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REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

3 DE Reg. 737 - 742 (12/1/99)

Refers to Volume 3, pages 737 - 742 of the
Delaware Register issued on December 1, 1999.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$120.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-739-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written
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evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,

no judicial review of a regulation is available
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER 

OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
 DATE             DATE        TIME

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

AUGUST 1 JULY 15 4:30 P.M.

SEPTEMBER 1 AUGUST 15 4:30 P.M.

OCTOBER 1 SEPTEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

William S. Montgomer , Director
Division of Research; Walter G. Feindt, Deputy
Director; Kathleen K. Amalfitano, Secretary;
Jeffrey W. Hague , Registrar of Regulations;
Maryanne McGonegal, Research Analyst; Ruth
Ann Melson, Legislative Librarian; Deborah J.
Messina, Print Shop Supervisor; Alex W. Mull,
Assistant Registrar; Deborah A. Porter ,
Administrative Secretary; Virginia L. Potts,
Administrative  Assistant; Barbara Ryan, Public
Information Clerk; Ted Segletes, Paralegal;  Don
Sellers, Printer; Thom Shiels, Legislative
Attorney; Marguerite P. Smith, Public
Information Clerk; Alice W. Stark , Legislative
Attorney; Mary Jane Starkey, Senior Secretary;
Marvin L. Stayton, Printer; Rochelle Yerkes,
Senior Secretary.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission
BLS Ambulance Provider/First Responder ........................................................................... .......3  DE Reg.   122     (Prop.)

3  DE Reg.   750     (Final)
Standard for the Marking, Identification and Accessibility of Fire Lanes, 

Exits, Fire Hydrants, Sprinkler and Standpipe Connections ......................................... .......3  DE Reg.    97       (Final)
NFPA Fire Codes & Standards, Incorporation by Reference................................................. .......3  DE Reg.  416       (Final)

Department of Administrative Services
Division of Professional Regulation

Board of Accountancy.................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  850     (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1121    (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1019   (Errata)

Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners...................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1143    (Prop.)
Board of Cosmetology and Barbering............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   573    (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1129    (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1197    (Final)

Board of Electrical Examiners........................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  522     (Final)
 3  DE Reg. 1023    (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1368    (Final)

Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators.................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.   486    (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1060    (Final)

Board of Examiners of Psychologists............................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.   576    (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg. 1067    (Final)

Board of Funeral Services............................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1308    (Prop.)
Board of Licensed Professional Geologists.................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1313    (Prop.)
Board of Massage and Bodywork................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1032    (Prop.)
Board of Nursing............................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   690    (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg. 1373    (Final)
Board of Pharmacy

Regulations I - Pharmacist, Licensure Requirements, II Grounds for
Disciplinary Proceeding, and V Dispensing..................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1133    (Prop.)

Regulation V(A)(7) & V(D)(3)(c), Dispensing....................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.       8    (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.     43    (Final)

Regulation VI- D, Pure Drug Regulations............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.       8    (Prop.)
Regulation XIV -  Administration of Injectable Medications................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.       8    (Prop.)

Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically Dependent or
Impaired Professionals............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.     571  (Prop.)

Delaware Gaming Board, Regulations Governing Bingo, Section 1.03(10)......................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   1147  (Prop.)
Merit Employee Relations Board, Chapter 20, Grievance Procedure................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     167  (Final)

Department of Agriculture
Delaware Pesticide Rules and Regulations............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   1035  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.   1322  (Prop.)
Farmland Preservation Program............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.     170  (Final)
Harness Racing Commission

Preference Dates, Chapter VII, Rule I-F......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     432  (Final)
Overnight Events, Chapter VI, Rule II-A-5.................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     432  (Final)
24 proposed amendments................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.     885  (Prop.)
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Thoroughbred Racing Commission
Appeals from Decisions of the Stewards, Rule 19.03(a)................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.     885  (Prop.)
Bleeders, Rule 10.04....................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     360  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.     754  (Final)

Bleeder Medication, Rule 15.02..................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     360  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.     754  (Final)

Requests for Continuances must be Filed with the Administrator
of Racing, Rule 19.06....................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.     885  (Prop.)

Department of Education
Accumulation of Annual Leave............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    709  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1392  (Final)
Administrative and Supervisor Personnel, Repeal of............................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  1165  (Prop.)
Administrator Contracts......................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    709  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1077  (Final) 
Career Guidance and Placement Counselors, Repeal of........................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  1174  (Prop.)
Certification for Speech Language Pathologist..................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1344  (Prop.)
Child Nutrition ...................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      10  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    524  (Final)
Children with Disabilities...................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    886  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1151  (Prop.)
Content Standards, 500.1....................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1052  (Prop.)
Credit for Experience for Administrators, Teachers and Secretaries..................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1173  (Prop.)
Deferred Compensation ........................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    363  (Rep.)

 3  DE Reg.    633  (Final)
Definitions, Public and Private School ................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    709  (Prop.)
Delaware Licensure for Teachers Holding National Board for Professional

Teaching Standards Certification.................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1149  (Prop.)
Delaware Student Testing Program........................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    687  (Errata)
Delayed Certification, Sub-Standard Certification, Provisional

Certificate, Repeal of...................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    709  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1076  (Final)

DSSAA Constitution & Bylaws, 29 amendments................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    435  (Final)
DSSAA Constitution & Bylaws, Rule 1 & 33....................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      11  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.   525   (Final)
Educational Programs for Students with Limited English Proficiency................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.   900   (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1054  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1341  (Prop.)

Employee Leave.................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1077  (Final)
Health Examinations for School District Employe e ........................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      13  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    526  (Final)
K-12 Comprehensive Health Education and Family Life

Education Policy............................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    717  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1073  (Final)

K-12 Guidance Programs....................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1175  (Prop.)
K-12 Guidance Programs, 500.13.......................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1053  (Prop.)
Maternity Leave, Repeal........................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    527  (Rep.)
Military Leave, Credit for Service in the Armed Forces....................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    361  (Prop.)

    3  DE Reg.    630  (Final)
Payment of Personnel under Various Programs..................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    492  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    755  (Final)
Payment Schedules for Contractual Programs/In-Service Education.................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    363  (Rep.)

 3  DE Reg.    633  (Final)
Payment of Teachers in Summer Programs in Vocational-Technical

School Districts............................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    363  (Rep.)
  3  DE Reg.    633  (Final)

Permanent File of School Districts........................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    709  (Prop.)
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Pre-referral of Enrolled Students for Special Education and/or Related
Services, Repeal.............................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    903  (Prop.)

Professional Employees Strikes............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    709  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1077  (Final)

Recruiting & Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular Area .................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    100  (Final)
Regulation for Charter Schools - Admission, Repeal............................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    492  (Rep.)

  3  DE Reg.    758  (Final)
School Crisis Response Plans................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    434  (Final)
School Food Service Employees............................................................................................ ....... 3  DE. Reg.  1173  (Prop.)
School Health Tuberculosis (Tb) Control Program............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    440  (Final)
School Safety Audit............................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    433  (Final)
School Transportation ........................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    588  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    942  (Final)
School Transportation Aides.................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  1150  (Prop.)
Services for Exceptional Children, Repeal............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    903  (Prop.)
Sick Leave ......................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    709  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1392  (Final)
State Salary Increase Adjustments for Changed Statu ......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    363  (Rep.)

 3  DE Reg.    633  (Final)
Student Testing Program........................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    364  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    582  (Prop.)
Substitute ......................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1174  (Prop.)
Supportive Instruction (Homebound).................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1338  (Prop.)
Teacher Work Day.................................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    709  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1077  (Final)
Teacher of the Year Award..................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    104  (Final)

Department of Finance
Administration of the Education Expense & Property Tax Relief Fund ............................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    597  (Prop.)
Division of Revenue

State Lottery Office
Definition of Technology Provider, Regulation 2.0................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    719  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.   1081  (Final)
Licensing Process for Technology Providers,

Regulations 4.1 and 4.2.................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    719  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1082  (Final)

Non-Discrimnation on the Basis of Disability in Delaware Lottery
Programs, Rule 29 ........................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    600  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    951  (Final)
Payment of Prizes, Powerball Game, Rule 23......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    126  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    523  (Final)
Requirements for Video Lottery Agent to File Financial Reports,

Regulation 8.2................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    720  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1083  (Final)

Requirements for Video Lottery Agents to File Copies of all Video
Lottery Related Contracts, Regulation 6.35..................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    720  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1083  (Final)
Technology Provider Duties, Regulation 5.11......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    720  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1082  (Final)
Tax Appeal Board, Rules & Regulations........................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    905  (Prop.)

Department of Health & Social Services
Division of Public Health

Conrad State 20 / J-1 Visa Waiver Program................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    603  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    956  (Final)

Delaware Trauma System Rules & Regulations............................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.      14  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    442  (Final)

Governing the Control of Communicable and other Disease Conditions  3  DE Reg.  1201  (Final)
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Metabolic Disorders & Establishment of Case Review Committee,
Regulations Defining .............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    529   (Final)

State of Delaware Food Code......................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    495   (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1393   (Final)

Office of Drinking Water
Regulations Governing Public Drinking Water Systems......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    197   (Final)

Division of Social Services
1115 Demonstration Waiver............................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    916  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1218  (Final)
Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP)...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1359  (Prop.)
DSSM 2023, Program Violations ................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    287  (Final)

DSSM 3002, Time Limit, Temporary Welfare Program................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    369  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    759  (Final)

DSSM 3002, Time Limit, Temporary Welfare Program, Withdraw of.......................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    443  (Final)
DSSM 3002, Exceptions to the Time Limit Counter...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    443  (Prop.)
DSSM 3031, Work for your Welfare.............................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    371  (Prop.)
DSSM 3032, Diversion Assistance................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    444  (Final)
DSSM 4006.1, Excluded Income................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1292  (Emer.)
DSSM 4006.1, Excluded Income................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1346  (Prop.)
DSSM 8030.1, Excluded Income................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1292  (Emer.)
DSSM 8030.1, Excluded Inccome.................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  1346  (Prop.)
DSSM 9059, Income Exclusions.................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    287  (Final)
DSSM 9059, Income Exclusions.................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1292  (Emer.)
DSSM 9059, Income Exclusions.................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1346  (Prop.)
DSSM 11003.7, Income Limits & Determination of Fees............................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    762  (Final)
DSSM 11003.7.2, Income Limits & Determination of Fees ......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    762  (Final)
DSSM 11003.7.7, Income Limits & Determination of Fees .......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)

  3  DE Reg.    762  (Final)
DSSM 11003.9.1, Countable Income............................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  1292  (Emer.)
DSSM 11003.9.1, Countable Income............................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  1346  (Prop.)
DSSM 11004.3, Income Limits & Determination of Fees............................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    762  (Final)
DSSM 11004.7, Determination of Child Care Fee......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      42  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    444  (Final)
 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    762  (Final)

DSSM 11004.7.1, Income Limits & Determination of Fees .......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    762  (Final)

DSSM 11004.7.11, Income Limits & Determination of Fees......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    762  (Final)

DSSM 13444, Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries (QMB).............................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1084  (Final)

DSSM 13445, Specified Low Income Medicare Beneficiaries (SLMB)....................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1084  (Final)

DSSM 13447, Qualifying Individuals ........................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1084  (Final)

DSSM 14433.2, Eligibility for State Funded Benefits (Nonqualified Aliens)............... ....... 3  DE Reg.    634  (Final)
DSSM 14710, Income..................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1292  (Emer.)
DSSM 14710, Income..................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1346  (Prop.)
DSSM 15430, Adoption Subsidy Children..................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1085  (Final)
DSSM 17300, Qualified Medicare Beneficiarie .......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1084  (Final)
DSSM 17300.3.2.5, Unearned Income .......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1084  (Final)
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DSSM 17300.3.3, Resources.......................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1085  (Final)

DSSM 17300.3.3.1, Excluded Resources....................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    616  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1085  (Final)

DSSM 17700, Qualified Disabled and Working Individuals.......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1058  (Prop.)
DSSM 18700.5, Cancellation of Coverage for Nonpayment of Premiums.................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    617  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1085  (Final)
DSSM 20100, Long Term Care Introduction ................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    617  (Prop.)
DSSM 20700, Home and Community Based Services .................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    617  (Prop.)
Durable Medical Equipment Provider Manual............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1020  (Errata)
Durable Medical Equipment Provider Manual, Nutrition Therapy................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    618  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    958  (Final)
Eligibility Confirmation.................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.  1360  (Prop.)
Eligibility Manual, 15400, Income................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    107  (Final)
Eligibility Manual, 16240, Composition of Budget Unit ............................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    107  (Final)
Eligibility Manual, A Better Chance, Delaware TANF Plan.......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    634  (Final)
General Policy Manual .................................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    277  (Final)

General Policy Manual, Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP)............... ....... 3  DE Reg.    620  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1021  (Errata)

General Policy Manual, Eligibility for DHCP................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    497  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    776  (Final)

Guaranteed Eligibility..................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1059  (Prop.)
Home Health Provider Manual, Assisted Living Medicaid Waiver Program................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    374  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    776  (Final)
Independent Laboratory Provider Manual...................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    127  (Prop.)

  3  DE Reg.    531  (Final)
Non-Emergency Medical Transportation Provider Policy.............................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    914  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1218  (Final)
Pharmacy Provider Manual, Drug Rebate Programs  3  DE Reg.    620  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1022  (Errata)
Pharmacy Provider Manual, Drugs Used for Cosmetic Purposes.................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    375  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    777  (Final)
Practitioner Provider Manual.......................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    277  (Final)
Practitioner Provider Manual, Pharmacy Services......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    620  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1022  (Errata)
Private Duty Nursing, HCBS Waiver and Assisted Living Manual............................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    278  (Final)

Department of Insurance
Regulation 56, Life & Health Submissions Regarding Acquired

ImmunodeficiencySyndrome (AIDS)............................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    288  (Final)
Regulation 82, Standards of Payment for Multiple Surgical Procedures............................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    636  (Final)
Regulation 83, Standards of Payment for Assistants at Surgery............................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    638  (Final)

Department of Justice
Delaware Securities Act, Rules 700, 701............................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1360  (Prop.)

Department of Labor
Division of Employment & Training

Apprenticeship & Training Rules & Regulations........................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      42  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    641  (Final)

Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control
Division of Air & Waste Management

Air Quality Management Section
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Delaware 1996 Periodic Ozone State Implementation Plan Emission
Inventory for VOC, Nox, and CO.................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    722  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    843  (Errata)
 3  DE Reg.  1220  (Final)

Delaware 1996 Milestone Demonstration for Kent and New Castle
Counties............................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    729  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1227  (Final)
Delaware On-Road Mobile Source Emissions Budgets for the Delaware, 

Phase II Attainment Demonstration................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    127  (Prop.)
Reg. No. 3, Ambient Air Quality Standards............................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    778  (Final)
Reg. No. 36, Acid Rain Progra ............................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    621  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    959  (Final)
Reg. No. 37, NOx Budget Program......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    376  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    779  (Final)
Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source

Categories, Subpart A....................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      51  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    445  (Final)

Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source
Categories, Subpart N....................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.      59  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    445  (Final)
Reg. No. 39, NOx Budget Trading Program........................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    129  (Prop.)
Reg. No. 40, Delaware’s National Low Emissions Vehicle Progra ...................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    532  (Final)
2002 Rate-of-Progress Plan for Kent & New Castle Counties................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.      65  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1236  (Final)
Waste Management Section

Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    534  (Final)
 3  DE Reg.  1362  (Prop.)

Division of Fish & Wildlife
Non-Tidal Fishing Regulations, NT-2, Bag Limits & Seasons...................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    748  (Prop.)

Shellfish Regulations
S-51, Seasons and Area Closed to Taking Horseshoe Crabs................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1177  (Prop.)
S-52, Requirement for Collecting Horseshoe Crabs for Persons Under 16............ ....... 3  DE Reg.    622  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1093  (Final)
S-53, Number of Persons Accompanying a Person with a Valid Horseshoe

Crab Collecting Permit..................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    623  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1093  (Final)

S-54, Possession Limit of Horseshoe Crabs, Exceptions........................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    623  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1093  (Final)
 3  DE Reg.  1177  (Prop.)

S-55, Horseshoe Crab Dredging Restriction .......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1178  (Prop.)
S-55A, Horseshoe Crab Dredge Permit Lottery...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    652  (Final)
S-57, Horshshoe Crab Reporting Requirements...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1178  (Prop.)
S-58, Horseshoe Crab Containment and Transportation Restrictions..................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    623  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1094  (Final)
S-61, Collecting Horseshoe Crabs at Night, Prohibited.......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    623  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1094  (Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 4, Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits

Season ..................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    737  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1088  (Final)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 6, Striped Bass Limits; Recreational Fishing
Seasons; Method of Take; Creel Limit; Possession Limit....................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    739  (Prop.)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 7, Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    739  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1089  (Final)
 3  DE Reg.  1306  (Emer.)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 10, Weakfish Size Limits; Possession Limits; Seasons............. ....... 3  DE Reg.    740  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.  1090  (Final)
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Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 23, Black Sea Bass Size Limits; Trip Limits; Seasons;
Quotas ..................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    740  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1090  (Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 25, Atlantic Sharks..................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    741  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1090  (Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 26, American Shad & Hickory Shad; Creel Limits................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    742  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.  1092  (Final)
Wildlife & Non-Tidal Fishing Regulations..................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    289  (Final)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-1,Definitions........................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    742  (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-4 Seasons, Diamondback Terrapin....................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    742  (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-6, Game Preserves................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    745  (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-14, Falconry......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    745  (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-15, Collection or Sale of Native Wildlife............................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    746  (Prop.)
Wildlife Regulations, WR-16, Endangered Species....................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    747  (Prop.)

Division of Water Resources
Land Treatment of Wastes.............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    445  (Final)
Surface Water Quality Standards ................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    311  (Final)
Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Regulation for zinc in the

Red Clay Creek........................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    163  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    806  (Final)

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Regulation for zinc in the
White Clay Creek.................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    164  (Prop.)

  3  DE Reg.    650  (Final)

Department of Public Safety
Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies 

Employment Notification........................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.  1364  (Prop.)
Firearm’s Policy....................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    960  (Final)
Personnel Rosters & Job Assignments.................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    961  (Final)
Uniforms, Patches, Badges, Seals, Vehicular Markings.......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    961  (Final)
Use of Animals........................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    963  (Final)

Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Rule 76, A Rule Governing Taxes Paid On Spirits......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    624  (Prop.)

Division of Motor Vehicles
Policy Regulation Number 45 Concerning Driver Improvement

Problem Driver Program.......................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1179  (Prop.)
Policy Regulation Number 90 Concerning Aggressive Drivers..................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.  1182  (Prop.)

Department of State
Office of the State Banking Commissioner

Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0002, Instructions for Preparation of 
Franchise Tax........................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    512  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    810  (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0005, Instructions for Preparation of 

Franchise Tax for Federal Savings Banks not Headquartered in thi
 State but Maintaining Branches in this State.......................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    515  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    812  (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.1101etal.0009, Instructions for Preparation of Franchise

 Tax for Resulting Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks............................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    517  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    815  (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2112.0001, Mortgage Loan Brokers Operating Regulations............. ....... 3  DE Reg.    403  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    654  (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2111(a).0002, Mortgage Loan Brokers Minimu
Requirements for Content of Books & Records...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    404  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    655  (Final)
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Regulation No. 5.2115.0003, Mortgage Loan Broker Regulations Itemized
Schedule of Charges................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    405  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    656  (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2113.0004, Mortgage Loan Brokers Minimum Disclosure

Requirements .......................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    406  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    657  (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2111(b).0005, Report of Delaware Loan Volume............................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    406  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    657  (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2213.0002, Licensed Lenders Minimum Requirements for
Content of Books & Records................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.    407  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    658  (Final)
Regulation No. 5.2218/2231.0003, Licensed Lenders Regulations Itemized

Schedule of Charges................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    408  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    659  (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2210(e).0005, Report of Delaware Loan Volume............................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    411  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    662  (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2318.0001, Report of Delaware Sale of Checks, Drafts 
Money Orders Volume............................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    411  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    662  (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2906(e)/122(b).0001, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance

Companies Minimum Requirements for Content of Books & Records.................. ....... 3  DE Reg.    412  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.    663  (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.2906(e).0002, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Companies
 Operating Regulations............................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.    413  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.    664  (Final)
Regulation No.: 5.2906(e).0003, Report of Delaware Loan Volume Motor

Vehicle Installment Contracts.................................................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.   414  (Prop.)
 3  DE Reg.   665  (Final)

Regulation No.: 5.3404/3409.0001, Preneed Funeral Contracts Regulations 
Governing Revocable & Irrevocable Trust Agreements......................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   415  (Prop.)

 3  DE Reg.   666  (Final)

Department of Transportation
Statewide Access Management Policy & Statewide Classification Maps............................. ....... 3  DE Reg.   916  (Prop.)
Subdivision Streets, Mobility Friendly Design Standards .................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   624  (Prop.)

Governor’s Office
Appointments & Nominations............................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   111

 3  DE Reg.   341
 3  DE Reg.   457
 3  DE Reg.   552
 3  DE Reg.   669
 3  DE Reg.   820
 3  DE Reg.   966
 3  DE Reg. 1099
 3  DE Reg. 1270
 3  DE Reg. 1401

Executive Order No. 61, Declaration of Drought Warning;  Extending Voluntary
Water Conservation Measures; and Other Related Item ............................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   453

Executive Order No. 62, Proclamation of State of Emergency Due to Drought
Emergency; Issuing an Emergency Order Imposing Mandatory
Related Action................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   454

Executive Order No. 63, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62 Regarding the
State of Emergency due to Drought Emergency............................................................. ....... 3  DE Reg.   546

Executive Order No. 64, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62, as Amended
by Executive Order No. 63, Regarding the State of Emergency due to Drought
Emergency ..................................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   546
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Executive Order No. 65, Amendment to Executive Order No. 62, as Amended by 
Executive Order No. 63 and Executive Order No. 64;  Regarding the State of 
Emergency due to Drought Emergency.......................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   547

Executive Order No. 66, Termination of State of Emergency Due to Drought; 
Repeal of  Mandatory Water Conservation Measures; Declaration of Drought
Warning; Extending Voluntary Water Conservation Measures; and Other
Related Action................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   550

Executive Order No. 67, Proclamation of State of Emergency Due to Hurricane ................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   667

Executive Order No. 68, Termination of Drought Warning and Other
Related Action................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   667

Executive Order No. 69, Amendment to Executive Order No.27 as Amended
by Executive Order No. 56 Regarding  the Creation of the Violence
Against Women Act Implementation Committee........................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   668

Executive Order No. 70, Amendment to Executive Order No. 27 Regarding the
Violence Against Women Act Implementation Committee............................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   964

Executive Order No. 71, Creating the Governor’s Building and Trade Council................... ....... 3  DE Reg.   964
Executive Order No. 72, State Employees and the Right to Organization and

Effective Union Representation...................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1095
Executive Order No. 73, Reallocation of State Private Activity Bond Volume

Cap for Calendar Year 1999 and Initial Suballocation of State Private
Activity Bond Volume Cap for Calendar Year 2000...................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1095

Executive Order No. 74, Implementation of the Recommendations of the Water
Supply Task Force;  Appointment of Temporary Water Coordinator;
Establishment of a Water Supply Coordinating Council................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg. 1096

Executive Order No. 75, Establishment of the Workforce Investment Board....................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1267
Executive Order No. 76, Amendment to Exec. Order No. 36 Regarding State

Employee Obligations & Compensation During Emergencies...................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1268
Executive Order No. 77, Creating the Electronic Government Steering Committee............ ....... 3  DE Reg. 1398
Executive Order No. 78, Establishing Temporary Goals for State Agencie

in Awarding Public Works Contracts & Making Changes to the
Membership of the Building & Trade Council............................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1399

Public Service Commission
Reg. Docket No. 4, Establishing the Minimum Filing Requirements  for all

Regulated Companies Subject to the Jurisdiction of the Public
Service Commission....................................................................................................... ....... 3  DE Reg. 1185  (Prop.) 

Reg. Docket No. 49, Creation of a Competitive Market for Retail Electric
Supply Service................................................................................................................ ....... 3  DE Reg.   538  (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, 
Section 122 (3)(u) (16 Del.C. 122(3(u))

*  P LEASE NOTE:  THE ORDER ADOPTING THE REVISION

TO THE DELAWARE FOOD CODE STATED THAT SECTION 8-
604.20 WAS BEING DELETED FROM THE FINAL RULE AND

THE SUBSEQUENT SECTIONS RENUMBERED.  THE APRIL

ISSUE OF THE  REGISTER OF REGULATIONS DID NOT

REFLECT THIS CHANGE.  THE FINAL ORDER ADOPTING

THE DELAWARE FOOD CODE IS REPRINTED IN ITS

ENTIRETY.

Adoption of State of Delaware |
Rules and Regulations Governing |
The State of Delaware Food Code |

Nature of the Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”)
initiated proceedings to adopt Rules and Regulations
Governing The State of Delaware Food Code.  The DHSS’s
proceedings to adopt regulations were initiated pursuant to
29 Delaware Code Chapter 101 and authority as prescribed
by 16 Delaware Code Chapter 1, Section 122 (3) (u).

On October 1, 1999 (Volume 3, Issue 4), DHSS
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice
of proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10115.  It requested that written materials and
suggestions from the public concerning the proposed
regulations be delivered to DHSS by November 1, 1999, or
be presented at public hearings on October 27 or October 28,
1999, after which time DHSS would review information,
factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed
regulations.

A summary of the comments is part of the
accompanying “Summary of Evidence.”

Findings of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed rules in Section
3-603.11 of the regulations, pertaining to Consumer
Advisory, shall not be adopted.  However, said section will
be reserved for future Consumer Advisory rules.

Exclusive of the proposed rules in Section 3-603.11 as
described above, the Department finds that the proposed
regulations as set forth in the attached copy should be
adopted in the best interest of the general public of the State
of Delaware. The proposed regulations include
modifications from those published in the October 1, 1999
Register of Regulations, based on comments received during

the public notice period.  These modifications are deemed
not to be substantive in nature.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
Rules and Regulations Governing The State of Delaware
Food Code are adopted as modified and excepting
amendments in Section 3-603.11.  Said regulations shall
become effective April 11, 2000 after publication of the final
regulation in the Delaware Register of Regulations. 

Gregg C. Sylvester, MD, Secretary
March 15, 2000

Summary of Evidence

State of Delaware Rules and Regulations Governing the 
State of Delaware Food Code

Public hearings were held on October 27, 1999, in the
Department of Transportation Southern District Office, in
Georgetown and in the Department of Transportation
Administration Building in Dover, and on October 28, 1999,
in the Carvel State Office Building, in Wilmington,
Delaware, before David P. Walton, Hearing Officer, to
discuss the proposed Delaware Health and Social Services
(DHSS) Rules and Regulations Governing The State of
Delaware Food Code. The announcements regarding all
public hearings were advertised in the Delaware State News,
the News Journal and the Delaware Register of Regulations
in accordance with Delaware Law.  Mr. Thom May, Director
of Community Environmental Health Services, and the
Office of Food Protection staff made the agency’s
presentation.  Attendees were allowed and encouraged to
discuss and ask questions regarding all sections of the
proposed regulations.  With few exceptions, public
testimony focused on the six national level problematic
issues between the food industry and the Food and Drug
Administration (FDA).  Those concerns and the DHSS
(Agency) response are as follows:

• Members of the food industry and the Delaware
Food Safety Council (DFSC) would like a 10 year
exemption versus a 5 year exemption as allowed in
the 1999 Food Code to replace refrigeration equip-
ment that does not meet the 41 (F) degrees or below
cold holding temperature requirement.  The food
industry would also like to see open-top, grill-line
and prep reach-in refrigeration units be exempted
from this requirement for the life of the equipment.

Agency Response: DHSS recommends retaining the 5
year exemption requirement.  A survey of five major
refrigeration manufacturers (Hussman, Hobart, Hill Phoenix,
Delfield and Beverage Air) revealed that they have offered
industry refrigeration units (open-air, reach-in, restaurant,
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merchandise display) that meet the 41 (F) degree standard
since the early 1990s.  DHSS pledges to work with the
DFSC and industry during the 1999 Food Code 1-year
phase-in period to identify refrigeration units that do not
meet the 1999 Food Code standard. By working with
industry and identifying these units early, industry can
phase-in new purchases over the next 5 years to ease the
financial load.  In addition, under the 1999 Food Code,
Public Health has the authority to grant case-by-case,
temporary variances for bonafide hardships.  DHSS will also
monitor the science and feasibility of this requirement as
provided by the FDA, and will consider extending this
phase-in period in the future if warranted.  It is the agency’s
contention that the public health benefits of compliance with
the refrigeration requirement far outweigh the cost or
inconvenience associated with the 5 year phase-in period.

• Members of the food industry and the DFSC asked
that the 1999 Food Code, food hot holding tempera-
ture requirement of 140 (F) be reduced to 130 (F).

Agency Response: DHSS recommends retaining the 140 (F)
hot holding temperature requirement.  Although from an
unscientific standpoint, to lower this requirement seems
inconsequential.  However, this standard has a scientific
basis that takes into consideration equipment variables and
human error.  Lowering this standard by 10 degrees could
mean the difference between rapid food pathogen growth
and no pathogen growth.  Food-borne illnesses are directly
linked to disease causing pathogen growth.  In a meeting
held after the public hearings, the DFSC voted to accept the
140 (F) food hot holding standard in the 1999 Food Code as
written.

• Members of the food industry and the DFSC asked
that the 1999 Food Code requirement that prohibits
bare-hand contact with ready-to-eat foods be
changed to minimal bare-hand contact.

Agency Response: DHSS recommends retaining this
requirement.  In this section of the 1999 Food Code there are
provisions providing regulators leeway to approve minimal
bare-hand contact on a case-by-case basis with ready-to-eat
foods.  DHSS contends that prohibited bare-hand contact
with ready-to-eat foods provides maximum protection
against ready-to-eat food contamination.  Through proper
education, supervision and awareness, this requirement will
have minimal impact on the food-service industry while
providing maximum protection to the consumer.  In a
meeting held after the public hearings, the DFSC voted to
accept this requirement of the 1999 Food Code as written.

• Members of the food industry and the DFSC asked
to have a language change (by adding an “or”)

made in the section of the 1999 Food Code requir-
ing demonstration of knowledge of the person in
charge.

Agency Response: DHSS recommends retaining the original
language of this section.  By adding an “or” to the
demonstration of knowledge section, makes compliance
with the 1999 Food Code an optional indicator of knowledge
for the person in charge.  DHSS contends that knowledge
that reflects compliance with the 1999 Food Code cannot be
optional for the person in charge of food service operations.
In a meeting held after the public hearings, the DFSC voted
unanimously to accept this section of the 1999 Food Code as
written.

• Members of the food industry and the DFSC asked
that the section of the 1999 Food Code requiring a
consumer advisory about undercooked or raw food
be deleted.

Agency Response: DHSS recommends deleting this
requirement, but reserve this section (3-603.11) for future
FDA Consumer Advisory rules.  Based on FDA’s
recommendation, DHSS prefers not to adopt a requirement it
will not enforce.  FDA’s current recommendation on the
Consumer Advisory section of the 1999 Food Code is to not
enforce this requirement until acceptable language and
guidance is agreed upon at the national level. When this
issue is resolved at the national level, DHSS will analyze the
FDA Consumer Advisory guidance and in cooperation with
the DFSC consider adoption.

• Members of the food service industry and the
DFSC recommended that food inspectors be
required to have the same knowledge as is required
in the 1999 Food Code of the person in charge of a
food service operation.

Agency Response: The agency agrees with the food
service industry and the DFSC.  Agency Food Service
Inspectors are required to have qualification training and
recurring training as part of their certification process. This
level of training exceeds that which is required of the person
in charge of a food service operation.  In a meeting held after
the public hearings, the DFSC voted unanimously to accept
this section of the 1999 Food Code as written.

• Two members of the food service industry and the
DFSC asked in the event of a hardship, existing res-
taurants be considered for a variance or waiver in
meeting the strict facility guideline standards set
forth in the 1999 Food Code.

Agency Response: In the 1999 Food Code under the
Modifications and Waivers section, public health has the
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authority to grant facility variances on a case-by-case basis.

• A member of the food service industry and the
DFSC voiced concern over the wording, “criminal
remedies” used under the Responsibilities of the
Permit Holder section of the 1999 Food Code.

Agency Response: DHSS recommends retaining the
wording in this section as written.  Although these words
sound harsh, it is necessary language to make food service
permit holders aware that the 1999 Food Code is linked to
and enforceable by established Delaware Statue.  This
particular wording, “criminal remedies” is needed for the
rare occasion when a food service proprietor willfully,
repeatedly and knowingly violates food safety procedures
that jeopardizes the health of residents or visitors to
Delaware.

Upon further review and advisement by the Deputy
Attorney General, the Agency has decided to delete Section
8-604.20, of the regulation, pertaining to Administrative
Penalties.  This section was deleted due to DHSS not having
specific statute authority to enforce such penalties.

In addition, page number errors were discovered on the
index page of the 1999 Food Code.  These errors do not
change the intent or regulatory nature of the Code and will
be corrected prior to publication.

The public comment period was open from October 1,
1999 to November 1, 1999.

Verifying documents are attached to the Hearing
Officer’s record.  The regulations have been approved by the
Delaware Attorney General’s office and the Cabinet
Secretary of DHSS.

STATE OF DELAWARE FOOD CODE
ADDENDUM TO THE 1999 FDA FOOD CODE

Chapters 1 – 8 of the “1999 FDA Food Code” is being
herewith adoped by the State of Delaware as the primary
document in regulating retail food establishments in the
State.  The text below is an addendum to Chapter 8, to
comply with Delaware-specific requirements and is to be
appended at the end of Chapter 8 in the primary document,
Chapters 1 – 8 of the “1999 FDA Food Code”, which can be
found on the Internet at the following address: http://
vm.cfsan.fda.gov/~dms/fc99-toc.html.  

*  PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PROPOSED REGULATIONS ARE

BEING INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE IN ACCORDANCE

WITH THE PROCEDURES AS AUTHORIZED BY 29 DEL.C.
1134.

PART  8-6 ENFORCEMENT PROCEDURES

8-601 Re-inspection Fee

8-601.10
(A)  A re-inspection fee shall be assessed under the

following circumstances
(1) When critical violations are shown to exist

during a follow-up inspection 
(2) When non-critical violations are shown to

exist on successive routine inspections
(3) When a complaint inspection requires a

follow-up inspection to confirm compliance.
(4) When an inspection is required to

determine compliance with the terms of a corrective action
plan or an administrative hearing.

(5) To determine the proper posting of a valid
permit.

(6) Any other follow-up inspection deemed
necessary by the regulatory authority to determine
compliance with these Regulations.

(B) The fee shall be that required by 16 Del. C.
Chap. 1, 134.

(C) Failure to pay the re-inspection fee, as
specified, shall result in the automatic suspension of the
permit to operate a food establishment.  The permit shall
remain suspended until the regulatory authority receives full
payment of all fees.

8-602 Administrative Action
8-602.10 General

If the regulatory authority determines that a food
establishment is operating without a valid permit, or that
condition(s) exist(s) in a food establishment which
represent(s) an Imminent Health Hazard or if serious
violations, repeat violations, or general unsanitary conditions
are found to exist, administrative action may occur.
Administrative action will be conducted in accordance with
the Procedures for Office of Food Protection Prosecutions.

(A) Operation without a Permit
If food establishment is found operating

without a valid permit as required by 8-301.11 of these
Regulations, the regulatory authority shall order the facility
immediately closed.  The closure shall be effective upon
receipt of a written notice by the person in charge of the food
establishment or employee of the food establishment.  A
closure notice statement recorded on the inspection report by
the representative of the regulatory authority constitutes a
written notice.  The food establishment shall remain closed
until a permit application and applicable fees and any
required plans have been received and approved by the
Regulatory Authority. In order to open, the food
establishment must comply with 8-303.10 of these
Regulations.

(B) Imminent Health Hazard(s)
(1) Suspension of Permit

If some condition(s) is/are determined to
exist in the food establishment which present(s) an imminent
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health hazard to the public, the regulatory authority, or his
designee, in the county in which the food establishment
operates may suspend the operating permit of the food
establishment without a hearing for a period not to exceed
ten (10) government business days. The suspension shall be
effective upon receipt of written notice by the person in
charge of the food establishment or employee of the food
establishment.  A suspension statement recorded on the
inspection report by the inspecting regulatory representative
constitutes a written notice. The permit shall not be
suspended for a period longer than ten (10) government
business days without a hearing. Failure to hold a hearing
within the ten (10) government business day period shall
automatically terminate the suspension.

(2) The permit holder of the food
establishment may request, in writing, a hearing before the
regulatory authority at any time during the period of
suspension, for the purpose of demonstrating that the
imminent health hazard(s) no longer exist.  The request for
hearing shall not stay the suspension.

(C) Serious Violations, Repeat Violations and
General Unsanitary Conditions

When conditions exist in a food establishment
that represent serious violations, repeat violations and
general unsanitary conditions in a food establishment, the
regulatory authority may initiate a corrective action plan or
schedule a hearing.

8-603 Agency Emergency Actions
8-603.10 Food may be examined or sampled by the

regulatory authority as often as necessary for enforcement of
these Regulations.  

8-603.20 All food shall be wholesome and free from
spoilage.  Food that is spoiled or unfit for human
consumption shall not be kept on the premises. The
established administrative procedures for the
implementation and enforcement of the provisions of 16 Del.
C., Chapter 33, relating to the embargo of misbranded or
adulterated food, and penalties shall be applicable to this
Section.

8-604 Penalties
 8-604.10 Any person (or responsible officer of that
person) who violates a provision of these Regulations, and
any person (or responsible officer of that person) who is the
holder of a permit or who otherwise operates a food
establishment that does not comply with the requirements of
these Regulations shall be subject to the provisions of 16
Del. C. §107.

[8-604.20 Any person (or responsible officer of
that person) who violates a provision of these
Regulations, and any person (or responsible officer of
that person) who is the holder of a permit or who
otherwise operates a food establishment that refuses,

fails or neglects to comply with an order of the Secretary
shall be subject to an administrative penalty of not less
than $100 and not more than $1,000, together with costs.]

8-604.[30 20]  The regulatory authority may seek to
enjoin violations of these Regulations.

8-604.[40 30]  A conspicuous, colored placard shall be
prominently displayed at all entrances of food
establishments meeting the following criteria:

(A) Failure to obtain a valid permit; or
(B) whose permit stands suspended; or
(C) whose permit stands revoked; or
(D) whose permit has expired due to non-payment

of a permit fee.

[Current Status of Consumer Advisory Language
Regarding] [§ 3-603.11 (Reserved)]

[The following information is not part of Chapter 3 and
is not intended to be included in the codified portion of
the Food Code.  It is inserted here to provide a summary
of recent events surrounding the matter of a consumer
advisory, addressed in § 3-603.11 of the Code.  In cases
where the Food Code is adopted through incorporation
by reference, this page may be 
removed.

A consensus as to what constitutes satisfactory
compliance with § 3-603.11 was reached at the 1998
Conference for Food Protection (CFP) meeting.  A third
option for the consumer "reminder" was added later.
This insert page is to alert the reader to the options
available to  food establishments in advising consumers
of the increased possibility of foodborne illness when
animal derived foods are eaten raw or undercooked.

Included in Annex 3 is a full discussion of the evolution of
the 1998 CFP consensus, satisfactory compliance,
applicability of the Code provision, and the meaning and
application of the phrase that appears in § 3-603.11, i.e.,
"or otherwise processed to eliminate pathogens."

There are two components to satisfactory compliance:
Disclosure and Reminder

Disclosure is satisfied when:
(1) Items are described, such as:

(a) Oysters on the half shell (raw oysters),
(b) Raw egg Caesar salad, and
(c) Hamburgers (can be cooked to order); or

(2) Items are asterisked to a footnote that states that
the items:

(a) Are served raw or undercooked, or
(b) Contain (or may contain) raw or

undercooked ingredients.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 11, MONDAY,  MAY 1, 2000



ERRATA1426
Reminder is satisfied when the items requiring disclosure
are asterisked to a footnote that states:

(1) Regarding the safety of these items, written
information is available upo
request;1

(2) Consuming raw or undercooked meats, poultry,
seafood, shellfish, or eggs may 
increase your risk of foodborne illness; or

(3) Consuming raw or undercooked meats, poultry,
seafood, shellfish, or eggs may
increase your risk of foodborne illness, especially if you
have certain medical
conditions.

1Essential criteria for such written information are being
developed and will be made available with a
downloadable model brochure on the CFSAN Web Page
at http://www.cfsan.fda.gov  All brochures must meet
these essential criteria.]

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Section 903(e)(2)(a) (7 Del.C. 903 (e)(2)(a))

* PLEASE NOTE: THE FOLLOWING PROPOSED

REGULATION WAS OMITTED IN ERROR FROM THE APRIL

2000 ISSUE OF THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF

REGUALTIONS

TITLE OF THE REGULATION:
Tidal Finfish Regulations

BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

To amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 7 to adjust the
recreational size limits of striped bass to one a day between
24 inches and 28 inches and one a day at more than 28 inches
in order to reduce the landings of striped bass over 28 inches
by 14% in 2000.

POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
If Delaware does not comply with the requirements of

the Fishery Management Plan for striped bass, the striped
bass fishery may be closed by the Secretary of the U.S.
Department of Commerce.

STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY T
AC :

7 Del. C. §903 (e)(2)(a)

OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED
BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMEN :
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, calling
(302-739-3441) or visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of
Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE  19901.  A
public hearing on this proposed amendment will be held at
the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at 7:30
PM on Tuesday, May 16, 2000.  The record will remain open
for written comments until 4:30PM on May 26, 2000.

PREPARED B :
Charles A. Lesser(302)-739-3441 March 21, 2000

TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION 7.  STRIPED BASS
POSSESSION SIZE LIMIT; EXCEPTIONS.

a)  Notwithstanding, the provisions of §929(b)(1),
Chapter 9, Title 7, Delaware Code or unless otherwise
authorized, it shall be unlawful for any recreational
fisherman to take and reduce to possession any more than
two (2) striped bass from the tidal waters of this State that
measures less than twenty-eight (28) inches in total length in
one day provided one measures no less than twenty-four (24)
inches in total length or more than twenty-eight (28) inches
in total length and one measures no less than twenty-eight
(28) inches in total length.

b)  Notwithstanding, the provisions of §929(b)(1),
Chapter 9, Title 7, Delaware code or unless otherwise
authorized, it shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to take and reduce to possession any striped bass
from the tidal waters of this State that measure less than
twenty (20) inches in total length or more than 32 inches in
total length.

c)  Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for
any person to possess a striped  bass that measures less than
28 24  inches, total length, unless said striped bass is in one
or more of the following categories:

1) It has affixed, a valid strap tag issued by the
Department to a commercial food fisherman; or

2)  It was legally landed in another state for
commercial purposes and has affixed a valid tag issued by
said state's marine fishery authority; or

3) It is packed or contained for shipment, either
fresh or frozen, and accompanied by a bill-of-lading with a
destination to a state other than Delaware; or

4)  It was legally landed in another state for non
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commercial purposes by the person in possession of said
striped bass and there is affixed to either the striped bass or
the container in which the striped bass is contained a tag that
depicts the name and address of the person landing said
striped bass and the date, location, and state in which said
striped bass was landed; or

5) It is the product of a legal aquaculture
operation and the person in possession has a written bill of
sale or receipt for said striped bass.

d)  Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for
any commercial finfisherman to possess any striped bass for
which the total length has been altered in any way prior to
selling, trading or bartering said striped bass.

e)  The words "land" and "landed" shall mean to put or
cause to go on shore from  a   vessel.

f)  It shall be unlawful for any person, except a
commercial finfisherman authorized to fish during
Delaware’s commercial striped bass fishery, to land any
striped bass that measures less than twenty eight (28) four
(24) inches in total length.

g)  It shall be unlawful for a commercial finfisherman
authorized to fish during Delaware’s commercial striped
bass fishery to land any striped bass that measures less than
twenty (20) inches in total length or more than 32 inches in
total length.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN OPTOMETRY

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 2104(1) (24 Del.C. 2104(1))

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Section 2104(1), the Delaware
Board of Examiners in Optometry proposes to revise its rules
and regulations.  The proposed revisions clarify the Board’s
law as it relates to therapeutic licensing for reciprocity
applicants.  Specifically, the proposed revisions to Rule 4.0
provide that an applicant, therapeutically licensed in another
state, must demonstrate that that state allows the use and
prescription of diagnostic and therapeutic drugs at least
equivalent to that permitted by Delaware.  If the state from
which the applicant seeks reciprocity is not therapeutically
equivalent, the applicant must meet the requirements of 24
Del.C. §2108.   Proposed revisions to Rule 11.0 further
clarify the requirements for therapeutic certification and
specify that the 40 hours of clinical experience required
under §2108(b) must be obtained no earlier than 24 months
prior to application.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Thursday, June 15, 2000 at 6:45 p.m. in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904.  The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Susan

Miccio at the above address.  The final date to submit written
comments shall be at the above scheduled public hearing.
Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed Rules and
Regulations or to make comments at the public hearing
should notify Susan Miccio at the above address or by
calling (302) 739-4522.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

Board of Examiners in Optometry

1.0 Definitions
2.0 Qualifications and Examinations
3.0 Internship
4.0 Reciprocity
5.0 Use of Diagnostic Drugs
6.0 Use of Therapeutic Drugs
7.0 Minimum Standards of Practice
8.0 Ethics
9.0 Hearings
10.0 Continuing Education Requirements
11.0 Therapeutic Certification
12.0 Unprofessional Conduct

1.0 DEFINTIONS
Dispensing:  The practice of optometry shall include

the dispensing of contact lenses. “Dispensing” shall be
defined as:  “Contact lens dispensing” means the fabrication,
ordering, mechanical adjustment, dispensing, sale and
delivery to the consumer of contact lenses.  Contact lenses
must be dispensed in accordance with a written contact lens
prescription from a licensed physician or optometrist which
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includes lens curvature, diameter, power, material,
manufacturer and an expiration date not to exceed one year,
together with appropriate instructions for the care and
handling of the lenses.  The term does not include the taking
of any measurements of the eye or the cornea and evaluating
the physical fit of the contact lenses.

Duly licensed:  For purposes of 24 Del.C. §2106(a) and
these regulations, the term “duly licensed” shall be defined
as:  a person who satisfies the applicable requirements under
24 Del.C. §§2107, 2108, 2110 and 2111 (or alternatively
§2109 and §2111), and who has been issued a license in
good standing in accordance with §2112.  A person holding
a valid temporary license shall not be deemed to be duly
licensed for purposes of Chapter 21, Title 24 and these
regulations, and may only engage in the practice of
optometry as outlined in §2110 and Section 3 of these
regulations.

Premise :  For purposes of 24 Del.C. §2118(b) and
these regulations, the phrase “on the same premises” shall be
defined as:  being within the immediate physical boundaries
of the office of the licensed supervising practitioner.  The
“office” of the licensed supervising practitioner shall not
include space, within a building or structure owned or leased
by the licensed supervising practitioner, in which the
licensed supervising practitioner does not engage in the
practice of medicine, osteopathy, ophthalmology or
optometry

Supervision:  For purposes of 24 Del.C. §2118(b) and
these regulations, the term “supervision” shall be defined as:
the physical presence of the licensed practitioner at some
time during the fitting for the purpose of evaluating and
verifying the contact lens fit and the patient’s ocular health.

2.0 QUALIFICATIONS AND EXAMINATIONS
2.1 Every candidate for registration must meet the

following qualifications:
2.1.1 Have received a degree of “Doctor of

Optometry” from a legally incorporated and accredited
optometric college or school which has been approved by the
appropriate accrediting body of the American Optometric
Association. 

2.1.2 Pass the substantive and clinical
examinations required by 2.2 of these regulations.

2.1.3 Complete the internship required by 24
Del.C. §2110 and Section 3 of these regulations.  An
individual is duly licensed after completing the internship
requirement  as well as all the other requirements in §2107 of
this statute.   (For reciprocal applicants, see Section 4 of
these regulations.)

2.1.4 All applicants for therapeutic licensure
must be CPR certified for both children and adults.  All
therapeutic optometrists must keep their CPR certification
for both children and adults current.

2.1.5 Has not engaged in conduct that would

constitute grounds for disciplinary action, and has no
unresolved disciplinary proceedings pending in this or any
other jurisdiction.  It shall be the responsibility of the
candidate to submit to the Board a certified statement of
good standing from each jurisdiction where he/she is
currently or has been previously licensed.

2.2 Every candidate shall pass, at a score determined by
the National Board of Examiners in Optometry, the
substantive and clinical portions of the examination given by
the National Board of Examiners in Optometry.  The clinical
examination given by the National Board of Examiners in
Optometry may be taken as part of the National Board
Examination or as a separate clinical skills and/or TMOD
examination given by the National Board of Examiners in
Optometry as the State Board shall designate.  

3.0 INTERNSHIP
3.1 An internship is a course of study in which

applicants receive part of their clinical training in a private
practice setting under the supervision of a licensed
optometrist or ophthalmologist.  An active, licensed
Optometrist or Ophthalmologist may act as a supervisor.
Any applicant’s participation in such an internship progra
must be approved by the Board and is subject to the
following terms and conditions:

3.1.1 A letter from the practitioner with whom
the applicant will be interning stating the goals, duties and
the number of hours he/she will be working.  If the applicant
is not doing his/her internship with a therapeutically certified
optometrist or ophthalmologist, he/she must also complete
an additional one hundred (100) hours of clinical internship
with a therapeutically certified Optometrist, Medical doctor
or Osteopathic physician.

3.1.2 Each applicant who will be participating in
the internship program must provide the name and address of
the supervisor and the dates of the internship for approval by
the Board before the internship may begin.

3.1.3 A letter must be received by the Board
from the supervisor verifying the completion of the
internship.

3.1.4 For purposes of this Section and 29 Del.C.
§2110, the term “duration” shall be defined as “a period of
no less than six (6) months and no greater than the period
ending on the date of the next Board meeting following the
end of the six (6) month period.”  No intern may practice on
a temporary license beyond the duration of the internship.

3.2 Subject to the approval requirements stated above, a
candidate’s internship requirements may be satisfied while
the candidate is a member of the Armed Forces if he/she:

3.2.1 Functions as a fully credentialed
therapeutically certified optometric practitioner; and (for
purposes of this Section equivalent to the Air Force
regulations).
 3.2.2 Performs his optometric duties on a full-
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time basis in a completely equipped eye clinic.
3.3  Full-time:  minimum of 35 hours per week.
3.4 All supervisors must supervise the interns on a one-

to-one basis whenever an applicant performs a task which
constitutes the practice of optometry.  No supervisor may be
a supervisor for more than one intern, or student extern, at a
time.  Only one intern shall be permitted in any practice for
any period of time.

3.5  All acts which constitute the practice of optometry
under 24 Del.C. §2101(a) may be performed by the intern
only under the following conditions:

3.5.1 The supervisor shall be on the premises
and immediately available for supervision at all times;

3.5.2 All intern evaluations of any patient shall
be reviewed by the supervisor prior to final determination of
the patient’s case before the patient leaves the premises; and

3.5.3 A supervisor shall at all times effectively
supervise and direct the intern.

3.6 A violation of any of the conditions enumerated in
this rule may be grounds for the Board to revoke their
approval of an internship program.  The Board may also
revoke its approval of an internship program if it determines
that either the supervising optometrist or the intern has
engaged in any conduct described by 24 Del.C. §2113(a).
Furthermore, any violation of the terms of this rule by a
supervising optometrist who is a licensed optometrist shall
be considered unprofessional conduct and a violation of 24
Del.C. §2113(a)(7).

4.0 RECIPROCITY (ENDORSEMENT)
4.1 The Board shall waive the internship requirement

for an applicant holding a valid license to practice
optometry, issued by another jurisdiction, and who has
practiced for a minimum of five years in such other
jurisdiction with standards of licensure which are equal to or
greater than those of  24 Del.C. Ch. 21 and grant a license by
reciprocity to such applicant.  The five years of practice
experience must be obtained in states(s) with licensure
standards at least equal to those of Delaware.  The applicant
shall contact the Healthcare Integrity Protection Data Bank/
National Practitioner Data Bank requesting that verification
be sent to the Board regarding his/her licensure status.  In
addition, the applicant shall contact each jurisdiction where
he/she currently is licensed, or has been previously licensed,
or otherwise authorized to practice optometry, and request
that a certified statement be provided to the Board stating
whether or not there are disciplinary proceedings or
unresolved complaints pending against the applicant.  In the
event there is a disciplinary proceeding or unresolved
complaint pending,  the applicant shall not be licensed until
the proceeding or complaint has been resolved.  

4.2 Applicants from jurisdictions which have  the same
basic qualifications for licensure as this State, but do not
have essentially comparable or higher standards to qualify

for ‘therapeutic’ licensing, shall be required to meet the
conditions of subsections (a) and (b), 24 Del.C. §2108.

4.3 “Standards” as used in this Section are defined in
Rules 6.0 & 7.0 of these regulations.

4.3 In addition, The applicant shall include, as part of
the application, copies of state licensing and/or practice
statutes and regulations pertaining to the practice of
Optometry for each the jurisdiction through which he/she is
seeking reciprocity or claiming qualifying practice
experience.

4.4 “Standards of licensure,” as used in 24 Del.C.
§2109, shall refer to the qualifications of applicants set forth
at §2107.

4.5 The “standards to qualify for ‘therapeutic’
licensing,” as used in 24 Del.C.§2109 with regard to
therapeutic reciprocity, shall refer to the standards of
diagnostic and therapeutic practice as set forth in 24 Del. C.
§2101(b).

4.6 An applicant shall not be licensed by reciprocity as
a Delaware therapeutically certified optometrist unless:

4.6.1 He/she demonstrates that the state in
which he/she is therapeutically certified allows the use and
prescription of diagnostic and therapeutic drugs which is at
least equivalent to that permitted under a Delaware
therapeutic optometrist license as set forth in §2101(b), OR

4.6.2 He/she has met the requirements of
§2108(a) and (b) and Rule 11.0. 

5.0 USE OF DIAGNOSTIC DRUG
5.1 Licensees who have been duly authorized by the

Board may, for diagnostic purposes only, make use of the
following classes of topical ophthalmic drugs: (1)
anesthetics, (2) mydriatics, (3) cycloplegics, and (4) miotics;
provided, however, that any such authorization by the Board
shall not be construed as authorizing any licensee to dispense
or issue a prescription for diagnostic drugs.

5.2 Authorization by the Board under this regulation
shall be evidenced by an appropriate designation on the
certificate of registration and license.

5.3 The provisions of Section 5.1 shall not preclude a
licensee from using:  ancillary diagnostic agents including,
but not limited to dyes, schirmer strips, etc.

6.0 USE OF THERAPEUTIC DRUG
6.1 Therapeutically certified optometrists may use and/

or prescribe the following pharmaceutical agents for the
treatment of ocular diseases and conditions:

6.1.1 Topical and oral administration:
6.1.1.1 Antihistamines and decongestants
6.1.1.2 Antiglaucoma
6.1.1.3 Analgesics (non-controlled)
6.1.1.4 Antibiotics

6.1.2 Topical administration only:
6.1.2.1 Autonomics
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 11, MONDAY, MAY 1, 2000



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1431
6.1.2.2 Anesthetics
6.1.2.3 Anti-infectives, including antivirals

and antiparasitics
6.1.2.4 Anti-inflammatories

6.2 Authorization by the Board under this regulation
shall be evidenced by an appropriate designation on the
certificate of registration and license.

7.0 MINIMUM STANDARDS OF PRACTICE
7.1 Equipment

7.1.1 Acuity chart
7.1.2 Opthalmoscope

7.1.2.1 Direct
7.1.2.2 Indirect

7.1.3 Keratometer
7.1.4 Biomicroscope
7.1.5 Tonometer
7.1.6 Gonioscope
7.1.7 Access to Visual Field
7.1.8 Access to Retinal Camera
7.1.9 Phoropter

7.2 Examination and Treatment
7.2.1 General Examination:

7.2.1.1 Case history
7.2.1.2 Acuity measure
7.2.1.3 Internal tissue health evaluation
7.2.1.4 External tissue health evaluation
7.2.1.5 Refraction
7.2.1.6 Tonometry
7.2.1.7 Visual fields (in appropriate cases) 
7.2.1.8 Retinal photos (in appropriate cases)
7.2.1.9 Treatment, recommendations and

directions to the patients, including prescriptions
7.2.1.10 Name of attending optometrist

7.2.2 During a contact lens examination:
7.2.2.1 Assessment of corneal curvature
7.2.2.2 Acuity through the lens
7.2.2.3 Directions for the care and handling

of lenses and an explanation of the implications of contact
lenses with regard to eye health and vision

7.2.2.4 Name of attending optometrist
7.2.2.5 Assessment of contact lens fit

7.2.3 During a follow-up contact lens
examination:

7.2.3.1 Assessment of fit of len
7.2.3.2 Acuity through the lens
7.2.3.3 Name of attending optometrist
7.2.3.4 Ocular health assessment

7.3 A complete record of examinations and treatment
shall be kept in a current manner.

8.0 ETHICS
8.1 It shall be the ideal, the resolve and the duty of all

licensees to:

8.1.1 Keep the visual welfare of the patient
uppermost at all times.

8.1.2 Promote in every possible way, better care
of the visual needs of mankind.

8.1.3 Enhance continuously their educational
and technical proficiency to the end that their patients shall
receive the benefits of all acknowledged improvements in
vision and eye care.

8.1.4 See that no person shall lack for visual
care, regardless of his financial status.

8.1.5 Advise the patient whenever consultation
with an optometric colleague or reference for other
professional care seems advisable.

8.1.6 Hold in professional confidence all
information concerning a patient and use such data only for
the benefit of the patient.

8.1.7 Conduct themselves as exemplary citizens.
8.1.8 Maintain their offices and their practices

in keeping with current professional standards of care.
8.1.9 Promote and maintain cordial and

unselfish relations with members of their own profession and
other professionals for the exchange of information to the
advantage of mankind.

8.1.10 Maintain adequate records on each patient
for a period of not less than five years from the date of the
most recent service rendered.

8.2 A licensee must honor a patient’s request to
forward the patient’s complete prescription and ophthalmic
or contact lens specification to another licensed physician of
medicine, osteopath, optometrist, or a nationally registered
contact lens technician working under the direct supervision
of an optometrist, ophthalmologist or osteopathic physician,
if all financial obligations to the licensee have been satisfied.
It shall be the obligation of a licensee to tender to a patient
upon request  his/her final prescription for ophthalmic lenses
or  contact lens(es) specification, if all financial obligations
to the licensee have been satisfied.  For purposes of this
section, a final prescription or specification results when a
patient is released to routine follow-up care.  No licensee
shall be required to tender a contact lens prescription beyond
one (1) year from the date the contact lens(es) were
dispensed.

8.3 It shall be considered unlawful for a licensee to
delegate to a lay individual, whether an employee or not, any
act or duty which would require, on the part of such
individual, professional judgment.  The fitting of contact
lenses, tonometry, refraction, treatment of eye disease, low
vision and vision therapy, etc. shall not be so delegated
unless under the direct supervision of the licensee.

8.4 No licensee shall do anything inconsistent with the
professional standards of the optometric and allied health
professions.

8.5 No licensee shall use unethical, misleading or
unprofessional advertising methods, including, but not
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limited to:  baiting patients to purchase materials in
exchange for free or reduced fees for professional  services.

8.6 No licensee when using the doctor title shall qualify
it in any other way than by use of the word “optometrist”.
He/she may, however, when not using the prefix, use after
his/her name the “O.D.” degree designation, consistent with
other provisions of 24 Del.C. Ch. 21.

8.7 No licensee shall practice in or on premises where
any materials, other than those necessary to render his
professional services, are dispensed to the public.

8.8 No licensee shall locate in a merchandising store or
practice his profession among the public as the agent,
employee or servant of, or in conjunction with either directly
or indirectly, any merchandising firm, corporation, lay firm
or unlicensed individual.

8.9 No licensee shall practice his profession in
conjunction with, or as an agent or employee of an
ophthalmic merchandising business (commonly known as
“opticians”) either directly or indirectly in any manner.  Nor
shall any licensee use any name other than the name
recorded in the files of the State Board for his optometric
registration and licensure.

8.10 Corporations, except those allowed under
Chapter 6 of Title 8 of the Delaware Code, lay firms and
unlicensed individuals are prohibited from the practice of
optometry directly or indirectly and from employing, either
directly or indirectly, registered and licensed optometrists to
examine the eyes of their patients.  Licensees so employed
will be considered guilty of unprofessional conduct, and in
violation of 24 Del.C.  §2113(a)(3) and (6).

8.11 No licensee shall hold himself forth in such a
way as to carry the slightest intimation of having superior
qualifications or being superior to other optometrists, unless
he is qualified by a specialty board approved by the State
Board.

8.12 No licensee holding an official position in any
optometric organization shall use such position for
advertising purposes or for self-aggrandizement.

8.13 Since the law states that a certificate must be
displayed in every office where the profession of optometry
is practiced, and since no certificate for branch offices has
previously been issued, the State Board shall issue branch
office certificates with the words “Branch Office” thereon
emblazoned under the registry number, with the certificate
being a duplicate of that originally issued.

8.14 A violation of any of the provisions of these
regulations will be considered to be unprofessional conduct.

9.0 HEARINGS
9.1 All complaints shall be referred to the Division of

Professional Regulation for investigation and a contact
person from the Board will be appointed at the next meeting.

9.2 Hearings are conducted in accordance with the
Administrative Procedures Act.

10.0  CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
10.1 All persons licensed to practice Optometry in

the State of Delaware shall be required to acquire 12 hours of
continuing education every two years.  All therapeutic
licensed optometrists shall be required to acquire an
additional 12 hours of  therapeutics and management of
ocular disease and keep their CPR certification for both
children and adults current.  No practice management
courses will be accepted.

10.2 These continuing optometric education
requirements are necessary for licensure every two years.

10.3 Licensees will be required to comply before
May 1 of odd numbered years.

10.4 It shall be the responsibility of the candidate
for relicensure to submit to the appropriate State of Delaware
agency evidence of his/her compliance with these
requirements.  The appropriate state agency shall notify the
candidate at least 30 days in advance of the need to renew
his/her license, and shall request that the candidate submit
evidence of compliance with the continuing education
requirements stated herein, along with other fees and
documents required. Failure to be notified by such agency
shall not relieve licensee from this obligation.

10.5 Self-Reported Study
10.5.1 Non-therapeutic - Of the 12 hours biennial

requirement for non-therapeutic licensees, a maximum of 2
hours may be fulfilled by self-reported study.

10.5.2 Therapeutic - Of the 24 hours biennial
requirement for therapeutic licensees, a maximum of 4 hours
may be fulfilled by self-reported study.

10.5.3 Self-reported study may include:
10.5.3.1 Reading of Optometric journals
10.5.3.2 Optometric tape journals
10.5.3.3 Optometric audiovisual material
10.5.3.4 Other materials given prior approval

by the Board.
Proof of completion from the sponsoring agency is

required for credit.
10.6 Any new licensee shall be required to complete

continuing education equivalent to one hour for each month
between the date of licensure and the biennial renewal date.
The first twelve (12) hours of pro-rated continuing education
must be in the treatment and management of ocular disease.

10.7 Continuing Education courses given by the
following organizations will receive credit.  Meetings of
(Scientific Session Portion Only)

10.7.1 American Optometric Association
10.7.2 Delaware Optometric Association
10.7.3 American Academy of Optometry
10.7.4 Recognized state regional or national

optometric societie
10.7.5 Schools and colleges of Optometry
10.7.6 Meetings of other organizations as may be

approved by the Board.
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10.7.7 COPE-approved courses (with the
exception of Practice Management courses)

10.8 Failure to Comply.  When the State Board of
Examiners in Optometry deems someone to be deficient in
continuing education requirements, the license will  be
revoked. In the event that any optometrist licensed in this
State fails to meet continuing education requirements, his or
her license shall be revoked, except when proven hardship
makes compliance impossible.  The Board shall reinstate
such license upon presentation of satisfactory evidence of
successful completion of continuing education requirements
and upon payment of all fees due.

10.9 Licensure--Renewal
10.9.1 All licenses are renewed biennially (every

2 years).  A licensee may have his/her license renewed by
submitting a renewal application to the Board by the renewal
date and upon payment of the renewal fee prescribed by the
Division of Professional Regulation along with evidence of
completion of continuing education requirements.  The
failure of the Board to give, or the failure of the licensee to
receive, notice of the expiration date of a license shall not
prevent the license from becoming invalid after its expiration
date.

10.9.2 Any licensee who fails to renew his/her
license by the renewal date may still renew his/her license
during the one (1) year period immediately following the
renewal date provided the licensee pay a late fee in addition
to the prescribed renewal fee.

10.9.3 Any licensee who intends not to renew his/
her license because he/she retired from practice or has
ceased practice in the State of Delaware, shall so indicate
such reason(s) on the renewal application.  Failure to do so
will result in the Board taking mandatory action to revoke
the license.

10.10 Exemptions
An exemption may be granted to any optometrist

who can demonstrate to the Board an acceptable cause as to
why he/she should be relieved of this obligation.
Exemptions will be granted only in unusual or extraordinary
circumstances.  Licensees must petition the Board for
exemptions. Should the Board deny the request, the licensee
must complete the requirements.  Examples of
circumstances for which the Board might grant exemptions
include prolonged illness, extended absence from the
country, etc.

11.0 THERAPEUTIC CERTIFICATION
11.1  The examination identified in 24 Del.C. §2108(b)

is the national examination administered by the Association
of Regulatory Boards of Optometry (ARBO) for treatment
and management of ocular disease.  A copy of the certificate
representing passage of the examination must be submitted
with the application for therapeutic licensure.

11.2  All applicants for therapeutic licensure must be

CPR certified for both children and adults.  All optometrists
must keep their CPR certification for both children and
adults current.

11.3 For applicants currently licensed in Delaware
and applicants for reciprocal licensure pursuant to the
requirements of §2108, 40 hours of treatment and
management of ocular disease training may be accumulated
with a therapeutically certified optometrist, a medical doctor,
or an osteopathic doctor.  Proof of 40 hours of treatment and
management of ocular disease training must be submitted in
writing by the supervising doctor. by letter.  If an applicant’s
supervisor is a therapeutically certified optometrist
practicing in a state other than Delaware, proof of similar
therapeutic practice standards licensing requirements in the
other state must be submitted.

11.4 Applicants must have completed their forty
(40) hours of clinical experience within twenty-four (24)
months of their initial application for therapeutic licensure.
No clinical experience older than 24 months (prior to
application) will be accepted for therapeutic certification.

11.5 The same reciprocity rules apply for
therapeutic licensing as for other optometry licensing.

11.5 All newly licensed optometrists shall be
required to be therapeutically certified.  Their six month
internship should be done with a therapeutically certified
optometrist, M.D. or D.O. However, if a therapeutically
certified optometrist, M.D. or D.O. is not available, the
intern may do an internship with a non-therapeutically
certified optometrist, provided the intern complete an
additional 100 hours of clinical experience in the treatment
and management of ocular disease supervised by a
therapeutically certified optometrist, M.D. or D.O. during
their internship.

11.7 For applicants not currently licensed in
Delaware (Refer to Reciprocity).

12.0 UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT
A violation of any of the provisions of these regulations

will be considered to be unprofessional conduct.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Section 10027 (3 Del.C. 10027)

The Harness Racing Commission proposes to amend
certain rules.  The following is a summary of the proposed
rules:

1. Amend Rule 8.3.5.4 to clarify the time period for
administration of lasix to horses and to delete the provision
for removal of a horse from the Steward’s List for multiple
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 11, MONDAY, MAY 1, 2000

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/harness.htm


PROPOSED REGULATIONS1434
violations of the Rule.
2. Amend Rule 7.6.14 to revise the Hubrail Rule to

conform to the current use of pylons on the racetrack and to
require that a driver who leaves the course must reenter as
soon as possible.

3. Amend Rule 7.6.15 to clarify the rule requirements
for use of the extended homestretch and the penalties for
violation of the Rule.

4. Amend Rule 7.6.13 to provide that any driver
involved in an objection or inquiry must immediately
respond to an inquiry from the judges.

5. Amend Rule 3.2.8.3 to require that horses scratched
for lameness or sickness must be on the Steward’s List for
seven days, instead of five days.

6. Amend Rule 7.6.6 to delete Rule 7.6.6.6 regarding
use of a recall pole.

7. Amend Rule 6.3.2 to add new subsection 6.3.2.8
prohibiting a person from claiming more than one horse in
the same race.  Amend Rule 6.3.2 to add new subsection
6.3.2.9 to prohibit transfer of a claimed horse for a period of
thirty days after the claim, except for entry in a claiming
race.

8. Amend Rule 8.4.3.5.10 to revise the procedure for
the use of split samples for carbon dioxide testing to provide
that both samples would be sent to the Commission
laboratory on an anonymous basis for testing.

The Commission proposes these amendments pursuant
to 3 Del.C. §10027 and 29 Del.C. §10113.  The Commission
will consider the proposed rule changes at a public hearing
on May 22, 2000 at 10:30 a.m. at Harrington Raceway,
Harrington, DE.  The Commission will receive written
comments from th public until May 30, 2000.  Copies of the
proposed rules and current rules can be obtained from John
Wayne, Administrator of Racing, 2320 S. DuPont Highway,
Dover, DE 19901. Written comments can be sent to Mr.
Wayne’s attention at the Commission’s Office.

1. AMEND Rule 8.3.5.4 to provide as follows:

8.3.5.4 Timing of Administration
Horses must be presented at the Lasix stall in the

paddock, and the Lasix administered, not more than three
hours and 30 minutes (3-1/2 hours) nor less than three hours
(three hours) prior to post time of their respective races.
Failure to meet this time frame will result in scratching the
horse, and the trainer may be fined.  If a horse is late at the
Lasix stall a second consecutive time, the horse will be
scratched and removed from the Bleeder List, and placed on
the Steward’s List for ten (10) days.

2.  AMEND Rule 7.6.14 to provide as follows:

7.6.14 Harness Race Track Without a Hubrail

7.6.14.1 If at a racetrack which does not have a
continuous solid inside hub rail, a horse or part of the horse’s
sulky leaves the course by running over or going inside the
pylons hub rail or other demarcation which constitutes the
inside limits of the course, the offending horse may shall be
placed one or more positions where, in the opinion of the
judges, the action gave the horse an unfair advantage over
other horses in the race, or the action helped the horse
improve its position in the race.  Drivers may be fined or
suspended for permitting a horse’s or any portion of a sulky
to run over or go  inside the pylons or other demarcation,
which constitutes the inside limits of the course.  In addition,
when an act of interference causes a horse or part of the
horse’s sulky to cross the inside limits of the course, and the
horse is placed by the judges, the  offending horse shall be
placed behind the horse with which it interfered.

7.6.14.2  In the event a horse or part of a horse’s sulky
leaves the course for any reason, it shall be the driver’
responsibility to take all reasonable steps to safely reenter
the race course as soon as possible.

3.  AMEND Rule 7.6.15 to provide as follows:

7.6.15 Extended Homestretch
7.6.15.1 With approval of the Commission, a track

may extend the width of its homestretch up to 10 feet inward
in relation to the width of the rest of the racetrack.

7.6.15.2 In the event the home stretch is expanded
pursuant to 7.6.15.1 above, the following shall apply:

7.6.15.2.1  no horse shall pass on the extended
inside lane except when entering the stretch for the final
time;  When entering or while going through the homestretch
for the first time in a race, no horse shall use the expanded
inside lane in an attempt to pass other horses or improve its
position.  Any horse, which does so shall be disqualified and
placed last in the order of finish.

7.6.15.2.2  The lead horse in the homestretch shall
maintain as straight a course as possible while allowing
trailing horses full access to the extended inside lane. and  If,
in the opinion of the judges, the lead horse changes course in
the homestretch in an attempt to prevent a trailing horse fro
passing, said horse shall be placed accordingly. 

7.6.15.2.3  Horses using the expanded inside lane
during the homestretch drive for the finish of the race, open
stretch must first have complete clearance of the pylons
marking the inside boundary of the racecourse.  Any horse or
sulky running over one or more of the pylons and/or going to
the inside of the pylons while attempting to use the expanded
inside lane, may be to clear shall be disqualified or placed
back one or more positions.

7.6.15.2.4  A horse may only be driven into the
expanded homestretch lane for the purpose of passing
another horse and may not be driven into the expanded
homestretch lane for the purpose of blocking a trailing horse.
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If, in the opinion of the judges, a horse is driven into the
expanded homestretch lane for the purpose of blocking a
trailing horse, the driver of the blocking horse may be fined
and/or suspended and the horse may be placed accordingly.

4.  AMEND Rule 7.6.13 to provide as follows: 

7.6.13 Conduct of the Race
7.6.13.1 A driver shall not commit any of the following

acts which are considered violations of driving rules:
7.6.13.1.1 Change course or position, or swerve

in or out, or bear in or out during any part of the race in such
a manner as to compel a horse to shorten its stride or cause
another driver to change course, take his or her horse back,
or pull his/her horse out of its stride.

7.6.13.1.2 Impede the progress of another horse
or cause it to break from its gait.

7.6.13.1.3 Cross over too sharply in front of
another horse or in front of the field.

7.6.13.1.4 Crowd another horse by 'putting a
wheel under it.'

7.6.13.1.5 Allow another horse to pass
needlessly on the inside, or commit any other act that helps
another horse to improve its position.

7.6.13.1.6 Carry another horse out.
7.6.13.1.7 Take up or slow up in front of other

horses so as to cause confusion or interference among the
trailing horses.

7.6.13.1.8 Maintain an outside position without
making the necessary effort to improve his/her overall
position.

7.6.13.1.9 Strike or hook wheels with another
sulky.

7.6.13.1.10 Lay off a normal pace and leave a
hole when it is well within the horse's capacity to keep the
hole closed.

7.6.13.1.11 Drive in a careless or reckless
manner

7.6.13.1.12 Fail to set, maintain or properly
contest a pace comparable to the class in which he/she is
racing considering the horse's ability, track conditions,
weather and circumstances confronted in the race.

7.6.13.1.13 Riding 'half-in' or 'half-out'.
7.6.13.1.14 Kicking a horse.

7.6.13.2 A complaint by a driver of any foul, violation
of the rules or other misconduct during a race shall be made
immediately after the race to which it relates, unless the
driver is prevented from doing so by an accident or injury or
other reasonable excuse. A driver desiring to enter a claim of
foul, or other complaint of violation of the rules, shall make
this known to the starter before dismounting and shall
proceed immediately to the paddock telephone to
communicate immediately with the judges.  Any driver who
is involved in an objection or inquiry shall proceed

immediately to the paddock telephone to communicate with
the judges.  The judges shall not cause the official sign to be
posted until the matter has been dealt with.

7.6.13.3 If a violation is committed by a person
driving a horse coupled as an entry the judges may set both
horses back if, in their opinion, the violation may have
affected the finish of the race, otherwise penalties may be
applied individually.

