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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an official State publication established by authority of 69 Del.
Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed
and any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited by volume, issue, page number and date. An example
would be:

19 DE Reg. 1100 (06/01/16)

Refers to Volume 19, page 1100 of the Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2016.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties may participate in the process by which administrative
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
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The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed,
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court
for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation
may be reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, no judicial review of a regulation is available unless a
complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was
published in the Register of Regulations.
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Marker, Executive Assistant; Amanda McAtee, Joint Legislative Oversight Sunset Committee Analyst; Kathleen
Morris, Office Manager; Nathan Poore, Graphics and Printing Technician III; Joel Rudnick, Legislative Librarian;
Erika Schrader, Assistant Registrar of Regulations; Victoria Schultes, Administrative Specialist III; Don Sellers,
Print Shop Supervisor; Yvette W. Smallwood, Registrar of Regulations; Amy Tricarico, Administrative Specialist
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Specialist III.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed in
the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that issue of
the Register in which the regulation was published. Proposed regulations are designated with (Prop.); Final
regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with (Emer.); and regulations
that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Thoroughbred Racing Commission

1001 Thoroughbred Racing Rules and Regulations.......................................... 24 DE Reg.     47 (Final)
24 DE Reg.  219 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Office of the Secretary

101 DELACARE: Regulations for Early Care and Education and School-Age
Centers........................................................................................................ 24 DE Reg.    14 (Prop.)

24 DE Reg.   267 (Final)
103 Regulations for Family and Large Family Care Homes............................... 24 DE Reg.    16 (Prop.)

24 DE Reg.   272 (Final)
201 Child Placing Agencies................................................................................ 24 DE Reg.    18 (Prop.)

24 DE Reg.   274 (Final)
252 Required Educational Records and Transfer and Maintenance of

Educational Records.................................................................................... 24 DE Reg.    97 (Prop.)
401 Major Capital Improvement Programs......................................................... 24 DE Reg.   137 (Final)
405 Minor Capital Improvement Programs......................................................... 24 DE Reg.   142 (Final)
505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas................................ 24 DE Reg.  220 (Prop.)
612 Possession, Use or Distribution of Drugs and Alcohol................................ 24 DE Reg.   76 (Emer.)

24 DE Reg.  100 (Prop.)
738 Financial Goals for Instruction and Instruction-related Expenditures 24 DE Reg.  225 (Prop.)
817 Medications and Treatments....................................................................... 24 DE Reg.   81 (Emer.)

24 DE Reg.  105 (Prop.)
922 Children with Disabilities Subpart A, Purposes and Definitions.................. 24 DE Reg.     11 (Prop.)
925 Children with Disabilities Subpart D, Evaluations, Eligibility Determination,

Individualized Education Programs.............................................................. 24 DE Reg.    13 (Prop.)
1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics.................. 24 DE Reg.    19 (Prop.)
1009 DIAA High School Interscholastic Athletics............................................... 24 DE Reg.    21 (Prop.)
1010 Interscholastic Athletic during the COVID-19 Pandemic........................... 24 DE Reg.   87 (Emer.)

24 DE Reg. 208 (Emer.)
1150 School Transportation................................................................................ 24 DE Reg.   145 (Final)

Professional Standards Board
1503 Educator Mentoring................................................................................... 24 DE Reg.   146 (Final)
1520 Early Childhood Teacher........................................................................... 24 DE Reg.  227 (Prop.)
1531 Middle Level English Language Arts Teacher........................................... 24 DE Reg.   111 (Prop.)
1533 Middle Level Science Teacher................................................................... 24 DE Reg.    22 (Prop.)
1540 Secondary English Language Arts Teacher.............................................. 24 DE Reg.  115 (Prop.)
1570 Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher............ 24 DE Reg.    27 (Prop.)
1571 Special Education Teacher of Students with Disabilities........................... 24 DE Reg.     48 (Final)
1572 Teacher of Students Who Are Gifted or Talented...................................... 24 DE Reg.   152 (Final)
1591 School Principal and Assistant School Principal....................................... 24 DE Reg.  232 (Prop.)
1592 Certified Central Office Personnel............................................................. 24 DE Reg.  238 (Prop.)
1593 Superintendent or Assistant Superintendent............................................. 24 DE Reg.  245 (Prop.)
1594 Special Education Director........................................................................ 24 DE Reg.  251 (Prop.)
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Health Care Quality

3102 Long Term Care Transfer, Discharge and Readmission Procedures........ 24 DE Reg.   275 (Final)
Division of Public Health

4458 State of Delaware Food Code Regulations............................................... 24 DE Reg.   158 (Final)
4470 State of Delaware Medical Marijuana Code.............................................. 24 DE Reg.  258 (Prop.)

Division of Social Services
Application Processing and Copay for the Child Care Subsidy Program:

DSSM 11004................................................................................................ 24 DE Reg.  120 (Prop.)
Child Care Subsidy Program Terms: DSSM 11002............................................ 24 DE Reg.     55 (Final)
Determining Special Needs and Income Eligibility for Child Care: DSSM 11003 24 DE Reg.   164 (Final)
Terminating Food Benefits due to Substantial Lottery or Gambling Winnings:

DSSM 9072.................................................................................................. 24 DE Reg.  259 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Office of the Commissioner

903 Prompt Payment of Settled Claims............................................................. 24 DE Reg.    32 (Prop.)
24 DE Reg.   283 (Final)

1319 Arbitration of Disputes Between Carriers and Primary Care and Chronic
Care Management Providers....................................................................... 24 DE Reg.     56 (Final)

1411 Registration of Pharmacy Benefits Managers........................................... 24 DE Reg.   167 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Division of Unemployment Insurance

1201 Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board Regulations (§4.2.1)................. 24 DE Reg.   88 (Emer.)
24 DE Reg.   286 (Final)

1201 Unemployment Insurance Appeal Board Regulations (§4.7.4)................. 24 DE Reg.   91 (Emer.)
1202 Unemployment Insurance Regulations..................................................... 24 DE Reg.   173 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Division of Air Quality

1124 Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions..................................... 24 DE Reg.     61 (Final)
Division of Fish and Wildlife

3503 Striped Bass Recreational Fishing Seasons; Methods of Take; Creel Limit;
Possession Limit.......................................................................................... 24 DE Reg.      6 (Emer.)

24 DE Reg.   175 (Final)
24 DE Reg. 207 (Errata)

3504 Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions....................................... 24 DE Reg.      6 (Emer.)
24 DE Reg.   175 (Final)
24 DE Reg. 207(Errata)

Division of Waste and Hazardous Substances
1302 Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste................................................ 24 DE Reg.  127 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
Division of State Police

1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies 24 DE Reg.   179 (Final)
2400 Board of Examiners of Constables............................................................ 24 DE Reg.   180 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Division of Professional Regulation

1100 Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene..................................................... 24 DE Reg.   181 (Final)
2600 Examining Board of Physical Therapists and Athletic Trainers................. 24 DE Reg.    37 (Prop.)

24 DE Reg.  263 (Prop.)
2900 Real Estate Commission........................................................................... 24 DE Reg.  128 (Prop.)
2925 Real Estate Commission Education Committee........................................ 24 DE Reg.   95 (Emer.)
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2930 Council on Real Estate Appraisers........................................................... 24 DE Reg.    64 (Final)
24 DE Reg.  265 (Prop.)

3100 Board of Funeral Services........................................................................ 24 DE Reg.    65 (Final)
5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork............................................................. 24 DE Reg.      9 (Emer.)

Public Service Commission
8002 Rules to Establish an Excavation Damage Prevention Program.............. 24 DE Reg.    40 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division of Motor Vehicles

2222 School Bus Driver Qualifications and Endorsements............................... 24 DE Reg.  129 (Prop.)
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Emergency Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10119 an agency may promulgate a regulatory change as an Emergency under the following
conditions:

§ 10119. Emergency regulations.
If an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the adoption,

amendment or repeal of a regulation with less than the notice required by § 10115, the following rules shall apply:
(1) The agency may proceed to act without prior notice or hearing or upon any abbreviated notice and hearing that

it finds practicable;
(2) The order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation shall state, in writing, the reasons for the agency's

determination that such emergency action is necessary;
(3) The order effecting such action may be effective for a period of not longer than 120 days and may be renewed

once for a period not exceeding 60 days;
(4) When such an order is issued without any of the public procedures otherwise required or authorized by this

chapter, the agency shall state as part of the order that it will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any interested
person for the reconsideration or revision thereof; and

(5) The agency shall submit a copy of the emergency order to the Registrar for publication in the next issue of the
Register of Regulations. (60 Del. Laws, c. 585, § 1; 62 Del. Laws, c. 301, § 2; 71 Del. Laws, c. 48, § 10.)
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 122(b)(15) and 303(a)-(c); 29 Delaware 
Code, Section 10119 (14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) & 303(a)-(c) & 29 Del.C. §10119)

EMERGENCY

ORDER

1010 Interscholastic Athletics during the COVID-19 Pandemic

WHEREAS, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§303(a) and (b), the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association
(“DIAA”) is a unit of the Delaware Department of Education that works in consultation and cooperation with the
Department of Education to develop regulations relating to interscholastic athletics for middle and secondary
schools in Delaware; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §303(c), DIAA adopts regulations as to the sports over which it has
jurisdiction; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §301, DIAA was established, in part, to preserve and promote the
educational significance of interscholastic athletics, provide for fair competition between member schools, protect
the physical well-being of student athletes, and promote healthy adolescent lifestyles; and

WHEREAS, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention determined that a novel coronavirus (“COVID-
19”) presents a serious public health threat and, as a result, on March 12, 2020, the Governor issued a
Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware due to a Public Health Threat (“State of Emergency
Order”), which has been modified; and

WHEREAS, on June 1, 2020, DIAA’s Sports Medicine Advisory Committee (“SMAC”) issued
recommendations to the DIAA Board of Directors for returning to play once interscholastic athletics resumes; and

WHEREAS, on June 4, 2020, DIAA’s Rules and Regulations Committee recommended the DIAA Board of
Directors develop a new regulation regarding COVID-19 that includes SMAC’s recommendations for returning to
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play; and
WHEREAS, on June 14, 2020, the Governor issued the Twenty-First Modification of the State of Emergency

Order, which permits youth sports and other types of physical activity for children to resume during Phase 2 of the
State’s economic reopening, beginning on June 15, 2020; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware Department of Health and Social Services’ Division of Public Health issued
guidance concerning youth sports and suggested guidelines for returning to sports safely during COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, on June 24, 2020, the DIAA Board of Directors determined that the adoption of an emergency
regulation was necessary to protect the physical well-being of student athletes and promote healthy adolescent
lifestyles during the State of Emergency and proposed that the adoption of the regulation to the Delaware
Department of Education (“DOE”), subject to the State Board of Education’s approval, occur on an emergency
basis (the “Emergency Regulation”); and 

WHEREAS, on June 30, 2020, the State Board of Education approved the adoption of the Emergency
Regulation and the Emergency Regulation went into effect on July 1, 2020.

WHEREAS, on July 15, 2020, the DOE released the State’s guidance for reopening schools for the 2020-2021
school year, which outlines requirements for schools under three scenarios: if minimal community spread exists in
the State (and school buildings are open), if minimal-to-moderate community spread exists in the State (situation
dependent), and if significant community spread exists in the State (and school buildings are closed).

WHEREAS, on August 4, 2020, the State determined that minimal-to-moderate community spread exists and,
as a result, schools could reopen for the 2020-2021 school year using a hybrid model of remote instruction and in-
person learning options with precautions in place. 

WHEREAS, on August 6, 2020, the DIAA Board of Directors determined that amendments to the Emergency
Regulation were necessary to promote the educational significance of interscholastic athletics, provide for fair
competition between member schools, protect the physical well-being of student athletes, and promote healthy
adolescent lifestyles during the State of Emergency and proposed that the adoption of the amendments to the
Emergency Regulation to the Department of Education, subject to the State Board of Education’s approval, occur
on an emergency basis; 

WHEREAS, on August 14, 2020, the State Board of Education approved amendments to the Emergency
Regulation that immediately went into effect;

WHEREAS, on September 1, 2020, the Governor issued the Twenty-Sixth Modification of the State of
Emergency Order, which provides mandated terms for the operation of youth sports facilities, organizations, and
leagues, effective September 2, 2020 at 8:00 a.m. E.D.T.; and

WHEREAS, on September 3, 2020, the Governor issued the Twenty-Seventh Modification of the State of
Emergency Order, which consolidates prior Modifications related to the State of Emergency into one Modification
and includes mandated terms for the operation of youth sports facilities, organizations, and leagues; and

WHEREAS, on September 10, 2020, the DIAA Board of Directors determined that further amendments to the
Emergency Regulation were necessary to promote the educational significance of interscholastic athletics, provide
for fair competition between member schools, protect the physical well-being of student athletes, and promote
healthy adolescent lifestyles during the State of Emergency and proposed that the adoption of the amendments to
the Emergency Regulation to the Department of Education, subject to the State Board of Education’s approval,
occur on an emergency basis; 

WHEREAS, in accordance with 29 Del.C. §10119(4), the DIAA Board of Directors will receive, consider, and
respond to petitions by any interested persons for reconsideration or revision of the amendments to the Emergency
Regulation by addressing the petitions to the attention of the DIAA Board of Directors, Delaware Department of
Education, 35 Commerce Way, Suite 1, Dover, DE 19904 or emailing the petitions to DIAA@doe.k12.de.us. 

WHEREAS, in accordance with 29 Del.C. §10119(3), the Emergency Regulation shall be effective for 120 days
from July 1, 2020 and may be renewed once for a period not exceeding 60 days; and

WHEREAS, a copy of this Order will be submitted to the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the next
issue of the Register of Regulations.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED this 17th day of September, 2020 that the following amendments to the
Emergency Regulation, Interscholastic Athletics during the COVID-19 Pandemic, attached hereto as Exhibit A
shall take effect immediately.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 17th day of September, 2020.
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Department of Education

Susan S. Bunting, Ed., Secretary of Education

Approved this 17th day of September, 2020.

State Board of Education

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please Note: Due to the size of the emergency regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1010 Interscholastic Athletics during the COVID-19 Pandemic

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 1119C and 29 Delaware Code, Section 10119
(16 Del.C. §1119C & 29 Del.C. §10119)

16 DE Admin. Code 3201

EMERGENCY SECRETARY'S ORDER

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1119C and 29 Del.C. §10119 to Paragraph A(7)of the Governor's Twenty-Seventh 
Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware Due to a Public Health 

Threat, and pursuant

16 DE Admin. Code 3201: Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities

3201 Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities

AUTHORITY

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1119C and 29 Del.C. §10119 and pursuant to Paragraph A(7) of the Governor’s
Twenty-Seventh Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware Due to a Public
Health Threat (“Governor’s Emergency Declaration,”), the Department of Health and Social Services
(“Department”) is renewing emergency regulatory amendments to 16 DE Admin. C. 3201: Skilled and Intermediate
Care Nursing Facilities. Additionally, 29 Del.C. §10119 authorizes the Department to adopt emergency regulations
where an agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the amendment
of a regulation with less than the notice required by 29 Del.C. §10115. Moreover, 16 Del.C. §1119C authorizes the
Department to adopt, amend, repeal, or issue regulations for long-term care facilities and services.

REASON FOR THE EMERGENCY ORDER

Whitney Sweeney, President (Voted no) /s/ Vincent Lofink

Wali W. Rushdan, II, Vice President (Voted no) Audrey J. Noble, Ph.D. (Voted no)

/s/ Nina Lou Bunting /s/ Provey Powell, Jr.

/s/ Candace Fifer
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EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 305
Rapid and widespread transmission of COVID-19 is of significant concern within congregate settings,
particularly within nursing facilities, assisted living facilities, rest (residential) facilities, and intermediate care
facilities for persons with intellectual disabilities. 

Because asymptomatic or presymptomatic residents and staff might play an important role in transmission in
facilities, additional prevention measures merit consideration, including using testing to guide the use of
transmission-based precautions, isolation, and cohorting strategies.

The ability to test large numbers of residents and staff may significantly decrease transmission of COVID-19
within facilities.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

It is hereby ordered, that 16 DE Admin. C. 3201: Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities, specifically,
Subsections 2.21, 5.5.9, 6.11, and 8.3.1, which expand definitions, documentation, emergency preparedness, and
testing requirements, is temporarily modified as shown by underline as follows:

2.21 Vendor – Any individual who is not employed by the facility but provides direct services to one or more
facility residents.

5.5.9 Results of COVID-19 testing

6.11 Specific Requirements for COVID-19

6.11.1 Residents

6.11.1.1 All residents should be tested upon identification of another resident with symptoms consistent
with COVID-19, or if facility staff have tested positive for COVID-19.

6.11.1.2 All other resident testing should be consistent with Division of Public Health guidance for the
duration of the public health emergency.

6.11.1.3 All testing and test results must be documented in the resident medical record.

6.11.1.4 Facilities must report all resident testing and test results, to the Delaware Division of Public
Health.

6.11.2 Staff, vendors and volunteers

6.11.2.1 All staff, vendors and volunteers who have not previously tested positive for COVID-19 must
receive a baseline COVID-19 test within 2 weeks of the effective date of this regulation.

6.11.2.2 All new staff, vendors and volunteers who cannot provide proof of previous positive testing
must be tested prior to their start date.

6.11.2.3 All staff, vendors and volunteers who test negative must be retested consistent with Division of
Public Health guidance for the duration of the public health emergency.

6.11.2.4 Facilities must report all staff, vendor and volunteer testing and test results, to the Delaware
Division of Public Health.

6.11.2.5 Facilities must follow recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention of
the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Division of Public Health regarding the provision of
care or services to residents by staff, vendor or volunteer found to be positive for COVID-19 in an infectious stage.

6.11.2.6 Facilities shall amend their policies and procedures for communicable disease to include:

6.11.2.6.1 Work exclusion and return to work protocols for staff tested positive for COVID-19 

6.11.2.6.2 Staff refusals to participate in COVID-19 testing

6.11.2.6.3 Staff refusals to authorize release of their testing results to the nursing facility

6.11.2.6.4 Procedures to obtain staff authorizations for release of laboratory test results to the
facility so as to inform infection control and prevention strategies

6.11.2.6.5 Plans to address staffing shortages and facility demands should a COVID-19 outbreak
occur.
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8.3.1 The all-hazard emergency plan must include plans to address staffing shortages and facility demands.

The Emergency Order took effect on June 1, 2020 and was effective for 120 days. Because the public health
threat continues for this vulnerable population, this renewal shall take effect on September 30, 2020 and shall
remain in effect for 60 days, consistent with 29 Del.C. §10119(3). 

PETITION FOR RECOMMENDATIONS

The Department will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person for recommendations
or revisions of this Order. Petitions should be presented to the Division of Health Care Quality, 3 Mill Road, Suite
308, Wilmington, DE 19806, by email to Corinna.Getchell@Delaware.gov, or by fax to 302-421-7401.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, this 25th day of September, 2020, that the above referenced amendment to 16 DE Admin.
C. 3201: Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities, a copy of which is hereby attached, is adopted, pursuant
to the Governor’s Emergency Declaration, 16 Del.C. §1119C, and 29 Del.C. §10119, as referenced above, and
supported by the evidence contained herein.

Molly K. Magarik
Cabinet Secretary 

*Please Note: Due to the size of the emergency regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

3201 Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities

DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 1119C and 29 Delaware Code, Section 10119
(16 Del.C. §1119C & 29 Del.C. §10119)

16 DE Admin. Code 3225

EMERGENCY SECRETARY'S ORDER

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1119C and 29 Del.C. §10119, and pursuant to Paragraph A(7) of the Governor's 
Twenty-Seventh Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware Due to a 

Public Health Threat

16 Del. Admin. C. 3225: Assisted Living Facilities

3225 Assisted Living Facilities

AUTHORITY

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1119C and 29 Del.C. §10119 and pursuant to Paragraph A(7) of the Governor’s
Twenty-Seventh Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware Due to a Public
Health Threat (“Governor’s Emergency Declaration,”), the Department of Health and Social Services
(“Department”) is renewing emergency regulatory amendments to 16 DE Admin. C. 3225: Assisted Living
Facilities. Additionally, 29 Del.C. §10119 authorizes the Department to adopt emergency regulations where an
agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the amendment of a
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EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 307
regulation with less than the notice required by 29 Del.C. §10115. Moreover, 16 Del.C. §1119C authorizes the
Department to adopt, amend, repeal, or issue regulations for long-term care facilities and services.

REASON FOR THE EMERGENCY ORDER

Rapid and widespread transmission of COVID-19 is of significant concern within congregate settings,
particularly within nursing facilities, assisted living facilities, rest (residential) facilities, and intermediate care
facilities for persons with intellectual disabilities.

Because asymptomatic or presymptomatic residents and staff might play an important role in transmission in
facilities, additional prevention measures merit consideration, including using testing to guide the use of
transmission-based precautions, isolation, and cohorting strategies.

The ability to test large numbers of residents and staff may significantly decrease transmission of COVID-19
within facilities.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

It is hereby ordered, that 16 DE Admin. C. 3225: Assisted Living Facilities, specifically, Subsection 18.3.1 and
Section 3.0 and Subsection 9.8 which expand definitions, documentation, emergency preparedness, and testing
requirements, is temporarily modified as shown by underline as follows:

“Vendor” – Any individual who is not employed by the facility but provides direct services to one or more
facility residents.

9.8 Specific Requirements for COVID-19:
9.8.1 Residents

9.8.1.1 All residents should be tested upon identification of another resident with symptoms consistent
with COVID-19, or if facility staff have tested positive for COVID-19.

9.8.1.2 All other resident testing should be consistent with Division of Public Health guidance for the
duration of the public health emergency.

9.8.1.3 All testing and test results must be documented in the resident medical record.
9.8.1.4 Facilities must report all resident testing and test results, to the Delaware Division of Public

Health.
9.8.2 Staff, vendors and volunteers

9.8.2.1 All staff, vendors and volunteers who have not previously tested positive for COVID-19 must
receive a baseline COVID-19 test within 2 weeks of the effective date of this regulation.

9.8.2.2 All new staff, vendors and volunteers who cannot provide proof of previous positive testing
must be tested prior to their start date.

9.8.2.3 All staff, vendors and volunteers who test negative must be retested consistent with Division of
Public Health guidance for the duration of the public health emergency.

9.8.2.4 Facilities must report all staff, vendor and volunteer testing and test results, to the Delaware
Division of Public Health.

9.8.2.5 Facilities must follow recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention of
the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Division of Public Health regarding the provision of
care or services to residents by staff, vendor or volunteer found to be positive for COVID-19 in an infectious stage.

9.8.2.6 Facilities shall amend their policies and procedures to include:
9.8.2.6.1 Work exclusion and return to work protocols for staff tested positive for COVID-19
9.8.2.6.2 Staff refusals to participate in COVID-19 testing
9.8.2.6.3 Staff refusals to authorize release of their testing results to the facility
9.8.2.6.4 Procedures to obtain staff authorizations for release of laboratory test results to the

facility so as to inform infection control and prevention strategies
9.8.2.6.5 Plans to address staffing shortages and facility demands should a COVID-19 outbreak

occur.

18.3.1 The all-hazard emergency plan must include plans to address staffing shortages and facility
demands.
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The Emergency Order took effect on June 1, 2020 and was effective for 120 days. Because the public health
threat continues for this vulnerable population, this renewal shall take effect on September 30, 2020 and shall
remain in effect for 60 days, consistent with 29 Del.C. §10119(3).

PETITION FOR RECOMMENDATIONS

The Department will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person for recommendations
or revisions of this Order. Petitions should be presented to the Division of Health Care Quality, 3 Mill Road, Suite
308, Wilmington, DE 19806, by email to Corinna.Getchell@Delaware.gov, or by fax to 302-421-7401.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, this 25th day of September, 2020, that the above referenced amendment to 16 DE Admin.
C. 3225: Assisted Living Facilities, a copy of which is hereby attached, is adopted, pursuant to the Governor’s
Emergency Declaration, 16 Del.C. §1119C, and 29 Del.C. §10119, as referenced above, and supported by the
evidence contained herein.

Molly K. Magarik
Cabinet Secretary 

*Please Note: Due to the size of the emergency regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

3225 Assisted Living Facilities

DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 1119C and 29 Delaware Code, Section 10119
(16 Del.C. §1119C & 29 Del.C. §10119)

16 DE Admin. Code 3230

EMERGENCY SECRETARY'S ORDER

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1119C and 29 Del.C. §10119, and pursuant to Paragraph A(7) of the Governor's 
Twenty-Seventh Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware Due to a 

Public Health Threat

16 Del. Admin. C. §3230: Rest (Residential) Home Regulations

3230 Rest (Residential) Home Regulations

AUTHORITY

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1119C and 29 Del.C. §10119 and pursuant to Paragraph A(7) of the Governor’s
Twenty-Seventh Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for the State of Delaware Due to a Public
Health Threat (“Governor’s Emergency Declaration,”), the Department of Health and Social Services
(“Department”) is renewing emergency regulatory amendments to 16 DE Admin. C. 3230: Rest (Residential) Home
Regulations. Additionally, 29 Del.C. §10119 authorizes the Department to adopt emergency regulations where an
agency determines that an imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare requires the amendment of a
regulation with less than the notice required by 29 Del.C. §10115. Moreover, 16 Del.C. §1119C authorizes the
Department to adopt, amend, repeal, or issue regulations for long-term care facilities and services.
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EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 309
REASON FOR THE EMERGENCY ORDER

Rapid and widespread transmission of COVID-19 is of significant concern within congregate settings,
particularly within nursing facilities, assisted living facilities, rest (residential) facilities, and intermediate care
facilities for persons with intellectual disabilities. 

Because asymptomatic or presymptomatic residents and staff might play an important role in transmission in
facilities, additional prevention measures merit consideration, including using testing to guide the use of
transmission-based precautions, isolation, and cohorting strategies.

The ability to test large numbers of residents and staff may significantly decrease transmission of COVID-19
within facilities.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

It is hereby ordered, that 16 DE Admin Code 3230: Rest (Residential) Home Regulations, specifically,
Subsection 6.3.1 and Sections 2.0 and 9.3, which expand definitions, documentation, emergency preparedness,
and testing requirements, is temporarily modified as shown by underline as follows:

“Vendor” means any individual who is not employed by the facility but provides direct services to one or more
facility residents.

6.3.1 The all-hazard emergency plan must include plans to address staffing shortages and facility demands.
9.3 Specific Requirements for COVID-19

9.3.1 Residents
9.3.1.1 All residents should be tested upon identification of another resident with symptoms

consistent with COVID-19, or if facility staff have tested positive for COVID-19.
9.3.1.2 All other resident testing should be consistent with Division of Public Health guidance for

the duration of the public health emergency.
9.3.1.3 All testing and test results must be documented in the resident medical record.
9.3.1.4 Facilities must report all resident testing and test results, to the Delaware Division of

Public Health.
 9.3.2 Staff, vendors and volunteers

9.3.2.1 All staff, vendors and volunteers who have not previously tested positive for COVID-19
must receive a baseline COVID-19 test within 2 weeks of the effective date of this regulation.

9.3.2.2 All new staff, vendors and volunteers who cannot provide proof of previous positive testing
must be tested prior to their start date.

9.3.2.3 All staff, vendors and volunteers who test negative must be retested consistent with
Division of Public Health guidance for the duration of the public health emergency.

9.3.2.4 Facilities must report all staff, vendor and volunteer testing and test results, to the
Delaware Division of Public Health.

9.3.2.5 Facilities must follow recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Division of Public Health regarding the provision of
care or services to residents by staff, vendor or volunteer found to be positive for COVID-19 in an infectious stage.

9.3.2.6 Facilities shall amend their policies and procedures for communicable disease to include:
9.3.2.6.1 Work exclusion and return to work protocols for staff tested positive for COVID-19
9.3.2.6.2 Staff refusals to participate in COVID-19 testing
9.3.2.6.3 Staff refusals to authorize release of their testing results to the facility
9.3.2.6.4 Procedures to obtain staff authorizations for release of laboratory test results to the

facility so as to inform infection control and prevention strategies
9.3.2.6.5 Plans to address staffing shortages and facility demands should a COVID-19 outbreak

occur.

The Emergency Order took effect on June 1, 2020 and was effective for 120 days. Because the public health
threat continues for this vulnerable population, this renewal shall take effect on September 30, 2020 and shall
remain in effect for 60 days, consistent with 29 Del.C. §10119(3).
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PETITION FOR RECOMMENDATIONS

The Department will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person for recommendations
or revisions of this Order. Petitions should be presented to the Division of Health Care Quality, 3 Mill Road, Suite
308, Wilmington, DE 19806, by email to Corinna.Getchell@Delaware.gov, or by fax to 302-421-7401.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered, this 25th day of September, 2020, that the above referenced amendment to 16 DE Admin.
C. 3230: Rest (Residential) Home Regulations, a copy of which is hereby attached, is adopted, pursuant to the
Governor’s Emergency Declaration, 16 Del.C. §1119C, and 29 Del.C. §10119, as referenced above, and supported
by the evidence contained herein.

Molly K. Magarik
Cabinet Secretary 

*Please Note: Due to the size of the emergency regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

3230 Rest (Residential) Home Regulations

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Section 903(h) and 29 Delaware Code, Section 10119
(7 Del.C. §903(h) & 29 Del.C. §10119)

7 DE Admin. Code 3801

SECRETARY’S ORDER

Pursuant to Paragraph F of the Governor’s Sixth Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency 
for the State of Delaware Due to a Public Health Threat, and pursuant to

7 Del.C. §903(h) and 29 Del.C. §10119

Order No: 2020-F-0026

7 DE Admin. Code §§ 3801-16.2; 16.3.1; and 16.4: Shellfish Aquaculture; Active Use of Shellfish 
Aquaculture Subaqueous Land Lease Sites

3801 Shellfish Aquaculture

AUTHORITY

Pursuant to Paragraph F of the Governor’s Sixth Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency for
the State of Delaware Due to a Public Health Threat (“Governor’s Emergency Declaration”), the Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control (“Department”) is adopting an emergency rule modifying Inland
Bays Shellfish Aquaculture Regulation 7 DE Admin. Code §§ 3801-16.2; 16.3.1; and 16.4 concerning Shellfish
Aquaculture; Active Use of Shellfish Aquaculture Subaqueous Land Lease Sites. Paragraph F of the Governor’s
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Emergency Declaration authorizes the Secretary of the Department to adopt emergency rules in order “to respond
to COVID-19 concerns that implicate the natural resources of the State of Delaware.”

REASON FOR THE EMERGENCY RULE

The mandatory business closures and reduced business operations resulting from national and state efforts to
contain the COVID-19 pandemic have led to a catastrophic decline in commercial demand for seafood and
shellfish, including oysters propagated by shellfish aquaculture in the Inland Bays. Delaware’s Inland Bays shellfish
aquaculture regulations specify timeframes for when aquaculture activity must occur and minimum shellfish
planting quantities on shellfish aquaculture leases. Inland Bays shellfish aquaculture lessees subject to these
requirements in the year 2020 communicated to the Department that the substantial reduction in the restaurant
market for shellfish does not warrant the risk, investment of time, and financial resources to plant and actively
cultivate oyster stock for which there is a limited and uncertain market. Additionally, the mandatory COVID-19
quarantines on interstate travel during the spring of 2020 in Delaware and other states, as well as staffing limits
placed on shellfish seed hatching, propagation, and testing facilities in several states, have resulted in challenges
for the shellfish aquaculture industry in obtaining, transferring, testing, and importing shellfish seed for planting on
aquaculture leases. The COVID-19 pandemic is therefore responsible for a catastrophic loss in the shellfish sales
market and a disruption of the shellfish seed supply chain. Adoption of this emergency rule is necessary to ensure
the financial and operational viability of the shellfish aquaculture industry and individual lessees and associated
shellfish resources.

EMERGENCY RULE

It is hereby ordered, this 1st day of September 2020 that 7 DE Admin. Code §§ 3801-16.2; 16.3.1; and 16.4
concerning the conditions for active use of and minimum shellfish planting quantities for Inland Bays shellfish
leases are temporarily modified and rescinded as shown by strikethrough as follows:

3801-16.2 In the event that an aquaculture lease is determined by the Department not to be active for
a period of one (1) year (12 months), the lease shall be terminated and the lease site may revert to the
inventory of available lease sites.

3801-16.3.1 After two (2) years (24 months) from the date of lease issuance or transfer, leaseholders
must provide evidence to the Department’s satisfaction that they annually plant at least 100,000
shellfish per acre leased.

3801-16.4 Notwithstanding subsection 16.3, the minimum planting requirement shall not apply to the
initial two (2) years (24 months) of a lease, but lessees must plant sufficient shellfish to ensure that the
production requirement can be met by the end of the third year (36 months), and annually thereafter.

This emergency rule shall take immediate effect and shall remain in effect until 12:00 a.m. on January 1, 2021.

Shawn M. Garvin

Secretary

3801 Shellfish Aquaculture

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

16.0 Active Use of Shellfish Aquaculture Subaqueous Land Lease Sites

16.1 The Department shall conduct an annual review of each shellfish aquaculture lease in order to
determine active use of the lease in the previous year.
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16.2 In the event that an aquaculture lease is determined by the Department not to be active for a period of
one (1) year (12 months), the lease shall be terminated and the lease site may revert to the inventory
of available lease sites. [Reserved]

16.3 An active lease in Delaware’s Inland Bays must meet the following conditions:

16.3.1 After two (2) years (24 months) from the date of lease issuance or transfer, leaseholders must
provide evidence to the Department’s satisfaction that they annually plant at least 100,000
shellfish per acre leased. [Reserved]

16.3.2 After the first three years of the lease, each leaseholder shall annually harvest and produce proof
of sale for an average of at least 10 bushels of oysters per acre or 5,000 clams per acre, or an
equivalent combination.

