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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

2 DE Reg. 1000 - 1010 (12/1/98)

Refers to Volume 2, pages 1000 - 1010 of the
Delaware Register issued on December 1, 1998.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$120.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-739-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written
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evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,
no judicial review of a regulation is available
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 
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Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission
BLS Ambulance Provider/First Responder ........................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  122 (Prop.)
Standard for the Marking, Identification and Accessibility of Fire Lanes, Exits, Fire Hydrants, 

Sprinkler andStandpipe Connections.............................................................................. .......3  DE Reg.   97 (Final)
NFPA Fire Codes & Standards, Incorporation by Reference ................................................ .......3  DE Reg.  416 (Final)

Department of Administrative Services
Division of Professional Regulation

Board of Electrical Examiners........................................................................................ .......3  DE Reg.   522 (Final)
Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators ................................................. .......3  DE Reg.   486 (Prop.)
Board of Pharmacy

Regulation V(A)(7) & V(D)(3)(c), Dispensing....................................................... .......3  DE Reg.      8 (Prop.)
3  DE Reg.  431 (Final)

Regulation VI- D, Pure Drug Regulations............................................................... .......3  DE Reg.      8 (Prop.)
Regulation XIV -  Administration of Injectable Medications................................. .......3  DE Reg.      8 (Prop.)

Merit Employee Relations Board, Chapter 20, Grievance Procudure................................... .......3  DE Reg.  167 (Final)

Department of Agriculture
Farmland Preservation Program............................................................................................. .......3  DE Reg.  170 (Final)
Harness Racing Commission

Preference Dates, Chapter VII, Rule I-F......................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  432 (Final)
Overnight Events, Chapter VI, Rule II-A-5.................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  432 (Final)

Thoroughbred Racing Commission
Bleeders, Rule 10.04....................................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  360 (Prop.)
Bleeder Medication, Rule 15.02..................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  360 (Prop.)

Department of Education
Child Nutrition ...................................................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.    10 (Prop.)

3  DE Reg.  524 (Final)
Deferred Compensation, ....................................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  363 (Rep.)
DSSAA Constitution & Bylaws, 29 amendments................................................................. .......3  DE Reg.  435 (Final)
DSSAA Constitution & Bylaws, Rule 1 & 33....................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.    11 (Prop.)

3  DE Reg.  525 (Final)
Health Examinations for School District Employees............................................................ .......3  DE Reg.    13 (Prop.)

3  DE Reg.  526 (Final)
Maternity Leave, Repeal........................................................................................................ .......3  DE Reg.  527 (Rep.)
Military Leave, Credit for Service in the Armed Forces....................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  361 (Prop.)
Payment of Personnel under Various Programs..................................................................... .......3 DE Reg.   492 (Prop.)
Payment of Teachers in Summer Programs in Vocational-Technical School Districts.......... .......3  DE Reg.  363 (Rep.)
Payment Schedules for Contractual Programs/In-Service Education.................................... .......3  DE Reg.  363 (Rep.)
Recruiting & Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular Areas.................... .......3  DE Reg.  100 (Final)
Regulation for Charter Schools - Admission, Repeal............................................................ .......3  DE Reg.  492 (Rep.)
School Crisis Response Plans................................................................................................ .......3  DE Reg.  434 (Final)
School Health Tuberculosis (Tb) Control Program............................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  440 (Final)
School Safety Audit............................................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  433 (Final)
State Salary Increase Adjustments for Changed Status......................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  363 (Rep.)

The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
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Student Testing Program........................................................................................................ .......3  DE Reg.  364 (Prop.)
Teacher of the Year Award .................................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.   104 (Final)

Department of Finance
Division of Revenue

State Lottery Office
Payment of Prizes, Powerball Game, Rule 23......................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  126 (Prop.)

3  DE Reg.  523 (Final)

Department of Health & Social Services
Division of Public Health

Delaware Trauma System Rules & Regulations...................................................... .......3  DE Reg.   14 (Prop.)
3  DE Reg.  442 (Final)

Metabolic Disorders & Establishment of Case Review Committee,
Regulations Defining ....................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  529 (Final)

State of Delaware Food Code.................................................................................. .......3  DE Reg.  495 (Prop.)
Office of Drinking Water

Regulations Governing Public Drinking Water Systems......................................... .......3  DE Reg.  197 (Final)
Division of Social Services

DSSM Sec. 2023, Program Violations............................................................................ .......3  DE Reg.  287 (Final)
DSSM Sec. 3002, Time Limit, Temporary Welfare Program......................................... .......3  DE Reg.  369 (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 3002, Time Limit, Temporary Welfare Program, Withdraw of................... .......3  DE Reg.  443 (Final)
DSSM Sec. 3002, Exceptions to the Time Limit Counter.............................................. .......3  DE Reg.  443 (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 3031, Work for your Welfare...................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  371 (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 3032, Diversion Assistance......................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  444 (Final)
DSSM Sec. 9059, Income Exclusions............................................................................ .......3  DE Reg.  287 (Final)
DSSM Sec. 11003.7, Income Limits & Determination of Fees...................................... .......3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 11003.7.2, Income Limits & Determination of Fees .................................. .......3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 11003.7.7, Income Limits & Determination of Fees................................... .......3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 11004.3, Income Limits & Determination of Fees...................................... .......3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 11004.7, Determination of Child Care Fee................................................. .......3  DE Reg.    42 (Prop.)

3  DE Reg.  444 (Final)
3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)

DSSM Sec. 11004.7.1, Income Limits & Determination of Fees 3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)
DSSM Sec. 11004.7.11, Income Limits & Determination of Fees................................. .......3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)
Eligibility Manual, 15400, Income................................................................................. .......3  DE Reg.  107 (Final)
Eligibility Manual, 16240, Composition of Budget Unit............................................... .......3  DE Reg.  107 (Final)
General Policy Manual .................................................................................................. .......3  DE Reg.  277 (Final)
General Policy Manual, Eligibility for DHCP ............................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  497 (Prop.)
Home Health Provider Manual, Assisted Living Medicaid Waiver Program................ .......3  DE Reg.  374 (Prop.)
Independent Laboratory Provider Manual...................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  127 (Prop.)

3  DE Reg.  531 (Final)
Pharmacy Provider Manual, Drugs Used for Cosmetic Purposes.................................. .......3  DE Reg.  375 (Prop.)
Practitioner Manual......................................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  277 (Final)
Private Duty Nursing, HCBS Waiver and Assisted Living Manual............................... .......3  DE Reg.  278 (Final)

Department of Insurance
Regulation 56, Life & Health Submissions Regarding Acquired Immunodeficiency

Syndrome (AIDS)........................................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  288 (Final)

Department of Labor
Division of Employment & Training

Apprenticeship & Training Rules & Regulations........................................................... .......3  DE Reg.    42 (Prop.)
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Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control
Division of Air & Waste Management

Air Quality Management Section
Delaware On-Road Mobile Source Emissions Budgets for the Delaware, Phase II

Attainment Demonstration............................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  127 (Prop.)
Reg. No. 37, NOx Budget Program......................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  376 (Prop.)
Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source

Categories, Subpart A....................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.    51 (Prop.)
3  DE Reg.  445 (Final)

Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source
Categories, Subpart N....................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.    59 (Prop.)

3  DE Reg.  445 (Final)
Reg. No. 39, NOx Budget Trading Program........................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  129 (Prop.)
Reg. No. 40, Delaware’s National Low Emissions Vehicle Program ..................... .......3  DE Reg.  532 (Final)
2002 Rate-of-Progress Plan for Kent & New Castle Counties................................ .......3  DE Reg.    65 (Prop.)

Waste Management Section
Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste .............................................................. .......3  DE Reg.  534 (FInal)

Division of Fish & Wildlife
Wildlife & Non-Tidal Fishing Regulations .................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  289 (Final)

Division of Water Resources
Land Treatment of Wastes.............................................................................................. .......3  DE Reg.  445 (Final)
Surface Water Quality Standards ................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  311 (Final)
Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Regulation for zinc in the Red Clay Creek........ .......3  DE Reg.  163 (Prop.)
Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Regulation for zinc in the White Clay Creek..... .......3  DE Reg.  164 (Prop.)

Department of State
Office of the State Banking Commissioner

Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0002, Instructions for Preparation of Franchise Tax ......... .......3  DE Reg.  512 (Prop.)
Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0005, Instructions for Preparation of Franchise Tax for

Federal Savings Banks not Headquartered in this State but Maintaining
Branches in this State .............................................................................................. .......3  DE Reg.  515 (Prop.)

Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0009, Instructions for Preparation of Franchise Tax for
Resulting Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks.......................................... .......3  DE Reg.  517 (Prop.)

Regulation No.: 5.2112.0001, Mortgage Loan Brokers Operating Regulations............. .......3  DE Reg.  403 (Prop.)
Regulation No.: 5.2111(a).0002, Mortgage Loan Brokers Minimum Requirements for

Content of Books & Records................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  404 (Prop.)
Regulation No. 5.2115.0003, Mortgage Loan Broker Regulations Itemized

Schedule of Charges................................................................................................ .......3  DE Reg.  405 (Prop.)
Regulation No.: 5.2113.0004, Mortgage Loan Brokers Minimum Disclosure

Requirements .......................................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  406 (Prop.)
Regulation No.: 5.2111(b).0005, Report of Delaware Loan Volume............................. .......3  DE Reg.  406 (Prop.)
Regulation No.: 5.2213.0002, Licensed Lenders Minimum Requirements for

Content of Books & Records................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  407 (Prop.)
Regulation No. 5.2218/2231.0003, Licensed Lenders Regulations Itemized

Schedule of Charges................................................................................................ .......3  DE Reg.  408 (Prop.)
Regulation No.: 5.2210(e).0005, Report of Delaware Loan Volume............................. .......3  DE Reg.  411 (Prop.)
Regulation No.: 5.2318.0001, Report of Delaware Sale of Checks, Drafts &

Money Orders Volume............................................................................................. .......3  DE Reg.  411 (Prop.)
Regulation No.: 5.2906(e)/122(b).0001, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Companies 

Minimum Requirements for Content of Books & Records..................................... .......3  DE Reg.  412 (Prop.)
Regulation No.: 5.2906(e).0002, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Companies Operating

Regulations.............................................................................................................. .......3  DE Reg.  413 (Prop.)
Regulation No.: 5.2906(e).0003, Report of Delaware Loan Volume Motor Vehicle

Installment Contracts............................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  414 (Prop.)
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Regulation No.: 5.3404/3409.0001, Preneed Funeral Contracts Regulations Governing
Revocable & Irrevocable Trust Agreements........................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  415 (Prop.)

Governor’s Office
Executive Order No. 61, Declaration of Drought Warning;  Extending Voluntary Water

Conservation Measures; and Other Related Items.......................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  453
Executive Order No. 62, Proclamation of State of Emergency Due to Drought Emergency;

Issuing an Emergency Order Imposing Mandatory Related Action............................... .......3  DE Reg.  454
Executive Order No. 63, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62 Regarding the State

of Emergency due to Drought Emergency...................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  546
Executive Order No. 64, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62, as Amended by Executive

Order No. 63, Regarding the State of Emergency due to Drought Emergency.............. .......3  DE Reg.  546
Executive Order No. 65, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62, as Amended by Executive

Order No. 63 and Exec. Order No. 64;  Regarding the State of Emergency due to
Drought Emergency........................................................................................................ .......3  DE Reg.  547

Executive Order No. 66, Termination of State of Emergency Due to Drought; Repeal of Mandatory
Water Conservation Measures; Declaration of Drought Warning; Extending Voluntary Water
Conservation Measures; and Other Related Action........................................................ .......3  DE Reg.  550

Appointments & Nominations............................................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.  111
3  DE Reg.  341
3  DE Reg.  457
3  DE Reg.  552

Public Service Commission
Reg. Docket No. 49, Creation of a Competitive Market for Retail Electric Supply Service. .......3  DE Reg.  538 (Final)
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

PUBLIC HEARING NOTICE

The following Boards and Commissions under the
Division of Professional Regulation propose to hold a joint
public hearing pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10111:

• Board of Electrical Examiners
• Real Estate Commission
• Board of Accountancy
• Board of Professional Land Surveyors
• Board of Architects
• Board of Chiropractic
• Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
• Board of Dental Examiners
• Board of Nursing, 
• Board of Examiners in Optometry
• Board of Plumbing Examiners
• Examining Board of Physical Therapists
• Board of Podiatry
• Council on Real Estate Appraisers
• Board of Landscape Architecture
• Board of Examiners of Psychologists
• Board of Funeral Services
• Board of Veterinary Medicine
• Board of Examiners of Nursing Home

Administrators

• Board of Examiners of Speech/Language
Pathologists, Audiologists and Hearing Aid
Dispensers

• Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners
• Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health
• Board of Occupational Therapy Practice,
• Board of Massage and Bodywork,
• Committee of Dietetics/Nutrition.

The purpose of the hearing is to adopt regulations
pertaining to the Voluntary Treatment Option for
Chemically Dependent or Impaired Professionals in
accordance with 29 Del.C. §8807(n).  The public may obtain
copies of the proposed regulations from the Division of
Professional Regulation c/o Denise Spear, Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904
(302)739-4522 ext. 202.  A public hearing will be held on
December 1, 1999 at 1:00 p.m. in conference room A,
second floor of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd.,
Dover, DE.  The Division will receive and consider input in
writing from any person on the proposed Rules and
Regulations.  Any written comments should be submitted to
the Division in care of Denise Spear at the above address.
Final date to submit written comments shall be at the above
scheduled public hearing.

29 Del.C. §8807
(n) Unless otherwise provided by law, any Board

within the Division of Professional Regulation may adopt
through its rules and regulations the Voluntary Treatment
Option for Chemically Dependent or Impaired Professionals
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for the treatment of chemically dependent or impaired
persons regulated by such Board. The Voluntary Treatment
Option for Chemically Dependent or Impaired Professionals
shall be available to a regulated professional of a
participating Board, provided the regulated professional has
not committed any offense, other than the status of being
chemically dependent or impaired, which otherwise
constitutes a ground for discipline under applicable laws
governing the regulated professional. The participating
Board may defer and ultimately take no disciplinary action
with regard to an eligible chemically dependent or impaired
regulated professional who voluntarily signs an agreement,
in a form satisfactory to the participating Board, agreeing to
the terms and conditions specified in the Voluntary
Treatment Option. The Board, where it deems appropriate,
may proceed with disciplinary action with regard to a
disciplinary offense alleged to have occurred prior to the
professional's entry into the Voluntary Treatment Option.
Any person regulated by a participating Board may refer
himself/herself into this Voluntary Treatment Option. Any
member of the public, or member of the participating
professions regulated by the Division of Professional
Regulation, may make a written report, signed by the
complainant, of chemical dependency or impairment
affecting any person regulated by a participating Board
within the Division of Professional Regulation to the
appropriate Board chairperson, her or his designate, or
designates, or directly to the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate. Failure to
provide such a report may be considered grounds for
disciplinary action against a regulated professional so failing
to report, if such grounds for disciplinary action are provided
in the participating Board's statutes, rules or regulations.
When a report is received indicating that a regulated
professional of a participating Board may be chemically
dependent or impaired, the Boards or Commissions subject
to this Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals shall follow the
following procedures:  

(1) If the report is received by the chairperson of
the regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately
notify the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her
designate of the report. If the Director of Professional
Regulation receives the report, he/she shall immediately
notify the chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that
chairperson's designate or designates.  

(2) The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.  

(3) In order for the individual to participate in the

Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

(4) A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

(5) Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

(6) The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

a. Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  

b. Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
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designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

c. Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program. 

d. Agreement by the regulated professional
to be personally responsible for all costs and charges
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and
treatment program(s). In addition, the Division of
Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the
regulated professional to cover administrative costs
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The
amount of the fee imposed under this subparagraph shall
approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to
defray the expenses of the participating Board, as well as the
proportional expenses incurred by the Division of
Professional Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board
in addition to the administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option.  

e. Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/
her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.  

f. Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

(7) The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.  

(8) The participating Board's chairperson, his/her
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.  

(9) If practice is restricted, the regulated
professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon
completion of the program.  

(10) Failure to enter into such agreement or to

comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

(11) Any person who reports pursuant to this
section in good faith and without malice shall be immune
from any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from
such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected
if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

(12) Any regulated professional who complies with
all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless
otherwise specified in a participating Board's rules and
regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with
the regulated professional shall include the potential for
disclosure and specify those to whom such information may
be disclosed.

BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY & BARBERING

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 
Section 5106(14) (24 Del.C. 5106(14))

The Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
proposes to adopt a new regulation, pursuant to 24 Del.C.
§5106(14) and 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.  The purpose of the
proposed new regulation is to prohibit the use of methyl
methacrylate (MMA) in the practice of cosmetology, nail
technology and related professions.

A public hearing on the proposed regulation will be held
on Monday, November 29, 1999 at 9:30 a.m., in Conference
Room A, Second Floor, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, Delaware.  The Board will receive and
consider input from interested people on the proposed new
regulation.  Oral comments will be received at the public
hearing.  Written comments must be submitted by December
1, 1999 and should be directed to the Board at its offices at
the Division of Professional Regulation, Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 203, Dover, Delaware
19904-2467.

Anyone wishing to make oral comments or to obtain a
copy of the proposed regulation should contact Sheila
Wolfe, Administrative Assistant to the Board, by calling
(302) 739-4522 x 218.

Delaware  Board of Cosmetology and Barbering

1.0 Demonstrations
2.0 Temporary Work Permits
3.0 Instructor Curriculum for Barbering

and Cosmetology
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4.0 Instructor Requirements
5.0 Reciprocity Requirements
6.0 Equipment for Cosmetology and Barbering Schools
7.0 Equipment for Nail Technology Schools
8.0 Equipment for Electrology Schools
9.0 Course outline for Aesthetician
10.0 Equipment for Aesthetics Schools
11.0 Registration of Salons and Schools
12.0 Apprenticeship and Supervision
13.0 Transfer of Nail Technician Hours to Cosmetology

Programs
14.0 Licensure Requirements
15.0 Foreign Diplomas
16.0 Health and Sanitation: Electric Nail Files

and Laser Technology
 
1.0 Demonstrations

1.1 Licensed professionals from other states may
consult with an individual from this state on new techniques,
new trends, new products and equipment knowledge
provided they contact the Board of Cosmetology and
Barbering and apply for a work permit.  This would also
apply to consulting in a trade show.  The work permit will be
good only for thirty (30) days within a calendar year. (24
Del.C. 5103 (1))

2.0 Temporary Work Permits
2.1 Temporary work permits will be issued to an

applicant who is eligible for admission to the cosmetology,
nail technician, barbering or electrology examination with
the appropriate fees paid. The purpose of a temporary work
permit is to allow an otherwise qualified applicant to practice
pending the applicant’s scoring of a passing grade on the
examination.

2.2 A temporary work permit is valid for thirty (30)
days past the next available examination date.

2.3 The holder of a temporary work permit for
cosmetology shall practice under the supervision of a
licensed cosmetologist, barber, cosmetology or barber
instructor.

2.4 The holder of a temporary work permit for nail
technology shall practice under the supervision of a licensed
nail technical, cosmetologist, or cosmetology instructor.

2.5 The holder of a temporary work permit for
barbering shall practice under the supervision of a licensed
barber, cosmetologist, cosmetology or barber instructor.

2.6 The holder of a temporary work permit for
electrology shall practice under the supervision of a licensed
electrologist or electrology instructor.

2.7 A temporary work permit for reciprocity will be
issued to an applicant who meets or exceeds all the
requirements for the State of Delaware.  24 Del.C. 5106 (7)

3.0 Instructor Curriculum for Barbering and Cosmetology

3.1 Course Outline - Instructor 500 Hours
Subject Matter Minimum Clock Hours
Orientation 50
Practical Laboratory Management 200
Classroom Teaching and

Management 200
Theory and Testing 50

3.2 Course Outline - Instructor 250 Hours
Subject Matter Minimum Clock Hours
Orientation 25
Practical Laboratory Management 100
Classroom Teaching and Management   100
Theory and Testing 25

(24 Del.C. Subsection 5106(13)

4.0 Instructor Requirements
4.1 Any licensed cosmetologist or barber who has

successfully completed a course of 500 hours in teacher
training in a registered school of cosmetology or barbering
(as specified in Paragraph III); or has at least two (2) years
experience as an active licensed, practicing cosmetologist or
barber,  supplemented by at least 250 hours of teacher
training in a registered school of cosmetology or barbering
(as specified in Paragraph III).

4.2 Proof of educational documentation from registered
school of cosmetology or barbering for specified hours of
teacher training.

4.3 Experience shall be documented by a notarized
statement from the current or previous employers for at least
two (2) years experience as an active licensed practicing
cosmetologist or barber. (24 Del.C. 5106 (13).

5.0  Reciprocity Requirements
5.1 Any applicant from a state with less stringent

requirements than Delaware, would be required to provide a
notarized statement from a present or prior employer(s)
testifying to work experience in the field for which the
applicant is seeking a license in Delaware for a period of one
year before making application.

Reference Section 2 for temporary work permit. (24
Del.C. 5109(a)

6.0 Equipment for Cosmetology and Barbering Schools
6.1 A school enrolling up to 25 students shall have, at a

minimum, the following equipment:
6.1.1  (4) Shampoo basins.
6.1.2  (8) Hair dryers.
6.1.3  (4) Manicure tables and chairs.
6.1.4  (4) Dry sterilizers (sanitizers).
6.1.5  (4) Wet sterilizers (sanitizers).
6.1.6  (6) Dozen permanent wave rods.
6.1.7  (2) Reclining chair with headrest.
6.1.8  (1) Mannequin per student.
6.1.9  (12) Work Stations.
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6.1.10  Mirrors and chairs.
6.1.11  (1) Locker for each student.
6.1.12  (4) Closed containers for soiled linen.
6.1.13  (3) Closed waste containers.
6.1.14 (1) Container for sterile solution for each

manicure table.
6.1.15 (1) Bulletin board with dimensions of at least

2 feet by 2 feet.
6.1.16  (1) Chalkboard with dimensions of at least 4

feet by 4 feet.
6.1.17  (1) Cabinet for towels.
6.1.18  An arm chair or usable table and chair for

each student in the theory room.
6.1.19  (3) Timer clocks.
6.1.20  Attendance records.
6.1.21  (1) Soap machine.
6.1.22  (1) Textbook for each student. 

(24 Del.C. 5117 (a)

7.0 Equipment for Nail Technology Schools
7.1 A school enrolling up to 25 students shall have, at a

minimum, the following equipment:
7.1.1  (4) Manicure tables and chairs.
7.1.2  (4) Manicure lights.
7.1.3  (1) First Aid Kit.
7.1.4  (1) Pedicure basin and stand.
7.1.5  (1) Covered Waste Container.
7.1.6  (1) Closed storage cabinet for soiled linen.
7.1.7  (1) Closed towel cabinet for clean linen.
7.1.8  Clean linen.
7.1.9 (1) Container for sterile solution for each

manicure table.
7.1.10 (1) Bulletin board with dimensions of at least

2 feet by 2 feet.
7.1.11 (1) Chalkboard with dimensions of at least 4

feet by 4 feet.
7.1.12  Attendance Records.
7.1.13  Reception Desk.
7.1.14  Proper Ventilation.
7.1.15  (4) Dry Sterilizers.
7.1.16  (4) Wet Sterilizers.
7.1.17  Dispensary.

7.2 For each additional nail technician, equipment and
supplies shall be increased so that each nail technician can
render services safely and efficiently. (24 Del C. Subsection
5117 (a)

8.0 Equipment for Electrology Schools
8.1 A school enrolling up to 2 students shall have, at a

minimum, the following equipment:
8.1.1  (1)  Epilator (Short Wave or Blend) Needle

type only.
8.1.2  (1)  All purpose chair or lounge.
8.1.3  (1)  Magnifying lamp (wall mounted or on a

stand). 8.1.4  (1) Tweezers for each student.
8.1.5  (1)  Movable table for the epilator.
8.1.6  (1)  Adjustable stool on wheels.
8.1.7  All needles used for treatment must be

disposable type only.
8.1.8  Sterilizing materials and rubber gloves.
8.1.9  (1) Textbook for each student.

9.0 Course Outline for Aesthetician
9.1 Subject Matter Clock Hours

Personal Development 10
Health and Science 65
Hygienic Provisions 15
Consultation and Record

Keeping 30
Machines, Apparatus, 
Including Procedures 25
Related Skin Care Procedures 15
Makeup and Color 30
Business Management and

Sales Practice 10
Clinic and Practice 100

Total Minimum Hours 300
(24 Del.C. 5132(a)

10.0  Equipment for Aesthetics Schools
10.1  A school enrolling up to 2 students shall have, at a

minimum, the following equipment:
10.1.1  (1)  Complete set of skin care equipment as

follows:  Steamer - Brush Unit -Vacuum Spray - Galvanic -
High Frequency Unit.

10.1.2  (1)  All purpose chair or lounge.
10.1.3 (1)  Magnifying lamp (wall mounted or on a

stand). 10.1.4  (1)  Adjustable stool on wheels.
10.1.5  Sterilizing materials and rubber gloves.
10.1.6  (1)  Textbook for each student.

(24 Del.C. 5130(a)
Above Rules and Regulations effective on  8/29/94

11.0Registration of Salons and Schools 
11.1 A person licensed by the Board as a

cosmetologist, barber, electrologist, nail technician or
instructor shall not work in a beauty salon, barbershop, nail
salon, electrology establishment, school of cosmetology,
barbering, nail technology, or electrology unless this
establishment has the certificate of registration.  (24 Del.C.
5117)

Section 11 effective on 12/28/94

12.0 Apprenticeship and Supervision
12.1 Any person applying for licensure as a

cosmetologist or  barber through apprenticeship must
complete the necessary apprentice hours in not less than
eighteen (18) months and not more than 48 months.
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12.2 Any person applying for licensure as a nail
technician through apprenticeship must complete the
necessary apprentice hours in not less than six (6) weeks and
not more than 24 months.

12.3 Any person applying for licensure as an
electrologist through apprenticeship must complete the
necessary apprentice hours in not less than fifteen (15)
weeks and not more than 36 months.

12.4 Any person applying for certification as an
aesthetician through apprenticeship must complete the
necessary apprentice hours in not less than fifteen (15)
weeks and not more than 36 months.

12.5 On written application to the Board prior to
completion of the apprenticeship, the Board may grant
extensions to these time frames for good cause shown.

12.6 Applicants for licensure as nail technician may
apprentice under the supervision of either licensed nail
technician or a licensed cosmetologist.

(24 Del.C. 5107)

13.0 Transfer of Nail Technician Hours to Cosmetology
Programs

13.1 Apprentice nail technician hours earned
totaling 250 may be transferred and applied to an apprentice
cosmetology program totaling 3,000 hours. Public/private
student nail technician hours earned totaling 125 may be
transferred and applied to a public/private cosmetology
school curriculum totaling 1,500 hours. (24 Del.C. 5107)

Section 12 and 13 effective October 30, 1996

14.0 Licensure Requirements
14.1 Each licensee licensed by the Board and each

registered person, firm, corporation or association operating
a beauty salon, barbershop, nail salon, or electrology
establishment shall be responsible for ensuring that all of its
employee requiring a license are licensed in Delaware prior
to the commencement of employment.  The licensee and/or
registrant shall have available for inspection on premises at
all time a copy of the Delaware license of its employees.

14.2 A Licensee and /or registrant who employs
unlicensed individuals may be subject to discipline pursuant
to 24 Del. C § 5113(a)(b). (24 Del.C. 5103)

15.0 Application for Licensure
15.1 All applications for licensure or certification

must be submitted on forms approved by the Board and the
Division of Professional Regulation and be accompanied by
the appropriate fee.

15.2 Each applicant must provide proof of any
required general or professional education in the form of :
(1) a certified transcript or diploma; or (2) affidavits of the
registrar or other appropriate official; or (3) any other
document evidencing completion of the necessary education
to the Board’s satisfaction.

15.3 Any applicant submitting credentials,
transcripts or other documents from a program or
educational facility outside the United States or its territories
must provide the Board with a certificate of translation from
a person or agency acceptable to the Board, if appropriate,
and an educational credential evaluation from an agency
approved by the Board demonstrating that his or her training
and education are equivalent to domestic training and
education.

16.0 Health and Sanitation; Electric Nail Files and Laser
Technology

16.1 Each licensee, instructor, certified aesthetician,
and registered salon or school shall follow all regulations or
standards issued by the Division of Public Health or its
successor agency relating to health, safety or sanitation in
the practice of cosmetology, barbering, electrology or nail
technology.

16.2 In addition to any regulation or standard
adopted by the Division of Public Health, each licensee,
instructor, certified aesthetician, and registered salon school
shall follow the standards for infection control and blood
spill procedures promulgated by the National Interstate
Council or its successor organization.

16.3 Electric nail files and electric drills shall not be
used on natural nails.  The use of methyl methacrylate
(MMA) is prohibited.  No licensee, instructor, certified
aesthetician, school, beauty salon or shop shall use or permit
the use of MMA.

16.4 The use of laser technology for hair removal is
not work generally or usually performed by cosmetologists
and is prohibited.

16.5 Violation of any of the regulations, standards
or prohibitions established under this Rule shall constitute a
grounds for discipline under section 5113 of Title 24 Del. C.
(24Del C. 5100, 5101(4), 5112 and 5113)

BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 3506(a)(1) (24 Del.C. 3506(a)(1))

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del. C. Section 3506(a)(1), the
Delaware Board of Examiners of Psychologists proposes to
adopt a new Rule and Regulation.  The proposed revision to
the rules and regulations will change Section 5 by requiring
candidates to submit all application materials to the Board
for its review prior to the candidate sitting for the
examination.
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 A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rule and
Regulation on December 6, 1999 at 10:00 a.m. in the Second
Floor Conference Room A, Cannon Building, 861 Silver
Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware.  The Board will receive
and consider input from interested persons on the proposed
rule and regulation, and individuals are urged to submit their
comments in writing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of
the proposed regulation, or to make comments at the public
hearing, should contact the Board’s Administrative Assistant
Gayle Franzolino by calling (302) 739-4522 Ext. 220, or
write to the Delaware Board of Examiners of Psychologists,
P. O. Box 1401, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE
19903.

Board of Examiners of Psychologists

1.0 General Rules and Regulations
The Board of Examiners of Psychologists has been

established under the 24 Del.C. Ch. 35, and current
amendments to that Law.  Within the framework of the Law,
the Board has the responsibility for interpreting and
implementing the legal provisions and requirements of the
Law through the establishment of operating Rules and
Regulations.  The Board and the public may propose
changes in the Rules and Regulations in accordance with the
Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.

2.0 Official Board Office
The official office of the Board of Examiners shall be in

Dover in the Division of Professional Regulation and all
correspondence must be addressed to this office in written
form before official action can be taken.  In addition, the
Division of Professional Regulation will provide an
Administrative Assistant who will take notes at Board
meetings, keep the records for the Board, and serve as a
liaison between the Board and members of the public who
have questions for the Board.  The Division of Professional
Regulation will also set fees to defray the cost of regulation.

3.0 Meetings of the Board
The Board will hold such meetings during the year as it

may deem necessary to review licensure applications and
psychological assistant applications, evaluate continuing
education, hold disciplinary hearings, or conduct other
Board business.  Either the President, or the majority of the
Board may call a Board meeting. The Division of
Professional Regulation, Board members, and the public
shall be notified of the meeting agenda, time and location in
accordance with the Freedom of Information Act.

4.0 Officers of the Board
The Board elects its own officers at the first meeting of

each calendar year.  The President of the Board sets the
agendas of the meetings, chairs meetings, and represents the

Board at state regulatory meetings, the American
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards, and
other organizations that may interface with the Board unless
someone else is designated to attend in place of the
President.  The Vice President or Secretary acts for the
President in the President’s absence.  The Secretary of the
Board, in conjunction with the Administrative Assistant
from the Division of Professional Regulation, is responsible
for taking care of Board correspondence.

5.0 Procedures for Licensure
5.1 Application - Initial Licensure

An applicant who is applying for licensure as a
psychologist shall submit evidence showing that he/she
meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. 3508.  The applicant
must submit the following:

5.1.1  An pplication for licensure, which shall
include:

5.1.1.1  Academic credentials documented by
official transcripts showing completion of an educational
program meeting the requirements of 24 Del.C. 3508(a)(1).

5.1.1.2  Supervised experience documented by
having each supervisor complete a Supervisory Reference
Form.

5.1.1.3  Evidence that the applicant passed the
written “Examination for Professional Practice in
Psychology”, developed by the Association of State and
Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB), by achieving the
passing score recommended by the ASPPB at the time of the
application for licensure.  Candidates who are not licensed in
any other state must have passed the written examination
within five (5) years of application for licensure in
Delaware.  Applicants who have not taken the examination
must submit all other required documents to the Board for
review prior to sitting for the examination.  Only  those
applicants the Board determines are otherwise eligible for
Delaware licensure shall be approved to sit for the
examination, subject to the administration policies and
procedures of the ASPPB.  After sitting for the examination,
applicants must supplement their application materials by
submitting evidence of their passing score as recommended
by the ASPPB. 

5.1.1.4  Verification that the applicant has no
past or pending disciplinary proceedings.  [24 Del.C.
3508(a)(4)]

5.1.1.5  The application shall not be considered
complete until all materials are received by the Board for
review at an officially scheduled meeting.  The applicant
will have twelve (12) months from the date of initial
submission of the application and fee to complete the
application process.

5.1.2  Completed certification form.  The applicant
will be notified, once his/her application is complete and
available for the Board’s review.  The certification form
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must be submitted before any further action can be taken.
5.2 Application - By Reciprocity

An applicant who is applying for licensure as a
psychologist by reciprocity, as defined in 24 Del.C. 3511,
shall submit evidence that he/she meets the following
requirements:

5.2.1  An application for licensure, which shall
include:

5.2.1.1  Evidence that the applicant is licensed
or certified in another state and that the applicant has
practiced continuously, as a doctoral-level psychologist, in
good standing in that jurisdiction for two (2) years.

5.2.1.2  Evidence that the applicant passed the
written Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology
(EPPP) by achieving the passing score, as required by their
state of original licensure.

5.2.2  Completed certification form.  The applicant
will be notified once his/her application is complete and
available for the Board’s review.  The certification form
must be submitted before any further action can be taken.

6.0 Evaluation of Credentials
6.1 Candidates for licensure as psychologists in the

State of Delaware shall:
6.1.1  Have received a doctoral degree based on a

program of studies which is psychological in content and
specifically designed to train and prepare psychologists.  The
doctoral degree must be from  a college or university,
accredited as required by 24 Del.C. 3508(a)(1) having a
graduate program which states its purpose to be the training
and preparation of psychologists. The Board will consider
programs to be psychological in  content by the criteria
established by the joint designation project of the
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards and
the Council for the National Register of Health Service
Providers in Psychology, as follows:

6.1.1.1  Programs that are accredited by the
American Psychological Association are recognized as
meeting the definition of a professional psychology
program.  The criteria for accreditation serves as a model for
professional psychology training.

6.1.1.2  Or, all of the following criteria, (1)
through (9):

6.1.1.2.1 Training in professional
psychology is doctoral training offered in a regionally
accredited institution of higher education.

6.1.1.2.2  The program, wherever it may
be administratively housed,  must be clearly identified and
labeled as a psychology program.  Such program must
specify in pertinent institutional catalogues and brochures its
intent to educate and train professional psychologists.

6.1.1.2.3  The psychology program must
stand as a recognizable, coherent organizational entity
within the institution.

6.1.1.2.4  There must be a clear authority
and primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas
whether or not the program cuts across administrative lines.

6.1.1.2.5  The program must be an
integrated, organized sequence of study.

6.1.1.2.6  There must be an identifiable
psychology faculty and a psychologist responsible for the
program.

6.1.1.2.7  The program must include a
body of students who are matriculated in  that program for a
degree.

6.1.1.2.8  The program must include
supervised  practicum, internship,  field or laboratory
training appropriate to the practice of psychology.

6.1.1.2.9  The curriculum shall encompass
a minimum of three (3) academic years of full time graduate
study.  In addition to instruction in scientific and
professional ethics and standards research design and
methodology, statistics, and psychometrics, the  core
program shall require each student to demonstrate
competence in each of the following substantive content
areas.  This typically will be met by including a minimum of
three or more graduate semester hours (5 or more graduate
quarter hours) in each of these 4 substantive content areas:

6.1.1.2.9.1  Biological bases of
behavior:  Physiological psychology, comparative
psychology, neuropsychology, sensation and perception,
psychopharmacology. 

6.1.1.2.9.2  Cognitive-affective bases
of behavior: Learning, thinking, motivation, emotion. 

6.1.1.2.9.3  Social bases of behavior:
Social psychology, group processes, organizational and
systems theory.

6.1.1.2.9.4 Individual differences:
Personality theory, human development, abnormal
psychology.  

6.1.1.3  In addition, all professional education
programs in psychology will include course requirements in
specialty areas.

6.2  Have had, after receiving the doctoral degree, at
least 2 years of supervised experience in psychological work
satisfactory to the Board; and

6.3 Have achieved the passing score on the written
standardized Examination for Professional Practice in
Psychology (EPPP) developed by the Association of State
and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) or its successor;
or

6.4 The Board will qualify for licensing without
examination any person who applies for licensure and who is
a Diplomate of the American Board of Professional
Psychology.  All such applicants must meet all other
requirements for licensure.
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7.0 Supervised Experience
The types of supervision pertinent to licensure as a

psychologist or registration as a psychological assistant are
comprised of three types of supervisory experiences:

7.1 Predoctoral internship supervision as required by
doctoral programs in psychology.  The predoctoral
internship consists of a minimum of 1,500 hours of actual
work experience completed in not less than 48 weeks, nor
more than 104 weeks.  At least 50% of the predoctoral
supervised experience must be in clinical services such as
treatment, consultation, assessment, and report writing, with
at least 25% of that time devoted to face-to-face direct
patient/client contact.  No more than 25% of time shall be
allocated for research.

7.2 Postdoctoral supervision is required for initial
licensure as a psychologist. Postdoctoral experience must
consist of 3,000 hours of actual work experience.  This
experience is to be completed in not less than two years and
not more than three calendar years, save for those covered
under Section 3519(e).  For those individuals the accrual of
3,000 hours of supervised postdoctoral experience must take
place within six calendar years from the time of hire.  There
is to be one hour of face-to-face supervision for every 1-10
hours of clinical work.  This experience shall consist of at
least twenty-five percent and not more than sixty percent of
the time devoted to direct service per week in the area of the
applicant’s academic training. “Direct service” consists of
any activity defined as the practice of psychology or the
supervision of graduate students engaging in activities
defined as the practice of psychology. Not more than 25% of
this supervision can be done by other licensed mental health
professionals besides psychologists.  

The purpose of the postdoctoral supervision is to
train psychologists to practice at an independent level.  This
experience should be an organized educational and training
program with explicit goals and a clear plan to meet those
goals.  There should be regular written evaluations based on
this program.  

7.3 Supervision of psychological assistants is required
at the frequency of one hour of face-to-face supervision for
every 1-10 hours of clinical work by the psychological
assistants, as required by Section 9 of the Rules and
Regulations.  An individual registered as a psychological
assistant may or may not be receiving supervision in pursuit
of independent licensure as a psychologist.

7.4 A psychologist providing either postdoctoral
supervision or supervision of psychological assistants must
have been in practice for two years post licensure in this or
any other state without having been subject to any
disciplinary actions.  He/she must provide 24-hour
availability to both the supervisee and the supervisee’s
clients, or ensure that adequate alternative coverage is
provided in the supervisor’s absence. The supervising
psychologist shall have sufficient knowledge of all clients

including face-to-face contact when necessary and must be
employed or under contract in the setting where the clinical
service takes place and the supervision must occur within
that setting.

8.0 Failure to Pass Examination
Applicants may take the Examination for the

Professional Practice in Psychology as many times as they
choose.  Intervals between testing will be determined by the
testing agency and the ASPPB.

9.0 Psychological Assistants
9.1 A psychological assistant is an individual who

meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. Section 3509(2a-2e).
This individual may be registered as a psychological
assistant in order to receive supervision to be eligible for
later licensure to practice independently as a psychologist
and/or for any other reason as recognized by law. 

9.2 Psychological assistants are supervised, directed,
and evaluated by a Delaware licensed psychologist who
assumes professional and legal responsibility for the services
provided.  

9.2.1  Any Delaware licensed psychologist who has
had a least two (2) years of experience following the
granting of licensure in this or in any other state may
supervise a maximum of seven (7) psychological assistants.  

9.2.2  It is the responsibility of the supervising
psychologist in conjunction with the psychological assistant
to diagnose and form treatment plans for patients seen by the
psychological assistant and to file such plan in the patient/
client’s chart.  

9.2.3  The patient/client must be informed that
services are being delivered by a psychological assistant and
that the licensed psychologist is responsible for the
treatment.  

9.2.4  The patient/client shall sign a statement of
informed consent attesting that he/she understands that the
services are being delivered by a psychological assistant and
that the licensed psychologist is ultimately responsible for
his/her treatment. This document shall include the
supervising psychologist’s name and the telephone number
where he/she can be reached.  One copy shall be filed with
the patient/client’s record and another given to the patient.  

9.3 The Delaware licensed psychologist is identified as
the legally and ethically responsible party in all advertising,
public announcements, and billings.  In addition, billings and
advertisements will clearly indicate that the service is being
provided by a psychological assistant.  All treatment and
evaluation reports prepared by the psychological assistant
must be signed by the psychologist and the psychological
assistant.

9.4 The Delaware licensed psychologist who accepts
the responsibility of using a psychological assistant shall
develop and maintain a current, written job description
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delineating the range and type of duties, educational
practicum and clinical experience to be assigned to the
psychological assistant, limits of independent action,
emergency procedures for contacting the  supervising
psychologist, and the amount and type of supervision to be
provided.  This job description must be signed by the
psychologist and the psychological assistant and will be filed
in the Division of Professional Regulation, along with an
official copy of the psychological assistant’s college
transcript, and proof of a 450-hour clinical practicum
supervised by a licensed psychologist or by a faculty
member in a nationally accredited doctoral level clinical
training program in the State of Delaware who is actively
pursuing licensure.  The psychological assistant will also
provide a statement under oath as outlined in 24 Del.C.
3509(b1 - b3).  

9.5 The Board will then review credentials, job
description and supervisory arrangements, and if the
arrangements are acceptable, will inform the psychologist in
writing that the psychological assistant can begin work.  No
psychological assistant shall begin work until the Board has
approved the application. Registration for psychological
assistants expires biennially and continued performance of
the duties of a psychological assistant requires proof of
twenty (20) hours of continuing education and payment of
the renewal fee.

9.6 Supervision of the psychological assistant by the
Delaware licensed psychologist is to be a regular and formal
process.  It is required that the licensed psychologist and the
psychological assistant have weekly one-on-one, face-to-
face supervision with review of each case served by the
psychological assistant. The supervising psychologist should
be familiar with each patient/client seen by the psychological
assistant and with the ongoing progress of treatment.  One
hour of supervision for every ten hours, or fraction thereof,
of direct clinical work by the psychological assistant is
required as a minimum.  For example, if a psychological
assistant provides eight (8) hours of direct clinical service,
he or she must receive a minimum of one (1) hour of
supervision.  Likewise, a psychological assistant, who has
fifteen (15) hours of direct clinical contact, must receive at
least two (2) hours of supervision.  This supervision must be
documented in writing on patient records.  In addition, the
supervising psychologist shall submit at the time of
relicensure and at the termination of the supervision
relationship a supervision report on a form provided by the
Board which will become a part of the public record.  It will
contain information describing the date and amount of
supervision and any unscheduled supervisory contact, as
well as a brief assessment of the psychological assistant’s
functioning. The Board will consider requests to substitute
group supervision for some portion of the one-to-one, face-
to-face supervision requirement.  A supervising psychologist
must petition the Board and show good cause for this

substitution.   If the supervising psychologist’s request is
granted, no more than five (5) psychological assistants may
meet with the supervising psychologist at one time and there
must be two (2) hours of group supervision in place of every
one (1) hour of individual supervision.  All psychological
assistants must have at least one (1) hour of individual
supervision per week.  The Board reserves the right to
withdraw their permission for the substitution at any time.  

9.7 Psychological Assistants are to work in the office of
the licensed psychologist so as to have regular and continued
supervision.  When the licensed psychologist is not in the
office, he or she is expected to provide clear contingency
plans for consultation for the psychological assistant.  It is
assumed that the psychologist will be available to the
psychological assistant under most circumstances; therefore,
arrangements in which the supervising psychologist is
employed full time elsewhere will not be approved, unless it
can be demonstrated that there will be adequate supervision
and contingency coverage of the psychological assistant.
Supervising psychologists will be expected to describe in
their application for the psychological assistant how much
supervision they will provide and how that supervision will
be provided.

9.8 Psychological assistants who work for agencies
must be supervised by a psychologist employed by or under
contract to the agency.  Supervision must occur on site, and
the agency must have clearly spelled out plans for providing
consultation and backup when the supervising psychologist
is not on site.  A psychological assistant, who provides
services that are under the direction of different
psychologists, must be registered as a psychological
assistant by all of the psychologists who are directly
supervising the clinical work.

9.9 When there is a complaint of incompetent,
improper, or unethical behavior on the part of the
psychological assistant, in addition to the disciplinary action
against the psychological assistant, disciplinary action may
be taken against the supervising psychologist for failing to
provide adequate supervision of the psychological assistant.
The Board reserves the right to suspend or revoke the
Delaware licensed psychologist's privilege of hiring a
psychological assistant when just cause has been established
through a formal hearing. Violation of this regulation may
constitute cause for suspending or revoking the future
privilege of hiring a psychological assistant.

9.10  Patients/clients are always the responsibility of the
supervising psychologist.  Termination or transfer plans
must be worked out with the approval of the supervising
psychologist.  A  psychological assistant will be considered
to be working for the supervising psychologist until the
Board of Examiners is notified in writing of the change in
arrangements.  The letter terminating a psychological
assistant arrangement must also specify when the
supervising  psychologist is terminating the arrangement
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because of concerns about the ethical or professional
behavior of the psychological assistant. 

10.0  Continuing Education
10.1  Psychologists must obtain 40 hours of continuing

education every two years in order to be eligible for renewal
of license.  Psychologists will be notified in January that
they may submit their documentation beginning March 1st.
Continuing education credit must be submitted for the period
of August 1st of the year of renewal to July 31st of the
second year.  Individuals licensed within the two year period
will be notified by the Board of the prorated amount to
submit.

10.2  Psychological assistants must obtain 20 hours of
continuing education every two years for re-registration.
Psychological assistants may submit their documentation
beginning March 1st.  The appropriate period for credits to
be accrued is from August 1st of the year of renewal to July
31st of the second year. Psychological assistants registered
within the two year period will be notified by the Board of
the prorated amount to submit.

10.3  Psychologists or psychological assistants who
have not submitted their material by July 31st will be
allowed  to reapply for licensure or registration  until August
31st.  In the situation where the appropriate amount of
documentation has been submitted in a timely fashion and in
good faith and with reasonable expectation of renewal, but
has been found to be inadequate, the practitioner has 30 days
from the notification of inadequacy to submit valid
continuing education credit in the amount specified, or until
August 31st of that year, whichever is later.

10.4  It is the responsibility of the psychologist or
psychological assistant to file a record of his/her continuing
education.  Documentation of continuing education will
consist of letters/certificates of attendance from the
sponsoring entity.

10.5  The subject of the continuing education must
contribute directly to the professional competency of a
person licensed to practice as a psychologist or registered as
a psychological assistant.  The activity must have significant
intellectual or practical content and deal with psychological
techniques, issues or ethical standards relevant to the
practice of psychology.

10.6  Activities from APA-approved continuing
education sponsors will be automatically accepted. The
following may be eligible:

10.6.1  Other programs which are not APA-
approved sponsors but where the material is relevant to
professional practice and provides the equivalent of APA-
defined credit.  An applicant must provide a brochure or
other documentation that supports the following criteria:
relevance, stated objectives, faculty and educational
objectives.  To document attendance and completion, a
certificate of attendance is required.  In these circumstances,

hours will be accrued on the basis of clock hours involved in
the training.

10.6.2  Graduate courses relevant to professional
practice taken for educational credit offered by a regionally
accredited academic institution of higher education.  Each
credit hour of a course is equivalent to 5 CE hours.