7.6.13.4 In the case of interference, collision, or
violation of any rules, the offending horse may be placed
back one or more positions in that heat or dash, and in the
event of such collisions, interference or violation preventing
any horse from finishing the heat or dash, the offending
horse may be disqualified from receiving any winnings and
the driver may be fined or suspended. If a horse is set back, it
must be placed behind the horse with which it interfered. If
an offending horse has interfered with a horse involved in a
dead heat and the offending horse is set back, it must be
placed behind the horses in the dead heat.

7.6.13.5 If the judges believe that a horse is, or has
been driven with design to prevent it winning a race or races,
they shall consider it a violation by the driver.

7.6.13.6 If the judges believe that a horse has been
driven in an inconsistent manner, they shall consider it a
violation.

7.6.13.7 If the judges believe that a horse has been
driven in an unsatisfactory manner due to lack of effort or a
horse has been driven in an unsatisfactory manner for any
reason, they shall consider it a violation punishable by a fine
and/or suspension.

7.6.13.8 If a horse is suspected to have choked or
bled during a race, the driver and/or trainer of that horse is
required to report this to the judges immediately after the
race.

7.6.13.9 If, in the opinion of the judges, a driver is
for any reason unfit or incompetent to drive, or is reckless in
his/her conduct and endangers the safety of horses or other
drivers in a race, he/she shall be removed and another driver
substituted at any time and the offending driver may be
fined, suspended or expelled.

7.6.13.10 If for any cause other than being interfered
with, or broken equipment, a horse fails to finish after
starting a race, that horse shall be ruled out of any
subsequent heat of the same event.  If it is alleged that a
horse failed to finish a race because of broken equipment,
this fact must be reported to the paddock judge who shall
make an examination to verify the allegation and report the
findings to the judges.

7.6.13.1 A driver must be mounted in the sulky at
all times during the race or the horse shall be placed as a
non-finisher.

7.6.13.12 Shouting or other improper conduct in a
race is forbidden.

7.6.13.13 Drivers shall keep both feet in the stirrups
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during the post parade and from the time the horses are
brought to the starting gate until the race has been
completed.  Drivers shall be permitted to remove a foot from
the stirrups during the course of the race solely for the
purpose of pulling ear plugs and once same have been pulled
the foot must be placed back into the stirrup.  Drivers who
violate this rule may be subject to a fine and/or suspension.

7.6.13.14 Drivers will be allowed to use whips not to
exceed three feet, nine inches in length plus a snapper not to
exceed six inches in length.

Drivers shall keep a line in each hand from the
start of the race until the quarter pole.  From the quarter pole
to the 7/8th pole, a driver may only use the whip once for a
maximum of three strokes.  Once the lead horse is at the 7/
8th pole, these restrictions do not apply.

1 DE Reg. 923 (01/01/98)
2 DE Reg. 684 (10/01/98)

7.6.13.15 The use of any goading device, or chain,
or spur, or mechanical or electrical device other than a whip
as allowed in the rules, upon any horse, shall constitute a
violation.

7.6.13.16 The possession of any mechanical or
electrical goading device on the grounds of an association
shall constitute a violation.

7.6.13.17 The judges shall have the authority to
disallow the use of any equipment or harness that they feel is
unsafe or not in the best interests of racing.

7.6.13.18 Brutal or excessive or indiscriminate use
of a whip, or striking a horse with the butt end of a whip, or
striking a wheel disc of a sulky with a whip, shall be a
violation.  At extended pari-mutuel meetings, under the
supervision of the judges, there may be a mandatory visual
inspection of each horse following each race for evidence of
excessive or brutal use of the whip.  At all other meetings,
the judges shall have the authority to order and/or conduct
such visual inspections at their discretion.

1 DE Reg. 923 (01/01/98)
7.6.13.19 Whipping a horse by using the whip below

the level of the shafts or the seat of the sulky or between the
legs of the horse shall be a violation.

7.6.13.20 When a horse breaks from its gait, it shall
be considered a violation on the part of the driver for:

7.6.13.20.1 Failure to take the horse to the outside
of other horses where clearance exists.

7.6.13.20.2 Failure to properly attempt to pull the
horse to its gait.

7.6.13.20.3 Failure to lose ground while on a
break.

7.6.13.20.4 If no violation has been committed,
the horse shall not be set back unless a contending horse on
his/her gait is lapped on the hind quarter of the breaking
horse at the finish.  The judges may set any horse back one
or more places if in their judgment, any of the above
violations have been committed, and the driver may be

penalized.
7.6.13.20.5  Any horse making a break which

causes interference to other horses may be placed behind all
offended horses.  If there has been no failure on the part of
the driver of the breaking horse in complying with Rule
7.6.13.20, no fine or suspension shall be imposed on the
driver as a consequence of the interference.

7.6.13.21 If, in the opinion of the judges, a driver
allows a horse to break for the purpose of losing a race, he or
she shall be in violation of the rules.

7.6.13.22 It shall be the duty of one of the judges to
call out every break made and have them duly recorded in
judges official race reports.

7.6.13.23 The horse whose nose reaches the wire
first is the winner. If there is a dead heat for first, both horses
shall be considered winners.  In races having more than one
heat or dash, where two horses are tied in the summary, the
winner of the longer dash or heat shall be entitled to the
trophy.  Where the dashes or heats are of the same distance
and the horses are tied in the summary, the winner of the
faster dash or heat shall be entitled to the trophy.  Where the
dashes or heats are of the same time, both horses shall be
considered winners and the entitlement of the trophy will be
decided by lot.

7.6.13.24 The wire or finish line is a real line
established with the aid of a surveyor's transit, or an
imaginary line running from the center of the judges' stand to
a point immediately across and at right angles to the track.

7.6.13.25 If, during the preliminary scores or during
a race a driver is unseated in such a manner that he or she
falls to the ground, the State Steward or judges may direct
the driver to report to the infirmary or to the emergency
department of the nearest hospital for examination and
receive clearance to continue with driving assignments on
that day of racing.

7.6.13.26 If a horse is to warm up it must go its last
warm-up on the same racing strip as it will compete on
unless excused by the judges.

5.  AMEND Rule 3.2.8.3 to provide as follows:

3.2.8  Steward’s List
3.2.8.1 The judges shall maintain a Steward's List of

the horses which are ineligible to be entered in a race.
3.2.8.2 A horse that is unfit to race because it is

dangerous, unmanageable or unable to show a performance
to qualify for races at the meeting, scratched as a result of a
high blood gas test, or otherwise unfit to race at the meeting
may be placed on the Steward's List by the Presiding Judge
and declarations and/or entries on the horse shall be refused.
The owner or trainer shall be notified of such action and the
reason shall be clearly stated.  When any horse is placed on
the Steward's List, the clerk of the course shall make a note
on the eligibility certificate of such horse, showing the date
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the horse was put on the Steward's List the reason and the
date of removal if the horse has been removed.

1 DE Reg. 501 (11/01/97)
2 DE Reg. 1243 (01/01/99)

3.2.8.3 All horses scratched by a veterinarian for either
lameness or sickness will be put on the Steward's List and
can not race for five (5)  seven (7) days from the date of the
scratched race. Entries will be accepted during this five (5)
seven (7) day period for a race to be contested after the fifth
seventh day.

Veterinarians may put a horse on the Steward’s List
for sickness or lameness for more than five (5) seven (7) if
necessary.  In that instance, the horse may not race until
proscribed number of days has expired.  Entries will be
accepted during this period for a race to be contested after
the proscribed number of days has expired.

2 DE.Reg. 1244 (01/01/99)
3.2.8.4 No Presiding Judge or other official at a fair

meeting shall have the power to remove from the Steward's
List and accept as an entry any horse which has been placed
on a Steward's List and not subsequently removed therefrom
for the reason that he/she is dangerous or an unmanageable
horse.  Such meetings may refuse declarations and/or entries
on any horse that has been placed on the Steward's List and
has not been removed therefrom.

3.2.8.5 No horse shall be admitted to any racetrack
facilities in this jurisdiction without having had a negative
official test for equine infectious anemia within twelve (12)
months.

3.2.8.6 The judges may put any horse on the Steward's
List for performance when such horse shows a reversal of
form or does not race near its own capabilities. Such horse
shall qualify in a time comparable to its known capabilities
from one to three times, at the discretion of the judges,
before being allowed to start.

3.2.8.7 Any horse put on the Steward's List as
unmanageable or dangerous must qualify in a satisfactory
manner for the judges at least two times.

3.2.8.8 The judges may put any horse on the Steward's
List for being noncompetitive or unfit to race at the meeting.

3.2.8.9 The judges may place a horse on the Steward's
List when there exists a question as to the exact
identification, ownership or management of said horse.

3.2.8.10 A horse which has been placed on the
Steward's List because of questions as to the exact
identification or ownership of said horse, may be removed
from the Steward's List when, in the opinion of the judges,
proof of exact identification and/or ownership has been
established.

3.2.8.11 A horse may not be released from the
Steward's List without the permission of the judges.

6.  AMEND Rule 7.6.6 to delete subsection 7.6.6.6 as
follows:

7.6.6  Recall Rules
7.6.6.1 In case of a recall, a light plainly visible to the

drivers shall be flashed and a recall sounded, but the starting
gate shall proceed out of the path of the horses. In the case of
a recall, whenever possible, the starter shall leave the wings
of the gate extended and gradually slow the speed of the gate
to assist in stopping the field of horses.  In an emergency,
however, the starter shall use his/her discretion to close the
wings of the gate.

7.6.6.2 There shall be no recall after the word "go" has
been give unless there is a mechanical failure of the starting
gate.

7.6.6.3 The starter shall attempt to dispatch all horses
away in position and on gait but there shall be no recall for a
breaking horse after the recall point is passed.

7.6.6.4 In the event a horse causes two recalls, it may
be an automatic ruling of the judges that the offending horse
be scratched.

7.6.6.5 The starter may sound a recall for the following
reasons:

7.6.6.5.1 A horse scores ahead of the gate;
7.6.6.5.2 There is interference;
7.6.6.6.3 A horse has broken equipment;
7.6.6.6.4 A horse falls before the word "go" is

given; or
7.6.6.6.5 A mechanical failure of the starting

gate.
7.6.6.6 There shall be a recall pole placed one-eighth

of a mile before the starting point, before or at which point,
at the discretion of the starter, there may be a recall for a
breaking horse or horses not up to the gate.  When the recall
pole is passed, there shall be no recall for a breaking horse or
a horse not up to the gate except as provided in 7.6.6.5.1 -
7.6.6.6.5 above.  Horses not up to the gate in position due to
the fault of the driver may result in the driver being
penalized by the starter.

7.6.6.7 A fine and/or suspension may be applied to any
driver for:

7.6.6.7.1 Delaying the start;
7.6.6.7.2 Failure to obey the starter's

instructions
7.6.6.7.3 Rushing ahead of the inside or outside

wing of the gate;
7.6.6.7.4 Coming to the starting gate out of

position;
7.6.6.7.5 Crossing over before reaching the

starting point;
7.6.6.7.6 Interference with another driver

during the start; or
7.6.6.7.7 Failure to come up into position.

7.  AMEND Rule 6.3.2 to add new subsections 6.3.2.8 and
6.3.2.9 to provide as follows:
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6.3.2  Prohibition on Claims
6.3.2.1 A person shall not claim directly or indirectly

his/her own horse or a horse trained or driven by him/her or
cause such horse to be claimed directly or indirectly for his/
her own account.

6.3.2.2 A person shall not directly or indirectly offer,
or directly or indirectly enter into an agreement, to claim or
not to claim or directly or indirectly attempt to prevent
another person from claiming any horse in a claiming race.

6.3.2.3 A person shall not have more than one claim
on any one horse in any claiming race.

6.3.2.4 A person shall not directly or indirectly
conspire to protect a horse from being claimed by arranging
another person to lodge claims, a procedure known as
protection claims.

6.3.2.5 No qualified owner or his agent shall claim a
horse for another person.

6.3.2.6 No person shall enter in a claiming race a horse
against which there is a mortgage, bill or sale, or lien of any
kind, unless the written consent of the holder thereof shall be
filed with the Clerk of the Course of the association
conducting such claiming race.

6.3.2.7 Any mare which has been bred shall not be
declared into a claiming race for at least 30 days following
the last breeding of the mare, and thereafter such a mare may
only be declared into a claiming race after a veterinarian has
pronounced the mare not to be in foal.  Any mare
pronounced in foal shall not be declared into a claiming race.
Where a mare is claimed out of a claiming race and
subsequently proves to be in foal from a breeding which
occurred prior to the race from which she was claimed, the
claim may be voided by the judges at the option of the
successful claimant provided the mare is subjected to a
pregnancy examination within 18 days of the date of the
claim, and is found pregnant as a result of that pregnancy
examination.  A successful claimant seeking to void the
claim must file a petition to void said claim with the judges
within 10 days after this pregnancy examination and shall
thereafter be heard by the judges after due notice of the
hearing to the parties concerned.

1 DE Reg. 503 (01/11/97)
6.3.2.8  No person shall claim more than one horse in a

race either alone, in a partnership, corporation or other legal
entity.

6.3.2.9  If a horse is claimed, no right, title or interest
therein shall be sold or transferred except in a claiming race
for a period of thirty (30) days following the date of the
claiming.

8. AMEND Rule 8.4.3.5.10 to provide as follows:

8.4.3 Procedure for Taking Specimens
8.4.3.1 Horses from which specimens are to be drawn

shall be taken to the detention area at the prescribed time and

remain there until released by the Commission veterinarian.
Only the owner, trainer, groom, or hot walker of horses to be
tested shall be admitted to the detention area without
permission of the Commission veterinarian.

8.4.3.2 Stable equipment other than equipment
necessary for washing and cooling out a horse shall be
prohibited in the detention area.

8.4.3.2.1 Buckets and water shall be furnished
by the Commission veterinarian.

8.4.3.2.2 If a body brace is to be used, it shall
be supplied by the responsible trainer and administered only
with the permission and in the presence of the Commission
veterinarian.

8.4.3.2.3 A licensed veterinarian shall attend a
horse in the detention area only in the presence of the
Commission veterinarian.

8.4.3.3 One of the following persons shall be present
and witness the taking of the specimen from a horse and so
signify in writing:

8.4.3.3.1 The owner;
8.4.3.3.2 The responsible trainer who, in the

case of a claimed horse, shall be the person in whose name
the horse raced; or

8.4.3.3.3 A stable representative designated by
such owner or trainer.

8.4.3.4
8.4.3.4.1 All urine containers shall be supplied

by the Commission laboratory and shall be sealed with the
laboratory security seal which shall not be broken, except in
the presence of the witness as provided by (subsection (3))
subsection 8.4.3.3 of this section.

8.4.3.4.2 Blood vacutainers will also be
supplied by the Commission laboratory in sealed packages
as received from the manufacturer.

8.4.3.5 Samples taken from a horse, by the
Commission veterinarian or his assistant at the detention
barn, shall be collected and in double containers and
designated as the “primary” and “secondary” samples.

8.4.3.5.1 These samples shall be sealed with
tamper-proof tape and bear a portion of the multiple part
“identification tag” that has identical printed numbers only.
The other portion of the tag bearing the same printed
identification number shall be detached in the presence of
the witness

8.4.3.5.2 The Commission veterinarian shall:
8.4.3.5.2.1 Identify the horse from which the

specimen was taken.
8.4.3.5.2.2 Document the race and day,

verified by the witness; and
8.4.3.5.2.3 Place the detached portions of the

identification tags in a sealed envelope for delivery only to
the stewards.

8.4.3.5.3 After both portions of samples have
been identified in accordance with this section, the “
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 11, MONDAY, MAY 1, 2000



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1439
primary” sample shall be delivered to the official chemist
designated by the Commission.

8.4.3.5.4 The  “secondary”  sample shall
remain in the custody of the Commission veterinarian at the
detention area and urine samples shall be frozen and blood
samples refrigerated in a locked refrigerator/freezer.

8.4.3.5.5 The Commission veterinarian shall
take every precaution to ensure that neither the Commission
chemist nor any member of the laboratory staff shall know
the identity of the horse from which a specimen was taken
prior to the completion of all testing.

8.4.3.5.6 When the Commission chemist has
reported that the “primary” sample delivered contains no
prohibited drug, the “secondary” sample shall be properly
disposed.

8.4.3.5.7 If after a horse remains a reasonable
time in the detention area and a specimen can not be taken
from the horse, the Commission veterinarian may permit the
horse to be returned to its barn and usual surroundings for
the taking of a specimen under the supervision of the
Commission veterinarian.

8.4.3.5.8 If one hundred (100) milliliters (ml.)
or less of urine is obtained, it will not be split, but will be
considered the “primary”  sample and will be tested as other
“primary” samples.

8.4.3.5.9 Two (2) blood samples shall be
collected in twenty (20) milliliters vacutainers, one for the
“primary” and one for the “secondary” sample.

8.4.3.5.10 In the event of an initial finding of a
prohibited drug or in violation of these Rules & Regulations,
the Commission chemist shall notify the Commission, both
orally and in writing, and an oral or written notice shall be
issued by the Commission to the owner and trainer or other
responsible person no more than twenty-four (24) hours after
the receipt of the initial finding, unless extenuating
circumstances require a longer period, in which case the
Commission shall provide notice as soon as possible in order
to allow for testing of the “secondary” sample provided
however, that the procedure for testing the “secondary
sample” shall not apply to, and there shall be no right to such
testing of a “secondary sample” with respect to a finding of a
prohibited level of total carbon dioxide in a submitted
sample with respect to a finding of a prohibited level of total
carbon dioxide in a blood sample, there shall be no right to
testing of the “secondary sample” unless such finding
initially is made at the racetrack on the same day that the
tested horse raced, and in every such circumstance a
“secondary sample” shall be transported to the Commission
laboratory on an anonymous basis for confirmatory testing.

8.4.3.5.10.1 If  testing of the “secondary”
sample is desired, the owner, trainer, or other responsible
person shall so notify the Commission in writing within 48
hours after notification of the initial positive test or within a
reasonable period of time established by the Commission

after consultation with the Commission chemist.  The
reasonable period is to be calculated to insure the integrity of
the sample and the preservation of the alleged illegal
substance.

8.4.3.5.10.2 Testing of the “secondary”
samples shall be performed at a referee laboratory selected
by representatives of the owner, trainer, or other responsible
person from a list of not less than two (2) laboratories
approved by the Commission.

8.4.3.5.11 The Commission shall bear the
responsibility of preparing and shipping the sample, and the
cost of preparation, shipping, and testing at the referee
laboratory shall be assumed by the person requesting the
testing, whether it be the owner, trainer, or other person
charged.

8.4.3.5.11.1 A Commission representative and
the owner, trainer, or other responsible person or a
representative of the persons notified under these Rules and
Regulations may be present at the time of the opening,
repackaging, and testing of the “secondary” sample to ensure
its identity and that the testing is satisfactorily performed.

8.4.3.5.11.2 The referee laboratory shall be
informed of the initial findings of the Commission chemist
prior to making the test.

8.4.3.5.11.3 If the finding of the referee
laboratory is proven to be of sufficient reliability and does
not confirm the finding of the initial test performed by the
Commission chemist and in the absence of other
independent proof of the administration of a prohibited drug
of the horse in question, it shall be concluded that there is
insubstantial evidence upon which to charge anyone with a
violation.

8.4.3.5.12 The Commission veterinarian shall be
responsible for safeguarding all specimens while in his
possession and shall cause the specimens to be delivered
only to the Commission chemist as soon as possible after
sealing, in a manner so as not to reveal the identity of a horse
from which the sample was taken.

8.4.3.5.13 If an Act of God, power failure,
accident, strike or other action beyond the control of the
Commission occurs, the results of the primary official test
shall be accepted as prima facie evidence.

1 DE Reg. 505 (11/01/97)

THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  3 Delaware Code,
Section 10103 (3 Del.C. 10103)

The Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission
proposes several rule amendments to the Rules of Racing of
the Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission.  The
Commission proposes the rules pursuant to 3 Del.C. §10103
and 29 Del.C. §10118.  Although the proposal contains
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many proposed changes, the changes for the most part are
stylistic changes designed to clarify the role of the
Commission and the racetrack in the racing operations.  The
following is a brief summary of the proposed rules:

1. Amend Rule 2.01 Conditions precedent to
registration or issuance of authorization or permit.  The
proposed rule would clarify that licensees must comply with
all rulings of the Commission, and further clarify that the
Commission, not the licensed racetrack, is responsible to
maintain fingerprint information on licensees.

2. Amend Rule 2.02 (Permits, Registrations, and
Authorizations) By Whom Required.  The proposed rule
would clarify that the Commission, not the licensed
racetrack, issues permits or authorizations for licensees.

3. Amend Rule 2.03 Registra . The amendment
would delete a provision requiring the registrar to collect
license fees and approve license applications.

4. Amend Rule 2.04 Standards for Granting
Permits, etc., to Participants in Racing.  The proposed
amendment would clarify that the Commission, not the
licensed racetrack or the registrar, grants registrations and
authorizations for racing participants.

5. Amend Rule 2.05 Grounds for Refusal,
Suspension, or Revocation of a Permit.  The proposed
amendment would provide that the Commission may refuse
to license or suspend or revoke licenses.  Rule 2.05(c) as
amended would allow for disciplinary action against a
licensee who falsified a Commission application.  As
amended, Rule 2.05(d) would delete the provision for
disciplinary action against a licensee or applicant for failure
to comply with orders or rulings of the racetrack.  The
amended Rules 2.05(r) and 2.05(u) would delete the
provision for disciplinary action against a licensee or
applicant based on improper activity in the opinion of the
licensee.  Rule 2.05(t) as amended would clarify that the
Commission makes the decision to take licensure action
based on reports from law enforcement authorities.  Rule
2.05(v) would permit action against a licensee for failure to
submit to photographs or fingerprints taken by the
Commission.

6. Amend Rule 2.06-Permit Application for
Participants in Racing.  Rule 2.06 as amended would
clarify that the Commission is the agency to issue
applications for permits.  Rule 2.06(d) would delete the
provision that the licensed racetrack acts on license
applications.  Rule 2.06(g) would be amended to permit the
Commission to charge license fees as authorized under 3
Del.C. §10131.

7. Amend Rule 2.07 Registrar. Rule 2.07 would be
revised to provide that the Commission, not the registrar or
licensed racetrack reviews license applications.

8. Amend Rule 2.08 Term of Authorizatio .  As
amended, Rule 2.08 would clarify that the Commission

grants permits as authorized under 3 Del.  Chapter 101.
9. Amend Rule 2.09 Possession of identification

card required.  Rule 2.09 as amended would provide that
the Commission issues authorizations or permits for
participants to be present on the racetrack grounds.

10. Amend Rule 3.02  Appointment of Stewards.  As
amended, Rule 3.02 would clarify thatthe Commission is
responsible for the hiring of the Stewards

11. Amend Rule 3.03 General Powers of Stewards.
As amended, Rule 3.03(d)(e) would provide that the
Commission may instruct the Stewards to review license
applications, licenses, registration certificates, and related
papers.  Rule 3.03(c) would be amended to state that the
Veterinarian is the Commission's Veterinarian.

12. Amend Rule 4.01 Racing Officials.  Rule 4.01
would be amended to clarify that the Veterinarian is not
appointed as a racing official by the licensed racetrack.

13. Amend Rule 5.32 Commission's Licensee's
Veterinarian.  Rule 5.32 would be amended that the
Veterinarian is employed by the Commission.

14. Amend Rule 6.01 Registration Required .  As
amended, Rule 6.01 would provide that owners must obtain
a registration from the Commission.

15. Amend Rule 6.02 Requirements for Owner's
Registration.  Rule 6.02 would be amended to clarify that
the Commission may deny, suspend, or revoke an Owner's
registration.

16. Amend Rule 6.04 Joint Ownership.  Rule 6.04 as
amended would clarify that the Commission may deny,
suspend, or revoke the registration of a joint owner.

17. Amend Rule 7.01 (Trainers) Registration
Required.  Rule 7.01 would clarify that the Commission
issues registrations to trainers.

18. Amend Rule 7.02 Requirements for Trainer's
Registration.  Rule 7.02 as amended would clarify that the
Commission has the authority to deny, suspend, or revoke
trainer registrations.

19. Amend Rule 7.03 (Trainers) Duties and
Responsibilities.  Rule 7.03 would be amended to clarify
that the track veterinarian is employed by the Commission.

20. Amend Rule 7.06 Assistant Trainer.  Rule 7.06
would be amended to clarify that the Commission licenses
assistant trainers.

21. Amend Rule 8.01 Probationary Mount.  Rule 8.01
as amended would provide that the Commission issues
permits for jockeys or apprentice jockeys.

22. Amend Rule 9.01 Agency Permitted.  Rule 9.01 as
amended would provide that the Commission issues
registrations for owners or jockeys.

23. Amend Rule 9.03 Termination of Agency.  Rule
9.03 as amended would require agents to notify the
Commission prior to termination of the agency.

24. Amend Rule 9.04 Acts by Authorized Agent.
Rule 9.04 would be amended to clarify that the Commission
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issues permits for Authorized Agents.
25. Amend Rule 9.05 Riding Engagements.  As

amended, Rule 9.05 would provide that the Commission
issues permits for persons making riding engagements for a
rider.

26. Amend Rule 10.03 Denerving. Rule 10.03 would
be amended to provide that the Commission Veterinarian is
responsible for approving horses that have had a posterior
digital neurectomy.

27. Amend Rule 10.04 Bleeders and amend Rule
10.07 Removal from Licensee's Grounds to clarify that the
track veterinarian is employed by the Commission.

29. Amend Rule 11.02 Procedure for Making Entries
to clarify that the track veterinarian is employed by the
Commission.

30. Amend Rule 15.02 Bleeder Medication, Rule
15.04-Reports of Administration, Rule 15.05 Report
Prior to Race of Cessation or Reduction of Medication,
Rule 15.06 Bettors' Safeguard, and Rule 15.08 Detention
Area.  These amendments would clarify that the track
veterinarian is employed by the Commission, and not the
licensed racetrack.

The Commission will receive written public comments
from May 1, 2000 through May 30, 2000.  The Commission
will hold a public hearing on May 23, 2000 at 10:00 a.m at
Delaware Park, Stanton, DE.  Written comments should be
sent to John Wayne, Administrator of Racing, 2320 S.
DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19910. Copies of the proposed
rules can be obtained from the Commission office at the
above address.

PART 2 -- PERMITS, REGISTRATIONS AND
AUTHORIZATIONS

2.01 Conditions precedent to registration or issuance
of authorization or permit.

Thoroughbred racing and participation therein within
Delaware are privileges, not rights, which are subject to the
conditions and requirements imposed by these Rules.
Acceptance of an authorization, registration or permit as
provided for by these Rules shall constitute the recipient’s
consent and agreement to the requirements of these Rules,
and failure to comply therewith shall be grounds for
immediate voidance or revocation of such authorization,
registration or permit.  Registrants and Permittees shall abide
by all rulings and decisions of the Commission, the Licensee
and/or of the Stewards, and all such rulings and decisions
shall remain in force unless and until reversed or modified
by the Commission upon proper appeal thereto, or a court of
competent jurisdiction.

All rulings and decisions of the Stewards may be
appealed to the Commission upon deposit of an appropriate
sum to defray all costs attendant.

By applying for and/or accepting any authorization,
registration or permit provided for by these Rules, the
Permittee or Registrant consents:  (1) to a search by the
Licensee and/or by the Commission, or their respective
representatives, of his person and any property in his
possession, such property being restricted to that on
Licensee's grounds and including, without limiting thereby,
tack rooms, living or sleeping quarters, motor vehicles,
trunks, boxes and containers of any sort; and (2) to seizure of
any object which may be evidence indicating a violation of
these Rules; and (3) to having his photograph and
fingerprints taken and retained on file by Licensee the
Commission and/or any other security or investigative
agency or entity it may select.  During the conduct of an
investigation, every Permittee or Registrant shall respond
correctly under oath to the best of his knowledge to all
questions asked by the Commission, the Licensee, the
Stewards or their respective representatives, pertaining to
racing matters.

2.02 By Whom Required:
No person shall participate in Thoroughbred Racing in

Delaware at any Licensee's racetrack as a horse Owner,
Trainer, Assistant Trainer, Authorized Agent, Jockey,
Apprentice Jockey, Jockey's Agent, Stable Agent, Stable
Employee, Racing Official, Licensee's employee, or
employee of a person or concern contracting with the
Licensee to provide a service or commodity and which
employment requires his presence on Licensee's grounds
during a race meeting, or Veterinarian, Farrier, Dental
Technician or supplier of food, tack, medication or horse
feed, without first securing such authorization or permit
therefor from the Commission Licensee in such form, upon
such conditions, and for such fees or charges, as it from time
to time, with the Commission's approval, may require.

2.03 Registrar:
The Licensee is authorized, with the approval of the

Commission, to employ a Registrar who shall be responsible
for processing applications for authorizations, permits, and
registrations of all persons for whom such is required by the
preceding section.  He also shall be responsible for
collecting all requisite fees and charges therefor.  All such
applications received by the Registrar and granted by him
shall be subject to reversal by the Commission for any
reason it might deem necessary or appropriate.

A person may serve concurrently as Registrar and as a
Steward.  The Registrar and his assistants shall:

(a) Be present on Licensee's grounds prior to the
opening of a race meeting, and during the meeting, to accept
such applications and registrations, and shall maintain an
office on Licensee's grounds for such purpose.

(b) File reports to the Commission respecting such
applications with accountings of fees received therefor, as
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and when required by the Commission.
(c) Be responsible for arranging the photographing and

fingerprinting of all such applicants for whom Licensee
requires such.

2.04 Standards for Granting Permits, etc., to
Participants in Racing:

The Commission Licensee, by its Registra , may allow
registration or issue an authorization or permit to any person
who applies for same to participate in Thoroughbred Racing
at Licensee's racetrack in Delaware as a horse Owner,
Trainer, Assistant Trainer, Authorized Agent, Jockey,
Apprentice Jockey, Jockey's Agent, Stable Agent, Stable
Employee, Racing Official, Licensee's employee, employee
of a person or concern contracting with the Licensee to
provide a service or commodity and which requires his
presence on Licensee's grounds during a race meeting, or
Veterinarian, Farrier, Dental Technician, or supplier of food,
tack, medication, or horse feed, if the Commission Licensee,
by its Registrar, finds that the financial responsibility, age,
experience, reputation, competence, and/or fitness of the
applicant to perform the activity so registered or permitted
by an authorization or permit, are consistent with the best
interests of racing and maintenance of the honesty, integrity
and high quality it heretofore has enjoyed in Delaware.

2.05 Grounds for Refusal, Suspension, or Revocation
of a Permit, etc.:

The Commission Licensee in its discretion, by its
Registrar, may refuse to register or to issue an authorization
or permit to an applicant, or may suspend or revoke a
registration, permit, or authorization previously issued, or
order disciplinary measures, on the following grounds:

(a) Denial of a license, permit, authorization or
registration to an applicant, or suspension or revocation of
such, in another racing jurisdiction at any previous time;

(b) Conviction of a crime or violation of any narcotic
regulation, or association with any person who has been so
convicted;

(c) Falsification, misrepresentation, or omission of
required information in the application submitted to the
Commission Licensee; failure to disclose to the Licensee
complete ownership or beneficial interest in a horse entered
to be raced; misrepresentation or attempted
misrepresentation in connection with the sale of a horse or
other matter pertaining to racing or registration of
Thoroughbreds or Arabians;

(d) Failure to comply with any order or ruling of the
Commission, the Licensee, Stewards, or Racing Official
pertaining to a racing matter;

(e) Ownership of any interest in, or participating by
any manner in, any bookmaking, pool-selling, touting, bet
solicitation, or illegal enterprise, or association with any
person ever so engaged in such activity;

(f) Person less than 16 years of age;
(g) Person unqualified by experience or competence to

perform the activity or hold the status for which registration,
permit, or authorization is sought;

(h) Intoxication, use of profanity, fighting, or any
conduct of a disorderly nature, on Licensee's grounds;

(i) Employment or harboring of unauthorized persons
required by these Rules to register or have a permit or
authorization;

(j) Discontinuance of or ineligibility for activity for
which registration, permit, or authorization was issued;

(k) Possession on Licensee's grounds, without written
permission therefor from the Commission, the Licensee, or
the Stewards, of:

(1) Firearms;
(2) Battery, or buzzer, or electrical device, or other

appliance other than an ordinary whip which could be used
to alter the speed of a horse in a race or workout;

(l) Possession on Licensee's grounds by a person other
than a licensed Veterinarian of:

(1) Hypodermic needle, or hypodermic syringe, or
other device which could be used to administer any
substance to a horse;

(2) Narcotics, or medication, or drug, or substance
which could be used to alter the speed of a horse in a race.

(m) Use of profane, abusive or insulting language to or
interference with a Commissioner, member of the
Commission staff, or Racing Official, while such persons are
in the discharge of their duties;

(n) Cruelty to a horse or neglect of a horse entrusted to
a permittee's care;

(o) Offering, promising, giving, accepting or soliciting
a bribe in any form, directly or indirectly, to or by a person
having any connection with the outcome of a race, or failure
to report knowledge of same immediately to the Stewards;

(p) Causing, or attempting to cause, or participation in
any way in any attempt to cause the pre-arrangement of a
race result, or failure to report knowledge of same
immediately to the Stewards;

(q) Entering, or aiding or abetting the entering of, a
horse ineligible or unqualified for the race entered;

(r) Drug addiction, public drunkenness, financial
irresponsibility or failure to pay debts when due, bad moral
character, intemperate habits, bad reputation for honesty,
truth and veracity, past instance of lying, cheating, or
stealing, or involvement in a subject of public notice as
involved in any activity which, in the opinion of the
Licensee, would be inconsistent with the best interests of
racing by reflection on the honesty and integrity of the sport
of racing, or association with persons so characterized;

(s) Violation of any rule of the Commission, or aiding
or abetting any person in the violation of any such rule;

(t) Unfavorable report, on any of the grounds
hereinbefore stated, by recognized law enforcement
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authorities, the Licensee's security director or his designee,
inspection bureaus, credit reporting companies, courts or like
organizations upon whom the Commission Licensee is
authorized to rely if it chooses in any given cause to do so;

Rule 2.05(t) adopted 7/2/96
(u) Past or contemplated conduct or utterance which, in

Licensee's or its Registrar's judgment or opinion, does or
may adversely affect, whether intentionally or
unintentionally, and whether in fact or only seemingly, the
public's confidence in the reputation Thoroughbred racing
heretofore has enjoyed in Delaware for stringent adherence
to uncompromising standards of honesty, integrity and
propriety;

(v) Failure to submit to having his photograph and
fingerprints taken and maintained by the Commission or the
Licensee.

2.06 Permit Application for Participants in Racing:
Any person required to register or have an authorization

or permit by Rule 2.02 who desires to participate in
Thoroughbred Racing and/or Arabian Racing in Delaware
may apply to the Commission Licensee for registration,
authorization or permit to participate in racing at Licensee's
racetrack.  Such application shall be made in writing on
application forms prescribed by the Licensee and approved
by the Commission and filed at the Licensee's general office
or with the Licensee's Registrar on or after January 2 of the
calendar year in which the registration, permit, or
authorization is to be in force, but not later than 24 hours
after applicant has arrived on Licensee's grounds.

All owners and trainers shall carry workmen's
compensation insurance covering all their employees.  This
paragraph is intended to include all individuals employed by
Owners and Trainers in the training and racing of horses.
All concessionaires shall carry workmen's compensation
covering all their employees.

(a) Applications from persons not previously registered
or granted an authorization or permit at Licensee's racetrack
shall include the names of two reputable persons who will
attest to the good reputation of the applicant and to the
capability and general fitness of the applicant to perform the
activity permitted by the permit.

(b) Applications from persons whose age is not readily
ascertainable by the Licensee or its Registrar shall be
accompanied by an attested copy of birth certificate or work
permit showing applicant is 16 years of age or older.

(c) Fingerprint identification, as well as a photograph,
will be required of all registrants and permittees unless
waived by the Licensee (e.g., absentee owners and casual
delivery personnel who do not enter the stable area).

(d) Applications from persons, corporations,
partnerships, lessees, or other legal entities involving more
than one individual person desiring to race horses at
Licensee's racetrack in Delaware shall, in addition to

designating the person or persons to represent the entire
ownership of such horses, be accompanied by documents
which fully disclose the identity and degree and type of
ownership held by all individual persons who own or
control, directly or indirectly, as a stockholder, syndicate
participant, partner, or otherwise, a present or reversionary
interest in such horses.  No application shall be acted upon
by the Licensee until it is satisfied a full disclosure has been
made.

(e) Applications from persons desiring to treat, or
prescribe for, or attend any horse on Licensee's grounds as a
practicing Veterinarian, shall be accompanied by evidence
that such person is currently licensed as a Veterinarian by the
State of Delaware.  An accredited practicing Veterinarian
not holding a permit or authorization from the Licensee or a
license from the State of Delaware, however, may with
permission of the Stewards in an emergency be called in as a
consultant, or to serve as a Veterinarian for one horse on a
temporary basis, and shall not thereby be considered as
participating in racing in this State.

(f) Applications from persons desiring to treat, or
prescribe for, or attend any horse on Licensee's grounds as a
Dental Technician shall be accompanied by the name of a
licensed Veterinarian who will attest to the technical
competence of such applicant and under whose sponsorship
and direction such applicant will work on Licensee's
grounds.

(g) As a condition precedent to the registration or
issuance of any permit or authorization required of
participants in racing by these Rules, the Commission
Licensee or its Registrar on its behalf shall be entitled to
charge and collect, and each applicant shall be required to
pay, an annual fee in such amount as permitted by 3 Del. C.
chapter 101 as from time to time shall be approved by the
Commission for each activity or status for which applicant
seeks registration or the issuance of a permit or
authorization.

All fees so collected by the Licensee or its Registrar on
its behalf may be retained by Licensee, as its own funds, to
defray its costs and expenses in processing and
administering the registrations, permits and authorizations
required by these Rules for the purpose of protecting and
maintaining the integrity and good reputation of
Thoroughbred Racing conducted in Delaware.

The Commission, pursuant to 3 Del.C. §10131, shall
have the power to impose license fees for those participating
in a racing meet.  The license fees for participants in a racing
meet, if imposed by the Commission, shall be payable to the
Commission as follows:

(1) $50 for all owners and all trainers.
(2) $30 for all veterinarians, farriers, jockeys,

apprentice jockeys, jockey agents, and assistant trainers.
(3) $15 for all licensee vendors and vendor

employees.
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(4) $5 for all stable employees and association
employees.

Activities for which such fees may be charged and
collected may include the following categories:

1. Owner registration, Stable Name, Partnerships,
and annual color registration;

2. Trainer, Assistant Trainer, Authorized Agent,
Jockey, Apprentice Jockey, or Jockey's agent registration or
authorization;

3. Veterinarian, Dental Technician, Assistant
Trainer, Farrier, or Apprentice Farrier authorization;

4. Stable Agent, Stable Employee authorization
(foreman, exercise boy, groom, hotwalker, watchman or
pony boy);

5. Stable-area Supplier authorization (suppliers of
horse feed, tack, medications or food vendors);

6. Racing Department Employee authorization,
Steward, Racing Secretary, Assistant Racing Secretary,
Director of Racing, Starter and Assistant Starter, Paddock
Judge, Patrol Judge, Placing Judge, Timer, Veterinarian,
Chemist, Security Personnel, testing laboratory employee,
Horse Identifier, Valet, jockey room Custodian, Clerk of
Scales, Entry Clerk, photo finish operator, film patrol or
video tape operator and projectionist, Flagman or Outrider;

7. Mutuel Department employee authorization,
manager, calculator, sheet writer, supervisor, ticket checker
ticket seller, ticket cashier, messenger, runner, outbook
clerk, program clerk, porter, information and change clerk,
boardman, ticket room and money room clerk, assistant,
totalizator employee;

8. Occupational authorization, Admission
Department Manager and employees; concessions manager
and employees; parking manager and employees; Security
Department including police chief, detectives, policemen,
watchmen, firemen, ambulance drivers and attendants; track
superintendent, groundsmen, mechanics, carpenters;
Maintenance Department Manager and employees; all other
persons employed by the Licensee or employed by a person
or concern contracting with the Licensee to provide a service
or commodity and which employment requires their
presence on Licensee's grounds during a race meeting;

9. Temporary occupational authorization for
persons to be employed for ten days or less during a calendar
year.

Rule 2.06 revised 7/2/96.

2.07 Registrar:
The Commission Licensee or its Registrar shall review

all registrations, authorizations and permits subject to such
security check and other investigation in appropriate
instances as it may deem necessary or desirable, and may
issue to a permit applicant a temporary authorization or
permit to participate in the activity for which application is
made pending further processing, investigation, and final

action on such application subsequently.

2.08 Term of Authorization:
Registrations, authorizations and permits issued by the

Commission Licensee or its Registrar hereunder for
participants in Thoroughbred Racing at its racetrack shall be
valid from the date of issuance through the calendar year
shown on such license at all race meetings conducted by said
Licensee during such calendar year, unless sooner
suspended, revoked or voided, or otherwise permitted by 3
Del.C. chap. 101.  The Commission Licensee or its registrar
may renew any authorization or permit and any such renewal
shall not be construed to be a waiver or condonement of any
violation which occurred prior to such renewal and shall not
prevent subsequent proceedings against the holder thereof.

The validity of a registration, permit or authorization
does not preclude or infringe upon the common law and
absolute right of any Licensee in Delaware, without
necessity for giving reason or excuse, to eject or exclude any
person from its premises at any time.

2.09 Possession of identification card required:
No person required by these Rules to be registered by,

or to have an authorization or permit from the Commission
Licensee, may participate in any activity for which such is
required on Licensee's grounds during a race meeting
without having been issued an identification card containing
his or her photograph which shall evidence such
authorization and having the same in his or her possession.

With respect to Owners, or in special cases with respect
to others, Licensee may waive this requirement.  Also, see
Rule 6.01.

PART 3  --  STEWARDS

3.02 Appointment of Stewards:
There shall be three Stewards at each race meeting, each

of whom shall be appointed by the Licensee, subject to the
approval of the Commission.  Names of the Licensee's
appointments for Stewards shall be submitted for approval to
the Commission as early as possible, but not later than 30
days before commencement of Licensee's race meeting
except for good cause.  If required by the Commission,
biographical data setting out the experience and
qualifications of the nominees shall be provided to the
Commission by the Licensee.  The Licensee shall submit
successive nominees until three persons are approved by the
Commission as qualified to serve as Stewards.  No Steward
shall serve until approved by the Commission.

(a) Stewards shall serve from one minute after
midnight on the day before the first racing day until one
minute before midnight on the day after the last racing day of
the race meeting for which they are appointed; provided, in
the event a dispute or controversy arises during a race
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meeting which is not settled at the conclusion of the race
meeting, then the power of the Stewards shall be extended
over the period necessary to resolve the matter, or until the
matter is referred or appealed to the Commission;

(b) With the approval of the Commission, Stewards
may be replaced by the Commission Licensee at any time for
failure to perform their duties properly and diligently;

(c) In the event that during a racing meet a Steward
becomes ill, resigns, or is unable to serve for any reason,
then the remaining Stewards, after obtaining approval of the
Commission Licensee, shall nominate a successor or
temporary Steward to the Commission for approval.  In
emergencies, a single Commissioner by telephone may
approve appointment of a successor Steward.

3.03 General Powers of the Steward
The Stewards shall exercise immediate supervision,

control and regulation of racing at the race meeting for
which they are appointed.  By way of illustration and
without in any way limiting them, the powers of the
Stewards shall include:

(a) Authority over all horses and all persons (except
members of the Commission and its representatives, and
except Licensee's management personnel and staff) on
Licensee's grounds during a race meeting as to all matters
relating to racing;

(b) To determine all questions, disputes, protests,
complaints, or objections concerning racing (as
distinguished from Licensee's business operations and
affairs) which arise during a race meeting, and to enforce
such determinations.  All three Stewards shall be on
Licensee's grounds before post time for the first race until
conclusion of the last race.  Except for good cause, all three
Stewards shall be present in the Stewards' stand during the
running of each race;

(c) It is preferred but not required that at least one
Steward, or a designated representative of the Stewards, be
present in the paddock at least 20 minutes before each race
and remain there until the horses leave for the starting gate,
to observe the conduct of all persons in and around the
paddock and to inspect, with the Paddock Judge and
Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian, all horses for fitness;

(d) When requested by the Commission Licensee or its
Registrar, to review all applications for registrations or
permits to participate in racing, and, if requested by Licensee
or by the Commission, to administer, or cause to be
administered by technically qualified persons, standard
examinations to all first-time applicants to be registered as or
receive a permit to be a Trainer, Jockey, Apprentice Jockey,
Veterinarian, Dental Technician, or Farrier, and, when
requested, make recommendations to the Licensee as to the
qualifications of all applicants for registrations or permits to
participate in racing;

(e) When requested by the Commission Licensee or its

Registrar, to review all licenses, registration certificates, and
all contracts, papers, and other documents pertaining to the
sale or ownership of a horse, payment of purse money,
Jockey and Apprentice Jockey contracts, appointments of
agents, adoptions of racing colors or stable name, and advise
upon the eligibility and appropriateness thereof for
participation in racing in Delaware;

(f) To call for proof of eligibility of a horse or person
to participate in a race if such is in question, and in the
absence of sufficient proof to establish eligibility, the
Stewards may rule such horse or person ineligible;

(g) To review stall applications and advise Licensee of
undesirable persons, if any, among Owners and Trainers
applying for stalls, and provide the Licensee with
information pertaining to such undesirable persons;

(h) To supervise the taking of entries and receive all
declarations and scratches, and determine all questions
arising and pertaining to same.  The Stewards may in their
discretion refuse the entry of any horse by any person or
refuse to permit a declaration or scratch, or may limit entries
in any way.  Upon suspicion of fraud or misconduct, the
Stewards may excuse a horse or replace any Jockey or
Trainer, or Racing Official other than a Steward;

(i) All other powers enumerated in these Rules,
together with such other powers as are necessary to promote
and maintain stringent standards for honesty, integrity, and
propriety for Thoroughbred Racing in Delaware.

PART 4 -- RACING OFFICIALS

4.01 Racing Officials
The Commission may appoint such officers, clerks,

stenographers, inspectors, racing officials, veterinarians, and
such other employees as it deems necessary, consistent with
the purposes of this chapter.  The Commission, for the
purpose of maintaining the integrity and honesty in racing,
shall prescribe by administrative regulation the powers and
duties of the persons employed under this section and
qualifications necessary to perform those duties.

Persons appointed by the Licensee to serve as Racing
Officials during a race meeting must first be approved by the
Commission, shall serve only so long as approved by the
Commission, and shall be under the supervision of the
Stewards.  For purposes of these Rules, Racing Officials
shall include those persons serving as Steward, Racing
Secretary, Assistant Racing Secretary, Clerk of the Scales,
Paddock Judge, Starter, Patrol Judge, Placing Judge, Timer,
Identifier and Veterinarian.

(a) No person while serving as a Racing Official shall,
directly or indirectly, own a beneficial interest in a
Thoroughbred, or Jockey contract, or Licensee under his
supervision; nor shall he cause to be sold, for himself or
another, any Thoroughbred under his supervision; nor shall
he wager on any race under his supervision; nor shall he
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write or solicit horse insurance or have any monetary interest
in any business which seeks the patronage of horsemen or
racing associates as such.  For the purposes of the above, the
following employees shall also be deemed Racing Officials:
Assistant Starter, Jockey Room Custodian, Jockey Room
Employees, Valets, Outriders.

No person shall be appointed to or hold any such office
or position who holds any official relation to any person,
association, or corporation engaged in or conducting
thoroughbred racing within this state.  No Commissioner,
racing official, steward, or judge whose duty it is to insure
that the rules and regulations of the Commission are
complied with shall bet on the outcome of any race regulated
by the Commission.  All persons appointed under 3 Del. C.
§10107(a-c) shall serve at the pleasure of the Commission
and are to be paid a reasonable compensation.

(b) Racing Officials serving in the capacity of
Stewards, Placing and/or Patrol Judges, Clerk of Scales,
Starter and Horse Identifier shall have good vision and an
ability to distinguish colors correctly.

(c) Any Racing Official who desires to leave his
employment during the race meeting must first obtain
permission from the Commission; in the event a vacancy
occurs among Racing Officials other than Stewards, the
Licensee shall promptly appoint a successor, subject to
approval of the Commission; in the event the Licensee does
not appoint a successor in time to permit the orderly conduct
of racing, then the Stewards shall immediately appoint a
temporary successor.

PART 5 -- LICENSEES

5.32 Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian:
The Commission will Each Licensee shall employ a

graduate Veterinarian, licensed in Delaware, experienced in
equine medicine and practice who, aided by such Assistant
Veterinarians possessing like qualifications as Licensee may
employ, shall be responsible for inspecting all horses entered
and advising upon their racing soundness.  Such
Veterinarian also shall maintain and post in the Racing
Secretary's office a Veterinarian's list of horses ineligible to
race because of sickness or unsoundness.  Additionally, he
shall supervise the following:  control of communicable
equine diseases; insect control; sanitary conditions in the
stable area; and cruel and inhumane treatment of horses, etc.

(a) The Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian shall be
attendant on the Stewards and the Racing Secretary at
scratch time each day, shall examine such horses as such
Racing Officials may request, and shall make reports to such
Racing Officials as promptly as possible;

(b) The Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian also
shall be responsible for inspecting every horse entered on the
day of the race for which such horse is entered.  Such
inspection shall be for physical fitness, general condition and

for any noticeable unsoundness or peculiarities that may
affect the racing condition of the horse, or be considered for
the scratch of a horse on a muddy or sloppy track.  Such pre-
race examinations shall be recorded on a Health Record for
every starter at the race meeting.

(c) The Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian shall be
present in the paddock for saddling, shall accompany each
field to the starting post, and shall observe all horses after the
finish of each race.  If, in his opinion, a horse suffers an
injury while in the paddock, during the post parade, or at the
starting gate, which shall render such horse unfit to race, he
shall recommend to the Stewards that the horse be excused
and placed on the Veterinarian's List.  All horses requested
to be scratched for physical reasons after scratch time shall
be inspected by the Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian
who shall report the condition of such horses to the
Stewards.

(d) No Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian during
his employment by a Licensee shall be permitted to engage
in private veterinary practice involving Thoroughbreds, nor
be employed by or receive any compensation directly or
indirectly from any licensed Owner or Trainer, nor sell or
buy, for himself or another, any Thoroughbred, nor place
any wager in any manner on any race run at Licensee's
premises, nor sell any drug supplies, nor sell horse
insurance, nor be licensed to participate in racing in any
other capacity.

PART 6 -- OWNERS

6.01 Registration Required:
No horse may be entered or raced in Delaware unless

the Owner or each of the part Owners has been granted a
current Owner's registration by the Commission Licensee or
its Registrar, except that for good cause shown, a temporary
registration may be issued which will be valid for entering
and racing pending administrative processing and final
action by the Commission Licensee or its Registrar on such
Owner's registration application, but in no event shall such
temporary registration be considered valid longer than two
weeks subsequent to the date such registration application
was submitted.

6.02 Requirements for Owner's Registration:
In addition to satisfying the requirements applicable to

Permittee, et al., imposed by Part 2 of these Rules, in order to
be eligible for registration as an Owner, a person also:

(a) Must be an individual 18 years of age or older.
(b) All Owners and Trainers shall carry workmen's

compensation insurance covering all their employees.  This
paragraph is intended to include all individuals employed by
Owners and Trainers in the training and racing of horses.

(c) Must own or have under lease a horse eligible to
race and be prepared to prove such upon call of the
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 11, MONDAY, MAY 1, 2000



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1447
Stewards.
(d) Must not engage in any activity directly or

indirectly involving the racing performance of horses on
Licensee's grounds owned and trained by others.

1. The Commission or its designee, Licensee, or
its Registrar, may deny, suspend or revoke an Owner's
registration for the spouse, or any member of the immediate
family or household, of a person ineligible to be registered as
an Owner, unless there is a showing by the applicant or
registered Owner, and the Commission Licensee or its
Registrar so finds, that his participation in racing as an
Owner will in no way circumvent the intent of this Rule by
permitting a person, under the control or direction of a
person ineligible for an Owner's registration, to serve in
effect as the alter ego of such ineligible person.

2. A registered Owner or Trainer may personally
serve as a Farrier or Jockey for horses he owns or are
registered in his care, provided he has received from the
Stewards a certification of his fitness as a competent Farrier
or Jockey.

6.04 Joint Ownership:
No more than four individual persons may be registered

as Owners of a single horse.
(a) In the event more than four individual persons own

interests in a single horse, through a partnership,
corporation, syndication or other joint venture, then such
individual persons may designate in writing a member of the
partnership, corporation, syndicate or joint venture to
represent the entire ownership of and be responsible for such
horse as the registered Owner thereof.

(b) Such agreement or lease shall accompany the
application for an Owner's registration.  Each person
designated as representing the entire ownership of a horse
must be registered.

(c) The Commission Licensee or its Registrar may
deny, suspend or revoke the registration of any Owner
whose ownership of a horse is qualified or limited in part by
rights or interests in or to such horse held or controlled by
any other individual person or persons ineligible to be
registered as an Owner thereof.

PART 7 -- TRAINER

7.01 Registration Required:
No horse may be raced in this State unless the Trainer

thereof has been granted a current Trainer's registration by
the Commission Licensee or its Registrar.

7.02 Requirements for Trainer's Registration:
In addition to satisfying the requirements applicable to

Permittees, et al., imposed by Part 2 of these Rules, in order
to be eligible for registration as a Trainer, a person:

(a) Must be an individual 18 years or older; no Trainer

may be licensed to train under an assumed or stable name;
(b) Must be qualified by experience or competence to

care for and train race horses;
(c) Must have in his charge a horse eligible to race;
(d) Must not engage in any activity directly or

indirectly involving the racing performance of horses on
Licensee's grounds other than those registered as being in his
charge.

1. A registered Trainer may not concurrently
participate in racing in this State as a Jockey, Apprentice
Jockey, Jockey's Agent, Veterinarian, Assistant
Veterinarian, Dental Technician, Farrier, Apprentice Farrier,
or as an employee in Licensee's racing department, except as
provided by Rule 8.03.

2. The Commission Licensee or its Registrar may
deny, suspend or revoke a Trainer's registration for the
spouse or any member of the immediate family or household
of a person ineligible to hold a Trainer's license under these
Rules, unless there is a showing by the applicant or
registered Trainer, and the Commission Licensee or its
Registrar so finds, that his participation in racing as a Trainer
will in no way circumvent the intent of these Rules by
permitting a person, under the control or direction of a
person ineligible to hold a Trainer's license, to serve in effect
as the alter ego of such ineligible person.

7.03 Duties and Responsibilities:
A registered Trainer shall bear primary responsibility

for the proper care, health, training, condition, safety and
protection against administration of prohibited drugs or
medication of horses in his charge.  A registered trainer:

(a) Shall register with the Racing Secretary all persons
in his employ and insure that they duly apply for permits
within 24 hours after they arrive on Licensee's grounds or are
employed.  Upon discharge of an employee, a Trainer must
promptly notify the Racing Secretary and the Licensee or its
Registrar.

(b) All Owners and Trainers shall carry workmen's
compensation insurance covering all their employees.  This
paragraph is intended to include all individuals employed by
Owners and Trainers in the training and racing of horses.

(c) Shall register with the Racing Secretary all horses
in his charge in the manner required by Rule 6.03.  No
registered Trainer may take or keep in his charge a horse
owned wholly or in part, or controlled by, a person who is
not registered as an Owner.  No registered Trainer shall
assume responsibility for horses not under his active care
and supervision, except as provided by Rule 7.03(f).

(d) Shall bear the absolute responsibility to report
bleeders from other jurisdictions to the Commission’s
Licensee's Veterinarian or Stewards, on official forms fro
that state, prior to entry

(e) Shall bear primary responsibility for horses he
enters as to eligibility, weight allowances claimed, physical
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fitness to perform creditably at the distance entered, absence
of prohibited drugs or medications, proper shoes, bandages
and equipment, and timely arrival in the saddling paddock.
A registered Trainer shall be jointly responsible with the
registered Owner for horses he enters as to stakes payments
and jockey fees due.

(f) When entering horses, Trainers shall furnish, as
first call, the name of the Jockey engaged to ride each horse
entered and, as second call, the name of an alternate Jockey
to ride each horse entered, if possible at the time of entry, but
in no event later than scratch time unless part of an entry.  If
no first or second call Jockey has been named to ride a horse
entered to race by scratch time, then the Stewards shall select
a rider to ride such horse.

(g) Shall personally attend his horses in the paddock
and supervise the saddling thereof, unless excused by the
Stewards.  If a registered Trainer is to be absent from
Licensee's grounds where his horses are stabled, he must
provide a substitute -- his registered Assistant Trainer or
another registered Trainer -- to attend the saddling of horses
already entered and to assume complete responsibility for
horses to be entered.  Such substitute must be approved by
the Stewards and shall sign in the presence of the Stewards a
form furnished by Licensee accepting complete
responsibility for horses he so enters.

(h) May attend the taking and testing of a saliva, urine
or blood sample from a horse in his charge by the
Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian and/or Chemist, or
may delegate one of his employees holding an authorization
or permit to do so.

(i) Shall maintain the stable area assigned to him in a
clean, neat and sanitary condition at all times and insure that
fire prevention rules are strictly observed in his stable area.

(j) Shall promptly report to the Commission’s
Licensee's Veterinarian any sickness or death of any horse in
his charge.

7.06 Assistant Trainer:
A registered Owner or registered Trainer may employ

an Assistant Trainer.  Such Assistant Trainer must obtain an
authorization from the Commission Licensee or its Registrar
before acting in such capacity on behalf of his employer.
Qualifications for obtaining an Assistant Trainer's
authorization shall be prescribed by the Stewards.  An
authorized Assistant Trainer shall assume the same duties
and responsibilities as imposed on a registered Trainer.  The
registered Trainer shall be jointly responsible with his
Assistant Trainer for all acts and omissions of such Assistant
Trainer involving a racing matter

PART 8 -- JOCKEYS AND APPRENTICE JOCKEYS

8.01 Probationary Mounts:
Any person desiring to participate at Licensee's

premises as a rider and who never previously has ridden in a
race may be permitted to ride in two races before applying
for a permit as a Jockey or Apprentice Jockey, provided,
however:

(a) Such person has had at least one year of service
with a racing stable and currently holds a permit issued by
the Commission Licensee or its Registrar for a recognized
activity in racing;

(b) A registered Trainer certifies in writing to the
Stewards that such person has demonstrated sufficient
horsemanship to be permitted such probationary mounts;

(c) The Starter has schooled such person in breaking
from the starting gate with other horses and approves such
person as being capable of starting a horse properly from the
starting gate in a race;

(d) The Stewards, in their sole discretion, are satisfied
that such person intends to become a licensed Jockey,
possesses the physical ability and has demonstrated
sufficient horsemanship to ride in a race without
jeopardizing the safety of horses or other riders in such race.
No such person shall be permitted to ride in any such
probationary race without the prior approval of the Stewards.

PART 9 -- AGENTS, AUTHORIZED AND JOCKEY

9.01 Agency Permitted:
Any registered Owner or Jockey or Apprentice Jockey

holding a permit issued by the Commission Licensee or its
Registrar may, as a principal, authorize another person as an
agent to act in such principal's behalf in all matters
pertaining to racing and transfer of horses at Licensee's
premises.  Such authorization shall be in writing and shall
define the powers, limits and terms of such agency.

9.03 Termination of Agency:
Such Agency shall remain in effect until written

notification of revocation is received from the principal by
the Commission Licensee or its Registrar.  In the event a
Jockey Agent is dismissed by his employer, or if a Jockey
Agent discontinues making engagements for a rider, then
such Jockey Agent shall immediately notify the Stewards
and turn over to the Clerk of Scales a list of any unfulfilled
engagements such Jockey Agent may have made for such
rider.

9.04 Acts by Authorized Agent:
Unless precluded by specific limitations in the agency

appointment, an Authorized Agent who is registered or who
holds a permit granted by the Commission Licensee or its
Registrar may perform at Licensee's premises on behalf of
the registered owner-principal all acts pertaining to racing,
including the transfer of ownership of horses, as could be
performed by the principal were he present.  In executing
any document on behalf of the principal, an Authorized
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Agent shall clearly indicate that he is acting as an Authorized
Agent and shall specify the principal for whom he is acting.
When an Authorized Agent enters a claim for the account of
his principal, the name of the registered Owner for whom the
claim is being made and the name of the Authorized Agent
shall appear on the claim slip.

9.05 Riding Engagements:
No person other than the contract employer or licensed

Jockey Agent who holds a permit issued by the Commission
Licensee or its Registrar may make riding engagements for a
rider, except that a Jockey not represented by an Agent may
make his own riding engagements.  Such persons permitted
to make riding engagements shall maintain in their
possession at all times an engagement book and shall record
therein riding engagements made, the same being subject to
examination by the Stewards at any time.  No Jockey Agent
may enter the Jockey room, paddock or racing strip during
the hours of racing.

PART 10 -- HORSES

10.03 Denerving:
Any horse on which a neurectomy has been performed

shall have such fact designated on its registration certificate
or racing permit.  It shall be the joint responsibility of the
practicing veterinarian who performed the operation and the
Trainer of such denerved horse to insure that such fact is
designated on the registration certificate or racing permit.

(a) Any horse whose ulnar, radial or median nerve has
been either blocked or removed (known as high nerved), or
whose volar or plantar nerve has been blocked or removed,
unilaterally or bilaterally, shall not be entered or raced in this
State.

(b) Any horse which has had a posterior digital
neurectomy (known as low nerved) may be permitted to race
provided such denerving has been reported by the Trainer to
the Stewards and such horse has been approved for racing by
the Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian prior to being
entered for a race.

(c) In the event a horse races in violation of this Rule
and participates in the purse distribution, then no protest
thereon will be considered unless submitted in writing to the
Stewards within 48 hours after such race.

(d) In the event a horse races in violation of this Rule
and is claimed, then no protest thereon will be considered
unless the successful claimant submits such protest in
writing within 48 hours requesting that his claim be voided.
Should the claim be voided, the horse shall be returned to the
Owner who started such horse in such race and the claim
price shall be returned to the claimant.

(e) A list of all denerved horses shall be posted in the
Racing Secretary's Office.  No person shall report a horse as
having a neurectomy when in fact such horse has not.

10.04 Bleeders:
Any horse known to have bled from its nostrils during a

race or workout may not be entered or raced without the
prior approval for racing by the Commission’s Licensee's
Veterinarian.  A horse which bled for the first time shall not
be permitted to run for a period of ten (10) calendar days.  A
horse which bleeds a second time shall not be permitted to
run for thirty (30) calendar days.  A horse which bleeds a
third time shall not be permitted to run for ninety (90) days.
A horse which bleeds a fourth time shall be barred fro
further racing in the State of Delaware, except that if a
horse's fourth bleeding incident occurs within one year of the
first bleeding incident, then the horse shall not be barred but
shall not be permitted to run for one year.  If a horse has bled
three times but at least twelve months have passed since the
last bleeding incident, then if the horse bleeds for a fourth
time, the horse shall not be permitted to run for twelve (12)
months, and any further bleeding incidents will prevent the
horse from racing for another twelve (12) month period.  (A
positive endoscopic examination shall be classed as a first
time bleeder).  See Rule 15.02 Bleeder Medication.

10.07 Removal from Licensee's Grounds:
No dead or sick horse may be removed from Licensee's

grounds without the prior approval of the Commission’s
Licensee's Veterinarian.

PART 11 -- ENTRIES, SUBSCRIPTIONS,
DECLARATIONS

11.02 Procedure for Making Entries
It shall be the absolute responsibility of the Trainer to

report bleeders from other jurisdictions to the Commission’s
Licensee's Veterinarian or Stewards on official forms fro
that State prior to entry.

All entries, subscriptions, declarations and scratches
shall be lodged with the Racing Secretary and shall not be
considered as having been made until received by the Racing
Secretary who shall maintain a record of time of receipt of
same.

(a) Every entry must be in the name of such horse's
registered Owner, as completely disclosed and registered
with the Racing Secretary under these Rules and made by the
Owner, Trainer or a person deputized by such Owner or
Trainer.

(b) Every entry must be in writing, or by telegraph
promptly confirmed in writing, except that an entry may be
made by telephone to the Racing Secretary but must be
confirmed in writing should the Stewards, the Racing
Secretary or an assistant to the Racing Secretary so request.

(c) Every entry shall clearly designate the horse so
entered.  When entered for the first time during a meeting,
every horse shall be designated by name, age color, sex, sire,
dam and broodmare sire, as reflected by such horse's
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registration certificate.
1. No horse may race unless correctly identified

to the satisfaction of the Stewards as being the horse duly
entered;

2. In establishing the identity of a horse,
responsibility shall be borne by any person attempting to
identify such horse as well as the Owner of such horse, all
such persons being subject to appropriate disciplinary action
for incorrect identification.

(d) At the time of entering a horse, the Trainer of such
horse or his representative, must declare to the Racing
Secretary or his representative, whether the horse will race
on any medication permitted by these Rules and shall not
deviate from such declaration.

Within the discretion of the Stewards, a list of horses so
declared to race on medication may, in whole or in part, be
announced, released for publication or otherwise made
public without liability for the accuracy thereof.

(e) In order to claim an apprentice allowance at the
time of entry, an Apprentice Jockey must be designated by
name.

(f) No alteration may be made in any entry after the
closing of entries, except that an error may be corrected.

(g) No horse may be entered in two races to be run on
the same day.

PART 15 -- MEDICATION, TESTING PROCEDURES

15.02 Bleeder Medication:
Notwithstanding anything in the Rules of Racing to the

contrary, the Stewards may permit the administration of
Furosemide (Lasix) to control epistaxis (bleeding) to horses
under the following conditions:

(a) A horse which, during a race or workout at a duly
licensed race track in this State or within the first hour
immediately following such a race or workout, is observed
by the Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian or the
Stewards to be shedding blood from one or both nostrils or is
found to have bled internally.  (An endoscopic examination
of the horse, in order to confirm bleeding, may be performed
by the practicing veterinarian in the presence of the
Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian at the detention barn
within one (1) hour of workout or race.)

(b) A horse which has been certified as a bleeder in
another jurisdiction may be placed on the bleeder list
provided that the other jurisdiction qualified it as a bleeder
using criteria satisfactory to the Commission’s Licensee's
Veterinarian and the Stewards.  It shall be the absolute
responsibility of the Trainer to report bleeders from other
jurisdictions to the Licensee's Veterinarian or Stewards on
official forms from that State prior to entry.

(c) The Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian shall be
responsible to maintain an up-to-date "bleeder" list and the
list shall be available in the Racing Secretary's office.

(d) A horse in the Bleeder Program shall be required to
be brought to a detention barn designated by the Licensee
and approved by the Commission not later than three and
one-half (3 ½ ) hours before post time for the race in which it
is entered and shall remain in said detention barn (in its
assigned stall) until called to the paddock prior to post time.
During the 3 ½ hour period, the horse shall be under the care
and custody of a groom or caretaker appointed by the
Trainer.  The approved Furosemide medication may be
administered by a licensed practicing veterinarian in the
detention barn within three (3) hours before post time.  The
practicing veterinarian shall make a report to the Stewards of
the treatment on forms provided by the Stewards on the same
day of treatment.

(e) (Deleted.)
(f) A horse which bled for the first time shall not be

permitted to run for a period of ten (10) calendar days.  A
horse which bleeds a second time shall not be permitted to
run for thirty (30) calendar days.  A horse which bleeds a
third time shall not be permitted to run for ninety (90) days.
A horse which bleeds a fourth time shall be barred fro
further racing in the State of Delaware, except that if a
horse's fourth bleeding incident occurs within one year of the
first bleeding incident, then the horse shall not be barred but
shall not be permitted to run for one year.  If a horse has bled
three times but at least twelve months have passed since the
last bleeding incident, then if the horse bleeds for a fourth
time, the horse shall not be permitted to run for twelve (12)
months, and any further bleeding incidents will prevent the
horse from racing for another twelve (12) month period.  A
positive endoscopic examination shall be classed as a first
time bleeder.

Revised:  6/19/92.

15.04 Reports of Administration:
Before a licensed Veterinarian administers or prescribes

any drug or restricted substance for a horse, he shall
ascertain by reasonable inquiry whether the horse has been
entered to race at any track and, if the horse has been
entered, he shall not administer or prescribe any drug or
restricted substance within the time or manner restricted by
these Rules.

If, however, an emergency exists involving the life or
health of the horse, he may proceed to treat or prescribe for
the horse but shall report the matter as promptly as
practicable to the State Veterinarian and Stewards.

(a) Any Veterinarian practicing at any Delaware race
track shall file a daily report with the Stewards and the Track
Veterinarian as to any medication prescribed or administered
or professional service performed.  This report shall be filed
in person or postmarked within a period of forty-eight (48)
hours from the time of treatment.  Detection of any
unreported medication, drug or substance by the
Commission's Chemist in a pre-race or post-race test may be
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grounds for disciplinary action against such Veterinarian.
(b) Such daily reports shall accurately reflect the

identity of the horse treated, diagnosis, time of treatment,
type and dosage of medication, drug or substance and
method of administration.

(c) Such daily reports shall remain confidential except
that the Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian may compile
general data therefrom to assist the Commission in
formulating policies or rules and the Stewards may review
the same in investigating a possible violation of these rules.
See Rule 11.02(d) respecting a public list of horses declared
to race on medication.

(d) When making an entry, it shall be the duty of the
Trainer or his representative, as required by Rule 11.02(d),
to disclose and declare to the Racing Secretary or his
representative whether said horse will race on any
medication permitted by these rules.

15.05 Report Prior to Race of Cessation or Reduction
of Medication:

For any horse entered to run in a race, a timely report of
the elimination or reduction since its last race in the level of
Phenylbutazone and/or similar medications administered to
it at the time of such last race shall be made to the
Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian by the horse's Owner
Trainer, attending Veterinarian and/or any other person
having supervision over, or custody of, such horse.

Violation of this Rule will constitute grounds for
disciplinary action.

15.06 Bettors' Safeguard:
To help protect against inconsistent performances, a

horse which last raced after having been administered
Phenylbutazone and/or similar medication shall not be
permitted to race without having been administered the same
or similar medication at a comparable level, unless the
Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian grants his prior,
express approval that such horse may race notwithstanding
that the medication program to which it was subjected at the
time of its last race has subsequently been eliminated or
reduced.

Violation of any aspect of this Rule by an Owner,
Trainer, attending Veterinarian or any other person having
supervision or custody of the horse will constitute grounds
for disciplinary action as provided by these Rules.

15.08 Detention Area:
Each Licensee may provide and maintain on its grounds

a fenced enclosure sufficient in size and facilities to
accommodate stabling of horses temporarily detained for the
taking of sample specimens for chemical testing; such
detention area shall be under the supervision and control of
the Commission’s Licensee's Veterinarian.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

*  PLEASE NOTE:  T HE FOLLOWING PROPOSED

REGULATORY CHANGES WILL BE CONSIDERED AT THE

MONTHLY MEETING OF THE STATE BOARD OF

EDUCATION ON THURSDAY, MAY 18, 2000 AT 2:00 P.M.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

MICHAEL C. FERGUSON ACHIEVEMENT 
AWARDS SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
New Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to adopt regulations concerning
the Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards Scholarship
Program.  Section 377 of the Epilogue to the FY 2000
budget requires the Department of Education to promulgate
regulations to implement this program.  The scholarship
program provides for 600 scholarships annually of $1,000
each for students who demonstrate superior performance on
the assessments administered pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section
151 (b) and (c) of the Accountability legislation.  The
scholarships will be awarded annually to the students with
the 150 highest scores on the DSTP without reference to any
other indicators of performance and to the students with the
150 highest scores on the DSTP who participate in free and
reduced lunch programs.  Students in grade 8 and grade 10
are eligible for the scholarships for their scores on the
reading, writing and mathematics assessments.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the new regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards

The scholarships are one of a number of methods
designed to help motivate students to do well on the state
assessments.

2. Will the new regulation help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The new regulation addresses student scholarships,
not equity issues.

3. Will the new regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The new regulation addresses student scholarships,
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not health and safety issues.
4. Will the new regulation help to ensure that all

students' legal rights are respected?
The new regulation addresses student scholarships,

not student’s legal rights.
5. Will the new regulation preserve the necessary

authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The new regulation will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

6. Will the new regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
the decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The new regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
the decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity?

8. Will the new regulation be consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The new regulation will be consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the new regulation?

The budget epilogue requires the Department of
Education to make the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the new regulation?

The state will provide the money for the cost of the
scholarships.

Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards
Scholarship Program

The Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards
Scholarship Program, included in the Educational
Accountability Act of 1998, recognizes students who
demonstrate superior performance on the assessments
administered pursuant to 29 Del. C., Section 151(b) and (c).

1.0 Subject to available funding, the Michael C. Ferguson

Achievement Awards shall be made based on the student’s
score on the results of the annual spring administration of the
Delaware Student Testing Program.  Scores from re-testing
shall not be considered.  The Scholarships may be awarded
to a maximum of 300 eighth grade students in the content
areas of reading, writing and mathematics and to a maximu
of 300 tenth grade students in the content areas of reading,
writing, and mathematics.

1.1 The highest scoring eighth and tenth grade students
in the state in reading, in writing and in mathematics shall
receive the scholarships.

1.1.1 The eighth grade awards may be given to a
maximum of 50 students in reading, a maximum of 50
students in writing and a maximum of 50 students in
mathematics.

1.1.2 The tenth grade awards may be given to a
maximum of 50 students in reading, a maximum of 50
students in writing and a maximum of 50 students in
mathematics.

1.2 The highest scoring eighth and tenth grade students
in the state in reading, in writing and in mathematics, who
participate in the free and reduced lunch program and who
are not already identified as one of the students in section
1.1. shall receive the scholarships.

1.2.1 The eighth grade awards may be given to a
maximum of 50 students in reading, a maximum of 50
students in writing and a maximum of 50 students in
mathematics.

1.2.2 The tenth grade awards may be given to a
maximum of 50 students in reading, a maximum of 50
students in writing and a maximum of 50 students in
mathematics.

2.0 Students may receive a scholarship in more than one

content area and may also receive scholarships for their 8th

and their 10th grade scores.

3.0 All scholarship awards shall be deposited in an account
at the Delaware Higher Education Commission in an interest
bearing account.  Interest earned shall be utilized by the
Department of Education and/or Delaware Higher Education
Commission to offset administrative expenses associated
with the program.

3.1 Funds deposited for scholarships through the
Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards shall cease to be
available to the recipient if the recipient does not attend a
post secondary institution within five calendar years after
graduating from high school.