16.4 Notwithstanding subsection 16.3, the minimum planting requirement shall not apply to the initial two (2)
years (24 months) of a lease, but lessees must plant sufficient shellfish to ensure that the production
requirement can be met by the end of the third year (36 months), and annually thereafter. [Reserved]

16.5 The Department may, at its discretion, grant written exemptions from the planting, harvest or sale
requirement due to catastrophic loss or low shellfish stock availability.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

3801 Shellfish Aquaculture
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it
shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b)(15) and 303(a)-(c) (14 Del.C. 
§§122(b)(15) & 303(a)-(c))
14 DE Admin. Code 1011

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

1011 Interscholastic Athletics during the COVID-19 Pandemic

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Adoption of a New Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Sections 122(b)(15) and 303(a)-(c), the Secretary of Education seeks the approval of

the State Board of Education to adopt 14 DE Admin. Code 1011 Interscholastic Athletics during the COVID-19
Pandemic. The Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association ("DIAA"), working in consultation and cooperation
with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed 14 DE Admin. Code 1011, which applies
to DIAA Member Schools during the public health emergency due to the COVID-19 pandemic. On June 30, 2020,
the Department, with the State Board of Education's approval, adopted an emergency regulation, 14 DE Admin.
Code 1010 Interscholastic Athletics during the COVID-19 Pandemic. 14 DE Admin. Code 1010 was effective on
July 1, 2020 and is in effect for a period of 120 days unless it is renewed, amended, or repealed. The proposed
regulation includes pre-participation physical examination requirements, addresses when interscholastic athletic
activities are suspended, provides four Return to Play Stages, specifies the dates for the fall, winter, and spring
sport seasons during the 2020-2021 school year, and sets forth sport-specific requirements that are designed to
protect the physical well-being of student athletes during the COVID-19 pandemic. The proposed regulation is
intended to replace the emergency regulation.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
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before November 4, 2020 to the Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401
Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901 or email to DOEregulations.comment@doe.k12.de.us. A copy of
this regulation may be viewed online at the Registrar of Regulation's website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/
services/current_issue.shtml or obtained at the Department of Education's Office of the Secretary, located at the
address above.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The new regulation concerns interscholastic athletics during the COVID-19 pandemic.
2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The new

regulation concerns interscholastic athletics during the COVID-19 pandemic.
3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure all students’ health and safety are adequately protected? The

new regulation is intended, in part, to help ensure all student athletes' health and safety are adequately protected.
The proposed regulation suspends all interscholastic athletic activities if the State determines there is significant
community spread of COVID-19. In addition, if the DIAA Board of Directors determines a DIAA Return to Play
Stage applies, each DIAA Return to Play Stage sets forth specific health and safety requirements.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The new
regulation concerns interscholastic athletics during the COVID-19 pandemic.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local
board and school level? The new regulation does not change the authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level. DIAA was established, in part, to protect the physical well-being of student athletes
and promote healthy adolescent lifestyles. DIAA Member Schools may provide interscholastic athletics if the DIAA
Board of Directors determines a DIAA Return to Play Stage applies. There are certain requirements designed to
protect the physical well-being of student athletes and promote healthy adolescent lifestyles depending on the
stage. Proposed subsection 4.5.3.1 provides that Member Schools may establish and enforce stricter
requirements than the requirements in this regulation.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The new regulation does not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.
The screening requirements for COVID-19 symptoms in subsection 4.5.3.2 are necessary to help prevent the
spread of COVID-19 at DIAA Member Schools that offer interscholastic athletic activities during the pandemic.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated will
be placed in the same entity. The DIAA Board of Directors will determine movement from and between the DIAA
Return to Play Stages in consultation with the Delaware Division of Public Health and subject to the State's orders.
The DIAA Board of Directors may investigate, conduct hearings, and impose penalties for student athletes',
coaches', administrators', officials', and spectators' failure to comply with the requirements of the proposed
regulation.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts, and social studies? The new regulation concerns interscholastic
athletics during the COVID-19 pandemic.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? There is not a
less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the amended regulation?
Requirements for which there may be a cost, such as cleaning and disinfecting surfaces and equipment and
providing access to handwashing facilities and hand sanitizer, are based on the Twenty-Seventh Modification to
the State of Emergency Order, which consolidates prior Modifications related to the State of Emergency into one
Modification, includes mandated terms for the operation of youth sports facilities, organizations, and leagues, and
has the force and effect of law.

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
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29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 313RFA 10-01-20.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1011 Interscholastic Athletics during the COVID-19 Pandemic

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 1119C (16 Del.C. §1119C)
16 DE Admin. Code 3201

PUBLIC NOTICE 

3201 Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 16 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 11, Section 1119C, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Health Care Quality (DHCQ) is proposing regulations governing Skilled and
Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed regulatory amendments must submit same to, the Division of Health Care
Quality, 261 Chapman Road, Suite 200, Newark, Delaware 19702, by email to Corinna.Getchell@Delaware.gov or
by fax to 302-292-3931 by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020. Please identify in the subject line: Regulations
Governing Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL
The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services / Division of Health

Care Quality is proposing regulations governing Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities.

Statutory Authority
16 Del.C. §1119C

Background
Rapid and widespread transmission of COVID-19 is of significant concern within congregate settings,

particularly within nursing facilities, assisted living facilities, rest (residential) facilities, and intermediate care
facilities for persons with intellectual disabilities.

Because asymptomatic or presymptomatic residents and staff might play an important role in transmission in
facilities, additional prevention measures merit consideration, including using testing to guide the use of
transmission-based precautions, isolation, and cohorting strategies.

The ability to test large numbers of residents and staff may significantly decrease transmission of COVID-19
within facilities.

Summary of Proposal

Summary of Proposed Changes
The Division of Health Care Quality plans to publish the “proposed” amendments to the regulations governing

Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities and hold them out for public comment per Delaware law. The
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amendments update the regulatory language to include the emergency regulations published on June 1, 2020.
This language expands definitions, documentation, emergency preparedness, and testing requirements for
assisted living facilities.

Public Notice
In accordance with the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code,

Delaware Health and Social Services / Division of Health Care Quality gives public notice and provides an open
comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on the proposed
regulation. Comments must be received by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020.

Fiscal Impact
Not applicable

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 315RFA 10-01-20.pdf

3201 Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

2.0 Definitions

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

2.21 Vendor – Any individual who is not employed by the facility but provides direct services to one or more
facility residents.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5.0 Personnel/Administrative

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

5.5 The facility shall have written personnel policies and procedures. Personnel records shall be kept
current and available for each employee, and include the following:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

5.5.9 Results of COVID-19 testing

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

6.0 Services To Residents

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

6.11 Specific Requirements for COVID-19

6.11.1 Residents

6.11.1.1 All residents should be tested upon identification of another resident with symptoms
consistent with COVID-19, or if facility staff have tested positive for COVID-19.

6.11.1.2 All other resident testing should be consistent with Division of Public Health guidance for
the duration of the public health emergency.

6.11.1.3 All testing and test results must be documented in the resident medical record.

6.11.1.4 Facilities must report all resident testing and test results, to the Delaware Division of
Public Health.

6.11.2 Staff, vendors and volunteers

6.11.2.1 All staff, vendors and volunteers who have not previously tested positive for COVID-19
must receive a baseline COVID-19 test within 2 weeks of the effective date of this
regulation.
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6.11.2.2 All new staff, vendors and volunteers who cannot provide proof of previous positive testing
must be tested prior to their start date.

6.11.2.3 All staff, vendors and volunteers who test negative must be retested consistent with
Division of Public Health guidance for the duration of the public health emergency.

6.11.2.4 Facilities must report all staff, vendor and volunteer testing and test results, to the
Delaware Division of Public Health.

6.11.2.5 Facilities must follow recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Division of Public Health
regarding the provision of care or services to residents by staff, vendor or volunteer found
to be positive for COVID-19 in an infectious stage.

6.11.2.6 Facilities shall amend their policies and procedures for communicable disease to include:

6.11.2.6.1 Work exclusion and return to work protocols for staff tested positive for COVID-19.

6.11.2.6.2 Staff refusals to participate in COVID-19 testing.

6.11.2.6.3 Staff refusals to authorize release of their testing results to the nursing facility.

6.11.2.6.4 Procedures to obtain staff authorizations for release of laboratory test results to the
facility so as to inform infection control and prevention strategies.

6.11.2.6.5 Plans to address staffing shortages and facility demands should a COVID-19 outbreak
occur.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

8.0 Emergency Preparedness

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

8.3 Each facility shall develop and maintain all-hazard emergency plans for evacuation and sheltering in
place. The plan must be submitted to the Division and DEMA in a digital format and it must conform to
the template prescribed by the Division. The all-hazard emergency plan must include plans to address
staffing shortages and facility demands.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

3201 Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities

DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 1119C (16 Del.C. §1119C)
16 DE Admin. Code 3225

PUBLIC NOTICE

3225 Assisted Living Facilities

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 16 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 11, Section 1119C, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Health Care Quality (DHCQ) is proposing regulations governing Assisted
Living Facilities.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed regulatory amendments must submit same to, the Division of Health Care
Quality, 261 Chapman Road, Suite 200, Newark, Delaware 19702, by email to Corinna.Getchell@Delaware.gov or
by fax to 302-292-3931 by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020. Please identify in the subject line: Regulations
Governing Assisted Living Facilities.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon the
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results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons. 

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL
The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services / Division of Health

Care Quality is proposing regulations governing Assisted Living Facilities.

Statutory Authority
16 Del.C. §1119C

Background
Rapid and widespread transmission of COVID-19 is of significant concern within congregate settings,

particularly within nursing facilities, assisted living facilities, rest (residential) facilities, and intermediate care
facilities for persons with intellectual disabilities.

Because asymptomatic or presymptomatic residents and staff might play an important role in transmission in
facilities, additional prevention measures merit consideration, including using testing to guide the use of
transmission-based precautions, isolation, and cohorting strategies.

The ability to test large numbers of residents and staff may significantly decrease transmission of COVID-19
within facilities.

Summary of Proposal

Summary of Proposed Changes
The Division of Health Care Quality plans to publish the “proposed” amendments to the regulations governing

Assisted Living Facilities and hold them out for public comment per Delaware law. The amendments update the
regulatory language to include the emergency regulations published on June 1, 2020. This language expands
definitions, documentation, emergency preparedness, and testing requirements for assisted living facilities.

Public Notice
In accordance with the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code,

Delaware Health and Social Services / Division of Health Care Quality gives public notice and provides an open
comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on the proposed
regulation. Comments must be received by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020.

Fiscal Impact

Not applicable

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 317RFA 10-01-20.pdf

3225 Assisted Living Facilities
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3.0 Glossary of Terms

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

“Vendor” – Any individual who is not employed by the facility but provides direct services to one or
more facility residents.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

9.0 Infection Control

(Break of Continuity Within Section)
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9.8 Specific Requirements for COVID-19:

9.8.1 Residents

9.8.1.1 All residents should be tested upon identification of another resident with symptoms
consistent with COVID-19, or if facility staff have tested positive for COVID-19.

9.8.1.2 All other resident testing should be consistent with Division of Public Health guidance for
the duration of the public health emergency.

9.8.1.3 All testing and test results must be documented in the resident medical record.

9.8.1.4 Facilities must report all resident testing and test results, to the Delaware Division of
Public Health.

9.8.2 Staff, vendors and volunteers

9.8.2.1 All staff, vendors and volunteers who have not previously tested positive for COVID-19
must receive a baseline COVID-19 test within 2 weeks of the effective date of this
regulation.

9.8.2.2 All new staff, vendors and volunteers who cannot provide proof of previous positive testing
must be tested prior to their start date.

9.8.2.3 All staff, vendors and volunteers who test negative must be retested consistent with
Division of Public Health guidance for the duration of the public health emergency.

9.8.2.4 Facilities must report all staff, vendor and volunteer testing and test results, to the
Delaware Division of Public Health.

9.8.2.5 Facilities must follow recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Division of Public Health
regarding the provision of care or services to residents by staff, vendor or volunteer found
to be positive for COVID-19 in an infectious stage.

9.8.2.6 Facilities shall amend their policies and procedures to include:

9.8.2.6.1 Work exclusion and return to work protocols for staff tested positive for COVID-19.

9.8.2.6.2 Staff refusals to participate in COVID-19 testing.

9.8.2.6.3 Staff refusals to authorize release of their testing results to the facility.

9.8.2.6.4 Procedures to obtain staff authorizations for release of laboratory test results to the
facility so as to inform infection control and prevention strategies.

9.8.2.6.5 Plans to address staffing shortages and facility demands should a COVID-19 outbreak
occur.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

18.0 Emergency Preparedness

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

18.3 Each facility shall develop and maintain all-hazard emergency plans for evacuation and sheltering in
place. The plan must be submitted to the Division and DEMA in a digital format and it must conform to
the template prescribed by the Division. The all-hazard emergency plan must include plans to address
staffing shortages and facility demands.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

3225 Assisted Living Facilities
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DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 1119C (16 Del.C. §1119C)
16 DE Admin. Code 3230

PUBLIC NOTICE

3230 Rest (Residential) Home Regulations

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 16 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 11, Section 1119C, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Health Care Quality (DHCQ) is proposing regulations governing Rest
(Residential) Home.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed regulatory amendments must submit same to, the Division of Health Care
Quality, 261 Chapman Road, Suite 200, Newark, Delaware 19702, by email to Corinna.Getchell@Delaware.gov or
by fax to 302-292-3931 by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020. Please identify in the subject line: Regulations
Governing Rest (Residential) Home.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL
The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services / Division of Health

Care Quality is proposing regulations governing Rest (Residential) Home.

Statutory Authority
16 Del.C. §1119C

Background
Rapid and widespread transmission of COVID-19 is of significant concern within congregate settings,

particularly within nursing facilities, assisted living facilities, rest (residential) facilities, and intermediate care
facilities for persons with intellectual disabilities.

Because asymptomatic or presymptomatic residents and staff might play an important role in transmission in
facilities, additional prevention measures merit consideration, including using testing to guide the use of
transmission-based precautions, isolation, and cohorting strategies.

The ability to test large numbers of residents and staff may significantly decrease transmission of COVID-19
within facilities.

Summary of Proposal

Summary of Proposed Changes
The Division of Health Care Quality plans to publish the “proposed” amendments to the regulations governing

Rest (Residential) Home and hold them out for public comment per Delaware law. The amendments update the
regulatory language to include the emergency regulations published on June 1, 2020. This language expands
definitions, documentation, emergency preparedness, and testing requirements for assisted living facilities.

Public Notice
In accordance with the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code,

Delaware Health and Social Services / Division of Health Care Quality gives public notice and provides an open
comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on the proposed
regulation. Comments must be received by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020.
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Fiscal Impact
Not applicable

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 320RFA 10-01-20.pdf

3230 Rest (Residential) Home Regulations
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

2.0 Definitions

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

“Vendor” means any individual who is not employed by the facility but provides direct services to one
or more facility residents.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

6.0 Emergency Preparedness

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

6.3 Each facility shall develop and maintain all-hazard emergency plans for evacuation and sheltering in
place. The emergency plan shall conform to the template provided by the Division. The all-hazard
emergency plan must include plans to address staffing shortages and facility demands.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

9.0 Communicable Diseases

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

9.3 Specific Requirements for COVID-19

9.3.1 Residents

9.3.1.1 All residents should be tested upon identification of another resident with symptoms
consistent with COVID-19, or if facility staff have tested positive for COVID-19.

9.3.1.2 All other resident testing should be consistent with Division of Public Health guidance for
the duration of the public health emergency.

9.3.1.3 All testing and test results must be documented in the resident medical record.

9.3.1.4 Facilities must report all resident testing and test results, to the Delaware Division of
Public Health.

9.3.2 Staff, vendors and volunteers

9.3.2.1 All staff, vendors and volunteers who have not previously tested positive for COVID-19
must receive a baseline COVID-19 test within 2 weeks of the effective date of this
regulation.

9.3.2.2 All new staff, vendors and volunteers who cannot provide proof of previous positive testing
must be tested prior to their start date.

9.3.2.3 All staff, vendors and volunteers who test negative must be retested consistent with
Division of Public Health guidance for the duration of the public health emergency.

9.3.2.4 Facilities must report all staff, vendor and volunteer testing and test results, to the
Delaware Division of Public Health.

9.3.2.5 Facilities must follow recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Division of Public Health
regarding the provision of care or services to residents by staff, vendor or volunteer found
to be positive for COVID-19 in an infectious stage.

9.3.2.6 Facilities shall amend their policies and procedures for communicable disease to include:
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9.3.2.6.1 Work exclusion and return to work protocols for staff tested positive for COVID-19.

9.3.2.6.2 Staff refusals to participate in COVID-19 testing.

9.3.2.6.3 Staff refusals to authorize release of their testing results to the facility.

9.3.2.6.4 Procedures to obtain staff authorizations for release of laboratory test results to the
facility so as to inform infection control and prevention strategies.

9.3.2.6.5 Plans to address staffing shortages and facility demands should a COVID-19 outbreak
occur.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

3230 Rest (Residential) Home Regulations

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, §122(3)c (16 Del.C. §122(3)c)
16 DE Admin. Code 4462

PUBLIC NOTICE

4462 Public Drinking Water Systems

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §122(3)(c), Health Systems Protection, Division of Public Health, Department of Health
and Social Services, is proposing revisions to the regulations governing Public Drinking Water Systems. On
October 1, 2020, the Division of Public Health plans to publish as “proposed” revisions to the Public Drinking Water
Systems regulations. The revisions include:

• EPA-required corrections for specific rule primacy;
• Fluoride requirements for systems required to provide fluoride under Delaware law;
• Definitions and a new chapter for cross-connections; and
• Minor clarifications and technical changes.
Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the October 1, 2020 edition of the Delaware

Register of Regulations, accessible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov or by calling the Division of Public
Health at (302) 744-4951.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, testimony, briefs or other written materials concerning
the proposed regulations must submit them to Alanna Mozeik by Monday, November 2, 2020, at:

Alanna Mozeik

Division of Public Health

417 Federal Street

Dover, DE 19901

Email: Alanna.Mozeik@delaware.gov

Phone: (302) 744-4951

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 322RFA 10-01-20.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

4462 Public Drinking Water Systems
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)
16 DE Admin. Code 11003

PUBLIC NOTICE

Defining Family Size For Child Care

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code), 42 CFR §447.205, and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512,
Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services (DSS) is proposing to amend the
Division of Social Services Manual regarding Child Care Subsidy Program, specifically, to define family size for
child care.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to, Planning, Policy and Quality Unit,
Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906, by
email to Nicole.M.Cunningham@delaware.gov, or by fax to 302-255-4413 by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020.
Please identify in the subject line: Defining Family Size for Child Care.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services/Division of Social
Services (DHSS/DSS) is proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual regarding Child Care Subsidy
Program, specifically, to define family size for child care.

Statutory Authority
45 CFR 98.20

Background
DSS is revising the eligibility requirements for the Child Care Subsidy Program based on the reauthorization of

the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act, which mandated new eligibility requirements for child care
assistance. 

DSS amended DSSM 11003.9.3 “Defining Family Size for Child Care” to include the current criteria that DSS
staff are to follow to calculate the family size, which is used to determine the family’s financial eligibility and
copayment for child care. DSS changed the formatting of the policy so that the policy is easier for DSS staff,
stakeholders, and the public to understand.

Summary of Proposal
Purpose

The purpose of the proposed change is to explain how DSS groups parents and children together to determine
eligibility for Purchase of Care. The family size includes parents and minor children who live together and whose
needs and incomes are considered together for child care subsidy.

Summary of Proposed Changes
Effective for services provided on and after December 1, 2020, Delaware Health and Social Services/Division

of Social Services proposes to amend Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding the Child Care
Subsidy Program, specifically, to define family size for child care.

Public Notice
In accordance with the federal public notice requirements established at Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social
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Security Act and 42 CFR 447.205 and the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code, Delaware Health and Social Services/Division of Social Services (DHSS/DSS) gives public notice and
provides an open comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on
the proposed regulation. Comments must be received by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020.

Fiscal Impact
DSS amended the eligibility policy to provide clear and accurate directions on the eligibility requirements for

the Child Care Subsidy Program. This policy is currently in place and there are no new financial responsibilities
associated with the amended eligibility policy.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 323RFA 10-01-20.pdf

11003.9.3 Defining Family Size for Child Care

45 CFR 98.20

The people whose needs and income are considered together comprise the definition of family size. Family
size is the basis upon which DSS looks at income to determine a family's financial eligibility and the child care
parent fee. Therefore, knowing who to include in the determination of family size is an important part in deciding
financial eligibility. Rules to follow when considering family size are relationship and whose income is counted.

In all instances, the people counted together for family size when determining financial eligibility are the same
people counted for family size when determining the family's child care parent fee.

A. Family size is defined as parents (natural, legal, adoptive, step, and unmarried partners with a child in
common) and their children under 18 living in the home, will always be included together in the determination of
family size.

EXAMPLE 1: Ms. Brown, a single mother, lives together with her two year old daughter. She is
applying for child care as a Category 31, income eligible case. Mrs. Brown and her daughter are a family size of
two.

EXAMPLE 2: Susan Jones and Mark Evans live together as unmarried partners. Susan has a one year
old child from a previous relationship. She applies for Category 31 child care. Susan and her child are a family size
of two. Mark is not counted. His income is not considered since he is not the father of the child and there is no child
in common between Susan Jones and Mark Evans. (NOTE: If Mark Evans admits to being the natural parent of the
child, his income is counted and this is a family of three.)

EXAMPLE 3: Ms. Johnson, a single parent, has three children ages 13, 10, and 5. She works and
needs child care for her youngest child who attends preschool. She is applying for Category 31 child care. Even
though she needs care for only one child, her family size is a family size of four when looking at financial eligibility.

EXAMPLE 4: Ms. Green cares for her three year old niece. Ms. Green works and needs child care.
Since Ms. Green is not the parent of the child, she is considered a caretaker. Therefore, Ms. Green's income is not
counted and she is not included in the family composition. Ms. Green's niece is considered a family size of one and
any income attributable to the niece is countable income.

EXAMPLE 5: Mom and step-dad live with mom's two children, ages two and five, from a previous
marriage.  Mom and step-dad both work and need child care. Mom, step-dad, and her two children are a family
size of four. Step-dad is included.

POLICY – AMENDMENT
Delaware Department of Health and Social Services
Division of Social Services
Policy and Program Development Unit
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EXAMPLE 6: Mom and step-dad live with mom's three year old child from a previous marriage. Step-
dad also has a five year old child from a previous marriage living in the home. Mom and step-dad both work and
need child care. This family is a family size of four.

EXAMPLE 7: Mom and her unmarried partner have a child in common. Mom and the unmarried
partner also have one child each from previous relationships. Since Mom and the unmarried partner have a child in
common the needs and income of each parent will be considered for all three children. This would be a family size
of 5. In this example the Child Care Sub system will first build the family together as one AG. If the AG fails the
system will break this family down into 3 AG’s to determine as many persons eligible as possible. The three AG’s
would be Mom, unmarried partner and child in common, Mom and child from a previous relationship, unmarried
partner and his child from a previous relationship.

B. Adults who are not the natural, legal, adoptive, or step-parent of any of the children under 18 living in
the home are not included when determining family size and child are fee.

EXAMPLE: Mom lives with her grandmother. Mom has two children ages 10 and 6 for whom she
needs after-school care. Mom and her two children are considered a family size of three. Grandmother is not
included because she is not the parent of the children nor is her income counted.

Family size is defined by the individuals who live together and whose needs and incomes are
considered together for child care subsidy.

1. The family size includes parents and their children under age 18 who are living in a household
together.

A. DSS defines parents as:
i. Natural birth parents of a child;
ii. Legal parents of a child as deemed by a court of law;
iii. Adoptive parents of a child as deemed by a court of law;
iv. A stepparent of a child; or
v. Unmarried partners with a child in common.

B. DSS includes in the family size the parent or parents with their natural, legal, adopted, or
step-child or children under age 18 who are residing in the same household.

C. DSS groups unmarried partners together in the family size only if they live together and have
a child in common residing in the same household.
i. When DSS groups unmarried partners together, the family size will include:

• The unmarried partners;
• The child in common; and
• Any other child who is the natural, legal, adoptive, or step- child of one of the

unmarried partners and residing in the same household.

D. DSS excludes from the family size any adults who are not the natural, legal, adoptive, or
step- parent of the child or children in the household, including a caretaker, legal
guardian, or unmarried partner who is not the child’s parent.

E. A parent may receive child care even if there is another adult living in the household
who is not included in the family size, such as an unmarried partner who is not the child’s
parent, a relative, or a friend.

2. DSS uses the earned and unearned income per DSSM 11003.9.1 that is received by the
parents and children included in the family size to determine the family’s financial eligibility
and copayment for child care.
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)
16 DE Admin. Code 11004 & 11006

PUBLIC NOTICE

POC – Changing Providers And Charging Fees

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code), 42 CFR §447.205, and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512,
Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services (DSS) is proposing to amend the
Division of Social Services Manual regarding the Child Care Subsidy Program, specifically, to update policy related
to changing child care providers and charging fees to Purchase of Care (POC) families.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to, Planning, Policy and Quality Unit,
Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906, by
email to Nicole.M.Cunningham@delaware.gov, or by fax to 302-255-4413 by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020.
Please identify in the subject line: POC – Changing Providers and Charging Fees.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services/Division of Social
Services (DHSS/DSS) is proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual regarding the Child Care
Subsidy Program, specifically, to update policy related to changing child care providers and charging fees to
Purchase of Care (POC) families.

Statutory Authority
42 U.S.C. 9858
45 CFR 98.30
45 CFR 98.45

Background
DSS is revising the eligibility requirements for the Child Care Subsidy Program based on the reauthorization of

the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act, which mandated new eligibility requirements for child care
assistance. DSS has changed the formatting of the regulations so that the policy is easier for DSS staff,
stakeholders, and the public to understand.

DSS amended DSSM 11004.9.3 Changing Child Care Providers to clarify parental rights and when it is
appropriate to change or add a child care provider to a family’s POC case. DSS added a section to the policy to
provide procedures for DSS eligibility staff. 

DSS amended DSSM 11006.4.2 Charging Fees to Purchase of Care Families to provide guidance to child care
providers regarding the fees they may charge POC families. The policy explains that a fee policy must be
developed, presented, and explained to families. DSS also added a section regarding the Purchase of Care Plus
program, with procedures and documentation that must be available.

Summary of Proposal
Purpose

The purpose is to update policy related to changing child care providers and charging fees to Purchase of Care
(POC) families.

Summary of Proposed Changes
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Effective for services provided on and after December 11, 2020 Delaware Health and Social Services/Division
of Social Services proposes to amend the Division of Social Service Manual regarding the Child Care Subsidy
Program, specifically, to update policy related to changing child care providers and charging fees to Purchase of
Care (POC) families.

Public Notice
In accordance with the federal public notice requirements established at Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social

Security Act and 42 CFR 447.205 and the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code, Delaware Health and Social Services/Division of Social Services (DHSS/DSS) gives public notice and
provides an open comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on
the proposed regulation. Comments must be received by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020.

Fiscal Impact
DSS amended these regulations to provide clear and accurate directions on parental choice and fees for the

Child Care Subsidy Program. These regulations are currently in place and there are no new financial
responsibilities associated with the amendments.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 326RFA 10-01-20.pdf

11004.9.3 Changing Provider Child Care Providers

45 CFR 98.30

DSS designed the CCMIS so that there would not be two "active" authorizations for one child at the same time.
However, there is one exception: when a parent/caretaker wishes to change providers. In this instance, enter the
change of provider and the CCMIS will (1) change the old authorization to close it effective the end of the current
month, and (2) create a new authorization effective the date of the change in provider. Both authorizations will
remain in effect until the first expires. This will allow DSS to pay both providers.

However, because DSS requires that providers be given at least five days notice of this change, there may be
instances when the original authorization will remain in effect until the last day of the next month. Since the Change
Authorization will be mailed to the provider, do not send a separate notice. Ensure that parent/caretakers pay any
fees they may owe the old child care provider.

Parents and caretakers who receive child care subsidy for their children have parental choice in selecting
child care providers. DSS case workers will follow the procedures in this policy when a parent or caretaker
requests to change or add a child care provider.

1. Parents and caretakers have parental choice to change and add child care providers during their
eligibility period for the Purchase of Care program.
A. A parent or caretaker who wants to change child care providers must give a five-day notice to

their current child care provider prior to withdrawing the child from the child care site.

B. A parent or caretaker may add an alternate child care provider in the event the primary child care
provider is unable to care for the child.

POLICY – AMENDMENT
Delaware Department of Health and Social Services
Division of Social Services
Policy and Program Development Unit
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i. The alternate child care provider cannot receive payments for absent days.

C. A parent or caretaker may use two child care providers if care is needed during different hours or
at different locations.
i. DSS will authorize each provider only for the days and hours that the child attends each child

care site.
ii. Examples:

a. A parent is employed and works day and evening hours. The parent may use one provider
during the day and a second provider during the evening.

b. A parent is employed and works two days at one location and three days at another location.
The parent may use one provider near one location and a second provider near the other
location.

2. DSS will remove and add child care provider authorizations in a family’s Purchase of Care case
when the parent or caretaker requests to change providers.

A. DSS case workers will end the authorization in the eligibility system for the child care site that the
child will no longer attend effective the last day of the month the authorization will end.

B. DSS case workers will add the authorization in the eligibility system for the new child care site
effective the first day the child will attend the site.

3. DSS will add an additional child care provider authorization to a family’s Purchase of Care case
when the parent or caretaker requests an alternate provider or two providers.

A. DSS case workers will confirm a parent’s or caretaker’s need when a parent or caretaker requests
two child care providers.

B. DSS case workers will add the authorization in the eligibility system for the new child care site
effective the first day the child will attend the site.

11006.4.2 Fee Paying Clients Charging Fees to Purchase of Care Families

45 CFR 98.45

The client fee is based on the DSS scale according to the client's income. The provider is responsible for
collecting fees from their private and DSS fee-paying clients. The provider must develop a fee collection policy that
states the fees collected prior to or after delivery of service and the frequency of collection, such as weekly,
biweekly, or monthly. The provider's fee collection policy should be discussed with the parent/caretaker upon initial
enrollment at the facility and should be reviewed periodically.

The provider must ensure that enrollment procedures include how the provider informs parent/caretakers of
the availability of purchase of care slots for non-fee paying clients.

Purchase of Care (POC) providers may charge certain fees to families receiving the POC child care subsidy.

1. POC providers can charge families receiving POC only for the following fees:

POLICY – AMENDMENT
Delaware Department of Health and Social Services
Division of Social Services
Policy and Program Development Unit
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A. The parent copayment that DSS determines based on the family’s household size and income.

B. Purchase of Care Plus (POC+) fees that are determined by subtracting the State’s daily payment rate
from the provider’s private daily payment rate. Families in the POC+ program must pay the difference
between the two rates.

C. Late pick-up fees charged when a child is picked-up after the family’s authorized hours for care.

D. Field trip fees charged for a child to participate in an activity.
i. The provider must present the activity, the date of the activity, and the cost of the activity to the

family prior to the field trip.
ii. The provider must allow the family to choose if the child will participate in the field trip.
iii. If the child does not participate in the field trip, the provider cannot charge the family for the field

trip date if child care services are not available to the child because the provider’s site is closed
during the activity.

E. Returned check fees charged when the family’s payment cannot be collected.

2. Fees not listed in section (1) must be approved by DSS before the provider can charge the family.

3. A family that receives POC is responsible for paying their parent copayment (if applicable) and
the fees listed in section (1) when the fee is charged by the POC provider.

A. A family must continue to pay their parent copayment during instances when their POC provider
is closed, unless DSS waives the family’s copayment for an approved reason.
i. A family will pay their copayment when their provider is closed due to:

• Vacation;
• Illness;
• Training; or
• A provider holiday that replaces a DSS approved holiday. 

4. POC providers are responsible for collecting fees from the families that they serve.

5. POC providers must develop a fee policy, discuss the policy with families at initial enrollment,
and review the policy with families at least every 12 months.

A. The provider’s fee policy must state:
i. The fees that the provider will charge to families prior to, during, and after delivery of service;

and
ii. The provider’s fee collection schedule.

B. Providers who are approved by DSS to charge POC+ fees must:
i. Display the POC+ certificate;
ii. Inform families of regular POC slots as slots become available;
iii. Review the POC+ contract with families;
iv. Complete a budget with families that agree to pay POC+ fees; and
v. Maintain copies of executed POC+ contracts signed by families and the provider.
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 311 and 2312 (18 Del.C. §§311 & 2312)
18 DE Admin. Code 902

PUBLIC NOTICE

902 Prohibited Unfair Claim Settlement Practices

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Second re-proposal of amendments to Regulation 902 - Prohibited Unfair Claim Settlement Practices

[Formerly Regulation 26].

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
In the May 1, 2020 edition of the Register of Regulations, the Department published a proposal to update and

clarify requirements concerning prohibited unfair claim settlement practices that are set forth in Regulation 902
(see 23 DE Reg. 920 (05/01/2020)). In that proposal, the Department proposed adding new subsection 3.1.14,
which included a failure to promptly settle a claim as required under Regulation 903 as an unfair claim settlement
practice. The Department also took the opportunity of the proposal to make grammatical and formatting edits
throughout the regulation.

Upon further review, the Department determined not to proceed with proposed new subsection 3.1.14 and
withdrew that proposal, as violations of Regulation 903 are already a defined unfair claims settlement practice.

Instead, the Department proposed to add new subsection 3.2, which would have specifically provided that
three instances of an insurer's commission of a prohibited claim settlement practice within a 36-month period, as
listed in subsection 1.2.1 (to be recodified at subsection 3.1), shall give rise to a rebuttable presumption that the
insurer is in violation of this regulation and 18 Del. C. §2304(16)f. This first re-proposal was published in the June
1, 2020 edition of the Register of Regulations (see 23 DE Reg. 997 (06/01/2020)). The Department again took the
opportunity of the re-proposal to make grammatical and formatting edits throughout the regulation.

C. Summary of Comments on the First Re-Proposal
The Department received several comments from insurance industry-related stakeholders, many of whom

expressed surprise that the Department would propose such an amendment because the commenters were not
aware of any negative market conduct trends in Delaware that would have led the Department to take such action.

One commenter objected that proposed new subsection 3.2 would discourage informal resolution of market
conduct exam findings, "emphatically discourage self-reporting and self-remediation of claims processing errors or
violations, even if unintentional and harmless to policyholders, and . . . would unfairly expose insurers to bad faith
actions that are, on the merits, unfounded, based on a 'general practices' presumption of just three violations over
36 months.

Other commenters opined that proposed new subsection 3.2 makes Delaware's regulation exceed the
expectations set forth in the 2008 National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Model Unfair Claims
Settlement Act. In that Act, the NAIC discussed defining "general business practice" but chose not to define it,
instead opting to establish a statistically based benchmark error rate of seven percent for auditing claim practices
and 10 percent for other trade practices. These commenters went on to opine that Delaware would be the only
state in the nation to set numeric limits on numbers of claims over a specified time that would trigger the rebuttable
presumption of an unfair trade practice.

The commenters also pointed out that, in their opinion, the specific number of claims (3) over a set time period
(36 months) is unfair and untenable for companies that process thousands of claims per month, further stating that
while some of the Department's regulations understandably contain "three strikes" provisions, those provisions are
relegated to the health care arena. These commenters concluded that three claims in three years does not rise to
the level of an unfair business practice; unfair business practice should be reserved for systemic violations, not for
a mistake made due to human error.
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D. Summary of Department's Second Re-proposal

On re-proposal, the Department has determined to revise proposed new subsection 3.2 to provide that: 

An insurer's commission of prohibited unfair claim settlement practices listed in subsection 3.1 of this
regulation in four percent or more of claims sampled by the Department during any investigation or
examination of the insurer, shall give rise to a rebuttable presumption that the insurer is in violation of
this regulation and 18 Del. C. §2304(16)f.

The Delaware Code authority for the regulation and the proposed amendments is 18 Del.C. §§311 and 2312.

E. Notice and Public Comment for the Second Re-Proposal
The Department has determined to hold a virtual public hearing on the proposed amendments to Regulation

902 on October 22, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. The hearing will be facilitated through WebEx at https://
stateofdelaware.webex.com/stateofdelaware/j.php?MTID=mcb66b1d7794ffd79b6a2b963bb23bb43 meeting
number (access code): 173 669 0005 and meeting password: Fp7rW3juew9.

Holding a virtual public meeting is specifically permitted by Paragraph 5 of the Declaration of a State of
Emergency for the State of Delaware due to a Public Health Threat issued by Governor John Carney on March 12,
2020 and extended monthly thereafter (see https://governor.delaware.gov/health-soe/ for the complete list of
modifications and extensions). 

The proposed amendments appear below and may also be viewed on the Department of Insurance website at
http://insurance.delaware.gov/information/proposedregs/. 