10.6.3  Teaching an undergraduate or graduate level
course in applied psychology at an accredited institution.
Teaching a 3 hour semester or quarter course is considered
the equivalent of 5 CE credits.  No more than 5 CE credits
may be completed in this manner for any renewal period and
can be submitted only for the first time that a course is
presented.  Appropriate documentation of teaching must
include the listing of the course in the school catalog and a
letter from the academic institution stating that the course
was taught.

10.6.4  Teaching of a workshop or conduction of a
seminar on a topic of pertinence to the practice of
psychology.  Credit earned for one day is a maximum of 2
credits, two days is a maximum of 3 credits, and three days
or more is a maximum of 5 credits.  However, credit can be
earned only once for teaching a particular seminar or
workshop and not be eligible for re-submission at any time.
Appropriate documentation is considered to be the brochure
and demonstration of the workshop being held by the
sponsoring entity.

10.6.5  Authorship, editing or reviewing of a
publication.  Credit may be earned only in the year of the
publication and is limited to the following:

10.6.5.1  Author of a book (maximum of 40 CE
hours)

10.6.5.2  Author of a book chapter or journal
article (maximum of 15 CE hours)

10.6.5.3  Editor of a book (maximum of 25 CE
hours)

10.6.5.4  Editor of or reviewer for a scientific
or professional journal recognized by the Board (maximum
25 CE hours)

10.6.5.5  Proof of the above (10.6.5.1 -
10.6.5.4) must include the submission of the work or
documentation of authorship by copy of title pages.
 10.6.6  Preparing and presenting a scientific or
professional paper or poster at a meeting of a professional or
scientific  organization.  Up to 2 hours may be claimed for a
poster presentation.  Up to 3 hours of credit may be claimed
for each hour of paper presentation, with a maximum of 8
CE hours per paper. Listing within the program and
certificate letters of attendance at the meeting is appropriate
documentation for both a paper or poster presentation.

10.7 The Board reserves the right to reject any CE
program, if it is outside the scope of the practice of
psychology.

10.8 The following will not be considered for credit:
service to organizations; attending business meetings of
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professional organizations; business management or office
administration courses; group supervision; or case
conferences.  

11.0 Professional Conduct
Psychologists and psychological assistants may be

disciplined for violations of provisions of 24 Del.C. 3514.
 
12.0  Complaint Procedures

12.1  Complaints against psychologists and
psychological assistants will be investigated as provided by
29 Del.C. 8807 and all hearings shall be conducted in
accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 29
Del.C. Chapter 101.

12.2  Complaints must be filed, in writing, with the
Division of Professional Regulation.

13.0  License Renewal
Renewal notices will be mailed in a timely fashion to all

psychologists and psychological assistants who are currently
licensed or registered.  Continuing education requirements
must be fulfilled as detailed in Section 10 of the Rules and
Regulations and submitted along with the established fee for
renewal to be approved.  Should any psychologist fail to
renew and continue to make representation as a licensed
psychologist beyond July 31st, that individual is practicing
without a license.  Should any psychological assistant fail to
renew and continue to make representation as a registered
psychological assistant beyond July 31st, that individual is
considered no longer to be registered, and his/her
supervising psychologist is in violation of the law.

14.0  Procedures for Licensure Applicable to Full Time
Faculty Members in a Nationally Accredited Doctoral Level
Clinical Training Program in the State of Delaware

14.1  University faculty employed full time in a
nationally accredited doctoral level clinical training program
in the State of Delaware, as specified in 24 Del.C. 3519(e),
who are not licensed, are subject to the following rules and
regulations:

14.1.1  Notification.  Such individuals must notify
the Board of Examiners of Psychologists no later than 30
days after the commencement of employment, indicating
employer, position and date employment began.  At that time
they will receive a copy of the statute and Rules and
Regulations which detail the exemption under which they
operate.

14.1.2  Professional Activities.  These individuals
may participate in activities defined by statute as the practice
of psychology (including the supervision of matriculated
graduate students) only within the context of a clinical
training program.  They may conduct any research and
teaching activities related to the activities of such a program.

14.1.3  Education.  Such individuals must have

completed the doctoral degree at the time employment
commences consistent with 24 Del.C. 3508(a).

14.1.4  Active Pursuit of Licensure.  Such
individuals are required to be in active pursuit of licensure
for a period not to exceed six (6) years.  The six year time
frame for the completion of licensure requirements
commences with the initial date of employment.  The six-
year time frame for individuals employed as of June 12,
1995 commenced on that date.

14.1.5  Supervision.  The supervised experience
required for licensure of such individuals is described in
Section 7 of the Rules and Regulations.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

DELAWARE STUDENT TESTING PROGRAM

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to amend the regulations on the
Delaware Student Testing Program.  These amendments are
necessary in order to carry out the requirements of 14 Del.
C., Sections 151 through 153.  The recommended
amendments add part 2.4 concerning breaches of security on
the testing process to Section 2.0, Security and
Confidentiality and add part 3.4.1 Other Indicators in part
3.4., Below the Performance Standard (Level 2).
Completely new sections 4.0 through 8.0 are also being
added as amendments. These sections are titled: 4.0.,
Promotion and Summer School, 5.0., Students with
Disabilities, 6.0., Irregular Conditions, 7.0., Notification to
Parents or Guardian and 8.0., High School Diploma
Requirements.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the regulations help improve student
achievement as measured against state performance
standards?

The new regulations will help to improve student
performance by assessing student progress on meeting the

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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requirements of the state content standards.

2. Will the regulations help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The new regulations address assessment issues, not
equity issues.

3. Will the regulations help to ensure that all students'
health and safety are adequately protected?

The new regulations address assessment issues, not
health and safety issues.

4. Will the regulations help to ensure that all students'
legal rights are respected?

The new regulations address assessment issues, not
students’ legal rights.

5. Will the regulations preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The new regulations will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level.

6. Will the regulations place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The new regulations will add to the reporting and
administrative requirements in the local school districts but
the Del. C. directs the Department of Education to make
such regulations.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8. Will the regulations be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing
performance in the core academic subjects of mathematics,
science, language arts and social studies?

The new regulations will be consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?

The Del. C. requires the Department of Education
to make such regulations.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulations?

There are additional costs associated with the
Delaware Student Testing Program but the state has funded
and will continue to fund the majority of the program costs.

100.1  Delaware Student Testing Program
July 1999

1.0 General:  Assessments created pursuant to the Delaware
Student Testing Program shall be administered annually, on
dates specified by the Secretary of Education, to students in
grades 3, 5, 8, and 10, in the content areas of reading,
mathematics and writing and to students in grades 4, 6, 8 and
11 in the content areas of social studies and science.  All
students in said grades shall be tested except that students
with disabilities and students with limited English
proficiency shall be tested according to the Department of
Education’s Guidelines for the Inclusion of Students with
Disabilities and Students with Limited English Proficiency,
as the same, may from time to time be amended hereafter.

2.0 Security and Confidentiality:  In order to assure uniform
and secure procedures, the Delaware Student Testing
Program shall be administered pursuant to the Delaware
Student Testing Program Coordinators Handbook, as the
same, may from time to time be amended hereafter.

2.1 Every district superintendent, district test
coordinator, school principal, school test coordinator and test
administrator shall sign the affidavit provided by the
Department of Education regarding test security before,
during and after test administration.

2.2 Violation of the security or confidentiality of any
test required by the Delaware Code and the regulations of
the Department of Education shall be prohibited.

2.3 Procedures for maintaining the security and
confidentiality of a test shall be specified in the appropriate
test administration materials.  Conduct that violates the
security or confidentiality of a test is defined as any
departure from the test administration procedures established
by the Department of Education.  Conduct of this nature
shall include, without limitation, the following acts and
omissions:

2.3.1 duplicating secure examination materials;
2.3.2 disclosing the contents of any portion of a

secure test;
2.3.3 providing, suggesting, or indicating to an

examinee a response or answer to a secure test item or
prompt;

2.3.4 changing or altering a response or answer
of an examinee to a secure test item or prompt;

2.3.5 aiding or assisting an examinee with a
response or answer to a secure test item or prompt;

2.3.6 encouraging or assisting an individual to
engage in the conduct described above;

2.3.7 failing to report to an appropriate authority
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that an individual has engaged in conduct outlined above;
2.4 Reported breaches of security related to the

Delaware Student Testing Program shall be investigated by
Department of Education staff.  Upon determination that a
security breach has occurred, the Secretary of Education
shall levy an appropriate consequence ranging from a letter
of reprimand to revocation of professional license.

3.0 Levels of Performance:  There shall be five levels of
student performance relative to the State Content Standards
on the assessments administered pursuant to the Delaware
Student Testing Program.  Said levels are defined and shall
be determined as follows:

3.1 Distinguished Performance (Level 5):  A student's
performance in the tested domain is deemed exceptional.
Students in this category show mastery of the Delaware
Content Standards beyond what is expected of students
performing at the top of the grade level.  Student
performance in this range is often exemplified by responses
that indicate a willingness to go beyond the task, and could
be classified as "exemplary."  The cut points for
Distinguished Performance shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education, using test data and the results from the
Standard Setting process.

3.2 Exceeds the Performance Standard (Level 4):  A
student's performance in the tested domain goes well beyond
the fundamental skills and knowledge required for students
to Meet the Performance Standard.  Students in this category
show mastery of the Delaware Content Standards beyond
what is expected at the grade level.  Student performance in
this range is often exemplified by work that is of the quality
to which all students should aspire, and could be classified as
"very good."  The cut points for Exceeds the Performance
Standard shall be determined by the Department of
Education, with the consent of the State Board of Education,
using advice from a standard setting body. The standard
setting body shall utilize a proven method for setting
standards on test instruments that utilizes student work in
making the recommendation.

3.3 Meets the Performance Standard (Level 3):  A
student's performance in the tested domain indicates an
understanding of the fundamental skills and knowledge
articulated in the Delaware Content Standards.  Students in
this category show mastery of the Delaware Content
Standards at grade level.  Student performance in this range
can be classified as "good."  The cut points for Meets the
Performance Standard shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education, using advice from a standard setting
body.  The standard setting body shall utilize a proven
method for setting standards on test instruments that utilizes
student work in making the recommendation.

3.4 Below the Performance Standard (Level 2):  A

student's performance in the tested domain shows a partial or
incomplete understanding of the fundamental skills and
knowledge articulated in the Delaware Content Standards.
Students who are Below the Performance Standard may
require additional instruction in order to succeed in further
academic pursuits, and can be classified as academically
“deficient.”  The cut points for Below the Performance
Standard shall be determined by the Department of
Education, with the consent of the State Board of Education,
using test data and the results from the Standard Setting
process.  Students at the upper end of this level are to be
further sub-classified as Near the Performance Standard.
Students who are Near the Performance Standard are those
whose performance on the fundamental skills and
knowledge articulated in the Delaware Content Standards is
not yet sufficient to Meet the Performance Standard, but the
student is near the threshold in relation to the Meets the
Performance Standard category.  The threshold for Near the
Performance Standard shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education, using an error of measurement
determined by the test data and the results from the standard
setting process.

3.4.1 Other Indicators: Other indicators may be
considered when determining the Level of Performance for
students who score Near the Performance Standard.
Students who meet the requirements of one or more of the
indicators for the assessments listed below shall have their
performance classified as Level 3, Meets the Performance
Standard.

3.4.1.1 For grades 3, 5, 8 & 10 in reading:  If
the student’s assigned proficiency on the writing portion of
the Delaware Student Testing Program is Meets the
Performance Standard or better, the student shall be eligible
for promotion providing he/she has met all other
requirements for promotion as established by the State or
local districts.

3.4.1.2 For grades 3, 5, 8 & 10 in reading:  If
the student’s assigned National Percentile Ranking is in the
top quartile on the normative portion of the Delaware
Student Testing Program reading test, the student shall be
eligible for promotion providing he/she has met all other
requirements for promotion as established by the State or
local districts.

3.4.1.3 For grades 3, 5, 8 & 10 in reading:
The Department of Education shall certify a score on any
district administered reading test approved by the
Department that would be sufficient for eligibility for
promotion.

3.4.1.4 For grade 8 in mathematics:  If the
student’s assigned National Percentile Ranking is in the top
quartile on the normative portion of the Delaware Student
Testing Program mathematics test, the student shall be
eligible for promotion providing he/she has met all other
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requirements for promotion as established by the State or
local districts.

3.4.1.5 For grade 8 in mathematics:  The
Department of Education shall certify a score on any district
administered mathematics test approved by the Department
that would be sufficient for eligibility for promotion.

3.4.2 For the purposes of calculating a Student
Diploma Index pursuant to section 8.0 High School Diploma
Requirements, other indicators described in this section shall
not apply to reclassify a student’s level of performance.

3.5 Well Below the Performance Standard (Level 1):  A
student's performance in the tested domain shows an
incomplete and a clearly unsatisfactory understanding of the
fundamental skills and knowledge articulated in the
Delaware Content Standards.  Students who are Well Below
the Performance Standard have demonstrated broad
deficiencies in terms of the standards indicating that they are
poorly prepared to succeed in further academic pursuits and
can be classified as “very deficient.”  The cut points for Well
Below the Performance Standard shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education, using test data and the results from the
Standard Setting process.

4.0 Promotion and Summer School
4.1 Definitions

4.1.1 “Initial Testing” means the spring
administration of the Delaware Student Testing Program
(DSTP).

4.1.2 “Placement” means the location where
educational services are delivered.

4.1.3 “Regular Conditions” shall include
accommodations that do not interfere with the tested
construct.

4.1.4 “Secondary Testing” means the end-of-
summer administration of the Delaware Student Testing
Program.

4.1.5 “Tertiary Testing” means the spring
administration of the Delaware Student Testing Program for
those students retained or taking classes under an Individual
Improvement Plan (IIP) as a result of this regulation.

4.2 Grades 3 and 5 Students:  Reading
4.2.1 Students who test under regular conditions

on the reading portion of the Delaware Student Testing
Program during the initial testing shall be considered eligible
for promotion when their performance level is at or above
Level 3, Meets the Performance Standard, providing they
have met all other requirements for promotion as established
by the State and local districts.

4.2.2 Students who test under regular conditions
on the reading portion of the Delaware Student Testing
Program during the initial testing shall be required to
participate in a summer school program designed to move
the student toward proficiency when their performance level

is below Level 3, Meets the Performance Standard.  The
summer school program shall be provided by the student’s
district of residence with the following exceptions:

4.2.2.1 Where a student attends another
district as a result of school choice or attends a charter school
the district of choice or charter school shall provide the
summer school program.

4.2.2.2 Where by mutual agreement of both
districts and the parent or guardian of the student another
district provides services.

4.2.2.3 Where by mutual agreement of the
student’s school district and the student’s parent or guardian,
the parent or guardian arranges for summer school
instruction to be provided outside the public school system.
Under such conditions the parent or guardian shall be
responsible for the cost of providing non-public school
instruction and requirements for secondary testing shall be
met.

4.2.3 Students required to participate in a
summer school program as a result of their initial Delaware
Student Testing Program scores in reading shall be required
to test on an equally valid and reliable instrument of the
reading portion of the Delaware Student Testing Program at
the conclusion of the summer school program. Conditions
for secondary testing shall be the same as during the initial
testing.

4.2.4 Students who scored at Level 2, Near the
Performance Standard, on the initial testing in reading and
who participated in a summer school program shall be
eligible for promotion at the conclusion of the program.
Students who score below Level 3 on the secondary testing
shall have an Individual Improvement Plan prepared by
school personnel and signed by the principal and a parent or
guardian of the student.

4.2.5 For students who score in Level 1 or
below Near the Performance Standard in Level 2, on the
initial reading test, the  performance level from the
secondary testing shall be utilized to make placement and
promotion decisions in the following ways:

4.2.5.1 Students who score at or above Level
3, Meets the Performance Standard, on the secondary testing
shall be considered eligible for promotion providing they
have met all other requirements for promotion as may be
established by the State or local districts.

4.2.5.2 Students who score below Level 3 on
the secondary testing in reading shall be retained at the
previous grade level.  Students who have been retained for
two years because of inadequate academic performance may
be promoted to the next grade level but shall have an
Individual Improvement Plan prepared by school personnel
and signed by the principal and a parent or guardian of the
student.

4.2.6 Students who are retained as a result of
their DSTP reading score but who have achieved grade level
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proficiency in other core academic subjects shall be provided
a course of study in those subjects designed to help the
student continue to progress at grade level proficiency.
These services may be provided in the physical location
where the student participated in the initial testing or at
another district school.

4.2.7 Testing and Promotion After the Retention
Year: All students who have been retained shall be required
to test again at the conclusion of the retention year during the
regular administration of the Delaware Student Testing
Program.  Consequences for students that result from tertiary
testing shall be the same as for initial testing with the
following exceptions:

4.2.7.1 Any student who scores below Level
3, Meets the Performance Standard, shall have a revised
Individual Improvement Plan prepared by school personnel
and signed by the principal and a parent or guardian of the
student.

4.2.7.2 Students whose Level of Performance
has been set using other indicators pursuant to section 3.4.1
shall have an Individual Improvement Plan prepared by
school personnel and signed by the principal and a parent or
guardian of the student.

4.2.7.3 Students who have been retained for
two years because of inadequate academic performance may
be promoted to the next grade level but shall have a revised
Individual Improvement Plan prepared by school personnel
and signed by the principal and a parent or guardian of the
student.

4.3 Grade 8 & 10 Students:  Reading and Mathematics
4.3.1 Students who test under regular conditions

on the reading and 8th grade mathematics portions of the
Delaware Student Testing Program during the initial testing
shall be considered eligible for promotion when their
performance level is at or above Level 3, Meets the
Performance Standard, on the Reading and 8th grade
Mathematics portions of the Delaware Student Testing
Program providing they have met all other requirements for
promotion as may be established by the State or local
districts.

4.3.2 Students who test under regular conditions
on the reading and 8th grade mathematics portions of the
Delaware Student Testing Program during the initial testing
shall be required to participate in a summer school program
designed to move the student toward proficiency when their
performance level is below Level 3, Meets the Performance
Standard, on either the Reading and 8th grade Mathematics
portions of the Delaware Student Testing Program.  The
summer school program shall be provided by the student’s
district of residence with the following exceptions:

4.3.2.1 Where a student attends another
district as a result of school choice or attends a charter school
the district of choice or charter school shall provide the
summer school program.

4.3.2.2 Where by mutual agreement of both
districts and the parent or guardian of the student, another
district provides services.

4.3.2.3 Where by mutual agreement of the
student’s school district and the student’s parent or guardian,
the parent or guardian arranges for summer school
instruction to be provided outside the public school system.
Under such conditions the parent or guardian shall be
responsible for the cost of providing non-public school
instruction and requirements for secondary testing shall be
met.

4.3.2.4 If a student has been offered
admission into a vocational–technical school district that
district may provide summer school services.

4.3.3 Students required to participate in a
summer school program as a result of their initial Delaware

Student Testing Program scores in reading and/or on the 8th

grade mathematics test shall be required to test on an equally

valid and reliable instrument of the reading and/or on the 8th

grade mathematics portion as relevant to the Delaware
Student Testing Program at the conclusion of the summer
school program. Conditions for secondary testing shall be
the same as during the initial testing.

4.3.4 Students who scored at Level 2, Near the
Performance Standard, on the initial testing in reading and/or
on the 8th grade mathematics test and who participated in a
summer school program shall be eligible for promotion at
the conclusion of the program. Students who score below
Level 3 on the secondary testing in reading and/or on the 8th
grade mathematics test shall have an Individual
Improvement Plan prepared by school personnel and signed
by the principal and a parent or guardian of the student.

4.3.5 For students who score below Level 2,
Near the Performance Standard, on the initial reading and/or
on the 8th grade mathematics test, the proficiency level from
the secondary testing shall be utilized to make placement and
promotion decisions in the following ways:

4.3.5.1 Students who score at or above Level
3, Meets the Performance Standard, on the relevant
secondary testing shall be considered eligible for promotion
providing they have met all other requirements for
promotion as established by the State or local districts.

4.3.5.2 Students who score at Level 1 or
Level 2 on the secondary testing in reading shall be retained
at the previous grade level.  Students who are retained as a
result of their DSTP reading score but who have achieved
grade level proficiency in other core academic subjects shall
be provided a course of study in those subjects designed to
help the student continue to progress at grade level
proficiency. These services may be provided in the physical
location where the student participated in the initial testing
or at another regular district school or vocational-technical
school district.  Students who have been retained for two
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years because of inadequate academic performance may be
promoted to the next grade level but shall have an Individual
Improvement Plan prepared by school personnel and signed
by the principal and a parent or guardian of the student.

4.3.5.3 Students who score at Level 1 or
Level 2 on the secondary testing on the 8th grade
mathematics test may be retained at the previous grade level
or may be placed in a program such as a readiness academy
designed to improve the student to a level of proficiency
sufficient to be promoted.

4.3.5.4 Students who have been retained for
two years because of inadequate academic performance may
be promoted to the next grade level but shall have an
Individual Improvement Plan prepared by school personnel
and signed by the principal and a parent or guardian of the
student.

4.3.6 Testing and Promotion After the Retention
Year:  All students who have been retained shall be required
to test again at the conclusion of the retention year during the
regular administration of the Delaware Student Testing
Program.  Consequences for students that result from tertiary
testing shall be the same as for initial testing with the
following exceptions:

4.3.6.1 Students who have been retained for
two years because of inadequate academic performance may
be promoted to the next grade level but shall have a revised
Individual Improvement Plan prepared by school personnel
and signed by the principal and a parent or guardian of the
student.

4.3.6.2 Students who score at Level 1 or
Level 2 (but below the Near category) on the tertiary testing
in mathematics may be promoted to the next grade. Such
students shall be provided a revised Individual Improvement
Plan.

4.3.6.3 Any student who scores below Level
3, Meets the Performance Standard, shall have a revised
Individual Improvement Plan prepared by school personnel
and signed by the principal and a parent or guardian of the
student.

4.3.7 Students whose Level of Performance has
been set using other indicators pursuant to section 3.4.1 shall
have an Individual Improvement Plan prepared by school
personnel and signed by the principal and a parent or
guardian of the student.

4.4 Individual Improvement Plan (IIP)
4.4.1 The Individual Improvement Plan shall be

on a form prescribed by the Department of Education and
shall be placed in a student’s file and shall be updated
annually depending on the results of further student testing.
For students with an Individualized Education Program
(IEP), the IEP shall serve as the Individual Improvement
Plan (IIP).

4.4.2 The Individual Improvement Plan must at
a minimum describe the specific course of study that the

school will provide to help the student continue to progress
to grade level proficiency.

4.4.3 The Individual Improvement Plan shall be
prepared by school personnel and signed by the principal and
the parent or guardian of the student.

4.4.4 A parent or the student’s legal guardian
must sign and return a copy of the student’s Individual
Improvement Plan to the student’s school by October 31.

4.4.5 Any dispute concerning the contents of a
student’s IIP shall be decided by the local Board of
Education.  Said Board’s decision shall be final.

4.5 Summer School Program:  Districts shall schedule
their summer school programs so that they will conclude
with the summer administration of the DSTP.  The
Department of Education will annually determine the dates
upon which the DSTP will be administered, and will advise
the school districts of those dates sufficiently far enough in
advance so that the school districts can schedule their
summer school programs.

4.5.1 Summer school programs shall be for the
duration and intensity appropriate to the instructional needs
of the student as indicated by their performance on the DSTP
and any other information available concerning the student’s
academic requirements.

5.0 Students with Disabilities:  Notwithstanding anything in
these regulations to the contrary the following provisions
shall apply to students with disabilities:

5.1 Students with Individualized Education Programs
(IEPs) who take the Alternate Portfolio Assessment are not
in the regular high school diploma track and their IEP teams
will make all decisions relative to program(s) and placement.

5.2 Scores for students with Individualized Education
Programs who take the DSTP with no accommodations, with
aggregated accommodations and non-aggregated
accommodations will be considered valid in terms of
individual student accountability.  Consequences will be the
same as for all other students with the following exceptions:

5.2.1 The IEP will be considered the Individual
Improvement Plan (IIP) and must address the need areas
identified on the DSTP.

5.2.2 The IEP will guide appropriate summer
school services.

5.2.3 The IEP Team will determine the
appropriate grade level placement for students who do not
meet the performance standard.

5.3 Students with Section 504 Accommodation Plans
who take the DSTP with no accommodations, with
aggregated accommodations and non-aggregated
accommodations will be considered valid in terms of
individual student accountability.  Consequences will be the
same as for all other students.

6.0 Irregular Conditions
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6.1 Students enrolling for the first time in Delaware
public schools or reenrolling shall participate in the next
scheduled administration of the DSTP and may be required
by the school district to take another standardized test to
establish the student’s appropriate grade level for
enrollment.

6.2 Students who registered an invalid score or who
were unable to test due to serious illness, death in the family,
or a catastrophic event, must test at the next scheduled DSTP
administration, and may be required by their district to
attend summer school or to participate in extended time
learning sessions.

7.0 Notification to Parent or Guardian:  Within 30 days of
receiving student performance levels and/or diploma indices,
school districts and charter schools must provide written
notice of the same to the student’s parent or legal guardian.
As appropriate, such notice shall include the following:
summer school, diploma, and graduation status; the student’s
next grade level placement; and date of the next DSTP
administration.

8.0 High School Diploma Requirements
8.1 Students who graduated from a Delaware public

high school during or after June 2002 shall be subject to the
diploma requirements stated herein.

8.1.1 Beginning in 2000 the State shall calculate
a diploma index based upon the student’s grade 10 Delaware
Student Testing Program performance levels in reading,
writing, and mathematics provided that the student has
achieved a Level 2 Below the Performance Standard or
greater score in each of the tested areas.

8.1.2 Beginning in 2006 the State shall calculate
a diploma index based upon the student’s grade 10 Delaware
Student Testing Program performance levels in reading,
writing, mathematics and the grade 11 Delaware Student
Testing Program performance levels in science and social
studies provided that the student has achieved at least a
Level 2 Below the Performance Standard or greater score in
each of the tested areas.

8.2 The diploma index shall be calculated by
multiplying the earned performance level in each content
area by the assigned weight and summing the results.

8.2.1 Beginning with the year 2000 the assigned
weights shall be .35 for reading, .35 for mathematics, and .30
for writing.

8.2.2 Beginning with the year 2006 the assigned
weights shall be .23 for reading, .23 for mathematics, .18 for
writing, .18 for science and .18 for social studies.

8.2.3 A single additive factor may be applied to
improve the student’s diploma index through the selection of
an indicator certified by the Department of Education.  Such
an indicator shall be weighted at not more than .05 in
addition to the weights assigned pursuant to 8.2.1 or 8.2.2

and shall be sufficiently aligned to Delaware Content
Standards.

8.3 Students who have tested under regular conditions
shall qualify for State of Delaware High School diplomas as
follows:

8.3.1 A student shall be awarded a
Distinguished State Diploma upon achievement of a diploma
index to be established by the Department of Education
provided that the student has met all other requirements for
graduation as established by the State or local districts.

8.3.2 A student shall be awarded a Merit State
Diploma upon achievement of a diploma index to be
established by the Department of Education provided that
the student has met all other requirements for graduation as
established by the State or local districts.

8.3.3 A student shall be awarded a Standard
State Diploma upon achievement of a diploma index greater
than or equal to 3.0 and provided that the student has met all
other requirements for graduation as established by the State
or local districts.

8.3.4 Those students who achieve a diploma
index below 3.0 shall not be eligible to receive a State
Diploma.

8.3.5 A student below the age of 21 years whose
diploma index is not sufficient to obtain a State Diploma
shall be permitted to retest at least once annually at State
expense.

8.3.6 A student may choose to participate in
additional scheduled administrations of the DSTP in order to
improve his/her diploma index.  The highest earned
proficiency level in each content area will be used in
calculating the diploma index.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

SCHOOL TRANSPORTATION

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks to amend the
regulations on School Transportation.  These regulations are
found in the School Transportation Manual, April 1976.  The
School Transportation Manual is a combination of technical
assistance, Department of Education regulations and
sections of the Delaware Code, primarily Title 14, Chapter
29, and some parts of Title 14, Chapters 4 and 5 and in Title
21.  The purpose of the amendments is to isolate the
regulatory sections from the technical assistance and the
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Delaware Code citations.  The amendments also reorganized
the document combining topics that were previously
fragmented, updated the language and the references and
renumbered the sections as per our regulation format.  There
are twenty sections in the amended regulations.  The
following changes were made to the amended regulations:

• Deleted Chief State School Officer, State School
Transportation Supervisor and Local School
Transportation Supervisor responsibilities/job
descriptions.

• Deleted job certification requirements.
• Added student passengers need to walk around the

crossing-control arm when passing in front of the
bus.

• Added requirement for headlights or daytime
running lights to be on when the bus is in operation.

• Deleted maintenance, inspection and service
personnel descriptions.

• Deleted planning school sites for school buses
section.

• Deleted list of allowable school bus load/assigned.
Use the same planning factors of 13” per pupil for
grades K-6 and 15” per pupil for grades 7-12.

• Deleted policy authorizing personnel to ride school
buses during energy crises.

• Revised procedures for parents to request private
transportation allowance.

• Revised the state drug and alcohol policy for school
bus drivers and aides.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA

1. Will the amended regulations help improve student
achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulations address school
transportation issues, not state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulations help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulations address school
transportation issues, not equity issues.

3. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulations address school
transportation issues and do contain a number of references
designed to provide for student safety on school buses.

4. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?

The amended regulations address both the students’
rights and responsibilities as they ride the school buses.

5. Will the amended regulations preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the
local board and school level?

The amended regulations preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local
board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulations place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision-makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulations will not place
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or
mandates upon decision-makers at the local board and
school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision-making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity?

8. Will the amended regulations be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulations are consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulation?

The Delaware Code requires the Department of
Education to make regulations concerning school
transportation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulation?

There is no additional cost to the state or local
school boards for complying with the amended regulations.

*  Please refer to the School Transportation Manual
available from the Department of Education for original
text.

1100.2  Transportation

1.0 Responsibilities of Local Superintendents:  Local
District Superintendents or their designees shall assume the
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following responsibilities concerning the transportation of
students:

1.1 Implement state school transportation regulations.
Local school disciplinary policies shall include pupil
behavior and discipline on the school bus.

1.2 Define and coordinate changes to school
transportation operations impacting local district budget
allocations with the Department of Education.

1.3 Provide resource material and encourage teachers
to include instruction in passenger safety in the school
curriculum.

1.4 Provide for close and continuous supervision of the
unloading and loading zones on or near the school plant, and
of the emergency drills.

1.5 Provide supervision for those students whose bus
schedules require them to arrive at school before classes
begin and remain after classes terminate.

1.6 Promote public understanding of, and support for
the district‘s school transportation program.

1.7 Assume prime responsibility for student conduct.

2.0 Conditions for School Bus Contractors:  School Bus
Contractors shall agree to the following conditions in their
contracts:

2.1 Follow all applicable federal, state, and local school
bus regulations and policies.

2.2 Communicate effectively with the district
transportation supervisor.

2.3 Dismiss a school bus driver when it can be shown
that the driver is not satisfactorily performing driver tasks.
District transportation supervisors may restrict a driver from
operating in their school district.

2.4 Pay drivers and aides and provide substitute drivers
and aides.

3.0 Responsibilities of School Bus Drivers:  Local school
districts shall have a policy concerning the responsibilities of
school bus drivers which, at a minimum, includes the
following:

3.1 A statement that the school bus driver is in full
charge of the bus and pupils, has the authority of a classroom
teacher and is responsible for the health, safety, and welfare
of each passenger.

3.2 Statements listing the following specific
responsibilities of the bus driver:

3.2.1 Operate the school bus in a safe and
efficient manner.

3.2.2 Conduct pre-trip and post-trip checks on
the vehicle.

3.2.3 Establish and maintain rapport with
passengers.

3.2.4 Maintain discipline among passengers.
3.2.5 Meet emergency situations effectively.
3.2.6 Communicate effectively with district and

school staff.
3.2.7 Maintain effective contact with the public.
3.2.8 Complete reports as required by the state

or school district.
3.2.9 Complete required training programs

satisfactorily.
3.2.10 Refrain from using profane or indecent

language or tobacco while on duty.
3.2.11 Dress appropriately.
3.2.12 Pickup and drop-off students at designated

stops.
3.2.13 Submit to periodic random drug and

alcohol testing and be subject to actions specified in the
Delaware Code and in federal requirements.

3.2.14 Report suspected cases of child abuse to
the school principal or designated official.

3.2.15 Notify the district transportation
supervisor of any school bus accident.

3.3 A statement requiring a report of a physical
examination on forms designated by the Department of
Education.

4.0 Qualifications and Responsibilities of School Bus Aides
4.1 Qualifications for School Bus Aides include the

following and shall apply to all new applicants and for any
person whose employment as an aide has lapsed for a period
of over one year.  The drug policy applies to all bus aides.

4.1.1 Be at least 18 years of age.
4.1.2 Be fingerprinted to allow a criminal

history check at both state and federal level.
4.1.3 File with the district transportation

supervisor a notarized affidavit attesting to acceptable
criminal history pending an official state and federal
criminal record report.

4.1.4 Submit to the drug and alcohol testing
procedures established for school bus drivers and
subsequently, as a condition of continued employment,
submit to drug testing pursuant to the drug testing policy
established by the Department of Education.

4.1.5 The bus aide shall never have been
convicted of the manufacture, delivery, or possession with
intent to deliver a controlled substance or a counterfeit
controlled substance classified in Schedule I, II, III, IV, or V
of Chapter 47, Title 16 of the Delaware Code in this State or
any other jurisdiction.

4.1.6 The bus aide shall never have been
convicted of any other felony in this state or any other
jurisdiction in the last five years.

4.1.7 The bus aide shall never have been
convicted of any crime against a child in this State or any
other jurisdiction.

4.2 Local school districts shall have a policy
concerning school bus aides which, at a minimum, lists the
following responsibilities:
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4.2.1 Assist in loading and unloading of
students, including lift operation.

4.2.2 Ensure that students and equipment are
properly strapped in seats.  Adjust, fasten, and release
restraint devices for students and equipment, as required.
Monitor overall safety of students and equipment.

4.2.3 Ensure that all students remain seated at
all times.

4.2.4 Assist the driver during unusual traffic
conditions; act as a lookout if necessary when bus must be
backed.

4.2.5 Assist the driver in the enforcement of all
state and school district bus safety regulations.

4.2.6 Perform record keeping tasks related to
student attendance and bus assignment.

4.2.7 Monitor and report student misbehavior
according to established procedure.

4.2.8 Assist the driver in keeping the interior of
the bus clean.

4.2.9 Assist disabled students with personal
needs associated with their handicapping conditions.

4.2.10 Assist in bus evacuation drills.
4.2.11 Work cooperatively with all school

personnel and parents.
4.2.12 Perform other duties as assigned by the

district transportation supervisor or designee.

5.0 Student Conduct on School Buses:  School Districts
shall have a policy concerning the behavior of students on
school buses that shall, at a minimum, contain the following
rules which if not followed may result in the suspension of
bus riding privileges.

5.1 Obey the driver promptly, and be courteous to the
driver and to fellow students.  Students are to conduct
themselves while on the bus in such a way that it will not
distract the driver from the job of driving.

5.2 Be at their bus stop on time for pickup.
5.3 Wait for the bus on the sidewalk or shoulder, not

the roadway.
5.4 Keep a safe distance from the bus while it is in

motion.
5.5 Enter the bus without crowding or disturbing others

and occupy their seats immediately.
5.6 Get on or off the bus only when it is stopped.
5.7 Remain seated and facing forward.  No student

shall occupy a position in the driver area in front of a
stanchion, barrier, or white floor line that may distract the
driver’s attention or interfere with the driver’s vision.

5.8 Stay out of the driver’s seat.  Also, unnecessary
conversation with the driver is prohibited while the bus is in
motion.

5.9 Follow highway safety practices in accordance with
the Motor Vehicle Laws of the State of Delaware and walk
on the side of the road facing traffic when going to or from

the bus or bus stop along the highway.  Before crossing the
road to board the bus or after being discharged from the bus
cross only upon an audible clearance signal from the driver.

5.10 Do not cross the road until it is clear of all
traffic or that traffic has come to a complete stop and then
walk in front of the bus far enough to be seen by the driver at
all times.

5.11 Observe classroom conduct when on the bus.
5.12 Do not call out to passers-by or open the bus

windows without permission from the driver, nor extend
head or arms out of the windows.

5.13 Do not leave the bus without the driver’s
consent, except on arrival at their regular bus stop or at
school.

5.14 Keep the bus clean, sanitary, and orderly and
not damage or abuse the equipment.

5.15 Do not smoke, use profanity or eat or drink on
the bus.

5.16 Do not throw articles of any kind in, out, or
around the bus.

5.17 Other forms of misconduct that will not be
tolerated are acts such as, but not limited to, indecent
exposure, obscene gestures, spitting, and others that may be
addressed in the school code of conduct.

6.0 Procedures for Operating Buses:  Each school district
shall adopt the following procedures for the operation of
their school buses:

6.1 No person other than a pupil, teacher, school
official, aide or substitute driver shall be permitted to ride on
a school bus while transporting pupils.  Exceptions may be
made for parents involved in Department of Education
educational programs that provide for transportation and
others approved by the district transportation supervisor.

6.2 The driver shall maintain a schedule in the bus and
shall at all times adhere to it.  Drivers shall not be required to
wait for pupils unless they can be seen making an effort to
reach the bus stop.

6.3 The driver shall maintain discipline on the bus, and
shall report cases of disobedience or misconduct to the
proper school officials.  No pupils may be excluded from the
bus for disciplinary reasons except at the home or school.
The principal or designated school official shall be notified
of such action at the earliest possible moment after such
exclusion.  Any change to the action taken by the driver or
any further disciplinary action to be taken is the
responsibility of the principal or designated school official.

6.4 Pupils shall have definite places to get on and leave
the bus, and should not be allowed to leave the bus at any
place other than the regular stop without written permission
from their parents, and approval by the principal or
designated school official, except in cases of emergency.
Districts may adopt a more restrictive policy.

6.5 Buses shall be brought to a full stop before pupils



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 5, MONDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 1999

592

are allowed to get on or off.  Pupils are not permitted to ride
outside or in any hazardous location in the bus including the
area ahead of the stanchions, barriers, or white floor line
designating the driver-area.

6.6 Buses shall not stop near the crest of hills, on
curves, or on upgrades or downgrades of severe inclination.
When stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging
pupils, the bus shall always be stopped on the right side of
the road and as far off the paved or main traveled portion of
the highway as the condition of the shoulder permits.

6.7 Pupils who must cross the road to board the bus or
after leaving the bus shall cross at a distance in front of the
bus and beyond the crossing control arms so as to be clearly
seen by the driver and only upon an audible clearance by the
driver.  The driver shall attempt to signal pupils to cross by
instructions through the external speaker of the public
address system.

6.8 All loading and unloading of pupils shall be made
from the service door.  The rear exit door is not to be used
except in cases of emergency or emergency drills.  No object
shall be placed in the bus that restricts the passage to the
emergency door or other exits.

6.9 No one but the driver shall occupy the driver’s seat.
Pupils shall remain behind the white floor line.

6.10 Seats may be assigned to pupils by the driver,
subject to the approval of a school official.

6.11 The doors of the bus shall be kept closed while
the bus is in motion, and pupils shall not put their head or
arms out of open windows.

6.12 When the bus is stopped on school grounds,
students are aboard, and the motor is running, the
transmission shall be in neutral (clutch disengaged) and the
parking brake set.  While on school grounds, drivers shall
not leave their seat while the motor is running or leave the
key in the ignition switch.

6.13 Fuel tanks shall not be filled while the engine
is running or while pupils are in the bus.

6.14 Weapons of any kind are not permitted on a
school bus.

6.15 Dogs or other animals are not permitted on
school buses unless a medical physician determines it is
required for a student.

6.16 A school bus shall not be used for hauling
anything that would make it objectionable for school use or
unsafe for passengers.

6.17 Band instruments, shop projects and other
school projects shall not be permitted on the bus if they
interfere with the driver or other passengers.  The aisle, exits,
and driver’s vision shall not be blocked.

6.18 Bus stops on roadways with three or more
lanes (with oncoming traffic) must be made on the right side
of the road.  Students shall not be required to cross more than
two lanes of traffic when entering or leaving the bus.

6.19 Headlights or daytime running lights shall be

on at all times when the bus is in motion.
6.20 On the bus route every effort should be made to

load children before turn-arounds are made and unload them
after the turn-around is made.

6.21 Backing of school buses is prohibited, except
in unusual circumstances:

6.21.1 A school bus shall not be driven
backwards on school grounds unless an adult is posted to
guard the rear of the bus.

6.21.2 When backing is unavoidable extreme
caution must be exercised by the bus operator and an outside
observer should be used if possible.

7.0 Accident Reports: All drivers or contractors shall
complete accident reports and submit them to the district
person in charge of transportation in order to assure accurate
information pertaining to school bus accidents.

7.1 The following information shall be included on all
school bus accident reports and be maintained in the district
transportation files:

7.1.1 A description, preferably using diagrams,
of the damage to each vehicle in addition to estimates of
damage costs.

7.1.2 A description of all personal injuries.
7.1.3 A list of passengers and witnesses.
7.1.4 A complete description of the drivers of

each vehicle involved including name, date of birth, sex,
years of driving experience, license number, and occupation.

7.1.5 Follow-up information, such as the actual
cost of repairs, should be added to the accident report
wherever it is filed; i.e., in federal, state or local offices, so
that the record of the accident is complete.  Other pertinent
information relating to the accident that should be added
later, if the information is readily available, includes:

• Disposition of any litigation.
• Disposition of any summonses.
• Net effects of all personal injuries sustained,

including medical care given, physician’s fees,
hospital expenses, etc.

• Amount of property damage other than to vehicles
involved.

• Any corrective actions taken against the school bus
driver, e.g., training, suspension, or dismissal.

• A summation of the driver’s total accident record so
that each completed report form will contain a
listing of the total number of accidents that the
driver has had.

8.0 Transportation Benefits:  Transportation benefits shall
be provided for pupils in grades K-6 whose legal residences
are one (1) mile or more from the public schools to which
they would normally be assigned by the district
administrations and for pupils in grades 7-12 whose legal
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residences are two (2) miles or more from the public schools
to which they would normally be assigned by the district
administrations.

8.1 For the purpose of these regulations, the “legal
residence” of the pupil is deemed to be the legal residence of
the parent(s), legal guardian(s), or caregiver as described in
Title 14, Section 202(e)(3).  Daycare facilities may be
designated as a pupil’s residence for pickup and drop off.

8.2 To determine pupil eligibility for transportation
benefits, measurement shall be by the most direct route
provided by a public road or public walkway.  The
measurement shall be from the nearest point where a private
road or walkway connects the legal residence of the pupil
with the nearest public entrance of the school building to
which the pupil is normally assigned by the school district
administration.

8.3 All school bus routes shall be measured from the
first pick-up point to the respective schools served in the
approved sequence, and then by the most direct route back to
the first pick-up point.

8.4 Additional bus routes required after the opening of
school shall be approved by the Department of Education
and supported by evidence of need to include:  enrollment
number changes, descriptions of existing routes in the area
of proposed additional service, the run times, and actual
loads.  A description of the proposed route shall also
accompany the request.

8.5 Transportation for eligible pupils may be provided
from locations other than their legal residence provided that:

8.5.1 Such pickup and discharge points as
approved by the district administration are in excess of the
relevant one and two mile limits from the school to be
attended, and such transportation to be provided will be to
the public school to which the pupil is assigned by the
district administration.

8.5.2 Such transportation to be provided be on
the same bus and/or route to and from the school attended by
the pupil (i.e. each student is entitled to one seat on one bus)
except that permission may be granted on a year-by-year
basis by the district administration for eligible pupils to ride
other buses if seats are available and does not create
additional expense to the State.

8.5.3 The limitation pertaining to “same bus and
route” indicated above is not applicable to pupils attending
vocational-technical schools or kindergartens operating one-
half day sessions.

8.6 A spur to a bus route (where a bus leaves a main
route) shall not be scheduled unless the one-way distance is
greater than ½ mile.  Requests for exception due to a unique
traffic hazard from a parent must be in writing, approved by
the local school board, and submitted through the Chairman
of the Unique Hazard Committee for review.

8.7 Permission may be granted for pupils to ride a
school bus on a temporary or permanent basis when the pupil

has a medical statement from a physician that certifies that
the pupil is unable or should not walk from home to school
and return.

9.0 Bus Capacities:  Bus capacities for children in grades K-
6 shall be established by the manufacturer on the basis of 13
inches per child, and for Grades7-12 secondary pupils the
capacity shall be established on the basis of 15 inches per
child.  A mixture of the criteria will be used to plan loads
when pupils come from both of the above groups.  Actual
bus loads may not exceed this guidance.  Standees shall not
be permitted under normal circumstances; however,
exceptions may be made in emergency situations on a
temporary basis.

10.0 Loading and Unloading:  Each school shall have a
loading and unloading dock or area, rather than load or
discharge passengers onto the street.  On school grounds all
other traffic is prohibited in the loading and unloading area
during school bus loading/unloading operations.

11.0 Unique Hazards:  Unique hazards are considered to
be conditions or situations that expose the pedestrian to rare
or uncommon traffic dangers.  This definition is not intended
to include hazards representative of situations which may
exist throughout the State.

11.1 Procedures for handling Unique Hazards
requests.

11.1.1 When the request for relief originates with
parents of pupils affected or vested officials, such as State
and local police representatives, Safety Council
representatives, and legislators, it shall be presented in
writing to the local school authorities.

11.1.1.1 The local school administration shall
make every effort to resolve problems identified by the
parents, vested officials, or by the local district staff.

11.1.1.2 If the problem cannot be resolved by
the local school administration, the request shall be
forwarded to the local board of education for appropriate
action.  If the local board of education has explored all of the
local alternatives to resolve the problem without success, a
request by board action shall be made to the Chairman of the
Unique Hazards Committee (Education Associate for School
Transportation).

11.2 The request to the Unique Hazards Committee
must include:

11.2.1 The original request from the parents,
vested officials, or the district staff.

11.2.2 A statement of the specific hazard and area
involved including maps showing the specific location,
points of concern and schools attended.

11.2.3 Number and grades of children involved.
11.2.4 School schedule and the time children

would normally be walking to and from school in the area of
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concern.
11.2.5 List any actions to resolve the problem

taken by the local school administration.
11.2.6 List any actions to resolve the problem

taken by the local board of education.
11.2.7 List any actions to resolve the problem

taken by the town, the city or county.
11.3 The Unique Hazards Committee will process

the request and report its findings and recommendations to
the Department of Education for their consideration and
action.  A copy of the report will also be forwarded to the
local board of education involved.

11.4 The Unique Hazards Committee consists of
representatives from the Department of Transportation; the
New Castle County Crossing Guard Division; Delaware
Safety Council; Traffic Control Section, the Delaware State
Police; and the Department of Education Education
Associate for School Transportation (Chairman).

11.5 Unique Hazards Committee Recommendations
Appeal Process

11.5.1 Appeals to the Unique Hazards Committee
recommendations approved by the State Department of
Education must be in writing and from the local board of
education.

11.5.2 The local school board shall, before
making an appeal, make every effort to resolve the problem.
If, in the opinion of the local board of education,
reconsideration is needed by the Unique Hazards
Committee, the appeal, along with pertinent information,
should be forwarded to the Chairman of the Unique Hazards
Committee.

11.5.3 The Unique Hazards Committee will
submit to the State Department of Education its
recommendations regarding the appeal for reconsideration
by the local board of education.  A copy of the report will
also be forwarded to the local board of education involved.

12.0 Contingency Plans:  Each school district shall have
contingency plans for inclement weather, accidents, bomb
threats, hostages, civil emergencies, natural disasters, and
facility failures (environmental/water, etc.).  These plans
shall be developed in cooperation with all those whose
services would be required in the event of various types of
emergencies.  The school transportation supervisor, school
administrators, teachers, drivers, maintenance and service
personnel, students, and others shall be instructed in the
procedure to be followed in the event of the contingencies
provided for in the plans.

13.0 Reimbursements for School Bus Ownership and or
Contracts:  School buses may be either state owned/district
operated or contracted.

13.1 Reimbursements for buses operated by the
district shall be on the basis of the formula for district

operated buses unless otherwise approved by the Department
of Education.

13.1.1 Drivers employed by the district shall be
paid on the regular payroll of the district.  When drivers are
employed in a dual capacity there shall be strict accounting
for salary division.

13.2 Reimbursement for buses operated on contract
shall be on the basis of the approved formula or of a bid if
the amount should be less.