3.2 It is the responsibility of the parent or guardian to
notify the Higher Education Commission of any change of
address during the scholarship eligibility period.  Students
may receive their scholarship awards even if they are living
in another state at the time they attend a post secondary
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institution.
3.3 The Department of Education shall annually

announce the winners of Michael C. Ferguson Scholarships.
3.4 The Delaware Higher Education Commission shall

send a “Request for Information” form to Michael C.
Ferguson Scholarship recipients in the spring of their high
school senior year to determine whether they plan to use
their scholarship in the following year, and which institution
they will attend.

3.4.1 In August following high school
graduation, the Delaware Higher Education Commission
shall send enrollment verification forms to institutions
identified by recipients.  When completed verification forms
are received by the Delaware Higher Education
Commission, disbursement of scholarship funds will be
made to the institution.

3.4.2 If a student does not plan to attend a post
secondary institution immediately after high school
graduation, it is the parent or guardian’s responsibility to
provide timely notification to the Delaware Higher
Education Commission prior to enrollment in order to
receive payment of the scholarship.

3.4.3 Recipients may defer all or a portion of
payment of Michael C. Ferguson Scholarships beyond their
first post secondary year, but must assume the responsibility
to notify the Delaware Higher Education Commission of
their plans to claim the Scholarship, and may not extend
payment beyond the five year limit.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL.C., SECTION 122(d)

SCHOOL CUSTODIANS

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTE
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
The Acting Secretary seeks the approval of the State

Board of Education to amend the regulation on School
Custodians (November 1998) by changing 1.0 to read
“Custodians may be granted one (1) year’s experience for
each creditable year of experience in similar employment.”
This change brings the statement in line with the statements
used for Secretaries and for Food Service Employees that
uses “creditable year” instead of “full year” of experience.
Another change being recommended is to insert the words
“or 24 units” after the words “not to exceed 48 acres” in
2.2.11 for clarification purposes.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulations help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement

standards
The amended regulations address personnel issues,

not student achievement.
2. Will the amended regulations help ensure that all

students receive an equitable education?
The amended regulations address personnel issues,

not equity issues.
3. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all

students' health and safety are adequately protected?
The amended regulations address personnel issues,

not health and safety issues.
4. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all

students' legal rights are respected?
The amended regulations address personnel issues,

not students’ legal rights.
5. Will the amended regulations preserve the

necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level?

The amended regulations will preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulations place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulations will not place
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or
mandates upon the decision makers at the local board and
school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subjects to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subjects to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8. Will the amended regulations be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulations will not be an impediment
to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulations?

The changes must be made through amendments to
regulations.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulations?

There is no additional cost to the state or local
school boards for compliance with the amended regulations.
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School Custodians

1.0 EXPERIENCE:  Custodians may be allowed one (1)
year’s experience for each full creditable year of experience
in similar employment.

2.0 ALLOCATION
2.1 The custodial units allocated to a district may be

assigned to various locations at the discretion of the local
school board and the chief school officer.

2.2 Districts are allocated one (1) full-time custodial
employee for each twelve (12) custodial units or for a major
fraction thereof.  The number of units in each school is
determined in the following way:

2.2.1 One (1) unit for each classroom or its
equivalent. What is counted as “equivalent” shall be
determined by the Department of Education.

2.2.2 One (1) unit for a small auditorium (less
than 150 students).

2.2.3 Two (2) units for a large auditorium (more
than 150 students).

2.2.4 One (1) unit for a cafeteria having a
seating capacity up to 150.  One (1) unit for each 150
capacity or major fraction thereof.

2.2.5 One (1) unit for a gymnasium.
2.2.6 One (1) unit for a combined auditorium

and gymnasium (less than 150 students).
2.2.7 Two (2) units for a combined auditorium

and gymnasium (more than 150 students).
2.2.8 One (1) unit for two locker rooms.
2.2.9 Seven (7) units for a swimming pool.
2.2.10 Units for a central heating plant are

determined from the following table:

2.2.11 One-half (1/2) unit for each developed
acre of the school plant site, not to exceed 48 acres or 24
units on a given site.

2.3 Part-time custodians equivalent to one or more full-
time custodians may be employed with the provision that
proper records will be maintained for review.

2.4 A full custodial staff for a new school building may
be employed one (1) month prior to the pupil occupancy of
the building.

2.5 The termination date for custodial units in buildings
closed shall be six (6) weeks from the last day classes are
held in the building.

2.6 Buildings which are closed and retained under the
control of the school district shall lose all custodial units
except units provided for site maintenance and heating.

2.7 When the school district signs a lease or in any way
loses direct control of the building, such as transfer or sale
legislation, the custodial units for site maintenance and
heating shall terminate on the effective date of the lease or
legislation.

2.8 When the function of a building is changed it shall
be reevaluated for custodial units.

2.9 All custodial unit allocations shall be determined
and approved by the Department of Education.

3.0 CLASSIFICATION
3.1 Custodian-Fireman

3.1.1 When there is only one (1) custodian in a
district, the custodian may be classified as a custodian-
fireman.

3.1.2 There shall be only one custodian-fireman
employed in each building.

3.2 Chief Custodian
3.2.1 A chief custodian may be classified chief

custodian when at least two other full-time custodians or the
equivalent are employed in the school building or district.

3.2.2 There can be only one (1) chief custodian
in a building, but there can be as many chief custodians in a
district as there are buildings in the district with three or
more custodians.

3.3 Maintenance Mechanic:  Each school district may
classify up to ten (10) percent of the total number of
custodial personnel as maintenance mechanics.
Qualifications shall be as defined by the employing board.

3.4 Skilled Craftsperson

No. of Classrooms or
equivalent No. of Units

  1  -    6     ½

  7  -    9     ¾

10  -  15 1 

16  -  20 1   ½

21  -  25 2 

26  -  30 2   ½

31  -  35 3 

36  -  40 3   ½

41  -  45 4 

46  -  50 4   ½

51  -  55 5 

56  -  60 5   ½

61 or more
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3.4.1 Each district may classify an incumbent in
one or more of its Maintenance Mechanic positions as a
Skilled Craftsperson for purposes of this section if the
incumbent:

3.4.1.1 has received a certificate as a union
journeyman or equivalent in any of the following fields:
Boiler Maker, Carpenter, Electrician, HVAC Mechanic, Mill
Wright, Heavy Machinery Operator, Pipe Fitter, Plumber,
Roofer, or Sheet Metal Worker; or

3.4.1.2 possesses a current state license in any
of the fields listed in paragraph 3.4.1.1 above; or

3.4.1.3 is an Automobile Mechanic who
possesses two or more National Institute for Automotive
Service Excellence (ASE) Certifications in the Automotive,
Truck or School Bus categories; or

3.4.1.4 is a Boiler Maker who possesses
either an AWS or ASME Welding Certification; or

3.4.1.5 is a Computer Technician who
possesses an A Plus Certification from CompTIA
(Computing Technology Industry Association); or

3.4.1.6 is an HVAC Mechanic who possesses
two or more certifications from manufacturers of digital
control systems in use by the district, or possesses a
certification from a manufacturer of centrifugal chillers used
within the district; or

3.4.1.7 possesses two or more Hazardous
Material Certifications from the State of Delaware, OSHA,
or the United States Environmental Protection Agency; or

3.4.1.8 is a Pipe Fitter who possesses an
AWS or ASME Welding Certification; or

3.4.1.9 is a Roofer who possesses Training
Certifications from two or more manufacturers of Roofing
Systems in use by the District; or

3.4.1.10 is a Burner Mechanic who possesses a
certification from a manufacturer of oil or gas burners used
within the District.

3.5 Building and Grounds Supervisor:  Each
district with ninety-five (95) or more custodial units may
employ a school buildings and grounds supervisor according
to the salary schedule.  This position is included in the total
number of custodial personnel allowed.  Section 1311(c).

4.0 CERTIFICATES
4.1 The following hourly requirements shall be met in

order to receive the Custodial Certificates listed below.  The
certificate guarantees additional pay as specified in the Del.
C., but only the local school district can change a custodian’s
classification.

4.1.1. 120 class hours minimum Building and
Grounds Supervisor (issued only to those who hold this
position)

4.1.2 120 class hours Chief Custodian
Certificate

4.1.3 90 class hours Fireman Custodian

Certificate
4.1.4 60 class hours General Custodian

Certificate

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

MIDDLE LEVEL MATHEMATICS AND
SCIENCE CERTIFICATION

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B.  SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Secretary seeks the approval of the State Board of
Education to make two amendments to the certification
regulations concerning middle level certification in
mathematics and science.  These amendments are found in
the Manual for Certification of Professional Public School
Personnel, page 34, Section 2 and page 12, Chapter II.  The
purpose of these amendments is to provide added flexibility
in the certification requirements for middle level
mathematics and science teachers for an additional 2 year
period (7/1/00 – 6/30/02).

The amendment found on page 34, Section 2 changes
the dates the policy is effective following the line, “All
secondary science certificates are valid in middle level
science, Grades 5-8”.  The other amendment found on page
12, Chapter II, amends part A.3.f., Limited Standard -
Middle Level Math/Science (LS-ML) by stating that this
certificate will only be issued for 1 year and by extending the
effective dates of the policy to July 1, 2000 through June 30,
2002.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulations help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards

The amended regulations do not specifically
address student achievement, they address flexibility needs
for the certification of middle level mathematics and science
teachers.

2. Will the amended regulations help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulations do not address equity
issues.

3. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulations do not address health and
safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulations help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?
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The amended regulations do not address students’
legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulations preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level?

The amended regulations will preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulations place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulations will not place
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or
mandates upon the decision makers at the local board and
school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subjects to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subjects to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8. Will the amended regulations be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulations will not be an impediment
to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulations?

The changes must be made through amendments to
regulations.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulations?

There is no additional cost to the state or local
school boards for compliance with the amended regulations.

Effective July 1, 1993

DELAWARE STATE DEPARTMENT OF 
EDUCATION

CERTIFICATION OF PROFESSIONAL PUBLIC 
SCHOOL PERSONNEL

SCIENCES
All secondary science certificates are valid in middle

level science, Grades 5-8.  (Policy effective 7/1/98 through
6/30/2000 7/1/00 – 6/30/02 only)

I. Requirements for the Standard License
A. Bachelor's degree from an accredited college; and
B. Professional Education

1. Completion of an approved teacher education

program in Science;
-OR-

2. A minimum of 24 semester hours to include
human development, methods of teaching secondary
science, teaching of reading in science or identifying/treating
exceptionalities, effective teaching strategies, multicultural
education, and clinical experience/student teaching at the
secondary (7-12) level;

-AND-
C. Specific Teaching Field

1. Major in the field of endorsement;
-OR-

2. Completion of an approved teacher education
program in the field of endorsement;

-OR-
3. Completion of (at least) the semester hours

indicated below for the field of endorsement:
a. CHEMISTRY45 semester hours

(required 9-12, valid Chemistry only)

Limited Standard - Middle Level Math/Science (LS-ML)

f. May Shall be issued for up to three (3) years 1 year
to a teacher holding a Standard or Professional Status
Certificate in either Elementary (grades 1-8) or Middle Level
(grades 5-8) who is assigned to teach grade 7 and/or 8 math
and/or science, regardless of the number of credits needed
for full certification.  During the term of the Limited
Standard Certificate, the teacher shall work to complete the
requirements for the Standard Certificate in the area(s) of the
assignment.  This regulation will be effective 7/1/98 through
6/30/2000 7/1/00 through 6/30/02.

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

DELAWARE SECONDARY SCHOOL ATHLETIC 
ASSOCIATION

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
New Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF
REGULATION

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to repeal in its entirety the
regulations of the Delaware Secondary School Athletic

Association found in the 34 th Annual Official Handbook of
DSSAA, 1999-2000 and replace those regulations with these
recommended regulations.  These regulations have been
totally reformatted to reflect the current format of the
regulations of the Department of Education and editorial
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corrections have been made.  The DSSAA regulations are
now contained in the following sections:  1049 DSSAA
Definitions, 1050 DSSAA Sportsmanship, 1051 DSSAA
Senior High School Interscholastic Athletics, 1052 DSSAA
Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic Athletics, 1053
DSSAA Waiver Procedures, 1054 DSSAA Investigative
Procedure, 1055 DSSAA Appeal Procedure, and 1056
Recognition of Officials Association.  In addition the
following substantive changes have been made to the
regulations:

DSSAA Senior High School Interscholastic Athletics:

1.0 Eligibility
1.2.8 and 1.2.8.1:  This provision is being deleted from

1.2 Enrollment and Attendance because it deals with
additional eligibility during a student’s fifth year of
attendance which is more appropriately addressed in 5.0
Participation.

1.3.2:  This proposal reduces the penalty for non-
compliance with 1.3 Resident and 1.4 Transfer by students
who have reached the age of majority from ineligibility for
180 school days to ineligibility for 90 school days and makes
it consistent with the penalty imposed on students who are
minors.

1.5.1.5.1:  This revision raises the permissible dollar
value from $25.00 to $50.00 for complimentary items given
to the athletes participating in a sanctioned tournament.

5.0 Participation
5.1.1, 5.1.2, and 5.1.2.1:  These proposals do not

fundamentally change 5.0 Participation but clarify it so that
students and their parents will better understand that they are
not guaranteed four seasons of participation in a particular
sport but rather four opportunities to participate during a
particular sports season.  A fifth-year senior will be allowed
to compete only if a hardship condition precluded his/her
graduation within the normal four-year period of eligibility
and also caused the loss of all or part of one of his/her four
opportunities to participate during a particular sports season,
that student is not guaranteed additional eligibility if he/she
returns for a fifth year simply because he/she did not
participate for four seasons in a particular sport.

7.0 Foreign Exchange Students
7.2:  This revision makes 7.0 Foreign Exchange

Students/Foreign Students more concise but does not change
the intent or application of the rule.  A foreign student who is
not participating in a CSIET listed or other approved
exchange program is considered a transfer student and is
required to satisfy all DSSAA eligibility requirements
including 3.0 Residence.

11.0 Contracts Interchanged

11.2.2 and 11.4:  These proposals clarify 11.0 Contracts
Interchanged by clearly establishing the circumstances in
which a forfeit will be awarded.  If a game isn’t played, it
will be considered “no contest” unless a signed individual
contract or a conference master contract was in place and
one of the participating schools breached the agreement.

17.0 Codes
17.2:  This provision establishes that the DSSAA Board

has adopted United States Lacrosse Association rules for the
sport of girls’ lacrosse.

23.0 Sports Season and Practices
23.7.2, 23.7.2.1, 23.7.2.2, and 23.7.2.3:  23.7 currently

prohibits coaches from having instructional contact with
their returning players outside of the designated sports
season.  23.7 and 23.7.2 prohibit coaches from also
participating on teams which includes their returning players
and from officiating contests in which their returning players
are participating.  This proposal relaxes 23.7.2 somewhat by
permitting coaches to officiate contests in which their
returning players are participating provided those contests
are part of organized league competition.  The proposal
includes a detailed definition of organized league
competition.

24.0 Maximum Game Schedules and Designated
Sports Season

24.4:  This revision clearly differentiates between a
“postponed” game (inclement weather, unplayable field
conditions, visiting team bus breaks down, officials fail to
appear, etc.) and a “rescheduled” game.  A “postponed”
game can be rescheduled at the convenience of the
participating schools provided neither school plays more
than four games in a week, while a “rescheduled” game is
subject to the team limitation of three games per week with
the third game on Friday (no early dismissal), Saturday, or
Sunday.

26.0 Awards
26.5:  This revision raises the permissible dollar value

for non-symbolic competition awards from $25.00 to $50.00
per recipient which is consistent with the proposed increase
in the dollar value of complimentary items.

30.0 Use of Officials
30.2.2 and 30.2.3:  Contest officials are currently

required to attend an approved rules clinic and pass a rules
examination in the same season at least every other year in
order to work varsity games.  They are required to satisfy
both requirements in the same season at least every third
year in order to work subvarsity games.  Failure to satisfy
both requirements in the same season for three consecutive
years results in a loss of certification.  This proposal permits
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a contest official who does not comply with the
aforementioned requirements for three consecutive years to
continue to work subvarsity games.  DSSAA is experiencing
a shortage of officials in several sports and this proposal will
at least help to address the problem at the subvarsity level.

31.0 Summer Camp Participation and Sponsorshi
31.0:  This proposal involves only a change in the name

of the rule.
31.2.5:  This revision eliminates unnecessary paperwork

and streamlines the procedure for school related groups to
provide financial assistance to students who are attending
summer camps and clinics.

34.0 Commercial Camps and Clinics:
This proposal changes the name of the rule and clarifies

that the revised rule pertains to camps and clinics being
conducted by both commercial and non-profit entities.

DSSAA Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic
Athletics

5.0 Participation
5.1 and 5.2:  These revisions make 5.0 Participation for

middle schools comparable to 5.0 Participation for high
schools.  Students in middle schools which permit 6th
graders to participate will be eligible for three consecutive
years from their first entry into 6th grade.  Students in
middle schools which restrict participation to 7th and 8th
graders will be eligible for two consecutive years from their
first entry into 7th grade.  Instances of students repeating 8th
grade despite being competent students are becoming more
common and these students are participating in an extra
season which amounts to de facto red shirting.  Regardless of
their motivation for repeating 8th grade, they are gaining an
athletic advantage and adversely affecting the opportunities
of other students.

23.0Maximum Game Schedules and Sports Seasons
23.1:  This proposal will increase the number of

permissible contests in middle school wrestling from ten to
twelve.

23.2  This change is similar to the proposed change to
24.4 for high schools.  The difference between the middle
school proposal and the high school proposal is that middle
schools are restricted to a total of three regularly scheduled
and makeup contests per week while high schools are
restricted to a total of four regularly scheduled and makeup
contests per week.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the regulations help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The regulations address student athletic programs,
not student achievement.

2. Will the regulations help ensure that all students
receive an equitable education?

The regulations address student athletic programs,
not equity issues.

3. Will the regulations help to ensure that all students'
health and safety are adequately protected?

The regulations address student athletics, and the
health and safety of the athletes are a part of the regulations.

4. Will the regulations help to ensure that all students'
legal rights are respected?

The regulations do address the rights and
responsibilities of the student athletes.

5. Will the regulations preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The regulations will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level.

6. Will the regulations place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels?

The regulations will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision-making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8. Will the regulations be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics,
science, language arts and social studies?

The regulations will be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics,
science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the regulations?

The Del. C. requires that there be regulations to
govern the conduct of interscholastic athletics.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulations?

There is no additional cost to the state and to the
local school boards for compliance with these regulations.

1000 Student Activities
1001 Participation in Extra-Curricular Activities

1 DE Reg 173 (8/1/97)
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1002 Membership in Fraternities and Sororities
1 DE Reg 723 (12/1/98)

1025 Delaware Secondary School Athletic
Association (DSSAA)
1 DE Reg 725 (12/1/97)

1049 DSSAA Definitions
1050 DSSAA Sportsmanship
1051 DSSAA Senior High School Interscholastic

Athletics
1052 DSSAA Junior High/Middle School

Interscholastic Athletics
1053 DSSAA Waiver Procedure
1054 DSSAA Investigative Procedure
1055 DSSAA Appeal Procedure
1056 Recognition of Officials’ Associations

1001 Participation in Extra-Curricular Activities
1.0 In order to be eligible for participation in non-credit

granting extra-curricular activities, each participant shall
pursue a regular course of study or its equivalent as approved
by the Department of Education, and must be passing at least
five credits beginning with the 1998-1999 school year. Two
of these credits must be in the academic areas such as
English, mathematics, science, or social studies.

2.0 Any twelfth grade student who wishes to participate
in extra-curricular activities shall be passing all courses
necessary for graduation from high school.

3.0 A student whose work in any regular marking
period does not meet the above standards shall be ineligible
to participate in extra-curricular activities for the next
marking period.  In case of a conflict between the mark of a
report period or regular final grade, the semester or final
mark shall determine eligibility.  When a student makes up a
failure during the summer or earns the required credit or
credits, the student shall become eligible.

4.0 Local school boards may establish requirements
over and above these minimums prescribed for eligibility.

See 1 DE Reg 173 (8/1/97)

1002 Membership in Fraternities and Sororities
1.0 No pupil enrolled in a public school in any school

district of Delaware shall be a member of a fraternity or
sorority, or any other secret, exclusive, self-perpetuating
social organization composed in whole or part of public
school pupils which seeks to organize and perpetuate itself
by taking in members from among the pupils enrolled in
such school based upon the decisions of the membership of
such organizations rather than from the free choice of any
pupil in such school who is otherwise qualified to fulfill the
special aims of such an organization.

1.1 The local board of education is hereby
authorized upon finding that any pupil is a member of a high
school fraternity, sorority or social organization as above
defined to exclude such pupil from representing the school in

any public activity, contest, or exhibition such as athletic,
literary, or dramatic and from participating in any school
activity other than class attendance and from holding a
position of authority in any school or class organization.

1.2 Nothing in this regulation shall be deemed as
prohibiting the local board of education from excluding any
pupil from class in those instances where the behavior of
such pupil is detrimental to school discipline.

1.3 Any definition of fraternity, sorority, or secret
exclusive self-perpetuating social organization shall not be
deemed to include youth organizations or fraternal orders,
religious and church organizations, or similar organizations
which are institutionally sponsored and approved and which
are organized with responsible adult leadership and
supervision.

1.4 Where schools do approve of student
organizations and clubs which do not fall under the
definition of fraternity, sorority, or secret organization, it
becomes the responsibility of the school administration and
the sponsoring persons to develop these recommended
procedures:

1.4.1 establishment of the purposes and
criteria for membership in the organization;

1.4.2 establishment of guidelines to be
followed in the selection of members; and

1.4.3 establishment of methods to notify
applicants or candidates as to acceptance or non-acceptance
as a member in the organization.  This procedure assures that
students are made aware of the reasons for nonadmittance to
membership selectivity.

See 1 DE Reg 723 (12/1/98)

1025.  Delaware Secondary School Athletic Association
(DSSAA)

1.0 The Delaware Secondary School Athletic
Association (DSSAA) shall, as the official designee of the
Secretary of Education, have the authority to implement the
Department of Education�s rules and regulations governing
the conduct of interscholastic athletics.  This authority is
granted with oversight by the Department of Education.
Disputes involving the rules and regulations governing
interscholastic athletics are subject to State Board review.

2.0 The Delaware Secondary School Athletic
Association shall be under the general management of a
Board of Directors with the Education Associate for
Interscholastic Athletics in the Department of Education
serving as the Executive Director.  All recommendations for
modifying the regulations must be proposed by the Secretary
of Education and approved by the State Board of Education
with the advice and guidance of the DSSAA Board of
Directors.

3.0 The principals of middle level and high school
member schools shall be responsible for the conduct of the
interscholastic athletic program in which representative
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teams participate including the organization and scheduling
of individual and team sports.

4.0 All interscholastic athletic activities in the middle
level and high school shall be conducted in accordance with
the Department of Education�s regulations and as they may
be amended hereafter as proposed by the Secretary of
Education and approved by the State Board with the advice
and guidance of the DSSAA Board of Directors.

See 1 DE Reg 725 (12/1/97)

1049 DSSAA Definitions
1.0 The following definitions shall apply to both Senior

High and Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic
Athletics

1.1 Commercial Sports Camp:  A camp operated
for profit which provides coaching or other sports training
for a fee.

1.2 Scrimmage:  An informal competition between
schools in which the officials are not compensated, score is
not kept, the time periods are modified, the results of the
competition are not reported to the media, the coaches may
interrupt play to provide instruction and the competition is
strictly for practice purposes.

1.3 Professional Team:  A team having one or
more members who have received, or are receiving directly
or indirectly, monetary consideration for their athletic
services.

1050 DSSAA Sportsmanship
1.0 Member schools are required to conduct all of their

athletic affairs with other schools in a spirit of good
sportsmanship.  Acts which are prima facie evidence of a
failure to abide by this rule are those which are noted below
and others of a similar nature which transgress the usually
accepted code for good sportsmanship.

1.1 Failure to provide for proper control of
spectators at a contest.  When the number of spectators is
expected to be large in relation to the seating capacity of the
facility, uniformed state, county, or local police shall be
provided for crowd control.  The host school is expected to
take reasonable and proper steps to assure crowd control
under any foreseeable conditions.

1.2 Failure of a team or competitor to stay in a
contest until its normal end when failure to do so is related to
dissatisfaction with the officiating of the contest, unless the
physical safety of the team or competitor would have been
endangered by continuing the contest.

1.3 Harassment of game officials by a coach.
Going onto the playing surface to interrupt a contest in
protest of a decision by an official; conduct by a coach, team
member, or any individual in the official party which
invokes a penalty against the team; continued and visible
actions by a coach which indicate to the team and/or to the
spectators that the coach believes the game is being

improperly officiated; public demonstrations with game
officials which indicate to others extreme dissatisfaction
with the officiating; and such related actions when exhibited
in aggravated form are evidence of poor sportsmanship.

1.4 Failure of a school to use every means at its
disposal to impress upon its faculty, student body, tea
members, coaching staff, and spectators the importance of
good sportsmanship before, during, and after athletic
contests.  The host school is encouraged to read a brief
statement concerning sportsmanship prior to the start of each
athletic contest.

1.5 Failure of an administrator, athletic director,
coach, athlete, official, or spectator to comply with the
directions stipulated in the following Code of Interscholastic
Athletics:

1.5.1 The School Administrator and
Athletic Director shall:

1.5.1.1 Encourage and promote friendly
relations and good sportsmanship throughout the school by
requiring courtesy and proper decorum at all times, by
familiarizing students and others in the community with the
ideals of good sportsmanship, and by publicizing these
concepts and attitudes so that all members of the school
community understand and appreciate their meaning.

1.5.1.2 Review the Sportsmanship Rule
with all athletic staff.

1.5.1.3 Insist upon strict compliance with
all DSSAA rules and regulations.

1.5.1.4 Insist upon adequate safety
provisions for both participants and spectators in all
activities.

1.5.1.5 Encourage all to judge the
success of the interscholastic athletic program based on the
attitude of the participants and spectators rather than on the
number of games won or lost.

1.5.1.6 Insist that all participants adhere
to the highest standards of good sportsmanship as a means of
ensuring desirable spectator attitudes.

1.5.1.7 Provide sanitary and attractive
facilities for the dressing and housing of visiting teams and
officials.

1.5.2 The Coach shall:
1.5.2.1 Demonstrate high ideals, good

habits, and desirable attitudes in his/ her personal and
professional behavior and demand the same of his/her
players.

1.5.2.2 Recognize that the purpose of
competition is to promote the physical, mental, social, and
emotional well-being of the individual players and that the
most important values of competition are derived fro
playing the game fairly

1.5.2.3 Be a modest winner and a
gracious loser

1.5.2.4 Maintain self-control at all times
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and accept adverse decisions without public display of
emotion or dissatisfaction with the officials. Register
disagreement through proper channels.

1.5.2.5 Employ accepted educational
methods in coaching and give his/her players an opportunity
to develop and use initiative, leadership, and judgement.

1.5.2.6 Pay close attention to the
physical well-being of his/her players, refusing to jeopardize
the health of an individual for the sake of improving his/her
team's chances to win.

1.5.2.7 Teach athletes that it is better to
lose fairly than to win unfairly

1.5.2.8 Discourage gambling, profanity,
abusive language, and similar violations of the true
sportsman's or sportswoman's code.

1.5.2.9 Refuse to disparage an opponent,
an official, or others associated with interscholastic athletics
and discourage gossip and rumors about them.

1.5.2.10 Properly supervise the
athletes under his/her immediate care.

1.5.3 The Participant (athletes and
cheerleaders) shall:

1.5.3.1 Be responsible for the
perpetuation of interscholastic athletics.  Strive to enhance
the image of athletics not only as a member of a team but
also as a member of your school and community.

1.5.3.2 Be courteous to the visiting team.
Your opponents wish to excel as much as you do.  Respect
their efforts.

1.5.3.3 Play hard to the limit of your
ability regardless of discouragement.  The true athlete does
not give up, quarrel, cheat, bet, or grandstand.

1.5.3.4 Be modest when successful and
be gracious in defeat.  A true sportsman or sportswoman
does not offer excuses for failure.

1.5.3.5 Understand and observe the
playing rules of the game and the standards of eligibility.

1.5.3.6 Respect the integrity and
judgement of the officials and accept their decisions without
complaint.

1.5.3.7 Respect the facilities of the host
school and do not violate the trust entailed in being a guest.

1.5.4 The Official shall:
1.5.4.1 Know the rules and

interpretations and be thoroughly trained to administer them.
1.5.4.2 Maintain self-control in all

situations.
1.5.4.3 When enforcing the rules, do not

make gestures or comments that will embarrass the players
or coaches.

1.5.4.4 Be impartial and fair, yet firm, in
all decisions.  A good official will not attempt to compensate
later for an unpopular decision.

1.5.4.5 Refrain from commenting upon

or discussing a team, player, or game situation with those not
immediately concerned.

1.5.4.6 Conduct the game so as to enlist
the cooperation of the players, coaches, and spectators in
promoting good sportsmanship.

1.5.5 The Spectator shall:
1.5.5.1 Realize that he/she represents the

school just as definitely as does a member of the team, and
that he/she has an obligation to be a true sportsman or
sportswoman and to encourage through his/her behavior the
practice of good sportsmanship by others.

1.5.5.2 Recognize that good
sportsmanship is more important than victory by approving
and applauding good team play, individual skill, and
outstanding examples of sportsmanship and fair play
exhibited by either team.  The following are some examples
of poor sportsmanship which shall not be tolerated:

1.5.5.2.1 Profanity, vulgarity,
obscene gestures, abusive language, and/or derogatory
remarks.

1.5.5.2.2 Throwing objects.
1.5.5.2.3 Going onto the playing

surface and interrupting a contest.
1.5.5.2.4 Use of alcohol or other

controlled substances.
1.5.5.3 Respect the judgement and

integrity of the officials, recognizing that their decisions are
based upon game conditions as they observe them.

1.5.5.4 Treat visiting teams and officials
as guests extending to them every courtesy.

1.5.5.5 Be modest in victory and
gracious in defeat.

2.0 Processing Violations
2.1 Procedures

2.1.1 The Executive Director is specifically
authorized to pursue any matter which, on the surface, has
indications of being a sportsmanship violation.

2.1.2 Within twenty (20) calendar days of
the incident, an alleged sportsmanship violation must be
reported in writing to the Executive Director by the
administrative head of a member school or by the Executive
Board of an officials� association.

2.1.3 The Executive Director shall transmit
a copy of the report to the principal of the school(s)
involved.

2.1.4 Each principal concerned shall
investigate and provide such information or answers to the
report as are appropriate.

2.1.5 The Executive Director shall provide
member schools and officials’ associations with a specially
designed form to facilitate the proper reporting of
sportsmanship related incidents.

2.1.6 Upon receipt of all reports, the
Executive Director shall review the documents and infor
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the school(s) involved of any recommendations.  The
Executive Director may, in turn, refer the matter to the
Sportsmanship Committee to investigate and adjudicate
what appears to be a violation of the Sportsmanship Rule.

2.1.7 The Sportsmanship Committee shall
review such available evidence as it deems necessary to
reach a conclusion.  Actions such as requesting reports and
conducting interviews should not be interpreted as casting
aspersions on a school adhering to DSSAA regulations, but
as an effort to keep all parties properly informed.  Penalties
up to and including suspensions of member schools may be
imposed by the Sportsmanship Committee.

2.1.8 A copy of the Sportsmanship
Committee's action shall be filed with the Executive Director
and the administrative head of the school(s) involved.

2.2 Policies
2.2.1 The basis for the following policy

statement is that a member school shall not be represented by
individuals whose conduct reflects discredit upon the school.
Insofar as unsportsmanlike actions by participants and
spectators are concerned, the Sportsmanship Committee
shall refer to the items previously identified in the Code of
Interscholastic Athletics as well as the following guidelines:

2.2.1.1 The school whose administrator
or athletic director behaves in a manner likely to have an
adverse influence on the attitudes of the players or spectators
may be provided with a choice of:

2.2.1.1.1 Reprimanding its
administrator or athletic director and providing written
documentation to the Executive Director, or

2.2.1.1.2 Suspending its
administrator or athletic director from representing the
school in athletic events for a specified period of time not to
exceed 180 school days, or

2.2.1.1.3 Having the entire school
disciplined by DSSAA.

2.2.1.2 An athlete shall not strike an
official, opponent, coach, or spectator or display gross
misconduct before, during, or after an athletic event.  The
athlete, depending on the seriousness of the act, may be
declared ineligible by the principal, Executive Director, or
Sportsmanship Committee for a specified period of time not
to exceed 180 school days.

2.2.1.3 In the case of spectators
physically assaulting an official, coach, or player, the school
may be given the option of either taking legal action against
the offender or accepting discipline from DSSAA.

2.2.1.4 Schools that do not fully
cooperate in promoting the spirit of the Sportsmanship Rule
may be disciplined by DSSAA.

2.2.1.5 The school whose coach behaves
in a manner likely to have an adverse influence on the
attitudes of the players or spectators may be provided with a
choice of:

2.2.1.5.1 Reprimanding its coach
and providing written documentation to the Executive
Director, or

2.2.1.5.2 Suspending its coach
from representing the school in athletic events for a specified
period of time not to exceed 180 school days, or

2.2.1.5.3 Having the entire school
disciplined by DSSAA.

2.2.1.6 An administrator, athletic
director, or coach may be considered as having committed
an unsportsmanlike act if:

2.2.1.6.1 He/she makes
disparaging remarks about the officials during or after a
game either on the field of play, from the bench, or through
any public news media, or

2.2.1.6.2 He/she argues with the
official or indicates with gestures or other physical actions
his/her dislike for a decision, or

2.2.1.6.3 He/she detains the
official on the field of play following a game to request a
ruling or explanation of some phase of the game, or

2.2.1.6.4 He/she makes
disparaging or unprofessional remarks about another
school's personnel.

2.2.1.7 All actions by a member school
resulting from an investigation relative to the above policies
shall be subject to approval by the Executive Director and/or
the Sportsmanship Committee.

2.3 Penalties
2.3.1 Game Ejection

2.3.1.1 A player or coach disqualified
before, during, or after a contest for unsportsmanlike and
flagrant verbal or physical misconduct shall be suspended
from the next regularly scheduled contest at that level of
competition and all other contests in the interim at any level
of competition in addition to any other penalties which
DSSAA or a conference may impose.

2.3.1.1.1 A player who leaves the
team bench area and enters the playing field, court, or mat
during a fight or other physical confrontation shall be ejected
from the contest.  A player who commits such an offense and
is ejected by the game officials shall also be suspended fro
the next regularly scheduled contest at that level of
competition and all other contests at any level of competition
in the interim.  Additional penalties may be imposed if a
player leaving the bench area becomes involved in the
altercation.

2.3.1.2 A disqualified player or coach
may not be physically present at any contest in that sport
during his/her suspension.

2.3.1.3 If a coach is disqualified from the
final contest of the season, his/her suspension shall carry
over to the next year in that sport.  In the case of an athlete,
the same penalty shall apply if said athlete retains eligibility
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in that sport.
2.3.1.3.1 Coaches who do not

fulfill their penalty in the same sport shall be disqualified for
the appropriate length of time in their subsequent coaching
assignment.

2.3.1.3.2 Seniors shall fulfill their
penalty in the post-season all-star game in that sport.  If not
chosen to participate in the all-star game, they shall fulfill
their penalty in another sport during the same season or
another sport during a subsequent season.  When a senior is
disqualified from the last game of his/her high school career,
the member school is requested to take appropriate
administrative action to discipline the offending student.

See 3 DE Reg 436 (9/1/99)
2.3.1.4 A player or coach ejected for a

second time during the same season shall be subjected to a
two-game suspension and meet, in a timely fashion, with the
Sportsmanship Committee accompanied by his/her principal
or designee and, in the case of an athlete, by his/her coach.

2.3.2 The following penalties represent
degrees of discipline in enforcing the Sportsmanship Rule:

2.3.2.1 Reprimand - a reprimand may be
given by the Executive Director or the Sportsmanship
Committee.  It is official notice that an unethical or
unsportsmanlike action has occurred, is a matter of record
and that such an occurrence must not be repeated.

2.3.2.2 Probation - probation is a more
severe penalty and may be imposed by the Executive
Director or the Sportsmanship Committee on a member
school, a particular team of a member school, a particular
coach or athlete of a member school, or an official.
Probation may be expressed in one of the following ways:

2.3.2.2.1 Conditional probation
wherein the offending party may participate in regular
season contests, sanctioned events, and conference and state
championships provided he/she/the school files with
DSSAA a plan indicating the measures that shall be taken to
alleviate the problem which caused him/her/the school to be
placed on probation, or

2.3.2.2.2 Restrictive probation
wherein a member school or a particular team of a member
school may engage in its regular season schedule but may
not enter any sanctioned events, participate in any playoff
toward a conference or state championship, or be awarded a
conference or state championship.

2.3.2.3 Suspension - a member school, a
particular team of a member school, a particular coach or
athlete of a member school, or an official may not participate
in any DSSAA sanctioned interscholastic competition.

2.4 Appeals
2.4.1 Decisions of the Executive Director or

Sportsmanship Committee may be appealed to the DSSAA
Board of Directors in accordance with the procedure found
in Regulation 1055 DSSAA Appeal Procedure.  However,

Notice of Appeal shall be served by certified mail within ten
(10) calendar days after receipt by the appellant of written
notice of the action of the Executive Director or
Sportsmanship Committee.

1051 DSSAA Senior High School Interscholastic
Athletics

1.0 Eligibility
No student shall represent a school in an

interscholastic scrimmage or contest if he/she does not meet
the following requirements:

1.1 Age
1.1.1 Students who become 19 years of age

on or after June 15 shall be eligible for all sports during the
school year provided all other eligibility requirements are
met.  Students who have attained the age of 19 prior to June
15 shall be ineligible for all sports.

See 3 DE Reg 437 (9/1/99)
1.1.2 In determining the age of a contestant,

the birth date as entered on the birth record of the Bureau of
Vital Statistics shall be required and shall be so certified on
all eligibility lists.

1.1.3 Requests for waiver of the age
requirement shall be considered only for participation on an
unofficial, non-scoring basis in non-contact or non-collision
sports.

1.2 Enrollment and Attendance
1.2.1 A student must be legally enrolled in

the high school which he/she represents and must be in
regular attendance by September 20.

1.2.1.1 A student who enters school after
September 20 shall not be eligible to participate until
February 1.

1.2.1.2 A student who enters school after
February 1 shall not be eligible to participate during the
remainder of the school year.

1.2.2 A shared-time student who attends
two (2) different schools during the regular school day shall
be eligible to participate only at his/her home school.

1.2.2.1 A student's home school shall be
the school at which he/she is receiving instruction in the core
academic areas and at which he/she is satisfying the majority
of his/her graduation requirements.

1.2.2.2 A shared-time student shall not
be eligible to participate at the school at which he/she is
receiving only specialized educational instruction; e.g.,
vocational training.

1.2.3 A student who is participating in the
Delaware School Choice Program, as authorized by 14 Del.
C., Ch. 4, is obligated to attend the �choice school" for a
minimum of two (2) years unless the student�s custodial
parent(s) or legal guardian(s) relocate to a different school
district or the student fails to meet the academic
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requirements of the �choice school�.  If a student attends a
�choice school” for less than two (2) years and subsequently
returns to his/her home school, the student must receive a
release from the � choice district� in order to legally enroll at
his/her home school.  Without a release, the student would
not be eligible to participate in interscholastic athletics (see
1.4.11).

1.2.4 A student may not participate in a
practice, scrimmage, or contest during the time a suspension,
either in-school or out-of-school, is in effect or during the
time he/she is assigned to an alternative school for
disciplinary reasons.

1.2.5 A student must be legally in
attendance at school in order to participate in a practice,
scrimmage, or contest except when excused by proper
school authorities.

1.2.5.1 A student who is not legally in
attendance at school due to illness or injury shall not be
permitted to participate in a practice, scrimmage, or contest
on that day

1.2.6 An ineligible student who practices in
violation of these rules shall, when he/she regains his/her
eligibility, be prohibited from practicing, scrimmaging, or
competing for an equivalent number of days.

1.2.7 Failure to complete a semester or
absence for one or more semesters for reasons other than
personal illness shall disqualify a student for ninety (90)
school days from the date of reentry to school.

1.3. Residence
1.3.1 A student must be living with his/her

custodial parent(s) or court appointed legal guardian(s) in the
attendance zone of the school which he/she attends in order
to be eligible for interscholastic athletics in that school.  In
cases of joint custody, the custodial parent shall be the parent
with actual physical placement as determined by court
action.

1.3.1.1 Maintaining multiple residences
in order to circumvent this requirement shall render the
student ineligible.

1.3.1.2 A student who, under authority of
a policy of the local board of education, remains in a school
he/she has been attending after his/her legal residence
changes to the attendance zone of a different school in the
same school district, may exercise, prior to the first official
student day of the subsequent academic year, a one time
election to remain at his/her current school and thereby not
lose athletic eligibility.

1.3.1.2.1 However, if a student
chooses to remain at his/her current school and subsequently
transfers to the school in his/her new attendance zone on or
after the first official student day of the subsequent academic
year, he/ she shall be ineligible, for ninety (90) school days

1.3.1.3 If a student changes residence to
a different attendance zone after the start of the last marking

period and is granted permission to continue attending his/
her present school via established district policy for such, the
student shall retain his/her athletic eligibility in that school
for the remainder of the school year provided all other
eligibility requirements are met.

1.3.1.4 A student shall be permitted to
complete his/her senior year at the school he/she is attending
and remain eligible even though a change of legal residence
to the attendance zone of another school has occurred.  This
provision shall refer to any change of legal residence that
occurs after the completion of the student's junior year.

1.3.1.5 A student may be residing
outside of the attendance zone of the school which he/she
attends if the student is participating in the Delaware School
Choice Program as authorized by 14 Del. C., Ch. 4.

1.3.1.6 A student who is a non-resident
of Delaware shall be eligible at a public, vocational-
technical, or charter school if, in accordance with 14 Del. C.,
� 607, his/her custodial parent or court appointed legal
guardian is a full-time employee of that district.

See 3 DE Reg 437 (9/1/99)
1.3.2 Notwithstanding 1.4, a student who

reaches the age of majority (18), leaves his/her parents' place
of residency and jurisdiction thereof, and moves to another
attendance zone to continue his/her high school education
shall be ineligible to participate in athletics for 90 school
days commencing with the first day of official attendance.
This provision shall not apply to a student participating in
the Delaware School Choice Program, as authorized by 14
Del.C., Ch. 4, provided the student�s choice application was
properly submitted prior to the his/her change of residence.

See 3 DE Reg 437 (9/1/99)
1.4 Transfer

1.4.1 A student who has not previously
participated in interscholastic athletics (previous
participation is defined as having practiced, scrimmaged, or
competed in grades 9 through 12 except as specified in 5.2)
is released by a proper school authority from a sending
school, has completed the registration process at the
receiving school, and is pursuing an approved course of
study shall be eligible immediately upon registration
provided he/she meets all other DSSAA eligibility
requirements.

1.4.2 If a student has previously
participated in interscholastic athletics, he/she shall be
ineligible for a period of ninety (90) school days
commencing with the first day of official attendance in the
receiving school unless one of the following exceptions
applies:

1.4.2.1 The transfer is within a school
district and is approved by the district's superintendent
pursuant to local school board policy.

1.4.2.2 The transfer is caused by court
action, court action being an order from a court of law
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affecting legally committed students.
1.4.2.2.1 In the case of a transfer

of guardianship/custody, the transfer shall be the result of a
court order signed by a judge, commissioner, or master of a
court of competent jurisdiction. A petition for the transfer of
guardianship/custody, an affidavit, or a notarized statement
signed by the affected parties shall not be sufficient to render
the student eligible to participate in interscholastic athletics.

1.4.2.3 The transfer is the result of a
change in residence by the custodial parent(s) or court
appointed legal guardian(s) from the attendance zone of the
sending school to the attendance zone of the receiving
school.  A change in residence has occurred when all
occupancy of the previous residence has ended.

1.4.3 A student who transfers from a public,
private, vocational-technical, charter, or choice school to
another public, private, vocational-technical, charter, or
choice school shall be eligible in the receiving school
immediately, except as prohibited by 1.4.10.1, when the
custodial parent(s) or court appointed legal guardian(s) has
established a new legal residence in another public school
attendance zone different from the one in which the custodial
parent(s) or court appointed legal guardian(s) resided for
attendance in the sending school.  In the case of a transfer to
a public or vocational-technical school, the new legal
residence must be in the attendance zone of the receiving
school.

1.4.4 Promotion to the ninth grade from a
school whose terminal point is the eighth grade, or to the
tenth grade from a junior high school whose terminal point is
the ninth grade, shall not constitute a transfer.  Students so
promoted shall be eligible.

1.4.5 If a waiver of the ninety (90) school
day ineligibility clause is requested, the parent(s) or court
appointed legal guardian(s) is responsible for providing
documentation to the DSSAA Board of Directors to support
the request.  Documentation should include the following for
each specific request:

1.4.5.1 Program of study (a multi-year,
hierarchical sequence of courses with a common theme or
subject matter leading to a specific outcome).

1.4.5.1.1 Student schedule card.
1.4.5.1.2 Student transcript.
1.4.5.1.3 Current course

descriptions from both the sending and receiving schools.
1.4.5.1.4 Statement from the

principal of the sending school indicating that a significant
part of the student's desired program of study will not be
offered and that it will place the student at a definite
disadvantage to delay transfer until the end of the current
school year.

1.4.5.1.5 Statement from the
principal of both the sending and receiving schools that the
student is not transferring primarily for athletic advantage as

defined in 1.4.8.1 through 1.4.8.4.
See 3 DE Reg 437 (9/1/99)

1.4.5.2 Finances
1.4.5.2.1 Proof of extreme

financial hardship caused by significant and unexpected
reduction in income and/or increase in expenses.

1.4.5.2.2 Statement from the
principal of both the sending and receiving schools that the
student is not transferring primarily for athletic advantage as
defined in 1.4.8.1 through 1.4.8.4.

See 3 DE Reg 437 (9/1/99)
1.4.6 No waiver shall be required for

students who transfer after the close of the sending school's
academic year and prior to the first official student day of the
receiving school's academic year provided:

1.4.6.1 The student has completed the
registration process at the receiving school prior to the first
official student day of the academic year.  The first official
student day shall be defined as the first day on which
students in any grade in that school are required to be in
attendance.

See 3 DE Reg 437 (9/1/99)
1.4.6.2 The student has not attended

class, excluding summer school, or participated in a practice,
scrimmage, or contest at the sending school since the close
of the previous academic year.

1.4.6.3 The student's legal residence is
located in the attendance zone of the receiving school.

1.4.6.4 All other DSSAA eligibility
requirements have been met.

1.4.7 In cases of joint custody when a
primary residence is established, a change in a student's
primary residence without court action subjects the student
to the ninety (90) school day ineligibility clause.

1.4.8 A change of custody or guardianship
for athletic advantage shall render a student ineligible under
the ninety (90) school day ineligibility clause if the primary
reason for his/her transfer is one of the following:

1.4.8.1 To seek a superior team.
1.4.8.2 To seek a team more compatible

with his/her abilities.
1.4.8.3 Dissatisfaction with the

philosophy, policies, methods, or actions of a coach or
administrator pertaining to interscholastic athletics.

1.4.8.4 To avoid disciplinary action
imposed by the sending school related to or affecting
interscholastic athletic participation.

1.4.9 If a student transfers at any time
during the school year for reasons other than those specified
in 1.4.2, the student shall be ineligible for a period of ninety
(90) school days commencing with the first day of official
attendance in the receiving school except as permitted by
1.4.1.

1.4.9.1 If a student transfers with fewer
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than ninety (90) school days left in the academic year, he/she
shall be ineligible for the remainder of the school year but
shall be eligible beginning with the subsequent fall sports
season provided he/she is in compliance with all other
eligibility requirements

1.4.10 A student who transfers from a public,
private, vocational-technical, or charter school to a school of
choice, as authorized by 14 Del. C., Ch. 4, shall be eligible
immediately provided the transfer occurs after the close of
the sending school's academic year and prior to the first
official student day of the receiving school's academic year
and the student satisfies the conditions stipulated in 1.4.6.1,
1.4.6.2 and 1.4.6.4.

1.4.10.1 A student who transfers from a
school of choice to another school of choice shall be
ineligible to participate in interscholastic athletics during his/
her first year of attendance at the receiving school unless the
receiving school sponsors a sport(s) not sponsored by the
sending school in which case the student shall be eligible to
participate in that sport(s) only.

1.4.11 A student who transfers from a school
of choice to either a private school or, after completing his/
her two-year commitment, to a public, vocational technical,
or charter school shall be eligible immediately provided the
transfer occurs after the close of the sending school�s
academic year and prior to the first official student day of the
receiving school�s academic year and the student satisfies the
conditions stipulated in 1.4.6.1 through 1.4.6.4.

See 3 DE Reg 437 (9/1/99)
1.5 Amateur

1.5.1 A student may not participate in an
interscholastic sport unless he/she is considered an amateur
in that sport.  A student forfeits his/her amateur status if he/
she does any of the following:

1.5.1.1 Knowingly plays on or against a
professional team.  This rule does not apply to an athlete
who participates in summer baseball or other sports outside
of the school's sports season in which he/she does not
receive any form of remuneration for athletic services.

1.5.1.2 Signs a professional contract,
accepts reimbursement for expenses to attend a professional
tryout, or receives financial assistance in any form from a
professional sports organization.

1.5.1.3 Enters competition under an
assumed name. The surname and given name used by any
player in his/her first game of interscholastic competition
shall be used during the remainder of the student's
interscholastic career. Any change in spelling or use of
another name shall be regarded as an attempt to evade this
rule unless the change has been properly certified by the
player to the principal of the school.

1.5.1.3.1 In the event a false name
is used without the knowledge and consent of the player, or
if the player has participated in a game without having his/

her name appear in the box score, or if his/her name appears
in the box score of a game in which he/she did not play, it
becomes the sole obligation of the player involved to report
the error or omission to the principal of the school within 48
hours from the time such game was played.

1.5.1.4 Receives remuneration of any
kind or accepts reimbursement for expenses in excess of the
actual and necessary costs of transportation, meals, and
lodging for participating in a team or individual competition
or an instructional camp or clinic.  Reimbursement for the
aforementioned expenses is permitted only if all of the
participants receive the same benefit.

See 3 DE Reg 437 (9/1/99)
1.5.1.5 Receives cash or a cash

equivalent (savings bond, certificate of deposit, etc.),
merchandise or a merchandise discount, (except for discount
arranged by school for part of team uniform) a reduction or
waiver of fees, a gift certificate, or other valuable
consideration as a result of his/her participation in an
organized competition or instructional camp/clinic.

1.5.1.5.1 Accepting an event
program and/or a complimentary item(s) (t-shirt, hat,
equipment bag, etc.) that is inscribed with a reference to the
event, has an aggregate value of no more than $50.00, and is
provided to all of the participants, shall not jeopardize his/
her amateur status.

See 3 DE Reg 525 (10/1/99)
1.5.1.6 Sells or pawns awards received.
1.5.1.7 Uses his/her athletic status to

promote or endorse a commercial product or service in a
newsprint, radio, or television advertisement or personal
appearance.

1.5.1.8 Receives an award prohibited by
DSSAA for being a member of some athletic organization.

1.5.2 Accepting compensation for teaching
lessons, coaching, or officiating shall not jeopardize his/her
amateur status.

1.5.3 A student who forfeits his/her amateur
status under the provisions of this rule is ineligible to
participate at the interscholastic level in the sport in which
the violation occurred.  He/she may be reinstated after a
period of up to 180 school days provided that during the
suspension, he/she complies with all of the provisions of this
rule.  The suspension shall date from the time of the last
offense.

2.0 Use of Influence for Athletic Purposes
2.1 The use of influence by a person(s) employed

by or representing a member school including members of
alumni associations, booster groups, and similar
organizations to persuade, induce, or facilitate the
enrollment of a student in that school for athletic purposes
shall render the student ineligible for up to 180 school days
from the date the charge is substantiated.  In addition, the
offending school shall be placed on probation, as determined
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by the DSSAA Board of Directors, and the offending
employee, if a coach, shall be suspended for up to 180 school
days from the date the charge is substantiated.

2.2 The use of influence for athletic purposes shall
include, but not be limited to, the following:

2.2.1 Offer of money, room, board,
clothing, transportation, or other valuable consideration to a
prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed
legal guardian(s).

2.2.2 Offer of waiver/reduction of tuition or
financial aid if based, even partially, on athletic
considerations.

2.2.3 Preference in job assignments or offer
of compensation for work performed in excess of what is
customarily paid for such services.

2.2.4 Offer of special privileges not
accorded to other students.

2.2.5 Offer of financial assistance including
free or reduced rent, payment of moving expenses, etc., to
induce a prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or court
appointed legal guardian(s) to change residence.

2.3 A school employee or Board approved
volunteer may not initiate contact or request that a booster
club member, alumnus, or player initiate contact with a
student enrolled in another school or his/her parent(s) or
court appointed legal guardian(s) in order to persuade the
student to enroll in a particular school for athletic purposes.
Illegal contact shall include, but not be limited to, letters,
questionnaires or brochures, telephone calls, and home visits
or personal contact at athletic contests.

2.3.1 If a coach or athletic director is
contacted by a prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or
court appointed legal guardian(s), the former must refer the
individual(s) to the principal or school personnel responsible
for admissions.

2.3.2 A school employee or Board
approved volunteer may discuss the athletic program with a
prospective student or his/her parent(s) or court appointed
legal guardian(s) during an open house or approved visit
initiated by the parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s).

2.3.2.1 A school employee or Board
approved volunteer may provide information concerning
sports offered, facilities, conference affiliation, and general
athletic policies.  However, he/she is not permitted to state or
imply in any way that his/her athletic program is superior to
that of another school or that it would be more beneficial or
advantageous for the prospective student to participate in
athletics at his/her school.

2.3.3 A school employee or Board
approved volunteer may conduct an informational
presentation at a feeder school provided he/she observes the
restrictions specified in 2.3.2.1.

2.4 If the number of applicants under the Delaware

School Choice Program exceeds the number of available
student openings, the selection criteria established by the
district shall not include athletic considerations.

3.0 Non-School Competition
3.1 A student may participate on a non-school

team or in a non-school individual event both during and out
of the designated sport season.  However, the student owes
his/her primary loyalty and allegiance to the school team of
which he/she is a member.  A school shall have the authority
to require attendance at practices and contests and students
not in compliance shall be subject to disciplinary action as
determined by the school.

3.2 Participation on a non-school team or in a non-
school individual event shall be subject to the following
conditions:

3.2.1 With the exception of organized
intramurals, the student may not wear school uniforms or use
school equipment.

3.2.2 The school may not provide
transportation.

3.2.3 The school may not pay entry fees or
provide any form of financial assistance.

3.2.4 The school coach may not require his/
her athletes to participate in non-school competition or
provide instruction to his/her athletes in non-school
competition.

3.3 14 Del. C., � 122(b)(15) requires written
parental permission prior to participation on a similar tea
during the designated sport season.  Written authorization
must be on file in the student's school prior to engaging in a
tryout, practice, or contest with a similar team.  Consent
forms shall be available in all member schools.

3.3.1 Similar teams shall include organized
intramural teams as well as non-school teams in that sport.

4.0 Passing Work
4.1 In order to be eligible for participation in

interscholastic athletics, including practices, a student must
pursue a regular course of study or its equivalent as approved
by the local governing body, and must be passing at least
five (5) credits.  Two (2) of those credits must be in the
separate areas of English, Mathematics, Science, or Social
Studies.

4.1.1 A student who is receiving special
education services and is precluded from meeting the
aforementioned academic requirements due to modifications
in the grading procedure or course of study, shall be
adjudged eligible by the principal if he/she is making
satisfactory progress in accordance with the requirements of
his/her individualized education plan (IEP).

4.2 In the case of a student in the twelfth grade, he/
she must be passing all courses necessary for graduation
from high school in order to be eligible for participation. A
course necessary for graduation shall be any course, whether
taken during or outside the normal school day, that satisfies
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an unmet graduation requirement.
4.3 A student whose work in any regular marking

period does not meet the above standards shall be ineligible
to participate in interscholastic athletics, including practices,
for the next marking period.

4.3.1 In the case of a conflict between the
marking period grade and the final grade, the final grade
shall determine eligibility.

4.3.2 The final accumulation of credits shall
determine eligibility for the following school year.  When a
student makes up a failure or earns the required credit(s)
during the summer, he/she shall become eligible.

4.3.2.1 Written verification of the
successful completion of a correspondence course must be
received before a student shall regain his/her eligibility.

4.4 A student forfeits or regains his/her eligibility,
in accordance with the provisions of this rule, on the day
report cards are issued.

4.5 Local school boards and non-public schools
may establish more stringent requirements for academic
eligibility than the minimum standards herein prescribed.

See 3 DE Reg 437 (9/1/99)
4.6 An ineligible student who practices in violation

of these rules shall, when he/she regains his/her eligibility,
be prohibited from practicing, scrimmaging, or competing
for an equivalent number of days.

5.0 Participation
5.1 No student shall represent a school in athletics

after four (4) consecutive years from the date of his/her first
entrance into the ninth grade unless a waiver is granted for
hardship reasons.

5.1.1 No student shall have more than four
(4) opportunities to participate in a fall sport or combination
of fall sports, in a winter sport or combination of winter
sports, or in a spring sport or combination of spring sports.

5.1.2 �Hardship� shall be defined as
extenuating circumstances which are beyond the control of
the student or his/her parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s); preclude him/her from completing the academic
requirements for graduation within the normal period of
eligibility; and deprive him/her of all or part of one of his/her
opportunities to participate in a particular sports season.

5.1.2.1 The circumstances must be
unusual, unavoidable, and extraordinary.  A clear and direct
causal relationship must exist between the alleged hardship
condition and the failure of the student to complete the
academic requirements for graduation within the normal
period of eligibility and the loss of all or part of one of his/
her opportunities to participate in a particular sports season.

5.1.2.2 The burden of proof rests with
the student in conjunction with the waiver/appeal process as
described in 1053 DSSAA Waiver Procedure and 1055
DSSAA Appeal Procedure.  Claims of extended illness,
debilitating injury, emotional stress, etc., must be

accompanied by appropriate documentation.  Evidence must
be submitted to verify that the student or his/her parent(s) or
court appointed legal guardian(s) sought assistance to
ameliorate the effects of the hardship condition.

5.1.3 Satisfactory completion of studies in
accordance with promotion policies established by the local
governing body shall determine when a student is beyond the
eighth grade.

5.2 If the eighth grade is part of the same
administrative unit as grades 9 through 12, participation on
the part of an eighth-grade student toward five (5) years of
eligibility shall be at the discretion of the individual school.

5.2.1 Seventh-grade students shall not be
permitted to participate on senior high school interscholastic
teams.

5.3 Participation shall be defined as taking part in a
school sponsored practice (see 25.3), scrimmage, or contest
on or after the first allowable date for practice in that sport.

6.0 Postgraduates/Higher Institutions
6.1 Postgraduates shall not be eligible to

participate in interscholastic athletics.
6.1.1 All graduates of recognized senior

high schools shall be considered postgraduates.
6.2 Students whose commencement exercises are

prior to the completion of the school's regular season
schedule and/or the state tournament shall be eligible to
compete.

6.3 A regularly enrolled student taking courses in
an institution of higher education shall be eligible provided
he/she meets all other DSSAA requirements.

7.0 Foreign Exchange Students/Foreign Students
7.1 Notwithstanding 1.2, 1.3, and 1.4, foreign

students may be eligible to participate in interscholastic
athletics upon arrival at their host school provided they have
not attained the age of 19 prior to June 15 and are enrolled as
participants in a recognized foreign exchange program.

7.1.1 All foreign exchange programs which
are included on the Advisory List of International
Educational Travel and Exchange Programs of the Council
on Standards for International Educational Travel (CSIET)
and are two (2) semesters in length shall be considered as
recognized.

7.1.2 Students participating in programs not
included on the CSIET list shall be required to present
evidence that the program is a bona fide educational
exchange program before it shall be considered as
recognized.

7.2 Foreign students who are not participating in a
foreign exchange program are considered to be transfer
students and are ineligible to compete in interscholastic
athletics unless they are in compliance with all DSSAA
eligibility requirements.

7.3 Once enrolled, foreign exchange and other
foreign students must comply with all DSSAA eligibility
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rules.
7.4 Athletic recruitment of foreign exchange

students or other foreign students by a member school or any
other entity is prohibited, and any such students recruited
shall be adjudged ineligible.

8.0 Examinations
8.1 A student shall not be eligible to practice,

scrimmage, or compete in an interscholastic contest unless
he/she has been adequately examined by a licensed
physician (M.D. or D.O.), a certified nurse practitioner, or a
certified physician's assistant on or after June 1 and before
beginning such athletic activity for the current school year.

8.1.1 A certificate to that effect, as well as
the parent's or court appointed legal guardian's consent, shall
be on file with the administrative head of the school prior to
the student participating in a practice, scrimmage, or game.

8.2 For any subsequent sports season in the school
year, a limited reexamination shall be performed under the
following circumstances:

8.2.1 If the athlete has been treated for an
injury during the immediately preceding sports season.

8.2.2 If the athlete has been out of school
during the preceding term with an illness other than the usual
minor upper respiratory or gastrointestinal upset.

8.2.3 If an operation has been performed on
the athlete during the preceding term.

8.2.4 If the athlete has a remedial defect.
8.3 The medical history of the student should be

available at the time of each examination.
8.4 A player who is properly certified to participate

in interscholastic athletics but is physically unable to
practice for five (5) consecutive days due to illness or injury,
must present to the administrative head of the school a
statement from a qualified physician that he/she is again
physically able to participate.

9.0 Clarifying Eligibility
9.1 In cases of uncertainty or disagreement, the

eligibility of a student shall be determined initially by the
Executive Director.  If the Executive Director determines
that the student is ineligible, the school and the student shall
be notified and the student suspended immediately from
participation in interscholastic athletics.

9.2 The school and the student shall be informed
that the decision of the Executive Director may be appealed
to the DSSAA Board of Directors in accordance with the
procedure described in 1055 DSSAA Appeal Procedure.

9.3 Decisions of the DSSAA Board of Directors to
affirm, modify, or reverse the eligibility rulings of the
Executive Director may be appealed to the State Board of
Education in accordance with the procedure described in
1055 DSSAA Appeal Procedure.

10.0 Eligibility Lists
10.1 Member schools shall use eligibility forms

approved by the Executive Director.

10.2 A copy of the original eligibility report
and subsequent addenda must be either received by the
Executive Director or postmarked prior to the first contest
for which the students listed are eligible.  Failure to file an
eligibility report as prescribed shall result in a $15.00 fine
against the school.

10.3 In the case of a student who met all
DSSAA eligibility requirements but was omitted from the
eligibility report due to administrative or clerical error, he/
she shall be adjudged eligible and the school assessed a
$10.00 fine.

See 3 DE Reg 437 (9/1/99)
11.0 Contracts Interchanged

11.1 Contracts between DSSAA member
schools or between DSSAA member schools and full
member schools of comparable state associations are
encouraged but not required.

11.1.1 Conference master contracts are
approved substitutes for individual contracts.

11.1.2 In the case of a dispute and provided
either a signed individual contract or conference master
contract is in place, appeal may be made to the DSSAA
Board of Directors which, after review of the circumstances,
may assign an appropriate penalty.

11.1.2.1 Without a signed individual
contract or conference master contract, a member school has
no right of appeal to the Executive Director or the DSSAA
Board of Directors.

11.2 Contracts between DSSAA member
schools and non-member or associate member schools of
comparable state associations are required.

11.2.1 A copy of the signed contract must be
either received by the Executive Director or postmarked
prior to the contest for which the agreement was drawn up.
Failure to file a signed contract as prescribed shall result in
the DSSAA member school being assessed a $15.00 fine.

11.2.2 In the case of a dispute, a member
school has no right of appeal to the Executive Director or the
DSSAA Board of Directors unless a signed individual
contract is in place.

11.3 Contracts shall be interchanged according
to the following provisions:

11.3.1 Contracts on the accepted form shall
be arranged by the competing schools for each season's
interscholastic athletic contests.

11.3.2 Contracts shall be drawn up by the
faculty manager or other designated staff member of the
home school of the earlier varsity contest.

11.3.3 A signed contract or any part thereof
may not be nullified or modified except by mutual
agreement of both schools involved.

11.4 If a game is not played, it shall be
considered “no contest” unless a signed individual contract
or conference master contract was in place and one of the
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participating schools breached the agreement in which case
appeal may be made to the Executive Director or the
DSSAA Board of Directors.

12.0 Spring Football
12.1 No member school shall participate in

spring football games nor shall a member school conduct
football practice of any type outside of the regular fall sports
season except when participating in the state tournament.

12.2 "Organized football" or "organized
football practice" shall be defined as any type of sport which
is organized to promote efficiency in any of the various
aspects of football.  Rugby and touch football featuring
blocking, tackling, ball handling, signaling, etc. shall be
considered "organized football" and shall be illegal under the
intent of this rule.

13.0 Licensed Physician
13.1 Provision shall be made for a licensed

physician, a NATA certified athletic trainer, or a registered
nurse to be present at all interscholastic football games in
which a member school participates.  The host school shall
provide this service.

See 3 DE Reg 438 (9/1/99)
13.2 Failure by the host school to provide this

service shall result in the school being assessed a $100.00
fine.

14.0 Use of Ineligible Athlete
14.1 The deliberate or inadvertent use of an

ineligible athlete in the sports of soccer, football, volleyball,
field hockey, basketball, baseball, softball, and lacrosse shall
require the offending school to forfeit the contest(s) in which
the ineligible athlete participated.

14.1.1 If the infraction occurs during a
tournament, including a state championship, the offending
school shall be replaced by its most recently defeated
opponent.  Teams eliminated prior to the most recently
defeated opponent shall not be allowed to reenter the
tournament.

14.1.2 Team and/or individual awards shall
be returned to the event sponsor.

14.1.3 Team and/or individual records and
performances shall be nullified.

14.1.4 The offending school may appeal to
the DSSAA Board of Directors for a waiver of the forfeiture
penalty if the ineligible athlete had no tangible effect on the
outcome of the contest(s).  If the forfeiture penalty is waived,
the offending school shall be reprimanded and fined $200.00
unless the athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s) knowingly withheld information or provided
false information that caused him/her to be eligible for
interscholastic competition.  The burden of proof, in both
instances, rests entirely with the offending school.

See 3 DE Reg 438 (9/1/99)
14.1.5 A forfeit shall constitute a loss for the

offending school and a win for its opponent for purposes of

standings and playoff eligibility
14.1.6 A forfeit shall be automatic and not

subject to refusal by the offending school's opponent.
14.2 The deliberate or inadvertent use of an

ineligible athlete in the sports of cross country, wrestling,
swimming, track, golf, and tennis shall require the offending
school to forfeit the matches won and/or points earned by the
ineligible athlete or by a relay team of which he/she was a
member.  The points contributed by an ineligible athlete to
his/her team score shall be deleted.

14.2.1 If the infraction occurs during a
tournament, including a state championship, the ineligible
athlete shall be replaced by his/her most recently defeated
opponent or the next highest finisher.  Contestants
eliminated prior to the most recently defeated opponent shall
not be allowed to reenter the tournament.

14.2.2 Individual awards earned by the
ineligible athlete and team awards, if necessary because of
adjustments in the standings, shall be returned to the event
sponsor.

14.2.3 Individual records and performances
by the ineligible athlete shall be nullified.

14.3 If an ineligible athlete participates in
interscholastic competition contrary to DSSAA rules but in
accordance with a temporary restraining order or injunction
against his/her school and/or DSSAA, and the injunction is
subsequently vacated, stayed, or reversed, or the courts
determine that injunctive relief is not or was not justified, or
the injunction expires without further judicial determination,
the penalties stipulated in 14.1 and 14.2 shall be imposed.

14.4 The intentional use of an ineligible athlete
by a member school or repeated indifference to its
responsibility to determine the eligibility of its athletes will
subject the school to additional penalties which may include
suspension for up to 180 school days from the date the
charge is substantiated.

14.5 If a coach knowingly withholds
information or provides false information that causes an
athlete to be eligible for interscholastic competition, the
coach shall be suspended from coaching in any sport at any
DSSAA member school for up to 180 school days from the
date the charge is substantiated.

14.6 If an athlete or his/her parent(s) or court
appointed legal guardian(s) knowingly withholds
information or provides false information that causes him/
her to be eligible for interscholastic competition, the athlete
shall be suspended from participation in any sport at any
DSSAA member school for up to 180 school days from the
date the charge is substantiated.

15.0 Reporting Violations
15.1 If a school violates a provision of the

DSSAA Constitution and Bylaws, the administrative head or
his/her designee shall notify the Executive Director in
writing of the violation.
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15.2 If a school uses an ineligible athlete, the
administrative head or his/her designee shall notify the
opposing school(s) or event sponsor, in the case of a
tournament or meet, and the Executive Director in writing of
the violation and the forfeiture of the appropriate game(s),
match(es), and/or point(s) won.

16.0 Equivalent Rules
16.1 A member school shall not participate in a

scrimmage or contest with any school that is not a member in
good standing of DSSAA or a state association comparable
to DSSAA.

16.1.1 A full member school shall not
participate in a scrimmage or contest with an associate or
non-member school of another state association unless the
opposing school, as part of a written contract, certifies that
its contestants are eligible under the rules of its home state
association.

16.1.1.1 Postgraduate students shall
not be allowed to participate.

16.1.2 An associate member school shall not
participate in a scrimmage or contest with an associate or
non-member school of another state association unless the
opposing school complies with the conditions specified in
16.1.1.  However, the opposing school shall be exempt from
those rules which DSSAA has waived for its associate
member school.

16.1.2.1 Postgraduate students shall
not be allowed to participate.

16.2 Member schools shall not participate in a
practice, scrimmage, or contest with a non-school sponsored
team.

16.3 Member schools shall not participate in a
practice, scrimmage, or contest with university, college, or
junior college undergraduates.

16.4 This rule shall not apply to games played
against the alumni or faculty of the school when the game is
sponsored by school authorities.

16.5 A school which participates in a game
against an illegal opponent shall be required to forfeit the
contest and be assessed a $100.00 fine.

17.0 Codes
17.1 DSSAA is affiliated with the National

Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS).  The
playing codes, sanctions, and other rules of the NFHS are
adopted except as modified by the DSSAA Board of
Directors.

17.2 The playing rules of the United States
Tennis Association, the United States Golf Association, and
the United States Lacrosse Association are adopted for the
sports of tennis, golf, and girls' lacrosse respectively except
as modified by the DSSAA Board of Directors.

18.0 Conferences
18.1 Member schools may establish voluntary

conference organizations according to the following rules:

18.1.1 Any such organization may be
composed of public and non-public schools.

18.1.2 Any conference so formed must
submit its proposed membership and its constitution and
bylaws to the DSSAA Board of Directors and they must be
approved before the schools may enter into any contractual
agreements.

18.1.2.1 All subsequent amendments to
the constitution and bylaws of the conference must be
approved by the DSSAA Board of Directors.

See 3 DE Reg 438 (9/1/99)
19.0 All-Star Contests

19.1 An all-star contest shall be defined as an
organized competition in which the participants are selected
by the sponsoring organization or its designee on the basis of
their performance during the interscholastic season in that
sport.

19.2 Students who have completed their
eligibility in a sport may participate in one all-star contest in
that sport, if approved by DSSAA, prior to graduation fro
high school.

19.3 Member schools shall not make their
facilities, equipment, or uniforms available to the sponsoring
organization or the participants unless the all-star contest is
approved by DSSAA.

19.4 The all-star contest must be approved by
DSSAA in accordance with the following criteria:

19.4.1 The contest shall not be for determining a
regional or national champion.

19.4.2 The contest shall be organized,
promoted, and conducted by and all profits go to a nonprofit
organization. Involvement by a commercial organization
shall be limited to providing financial support.

19.4.3 The awards given shall be in
compliance with 1.5.

19.4.4 Exceptions to the adopted rules code
for the sport shall require the approval of DSSAA.

19.4.5 A full financial report must be filed
with the Executive Director within thirty (30) days of the
contest.  Failure to submit a financial report within the
specified period of time shall result in the sponsoring
organization being assessed a $50.00 fine.

19.4.6 The event organizer shall not accept
financial support or sell advertising to companies involved in
the production or distribution of alcohol and tobacco
products.

See 3 DE Reg 439 (9/1/99)
19.5 A student who participates in more than

one all-star game or in a non-approved all-star game shall
forfeit his/her eligibility for 90 school days.

20.0 Sponsoring Interscholastic Teams
20.1 Definition of Interscholastic Athletics

20.1.1 Interscholastic competition is defined
as any athletic contest between students representing two (2)
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or more schools.  Students are considered to be representing
a school if the school does any of the following:

20.1.1.1 Partially or wholly subsidizes the
activity (providing equipment, uniforms, transportation,
entry fees, etc.).

20.1.1.2 Controls and administers the
funds, regardless of their source, needed to conduct the
activity.

20.1.1.3 Permits the students to compete
under the name of the school.

20.1.1.4 Publicizes or promotes the
activity through announcements, bulletins, or school
sponsored publications.

20.1.1.5 Presents or displays individual/
team awards.

20.1.2 Members of school clubs who
participate in non-competitive, recreational activities or
compete unattached are not considered to be engaged in
interscholastic competition.

20.2 Sponsorship of Teams
20.2.1 Schools may sponsor teams for

interscholastic competition in a sport provided the following
criteria are met:

20.2.1.1 The governing body of the
participating district or non-public school approves
participation in the sport.  The administrative head of the
school shall notify the Executive Director in writing of the
school�s intent to sponsor a team in a new sport.

20.2.1.2 The governing body of the
participating district or non-public school controls the funds
needed to support the proposed team, regardless of their
source, in the same manner as existing teams (coache �

salaries, purchase and repair of equipment, medical
supervision, transportation, preparation and maintenance of
practice and game facilities, awards, etc.).  Requests from
outside sources to make financial contributions or to donate
equipment or services must be submitted in writing and must
include an acknowledgment that the equipment becomes the
property of the school.  The contribution or donation must be
approved in writing by the administrative head of the school.

See 3 DE Reg 439 (9/1/99)
20.2.1 The participating schools agree to

comply with all applicable DSSAA rules and regulations as
stated in the current DSSAA Official Handbook.

20.3 Levels of Participation
20.3.1 Level 1 or developmental sport - less

than twelve (12) participating schools at the varsity level.
20.3.1.1 All DSSAA rules and regulations

shall be in effect except 23.0, 24.0, and 32.0.
20.3.1.2 Schools shall not be

permitted to scrimmage or compete against a non-school
sponsored team.

20.3.2 Level 2 or recognized sport - twelve
(12) or more participating schools at the varsity level.

20.3.2.1 At the time of official
recognition, DSSAA shall provide rules publications to the
participating schools, designate an approved officials'
association, conduct an annual or biannual rules clinic for
coaches and officials, establish a maximum game schedule,
and form a committee to promote the continued development
of the sport and prepare for a future state championship.