Any person may file written comments, suggestions, briefs, and compilations of data or other materials
concerning the proposed amendments to the regulation. Any written submission in response to this notice and
relevant to the proposed amendments must be received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m.

EST, the 6th day of November 2020. Any such requests and any questions concerning connecting to the public
hearing should be directed to:

Leslie W. Ledogar, Regulatory Specialist

Delaware Department of Insurance

ATTN: Docket 4259-2020

1351 West North Street, Suite 101

Dover, DE 19904

(302) 674-7379

Email:  Leslie.Ledogar@delaware.gov

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 330RFA 10-01-20.pdf

902 Prohibited Unfair Claim Settlement Practices [Formerly Regulation 26]

Claim Settlement Practices Which, When Committed Or Performed with Such Frequency as to Indicate a General 
Business Practice, Are Prohibited

1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to set forth unfair claim settlement practices which, when committed or
performed with such frequency as to indicate a general business practice, are prohibited.

2.0 Authority

This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner pursuant to the authority granted by 18 Del.C. §§311 and
2312, and promulgated in accordance with the Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.
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1.0 3.0 Authority for Regulation; Basis for Regulation Prohibited Unfair Claims Settlement Practices

1.1 18 Del.C. §314 authorizes the Insurance Commissioner to "...make reasonable rules and regulations
necessary for or as an aid to the administration or effectuation of any provision of this title."

1.2 18 Del.C. Ch. 23 entitled "Unfair Business Practices in the Insurance Business," 18 Del.C. §2304(16)
Unfair Claim Settlement Practices; 18 Del.C. §2304(17) Failure to Maintain Complaint Handling
Procedures; and 18 Del.C. §2304(18) Misrepresentation in Insurance Applications, provide the basis
for this regulation.

1.2.1 3.1 The Following Claim Settlement Practices When Committed or Performed following unfair claim
settlement practices when committed or performed with such Frequency frequency as to Indicate a
General Practice are Prohibited indicate a general business practice are prohibited:

1.2.1.1 3.1.1 Misrepresenting pertinent facts or insurance policy provisions relating to coverage at
issue.

1.2.1.2 3.1.2 Failing to acknowledge and respond within 15 working days, upon receipt by the insurer,
to communications with respect to claims by insureds arising under insurance policies.

1.2.1.3 3.1.3 Failing to implement prompt investigation of claims arising under insurance policies within
10 working days upon receipt of the notice of loss by the insurer.

1.2.1.4 3.1.4 Refusing to pay claims without conducting an investigation based upon all available
information when the notice of loss received by the insurer indicates that such an investigation is
necessary to properly determine such a denial of payment.

1.2.1.5 3.1.5 Failing to affirm or deny coverage or a claim or advise the person presenting the claim, in
writing, or other proper legal manner, of the reason for the inability to do so, within 30 days after
proof of loss statements have been received by the insurer.

1.2.1.6 3.1.6 Not attempting in good faith to effectuate prompt, fair and equitable settlement of claims in
which liability has become clear.

1.2.1.7 3.1.7 Compelling insureds to institute litigation to recover amounts due under an insurance
policy by offering substantially less than the amounts which they might be entitled to under normal
fair claims evaluations.

1.2.1.8 3.1.8 Attempting to settle a claim for less than the amount to which a reasonable man would
have believed he was entitled by reference to written or printed advertising material accompanying
or made part of an application.

1.2.1.9 3.1.9 Attempting to settle claims on the basis of an application which was altered without notice
to, or knowledge of the insured.

1.2.1.10 3.1.10 Making claims payments to insured or beneficiaries not accompanied by a statement
setting forth the coverage under which the payment has been made.

1.2.1.11 3.1.11 Delaying the investigation or payment of claims by requiring an insured, claimant, or the
physician of either to submit a preliminary claim report and then requiring the subsequent
submission of a formal proof of loss form, both of which submissions contain substantially the
same information, unless the formal proof of loss is required by law, prevailing rules, or the policy.

1.2.1.12 3.1.12 Failing to promptly settle claims, where liability has become clear, under one portion of the
insurance policy coverage in order to influence settlements under other portions of the insurance
policy coverage.

1.2.1.13 3.1.13 Failing when requested to promptly provide an explanation of the basis in the insurance
policy in relation to facts or applicable law for denial of a claim or for the offer of a compromise
settlement. Such explanation may be made verbally but when given, must be documented in the
claims file.

3.2 An insurer's commission of prohibited unfair claim settlement practices listed in subsection 3.1 of this
regulation in four percent or more of claims sampled by the Department during any investigation or
examination of the insurer, shall give rise to a rebuttable presumption that the insurer is in violation of
this regulation and 18 Del.C. §2304(16)f.
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2.0 4.0 Violations; Penalties

2.1 Failure to comply will subject the violators to the provisions of 18 Del.C. §1732 (c)(2) and 18 Del.C.
§2307(a) 18 Del.C. §§1712, 2307(a) and 2308, which deals deal with hearings, license revocation,
suspension or fine for non-compliance of any regulation.

3.0 5.0 Severability

If any provision of this Regulation shall be held invalid, the remainder of the Regulation shall not be
affected thereby.

4.0 6.0 Effective Date

This Regulation shall become became effective August 1, 1977. The amendments to this Regulation
shall become effective ten (10) days after publication of the final order adopting the amendments.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF WASTE AND HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCES

WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Sections 6010(a) and 6305(a) (7 Del.C. §§6010(a) & 
6305(a))

7 DE Admin. Code 1301

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN #2019-02

1301 Regulations Governing Solid Waste

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
7 DE Admin. Code 1301, Delaware's Regulations Governing Solid Waste (DRGSW)

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
To provide greater environmental protection and to reduce human health risks, the Compliance and Permitting

Section (CAPS) proposes to modify the DRGSW to adopt regulations to clarify the State's Single Use Plastic Bag
Ban and At Store Recycling Program.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:
Amendments to DRGSW are proposed and amended in accordance with the provisions found at 7 Delaware

Code, Sections 6010(a) and 6305(a).

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
A virtual public hearing on the proposed amendments to DRGSW (Docket # 2020-R-WH-0025) will be held on

Wednesday, October 21, 2020, beginning at 6:00 PM. A web link to the virtual hearing will be posted on the
DNREC Public Hearings site at https://de.gov/dnrechearings. To access the audio-only portion of the virtual
hearing, dial in at 1-408-418-9388 and enter event code 173 830 4476. Closed-captioning available by request if
made at least 7 days before the event. 
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Those wishing to offer verbal comments during DNREC virtual public hearings must pre-register using the
weblink posted on the DNREC Public Hearings site at https://de.gov/dnrechearings or by contacting Adam
Schlachter.

The proposed amendments may be inspected online as of October 1, 2020 at http://regulations.delaware.gov/
services/current_issue.shtml or in-person by appointment only by contacting contact Adam Schlachter by phone at
302-739-9403; or by email at Adam.Schlachter@delaware.gov.

The hearing record will remain open for at least 15 days following the date of the hearing. The Department will
accept public comment through the close of business on Thursday, November 5, 2020 and comments pertaining to
the above regulations will be accepted in written form via:

Email: DNRECHearingComments@delaware.gov
Online Form: https://dnrec.alpha.delaware.gov/public-hearings/comment-form/ 
or via USPS to the following address: 

Theresa Newman, Hearing Officer
DNREC - Office of the Secretary

89 Kings Highway
Dover, DE 19901

7. PREPARED BY:

Adam Schlachter, Environmental Program Manager II, Compliance and Permitting Section - (302) 739-9403.

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 333RFA 10-01-20.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1301 Regulations Governing Solid Waste

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1900 BOARD OF NURSING

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Sections 1904(c) (24 Del.C. §1904c))
24 DE Admin. Code 1900

PUBLIC NOTICE

1900 Board of Nursing

The Delaware Board of Nursing, pursuant to 24 Del. C. § 1904(c), proposes to revise its regulations to add
failing to practice nursing without discrimination to the list of examples of unprofessional conduct.

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation changes on November 18, 2020 at 9:00 a.m.,
Second Floor Conference Room A, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments
should be sent to Dr. Pamela Zickafoose, Executive Director of the Delaware Board of Nursing, Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments will be accepted until December 3, 2020 pursuant to 29
Del. C. § 10118(a).

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 334RFA 10-01-20.pdf
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1900 Board of Nursing

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

10.0 Disciplinary Proceedings

10.1 Unprofessional Conduct Defined

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

10.1.2 Unprofessional conduct shall include but is not limited to the following:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

10.1.2.3 Performing new nursing techniques and/or or procedures without education and practice.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

10.1.2.6 Violating professional boundaries of the nurse-patient relationship including but not limited
to physical, sexual, emotional or financial exploitation of the patient or patient’s significant
other(s) others.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

10.1.2.21 Allowing another person to use her/his the licensee’s nursing license or temporary permit.

10.1.2.22 Aiding, abetting and/or or assisting an individual to violate or circumvent any law or duly
promulgated rule and regulation intended to guide the conduct of a nurse or other health
care provider.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

10.1.2.30 Failing to practice without discrimination as to age, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation,
national origin, or disability.

10.2 Reissuance of License Following Disciplinary Action Action.

10.2.1 Upon application made by the licensee, a suspended or probated license may be reissued or
reinstated in accordance with conditions that the Board may apply, after the imposed period of
discipline has concluded and after evidence is presented to satisfy the Board that the condition
that lead to the disciplinary action has been corrected.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1900 Board of Nursing

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

2925 REAL ESTATE COMMISSION EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 2906(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §2906(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 2925

PUBLIC NOTICE

2925 Real Estate Commission Education Committee

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2906(a)(1), the Delaware Real Estate Commission ("Commission") has proposed
revisions to its Education Guidelines ("Guidelines).

Specifically, Section 4.0 has been revised to state that prelicensing education and continuing education may
be delivered in a traditional classroom setting or by distance learning, which may be asynchronous or
synchronous. Asynchronous learning is "distance learning without the opportunity for real time interaction between
the instructor and students." Synchronous learning is "distance learning that happens in real time where there is
the opportunity for direct interaction between the instructor and students." The proposed revisions outline the
requirements for each method of instruction. Inclusion of synchronous learning in Section 4.0 will expand
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 24, ISSUE 4, THURSDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2020

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 334 10-01-20.htm
https://dpr.delaware.gov/
https://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/realestate/committee_members/


PROPOSED REGULATIONS336
educational opportunities for applicants and for licensees without compromising professional standards. This
proposal strikes the current Section 4.0, including the amendment in subsection 4.5, which was adopted by
emergency regulation as published in Register of Regulations on August 1, 2020, Volume 24, Issue 2.

A public hearing will be held on November 12, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor conference room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed
rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Real Estate Commission, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard,
Dover, Delaware 19904. Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the Board at the above
address or at danielle.cross@delaware.gov.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the final date to receive written comments will be November 30,
2020. The Board will deliberate on all of the public comments at its regularly scheduled meeting.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 335RFA 10-01-20.pdf

2925 Real Estate Commission Education Committee

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

4.0 Distance Education

4.1 Definitions

4.1.1 A “distance education course” is one in which instruction takes place in other than a traditional
classroom setting, the instructor and student are in physically separate locations, and instructional
methods include interactive video-based instruction, computer conferencing, interactive audio,
interactive computer software, and internet-based instruction.

4.1.2 The term “school” shall include distance education unless otherwise specified in these Guidelines.

4.2 Courses

4.2.1 Pre-licensing courses, for both salespeople and brokers, and continuing education courses, may
be taken through distance education.

4.2.2 All distance education courses shall be certified by the Association of Real Estate License Law
Officials (ARELLO) or the International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC), or its
successor, before being submitted to the Commission for approval and shall retain certification in
order to retain Commission approval. This includes pre-licensing and continuing education
courses.

4.2.3 ARELLO or IDECC certified distance education courses shall follow curriculum requirements as
specified by the Commission.

4.2.4 The distance education course shall include the same informational content as a course that
would otherwise qualify for the requisite number of hours of classroom-based instruction, and
students must proceed through and demonstrate comprehension of all the material.

4.2.5 The distance education course shall include consistent and regular interactive events as
appropriate to the medium. The interactive elements must be designed to promote student
involvement in the learning process, and must directly support the student's achievement of the
course's learning objectives. The course approval application must identify the types of interactive
events included in the course and specify how the interactive events contribute to the achievement
of the stated learning objectives.

4.2.6 The distance education course shall require that the student demonstrate mastery of the learning
objectives as designated for each lesson in order to successfully complete the lesson. The course
shall provide a mechanism of individual remediation to correct any deficiencies identified during
the instruction and assessment process.

4.2.7 Continuing education courses shall be, at minimum, at the intermediate level and shall provide for
50 minutes of seat time for each hour of credit.
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4.2.8 The Commission may withdraw approval for any distance education course that is not offered in
accordance with Commission requirements as set forth in these Guidelines.

4.3 Providers

4.3.1 A provider offering pre-licensing distance education courses shall be approved as a school by the
Commission prior to offering education for Delaware.

4.3.2 The course provider shall measure, at regular intervals, the student's progress toward and
completion of the mastery requirement of each lesson or module covering all the required subject
matter. In the case of computer-based instruction, the course software shall include automatic
shutdown after a ten minute period of inactivity.

4.3.3 The course provider shall demonstrate that approved instructors are available to answer student
questions regarding course content at reasonable times and by reasonable means, including in-
person contact, individual and conference telephone calls, e-mail, and fax. Communication by
written postal correspondence alone is insufficient to satisfy the requirements of this Guideline.

4.3.4 The course provider shall provide reasonable security to ensure that the student who receives
credit for the course is the student who enrolled in and completed the course. Both the provider
and the student must certify in writing that the student has successfully completed the course.

4.3.5 The course provider shall require that the student pass an appropriate exam to successfully
complete and receive credit. An examination will be considered appropriate if it contains at least
five multiple-choice questions for each hour of credit and requires a minimum passing score of 80
percent.

4.3.6 The course provider shall give distance education students instructions on how they can
electronically submit a course evaluation.

4.3.7 The Commission may withdraw approval for any distance education provider who is not in
compliance with Commission requirements for distance education courses.

4.4 Instructors

4.4.1 Instructors of distance education courses shall be approved by the Commission. Instructors shall
not receive approval until they receive the Distance Education Instructor Certification from IDECC
(or its successor), which is a subsidiary of ARELLO, and submit verification of the certification to
the Commission. The Distance Education Instructor Certification shall be renewed and kept
current in order for the instructor to continue offering distance education courses for Delaware.

4.0 Methods of Education Delivery

4.1 Prelicensing education and continuing education may be delivered in a traditional classroom setting or
by distance learning, which may be asynchronous or synchronous.

4.2 Definitions

"Asynchronous learning" means distance learning without the opportunity for real time interaction
between the instructor and students.

"Distance learning" means education in which instruction takes place in other than a traditional
classroom setting, the instructor and student are in physically separate locations, and instructional
methods include interactive video-based instruction, computer conferencing, interactive audio,
interactive computer software, and internet-based instruction.

"Synchronous learning" means distance learning that happens in real time where there is the
opportunity for direct interaction between the instructor and students and where there is audio and
visual connection between the instructor and students.

4.3 Asynchronous Learning

4.3.1 In addition to all other Commission requirements set forth in these Guidelines and the
Commission's Rules and Regulations, asynchronous courses must satisfy the following
requirements:

4.3.1.1 All asynchronous courses must be certified by the Association of Real Estate License Law
Officials (ARELLO) or the International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC),
or its successor, before being submitted to the Commission for approval and must retain
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certification in order to retain Commission approval. This includes pre-licensing and
continuing education courses.

4.3.1.2 The asynchronous course must require that the student demonstrate mastery of the
learning objectives as designated for each lesson in order to successfully complete the
lesson. The course must provide a mechanism of individual remediation to correct any
deficiencies identified during the instruction and assessment process.

4.3.1.3 Asynchronous continuing education courses must be, at minimum, at the intermediate
level

4.3.1.4 The course software must include automatic shutdown after a ten minute period of
inactivity.

4.3.1.5 The course provider must demonstrate that approved instructors are available to answer
student questions regarding course content at reasonable times and by reasonable
means, including in-person contact, individual and conference telephone calls, e-mail, and
fax. Communication by written postal correspondence alone is insufficient to satisfy the
requirements of this Guideline.

4.3.1.6 The course provider must provide reasonable security to ensure that the student who
receives credit for the course is the student who enrolled in and completed the course.
Both the provider and the student must certify in writing that the student has successfully
completed the course.

4.3.1.7 The course provider must require that the student pass an appropriate exam to
successfully complete and receive credit. An examination will be considered appropriate if
it contains at least five multiple-choice questions for each hour of credit and requires a
minimum passing score of 80 percent.

4.3.1.8 The course provider must give students instructions on how they can electronically submit
a course evaluation.

4.3.1.9 Instructors of asynchronous learning must receive the Distance Education Instructor
Certification from IDECC (or its successor), which is a subsidiary of ARELLO, and submit
verification of the certification to the Commission.

4.4 Synchronous Learning

4.4.1 Various platforms may be used for delivery of synchronous learning (including but not limited to
Zoom, GoTo Meeting and Adobe Connect). In addition to all other Commission requirements set
forth in these Guidelines and the Commission's Rules and Regulations, synchronous courses
must also satisfy the following requirements:

4.4.1.1 Student Technology Requirements

4.4.1.1.1 Students are required to have a device that has reliable internet access, video camera
and working speakers so that they may interact in the class and their engagement can
be monitored at all times.

4.4.1.1.2 Students are responsible for the performance of their own technology including audio
volume, video clarity, and internet connection.

4.4.1.2 Security

4.4.1.2.1 A password and meeting number will be required for each class and will be included in
the class invitation.

4.4.1.2.2 A waiting room will be utilized so that no one can enter the class that is not registered. 

4.4.1.2.3 The instructor will admit each student from the waiting room, one-by-one, and verify
their identity by driver's license or other acceptable picture identification,

4.4.1.2.4 Once the class has begun, the session must be "locked" and no one else can enter
the class.

4.4.1.3 Login/Check-In

4.4.1.3.1 Each class will be open for admittance into a waiting room at least 15 minutes prior to
the start time.
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4.4.1.3.2 Depending on the class size, the time for admittance may be longer.

4.4.1.3.3 Admittance ends once the class has begun and the session is locked.

4.4.1.4 Monitoring

4.4.1.4.1 There will be a class monitor assigned for every 25 students or portion thereof, and
the monitor will assure that each student on camera is in compliance with all
Guidelines.

4.4.1.4.2 One of the following methods must be utilized to assure student compliance and
engagement:

4.4.1.4.2.1 Screenshots taken at unannounced times to view each participant.

4.4.1.4.2.2 Polls that require responses by each student to assure their engagement which
may address subjects just covered or be random questions to gain responses from
each student in a short period of time.

4.4.1.4.2.3 The instructor may ask each student to "raise your hand" at any time during the
session.

4.4.1.4.2.4 Students must be visible on camera at all times during the class to receive credit.

4.4.1.5 Attendance

4.4.1.5.1 The monitor must verify the attendance of each student on an attendance log,
including the cumulative time that each student was online, that will be submitted to
the Commission.

4.4.1.6 Testing

4.4.1.6.1 Testing is required and may be administered through the use of a fillable form emailed
to or posted for each student to complete at the time of the test and returned to the
instructor within the allotted time.

4.4.1.6.2 The instructor and monitor must proctor the test via video and each student must
make themselves and their work area visible on video during the test.

4.4.1.6.3 No microphones may be muted during testing.

4.4.1.7 Course Provider Evaluation Form

4.4.1.7.1 The Course Provider Evaluation Form will be sent to each instructor in advance of the
class.

4.4.1.7.2 The instructor will sign and scan back the Course Provider Evaluation Form to the
course provider for submission to the Commission.

4.4.1.8 Student Evaluation Form

4.4.1.8.1 The Student Evaluation Form must be sent to each student electronically for the
student to complete within 24 hours after the end of class.

4.4.1.8.2 Students must return the Student Evaluation form to the course provider within 24
hours of completion of the class in order to receive course credit and a certificate of
completion for the class.

4.4.1.9 Certificates of completion must be forwarded electronically or mailed to each student upon
successful completion of all course requirements.

4.4.1.10 Phone use and unrelated computer work during class is prohibited.

4.4.1.11 Cameras

4.4.1.11.1 All time off camera or while logged off will be recorded.

4.4.1.11.2 Students may not "step away" from the camera for any reason during the class. If an
emergency arises, the "Chat" feature must be utilized to privately notify the instructor
or monitor of the situation.

4.4.1.11.3 Cameras must remain stable during the class. Excessive camera movement is
distracting and may result in removal from class at the instructor's discretion.

4.4.1.11.4 Students should choose a location that provides privacy and a non-distracting
atmosphere both for themselves and those viewing via video and may not share a
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room with others unless this has been approved in writing in advance by the course
provider in conjunction with the instructor.

4.4.1.12 Appropriate attire is required.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

2925 Real Estate Commission Education Committee

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

3800 BOARD OF DIETETICS/NUTRITION

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 3805(1) (24 Del.C. §3805(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 3800

PUBLIC NOTICE

3800 State Board of Dietetics/Nutrition

The Delaware Board of Dietetics/Nutrition, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3805(1), proposes to revise its regulations.
The proposed amendments to the regulations seek to wholly amend the continuing education requirements for
renewal to more closely align with the requirements of Commission on Dietetic Registration thus expanding the
ways in which a licensee can obtain continuing professional education. In addition, the changes clarify the time a
licensee may remain on inactive status and the procedures required to reactivate a license. 

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule change on November 13, 2020 at 1:30 p.m., in the
Second Floor Conference Room B, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments
should be sent to Danielle Ridgway, Administrator of the Delaware Board of Dietetics/Nutrition, Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Blvd, Dover, DE 19904. Written comments will be accepted until November 30, 2020.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 340RFA 10-01-20.pdf

3800 State Board of Dietetics/Nutrition

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

2.0 Qualifications of Applicants

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

2.2 Foreign Degrees:

2.2.1 An agency authorized to validate foreign academic degrees equivalent to the Baccalaureate or
Master's Degree conferred by a regionally accredited college or University in the U.S. includes the
following:

International Consultants of Delaware, Inc., P.O. Box 8629, Philadelphia, PA 19101 -
www.icdel.com http://www.icdeval.com/

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

4.0 Continuing Professional Education

4.1 "Continuing professional education" (CPE) as specified in the Dietician/Nutritionist Licensure Act, 24
Del.C. §3808, must meet the content requirements of The American Dietetic Association for CPE
credit. One hour of CPE credit shall be given for each hour of CPE activity.
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4.1.1 To renew his or her license a LDN must obtain thirty (30) hours of CPE during each two year
certification period.

4.1.1.1 CPE requirements shall be prorated for new LDNs as follows: If the new LDN has been
licensed less than 1 year, CPE is not required for renewal, if the new LDN has been
licensed for more than 1 year but less than 2 years, half of the 30 CPE hours (15 hours)
are required. If licensed for 2 or more years, the full 30 hours of CPE is required.

4.1.1.2 Extensions of time: An extension of time to complete CPE requirements will be granted to
any LDN who can demonstrate to the Board an acceptable cause. The LDN must petition
the Board for an extension. Should the Board deny the request, the LDN must complete
the requirements to maintain licensure. Examples of circumstances for which the Board
may grant extensions of time include, but are not limited to, prolonged illness or extended
absence from the country.

4.2 Proof of continuing education is satisfied with an attestation by the licensee that he or she has satisfied
the requirements of Rule 4.0.

4.2.1 Attestation may be completed electronically if the renewal is accomplished online. In the
alternative, paper renewal documents that contain the attestation of completion may be submitted.

4.2.2 Licensees selected for random audit will be required to supplement the attestation with attendance
verification pursuant to Rule 4.3.

4.3 Random audits will be performed by the Board to ensure compliance with the CPE requirements.

4.3.1 The Board will notify LDNs within sixty (60) days after the license renewal date that they have
been selected for audit.

4.3.2 LDNs selected for random audit shall be required to submit verification within ten (10) days of
receipt of notification of selection for audit.

4.3.3 Verification shall include such information necessary for the Board to assess whether the course
or other activity meets the CPE requirements in Rule 4.0, which may include, but is not limited to,
the following information:

4.3.3.1 Proof of attendance. While course brochures may be used to verify contact hours, they
are not considered to be acceptable proof for use of verification of course attendance.

4.3.3.2 Date of CPE course;

4.3.3.3 Instructors of CPE course;

4.3.3.4 Sponsor of CEU course;

4.3.3.5 Title of CPE course; and

4.3.3.6 Number of hours of CPE course.

4.3.4 The CPE activities must be performed within the two year period prior to renewal of licensure. If an
activity overlaps two renewal periods, the date of completion of the activity determines the date in
which the activity can be reported.

4.3.5 The current document published by CDR, describing CPE guidelines for registered dietitians shall
be used as a guide to interpret requirements of CDR for CPE.

4.3.6 The Board will accept the decisions of CDR and CBNS for appropriateness of CPE activities and
reserves the right to approve or disapprove any other activity deemed appropriate for CPE, using
current CDR standards as criteria.

4.3.7 The Board may establish maximum hours allowed for any type of activity in the two-year period.

4.3.7.1 A maximum of 15 CPE hours shall be allowed for selfstudy programs.

4.3.7.2 A maximum of 6 CPE hours shall be allowed for exhibits.

4.3.7.3 A maximum of 10 CPE hours shall be allowed for poster presentations.

4.4 The Board shall review all documentation requested of any licensee shown on the audit list. If the
Board determines the licensee has met the requirements, the licensee's license shall remain in effect.
If the Board initially determines the licensee has not met the requirements, the licensee shall be
notified and a hearing may be held pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act. This hearing will be
conducted to determine if there are any extenuating circumstances justifying the apparent
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noncompliance with these requirements. Unjustified noncompliance of these regulations shall be
considered grounds for discipline in the practice of dietetics and nutrition, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3811.
The minimum penalty for unjustified noncompliance shall be a letter of reprimand.

4.5 Any licensee denied renewal or disciplined pursuant to these rules and regulations may contest such
ruling by filing an appeal pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act.

4.0 Continuing Professional Education

4.1 Continuing Education Hours Required for Renewal

4.1.1 The LDN shall be required to complete 30 hours of continuing professional education (CPE)
acceptable to the Board during each biennial renewal period.

4.1.2 Proof of continuing professional education is satisfied with an attestation by the licensee that he or
she has satisfied the requirements of this Rule.

4.1.3 Attestation shall be completed electronically at the time of online renewal.

4.1.4 The LDN shall retain all certificates and other documented evidence of participation in an
approved/accredited CPE program for a period of at least three years. Upon request, such
documentation shall be made available to the Board for random audit and verification purposes.

4.1.4.1 Proof of attendance. While course brochures may be used to verify contact hours, they
are not considered to be acceptable proof for use of verification of course attendance.
Acceptable proof shall include:

4.1.4.1.1 The date of CPE course;

4.1.4.1.2 The instructors of CPE course;

4.1.4.1.3 The sponsor of CPE course;

4.1.4.1.4 The title of CPE course; and

4.1.4.1.5 The number of hours of CPE course.

4.1.5 CPE requirements shall be prorated for new LDNs as follows: 

4.1.5.1 If the new LDN has been licensed less than 1 year, CPE is not required for renewal.

4.1.5.2 If the new LDN has been licensed for more than 1 year but less than 2 years, half of the 30
CPE hours (15 hours) are required.

4.1.5.3 If the new LDN has been licensed for 2 or more years, the full 30 hours of CPE is required.

4.2 Exemptions and Extensions

4.2.1 A licensee who because of a physical or mental illness during the license period could not
complete the continuing professional education requirement may apply to the Board for a waiver.
A waiver may provide for an extension of time or an exemption from some or all of the continuing
professional education requirements for one renewal period. A separate request must be
submitted for every renewal period during which a waiver is requested.

4.2.2 A request for a waiver must be submitted sixty days prior to the license renewal date.

4.2.3 Requests for Extension - Extenuating Circumstances. A licensee applying for renewal may
request an extension and be given up to an additional twelve months to make up all outstanding
required hours upon a showing of good cause as to why the requirements could not be met at the
time of renewal. The licensee must state the reason for such extension along with any relevant
documentation. The Board shall consider requests such as extensive travel outside the United
States, military service, extended illness of the licensee or licensee's immediate family, or a death
in the immediate family of the licensee. The written request for extension must be received prior to
the renewal deadline. The Board shall issue an extension when it determines that one or more of
these criteria have been met or if circumstances beyond the control of the licensee have rendered
it impossible for the licensee to obtain the required hours. A licensee who has successfully applied
for an extension under this paragraph shall make up all outstanding hours of continuing education
within the extension period approved by the Board. Make-up credits may not be used in the next
renewal period.

4.3 Acceptable Continuing Professional Education. The overriding consideration in determining whether a
specific program qualifies as acceptable continuing education is whether the program is a planned
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program of learning that contributes directly to the professional competence of the LDN. Continuing
education hours awarded for activities or programs approved by the following are appropriate for
fulfilling the continuing education requirements pursuant to these regulations:

4.3.1 The Commission on Dietetic Registration

4.3.2 The Board for Certification of Nutrition Specialists

4.3.3 Other professional or education organizations so long as the specific program is acceptable to the
Board.

4.4 Acceptable CPE Activities. The following are acceptable CPE activities and the maximum number of
hours allowed for each activity during the biennial renewal period:

4.4.1 Academic Coursework:

4.4.1.1 A one semester or trimester credit hour course taken will be worth 5 CPEs (No maximum);

4.4.1.2 A one semester or trimester credit hour course audited will be worth 3 CPEs (No
maximum);

4.4.1.3 A one quarter credit hour course taken will be worth 3 CPEs (No maximum);

4.4.1.4 A one quarter credit hour course audited will be worth 2 CPEs (No maximum);

4.4.2 Non-Academic Coursework: 

4.4.2.1 Recorded Online Academic Lectures or Seminars: Recorded online lectures or seminars
that are offered by US regionally accredited colleges or universities. Official verification of
participation is required such as a certificate of completion. (No maximum);

4.4.2.2 Case Presentations: Examples include but are not limited to grand rounds and patient
case studies. (No maximum);

4.4.2.3 Certificate Program: Intensive training program with a component that assesses the
participant's performance. Upon completion of the program, participants receive a
certificate attesting to the attainment of a new knowledge or skill set (e.g., CDR's
Certificate of Training in Adult Weight Management). If the program includes a self-study
component, the self-study must include an assessment based on stated learning
objectives wherein course participants must pass the assessment to continue in the
program and to receive CPEUs for the self-study component.  (No maximum). Certificate
programs must:

4.4.2.3.1 Be dietetics-related;

4.4.2.3.2 Have stated learning objectives upon which the course and assessment content is
based;

4.4.2.3.3 Include content expert instruction and interactive discussion, which may occur face-to-
face or by electronic delivery;

4.4.2.3.4 Include a post-course assessment that assesses the participant's completion of the
program's learning objectives;

4.4.2.3.5 Have all course materials reviewed by a minimum of three professionals with
demonstrated expertise in the content area attesting to the number of hours needed to
complete the program; and

4.4.2.3.6 Be sponsored by the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) or a CDR-accredited
provider.

4.4.2.4 Exhibits: Dietetics-related exhibits such as those presented at the Academy of Nutrition
and Dietetics Food and Nutrition Conference and Expo. (5 CPE maximum);

4.4.2.5 Experiential Skill Development: Examples include but are not limited to culinary skills
training, physical assessment training, multi-skills training, and computer/technology
training. (No maximum);

4.4.2.6 Journal Clubs: Preplanned meetings, which provide for group participation, include three
or more professionals and include in-depth discussion of a single dietetics-related topic
from pre-assigned articles/papers in professional, peer-reviewed journals (materials
should not be older than five years). Online journal clubs, in which interactive posts by
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dietetics professionals are read by and responded to by dietetics professionals. (No
maximum);

4.4.2.7 Lectures, Seminars. Webinars, or Teleseminars: These activities must occur in real time
and allow for interaction between the presenter and attendees. (No maximum);

4.4.2.8 Recorded CPE Preapproved by CDR, CBNS, or other acceptable provider. (10 CPE
maximum);

4.4.2.9 Poster Sessions: Dietetics-related poster sessions, such as those seen at the Academy of
Nutrition and Dietetics Food and Nutrition Conference and Expo, can be awarded CPEUs.
(5 CPE maximum);

4.4.2.10 Professional Leadership: Holding an elected or appointed office. (5 CPE maximum); and

4.4.2.11 Professional Reading: Peer-reviewed, dietetics-related articles from professional journals
and professional newsletters. Online journals are acceptable. Articles in professional
newsletters must be identified as peer reviewed. The article must be read within 5 years of
the date the article was published. (5 CPE maximum).

4.5 Audit of Continuing Education Hours

4.5.1 Audit. Each biennium, the Division of Professional Regulation shall randomly select from the list of
renewed licensees a percentage of licensees, determined by the Board, to be audited. The Board
may also audit based on complaints or charges against an individual license, relative to
compliance with continuing education requirements or based on a finding of past non-compliance
during prior audits.

4.5.2 Documentation. When a licensee is selected for audit, the licensee shall be required to submit
documentation showing detailed accounting of the various hours claimed by the licensee.
Licensees selected for random audit are required to supplement the attestation with supporting
materials which may include a syllabus, agenda, itinerary or brochure published by the sponsor of
the activity and a document showing proof of attendance (i.e., certificate, a signed letter from the
sponsor attesting to attendance, report of passing test score). The Board shall attempt to verify the
hours shown on the documentation provided by the licensee. The Board will determine whether
the licensee's hours meet the requirements of these rules.

4.5.2.1 Any continuing education not meeting all provisions of these rules will be rejected in part
or in whole by the Board.

4.5.2.2 Any incomplete or inaccurate documentation of continuing education may be rejected in
part or in whole by the Board.

4.5.2.3 Any continuing education that is rejected must be replaced by acceptable continuing
education within a reasonable period of time established by the Board. This continuing
education will not be counted towards the next renewal period.

4.6 Board Review and Hearing Process. The Board shall review all documentation requested of any
licensee shown on the audit list. If the Board initially determines the licensee has not met the
requirements, the licensee shall be notified and a hearing will be held pursuant to the Administrative
Procedures Act. This hearing will be conducted to determine if the licensee has met the requirement
and if not, if there are any extenuating circumstances justifying the noncompliance with these
requirements. Unjustified noncompliance with these regulations shall be considered unprofessional
conduct in the practice of dietetics and nutrition and subject to discipline.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

10.0 Inactive status

10.1 A licensee may be placed on inactive status by the Board for a period of no more than five years.
Requests for inactive status shall be made, in writing, to the Board.

10.2 To apply for reactivation of an inactive license, a licensee shall:

10.2.1 Submit a letter requesting reactivation;
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10.2.2 Submit a prorated reactivation fee;

10.2.3 Submit proof of completion of the full CPE requirement within 24 months prior to reapplication.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

3800 Board of Dietetics/Nutrition

OFFICE OF THE STATE TREASURER
on behalf of the

CASH MANAGEMENT POLICY BOARD

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 2716 (29 Del.C. §2716)
1 DE Admin. Code 1201

PUBLIC NOTICE

1201 Statement of Objectives and Guidelines for the Investment of State of Delaware Funds

NATURE OF PROCEEDINGS; SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT AND SUBSTANCE OF THE PROPOSED
REGULATION

In accordance with the procedures set forth in 29 Del. C. Ch. 11, subch. III, and 29 Del. C., ch. 101, the Cash
Management Policy Board (the “Board”) is proposing to amend previously adopted regulations governing the
deposit and investment of State funds, as permitted by 29 Del. C. § 2716.