13.2.1 Contractors shall be paid regularly at the
end of the month.  The total contract shall be paid in ten (10)
installments, with the first payment at the end of September.

13.3 Any transportation costs caused by grade
reorganizations and/or pupil re-assignments during the
school term after October 1, other than the occupancy of a
new school building, shall be at the expense of the local
school district unless approved by the Department of
Education.

13.4 Bills unpaid from Transportation funding lines
that have not been encumbered as of June 30, shall be the
responsibility of the local school district.

13.5 Reimbursement to the local school district for
contracts or for district-owned or leased buses shall be made
on the basis of a Department of Education formula approved
by the State Board of Education.  This formula shall take
into consideration school bus cost and depreciation, fixed
charges, operations, maintenance, driver and aide wages.
Reimbursement shall be made only for transportation of
eligible pupils and exceptions approved by the Department
of Education and the State Board of Education.

13.6 Reimbursement for buses when there are
Specially Declared Holidays or Strikes by Teachers.

13.6.1 School bus contractors shall be paid the
normal rate of pay as provided for in their contract, less the
allowance for operation  including  fuel, oil, tires, and
maintenance.

13.6.2 Contractors with buses assigned to midday
kindergarten or vocational-technical trips shall be
reimbursed for the amount of the driver’s allowance plus the
administrative allowance.

13.6.3 School districts operating district-owned,
leased, or lease-purchase buses shall be reimbursed based on
the formula for district reimbursement, less the allowance
for operation which includes fuel, oil, tires, and
maintenance.

13.6.4 Districts with buses assigned to midday
kindergarten or vocational-technical trips shall be
reimbursed for the amount of the driver’s allowance plus the
administrative allowance.

13.6.5 The Delmar School District shall be
reimbursed on the basis of the additional days necessary to
operate as a result of the agreement with the Wicomico
County Board of Education for the Delmar, Maryland
elementary schools.
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14.0 Transportation Formulas for Public School Districts
Operating District , Lease, or Lease Purchase Buses  Items
which are not on this list must be approved by the State
Department of Education.  Any purchase, commitment, or
obligation exceeding the transportation allocation to the
district is the responsibility of the district.

14.1 The following items may be used for the
purpose of providing pupil transportation in accordance with
the regulations of the Department of Education.

14.1.1 Advertising including equipment, routes,
supplies, and employees.

14.1.2 Communication systems including two-
way radios, cellular phones, and AM-FM radio.

14.1.3 Fuel including gasoline, diesel, propane,
kerosene, storage tanks, pumps, additives, and oil.

14.1.4 Leasing/rental including tools, equipment,
storage facilities, buses, garage space, and office space.

14.1.5 Office supplies and materials including
computer hardware, computer software, data processing,
maps, postage, printing, subscription, and measuring
devices.

14.1.6 Safety materials including audio-visual
aids, restraining vests, belts, safety awards, pins, patches,
certificates, wheelchair ramps, wheelchair retainers,
printing, handout materials, pamphlets, training materials,
subscriptions, and bus seats.

14.1.7 Salary/wages including attendants (aide)
as approved by the Department of Education when required
in a student’s IEP, dispatchers, drivers, maintenance helpers,
mechanics, mechanics helpers, office workers, secretarial,
substitute drivers, supervisory (other than State supported
supervisor or manager), and State provided employee
benefits.

14.1.8 Shop facilities including heat, electric,
water, sewer, security, fences, lights, locks, guards, bus
storage, janitorial supplies, brushes, mops, buckets, soap,
tools, maintenance vehicles, grease, service vehicles, and
work uniforms for maintenance staff.

14.1.9 Sidewalks including construction of
sidewalks, footbridges, etc. that would be offset in reduced
busing costs in 5 years or less, with prior approval of
Supervisors of Transportation and School Plant Planning.

14.2 Special 01-60 state funds are provided to
school districts for training supplies.  This account may also
be used for reimbursements for state provided equipment
and services.

14.3 Examples of Programs Excluded from State
Reimbursement:

14.3.1 Extracurricular Field trips
14.3.2 Transportation of pupils from one school

to another for special programs (e.g., music festivals,
Christmas programs, etc.)

14.3.3 Transportation of pupils to and from
athletic contests, practices, tutoring, band events, etc.

14.3.4 Post-secondary classes
14.3.5 Federal programs
14.3.6 Alternative school transportation when not

using a shuttle concept that is as efficient as a shuttle
concept.

14.3.7 Choice school transportation outside of the
school district or outside of the attendance area of school that
the bus normally serves.

14.3.8 Charter school transportation outside of
the school district.

15.0 Transportation Allowances for Individuals:
Requests for transportation allowances shall be made in
writing to the Department of Education by districts with
justification.  This information is necessary in order for the
Department to determine a pupil’s eligibility.  The
responsibility for establishing a claim for transportation
allowances rests upon the district and claimant.

15.1 All requests shall be signed by the parent or
guardian and certified by the superintendent, principal or the
principal teacher of the school to be attended.  In case of a
car pool, only the driver shall be paid.

15.2 Payments or reimbursements for transportation
by private means shall be on the following basis:

15.2.1 When adequate public services is
available, the public service rates shall be used.

15.2.2 When public service is not available and it
is necessary to provide transportation by private conveyance,
the allowance shall be calculated at the prevailing state rate
per mile for the distance from the home to the school or
school bus and return twice a day, or for the actual distance
traveled.

15.2.3 Districts shall maintain a monthly record
of mileage travelled on a form provided by the Department
of Education.

15.2.4 Any exception or variation must be
approved by the Department of Education.

16.0 Cost Records: Cost Records shall include the
following costs directly attributable to the transportation of
eligible students on district school buses:

16.1 Total expenditures by funding code.
16.2 Wages of the Drivers.
16.3 Bus maintenance costs (expenditure for all bus

supplies, repairs and routine service).
16.4 Cost of accidents, including bus repairs.
16.5 Indirect costs (all those costs not included in

above categories and all costs associated with those who
supervise the school transportation operation).

17.0 Bus Replacement Schedules: The time begins for a
new bus when it is placed in service.  A bus shall have the
required mileage prior to the start of the school year.  Once a
bus is placed in service for the school year, it will not be
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replaced unless it is unable to continue service due to
mechanical failure.

17.1 The following age and mileage requirements
apply:

17.1.1 12th year must be replaced ( it may then be
used as a spare); or

17.1.2 150,000 miles no matter age of bus; or
17.1.3 7 years plus 100,000 miles; or
17.1.4 may be replaced after 10 years.

17.2 Contractors shall be reimbursed for their
eligible school buses for the annual allowances permitted by
the Formula.  New (unused) buses placed in service in a year
following their manufacture shall begin their 7 years of
capital allowances with the rate specified for the year of
manufacture and continue in year increments until
completed.

17.3 School buses purchased with state-allocated
transportation funds may be used by the school districts for
purposes other than transportation of pupils to and from
school.  This type of use shall be at the district’s expense and
shall occur only during a time when the bus is not making its
normal school run.

• In accordance with the Attorney General’s opinion
of June 18, 1974, regarding the use of buses
purchased from State-allocated transportation funds
for purposes other than the regular transportation of
pupils to and from school, the provisions of Title
14, Section 1056, School Property, Use, Control
and Management, shall apply.

18.0 School Bus Inspections: The Delaware Motor
Vehicle Division has two periods of time when all school
bus owners shall have their buses inspected each year, once
during January or February and the second yearly inspection
during June, July, or August.

19.0 Transportation for Students with Disabilities:
Transportation or a reimbursement for transportation
expenses actually incurred shall be provided by the State for
eligible persons with disabilities by the most economically
feasible means compatible with the person’s disability
subject to the limitations in the following regulations:

19.1 When the legal residence of a person receiving
tuition assistance for private placement is within sixty (60)
miles (one way) of the school or institution to be attended,
the person shall be eligible for round trip reimbursement for
transportation on a daily basis at the per mile rate allowed by
the Internal Revenue Service for business use of a private
vehicle, or for transportation at State expense which may be
provided in lieu of the per mile reimbursement. (Round trip
mileage is considered to be from the person’s legal residence
to the school or institution and return twice a day, or for
actual mileage traveled, whichever is less.)

19.2 When the legal residence of a person receiving
tuition assistance for private placement is in excess of sixty
(60) miles (one way) but less than one hundred (100) miles
(one way) from the school or institution to be attended, the
person shall be eligible for round trip transportation
reimbursement at the per mile rate allowed by the Internal
Revenue Service for business use of a private vehicle, or for
transportation at State expense which may be provided in
lieu of the per mile reimbursement on a weekly basis and on
such other occasions as may be required when the school is
not in session due to scheduled vacations or holidays of the
school or institution.  (Round trip mileage is considered to be
from the person’s legal residence to the school or institution
and return twice a week.  The weekly basis is to be
determined by the calendar of the school or institution to be
attended.)

19.3 When the legal residence of a person receiving
tuition assistance for private placement is in excess of one
hundred (100) miles (one way) of the school or institution to
be attended, the person shall be eligible for round trip
reimbursement on the basis of one round trip per year from
the person’s legal residence to the school or institution and
return, and at such other times when care and maintenance of
the person is unavailable due to the closing of the residential
facility provided in conjunction with the school or
institution.  (Round trip is considered to be from the person’s
legal residence to the school or institution to be attended and
from the school or institution to the legal residence of the
person on an annual basis or at such times as indicated
above.)

19.4 Reimbursement shall be computed on the per
mile rate allowed by the Internal Revenue Service for
business use of a private vehicle from the legal residence to
the point of embarkation and return to the legal residence
and for the actual fares based on the most economical means
of transportation from the point of embarkation to the school
or institution to be attended; the return trip shall be computed
on the same basis.

19.5 Transportation at State expense may be
provided from the legal residence to the point of
embarkation in lieu of the per mile reimbursement when it is
determined by the local district to be more economically
feasible.

19.6 The local district of residence shall be
responsible for payment of all such transportation
reimbursement when it is determined by the local district to
be more economically feasible.

19.7 All requests for payment shall be made by the
parent or legal guardian or other person who has control of
the child to the transportation supervisor responsible for
transportation in the district of residence at a time
determined by the district but prior to June 5 of any year.

19.8 When reimbursements are made they shall be
based on required documentation to support such payment.
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19.9 The legal residence for the purpose of these
regulations is defined as the residence of the parent, legal
guardian or other persons in the state having control of the
child with disabilities and with whom the child actually
resides.

20.0 Drugs and Alcohol: The illegal use, sale, or
possession of intoxicants, narcotics, prescription drugs, or
other controlled substances, or being under the influence of
the same,  by a school bus driver or aide (hereinafter referred
to as employee) while on the job or on school property, or on
school buses or vehicles shall result in immediate suspension
without pay and recommendation for job termination.

20.1 The Delaware Department of Education, in
order to promote the health and safety of all employees and
students, shall routinely conduct drug/alcohol testing of all
employees to determine fitness for duty. The following
procedures shall be instituted in implementing the drug/
alcohol testing program:

20.1.1 District supervisory personnel or
supervisory employees of the school bus contractors who
determine whether an employee must be drug/alcohol tested
based on “reasonable cause” shall receive a minimum of one
(1) hour of training on the specific physical, behavioral and
performance indicators of probable drug/alcohol abuse.

20.1.2 Pre-employment Testing:  No employee
will be hired unless that person passes a drug test.

20.1.3 Random Testing:  At least 50% of all
employees shall be drug/alcohol tested and 10% (as required
by federal DOT) of all employees shall be alcohol tested
every 12 months.  The employees for testing shall be
selected by using a random number table that is matched
with an employee’s social security number.

20.1.4 Testing Based on Reasonable Cause:
Whenever there is reasonable cause to believe that an
employee is using a prohibited drug/alcohol, such employee
shall be drug/alcohol tested.  The decision to test will be
based on a reasonable and articulate belief that the employee
is using a prohibited drug/alcohol on the basis of specific,
contemporaneous physical, behavioral or performance
indicators of probable drug/alcohol use.  The supervisor of
the employee shall make the decision to test with the
assistance of a district employee or supervisory employee of
the school bus contractor trained in detecting possible drug/
alcohol use.

20.1.5 Supervisors and employees shall all
receive at least a one hour seminar educating them about: the
critical problem of alcohol and drug abuse in the work place;
the drugs to be tested for; how the drug testing will be
conducted; drug screening; security and chain-of-custody
procedures for the sample; federally approved drug testing
facilities are used; medical review doctors receive the
results; and employee assistance program offerings.

20.1.6 If an employee is under medical treatment

involving a controlled substance or medication which might
impair response and affect fitness for duty, documentation
should be on file in the office of the District Transportation
Supervisor of the driver’s fitness to drive a school bus.  A
telephone call shall be made to the physician’s office by the
company/agency responsible for the impairment screening,
substantiating that the documentation is a true and correct
statement of the driver’s fitness issued by the physician.  A
notation of the time, date and person obtaining that
substantiation shall be duly noted.  Determination as to the
driver’s fitness for duty shall be made only after such
substantiation is made.

20.1.7 Any employee failing a drug/alcohol test
without documentation of acceptable medical cause shall be
immediately suspended without pay and recommended for
termination.  Refusal to be tested pursuant to these
regulations shall also be grounds for termination of
employment.

*  PLEASE NOTE:  THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

WILL PRESENT THE ABOVE TWO REGULATORY CHANGES

TO THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION AT IT’S REGULAR

MEETING, ON THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 18, 1999 AT 2:00
P.M..

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code,

Section 6102(q), (r)

The Secretary of Finance proposes five new chapters for
the administration of the Education Expense and Property
Tax Relief Fund that are summarized below:

1. Adopt chapter 1 to specify the legislative source of
the regulatory authority of the Secretary of Finance.

2. Adopt chapter 2 to define more specifically terms
(county, school district, plan, residential, school board)
referenced in the statute.

3. Adopt chapter 3 to specify the duties of counties to
provide in a timely way data necessary for implementing the
statutory intent to school districts and the Secretary of
Finance.

4. Adopt chapter 4 specifying the reporting forms and
requirements of school boards and districts.

5. Adopt chapter 5 to specifying the duties of the
Secretary of Finance in supplying forms to school districts,
issuing refunds to taxpayers, complying the Internal
Revenue Code requirements, and paying the county
receivers of taxes for administrative costs.  

The Secretary of Finance proposes six new chapters for

http://www.state.de.us/revenue/index.htm
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the administration of the Elderly Property Tax Relief and
Education Expense Fund that are summarized below:

1. Adopt chapter 1 to specify the legislative
source of the regulatory authority of the Secretary of
Finance. 

2. Adopt chapter 2 to define more specifically terms
(county, school district, plan, principal residence, school
board) referenced in the statute.

3. Adopt chapter 3 to specify the duties of counties to
provide in a timely way data necessary for implementing the
statutory intent to school districts and the Secretary of
Finance, to include inserts in mailing of tax bills, and to
verify the primary residency status of persons making
application for tax credits from the Fund.

4. Adopt chapter 4 specifying the reporting forms and
requirements of school boards and districts.

5. Adopt chapter 5 to specify the duties of the
Secretary of Finance in supplying forms to school districts,
issuing refunds to taxpayers, complying the Internal
Revenue Code requirements, and paying the county
receivers of taxes for administrative costs. 

6. Adopt chapter 6 to specify the requirement for
qualifying persons 65 and over to make application for
eligible for the Program and to specify the deadline for
application.

The public may obtain copies of the proposed
regulations from the Office of the Secretary of Finance, 820
N. French Street, Wilmington, DE  19801 or by calling (302)
577-8987.  The Secretary of Finance will accept written
public comments from November 1, 1999 to November 30,
1999.

PROPOSED REGULATIONS FOR EDUCATION 
EXPENSE AND PROPERTY TAX RELIEF FUND

Ch. 61

1.0 Introduction
These regulations are authorized pursuant to §6102(r) of

Title 29 of the Delaware Code.

2.0 Definitions
The following words shall be accorded these meanings

for the purpose of administering this fund:

“county” – the county receiver of taxes, director of
finance, or other responsible party for school property tax
billing and collection in New Castle, Kent, and Sussex
Counties.

“plan” – the form, approved through majority vote of
the whole school board, submitted to the Secretary of
Education, Secretary of Finance, Budget Director, Controller

General, and the county receiver of taxes and county
treasurer, detailing the purposes for using the monies
allocated under §6102(r) of Title 29 of the Delaware Code. 

“residential” – real property whose primary purpose is
habitation including single occupancy dwellings, multiple
occupancy (or multiple-family) dwellings, condominiums,
trailers on owned property, and trailers owned and located
on rented property, but not apartments.

“school board” – as defined in §1901 of Title 14 of the
Delaware Code.

“school district” – regular school districts as defined by
§1901 of Title 14 of the Delaware Code and county
vocational high school districts with taxing authority
pursuant to Chapter 26 of Title 14 of the Delaware Code.

3.0 County: Duties
The following duties are required of all counties:
3.1 Provide each school district eligible to offer tax

relief pursuant to §6102(r) of Title 29 on an annual basis the
taxable assessed value of residential property in that school
district.  For tax years beginning on or after May 1, 1999 and
before May 1, 2000, the county shall provide such
information to the school districts as soon as possible, but no
later than September 15, 1999.  For tax years beginning on or
after May 1, 2000, the county shall provide such information
to the school districts twenty days before the deadline for
school districts to submit their tax rates to the county.  

3.2 Provide in electronic form acceptable to the
Secretary of Finance no later than January 31, 2000, for each
district authorizing a tax reduction in the tax year beginning
on or after May 1, 1999 and before May 1, 2000, a list of
taxpayers, billing addresses, the taxable assessed value of the
property owned by that tax payer, and the amount of total
school tax paid by said taxpayer, including any capitation
tax. 

4.0 School Board and School Districts: Duties
4.1 Develop and submit a plan using the form pursuant

to §6102(r)(4) of Title 29 of the Delaware Code using the
form supplied by the Secretary of Finance.

4.2 Report to the county receiver of taxes and county
treasurer any authorized reduction in the rate of school
property tax on residential property as required by
§6102(r)(6) of Title 29 of the Delaware Code by October
30, 1999.

5.0 Secretary of Finance: Duties
5.1 Supply to school boards and school districts the

form necessary to comply with §6102(r)(4) of Title 29 of the
Delaware Code.

5.2 Cause the State Treasurer to prepare checks for all
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taxpayers owed refunds of school property tax for tax year
beginning May 1, 1999 and before May 1, 2000.  

5.3 Mail checks to taxpayers owed refunds less than
$600.   

5.4 Issue no rebate for tax years beginning May 1, 1999
until the county informs the Secretary of Finance that the
qualified person has paid in full their property taxes for that
tax year in a timely manner.

5.5 Contact taxpayers owed refunds equal to or greater
than $600.  Issue refunds to these taxpayers after receiving
from taxpayer information necessary to comply with I.R.S.
regulations for issuing Form 1099 for refunds of taxes other
than personal income tax that are equal to or greater than
$600.

5.6 Ensure that the Department of Finance issues Form
1099 for all taxpayers owed a refund equal to or greater than
$600 in accordance with §6041 of Internal Revenue Code of
the United States.

PROPOSED REGULATIONS FOR ELDERLY 
PROPERTY TAX RELIEF AND EDUCATION 

EXPENSE FUND
Ch. 61

1.0 Introduction
These regulations are authorized pursuant to §6102(q)

of Title 29 of the Delaware Code. 

2.0 Definitions
The following words shall be accorded these meanings

for the purpose of administering this fund: 

“county” – the county receiver of taxes, director of
finance, or other responsible party for school property tax
billing and collection in New Castle, Kent, and Sussex
Counties.

“plan” – the form, approved through majority vote of
the whole school board, submitted to the Secretary of
Education, Secretary of Finance, Budget Director, Controller
General, and the county receiver of taxes and county
treasurer, detailing the purposes for using the monies
allocated under §6102(r) of Title 29 of the Delaware Code. 

“principal residence” – the place a “qualifying person”,
as defined in §6102(q) of Title 29 of the Delaware Code,
voluntarily fixed as their dominant and permanent habitation
with an intent to remain in such place for the indefinite
future and verifiable by the location of the person’s source(s)
of income, the address used for payment of federal, state
personal income taxes and billings of local residential
property taxes, and the residence listed on the qualifying
person’s driver’s license, and the residence listed for
purposes of voting. None of these factors alone shall be

considered dispositive, except that a person must intend to
reside at that residence for a minimum of 183 days in the tax
year for which the credit is claimed.  Consideration of all
these factors together, as well as a qualifying person sworn
application claiming principal residence status, shall be
considered in determining the primary residence of a
qualifying person.

“school board” – school boards as the term is used in
§1901 of Title 14 of the Delaware Code.

“school district” – regular school districts as defined by
§1901 of Title 14 of the Delaware Code.

3.0 County: Duties
The following duties are required of all counties:
3.1 Provide in electronic form acceptable to the

Secretary of Finance, for each district authorizing a tax
reduction in the tax year beginning May 1, 1999, a list of
qualifying taxpayers, billing addresses, and the amount of
school tax paid by said taxpayer and the school tax that
would have been due taking into account the authorized
reduction approved by the local school board pursuant to
§6102(q) (i.e. the amount of school tax paid minus the
amount of school tax due after considering any elderly
property tax relief provided under this program), after taking
into account any reduction authorized pursuant to §6102(r)
of Title 29 of the Delaware Code (otherwise known as the
elderly property tax relief and education expense program).
The first such transmission shall occur no later than January
31, 2000 and by the last day of each month thereafter until
May 31, 2000.

3.2 Provide, for tax years beginning May 1, 2000 and
thereafter, to the Secretary of Finance no later than
November 15th of each tax year the total amount of credits
awarded within each individual school district authorizing
tax relief pursuant to §6102(q) of Title 29.  

3.3 List a credit on tax bills mailed for tax years
beginning after May 1, 2000 on a separate line entitled
“State Elderly Tax Relief Fund”.

3.4  Include in the mailing of tax bills an insert
developed by the Secretary of Finance, developed in
consultation with the counties, that explains the elderly
property tax relief program.

3.5 Verify the “principal residence” status of
individuals making application for tax credits pursuant to
§6102(q). The county and the Secretary of Finance may
require and review information that they deem relevant to
determining a qualified person’s principal residence, as
defined herein. 

4.0 School Districts and School Boards: Duties
The following duties are required of all school boards:
4.1 Develop and submit a plan using the form pursuant
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to §6102(q)(3) of Title 29 of the Delaware Code using the
form supplied by the Secretary of Finance.

4.2 Report, as required by §6102(q)(3) of Title 29 of
the Delaware Code to the county receiver of taxes and
county treasurer any authorized reduction in the school
property tax on primary residential property owned by
qualified persons 65 and over by October 30, 1999.  This
report shall take the form of a letter in a form supplied by the
Secretary of Finance.

5.0 Secretary of Finance: Duties
The following duties are required of the Secretary of

Finance:
5.1 Supply to school boards and school districts the

form necessary to comply with §6102(q)(3) of Title 29 of the
Delaware Code.

5.2 Supply to school boards and school district an
estimate of funds allocated to districts from funds available
pursuant to §6102(q) of Title 29 of the Delaware Code.

5.3 Cause the State Treasurer to prepare checks for all
taxpayers owed refunds of school property tax for tax year
beginning May 1, 1999 and before May 1, 2000.  

5.4 Mail checks to taxpayers owed refunds.   
5.5 Issue no rebate for tax year 1999 until the county

informs the Secretary of Finance that the qualified person
has paid in full their property taxes for that tax year.

5.6 Provide appropriate notice to taxpayers 65 and over
qualifying for tax relief pursuant to §6102(q) of Title 29 of
the Delaware Code.  

5.7 Pay over, after receiving the report required under
§1919(c)(1) of Title 14, to each receiver of taxes an amount
up to 5% of the credits claimed, but not to exceed $50,000.

5.8 Pay over, after receiving the report required under
§1919(c)(1) of Title 14 and calculating the rate of
application by district, the amount a district not opting to
provide tax relief to elderly property tax owners should
receive under the approved allocation formula. 

6.0 Application for Elderly Property Tax Relief
6.1 Each person desiring to obtain tax relief pursuant to

§6102 (q) of Title 29 of the Delaware Code shall submit an
application to the county receiver of taxes on a form
specified and supplied by the Secretary of Finance, unless
such person has applied and been previously qualified for
existing county exemptions for persons 65 and over on their
primary residences.  For persons 65 and over previously
qualified for an existing county program, their application
for that program may be considered a valid application for
the Elderly Property Tax Relief Program.

6.2 For tax years beginning after May 1, 1999 and
before May 1, 2000, qualifying taxpayers must submit the
application no later than April 15, 2000. 

6.3 Taxpayers may, at the discretion of the Secretary of
Finance or the county, be required to submit evidence

sufficient to prove that the taxpayer and residence qualifies
for tax relief pursuant to §6102(q) of Title 29 of the
Delaware Code.

DIVISION OF REVENUE

DELAWARE STATE LOTTERY OFFICE

Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code,
Section 4805(a) (29 Del.C. 4805(a))

The Delaware Lottery Office proposes amendments to
Section 29 of the Regulations on Non-Discrimination of the
Basis of Disability to Delaware Lottery Programs.  The
amendments are summarized below:

1. Amend Rule 29(1) to add a new subsection (l)
which adds a definition for the term “technically infeasible.”

2. Amend Rule 29(6)(d) concerning the exemption for
Landlord refusal.  The proposed amendment revises the
exemption based on a landlord’s refusal to pay for
improvements required by the Lottery for the period of the
lease.

3. Amend Rule 29(6)(f) to add a new exemption for
“technical infeasibility”.

Copies of the existing regulations and proposed
regulations as amended may be obtained from the Delaware
Lottery Office, 1575 McKee Road, Dover, DE 19904-1903;
phone (302) 739-5291.  The contact person at the Lottery
Office is Brian Peters, Deputy Director of Marketing.  The
Commission will accept written comments from the public
from November 1, 1999 through November 30, 1999.  A
public hearing will be held at the Delaware Lottery Office,

2nd Floor Conference Room, 1575 McKee Road, Dover, DE
on November 30, 1999 at 3:00 p.m..

Proposed Changes

(29) Non-Discrimination on the Basis of Disability in
Delaware Lottery Programs

(1) Definitions
a) “Accessible” means complying with the technical

requirements found in the ADA Accessibility Guidelines
(ADAAG).

b) “Accessible Route” means a continuous
unobstructed path connecting all accessible elements and
spaces of a building or facility. Interior accessible routes
may include corridors, floors, ramps, elevators, lifts, and
clear floor space at fixtures.  Exterior accessible routes may
include parking access aisles, curb ramps, crosswalks at

http://www.state.de.us/revenue/index.htm
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vehicular ways, walks, ramps, and lifts.
c) “ADA” means the Americans with Disabilities Act

(42 United States Code. §§12101-12213 and 47 United
States Code §225 and §611).

d) “Director” means the Director of the State Lottery
Office.

e) “Entrance” means any access point to a building or
portion of a building or facility used for the purpose of
entering.  An entrance includes the approach walk the
vertical access leading to the entrance platform, the entrance
platform itself, vestibules if provided, the entry door(s) or
gate(s), and the hardware of the entry door(s) or gate(s).

f) “Facility” means all or any portion of buildings,
structures, site improvements, complexes, equipment, roads,
walks, passageways, parking lots, or other real or personal
property located on a site.

g) “Lottery Program” means on-line and instant games
offered to the public through retailer licensees.

h) “Lottery” or “State Lottery Office” means the
lottery established by the Delaware State Lottery Law,
Chapter 348, Volume 59, of the Laws of Delaware.

i) “Lottery Retailer” or “Retailer” means a business
entity housed in a specific retail facility that is under license
with the Delaware Lottery to provide lottery related services.

 j) “Inspection Report” means a completed survey of
the retailer or applicant facility that identifies barriers to
program accessibility, if any and suggest possible solutions.

k) “Service Site” means an area within a lottery
retailer facility where a customer can purchase a lottery
related product.  This is usually the cashier’s station.
qualified historic building or facility that is listed in or is
eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places
under the National Historic Preservation Act or is designated
as historic under State or Local law.

l) ”Technically Infeasible” means, with respect to an
alteration of a building or a facility, that it has little
likelihood of being accomplished because existing structural
conditions would require removing or altering a load-bearing
member which is an essential part of the structural frame;  or
because other existing or site constraints prohibit
modification or addition of elements, spaces, or features
which are in full and strict compliance with the minimum
requirements for new construction and which are necessary
to provide accessibility. 

(2) Purpose
a) The Americans with Disabilities Act (P.L. 101-336,

U.S.C. §§ 12131-12134), known as the ADA, prohibits
discrimination on the basis of disability in the delivery of
programs offered by entities of state or local government.
The purpose of this regulation is to ensure that the Delaware
Lottery is in compliance with the ADA by ensuring that
people with disabilities have access to Delaware Lottery
programs.

b) In defining the scope or extent of any duty imposed
by these regulations including compliance with the standard
of accessibility defined in paragraph 3(b), higher or more
comprehensive obligations established by otherwise
applicable federal, state or local enactment may be
considered.

(3) General Requirements
a) Prohibition of discrimination.  No lottery retailer

shall discriminate against any individual on the basis of a
disability in the full and equal enjoyment of lottery related
goods, services, facilities, privileges, advantages, or
accommodations of any lottery licensed facility.

b) Standard of accessibility.  Each Retailer is required
to meet a standard of accessibility that enables people with
disabilities, including those who use wheelchairs, to enter
the lottery licensed facility and participate in the lottery
program.  An accessible route must be provided comprised
of the following accessible elements:

1) Parking if parking is provided to the general
public;

2) Exterior route connecting parking (or a public
way if no parking is provided) to an accessible entrance;

3) Entrance;
4) Interior Route connecting the entrance to a

service site.
c) Each element shall meet the design standards set

forth in the ADA Accessibility Guidelines (ADAAG)
published in the Federal Register on July 26, 1991.

(4) New License Applicants
a) License applicants.  The State Lottery Office shall

inspect the site of applicants for compliance with this
regulation prior to granting a license.  The State Lottery
Office will not grant a license to an applicant who is not in
compliance with this regulation.

b) Inspection reports.  The State Lottery Office, prior
to granting a license, shall provide lottery applicants with an
Inspection Report that shall identify barrier removal actions,
if any, necessary to provide program accessibility.  The
identified actions must be completed prior to the granting of
a license.

(5) Current Retailers
a) The State Lottery Office shall inspect the site of

each lottery retailer for compliance with this regulation.
b) Inspection reports . The State Lottery Office shall

provide to all current retailers an Inspection Report that shall
identify barrier removal actions necessary to provide
program accessibility.  The identified actions must be
competed within 90 days of receipt of the Inspection Report.

c) Extensions.  The Director may grant an extension
of up to 90 days to allow a current retailer to complete
barrier removal actions identified in the Inspection Report.
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(i) Any request for an extension must be in
writing, and shall include specific reasons for an extension
and supporting documentation.

(ii) The Director shall grant an extension only
upon showing of good cause.

(6) Permitted exemptions
a) The following exemptions to the requirements of

this rule may be granted by the Director.  The Director shall
review the circumstances and supporting documentation
provided by the retailer to determine if the retailer’s request
for an exemption should be granted.  The Director shall
determine the type and scope of documentation to be
required for each exemption classification.  All decisions
made by the Director shall be final; any retailer whose
request for an exemption is denied by the Director shall be
required to satisfy the requirements of this rule as a condition
for maintaining its eligibility for a Lottery retailer contract.

b) Historic properties.  To the extent a historic
building is exempt under federal law, and if barrier removal
would threaten or destroy the historic significance of the
structure, this rule shall not apply to a qualified historic
building or facility that is listed in or is eligible for listing in
the National Register of Historic Places under the National
Historic Preservation Act or is designated as historic under
State or Local law.

c) Legal impediment to barrier removal.  Any law, act,
ordinance, state regulation, ruling or decision which
prohibits the lottery retailer from removing a structural
impediment or from making a required improvement to the
facility may be the basis for an exemption to this rule.  A
lottery retailer requesting an exemption for a legal
impediment will not be required to formally seek a zoning
variance to establish such impediment, but will be required
to document that they have applied for and have been
refused whatever permit(s) are necessary to remove the
identified barrier(s).

d) Landlord refusal.  An exemption may be granted
based on the refusal of a landlord to grant permission to a
Lottery retailer to make structural improvements required by
the Lottery under this rule or based on the refusal of a
landlord to pay for improvements required by the Lottery
under this rule. The exemption shall only apply to the
retailer’s current term, and does not include any possible
renewal periods under the lease.  To request such an
exemption, the retailer must submit documentation to the
Director that the retailer requested the Landlord’s permission
and financial participation to make the required structural
improvements, that such request was denied by the landlord,
and the reasons for the denial.  In making a decision on the
exemption request, the Director shall take into consideration,
but not be limited to, the sufficiency of the reasons provided
by the landlord for denying the retailer’s request.

e) Undue financial hardship.  A limited exemption

may be granted if a retailer can demonstrate that the cost of
removing a structural barrier or of making the required
structural modification(s) to the retailer’s facility is an undo
financial hardship in that the cost of making such a change(s)
exceeds 25% of the retailer’s compensation from the Lottery
for the prior calendar year (An annualized sales figure based
upon the retailer’s most current 13-week sales period shall
be used for those retailer locations with less than a full year’s
history of sales.) Under the terms of this limited exemption,
a retailer would be required to annually make those
improvements and modifications that can be financed within
an amount that is approximately equal to 25% of the total
compensation earned from the Lottery in the prior calendar
year.  This requirement would continue on a year-to-year
basis until all the improvements and modifications required
by this rule have been completed.  A retailer shall provide all
supporting documentation requested by the Director to
substantiate the, cost estimates of making the required
improvements to the retailer’s location.

f) Technical Infeasibility.  A permanent exemption
may be granted if a retailer can demonstrate that the removal
of architectural barriers identified in the inspection report is
not possible due to technical infeasibility.  If such a claim is
made, the Lottery may have the barrier removal action
evaluated by a person knowledgeable in accessibility codes
and construction to determine the merits of the claim.

f g) Alternative methods.  Where an exemption is
granted in accordance with the provisions of this sub-
chapter, the lottery retailer shall make the lottery related
goods and services available through alternative methods.
Examples of alternative methods include, but are not limited
to:

1) Providing curb service;
2) Directing by signage to the nearest accessible

lottery retailer.

(7) Complaints Relating to Non-Accessibility
a) An aggrieved party may file an accessibility

complaint with the Lottery Director or designee for review.
Complaints must be in writing and, where possible,
submitted on an ADA complaint form.  As soon as practical,
but not later than 30 days after the filing of a complaint, each
complaint will be investigated.  After the completion of the
investigation, if the agency determines that the lottery
retailer is not in compliance with this regulation, a letter of
non-compliance will be issued to the lottery retailer with a
copy to the complainant.  If the lottery retailer is determined
to be in compliance, a letter so stating will be mailed to the
retailer and complainant.  Regardless of whether a complaint
has been filed, the agency will issue a letter of
noncompliance within 30 days after the completion of an
onsite inspection of the lottery retailer facility if the agency
determines that the lottery retailer is not in compliance with
this regulation.
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b) If the letter of non-compliance shows deficiencies
in the accessibility of the retailer facility, the lottery retailer
shall submit a plan to the agency within 30 days of the
issuance of the letter of non-compliance. The plan shall
describe in detail how the lottery retailer will achieve
compliance with this regulation.  Compliance shall be
accomplished within 90 days of the letter of non-
compliance.  The Lottery may, upon request, grant the
lottery retailer additional time to submit the plan for good
cause.

c) Within 20 days of the submission of the plan to the
agency, the Lottery shall notify the lottery retailer of the
agency’s acceptance or rejection of the plan.  If the plan is
rejected, the notification shall contain the reasons for
rejection of the plan and the corrections needed to make the
plan acceptable to the Lottery.  If the retailer agrees to make
the required corrections, the Lottery shall accept the plan as
modified.

d) If a retailer fails to submit a plan within 30 days of
issuance of the letter of noncompliance and has not
requested an extension of time to submit a plan, the Lottery
may proceed to initiate termination proceedings.

e) If approved, the plan must be completely
implemented within 60 days of the agency’s notice of
approval.  The Lottery may, upon request, grant the lottery
retailer additional time for good cause.  Notice of any
extension will also be sent to the complainant, if applicable.
Any such extension will commence immediately upon
expiration of the first 60 day period.

f) If the corrective action taken by the lottery retailer
corrects the deficiencies specified in the letter of
noncompliance as originally issued or as later revised or
reissued or if the onsite inspection of the lottery retailer
facility reveals compliance with this regulation, the Lottery
will issue a notice of compliance.  Until this notice is issued,
a complaint will be considered pending.

g) Failure to make the identified modifications in
compliance with the accessibility standards and within the
required time period will result in the initiation of
proceedings to suspend or revoke the lottery license by the
agency.

h) A license will be suspended if the Lottery
determines that the lottery retailer has made significant
progress toward correcting deficiencies listed in the
compliance report, but has not completed implementation of
the approved compliance plan.  If the Lottery determines that
the lottery retailer has not made a good faith effort to correct
the deficiencies listed in the compliance report, this inaction
will result in the revocation of the lottery license for that
lottery licensed facility.

i) While proceedings to suspend or revoke a lottery
retailer’s license are pending pursuant to this regulation, and
until a notice of compliance is issued pursuant to subsection
(c) of this section, the Lottery shall withhold incentive

payments from the lottery retailer.  In addition, if a license is
revoked pursuant to this regulation, and incentive payments
and other privileges have been withheld from the affected
retailer pending review of the complaint, the lottery retailer
forfeits any claim to such incentive payments or other
privileges.

(8) Request for Hearings
a) If the Lottery proposes the denial of an application

for a license or the suspension or revocation of a lottery
retailer’s license pursuant to this regulation, the agency shall
give the applicant or lottery retailer written notice of the time
and place of the administrative hearing not later than 30 days
before the date of the hearing.

b) All relevant rules of evidence and time limits
established in these rules shall apply to hearings conducted
under this regulation.

(9) Non-Exclusivity of Remedies
a) Remedies established by these regulations are not

intended to supplant, restrict or otherwise impair resort to
remedies otherwise available under law, including those
authorized by the ADA and Del. Code Ann., title 6, ch. 45
(1993).

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, 
Section 122 (16 Del.C. 122)

The Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) will
hold a public hearing to discuss proposed Delaware
Regulations for the Conrad State 20 / J-1 Visa Waiver
Program.  These proposed regulations describe the
requirements and procedures for an international medical
graduate (IMG) requesting State support for a J-1 visa
waiver.  DHSS is also proposing a new process for
supporting a J-1 visa waiver application.  These regulations
further enable DHSS, as good stewards of the program, to
use this authority to address the issue of physician
maldistribution and to help ensure better access to quality
health care services for the vulnerable populations of
Delaware.  

This public hearing will be held on November 30, 1999
at 2:00 PM in Room 309 of the Jesse S. Cooper Building,
Federal and Water Streets, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for
review by calling or writing the following:

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dph/dphhome.htm
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Ms. Lisa Anderson
Health Systems Development Branch
Jesse Cooper Building, P.O. Box 637
Dover, DE  19903
Telephone: (302) 739-4787

Anyone wishing to present oral comments at this
hearing should contact Ms. Lisa Anderson at (302) 739-4787
by November 23, 1999.  Anyone wishing to submit written
comments as a supplement to, or in lieu of, oral testimony
should submit such comments by December 2, 1999 to:

Dave Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
PO Box 637
Dover, DE  19903

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED REGULATIONS
DELAWARE CONRAD STATE 20 / J-1 VISA 

WAIVER PROGRAM

These are new regulations and are to be adopted in
accordance with Chapter 1, Section 122, Title 16, Delaware
Code.  

The Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) will
hold a public hearing to discuss proposed Delaware
Regulations for the Conrad State 20 / J-1 Visa Waiver
Program on November 30, 1999 at 2:00 PM in Room 309 of
the Jesse S. Cooper Building, Federal and Water Streets,
Dover, Delaware.  International medical graduates (IMGs)
completing their graduate medical education in the United
States under a J-1 Visa are normally required to return to
their country of nationality for at least two years before
reentering the United States.  However, acting as an
interested state agency, DHSS may make a recommendation
to the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Consular Affairs
Waiver Review Division (DOS) to, in turn, recommend that
the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) waive the
home residence requirement for up to twenty (20) J-1
physicians annually.  These proposed regulations describe
the requirements and procedures for an international medical
graduate (IMG) to use to request State support for a J-1 visa
waiver.  DHSS is also proposing a new process for
supporting a J-1 visa waiver application.  These regulations
enable DHSS, as good stewards of the program, to use this
authority to address the issue of physician maldistribution
and to help ensure better access to quality health care
services for the vulnerable populations of Delaware. 

The Conrad State 20 / J-1 Visa Waiver Program
regulations apply to any applicant requesting a waiver of the
two-year home residency requirement who will work in the
State of Delaware.

CONRAD STATE 20/J-1 VISA WAIVER 
APPLICATION REGULATIONS 

JULY 1999
Conrad State 20/J-1 Visa Waiver Program

Policy and Procedures

I. PURPOSE 
This document will specify the procedures to be used by

the Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) in
administering the Conrad State 20/J-1 Visa Waiver Program
(Program).  

II. AUTHORITY
Delaware Code, Title 16, Chapter 1, Section 122, Public

Law 103-416 United States Code

III. BACKGROUND
International medical graduates (IMG) completing their

graduate medical education in the United States under a J-1
Visa are required to return to their country of nationality for
at least two years before reentering the United States. Acting
as an interested state agency, DHSS may make a
recommendation to the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of
Consular Affairs Waiver Review Division (DOS) to, in turn,
recommend that the Immigration and Naturalization Service
(INS) waive the home residence requirement for up to
twenty (20) J-1 physicians annually.  Additionally, a J-1
physician may apply directly to the United States
Department of Agriculture (USDA) for a J-1 visa waiver.  In
order to receive a letter of support for the J-1 physician
applicant from DHSS, however, applications must first meet
Program requirements, described herein.  

IV. POLICY STATEMENTS
DHSS is committed to ensuring that quality health care

is available to all residents of the State of Delaware. In an
effort to ensure adequate medical services are provided in
underserved areas, DHSS has elected to take advantage of
the Conrad State 20/J-1 Visa Waiver Program.  

Under this program, DHSS has established state-
specific procedures that require sponsoring sites to submit a
Site Application.  This application consists of 1) a needs
assessment, 2) proof that the sponsoring site has
unsuccessfully attempted over a six month period to hire a
physician with United States citizenship, 3) three letters of
support from community leaders and local public health
officials, 4) strategy for long-term and short-term retention,
5) sponsoring site waiver agreement, and 6) a site
application form.  

The needs assessment must establish and document that
a particular need exists within the sponsoring site’s service
area before the site will be approved to hire a J-1 physician
under the Conrad State 20/J-1 Visa Waiver Program. The
onus to establish the need rests solely with the sponsoring
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site.  
The Site Application will be reviewed and approved or

disapproved by a Board.  DHSS will provide written notice
to the site of the application’s approval/disapproval.  A J-1
visa waiver application on behalf of a particular J-1
physician may not be submitted until the sponsoring site has
been approved.  J-1 visa waiver applications will only be
accepted from J-1 physicians who have signed a contract
with a pre-approved site.  

DHSS will submit recommendations to the DOS on
behalf of qualified J-1 physician applicants who agree to
practice medicine full-time at a pre-approved sponsoring site
for a minimum of three years in a federally designated
Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) or a Medically
Underserved Area (MUA) of Delaware with a pre-approved
site.  

DHSS participation in the Conrad State 20/J-1 Visa
Waiver Program is completely discretionary and voluntary.
DHSS may elect not to participate in the Program at any
time.  The submission of a complete waiver package does
not ensure DHSS will recommend a waiver in all instances.
No more than 20 applications will be approved each Federal
fiscal year.  DHSS reserves the right to recommend or
decline any request for a waiver.  

This policy applies in full to any waiver submitted on
behalf of a J-1 physician to be employed in Delaware. 

V. DHSS DUTIES AND RESPONSIBILITIES
The Health Systems Development Branch of the

Delaware Division of Public Health (DPH) has primary
responsibility within DHSS for processing J-1 visa waivers.
DHSS serves as the “interested state agency” with the
Director of Public Health having the authority to sign the
recommendations.  Applications must be processed in the
best interest of the health care needs of Delawareans.  

VI. APPLICABILITY
These procedures apply to the following:

• All J-1 physicians seeking a J-1 visa waiver under
PL 103-416 for employment in Delaware.  

• All sponsoring sites seeking approval to hire a J-1
physician under the J-1 Visa Waiver program.  

• All DHSS employees processing J-1 visa waivers
under PL 103-416.

VII. APPLICATION PROCESS
Sponsoring Site Pre-Approval Application

Requirements
The Site Application (see Appendix A for Application

forms) must, at a minimum, include the following:
A. Site Application Form:

1. Sponsoring Site: Provide the name, address,
county, telephone number, fax number and the e-mail

address of site requesting approval to hire a J-1 physician.
Also, please specify if the site is for profit or not for profit.  

2. Practice Site: Provide the name, address and
county of actual practice site where the requested J-1
physician would practice, if different from the primary
location of the sponsoring site.  

3. Recruitment Contact: Provide the name,
address, county, telephone number, fax number and e-mail
address of the individual responsible for physician
recruitment.

4. Site Data Regarding Active Clients: Provide
the total number of active patients at the practice site in the
previous calendar year.  Indicate total patients, as applicable,
for primary care, specialty care and mental health services.
Provide pro-rated or estimated annual totals if the site was
not operational for the entire previous calendar year. For
new sites, estimate the number of patients anticipated for the
next year.  Of the total number of patients, provide the
percentage of all current patients, broken out by given age
groups, making payment by conventional insurance plans,
Medicare, Medicaid or on a sliding fee scale.  A copy of the
sliding fee scale must be submitted.  

5. Staffing Levels: Provide the total number of
budgeted full-time equivalent providers currently on staff.
Also include the number of J-1 physicians requested, by
specialty, and the projected hire date of each.  

6. Practice Site Hours of Operation: Indicate the
normal operating hours of the practice site by the days of the
week.  If hours of operation vary by practitioner, please
specify.

7. Proposed J-1 Physician Weekly Work
Schedule: Indicate the proposed weekly work schedule of
the proposed J-1 physician(s).  Include the number of hours
(with start and end times) and the location (hospital/practice
site(s)).  The schedule must indicate the amount of time the
J-1 physician is actually providing services; do not include
travel or on-call time. 

B. Needs Assessment:
Sponsoring sites are encouraged to work with their

local hospital to complete the needs assessment. A
comprehensive, data driven needs assessment must be
completed, which, at a minimum, includes the following:

1. Description of the service area in which the
sponsoring site’s patients are located.

2. Geographic Service Area Health Resource
Inventory.  Description of the other health care resources
located within the same service area including physicians
(by specialty), hospitals, clinics, urgent care centers and any
other available outpatient care facilities.  Also include the
location of the nearest available source of outpatient based
services, which offers a sliding fee scale to patients with
limited financial resources and that provides services similar
to those that are being provided by the requested J-1
physician.  Using public transportation as the mode of travel,



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 5, MONDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 1999

606

indicate the distance and travel time to that site.  
3. Documentation that the sponsoring site’s

service area is located within a Health Professional Shortage
Area (HPSA) or a Medically Underserved Area (MUA).
Please indicate the following: HPSA Type(s), HPSA Service
Area Number, HPSA FIPS State/County Code and the
sponsoring site’s primary service area (by City/County).
 4. Documentation of a shortage in the defined
service area for the particular physician specialty being
requested under the J-1 Visa Waiver Program. 

• Provide statistics demonstrating the need for a
specialty and/or sub-specialty in the sponsoring
site’s service area.  

• Document that the specialty and/or sub-specialty is
not available to the underserved population in the
service area. 

• Describe how a J-1 physician would be used to
meet the needs of the underserved population in the
service area.  Indicate if unique qualifications, such
as cultural match or experience with the service
area’s underserved population, are sought to meet a
particular need.  

C. Retention:
The sponsoring site must provide written

documentation of plans to retain the J-1 physician in the
service area upon completion of the three-year practice
obligation.  Specifically, this plan must include short and
long-term strategies that will not only keep the physician in
the service area, but also will encourage the physician to
continue to practice the specialty for which he/she was hired. 

D. Proof of Failed Recruitment Attempts:
The sponsoring site must provide proof that

attempts have been made to hire a physician with United
States citizenship in the past six months to no avail.  This
section must include a written description of the failed
attempts to recruit as well as back up documentation
including, but not limited to, medical journal and newspaper
advertisements, letters to medical residency programs and/or
medical schools, etc.  Please state any attempts to gain
recruitment support from the hospital within the practice
site’s geographic service area.

