Department, signed by the licensed 
contractor; and

(e) Notify the Department 24 hours prior to 
construction start up to receive an authorization number, 
except newly licensed contractors must notify the 
Department 48 hours prior to initial six (6) construction start 
ups to receive an authorization number; and

(f) Be the sole contact person to the Department 
regarding inspection call-ins, consequential changes or 
problems.  An individual employed by the licensee may be 
the contact person for inspection call-ins provided that 
person is a Class E licensee or has been designated as a 
contact person in writing to the Department by the licensee 
prior to calling; and

(g) Submit proof of insurance annually 
4.06400 All Class F licensed liquid waste haulers shall:

(a) Display the name, address and permit number 
of the licensee in standard block letters no less than three (3) 
inches high on both sides of each vehicle used for hauling 
purposes; and

(b) Equip every vehicle used for hauling purposes 
with a watertight tank or body and be maintained in a clean 
and sanitary condition. Liquid wastes shall not be 
transported in an open body vehicle unless contained within 
suitable receptacles. All pumps and hose lines shall be free 
of leaks; and

(c) Assure all receptacles used for transporting 
liquid or solid wastes are watertight, equipped with tight 
fitting lids and are cleaned daily; and

(d) Obtain prior approval in writing from the 
Department for every site at which a hauler plans to 
discharge a specified amount of waste material collected. No 
waste material shall be discharged on a site without such 
prior approval. Written approval will be based upon the 
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applicant having satisfied the requirements of all applicable 
regulations adopted by the Department. Waste material 
collected by the hauler shall not be discharged into ditches, 
watercourses, lakes, ponds, tidewater or at any point where it 
can pollute any watercourse, water supply source, bathing 
area, or shellfish growing area. It shall not be deposited 
within 300 feet of any highway, except as provided in 
subpart (e) thereunder; and

(e) Discharge liquid wastes into approved 
wastewater treatment facilities unless otherwise authorized 
by the Department, provided such facilities have sufficient 
capacity and capability to handle such liquid wastes; and

(f) Fit all truck pumping and discharge hoses with 
automatic shutoff valves; and

(g a)Remove all wastewater from the appropriate 
tanks in accordance with the guidelines as set forth by the 
Department; and

(h b)May repair, add or replace septic tank and/or 
holding tank risers, and baffles, lids, distribution box lids and 
effluent filters  on or within septic tanks

4.06430 All Class H System Inspectors shall perform:
(a) All inspections of on-site wastewater treatment 

and disposal systems shall be submitted to the Department 
on forms approved by the Department (See Exhibit A for the 
inspection form example and guidelines).  These forms shall 
be submitted within seventy two (72) hours of inspection 
completion. 

4.06450 Any person who engages in the practice of 
professional engineering or professional geology in the 
specified activities under this Section shall be duly registered 
in conformance with the requirements of the laws of the 
State of Delaware.

4.06460 The Department may issue temporary Class A, 
B, or E licenses to property owners who wish to conduct 
their own percolation testing, system design, or system 
installation on their own property and for their own use. 
Certification of the intended use will be required. The 
applicant shall submit an application on Department forms 
along with any required fee and shall demonstrate his 
competency in those fields by successfully completing a test 
conducted by the Department. The term of the temporary 
Class A, B, or E license shall expire upon completion of 
work conducted by the applicant for which the permit was 
issued.

4.07000 In exercising exclusive licensing authority under 
this section, the Department shall seek the views of an 
On-Site Systems Advisory Board regarding licensing 
matters. The Board shall consist of six (6) eight (8) members 
designated by the Secretary.  The Board shall, if possible, 
have one (1) member who is a representative of the 
Department, one (l) member who is a Professional Engineer, 
one (1) member who is a Professional Geologist, one (1) 
member who is a representative of the USDA, one (1) 

member who is a Class D site evaluator, and one (1) member 
who is a Class E contractor, one (1) member who is a Class F 
Liquid Waste Hauler and one (1) member who is a Class H 
System Inspector. The members of the Board shall serve at 
the discretion of the Secretary. The Board shall advise the 
Department on matters relating to issuance of Class A, Class 
B, Class C, Class D, Class E, Class F, Class GB, and Class 
GC and Class H licenses.

4.07100 Upon adoption of these Regulations, the 
applicant for a license renewal shall submit with the renewal 
application proof that he/she has attended and/or 
satisfactorily completed a minimum of ten (10) hours of 
continuing education training relating to the wastewater 
industry.  This is to include siting, design, construction, 
operation and/or maintenance of on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal systems.  Class D site evaluators not 
ARCPAC certified must attend at least three (3) hours of soil 
related curriculum.  Any training must be sponsored by 
recognized governmental, educational or industrial groups 
which include equipment manufacturers and be approved by 
the OSSAB.  The number of hours of continuing education 
for first year licensee’s will be decided by the OSSAB and be 
based upon license issuance date.

4.07500 The Secretary may suspend or revoke the 
license of a Class A, B, C, D, E, F, GB, or GC or H licensee 
after considering the recommendations of the On-Site 
Systems Advisory Board and demonstration that the licensee 
has practiced fraud or deception; that reasonable care, 
judgment, or the application or their knowledge or ability 
was not used in performance of their duties; or that the 
licensee is incompetent or unable to perform their duties 
properly or;

(a) Violated any provision of these Regulations;
(b) Violated any lawful order or rule rendered or 

adopted by the Department;
(c) Obtained his/her license or any order, ruling, or 

authorization by means of fraud, misrepresentation, or 
concealment of material facts;

(d) Failure to obtain the necessary hours of 
continuing education training required by these Regulations;

(e) Been found guilty of misconduct in the pursuit 
of his/her profession

4.08000 Any person whose application for a license has 
been denied or person whose license has been suspended or 
revoked shall be notified in writing and provided reasons for 
the decision. Within twenty (20) days of notification, the 
person shall notify the Secretary, in writing, if an appeal 
pursuant to 7 Del.C., Chapter 60, Section 6008 is to be 
requested. If no appeal request is received within the 
designated period the decision shall become final.

4.09000 Licenses issued pursuant to this Section are not 
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transferable and shall expire on December 31st of each year. 
A license may be renewed yearly without examination for an 
ensuing year provided the licensee makes application for 
renewal by November 30th of each year, shows proof of the 
number of hours of continuing education training and pays 
any applicable renewal fees adopted by the Department.  If 
the licensee fails to renew the license he/she may reapply, 
without examination, within the first year.  If more than a 
year passes the licensee must reapply for the license and take 
all necessary examinations.  A reminder will be sent to the 
licensee to renew his/her license by the Department.  The 
reminder will be sent to the address on file for the licensee. It 
is the licensee’s responsibility to renew the license yearly 
and notify the Department of any changes.

SECTION 5.00000 - SITE EVALUATIONS AND 
PERMITS

5.01000 Site Evaluation Procedures
5.01010 A site evaluation is the first step in the process 

of obtaining a construction permit for an on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system.  Any person applying for a 
permit to install a new or replacement on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system shall first obtain a site 
evaluation report prepared by a Class D site evaluator.  The 
Department shall conduct site evaluations only for Home 
Rehabilitation Loan Programs (HRLP), block grant 
households, State Revolving Fund (SRF) sites and other 
qualifying income programs with similar criteria.

5.01020 Site evaluations performed for the purpose of 
siting large/community systems refer to the necessary 
criteria in Section 5.12000.

5.01025 Each report shall be completed in full and be 
accompanied, at a minimum, by approval page(s) (excluding 
sites not suitable for conventional on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal systems (OWTDS)), report page(s), 
site drawing, soil profile notes, zoning verification form and 
the appropriate fee.  The site evaluation report shall contain 
specific site conditions or limitations including, but not 
limited to, isolation and separation distances, slopes, existing 
wells, cuts and fills, and unstable landforms.

5.01028 The Class D site evaluator shall specify on the 
approval page the type of on-site wastewater treatment and 
disposal system that may be constructed in the acceptable 
on-site disposal area as indicated on the site drawing.  Any 
other on-site wastewater treatment and disposal options 
available in the evaluated area shall be specified by the Class 
D site evaluator.  The evaluator shall either assign a 
percolation rate or have the appropriate hydraulic 
conductivity or percolation test conducted in the proposed 
disposal area prior to submittal. 

5.01030 A site drawing drawn to scale showing the 
information referenced in Section 5.01080.  All site 

drawings drawings are required to show a reference point 
such as a numbered utility pole, telephone or electrical box, 
building(s), property corners or fixed survey marker.  A 
minimum of two reference points shall be noted on the site 
drawing when no land survey boundary stakes or markers 
are readily identifiable in the field, or if the site drawing is 
not based on a survey conducted by a licensed land surveyor. 
However, if the site drawing is based on a survey conducted 
by a licensed land surveyor, the property corner stakes or 
markers will suffice for identification of the parcel.  Site 
drawing(s) shall be based on an even number scale, not to 
exceed 1 inch equals 100 feet.  Any site drawing exceeding 
the dimensions of 8.5 inches X 11 inches must be submitted 
in duplicate.

5.01035 Showing the location of all on-site and adjacent 
wells within 150 feet of the approved soils area is the 
responsibility of the Class D site evaluator.  The following 
procedure shall be used in all cases when on-site or adjacent 
well(s) cannot be located.  For instances where the on-site or 
adjacent well(s) are below ground and the homeowner or 
adjacent property owner states that the well is located in a 
certain area, this information shall suffice for verification of 
well location.  Any well(s) that can not be verified must be 
researched through the Water Supply Section of the 
Department.  The search attempts to locate any well(s) that 
are near the affected parcel.  If, after this search is 
completed, the well location(s) cannot be identified the Class 
D site evaluator can state “records were researched under 
this property owner’s name and no information was found”. 
The Department then sends a letter to the adjacent well 
owners notifying them of the need to locate their well(s) due 
to the future installation of an on-site wastewater treatment 
and disposal system.  If no response is rendered within 
fifteen (15) days of receipt then the new system is to be 
designed to maximize the isolation distance from the 
property line.

5.01040 A site evaluation prescription shall follow an 
approach that includes consideration of topography, 
available area, slope gradient and uniformity, soil profile 
(thickness and depth of each horizon, color, percolation, 
absorption rate, redoximorphic features, texture (see Exhibit 
B), and zones of saturation), drinking water supplies, bodies 
of water, and shellfish growing areas.  All suitable soils 
within the evaluated area shall be delineated regardless of 
isolation distances, encumbrances and easement 
requirements as well as any of the above conditions which 
may exist.

5.01045 All soil borings, holes and/or pits shall be 
flagged, identified and adequately shown on the site 
drawing.

5.01060 In describing the soils and soil profile, the site 
evaluator shall adhere to the procedures and techniques 
provided in the latest edition of the Soil Survey Manual, 
USDA Agricultural Handbook No. 18, as published by the 
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U.S. Department of Agriculture.
5.01080 The report shall contain, at a minimum, a site 

drawing and observations of the following site 
characteristics, if present:

(a) Parcel size, location map of project site, 
configuration and approximate dimensions

(b) Slope - percent and direction
(c) Surface streams, springs or other bodies of 

water and their definition (i.e. shellfish, intermittent, 
ephemeral, etc.)

(d) Existing wells within 150 feet of approved 
soils area

(e) Escarpments
(f) Cuts and fills
(g) Unstable landforms
(h) A representative number of soil profile 

descriptions in the evaluated area(s) and shall identify the soil 
series or classification to the subgroup level (i.e. Sassafras or 
Typic Hapludult).  The geographic coordinates of each 
representative soil boring, a minimum of two (2), must be 
determined by a global positioning system. The coordinates 
should be reported in the following format – Latitude 
DD.ddddd & Longitude DD.ddddd – (5 decimal places are 
required for accuracy).

(i) Zones of saturation (as indicated by 
redoximorphic features) 

(j) Approved soils area(s)
(k) Encumbrances
(l) Central wastewater or water systems 

availability
(m) Any other applicable information such as 

hydric soils (if any recorded state or federal wetlands) or 
refer to Statewide Wetland Mapping Project (SWMP) 

(n) Any overhead utilities
(o) Existing dwellings

5.01100 The application/construction permit report may 
be submitted with the site evaluation, in an emergency 
situation, when there is a public health risk associated with a 
malfunctioning system.  The permit shall not be approved 
until the site evaluation is reviewed and complies with these 
Regulations.  Site evaluations needed to replace the 
malfunctioning system shall be given a priority review.  

5.01105 Once received, the report shall be reviewed for 
compliance with current Regulations by a DNREC 
Environmental Scientist with a soil science background. If 
the report is in non-compliance, the Class D site evaluator 
shall be notified.  The Class D site evaluator shall contact the 
Department to rectify the discrepancy.  The Department shall 
not modify any site evaluation report unless requested by the 
Class D site evaluator.  The corrections shall be submitted to 
the Department from the evaluator and a corrected copy to 
the owner, etc.  The review process, which may include a 
field check, shall take place within ten (10) working days of 
receipt.  (NOTE:  If approval cannot be issued within ten 

(10) working days, the property owner or authorized agent 
shall be notified of the delay and a tentative date of approval 
or denial shall be given).  Once approved, the report shall be 
mailed to the property owner or his/her authorized agent. A 
percentage of randomly chosen site evaluations submitted 
shall be field verified by DNREC staff.  Site evaluations’ 
requiring test pits should be reported to the Department prior 
to conducting the site evaluation.

5.01125 Approval of a site evaluation indicates only 
that the site evaluation was conducted in compliance with 
these Regulations.  It is not an indication of the correctness 
or quality of the site evaluation nor an indication that a 
permit can be issued.

5.01140 The approved site evaluation report shall 
indicate the type of the initial and type of replacement 
system for which the site is approved.

5.01170 Technical regulation changes shall not 
invalidate an approved site evaluation but may require the 
use of a different type of system.

5.01172 The approved site evaluation shall be valid for 
five (5) years from the date of the Department’s approval or 
the adoption of this Regulation revision unless a subdivision 
base plan restricting well and on-site wastewater treatment 
and disposal system locations has been approved by the 
Department and recorded in the local Recorder of Deeds 
Office.  After the five (5) year period, a site evaluation as 
outlined in Section 5.01080, shall be submitted to the 
Department for approval.  This site evaluation will be 
reviewed as outlined in Sections 5.01100 and 5.01105.

5.01176 Supplemental soil information submitted after 
the original site evaluation has been approved shall include a 
revised approval page, report page, soil profile notes, and 
revised site drawing locating supplemental borings/test pits. 
In all cases, the new report shall be approved provided all 
criteria for approval are met.  If the purpose of supplemental 
work is to change the type of system previously prescribed, 
another review fee shall be required. Likewise, any borings/
test pits conducted greater than 100 ft. from the previously 
approved area, with or without a system change, shall 
require a review fee.  On larger parcels, the area evaluated 
shall be delineated on the site drawing. 

5.01180 The Department shall issue a notice of its 
intention to deny a site evaluation when appropriate. 
Alternative technologies for on-site wastewater treatment 
and disposal systems, if appropriate, may be included in the 
letter.  The applicant still maintains his/her right to appeal 
the decision of the Secretary, within twenty (20) days of 
receipt, in accordance with 7 Del.C., Chapter 60, Section 
6008.

5.01190 A property owner or agent has the option to use 
observation wells and/or piezometers to demonstrate that 
redoximorphic features are not an indication of zones of 
saturation. The following procedures for the use of 
observation wells/piezometers to determine the depth and 
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duration of zones of saturation shall be implemented.

5.01200 Observation Wells/Piezometers
5.01210 Determining the zones of saturation using 

observation wells and/or piezometers follow these 
procedures:

(a) The property owner or authorized agent shall 
notify the Department, in writing, of the intent to use 
observation wells and/or piezometers to determine the zones 
of saturation.

(b) At least three (3) observation wells and/or 
piezometers shall be installed and monitored at a site.  If, in 
the judgment of the Department, more than three (3) are 
needed, the property owner or agent shall be notified in 
writing within ten (10) days of receipt of the letter of intent.

(c) The design illustrated in Exhibit Y shall be 
used when constructing observation wells and/or 
piezometers.  At least two (2) wells/piezometers shall extend 
to a depth of six (6) feet, at a minimum, below ground 
surface.  However, with layered mottled soil over permeable 
unmottled soil, at least one (1) well/piezometer shall 
terminate within the mottled layer.  Site conditions may, in 
some cases, require monitoring at greater depths.  It shall be 
the responsibility of the Class D site evaluator to determine 
the depth of the observation wells and/or piezometers for 
each site and, if in doubt, they shall request the guidance of 
the Department.

(d) All observation wells are required to be 
permitted in accordance with the current Regulations 
Governing the Construction and Use of Wells.

(e) Observation wells and/or piezometers shall be 
installed by or under the direct on-site supervision of a well 
driller licensed by the State of Delaware in accordance with 
the current Regulations Governing the Construction and Use 
of Wells.

(f) Monitoring of water levels shall be done by an 
individual who is licensed by the Division of Water 
Resources.  The property owner/agent or any relative shall 
not, at anytime, be allowed to monitor the water levels of 
these wells.

(g) The preferred monitoring is from December 1st

through May 15th of the following year to verify the depth 
and duration of the zones of saturation during years of near 
normal precipitation for fall, winter and spring seasons. 
However, the Class D site evaluator may, at his/her 
discretion, allow clients to install wells at any time he/she 
deems appropriate.  Depending on when peaks are observed, 
the State may or may not accept the monitoring for that 
season.  A near normal monitoring period is defined as a 
period that has plus or minus one standard deviation of the 
long term mean annual precipitation.  (Long term refers to 
30 or more years).  Also, the mean monthly precipitation 
during a normal period must be plus or minus one standard 

deviation of the long term monthly precipitation for 8 of the 
12 months.  For the most part, normal years can be 
calculated from the mean annual precipitation. 

(i) The Department shall field check the 
monitoring periodically during the time of expected 
saturated soil conditions at their discretion.

(ii) The Department may, at any time during 
the observation period, verify the observed water depth by 
conducting a soil boring next to, and of equal depth with, any 
of the observation wells/piezometers.  If the water level in 
the fresh boring, after twenty four (24) hours, presents a 
discrepancy with the water level observed in the well/
piezometer, then at the discretion of the Department, the data 
may be declared invalid.  If the data is declared invalid, then 
the Department will notify the owner in writing of the 
invalid data within ten (10) days of determination.

5.01220 When monitoring determines that the site is 
suitable, the Department will request that a new site 
evaluation be submitted.  The monitoring information must 
be incorporated into the new site evaluation.  An approved 
site evaluation report shall be issued indicating the 
appropriate system type(s).

5.01230 Observation wells and/or piezometers are 
required to be abandoned in accordance with the current 
Regulations Governing the Construction and Use of Wells.

5.01300 Site Interpretation Advisory Council
5.01310 The purpose of the Site Interpretation Advisory 

Council (Council) is to act as an objective peer group in the 
review of discrepancies between the Department and Class 
D site evaluators regarding questions of interpretation of soil 
and site information for the purpose of siting on-site 
wastewater treatment and disposal systems.

5.01320 The Council shall restrict its charge to those 
items normally and commonly addressed when conducting a 
site evaluation as discussed below. The Council specifically 
excludes instances regarding the engineering design and/or 
installation of on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
systems except when it is directly applied to the soil science 
practice.

(a) The description and interpretation of soil 
morphology in regard to the proper functioning of on-site 
wastewater treatment and disposal systems utilizing the soil 
as part of the treatment process.

(b) The characterization of lithologic and 
hydrologic limiting layers and geomorphology pertinent to 
the proper siting and functioning of on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal systems.

(c) The recognition and documentation of site 
limitations for the placement of on-site wastewater treatment 
and disposal systems (i.e. existing wells and on-site 
wastewater treatment and disposal systems) in accordance 
with standard practice in Delaware.  
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5.01330 The Site Interpretation Advisory Council shall 
be appointed by the Secretary and consist of the following 
members:

(a) Four (4) non-governmental Class D site 
evaluators actively practicing in the State of Delaware for 
two (2) or more years with one (1) acting as an alternate.

(b) One (1) employee of the Department with soils 
and on-site wastewater industry expertise.

(c) One (1) soil scientist designated by the State 
Conservationist through the State Soil Scientist, NRCS, 
USDA.

(d) A Manager of the Ground Water Discharges 
Section (GWDS), DNREC, shall serve as a liaison to the 
Council without voting privileges.

(e) All members shall serve three (3) year terms. 
Procedures shall be established by the Council to stagger 
terms so as to provide continuity.  

5.01340 Documentation and testimony regarding a 
review shall be submitted to the Council.  After the initial 
review by the Council, a determination shall be made as to 
whether sufficient information has been submitted to render 
an informed decision.  The Council may request additional 
information from the applicant before proceeding with the 
review.  There shall be no cost to the Council for any 
information submitted.

5.01350 Within thirty (30) days from receipt of the 
documentation, the Council shall render a decision, based on 
a simple majority vote, regarding which system(s), if any, 
are suitable under the Delaware Regulations.

5.01360 A site visit shall be conducted by at least four 
(4) members of the Council.  The applicant is responsible for 
all costs that may be incurred.  Council members shall not be 
reimbursed for any expenses.

5.01370 Any decision rendered by the Council shall be 
considered by the Secretary and may be a deciding factor in 
his/her decision.  The applicant still maintains his/her right 
to appeal the decision of the Secretary in accordance with 7 
Del.C., Chapter 60, Section 6008.

5.01380 The Council shall designate one of its members 
representing the private sector to serve as chairperson for a 
period of one year. The chairperson, or his/her designee, 
serving as the principal contact person between the Council 
and a Manager of the Ground Water Discharges Section 
(GWDS), shall perform the following duties:

(a) Call and preside at all Council meetings.  (A 
GWDS Manager may also call a meeting, but is not entitled 
to preside at a Council meeting.)

(b) Upon receipt of a request, poll the Council 
members and communicate the results to the GWDS 
Manager calling a Council meeting when appropriate.  (This 
function may also be performed by the GWDS Manager, 
when necessary.)

(c) Prepare a letter communicating the Council’s 
decision in each case. (The letter shall be sent within fifteen 

(15) working days after the Council’s decision to the GWDS 
Manager for signature and returned for mailing within three 
(3) working days.)

5.01390 The following services shall be furnished by 
the DNREC to facilitate the operation of this Council:

(a) A Manager of the Ground Water Discharges 
Section shall represent the Section’s position at all Council 
meetings.

(b) All submittals for consideration shall be 
circulated to the Council under the direction of the GWDS 
Manager within ten (10) working days.

(c) A GWDS Manager, at the request of the 
Council chairperson, shall reserve space in the DNREC 
facilities for Council meetings.

(d) The DNREC shall provide clerical services for 
record keeping.  Records of the Council meetings shall be 
furnished to all Council members within fifteen (15) 
working days following the meetings. 

(e) The clerical person shall prepare and mail the 
decisions of the Council upon receipt from the chairperson.   

5.01400 The Council shall restrict reviews to those 
submittals directly affected by the expertise of the NRCS 
soil scientist’s decision, using one of the following two (2) 
methods:

(a) A submittal from the Secretary, DNREC; or
(b) A submittal from a Class D site evaluator.

5.01410 All submittals shall be circulated to the Council 
membership. A majority vote of the Council is required for 
any submittal to be accepted for Council review.

5.02000 Permit Application Procedures - General 
Requirements

5.02010 No person shall cause or allow construction, 
alteration, or repair of a system, or any part thereof, without 
a permit. An exception may be allowed for certain 
emergency repairs as set forth in these Regulations.

5.02015 Permit applications must be designed in 
accordance with the prescribed system type and design 
considerations as specified on an approved site evaluation or 
Soils Investigative Report for that parcel.

5.02020 Applications for permits shall be made by the 
owner of the property or the owner's legally authorized agent 
on forms approved by the Department.

5.02030 An application is complete only when the form 
is completed in full, signed by the owner or the owner's 
legally authorized agent, accompanied by all required 
exhibits (provided an approved site evaluation report is on 
file) and fee.  Also, a form from the appropriate 
governmental unit having jurisdiction and a statement from 
the local governmental unit approving the activity by zoning. 
Incomplete applications will not be processed and may be 
returned.

5.02050 The Department shall deny the permit if:
(a) The application contains false information;
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(b) The proposed system would not comply with 
these Regulations;

(c) The proposed system, if constructed, would 
violate a Department moratorium;

(d) A central wastewater system which can serve 
the proposed wastewater flow is both legally and physically 
available as described in Sections 5.02060 and 5.02070 of 
these Regulations;

(e) Construction of an on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system is prohibited by codes, 
ordinances or county or municipal regulations having 
jurisdiction

5.02055 The completed application shall include, at a 
minimum, the following site information;

(a) Parcel and/or lot dimensions and size with a 
location map of project site;

(b) Slope - in absorption facility and replacement 
areas (percent and direction);

(c) Existing wells within 150 feet of the proposed 
system;

(d) Any and all watercourses or bodies of water;
(e) Distances of the on-site well(s) and on-site 

wastewater treatment and disposal systems from the nearest 
two fixed points of reference.  Points of reference as defined 
in Section 5.01030;

(f) Soil boring and test pit locations along with 
limits of approved area as indicated on the approved site 
evaluation;

(g) Any other information required to satisfy these 
Regulations 

5.02060 A central wastewater system shall be deemed 
physically available if its nearest connection point from the 
property to be served is:

(a) For a single family dwelling, or other 
establishment with a maximum projected daily wastewater 
flow of not more than five hundred (500) gallons within two 
hundred (200) feet;

(b) For a proposed subdivision or group of two (2) 
to five (5) single family dwellings, or equivalent projected 
daily wastewater flow, not further than two hundred (200) 
feet multiplied by the number of dwellings or dwelling 
equivalents.

(c) For proposed subdivision or other 
developments with more than five (5) single family 
dwellings, or equivalents, the determination of central 
wastewater availability shall be in the sole discretion of the 
Department.

However, a central wastewater system shall not be 
considered available by the Department if topographic or 
manmade features make connection physically impractical.

5.02070 A central wastewater system shall be deemed 
legally available if the system is not under a Department 
connection permit moratorium and the wastewater system 
owner is willing or obligated to provide sewer service.

5.02075 When a central wastewater system is deemed 
both physically and legally available, as outlined in Sections 
5.02060 and 5.02070, the connection must occur within a 
timeframe as set forth by the wastewater system owner.  The 
existing on-site wastewater treatment and disposal system 
must be abandoned in accordance with Section 5.06000.

5.02080 A permit shall be issued only to the owner or 
easement holder of the land on which the system is to be 
installed.

5.02090 The Department shall either issue or deny the 
permit within twenty (20) working days after receipt of the 
completed application. However, if conditions prevent the 
Department from acting to either issue or deny the permit 
within twenty (20) working days, the applicant shall be 
notified. The Department shall either issue or return the 
permit within thirty (30) working days after the mailing date 
of such notification.

5.02100 All permits issued for on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal systems pursuant to these Regulations 
shall be effective for two (2) years from the date of issuance. 
If the system has been started the Department may issue a 
limited time period extension.  A one year extension will, if 
requested, be granted by the Department upon demonstration 
by the applicant that no changes have occurred in system 
design, siting, or regulations applicable to the permit since 
the permit was issued and written certification to such 
factual findings is provided and all appropriate fees are paid. 

5.02105 If any portion of the approved disposal area is 
disturbed during site construction activities, through grubbing, 
tree removal or other activities utilizing heavy equipment, a 
Class E system contractor must submit a certification 
document, if necessary, prepared by a Class D site evaluator 
on a form provided by the Department which states whether 
the area is suitable for installation or not.  If not suitable, 
additional soil borings or test pits shall be performed within 
the disturbed area(s) to substantiate the initial site evaluation.

5.03000 Permit Denial Review
5.03010 The Department shall make a decision on the 

application which it determines will best implement the 
purposes of 7 Del.C., Chapter 60 and these Regulations. 
Providing of the requisite information in the application 
procedure by the applicant shall not be construed as a 
mandatory prerequisite for the issuance of the permit by the 
Department.

5.03020 Permit denials for systems and denial reviews 
may be appealed to the Environmental Appeals Board in 
accordance with 7 Del. C., Chapter 60, Section 6008.

5.03030 If the Department intends to deny a permit for a 
parcel of ten (10) acres or larger in size, the Department 
shall:

(a) Provide the applicant with a Notice of Intent to 
Deny;

(b) Specify reasons for the intended denial; and
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(c) Offer an appeals process in accordance with 7 
Del. C., Chapter 60, Section 6008.

5.04000 Inspections
5.04001 Construction Inspections
5.04005 The Class E contractor shall contact the 

Department 24 hours prior to system construction to obtain a 
startup number to authorize the construction.

5.04006 Changes to a permit which result in only a 
relocation of the system can be done by submitting a pre-
inspection as-built, which requires a minimal check against 
the site evaluation to ensure the system is still located within 
approved soils and that all required isolation distances are 
met.  These “as-builts” are to be submitted to the Department 
by the Class E contractor prior to installation.  The Class E 
contractor must obtain permission from the designer prior to 
submittal.

5.04010 When construction, alteration or repair of a 
system is complete, except for backfill (cover), or as 
required by permit, the Class E contractor shall notify the 
Department. The inspector shall inspect the installation to 
determine if it complies with these Regulations and the terms 
and conditions of the permit, unless the inspection is waived 
by the Department in accordance with Section 5.04020.

5.04013 It is the responsibility of the Class E contractor 
to confirm the results of the pre-cover inspection prior to 
backfilling the system.

5.04017 An inspector shall be either:
(a) An employee of the Ground Water Discharges 

Section;
(b) A Class C designer or his/her designee.  The 

Class C designer must submit a list of authorized personnel, 
on company letterhead, to the Department for review and 
approval.

(c) Any person officially authorized by the 
Department to perform inspections of on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal systems.

5.04020 The Department may waive the pre-cover 
inspection, provided:

(a) The installation is an gravity fed on-site 
wastewater treatment and disposal system installed by a 
licensed person pursuant to these Regulations; and

(b) After system completion the installer provides 
a construction report which certifies in writing that the 
system complies with the Department's Regulations.  If any 
changes were made to the system the contractor must 
provide a detailed “as-built” plan (drawn to scale).

5.04021 Failure to comply with Departmental 
Regulations and the conditions of the permit will result in 
verbal notification to the Class E contractor.  Failure to 
correct deficiencies within ten (10) calendar days (weather 
permitting) will result in written notification of such to both 
the Class E contractor and permittee.  Additional inspections 
may be required by the Department. 

5.04023 Once a system has received a satisfactory pre-
cover inspection or authorization to cover without a 
Departmental inspection, the system may be covered as 
specified in the approved permit.  Backfilling must be 
completed within ten (10) calendar days of a satisfactory 
pre-cover inspection, weather permitting.

5.04027 Systems requiring earthen caps and all mound 
systems shall require a final cover inspection pursuant to 
Section 5.04010 or 5.04020.  Capping of systems must be 
completed within ten (10) calendar days of a satisfactory 
pre-cover inspection or authorization to cover without 
Departmental inspection, weather permitting.

5.04033 Inspections performed by Class C designers 
shall conform to guidelines established by the Department. 

5.04037 In situations where the Class C designer is not 
comfortable approving a system, he/she is to contact the 
Department immediately.

5.04040 Existing System Inspections
5.04045 An existing system inspector shall be either:

(a) An employee of the Ground Water Discharges 
Section; or

(b) A Class H system inspector; or
(c) Any person officially authorized by the 

Department to perform inspections of on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal systems.

5.05000 Certificate of Satisfactory Completion
5.05010 The Department shall issue a Certificate of 

Satisfactory Completion, if, upon inspection of the 
installation, the system complies with the Department's 
Regulations, the conditions of the permit, and a construction 
report is submitted to the Department.

5.05030 A system shall be backfilled (covered) when:
(a) The Class E contractor is notified by the 

Department that inspection has been waived; or
(b) The inspection has been done and authorization 

has been granted to cover the system
5.05040 Corrections necessary to meet requirements for 

satisfactory completion shall be made within seven (7) 
calendar days after written notification by the Department, 
unless otherwise required.

5.05060 A Certificate of Satisfactory Completion shall 
be valid for a period of two (2) years from the date of 
issuance. After the two (2) year period, the Regulations for 
Authorization to Use an Existing System Permit or 
Alteration Permit apply.

5.05070 Denial of a Certificate of Satisfactory 
Completion may be appealed in accordance with 7 Del.C.,
Chapter 60, Section 6008.

5.05080 If the system has been placed into operation 
without the required Certificate of Satisfactory Completion, 
a Notice of Non-Compliance shall be issued to the owner 
and must be corrected within ten (10) calendar days or 
system must be abandoned in accordance with Section 
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5.06020.

5.06000 Abandonment of Systems
5.06005 General Requirements

(a) All systems shall be abandoned by a Class E 
contractor or other governmental appointee.

(b) Within ten (10) calendar days of abandonment, 
the Class E contractor shall submit a System Abandonment 
Report on a form provided by the Department (see Exhibit 
Z).  The report shall be filled out completely and signed by 
the contractor.

5.06010 The system shall be properly abandoned when:
(a) A central wastewater system becomes 

available and the building sewer has been connected thereto; 
or

(b) The source of wastewater has been 
permanently eliminated; or

(c) The system has been operated in violation of 
these Regulations, until a repair permit and Certificate of 
Satisfactory Completion are subsequently issued; or

(d) The system has been constructed, installed, 
altered, or repaired without a required permit authorizing 
same, unless, and until a permit is subsequently issued

5.06020 Procedures for Abandonment:
(a) The septic tank, cesspool or other treatment 

unit shall be pumped by a Class F liquid waste hauler to 
remove all of the contents;

(b) The septic tank, cesspool or other treatment 
unit shall be removed or filled with sand, bank run gravel, or 
other material approved by the Department;

(c) The system building sewer shall be 
permanently capped

5.07000 Authorization to Use an Existing System Permit
5.07010 Application for an Authorization to Use an 

Existing System Permit shall be made on forms provided by 
the Department and shall be accepted only when the forms 
are complete.

5.07020 No person shall place into service, change the 
use of or increase the projected daily wastewater flow above 
design standards into an existing system without first 
obtaining an Authorization to Use an Existing System Permit 
or Alteration, Repair or Replacement Permit as appropriate.

5.07030 An Authorization to Use an Existing System 
Permit is not required:

(a) Where there is a replacement of a 
manufactured home with similar units in manufactured home 
communities with on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
systems when an annual inspection has taken place by the 
Department or an authorized designee certifying that the 
existing system(s) is/are not malfunctioning.

(b) For use of a previously unused system for 
which a Certificate of Satisfactory Completion has been 
issued within one (l) year of the date that such system is 

placed into service, provided the projected daily wastewater 
flow does not exceed the design flow.

5.07040 For changes in the use of an existing system 
where no increase in wastewater flow above design 
standards is projected, or where the design flow is not 
exceeded an Authorization to Use an Existing System Permit 
shall be issued if:

(a) The existing system is not malfunctioning; and
(b) All isolation distances from the existing system 

can be maintained; and
(c) The proposed use would not create a public 

health hazard; and
(d) If the Department has no record of an existing 

on-site wastewater treatment and disposal system, no 
connection to that system shall be permitted until an 
inspection has been performed provided the following are 
uncovered and left uncovered prior to the inspection:

(i) Septic tank
(ii) Distribution box
(iii) Corners of each trench or the bed 

(additional area may be required upon inspection)
5.07050 If the conditions of Section 5.07040 cannot be 

met, an Authorization to Use an Existing System Permit 
shall be withheld until such time as alterations and/or repairs 
to the system are made.

5.07060 For changes in the use of a system where 
projected daily wastewater flows would be increased above 
design criteria an Alteration, Repair or Replacement permit 
must be obtained.