STATUTORY BASIS AND LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT
29 Del. C. § 2716.

OTHER REGULATOINS AFFECTED
None.

HOW TO COMMENT ON THE PROPOSED REGULATION
Members of the public may receive a copy of the proposed regulations at no charge by U.S. mail by writing,

emailing or calling Mr. Jordan Seemans at the Office of the State Treasurer (“OST”), 820 N. French St., Suite 201,
Wilmington, Delaware 19801, Jordan.W.Seemans@delaware.gov, (302) 577-4211. Members of the public may
present written comments on the proposed regulations by submitting such written comments to Mr. Seemans at the
address above. Written comments must be received on or before November 1, 2020.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED REGULATION
The Board is authorized to establish policies (a) for the investment of all money belonging to the State or on

deposit from its political subdivisions, except money deposited in any State pension fund or the State deferred
compensation program, and (b) to determine the terms, conditions, and other matters relating to those investments
including the designation of permissible investments. See 29 Del. C. § 2716(a). The Board is required to approve
by majority vote all financial institutions that are selected to provide banking and investment services to the State.
See 29 Del. C. § 2716(a)(2).  The Board’s existing regulations (the “Guidelines”), among other things, establish
requirements related to the deposit of State funds in demand deposit accounts and establish permissible
investments and percentage limits for State funds held for investment. See 1 Del. Admin. C. § 1201. The proposed
Guideline amendments: (1) provide a definition for the capitalized term “Merchant Bank” and require OST to reflect
approved Merchant Banks on the list of accounts and cash management banks that OST is required to maintain on
its website; (2) extend the reserve account maturity restriction from 10 years to 10 years and one month to permit
managers to invest in securities that would otherwise be disqualified because of a technical timing issue; (3) clarify
that, where the Guidelines require two or more “NRSRO” ratings, the lowest such rating shall control; (4) clarify the
deadline for managers to remove securities that (a) were purchased in violation of the Guidelines, or (b) cease to
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 24, ISSUE 4, THURSDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2020

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 340 10-01-20.htm
mailto:Jordan.W.Seemans@delaware.gov
https://treasurer.delaware.gov/
https://treasurer.delaware.gov/cash-management-policy-board/


PROPOSED REGULATIONS346
qualify as permissible investments as the result of a downgrade; and (5) modify the mutual fund exception to
require endowment or other managers utilizing a mutual fund to adhere to those specific provisions of the
Guidelines that OST, after consultation with the Board’s consultant, determines should apply to and govern the
account.

The Guidelines apply to and govern the conduct of the State’s approved depository banks, custodians and
investment managers and will have no direct impact on individuals or businesses that do not serve in such capacity
for the State.

The Board believes that it has authority to promulgate deposit and investment policies without complying with
the formal regulatory requirements of Delaware’s Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del. C. Ch.101 (the “APA”).
The Board is promulgating amended regulations under the APA out of an abundance of caution, consistent with
prior practices.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/proposed/24 DE Reg 345RFA 10-01-20.pdf

1201 Statement of Objectives and Guidelines for the Investment of State of Delaware Funds

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

2.0 Accounts

2.1 Designation of Accounts. For purposes of these Guidelines, State Funds are to be allocated and
held in a variety of accounts as outlined below (“Accounts”):

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

2.1.6 Settlement Accounts. “Settlement Accounts” consist of State Funds that have been deposited
into a demand deposit account at a Merchant Bank following the processing of a debit or credit
card transaction. Cleared amounts deposited to the Settlement Accounts, net of merchant
processor and related fees, shall be transmitted via ACH to a Collection and Disbursement
Account within two business days after deposit. Settlement Accounts shall be managed and
invested in accordance with the general provisions of these Guidelines and the specific provisions
of Section 10.0 below. The term “Merchant Bank” means a qualified financial institution approved
by the Board to maintain a Settlement Account.

2.2 List of Accounts. OST shall maintain on its website a current listing of all Accounts and the Cash
Management Banks, Merchant Banks, Liquidity Managers, Reserve Managers, and Endowment
Managers approved by the Board to manage State Funds in such Accounts.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

7.0 Reserve Accounts

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

7.2 Maturity Restrictions. The maximum maturity for any investment of State Funds in the Reserve
Accounts shall be ten years and one month from the date of settlement.

7.3 Permissible Investments and Percentage of Account Limitations. State Funds held in Reserve
Accounts can be invested solely in the types of securities set out in this subsection 7.3. Each Reserve
Manager is further subject to limit the aggregate value of State Funds invested in each type of security
held in the account under such manager’s discretion to the “Percentage Limit” of such security type
identified in this subsection 7.3, measured as a percentage of the total Reserve Account value of State
Funds under such manager’s discretion.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

7.3.10 Asset Backed Securities

7.3.10.1 Definition: Securities collateralized by pools of auto loan receivables, credit card
receivables, and equipment loans; provided that (i) such securities have the highest credit
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rating from the highest credit rating from at least two NRSROs and (ii) an average life not
to exceed two years from the date of settlement (unless such securities are subject to
periodic reset of coupon or interest rate, in which case the average life may not exceed
three years from the date of settlement).

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

11.0 Restrictions & Violations

11.1 Investment Restrictions. Notwithstanding any other provision, none of the banks or managers
engaged to manage or invest State Funds may:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

11.1.10 Where these Guidelines require at least two NRSRO ratings for a security, the lowest such rating
shall control.

11.2 Purchases in Violation of Guidelines. In the event that a bank or manager purchases any security
that at the time of purchase violates Sections 5.0 – 10.0, the bank or manager shall remove the
security from the State's portfolio as soon as possible by the close of the business day following the
date on which the bank or manager learns of the violation and will bear all costs associated with the
purchase and sale of such security. The bank or manager shall further ensure that the State
recognizes no investment gain or loss on the purchase and sale of such security and/or shall effect
such transactions as shall be necessary to eliminate any such gain or loss on the books and records of
the State’s Account with such bank or manager. A bank or manager shall report immediately to OST
any such violation and the remedial action(s) taken to correct such violation to OST or proposed by the
close of the business day following the date on which the bank or manager learns of the violation.

11.3 Holding Impermissible Securities Following a Downgrade. In the event that a bank or manager
holds any security that complied with Sections 5.0 – 10.0 at the time of purchase, but which ceases to
qualify as a permissible investment as the result of a downgrade, the bank or investment manager
shall remove the security from the State's portfolio immediately by the close of the business day
following the date on which the bank or manager learns of the downgrade without any consideration as
to the investment gains or losses occasioned thereby. In such case, the State shall bear all costs
associated with the purchase and sale of such security and shall recognize any investment gain or loss
on such transactions on the books and records of the State’s Account with such bank or manager. A
bank or manager shall report immediately to OST any such violation downgrade and the remedial
action(s) taken to correct such violation to OST or proposed by the close of the business day following
the date on which the bank or manager learns of the downgrade.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

11.5 Mutual or Commingled Fund Exceptions to Guidelines. The Board recognizes that (i) mutual funds
and other types of commingled investment vehicles can provide, under some circumstances, lower
costs and better diversification than can be obtained with a separately managed fund pursuing the
same investment objectives and (ii) such funds cannot customize their investment policies to conform
to the guidelines set out herein. In such cases, unless OST, after consultation with the Board or the
Board’s consultant determines otherwise, the policies of such funds shall supersede these guidelines
and are exempt from the policies and restrictions specified herein.

Originally adopted January 18, 1982
Revised December 12, 2014
Revised August 12, 2015
Revised August 10, 2016
Revised May 14, 2018

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1201 Statement of Objectives and Guidelines for the Investment of State of Delaware Funds
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text added at the time of the proposed action. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued. [Bracketed bold stricken
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b)(11) (14 Del.C. §122(b)(11))
14 DE Admin. Code 252

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

252 Required Educational Records and Transfer and Maintenance of Educational Records

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(b)(11), the Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 252

Required Educational Records and Transfer and Maintenance of Educational Records. The Department has
reviewed the regulation in order to comply with 29 Del.C. §10407 which requires regulations to be reviewed on a
recurring basis every four years. Upon such review the Department concluded that some definitions need to be
added or updated and that provisions for student records upon the closure of a charter school pursuant to 14
Del.C. §515(i) needed to be included in the regulation.   Additionally, the regulation was updated to comply with the
Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style Manual.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Delaware Register of Regulations on August 1, 2020. In
addition, notice was published in The News Journal and the Delaware State News on August 1, 2020, in the form
hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. No comments received for this proposed amended regulation.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS
The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 252 Required Educational Records

and Transfer and Maintenance of Educational Records in order to comply with 29 Del.C. §10407 which requires
regulations to be reviewed on a recurring basis every four years. Upon such review the Department concluded that
some definitions need to be added or updated and that provisions for student records upon the closure of a charter
school pursuant to 14 Del.C. §515(i) needed to be included in the regulation. Additionally, the regulation was
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updated to comply with the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style Manual.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 252

Required Educational Records and Transfer and Maintenance of Educational Records. Therefore, pursuant to 14
Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 252 Required Educational Records and Transfer and Maintenance of
Educational Records attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C.
§122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 252 Required Educational Records and Transfer and Maintenance of Educational
Records hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth
in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 252 Required Educational Records and Transfer and Maintenance of

Educational Records amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall
be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 252 Required Educational Records and Transfer and Maintenance of Educational
Records in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on September 8,

2020. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 8th day of September 2020.

Department of Education

Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 8th day of September 2020

252 Required Educational Records and Transfer and Maintenance of Educational Records

1.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly states otherwise:

“Court Orders” means any written direction from a court of competent jurisdiction directed to the
student or affecting the student’s care or custody.

“Cumulative Record File” means a file containing the Emergency/Nursing Treatment Card,
Identifying Data, School Health Record, Progress Report, Student Transcript (for students in grades 9
and above), and Discipline Record.

“Delaware School Health Record” means the form required by 14 DE Admin Code 811 for Delaware
public school students.

“Discipline Record” means information about any and all periods of suspension or of expulsion from
the regular school setting imposed on a student as a result of an infraction of the school or district’s
code of conduct or other rules.

“Emergency/Nursing Treatment Card” means the card containing the general emergency
information and procedures for the care of a student when the student becomes sick or injured in
school as required in 14 DE Admin. Code 811.

“Emergency/Nursing Treatment Card” means a form containing contact information and general
school emergency procedures for the care of a student who becomes sick or injured at school. The
card contains the following information: the student's name, birth date, school district, school, grade or
class assignment, home address, and telephone number; the name, place of employment and work
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telephone number of the parent, guardian or relative caregiver; two other names, addresses, and
telephone numbers of individuals who can be contacted at times when the parent, guardian or relative
caregiver cannot be reached; the name and telephone number of the primary health care provider and
family dentist; any medical conditions or allergies the student has; and the student's medical
insurance.

“Identifying Data” means the name of the student, date of birth, sex, race and ethnicity, address,
telephone number, Delaware student identification number and the name of the parent(s), guardian(s)
or Relative Caregiver. parents, guardians, or relative caregivers.

“Progress Report” means a single record maintained for each student in kindergarten through grade
8 that contains end of year and up to date grades; standardized test(s) tests scores such as the state
student assessment; and attendance data for each year of the student’s attendance.

"Public School" means a school or charter school having any or all of grades kindergarten through
twelve, grade 12, supported primarily from public funds and under the supervision of public school
administrators.

“Student Transcript” means a single record maintained for each student in grades 9 and above that
contains the following: end of year and up to date grades; credits earned; class rank; Grade Point
Average (GPA); withdrawal or graduation date; standardized test(s) tests scores such as the state
student assessment, SAT, PSAT, ACT; attendance data and school activities. If applicable, a list of the
career technical competencies achieved by a student enrolled in a specific career technical program
shall also be included.

2.0 Education Records Required by Schools in Delaware

2.1 Each Delaware school shall maintain a Cumulative Record File either as an electronic or paper file for
each student enrolled.

2.1.1 The student Cumulative Record File shall contain the Emergency/Nursing Treatment Card,
Identifying Data, School Health Record, Progress Report, Student Transcript (for students in
grades 9 and above) and Discipline Record.

2.1.2 The student Cumulative Record File shall also contain any Court Orders in the school or district’s
possession, and;

2.1.3 The Cumulative Record File for a child with a disability as defined in 14 DE Admin Code 925 or for
a child identified under Section 504 shall contain any records related to the identification,
evaluation, placement, and provision of a free appropriate public education. Such documents may
be collected and maintained separately.

3.0 Transfer of the Records of Public School and Private Schools Students

3.1 When a student transfers from a public school, private school or an educational program operated by
the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families to any other school in Delaware, the
receiving school shall immediately request the Cumulative Record File from the sending school or
program.

3.2 The Cumulative Record File shall follow each student transferred from one school to another including
files for each student with disabilities transferred from one school to another.

3.2.1 Public schools, school districts, private schools and educational programs operated by the
Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families shall promptly transfer a student’s
Cumulative Record File upon the request of a receiving school.

3.2.1.1 Public schools and school districts shall maintain the original Cumulative Record File and
provide a copy of the file when students transfer to a private school or educational
program operated by the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families.

3.2.1.2 Public schools and school districts shall provide the original Cumulative Record File when
transferring records to another public school.
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3.2.2 Unpaid student fees or fines shall not be a basis for a public school, school district or an
educational program operated by the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their
Families to deny or to delay transfer of the Cumulative Record File.

3.2.3 Students shall not be denied enrollment into a public school on the grounds that the student’s
Cumulative Record File has not been received.

3.3 Before transferring student records, a public school, school district or private school shall specifically
confirm that the Cumulative Record File contains the student’s Discipline Record.

3.4 When students transfer to a Delaware school from any other school including a school in a foreign
country country, the receiving school is responsible for having the transcripts evaluated.

3.5 Upon the closure of a charter school, the student’s Cumulative Record File shall be forwarded to the
receiving school in accordance with charter school closure protocol as outlined in 14 Del.C. §512(16)
and §515(i).

4.0 Maintenance of the Education Records of Public Schools

4.1 The Delaware School District General Records Retention Schedule published by the Delaware Public
Archives shall be followed as to the length of time and special considerations for the maintenance of
education records.

4.2 Contracts for storage of student records of graduates, withdrawals and special education students
shall be initiated between the school district or charter school and the Delaware Public Archives.

4.3 The Cumulative Record Files for students who have graduated from or who left school prior to
graduation from high school shall be stored at the school or district of last attendance or in the
Delaware Public Archives.

5.0 Destruction of Education Records of Public Schools

5.1 The Delaware School District General Records Retention Schedule published by the Delaware Public
Archives shall be followed as to the length of time and special considerations for the destruction of any
education records.

5.2 The destruction of educational records of children with disabilities shall also comply with the
requirements of 14 DE Admin. Code 927.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 101, 121(a), 122(b)(1) and (b)(2)
(14 Del.C. §§101, 121(a), 122(b)(1) and (b)(2))

14 DE Admin. Code 817

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

817 Medications and Treatments

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §101, §121(a) and §122(b)(1) and (b)(2), the Secretary of Education seeks to amend 14

DE Admin. Code 817 Medications and Treatments. This regulation is being amended to add a definition of “Hand
Sanitizer” in order to clarify its use in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and beyond, as well as to edit the
regulation to comply with the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style Manual.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Delaware Register of Regulations on August 1, 2020. In
addition, notice was published in The News Journal and the Delaware State News on August 1, 2020, in the form
hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. No comments were received for this proposed amended regulation.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS
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The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 817 Medications and Treatments in
order to add a definition of “Hand Sanitizer” and clarify its use in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and beyond,
as well as to edit the regulation to comply with the Delaware Administrative Code Drafting and Style Manual.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 817

Medications and Treatments. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 817 Medications and
Treatments attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14
DE Admin. Code 817 Medications and Treatments hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years
from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 817 Medications and Treatments amended hereby shall be in the form

attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 817 Medications and
Treatments in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on September 8,

2020. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 8th day of September 2020.

Department of Education

Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 8th day of September 2020

817 Medications and Treatments

1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to provide guidance regarding the medications and treatments to be provided
to students pursuant to current Delaware Code.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly states otherwise:

“Approved School Activity” means a school-sponsored field trip or approved school activity outside
of the traditional school day or off-campus off campus.

“Assist(ance) Assistance with Self-Administration of Medication” means assisting a student in
kindergarten through grade 12 in the self-administration of a medication taken orally, by inhalation, or
applied topically, provided that the medication is in a properly labeled container. Assistance may
include holding the medication container for the student, assisting with the opening of the container,
and assisting the student in self-administering the medication. Assistance does not include making
nursing judgments. Lay assistants shall not assist with injections. The one exception is with
emergency medications where standard emergency procedures prevail for life-threatening symptoms
of a diagnosed condition, condition and includes the administration of the medication based on the
healthcare provider’s order and parent permission.

“Controlled Medication medication” means those prescribed drugs regulated by Federal (Controlled
Substance Act of 1970) and/or or State Controlled (dangerous) Substances Act.
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“Current” means a medication or prescription that is not outdated or expired according to the date on
the label. A current prescription is written for a specific time period, not to exceed one (1) year.

“Dosage” or “Dose” means a specific amount of medication prescribed or directed to be taken at any
one (1) time.

“Educators” means teachers, administrators, and paraeducators employed by a school.

“Emergency Medication” means a medication necessary for response to a life-threatening allergic
reaction.

“Emergency Medication for a Diagnosed Medical Condition” means a medication prescribed to
treat a life-threatening symptom of a diagnosed medical condition.

“Emergency Medication Summary Sheet” means a document developed by the Department of
Education and the Division of Public Health to report the use of Emergency Medication in the school
setting.

"Field Trip" means any off campus, school sponsored activity.

“Hand Sanitizer” means a commercially available healthcare topical antiseptic product with at least
60% ethanol or 70% isopropyl alcohol content.

“Licensed Healthcare Provider” means anyone lawfully authorized to prescribe medications and
treatments.

"Medication" means a legal drug, which has been authorized for a student to use and includes both
prescription and non-prescription drugs. This definition excludes Hand Sanitizer. 

“Non-prescription Medication medication” means any over-the-counter medication that can be sold
legally without a prescription. This definition excludes Hand Sanitizer.

“Other School Employees” means coaches or persons hired or contracted by schools.

"Paraeducators" mean teaching assistants or aides in a school.

“Prescription Medication medication” means a legal drug that has a written order for an individual
student by a licensed health care healthcare provider licensed to prescribe medication.

“School” means an educational facility serving students in kindergarten through grade 12 and any
associated pre-kindergarten program in such facility.

“School Nurse” means a Registered Nurse licensed to practice in the State of Delaware, who is
employed by a school district, charter school, or private school.

“Self-Use of Hand Sanitizer” means a student using Hand Sanitizer in a legally permissible manner.

“Traditional School Day school day” means the hours within the days counted to meet the state
minimum number of school days each year and summer school.

“Trained Assistant for Self-Administration” means an Educator or Other School Employee who has
completed the training to assist a student with self-administration of medications. This person may
render emergency care, including injection, to any student unable to self-administer medication for life-
threatening symptoms of a diagnosed condition based on the healthcare provider’s order and parent
permission.

“Trained Person” means an Educator or Other School Employee who has completed the training to
administer Emergency Medicine medication to diagnosed and undiagnosed students with symptoms
of a life-threatening allergic reaction in the school setting.

3.0 Medications

3.1 Medications may be administered to a public school student by the School Nurse when a written
request to administer the medication or treatment is on file from the parent, guardian or Relative
Caregiver relative caregiver or the student if 18 years or older, or an unaccompanied homeless youth
(as defined by 42 USC 11434a) 42 U.S.C. §11434a).

3.1.1 The School Nurse shall check the student health records and history for contraindications and all
allergies, especially to the medications, and shall provide immediate medical attention if an allergic
reaction is observed or make a referral if symptoms or conditions persist.
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3.1.2 The School Nurse shall also document the student's name, the name of medication and treatment
administered, the date and time it was administered and the dosage if medication was
administered.

3.2 In addition to the requirements set forth in subsection 3.1 above, in the case of a Prescription
Medications medications, the requirements set forth below in subsections 3.2.1 through 3.2.4 shall
also apply.

3.2.1 Prescription medications shall be provided to the School in the original container and properly
labeled with the student's name; the prescribing licensed health care healthcare provider's name;
the name of the medication; the dosage; how and when it is to be administered; the name and
phone number of the pharmacy and the current date of the prescription. The medication shall be in
a container which meets United States Pharmacopoeia National Formulary standards.

3.2.2 Medications and dosages administered by the School Nurse shall be limited to those
recommended by the Federal Drug Administration (FDA), peer review journal that indicates doses
or guidelines that are both safe and effective, or guidelines that are specified in regional or national
guidelines.

3.2.3 The prescription and the medication shall be current and long term long-term prescriptions shall be
reauthorized at least once a year.

3.2.4 All medications classified as controlled substances shall be counted and reconciled each month by
the School Nurse and kept under double lock. Such medications should be transported to and
from School by an adult.

3.3 Non-prescription Medication medication must be in an original container with full label and may be
given by the School Nurse after the School Nurse assesses the complaint and the symptoms to
determine if other interventions can be used before medication is administered.

4.0 Treatments

Treatments, including specialized health procedures, shall be prescribed by a licensed health care
healthcare provider with directions relative to administration or supervision.

5.0 IEP Team

For a student who requires significant medical or nursing interventions, the Individual Education
Program (IEP) team shall include the School Nurse.

6.0 Assistance With Self-Administration of Medications at Approved School Activities

6.1 Educators and Other School Employees who are Trained Assistants for Self-Administration are
authorized by 24 Del.C. §1921(a)(13) to assist a student with self-administration of Medications at an
Approved School Activity for students in kindergarten through Grade 12. The Trained Assistant for
Self-Administration is subject to the following provisions:

6.1.1 Assistance with Self-Administration of Medication shall not be provided without the prior written
request or consent of a parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver relative caregiver, or the student if
18 years or older, or an unaccompanied homeless youth (as defined by 42 USC 11434a) 42
U.S.C. §11434a). Said written request or consent shall contain clear instructions including: the
student's name; the name of the medication; the dose; the time(s) and date(s) times and dates of
administration; and the method of administration. At least one copy of said written request or
consent shall be in the possession of the person assisting a student with medication on a Field
Trip or Approved School Activity outside of the traditional School school day or off-campus off
campus.

6.1.1.1 Medications shall be prescribed by a licensed health care healthcare provider and are
ones that cannot be rescheduled for times when a person, who may legally administer
medication, is available.
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6.1.1.1.1 Doses may be provided for up to one week, unless covering an Approved School
Activity lasting longer than this time period, period and shall be maintained in a secure
location.

6.1.1.2 Prescription medications shall be provided to the School Nurse by the parent and shall be
properly labeled with the student’s name; the licensed health care healthcare provider's
name; the name of the medication; the dosage; how and when it is to be administered; the
name and phone number of the pharmacy; and the current date of the prescription. The
medication shall be in a container which meets United States Pharmacopoeia National
Formulary standards.

6.1.1.2.1 Controlled medications must be stored on the person assisting or in a secure location
under double lock. Maintaining doses for greater than one day is not permitted except
in the case of an overnight activity.

6.1.1.3 Non-prescription medications shall be provided to the School Nurse by the parent in an
original container along with a current, written directive from the student’s licensed health
care healthcare provider and shall include the student’s name; the licensed health care
healthcare provider's name; the name of the medication; the dosage; and how and when it
is to be administered.

6.1.2 In order to be qualified to provide Assistance with Self-Administration of Medications, each such
person shall complete a Board of Nursing approved training course developed by the Delaware
Department of Education, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1921(a)(13). Training shall be renewed
minimally every five years. No person shall provide Assistance with Self-Administration of
Medications without documented acknowledgment to the Department of Education that he/she
has they have completed the course and that he/she understands they understand the same, and
will abide by the safe practices and procedures set forth therein. A School Nurse shall:

6.1.2.1 Complete instructor training as designated by the Department of Education.

6.1.2.2 Oversee the training for Educators and Other School Employees.

6.1.2.3 Coordinate the collection and review of the written parental consent.

6.1.2.4 Provide the appropriately labeled medication, copy of the consent, and directions on
assistance to the Trained Assistant for Self-Administration.

6.1.3 Each School shall maintain a record of all students receiving Assistance with Self-Administration
of Medications pursuant to this regulation. Said record shall contain the student's name; the name
of the medication; the dose; the time of administration; the method of administration; and the name
of the person assisting.

6.1.4 The School Nurse may prepare a Trained Assistant for Self-Administration to render emergency
care to a student, with a known, diagnosed condition, who is in pre-kindergarten through Grade 12
and shows life-threatening signs and symptoms of the condition at an Approved School Activity.

6.1.4.1 Response shall include immediate activation of emergency medical services.

6.1.4.2 Preparation shall include instruction in the provision of the student’s Emergency
Medication for a Diagnosed Medical Condition, including injection, for symptoms related to
the condition. Instruction will be based on the healthcare provider’s order and the
manufacturer’s instructions for administration.

6.1.4.3 The Trained Assistant for Self-Administration shall annually demonstrate his/her their
ability to provide Emergency Medication for a Diagnosed Medical Condition.

6.1.4.4 An Emergency Medication for a Diagnosed Medical Condition shall be a current
prescription provided by the student's licensed healthcare provider for a diagnosed
medical condition that requires immediate medication to save or sustain life and is one
which can be safely provided by a Trained Assistant for Self-Administration.

6.1.4.5 In addition to subsection 6.1.3, the Trained Assistant for Self-Administration shall provide
documentation related to the rendering of emergency care, to include at a minimum, the
student’s symptoms, time of the incident, medication administered, other actions taken,
and the response by emergency medical services.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 24, ISSUE 4, THURSDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2020



FINAL REGULATIONS356
6.2 District and charter school boards may develop policies for unique Approved School Activities for
which the specified process is unable to be implemented.

7.0 Emergency Medication Administration for Life-threatening Allergic Reaction in School

7.1 School Nurses and Trained Persons are authorized by 16 Del.C. Ch. 30E to administer Emergency
Medication Without an Order without an order at School to a student in pre-K through grade 12, who is
symptomatic of a life-threatening allergic reaction in the school setting.

7.1.1 Public School Nurses shall follow the Division of Public Health’s medical emergency standing
orders for allergic reactions and anaphylaxis in previously undiagnosed individuals.

7.1.2 Trained Persons shall follow the guidance issued by the Division of Public Health on the
administration of Emergency Medications without an order in the school setting to undiagnosed
individuals.

7.2 The School, in consultation from the School Nurse, shall annually identify and train a sufficient number
of Educators and Other School Employees to become Trained Persons.

7.2.1 An identified person cannot be compelled to become a Trained Person, unless training is a
requirement of their position, hire, or contract.

7.2.2 The training shall be a program approved by the Department of Education and the Division of
Public Health.

7.2.3 The Trained Person shall annually re-train or demonstrate competency as a Trained Person.

7.2.4 The School shall maintain documentation of annual training and Trained Persons and make
available upon request to the Department of Education or Division of Public Health.

7.3 The School shall maintain current, stock Emergency Medication.

7.3.1 Emergency Medication shall be stored in a minimum of two (2) secure and accessible locations in
the school setting as identified by the School Nurse: one for the School Nurse and the other for the
Trained Person.

7.4 The School shall maintain documentation of the use of Emergency Medication.

7.4.1 The Trained Person shall complete the Emergency Medication Administration by Trained Person
Sheet on the day of the any administration and shall submit to the School Nurse.

7.5 The School Nurse shall submit the Emergency Medication Summary Sheet to the Department of
Education and the Division of Public Health within 48 hours of the use of an Emergency Medication.

8.0 Other School Employees Obligation

Except for a School Nurse, no Educator or Other School Employee shall be compelled to assist a student with
medication or to administer emergency medication unless training is a requirement of hire or contract. If a facility is
otherwise required to have a School Nurse, nothing contained here shall be interpreted to relieve the school of
such obligation.

9.0 Self-Use of Hand Sanitizer

9.1 Annually each district and charter school shall publish on its website, and through at least one (1) other
format, that Hand Sanitizer will be available for student use.

9.1.1 The parent, guardian or relative caregiver shall be provided a process for their child to be identified
as unable to use Hand Sanitizer.

9.1.2 The parent, guardian or relative caregiver shall be provided a process for their child to receive
assistance on self-use of Hand Sanitizer.

9.1.3 Any information received pursuant to subsections 9.1.1 and 9.1.2 shall be maintained in the
student’s Cumulative Record File.

9.1.4 Relevant school personnel shall be made aware of any student identified in subsections 9.1.1 and
9.1.2.

Nonregulatory note: 14 DE Admin. Code 612, Possession, Use and Distribution of Drugs and Alcohol addresses
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student self-administration of a prescribed asthmatic quick relief inhaler and student self-administration of
prescribed autoinjectable epinephrine, an insulin pump or administration of medical marijuana oil.

Nonregulatory note: 16 Del.C. §3007E provides liability protection for any Trained Person or School Nurse, who, in
good faith and without expectation of compensation from the person aided or treated, administers Emergency
Medication.

Nonregulatory note: 16 Del.C. §4904A provides exceptions for the administration of medical marijuana oil by a
parent or designated caregivers.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203 and 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §§1203 and 
1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1521

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1521 Elementary Teacher

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203 and 1205(b), the Professional Standards Board, acting in consultation and
cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education (“Department”), developed amendments to 14 DE Admin.
Code 1521 Elementary Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements for an Elementary Teacher Standard
Certificate in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220. The proposed amendments include striking subsection 4.1.1.5
because the option to earn a degree in any content area and complete 15 credits or the equivalent in professional
development in the area of the certificate does not apply to elementary teachers as they provide instruction in core
content areas (14 Del.C. §1210(a)(1)). In addition, the proposed additional language in subsection 4.1.2.2 aligns
with the date through which the assessment (ETS Test Code #7801) will be offered by ETS and the proposed
amendment to subsection 4.1.2.4.3 is to strike an erroneous reference to ETS Test Code #7815. Other proposed
amendments include clarifying changes in Section 1.0; striking two defined terms from Section 2.0 because the
terms do not appear elsewhere in the regulation as a result of striking subsection 4.1.1.5; clarifying changes and
removing the reference to Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation, which was through a reciprocal
licensing agreement with other states that no longer exists, in Section 3.0; and clarifying changes in Sections 4.0,
5.0, 6.0, 7.0, and 9.0.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on June 1, 2020. The
Professional Standards Board did not receive any written submittals concerning the proposed amendments.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

On August 6, 2020, the Professional Standards Board voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1521 Elementary
Teacher, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A, for adoption by the Department subject to the State Board of
Education’s approval. 

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary to implement 14 Del.C.
Ch. 12 and are designed to improve the quality of the Delaware educator workforce and to improve student
performance. Accordingly, the Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1521
Elementary Teacher.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
1521 Elementary Teacher subject to the State Board of Education’s approval. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C.
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§§1203 and 1205(b), 14 DE Admin. Code 1521 Elementary Teacher attached hereto as Exhibit “A” is hereby
amended.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1521 Elementary Teacher adopted hereby shall be in the form attached hereto
as Exhibit “A,” and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1521 Elementary Teacher in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 20th day of August, 2020.

Department of Education

Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 20th day of August, 2020.

State Board of Education

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

1521 Elementary Teacher

1.0 Content

1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate, an Elementary Teacher Standard
Certificate pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for Elementary Teacher. This Certification is required for
grades K to 6.

1.1.1 Notwithstanding subsection 1.1, the Early Childhood Teacher Certification Standard Certification
may be used for K to grade 2 in lieu of this Certification.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Certification" means the issuance of a certificate, which may occur regardless of a recipient's
assignment or employment status.

"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.

"Educator" means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. Ch. 12 to engage in
the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware
public schools, including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the
Professional Standards Board and approved by the State Board of Education. The term 'educator'
does not include substitute teachers.

/s/ Whitney Sweeney, President Vincent Lofink (Absent)

/s/ Wali W. Rushdan, II, Vice President /s/ Audrey J. Noble, Ph.D.

/s/ Nina Lou Bunting Provey Powell, Jr. (Absent)

Candace Fifer (Absent)
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"Employing Authority" means any entity which employs educators, and includes, but is not limited to,
school districts, charter schools, boards of directors, and management companies.

"Fifteen (15) Credits or the Equivalent in Professional Development" means college credits or an
equivalent number of hours with one (1) credit equating to fifteen (15) hours taken either as part of a
degree program or in addition to a degree program from a regionally accredited college or university or
a professional development provider approved by the Department. College credit means
undergraduate or graduate level coursework and continuing education units (CEUs) completed at or
through a regionally accredited college or university or other Department-approved provider.

"Immorality" means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected of
an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator's effectiveness by reason of his or her
unfitness or otherwise.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

"Major or Its Equivalent" means a minimum of thirty (30) 30 semester hours of course work in a
particular content area.

"Passing Score" means a minimum score as established by the Professional Standards Board, in
consultation with the Department, and with the approval of the State Board of Education.

"Professional Development" means a combination of focused, in-depth learning, practice, feedback,
reflection, and expert support experiences designed to change participants' attitudes, insights, and/or
perspectives; and ultimately results in improved professional practice. Effective professional
development programs include ample opportunities for knowledge acquisition, skill mastery,
descriptive feedback, and refinement of practice in the work setting.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a
category of students.

"Standards Board" means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

"Valid and Current License or Certificate from Another State" means a current full or permanent
certificate or license issued by another state or jurisdiction. This means the educator is fully
credentialed by having met all of the requirements for full licensure or certification in another state or
jurisdiction. It does not include temporary, emergency, conditional certificates of eligibility or expired
certificates or licenses issued from another state or jurisdiction.

3.0 Issuance of a Standard Certificate

3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue an Elementary Teacher Standard
Certificate to an Educator who:

3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License, or a or a Standard or Professional
Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003 and meets the requirements
set forth in Section 4.0 of this regulation; or

3.1.2 Has met the requirements for licensure and holds a Valid and Current License or Certificate from
Another State in elementary education; or education.

3.1.3 Has met the requirements for a Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation adopted
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1203.

3.2 Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary herein, the Department shall not act on an application for
Certification an Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate if the applicant is under official investigation
by any national, state, or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications. The
Department shall not act where the alleged conduct involves allegations of allegations include but are
not limited to conduct such as Immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty,
disloyalty, or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation's
resolution.
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4.0 Prescribed Education, Knowledge, and Skill Requirements

4.1 For an applicant who is applying for his or her first Standard Certificate does not hold a content area
Standard Certificate, the applicant shall have satisfied the requirements in subsections 4.1.1 and 4.1.2.

4.1.1 The applicant shall have:

4.1.1.1 Obtained and currently maintain an Early Childhood/Generalist certificate from the
National Board for Professional Teaching Standards; or

4.1.1.2 Completed Earned a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university
with a Major or Its Equivalent in elementary education from an educator preparation
program approved or recognized by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher
Education (NCATE), the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), or
a state where the state approval body employed the appropriate standards; or

4.1.1.3 Satisfactorily completed an alternative routes for licensure or certification program to
teach grades K to 6 as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code 1507 14 Del.C. §§1260 - 1266; or

4.1.1.4 Satisfactorily completed a Department-approved educator preparation program in
elementary education; or education.