E. Letters of Support:
The sponsoring site must submit three letters of

support.  Two must be obtained from community members
and/or leaders in the practice site’s service area.  One must
be obtained from a local public health official (see Appendix
B for an approved contact list).  Each letter must indicate the
benefits of, or need for, the placement of a J-1 physician with
the sponsoring site.

F. Sponsoring Site Waiver Agreement:
The director or applicant official of the sponsoring

site must initial each of the statements indicating agreement
to comply with requirements of the Delaware Conrad State

20/J-1 Visa Waiver Program.  The form must also be signed
and dated to include the title of the applicant official.

G. Signature:
The director or applicant official of the sponsoring

site must provide an original, dated application with a live
signature (using blue ink).  This signature binds the site to
the information provided and verifies that the form has been
completed with accurate and current information.

J-1 Physician Application Requirements
Applications will only be accepted from J-1 physician

applicants who already have an employment contract with a
pre-approved sponsoring site (see section IV above).  The
completed application must include the original application
package and one complete copy.  No more than 20
applications will be approved each Federal fiscal year.
DHSS reserves the right to recommend or decline any
request for a waiver.  

The J-1 Physician Application (see Appendix C for
application forms) must, at a minimum, include the
following:

A. Letter from the Director of the Sponsoring Site:
The director of a pre-approved sponsoring site must

submit a letter requesting a DHSS recommendation to the
DOS (or other Federal approving agency) that a J-1
physician be given a waiver of the requirement to return to
their country of nationality.  The letter must include, or
attach, each of the following:
  

• Description of the J-1 physician's qualifications,
proposed responsibilities and how his/her
employment will meet currently unmet health care
needs of a medically underserved community. 

• If the J-1 physician will be practicing in a HPSA or
MUA that is based on a population group, the
employer must provide adequate documentation of
the medical care that will be provided to this group. 

• Certification that the J-1 physician will provide
medical care services to Medicare, Medicaid and
medically underserved patients, without
discrimination based upon ability to pay for such
services (i.e. self-pay, sliding fee scale, charity
care).  

• Completed Physician Data Sheet (copy enclosed).
• Copy of the J-1 physician’s curriculum vitae (CV).  
• Evidence of eligibility for a Delaware medical

license.
• At least three letters of recommendation from

persons familiar with the J-1 physician’s work.
• A signed statement from the J-1 physician agreeing

to the contractual requirements set forth in Section
214 (k)(1) (B) and (C) of the Immigration and
Nationality Act.

• Copies of all IAP-66 forms issued to the J-1
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physician seeking the waiver.

B. Employment Contract:
The employment contract must, at a minimum,

include the following:

• Name and address of the sponsoring site.
• Name and address of the location of the sponsoring

site’s practice.  If the J-1 physician will work at
more than one site, include the days and hours of
practice at each site and a breakdown in the amount
of time the physician will practice at each site.

• A statement that the J-1 physician will work not
less than four days per week or more than 12 hours
in a 24 hour period.  The hours must be performed
during normal office hours, or hours which best
meet the needs of the community (e.g. evenings
and/or weekends).  Travel and on-call time can not
be included. 

• A statement that the site will employ the physician
on a full-time basis (minimum of 40 hours per
week, not including time spent in travel and/or on-
call).  

• Statement that the J-1 physician will commence
practice within 90 days of receiving a waiver and
will practice on a full-time basis for at least three
years.  

C. Letter of No Objection from Home Country:
A statement that the physician's home country has

no objection to the physician receiving a waiver of the
foreign residence requirement must be included if the J-1
physician received funding from his or her home country for
medical education or training in the United States.  The
Certification Regarding Contractual Obligation to Home
County (HD1061F) letter must be submitted directly to the
following address by the J-1 physician applicant:  

Waiver Review Division
Department of State
Bureau of Consular Affairs, Visa Office
CA/VO/L/W Room, L603
2401 E Street, NW
Washington, DC 20522-0106

D. Evidence of Payment of the Department of State
‘User Fee Required for Waiver Processing’:  

The J-1 physician applicant must provide proof that
the $136.00 processing fee has been sent to the DOS.  A
copy of the payment (i.e. check or money order) is
considered sufficient proof.  DHSS will not handle the
submission of this fee.  The fee must be mailed directly to
the following address at the time the J-1 Visa Waiver
Application packet is submitted to DHSS: 

Waiver Review Division

Department of State
Bureau of Consular Affairs, Visa Office
CA/VO/L/W Room, L603
2401 E Street, NW
Washington, DC 20522-0106

E. J-1 Visa Waiver Statements:  
The J-1 physician applicant must sign and include

the enclosed ‘J-1 Physician Waiver Statements.’
F. J-1 Visa Waiver Affidavit and Agreement: 

The J-1 physician applicant must include a
notarized ‘J-1 Visa Waiver Affidavit and Agreement.’  The
document must contain the J-1 physician applicant’s live,
notarized signature (in blue ink).  

G. J-1 Visa Waiver Application Checklist:  
The enclosed checklist must accompany the

application.  The J-1 physician applicant must initial each
item on the checklist as proof and assurance that each item is
included in the waiver application packet.

VIII. SITE APPLICATION EVALUATION
PROCESS

The Delaware Conrad State 20/J-1 Visa Waiver
Program Sponsoring Site Application Review Board (Board)
will review and approve or disapprove each Site Application
based on its individual merits.  Board members must not
serve on the review panel for applications submitted by
sponsoring sites with which they have either a personal or
employment-related conflict of interest.  The Board will be
comprised of, at least, one member from each hospital in the
state, the Medical Society of Delaware, the Health Care
Commission and DHSS representatives.

A. Sponsoring Site Application Preliminary Review:
A preliminary review of each application will be

conducted by the Conrad State 20 Program manager to
determine if 1) the sponsoring site is located within a HPSA/
MUA and 2) that the following required documentation is
completed:

• Sponsoring Site Application
• Detailed Needs Assessment
• Strategy for Long-term and Short-term Retention
• Proof of Failed Recruitment Attempts
• Letters of Support
• Sponsoring Site Waiver Agreement

The preliminary review will be conducted solely for
the purpose of determining the completeness of the
application; the specific content provided in each of the
components will not be considered.  Incomplete
applications, as well as applications from a site not located in
a HPSA/MUA, will be returned to the sponsoring site
immediately. A checklist identifying the missing
information will be included.  Completed applications may
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be resubmitted at any time prior to the first Monday in
December.  

B. Sponsoring Site Application Review:
The Board will convene during the month of

January to review the applications submitted by the first
Monday of December.  

Using the Site Application Evaluation (see
Appendix D for the form) as a guide, Board members must
assign a score to each of the elements on the Site Application
Evaluation form. 

The following point scale has been assigned to each
unique element:

Review Point Scale

Site Application Data 25
Needs Assessment 35
Retention 15
Proof of Failed Recruitment Attempts 15
Letters of Support 10
Total 100

The scores from the review element will be
averaged to reach an overall total score for each Board
member.  The total scores received from each Board member
will then be averaged to determine the final score for each
site.  

Sites will be approved only if: 
1) all criteria is met, 
2) a final score not lower than a 70 is achieved,

and 
3) an overall score of at least a twenty-five (25) is

achieved on the Needs Assessment component.  
Approved sponsoring sites (whose applications

were received by the first Monday in December) will be
eligible to make a contractual offer to a J-1 physician for the

following fiscal year (beginning October 1st of each year).
However, if not all twenty Conrad State 20/J-1 Visa Waiver
slots have been used for the current Federal fiscal year,
approved sponsoring sites may make a contractual offer to a
J-1 physician for the current fiscal year and the physician
may submit a J-1 visa waiver application packet (see
Appendix C for forms) immediately.  

C. Review of Applications Submitted After the First
Monday in December:

Applications received after the December deadline
will be reviewed to determine if an emergent need (see
Glossary for examples) for the placement of a J-1 physician
is demonstrated.  The application must include a detailed
explanation as to the reason(s) the application was not
submitted by the first Monday in December. If not all twenty
Conrad State 20/J-1 Visa Waiver slots have been used for the
current fiscal year, sponsoring sites demonstrating an
emergent need may make a contractual offer to a J-1

physician immediately upon approval and the physician may
submit a J-1 visa waiver application packet (see Appendix C
for forms) for the current fiscal year.  If all twenty Conrad
State 20/J-1 Visa Waiver slots have been used, then
approved sponsoring sites must wait until the following

Federal fiscal year (beginning October 1st of each year) to
submit a J-1 physician waiver application or may submit via
the USDA.  

D. Notice of Approval/Disapproval:
For those applications received by the first Monday

in December, DHSS will provide written notification of the

Site Application’s approval or disapproval by February 15th

of each year.  
Applications submitted after the first Monday in

December will receive written notification of the Site
Application’s approval or disapproval within 45 days from
the date of receipt of the application by DHSS.

IX. TIME FRAMES
Site Application Submission DHSS will accept Site

Applications Forms each year through the end of the
business day on the first Monday in December.  Site
Applications submitted after the first Monday in December
will be eligible to receive approval only if 1) DHSS has not
used the allotted twenty recommendations for the year, and
2) an emergent need for the placement of a J-1 physician is
clearly demonstrated.  

Site Notification DHSS will notify sponsoring sites in
writing of the decision to approve or disapprove their site no

later than February 15th of each year.  Inquiries regarding
the status of pending applications will not be accepted at any

time prior to February 15th.
J-1 Visa Waiver Request Submission J-1 Visa Waiver

Requests may be submitted with the start of each Federal

fiscal year, October 1st.  

X.  COMPLETED SITE APPLICATIONS AND
ASSOCIATED J-1 APPLICATIONS MUST BE SENT
TO:

Conrad State 20 Program Manager
Division of Public Health
Health Systems Development Branch
P.O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903

XI.  SUBMITTING J-1 PHYSICIAN WAIVER
RECOMMENDATION TO DOS

If the J-1 visa waiver request is approved, a cover letter
to DOS is prepared by DHSS identifying the J-1 physician
applicant and recommending a waiver of the two-year home
residence requirement be granted.  Upon receipt of the
DHSS approval request, DOS will review the application. 
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XII. J-1 PHYSICIAN APPLICANTS RECEIVING
A J-1 WAIVER

J-1 physician applicants receiving approval of a J-1
Waiver request must begin work at the sponsoring site
within ninety (90) days of notice of approval from DOS.  

XIII. REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
An annual reporting process is utilized for each J-1

physician practicing under a waiver to ensure the J-1
physician continues to practice in an underserved area of
Delaware for the required three years.  DHSS will forward
an Annual Practice Form (see Appendix E for a sample
form) to the sponsoring site within thirty (30) days of the
anniversary of the J-1 physician’s start date.  The sponsoring
site must forward the signed, completed Annual Reporting
Form to DHSS. An annual reporting form must be submitted
for each year of practice obligation.  

Notification of waiver status and commencement of
employment contract must be submitted to DHSS upon
receipt of written notification of approval from INS.  This
notification must include the date the three-year obligation
commences.  

Contract changes which result in termination of
contract, change in practice scope, and/or relocation from
a site approved in the application request to a new site must
be presented in writing to DHSS at least thirty (30) days
prior to the change.  All reporting requirements, changes in
practice location and/or scope must be submitted to the
following:

Conrad State 20 Program Manager
Division of Public Health
Health Systems Development Branch
P.O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903

XIV. EXIT INTERVIEW
Each J-1 physician practicing in Delaware must

complete an exit interview within ninety (90) days of
completion of his/her three-year obligation, or at such point
that the employment contract is terminated by either the
sponsoring site or the J-1 physician. DHSS will conduct the
exit interview, which will concentrate on the J-1 physician’s
experiences in Delaware and their future plans for practicing
medicine at the current, or another location.

XV. J1 VISA WAIVER APPLICATION
GLOSSARY 

Department of State, Bureau of Consular Affairs
Waiver Review Division (DOS) The Federal agency that
reviews the recommendations submitted by interested state
agencies on behalf of J-1 physician applicants.  In turn, they
submit their own recommendation to the Immigration and
Naturalization Service for final determination of approval/
disapproval.  

Emergent Need  An emergent need is one that
demonstrates a critical need for the placement of a J-1
physician.  An emergent need includes, but is not limited to,
the following: departure, death or retirement of a clinical
physician providing a majority of medical care needs.  

Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA)  An area
defined by the Department of Health and Human Services as
having a shortage of health care providers.  

J-1 Physician An international medical graduate
physician completing graduate medical education in the
United States under a  J-1 Visa.  These physicians are
required to return to their country of nationality for at least
two years before reentering the United States unless a J-1
Visa waiver is granted.  

Medically Underserved Area An area, as defined by the
Department of Health and Human Services, as not having an
adequate supply of health care providers.

Practice Site Actual physical location at which the J-1
physician will provide medical services.  This location can
be different from the sponsoring site location if, for example,
a satellite office is used.  

Primary Care Fields The following four fields are
identified as primary care: family practice, general internal
medicine, general pediatrics and obstetrics/gynecology

Recruitment Contact  Primary point of contact to be
used by Delaware Health and Social Services Conrad State
20 Program Manager.  

Service Area  Geographic area in closest proximity to
the practice site, from which the majority of patients are
derived.  

Sponsoring Site  Medical practice through which the J-
1 physician will provide medical services (i.e. the hiring
organization).

APPENDIX A
CONRAD STATE 20/J-1 VISA WAIVER SITE

APPLICATION FORMS

I. SITE APPLICATION FORM
1. Sponsoring Site:  ___________________________

Street Address:  ____________________________
City: _______  State:  ____ Zip: _____  County: __
Telephone Number: _____   Fax Number: ______
E-Mail Address:  ___________________________
Non-Profit:  __________  For Profit:  __________

2. Practice Site:  _____________________________
Street Address:  ____________________________
City: _______  State:  ____ Zip: _____  County: __

3. Recruitment Contact: _______________________
Street Address:  ____________________________
City: _______  State:  ____ Zip: _____  County: __
Telephone Number: _____   Fax Number: ______
E-Mail Address:  ___________________________

4. Site Data Regarding Active Clients:
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Total Number of Patients Receiving the Following
Medical Services:

Primary Health Care: ____  Specialty Care:  ____
Mental Health Care:  _____  Total: _____

Total Users in Previous Calendar Year Below
200% of Federal Poverty Level: ______

5. Staffing Levels

6. Practice Site Hours of Operation.
If hours of operation vary by practitioner, please specify.

7.  Proposed J-1 Physician Weekly Work Schedule:

AGE GROUP MEDICAID MEDICARE SLIDING FEE
SCALE

COMMERCIAL

Birth – 11 Years % % % %
12- 18 Years % % % %
19-62 Years % % % %
63+ Years % % % %
HPSA % % % % %
NOT HPSA % % % % %

AREA OF PRACTICE STAFFING LEVEL NUMBER OF J-1
PHYSICIANS
REQUESTED

PROJECTED HIRE DATE

FULL CURRENT JUNE – AUG 
2000

SEPT – NOV 
2000

DEC – FEB 
2000

MARCH –
MAY 2000

PRIMARY CARE PHYSICIANS

Family Practice

General Internal Medicine

General Pediatrics

Obstetrics/Gynecology

SPECIALIST PHYSICIANS
(Please Specify Specialty Area)

NURSE PRACTITIONERS 

Family Nurse Practitioners

Adult Nurse Practitioners

Geriatric Nurse Practitioners

Pediatric Nurse Practitioners

Women’s Health Nurse Practitioners

Psychiatric Nurse Practitioners

OTHER DISCIPLINES 

Physician Assistants

Nurse Midwives

Clinical Psychologists

Clinical Social Workers

Psychiatric Nurse Specialist

Marriage and Family Therapists

DAY TIME 
(Start and End)

TOTAL HOURS

Monday AM: PM:

Tuesday AM: PM:

Wednesday AM: PM:

Thursday AM: PM:

Friday AM: PM:

Saturday AM: PM:

Sunday AM: PM:

DAY TIME
(Start and End)

WHERE
(Hospital/Prac-
tice Site)

TOTAL 
HOURS

Monday AM: PM:

Tuesday AM: PM:

Wednesday AM: PM:

Thursday AM: PM:

Friday AM: PM:

Saturday AM: PM:

Sunday AM: PM:
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Provide a separate work schedule for each J-1 physician
requested and specify the specialty of each.

II. NEEDS ASSESSMENT
Please use additional paper to complete this section.
1. Description of the service area in which the

 sponsoring site’s patients are located:
2. Geographic Service Are Health Care Resource

Inventory

Include all medical services available in the service area for
which the J-1 physician will be practicing.

3. Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) or
Medically Underserved Area (MUA) Documentation.

HPSA Y/N Location: ___________________________
MUA Y/N: Location: ___________________________
Sponsoring Site’s Primary Service Area
(City, County, Zip Code & Census Tract) ___________

4. Documentation of a shortage in the defined servcie
area for the particular physician specialty being requested
under the J-1 Visa Waiver Program.

a) Provide statistics demonstrating the specialty/sub-
specialty is greatly needed in the sponsoring site’s service
area.

b) Document that the specialty/sub-specialty is not
currently available to sufficiently meet the need in the
service area for the underserved population.

c) Describe how a J-1 physician will be used to meet
the underserved population needs in the service area;
indicate if unique qualifications, such as language/cultural
match or experience with a poplulation similar to those in the
service area, are sought to meet a particular need.

III. RETENTION

Describe the short and long-range plan for the retention
of a J-1 physician beyond the required three-year obligation.
Please use additional paper.

IV. PROOFOF FAILED RECRUITMENT ATTEMPTS

V. LETTERS OF SUPPORT
Attach original, signed letters from two separate

community members and/or leaders in the practicing site’s
service area.  Attach one original, signed letter from an
approved local Public Health official (see Appendix B for an
approved contact list).  

VI. SPONSORING SITE WAIVER AGREEMENT
Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) is

committed to ensuring that all residents have access to
quality, affordable health care.  Accordingly, DHSS is
prepared to consider recommending a waiver of the foreign
residence requirement on behalf of physicians holding J-1
Visas under certain conditions.  Therefore, the additional
requirements are deemed necessary to support our Conrad
State 20/J-1 Visa Waiver Program. 

Practice
Site

Specialty Hospital
Hours?
Y/N

Total
Office
Hours
Per
Week

Accept
Medicaid
?
Y/N

%
Medicaid

Accept
New
Patients
?
Y/N

Sliding
Scale?
Y/N

%
Charity
Care

NEAREST AVAILABLE SITE
PROVIDING SERVICES
SIMILAR TO PROPOSED J-1
PRACTICE SITE
(INCLUDE COMPLETE
NAME AND ADDRESS)

MILES
TO
NEAREST
SITE

TRAVEL
TIME TO
NEAREST
SITE (using
public
transportation)

DATE METHOD OF
RECRUITMENT

RESPONSE REASON FOR
DISCONTINUING
METHOD
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The director or applicant official for the facility or
practice must initial all of the following requirements:
_____  Sponsoring site agrees to comply with all of the
Program requirements set forth in this Agreement and
guidelines.
_____ The sponsoring site is located in a Health Professional
Shortage Area (HPSA) or Medically Underserved Area
(MUA), as designated by the Secretary of Delaware Health
and Human Services.  
_____ The J-1 physician will provide medical care for at
least forty (40) hours a week at the HPSA or MUA site
named in the application for a minimum of three (3) years.
Travel or on-call time is not included in the required forty
(40) hours.
_____ The sponsoring site agrees to provide health services
to individuals without discriminating against them because
(a) they are unable to pay for those services, or (b) payment
for those health services will be made under Medicaid and
Medicare.  The sponsoring site will charge persons receiving
services at the usual and customary rate prevailing in the
HPSA/MUA in which services are provided, except charges
will be on a sliding scale for persons at or below 200 percent
of poverty or at no charge for persons unable to pay for these
services. 
_____  The sponsoring site has made a reasonable, good
faith effort to recruit a physician with United States
citizenship for the job opportunity in the same salary range
without success during the last 6 months immediately
preceding this request for a waiver.  Recruitment efforts
were through a number of appropriate sources most likely to
bring responses from able, willing, qualified and available
physicians with United States citizenship.  
_____ I understand and acknowledge that the review of this
site application is discretionary and that in the event a
decision is made not to approve the site application, I hold
harmless the State of Delaware, DHSS and any and all State
employees and/or any and all individuals or organizations
involved in the review process from any action or lack of
action made in connection with this request.

VII. SIGNATURE
Signature of Applicant Official: ______________________

Title:___________________________Date:  ____________

APPENDIX B
CONRAD STATE 20/J-1 VISA WAIVER

J-1 PHYSICIAN APPLICATION LETTER OF SUPPORT 
CONTACT LIST

The following are approved public health officials to
contact to obtain a letter of support to include with the J-1
Visa Waiver Site Application.  If the practice site is located
in New Castle County, please contact Shirlee Kittleman. If

the practice site is located in Kent or Sussex Counties, please
contact Barbara DeBastiani.  

Northern Health Services Southern Health Services
Shirlee Kittleman, Barbara DeBastiani,
Administrator  Administrator
2055 Limestone Road, Sussex County Health Unit
Suite 300 544 South Bedford Street
Wilmington, DE 19808 Georgetown, DE 19947
Phone:  (302)995-8632 Phone:  (302)856-5355
Fax:      (302)995-8616 Fax:      (302)856-5065

APPENDIX C
CONRAD STATE 20/J-1 VISA WAIVER
J-1 PHYSICIAN APPLICATION FORMS

J-1 VISA WAIVER REQUEST
DOS PHYSICIAN DATA SHEET

1. FULL NAME: ________________________________
2. DATE OF BIRTH:________PLACE OF BIRTH: ____
3. COUNTRY OF NATIONALITY OR LAST LEGAL

PERMANENT RESIDENCE: ____________________
4. DATE AND PLACE OF ISSUANCE OF ORIGINAL

EXCHANGE-VISITOR (J-1) VISA: _______________
5. PRESENT HOME ADDRESS: ___________________

____________________________________________
IMMIGRATION DISTRICT:___________________

6. HOME TELEPHONE:_________________________
BUSINESS TELEPHONE:_____________________

7. LIST OF EXCHANGE-VISITOR PROGRAMS IN
WHICH YOU PARTICIPATED.  IF KNOWN, GIVE
THE PROGRAM NUMBER AND THE FIELD OF
SPECIALIZATION: ___________________________
____________________________________________

8. ALIEN REGISTRATION NUMBER, IF KNOWN:___
9. IF YOUR EXCHANGE-VISITOR PROGRAM

INCLUDES US GOVERNMENT FUNDS, FUNDS
FROM YOUR OWN GOVERNMENT, OR FROM AN
INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATION.  PLEASE
GIVE FULL PARTICULARS CONCERNING THE
FUNDING ON A SEPARATE SHEET.

10. IS YOUR SPOUSE IN J-1 STATUS?YES___NO___
IF SO, IS HE/SHE ALSO APPLYING FOR A
WAIVER? (PLEASE GIVE A FULL EXPLANATION
ON A SEPARATE SHEET)

11. GIVE THE REASONS FOR NOT WISHING TO
FULFILL THE TWO YEAR HOME COUNTRY
RESIDENCE REQUIREMENT TO WHICH YOU
AGREED AT THE TIME YOU ACCEPTED
EXCHANGE VISITOR STATUS.  PLEASE GIVE A
FULL EXPLANATION ON A SEPARATE SHEET.

12. PLEASE INCLUDE COPIES OF ALL IAP-66 FORMS
ISSUED DURING YOUR STAY IN THIS
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COUNTRY.
______________________________________      _______
SIGNATURE OF J-1 PHYSICIAN APPLICANTDATE

J-1 PHYSICIAN WAIVER STATEMENTS
DECLARATION OF PENDING INTERESTED 

GOVERNMENT AGENCY

I, _________________________, hereby declare and
certify, under penalty of the provisions of 18 U.S.C. 1101,
that I do not now have pending nor am I submitting during
the pendency of this request, another request to any United
States Government agency or any State Department of
Public Health, or equivalent, other than the Delaware Health
and Social Services to act on my behalf in any matter
relating to a waiver of my two-year-home-country physical
presence requirement.  

________________________________    ______________
Physician Signature Date

________________________________
Physician Name (Printed or Typed)

MEDICAL LICENSE AFFIDAVIT

I, _______________________, hereby affirm that, to the
best of my knowledge, my medical license has never been
suspended or revoked and that I am not subject to any
criminal investigation or proceedings by any medical
authority.

_________________________________   ______________
Physician Signature Date

_________________________________
Physician Name (Printed or Typed)

J-1 PHYSICIAN WAIVER AFFIDAVIT AND 
AGREEMENT

I, ________________________, being duly sworn, hereby
request the Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) to
review my application for the purpose of recommending
waiver of the foreign residency requirement set forth in my
J-1 Visa, pursuant to the terms and conditions as follows:  

1. I understand and acknowledge that the review of this
request is discretionary and that in the event a decision is
made not to grant my request, I hold harmless the State of
Delaware, DHSS, any and all State employees and/or any
and all individuals or organizations involved in the review
process from any action or lack of action made in connection
with this request.

2. I further understand and acknowledge that the entire
basis for the consideration of my request is DHSS’s mission
to improve the availability of medical care in areas
designated as Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSA)
and Medically Underserved Areas (MUA) by the Secretary
of the Department of Health and Human Services.  

3. In understand and agree that in consideration for a
waiver, which may or may not be granted, I shall render
medical care services to patients, including the underserved,
for a minimum of forty (40) hours per week with a
designated HPSA or MUA in Delaware.  Such service shall
commence not later than three months (90 days) after I
receive notification of approval by the United State
Immigration and Naturalization Services (INS) and shall
commence for a minimum of three (3) years as required by
State policy guidelines.

4. I have incorporated all terms of this Physician J-1 Visa
Waiver Affidavit and Agreement into the executed
employment contract attached to this request.

5. I further agree that my executed employment contract
with the sponsoring site does not contain any provision
which modifies or amends any terms of the Program
guidelines for Delaware and this Physician J-1 Visa Waiver
Affidavit and Agreement.

6. I agree to provide health care services to Medicare,
Medicaid and medically underserved patients, without
discrimination based upon ability to pay for such services
(i.e. self-pay, sliding fee scale, charity care).

7. I agree to provide health services to individuals without
discriminating against them because (a) they are unable to
pay for those services or (b) payment for those health
services will be made under Medicaid and Medicare.  I will
charge persons receiving services at the usual and customary
rate prevailing in the HPSA or MUA in which services are
provided, except charges will be on a sliding scale for
persons at or below 200 percent of poverty or at no charge
for persons unable to pay for these services. 

8. I understand I must submit a “No Objection” letter if my
home country’s government funded my graduate medical
education.  

9. I have not been “out of status” (as defined by the
Immigration and Naturalization Service of the United States
Department of Justice) for more than six (6) months since
receiving a visa under 8 U.S.C. 1182 (j) of the Immigration
and Nationality Act, as amended.

10. I understand the Declaration of Pending Interested
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Government and Medical Licensure Affidavit and signed
both statements.

11. I expressly understand I am to provide written
notification of the specific location and nature of my practice
to DHSS at the time I receive notification from INS and I
commence rendering services in the HPSA or MUA.  I
further understand and agree that my relocation from a site
approved in the application request to a new site must be
approved by DHSS in writing prior to the move.  

12. I understand that if I fail to fulfill the terms of my
employment contract with the sponsoring site named in this
application, I become subject to the two-year foreign
residence requirement, and am ineligible to apply for an
immigrant visa, permanent residence, or any other change of
immigrant status until the two-year foreign residence
requirement is met.  

13. I expressly understand and acknowledge the scope of
the Delaware Conrad State 20/J-1 Visa Waiver Program
guidelines and all the information contained in my
application request submitted by _____________________
on my behalf.  

14. I understand that I am responsible for ensuring that
annual reporting requirements are met by myself and my
employer in a timely manner in accordance with the
Delaware Conrad State 20/J-1 Visa Waiver Program
procedures. I agree to fully cooperate with and participate in
an exit interview within 90 days prior to completing my
three-year practice obligation.   

I declare under penalties of perjury that all the
information provided to DHSS for the purposes of
determining whether it will act as an “Interested Government
Agency” is true and correct.

_________________________________     _____________
J-1 Physician Signature Date

_________________________________
J-1 Physician Name (Printed or Typed)

Subscribed to and sworn before me this _____day of
_____________, 19____.

_________________________________     _____________
Notary Public Signature Date

J-1 VISA WAIVER APPLICATION CHECKLIST

The requesting J-1 physician applicant must initial that
each required enclosure has been included in the application

package for review by the Delaware Health and Social
Services.

_____ DOS Physician Data Sheet
_____ All IAP-66 Forms and INS Forms 1-94
_____ No Objection Letter (If Required)
_____ Physician Curriculum Vitae
_____ Three (3) Letters of Recommendation
_____ Copy of All Residency/Fellowship Certificates
_____ Copy of Delaware Medical License (Or Proof

of Eligibility)
_____ Copy of Board Eligibility/Certification
_____ Executed Employment Contract

APPENDIX D
CONRAD STATE 20/J-1 VISA WAIVER

SITE APPLICATION EVALUATION WORKSHEET

Review Element Possible Assigned
Weight Points

1. Site Application Documentation: 25
Site data regarding active clients 15
Staffing levels 5
Practice site hours of operation 5

2. Needs Assessment Total: 35
Description of geographic service

area 10
Geographic service area health 

resource inventory 5
Documentation of primary care or

specialty shortage 20
3. Retention: 15

Documents short-term plan to
retain J-1 physician 5

Documents long-term plan to
retain J-1 physician at the
end of the three-year obligation.10

4. Proof of Failed Recruitment 
Attempts: 15

Documented proof of failed attempts
to recruit 15

5. Letters of Support: 10
Two letters of support from

community members and/or leaders
in the practice site’s service area
indicate the benefits of, or need
for, the placement of a J-1
physician.  5

One letter from a local public health
official indicates the benefits of,
or need for, the placement of a J-1
physician. 5

Total 100
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APPENDIX E
CONRAD STATE 20/J-1 VISA WAIVER

ANNUAL PRACTICE REPORT 

1. Name of J-1 Physician: __________________________
Start Date:______________________

2. Sponsoring Site:_______________________________
Street Address:________________________________
City:__________State:____Zip:_____County:______
Telephone Number:_________Fax Number:________
E-Mail Address:_______________________________
Non-Profit:__________For Profit:_______________

3. Practice Site:__________________________________
Street Address:________________________________
City:__________State:____ Zip:_____ County:_____

4. Contact Person:________________________________
Street Address:________________________________
City:__________ State:____ Zip:_____ County:_____
Telephone Number:_________  Fax Number:_______
E-Mail Address:_______________________________

Type of Service(s) Provided:
Please provide the medical specialties practiced by the

J-1 physician, the total hours he/she worked in each specialty
and the number of annual visits performed by this physician
for each specialty practiced (include all primary care and
other medical specialties).  

J-1 Physician’s Hours of Operation:
Indicate the weekly work schedule of the J-1 physician.

Include the number of hours (with start and end times) and
the primary location (hospital/practice site).  The schedule
must indicate the time the J-1 physician is actually providing
services; do not include travel or on-call time.  If the J-1
physician is practicing at more than one location, please
complete a schedule for each location.  

Site Data Regarding Active Clients:
Provide the total number of active patients at the

practice site in the previous calendar year with totals, as
applicable, for primary care, specialty care and mental health
services. 

Total Number of Patients Receiving the Following
Medical Services:

Primary Health Care ____Specialty Care____  Mental
Health Care_____  TOTAL_____

Total Users in Previous Calendar Year Below 200% of
Federal Poverty Level______ 

Please provide a breakdown of each of the following
payor types by age of patient.  

This will certify that ___________________________
(name of J-1 physician) provided medical services to
patients at the approved health facility site on a full-time
basis (minimum forty hour per week) for the time period of
____________ through ____________.  

Signature of Applicant Official:_______________________
Title:_________________________Date:____________

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid
Program is amending its eligibility policy manual.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written

Practice Type Total Hours/Week Annual Visits

DAY TIME 
(Start and End)

TOTAL HOURS

Monday AM: PM:

Tuesday AM: PM:

Wednesday AM: PM:

Thursday AM: PM:

Friday AM: PM:

Saturday AM: PM:

Sunday AM: PM:

AGE GROUP MEDICAID MEDICARE SLIDING FEE
SCALE

COMMER-
CIAL

Birth – 11 Years % % % %

12- 18 Years % % % %

19-62 Years % % % %

63+ Years % % % %

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 by November 30, 1999.

13444 Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries (QMB)
Effective January 1990, Delaware began to pay

Medicare co-insurance and deductible amounts for Medicare
beneficiaries with income that does not exceed less than
100% of poverty. and resources up to two times the SSI
program resource standard.

13445 Specified Low Income Medicare Beneficiaries
(SLMB)

Beginning January 1, 1993, Medicaid will pay the
Medicare Part B premium for these individuals who have
income that does not exceed 120% of poverty. and who have
resources that do not exceed twice the SSI standard.  They
do not receive any Medicaid services.   

13447 Qualifying Individuals
Two new mandatory eligibility groups of low income

Medicare beneficiaries were established by the Balanced
Budget Act of 1997.  The first group (QI-1s) have income
between 120% and 135% of FPL and are eligible to have
their Part B premiums paid by Medicaid.  The second group
(QI-2s) have income between 135% and 175% of FPL and
receive a direct payment from Medicaid for the small portion
of Part B premium that was transferred from Part A.
Resources for both QI-1s and QI-2s must not exceed twice
the SSI resource standard.  Funding for these groups come
out of the Medicare Trust fund and are not out of Medicaid's
federal funding.  The state receives 100% FFP for the
premiums for these groups. 

17300 Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries
A Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) is someone

who is entitled to hospital insurance benefits under Part A
Medicare and whose income does not exceed the Federal
Poverty Level. and whose resources are at or below twice the
SSI resource standard.  All resources of the applicant and
spouse are excluded when determining eligibility.

QMB's qualify for Medicaid to pay their Medicare Part
A and B premiums, deductibles, and co-insurance expenses.
They do not receive any Medicaid services.

This category of eligibles is mandated for coverage by
the Medicare Catastrophic Coverage Act of 1988 (MCCA).
Delaware Medicaid implemented the program effective 1/1/
90.  The eligibility and benefits are not retroactive.

17300.3.2.5 Unearned Income
Unearned income is income that is paid because of a

legal or moral obligation rather than for work activity
performed. It is all income that is not earned income. This

includes Social Security, Railroad Retirement, pensions,
benefits, interest, dividends, alimony, child support and
other types of payments.   Interest and dividend income is
excluded.

Rental income is unearned unless the rental proceeds are
ordinary income of a trade or business being carried on by a
self-employed individual, such as a real estate broker.  

See the Long Term Care Section for more information
on determining net rental income and more types of
unearned income.  (DSSM 20000 )

17300.3.3 Resources
The resource limit is twice the SSI (Supplemental

Security Income) limit.   The couple limit is used even if one
spouse is ineligible for Medicare.  Federal regulations
mandate that in determining resources we must use the
methodologies used in the SSI program.  We will follow
these basic guidelines in determining resources:

The term "resources" means things a person owns.  It
includes real estate and personal property, such as cash,
savings and checking accounts, certificates of deposit, stocks
and bonds, life insurance, and other assets that can be
applied to meet a person's needs for food, clothing, or
shelter.  

The total value of resources owned by either spouse
counts toward the resource limit.

17300.3.3.1    Excluded Resources
Following are some of the most common items that are

excluded in determining the amount of a person's resources
for QMB purposes:

 1. A home (and adjacent land) which a person owns
and makes his or her principal place of residence, regardless
of its value.

 2. Personal effects and household goods.
 3. A car, regardless of value, if for the individual or a

member of the individual's household (member of a
household is one who receives food, clothing and shelter at
the applicant's home):

a) it is necessary for employment, 
b) it is necessary for medical treatment of a

specific or regular medical problem,
c) it is modified for operation by or transportation

of a handicapped person, or 
d) it is necessary because of climate, terrain,

distance, or similar factors to provide necessary
transportation to perform essential daily activities.   

NOTE:  Only one car may be excluded per married
couple.

 4. Jointly owned vehicle if co-owner refuses to sell
 5. Life insurance policies with a total face value of

$1,500 or less per person.
 6. Burial plots or spaces regardless of value, if

intended for use by a person or his or her immediate family.
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 7. Burial funds set aside for an individual or his/her
spouse, up to $1,500 each.  

 8. Any resources that were transferred or given away.
Transfer of Assets Policy applies only to institutionalized
applicants and recipients.

NOTE:  Please see the Long Term Care Section for
further explanation of countable resources, excluded
resources, burial resources, property ownership and
conditional benefits while attempting to sell a resource.
(DSSM 20000)

15430    Adoption Subsidy Children
Section 9529 of P.L. 99-272, the Consolidated Omnibus

Reconciliation Act of 1985, permits states to extend
Medicaid services to children with special medical or
rehabilitative needs whose adoptive families are receiving a
subsidy under a state (non-IV-E) adoption agreement.

Effective 7/1/87, the Delaware Medicaid program added
coverage for state-funded adoption subsidy children.
Eligibility criteria are:

1) Must have an adoption assistance agreement in
effect with DSCYF.  Children coming into Delaware must
have an adoption assistance agreement in effect with the
former state.

2) Must receive a medical/psychological subsidy
from DSCYF.

3) Must have been Medicaid eligible prior to
adoption assistance agreement.

18700.5  Cancellation of Coverage for Nonpayment of
Premiums

Coverage will be cancelled when the family is in arrears
for two premium payments. The coverage will end the last
day of the month when the second payment is due.  A notice
of cancellation will be sent to the family advising the family
to report any change in circumstances, such as a decrease in
income,  that may result in eligibility for Medicaid.  If one
premium payment is received by the last day of the
cancellation month, coverage will be reinstated.   

Families who lose coverage for nonpayment of
premiums will have received two unpaid months of
coverage. Families who are cancelled for nonpayment of
premiums cannot reenroll for six months from their coverage
end date. There is no automatic reenrollment  at the end of
the six month cancellation period. The family must initiate
reenrollment and must pay an initial premium.    Families
who are cancelled for nonpayment of premiums may reenroll
at any time without penalty, with the reenrollment period
starting with the first month for which the premium is paid.

Eligibility redeterminations will be processed without
regard to the families' enrollment status.

20100  LONG TERM CARE INTRODUCTION 
There are three major programs under LTC Medicaid:

Nursing Home Program
Long Term Acute Care Program
HCBS Waiver

Elderly and Disabled Waiver
Aids Waiver
Mental Retardation Waiver
Assisted Living

20700 HOME AND COMMUNITY BASED SERVICES
Delaware currently has a waiver for the mentally

retarded (effective 7/1/83), the elderly and disabled
(effective 7/1/86) and effective (1/1/91) persons with
Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) or other
HIV-Related Disease (HRD).  The Assisted Living Waiver
which is a program of community based residential services
became effective October 1, 1998. 

20700.4 ASSISTED LIVING WAIVER
The Assisted Living Medicaid Waiver Program

(ALMWP) provides community based residential services.
The program is administered by the Division of Services for
Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities (DSAAPD).
The program is funded by Delaware Medicaid and state
general funds.  It is targeted to older persons and adults with
physical disabilities who need assistance with the Activities
of Daily Living (ADL) AND meet Medicaid nursing home
admission criteria.

20700.4.1 ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA
To be eligible for this program, individuals must:

Be a resident of the State of Delaware
Be eighteen years of age or older;
Meet the Financial and Medical criteria for DSS

Long Term Care Institutionalized Services
Meet Assisted Living Program criteria as

determined by DSAAPD

Medical eligibility is determined by Pre Admission
Screening Units of either DSS or DSAAPD.

Financial eligibility is determined by the DSS Long-
Term Care Financial Units.  

Program eligibility is determined by DSAAPD.  An
individual must meet the following criteria:

Have need of an assisted living service on a regular
weekly basis; AND

Be able to be maintained safely in the assisted
living facility with the provision of the ALMWP services.
Safety concerns must be brought to resolution through a
mutually agreed upon Managed Risk Agreement.

If the financial eligibility determination period has
expired, and the individual has been unable to obtain
placement in a suitable and acceptable assisted living
facility, the application will be denied.
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20700.4.2 NUMBER OF RECIPIENTS
There is a maximum number of individuals who may be

served under the Assisted Living Medicaid Waiver each
fiscal year.  The total unduplicated number of recipients
served under the program within the year cannot exceed the
maximum number as approved by the Health Care Financing
Administration (HCFA).  DSAAPD monitors the number of
individuals receiving ALWP services so the maximum
number will not be exceeded.

20700.4.3 COST EFFECTIVE REQUIREMENT
In order for an individual to be eligible for the Assisted

Living Program, the individual’s cost of care cannot exceed
the cost of their care if the same individual was
institutionalized.  An average monthly cost for
institutionalized individuals is used to determine the amount
that may be spent on Assisted Living eligibles.  A DSAAPD
worker determines the cost effectiveness.

20700.4.4 DAYS APPROPRIATE FOR BILLING
The assisted living provider may NOT bill MEDICAID

for room and board.  The assisted living provider may bill
for services for any day that the recipient is present in the
facility for any part of the day.  The assisted living provider
may NOT bill for any day that the consumer is absent from
the facility for the entire day.  An entire day is a 24 hour
period from 12:00 Midnight to 11:59 PM.

20700.4.5 ILLNESS OR HOSPITALIZATION
The assisted living provider shall NOT provide services

for an individual who has been bedridden for 14 consecutive
days unless a physician certifies that the consumer’s needs
may be safely met by the service agreement.  
There is no 14 day bedhold day Medicaid payment for
hospitalization (DSSM 20650) as available for nursing
facility residents.

20700.4.6 APPROVAL
Upon approval the Medicaid Financial Unit will send a

notice of acceptance to the applicant or his representative,
and ALMWP provider.  The notice to the provider will
include patient pay amount, amount to be protected for
medical insurance and personal needs, effective date of
Medicaid coverage, and Medicaid recipient’s billing ID
number.

20700.4.7 POST ELIGIBILITY BUDGETING
See DSSM 20720 for Patient Pay Calculation policy.  If

the consumer has income under the Adult Foster Care
standard, there will be no patient pay amount.
Collection of the patient pay amount from the consumer or
his representative is the responsibility of the Assisted Living
provider.

20700.4.8 ASSISTED LIVING SERVICES
Assisted living services include the following:

Personal services assistance with the activities of
daily living (ADL)

Nursing services
Meal services
Social/emotional services
Assistance with instrumental activities of daily

living (IADL)

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid
Program is amending its Durable Medical Equipment
Provider Manual, the General Policy Manual, Practitioner
Provider Manual and the Pharmacy Provider Manual.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 by November 30, 1999.

Durable Medical Equipment Provider Manual

Enteral Nutrition Therapy Supplies

Enteral Nutrition

“Enteral nutrition is considered reasonable and necessary for
a patient with a functioning gastrointestinal tract who, due to
pathology to or non-function of the structures that normally
permit food to reach the digestive tract, cannot maintain
weight and strength commensurate with his or her general
condition.  Enteral nutrition may be given by nasogastric,
jejunostomy, or gastrostomy tubes, and can be provided
safely and effectively in the home by nonprofessional
persons who have undergone special training”. (Medicare’s
National Level II Codes, 1999) is the administration into the
gastro-intestinal tract of calories, nitrogen and/or other
nutrients to achieve tissue synthesis and anabolism for
patients requiring medically prescribed defined formula and

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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liquid diets.  The DMAP covers enteral nutrition therapy
supplies when the patient has a malfunctioning or non-
functioning gastro-intestinal tract, or medical condition
where oral feeding is contraindicated.  Patients who can
obtain nutrition orally will not be approved for these
supplies, with the following exceptions:

• Individuals with birth defects, cerebral palsy, cystic
fibrosis, metabolic diseases, or other medical
conditions which prevent them from obtaining
sufficient nutrition from a normal diet.

• pregnant women with phenylketonuria (PKU).
• failure to thrive documentation must be attached

that details the diagnosis of failure to thrive.

When submitting a request for enteral nutrition the
DME provider is required to complete and attach a
Certification for Food Supplementation Form to the CMN.
This form must clearly document the relationship between
the medical diagnosis and the need for the enteral therapy.  A
copy of this form may be found in APPENDIX C.  It is not
necessary for the practitioner to sign the Food Supplement
Form.

The DMAP will reimburse for no more than a one
month supply of enteral nutrients and enteral supplies for
any one billing period.

If more than one nutrient in the same class is prescribed
for the same period of service, these items must be combined
on one line when billing.  Failure to combine the items will
result in a denial of the additional claims as duplicates.

The attending practitioner must certify the need for
enteral therapy supplies at least every six months.  In
addition, any changes in prescription will require
authorization with medical documentation of the need for
change.

Parenteral Nutritional Therapy Supplies

“Daily parenteral nutrition is considered reasonable and
necessary for a patient with severe pathology of the
alimentary tract which does not allow absorption of
sufficient nutrients to maintain weight and strength
commensurate with the patient’s general condition”.
(Medicare’s National Level II Codes, 1999)

Total parenteral nutrition (TPN) is considered
reasonable and necessary for a patient when the oral route is
unavailable owing to surgery or obstruction, when oral
intake is inadequate, and when peripheral infusion of
nutrients cannot meet the patient’s needs.

Total parenteral nutrition (TPN) is the intravenous
administration of sterile preparation of calories, nitrogens
and/or other nutrients used in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation,
or treatment of disease to achieve tissue synthesis and
anabolism.  The DMAP covers parenteral (infusion)

nutritional therapy supplies for patients with conditions that
cannot be managed with oral therapy and who do not need
the supportive services of an in-patient setting Items
requiring a prescription (federal legend drugs) must be billed
by a pharmacy provider using a National Drug Code (NDC).

When submitting a request for parenteral nutrition
supplies the DME provider is required to complete the CMN
utilizing appropriate Local Codes used for Infusion Therapy
Supplies in Appendix A.  The DME provider is also required
to attach the physician’s care plan to the CMN.  Items that
require a prescription (federal legend drugs) must be billed
by a pharmacy provider using a National Drug Code (NDC).

The DMAP will reimburse for no more than a one
month supply of parenteral therapy supplies for any one
billing period.

The attending practitioner must certify the need for
parenteral therapy supplies at least every 6 months.  In
addition, any changes in prescription will require
authorization with medical documentation of the need for
change.

Oral Nutrition
Oral nutrition is considered reasonable and necessary

for a patient who requires supplementation of their daily
protein and caloric intake.

Patients who can adequately obtain nutrition orally will
not be approved for nutrition therapy with the following
exceptions:

• Pregnant women with phenylketonuria (PKU).
• Failure to thrive - documentation must be attached

that details the diagnosis of failure to thrive.
• Individuals with birth defects, cerebral palsy, cystic

fibrosis, metabolic diseases, or other medical
conditions that prevent them from obtaining
sufficient nutrition from a normal diet.

When submitting a request for oral nutrition the DME
provider is required to complete and attach a Certification
for Food Supplementation Form to the CMN. In addition, a
physician’s letter of medical necessity and prescription for a
specific formula that includes calories per day are required
when requesting authorization for oral nutritional
supplement.  The letter must document the primary
diagnosis and any other related medical conditions that
prevent the individual from obtaining sufficient nutrition
from a normal diet and must include the following, as
appropriate:

• Physical findings: Height, Weight and Ideal Body
Weight or Body Mass Index.  Explanation of
weight loss with specific dates and measurements.
Other physical examination findings.

• Significant laboratory data (for example, Serum
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Albumin)
• Discussion of any risk factors found related to

undernutrition in any of the following areas:
clinical features, eating habits, living environment,
functional status, mental/cognitive status

• Explanation of previous related treatment measures
with results

Intravenous Drug Therapy Supplies
Intravenous drug therapy is the administration of sterile

preparations of medications and fluids.  The DMAP covers
intravenous drug therapy supplies when deemed medically
necessary by the attending practitioner.  The DME provider
is required to complete the CMN utilizing appropriate Local
Codes Used For Infusion Therapy Supplies in Appendix A.
Items requiring a prescription (federal legend drugs) must be
billed by a pharmacy provider using a National Drug Code
(NDC).

General Policy Manual

Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP)
The Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP)

provides payment assistance for prescription drugs to
Delaware’s low-income senior and disabled citizens who are
ineligible for, or do not have, prescription drug benefits or
coverage through federal, state, or private sources.  The
program is administered by the fiscal agent under contract
with the State.