5.07070 The Department may allow a manufactured 
home to use an existing system serving another dwelling, in 
order to provide temporary housing for a family member 
suffering hardship, by issuing an Authorization to Use an 
Existing System Permit, if:

(a) The Department receives satisfactory evidence 
which indicates the family member is suffering physical or 
mental impairment, infirmity, or is otherwise disabled and is 
in need of temporary housing; and

(b) The system is not malfunctioning; and
(c) The application is for a manufactured home; 

and
(d) Evidence is provided that a hardship 

manufactured home placement is allowed on the subject 
property by the governmental agency that regulates zoning, 
land use planning, and/or building; and

(e) A full system replacement area is available 
according to an approved site evaluation

5.07080 An Authorization to Use an Existing System 
Permit issued for personal hardship shall remain in effect for 
a specified period, not to exceed cessation of the hardship. 
The Department shall impose conditions in the 
Authorization to Use an Existing System Permit that are 
necessary to ensure protection of public health. If the system 
fails and additional replacement area is no longer available, 
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the manufactured home must be removed from the property.

5.08000 Alteration of Existing Systems:
5.08010 No person shall alter or increase the design 

capacity of an existing system without first obtaining an 
Alteration Permit.

5.08020 No person shall increase the projected daily 
wastewater flow into an existing system beyond the design 
capacity of the system until an Alteration Permit is obtained.

5.08030 The Department may issue an Alteration 
Permit if:

(a) The existing system is not malfunctioning; and
(b) An approved site evaluation report has been 

obtained; and
(c) The proposed installation will be in compliance 

with these Regulations
5.08040 Upon completion of installation of that part of 

a system for which an Alteration Permit has been issued, the 
permittee shall obtain a Certificate of Satisfactory 
Completion from the Department.

5.09000 Repair and Replacement of Existing Systems
5.09010 Steps to repair a malfunctioning system shall 

be initiated immediately and continued until system repair is 
completed.  However, if, at the sole discretion of the 
Department, it is determined that adverse soil conditions 
exist due to climatic conditions that would likely preclude a 
successful repair, the Department may allow a delay in 
commencing repairs until the soil conditions improve.  If this 
allowance is made, a compliance date and interim system 
maintenance requirements shall be specified in system 
construction deficiencies to the system owner. 

5.09020 No person shall repair a malfunctioning system 
without first obtaining a Repair Permit.  Emergency repairs 
of broken system components, as specifically defined in 
these Regulations (see Section 2.01260), may be made 
without first obtaining a permit provided a permit is applied 
for within three (3) working days after the emergency repairs 
are begun. Such a delayed application submittal does not 
relieve any person from complying with subsequent 
requirements or conditions of approval as may be imposed 
by the Department.

5.09030 Upon completion of installation of that part of 
a system for which a Repair Permit has been issued, the 
permittee shall obtain a Certificate of Satisfactory 
Completion from the Department.

5.09040 The following criteria for a Repair or 
Replacement Permit shall apply:

(a) If the site characteristics and standards 
described in these Regulations can be met, then the repair 
installation shall conform to them.

(b) If the site characteristics or standards described 
in these Regulations cannot be met, the Department may 
allow a reasonable repair or replacement installation in order 

to eliminate a public health hazard. Reasonable repairs or 
replacements may require the installation of an alternative 
system in order to eliminate a public health hazard.  In such 
cases the Department shall use its best professional judgment 
in approving repairs or replacements that will reasonably 
enable the system to function properly.

5.09050 Malfunctioning systems that cannot be repaired 
shall be abandoned in accordance with these Regulations.

5.10000 Alternative Wastewater Treatment and Disposal 
Systems

5.10010 Alternative technology on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal systems may be appropriate for areas 
where site constraints limit the suitability for conventional 
system types. The Department shall consider applications for 
alternative wastewater treatment and disposal systems on a 
case-by-case basis.  It is the policy of the Department to 
pursue a program of experimentation for the purpose of 
obtaining sufficient data for the development of alternative 
wastewater treatment and disposal systems, which may 
benefit the people of Delaware. For the purposes of this 
section, applications for community systems that employ 
advanced treatment units which are in conformance with 
standard engineering practice as determined by the 
Department shall not be considered alternative.

5.10015 Applications for alternative wastewater 
treatment and disposal systems shall provide documentation 
of the capabilities of the proposed system. Such 
documentation shall be in the form of proven data of long 
term usage of facilities similar to those specified in these 
Regulations, or short term documentation from controlled 
projects from reliable sources such as Universities or the 
National Sanitation Foundation. The Department shall 
approve only treatment and disposal system applications that 
provide thorough documentation of proven technology. 
Alternative wastewater treatment and disposal systems shall 
provide, at a minimum, an equivalent level of treatment and 
disposal as a conventional wastewater system.  Alternative 
wastewater products will require the same documentation as 
above however, these will not require a Class C designer to 
incorporate into a design.

5.10020 No person shall construct an alternative on-site 
wastewater treatment and disposal system without obtaining 
a permit from the Department.

5.10030 Applications for alternative systems shall be 
made to the Department. The application shall be complete, 
signed by the owner and accompanied by the required fee. 
The application shall include detailed system design 
specifications, plans and any additional information 
requested by the Department.

5.10035 Applications for alternative wastewater 
treatment and disposal systems shall include, but not be 
limited to, the following:

(a) Volume and rate of wastewater flow
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(b) Characteristics of the wastewater
(c) The degree and extent of treatment expected
(d) Design criteria, specifications, and drawings 

including a description of the system, its capabilities, 
operation and maintenance requirements, unique technical 
features and system advantages for treatment systems

(e) Construction materials
(f) Operational and maintenance details along 

with their requirements
(g) The seal of a Professional Engineer having a 

Class C license may be required
(h) Any other information required by the 

Department
5.10040 Sites may be considered for Alternative System 

Permits where:
(a) Soils, climate, ground water, or topographical 

conditions are indicating the seasonal high water table or a 
limiting condition is encountered deeper than ten (10) inches 
below the soil surface or observation well data determines 
the seasonal high water table is deeper than ten (10) inches; 
and

(b) A specific acceptable backup alternative is 
available in the event of system failure; and

(c) Installation of a particular system is necessary 
to provide a sufficient sampling data base; and

(d) Zoning, planning, and building requirements 
allow system installation; and

(e) The system will be used on a continuous basis 
during the life of the project

5.10050 The permit shall:
(a) Specify method and manner of system 

installation, operation and maintenance;
(b) Specify method, manner and duration of 

system testing and monitoring, at the Department’s 
discretion;

(c) Identify when and where the system is to be 
inspected;

(d) Require system construction and use within 
two (2) years of permit issuance 

5.10060 Inspection of all installed systems shall be 
performed by a Class C designer and the Department.  Upon 
completion of each phase requiring inspection by the permit, 
the Class E contractor shall notify the Department and the 
Class C designer.

5.10070 The Department may inspect construction at 
any time to determine whether it complies with permit 
conditions and requirements.

5.10080 After system installation is complete and the 
Department has determined that it complies with permit 
conditions, a Certificate of Satisfactory Completion shall be 
issued.

5.10090 If the Department finds the operation of the 
system is unsatisfactory, the owner, upon written notification 
by the Department shall promptly repair or modify the 

system, replace it with another acceptable system, or 
abandon the system.

5.10100 The system will be monitored by the 
Department and/or the Department’s designee in accordance 
with a schedule contained in the permit.

5.10110 Should any additional guidelines be developed 
by the Department, the permitee would be responsible for 
meeting these guidelines.

5.11000 Community Systems
5.11010 Without first applying for and obtaining a 

construction permit, no person shall install a community 
on-site wastewater treatment and disposal system.

5.11015 A community on-site wastewater treatment and 
disposal system shall be required when any of the following 
conditions exist:

(a) Lot size is less than two (2) acres and more 
than 55% of the subdivision or planned unit development 
contains soil interpretative units identified as being suitable 
for on-site wastewater treatment and disposal systems that 
require pressurization Proposed number of dwelling units is 
two hundred (200); or

(b) Where overall density of the subdivision or 
planned unit development is more than one dwelling unit per 
½ acre.

5.11020 Applications for permits to construct 
community on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
systems shall provide documentation which addresses 
ownership, transfer of ownership, maintenance, repairs, 
operation, performance and funding of the on-site 
wastewater treatment and disposal system through the design 
life of the system. This documentation shall be in the form of 
a Binding Agreement between the applicant for the 
construction permit, the "permittee", and an operator or 
owner/operator.  The Binding Agreement must:

(a) Identify an Operator or Operator and Owner 
(Operator) that will assume the operation, management, 
maintenance and repairs of the community on-site 
wastewater and disposal system, "the wastewater system", 
upon satisfactory completion of the construction, by 
providing:

(1) Full name and business address of the 
Operator;

(2) A description of the Operator’s 
experience, training and education in the wastewater 
treatment and disposal industry, together with any 
supporting data regarding the Operator’s qualifications in the 
industry;

(3) Proof of the Operator’s financial solvency 
by providing a business financial statement (including 
balance sheet) that is not more than six (6) months old, and a 
statement of financial encumbrances;

(4) A list of licensed wastewater treatment 
facility operators employed by the Operator
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(b) Identify the terms and conditions under which 
the Operator shall assume operational responsibility or 
ownership of the wastewater system.

(c) Provide a detailed description of the 
wastewater system.

(d) Disclose any existing encumbrances, liens or 
other indebtedness to the title of the wastewater system.

(e) Provide an operating budget with sufficient 
funds for the proper operation and maintenance of the 
wastewater system, including the accumulation of funds 
necessary to provide for repair or replacement of mechanical 
components of the wastewater system based on 
manufacturer recommendation.  The operating budget shall 
include the establishment of an escrow account to be used 
exclusively for repair and replacement of failed or failing 
components of the wastewater system.  The escrow account 
may not be used for phasing construction or the expansion of 
the wastewater system to accommodate additional 
residential units. 

(1) The value of the escrow account shall be 
equivalent to 25% of the cost of all mechanical equipment 
(e.g., pumps, flow meters, aerators, blowers, gear boxes, 
etc.) plus 50% of the cost of construction of the wastewater 
treatment and disposal system (e.g., infiltration beds, 
trenches, etc.).

(2) Funds shall be deposited into the escrow 
account as residential units are connected to the wastewater 
system.  The amount of funds deposited shall be equivalent 
to the percentage of units connected to the wastewater 
system (i.e., at 50% of build-out, the balance of the escrow 
account shall equal 50% of the amount established in 1, 
above).

(3) The escrow account shall be transferred to 
either the owner/operator or an established Homeowners 
Association upon satisfactory completion of construction of 
the wastewater system.

(4) The owner of the wastewater system shall 
notify the Department, in writing, of intent to access funds 
from the escrow account.  The escrow funds may not be used 
without prior approval of the Department.  When escrow 
funds are used for the repair and/or replacement of 
mechanical equipment, the owner must submit a plan for the 
reestablishment of the escrow fund balance through the use 
of user fees or other sources.

(5) The escrow account established for a 
community or a development can only be used for the 
community or development for which it was established. 
Accounts for non-contiguous communities or developments 
may not be co-mingled.

(6) If the community wastewater system for 
which the escrow account was established is abandoned, and 
the community development connects to a regional or 
municipal wastewater treatment facility, the escrow account 
may be reduced to cover 25% of the replacement cost of all 

mechanical equipment associated with the transmission and 
conveyance sewer lines.  If the transmission and conveyance 
sewer lines are all gravity lines, with no lift stations, pumps, 
or other mechanical equipment, the escrow account may be 
terminated and the funds returned to the wastewater system 
owner.

(f) Be approved by the Department and fully 
executed before a construction permit is issued by the 
Department.

(g) The Department shall have the right to inspect 
and review the financial records of the owner of the 
wastewater system, to include the operating budget, escrow 
account, and financial statements.

5.11021 An application for a permit to construct a 
community system Prior to initiation of construction of any 
part or component of the community system the permittee
shall provide the Department with an executed performance 
bond, irrevocable letter of credit, or other security, as 
approved by the Department, for every wastewater system 
they are constructing.  The performance bond shall be made 
payable to the Department and the obligation of the 
performance bond shall be conditioned upon the fulfillment 
of all requirements related to the construction permit.  Terms 
of the performance bond shall be:

(a) The amount shall be equivalent to 50% of the 
construction cost of the wastewater system (excluding the 
conveyance system and its appurtenances), but in no case 
shall it be less than $25,000 nor more than $100,000 for any 
single community system.

(b) A performance bond is not required for any 
local, municipal, county, state, federal government agency, 
non-profit association representing property owners, 
political subdivision, or utility that is regulated by the Public 
Service Commission.

(c) Liability under the performance bond shall run 
to the State for a continuous period.  The Department shall 
release the bond only after the wastewater system has been 
constructed in accordance with approved plans and has been 
turned over to an established homeowners association, their 
designee, or exempted trustee identified in Section 
5.11021(b) above, provided the requirements of Section 
5.11021(g) are met.

(d) The performance bond shall be executed by the 
permittee through a corporate surety licensed to do business 
in the State of Delaware.  In lieu of a performance bond, the 
permittee may elect to provide an original irrevocable letter 
of credit equal to the required sum of the performance bond.

(e) The obligation of the permittee under the 
performance bond shall become due and payable for the 
purposes of properly fulfilling the requirements of the permit 
when the Department has:

(1) Notified the permittee that the conditions 
of the permit have not been fulfilled and specified the 
specific deficiencies in the fulfillment of the permit 
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conditions;
(2) Given the permittee a reasonable 

opportunity to correct the deficiencies and to fulfill all the 
conditions of the permit; and

(3) Determined that, at the end of a reasonable 
length of time, some or all of the deficiencies specified under 
Section 5.11021(e)(1) above remain uncorrected.

(f) The Department has the authority to designate 
a new Operator in the event that the provisions of Section 
5.11021(e) have been implemented.  Upon formal transfer of 
ownership of a community wastewater system to an entity 
identified in 5.11021(b), the performance bond requirement 
shall cease, provided the Department has determined that the 
wastewater system has been constructed in accordance with 
approved plans and is operating properly.

(g) Once the Department has verified that the 
wastewater system has been constructed in accordance with 
approved plans, the owner may apply for a permit to operate 
the system.

5.11022 The permit application shall also include the 
following documents for legal review by the Department;

(a) A Purchase and Sale Agreement -- which 
specifies that the purchaser or a dwelling unit has an 
encumbrance on the title for wastewater treatment and 
disposal system operation fees, easements, and other 
assessments related to the community system.

(b) An Acknowledgment of Buyer -- which is 
appended to the Purchase and Sale Agreement and signed by 
the buyer after being furnished copies of appropriate 
agreements, covenants, restrictions, Articles of 
Incorporation and Bylaws of the Owners’ Association, and 
indicates understanding that the buyer is obligated to pay 
assessments for maintaining the community system.

(c) The Articles of Incorporation -- which 
establishes the owner's association as a state-chartered, 
nonprofit corporation and gives the owners' association 
specific authority to operate, maintain, and repair the 
community system; to collect fees and special assessments; 
and to enforce any covenants, restrictions, or agreements.

(d) The Bylaws of the Owners' Association -- 
which govern the operation of the owners' association and 
specifically authorizes the Board of Directors to supervise 
the operation and maintenance of the community system, 
collect fees and special assessments, and to take appropriate 
action when the public health is imperiled by the 
malfunctioning of the community system.

(e) A Declaration of Covenants, Restrictions, and 
Easements -- which establishes, among many other 
limitations, the easements for the on-site sewage collection, 
treatment, and disposal system, and specifies responsibilities 
of the developers, their successors or assigns, and any owners' 
association regarding the community system. It further sets 
the fees and assessments for operation and maintenance of the 
community system.

5.11023 For developments that do not contain 
homeowners’ associations, the above list of documents may 
be modified, at the Department’s discretion, to include only 
those documents that are applicable.

5.11025 All community systems that are owned solely 
by one owner, partnership or corporation, who own the 
property that the system will be installed on must execute a 
Declaration of Covenants, Restrictions and Easements 
(DCR).  The DCR must be notarized and recorded at the 
County’s Office of the Recorder of Deeds after it has been 
approved by the Department.  The recorded copy should 
then be returned to the Department.  Community systems 
meeting this requirement shall be exempt from Sections 
5.11020, 5.11021 and 5.11022.

5.11030 The site criteria for approval of community 
systems shall be the same as required for large systems (see 
Section 5.12000).

5.11040 Responsibility for operation and maintenance 
of community systems shall be vested in a governmental unit 
or a Council on behalf of the unit property owners pursuant 
to 25 Del.C., Chapter 22 or for subdivisions with an owners' 
association duly incorporated within the State with specific 
authority to operate, maintain, and repair the community 
system, to collect fees and special assessments and to 
enforce any covenants, restrictions or agreements (see 
Section 5.11021).

5.11050 Unless otherwise required by permit, 
community systems shall be inspected, at least annually, by 
the responsible person.

5.11060 A private wastewater utility corporation may 
be permitted subject to the following provisions:

(a) It must be duly incorporated within the State 
and remain in good standing.

(b) It must remain financially solvent on a 
continuous basis through a method of financing 
construction, maintenance, operation, and emergency work 
related to the community system to the exclusion of 
whatever other obligations the corporation may assume in 
other fields.  A certification of compliance with this 
provision shall be provided to the Department annually.

(c) There must be a person as identified under 
Section 5.11040 to whom control and operation of the 
community system will pass in trusteeship in the event no 
persons are willing to serve as officers of the private utility 
corporation. Such person shall have the opportunity to 
review and comment on plans and specifications and 
perform inspections during construction. They shall also be 
notified of any future construction or major repairs.

(d) Funds collected for operation and maintenance 
of the system must be kept in an account to be used for the 
sole purpose of carrying out the functions of the community 
system.

(e) There shall be lien powers to assure the 
collection of delinquent debts.
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5.12000 Large Systems
5.12005 Unless otherwise authorized by the 

Department, all soils and siting criteria for large systems 
shall comply with the following requirements:

(a) A Soil Investigative Report (SIR) shall be filed 
with the Department’s Large Systems Branch setting forth 
the proposed manner of compliance with these Regulations. 
The SIR shall contain the following:

1. Site plan drawn to scale not to exceed one 
(1) inch equals two hundred (200) feet

2. A topographic map with two (2) foot 
contour intervals unless the Department approves the use of 
an alternate scale

3. Location of all wells, watercourses, roads 
and on-site wastewater treatment and disposal systems 
within one hundred fifty (150) feet of the perimeter of the 
proposed disposal area

4. The proposed disposal area shall be 
mapped on a grid pattern of not more than seventy five (75) 
feet between observations using a combination of auger 
borings and test pits

5. A description of the hydrologic properties 
of the water table/surficial aquifer, including estimates of 
horizontal and vertical hydraulic conductivity, ground water 
flow direction, and water table elevations or depth to water 
table measurements.  This information can be obtained from 
readily available published data.

6. A representative number of hydraulic 
conductivity tests (minimum single-ring) shall be conducted 
within the proposed disposal area (PDA), based upon soil 
variability.  These tests must be performed within the most 
restrictive horizon per mapping unit within the PDA.

7. Determination of an appropriate design 
percolation rate based upon hydraulic conductivity tests, soil 
characteristics (textures, structure, etc.) and number of 
mapping units within the PDA (Certain site specific 
conditions may not warrant the testing, contact the 
Department to discuss)

8. Depth of the limiting zone and the results 
of the site and soil analysis provided on the appropriate 
forms (ie. Approval page)

9. Number of proposed lots, dwellings or 
expected gal/day flow and loading rate

10. The preliminary plan shall include a 
general site location map to identify the area

11. The location of any jurisdictional wetlands 
(State and/or Federal), if delineated

12. Identification of any limitation that could 
affect system performance and design consideration

13. The Department shall approve the SIR 
after any and all concerns have been addressed

(b)  The applicant shall provide a Preliminary 
Groundwater Impact Assessment (PGIA). The PGIA shall 
assess the potential impact of the large system upon waters of 

the State and upon public health.  The PGIA shall comply with 
current guidelines established by the Department.

(c) Performance of wet season testing (December 
– May) to more accurately quantify the fluctuations of the 
water table may be required on a case by case basis as 
warranted by site conditions.  (This is recommended during 
the planning stages of the project.)  If rainfall is not normal 
(see definition in Section 5.01210 (g)) a second season of 
monitoring may be required.  If timing does not allow for the 
testing prior to submittal, contact the Department.

(d) Ground-water mounding analysis may be 
required for proposed large on-site wastewater treatment and 
disposal system sites where a potential for significant water-
table mounding is probable due to (1) low aquifer 
transmissivity (low hydraulic conductivity), (2) shallow 
depth to seasonal high water table, or (3) high wastewater 
loading rate.  Slug test(s) may be necessary to obtain 
horizontal hydraulic conductivity values for the aquifer.  A 
report documenting the ground-water model utilized to 
perform the analysis must be provided along with all aquifer 
parameters and design criteria needed to run the model. 
Only Certified Professional Geologists registered in the State 
of Delaware are qualified to perform the ground water 
mounding analysis.

5.12010 Prior to permit application submission, the SIR 
and PGIA must both be approved and a meeting with the 
Class D site evaluator, Class C designer, DNREC personnel 
and any other interested parties be held to discuss the 
project.

5.12015 Unless otherwise authorized by the 
Department, all treatment and design considerations for large 
systems shall comply with the following requirements:

(a) Prior to finalizing the soils investigation report, 
a meeting with the Class D site evaluator, Class C designer, 
DNREC personnel and any other interested parties shall be 
held to discuss the project.

(a) Permit applications must be designed in 
accordance with the prescribed system type and design 
considerations as specified in the SIR and PGIA for that 
parcel.

(b) All soils investigation reports permit 
application(s) for a large system (>2,500 GPD) and permit 
application(s) shall be submitted to the Large Wastewater 
Systems Branch for review and approval.

(c) The proposed disposal area shall be mapped on 
a seventy five (75) foot grid, at a minimum, using a 
combination of auger borings and test pits.

(d) A soils investigation report shall also contain a 
description of the hydrologic properties of the water table/
surficial aquifer, including estimates of horizontal and 
vertical hydraulic conductivity, ground water flow direction, 
and water table elevations or depth to water table 
measurements.  This information can be obtained from 
readily available published data.
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(e) A representative number of permeability tests 
shall be conducted within the proposed disposal area based 
upon soil variability.

(f) Proposed disposal areas wooded at the time of 
investigation shall be inspected by the Class D site evaluator 
after tree clearing and prior to disposal system installation. 
Written documentation of the conditions observed shall be 
submitted to the Department.

(g c) Large system absorption facilities shall be 
designed with pressure distribution.

(h d) The disposal system shall be divided into 
relatively equal areas. For effluent distribution each area is 
comprised of units as follows.  The length to width ratio for 
seepage beds and elevated sand mounds shall be 4 : 1 or 
greater.  Each unit shall receive no more than one thousand 
three hundred (1,300) gallons per day if seepage beds are 
utilized and no more than two thousand six hundred (2,600) 
gallons per day if seepage trenches are utilized. The 
Department has sole discretion to deviate from this 
requirement if site constraints warrant such deviation.

(i e) The replacement (repair) disposal area 
shall be divided into relatively equal units and sufficient 
replacement area must exist.  Upgrading the initial system(s) 
will not suffice as replacement area. 

(j f) Effluent distribution shall alternate 
between the disposal area units.  The absorption facilities 
shall be at least 10 feet apart.

(k g) Each system shall have at least two (2) 
pumps or siphons.

(l h) Large systems treating domestic wastes 
which utilize conventional septic tank treatment shall be 
required to install an effluent filter following the primary 
treatment.

(m i) Large systems shall be designed with a 
means to measure wastewater flow.  Flow data will be 
recorded and reported to the Department by the licensed 
operator in accordance with the permit requirements.

(n j) Expected flows >20,000 GPD shall 
incorporate secondary wastewater treatment as approved by 
the Department.

(o k) The Department may require additional 
information beyond the scope presented here on a case by 
case basis.

(p) The applicant shall provide a Preliminary 
Groundwater Impact Assessment (PGIA). The PGIA shall 
assess the potential impact of the large system upon waters 
of the State and upon public health.  The PGIA shall comply 
with current guidelines established by the Department.

(q l) Any on-site wastewater treatment and 
disposal system receiving over two thousand five hundred 
(2,500) GPD will require a licensed wastewater operator. 
The class of operator will be determined based on the Board 
of Certification for Licensed Wastewater Operators.

(m) Prior to installing the wastewater treatment and 

disposal system, a meeting with the Class D site evaluator, 
Class C designer, Class E System Contractor, DNREC 
personnel and any other interested parties shall be held to 
discuss the project. 

5.12020 Unless waived by the Department, 
groundwater monitoring is required at all sites utilizing large 
on-site wastewater treatment and disposal systems.  Such 
monitoring shall continue as long as required by the 
Department.  Upon completion of the PGIA review, the 
Department may require the submittal of a monitoring plan. 
If monitoring is required, a minimum of three (3) monitor 
wells, one up gradient and two down gradient from the 
proposed disposal areas must be installed and surveyed. 

5.12030 If, after review of the PGIA, the Department 
determines that there is a potential for significant adverse 
impact to the environment or public health, a more detailed 
Groundwater Impact Assessment (GIA) may be required.

5.13000 Holding Tanks
5.13010 The use of a holding tank is an unusual 

circumstance wherein all wastewater is permitted to be held 
in a watertight structure until it is pumped and transported by 
vehicle to a point of disposal.  The use of a holding tank on a 
permanent basis is prohibited except as provided in these 
Regulations.

5.13015 Permanent holding tanks are not permitted on 
unimproved lots.

5.13020 No person shall install a holding tank without 
first obtaining a permit from the Department.

5.13025 All holding tank permit applications and 
designs must be completed by a Class C designer.

5.13030 Permits may be issued, by the Department, for 
the permanent use of holding tanks when all of the following 
conditions are met:

(a) The site is improved with a dwelling and has 
been evaluated for all means of on-site wastewater treatment 
and disposal, including alternative technologies, and has 
been deemed not suitable for an on-site wastewater treatment 
and disposal system; and

(b) No community or area-wide central wastewater 
system is available or expected to be available within five (5) 
years; and

(c) The same isolation distances as required for 
septic tanks can be met; and

(d) The owner(s) enter into a contract with a 
licensed liquid waste hauler to provide hauling services to 
the dwelling for the period it is utilized or until connection 
can be made to an approved wastewater facility.  Should the 
owners change waste haulers, a new contract shall be 
submitted to the Department; and

(e) The property deed shall be amended with an 
Affidavit of Ownership at the time of permit issuance, which 
states that the dwelling is served by a permanent holding 
tank.  The Affidavit of Ownership must be recorded at the 
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Recorder of Deeds; and
(f) When the governmental unit or wastewater 

utility provides the hauling services directly, it shall conform 
to the requirements for liquid waste haulers; and

(g) Have a water meter installed to measure the in-
flow of water into the building or house or a metering device 
measuring the flow to the tank 

5.13040 In an area under the control of a governmental 
unit, or a wastewater utility which has a recorded covenant 
with the owner that runs with the land, either of which is 
authorized to construct, operate, and maintain a community 
or area-wide central wastewater system, a holding tank may 
be installed for temporary use provided:

(a) The application for permit includes a copy of a 
legal commitment from the governmental unit or wastewater 
utility that within five (5) years from the date of application 
the governmental unit or wastewater utility will extend to the 
property covered by the application, a community or 
area-wide central wastewater system meeting the 
requirements of the Department; and

(b) The community or area-wide central 
wastewater system has received the necessary approvals for 
full operation (established sewer district) which includes the 
anticipated flow to the holding tank; and

(c) The proposed holding tank will comply with 
the requirements of these Regulations.

5.13050 Temporary use of a holding tank may be 
approved when:

(a) Installation of an approved on-site system has 
been delayed by weather conditions; or

(b) The tank is to serve a temporary construction 
site (up to five (5) years) 

5.13070 Applications for holding tank installation shall 
contain plans and specifications in sufficient detail for each 
holding tank proposed to be installed and shall be submitted 
to the Department for review and approval. The application 
for a permit shall be made on forms provided by the 
Department and contain:

(a) A copy of a contract with a licensed liquid 
waste hauler shall contain, as a minimum, the following 
conditions:

(1) Duration of contract;
(2) Pumping schedule;
(3) Availability of equipment;
(4) Emergency response capability;
(5) Contents will be disposed of in a manner 

and at a facility or location approved by the Department;
(6) Evidence that the owner or operator of the 

proposed disposal facility will accept the pumping for 
treatment and disposal;

(7) Method of measuring wastewater use 
(water meter, wastewater meter, etc.)

(b) A record of pumping dates and the amounts 
pumped shall be maintained by both the property owner and 

the liquid waste hauler, and be made available to the 
Department along with in-flow meter readings as part of the 
annual renewal of the permit.

(c) The appropriate annual inspection fee
5.13080 Each holding tank shall:

(a) In no case shall the tank have a capacity less 
than seven days average flow from the wastewater 
generating facility or 1,000 gallons, whichever is larger. 
When holding tanks are designed to serve the needs of a 
community system, the size shall be in conformance with 
standard engineering practice as determined by the 
Department and in accordance with an acceptable 
monitoring and pumping schedule.

(b) Comply with standards for septic tanks as 
prescribed in these Regulations (see Section 6.0700).

(c) Be located and designed to facilitate removal 
of contents by pumping.

(d) Be equipped with both an audible and visual 
alarm installed on an AC circuit and placed in a location, 
acceptable to the Department, to indicate when the contents 
of the tank are at seventy-five (75) percent of capacity.

(e) Have no vent at an elevation lower than the 
overflow level of the lowest fixture served.

(f) Be designed for anti-buoyancy if test hole 
examination or other observations indicate that seasonally 
high groundwater may float the tank when empty.

(g) Be constructed of the same materials approved 
for septic tanks.  Holding tanks shall be watertight and 
structurally sound to withstand internal and external loads.

(h) Be equipped with an eighteen (18) inch 
diameter or square access opening.  The access opening shall 
be extended to a minimum of six (6) inches above grade 
level.

(i) All tanks constructed on-site (i.e. cast-in-place, 
concrete block, etc.) shall be tested to assure watertight 
conditions. Alarms shall be tested for proper operation.

5.13090 Each holding tank installed under these 
Regulations shall be inspected annually.  A fee shall be 
charged for each annual inspection and all required 
documentation shall be submitted also.

5.13100 No liquid waste from a holding tank shall be 
applied directly or indirectly onto the ground surface or into 
surface waters.

5.13120 Prior to purchase of a dwelling that is currently 
served by a holding tank or is proposed to be served by a 
holding tank, the prospective buyer must sign an Affidavit of 
Understanding of the terms and conditions associated with 
use of a holding tank.  This Affidavit shall be submitted to 
the Department to be filed with the permit. 

5.14000 Moratorium Areas
5.14010 As soon as the Department determines that 

construction of on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
systems should be limited or prohibited in an area, it shall 
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issue an order limiting or prohibiting such construction.
5.14020 The order shall be issued only after a public 

hearing which shall insure that twenty (20) days notice is 
given.

5.14030 The order shall contain a specific description of 
the moratorium area and shall be limited to the area 
immediately threatened with ground water or surface water 
contamination if construction in that area continues.

5.14040 In issuing an order under this Section the 
Department shall consider the factors contained in 7 Del.C., 
Chapter 60, Section 6001.

5.14050 The moratorium shall be limited to a period of 
five (5) years after which re-establishment of the moratorium 
may be considered.

SECTION 6.00000 -- DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION

6.01000 General Requirements
6.01010 Location: All disposal systems shall be located 

according to the minimum horizontal isolation distances 
specified in these Regulations (see Exhibit T).  All isolation 
distances for capped systems and elevated sand mounds shall 
be measured from the edge of the aggregate or aggregate-free 
chamber.

6.01015 All pressurized systems must be constructed in 
such a manner that the operating pressure can be checked at 
the end of the distal lateral (permanent tee, etc). 

6.01018 All pressurized systems must utilize timers or 
other electrical on/off delay devices to insure dosing 
frequencies.

6.01020 Disposal System Sizing
6.01021 All disposal systems shall be sized based on the 

estimated wastewater flow and the results of percolation 
tests or the assigned percolation rate.  Percolation rates shall 
be based on USDA soil textures and assigned by the Class D 
site evaluator.  The table of percolation rates used by the 
Department (see Exhibit W) does not assign rates, it gives 
estimates based upon textures.  Percolation rates of less than 
20 minutes per inch (mpi) will not be allowed for designing 
any on-site wastewater treatment and disposal system, unless 
otherwise approved by the Department. 

6.01022 The minimum disposal area required for trench 
systems with percolation rates less than 120 mpi shall be 
determined from the following equation:

A = 0.33 Q (t)0.5

Where
A = the minimum disposal area required in 

square feet
Q = wastewater application rate in gallons per 

day
t = the average percolation rate in minutes per 

inch (minimum rate is 20 mpi for design)

6.01023 The minimum disposal area required for 
seepage bed systems with percolation rates less than 120 mpi 
shall be determined from the following equation:

A = 0.42 Q (t)0.5

Where
A = the minimum disposal area required in 

square feet
Q = wastewater application rate in gallons per 

day
t = the average percolation rate in minutes per 

inch (minimum rate is 20 mpi for design)
6.01024 Where percolation rates are faster than 6 mpi, 

such as in soils with USDA textures of sands, and loamy 
sands, a pressurized distribution system is required; the 
minimum disposal area shall be determined from the 
following equation:

A = 1.2 Q
Where:

A = the minimum disposal area required in 
square feet

Q = design flow rate in gallons per day
6.01025 The minimum disposal area required for low-

pressure pipe systems with percolation rates less than 120 
mpi shall be determined from the following equation:

A = UQ
Where:

A = the minimum disposal are required in 
square feet

Q = design flow rate in gallons per day
U = unit absorption area (see Exhibit X)

6.01030 Excavation
6.01031 Clearing and Grubbing: All vegetation shall be 

cut and removed from the grade surface at a distance of ten 
(10) feet beyond the perimeter of the disposal area. Trees and 
shrubs shall be cut and removed at grade level while roots 
may be left in place.  All cut materials shall be removed from 
the disposal area.

6.01032 Special care should be taken when clearing 
vegetation from an approved disposal area as disturbance of 
the soil surface may render the site unsuitable.

6.01033 All unsuitable excavation materials shall be 
discarded and the excavation shall be kept dry and de-
watered from surface drainage until backfilling is completed.

6.01034 Excavation machinery shall be of such type 
and operated in such a manner that they will not compact or 
smear the trench or bed sidewall soils. If smearing does 
occur, the smeared surfaces shall be hand raked to expose an 
unsmeared soil interface.  Trenchers are preferred for 
excavation of LPP trenches.

6.01035 Excavations below the design depth shall be 
brought up to proper elevation with approved fill materials 
installed in accordance with these Regulations and the 
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requirements for sand-lined systems. Additional aggregate 
may only be used when a minimum of three (3) feet of 
undisturbed soil can be maintained between the bottom of 
the aggregate and the limiting zone. In no case shall more 
than one (l) foot of additional aggregate be used.

6.01036 The sides of the trenches or beds shall be 
practically plumb and scarified.

6.01037 The bottom of the trench or bed area shall be 
practically level as determined by using a transit, or laser 
level, with a maximum grade tolerance of two (2) inches per 
one hundred (100) feet.

6.01038 All trench or bed excavations shall be kept free 
of water and dry.  Tamping of trench sides and bottoms is not 
permitted.
6.01040 Materials

6.01041 Sandy fill materials shall be medium sand, 
sandy loam, loamy sand/sandy loam mixture.  The fill 
material shall have the following characteristics:

6.01042 Filter aggregate must come from a supplier 
approved by the Department.  Storage and cleaning 
procedures must be approved by DNREC before supplier 
can be included on approved list.  Random inspection of 
supply pits and supplier’s storage facilities shall be 
performed by the Department.

Note: The Class E contractor shall submit upon 
request a Certification of Materials for fill and aggregate 
used in systems.  This certificate shall be obtained from the 
supplier.

6.01043 Grade boards or blocks may be used in pipe 
installation to assure a proper slope of less than two (2) 
inches per one hundred (100) feet for gravity distribution 
lines.

6.01044 Filter fabric shall be placed over the gravel 
with a two (2) inch overlap turned up on each side of the 
trench or bed.