4.1.1.5 Completed a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university in any
content area and satisfactory completion of fifteen (15) credits or the equivalent in
Department-approved Professional Development related to elementary education of
which at least six (6) credits must focus on pedagogy.

4.1.1.5.1 The applicant, in consultation with the applicant's Employing Authority, shall select the
Fifteen (15) Credits or the Equivalent in Professional Development subject to the
Department's approval.

4.1.1.5.2 If the applicant does not have an Employing Authority or is applying for a Standard
Certificate outside of the applicant's current spectrum of employment, the applicant
shall select the Fifteen (15) Credits or the Equivalent in Professional Development in
consultation with the Department and subject to the Department's approval.

4.1.2 The applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on one of the following examinations:

4.1.2.1 On the Praxis Subject Assessment - Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (ETS Test
Code # 5001), the applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the following
subtests:

4.1.2.1.1 Reading and Language Arts Subtest (ETS Test Code # 5002) a Passing Score of 157;
and

4.1.2.1.2 Mathematics Subtest (ETS Test Code # 5003) a Passing Score of 157; and

4.1.2.1.3 Social Studies Subtest (ETS Test Code # 5004) a Passing Score of 155; and

4.1.2.1.4 Science Subtest (ETS Test Code # 5005) a Passing Score of 159; or

4.1.2.2 On the Praxis Elementary Education: Content Knowledge for Teaching (ETS Test Code #
7801), the applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the following
subtests prior to August 31, 2020:

4.1.2.2.1 Reading and Language Arts CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7802) a Passing Score of
156; and

4.1.2.2.2 Mathematics CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7803) a Passing Score of 143; and

4.1.2.2.3 Science CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7804) a Passing Score of 144; and

4.1.2.2.4 Social Studies Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7805) a Passing Score of 155; or

4.1.2.3 On the Praxis Elementary Education: Content Knowledge for Teaching (ETS Test Code #
7811), the applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the following
subtests:

4.1.2.3.1 Reading and Language Arts CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7812) a Passing Score of
156; and

4.1.2.3.2 Mathematics CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7813) a Passing Score of 143; and

4.1.2.3.3 Science CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7814) a Passing Score of 144; and
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4.1.2.3.4 Social Studies CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7815) a Passing Score of 153; or

4.1.2.4 The applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the following subtests:

4.1.2.4.1 Praxis Subject Assessment - Elementary Education: Reading Language Arts Subtest
(ETS Test Code # 5002) a Passing Score of 157 or Praxis Elementary Education:
Content Knowledge for Teaching Reading and Language Arts CKT Subtest (ETS Test
Code # 7802 or 7812) a Passing Score of 156; and

4.1.2.4.2 Praxis Subject Assessment - Elementary Education: Mathematics Subtest (ETS Test
Code # 5003) a Passing Score of 157 or Praxis Elementary Education: Content
Knowledge for Teaching Mathematics CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7803 or 7813) a
Passing Score of 143; and

4.1.2.4.3 Praxis Subject Assessment - Elementary Education: Social Studies Subtest (ETS Test
Code # 5004) a Passing Score of 155 or Praxis Elementary Education: Content
Knowledge for Teaching Social Studies Subtest (ETS Test Code #7805 or 7815) a
Passing Score of 155 or Social Studies CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7815) a
Passing Score of 153; and

4.1.2.4.4 Praxis Subject Assessment - Elementary Education: Science Subtest (ETS Test Code
# 5005) a Passing Score of 159 or Praxis Elementary Education: Content Knowledge
for Teaching Science CKT Subtest (ETS Test Code # 7804 or 7814) a Passing Score
of 144.

4.2 For an applicant who is applying for his or her second or subsequent holds at least one content area
Standard Certificate, the applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on one of the following
examinations: an examination as provided in subsection 4.1.2.

4.2.1 On the Praxis Subject Assessment - Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (ETS Test Code #
5001), the applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the subtests as provided in
subsection 4.1.2.1; or

4.2.2 On the Praxis Elementary Education: Content Knowledge for Teaching (ETS Test Code # 7801),
the applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the subtests as provided in
subsection 4.1.2.2; or

4.2.3 On the Praxis Elementary Education: Content Knowledge for Teaching (ETS Test Code # 7811),
the applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the subtests as provided in
subsection 4.1.2.3; or

4.2.4 The applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on each of the subtests as provided in
subsection 4.1.2.4.

5.0 Application Requirements

5.1 If an applicant is applying for an Initial License, a Standard Certificate must be applied for
simultaneously with the application for an the Initial License, and the applicant shall also provide all
required documentation for the License.

5.2 For applicants who are applying for their first an applicant who does not hold a content area Standard
Certificate, the following documentation is required with the application for an Elementary Teacher
Standard Certificate:

5.2.1 Evidence of obtaining and maintaining an Early Childhood/Generalist certificate from the National
Board for Professional Teaching Standards, if applicable; and

5.2.2 Official transcript from the applicant's regionally accredited Regionally Accredited college or
university.

5.2.2.1 Electronic transcripts may be submitted by the Employing Authority or by the applicant's
regionally accredited Regionally Accredited college or university; or

5.2.2.2 Sealed paper transcripts may be submitted.

5.2.2.3 The Department will not accept copies of transcripts; and

5.2.3 If applicable, documents verifying successful completion of Professional Development; and
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 24, ISSUE 4, THURSDAY, OCTOBER 1, 2020



FINAL REGULATIONS362
5.2.4 5.2.3 Official scores on the Praxis Subject Assessment or Praxis Elementary Education: Content
Knowledge for Teaching as provided in subsection 4.1.2; and

5.2.5 If applicable, an experience form must be completed in full and signed by the applicant; and

5.2.6 5.2.4 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

5.3 For applicants who are applying for their second or subsequent an applicant who holds at least one
content area Standard Certificate, the following documentation is required in the application for a
Standard Certificate for Elementary Teacher an Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate:

5.3.1 Official scores on the Praxis Subject Assessment or Praxis Elementary Education: Content
Knowledge for Teaching as provided in subsection 4.2; and

5.3.2 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

5.4 For applicants who have met the requirements for licensure and hold a Valid and Current License or
Certificate from Another State in elementary education, the following documentation is required in the
application for a Standard Certificate for Elementary Teacher an Elementary Teacher Standard
Certificate:

5.4.1 An official copy of the valid and current educator license or certificate from another state or
professional license. Valid and Current License or Certificate; and

5.4.2 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

6.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate

6.1 A Standard Certificate for Elementary Teacher An Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate is valid
regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder provided that the Educator's License
remains current and valid.

6.2 A Standard Certificate for Elementary Teacher An Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate is not
subject to renewal.

7.0 Revocation of a Standard Certificate Disciplinary Action

7.1 An Educator's Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate may be revoked, suspended, or limited for
cause as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code 1514 Limitation, Suspension, and Revocation of Licenses,
Certificates, and Permits.

7.2 An Educator's Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate shall be revoked in the event if the Educator's
Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License or Standard or Professional Status Certificate is revoked or
the Educator made a materially false or misleading statement in the Educator's Standard Certificate
application in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1222.

7.2 7.3 An Educator whose Standard Certificate certificate is noticed for revocation disciplinary action is
entitled to a full and fair hearing before the Standards Board.

7.2.1 Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the 14 DE Admin. Code 1515 Hearing
Procedures and Rules.

8.0 Secretary of Education Review

The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of a local school district or charter school, review
credentials submitted in an application for an Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate on an individual basis and
grant such a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the requirements for an Elementary
Teacher Standard Certificate but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter school.

9.0 Past Certificate Recognized

The Department shall recognize an Elementary Teacher Standard Certificate that was issued by the
Department prior to the effective date of this regulation. An educator holding such a Standard Certificate issued by
the Department before the effective date of this regulation shall be considered certified as an elementary teacher to
teach elementary education.
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203 and 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §§1203 & 
1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1533

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1533 Middle Level Science Teacher

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203 and 1205(b), the Professional Standards Board (“Board”), acting in consultation
and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education (“Department”), developed amendments to 14 DE
Admin. Code 1533 Middle Level Science Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements for a Middle Level
Science Teacher Standard Certificate in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220. The proposed amendments include
adding defined terms to Section 2.0; clarifying the requirements for issuing a Middle Level Science Teacher
Standard Certificate in Section 3.0; specifying the education, knowledge, and skill requirements for obtaining a
Middle Level Science Teacher Standard Certificate in Section 4.0; specifying the application requirements in
Section 5.0; adding Section 6.0, which concerns the validity of a Middle Level Science Teacher Standard
Certificate; adding Section 7.0, which concerns disciplinary actions; adding Section 8.0, which concerns requests
for the Secretary of Education to review standard certificate applications; and adding Section 9.0, which concerns
recognizing past certification.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on July 1, 2020. The
Professional Standards Board did not receive any written submittals concerning the proposed amendments.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

On August 6, 2020, the Professional Standards Board voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1533 Middle
Level Science Teacher, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A, for adoption by the Department subject to the
State Board of Education’s approval.

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary to implement 14 Del.C.
Ch. 12 and are designed to improve the quality of the Delaware educator workforce and to improve student
performance. Accordingly, the Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1533 Middle
Level Science Teacher.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
1533 Middle Level Science Teacher subject to the State Board of Education’s approval. Therefore, pursuant to 14
Del.C. §§1203 and 1205(b), 14 DE Admin. Code 1533 Middle Level Science Teacher attached hereto as Exhibit
“A” is hereby amended.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1533 Middle Level Science Teacher adopted hereby shall be in the form
attached hereto as Exhibit “A,” and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1533 Middle Level
Science Teacher in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Register of
Regulations.
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IT IS SO ORDERED the 20th day of August, 2020.

Department of Education

Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 20th day of August, 2020.

State Board of Education

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

1533 Middle Level Science Teacher

1.0 Content

1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Middle Level Science Teacher Standard Certificate,
Certificate pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for Middle Level Science Teacher. This certification
Standard Certificate is required for grades 6, 7 and 8 in a a Middle Level middle level Delaware public
school. Notwithstanding the above requirement, the Secondary Science Teacher Certification
Standard Certificate may be used for grades 6, 7 and 8 in a Middle Level middle level school in lieu of
this certification the Middle Level Science Teacher Standard Certificate.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by
reference.

2.0 Definitions

2.1 The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any subsequent
amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

2.2 The following word words and term terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following
meaning unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.

“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. Ch. 12 to engage in
the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in
Delaware public schools, including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated
by the Professional Standards Board and approved by the State Board of Education. The term
‘educator’ does not include substitute teachers.

"Employing Authority" means any entity which employs educators, and includes, but is not limited to,
school districts, charter schools, boards of directors, and management companies.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected of
an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of the
educator’s unfitness or otherwise.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of 30 semester hours of coursework in a particular
content area.

/s/ Whitney Sweeney, President Vincent Lofink (Absent)

/s/ Wali W. Rushdan, II, Vice President /s/ Audrey J. Noble, Ph.D.

/s/ Nina Lou Bunting Provey Powell, Jr. (Absent)

/s/ Candace Fifer
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"Passing Score" means a minimum score as established by the Professional Standards Board,
Standards Board in consultation with the Department and with the approval of the State Board of
Education.

“Regionally Accredited” means educational accreditation by a regional accrediting agency that is
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a reliable authority concerning the quality of
education offered by the institutions of higher education it accredits, including Middle States
Commission on Higher Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a
category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

“Valid and Current License or Certificate” means a current full or permanent certificate or license
issued by another state or jurisdiction. This means the educator is fully credentialed by having met
all of the requirements for full licensure or certification in another state or jurisdiction and is in good
standing in that state or jurisdiction. It does not include temporary, emergency, conditional
certificates of eligibility or expired certificates or licenses issued from another state or jurisdiction.

3.0 Issuance of a Standard Certificate

3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Middle Level Science Teacher
Standard Certificate as a Middle Level Science Teacher to an educator applicant who has met the
following:

3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; License or a Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and, 2003 and
meets the requirements set forth in Section 4.0 of this regulation; or

3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including
any subsequent amendment or revision thereto; and Has met the requirements for licensure and
presents proof of a Valid and Current License or Certificate as a middle level science teacher.

3.1.3 Has satisfied the additional requirements in this regulation.

3.2 Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary herein, the Department shall not act on an application for
a Middle Level Science Teacher Standard Certificate if the applicant is under official investigation by
any national, state, or local authority with the power to issue educator licenses or certifications. The
Department shall not act where the allegations include but are not limited to conduct such as
Immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty, or falsification of
credentials until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s resolution.

4.0 Additional Prescribed Education, Knowledge, and Skill Requirements

4.1 An educator shall have also met the following:

4.1.1 achieved on the Praxis Subject Assessment - Middle School Science (ETS Test # 5440) a Passing
Score of 150.

4.1 For an applicant who does not hold a content area Standard Certificate, the applicant shall have
satisfied the requirements in subsections 4.1.1 and 4.1.2.

4.1.1 The applicant shall have:

4.1.1.1 Obtained and currently maintain a Science certificate from the National Board for
Professional Teaching Standards; or

4.1.1.2 Earned a bachelor’s degree from a Regionally Accredited college or university with a
Major or Its Equivalent in middle level science education from an educator preparation
program approved or recognized by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher
Education (NCATE), the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), or
a state where the state approval body employed the appropriate standards; or
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4.1.1.3 Satisfactorily completed an alternative routes for licensure or certification program to
teach middle level science as provided in 14 Del.C. §§1260 – 1266; or

4.1.1.4 Satisfactorily completed a Department-approved educator preparation program in middle
level science education.

4.1.2 The applicant shall have achieved a Passing Score on one of the following examinations:

4.1.2.1 A Passing Score of 150 on the Praxis Subject Assessment – Middle School Science (ETS
Test Code # 5440); or.

4.1.2.2 A Passing Score of 152 on the Praxis Middle School Science (ETS Test Code #5442).

4.2 For an applicant who holds at least one content area Standard Certificate, the applicant shall have
achieved a Passing Score on an examination as provided in subsection 4.1.2.

5.0 Application Requirements

5.1 If an applicant is applying for an Initial License, a Standard Certificate must be applied for
simultaneously with the application for the Initial License, and the applicant shall also provide all
required documentation for the License.

5.2 For an applicant who does not hold a content area Standard Certificate, the following documentation is
required with the application for a Middle Level Science Teacher Standard Certificate:

5.2.1 Evidence of obtaining and maintaining a Science certificate from the National Board for
Professional Teaching Standards, if applicable; and

5.2.2 Official transcript from the applicant’s Regionally Accredited college or university.

5.2.2.1 Electronic transcripts may be submitted by the Employing Authority or by the applicant’s
Regionally Accredited college or university; or

5.2.2.2 Sealed paper transcripts may be submitted.

5.2.2.3 The Department will not accept copies of transcripts; and

5.2.3 Official score on the Praxis as provided in subsection 4.1.2; and

5.2.4 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

5.3 For an applicant who holds at least one content area Standard Certificate, the following documentation
is required in the application for a Middle Level Science Teacher Standard Certificate:

5.3.1 Official score on the Praxis as provided in subsection 4.2; and

5.3.2 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

5.4 For applicants who have met the requirements for licensure and hold a Valid and Current License or
Certificate as a middle level science teacher, the following documentation is required in the application
for a Middle Level Science Teacher Standard Certificate:

5.4.1 An official copy of the Valid and Current License or Certificate; and

5.4.2 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

6.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate

6.1 A Middle Level Science Teacher Standard Certificate is valid regardless of the assignment or
employment status of the holder provided that the Educator’s License remains current and valid.

6.2 A Middle Level Science Teacher Standard Certificate is not subject to renewal.

7.0 Disciplinary Action

7.1 An Educator’s Middle Level Science Teacher Standard Certificate may be revoked, suspended, or
limited for cause as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code 1514 Limitation, Suspension, and Revocation of
Licenses, Certificates, and Permits.

7.2 An Educator’s Middle Level Science Teacher Standard Certificate shall be revoked if the Educator's
Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License or Professional Status Certificate is revoked or the Educator
made a materially false or misleading statement in the Educator’s application in accordance with 14
Del.C. §1222.
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7.3 An Educator whose certificate is noticed for disciplinary action is entitled to a full and fair hearing
before the Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code
1515 Hearing Procedures and Rules.

8.0 Secretary of Education Review

The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of a local school district or charter school, review
credentials submitted in an application for a Middle Level Science Teacher Standard Certificate on an individual
basis and grant such a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the requirements for a
Middle Level Science Teacher Standard Certificate but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school
district or charter school.

9.0 Past Certificate Recognized

The Department shall recognize a Middle Level Science Teacher Standard Certificate that was issued by the
Department prior to the effective date of this regulation. An Educator holding such a Standard Certificate shall be
considered certified to teach middle level science.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203 and 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §§1203 & 
1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1570

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1570 Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203 and 1205(b), the Professional Standards Board (“Board”), acting in consultation
and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education (“Department”), developed amendments to 14 DE
Admin. Code 1570 Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher. The regulation concerns the
requirements for an Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher Standard Certificate in
accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220. The proposed amendments include adding clarifying language regarding
category certificates in Section 1.0; adding defined terms to Section 2.0; clarifying the requirements for issuing an
Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher Standard Certificate in Section 3.0; specifying the
education, knowledge, and skill requirements for obtaining an Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special
Education Teacher Standard Certificate in Section 4.0; specifying the application requirements in Section 5.0;
adding Section 6.0, which concerns the validity of an Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education
Teacher Standard Certificate; adding Section 7.0, which concerns disciplinary actions; adding Section 8.0, which
concerns requests for the Secretary of Education to review standard certificate applications; and adding Section
9.0, which concerns recognizing past certification.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on July 1, 2020. The
Professional Standards Board did not receive any written submittals concerning the proposed amendments.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

On August 6, 2020, the Professional Standards Board voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1570 Early
Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A, for adoption
by the Department subject to the State Board of Education’s approval. 

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary to implement 14 Del.C.
Ch. 12 and are designed to improve the quality of the Delaware educator workforce and to improve student
performance. Accordingly, the Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1570 Early
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Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
1570 Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher subject to the State Board of Education’s
approval. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203 and 1205(b), 14 DE Admin. Code 1570 Early Childhood
Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher attached hereto as Exhibit “A” is hereby amended.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1570 Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher
adopted hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “A,” and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE
Admin. Code 1570 Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher in the Administrative Code of
Regulations for the Department.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 20th day of August, 2020.

Department of Education

Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 20th day of August, 2020.

State Board of Education

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

1570 Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher

1.0 Content

1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate, an Early Childhood Exceptional
Children Special Education Teacher Standard Certificate (Category) pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a),
for Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher. This certification is for Birth to
Grade 2, however, certification as an Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher may also be
used in K to grade 2.

1.1.1 This Standard Certificate is required for an Educator whose primary assignment is teaching
Students with Disabilities from Birth to Grade 2 in Delaware public schools.

1.1.1.1 The Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher Standard Certificate
may be used for grades K to 2 in lieu of the Special Education Teacher of Students with
Disabilities Standard Certificate.

1.1.1.2 The Teacher of Students with Autism or with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard
Certificate, Teacher of Students Who Are Deaf or Hard of Hearing Standard Certificate,

/s/ Whitney Sweeney, President Vincent Lofink (Absent)

/s/ Wali W. Rushdan, II, Vice President /s/ Audrey J. Noble, Ph.D.

/s/ Nina Lou Bunting Provey Powell, Jr. (Absent)

/s/ Candace Fifer
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and Teacher of Students with Visual Impairments Standard Certificate shall be used when
the teacher’s primary assignment is providing instruction to the category of students
designated within those category certifications.

1.1.2 This Certification is a category Standard Certificate and does not certify an Educator to practice in
a particular area or teach a particular subject. A category Standard Certificate only establishes that
an Educator has met the prescribed education, knowledge, or skill requirements to instruct a
particular category of students. This Certification is limited to the category of teaching Students
with Disabilities from Birth to Grade 2 in Delaware public schools.

1.1.3 An Educator shall hold at least one content area Standard Certificate.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by
reference.

2.0 Definitions

The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any subsequent
amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning:

“15 Credits or the Equivalent in Professional Development” means college credits or an equivalent
number of hours with one credit equating to 15 hours taken either as part of a degree program or in
addition to a degree program from a Regionally Accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the Department. College credit means undergraduate or graduate
level coursework and continuing education units (CEUs) completed at or through a Regionally
Accredited college or university or other Department-approved provider.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of Education.

“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. Ch. 12 to engage in the
practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware public
schools, including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the Professional
Standards Board and approved by the State Board of Education. The term ‘educator’ does not include
substitute teachers.

"Employing Authority" means any entity which employs educators, and includes, but is not limited to,
school districts, charter schools, boards of directors, and management companies.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected of an
educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of the
educator’s unfitness or otherwise.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means a minimum of 30 semester hours of coursework in a particular content
area.

"Professional Development" means a combination of focused, in-depth learning, practice, feedback,
reflection, and expert support experiences designed to change participants' attitudes, insights, and
perspectives and ultimately results in improved professional practice. Effective professional
development programs include ample opportunities for knowledge acquisition, skill mastery,
descriptive feedback, and refinement of practice in the work setting.

“Regionally Accredited” means educational accreditation by a regional accrediting agency that is
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a reliable authority concerning the quality of
education offered by the institutions of higher education it accredits, including Middle States
Commission on Higher Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a
category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1201.
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“Students with Disabilities” means the same as “Child with a Disability” as provided in 14 Del.C.
§3101(2).

“Valid and Current License or Certificate” means a current full or permanent certificate or license issued
by another state or jurisdiction. This means the educator is fully credentialed by having met all of the
requirements for full licensure or certification in another state or jurisdiction. It does not include
temporary, emergency, conditional certificates of eligibility or expired certificates or licenses issued
from another state or jurisdiction.

3.0 Issuance of a Standard Certificate

3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Early
Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher Standard Certificate to an educator
Educator who has met the following:

3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or a Limited Standard, or a
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003;
and, and meets the requirements set forth in Section 4.0 of this regulation; or

3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including
any subsequent amendment or revision thereto; and, Has met the requirements for licensure and
holds a Valid and Current License or Certificate in early childhood exceptional children special
education.

3.1.3 Has satisfied the additional requirements in this regulation.

3.2 Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary herein, the Department shall not act on an application for
an Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher Standard Certificate if the
applicant is under official investigation by any national, state, or local authority with the power to issue
educator licenses or certifications. The Department shall not act where the allegations include but are
not limited to conduct such as Immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty,
disloyalty, or falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s
resolution.

4.0 Additional Requirements Prescribed Education, Knowledge, and Skill Requirements

4.1 An Educator must also have met the following:

4.1.1 If the educator is applying for a first Standard certificate pursuant to 14 DE Admin. Code 1505
Standard Certificate 3.1.3.1, the required 15 credits or their equivalent in professional
development required in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate 3.1.3.1 that must be
satisfactorily completed for this standard certificate must at a minimum include the following areas;

4.1.1.1 Atypical Infants and Toddlers (3 credits);

4.1.1.2 Emergent Literacy in Reading and Writing (3 credits);

4.1.1.3 Assessment of Young Children (3 credits);

4.1.1.4 Differentiated Instruction for Young Children (3 credits); and

4.1.1.5 Consultation or Working with Families (3 credits).

4.1.2 If the educator is applying for a second or subsequent Standard Certificate pursuant to 14 DE
Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate 5.0, the satisfactory completion of fifteen (15) credits or
their equivalent in professional development in the following areas;

4.2.1.1 Atypical Infants and Toddlers (3 credits);

4.2.1.2 Emergent Literacy in Reading and Writing (3 credits);

4.2.1.3 Assessment of Young Children (3 credits);

4.2.1.4 Differentiated Instruction for Young Children (3 credits); and

4.2.1.5 Consultation or Working with Families (3 credits).

4.1 An applicant shall have satisfied one of the following education requirements:

4.1.1 Obtained and currently maintain an Exceptional Needs Specialist certificate from the National
Board for Professional Teaching Standards; or
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4.1.2 Earned a bachelor’s, master’s, or doctoral degree from a Regionally Accredited college or
university with a Major or Its Equivalent in early childhood exceptional children special education
from an educator preparation program approved or recognized by the National Council for the
Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), the Council for the Accreditation of Educator
Preparation (CAEP), or a state where the state approval body employed the appropriate
standards; or

4.1.3 Satisfactorily completed an alternative routes for licensure or certification program to teach early
childhood exceptional children as provided in 14 Del.C. §§1260 – 1266; or

4.1.4 Satisfactorily completed a Department-approved educator preparation program in early childhood
exceptional children education; or

4.1.5 Earned a bachelor’s degree from a Regionally Accredited college or university in any content area
and satisfactorily completed 15 Credits or the Equivalent in Professional Development in the
following areas that are guided by and include the following Council for Exceptional Children’s
(CEC) Early Childhood Special Education (ECSE) Initial Preparation Standards:

4.1.5.1 Child development and early learning for young children with special needs;

4.1.5.2 Partnering with families of young children with special needs;

4.1.5.3 Collaboration and teaming to meet the needs of young children with exceptionalities;

4.1.5.4 Assessment processes for young children with special needs;

4.1.5.5 Application of curriculum frameworks in the planning and facilitation of meaningful learning
experiences for young children with special needs;

4.1.5.6 Using responsive and reciprocal interactions, interventions, and instruction for young
children with special needs; and

4.1.5.7 Professionalism and ethical practice.

5.0 Application Requirements

5.1 If an applicant is applying for an Initial License, a Standard Certificate must be applied for
simultaneously with application for an Initial License, and the applicant shall also provide all required
documentation for the License.

5.2 The following documentation is required with the application for an Early Childhood Exceptional
Children Special Education Teacher Standard Certificate:

5.2.1 Evidence of obtaining an Exceptional Needs Specialist certificate from the National Board for
Professional Teaching Standards, if applicable.

5.2.2 Official transcript from the applicant’s Regionally Accredited college or university.

5.2.2.1 Electronic transcripts may be submitted by the applicant’s Employing Authority or
Regionally Accredited college or university.

5.2.2.2 Sealed paper transcripts may be submitted by the applicant, the applicant’s Employing
Authority, or the applicant’s Regionally Accredited college or university.

5.2.2.3 The Department will not accept copies of transcripts.

5.2.3 Evidence of completing the equivalent of 15 Credits or the Equivalent in Professional
Development, as provided in subsection 4.1.5, if applicable.

5.2.4 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

5.3 For applicants who have met the requirements for licensure and hold a Valid and Current License or
Certificate in early childhood exceptional children special education, the following documentation is
required in the application for an Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher
Standard Certificate:

5.3.1 An official copy of the educator license or certificate from another state or jurisdiction.

5.3.2 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

6.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate
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6.1 An Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher Standard Certificate is valid
regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder provided that the Educator’s License
remains current and valid.

6.2 An Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher Standard Certificate is not subject
to renewal.

7.0 Disciplinary Action

7.1 An Educator’s Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher Standard Certificate
may be limited, suspended, or revoked for cause as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code 1514 Limitation,
Suspension, and Revocation of Licenses, Certificates, and Permits.

7.2 An Educator’s Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher Standard Certificate
shall be revoked if the Educator's Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License or Professional Status
Certificate is revoked or the Educator made a materially false or misleading statement in the
Educator’s application in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1222.

7.3 An Educator whose certificate is noticed for disciplinary action is entitled to a full and fair hearing
before the Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code
1515 Hearing Procedures and Rules.

8.0 Secretary of Education Review

The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of a local school district or charter school, review
credentials submitted in an application for an Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher
Standard Certificate on an individual basis and grant such a Standard Certificate to an applicant who otherwise
does not meet the requirements for an Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher Standard
Certificate but whose effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter school.

9.0 Past Certificate Recognized

The Department shall recognize an Early Childhood Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher Standard
Certificate that was issued by the Department prior to the effective date of this regulation. An Educator holding
such a Standard Certificate issued shall be considered certified to instruct Students with Disabilities from Birth to
Grade 2.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203 and 1205(b) (14 Del.C. §§1203 & 
1205(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 1573

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1573 Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203 and 1205(b), the Professional Standards Board, acting in consultation and
cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education (“Department”), developed amendments to 14 DE Admin.
Code 1573 Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities. The regulation
concerns the requirements for a Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities
Standard Certificate in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220. The proposed amendments include adding clarifying
language regarding category certificates in Section 1.0; adding defined terms to Section 2.0; clarifying the
requirements for issuing a Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities
Standard Certificate in Section 3.0; specifying the education, knowledge, and skill requirements for obtaining a
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Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate in Section 4.0;
specifying the application requirements in Section 5.0; adding Section 6.0, which concerns the validity of a Teacher
of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate; adding Section 7.0,
which concerns disciplinary actions; adding Section 8.0, which concerns requests for the Secretary of Education to
review standard certificate applications; and adding Section 9.0, which concerns recognizing past certificates.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on June 1, 2020. The
Professional Standards Board received one written submittal. Ann C. Fisher, Chairperson of the Governor’s
Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens (“GACEC”), commented that GACEC supports the proposed
amendments. Also, GACEC commented that it appreciated that its past recommendation to clarify subsection 3.2
was incorporated in the proposed amendments. Additionally, GACEC commented that it is concerned that the
Professional Standards Board does not prescribe specific professional development for educators and that it is
possible that an educator with a Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities
Standard Certificate will not actually participate in any professional development related to the certificate.
Accordingly, GACEC recommended that the Department consider whether including requirements for renewal of
the certificate is warranted. GACEC further commented that “educators of special education students require the
most qualified and efficient educators” and recommended that Section 8.0 be removed from the regulation.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

On August 6, 2020, the Professional Standards Board considered the written submittal from GACEC.
The Professional Standards Board found that the proposed subsection 6.2, which provides that the Teacher of

Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate is not renewed, is
consistent with the statute concerning standard certificates. The statute, 14 Del.C. §1220(a), provides that the
“Department shall issue a standard certificate to an applicant who . . . has acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill,
or education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a particular category of
students.” 14 Del.C. Ch. 12 does not authorize the Department to renew a standard certificate once it has been
issued, which is different from a continuing license that may be renewed for five years if an educator has completed
90 clock-hours of approved professional development (14 Del.C. §1212). The Professional Standards Board
further found that it is in the process of obtaining recommendations from the Professional Development and
Associated Compensation Committee to address the broader question of whether to change the current system for
professional development in the future and that is the better approach rather than addressing the question
piecemeal through individual regulations. In addition, the Professional Standards Board found that the proposed
Section 8.0, Secretary of Education Review, is an important tool that is available for all certifications by statute (14
Del.C. §1224).

The Professional Standards Board determined that further changes in response to the written submittal were
not necessary and voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1573 Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with
Severe Intellectual Disabilities, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A, for adoption by the Department subject to
the State Board of Education’s approval. 

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary to implement 14 Del.C.
Ch. 12 and are designed to improve the quality of the Delaware educator workforce and to improve student
performance. Accordingly, the Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1573 Teacher
of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
1573 Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities subject to the State Board of
Education’s approval. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203 and 1205(b), 14 DE Admin. Code 1573 Teacher of
Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities attached hereto as Exhibit “A” is hereby
amended.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1573 Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual
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Disabilities adopted hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “A,” and said regulation shall be cited as
14 DE Admin. Code 1573 Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 20th day of August, 2020.

Department of Education

Susan S. Bunting, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 20th day of August, 2020.

State Board of Education

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

1573 Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities

1.0 Content

1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a Standard Certificate, a Teacher of Students with
Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1220(a), for a Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities.
Eighteen (18) months from the effective date of this regulation, this certification shall be required for all
educators within the Delaware public school system whose primary assignment is teaching children
with autism or children with severe intellectual disabilities and for educators teaching in an Approved
Program.

1.1.1 This Certification is required for an Educator whose primary assignment is teaching students with
Autism or Severe Intellectual Disabilities in an Approved Program or in Delaware public schools.

1.1.2 This Certification is a category Standard Certificate and does not certify an Educator to practice in
a particular area or teach a particular subject. A category Standard Certificate only establishes that
an educator has met the prescribed education, knowledge, or skill to instruct a particular category
of students. This Certification is limited to the category of students with Autism or Severe
Intellectual Disabilities.

1.1.3 An Educator shall hold at least one content area Standard Certificate.

1.2 Except as otherwise provided, the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard
Certificate, including any subsequent amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by
reference.

2.0 Definitions

2.1 The definitions set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including any subsequent
amendment or revision thereto, are incorporated herein by reference.

/s/ Whitney Sweeney, President Vincent Lofink (Absent)

/s/ Wali W. Rushdan, II, Vice President /s/ Audrey J. Noble, Ph.D.

/s/ Nina Lou Bunting Provey Powell, Jr. (Absent)

Candace Fifer (Absent)
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2.2 The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"15 Credits or the Equivalent in Professional Development" means college credits or an equivalent
number of hours with one credit equating to 15 hours taken either as part of a degree program or in
addition to a degree program from a Regionally Accredited college or university or a professional
development provider approved by the Department. College credit means undergraduate or graduate
level coursework and continuing education units (CEUs) completed at or through a Regionally
Accredited college or university or other Department-approved provider.

“Approved Program”   means a program encompassing or within a public school designated by the
Department and the State Board of Education as a component of the Delaware Autism Program.

“Autism” shall have the same meaning as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code 922, §3.0 Section 3.0 and
14 DE Admin. Code 925, §6.6 subsection 6.6.

"Certification" means the issuance of a Standard Certificate, which may occur regardless of a
recipient's assignment or employment status.

"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.

"Educator" means a person licensed and certified by the State under 14 Del.C. Ch. 12 to engage in
the practice of instruction, administration or other related professional support services in Delaware
public schools, including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations promulgated by the
Professional Standards Board and approved by the State Board of Education. The term 'educator'
does not include substitute teachers.

"Employing Authority" means any entity which employs educators, and includes, but is not limited to,
school districts, charter schools, boards of directors, and management companies.

"Immorality" means conduct which is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality expected of
an educator and may reasonably be found to impair an educator's effectiveness by reason of the
educator's unfitness or otherwise.

“Intellectual Disability” shall have the same meaning as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code 922, §3.0
Section 3.0 and 14 DE Admin. Code 925, §6.12 subsection 6.12.

"License" means a credential which authorizes the holder to engage in the practice for which the
license is issued.

"Major or Its Equivalent" means a minimum of 30 semester hours of coursework in a particular
content area.

"Professional Development" means a combination of focused, in-depth learning, practice, feedback,
reflection, and expert support experiences designed to change participants' attitudes, insights, and
perspectives and ultimately results in improved professional practice. Effective professional
development programs include ample opportunities for knowledge acquisition, skill mastery,
descriptive feedback, and refinement of practice in the work setting.

"Regionally Accredited" means educational accreditation by a regional accrediting agency that is
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a reliable authority concerning the quality of
education offered by the institutions of higher education it accredits, including Middle States
Commission on Higher Education.

“Severe Intellectual Disability” shall have the same meaning as provided in 14 DE Admin. Code
922, §3.0 and 14 DE Admin. Code 925, §6.12 subsection 6.12.

"Standard Certificate" means a credential issued to certify that an educator has the prescribed
knowledge, skill or education to practice in a particular area, teach a particular subject, or teach a
category of students.

"Standards Board" means the Professional Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1201.

"Valid and Current License or Certificate" means a current full or permanent certificate or license
issued by another state or jurisdiction. This means the educator is fully credentialed by having met all
of the requirements for full licensure or certification in another state or jurisdiction. It does not include
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temporary, emergency, conditional certificates of eligibility or expired certificates or licenses issued
from another state or jurisdiction. 