20.3.2.2 All DSSAA rules and
regulations shall be in effect.

20.3.3 Level 3 or championship sport -
sixteen (16) or more participating schools at the varsity
level.

20.3.3.1 Upon petition by the sport
committee and adoption of a tournament proposal, DSSAA
shall establish a state championship.

20.3.4 Withdrawal of level 2 or level 3
status.

20.3.4.1 If, for two (2) consecutive
years, less than the required number of schools participate in
a sport, DSSAA may withdraw official recognition or
suspend the state tournament/meet for a period of time as
determined by the Board of Directors.

21.0 State Championships
21.1 The minimum number of high schools

which must sponsor a sport at the varsity level in order for
DSSAA to approve a state championship shall be sixteen
(16).

21.2 State championship play shall be
permitted in football, basketball, indoor and outdoor track,
cross country, swimming, wrestling, golf, baseball, soccer,
tennis, field hockey, softball, girls' volleyball, and lacrosse
provided such tournament or meet is under the direct control
and supervision of and/or has the approval of DSSAA.

21.3 All state championships shall be managed
by committees established in accordance with Sections 11.
and 12. of Article IV of the DSSAA Constitution.

21.3.1 Each tournament format, as well as
the criteria and procedures for selecting and seeding the
participating teams, must be approved by the Board of
Directors and any subsequent changes must also be approved
by the Board.  The Executive Director shall advise the
committees as to which proposed changes must be presented
to the Board.  If the Executive Director and the committee
cannot agree, the proposed change must be presented to the
DSSAA Board of Directors for approval.

See 3 DE Reg 439 (9/1/99)
21.3.2 All financial arrangements, including

the collection of monies and expenditures, must be approved
by the Executive Director

21.4 Championship play in other sports must be
confined to the individual conferences and conducted in
accordance with the rules of the conference as approved by
the DSSAA Board of Directors.

21.5 No member school shall participate in a
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post-season contest.
22.0 Certified Coaches

22.1 Only those professional employees
certified by the Department of Education and whose salary is
paid by the State and/or local Board of Education, or in the
case of charter and non-public schools by a similar
governing body, if acceptable as a coach by the governing
body, shall coach, assist in coaching, or direct member
school teams in any district.

22.1.1 The terms of employment must be for
the regular school year and the professional assignment shall
be no less than 1/2 of the school day, exclusive of coaching
duties.

See 3 DE Reg 439 (9/1/99)
22.2 Emergency coaches

22.2.1 An emergency coach shall be defined
as an individual who is either not certified by the Department
of Education, or is certified by the Department of Education
but is not employed for the regular school year or whose
professional assignment is less than 1/2 of the school day.

22.2.2 An individual who meets the
requirements of a certified coach as specified in 22.1 but
whose professional assignment is located in a different
school or district than his/her coaching assignment shall not
be considered an emergency coach by DSSAA.

22.2.3 Member schools shall be required to
annually reopen all positions that are held by emergency
coaches.

22.2.4 Emergency coaches may be employed
provided the local governing body adheres to the following
procedures:

22.2.4.1 The employing Board of
Education must attempt to locate an acceptable, certified
professional staff member by advertising the coaching
vacancy in the district for as many days as are required by
the district's collective bargaining agreement.

22.2.4.2 If an acceptable, certified
professional staff member is not available, an individual who
is acceptable to the employing Board of Education may be
hired as an emergency coach.

22.2.4.3 Any individual employed as
a coach under the emergency provision must comply with
the following regulations:

22.2.4.3.1 He/she must be
officially appointed by the local Board of Education. The
superintendent or his/her designee may temporarily appoint
an individual if a coaching vacancy arises and the sport
season begins during the interim between meetings of the
local Board of Education.

See 3 DE Reg 439 (9/1/99) 
22.2.4.3.2 His/her coaching salary

must be paid exclusively by the local Board of Education.
22.3 Students who are practice teaching in a

member school shall be permitted to assist in all professional

activities during their practice teaching period.
22.4 In addition to the members of the school's

regular coaching staff, who must come from 22.1 through
22.3, the local governing body may supplement a school's
coaching staff with volunteer coaches.  Volunteer coaches
are individuals who donate their services to a school and
who have been approved by that school's local governing
body.  A current list of approved volunteer coaches shall be
on file in the school's administrative office before any
coaching duties are assumed.

22.5 All varsity head coaches (junior varsity if
the school does not sponsor a varsity team) shall be required
to attend the DSSAA rules clinic for their sport or, if
applicable, pass an open book rules examination supplied by
the DSSAA office. 

22.5.1 A school shall be assessed a $50.00
fine and the head coach shall be placed on probation if he/
she fails to attend the DSSAA rules clinic or pass the open
book rules examination in his/her sport.  Failure to comply
for a second consecutive year shall result in the school being
assessed a $50.00 fine and the coach being suspended for up
to five contests as determined by the Executive Director

22.6 Beginning with the 2000-01 school year,
head coaches at all levels of competition shall be required to
hold a current certification in adult CPR.

22.6.1 Beginning with the 2001-02 school
year, assistant coaches at all levels of competition shall be
required to hold a current certification in adult CPR.

See 3 DE Reg 439 (9/1/99)
23.0 Sports Seasons and Practice

23.1 The regular fall sports season shall begin
with the first approved day for practice and end with the start
of the state championship in that sport.  Any regular season
contest that was postponed must be rescheduled and played
before the beginning of the state tournament in that sport.
Conference championships must also be completed before
the start of the state tournament in that sport.

23.2 The regular winter sports season shall
begin with the first approved day for practice and end with
the start of the state championship in that sport.  Any regular
season contest that was postponed must be rescheduled and
played before the beginning of the state tournament in that
sport.  Conference championships must also be completed
before the start of the state tournament in that sport.

See 3 DE Reg 439 (9/1/99)
23.3 The regular spring sports season shall

begin on March 1 and end with the start of the state
championship in that sport.  Any regular season contest that
was postponed must be rescheduled and played before the
beginning of the state tournament in that sport.  Conference
championships must also be completed before the start of the
state tournament in that sport.

23.4 Practice for any fall sport shall not begin
earlier than 21 days before the first Friday after Labor Day.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 11, MONDAY, MAY 1, 2000



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1474
Practice for any winter sport shall not begin earlier than 21
days before the first Friday in December and practice for any
spring sport shall not begin earlier than March 1.

See 3 DE Reg 439 (9/1/99)
23.4.1 The first three (3) days of football

practice shall be primarily for the purpose of physical
conditioning and shall be restricted to non-contact activities.
Coaches may introduce offensive formations and defensive
alignments, run plays "on air," practice non-contact phases
of the kicking game, and teach non-contact positional skills.
Protective equipment shall be restricted to helmets,
mouthguards, and shoes.  The use of dummies, hand shields,
and sleds in contact drills is prohibited, Blocking, tackling,
and block protection drills which involve any contact
between players are also prohibited.

23.5 A school which participates in a game
prior to the first allowable date or after the start of the state
championship shall be required to forfeit the contest and be
assessed a $100.00 fine.

23.6 A school which conducts practice prior to
the first allowable date shall be assessed a fine of $100.00
per illegal practice day.

23.7 A certified, emergency, or volunteer coach
shall not be allowed to provide instruction out of the
designated season in his/her assigned sport to returning
members of the varsity or subvarsity teams of the school at
which he/she coaches.  He/she shall also be prohibited from
coaching rising ninth graders (rising eighth graders if eighth
grade is part of the same administrative unit as grades 
through 12) who participated in his/her assigned sport at a
feeder school.

23.7.1 A coach shall not be allowed to
participate on a team in his/her assigned sport with the

aforementioned players.
23.7.2 A coach shall also be prohibited fro

officiating contests in his/her assigned sport if the
aforementioned players are participating except in organized
league competition.

23.7.2.1 The league shall not be
organized and conducted by the employing school, the
employing school’s booster club, or the employing school’s
coaching staff.

23.7.2.2 The league shall have written
rules and regulations that govern the conduct of contests and
establish the duties of contest officials.

23.7.2.3 The league shall have
registration/entry procedures, forms, and fees; eligibility
requirements; and fixed team rosters, team standings, and a
master schedule of contests.

23.8 A certified, emergency, or volunteer coach
shall not be allowed to provide instruction during the
designated season in his/her assigned sport to current
members of the varsity or subvarsity teams of the school at
which he/she coaches outside of school sponsored practices,
scrimmages, and contests.

23.9 A coach who is determined to be in
violation of 23.7 or 23.8 shall be suspended from coaching in
the specified sport at any DSSAA member school for up to
180 school days from the date the charge is substantiated.

24.0 Maximum Game Schedules and Designated
Sport Season

24.1 The maximum number of regularly
scheduled interscholastic contests/competition dates for each
team and individual in the recognized sports and their
designated season shall be as follows:
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Sport Team Limitations Individual Limitations
Season Week Week                      ay

     Fall
Cross Country (boys and girls  16 competition dates �+3 competition dates �+3 competition date
Field Hockey (girls) 16 contests �3 contests �3 competition dates 2 halves
Football (boys) 10 contests 1 contest 4 varsity quarters or any

combination of 5 varsity
and subvarsity quarters
provided no more than 
3 quarters are at the
varsity level

Soccer (boys) 16 contests �3 contests �3 competition dates 2 halves
Volleyball (girls) 16 competition dates �3 competition dates �3 competition dates

of which 1 date may
involve more than
2 teams
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Winter
Basketball (boys and girls) 22 contests �3 contests �3 competition dates 4 quarters
Swimming (boys and girls) *16 contests �3 competition dates �3 competition dates
Indoor Track (boys and girls) 12 contests �+ 3 contests �+3 contests
Wrestling (boys) *18 contests �3 competition dates �3 competition dates 5 matches

Spring
Baseball (boys) 18 contests �3 contests �3 contests
Softball (girls) 18 contests �3 contests �3 contests
Golf (boys) 16 competition dates �3 competition dates �3 competition dates
Tennis (boys and girls) 16 contests �3 contests �3 contests
Outdoor Track (boys and girls)18 competition dates �+3 competition dates �+3 competition date
Lacrosse (boys and girls) 16 contests �3 contests �3 competition dates 4 quarters 

(boys) or 2
halves (girls)

Soccer (girls) 16 contests �3 contests �3 competition dates 2 halves

�  The third contest/competition date in a week must be held on Friday (no early dismissal permitted), Saturday or Sunday.
This requirement i  waived when a school is not in session for the entire week such as during winter or spring vacation.
+  A team may not participate in two different cross country, indoor track or outdoor track meats on the same day.
*  Participation in a triangular meet shall count as two contests and participation in a quadrangular meet shall count as three
contests toward the seasonal limitation.
24.2 Participation in any part of a quarter/half
shall count as a quarter/half toward the weekly and daily
limitations in that sport.  However, in the case of football,
participation on a free kick or a play from a scrimmage kick
formation shall not count as a quarter.  Overtime periods
shall be considered as part of the fourth quarter or second
half.

24.3 A week shall be designated as starting on
Monday and ending on Sunday for all sports except football.
A football week shall begin the day of the varsity game and
end the day preceding the next varsity game or the following
Friday.

24.4 The preceding game limitations, with the
exception of the individual daily limitation, shall not prohibit
the rescheduling of postponed games at the discretion and
convenience of the member schools involved provided the
game was postponed due to inclement weather, unplayable
field conditions, failure of the assigned officials to appear for
the game, breakdown of the bus or van carrying the visiting
team, or any other circumstances beyond the control of site
management which preclude playing the game.  However, a
team may not participate in more than four (4) contests/
competition dates in a week.

24.5 The maximum number of regularly
scheduled contests for each of the recognized sports, except
football, shall be exclusive of conference championships,
playoffs to determine tournament state berths, and the state
tournament/meet.  The maximum number of regularly
scheduled football contests shall be exclusive of the state
tournament.

24.5.1 Any playoffs to determine state

tournament berths shall be under the control and supervision
of the DSSAA tournament committee.

24.6 A school which participates in more than
the allowable number of contests in a season shall be
suspended from the state playoffs or, if a non-qualifying
team, fined $200.00.

24.7 A school which exceeds the weekly
contest limitation shall be required to forfeit the contest and
be assessed a $100.00 fine.

24.8 A student who exceeds the weekly or daily
contest limitation shall be considered an ineligible athlete
and the school subject to the penalties stipulated in 14.0.

25.0 Practice Sessions
25.1 Member schools shall conduct a minimu

of three (3) weeks of practice under the supervision of the
school's coaching staff prior to the first scheduled contest in
all sports.

25.1.1 The intent of this regulation is for
each school to conduct regular daily practice during the
aforementioned 21-day period, provided weather conditions
and other safety related factors permit, without being
required to practice on holidays and weekends.  Practicing
on holidays and weekends shall be left to the discretion of
the individual schools and conferences.

25.2 A student shall be required to practice for
a period of at least seven (7) calendar days prior to
participating in a contest.  However, if a student has been
participating in a state tournament during the preceding
sports season and is unable to begin practicing at least seven
(7) calendar days before his/her team's first contest, he/she
shall be exempt from this requirement.
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25.3 A practice session shall be defined as any
instructional activity on the field, court, mat, or track or in
the pool, weight room, or classroom such as team meetings,
film reviews, blackboard sessions, warmup and cool down
exercises, drills, mandatory strength training, etc.

25.3.1 All activities shall be under the
supervision of a certified, emergency, or approved volunteer
coach.

25.4 Practice sessions shall be limited to two
(2) hours on official school days.

25.4.1 Split sessions may be conducted but
practice time shall not exceed two hours for any individual
athlete.

25.4.2 The two-hour practice limitation does
not include time for non-instructional activities such as
dressing, showering, transportation, or training room care.

25.5 A school which deliberately exceeds the
two-hour practice limitation shall be assessed a $100.00 fine.

26.0Awards
26.1 A member school and/or support group

affiliated with a member school, such as an alumni
association or booster club, shall be allowed to present
recognition awards for team and/or individual
accomplishments.

26.1.1 The awards, including artwork and
lettering, shall require the approval of the administrative
head of the school and their value shall be mostly symbolic.

26.1.2 Permissible awards include trophies,
plaques, medals, letters, certificates, photographs, and
similar items.  Jackets, sweaters, shirts, watches, rings,
charms, and similar items if properly inscribed (reference to
the team or individual athletic accomplishment) are also
acceptable.

26.1.3 Member schools and such support
groups shall also be permitted to sponsor team banquets and
present post-secondary scholarships.

26.2 A non-profit group such as a coaches
association, booster club not affiliated with a member
school, or community service organization shall be allowed
to present recognition awards for team and/or individual
accomplishments with the approval of the administrative
head of the school.

26.2.1 With the exception of post-secondary
scholarships, the awards shall have symbolic value only.
Awards that have utilitarian value are prohibited.

26.2.2 Non-profit groups shall also be
permitted to sponsor team banquets.

26.3 Non-profit organizations co-sponsoring a
tournament shall be allowed to give post-secondary
scholarships to participating schools provided they are not
awarded on the basis of team or individual performance.
Scholarship monies shall be administered in accordance with
DSSAA and NCAA regulations.

See 3 DE Reg 440 (9/1/99)

26.4 Commercial organizations shall be
allowed to present recognition awards for team and/or
individual accomplishments with the approval of the
administrative head of the school.

26.4.1 With the exception of post-secondary
scholarships, the awards shall have symbolic value only.
Awards with utilitarian value are prohibited.  The value of
the award shall not exceed $50.00.

See 3 DE Reg 440 (9/1/99)
26.5 Non-symbolic competition awards,

regardless of sponsor, shall have a utilitarian value not to
exceed $50.00 per recipient and shall require the prior
approval of the Executive Director

27.0 Boxing
Member schools shall not participate in interscholastic
boxing.

28.0 Protests and Complaints
All protests and complaints brought before DSSAA shall be
in writing and shall be acted on only after the administrative
head of the school involved has been given an opportunity to
appear before the Board of Directors.

29.0 Wrestling Weight Control Code
29.1 Each year, prior to January 15, a wrestler

must establish his/her minimum weight class at a weigh-in
witnessed by and attested to in writing by the athletic
director or a designated staff member (excluding coaches) of
the school the wrestler attends.  Thereafter, a wrestler may
not compete in a weight class below his/her duly established
weight class.  In addition, a wrestler may not compete in the
individual state championship or a qualifying tournament in
his/her duly established weight class unless the wrestler
makes weight in at least fifty (50) percent of his/her
conference and non-conference weigh-ins during the regular
season.

29.1.1 A wrestler who weighs in at least once
but fails to establish his/her minimum weight class prior to
January 15 shall automatically be certified at the weight he/
she last weighed in before that date.

29.1.2 A wrestler who does not weigh in at
least once and fails to establish his/her minimum weight
class prior to January 15 shall automatically be certified at
the weight he/she first weighs in after that date.

29.1.3 A wrestler who is unable, prior to
January 15, to get down to the maximum allowable weight
of 275 pounds in order to compete in the heavyweight class
shall be permitted to certify his/her minimum weight class at
a later date in the season and thereafter be eligible to
participate.

29.2 By January 15, a certified team roster
listing the established minimum weight class of each
wrestler shall be sent to the secretary of the conference to
which the school belongs or to the secretary of the
independent tournament.  Further, duly attested notices of
additions to the certified roster shall be sent to the
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 11, MONDAY, MAY 1, 2000



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1477
conference secretary without delay
29.2.1 The conference secretary shall in turn

send to each school in his/her conference copies of the
certified rosters of each school.  Further, he/she shall note
and send copies of the notices of additions to the rosters as
these additions occur.

29.3 Violation of this code on the part of any
coach shall be considered evidence of unethical conduct as
shall other attempts to circumvent its intent which is to
prevent harmful weight reduction.

30.0 Use of Officials
30.1 Member schools and tournament sponsors

shall be required to use officials approved by DSSAA for
interscholastic contests.

30.1.1 In the case of emergencies such as an
act of God, refusal by an association to work games, or a
shortage of qualified officials, schools which desire to use
other than approved officials must obtain permission from
the Executive Director.

30.2 Officials shall be required each year to
attend the DSSAA rules interpretation clinic and pass the
rules examination provided by the DSSAA office for the
sport(s) they officiate.

30.2.1 Failure on the part of an official to
attend the DSSAA rules interpretation clinic and pass the
rules examination shall cause the official to be placed on
probation and to lose his/her eligibility to officiate a state
tournament contest until both requirements have been
satisfied in the same season.

30.2.2 Failure to fulfill this obligation within
one (1) year shall cause the official to lose varsity officiating
status.  Failure to fulfill this obligation in subsequent years
shall cause the official to continue to be restricted to
subvarsity contests until both requirements have been
satisfied in the same season.

30.2.3 Attending the fall soccer rules
interpretation clinic shall satisfy the clinic attendance
requirement for both the boys’ and girls’ soccer seasons.
Attending the spring soccer rules interpretation clinic shall
satisfy the clinic attendance requirement for only the girls’
soccer season.

30.2.4 If, for a legitimate reason which is
documented by the president of his/her association, an
official is unable to attend the DSSAA rules interpretation
clinic, he/she may attend a clinic conducted by  another
NFHS member state association provided the following
procedures are observed:

30.2.4.1 No later than the day of the
DSSAA rules interpretation clinic, the president of the
association notifies the Executive Director, in writing, of the
official's inability to attend the clinic.

30.2.4.2 The out-of-state clinic is
conducted by  an individual either trained by the NFHS or
designated as a clinician by the state's athletic association.

30.2.4.3 The official arranges for a letter
to be sent to the Executive Director from the state's athletic
association office verifying his/her attendance at the clinic.

30.3 Use of non-approved officials without
permission from the Executive Director shall result in the
school or tournament sponsor being assessed a $50.00 fine.

31.0 Summer Camp and Clinic Sponsorship
31.1 DSSAA does not restrict a student's

decision to attend a summer athletic camp.  However,
schools, school organizations, coaches, or school related
groups, such as booster clubs, may not sponsor an athletic
camp which limits membership to their own district, locale,
or teams.  Coaches employed by a summer athletic camp
may not instruct their own athletes.

31.2 School related groups, such as booster
clubs, which desire to sponsor the attendance of their
school's enrolled students at summer athletic camps, may do
so with the approval of the local school board or governing
body.  The disbursement of funds to pay for camp related
expenses (fees, travel costs, etc.) shall be administered by
the principal or his/her designee and the funds shall be
allocated according to the following guidelines:

31.2.1 All students and team members shall
be notified of the available sponsorship by announcement,
publication, etc.

31.2.2 All applicants shall share equally in
the funds provided.

31.2.3 All applicants shall be academically
eligible to participate in interscholastic athletics.

31.2.4 All applicants shall have one year of
prior participation in the sport for which the camp is
intended or, absent any prior participation, he/she shall be
judged by the coach to benefit substantially fro
participation in the camp.

32.0 Sanctions - School Team Competition
32.1 Member schools may participate in

tournaments/meets involving four (4) or more schools only if
the event has been sanctioned by DSSAA and, if applicable,
by the NFHS.  Tournaments/meets shall be sanctioned in
accordance with the following criteria:

32.1.1 The event shall not be for determining
a regional or national champion.

32.1.2 The event shall be organized,
promoted, and conducted by and all profits go to a nonprofit
organization. Involvement by a commercial organization
shall be limited to providing financial support.

32.1.3 Nonsymbolic competition awards
shall have a value of not more than $50.00 per recipient and
shall require the prior approval of the Executive Director.

32.1.4 Non-school event organizers shall
submit a full financial report to the DSSAA office within
ninety (90) calendar days of the completion of the event.

32.1.5 The event organizer shall submit a list
of out-of-state schools which have been invited to participate
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and such schools shall be subject to approval by the
Executive Director

32.1.6 Out-of-state schools which are not
members of their state athletic association shall verify in
writing that their participating athletes are in compliance
with their state athletic association's eligibility rules and
regulations.

32.1.7 The event organizer shall not accept
financial support or sell advertising to companies involved in
the production or distribution of alcohol and tobacco
products.

32.1.8 The event organizer shall comply with
all applicable NFHS sanctioning requirements.

See 3 DE Reg 525 (10/1/99)
32.2 Participation in a non-sanctioned event

shall result in the offending school being assessed a $25.00
fine.  A second offense shall result in a $50.00 fine and loss
of eligibility to participate in sanctioned events for the
remainder of the sport season.  A third offense shall result in
a $100.00 fine and loss of eligibility to participate in
sanctioned events for the remainder of the school year.

33.0 Coed Teams
33.1 If a school sponsors a boys' team and a

girls' team in a particular sport, boys shall participate on the
boys' team and girls shall participate on the girls' team even
if the teams compete during different seasons.

33.1.1 A student shall participate in a
particular sport for only one season during each academic
year.

33.2 If a school sponsors only a boys' team in a
particular sport, girls shall be permitted to participate on the
boys' team.

33.2.1 Coed teams shall participate only in
the boys' state championship tournament/meet.

33.3 If a school sponsors only a girls' team in a
particular sport, boys shall not be permitted to participate on
the girls' team.

34.0 Non-School Instructional Camps and Clinics
34.1 A student may participate in a commercial

camp or clinic, including private lessons, both during and out
of the designated sport season provided the following
conditions are observed:

34.1.1 The student must participate
unattached and may not wear school uniforms or use school
equipment.

34.1.2 The school may not provide
transportation or pay fees.

34.1.3 The school coach may not require his/
her athletes to participate in a camp or clinic or provide
instruction to his/her returning athletes in a camp or clinic.

35.0 Open Gym Programs
35.1 A member school may open its

gymnasium or other facility for informal, recreational
activities in accordance with the following provisions:

35.1.1 The open gym must be available to all
interested students, must not be restricted to members of a
particular team, and must be publicized as such.

35.1.2 Student participation must be
voluntary and the open gym must not be a prerequisite for
trying out for a particular team.

35.1.3 The activities must be unstructured
and student-generated.  Organized drills in the skills or
techniques of a particular sport are prohibited.  Organized
competition with fixed team rosters is also prohibited.

35.1.3.1 A coach may not predetermine
that the open gym will include only his/her sport and
publicize the open gym as being restricted to that sport.  It is
the responsibility of the adult supervisor to permit as many
different activities as the facility can effectively and safely
accommodate.

See 3 DE Reg 440 (9/1/99)
35.1.4 A coach may open the facility and

distribute playing equipment but may not instruct, officiate,
participate, organize the activities, or choose teams in his/
her assigned sport.

35.1.5 Playing equipment is restricted to that
which is customarily used in a contest in a particular sport.
Playing equipment which is only used in a practice session is
prohibited.

35.1.6 The participants must provide their
own workout clothing.

36.0 Conditioning Programs
36.1 A member school may conduct a

conditioning program in accordance with the following
provisions:

36.1.1 The conditioning program must be
available to all interested students, must not be restricted to
members of a particular team, and must be publicized as
such.

36.1.2 Student participation must be
voluntary. The conditioning program must not be a
prerequisite for trying out for a particular team.

36.1.3 Permissible activities include
stretching, lifting weights, jumping rope, running,
calisthenics, aerobics, and similar generic conditioning
activities.  Organized drills in the skills or techniques of a
particular sport are prohibited.

36.1.4 A coach may not provide instruction
in sport specific skills or techniques.

36.1.5 Sport specific equipment is
prohibited.

36.1.6 The participants must provide their
own workout clothing.

37.0 Non-Payment of Fines
A school which does not pay, by July 1, all

fines incurred during the school year shall be ineligible to
participate in a state championship event in any sport during
the following school year until such time as all fines are
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paid.
38.0 Additional Penalties

Additional penalties may be imposed by the
Executive Director or the DSSAA Board of Directors for
repeat offenses or as deemed necessary to ensure the proper
conduct of interscholastic competition.

1052.  DSSAA Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic
Athletics

1.0 Eligibility
No student shall represent a school in an interscholastic
scrimmage or contest if he/she does not meet the following
requirements:

1.1 Age
1.1.1 Eighth-grade students who become 15

years of age on or after June 15 in a school terminating in the
eighth grade shall be eligible for all sports during the current
school year provided all other eligibility requirements are
met.

1.1.1.1 Permission shall be granted for
15-year old eighth-grade students in a school terminating in
the eighth grade who are ineligible for junior high/middle
school competition to participate in the district high school
athletic program provided they meet all other eligibility
requirements.

1.1.2 In determining the age of a contestant,
the birth date as entered on the birth record of the Bureau of
Vital Statistics shall be required and shall be so certified on
all eligibility lists.

1.1.3 Requests for waiver of the age
requirement shall be considered only for participation on an
unofficial, non-scoring basis in non-contact sports.

1.2 Enrollment and Attendance
1.2.1 A student must be legally enrolled in

the junior high/middle school which he/ she represents and
must be in regular attendance by September 20.

1.2.1.1 A student who enters school after
September 20 shall not be eligible to participate until
February 1.

1.2.1.2 A student who enters school after
February 1 shall not be eligible to participate during the
remainder of the school year.

1.2.2 A student who is participating in the
Delaware School Choice Program, as authorized by 14 Del.
C., Ch. 4, is obligated to attend the �choice school' for a
minimum of two (2) years unless the student's custodial
parent(s) or legal guardian(s) relocate to a different school
district or the student fails to meet the academic
requirements of the "choice school�.  If a student attends a
"choice school" for less than two (2) years and subsequently
returns to his/her home school, the student must receive a
release from the �choice district� in order to legally enroll at
his/her home school.  Without a release, the student would
not be eligible to participate in interscholastic athletics (see

1.4.9).
1.2.3 A student may not participate in a

practice, scrimmage, or contest during the time a suspension,
either in-school or out-of-school, is in effect or during the
time he/she is assigned to an alternative school for
disciplinary reasons.

1.2.4 A student must be legally in
attendance at school in order to participate in a practice,
scrimmage, or contest except when excused by proper
school authorities.

1.2.4.1 A student who is not legally in
attendance at school due to illness or injury shall not be
permitted to participate in a practice, scrimmage, or contest
on that day.

1.2.5 An ineligible student who practices in
violation of these rules shall, when he/she regains his/her
eligibility, be prohibited from practicing, scrimmaging, or
competing for an equivalent number of days.

1.2.6 Failure to complete a semester or
absence for one or more semesters for reasons other than
personal illness shall disqualify a student for ninety (90)
school days from the date of reentry to school.

1.3 Residence
1.3.1 A student must be living with his/her

custodial parent(s) or court appointed legal guardian(s) in the
attendance zone of the school which he/she attends in order
to be eligible for interscholastic athletics in that school.  In
cases of joint custody, the custodial parent shall be the parent
with actual physical placement as determined by court
action.

1.3.1.1 Maintaining multiple residences
in order to circumvent this requirement shall render the
student ineligible.

1.3.1.2 A student who, under authority of
a policy of the local board of education, remains in a school
he/she has been attending after his/her legal residence
changes to the attendance zone of a different school in the
same school district, may exercise, prior to the first official
student day of the subsequent academic year, a one time
election to remain at his/her current school and thereby not
lose athletic eligibility.

1.3.1.2.1 However, if a student
chooses to remain at his/her current school and subsequently
transfers to the school in his/her new attendance zone on or
after the first official student day of the subsequent academic
year, he/she shall be ineligible for ninety (90) school days.

1.3.1.3 If a student changes residence to
a different attendance zone after the start of the last marking
period and is granted permission to continue attending his/
her present school via established district policy for such, the
student shall retain his/her athletic eligibility in that school
for the remainder of the school year provided all other
eligibility requirements are met.

1.3.1.4 A student may be residing
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outside of the attendance zone of the school which he/she
attends if the student is participating in the Delaware School
Choice Program as authorized by 14 Del. C., Ch. 4.

1.3.1.5 A student who is a non-resident
of Delaware shall be eligible at a public or charter school if,
in accordance with 14 Del. C., § 607, his/her custodial parent
or court appointed legal guardian is a full-time employee of
that district.

1.4 Transfer
1.4.1 A student who has not previously

participated in interscholastic athletics (previous
participation is defined as having practiced, scrimmaged or
competed in grades 6 through 8), is released by a proper
school authority from a sending school, has completed the
registration process at the receiving school, and is pursuing
an approved course of study shall be eligible immediately
upon registration provided he/she meets all other DSSAA
eligibility requirements

1.4.2 If a student has previously
participated in interscholastic athletics, he/she shall be
ineligible for a period of ninety (90) school days
commencing with the first day of official attendance in the
receiving school unless one of the following exceptions
applies:

1.4.2.1 The transfer is caused by court
action, court action being an order from a court of law
affecting legally committed students.

1.4.2.1.1 In the case of a transfer
of guardianship/custody, the transfer shall be the result of a
court order signed by a judge, commissioner, or master of a
court of competent jurisdiction.  A petition for the transfer of
guardianship/custody, an affidavit, or a notarized statement
signed by the affected parties shall not be sufficient to render
the student eligible to participate in interscholastic athletics.

1.4.2.2 The transfer is the result of a
change in residence by the custodial parent(s) or court
appointed legal guardian(s) from the attendance zone of the
sending school to the attendance zone of the receiving
school.  A change in residence has occurred when all
occupancy of the previous residence has ended.

1.4.3 A student who transfers from a public,
private, charter or choice school to another public, private,
charter, or choice school, except as prohibited by 1.4.7.1,
shall be eligible in the receiving school immediately when
the custodial parent(s) or court appointed legal guardian(s)
has established a new legal residence in another public
school attendance zone different from the one in which the
custodial parent(s) or court appointed legal guardian(s)
resided for attendance in the sending school.  In the case of a
transfer to a public school, the new legal residence must be
in the attendance zone of the receiving school.

1.4.4 If a waiver of the ninety (90) school-
day ineligibility clause is requested, the parent(s) or court
appointed legal guardian(s) is responsible for providing

documentation to the DSSAA Board of Directors to support
the request.  Documentation should include the following for
each specific request:

1.4.4.1 Program of study (a multi-year
hierarchical sequence of courses with a common theme or
subject matter leading to a specific outcome).

1.4.4.1.1 Student schedule card.
1.4.4.1.2 Student transcript.
1.4.4.1.3 Current course

descriptions from both the sending and receiving schools.
1.4.4.1.4 Statement from the

principal of the sending school indicating that a significant
part of the student's desired program of study will not be
offered and that it will place the student at a definite
disadvantage to delay transfer until the end of the current
school year.

1.4.4.1.5 Statement from the
principal of both the sending and receiving school that the
student is not transferring primarily for athletic advantage as
described in 1.4.6.1 through 1.4.6.4.

1.4.4.2 Finances
1.4.4.2.1 Proof of extreme

financial hardship caused by significant loss of income and/
or increased expenses.

1.4.4.2.2 Statement from the
principal of both the sending and receiving schools that the
student is not transferring primarily for athletic advantage as
defined in 1.4.6.1 through 1.4.6.4.

1.4.5 No waiver shall be required for
students who transfer after the close of the sending school's
academic year and prior to the first official student day of the
receiving school's academic year provided:

1.4.5.1 The student has completed the
registration process at the receiving school prior to the first
official student day of the academic year.  The first official
student day shall be defined as the first day on which
students in any grade in that school are required to be in
attendance.

1.4.5.2 The student has not attended
class, excluding summer school, or participated in a practice,
scrimmage, or contest at the sending school since the close
of the previous academic year.

1.4.5.3 The student's legal residence is
located in the attendance zone of the receiving school.

1.4.5.4 All other DSSAA eligibility
requirements have been met.

1.4.6 In cases of joint custody when a
primary residence is established, a change in a student’s
primary residence without court action subjects the student
to the ninety (90) school-day ineligibility clause.

1.4.7 A change of custody or guardianship
for athletic advantage shall render a student ineligible under
the ninety (90) school-day ineligibility clause if the primary
reason for his/her transfer is one of the following:
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1.4.7.1 To seek a superior team.
1.4.7.2 To seek a team more compatible

with his/her abilities.
1.4.7.3 Dissatisfaction with the

philosophy, policies, methods, or actions of a coach or
administrator pertaining to interscholastic athletics.

1.4.7.4 To avoid disciplinary action
imposed by the sending school related to or affecting
interscholastic athletic participation.

1.4.8 If a student transfers at any time
during the school year for reasons other than those specified
in 1.4.2, the student shall be ineligible for a period of ninety
(90) school days commencing with the first day of official
attendance in the receiving school except as permitted by
1.4.1.

1.4.8.1 If a student transfers with fewer
than ninety (90) school days left in the academic year, he/she
shall be ineligible for the remainder of the school year but
shall be eligible beginning with the subsequent fall sports
season provided he/she is in compliance with all other
eligibility requirements

1.4.9 A student who transfers from a public,
private, or charter school to a school of choice shall be
eligible immediately provided the transfer occurs after the
close of the sending school's academic year and prior to the
first official student day of tile receiving school's academic
year and the student satisfies the conditions stipulated in
1.4.5.1, 1.4.5.2, and 1.4.5.4.

1.4.9.1 A student who transfers from a
school of choice to another school of choice shall be
ineligible to participate in interscholastic athletics during his/
her first year of attendance at the receiving school unless the
receiving school sponsors a sport(s) not sponsored by the
sending school in which case the student shall be eligible to
participate in that sport(s) only.

1.4.10 A student who transfers from a school
of choice to a public, private, or charter school shall be
eligible immediately provided the transfer occurs after the
close of the sending school's academic year and prior to the
first official student day of the receiving school's academic
year and the student satisfies the conditions stipulated in
1.4.5.1 through 1.4.5.4.

1.5 Amateur
1.5.1 A student may not participate in an

interscholastic sport unless he/she is considered an amateur
in that sport.  A student forfeits his/her amateur status if he/
she does any of the following:

1.5.1.1 Knowingly plays on or against a
professional team, This rule does not apply to an athlete who
participates in summer baseball or other sports outside of the
school's sports season in which he/she does not receive any
form of remuneration for athletic services.

1.5.1.2 Signs a professional contract,
accepts reimbursement for expenses to attend a professional

tryout, or receives financial assistance in any form from a
professional sports organization.

1.5.1.3 Enters competition under an
assumed name.  The surname and given name used by any
player in the first game of interscholastic competition shall
be used during the remainder of the student's interscholastic
career.  Any change in spelling or use of another name shall
be regarded as an attempt to evade this rule unless the
change has been properly certified by the player to the
principal of the school.

1.5.1.3.1 In the event a false name
is used without the knowledge and consent of the player, or
if the player has participated in a game without having his/
her name appear in the box score, or if his/her name appears
in the box score of a game in which he/she did not play, it
becomes the sole obligation of the player involved to report
the error or omission to the principal of the school within 48
hours from the time such game was played.

1.5.1.4 Receives remuneration of any
kind or accepts reimbursement for expenses in excess of the
actual and necessary costs of transportation, meals, and
lodging for participating in a team or individual competition
or an instructional camp/clinic  Reimbursement for the
aforementioned expenses is permitted only if all of the
participants receive the same benefit.

1.5.1.5 Receives cash or a cash
equivalent (savings bond, certificate of deposit, etc.),
merchandise or a merchandise discount (except for discount
arranged by school for part of team uniform) a reduction or
waiver of fees, a gift certificate, or other valuable
consideration as a result of his/her participation in an
organized competition or instructional camp/clinic.

1.5.1.5.1 Accepting an event
program and/or a complimentary item(s) (t-shirt, hat,
equipment bag, etc.) that is inscribed with a reference to the
event, has an aggregate value of no more than $50.00, and is
provided to all of the participants, shall not jeopardize his/
her amateur status.

1.5.1.6 Sells or pawns awards received.
1.5.1.7 Uses his/her athletic status to

promote or endorse a commercial product or service in a
newsprint, radio, or television advertisement or personal
appearance.

1.5.1.8 Receives an award prohibited by
DSSAA for being a member of some athletic organization.

1.5.2Accepting compensation for teaching lessons,
coaching, or officiating shall not jeopardize his/her amateur
status.

1.5.3 A student who forfeits his/her amateur
status under the provisions of this rule is ineligible to
participate at the interscholastic level in the sport in which
the violation occurred.  He/she may be reinstated after a
period of up to 180 school days provided that during the
suspension, he/she complies with all of the provisions of this
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rule.  The suspension shall date from the time of the last
offense.

2.0 Use of Influence for Athletic Purpose
2.1 The use of influence by a person(s)

employed by or representing a member school including
members of alumni associations, booster groups, and similar
organizations to persuade, induce, or facilitate the
enrollment of a student in that school for athletic purposes
shall render the student ineligible for up to 180 school days
from the date the charge is substantiated.  In addition, the
offending school shall be placed on probation, as determined
by the DSSAA Board of Directors, and the offending
employee, if a coach, shall be suspended for up to 180 school
days from the date the charge is substantiated.

2.2 The use of influence for athletic purposes shall
include, but not be limited to, the following:

2.2.1 Offer of money, room, board,
clothing, transportation, or other valuable consideration to a
prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed
legal guardian(s).

2.2.2 Offer of waiver/reduction of tuition or
financial aid if based, even partially, on athletic
considerations.

2.2.3 Preference in job assignments or offer
of compensation for work performed in excess of what is
customarily paid for such services.

2.2.4 Offer of special privileges not
accorded to other students.

2.2.5 Offer of financial assistance including
free or reduced rent, payment of moving expenses, etc., to
induce a prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or court
appointed legal guardian(s) to change residence.

2.3 A school employee or Board approved
volunteer may not initiate contact or request that a booster
club member, alumnus, or player initiate contact with a
student enrolled in another school or his/her parent(s) or
court appointed legal guardian(s) in order to persuade the
student to enroll in a particular school for athletic purposes.
Illegal contact shall include, but not be limited to, letters,
questionnaires or brochures, telephone calls, and home visits
or personal contact at athletic contests.

2.3.1 If a coach or athletic director is
contacted by a prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or
court appointed legal guardian(s), the former must refer the
individual(s) to the principal or school personnel responsible
for admissions.

2.3.2 A school employee or Board
approved volunteer may discuss the athletic program with a
prospective student or his/her parent(s) or court appointed
legal guardian(s) during an open house or approved visit
initiated by the parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s).

2.3.2.1 A school employee or Board
approved volunteer may provide information concerning

sports offered, facilities, conference affiliation, and general
athletic policies.  However, he/she is not permitted to state or
imply in any way that his/her athletic program is superior to
that of another school or that it would be more beneficial or
advantageous for the prospective student to participate in
athletics at his/her school.

2.4 If the number of applicants under the
Delaware School Choice Program exceeds the number of
available student openings, the selection criteria established
by the district shall not include athletic considerations.

3.0 Non-school Competition
3.1 A student may participate on a non-school

team or in a non-school individual event both during and out
of the designated sport season.  However, the student owes
his/her primary loyalty and allegiance to the school team of
which he/she is a member.  A school shall have the authority
to require attendance at practices and contests and students
not in compliance shall be subject to disciplinary action as
determined by the school.

3.2 Participation on a non-school team or in a non-
school individual event shall be subject to the following
conditions:

3.2.1 With the exception of organized
intramurals, the student may not wear school uniforms or use
school equipment.

3.2.2 The school may not provide
transportation.

3.2.3 The school may not pay entry fees or
provide any form of financial assistance.

3.2.4 The school coach may not require his/
her athletes to participate in non-school competition or
provide instruction to his/her athletes in non-school
competition.

3.3 14 Del. C., � 122 (15) requires written parental
permission prior to participation on a similar team during the
designated sport season.  Written authorization must be on
file in the student's school prior to engaging in a tryout,
practice, or contest with a similar team.  Consent forms shall
be available in all member schools.

3.3.1 Similar teams shall include organized
intramural teams as well as non-school teams in that sport.

4.0 Passing Work
4.1 In order to be eligible for participation in

interscholastic athletics, including practices, a student must
pursue a regular course of study or its equivalent as approved
by the local governing body, and must be passing at least
four (4) credits.  Two (2) of those credits must be in the
separate areas of English, Mathematics, Science, or Social
Studies.

4.1.1 A student who is receiving special
education services and is precluded from meeting the
aforementioned academic requirements due to modifications
in the grading procedure or course of study, shall be
adjudged eligible by the principal if he/she is making
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satisfactory progress in accordance with the requirements of
his/her individualized education plan (IEP).

4.2 A student whose work in any regular marking
period does not meet the above standards shall be ineligible
to participate in interscholastic athletics, including practices,
for the next marking period.

4.2.1 In the case of a conflict between the
marking period grade and the final grade, the final grade
shall determine eligibility.

4.2.2 The final accumulation of credits shall
determine eligibility for the following school year.  When a
student makes up a failure or earns the required credit(s)
during the summer, he/she shall become eligible.

4.2.2.1 Written verification of the
successful completion of a correspondence course must be
received before a student shall regain his/her eligibility.

4.3 A student forfeits or regains his/her eligibility,
in accordance with the provisions of this rule, on the day
report cards are issued.

4.4 Local school boards and non-public schools
may establish more stringent requirements for academic
eligibility than the minimum standards herein prescribed.

4.5 An ineligible student who practices in violation
of these rules shall, when he/she regains his/her eligibility,
be prohibited from practicing, scrimmaging, or competing
for an equivalent number of days.

5.0 Participation
5.1 No student shall represent a school in athletics

after four (4) consecutive semesters from the date of his/her
first entrance into the seventh grade in schools which restrict
participation in interscholastic athletics to students in grades
7 and 8 unless a waiver is granted for hardship reasons.

5.1.1 No student shall have more than two
(2) opportunities to participate in a fall sport or combination
of fall sports, in a winter sport or combination of winter
sports, or a spring sport or combination of spring sports.

5.1.2 “Hardship” shall be defined as
extenuating circumstances which are beyond the control of
the student or his/her parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s), preclude him/her from completing the academic
requirements for promotion within the normal period of
eligibility; and deprive him/her of all or part of one of his/her
opportunities to participate in a particular sports season.

5.1.2.1 The circumstances must be
unusual, unavoidable, and extraordinary.  A clear and direct
causal relationship must exist between the alleged hardship
condition and the failure of the student to complete the
academic requirements for promotion within the normal
period of eligibility and the loss of all or part of one of his/
her opportunities to participate in a particular sports season.

5.1.2.2 The burden of proof rests with
the student in conjunction with the waiver/appeal process as
described in 1053 DSSAA Waiver Procedure and 1055
DSSAA Appeal Procedure.  Claims of extended illness,

debilitating injury, emotional stress, etc., must be
accompanied by appropriate documentation.  Evidence must
be submitted to verify that the student or his/her parent(s) or
court appointed legal guardian(s) sought assistance to
ameliorate the effects of the hardship condition.

5.2 No student shall represent a school in athletics
after six (6) consecutive semesters from the date of his/her
first entrance into the sixth grade in schools which permit
students in grades 6, 7 and 8 to participate in interscholastic
athletics unless a waiver is granted for hardship reasons as
specified in 5.1.2.

5.2.1 No student shall have more than three
(3) opportunities to participate in a fall sport or combination
of fall sports, in a winter sport or combination of winter
sports, or a spring sport or combination of spring sports.

5.2.2 Participation on the part of a sixth-
grade student shall be at the discretion of the individual
school.

5.2.3 Sixth-grade students shall not be
permitted to participate in football unless the conference
develops a classification system that is approved by the
DSSAA Board of Directors.

5.3 Students below the sixth grade shall not be
permitted to practice, scrimmage, or compete on junior high/
middle school interscholastic teams.

5.4 Participation shall be defined as taking part in a
school sponsored practice, (see 24.3), scrimmage, or contest
on or after the first allowable date for practice in that sport.

6.0 Grades
The junior high/middle school interscholastic athletic
program shall include grades 6 through 8, inclusive.

7.0 Junior High/Middle School and Senior High School
Competition

7.1 No junior high/middle school student who has
completed a season at the junior high/middle school level
shall compete in the same sport at the senior high school
level during the same school year.

7.2 A junior high/middle school student who
participates in a varsity or subvarsity game at the high school
level shall be ineligible to participate at the junior high/
middle school level in the same sport.

8.0 Examinations
8.1 A student shall not be eligible to practice,

scrimmage, or compete in an interscholastic contest unless
he/she has been adequately examined by a licensed
physician (M.D. or D.O.), a certified nurse practitioner, or a
certified physician's assistant on or after June 1 and before
beginning such athletic activity for the current school year.

8.1.1 A certificate to that effect, as well as
the parent's or court appointed legal guardian's consent, shall
be on file with the administrative head of the school prior to
the student participating in a practice, scrimmage, or game.

8.2 For any subsequent sports season in the school
year, a limited reexamination shall be performed under the
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 11, MONDAY, MAY 1, 2000



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1484
following circumstances:
8.2.1 If the athlete has been treated for an

injury during the immediately preceding season.
8.2.2 If the athlete has been out of school

during the preceding term with an illness other than the usual
minor upper respiratory or gastrointestinal upset.

8.2.3 If an operation has been performed on
the athlete during the preceding term.

8.2.4 If the student has a remedial defect.
8.3 The medical history of the student should be

available at the time of each examination.
8.4 A player who is properly certified to participate

in interscholastic athletics but is physically unable to
practice for five (5) consecutive days due to illness or injury,
must present to the administrative head of the school a
statement from a qualified physician that he/she is again
physically able to participate.

9.0 Clarifying Eligibility
9.1 In cases of doubt or disagreement, the

eligibility of a student shall be determined initially by the
Executive Director.  If the Executive Director determines
that the student is ineligible, the school and the student shall
be notified and the student suspended immediately from
participation in interscholastic athletics.

9.2 The school and the student shall be informed
that the decision of the Executive Director may be appealed
to the DSSAA Board of Directors in accordance with the
procedure described in 1055 DSSAA Appeal Procedure.

9.3 Decisions of the DSSAA Board of Directors to
affirm, modify, or reverse the eligibility rulings of the
Executive Director may be appealed to the State Board of
Education in accordance with the procedure described in
1055 DSSAA Appeal Procedure.

10.0 Eligibility Lists
10.1 Member schools shall use eligibility forms

approved by the Executive Director.
10.2 A copy of the original eligibility report

and subsequent addenda must be either received by the
Executive Director or postmarked prior to the first contest
for which the students listed are eligible.  Failure to file an
eligibility report as prescribed shall result in a $15.00 fine
against the school.

10.3 A student not listed on the original
eligibility report or subsequent addenda on file in the
Executive Director's office shall be ineligible.  In the case of
a student who met all DSSAA eligibility requirements but
was omitted from the eligibility report due to administrative
or clerical error, he/she shall be adjudged eligible and the
school assessed a $10.00 fine.

11.0 Contracts Interchanged
11.1 Contracts between DSSAA member

schools or between DSSAA member schools and full
member schools of comparable state associations are
encouraged but not required.

11.1.1 Conference master contracts are
approved substitutes for individual contracts.

11.1.2 In case of a dispute and provided
either a signed individual contract or conference master
contract is in place, appeal may be made to the DSSAA
Board of Directors which, after review of the circumstances,
may assign an appropriate penalty.

11.1.2.1 Without a signed individual
contract or conference master contract, a member school has
no right of appeal to the Executive Director or the DSSAA
Board of Directors.

11.2 Contracts are required between DSSAA
member schools and non-member or associate member
schools of comparable state associations.

11.2.1 A copy of the signed contract must be
either received by the Executive Director or postmarked
prior to the contest for which the agreement was drawn up.
Failure to file a signed contract as prescribed shall result in
the DSSAA member school being assessed a $15.00 fine.

11.2.2 In the case of a dispute, a member
school has no right of appeal to the Executive Director or the
DSSAA Board of Directors unless a signed individual
contract is in place.

11.3 Contracts shall be interchanged
according to the following provisions:

11.3.1 Contracts on the accepted for
shall be arranged by the competing schools for each season's
interscholastic athletic contests.

11.3.2 Contracts shall be drawn up by
the faculty manager or other designated staff member of the
home school of the earlier contest.

11.3.3A signed contract or any part thereof
may not be nullified or modified except by mutual
agreement of both schools involved.

11.4 If a game is not played, it shall be
considered “no contest” unless a signed individual contract
or conference master contract was in place and one of the
participating schools breached the agreement in which case
appeal may be made to the Executive Director or the
DSSAA Board of Directors.

12.0 Spring Football
12.1 No member school shall participate in

spring football games nor shall a member school conduct
football practice of any type outside of the regular fall sports
season.

12.2 "Organized football" or "organized
football practice" shall be defined as any type of sport which
is organized to promote efficiency in any of the various
aspects of football.  Rugby and touch football featuring
blocking, tackling, ball handling, signaling, etc. shall be
considered "organized football" and shall be illegal under the
intent of this rule.

13.0 Licensed Physician
13.1 Provision shall be made for a licensed
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physician, a NATA certified athletic trainer, or a registered
nurse to be present at all interscholastic football games in
which a member school participates.  The host school shall
provide this service.

13.2 Failure by the host school to provide this
service shall result in the school being assessed a $100.00
fine.

14.0 Use of Ineligible Athlete
14.1 The deliberate or inadvertent use of an

ineligible athlete in the sports of soccer, football, volleyball,
field hockey, basketball, baseball, softball, and lacrosse shall
require the offending school to forfeit the contest(s) in which
the ineligible athlete participated.

14.1.1 If the infraction occurs during a
tournament, the offending school shall be replaced by its
most recently defeated opponent. Teams eliminated prior to
the most recently defeated opponent shall not be allowed to
reenter the tournament.

14.1.2 Team and/or individual awards shall
be returned to the event sponsor.

14.1.3 Team and/or individual records and
performances shall be nullified.

14.1.4 The offending school may appeal to
the DSSAA Board of Directors for a waiver of the forfeiture
penalty if the ineligible athlete had no tangible affect on the
outcome of the contest(s).  If the forfeiture penalty is waived,
the offending school shall be reprimanded and fined $200.00
unless the athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed legal
guardian(s) knowingly withheld information or provided
false information that caused him/her to be eligible for
interscholastic competition.  The burden of proof, in both
cases, rests entirely with the offending school.

14.1.5 A forfeit shall constitute a loss for the
offending school and a win for its opponent for purposes of
standings.

14.1.6 A forfeit shall be automatic and not
subject to refusal by the offending school's opponent.

14.2 The deliberate or inadvertent use of an
ineligible athlete in the sports of cross country, wrestling,
swimming, track, golf, and tennis shall require the offending
school to forfeit the matches won and/or points earned by the
ineligible athlete or by a relay team of which he/she was a
member.  The points contributed by an ineligible athlete to
his/her team score shall be deleted.

14.2.1 If the infraction occurs during a
tournament, the ineligible athlete shall be replaced by his/her
most recently defeated opponent or next highest finisher.
Contestants eliminated prior to the most recently defeated
opponent shall not be allowed to reenter the tournament.

14.2.2 Individual awards earned by the
ineligible athlete and team awards, if necessary because of
adjustments in the standings, shall be returned to the event
sponsor.

14.2.3 Individual records and performances

by the ineligible athlete shall be nullified.
14.3 If an ineligible athlete participates in

interscholastic competition contrary to DSSAA rules but in
accordance with a temporary restraining order or injunction
against his/her school and/or DSSAA, and the injunction is
subsequently vacated, stayed, or reversed, or the courts
determine that injunctive relief is not or was not justified, or
the injunction expires without further judicial determination,
the penalties stipulated in 14.1 and 14.2 above shall be
imposed.

14.4 The intentional use of an ineligible athlete
by a member school or repeated indifference to its
responsibility to determine the eligibility of its athletes will
subject the school to additional penalties which may include
suspension for up to 180 school days from the date the
charge is substantiated.

14.5 If a coach knowingly withholds
information or provides false information that causes an
athlete to be eligible for interscholastic competition, the
coach shall be suspended from coaching in any sport at any
DSSAA member school for up to 180 school days from the
date the charge is substantiated.

14.6 If an athlete or his/her parent(s) or court
appointed legal guardian(s) knowingly withholds
information or provides false information that causes him/
her to be eligible for interscholastic competition, the athlete
shall be suspended from participation in any sport at any
DSSAA member school for up to 180 school days from the
date the charge is substantiated.

15.0 Reporting Violations
15.1 If a school violates a provision of the

DSSAA Constitution and Bylaws, the administrative head or
his/her designee shall notify the Executive Director in
writing of the violation.

15.2 If a school uses an ineligible athlete, the
administrative head or his/her designee shall notify the
opposing school(s) or event sponsor, in the case of a
tournament or meet, and the Executive Director in writing of
the violation and the forfeiture of the appropriate game(s),
match(es), and/or point(s) won.

16.0 Equivalent Rules
16.1 A full member school shall not participate

in a scrimmage or contest with an instate school that is not a
member in good standing of DSSAA unless the opposing
school, as part of a written contract, certifies that its
contestants are eligible under DSSAA rules.

16.2 A full member school shall not participate
in a scrimmage or contest with an associate or non-member
school of another state association unless the opposing
school, as part of a written contract, certifies that its
contestants are eligible under the rules of its home state
association.

16.3 An associate member school shall not
participate in a scrimmage or contest with an in-state school
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that is not a member in good standing of DSSAA unless the
opposing school complies with the conditions specified in
16.1.  However, the opposing school shall be exempt from
those rules which DSSAA has waived for its associate
member school.

16.4 An associate member school shall not
participate in a scrimmage or contest with an associate or
non-member school of another state association unless the
opposing school complies with the conditions specified in
16.2.  However, the opposing school shall be exempt from
those rules which DSSAA has waived for its associate
member school.

16.5 Member schools shall not participate in a
practice, scrimmage, or contest with a non-school sponsored
team.

16.6 Member schools shall not participate in a
practice, scrimmage, or contest with university, college, or
junior college undergraduates.

16.7 This rule shall not apply to games played
against the alumni or faculty of the school when the game is
sponsored by school authorities.

16.8 A school which participates in a game
against an illegal opponent shall be required to forfeit the
contest and be assessed a $100.00 fine.

17.0 Codes
17.1 DSSAA is affiliated with the National

Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS).  The
playing codes, sanctions, and other rules of the NFHS are
adopted except as modified by the DSSAA Board of
Directors.

17.2 The playing rules of the United States
Tennis Association, the United States Golf Association and
the United States Lacrosse Association are adopted for the
sports of tennis, golf and girls’ lacrosse respectively except
as modified by the DSSAA Board of Directors.

18.0 Conferences
18.1 Member schools may establish voluntary

conference organizations according to the following rules:
18.1.1 Any such organization may be

composed of public and non-public schools.
18.1.2 Any conference so formed must

submit its proposed membership and its constitution and
bylaws to the DSSAA Board of Directors and they must be
approved before the schools may enter into any contractual
agreements.

18.1.2.1 All subsequent amendments
to the constitution and bylaws of the conference must be
approved by the DSSAA Board of Directors.

19.0 All-Star Contests
19.1 Junior high/middle school students shall

not participate in an all-star event until they have completed
their high school eligibility in that sport.

20.0 Sponsoring Interscholastic Teams
20.1 Definition of Interscholastic Athletics

20.1.1 Interscholastic competition is defined
as any athletic contest between students representing two (2)
or more schools.  Students are considered to be representing
a school if the school does any of the following:

20.1.1.1 Partially or wholly
subsidizes the activity (providing equipment, uniforms,
transportation, entry fees, etc.).

20.1.1.2 Controls and administers the
funds, regardless of their source, needed to conduct the
activity.

20.1.1.3 Permits the students to
compete under the name of the school.

20.1.1.4 Publicizes or promotes the
activity through announcements, bulletins, or school
sponsored publications.

20.1.1.5 Presents or displays individual/
team awards.

20.1.2 Members of school clubs who
participate in non-competitive, recreational activities or
compete unattached are not considered to be engaged in
interscholastic competition.

20.2 Sponsorship of Teams
20.2.1 Schools may sponsor teams for

interscholastic competition in a sport provided the following
criteria are met:

20.2.1.1 The governing body of the
participating district or non-public school approves
participation in the sport.  The administrative head of the
school shall notify the Executive Director in writing of the
school’s intent to sponsor a team in a new sport.

20.2.1.2 The governing bodies of the
participating district or non-public school controls the funds
needed to support the proposed team, regardless of their
source, in the same manner as existing teams (coaches'
salaries, purchase and repair of equipment, medical
supervision, transportation, preparation and maintenance of
practice and game facilities, awards, etc.).  Requests fro
outside sources to make financial contributions or to donate
equipment or services must be submitted in writing and must
include an acknowledgement that the equipment becomes
the property of the school.  The contribution or donation
must be approved in writing by  the administrative head of
the school.

20.2.1.3 The participating schools
agree to comply with all applicable DSSAA rules and
regulations as stated in the current DSSAA Official
Handbook.

20.3 Levels of Participation
20.3.1 Level 1 or developmental sport - less

than seven (7) participating schools.
20.3.1.1 All DSSAA rules and

regulations shall be in effect except 22.0, 23.0, and 29.0.
20.3.1.2 Schools shall not be

permitted to scrimmage or compete against a non-school
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sponsored team.
20.3.2 Level 2 or recognized sport -

seven (7) or more participating schools.
20.3.2.1 At the time of official

recognition, DSSAA shall provide rules publications to the
participating schools, designate an approved officials'
association, conduct an annual or biannual rules clinic for
coaches and officials, and establish a maximum game
schedule.

20.3.2.2 All DSSAA rules and
regulations shall be in effect.

20.3.3 Withdrawal of level 2 status
20.3.3.1 If, for two (2) consecutive

years, less than the required number of schools participate in
a sport, DSSAA may withdraw official recognition for a
period of time as determined by the Board of Directors.

21.0 Certified Coaches
21.1 Only those professional employees

certified by the Department of Education and whose salary is
paid by the State and/or local Board of Education, or in the
case of charter and non-public schools by a similar
governing body, if acceptable as a coach by the governing
body, shall coach, assist in coaching, or direct member
school teams in any district.

21.1.1 The terms of employment must be for
the regular school year and the professional assignment shall
be no less than 1/2 of the school day, exclusive of coaching
duties.

21.1.2 All head coaches shall be required to
attend the DSSAA rules clinic for their sport or pass an open
book rules examination supplied by the DSSAA office.

21.2 Emergency coaches
21.2.1 An emergency coach shall be defined

as an individual who is either not certified by the Department
of Education, or is certified by the Department of Education
but is not employed for the school year or whose
professional assignment is less than 1/2 of the school day.

21.2.2 An individual who meets the
requirements of a certified coach as specified in 21.1, but
whose professional assignment is located in a different
school or district than his/her coaching assignment shall not
be considered an emergency coach by DSSAA.

21.2.3 Member schools shall be required to
annually reopen all positions that are held by emergency
coaches.

21.2.4 Emergency coaches may be employed
provided the local governing body adheres to the following
procedures:

21.2.4.1 The employing Board of
Education must attempt to locate an acceptable, certified
professional staff member by advertising the coaching
vacancy in the district for as many days as are required by
the district's collective bargaining agreement.

21.2.4.2 If an acceptable, certified

professional staff member is not available, an individual who
is acceptable to the employing Board of Education may be
hired as an emergency coach.

21.2.4.3 Any individual employed as
a coach under the emergency provision must comply with
the following regulations:

21.2.4.3.1 He/she must be
officially appointed by the local Board of Education.  The
superintendent or his/her designee may temporarily appoint
an individual if a coaching vacancy arises and the sport
season begins during the interim between meetings of the
local Board of Education.

21.2.4.3.2 His/her coaching salary
must be paid exclusively by the local Board of Education.

21.3 Students who are practice teaching in a
member school shall be permitted to assist in all professional
activities during their practice teaching period.

21.4 In addition to the members of the
school's regular coaching staff, who must come from 21.1
through 21.3, the local governing body may supplement a
school's coaching staff with volunteer coaches. Volunteer
coaches are individuals who donate their services to a school
and who have been approved by that school's local
governing body.  A current list of approved volunteer
coaches shall be on file in the school's administrative office
before any coaching duties are assumed.

21.5 All head coaches shall be required to
attend the DSSAA rules clinic for their sport or, if
applicable, pass an open book rules examination supplied by
the DSSAA office.

21.5.1 A school shall be assessed a $50.00
fine and the head coach shall be placed on probation if he/
she fails to attend the DSSAA rules clinic or pass the open
book rules examination in his/her sport.  Failure to comply
for a second consecutive year shall result in the school being
assessed a $50.00 fine and the coach being suspended for up
to five contests as determined by the Executive Director

21.6 Beginning with the 2000-01 school year,
all head coaches shall be required to hold a current
certification in adult CPR.

21.6.1 Beginning with the 2001-02 school
year, all assistant coaches shall be required to hold a current
certification in adult CPR.

22.0 Sports Seasons and Practice
22.1 The fall sports season shall begin on

August 25 and end not later than December 1.
22.2 The winter sports season shall begin 21

days before the first Friday in December and end not later
than March 1.

22.3 The spring sports season shall begin on
March 1 and end not later than the last school day.

22.4 Practice for any fall sport shall not begin
earlier than August 25.  Practice for any winter sport shall
not begin earlier than 21 days before the first Friday in
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 11, MONDAY, MAY 1, 2000



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1488
December and practice for any spring sport shall not begin
earlier than March 1.

22.4.1 The first three (3) days of football
practice shall be primarily for the purpose of physical
conditioning and shall be restricted to non-contact activities.
Coaches may introduce offensive formations and defensive
alignments, run play �on air,� practice non-contact phases of
the kicking game, and teach non-contact positional skills.
Protective equipment shall be restricted to helmets,
mouthguards, and shoes.  The use of dummies, hand shields,
and sleds in contact drills is prohibited.  Blocking, tackling,
and block protection drills which involve any contact
between players are also prohibited.

22.5 A school which participates in a game
prior to the first allowable date or after the start of the state
championship shall be required to forfeit the contest and be
assessed a $100.00 fine.

22.6 A school which conducts practice prior to
the first allowable date shall be assessed a fine of $100.00
per illegal practice day.

22.7 A certified, emergency, or volunteer coach
shall not be allowed to provide instruction out of the
designated season in his/her assigned sport to returning
members of the teams of the school at which he/she coaches.

22.7.1 A coach shall not be allowed to
participate on a team in his/her assigned sport with the
aforementioned players.

22.7.2 A coach shall also be prohibited from
officiating contests in his/her assigned sport if the
aforementioned players are participating except in organized

league competition.
22.7.2.1 The league shall not be

organized and conducted by the employing school, the
employing school’s booster club, or the employing school’s
coaching staff.

22.7.2.2 The league shall have written
rules and regulations that govern the conduct of contests and
establish the duties of contest officials.

22.7.2.3 The league shall have
registration/entry procedures, forms, and fees; eligibility
requirements; and fixed team rosters, team standings, and a
master schedule of contests.

22.8 A certified, emergency, or volunteer coach
shall not be allowed to provide instruction during the
designated season in his/her assigned sport to current
members of the teams of the school at which he/she coaches
outside of school sponsored practices, scrimmages, and
contests.

22.9 A coach who is determined to be in
violation of 22.7 and 22.8 shall be suspended from coaching
in the specified sport at any DSSAA member school for up
to 180 school days.

23.0 Maximum Game Schedules and Designated
Sport Season

23.1 The maximum number of regularly
scheduled interscholastic contests/competition dates for each
team and individual in the recognized sports and their
designated season shall be as follows:
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Sport Team Limitations Individual Limitations
Season Week Week Day

Fall
Cross Country (boys and girls 12 competition dates +2 competition dates +2 competition date
Field Hockey (girls) 12 contests 2 contests 2 competition dates  2 halves
Football (boys)   8 contests 1 contest 4 quarters
Soccer (boys) 12 contests 2 contests 2 competition dates  2 halves
Volleyball (girls) 12 competition dates 2 competition dates 2 competition dates

of which 1 date may
involve more than
2 teams

Winter
Basketball (boys and girls) 14 contests 2 contests 2 competition dates 4 quarters
Wrestling (boys) *10 contests 2 competition dates 2 competition dates5 matches
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     Spring
Baseball (boys) 12 contests 2 contests 2 contests
Softball (girls) 12 contests 2 contests 2 contests
Tennis (boys and girls) 12 contests 2 contests 2 contests
Outdoor Track (boys and girls)  10 competition dates +2 competition dates +2 competition dates
Soccer (girls) 12 contests 2 contests 2 competition dates 2 halves

+ A team may not participate in two different cross country or outdoor track meets on the same day.
*Participation in a triangular meet shall count as two contests and participation in a quadrangular meet shall count as three
contests toward the seasonal limitation.

Participation in any part of a quarter/half shall count as a quarter/half toward the weekly and daily limitations in that sport.
However, in the case of football, participation on a free kick or a play from a scrimmage kick formation shall not count as a
quarter.  Overtime periods shall be considered as part of the fourth quarter or second hall.
23.2 The preceding game limitations, with the
exception of the individual daily limitation, shall not prohibit
the rescheduling of postponed games at the discretion and
convenience of the member schools involved provided the
game was postponed due to inclement weather, unplayable
field conditions, failure of the assigned officials to appear for
the game, breakdown of the bus or van carrying the visiting
team, or any other circumstances beyond the control of site
management which preclude playing the game.  However, a
team may not participate in more than three (3) contests/
competition dates in a week.

23.3 A school which participates in more than
the allowable number of contests in a season shall be fined
$200.00.

23.4 A school which exceeds the weekly
contest limitation shall be required to forfeit the contest and
be assessed a $100.00 fine.

23.5 A student who exceeds the weekly or daily
contest limitation shall be considered an ineligible athlete
and the school subject to the penalties stipulated in 14.0.

24.0 Practice Sessions
24.1 Member schools shall conduct a minimum

of three (3) weeks of practice under the supervision of the
school's coaching staff prior to the first scheduled contest in
all sports.

24.1.1 The intent of this regulation is for
each school to conduct regular daily practice during the
aforementioned 21-day period, provided weather conditions
and other safety related factors permit, without being
required to practice on holidays and weekends.  Practicing
on holidays and weekends shall be left to the discretion of
the individual schools and conferences.

24.2 A student shall be required to practice for
a period of at least seven (7) calendar days prior to
participating in a contest.  However, if a student has been
participating in a state tournament during the preceding
sports season and is unable to begin practicing at least seven
(7) calendar days before his/her team's first contest, he/she
shall be exempt from this requirement.

24.3 A practice session shall be defined as any
instructional or conditioning activity on the field, court, mat,
or track or in the pool, weight room, or classroom such as
team meetings, film reviews, blackboard sessions, warmup
and cool down exercises, drills, and mandatory strength
training.

24.3.1 All activities shall be under the
supervision of a certified, emergency, or approved volunteer
coach.

24.4 Practice sessions shall be limited to two
(2) hours on official school days.

24.4.1 Split sessions may be conducted, but
practice time shall not exceed two (2) hours for any
individual athlete.

24.4.2 The two-hour practice limitation does
not include time for non-instructional activities such as
dressing, showering, transportation, or training room care.

24.5 A school which deliberately exceeds the
two-hour practice limitation shall be assessed a $100.00 fine.

25.0 Awards
25.1 A member school and/or support group

affiliated with a member school, such as an alumni
association or booster club, shall be allowed to present
recognition awards for team and/or individual
accomplishments.

25.1.1 The awards, including artwork and
lettering, shall require the approval of the administrative
head of the school and their value shall be mostly symbolic.

25.1.2 Permissible awards include trophies,
plaques, medals, letters, certificates, photographs, and
similar items.  Jackets, sweaters, shirts, watches, rings,
charms and similar items if properly inscribed (reference to
the team or individual accomplishment) are also acceptable.

25.1.3 Member schools and such support
groups shall also be permitted to sponsor team banquets.

25.2 A non-profit group such as a coaches
association, booster club not affiliated with a member
school, or community service organization shall be allowed
to present recognition awards for team and/or individual
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accomplishments with the approval of the administrative
head of the school.

25.2.1 The awards shall have symbolic value
only.  Awards that have utilitarian value are prohibited.

25.2.2 Non-profit groups shall also be
permitted to sponsor team banquets.

25.2.3 Tournament sponsors shall be allowed
to present the members of participating teams with a
complimentary item(s) in accordance with 1.5.1.5.

25.3 Commercial organizations shall be
allowed to present recognition awards for team and/or
individual accomplishments with the approval of the
administrative head of the school.

25.3.1 The awards shall have symbolic value
only.  Awards with utilitarian value are prohibited.  The
value of the award shall not exceed $50.00.

25.4 Non-symbolic competition awards,
regardless of sponsor, shall have a utilitarian value not to
exceed $50.00 per recipient and shall require the prior
approval of the Executive Director.

26.0Boxing
Member schools shall not participate in

interscholastic boxing.
27.0 Protests and Complaints

All protests and complaints brought before DSSAA
shall be in writing and shall be acted on only after the
administrative head of the school involved has been given an
opportunity to appear before the Board of Directors.

28.0 Wrestling Weight Control Code
28.1 Each year, four (4) weeks from the first

day he/she appears at practice, a wrestler must establish his/
her minimum weight class at a weigh-in witnessed by and
attested to in writing by the athletic director or a designated
staff member (excluding coaches) of the school the wrestler
attends.  Thereafter, a wrestler may not compete in a weight
class below his duly established weight class.

28.2 The weight classifications shall be as
follows:

76 lbs. 100 lbs. 124 lbs. 148 lbs.
82 lbs. 106 lbs. 130 lbs. 155 lbs.
88 lbs. 112 lbs. 136 lbs. 165 lbs.
94 lbs. 118 lbs. 142 lbs. 250 lbs.

(minimum
weight 164
lbs.)

28.3 With the exception of the above weight
classifications, the current edition of the NFHS Wrestling
Rules Book shall apply.

28.4 By the end of four (4) weeks of practice, a
certified team roster listing the established minimum weight
class of each wrestler shall be sent to the Executive Director
of DSSAA.  Further, duly attested notices of additions to the
certified roster shall be sent to the Executive Director
without delay

28.5 Schools which desire to conduct their
wrestling program at a time other than the season specified
in 23.1 must request permission from the Executive Director.

28.5.1 A team which begins its season in
October shall receive a one-pound growth allowance in
November and an additional pound in December.  A tea
which begins its season in November shall receive a one-
pound growth allowance in December, an additional pound
in January, and a third pound in February.

28.6 Violation of this code on the part of any
coach shall be considered evidence of  unethical conduct as
shall other attempts to circumvent its intent which is to
prevent harmful weight reduction.

29.0 Use of Officials
29.1 Member schools and tournament sponsors

shall be required to use officials approved by DSSAA for
interscholastic contests.

29.1.1 In the case of emergencies such as an
act of God, refusal by an association to work games, or a
shortage of qualified officials, schools which desire to use
other than approved officials must obtain permission fro
the Executive Director

29.2 Officials shall be required each year to
attend the DSSAA rules interpretation clinic and pass the
rules examination provided by the DSSAA office for the
sport(s) they officiate.

29.2.1 Failure on the part of an official to
attend the DSSAA rules interpretation clinic and pass the
rules examination shall cause the official to be placed on
probation and to lose his/her eligibility to officiate in a state
tournament contest until both requirements have been
satisfied in the same season.

29.2.2 Failure to fulfill this obligation within
one (1) year shall cause the official to lose varsity officiating
status.  Failure to fulfill this obligation in subsequent years
shall cause the official to continue to be restricted to
subvarsity contests until both requirements have been
satisfied in the same season.

29.2.3 Attending the fall soccer rules
interpretation clinic shall satisfy the clinic attendance
requirement for both the boys’ and girls’ soccer seasons.
Attending the spring soccer rules interpretation clinic shall
satisfy the clinic attendance requirement for only the girls’
soccer season.

29.2.4 If, for a legitimate reason which is
documented by the president of his/her association, an
official is unable to attend the DSSAA rules interpretation
clinic, he/she may attend a clinic conducted by another
NFHS member state association provided the following
procedures are observed:

29.2.4.1 No later than the day of the
DSSAA rules interpretation clinic, the president of the
association notifies the Executive Director, in writing, of the
official's inability to attend the clinic.
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29.2.4.2 The out-of-state clinic is
conducted by an individual either trained by the NFHS or
designated as a clinician by the state's athletic association.

29.2.4.3 The official arranges for a
letter to be sent to the Executive Director from the state's
athletic association office verifying his/her attendance at the
clinic.

29.3 Use of non-approved officials without
permission from the Executive Director shall result in the
school or tournament sponsor being assessed a $50.00 fine.

30.0 Summer Camp and Clinic Sponsorship
30.1 DSSAA does not restrict a student’s

decision to attend a summer athletic camp.  However,
schools, school organizations, coaches, or school related
groups, such as booster clubs, may not sponsor an athletic
camp which limits membership to their own district, locale,
or teams.  Coaches employed by a summer athletic camp
may not instruct their own athletes.

30.2 School related groups, such as booster
clubs, which desire to sponsor the attendance of their
school's enrolled students at summer athletic camps, may do
so with the approval of the local school board or governing
body.  The disbursement of funds to pay for camp related
expenses (fees, travel costs, etc.) shall be administered by
the principal or his/her designee and the funds shall be
allocated according to the following guidelines:

30.2.1 All students and team members shall
be notified of the available sponsorship by announcement,
publication, etc.

30.2.2All applicants shall share equally in the
funds provided.

30.2.3 All applicants shall be academically
eligible to participate in interscholastic athletics.

30.2.4 All applicants shall have one year of
prior participation in the sport for which the camp is
intended or, absent any prior participation, he/she shall be
judged by the coach to benefit substantially from
participation in the camp.