6.01045 Aggregate-free chambers or any other similar 
devices may be used in the design, installation, and operation 

of on-site wastewater treatment and disposal systems in 
Delaware, but are subject to approval of the Department. 
The minimum disposal area required when using aggregate-
free chambers shall be calculated by utilizing the most recent 
guidelines and Sections 6.01022 and 6.01023.

6.01050 Distribution Networks
6.01051 All systems requiring a total of more than 

2,500 square feet of disposal area shall have a pressurized 
distribution system pursuant to these Regulations.

6.01052 All systems requiring more than 2,500 square 
feet of disposal area, with the exception of low pressure pipe 
systems, shall be divided into a minimum of two separate 
alternating systems of equal size with pressurized 
distribution provided alternatively to each system.  The 
minimum separation between absorption facilities shall be 
ten (10) feet, which, with the exception of subsurface 
irrigation systems, will be determined on a case by case 
basis.

6.01054 All systems installed on lots where percolation 
rates are faster than six (6) mpi shall have pressure 
distribution systems.

6.01055 A minimum distance of four (4) feet and a 
maximum distance of six (6) feet shall separate adjacent 
laterals in a bed.  Laterals shall be placed no farther than 
three (3) feet from the sidewalls of the bed. The length to 
width ratio for seepage beds and elevated sand mounds shall 
be 4 : 1 or greater and maximum bed width shall not exceed 
twenty five (25) feet, unless approved by the Department. A 
minimum distance of six (6) feet shall separate laterals in a 
trench disposal system. 

6.01056 Gravity system distribution laterals may be 
connected in closed loop systems.

6.01057 The maximum allowable lateral length is one 
hundred (100) feet for gravity distribution systems and 
pressure distribution systems.

6.01058 Each trench or bed system shall contain at least 
two distribution laterals.  Trenches shall be utilized in all 
distribution systems located on slopes in excess of two (2) 
percent, unless otherwise approved by the Department.

6.01059 All distribution systems shall ensure equal 
distribution when designed on slopes.

6.01060 Conventional Treatment and Disposal Systems
6.01061 Gravity Trenches and Beds (see Exhibits K, L, 

M and N)
(a) A minimum of twelve (12) inches of filter 

aggregate shall be placed in the bed or trench.  A minimum 
of six (6) inches of aggregate shall be placed under the 
distribution laterals. The remaining filter aggregate shall be 
placed so that a minimum depth of no less than two (2) 
inches exists above the crown of the distribution pipe.

(b) For trenches or beds with a minimum sidewall 
depth of twenty-four (24) inches, backfill shall be placed in 

Sieve Size Maximum Percentage Passing Sieve
3/8" 100%

No. 4 95-100%
No. 50 5-30%

No. 100 1-7%

Sieve Size Maximum Percentage Passing Sieve

2 ½” 100% minimum
2” 100% minimum

1 ½” 100% minimum
1” 100% minimum
½” 50% maximum
#4 10% maximum
#8 0% maximum
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accordance with permit requirements. Unless otherwise 
required by the Department, the construction sequence shall 
be as follows:

(1) The backfill material shall be at least 
twelve (12) inches in depth above the filter fabric and 
returned to the original grade. 

(2) Backfill material shall be carefully 
deposited by methods which will not damage or disturb the 
distribution pipe or result in undue compaction of the 
backfill.

(3) Backfill over trenches or beds shall not be 
tamped.

(4) Material containing an excess of moisture 
shall be permitted to dry until the moisture content is within 
workable limits. The moisture content of the material being 
placed shall be within plus or minus 3% of optimum as 
determined by AASHTO Designation T- 99.

(5) Backfill material which is too dry for 
proper placement shall be wetted. All materials shall be free 
of stones larger than two (2) inches in diameter, debris, trash, 
wood or other similar materials.

(c) For trenches or beds with a minimum sidewall 
depth of twelve (12) inches but less than twenty-four (24) 
inches, a capping fill shall be placed over the disposal 
system. The cap shall be constructed pursuant to permit 
requirements (see Exhibits M and N). Unless otherwise 
required by the Department, the construction sequence shall 
be as follows:

(1) The texture of the soil used for the cap 
shall be of the same textural class or of one textural class 
finer, as the natural topsoil. All materials shall be free of 
stones larger than two (2) inches in diameter, debris, trash, 
wood or other similar materials. The minimum gradient of 3 
: 1 with 5 : 1 recommended by the Department.

(2) Construction of capping fills shall not 
occur when the natural soil has a moisture content which 
causes loss of soil structure and porosity when worked.

(3) The disposal area shall be scarified to 
destroy the vegetative mat.

(4) The system shall be installed as specified 
in the construction permit. There shall be a minimum of ten 
(10) feet of separation between the edge of the fill and the 
absorption facility.

(5) Suitable backfill shall be applied to the fill 
site and worked in so that the two (2)contact layers (native 
soil and fill) are mixed. Fill material shall be evenly graded 
to a final depth of sixteen (16) inches over the aggregate.

(6) The site shall be landscaped according to 
permit conditions and be protected from livestock, 
automotive traffic or other activity that could damage the 
system.

6.01062 Sand Mounds (see Exhibit P)
(a) Sand mound absorption areas shall be plowed 

six (6) to eight (8) inches deep parallel to the contour after 

removing the vegetative mat. Plowing shall not be done on 
wet soils. No plowing instruments which compact the soil 
shall be used.  Moldboard or chisel plows are recommended.

(b) Immediately after plowing, sandy fill shall be 
placed on the up-slope edges of the plowed mound 
absorption area and spread to a depth as specified in the 
permit. Only lightweight equipment such as small track type 
tractors shall be allowed.

(c) A twelve (12) inch bed of filter aggregate shall 
be placed over the sand fill.  Six (6) inches of aggregate shall 
be placed under the distribution lateral. The remaining filter 
aggregate shall be placed to an additional six (6) inches in 
depth with at least two (2) inches over the crown of the 
distribution pipe. 

(d) A minimum allowable distance of four (4) feet 
and a maximum distance of six (6) feet shall separate 
adjacent laterals in a elevated sand mound bed.

(e) The slope of the sand fill not directly beneath 
the filter aggregate shall be 3 : 1, with 5 : 1 recommended by 
the Department.

(f) Mound covering or berm soil shall be loamy 
sand or sandy loam.

(g) The mound berm shall extend at least twelve 
(12) inches above the twelve (12) inch filter aggregate layer 
plus at least six (6) inches of topsoil cover.

(h) The outside slopes of the mound cover or berm 
shall be approximately 3 : 1 with 5 : 1 recommended by the 
Department.

(i) Erosion control shall be provided over the 
complete mound in one of the following manners:

1) Grass shall be planted over the entire 
mound and stabilized with mulch; or

2) Sod entire mound; or
3) Other pre-authorized methods of erosion 

control
6.01063 Low Pressure Pipe Systems (see Exhibits O & 

X)
(a) A trench width of twelve (12) inches shall be 

used.
(b) Trenches shall be no less than five (5) feet on 

center.
(c) There shall be six (6) inches of aggregate 

below the pipe and two (2) inches of aggregate above the 
pipe.  There shall be a minimum of six (6) inches and a 
maximum of nine (9) inches of soil cover.

(d) Filter fabric shall be placed on top of the 
aggregate in the trench with a two (2) inch overlap turned up 
on each side of the trench.

(e) Check valves are required to eliminate the back 
siphoning of effluent from the laterals.

(f) Turn ups or cleanouts shall be finished below 
grade and protected by a four (4) inch diameter or greater 
Sch. 40 PVC sleeve with a cap and ferrule finished at grade.

(g) Timers or other electrical on/off delay devices 
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shall be installed to insure dosing frequencies.

6.01070 Site Restoration:
6.01071 The finished grade of the backfill over seepage 

bed, trench and sand-lined absorption facilities shall be 
sloped to provide positive drainage.

6.01072 The land adjacent to all absorption facilities 
shall be graded to prevent both the accumulation of surface 
water on the absorption facility and the flow of surface water 
across the absorption facility. The finished absorption 
facility and fill extensions shall be seeded and mulched to 
prevent erosion.

6.01073 Trees shall not be planted within ten (10) feet 
of the perimeter of absorption facility. All trees and shrubs 
shall be located to prevent root intrusion into the absorption 
facility and other components of the system.  Shallow rooted 
shrubs are permitted (ie, rhododendrons, azaleas, etc.).

6.01074 All areas of disturbance due to the installation 
of the absorption facility shall be either sodded or seeded and 
mulched to establish a permanent grass cover.

6.01090 Spare Area
6.01091 Each site utilizing an on-site wastewater 

treatment and disposal system shall have sufficient area to 
accommodate a complete replacement system or an 
acceptable alternative approved by the Department which 
satisfies the requirements of these Regulations. This area 
shall be maintained so that it is free from encroachments by 
accessory buildings and additions to the main building. 
Encroachment shall include the ten (10) foot isolation 
distance to buildings as required by these Regulations.  This 
requirement may be waived if the application for a permit 
includes a copy of a legal commitment from the 
governmental unit that states that within five years from the 
date of the application the governmental unit will extend to 
the property a community or area-wide central wastewater 
system meeting the requirements of the Department or an 
acceptable alternative is approved by the Department.  The 
community or area-wide central wastewater system has 
received the necessary approvals for full operation which 
includes the anticipated flow to the on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system. 

6.02000 Artificially Drained Systems
6.02001 Disposal systems shall not be constructed on 

sites where curtain drains, vertical drains, underdrains, or 
similar drainage methods are utilized to artificially lower the 
level of the water table to meet the requirements of these 
Regulations.  Observation wells may be used to demonstrate 
the change in the hydrology of a particular property for the 
purpose of siting an on-site wastewater treatment and 
disposal system. 

6.03000 Soil Percolation Rate Determination 

6.03003 Percolation rates are assigned by State 
environmental scientists and Class D site evaluators based 
upon observed soil structure and textures during the site 
evaluation.  The Department has established percolation 
rates based upon USDA soil textures (see Exhibit W). 

6.03005 Soil Percolation Test
6.03010 The soil percolation test shall provide a 

measure of the rate at which water moves from an uncased 
bore hole into the surrounding soil under nearly constant 
head in both vertical and horizontal directions.

6.03015 One soil percolation test shall consist of three 
(3) test holes.

6.03020 The percolation test shall be performed only 
after a site evaluation has indicated that the soil may be 
suitable for an on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
system. The percolation test shall be used to determine the 
rate at which wastewater effluent can be expected to seep 
into the soil. This rate shall be used in conjunction with a 
projected daily flow rate to determine the area required for 
proper treatment and disposal. 

6.03030 The depth of the percolation test holes shall not 
be determined until a site evaluation is completed and a 
limiting zone, if any, is identified. The depth of the 
percolation test holes shall be as follows:

(a) If the limiting zone occurs at least twenty (20) 
inches from the soil surface, the percolation test holes shall 
be within the soil horizon that is controlling the water 
movement vertically and/or horizontally to a depth of sixty 
(60) inches.

(b) If the limiting zone occurs at less than twenty 
(20) inches from the surface, the site is unsuitable for a 
conventional on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
system.  However, if replacing a failing or malfunctioning 
system, item (a) should be used without regard for the 
twenty (20) inch limiting condition.  In situations where 
sand-lining through an impermeable or less permeable 
horizon within the top forty eight (48) inches, a percolation 
test should be performed within the soil zone which is 
controlling the water movement vertically and/or 
horizontally beneath the restrictive material to a depth of 
sixty (60) inches.

6.03040 The following procedures shall be used for 
percolation tests:

(a) A minimum of three (3) test holes shall be dug 
within the proposed installation area of the absorption 
facility. Additional tests may be required in areas with 
varying soil characteristics or when warranted at the sole 
discretion of the Department due to the size of the required 
disposal area.

(b) Test holes with a horizontal diameter of six (6) 
inches shall be dug or bored. A post hole digger, auger or 
mechanical digger may be used to dig the holes.

(c) The bottom and sides of each test hole shall be 
scarified to remove any smeared soil surfaces that result 
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from digging. Loose soil shall be removed from the hole. 
Two (2) inches of coarse sand or fine aggregate shall be 
placed in the bottom of the hole to prevent sealing of the hole 
bottom when water is added.

(d) The hole shall be filled with water to a 
minimum depth of twelve (12) inches above the aggregate or 
sand. This level shall be maintained for a period of at least 
four (4) hours.

(e) The water level shall then be adjusted to six (6) 
inches over the gravel or sand.  The hole shall be allowed to 
stand undisturbed for thirty (30) minutes. The water level 
shall again be adjusted to six (6) inches over the aggregate 
and the hole allowed to sit undisturbed for another thirty (30) 
minutes.

(f) Where the drop in the water level is two (2) 
inches or more in thirty (30) minutes, the interval for 
readings during the percolation test shall be ten (10) minutes. 
Where the drop in the water level is less than two (2) inches 
in thirty (30) minutes, the interval for readings during the 
percolation test shall be thirty (30) minutes. The drop in 
water level shall be recorded after each reading and the water 
level shall be adjusted to six (6) inches above the gravel. 
Readings shall continue for a minimum of four (4) hours 
where the interval between readings is thirty (30) minutes. 
Where the interval is ten (10) minutes due to fast 
percolation, the readings may be discontinued after one (l) 
hour. Where the drop between readings has not stabilized at 
the end of the minimum period, the reading shall continue 
until a steady rate is established.  A steady rate is established 
when two (2) successive water level drops do not vary by 
more than one-sixteenth (1/16) of an inch.  If any of the holes 
has a rate that is significantly different from the other holes, 
it shall be examined to see if this hole is in a soil that is 
different from the soil described in the site evaluation.  If the 
hole is determined, by the licensed percolation tester, to be 
uncharacteristic of the site it shall be excluded from analysis 
but listed on the application.

(g) The percolation rate for the site shall be 
determined by taking the arithmetic average of all 
percolation tests conducted. Percolation rates slower than 
one hundred twenty (120) minutes per inch (mpi) are 
unacceptable and shall not be used to determine the 
arithmetic average percolation rate but shall be reported. 
On-site wastewater treatment and disposal systems shall not 
be placed on those portions of any sites that have percolation 
rates slower than one hundred twenty (120) mpi.

6.03045 Additional Methodologies
6.03050 At the discretion of the Department or Class D 

site evaluator, additional methodologies may be preferred as 
a substitute for the soil percolation test.  Approved test 
methods are given in the current edition of Methods of Soil 
Analysis, ASA and the ASTM Standards. 

6.04000 Wastewater Design Flow Rates
6.04010 The projected peak daily wastewater flow shall 

be used to determine the appropriate size and design of both, 
on-site and community, wastewater treatment and disposal 
systems.

6.04020 Where actual calibrated metered flow data 
indicating peak daily flows over the most recent three (3) 
year period are available for a similar facility, such peak 
flow data may be substituted for the wastewater flows listed 
in this Section subject to the approval of the Department. 
When ranked in descending order the adjusted design daily 
flow shall be determined by taking the numerical average of 
the daily readings within the upper ten (10) percent of the 
daily readings.

6.04030 The design wastewater flow from residential 
dwellings, including single family, multiple family, 
manufactured homes, and apartments served by individual 
on-site or community wastewater treatment and disposal 
systems shall be 120 gallons per day per bedroom. The 
minimum design flow for any commercial property shall be 
120 gallons per day and residential dwelling shall be 240 
gallons per day.  Credit for water conservation devices will 
be accounted for according to current Department 
guidelines.

6.04040 The design wastewater flow from other 
residential, commercial and/or institutional facilities served 
by individual on-site or community systems shall be as 
prescribed in Exhibit D.

6.04050 Disposal systems shall be designed to receive 
all wastewater, except for water softener brine, from the 
building or structure served unless otherwise approved by 
the Department.

6.04060 All restaurants or other establishments 
involved in food preparation activities shall install external 
grease traps as required by the Department.

6.04070 Laundromat and car wash wastewater shall be 
pretreated as specified by the Department prior to discharge 
to any absorption facility under these Regulations.

6.04080 Industrial wastewater shall not be discharged 
into a septic tank unless prior approval is obtained from the 
Department.

6.05000 Isolation Distances
6.05010 The minimum isolation distances set forth in 

Exhibit C shall be maintained when designing, locating, 
constructing, repairing, replacing, and installing individual 
on-site and community wastewater treatment and disposal 
systems.

6.05020 The Department may require greater isolation 
distances for systems when conditions warrant for purposes 
of protecting environmental resources and the public health.

6.05030 Isolation distances may be decreased by the 
Department based on a site specific geological and 
hydrogeological analysis performed pursuant to the 
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requirements of these Regulations, provided that the 
Department is satisfied that such decrease will allow for 
protection of environmental resources and the public health.

6.05040 Existing on-site wastewater treatment and 
disposal systems which are repaired or replaced shall be 
subject to the requirements of this Section, provided 
however, that if it is impossible to comply with such 
requirements due to lot size limitations, the repaired or 
replaced system shall conform to the maximum extent 
practicable with the requirements of this Section as 
determined by the Department in its sole discretion.

6.06000 Conventional On-Site Wastewater Treatment and 
Disposal Systems Criteria

6.06010 All Full Depth Gravity and Capping Fill 
Gravity Trench and Bed Treatment and Disposal Systems 
shall be designed in accordance with the following criteria 
(see Exhibits K, L, M or N).

6.06011 Landscape Position: Areas with good surface 
drainage which allow surface water to run off easily without 
ponding and which are not prone to flooding.

6.06012 Slope: 0 - 15%. Bed systems can not be sited 
on slopes > 2%, unless otherwise approved by the 
Department.  All systems must be constructed with level 
bottoms and shall incorporate construction procedures 
prohibiting equipment from entering the excavation.  Trench 
systems on slopes in excess of 15% shall be permitted only if 
the design is prepared by a licensed Class C designer.  Any 
such design shall incorporate construction procedures.

6.06017 Depth to Limiting Zone: The limiting zone 
shall be a minimum of three (3) feet below the bottom of the 
trench ≥ 48 inches beneath the soil surface.

6.06018 Percolation Rates:
(a) 6 - 120 mpi: Gravity distribution systems may 

be allowed unless otherwise required by these Regulations. 
Construction of seepage trenches and beds in soils with 
percolation rates slower than 120 mpi shall not be permitted.

(b) Faster than 6 mpi: A pressurized distribution 
system is required for seepage trenches or beds.  The trench 
or bed may be placed between twelve (12) and twenty four 
(24) inches in order to maintain thirty six (36) inch 
separation distance between rapidly permeable material and 
the limiting zone.

6.06030 All Low Pressure Pipe Treatment and Disposal 
Systems shall be designed in accordance with the following 
criteria (see Exhibits O & X).

6.06031 Landscape Position: Areas with good surface 
drainage which allow surface water to run off easily without 
ponding and are not prone to flooding.  Low pressure pipe 
treatment and disposal systems shall not be prescribed in 
coastal beach sands.

6.06034 The depth to the bottom excavation shall be nine 
(9) inches to eighteen (18) inches. Trench width shall be no 
larger than twelve (12) inches, unless otherwise approved by 

the Department.
6.06035 Depth to limiting zone: The limiting zone shall 

be a minimum of eighteen (18) inches below the bottom of 
the trench (i.e. a minimum of twenty seven (27) inches 
below existing grade for a nine (9) inch deep LPP trench 
system).  Shallow disposal trenches (placed not less than 
nine (9) inches into the original soil profile) may be used 
with a capping fill to achieve the minimum separation 
distance specified above.  The capping fill, if required, shall 
be placed in accordance with these Regulations (see Exhibit 
O).  A capping fill cover is required for all LPP disposal 
systems with trench depths less than eighteen (18) inches.

6.06037 Additional criteria:
(a) Lateral lines of the LPP disposal system which 

are placed on lower landscape positions (i.e. concave slope) 
shall have an interceptor drain installed upslope of the 
uppermost lateral to intercept and divert subsurface waters 
away from the absorption facility as determined by a Class D 
site evaluator.

(b) There shall be no soil disturbance to the 
proposed disposal area except the minimum required for 
installation. The soils may be rendered unsuitable should 
unnecessary soil disturbance occur.  Particular care should 
be taken when clearing wooded lots so as not to remove the 
surface soil material.

(c) LPP disposal systems shall be installed only 
with equipment approved by DNREC.

(d) LPP disposal systems shall not be allowed 
where sand lining is required or where soils have been filled 
or disturbed.

6.06040 All Elevated Sand Mound Treatment and 
Disposal Systems shall be designed in accordance with the 
following criteria (see Exhibit P).

6.06041 Landscape Position: Areas with good surface 
drainage which allow surface water to run off easily without 
ponding and are not prone to flooding.

6.06042 Slope:
(a) 0 – 6% for soils with percolation rates slower 

than 60 mpi.
(b) 0 – 12% for soils with percolation rates faster 

than 60 mpi.
6.06044 Depth to Limiting Zone: > 20 inches to 

evidence of a limiting zone.
6.06045 Percolation Rate: 0 - 120 mpi: Construction on 

soils with slower percolation rates is not permitted. A 
pressurized distribution system is required in all cases.

6.06050 All Pressure-Dosed Full Depth and Capping 
Fill Treatment and Disposal Systems shall be designed in 
accordance with the following criteria (see Exhibits Q & R).

6.06051 Landscape Position: Areas with good surface 
drainage which allows surface water to run off easily without 
ponding and are not prone to flooding.

6.06052 Slope: 0 – 15%. Bed systems can not be sited 
on slopes > 2%, unless otherwise approved by the 
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Department.  All designs must be constructed with level 
bottoms and shall incorporate construction procedures 
prohibiting equipment from entering the excavation.  Slopes 
in excess of 15% shall be permitted only if the design is 
prepared by a licensed Class C designer.  Any such design 
shall incorporate construction procedures.

6.06054 Depth to Limiting Zone: > Forty eight (48) 
inches to evidence of a limiting zone.

6.06055 Depth to Limiting Zone: Forty eight (48) 
inches or greater from original grade and three (3) feet below 
bottom of filter aggregate.  (ie. a minimum of five (5) feet 
below existing grade for two (2) foot deep trench and bed 
systems).

6.06056 Percolation Rate: 0 - 120 mpi.  Construction on 
soils with slower percolation rates is not permitted.  A 
pressurized distribution system is required in all cases.

6.06060 All Sand-lined Treatment and Disposal 
Systems shall be designed in accordance with the following 
criteria (see Exhibit S).

6.06061 Landscape Position: Areas with good surface 
drainage which allow surface water to run off easily without 
ponding and are not prone to flooding.

6.06062 Slope: 0 – 15%. Slopes in excess of 15% shall 
only be allowed if the design is prepared by a Class C 
designer. Any such design shall incorporate construction 
procedures.

6.06065 Depth to Limiting Zone: Forty eight (48) 
inches or greater from original grade and three (3) feet below 
bottom of filter aggregate.  Sand lined systems shall not be 
used where there is less than one (l) foot of unsaturated soil 
between the limiting zone and the impermeable or slowly 
permeable soil zone.  Sand lining will not be permitted into 
the water table, except in instances where it is necessary for 
replacement systems to function hydraulically.

6.06066 Percolation Rate: 0 - 120 mpi. A pressurized 
distribution system may be required. The percolation test 
shall be taken in the permeable soil below the impermeable 
or less permeable soil zone. The bottom of the percolation 
test hole shall extend a minimum of six (6) inches below the 
slowly permeable soil zone but in no case shall it be less than 
six (6) inches above the underlying limiting zone.  If the 
percolation tests are to be conducted at a depth too deep to 
obtain accurate percolation rates, a percolation rate based on 
USDA soil textures shall be assigned (see Exhibit W). 
Otherwise, hydraulic conductivity tests may be substituted.

6.06067 Additional Criteria:
(a) Sand lined systems may be used where the site 

evaluation has shown that there is an impermeable or slowly 
permeable soil zone located over an acceptable soil. Use of 
this system requires removal of that zone within the disposal 
area and its replacement with a sandy fill as prescribed under 
Section 6.01041. The system shall be constructed in 
accordance with specifications for sand-lined seepage 
trenches and beds (see Exhibit S).   Installation may require a 

Class D site evaluator on site to monitor depth of sand lining.

6.07000 Septic Tanks:
6.07100 The standard wastewater treatment system 

used for on-site wastewater treatment and disposal shall be 
the septic tank.

6.07200 All septic tank treatment units shall be 
designed in accordance with the following requirements (see 
Exhibit G).

6.07201 The location of septic tanks shall be in 
accordance with the minimum isolation distances set forth in 
these Regulations as prescribed in Exhibit C.

6.07202 Minimum liquid volume capacity of a septic 
tank shall be one thousand (1,000) gallons.

6.07203 The minimum liquid working capacity of 
septic tanks shall be:

(a) For flows ≤ 500 GPD the minimum liquid 
working capacity shall be one thousand (1,000) gallons

(b) For flows > 500 GPD but ≤ 15,000 GPD shall 
have a working capacity of 1.5 times the expected flow rate 
with a minimum liquid working capacity of one thousand 
five hundred (1,500) gallons

(c) For flows > 15,000 GPD shall be determined 
on a case by case basis at the sole discretion of the 
Department

6.07206 If large flow surges are anticipated the septic 
tank shall be increased in size to accommodate the surges 
without causing sludge or scum to be discharged from the 
tank.

6.07208 All tanks shall be watertight, non-corrosive, 
durable and structurally sound.  Materials of construction for 
tanks shall be one of the following:

(a) Cast-in-place reinforced concrete
(b) Pre-cast reinforced concrete
(c) Or other suitable material approved as equal, 

by, and at the sole discretion of, the Department
6.07209 All septic tanks shall be of multi-compartment 

design with a minimum of two (2) compartments. The first 
compartment of a two (2) compartment tank shall contain 
two-thirds (2/3) the liquid capacity of the total volume of the 
tank. Tanks shall be of rectangular design.

6.07210 Pre-cast reinforced concrete tanks shall have a 
minimum wall thickness of two and one-half (2 ½) inches.

6.07211 Cast-in-place reinforced concrete tanks shall 
have a minimum wall thickness of four (4) inches.

6.07212 All inlet and outlet connections shall be 
sanitary tees or baffles constructed of cast-in-place concrete 
or PVC.  Inlet openings may have a minimum diameter 
equivalent to the diameter of the house sewer but in no 
instance shall the diameter be less than three (3) inches. The 
outlet invert shall be two (2) inches below the inlet invert. 
The inlet and outlet baffles or sanitary tees shall extend at 
least twelve (12) inches below the liquid level, but to a level 
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no deeper than 40% of the liquid depth. Baffles or sanitary 
tees are not necessary for any portion of the tank if it is to be 
used as a pumping chamber.

6.07213 All pipe cutouts for inlet and outlet connections 
shall be sealed with a watertight concrete (95%) & bentonite 
(5%) grout mix or standard rubber gaskets.

6.07214 Connections between multi-compartment tanks 
shall consist of either a four (4) inch diameter sanitary tee or 
two (2) or more openings equally spaced across the width of 
the tank. Such openings shall be six (6) inches wide. All 
compartment connections shall extend to a level no deeper 
than 40% of the liquid depth as measured from the liquid 
level.

6.07215 All inlet, outlet and inter-compartment 
connections shall be located to provide a minimum air space 
of one (1) inch between the top of the connection and the 
underside of the tank cover.

6.07216 Each tank compartment shall be equipped with 
an access opening and cover. The opening shall be located to 
provide access to each tank compartment as well as 
providing access to the inlet and outlet connections for 
routine inspections.  Access openings shall be at least 
eighteen (18) inches square or in diameter.

6.07217 Each septic tank shall be constructed with a 
watertight access riser for each compartment and shall 
extend above grade.  The riser and lid shall be made of 
concrete, masonry or an equivalent durable material 
approved by the Department.  If multiple concrete risers are 
needed then water tight gaskets or hydraulic cement must be 
placed between each riser.

6.07219 All above grade access covers shall be water 
tight and secure from vandalism.

6.07225 All septic tanks shall be equipped with any 
outlet effluent filter approved by the Department.  The 
maintenance of these filters is the responsibility of the 
property owner and must remain in service for the life of the 
septic tank. This unit must be maintained in accordance with 
the manufacturer’s service instructions.

6.07300 All installations of septic tank treatment units shall 
be in accordance with the following requirements:

6.07301 Excavation: The excavation shall be large 
enough to allow safe, unencumbered working conditions but 
in no case shall the size of the excavation be less than two (2) 
feet beyond the perimeter of the tank. Excavations shall be 
kept dewatered from surface drainage until backfilling is 
complete.

6.07302 Foundations: The tank shall be placed on firm, 
dry, granular, undisturbed soil that has been graded level.  A 
gravel bedding shall be used on damp or fine grained soils. A 
gravel bed foundation shall consist of stone no larger than 
that which will pass through a 3/4" sieve and shall be placed 
level to a minimum thickness of six (6) inches in the 

excavation. The gravel bed shall extend one (l) foot beyond 
the perimeter of the tank.

6.07303 All tanks shall be placed on a level grade and at 
a depth that provides adequate gravity flow from the source. 
Where adequate flow from the source is maintained through 
the use of pumping equipment, the impact of pumping rates 
and potential surge flows shall be evaluated so as to maintain 
the treatment efficiency of the septic tank unit.

6.07304 Previously excavated material from the tank 
excavation may be used for backfill provided the excavation 
material is dry and free of stones larger than four (4) inches 
in diameter, construction debris, concrete, wood and other 
similar materials. To equalize external pressure against the 
septic tank, backfill material shall be placed and compacted, 
extending a minimum of two (2) feet beyond the perimeter 
of the tank.

6.07305 Backfill materials shall be placed in uniform 
layers not more than eight (8) inches thick and compacted to 
no less than 85% Modified Proctor Density. Tamping shall 
be done in a manner that will not produce undue stress or 
strain on the tank.  All backfill shall be free of excessive 
moisture.

6.07400 Testing: All tanks constructed on-site (i.e., 
cast-in place, concrete block, etc.) shall be tested to ensure 
watertight conditions and to check alignment and operation 
of inlet, inter-compartment and outlet connections prior to 
backfill. When tested, tanks shall be filled to overflowing 
with water to observe operation of all connections and 
fittings. All visible leaks in the tank observed by the installer 
shall be repaired prior to backfilling.

6.08000 Grease Traps:
6.08010 Grease traps shall be utilized for commercial 

and industrial wastewater sources at the sole discretion of the 
Department to assure the effectiveness of on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal systems. Grease interceptors shall not 
be approved for new construction designs as replacement for 
the grease trap.  Grease interceptors may be allowed for 
replacement systems when there are site limitations and low 
flow applications.

6.08020 All grease traps shall be designed in 
accordance with the following requirements. The minimum 
size grease trap shall be 1,000 gallons (see Exhibits E & F).

6.08021 The location of grease traps shall be in 
accordance with the minimum isolation distances set forth in 
these Regulations as prescribed in Exhibit C.

6.08022 The sizing of grease traps shall be based on 
wastewater flow data and grease retention capacity.  The 
grease retention capacity in pounds shall be equal to at least 
twice the peak flow capacity in gallons per minute. The flow 
capacity can be determined from the individual flows from 
fixtures discharging into the grease trap. Exhibit E contains 
the minimum flow rate fixture capacities which shall be used 
for grease trap designs when actual calibrated metered flow 
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data indicating peak daily flows over a three (3) year period 
are not available.

6.08023 All grease traps shall have 
multi-compartments.

6.08024 All inlet and outlet connections shall be 
sanitary tees or baffles constructed of cast-in-place concrete 
or PVC.  Inlet and outlet openings shall be a minimum of 
four (4) inches in diameter.  The outlet invert shall be two (2) 
inches below the inlet invert.  The inlet baffle or sanitary tee 
shall extend at least twenty four (24) inches below the liquid 
level.  The bottom of the outlet baffle or sanitary tee shall be 
eight (8) inches above the tank bottom. 

6.08025 Connections between multi-compartment tanks 
shall consist of a four (4) inch diameter sanitary tee.  The 
bottom of the sanitary tee shall be twelve (12) inches above 
the tank bottom.

6.08026 The requirements of Section 6.07208, 6.07210, 
6.07211, 6.07213, 6.07215, 6.07216, 6.07217 and 6.07219 
shall apply to all grease traps approved in accordance with 
these Regulations.

6.08030 All installations of grease traps shall be in 
accordance with the requirements of Section 6.07300 and 
testing shall be conducted in accordance with Section 
6.07400 of these Regulations.
       6.08031 Grease traps must have access at grade.

6.09000 Dosing and Diversion Systems
6.09010 Effluent from on-site wastewater treatment and 

disposal systems shall be transmitted to the absorption 
facility by gravity or pressure distribution systems or lifted 
by a lift station (see Exhibit V) to overcome elevational 
differences between the septic tank and the absorption 
facility.

6.09020 Gravity dosing and distribution systems may 
be used when the design wastewater flow requires less than 
2,500 ft2 of disposal area for seepage trenches or seepage 
beds and the percolation rate is equal to or slower than six 
(6) minutes per inch.

6.09030 Gravity distribution systems shall conform to 
the following requirements:

6.09031 All unperforated gravity transmission pipe up 
to the distribution box shall be Sch. 40 PVC or ANSI Class 
22 thickness cast iron and shall be at least four (4) inches or 
greater in diameter unless lifted by a lift station to a surge 
tank or the distribution box in which case 1 ½ inch or 2 inch 
Sch. 40 PVC pipe would be permissible with a minimum of 
twenty (20) feet of four (4) inch diameter Sch. 40 PVC pipe 
prior to entering the distribution box.

6.09032 All gravity transmission pipes shall be placed 
on a firm undisturbed or well compacted soil. All joints shall 
be watertight. A minimum grade of 1/4 1/8 inch per foot shall 
be provided for gravity transmission piping. Clean backfill 
shall be placed around and over the pipe and hand tamped to 

provide compaction.
6.09033 All gravity distribution laterals shall be thin 

walled or Sch. 40 PVC and shall be at least four (4) inches or 
greater in diameter. Perforated PVC pipe shall have 3/8 to 3/4
inch diameter holes a maximum of thirty (30) inches on 
center. Coiled and corrugated piping shall not be used. A 
grade of less than two (2) inches per one hundred (100) feet 
shall be provided for all gravity distribution laterals.

6.09034 The design and construction of the gravity 
distribution system shall provide uniform application of the 
effluent. All distribution laterals shall be of equal length 
unless approved by the Department.  The effluent shall be 
equally divided between laterals of the gravity distribution 
system by means of a distribution box.

6.09035 Stepped trenches shall be used on sloping 
ground.

6.09040 All distribution boxes shall conform to the 
following requirements (see Exhibit H):

6.09041 Location: Distribution boxes shall be used with 
all gravity systems. They shall be located in accordance with 
the minimum horizontal isolation distances set forth in 
Exhibit C.  A minimum distance of three (3) feet shall 
separate the inlet face of the distribution box from the septic 
tank outlet.

6.09042 Capacity: Distribution boxes shall be sized to 
accommodate the number of distribution laterals required for 
the distribution system.

6.09043 An inlet baffle shall be installed in all 
distribution boxes. The baffle shall be perpendicular to the 
inlet pipe and situated six (6) inches from the end of the inlet. 
The baffle shall be constructed of the same material as the 
distribution box and shall be a twelve (12) inch square rising 
from the box floor, centered with the inlet connection, and 
permanently affixed.  PVC tees may be incorporated as baffles 
when plastic distribution boxes are used.

6.09044 The inverts of all outlets shall be of the same 
elevation and at least one (l) inch below the inlet invert.

6.09045 Each inlet and outlet distribution lateral shall 
be connected separately to the distribution box. 
Unperforated distribution piping shall extend a minimum of 
five (5) feet from the distribution box.

6.09046 The requirements of Sections 6.07208, 
6.07210, 6.07211, 6.07213 and 6.07215 shall apply to all 
distribution boxes approved in accordance with these 
Regulations.

6.09047 Distribution boxes shall be accessible either by 
means of a removable cover or access manhole which shall 
be located twelve (12) inches below grade unless another 
distance is approved by the Department.