3.0 Issuance of a Standard Certificate

3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department shall issue a Teacher of Students with Autism
or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate as a Teacher of Students with
Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities to an educator applicant who has met the
following:

3.1.1 Holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; License or a Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department prior to August 31, 2003; and, and meets
the requirements set forth in Section 4.0 of this regulation; or

3.1.2 Has met the requirements as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505 Standard Certificate, including
any subsequent amendment or revision thereto; and, Has met the requirements for licensure and
holds a Valid and Current License or Certificate in teaching students with Autism or Severe
Intellectual Disabilities.

3.1.3 Has satisfied the additional requirements in this regulation.

3.2 Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary herein, the Department shall not act on an application for
a Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate
if the applicant is under official investigation by any national, state, or local authority with the power to
issue educator licenses or certifications. The Department shall not act where the allegations include
but are not limited to conduct such as Immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of
duty, disloyalty, or falsification of credentials until the applicant provides evidence of the investigation's
resolution.

4.0 Additional Requirements Prescribed Education, Knowledge, and Skill Requirements

4.1 An educator shall also have satisfied at least one (1) of the following additional education
requirements:

4.1.1 Graduating with a bachelor’s or a master’s degree, with a major in special education and with a
concentration in autism and severe intellectual disabilities, from an NCATE specialty organization
recognized educator preparation program or from a state approved educator preparation program,
offered by a regionally accredited college or university. The state approval body shall employ the
appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standard; or

4.1.2 Graduating with a bachelor’s or master’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university
with a major in special education; and

4.1.2.1 Completion of a minimum of fifteen (15) credits from a regionally accredited college or
university or their equivalent in professional development as approved by the Department,
with a focus in autism and severe intellectual disabilities in the following content areas: 

4.1.2.1.1 Introduction to Autism and Severe Intellectual Disabilities (three credits);

4.1.2.1.2 Methods of Instruction in Academic Standards and Functional Skills (three credits);

4.1.2.1.3 Functional Communication Training (three credits);

4.1.2.1.4 Applied Behavior Analysis for Educators (three credits); and

4.1.2.1.5 Competency-Based Practicum in Behaviorally Based Teaching Techniques (three
credits)

4.1 An applicant shall have satisfied one of the following education requirements: 

4.1.1 Obtained and currently maintain an Exceptional Needs Specialist certificate in the specialty area of
Mild/Moderate Disabilities or Severe and Multiple Disabilities from the National Board for
Professional Teaching Standards; or

4.1.2 Earned a bachelor's or master's degree from a Regionally Accredited college or university with a
Major or Its Equivalent in special education with a concentration in autism and severe intellectual
disabilities from an educator preparation program approved or recognized by the National Council
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for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), the Council for the Accreditation of Educator
Preparation (CAEP), or a state where the state approval body employed the appropriate
standards; or

4.1.3 Satisfactorily completed an alternative routes for licensure or certification program to teach
students with autism and severe intellectual disabilities as provided in 14 Del.C. §§1260 - 1266; or

4.1.4 Satisfactorily completed a Department-approved educator preparation program to teach students
with autism and severe intellectual disabilities; or

4.1.5 Earned a bachelor's or master's degree from a Regionally Accredited college or university with a
Major or its Equivalent in special education and satisfactorily completed 15 Credits or the
Equivalent in Professional Development with a focus in Autism and Severe Intellectual Disabilities
in the following areas:

4.1.5.1 Introduction to Autism and Severe Intellectual Disabilities (three credits);

4.1.5.2 Methods of Instruction in Academic Standards and Functional Skills (three credits);

4.1.5.3 Functional Communication Training (three credits);

4.1.5.4 Applied Behavior Analysis for Educators (three credits); and

4.1.5.5 Competency-Based Practicum in Behaviorally Based Teaching Techniques (three credits);
or

4.1.6 Currently hold a Special Education Teacher of Students with Disabilities Standard Certificate (14
DE Admin. Code 1571) and satisfactorily completed 15 Credits or the Equivalent in Professional
Development with a focus in teaching students with Autism and Severe Intellectual Disabilities in
the areas provided in subsections 4.1.5.1 through 4.1.5.5.

5.0 Application Requirements 

5.1 If an applicant is applying for an Initial License, a Standard Certificate must be applied for
simultaneously with the application for the Initial License, and the applicant shall also provide all
required documentation for the License.

5.2 The following documentation is required with the application for a Teacher of Students with Autism or
Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate:

5.2.1 Evidence of obtaining and maintaining an Exceptional Needs Specialist certificate from the
National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, if applicable; and

5.2.2 Official transcript from the applicant's Regionally Accredited college or university.

5.2.2.1 Electronic transcripts may be submitted by the applicant's Employing Authority or
Regionally Accredited college or university; or

5.2.2.2 Sealed paper transcripts may be submitted by the applicant, the applicant's Employing
Authority, or the applicant's Regionally Accredited college or university.

5.2.2.3 The Department will not accept copies of transcripts; and

5.2.3 Evidence of completing the 15 Credits or the Equivalent in Professional Development as provided
in subsections 4.1.5 and 4.1.6, if applicable; and

5.2.4 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

5.3 For applicants who have met the requirements for licensure and hold a Valid and Current License or
Certificate in teaching students with Autism or Severe Intellectual Disabilities, the following
documentation is required in the application for a Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with
Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate:

5.3.1 An official copy of the Valid and Current License or Certificate; and

5.3.2 Additional documentation as required by the Department.

6.0 Validity of a Standard Certificate 
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6.1 A Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate
is valid regardless of the assignment or employment status of the holder provided that the Educator's
License remains current and valid.

6.2 A Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate
is not subject to renewal.

7.0 Disciplinary Action

7.1 An Educator's Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities
Standard Certificate may be revoked, suspended, or limited for cause as provided in 14 DE Admin.
Code 1514 Limitation, Suspension, and Revocation of Licenses, Certificates, and Permits.

7.2 An Educator's Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities
Standard Certificate shall be revoked if the Educator's Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License or
Standard or Professional Status Certificate is revoked or the Educator made a materially false or
misleading statement in the Educator's application in accordance with 14 Del.C. §1222.

7.3 An Educator whose certificate is noticed for disciplinary action is entitled to a full and fair hearing
before the Standards Board. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code
1515 Hearing Procedures and Rules.

8.0 Secretary of Education Review

The Secretary of Education may, upon the written request of a local school district or charter school,
review credentials submitted in an application for a Teacher of Students with Autism or Students with
Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate on an individual basis and grant such a Standard
Certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the requirements for a Teacher of Students
with Autism or Students with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate but whose
effectiveness is documented by the local school district or charter school.

5.09.0 Past Certification Certificate Recognized

5.19.1 The Department shall recognize a Standard Teacher of the Autistic Child or Professional Status
Certificate issued by the Department between January 1, 1982 and August 31, 2005, if otherwise valid.
A teacher An Educator holding a Standard Teacher of the Autistic Child or a Professional Status
Certificate issued between January 1, 1982 and August 31, 2005 shall be considered certified to teach
classes for children with autism or severe intellectual disabilities instruct students with Autism or
Severe Intellectual Disabilities.

5.29.2 The Department shall recognize a Standard Certificate Teacher of Students with Autism or Students
with Severe Intellectual Disabilities Standard Certificate issued by the Department between September
1, 2005 and prior to the effective date of this regulation. A teacher An Educator holding such a
Standard Certificate Teacher of Students with Autism or Severe Disabilities issued between October 1,
2005 and the effective date of this regulation shall be considered certified to teach classes for children
with autism or severe intellectual disabilities instruct students with Autism or Severe Intellectual
Disabilities.
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1900 BOARD OF NURSING

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Sections 1906(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §1906(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 1900

ORDER

1900 Board of Nursing

FINAL ORDER ADOPTING REGULATION CHANGES

The Delaware Board of Nursing pursuant to 24 Del. C. § 1906(a)(1), proposed to revise its regulations. The
proposed amendments seek to update the Board’s regulations pertaining to APRN Education Programs in
Delaware. There are currently no regulations setting forth the requirements or guidelines for such programs, so the
Board is proposing new regulations to do so. The proposed changes also strike redundant or unnecessary
regulations or make changes to comply with current law and practice.

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Following publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations on June 1, 2020 a public hearing was held on
July 8, 2020. Written comment periods were held open for thirty days, and an additional fifteen days following the
public hearing. At the hearing, the Board accepted as evidence and marked as the Board’s Exhibits 1 and 2
documentation of publication of the notice of the public hearing in the News Journal and the Delaware State News.

At the time of the deliberations, the Board considered the following documents:
Board Exhibit 1 – Affidavit of publication of the public hearing notice in the News Journal; 
Board Exhibit 2 – Affidavit of publication of the public hearing notice in the Delaware State News; 
There was no verbal testimony given at the public hearing on July 8, 2020, and no written comments were

received by the Board during the initial thirty-day public comment period or the second fifteen-day public comment
period.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS

1. The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide the Board with comments in writing and by
testimony at the public hearing on the proposed amendments to the Board’s regulations.

2. There were no public comments provided to the Board during the initial 30 day written public comment
period, or the public hearing.

3. Pursuant to 24 Del. C. § 1906(a)(1), the Board has statutory authority to promulgate rules and regulations
clarifying specific statutory sections of its statute.

4. The proposed amendments seek to update the Board’s regulations pertaining to APRN Education
Programs in Delaware. There are currently no regulations setting forth the requirements or guidelines for such
programs, so the Board is proposing new regulations to do so. The proposed changes also strike redundant or
unnecessary regulations or make changes to comply with current law and practice.

5. The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide the Board with comments in writing and by
testimony at the public hearing on the proposed changes to the Board’s rules and regulations. 

6. Having received no public comment, the Board finds no reason to amend the regulations as proposed.

DECISION AND ORDER CONCERNING THE REGULATIONS

Having found that the proposed changes to the regulations are necessary as outlined herein, the Board finds
that the regulations shall be adopted as final in the form as proposed. The exact text of the regulations, as
amended, are attached to this order as Exhibit A. These changes will become effective ten days following
publication of this order in the Delaware Register of Regulations.
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IT IS SO ORDERED this 9th day of September, 2020 by the Delaware Board of Nursing.

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

1900 Board of Nursing
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

8.0 Rules and Regulations Governing the Practice of Nursing as an Advanced Practice Registered 
Nurse in the State of Delaware

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

8.19 Required Criteria for APRN Education Programs:

8.19.1 An APRN program administrator’s qualifications must include:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

8.19.1.4 Current national APRN certification. Current program administrator without national
certification as of [[the effective date of this regulation] October 11, 2020] are
grandfathered.

*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the June 2020 issue of the Register at page 1004 (23 DE Reg. 1004). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished here in its entirety. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1900 Board of Nursing

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

2000 BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY PRACTICE

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 2006(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §2006(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 2000

ORDER

2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice

On March 1, 2020, the Delaware Board of Occupational Therapy Practice published proposed changes to its
regulations in the Delaware Register of Regulations, Volume 23, Issue 9. Due to a problem with the required
newspaper notice the proposed changes were re-noticed in the Delaware Register of Regulations, Volume 23,
Issue 12. The notice indicated that written comments would be accepted by the Board, a public hearing would be
held, and written comments would be accepted for fifteen days thereafter. After due notice in the Register of
Regulations and two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on July 8, 2020 at a regularly scheduled
meeting of the Board of Occupational Therapy Practice to receive verbal comments regarding the Board's
proposed amendments to its regulations.

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

At the time of the deliberations, the Board considered the following documents:

Ronald R. Castaldo, Ph.D., CRNA, APRN /s/ Kimberly Hopkins, RN

Megan Williams, DNP, FNP-C, RN (absent) /s/ Tiarra Davis, Public Member

/s/ Pamela James, RN /s/ Carol Abdill, RN

/s/ Kenyette Walters, LPN William Hare, Public Member (absent)

/s/ Gayle Melvin, Public Member /s/ Marlo Silverio, RN

/s/ Sandra Glenn-Vernon, RN /s/ Christopher Otto, RN

/s/ Danielle Gomez, RN /s/ Prameela Kaza, Public Member
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Board Exhibit 1- Affidavit of publication of the public hearing notice in the News Journal; and
Board Exhibit 2- Affidavit of publication of the public hearing notice in the Delaware State News.
No verbal testimony was provided at the public hearing. One comment was received which was pertinent to the

proposed amended regulation which suggested the substitution of the word "amount" for the word "level" in
subsections 1.2.5 and 1.2.6.

Agency Response: The Board agrees that eliminating the word "level" will reduce confusion and has made
the substitution in the final Order.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS

1.  The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide the Board with comments on the proposed
amendments to the Board's regulations in writing and by testimony at the public hearing.

2. There were no public comments provided to the Board during the written public comment period but written
comments received shortly after were considered and adopted.

3. Pursuant to 24 Del. C. § 2006 (a)(1) the Board has the statutory authority to promulgate rules and
regulations clarifying specific statutory sections of its statute.

DECISION AND ORDER CONCERNING THE REGULATIONS

NOW THEREFORE, pursuant to 24 Del. C. § 2006(a)(1) and for the reasons set forth above, the Board does
hereby ORDER that the regulations be, and that they hereby are, adopted and promulgated as set forth in the
Delaware Register of Regulations on March 1, 2020. The effective date of this Order is ten days from the date of its
publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations, pursuant to 29 Del. C. § 10118(g).

The new regulations are attached hereto as Exhibit A.

SO ORDERED this 2nd day of September, 2020

*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice

1.0 Supervision/consultation Requirements for Occupational Therapy Assistants

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

1.3 Minimum supervision requirements:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

1.3.6 1.2.5[Levels The amount] of supervision should be determined by the occupational therapist before
the individuals enter into a supervisor/supervisee relationship. The chosen [level amount] of
supervision should be reevaluated regularly for effectiveness. Special consideration should be
given to experience and any changes in practice area concentrations.

1.3.7 1.2.6The supervising occupational therapist, in collaboration with the occupational therapy assistant,
shall maintain a written supervisory plan specifying the [level amount] of supervision and shall
document the supervision of each occupational therapy assistant. [Levels The amount] of
supervision should be determined by the occupational therapist before the individuals enter into a
supervisor/supervisee relationship. The chosen [level amount] of supervision should be
reevaluated regularly for effectiveness. This plan shall be reviewed at least every six months or
more frequently as demands of service changes.

*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the March 2020 issue of the Register at page 733 (23 DE Reg. 733). Therefore, the final regulation is not

/s/ Mara B Schmittinger, Board President /s/ Evan Park

/s/ Angelita Mosley /s/ Tim Parks

/s/ Elaine Smith
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being republished here in its entirety. A copy of the final regulation is available at:
2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice

OFFICE OF THE STATE BANK COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 5 Delaware Code, Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. §121(b))
5 DE Admin. Code 801

ORDER

801 Application to Become a Delaware Bank Holding Company

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 10th day of September, 2020, that amended Regulations 801, 1101, 1104,
1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are adopted as Regulations of the State Bank Commissioner.
The effective date of each of these Regulations is October 11, 2020. These Regulations are adopted by the State
Bank Commissioner in accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code and pursuant to the requirements of Chapters
11 and 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, as follows:

1. Regulation 801 is amended by deleting the Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old office mailing and
delivery address and inserting the new office mailing and delivery address and removing a reference to the former
Regulation number.

2. Regulations 1101, 1104, 1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are amended by deleting the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old mailing and delivery address and inserting the new mailing and
delivery address.

3. The State Bank Commissioner is authorized to adopt regulations as provided in Section 121(b) of Title 5 of
the Delaware Code.

4. The Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, provides at Section
10113, in pertinent part:

“(b) Regulations of the following types are exempted from the procedural requirements of this
chapter and may be adopted informally: …

“(4) Nonsubstantive changes in existing regulations to alter style or form or to correct technical
errors; …

“Any regulation adopted pursuant to this subsection, along with a copy of the order adopting said regulation,
shall be filed with the Registrar of Regulations, and the regulation so filed shall become the official regulation as
defined in § 1132 of this title.”

Robert A. Glen
State Bank Commissioner

801 Application to Become a Delaware Bank Holding Company
5 Del.C. §852

Formerly Regulation No.: 5.852.0002
Effective Date: August 13, 1998 October 11, 2020

1.0 Scope of Regulation

1.1 This regulation establishes procedures governing the creation of a Delaware bank holding company. A
bank holding company with bank subsidiaries in Delaware whose operations are principally conducted
within this state is required to become a Delaware bank holding company. A bank holding company is
deemed to be principally conducting operations in Delaware when the total deposits of all bank
subsidiaries in this State are greater than in any other state (See 5 Del.C. §851(3)). Except as
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provided in §852(a), no bank holding company other than a Delaware bank holding company may own
a Delaware bank.

2.0 Application

2.1 Notice of Intent to become a Delaware Bank Holding Company constitutes an application. Said Notice
of Intent shall be filed in duplicate with the Office of the State Bank Commissioner. The Notice of Intent
shall include:

2.1.1 Name of Applicant and address of principal office.

2.1.2 The State in which the Applicant is (or will be) incorporated. If the Applicant is incorporated outside
of the State of Delaware, identify the name and address of a resident of Delaware designated as
the Applicant's agent for the service of any paper or notice of legal process.

2.1.3 If applicable, the corporate title and the address of the bank to be acquired; the number of voting
shares to be acquired; and the percentage of said shares this number represents.

2.1.4 The name, address and telephone number of the person(s) to whom inquiries may be directed.

2.1.5 The Notice of Intent shall include the following exhibits:

2.1.5.1 A copy of the Resolution by the Board of Directors of the Applicant authorizing the
establishment of a Delaware bank holding company.

2.1.5.2 A description of the Applicant and the transaction.

2.1.5.3 A description of the financial and managerial resources of the proposed Delaware bank
holding company.

2.1.5.4 The future prospects of the bank holding company and the bank whose assets or shares it
will acquire, if applicable, to include a statement in narrative form of a three (3) year
business plan of the Applicant for the proposed bank holding company and, if applicable,
the bank to be acquired.

2.1.5.5 The financial history of the Applicant:

2.1.5.5.1 Provide a narrative description of the financial history of the Applicant and its bank
and deposit taking non-bank subsidiaries over the past three (3) years. Include as
exhibits all annual statements of income and condition filed with the bank regulatory
authority or authorities in each state where the bank holding company maintains a
bank subsidiary or, in the case of a national bank, with the Comptroller of the
Currency; provided that such filings shall not be required with respect to any bank
subsidiary under the jurisdiction of the Delaware State Bank Commissioner.

2.1.5.5.2 Provide for the past three calendar years, copies of all Form 10-Ks.

2.1.5.5.3 Describe regulatory action taken or anticipated or any agreements in lieu thereof
entered into with a regulatory agency, either federal or state, with regard to any bank
subsidiary within the holding company.

2.1.5.6 The effects of the proposed acquisition on competition in Delaware.

2.1.5.7 Describe how this transaction will better meet the needs and convenience of the public in
the State of Delaware.

2.1.5.8 A copy of the application filed with the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
to become a Bank Holding Company.

3.0 Publication

3.1 A proposed form of public notice shall be filed at the time the Notice of Intent (Application) is submitted
for the Commissioner's approval. Said public notice shall include: the name and address of the
Applicant, the subject matter of the application, the name and address of the bank to be acquired, and
a statement indicating: a) for a period of 20 days commencing with the second date of publication,
interested parties may submit written comments to the State Bank Commissioner at 555 E.
Loockerman Street 1110 Forrest Avenue, Dover, Delaware 19901 19904; and b) the application is on
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file in the Office of the State Bank Commissioner and the non-confidential portions thereof will be
available for examination by interested parties during regular office hours.

3.2 Upon written notice from the Commissioner that the proposed public notice is satisfactory, the
Applicant shall cause said public notice to be published once a week for two consecutive weeks in a
newspaper of general circulation in the community in which the head office of the bank of which shares
are to be acquired is located. An affidavit of publication shall be submitted to the Commissioner for the
record.

4.0 Additional Information

4.1 Upon review and consideration of the application, the Commissioner may require any additional
information deemed necessary.

5.0 Confidential Information

5.1 An Applicant may request that specific information included in the Notice of Intent be treated as
confidential.  Any information or exhibits of which the applicant claims the designation of confidential
shall be segregated at the end of the application as a separate exhibit designated as "confidential".
The Commissioner, in his sole discretion, shall determine whether any or all of the information for
which the "confidential" designation is requested by the Applicant meets the criteria for confidentiality
set forth in 29 Del.C. §10112(b)(4).  All portions of the Notice of Intent which the Commissioner does
not designate as "confidential" shall be made available for public inspection and copying in the manner
provided by law with the exception of the copy of the Application filed with the Federal Reserve.

6.0 Fees

6.1 The Notice of Intent (Application) shall be accompanied by a filing fee in the amount of five thousand
seven hundred and fifty dollars ($5,750.00) for the use of the State and a non-refundable processing
fee in the amount of one thousand one hundred and fifty dollars ($1,150.00). Checks shall be made
payable to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner.

7.0 Hearing

7.1 If, after the twenty (20) day comment period, the Commissioner determines a public hearing should be
conducted, such determination shall be made within ten (10) days after the conclusion of the 20-day
comment period. Notice fixing the time, place and date for the holding of a hearing on the application
shall be published at least twenty (20) days prior to the day it is to be held. The hearing shall be
conducted in accordance with Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code.

8.0 Findings and Decision of the Commissioner

8.1 The Findings and Decision approving or disapproving the Application will be issued in accordance with
Chapter 101 of Title 29, Delaware Code.
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OFFICE OF THE STATE BANK COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 5 Delaware Code, Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. §121(b))
5 DE Admin. Code 1101

ORDER

1101 Election to Be Treated for Tax Purposes as a “Subsidiary Corporation” of a Delaware Chartered 
Banking Organization or Trust Company, National Bank Having its Principal Office in Delaware, or Out-of-

State Bank That Operates a Resulting Branch in Delaware

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 10th day of September, 2020, that amended Regulations 801, 1101, 1104,
1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are adopted as Regulations of the State Bank Commissioner.
The effective date of each of these Regulations is October 11, 2020. These Regulations are adopted by the State
Bank Commissioner in accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code and pursuant to the requirements of Chapters
11 and 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, as follows:

1. Regulation 801 is amended by deleting the Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old office mailing and
delivery address and inserting the new office mailing and delivery address and removing a reference to the former
Regulation number.

2. Regulations 1101, 1104, 1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are amended by deleting the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old mailing and delivery address and inserting the new mailing and
delivery address.

3. The State Bank Commissioner is authorized to adopt regulations as provided in Section 121(b) of Title 5 of
the Delaware Code.

4. The Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, provides at Section
10113, in pertinent part:

“(b) Regulations of the following types are exempted from the procedural requirements of this
chapter and may be adopted informally: …

“(4) Nonsubstantive changes in existing regulations to alter style or form or to correct technical
errors; …

“Any regulation adopted pursuant to this subsection, along with a copy of the order adopting said regulation,
shall be filed with the Registrar of Regulations, and the regulation so filed shall become the official regulation as
defined in § 1132 of this title.”

Robert A. Glen
State Bank Commissioner

1101 Election to Be Treated for Tax Purposes as a “Subsidiary Corporation” of a Delaware Chartered 
Banking Organization or Trust Company, National Bank Having its Principal Office in Delaware, or Out-of-

State Bank That Operates a Resulting Branch in Delaware
5 Del.C. §1101(f), §1101A(c)(3)

Effective Date: December 11, 2006 October 11, 2020

1.0 Purpose

1.1 Pursuant to 5 Del.C. §1101(f) and §1101A(c)(3), certain corporations may elect to be treated as a
“subsidiary corporation” of a Delaware chartered banking organization or trust company, a national
bank having its principal office in Delaware, or an out-of-state bank that operates a resulting branch in
Delaware. If a valid election is made, the electing corporation will be taxable on a consolidated basis
with its deemed parent Delaware chartered banking organization or trust company, national bank
having its principal office in Delaware, or out-of-state bank that operates a resulting branch in
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Delaware, and the electing corporation will be exempt from Delaware state corporation income taxes
and occupational license taxes (as provided in 5 Del.C. §1109).

2.0 Who May Elect

2.1 A corporation may make the election only if it meets the following two tests:

2.1.1 Ownership test:   Eighty percent (80%) of the total combined voting power of all classes of voting
stock of the electing corporation (“Electing Corporation”) is owned by an out-of-state bank that
operates a resulting branch in Delaware or, directly or indirectly, by a bank holding company
(“Qualifying Entity”) that also, directly or indirectly, owns all of the stock of a Delaware chartered
banking organization or trust company, a national bank located in Delaware or an out-of-state
bank that operates a resulting branch in Delaware (“Deemed Parent”). For purposes of
determining ownership of the voting power of an Electing Corporation, non-voting stock
convertible into voting stock shall be treated as having been so converted.

2.1.2 In order to determine if this test is met, Question 5 on the election form must be completed. In
Column A of Question 5, list each class of stock or property right which has voting rights or can be
converted into stock with voting rights. In Column B, state the percentage of the Electing
Corporation’s total voting power of that particular class of stock (assuming full conversion). In
Column C, state the percentage of each respective class that the Qualifying Entity owns. If each
figure in Column C is at least 80%, then this first test is met and Column D need not be completed.
If not, Column D should be calculated by multiplying Column B times Column C. The sum of the
figures in Column D must be at least equal to 80%. The ownership test must be met at all times
during the taxable year for which the election is made.

2.2 Employment Test: The Electing Corporation, together with its affiliates (defined by 5 Del.C. §773(1)),
employs by or before the end of the taxable year following the taxable year in which the election was
made at least 200 persons in Delaware.

3.0 Where to File

3.1 The original of the election form must be filed with the State Bank Commissioner, 555 E. Loockerman
Street, Suite 210 1110 Forrest Avenue, Dover, Delaware 19901 19904, and a copy must be filed with
the Delaware Division of Revenue, 820 N. French Street, Wilmington, Delaware  19801.

4.0 When to Make the Election

4.1 The election must be made and filed before the first day of the fourth month of the Electing
Corporation’s taxable year, except that, (1) in the case of a corporation that is newly formed or
acquired by the Qualifying Entity, the election may be made and filed within 90 days of such formation
or acquisition, and such later election shall not be subject to the payment of any additional tax under 5
Del.C. §1104(c) for underpayment of estimated tax or installment for periods before the date of such
election, and (2) with the approval of the Commissioner, a later election may be made, subject to the
payment of any additional tax for underpayment of estimated tax or installment as provided in 5 Del.C.
§1104(c) and applicable regulations of the Commissioner.

5.0 Supplemental Reporting Requirements

5.1 Once an election has been made under 5 Del.C. §1101(f) or §1101A(c)(3) for any Electing
Corporation, and so long as the same remains in effect, each Estimated Franchise Tax Report under
Regulation 1104 or 1111 or 1114 and each Final Franchise Tax Report under Regulation 1105 or 1112
or 1114 filed by the Deemed Parent shall indicate on the first page thereof the name of each Electing
Corporation whose income and expenses are consolidated with that of the Deemed Parent. In
addition, each such consolidated Report filed by the Deemed Parent shall have attached to it separate
Reports completed on an individual non-consolidated basis for each Electing Corporation (complete
such attachments only to the extent necessary to calculate estimated or final taxable income).
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5.2 As long as the election remains in effect, the ownership and employment tests must be met. Therefore,
the election form must be completed each year for each Electing Corporation and attached to the Final
Franchise Tax Report of the Deemed Parent. 

6.0 Termination of Election

6.1 Once an election is made, it remains in effect until terminated (a) by notice of voluntary termination
delivered to the State Bank Commissioner, with a copy to the Delaware Division of Revenue, at any
time during the Electing Corporation’s taxable year (which termination shall be effective as of the first
day of such taxable year), or (b) by failure to meet the ownership test and the employment test
referenced in section 2.1.1 and 2.2 hereof. If either test is first failed at any time during the first six
months of any taxable year, the termination shall relate back to the first day of such taxable year. If
either test is failed at any time during the second six months of any taxable year, the termination shall
relate forward to the first day of the succeeding taxable year. However, an Electing Corporation shall
have the allowable time period referenced in Section 2.2 initially to meet the employment test.

6.2 If an election is terminated, the Deemed Parent shall file an amended Estimated and/or Final
Franchise Tax Report for the year for which the election was originally made, which Estimated and/or
Final Franchise Tax Report shall eliminate the income and expenses of the Electing Corporation. Any
resulting reduction in bank franchise taxes can be utilized by the Deemed Parent as credit (without
interest) against its future bank franchise tax liability.

7.0 Taxable Year

7.1 The “taxable year” of an Electing Corporation shall end on the same date as the taxable year of the
Deemed Parent (as determined for federal income tax reporting purposes), unless a different taxable
year is approved by the State Bank Commissioner.

1101A.pdf Election to be Treated as a Subsidiary Corporation Under 5 Del.C §1101(f) or §1101A(c)(3)
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/final/1101A.pdf

OFFICE OF THE STATE BANK COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 5 Delaware Code, Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. §121(b))
5 DE Admin. Code 1104

ORDER

1104 Estimated Franchise Tax Report

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 10th day of September, 2020, that amended Regulations 801, 1101, 1104,
1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are adopted as Regulations of the State Bank Commissioner.
The effective date of each of these Regulations is October 11, 2020. These Regulations are adopted by the State
Bank Commissioner in accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code and pursuant to the requirements of Chapters
11 and 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, as follows:

1. Regulation 801 is amended by deleting the Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old office mailing and
delivery address and inserting the new office mailing and delivery address and removing a reference to the former
Regulation number.

2. Regulations 1101, 1104, 1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are amended by deleting the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old mailing and delivery address and inserting the new mailing and
delivery address.

3. The State Bank Commissioner is authorized to adopt regulations as provided in Section 121(b) of Title 5 of
the Delaware Code.

4. The Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, provides at Section
10113, in pertinent part:
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“(b) Regulations of the following types are exempted from the procedural requirements of this
chapter and may be adopted informally: …

“(4) Nonsubstantive changes in existing regulations to alter style or form or to correct technical
errors; …

“Any regulation adopted pursuant to this subsection, along with a copy of the order adopting said regulation,
shall be filed with the Registrar of Regulations, and the regulation so filed shall become the official regulation as
defined in § 1132 of this title.”

Robert A. Glen
State Bank Commissioner

1104 Estimated Franchise Tax Report
5 Del.C. Ch. 11

Effective Date: February 11, 2017 October 11, 2020

1.0 This report shall be completed by any banking organization (other than a resulting branch in this State of an
out-of-state bank, as defined in §1101(a) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code) or trust company with an estimated tax
liability in excess of $10,000 in a given year. The completed report is to be filed in the Office of the State Bank
Commissioner on or before March 1 of the current year. Instructions for the preparation of this report are found in
Regulation 1103.

1104A.pdf Estimated Franchise Tax Report
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/final/1104A.pdf

OFFICE OF THE STATE BANK COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 5 Delaware Code, Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. §121(b))
5 DE Admin. Code 1105

ORDER

1105 Final Franchise Tax Report

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 10th day of September, 2020, that amended Regulations 801, 1101, 1104,
1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are adopted as Regulations of the State Bank Commissioner.
The effective date of each of these Regulations is October 11, 2020. These Regulations are adopted by the State
Bank Commissioner in accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code and pursuant to the requirements of Chapters
11 and 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, as follows:

1. Regulation 801 is amended by deleting the Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old office mailing and
delivery address and inserting the new office mailing and delivery address and removing a reference to the former
Regulation number.

2. Regulations 1101, 1104, 1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are amended by deleting the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old mailing and delivery address and inserting the new mailing and
delivery address.

3. The State Bank Commissioner is authorized to adopt regulations as provided in Section 121(b) of Title 5 of
the Delaware Code.

4. The Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, provides at Section
10113, in pertinent part:

“(b) Regulations of the following types are exempted from the procedural requirements of this
chapter and may be adopted informally: …
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“(4) Nonsubstantive changes in existing regulations to alter style or form or to correct technical
errors; …

“Any regulation adopted pursuant to this subsection, along with a copy of the order adopting said regulation,
shall be filed with the Registrar of Regulations, and the regulation so filed shall become the official regulation as
defined in § 1132 of this title.”

Robert A. Glen
State Bank Commissioner

1105 Final Franchise Tax Report
5 Del.C. Ch. 11

Effective Date: February 11, 2017 October 11, 2020

This report shall be completed by all banking organizations (other than resulting branches in this State of out-
of-state banks, as defined in §1101(a) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code) and trust companies and submitted to the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner on or before January 30; provided, however, that a banking organization
may submit this report to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner on or before any later date allowed by the
Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council guidelines for filing its Report of Condition and Income. Income
reported is for the previous calendar year. Instructions for the preparation of this report are found in Regulation
1103.

1105A.pdf Final Franchise Tax Report
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/final/1105A.pdf

OFFICE OF THE STATE BANK COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 5 Delaware Code, Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. §121(b))
5 DE Admin. Code 1107

ORDER

1107 Estimated Franchise Tax Report Federal Savings Banks Not Headquartered in Delaware

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 10th day of September, 2020, that amended Regulations 801, 1101, 1104,
1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are adopted as Regulations of the State Bank Commissioner.
The effective date of each of these Regulations is October 11, 2020. These Regulations are adopted by the State
Bank Commissioner in accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code and pursuant to the requirements of Chapters
11 and 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, as follows:

1. Regulation 801 is amended by deleting the Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old office mailing and
delivery address and inserting the new office mailing and delivery address and removing a reference to the former
Regulation number.

2. Regulations 1101, 1104, 1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are amended by deleting the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old mailing and delivery address and inserting the new mailing and
delivery address.

3. The State Bank Commissioner is authorized to adopt regulations as provided in Section 121(b) of Title 5 of
the Delaware Code.

4. The Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, provides at Section
10113, in pertinent part:

“(b) Regulations of the following types are exempted from the procedural requirements of this
chapter and may be adopted informally: …
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“(4) Nonsubstantive changes in existing regulations to alter style or form or to correct technical
errors; …

“Any regulation adopted pursuant to this subsection, along with a copy of the order adopting said regulation,
shall be filed with the Registrar of Regulations, and the regulation so filed shall become the official regulation as
defined in § 1132 of this title.”

Robert A. Glen
State Bank Commissioner

1107 Estimated Franchise Tax Report Federal Savings Banks Not Headquartered in Delaware
5 Del.C. Ch. 11

Effective Date: February 11, 2017 October 11, 2020

This report shall be completed by any federal savings bank not headquartered in this State but maintaining
branches in this State with an estimated tax liability in excess of $10,000 in any given year. The completed report is
to be filed in the Office of the State Bank Commissioner on or before March 1 of the current year. Instructions for
the preparation of this report are found in Regulation 1106.

1107A.pdf Estimated Franchise Tax Report Federal Savings Banks Not Headquartered in Delaware
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/final/1107A.pdf

OFFICE OF THE STATE BANK COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 5 Delaware Code, Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. §121(b))
5 DE Admin. Code 1108

ORDER

1108 Final Franchise Tax Report Federal Savings Banks Not Headquartered in Delaware

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 10th day of September, 2020, that amended Regulations 801, 1101, 1104,
1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are adopted as Regulations of the State Bank Commissioner.
The effective date of each of these Regulations is October 11, 2020. These Regulations are adopted by the State
Bank Commissioner in accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code and pursuant to the requirements of Chapters
11 and 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, as follows:

1. Regulation 801 is amended by deleting the Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old office mailing and
delivery address and inserting the new office mailing and delivery address and removing a reference to the former
Regulation number.