31.0 Sanctions – School Team Competition
31.1 Member schools may participate in

tournaments/meets involving four (4) or more schools only if
the event has been sanctioned by DSSAA and, if applicable,
by the NFHS.  Tournaments/meets shall be sanctioned in
accordance with the following criteria:

31.1.1 The event shall not be for determining
a regional or national champion.

31.1.2 The event shall be organized,
promoted, and conducted by and all profits go to a nonprofit
organization.  Involvement by a commercial organization
shall be limited to providing financial support.

31.1.3 Nonsymbolic competition awards
shall have a value of not more than $50.00 per recipient and
shall require the prior approval of the Executive Director.

31.1.4 Non-school event organizers shall

submit a full financial report to the DSSAA office within
ninety (90) calendar days of the completion of the event.

31.1.5 The event organizer shall submit a list
of out-of-state schools which have been invited to participate
and such schools shall be subject to approval by the
Executive Director.

31.1.6 Out-of-state schools which are not
members of their state athletic association shall verify in
writing that their participating athletes are in compliance
with their state athletic association’s eligibility rules and
regulations.

31.1.7 The event organizer shall not accept
financial support or sell advertising to companies involved in
the production or distribution of alcohol and tobacco
products.

31.1.8 The event organizer shall comply with
all applicable NFHS sanctioning requirements.

31.2 Participation in a non-sanctioned event
shall result in the offending school being assessed a $25.00
fine.  A second offense shall result in a $50.00 fine and loss
of eligibility to participate in sanctioned events for the
remainder of the sport season.  A third offense shall result in
a $100.00 fine and loss of eligibility to participate in
sanctioned events for the remainder of the school year.

32.0 Coed Teams
32.1 If a school sponsors a boys' team and a

girls' team in a particular sport, boys shall participate on the
boys' team and girls shall participate on the girls' team even
if the teams compete during different seasons.

32.1.1 A student shall participate in a
particular sport for only one season during each academic
year.

32.2 If a school sponsors only a boys' team in a
particular sport, girls shall be permitted to participate on the
boys' team.

32.3 If a school sponsors only a girls' team in a
particular sport, boys shall not be permitted to participate on
the girls' team.

33.0 Non-School Instructional Camps and Clinics
33.1 A student may participate in a commercial

camp or clinic, including private lessons, both during and out
of the designated sport season provided the following
conditions are observed:

33.1.1 The student must participate
unattached and may not wear school uniforms or use school
equipment.

33.1.2 The school may not provide
transportation or pay fees.

33.1.3 The school coach may not require his/
her athletes to participate in a camp or clinic or provide
instruction to his/her returning athletes in a camp or clinic.

34.0 Open Gym Programs
34.1 A member school may open its

gymnasium or other facility for informal, recreational
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activities in accordance with the following provisions:
34.1.1 The open gym must be available to all

interested students, must not be restricted to members of a
particular team, and must be publicized as such.

34.1.2 Student participation must be
voluntary and the open gym must not be a prerequisite for
trying out for a particular team.

34.1.3 The activities must be unstructured
and student-generated.  Organized drills in the skills or
techniques of a particular sport are prohibited.  Organized
competition with fixed team rosters is also prohibited.

34.1.3.1 A coach may not
predetermine that the open gym will include only his/her
sport and publicize the open gym as being restricted to that
sport.  It is the responsibility of the adult supervisor to permit
as many different activities as the facility can effectively and
safely accommodate.

34.1.4 A coach may open the facility and
distribute playing equipment but may not instruct, officiate,
participate, organize the activities, or choose teams in his/
her assigned sport.

34.1.5 Playing equipment is restricted to that
which is customarily used in a contest in a particular sport.
Playing equipment which is only used in a practice session is
prohibited.

34.1.6 The participants must provide their
own workout clothing.

35.0 Conditioning Program
35.1 A member school may conduct a

conditioning program in accordance with the following
provisions:

35.1.1 The conditioning program must be
available to all interested students, must not be restricted to
members of a particular team, and must be publicized as
such.

35.1.2 Student participation must be
voluntary.  The conditioning program must not be a
prerequisite for trying out for a particular team.

35.1.3 Permissible activities include
stretching, lifting weights, jumping rope, running,
calisthenics, aerobics, and similar generic conditioning
activities.  Organized drills in the skills or techniques of a
particular sport are prohibited.

35.1.4 A coach may not provide instruction
in sport specific skills or techniques.

35.1.5 Sport specific equipment is
prohibited.

35.1.6 The participants must provide their
own workout clothing.

36.0 Additional Penalties
Additional penalties may be imposed by the

Executive Director or the DSSAA Board of Directors for
repeat offenses or as deemed necessary to ensure the proper
conduct of interscholastic competition.

1053.  DSSAA Waiver Procedure
1.0 A waiver request shall be submitted on the

appropriate form by the principal or headmaster of the
school involved and a copy forwarded to the chief school
officer.

1.1 The waiver request form must be received by
the Executive Director at least twenty-one (21) calendar days
before the next regularly scheduled meeting of the DSSAA
Board of Directors in order to be placed on the agenda for
that meeting.

1054.  DSSAA Investigative Procedure
1.0 The following investigative procedure shall be

followed when the DSSAA office receives information
indicating that an incident has occurred which is not in the
best interests of the interscholastic athletic programs of the
member schools of DSSAA.

1.1 The administrative head of the member school
involved shall be notified by telephone and confirmed by
letter of the pending investigation (copy to be forwarded to
the chief school officer).  The notification shall contain an
explanation of the nature of the investigation and identify the
person(s) conducting the investigation.

1.2 Permission shall be obtained from the
administrative head of the member school to interview
students and/or staff members.

1.3 Each person interviewed shall be informed of
the nature of the investigation.

1.4 Upon completion of the investigation, a written
statement of charges shall be presented to the administrative
head of the charged school (copy to be forwarded to the chief
school officer).

1.5 When immediate punitive action by the
Executive Director is necessary, as authorized under Article
IV, Section 8, of the DSSAA Constitution, the action taken
shall be stated in writing and shall be accompanied by a copy
of 1055 DSSAA Appeal Procedure.

1.6 When charges are to be presented to the
DSSAA Board of Directors, the charged school shall be
advised of the meeting date, time, and location and shall be
provided with an opportunity to respond to the charges.

1055.  DSSAA Appeal Procedure
1.0 Decisions of the Executive Director, with the

exception of those to uphold or rescind the suspension
resulting from a game ejection, may be appealed to the
DSSAA Board of Directors.  Member schools may appeal
decisions of the DSSAA Board of Directors to the State
Board of Education.

1.1 Initiation of Appeal
1.1.2 Whenever a right of appeal of a

decision to the DSSAA Board of Directors is provided, an
aggrieved person (appellant) who is under the regulatory
authority of DSSAA and who has, in fact, suffered a direct
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injury due to the decision, shall begin the appeal procedure
by serving a Notice of Appeal, setting forth the grounds for
the appeal, upon the Executive Director.  Said Notice of
Appeal shall be served by certified mail within thirty (30)
calendar days after written notice to the appellant of the
decision from which he or she has the right of appeal de
novo.

1.2 The Executive Director shall docket any appeal
received for hearing before the Board of Directors at a
regularly scheduled meeting or special meeting of the Board,
which shall be no later than thirty (30) calendar days after
the receipt of the notice of appeal.

2.0 DSSAA Hearing Procedure
2.1 Decisions of the Executive Director may be

appealed de novo to the DSSAA Board of Directors.  The
Board of Directors has been designated by the Secretary of
Education to conduct fact finding hearings or conferences in
matters regarding interscholastic athletics.  The Board of
Directors shall prepare proposed action.  If no exceptions,
comments, arguments, or appeals respecting a proposed
order are submitted in writing to the State Board of
Education within thirty (30) calendar days of the date of the
proposed order, it shall become final.

2.2 The procedures listed below shall be followed
for hearings or fact finding conferences before the DSSAA
Board of Directors.

2.2.1 The Chairperson or his/her designated
representative shall be the hearing officer.

2.2.2 The hearing officer shall conduct the
hearing and make rulings on the admissibility of evidence.

2.2.3 All parties to the appeal may be
represented by counsel.

2.2.4 The Executive Director shall note in
the minutes of the meeting the names of the parties
appearing and their counsel if they are represented.

2.2.5 The DSSAA Board of Directors may
continue, adjourn, or postpone a hearing for good cause on
motion of a party or upon its own motion.

2.2.6 Any party may request the presence of
a stenographic reporter on notice to the Executive Director at
least seven (7) days prior to the hearing date.  Such party
shall be liable for the costs of said reporter.

2.2.7 Method of proceeding
2.2.7.1 The parties to the hearing may

rest upon their statements, affidavits, and briefs.
2.2.7.2 The parties may elect to argue

before the Board of Directors the issues raised in their
statements by notice to the Executive Director in writing at
least five (5) days prior to the hearing date.

2.2.7.3 The parties may elect to
supplement their statements, affidavits, and briefs by the
testimony of witnesses but such election shall be in writing,
shall specify the names of witnesses to be called and the
approximate amount of time necessary for said testimony,

and shall be served upon the Executive Director at least three
(3) days prior to the hearing date.

2.2.8 All evidence is admissible which is
relevant, material, reliable, and probative but which is not
unduly repetitious or cumulative.

2.2.9 Objections to the admission of
evidence shall be brief and shall state the grounds for such
objections.  Objections with regard to the form of question
will not be considered.

2.2.10 Any person who testifies as a witness
shall be subject to cross examination by the parties in an
order as determined by the hearing officer.

2.2.11 Any witness is subject to examination
by members of the Board of Directors.

2.2.12 Any documents to be introduced into
evidence shall be marked by the Executive Director and shall
be made part of the record of the hearing.

2.2.13 The order of presentation, when a
hearing is requested, shall be as follows:

2.2.13.1 The appellant may offer a
statement and/or testimony in his/her behalf.

2.2.13.2 The appellee may offer a
rebuttal argument and/or testimony in his/her behalf.

2.2.13.3 The appellant shall then have
an opportunity for rebuttal.

3.0 Procedures for Exceptions to the State Board of
Education

3.1 Notice of exceptions, comments, arguments, or
appeals to the State Board of Education respecting any
proposed order of the DSSAA Board of Directors shall be
filed with the Secretary of Education no later than thirty (30)
calendar days after the date of the proposed order.  Any
proposed order shall otherwise be final.  All appeals to the
State Board of Education shall be on the basis of the record.
(See regulations for the conduct of hearings before the State
Board of Education pursuant to 14 Delaware Code �1058)

1056.  Recognition of Officials’ Association
1.0 An official�s association which desires to officiate

middle school and/or high school contests shall request
recognition and approval from DSSAA in accordance with
the procedure described below.

1.1 Submit the following documents to the
DSSAA Officials' Committee:

1.1.1 A letter of request indicating the
association's willingness to abide by  DSSAA rules and
regulations.

1.1.2 A brief history of the association.
1.1.3 A copy of the association's

constitution and bylaws including a statement that it does not
discriminate on the basis of age, gender, race, religion, etc.

1.1.4 A description of the association's
evaluation and rating system.

1.1.5 A description of the association's
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recruiting and training programs for new members.
1.1.6 A membership roster indicating the

number of years of experience at the subvarsity, varsity, and
state tournament levels for each member and also his/her
most recent rating in a previous association.

1.1.7 If applicable, letters of
recommendation or names of references from leagues which
the association has serviced during the past year.

1.2 The Officials' Committee shall review the
aforementioned documents and, if necessary, meet with the
officers of the association to discuss their petition.

1.3 The Officials' Committee shall reserve the
right to consult with any other interested parties during the
evaluation process.

1.4 The Officials' Committee shall report its
findings to the DSSAA Board of Directors and recommend
that the officials' association be granted recognition, granted
recognition with conditions, or denied recognition.

1.5 The president of the officials' association or
his/her designee shall petition the DSSAA Board of
Directors and the Board shall render a decision.

1.6 If more than one association is approved to
officiate a particular sport, a conference or, in the absence of
a conference affiliation, an individual school shall determine
which association shall provide the officials for its home
contests.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AN
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF MENTAL RETARDATION

Statutory Authority 31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
DMR Eligibility Criteria

In compliance with the State’s Administrative
Procedures Act (APA – Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS)/Division of Mental Retardation is
amending its eligibility. 

Comments, written suggestions, compilations of data,
testimony, briefs or other written materials concerning this
change must be received by mail no later than June 1, 2000,
at the DMR Administrative Office, Jesse Cooper Building,
Federal Street, Dover, DE  19903, attention Susan Morrison
Smith.  Materials filed thereafter will not be considered
except where good cause for lateness is demonstrated.
Copies of all written submissions filed with the Division of
Mental Retardation office will be available for public

inspection in the DMR Administrative Office at the address
given above.  Please call (302) 739-4386, for an appointment
if you wish to review the materials.  Individuals with
disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings, or
review the materials submitted, should contact the Division
to discuss auxiliary aids or services needed to facilitate such
review or participation.  Such contact may be in person, in
writing or by telephone by using the Telecommunications
Relay Service, or otherwise.

REVISION:

“Mental retardation refers to substantial limitations in
present functioning.  It is characterized by significantly
subaverage intellectual functioning, existing concurrently
with related limitations in two or more of the following
applicable adaptive skill areas:  communication, self-care,
home living, social skills, community use, self direction,
health and safety, functional academics, leisure, and work.
Mental retardation manifests before age 18.”

The Division of Mental Retardation provides services to
those individuals whose disability meets all of the following
conditions:

(A)(i) is attributable to mental retardation (1992 AAMR
definition) and/or (ii) Autism (DSM IV) and/or (iii) Prader
Willi (documented medical diagnosis) and/or (iv) brain
injury (individual meets all criteria of the 1992 AAMR
definition including age manifestation) and /or (v) is
attributable to a neurological condition closely related to
mental retardation because such condition results in an
impairment of general intellectual functioning and adaptive
behavior similar to persons with mental retardation and
requires treatment and services similar to those required for
persons with impairments of general intellectual functioning;

(B) is manifested before age 22
(C) is expected to continue indefinitely;
(D) results in substantial functional limitations in 2

or more of the following adaptive skill areas
1) communication;
2) self-care;
3) home living;
4) social skills;
5) community use;
6) self-direction;
7) health and safety
8) functional academics;
9) leisure;
10) work; and

(E) reflects the need for lifelong and individually
planned services.

Intellectual functioning and adaptive behavior is
determined by using established standardized instruments
approved by the Division.
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL

Statutory Authority:  4 Delaware Code,
Section 304 (4 Del.C. 304)

Please take notice, pursuant to 29 Del.C. Ch. 101 and 4
Del.C. Ch. 3, the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control
Commission proposes a new Rule.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rule on
Wednesday, May 31, 2000 at 12:30 p.m. in the Third Floor
Conference Room, Carvel State Office Building, 820 N.
French Street, Wilmington, DE 19801.  The purpose of the
hearing will be to receive public comments on proposed
Rule 77 in order that the Commission may vote to adopt,
amend or reject said Rule at its May 31, 2000 meeting.  The
Commission will receive and consider input in writing from
any person regarding proposed Rule 77.  Written comments
should be submitted to the Commission from May 1, 2000
through May 30, 2000, to Donald J. Bowman, Executive
Secretary of the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control
Commission, at the above address.  For copies of the
proposed Rule, please contact Joanne Episcopo at the above
address or by calling (302) 577-5222.  To make comments at
the public hearing, please contact Donald J. Bowman,
Executive Secretary, at the above address or phone number.

Beverly Bell, Commissioner
Herbert Schaefer, Commissioner
Kenneth Edwards, Commissioner

Attest:

Donald J. Bowman, Sr
Executive Secretary

Rule 77

A Rule Pertaining to the License of Direct Shippers

I. Purpose
For the purpose of fulfilling the requirements set forth

by the General Assembly in Section 1 of 72 Del.Laws, c.
230, to be codified at 4 Del.C. §526 effective June 1, 2000,
this rule is to set forth the applicable license fee for a Direct
Shipper and to establish the procedure for collection and
payment of taxes, and for delivery of orders via a licensed
direct shipper

II. Authority
The Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission

is authorized pursuant to 4 Del.C. §304(a)(1) and (2) to
adopt rules governing the time, place and manner in which

alcoholic beverages are sold and dispensed throughout the
State.

III. Applicability
This rule applies to all persons who are licensed as

direct shippers by the Commission and all licensed
wholesalers, licensed retailers, and Delaware residents who
deliver or receive sparkling wine, still wine, and/or beer
obtained via licensed direct shippers as set forth in 4 Del.C.
§526.

IV. License Fee
The license fee for a direct shipper is $250.00, which is

an amount that reasonably reflects the costs necessary to
defray the expenses of the Commission's service and
activities in connection with 4 Del.C. §526.

V. Taxes
Pursuant to 4 Del.C. §581(e), all persons licensed

pursuant to 4 Del.C. §526 shall pay to the State of Delaware,
Division of Revenue, the tax on such wine and beer sold to
Delaware residents at the rates set forth in 4 Del.C. §581(d).
Collection and payment of such taxes shall be in a manner
consistent with Title 4 of the Delaware Code and the
Commission's Rules and Regulations.

VI. Delivery
Wine and beer ordered through a licensed direct shipper

will be delivered by a Delaware off-premises retail licensee
to a Delaware resident consistent with Title 4 of the
Delaware Code and the Commission's Rules and
Regulations.  In order to receive wine or beer from the retail
licensee, the Delaware resident will present to the retail
licensee a valid Delaware drivers license, with photograph
identification, that indicates the resident is 21 years of age or
older.

VII. Severability
If any part of this rule is held to be unconstitutional or

otherwise contrary to law, then it shall be severed and the
remaining portions shall remain in full force and effect.

VIII. Effective Date
This rule shall be effective June 1, 2000.
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PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, 

Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. 209(a))

IN THE MATTER OF THE SALE, |
RESALE, AND OTHER PROVISIONS|
OF INTRASTATE |  PSC 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS |  REGULATION
SERVICES (OPENED MAY 1, 1984; |  DOCKET NO. 10
REOPENED NOVEMBER 17, 1998 |

|
IN THE MATTER OF THE |
DEVELOPMENT OF REGULATIONS|  PSC
FOR THE FACILITATION OF |  REGULATION
COMPETITIVE ENTRY INTO THE |  DOCKET NO. 45
TELECOMMUNICATIONS LOCAL |
EXCHANGE SERVICE MARKET |
(OPENED NOVEMBER 21, 1995; |
REOPENED NOVEMBER 17, 1998 |

ORDER NO. 5391

AND NOW, to-wit, this 28th day of March, 2000;
WHEREAS, in Public Service Commission ("PSC" or

the "Commission") Order No. 3283 (June 18, 1991) entered
In the Matter of the Sale, Resale and Other Provisions of
Intrastate Telecommunications Services, PSC Regulation
Docket No. 10, the Commission issued its "Rules for the
Provision of Competitive Intrastate Telecommunications
Services" to govern telecommunications carriers offering
intrastate telecommunications services for public use within
the State; and

WHEREAS, by PSC Order No. 4468 (April 8, 1997)
issued In the Matter of the Development of Regulations for
the Facilitation of Competitive Entry into the
Telecommunications Local Exchange Service Market, PSC
Regulation Docket No. 45, the Commission issued "Interim
Rules Governing Competition in the Market for Local
Telecommunications Services" to govern competitive local
exchange telecommunications services within the State; and

WHEREAS, the Commission Staff recommended
amendment of both the Rules for the Provision of
Competitive Intrastate Telecommunications Services (the
"Docket 10 Rules") and the Rules Governing Competition in
the Market for Local Telecommunications Services (the
"Docket 45 Rules") to lessen regulatory burdens on the
telecommunications carriers, as well as the Commission; to
reflect the changing regulatory environment; to harmonize
the provisions of the Docket 10 and 45 Rules; and to
conform, where practicable, the requirements of these rules
with other regulatory provisions; and 

WHEREAS, by PSC Order No. 4949 (Nov. 17, 1998),
the Commission reopened the proceedings captioned In the

Matter of the Sale, Resale and Other Provisions of Intrastate
Telecommunications Services, PSC Regulation Docket No.
10 and In the Matter of the Development of Regulations for
the Facilitation of Competitive Entry into the
Telecommunications Local Exchange Services Market, PSC
Regulation Docket No. 45, to consider amendment of the
Rules promulgated therein, in a single consolidated
proceeding; and 

WHEREAS, the Commission arranged for the
publication of notice of the proceeding and of the text of the
proposed amended Docket 10 and 45 Rules, as well as the
text of Rules in their current form, in the Register of
Regulations as required by 29 Del. C. §§ 1133 and 10115
and also arranged for publication of legal notice of the
proceeding in the The News Journal and Delaware State
News newspapers in accordance with 29 Del. C. § 10115;
and

WHEREAS, the Hearing Examiner, designated by the
Commission, received comments and suggestions for further
or differing proposed revisions to the Rules and also
conducted public hearings on the proposed amendments, at
which participants were given the opportunity to present
evidence and comments, cross-examine witnesses, and make
further arguments; and

WHEREAS, on September 7, 1999, the Hearing
Examiner issued a Report to the Commission recommending
the Commission adopt certain proposed amendments to the
Docket 10 and 45 Rules, which Report and
Recommendations the Commission considered at its October
26, 1999 public meeting; and 

WHEREAS, by PSC Order No. 5277 (Nov. 16, 1999),
the Commission identified specific policies to be
implemented by any revised Rules and remanded the
proceeding to the Hearing Examiner for further
consideration, including the opportunity for further comment
by participants; and

WHEREAS, after receiving further comments and
proposals and conducting a further evidentiary hearing, the
Hearing Examiner issued a second report to the Commission
recommending that the Commission adopt a consolidated set
of Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Service
and proposing the text for such a unitary set of Rules; and

WHEREAS, the Commission thereafter afforded the
participants an opportunity to submit written exceptions to
the Report and Recommendations of the Hearing Examiner;
and

WHEREAS, the Commission considered the Hearing
Examiner’s Report, the Hearing Examiner’s Proposed Rules,
and the exceptions of the participants at its public meeting of
February 28, 2000 and, after deliberations, deemed it
appropriate to propose repeal of the present Docket 10 and
45 Rules in their entirety and adoption of consolidated Rules
for the Provision of Telecommunications Services as have
been proposed by the Hearing Examiner, but with certain
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modifications approved by the Commission; and
WHEREAS, given that Rules for the Provision of

Telecommunications Services, as now being proposed,
differ, in substantive nature, from the proposed revisions
previously published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations, the Commission believes it necessary, in light
of 29 Del. C. § 10118(c), to reinitiate the procedures for
amendment of agency regulations as set forth in §§ 10113-
10119 and to withdraw the previously proposed revisions;

Now, therefore, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

1. That the Commission proposes to amend its rules
and regulations by: (a) repealing, in their entirety, the
"Interim Rules Governing Competition in the Market for
Local Telecommunications Services," adopted in PSC Order
No. 4468 (April 8, 1997); (b) repealing in their entirety, the
"Rules for the Provision of Competitive Intrastate
Telecommunications Services," as adopted in PSC Order No.
3283 (Jun e18, 1991); and (c) adopting Rules for the
Provision of Telecommunications Service as set forth in
Attachment 3 to Exhibit "A" of this Order.

2. That the Commission withdraws the proposed
revisions adopted in PSC Order No. 4949 (Nov. 17, 1998) in
light of the action proposed in paragraph one above.

3. That the Commission seeks public comment and
input concerning its proposal to repeal the present Docket 10
and 45 Rules and to adopt the proposed Rules for the
Provision of Telecommunications Services and, for this
purpose, to comply with the requirements of 2 Del. C.
§§ 1133 and 10115, the Commission hereby issues the
Notices of Proposed Repeal and Adoption of Rules for the
Provision of Telecommunications Services attached hereto
as Exhibits "A" and "B" for publication, respectively, in the
Register of Regulations and in two (2) newspapers of general
circulation in the State.

4. That the Secretary shall transmit the Notice of
Proposed Repeal and Adoption of Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Services attached as Exhibit "A,"
together with copies of the existing text of the Docket 10 and
45 Rules and the proposed Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Services, to the Registrar of
Regulations for publication in the Register of Regulations on
May 1, 2000, as required by 29 Del. C. 10115.  In addition,
the Secretary shall, contemporaneous with such transmittal,
cause a copy of the Notice attached as Exhibit "A" and the
existing Docket 10 and 45 Rules and the proposed Rules for
the Provision of Telecommunications Services to be sent by
United States Mail to: (1) all prior participants in this
proceeding; (2) all persons who have made timely requests
for advance notice of such proceedings; and (3) the Division
of the Public Advocate.

5. That the Secretary shall cause the publication of the
Notice of Proposed Repeal and Adoption of Rules for the

Provision of Telecommunications Services attached hereto
as Exhibit "B" to be made in The News Journal and the
Delaware State News newspapers on the following dates, in
two column format, outlined in black:

May 1, 2000 (for The News Journal)
May 1, 2000 (for the Delaware State News)

6. That the Commission will conduct a public hearing
on the proposed repeal of the present Docket 10 and 45
Rules and the adoption of the proposed Rules for the
Provision of Telecommunications Services during its regular
public meeting at its Dover office on Tuesday,  June6, 2000,
beginning at 1:00 PM.

7. That the telecommunications service providers
regulated by the Commission are notified that they may be
charged for the cost of this proceeding under 26 Del. C. §
114.

8. That the Commission reserves the jurisdiction and
authority to enter such further orders in this matter as may be
deemed necessary or proper by Order of the Commission.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:

/s/ Robert J. McMahon________
Chairman
/s/ Joshua M. Twilley________
Vice Chairman
/s/ Arnetta McRae____________
Commissioner
/s/ Donald J. Puglisi_________
Commissioner
______________________________
Commissioner

ATTEST:
/s/ Karen J. Nickerson_________
         Secretary

E X H I B I T  "A"

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF THE SALE, |
RESALE, AND OTHER PROVISION |
OF INTRASTATE |  PSC 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS |  REGULATION
SERVICES (OPENED MAY 1, 1984; |  DOCKET NO. 10
REOPENED NOVEMBER 17, 1998 |

|
IN THE MATTER OF THE |
DEVELOPMENT OF REGULATIONS|  PSC
FOR THE FACILITATION OF |  REGULATION
COMPETITIVE ENTRY INTO THE |  DOCKET NO. 45
TELECOMMUNICATIONS LOCAL |
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 11, MONDAY, MAY 1, 2000



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1498
EXCHANGE SERVICE MARKET |
(OPENED NOVEMBER 21, 1995; |
REOPENED NOVEMBER 17, 1998 |

NOTICE OF PROPOSED REPEAL AND ADOPTIO
OF RULES FOR THE PROVISION OF
TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE

The Delaware Public Service Commission (the "PSC"
or the "Commission") proposes to repeal its existing "Rules
for the Provision of Competitive Intrastate
Telecommunications Services" first adopted In the Matter of
the Sale, Resale and Other Provisions of Intrastate
Telecommunications Services, PSC Regulation Docket No.
10 ("the Docket 10 Rules") and its existing "Interim Rules
Governing Competition in the Market for Local
Telecommunications Services" first adopted In the Matter of
The Development of Regulations For The Facilitation of
Competitive Entry Into the Telecommunications Local
Exchange Service Market,  PSC Regulation Docket No. 45
(the "Docket 45 Rules"), and to adopt in their place a
consolidated set of Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Service .   The proposed new Rules are
intended to reflect the changes in the regulatory environment
since the adoption of the Docket 10 and 45 Rules; to
consolidate the Docket 10 Rules and Docket 45 Rules into a
single set of rules; and to harmonize the provisions of these
Rules with other regulatory provisions, where practicable.
The proposed new Rules will, overall, lessen the regulatory
burdens and costs, both to regulated carriers and the PSC. 

Significant proposed changes to the Rules include
provisions:  allowing carriers to file price lists in place of
tariffs; eliminating the requirement that tariffs (or price lists)
be accompanied by cost studies; allowing changes to
existing rates to be implemented upon three days notice,
rather than the current fourteen or five days notice; adding a
new rule to govern customer election of preferred carriers
consistent with the Federal Communications Commission’s
preferred carrier election rules; and adding a new rule
governing enforcement of the Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Services..

The PSC derives its legal authority to make and amend
regulations governing the conduct of public utilities from 26
Del. C. §§ 201 and 209. In addition, under 26 Del. C. § 703,
the PSC is authorized to modify its regulation of
telecommunications services where such modifications will,
among other things, promote efficiency in public and private
resource allocations and encourage economic development.
The process under which the PSC acts to make and amend
regulations is set forth by 29 Del. C. §§ 10111 through
10119.

The text of the present Docket 10 Rules is attached as
Attachment 1 . The text of the present Docket 45 Rules is

attached as Attachment 2.  The text of the proposed Public
Service Commission Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Services is attached hereto as
Attachment 3.  The text of the existing and proposed Rules,
along with summaries of the proposed changes, may be
inspected at the Commission’s office, located at 861 Silver
Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 100, Dover, DE
19904 during the Commission’s normal business hours,
Monday to Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM.  Copies of the
present and proposed Rules are available at a fee of $0.25
per page.  The present and proposed rules may also be
inspected and copied at the Commission’s website - http://
www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/pubservc/delpsc.htm.

The PSC solicits written comments, compilations of
data, briefs, or other written materials addressing repeal of
the Docket 10 Rules and Docket 45 Rules and adoption of
the proposed Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications
Services.  Twelve (12) copies of such written materials shall
be filed with the Commission at its office at the above
address on or before May 30, 2000.  In addition, any
comments should include proposed text of any further or
alternate amendments supported by the party submitting
comments.  The Public Service Commission shall conduct a
public hearing upon the proposed repeal of the Docket 10
Rules and Docket 45 Rules and adoption of the proposed
Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Services and
all comments and materials received on June 6, 2000,
commencing at 1:00 PM at the Commission’s Dover office.
Persons who wish to participate in such hearing should
notify the Commission in writing by May 30, 2000.

The repeal of the present Docket 10 and Docket 45
Rules and adoption of the new Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Services proposed in this notice
supersede the proposed revisions in the Docket 10 and
Docket 45 Rules previously noticed in 2 DE Reg. 946-959
(Dec. 1998).

Telecommunications service providers subject to the
jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission are notified
that they may be charged for the costs of this proceeding
under  2 Del. C. § 114.

Individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in
these proceedings may contact the Commission to discuss
auxiliary aids or services needed to facilitate such
participation.  Contact may be in person, by writing,
telephonically, by use of the Telecommunications Relay
Service, or otherwise.  The Commission’s toll free number is
800-282-8574.

Persons may also obtain more information by contacting
the Commission at (302) 739-4247.  That number can also
be used for Text Telephone Calls.  Inquiries can also be sent
by Internet e-mail to cmcdowell@state.de.us.
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A T T A C H M E N T  1

DELAWARE PSC RULES
FOR THE PROVISION OF COMPETITIVE
INTRASTATE TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

SERVICES

Applicability:
Any person (carrier) offering intrastate

telecommunications services for public use within the State
of Delaware (originating and terminating within the State,
without regard to how the person decides to route the traffic)
is subject to the regulation of the Public Service Commission
(hereafter, "Commission") of the State of Delaware.

Persons subject to these regulations (i.e., carriers
offering service for public use) include resellers of WATS
and other bulk telecommunications services and facilities-
based carriers.  Persons providing telephone service through
customer owned, coin operated (or pay) telephones
(COCOTS) are governed by the Commission Rules in
Regulation Docket No. 12 regarding (COCOTS) as the
same may from time to time be amended.  The Commission
reserves the right to exempt any person otherwise subject to
these Rules from the operation of any portion of such rules
for good cause shown after notice and hearing.  To the extent
that existing tariffs of The Diamond State Telephone
Company as of the effective date of these Rules establish
rules and regulations inconsistent with these Rules then, and
in that event, the tariff shall control.

Rule 1 - Definitions
a. "COCOT" means Customer Owned, Coin

Operated (i.e., pay) Telephone.
b. "TELECOMMUNICATION SERVICE" OR

"TELEPHONE SERVICE  means the transmittal of
information, by means of electronic or electromagnetic,
including light, transmission with or without benefit of any
closed transmission medium, including all instrumentalities
ancillary thereto, equipment, facilities, apparatus, and
services (including the collection, storage, forwarding,
switching, and delivery of such information) used to provide
such transmission including directory, information and
operator service.  "Telephone Service" does not include,
however:

1. the rent, sale, or lease, or exchange for other
value received, of customer premises equipment except for
customer premises equipment owned or provided by a
telecommunications carrier certificated prior to the effective
date of these Regulations and only then to the extent that the
regulation of its provision is not Federally preempted.

2. telephone or telecommunications answering
services, paging services and physical pickup and delivery
incidental to the provision of information transmitted
through electronic or electromagnetic media, including light

transmission.
3. Community antenna television service or Cable

Television Service to the extent that such service is utilized
solely for the one-way distribution of such entertainment
services with no more than incidental subscriber interaction
required for selection of such entertainment service.

c. "REGULATED TELECOMMUNICATIONS
CARRIERS" - means persons who provide telephone
service for public use within the State of Delaware.  For
purposes of regulation by the Delaware Public Service
Commission the term "Regulated Telecommunications
Carrier" specifically does not include:

1. telephone service that is provided by or owned
and operated by any political subdivision, public or private
institution of higher education or municipal corporation of
this State or operated by their lessees or operating agents for
the sole use of such political subdivision, public or private
institution of higher learning or municipal corporation.

2. a company which provides
telecommunications services solely to itself and its affiliates
or members or between points in the same building, or
between closely located buildings which are affiliated
through substantial common ownership and does not offer
such services to the available general public.

3. providers of telephone service by either
primarily cellular technology or by domestic public land
mobile radio service.

d. "INTRASTATE" means telecommunications
services that originate and terminate within the State of
Delaware, without regard to how the call is switched or
routed.

Rule 2 - Certification Requirement. All persons (carriers)
wishing to provide public intrastate telecommunications
services within the State of Delaware are required to file
with the Commission an original and ten (10) copies of an
Application for Certificate of Public Convenience and
Necessity.  Such application shall contain all the information
and exhibits, hereinafter required and may contain such
additional information as the Applicant deems appropriate to
demonstrate to the Commission that it possesses the
technical, financial and operational ability to adequately
service the public interest and that the public convenience
and necessity requires or will require the operation of such
business.

Rule 3 - Notice.  Notice of the filing of such an application
shall be given by the Applicant at the time of filing to each
Commission-certificated telephone company (excluding
each holder of a COCOT Certificate), the Public Advocate,
and to such other entities as may be required by the
Commission.  Each applicant shall publish notice of the
filing of the application in two (2) newspapers having
general circulation throughout the State in a form to be
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prescribed by the Commission.

Rule 4 - License Requirement.  Each applicant for a
Certificate shall demonstrate that it is legally authorized and
qualified to do business in the State of Delaware, including
having received all licenses required by the Division of
Revenue of the State of Delaware and by local authorities
within the area of proposed operation within the State.

Rule 5 - Identification and Billing of Intrastate and
Interstate Traffic.  Persons (carriers) seeking to provide
intrastate telecommunications service within the State of
Delaware shall be required in their filings to set forth an
effective plan for identifying and billing intrastate versus
interstate traffic, and shall pay the appropriate Local
Exchange Company for access at its prevailing access charge
rates. If adequate means of categorizing traffic as interstate
versus intrastate are not or cannot be developed, then, for
purposes of determining the access charge to be paid to the
local exchange company for such undetermined traffic, the
traffic shall be deemed to be of the jurisdiction having the
higher access charges and billed at the higher access charges.

Rule 6 - Additional Requirements.  Applicants shall be
required to present substantial evidence supporting their
financial, operational and technical ability to render service
within the State of Delaware.  Such evidence shall include,
but is not limited to:

a. Certified financial statements current within twelve
(12) months of the filing.  Publicly traded Applicants must
file their most recent annual report to shareholders and SEC
Form 10-K.  Other indicia of financial capability may also be
filed.

b. Brief narrative description of Applicant's proposed
business in Delaware and its operations in other states.
Identifications of states in which Applicant presently is
providing service, and for which service applications are
pending.
 c. Three year construction, maintenance, engineering
and financial plans for all services intended to be provided
within the State of Delaware with a technical description of
the equipment which will be used to provide such services.

d. Relevant operational experience of each principal
officer responsible for Delaware operations.

e. Specific description of Applicant's engineering and
technical expertise showing Applicant's qualification to
provide the intended service including the names, addresses
and qualifications of the officers, directors and technical or
engineering personnel who will be operating and/or
maintaining the equipment to be used to provide such
service.

f. Description and map of the Applicant's owned,
leased, and optioned facilities existing and planned to exist
within the State of Delaware in the next three years. Also,

map showing points of presence within the State of
Delaware.  All such descriptions and maps shall at all times
be kept current and are to be updated as changes are known
to the Applicant during the processing of the application and
thereafter if the application is approved.

g. If the applicant does not require deposits, advance
payments, prepayments, financial guarantees or the like from
customers and charges only for service after it has been
provided, then no bond shall be required.  Otherwise,
applicant shall file a bond with a corporate surety licensed to
do business in Delaware guaranteeing the repayment of all
customer deposits and advances upon the termination of
service.  The Bond need not be filed with the application but
no certificate will be issued to an Applicant and no Applicant
may commence business until Applicant files such Bond
with the Commission. The amount of the Bond will be the
greater of (1) 150% of the projected balance of deposits and
advances at the end of three years of operations or (2)
$50,000.  If at any time the actual amount of deposits and
advances held by the holder of a Certificate issued after the
effective date of this regulation exceeds the amount
projected, the amount of the Bond with surety shall be
increased to comply with the requirement in the preceding
sentence.  Continuation of the Bonding requirement after the
first three years will be at the discretion of the Commission
which upon application may dispense with the Bond
requirement for good cause shown.

h. Copies of State Business License issued by
Delaware Division of Revenue.

Rule 7 - Tariffs and Cost Studies.  Each application for a
Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity shall
include proposed initial tariffs, rules, regulations, terms and
conditions of service specifically adapted for the State of
Delaware.  Initial tariffs shall be accompanied by cost
studies or other supporting data establishing the
reasonableness and sufficiency of the proposed rates and
charges.  Other supporting data filed in lieu of a cost study
must clearly establish the economic basis for management's
decision to enter the Delaware market for each of the
proposed services.  Copies of Applicant's tariffs, and terms
and conditions of service in other jurisdictions must be
provided to the Commission upon request.  Applicant's
tariffs must include specific policies for customer deposits
and advances, for prompt reconciliation of customer billing
problems and complaints, and for timely correction of
service problems.  Applications must provide and keep
current the name, address and telephone number of
Applicant's Delaware Resident Agent.

Rule 8 - New Options or Offerings.
a. Competition exists - Persons (carriers) seeking to

introduce a service option or offering under this section shall
file information sufficient to establish the existence of actual
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competition for the services and customer categories to
which the tariff applies.

After initial certification, a person (carrier) may
introduce new options or offerings ten (10) days after
making a tariff filing with the Commission.  A change to an
existing tariff can be implemented upon fourteen (14) days
notice for price increases and five (5) days notice for price
decreases.  The tariff filing shall be accompanied by cost
studies or other supporting data establishing the
reasonableness and sufficiency of the proposed rates and
charges.  Other supporting data filed in lieu of a cost study
must clearly establish the economic basis for management's
decision to propose the option, offering or tariff change.

b. Competition does not exist - After initial
certification, a person (carrier) may introduce new options or
offerings, or change an existing tariff, 60 days after making a
tariff filing with the Commission.  The tariff filing shall be
accompanied by cost studies or other supporting data
establishing the reasonableness and sufficiency of the
proposed rates and charges.  Other supporting data filed in
lieu of a cost study must clearly establish the economic basis
for management's decision to propose the option, offering or
tariff change.  New options, offerings or tariff changes may
be suspended in appropriate cases but normally will be
allowed to take effect upon 60 days notice; however, the
Commission may for good cause shown waive this
requirement and allow the tariffs to go into effect upon
shorter notice.

Rule 9 - Abandonment or Discontinuation of Service.  No
person (carrier) shall abandon or discontinue service, or any
part thereof, established within the State of Delaware
without prior Commission approval and without having
previously made provision, approved by the Commission,
for payment of all relevant outstanding liabilities (deposits)
to customers within the State of Delaware.

Rule 10 - Reports to be provided to the Commission.  All
persons (carriers) certificated to provide Intrastate telephone
service for public use after the effective date of these Rules
shall provide such information concerning Delaware
operations to the Public Service Commission as the
Commission may from time to time request.

a. The accounting system to be used is the Uniform
System of Accounts of the Federal Communications
Commission or other uniform system of account previously
approved in writing by the Chief Accountant of the
Commission.

b. All reports required by these rules to be submitted
to the Commission shall be attested to by an officer or
manager of the carrier, under whose direction the report is
prepared, or if under trust or receivership, by the receiver or
a duly authorized person, or if not incorporated, by the
proprietor, manager, superintendent, or other official in

charge of the carrier's operation.
c. All periodic reports required by this Commission

must be received on or before the following due dates unles
otherwise specified herein, or unless good cause is
demonstrated by the carrier:

1. Annual reports: one hundred twenty (120) days
after the end of the reported period.

2. Special and additional reports: as may be
prescribed by the Commission unless good cause to the
contrary is demonstrated.

d. The annual report shall include standard financial
reports (balance sheet, statement of operations, supporting
schedules, etc.).  This report shall also include (i) the same
after-the-fact information that management is provided
concerning the measurement of performance provided in
Delaware, (ii) the information used to determine the
Delaware Income Tax liability, and (iii) financial and
operating information for the smallest management unit that
includes Delaware. Additional information to be provided
includes:

1. Intrastate revenues (net of uncollectibles) by
service category;

2. Intrastate access and billing and collection cost
by service category;

3. Total number of customers by service
category;

4. Total intrastate minutes of use by service
category;

5. Total intrastate number of calls by service
category;

6. A description of service offered;
7. A description of each complaint received by

service category (in the form of a single Complaints Log);
and,

8. Verification of deposits, customer advances,
the bond requirement and the bond with surety.

NOTE: All reports filed pursuant to the requirement of
this section may be deemed to be non-public
records within the contemplation of the exemption
from public record status accorded by 29 Del. C. §
10002 (d)(2) for trade secrets and commercial or
financial information obtained from a person which
is of a privileged or confidential nature.  Such
reports to receive confidential treatment must be
clearly and conspicuously marked on the title page
as containing proprietary information.  Each page
with the report containing information deemed by
the Company to be proprietary in nature shall be so
marked.

Rule 11 -Discrimination Prohibited.   No person (carrier)
shall unreasonably discriminate among persons requesting a
tariffed service within the State of Delaware.  The
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Commission directs that the operating rule shall be service
pursuant to tariff.  If, in specific instances, a carrier wishes to
provide service pursuant to contract as a response to direct
competition, that carrier is required to demonstrate
affirmatively that (i) the request is in response to actual
rather than potential competition and (ii) that the proposed
contract structure and rates are at least equal to incremental
cost.

Any finding of unreasonable discrimination shall be
grounds for suspension or revocation of the Certificate of
Public Convenience and Necessity granted by the
Commission as well as the imposition of monetary and other
penalties pursuant to 26 Del. C. Sections 217, 218.

Rule 12 -Suspension or Revocation of Certificate. 
Excessive subscriber complaints against a person

(carrier) shall be a basis for suspension or revocation of a
carrier's Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity if,
after hearing, the Commission determines such complaints
to be meritorious.  In all proceedings, the Commission shall
give to the person (carrier) notice of the allegations made
against it and afford the carrier with an opportunity to be
heard concerning those allegations, prior to the suspension
or revocation of the carrier's Certificate of Public
Convenience and Necessity or other formal action.  The
burden of establishing the adequate provision of service is
upon the utility.

Rule 13 -Blockage.  Persons (carriers) who intentionally or
otherwise carry intrastate telecommunications traffic within
the State of Delaware on facilities or equipment available to
the public are required:

a. To file for a Certificate of Public Convenience and
Necessity under these rules, unless already certified by the
Commission; or

b. To immediately block such intrastate traffic so that
certification is no longer required.

Rule 14 -Service Quality.  All persons subject to these
Rules shall provide telephone service in accordance with
such Telephone Service Quality Regulations as the
Commission has adopted in PSC Regulation Docket No. 20,
Order No. 3232.  An Applicant seeking to be exempted from
any portion of those Rules should file an appropriate
application for exemption with the Commission, pursuant to
Rule 1.2.3 of the rules adopted by the Commission in Order
No. 3232 (PSC Regulation Docket No. 20).

Upon a Commission determination that a specific
service of a person (carrier) meets the requirements of Rule
8.a establishing the existence of actual competition, then the
shortened notice requirements in Rule 8.a shall apply to that
specific service of that person (carrier) and the 60-day notice
requirement of Rule 3.5.1.G, as adopted in the Commission's
Order No. 3232 (Docket No. 20) shall no longer apply to it,

pending future Commission action.
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DELAWARE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
REVISED INTERIM RULES

Governing Competition in the Market
for Local Telecommunications Services

PSC Regulation Docket No. 45
CERTIFICATION AND REGULATION OF

COMPETITIVE LOCAL EXCHANGE CARRIERS

Section 1: Definitions
(1) The Act - means the federal Communications Act

of 1934, as amended by the Telecommunications Act of
1996, Public Law No. 104-104, 110 Stat. 56.

(2) COCOT - customer owned, coin operated (i.e.,
pay) telephone.

(3) CPCN - Certificate of Public Convenience and
Necessity.

(4) Commission - the Delaware Public Service
Commission.

(5) Competitive Local Exchange Carrier (CLEC) - a
telecommunications services provider, other than the
incumbent local exchange carrier, offering and/or providing
local telecommunications exchange services, pursuant to a
Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity that is
issued pursuant to this Order.

(6) Incumbent Local Exchange Carrier (ILEC) -
telecommunications services provider that is the incumbent
and historical wireline provider of local telecommunications
services within a local service territory as of the effective
date of these Regulations, and any intrastate regulated
affiliate or successor to such entity which is engaged in the
provisioning of local telecommunications services; the ILEC
in Delaware is Bell Atlantic-Delaware until further action by
the Commission.

(7) Interconnection - the linking of two networks for
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the mutual exchange of traffic.  This term does not include
the transport and termination of traffic.

(8) Facilities-based Carrier - a local exchange carrier
which directly owns, controls, operates, or manages plant
and equipment through which it provides local exchange
service to consumers within the local exchange portion of
the public switched network.

(9) Intrastate Telecommunications Services -
telecommunications services that originate and terminate
within the State of Delaware, without regard to how the call
is switched or routed.

(10) Local Exchange Carrier or Carrier - an
entity offering and/or providing local telecommunications
exchange services; includes both facilities-based and non-
facilities-based providers.  Providers of telephone service by
either cellular technology or by domestic public land mobile
radio service shall not be considered local exchange carriers
for purposes of these Rules.

(11)  Local Telecommunications Exchange Service  -
Local telecommunications exchange service includes non-
toll, intrastate telecommunications services provided over a
local exchange carrier's network, including but not limited
to, exchange access services, private line services, basic
local services, and public pay phone services. Local
telecommunications exchange service, however, does not
include:

a. telephone service that is provided by or owned
and operated by any political subdivision, public or private
institution of higher education, or municipal corporation of
this State, or operated by their lessees or operating agents for
the sole use of such political subdivision, public or private
institution of higher learning or municipal corporation.

b. telecommunications services provided by a
company solely to itself or its affiliates, or between points in
the same building or between closely located buildings
which are affiliated through substantial common ownership,
and where such services do not include access to the public
switched network.

c. the rent, sale, or lease, or exchange for other
value received, of customer premises equipment except for
customer premises equipment owned or provided by a
telecommunications carrier certificated prior to the effective
date of these regulations and only then to the extent that the
regulation of its provision is not Federally preempted.

d. telephone or telecommunications answering
services, paging services and physical pickup and delivery
incidental to the provision of information transmitted
through electronic or electromagnetic media, including light
transmission.

e. community antenna television service or Cable
Television Service to the extent that such service is utilized
solely for the one-way distribution of such entertainment
services with no more than incidental subscriber interaction
required for selection of such entertainment service.

(12) Resale - the sale to an end user of any
telecommunications service purchased from another carrier.

(13) Rules - these Interim Rules Governing
Competition In The Market For Local Telecommunications
Services.

(14) Telecommunications - the transmission,
between or among points specified by the user, of
information of a user's choosing, without change in the for
or content of the information as sent and received.

(15) Telecommunications Service - the offering of
telecommunications for a fee directly to the public, or to
such classes of users as to be effectively available directly to
the public, regardless of the facilities used.

Section 2: Application of Rules to ILEC 
(1) The ILEC will remain subject to the

Telecommunications Technology Act (TTIA), 26 Del. C.
Sub. Ch. VII-A, during the term of its initial election
thereunder.

(2) The ILEC shall have carrier of last resort
obligations in its service territory until a final decision is
reached regarding universal service issues. 

Section 3: Certification of Competitive Local
Exchange Carriers

(1) Certification Requirement.  All entities wishing
to provide local telecommunications exchanges services
within the State of Delaware are required to file with the
Commission an original and twelve (12) copies of an
Application for Certificate of Public Convenience and
Necessity.  Such application shall contain all the information
and exhibits, hereinafter required and may contain such
additional information as the Applicant deems appropriate to
demonstrate to the Commission that it possesses the
technical, financial, managerial and operational ability to
adequately service the public interest and that the public
convenience and necessity requires or will require the
operation of such business.

(2) Notice.  Notice of the filing of such an application
shall be given by the Applicant at the time of filing to the
Public Advocate, and to such other entities as may be
required by the Commission.  Each applicant shall publish
notice of the filing of the application in two (2) newspapers
having general circulation throughout the State in a form to
be prescribed by the Commission.

(3) License Requirement.  Each applicant for a
Certificate shall demonstrate that it is legally authorized and
qualified to do business in the State of Delaware, including
having received all licenses required by the Division of
Revenue of the State of Delaware and by local authorities
within the area of proposed operation within the State.

(4) Additional Requirements.  Each applicant shall be
required to present substantial evidence supporting their
financial, operational, managerial and technical ability to
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render service within the State of Delaware.  Such evidence
shall include, but is not limited to:

a. Certified financial statements current within
twelve (12) months of the filing.  Publicly traded Applicants
must file their most recent annual report to shareholders and
SEC Form 10-K.  Other indicia of financial capability may
also be filed.

b. Brief narrative description of Applicant's
proposed business in Delaware and its operations in other
states. Identifications of states in which Applicant presently
is providing service, and for which service applications are
pending.

c. One-year construction, maintenance,
engineering and financial plans for all services intended to
be provided within the State of Delaware with a technical
description of the equipment which will be used to provide
such services.  The plan will be filed within six (6) months of
the date on which final certification is granted.  All such
plans will be considered proprietary

d. Relevant operational experience of each
principal officer responsible for Delaware operations.

e. Specific description of Applicant's engineering
and technical expertise showing Applicant's qualification to
provide the intended service including the names, addresses
and qualifications of the officers, directors and technical or
engineering personnel who will be operating and/or
maintaining the equipment to be used to provide such
service.

f. Description and map of the Applicant's owned,
leased, and optioned facilities existing within the State of
Delaware.  Also, map showing points of presence or location
where Applicant is serving customers within the State of
Delaware.  All such descriptions and maps shall be updated
annually.

g. If the applicant does not require deposits,
advance payments, prepayments, financial guarantees or the
like from customers and charges only for service after it has
been provided, then no bond shall be required.  Otherwise,
applicant shall file a bond with a corporate surety licensed to
do business in Delaware guaranteeing the repayment of all
customer deposits and advances upon the termination of
service.  The Bond need not be filed with the application but
no certificate will be issued to an Applicant and no Applicant
may commence business until Applicant files such Bond
with the Commission.  The amount of the Bond will be the
greater of (1) 150 percent of the projected balance of
deposits and advances at the end of three (3) years of
operations;  or (2) $50,000. If at any time the actual amount
of deposits and advances held by the holders of a Certificate
issued after the effective date of this regulation exceeds the
amount projected, the amount of the Bond with surety shall
be increased to comply with the requirement in the preceding
sentence.  Continuation of the Bonding requirement after the
first three (3) years will be at the discretion of the

Commission which, upon application, may dispense with the
Bond requirement for good cause shown.

h. All new applicants seeking CPCNs for
authority to become facilities-based CLECs shall
demonstrate in their applications that they possess a
minimum of $100,000 of cash or cash equivalent, reasonably
liquid and readily available to meet the firm's start-up costs.

i. All new applicants seeking CPCNs for
authority to become non-facilities-based CLECs shall
demonstrate in their applications that they possess a
minimum of $25,000 of cash or cash equivalent, reasonably
liquid and readily available to meet the firm's start-up costs.

j. Applicants for CPCNs as CLECs who have
profitable interstate operations or operations in other states
may meet the minimum financial requirement by submitting
an audited balance sheet and income statement
demonstrating sufficient cash flow to meet the above
requirement.

k. Demonstration of cash or cash equivalent can
be satisfied by the following:

1. Cash or cash equivalent, including
cashier's check, sight draft, performance bond proceeds, or
traveler's checks;

2. Certificate of deposit or other liquid
deposit, with a reputable bank or other financial institution;

3. Preferred stock proceeds or other
corporate shareholder equity, provided that use is restricted
to maintenance of working capital for a period of at least
twelve (12) months beyond certification of the applicant by
the Commission;

4. Letter of credit, issued by a reputable bank
or other financial institution, irrevocable for a period of at
least twelve (12) months beyond certification of the
applicant by the Commission;

5. Line of credit, issued by a reputable bank
or other financial institution, irrevocable for a period of at
least twelve (12) months beyond certification of the
applicant by the Commission;

6. Loan, issued by a qualified subsidiary,
affiliate of applicant, or a qualified corporation holding
controlling interest in the applicant, irrevocable for a period
of at least twelve (12) months beyond certification of the
applicant by the Commission, and payable on an interest-
only basis for the same period;

7. Guarantee, issued by a corporation,
copartnership, or other person or association, irrevocable for
a period of at least twelve (12) months beyond certification
of the applicant by the Commission;

8. Guarantee, issued by a qualified
subsidiary, affiliate of applicant, or a qualified corporation
holding controlling interests in the applicant, irrevocable for
a period of at least twelve (12) months beyond the
certification of the applicant by the Commission.

(5) Tariffs.  Each application for a Certificate of Public
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Convenience and Necessity shall include proposed initial
tariffs, rules, regulations, terms and conditions of service
specifically adapted for the State of Delaware.  Copies of
Applicant's tariffs, and terms and conditions of service in
other jurisdictions must be provided to the Commission upon
request.  Applicant's tariffs must include specific policies of
customer deposits and advances, for prompt reconciliation of
customer billing problems and complaints, and for timely
correction of service problems.  Applicants must provide and
keep current the name, address and telephone number of
Applicant's Delaware Resident Agent.

Section 4: Post-Certification Requirements of CLEC
(1) New Options or Offerings.  A CLEC may

introduce new options or offerings, or change an existing
tariff, by filing a supplemental or revised tariff with the
Commission.  A CLEC intending to offer a new
telecommunications service shall provide the Commission
with notice of its intention to do so no less than twenty (20)
days before the proposed implementation date.  The
Commission may extend the proposed implementation date
for any new service for good cause shown; provided,
however, that notwithstanding such extension, the CLEC
may offer its new service as described in its original filing
unless the Commission shall have, by final Order entered
within ninety (90) days of such original filing determined
that the proposed new service as described is not in
compliance with these Rules.  A CLEC filing notice of the
offering of a new service pursuant to this Rule shall serve a
copy of such notice on all interexchange telecommunications
carriers and service providers who have requested it as well
as the Office of the Public Advocate.

(2) Abandonment or Discontinuation of Service.  A
CLEC may abandon or discontinue a service or any part
thereof, established within the State of Delaware after
having provided the Commission and its customers
subscribing to such service with thirty (30) days' written
notice.  Such notice shall also contain proposed provision for
payment of all relevant outstanding liabilities (deposits), if
any, to customers within the State of Delaware.  If the
Commission takes no action within the thirty (30) day notice
period, then the abandonment or discontinuation shall be
deemed approved.  Prior to the expiration of the thirty (30)
day notice period, the Commission may act to continue the
provision of service for up to an additional sixty (60) days.

(3) Reports to be provided to the Commission.  All
CLECs certificated to provide local telecommunications
exchange service for public use after the effective date of
these Rules shall provide such information concerning
Delaware operations to the Public Service Commission as
the Commission may from time to time request.  Information
provided pursuant to this paragraph and designated
"proprietary" or "confidential" in accordance with paragraph
5(7) of these Rules shall be afforded proprietary treatment

subject to the provisions of the Rules, Commission
regulations and Delaware law.

a. The accounting system to be used shall be in
accordance with Generally Accepted Accounting Principles
or any uniform system of accounts approved in writing by
the Chief of Technical Services of the Commission.

b. All reports required by these rules to be
submitted to the Commission shall be attested to by an
officer or manager of the CLEC, under whose direction the
report is prepared, or if under trust or receivership, by the
receiver or a duly authorized person, or if not incorporated,
by the proprietor, manager, superintendent, or other official
in charge of the CLEC's operation.

c. All periodic reports required by this
Commission must be received on or before the following due
dates unless otherwise specified herein, or unless good cause
is demonstrated by the CLEC:

1. Annual reports:  one hundred twenty (120)
days after the end of the reported period.

2. Special and additional reports:  as may be
prescribed by the Commission unless good cause to the
contrary is demonstrated.

d. The annual report shall include standard
financial reports (balance sheet, statement of operations,
supporting schedules, etc.).  This report shall also include (i)
the same after-the-fact information that management is
provided concerning the measurement of performance
provided in Delaware, (ii) the information used to determine
the Delaware Income Tax liability, and (iii) financial and
operating information for the smallest management unit that
includes Delaware.  Additional information to be provided
includes:

1. Intrastate revenues (net of uncollectibles)
by service category;

2. Intrastate access and billing and collection
cost by service category;

3. Total number of customers by service
category;

4. Total local minutes of use by service
category;

5. Total local number of calls by service
category;

6. A description of service offered;
7. A description of each complaint received

by service category (in the form of a single Complaints Log);
and,

8. Verification of deposits, customer
advances, the bond requirement and the bond with surety.

(4) Discrimination Prohibited.  No CLEC carrier
shall unreasonably discriminate among persons requesting a
tariffed service within the State of Delaware.

(5) Blockage.   CLECs cannot interconnect or resell to
carriers who are not authorized to provide service in the
State of Delaware.  
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(6) Pricing Standard.  All CLECs shall provide local
end user services at rates that generate sufficient revenue to
cover the incremental cost of offering such service.

(7) Universal Service Fund.  The Commission may,
upon completion of an appropriate proceeding, require
CLECs and other telecommunications carriers to contribute
to a Universal Service Fund.

(8) Services to be Provided.  CLECs shall offer access
to the public switched network and at a minimum, the
following telecommunication services to its customers:

• Dial tone line services
• Local usage services
• Access to all available long distance carriers
• TouchTone service
• White pages listing
• Access to 911 enhanced emergency system
• Local directory assistance service
• Access to telecommunications relay service
(9) Written Authorization Forms Required.  A

CLEC must obtain a customer's written authorization in
order to change his or her local exchange service provider
Such written authorizations must be separate from
inducements such as prizes and contests.  The written
authorization forms provided by the CLEC must be limited
strictly to authorizing a change in local service and it must be
clearly identified as an authorization form for such change.

(10) Negotiation and Mediation Guidelines.  All
CLECs must abide by the Commission's Guidelines for
Negotiations, Mediation, Arbitration and Approval of
Agreements between Local Exchange Telecommunications
Carriers (Order No. 4245).

(11) Resale Prohibitions. 
(a) Cross-Class Selling.  A CLEC that makes a

service available only to residential customers or a limited
class of residential customers may prohibit the purchaser
from offering such services to classes of customers that are
not eligible for such services from the providing CLEC.

(b) Other.  With respect to any restrictions on
resale not permitted under this paragraph, a CLEC may
impose a restriction only if the Commission determines that
the restriction is reasonable and nondiscriminatory.

(12) Previous Regulation Dockets.  CLECs shall
be subject to all previously established rules relating to
telecommunications service providers in Delaware, except
where such rules are inconsistent with these Rules, and/or
the Act.  As consistent with the provisions of existing rules
and regulations, CLECs may petition the Commission to
waive any provision in such rules previously established and
regulations, as may be permitted by those rules or
regulations.

(13) Customer Complaint Investigation .  CLECs
shall cooperate with Commission investigations of customer
complaints. 

Section 5: Enforcement
(1) Commission Oversight:  Nothing in these Rules

shall be deemed to limit the authority granted the
Commission under the Telecommunications Regulatory
Authorization Act of 1992, 26 Del. C. §§ 701-703.

(2) Violation and Penalties:  Failure of a CLEC to
comply with any provision of these Rules may result in the
suspension or revocation of its CPCN, and/or of the
imposition of monetary or other penalties as authorized by
26 Del. C. § 217, 218.

(3) Proceedings:  Upon application by any person
affected, including the Office of the Public Advocate or
another carrier, or upon its own motion, the Commission
may conduct a proceeding to determine whether a CLEC has
violated any provision of the Rules.  Such proceedings shall
be conducted according to the requirements of 2 Del. C. c.
101, the Delaware Administrative Procedures Act.

(4) Investigations:  For the purpose of determining
whether it is necessary or advisable to commence a
proceeding described by Rule 5(3) above, the Commission
or its Staff may, at any time, investigate whether a CLEC is
in compliance with the Rules.  Upon request, the CLEC shall
provide to the Commission or its Staff sufficient information
to demonstrate its compliance with the Rules, including such
data as shall demonstrate that the CLEC's services are
provided at rates that generate sufficient revenue to cover the
incremental cost of offering that service.

(5) Subscriber Complaints as Ground for
Proceeding or Investigation: The Commission may hold a
proceeding to determine whether to suspend or revoke the
certificate of, or otherwise penalize, any CLEC for reason of
subscriber complaints.  The Commission may investigate
any subscriber complaints received.

(6) Exemption:  If unreasonable hardship results to a
CLEC from the application of any of the Rules contained in
Section 3 (Certification of Competitive Local Exchange
Carriers) and Section 4 (Post Certification Requirements of
CLECs) hereof, or if unreasonable difficulty is involved in
compliance, the CLEC may make application to the
Commission for temporary or permanent exemption fro
such Rule or Rules.  The CLEC shall submit with such
application a full and complete statement of its reasons for
such application.

(7) Proprietary Information:  Under Delaware's
Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del. C. ch. 100 ("FOIA"),
all information filed with the Commission is considered of
public record unless it contains Atrade secrets and
commercial or financial information obtained from a person
which is of a privileged or confidential nature." 29 Del. C. §
10002(d)(2).  To qualify as a non-public record under this
exemption, materials received by the Commission must be
clearly and conspicuously marked on the title page and on
every page containing the sensitive information as
"proprietary" or "confidential" or words of similar effect.
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The Commission shall presumptively deem all information
so designated to be exempt from public record status.
However, upon receipt of a request for access to information
designated proprietary or confidential, the Commission may
review the appropriateness of such designation and may
determine to release the information requested.  Prior to such
release, the Commission shall provide the entity which
submitted the information with reasonable notice and an
opportunity to show why the information should not be
released.

(8) Re-evaluation of Rules after 18 Months:  The
Commission will re-evaluate these Rules and the need for
any revisions thereto approximately eighteen (18) months
from the date of approval by the Commission of said Rules.

A T T A C H M E N T  3

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF DELAWARE
RULES FOR THE PROVISION OF

TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICES

PART A
CERTIFICATION AND REGULATION OF 

CARRIERS

Rule 1. Definitions.
(a) Rules shall mean these Rules, including PARTS A

and B, governing the provision of telecommunications
services in Delaware.

(b) Carrier shall mean any person or entity offering to
the public Telecommunications service that originates or
terminates within the State of Delaware.  The term "Carrier"
does not include:

(i) any political subdivision, public or private
institution of higher education or municipal corporation of
this State or operated by their lessees or operating agents that
provides telephone service for the sole use of such political
subdivision, public or private institution of higher learning
or municipal corporation;

(ii) a company that provides telecommunications
services solely to itself and its affiliates or members or
between points in the same building, or between closely
located buildings which are affiliated through substantial
common ownership and does not offer such services to the
available general public;

(iii) providers of domestic public land mobile radio
service provided by cellular technology excluded from the
Commission’s jurisdiction under 26 Del. C. § 202(c); and

(iv) Payphone service providers regulated by this
Commission under Rules promulgated in Regulation Docket
No. 12.

(c) CPCN shall mean a Certificate of Public
Convenience and Necessity issued by the Commission.

(d) Commission shall mean the Public Service

Commission of Delaware.
(e) Competitive Local Exchange Carrier ("CLEC")

shall mean a Carrier, other than the Incumbent Local
Exchange Carrier, offering and/or providing local
telecommunications exchange services within the State of
Delaware.

(f) Incumbent Local Exchange Carrier ("ILEC")  shall
mean in Delaware Bell Atlantic-Delaware, Inc., and any
successor thereto.

(g) Facilities-based Carrier shall mean a Local
Exchange Carrier that directly owns, controls, operates, or
manages plant and equipment through which it provides
local exchange services to consumers within the local
exchange portion of the public switched network.

(h) Local Exchange Carrier ("LEC") shall mean a
Carrier offering and/or providing local telecommunications
exchange services (i.e., CLECs and ILECs); including both
facilities-based and non-facilities-based Carriers

(i) Local Telecommunications Exchange Service shall
mean non-toll, intrastate Telecommunications Services
provided over a Local Exchange Carrier’s network,
including, but not limited to, exchange access services and
basic local services.

(j) Resale shall mean the sale to an end user of any
telecommunications service purchased from another Carrier

(k) Telecommunications shall mean the transmission,
between or among points specified by the user, of
information of the user’s choosing, without change in the
form and content of the information as sent and received.

(l) Telecommunications Service shall mean the
offering of telecommunications for a fee directly to the
public within the State of Delaware (originating or
terminating within the State, without regard to how the
Carrier decides to route the traffic), or to such classes of
users as to be effectively available to the public, regardless
of the facilities used.

"Telecommunications Service" does not include:
(i) the rent, sale, lease, or exchange for other value

received, of customer premises equipment, except for
specialized terminal equipment as defined in 48 U.S.C. §
610(g);

(ii) telephone or telecommunications answering
services, paging services, and physical pickup and delivery
incidental to the provision of information transmitted
through electronic or electromagnetic media, including light
transmission;

(iii) The one-way distribution of entertainment
services or informational services with no more than
incidental customer interaction required for selection of such
entertainment or information services; and

(iv) Telecommunications service provided by
either primary cellular technology or by domestic public
land mobile radio service, even in the event that such
transmission originates or terminates in a wireline telephone.
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Rule 2. Applicability.
These Rules shall apply to all Carriers, as defined by

these Rules, and shall be construed consistently with Rule 3
of these Rules.

Rule 3. Application of and Conflict With Other Rules,
Regulations, Tariffs and/or Price Lists.

(a) The ILEC.
(i) The ILEC will remain subject to the

Telecommunications Technology [Investment] Act (TTIA),
26 Del. C. sub. Ch. VII-A, and any implementing regulations
promulgated by the Commission during the term of its
election thereunder.  During such term, the ILEC shall not be
subject to the requirements of these Part A. Rules; and

(ii) The ILEC has Carrier of last resort obligations
in its service territory.

(b) Telephone Service Quality Regulations (Docket
No. 20).

All Carriers shall provide telephone service in
accordance with the Telephone Service Quality Regulations
the Commission adopted in PSC Regulation Docket No. 20,
by Order No. 3232 (January 15, 1991) as such may from
time to time be amended, except to the extent these Rules
impose obligations or grant privileges inconsistent
therewith.

(c) Negotiation and Mediation Guidelines.
All Carriers must abide by the Commission’s

Guidelines for Negotiations, Mediation, Arbitration and
Approval of Agreements between Local Exchange
Telecommunications Carriers (Order No. 4245).

(d) Rules of Practice and Procedure.
The practice and procedure governing any

proceedings required or authorized by these Rules shall be as
set forth by the Commission’s Rules of Practice and
Procedure adopted in PSC Docket No. 99-9, by Order No.
5057 (April 6, 1999) as the same may be hereafter from time
to time amended.

(e) Other Rules and Statutes.
These Rules shall prevail over any inconsistent

requirements imposed by prior Order or regulation of the
Commission, except for Rule 3(a) preceding and where
expressly authorized by a Commission Order granting a
waiver. All Carriers remain subject to any and all applicable
provisions of state and federal law.

(f) Tariffs or Price Lists.
To the extent that a tariff or price list of any Carrier

is inconsistent with these Rules, then, and in that event, these
Rules shall control, subject to Rule 3(a) preceding, unless
where expressly authorized by a Commission Order granting
a waiver

Rule 4.  Certification.
(a) Certification Requirement.  

No  person or entity shall offer public intrastate or
local exchange telecommunications service within the State
of Delaware without first obtaining from the Commission a
Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity authorizing
such service.  A Carrier offering telecommunications service
within the State of Delaware without a CPCN duly issued by
this Commission is acting unlawfully and shall immediately
cease offering such service until a CPCN is granted.

(b) Application. 
An applicant for a CPCN shall file with the

Commission an original and ten (10) copies of an
Application for Certificate of Public Convenience and
Necessity, together with the statutory filing fee set forth in
26 Del. C. § 114, as the same may from time to time be
amended.  Such application shall contain all the information
and exhibits hereinafter required and may contain such
additional information as the applicant deems appropriate to
demonstrate to the Commission that it possesses the
technical, financial and operational ability to adequately
serve the public and that the public convenience and
necessity requires or will require the operation of such
business.

(c) Notice.  
The applicant shall serve a notice of the filing of

such an application upon the Public Advocate, and to such
other entities as may be required by the Commission. The
applicant shall provide public notice of the filing of the
application in two (2) newspapers having general circulation
throughout the county or counties where service is to be
offered in a form to be prescribed by the Commission.

(d) Business License and Registered Agent.
An applicant shall demonstrate that it is legally

authorized and qualified to do business in the State of
Delaware, including that it has received authorization to do
business issued by the Secretary of State.  An applicant shall
provide the name, address, and telephone number of its
Delaware Resident Agent.  Following certification, all
Carriers shall promptly notify the Commission in writing of
changes of Resident Agent or the name, address, or
telephone number thereof.

(e) Identification and Billing of Intrastate and Interstate
Traffic.

An applicant shall be required to set forth an
effective plan for identifying and billing intrastate versus
interstate traffic, and shall pay the appropriate LEC for
access at the LEC’s prevailing access charge rates. If
adequate means of categorizing traffic as interstate versus
intrastate are not or cannot be developed, then, for purposes
of determining the access charge to be paid to the LEC for
such undetermined traffic, the traffic shall be deemed to be
of the jurisdiction having the higher access charges and
billed at the higher access charges.

(f) Bonds.
(i) Applicants with assets under $250,000.
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An applicant with total assets less than
$250,000 must post a $10,000 performance bond with
Delaware surety and renew such bond annually until the
Carrier’s assets exceed $250,000.

(ii) Carriers requiring deposits, or any form of
payment in advance for service.

No Carrier shall require its customers in
Delaware to pay a deposit or pay or otherwise provide any
security or advance as a condition of service unless that
Carrier first has filed with the Commission a bond, issued by
a corporate surety licensed to do business in Delaware,
guaranteeing the repayment of all customer deposits and
advances upon the termination of service.  The bond need
not be filed with the application, but no CPCN will be issued
until such bond is filed with the Commission.  The amount
of the bond shall be the greater of: (A) 150% of the projected
balance of deposits and advances at the end of three years of
operation; or (B) $50,000.  If at any time the actual amount
of deposits and advances held by a Carrier exceeds the bond,
then the Carrier promptly shall file with the Commission a
bond with surety to comply with the requirement of the
preceding sentence.  A Carrier may petition for waiver of the
bond requirement three years from the date the certificate
was issued and such waiver will be granted upon a
demonstration of an adequate operating history and financial
resources to insure the repayment to customers of any
advance payments or deposits held.

(g) Minimum Financial Requirements for LECs.
(i) Any applicant for certification as a facilities-

based CLEC shall demonstrate in its application that it
possesses a minimum of $100,000 of cash or cash
equivalent, reasonably liquid and readily available;

(ii) Any applicant for certification to do business
as a non-facilities-based CLEC shall demonstrate in its
application that it possesses a minimum of $25,000 of cash
or cash equivalent, reasonably liquid and readily available;

(iii) Any applicant that has profitable interstate
operations or operations in other states may meet the
minimum financial requirements of subparagraphs (i) and
(ii) above by submitting an audited balance sheet and income
statement demonstrating sufficient cash flow to meet the
above requirements; and

(iv) An applicant may demonstrate cash or cash
equivalent by the following:

(A) Cash or cash equivalent, including
cashier’s check, sight draft, performance bond proceeds, or
traveler’s checks;

(B) Certificate of deposit or other liquid
deposit, with a reputable bank or other financial institution;

(C) Preferred stock proceeds or other
corporate shareholder equity, provided that use is restricted
to maintenance of working capital for a period of at least
twelve (12) months beyond certification of the applicant by
the Commission;

(D) Letter of credit, issued by a reputable bank
or other financial institution, irrevocable for a period of at
least (12) months beyond certification of the applicant by the
Commission;

(E) Line of credit, issued by a reputable bank
or other financial institution, irrevocable for a period of at
least twelve (12) months beyond certification of the
applicant by the Commission;

(F) Loan, issued by a qualified subsidiary,
affiliate of applicant, or a qualified corporation holding a
controlling interest in the applicant, irrevocable for a period
of at least  twelve (12) months beyond certification of the
applicant by the Commission, and payable on an interest-
only basis for the same period;

(G) Guarantee, issued by a corporation,
copartnership, or other person or association, irrevocable for
a period of at least twelve (12) months beyond certification
of the applicant by the Commission;

(H) Guarantee, issued by a qualified
subsidiary, affiliate of the applicant, or a qualified
corporation holding controlling interests in the applicant
irrevocable for a period of at least twelve (12) months
beyond the certification of the applicant by the Commission.

(h) Initial Tariffs or Price Lists.
An applicant shall file proposed initial rates, prices,

rules, regulations, terms and conditions of service
specifically adopted for the State of Delaware.  Upon an
investigation into unjust and unreasonable pricing practices,
the Commission Staff may require the applicant to provide
cost data demonstrating that rates are reasonably expected to
cover the incremental cost of offering the service.  Copies of
the applicant’s rates and terms and condition of service in
other jurisdictions must be provided to the Commission upon
request.  Any applicant’s tariff or price lists must include at a
minimum specific policies regarding:

(i) customer deposits and advances; 
(ii) prompt reconciliation of customer billing

problems and complaints; and 
(iii) timely correction of service problems.