6.09048 All installations of distribution boxes shall be 
in accordance with the requirements of Section 6.07300.

6.09049 All installed distribution boxes shall be tested 
to insure watertight conditions and leveled to insure an even 
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distribution of flow to each lateral under operating 
conditions.

6.09050 Pressure distribution systems shall be utilized 
with:

(a) Trench or bed systems receiving flows 
requiring more than 2,500 ft2 of disposal area

(b) All sand mounds
(c) Certain sand-lined systems
(d) All absorption facilities located on soils where 

percolation rates are faster than six (6) minutes per inch
(e) All low pressure pipe systems

6.09060 Pressure distribution systems shall conform to 
the following requirements:

6.09061 All unperforated pressure transmission pipes 
shall be Sch. 40 or SDR 26 PVC pipe unless approved by the 
Department.  The pipe shall be sized to provide a minimum 
flow rate of two (2) feet per second in the pipe.

6.09062 All pressure transmission pipes shall be placed 
below the frost line. All joints shall be watertight and all 
pipes shall be placed on a firm undisturbed or well 
compacted soil. Clean backfill shall be placed around and 
over the pipe and hand tamped to provide compaction.  Frost 
line minimums for each county are as follows:

Sussex – 24 inchesKent – 24 inches  New Castle – 
30 inches.

6.09063 All pressure distribution laterals shall be Sch. 
40 and SDR 26 PVC pipe with diameters as determined by a 
Class C designer.  Minimum hole diameters for perforated 
pressure distribution laterals shall be 5/32 to 1/2 inch 
maximum and spacing intervals as determined by a Class C 
designer and be placed on center along the length of the pipe. 
Maximum hole spacing shall be determined by percolation 
rates as follows:

Percolation RateMaximum Hole Spacing
20 - 25 MPI Sixty (60) inches
30 - 60 MPI Seventy two (72) inches
65 - 120 MPI Ninety six (96) inches

NOTE: Balanced trench loading rates (gpd/ft2) 
must be considered where slopes are encountered.  This can 
be accomplished by varying the number of lateral 
perforations (and spacing) and perforation diameter.

6.09064 All laterals shall be connected to manifolds 
with tees or sanitary tees constructed of PVC corresponding 
to the size of the connecting laterals.

6.09065 Distribution of effluent from the pressure 
transmission pipe to the distribution laterals shall be by a 
central PVC manifold.

6.09066 The dose volume shall be designed so that the 
estimated daily flow shall be discharged to the absorption 
facility in a minimum of equal three (3) doses. Dose volume 
shall be five (5) times the internal (liquid) capacity of the 
pressure transmission pipe, manifold, and laterals not 
flooded. 

6.09067 The size of the dosing pumps or siphons shall 
be selected to maintain a minimum pressure of one (1) psi 
(2.31 feet of head) at the end of each distribution line.  Pump 
characteristics and head calculations that include maximum 
static lift, pipe friction and orifice head requirements shall be 
submitted with permit applications.

6.09100 Dosing Chambers (see Exhibit I)
6.09101 Location: Dosing chambers shall be located in 

compliance with the minimum isolation distances of these 
Regulations (see Exhibit C).

6.09102 Size/capacity: If the design daily flow is ≤ 500 
GPD, the dosing chamber shall have a minimum liquid 
capacity equal to the designed dose volume plus the design 
daily flow.  If the design daily flow is > 500 GPD, the dosing 
chamber shall have minimum liquid capacity equal to two 
(2) times the designed dose volume.

6.09103 The requirements of Sections 6.07208, 
6.07210, 6.07211, 6.07215, 6.07216 and 6.07219 shall apply 
to all dosing chambers approved in accordance with these 
Regulations.

6.09104 All inlet pipe connections shall be located 
above the high water level as predetermined by the pump or 
siphon installation.

6.09105 All pipe cutouts shall be sealed with a 
watertight concrete (95%) & bentonite (5%) grout mix or 
standard rubber gaskets.

6.09106 Dosing chambers shall be constructed with a 
ventilation port and a watertight access manhole. The 
ventilation port shall be extended at least six (6) inches 
above grade while the access manhole shall be extended to 
the finished grade, at a minimum, the Department 
recommends six (6) inches above grade. The vent shall be 
three (3) inches in diameter and the access manhole shall be 
sized for easy removal of pumps or siphons.  In no case shall 
the manhole be less than twenty (20) inches square or in 
diameter. The vent shall be turned down and shall be fitted 
with insect and rodent proof, corrosion resistant screen.

6.09107 Pumps and siphons which are suitable for 
handling septic tank effluent shall be used to meet dosing 
requirements and shall be installed in accordance with the 
manufacturer's recommendations.

6.09108 Dosing chambers using pumps shall have an 
installed pump for which a replacement is readily available 
in the event of failure. 

6.09109 Pumps and siphons shall be sized to discharge 
a flow rate equal to the combined flows from all discharge 
holes in the laterals when operating at designed level or 
head.

6.09110 Pumps and valves shall be equipped with 
suitable connections so that they may be removed for 
inspection or repair without entering the dosing chamber. A 
slide rail system or disconnect coupling accessible from 
outside the dosing chamber shall be utilized to allow 
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removal and access to the pump and pump check valve for 
repairs and maintenance. A corrosion-proof lifting device 
shall be attached to the pumps and tied off at the access 
manhole.

6.09111 Check valves shall be required on all pressure 
distribution systems.

6.09112 An audible and visual high level warning 
device shall be installed for all siphons and pumps and shall 
be installed on a separate AC circuit from the pump.

6.09113 All pump electrical connections and alarm 
controls shall be corrosion resistant and waterproof.

6.09114 Elevations for pump controls and high water 
level sensor elevations shall be provided in the design.

6.09120 Testing: All dosing chambers constructed 
on-site (i.e., cast-in-place, concrete block, etc.) shall be field 
tested to ensure watertight conditions. Pumps, siphons, 
alarm controls and related appurtenances shall also be field 
tested to ensure accuracy and proper operation in accordance 
with the manufacturer's recommendations. A minimum 
schedule for periodic testing and calibration of the dosing 
chambers, pumps, siphons, alarm controls and related 
appurtenances shall be established and incorporated into the 
permit. All installed pumps and siphons shall be 
accompanied by instruction manuals that include operation 
and maintenance procedures and pump characteristics.

6.09200 Diversion Boxes and Diversion Valves.
6.09210 Location: Diversion boxes or diversion valves 

for dual systems shall be located according to the 
requirements set forth in Exhibit C.

6.09220 Capacity: Diversion boxes and valves shall be 
sized to accommodate the piping connected to them.

6.09230 Diversion Valves: All pressure dosed dual 
systems shall use diversion valves.

6.09240 All installation of diversion boxes shall be in 
accordance with the requirements of Section 6.07300.

6.09250 Diversion boxes shall be pre-cast concrete or 
other approved products. Diversion valve systems shall be 
commercially available and diversion or gate valves shall be 
constructed of durable cast iron or plastic.

6.09260 Diversion Box and Diversion Valve Specifications 
(see Exhibit J):

6.09261 All diversion boxes and diversion valves shall 
be installed level with connecting piping to minimize stress.

6.09262 Cast iron valves shall be free of dirt and rust. 
Plastic valves shall be clean and dry before installation. 

6.09263 Diversion boxes may be standard distribution 
boxes with selective flow diversion devices.

6.09264 All inlet and outlet cutout connections shall be 
sealed watertight with grout or approved rubber gaskets.

6.09270 Appurtenances: All buried valves shall be 
furnished with a suitable box constructed of durable material 
extended to grade with a tight fitting access cap.

6.09280 Testing: Installed valves and gates shall be 
tested in the field prior to back fill. Pre-cast boxes shall be 
tested for watertight conditions.

6.10000 Building Sewers
6.10010 The minimum requirements contained in this 

Section shall apply to all conduits, pipes or sewers which 
transmit wastewater flows from building or house drains to a 
septic tank (or other treatment device) and from the septic 
tank (or other treatment device) to the distribution box or 
dosing tank.  Collection systems servicing three (3) or more 
units (i.e., community systems) shall be in conformance with 
National Standards.

6.10020 Building sewers shall comply with the 
following requirements:

6.10021 Location: A minimum horizontal separation of 
ten (10) feet shall be provided between a house or building 
sewer and any water line. Suction lines from wells shall not 
cross under house or building sewers.

6.10022 Size: Building sewers shall be sized to serve 
the expected flow from the connected fixtures. All building 
gravity sewer plumbing shall be at least as large as the 
internal building plumbing but in no case less than three (3) 
inches in diameter. Pressure building sewers transmitting 
wastewater to a septic tank (or other device) shall be a 
minimum of two (2) inches in diameter.

6.10023 Foundation: All building sewers shall be laid 
on a firm compacted bed through its entire length. Building 
sewers placed in wet soil shall have a four (4) inch bedding 
of 3/4" to 1-1/2" aggregate.

6.10024 Materials: Building sewers shall be constructed 
of ANSI Class 22 thickness cast iron, Sch. 40 or Sch. 80 
PVC, reinforced concrete, or Sch. 40 or Sch. 80 ABS pipe. 
Cast iron pipe or PVC pipe encased in six (6) inches of 
concrete shall be used for building sewers located < 3 feet 
below driveways, parking area, or other areas subject to 
vehicular traffic or similar loading. The cast iron pipe or 
encasement shall extend a minimum of two (2) feet beyond 
the edge of driveways, parking areas, or other areas subject 
to vehicular traffic or similar loading and shall be adequately 
bedded.

6.10025 Joints: All pipe joints shall be watertight and 
protected against external and internal loads.

6.10026 Grade: A building sewer shall be installed in a 
straight line to the maximum extent practicable with a 
uniform continuous grade not less than l/8 inch/foot, unless it 
can be demonstrated to the satisfaction of the Department 
that an alternative design can maintain adequate flow from 
the source and is approveable under the applicable local 
building code.

6.10027 Cleanouts: Building sewer cleanouts shall be 
installed at minimum intervals of fifty (50) feet for three (3) 
inch diameter pipe and one hundred (100) feet for four (4) 
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inch and larger diameter pipe. Cleanouts shall be provided at 
all changes in direction greater than 45o. Wherever possible, 
bends should be limited to 45o.  Every house or building 
sewer shall have at least one (1) cleanout fitting to provide 
access to the plumbing.  Cleanouts may be placed at greater 
distances provided National Standards are used to design the 
total collection system.

6.11000 Water Conservation Devices.
6.11010 Twenty five (25) percent reductions in design 

flow are allowed for water conservation.  The absorption 
facility shall be enlarged to the original required size if the 
conservation devices are removed, become inoperative, or 
the system malfunctions.

6.11020 Water saving plumbing devices are encouraged 
to lengthen the life of the absorption facility. However, only 
permanent water saving plumbing devices such as low flush 
toilets shall be considered in reducing the size of the 
absorption facility.  Devices such as inserts in showers are 
considered temporary.

SECTION 7.00000 -- SITING DENSITY AND 
HYDROGEOLOGICAL REQUIREMENTS

7.01000 The minimum isolation distances and siting 
densities set forth in these Regulations shall bemaintained 
when designing, locating, constructing, repairing, replacing 
and installing holding tanks, commercial and individual on-
site and community wastewater treatment and disposal 
systems.

7.02000 The following maximum siting densities shall be 
maintained:

7.02010 For residential dwellings, the maximum siting 
density shall be one (1) dwelling unit per one-half (1/2) acre. 

(a) For single family residences, only the area 
within the property lines of the lot shall be considered.

(b) For multiple family dwellings or where more 
than one (1) dwelling is to be served by an on-site 
wastewater treatment and disposal system, the maximum 
siting density shall be based on the net pervious area (i.e., 
unpaved, without structures) available for groundwater 
recharge after total project completion. The following 
criteria shall be utilized in determining the maximum siting 
densities:

(i) For projects utilizing only a septic tank for 
treatment prior to discharge to the absorption facility, the 
maximum siting density shall be one (1) dwelling unit per 
one-half (1/2) acre of pervious area.

(ii) For projects utilizing advanced treatment 
systems, in conformance with standard engineering practice 
and providing higher degrees of nitrogen removal, the 

maximum siting density shall be determined based on the 
degree of nitrogen removal prior to discharge to the 
absorption facility. The degree of nitrogen removal required 
will be determined in accordance with Exhibit U. The degree 
of nitrogen removal may be adjusted in accordance with a 
schedule for total project completion submitted by the 
applicant and approved by the Department. The owner of a 
treatment system which provides a higher degree of nitrogen 
removal shall post a performance bond or certified letter of 
credit in an amount equal to the total cost of the treatment 
system for the project. The performance bond shall be held 
by the Department until, such time as the treatment system 
demonstrates an acceptable level of compliance with the 
terms and conditions of a permit for a minimum period of 
one (1) year. Upon demonstration of a satisfactory level of 
compliance, the performance bond or certified letter of credit 
will be returned to the owner.

7.02020 For commercial facilities the maximum siting 
density shall be established by dividing the projected design 
flow by five hundred (500) gallons per day per one-half (1/2) 
acre and shall be based on the net pervious area (i.e., 
unpaved, without structures) available for groundwater 
recharge after total project completion.  Campgrounds 
intended for overnight or transient use are evaluated as 
commercial facilities as opposed to manufactured home 
communities, which are evaluated as single family 
residential facilities.

7.02030 In establishing maximum siting densities the 
Department may consider impervious areas where it can be 
demonstrated that through the establishment of an acceptable 
stormwater management plan, all runoff will be recharged to 
the groundwater of the State within the boundaries of the 
project site. Stormwater management plans shall be based 
upon a ten (10) year - one (1) hour storm event as a 
minimum and provide recharge of the runoff within seventy 
two (72) hours of the storm event.

7.03000 If the deed or instrument, under which an owner 
acquired title to a lot or parcel, was of record prior to April 8, 
l984 and if such lot or parcel does not conform to the 
requirements of Section 7.02010, then the Department may 
approve a feasibility study and/or issue a construction permit 
for an on-site wastewater treatment and disposal system. 
This system is to serve a single family dwelling or for 
multiple systems to serve dwellings to be situated within an 
area which has been given final site plan approval prior to 
April 8, l984 for single or multi-family dwellings provided 
that:

(a) The number of dwelling units per net pervious area 
(i.e., unpaved, without structures) does not increase from 
those approved prior to April 8, l984 by the local 
governmental unit having jurisdiction; and

(b) At the time the permit is issued or feasibility study 
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is approved, the lot or parcel complies with the requirements 
of Section 3.00000 through Section 6.00000 of these 
Regulations. 

When it may be necessary to increase the net pervious 
area or reduce the number of dwelling units within a lot or 
parcel and thus create a new date of recordation or final site 
plan approval, the Department shall utilize the previous date 
of recordation or approval in determining conformance with 
these Regulations. The owner shall provide, prior to any 
action by the Department, all documentation determined by 
the Department to be necessary in establishing conformance 
with this section.

7.04000 For lots created by plats or deeds recorded after 
April 8, l984 and/or when the on-site wastewater treatment 
and disposal system will serve a commercial facility, the 
Department may approve a feasibility study and/or issue a 
construction permit for a new on-site wastewater treatment 
and disposal system if it is determined that all Regulations of 
the Department can be met.

7.05000 Isolation distances and siting densities may be 
modified by the Department based upon a site specific 
Groundwater Impact Assessment (GIA) provided that in the 
sole discretion of the Department such modification will 
allow for the protection of environmental resources and 
public health, safety and welfare.  A site specific GIA may 
not be required when the proposed treatment prior to 
disposal will discharge no greater than five (5) milligrams 
per liter of total nitrogen as an average of all samples 
collected within a calendar year and not exceed ten (10) 
milligrams per liter of total nitrogen during any one month 
while providing adequate disinfection at all times.

7.06000 The Department may require an applicant, owner or 
operator to perform a site specific Groundwater Impact 
Assessment (GIA) when a proposed or existing large system 
will likely or is likely causing unacceptable environmental 
impacts and/or risk to public health.  The GIA should be 
performed by a Delaware Registered Professional Geologist 
and shall be based upon site specific investigations and 
testing.  If information required in the GIA was previously 
submitted in a PGIA for the site, the required information 
need not be resubmitted.  The applicant may reference the 
PGIA and state that the information was submitted in the 
report.  The Department will provide general and site 
specific guidelines for preparing the GIA.

7.07000 The requirements of this Section are subject to 
waiver by the Department for a specific area upon petition 
by an appropriate governmental unit. Such petition shall 
provide reasonable evidence that development using 
individual on-site wastewater treatment and disposal systems 
will not cause unacceptable degradation of groundwater 

quality or surface water quality or it shall provide equally 
adequate evidence that degradation of groundwater or 
surface water quality will not occur as a result of such 
waiver.

SECTION 8.00000 -- MAINTENANCE

8.01000 The owner shall be responsible for maintaining and 
operating on-site wastewater treatment and disposal systems. 
Upon transfer of ownership, the new owner shall be 
responsible for proper operation and maintenance of the 
system and will be subject to all penalties for any violation 
of these Regulations.

8.02000 Each on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
system shall be pumped by a licensed liquid waste hauler 
once every three years and alternative treatment systems 
shall be pumped according to manufacturer 
recommendations unless determined that the tank is less than 
one-third (1/3) full of sludge. The schedule shall be 
prescribed in accordance with current Department guidelines 
based on the size of the treatment unit and anticipated 
number of residents. The owner of the on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system shall maintain a record 
indicating the system has been pumped and provide such 
documentation to the Department upon request.

8.03000 Organic chemical septic tank cleaning agents shall 
not be used in individual or community on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal systems.

8.04000 Grease traps shall be cleaned when seventy five 
(75) percent of the grease retention capacity has been 
reached.

8.05000 The sites of the initial and replacement absorption 
facilities shall not be covered by asphalt or concrete or 
subject to vehicular traffic or other activity which would 
adversely affect the soils. These sites shall be maintained so 
that they are free from encroachments by accessory 
buildings and additions to the main building.

8.06000 The Department may impose specific operation and 
maintenance requirements for on-site wastewater treatment 
and disposal systems to assure continuity of performance.

8.07000 For large systems which serve communities that 
experience a significant variation in flow on an annual basis, 
the Department may prescribe specific criteria in the permit 
for taking certain treatment units out of service during 
periods of low flow. The criteria will establish procedures 
for winterization and restart and the minimum levels of 
treatment which must be provided at all times and in no 
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event shall it be less than the level of treatment provided by a 
conventional on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
system.

8.08000 The Department shall impose, in any permit for 
large or community systems, standards for evaluating 
treatment system performance and compliance with these 
Regulations. The standards may be in the form of limitations 
on flow and pollutant concentrations and/or mass loadings. 
The standards shall reflect the utilization of best 
management and operational practices.

8.09000 Unless otherwise required by a permit, all 
community and large systems shall be inspected annually by 
the Department or its designee. 

8.09500 Alternative systems shall be inspected by the 
Department or its designee once every three years and a fee 
may be required.  

8.09600 The Department recommends alternative systems 
be inspected annually, at a minimum.

SECTION 9.00000 -- PRELIMINARY WASTEWATER 
TREATMENT & DISPOSAL REVIEW

9.01000 It is the policy of the Department to facilitate 
compliance with these Regulations through review of 
proposed development projects as early as possible in the 
development process to avoid unnecessary conflicts and 
expense. Any development project, which may or may not 
constitute a major subdivision, can submit a feasibility study 
to satisfy other local government approval processes. Any 
project that proposes to use individual on-site and/or 
community/large wastewater treatment and disposal systems 
must submit a letter of intent prior to initiating any 
preliminary soil investigations.

9.01010 The letter of intent must contain the following 
details:

(a) The name of the Developer and landowner
(b) The size of parcel and number of proposed lots 

or projected flow rates tax parcel number(s)
(c) Indication of type of system(s) – individual 

versus large/community
(d c)Projected start date of site/soil investigative 

work
9.01015 If the proposed number of dwelling units 

is  two hundred (200) or a large on-site wastewater treatment 
and disposal system(s) (LOWTDS) is proposed, proceed to 
the requirements of Section 5.12000, if not, proceed to 
Section 9.01020 .  If a preliminary review is desired prior to 
the submission of a SIR, the site evaluator may submit a 
feasibility study in accordance with Section 9.01017.  

9.01017 A feasibility study for a LOWTDS shall 

contain the following information:
(a) Site plan drawn to scale not to exceed one (1) 

inch equals two hundred (200) feet
(b) Illustrate topography on two (2) foot contour 

intervals unless the Department approves the use of an 
alternate scale due to extreme variations in the elevation on 
the site

(c) Conduct a soil suitability evaluation of the 
project site following the procedures prescribed in section 
5.01000. The area of investigation should be concentrated 
within the proposed LOWTDS. The Site Evaluator must 
demonstrate the area proposed for the LOWTDS represents 
the best soils on the project site. The extent and nature of the 
soil evaluation shall be determined by the Class D site 
evaluator.

(d) Based on preliminary design criteria 
established by the Class D site evaluator, as a result of the 
soils evaluation, a preliminary engineering study prepared 
by a Class C engineer must be included which demonstrates 
the suitability of the evaluated area for the proposed number 
of lots. The engineering study must include, at a minimum, 
the proposed method of disposal, proposed treatment levels, 
and proposed design flow rates, along with preliminary 
calculations/layout to demonstrate there is sufficient area for 
both the initial and replacement system.

(e) The Department may ask for any additional 
information deemed necessary on a case-by-case basis to 
make a statement of feasibility.

9.01020 A feasibility study shall be filed with the 
Department setting forth the proposed manner of compliance 
with these Regulations.  The feasibility study shall contain 
the following information:

(a) Site plan must be drawn to scale not to exceed 
one (1) inch equals two hundred (200) feet

(b) Illustrate topography by two (2) foot contour 
intervals unless the Department approves the use of an 
alternate scale due to extreme variations in elevation on the 
site

(c) Illustrate the approximate location of all wells, 
watercourses, roads and on-site wastewater treatment and 
disposal systems within one hundred fifty (150) feet of the 
perimeter of the property

(d) Conduct a soil suitability evaluation of the 
project site following procedures prescribed in Section 
5.01000. The extent and nature of the soil evaluation shall be 
determined by a Class D site evaluator. The site evaluator 
shall coordinate the planning of the soils evaluation with the 
Department prior to initiating work

(e) Indicate the type of limiting zone, its depth, 
and list the results of the site and soils analysis on the 
appropriate forms

(f) Each soil interpretative unit identified for 
potential on-site wastewater treatment and disposal shall 
have at least one (1) percolation test conducted within it to 
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establish representative percolation rates for each 
interpretative unit

(g) Lot numbers and approximate lot areas shall be 
provided

(h) A general site location map shall be included 
on the preliminary plan for reference identification of the 
area

(i) Proposed stormwater management areas
(j) Location of any jurisdictional wetlands, if 

delineated
(k) Any other information required by the 

Department on a case by case basis.

9.02000 The Department shall conduct a general review of 
the preliminary plan and give the owner/developer a soil 
investigation report statement of preliminary subdivision 
feasibility which shall contain a statement of on-site 
wastewater treatment and disposal feasibility. This Section 
shall not be construed to relieve the applicant of the 
responsibility of obtaining individual site evaluations and 
permits from the Department for each lot prior to 
commencement of construction of any on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system.

9.03000 If, in the estimation of the Department, more than 
fifty five (55) percent of the proposed absorption facilities for 
the subdivision will require pressurized systems, due to 
limiting conditions, a community wastewater treatment and 
disposal system shall be utilized unless average lot density is 
greater than two (2) acres.

SECTION 10.00000 -- VARIANCES

10.01000 Rural Area Variances
10.01010 Variances for any provision of these 

Regulations may be granted by the Secretary in certain rural 
zones provided that:

(a) The owner executes and records in the 
appropriate County Office of the Recorder of Deeds an 
affidavit, on a form approved by the Department, which 
notifies prospective purchasers that the property is subject to 
a Rural Area Variance; and

(b) The parcel size is not less than ten (10) acres; 
and

(c) The permit is for an on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system designed to serve a single 
family dwelling; and

(d) The on-site wastewater treatment and disposal 
system will function in a satisfactory manner so as not to 
create a public health hazard; and

(e) Applications must be completed per Section 
10.02030 to obtain final approval for the Rural Area 
Variance.

10.02000 Formal Variances
10.02010 Variances from any provisions contained 

in these Regulations may be granted after a public notice and 
hearing, if any.  Notice shall be provided to all contiguous 
property owners.  A public hearing will be held if a 
meritorious request is received within a reasonable time as 
stated in the advertisement.  A public hearing request shall 
be deemed meritorious if it exhibits a familiarity with the 
application and a reasoned statement of the variance's 
probable impact.

10.02020 No variance may be granted unless the 
hearing officer finds, or in the case of an appeal to the 
Environmental Appeals Board, it is found that;

(a) The requirements of 7 Del.C., Chapter 60, 
Section 6011 have been satisfied; and 

(b) Strict compliance with the provision of these 
Regulations is inappropriate for cause; or

(c) Special physical conditions render strict 
compliance unreasonable, burdensome, or impractical.

10.02030 Applications for Variances
10.02031 A separate application shall be made to the 

Department for each site considered for a variance.
10.02032 Each Rural Area Variance application 

shall include:
(a) A site evaluation report conducted by a Class D 

site evaluator, unless waived by the Department, to include 
the requirements of Section 10.01000; and

(b) Proof the parcel is a minimum of ten (10) acres 
(survey or statement from zoning office); and

(c) Wetland delineation and Location of any
jurisdictional wetlands, determination if delineated; and

(d) A proposed disposal location which is a 
minimum of one hundred (100) feet from all property 
boundaries (when soil conditions allow); and

(e) The location of all wells within one thousand 
(1,000) feet of the proposed absorption facility; and

(f) The property owner(s) shall provide a list of all 
property owners names and addresses within one thousand 
(1,000) feet of parcels property lines; and

(g) A percolation test conducted by a Class A 
percolation tester or an assigned percolation rate by the Class 
D site evaluator based upon USDA soil textures (see Exhibit 
W); and

(h) Submit soils report with appropriate site 
evaluation fee, if fee not paid already. Upon reviewing the 
soils report, the Department will determine the system type, 
design specifications and return this information to the 
owner, or designated agent.

10.02035 Upon completion of Section 10.02032, the 
following criteria will be required:

(a) A completed permit application prepared by a 
licensed designer; and

(b) An affidavit of a Rural Area Variance (as part 
of the permit application); and
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(c) Appropriate fee’s for the permit application 
and Rural Area Variance, if not already paid; and

(d) The Department shall advertise the application 
for a Rural Area Variance in a local newspaper to include 
direct notification of adjacent property owners.  The 
Department will not hold a public hearing unless a 
meritorious request is made to the Department. 

10.03000 Hardship Variances
10.03010 The Secretary may grant variances from 

any provision of these Regulations in cases of extreme and 
unusual hardship.

10.03020 The Department may consider the 
following factors in reviewing an application for a variance 
based on hardship:

(a) Advanced age or bad health of the applicant;
(b) Need of applicant to care for aged, 

incapacitated, or disabled relatives;
(c) Relative insignificance of the environmental 

impact of granting a variance
10.03030 Hardship variances granted by the 

Secretary may contain conditions such as:
(a) Permits for the life of the applicant;
(b) Limiting the number of permanent residents 

using the system;
(c) Use of conventional on-site wastewater 

treatment and disposal systems for specified periods of time;
(d) Any other conditions which the Secretary finds 

in his/her sole discretion to be appropriate.
10.03040 At the time of the application, the 

applicant must designate on the application that it is for a 
hardship variance. 

10.03050 Documentation of hardship must be 
provided before the application is referred to the Department 
for action.

10.03060 Department personnel shall strive to aid 
and accommodate the needs of applicants for variances due 
to hardship.

10.04000 Variance Hearings
10.04010 The hearing officer shall hold a public 

hearing in conformance with 7 Del.C., Chapter 60, Section 
6006.

10.04020 The hearing shall be held in the county 
where the property is located.

10.05000 Variance Appeals
10.05010 Decisions of the Secretary to grant or deny 

a variance may be appealed to the Environmental Appeals 
Board.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text 
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold 
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language 
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in 
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials, 
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and 
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and 
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2) 
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being 
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, 
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under 
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the 
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations, 
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PRIVATE 

INVESTIGATORS AND PRIVATE SECURITY 
AGENCIES

24 DE Admin. Code 1300
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,

Section 1304(b)(3) (24 Del.C. §1304(b)(3))

ORDER

Pursuant to the Guidelines in 29 Del.C. §10118(a)(1)-
(7), the Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and 
Private Security Agencies ("Board") hereby issues this 
Order.  Following notice and a public hearing held on July 
15, 2004 on the proposed amendment of promulgated rules 
and regulations 5.0 Uniforms, Patches, Badges, Seals, 
Vehicular Markings and 6.0 – Qualified Manager/License 
Holder, the Board makes the following Findings and 
Conclusions:

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted

1. The Board did not receive written evidence or 
information pertaining to the proposed amendment.

2. The Board expressed its desire to amend Rule 5.0 to 
eliminate the use of unmarked vehicles and give specific 

direction for marked vehicles and to amend Rule 6.0 to 
require the license holder be an owner/partner/corporate 
officer.

Findings of Fact

3. The public was given notice and the opportunity to 
provide the Board with comments, in writing and by oral 
testimony, on the amendment of the rule.  The written 
comments and oral testimony received are described in 
paragraph 1.

4. The Board finds that the amendment of these rules 
will eliminate the use of unmarked vehicles and give specific 
direction for marked vehicles and require the license holder 
be an owner/partner/corporate officer.

5. The Board finds that the amendment will have no 
adverse impact on the public.

6. The Board finds that the amendments are well 
written and describe their intent to amend the rules eliminate 
the use of unmarked vehicles and give specific direction for 
marked vehicles and to require the license holder be an 
owner/partner/corporate officer.

Conclusion

7. The proposed rule amendment was promulgated by 
the Board in accord with the statutory duties and authority as 
set forth in 24 Del.C. §1304 et seq. and, in particular, 24 
Del.C. §1304(b)(3).

8. The Board deems this amendment necessary and 
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expedient to the full and official performance of its duties 
under 24 Del.C. §1304 et. seq.

9. The Board concludes that the amendment of this 
rule will be in the best interests of the citizens of the State of 
Delaware.

10. The Board therefore adopts the amendment of this 
rule pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1304(b)(3) and guidelines of 29 
Del.C. §10118 of the Administrative Procedures Act.  See, 
Strauss v. Silverman, Del. Supr., 399 A.2d 192 (1979).

11. This amended rule replaces 6.0(6.2), in its entirety, 
any former rule or regulation heretofore promulgated by the 
Board.

12. The effective date of this Order shall be August 9, 
2004.

13. Attached hereto and incorporated herein this order 
is the amended rule marked as exhibit A and executed 
simultaneously by the Board on the 15th day of July, 2004.

Colonel L. Aaron Chaffinch, Chairman

APPROVED AS TO FORM:
Ralph K. Durstein, III, Esquire
Deputy Attorney General

1.0 Firearm’s Policy
1.1 No person licensed under 24 Del.C. §1315 & §1317

shall carry a firearm unless that person has first passed an 
approved firearms course given by a Board approved 
certified firearms instructor, which shall include a minimum 
40 hour course of instruction.  Individuals licensed to carry a 
firearm must shoot a minimum of three (3) qualifying shoots 
per year, scheduled on at least two (2) separate days, with a 
recommended 90 days between scheduled shoots.  Of these 
three, there will be one (1) mandatory “low light” shoot. 
Simulation is permitted and it may be combined with a 
daylight shoot.

1.2 Firearms - approved type of weapons
1.2.1 9mm
1.2.2 .357
1.2.3 .38
1.2.4 .40

1.3 All weapons must be either a revolver or semi-
automatic and must be double-action or double-action only 
and must be maintained to factory specifications.

1.4 Under no circumstances will anyone be allowed to 
carry any type of shotgun or rifle or any type of weapon that 
is not described herein.

1.5 All individuals must qualify with the same type of 
weapon that he/she will carry.

1.6 All ammunition will be factory fresh (no re-loads).
1.7 The minimum passing score is 75%.
1.8 All licenses are valid for a period of five (5) years, 

subject to proof of compliance of Rule 1.0 by submission of 

shoot sheets by January 31st of each year for the previous 
calendar year.

Adopted 11/04/1994
3 DE Reg. 960 (1/1/00)
7 DE Reg.  (3/1/04)

2.0 Nightstick, Pr24, Mace, Peppergas and Handcuffs
To carry the above weapons/items a security guard must 

have completed a training program on each and every 
weapon/item carried, taught by a certified instructor 
representing the manufacturer of the weapon/item.  Proof of 
these certifications must be provided to the Director of the 
Board of Examiners. Under no circumstances would a 
person be permitted to carry any other type weapon/item, 
unless first approved by the Director of the Board of 
Examiners.

Adopted 11/04/1994

3.0 Personnel Rosters and Job Assignments
3.1 Anyone licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall 

submit an alphabetical personnel roster and a job site list to 
the director of the Detective Licensing Section by the tenth 
of every month. Alphabetical personnel rosters shall include 
the full name, DOB, race, sec, expiration date, and position 
code of each individual in your employ.  For example:

Mark A. Smith 01/25/60W M 01/25/99 SG
Helen E. White 03/17/71B F 03/17/00 FA
John F. Henry 05/23/43B M 05/23/00 PI
James D. Williams12/03/40W M 06/30/99 MG
Frank G. Mongomery07/24/55BM 06/30/99 LH
Anne L. Murray 10/20/40W F 06/30/99 CO

SG Security Guard
FA Firearm’s
PI Private Investigator
MG Delaware Manager
LH License Holder
CO Corporate Officer

3.2 Job site lists shall include the name, address, 
location, and hours of coverage. For example:

The DuPont Industry
Barley Mill Road
2200 - 0600 Hours, Monday, Wednesday, and 

Friday
Adopted 11/04/1994
3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)

4.0 Record Book; Right of Inspection
All persons licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch.13 shall keep 

and maintain at their place of business, at all times, a book 
that shall contain the names and positions of all employees 
along with the location that each employee is assigned to 
work.  This book shall contain all current personnel 
information and at all times shall be current and up-to-date to 
include the list of weapons/items each employee is qualified 
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to carry, the certification dates, scores and the serial number 
of the weapon/item, if applicable.

Adopted 11/04/1994
3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)

5.0 Uniforms, Patches, Badges, Seals, Vehicular 
Markings Amended 04/17/97

5.1 No person licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall 
wear or display any uniform, patch, or badge unless first 
approved by the Board of Examiners.  The use of “patrol” 
and/or “officer” on any type of uniform, patch, badge, seal, 
vehicular marking or any type of advertisement shall first be 
proceeded by the word “security”.  Under no circumstances 
shall a uniform, patch, badge, seal, vehicular marking, 
letterhead, business card or any type of advertisement 
contain the seal or crest of the State of Delaware, any state of 
the United States, the seal or crest of any county or local sub 
division, or any facsimile of the aforementioned seals or 
crests.

5.2 Advertisement and other forms of publications:
5.2.1 No letterhead, business card, 

advertisement, or other form of publication including but not 
limited to uniforms, patches, badges, seals, vehicular 
markings and similar items may be used or displayed unless 
first approved by the Board of Examiners.  No such items 
will be approved by the Board if the item will mislead the 
public by confusing the licensee and/or his/her employees 
with official law enforcement agencies and/or personnel.

5.2.2 All uniforms displaying a patch must 
contain an approved patch that is not generic in nature.  The 
patch must have the name of the agency printed on it.

5.2.3 Auxiliary lights on vehicles, used for 
patrol, shall be amber and/or clear only. Use of sirens is 
prohibited.

5.3. Vehicle Identification
5.3.1 No person or entity licensed under Title 

24, Chapter 13 of the Delaware Code shall utilize any 
vehicle in the course of activities covered by said Chapter 
13, unless the appearance of the vehicle, including any 
identifying marking, shall have been first approved by the 
Board of Examiners using the standards and criteria set forth 
in this Rule. 