To be eligible for this program a person must:
• be a U.S. citizen or a lawfully admitted alien;
• have income that is less than 200% of the Federal

Poverty Level (FPL) or have prescription drug
expenses that exceed 40% of his or her annual
income;

• be a resident of the State of Delaware;
• be ineligible for Medicaid prescription benefits;
• be ineligible for Nemours Health Clinic

Pharmaceutical benefit;
• be ineligible for and/or not receiving a prescription

drug benefit through a Medicare supplemental
policy or any other third party payer prescription
benefit; and

• be an individual aged 65 or over or be an individual
between the ages 19 and 64 who is otherwise
eligible for benefits under Title II of the Social
Security Act.

Prescription drugs covered under the Program are
restricted to medically necessary products manufactured by
pharmaceutical companies that agree to provide
manufacturer rebates.  Policy and guidelines will follow the
existing DMAP limitations.  Services covered are generic
and brand name FDA-approved and other legal prescription
drugs, as well as cost effective over-the-counter drugs

prescribed by a physician.  Necessary diabetic supplies not
covered by Medicare will also be covered.

Payment assistance shall not exceed $2,500 per State
fiscal year to assist each eligible person in the purchase of
prescription drugs. There will be a co-payment of $5 or 25%
of the cost of the prescription, whichever is greater.  The
pharmacy will collect the co-payment before the prescription
is dispensed.

Services Requiring Prior Authorization

Pharmaceuticals
Certain pharmaceuticals require prior authorization.  For

further information refer to the Pharmacy or Practitioner
Provider Specific Policy Manual.

Categorically Eligible

Who is Eligible

The following individuals/families may be eligible for
Medicaid in Delaware as categorically eligible if they meet
certain low income and resource requirements:

• Anyone who gets a benefit from Aid to Families
with Dependent Children (AFDC), Aid to the
Unemployed (AU), Supplemental Security Income
(SSI) or State Supplemental Payments (SSP).

• People needing nursing facility care whether living
in a medical facility or at home and receiving
waiver services for the mentally retarded, the
elderly/disabled, or persons with HIV/AIDS, or
persons eligible for the Assisted Living Medicaid
Waiver Program.

Practitioner Provider Manual

Pharmacy Services

Prior Authorization Requirements for Medications

Medications may be prior authorized if one of the following
issues is present:

• medical necessity is lacking or is not clearly
evident;

• potential for diversions, misuse and abuse;
• high cost of care relative to similar therapies;
• experimental use opportunity; and
• drug classes where the potential for not keeping

within the policy guidelines of the DMAP are
identified.

The pharmacy provider or the practitioner can initiate
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the request for prior authorization.  Requests will be
evaluated within one business day by Medicaid’s pharmacy
consultant or medical director.  If required, one 2 hour
emergency supply can be dispensed until a decision is made.

The Drug Utilization Review Board will make decisions
regarding the medications that will require prior
authorization and the criteria to be used.  Prior authorization
will be based on duration of therapy, quantity, or a
combination of both depending on the medication requested.
Refer to Appendix M for specific criteria for prior
authorization.

Drug Rebate Programs
For the Medicaid (Title XIX) population including the

Diamond State Health Plan (DSHP) managed care eligibles,
prescription drugs are restricted to medically necessary
products manufactured by pharmaceutical companies that
agree to provide manufacturer rebates under the HCFA
rebate agreement.

For the Delaware Health Children Program (DHCP), the
Chronic Renal Care Program, the State Program for Non-
Qualified, Non-Citizens, and the Delaware Prescription
Assistance program, prescription drugs are restricted to
medically necessary products manufactured by
pharmaceutical companies that agree to participate in the
State Rebate Program.

Pharmacy Manual

III. LIMITATIONS

Drug Rebate Programs
For the Medicaid (Title XIX) population including the

Diamond State Health Plan (DSHP) managed care eligibles,
prescription drugs are restricted to medically necessary
products manufactured by pharmaceutical companies that
agree to provide manufacturer rebates under the HCFA
rebate agreement.

For the Delaware Health Children Program (DHCP), the
Chronic Renal Care Program, the State Program for Non-
Qualified, Non-Citizens, and the Delaware Prescription
Assistance program, prescription drugs are restricted to
medically necessary products manufactured by
pharmaceutical companies that agree to participate in the
State Rebate Program.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Section 6010 (7 Del.C. 6010)

Register Notice  

1. Title of the Regulations:   
Regulation 36 -  Acid Rain Program

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
Title IV of the Clean Air Act, as amended by the Clean

Air Act Amendments of 1990, authorized the EPA to
establish the Acid Rain Program to reduce the adverse health
and ecological effects of acid deposition.  Delaware’s
Regulation No. 36 adopted the provisions of the Acid Rain
Program by reference, specifically citing the provisions of
Parts 72 through 78 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal
Regulations, dated July 1, 1995.  Subsequent to that date,
EPA has amended portions of Parts 72 through 78 of Title
40.  The purpose of this rulemaking is to adopt the
provisions of Parts 72 through 78 of Title 40 of the Code of
Federal Regulations, dated July 1, 1999.  Significant
revisions between the July 1, 1995 and July 1, 1999 versions
of Parts 72 through 78 include:

Parts 72 and 73 - Improving the operation of the
Allowance Tracking System while preserving the Clean Air
Act’s environmental goals.

Parts 72, 73, 74, 75, 77, and 78 – Improving and
streamlining the permitting, excess emissions, and appeal
procedure rules in order to reduce the burden on utilities,
permitting authorities, and the EPA while still ensuring
reduction of sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxide emissions.

Part 74 - Clarify and revise existing rules to promote
participation in the Title IV opt-in program for units that are
not otherwise required to participate in the Title IV program.

Part 75 – Clarify existing rules and provide increased
implementation flexibility for affected entities. The revisions
resolve certain monitoring issues as part of settlement
agreements related to the original rulemaking, and addresses
new issues raised by experience during the first three years
of implementation of the Part 75 monitoring requirements.

Part 76 - Establishes nitrogen oxides (NOx) emissions
limitations for certain coal-fired electric utility units and
revises NOx emissions limitations for certain other coal-
fired electric utility units.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action: 
None

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/air/air_wste.htm
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4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by the
Proposal:

None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
A public hearing on this regulation will be  held on

Tuesday, November 30, 1999, at 6:00 P.M. in the DNREC
Auditorium, Richardson and Robbins Building, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, Delaware.  

7. Prepared by: Robert Clausen  (302) 323-4542October
12, 1999

Regulation No. 36, Acid Rain Program

The provisions of Parts 72 through 78, of Title 40 of the
Code of Federal Regulations, dated July 1, 1995 1999, are
hereby incorporated into this regulation by reference.
Within this regulation, the term “permitting authority” shall
mean the Secretary of Delaware’s Department of Natural
Resources & Environmental Control.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,
Section 2107 (7 Del.C. 2107)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATION:
Shellfish Regulations: Restrictions on Collecting

Horseshoe Crabs

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

Commercial eel fishermen and their alternates are
authorized to collect horseshoe crabs by hand for their own
use as bait in eel pots.  Individuals with commercial
horseshoe crab collecting permits are authorized to collect
horseshoe crabs by hand for commercial use or for sale to
others.   It is proposed that commercial eel fishermen and
their alternates not be authorized to assist commercial
horseshoe crab collectors.

SFR No. S-58, HORSESHOE CRAB CONTAINMENT
AND TRANSPORTATION RESTRICTIONS has been
determined to be not enforceable.  Therefore, the restrictions
on containment and transporting horseshoe crabs are no
longer in effect.  SFR No-58 is proposed to be stricken.  

In order to insure that Delaware complies with the
FISHERY MANAGEMENT PLAN FOR HORSESHOE
CRABS and not exceed 350,000 horseshoe crabs per year
taken from Delaware’s beaches, additional restrictions are
proposed.  Commercial eelers and commercial horseshoe
crab collectors are proposed to be not allowed to assist each
other or commingle their harvest of horseshoe crabs.
Commercial eelers are proposed to be not authorized to
collect horseshoe crabs at night.  This is consistent with
other commercial shellfishermen not being authorized to fish
at night. It is also proposed to consider implementing a daily
limit on commercial horseshoe crab collectors if not having
containment or transportation restrictions leads to higher
harvest.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
If Delaware is found to be out of compliance with the

Fishery Management Plan for horseshoe crabs by the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, the fishery for
horseshoe crabs may be closed by the Secretary of the U.S.
Department of Commerce.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:

7 Del.C. § 2701

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, calling or
visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE  19901, (302) 739-3441 prior
to 4:30PM.  A public hearing on these proposed amendments
to shellfish regulations on horseshoe crabs will be held in the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at 7:30
PM on Tuesday, December 14, 1999.  The record will
remain open for comments until 4:30 PM on December 17,
1999.

7. PREPARED BY:
Charles A. Lesser   (302)-739-3441October 6, 1999

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO SHELLFISH 
REGULATIONS ON HORSESHOE CRABS

S-52 REQUIREMENT FOR COLLECTING
HORSESHOE CRABS FOR PERSONS UNDER 16

a)  It shall be unlawful for any person under the age of
sixteen (16) years to possess more than six (6) horseshoe
crabs unless accompanied by a person who has been issued a

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fw/fwwel.htm
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valid horseshoe crab scientific collecting, commercial
collecting or dredge permit.

b)  It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
horseshoe crab collecting permit to collect any horseshoe
crabs as an alternate to a person with a valid commercial eel
fishing license.

S-53  NUMBER OF PERSON ACCOMPANYING A
PERSON WITH A VALID HORSESHOE CRAB
COLLECTING PERMIT

a)  It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
horseshoe crab commercial collecting permit when
collecting horseshoe crabs to be assisted by more than three
(3) persons who are not required to have valid horseshoe
crab commercial collecting permits.

b)  It shall be unlawful for any person 16 years of age or
older, who does not have a valid horseshoe crab collecting
permit, to assist any person with a valid horseshoe crab
collecting permit in the handeling, loading or transporting of
horseshoe crabs collected by said horseshoe crab collecting
permittee while within 1000 feet of the shoreline of the water
from which said horseshoe crabs were collected or landed.

S-54 POSSESSION LIMIT OF HORSESHOE CRABS,
EXCEPTIONS

a)  Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for
any person to possess more than six (6) horseshoe crabs,
except a person with a validated receipt from a person with a
valid horseshoe crab commercial collecting or dredge permit
for the number of horseshoe crabs in said person’s
possession.  A receipt shall contain the name, address and
signature of the supplier, the date and the number of
horseshoe crabs obtained.

b)  Any person who has been issued a valid commercial
eel fishing license by the Department or said person’s
alternate while in the presence of the licensee, is exempt
from the possession limit of six (6) horseshoe crabs,
provided said commercial eel fishing licensee has filed all
required reports of his/her and his/her alternate’s previous
month’s harvest of horseshoe crabs with the Department in
accordance with S-57.  Any person who has been issued a
commercial eel fishing license and said person’s alternate
while in the presence of the licensee, may collect horseshoe
crabs by hand without a horseshoe crab commercial
collecting permit provided all horseshoe crabs taken are for
personal non-commercial use as bait for the licensee’s eel
pots fished in this state.”

c)  It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license to be assisted in collecting
horseshoe crabs by any person who is not listed on his
commercial eel fishing license as an alternate.

d)  Any person with both a valid commercial eel fishing
license and a valid horseshoe crab collecting permit shall be
considered as a horseshoe crab collecting permittee for

purposes of enforcing the provisions of Chapter 27, 7 Del. C
and/or shellfish regulations pertaining to horseshoe crabs.

e)  It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license to commingle any horseshoe
crabs collected either by said commercial eel fishing licensee
or by his or her alternate with horseshoe crabs either
collected by a person with a valid horseshoe crab dredge
permit or by a person with a valid commercial horseshoe
crab collecting permit.

f)  It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
horseshoe crab dredge permit or with a valid horseshoe crab
collecting permit to commingle any horseshoe crab dredged
or collected by said horseshoe crab dredge permittee or
horseshoe crab collecting permittee with horseshoe crabs
collected by any person with a valid commercial eel fishing
license.

S-58 HORSESHOE CRAB CONTAINMENT AND
TRANSPORTATION RESTRICTIONS

(a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to put, place,
contain or cause to be contained any horseshoe crabs in any
enclosure, container or facility, other than cold storage or
freezer, that contains more than 300 cubic feet of storage
space.

(b)  It shall be unlawful for any person to transport or
cause to be transported any horseshoe crab in any vehicle or
trailer that contains more than 300 cubic feet of storage
space.”

S-61 COLLECTING HORSESHOE CRABS AT
NIGHT, PROHIBITED

a)  It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license to collect horseshoe crabs
between sunset and sunrise.

(Note)  (7 Del.C. §1904) prohibits the taking of any shellfish
for commercial purposes between sunset and sunrise.
Commercial “purposes” is defined as a person’s intent to sell
shellfisheries to another (§1901 (1), 7 Del. C.)  Commercial
eel fishermen collect horseshoe crabs for their own use, not
for sale.
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL

Statutory Authority:  4 Delaware Code,
Section 304 (4 Del.C. 304)

Please take notice, pursuant to 29 Del. C. Ch. 101 and 4
Del. C. Ch. 3, the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rule on
Thursday, December 16, 1999 at 12:15 p.m. in the Third
Floor Conference Room, Carvel State Office Building, 820
N. French Street, Wilmington, DE 19801.    The purpose of
this hearing will be to receive public comments on proposed
Rule 76 in order that the Commission may vote to adopt,
amend or reject said Rule at its December 16, 1999 meeting.
The Commission will receive and consider input in writing
from any person regarding proposed Rule 76.  Written
comments should be submitted to the Commission from
November 1, 1999 through November 30, 1999, to Donald J.
Bowman, Executive Secretary of the Delaware Alcoholic
Beverage Control Commission, at the above address.  For
copies of the proposed Rule, please contact Joanne Episcopo
at the above address or by calling (302) 577-5222.  To make
comments at the public hearing, please contact Donald J.
Bowman, Executive Secretary, at the above address or phone
number.

Commission proposes the following new Rule which
reads as follows:

Rule 76 A Rule Governing Taxes Paid On Spirits

For the purpose of fulfilling the mandate of the General
Assembly in Section 5 of the Act set forth in 1996 Delaware
Laws Ch. 488, entitled "An Act To Amend Chapter 5, Title 4
Of The Delaware Code Relating To Taxes On Spirits," the
following is provided:

1)  the tax pay rates established in 1996 Delaware Laws
Ch. 488, Sections 1 and 2 shall not expire on December 31,
1999 and shall continue to remain in effect;

2)  those tax pay rates, now codified at 4 Del.C. sections
581(d)(4) and (d)(5) shall remain as specified by statute and
as restated herein:

(d)(4)  For each gallon of spirits containing 25
percent or less of ethyl alcohol by volume, $2.50.

(d)(5)  For each gallon of spirits containing
more than 25 percent of ethyl alcohol by volume,
$3.75.

DEPARTMENT OF 
TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF PLANNING

Statutory Authority:  17 Delaware Code, Section 
508 & 29 Delaware Code, Chapter 84 

(17 Del.C. 508, 29 Del.C. Ch. 84) 

The Delaware Department of Transportation
(Department) through its Division of Planning is seeking to
amend Rules and Regulations for Subdivision Streets with
the addition of Mobility Friendly Design Standards.

In the broadest sense and with regard to transportation,
Mobility Friendly Design Standards are roadway design
standards that promote greater use of transportation facilities
and service by bicyclists and pedestrians.  Such design
standards include, but are not limited to, the addition of
sidewalks and landscaped areas, narrower pavement widths,
and a requirement for greater connectivity within
developments.  The addition of these standards will directly
support the provisions of the Statewide Long Range
Transportation Plan, and county and local the transportation
and comprehensive land use plans that seek to promote more
traditional development patterns by giving greater emphasis
to bicycle and pedestrian access and mobility.

The Department will be accepting comments on the
draft Mobility Friendly Design Standards through December
2, 1999. Comments, as well as any questions or requests for
additional information should be directed to:

Joseph Cantalupo, Assistant Director of Planning
The Delaware Department of Transportation 
P.O. Box 778
Dover, DE  19903
(302) 760-2121 (telephone)
(302) 739-2251 (fax)
jcantalupo@.mail.dot.state.de.us

Purpose

The purpose of this amendment is to amend the
Delaware Department of Transportation (Department) Rules
and Regulations for Subdivision Streets to include Mobility
Friendly Design Standards as an option for the development
of local subdivision and minor collector subdivision streets.
These standards are shown in Attachment 1.

Background

Early in 1997 the Wilmington Area Planning Council
(WILMAPCO) began a study in partnership with the Town
of Middletown, New Castle County, the Department, and
their consultant team headed by LDR International.  The

http://www.state.de.us/deldot/index.html
http://www.state.de.us/pubsafe/index.htm
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purpose of this study was to develop a set of optional land
development and street design standards to encourage
greater use of the transportation system by pedestrians and
bicyclist, to provide greater access to public transportation
facilities and services, and to provide connections within and
between existing and planned communities.  These standards
are known as Mobility Friendly Design Standards
(Standards).

The study was initiated, in part, to support the Town of
Middletown Comprehensive Plan, the long-range planning
efforts of New Castle County, the WILMAPCO
Metropolitan Transportation Plan, and Transportation and
Delaware’s Future, the Statewide Long-Range
Transportation Plan.  Although these activities and products
represent separate efforts, among their common goals is
increasing accessibility of the transportation system and the
mobility of its users by providing them with the widest range
of travel options possible that are supported by sustainable
transportation and land development systems.  

The scope of the study was organized around three
major activities. The first involved research on the various
and most commonly used mobility friendly land
development and street design criteria throughout the
Country and their potential for application in Delaware. The
second involved reviewing the land development regulations
of the Town of Middletown to propose modifications that
would support its desire to accommodate increased growth
and economic development while retaining its current
community character.  The third task was to develop a set of
subdivision street design standards for the Department that
would support local efforts such as those being pursued by
the Town of Middletown.  The specific purpose of this
portion of the study was to develop Standards for local
subdivision and minor collector subdivision streets that
could be incorporated into Rules and Regulations for
Subdivision Streets, the manual under which the Department
reviews subdivision streets. 

The WILMAPCO study was completed in November
1997 and resulted in two major products.  The first was a
proposed set of revisions to the Town of Middletown zoning
ordinance and site plan regulations.  Subsequent to the
completion of the study, the Town adopted the revisions
with only a few minor modifications.  The second product
was a road standards matrix which proposed the standards
needed by the Department to allow mobility friendly design.
Although the Department actively participated in the study,
there remained outstanding issues at its conclusion that
limited the immediate adoption of its recommendations.
These included how to address the relationship between the
Standards and the Draft Statewide Access Management
Program.  Therefore, at the completion of the study the
Department committed to more closely reviewing the criteria
on the road standards matrix and to work out the details of
their adoption and implementation.  The Department has

completed its review and is adopting the Standards through
this amendment.

Implementation 

The Department is updating its Access Management
Program, which will affect where and how Mobility Friendly
Design Standards are maintained within the family of
Department regulations.  As part of the Access Management
Program, a Technical Design Manual is being developed that
will include subdivision and entrance design standards, and
clarify the relationship of such roads and connections with
the Road Design Manual.  Within the Technical Design
Manual, the Standards will be an option for application to
subdivision streets.

In the short-term and until work on the Technical
Design Manual is completed, the Standards for local and
minor collector subdivision streets are being implemented by
amending Rules and Regulations for Subdivision Streets
through adoption of this amendment.  This will allow the
Standards to be utilized immediately.

Application

By providing the Standards as an option for the design
of local subdivision and minor collector subdivision streets,
the Department is supporting county and local governments
that wish to implement land development patterns that
provide more useable environments for pedestrians,
bicyclists and transit users.  The Department however,
recognizes that for the Standards to be effective, they must
be applied as a set and as part of municipally-based
development strategy that emphasizes mobility and
accessibility for pedestrians and bicyclists which is
supported by appropriate land development regulations.
With this in mind, the Department has established the
following conditions under which applications of the
Standards will be permitted:

• The Standards must be applied in their entirety.
While each individual element of the Standards has
some impact on mobility, applied independently
these affects would be too incremental to be
effective.

• Therefore, the Standards must be applied as a set to
best serve their stated purpose; and,

• The Standards will be permitted in Multimodal
Investment Areas and will be considered for
application in Management and Preservation
Investment Areas when they would be applied as
part of an area wide development plan adopted by
the county or local government.
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Administration

As discussed above, in the short-term the Standards will
be amended to Rules and Regulations for Subdivision Streets
and will ultimately become part of the Technical Design
Manual being developed for the Access Management
Program. As such they will be administered by the
Subdivision and Utilities Section of the Division of
Preconstruction within the Department. 

The adoption and implementation of these Standards by
the Department through this amendment does not eliminate
additional requirements that might apply through the
application of Rules and Regulations for Subdivision Streets.
These include but are not limited to requirements for the
production and submission of construction plans,

construction standards, utilities, inspection and maintenance,
and traffic impact studies.  Questions or issues that might
arise through the application of the Standards will be decided
at the discretion of the Subdivision and Utilities Engineer.

Expiration

As the Standards will ultimately become part of the
Technical Design Manual being developed under the Access
Management Program, this amendment will expire on the
effective date of that manual.

Attachment 1

Design Element DelDOT Standard
Subdivision

DelDOT Mobility Friendly Design Guideline
For Local Subdivision Streets

Network Design None specified. Short interconnected streets and direct routes are preferred.  A network connectivity
index of 1.4, calculated as the number of roadway links divided by the number of
nodes (i.e., intersections and cul-de-sac heads), is preferred.

Block Lengths None specified. Between 200 and 500 feet with the requirement that blocks longer than 500 feet
include mid-block crosswalks and pass-throughs.

Design Speed 25 miles per hour. 20 miles per hour.

Intersection Design T-intersection at 90
degrees.

T-intersections or four-way intersections preferred

All-way Stops None specified. Generally inappropriate as a method of speed control at low-volume intersections.

Local to local subdivision street @ 25-foot radius

Corner Radius 25 feet. Local to collector subdivision street with parking @ 30-foot radius

Local to collector subdivision street without parking @ 40-foot radius

Maximum Cul-de-sac
Length

500 to 1,000 feet,
depending on density
of development.

300 feet is the maximum permitted length of a cul-de-sac with it serving no more than
30 units and with cut-throughs provided at cul-de-sac heads for pedestrians and
bicyclists.

Minimum Driveway
Spacing

200 feet, with
narrower lots calling
for shared driveways.

50 feet, with narrower lots calling for alley access or shared driveways.

Minimum Driveway
Width

12-foot standard, not
minimum.

Between 8 to 16 feet for single family development, depending on setback of garage
and number of cars; 18 feet for multi-family development.

Right-of-way Width 50 feet for minor
streets with 26 feet
permitted under
special circumstances.

42 feet.  This is based on a 12-foot travel way, two one-foot curb offsets, one 7-foot
parking lane, one 6-inch curb on each side of the street, one 5-foot planting strip on
each side of the street, and one 5-foot sidewalk on each side of the street.   

Pavement Width 22 feet for minor
streets (24 feet when
offset from integral
curb is considered).

21 feet.  This is based on a 12-foot travel lane, two one-foot curb offsets, and one 7-
foot parking lane.  For these low volume roads, this pavement width assumes that in
the cases when vehicles meet that they will be able to pass each other by finding space
at driveways or in parking lanes to maneuver within.

Travel Lane Width 11 feet for minor
streets

See above.

Parking Lane Width None specified. 7 feet.
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Pavement Edge
Treatment

Mountable or barrier
curbs.  None are
required at densities
less than two units per
acre and where the
lots have greater than
100 feet of frontage
and where buildings
are set back at least 60
feet.

6 or 8-inch vertical curbs with closed drainage.

Horizontal Curve
Radius

150 feet 90-foot minimum when the curve is unsigned, and a 45-foot minimum when the curve
is signed as a traffic calming measure.

Vertical Curve Length None specified. 60-foot minimum at a design speed of 20 miles per hour.  For larger grade changes the
Department will defer to AASHTO Figures III-11 for crest curves and III-43 for sag
curves.  When a short vertical curve is signed and marked as a traffic calming
measure, no minimum standards apply.

Sidewalk Warrants Not required by the
Department.  New
Castle County
requires sidewalks on
at least one side of all
local streets with 10 or
more units and
densities greater than
1 unit per acre, and on
both sides of minor
collectors.

Required on both sides of the street.

Sidewalk Width None specified.  New
Castle County
requires 5 feet.

5 feet.

Planting Buffer/Utility
Strip

None specified. 5-foot minimum.

Tree/Obstacle
Clearance

A clear zone of 2 feet
must be provided in
urban areas where a
barrier curb is
provided.

2.5 feet with vertical curb as measured from the back of the curb to the centerline of
the tree.

Alleys None specified. Alleys are recommended when lots are less than 50 feet wide.  When provided, a 20-
foot landscaped right-of-way should be provided with a 12-foot paved width.

Traffic Calming
Measures

None specified. A full array of horizontal and vertical measures is allowed, consistent with a 20 mile
per hour design speed.

Design Element DelDOT Standard Subdivision DelDOT Mobility Friendly Design Guideline
For Minor Collector Subdivision Streets

Network Design None specified. Short interconnected streets and direct routes are preferred.  A
network connectivity index, calculated as the number of roadway
links divided by the number of nodes (i.e., intersections and cul-de-
sac heads), of 1.4 is preferred.

Block Lengths None specified. Between 200 and 500 feet with the requirement that blocks longer
than 500 feet include mid-block crosswalks and pass-throughs.

Design Speed 30 miles per hour. 25 miles per hour.

Intersection Control T-intersection at 90 degrees. Roundabouts and two-way stops preferred to signals. 
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All-way Stops None specified. Unwarranted stop signs are not preferred but are acceptable when
an engineering study shows unusually high cut-through traffic
volumes or an unusually high accident rate.

Local to collector subdivision street with parking @ 30-foot radius

Corner Radius  Local to collector subdivision street without parking @ 40-foot
radius

Collector to collector subdivision street with parking @ 25-foot
radius

Collector to collector subdivision street without parking @ 50-foot
radius

Maximum Cul-de-sac
Length

500 to 1,000 feet, depending on density
of development.

300 feet is the maximum permitted length of a cul-de-sac with it
serving no more than 30 units and with cut-throughs provided at
cul-de-sac heads for pedestrians and bicyclists.

Minimum Driveway
Spacing

200 feet, with narrower lots calling for
shared driveways.

50 feet, with narrower lots calling for alley access or shared
driveways.

Minimum Driveway
Width

12-foot standard, not minimum. Between 8 to 16 feet for single family development, and 18 feet for
multi-family development.

Right-of-way Width 60 feet for minor collector subdivision
streets.

53 feet minimum to 60 feet maximum.  The maximum right-of-
way is based on two 10-foot travel lanes, two one-foot curb offsets,
one 7-foot parking lane, one 6-inch curb on each side of the street,
one 10-foot planting strip on each side of the street, and one 5-foot
sidewalk on each side of the street.  The minimum right-of-way
can be used if on-street parking is eliminated.

Pavement Width 32 feet for minor collector subdivision
streets (34 feet when offset from integral
curb is considered).

22 feet minimum to 29 feet maximum.  The maximum pavement
width is based on two 10-foot travel lanes, two one-foot curb
offsets, and one 7-foot parking lane.

Travel Lane Width 11 feet 4-inches for minor subdivision
streets.

10 feet.

Parking Lane Width None specified. 7 feet.

Pavement Edge
Treatment

None specified. 6 or 8-inch vertical curbs with closed drainage.

Medians or Center
Islands

None specified. Required on all multilane roads with additional right-of-way
required if medians or center islands are provided.

Horizontal Curve
Radius

300 feet. 167-foot minimum when the curve is unsigned or a 90-foot
minimum when the curve is signed as a traffic calming device.

Vertical Curve Length None specified. 75-foot minimum at a design speed of 25 miles per hour.  For
larger grade changes the Department will defer to AASHTO
Figures III-11 for crest curves and III-43 for sag curves.  When a
short vertical curve is signed and marked as a traffic calming
measure, no minimum standards apply.

Sidewalk Warrants Not required by the Department.  New
Castle County requires sidewalks on at
least one side of all local streets with 10
or more units and densities greater than 1
unit per acre, and on both sides of minor
collectors.

Required on both sides of the street.

Sidewalk Width None specified.  New Castle County
requires 5 feet.

5 feet minimum.
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Planting Buffer/Utility
Strip

None specified. 10-foot minimum.

Tree/Obstacle
Clearance

A clear zone of 2 feet must be provided
in urban areas where a barrier curb is
provided.

5 feet with vertical curb as measured from the back of the curb to
the centerline of the tree.

Alleys None specified. Alleys are recommended when lots are less than 50 feet wide.
When provided, a 20-foot landscaped right-of-way should be
provided with a 12-foot paved width.

Traffic Calming
Measures

None specified. A full array of horizontal and vertical measures is required,
consistent with a 25 mile per hour design speed, except on primary
emergency response routes.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.  

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

Regulatory Implementing Order
Military Leave 

Credit for Service in the Armed Forces

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to amend the regulation
Military Leave, page 7-5, and the regulation Credit for
Service in the Armed Forces, page 1-12, from the Handbook
of Personnel Administration for Delaware School Districts.
The amendments are necessary to clarify and improve the
language, eliminate references found in the Delaware Code
and remove the language “during time of war or National
Emergency (commencing Sept. 1940).”  On the
recommendation of the State Board of Education, these
regulations will remain as two separate regulations.

Notice of the proposed amendments was published in
the News Journal and the Delaware State News on
September 14, 1999, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit
A.  The notice invited written comments and none were
received from the newspaper advertisement.

II. Findings of Fact

The Acting Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend
these regulations in order to clarify and improve the
language, eliminate references found in the Delaware Code
and remove the language “during time of war or National
Emergency (commencing Sept. 1940).”

III. Decision to Amend the Regulations

For the foregoing reasons, the Acting Secretary
concludes that it is necessary to amend the regulations.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, the
regulations attached hereto as Exhibit B are hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Del. C., Section
122(e), the regulations hereby amended shall be in effect for
a period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulations amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations
shall be found in the Regulations of the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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Acting Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open
session at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on
October 21, 1999.  The effective date of this Order shall be
ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 21st day of October, 1999.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A Woodruff
Acting Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st day of October, 1999.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B Graham, Esq.
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

AS APPEARS IN THE HANDBOOK OF PERSONNEL 
FOR DELAWARE SCHOOL DISTRICTS

Military Leave

Title 14,§1327(a) requires that leave of absence for
military service be granted and specifies attendant conditions
and provisions.

The person who may be appointed to replace the
principal, teacher, or other employee shall be appointed only
for the period covered by the leave of absence. §1327(b).
Any permanent and full-time employee who is a member of
the National Guard or any reserve component of the Armed
Forces of the United States and who is ordered to attend
training camp or to perform special duty not in excess of
fifteen (15) days in any calendar year shall be allowed leave
with pay for attending such training sessions or performing
such special duty.  Leave for teachers shall apply only if the
training is with the individual's unit.  Such military training
or special duty leaves shall not be deducted from vacation
leave or in any other way result in loss of privileges or
compensation to said employee.
n employee called to temporary military training or special
duty shall file a request for military leave with the secretary
of the local board at least two weeks prior to his leave, along
with a copy of the official orders summoning him to military
service.

(State Board of Education regulation, August 21, 1969).
Service in the Armed Forces

Together, Title 29,§5105 and Title 14,§1327 authorize
leave of absence for military service, establish rights to
pension and the term of successor appointees.

State Board of Education regulation states that:

"In determining the credit for service in the armed
forces, one year's experience shall be allowed for each
twelve (12) months or major fraction thereof, except that a
combination of service and teaching during a school year
may count if ninety-one (91) days or more.

“Credit for Experience for service in the armed forces
shall count for full time active duty, not in excess of six (6)
years in the Armed Services of the United States during time
of war or National emergency (commencing September,
l940), provided that the individual became an employee
within five (5) years after completion of a tour of duty or
within five (5) years after his completion of a course of
professional or vocational training, if such course was begun
within five (5) years after completion of a tour of duty.
Included in the six (6) years will be any instruction in
Military Science given during years of enlistment."  (State
Board of Education regulation, June 19, 1975, effective July
1, 1975.)

AS AMENDED

700.2  Training Camp and Special Duty in the National
Guard and/or Reserves

1.0 Leave for Training Camp and Special Duty in the
National Guard and/or Reserves

1.1 Any permanent and full-time employee who is a
member of the National Guard or any reserve component of
the Armed Forces of the United States and who is ordered to
attend training camp or to perform special duty not in excess
of fifteen (15) days in any calendar year shall be allowed
leave with pay for attending such training sessions or
performing such special duty.  Leave for teachers shall apply
only if the training is with the individual's unit.

1.2 Such military training or special duty leaves shall
not be deducted from vacation leave or in any other way
result in loss of privileges or compensation to said employee.

1.3 Employees called to temporary military training or
special duty shall file a request for military leave with the
secretary of the local board at least two weeks prior to their
leave, along with a copy of the official orders summoning
them to military service.

(See Del. C., Title 29, Section 5105 Leave of Absence for
Military Service, Pension Right; Terms of Successor
Appointees)

[700.3][2.0]  Credit for Experience for Full-Time Service in
the Armed Forces
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[2.1 In determining the credit for service in the
armed forces, one year's experience shall be allowed for
each twelve (12) months or major fraction thereof, except
that a combination of service and teaching during a
school year may count if ninety-one (91) days or more.]

[1.0] [2.2]Credit for Experience for service in the armed
forces shall count for full time active duty, not in excess of
six (6) years in the Armed Services of the United States,
provided that the individual became a teacher, principal,
superintendent, or other administrative employee in
Delaware within five (5) years after completion of a tour of
duty or within five (5) years after his completion of a course
of professional or vocational training, if such course was
begun within five (5) years after completion of a tour of
duty.  Included in the six (6) years will be any instruction in
Military Science given during years of enlistment.

[1.1 Credit for service in the armed forces shall be
calculated as follows:  One year of experience shall be
allowed for each year of service.  For purposes of this
section, 183 days in any calendar year shall constitute
one year of experience, but not more than 1 year of
experience may be credited for any 1 calendar year,
except that a combined total of 91 days of service and
employment in any of the positions identified above
during any one school year will count as a year of
experience.]

(See Del. C., Title 14, Sections 1312(a) and 1327 Leave
of Absence for Persons in Military Service).

Regulatory Implementing Order
Repeal of Regulations from the Handbook of Personnel 

Administration for Delaware School Districts

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to repeal three regulations and
part of a fourth from the Handbook of Personnel
Administration for Delaware School Districts because they
are found in either the Delaware Code, in other Department
of Education Regulations or are no longer accurate.

• Deferred Compensation found on page 3-1 is fully
addressed in Del. C. 29, Chapter 60A, and is the
responsibility of the local school districts.

• Payment of Teachers in Summer Programs in
Vocational-Technical School Districts, page 2-2, is a repeat
of language in Del. C., Section 1703(i).

• State Salary Increase Adjustments for Changed
Status, page 2-1, has been updated and currently is regulated
in Chapter IX-Professional Growth Credits in 300.1 General
Regulations and Glossary of Terms of the Manual for

Certification of Professional Public School Personnel.
• Payment Schedules for Contractual Programs/In-

Service Education, page 2-2, repeal of parts a. and b.,
because all in-service programs now require the
development of a product.

On the recommendation of the State Board of Education
the first paragraph of the regulation concerning hourly salary
schedules is not being repealed and is also being included in
amended form as part of the regulation, Payment of
Personnel under Various Programs, which is on the agenda
as a discussion item.

Notice of the proposed repeal was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on September
14, 1999 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The
notice invited written comments and none were received
from the newspaper advertisements.

II.  Findings of Fact

The Acting Secretary finds that it is necessary to repeal
these regulations because they are found in either the
Delaware Code, in other Department of Education
Regulations, or are no longer accurate.

III.  Decision to Repeal the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Acting Secretary
concludes that it is necessary to repeal the regulations.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, the
regulations attached hereto as Exhibit B are hereby repealed.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulations repealed hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations
shall be removed from the Handbook of Personnel
Administration for Delaware School Districts.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Acting Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open
session at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on
October 21, 1999.  The effective date of this Order shall be
ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 21st day of October, 1999.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A Woodruff
Acting Secretary of Education
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Approved this 21st day of October, 1999.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B Graham, Esq.
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

3. Benefits
Deferred Compensation

Tax Sheltered Annuities  - The purchase of tax
sheltered annuities by educational personnel (applicable to
both federal and state income tax) has been approved by the
State Board of Education by the following resolution:

The State Board of Education approved in principle
the institution of a tax sheltered annuity program for all
eligible employees in the various school systems.
(State Board of Education regulation, April 5, 1962)

From this point forward, the execution and
administration of these purchases come under the
jurisdiction of the local boards.
Deferred Compensation for Employees of the State- Title 29,
Chapter 60A establishes an intent to create a vehicle through
which all employees of the State may, on a voluntary basis,
provide for additional retirement income security.  Under
this chapter the Department of Finance and the State
Treasurer are authorized to make payroll deductions for any
employee of the State who has authorized such deductions in
writing.

Payment of Teachers in Summer Programs in Vocational-
Technical School Districts

Teachers under contract with a Vocational-Technical
School District who work in summer programs shall be
entitled to payment at the rate of number of days employed
under their most recent contract multiplied by 1/185 of their
entitlement for a full school year.  Any occupational/
vocational teacher in a vocational-technical school district
may be employed an additional fifteen (15) days for
participation in program development as approved by the
State Board of Education and paid at the rate of 1/185 of his
annual salary.  Teachers employed in summer vocational-
occupational programs or in program development as
indicated in this paragraph shall not be employed in excess
of 2/10 the number of days authorized for the regular school
year in any fiscal year.  (State Board of Education regulation,
June 18, 1970.)

State Salary Increase Adjustments for Changed Status State
salary adjustments, because of the completion of
Professional Growth Graduate Programs (B+15, B+30,

M+15, M+30, and M+45) or college and university degrees
from regionally accredited institutions, will become
effective in the pay period next following approval of the
candidate's record by the Division of Certification and
Personnel, but the adjustment will be retroactive to the first
of the month following the date certified as the date when the
program was completed.  No salary credit may be retroactive
into a prior fiscal year. Retroactive salary adjustment may be
by a single payment or by payments divided equally among
all the pay periods remaining in a current fiscal year as may
be determined by the district or State fiscal officers.  (State
Board of Education regulation, September 15, 1977.)

The Manual of Certification of Professional School
Personnel, Delaware, May 16, 1974 includes rules and
regulations, definitions and application procedures for
professional growth graduate programs and for inservice
training.

Payment Schedules for Contractual Programs/Inservice
Education

Hourly salary schedules are authorized for payment of
personnel employed in contractual programs such as Adult
Basic Education, Vocational Education., Homebound
Instruction and the James H. Groves High School. The
hourly salary schedule for the current fiscal year is in Section
10 of this handbook.

Inservice Education Rates for:
a. Attendance at inservice education programs or

institutes sponsored by the Department of Public Instruction
will be a fractional part of the hourly rate established for
teaching in contractual programs.

b. Participants in programs that require development
of a position paper, a program, or the like, may be paid at a
rate up to the full hourly rate of contractual programs on
approval by Administrative Council.  Inservice rates are
included in Section 10 of this handbook.

State Board of Education regulation, February 18, 1982.)
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

In the Matter Of: |
|

Revision of the Regulations |
Of the Medicaid/medical |
Assistance Program |

Nature of the Proceedings:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) initiated proceedings to update the
Division of Social Services Eligibility Manual policies
related to necessary medical care and eligibility for State
funded benefits (nonqualified aliens).  The Department’s
proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant
to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the May 1999 Delaware Register of Regulations,
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by May
31, 1999, at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.

No written or verbal comments were received relating to
this proposed rule.

Findings of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the May 1999 Register of Regulations should be
adopted as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program are
adopted and shall be final effective November 10, 1999.

Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D.
Secretary
September 30, 1999

Division of Social Services Eligibility Manual

14330.2  ELIGIBILITY FOR STATE FUNDED BENEFITS 
(NONQUALIFIED ALIENS)

Effective January 1, 1998, legally residing nonqualified

aliens, regardless of the date of entry into the U.S., may be
found eligible for full Medicaid benefits. ,including long
term care services. This does NOT include long term care
services. Legally residing nonqualified aliens may be found
eligible for Medicaid long term care services upon residing
in the United States for five years.

NEW:

20620.2.2 NECESSARY MEDICAL CARE

Requests for income to be protected for necessary
medical or remedial care not covered under the Medicaid
plan may NOT be for a single item that costs less than
$50.00, whether billed individually or together with other
items.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

In the Matter Of: |
Revision of the Regulations |
Of the Medicaid/medical |
Assistance Program |
DSSM 15110, 15110.1, 15120, 15120. |
15150.1, 15160 and 15160.1 |

Nature of the Proceedings:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) initiated proceedings to update
Medical Assistance eligibility rules. The Department’s
proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant
to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the June 1999 Delaware Register of Regulations,
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by July
1, 1999, at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.

No written or verbal comments were received relating to
this proposed rule.

Findings of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth
in the June 1999 Register of Regulations should be adopted
as written.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program are
adopted and shall be final effective November 10, 1999.

Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D.
Secretary
August 9, 1999

Division of Social Services Eligibility Manual

15110  A BETTER CHANCE, DELAWARE'S TANF
PLAN

The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996, P.L. 104-193, amended title IV-
A of the Social Security Act to repeal the Aid to Families
with Dependent Children (AFDC) program. The AFDC
program provided an entitlement to cash assistance for
eligible families with dependent children. The Personal
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act
(PRWORA) replaces AFDC with a program of block grants
to States for Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
(TANF). Under TANF, States have broad flexibility to
provide assistance to needy families. Delaware implemented
its TANF program, A Better Chance, on March 10, 1997. 

15110.1 Medicaid Eligibility
Before the passage of PRWORA, anyone receiving cash

assistance under AFDC was automatically entitled to
Medicaid. Under the new law, persons receiving assistance
under the block grant (TANF) are not automatically entitled
to Medicaid. A new Medicaid eligibility group for low
income families with children is established at Section 1931
of the Social Security Act added by section 114 of
PRWORA. These families will receive Medicaid if they
meet the AFDC eligibility criteria in effect as of 7/16/96.
The eligibility criteria for this new group is described in the
section, "Low Income Families with Children under Section
1931". 

Section 1931 also gives States more flexibility in
determining Medicaid eligibility. Delaware has used the
authority in Section 1931 to keep the rules for A Better
Chance and for Medicaid consistent and use a single
application form to determine eligibility. This means that
any family eligible for and receiving cash assistance under A
Better Chance is also eligible for Medicaid under Section
1931 without having to complete a separate Medicaid
eligibility determination.

Delaware has used the authority in Section 1931 to
ensure that any family eligible for and receiving cash
assistance under A Better Chance is also eligible for
Medicaid under Section 1931 without having to complete a
separate Medicaid eligibility determination.

15120 LOW INCOME FAMILIES WITH CHILDREN
UNDER SECTION 1931

The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996, P.L. 104-193, Section 114,
established a new Medicaid eligibility group for low income
families with children at Section 1931 of the Social Security
Act. Coverage for this mandatory categorically needy group
of families with children is effective March 10, 1997, the
date that Delaware's TANF plan was approved.  

Section 1931 defines the basic criteria for determining
Medicaid eligibility based upon AFDC eligibility criteria.
The criteria includes income and resource standards and
methodologies as in effect on July 16, 1996, and deprivation
and specified relative rules that were in effect on that date.
Section 1931 gives states flexibility to change these criteria.
Delaware has amended its Medicaid state plan to provide
that the income, resource, and family composition rules used
to determine eligibility under this group are the same as the
rules used to determine eligibility under ABC. 

Families who are eligible for Medicaid under Section
1931 may be receiving ABC cash assistance or may be
Medicaid only families.

15120.2 Financial Eligibility
Follow ABC income and resource standards and

methodologies (disregards, exclusions, allocations) 
ABC rules on income standards and methodologies

(disregards, exclusions, allocations) apply to Section 1931
Medicaid except as provided in this section.

For Section 1931 Medicaid, there are two income tests
to determine financial eligibility. The first test is a gross
income test and the second is a net income test. For the gross
income test, compare the family's gross income to 185% of
the applicable standard of need. For the net income test,
compare the family's net income to the applicable standard
of need.

Financial eligibility for both applicant and recipient
families will be calculated using the 30 and 1/3 disregard if
applicable. This disregard allows the deduction of $30 plus
1/3 of the remaining earned income after the standard
allowance for work connected expenses is subtracted.

The $30 plus 1/3 disregard is applied to earned income
for four (4) consecutive months. If Medicaid under Section
1931 or employment ends before the fourth month, the
earner is eligible for the disregard for four (4) additional
months upon reapplication or re-employment.

When an earner's wages are so low ($90 or less in the
month) that the income is zero before any part of the $30
plus 1/3 disregard can be applied, that month does not count
as one of the four (4) consecutive months and the earner is
eligible for the disregard for four (4) additional months.

After the $30 plus 1/3 disregard has been applied for
four (4) consecutive months, the 1/3 disregard is removed
from the budget. The $30 disregard continues to be deducted
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from earned income for eight (8) consecutive months. The
$30 disregard is not repeated if an individual stops working
or 1931 Medicaid ends before the completion of the eight
(8)consecutive months. If 1931 Medicaid ends and the
family reapplies, the $30 disregard from earned income is
continued until the end of the original eight (8) consecutive
months.

Unlike the $30 plus 1/3 disregard which is dependent
upon the family having sufficient earned income and being
1931 Medicaid recipients, the $30 disregard is for a specific
time period. This time period begins when the $30 plus 1/3
disregard ends and is not dependent upon the family having
earned income or 1931 Medicaid.

When an earner has received the $30 and 1/3 disregard
in four (4) consecutive months and the $30 deduction has
been available for eight (8) consecutive additional months,
neither disregard can be applied to earned income until the
individual has not received the 30 and 1/3 disregard for
twelve (12) consecutive months.

All earned income is disregarded for the second and
third months of eligibility. 

Any diversion assistance provided does not count as
income. 

Resources are not counted for Medicaid under Section
1931.

15150.1  AFDC/TANF Related Deeming 
Any individual who is denied or loses Medicaid under

Section 1931 based on the budgeting of stepparent,
grandparent, or sibling income or resources may be eligible
for Medicaid. 

Follow all rules for Medicaid under Section 1931 (same
as A Better Chance rules) except for the deeming of income
or resources from grandparents, stepparents, or siblings. 

15160  Acute Care Program 
Medicaid coverage is available to individuals in acute

care hospitals who would be eligible for ABC and Medicaid
under Section 1931 if they were not hospitalized. These
individuals will be determined eligible only after the patient
has been in the hospital for 30 consecutive days. For
example, if an individual enters the hospital on April 24,
DSS need not consider eligibility under this program unless
the individual is still hospitalized on May 23 (and has been
continuously hospitalized since April 24).

15160.1  Eligibility Determination
Eligibility will be determined using ABC and the

technical and financial criteria for Medicaid under Section
1931. There is no medical eligibility criterion.

INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, 

Sections 311, 2304(16) and 2312 (18 Del.C. 311, 
2304(16) & 2312)

In the Matter of: |
|

The Proposed Insurance |
Department Regulation No. 82 |
Docket No. 99-28 |

Order

COMES NOW, the Insurance Commissioner of the
State of Delaware and Orders in conformance with the
Proposed Order and Recommendation of the Hearing Officer
as follows: 

WHEREAS, I have considered the Proposed Order and
Recommendation submitted by the Hearing Officer, as well
as the entire record of this matter; and 

WHEREAS, I adopt the Proposed Order and
Recommendation and incorporate the summary of evidence,
the proposed findings of fact, and the recommendation of the
Hearing Officer by this reference.

NOW THEREFORE, I Order that Regulation No.82 be
promulgated as referenced herein, effective on January 1,
2000.

SO ORDERED this 21st day of September 1999.

Donna Lee Williams
Insurance CommissionerState of Delaware

Proposed Order and Recommendations

Proposed Regulation 82 requires health insurance
companies to make appropriate payment to health care
providers when more than one surgical service is performed
on the same patient, by the same physician on the same day.

On June 1, 1999, the proposed regulation was published
in the Register of Regulations in accordance with 29 Del. C.
chapters 11 and 101.  Also in accordance with 29 Del. C.
chapter 101, notices of the public hearing were published in
newspapers throughout the state (see Exhibit 1).  The public
hearing was held on June 24, 1999 before the below-signed
hearing officer.  The record was left open until July 9, 1999
to allow for the submission of additional exhibits by
interested parties.  The following is the Proposed Order and
Recommendation regarding the adoption of Regulation 82.