2. Regulations 1101, 1104, 1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are amended by deleting the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old mailing and delivery address and inserting the new mailing and
delivery address.

3. The State Bank Commissioner is authorized to adopt regulations as provided in Section 121(b) of Title 5 of
the Delaware Code.

4. The Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, provides at Section
10113, in pertinent part:

“(b) Regulations of the following types are exempted from the procedural requirements of this
chapter and may be adopted informally: …

“(4) Nonsubstantive changes in existing regulations to alter style or form or to correct technical
errors; …
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“Any regulation adopted pursuant to this subsection, along with a copy of the order adopting said regulation,
shall be filed with the Registrar of Regulations, and the regulation so filed shall become the official regulation as
defined in § 1132 of this title.”

Robert A. Glen
State Bank Commissioner

1108 Final Franchise Tax Report Federal Savings Banks Not Headquartered in Delaware
5 Del.C. Ch. 11

Effective Date: February 11, 2017 October 11, 2020

This report shall be completed by any federal savings bank not headquartered in this State but maintaining
branches in this State and submitted to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner on or before January 30.
Income reported is for the previous calendar year. Instructions for the preparation of this report are found in
Regulation 1106.

1108A.pdf Final Franchise Tax Report Federal Savings Banks Not Headquartered in Delaware
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/final/1108A.pdf

OFFICE OF THE STATE BANK COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 5 Delaware Code, Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. §121(b))
5 DE Admin. Code 1111

ORDER

1111 Estimated Franchise Tax Report for Resulting Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 10th day of September, 2020, that amended Regulations 801, 1101, 1104,
1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are adopted as Regulations of the State Bank Commissioner.
The effective date of each of these Regulations is October 11, 2020. These Regulations are adopted by the State
Bank Commissioner in accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code and pursuant to the requirements of Chapters
11 and 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, as follows:

1. Regulation 801 is amended by deleting the Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old office mailing and
delivery address and inserting the new office mailing and delivery address and removing a reference to the former
Regulation number.

2. Regulations 1101, 1104, 1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are amended by deleting the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old mailing and delivery address and inserting the new mailing and
delivery address.

3. The State Bank Commissioner is authorized to adopt regulations as provided in Section 121(b) of Title 5 of
the Delaware Code.

4. The Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, provides at Section
10113, in pertinent part:

“(b) Regulations of the following types are exempted from the procedural requirements of this
chapter and may be adopted informally: …

“(4) Nonsubstantive changes in existing regulations to alter style or form or to correct technical
errors; …

“Any regulation adopted pursuant to this subsection, along with a copy of the order adopting said regulation,
shall be filed with the Registrar of Regulations, and the regulation so filed shall become the official regulation as
defined in § 1132 of this title.”
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Robert A. Glen
State Bank Commissioner

1111 Estimated Franchise Tax Report for Resulting Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks
5 Del.C. Ch. 11

Effective Date: February 11, 2017 October 11, 2020

This report shall be completed by the resulting branch(es) in this State of an out of state bank with an estimated
tax liability in excess of $10,000 in a given year. The completed report is to be filed in the Office of the State Bank
Commissioner on or before March 1 of the current year. Instructions for the preparation of this report are found in
Regulation 1110.

1111A.pdf Estimated Franchise Tax Report for Resulting Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/final/1111A.pdf

OFFICE OF THE STATE BANK COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 5 Delaware Code, Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. §121(b))
5 DE Admin. Code 1112

ORDER

1112 Final Franchise Tax Report for Resulting Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 10th day of September, 2020, that amended Regulations 801, 1101, 1104,
1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are adopted as Regulations of the State Bank Commissioner.
The effective date of each of these Regulations is October 11, 2020. These Regulations are adopted by the State
Bank Commissioner in accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code and pursuant to the requirements of Chapters
11 and 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, as follows:

1. Regulation 801 is amended by deleting the Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old office mailing and
delivery address and inserting the new office mailing and delivery address and removing a reference to the former
Regulation number.

2. Regulations 1101, 1104, 1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are amended by deleting the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old mailing and delivery address and inserting the new mailing and
delivery address.

3. The State Bank Commissioner is authorized to adopt regulations as provided in Section 121(b) of Title 5 of
the Delaware Code.

4. The Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, provides at Section
10113, in pertinent part:

“(b) Regulations of the following types are exempted from the procedural requirements of this
chapter and may be adopted informally: …

“(4) Nonsubstantive changes in existing regulations to alter style or form or to correct technical
errors; …

“Any regulation adopted pursuant to this subsection, along with a copy of the order adopting said regulation,
shall be filed with the Registrar of Regulations, and the regulation so filed shall become the official regulation as
defined in § 1132 of this title.”

Robert A. Glen
State Bank Commissioner
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1112 Final Franchise Tax Report for Resulting Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks
5 Del.C. Ch. 11

Effective Date: February 11, 2017 October 11, 2020

This report shall be completed by all resulting branch(es) in this state of out-of-state banks and submitted to
the Office of the State Bank Commissioner on or before January 30; provided, however, that a resulting branch of
an out-of-state bank may submit this report to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner on or before any later
date allowed by the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council guidelines for filings its Report of Condition
and Income. Income reported is for the previous calendar year. Instructions for the preparation of this report are
found in Regulation 1110.

1112A.pdf Final Franchise Tax Report for Resulting Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/final/1112A.pdf

OFFICE OF THE STATE BANK COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 5 Delaware Code, Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. §121(b))
5 DE Admin. Code 1113

ORDER

1113 Election by a Subsidiary Corporation of a Banking Organization or Trust Company to be Taxed in 
Accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 10th day of September, 2020, that amended Regulations 801, 1101, 1104,
1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are adopted as Regulations of the State Bank Commissioner.
The effective date of each of these Regulations is October 11, 2020. These Regulations are adopted by the State
Bank Commissioner in accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code and pursuant to the requirements of Chapters
11 and 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, as follows:

1. Regulation 801 is amended by deleting the Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old office mailing and
delivery address and inserting the new office mailing and delivery address and removing a reference to the former
Regulation number.

2. Regulations 1101, 1104, 1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are amended by deleting the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old mailing and delivery address and inserting the new mailing and
delivery address.

3. The State Bank Commissioner is authorized to adopt regulations as provided in Section 121(b) of Title 5 of
the Delaware Code.

4. The Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, provides at Section
10113, in pertinent part:

“(b) Regulations of the following types are exempted from the procedural requirements of this
chapter and may be adopted informally: …

“(4) Nonsubstantive changes in existing regulations to alter style or form or to correct technical
errors; …

“Any regulation adopted pursuant to this subsection, along with a copy of the order adopting said regulation,
shall be filed with the Registrar of Regulations, and the regulation so filed shall become the official regulation as
defined in § 1132 of this title.”

Robert A. Glen
State Bank Commissioner
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1113 Election by a Subsidiary Corporation of a Banking Organization or Trust Company to be Taxed in 
Accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30

Effective Date: February 11, 2017 October 11, 2020

1.0 Qualifications for Election

Pursuant to 5 Del.C. §1101(e) and §1101A(c)(2), a subsidiary corporation of a banking organization or trust
company may elect to be taxed in accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30 if the subsidiary is not itself a banking
organization or trust company, if the subsidiary is not described in §1902(b)(8) of Title 30, and if the subsidiary is
not engaged in the sale, distribution, underwriting of, or dealing in, securities.

2.0 Effect

If a valid election is made, the electing subsidiary shall not be considered a subsidiary corporation of its parent
banking organization or trust company for the purposes of Chapter 11 of Title 5, and the income of the electing
subsidiary shall be excluded from the taxable income of its parent banking organization or trust company for the tax
year involved.

3.0 Filing

An electing subsidiary shall make this election by filing the original of Form A under this regulation with the
State Bank Commissioner; 555 E. Loockerman Street; Suite 210; 1110 Forrest Avenue; Dover, DE, 19901 19904
and a copy with the Delaware Division of Revenue; 820 N. French Street; Wilmington, DE 19801.

4.0 Reporting Requirements

Every year, an electing subsidiary shall file with the State Bank Commissioner on or before the date that its
Delaware State Income Tax Return is due (1) Form B under this regulation, and (2) a copy of its Delaware State
Income Return as filed with the Delaware Division of Revenue.

5.0 Termination of Election

An election under this regulation remains in effect until terminated. An electing subsidiary may terminate its
election by filing a notice to that effect with the State Bank Commissioner and the Delaware Division of Revenue.

1113A.pdf FORM A Election of a Subsidiary Corporation to be Taxed in Accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 
30 and FORM B Annual Report of a Subsidiary Corporation Electing to be Taxed in Accordance with 

Chapter 19 of Title 30
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/final/1113A.pdf

OFFICE OF THE STATE BANK COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 5 Delaware Code, Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. §121(b))
5 DE Admin. Code 1114

ORDER

1114 Alternative Franchise Tax

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 10th day of September, 2020, that amended Regulations 801, 1101, 1104,
1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are adopted as Regulations of the State Bank Commissioner.
The effective date of each of these Regulations is October 11, 2020. These Regulations are adopted by the State
Bank Commissioner in accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code and pursuant to the requirements of Chapters
11 and 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, as follows:

1. Regulation 801 is amended by deleting the Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old office mailing and

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/final/1113A.pdf
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https://banking.delaware.gov/


FINAL REGULATIONS 395
delivery address and inserting the new office mailing and delivery address and removing a reference to the former
Regulation number.

2. Regulations 1101, 1104, 1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are amended by deleting the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old mailing and delivery address and inserting the new mailing and
delivery address.

3. The State Bank Commissioner is authorized to adopt regulations as provided in Section 121(b) of Title 5 of
the Delaware Code.

4. The Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, provides at Section
10113, in pertinent part:

“(b) Regulations of the following types are exempted from the procedural requirements of this
chapter and may be adopted informally: …

“(4) Nonsubstantive changes in existing regulations to alter style or form or to correct technical
errors; …

“Any regulation adopted pursuant to this subsection, along with a copy of the order adopting said regulation,
shall be filed with the Registrar of Regulations, and the regulation so filed shall become the official regulation as
defined in § 1132 of this title.”

Robert A. Glen
State Bank Commissioner

1114 Alternative Franchise Tax
Chapter 11 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code

Effective Date: February 11, 2017 October 11, 2020

1.0 This regulation applies to banking organizations and trust companies, other than federal savings banks not
headquartered in this State but maintaining branches in this State, that annually elect to pay an alternative
franchise tax pursuant to Section 1101A of Title 5 of the Delaware Code. The election to pay the alternative
franchise tax is made by filing an original final alternative franchise tax return on the due date, or an amended
return within 180 days of the due date of the original return.

2.0 Definitions

“Bank” means every bank and every corporation conducting a banking business of any kind or plan
whose principal place of business is in this State, except a national bank.

“Banking organization” means:

• A bank or bank and trust company organized and existing under the laws of this State;
• A national bank, including a federal savings bank, with its principal office in this State;
• An Edge Act corporation organized pursuant to § 25(a) of the Federal Reserve Act, 12 U.S.C. §

611 et seq. (an “Edge Act Corporation”), or a state chartered corporation exercising the powers
granted thereunto pursuant to an agreement with the Board of Governors of the Federal
Reserve System (an “Agreement Corporation”), and maintaining an office in this State;

• A federal branch or agency licensed pursuant to § 4 and § 5 of the International Banking Act of
1978, 12 U.S.C. § 3101 et seq., to maintain an office in this State;

• A foreign bank branch, foreign bank limited purpose branch or foreign bank agency organized
pursuant to Chapter 14 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, or a resulting branch in this State of a
foreign bank authorized pursuant to Chapter 14 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code; or

• A resulting branch in this State of an out-of-state bank, or a branch office in this State of an out-
of-state bank.

“International Banking Facility” means a set of asset and liability accounts, segregated on the
books and records of a banking organization, that includes only international banking facility deposits,
borrowings and extensions of credit.
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“International Banking Transaction” shall mean any of the following transactions, whether engaged
in by a banking organization, any foreign branch thereof (established pursuant to Section 771 of Title 5
of the Delaware Code or federal law) or any subsidiary corporation directly or indirectly owned by any
banking organization:

• The financing of the exportation from, or the importation into, the United States or between
jurisdictions abroad of tangible property or services;

• The financing of the production, preparation, storage or transportation of tangible personal
property or services which are identifiable as being directly and solely for export from, or import
into, the United States or between jurisdictions abroad;

• The financing of contracts, projects or activities to be performed substantially abroad, except
those transactions secured by a mortgage, deed of trust or other lien upon real property located
in this State;

• The receipt of deposits or borrowings or the extensions of credit by an international banking
facility, except the loan or deposit of funds secured by mortgage, deed of trust or other lien upon
real property located in this State;

• The underwriting, distributing and dealing in debt and equity securities outside of the United
States and the conduct of any activities permissible to an Edge Act Corporation or an Agreement
Corporation described above, or any of its subsidiaries, in connection with the transaction of
banking or other financial operations; or

• The entering into foreign exchange trading or hedging transactions in connection with the
activities described in paragraphs (1) through (5) above.

“National Bank” means a banking association organized under the authority of the United States and
having a principal place of business in this State.

“Net Operating Income Before Taxes” means all pre-tax net income from the operations of a
banking organization or trust company, including extraordinary items and other adjustments, computed
in accordance with principles used by the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council or other
appropriate federal authority.

“Out-of-state bank” has the same meaning as in Section 795 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, which
is (i) a State bank, as defined in the Federal Deposit Insurance Act, as amended, at 12 U.S.C. §
1813(a), that is not chartered under Delaware law, or (ii) a national bank association created under the
National Bank Act (12 U.S.C. § 21 et seq.) whose organization certificate identifies an address outside
Delaware as the place at which its discount and deposit operations are to be carried out.

“Resulting branch in this State of an out-of-state bank” has the same meaning as in Section
1101(a) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, which is a branch office in this State of an out-of-state bank
resulting from a merger as provided in Subchapter VII of Chapter 7 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code,
and, in addition, a branch office in this State of an out-of-state bank.

“Securities Business” means to engage in the sale, distribution and underwriting of, and deal in,
stocks, bonds, debentures, notes or other securities.

“Trust Company” means a trust company or corporation doing a trust company business which has a
principal place of business in this State.

3.0  Instructions for Filing the Estimated Alternative Franchise Tax Return

3.1 A banking organization or trust company whose alternative franchise tax liability for the current year is
estimated to exceed $10,000 should file an estimated alternative franchise tax return with the State
Bank Commissioner, instead of the estimated franchise tax report in Regulation No. 1104 or No. 1111,
and pay estimated alternative franchise tax:

3.2 Filing. The estimated alternative franchise tax return shall be filed with the State Bank Commissioner
on the first day of March of the current year. Filing an estimated tax return for a particular taxation
method is not a mandatory election of that particular method. Additional tax due that results from the
underpayment of estimated taxes will be computed on the basis of the final method properly chosen.

3.3  Penalty for late filing. A late filing penalty shall be assessed against the taxpayer in the amount of $25
for each day after the due date that the taxpayer fails to file the estimated alternative franchise tax
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return required by subsection 3.2, or an estimated franchise tax report pursuant to Regulation No.
1104 or No. 1111, unless the State Bank Commissioner is satisfied that such failure was not willful.

3.4 Form. The estimated alternative franchise tax return is contained in this regulation as Form 1114E.

3.5 Rounding. All amounts shall be rounded to the nearest dollar.

3.6 Calculation of estimated alternative franchise tax. The total estimated alternative franchise tax shall be
calculated as follows:

3.6.1 The estimated net operating income before taxes of the banking organization or trust company;

3.6.2 Plus the estimated net operating income before taxes of any corporation(s) making an election as
provided in Regulation No. 1101;

3.6.3 Less any deductions set forth in Section 1101A(c)(1) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code;

3.6.4 Less the estimated net operating income before taxes of any subsidiary corporation(s) and Edge
Act corporation(s) making an election as provided in Regulation No. 1113;

3.6.5 Apportion the entire net income to the State of Delaware in accordance with Section 1101A(c)(6)
of Title 5 of the Delaware Code (attach Schedule 1 – Apportionment Percentage Calculation
Worksheet [apportionment percentage shall be rounded to the nearest tenth of a percent]);

3.6.6 Multiply the elective income tax base by the rate of taxation set forth in Section 1101A(c)(7) of Title
5 of the Delaware Code;

3.6.7 Plus the estimated location benefit tax liability calculated in accordance with Section 1101A(d) of
Title 5 of the Delaware Code, (attach Schedule 2 – Location Benefit Tax Calculation Worksheet);

3.6.8 Adjust the subtotal estimated alternative franchise tax for applicable employment tax credits
pursuant to Section 1105 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, calculated in accordance with
Regulation No. 1109;

3.6.9 Adjust the subtotal estimated alternative franchise tax for TraveLink tax credits calculated in
accordance with Department of Transportation (DelDOT) TraveLink tax credit reporting
requirements;

3.6.10 Adjust the subtotal estimated alternative franchise tax for Historic Preservation Tax Credits
calculated in accordance with Chapter 18 of Title 30 of the Delaware Code and the regulations
thereunder.

3.6.11 Adjust the subtotal estimated alternative franchise tax for any other applicable tax credit(s) [attach
supporting schedule identifying the tax credit(s)].

3.7 Payment of estimated alternative franchise tax. The estimated alternative franchise tax liability shall be
due and payable as follows:

3.7.1 40% due on or before June 1 of the current taxable year;

3.7.2 20% due on or before September 1 of the current taxable year;

3.7.3 20% due on or before December 1 of the current taxable year.

4.0  Instructions for Filing the Final Alternative Franchise Tax Return 

4.1 Filing. The December 31 call report, verified by oath, setting forth the net operating income of the
banking organization or trust company and the final alternative franchise tax return, setting forth the
"taxable income" of the banking organization or trust company, shall be filed with the Office of the State
Bank Commissioner on or before January 30; provided, however, that a banking organization may file
this return on or before any later date allowed by the Federal Financial Institutions Examination
Council guidelines for filing its Report of Condition and Income. A banking organization or trust
company whose original final franchise tax report was filed pursuant to Regulation No. 1105 or No.
1112 may elect to pay the alternative franchise tax pursuant to Section 1101A of Title 5 of the Delaware
Code by filing an amended final alternative franchise tax return, as provided in this regulation, within
180 days of the due date of the original return.

4.2 Penalty for late filing. A late filing penalty shall be assessed against the taxpayer in the amount of $25
for each day after the due date that the taxpayer fails to file the final alternative franchise tax return
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required by subsection 4.1, or the final franchise tax report in Regulation No. 1105 or No. 1112, unless
the State Bank Commissioner is satisfied that such failure was not willful.

4.3 Form. The final alternative franchise tax return is contained in this regulation as Form 1114F.

4.4 Rounding. All amounts shall be rounded to the nearest dollar.

4.5 Calculation of final alternative franchise tax. The total final alternative franchise tax shall be calculated
as follows:

4.5.1 The net operating income before taxes of the banking organization or trust company, (attach a
statement of net income that is filed with an appropriate financial regulatory agency);

4.5.2 Plus the net operating income before taxes of any corporation(s) making an election as provided in
Regulation No. 1101, (attach Regulation 1101 form – Election To Be Treated As A Subsidiary
Corporation Under Sections 1101(f) or 1101A(c)(3) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code and a separate
report of income for each electing corporation);

4.5.3 Less any deductions set forth in Section 1101A(c)(1) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code;

4.5.4 Less the net operating income before taxes of any subsidiary corporation(s) and Edge Act
corporation(s) making an election as provided in Regulation No. 1113;

4.5.5 Apportion the entire net income to the State of Delaware in accordance with Section 1101A(c)(6)
of Title 5 of the Delaware Code (attach Schedule 1 – Apportionment Percentage Calculation
Worksheet [apportionment percentage shall be rounded to the nearest tenth of a percent]);

4.5.6 Multiply the elective income tax base by the rate of taxation set forth in Section 1101A(c)(7) of Title
5 of the Delaware Code;

4.5.7 Plus the location benefit tax liability calculated in accordance with Section 1101A(d) of Title 5 of the
Delaware Code, computed as of December 31 of the year prior to the year for which alternative
franchise tax is paid (attach Schedule 2 – Location Benefit Tax Calculation Worksheet);

4.5.8 Adjust the subtotal alternative franchise tax for applicable employment tax credits pursuant to
Section 1105 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code calculated in accordance with Regulation No. 1109,
(attach Employment Tax Credit Calculation Worksheet);

4.5.9 Adjust the subtotal alternative franchise tax for TraveLink tax credits calculated in accordance with
Department of Transportation (DelDOT) TraveLink tax credit reporting requirements, (attach
DelDOT approval and calculation worksheet);

4.5.10 Adjust the subtotal alternative franchise tax for Historic Preservation Tax Credits calculated in
accordance with Chapter 18 of Title 30 of the Delaware Code and the regulations thereunder,
(attach a Certificate of Completion issued by the Delaware State Historic Preservation Office
certifying that the credits have been properly earned, in accordance with Section 1105(g) of Title 5
of the Delaware Code, and if the credits have been transferred, sold or assigned to the taxpayer by
another person, also attach a Certificate of Transfer in accordance with Section 1814(c) of Title 30
of the Delaware Code);

4.5.11 Adjust the subtotal alternative franchise tax for any other applicable tax credit(s) [attach supporting
schedule identifying the tax credit(s)].

5.0 Payment of Final Alternative Franchise Tax

5.1 Taxes owed for the previous calendar year are due and payable on or before March 1 of the following
year. Checks or other forms of payment should be made payable to the State of Delaware and directed
to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner.

5.2 The amount due and payable on or before March 1 for the previous calendar year shall be the final
alternative franchise tax, less any estimated tax payments made for the taxable year, plus any
additional tax due to underpayment of estimated alternative franchise tax or installment. If the final
alternative franchise tax is not paid by March 1, a penalty for late payment of the final alternative
franchise tax shall be assessed.
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6.0 Additional Tax Due to Underpayment of Estimated Alternative Franchise Tax or Installment

6.1 In the case of any underpayment of alternative estimated franchise tax or an installment of estimated
alternative tax required by Chapter 11 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, there shall be added to the tax
for the taxable year an amount determined at the rate of 0.05 percent per day upon the amount of the
underpayment for the period of the underpayment. The amount of the underpayment shall be the
excess of:

6.1.1 The amount of the estimated alternative franchise tax or installment payment which would be
required to be made if the estimated alternative tax were equal to 80 percent of the tax shown on
the final return for the taxable year, or if no return were filed, 80 percent of the tax for such year;
over

6.1.2 The amount, if any, of the estimated alternative tax or installment paid on or before the last date
prescribed for payment.

6.2 The period of the underpayment shall run from the date the estimated alternative franchise tax or
installment was required to be paid to the earlier of the date when such estimated alternative tax or
installment is paid or the date of the final payment of tax for the year;

6.3 Notwithstanding the above, the addition to the tax with respect to any underpayment of estimated
alternative franchise tax or any installment shall not be imposed if the total amount of all payments of
estimated alternative tax made on or before the last date prescribed for the payment thereof equals or
exceeds the amount which would have been required to be paid on or before such date if the
estimated alternative tax were the tax shown on the final return of the banking organization or trust
company for the preceding taxable year.

7.0 Penalty - Late Payment of Final Alternative Franchise Tax

7.1 In the case of a late payment of final alternative franchise tax as required by Chapter 11 of Title 5 of the
Delaware Code, there shall be added to the tax a penalty in an amount determined at the rate of 0.05
percent per day until required payment is made.

8.0  Election to be listed as a "Subsidiary Corporation"

8.1 Regulation No. 1101 shall apply to elections to be treated as a subsidiary corporation pursuant to
Section 1101A(c)(3) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code.

8.2 Any corporation which has elected to be treated as a "subsidiary corporation" of a banking
organization or trust company pursuant to Section 1101A(c)(3) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code and
has filed with the State Bank Commissioner the required election form in accordance with Regulation
No. 1101 shall provide a report of income for each electing corporation as of December 31 of each
year to be submitted in conjunction with the final alternative franchise tax return due January 30;
provided, however, that a banking organization may file this return on or before any later date allowed
by the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council guidelines for filing its Report of Condition
and Income.

8.3 As long as the election remains in effect, the ownership and employment tests must be met. Therefore,
the election form in Regulation No. 1101 must be completed each year for each Electing Corporation
and submitted with the final alternative franchise tax return.

9.0  Election by a Subsidiary Corporation of a Banking Organization or Trust Company to be Taxed in 
Accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30

9.1 Regulation No. 1113 shall apply to elections to be taxed in accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30
pursuant to Section 1101A(c)(2) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code.

10.0 Election by an Edge Act Corporation to be Taxed in Accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30

10.1 Regulation No. 1113 shall apply to elections to be taxed in accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30
pursuant to Section 1101A(c)(4) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code.
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11.0 Instructions for Filing an Amendment to the Final Alternative Franchise Tax Return

11.1 Filing. To amend a previously filed final alternative franchise tax return, or to elect the alternative
franchise tax method as provided in Section 1101A(a) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, place a check
mark () in the box provided on Form 1114F and complete the return in accordance with Section 4 of
this regulation. Attach a complete copy of the original filing along with a statement of explanation for all
changes.

1114A.pdf Form 1114E - Estimated Alternative Franchise Tax Return and Form 1114F Final Alternative 
Franchise Tax Return

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/final/1114A.pdf

OFFICE OF THE STATE BANK COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 5 Delaware Code, Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. §121(b))
8 DE Admin. Code 1201

ORDER

1201 Policies and Procedures Regarding FOIA Requests

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 10th day of September, 2020, that amended Regulations 801, 1101, 1104,
1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are adopted as Regulations of the State Bank Commissioner.
The effective date of each of these Regulations is October 11, 2020. These Regulations are adopted by the State
Bank Commissioner in accordance with Title 5 of the Delaware Code and pursuant to the requirements of Chapters
11 and 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, as follows:

1. Regulation 801 is amended by deleting the Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old office mailing and
delivery address and inserting the new office mailing and delivery address and removing a reference to the former
Regulation number.

2. Regulations 1101, 1104, 1105, 1107, 1108, 1111, 1112, 1113, 1114, and 1201 are amended by deleting the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner’s old mailing and delivery address and inserting the new mailing and
delivery address.

3. The State Bank Commissioner is authorized to adopt regulations as provided in Section 121(b) of Title 5 of
the Delaware Code.

4. The Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, provides at Section
10113, in pertinent part:

“(b) Regulations of the following types are exempted from the procedural requirements of this
chapter and may be adopted informally: …

“(4) Nonsubstantive changes in existing regulations to alter style or form or to correct technical
errors; …

“Any regulation adopted pursuant to this subsection, along with a copy of the order adopting said regulation,
shall be filed with the Registrar of Regulations, and the regulation so filed shall become the official regulation as
defined in § 1132 of this title.”

Robert A. Glen
State Bank Commissioner

1201 Policies and Procedures Regarding FOIA Requests

Effective date: January 11, 2012 October 11, 2020
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1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to set forth the rules and procedures for responding to requests from
the public for Public Records under Title 29, Chapter 100 of the Delaware Code, the Freedom of
Information Act.

Agency employees are reminded that all Public Records requested under FOIA shall be considered
open and subject to disclosure to the Requesting Party, and any information therein may be withheld
only if a specific exception applies. Exceptions shall be construed in a manner that shall further the
accountability of the Agency and to comply with the policy that the public shall have reasonable access
to Public Records.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Agency” means Office of the State Bank Commissioner. 

“Commissioner” means the State Bank Commissioner for the State of Delaware.

“FOIA” means the Freedom of Information Act as established pursuant to Title 29, Chapter 100 of the
Delaware Code.

“FOIA Coordinator” shall mean the person designated by the Commissioner to receive and process
FOIA Requests.

“FOIA Request” or “Request” means a request to inspect or copy Public Records pursuant to 29
Del.C. §10003 and in accordance with this regulation.

“FOIA Request Form” means the form promulgated by the Office of the Attorney General upon which
requests for Public Records may be made.

“Non-Custodial Records” shall have the meaning set forth in Section subsection 3.6.

“Public Record” shall have the meaning set forth in 29 Del.C. §10002.

“Requesting Party” shall mean the party filing a FOIA Request.

3.0 Records Request, Response Procedures and Access

3.1 Form of Request

3.1.1 All FOIA Requests shall be made in writing to the Agency in person, by email, by fax, or online in
accordance with this regulation. FOIA Requests may be submitted using the FOIA Request Form
promulgated by the Office of the Attorney General; provided, however, that any FOIA Request that
otherwise conforms with this regulation shall not be denied solely because the request is not on
the promulgated form.  Copies of the FOIA Request Form may be obtained from the Agency’s
website, or from the office or website of any state agency.

3.1.2 All requests shall adequately describe the records sought in sufficient detail to enable the Agency
to locate such records with reasonable effort. The Requesting Party shall be as specific as
possible when requesting records. To assist the Agency in locating the requested records, the
Agency may request that the Requesting Party provide additional information known to the
Requesting Party, such the types of records, dates, parties to correspondence, and subject matter
of the requested records.

3.2 Method of Filing Request

3.2.1 FOIA Requests may be made by mail or in person to the FOIA Coordinator at the Office of the
State Bank Commissioner; 555 East Loockerman Street 1110 Forrest Avenue, Dover, Delaware
19901 19904; by email to the Agency through the contact link on its website; by fax at 302-739-
3609; or via the online request form on the Agency’s home page at http://
www.banking.delaware.gov/.

3.3 FOIA Coordinator

3.3.1 The Commissioner shall designate a FOIA Coordinator, who shall serve as the point of contact for
FOIA Requests and coordinate the Agency’s responses thereto. The FOIA Coordinator shall be
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identified on the Agency's website. The FOIA Coordinator may designate other Agency employees
to perform specific duties and functions hereunder.

3.3.2 The FOIA Coordinator and/or his or her designee, working in cooperation with other Agency
employees and representatives, shall make every reasonable effort to assist the Requesting Party
in identifying the records being sought, and to assist the Agency in locating and providing the
requested records. The FOIA Coordinator and/or his or her designee will also work to foster
cooperation between the Agency and the Requesting Party. Without limitation, if a Requesting
Party initiates a FOIA Request that would more appropriately be directed to another agency, the
FOIA Coordinator shall promptly forward such request to the relevant agency and promptly notify
the Requesting Party that the request has been forwarded. The Agency may close the initial
request upon receipt of a written confirmation from the FOIA Coordinator of the relevant agency
that the relevant agency has received such request. The Agency shall provide the Requesting
Party with the name and phone number of the FOIA Coordinator of the relevant agency.

3.3.3 In addition to the foregoing responsibilities, beginning on January 1, 2012, the FOIA Coordinator
shall maintain a document tracking all FOIA Requests for the then-current calendar year. For each
FOIA Request, the document shall include, at a minimum: the Requesting Party’s contact
information; the date the Agency received the Request; the Agency’s response deadline pursuant
to § subsection 3.4; the date of the Agency’s response pursuant to § subsection 3.4 (including the
reasons for any extension pursuant to § subsection 3.4.1); the names, contact information and
dates of correspondence with individuals contacted in connection with requests pursuant to §§
subsections 3.3.2, 3.5 and 3.6; the dates of review by the Agency pursuant to § subsection 3.7 and
the names of individuals who conducted such reviews; whether documents were made available;
the amount of copying and/or administrative fees assessed; and the date of final disposition.

3.4 Agency Response to Requests

3.4.1 The Agency shall respond to a FOIA Request as soon as possible, but in any event within fifteen
(15) business days after its receipt, either by providing access to the requested records; denying
access to the records or parts of them; or by advising that additional time is needed because the
request is for voluminous records, requires legal advice, or a record is in storage or archived. If
access cannot be provided within fifteen (15) business days, the Agency shall cite one of the
reasons hereunder why more time is needed and provide a good-faith estimate of how much
additional time is required to fulfill the request.

3.4.2 If the Agency denies a request in whole or in part, the Agency’s response shall indicate the
reasons for the denial. The Agency shall not be required to provide an index, or any other
compilation, as to each record or part of a record denied.

3.5 Requests for Email

3.5.1 Requests for email records shall be fulfilled by the Agency from its own records, if doing so can be
accomplished by the Agency with reasonable effort. If the Agency determines that it cannot fulfill
all or any portion of such request, the Agency shall promptly request that the Department of
Technology and Information (“DTI”) provide the email records to the Agency. Upon receipt from
DTI, the Agency may review the email records in accordance with § subsection 3.7 hereunder.

3.5.2 Before requesting DTI to provide email records, the Agency shall provide a written cost estimate
from DTI to the Requesting Party, listing all charges expected to be incurred by DTI in retrieving
such records. Upon receipt of the estimate, the Requesting Party may decide whether to proceed
with, cancel or modify the request.

3.6 Requests for Other Non-Custodial Records

3.6.1 If all or any portion of a FOIA Request seeks records controlled by the Agency but that are either
not within its possession or cannot otherwise be fulfilled by the Agency with reasonable effort from
records it possesses (collectively, the “Non-Custodial Records”), then the Agency shall promptly
request that the relevant public body provide the Non-Custodial Records to the Agency. Prior to
disclosure, records may be reviewed in accordance with § subsection 3.7 of this regulation by the
Agency, the public body fulfilling the request, or both. Without limitation, Non-Custodial Records
shall include budget data relating to the Agency.
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3.6.2 Before requesting any Non-Custodial Records, the Agency shall provide a written cost estimate to
the Requesting Party, listing all charges expected to be incurred in retrieving such records. Upon
receipt of the estimate, the Requesting Party may decide whether to proceed with, cancel or
modify the request.

3.7 Review by Agency

3.7.1 Prior to disclosure, records may be reviewed by the Agency to ensure that those records or
portions of records deemed non-public may be removed pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10002(g) or any
other applicable provision of law. In reviewing the records, all documents shall be considered
Public Records unless subject to one of the exceptions set forth in 29 Del.C. §10002(g) or any
other applicable provision of law. Nothing in this regulation shall prohibit the Agency from
disclosing or permitting access to Public Records if the Agency determines to disclose such
records, except where such disclosure or access is otherwise prohibited by law or regulation.

3.8 Hours of Review

3.8.1 The Agency shall provide reasonable access for reviewing Public Records during regular business
hours.

4.0 Fees

4.1 Photocopying Fees

4.1.1 In instances in which paper records are provided to the Requesting Party, photocopying fees shall
be as follows:

4.1.1.1 Standard Sized, Black and White Copies: The first 20 pages of standard sized, black and
white copied material shall be provided free of charge. The charge for copying standard
sized, black and white Public Records for copies over and above 20 shall be $0.10 per
sheet (i.e., $0.10 for a single-sided sheet, $0.20 for a double-sided sheet). This charge
applies to copies on the following standard paper sizes: 8.5” x 11”; 8.5” x 14”; and 11” x
17”.

4.1.1.2 Oversized Copies/Printouts: The charge for copying oversized Public Records shall be as
follows:

4.1.1.3 Color Copies/Printouts: An additional charge of $1.00 per sheet will be assessed for all
color copies or printouts for standard sized copies (8.5” x 11”; 8.5” x 14”; and 11” x 17”),
and $1.50 per sheet for larger copies.