5.3.2 The content of any vehicle marking shall 
be governed by the standards and criteria set forth in Rule 
5.1 above. 

5.3.3 No vehicle utilized for purposes covered 
by Title 24, Chapter 13 shall have an appearance that creates 
a reasonable likelihood of confusion with a police vehicle 
used by the Delaware State Police or a law enforcement 
agency of any state or governmental subdivision.  The Board 
of Examiners shall have discretion to review the appearance 
of vehicles, and to make comparisons with known law 
enforcement vehicles, in order to enforce this Rule.

5.3.4 In the event that a vehicle is not approved 

by the Board of Examiners pursuant to this Rule, the Board 
may indicate what changes to the vehicle appearance would 
be sufficient to satisfy the standard and criteria set forth 
above.

5.3.5 Auxiliary lights on vehicles, used for 
patrol, shall be amber and/or clear only.  Use of sirens is 
prohibited.

Adopted 11/04/1994
3 DE Reg. 960 (1/1/00)

6.0 Qualified Manager
6.1 A qualified manager cannot be employed by more 

than one company at the same time.  For example; a person 
cannot serve as a qualified manager for two separate private 
security agencies and/or private investigative agencies.

6.2 A qualified license holder must be an owner/
partner/corporate officer of the agency requesting licensure.

Adopted 11/04/1994

7.0 Employment Notification
7.1 It shall be the responsibility of each person licensed 

as a security guard under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 to notify the 
Director of the Board of Examiners, in writing within 24 
hours, if such person is terminated or leaves one agency for 
employment with another or works for more than one 
security guard agency.  Under no circumstances will a 
security guard be permitted to be employed by more than 
two agencies at a time.  It is also the responsibility for each 
licensed security guard to advise his/her employer(s) of 
whom he/she is employed with (i.e. If a security guard is 
employed with two security guard agencies, both employers 
must be made aware of this fact as well as the Director of the 
Board of Examiners.)

7.2 Employers Responsibility
7.2.1 A licensed private security agency, after 

investigation, shall notify the Detective Licensing Office, in 
writing, of any terminated employees.  This information is to 
be included in the next monthly roster report following the 
termination.

7.2.2 A licensed private security agency shall 
report to the Detective Licensing Office, in writing, the 
following:

7.2.2.1 The name of any employee arrested;
7.2.2.2 The name of any employee admitted 

to any mental hospital ward, mental institution or sanitarium; 
or

7.2.2.3 The name of any employee disabled 
from carrying, owning, or possession a gun by action of 
federal or state statute and/or court order, including bond 
orders and protection from abuse orders.

Adopted 11/04/1994
4 DE Reg. 361 (8/1/00)
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8.0 Criminal Offenses
In addition to those qualifications set forth in 24  Del.C. 

§1314, no person required to be licensed under this chapter 
shall be issued a license, if that person has been convicted of 
Assault III or Offensive Touching misdemeanor within the 
last three (3) years.

Adopted 11/04/1994

9.0 Private Investigators
9.1 A Private Investigator must not be a member or 

employee of any Law Enforcement Organization, as defined 
by the Council on Police Training.

9.2 At the time of processing, a Private Investigator 
must provide proof of employment by a licensed Private 
Investigative Agency with the Private Investigator 
application signed by the employer.  The identification card 
will bear the employer’s name.  Upon termination of 
employment, the identification card is no longer valid.  If 
seeking employment with another licensed agency, the 
Private Investigator must be re-licensed with the new 
employer and a new identification card will be issued as in 
the previous procedure.

9.3 A licensed Private Investigator may only be 
employed by one licensed private investigative agency at a 
time.

Adopted 11/04/1994

10.0 Licensing Fees
10.1 Class A License - Private Investigative Agency

10.1.1 In-State License Holder
10.1.1.1 Individual - No Employees - Not 

Corporation
10.1.1.1.1 $230
10.1.1.1.2 $5,000 Bond
10.1.1.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.1.1.2 Corporation - Has Employees

10.1.1.2.1 $345
10.1.1.2.2 $10,000 Bond
10.1.1.2.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.1.2 Out-of-State

10.1.2.1 License Holder - Individual and 
Corporation

10.1.2.1.1 $345
10.1.2.1.2 $10,000 Bond
10.1.2.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.1.2.2 Delaware Manager

10.1.2.2.1 $230
10.1.2.1.2 $5,000 Bond

10.2 Class B License - Private Security Agency
10.2.1 In-State License Holder

10.2.1.1 Individual - No Employees - Not 

Corporation
10.2.1.1.1 $230
10.2.1.1.2 $5,000 Bond
10.2.1.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.2.1.2 Corporation - Has Employees

10.2.1.2.1 $345
10.2.1.2.2 $10,000 Bond
10.2.1.2.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.2.2 Out-of-State

10.2.2.1 License Holder - Individual and 
Corporation

10.2.2.1.1 $345
10.2.2.1.2 $10,000 Bond
10.2.2.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.2.2.2 Delaware Manager

10.2.2.2.1 $230
10.2.2.2.2 $5000 Bond

10.3 Class C License - Private Investigative & 
Private Security Agency

10.3.1 In-State License Holder
10.3.1.1 Individual - No Employees - Not 

Corporation
10.3.1.1.1 $345
10.3.1.1.2 $10,000 Bond
10.3.1.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.3.1.2 Corporation - Has Employees

10.3.1.2.1 $520
10.3.1.2.2 $15,000 Bond
10.3.1.2.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.3.2 Out-of-State

10.3.2.1 Individual and Corporation
10.3.2.1.1 License Holder

10.3.2.1.1.1 $520
10.3.2.1.1.2 $15,000 Bond
10.3.2.1.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.3.2.1.2 Delaware Manager

10.3.2.1.2.1 $345
10.3.2.1.2.2 $10,000 Bond

10.4 Class D License - Armored Car Agency 
License

10.4.1 License Holder
10.4.1.1 $345
10.4.1.2 Banking Commissioner License 

as required by 5 Del.C. §3203
10.4.1.3 $10,000 Bond
10.4.1.4 $1,000,000 Liability Insurance 

per occurrence.
10.4.2 Delaware Manager
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10.4.2.1 $230
10.4.2.2 $5000 Bond

10.5
6 DE Reg. 637 (11/01/02)
7 DE Reg.  (03/01/04)

11.0 Use Of Animals
The use of animals is prohibited in the performance of 

private security activities.
Adopted 04/23/1998
3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Section 10005 (3 Del.C. §10005)

ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118 and 3 Del.C. §10005, the 
Delaware Harness Racing Commission issues this Order 
adopting new rule 8.3.3.5 to be included in the 
Commission’s Rules.  Following notice and a public hearing 
on June 1, 2004, the Commission makes the following 
findings and conclusions:

Summary Of Evidence

1. The Commission posted public notice of a proposed 
new rule in the May 1, 2004 Register of Regulations and for 
two consecutive weeks in the Delaware Business  Review 
and Delaware State News.

2. The Harness Racing Commission proposed to enact 
a new rule, Rule 8.3.3.5-Erythropietin (EPO), to provide that 
a horse that tests positive for EPO antibodies may be 
declared unfit to race, and may not resume racing until the 
owner or trainer submits a negative test for EPO antibodies.
The proposed rule as published was as follows:

8.3.3.5 A finding by the official chemist that the 
antibody of Erythropietin (EPO) was present in a post-
race test specimen of a horse shall be promptly reported 
in writing to the judges. The judges shall notify the 
owner and trainer of the positive test result for EPO 
antibodies. The judges shall notify the Commission 
Veterinarian of the name of the horse for placement on 
the Veterinarian's List, pursuant to Rule 8.6.1.1, if the 
positive test result indicates that the horse is unfit to 
race. Any horse placed on the Veterinarian's List 
pursuant to this Rule shall not be permitted to enter a 
race until the owner or trainer, at their own expense, 

provides proof of a negative test result for EPO 
antibodies from a laboratory approved by the 
Commission, provided said test sample is obtained 
under collection procedures acceptable to the 
Commission or its designee under these Rules.

Notwithstanding any inconsistent provision of this 
Rules, a horse shall not be subject to disqualification 
from the race and from any share of the purse in the race 
and the trainer of the horse shall not be subject to 
application of trainer's responsibility based on the 
finding by the laboratory that the antibody of 
Erythropietin was present in the sample taken from that 
horse.

3. The Commission held a public hearing on June 1, 
2004.  At the public hearing, the Commission received 
public comment from Frank Szczuka, Joe Strug, Official 
Chemist for Dalare Laboratories, and Salvatore DiMario, 
Executive Director of DSOA.  

4. Frank Szczuka questioned how the proposed rule 
would serve to prohibit the use of EPO unless the 
terminology was modified to increase the penalty and 
proposed, as an example, a thirty (30) day suspension. Mr. 
Szczuka commented that EPO creates a higher antibody 
during the period it is in the horse’s system and then the 
horse crashes. He stated that it would be possible for 
someone who claims a horse with EPO to end up with a 
horse that crashes. Mr. Szczuka commented that the rule 
should include a way to penalize the trainer until the horse 
tests negative for the antibodies. In his opinion, the rule only 
places the horse under scrutiny and not the trainer and only 
penalizes the horse and the owner.

5. Joe Strug, Official Chemist for Dalare Laboratories, 
stated that the test developed to test for the antibodies is 
currently the only way to monitor for EPO.  EPO only stays 
in the system for a short period and it is not effective to test 
for EPO itself. The scientific community felt that the testing 
as proposed in the rule is the most effective way to monitor 
for use and misuse. There is currently no test for time and 
administration to enable determination of when the EPO was 
administered.

6. Salvatore DiMario, Executive Director of DSOA, 
commented that the proposed rule prohibits the horse from 
racing until that horse tests negative and commended the 
Commission for trying to do something to address the EPO 
problem.  He stated that House Bill 282 is now valid law, is 
much more complete, and mirrors the rule.  Mr. DiMario 
stated that the Commission’s rule needed to be expanded to 
address the possibilities that there will likely be a time and 
administration test and EPO test in the near future. He 
proposed that the rule should be amended to encompass any 
up to date testing and any positive test for EPO.
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Findings Of Fact And Conclusions

7. The public was given notice and an opportunity to 
provide the Commission with comments in writing and by 
testimony at the public hearing on the proposed new rule. 
The Commission received no written comments on the 
proposed new rule 8.3.3.5.  

8. The Commission finds that the comments received 
at the public hearing support adoption of the proposed rule. 
Although one commenter would like to see increased 
penalties for trainers, the Commission finds that there 
currently is no time and administration test to support the 
requested sanction against the trainer. Further any increase in 
the penalties beyond placing the horse on the Veterinarian's 
List and not permitting the horse to enter a race until the 
owner or trainer, at their own expense, provides proof of a 
negative test result for EPO antibodies from a laboratory 
approved by the Commission would be a substantive change 
that would require further hearing.  While the Commission 
does not rule out future changes with regard to penalties as 
additional testing becomes available, the Commission finds 
that the request to increase the penalty provided in the rule in 
the context of this proceeding is not warranted and should 
not delay the adoption of the rule. 

9. The Commission finds that the proposed rule 
mirrors the rule adopted in New York rule and, moreover, is 
consistent with the provisions of House Bill 282.

10. The Commission finds that  proposed Rule 8.3.3.5 
is necessary for the agency to achieve its statutory duty to 
effectively regulate harness racing in the public interest 
under 3 Del.C. §10005.  

11. Based on the public comment received, the 
Commission does conclude that minor technical and non-
substantive revisions to Rule 8.3.3.5 as proposed are 
necessary to encompass testing for darbopoietin and the 
antibodies of Erythropietin and darbopoietin.  As a result, the 
final rule as adopted shall provide:

8.3.3.5 A finding by the official chemist that the 
antibody of Erythropietin (EPO), darbopoietin (DPO) 
or their antibodies was present in a post-race test 
specimen of a horse shall be promptly reported in 
writing to the judges. The judges shall notify the owner 
and trainer of the positive test result for EPO, DPO or 
their antibodies. The judges shall notify the 
Commission Veterinarian of the name of the horse for 
placement on the Veterinarian's List, pursuant to Rule 
8.6.1.1, if the positive test result indicates that the horse 
is unfit to race. Any horse placed on the Veterinarian's 
List pursuant to this Rule shall not be permitted to enter 
a race until the owner or trainer, at their own expense, 
provides proof of a negative test result for EPO, DPO or 
their antibodies from a laboratory approved by the 
Commission, provided said test sample is obtained 

under collection procedures acceptable to the 
Commission or its designee under these Rules.

Notwithstanding any inconsistent provision of this 
Rules, a horse shall not be subject to disqualification 
from the race and from any share of the purse in the race 
and the trainer of the horse shall not be subject to 
application of trainer's responsibility based on the 
finding by the laboratory that the antibody of 
Erythropietin, EPO, DPO or their antibodies was 
present in the sample taken from that horse.

The Commission finds the above amendments are non-
substantive under 29 Del.C. §10113(b)(4).

13. The effective date of this Order will be ten (10) 
days from the publication of this Order in the Register of 
Regulations on August 1, 2004.  A copy of the enacted Rule 
is attached as Exhibit #1 to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 24th day of June, 2004.

Beth Steele, Chair
Robert Everett, Commissioner
Mary Ann Lambertson, Commissioner
George Staats, Commissioner
Kenny Williamson, Commissioner

8.3 Medications and Foreign Substances
Foreign substances shall mean all substances, 

except those which exist naturally in the untreated horse at 
normal physiological concentration, and shall include all 
narcotics, stimulants, depressants or other drugs or 
medications of any type.  Except as specifically permitted by 
these rules, no foreign substance shall be carried in the body 
of the horse at the time of the running of the race. Upon a 
finding of a violation of these medication and prohibited 
substances rules, the State Steward or other designee of the 
Commission shall consider the classification level of the 
violation as listed at the time of the violation by the Uniform 
Classification Guidelines of Foreign Substances as 
promulgated by the Association of Racing Commissioners 
International and shall consider all other relevant available 
evidence including but not limited to:  i) whether the 
violation created a risk of injury to the horse or driver;  ii) 
whether the violation undermined or corrupted the integrity 
of the sport of harness racing;  iii) whether the violation 
misled the wagering public and those desiring to claim the 
horse as to the condition and ability of the horse;  iv) whether 
the violation permitted the trainer or licensee to alter the 
performance of the horse or permitted the trainer or licensee 
to gain an advantage over other horses entered in the race; v) 
the amount of the purse involved in the race in which the 
violation occurred.  The State Steward may impose penalties 
and disciplinary measures consistent with the 
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recommendations contained in subsection 8.3.2 of this 
section. 

8.3.1 Uniform Classification Guidelines
The following outline describes the types of 

substances placed in each category.  This list shall be 
publicly posted in the offices of the Commission 
Veterinarian and the racing secretary.

8.3.1.1 Class 1
Opiates, opium derivatives, synthetic 

opiates, psychoactive drugs, amphetamines and U.S. Drug 
Enforcement Agency (DEA) scheduled I and II drugs.  Also 
found in this class are drugs which are potent stimulants of 
the nervous system.  Drugs in this class have no generally 
accepted medical use in the race horse and their 
pharmacological potential for altering the performance of a 
race is very high.

8.3.1.2 Class 2
Drugs in this category have a high 

potential for affecting the outcome of a race.  Most are not 
generally accepted as therapeutic agents in the race horse. 
Many are products intended to alter consciousness or the 
psychic state of humans, and have no approved or indicated 
use in the horse.  Some, such as injectable local anesthetics, 
have legitimate use in equine medicine, but should not be 
found in a race horse.  The following groups of drugs are in 
this class:

8.3.1.2.1 Opiate partial agonist, or 
agonist-antagonists;

8.3.1.2.2 Non-opiate psychotropic 
drugs, which may have stimulant, depressant, analgesic or 
neuroleptic effects;

8.3.1.2.3 Miscellaneous drugs which 
might have a stimulant effect on the central nervous system 
(CNS);

8.3.1.2.4 Drugs with prominent CNS 
depressant action;

8.3.1.2.5 Antidepressant and 
antipsychotic drugs, with or without prominent CNS 
stimulatory or depressant effects;

8.3.1.2.6 Muscle blocking drugs 
which have a direct neuromuscular blocking action;

8.3.1.2.7 Local anesthetics which have 
a reasonable potential for use as nerve blocking agents 
(except procaine); and

8.3.1.2.8 Snake venoms and other 
biologic substances which may be used as nerve blocking 
agents.

8.3.1.3 Class 3
Drugs in this class may or may not 

have an accepted therapeutic use in the horse.  Many are 
drugs that affect the cardiovascular, pulmonary and 
autonomic nervous systems.  They all have the potential of 
affecting the performance of a race horse.  The following 
groups of drugs are in this class:

8.3.1.3.1 Drugs affecting the 
autonomic nervous system which do not have prominent 
CNS effects, but which do have prominent cardiovascular or 
respiratory system effects (bronchodilators are included in 
this class);

8.3.1.3.2 A local anesthetic which has 
nerve blocking potential but also has a high potential for 
producing urine residue levels from a method of use not 
related to the anesthetic effect of the drug (procaine);

8.3.1.3.3 Miscellaneous drugs with 
mild sedative action, such as the sleep inducing 
antihistamines;

8.3.1.3.4 Primary vasodilating/
hypotensive agents; and

8.3.1.3.5 Potent diuretics affecting 
renal function and body fluid composition.

8.3.1.4 Class 4
This category is comprised primarily 

of therapeutic medications routinely used in race horses. 
These may influence performance, but generally have a 
more limited ability to do so.  Groups of drugs assigned to 
this category include the following:

8.3.1.4.1 Non-opiate drugs which 
have a mild central analgesic effect;

8.3.1.4.2 Drugs affecting the 
autonomic nervous system which do not have prominent 
CNS, cardiovascular or respiratory effects

8.3.1.4.2.1 Drugs used solely as 
topical vasoconstrictors or decongestants

8.3.1.4.2.2 Drugs used as 
gastrointestinal antispasmodics

8.3.1.4.2.3 Drugs used to void the 
urinary bladder

8.3.1.4.2.4 Drugs with a major 
effect on CNS vasculature or smooth muscle of visceral 
organs.

8.3.1.4.3 Antihistamines which do not 
have a significant CNS depressant effect (This does not 
include H1 blocking agents, which are listed in Class 5);

8.3.1.4.4 Mineralocorticoid drugs;
8.3.1.4.5 Skeletal muscle relaxants;
8.3.1.4.6 Anti-inflammatory 

drugs--those that may reduce pain as a consequence of their 
anti-inflammatory actions, which include:

8.3.1.4.6.1 Non-Steroidal 
Anti-Inflammatory Drugs (NSAIDs)--aspirin-like drugs;

8.3.1.4.6.2 Corticosteroids 
(glucocorticoids); and

8.3.1.4.6.3 Miscellaneous 
anti-inflammatory agents.

8.3.1.4.7 Anabolic and/or androgenic 
steroids and other drugs;

8.3.1.4.8 Less potent diuretics;
8.3.1.4.9 Cardiac glycosides and 
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antiarrhythmics including:
8.3.1.4.9.1 Cardiac glycosides;
8.3.1.4.9.2 Antiarrhythmic agents 

(exclusive of lidocaine, bretylium and propanolol); and
8.3.1.4.9.3 Miscellaneous 

cardiotonic drugs.
8.3.1.4.10 Topical Anesthetics--agents 

not available in injectable formulations;
8.3.1.4.11 Antidiarrheal agents; and
8.3.1.4.12 Miscellaneous drugs 

including:
8.3.1.4.12.1 Expectorants with little 

or no other pharmacologic action;
8.3.1.4.12.2 Stomachics; and
8.3.1.4.12.3 Mucolytic agents.

8.3.1.5 Class 5
Drugs in this category are therapeutic 

medications for which concentration limits have been 
established as well as certain miscellaneous agents. 
Included specifically are agents which have very localized 
action only, such as anti-ulcer drugs and certain antiallergic 
drugs.  The anticoagulant drugs are also included.

8.3.2 Penalty Recommendations
The following penalties and disciplinary 

measures may be imposed for violations of these medication 
and prohibited substances rules:

8.3.2.1 Class 1- in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of eighteen months and a minimum fine of $5,000, and a 
maximum fine up to the amount of the purse money for the 
race in which the infraction occurred, forfeiture of the purse 
money, and assessment for cost of the drug testing.  

8.3.2.2 Class 2- in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of nine months and a minimum fine of $3,000, and a 
maximum fine of up to the amount of the purse money for 
the race in which the violation occurred, forfeiture of the 
purse money, and assessment for cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.3 Class 3- in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of ninety days, and a minimum fine of $3,000, and a 
maximum fine of up to the amount of the purse money for 
the race in which the violation occurred, forfeiture of the 
purse money, and assessment for cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.4 Class 4 - in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of thirty days, and a minimum fine of $2,000, and a 
maximum fine of up to the amount of the purse money for 
the race in which the violation occurred, forfeiture of the 
purse money, and assessment for the cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.5 Class 5 - Zero to 15 days suspension 
with a possible loss of purse and/or fine and assessment for 
the cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.6 In determining the appropriate penalty 

with respect to a medication rule violation, the State Steward 
or other designee of the Commission may use his discretion 
in the application of the foregoing penalty recommendations, 
and shall consult with the State Veterinarian, the 
Commission veterinarian and/or the Commission chemist to 
determine the seriousness of the laboratory finding or the 
medication violation.  Aggravating or mitigating 
circumstances in any case should be considered and greater 
or lesser penalties and/or disciplinary measures may be 
imposed than those set forth above.  Specifically, if the State 
Steward or other designee of the Commission determine that 
mitigating circumstances warrant imposition of a lesser 
penalty than the recommendations suggest, he may impose a 
lesser penalty.  If the State Steward or other designee of the 
Commission determines that aggravating circumstances 
require imposition of a greater penalty, however, he may 
only impose up to the maximum recommended penalty, and 
must refer the case to the Commission for its review, with a 
recommendation for specific action.  Without limitation, the 
presence of the following aggravating circumstances may 
warrant imposition of greater penalties than those 
recommended, up to and including a lifetime suspension:

8.3.2.6.1 Repeated violations of these 
medication and prohibited substances rules by the same 
trainer or with respect to the same horse;

8.3.2.6.2 Prior violations of similar 
rules in other racing jurisdictions by the same trainer or with 
respect to the same horse; or

8.3.2.6.3 Violations which endanger 
the life or health of the horse.

8.3.2.6.4 Violations that mislead the 
wagering public and those desiring to claim a horse as to the 
condition and ability of the horse;

8.3.2.6.5 Violations that undermine or 
corrupt the integrity of the sport of harness racing.

8.3.2.7 Any person whose license is 
reinstated after a prior violation involving class 1 or class 2 
drugs and who commits a subsequent violation within five 
years of the prior violation, shall absent extraordinary 
circumstances, be subject to a minimum revocation of 
license for five years, and a minimum fine in the amount of 
the purse money of the race in which the infraction occurred, 
along with any other penalty just and reasonable under the 
circumstances.

8.3.2.7.1 With respect to Class 1, 2 
and 3 drugs detect in a urine sample but not in a blood 
sample, and in addition to the foregoing factors, in 
determining the length of a suspension and/or the amount of 
a fine, or both, the State Steward or judges may take in 
consideration, without limitation, whether the drug has any 
equine therapeutic use, the time and method of 
administration, if determined, whether more than one foreign 
substance was detected in the sample, and any other 
appropriate aggravating or mitigating factors.
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8.3.2.8 Whenever a trainer is suspended more 
than once within a two-year period for a violation of this 
chapter regarding medication rules, any suspension imposed 
on the trainer for any such subsequent violation also shall 
apply to the horse involved in such violation. The State 
Steward or judges may impose a shorter suspension on the 
horse than on the trainer.

8.3.2.9 At the discretion of the State Steward 
or other designee of the Commission, a horse as to which an 
initial finding of a prohibited substance has bee made by the 
Commission chemist may be prohibited from racing pending 
a timely hearing; provided, however, that other horses 
registered under the care of the trainer of such a horse may, 
with the consent of the State Steward or other designee of the 
Commission be released to the care of another trainer, and 
may race.

8.3.3 Medication Restrictions
8.3.3.1 Drugs or medications in horses are 

permissible, provided:
8.3.3.1.1 the drug or medication is 

listed by the Association of Racing Commissioners 
International's Drug Testing and Quality Assurance 
Program; and

8.3.3.1.2 the maximum permissible 
urine or blood concentration of the drug or medication does 
not exceed the limit established in theses Rules or otherwise 
approved and published by the Commission.

8.3.3.2 Except as otherwise provided by this 
chapter, a person may not administer or cause to be 
administered by any means to a horse a prohibited drug, 
medication, chemical or other substance, including any 
restricted medication pursuant to this chapter during the 
24-hour period before post time for the race in which the 
horse is entered.  Such administration shall result in the 
horse being scratched from the race and may result in 
disciplinary actions being taken.

8.3.3.3 A finding by the official chemist of a 
prohibited drug, chemical or other substance in a test 
specimen of a horse is prima facie evidence that the 
prohibited drug, chemical or other substance was 
administered to the horse and, in the case of a post-race test, 
was present in the horse's body while it was participating in a 
race.  Prohibited substances include:

8.3.3.3.1 drugs or medications for 
which no acceptable levels have been established in these 
Rules or otherwise approved and published by the 
Commission.

8.3.3.3.2 therapeutic medications in 
excess of acceptable limits established in these rules or 
otherwise approved and published by the Commission.

8.3.3.3.3 Substances present in the 
horse in excess of levels at which such substances could 
occur naturally and such prohibited substances shall include 
a total carbon dioxide level of 37 mmol/L or serum in a 

submitted blood sample from a horse or 39 mmol/L if serum 
from a horse which has been administered furosemide in 
compliance with these rules, provided that a licensee has the 
right, pursuant to such procedures as may be established 
from time to time by the Commission, to attempt to prove 
that a horse has a naturally high carbon dioxide level in 
excess of the above-mentioned levels; and provided, further, 
that an excess total carbon dioxide level shall be penalized in 
accordance with the penalty recommendation applicable to a 
Class 2 substance.

8.3.3.3.4 substances foreign to a horse 
at levels that cause interference with testing procedures.  The 
detection of any such substance is a violation, regardless of 
the classification or definition of the substance or its 
properties under the Uniform Classification Guidelines for 
Foreign Substances.

8.3.3.4 The tubing, dosing or jugging of any 
horse for any reason within 24 hours prior to its scheduled 
race is prohibited unless administered for medical 
emergency purposes by a licensed veterinarian, in which 
case the horse shall be scratched.  The practice of 
administration of any substance via a naso-gastric tube or 
dose syringe into a horse's stomach within 24 hours prior to 
its scheduled race is considered a violation of these rules and 
subject to disciplinary action, which may include fine, 
suspension and revocation or license.

8.3.3.5 A finding by the official chemist that 
[the antibody of] Erythropietin (EPO) [darbopoietin 
(DPO) or their antibodies] was present in a post-race test 
specimen of a horse shall be promptly reported in writing to 
the judges. The judges shall notify the owner and trainer of 
the positive test result for EPO[, DPO or their antibodies]. 
The judges shall notify the Commission Veterinarian of the 
name of the horse for placement on the Veterinarian's List, 
pursuant to Rule 8.6.1.1, if the positive test result indicates 
that the horse is unfit to race. Any horse placed on the 
Veterinarian's List pursuant to this Rule shall not be 
permitted to enter a race until the owner or trainer, at their 
own expense, provides proof of a negative test result for 
EPO, [DPO or their antibodies] from a laboratory 
approved by the Commission, provided said test sample is 
obtained under collection procedures acceptable to the 
Commission or its designee under these Rules.

Notwithstanding any inconsistent provision of 
this Rules, a horse shall not be subject to disqualification 
from the race and from any share of the purse in the race and 
the trainer of the horse shall not be subject to application of 
trainer's responsibility based on the finding by the laboratory 
that [the antibody of Erythropietin, EPO, DPO or their 
antibodies] was present in the sample taken from that horse.

8.3.4 Medical Labeling
8.3.4.1 No person on association grounds 

where horses are lodged or kept, excluding licensed 
veterinarians, shall have in or upon association grounds 
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which that person occupies or has the right to occupy, or in 
that person's personal property or effects or vehicle in that 
person's care, custody or control, a drug, medication, 
chemical, foreign substance or other substance that is 
prohibited in a horse on a race day unless the product is 
labelled in accordance with this subsection.

8.3.4.2 Any drug or medication which is used 
or kept on association grounds and which, by federal or 
Delaware law, requires a prescription must have been validly 
prescribed by a duly licensed veterinarian, and in 
compliance with the applicable federal and state statutes. 
All such allowable medications must have a prescription 
label which is securely attached and clearly ascribed to show 
the following:

8.3.4.2.1 the name of the product;
8.3.4.2.2 the name, address and 

telephone number of the veterinarian prescribing or 
dispensing the product;

8.3.4.2.3 the name of each patient 
(horse) for whom the product is intended/prescribed;

8.3.4.2.4 the dose, dosage, duration of 
treatment and expiration date of the prescribed/dispensed 
product; and 

8.3.4.2.5 the name of the person 
(trainer) to whom the product was dispensed.

8.3.5 Furosemide (Lasix)
8.3.5.1 General

Furosemide (Lasix) may be administered 
intravenously to a horse on the grounds of the association at 
which it is entered to compete in a race.  Except under the 
instructions of the Commission Veterinarian for the purpose 
of removing a horse from the Steward's List or to facilitate 
the collection of a post-race urine sample, furosemide 
(Lasix) shall be permitted only after the Commission 
Veterinarian has placed the horse on the Bleeder List.

8.3.5.2 Method of Administration
Lasix shall be administered 

intravenously by a licensed practicing veterinarian, unless 
the Commission Veterinarian determines that a horse cannot 
receive an intravenous administration of Lasix and gives 
permission for an intramuscular administration; provided, 
however, that once Lasix is administered intramuscularly, 
the horse shall remain in a detention area under the 
supervision of a Commission representative until it races.

8.3.5.3 Dosage
Lasix shall be administered to horses 

on the Bleeder List only by a licensed practicing 
veterinarian, who will administer not more than 500 
milligrams nor less than 100 milligrams, subject to the 
following conditions:

8.3.5.3.1 If less than 500 milligrams is 
administered, and subsequent laboratory findings are 
inconsistent with such dosage or with the time of 
administration, then the trainer shall be subject to a fine or 

other disciplinary action;
8.3.5.3.2 Not more than 750 

milligrams may be administered if (1) the State veterinarian 
grants permission for a dosage greater than 500 milligrams, 
and (2) after the administration of such greater dosage, the 
horse remains in a detention area under the supervision of a 
Commission representative until it races; and

8.3.5.3.3 The dosage administered 
may not vary by more than 250 milligrams from race to race 
without the permission of the Commission Veterinarian.

8.3.5.4 Timing of Administration
Horses must be presented at the Lasix 

stall in the paddock, and the Lasix administered, not more 
than three hours and 30 minutes (3-1/2 hours) nor less than 
three hours (three hours) prior to post time of their respective 
races.  Failure to meet this time frame will result in 
scratching the horse, and the trainer may be fined.

8.3.5.5 Veterinary Charges
It is the responsibility of the owner or 

trainer, prior to the administration of the medication, to pay 
the licensed practicing veterinarian at the rate approved by 
the Commission.  No credit shall be given.

8.3.5.6 Restrictions
No one except a licensed practicing 

veterinarian shall possess equipment or any substance for 
injectable administration on the race track complex, and no 
horse is to receive furosemide (Lasix) in oral form.

8.3.5.7 Post-Race Quantification
8.3.5.7.1 As indicated by post-race 

quantification, a horse may not carry in its body at the time 
of the running of the race more than 100 nanograms of Lasix 
per milliliter of plasma in conjunction with a urine that has a 
specific gravity of less than 1.01, unless the dosage of Lasix:

8.3.5.7.1.1 Was administered 
intramuscularly as provided in 8.3.5.2; or

8.3.5.7.1.2 Exceeded 500 
milligrams as provided in 8.3.5.3.2.

8.3.5.7.2 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race more than 100 nanograms of furosemide 
per milliliter of plasma in conjunction with a urine that has a 
specific gravity of 1.010 or lower, and provided that the 
dosage of furosemide was not administered intramuscularly 
as provided in 8.3.5.3.2 or exceeded 500 milligrams as 
provided in 8.3.5.3.2, then a penalty shall be imposed as 
follows:

8.3.5.7.2.1 If such overage is the 
first violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up to a 
$250 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.5.7.2.2 If such overage is the 
second violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up to 
a $1,000 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.5.7.2.3 If such overage is the 
third violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up to a 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 2, SUNDAY, AUGUST 1, 2004



FINAL REGULATIONS 335
$1,000 fine and up to a 15-day suspension and loss of purse.
8.3.5.7.2.4 If in the opinion of the 

official chemist any such overage caused interference with 
testing procedures, then for each such overage a penalty of 
up to a $1,000 fine and a suspension of from 15 to 50 days 
may be imposed. 

8.3.5.8 Reports
8.3.5.8.1 The licensed practicing 

veterinarian who administers Lasix to a horse scheduled to 
race shall prepare a written certification indicating the time, 
dosage and method of administration.

8.3.5.8.2 The written certification 
shall be delivered to a Commission representative designated 
by the State Steward at least one (1) hour before the horse is 
scheduled to race.

8.3.5.8.3 The State Steward or judges 
shall order a horse scratched if the written certification is not 
received in a timely manner.

8.3.5.9 Bleeder List
8.3.5.9.1 The Commission 

Veterinarian shall maintain a Bleeder List of all horses which 
have demonstrated external evidence of exercise induced 
pulmonary hemorrhage (EIPH) or the existence of 
hemorrhage in the trachea post exercise upon:

8.3.5.9.1.1 visual examination 
wherein blood is noted in one or both nostrils either:

8.3.5.9.1.1.1 during a race;
8.3.5.9.1.1.2 immediately post-

race or post-exercise on track; or
8.3.5.9.1.1.3 within one hour 

post-race or post-exercise in paddock and/or stable area, 
confirmed by endoscopic examination; or

8.3.5.9.1.2 endoscopic 
examination, which may be requested by the owner or 
trainer who feels his or her horse is a bleeder.  Such 
endoscopic examination must be done by a practicing 
veterinarian, at the owner's or trainer's expense, and in the 
presence of the Commission Veterinarian or Lasix 
veterinarian.  Such an examination shall take place within 
one hour post-race or post-exercise; or

8.3.5.9.1.3 presentation to the 
Commission Veterinarian, at least 48 hours prior to racing, of 
a current Bleeder Certificate from an official veterinarian 
from any other jurisdiction, which show the date, place and 
method -- visual or endoscopy -- by which the horse was 
determined to have bled, or which attests that the horse is a 
known bleeder and receives bleeder medication in that 
jurisdiction, provided that such jurisdiction's criteria for the 
identification of bleeders are satisfactory to the Commission 
Veterinarian.

8.3.5.9.2 The confirmation of a 
bleeder horse must be certified in writing by the Commission 
Veterinarian or the Lasix veterinarian and entered on the 
Bleeder List. Copies of the certification shall be issued to the 

owner of the horse or the owner's designee upon request.  A 
copy of the bleeder certificate shall be attached to the horse's 
eligibility certificate.

8.3.5.9.3 Every confirmed bleeder, 
regardless of age, shall be placed on the Bleeder List, and 
Lasix must be administered to the horse in accordance with 
these rules prior to every race, including qualifying races, in 
which the horse starts.

8.3.5.9.4 A horse which bleeds based 
on the criteria set forth in 8.3.5.9.1 above shall be restricted 
from racing at any facility under the jurisdiction of the 
Commission, as follows:

8.3.5.9.4.1 1st time - 10 days;
8.3.5.9.4.2 2nd time - 30 days, 

provided that the horse must be added to or remain on the 
Bleeder List, and must complete a satisfactory qualifying 
race before resuming racing;

8.3.5.9.4.3 3rd time - 30 days, and 
the horse shall be added to the Steward's List, to be removed 
at the discretion of the Commission Veterinarian following a 
satisfactory qualifying race after the mandatory 30-day rest 
period; and

8.3.5.9.4.4 4th time - barred for life.
8.3.5.9.5 An owner or trainer must 

notify the Commission Veterinarian immediately of evidence 
that a horse is bleeding following exercise or racing.