Present at the June 24 hearing were numerous
individuals representing healthcare providers the insurance
industry and others.  A list of attendees is attached hereto as
Exhibit “A”.  

http://www.state.de.us/inscom/


FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 5, MONDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 1999

637

I. Summary of the Evidence

The evidence in this matter consists of the oral
testimony of 15 individuals, as well as numerous written
submissions by interested parties attached hereto as exhibits.
In making the following recommendation I have considered
the contents of the file, including the oral testimony given at
the aforementioned public hearing and the exhibits attached
hereto.  In summary, strong support for applying existing
Medicare rules and regulations for the payment of multiple
surgical procedures was expressed by healthcare providers
who testified at the hearing.  Criticisms of the proposed
Regulation include:

1. Concern that the adoption of proposed Regulation
82 would increase healthcare costs in the form of higher
premium expenses; 

2. Lack of jurisdiction; 
3. Paragraph (3) of §5 differs from the Medicare

policy and is unjustifiably broad;
4. Use of the undefined term “fee schedule” raises the

question whether Medicare fee schedules are to be enforced
in the non-Medicare market; and 

5. Use of the term health insurance or benefits is so
broad as to be construed to include some property casualty
products of insurance.  

6. §7 as proposed gives rise to penalties absent an
order of the Commissioner

II. Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law 

Based upon the evidence received in this matter both
oral and written, I find that the adoption of standards for the
payment of multiple surgical procedures is advisable as a
matter of fundamental fairness and to minimize the patient’s
risk and inconvenience of multiple surgeries.  I find that: 

1. The public policy justification for ensuring proper
treatment of multiple surgical procedures outweighs the risk
of relatively slight premium increases; 

2. The Insurance Commissioner possesses the
jurisdiction to promulgate Regulation 82 on the grounds that
failure to pay claims properly and fairly constitutes a
violation of subparagraphs d. and f. of 18 Del. C. §2304(16).
Further, the Commissioner is authorized under §2312 and
§311 to issue reasonable regulations that are necessary to
prohibit practices identified in §2304.  

3. Paragraph (3) of §5 is broader than Medicare rules
provide and may be interpreted to conflict with preceding
standards;

4. The term “fee schedule” should be defined to
clarify its meaning;

5. It is the Department’s intent to restrict application
of the multiple surgical procedure standards of proposed
Regulation 82 to health insurance plans offering
comprehensive, major medical coverage and not to apply

them to any property/casualty insurance or limited benefit
plans; and 

6. §7 is to be revised to clarify that penalties are
recoverable only pursuant to an order of the Commissioner. 

I recommend a number of additional technical revisions
to the proposed regulation as they appear in the “marked up”
version of Regulation 83 attached hereto as Exhibit “B”. 

III. Recommendation

For the above reasons, it is recommended that the
Insurance Commissioner adopt Regulation 82 in the form
attached as Exhibit “B”.

SO RECOMMENDED, this 20th day of September
1999

Fred A. Townsend III
Hearing Officer

Regulation No. 82
Standards of payment for Multiple Surgical Procedures

Sections

1. Authority
2. Definitions
3. Scope 
4. Purpose
5. Procedure for Payment 
6. General Business Practice
7. Penalty
8. Causes of Action and Defenses
9. Effective Date

§1.  Authority.
This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner

pursuant to 18 Del. C. §§311, 2304(16) and 2312. It is
promulgated in accordance with 29 Del. C. Chapter 101.

§ 2.  Definitions.
For the purpose of this regulation, the following

definitions shall apply:
(a) Health insurer: health insurance companies, health

maintenance organizations, health service corporations and
any other entity providing a plan of health insurance or
benefits subject to state insurance regulations.  

(b) Health Care Provider: any entity or individual
licensed, certified or otherwise permitted by law to provide
health care in the ordinary course of business, practice or
profession.  

(c) Policyholder or Certificate Holder: a person
covered under such policy or a representative designated by
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such person and entitled to services provided in the policy.
[(d) Fee schedule: the monetary allowance payable to

a healthcare provider for services rendered as provided
for by agreement between the health care provider and
the health insurer.]

§ 3.  Scope.
This regulation shall apply to all health insurers as

defined in § 2 above, and shall apply to all contracts for
insurance [and certificates of coverage] issued by [these
such] entities.

§ 4.  Purpose.
The purpose of this regulation is to ensure that health

insurers provide proper payment to health care providers
when more than one surgical service is performed on the
same patient, by the same physician, on the same day.

§ 5.  Procedure for payment of multiple surgical services.
When more than one surgical service is performed on

the same patient, by the same
physician and on the same day, insurers shall make payment
to the providers as follows:

(1) One hundred per cent (100%) of the fee schedule
for the procedure which has the highest regular fee schedule
amount; and

(2) For each additional procedure, performed through
the same incision or separate incisions, as set forth in the
National Correct Coding Manual established by Administar
Federal under contract with the Health Care Financing
Administration, not less than fifty per cent (50%) of the fee
schedule amount.

[(3) For unrelated surgical procedures (e.g., partial
thyroid removal and a hernia repair), one hundred per
cent (100%) of the fee schedule for each procedure
performed on multiple body parts.]

§ 6.  General Business Practice.
(a) Within a 36 month period, three instances of a

health insurer’s failure to pay a claim or bill for services
[promptly,] as defined in section 5 above [and in
accordance with Insurance Department regulation
governing the timeliness of claims handling], shall give
rise to a rebuttable presumption that the insurer is in
violation of 18 Del. C. §2304(16)(f).

(b) The 36 month period established in paragraph (a)
above shall be measured based upon the date the complaints
are received at the Department.  Each claim or bill, or
portion of a claim or bill, pertaining to a single medical
treatment or procedure provided to an individual
policyholder that is processed in violation of this regulation
shall constitute an “instance” as described in paragraph (a)
above.

§ 7.  Penalties.
In addition to the imposition of penalties in accordance

with 18 Del.C. §2312(b), any health insurer that fails to
adhere to the standards contained in this regulation may be
required by order of the Commissioner to pay to the health
care provider or claimant, in full settlement of the claim or
bill for heath care services, the amount of the claim or bill
plus interest at the maximum rate allowable to lenders under
6 Del. C. §2301(a). [This Such] interest shall be computed
from the date the claim or bill for services first became due.  

§ 8.  Causes of Action and Defenses.
This regulation shall not create a cause of action for any

person or entity, other than the Delaware Insurance
Commissioner, against a health insurer or its representative
based upon a violation of 18 Del. C. §2304(16).  In the same
manner, nothing in this regulation shall establish a defense
for any party to any cause of action based upon a violation of
18 Del. C. §2304(16).

§ 9.  Effective Date.
This regulation shall become effective [on January 1,

2000 120 days from the date signed by the
Commissioner.]

INSURANCE DEPARTMENT
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, 

Sections 311, 2304(16) and 2312 (18 Del.C. 311, 
2304(16) & 2312)

In the Matter of: |
|

The Proposed Insurance |
Department Regulation No. 83 |
Docket No. 99-29 |

Order

COMES NOW, the Insurance Commissioner of the
State of Delaware and Orders in conformance with the
Proposed Order and Recommendation of the Hearing Officer
as follows: 

WHEREAS, I have considered the Proposed Order and
Recommendation submitted by the Hearing Officer, as well
as the entire record of this matter; and 

WHEREAS, I adopt the Proposed Order and
Recommendation and incorporate the summary of evidence,
the proposed findings of fact, and the recommendation of the
Hearing Officer by this reference.

NOW THEREFORE, I Order that Regulation No.83 be
promulgated as referenced herein, effective on January 1,

http://www.state.de.us/inscom/
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2000.
SO ORDERED this 27th day of September 1999.

Donna Lee Williams
Insurance Commissioner, State of Delaware

Proposed Order and Recommendations

Proposed Regulation 83 requires health insurance
companies to make appropriate payment for the services of
assistants at surgery.

On June 1, 1999, proposed regulation 83 was published
in the Register of Regulations in accordance with 29 Del. C.
chapters 11 and 101.  Also in accordance with 29 Del. C.
chapter 101, notices of the public hearing were published in
newspapers throughout the state (see Exhibit 1).  The public
hearing was held on June 24, 1999 before the below-signed
hearing officer.  The record was left open until July 9, 1999
to allow for the submission of additional exhibits by
interested parties.  The following is the Proposed Order and
Recommendation regarding the adoption of Regulation 83.

Present at the June 24 hearing were numerous
individuals representing healthcare providers the insurance
industry and others.  A list of attendees is attached hereto as
Exhibit “A”.  

I. Summary of the Evidence

The evidence in this matter consists of the oral
testimony of 15 individuals, as well as numerous written
submissions by interested parties attached hereto as exhibits.
In making the following recommendation I have considered
the contents of the file, including the oral testimony given at
the aforementioned public hearing and the exhibits attached
hereto.  In summary, strong support for the adoption of a
standard governing reimbursement for services performed
by assistants at surgery was expressed by healthcare
providers who testified at the hearing.  Criticisms of the
proposed Regulation include:

1. Concern that the adoption of proposed Regulation
83 would increase healthcare costs in the form of higher
premium expenses; 

2. Lack of jurisdiction; 
3. §2(4) references professional titles not recognized

by Delaware law or Medicare rules;
4. Proposed Regulation 83 distinguishes between

physician employers and institutional employers of
assistants at surgery;

5. §5 guidelines for payment are vague as they refer to
paying claims “in the same manner as Medicare”;

6. Use of the phrase “health insurance or benefits” is
so broad as to be construed to include certain property/
casualty insurance products; and 

7. §7 as proposed gives rise to penalties absent an

order of the Commissioner.

II. Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law 

Based upon the evidence received in this matter both
oral and written, I find that the adoption of standards for the
payment of claims related to the services of assistants at
surgery is advisable as a matter of fundamental fairness and
promotes .  I find that: 

1. The public policy justification for ensuring proper
claims handling of services performed by assistants at
surgery outweighs the risk of relatively slight premium
increases; 

2. The Insurance Commissioner possesses the
jurisdiction to promulgate Regulation 83 on the grounds that
failure to pay claims properly and fairly constitutes a
violation of subparagraph d. of 18 Del. C. §2304(16).
Further, the Commissioner is authorized under §2312 and
§311 to issue reasonable regulations that are necessary to
prohibit practices identified in §2304.  

3. References to professional titles not recognized
under Delaware law should be stricken;

4. The limitation that fees for the services of assistants
at surgery shall not be payable to hospital ambulatory
surgical centers is unjustified and should be stricken;

5. Regulation 83 guidelines for the payment of
assistant at surgery fees should be referenced with greater
specificity.

6. It is the Department’s intent to restrict application
of the provisions of proposed Regulation 82 to health
insurance plans offering comprehensive, major medical
coverage and not to apply them to property/casualty
insurance or limited benefit plans; and 

7. §7 is to be revised to clarify that penalties are
recoverable only pursuant to an order of the Commissioner. 

I recommend a number of additional technical revisions
to the proposed regulation as they appear in the “marked up”
version of Regulation 83 attached hereto as Exhibit “B”. 

III. Recommendation

For the above reasons, it is recommended that the
Insurance Commissioner adopt Regulation 83 in the form
attached as Exhibit “B”.

SO RECOMMENDED, this 22nd day of September
1999.

Fred A. Townsend III
Hearing Officer



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 5, MONDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 1999

640

Regulation No. 83
Standards of payment for Assistants at Surgery

Sections
1. Authority
2. Definitions
3. Scope 
4. Purpose
5. Procedure for Payment 
6. General Business Practice
7. Penalty
8. Causes of Action and Defenses
9. Effective Date

§1. Authority.
This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner

pursuant to 18 Del. C. §§311, 2304(16) and 2312. It is
promulgated in accordance with 29 Del. C. Chapter 101.

§ 2. Definitions.
For the purpose of this regulation, the following

definitions shall apply:
(1) Health insurer: health insurance companies, health

maintenance organizations, health service corporations and
any other entity providing a plan of health insurance or
benefits subject to state insurance regulations.  

(2) Health Care Provider: any entity or individual
licensed, certified or otherwise permitted by law to provide
health care in the ordinary course of business, practice or
profession.  

(3) Policyholder or Certificate Holder: a person
covered under such policy or a representative designated by
such person and entitled to services provided in the policy.

(4) Assistant at Surgery: a physician, nurse
practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, [certified surgical
technician, certified first surgical assistant,]or physician
assistant who is licensed and actively assists the physician in
charge of a case in performing a surgical procedure.

[(5) Fee schedule: the monetary allowance payable to
a healthcare provider for services rendered as provided
for by agreement between the health care provider and
the health insurer.]

§3. Scope.
This regulation shall apply to all health insurers as

defined in Section 2 above, and shall apply to all contracts
for insurance [and certificates of coverage] issued by
[these such] entities. 

§4. Purpose.
Some surgical procedures require a primary surgeon and

an assistant surgeon.  Federal law sets forth guidelines for
the payment, under Medicare Part B, for the services of
assistants at surgery.  No such guidelines exist in Delaware

law, and in many cases health insurers will not pay for such
services.  The purpose of this regulation is to require that
health insurers make payment for the services of assistants at
surgery in the same manner as provided for under Medicare
Part B. 

§5. Guidelines for payment for the services of assistants at
surgery.

(a) A health insurer shall be required to make payment
for the professional services of assistants at surgery.  Such
payment shall be made in the same manner set as forth in the
Balanced Budget Act of 1997 and applicable publications
issued by the Health Care Financing Administration
(HCFA), including but not limited to HCFA’s regulations,
the Medicare Part B Physician/Supplier Handbook, and
Medicare Part B newsletters. 

(b) [Payment for the services of an assistant at
surgery shall be made only to the surgical assistant’s
employer if such employer is neither a hospital or
ambulatory surgical center. Medicare rules governing
the following aspects of claims for services of assistants at
surgery shall be observed:

(1) the percentage of fee schedule (as “fee schedule”
is defined herein) for physicians acting as assistants at
surgery;

(2) the percentage of fee schedule (as “fee schedule”
is defined herein) for non physicians acting as assistants
at surgery; and 

(3) whether the surgical procedure in question is
eligible for assistant at surgery services.] 

§6. General Business Practice.     
(a) Within a 36 month period, three instances of a

health insurer’s failure to pay a claim or bill for services
promptly, as defined in section 5 above, shall give rise to a
rebuttable presumption that the insurer is in violation of 18
Del. C. §2304(16)(f).

(b) The 36 month period established in subsection (a)
above shall be measured based upon the date the complaints
are received at the Department.  Each claim or bill, or
portion of a claim or bill, pertaining to a single medical
treatment or procedure provided to an individual
policyholder that is processed in violation of this regulation
shall constitute an “instance” as described in subsection (a)
above.

§7. Penalties.
In addition to the imposition of penalties in accordance

 with 18 Del. C. §2312(b), any health insurer that fails to
adhere to the standards contained in this regulation [shall
may] be required [by order of the Commissioner] to pay to
the health care provider or claimant, in full settlement of the
claim or bill for heath care services, the amount of the claim
or bill plus interest at the maximum rate allowable to lenders
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under 6 Del.C. §2301(a). [This Such] interest shall be
computed from the date the claim or bill for services first
became due.

§8. Causes of Action and Defenses.
This regulation shall not create a cause of action for any

person or entity, other than the Delaware Insurance
Commissioner, against a health insurer or its representative
based upon a violation of 18 Del. C. §2304(16).  In the same
manner, nothing in this regulation shall establish a defense
for any party to any cause of action based upon a violation of
18 Del. C. §2304(16).

§9. Effective Date.
This regulation shall become effective [120 days from

the date signed by the Commissioner on January 1,
2000.]

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
DIVISION OF EMPLOYMENT & TRAINING 

COUNCIL ON APPRENTICESHIP AND TRAINING 
Statutory Authority: 19 Delaware Code, 

Section 202 (a) (19 Del.C. §202(a)) 

Public hearings before the Council on Apprenticeship
and Training were held at Buena Vista on June 10, 1997 and
March 10, 1998, to obtain comments related to proposed rule
changes. Subsequently, the Secretary of Labor suggested a
change to the definition of Apprentice.  Because more than
12 months had elapsed since the end of the public comments
period, another public hearing was held on August 2, 1999,
after due notice. At the meeting that followed a quorum of
the Council recommended that changes to the Rules and
Regulations be adopted pursuant to the authority of  the
Secretary of Labor based on the following Summary of the
Evidence and Information submitted during all of the periods
of public comment and recommended Findings of Fact.

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND
 INFORMATION SUBMITTED:

At the public hearings held June 10, 1997 and March 10,
1998 the following members of the public addressed
Council:

1. On June 10, 1997, Stan Klein, Joint Apprenticeship
and Training Committee for Local 313 of the International
Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, suggested that clear and
concise rules are essential.  He expressed concern that the
term Afull-time@ should be defined so training could be
completed predictably.  There is concern about apprentices

being used outside the trade though the rules should not
prevent using a good employee in some other capacity when
there is a shortage of work.

On March 10, 1998, Stan Klein supported the intent
of the full-time language to avoid prolonging programs to 8-
9 years but believes it should mean working all the hours
available, which may not be 40 hours per week.

2. On June 10, 1997, Bill McCloskey, President of the
Delaware Building Trades and President of Ironworkers
Local 451, supported the inclusion of Afull-time@ language in
the rules.  He thought using an apprentice in another field in
slow periods could be limited by Council.

On March 10, 1998, he said apprentices should not
be abused by employers and working outside the
classification should not be counted.

3. On June 10, 1997, Ed Capadanno, Executive
Director of Associated Builders and Contractors, spoke in
support of the proposed regulations.

On March 10, 1998, he said the Afull-time@
language needed clarification.  Some employers may be
disqualified from the program.  Enforcement is more than
the present staff can handle.

4. On March 10, 1998, Karen Peterson, Director of
Industrial Affairs, did not object to the change, but explained
conflicts with prevailing wage enforcement.  Full-time
defined as a 40 hour work week may create problems.  Trade
definitions do not match classification definitions in the
prevailing wage regulations.  Forty hours per week is
unrealistic in construction trades.  She suggested as an
alternative that the apprentice work Aexclusively@ in the trade
not 40 hours a week. There may be a chilling effect on
apprenticeship in rate jobs.  She also had concern with the
registration.  Finally, apprentices can work in more than one
trade based on classifications in the prevailing wage
regulations.

5. Ralph G. Degli Obizzi, Jr., supported Karen
Peterson’s remarks.  Full-time isn=t clear.

6. George Elseroad, Bureau of Apprenticeship and
Training, U.S. DOL expressed concern over the affect of
Afull-time language@ on school-to-work programs.

7. Lawrence Sontowski, Department of Labor,
described State programs that don=t provide a 40 hour week.

8. Don Clagg, Local 19 Sheet Metal Workers,
believes the last sentence in 106.2(c) is important.  He is
concerned when an apprentice is worked as a laborer outside
his trade and paid a lower wage.

9. Michael Benefield, Director of Division of
Employment and Training, indicated that the enforcement of
full-time is not within the capability of existing personnel.

10. John Czerwinski, Plumbers and Steamfitters,
commented that Delaware should ensure data is collected to
demonstrate 40% completion of programs.

At the public hearing held August 2, 1999 the following
members of the public addressed Council:

http://www.vcnet.net/
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11. Edward Capadanno, Executive Director of ABC, is
seeking clarification of the term “on site visits” which was
provided.  He also wanted clarification of the “reciprocity”
memoranda of understanding with other states.  None
currently exist.  The ABC supports the changes.

12. Stan Klein, Local 313 JATC, commented that the
process has taken two years and has been frustrating.  The
goal is to safeguard apprentices and the process should move
forward. He had comments about “registration” and
recommended removing the language “other written
documentation”.  He also commented on Sec. 106.3(I)
changes.  He thought the rules contained changes that may
help solve problems that exist today.

The Council received and hereby incorporates the
following correspondence:

1. A letter dated June 9, 1997, from Stanley R. Klein
proposing definition of Aapprentice@ and Afull-time@.

2. A letter from Joseph Seller Jr., Training
Coordinator Sheet Metal Workers= Joint Apprenticeship and
Training Fund, dated June 18, 1997, proposing a definition
for Aapprentice.@

3. A letter dated June 24, 1997, from William J.
McCloskey, President of Delaware Building Trades Council
and President of Ironworkers Local 451, supporting the
inclusion of a Afull-time@ definition in the rules.

4. A letter dated February 25, 1998, from Ralph G.
Degli Obizzi, Jr., Executive Vice President of Ralph G.
Degli Obizzi and Sons, Inc., expressing concern about sick
and personal days in the full-time definition.

5. A letter dated March 10, 1998, from Karen Peterson
indicating concern about the definition of Afull-time@ and the
difference in the trade and prevailing wage job classification
descriptions.

II.  RECOMMENDED FINDINGS OF FACT BASED ON 
THE SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION:

Council recommends that the Secretary of Labor find
that the Rules and Regulation should be amended to ensure a
clear understanding of the rights and obligations arising from
the apprenticeship relationship.  The language for certificate
approval in Rule 106.2(Q) should be clarified to include the
“Department of Labor” as the source of documentation.  The
equal opportunity languages in Sec. 106.5 should include
“disability” as a class.  The Council finds that the definition
of Aapprentice@ should ensure that all hours worked by the
apprentice should be credited to the wage progression
increments. However, defining Afull-time@ by the number of
hours required to be provided by the sponsor is unrealistic,
particularly in some trades and could discourage sponsors
from offering programs. In addition,  ambiguity could create
problems with enforcement.

III. RECOMMENDED DECISION

Having considered the proposed rules and the evidence
and information received, a majority of a quorum of the
Council on Apprenticeship and Training recommends that
the Secretary of Labor adopt the changes to the Rules and
Regulations attached hereto as Exhibit AA@ to update and
clarify the Rules and Regulations to achieve the policy
declared in 19 Del. C. Section 201.

Council on Apprenticeship & Training
Eugene Battaglia, Chairman
James T. Clothier
Paul Cherry
D. Robert Buccini
Bonnie Embry
Edward J. Brady
Lewis Atkinson

V. ORDER AND EFFECTIVE DATE
The Findings of Fact made by the Council on

Apprenticeship and Training are hereby adopted.  Pursuant
to the Powers and duties of the Department of Labor under
19 Del. C. Section 202,  the changes to the Rules and
Regulations attached hereto as Exhibit AA@ are hereby
adopted to take effect ten (10) days following publication in
the Delaware Register of Regulations.

SO ORDERED this 30th day of September, 1999.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Lisa L. Blunt-Bradley
Secretary of Labor
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PURPOSE AND SCOPE
(A)  Section 204, Chapter 2, Title 19, Delaware Code

authorizes and directs the Department of Labor to formulate
regulations to promote the furtherance of labor standards
necessary to safeguard the welfare of Apprentices and to
extend the applications of such standards by requiring their
inclusion in apprenticeship contracts.

(B)  The purpose of this chapter is to set forth labor
standards to safeguard the welfare of Apprentices and to
extend the application of such standards by prescribing
policies and procedures concerning the registration of
acceptable Apprenticeship Programs with the Delaware
Department of Labor.

(C)  These labor standards and procedures cover the
Registration and Cancellation of Apprenticeship Agreements
and of Apprenticeship Programs; and matters relating
thereto. Any questions [and/or] to request a copy of
Delaware’s Prevailing Wage Regulations regarding the
employment of apprentices on state-funded construction
projects must be referred to:

Delaware Department of Labor
Office of Labor Law Enforcement
4425 North Market Street
Wilmington, DE   19802
(302) 761-8200

DECLARATION OF POLICY
It is declared to be the policy of this State to:
(A) encourage the development of an apprenticeship

and training system through the voluntary cooperation of
management and workers and interested State agencies and
in cooperation with other states and the federal government;

(B) provide for the establishment and furtherance of
Standards of Apprenticeship and Training to safeguard the
welfare of Apprentices and trainees;

(C) aid in providing maximum opportunities for
unemployed and employed persons to improve and
modernize their work skills; and

(D) contribute to a healthy economy by aiding in the
development and maintenance of a skilled labor force
sufficient in numbers and quality to meet the expanding
needs of industry and to attract new industry.

SEC. 106.2  DEFINITIONS
As used in this part:
(A) "ADMINISTRATOR" refers to the Administrator

of the Apprenticeship and Training Section for the State
Department of Labor.

“ADMINISTRATOR” refers to the Administrator
of the Office of Apprenticeship and Training for the State

Department of Labor.
(B) "AGREEMENT" refers to a written agreement

between an Apprentice and either his/her employer or an
Apprenticeship Committee acting as agent for the Employer
which contains the terms and conditions of the employment
and training of the Apprentice.

(C)  "APPRENTICE" refers to a person at least sixteen
years of age who is engaged “FULL TIME” in learning a
recognized skilled trade through actual work experience
under the supervision of a Journeypersons. This person must
enter into a written Apprenticeship Indenture Agreement
with a registered apprenticeship sponsor. The training must
be supplemented with properly coordinated studies of related
technical instruction. All hours worked by a registered
apprentice, while in the employ of the apprentice’s sponsor,
shall be considered apprenticeship hours to be counted
toward wage progression increments and completion of his/
her on-the-job training hours as set forth in the
Apprenticeship Indenture Agreement.  "FULL TIME" refers
to a position which is employed a minimum of forty (40)
hours per week, eight (8) hours per day in the classifications
as stated in the Apprenticeship Agreement under which the
Apprentice is Registered. At no time shall the Apprentice be
employed at a job classification other than those to which the
Apprentice is Registered. 

(D) "APPRENTICESHIP STANDARDS" refers to
the document which embodies the procedure for the
selection and the training of apprentices, setting forth the
terms of the training, including wages, hours, conditions of
employment, training on the job, and related instruction.
The duties and responsibilities of the Sponsor, including
administrative procedures, are set forth in their company’s
policies.

(E)  “BAT” refers to the U.S. Department of Labor,
Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training.

(F)  "CANCELLATION" refers to the deregistration of
a Program or the Termination of an Agreement.

(G)  "COMMITTEE" refers to those persons designated
by the Sponsor to act on its behalf in the administration of
the Apprenticeship Program.  A Committee may be "joint"
i.e., it is composed of an equal number of representatives of
the employer(s) and of the employee(s) represented by a
bona fide collective bargaining agent(s)  and has been
established to conduct, operate or administer a Program and
enter into Agreements with Apprentices.  A Committee may
be "unilateral" or "non-joint" and shall mean a Program
Sponsor in which a bona fide collective bargaining agent is
not a participant.

(H)  "COUNCIL" refers to the [State's Governor’s
Advisory] Council On Apprenticeship and Training.
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(I) “DELAWARE RESIDENT CONTRACTOR”
includes any general contractor, prime contractor,
construction manager, subcontractor or other type of
construction contractor who regularly maintains a place of
business in Delaware.  Regularly maintaining a place of
business in Delaware does not include site trailers,
temporary structures associated with one contract or set of
related contracts, nor the holding, nor the maintaining of a
post office box within this State.  The specific intention of
this definition is to maintain consistency with Title 30,
Delaware Code, [section 2501(3)] “Resident Contractor”.

(J) "DIRECTOR" refers to the Director of the Division
of Employment and Training.

(K) "DIVISION" refers to the Division of Employment
and Training, Department of Labor, state of Delaware.

(L) "EMPLOYER" refers to any person or organization
employing an Apprentice, whether or not such person or
organization is a party to an Apprenticeship Agreement.

(M) "JOURNEYPERSON" refers to a worker who is
fully qualified as a skilled worker in a given craft or trade.

(N) “ON-SITE VISIT” refers to a visit from a
representative of the State of Delaware, Department of
Labor, Division of Employment and Training to the office
and/or the actual field job-site of the Sponsor, for the
purposes of inspecting and/or monitoring the progress and
training of the Registered Apprentice.  This monitoring may
include but is not limited to  interviewing the Apprentice and
the auditing of pertinent documents relative to the
maintenance and enforcement of the terms of the
Apprenticeship Agreement.

(O) "PROGRAM" refers to an executed apprenticeship
plan which contains all terms and conditions for the
qualifications, recruitment, selection, employment and
training of Apprentices, including such matters as the
requirements for a written Apprenticeship Agreement.

(P) "REGISTRANT OR SPONSOR" refers to any
person, association, committee or organization in whose
name or title the Program is (or is to be) registered or
approved regardless of whether or not such entity is an
Employer.  To be eligible, the Registrant or Sponsor must be
a “Delaware Resident Contractor” or hold and maintain a
“Delaware Resident Business License”.  The Registrant or
Sponsor must hold and maintain a permanent place of
business, not to include site trailers or other facilities serving
only one contract or related set of contracts.  To be eligible
to be a Registrant or Sponsor, Employer/Business,
association, committee or organization must have the
training program and an adequate number of Journey
persons to meet the ratio requirements as stated for that
particular apprenticeable occupation.

(Q) "REGISTRATION" refers to the acceptance and
recording of an Apprenticeship Program by the Delaware

Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship and
Training, as meeting the basic standards and requirements of
the Division for approval of such Program.  Approval is
evidenced by a Certificate or other written indicia
documentation.  Registration also refers to the acceptance
and recording of Apprenticeship Agreements thereof, by the
Delaware Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship
and Training, as evidence of the participation of the
Apprentice in a particular Registered apprenticeship
Program.

(R) "RELATED INSTRUCTION" refers to a formal
and systematic form of instruction designed to provide the
Apprentice with knowledge of the theoretical and technical
subjects related to his/her trade.

(S) "SECRETARY" refers to the Secretary of Labor.
(T) "STATE" refers to the state of Delaware
(U) “SUPERVISORY INSPECTION” shall mean the

same as “ON SITE VISIT”.

SEC. 106.3  ELIGIBILITY AND PROCEDURE FOR
STATE REGISTRATION

(A)  No Program or Agreement shall be eligible for
State Registration unless it is in conformity with the
requirements of this chapter, and the training is in an
apprenticeable occupation having the characteristics set forth
in SEC. 106.4 herein.

(B) Apprentices must be individually registered under a
Registered Program with the State of Delaware, Department
of Labor, Division of Employment and Training.  Such
registration shall be effected by filing copies of each
Agreement with the State. Sponsors registered with states
other than the State of Delaware shall not be construed as
being registered for State of Delaware Apprenticeship
Program Registration purposes.

(C)  The State must be properly notified through the
proper office Department of Labor, Division of Employment
& Training, Office of Apprenticeship & Training of
cancellation, suspension or termination of any Agreements,
(with cause for same) and of apprenticeship completions.
The State will attempt, where applicable, to verify the cause
of apprenticeship termination.
 (D) Approved Programs shall be accorded Registration,
evidenced by a Certificate of Registration.  The Certificate
of Registration for an approved Program will be made in the
name of the Program Sponsor and must be renewed every
four (4) years.

(E) Any modification(s) or change(s) to registered
standards shall be promptly submitted to the State through
the appropriate office no later than thirty (30) days and, if
approved, shall be recorded and acknowledged as an
amendment to such standards.

(F) The request for registration and all documents and
data required by this chapter shall be submitted in triplicate.
Individual Agreements shall be submitted to the State
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Apprenticeship and Training Office for Registration no later
than thirty (30) calendar days after the trainee has started
work in the registered Program.  Agreements submitted after
said time shall be considered a violation of the rules and
regulations and will not be honored.

(G) Under a Program proposed for Registration by an
Employer or Employer’s Association, where the standards,
collective bargaining agreement or other instrument provides
for participation by a union in any way in the operation of
the Program, and such participation is exercised, written
acknowledgment of a union agreement or “no objection” to
the Registration is required.  Where no such participation is
evidenced and practiced, the Employer shall simultaneously
furnish to the union a copy of its Program application.  In
addition, upon receipt of the application for the Program, the
State shall promptly send by certified mail to such local
union another copy of the Program application and together
with a notice that union comments will be accepted for thirty
(30) days after the date of the agency transmittal.

(H) Where the employees to be trained have no
collective bargaining agent, a program plan may be proposed
for Registration by an Employer or groups of Employers.

(I) A Program may be Registered  Sponsor may register
Programs in one or more occupations simultaneously or
individually with the provision that the Program Sponsor
shall, within sixty (60) days of Registration, be actively
training Apprentices on-the-job and related study must begin
within twelve (12) months for in each occupation for which
Registration is granted.  At no time shall an individual
Apprentice be employed in more than one (1) occupation,
nor signed to more than one (1) Apprenticeship Agreement
at any given time.

(J) Each occupation for which a Program Sponsor holds
Registration shall be subject to Cancellation if no active
training of Apprentices on the job has occurred within a
consecutive one hundred eighty (180) day period or if no
Related Instruction has begun within a twelve (12) month
period from the date of Registration or in any twelve (12)
month period during the duration of that Agreement.

(K)  Each Sponsor of a Program shall submit to an on-
site inspection or supervisory visit and shall make all
documents pertaining to the Registered Program available to
appropriate representatives of the Apprenticeship and
Training Office or designated service personnel upon
request.

(L) Each Sponsor shall be so routinely examined, by the
Office of Apprenticeship and Training,  at least annually, but
not more than every six (6) months, unless a specific
violation is suspected or a specific document is being
investigated.

(M) The Sponsor shall notify the State Registration
Agency of termination or lay-off from employment of a
Registered Apprentice or of the completion of the terms of
the Apprenticeship Agreement within thirty (30) calendar

days of such occurrence.
(N) The Sponsor shall notify the State of failure to

obtain and register the Apprentice in an approved course of
Related Instruction as stated and detailed on the
Apprenticeship Agreement within (30) calendar days of such
occurence.

(O) It shall be the responsibility of the Sponsor to
monitor the progress and attendance of the Apprentice in all
phases of training such as, but not limited to, on-the-job and/
or Related Training.

SEC.106.4 CRITERIA FOR APPRENTICEABLE
OCCUPATIONS     

An APPRENTICEABLE occupation is a skilled trade
which possesses all of the following characteristics:

(A) It is customarily learned in a practical way through
training and work on the job.

(B) It is clearly identified and commonly recognized
throughout the industry, or recognized with a positive view
towards changing technology or approved by the Delaware
Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship & Training.

(C) It involves manual, technical or mechanical skills
and knowledge which require a minimum of two thousand
(2,000) hours of on-the-job training, not including the time
spent in Related Instruction.

(D) It customarily requires Related Instruction to
supplement the on-the-job training.

(E) It involves the development of skills sufficiently
broad enough to be applicable in similar occupations
throughout the industry, rather than a restricted application
to the products or services of any one company.

SEC. 106.5  STANDARDS OF APPRENTICESHIP
The following standards are prescribed for a Program.
(A) The Program must include an organized, written

plan delineating the terms and conditions of employment.
The training and supervision of one or more Apprentices in
an apprenticeable occupation must become the responsibility
of the Sponsor who has undertaken to carry out the
Apprentice’s training program.

(B) The standards must contain provisions concerning
the following:

(1) The employment and training of the Apprentice
in a skilled occupation;

(2) an equal opportunity pledge stating the
recruitment, selection, employment and training of
Apprentices during their apprenticeships shall be without
discrimination based on: race, color, religion, national origin
or sex.  When applicable, an affirmative action plan in
accordance with the State’s requirements for federal
purposes must be instituted;

(3) the existence of a term of apprenticeship, not
less than one year or two thousand (2,000) hours consistent
with training requirements as established by industry
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practice;
(4) an outline of the work processes in which the

Apprentice will receive supervised work experience and on-
the-job training, and the allocation of the approximate time
to be spent in each major process;

(5) provision for organized related and
supplemental instruction in technical subjects related to the
trade.  A minimum of one hundred forty-four (144) hours for
each year of apprenticeship is required.  Such instruction
may be given in a classroom, through trade, industrial or
approved correspondence courses of equivalent value or in
other forms approved by the State Department of Labor,
Office of Apprenticeship & Training;

(6) a progressively increasing schedule of wage
rates to be paid the Apprentice, consistent with the skill
acquired which shall be expressed in percentages of the
established Journeyperson’s hourly wage;

(7) Minimum Wage Progression for 1 through 7
year Apprentice Program as follows:

1) 1 to 7 year programs
2) starting pay must be at least minimum wage
3) final period must be at least 85%
1 YEAR [OR] 2,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP

PROGRAM:
1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 85%

2 YEAR [OR] 4,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 51%
3rd 1,000 hours: 63%
4th 1,000 hours: 85%

3 YEAR [OR] 6,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 48%
3rd 1,000 hours: 57%
4th 1,000 hours: 65%
5th 1,000 hours: 74%
6th 1,000 hours: 85%

4 YEAR [OR] 8,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 46%
3rd 1,000 hours: 53%
4th 1,000 hours: 59%
5th 1,000 hours: 65%
6th 1,000 hours: 71%
7th 1,000 hours: 78%
8th 1,000 hours: 85%

5 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 45%

3rd 1,000 hours: 50%
4th 1,000 hours: 55%
5th 1,000 hours: 60%
6th 1,000 hours: 65%
7th 1,000 hours: 70%
8th 1,000 hours: 74%
9th 1,000 hours: 79%
10th 1,000 hours: 85%

6 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP
PROGRAM:

1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 44%
3rd 1,000 hours: 48%
4th 1,000 hours: 52%
5th 1,000 hours: 56%
6th 1,000 hours: 60%
7th 1,000 hours: 64%
8th 1,000 hours: 68%
9th 1,000 hours: 72%
10th 1,000 hours: 76%

    11th 1,000 hours: 81%
    12th 1,000 hours: 85%
7 YEAR [OR] 10,000 HOUR APPRENTICESHIP

PROGRAM:
1st 1,000 hours: 40%
2nd 1,000 hours: 43%
3rd 1,000 hours: 47%
4th 1,000 hours: 50%
5th 1,000 hours: 54%
6th 1,000 hours: 57%
7th 1,000 hours: 61%
8th 1,000 hours: 64%
9th 1,000 hours: 68%
10th 1,000 hours: 71%
11th 1,000 hours: 74%
12th 1,000 hours: 78%
13th 1,000 hours: 81%
14th 1,000 hours: 85%

(8) that the entry Apprentice wage rate shall not be
less than the minimum prescribed by State statute or by the
Fair Labor Standards Act, where applicable;

(9) That the established Journeyperson’s hourly rate
applicable among all participating Employers be stated in
dollars and cents.  No Apprentice shall receive an hourly rate
less than the percentage for the period in which he/she is
serving applied to the established Journeyperson’s rate
unless the Sponsor has documented the reason for same in
the individual Apprentice’s progress report and has
explained the reason for said action to the Apprentice and
Registration Agency.

In no case other than sickness or injury on the
part of the Apprentice, shall a Sponsor hold back an
Apprentice’s progression more than one period or wage
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increment without the written consent of the Administrator;
(10) That the established Journeyperson’s rate

provided for by the Standards be reviewed and/or adjusted
annually.  Sponsors of Programs shall be required to give
proof that all employees used in determining ratios of
Apprentices to Journeypersons shall be receiving wages at
least in the amount set for Journeypersons in their individual
program standards, or are qualified to perform as Journey
persons and must be paid at least the minimum
journeyperson rate; 

(11)  that the minimum hourly Apprentice wage
rate paid during the last period of apprenticeship not be less
than eighty-five (85) percent of the established
Journeyperson wage rate. Wages covered by a collective
bargaining agreement takes precedent over this section.
However, wages may not be below the State’s required
minimum progression.

(C)  The Program must include a periodic review and
evaluation of the Apprentice’s progress in job performance
and related instruction, and the maintenance of appropriate
progress records.

(D)  The ratio of Apprentices to Journeypersons should
be consistent with proper supervision, training and
continuity of employment or applicable provisions in
collective bargaining agreements.  The ratio of Apprentices
to Journeypersons shall be one Apprentice to each five (5)
Journeypersons employed by the prospective Sponsor.  More
restrictive ratios will be granted upon request. More liberal
ratios may be granted only after the requesting Sponsor has
demonstrated that the number of Apprentices to be trained
shall be in relation to:

(1) the needs of the plant and/or trade in the
community with consideration for growth and expansion;

(2) the facilities and personnel available for
training are adequate; and 

(3) a reasonable opportunity that employment of
skilled workers on completion exists.

The following ratios will be recognized as standard
for the trades of:

Apprentice up to Journeyperson
Carpenter 1 5
Plumber/Pipefitter 1 5
Sheet Metal Worker 1 4
Insulation Worker 1 4
Electrician 1 3

If a “collective bargaining agreement” exists and
stipulates a ratio of Apprentices to Journeypersons, it shall
prevail. Provided the Bargaining Ratio is not lower than the
State standard.

(E) At least forty (40) percent of all Apprentices
registered must complete training.  Apprentices who
voluntarily terminate their apprenticeships or employment
shall not be counted in reference to this section.  Programs
with fewer than five (5) Apprentices shall not be required to

comply with this part.
(F) A probationary period shall be in relation to the full

apprenticeship term with full credit toward completion of
apprenticeship.

(G) Adequate and safe equipment facilities for training
and supervision and safety training for Apprentices on the
job and in Related Instruction are required.

(H) The required minimum qualifications for persons
entering an Apprentice Program as defined n Section
106.2(C) must be met.

(I) Apprentices must sign an Agreement.  The
Agreement shall directly, or by reference, incorporate the
standards of the Program as part of the Agreement.

(J) Advance standing or credit up to one quarter 25%
OJT hours of the particular trade term in question for
previously acquired experience, training skills, or aptitude
for all applicants equally, with commensurate wages for any
accorded progression step may be granted.  The granting of a
greater amount of credit shall be set at the discretion of the
Administrator based on supportive documentation submitted
by the Sponsor.  In no case shall more than one half of the
particular trade term in question be granted unless the time in
question has been spent in any state or federally registered
program.

(K) Transfer of Employer’s training obligation through
the sponsoring Committee if one exists and as warranted, to
another Employer with consent of the Apprentice and the
Committee or Program Sponsors, with full credit to the
Apprentice for satisfactory time and training earned, may be
afforded with written notice to, and approval of, the
Registration Agency.

(L) These Standards shall contain a statement of
assurance of qualified training personnel.

(M) There will be recognition for successful completion
of apprenticeship evidenced by an appropriate certificate.

(N) These Standards shall contain proper identification
of the Registration Agency, being the Department of Labor,
Division of Employment & Training, Office of
Apprenticeship & Training.

(O) There will be a provision for the Registration,
Cancellation and Deregistration of the Program, and a
requirement for the prompt submission of any modification
or amendment thereto.

(P) There will be provisions for Registration of
Agreements, modifications and amendments, notice to the
Division of persons who have successfully completed
Programs, and notice of Cancellations, suspensions and
terminations of Agreements an causes therefore. 

(Q) There will be a provision giving authority for the
termination of an Agreement during the probationary period
by either party without stated cause.

(R) There will be provisions for not less than five (5)
days notice to Apprentices of any proposed adverse action
and cause therefore with stated opportunity to Apprentices
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during such period for corrective action. unless other
acceptable procedures are provided for in a collective
bargaining agreement.

(S) There will be provisions for a grievance procedure,
and the name and address of the appropriate authority under
the program to receive, process and make disposition of
complaints.

(T) There will be provisions for recording and
maintaining all records concerning apprenticeships as may
be required by the State or Federal law.

(U) There will be provisions for a participating
Employer’s Agreement.

(V) There will be funding formula providing for the
equitable participation of each participating Employer in
funding of a group Program where applicable.

(W) All Apprenticeship Standards must contain articles
necessary to comply with federal laws, regulations and rules
pertaining to apprenticeship.

(X) Programs and Standards of Employers and unions in
other than the building and construction industry which
jointly form a sponsoring entity on a multi-state basis and are
registered pursuant to all requirements of this part by any
recognized State apprenticeship agency shall be accorded
Registration of approval reciprocity by the Delaware
Department of Labor if such reciprocity is requested by the
sponsoring entity.  However, reciprocity will not be granted
in the Building and Construction industry based on Title 29
CFR 29 Section 12(b) unless a “memorandum of
understanding” has been signed by [an] individual state and
the state of Delaware.

SEC. 106.6 APPRENTICESHIP AGREEMENT
The Apprenticeship Agreement shall contain:
(A) the names and signatures of the contracting parties

(Apprentice and the program Sponsor or Employer), and the
signature of a parent or guardian if the Apprentice is a minor;

(B) the date of birth of the Apprentice;
(C) the name and address of the program Sponsor and

the Registrant;
(D) the Apprentice’s social security number; 
(E) a statement of the trade or craft which the

Apprentice is to be taught, and the beginning date and term
(duration) of apprenticeship;

(F) the number of hours to be spent by the Apprentice
in work on the job;

(G) the number of hours to be spent in Related and
Supplemental Instruction is recommended to be not less than
one hundred forty-four (144) hours per year;

(H) provisions relating to a specific period of probation
during which the Apprenticeship Agreement may be
terminated by either party to the Agreement upon written
notice to the Registrant;

(I)  provisions that, after the probationary period, the
Agreement may be suspended, canceled or terminated for

good cause, with due notice to the Apprentice and a
reasonable opportunity for corrective action, and with
written notice to the Apprentice and the Registrant of the
final action taken;

(J) a reference incorporating, as part of the Agreement,
the standards of the Apprenticeship Program as it exists on
the date of the Agreement or as it may be amended during
the period of the Agreement;

(K) a statement that the Apprentice will be accorded
equal opportunity in all phases of apprenticeship
employment and training without discrimination based on
race, color, religion, national origin, marital status, or sex, or
disability;

(L) a statement that, if an Employer is unable to fulfill
his obligation under his Agreement, the Agreement may,
with consent of the Apprentice and Committee, if one exists,
be transferred to another Employer under a Registered
Program with written notice of the transfer to the Registrant,
and with full credit to the Apprentice for satisfactory time
and training earned;

(M) the name and address of the appropriate authority, if
any, designated under the program to receive, process and
make disposition of controversies or differences which
cannot be adjusted locally or resolved in accordance with the
established trade procedure or applicable collective
bargaining provisions;

(N) a statement setting forth a schedule of work
processes in the trade or industry in which the Apprentice is
to be trained and the approximate time to be spent at each
process;

(O) a statement of the graduated scale of wages to be
paid the Apprentice and whether or not the required school
time shall be compensated;

(P) a statement that in the event the Registration of the
Program has been Canceled or revoked, the Apprentice will
be notified within fifteen (15) days of the event.

SEC.106.8 7  COMPLAINTS
(A) Any controversy or difference arising under an

Agreement which cannot be resolved locally, or which is not
covered by a collective bargaining agreement, may be
submitted by an Apprentice or his/her authorized
representative to the State Registration Agency for review.
Matters covered by a collective bargaining agreement,
however, shall be submitted and processed in accordance
with the procedures therein provided.

(B) The complaint shall be in writing, signed by the
complainant, and submitted by the Apprentice or his/her
authorized representative within sixty (60) days of receipt of
local decision.  The complaint shall set forth the specific
problem, including all relevant facts and circumstances.
Copies of all pertinent documents and correspondence shall
accompany the complaint.
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SEC. 106.8 RELATED INSTRUCTION REQUIREMENT
(I) (A)Regulations concerning Apprentices “attendance

and tardiness” policy for related instruction.
(1) A registered Apprentice who misses seven (7)

classes while enrolled in a related studies program at any of
the vocational schools in the three (3) counties of the State of
Delaware will be dropped from school.  This will result in
their Apprenticeship Agreement being terminated by their
Sponsor and/or State Registration Agency.

(2) An absence will result when an Apprentice
either arrives late or leaves early three (3) times. However,
School District Officials may bring to the Administrator’s
attention, individual cases that may have experienced
extenuating circumstances.  With the Administrator’s
approval, such individuals may be granted exemption from
this attendance policy.

(3) Courses of fewer sessions will be prorated.
Instructors will inform Apprentices of allowable absences.

(4) If you are a Registered Apprentice who is
enrolled through a trade union, trade society or any other
organization that stipulates attendance rules more stringent
than the above, then you are required to follow those
regulations.

(5) Related Instruction that is delivered through a
state approved “in-house program”, correspondence courses
or other systems of equivalent value will require the
Apprentice to produce a document detailing satisfactory
participation and completion.