(i) Demonstration of Fitness.  
An applicant shall be required to demonstrate to the

Commission its financial, operational, and technical ability
to render service within the State of Delaware. Such
demonstration shall include, but is not limited to, the
following:

(i) The applicant’s certified financial statements
current within twelve (12) months of the filing, and, where
applicable, the most recent annual report to shareholders and
SEC Form 10-K;

(ii) A brief narrative description of the applicant’s
proposed operations in Delaware, any present  operations in
all other states, and states for which service applications are
pending;

(iii) A description of the relevant operations
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experience of applicant’s personnel principally responsible
for the proposed Delaware operations

(iv) A specific description of the applicant’s
engineering and technical expertise showing its
qualifications to provide the intended service, including the
names, addresses, and qualifications of the officers,
directors, and technical or engineering personnel or
contractors who will be operating and/or maintaining the
equipment to be used to provide such service; and

(v) A description, including location, of the
applicant’s facilities that the applicant will use to provide the
proposed service in the next three years. Upon written
request of the Commission Staff, the applicant shall provide
a one year construction, maintenance, engineering, and
financial plan for all services intended to be provided within
the State of Delaware with a technical description of the
equipment which will be used to provide such service.

Rule 5. New Options or Offerings; Changes to Existing
Rates, Prices or Terms and Conditions. 

(a) Notice Required for New Service Options and
Offerings

No Carrier shall offer new telecommunication
service options or offerings except ten (10) days after filing
with the Commission the proposed tariff or price list.

(b) Notice Required to Revise Existing Tariff or Price
List.

No Carrier shall revise an existing tariff or price list
except three (3) days after filing with the Commission the
proposed tariff or price list.

(c) Service of Notice.
A Carrier filing a new service or changes to an

existing service pursuant to this Rule shall serve the filing
on: 

(i) the Public Advocate; and 
(ii) all interested persons that submit a written

request to the Commission to receive such notice.
A Carrier shall file with the Commission a

certificate of service as part of its notice requirement.  To the
extent that any such documents contain information claimed
to be proprietary and interested persons have submitted a
written request for notice, but have not executed an
appropriate proprietary agreement, the Carrier shall provide
an expurgated version of the notice to such parties.

(d) Investigation of Filings.
A filing made pursuant to this rule shall not

preclude the Commission or its Staff from an informal or
formal investigation into the filing in order to protect fair
competition, including requiring the Carrier to provide cost
data demonstrating that rates are reasonably expected to
cover the incremental cost of offering the service.  

(e) Special Contracts
A Carrier shall file under this rule all contracts with

a customer to the extent the contract changes the terms or

conditions generally offered to the public in the carrier’s
tariff or price list on file with the Commission.

Rule 6. Discrimination Prohibited. 
No Carrier shall unreasonably discriminate among

persons requesting a service within the State of Delaware.
Any finding of unreasonable discrimination shall be grounds
for suspension or revocation of the Certificate of Public
Convenience and Necessity granted by the Commission, as
well as the imposition of monetary and other penalties
pursuant t o  2Del. C. §§ 217 and 218.

Rule 7.  Abandonment or Discontinuation of Service.
A Carrier may abandon or discontinue service, in whole

or in part, in accordance with the terms of 26 Del. C. §
203A(c). The Carrier shall provide notice of its application
to discontinue or abandon service to its customers
subscribing to such service and to the Division of Public
Advocate.  Such notice shall describe the options available
to the customers. The Carrier’s application to abandon or
discontinue a service shall contain proposed provision for
payment of all relevant outstanding liabilities (deposits and
advance payments), if any, to customers within the State of
Delaware.

Rule 8. Services to be Provided By CLECs Providing
Voice Telephone Service.

Any CLEC providing voice telephone service shall
offer, at a minimum, the following telecommunication
services to its customers:

(a) access to the public switched network;
(b) dial tone line services;
(c) local usage services;
(d) access to all available long distance Carriers;
(e) TouchTone services;
(f) White page listing;
(g) Access to 911 enhanced emergency system;
(h) Local directory assistance service;
(i) Access to telecommunications relay service.

Rule 9. Resale Prohibitions.
(a) Cross-Class Selling.

A Carrier that by tariff or price list makes a service
available only to residential customers or a limited class of
residential customers may prohibit the purchaser fro
offering such services to classes of customers that are not
eligible for such services from the providing Carrier.

(b) Other.
With respect to any restrictions on resale other than

cross-class selling as described in paragraph (a) above, a
Carrier may impose a restriction only if the Commission
determines that the restriction is reasonable and
nondiscriminatory.
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Rule 10. Reports to the Commission.
(a) Annual and Periodic Reports.

All Carriers shall file with the Commission an
Annual Report as described below and such other reports or
information as the Commission may from time to time
require to fulfill its statutory obligations. The Annual Report
shall include standard financial reports (balance sheet,
statement of operations, supporting schedules, etc.).  This
report shall also include:

(i) the same after-the-fact information that
management is provided concerning the measurement of
performance provided in Delaware;

(ii) the information used to determine Delaware
income tax liability;

(iii) financial and operating information for the
smallest management unit that includes Delaware;

(iv) intrastate revenues (net of uncollectible) by
service category;

(v) intrastate access and billing and collection cost
by service category;

(vi) total number of customers by service category;
(vii) total intrastate minutes of use by service

category;
(viii) total intrastate number of calls by service

category;
(ix) a description of service offered;
(x) a description of each complaint received by

service category (in the form of a single Complaints Log);
and

(xi) verification of deposits, customer advances, the
bond requirement and the bond with surety, where
applicable.

(b) Accounting System.
All Carriers shall use an accounting system in

accordance with Generally Accepted Accounting Principles
or such other uniform system of accounts previously
approved in writing by the Chief of Technical Services of the
Commission.

(c) Attestation.
All Carriers shall file all reports required by these

Rules with a sworn statement by the person under whose
direction the report was prepared, that the information
provided in the report is true and correct to the best of the
person’s knowledge and belief.

(d) Time for Filing.
All periodic reports to be filed with this

Commission must be received on or before the following due
dates, unless otherwise specified herein, or unless good
cause is demonstrated by the Carrier:

i. Annual Report:  one hundred twenty (120)
days after the end of the reported period; and

ii. Special and additional reports: as may be
prescribed by the Commission unless good cause to the
contrary is demonstrated.

Rule 11. Enforcement.
(a) Commission Oversight.

The Commission shall have the authority and the
discretion to take such action, upon complaint, motion, or
formal or informal investigation, to remedy any alleged
violations of these Rules.  The Commission shall have
available to it all remedies and enforcement powers
bestowed by statute and consistent with due process.

(b) Violation and Penalties.
Failure of a Carrier to comply with any provision of

these Rules may result in the suspension or revocation of its
CPCN, and/or of the imposition of monetary or other
penalties as authorized by 26 Del. C. §§ 217 and 218.

(c) Proceedings. 
Upon application by any person affected, including

the Division of the Public Advocate or another Carrier, or
upon its own motion, the Commission may conduct a
proceeding to determine whether a Carrier has violated any
provision of these Rules.  Such proceedings shall be
conducted according to the Commission’s Rules of Practice
and Procedure.

(d) Investigations
For the purpose of determining whether it is

necessary or advisable to commence a proceeding, the
Commission or its Staff may, at any time, investigate
whether a Carrier is in compliance with these Rules.  Upon
request, the Carrier shall provide to the Commission or its
Staff sufficient information to demonstrate its compliance or
noncompliance with the Rules, including such data as shall
demonstrate that the Carriers’ services are provided at rates
that generate sufficient revenue to cover the incremental cost
of offering that service.

(e) Customer Complaints as Ground for Proceeding or
Investigation.

The Commission may hold a proceeding to
determine whether to suspend or revoke the certificate of, or
otherwise penalize any Carrier for reason of customer
complaints.  The Commission may investigate any customer
complaints received.

Rule  12. Waiver of Rules Upon Petition.
A Carrier may petition the Commission for waiver of a

Rule or Rules on a temporary or permanent basis by
demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Commission that a
waiver is in the public interest or for other good cause,
including unreasonable hardship or burden.   The Carrier
shall comply with all Rules until the petition for waiver has
been granted.

PART B
CUSTOMER ELECTION OF PREFERRED CARRIER

Rule 13. Additional Definitions.
For purposes of this PART B, in addition to the
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Definitions set forth by PART A, the following definitions
shall apply:

(a) Submitting Carrier shall mean a Carrier that:  (i)
requests on the behalf of a customer that the customer’s
telecommunications Carrier be changed; and (ii) seeks to
provide retail services to an end user customer.  A Carrier
may be treated as a Submitting Carrier, however, if it is
responsible for any unreasonable delays in the submission of
Carrier change requests or for the submission of
unauthorized Carrier change requests, including fraudulent
authorizations.

(b) Executing Carrier shall mean a Carrier that effects a
request that a customer’s telecommunications Carrier be
changed.  A Carrier may be treated as an executing Carrier,
however, if it is responsible for any unreasonable delays in
the execution of unauthorized Carrier changes, including
fraudulent authorizations.

(c) Preferred Carrier shall mean the Carrier providing
service to the customer at the time of the adoption of these
Rules, or such Carrier as the customer thereafter designates
as the customer’s Preferred Carrier. 

(d) Preferred Carrier Change Order shall mean
generally any order changing a customer’s designated
Carrier for local exchange service, intraLATA intrastate toll
service or both.

Rule 14. Applicability.
Any Carrier offering intrastate and/or local exchange

service for public use within the State of Delaware,
including the ILEC, Bell Atlantic-Delaware, Inc., shall be
subject to the provisions of these Part B Rules.

Rule 15.  Verification of Orders for Telecommunications
Service.

No Carrier shall submit a Preferred Carrier Change
Order unless and until the Order has been first confirmed in
accordance with one of the following procedures:

(a) The Carrier has obtained the customer’s written
authorization in a form that meets the requirements of Rule
16; or

(b) The Carrier has obtained the customer’s electronic
authorization to submit the Preferred Carrier Change Order.
Such authorization must be placed from the telephone
number(s) on which the Preferred Carrier is to be changed
and must confirm the information required in Rule 16(e).
Carriers electing to confirm sales electronically shall
establish one or more toll-free telephone numbers
exclusively for that purpose.  Calls to the number(s) will
connect a customer to a voice response unit, or similar
mechanism that records the required information regarding
the Preferred Carrier change, including automatically
recording the originating automatic numbering
identification; or

(c) An appropriately qualified independent third party

has obtained the customer’s oral authorization to submit the
Preferred Carrier Change Order that confirms and includes
appropriate verification data (e.g., the customer’s date of
birth or social security number).  The independent third party
must: (1) not be owned, managed, controlled, or directed by
the Carrier or the Carrier’s marketing agent; (2) must not
have any financial incentive to confirm Preferred Carrier
Change Orders for the Carrier or the Carrier’s marketing
agent; and (3) must operate in a location physically separate
from the Carrier or the Carrier’s marketing agent.  The
content of the verification must include clear and
conspicuous confirmation that the customer has authorized a
Preferred Carrier change.

Rule 16.Letter of Agency Form and Content.
(a) Carrier may use a letter of agency to obtain written

authorization and/or verification of a customer’s request to
change his or her Preferred Carrier selection.  A letter of
agency that does not conform with this Rule is invalid.

(b) The letter of agency shall be a separate document
(or an easily separable document) containing only the
authorizing language described in paragraph (e) of this Rule
having the sole purpose of authorizing a Carrier to initiate a
Preferred Carrier change.  The letter of agency must be
signed and dated by the customer to the telephone line(s)
requesting the Preferred Carrier change.

(c) The letter of agency shall not be combined on the
same document with inducements of any kind.

(d) Notwithstanding paragraphs (b) and (c), a letter of
agency authorizing a preferred Carrier selection affecting the
customer’s intrastate service provider only, may be
combined with checks that contain only the required letter of
agency as prescribed above together with the necessary
information to make the check a negotiable instrument.
Such a letter of agency check shall not contain any
promotional language or material. Such a letter of agency
check shall contain in easily readable, boldface type on the
front of the check, a notice that the customer is authorizing a
Preferred Carrier change by signing the check.  The letter of
agency language shall be placed near the signature line on
the back of the check.

(e) At a minimum, the letter of agency must be printed
with a type of sufficient size and readable type to be clearly
legible and must contain clear and unambiguous language
that confirms:

(i) The customer’s billing name and address and
each telephone number to be covered by the Preferred
Carrier change order; 

(ii) The decision to change the Preferred Carrier
from the current Carrier to the soliciting Carrier;

(iii) That the customer designates the Submitting
Carrier to act as the customer’s agent for the Preferred
Carrier change;

(iv) That the customer understands that only one
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Carrier may be designated as the customer’s local exchange
or intrastate Carrier for any one telephone number; and

(v) That the customer understands that any
Preferred Carrier selection the customer chooses may
involve a charge to the customer for changing the customer’s
Preferred Carrier.

(f) Any Carrier designated in a letter of agency as a
Preferred Carrier must be the Carrier directly setting the
rates for the customer.

(g) Letters of agency shall not suggest or require that a
customer take some action in order to retain the customer’s
current telecommunications Carrier.

(h) If any portion of a letter of agency is translated into
another language, then all portions of the letter of agency
must be translated into that language.  Every letter of agency
must be translated into the same language as any
promotional materials, oral descriptions, or instructions
provided with the letter of agency.

Rule 17.  Submission and Execution of Changes in
Customer Carrier Selections.

(a) A Submitting Carrier shall maintain and preserve
records of verification of customer authorization for a
minimum period of two years after obtaining such
verification.

(b) An Executing Carrier shall not verify the
submission of a change in customer’s selection of a provider
of telecommunications service received from a Submitting
Carrier. An Executing Carrier shall promptly execute,
without an unreasonable delay, any changes that have been
verified and submitted by a Submitting Carrier.

(c) Where a Carrier provides more than one type of
telecommunications service (e.g., local exchange,
intraLATA/intrastate toll, interLATA/interstate toll, and
international toll), that Carrier must obtain separate
authorization from the customer for each service sold,
although the authorizations may be made within the same
solicitation.  Each authorization must be verified separately
from any other authorization obtained in the same
solicitation.  Each authorization must be verified in
accordance with the verification procedures prescribed in
these Rules.

Rule 18. Preferred Carrier Freezes.
(a) A Preferred Carrier freeze prevents a change in a

customer’s Preferred Carrier selection unless the customer
has given the Carrier from which the freeze was requested
his or her express consent.  All Carriers who offer Preferred
Carrier freezes must comply with the provisions of this Rule.

(b) All Local Exchange Carriers that offer Preferred
Carrier freezes shall offer freezes on a nondiscriminatory
basis to all customers, regardless of the customer’s Carrier
selections.

(c) Preferred Carrier freeze procedures, including any

solicitation, must clearly distinguish among
telecommunications services (e.g., local exchange,
intraLATA/intrastate toll, interLATA/interstate toll, and
international toll) subject to a Preferred Carrier freeze.  The
Carrier offering the freeze must obtain separate authorization
for each service for which a Preferred Carrier freeze is
requested.

(d) All Carrier-provided solicitation and other
materials regarding Preferred Carrier freezes must include:

(i) An explanation, in clear and neutral language,
of what a Preferred Carrier freeze is and what services may
be subject to a freeze;

(ii) A description of the specific procedures
necessary to lift a Preferred Carrier freeze; and explanation
that these steps are in addition to the Commission’s
verification rules for changing a customer’s Preferred
Carrier selections; and an explanation that the customer will
be unable to make a change in Carrier selection unless he or
she lifts the freeze; and 

(iii) An explanation of any charges associated with
the Preferred Carrier freeze.

(e) No Carrier shall implement a Preferred Carrier
freeze unless the customer’s request to impose a freeze has
first been confirmed in accordance with one of the following
procedures:

(i) The Local Exchange Carrier has obtained the
customer’s written and signed authorization in a form that
meets the requirements of these Rules; or 

(ii) The Local Exchange Carrier has obtained the
customer’s electronic authorization, placed from the
telephone number(s) on which the Preferred Carrier freeze is
to imposed, to impose a Preferred Carrier freeze.  The
electronic authorization should confirm appropriate
verification data (e.g. the customer’s date of birth or social
security number) and the information required in these
Rules.   Carriers electing to confirm Preferred Carrier freeze
orders electronically shall establish one or more toll-free
telephone numbers exclusively for that purpose.  Calls to the
number(s) will connect a customer to a voice response unit,
or similar mechanism that records the required information
regarding the Preferred Carrier freeze request, including
automatically recording the originating automatic number
identification; or

(iii) An appropriately qualified independent third
party has obtained the customer’s oral authorization to
submit the Preferred Carrier freeze and confirmed that
appropriate verification data (e.g. the customer’s date of
birth or social security number) and the information required
in these Rules.  The independent third party must: (A) not be
owned, managed, or directly controlled by the Carrier or the
Carrier’s marketing agent; (B) must not have any financial
incentive to confirm Preferred Carrier freeze requests for the
Carrier or the Carrier’s marketing agent; and (C) must
operate in a location physically separate from the Carrier or
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the Carrier’s marketing agent.  The content of the
verification must include clear and conspicuous
confirmation that the customer has authorized a Preferred
Carrier freeze.

(f) A Carrier may accept a customer’s written and
signed authorization to impose a freeze on his or her
Preferred Carrier selection.  A written authorization that
does not conform to this Rule is invalid and may not be used
to impose a Preferred Carrier freeze.

(i) The written authorization shall comply with
these Rules concerning the form and content for letters of
agency.

(ii) At a minimum, the written authorization must
be printed with a readable type of sufficient size to be clearly
legible and must contain clear and unambiguous language
that confirms:

(A) The customer’s billing name and address
and the telephone number(s) to be covered by the Preferred
Carrier freeze;

(B) The decision to place a Preferred Carrier
freeze on the telephone number(s) and particular service(s).
The authorization must contain a separate statement for each
service to be frozen;

(C) That the customer understands that she or
he will be unable to make a change in Carrier selection
unless she or he lifts the Preferred Carrier freeze; and 

(D) That the customer understands that any
Preferred Carrier freeze may involve a charge to the
customer.

(g) All Carriers who offer Preferred Carrier freezes
must, at a minimum, offer customers the following
procedures for lifting a Preferred Carrier freeze:

(i) A Local Exchange Carrier administering a
Preferred Carrier freeze must accept a customer’s written
and signed authorization stating her or his intent to lift a
Preferred Carrier freeze; and

(ii) A Local Exchange Carrier administering a
Preferred Carrier freeze must accept a customer’s oral
authorization stating her or his intent to lift a Preferred
Carrier freeze and must offer a mechanism that allows a
submitting Carrier to conduct a three-way conference with
the Carrier administering the freeze and the customer in
order to lift a freeze.  When engaged in oral authorization to
lift a Preferred Carrier freeze, the Carrier administering the
freeze shall confirm appropriate verification data (e.g., the
customer’s date of birth or social security number) and the
customer’s intent to lift the particular freeze.

Rule 19. Customer Protection.
(a) Procedures To Be Followed By The Customer

A customer who believes his or her Carrier or
Carriers have been changed, without the customer’s
authorization, and/or that the customer has been billed for
charges not authorized by the customer, should first attempt

to resolve the matter with the Carrier or Carriers responsible
for the unauthorized changes and/or charges. If the customer
is not satisfied with the resolution offered by the Carrier, the
customer may file a complaint with the Commission.

(b) Procedures To Be Followed By Carriers.
A Carrier who is informed by a customer that the

customer believes the Carrier has caused or allowed a
change in the customer’s Carrier without the customer’s
authorization, or that the Carrier has caused or allowed the
customer to be billed for charges not authorized by the
customer shall attempt to resolve the complaint promptly
and in good faith.  If the customer and Carrier are not able to
resolve the complaint, then the Carrier shall inform the
customer orally or in writing of the right to file a complaint
with the Commission and shall provide the customer with
the Commission’s address and telephone number.

(c) Carriers to Maintain Record of Complaints.
Each Carrier shall maintain a record of the

complaints received by it alleging that the Carrier has caused
or allowed a customer’s Carrier to be changed without the
customer’s authorization or has caused or allowed the
customer to be billed for charges not authorized by the
customer.  The Carrier shall maintain the record of each
complaint for a period of two years following initial
notification of the complaint.  Upon request by the
Commission or its staff, a Carrier shall furnish a copy of its
complaint records and such other information as the
Commission Staff may require.  A Carrier’s complaint
records shall include at least the following information:

(i) name, address, and telephone number of
complainant and the date and manner received by the
Carrier; and

(ii) a chronological summary of the dispute and its
current status, including any resolution and date of
resolution.

(d) Refund and Penalties.
In the event the Commission determines that a

Carrier has caused a customer’s Carrier for a service to be
changed without the customer’s authorization obtained in
exact compliance with these Rules, or has caused the
customer to be billed for charges imposed without exact
compliance with these Rules, then the Commission may
require the Carrier to promptly refund or void to the
customer any charges the Carrier has caused to be billed as a
result of the unauthorized change or charge, and/or any other
remedies available for violation of these Rules as allowed by
law.
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E X H I B I T  "B"

BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN THE MATTER OF THE SALE, |
RESALE, AND OTHER PROVISIONS|
OF INTRASTATE |  PSC 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS |  REGULATION
SERVICES (OPENED MAY 1, 1984; |  DOCKET NO. 10
REOPENED NOVEMBER 17, 1998 |

|
IN THE MATTER OF THE |
DEVELOPMENT OF REGULATIONS|  PSC
FOR THE FACILITATION OF |  REGULATION
COMPETITIVE ENTRY INTO THE |  DOCKET NO. 45
TELECOMMUNICATIONS LOCAL |
EXCHANGE SERVICE MARKET |
(OPENED NOVEMBER 21, 1995; |
REOPENED NOVEMBER 17, 1998 |

NOTICE OF PROPOSED REPEAL AND ADOPTIO
OF RULES FOR THE PROVISION OF 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE

The Delaware Public Service Commission (the "PSC"
or "Commission") proposes to repeal its existing "Rules for
the Provision of Competitive Intrastate Telecommunications
Services" first adopted In the Matter of the Sale, Resale and
Other Provisions of Intrastate Telecommunications Services,
PSC Regulation Docket No. 10 ("the Docket 10 Rules") and
its existing "Interim Rules Governing Competition in the
Market for Local Telecommunications Services" first
adopted In the Matter of The Development of Regulations
For The Facilitation of Competitive Entry Into the
Telecommunications Local Exchange Service Market,  PSC
Regulation Docket No. 45 (the "Docket 45 Rules"), and to
adopt in their place a set of Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Service .   The proposed new Rules are
intended to reflect the changes in the regulatory environment
since the adoption of the Docket 10 and 45 Rules; to
consolidate the Docket 10 Rules and Docket 45 Rules into a
single set of rules; and to harmonize the provisions of these
Rules with other regulatory provisions, where practicable.
The proposed new Rules will, overall, lessen the regulatory
burdens and costs, both to regulated carriers and the PSC. 

Significant proposed changes to the Rules include
provisions: allowing carriers to file price lists in place of
tariffs; eliminating the requirement that tariffs (or price lists)
be accompanied by cost studies; allowing changes to
existing rates to be implemented upon three days notice,
rather than on fourteen or five days notice; adding a new rule
to govern customer election of preferred carriers consistent
with the Federal Communications Commission’s preferred

carrier election rules; and adding a new rule governing
enforcement of the Rules for the Provision of
Telcommunications Services.

The PSC derives its legal authority to make and amend
regulations governing the conduct of public utilities from 26
Del. C. §§ 201 and 209. In addition, under 26 Del. C. § 703,
the PSC is authorized to modify its regulation of
telecommunications services where such modifications will,
among other things, promote efficiency in public and private
resource allocations and encourage economic development.
The process under which the PSC acts to make and amend
regulations is set forth by 29 Del. C. §§ 10111 through
10119.

The text of the existing and proposed Rules, along with
summaries of the proposed changes, may be inspected at the
Commission’s office, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon
Building, Suite 100, Dover, DE 19904 during the
Commission’s normal business hours, Monday to Friday,
8:00 AM to 4:30 PM.  Copies of the present and proposed
Rules are available at a fee of $0.25 per page.  The present
and proposed rules may also be inspected and copied at the
Commission’s website - http://www.state.de.us/govern/
agencies/pubservc/delpsc.htm.

The PSC solicits written comments, compilations of
data, briefs, or other written materials addressing repeal of
the Docket 10 Rules and Docket 45 Rules and adoption of
the proposed Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications
Service.  Twelve (12) copies of such written materials shall
be filed with the Commission at its office at the above
address on or before May 30, 2000.  In addition, any
comments should include proposed text of any further or
alternate amendments to the Rules supported by the party
submitting comments.  The Public Service Commission will
conduct a public hearing upon the proposed repeal of the
Docket 10 and 45 Rules and adoption of the proposed Rules
for the Provision of Telecommunications Services and all
comments and materials received on  June6, 2000,
commencing at 1:00 PM at the Commission’s Dover office.
Persons who wish to participate in these proceedings may
contact the Commission in writing by May 30, 2000.
Individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in these
proceedings may contact the Commission to discuss
auxiliary aids or services needed to facilitate such
participation.  Contact may be in person, by writing,
telephonically, by use of the Telecommunications Relay
Service, or otherwise.  The Commission’s toll free number is
800-282-8574.

Persons may also obtain more information by contacting
the Commission at (302) 739-4247.  That number can also
be used for Text Telephone Calls.  Inquiries can also be sent
by Internet e-mail to cmcdowell@state.de.us.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.  

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF MASSAGE AND BODYWORK

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 
105(1) (24 Del.C. §5306(1))

Order Adopting Rules and Regulations

AND NOW, this 6th day of April, 2000, in accordance
with 29 Del. C. §10118 and for the reasons stated hereinafter,
the Board of Massage and Bodywork of the State of
Delaware (hereinafter “the Board”) enters this Order
adopting Rules and Regulations.

Nature of the Proceedings

Pursuant to its authority under 24 Del. C. §§5306(1), the
Board proposes to adopt changes and additions to its existing
Rules and Regulations, relating to the definition of the
practice of “massage and bodywork” and continuing
education requirements for licensees.  Notice of the public
hearing on the Board’s proposed rule amendments was
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations on
February 1, 2000 and in two Delaware newspapers of
general circulation, all in accordance with 29 Del.C. §10115.
The public hearing was held as noticed on March 2, 2000.
The Board deliberated and voted on  the proposed rule

amendments following the public hearing at the February 1,
2000 meeting, voting unanimously to adopt the rule
amendments.  This is the Board’s Decision and Order
ADOPTING the rule amendments as proposed.

Evidence and Information Submitted at Public Hearing

The Board received no written comments in response to
the notice of intention to adopt the proposed rule
amendments.  No members of the public attended the March
2, 2000 public hearing.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

As outlined in the preceding section, the public was
given the required notice of the Board’s intention to amend
its rules and regulations and was offered an adequate
opportunity to provide the Board with comments on the
proposed regulations.  The Board concludes that its
consideration of the proposed rules and regulations is within
the Board’s general authority to promulgate regulations
under 24 Del.C. §5306(1).  Specific statutory authority for
the Board’s adoption of continuing education standards
(Proposed Rule 6.0) is found at 24 Del.C. §5306(7). 

The proposed addition of Rule 1.3 1 categorizes certain
modalities and schools of practice which do or do not
constitute the “practice of massage and bodywork” as that

term is defined in 24 Del.C. §5302(6).2  The Board
concludes that the adoption of Rule 1.3 will provide
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guidance to licensees, non-licensees and the public as to
which modalities constitute the practice of massage and
bodywork and may, therefore, only be performed by a
practitioner licensed by the Board.  The Rule will further
provide guidance and consistency in Board evaluation of
continuing education programs and credits.  

The Board specifically discussed the inclusion of
Reflexology as a modality which does constitute the practice
of massage and bodywork.  Reflexology is a hands-on
treatment designed to promote health and well-being and so
falls within the statutory definition of the “practice of
massage and bodywork” set forth at 24 Del. C. §5302(6).

Proposed Rule 6.0 completely revises the current Rule 6
pertaining to Continuing Education.  Proposed Rule 6.0
increases the number of required continuing education hours
for massage therapists from 12 to 24 per biennial licensing
period; clarifies content requirements and Board approval
procedures; allows credit for certain self-directed activities,
such as teaching and research; allows additional credit for
serving as a continuing education instructor; establishes
reporting requirements, and establishes the procedure by
which a licensee can request an extension of time in which to
complete his or her hours in cases of hardship.  

The increase in continuing education hours for massage
therapists is appropriate, as licensed therapists (as distinct
from massage technicians) are held to a higher educational
and practice standard, as they are allowed to employ
massage and bodywork techniques to treat medical
conditions on the prescription of a physician or chiropractor.
The Board concludes that the revision of Rule 6.0 helps the
Board implement 24 Del. C. §5306(7) in a way consistent
with the interests of the public, the regulated practitioners,
and the Board’s need to process license renewals in an
orderly and efficient manner.

Finally, the Board has made a non-substantive
amendment to Rule 4.0 to correct a typographical error and
an error in citation to the statute.  

In summary, the Board concludes that the proposed
revisions to its Rules and Regulations are necessary for the
enforcement of 24 Del. C. Chapter 53, and for the full and
effective performance of the Board’s duties under that
Chapter.  The Board also finds that adopting the regulations
as proposed is in the best interest of the citizens of the State
of Delaware, particularly those persons who are the direct
recipients of services regulated by the Board.  The Board,

therefore, adopts the proposed revisions to its Rules and
Regulations as set forth in Exhibit “A” attached hereto.  

Order

NOW, THEREFORE, by unanimous vote of a quoru
of the Board of Massage and Bodywork, IT IS HEREBY
ORDERED THAT:

1. The revisions to Rules and Regulations 1.0, 4.0, and
6.0 are approved and adopted in the exact text attached
hereto as Exhibit “A”.

2. The effective date of this Order is ten (10) days
from the date of its publication in the Delaware Register of
Regulations, pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10118(e).

3. The Board reserves the jurisdiction and authority to
issue such other and further orders in this matter as may be
necessary or proper.

BOARD OF MASSAGE AND BODYWORK 
(as authenticated by a quorum of the Board):

Allan Angel, President, Public Member
Phyllis E. Mikell, Vice-President, Professional

Member
Daniel P. Stokes, Secretary, Professional Member
Vivian L. Cebrick, Public Member
Elizabeth Olsen, Esq., Public Member
Elizabeth T. Richmond, Professional Member
Patricia A. Beetschen, Professional Member

Board of Massage and Bodywork Rules and Regulations

1.0 Definitions and General Definitions.
1.1  The term "500 hours of supervised in-class study"

as referenced in 24 Del.C. Section 5308(a)(1) shall mean
that an instructor has controlled and reviewed the applicant's
education on the premises of a school or approved progra
of massage or bodywork therapy, and can document that the
applicant has successfully completed a curriculum that is
substantially the same as referenced in Section 5308(a)(1)
and which includes hands-on technique and
contraindications as they relate to massage and bodywork.
More than one school or approved program of massage or
bodywork therapy may be attended in order to accumulate
the total 500 hour requirement.

1.2 The term a "100-hour course of supervised in-class
study of massage" as referenced in 24 Del.C. Section
5309(a)(1) shall mean that an instructor has controlled and
reviewed the applicant's education on the premises of a
school or approved program of massage or bodywork
therapy, and can document that the applicant has
successfully completed a 100 hour course which includes
hands-on technique and theory, and anatomy, physiology,
and contraindications as they relate to massage and

1. The Board’s Rules and Regulations, formerly iden-
tified by number and letter (e.g. Rule 1(a)) have been re-
numbered according to the uniform system of the Dela-
ware Register of Regulations (e.g. Rule 1.1).
2. The title of Rule 1.0 has also been changed from

“Definitions” to “Definitions and General Definitions”

to reflect the new content of the Rule.
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bodywork.
1.3 The “practice of massage and bodywork” includes,

but is not limited to, the following modalities:
Acupressure
Chair Massage
Craniosacral Therapy
Deep Tissue Massage Therapy
Healing Touch
Joint Mobilization
Lymph Drainage Therapy
Manual Lymphatic Drainage
Massage Therapy
Myofascial Release Therapy
Neuromuscular Therapy
Orthobionomy
Process Acupressure
Reflexology
Rolfing
Shiatsu
Swedish Massage Therapy
Trager
Visceral Manipulation
The practice of the following modalities does not

constitute the “practice of massage and bodywork”:
Alexander Technique
Aroma therapy
Feldenkrais
Hellerwork
Polarity Therapy
Reiki
Shamanic Technique
Therapeutic Touch

2.0 Filing of Application for Licensure as Massage/
Bodywork Therapist.

2.1 A person seeking licensure as a massage/bodywork
therapist must submit a completed application on a form
prescribed by the Board to the Board office at the Division of
Professional Regulation, Dover, Delaware.  Each application
must be accompanied by (1) a copy of a current certificate
from a State certified cardiopulmonary resuscitation
program as required by 24 Del.C. Section 5308(3); and (2)
payment of the application fee established by the Division of
Professional Regulation pursuant to 24  Del.C. Section 5311.

2.2 In addition to the application and materials
described in paragraph 2.1 of this Rule, an applicant for
licensure as a massage/bodywork therapist shall have (1)
each school or approved program of massage or bodywork
where the applicant completed the hours of study required by
24 Del.C. Section 5308(a)(1) submit to the Board an official
transcript or official documentation showing dates and total
hours attended and a description of the curriculum
completed; and (2) Assessment Systems, Incorporated or its
predecessor, submit to the Board verification of the

applicant's score on the written examination described in
Rule 3 herein.

2.3 The Board shall not consider an application for
licensure as a massage/bodywork therapist until all items
specified in paragraphs 2.1 and 2.2 of  this Rule are
submitted to the Board's office.

3.0 Examination.
The Board designates the National Certification

Examination administered by the National Certification
Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork
("NCBTMB") as the written examination to be taken by all
persons applying for licensure as a massage/bodywork
therapist.  The Board will accept as a passing score on the
exam the passing score established by the NCBTMB.

4.0 Application for Certification as Massage Technician.
4.1 A person seeking certification as a massage

technician must submit a completed application on a for
prescribed the Board to the Board office at the Division of
Professional Regulation, Dover, Delaware.  Each application
must be accompanied by (1) a copy of current certificate
form from a State certified cardiopulmonary resuscitation
program as required by 24 Del.C. Section 5308(3)
5309(a)(2); and (2) payment of the application fee
established by the Division of Professional Regulation
pursuant to 24 Del.C. Section 5311.

Summary: This amendment corrects a
typographical error and an error in citation in the current
rule 4.1.  This is a non-substantive amendment.  29 Del. C.
§10113(b)(4).

4.2 In addition to the application and materials
described in paragraph 4.1 of this Rule, an applicant for
certification as a massage technician shall have the school or
approved program of massage or bodywork therapy where
the applicant completed the hours or study required by 24
Del.C. Section 5309(a)(1) submit to the Board an official
transcript or official documentation showing dates and total
hours attended and a description of the curriculu
completed.

4.3 The Board shall not consider an application for
certification as a massage technician until all items specified
in paragraphs 4.1 and 4.2 of this Rule are submitted to the
Board's office.

5.0 Expired License or Certificate.
An expired license as a massage/bodywork therapist or

expired certificate as a massage technician may be reinstated
within ninety (90) days after expiration upon application and
payment of the renewal fee plus a late fee as set by the
Division of Professional Regulation.

6.0 Continuing Education.
6.1 As a precedent setting condition to the renewal of
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the two year license or certification, a massage/bodywork
therapist or massage technician must complete twelve hours
of study in the field of massage/bodywork practice during
the two year period immediately preceding renewal;
provided however, that if the massage/bodywork therapist or
massage technician has been licensed or certified one year or
less on the date of renewal, the requirement for continuing
education shall be pro-rated as follows:

_ Licensed or certified less than six months at date of
renewal; zero (0) hours;

_ Licensed or certified six - twelve months at date of
renewal; six (6) credit hours.

6.2 Continuing education may include, but is not
limited to conferences, seminars and classes.  Renewal of
licensure of certification is contingent upon approval of
continuing education courses by the Board.

(Continuing Education Adopted March 26, 1996).

6.1 Hours required.  For license or certification periods
beginning September 1, 2000 and thereafter, each massage/
bodywork therapist shall complete twenty-four (24) hours of
acceptable continuing education during each biennial
licensing period, except as otherwise provided in these Rules
and Regulations.  Each massage technician shall complete
twelve (12) hours of acceptable continuing education during
each biennial licensing period, except as otherwise provided
in these Rules and Regulations. Completion of the required
continuing education is a condition of renewing a license or
certificate.  Hours earned in a biennial licensing period in
excess of those required for renewal may not be credited
towards the hours required for renewal in any other licensing
period.

6.2 Proration.  Candidates for renewal who were first
licensed or certified twelve (12) months or less before the
date of renewal are exempt from the continuing education
requirement for the period in which they were first licensed
or certified.

6.3 Content.
6.3.1 Except as provided in Rule 6.3.2,

continuing education hours must contribute to the
professional competency of the massage/bodywork therapist
or massage technician within modalities constituting the
practice of massage and bodywork. Continuing education
hours must maintain, improve or expand skills and
knowledge obtained prior to licensure or certification, or
develop new and relevant skills and knowledge.

6.3.2 No more than 25% of the continuing
education hours required in any licensing period may be
earned in any combination of the following areas and
methods:

6.3.2.1 Courses in modalities other then
massage/bodywork therapy

6.3.2.2 Personal growth and self-
improvement courses

6.3.2.3 Business and management courses
6.3.2.4 Courses taught by correspondence or

mail
6.3.2.5 Courses taught by video,

teleconferencing, video conferencing or computer
6.4 Board approval.

6.4.1 “Acceptable continuing education” shall
include any continuing education programs meeting the
requirements of Rule 6.3 and offered or approved by the
following organizations:

6.4.1.1 NCBTMB
6.4.1.2 American Massage Therapy

Association
6.4.1.3 Association of Oriental Bodywork

Therapists of America
6.4.1.4 Association of Bodywork and

Massage Practitioners
6.4.1.5 Delaware Nurses Association

6.4.2 Other continuing education programs or
providers may apply for pre-approval of continuing
education hours by submitting a written request to the Board
which includes the program agenda, syllabus and time spent
on each topic, the names and resumes of the presenters and
the number of hours for which approval is requested.  The
Board reserves the right to approve less than the number of
hours requested.

6.4.3 Self-directed activity:The Board may,
upon request, review and approve credit for self-directed
activities, including, but not limited to, teaching, research,
preparation and/or presentation of professional papers and
articles.  A licensee must obtain pre-approval of the Board
prior to undertaking the self-directed activity in order to
assure continuing education credit for the activity.  Any self-
directed activity submitted for approval must include a
written proposal outlining the scope of the activity, the
number of continuing education hours requested, the
anticipated completion date(s), the role of the licensee in the
case of multiple participants (e.g. research) and whether any
part of the self-directed activity has ever been previously
approved or submitted for credit by the same licensee.

6.4.4 The Board may award additional
continuing education credits, on an hour for hour basis, to
continuing education instructors for the first-time
preparation and presentation of an approved continuing
education course for other practitioners, to a maximum of 6
additional hours. (e.g. an instructor presenting a 8 hour
course for the first time may receive up to 6 additional credit
hours for preparation of the course).  This provision remains
subject to the limitations of Rule 6.3.2.

6.5 Reporting.
6.5.1 For license or certification periods

beginning September 1, 2000 and thereafter, each candidate
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for renewal shall submit a summary of their continuing
education hours, along with any supporting documentation
requested by the Board, to the Board on or before May 31 of
the year the license or certification expires.  No license or
certification shall be renewed until the Board has approved
the required continuing education hours or granted an
extension of time for reasons of hardship.  The Board’s
approval of a candidate’s continuing education hours in a
particular modality does not constitute approval of the
candidate’s competence in, or practice of, that modality.

6.5.2 If a continuing education program has
already been approved by the Board, the candidate for
renewal must demonstrate, at the Board’s request, the actual
completion of the continuing education hours by giving the
Board a letter, certificate or other acceptable proof of
attendance provided by the program sponsor.

6.5.3 If a continuing education program has not
already been approved by the Board, the candidate for
renewal must give the Board, at the Board’s request, all of
the materials required in Rule 6.4.2 and demonstrate the
actual completion of the continuing education hours by
giving the Board a letter, certificate or other acceptable proof
of attendance provided by the program sponsor.

6.6 Hardship.A candidate for renewal may be granted
an extension of time in which to complete continuing
education hours upon a showing of unusual hardship.
“Hardship” may include, but is not limited to, disability,
illness, extended absence from the jurisdiction and
exceptional family responsibilities.  Requests for hardship
consideration must be submitted to the Board in writing prior
to the end of the licensing or certification period for which it
is made.  If the Board does not have sufficient time to
consider and approve a request for hardship extension prior
to the expiration of the license, the license will lapse upon
the expiration date and be reinstated upon completion of
continuing education pursuant to the hardship exception.
The licensee may not practice until reinstatement of the
license.

7.0 Scope of Practice.
Licensed massage/bodywork therapist and certified

massage technicians shall perform only the massage and
bodywork activities and techniques for which they have been
trained as stated in their certificates, diplomas or transcripts
from the school or program of massage therapy where
trained.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  3 Delaware Code,
Section 10027 (3 Del.C. 10027)

Order

Pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10118 and 3 Del. C. §10027, the
Delaware Harness Racing Commission (“Commission”)
hereby issues this Order promulgating proposed
amendments to the Commission’s Rules. Following notice
and a public hearing held on February 7, 2000 on the
proposed Rules, the Commission makes the following
findings and conclusions:

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted

1.  The Commission posted public notice of the
proposed rule revisions in the January 1, 2000 Register of
Regulations and in the News-Journal and the Delaware State
News.  The proposal contained twenty-four proposed
changes to the Commission’s existing rules.  The
Commission scheduled a public hearing for January 26,
2000.  Due to inclement weather, the public hearing was

rescheduled for February 7th.  Prior to the new hearing date,
the Commission posted notice of the rescheduled hearing
date in the News-Journal and the Delaware State News.

2.  At the public hearing, the Commission received as
evidence the report prepared by the Ad Hoc Committee on
proposed changes to the existing medication rules.  The
Committee was formed pursuant to 3 Del. C. §10029(g) to
consider the implementation of additional penalties
including forfeiture of horses to be imposed on licensees
whose horses test positive for illegal drugs.  The Ad Hoc
Committee, chaired by Chairman Flynn, held fifteen
meetings and one public hearing.  The Ad Hoc Committee
considered over one hundred submissions from various
expert sources in the harness racing industry.  In January,
1999, the Ad Hoc Committee submitted an interim report to
the General Assembly.  The Ad Hoc Committee
recommended proposed rule changes #1-20 published in the
January, 2000 Register of Regulations.  The Ad Hoc
Committee’s final report contained its findings and
reasoning for the proposed rule changes.

3.  At the public hearing, the Commission received
public comments from  Salvatore DiMario, the executive
director of DSOA.  Mr. DiMario objected to proposed
amendment #2 to Rules 8.3.2.4 and 8.3.2.5. Mr. DiMario
stated the proposed rules could expose a licensee to multiple
punishment if a veterinarian had treated the horse with more
than one drug.  Mr. DiMario stated that there could be a
perfectly acceptable reason for a veterinarian to treat a horse
with two therapeutic medications without any intent to hurt
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the horse.  On proposed amendment #5 to Rule 8.3.6, Mr.
DiMario stated that the horsemen believed the rule should
permit two year old horses to run on phenylbutazone (bute).
Mr. DiMario indicated that Dr. Moffet agreed that two year
olds should be permitted to race and that it was better to treat
minor inflammation with bute than to inject another
substance into the animal’s blood stream.

4.  The Commission received public comments from Dr.
Peters, Commission veterinarian.  Dr. Peters expressed
concern over proposed amendment #2 to rules 8.3.2.4 and
8.3.2.5.  Dr. Peters believed the rules could result in double
penalties against a trainer when there is a positive result for
more than one therapeutic drug. Dr. Peters stated that this
could occur as a result of an error in administration.  Dr.
Peters believed that the Commission should only give one
penalty in such a case for the most severe violation.  Dr.
Peters also stated that the proposed bute rule, Rule 8.3.6,
should be amended to permit two year olds to race on bute.
Dr. Peters stated that bute is just a glorified aspirin.        

5.  The Commission received a letter from Dr. Jay
Baldwin as evidence.  Dr. Baldwin stated there has been an
increase in the number of horses racing on lasix.  Dr.
Baldwin noted recent complaints about the number of lasix
horses.  Dr. Baldwin stated that the faster a horse races, the
more likely the horse will bleed with a subsequent increase
in lasix use.  Dr. Baldwin stated that there has been a
significant increase in the number of horses that are now
scoped following a race.  Finally, Dr. Baldwin stated that
there are procedures to ensure that no horse is placed on lasix
unless the horse is a severe bleeder and likely to have
complications. 

Findings of Fact

6.  The public was given notice and an opportunity to
provide the Commission with comments in writing and by
testimony at the public hearing regarding the proposed rule
amendments.  A summary of the evidence is contained in
paragraphs #2-5.

7.  The Commission has considered the public and
written comments received from the public on the proposed
rules.  The public comments pertained to proposed
amendments #2 (rule 8.3.2.4/8.3.2.5) and amendment #5
(rule 8.3.6).

8.  The Commission received no public comments
regarding proposed amendments #1, #3, #4, #8 through #16,
#18, and #20 through #23.  The Commission finds these
proposed rules are necessary for the regulation of harness
racing in the public interest and for the effective enforcement
of 3 Del. C. chapter 100. The Commission adopts these rules
in their proposed form.    

9.  As to proposed amendment #2, the Commission
proposed to amend Rules 8.3.2.4 and 8.3.2.5 to treat class IV
and V drugs as therapeutic drugs.  The proposed amendment

was recommended by the Ad Hoc Committee based on an
extensive evaluation of the treatment of such violations by
other jurisdictions.  The Ad Hoc Committee also considered
the effect of such class IV and V drugs on the performance
of the horse.  The Commission finds these rules should be
adopted in their proposed form.  The Commission
recognizes the concerns of the public about the possibility of
multiple penalties under the rule.  The Commission finds the
rule should be enforced so as to avoid inequity from positive
tests for inadvertent administrations of therapeutic drugs.

10.  As to proposed amendment #5, the Commission
proposed to amend Rule 8.3.6 and 8.3.7 by renumbering
them 8.3.5.9 and 8.3.5.10 respectively and to enact a new
Rule 8.3.6 to establish acceptable phenylbutazone levels and
a penalty schedule for phenylbutazone overages.  The
Commission finds based on the comments received that the
rule should be enacted in its proposed form.

11.  As to proposed amendment #6, the Commission
proposed to amend Rule 8.4.1.1.  The proposed amendment
to Rule 8.4.1.1.1 would require that at least one horse fro
the first four positions in each race be tested.  The proposed
amendment to Rule 8.4.1.1.2 would require the testing of
any claimed horse at the request of the claimant.  The
proposed amendment to Rule 8.4.1.1.3 would require that
horses selected for postrace testing be taken to the test barn
or test stall so that a blood, urine, or other specimen can be
taken.  The Commission finds that the amendment to Rule
8.4.1.1.1 on selection of tested horses is necessary for
effective enforcement of the Commission’s medication
program and to deter the administration of illegal drugs or
medications.  The Commission similarly finds that Rule
8.4.1.1.3 is necessary for the orderly taking of postrace
samples.  The Commission will adopt Rules 8.4.1.1.1 and
8.4.1.1.3 in their proposed form.  The Commission finds the
proposed Rule 8.4.1.1.2, regarding testing of claimed horses,
may be inconsistent with the terms of the recently passed
House Joint Resolution 10.  The Commission will defer
enactment of the proposed Rule 8.4.1.1.2 at this time.  

12.  As to proposed amendments #7 and #7A, these
amendments are alternate proposals to amend the
Commission’s existing split sample rule for carbon dioxide
testing.  The Commission finds that the split sample rule is
unworkable for carbon dioxide based on the rapid
deterioration of the sample and the lack of any available
referee laboratory.  The Commission notes that there appears
to be no other racing jurisdiction in the nation that has a split
sample rule for carbon dioxide sample.  The Commission
notes that the state of Louisiana recently enacted a carbon
dioxide testing program which specifically exempts the test
samples from the split sample rules.  The Commission will
take a two step approach on this issue.  The Commission
adopts proposed amendment #7 immediately to exempt the
carbon dioxide samples from the split sample rule.  The
Commission will also republish a revised proposal similar to
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#7A that will provide for testing of both samples at the
Commission’s laboratory on an anonymous basis. 

13.  As to proposed amendment #17, the Commission
proposed an amendment to Rule 8.5.5 to require a trainer to
immediately report the death of any horse drawn to start in a
race when the death occurs within sixty (60) days of the
draw.  The Commission finds the proposed rule to set forth a
necessary duty for trainers in order to permit the
Commission to investigate the suspicious death of any horse.
The Commission will adopt the rule in its proposed form.  To
avoid any ambiguity, the Commission will issue a directive
that the term “immediately” in the rule requires the trainer
notify the Commission within four hours of the horse’s
death.

14.  As to proposed amendment #19, the Commission
proposed an amendment to Rule 6.3.3.13 to strike the
existing first sentence and substitute a provision that claimed
horses may be tested postrace at the request of the claimant.
The Commission finds that the proposed rule may be
inconsistent with the provisions of the recently passed House
Joint Resolution 10.  The Commission defers adoption of
this proposed rule at this time.

15.  As to proposed amendment #24, the Commission
proposed an amendment to Rule 8.3.6.4 to provide that the
penalty schedule for horses that bleed would be limited to a
twelve month period.  The Commission finds that the
proposed amendment would be a significant liberalization of
the bleeding rule which is contrary to the practice in
surrounding states.  The Commission is not convinced there
is sufficient medical testimony in this record to support this
amendment and the Commission rejects adoption of this
amendment. 
Conclusions

16.  The proposed rules were promulgated by the
Commission in accord with its statutory duties and authority
as set forth in 3 Del. C. §10027.

17.  The Commission deems these rules as proposed to
be necessary for the effective enforcement of 3 Del. C.
chapter 100 and for the full and efficient performance of the
duties thereunder.

18.  The Commission concludes that the adoption of the
proposed rules, with the exceptions noted above, would be in
the best interests of the citizens of the State of Delaware and
necessary to ensure the integrity and security of harness
racing in the State of Delaware.

19.  The Commission therefor adopts the following rule
amendments pursuant to 3 Del. C. §10027 and 29 Del. C.
§10113:

Amendment to Rule 8.3.2.2 (proposed amendment #1).
Amendment to Rules 8.3.2.4 and 8.3.2.5 (proposed

amendment #2).
Amendment to Rule 8.3.2 (proposed amendment #3).
Amendment to Rule 8.3.5.7 (proposed amendment #4).
Amendment to Rules 8.3.6. 8.3.7, and 8.3.6 (proposed

amendment #5).
Amendment to Rules 8.4.1.1.1 and 8.4.1.1.3 (proposed

amendment #6).
Amendment to Rule 8.4.3.5.10 (proposed amendment

#7).
Amendment to Rule 8.3 (proposed amendment #8).
Amendment to Rule 8.3 (proposed amendment #9).
Amendment to Rule 8.3 (proposed amendment #10).
Amendment to Rule 8.3.3.1.2 (proposed amendment

#11).
Amendment to Rule 8.3.3.3.1 (proposed amendment

#12).
Amendment to Rule 8.3.3.3.2 (proposed amendment

#13).
Amendment to Rule 8.3.3.3.3 (proposed amendment

#14).
Amendment to Chapter 8.0 (proposed amendment #15).
Amendment to Rule 8.5.2 (proposed amendment #16).
Amendment to Rule 8.5.5.17(proposed amendment

#17).
Amendment to Rule 8.3.3.3.3 (proposed amendment

#18).
Amendment to Rule 6.3.3.13 (proposed amendment

#19).
Amendment to Rule 6.3.3.13 (proposed amendment

#20).
Amendment to Rule 7.6.5.2 (proposed amendment #21).
Amendment to Rule 6.3.3.15 (proposed amendment

#22).
Amendment to Rule 7.1.3.6 (proposed amendment #23).

The Commission has considered the comments and
suggestions made by the witnesses at the public hearing.
These rules replace in their entirety the former version of the
Rules of the Delaware State Harness Racing Commission.

20.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)
days from the publication of this order in the Registrar of
Regulations on May 1, 2000.

21.  The Commission will publish notice of a further
proposed amendment to the following rule:

Amendment to Rule 8.4.3.5.10.

Attached hereto and incorporated herein is the amended
Rules marked as Exhibit A and executed simultaneously this

10th day of April, 2000.  

IT IS SO ORDERED this 10th day of April, 2000.
Anthony Flynn, Chairman
H. Terry Johnson, Commissioner
Beth Steele, Commissioner
Mary Ann Lambertson, Commissioner
Robert Kerr, Commissioner
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6.3 Claiming Race
6.3.1   General Provisions

6.3.1.1 No horse will be eligible to start in a
claiming race unless the owner has provided written
authorization, which must include the minimum price for
which the horse may be claimed, to the racing secretary at
least one hour prior to post time of its race. If the horse is
owned by more than one party, all parties must sign the
authorization. Any question relating to the validity of a
claiming authorization shall be referred to the judges who
shall have the authority to disallow a declaration or scratch
the horse if they deem the authorization to be improper.

6.3.1.2 Except for the lowest claiming price
offered at each meeting, conditions and allowances in
claiming races may be based only on age and sex.  Whenever
possible, claiming races shall be written to separate horses
five years old and up from young horses and to separate
males from females.  If sexes are mixed, mares shall be
given a price allowance; provided, however, that there shall
be no price allowance given to a spayed mare racing in a
claiming race.

6.3.1.3 Registration certificate in current
ownership, together with the application for transfer thereon
duly endorsed by all registered owners, must be filed in the
office of the racing secretary for all horses claimed within a
reasonable time after the race from which the horse was
claimed.

6.3.1.4 The price allowances that govern for
claiming races must be approved by the Commission.
Claiming prices recorded on past performance lines in the
daily race program and on eligibility certificates shall not
include allowances.

6.3.1.5 The claiming price, including any
allowances, of each horse shall be printed on the official
program adjacent to the horse's program number and claims
shall be for the amount designated, subject to correction if
printed in error.

6.3.1.6 In handicap claiming races, in the event of
an also eligible horse moving into the race, the also eligible
horse shall take the place of the horse that it replaces
provided that the handicap is the same.  In the event the
handicap is different, the also eligible horse shall take the
position on the outside of horses with a similar handicap,
except when the horse that is scratched is a trailing horse, in
which case the also eligible horse shall take the trailing
position, regardless of its handicap. In handicap claiming
races with one trailer, the trailer shall be determined as the
fourth best post position.

6.3.1.7 To be eligible to be claimed a horse must
start in the event in which it has been declared to race, except
as provided in 6.3.1.8 of this subsection.

6.3.1.8 The successful claimant of a horse
programmed to start may, at his option, acquire ownership of
a claimed horse, even though such claimed horse was

scratched and did not start in the claiming race from which it
was scratched.  The successful claimant must exercise his/
her option by 9:00 a.m. of the next day following the
claiming race to which the horse was programmed and
scratched.  Upon notification that the successful claimant has
exercised his/her option, the owner shall present the horse
for inspection, and the claim shall not be final until the
successful claimant has had the opportunity to inspect the
horse.  No horse may be claimed from a claiming race unless
the race is contested. 

6.3.1.9 Any licensed owner or the authorized
agent of such person who holds a current valid Commission
license may claim any horse or any person who has properly
applied for and been granted a claiming certificate shall be
permitted to claim any horse. Any person or authorized
agent eligible to claim a horse shall be allowed access to the
grounds of the association, excluding the paddock, in order
to effect a claim at the designated place of making claims
and to take possession of the horse claimed.

6.3.1.10 Claiming certificates are valid on day of
issue and expire at the end of the race meeting for which it
was granted. These certificates may be applied for at the
office designated by the association prior to post time on any
day of racing.

6.3.1.11 There shall be no change of ownership or
trainer once a horse is programmed.

6.3.2  Prohibitions on Claim
6.3.2.1 A person shall not claim directly or

indirectly his/her own horse or a horse trained or driven by
him/her or cause such horse to be claimed directly or
indirectly for his/her own account.

6.3.2.2 A person shall not directly or indirectly
offer, or directly or indirectly enter into an agreement, to
claim or not to claim or directly or indirectly attempt to
prevent another person from claiming any horse in a
claiming race.

6.3.2.3 A person shall not have more than one
claim on any one horse in any claiming race.

6.3.2.4 A person shall not directly or indirectly
conspire to protect a horse from being claimed by arranging
another person to lodge claims, a procedure known as
protection claims.

6.3.2.5 No qualified owner or his agent shall
claim a horse for another person.

6.3.2.6 No person shall enter in a claiming race a
horse against which there is a mortgage, bill or sale, or lien
of any kind, unless the written consent of the holder thereof
shall be filed with the Clerk of the Course of the association
conducting such claiming race.

6.3.2.7 Any mare which has been bred shall not be
declared into a claiming race for at least 30 days following
the last breeding of the mare, and thereafter such a mare may
only be declared into a claiming race after a veterinarian has
pronounced the mare not to be in foal.  Any mare
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pronounced in foal shall not be declared into a claiming race.
Where a mare is claimed out of a claiming race and
subsequently proves to be in foal from a breeding which
occurred prior to the race from which she was claimed, the
claim may be voided by the judges at the option of the
successful claimant provided the mare is subjected to a
pregnancy examination within 18 days of the date of the
claim, and is found pregnant as a result of that pregnancy
examination.  A successful claimant seeking to void the
claim must file a petition to void said claim with the judges
within 10 days after this pregnancy examination and shall
thereafter be heard by the judges after due notice of the
hearing to the parties concerned.

1 DE Reg. 503 (01/11/97)
6.3.3   Claiming Procedure

6.3.3.1 A person desiring to claim a horse must
have the required amount of money, in the form of cash or
certified check, on deposit with the association at the time
the completed claim form is deposited.  Such deposit also
may be made by wire transfer prior to 2:00 p.m. on the day
of the claiming race.

6.3.3.2 The claimant shall provide all information
required on the claim form provided by the association.

6.3.3.3 The claim form shall be completed and
signed by the claimant prior to placing it in an envelope
provided for this purpose by the association and approved by
the Commission. The claimant shall seal the envelope and
identify on the outside the date, time of day, race number and
track name only.

6.3.3.4 The envelope shall be delivered to the
designated area, or licensed delegate, at least fifteen (15)
minutes before post time of the race from which the claim is
being made. That person shall certify on the outside of the
envelope the time it was received, the current license status
of the claimant and whether credit in the required amount
has been established.

6.3.3.5 It shall be the responsibility of the
association to ensure that all such claim envelopes are
delivered unopened or otherwise undisturbed to the judges
prior to the race from which the claim is being made.  The
association shall provide for an agent who shall,
immediately after closing, deliver the claim to the judges'
stand.

6.3.3.6 The claim shall be opened and the claims,
if any, examined by the judges prior to the start of the race.
The association's auditor, or his/her agent, shall be prepared
to state whether the claimant has on deposit, the amount
equivalent to the specified claiming price and any other
required fees and taxes.

6.3.3.7 The judges shall disallow any claim made
on a form or in a manner which fails to comply with all
requirements of this rule.

6.3.3.8 Documentation supporting all claims for
horses, whether successful or unsuccessful, shall include

details of the method of payment either by way of a
photostatic copy of the check presented, or written detailed
information to include the name of the claimant, the bank,
branch, account number and drawer of any checks or details
of any other method of payment. This documentation is to be
kept on file at race tracks for three (3) years and is to be
produced to the Commission for inspection at any time
during the period.

6.3.3.9 When a claim has been lodged it is
irrevocable, unless otherwise provided for in these rules.

6.3.3.10 In the event more than one claim is
submitted for the same horse, the successful claimant shall
be determined by lot by the judges, and all unsuccessful
claims involved in the decision by lot shall, at that time,
become null and void, notwithstanding any future
disposition of such claim.

6.3.3.11 Upon determining that a claim is valid, the
judges shall notify the paddock judge of the name of the
horse claimed, the name of the claimant and the name of the
person to whom the horse is to be delivered. Also, the judges
shall cause a public announcement to be made.

6.3.3.12 Every horse entered in a claiming race
shall race for the account of the owner who declared it in the
event, but title to a claimed horse shall be vested in the
successful claimant from the time the horse is deemed to
have started, and the successful claimant shall become the
owner of the horse, whether it be alive or dead, or sound or
unsound, or injured during or after the race. If a horse is
claimed out of a heat or dash of an event having multiple
heats or dashes, the judges shall scratch the horse from any
subsequent heat or dash of the event.

6.3.3.13 A post-race urinalysis test may be taken
from any horse claimed out of a claiming race.  The trainer
of the horse at the time of entry for the race from which the
horse was claimed shall be responsible for the claimed horse
until the post-race urine sample is collected.  Any claimed
horse not otherwise selected for testing by the State Steward
or judges shall be tested if requested by the claimant at the
time the claim form is submitted in accordance with these
rules.  The successful claimant shall have the right to void
the claim should the forensic analysis be positive for any
prohibited substance or an illegal level of a permitted
medication.  The horse's halter must accompany the horse.
Altering or removing the horse's shoes will be considered a
violation[,] and, until the Commission chemist issues a
report on his forensic analysis of the samples taken from the
horse, the claimed horse shall not be permitted to be entered
to race.

6.3.3.14 Any person who refuses to deliver a horse
legally claimed out of a claiming race shall be suspended,
together with the horse, until delivery is made.

6.3.3.15 A claimed horse shall not be eligible to
start in any race in the name or interest of the owner of the
horse at the time of entry for the race from which the horse
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was claimed for thirty (30) days, unless reclaimed out of
another claiming race. Nor shall such horse remain in or be
returned to the same stable or care or management of the first
owner or out of another claiming race.  Further, such horse
shall be required to continue to race at the track where
claimed for a period of 45 60 days or the balance of the
current racing meet, whichever comes first, unless released
by the Racing Secretary

2 DE Reg. 1765 (01/01/98)
6.3.3.16 The claiming price shall be paid to the

owner of the horse at the time entry for the race from which
the horse was claimed only when the judges are satisfied that
the successful claim is valid and the registration and
eligibility certificates have been received by the racing
secretary for transfer to the new owner.

6.3.3.17 The judges shall rule a claim invalid:
6.3.3.17.1 at the option of the claimant if the

official racing chemist reports a positive test on a horse that
was claimed, provided such option is exercised within 48
hours following notification to the claimant of the positive
test by the judges;

2 DE Reg. 1243 (01/01/99)
6.3.3.17.2 if the horse has been found

ineligible to the event from which it was claimed, regardless
of the position of the claimant.

2 DE Reg. 1243 (01/01/99)
6.3.3.18 Mares and fillies who are in foal are

ineligible to claiming races.  Upon receipt of the horse, if a
claimant determines within 48 hours that a claimed filly or
mare is in foal, he/she may, at their option, return the horse
to the owner of the horse at the time of entry for the race
from which the horse was claimed.

6.3.3.19 When the judges rule that a claim is
invalid and the horse is returned to the owner of the horse at
the time of entry for the race in which the invalid claim was
made:

6.3.3.19.1 the amount of the claiming price
and any other required fees and/or taxes shall be repaid to the
claimant;

6.3.3.19.2 any purse monies earned
subsequent to the date of the claim and before the date on
which the claim is ruled invalid shall be the property of the
claimant; and

6.3.3.19.3 the claimant shall be responsible
for any reasonable costs incurred through the care, training
or racing of the horse while it was in his/her possession.

7.1 Declarations and Drawing
7.1.1Declarations

7.1.1.1 Unless otherwise specified in the
conditions, the declaration time shall be as follows:

7.1.1.1.1 Extended pari-mutuel meetings,
9:00 a.m.

7.1.1.1.2 All other meetings, 10:00 a.m.

7.1.1.2 The time when declarations close will be
considered to be local time at the track where the race is
being contested.

7.1.1.3 No horse shall be permitted to start in
more than one race on any one racing day.  Races decided by
more than one heat are considered a single race.

7.1.1.4 The association shall provide a locked box
with an aperture through which declarations shall be
deposited.

7.1.1.5 The Presiding Judge shall be in charge of
the declaration box.

7.1.1.6 Just prior to opening of the box at
extended pari-mutuel meetings where futurities, stakes, early
closing or late closing events are on the program, the
Presiding Judge shall check with the racing secretary to
ascertain if any declarations by mail, telegraph, facsimile
machine or otherwise, are in the office and not deposited in
the entry box, and shall see that they are declared and drawn
in the proper event.  At other meetings, the Presiding Judge
shall ascertain if any such declarations have been received
by the speed superintendent or racing secretary of the fair,
and shall see that they are properly declared and drawn.

7.1.2   Drawing
7.1.2.1 The entry box shall be opened  at the

advertised time by the Presiding Judge, who shall ensure that
at least one horseman or an official representative of the
horsemen is present.  No owner or agent for a horse with a
declaration in the entry box shall be denied the privilege of
being present.  Under the supervision of the Presiding Judge,
all entries shall be listed, the eligibility verified, preference
ascertained, starters selected and post positions drawn. If it is
necessary to reopen any race, public announcement shall be
made at least twice and the box reopened to a definite time.

7.1.2.2 Subject to Commission approval, at
non-extended meetings in the event of the absence or
incapacity of the Presiding Judge, the functions enumerated
above may be performed by one or more associate judges, or
by a person designated by the Presiding Judge, for whose
acts and conduct Presiding Judge shall be wholly
responsible.  If a substitution is made as herein provided, the
name and address of the associate judge(s) or person so
substituting shall be entered in the Judges' Book.

At extended meetings in the event of the
absence or incapacity of the Presiding Judge, the functions
enumerated above may be performed by one or more
associate judges who shall have been designated by the
Presiding Judge, prior to the start of the meeting, in the for
of a written notice to the Commission and to the association
conducting the meeting.  A record shall be kept in the
Judges' Book showing the name of the individual who
performed such functions on each day of the meeting.

7.1.2.3 In races of a duration of more than one
dash or heat at pari-mutuel meetings, the judges may draw
post positions from the stand for succeeding dashes or heats.
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7.1.2.4 Declarations by mail, telegraph, facsimile
machine or telephone actually received and evidence of
which is deposited in the box before the time specified to
declare in, shall be drawn in the same manner as the others.
Such drawings shall be final.  Mail, telegraph, facsimile
machine and telephone declarations must state the name and
address of the owner or lessee; the name, color, sex, sire and
dam of the horse; the driver's name and racing colors; the
date and place of last start; a current summary, including the
number of starts, firsts, seconds, thirds, earnings and best
winning time for the current year; and the event or events in
which the horse is to be entered.

7.1.2.5 Failure to declare as required shall be
considered a withdrawal from the event.

7.1.2.6 After declaration to start has been made no
horse shall be withdrawn except by permission of the judges.
A fine, not to exceed $500, or suspension may be imposed
for withdrawing a horse without permission, the penalty to
apply to both the horse and the party who violates the
regulation.

7.1.2.7 Where the person making the declaration
fails to honor it and there is no opportunity for a hearing by
the judges, this penalty may be imposed by the commission
representative.

7.1.2.8 Where a horse properly declared is
omitted from the race by error of the association, the race
shall be redrawn; provided, however, that the error is
discovered prior to the publication of the official program.

7.1.2.9 In the event there are two tiers of horses,
the withdrawing of a horse that has drawn or earned a
position in the front tier shall not affect the position of the
horses that have drawn or earned positions in the second tier,
except as provided for in handicap claiming races.
Whenever a horse is drawn from any tier, horses on the
outside move in to fill up the vacancy. When there is only
one trailer, it may start from any position in the second tier.
When there is more than one trailer, they must start from
inside any horse with a higher post position.

7.1.3   Qualifying Race
7.1.3.1 Qualifying races and starting gate

schooling shall be held according to the demand as
determined by the Presiding Judge or State Steward.

7.1.3.2 Qualifying standards shall be set at each
track by the racing secretary and the judges.  These may vary
at different times of the year to accommodate weather and
the class of horse available.  Standards for trotters will be
two seconds slower than pacers.

7.1.3.3 At all extended pari-mutuel meetings
declarations for overnight events shall be governed by the
following:

7.1.3.3.1Before racing at a chosen gait, a horse
must go a qualifying race at that gait under the supervision of
a licensed judge and acquire at least one charted line by a
licensed charter.  In order to provide complete and accurate

chart information on time and beaten lengths, a standard
photo finish shall be in use.

7.1.3.3.2 Any horse that fails to race within
thirty (30) days of its last start must go a qualifying race as
set forth in a) above.  However, at any race meeting this
period can be extended up to sixty (60) days upon receiving
approval of the Commission.  The time period allowed shall
be calculated from the date of the last race to and including
the date of declaration.  Horses entered and in to go in a race
or races which are canceled due to no fault of their own,
shall be considered to have raced in that race, and no start
shall be counted for date preference purposes.

7.1.3.3.3 When a horse has raced at a
charted meeting and then gone to meetings where the races
are not charted the information from the uncharted lines may
be summarized including each start and consolidated in
favor of charted lines to include a charted line within the last
thirty (30) days before the horse is permitted to race.  The
consolidated line shall carry date, place, time, driver, finish,
track condition and distance. 

7.1.3.3.4 The judges may permit a horse to
qualify by means of a timed workout consistent with the time
of the races in which he will compete in the event adequate
competition is not available for a qualifying race.

7.1.3.3.5 When, for the purpose of
qualifying the driver, a horse is declared in to race in a
qualifying race, its performance shall be applicable to the
horse's eligibility to race and the chart line shall be notated to
indicate driver qualifying.

7.1.3.3.6 If a horse takes a win race record
in either a qualifying race or a matinee race, such record
must be prefaced with the letter "Q" wherever it appears,
except in a case where, immediately prior to or following the
race, the horse taking the record has been submitted to an
approved urine, saliva or blood test.  It will be the
responsibility of the Presiding Judge to report the test on the
Judges' Sheet.

7.1.3.4 Any horse regularly wearing hopples shall
not be permitted to be declared to race without them and any
horse regularly racing without hopples shall not be permitted
to wear hopples in a race without first having qualified with
this equipment change.  In addition to the foregoing, any
horse regularly wearing hopples and which is not on a
qualifying list or Stewards' List, is allowed one start without
hopples in a qualifying race; and this single performance
shall not affect its eligibility to race with hopples in a
subsequent event to which it is declared.

7.1.3.5 In their discretion the judges may require a
horse to qualify for any reason; provided, however, that a
horse making a break in each of two consecutive races may
not be required to qualify if the breaks were solely
equipment breaks and/or were caused solely by interference
and/or track conditions.

7.1.3.6 A horse must qualify if:
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7.1.3.6.1 it is distanced for reasons other
than interference, broken equipment or breaking stride; or

7.1.3.6.2 it does not finish for reasons
other than interference or broken equipment.

7.1.3.7 A charted line containing only a break or
breaks caused by interference or an equipment break shall be
considered a satisfactory charted line.

7.1.3.8 The judges shall use the interference break
mark only when they have reason to believe that the horse
was interfered with by another horse or the equipment of
another horse.

7.1.3.9 If qualifying races are postponed or
canceled, an announcement shall be made to the participants
as soon as the decision is made.

7.1.4  Coupled Entries
When the starters in a race include two or more

horses owned by the same person, or trained in the same
stable or by the same management, they shall be coupled as
an "entry", and a wager on one horse in the entry shall be a
wager on all horses in the "entry"; provided, however, that
when a trainer enters two or more horses in a stake, early
closing, futurity, free-for-all or other special event under
bona fide separate ownership, such horses may, at the
request of the association, made through the State Steward,
and with the approval of the Commission, be permitted to
race as separate entries.  If the race is split in two or more
divisions, horses in an "entry" shall be seeded in separate
divisions insofar as possible, but the divisions in which they
compete and their post positions shall be drawn by lots.  The
above provisions shall also apply to elimination heats. The
person making the declaration of a horse that qualifies as a
coupled entry with another horse entered in the same event
shall be responsible to designate the word "entry" on the
declaration blank. The Presiding Judge shall be responsible
for coupling horses.  In addition to the foregoing, horses
separately owned or trained may be coupled as an entry
where it is necessary to do so to protect the public interest for
the purpose of pari-mutuel wagering only; provided,
however, that where this is done entries may not be rejected.

7.1.5  Also Eligibles
Not more than two horses may be drawn as also

eligibles for a race and their positions shall be drawn along
with the starters in the race.  In the event one or more horses
are excused by the judges, the also eligible horse or horses
shall race and take the post position drawn by the horse that
it replaces, except in handicap races.  In handicap races the
also eligible horses shall take the place of the horse that it
replaces in the event that the handicap is the same.  In the
event the handicap is different, the also eligible horse shall
take the position on the outside of horses with a similar
handicap.  No horse may be added to a race as an also
eligible unless the horse was drawn as such at the time
declarations closed.  No horse may be barred from a race to
which it is otherwise eligible by reason of its preference due

to the fact that it has been drawn as an also eligible.  A horse
moved into the race from the also eligible list cannot be
drawn except by permission of the judges, but the owner or
trainer of such a horse shall be notified that the horse is to
race and it shall be posted at the racing secretary's office.  All
horses on the also eligible list and not moved in to race by
Scratch Time on the day of the race shall be released.

7.1.6   Preference Dates
Preference dates shall be given to horses in all

overnight events at extended pari-mutuel tracks in
accordance with the following:

7.1.6.1 The date of the horse's last previous start
in a purse race during the current year is its preference date
with the following exceptions:

7.1.6.1.1 The preference date on a horse
that has drawn to race and has been scratched is the date of
the race from which scratched.

7.1.6.1.2 When a horse is racing for the
first time after February 1 in the current year, the date of the
first declaration into a purse race shall be considered its
preference date.

7.1.6.1.3 Wherever horses have equal
preference in a race, the actual preference of said horses in
relation to one another shall be determined by lot.

7.1.6.1.4 When an overnight race has been
re-opened because it did not fill, all eligible horses declared
into the race prior to the re-opening shall receive preference
over other horses subsequently declared, irrespective of the
actual preference dates, excluding horses already in to go.

7.1.6.2 This rule relative to preference is not
applicable at any meeting at which an agricultural fair is in
progress.  All horses granted stalls and eligible must be
given an opportunity to compete at these meetings.

7.6 Racing Rules
7.6.1  Under Supervision of Starter

7.6.1.1 Horses shall be under supervision of the
starter from the time they arrive on the track until the start of
the race.

7.6.1.2 All horses shall parade from the paddock
to the starting post, and no driver shall dismount without the
permission of the starter.  Attendants may not care for the
horses during the parade except by permission of the starter.

7.6.1.3 After entering the track not more than ten
(10) minutes shall be consumed in the parade of the horses to
the post except in cases of unavoidable delay.

7.6.1.4 Horses awaiting post time may not be held
on the backstretch in excess of five (5) minutes, except when
delayed by an emergency.

7.6.2   Pre-Race Accidents
When, before a race starts:
7.6.2.1 A horse is a runaway or is otherwise

involved in an accident, such horse shall be examined by the
racing veterinarian and if the horse is not ordered scratched
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by the veterinarian, the judges may permit the horse to
compete and have this decision announced.