8.3.5.9.6 A horse may be removed 
from the Bleeder List at the request of the owner or trainer, if 
the horse completes a 10-day rest period following such 
request, and then re-qualifies.

8.3.5.9.7 Any horse on the Bleeder 
List which races in a jurisdiction where it is not eligible for 
bleeder medication, whether such ineligibility is due to the 
fact that it does not qualify for bleeder medication in that 
jurisdiction or because bleeder medication is prohibited in 
that jurisdiction, shall automatically remain on the Bleeder 
List at the discretion of the owner or trainer, provided that 
such decision by the owner or trainer must be declared at the 
time of the first subsequent entry in Delaware, and the Lasix 
symbol in the program shall appropriately reflect that the 
horse did not receive Lasix its last time out.  Such an election 
by the owner or trainer shall not preclude the Commission 
Veterinarian, State Steward or Presiding Judge from 
requiring re-qualification whenever a horse on the Bleeder 
List races in another jurisdiction without bleeder medication, 
and the integrity of the Bleeder List may be questioned.

8.3.5.9.8 Any horse on the Bleeder 
List which races without Lasix in any jurisdiction which 
permits the use of Lasix shall automatically be removed 
from the Bleeder List. In order to be restored to the Bleeder 
List, the horse must demonstrate EIPH in accordance with 
the criteria set forth in subdivision 1 above.  If the horse does 
demonstrate EIPH and is restored to the Bleeder List, the 
horse shall be suspended from racing in accordance with the 
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provisions of 8.3.6.4 above.
8.3.5.9.9 The State Steward or 

Presiding Judge, in consultation with the State veterinarian, 
will rule on any questions relating to the Bleeder List.

8.3.5.10 Medication Program Entries
It is the responsibility of the trainer at the 

time of entry of a horse to provide the racing secretary with 
the bleeder medication status of the horse on the entry blank, 
and also to provide the Commission Veterinarian with a 
bleeder certificate, if the horse previously raced out-of-state 
on bleeder medication.

8.3.6 Phenylbutazone (Bute)
8.3.6.1 General

8.3.6.1.1 Phenylbutazone or 
oxyphenbutazone may be administered to horses three years 
of age and older in such dosage amount that the official test 
sample shall contain not more than 2.0 micrograms per 
milliliter of blood plasma. Phenylbutazone or 
oxyphenbutazone is not permissible at any level in horses 
two years of age and if phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone 
is present in any post-race sample from a two year old horse, 
said horse shall be disqualified, shall forfeit any purse 
money, and the trainer shall be subject to penalties including 
up to a $1,000 fine and up to a fifty day suspension.

8.3.6.1.2 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race more than 2.0 but not more than 2.6 
micrograms per milliliter of blood plasma of phenylbutazone 
or oxyphenbutazone, then warnings shall be issued to the 
trainer.

8.3.6.1.3 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race more than 2.6 micrograms per milliliter 
of blood plasma of phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone, 
then a penalty shall be imposed as follows:

8.3.6.1.3.1 For an average between 
2.6 and less than 5.0 micrograms per milliliter:

8.3.6.1.3.1.1 If such overage is 
the first violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up 
to a $250 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.2 If such overage is 
the second violation of this rule within a 12-month period: 
Up to a $1,000 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.3 If such overage is 
the third violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up 
to a $1,000 fine and up to a 15-day suspension and loss of 
purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.4 For an overage of 
5.0 micrograms or more per milliliter: Up to a $1,000 fine 
and up to a 5-day suspension and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.4 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race any quantity of phenylbutazone or 
oxyphenbutazone, and also carried in its body at the time of 

the running of the race any quantity of any other non-
steroidal anti-inflammatory drug, including but not limited 
to naproxen, flunixin and meclofenamic acid, then such 
presence of phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone, shall 
constitute a violation of this rule and shall be subject to a 
penalty of up to a $1,000 fine and up to a 50-day suspension 
and loss of purse.

DELAWARE STANDARDBRED BREEDERS' FUND 
PROGRAM

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code,
Sections 4815(b)(3)b.2.D. 29 &  8103 (8)

(29 Del.C. §§ 4815(b)(3)b.2.D.29, 8103 (8))

ORDER 

I.  Nature Of Proceedings

Pursuant to its authority under 29 Del.C.
§§4815(b)(3)b.2.D and 10115 the State of Delaware, 
Department of Agriculture, Standardbred Breeder's Fund 
(the "Fund") proposed to amend its regulations concerning 
the Fund's enforcement powers and also to substantially 
revise its regulations by specifically setting forth the powers 
and duties of the Fund's Administrator, eliminating the 
Delaware Harness Racing Commission from the hearing 
process for resolving disputes between horse owners, horse 
lessees, their agents and the Fund's Administrator 
substituting in its stead a public hearing before the Fund, and 
providing for appeals from the Fund's decisions to the 
Superior Court of the State of Delaware.

The Fund solicited written comments by the public in 
the Delaware Register of Regulations for June 1, 2004 as 
well as in two Delaware newspapers in general circulation in 
accordance with 29 Del.C. §10115. This is the Fund's 
Decision and Order adopting the proposed amended 
regulations.

II. Public Comments

The Fund received no written comments within the 
30-day public comment period in response to its notice of 
intention to adopt the proposed amended regulations.

III. Findings And Conclusions

The public was given the required notice of the Fund's 
intention to adopt the proposed amended regulations and was 
given ample opportunity to provide the Fund with written 
comments opposing the Fund's plan. Thus, the Fund 
concludes that its consideration of the proposed amended 
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regulations was entirely within its prerogatives and statutory 
authority and, having received no comments opposed to 
adoption, is now free to adopt them.

IV. ORDER

AND NOW, this 2"a day of July, 2004 it is hereby 
ordered that:

1. The proposed amendments to the Fund's 
regulations are adopted;

2. The text of the regulations shall be in the form 
attached hereto as Exhibit A;

3. The effective date of this Order is ten days 
from the date of its publication in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations in accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(e); and

4. The Fund reserves to itself the authority to 
issue such other and further orders concerning its practices 
and procedures as may be just and proper.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

David Singleton Michael Scuse
James Vaughn William Oberle (by 
William Chasanov, Esquire Tom Cook)
Gloria Myers Charles Lockhart
Garret O'Marrow Pete Geldof
Robert Kinsey Andy Markano

1.0 Introduction
1.1 These regulations are authorized pursuant to 

§4815(b)(3)b.2.D. of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, which 
established in the State of Delaware a Delaware 
Standardbred Breeder's Program (herein "the Program") for:

1.1.1 Standardbred horses; 
1.1.2 that are bred in a manner prescribed in 

Section 2.0 herein;
1.1.3 that are the product of a registered 

Delaware stallion;
1.1.4 who that are registered, and whose sire is 

registered, with the Administrator of the Program as such; 
and,

1.1.5 listed in their registry books.
1.2 Those horses eligible to race under said Delaware 

Standardbred Breeder's Program shall be any foal of any 
registered Delaware stallion standing at a Delaware breeding 
farm and either owned by a resident of the State of Delaware 
or owned by a non-resident who holds a lease for a period of 
the breeding season and will stand the stallion for that full 
season on a Delaware breeding farm. A copy of any such 
lease shall be filed with the United States Trotting 
Association, the Administrator of the Breeder's Program, and 
the Delaware Harness Racing Commission.

1.3 The Board of the Delaware Standardbred Breeder's 
Program (herein "the Board") is authorized to do all that is 

reasonable and necessary for the proper administration of the 
Program and shall prepare, issue and promulgate rules and 
regulations providing for:

1.3.1 Classes and divisions of races, eligibility 
of horses and owners therefor and purses and bonuses to be 
awarded;

1.3.2 Nominating, sustaining and entry fees on 
horses and races;

1.3.3 Such temporary programs including 
eligibility of horses, breeding, and other matters as may be 
necessary to make the Program operable as soon as possible;

1.3.4 Registration and certification of Delaware 
stallions, mares bred to such stallions and foals produced 
thereby; and,

1.3.5 Such other matters as the board determines 
to be necessary and appropriate for the proper administration 
and implementation of the Program.

1.4 The funds for the Program pursuant to §4815(b)(3) 
of Title 29 of the Delaware Code and any nominating, 
sustaining, and declaration fees provided for herein shall be 
administered by the Delaware Department of Agriculture by 
deposit in a trust account entitled Delaware Standardbred 
Breeders’ Fund. The Board shall approve an annual budget 
including the payment of purses and awards, cost of 
administration, reimbursement of expenses of members of 
the Board, promotional expenses, and any other appropriate 
expenses. The budget shall be administered by the Secretary 
of Agriculture or his designee in consultation with the Board 
in a manner consistent with the state laws and procedures. A 
report shall be prepared and filed annually by the Secretary 
of Agriculture with the Delaware Harness Racing 
Commission and the Board setting forth an itemization of all 
deposits to and expenditures from said fund.

1.5 Races for in the Program shall be contested at each 
licensed harness track in the State of Delaware. Said races 
and Purses and awards awarded, therefore, for program 
races, shall be pursuant to in compliance with the rules and 
regulations of the Board hereunder, and the Delaware 
Harness Racing Commission.

1.6 The Board can propose to amend these regulations 
through a by the affirmative vote of 2/3 majority of the entire 
board eight of its eleven members. Changes to the rules of 
eligibility for the Program will be effective at the beginning 
of the next breeding season and the corresponding racing 
season.

2.0 Definitions.
The following words and terms, when used in this part 

for the purposes of the Delaware Standardbred Breeder's 
Fund Program, have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise.  Such definitions shall 
not affect the use of that term by the Delaware Harness 
Racing Commission for purposes other than for the Breeder's 
Fund Program.
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"Bred" means any form of insemination inside the 
State of Delaware by a Delaware sire, including 
insemination using semen transported within the State of 
Delaware, provided that such semen is not frozen or 
desiccated in any way or at any time. Bred shall also refer to 
foals of mares bred outside the State of Delaware by a 
Delaware sire through interstate semen transportation when 
such semen is not frozen or desiccated in any way or at any 
time, provided that owners of mares that produce foals from 
Delaware sires eligible for this program that are bred through 
interstate semen transportation shall not be eligible for 
bonuses paid to owners of mares under the Delaware 
Standardbred Breeder's Program set forth in Section 4.0
herein. A foal conceived through embryo transplantation is 
not eligible for nomination to the Delaware Standardbred 
Breeder's Program under any circumstances.

"Breeder"  means the owner of the dam at the time of 
breeding through foaling. 

“Breeding Season” is the season during which 
reproduction occurs and which runs from February 1st to 
August 1st of the calendar year.

“Delaware-bred horse” is a Standardbred by a 
Delaware sire and registered with the Harness Racing 
Commission and Administrator of the Program  provided 
that for the purposes of determining eligibility for race years 
2002 and 2003 Delaware-bred horses shall also include any 
foal of a 100% wholly owned mare at the time of breeding 
through foaling by a Delaware resident registered with the 
Harness  and Administrator of the Program by August by 
May 15th of the yearling year.

“Delaware resident” is as defined in §10032 of Title 3 
of the Delaware Code.

“Delaware sire” is a Standardbred stallion that 
regularly stands for a breeding season in Delaware, does not 
compete for purses during that period, and is registered with 
the Harness Racing Commission and Administrator of the 
Program. A Delaware sire may be: a) owned by a resident of 
the state of Delaware and standing the entire breeding season 
in the state of Delaware; or b) owned by a resident of a state 
other than Delaware, but standing the entire breeding season 
in Delaware, verified by a copy of a lease filed with the 
Administrator of the Program  and the Harness Racing 
Commission at the time of registration for the Program as 
provided in section 1.1 above; or c) owned jointly by a 
resident (or residents) and non-resident (or non-residents) of 
Delaware and standing the entire breeding season in 
Delaware with the same lease requirements as in b) above.

“Private Treaty” No stallion participating in the 
Program may be offered for service under private treaty. 
Each stallion registered in the Program must make public the 
maximum  possible breeding fee.

Such definitions shall not affect the use of that term by 
the Delaware Harness Racing Commission for purposes 

other than for the Program.
“Registrant” is a horse owner, the horse owner’s agent 

of record or trainer of record, or the lessee of a horse.
6 DE Reg. 1497 (5/1/03)

3.0 Eligibility for Delaware-bred races.
3.1 To be eligible for races under the Program for race 

years 2002 and 2003, a horse, which shall be registered with 
the Administrator and Commission by August 15th of its 
yearling year, shall be: 1) the product of a 100% wholly 
owned mare a the time of breeding through foaling by a 
Delaware resident, which mare shall be registered with the 
Administrator and Commission by August 15, 2000 for the 
breeding seasons of 1999 and 2000 and by August 15th 2001 
for the breeding season of 2001: and/or, 2) the product of a 
Delaware-sire, which sire shall be registered with the 
Administrator and Commission by March 1, 2000 for the 
breeding seasons of 1999 and 2000 and by August 15, 2001 
for the breeding season of 2001.

3.21 To be eligible for races under the Program for 
race year 2004, the horse shall be a Delaware sired 2-year 
old registered with the Administrator and Commission by 
August May 15th of its yearling year or a 3-year old product 
of a 100% wholly owned mare at the time of breeding 
through foaling by a Delaware resident, which mare shall 
have been registered with the Administrator and 
Commission Department of Agriculture by August 15, 2000 
for the breeding season of 1999 and 2000 and by August 15, 
2001 for the breeding season of 2001 or a 3-year old product 
of a Delaware-sire, which sire shall have been registered 
with the Administrator and Commission by March 1, 2000 
for the breeding seasons of 1999 and 2000 and by August 15, 
2001 for the breeding season of 2001. by March 1, 2000 and 
said 3-year old registered with the Administrator by May 
15th of its yearling year.

3.32 To be eligible for races under the Program for 
race year 2005 and thereafter, the horse shall be a Delaware 
sired 2 or 3- year old registered with the Administrator and 
Commission by August May 15th of its yearling year.

4.0 Eligibility of breeders for bonus payments.
Bonus payments of eight percent (8%) of money earned 

in the Program by the a foals shall be paid to the owner of the 
mare at the time of breeding that is bred to Delaware sires to 
produce that foal.  Bonus payments of two percent (2%) of 
money earned in the Program by the foals shall be paid to 
owners of stallions standing in Delaware. In order for a 
Delaware-bred horse to be eligible to earn an award for its 
breeder, in a race conducted by a licensed harness race track 
in Delaware, the foals, mares, and stallions shall be 
registered in accordance with these regulations with the 
Harness Racing Commission and Administrator of the 
Breeder's Program prior to entry for the race. In race year 
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2002, bonus payments shall be restricted to 2 year olds.  For 
race years 2003 and thereafter, bonus payments shall not 
exceed $70,000 per crop of foals. In the event such payments 
would exceed these limits, owners eligible for bonus 
payments shall receive a prorated share of those monies 
allocated toward the payment of bonus payments.

5.0 Eligibility of owners of Delaware sires for awards.
In order for a Delaware sire to be eligible to earn an 

award for its owner, the sire shall have been registered as a 
sire of Delaware with the Harness Racing Commission and
Administrator of the Breeder's Program during each 
breeding season when the sire inseminated the dams that, as 
a result of that insemination, produced Delaware-breds. To 
be eligible for a sire award, it is necessary that the foal 
entitling the sire owner to the award be itself registered in 
accordance with these regulations.

6.0 Records of registration.
Foals and sires eligible for registration shall be 

registered on official registration forms approved by the 
Harness Racing Commission and maintained by the 
Administrator of  the Program. The registrar Administrator 
shall certify thereon the name and address of the Owner, 
breeder, farm where mare was inseminated, farm on which 
this horse was foaled, owner of stallion at time the mare was 
inseminated, owner of the mare at the time of breeding, 
notice of semen transfer, stallion by which the mare was 
inseminated following the birth of the Standardbred to be 
registered, breeder social security or tax identification 
number, United State Trotting Association registration 
number, name of foal, color and sex of foal, date of foaling, 
sire, dam, sire of the dam, signature of the owner, or breeder 
or  authorized representative and the date of application. The 
registration record shall be maintained at the Administrator 
of the Program and be open to public inspection during 
normal business days and hours at the State Department of 
Agriculture. Immediately upon completion and filing of the 
form, the Administrator of the Program shall cause a correct 
copy of it to be filed with the offices of the State Department 
of Agriculture. or agent, social security number and or tax id 
number. If registration is made by an agent, the name and 
address of the owner and social security number and or tax id 
number shall also be provided. Breeding information must 
include name, color, sex, gait, sire, and dam. For sires, the 
address and contact information for the breeding farm where 
the stallion will be collected, and current phone number, 
address and contact information for where the stallion 
actually resides, if different from where semen collection 
occurs. The registration records shall be maintained by the 
Administrator of  the Program and be open to public 
inspection during normal business days and hours at the 
State Department of Agriculture. Immediately upon 
completion and filing of the form, the Administrator of the 

Program shall cause a correct copy of it to be filed with the 
offices of the State Department of Agriculture.

7.0 Appeals Duties and Powers of the Fund 
Administrator; Public Hearings; Appeals.

A person having an interest in a matter concerning the 
registration of a horse in the Breeder's Program shall have 
the right to file objections or exceptions to a registration and 
to the facts set forth therein within 30 days of the filing of the 
copy of the registration with the Administrator and the 
Delaware Harness Racing Commission. The objections or 
exceptions shall be filed in writing with the Administrator of 
the Breeder's Program and a duplicate delivered to the 
Harness Racing Commission within the 30-day time period. 
An interested party aggrieved of an action taken by the 
Administrator may appeal to the Commission in the manner 
prescribed for appeals.  The Commission shall hear and 
determine an appeal de novo. In the absence of objections or 
exceptions timely made, a registration shall be deemed final 
and binding and an official record of the Commission at the 
expiration of the 30th day of the delivery to the Commission. 
The Commission shall thereafter have the right on its own 
motion to correct an error or inaccuracy that it may find 
within the records. 

7.1 In addition to the duties of the Fund’s Administrator 
that are set forth elsewhere in these regulations, the 
Administrator is charged with receiving and reviewing for 
compliance with all rules and regulations of the Fund, 
information submitted by registrants who are seeking to 
register or renew the registration  of horses for participation 
in the Program.

7.2 If, after performing the review set forth in the 
immediately preceding section, the Administrator 
determines, in his or her sole discretion, that the information 
supplied by a registrant is incomplete or false, the 
Administrator has the power to: deny any application for 
registration; deny an application to renew an existing 
registration; and to suspend or revoke an existing 
registration.

7.3 The Administrator must provide the registrant with 
a written decision explaining the reason(s) why the 
registration, or application for renewal of registration, has 
been denied, suspended or revoked. Such written decision 
shall inform the registrant of the right to file a request for an 
administrative hearing before the Fund. Such a request for a 
hearing shall be considered timely filed with the Fund if it is 
received by the Fund within ten (10) days of the date the 
Administrator mails his or her written decision to the 
registrant. Such a request for a hearing challenging the 
Administrator’s written decision must state with specificity 
the ground(s) upon which the Administrator’s written 
decision is being contested.

7.4 No more than thirty (30) days after receiving a 
registrant’s request a public hearing before the Fund will be 
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scheduled and at which the registrant will be permitted to 
subpoena, call and cross-examine witnesses, and to 
introduce documentary evidence challenging the 
Administrator’s decision. The formal rules of evidence will 
not apply to such proceeding. The proceeding will be 
conducted in such a way as to allow for the creation of a 
verbatim transcript of the proceeding should either party 
wish to obtain one, the cost of such a transcript to be born by 
the requestor.

7.5 The Fund will, after considering all the evidence, 
and within thirty (30) days from the close of the public 
hearing, mail a written decision to the Administrator of the 
Fund and to the registrant stating its Findings of Fact and 
Conclusions of Law. An appeal from the decision by the 
Fund will be to the Superior Court of the State of Delaware 
on the record made before the Fund.

8.0 Records of expenses.
The Administrator of the Breeder's Program shall 

maintain a complete record of reasonable and necessary 
expenses and will submit quarterly estimates to the Board 
and the Secretary of Agriculture, on the basis of which the 
Secretary may disburse advances. The quarterly estimated 
statements of expenses and advances shall be reconciled 
annually with a certified statement of expenses to be 
prepared by an auditor approved in advance by the Board. 
The Board may thereafter review them and after approval of 
allowable items shall then reimburse the Administrator of 
the Program for the expenses the Board finds reasonable and 
appropriate to this program. If advances on account of 
expenses exceed actual expenses as approved at the end of a 
given year, the excess shall be deemed disbursed on account 
of the ensuing year’s expenses. bills to the Department of 
Agriculture following the normal procedures of the State of 
Delaware as set forth by the Finance Department within the 
Department of Agriculture. The Secretary of Agriculture has 
the responsibility to authorize all travel and major purchases.

9.0 Purses and Bonus Awards
9.1 A purse or bonus awarded under this section shall 

be in accordance with the standards for purses at each racing 
meet as approved by order of the Commission. The racing 
association shall maintain a separate ledger of such purses 
and bonuses and shall transmit a certified copy of 
allowances, bonus payments, and purses made no later than 
the 10th day of each month of the meet to the Commission. 
After the Commission has reviewed and approved them, it 
shall reimburse the racing association for the advances made 
which the Commission finds proper. The Administrator shall 
send a confirmation to the Department of Agriculture on a 
race week basis which will state the amount owed for purses 
of the Program.

9.2 Administrator of the Program shall compile awards

bonus payments earned by breeders and owners of Delaware 
Sires and Dams and maintain a separate ledger of them. A 
certified report of awards earned shall be forwarded to the 
Commission on a monthly basis during the racing season. 
The list of awards will be forwarded to Administrator of the 
Program who shall ensure payment to the awardees  subject 
to approval by the Commission. Bonus payments will be 
paid out at the end of the racing year. For race years 2003 
and thereafter, bonus payments shall not exceed $70,000 per 
crop of foals. In the event such payments would exceed these 
limits, owners eligible for bonus payments shall receive a 
prorated share of those monies allocated toward the payment 
of bonus payments.

9.3 A person interested in the awards, allowances, 
prizes and purses bonus payments and objecting to the 
calculations or determinations thereof as shown on the 
records of the Administrator of the Program and the Harness 
Racing Commission shall be responsible for taking written 
appeals to the Commission Board in the manner provided for 
appeals from the decisions of the Administrator pertaining to 
registrations.

9.4 The Board will have the right to review and 
approve fees and charges imposed by the Administrator or 
the Program. The charge or fee may not be imposed without 
prior approval by the Board.

9.54 Records, funds and accounts of funds,  and
prizes, purses, allowances and awards under this program 
shall be maintained separate from other records, funds, and 
accounts and may not become co-mingled with other 
matters. The records, funds, and accounts shall be kept 
continuously open for inspection by the Administrator of the 
Program.

10.0 Responsibilities-Owners or lessees of 
standardbred stallions and mares

10.1 An owner or lessee of a standardbred stallion 
who desires to use him for breeding purposes and to have 
him qualify for the Program, shall register the stallion by 
December 1st of the approaching breeding season with the 
Delaware Harness Racing Commission and Administrator of 
the Program or by January 1st of the approaching breeding 
season with an additional supplemental fee equal to the 
standard registration fee. For breeding season 1999 and 
2000, an owner or lessee of a Standardbred stallion who 
desires to use him for breeding purposes and to have him 
qualify for the Program, shall register the stallion by March 
1, 2000. Unless the stallion is contracted to stand at stud in 
the southern hemisphere, the stallion shall stand in the State 
of Delaware for the remainder of the breeding season. If a 
stallion is contracted to stand at stud in the southern 
hemisphere, a copy of said contract must be provided to the 
Administrator of the Program and the Harness Racing 
Commission at the time of application for eligibility
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registration in the Program, in the event the contract is 
entered into at a subsequent date, within ten (10) days of 
entering into the contract. A virgin Standardbred stallion 
entering stud service for the first time shall be registered 
prior to his first breeding and shall stand in the State of 
Delaware the remainder of the breeding season, unless he is 
contracted to stand at stud in the southern hemisphere. A 
stallion shall be registered on an application for 
Standardbred stallion certificate for eligibility established by 
the Administrator of the Program. in consultation with the 
Harness Racing Commission.

10.2 An owner or lessee of a standardbred stallion 
eligible for the Program shall designate a resident of 
Delaware as the authorized agent who shall be responsible 
for the registrations and records of the farm; of the stallion 
and the records of the breeding farm; and complying with the 
requirements of the Program. The “Authorized Agent” form 
shall be filed with information shall be incorporated into the 
Stallion registration form and filed as such.

10.3  In order for foals of 100% wholly owned mares at 
the time of breeding through foaling by a Delaware resident 
to be eligible for races under the Program for race years 2002 
and 2003, said mares shall be registered with the 
Administrator and Commission by August 15, 2000 for the 
breeding seasons of 1999 and 2000. No fee shall be charged 
for registering said mare.

10.3 No stallion participating in the Delaware 
Standardbred Breeder's Program may be offered under 
private treaty.  Each stallion registered in the Delaware 
Standardbred Breeder's Program must make public the 
maximum possible breeding fee.

11.0 Sire Registration Fees
11.1 Sires shall initially register for the Program no 

later than December 1st of the approaching breeding season, 
or no later than January 1st with an additional supplemental 
registration fee equal to the regular stallion registration fee. 
For sires registering in breeding season 2000, sires shall 
initially register for the Program no later than March 1, 2000.

11.2 All fees must accompany the registration and 
must be submitted by registered or certified mail.

11.3 Registration fees for the Program are non-
refundable.

11.4 Sire registration fee for a Standardbred stallion 
shall be $500.00. Sire registration for those sires standing in 
the State of Delaware and registering for breeding seasons 
prior to 2001 in accordance with these regulations shall be 
charged a single fee of $250. The supplemental registration 
fee shall be $1,000.00.

11.5 The annual stallion registration fees may be 
used to offset reasonable expenses related to administering 
and promoting the Program. Any fees beyond reasonable 
expenses shall be invested in the endowment account of the 

Program.
11.6 The annual stallion registration fee may be 

used to offset reasonable expenses related to administering 
and promoting the Program. Any fees beyond reasonable 
expenses shall be invested in the endowment account of the 
Program. An owner of a Standardbred stallion registered 
with the Administrator and Commission shall submit by 
December 1st of each year the stallion registration fee, or 
January 1st with the supplemental fee provided in section 10 
above and a report for each stallion that states each mare 
bred by said stallion during the preceding twelve (12) 
months. For breeding seasons prior to breeding season 2001, 
an owner of a Standardbred stallion registered with the 
Administrator and Commission shall submit by March 1, 
2000 the stallion registration fee of $250 and any other 
documentation required by the Administrator and 
Commission to verify where the stallion stood during the 
period for which the stallion or its progeny seek to register.
An owner of a Standardbred stallion registered with the 
Administrator shall submit by September 1st after the 
breeding season which the stallion serviced mares a copy of 
the USTA “Mares Bred Report.”

12.0 Sire Renewal Fees
12.1 The registration of a stallion that remains in the 

state for more than one (1) breeding season shall be renewed 
annually.

12.2 The annual renewal fee for registration of 
stallions to the Delaware Standardbred Breeders' Fund 
Program shall be $500.

12.3 The annual stallion registration fee may be 
used to offset reasonable expenses related to administering 
and promoting the Delaware Standardbred Breeder's 
Program.  Any fees beyond reasonable expenses shall be 
invested in the endowment account of the Delaware 
Standardbred Breeder's Program. An owner of a 
standardbred stallion registered with the Administrator and 
Commission shall submit by December 1st of each year the 
stallion registration fee and a report for each stallion that 
states each mare bred by said stallion during the preceding 
twelve (12) months.

13.0 Penalties and Suspension from the Program 
13.1 If an owner or a lessee of a registered stallion 

fails to furnish information the Administrator of the 
Breeder's Program has requested relating to the registration 
or renewal of registration of a horse, the Administrator of the 
Breeder's Program shall:

13.1.1 Suspend or deny the registration of the 
stallion; and

13.1.2 Schedule a hearing within thirty days of 
the denial or suspension.

13.1.2.1 After the hearing, the Administrator 
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of the Breeder's Program shall determine within ten working 
days whether the failure to furnish information was willful; 
and:

13.1.2.1.1 Suspend the registration; or
13.1.2.1.2 Rescind its suspension of the 

registration; or
13.1.2.1.3 Deny or revoke the 

registration; or
13.1.2.1.4 Deny or revoke the 

registration; and bar from further registration, horses owned 
by the person who executed the application containing false 
or misleading information.

13.1.2.2 If the Administrator of the Breeder's 
Program determines that a registration is incorrect, or an 
application for registration, renewal of registration, or 
transfer of a registered stallion contains false or misleading 
information, the Administrator shall:

13.1.2.2.1 Suspend or deny the 
registration of the stallion; and

13.1.2.2.2 Summon the person who 
executed the application, and any person who has knowledge 
relating to the application, to appear before the 
Administrator at a hearing;

13.1.2.3 After the hearing, the Administrator 
of the Breeder's Program shall determine within ten working 
days whether the person knew or had reason to know that the 
information was false or misleading, and:

13.1.2.3.1Rescind its suspension or denial 
of the registration; or

13.1.2.3.2Suspend, deny, or revoke the 
registration; or

13.1.2.3.3Deny or revoke the registration; 
and bar from further registration, horses owned by the 
person who executed the application containing false or 
misleading information.

13.1.2.4 If a person summoned by the 
Administrator of the Breeder's Program fails to respond to 
the summons within ten working days, the Administrator of 
the Breeder's Program:

13.1.2.4.1 Shall suspend or deny the 
registration of the stallion;

13.1.2.4.2 Notify the person in writing 
of the action taken by the Commission; and

13.1.2.4.3 may deny or revoke the 
registration; and bar from further registration, horses owned 
by the person who executed the application containing false 
or misleading information.

13.2 Appeals
Appeals of decisions to deny or suspend 

registrations by the Administrator of the Breeder's Program 
may be appealed to the Delaware Harness Racing 
Commission within thirty days of the action by the 
Administrator of the Breeder's Program, subject to the same 
rules and procedures for handling appeals established for the 

Delaware Harness Racing Commission.

14.0 13.0 Races
14.1 13.1 The purses for all races, including 

walkovers, under this Breeder’s Program shall be distributed 
on the following percentage basis: 50-25-12-8-5. Walkovers 
receive 50 % of the purse. Points to qualify for the finals 
shall be distributed on the same percentage basis. In fields 
with more than five horses, places six through nine eight
shall receive 4-3-2-1 points, respectively.

14.2 13.2 In the case of dead heats, points for the 
two positions shall be divided equally among those horses 
finishing in a dead heat. For example, if two horses finish in 
a dead heat for second, those horses would divide 25 plus 12 
points to receive 18.5 percent of the purse or 18.5 qualifying 
points each. In the case of a tie in points, the fastest time in 
either elimination shall determine the horse eligible to enter 
the final. In the case of horses tied in points that have 
recorded identical times, the amount of the horses’ lifetime 
earnings will decide the horse eligible to enter the final. In 
the case where points, times, and lifetime earnings are equal, 
the eligible horse shall be drawn by lot. All horses must start 
in one elimination in order to start in the final. All horses 
shall be on the gate in eliminations and the final.

14.3 13.3 The percentage basis established by 
subsection (1) of this section shall apply at each of the 
associations licensed by the Delaware Harness Racing 
Commission.

14.4 13.4 If circumstances prevent the racing of an 
event, and the race is not drawn, all stake payments shall be 
refunded to the purse account of the Program.

14.5 13.5 The monies provided for purses and bonus 
payments shall be distributed evenly between the races of 
each:

14.5.1  13.5.1 Age:
14.5.2  13.5.2 Sex: and
14.5.3  13.5.3 Gait.

14.6 13.6 The minimum purses for elimination races 
for both pacers and trotters shall be $5,000. The minimum 
purses for finals shall be $30,000. Beginning in 2004, the 
minimum purse for elimination races for 2 and 3-year old 
trotters and pacers shall be $15,000.00 and the finals shall be 
$100,000.00. The Board of the Program, pursuant to a 
recommendation from the Administrator of the Program may 
agree to increase purses should funds and other conditions 
permit, or decrease purses in the event of insufficient funds.

14.7 13.7 No horse is eligible to declare unless it has 
at least one charted satisfactory performance line within 30 
days of declaration and must meet the following qualifying 
standards:

2 Year-Olds 3 Year-Olds
Pacers    Trotters Pacers    Trotters
2:10   2:14 2:06        2:12

14.8 13.8 Horses that meet the qualifying standards 
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for a preliminary leg at each racetrack are qualified for 
subsequent legs and the final at that racetrack.

14.9 13.9 The Administrator of the Program shall be 
responsible for races conducted under the Program and shall 
ensure that:

14.9.1 13.9.1 each track declares the time 
specified for races under this program by proper notice and 
racing dates are issued for sires stakes after the track’s race 
dates are set.

14.9.2 13.9.2 entry for races run under the 
Program is required to be received by the Racing Office by 
noon three days in advance of the scheduled race date in a 
box designated for this purpose. at the date and time 
published on the track’s condition sheet.

14.9.3 13.9.3 The eligibility and class of all 
horses running participating in races is carefully screened.

14.9.4 13.9.4 The Administrator, or his/her 
designee, is present for the Judge’s race draw by the Judges
for all races conducted under the Program.

6 DE Reg. 1497 (5/1/03) 
14.10 Beginning in 2004, the minimum purse for 

elimination races for 2-year old trotters and pacers shall be 
$7,500.00 and minimum purse for finals shall be $75,000. 

14.11 Beginning in 2005, the minimum purse for 
elimination races for 2 and 3-year old trotters and pacers 
shall be $7,500.00 and minimum purse for finals shall be 
$75,000.00.

7 DE Reg. 497 (10/01/03)

15.0 14.0 Nomination and Sustaining Payments 
15.1 14.1 Nomination and sustaining payments shall 

be made to the Program in U.S. Funds.
15.2 14.2 A fee payment required by this section 

shall be postmarked no later than the date due that is 
specified for the fee by this section. If the date due is on a 
Sunday and/or a legal federal holiday which falls on a 
Saturday, payment is due by the following Monday. If the 
date due falls on a Monday that is a legal holiday, such 
payment is due on Tuesday. Payments made by commercial 
delivery services shall be treated the same as those made by 
letters bearing a postmark.

15.3 14.3 Beginning with the yearlings of 2001, the 
yearling nomination fee shall be:

15.3.1 14.3.1 Forty (40) dollars each; and
15.3.2 14.3.2 Due by May 15th of the yearling 

year.
15.4 14.4 A nomination shall be accompanied by a 

photocopy of the USTA registration certificate. 
Supplemental fees of $25 shall be assessed if the USTA 
registration certificate does not accompany the nomination. 
No nomination shall be accepted where a USTA registration 
certificate is not obtained and submitted within 60 days of 
nomination to the Program.

15.5 14.5 If the May 15th deadline to nominate a 
yearling is missed, a late supplemental payment of $350 
shall be required. The late supplemental payment shall be 
accepted if (a) it is received by April 1 March 15th of the two 
(2) year old year; and (b) the two (2) year old Marcfh 15th

payment has been made. This payment is in addition to the 
regular sustaining payment due on March 15th.

15.6 14.6 Sustaining payments shall be as follows:
15.6.1 14.6.1 Two(2) Year Old payments

March 15th-$100.00(must be made to ensure 
eligibility as a three (3) year old;

May 15th-$200.00;
Declaration Fee (for each track) $500.00

15.6.2 14.6.2 Three (3) Year Old payments.
March 15th-$300.00
Declaration Fee (for each track) $500.00

6 DE Reg. 1497 (5/1/03)
5 DE Reg. 1274 (12/1/01)

16.0 15.0 Investment Plan and Use of Fees
16.1 15.1 All proceeds received pursuant to 

§4815(b)(3)b.2.D of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, which 
established in the State of Delaware, a Delaware 
Standardbred Breeders’ Program and any interest earned on 
these monies shall be invested in an endowment account 
until race year 2002.