SEC. 106.7 9  DEREGISTRATION BY STATE
(A) Deregistration proceedings may shall be undertaken

when the Program is not conducted, operated or
administered in accordance with the Registration standards
and the requirements of this chapter;

(B) Where it appears the Program is not being operated
in accordance with the Registered standards or with the
requirements of the chapter, the Administrator shall so notify
the Program Registrant in writing;

(C) The notice shall be sent by registered or certified
mail, return receipt requested, and shall state the
deficiency(s) or violation(s);

(D)  It is declared to be the policy of this State to:
(1) deny the privilege of operation of a Program to

persons who, by their conduct and record, have
demonstrated their indifference to the aforementioned
policies; and

(2) discourage repetition of violations of rules and
regulations governing the operation of Registered
Apprenticeship Programs by individuals, Sponsors, or
Committees against the prescribed policies of the State, and
its political subdivisions, and to impose increased and added
deprivation of the privilege to operate Programs against
those who have been found in violation of these rules and
regulations;

(3) deregister a Program either upon the voluntary
action of the Registrant by a request for cancellation of the
Registration, or upon notice by the State to the Registrant
stating cause, and instituting formal deregistration
proceedings in accordance with the provisions of this
chapter;

(4) at the request of Sponsor, permit the
Administrator to cancel the Registration of a Program by a
written acknowledgment of such request stating, but not
limited to, the following:

(a) the Registration is canceled at Sponsor’s
request and giving the effective date of such cancellation.

(b) that, within fifteen (15) working days of the
date of the acknowledgment, the Registrant must notify all
Apprentices of such Cancellation and the effective date that
such Cancellation automatically deprives the Apprentice of
his/her individual Registration.

(E) Any Sponsor who violates major provisions of the
rules repeatedly, as determined by the Administrator of
Apprenticeship and Training (three or more violations in any
given twelve month period), shall be sent a notice which
shall contain the violations and will inform the Sponsor that
the Program will be placed in a probationary status for the
next six (6) month period.  Any new major violations in this
period shall constitute cause for deregistration.  In such a
case, the Administrator shall notify the chairman of the
Apprenticeship and Training Council, who shall convene the
Council.  

The Sponsor in question will be notified of said meeting
and may present whatever facts, witnesses, etc., that the
Sponsor deems appropriate.  After said hearing, the Council
shall make a recommendation based on the facts presented to
the Secretary, as to whether the Program should be
deregistered.  The Secretary’s decision shall be final and
binding on the matter.

(F) Sponsors with fewer than three (3) violations shall
be sent a notice by registered or certified mail, return receipt
requested, stating the deficiencies found and the remedy
required and shall state that the Program will be deregistered
for cause unless corrective action is taken within thirty (30)
days.  Upon request by Registrant, the thirty (30) day period
may be extended for up to an additional thirty (30) day
period.

(G) If the required action is not taken within the allotted
time, the Administrator shall send a notice to the Registrant
by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested,
stating the following:

(1) this notice is sent pursuant to this subsection;
(2) that certain deficiencies were called to the

Registrant’s attention and remedial action requested;
(3) based upon the stated cause and failure of

remedy, the Program will be deregistered, unless within
fifteen (15) working days of receipt of this notice, the
Registrant requests a hearing;
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(4) If a hearing is not requested by the Registrant,
the Program will automatically be deregistered.

(H) Every order of deregistration shall contain a
provision that the Registrant and State shall, within fifteen
(15) working days of the effective date of the order, notify
all registered Apprentices of the deregistration of the
Program, the effective date, and that such action
automatically deprives the Apprentice of his/her individual
Registration.

SEC.106.9 10 HEARINGS ON DEREGISTRATIONS
(A) Within ten (10) working days of a request for a

hearing, the Administrator or his/her assignee designee, shall
give reasonable notice of such hearing by registered mail,
return receipt requested, to the Registrant.  Such notice shall
include:

(1)  the time and place of the hearing;
(2) a statement of the provisions of the chapter

pursuant to which the hearing is to be held;
(3) a statement of the cause for which the Program

was deregistered and the purpose of the hearing.
(B) The chairman of the Council on Apprenticeship and

Training or his/her designee shall conduct the hearing which
shall be informal in nature.  Each party shall have the right to
counsel, and the opportunity to present his/her case fully,
including cross-examination of witnesses as appropriate.

(C) The Administrator shall make every effort to resolve
the complaint and shall render an opinion within ninety (90)
days after receipt of the complaint, based upon the record
before him and an investigation, if necessary.  The
Administrator shall notify, in writing, all parties of [his the]
decision.  If any party is dissatisfied or feels that they have
been treated unfairly by said decision, they may request a
hearing by the Apprenticeship and Training Council. Those
provisions of the hearing process that are applicable shall be
followed and said Council shall make a determination on the
basis of the records and the proposed findings of the
Administrator.  This determination shall be subject to review
and approval by the Secretary, whose decision shall be final.

SEC. 106.10 11 REINSTATEMENT OF PROGRAM
REGISTRATION

A  Program deregistered pursuant to this chapter may be
reinstated upon presentation of adequate evidence that the
Program is operating in accordance with this chapter.  Such
evidence shall be presented to the Apprenticeship and
Training Council, which shall make a recommendation
based on said evidence, past records and any other data
deemed appropriate.  After such presentation, the Council
shall make a recommendation to the Secretary as to whether
the Program should be reinstated.  The Secretary’s decision
shall be final and binding.

SEC. 106.11 12 PROGRAM REGISTRATION DENIAL

Any proposed Sponsor may, within fifteen (15) working
days, request a hearing before the Apprenticeship and
Training Council.  If the proposed Sponsor requests a
hearing, the Administrator shall advise the chairman of the
Council, who shall convene the Council, for a hearing for the
purpose of making a determination on the basis of the record
and proposed findings of the Office of Apprenticeship &
Training.  This determination shall be subject to review and
approval by the Secretary, whose decision shall be final and
binding.

SEC. 106.12 13 AMENDMENT TO THE REGULATIONS
IN THIS PART

The Secretary may, at any time upon his/her own
motion or upon written request of any interested person
setting forth reasonable grounds therefore, and after
opportunity has been given to interested persons to present
their views, amend or revoke any of the terms of the
regulations contained in this part.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES 

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60
 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

Secretary’s Order No. 99-W-0055
Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) for Zinc 

in the White Clay Creek 
Date of Issuance:October 14, 1999

Effective Date of TMDL:  November 11, 1999

I. BACKGROUND

A public hearing was held on September 7, 1999, to
gather public comments on a proposed Total Maximum
Daily Load (“TMDL”) for zinc in the White Clay Creek.
Section 303(d) of the federal Clean Water Act (“CWA”)
requires each state to develop TMDLs for waters within their
jurisdiction which are not meeting applicable water quality
standards, even after the application of technology-based
pollution controls. 

Water quality monitoring performed by the Delaware
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (“DNREC”) and others has shown that the
concentration of zinc in the White Clay Creek, downstream
of Paper Mill Road in Newark, Delaware, occasionally does
not meet applicable water quality standards for zinc.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/water.htm
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Although zinc is an essential element for both aquatic life
and humans, excessive concentrations can adversely affect
aquatic life and human health.  Zinc concentrations in the
White Clay Creek are not high enough to adversely affect
people who drink water that is withdrawn from the White
Clay Creek.  Zinc concentrations do, however, occasionally
exceed water quality criteria designed to protect fish and
other aquatic life from the toxic affects of the metal. 

As set forth in Section 303(d) of the CWA, a TMDL is
composed of three components, including Waste Load
Allocations (“WLA”) for point source discharges, Load
Allocations (“LA”) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of
Safety (“MOS”) to account for uncertainties in the
relationship between pollutant loading and in-stream
concentrations.  In the case of the White Clay Creek below
Paper Mill Road, there are no permitted point source
discharges of zinc.  Therefore, there is no need to allocate
wasteloads to point sources.  Zinc does, however, enter the
White Clay Creek from nonpoint sources.  Nonpoint sources
that deliver zinc to the White Clay Creek include
background loading from the area of the White Clay Creek
watershed upstream of Paper Mill Road, as well as storm-
related inputs of contaminated soils and sediments
originating from the old National Vulcanized Fiber (“NVF”)
Company facility in Newark, Delaware.      

A TMDL was developed by the DNREC which
allocates among the above-noted nonpoint sources, while
reserving a small percentage (~ 2%) of the TMDL as a
Margin of Safety.  The actual numerical value of the TMDL,
6.73 pounds of zinc per day, was computed by multiplying
the critical 1Q10 streamflow by the applicable acute aquatic
life criterion.  Of the 6.73 pounds per day, 3.5 pounds per
day were allocated to the NVF Newark facility, 3.07 pounds
per day were allocated to the upstream background, and 0.16
pounds per day were allocated to the Margin of Safety.

At the September 7, 1999 hearing, staff from DNREC
submitted four (4) exhibits for the official record.  Those
exhibits included the proposed TMDL regulation as it
appeared in the August 1, 1999 Delaware Register of
Regulations; various public notices that announced the
public hearing and solicited input from the public; a
Technical Background and Basis Document prepared by
DNREC that details the basis of the TMDL; and a Biological
Assessment Report prepared by DNREC staff regarding the
White Clay Creek.  One member of the public provided oral
and written comments at the time of the hearing, and one
additional person submitted written comments for the record
prior to the deadline of September 14, 1999.   The
Department has prepared a Response Document that lists
each comment received along with the Department’s
response.  The four DNREC exhibits, the comments received
by the public, the written transcript of the hearing, and the
Response Document constitutes the full and official record
for this matter.  The Hearing Officer prepared his Report and

Recommendations dated October 14, 1999, which are also
expressly incorporated herein. 

II. FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

A. Findings
1. Proper notice of the proposed action and public

hearing was  provided as required by law.
2. Water quality monitoring has shown that the

concentration of zinc in the White Clay Creek, downstream
from Paper Mill Road in Newark, Delaware, occasionally
exceeds applicable water quality standards for zinc.

3. Section 303(d) of the CWA requires States to
develop a TMDL for waterbodies and pollutants for which
existing pollution controls are not sufficient to attain
applicable water quality standards.  

4. The zinc TMDL of 6.73 pounds per day is
designed to implement the applicable water quality standard
for zinc in the White Clay Creek from Paper Mill Road in
Newark, Delaware to the Creek mouth near Stanton,
Delaware.  

5. As required by Section 303(d) of the CWA,
TMDLs must include a total allowable load composed of 3
parts:  a wasteload allocation for point sources, a load
allocation for nonpoint sources, and a margin of safety to
account for uncertainties between zinc loading and resulting
in-stream zinc concentrations.  The zinc TMDL for the
White Clay Creek includes all of these required elements
except a wasteload allocation for point sources.  Since there
are currently no permitted point source discharges that add
zinc to the affected waterbody, the wasteload allocation for
permitted point source discharges is implicitly zero.  The
TMDL includes a load allocation of 3.5 pounds per day for
zinc released from the NVF Newark facility and a load
allocation of 3.07 pounds per day for zinc originating from
background sources located upstream from Paper Mill Road.
In addition to the 3.5 pound and 3.07 pound load allocations,
the TMDL also includes a margin of safety of 0.16 pounds
per day of zinc.  This small margin of safety is justified due
to the infrequent exceedances of zinc criteria that are
currently occurring.  In addition, an environmental cleanup
underway at the NVF Newark facility is expected to further
reduce criteria exceedances.   

6. The TMDL considers and accounts for critical
environmental conditions which occur in this waterbody.
The TMDL identifies the critical environmental conditions
as times of low stream flows, coupled with sporadic
stormwater runoff of zinc from the NVF Newark facility and
associated sediment transport in the Creek.  Furthermore, the
TMDL considers seasonal environmental variations through
the use of critical low flow conditions in the stream, which
occur during summer to fall drought periods.

7. In light of the few criteria exceedances
currently occurring in the White Clay Creek, and in
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consideration of the cleanup underway at the NVF Newark
facility, there is a reasonable expectation that this TMDL can
be met. 

8. As a part of this TMDL, the DNREC has
committed to develop a Pollution Control Strategy in concert
with affected parties and the interested public to guide
implementation of the White Clay Creek zinc TMDL.

9. Public comments on the proposed TMDL were
supportive overall.  The few concerns that were raised were
not sufficient to prompt changes to the proposed TMDL.   

10. Failure of DNREC to adopt the proposed
TMDL by December 31, 1999 will result in EPA action to
establish a Federal TMDL for zinc this waterbody by
December 31, 2000. 

B. Conclusion
Based on the record established in this matter, the

DNREC has a reasonable basis upon which to adopt the
TMDL regulation as proposed at the hearing.  

III. ORDER

In view of the findings and conclusions, it is hereby
ordered that the proposed TMDL as set forth in the record be
adopted in final form and that the regulatory promulgation
process move forward as required by law.

IV. REASONS

The record in this matter provides a reasonable basis to
support the DNREC’s proposed TMDL regulation, the
adoption of which is necessary to ensure that applicable
water quality standards are met in the affected waterbody for
zinc.

Nicholas A. DiPasquale
Secretary

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) for Zinc in the
 White Clay Creek, Delaware

Article 1.  The TMDL for zinc in the White Clay Creek shall
be 6.73 pounds per day, measured as total zinc.

Article 2.  The mass loading of zinc to the White Clay Creek
from the NVF, Newark facility  property (i.e., LANVF) shall

not exceed 3.5 pounds of zinc per day, measured as total
zinc.   

Article 3. The load allocation of zinc from the area upstream
of Paper Mill Road (i.e., LAup) shall be capped at 3.07

pounds per day, measured as total zinc.    

Article 4.  The margin of safety (MOS) for the TMDL listed
in Article 1 has been set at 0.16 pounds of zinc per day.  This
margin of safety (approximately 2% of the TMDL) reflects
the modest data set and the highly conservative approach
used to establish the TMDL, while at the same time
accounting for uncertainties associated with sediment
processes in the Creek. 

Article 5. DNREC has determined with a reasonable degree
of scientific certainty that water quality standards for zinc
will be met in the White Clay Creek once the mass loading
requirements of Articles 1 through 3 are met.

Article 6. Implementation of this TMDL Regulation shall be
achieved through the development of a Pollution Control
Strategy. The Strategy will be developed by DNREC in
concert with affected parties, the interested public, and the
Department’s ongoing Whole Basin Management Program.
The manner in which the 3.5 pounds per day that is noted in
Article 2 above is achieved shall be one particular area of
focus as part of the Pollution Control Strategy.  The
Pollution Control Strategy will also consider how
monitoring will be conducted to verify compliance with the
TMDL.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Section 103 (7 Del.C. 103)

Amendment to Shellfish Regulation No. S-55-A
Order No. 99-F-0053

Summary of Evidence and Information

 29 Del.C. §10113 stipulates that certain regulations are
exempted from the procedural requirements of 7 Del.C.
Chapter 29, and may be adopted informally.  Specifically,
amendments to existing regulations to make them consistent
with changes in basic law but which do not otherwise alter
the substance of the regulation, may be adopted informally.

House Bill 206 was enacted in 1998 which, in effect,
changed the effective annual dates for all shellfish licenses
and permits from May 1 through April 30 to January 1
through December 31, (7 Del.C. §1916).  Shellfish
Regulation S-55-A, Horseshoe Crab Dredge Permit Lottery,
section (a) stipulates the annual date for accepting
applications (April 30) and the subsequent date (May 1) to
hold a lottery to select five individuals for horseshoe crab
dredge permits. These dates need to be changed to December
31and January 1 respectfully, to be consistent with the basic
law.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fw/fwwel.htm
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Findings of Fact

The Division of Fish and Wildlife, Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control is not
authorized to issue more than five horseshoe crab dredge
permits during any one calendar year (7 Del.C. §2703).
Accordingly, Shellfish Regulation No. S-55-A was adopted
to establish an annual lottery to draw five individuals from a
list of qualified applicants on the date corresponding to the
date a horseshoe crab dredge permit becomes effective.  The
effective dates for a horseshoe crab dredge permit have been
changed in the basic law from May 1 through April 30 to
January 1 through December 31.

Conclusion

Shellfish Regulation No. S-55-A, HORSESHOE CRAB
DREDGE PERMIT LOTTERY, should be amended to
change the date for accepting horseshoe crab dredge permit
applications from April 30 to December 31 and to change the
date for the lottery drawing from May 1 to January 1. 

Order

It is hereby ordered, this 5th day of October, 1999 that
an amendment to Shellfish Regulation No. S-55-A, copies of
which are attached hereto, are adopted pursuant to § 1902, 7
Del. C., to make Shellfish Regulation No.S-55-A consistent
with basic law. (7 Del.C. §1916)  This order shall become
effective on December 1, 1999.

Nicholas A. DiPasquale
Secretary

Be it adopted by the Department of Natural Recourses
and Environmental Control the following amendment to
Shellfish Regulation No. S-55-A.

Section 1.  Amend Shellfish Regulation No. S-55-A (a),
HORSESHOE CRAB DREDGE PERMIT LOTTERY by
striking the words “April 30” as they appear therein and
substitute the words “December 31” in lieu thereof.

Further amend Shellfish Regulation No. S-55-A (a) by
striking the words “May 1” as they appear therein and
substitute the words “January 1: in lieu thereof.

Section 2.  This amendment to Shellfish Regulation S-55-A
(a) shall become effective on December1, 1999.

S-55-A HORSESHOE CRAB DREDGE PERMIT
LOTTERY

(a) The Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control shall hold an annual lottery to select
eligible individuals for the five horseshoe crab dredge

permits authorized to be issued each year if more that five
applications are received by the Department.  Applications
for an annual commercial horseshoe crab permit shall be
accepted by the Department until 4:30 PM April 30
December 31 or 4:30 PM on the Friday preceding if April 30
December 31 is a Saturday or Sunday.  If an annual lottery is
necessary it shall be conducted at 1:00 PM on May 1 January
1 or the first work day thereafter, in the Richardson and
Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware.”

(b) To be eligible an applicant for a horseshoe crab
dredge permit shall be the current owner and operator of an
oyster vessel licensed to transplant oysters from natural
oyster beds according to procedures in Shellfish Regulation
No. S-37 OYSTER VESSEL LICENSING FOR
TRANSPLANTING OYSTERS FROM NATURAL
OYSTER BEDS.”

Note:  This regulation was adopted by order of the Secretary
on March 4,  1997, as “S-55.” However with the adoption of
a second S-55 (“Horseshoe Crab Dredging Restrictions”) on
February 11,  1998, this regulation has been designated as
“S-55-A.”

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
OFFICE OF THE STATE BANKING 

COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority:  5 Delaware Code,
Section 121(b) (5 Del.C. 121(b))

Order Adopting Amended Regulations
5.2112.0001, 5.2111(a).0002, 5.2115.0003, 5.2113.0004, 

5.2111(b).0005, 5.2213.0002, 5.2218/2231.0003, 
5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001, 5.2906(e)/122(b).0001, 

5.2906(e).0002, 5.2906(e).0003 AND 5.3404/3409.0001

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, this 14th day of October,
1999, that amended regulations 5.2112.0001,
5.2111(a).0002, 5.2115.0003, 5.2113.0004, 5.2111(b).0005,
5.2213.0002, 5.2218/2231.0003, 5.2210(e).0005,
5.2318.0001, 5.2906(e)/122(b).0001, 5.2906(e).0002,
5.2906(e).0003 and 5.3404/3409.0001 are adopted as
regulations of the State Bank Commissioner.  Copies of
amended regulations 5.2112.0001, 5.2111(a).0002,
5.2115.0003, 5.2113.0004, 5.2111(b).0005, 5.2213.0002,
5.2218/2231.0003, 5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001, 5.2906(e)/
122(b).0001, 5.2906(e).0002, 5.2906(e).0003 and 5.3404/
3409.0001 are attached hereto and incorporated herein by
reference.  Amended regulations 5.2112.0001,
5.2111(a).0002, 5.2115.0003, 5.2113.0004, 5.2111(b).0005,
5.2213.0002, 5.2218/2231.0003, 5.2210(e).0005,
5.2318.0001, 5.2906(e)/122(b).0001, 5.2906(e).0002,

http://www.state.de.us/sos/bank.htm
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5.2906(e).0003 and 5.3404/3409.0001 supersede previous
regulations 5.2102(b)/2112.0001, 5.2111(a).0002,
5.2115.0003, 5.2113.0004, 5.2111(b).0005, 5.2213.0002,
5.2218/2231.0003, 5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001, 5.2905(e)/
122(b).0001, 5.2905(e).0002, 5.2906(e).0003 and
5.3404.0001, respectively.  The effective date of amended
regulations 5.2112.0001, 5.2111(a).0002, 5.2115.0003,
5.2113.0004, 5.2111(b).0005, 5.2213.0002, 5.2218/
2231.0003, 5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001, 5.2906(e)/
122(b).0001, 5.2906(e).0002, 5.2906(e).0003 and 5.3404/
3409.0001 is November 12, 1999. Amended regulations
5.2112.0001, 5.2111(a).0002, 5.2115.0003, 5.2113.0004,
5.2111(b).0005, 5.2213.0002, 5.2218/2231.0003,
5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001, 5.2906(e)/122(b).0001,
5.2906(e).0002, 5.2906(e).0003 and 5.3404/3409.0001 are
issued by the State Bank Commissioner in accordance with
Title 5 of the Delaware Code.

Amended regulations 5.2112.0001, 5.2111(a).0002,
5.2115.0003, 5.2113.0004, 5.2111(b).0005, 5.2213.0002,
5.2218/2231.0003, 5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001, 5.2906(e)/
122(b).0001, 5.2906(e).0002, 5.2906(e).0003 and 5.3404/
3409.0001 are adopted pursuant to the requirements of
Chapters 11 and 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, as
follows:

1. Notice of the proposed amendments and the text of
amended regulations 5.2112.0001, 5.2111(a).0002,
5.2115.0003, 5.2113.0004, 5.2111(b).0005, 5.2213.0002,
5.2218/2231.0003, 5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001, 5.2906(e)/
122(b).0001, 5.2906(e).0002, 5.2906(e).0003 and 5.3404/
3409.0001 were published in the September 1, 1999 issue of
the Delaware Register of Regulations.  The Notice also was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on September 8, 1999 and mailed on or before that date to all
persons who had made timely written requests to the Office
of the State Bank Commissioner for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.  The Notice included,
among other things, a summary of the proposed amended
regulations, invited interested persons to submit written
comments to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner on
or before October 4, 1999, and stated that the proposed
amended regulations were available for inspection at the
Office of the State Bank Commissioner, that copies were
available upon request, and that a public hearing would be
held on October 4, 1999 in Room 112 of the Tatnall
Building, William Penn Street, Dover, Delaware 19901.

2. One written comment was received on October 1,
1999 from Christopher V. DiPietro, Executive Director of
the Mid-Atlantic Financial Services Association, Inc.  In this
letter, Mr. DiPietro requested that the proposed amendment
to regulation 5.2218/2231.0003 be changed to provide that a
written explanation submitted to the applicant at the time of
execution of the note, or mailed to the applicant prior to
execution of the note, would satisfy the requirement that a
copy of the regulation be provided to the applicant at the

time when the application was made, in cases when the
application was made telephonically.

3. A public hearing was held on October 4, 1999 at
10:00 a.m. regarding the proposed amended regulations
5.2112.0001, 5.2111(a).0002, 5.2115.0003, 5.2113.0004,
5.2111(b).0005, 5.2213.0002, 5.2218/2231.0003,
5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001, 5.2906(e)/122(b).0001,
5.2906(e).0002, 5.2906(e).0003 and 5.3404/3409.0001.  The
State Bank Commissioner, the Deputy Bank Commissioner
for Intergovernmental Affairs, the Administrator for Non-
Depository Institutions and Compliance, and the
Compliance Officer for the Office of the State Bank
Commissioner, and the Court Reporter attended the hearing.
No other person attended the hearing.  The State Bank
Commissioner and the Administrator for Non-Depository
Institutions and Compliance summarized the proposed
amended regulations for the record.  Mr. DiPietro's October
1, 1999 letter was marked as an exhibit to the hearing
transcript.  No other comments were made or received at the
hearing on the proposed amended regulations.

4. After review and consideration, the State Bank
Commissioner decided not to adopt the change suggested in
Mr. DiPietro's October 1, 1999 letter to proposed amended
regulation 5.2218/2231.0003.  With the exception of a
nonsubstantive change to proposed amended regulation
5.2218/2231.0003, by adding a reference to "facilities" to
section 3(c)(v) of that regulation, the State Bank
Commissioner decided to adopt amended regulations
5.2112.0001, 5.2111(a).0002, 5.2115.0003, 5.2113.0004,
5.2111(b).0005, 5.2213.0002, 5.2218/2231.0003,
5.2210(e).0005, 5.2318.0001, 5.2906(e)/122(b).0001,
5.2906(e).0002, 5.2906(e).0003 and 5.3404/3409.0001 as
proposed.

Robert A. Glen
State Bank Commissioner

Regulation No.:  5.2112.0001
[Proposed Effective Date: November 12, 1999]

MORTGAGE LOAN BROKERS OPERATING 
REGULATIONS
(5 DEL. C. §2112)

1. Application of Chapter
Chapter 21 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code governs

persons who broker extensions of credit secured by a first or
second mortgage on any one-to-four family residential
owner-occupied property intended for personal, family, or
household purposes.  Chapter 21 of Title 5 of the Delaware
Code does not apply to the brokering of commercial
mortgage loans, including a first or second mortgage on any
income producing property that does not fall into the



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 5, MONDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 1999

655

aforementioned definition.

2. Maintenance of Copies of Applicable Regulations 
All licensees shall conduct business in compliance with

Chapter 21 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, and all
regulations issued thereunder.  Each office licensed under
Chapter 21 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code shall maintain
copies of all applicable regulations.  These regulations
include:

• 5.2112.0001  -  Mortgage Loan Brokers Operating
Regulations;

• 5.2111(a).0002  -  Mortgage Loan Brokers
Minimum Requirements for Content of Books and
Records;

• 5.2115.0003  -  Mortgage Loan Brokers Itemized
Schedule of Charges;

• 5.2113.0004  -  Mortgage Loan Brokers Minimum
Disclosure Requirements;

• 5.2111(b).0005  -  Report of Delaware Loan
Volume;

• 5.2111/2210/2906.0006  -  Report of Delaware
Assets; and

• 5.141.0001.NC  -  Retention of Financial Institution
Records.

The manager and staff of each office shall familiarize
themselves with all of the aforementioned regulations.  The
licensee shall inform the Office of the State Bank
Commissioner if copies of the regulations are lost or
misplaced and replacements will be furnished.  Failure to
maintain the aforementioned regulations shall constitute a
violation of both §2111(a) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code
and this regulation.

3. Fees for Examination and Supervisory Assessment
Mortgage Loan Broker licensees are subject to

examination pursuant to §2110 of Title 5 of the Delaware
Code.  The costs of such examinations are assessed to the
licensees in accordance with §127(a) of Title 5 of the
Delaware Code..  A licensee shall remit payment not later
than 30 days after the date of the invoice for the fees for
examination.  In addition, the Commissioner assesses
annually each licensee a supervisory assessment, due and
payable on August 1 each year, as provided in §127(b) of
Title 5 of the Delaware Code. Failure of a licensee to remit
timely payment of the examination fee or supervisory
assessment will result in a penalty of 0.05 percent for each
day that the examination fee or supervisory assessment shall
remain unpaid after the due date, as provided in §127(a) and
§127(b) of Title 5 of the Delaware Code.

4. Representations at Mortgage Loan Closings
At no time shall a mortgage loan close in the name of

the mortgage loan broker except for the sole purpose of
satisfying requirements for VA government loans.

[Document Control No.:]

Regulation No.:  5.2111(a).0002
[Proposed Effective Date: November 12, 1999]

MORTGAGE LOAN BROKERS
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR CONTENT OF 

BOOKS AND RECORDS
(5 DEL. C. §2111(a))

Each licensed office shall establish and maintain the
following books and records, on a current basis, either at the
office of the licensed broker, or at a suitable location
available within a reasonable time period, upon request.
Written approval may be granted for variations that
accommodate individual accounting systems, including
automated and electronic record processing systems,
provided the objectives of this regulation are fulfilled.
Requests for such approvals must be in writing and shall
provide adequate information about the system to ensure that
the minimum record requirements are satisfied and provide
the required data on a current and readily available basis to
examiners, when requested.  The following records shall be
maintained in accordance with the time periods provided in
Regulation No. 5.141.0001.NC Retention of Financial
Institution Records.

1. Applicant Register  -  This record shall show the name
of the applicant, identifying file number, date application
was filed, name of lender, date of commitment, amount of
broker’s fee, and date fee was paid.  In the case of an
applicant denied credit, the register shall contain the name of
the applicant, identification number, date application was
filed and, if known, date application was denied and reason
for denial.

2. Individual Records of Applicant  -  A file of all
documents, invoices and/or other obligations for each
applicant shall be maintained and shall include the
following:

(a) Name and address of the applicant;
(b) Identifying number;
(c) Date of application/broker’s agreement;
(d) A copy of the mortgage loan broker agreement

containing original signature(s) of applicant(s), or a certified
copy thereof;

(e) A copy of all invoices or other evidence of
expenses incurred in connection with the mortgage loan
including, but not limited to, the property appraisal, title
certificate, and credit report;
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(f) A copy of all receipts provided to the applicant(s)
for amounts paid to the broker;

(g) A record of all fees collected by the broker in
accordance with Regulation No. 5.2115.0003 Mortgage
Loan Broker Regulations Itemized Schedule of Charges;

(h) Name of lender;
(i) Copy of the commitment;
(j) Date and amount of broker fee collected; and
(k) Evidence of any refunds and an explanation of the

refunds.

3. Record of Litigation  -  All files on applicants who
initiate litigation against the licensee or who are sued by the
licensee, shall be maintained in a separate litigation section
of the files and shall include the following:

(a) All original paper or a certified copy thereof;
(b) Date and terms of judgment.

4. Advertising  -  Copies of all printed or other advertising
materials circulated by the mortgage loan broker.

[Document Control No.:]

Regulation No.  5.2115.0003
[Proposed Effective Date: November 12, 1999]

MORTGAGE LOAN BROKER REGULATIONS
ITEMIZED SCHEDULE OF CHARGES

(5 DEL. C., §2115)

1. Notification - Every licensee shall make available for
review to every applicant, a copy of this regulation at the
time when such application is made.  Posting of this
regulation in the office of the licensee in a place both
prominent and easily visible to all potential applicants shall
satisfy this requirement.  An explanation as to the contents
and limitations contained herein shall satisfy this
requirement when transactions occur telephonically.  An
informational screen containing these limitations with an
affirmative acknowledgement by the consumer prior to
application shall satisfy this requirement for internet
transactions.

2. Fees Permissible for Collection Prior to Receipt of a
Written Commitment - In connection with the application for
credit and on behalf of the borrower, the following fees
subject to the limitations enumerated herein may be
collected prior to the receipt of a written commitment from a
bona fide lender:

(a) Property appraisal fees shall be limited to the
amount paid to a third-party for such appraisal and shall be
limited to those amounts that are customary and reasonable; 

(b) Credit report fees shall be limited to the actual cost

of the report, the amount of which was paid to a third-party.
Such amounts shall be customary and reasonable;

(c) Title examination fees and/or title insurance shall
be limited to those amounts actually expended for such
purposes.  Such amounts shall be customary and reasonable;

(d) Returned check charges may be assessed to
consumers, provided the amounts of such charges are
customary and reasonable for checks that are returned
unpaid;

(e) Other bona fide third-party fees actually and
reasonably paid or incurred on behalf of the borrower.  Such
other fees shall not be incurred without the express
permission of the borrower and shall be limited to amounts
actually paid or incurred.  Such amounts shall be customary
and reasonable;

(f) An application fee may be imposed in lieu of the
fees itemized above (excluding item d) provided the amount
of such application fee reasonably reflects the anticipated
amounts of all appropriate fees and amounts collected in
excess of such actual costs shall be refunded.  Those fees
which reasonably exceed the anticipated amounts shall be
payable by the borrower.

(g) Fees associated with the commitment of a specific
interest rate, to be held for a specified period of time, may be
collected in accordance with a signed rate lock agreement,
provided the fees are payable to the lender.

3. Fees Permissible for Collection Upon or After Receipt
of a Written Commitment or Pre-Approval and Prior to
Consummation of the Mortgage Loan

(a) Fees associated with loan commitments, if such
fees are required by the lender upon receipt of a written
commitment, provided the fees are payable to the lender.

(b) Fees that the lender may require in advance of a
loan closing, provided, however, that such fees are paid
directly to the lender or third-party provider.

(c) This section shall not prohibit the collection of fees
otherwise permitted under item 2 of this regulation, if such
fees are collected after receipt of a written commitment or
pre-approval.

4. Collection of Fees in the Name of the Mortgage Loan
Broker - Notwithstanding the limitations under items 2(g)
and 3, a mortgage loan broker may collect the fees
authorized in items 2(g) and 3 of this regulation, in the
mortgage loan broker’s own name, if required by the lender.

5. Fees for Mortgage Loan Broker Services - A fee may be
collected from a bona fide lender, in accordance with the
mortgage loan broker agreement, at closing or following the
recissionary period (for loans which qualify for recission
under the Federal Truth-in-Lending Act).  In no event shall
the aggregate points charged to the borrower exceed ten
percent of the principal amount of the loan.  Such point
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limitation shall apply to points assessed by the lender on the
lender’s behalf, together with points charged by the lender
on behalf of any other party to the transaction.  The total
compensation paid to a mortgage loan broker shall
reasonably reflect the value of the goods and services
provided.

[Document Control No.:]

Regulation No.:  5.2113.0004
[Proposed Effective Date: November 12, 1999]

MORTGAGE LOAN BROKERS
MINIMUM DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS

(5 DEL. C., §2113)

1. Advertising
When a licensed mortgage loan broker advertises with

respect to a mortgage loan, the advertisement shall clearly
and conspicuously state that the broker is a licensed
mortgage loan broker.

2. Written Agreement
The mortgage loan broker shall enter into a separate,

signed, written agreement with the potential borrower,
independent of the loan agreement.  The terms of such
agreement shall be disclosed to the potential borrower before
the payment of any nonrefundable fee. A copy of the
agreement shall be provided to the prospective borrower at
the time he signs the agreement.  The agreement shall
contain, at a minimum:

(a) The name of the mortgage loan broker;
(b) The name of the prospective borrower;
(c) The date of the agreement and the period for which

it shall remain in effect;
(d) A statement that the mortgage loan broker is not the

credit provider;
(e) A complete description of the services the mortgage

loan broker undertakes to perform for the prospective
borrower;

(f) A specific statement of the circumstances under
which the mortgage loan broker will be entitled to obtain or
retain consideration from the party with whom the mortgage
loan broker contracts;

(g) An estimate of the costs of the broker’s services
which may be expressed as a dollar amount or range together
with the maximum cost of services.  Such maximum cost
shall be expressed as follows:  “In no event shall the cost of
these services exceed _______.” Such amounts shall include
all compensation paid to the broker whether paid directly or
indirectly;

(h) A statement as to which fees are refundable and

nonrefundable and under what circumstances a fee may be
refundable; and

(i) A statement that the borrower may be entitled to the
refund of certain monies paid to the mortgage loan broker if
he exercises his right to rescind under the Federal Truth-in-
Lending Act.

[Document Control No.:]

Regulation No.:  5.2111(b).0005
[Proposed Effective Date: November 12, 1999]

REPORT OF DELAWARE LOAN VOLUME
(CHAPTER 21, TITLE 5 OF THE DELAWARE CODE)

This report shall be completed by all institutions
licensed under Chapter 21, Title 5 of the Delaware Code and
submitted to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner
twice each year.  The first report is due on or before July 31
and must contain figures from January 1 through June 30 of
the current year.  The second report is due on or before
January 31 and must contain figures from January 1 through
December 31 of the previous year.  In the event that you
fail to provide this information in the period requested,
you will be in violation of this regulation.  Additionally,
an examination will be scheduled, and staff allocated,
without respect to the volume of your Delaware business.
This may result in additional examination costs to you.

Licensees with multiple licensed locations, whose loan
files are serviced at a consolidated, centralized location, may
file a consolidated report.  Otherwise, a separate report must
be submitted for each licensed location.

1. Name of Licensee:
________________________________________________

2. Is this a consolidated report?Yes _____     No _____

3. License No.:__________(If consolidated, list all license
numbers): ________________________________________
________________________________________________

4. List the address where the loan files are maintained:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

5. Examination contact person’s name, title, phone number
and fax number:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
6. Please report the Delaware business conducted (number
of loans) in each of the following categories:
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Loans Placed, per agreement: ___________________
Total Dollar Value: ___________________
Loans Rescinded: ___________________
Applications Denied: ___________________

7. The period for which you are currently reporting is from
________ to _________.

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this report
is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.
________ ______________ __________________
Date Signature Title
_________________________ __________________

Printed Name Phone Number

[Document Control No.:]

Regulation No.:  5.2213.0002
[Proposed Effective Date: November 12, 1999]

LICENSED LENDERS MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS 
FOR CONTENT OF BOOKS AND RECORDS

(5 DEL. C. §2213)

Each licensed office shall establish and maintain the
following books and records, including automated and
electronic record processing systems, on a current basis,
either at the office of the licensed lender, or, at a suitable
location available within a reasonable time period, upon
request.  Written approval may be granted for variations that
accommodate individual accounting systems, provided the
objectives of this regulation are fulfilled.  Requests for such
approvals must be in writing and shall provide adequate
information about the system to ensure that the minimum
record requirements are satisfied and provide the required
data on a current and readily available basis to examiners,
when requested.  The following records shall be maintained
in accordance with the time periods provided in Regulation
No. 5.141.0001.NC Retention of Financial Institutions
Records:

1. Loan Register  -  This record shall show the account
number, date of loan, name of borrower, type of security,
contract rate or annual percentage rate, and amount of loan.
In the case of an applicant denied credit, the register shall
contain the name of the applicant, identification number,
date application was filed and, if known, date application
was denied and reason for denial.

2. Individual Accounts with Borrowers  -  A record or
ledger sheet shall be kept for each borrower and shall include
the following:

(a) Name and address of the borrower;

(b) Loan number;
(c) Face amount of loan;
(d) Date of loan;
(e) Rate of interest charges and the amounts of all

charges;
(f) Terms of repayment;
(g) Type of security;
(h) Where and to whom hypothecated;
(i) Names of endorsers, co-makers, guarantors, or

sureties;
(j) The actual date of receipt of payment of principal

and charges; and,
(k) Name of assignee of mortgage note.

In addition, the record or ledger sheet shall be kept in
such manner as to show at once the balance due on principal.

3. File of All Original Paper  -  (or copies thereof).  All
obligations and disclosure forms signed by the borrower and
taken in connection with loans made shall bear the loan
number, shall be maintained in one file, and shall be made
available to the examiners when requested. Such file, if
applicable, shall include evidence that a mortgage of record
has been appropriately removed.

4. Daily Transaction Record  -  All transactions involving
either the receipt or disbursement of any amount whatsoever
shall be recorded.  Details of disbursements to, or for the
account of, borrowers shall be itemized.

5. Record of Loans in Litigation and Repossessions  -  A
record of all loans in litigation, repossessions, or voluntary
surrenders shall be maintained either on the borrower’s
account record or a litigation record.  If a composite record
of such loans is not kept, the loans shall be maintained in a
separate litigation and repossession file.  The litigation and
repossession record shall disclose the following information:

(a) Loan number, original amount of loan and unpaid
balance;

(b) Type of security foreclosed, attached, replevined,
repossessed, or surrendered;

(c) Date and terms of settlement of account or, if after
judgment, prejudgment balance, current balance, unearned
charges credited to borrower’s account, and legal costs;

(d) Evidence that the terms of sale were fair to the
borrower, if the security was sold after repossession; and,

(e) Records of litigation accounts handled by attorneys
or corporate collection centers shall be maintained in the
branch office and should reflect a correct current balance.

6. Credit Insurance Claims Register  -  A credit insurance
claims register or file that is a record of all claims submitted
by borrowers to the insurer shall disclose the following:

(a) Date of claim
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(b) Amount of claim;
(c) Date and amount of payment by insurer or the date

of rejection and the reason therefor;
(d) Borrower’s name;
(e) Loan number;
(f) Reason for claim (i.e. death, illness, etc.);
(g) Proof of death;
(h) A copy of the check(s) issued by, or other record of

disbursement by, the insurance company in payment of life,
accident, health, or accident and health benefits; and,

(i) A copy of the check(s) issued by, or other record of
disbursement by, the insurance company to rebate unearned
insurance premiums, which result from pre-payment of the
loan or cancellation of the insurance.

7. In the event a loan is sold and no servicing performed,
only those items listed in item 6 available prior to such sale
shall be required.
[Document Control No.:]

Regulation No.  5.2218/2231.0003
[Proposed Effective Date: November 12, 1999]

LICENSED LENDERS REGULATIONS
ITEMIZED SCHEDULE OF CHARGES

(5 DEL. C. §§2218 AND 2231)

1. Notification   -   Every licensee shall furnish to every
applicant, a copy of this regulation at the time when such
application is made.  Posting of this regulation in the office
of the licensee in a place both prominent and easily visible to
all potential applicants shall satisfy this requirement.  An
explanation as to the contents and limitations contained
herein shall satisfy this requirement when transactions occur
telephonically.  An informational screen containing these
limitations with an affirmative acknowledgement by the
consumer, prior to application, shall satisfy this requirement
for internet transactions.

2. Interest
(a) A lender may charge and collect interest in respect

to a revolving credit plan or closed end loan at such daily,
weekly, monthly, annual, or other periodic percentage rate or
rates as the agreement governing the plan or loan provides,
or as established in the manner provided in such agreement.
Periodic interest may be calculated on a revolving credit plan
using any balance computation method provided for in the
agreement governing the plan. Periodic interest may be
calculated on a closed end loan by way of simple interest or
such other method as the agreement governing the loan
provides.

(b) If the agreement governing the revolving credit
plan or closed end loan so provides, the periodic percentage

rate or rates of interest may vary in accordance with a
schedule or formula.  Such periodic percentage rate or rates
may vary from time to time as the rate determined in
accordance with such schedule or formula varies and such
periodic percentage rate or rates, as so varied, may be made
applicable to all or any part of the outstanding unpaid
indebtedness or outstanding unpaid amounts.  In the case of
revolving credit, such rate shall become applicable on or
after the first day of the billing cycle that contains the
effective date of such variation.  In the case of closed end
loan transactions, such rate may be made applicable to all or
any part of the outstanding unpaid amounts on and after the
effective date of such variation.  Without limitation, a
permissible schedule or formula hereunder may include
provisions in the agreement governing the revolving credit
plan or closed end loan agreement for a change in the
periodic percentage rate or rates of interest applicable to all
or any part of outstanding unpaid indebtedness or
outstanding unpaid amounts, whether by variation of the
then applicable periodic percentage rate or rates of interest,
variation of an index or margin or otherwise, contingent
upon the happening of any event or circumstance specified
in the plan or agreement, which event or circumstance may
include the failure of the borrower to perform in accordance
with the terms of the revolving credit plan or loan
agreement. 

3. Additional Fees and Charges; Limitations   -   If the
agreement governing the plan or loan so provides, in
addition to, or in lieu of, interest at a periodic percentage rate
or rates permitted by Chapter 22, Title 5 of the Delaware
Code, the licensee may charge and collect the following fees
and charges, subject to the limitations provided below, in
respect to revolving credit plans or closed end loans:

(a) Revolving Credit   -   with respect to a borrower, a
lender may charge, collect, or receive one or more of the
following fees and charges under plans subject to the
provisions of Subchapter II, Chapter 22, Title 5 of the
Delaware Code:

(i) periodic charges   -   a daily, weekly, monthly,
annual or other periodic charge in such amount or amounts
as the agreement may provide for the privileges made
available to the borrower under the plan;

(ii) transaction charges   -   a transaction charge or
charges in such amount or amounts as the agreement may
provide for each separate purchase or loan under the plan;

(iii) minimum charges   -   a minimum charge in
such amount or amounts as the agreement may provide for
each daily, weekly, monthly, annual or other scheduled
billing period under the plan during any portion of which
there is an outstanding unpaid indebtedness under the plan;

(iv) fees for services rendered or reimbursement of
expenses   -  reasonable fees for services rendered or for
reimbursement of expenses incurred in good faith by the
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licensee or its agent in connection with such loan, including
without limitation, commitment fees, official fees and taxes,
premiums or other charges for any guarantee or insurance
protecting the licensee against the borrower’s default or
other credit loss, or costs incurred by reason of examination
of title, inspection, recording and other formal acts necessary
or appropriate to the security of the loan, filing fees,
attorney’s fees and travel expenses.  In the event a borrower
defaults under the terms of a plan, the licensee may, if the
borrower’s account is referred to an attorney (not a regularly
salaried employee of the licensee) or to a third party for
collection and if the agreement governing the revolving
credit plan so provides, charge and collect from the borrower
a reasonable attorney’s fee.  In addition, following a
borrower’s default, the licensee may, if the agreement
governing the plan so provides, recover from the borrower
all court, alternative dispute resolution or other collection
costs (including, without limitation, fees and charges of
collection agencies) actually incurred by the licensee;

(v) overlimit charges   -   a charge in such amount
or amounts as the agreement may provide, for each daily,
weekly, monthly, annual or other scheduled billing period
under the plan during any portion of which the total
outstanding indebtedness exceeds the credit limit established
under the plan;

(vi) delinquency charges   -   a late or delinquency
charge upon any outstanding unpaid installment payments or
portions thereof under the plan which are in default;
provided, however, that no more than 1 such late or
delinquency charge may be imposed in respect of any single
such installment payment or portion thereof regardless of the
period during which it remains in default; and provided
further, however, that for the purpose only of the preceding
provision all payments by the borrower shall be deemed to
be applied to satisfaction of installment payments in the
order in which they become due;

(vii)returned check charges   -   a returned check
charge may be assessed to consumers, in such amount or
amounts as the agreement may provide, provided the
amount(s) of such charges are customary and reasonable for
checks that are returned unpaid;

(viii)termination fees   -   a charge in such amount
or amounts as the agreement may provide to terminate a
revolving credit plan;   

(ix) charges incurred in connection with real estate
secured transactions  -   in the case of revolving credit
secured by real estate such additional charges as outlined in
item (3)(c) of this regulation may also be collected within the
limitations stated therein.

(b) Closed End Credit   -   with respect to a borrower, a
lender may charge, collect, or receive one or more of the
following fees and charges for loans subject to the provisions
of Subchapter III, Chapter 22, Title 5 of the Delaware Code:

(i) fees for services rendered or reimbursement of

expenses   -  reasonable fees for services rendered or for
reimbursement of expenses incurred in good faith by the
licensee or its agent in connection with such loan, including
without limitation, commitment fees, official fees and taxes,
premiums or other charges for any guarantee or insurance
protecting the licensee against the borrower’s default or
other credit loss, or costs incurred by reason of examination
of title, inspection, recording and other formal acts necessary
or appropriate to the security of the loan, filing fees,
attorney’s fees and travel expenses.  In the event a borrower
defaults under the terms of the loan, the licensee may, if the
borrower’s account is referred to an attorney (not a regularly
salaried employee of the licensee) or to a third party for
collection and if the agreement governing, or the bond, note
or other evidence of, the loan so provides, charge and collect
from the borrower a reasonable attorney’s fee.  In addition,
following a borrower’s default, the licensee may, if the
agreement governing , or the bond, note or other evidence of,
the loan so provides, recover from the borrower all court,
alternative dispute resolution or other collection costs
(including, without limitation, fees and charges of collection
agencies) actually incurred by the licensee;

(ii) deferral charges   -   a deferral charge may be
assessed to a borrower in accordance with an agreement to
permit the borrower to defer installment payments of a loan;

(iii) delinquency charges   -   if the agreement
governing the loan so provides, a late or delinquency charge
may be imposed upon any outstanding unpaid installment
payment or portions thereof under the loan agreement which
are in default; provided, however, that no more than 1 such
delinquency charge may be imposed in respect of any single
such installment payment or portion thereof regardless of the
period during which it remains in default; and provided
further that no such delinquency charge may exceed 5% of
the amount of any such installment or portion thereof in
default;

(iv) returned check charges   -   if the agreement
governing the loan so provides, a returned check charge may
be assessed to consumers, for checks that are returned
unpaid provided the amount(s) of such charges are
customary and reasonable;

(v) charges incurred in connection with real estate
secured transactions  -   in the case of closed end credit
secured by real estate such additional charges as outlined in
item (3)(c) of this regulation may also be collected within the
limitations stated therein.