7.6.2.2 A driver is unseated and appears to have
been injured, the horse that was being driven by that driver
may compete with a substitute driver.

7.6.2.3 If a horse is scratched in error and cannot
be added back into the pari-mutuel system, the horse may
race for purse only. The judges shall ensure that the race
announcer informs the public that the horse will be racing
without pari-mutuel wagering.

7.6.3   Fair Start
The starter shall give such orders and take such

measures that do not conflict with the rules of racing, as are
necessary to secure a fair start.

7.6.4  Starter's Duties
7.6.4.1 The starter shall be in the starting gate ten

(10) minutes before the post time of the race.
7.6.4.2 The starter shall have control over the

horses and authority to assess fines and/or suspend drivers
for any violation of the rules from the formation of the
parade until the word "go" is given.

7.6.4.3 The starter may assist in placing the horses
when requested by the judges to do so.

7.6.4.4 The starter shall notify the judges and the
drivers in writing of penalties imposed by him/her.

7.6.5  Starting
7.6.5.1 The starter shall have control of the

formation of the parade until giving the word "go".
7.6.5.2 After one or two preliminary warming up

scores, the starter shall notify the drivers to come to the
starting gate.  During or before the parade the drivers must
be informed as to the number of scores permitted.

7.6.5.3 The horses shall be brought to the starting
gate as near one-quarter of a mile before the start as the track
will permit.

7.6.5.4 Allowing sufficient time so that the speed
of the gate can be increased gradually, the following
minimum speeds will be maintained:

7.6.5.4.1 For the first one-eighth of a mile,
not less than 11 miles per hour.

7.6.5.4.2 For the next one-sixteenth of a
mile, not less than 18 miles per hour.

7.6.5.4.3 From that point to the starting
point, the speed will be gradually increased to maximum
speed.

7.6.5.4.4 On mile tracks horses will be
brought to the starting gate at the head of the stretch and the
relative speeds mentioned in a), b) and c) above will be
maintained.

7.6.5.5 The starting point will be a point marked
at a designated spot not less than 200 feet from the first turn.
The starter shall give the word "go" at the starting point.

7.6.5.6 When a speed has been reached in the
course of a start there shall be no decrease except in the case

of a recall.
7.6.6  Recall Rules

7.6.6.1 In case of a recall, a light plainly visible to
the drivers shall be flashed and a recall sounded, but the
starting gate shall proceed out of the path of the horses. In
the case of a recall, whenever possible, the starter shall leave
the wings of the gate extended and gradually slow the speed
of the gate to assist in stopping the field of horses.  In an
emergency, however, the starter shall use his/her discretion
to close the wings of the gate.

7.6.6.2 There shall be no recall after the word
"go" has been give unless there is a mechanical failure of the
starting gate.

7.6.6.3 The starter shall attempt to dispatch all
horses away in position and on gait but there shall be no
recall for a breaking horse after the recall point is passed.

7.6.6.4 In the event a horse causes two recalls, it
may be an automatic ruling of the judges that the offending
horse be scratched.

7.6.6.5 The starter may sound a recall for the
following reasons:

7.6.6.5.1 A horse scores ahead of the gate;
7.6.6.5.2 There is interference;
7.6.6.6.3 A horse has broken equipment;
7.6.6.6.4 A horse falls before the word

"go" is given; or
7.6.6.6.5 A mechanical failure of the

starting gate.
7.6.6.6 There shall be a recall pole placed

one-eighth of a mile before the starting point, before or at
which point, at the discretion of the starter, there may be a
recall for a breaking horse or horses not up to the gate.
When the recall pole is passed, there shall be no recall for a
breaking horse or a horse not up to the gate except as
provided in 7.6.6.5.1 - 7.6.6.6.5 above. Horses not up to the
gate in position due to the fault of the driver may result in the
driver being penalized by the starter.

7.6.6.7 A fine and/or suspension may be applied
to any driver for:

7.6.6.7.1 Delaying the start;
7.6.6.7.2 Failure to obey the starter's

instructions
7.6.6.7.3 Rushing ahead of the inside or

outside wing of the gate;
7.6.6.7.4 Coming to the starting gate out of

position;
7.6.6.7.5 Crossing over before reaching the

starting point;
7.6.6.7.6 Interference with another driver

during the start; or
7.6.6.7.7 Failure to come up into position.

7.6.7  Starting Gate
7.6.7.1 No persons shall be allowed to ride in the

starting gate except the starter and the driver or operator and
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a patrol judge, unless permission has been granted by the
State Steward.

7.6.7.2 Use of the mechanical loudspeaker for any
purpose other than to give instructions to the drivers is
prohibited.  The volume shall be no higher than necessary to
carry the voice of the starter to the drivers.

7.6.7.3 The arms of all starting gates shall be
provided with a screen or shield in front of the position for
each horse, and such arms shall be perpendicular to the rail.

7.6.7.4 The official starter must ensure that the
starting gate is in good working order prior to the beginning
of each race program.

7.6.7.5 The official starter and starting gate driver
shall operate the starting gate in a manner consistent with the
safe conduct of the race, the safety of the race participants
and the safety of the patrons.

7.6.8  Two-Tiered Races
7.6.8.1 In the event there are two tiers of horses,

the withdrawing of a horse that has drawn or earned a
position in the front tier shall not affect the positions of
horses that have drawn or entered positions in the second
tier.

7.6.8.2 Whenever a horse is drawn from any tier,
horses on the outside move in to fill the vacancy.  Where a
horse has drawn a post position in the second tier, the driver
of such horse may elect to score out behind any horse in the
front tier so long as it does not interfere with another trailing
horse or deprive another trailing horse of a drawn position.

7.6.8.3 When there is only one trailer, it may start
from any position in the second tier. When there is more than
one trailer, they must start from inside any horse with a
higher post position.

7.6.9  Starting Without a Gate
7.6.9.1 When horses are started without a gate the

starter shall have control of the horses from the formation of
the parade until giving the word "go".  The starter shall be
located at the wire or other point of start of the race at which
point as nearly as possible the word "go" shall be given.  No
driver shall cause unnecessary delay after the horses are
called.  After two preliminary warming-up scores, the starter
shall notify the drivers to form in parade.

7.6.9.2 The driver of any horse refusing or failing
to follow the instructions of the starter as to the parade or
scoring ahead of the pole horse may be set down for the heat
in which the offense occurs, or for such other period as the
starter shall determine, and may be fined.  Whenever a driver
is taken down, the substitute shall be permitted to score the
horse once. A horse delaying the race may be started
regardless of its position or gait and there shall not be a recall
because of a bad acting horse.  If the word "go" is not given,
all the horses in the race shall immediately turn on signal,
and jog back to their parade positions for a fresh start.  There
shall be no recall after the starting word is given.

7.6.10   Horse Deemed a Starter

Horses shall be deemed to have started when the
word "go" is given by the starter and all horses must go the
course except in the case of an accident in which it is the
opinion of the judges that it is impossible to go the course.

7.6.11  Unmanageable/Bad Acting Horses
7.6.11.1 If, in the opinion(s) of the judges and/or

the starter, a horse is unmanageable or liable to cause
accidents or injury to any other horse or to any driver, it may
be sent to the barn.  When this action is taken, the starter will
notify the judges who will in turn notify the public and order
any refunds as may be required in Rule 10 of these rules.

7.6.11.2 The starter may place a bad acting horse
on the outside at his/her discretion.  Such action may be
taken only where there is time for the starter to notify the
judges who will in turn notify the public prior to any
pari-mutuel wagering on the race.  If pari-mutuel wagering
has already begun on the race, the horse must be scratched as
stipulated in subdivision 1 above.

7.6.12  Post Positions, Heat Racing
7.6.12.1 The horse winning a heat shall take the

inside position in the succeeding heat, unless otherwise
specified in the published conditions of the race, and all
others shall take their positions in the order they were placed
in the prior heat.

7.6.12.2 When two or more horses dead heat, their
positions shall be determined by lot.

7.6.13  Conduct of the Race
7.6.13.1 A driver shall not commit any of the

following acts which are considered violations of driving
rules:

7.6.13.1.1 Change course or position, or
swerve in or out, or bear in or out during any part of the race
in such a manner as to compel a horse to shorten its stride or
cause another driver to change course, take his or her horse
back, or pull his/her horse out of its stride.

7.6.13.1.2 Impede the progress of another
horse or cause it to break from its gait.

7.6.13.1.3 Cross over too sharply in front of
another horse or in front of the field.

7.6.13.1.4 Crowd another horse by 'putting a
wheel under it.'

7.6.13.1.5 Allow another horse to pass
needlessly on the inside, or commit any other act that helps
another horse to improve its position.

7.6.13.1.6 Carry another horse out.
7.6.13.1.7 Take up or slow up in front of

other horses so as to cause confusion or interference among
the trailing horses.

7.6.13.1.8 Maintain an outside position
without making the necessary effort to improve his/her
overall position.

7.6.13.1.9 Strike or hook wheels with
another sulky

7.6.13.1.10  Lay off a normal pace and leave a
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hole when it is well within the horse's capacity to keep the
hole closed.

7.6.13.1.11  Drive in a careless or reckless
manner

7.6.13.1.12  Fail to set, maintain or properly
contest a pace comparable to the class in which he/she is
racing considering the horse's ability, track conditions,
weather and circumstances confronted in the race.

7.6.13.1.13  Riding 'half-in' or 'half-out'.
7.6.13.1.14  Kicking a horse.

7.6.13.2 A complaint by a driver of any foul,
violation of the rules or other misconduct during a race shall
be made immediately after the race to which it relates, unless
the driver is prevented from doing so by an accident or injury
or other reasonable excuse.  A driver desiring to enter a
claim of foul, or other complaint of violation of the rules,
shall make this known to the starter before dismounting and
shall proceed immediately to the paddock telephone to
communicate immediately with the judges.  The judges shall
not cause the official sign to be posted until the matter has
been dealt with.

7.6.13.3 If a violation is committed by a person
driving a horse coupled as an entry the judges may set both
horses back if, in their opinion, the violation may have
affected the finish of the race, otherwise penalties may be
applied individually.

7.6.13.4 In the case of interference, collision, or
violation of any rules, the offending horse may be placed
back one or more positions in that heat or dash, and in the
event of such collisions, interference or violation preventing
any horse from finishing the heat or dash, the offending
horse may be disqualified from receiving any winnings and
the driver may be fined or suspended. If a horse is set back, it
must be placed behind the horse with which it interfered. If
an offending horse has interfered with a horse involved in a
dead heat and the offending horse is set back, it must be
placed behind the horses in the dead heat.

7.6.13.5 If the judges believe that a horse is, or has
been driven with design to prevent it winning a race or races,
they shall consider it a violation by the driver.

7.6.13.6 If the judges believe that a horse has been
driven in an inconsistent manner, they shall consider it a
violation.

7.6.13.7 If the judges believe that a horse has been
driven in an unsatisfactory manner due to lack of effort or a
horse has been driven in an unsatisfactory manner for any
reason, they shall consider it a violation punishable by a fine
and/or suspension.

7.6.13.8 If a horse is suspected to have choked or
bled during a race, the driver and/or trainer of that horse is
required to report this to the judges immediately after the
race.

7.6.13.9 If, in the opinion of the judges, a driver is
for any reason unfit or incompetent to drive, or is reckless in

his/her conduct and endangers the safety of horses or other
drivers in a race, he/she shall be removed and another driver
substituted at any time and the offending driver may be
fined, suspended or expelled.

7.6.13.10  If for any cause other than being
interfered with, or broken equipment, a horse fails to finish
after starting a race, that horse shall be ruled out of any
subsequent heat of the same event.  If it is alleged that a
horse failed to finish a race because of broken equipment,
this fact must be reported to the paddock judge who shall
make an examination to verify the allegation and report the
findings to the judges.

7.6.13.11  A driver must be mounted in the sulky at
all times during the race or the horse shall be placed as a
non-finisher.

7.6.13.12  Shouting or other improper conduct in a
race is forbidden.

7.6.13.13  Drivers shall keep both feet in the
stirrups during the post parade and from the time the horses
are brought to the starting gate until the race has been
completed.  Drivers shall be permitted to remove a foot fro
the stirrups during the course of the race solely for the
purpose of pulling ear plugs and once same have been pulled
the foot must be placed back into the stirrup.  Drivers who
violate this rule may be subject to a fine and/or suspension.

7.6.13.14  Drivers will be allowed to use whips not
to exceed three feet, nine inches in length plus a snapper not
to exceed six inches in length.

Drivers shall keep a line in each hand fro
the start of the race until the quarter pole.  From the quarter
pole to the 7/8th pole, a driver may only use the whip once
for a maximum of three strokes.  Once the lead horse is at the
7/8th pole, these restrictions do not apply.

1 DE Reg. 923 (01/01/98), 2 DE Reg. 684 (10/01/98)
7.6.13.15  The use of any goading device, or chain,

or spur, or mechanical or electrical device other than a whip
as allowed in the rules, upon any horse, shall constitute a
violation.

7.6.13.16  The possession of any mechanical or
electrical goading device on the grounds of an association
shall constitute a violation.

7.6.13.17  The judges shall have the authority to
disallow the use of any equipment or harness that they feel is
unsafe or not in the best interests of racing.

7.6.13.18  Brutal or excessive or indiscriminate use
of a whip, or striking a horse with the butt end of a whip, or
striking a wheel disc of a sulky with a whip, shall be a
violation.  At extended pari-mutuel meetings, under the
supervision of the judges, there may be a mandatory visual
inspection of each horse following each race for evidence of
excessive or brutal use of the whip.  At all other meetings,
the judges shall have the authority to order and/or conduct
such visual inspections at their discretion.

1 DE Reg. 923 (01/01/98)
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7.6.13.19  Whipping a horse by using the whip
below the level of the shafts or the seat of the sulky or
between the legs of the horse shall be a violation.

7.6.13.20  When a horse breaks from its gait, it shall
be considered a violation on the part of the driver for:

7.6.13.20.1  Failure to take the horse to the
outside of other horses where clearance exists.

7.6.13.20.2  Failure to properly attempt to pull
the horse to its gait.

7.6.13.20.3  Failure to lose ground while on a
break.

If no violation has been committed, the
horse shall not be set back unless a contending horse on his/
her gait is lapped on the hind quarter of the breaking horse at
the finish.  The judges may set any horse back one or more
places if in their judgment, any of the above violations have
been committed, and the driver may be penalized.

7.6.13.21  If, in the opinion of the judges, a driver
allows a horse to break for the purpose of losing a race, he or
she shall be in violation of the rules.

7.6.13.22  It shall be the duty of one of the judges to
call out every break made and have them duly recorded in
judges official race reports.

7.6.13.23  The horse whose nose reaches the wire
first is the winner.  If there is a dead heat for first, both horses
shall be considered winners.  In races having more than one
heat or dash, where two horses are tied in the summary, the
winner of the longer dash or heat shall be entitled to the
trophy.  Where the dashes or heats are of the same distance
and the horses are tied in the summary, the winner of the
faster dash or heat shall be entitled to the trophy.  Where the
dashes or heats are of the same time, both horses shall be
considered winners and the entitlement of the trophy will be
decided by lot.

7.6.13.24  The wire or finish line is a real line
established with the aid of a surveyor's transit, or an
imaginary line running from the center of the judges' stand to
a point immediately across and at right angles to the track.

7.6.13.25  If, during the preliminary scores or
during a race a driver is unseated in such a manner that he or
she falls to the ground, the State Steward or judges may
direct the driver to report to the infirmary or to the
emergency department of the nearest hospital for
examination and receive clearance to continue with driving
assignments on that day of racing.

7.6.13.26  If a horse is to warm up it must go its last
warm-up on the same racing strip as it will compete on
unless excused by the judges.

7.6.14  Hubrail
If at a racetrack which does not have a continuous

solid inside hub rail, a horse or part of the horse's sulky
leaves the course by going inside the hub rail or other
demarcation which constitutes the inside limits of the course,
the offending horse shall be placed one or more positions

where, in the opinion of the judges, the action gave the horse
an unfair advantage over other horses in the race, or the
action helped the horse improve its position in the race.
Drivers may be fined or suspended for permitting a horse or
any portion of a sulky inside the pylons or other demarcation
which constitutes the inside limits of the course.  In addition,
when an act of interference causes a horse or part of the
horse's sulky to cross the inside limits of the course, and the
horse is placed by the judges, the offending horse shall be
placed behind the horse with which it interfered.

7.6.15  Extended Homestretch
7.6.15.1 With approval of the Commission, a track

may extend the width of its homestretch up to 10 feet inward
in relation to the width of the rest of the racetrack.

7.6.15.2 In the event the home stretch is expanded
pursuant to 7.6.15.1 above, the following shall apply:

7.6.15.2.1 no horse shall pass on the
extended inside lane except when entering the stretch for the
final time;

7.6.15.2.2 the lead horse in the homestretch
shall maintain as straight a course as possible while allowing
trailing horses full access to the extended inside lane; and

7.6.15.2.3 horses using the open stretch
must first have complete clearance of the pylons.  Any horse
or sulky running over the pylons and/or going to the inside of
the pylons to clear shall be disqualified.

8.0 Veterinary Practices, Equine Health Medication
8.1 General Provisions

The purpose of this Rule is to protect the integrity
of horse racing, to ensure the health and welfare of race
horses and to safeguard the interests of the public and the
participants in racing. 

8.2 Veterinary Practices
8.2.1  Veterinarians Under Authority of State

Commission Vveterinarian
Veterinarians licensed by the Commission and

practicing at any location under the jurisdiction of the
Commission are subject to these Rules, which shall be
enforced under the authority of the State Commission
Vveterinarian and the State Steward.  Without limiting the
authority of the State Steward to enforce these Rules, the
State Commission Vveterinarian may recommend to the
State Steward or the Commission the discipline which may
be imposed upon a veterinarian who violates the rules. 

8.2.2  Treatment Restrictions
8.2.2.1 Except as otherwise provided by this

subsection, no person other than a veterinarian licensed to
practice veterinary medicine in this jurisdiction and licensed
by the Commission may administer a prescription or
controlled medication, drug, chemical or other substance
(including any medication, drug, chemical or other substance
by injection) to a horse at any location under the jurisdiction
of the Commission.
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8.2.2.2 This subsection does not apply to the
administration of the following substances except in
approved quantitative levels, if any, present in post-race
samples or as they may interfere with post-race testing:

8.2.2.2.1 a recognized non-injectable
nutritional supplement or other substance approved by the
official veterinarian;

8.2.2.2.2 a non-injectable substance
on the direction or by prescription of a licensed veterinarian;
or

8.2.2.2.3 a non-injectable
non-prescription medication or substance.

8.2.2.3 No person shall possess a hypodermic
needle, syringe or injectable of any kind on association
premises, unless otherwise approved by the Commission.  At
any location under the jurisdiction of the Commission,
veterinarians may use only one-time disposable needles, and
shall dispose of them in a manner approved by the
Commission.  If a person has a medical condition which
makes it necessary to have a syringe at any location under
the jurisdiction of the Commission, that person may request
permission of the State Steward, judges and/or the
Commission in writing, furnish a letter from a licensed
physician explaining why it is necessary for the person to
possess a syringe, and must comply with any conditions and
restrictions set by the State Steward, judges and/or the
Commission.

8.3 Medications and Foreign Substances
Foreign substances shall mean all substances,

except those which exist naturally in the untreated horse at
normal physiological concentration, and shall include all
narcotics, stimulants, depressants or other drugs or
medications of any type.  Except as specifically permitted by
these rules, no foreign substance shall be carried in the body
of the horse at the time of the running of the race.  Upon a
finding of a violation of these medication and prohibited
substances rules, the State Steward or other designee of the
Commission shall consider the classification level of the
violation as listed at the time of the violation by the Uniform
Classification Guidelines of Foreign Substances as
promulgated by the Association of Racing Commissioners
International and may impose penalties and disciplinary
measures consistent with the recommendations contained in
subsection B of this section.  The State Steward may also
consult with the official veterinarian to determine the nature
and seriousness of the laboratory finding or the medication
violation; provided, however, that in the event the State
Steward determines that mitigating circumstances require
imposition of a lesser penalty, he may impose the lesser
penalty.  In the event the State Steward wishes to impose a
greater penalty or a menalty in excess of the authority
granted him, then , and in such event, he may impose the
maximum penalty authorized and refer the matter to the
Commission with specific recommendations for further

action.  At the discretion of the State Steward, a horse
alleged to have tested positive for a prohibited substance
may be prohibited from racing pending a timely hearing;
provided, however, that other horses registered under the
care of the trainer of such a horse may, with the consent of
the State Steward of the meeting, be released to the care of
another licensed trainer, and may race.

8.3.1  Uniform Classification Guidelines
The following outline describes the types of

substances placed in each category.  This list shall be
publicly posted in the offices of the State Commission
Vveterinarian and the racing secretary.

8.3.1.1 Class 1
Opiates, opium derivatives, synthetic

opiates, psychoactive drugs, amphetamines and U.S. Drug
Enforcement Agency (DEA) scheduled I and II drugs.  Also
found in this class are drugs which are potent stimulants of
the nervous system.  Drugs in this class have no generally
accepted medical use in the race horse and their
pharmacological potential for altering the performance of a
race is very high.

8.3.1.2 Class 2
Drugs in this category have a high

potential for affecting the outcome of a race.  Most are not
generally accepted as therapeutic agents in the race horse.
Many are products intended to alter consciousness or the
psychic state of humans, and have no approved or indicated
use in the horse.  Some, such as injectable local anesthetics,
have legitimate use in equine medicine, but should not be
found in a race horse.  The following groups of drugs are in
this class:

8.3.1.2.1 Opiate partial agonist, or
agonist-antagonists;

8.3.1.2.2 Non-opiate psychotropic
drugs, which may have stimulant, depressant, analgesic or
neuroleptic effects;

8.3.1.2.3 Miscellaneous drugs which
might have a stimulant effect on the central nervous syste
(CNS);

8.3.1.2.4 Drugs with prominent CNS
depressant action;

8.3.1.2.5 Antidepressant and
antipsychotic drugs, with or without prominent CNS
stimulatory or depressant effects;

8.3.1.2.6 Muscle blocking drugs
which have a direct neuromuscular blocking action;

8.3.1.2.7 Local anesthetics which have
a reasonable potential for use as nerve blocking agents
(except procaine); and

8.3.1.2.8 Snake venoms and other
biologic substances which may be used as nerve blocking
agents.

8.3.1.3 Class 3
Drugs in this class may or may not
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have an accepted therapeutic use in the horse.  Many are
drugs that affect the cardiovascular, pulmonary and
autonomic nervous systems.  They all have the potential of
affecting the performance of a race horse. The following
groups of drugs are in this class:

8.3.1.3.1 Drugs affecting the
autonomic nervous system which do not have prominent
CNS effects, but which do have prominent cardiovascular or
respiratory system effects (bronchodilators are included in
this class);

8.3.1.3.2 A local anesthetic which has
nerve blocking potential but also has a high potential for
producing urine residue levels from a method of use not
related to the anesthetic effect of the drug (procaine);

8.3.1.3.3 Miscellaneous drugs with
mild sedative action, such as the sleep inducing
antihistamines;

8.3.1.3.4 Primary vasodilating/
hypotensive agents; and

8.3.1.3.5 Potent diuretics affecting
renal function and body fluid composition.

8.3.1.4 Class 4
This category is comprised primarily

of therapeutic medications routinely used in race horses.
These may influence performance, but generally have a
more limited ability to do so.  Groups of drugs assigned to
this category include the following:

8.3.1.4.1 Non-opiate drugs which
have a mild central analgesic effect;

8.3.1.4.2 Drugs affecting the
autonomic nervous system which do not have prominent
CNS, cardiovascular or respiratory effects

8.3.1.4.2.1 Drugs used solely as
topical vasoconstrictors or decongestants

8.3.1.4.2.2 Drugs used as
gastrointestinal antispasmodics

8.3.1.4.2.3 Drugs used to void the
urinary bladder

8.3.1.4.2.4 Drugs with a major
effect on CNS vasculature or smooth muscle of visceral
organs.

8.3.1.4.3 Antihistamines which do not
have a significant CNS depressant effect (This does not
include H1 blocking agents, which are listed in Class 5);

8.3.1.4.4 Mineralocorticoid drugs;
8.3.1.4.5 Skeletal muscle relaxants;
8.3.1.4.6 Anti-inflammatory

drugs--those that may reduce pain as a consequence of their
anti-inflammatory actions, which include:

8.3.1.4.6.1 Non-Steroidal
Anti-Inflammatory Drugs (NSAIDs)--aspirin-like drugs;

8.3.1.4.6.2 Corticosteroids
(glucocorticoids); and

8.3.1.4.6.3 Miscellaneous

anti-inflammatory agents.
8.3.1.4.7Anabolic and/or androgenic

steroids and other drugs;
8.3.1.4.8 Less potent diuretics;
8.3.1.4.9 Cardiac glycosides and

antiarrhythmics including:
8.3.1.4.9.1 Cardiac glycosides;
8.3.1.4.9.2 Antiarrhythmic agents

(exclusive of lidocaine, bretylium and propanolol); and
8.3.1.4.9.3 Miscellaneous

cardiotonic drugs.
8.3.1.4.10 Topical Anesthetics--agents not

available in injectable formulations;
8.3.1.4.11 Antidiarrheal agents; and
8.3.1.4.12 Miscellaneous drugs

including:
8.3.1.4.12.1  Expectorants with little

or no other pharmacologic action;
8.3.1.4.12.2  Stomachics; and
8.3.1.4.12.3  Mucolytic agents.

8.3.1.5 Class 5
Drugs in this category are therapeutic

medications for which concentration limits have been
established as well as certain miscellaneous agents.
Included specifically are agents which have very localized
action only, such as anti-ulcer drugs and certain antiallergic
drugs.  The anticoagulant drugs are also included.

8.3.2  Penalty Recommendations
In the absence of aggravating or mitigating

circumstances, the following penalties and disciplinary
measures may be imposed for violations of these medication
and prohibited substances rules:

8.3.2.1 Class 1--One to five years suspension
and at least $5,000 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.2.2 Class 2-- Six months to one year
suspension and $1,500 to $2,500 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.2.3 Class 3--Sixty days to six months
suspension and up to $1,500 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.2.4 Class 4--Fifteen to 60 days suspension
and up to $1,000 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.2.4.1 If the substance is detected in
a blood sample, or if the substance is detected in any sample
in which more than one prohibited substance is detected, or
if the substance is detected in a urine sample at a level
which, in the opinion of the official chemist, caused
interference with testing procedures:  Fifteen to 50 days
suspension and up to $1,000 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.2.4.2 If the substance is detected in
a urine sample but not in a blood sample:

8.3.2.4.2.1 And if such detection is
the first violation of this chapter within a 12-month period:
Up to a $250 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.2.4.2.2 And if such detection is
the second violation of this chapter within a 12-month
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period:  Up to a $1,000 fine and loss of purse.
8.3.2.4.2.3 And if such detection is

the third violation of this chapter within a 12-month period:
Up to a $1,000 fine and up to a 50-day suspension and loss
of purse.

8.3.2.5 Class 5 --Zero to 15 days suspension
with a possible loss of purse and/or fine.

8.3.2.5.1 If the substance is detected in
a blood sample, or if the substance is detected in any sample
in which more than one prohibited substance is detected, or
if the substance is detected in a urine sample at a level
which, in the opinoin of the official chemist, caused
interference with the testing procedures: Zero to 15 days
suspension and up to a $250 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.2.5.2 If the substance is detected in
a urine sample but not in a blood sample:

8.3.2.5.2.1  And if such detection is
the first violation of this chapter within a 12-month period:
Up to a $250 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.2.5.2.2  And if such detection is
the second violation of this chapter within a 12-month
period: Up to a $1,000 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.2.5.2.3  And if such detection is
the third violation of this chapter within a 12-month period:
Up to a $1,000 fine and up to a 15-day suspension and loss
of purse.

Where aggravating or mitigating circumstances
exist, greater or lesser penalties and/or disciplinary measures
may be imposed than those set forth above.  In particular, in
the presence of aggravating circumstances -- including but
not limited to (1) repeated violations of these medication and
prohibited substances rules by the same trainer or with
respect to the same horse; (2) prior violations of similar rules
in other racing jurisdictions by the same trainer or with
respect to the same horse; or (3) violations which endanger
the life or health of the horse -- greater penalties, up to and
including lifetime suspension, may be imposed.  

8.3.2.6 In determining the appropriate penalty
with respect to a medication rule violation, the State Steward
or other designee of the Commission may use his discretion
in the application of the foregoing penalty recommendations,
and shall consult with the State Veterinarian, the
Commission veterinarian and/or the Commission chemist to
determine the seriousness of the laboratory finding or the
medication violation.  Where aggravating or mitigating
circumstances exist, greater or lesser penalties and/or
disciplinary measures may be imposed than those set forth
above.  Specifically, if the State Steward or other designee of
the Commission determine that mitigating circumstances
warrant imposition of a lesser penalty than the
recommendations suggest, he may impose a lesser penalty.
If the State Steward or other designee of the Commission
determines that aggravating circumstances require
imposition of a greater penalty, however, he may only

impose up to the maximum recommended penalty, and must
refer the case to the Commission for its review, with a
recommendation for specific action.  Without limitation, the
presence of the following aggravating circumstances may
warrant imposition of greater penalties than those
recommended, up to and including a lifetime suspension:

8.3.2.6.1 Repeated violations of these
medication and prohibited substances rules by the same
trainer or with respect to the same horse;

8.3.2.6.2 Prior violations of similar
rules in other racing jurisdictions by the same trainer or with
respect to the same horse; or

8.3.2.6.3 Violations which endanger
the life or health of the horse.

8.3.2.7  With respect to Class 1, 2 and 3 drugs
detected in a urine sample but not in a blood sample, and in
addition to the foregoing factors, in determining the length
of a suspension and/or the amount of a fine, or both, the State
Steward or judges may take into consideration, without
limitation, whether the drug has any equine therapeutic use,
the time and method of administration, if determined,
whether more than one foreign substance was detected in the
sample, and any other appropriate aggravating or mitigating
factors.

8.3.2.8  Whenever a trainer is suspended more
than once within a two-year period for a violation of this
chapter regarding medication rules, any suspension imposed
on the trainer for any such subsequent violation also shall
apply to the horse involved in such violation.  The State
Steward or judges may impose a shorter suspension on the
horse than on the trainer.

8.3.2.9  At the discretion of the State Steward
or other designee of the Commission, a horse as to which an
initial finding of a prohibited substance has been made by
the Commission chemist may be prohibited from racing
pending a timely hearing; provided, however, that other
horses registered under the care of the trainer of such a horse
may, with the consent of the State Steward or other designee
of the Commission be released to the care of another trainer,
and may race.

8.3.3  Medication Restrictions
8.3.3.1 Drugs or medications in horses are

permissible, provided:
8.3.3.1.1 the drug or medication is listed

by the Association of Racing Commissioners International's
Drug Testing and Quality Assurance Program; and

8.3.3.1.2  the maximum permissible urine
or blood concentration of the drug or medication does not
exceed the published limit established in these Rules or
otherwise approved and published by the Commission.

8.3.3.2 Except as otherwise provided by this
chapter, a person may not administer or cause to be
administered by any means to a horse a prohibited drug,
medication, chemical or other substance, including any
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 11, MONDAY, MAY 1, 2000



FINAL REGULATIONS 1535
restricted medication pursuant to this chapter during the 48
24-hour period before post time for the race in which the
horse is entered.  Such administration shall result in the
horse being scratched from the race and may result in
disciplinary actions being taken.

8.3.3.3 A finding by the official chemist of a
prohibited drug, chemical or other substance in a test
specimen of a horse is prima facie evidence that the
prohibited drug, chemical or other substance was
administered to the horse and, in the case of a post-race test,
was present in the horse's body while it was participating in a
race.  Prohibited substances include:

8.3.3.3.1  drugs or medications for which
no acceptable levels have been established in these Rules or
otherwise approved and published by the Commission;

8.3.3.3.2  therapeutic medications in
excess of established acceptable levels acceptable limits
established in these rules or otherwise approved and
published by the Commission;

8.3.3.3.3  substances present in the horse
in excess of levels at which such substances could occur
naturally and such prohibited substances shall include a total
carbon dioxide level of 37 mmol/L or serum in a submitted
blood sample from a horse or 39 mmol/L if serum from a
horse which has been administered furosemide in
compliance with these rules, provided that a licensee has the
right, pursuant to procedures to be established by the
Commission such procedures as may be established from
time to time by the Commission, to attempt to prove that a
horse has a naturally high carbon dioxide level in excess of
the above-mentioned levels; and  provided, further, that an
excess total carbon dioxide level shall be penalized in
accordance with the penalty recommendation applicable to
Class 2 substance.

1 DE Reg. 923 (01/01/98) 
8.3.3.3.4  substances foreign to a horse at

levels that cause interference with testing procedures.
8.3.3.4  The tubing, dosing or jugging of any

horse for any reason within 24 hours prior to its scheduled
race is prohibited unless administered for medical
emergency purposes by a licensed veterinarian, in which
case the horse shall be scratched.  The practice of
administration of any substance via a naso-gastric tube or
dose syringe into a horse's stomach within 24 hours prior to
its scheduled race is considered a violation of these rules and
subject to disciplinary action, which may include fine,
suspension and revocation or license.

8.3.4  Medical Labeling
8.3.4.1 No person on association grounds

where horses are lodged or kept, excluding licensed
veterinarians, shall have in or upon association grounds
which that person occupies or has the right to occupy, or in
that person's personal property or effects or vehicle in that
person's care, custody or control, a drug, medication,

chemical, foreign substance or other substance that is
prohibited in a horse on a race day unless the product is
labelled in accordance with this subsection.

8.3.4.2 Any drug or medication which is used
or kept on association grounds and which, by federal or
Delaware law, requires a prescription must have been validly
prescribed by a duly licensed veterinarian, and in
compliance with the applicable federal and state statutes.
All such allowable medications must have a prescription
label which is securely attached and clearly ascribed to show
the following:

8.3.4.2.1 the name of the product;
8.3.4.2.2 the name, address and

telephone number of the veterinarian prescribing or
dispensing the product;

8.3.4.2.3 the name of each patient
(horse) for whom the product is intended/prescribed;

8.3.4.2.4 the dose, dosage, duration of
treatment and expiration date of the prescribed/dispensed
product; and 

8.3.4.2.5 the name of the person
(trainer) to whom the product was dispensed.

8.3.5  Furosemide (Lasix)
8.3.5.1 General

Furosemide (Lasix) may be
administered intravenously to a horse on the grounds of the
association at which it is entered to compete in a race.
Except under the instructions of the State veterinarian for the
purpose of removing a horse from the Steward's List or to
facilitate the collection of a post-race urine sample,
furosemide (Lasix) shall be permitted only after the State
veterinarian has placed the horse on the Bleeder List.

8.3.5.2 Method of Administration
Lasix shall be administered

intravenously by a licensed practicing veterinarian, unless
the State Commission Vveterinarian determines that a horse
cannot receive an intravenous administration of Lasix and
gives permission for an intramuscular administration;
provided, however, that once Lasix is administered
intramuscularly, the horse shall remain in a detention area
under the supervision of a Commission representative until it
races.

8.3.5.3 Dosage
Lasix shall be administered to horses

on the Bleeder List only by a licensed practicing
veterinarian, who will administer not more than 500
milligrams nor less than 100 milligrams, subject to the
following conditions:

8.3.5.3.1 If less than 500 milligrams is
administered, and subsequent laboratory findings are
inconsistent with such dosage or with the time of
administration, then the trainer shall be subject to a fine or
other disciplinary action;

8.3.5.3.2 Not more than 750
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milligrams may be administered if (1) the State veterinarian
grants permission for a dosage greater than 500 milligrams,
and (2) after the administration of such greater dosage, the
horse remains in a detention area under the supervision of a
Commission representative until it races; and

8.3.5.3.3 The dosage administered
may not vary by more than 250 milligrams from race to race
without the permission of the State veterinarian.

8.3.5.4 Timing of Administration
Horses must be presented at the Lasix

stall in the paddock, and the Lasix administered, not more
than three hours and 30 minutes (3-1/2 hours) prior to post
time of their respective races.  Failure to meet this time
frame will result in scratching the horse, and the trainer may
be fined.  If a horse is late at the Lasix stall a second
consecutive time, the horse will be scratched and removed
from the Bleeder List, and placed on the Steward's List for
ten (10) days.

8.3.5.5 Veterinary Charges
It is the responsibility of the owner or

trainer, prior to the administration of the medication, to pay
the licensed practicing veterinarian at the rate approved by
the Commission.  No credit shall be given.

8.3.5.6 Restrictions
No one except a licensed practicing

veterinarian shall possess equipment or any substance for
injectable administration on the race track complex, and no
horse is to receive furosemide (Lasix) in oral form.

8.3.5.7 Post-Race Quantification
8.3.5.7.1 As indicated by post-race

quantification, a horse may not carry in its body at the time
of the running of the race more than 100 nanograms of Lasix
per milliliter of plasma in conjunction with a urine that has a
specific gravity of less than 1.01, unless the dosage of Lasix:

8.3.5.7.1.1  Was administered
intramuscularly as provided in 8.3.5.2; or

8.3.5.7.1.2  Exceeded 500 milligrams
as provided in 8.3.5.3.2.

8.3.5.7.2 If post-race quantification
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the
running of the race more than 100 nanograms of furosemide
per milliliter of plasma in conjunction with a urine that has a
specific gravity of 1.010 or lower, and provided that the
dosage of furosemide was not administered intramuscularly
as provided in 8.3.5.3.2 or exceeded 500 milligrams as
provided in 8.3.5.3.2, then a penalty shall be imposed as
follows:

8.3.5.7.2.1 If such overage is the
first violation of this rule within a 12-month period:  Up to a
$250 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.5.7.2.2 If such overage is the
second violation of this rule within a 12-month period:  Up
to a $1,000 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.5.7.2.3 If such overage is the

third violation of this rule within a 12-month period:  Up to a
$1,000 fine and up to a 15-day suspension and loss of purse.

8.3.5.7.2.4  If in the opinion of the
official chemist any such overage caused interference with
testing procedures, then for each such overage a penalty of
up to a $1,000 fine and a suspension of from 15 to 50 days
may be imposed.

8.3.5.8 Reports
8.3.5.8.1  The licensed practicing

veterinarian who administers Lasix to a horse scheduled to
race shall prepare a written certification indicating the time,
dosage and method of administration.

8.3.5.8.2  The written certification shall be
delivered to a Commission representative designated by the
State Steward at least one (1) hour before the horse is
scheduled to race.

8.3.5.8.3  The State Steward or judges
shall order a horse scratched if the written certification is not
received in a timely manner.

8.3.6 5.9  Bleeder List
8.3.6 5.9.1 The State Commission

veterinarian shall maintain a Bleeder List of all horses which
have demonstrated external evidence of exercise induced
pulmonary hemorrhage (EIPH) or the existence of
hemorrhage in the trachea post exercise upon:

8.3.65.9.1.1  visual examination
wherein blood is noted in one or both nostrils either:

8.3.6 5.9.1.1.1  during a race;
8.3.6.5.91.1.2  immediately post-

race or post-exercise on track; or
8.3.6.5.91.1.3  within one hour

post-race or post-exercise in paddock and/or stable area,
confirmed by endoscopic examination; or

8.3.6.5.9.1.2 endoscopic examination,
which may be requested by the owner or trainer who feels
his or her horse is a bleeder.  Such endoscopic examination
must be done by a practicing veterinarian, at the owner's or
trainer's expense, and in the presence of the State
Commission veterinarian or Lasix veterinarian.  Such an
examination shall take place within one hour post-race or
post-exercise; or

8.3.6.5.9.1.3  presentation to the State
Commission veterinarian, at least 48 hours prior to racing, of
a current Bleeder Certificate from an official veterinarian
from any other jurisdiction, which show the date, place and
method -- visual or endoscopy -- by which the horse was
determined to have bled, or which attests that the horse is a
known bleeder and receives bleeder medication in that
jurisdiction, provided that such jurisdiction's criteria for the
identification of bleeders are satisfactory to the State
veterinarian.

8.3.6 5.9.2 The confirmation of a
bleeder horse must be certified in writing by the State
Commission veterinarian or the Lasix veterinarian and
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entered on the Bleeder List.  Copies of the certification shall
be issued to the owner of the horse or the owner's designee
upon request.  A copy of the bleeder certificate shall be
attached to the horse's eligibility certificate.

8.3.6. 5.9.3 Every confirmed bleeder,
regardless of age, shall be placed on the Bleeder List, and
Lasix must be administered to the horse in accordance with
these rules prior to every race, including qualifying races, in
which the horse starts.

8.3.6. 5.9.4 A horse which bleeds in a
twelve month period based on the criteria set forth in 8.3.6.
5.9.1 above shall be restricted from racing at any facility
under the jurisdiction of the Commission, as follows:

8.3.6. 5.9.4.1  1st time - 10 days;
8.3.6. 5.9.4.2  2nd time - 30 days,

provided that the horse must be added to or remain on the
Bleeder List, and must complete a satisfactory qualifying
race before resuming racing;

8.3.6. 5.9.4.3  3rd time - 30 days, and
the horse shall be added to the Steward's List, to be removed
at the discretion of the State Commission veterinarian
following a satisfactory qualifying race after the mandatory
30-day rest period; and

8.3.6. 5.9.4.4  4th time - barred for
life.

8.3.6. 5.9.5 An owner or trainer must
notify the State Commission veterinarian immediately of
evidence that a horse is bleeding following exercise or
racing.

8.3.6. 5.9.6 A horse may be removed
from the Bleeder List at the request of the owner or trainer, if
the horse completes a 10-day rest period following such
request, and then re-qualifies.

8.3.6. 5.9.7 Any horse on the Bleeder
List which races in a jurisdiction where it is not eligible for
bleeder medication, whether such ineligibility is due to the
fact that it does not qualify for bleeder medication in that
jurisdiction or because bleeder medication is prohibited in
that jurisdiction, shall automatically remain on the Bleeder
List at the discretion of the owner or trainer, provided that
such decision by the owner or trainer must be declared at the
time of the first subsequent entry in Delaware, and the Lasix
symbol in the program shall appropriately reflect that the
horse did not receive Lasix its last time out.  Such an election
by the owner or trainer shall not preclude the State
Commission veterinarian, State Steward or Presiding Judge
from requiring re-qualification whenever a horse on the
Bleeder List races in another jurisdiction without bleeder
medication, and the integrity of the Bleeder List may be
questioned.

8.3.6. 5.9.8 Any horse on the Bleeder
List which races without Lasix in any jurisdiction which
permits the use of Lasix shall automatically be removed
from the Bleeder List.  In order to be restored to the Bleeder

List, the horse must demonstrate EIPH in accordance with
the criteria set forth in subdivision 1 above.  If the horse does
demonstrate EIPH and is restored to the Bleeder List, the
horse shall be suspended from racing in accordance with the
provisions of 8.3.6.4 above.

8.3.6. 5.9.9 The State Steward or
Presiding Judge, in consultation with the State Commission
veterinarian, will rule on any questions relating to the
Bleeder List.

8.3.7 5.10  Medication Program Entries
It is the responsibility of the trainer at the

time of entry of a horse to provide the racing secretary with
the bleeder medication status of the horse on the entry blank,
and also to provide the State Commission veterinarian with a
bleeder certificate, if the horse previously raced out-of-state
on bleeder medication.

8.3.6  Phenylbutazone (Bute)
8.3.6.1  General

8.3.6.1.1 Phenylbutazone or
oxyphenbutazone may be administered to horses three years
of age and older in such dosage amount that the official test
sample shall contain not more than 2.0 micrograms per
milliliter of blood plasma.

8.3.6.1.2 If post-race quantification
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the
running of the race more than 2.0 but not more than 2.6
micrograms per milliliter of blood plasma of phenylbutazone
or oxyphenbutazone, then [a] warning[s] shall be issued to
the trainer.

8.3.6.1.3  If post-race quantification
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the
running of the race more than 2.6  micrograms per milliliter
of blood plasma of phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone,
then a penalty shall be imposed as follows:

8.3.6.1.3.1 For an average between
2.6 and less than 5.0 micrograms per milliliter:

8.3.6.1.3.1.1 If such overage is
the first violation of this rule within a 12-month period:  Up
to a $250 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.2 If such overage is
the second violation of this rule within a 12-month period:
Up to a $1,000 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.3 If such overage is
the third violation of this rule within a 12-month period:  Up
to a  $1,000 fine and up to a 15-day suspension and loss of
purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.4 For an overage of
5.0 micrograms or more per milliliter:  Up to a $1,000 fine
and up to a 50-day suspension and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.4 If post-race quantification
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the
running of the race any quantity of phenylbutazone or
oxyphenbutazone, and also carried in its body at the time of
the running of the race any quantity of any other non-
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steroidal anti-inflammatory drug, including but not limited
to naproxen, flunixin and meclofenamic acid, then such
presence of phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone, shall
constitute a violation of this rule and shall be subject to a
penalty of up to a $1,000 fine and up to a 50-day suspension
and loss of purse.

8.4 Testing
8.4.1  Reporting to the Test Barn

8.4.1.1 The official winning horse and any
other horse ordered by the Commission and/or the State
Steward or judges shall be taken to the Test Barn to have a
blood, urine and/or other specimen sample taken at the
direction of the State Commission veterinarian.  Horses shall
be selected for post-racing testing according to the following
protocol:

8.4.1.1.1  At least one horse in each race,
selected by the judges from among the horses finishing in the
first four positions in each race, shall be tested.

8.4.1.1.2  Any claimed horse not otherwise
selected for testing shall be tested if requested by the
claimant at the time the claim form is submitted in
accordance with these rules.  If such a request is made by a
claimant, then the claimed horse shall not be permitted to be
entered to race until the Commission chemist issues a report
on his forensic analysis of the samples taken from the horse.

8.4.1.1.3  Horses selected for testing shall
be taken to the Test Barn or Test Stall to have a blood, urine
and/or other specimen sample taken at the direction of the
State veterinarian.

8.4.1.2 Random or extra testing, including
pre-race testing, may be required by the State Steward or
judges, or by the Commission, at any time on any horse on
association grounds.

8.4.1.3 Unless otherwise directed by the State
Steward, judges or the State Commission veterinarian, a
horse that is selected for testing must be taken directly to the
Test Barn.

8.4.2  Sample Collection
8.4.2.1 Sample collection shall be done in

accordance with the RCI Drug Testing and Quality
Assurance Program External Chain of Custody Guidelines,
or other guidelines and instructions provided by the State
Commission veterinarian.

8.4.2.2 The State Commission Vveterinarian
shall determine a minimum sample requirement for the
primary testing laboratory.  A primary testing laboratory
must be approved by the Commission.

8.4.3  Procedure for Taking Specimens
8.4.3.1 Horses from which specimens are to

be drawn shall be taken to the detention area at the
prescribed time and remain there until released by the
Commission veterinarian.  Only the owner, trainer, groom
or hot walker of horses to be tested shall be admitted to the
detention area without permission of the Commission

veterinarian.
8.4.3.2 Stable equipment other than

equipment necessary for washing and cooling out a horse
shall be prohibited in the detention area.

8.4.3.2.1 Buckets and water shall be
furnished by the Commission veterinarian.

8.4.3.2.2 If a body brace is to be used,
it shall be supplied by the responsible trainer and
administered only with the permission and in the presence of
the Commission veterinarian.

8.4.3.2.3 A licensed veterinarian shall
attend a horse in the detention area only in the presence of
the Commission veterinarian.

8.4.3.3 One of the following persons shall be
present and witness the taking of the specimen from a horse
and so signify in writing:

8.4.3.3.1 The owner;
8.4.3.3.2 The responsible trainer who,

in the case of a claimed horse, shall be the person in whose
name the horse raced; or

8.4.3.3.3 A stable representative
designated by such owner or trainer.

8.4.3.4
8.4.3.4.1 All urine containers shall be

supplied by the Commission laboratory and shall be sealed
with the laboratory security seal which shall not be broken,
except in the presence of the witness as provided by
(subsection (3)) subsection 8.4.3.3 of this section.

8.4.3.4.2 Blood vacutainers will also
be supplied by the Commission laboratory in sealed
packages as received from the manufacturer.

8.4.3.5 Samples taken from a horse, by the
Commission veterinarian or his assistant at the detention
barn, shall be collected and in double containers and
designated as the “primary” and “secondary” samples.

8.4.3.5.1These samples shall be sealed
with tamper-proof tape and bear a portion of the multiple
part “identification tag” that has identical printed numbers
only. The other portion of the tag bearing the same printed
identification number shall be detached in the presence of
the witness

8.4.3.5.2 The Commission
veterinarian shall:

8.4.3.5.2.1 Identify the horse fro
which the specimen was taken.

8.4.3.5.2.2 Document the race and
day, verified by the witness; and

8.4.3.5.2.3 Place the detached
portions of the identification tags in a sealed envelope for
delivery only to the stewards.

8.4.3.5.3 After both portions of
samples have been identified in accordance with this section,
the “ primary” sample shall be delivered to the official
chemist designated by the Commission.
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8.4.3.5.4 The  “secondary”  sample
shall remain in the custody of the Commission veterinarian
at the detention area and urine samples shall be frozen and
blood samples refrigerated in a locked refrigerator/freezer.

8.4.3.5.5 The Commission
veterinarian shall take every precaution to ensure that neither
the Commission chemist nor any member of the laboratory
staff shall know the identity of the horse from which a
specimen was taken prior to the completion of all testing.

8.4.3.5.6 When the Commission
chemist has reported that the “primary” sample delivered
contains no prohibited drug, the “secondary” sample shall be
properly disposed.

8.4.3.5.7 If after a horse remains a
reasonable time in the detention area and a specimen can not
be taken from the horse, the Commission veterinarian may
permit the horse to be returned to its barn and usual
surroundings for the taking of a specimen under the
supervision of the Commission veterinarian.

8.4.3.5.8 If one hundred (100)
milliliters (ml.) or less of urine is obtained, it will not be
split, but will be considered the “primary”  sample and will
be tested as other “primary” samples.

8.4.3.5.9 Two (2) blood samples shall
be collected in twenty (20) milliliters vacutainers, one for the
“primary” and one for the “secondary” sample.

8.4.3.5.10  In the event of an initial finding
of a prohibited drug substance or in violation of these Rules
& Regulations, the Commission chemist shall notify the
Commission, both orally and in writing, and an oral or
written notice shall be issued by the Commission to the
owner and trainer or other responsible person no more than
twenty-four (24) hours after the receipt of the initial finding,
unless extenuating circumstances require a longer period, in
which case the Commission shall provide notice as soon as
possible in order to allow for testing of the “secondary”
sample;  provided, however, that the procedure for testing
the ‘secondary’ sample shall not apply to, and there shall be
no right to such testing of a ‘secondary’ sample with respect
to, a finding of a prohibited level of total carbon dioxide in a
submitted blood sample. [provided, however, that with
respect to a finding of a prohibited level of total carbon
dioxide in a blood sample, there shall be no right to
testing of the ‘secondary’ sample unless such finding
initially is made at the racetrack on the same day that the
tested horse raced, and in every such circumstances the
‘secondary’ sample shall be transported to a referee
laboratory designated by the Commission for testing.]

8.4.3.5.10.1  If  testing of the
“secondary”  sample is desired, the owner, trainer, or other
responsible person shall so notify the Commission in writing
within 48 hours after notification of the initial positive test or
within a reasonable period of time established by the
Commission after consultation with the Commission

chemist.  The reasonable period is to be calculated to insure
the integrity of the sample and the preservation of the alleged
illegal substance.

8.4.3.5.10.2 Testing of the
“secondary” samples shall be performed at a referee
laboratory selected by representatives of the owner, trainer,
or other responsible person from a list of not less than two
(2) laboratories approved by the Commission.

8.4.3.5.11  The Commission shall bear the
responsibility of preparing and shipping the sample, and the
cost of preparation, shipping, and testing at the referee
laboratory shall be assumed by the person requesting the
testing, whether it be the owner, trainer, or other person
charged.

8.4.3.5.11.1 A Commission
representative and the owner, trainer, or other responsible
person or a representative of the persons notified under these
Rules and Regulations may be present at the time of the
opening, repackaging, and testing of the “secondary” sample
to ensure its identity and that the testing is satisfactorily
performed.

8.4.3.5.11.2  The referee laboratory
shall be informed of the initial findings of the Commission
chemist prior to making the test.

8.4.3.5.11.3  If the finding of the
referee laboratory is proven to be of sufficient reliability and
does not confirm the finding of the initial test performed by
the Commission chemist and in the absence of other
independent proof of the administration of a prohibited drug
of the horse in question, it shall be concluded that there is
insubstantial evidence upon which to charge anyone with a
violation.

8.4.3.5.12  The Commission veterinarian
shall be responsible for safeguarding all specimens while in
his possession and shall cause the specimens to be delivered
only to the Commission chemist as soon as possible after
sealing, in a manner so as not to reveal the identity of a horse
from which the sample was taken.

8.4.3.5.13  If an Act of God, power failure,
accident, strike or other action beyond the control of the
Commission occurs, the results of the primary official test
shall be accepted as prima facie evidence.

1 DE Reg. 505 (11/01/97)
8.5 Trainer Responsibility

The purpose of this subsection is to identify
responsibilities of the trainer that pertain specifically to the
health and well-being of horses in his/her care.

8.5.1  The trainer is responsible for the condition of
horses entered in an official workout or race and is
responsible for the presence of any prohibited drug,
medication or other substance, including permitted
medication in excess of the maximum allowable level, in
such horses. A positive test for a prohibited drug, medication
or substance, including permitted medication in excess of the
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maximum allowable level, as reported by a
Commission-approved laboratory, is prima facie evidence of
a violation of this rule.  In the absence of substantial
evidence to the contrary, the trainer shall be responsible.
Whenever a trainer of a horse names a substitute trainer for
program purposes due to his or her inability to be in
attendance with the horse on the day of the race, or for any
other reason, both trainers shall be responsible for the
condition of the horse should the horse test positive;
provided further that, except as otherwise provided herein,
the trainer of record (programmed trainer) shall be any
individual who receives any compensation for training the
horse.

8.5.2 A trainer shall prevent the administration
of any drug or medication or other prohibited foreign
substance that may cause a violation of these rules.

8.5.3 A trainer whose horse has been claimed
remains responsible for any violation of rules regarding that
horse's participation in the race in which the horse is
claimed.

8.5.4 The trainer is responsible for:
8.5.4.1 maintaining the assigned stable area

in a clean, neat and sanitary condition at all times;
8.5.4.2 using the services of those

veterinarians licensed by the Commission to attend horses
that are on association grounds;

8.5.5 Additionally, with respect to horses in his/
her care or custody, the trainer is responsible for:

8.5.5.1 the proper identity, custody, care,
health, condition and safety of horses;

8.5.5.2 ensuring that at the time of arrival at
locations under the jurisdiction of the Commission a valid
health certificate and a valid negative Equine Infectious
Anemia (EIA) test certificate accompany each horse and
which, where applicable, shall be filed with the racing
secretary;

8.5.5.3 having each horse in his/her care that
is racing, or is stabled on association grounds, tested for
Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) in accordance with state
law and for filing evidence of such negative test results with
the racing secretary;

8.5.5.4 using the services of those
veterinarians licensed by the Commission to attend horses
that are on association grounds;

8.5.5.5 immediately reporting the alteration
of the sex of a horse to the clerk of the course, the United
States Trotting Association and the racing secretary;

8.5.5.6 promptly reporting to the racing
secretary and the State Commission veterinarian when a
posterior digital neurectomy (heel nerving) has been
performed and ensuring that such fact is designated on its
certificate of registration;

8.5.5.7 promptly notifying the State
Commission veterinarian of any reportable disease and any

unusual incidence of a communicable illness in any horse in
his/her charge;

8.5.5.8 promptly reporting the serious injury
and/or death of any horse at locations under the jurisdiction
of the Commission to the State Stewards and judges, the
State Commission veterinarian, and the United States
Trotting Association;

8.5.5.9 maintaining a knowledge of the
medication record and status;

8.5.5.10 immediately reporting to the State
Steward, judges and the State Commission veterinarian
knowledge or reason to believe, that there has been any
administration of a prohibited medication, drug or substance;

8.5.5.11 ensuring the fitness to perfor
creditably at the distance entered;

8.5.5.12 ensuring that every horse he/she has
entered to race is present at its assigned stall for a pre-race
soundness inspection as prescribed in this chapter;

8.5.5.13 ensuring proper bandages, equipment
and shoes;

8.5.5.14 presence in the paddock at least one
hour before post time or at a time otherwise appointed before
the race in which the horse is entered;

8.5.5.15 personally attending in the paddock
and supervising the harnessing thereof, unless excused by
the Paddock Judge; and

8.5.5.16 attending the collection of a urine or
blood sample or delegating a licensed employee or the owner
to do so; and

8.5.5.17 immediately reporting to the State
Steward or other Commission designee, or to the State
Veterinarian or Commission Veterinarian if the State
Steward or other Commission designee is unavailable, the
death of any horse drawn in to start in a race in this
jurisdiction provided that the death occurred within 60 days
of the date of the draw.

8.6 Physical Inspection of Horses
8.6.1  Veterinarian's List

8.6.1.1 The State Commission veterinarian
shall maintain a list of all horses which are determined to be
unfit to compete in a race due to physical distress,
unsoundness, infirmity or medical condition.

8.6.1.2 A horse may be removed from the
Veterinarian's List when, in the opinion of the State
Commission veterinarian, the horse has satisfactorily
recovered the capability of competing in a race.

8.6.2  Postmortem Examination
8.6.2.1 The Commission may conduct a

postmortem examination of any horse that is injured in this
jurisdiction while in training or in competition and that
subsequently expires or is destroyed.  In proceeding with a
postmortem examination the Commission or its designee
shall coordinate with the trainer and/or owner to determine
and address any insurance requirements.
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8.6.2.2 The Commission may conduct a
postmortem examination of any horse that expires while
housed on association grounds or at recognized training
facilities within this jurisdiction.  Trainers and owners shall
be required to comply with such action as a condition of
licensure.

8.6.2.3 The Commission may take possession
of the horse upon death for postmortem examination.  The
Commission may submit blood, urine, other bodily fluid
specimens or other tissue specimens collected during a
postmortem examination for testing by the
Commission-selected laboratory or its designee.  Upon
completion of the postmortem examination, the carcass may
be returned to the owner or disposed of at the owner's option.

8.6.2.4 The presence of a prohibited
substance in a horse, found by the official laboratory or its
designee in a bodily fluid specimen collected during the
postmortem examination of a horse, which breaks down
during a race constitutes a violation of these rules.

8.6.2.5 The cost of Commission-ordered
postmortem examinations, testing and disposal shall be
borne by the Commission.

THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Section 10103 (3 Del.C. 10103)

Order

Pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10118, the Delaware
Thoroughbred Racing Commission ("Commission") hereby
issues this Order adopting part of the proposed amendments
to the Commission's Rules.  Following notice as required by
29 Del. C. §10115, the Commission makes the following
findings and conclusions:

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted 

1.  The Commission posted public notice of the
proposed rule amendments in the January 1, 2000 Register
of Regulations.  A copy of the proposed rule amendments is
attached to this Order as exhibit #1.  The Commission
proposed amendments to Rule 19.03 and Rule 19.06(a). 

2.  The Commission received no written comments from
the public in response to the posted rule proposals.

Findings of Fact 

3.  The public was given notice and an opportunity to
provide the Commission with comments in writing on the
proposed amendments to the Commission's rules.  The
Commission received no public comments.

4.  On the proposed amendment to Rule 19.03(a),  the
amended Rule would require that all appeals from decisions
of the Stewards to the Commission must be filed with the
Commission’s Administrator of Racing.  Rule 19.03(h)
would be amended to add a new requirement that an appeal
contain a sworn, notarized statement from the appellant
stating that the appeal is taken in good faith and not for
purposes of delay.  

5.  On the proposed amendment to Rule 19.06(a), the
amended Rule would require that all requests for
continuances must be filed with the Administrator of Racing
with a copy sent to counsel for the Stewards.  Rule 19.06(a)
would be further amended to provide that the Commission
will not consider continuance requests from attorneys who
have not filed an entry of appearance.  Rule 19.06(a) would
further provide that all out-of-state attorneys must first be
admitted under the pro hac vice provisions of Delaware
Supreme Court Rule 72 before the Commission will consider
a continuance request. 

6.  The Commission finds that the proposed
amendments to Rule 19.03 are necessary for the more
efficient processing and handling of appeals.  The proposed
amendment to Rule 19.03 also addresses licensees who wish
attempt to appeal decisions of the stewards merely for the
purpose of delay.  Rule 19.06(a) as amended would address a
problem of licensees requesting continuances on the day of
the scheduled Commission hearing.  Both of these proposed
amendments are needed to improve the Commission’s timely
handling of appeals from the stewards’ decisions.  

Conclusions

7.  The proposed rules were promulgated by the
Commission in accord with its statutory duties and authority
as set forth in 3 Del. C. §10103.  The Commission deems
these rules as amended necessary for the effective
enforcement of 3 Del. C. chapter 101 and for the full and
efficient performance of its duties thereunder.

8.  The Commission concludes that the adoption of the
proposed rules would be in the best interests of the citizens
of the State of Delaware and necessary to insure the integrity
and security of the conduct of thoroughbred racing in the
State of Delaware.  The Commission adopts amendments to
Rules 19.03(a) and 19.06(a) in their proposed form.

9.  The Commission adopts these rules pursuant to 3
Del. C. §10103 and 29 Del. C. §10113.  These adopted rules
replace in their entirety the former version of the Rules of the
Delaware State Thoroughbred Racing Commission and any
amendments.

10.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)
days from the publication of this Order in the Register of
Regulations on May 1, 2000.  
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IT IS SO ORDERED this 5th day of April, 2000.

Bernard Daney, Chairman
Duncan Patterson, Commissioner
James Decker, Commissioner
Caroline Wilson, Commissioner

19.03    Application for Review
An application to the Commission for the review of a

Steward’s order or ruling must be made within forty-eight
(48) hours after such order or ruling is issued by written or
oral notice and shall:

(a) Be in writing and addressed to the Commission’s
Administrator of Racing, accompanied by a filing fee in the
amount of $250;

(b) Contain the signature of the applicant and the
address to which notices may be mailed to applicant;

(c) Set forth the order or ruling requested to be
reviewed and the date thereof;

(d) Succinctly set forth the reasons for making such
application;

(e) Request a hearing;
(f) Briefly set forth the relief sought;
(g) Provide assurance to the Commission that all

expenses occasioned by the appeal will be borne by the
applicant;  and

(h) Contain a sworn, notarized statement that the
applicant has a good faith belief that the appeal is
meritorious and is not taken merely to delay the penalty
imposed by the stewards.

19.06    Continuances
(a) All applications for a continuance of a scheduled

hearing shall be in writing, shall set forth the reasons
therefor and shall be filed with the Commission’s
Administrator of Racing after giving notice of such
application by mail or otherwise to all parties or their
attorneys, including counsel for the stewards.  The
Commission will not consider any continuance request from
counsel for an appellant unless counsel has filed a written
entry of appearance with the Commission.  For attorneys
who are not members of the Delaware bar, those attorney
must comply with the provisions of Delaware Supreme
Court Rule 72 for admission pro hac vice before the
Commission.  The Commission will not consider any
continuance request from attorneys who are not members of
the Delaware bar unless and until that attorney has been
formally admitted under Delaware Supreme Court Rule 72
as the attorney of record for the appellant.

(b) When application is made for continuance of a
cause because of the illness of an applicant, witness or
counsel, such application shall be accompanied by a medical
certificate attesting to such illness and inability.

(c) An application for continuance of any hearing must
be received by the Commission at least ninety-six (96) hours
prior to the time fixed for the hearing.  An application
received by the Commission within the 96-hour period will
not be granted except for extraordinary reasons.  The
Commission will not consider any request for continuance
absent evidence of good cause for the request.  A failure by
an appellant to take reasonable action to retain counsel shall
not be considered good cause for a continuance.

(d) If the Commission approves the application for
continuance, it shall concurrently with such postponement,
set a date for the continued hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority 14 Delaware Code, Section 

122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

Regulatory Implementing Order

Credit for Experience for Administrators, Teachers and 
Secretaries School Food Service Employees Substitutes

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to amend seven regulations
from the Handbook of Personnel Administration for
Delaware School Districts by reducing them to three
regulations, Credit for Experience for Administrators,
Teachers and Secretaries, School Food Service Employees,
and Substitutes. The regulations on Administrative and
Supervisory Personnel, Classroom Teachers, Specialists and
Therapists, and the regulation on Secretaries have been
combined into one regulation.  The regulations for School
Food Service Employees and Substitutes are amended but
are still separate regulations.  The content of the regulations
on School Nurses and on Attendants and Aides has been
placed in the regulations on Children with Disabilities and in
the Transportation regulations.

Administrative and Supervisory Personnel, Page 11-2,
has been amended to remove the first three paragraphs,
which are in the Del. C.  The fourth paragraph on credit for
experience has been combined in a new regulation Credit for
Experience for Administrators, Teachers and Secretaries.

Classroom Teachers, Specialists and Therapists, Pages
11-6 through the first five lines of page 11-10 (The balance
of page 11-10 and page 11-11 have already been acted on by
the Secretary and the Board) has been amended to remove all
of the paragraphs that repeat the Del. C.  The last paragraph
on page 11-6 although not in Del. C. in 1981 when adopted
as State Board policy is now in 14 Del. C., Section 1312 (c.).
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The third paragraph from the top of page 11-6 on teacher
experience is retained and the language is updated.  Gifted
and Talented referred to on page 11-9 is now addressed in 14
Del. C., Section 1716 (c) Academic Excellence Units.

School Nurses, Page 11-12 has been amended to remove
all paragraphs but the fifth paragraph which deals with units
for students with disabilities.  The fifth paragraph is now in
the regulations on Children with Disabilities Section 26
Funding Issues for Children with Disabilities and the other
paragraphs are addressed in the Del. C.

Secretaries, Pages 11-13 and 11-14 has been amended to
remove all paragraphs but the first one which addresses
allowable experience toward salary calculations.  This
paragraph has been placed in the regulation Credit for
Experience for Administrators, Teachers and Secretaries and
now allows one year’s experience for each creditable year of
experience in private business, public schools or other
governmental agency.  The new wording removes the word
“full” and replaces it with “creditable.”  The other
paragraphs are found in the Del. C.

School Food Service Employees, pages 11-20 through
11-23 has been amended to change the word “full” year of
experience to “creditable” in the second line under
Experience.  The sections of the regulation under Allocation,
Salaries, Months of Employment, Determination of
Employee Staffing and Salary Formula, Fringe Benefits
Food Service Training and Food Service Management
Technology Program have been amended to remove the Del.
C. references and the technical assistance statements and to
bring the language in line with present Del. C. and
Department of Education procedures where appropriate.
The Health Regulations are removed from this regulation
because school employees are covered under existing
regulations on Tuberculin Tests and Physical Examinations.

Attendants and Aides, Pages 11-24 - 11-25 has been
amended to remove the Del. C. references in the Eligibility
for Employment, Allocation, Salaries and Months of
Employment Sections and to then place the regulations
concerning classroom aides for students with disabilities in
the Special Education Regulations, Section 26 Funding
Issues for Children with Disabilities.  The regulations
concerning transportation aides for students with disabilities
is in the Transportation Regulations, Section 19.  The last
section Job Definition is being removed from the
regulations, as job descriptions are no longer required.

Substitutes, Pages 11-26 and 11-27 has been amended to
remove the Del. C. references and to change the existing
section 1. f., removing the reference to “New Directions”
and referring to “Department of Education initiated
committee work and project assignments” instead.  The
other parts that define when substitutes can be used and how
they are paid remain the same with some changes in the
wording.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the

News Journal and the Delaware State News on March 13,
2000 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice
invited written comments and none were received from the
newspaper advertisements.

II.  Findings of Fact

The Acting Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend
these regulations because of the need to remove the
references to the Delaware Code, eliminate technical
assistance references, reflect current practice and update the
language.

III.  Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Acting Secretary
concludes that it is necessary to amend the regulations.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Chapter 13, the
regulations attached hereto as Exhibit B are hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Del. C., Section
122(e), the amended regulations shall be in effect for a
period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  Text and Citation

The text of the regulations amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations
shall be cited in the Regulations of the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Acting Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C,. Chapter 13, in open
session at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on
April 20, 2000.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten
(10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 20th day of April, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A Woodruff
Acting Secretary of Education  

Approved this 20th day of April, 2000.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
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Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

AS AMENDED

Credit for Experience for Administrators, Teachers and
Secretaries

1.0 Administrators:  No credit shall be given for part
time employment in Administrative and Supervisory
positions.

2.0 Teachers:  Days taught as a substitute or as a
teacher’s aide may not be used toward credit for experience;
however, employment as a teacher on a regular part time
basis may be used toward credit for experience.

2.1 As used in this instance, a “regular part time”
employee is one who is employed in a position which
requires at least 50 hours per month for at least 9 months
during a period of 12 consecutive months.

3.0 Secretaries:  Secretaries may be granted one (1)
year’s experience for each creditable year of experience as a
secretary in private business, public school, or other
governmental agency

4.0 Creditable experience includes experience obtained
while working outside of Delaware.

4.1 This regulation applies to the determination of
creditable experience for salary purposes only, and does not
apply to the determination of creditable experience for
pension purposes which is specified in 29 Del. C., Chapter
55.

Laws on employment and salary for administrators,
teachers, and secretaries are found in 14 Del. C., Chapter 13.

AS AMENDED

School Food Service Employees

1.0 Experience:  School food service employees may
be granted one (1) year’s experience for each creditable year
of experience in similar employment.

2.0 Determination of Employee Staffing and Formula
2.1 School districts shall determine the salaries

paid to cafeteria workers as follows:
2.1.1 Of the total number of full time

workers assigned to a food-preparing cafeteria, a maximum
of two may be paid as a cook/baker.  Satellite schools are
eligible for positions as set forth in 14 Del. C., Section 1322
(c) state funded.

3.0 The salaries prescribed in 14 Del. C., Section
1322(e) for general workers, and cooks/bakers shall be paid
by the State from funds not derived from local food service
operations as determined by the formula:

3.1 Seven (7) hours of labor per 100 meals
determined as follows:

3.1.1 Total number of reimbursable lunches
served in the base month; plus

3.1.2 Total number of reimbursable
breakfasts served in the base month; plus

3.1.3 Total of all other meals served in the
base month determined by aggregating all income.

3.1.3.1 The number of meals prepared
and served will be based on the average reported for the
month of October on the monthly reimbursement claim.

3.2 Each school district will submit to the
Department of Education a computation sheet for cafeteria
workers with data showing hourly rate and hours worked not
to exceed the maximum allowed under state formula.

3.3 Each school district will submit a roster of
cafeteria managers to the Department of Education showing
names of employees and the salaries prescribed in 14 Del.
C., Section 1322(a).  Each district shall also submit a
computation sheet as prescribed by the Department to
determine the number of meals served according to the state
formula.

AS AMENDED

Substitutes

1.0 Payment of Teacher and Other School Employee
Substitutes

1.1 Substitutes for State funded teachers may be
paid from State substitute teacher funds under the provisions
of 14 Del. C., Section 1318 – Sick leave and absences for
other reasons (only specified reasons allowable), Title 29,
Section 5524 – Eligibility for disability pension and Title 29,
Section 5933 – Leaves (sick leave not counted for absence
for work-related disease or accident).

1.2 Substitutes for state funded teachers may also
be paid from State substitute teacher funds for:

1.2.1 Military leave (training or duty not in
excess of 15 days).

1.2.2 Kindergarten Teachers on
Abbreviated Days.  In order to allow kindergarten teachers
additional time for parent conferences, substitute teachers
may be hired using state substitute teacher funding for ½ day
on abbreviated days when kindergarten is scheduled.

1.2.3 Teachers participating in Department
of Education initiated committee work and project
assignments.

1.3 Substitutes for teachers absent under the
provisions of 14 Del. C., Section 1320, Deduction for
Unexcused Absence (or on approved leave without pay) may
be charged to the Division I teacher salary line.

1.4 Substitutes for teachers who are paid fro
federal funds are to be paid from federal funds from the
federal program involved or local funds.

1.5 Substitutes for teachers who are paid fro
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local funds are to be paid from local funds.
1.6 Substitutes for teachers who are paid from

State funds for a fractional part of a State teacher unit and a
fractional part from other funds are to be paid on the same
proportional basis from State substitute teacher funds.

1.7 Substitutes are to be paid from State substitute
teacher funds the amounts authorized for the various classes
of substitutes as provided for in 14 Del. C., Section 1326.
School districts paying more for teacher substitutes than
prescribed in Section 1326 shall do so from local or federal
funds.

Regulatory Implementing Order

Delaware Licensure for Teachers Holding National 
Board Certification for Professional Teaching Standards 

Certification

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to adopt the regulation
Delaware Licensure for Teachers Holding National Board
Certification for Professional Teaching Standards
Certification.  This regulation permits the Department of
Education to grant licensure to persons from other states who
hold a current certificate from the National Board for
Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) by waiving the
pre-licensure requirements of Chapters I, II, and III of the
General Regulations of the Manual for Certification of
Professional Public School Personnel, including the
PRAXIS I requirement.  The applicant must still comply
with the application process requirements of Chapter IV of
the same document 

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on March 13,
2000 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice
invited written comments and none were received from the
newspaper advertisements.  A letter was received from the
Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens
opposing approval of this regulation.  No reasons were
stated.

II.  Findings of Fact

The Acting Secretary finds that it is necessary to adopt
this new regulation because Delaware wants to honor
National Board Certification as a standard for licensure in
Delaware.

III.  Decision to Adopt the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Acting Secretary

concludes that it is necessary to adopt this new regulation.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, the
regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby adopted.
Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Del. C., Section 122(e), the
regulation hereby adopted shall be in effect for a period of
five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in
Section V. below.

IV.  Text and Citation

The text of the regulation  adopted hereby shall be in the
form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulation  shall
be cited in the Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Acting Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open
session at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on
April 20, 2000.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten
(10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 20th day of April, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A Woodruff
Acting Secretary of Education

Approved this 20th day of April, 2000.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

AS AMENDED

Delaware Licensure for Teachers Holding National Board
Certification for Professional Teaching Standards
Certification

1.0 An applicant who holds a current certificate fro
the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards
(NBPTS) shall comply with the application process
requirements of Chapter IV of the General Regulations of
the Manual for Certification of Professional Public School
Personnel.  The pre-licensure requirements contained in
Chapters, I, II, and III of the General Regulations of the
Manual for Certification of Professional Public School
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Personnel are waived for such an applicant.  The
Department will determine the appropriate state certificate(s)
to be issued based upon the national certifications held by
the applicant.