16.2 15.2 For race year 2002, five hundred thousand 
dollars ($500,000) of the proceeds received pursuant to 
§4815(b)(3)b.2.D of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, which 
established in the State of Delaware, the Program and any 
interest earned on the endowment fund in the preceding  (12) 
twelve months shall be deposited in a separate purse account 
for purses and bonuses for that race year. For race year 2002, 
one million five hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000) of 
the proceeds pursuant to §4815(b)(3)b.2.D of Title 29 of the 
Delaware Code, which established in the State of Delaware, 
the Program shall be deposited in the endowment account.

16.3 15.3 For race year 2003, two million dollars 
($2,000,000) of the proceeds received pursuant to 
§4815(b)(3)b.2.D of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, which 
established in the State of Delaware, the Program and any 
interest earned on the endowment fund in the preceding  (12) 
twelve months shall be deposited in a separate purse account 
for purses and bonuses for that race year.

16.5 15.4 For race year 2004 and each race year 
thereafter, two three million dollars ($3,000,000) of the 
proceeds received pursuant to §4815(b)(3)b.2.D of Title 29 
of the Delaware Code, which established in the State of 
Delaware, the Program and any interest earned on that 
money the endowment fund in the preceding  (12) twelve 
months shall be deposited in a separate purse account for 
purses and bonuses for race year 2004 and for each year 
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thereafter that race year.
16.4 15.5 Any monies from the purse account for the 

Program at the end of the race year shall revert to the 
endowment account of the Program.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 618

Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,
Section 220 (14 Del.C. §220)

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

618 School Safety Audit

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 879 School Safety Audit by requiring that a 
corrective plan of action be developed within sixty (60) days 
of conducting the School Safety Audit and that the plan be 
made available to the Department’s Quality Review Team at 
the time of their visit.  The reference to Alterative Schools 
has been changed, more appropriately, to Alternative 
Program sites and the number assigned to the regulation has 
been changed to 618 in order to place it in the School 
Climate and Discipline section of the regulations.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on May 24, 2004 
in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  No comments 
were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 
DE Admin. Code 879 in order to require that a corrective 
plan of action be developed within sixty (60) days of 
conducting the School Safety Audit to be made available to 
the Department’s Quality Review Team at the time of their 
visit and that references to Alterative Schools be changed to 
Alternative Program sites.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 879. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code
879 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. 
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE 
Admin. Code 879 hereby amended shall be in effect for a 
period of five years from the effective date of this order as 
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 879 amended hereby 
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said 
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 618 in the 
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of 
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on July 2, 2004.  The 
effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the 
date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 2nd day of July 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

879 618 School Safety Audit

1.0 Each school year every Delaware public school 
including Charter Schools and Alternative Schools Program 
sites shall conduct a School Safety Audit.  Such audit shall 
be conducted using guidelines provided by the Department 
of Education.  Districts and heads of charter schools shall 
ensure that a corrective plan of action to address identified 
needs is developed within sixty (60) days of the School 
Safety Audit.  The corrective plan of action shall be made 
available to the Department of Education’s Quality Review 
Team at the time of their visit.

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER
620 School Crisis Response Plans

14 DE Admin. Code 620

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 880 School Crisis Response Plans.  The 
amendment requires a meeting following practice drills to 
assess the readiness and effectiveness of the plan.  The plan 
must also be made available to the Department’s Quality 
Review Team when they visit the school.  The reference to 
Alterative Schools has been changed more appropriately to 
Alternative Program sites and the number assigned to the 
regulation has been changed to 620 in order to place it in the 
School Climate and Discipline section of the regulations.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on May 24, 
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2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  No 
comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 
DE Admin. Code 880 in order to require a meeting 
following practice drills to assess the readiness and 
effectiveness of the plan. The plan must also be made 
available to the Department’s Quality Review Team when 
they visit the school and the reference to Alterative Schools 
has been changed to Alternative Program sites 

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 880. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code
880 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. 
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE 
Admin. Code 880 hereby amended shall be in effect for a 
period of five years from the effective date of this order as 
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 880 amended hereby 
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said 
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 620 in the 
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of 
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on July 2, 2004.  The 
effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the 
date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 2nd day of July 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

880 620  School Crisis Response Plans

1.0 Every Delaware public school including Charter 
Schools and Alternative Schools Program sites shall develop 
a School Crisis Response Plan and shall conduct at least one 
practice drill annually. Following practice drills, the districts 
and heads of charter schools shall ensure that the school 
safety teams conduct meetings to assess readiness and 
determine the effectiveness of the existing plans.  Such plan

School Crisis Response Plans shall be developed using 
guidelines provided by the Department of Education and 
shall be made available to the Department of Education’s 
Quality Review Team at the time of their visit.

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

885 Safe Management and Disposal of Surplus 
Chemicals in the Delaware Public School System

14 DE Admin. Code 885

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 885 Safe Management and Disposal of 
Surplus Chemicals in the Delaware Public School System. 
The amendments include a statement in 1.0 that no mercury 
or mercury compounds may be used in Delaware public 
schools, an explanation of the use of the word “surplus” in 
the regulation in 4.0 and the inclusion of charter schools in 
the regulation.  In addition, the word “surplus” has been 
removed from the title.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on May 24 , 
2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  No 
comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 
DE Admin. Code 885 in order to add a statement that no 
mercury or mercury compounds may be used in Delaware 
public schools, to add an explanation of the use of the word 
“surplus” in the regulation and to add charter schools to the 
regulation.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code. 885. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code
885 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. 
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE 
Admin. Code 885 hereby amended shall be in effect for a 
period of five years from the effective date of this order as 
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 885 amended hereby 
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said 
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 885 in the 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 2, SUNDAY, AUGUST 1, 2004



FINAL REGULATIONS346
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of 
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on May 24, 2004.  The 
effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the 
date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 2nd day of July 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

885 Safe Management and Disposal of Surplus 
Chemicals in the Delaware Public School System

This policy was developed with the assistance of the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control, the Delaware Solid Waste Authority, the Bureau of 
Environmental Health, Delaware Department of 
Transportation, and the Advisory Committee on Science/ 
Environmental Education.

1.0 The storage of all chemicals shall conform to the 
specifications stated in Safety First: Guidelines for Safety in 
the Science or Science Related Classrooms.

2.0 All laboratories and science storage in the Delaware 
public schools shall be inventoried each year during the 
month of March. The inventory of chemicals both hazardous 
and non-hazardous should contain the following 
information:

2.1 Who may handle the chemical and/or use it;
2.2 The name of the chemical;
2.3 The amount on hand;
2.4 The location where the chemical is stored;
2.5 The date purchased; and
2.6 The date discarded.

3.0 A list of the chemicals shall be kept by the school 
principal.

4.0 Each district shall prepare a list of surplus chemicals 
and send a copy to the Education Associate, Science/ 
Environmental Education by April 15 of each year. These 
lists will be duplicated and disseminated to school districts 
so that they may negotiate, trade or exchange their surplus 
chemicals.

5.0 Disposal of surplus non-hazardous chemicals shall be 
carried out within the school district in accordance with 

procedures outlined in the Flinn Chemical Catalog/ 
Reference Manual, using trained staff. Direct any questions 
regarding these procedures to the Education Associate for 
Science/Environmental Education.

6.0 Each district shall prepare a list of Transportable 
Surplus Hazardous chemicals and submit it to the Education 
Associate for Science/Environmental Education by May 15 
of each year. These Transportable Surplus Hazardous 
chemicals, from all districts, will be brought to a central 
facility by district personnel. The location of this facility and 
date of aggregation will be announced annually by the 
Education Associate for Science/Environmental Education. 
Arrangements will be made for a licensed waste hauler to 
take the chemicals to a proper waste facility for disposal. 
Cost of disposal will be prorated among the districts and will 
be based upon the weight of the hazardous materials.

7.0 Non-transportable hazardous chemicals such as diethyl 
ether, picric acid, benzoyl peroxide and other materials listed 
in Safety First: Guidelines for Safety in the Science or 
Science Related Classrooms, must be disposed of in a 
prompt manner through the use of a licensed waste hauler. It 
is the school district's responsibility to contact a licensed 
waste hauler and to pay the cost for removal and disposal.

See 4 DE Reg. 1255 (2/1/01)

1.0 Mercury and Mercury Compounds
1.1 Mercury and mercury compounds, both organic and 

inorganic shall not be used in the science classrooms in the 
public schools in Delaware no later than January 1, 2005. 
Instruments which contain mercury such as thermometers, 
hydrometers, barometers, etc. shall be replaced at all grade 
levels in order to guard against spillage.

2.0 Storage of Chemicals
2.1 The storage of all chemicals shall conform to the 

specifications stated in Safety First: Guidelines for Safety in 
the Science or Science Related Classrooms.

3.0 Inventory of Chemicals, Hazardous and 
Nonhazardous

3.1 All laboratories and science storage in the Delaware 
public schools shall be inventoried each year during the 
month of March.  The list of the chemicals shall be kept by 
the school principal. The inventory of chemicals both 
hazardous and non-hazardous shall contain the following 
information:

3.2 Who may handle the chemical and/or use it;
3.3 The name of the chemical;
3.4 The amount on hand;
3.5 The location where the chemical is stored;
3.6 The date purchased; and
3.7 The date discarded.
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4.0 For purposes of this regulation, surplus shall refer to 
chemicals which are no longer usable or needed  

5.0 Inventory of Surplus Chemicals
5.1 Each district and charter school shall prepare a list 

of surplus chemicals and send a copy to the Education 
Associate, Science/ Environmental Education by April 15 of 
each year. The Department shall duplicate and disseminate 
these lists to school districts and charter schools so that they 
may negotiate, trade or exchange their surplus chemicals.

6.0 Disposal of Surplus Nonhazardous Chemicals
6.1 Disposal of surplus non-hazardous chemicals shall 

be carried out by the school district and charter school in 
accordance with procedures outlined in the Flinn Chemical 
Catalog/ Reference Manual, using trained staff.

7.0 Disposal of Surplus Transportable Hazardous 
Chemicals

7.1 Each district and charter school shall prepare a list 
of surplus transportable hazardous chemicals and submit it to 
the Education Associate for Science/Environmental 
Education by May 15 of each year. These surplus 
transportable hazardous chemicals, from all districts and 
charter schools shall be brought to a central facility by 
district and charter school personnel. The location of this 
facility and date of aggregation shall be announced annually 
by the Education Associate for Science/Environmental 
Education. The Department shall arrange for a licensed 
waste hauler to take the chemicals to a proper waste facility 
for disposal. The cost of disposal shall be prorated among 
the districts and charter schools based upon the weight of the 
hazardous materials.

8.0 Disposal of Surplus Non-transportable Hazardous 
Chemicals

8.1 Surplus non-transportable hazardous chemicals 
such as diethyl ether, picric acid, benzoyl peroxide and other 
materials that are listed in Safety First: Guidelines for Safety 
in the Science or Science Related Classrooms, must be 
disposed of in a prompt manner through the use of a licensed 
waste hauler. It is the responsibility of the school districts 
and charter schools to contact a licensed waste hauler and to 
pay the cost for removal and disposal.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
14 DE Admin. Code 1502

Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER
REGULATION 1502 EDUCATOR MENTORING

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 1502 Educator Mentoring.  It is necessary to 
adopt this regulation in order to fully implement educator 
mentoring, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1210(c) and 14 Del.C.
§1305(o).  This regulation concerns the duties and 
responsibilities of educator lead mentors, mentors, and new 
educators. All educators serving on an Initial License must 
successfully participate in new educator mentoring in order 
to be eligible for a Continuing License.  In addition, 
educators new to Delaware or new to roles or districts within 
the state must participate in mentoring activities.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation 
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State 
News on May 26, 2004, in the form hereto attached as 
Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments. 
Comments supportive of the regulation were received from 
the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Children.

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this 
regulation to comply with changes in statute regarding the 
licensure and certification of educators.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is 
appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit 
“B” is hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 
Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in 
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this 
order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form 
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be 
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cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1502 from the Administrative 
Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL 
STANDARDS BOARD THE 1st DAY OF JULY, 2004

Harold Roberts, Chair Bruce Harter
Sharon Brittingham Valerie Hoffman
Norman Brown Leslie Holden
Heath Chasanov Carla Lawson
Edward Czerwinski Mary Mirabeau
Angela Dunmore Gretchen Pikus
Karen Gordon Karen Schilling Ross
Barbara Grogg Carol Vukelich

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT 
OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED This 15th Day Of July, 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1502 Educator Mentoring

1.0 Content.
 1.1 This regulation shall apply to mentoring activities 
required of (1) all educators who hold an Initial License and 
(2) all educators who hold a Standard or Professional Status 
Certificate issued prior to August 1, 2003, or a Continuing, 
or Advanced License[,;] who are new to the State of 
Delaware, new to an employing authority, or who move from 
one category of position to another (i.e., teacher to 
administrator), pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1210(c).

2.0 Definitions.
The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“Educator” means a public school employee who holds 

a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del.C. Ch. 12, 
and includes teachers, specialists, and administrators, and as 
otherwise defined by the Standards Board and the State 
Board pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1203, but does not include 
substitute teachers.  For the purposes of this regulation, 
licensed and certified charter school teachers, and teachers 
or specialists who are employed on temporary contracts of 
91 days or longer duration shall be included under the term 
“educator”.

“Employing Authority” means any entity which 
employs educators, and includes, but is not limited to, school 
districts, charter schools, boards of directors, or management 
companies.

“Experienced Educator” is an educator who holds a 
Continuing or Advanced License, or an educator who holds 
a Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to 
August 1, 2003, and a Standard Certificate in the area 
assigned[, and who has satisfactory DPAS evaluations].

“Lead Mentor” means a teacher, specialist, or 
administrator who holds a Standard or Professional Status 
Certificate issued prior to August 1, 2003,  or a Continuing 
or Advanced License, who has participated in the training 
specified for lead mentors and who is employed by an 
employing authority as a lead mentor and performs the 
duties and responsibilities assigned that position.  Educators 
serving as lead mentors must have satisfactory DPAS 
evaluations, and may not be on a DPAS improvement plan.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Mentor” means a teacher, specialist, or administrator 
who holds a Standard or Professional Status Certificate 
issued prior to August 1, 2003, or a Continuing or Advanced 
License, who has participated in the training for mentors 
specified by the Department and the employing authority. 
Educators serving as mentors must have satisfactory DPAS 
evaluations, and may not be on a DPAS Improvement Plan.

“Mentoring” means activities prescribed by the 
Department or other employing authority in which a holder 
of an Initial License must engage during the three-year term 
of the Initial License. Mentoring also means activities 
prescribed by the Department or other employing authority 
for educators who are new to Delaware or who move [to 
another employing authority from one category of 
position to another, such as from teacher to specialist or 
from teacher or specialist to administrator, regardless of 
the level of the license held].

“NASSP” means the National Association of 
Secondary School Principals.

“New Educator” means an educator who holds an 
Initial License.

[“Site Coordinator” means an individual appointed 
by an employing authority to oversee an educator 
mentoring program.]
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“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards 
Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of 
the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.

3.0 New Educator Mentoring.
3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1210(c), educators 

who are new to the profession and who hold an Initial 
License shall participate in mentoring activities prescribed 
by the Department.  Each new educator will be assigned a 
mentor for his or her first year in the profession, with 
continuing support in years two and three, who will assist the 
new educator in becoming acclimated to the role, the school 
or other setting, and Delaware content standards and 
Delaware Professional Teaching Standards, applicable 
national specialist standards, or Delaware Administrator 
Standards.  The new educator will meet with his or her 
mentor at least 30 documented hours, which may include a 
combination of in-school and after-school time, during the 
first year of employment.  The assignment of a mentor 
beyond the first year of employment in Delaware is at the 
discretion of the employing authority, based upon a review 
of the educator’s performance.

3.2 The new educator shall, during the three-year term 
of the Initial License, attend such activities as are planned by 
the Department as part of the New Educator Mentoring 
Program and offered in individual employing authorities.

3.3 The new educator shall participate in workshops 
and other activities offered for new educators as part of the 
New Educator Mentoring Program by the employing 
authority.

3.4 The new educator shall complete the requirements 
of the New Educator Mentoring Program, which shall 
consist of no more than 60 hours [in the first year], 
inclusive of meetings between the mentor and the new 
educator.

3.4.1 The New Educator Mentoring Program 
shall be aligned with Danielson’s (1996) “A Framework for 
Teaching” and shall include training and support in the 
components of the Delaware Performance Appraisal System, 
including descriptive, non-evaluative feedback.  [In the first 
year, 18 hours of training shall be based on the Pathwise 
Induction Program.]

3.5 Failure by a new educator to complete the 
requirements of the New Educator Mentoring Program shall 
result in the denial of a Continuing License.

4.0 Experienced Educators New to the State of 
Delaware.

4.1 Experienced teachers and specialists new to the 
State of Delaware who hold an Initial License shall 
participate in mentoring activities prescribed by the 
Department.  Each teacher or specialist shall be assigned a 
mentor for the first year of employment in the State.  The 

mentor will assist the new teacher or specialist in becoming 
acclimated to the role, the school or other setting, and 
Delaware content and teacher or specialist standards.  The 
teacher or specialist will meet with his or her mentor at least 
30 documented hours, which may include a combination of 
in-school and after-school time, during the first year of 
employment.  The assignment of a mentor beyond the first 
year of employment in Delaware is at the discretion of the 
employing authority, based upon a review of the teacher’s or 
specialist’s performance.

4.1.1 The teacher or specialist shall, during the 
three-year term of the Initial License, attend such activities 
as are planned by the Department and offered by individual 
employing authorities.

4.1.2 The teacher or specialist shall also 
participate in workshops and other activities concerning 
employing authority specific practices offered for new 
teachers and specialists by the employing authority.

4.2 Experienced teachers and specialists new to the 
State of Delaware who hold a Continuing or Advanced 
License shall, within the first year of employment, 
participate in, and successfully complete, a Department-
sponsored mentoring program which focuses on current best 
practices in curriculum, instruction and assessment aligned 
to state standards.

4.3 Experienced educators new to the State who are 
employed as school administrators shall participate in 
mentoring activities specified by the Department, as well as 
in mentoring activities required by the employing authority.

4.4 Experienced teachers and specialists new to the 
State of Delaware who hold Initial Licenses shall complete 
the requirements of the New Educator Mentoring Program, 
which shall consist of no more than 60 hours, inclusive of 
meetings between the mentor and the experienced teachers 
and specialists.

4.4.1 The [New] Educator Mentoring Program 
shall be aligned with Danielson’s (1996) “A Framework for 
Teaching” and shall include training and support in the 
components of the Delaware Performance Appraisal System, 
including descriptive, non-evaluative feedback.  [In the first 
year, 18 hours of training shall be based on the Pathwise 
Induction Program.]

4.5 Failure by an experienced teacher or specialist new 
to the State of Delaware to complete the requirements of the 
[New] Educator Mentoring Program shall result in the denial 
of a Continuing License.

5.0 Experienced Delaware Educators New to an 
Employing Authority.

5.1 Experienced Delaware educators who hold a 
Continuing or Advanced License, or a Standard or 
Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 1, 
2003, who move to a different employing authority shall, 
within the first year of employment, participate in, and 
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complete, an employing authority sponsored mentoring 
program which focuses on current best practices in 
curriculum, instruction and assessment aligned to state 
standards.

5.2 Experienced Delaware administrators moving to a 
new employing authority shall participate in that employing 
authority’s designated mentoring program during the first 
year of employment.

6.0 Experienced Delaware Educators New to a Category 
of Employment.  [Reserved]

[6.1 Experienced Delaware educators who move 
from a teacher, specialist, or administrative category to 
any other category, whether within the same or a 
different employing authority, shall participate in 
mentoring activities specified by the Department, as well 
as in mentoring activities required by the employing 
authority.]

7.0 Duties and Responsibilities of Mentors.
7.1 Lead Mentors.

7.1.1 Teacher lead mentors must:
7.1.1.1 Satisfactorily complete training in 

mentoring and coaching development provided by the 
Department for lead mentors[.  A minimum of one lead 
mentor per district shall be trained in the Pathwise 
Induction Program]; and

7.1.1.2 Work a minimum of 45 documented 
hours per year in Lead Mentor Activities.  Lead Mentor 
activities may include, but are not limited to, a combination 
of in-school and after-school time, per year in the program in 
a leadership position, planning mentor training, providing 
two-day mentor training to aspiring mentors, assisting 
mentors with specific issues, and other responsibilities as 
directed by the site coordinator.

7.1.2 Administrative lead mentors must:
7.1.2.1  Satisfactorily complete training in 

mentoring and coaching development provided by the 
NASSP Leadership Development and Assessment Program.

7.1.2.2  Satisfactorily complete training in the 
mentoring and coaching facilitator development provided by 
the NASSP Leadership Development and Assessment 
Program or Assessor Training for the Developmental 
Assessment Center provided by the NASSP Leadership 
Development and Assessment Program;

7.1.2.3 Work a minimum of 45 documented 
hours per year in Administrative Lead Mentor activities. 
Administrative Lead Mentor activities may include, but are 
not limited to, a combination of in-school and after-school 
time, in the program in a leadership position, planning 
mentor training, providing two-day mentor training as 
prescribed by NASSP to aspiring mentors, assisting mentors 
with specific issues, and other responsibilities as directed by 
the [program site] coordinator; and

7.1.2.4 Serve on the administrative mentoring 
program advisory committee.

7.2 [Educator] Mentors.
7.2.1 Teacher [and Specialist] mentors must:

7.2.1.1 Satisfactorily complete training in 
mentoring and coaching development provided by the Lead 
Mentors; 

7.2.1.2 Attend structured meetings 
concerning the mentoring program as directed by the district; 

7.2.1.3 Facilitate 30 documented contact 
hours, which may include a combination of in-school and 
after-school time, with their protégées annually which are 
designed to help the new teacher acquire additional skills 
and knowledge appropriate to their specific positions; and

7.2.1.4 Submit contact log documentation to 
site coordinator January 15 and May 15.  This 
documentation must be forwarded to the Department by May 
30.

7.2.2 Administrative mentors must:
7.2.2.1 Satisfactorily complete training in 

Mentoring and Coaching Development 
provided by the NASSP Leadership Development and 
Assessment Program; 

7.2.2.2 Attend a minimum of three (3) 
structured meetings with protégées;

7.2.2.3 Facilitate 30 documented contact 
hours annually in Administrative 
mentoring activities.  Administrative mentoring activities 
may include, but are not limited to, a combination of in-
school and after-school activities which are designed to help 
the new administrator link school leadership theory and on 
the job practice;

7.2.2.4 Submit contact log documentation to 
[program site] coordinator January 15 and May 15.  This 
documentation must be forwarded to the Department by May 
30.

8.0 Mentors and lead mentors who are paid in accordance 
with the provisions of 14 Del.C. §1305 shall be paid an extra 
responsibility salary supplement annually, upon 
documentation of satisfactory fulfillment of duties and 
responsibilities, in accordance with the schedule adopted 
annually by the Standards Board, with concurrence of the 
State Board.
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 

107 (31 Del.C. §107)

ORDER

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / 
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend 
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates 
to Fair Hearing Practice and Procedure.  The Department’s 
proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant 
to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as 
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed 
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the June 2004 Delaware Register of Regulations, 
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public 
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by June 
30, 2004 at which time the Department would receive 
information, factual evidence and public comment to the 
said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED CHANGE

DSSM 5311, Notification of Time and Place of Hearing 
- The change adds language to clarify that the ten day 
advance notice period in this rule refers to the date the fair 
hearing scheduling letter is mailed and not to the date the 
letter is received by certified mail.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH 
AGENCY RESPONSE

The Delaware Developmental Disabilities Council 
(DDDC), the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional 
Citizens (GACEC), and the State Council for Persons with 
Disabilities (SCPD) provided the following summarized 
statement as a preamble to their observations, concerns and 
suggestions:

The regulation contemplates that the notice will be sent 
to the beneficiary by certified mail.  This will often result in 
additional delay in receipt since the mail carrier will only 
leave a notice of the availability of the mail if the beneficiary 
is not at home.  The beneficiary may need to alert witnesses 
of a hearing date with only a few days advance notice.  This 
provides little advance notice to witnesses (who may be 
medical providers with “tight” calendars).  Such “short” 
notices will predictably result in more requests for 

continuances since attorney, beneficiary, and witness 
calendars will already be filled.

Agency Response:  The proposal, which would amend the 
current regulation covering notification of a fair hearing, is 
to clarify that the 10-day advance notice provision only 
requires that the notice be mailed, not actually received, 10 
calendar days prior to the hearing.  Regulations already 
provide and the practice has been to use certified mail for 
mailing hearing notices.

The rule was proposed because of some recent 
confusion over its application.  The Delaware rule is based 
primarily on the federal Food Stamp Program rule at 7 CFR 
273.15(k)(3)(1).  This rule says, in part, that “At least 10 
days prior to the hearing, advance written notice shall be 
provided to all parties involved to permit adequate 
preparation of the case.”  The federal Medicaid Program rule 
at 42 CFR 431.240 does not include any time standard for 
mailing but says, in part, that “all hearings must be 
conducted…(2) only after adequate written notice of the 
hearing.”

The Councils suggested that (1) a “mailing date” 
approach utilize a “10 business days” standard, (2) the 
regulation be amended so that the notice is sent by both 
certified mail and regular mail to facilitate prompt receipt 
and (3) “amend the regulation or adopt a business practice of 
contemporaneously mailing the notice to both the appellant 
and appellant’s representative, if any.”

DSS has carefully considered each of the suggestions.
DSS has not adopted the Councils’ suggestions for the 

following reasons: commonly accepted rule of regulatory 
construction is that time periods of 7 days or less mean 
“working days” and rules that have time periods of more 
than 7 days mean calendar days; and, our experience over 
many years is that certified mail is typically delivered very 
promptly after it is posted.  The obligation is to communicate 
with the client and, the majority of our scheduling notices 
are mailed 30 days in advance of the date of the hearing; 
adding mailings to our process is an additional expense as 
well as a manpower strain.  However, the time period is 
changed to read “12 calendar days” to more clearly define 
the time period and to allow two (2) days for mailing.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set 
forth in the June 2004 Register of Regulations should be 
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
as it relates to the notification of time and place of fair 
hearing is adopted and shall be final effective August 10, 
2004.
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7.15.2004
Karryl McManus for Vincent P. Meconi
Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS

5311 Notification of Time and Place of Hearing
The time, date, and place of the hearing will be arranged 

so that the hearing is accessible to the appellant.  At least ten 
(10) days before the hearing, advance written notice will be 
provided by mailing the notice to all parties involved to 
permit adequate preparation of the case.  An appellant may 
request less notice in order to expedite the scheduling of the 
hearing.  Notices to appellants are sent by certified mail. 
The notice will:

1) Advise the appellant or representative of the name, 
address, and phone number of the person to notify in the 
event it is not possible for the appellant to attend the 
scheduled hearing;

2) Stipulate that the hearing request will be dismissed 
if the appellant or his/her representative fails to appear for 
the hearing without good cause (i.e., death in family, 
personal illness, unexpected emergency);

3) Include the hearing procedures and any other 
information that would provide the appellant with an 
understanding of the proceedings that would contribute to 
the effective presentation of the household's case and will 
include fair hearing summary and documents filed for the 
hearing;

4) Explain that the appellant has the right to bring an 
attorney or other representative to his/her hearing;

5) Explain that the appellant may present any 
information that (s)he desires at the hearing;

6) Explain that the appellant or representative may 
examine the record prior to the hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code, 

Chapters 60 and 63 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60 and 63)

Secretary’s Order No.: 2004-A-0040
Date of Issuance:  July 14, 2004

Effective Date of the Revisions:  August 21, 2004

I.  Background

On June 23, 2004, a public hearing was held in the 
DNREC Auditorium in Dover to receive comment on the 

2004 proposed amendments to the State of Delaware’s 
Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.  The proposed 
amendments incorporate certain RCRA amendments 
promulgated by U.S. EPA into Delaware’s hazardous waste 
management program.  Delaware is required to adopt these 
amendments in order to maintain its hazardous waste 
program delegation and remain current with the Federal 
RCRA hazardous waste program.

Additionally, Delaware is making miscellaneous 
changes to the existing regulations for the purpose of 
correcting errors and to add consistency or clarification to 
the existing regulations.  Some of these amendments are 
being made to the existing regulations in order to improve or 
enhance the performance of the hazardous waste 
management program.

No one from the public attended this hearing.  Proper 
notice of the hearing was provided as required by law.  After 
the hearing, the Department performed an evaluation of the 
evidence entered into the record in this matter.  Thereafter, 
the Hearing Officer prepared her report and recommendation 
in the form of a memorandum to the Secretary dated July 13, 
2004, and that memorandum is expressly incorporated 
herein by reference.

II.  Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the 
Hearing Officer’s Memorandum dated July 13, 2004, are 
expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the 
findings and conclusions of the Secretary.

III.  Order

In view of the above, I hereby order that the proposed 
revisions to the 2004 Delaware Regulations Governing 
Hazardous Waste be promulgated and implemented in the 
manner and form provided for by law pursuant to the 
changes proposed prior to the hearing and as recommended 
in the Hearing Officer’s memorandum.

IV.  Reasons

Adopting these proposed revisions to the Delaware 
Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste will be beneficial 
to the State of Delaware.  The Department’s Division of Air 
& Waste Management has provided a sound basis for these 
revisions, and will permit Delaware to maintain its 
hazardous waste program delegation and remain current with 
the Federal RCRA hazardous waste program.  In addition, 
the implementation of these regulatory revisions will add 
consistency and clarification to the existing regulations and 
will improve and/or enhance the performance of Delaware’s 
hazardous waste management program, in furtherance of the 
policies and purposes of 7 Del.C., Chapter 63.
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2004 AMENDMENTS TO
DELAWARE REGULATIONS GOVERNING 

HAZARDOUS WASTE

SYNOPSIS

This synopsis presents a brief description of the 2004 
amendments to Delaware’s Regulations Governing 
Hazardous Waste (DRGHW) and a list of those sections 
generally affected by the amendments.  This synopsis is 
provided solely for the convenience of the reader.

These changes incorporate certain RCRA amendments 
promulgated by U. S. EPA into Delaware’s hazardous waste 
management program.  The State is required to adopt these 
amendments in order to maintain its hazardous waste 
program delegation and remain current with the Federal 
RCRA hazardous waste program.

The State is also making miscellaneous changes to the 
existing regulations for the purpose of correcting errors and 
to add consistency or clarification to the existing regulations. 
Some amendments are being made to the existing 
regulations in order to improve or enhance the performance 
of the hazardous waste management program.

A description of the regulatory amendments is shown 
below and organized by EPA’s promulgating Federal 
Register notice.  For additional information, please contact 
the Solid and Hazardous Waste Management Branch at (302) 
739-3689. 

2004 AMENDMENTS TO
DELAWARE REGULATIONS GOVERNING 

HAZARDOUS WASTE

SYNOPSIS

This synopsis presents a brief description of the 2004 
amendments to Delaware’s Regulations Governing 
Hazardous Waste (DRGHW) and a list of those sections 
generally affected by the amendments.  This synopsis is 
provided solely for the convenience of the reader.

These changes incorporate certain RCRA amendments 
promulgated by U. S. EPA into Delaware’s hazardous waste 
management program.  The State is required to adopt these 
amendments in order to maintain its hazardous waste 
program delegation and remain current with the Federal 
RCRA hazardous waste program.

The State is also making miscellaneous changes to the 
existing regulations for the purpose of correcting errors and 
to add consistency or clarification to the existing regulations. 
Some amendments are being made to the existing 
regulations in order to improve or enhance the performance 
of the hazardous waste management program.

A description of the regulatory amendments is shown 
below and organized by EPA’s promulgating Federal 
Register notice.  For additional information, please contact 
the Solid and Hazardous Waste Management Branch at (302) 
739-3689. 

1. Title: Treatment Variance for Radioactively
Contaminated Batteries

EPA Federal Register Reference:  67 FR 62618-62624
(Checklist 201)

Federal Promulgation Date:  October 7, 2002

Summary:  The October 7, 2002 Federal Rule grants a 
national treatability variance from the Land Disposal 
Restrictions (LDR) treatment standards for radioactively 
contaminated cadmium-, mercury-, and silver-containing 
batteries by designating new treatment subcategories for 
these wastes. The current treatment standards of thermal 
recovery for cadmium batteries and of roasting and retorting 
for mercury batteries are technically inappropriate, because 
any recovered metals would likely contain residual 
radioactive contamination and not be usable. The current 
numerical treatment standard for silver batteries is also 
inappropriate because of the potential increase in radiation 
exposure to workers associated with manually segregating 
silver-containing batteries for the purpose of treatment. 
Macroencapsulation is designated as the required treatment 
prior to land disposal for the new waste subcategories. 

Sections of the DRGHW affected by this 
amendment:  Part 268, §268.40, the Table, “Treatment 
Standards for Hazardous Wastes.” 

2. Title: National Emission Standards for Hazardous
Air Pollutants: Surface Coating of
Automobiles and Light-Duty Trucks

EPA Federal Register Reference:  69 FR 22602-22661
(Checklist 201)

Federal Promulgation Date:      April 26, 2004

This April 26, 2004 federal rule promulgates national 
emission standards for hazardous air pollutants (NESHAP) 
for automobile and light duty truck surface coating 
operations located at major sources of hazardous air 
pollutants. In doing so, the rule amends the Air Emission 
Standards for Equipment Leaks at DRGHW Parts 264 and 
265 Subpart BB to reduce duplicative regulation of air 
emissions from the collection and transmission of purged 
paint and solvent in a purge capture system, and the storage 
of captured purge material where these emissions are subject 
to the final NESHAP rule. In addition to addressing 
collection and transmission, and storage of purged paint and 
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solvent, the NESHAP rule is more comprehensive as it is 
expanded to include regulation of emissions from purging of 
coating application systems. 

Sections of the DRGHW affected by this 
amendment:  Sections 264.1050(h) and 265.1050(g).

3. Title: Miscellaneous Changes

Summary:  Proposed miscellaneous changes to 
DRGHW include non-substantive corrections for 
typographical or grammatical errors.

Proposed miscellaneous changes will also: Reinsert 
missing hazardous waste codes that were erroneously 
deleted from §261.32, and Part 262, Appendix VIII in a 
previous edition of the DRGHW; revise the timeframe in 
§263.103(d) for a transporter to submit an application to 
replace an expiring permit; add a sentence in §265.55 
regarding annual training of a facility’s emergency 
coordinator. 

Sections of the DRGHW affected by this 
amendment:  §261.32; Part 261, Appendix VIII; 
§263.103(d), and §265.55.

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

Secretary’s Order No.:   2004-A-0039
Date of Issuance:  July 14, 2004

Effective Date of the Revisions:  August 21, 2004

I.  Background

On June 8, 2004, a public hearing was held in the 
DNREC Auditorium in Dover to receive comment on the 
Department’s proposed revisions to the Delaware 
Regulations Governing Solid Waste. A public workshop was 
held by the Department on November 12, 2003, to explain 
and discuss the proposed changes to these regulations. The 
aforementioned revisions involve numerous minor 
modifications to Delaware’s Regulations Governing Solid 
Waste.

No one from the public attended the hearing.  There 
were written comments were received prior to the hearing 
and incorporated into the record at the time of the hearing 
from the Department of Defense, however, these comments 
were outside of the scope of review with regard to this 
particular hearing, and did not concern the proposed changes 

to these Regulations.  Proper notice of the hearing was 
provided as required by law.

After the hearing, the Department performed an 
evaluation of the evidence entered into the record in this 
matter.  Thereafter, the Hearing Officer prepared her report 
and recommendation in the form of a memorandum to the 
Secretary dated July 13, 2004, and that memorandum is 
expressly incorporated herein by reference.