(c) Real Estate Secured Transactions   -   with respect
to a borrower, a lender may charge, collect, or receive one or
more of the following fees and charges subject to the
limitations herein, for loans subject to the provisions of
Subchapters II (Revolving Credit) and III (Closed End
Credit), Chapter 22, Title 5 of the Delaware Code when such
loans are secured by real estate:

(i) loan origination points   -   points charged to
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the borrower on the lender’s behalf for any purpose other
than to reduce the periodic interest rate applicable to the
mortgage loan may not exceed 10% of the principal amount
of the loan.  Such points may be deducted from the gross
proceeds of the loan.  For purposes of this regulation “gross
proceeds” is the amount financed as defined in Federal
Reserve Regulation Z;

(ii) loan discount points   -   points charged to the
borrower as a function of rate for the purpose of reducing the
periodic interest rate applicable to the mortgage loan. Such
points may be deducted from the gross proceeds of the loan;

(iii) property appraisal fees   -   property appraisal
fees shall be limited to the amount paid to a third party for
such appraisal and shall be limited to those amounts that are
customary and reasonable;

(iv) credit report fees   -   credit report fees shall be
limited to the actual cost of the report if paid to a third party,
not an employee of the lender or affiliate.  Such amounts
shall be customary and reasonable;

(v) mortgage loan broker compensation fees   -
mortgage loan broker compensation may be deducted from
the gross proceeds of the loan.  Such amounts shall
reasonably reflect the value of the goods, services, and
[facilities] provided;

(vi) tax certification and service fees   -   fees for
agreements to provide certification of the current tax status
of the property as well as fees for ongoing monitoring and
notice to the lender of all tax and improvement lien
payments as they become due shall be limited to those
amounts actually expended for such purposes.  Such
amounts shall be customary and reasonable;

(vii)flood hazard certification or determination fees
-   determination fees may be charged for determining
whether the property is or will be located in a special flood
hazard area.  This fee may also include the cost of life-of-
loan monitoring.  Such amounts shall be customary and
reasonable;

(viii) title abstract/search/examination and title
insurance premiums   -   title insurance and/or cost of a title
certificate, search, examination and binder shall be limited to
those amounts actually expended for such purposes.  Such
amounts shall be customary and reasonable and may, at the
borrower’s discretion, include owner’s coverage in addition
to lender’s coverage;  

(ix) legal fees   -   legal fees incurred in securing or
closing a loan shall be limited to amounts actually paid to an
attorney not in the employ of the lender, its parent, or
affiliate, and such charges shall not exceed those which are
customary and reasonable;

(x) recording/satisfaction fees   -   recording/
satisfaction fees shall be limited to those actually expended
by the lender to any governmental authority for protection of
interest in collateral tendered.  The State Bank
Commissioner may approve the payment of alternative fees

for this purpose provided the amount of said fee (payable by
the borrower) shall not exceed the amount which would be
payable to any governmental authority for protection of
interest in collateral tendered;

(xi) property survey fees   -   property survey fees
to obtain a drawing that delineates the exact boundaries of a
property, including lot lines and placement of improvements
on the property, shall be limited to those amounts actually
expended for such purposes.  Such amounts shall be
customary and reasonable;

(xii)pest inspection fees   -   pest inspection fees to
cover inspections for termites or other pest infestation on the
property shall be limited to those amounts actually expended
for such purposes.  Such amounts shall be customary and
reasonable;

(xiii) fees incidental to loan closing   -   other fees
and charges including but not limited to: odd days interest,
hazard and mortgage insurance premiums, escrow reserves,
lender’s inspection fees, mortgage insurance application
fees, assumption fees, underwriting fees, document
preparation fees, settlement or closing fees, notary fees,
funding fees, fees for lead based paint or other inspections
and overnight mail fees may be charged and such amounts
shall be customary and reasonable;

(xiv) prepayment penalties   -  a charge in such
amount or amounts as the agreement so provides imposed in
connection with the payoff and termination of a revolving
credit plan or closed end loan secured by real estate;

(xv)  notwithstanding the provisions of item (3)(c)
of this regulation, Licensed Lenders who are making
mortgage loans pursuant to the rules, regulations, guidelines
and/or loan forms established by the State of Delaware or
federal governmental or quasi-governmental entity
(including, without limitation: the Federal Housing
Administration, the Department of Veterans Affairs, the
Farmers Home Administration, the Government National
Mortgage Association, the Federal National Mortgage
Association and the Federal Home Loan Mortgage
Corporation) shall be permitted to charge and collect any
fees, charges or sums prescribed to be charged and collected
in connection with a mortgage loan originated pursuant to a
lending program conducted or supervised by any such entity.

[Document Control No.:]
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Regulation No.:  5.2210(e).0005
[Proposed Effective Date: November 12, 1999]

REPORT OF DELAWARE LOAN VOLUME
(CHAPTER 22, TITLE 5 OF THE DELAWARE CODE)

This report shall be completed by all institutions
licensed under Chapter 22, Title 5 of the Delaware Code and
submitted to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner
twice each year.  The first report is due on or before July 31
and must contain figures from January 1 through June 30 of
the current year.  The second report is due on or before
January 31 and must contain figures from January 1 through
December 31 of the previous year.  In the event that you
fail to provide this information in the period requested,
you will be in violation of this regulation.  Additionally,
an examination will be scheduled, and staff allocated,
without respect to the volume of your Delaware business.
This may result in additional examination costs to you.

Licensees with multiple licensed locations, whose loan files
are maintained at a consolidated, centralized location, may
file a consolidated report.  Otherwise, a separate report must
be submitted for each licensed location.

1. Name of Licensee:
________________________________________________

2. Is this a consolidated report?Yes _____     No _____

3. License No.: __________(If consolidated, list all
license numbers): __________________________________

4. List the address where the loan files are maintained:   
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

5. Examination contact person’s name, title, phone number
and fax number:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

6. Please report the Delaware business conducted (number
of loans) in each of the following categories:

Loans Executed: ___________________
Total Dollar Value: ___________________
Loans Paid Off at Maturity: ___________________
Loans Paid Off Prior to Maturity:   _________________
Applications Denied: ___________________
Loans in Litigation: ___________________
Credit Life Insurance Claims: ___________________

Credit A & H Insurance Claims: __________________

7. The period for which you are currently reporting is from
_____ to_____.

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this report is
true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.
______ _______________ ___________________
Date Signature Title

_______________ ___________________
Printed Name Phone Number

[Document Control No.:]

Regulation No.:  5.2318.0001
[Proposed Effective Date: November 12, 1999]

REPORT OF DELAWARE SALE OF CHECKS, 
DRAFTS AND MONEY ORDERS VOLUME

(CHAPTER 23, TITLE 5 OF THE DELAWARE CODE)

This report shall be completed by all institutions
licensed under Chapter 23, Title 5 of the Delaware Code and
submitted to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner
twice each year.  The first report is due on or before July 31
and must contain figures from January 1 through June 30 of
the current year .  The second report is due on or before
January 31 and must contain figures from January 1 through
December 31 of the previous year.

In the event that you fail to provide this information in
the period requested, you will be in violation of this
regulation.  Additionally, an examination will be scheduled,
and staff allocated, without respect to the volume of your
Delaware business.  This may result in additional
examination costs to you.

1. Name of Licensee:  _____________________________

2. License No.:_______________

3. List the address where the books and records are
maintained: ______________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
4. Examination contact person’s name, title, phone number
and fax number:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

5. Please report the Delaware business conducted in each
of the following categories:
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Number of travelers checks/cheques sales:___________
Total dollar value: ____________
Number of money order sales: ____________
Total dollar value:  ____________
Number of times funds were transmitted:____________
Total dollar value of funds transmitted: ____________

6. The period for which you are currently reporting is from
_____ to_____.

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this report is
true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

________ _______________ ___________________
Date Signature Title
_________________________ ___________________

Printed Name Phone Number

[Document Control No.:]

Regulation No.:  5.2906(e)/122(b).0001
[Proposed Effective Date: November 12, 1999] 

MOTOR VEHICLE SALES FINANCE COMPANIES
MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR CONTENT OF 

BOOKS AND RECORDS
(5 DEL. C. §§122(b) and 2906(e))

Each licensed office shall establish and maintain the
following books and records, on a current basis, either at the
office of the licensed broker, or, at a suitable location
available within a reasonable time period, upon request.
Written approval may be granted for variations which
accommodate individual accounting systems, including
automated and electronic record processing systems,
provided the objectives of this regulation are fulfilled.
Requests for such approvals must be in writing and shall
provide adequate information about the system as to ensure
that the minimum record requirements are satisfied and
provide the required data on a current and readily available
basis to examiners, when requested.

(1) Retail Installment Contract Applicant Register   -   This
shall be a record showing the name of the applicant,
identifying file number, date application was filed, name of
lender, date of commitment, amount of lender’s fee, and date
fee was paid.  In the case of an applicant denied credit, the
register shall contain the name of the applicant,
identification number, date application was filed, date
application was denied and reason for denial.

(2) Individual Accounts with Borrowers   -   A record shall
be kept for each borrower and shall include the following:

(a) Name and address of the borrower;
(b) Loan number;
(c) Date of loan;
(d) Total amount of loan;
(e) Total sale price;
(f) Rate of interest charges and the amounts of all

charges;
(g) Terms of repayment;
(h) Description of motor vehicle;
(i) Where and to whom hypothecated;
(j) Names of endorsers, comakers, guarantors, or

sureties;
(k) The actual date of receipt of payment of principal

and charges; and,
(l) Name of assignee or purchaser of retail installment

contract.

(3) File of All Original Paper   -   (or copies thereof).  All
obligations and disclosure forms signed by the borrower and
taken in connection with loans made shall bear the loan
number, shall be maintained in one file, and shall be made
available to the examiners when requested.  Such file, if
applicable, shall include evidence that a retained title or lien
was released within the time period prescribed in Regulation
No. 5.2906(e).0002, Item (4).

(4) Daily Transaction Record   -   All transactions involving
either the receipt or disbursement of any amount whatsoever
shall be entered in this record.  Details of disbursements to,
or for, the account of borrowers shall be itemized.

(5) Record of Loans in Litigation and Repossessions   -   A
record of all loans in litigation, repossessions, or voluntary
surrenders shall be maintained either on the borrower’s
account record or a litigation record.  If a composite record
of such loans is not kept, the loans shall be maintained in a
separate litigation and repossession file.  The litigation and
repossession record shall disclose the following information:

(a) Loan number, original amount of loan and unpaid
balance;

(b) Description of motor vehicle, attached, replevined,
repossessed, or surrendered;

(c) Date and terms of settlement of account or, if after
judgement, the date and amount of judgement, prejudgement
balance, current balance, unearned charges credited to
borrower’s account, and legal costs;

(d) Evidence of the terms of sale if the security was
sold after repossession, such evidence including copies of all
bids or other offers received together with the purchaser’s
name and address, price, date of sale and cash or financing
terms.

(e) Evidence that notification of the time and place of
sale was sent to the borrower;

(f) Evidence of amount paid, if any, to third party
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repossessors; and,
(g) Records of litigation accounts handled by attorneys

or corporate collection centers shall be maintained in the
existing (principal or branch) office and should reflect a
correct current balance.

(6) Credit Insurance Claims Register   -   A credit insurance
claims register or file which is a  record of all claims
submitted by borrowers to the insurer shall disclose the
following:

(a) Date of claim;
(b) Amount of claim;
(c) Date and amount of payment by insurer or the date

of rejection and the reason therefor;
(d) Borrower’s name;
(e) Loan number;
(f) Reason for claim (i.e. death, illness, etc.);
(g) Proof of death;
(h) A copy of the check(s) issued by the insurance

company in payment of life, accident, health, or accident and
health benefits; and,

(i) A copy of the check(s) issued by the insurance
company, or other evidence of credit, which result from pre-
payment of the loan or cancellation of the insurance.

(7) In the event a loan is sold and no servicing performed,
only those items listed in item 6 available prior to such sale
shall be required.

[Document Control  No.:]

Regulation No.:  5.2906(e).0002
[Proposed Effective Date: November 12, 1999]

MOTOR VEHICLE SALES FINANCE COMPANIES 
OPERATING REGULATIONS

(5 DEL. C. §2906(e))

1. Application of Chapter
(a) Lease Contracts

(i) A lease contract is governed by Chapter 29 of
Title 5 of the  Delaware Code, when all of the following
exist:

(1) The lessee contracts to pay a sum
substantially equivalent or in excess of the value of the
motor vehicle for the use of the motor vehicle over the lease
term.

(2) The lessee is bound to become, or has the
option of becoming, the owner of the motor vehicle at some
time during, or at the expiration of, the lease contract.

(3) The value for which the motor vehicle is to
be sold at the end of the lease term is not payable in a single
installment (Cash Sale).

(ii) A lease contract is not governed by Chapter 29
of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, when any one of the
contract provisions described in 1.(a) (i), (1), (2), and (3) is
absent.

(b) For the purposes of Chapter 29 of Title 5 of the
Delaware Code, all ‘motor vehicles’ which meet the
definition contained in 5 Del. C. §2901(1), regardless of
whether the intended use is commercial or personal, fall
under the auspices of this chapter.

(c) If a trade-in is involved in a credit sale transaction
and the amount of the existing lien exceeds the value of the
trade-in, inclusion of the negative equity financing is
permissible under Chapter 29, Title 5 of the Delaware Code.
In a negative equity trade-in transaction where no cash
payment is involved licensees must disclose a zero down
payment and under no circumstances should the negative
equity be disclosed as a negative number as the consumer’s
down payment.  Any negative equity to be financed under
the retail installment sale contract should be disclosed under
the provisions of §2907(e)(4) and not §2907(e)(2) of Title 5
of the Delaware Code.

2. Maintenance of Operating Regulations for Motor
Vehicle Sales Finance Companies

All licensees shall conduct business in compliance with
Chapter 29 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code, and any
regulations issued thereunder.  Each office licensed under
Chapter 29 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code shall possess
copies of all applicable regulations.  These regulations
include:

• 5.2906(e)/122(b).0001   -   Motor Vehicle Sales
Finance Companies Minimum Requirements for
Content of Books and Records;

• 5.2906(e).0002   -   Motor Vehicle Sales Finance
Companies Operating Regulations;

• 5.2906(e).0003.  -  Report of Delaware Loan
Volume Motor Vehicle Installment Contracts;

• 5.2111/2210/2906.0006  -  Report of Delaware
Assets; and

• 5.141.0001.NC   -   Retention of Financial
Institution Records.

The manager and staff of each office shall familiarize
themselves with said regulations. Loss or misplacement of
regulations shall be made known to the Office of the State
Bank Commissioner and replacements will be furnished.
Failure to maintain the aforementioned regulations shall
constitute a violation of both 5 Del. C. §2906(e) and this
regulation.

3. Examination and Supervisory Assessment Fees
Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Companies licensees shall

be subject to examination pursuant to §122 of Title 5 of the
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Delaware Code.  The cost of such examinations shall be
assessed to the licensee in accordance with 5 Del. C.
§127(a).  A licensee shall remit payment not later than 30
days after the date of the invoice for the fees for the
examination.  In addition, the Commissioner shall assess
annually each licensee a supervisory assessment fee, due and
payable on August 1 of each year,  as provided in 5 Del. C.
§127(b).  Failure of a licensee to remit timely payment of the
examination fee or supervisory assessment will result in a
penalty of 0.05 percent for each day that the examination fee
or supervisory assessment shall remain unpaid after the due
date, as provided in §127(a) and §127(b) of Title 5 of the
Delaware Code.

4. Security Interest
A licensee shall take the necessary action(s), to release

or satisfy a retained title or a lien created by a retail
installment contract, within thirty days of the date the debt
secured by the motor vehicle is satisfied or performed.

5. Credit Life, Health, and Accident Insurance
(a) A licensee may request, but not require, an

individual borrower to be insured under a life, health,
accident, health and accident, or other credit or other
permissible insurance policy, whether group or individual.

(b) Any lender may offer credit life and health
insurance to qualified borrowers. Such insurance
transactions shall conform to all statutes of the Insurance
Code of the State of Delaware, as well as rules and
regulations of the Insurance Commissioner, as may from
time to time be prescribed.

(c) Every lender offering credit life and health
insurance, whose charges do not conform to those authorized
in the Insurance Commissioner’s Regulation No. 5, shall
maintain in each office a copy of a letter filed with the
Insurance Commissioner requesting the deviated rate, as
well as approval by the Insurance Commissioner of the rate.

(d) Credit life insurance refunds shall be calculated as
of the date of death.

(e) Credit health insurance payments received by the
lender shall be applied to the account for the period the
payment actually covers, regardless of the date of receipt.
Additional interest charges shall not accrue should payment
be received after the payment due date.

(f) The Office of the State Bank Commissioner shall
provide a copy of the Insurance Commissioner’s Regulation
No. 5, and any subsequent applicable regulations
promulgated, to each licensee.

6. Other Insurance
(a) Any licensee may require a proof of insurance

coverage for any loan secured by a motor vehicle.
(b) A licensee may offer, but not require, such other

insurance products as the State Bank Commissioner may,

upon written approval, permit.  No such insurance may be
offered, after January 1, 1992, without the State Bank
Commissioner’s written approval. Those insurances offered
prior to January 1, 1992 shall not require written approval,
provided such insurances were reported to the State Bank
Commissioner before February 10, 1993.

7. Borrower-Signed Authorization for Insurance
Any insurance authorized by these Rules and

Regulations must be supported by a specific request signed
by the borrower.  This request shall be attached to, or made a
part of, the application documents.

[Document Control No.:]

Regulation No.:  5.2906(e).0003
[Proposed Effective Date: November 12, 1999]

REPORT OF DELAWARE LOAN VOLUME
MOTOR VEHICLE INSTALLMENT CONTRACTS

(CHAPTER 29, TITLE 5 OF THE DELAWARE CODE)

This report shall be completed by all institutions
licensed under Chapter 29, Title 5 of the Delaware Code and
submitted to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner
twice each year.  The first report is due on or before July 31
and must contain figures from January 1 through June 30 of
the current year.  The second report is due on or before
January 31 and must contain figures from January 1 through
December 31 of the previous year.  In the event that you
fail to provide this information in the period requested,
you will be in violation of this regulation.  Additionally,
an examination will be scheduled, and staff allocated,
without respect to the volume of your Delaware business.
This may result in additional examination costs to you.

Licensees with multiple licensed locations, whose retail
installment contract files are maintained at a consolidated,
centralized location, may file a consolidated report.
Otherwise, a separate report must be submitted for each
licensed location.

1. Name of Licensee:  _____________________________

2. Is this a consolidated report?Yes _____     No _____

3. License No.: __________(If consolidated, list all
license numbers):    ________________________________

4. List the address where the retail installment contract
files are maintained:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
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________________________________________________
5. Examination contact person’s name, title, phone number
and fax number:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

6. Please report the Delaware business conducted (number
of contracts) in each of the following categories:

Contracts Executed: ___________________
Total Dollar Value: ___________________
Contracts Paid Off at Maturity:____________________
Contracts Paid Off Prior to Maturity:_______________
Applications Denied: ___________________
Contracts in Litigation: ___________________
Credit Life Insurance Claims: ___________________
Credit A & H Insurance Claims:__________________

7. The period for which you are currently reporting is from
_____ to _____.

I, the undersigned officer, hereby certify that this report is
true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

______ ______________ ___________________
Date Signature Title
________________________ ___________________

Printed Name Phone Number

[Document Control No.:]

Regulation No.:  5.3404/3409.0001
[Proposed Effective Date: November 12, 1999]

PRENEED FUNERAL CONTRACTS REGULATIONS
GOVERNING  REVOCABLE AND IRREVOCABLE 

TRUST AGREEMENTS
(5 DEL. C. §§3404 and 3409)

1. Annual Statements
At least once, annually, a licensee shall mail or deliver,

to each party for whom such licensee holds a preneed funeral
contract, a statement containing, at a minimum, the
following information:

(a) the previous balance in the trust account or the
beginning balance for the statement period;

(b) the number and amounts of payments received for
the statement period;

(c) the amount of accrued interest for the statement
period;

(d) the "ending" or total account balance for the
statement period; and

(e) the name and address of the financial institutions
where the trust deposit is held.

2. Disclosure Requirements for the Irrevocable Trust
Document

The trust document establishing the irrevocable trust
permitted by Section 3404 of Title 5 of the Delaware Code
shall contain, at a minimum, the following mandatory
provisions:

(a) A provision which expressly identifies the trust as
irrevocable for the lifetime of the beneficiary;

(b) A provision for the disposition of trust funds to an
alternate trustee upon discontinuation of business or inability
to provide goods or services by the original trustee in
accordance with the terms of the trust or a provision for the
transfer of trust funds, to a new trustee, at the consumer's
election;

(c) A provision that in the event funds paid into the
trust are inadequate, at the time of the death of the
beneficiary, to cover anticipated funeral expenses, the trustee
shall contribute all trust funds toward payment of the actual
funeral expenses for the funeral of the beneficiary;

(d) A provision that in the event the sum held by the
trust exceeds the total actual costs of the goods and services
for the funeral of the beneficiary, the excess funds shall be
paid to the estate of the beneficiary;

(e) A provision that the trustee may, from time to time,
accept periodic monetary contributions to the trust, provided
that the principal sum contributed, exclusive of interest
earned, shall not exceed $10,000;

(f) A provision which shall state "In no event shall the
principal amount of the trust exceed $10,000 plus interest."

[Document Control No.:]
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SIXTY-SEVEN

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND
GOVERNMENTAL UNITS OF THE STATE OF
DELAWARE.

RE: PROCLAMATION OF STATE OF
EMERGENCY DUE TO HURRICANE

WHEREAS, the National Weather Service and the
Delaware Emergency Management Agency predict that a
severe storm ("Hurricane Floyd") will hit the State of
Delaware beginning Thursday, September 16, 1999;

WHEREAS, Hurricane Floyd has skirted the East Coast
beginning with the northcentral coast of Florida and has
caused significant flooding, damage to property and has
forced the evacuation of nearly 2 million people;

WHEREAS, as of Tuesday, September 14, 1999,
Hurricane Floyd was a Category 4 storm, the second most
powerful storm of its kind;.

WHEREAS, current predictions indicate that Hurricane
Floyd will likely bring 5 to 10 inches of rain and up to 80
mph winds to Delaware, beginning as early as 10:00 a.m. on
Thursday, September 16, 1999; and

WHEREAS, Hurricane Floyd threatens major
destruction and damage to properties throughout the state;

WHEREAS, Hurricane Floyd may cause power outages
and dangerous road conditions and thereby threaten public
safety;

WHEREAS, as a result of this crisis and pursuant to the
authority vested in the Governor by virtue of Chapter 3 1,
Title 20 of the Delaware Code, as amended, it is necessary to
promulgate reasonable orders to protect the public health,
safety and welfare, and to bring the emergency situation
under control within the acknowledged limitations of the
powers of one governor of one state.
 NOW THEREFORE, I, Thomas R. Carper, by virtue of
the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby declare and proclaim a State of
Emergency for the entire State of Delaware, effective 8:00
a.m. on Thursday, September 16, 1999.  By virtue of this
State of Emergency, I direct and authorize that:

1. All resources of the State of Delaware shall be
made available to assist in the preparation, response and
clean-up activities as necessary in those areas affected by the
storm.

2. The Delaware National Guard is hereby activated to

assist in storm related response efforts to help alleviate the
emergency situation.

3. All campgrounds statewide are subject to
mandatory evacuation.

4. All schools are strongly encouraged to cancel
classes for Thursday, September 16, 1999.

5. Residents in low-lying areas are urged to evacuate.
6. Delaware residents are urged to stay informed via

media reports, prepare for possible power outages, remove
or otherwise secure outside objects that could become
projectiles in high winds and ensure an ample supply of food
and water.

7. The Delaware Emergency Management Agency
activate the State Emergency Operations Plan and the Relief
and Recovery Plan, and cooperate with the President of the
United States, the heads of the armed forces, the civil
defense agencies of the United States, and the Federal
Emergency Management Agency in making application, if
necessary, for relief and assistance for those towns and
communities adversely affected by the Hurricane Floyd
pursuant to the Relief and Recovery Plan of the State of
Delaware and any potentially applicable federal disaster or
emergency relief laws, including, but not limited to, the
Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act.

Approved this  15th day of September, 1999.

Thomas R. Carper, Governor

Attest:
Edward J. Freel, Secretary of State

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SIXTY-EIGHT

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND
GOVERNMENTAL UNITS OF THE STATE OF
DELAWARE.

RE: TERMINATION OF DROUGHT WARNING
AND OTHER RELATED ACTION.

WHEREAS, due to improved water supply, I issued
Executive Order Number Sixty-Six on September 8, 1999,
terminating the previously declared drought emergency for
northern New Castle County and declaring a drought
warning;

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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WHEREAS, although the improved water supply
alleviated the drought conditions to some extent, voluntary
conservation measures were still necessary and therefore a
drought warning urging continued conservation measures
was ordered;

WHEREAS, September 16, 1999, Delaware received
record rainfalls with six (6) to ten (10) inches of precipitation
as a result of Hurricane Floyd;

WHEREAS, as a result of Hurricane Floyd, stream
flows may now have reached record levels; and

WHEREAS, water supply conditions have now
improved to the point that a drought warning is no longer
necessary.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Thomas R. Carper, by virtue of
the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby declare and order as follows:

1. This Executive Order shall terminate the drought
warning previously declared for the State of Delaware
pursuant to Executive Order Number Sixty-Six.

2. All state agencies are encouraged to employ best
management practices for water conservation in agency
facilities.

3. All residents statewide are encouraged to practice
sound water conservation techniques in the interest of
avoiding unnecessary water usage.

4. The citizens of Delaware are to be commended for
the significant reductions in water demand achieved during
the drought emergency -- such efforts were critical to the
effective management of water supplies.

5. The provisions of this order shall be effective
Friday, September 17, 1999 at 10:30 a.m.

Approved this 17th day of September, 1999.

Thomas R. Carper, Governor

Attest:
Edward J. Freel, Secretary of State

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SIXTY-NINE

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND
GOVERNMENTAL UNITS OF THE STATE OF
DELAWARE.

RE: AMENDMENT TO EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER TWENTY-SEVEN, AS AMENDED
BY  EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER FIFTY-SIX
REGARDING THE CREATION OF THE
VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN ACT
IMPLEMENTATION COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, the Violence Against Women Act
Implementation Committee was created by Executive Order
in 1995; and

WHEREAS, under that Executive Order, the
Implementation Committee is charged with a number of
responsibilities related to the implementation of the Violence
Against Women Act, including making recommendations
for the distribution of funding available under that federal
legislation; and

WHEREAS, one of the committee's members recently
resigned.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, THOMAS R. CARPER, by the
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware,
do hereby declare and order that:

1. Executive Order Number Twenty-Seven, as
amended by Executive Order Number Fifty-Six is amended
by striking the text of paragraph number 3 and inserting in
lieu thereof the following:

“The Committee shall be comprised of the
following four individuals, representing relevant
State efforts to prevent violence against women: the
Honorable Vincent J. Poppiti, Chairperson of the
Domestic Violence Coordinating Council; the
Honorable Patricia M. Blevins, Vice Chairperson of
the Domestic Violence Coordinating Council; the
Honorable M. Jane Brady, Attorney General of the
State of Delaware and member of the Criminal
Justice Council; and Jennifer L. Barber, Deputy
Legal Counsel, Office of the Governor”.

Copies of this amendment to Executive Order Number
Twenty-Seven shall be distributed with copies of Executive
Order Number Twenty-Seven and Executive Order Number
Fifty-Six.

Approved this 13th day of October, 1999.

Thomas R. Carper, Governor

Attest:
Edward J. Freel, Secretary of State

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm


GOVERNOR’S APPOINTMENTS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 5, MONDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 1999

669

BOARD/COMMISSION      TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE        OFFICE

Authority on Radiation Protection Mr. Jacob Beutel 09/21/02
Mr. Michael A. Stemniski 09/21/02

Commission on National and Community Service Ms. Diane M. Kempski 10/20/00
Ms. Lisa F. Slinkard 10/04/02

Council on Apprenticeship and Training Mr. Thomas E. Archie 09/23/02

Council on Corrections Mr. Roger M. Levy 09/23/02

Delaware Bicycle Council Mr. John D. Baker 09/21/02
Mr. Daniel C. Lacombe 09/21/02

Delaware Commission on Veterans Affairs Mr. Lee R. Davis 10/30/01
Mr. Leon S. Stajkowski 09/23/03

Delaware Economic and Financial Advisory Council Mr. Robert H. Shrouds Pleasure of the
Governor

Delaware Emergency Medical Services Oversight Colonel John L. Cunningham
Council Dr. Glen H. Tinkoff, M. D.

Delaware Health Fund Advisory Committee Mr. Thomas S. Grabowski, Sr. Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Vivian M. Longo Pleasure of the
Governor

Dr. Calvin T. Wilson Pleasure of the
Governor

Delaware Health Resources Board Dr. Wilfred E. Kingsley 09/21/02
Mr. Jon C. McDowell 09/21/02
Mr. A. Herbert Nehrling, Jr. 09/21/02

Delaware Higher Education Commission Mr. Benjamin Cabell, Sr. Pleasure of the
Governor

Dover/Kent County Metropolitan Planning Mr. Horace W. Cook 09/28/01
Organization Mr. Donald L. Erhart 09/28/01

Farmland Evaluation Advisory Committee Dr. John C. Nye 09/14/02

Fire Prevention Commission Mr. Michael H. Vincent 09/21/05

Governor’s Council on Equal Employment Mr. Henry Smith Pleasure of the
Opportunity  Governor

Historical Records Advisory Board Dr. Barbara E. Benson 09/21/02
Mr. Howard P. Lowell 09/21/02
Mr. Lewis Purnell 09/21/02

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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BOARD/COMMISSION        TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE          OFFICE

Judicial Nominating Commission Mr. Gary F. Dalton 10/04/02
Ms. Norma Lee Derrickson 10/04/02
Mr. James Gilliam, Jr. 10/04/02
Dr. Joan T. Mobley 10/04/02
Ms. Marlene Samuel 10/04/02

Local Records Commission The Honorable George C. Wright, Jr. Pleasure of the
Governor

State Board of Pharmacy Mr. Belasco J.Bossard 07/01/02
Ms. Laura Yvonne Brown 07/01/02
Ms. Ruth B. Melvin 07/01/02

State Employees’ Charitable Campaign Steering Dr. Harriet N. Smith-Windsor Pleasure of the
Committee Governor

Ms. Donna P. Speed Pleasure of the
Governor

Tourism Advisory Board Ms. Norma Lee Derrickson 09/21/02
Ms. F. Kay Wheatley 09/21/02

Water Supply  Task Force Mr. J. Wayne Merritt Pleasure of the
Governor

Workforce Investment Board Mr. Daniel C. Barr Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable Lisa  Blunt-Bradley Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Julian H. Booker, Jr. Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable Anne Canby Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Alice Coleman Pleasure of the
Governor

Dr. William DeLauder Pleasure of the
Governor

Dr. Lozelle DeLuz Pleasure of  the
Governor

The Honorable Susan Frank Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Theresa Gallagher Pleasure of the
Governor

Dr. Orlando George, Jr. Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Thomas P. Gordon Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. J. Nathan Hill Pleasure of the
Governor
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BOARD/COMMISSION      TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE        OFFICE

Workforce Investment Board The Honorable James Hutchison Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Julio Juan Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable Vincent Lofink Pleasure of the
Governor

Dr. Dennis L. Loftus Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable Robert Marshall Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable Darrell Minott Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Sandy Reyes Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Harry J. Sanchez Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable James H. Sills, Jr. Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Doug Smith Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Robert Stickels Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable Gregg C. Sylvester, M. D. Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable Dennis Williams Pleasure of the
Governor

The Honorable Dallas Winslow Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Kermit B. Wooden Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Valerie Woodruff Pleasure of the
Governor  
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

PUBLIC HEARING NOTICE

The following Boards and Commissions under the
Division of Professional Regulation propose to hold a joint
public hearing pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10111:

• Board of Electrical Examiners
• Real Estate Commission
• Board of Accountancy
• Board of Professional Land Surveyors
• Board of Architects
• Board of Chiropractic
• Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
• Board of Dental Examiners
• Board of Nursing, 
• Board of Examiners in Optometry
• Board of Plumbing Examiners
• Examining Board of Physical Therapists
• Board of Podiatry
• Council on Real Estate Appraisers
• Board of Landscape Architecture
• Board of Examiners of Psychologists
• Board of Funeral Services
• Board of Veterinary Medicine
• Board of Examiners of Nursing Home

Administrators
• Board of Examiners of Speech/Language

Pathologists, Audiologists and Hearing Aid
Dispensers

• Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners
• Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health
• Board of Occupational Therapy Practice
• Board of Massage and Bodywork
• Committee of Dietetics/Nutrition.

The purpose of the hearing is to adopt regulations
pertaining to the Voluntary Treatment Option for
Chemically Dependent or Impaired Professionals in
accordance with 29 Del.C. §8807(n).  The public may obtain
copies of the proposed regulations from the Division of
Professional Regulation c/o Denise Spear, Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904
(302)739-4522 ext. 202.  A public hearing will be held on
December 1, 1999 at 1:00 p.m. in conference room A,
second floor of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd.,
Dover, DE.  The Division will receive and consider input in
writing from any person on the proposed Rules and
Regulations.  Any written comments should be submitted to
the Division in care of Denise Spear at the above address.

Final date to submit written comments shall be at the above
scheduled public hearing.

BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY & BARBERING

The Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
proposes to adopt a new regulation, pursuant to 24 Del.C.
§5106(14) and 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.  The purpose of the
proposed new regulation is to prohibit the use of methyl
methacrylate (MMA) in the practice of cosmetology, nail
technology and related professions.

A public hearing on the proposed regulation will be held
on Monday, November 29, 1999 at 9:30 a.m., in Conference
Room A, Second Floor, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Dover, Delaware.  The Board will receive and
consider input from interested people on the proposed new
regulation.  Oral comments will be received at the public
hearing.  Written comments must be submitted by December
1, 1999 and should be directed to the Board at its offices at
the Division of Professional Regulation, Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Suite 203, Dover, Delaware
19904-2467.

Anyone wishing to make oral comments or to obtain a
copy of the proposed regulation should contact Sheila
Wolfe, Administrative Assistant to the Board, by calling
(302) 739-4522 x 218.

BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del. C. Section 3506(a)(1), the
Delaware Board of Examiners of Psychologists proposes to
adopt a new Rule and Regulation.  The proposed revision to
the rules and regulations will change Section 5 by requiring
candidates to submit all application materials to the Board
for its review prior to the candidate sitting for the
examination.
 A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rule and
Regulation on December 6, 1999 at 10:00 a.m. in the Second
Floor Conference Room A, Cannon Building, 861 Silver
Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware.  The Board will receive
and consider input from interested persons on the proposed
rule and regulation, and individuals are urged to submit their
comments in writing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of
the proposed regulation, or to make comments at the public
hearing, should contact the Board’s Administrative Assistant
Gayle Franzolino by calling (302) 739-4522 Ext. 220, or
write to the Delaware Board of Examiners of Psychologists,
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P. O. Box 1401, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE
19903.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The Department of Education will hold its
monthly meeting on Thursday, November 18,
1999 at 2:00 p.m. in the Townsend Building,
Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

The Secretary of Finance proposes five new chapters for
the administration of the Education Expense and Property
Tax Relief Fund that are summarized below:

1. Adopt chapter 1 to specify the legislative source of
the regulatory authority of the Secretary of Finance.

2. Adopt chapter 2 to define more specifically terms
(county, school district, plan, residential, school board)
referenced in the statute.

3. Adopt chapter 3 to specify the duties of counties to
provide in a timely way data necessary for implementing the
statutory intent to school districts and the Secretary of
Finance.

4. Adopt chapter 4 specifying the reporting forms and
requirements of school boards and districts.

5. Adopt chapter 5 to specifying the duties of the
Secretary of Finance in supplying forms to school districts,
issuing refunds to taxpayers, complying the Internal
Revenue Code requirements, and paying the county
receivers of taxes for administrative costs.  

The Secretary of Finance proposes six new chapters for
the administration of the Elderly Property Tax Relief and
Education Expense Fund that are summarized below:

1. Adopt chapter 1 to specify the legislative
source of the regulatory authority of the Secretary of
Finance. 

2. Adopt chapter 2 to define more specifically terms
(county, school district, plan, principal residence, school
board) referenced in the statute.

3. Adopt chapter 3 to specify the duties of counties to
provide in a timely way data necessary for implementing the
statutory intent to school districts and the Secretary of
Finance, to include inserts in mailing of tax bills, and to

verify the primary residency status of persons making
application for tax credits from the Fund.

4. Adopt chapter 4 specifying the reporting forms and
requirements of school boards and districts.

5. Adopt chapter 5 to specify the duties of the
Secretary of Finance in supplying forms to school districts,
issuing refunds to taxpayers, complying the Internal
Revenue Code requirements, and paying the county
receivers of taxes for administrative costs. 

6. Adopt chapter 6 to specify the requirement for
qualifying persons 65 and over to make application for
eligible for the Program and to specify the deadline for
application.

The public may obtain copies of the proposed
regulations from the Office of the Secretary of Finance, 820
N. French Street, Wilmington, DE  19801 or by calling (302)
577-8987.  The Secretary of Finance will accept written
public comments from November 1, 1999 to November 30,
1999.

DIVISION OF REVENUE

DELAWARE STATE LOTTERY OFFICE

The Delaware Lottery Office proposes amendments to
Section 29 of the Regulations on Non-Discrimination of the
Basis of Disability to Delaware Lottery Programs.  The
amendments are summarized below:

1. Amend Rule 29(1) to add a new subsection (l)
which adds a definition for the term “technically infeasible.”

2. Amend Rule 29(6)(d) concerning the exemption for
Landlord refusal.  The proposed amendment revises the
exemption based on a landlord’s refusal to pay for
improvements required by the Lottery for the period of the
lease.

3. Amend Rule 29(6)(f) to add a new exemption for
“technical infeasibility”.

Copies of the existing regulations and proposed
regulations as amended may be obtained from the Delaware
Lottery Office, 1575 McKee Road, Dover, DE 19904-1903;
phone (302) 739-5291.  The contact person at the Lottery
Office is Brian Peters, Deputy Director of Marketing.  The
Commission will accept written comments from the public
from November 1, 1999 through November 30, 1999.  A
public hearing will be held at the Delaware Lottery Office,

2nd Floor Conference Room, 1575 McKee Road, Dover, DE
on November 30, 1999 at 3:00 p.m..

http://www.state.de.us/revenue/index.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

The Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) will
hold a public hearing to discuss proposed Delaware
Regulations for the Conrad State 20 / J-1 Visa Waiver
Program.  These proposed regulations describe the
requirements and procedures for an international medical
graduate (IMG) requesting State support for a J-1 visa
waiver.  DHSS is also proposing a new process for
supporting a J-1 visa waiver application.  These regulations
further enable DHSS, as good stewards of the program, to
use this authority to address the issue of physician
maldistribution and to help ensure better access to quality
health care services for the vulnerable populations of
Delaware.  

This public hearing will be held on November 30, 1999
at 2:00 PM in Room 309 of the Jesse S. Cooper Building,
Federal and Water Streets, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for
review by calling or writing the following:

Ms. Lisa Anderson
Health Systems Development Branch
Jesse Cooper Building, P.O. Box 637
Dover, DE  19903
Telephone: (302) 739-4787

Anyone wishing to present oral comments at this
hearing should contact Ms. Lisa Anderson at (302) 739-4787
by November 23, 1999.  Anyone wishing to submit written
comments as a supplement to, or in lieu of, oral testimony
should submit such comments by December 2, 1999 to:

Dave Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
PO Box 637
Dover, DE  19903

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid
Program is amending its eligibility policy manual.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 by November 30, 1999.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid
Program is amending its Durable Medical Equipment
Provider Manual, the General Policy Manual, Practitioner
Provider Manual and the Pharmacy Provider Manual.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to the Director, Medical Assistance Programs,
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, DE
19720 by November 30, 1999.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Register Notice  

1. Title of the Regulations:   
Regulation 36 -  Acid Rain Program

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
Title IV of the Clean Air Act, as amended by the Clean

Air Act Amendments of 1990, authorized the EPA to
establish the Acid Rain Program to reduce the adverse health
and ecological effects of acid deposition.  Delaware’s
Regulation No. 36 adopted the provisions of the Acid Rain
Program by reference, specifically citing the provisions of
Parts 72 through 78 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal
Regulations, dated July 1, 1995.  Subsequent to that date,
EPA has amended portions of Parts 72 through 78 of Title
40.  The purpose of this rulemaking is to adopt the

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dph/dphhome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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provisions of Parts 72 through 78 of Title 40 of the Code of
Federal Regulations, dated July 1, 1999.  Significant
revisions between the July 1, 1995 and July 1, 1999 versions
of Parts 72 through 78 include:

Parts 72 and 73 - Improving the operation of the
Allowance Tracking System while preserving the Clean Air
Act’s environmental goals.

Parts 72, 73, 74, 75, 77, and 78 – Improving and
streamlining the permitting, excess emissions, and appeal
procedure rules in order to reduce the burden on utilities,
permitting authorities, and the EPA while still ensuring
reduction of sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxide emissions.

Part 74 - Clarify and revise existing rules to promote
participation in the Title IV opt-in program for units that are
not otherwise required to participate in the Title IV program.

Part 75 – Clarify existing rules and provide increased
implementation flexibility for affected entities. The revisions
resolve certain monitoring issues as part of settlement
agreements related to the original rulemaking, and addresses
new issues raised by experience during the first three years
of implementation of the Part 75 monitoring requirements.

Part 76 - Establishes nitrogen oxides (NOx) emissions
limitations for certain coal-fired electric utility units and
revises NOx emissions limitations for certain other coal-
fired electric utility units.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action: 
None

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by the
Proposal:

None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
A public hearing on this regulation will be  held on

Tuesday, November 30, 1999, at 6:00 P.M. in the DNREC
Auditorium, Richardson and Robbins Building, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, Delaware.  

7. Prepared by: Robert Clausen  (302) 323-4542October
12, 1999

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

REGISTER NOTICE

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATION:
Shellfish Regulations: Restrictions on Collecting

Horseshoe Crabs

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

Commercial eel fishermen and their alternates are
authorized to collect horseshoe crabs by hand for their own
use as bait in eel pots.  Individuals with commercial
horseshoe crab collecting permits are authorized to collect
horseshoe crabs by hand for commercial use or for sale to
others.   It is proposed that commercial eel fishermen and
their alternates not be authorized to assist commercial
horseshoe crab collectors.

SFR No. S-58, HORSESHOE CRAB CONTAINMENT
AND TRANSPORTATION RESTRICTIONS has been
determined to be not enforceable.  Therefore, the restrictions
on containment and transporting horseshoe crabs are no
longer in effect.  SFR No-58 is proposed to be stricken.  

In order to insure that Delaware complies with the
FISHERY MANAGEMENT PLAN FOR HORSESHOE
CRABS and not exceed 350,000 horseshoe crabs per year
taken from Delaware’s beaches, additional restrictions are
proposed.  Commercial eelers and commercial horseshoe
crab collectors are proposed to be not allowed to assist each
other or commingle their harvest of horseshoe crabs.
Commercial eelers are proposed to be not authorized to
collect horseshoe crabs at night.  This is consistent with
other commercial shellfishermen not being authorized to fish
at night. It is also proposed to consider implementing a daily
limit on commercial horseshoe crab collectors if not having
containment or transportation restrictions leads to higher
harvest.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
If Delaware is found to be out of compliance with the

Fishery Management Plan for horseshoe crabs by the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, the fishery for
horseshoe crabs may be closed by the Secretary of the U.S.
Department of Commerce.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:

7 Del.C. § 2701

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fw/fwwel.htm
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Individuals may present their opinions and evidence
and/or request additional information by writing, calling or
visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE  19901, (302) 739-3441 prior
to 4:30PM.  A public hearing on these proposed amendments
to shellfish regulations on horseshoe crabs will be held in the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at 7:30
PM on Tuesday, December 14, 1999.  The record will
remain open for comments until 4:30 PM on December 17,
1999.

7. PREPARED BY:
Charles A. Lesser   (302)-739-3441October 6, 1999

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL

Please take notice, pursuant to 29 Del. C. Ch. 101 and 4
Del. C. Ch. 3, the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rule on
Thursday, December 16, 1999 at 12:15 p.m. in the Third
Floor Conference Room, Carvel State Office Building, 820
N. French Street, Wilmington, DE 19801.    The purpose of
this hearing will be to receive public comments on proposed
Rule 76 in order that the Commission may vote to adopt,
amend or reject said Rule at its December 16, 1999 meeting.
The Commission will receive and consider input in writing
from any person regarding proposed Rule 76.  Written
comments should be submitted to the Commission from
November 1, 1999 through November 30, 1999, to Donald J.
Bowman, Executive Secretary of the Delaware Alcoholic
Beverage Control Commission, at the above address.  For
copies of the proposed Rule, please contact Joanne Episcopo
at the above address or by calling (302) 577-5222.  To make
comments at the public hearing, please contact Donald J.
Bowman, Executive Secretary, at the above address or phone
number.

DEPARTMENT OF 
TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF PLANNING

The Delaware Department of Transportation
(Department) through its Division of Planning is seeking to
amend Rules and Regulations for Subdivision Streets with
the addition of Mobility Friendly Design Standards.

In the broadest sense and with regard to transportation,
Mobility Friendly Design Standards are roadway design
standards that promote greater use of transportation facilities
and service by bicyclists and pedestrians.  Such design
standards include, but are not limited to, the addition of
sidewalks and landscaped areas, narrower pavement widths,
and a requirement for greater connectivity within
developments.  The addition of these standards will directly
support the provisions of the Statewide Long Range
Transportation Plan, and county and local the transportation
and comprehensive land use plans that seek to promote more
traditional development patterns by giving greater emphasis
to bicycle and pedestrian access and mobility.

The Department will be accepting comments on the
draft Mobility Friendly Design Standards through December
2, 1999. Comments, as well as any questions or requests for
additional information should be directed to:

Joseph Cantalupo, Assistant Director of Planning
The Delaware Department of Transportation 
P.O. Box 778
Dover, DE  19903
(302) 760-2121 (telephone)
(302) 739-2251 (fax)
jcantalupo@.mail.dot.state.de.us

http://www.state.de.us/deldot/index.html
http://www.state.de.us/pubsafe/index.htm
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PUBLISHED MONTHLY - $120.00 PER YEAR

YES, PLEASE ENTER MY SUBSCRIPTION FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER AT $120/YEAR
You will be billed upon receipt of your order.   Subscription period runs from January to December. Mid-year
subscriptions will be prorated at $10 per issue. Back issues are available at $12 per issue. Subscription fees are non-
refundable. 

NAME ________________________________ ADDRESS ___________________________________

ORGANIZATION _______________________________________         CITY _______________________

PHONE _______________       STATE ___________   ZIP _____________    EMAIL __________________

 

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 5, MONDAY, NOVEMBER 1, 1999



Visit The Delaware General 
Assembly On The Web! 

 The General Assembly Website features:
! Current legislative information
! Information on both the Senate and House of Representatives
! Access the Delaware Code
! Access to the Delaware Register of Regulations
! Information on the legislative process
! Various reports and publications

The General Assembly Website is located at:
http://www.state.de.us/research/assembly.htm
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LEGISLATIVE BILL SUBSCRIPTION SERVICES

Order Form  (please print or type)

NAME ________________________________  ADDRESS __________________________________

ORGANIZATION _______________________     CITY _________________   FAX ______________

PHONE _____________      STATE ___________   ZIP _____________    EMAIL ________________

Please check the specific service(s) to which you wish to subscribe :

                    SERVICES                                                                                                       ANNUAL COST
One copy of all legislation introduced:

_ Picked up by subscriber *-  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $100
_ Mailed daily via First Class postage -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $775

One copy of all legislation signed by the Governor:
_ Mailed via First Class postage   -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $195

One copy of House and Senate calendars:
_ 1st Session set  -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $75
_ Picked up by subscriber *-  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $100
_ Mailed daily via First Class postage -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $775

One copy of all Governor’s Advisories:
_ Mailed via First Class postage   -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $25

Daily Legislative Agendas and weekly Standing Committee Notices:
_ Via Fax  -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $150

* Subscribers who choose to pick up their materials at Legislative Hall are requested to do so at least once a week, due to
limited on-site file space.  Thank you.

If you have any questions about our subscription services, please contact Ms. Ginny Potts in the Division of Research by
dialing, toll-free, (800) 282-8545 (in  state).  Ms. Potts may also be reached via E-Mail at vpotts@.state.de.us.  Please dial
(302) 739-4114 if you are calling from outside Delaware.

Please return this order form to Ms. Potts at P.O. Box 1401, Legislative Hall, Dover, Delaware, 19903, or fax it to (302) 739-
3895 as soon as possible.  (Don’t forget to make a copy for your own files).  You will be billed upon our receipt of your order.
Your service(s) will begin, promptly, when payment is received and the General Assembly convenes.  Thank you for using the
Subscription Services of the Division of Research.
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