4.2 Administrative Fees

4.2.1 Administrative fees shall be levied for requests requiring more than one hour of staff time to
process. Charges for administrative fees may include staff time associated with processing FOIA
Requests, including, without limitation, limitation: (a) identifying records; (b) monitoring file
reviews; and (c) generating computer records (electronic or print-outs). Administrative fees shall
not include any cost associated with the Agency’s legal review of whether any portion of the
requested records is exempt from FOIA. The Agency shall make every effort to ensure that
administrative fees are minimized, and may only assess such charges as shall be reasonably
required to process FOIA Requests. In connection therewith, the Agency shall minimize the use of
non-administrative personnel in processing FOIA Requests, to the extent possible.

4.2.2 Prior to fulfilling any request that would require a Requesting Party to incur administrative fees, the
Agency shall provide a written cost estimate of such fees to the Requesting Party, listing all
charges expected to be incurred in retrieving such records. Upon receipt of the estimate, the
Requesting Party may decide whether to proceed with, cancel or modify the request.

4.2.3 Administrative fees will be billed to the Requesting Party per quarter hour. These charges will be
billed at the current hourly pay grade (pro-rated for quarter hour increments) of the lowest-paid

18" x 22": $2.00 per sheet

24" x 36": $3.00 per sheet

Documents larger than 24" x 36": $1.00 per square foot
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employee capable of performing the service. Administrative fees will be in addition to any other
charges incurred under this Section 4 Section 4.0, including copying fees.

4.2.4 When multiple FOIA Requests are submitted by or on behalf of a Requesting Party in an effort to
avoid incurring administrative charges, the Agency may in its discretion aggregate staff time for all
such requests when computing fees hereunder.

4.3 Microfilm and/or Microfiche Printouts: The first 20 pages of standard sized, black and white material
copied from microfilm and/or microfiche shall be provided free of charge. The charge for microfilm and/
or microfiche printouts over and above 20 shall be $0.15 per sheet.

4.4 Electronically Generated Records: Charges for copying records maintained in an electronic format will
be calculated by the material costs involved in generating the copies (including but not limited to DVD,
CD, or other electronic storage costs) and administrative costs.

4.5 Payment

4.5.1 The Agency may require all fees to be paid prior to any service being performed under this
regulation.

4.5.2 The Agency may require pre-payment of all fees prior to fulfillment of any request for records
under this regulation.

4.6 Waiver of Fees Pursuant to Prior Policy

Omitted

4.7 Appointment Rescheduling or Cancellation: Requesting Parties who do not reschedule or cancel
appointments to view files at least one full business day in advance of the appointment may be subject
to the charges incurred by the Agency in preparing the requested records. The Agency shall prepare
an itemized invoice of these charges and provide the same to the Requesting Party for payment.

5.0 Applicability

To the extent any provision in this regulation conflicts with any other law or regulation, such law or
regulation shall control, and the conflicting provision herein is expressly superseded.

6.0 Agency-Specific Provisions

6.1 Documents which the Commissioner and any of the employees who work for the Commissioner are
bound to keep confidential and are prohibited from disclosing pursuant to 5 Del.C. §125 are not public
records for FOIA purposes and are not subject to inspection or disclosure under FOIA.

6.2 Documents constituting “confidential supervisory information” as defined by 5 Del.C. §145 are not
public records for FOIA purposes and are not subject to inspection or disclosure under FOIA.

7.0 Effective Date

This regulation shall become effective on January 11, 2012.
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PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, Section 315(d) (26 Del.C. §315(d))

ORDER NO. 9627

8003 Natural Gas Service Reliability and System Planning Standards

AND NOW, this 19th day of August 2020, the Public Service Commission (“Commission”) determines and
orders the following:

WHEREAS, on June 14, 2018, Governor John Carney signed into law Senate Substitute No. 1 for Senate Bill
80, which established a Distribution System Improvement Charge (“DSIC”) for electric and natural gas companies
in Delaware; and 

WHEREAS, on April 14, 2018, the Commission Staff (“Staff”), the Delaware Division of the Public Advocate
(“DPA”), and Delmarva Power & Light Company (“Delmarva”) executed a Memorandum of Understanding (“MOU”)
providing that:

Delmarva Power, the Public Advocate and Commission Staff agree to work together to develop a
proposal to submit to the Commission concerning enhanced distribution system planning.
Delmarva, DPA and Staff will work in good faith to provide recommendations and to submit any
proposals for review and approval to the Commission by September 1, 2019. The first meeting will
take place by July 31, 2018. In addition, by no later than March 31, 2019, Delmarva, DPA and Staff
will provide the Commission with an update on their progress.

and;
WHEREAS, on May 1, 2018, Chesapeake Utilities Corporation (“Chesapeake”) agreed to participate in the

meetings among Delmarva, the DPA, and Staff in a good faith effort to recommend to the Commission some form
of distribution planning for Chesapeake that will be tied to its DSIC applications; and

WHEREAS, on July 2, 2019, Staff and the DPA jointly filed a petition requesting the Commission to open a
docket to examine electric and natural gas utilities’ distribution infrastructure spending and establish regulations for
distribution system planning to apply to all electric, natural gas, and Class A water utilities; and

WHEREAS, in Order No. 9242 (July 10, 2018), the Commission directed Staff to commence duly noticed
working group meetings for interested stakeholders (including Delmarva and Chesapeake) and to provide
recommendations and proposed regulations for the Commission’s review and approval; and

WHEREAS, on August 13, 2019, the DPA filed an unopposed motion to extend the deadline for submitting
proposed natural gas distribution planning regulations to the date of the Commission’s second meeting in January
2020, which the Commission granted in Order No. 9444 dated August 20, 2019; and

WHEREAS, on December 17, 2019, the DPA filed an unopposed motion to further extend the deadline for
submitting natural gas distribution planning regulations from January 2020 to April 22, 2020, which granted in
Order No. 9529 dated January 8, 2020; and

WHEREAS, on April 14, 2020, Staff and the DPA jointly filed a motion (“Joint Motion”) requesting the
Commission to enter an order approving publication of proposed distribution planning regulations for natural gas
utilities in the Delaware Register of Regulations and providing Delmarva and Chesapeake, as well as any other
interested persons, 30 days under the Administrative Procedure Act to submit comments to the Commission on the
proposed regulations; and 

WHEREAS, on April 21, 2020, Delmarva submitted a letter concerning the proposed distribution planning
regulations for natural gas utilities; specifically, Delmarva stated that Section 4.3 should provide that the

IN THE MATTER OF THE PETITION OF THE 
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION STAFF AND 
DELAWARE DIVISION OF THE PUBLIC 
ADVOCATE TO ESTABLISH A REGULATION 
FOR DISTRIBUTION SYSTEM INVESTMENT 
PLANS FOR DELAWARE ELECTRIC AND 
NATURAL GAS UTILITIES (Filed July 2, 2018)

PSC DOCKET NO. 18-0935
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Commission “may,” as opposed to shall,” establish the “benchmarks” which, according to Delmarva, would give the
Commission latitude and flexibility to determine whether a benchmark is appropriate after the Commission
evaluates the data and understands the cost needed to comply with the new metrics; and

WHEREAS, at its regularly scheduled meeting on April 22, 2020, the Commission considered the Motion and
heard from representatives of Staff, the DPA, and the natural gas utilities; and

WHEREAS, the Commission conducted its deliberations on the Motion in open session and unanimously
voted to enter Order No. 9570 which: (i) approved for publication the proposed regulations attached to the Joint
Motion; (ii) pursuant to 29 Del. C. §§ 1133 and 10115(a), directed the Commission Secretary to transmit to the
Registrar of Regulations for publication in the June 2020 Register of Regulations a copy of Order No. 9570 and the
proposed regulations; (iii) directed publication of the Commission-approved Notice of Proposed Rulemaking
(“Notice”) in the News Journal, the Delaware State News, and the Cape Gazette by June 1, 2020, as well as
submission of the Notice to the Delaware Registrar of Regulations for publication on June 1, 2020 in the Delaware
Register of Regulations; and (iv) pursuant to 29 Del. C. §§ 10115(a) and 10116, providing persons or entities the
opportunity to submit written comments on or before Wednesday, July 1, 2020; and

WHEREAS, on July 1, 2020, Delmarva submitted written comments, again arguing that Section 4.3 of the
proposed regulations should provide that the Commission “may,” as opposed to “shall,” establish benchmarks; and 

WHEREAS, in the proposed regulation, Section 4.3 provides that a Gas Distribution Company (“GDC”) shall
report its Annual Outage Rate (“AOR”) and the Average Outage Duration (“AOD”) to the Commission over a three-
year reporting period; thereafter, at the end of the reporting period, “the Commission shall establish AOR and AOD
Benchmarks for each GDC[;]” and 

WHEREAS, at its regularly scheduled meeting on July 29, 2020, the Commission considered whether to
accept Delmarva’s proposed change, without hearing additional public comment; and

WHEREAS, regarding Delmarva’s argument concerning Section 4.3 and “may” versus “shall” in the context of
the aforementioned benchmarks, the Commission determines that “shall” is a necessary term in ensuring this
Commission’s stewardship in enhancing distribution system planning; moreover, “shall” creates increased and
improved value and quality by virtue of the certainty of enhanced distribution system planning; and 

WHEREAS, the Commission finds that mandating the setting of benchmarks further ensures that no GDC will
fail to adhere to the parameters set for AOR or AOD; and 

WHEREAS, the Commission determines that including “shall” in Section 4.3 is consistent with the word “will”
as previously approved concerning this Commission’s setting metrics for the electric regulations in this same
docket – with no objection from Delmarva; likewise, the consistency between “will” and “shall” in the policies and
procedures embraced in these regulations must be retained and promulgated; 

NOW, THEREFORE, BY THE AFFIRMATIVE VOTE OF NO FEWER
THAN THREE COMMISSIONERS, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

1. The Commission finds and determines that Final Proposed Regulation 8003 attached hereto as “Exhibit A”
contains no substantive changes to the Proposed Regulations approved for publication in the Delaware Register of
Regulations under Commission Order No. 9570 dated April 22, 2020.

2. There is no requirement to re-propose Final Proposed Regulation 8003 because there were no substantive
changes; accordingly, the public comment period shall not be extended by 15 days under 29 Del. C. § 10118(a)
and Final Proposed Regulation 8003 is not subject to the notice requirements of 29 Del. C. § 10115.

3. Final Proposed Regulation 8003 is hereby approved as final, and the Commission Secretary is directed to
publish the Final Proposed Regulation 8003 in the Delaware Register of Regulations, with an effective date of not
less than 10 days from the date this Order has been published in the Register of Regulations.

4. That the Commission reserves the jurisdiction and authority to enter such further orders in this matter as
may be deemed necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
/s/ Dallas Winslow, Chairman /s/ Manubhai C. Karia, Commissioner

/s/ Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner /s/ K. F. Drexler, Commissioner

/s/ Harold B. Gray, Commissioner
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*Please Note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

8003 Natural Gas Service Reliability and System Planning Standards
EFFECTIVE DATE: [October 11, 2020]

*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the June 2020 issue of the Register at page 1004 (23 DE Reg. 1004). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished here in its entirety. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

8003 Natural Gas Service Reliability and System Planning Standards

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Statutory Authority: 21 Delaware Code, Section 302 and 29 Delaware Code, Section 8404(8)
(21 Del.C. §302 & 29 Del.C. §8404(8))

2 DE Admin. Code 2222

ORDER

2222 School Bus Driver Qualifications and Endorsements

Pursuant to the authority provided by 21 Del.C. §302(a), the Division of Motor Vehicles is promulgating
regulations for the administrative procedures for the issuance, renewal, removal, and reinstatement of the school
bus (S) endorsement on a Delaware commercial driver license. The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) uses this
regulation to initiate program requirements.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

1. The public was given notice and the opportunity to provide comments in writing concerning the proposed
revisions

2. The proposed revisions are useful and proper, and the Department believes that the adoption of these
regulations is appropriate. 

Decision and Effective Date

Based on the provision of Delaware law and the record of this docket, I hereby adopt the School Bus Driver
Qualifications and Endorsements as set forth in the version attached, to be effective October 11, 2020.

It is so ordered on this 14th day of September 2020.

Jennifer Cohan, Secretary
Delaware Department of Transportation

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
August 2020 issue of the Register at page 129 (24 DE Reg. 129). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

2222 School Bus Driver Qualifications and Endorsements

ATTEST: Donna Nickerson, Secretary
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DIVISION OF TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 8404(8) (29 Del.C. §8404(8))
2 DE Admin. Code 2404

ORDER

2404 Delaware Traffic Calming Design Manual

Pursuant to the authority provided by 29 Del. C. §8408(8), the Delaware Department of Transportation
("DelDOT") hereby issues this Order. The proposed change was published in the Delaware Register of Regulations
on June 1, 2020 (Vol. 23, Issue 12). Following notice and opportunity for public comment on the proposed change,
DelDOT makes the following Findings and Conclusions:

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted
1. DelDOT received no written information pertaining to the proposed change.
2. DelDOT current operating procedures supports the repeal of this regulation.

Findings of Fact

3. The public was given notice and the opportunity to provide comments in writing on the proposed
amendments. No written comments were received.

4. DelDOT finds that the elimination of this regulation is in the best interest of the State of Delaware for the
reasons described in paragraph 2.

Decision and Effective Date

5. Based on the provision of Delaware law and the record of this docket, DelDOT hereby rescinds the
Delaware Traffic Calming Design Manual regulation, as set forth in the version attached hereto, to be effective
October 11, 2020.

It is so ordered on this 10th day of September 2020.
Jennifer Cohan, Secretary
Delaware Department of Transportation

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
June 2020 issue of the Register at page 1007 (23 DE Reg. 1007). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

2404 Delaware Traffic Calming Design Manual
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 42 C.F.R. §402, Subpart A

PUBLIC NOTICE AND NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARINGS

TANF State Plan Amendment

Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of Social Services is providing a public notice related to
the State's plan to comply with Federal regulations governing the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
program.

Purpose

The purpose of this posting is to provide public notice and receive public input for consideration regarding
Delaware's Amended TANF State Plan that is effective from October 1, 2017 to September 30, 2020.

Overview

The TANF State Plan is a comprehensive statement submitted by Delaware Division of Social Services
describing the nature and scope of its program and giving assurance that it will be administered in conformity with
the specific requirements stipulated in the pertinent title of the Social Security Act, the regulations in subtitle A of
§402 of this title, and other applicable official issuances of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
The State Plan contains all information necessary for the Administration for Children and Families to determine
whether the plan can be approved as a basis for Federal financial participation in the State program.

The Division of Social Services amended the TANF State Plan effective from October 1, 2017 to September
30, 2020 to include program adjustments related to the COVID-19 public health emergency and the provision that
Delaware may medically exempt TANF clients and place them in a solely state funded program.

A copy of the plan can be found at https://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dss/pubs.html.

Public Comment Submission Process

DHSS gives public notice and provides an open comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders
an opportunity to provide input on the TANF State Plan Amendment. The comment period begins on October 1,
2020 and ends on October 31, 2020.

Comments and input may be submitted in the following ways:

By email: Janneen.Boyce@delaware.gov

By fax: 302-255-4425 to the attention of Janneen Boyce

By mail: Janneen Boyce

Division of Social Services

Policy & Program Development Unit

1901 North DuPont Highway

P.O. Box 906

New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906

Please identify in the subject line: TANF State Plan Amendment

This notice shall appear for one (1) day only in the following newspapers:

• The News Journal
• Delaware State News
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September 11, 2020

Ray Fitzgerald Date

Director

Division of Social Services

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 42 C.F.R. §402, Subpart A

PUBLIC NOTICE AND NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARINGS

TANF State Plan Amendment

Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of Social Services is providing a public notice related to
the State's plan to comply with Federal regulations governing the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
program.

Purpose

The purpose of this posting is to provide public notice and receive public input for consideration regarding
Delaware's Amended TANF State Plan that is effective from October 1, 2020 to September 30, 2022.

Overview

The TANF State Plan is a comprehensive statement submitted by Delaware Division of Social Services
describing the nature and scope of its program and giving assurance that it will be administered in conformity with
the specific requirements stipulated in the pertinent title of the Social Security Act, the regulations in subtitle A of
§402 of this title, and other applicable official issuances of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
The State Plan contains all information necessary for the Administration for Children and Families to determine
whether the plan can be approved as a basis for Federal financial participation in the State program.

A copy of the plan can be found at https://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dss/pubs.html.

Public Comment Submission Process

DHSS gives public notice and provides an open comment period for forty-five (45) days to allow all
stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on the TANF State Plan Amendment. The comment period begins on
October 1, 2020 and ends on November 15, 2020.

Comments and input may be submitted in the following ways:

By email: Janneen.Boyce@delaware.gov

By fax: 302-255-4425 to the attention of Janneen Boyce

By mail: Janneen Boyce

Division of Social Services

Policy & Program Development Unit

1901 North DuPont Highway

P.O. Box 906

New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906

Please identify in the subject line: TANF State Plan Amendment

This notice shall appear for one (1) day only in the following newspapers:
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• The News Journal
• Delaware State News

September 11, 2020

Ray Fitzgerald Date

Director

Division of Social Services

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Sections 6010(a) and 6010(c) (7 Del.C. §§6010(a) & 
6010(c))

REGISTER NOTICE

SAN # 2018-07

State Implementation Plan (SIP) revision for the regulatory amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1124 Section 
26.0 "Gasoline Dispensing Facility Stage I Vapor Recovery" and Section 36.0 "Vapor Emission Control at 

Gasoline Dispensing Facilities.”

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:

State Implementation Plan (SIP) revision for the regulatory amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1124 Section
26.0 "Gasoline Dispensing Facility Stage I Vapor Recovery" and Section 36.0 "Vapor Emission Control at Gasoline
Dispensing Facilities."

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:

The Division of Air Quality (AQ), within the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, will
submit to US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) a revision to Delaware State Implementation Plan (SIP),
entitled "Decommissioning Stage II Vapor Recovery Systems and Requiring Stage I Enhanced Vapor Recovery
Systems at Gasoline Dispensing Facilities." In the SIP revision, AQ (1) analyzes the regulatory impacts of the
regulatory amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1124 Section 26.0 and Section 36.0 on Delaware's emissions of
volatile organic compounds, and (2) demonstrates that the above regulatory amendments meet the anti-
backsliding requirements of the federal Clean Air Act Sections 182(b)(2) and 110(l).

The proposed version of the SIP revision and the proposed regulatory amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code
1124 Section 26.0 and Section 36.0 were published in Delaware Register of Regulations on December 1, 2019. All
notification and noticing requirements concerning the proposed SIP revision and regulatory amendments were met
by the Department. Proper notice of the public hearing and adequate public review period were provided as
required by law. On July 1, 2020, the final regulatory amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1124 Section 26.0 and
Section 36.0 were published, under the Department Secretary's Order No. 2020-A-0017, in Delaware Register of
Regulations. The SIP revision being published today is the final version under the same secretary's order. After
publication, this final SIP version will be submitted to EPA for approval.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:

None.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:

7 Del.C. Ch. 60, Sections 6010(a) and 6010(c).
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5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:

None. 

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:

A public hearing was held on January 08, 2020, beginning at 6:00 pm, in DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings

Highway, Dover, DE 19901. The comment period was open to the public for 15 days after the public hearing.

7. PREPARED BY:

Frank F. Gao, Ph.D., P.E.

Division of Air Quality-DNREC

715 Grantham Lane, New Castle, DE 19720

Phone: (302)739-9402; email: Frank.Gao@delaware.gov

*Please Note: Due to the size of the SIP, it is not being published here. A PDF version is available at the
following location:

DNREC DE VAPOR SIP - Final.pdf

http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/october2020/general/DNREC DE VAPOR SIP - Final.pdf
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

On March 12, 2020, Governor Carney issued a declaration of a state of emergency for the state of Delaware
due to a public health threat. The State of Emergency allows all public meetings of executive branch public bodies,
including the SBE, to be conducted electronically, either by means of telephone conference call or video-
conference call.

In accordance with the State of Emergency, the State Board of Education is currently holding meetings
electronically. The meeting information can be accessed via the public meeting calendar (https://
publicmeetings.delaware.gov/Search?q=&AnyAll=Any&AgencyID=22&StartDateInclusive=2020-08-01). Members
of the public can join the meeting via the web or telephone.

Meeting materials are available on the State Board of Education's eBoard site (https://
simbli.eboardsolutions.com/index.aspx?s=190001). (If you are having technical difficulties accessing the site,
please try a different browser.)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE QUALITY

PUBLIC NOTICE 
3201 Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 16 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 11, Section 1119C, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Health Care Quality (DHCQ) is proposing regulations governing Skilled and
Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed regulatory amendments must submit same to, the Division of Health Care
Quality, 261 Chapman Road, Suite 200, Newark, Delaware 19702, by email to Corinna.Getchell@Delaware.gov or
by fax to 302-292-3931 by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020. Please identify in the subject line: Regulations
Governing Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities. 

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services / Division of Health
Care Quality is proposing regulations governing Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities.

The Division of Health Care Quality plans to publish the “proposed” amendments to the regulations governing
Skilled and Intermediate Care Nursing Facilities and hold them out for public comment per Delaware law. The
amendments update the regulatory language to include the emergency regulations published on June 1, 2020.
This language expands definitions, documentation, emergency preparedness, and testing requirements for
assisted living facilities.

In accordance with the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code,
Delaware Health and Social Services / Division of Health Care Quality gives public notice and provides an open
comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on the proposed
regulation. Comments must be received by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020.

DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE QUALITY
PUBLIC NOTICE

3225 Assisted Living Facilities

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 16 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 11, Section 1119C, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Health Care Quality (DHCQ) is proposing regulations governing Assisted
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Living Facilities.
Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written

materials concerning the proposed regulatory amendments must submit same to, the Division of Health Care
Quality, 261 Chapman Road, Suite 200, Newark, Delaware 19702, by email to Corinna.Getchell@Delaware.gov or
by fax to 302-292-3931 by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020. Please identify in the subject line: Regulations
Governing Assisted Living Facilities.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons. 

The Division of Health Care Quality plans to publish the “proposed” amendments to the regulations governing
Assisted Living Facilities and hold them out for public comment per Delaware law. The amendments update the
regulatory language to include the emergency regulations published on June 1, 2020. This language expands
definitions, documentation, emergency preparedness, and testing requirements for assisted living facilities.

In accordance with the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code,
Delaware Health and Social Services / Division of Health Care Quality gives public notice and provides an open
comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on the proposed
regulation. Comments must be received by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020.

DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE QUALITY
PUBLIC NOTICE

3230 Rest (Residential) Home Regulations

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code) and under the authority of Title 16 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 11, Section 1119C, Delaware Health and
Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Health Care Quality (DHCQ) is proposing regulations governing Rest
(Residential) Home.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed regulatory amendments must submit same to, the Division of Health Care
Quality, 261 Chapman Road, Suite 200, Newark, Delaware 19702, by email to Corinna.Getchell@Delaware.gov or
by fax to 302-292-3931 by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020. Please identify in the subject line: Regulations
Governing Rest (Residential) Home.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

The Division of Health Care Quality plans to publish the “proposed” amendments to the regulations governing
Rest (Residential) Home and hold them out for public comment per Delaware law. The amendments update the
regulatory language to include the emergency regulations published on June 1, 2020. This language expands
definitions, documentation, emergency preparedness, and testing requirements for assisted living facilities.

In accordance with the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code,
Delaware Health and Social Services / Division of Health Care Quality gives public notice and provides an open
comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to provide input on the proposed
regulation. Comments must be received by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
PUBLIC NOTICE

4462 Public Drinking Water Systems

Pursuant to 16 Del.C. §122(3)(c), Health Systems Protection, Division of Public Health, Department of Health
and Social Services, is proposing revisions to the regulations governing Public Drinking Water Systems. On
October 1, 2020, the Division of Public Health plans to publish as “proposed” revisions to the Public Drinking Water
Systems regulations. The revisions include:
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• EPA-required corrections for specific rule primacy;
• Fluoride requirements for systems required to provide fluoride under Delaware law;
• Definitions and a new chapter for cross-connections; and
• Minor clarifications and technical changes.
Copies of the proposed regulations are available for review in the October 1, 2020 edition of the Delaware

Register of Regulations, accessible online at: http://regulations.delaware.gov or by calling the Division of Public
Health at (302) 744-4951.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, testimony, briefs or other written materials concerning
the proposed regulations must submit them to Alanna Mozeik by Monday, November 2, 2020, at:

Alanna Mozeik

Division of Public Health

417 Federal Street

Dover, DE 19901

Email: Alanna.Mozeik@delaware.gov

Phone: (302) 744-4951

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Defining Family Size For Child Care

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code), 42 CFR §447.205, and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512,
Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services (DSS) is proposing to amend the
Division of Social Services Manual regarding Child Care Subsidy Program, specifically, to define family size for
child care.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to, Planning, Policy and Quality Unit,
Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906, by
email to Nicole.M.Cunningham@delaware.gov, or by fax to 302-255-4413 by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020.
Please identify in the subject line: Defining Family Size for Child Care.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
by other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

POC – Changing Providers And Charging Fees

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code), 42 CFR §447.205, and under the authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512,
Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services (DSS) is proposing to amend the
Division of Social Services Manual regarding the Child Care Subsidy Program, specifically, to update policy related
to changing child care providers and charging fees to Purchase of Care (POC) families.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must submit same to, Planning, Policy and Quality Unit,
Division of Social Services, 1901 North DuPont Highway, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906, by
email to Nicole.M.Cunningham@delaware.gov, or by fax to 302-255-4413 by 4:30 p.m. on November 2, 2020.
Please identify in the subject line: POC – Changing Providers and Charging Fees.

The action concerning the determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the
results of Department and Division staff analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed
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by other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

PUBLIC NOTICE
902 Prohibited Unfair Claim Settlement Practices

In the May 1, 2020 edition of the Register of Regulations, the Department published a proposal to update and
clarify requirements concerning prohibited unfair claim settlement practices that are set forth in Regulation 902
(see 23 DE Reg. 920 (05/01/2020)). In that proposal, the Department proposed adding new subsection 3.1.14,
which included a failure to promptly settle a claim as required under Regulation 903 as an unfair claim settlement
practice. The Department also took the opportunity of the proposal to make grammatical and formatting edits
throughout the regulation.

Upon further review, the Department determined not to proceed with proposed new subsection 3.1.14 and
withdrew that proposal, as violations of Regulation 903 are already a defined unfair claims settlement practice.

Instead, the Department proposed to add new subsection 3.2, which would have specifically provided that
three instances of an insurer's commission of a prohibited claim settlement practice within a 36-month period, as
listed in subsection 1.2.1 (to be recodified at subsection 3.1), shall give rise to a rebuttable presumption that the
insurer is in violation of this regulation and 18 Del. C. §2304(16)f. This first re-proposal was published in the June
1, 2020 edition of the Register of Regulations (see 23 DE Reg. 997 (06/01/2020)). The Department again took the
opportunity of the re-proposal to make grammatical and formatting edits throughout the regulation.

The Department received several comments from insurance industry-related stakeholders, many of whom
expressed surprise that the Department would propose such an amendment because the commenters were not
aware of any negative market conduct trends in Delaware that would have led the Department to take such action.

One commenter objected that proposed new subsection 3.2 would discourage informal resolution of market
conduct exam findings, "emphatically discourage self-reporting and self-remediation of claims processing errors or
violations, even if unintentional and harmless to policyholders, and . . . would unfairly expose insurers to bad faith
actions that are, on the merits, unfounded, based on a 'general practices' presumption of just three violations over
36 months.

Other commenters opined that proposed new subsection 3.2 makes Delaware's regulation exceed the
expectations set forth in the 2008 National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Model Unfair Claims
Settlement Act. In that Act, the NAIC discussed defining "general business practice" but chose not to define it,
instead opting to establish a statistically based benchmark error rate of seven percent for auditing claim practices
and 10 percent for other trade practices. These commenters went on to opine that Delaware would be the only
state in the nation to set numeric limits on numbers of claims over a specified time that would trigger the rebuttable
presumption of an unfair trade practice.

The commenters also pointed out that, in their opinion, the specific number of claims (3) over a set time period
(36 months) is unfair and untenable for companies that process thousands of claims per month, further stating that
while some of the Department's regulations understandably contain "three strikes" provisions, those provisions are
relegated to the health care arena. These commenters concluded that three claims in three years does not rise to
the level of an unfair business practice; unfair business practice should be reserved for systemic violations, not for
a mistake made due to human error.

On re-proposal, the Department has determined to revise proposed new subsection 3.2 to provide that: 

An insurer's commission of prohibited unfair claim settlement practices listed in subsection 3.1 of this
regulation in four percent or more of claims sampled by the Department during any investigation or
examination of the insurer, shall give rise to a rebuttable presumption that the insurer is in violation of
this regulation and 18 Del. C. §2304(16)f.

The Delaware Code authority for the regulation and the proposed amendments is 18 Del.C. §§311 and 2312.
The Department has determined to hold a virtual public hearing on the proposed amendments to Regulation

902 on October 22, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. The hearing will be facilitated through WebEx at https://
stateofdelaware.webex.com/stateofdelaware/j.php?MTID=mcb66b1d7794ffd79b6a2b963bb23bb43 meeting
number (access code): 173 669 0005 and meeting password: Fp7rW3juew9.
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Holding a virtual public meeting is specifically permitted by Paragraph 5 of the Declaration of a State of
Emergency for the State of Delaware due to a Public Health Threat issued by Governor John Carney on March 12,
2020 and extended monthly thereafter (see https://governor.delaware.gov/health-soe/ for the complete list of
modifications and extensions). 

The proposed amendments appear below and may also be viewed on the Department of Insurance website at
http://insurance.delaware.gov/information/proposedregs/. 

Any person may file written comments, suggestions, briefs, and compilations of data or other materials
concerning the proposed amendments to the regulation. Any written submission in response to this notice and
relevant to the proposed amendments must be received by the Department of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m.

EST, the 6th day of November 2020. Any such requests and any questions concerning connecting to the public
hearing should be directed to:

Leslie W. Ledogar, Regulatory Specialist

Delaware Department of Insurance

ATTN: Docket 4259-2020

1351 West North Street, Suite 101

Dover, DE 19904

(302) 674-7379

Email:  Leslie.Ledogar@delaware.gov

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF WASTE AND HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCES

WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION
PUBLIC NOTICE

1301 Regulations Governing Solid Waste

To provide greater environmental protection and to reduce human health risks, the Compliance and Permitting
Section (CAPS) proposes to modify the DRGSW to adopt regulations to clarify the State's Single Use Plastic Bag
Ban and At Store Recycling Program.

A virtual public hearing on the proposed amendments to DRGSW (Docket # 2020-R-WH-0025) will be held on
Wednesday, October 21, 2020, beginning at 6:00 PM. A web link to the virtual hearing will be posted on the
DNREC Public Hearings site at https://de.gov/dnrechearings. To access the audio-only portion of the virtual
hearing, dial in at 1-408-418-9388 and enter event code 173 830 4476. Closed-captioning available by request if
made at least 7 days before the event. 

Those wishing to offer verbal comments during DNREC virtual public hearings must pre-register using the
weblink posted on the DNREC Public Hearings site at https://de.gov/dnrechearings or by contacting Adam
Schlachter.

The proposed amendments may be inspected online as of October 1, 2020 at http://regulations.delaware.gov/
services/current_issue.shtml or in-person by appointment only by contacting contact Adam Schlachter by phone at
302-739-9403; or by email at Adam.Schlachter@delaware.gov.

The hearing record will remain open for at least 15 days following the date of the hearing. The Department will
accept public comment through the close of business on Thursday, November 5, 2020 and comments pertaining to
the above regulations will be accepted in written form via:

Email: DNRECHearingComments@delaware.gov
Online Form: https://dnrec.alpha.delaware.gov/public-hearings/comment-form/ 
or via USPS to the following address: 

Theresa Newman, Hearing Officer
DNREC - Office of the Secretary

89 Kings Highway
Dover, DE 19901
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1900 BOARD OF NURSING
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Nursing, pursuant to 24 Del. C. § 1904(c), proposes to revise its regulations to add
failing to practice nursing without discrimination to the list of examples of unprofessional conduct.

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed regulation changes on November 18, 2020 at 9:00 a.m.,
Second Floor Conference Room A, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments
should be sent to Dr. Pamela Zickafoose, Executive Director of the Delaware Board of Nursing, Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments will be accepted until December 3, 2020 pursuant to 29
Del. C. § 10118(a).

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

2925 REAL ESTATE COMMISSION EDUCATION COMMITTEE
PUBLIC NOTICE

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2906(a)(1), the Delaware Real Estate Commission ("Commission") has proposed
revisions to its Education Guidelines ("Guidelines).

Specifically, Section 4.0 has been revised to state that prelicensing education and continuing education may
be delivered in a traditional classroom setting or by distance learning, which may be asynchronous or
synchronous. Asynchronous learning is "distance learning without the opportunity for real time interaction between
the instructor and students." Synchronous learning is "distance learning that happens in real time where there is
the opportunity for direct interaction between the instructor and students." The proposed revisions outline the
requirements for each method of instruction. Inclusion of synchronous learning in Section 4.0 will expand
educational opportunities for applicants and for licensees without compromising professional standards. This
proposal strikes the current Section 4.0, including the amendment in subsection 4.5, which was adopted by
emergency regulation as published in Register of Regulations on August 1, 2020, Volume 24, Issue 2.

A public hearing will be held on November 12, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor conference room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware. Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed
rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Real Estate Commission, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard,
Dover, Delaware 19904. Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward these to the Board at the above
address or at danielle.cross@delaware.gov.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the final date to receive written comments will be November 30,
2020. The Board will deliberate on all of the public comments at its regularly scheduled meeting.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

3800 BOARD OF DIETETICS/NUTRITION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Dietetics/Nutrition, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3805(1), proposes to revise its regulations.
The proposed amendments to the regulations seek to wholly amend the continuing education requirements for
renewal to more closely align with the requirements of Commission on Dietetic Registration thus expanding the
ways in which a licensee can obtain continuing professional education. In addition, the changes clarify the time a
licensee may remain on inactive status and the procedures required to reactivate a license. 

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule change on November 13, 2020 at 1:30 p.m., in the
Second Floor Conference Room B, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments
should be sent to Danielle Ridgway, Administrator of the Delaware Board of Dietetics/Nutrition, Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Blvd, Dover, DE 19904. Written comments will be accepted until November 30, 2020.
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OFFICE OF THE STATE TREASURER
on behalf of the

CASH MANAGEMENT POLICY BOARD
PUBLIC NOTICE

1201 Statement of Objectives and Guidelines for the Investment of State of Delaware Funds

In accordance with the procedures set forth in 29 Del. C. Ch. 11, subch. III, and 29 Del. C., ch. 101, the Cash
Management Policy Board (the “Board”) is proposing to amend previously adopted regulations governing the
deposit and investment of State funds, as permitted by 29 Del. C. § 2716.

Members of the public may receive a copy of the proposed regulations at no charge by U.S. mail by writing,
emailing or calling Mr. Jordan Seemans at the Office of the State Treasurer (“OST”), 820 N. French St., Suite 201,
Wilmington, Delaware 19801, Jordan.W.Seemans@delaware.gov, (302) 577-4211. Members of the public may
present written comments on the proposed regulations by submitting such written comments to Mr. Seemans at the
address above. Written comments must be received on or before November 1, 2020.
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