II.  Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the 
Hearing Officer’s Memorandum dated July 13, 2004, are 
expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the 
findings and conclusions of the Secretary.

III.  Order

In view of the above, I hereby order that the proposed 
revisions to the 2004 Delaware Regulations Governing Solid 
Waste be promulgated and implemented in the manner and 
form provided for by law pursuant to the changes proposed 
prior to the hearing and as recommended in the Hearing 
Officer’s memorandum.

IV.  Reasons

Adopting these proposed revisions to the Delaware 
Regulations Governing Solid Waste will be beneficial to the 
State of Delaware.  The Department’s Division of Air & 
Waste Management has provided a sound basis for these 
revisions, including reasoned responses to the various 
comments.  In addition, the implementation of these 
regulatory revisions will further the policy and purposes of 7 
Del.C., Chapter 60.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

SYNOPSIS OF AMENDMENTS TO THE DELAWARE 
REGULATIONS GOVERNING SOLID WASTE 

General:
Reinsert previously deleted Table of Contents at the 

beginning of the regulations.

Section 3: Definitions
Add new definition for “Gross Vehicle Weight Rating.”

Section 4: Permit Requirements and Administrative 
Procedures

Clarify language in section 4.A.2 stating that costs of 
publishing public notices for a permit application shall be 
borne by the applicant;

Revise timeframe in section 4.A.6 for renewing an 
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expiring permit;
Amend section 4.E.1 regarding requirements for 

submitting Transfer Station Applications;
Move section 4.E.3 regarding transfer station closure to 

Section 10.F;
Amend language in section 4.G for transporter permit 

application procedures.

Section 5: Sanitary Landfills
Amend section 5.I.2.c regarding daily cover at a sanitary 

landfill;

Section 6: Industrial Landfills
Add language in section 6.I.5 prohibiting acceptance of 

hazardous waste at an industrial landfill.

Section 7: Transporters
Add language in section 7.A prohibiting permitted 

transporters from using agents or subcontractors who do not 
hold permits for transporting solid waste.

Delete sections 7.B.8 and 7.C.7 regarding sub-leases 
and sub-contractors.

Section 9: Resource Recovery Facilities
Correct an internal reference in Section 9.E.2.b.

Section 10: Transfer Stations 
Revise wording in section 10.A.2.b for material 

recovery facilities.
Amend section 10.A.2 by adding an exemption from 

transfer station permit requirements for temporary debris and 
collection sites established as a result of a natural or man-
made disaster.

Insert and amend transfer station closure requirements 
moved from section 4 to section 10.F.2.

Section 11: Special Wastes Management: Part 1 – 
Infectious Waste

Amend language in section 11.A.1 to clarify who must 
obtain infections waste Infectious Waste Identification 
Numbers.

In section 11.C revise certain infectious waste 
definitions, and add new definition for Large Quantity 
Generator of infectious waste.

* Please note that no changes were made to the 
regulation as originally proposed and published in the 
June 2004 issue of the Register at page 1432 (7 DE Reg. 
1432).  Therefore, the final regulation is not being 
republished.  Please refer to the June 2004 issue of the 
Register or contact the Department of Natural Resources 
and Environmental Control.

DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Section 103(a)(1) and (b),
( 7 Del.C. 103(a)(1) and (b))

Secretary’s Order No.: 2004-F-0038
Date of Issuance:  July 14, 2004

Effective Date of the Amendment:  August 11, 2004

I.  Background

On Wednesday, June 30, 2004 a public hearing was held 
in the DNREC Auditorium in Dover to receive comment on 
proposed amendments to the Delaware Wildlife and Non-
Tidal Fishing Regulations – 4.0 Seasons (Formerly WR4) 
and 7.0 Deer (Formerly WR-7).  Prior to the hearing, public 
workshops concerning these proposed changes were held by 
the Department on May 20th, May 27th, and again on June 
2nd.  Public comments were received on the Department’s 
proposed changes during the pre-hearing, hearing and post-
hearing phases of this rulemaking procedure, and this public 
input was incorporated into the formal record generated as a 
result of the same.  No subsequent changes and/or additions 
were made to these proposed amendments as a result of the 
aforementioned public comments.  Proper notice of the 
hearing was provided as required by law.

After the hearing, the Department performed an 
evaluation of the evidence entered into the record in this 
matter.  Thereafter, the Hearing Officer prepared her report 
and recommendation in the form of a Hearing Officer’s 
Report to the Secretary dated July 12, 2004, and that 
memorandum is expressly incorporated herein by reference.

II.  Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the 
Hearing Officer’s Memorandum dated July 12, 2004, are 
expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the 
findings and conclusions of the Secretary.

III.  Order

In view of the above, I hereby order that the proposed 
amendments to the Delaware Wildlife and Non-Tidal 
Fishing Regulations, 4.0 Seasons (Formerly WR4) and 7.0 
Deer (Formerly WR-7), be promulgated and implemented in 
the manner and form provided for by law pursuant to the 
changes proposed during this rulemaking process and as 
recommended in the Hearing Officer’s Report.
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IV.  Reasons

Adopting the proposed amendments to the Delaware 
Wildlife and Non-Tidal Fishing Regulations, 4.0 Seasons 
(Formerly WR4) and 7.0 Deer (Formerly WR-7), will be 
beneficial to the State of Delaware, in that these amendments 
will add consistency and/or clarification to the existing 
regulations.  Additionally, some of these amendments will 
enable the State of Delaware to improve and/or enhance the 
overall performance of Delaware’s deer management 
program.  Furthermore, the adoption of these amendments 
will permit the State of Delaware to further the purposes of 
Title 7, Delaware Code, Chapter 7.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

4.0 Seasons (Formerly WR-4)
(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. 1304)
4.1 Season Dates. Hunting and trapping season dates 

will be published each year in an annual publication entitled 
“Delaware Hunting and Trapping Guide.”

4.2 General. It shall be unlawful for any person to hunt 
those species of wildlife for which a season is designated at 
any time other than during that season.

4.3 Protected Wildlife.
4.3.1 Unless otherwise provided by law or 

regulation of the Department, it shall be unlawful for any 
person to hunt any species of protected wildlife.

4.3.2 It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, 
transport or possess any species of protected wildlife, except 
when:

4.3.2.1 Otherwise provided by law or 
regulation of the Department; or

4.3.2.2 The wildlife was lawfully taken 
outside of this State in accordance with the laws or 
regulations of the state or nation where the wildlife was 
taken.

4.4 Beaver.
4.4.1 Unless otherwise provided by law or 

regulation of the Department, it shall be unlawful for any 
person to hunt or trap beaver during any period of the year, 
however, from December 1 through March 20, landowners 
(or their agents) may take up to eight beavers from their 
property without a permit, provided the beavers are causing 
crop or property damage.

4.4.2 Beaver hides and the meat of lawfully 
taken beaver harvested anywhere within or outside of 
Delaware may be sold.

4.5 Bullfrogs.
4.5.1 Season. Bullfrogs may be hunted in 

accordance with the statutes and regulations of the State of 
Delaware governing the hunting of bullfrogs: from May 1 
through September 30.

4.5.2 Limit.  It shall be unlawful for any person 

to take more than twenty-four (24) bullfrogs in any one day.
4.5.3 License.  A hunting or fishing license is 

required to take bullfrogs.
4.6 Crows.

It shall be unlawful for any person to hunt common 
crows during any period of the year, except Thursdays, 
Fridays and Saturdays between and including the fourth 
Thursday of June and the last Saturday of March, unless said 
person holds a valid depredation permit.  The hunting of 
common crows is restricted only by the provisions of federal 
regulations pertaining to the taking of common crows. 
Crows may be taken without a permit when committing 
damage or about to commit damage.

4.7 Gray Squirrel.
4.7.1 Season. Gray squirrel may be hunted in 

accordance with the statutes and regulations of the State of 
Delaware governing the hunting of gray squirrel: from 
September 15 (September 14, if September 15 is a Sunday) 
through the first Saturday in November; and from the 
Monday that immediately precedes Thanksgiving through 
the day that precedes the January shotgun deer season. 
Squirrel hunting shall be unlawful during any period and in 
any area when it is lawful to hunt deer with a firearm. 
Notwithstanding the foregoing, when squirrel season 
overlaps with an October firearms deer season, squirrel may 
be hunted when hunter orange is displayed in accordance 
with §718 of Title 7.

4.7.2 Limit. It shall be unlawful for any person 
to take more than four gray squirrels in any one day.

4.8 Opossum.
The opossum may only be hunted or trapped during 

the lawful season to hunt or trap raccoons.
4.9 Pheasant.

4.9.1 Season. Male pheasant may be hunted in 
accordance with the statutes and regulations of the State of 
Delaware governing the hunting of pheasant: from the 
Monday that immediately precedes Thanksgiving through 
the day that precedes the January shotgun deer season, 
except that no pheasant hunting shall be lawful during any 
period when it is lawful to hunt deer with a firearm. 
Notwithstanding the foregoing, pheasant may be hunted 
during the December firearm deer season when hunter 
orange is displayed in accordance with § 718 of Title 7.

4.9.2 Female Pheasant. It shall be unlawful for 
any person to hunt or possess any female pheasant at any 
time, except as permitted on game preserves, by licensed 
game breeders or as otherwise permitted by law.

4.9.3 Male Pheasant Limit. It shall be unlawful 
for any person to hunt or possess more than two (2) male 
pheasants in any one day during the pheasant season, except 
as permitted by law.

4.9.4 Scientific or Propagating Purposes.  It 
shall be unlawful for any person to possess pheasants for 
scientific and propagating purposes without a valid permit 
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from the Director.
4.9.5 Game Preserves. Nothing in this 

regulation shall be construed so as to limit the number or sex 
of pheasants that may be harvested by any one person on 
licensed game preserves.

4.10 Quail.
4.10.1 Season.  Bobwhite quail may be hunted in 

accordance with the statutes and regulations of the State of 
Delaware governing the hunting of bobwhite quail: from the 
Monday that immediately precedes Thanksgiving through 
the first Saturday of February, except that no quail hunting 
shall be lawful during any period when it is lawful to hunt 
deer with a firearm. Notwithstanding the foregoing, quail 
may be hunted during the December or January firearm deer 
seasons when hunter orange is displayed in accordance with 
§ 718 of Title 7. 

4.10.2 Limit.  It shall be unlawful for any person 
to take more than six (6) quail in any one day.

4.11 Rabbit.
4.11.1 Season.  Rabbits may be hunted in 

accordance with the statutes and regulations of the State of 
Delaware governing the hunting of rabbits: from the Monday 
that immediately precedes Thanksgiving through the first 
Saturday in February, except that no rabbit hunting shall be 
lawful during any period when it is lawful to hunt deer with a 
firearm.  Notwithstanding the foregoing, rabbit may be 
hunted during the December or January firearm deer seasons 
when hunter orange is displayed in accordance with § 718 of 
Title 7.

4.11.2 Limit.   It shall be unlawful for any person 
to take more than four (4) rabbits in any one day.

4.12 Raccoon.
4.12.1 Trapping Season.  Raccoon may be 

trapped in accordance with the statutes and regulations of the 
State of Delaware governing the trapping of raccoon: from 
December 1 through March 10 (March 20 on embanked 
meadows) in New Castle County; and from December 15 
through March 15 in Kent and Sussex counties.  The season 
is open throughout the year on private land, except on 
Sundays, in eastern New Castle and Kent counties pursuant 
to § 786 of Title 7 and Section 4(b) of WR-2.

4.12.2 Hunting Season.  Raccoon may be hunted 
in accordance with the statutes and regulations of the State of 
Delaware governing the hunting of raccoon: from September 
1 (September 2, if September 1 is a Sunday) through October 
31 for chase only whereby it shall be unlawful to kill raccoon 
and opossum; from November 1 through the last day of 
February; and from March 1 through March 31 for chase 
only whereby it shall be unlawful to kill raccoon and 
opossum.  The season is open throughout the year on private 
land in eastern New Castle and Kent counties, except on 
Sundays, pursuant to § 786 of Title 7. 

4.12.3 Notwithstanding subsection 4.3.2 of this 
section, it shall be unlawful for any person to hunt raccoon 

or opossum during any period when it is lawful to hunt deer 
with a firearm, except that it shall be lawful to hunt raccoon 
from 7:00 p.m. until midnight during the December and 
January firearm deer seasons.

4.13 Red Fox.
Red fox may be hunted in accordance with the 

statutes and regulations of the State of Delaware governing 
the hunting of red fox: from October 1 through April 30 for 
chase only whereby it shall be unlawful to kill red fox, 
except no red fox hunting shall be lawful during any period 
when it is lawful to hunt deer with a firearm. 
Notwithstanding the foregoing, red foxes may be killed in 
accordance with Section 8 of WR-2 and § 788 of Title 7.

4.14 Ruffed Grouse.
It shall be unlawful for any person to hunt for ruffed 

grouse during any period of the year.
4.15 Snapping Turtles.

4.15.1 Season.  It shall be unlawful for any 
person to hunt for snapping turtles during any period of the 
year, except between and including June 15 and May 15.

4.15.2 Size.    It shall be unlawful for any person 
to sell, offer for sale or kill any snapping turtle with a 
carapace length of less than eight inches, measured on the 
curvature.

4.16 Terrapin.
4.16.1 Season.  It shall be unlawful for any 

person to hunt for diamondback terrapin during any period 
of the year, except between and including September 1 and 
November 15.

4.16.2 Limit.  It shall be unlawful for any person 
to take more than four (4) diamondback terrapin in any one 
day.

3 DE Reg.   289 (8/1/99) 
3 DE Reg. 1738 (6/1/00)
6 DE Reg. 536 (10/1/02)

7.0 Deer (Formerly WR-7)
(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. 1304)
7.1 Limit.

 7.1.1 Unless otherwise provided by law or 
regulation of the Department, it shall be unlawful for any 
person to:

7.1.1.1 Kill or take or attempt to kill or take 
more than two four antlerless deer in any license year;

7.1.1.2 Kill or take two four antlerless deer in 
any license year without at least one two of the two four deer 
being an antlerless female deer; or

7.1.1.3 Possess or transport any deer that was 
unlawfully killed.

7.1.1.4 Kill any antlered deer without first 
purchasing a Delaware Resident Hunter’s Choice Deer Tag 
or a Delaware Non Resident Antlered Deer Tag, except that 
persons exempt from purchasing a hunting license shall be 
entitled to take one Hunter’s Choice deer at no cost. 
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7.1.2 For the purposes of this section, a person 
“driving deer” and not in possession of any weapon or 
firearm shall not be treated as if they are hunting deer, 
provided they are assisting lawful hunters.

7.1.3 It shall be unlawful for any person to 
purchase, sell, expose for sale, transport or possess with the 
intent to sell, any deer or any part of such deer at any time, 
except that hides from deer lawfully killed and checked may 
be sold when tagged with a non-transferable tag issued by 
the Division.  Said tag must remain attached to the hide until 
it leaves the State or is commercially processed into leather. 
This subsection shall not apply to venison approved for sale 
by the United States Department of Agriculture and 
imported into Delaware.

7.1.4  Notwithstanding subsection 7.1 of this 
section, a person may purchase an Antlerless Deer Tag Tags
for $10 each to kill or take an additional antlerless deer 
during the open season.  , provided:

7.1.4.1 The tag is valid for the season in 
which it is used; and

7.1.4.2 The tag is valid in the deer 
management zone from which the deer is taken. Hunters 
may take additional antlerless deer on Antlerless Deer 
Damage Tags at no cost. 

7.1.5 Notwithstanding subsection 7.1.1 of this 
section, a person may use one Quality Buck tag to take an 
antlered deer with a minimum outside antler spread of fifteen 
inches, provided the tag is valid for the season in which it is 
used. Hunters exempt from the requirement to purchase a 
hunting license must purchase a Quality Buck tag in order to 
take a second antlered deer in any one license year. 

7.2 Tagging and Designated Checking Stations.
7.2.1 Attaching Tags. – Each licensed person 

who hunts and kills a deer shall, immediately after the killing 
and before removing the deer from the location of the 
killing, attach an approved tag to the deer. An approved tag 
shall mean an Antlerless Deer Tag or Doe Tag received with 
the hunting license, a Delaware Resident Quality Buck Deer
Tag, a Delaware Resident Hunter’s Choice Deer Tag,  a 
Delaware Non Resident Quality Buck Deer Tag, a Delaware 
Non Resident Antlered Deer Tag, an Antlerless Deer 
Damage Tag, a Sportsmen Against Hunger tag or an 
Antlerless Tag purchased in addition to the hunting license 
tags.  a tag detached from a Delaware hunting license.  Any 
unlicensed person not required to secure a license shall make 
and attach a tag to the deer that contains the person’s name, 
address and reason for not having a valid Delaware hunting 
license.

7.2.2 this section shall remain attached to the 
deer until the deer is presented to an official checking station 
for examination and tagging, or registered by phone or over 
the internet, as prescribed by subsection  7.1.3 of this 
section.

7.2.3 Checking Stations. – Each person who 

hunts and kills a deer shall, within 24 hours of killing said 
deer, present the deer to a checking station designated by the 
Division or to an authorized employee of the Division. or 
register the deer by phone. Hunters may also check deer by 
phone or over the internet through systems authorized by the 
Division. 

7.2.4 Dressing. –  It shall be unlawful for any 
person to remove from any deer any part thereof, except 
those internal organs known as the viscera, or cut the meat 
thereof into parts, until such deer has been examined by an 
authorized employee of the Division or a checking station, as 
prescribed by subsection (c) of this section or registered 
using the phone or internet system.

7.2.5 Receipt Tag. – The Division shall issue, at 
a checking station or otherwise, an official receipt tag 
proving the deer was examined by an authorized employee 
of the Division or a checking station, as prescribed by 
subsection (c) of this section. The receipt tag shall remain 
with the deer until such time as the deer is processed for 
consumption or prepared for mounting. Deer checked over 
the phone or internet will be given a registration number. 
These deer shall be tagged by the hunter, butcher or 
taxidermist with the registration number, hunter’s first and 
last name, hunter’s date of birth, and date of kill. This tag 
may be homemade or be one provided by the Division and 
must remain with the head and/or carcass until the mount is 
picked up from the taxidermist or the meat is processed and 
stored as food.

7.2.6 Hunting with Tags Detached from 
License. It shall be unlawful for any person to hunt deer with 
any license that has the applicable deer tag detached from the 
license, even though said tag may be in the possession of the 
hunter.  Any person with a detached deer tag may, upon 
application to the Division, have a duplicate license issued in 
order to obtain a valid deer tag.

7.3 Method of Take.
7.3.1 Shotgun.  It shall be unlawful for any 

person to hunt deer during the shotgun season using a 
shotgun of a caliber smaller than 20 gauge, or have in his or 
her possession any shell loaded with shot smaller than what 
is commonly known as “buckshot.”

7.3.2 Bow and Arrow.  It shall be unlawful for 
any person to hunt deer during the longbow season and have 
in his or her possession any weapon or firearm other than a 
knife, a bow and sharpened broadhead arrows having 
minimum arrowhead width of 7/8 of an inch.

7.3.3 Muzzle-loading Pistols.  A single shot 
muzzle-loading pistol of .42 caliber or larger using a 
minimum powder charge of 40 grains may be used to 
provide the coupe-de-grace on deer during the primitive 
firearm season.

7.3.4 Refuge in Water.  It shall be unlawful for 
any person to shoot, kill or wound or attempt to shoot, kill or 
wound any deer that is taking refuge in or swimming through 
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the waters of any stream, pond, lake or tidal waters.
7.3.5 Dogs.   It shall be unlawful for any person 

to make use of a dog for hunting during the shotgun or 
muzzleloader seasons for deer (in each county), except as 
permitted in the hunting of migratory waterfowl from an 
established blind or for hunting dove, quail, raccoon or 
rabbit on properties closed to deer hunting with firearms 
during December and January.

7.4 Illegal Hunting Methods; Baiting.
It shall be unlawful for any person to set, lay or use 

any trap, snare, net, or pitfall or make use of any artificial 
light, or other contrivance or device, for the purpose of 
hunting deer.  This subsection does not preclude the use of 
bait for the purpose of attracting deer in order to hunt them 
on private land.

7.5 Seasons.
7.5.1 Shotgun Seasons.  Deer may be hunted 

with shotgun in accordance with the statutes and regulations 
of the State of Delaware governing the hunting of deer: from 
the Friday in November that precedes Thanksgiving by 
thirteen (13) days through the second Saturday succeeding 
said Friday; and from the Saturday that precedes the third 
Monday in January through the following Saturday in 
January.

7.5.2 Archery Seasons.  Deer may be hunted 
with longbow in accordance with statutes and regulations of 
the State of Delaware governing the hunting of deer: from 
September 1 (September 2, if September 1 is a Sunday) 
through the last day of January, provided hunter orange is 
displayed in accordance with § 718 of Title 7 when it also 
lawful to hunt deer with a firearm.

7.5.3 Muzzleloader Seasons. – Deer may be 
hunted with muzzle-loading rifles in accordance with the 
statutes and regulations of the State of Delaware governing 
the hunting of deer: from the Saturday  Friday that precedes 
the second Monday in October through the next  second
Saturday that succeeds the Friday opening day; and from the 
Monday that follows the close of the January shotgun season 
through the next Saturday.

7.5.4 Special Antlerless Seasons. – Antlerless 
deer may be hunted with a shotgun in accordance with the 
statutes and regulations of the State of Delaware governing 
the hunting of deer during all Fridays, Saturdays and 
Mondays in October except for during the October 
Muzzleloader season and the last Monday prior to the 
opening Friday of the October Muzzleloader season. 
Notwithstanding the foregoing, antlered deer may be taken 
with archery equipment that is legal during this October 
shotgun season. Antlerless deer may be hunted with shotgun 
in accordance with the statutes and regulations of the State of 
Delaware governing the hunting of deer: from the second 
Saturday in December through the third Saturday in 
December.

7.5.5 Crossbow Seasons.  Crossbows may be 

used in lieu of shotguns during that part of the November 
shotgun season that runs from Monday through Saturday of 
each year and in any shotgun or muzzleloader deer season 
open in December or January.

7.5.6 Special Shotgun Season for Young and 
Disabled Hunters.  Deer may be hunted on the first Saturday 
of November by disabled (non-ambulatory) hunters using a 
wheelchair for mobility, and hunters 12 years of age or older 
but less than 16 years of age (12 to 15 inclusive) who have 
completed an approved course in hunter training.  Young 
hunters must be accompanied by a licensed non-hunting 
adult who is 21 years of age or older.  Young hunters must be 
of sufficient size, physical strength and emotional maturity 
to safely handle a shotgun.

3 DE Reg.  289 (8/1/99) 
6 DE Reg. 536 (10/1/02) 
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER 
NUMBER FIFTY-SEVEN 

RE: Declaring Friday, June 11, 2004 A Legal Holiday
In Remembrance Of Former President Reagan

WHEREAS, the people of Delaware have been greatly 
saddened by the death of former President Ronald Wilson 
Reagan, who passed away on June 5, 2004; and

WHEREAS, former President Reagan leaves behind 
millions of people, and countless Delawareans, who wish to 
respectfully mourn his passing, and recognize and celebrate 
his extraordinary life and accomplishments; and

WHEREAS, this Friday, June 11, 2004, has been 
declared a National Day of Mourning throughout the United 
States, and on that date there shall be a State funeral for 
former President Reagan; and 

WHEREAS, many Delawareans wish to spend the 
National Day of Mourning and the occasion of the former 
President’s funeral celebrating and remembering his life, and 
honoring his service to our nation; and

WHEREAS, the closing of State offices in honor of 
former President Reagan would be consistent with past 
actions to honor the memories of former presidents, as State 
offices were closed for the official state funerals of former 
Presidents Johnson and Eisenhower;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, 
GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE Do 
Hereby Order And Declare, This 8th Day Of June 2004:

1. Friday, June 11, 2004, is declared a State holiday 
pursuant to Merit Rule 5.1.1.

2. Public facilities of the State subject to my authority 
shall be closed Friday, June 11, 2004.

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.shtml
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Board of Medical Practice Katherine Salva, M.D. 6/21/2007

Cash Management Policy Board Mr. John D. Hazelton 6/29/2007
Ms. Margaret A. Iorri 6/24/2007

Commission on Adult Entertainment Establishments Mr. Curtis E. Larrimore 6/24/2007

Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association Sister Ann Michele Zwosta 6/29/2007

Delaware Solid Waste Authority Mr. Ronald G. McCabe, Director 6/24/2007
Ms. Tonda L. Parks, Director 4/18/2005

Department of Safety and Homeland Security, David B. Mitchell, J.D. Pleasure of the
Secretary Governor

Diamond State Port Corporation Mr. Douglas B. Catts, Director 6/24/2007

Enhanced 911 Emergency Reporting System Service The Honorable David B. Mitchell Pleasure of the
Board, Chair Governor

Environmental Appeals Board Mr. Peter P. McLaughlin 6/29/2007
Mr. Gordon E. Wood, Sr. 6/24/2007

Kent County Board of Elections Ms. Marion H. Pfeifer 6/24/2008

Kent County, Clerk of the Peace Ms. Loretta M. Wootten To expire when a 
successor shall be
duly qualified

New Castle County Justice of the Peace The Honorable Robert C. Lopez 6/27/2010
The Honorable Marie E. Page 6/30/2010

New Castle VoTech Board of Education Mr. John J. McMahon 7/1/2011

Professional Standards Board Mr. Norman A. Brown 6/24/2007
Ms. Angela J. Dunmore 6/30/2006
Ms. Valerie G. Hoffman 6/24/2007
Ms. Carla Z. Lawson 6/24/2007
Ms. Gretchen L. Pikus 6/24/2007
Harold E. Roberts, Ed.D., Chair 6/24/2007

Public Employment Relations Board Ms. Kathi A. Karsnitz 6/2/2010

Public Integrity Commission Ms. Barbara H. Green 7/8/2005
Mr. Dennis L. Schrader 6/30/2010

Public Service Commission Mr. Joshua M. Twilley 5/1/2009

State Coastal Zone Industrial Control Board Mr. John S. Burton, Sr. 6/24/2009
State Coastal Zone Industrial Control Board Colonel Robert D. Welsh 6/24/2009
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Supreme Court Chief Justice The Honorable Myron T. Steele 5/26/2016

Supreme Court Justice The Honorable Henry duPont Ridgely 7/22/2016

Sussex County Justice of the Peace The Honorable William J. Hopkins, Jr. 7/13/2010
The Honorable Howard W. Mulvaney, III 7/1/2010

Tax Appeals Board Mr. Steven R. Director 5/2/2005

Violent Crimes Compensation Board Ms. Vera Lynn Gregory 6/24/2007
Ms. Stephanie I. Liguori 6/2/2007

Wastewater Facilities Advisory Council Ms. Peggy J. Baunchalk 6/24/2007

Wilmington Area Planning Council (WILMAPCO) Ms. Andrea Kreiner Pleasure of the
Governor
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DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE 
SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK 

EXAMINERS

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners 
is proposing to revise its rules and regulations pursuant to 29 
Del.C. Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. §3906(1).  The Board is 
proposing changes to the following Regulations:

• Regulations 7.1 through 7.4 regarding the 
Definition and Scope of Continuing Education,

• Continuing Education Hourly Requirements and 
Continuing Education Reporting and 
Documentation.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and 
Regulations on Monday, September 20, 2004 at 9:00 a.m. in 
the Second Floor Conference Room “A” of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 
19904. If the number of persons desiring to testify at the 
Public Hearing is large, the amount of time allotted to each 
speaker will be limited.

The Board will receive and consider input in writing 
from any person on the proposed Rules and Regulations. 
Any written comments should be submitted to the Board in 
care of Karin Stone at the above address. The final date to 
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled 
public hearing. Persons may view the proposed changes to 
the Regulations between the hours of 8:15 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., 
Monday through Friday, at the Board’s office at the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
19904. There will be a reasonable fee charged for copies of 
the proposed changes. 

This notice will be published in two newspapers of 
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the 
date of the hearing.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly 
meeting on Thursday, August 19, 2004 at 1:00 p.m. in the 
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

PUBLIC NOTICE
Acquired Brain Injury Waiver Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding the Acquired Brain Injury Waiver 
Program (ABIWP). 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy, Program & 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, and P.O. 
Box 906, New Castle, Delaware by August 31, 2004.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

The Acquired Brain Injury Medicaid Waiver Program 
(ABIMWP) is a community-based services program funded 
by the Division of Social Services (DSS), Delaware Medical 
Assistance Program (DMAP) and operated by the Division 
of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities 
(DSAAPD). It is targeted to individuals with acquired brain 
injury who meet Medicaid nursing facility admission 
criteria.

The proposed set forth the rules and regulations 
governing the administration of the ABIWP, and describe the 
types of services available under the program.  The 
regulations being proposed would also define the eligibility 
criteria that must be met by applicants for the services and 
the scope of services available to eligible applicants. 

The earliest effective date for the ABIMWP is October 
10, 2004.
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

PUBLIC NOTICE

 301 Audited Financial Reports
[Formerly Regulation 50]

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER DONNA LEE H. 
WILLIAMS hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING 
will be held on Wednesday September 1, 2004, at 10:00 a.m. 
in the Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware 
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware. The hearing is to consider amending Regulation 
301 relating to AUDITED FINANCIAL REPORTS.

The purpose for amending Regulation 301 is to reflect 
the changes to the NAIC model regulation, upon which 
Regulation 301 is based, that have been adopted by the 
NIAC in the ten years since the regulation was last amended.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 19 
Del.C. §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures 
Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101. Comments are being solicited from 
any interested party. Comments may be in writing or may be 
presented orally at the Hearing. Written comments, 
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed 
change to the regulation must be received by the Department 
of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Wednesday September 
1, 2004, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney 
General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of 
Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, 
telephone 302.739.4251. 

PUBLIC NOTICE
1404 LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE

[Formerly Regulation 63]

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER DONNA LEE H. 
WILLIAMS hereby gives notice that a public hearing will be 
held on Wednesday September 1, 2004, at 10:30 a.m. in the 
Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware 
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware.  The hearing is to consider amending Regulation 
1404 (formerly Regulation 63) relating to LONG-TERM 
CARE INSURANCE.

The purpose for amending Regulation 1404 is to add 
sections to the regulation dealing with (1) required 
disclosures of rating practices to consumers, (2) initial filing 
requirements, (3) premium rate schedule increases and (4) 
make technical corrections to the existing regulation.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 19 
Del.C.  §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures 
Act, 29 Del.C.  Chapter 101.  Comments are being solicited 

from any interested party.  Comments may be in writing or 
may be presented orally at the Hearing.  Written comments, 
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed 
change to the regulation must be received by the Department 
of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Wednesday September 
1, 2004, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney 
General Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of 
Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE  19904, 
telephone 302.739.4251.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

REGISTER NOTICE

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The State of Delaware revised on-site wastewater 

treatment and disposal system criteria and standards to keep 
pace with the industry and maintain its prominence as a 
nationally recognized leader in this field.  To ensure the 
Regulations Governing the Design, Installation and 
Operation of On-Site Wastewater Treatment and Disposal 
Systems are current with industry standards, engineering 
practices, soil science principles and compliance issues, the 
State of Delaware, in accordance with 7 Del.C. §6010, will 
amend Sections 1 through 10 and the Exhibits. 

Notice Of Public Comment:

The Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control, Division of Water Resources, will 
conduct a public hearing on September 13, 2004 beginning 
at 6:00 p.m., in Down’s Lecture Hall, Delaware Technical & 
Community College, Terry Campus, Dover, Delaware to 
hear testimony and receive comments on the proposed 
amendments to the Regulations Governing the Design, 
Installation and Operation of On-Site Wastewater Treatment 
and Disposal Systems.

The State of Delaware revised on-site wastewater 
treatment and disposal system criteria and standards to keep 
pace with the industry and maintain its prominence as a 
nationally recognized leader in this field.  To ensure the 
Regulations Governing the Design, Installation and 
Operation of On-Site Wastewater Treatment and Disposal 
Systems are current with industry standards, engineering 
practices, soil science principles and compliance issues, the 
State of Delaware, in accordance with 7 Del.C. §6010, will 
amend Sections 1 through 10 and the Exhibits. 

For additional information or to request a copy of the 
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proposed revisions to the regulations please contact the 
Ground Water Discharges Section at (302) 739-4761.

The procedures for public hearings are established in 7 
Del.C. §6006 and 29 Del.C. §10117.  Inquiries regarding the 
public hearing should be directed to Lisa Vest at (302) 739-
4403.  Statements and testimony may be presented orally or 
in written form at the hearing.  It is requested that those 
interested in presenting statements register in advance by 
mail.  The deadline for inclusion of written comments in the 
hearing record will be announced at the time of the hearing. 
Written statements may be presented prior to the hearing and 
should be addressed to: Lisa Vest, Hearing Officer, DNREC, 
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901.
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STATE REGULATIONS
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REGULATIONS

A single-source document for regulatory 
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of state regulations, all emergency  regulations, 
Governors Executive Orders and Appointments, 
Attorney General Opinions, General Notices and 
notices of public hearings and open meetings of state agencies.   

PUBLISHED MONTHLY - $135.00 PER YEAR
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YES, PLEASE ENTER MY SUBSCRIPTION FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER AT $135/YEAR.
You will be billed upon receipt of your order.   Subscription period runs from January to December. Mid-
year subscriptions will be prorated at $11 per issue. Back issues are available at $12 per issue. Subscription 
fees are non refundable. 
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ORGANIZATION _______________________         CITY _______________________________________
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Please clip and return to: REGISTRAR OF REGULATIONS
    LEGISLATIVE HALL, DOVER, DELAWARE 19903 

FAX: 302-739-3895
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Visit The Delaware General 
Assembly On The Web! 

  The General Assembly Website features:
• Current legislative information
• Information on both the Senate and House of Representatives
• Access to the Delaware Code
• Access to the Delaware Register of Regulations
• Information on the legislative process
• Various reports and publications

The General Assembly Website is located at:
http://www.legis.state.de.us
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LEGISLATIVE BILL SUBSCRIPTION SERVICES
Order Form  (please print or type)

NAME ________________________________  ADDRESS __________________________________

ORGANIZATION _______________________     CITY _________________   FAX ______________

PHONE _____________      STATE ___________   ZIP _____________    EMAIL ________________

Please check the specific service(s) to which you wish to subscribe :

                    SERVICES                                                                                                       ANNUAL COST
One copy of all legislation introduced:

_ Picked up by subscriber *-  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $110.00
_ Mailed daily via First Class postage -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $850.00

One copy of all legislation signed by the Governor:
_ Mailed via First Class postage   -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $215.00

One copy of House and Senate calendars:
_ Picked up by subscriber *-  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $110.00
_ Mailed daily via First Class postage -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $850.00

One copy of all Governor’s Advisories:
_ Mailed via First Class postage   -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $30.00

Daily Legislative Agendas and weekly Standing Committee Notices:
_ Via Fax  -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $135.00

* Subscribers who choose to pick up their materials at Legislative Hall are requested to do so at least once a week, due to 
limited on-site file space.  Thank you.

If you have any questions about our subscription services, please contact the Division of Research by dialing, toll-free, (800) 
282-8545 (in  state) or via E-Mail at jeffrey.hague@state.de.us.  Please dial (302) 744-4114 if you are calling from outside 
Delaware.

Please return this order form to the Division of Research at P.O. Box 1401, Legislative Hall, Dover, Delaware, 19903, or fax it 
to (302) 739-3895 as soon as possible.  (Don’t forget to make a copy for your own files).  You will be billed upon our receipt 
of your order. Your service(s) will begin, promptly, when payment is received and the General Assembly convenes.  Thank 
you for using the Subscription Services of the Division of Research.
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ACCESS THE DELAWARE CODE 
ON-LINE! 

• Up-to-date version of the Code reflecting recent legislative 
enactments
• Comprehensive full text search capabilities.

Visit the Delaware Code On-Line at:

http://www.delcode.state.de.us/
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