Regulatory Implementing Order
Regulations for K-12 Guidance Programs

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Acting Secretary seeks the consent of the State
Board of Education to amend the regulations for K-12
Guidance Programs, page A-23 and Appendix B in the
Handbook for K-12 Education.  The amended version of the
regulations will still require local school districts to have a
plan for their K-12 Counseling Program but the plan will
now be based on the nine standards identified in the National
Standards for School Counseling Programs developed by the
American School Counselors Association.  The plan will no
longer have to be sent to the Department of Education for
approval. The plan must be reviewed and updated every
three years by the district and the district plan must be
incorporated in the individual school improvement plans that
are reviewed as part of the Quality Review Process.  The title
of the regulations has also been changed to K-12 School
Counseling Program instead of School Guidance Program.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on March 13,
2000 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice
invited written comments and none were received from the
newspaper advertisements.

II.  Findings of Fact

The Acting Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend
these regulations because although districts need to have a
guidance plan for their district and schools the Department
no longer needs to review the plan or dictate the specific
elements of the plan.  The amended regulations do require
that the district use the National Standards for School
Counseling Programs as the basis for their plan and that the
plan be reviewed every three years.  It also requires that the
individual school improvement plans incorporate the district
plan for K-12 Counseling Programs.  Because of concerns
expressed by the State Board and the State Council for
Persons with Disabilities the original version of the amended
regulations has been strengthened.  The district plans must
include the National Standards for School Counseling
Programs, must be reviewed every three years, and must be
incorporated in the school improvement plans.

III.  Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Acting Secretary
concludes that it is necessary to amend the regulations.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, the
regulations attached hereto as Exhibit B are hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Del. C., Section
122(e), the amended regulations shall be in effect for a
period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V below.

IV.  Text and Citation

The text of the regulations amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations
shall be cited in the document entitled the Regulations of the
Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open
session at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on
April 20, 2000.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten
(10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 20th day of April, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff
Acting Secretary of Education

Approved this 20th day of April, 2000.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr.  James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

AS AMENDED

K-12 School Counseling Program

1.0 Each local school district shall have a written plan
for the district’s school counseling program.  The Plan shall:

1.1 Include the American School Counselors
Association’s National Standards for School Counseling
Programs in the areas of Academic Development, Career
Development and Personal/Social Development.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 11, MONDAY, MAY 1, 2000



FINAL REGULATIONS 1547
1.2 Be on file in the district office.
1.3 Be reviewed and updated by the local school

district every three (3) years.
1.4 Be incorporated in the individual school

improvement plans that are reviewed as part of the Quality
Review process.

Regulatory Implementing Order
Regulation on Career Guidance and Placement 

Counselors

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to repeal the regulation, Career
Guidance and Placement Counselors, pages A-24 and A-25
in the Handbook for K-12 Education.  The existing
regulation defines very specifically what the person must do
in this type of position.  The repeal is recommended because
the position is no longer funded from a line item in the
budget.  Now, if the district chooses to employ such a
person, the funding for the position comes from their
academic excellence units.  There are existing certification
requirements for Career Guidance and Placement
Counselors which will help to define this counselor’s role in
the school.  It is no longer appropriate for the Department of
Education to write a job description for the position when the
funding source and process has changed.

Notice of the proposed repeal was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on March 13,
2000, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice
invited written comments and none were received from the
newspaper advertisements.

II.  Findings of Fact

The Acting Secretary finds that it is necessary to repeal
this regulation because there is no longer a need to
specifically define the role of the Career Guidance and
Placement Counselor.

III.  Decision to Repeal the Regulatio

For the foregoing reasons, the Acting Secretary
concludes that it is necessary to repeal the regulation.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, the
regulation attached hereto as Exhibit B is hereby repealed.

IV.  Text and Citation

The text of the regulation repealed hereby shall be in the
form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulation shall
be removed from the Handbook for K-12 Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Acting Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, in open
session at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on
April 20, 2000.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten
(10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 20th day of April, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff
Acting Secretary of Education

Approved this 20th day of April, 2000.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

CAREER GUIDANCE AND PLACEMENT 
COUNSELORS

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to repeal the regulation, Career Guidance and
Placement Counselors, pages A-24 and A-25 in the
Handbook for K-12 Education.  The existing regulation
defines very specifically what the person must do in this type
of position.  The repeal is recommended because the position
is no longer funded from a line item in the budget.  Now if
the district chooses to employ such a person, the funding for
the position comes from their academic excellence units.
There are existing certification requirements for Career
Guidance and Placement Counselors which will help to
define this counselor’s role in the school.  It is no longer
appropriate for the Department of Education to write a job
description for the position when the funding source and
process has changed.

2. CAREER GUIDANCE AND PLACEMENT
COUNSELORS

(a) In the document Guidelines for the Career
Guidance and Placement Counselor Program the State Board
of Education approved the following job description for the
Career Guidance and Placement Counselors:

Specific Tasks of the Career Guidance and
Placement Counselors:

(1) provide coordination to assure students are
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counseled about vocational and related academic educational
programs that best meet their needs at both the regular high
school and/or in the vocational school district;

(2) prepare and keep current a file of available jobs
in the community and serve as liaison with the State
Occupational Information Coordinating Committee
(SOICC) and the Department of Labor;

(3) provide coordination with career and
vocational counseling of middle school students;

(4) provide job placement counseling and assist
students who desire full time placement upon graduation;

(5) assist with the coordination of student
assessment, IEP development, and placement of all
handicapped and disadvantaged students in mainstream
vocational programs;

(6) assist the school district in providing
information to all handicapped and disadvantaged students
and their parents concerning the opportunities available in
vocational education and the requirements for eligibility for
enrollment in vocational education programs.  (This should
be accomplished no later than the beginning of the 9th
grade.)

(7) complete a follow-up study of graduates and
dropouts of each year's graduating class;

(8) serve as liaison with the employment
community and vocational advisory committees;

(9) assist in on-going pre-vocational/orientation
programs to insure relevancy and coordination with the
activities of the career guidance and placement counselor's
function;

(10) assist students in exploring nontraditional, as
well as traditional, vocational program areas and make
career information available to all students for both
traditional and nontraditional jobs; and

(11) coordinate the dissemination of information
and the maintenance of records for the Targeted Jobs Tax
Credit program for eligible student co-op participants.

(State Board Approved July 1987)

Regulatory Implementing Order
School Transportation 

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to amend the School
Transportation regulations by adding a section about school
transportation aides to Section 19, as 19.10 School
Transportation Aides.  This amendment is necessary because
references to school transportation aides, pages 11-24 to 11-
25 Attendants and Aides, in the existing Handbook of
Personnel Administration for Delaware School Districts and
as repeated in the Administrative Manual: Programs for

Exceptional Children is being amended and recommended
for inclusion in the School Transportation regulations.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on March 13,
2000 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice
invited written comments and none were received from the
newspaper advertisements.

II.  Findings of Fact

The Acting Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend
the School Transportation Regulations.  The section of the
regulations for Attendants and Aides on school bus aides
from the Handbook of Personnel Administration for
Delaware School Districts, pages 11-24 to 11-25, and as
repeated in the Administrative Manual: Programs for
Exceptional Children is being amended and since it is a
transportation issue it should be placed in regulations on
School Transportation.

III.  Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Acting Secretary
concludes that it is necessary to amend the regulations.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Chapter 31, the
regulations attached hereto as Exhibit B are hereby
amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Del. C., Section
122(e), the amended regulations shall be in effect for a
period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  Text and Citation

The text of the regulations amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations
shall be cited in the Regulations of the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Acting Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Chapter 31 in open
session at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on
April 20, 2000.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten
(10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 20th day of April, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A Woodruff
Acting Secretary of Education  

Approved this 20th day of April, 2000.
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STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

SECTION 19 OF THE SCHOOL TRANSPORTATION 
REGULATIONS AS AMENDED

19.0 Transportation for Students with Disabilities:
Transportation or a reimbursement for transportation
expenses actually incurred shall be provided by the State for
eligible persons with disabilities by the most economically
feasible means compatible with the person’s disability
subject to the limitations in the following regulations:

19.1 When the legal residence of a person receiving
tuition assistance for private placement is within sixty (60)
miles (one way) of the school or institution to be attended,
the person shall be eligible for round trip reimbursement for
transportation on a daily basis at the per mile rate allowed by
the Internal Revenue Service for business use of a private
vehicle, or for transportation at State expense which may be
provided in lieu of the per mile reimbursement.  (Round trip
mileage is considered to be from the person’s legal residence
to the school or institution and return twice a day, or for
actual mileage traveled, whichever is less.)

19.2 When the legal residence of a person receiving
tuition assistance for private placement is in excess of sixty
(60) miles (one way) but less than one hundred (100) miles
(one way) from the school or institution to be attended, the
person shall be eligible for round trip transportation
reimbursement at the per mile rate allowed by the Internal
Revenue Service for business use of a private vehicle, or for
transportation at State expense which may be provided in
lieu of the per mile reimbursement on a weekly basis and on
such other occasions as may be required when the school is
not in session due to scheduled vacations or holidays of the
school or institution.  (Round trip mileage is considered to be
from the person’s legal residence to the school or institution
and return twice a week.  The weekly basis is to be
determined by the calendar of the school or institution to be
attended.)

19.3 When the legal residence of a person receiving
tuition assistance for private placement is in excess of one
hundred (100) miles (one way) of the school or institution to
be attended, the person shall be eligible for round trip
reimbursement on the basis of one round trip per year from
the person’s legal residence to the school or institution and
return, and at such other times when care and maintenance of
the person is unavailable due to the closing of the residential
facility provided in conjunction with the school or

institution.  (Round trip is considered to be from the person’s
legal residence to the school or institution to be attended and
from the school or institution to the legal residence of the
person on an annual basis or at such times as indicated
above.)

19.4 Reimbursement shall be computed on the per
mile rate allowed by the Internal Revenue Service for
business use of a private vehicle from the legal residence to
the point of embarkation and return to the legal residence
and for the actual fares based on the most economical means
of transportation from the point of embarkation to the school
or institution to be attended; the return trip shall be computed
on the same basis.

19.5 Transportation at State expense may be
provided from the legal residence to the point of
embarkation in lieu of the per mile reimbursement when it is
determined by the local district to be more economically
feasible.

19.6 The local district of residence shall be
responsible for payment of all such transportation
reimbursement when it is determined by the local district to
be more economically feasible.

19.7 All requests for payment shall be made by the
parent or legal guardian or other person who has control of
the child to the transportation supervisor responsible for
transportation in the district of residence at a time
determined by the district but prior to June 5 of any year.

19.8 When reimbursements are made they shall be
based on required documentation to support such payment.

19.9 The legal residence for the purpose of these
regulations is defined as the residence of the parent, legal
guardian or other persons in the state having control of the
child with disabilities and with whom the child actually
resides.

19.10 School Transportation Aides:  With the
approval of the Department of Education, a state funded
school bus aide may be provided on school buses serving
special schools/programs for children with disabilities.

Regulatory Implementing Order
Pre-referral of Enrolled Students for Special Education 

And/or Related Services 
Policies, Programs and Services for Exceptional Children

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to repeal the following two
regulations:  Pre-referral of Enrolled Students for Special
Education and/or Related Services, pages A-9 to A-11, and
Policies, Programs and Services for Exceptional Children,
pages A-14 and A-15, from the Handbook for K-12
Education.  The repeals are necessary because Pre-referral of
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Enrolled Students for Special Education and/or Related
Services is now covered in the regulations for Children with
Disabilities, 2.0 Identification of Children with Disabilities
and Policies, Programs and Services for Exceptional
Children is simply a technical assistance Statement, not a
regulation.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on January 18,
2000 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice
invited written comments and none were received from the
newspaper advertisements.

II.  Findings of Fact

The Acting Secretary finds that it is necessary to repeal
these regulations because one is in the amended regulations
Children with Disabilities and the other is a technical
assistance statement.

III.  Decision to Repeal the Regulations

For the foregoing reasons, the Acting Secretary
concludes that it is necessary to repeal the regulations.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del. C., Chapter31, the regulations
attached hereto as Exhibit B are hereby repealed.

IV.  Text and Citation

The text of the regulations repealed hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations
shall be removed from the Handbook for K-12 Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Acting Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Chapter 31, in open
session at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on
April 20, 2000.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten
(10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 20th day of April, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A Woodruff
Acting Secretary of Education  

Approved this 20th day of April, 2000.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.

Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

Pre-referral of Enrolled Students for Special Education 
and/or Related Services 

Policies and Programs for Exceptional Children

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to repeal the following two
regulations:  Pre-referral of Enrolled Students for Special
Education and/or Related Services, pages A-9 to A-11, and
Policies, Programs and Services for Exceptional Children,
pages A-14 and A-15, from the Handbook for K-12
Education.  The repeals are necessary for the following
reasons:  Pre-referral of Enrolled Students for Special
Education and/or Related Services is now covered in the
900.5 Regulations for Children with Disabilities, 3.0
Procedures for Evaluation and Determination of Eligibility,
and Policies, Programs and Services for Exceptional
Children is simply a technical assistance statement, not a
regulation.

FROM THE HANDBOOK FOR K-12 EDUCATION

I.E.1. PRE-REFERRAL/REFERRAL OF ENROLLED
STUDENTS FOR SPECIAL EDUCATION AND/OR
RELATED SERVICES 

a. Definition
Pre-referral is a process which attempts to address

student learning problems prior to referral for special
education and related services.

Referral is the process whereby a written request is
made for formal evaluation of a student who is being
considered for special education.  Each referral shall be
accompanied by documentation of attempts at pre-referral
intervention.

b. Procedure
For students manifesting difficulty in classroo

learning and who may be in need of special education and
related services, the building principal shall insure that pre-
referral interventions are implemented and documented.
Implementation may be done by the referral agent, usually
the student's current teacher, with the assistance of other
educational personnel as needed.  If the student's learning
problem is not alleviated by these interventions, a referral
shall be made requesting an individual student evaluation in
accordance with the District's Operational Plan for
Exceptional Students.

A parent may initiate a referral for special
education at any time.  In this event, at the discretion of the
parent, pre-referral activities described in this Handbook
may be bypassed.

c. Documentation
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Pre-referral intervention documentation shall
contain each of the following components:

(1) results of records review which may include
school health records, vision and hearing screenings, and
attendance records;

(2) results of conference(s) with the parent(s) or
guardian, administrative and teaching personnel, and other
ancillary personnel if needed;

(3) supportive anecdotal records from the referral
agent which identify the student's learning or behavioral
problem(s);

(4) results of at least two observations conducted
by educational personnel, in at least two different settings;
and

(5) documentation of the results of a minimum of
two interventions, techniques or educational alternatives
which have been employed over a pre-determined period of
time.  Interventions may include a change of staff, program
schedule, ancillary interventions, or other agency
intervention.

d. Exemptions
Exempted from the pre-referral intervention

procedures are:
(1) infants and pre-school-age children;
(2) children whose behaviors endanger themselves

or others;
(3) children who are suspected of being autistic,

trainable or severely mentally handicapped, hearing
impaired, visually impaired, or deaf/blind;

(4) children who are orthopedically handicapped;
and

(5) children with trauma-induced brain or spinal
cord injury.

e. Other Considerations
Referrals for individual student evaluation which

do not contain all required pre-referral documentation shall
be returned to the referral agent with a request for the
required information.  A determination may be made by
special services personnel that additional interventions are
warranted.  Upon agreement of the referral agent, the
building principal and special services representative, such
interventions may be implemented prior to referral for an
individual student evaluation.  These provisions, however,
shall not be used by a school district to delay the provision of
an individual student evaluation when all pre-referral data
are complete and the referral agent maintains that the student
is in need of such an evaluation.

FROM THE HANDBOOK FOR K-12 EDUCATION

1. POLICIES, PROGRAMS AND SERVICES FOR
EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN

a. Policies
The Delaware State Board of Education has

adopted policies for the provision of a free, appropriate
public education to exceptional children which incorporate
both State and Federal requirements.  Each principal should
become familiar with these policies as established in the
Administrative Manual:  Programs for Exceptional Children,
as revised in June, 1996.  Copies of this Manual have been
distributed to principals throughout the State and updates are
forwarded annually.

b. Programs and Services
Each district has prepared and implemented an

operational plan which describes the programs and services
offered to exceptional students residing in the district.  The
plan includes a design of the current delivery system,
policies and procedures, eligibility criteria, funding, district
performance objectives, and program evaluation results.
Written for use by both parents and administrators alike,
copies of the plan are available through district special
services personnel.

Regulatory Implementing Order
Children Wih Disabilities

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Acting Secretary of Education seeks the consent of
the State Board of Education to amend the regulations on
Children with Disabilities, currently located in the
Administrative Manual: Programs for Exceptional Children
(“AMPEC”), adopted July 1993, and as amended August
1993 and June 1996.  The primary purpose of the proposed
amendments is to assure compliance with the 1997
amendments to the Individuals with Disabilities Education
Act (“IDEA ) and its federal implementing regulations.  To
this end, the proposed regulations would adopt all of the
applicable federal regulations as state regulations, while
adding those regulations necessary to implement the federal
requirements at the state level.

The proposed amendments also separate regulatory and
statutory material, and isolate state from federal material. If
adopted, the proposed regulations will be incorporated in a
new technical assistance document entitled Administrative
Manual for Special Education Service  (“AMSES”).

The Department solicited informal comments and input
regarding the revisions to AMPEC in 1998 and 1999 fro
District Directors/Supervisors of Special Education and fro
the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Children.
Notice of the currently proposed amendments, including
information on submitting formal comments, was published
in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on
January 18, 2000 in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A.

The proposed regulations also appeared in the Delaware
Register of Regulations on January 1, 2000, at 3 DE Reg.
886-900 (January 1, 2000) and were distributed to the Chief
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School Officers and the Governor’s Advisory Council for
Exceptional Children, Delaware School Boards Association,
Delaware State Education Association and Delaware
Association of School Administrators in December 1999.  In
addition, public hearings on the proposed regulations were
held on February 1, 2000 and February 2, 2000 at two
different locations in the State.  Notice of these public
hearings appeared in the News Journal and the Delaware
State News on January 3, 2000 in the form attached hereto as
Exhibit B.

Changes were made to the proposed published
regulations as a result of written comments and those
received at the public hearings.  Other comments were
considered, but did not result in changes. These items and
actions are summarized in Exhibit C, attached hereto.

II. Findings of Fact

The Acting Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend
AMPEC because of the 1997 federal reauthorization and
revision of the IDEA and the 1999 federal adoption of the
IDEA implementing regulations. The Department has also
determined that the changes made to the published proposal,
as summarized in Exhibit C, are not substantive and may be
adopted without additional opportunity for public comment.

The Acting Secretary also finds that the proposed
regulations (including the nonsubstantive changes made to
them as a result of public comment) are consistent with the
federal requirements and with Chapter 31 of Title 14 of the
Delaware Code.  The changes to the former regulations also
help clarify the various statutory and regulatory
requirements and impact for school districts and parents.

The Acting Secretary declines to adopt the following
sections of proposed regulations for the reasons stated.
These sections are being revised based on the comments
received and will be republished for additional public
comment.

Section 3.1, “Initial Evaluation.”  As proposed, this
regulation would have required that the meeting to determine
a child’s eligibility for special education services occur
within sixty school days of the receipt of parental consent for
evaluation.  The Department received comments that this
time frame was too long and thus, would unnecessarily delay
the provision of services.  It also received comments that the
proposed regulation did not provide enough administrative
flexibility in evaluation and eligibility assessment.  In light
of the conflicting needs and comments, the Acting Secretary
has determined that additional revisions to this proposed
section are necessary.

Section 4.8, “Eligibility Criteria for Learning
Disability.”  As proposed, this regulation would have
modified the current criteria for eligibility for special
education services based on a learning disability.  The
Department received comments suggesting the new criteria

are underinclusive and that they eliminate evaluator
discretion in favor of strict reliance on discrepancy formulas.
The Acting Secretary has determined that this proposed
regulation should be revised in light of these comments.

Section 21.0, “General Supervision of Education for
Students with Disabilities.”  This proposed regulation was
substantially expanded by the Department after its initial
publication.  The expanded proposed regulation has been
republished for comment and will be presented to the State
Board for consideration at its May 18, 2000 meeting.  The
Acting Secretary has decided to act on the revised proposal
as a whole in May.

Finally, the Acting Secretary notes that the Department
has proposed and published additional regulations
addressing Interagency and Special Programs, Children in
Private Schools, State Agency Responsibilities, and
Funding.  It is anticipated that these regulations will be
presented for consideration by the State Board at its May 18,
2000 meeting. 

III. Decision to Amend the Current Regulations.

For the foregoing reasons, the Acting Secretary
concludes that it is necessary to amend AMPEC. Therefore,
pursuant to Chapter 31 of Title 14 of the Delaware Code, the
regulations attached hereto as Exhibit D are adopted.
Pursuant to the provisions of 14 Del. C., Section 122(e), the
amended regulations shall be in effect for a period of five
years from the effective date of this order as set forth in
Section V. below.

IV.  Text and Citation

The text of the adopted regulations shall be in the for
attached hereto as Exhibit D and shall become part of the
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Acting Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Chapter 31, in open
session at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on
April 20, 2000.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten
(10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 20th day of April, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A Woodruff
Acting Secretary of Education  

Approved this 20th day of April, 2000.
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
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Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

AS AMENDED

900.5  Children with Disabilities
1.0 Adoption and Incorporation of Federal Regulation

1.1 The federal regulations adopted pursuant to the
Individuals with Disabilities Act Amendments of 1997,
effective May 11, 1999 and located at 34 CFR Parts 300 and
303, are adopted and incorporated as part of these
Regulations.

1.2 These Regulations implement, complement
and supplement the federal regulations and Chapter 31 of
Title 14 of the Delaware Code (with the exception of
Subchapter IV) and are designed and intended to insure
compliance with applicable state and federal law.  To the
extent these Regulations conflict with the federal
regulations, the federal regulations shall prevail.

1.3 These Regulations are arranged to correspond
to the order of the federal regulations and shall be read in
conjunction with the parallel provisions of the federal
regulations, as illustrated by the Administrative Manual for
Special Education Services available at the Department of
Education.

2.0 Identification of Children with Disabilities
2.1 Child Find:  Each school district and any other

public agency responsible for the education of children with
disabilities shall identify, locate and evaluate or reevaluate
all children with disabilities residing within the confines of
that district or other public agency, including children in
private schools.

2.2 Health Screening:  Health, hearing, vision, and
orthopedic screening shall be conducted as specified in The
Regulations of the Department of Education, 800.2, 800.3,
800.4, and 800.5.

2.3 Referral to Instructional Support Team:
Referral to the school’s instructional support team is a
process whereby teachers enlist the help of the team to assist
in the identification of potential instructional strategies or
solutions for learning and behavior problems.  The
instructional support team process may or may not lead to
referral for initial evaluation to determine eligibility and
possible need for special education services.  Documentation
of the process should be comprehensive (including baseline
and outcome data) and include strategies such as:
curriculum based assessment, systematic observation,
functional assessment, current health information and
analyses of instructional variables.

2.3.1 Each district or other public agency
shall adopt and implement procedures which provide for the
referral of children to an instructional support team.  All
such referrals shall be specified in writing.

2.3.2 Referrals for an individual child
which do not contain all required documentation shall be
returned to the school based instructional support team with
a request for the required information.  Returns may be
triggered if documentation does not indicate evidence as
described in the instructional support team process.  These
provisions shall not be used by a school district to delay the
provision of an individual student evaluation when all pre-
referral data are complete and the referral agent maintains
that the student is in need of an individual student
evaluation.

2.3.3 A parent may initiate a referral at any
time for an initial evaluation to determine whether or not
there is a need for special education services.

3.0 Procedures for Evaluation and Determination of
Eligibility

3.1 [3.1 Initial Evaluation:  Informed written
parental consent shall be obtained before conducting an
initial evaluation and the meeting to determine eligibility
shall occur within 60 school days of the receipt of consent
for the initial evaluation unless additional time is
mutually agreed upon.][Reserved - Initial Evaluation]

3.2 Evaluation Procedures
3.2.1 Qualified Evaluation Specialists

3.2.1.1 A qualified evaluation specialist
is a person who has met State approval or recognized
certification, licensing, registration, or other comparable
requirements which apply to the area in which he or she is
providing student evaluation services.

3.2.2 Eligibility decisions may include (1)
historical information and (2) evaluation data which are no
more than two years old.

3.2.3 Each initial evaluation shall be
completed in a manner which precludes undue delay in the
evaluation of students.

3.2.4 The Evaluation Report shall
document the IEP team’s discussion of the eligibility
determination including, where appropriate, the additional
requirements for students with a learning disability.

3.3 Procedures for Determining Eligibility and
Placement

3.3.1 Children who have an articulation
impairment as their only presenting disability may not need a
complete battery of assessments.  However, a qualified
speech-language pathologist shall evaluate each child who
has a speech or language impairment using procedures that
are appropriate for the diagnosis and appraisal of speech and
language impairments.

3.3.2 Written Report:  The Evaluation
Report shall document the IEP team’s discussion of the
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child’s continued eligibility, including, where appropriate,
the additional requirements for students with a learning
disability.

3.3.3 Cognitive Ability:  For cases in which
continued eligibility for special education services is
dependent upon level of cognitive ability or discrepancies
between ability and achievement such as learning disability
and mental disability, the IEP team shall ensure that the
eligibility decision is based on reliable and valid individual
assessment data. For children identified prior to age 7, a
second individual evaluation shall occur after the child’s 7th
birthday, and be at least one year apart from the earlier
evaluation.  The results of these two evaluations shall lead to
substantially similar conclusions about the child’s level of
cognitive ability or discrepancy between ability and
achievement, if applicable.

3.3.4 Delaware Student Testing Program
Participation:  The IEP team shall determine the
participation of a child with a disability in the Delaware
Student Testing Program in conformity with the guidelines
set forth in the Delaware Student Testing Program,
Guidelines for the Inclusion of Students with Disabilities and
Students with Limited English Proficiency

4.0 Eligibility for Services
4.1 Age of Eligibility:  Programs shall be provided

for children with disabilities in age ranges as set out in
accordance with Chapters 31 and 17 of Title 14 of the
Delaware Code and other age ranges as provided for by
State and/or federal legislation.

4.1.1 The age of eligibility for special
education and related services for children identified as
having a hearing impairment, visual impairment, deaf-
blindness, or autism, shall be from birth through 20 years,
inclusive.

4.1.2 The age of eligibility for children
identified as having preschool speech delay shall be from the
third birthday up to, but not including, the fifth birthday.

4.1.3 The age of eligibility for children
identified as having speech and/or language impairment
shall be from the fifth birthday through twenty years,
inclusive; provided, however, that children attaining the
minimum age by August 31 of the school year shall also be
eligible.  These children receive a free appropriate public
education as preschool speech delayed upon reaching their
third birthday

4.1.4 The age of eligibility for children
identified as having a developmental delay shall be from the
third birthday up to, but not including, the fourth birthday.

4.1.5 The age of eligibility for children
identified as having a physical impairment, trainable mental
disability, traumatic brain injury, or severe mental disability
shall be from the third birthday through 20 years inclusive;
provided, however, that students in these categories attaining
the minimum age by August 31 of the school year shall also

be eligible.
4.1.6 The age of eligibility for children

identified as having emotional disturbance, educable mental
disability, or learning disability shall be from the fourth
birthday through 20 years inclusive; provided, however, that
children in these categories attaining the minimum age by
August 31 of the school year shall also be eligible.  These
children receive a free appropriate public education as
developmentally delayed upon reaching their third birthday.

4.1.7 Children in special education who
attain age 21 after August 31 may continue their placement
until the end of the school year including appropriate
summer services through August 31.

4.2 Definitions and General Eligibility/Exit
Criteria

4.2.1 Eligibility Criteria - General:  A child
shall be considered eligible to receive special education and
related services, and to be counted in the appropriate section
of the unit funding system noted in 14 Delaware Code, Ch.
17, Section 1703, when such eligibility and the nature of the
disabling condition are determined by an IEP team.

Eligibility and the nature of the condition
shall be based upon consideration of the results of individual
child evaluation data obtained from reports and observations
and the definitions and criteria delineated in these
regulations. Eligibility for classification under any one or
more categories shall include documentation of the
educational impact of the disability.  Documentation of
eligibility shall include an evaluation report from a qualified
evaluation specialist. Eligibility for classification under any
one or more categories shall include, but shall not be limited
to, an evaluation report from the evaluation specialist
designated under the eligibility criteria for each disability.

4.2.2 Exit Criteria - General:  A child
ceases to be eligible for special education and related
services when the IEP team determines that special
education is no longer needed for the child to benefit fro
his or her educational program or the child graduates with a
high school diploma.  In making the determination, the team
shall consider:

4.2.2.1 Eligibility criteria;
4.2.2.2 Data-based and/or documented

measures of educational progress; and
4.2.2.3 Other relevant information

4.3 Eligibility Criteria for Autism:  An IEP team
shall review evidence for the following behavioral
manifestations:

4.3.1 The presence of an impairment of
verbal and nonverbal communication skills including the
absence of speech or the presence of unusual speech
features, and a combination of the following:

4.3.1.1 Impairment in reciprocal social
orientation/interaction;

4.3.1.2 Extreme resistance to change
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and/or control;
4.3.1.3 Preoccupation with objects and/

or inappropriate use of objects; and/or
4.3.1.4 Unusual motor patterns,

including, but not limited to, self-stimulation and self-
injurious behavior.

4.3.2 Identification of autism shall be
documented through an evaluation by either a licensed
psychologist, a certified school psychologist, a qualified
physician, or a qualified psychiatrist.  Determination of the
condition of autism and eligibility for special education shall
be made by an IEP team.

4.3.3 Age of Eligibility:  The age of
eligibility for children identified under this definition shall
be from birth through 20 years, inclusive.

4.4 Eligibility Criteria for Developmental Delay:
A developmental delay is a term applied to a young child,
who exhibits a significant delay in one or more of the
following developmental domains:  cognitive,
communication (expressive and/or receptive), physical
(gross motor and/or fine motor), social/emotional
functioning, and adaptive behavior.  A developmental delay
shall not be primarily the result of a significant visual or
hearing impairment.

4.4.1 In order for an IEP team to determine
eligibility for special education services, under the
Developmental Delay category, the following is required:

4.4.1.1 Standardized test scores of 1.5 or
more standard deviations below the mean in two or more of
the following developmental domains:  cognitive,
communication (expressive and/or receptive), physical
(gross and/or fine), social/emotional functioning or adaptive
behavior; or

4.4.1.2 Standardized test scores of 2.0 or
more standard deviations below the mean in any one of the
developmental domains listed above; or

4.4.1.3 Professional judgment of the IEP
team that is based on the multiple sources of information
used in the assessment process and with justification
documented in writing in the evaluation report.

4.4.2 Age of Eligibility:  The age of
eligibility for classification under the developmental delay
classification is from the third birth date until the fourth birth
date.

4.5 Eligibility Criteria for Deaf Blind:  An IEP
team shall consider the following in making a determination
that a child has a deaf-blind condition:

4.5.1 A qualified physician or licensed
audiologist shall document that a child has a hearing loss so
severe that he or she cannot effectively process linguistic
information through hearing, with or without the use of a
hearing aid. Such documentation shall be based upon a
formal observation or procedure; and a licensed
ophthalmologist or optometrist shall document that a child

has a best, corrected visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the
better eye, or a peripheral field so contracted that the widest
lateral field of vision subtends less than 20 degrees; and

4.5.2 An IEP team shall consider the
documentation of auditory and visual impairment in addition
to other information relevant to the child’s condition in
determining eligibility for special education under the above
definition.

4.5.3 Classification as a child who is deaf-
blind shall be made by the IEP team after consideration of
the above eligibility criteria.

4.5.4 Age of Eligibility:  The age of
eligibility for children identified under this definition shall
be from birth through 20 years, inclusive.

4.6 Eligibility Criteria for Emotional Disturbance:
The IEP team shall consider documentation of the
manifestation of the clusters or patterns of behavior
associated with emotional disturbance and documentation
from multiple assessment procedures.  Such procedures shall
include, but not be limited to, an evaluation by either a
licensed or certified school psychologist, or a licensed
psychiatrist, classroom observations by teacher(s) and at
least one other member of the IEP team, a review of records,
standardized rating scales, and child interviews.

4.6.1 The documentation shall show that
the identified behaviors have existed over a long period of
time and to a marked degree, and:

4.6.2 Adversely affect educational
performance.  This means that the child’s emotions and
behaviors directly interfere with educational performance.  It
also means that such interference cannot primarily be
explained by intellectual, sensory, cultural, or health factors,
or by substance abuse.

4.6.2.1 Are situationally inappropriate
for the child’s age.  This refers to recurrent behaviors that
clearly deviate from behaviors normally expected of other
students of similar age under similar circumstances.  That is,
the student’s characteristic behaviors are sufficiently distinct
from those of his or her peer groups; or

4.6.2.2 Preclude personal adjustment or
the establishment and maintenance of interpersonal
relationships. This means that the child exhibits a general
pervasive mood of unhappiness or depression and/or is
unable to enter into age-appropriate relationships with peers,
teachers and others; and

4.6.3 The age of eligibility for children
identified under this definition shall be from the fourth
birthday through 20 years, inclusive.

4.7 Eligibility Criteria for Hearing Impairment
4.7.1 A qualified physician or licensed

audiologist shall document that a child has a hearing loss
such that it makes difficult or impossible the processing of
linguistic information through hearing, with or without
amplification. Such documentation shall be based upon a
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formal observation or procedure; and
4.7.2 The IEP team shall consider the

documentation of hearing impairment in addition to other
information relevant to the child’s condition in determining
eligibility for special education under the above definition.

4.7.3 The age of eligibility of children
identified under this definition shall be from birth through 20
years, inclusive.

4.8 [Eligibility Criteria for Learning Disability:
In order for an IEP Team to determine eligibility for
special education services under the learning disability
category, the following is required:

4.8.1  Written documentation of the
formative intervention process used with the student.
The documentation must include a:

4.8.1.1 clear statement of the
student’s presenting problem(s).

4.8.1.2 summary of diagnostic
data collected and the sources of that data.

4.8.1.3 summary of interventions
implemented to resolve the presenting problem(s) and
the effects of the interventions; and

4.8.2  A comprehensive psychological
assessment to evaluate the student’s reasoning and
cognitive processes in order to rule out mental
retardation and emotional disturbance; and

4.8.3  An IQ/achievement discrepancy in
reading or writing or math using the regression tables.

4.8.4  The age of eligibility for students
identified under this definition shall be from the fourth
birthday through 20 years inclusive.]

[Reserved - Eligibility Criteria for Learning
Disability]

4.9 Mental Disability:  The degree of mental
disability is defined as follows:  Educable Mental Disability
(EMD) -I.Q. 50-70, »5 points; Trainable Mental Disability

(TMD) - I.Q. 35-50, »5 points; Severe Mental Disability
(SMD) - I.Q. below 35.

4.9.1 Eligibility Criteria for Mental
Disability:  The IEP team shall consider both the level of
intellectual functioning and effectiveness of adaptive
behavior, as measured by a licensed or certified school
psychologist, in determining that a child has a mental
disability and the degree of mental disability.

4.9.2 The age of eligibility for children
identified under the TMD, and SMD definition shall be from
the third birthday through 20 years, inclusive.  Children
identified under the EMD definition shall be from the fourth
birthday through 20 years inclusive.  These children may be
served at age 3 as having a developmental delay.

4.10 Eligibility Criteria for Physical
Impairments:  Eligibility criteria for physical impairments
include examples of orthopedic disabilities, but are not

limited to:  traumatic brain injury, cerebral palsy, muscular
dystrophy, spina bifida, juvenile rheumatoid arthritis,
amputation, arthrogryposis, or contractures caused by
fractures or burns.  Examples of health impairments include,
but are not limited to:  cancer, burns, asthma, heart
conditions, sickle cell anemia, hemophilia, epilepsy, HIV/
AIDS or medical fragility.

4.10.1 A qualified physician shall document
that a child has a physical impairment in order to be
considered for special education and related services under
the above definition.

4.10.2 The IEP team shall consider the
child’s need for special education and related services if the
physical impairment substantially limits one or more major
activities of daily living and the student has:

4.10.2.1 Muscular or neuromuscular
disability(ies) which significantly limit(s) the ability to
communicate, move about, sit or manipulate the materials
required for learning; or

4.10.2.2 Skeletal deformities or other
abnormalities which affect ambulation, posture and/or body
use necessary for performing school work; or

4.10.2.3 Similar disabilities which result
in reduced efficiency in school work because of temporary
or chronic lack of strength, vitality, or alertness.

4.10.3 Determination by the IEP team of
eligibility for services shall be based upon data obtained
from:

4.10.3.1 Medical records documenting the
physical impairment are required, and current medical
prescriptions such as O.T./P.T., medication, catheterization,
tube feeding shall be included if available;

4.10.3.2 Results from specialist tea
screening using appropriate measures which identify
educational and related service needs, as well as
environmental adjustments necessary.  The team shall
include, but not necessarily be limited to, an educator and
physical or occupational therapist; and

4.10.3.3 Prior program or school records
if available; and when determined necessary, a speech/
language evaluation, adaptive behavior scale, vision or
hearing screening, social history, and/or psychological
evaluation.

4.10.4 Age of Eligibility:  The age of
eligibility for children under this definition shall be from the
third birthday through 20 years, inclusive.

4.11 Speech and/or Language Impairment
Eligibility Criteria:  In determining eligibility under the
Speech and/or Language classification, the IEP team shall
consider the results of an evaluation conducted by a licensed
Speech-Language Pathologist which identifies one or more
of the following conditions:  an articulation disorder, a
language disorder, dysfluent speech; and/or a voice disorder.

4.11.1 The age of eligibility for children
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identified under this definition shall be from the fifth
birthday through 20 years, inclusive, except where speech
and/or language therapy is provided as a related service.  In
the latter instance, the age of eligibility shall correspond with
that of the identified primary disability condition.

4.12 Eligibility Criteria for Traumatic Brain
Injury:  A qualified physician must document that a child has
a traumatic brain injury in order to be considered for special
education and related services under the above definition.

4.12.1 The IEP team shall consider the
child’s need for special education and related services if the
traumatic brain injury substantially limits one or more major
activities of daily living.

4.12.2 The age of eligibility for children
under this definition shall be from the third birthday through
20 years, inclusive.

4.13 Visual Impairment Eligibility Criteria
4.13.1 Legally Blind shall be defined as a

visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye with best
correction, or a peripheral field so contracted that the widest
diameter of such field subtends less than 20 degrees.

4.13.2 Partially Sighted shall be defined as a
visual acuity between 20/70 and 20/200 in the better eye
after best correction, or a disease of the eye or visual system
that seriously affects visual function directly, not
perceptually. A visual impairment may be accompanied by
one or more additional disabilities, but does not include
visual-perceptual or visual-motor dysfunction resulting
solely from a learning disability.

4.13.3 A licensed ophthalmologist or
optometrist shall document that a child has a best, corrected
visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye, or a
peripheral field so contracted that the widest diameter of
such field subtends less than 20 degrees, legally blind, or a
visual acuity of 20/70 or less in the better eye after all
correction, partially sighted.

4.13.4 The IEP team shall consider the
documentation of visual impairment in addition to other
information relevant to the child’s condition in determining
eligibility for special education under the above definition.

4.13.5 The age of eligibility for children
identified under this definition shall be from birth through 20
years, inclusive.

4.14 Eligibility Criteria for Preschool Speech
Delay (3 and 4 year olds only)

4.14.1 A speech disability is defined as a
communication disorder/delay involving articulation, voice
quality, and/or speech fluency to such a degree that it
interferes with a child’s overall communicative performance.

4.14.2 In order to determine a significant
delay or disorder in this area, the child shall receive a speech
and language evaluation conducted by a licensed Speech and
Language Pathologist.

4.14.2.1 A speech and language

evaluation shall include assessment of articulation, receptive
language and expressive language as measured by a
standardized/norm-based instrument.  It is strongly
recommended that the evaluation include clinical
observations and/or an assessment of oral motor functioning,
voice quality and speech fluency. Results of the evaluation
may identify a significant delay or disorder in one or more of
the following areas:

4.14.2.1.1 articulation errors of
sounds that are considered to be developmentally
appropriate for the child’s age as measured by an articulation
test,

4.14.2.1.2 conversational speech
that is not developmentally appropriate for the child’s age as
measured by a speech and language pathologist,

4.14.2.1.3 oral motor involvement
which may affect the development of normal articulation,

4.14.2.1.4 Speech Fluency, or
4.14.2.1.5 Voice Quality

4.14.3 Results of the evaluation may indicate
a significant delay in receptive and/or expressive language
which warrants further evaluation.  In this event, the child is
to be referred for a multidisciplinary evaluation to determine
if he/she meets the eligibility criteria for developmental
delay.

4.14.4 The age of eligibility for preschool
children identified under this definition shall be from the
third birth date until the fifth birth date.

5.0 Individualized Education Program (IEP):  An IEP
shall be developed prior to delivery of services and within
thirty (30) calendar days following the determination that a
child is eligible for special education and related services.

5.1 Transition Between Grades or Levels:  During
the annual review, the IEP team shall consider the needs of
the child with a disability who is scheduled for a move.
Communication with the staff of the receiving program shall
occur to ensure that a child’s transition between grades or
levels does not endanger his/her receipt of a free appropriate
public education.

5.2 IEP of Transferring Students with Disabilities
5.2.1 A child with a disability who transfers

from one school district or other public agency educational
program to another must be temporarily placed in an
educational setting which appears to be most suited to the
child’s needs based on a decision mutually agreed upon by
the parents and representative of the receiving school district
or other public agency.

5.2.2 The request for, and the forwarding
of, records shall be in accordance with 29 Delaware Code,
Chapter 5.

5.2.3 A child’s IEP from the sending school
district or other public agency may be acceptable for
temporary provision of special education services.  The
agreement shall be documented by the signatures of a parent
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 3, ISSUE 11, MONDAY, MAY 1, 2000



FINAL REGULATIONS1558
and the receiving principal on a temporary placement form
or the cover page of the IEP.

5.2.4 A review of the IEP shall be instituted
and completed within thirty (30) calendar days from the date
of initial attendance of the child in the receiving agency, and
sixty (60) calendar days for students transferring from out-
of-state schools.  The receiving school is responsible for
ensuring that all requirements concerning evaluation, IEP
development, placement, and procedural safeguards shall be
applied in determining the provision of special education and
related services for transferring children.

5.3 IEP Team:  Participants at an IEP meeting shall
be collectively identified as the IEP Team.

5.3.1 The agency representative must have
the authority to commit agency resources and be able to
ensure that whatever services are set out in the IEP will
actually be provided.

5.3.2 The district shall notify parents of the
IEP meeting no less than ten (10) business days prior to the
meeting (unless mutually agreed otherwise) to ensure that
they have the opportunity to attend, and no less than three (3)
business days for removal due to disciplinary action.  See
12.0 Disciplinary Procedures.

5.4 Content of the Individualized Education
Program:  Each child who is determined to be eligible for
special education and related services shall have a single
IEP.

5.4.1 The IEP shall designate whether or
not it is necessary to place the child who is transported from
school by bus into the charge of a parent or other authorized
responsible person.

5.4.2 By the middle of the eighth grade, the
IEP shall include plans to determine the child’s interests/
preferences, and to make application to high school and
vocational education programs.  Full transition services
planning will apply by the end of the ninth grade or prior to
the child’s 15th birthday, whichever comes first, unless
determined appropriate at a younger age by the IEP Team.

5.5 Monitoring IEPs:  As part of the on-going
responsibility for the monitoring and evaluation of programs
to determine compliance with state and federal requirements,
the school district and/or other public agency shall review
the IEPs of children with disabilities to determine that their
content is consistent with requirements of these regulations.
Documentation of monitoring efforts shall be maintained by
the school district and/or other public agencies.

5.6 Need for Extended School Year Services:  Full
consideration must be given to the educational needs of each
child.  The following factors are to be considered by the IEP
team in making a decision that, without extended school year
services over the summer months, the child would not
receive a free appropriate public education (FAPE) during
the regular school year.

5.6.1 Degree of Impairment:  The team

should determine whether, without extended school year
services, appropriate and meaningful progress on IEP goals
and objectives will not be achieved, given the nature and/or
severity of the child’s disability.

5.6.2 Regression/recoupment:  Regression
refers to a decline in skills specified on the IEP which results
from an interruption in programming.  Recoupment period is
the amount of time required to relearn the skills following
the interruption.  In making a determination as to whether
extended school year services are required, the team should
consider that this criterion focuses on students who have a
consistent pattern of substantial regression in critical skill
areas and for whom the amount of time needed to relearn the
skills becomes so significant as to preclude educational
progress.  The team may utilize predictive data for children
in their initial year of programming.

5.6.3 Breakthrough opportunities:  The
team should determine whether, without extended school
year services, the attainment of a nearly acquired critical
skill would be significantly jeopardized over the summer
break.

5.6.4 Vocational:  For children ages 16-20
whose IEPs contain vocational/employment goals and
objectives, the team should determine whether paid
employment opportunities will be significantly jeopardized
if training and job coaching are not provided during the
summer break.

5.6.5 Other rare and unusual extenuating
circumstances:  The team should determine whether any
special or extenuating circumstances exist which justify
provision of extended school year services to meet FAPE
requirements.

5.6.6 Extended school year services are to
be based on needs and goals/objectives found within the
child’s IEP of the school year, though activities may be
different.

5.6.7 This regulation does not diminish a
child’s entitlement to participate, with or without
accommodations, in summer school programs provided by
local school districts.  Normally scheduled summer school
programs may be an option for providing extended school
year services if such programs can meet the individual needs
of each child, per his/her IEP.

5.6.8 The decision of the setting for the
delivery of extended school year services shall be an IEP
team decision.  The team shall document that the Least
Restrictive Environment (LRE) was considered in making a
decision. Districts are not required to establish school
programs for non-disabled students for the sole purpose of
satisfying the LRE requirements for students receiving
extended school year services.

5.6.9 Transportation shall be provided to
students except for service provided in the home or hospital.
Mileage reimbursement to the family may be used as a
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transportation option if the parent voluntarily transports the
student.

5.6.10 Written notice shall be provided to
parents advising them that extended school year services will
be discussed at the IEP meeting.  The IEP team shall
document that extended school year services were
considered, and indicate the basis for a decision on the IEP.
In cases where parents do not attend the IEP meeting, they
would be advised of the decision on extended school year
services through the usual IEP follow-up procedures used by
the district.

5.6.11 In cases where parents do not agree
with the decision on extended school year services, the use
of normal procedural safeguards shall be followed.  The
process shall begin early enough to ensure settlement of the
issue prior to the end of the school year.

6.0 Least Restrictive Environment is operationalized in
terms of the degree of interaction between children with and
without disabilities.  The decision about placement within
the least restrictive environment is made following the
writing of the IEP and is directly related to the child’s needs
and identified services documented in the IEP.  Settings in
which services can be provided include:

6.1 Regulation Education Class:  Children with
disabilities receive special education and related services
outside the regular classroom for less than 21 percent of the
school day.  This may include children with disabilities
placed in:

6.1.1 Regular class with special education/
related services provided within regular classes,

6.1.2 Regular class with instruction within
the regular class and with special education/related services
provided outside regular classes, or

6.1.3 Regular class with special education
services provided in resource rooms.

6.2 Resource Class:  Children with disabilities
receiving special education and related services outside the
regular classroom for at least 21 percent but no more than 60
percent of the school day.  This may include children and
youth placed in:

6.2.1 Resource rooms with special
education/related services provided within the resource
room, or

6.2.2 Resource rooms with part-time
instruction in a regular class.

6.3 Self-Contained Class:  Children with
disabilities receiving special education and related services
outside the regular classroom for more than 60 percent of the
school day.  This does not include children who received
education programs in public or private separate day or
residential facilities.  This may include children and youth
placed in:

6.3.1 Self-contained special classrooms
with part-time instruction in a regular class.

6.3.2 Self-contained special classrooms
with full-time special education instruction on a regular
school campus

6.4 Public Separate Day School:  Children with
disabilities receive special education and related services for
greater than 50 percent of the school day in public separate
facilities.  This may include children and youth placed in:

6.4.1 Public day schools for children with
disabilities, or

6.4.2 Public day schools for children with
disabilities for a portion of the school day (greater than 50
percent) and in regular school buildings for the remainder of
the school day.

6.5 Private Separate Day School:  Children with
disabilities receive special education and related services, at
public expense, for greater than 50 percent of the school day
in private separate facilities.  This may include children and
youth placed in private day schools for students with
disabilities.

6.6 Public Residential Placement:  Children with
disabilities receiving special education and related services
for greater than 50 percent of the school day in public
residential facilities.  This may include children and youth
placed in

6.6.1 Public residential schools for children
with disabilities, or

6.6.2 Public residential schools for children
with disabilities for a portion of the school day (greater than
50 percent) and in separate day schools or regular school
buildings for the remainder of the school day.

6.7 Private Residential Facilities:  Children with
disabilities receive special education and related services, at
public expense, for greater than 50 percent of the school day
in private residential facilities.  This may include children
and youth placed in:

6.7.1 Private residential schools for
children with disabilities, or

6.7.2 Private residential schools for
students with disabilities for a portion of the school day
(greater than 50 percent) and in separate day schools or
regular school buildings for the remainder of the school day.

6.8 Homebound/Hospital Placement:  Supportive
Instruction (Homebound Instruction) is supportive
instruction in an alternative program provided at home,
hospital or related site for children suffering from an illness
or injury.  For other disabled children it may be the level of
service which assures a free, appropriate public education.

6.8.1 Where the child with a disability is a
danger to himself or to herself, or is so disruptive that his or
her behavior substantially interferes with the learning of
other students in the class, the IEP team may provide the
child with supportive instruction and related services at
home in lieu of the child’s present educational placement.

6.8.2 Services provided under these
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conditions shall be considered a change in placement on an
emergency basis and shall require IEP team documentation
that such placement is both necessary and temporary and is
consistent with requirements for the provision of a free,
appropriate public education.

6.8.3 In instances of parental objection to
such home instruction, due process provisions apply.

6.8.4 To be eligible for supportive
instruction and related services, the following criteria shall
be met:

6.8.4.1 The child shall be identified as
disabled and in need of special education and/or related
services and enrolled in the school district or other public
educational program; and

6.8.4.2 If absence is due to medical condition,
be documented by a physician’s statement where absence
will be for two weeks or longer; or

6.8.4.3 If absence is due to severe
adjustment problem, be documented by an IEP team that
includes a licensed or certified school psychologist or
psychiatrist, and that such placement is both necessary and
temporary; or if for transitional in-school program, be
documented by the IEP team that it is necessary for an
orderly return to the educational program.

6.8.5 IEPs specifying supportive instruction
services shall be reviewed at intervals determined by the IEP
team, sufficient to ensure appropriateness of instruction and
continued placement.

6.8.6 Supportive instruction, related
services and necessary materials shall be made available as
soon as possible, but in no case longer than 30 days
following the IEP meeting.  Such instruction and related
services may continue upon return to school when it is
determined by the IEP team that the child needs a
transitional program to facilitate his or her return to the
school program.

6.9 Least Restrictive Environment Placement
Decisions:  The school district shall ensure that when a child
with a disability is placed, a chronologically age-appropriate
placement is provided.

6.9.1 An educational placement deemed
appropriate by a child’s IEP team shall not be denied merely
because of the category of the child’s disability,
configuration of the existing service/support delivery
system, availability of educational or related services,
availability of space, or curriculum content or methods of
curriculum delivery.

6.9.2 A change in placement requiring an
IEP team meeting occurs when the district proposes to
initiate or change the placement of the child.  This includes a
change in:

6.9.2.1 The amount of time of regular,
special education and/or related services; or

6.9.2.2 The settings as identified in 6.1 –

6.8 above.
6.9.3 A change of placement does not

include a change of teachers when the same services are
being provided, a change in the schedule of service delivery,
or routine movement within a feeder pattern, i.e., grade level
changes.

7.0 Vocational Education:  When appropriate to
individual needs of the children, as determined by the IEP
team, each school district or other public agency responsible
for the education of a child with a disability shall provide
vocational education programs for such children in the Least
Restrictive Environment.

7.1 Children with disabilities will be provided with
equal access to recruitment, enrollment and placement
activities.

7.2 Children with disabilities will be provided with
equal access to the full range of vocational programs
available to all students including occupational specific
courses of study, cooperative education, apprenticeship
programs and to the extent practicable, comprehensive
career guidance and counseling services.

7.3 In addition to the vocational program, each
school district or other public agency shall ensure the
following supplementary services are provided to children
with disabilities:

7.3.1 Modification of curriculum,
equipment and facilities as needed;

7.3.2 Supportive personnel;
7.3.3 Instructional aids and devices;
7.3.4 Guidance, counseling and career

development staff who are associated with the provision of
such special services;

7.3.5 Counseling services designed to
facilitate the transition from school to post-school
employment and career opportunities.  Carl D. Perkins
Vocational & Technical Education Act of 1998.

7.3.6 Regular vocational programs with
supportive services as identified by the IEP team; and

7.3.7 Special education vocational
programs.

7.4 Each school district or other public agency
must provide assurances that they will assist in fulfilling the
transitional service requirement as defined in Individuals
with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

7.5 Each school district or other public agency
shall ensure the provision of an appropriate vocational
education, including access to Career Pathways, as
determined by the IEP team through the availability of a
continuum of vocational education placements.  The
continuum of placements includes, but is not limited to:

7.5.1 Regular vocational programs with no
supportive services;

7.5.2 Regular vocational programs with
supportive services as identified by the IEP team;
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7.5.3 Special education vocational
programs;

7.5.4 Self-contained vocational programs;
and

7.5.5 Community based job training
programs.

8.0 Facilities, Equipment and Materials:  All facilities
which house programs for children with disabilities must
meet the standards approved by the State Board of Education
with regard to space, health, fire, safety, and barrier-free
regulations.

8.1 All instructional or treatment programs for
children with disabilities shall provide appropriate materials
and equipment for implementation of individualized
education programs.

9.0 Length of School Day:  The minimum length of the
instructional school day for a child with a disability in
Kindergarten through grade twelve shall be the same as it is
for non-disabled children in those grades.  The minimum
length of the school day for disabled pre-Kindergarten
children shall approximate that of non-disabled pre-
Kindergarten children, except in a program for the hearing
impaired in which the parent is involved in the educational
program.  In such a program, the school and the parent
together shall determine the schedule for the five (5) hours
per week minimum instruction.  Provision of fewer hours of
instructional time than required by the above standards is
authorized only in unusual circumstances where a child is
medically unable to endure the required length of school day,
and then only by IEP committee decision after disclosure of
the above standards to the child’s parents/guardian.

10.0 Compulsory Attendance:  Compulsory
attendance will be in accordance with 14 Del. C., Section
2703 and 2706, and shall apply to students with disabilities
between the ages of 5 and 16.  Attendance of children with
disabilities under or over the compulsory school attendance
age range, 14 Del. C., Section 2702, shall be determined by
the IEP conference and subject to the eligibility criteria and
appeal procedures provided in these rules and regulations by
the Department of Education.

11.0 Transportation:  Transportation of all children
to and from school is provided under 14 Del. C., Ch. 29.
When special transportation needs are indicated in a child’s
IEP, transportation becomes a “related service.”

11.1 Travel to and from school and between
schools, including required specialized equipment, shall be
at State expense when such travel and/or specialized
equipment requirements are specified on the child’s IEP; and
it is necessary for the implementation of the child’s IEP.

11.2 Travel arrangements are made in
consultation with the local transportation representative
when unusual requirements are indicated.

11.3 Transportation provided to accommodate a
related service shall be at local school district or other public

agency expense.  Transportation incidental to the disabled
child’s educational program shall not be at State expense,
including, but not limited to work study arrangements;
cooperative work arrangements; and extracurricular
activities.

12.0 Discipline Procedures
12.1 Documentation, including the reasons for

the action, must be made of any removal for more than 10
days. In addition to the removals identified in CFR Section
300.519, the following removals shall constitute a change in
placement:

12.1.1 In-school removals for more than 10
days.  If it deprives a child from (1) meeting the goals set out
in the IEP, (2) progressing in the general curriculum - though
in another setting, and (3) receiving those services and
modifications described in the IEP; and

12.1.2 Removals from transportation, if it
results in the child’s absence from school for more than 10
days.

12.2 Expedited Due Process Hearings
12.2.1 An expedited due process hearing

shall be conducted by a single, impartial hearing officer
appointed by the Department of Education from the attorney
members of its Registry of Impartial Hearing Officers, and
shall result in a decision within 45 days of the receipt of the
request for a hearing.

12.2.2 Procedural rules for an expedited due
process hearing shall differ from those for a regular due
process hearing as follows:

12.2.2.1 Any party to a hearing has the
right to prohibit the introduction of any evidence at the
hearing that has not been disclosed to that party at least two
(2) business days before the hearing.

12.2.2.2 At least two (2) business days
prior to the hearing, each party shall disclose to all other
parties all evaluations completed by that date and
recommendations based on the offering party’s evaluations
that the party intends to use at the hearing.

12.2.2.2.1 The hearing officer may
bar any party that fails to comply with this subsection fro
introducing the relevant evaluation or recommendation at the
hearing without the consent of the other party.

12.3 Corporal Punishment:  Prior to any
proposed administration of corporal punishment to a child
with a disability, a determination by the child’s IEP tea
shall be made as to whether or not the misconduct prompting
the proposed corporal punishment is related to, or a
manifestation of, the child’s disability.

12.3.1 The misconduct is related to, or a
manifestation of, the child’s disability, any discipline shall be
in accordance with the child’s IEP.

12.3.2 The misconduct is not related to, or a
manifestation of the child’s disability, corporal punishment
may be administered in accordance with the same State and
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other provisions as applied to non-disabled children in the
school district or other public agency.

12.4 Written Notice:  The school district or
other public agency shall ensure that the parents/guardian of
each child with disabilities receive written notice of the rules
and regulations applicable to such children with respect to
discipline, suspension, expulsion, exclusion as a treatment
procedure, and corporal punishment at the beginning of each
school year or upon entry into a special education program
during the school year.

13.0 Educational Surrogate Parent:  An
“Educational Surrogate Parent”, hereinafter referred to as
“Surrogate Parent”, is defined as an individual appointed to
represent a child who receives, or may be in need of, special
education in all educational decision-making pertaining to
the identification, evaluation, and educational placement of
the student and the provision of a free appropriate public
education to the child.

13.1 A surrogate parent shall be appointed by
the Department of Education to represent a child in all
matters pertaining to the identification, evaluation,
educational placement and the provision of a free
appropriate public education when any one of the following
situations exist:

13.1.1 A parent cannot be identified;
13.1.2 After reasonable efforts, the

whereabouts of the parent cannot be discovered.  Reasonable
efforts include, but are not limited to, telephone calls, letters,
certified letter with return receipt or visit to the parents’ last
known address;

13.1.3 Parental rights have been terminated,
and legal responsibility has not been granted by a court of
law to an individual, not to include a state agency, and the
child has not been adopted; or

13.1.4 The child’s parent has consented
voluntarily, in writing, to the appointment of an educational
surrogate parent.  Such consent is revocable by the parent at
any time by written notice to the Department of Education.

13.2 A surrogate parent is not required for a
child who receives, or may be in need of, special education
when the child is living in the home of a relative who agrees
to act in the place of the parent.

13.3 An otherwise eligible child between the
ages of 18 and 21 shall continue to be entitled to the services
of a surrogate parent.  Such child, however, who has not
been declared incompetent by a court of law retains the right
to make his/her own educational decisions.  This right to
make decisions is extended to include:

13.3.1 The right of access to a surrogate
parent who shall act as an advisor to the student;

13.3.2 The right to refuse the appointment of
a surrogate parent;

13.3.3 The right to participate in the
selection of a surrogate parent; and

13.3.4 The right to terminate the services of a
duly appointed surrogate parent.

13.3.5 To exercise any of the above rights,
the child shall, upon notification of eligibility for services of
a surrogate parent, declare his/her intentions in writing.

13.4 Nomination and Candidacy of Surrogate
Parent:  The Department of Education shall be notified in
writing of the names of potential surrogate parents by
anyone having knowledge of the person’s willingness to
serve.

13.5 Screening of Potential Surrogate Parents:
Each potential surrogate parent shall be screened by the
Department of Education, in consultation with school
districts, to determine that he/she meets candidacy
requirements.

13.6 To serve as a surrogate parent, each
candidate shall:

13.6.1 Be at least 18 years of age;
13.6.2 Be a legal resident of the United

States;
13.6.3 Be competent to represent the child;
13.6.4 Not be an employee of a district or

other public or private agency responsible for, or involved
in, the education or care of the child (a person is not an
employee of a district or agency solely because he/she is
paid by the district or agency to serve as a surrogate parent).
Foster parents are not considered employees for purposes of
this requirement.

13.6.5 Have no interest that conflicts with
the interest of the child he/she may represent (such
determination is made on a case-by-case basis).  In general, a
person would have a conflict of interest if she/she were in a
position that might restrict or bias his/her ability to advocate
for all of the services required to ensure a free appropriate
public education for the child.

13.6.6 Receive instruction about State and
federal laws and regulations, due process procedures,
disability conditions and the availability of programs and
services for students with disabilities, as provided by the
Department of Education; and

13.6.7 Be able to converse in the primary
communication mode used by the child, whenever possible.

13.7 Training for Surrogate Parents:  Initial
training for surrogate parents shall be provided by the
Department of Education.  Such training sessions shall be
conducted at least annually.

13.7.1 The Department of Education shall
issue a Certificate of Training to qualified persons who
complete the required surrogate parent training.

13.7.2 The Department of Education shall
notify districts and the Department of Services for Children,
Youth and Their Families of persons who are certified as
surrogate parents.

13.7.3 Follow-up training shall be provided
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by the Department of Education.
13.8 Appointment of Surrogate Parents:  Each

district shall be responsible for having procedures to locate
and refer eligible children.  Any person or entity, however,
may identify a child believed to require a surrogate parent.
Referral shall be made on the designated form to the
Department of Education with a copy sent to the supervisor
of special education in the district in which the child will
receive or is receiving special education.

13.8.1 The Department of Education shall
determine the child’s eligibility for a surrogate parent.

13.8.2 The Department of Education staff
person responsible for surrogate parents or his/her designee
shall recommend to the Department of Education a certified
surrogate parent to represent the student after consultation,
as appropriate, with the local school district regarding the
match of the surrogate parent to a particular child.

13.8.3 The Department of Education shall
notify, in writing, the district and/or referring agency/person
of the appointment.

13.8.4 A person may be appointed to serve as
a surrogate parent for more than one child to the extent that
such appointment is consistent with effective representation
of the children.  In no event shall one person be appointed as
a surrogate parent for more than four children.

13.9 Responsibilities of Surrogate Parent:  Each
person assigned as a surrogate parent shall represent the
child in all education decision-making processes concerning
that child by:

13.9.1 Becoming thoroughly acquainted with
the child’s educational history and other information
contained in school records and reports relating to the child’s
educational needs;

13.9.2 Granting or denying permission for
initial evaluation or placement, and safeguarding the
confidentiality of all records and information pertaining to
the child to comply with State and federal regulations,
including the use of discretion when sharing information
with appropriate people for the purpose of furthering the
interests of the child;

13.9.3 Participating in the development of an
IEP for the child;

13.9.4 Reviewing and evaluating special
education programs pertaining to the child and other such
programs as may be available;

13.9.5 Initiating mediation, complaint,
hearing, or appeal procedures when necessary regarding the
identification, evaluation, or educational placement of the
child, and seeking qualified legal assistance when such
assistance is in the best interest of the child; and

13.9.6 Taking part in training provided to
become familiar with the State and federal laws and
regulations, due process procedures regarding the education
of children with disabilities, information about disabilities,

and the availability of programs and services for such
children.

13.10 The term of service of the surrogate parent
shall be the length of time which the surrogate parent is
willing to serve; or the length of time the child requires a
surrogate parent; or so long as the qualifications to serve and
the performance of duties as a surrogate parent are met.

13.11 Termination of Services of a Surrogate
Parent:  If the surrogate parent wishes to terminate his/her
service in that capacity, he/she shall notify the Department of
Education, in writing, at least thirty days prior to termination
of such services.

13.11.1 The Department of Education shall
determine whether each surrogate parent’s appointment shall
continue or be terminated.  Termination shall be justified
based only on material failure of the surrogate parent to
discharge his/her duties or maintain confidentiality.  The
surrogate parent shall be given notice of a decision to
terminate and shall have an opportunity to respond.

13.12 Compensation for Services as a Surrogate
Parent:  Surrogate parents shall be reimbursed by the
Department of Education for all reasonable and necessary
expenses incurred in performance of duties.  Reasonable and
necessary expenses include, but are not limited to:

13.12.1 Mileage for attendance at meetings
concerning the child being represented; and

13.12.2 Long-distance telephone calls to the
school in which the child is being served; and

13.12.3 Photocopying of the child’s records.
13.13 Liability of the Surrogate Parent:  A

person appointed as a surrogate parent shall not be held
liable for actions taken in good faith on behalf of the child in
protecting the special education rights of the child.

14.0 Procedural Safeguards
14.1 The district may require advance notice

when parents or guardians wish to visit a proposed
educational program.

14.2 Written notice must be given to parents of
children with disabilities no less than ten (10) business days
unless waived by agreement of both parties.  In cases
involving a change of placement for disciplinary removal,
written notice must be provided no less than three (3)
business days.

14.3 Documentation of attempts to notify the
parents/guardian, by the district or any other public agency,
shall be maintained.

14.4 Mediation of disputes between the school
and the parents/guardian as to the child’s education progra
shall be offered at the discretion of the Department of
Education.

14.4.1 The process shall use an impartial,
trained individual to assist the parties in working out
acceptable solutions in an informed, non-adversarial context.

14.4.2 Parents may be accompanied and
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advised by individuals of their choice.
14.4.3 The district shall ensure the

attendance of a representative with authority to make
decisions and commit resources to agreed upon services.

14.4.4 If an agreement is reached as part of
the mediation progress, it is considered an educational
record, which may be released at the parent’s discretion.

15.0 Due Process Procedures
15.1 Initiation of Hearing Procedures:  A

request for a Due Process Hearing shall be made in writing
to the Secretary of Education.

15.2 Legal Services:  The Secretary of
Education’s response to the request for a hearing shall
include a statement regarding free or low cost legal services.

15.3 The attorney member shall act as
chairperson for the Due Process Hearing Panel, shall preside
at all hearings, and shall write the final decision of the Due
Process Hearing Panel.  Any decision must have the
concurrence of two members of the Due Process Hearing
Panel.  In those cases where the chairperson holds a minority
opinion, the educator member shall write the decision.  Any
member holding a minority opinion may write a separate
report, which shall be attached to the decision.

15.4 Registry of Impartial Hearing Officers:
The Department of Education shall keep a list of persons
who may serve as hearing officers.

15.5 The hearing shall be scheduled by the
chairperson of the Due Process Hearing Panel.

15.6 Any party to a hearing has the right to
prohibit the introduction at the hearing of testimony of any
witness whose identity has not been disclosed to the parties
at least 5 business days before the hearing.

15.7 The parents/guardian shall have the right
to receive a written decision which includes the following
parts: statement of issues; summary of the proceedings;
summary of evidence; findings of facts; conclusions of law;
and summary of the issues on which the parties have
prevailed.

15.8 The impartial Due Process Hearing Panel
shall reach a final decision, and the chairperson shall record
the vote of each panelist.  The chairperson shall forward a
copy of its final decision to the parties, and to the
Department of Education.

15.9 The Department of Education shall
forward the decision, with all personally identifiable
information deleted, to the chairperson of the Governor’s
Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens, and make those
findings and decisions available to the public by placing
legal notice annually in newspapers of sufficient circulation
in each of the three Delaware counties, that this information
may be obtained through the Department of Education.

15.10 The chairperson of the Panel shall
establish a timeline for the hearing process.  In granting
specific extensions, the chairperson shall ensure that the

petitioner’s right to redress is in no way diminished or
unnecessarily delayed.

15.11 Non-Exclusivity of Remedies:  The
remedies identified in this section should not be viewed as
exclusive. In certain contexts, other remedies created by law
or local district practice may be available.

15.12 Non-Compliance:  When the finding
indicates non-compliance, the following procedures shall be
followed:

15.12.1 The agency shall be presented with
the findings and a time frame for corrective action specified
by the Department of Education.

15.12.1.1 If the agency agrees with the
findings and completes a specified corrective action within a
time frame specified by the Department of Education,
follow-up activities by the Department of Education will be
conducted to verify full compliance.

15.12.1.2 A report of the findings will
be prepared and sent to the Chief Administrative Officer of
the agency and to the State Secretary of Education and the
complainant.

15.13 Compliance:  When the findings reveal
full compliance, no further action shall be taken.

15.14 Any complainant under this section shall
file the complaint in writing with the Department of
Education, P. O. Box 1402, Dover, DE 19903, and shall
include in the complaint the following:

15.14.1 The name of the agency against which
the complaint is filed;

15.14.2 A statement that the agency has
violated a requirement of the Individuals with Disabilities
Education Act (IDEA) and/or the provisions of this Manual;

15.14.3 The facts on which the statement is
based;

15.14.4 The time frame in which the
incident(s) occurred;

15.14.5 A description of the attempts made to
resolve the issue(s) prior to filing this action; and

15.14.6 Name, address, phone number(s) of
individual(s) filing the complaint and the legal
representative, if any, or of individuals representing a public
agency or private organization filing a complaint.

16.0 Confidentiality of Student Records
16.1 Parental Refusal to Release Records:  In

the event that a parent refuses to provide consent before
personally identifiable information is disclosed to anyone
other than officials of the district or State Department of
Education, the parent shall be advised in writing that the
district has either:

16.1.1 Recognized that refusal and will not
forward the records; or the district will exercise its option to
request an impartial due process hearing in order to effect the
release of records.  In the event that the district elects to seek
a due process hearing, the district shall send the parent a
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copy of the Special Education:  Parents’ Guide to Rights
and Services and a copy of parents’ due process rights as
delineated in this Manual.

17.0 High School Graduation
17.1 Continuing their Education:  Students with

disabilities who are unable to meet the requirements for a
diploma shall be given the option to complete those
requirements by continuing their education, at district
expense, until their 21st birthday.

17.2 Graduation Process:  Regardless of the
document received at graduation by the student, whether a
diploma or a certificate of performance, the student shall not
be discriminated against during the graduation ceremonies.
Specifically, a student with disabilities shall be allowed to
participate in graduation exercises without reference to his/
her disability, educational placement or the type of document
conferred.

18.0 Reserved - Interagency/Special Programs
19.0 Reserved – Special Programs for Children with

a Visual Impairment
20.0 Reserved – Special Programs for Children who

are Deaf and Hard of Hearing
21.0 [General Supervision of Education for

Students with Disabilities:  The State Educational
Agency (SEA) shall ensure that each educational
program for students with disabilities administered
within the State, including each program administered
by any other public agency, is under the general
supervision of the persons responsible for educational
programs for students with disabilities in the State
educational agency; and meets education standards of
the State educational agency

21.1  Documentation of SEA activity in meeting
its responsibilities shall be maintained in a manner
consistent with effective management procedures.  Such
documentation shall include, but not be limited to, issues
pertaining to:

21.1.1 General Supervision,
Cooperative Agreements, Complaint/Due Process
Procedures, Compliance Monitoring, Project
Coordination, Program Evaluation, Comprehensive
System of Personnel Development, Dissemination; and
Finance/Administration

21.2  The SEA will ensure, through its
Comprehensive Compliance Monitoring System, that
each public agency develops and implements an IEP for
each of its children with disabilities.

21.3  The Department of Education shall
distribute these regulations, sample documents and
letters of notification to all agencies (public and non-
public) providing services to children with disabilities.]
[Reserved – Special Programs for Children who are
Deafblind]

22.0 Reserved – Special Programs for Children with

Autism
23.0 Reserved – Students in Need of Unique

Educational Alternatives
24.0 Reserved – General Supervision of Education

for Children with Disabilities
25.0 Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens.

The Governor shall appoint an advisory council to act in an
advisory capacity to the Department of Education, the State
Board of Education and other state agencies on the needs of
exceptional citizens.  The General Assembly shall provide
for the maintenance of the council.  The council shall also
serve in the capacity of the advisory panel as required by PL
94-142 (20 U.S.C. Section 1400 et seq.).  (14 Del. C. 195,
Section 3108; 51 Del. Laws. C. 287, Section 3; 61 Del.
Laws, 190, Section 7; 71 Del. Laws, c. 180, Section 147.)

25.1An annual report prepared by the Governor’s
Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens shall be made
available to the public in a manner consistent with other
public reporting requirements.

25.1.1 The annual report shall be reviewed
by the Department of Education and the Department’s
response shall be sent to the Governor’s Advisory Council.

25.2 All Advisory Panel meetings and agenda
items shall be publicly announced prior to the meeting, and
meetings must be open to the public.

25.3 The State shall reimburse the Panel for
reasonable and necessary expenses for attending meetings
and performing duties.  The State may use Part B funds for
this purpose.

26.0 Reserved – Funding Issues for Children with
Disabilities 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 
512 (31 Del.C. 512)

In the Matter Of: |
|

Revision of the Regulations |
Of the Medicaid/medical |
Assistance Program |

Nature of the Proceedings:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) initiated proceedings to update its
Division of Social Services Manual related to eligibility
policies for Qualified Disabled and Working Individuals.
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The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the February 2000 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by February 29, 2000, at which time the
Department would receive information, factual evidence and
public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations.

No written or verbal comments were received relating to
this proposed rule.

Findings of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the February 2000 Register of Regulations should be
adopted as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program are
adopted and shall be final effective May 10, 2000.

March 30, 2000
Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D.
Secretary

17700 Qualified Disabled and Working Individual
Effective July 1, 1990, Section 6408 of the Omnibus

Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1989 mandates
coverage of certain Medicare beneficiaries who are still
disabled but lost premium-free Part A Medicare coverage
because they returned to work.  Medicaid will pay the Part A
premium for Qualified Disabled and Working Individuals
(QDWIs) who meet the income and resource requirements.   

A QDWI is an individual:

• who is entitled to enroll in Medicare Part
A under §1818A of the Social Security Act;

• whose income does not exceed 200% of the Federal
Poverty Level;

• whose resources do not exceed twice the SSI
resource limit; and

• who is not otherwise eligible for Medicaid.

17700.3 Financial Eligibility
The income and resource methodologies of the SSI

program will be used to determine eligibility for this
program.   See the QMB section for definitions of income
and resource .  (DSSM 17300 )

17700.3.2Resources

The resource limit is twice the SSI limit.  Follow the
resource guidelines outlined in the Qualified Medicare
Beneficiary program. 

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 
512 (31 Del.C. 512)

In the Matter Of: |
|

Revision of the Regulations |
Of the Medicaid/medical |
Assistance Program |

Nature of the Proceedings:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) initiated proceedings to update
policies related to the General Policy Provider Manual.  The
Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the February 2000 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by February 29, 2000, at which time the
Department would receive information, factual evidence and
public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations.

No written or verbal comments were received relating to
this proposed rule.

Findings of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the February 2000 Register of Regulations should be
adopted as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program are
adopted and shall be final effective May 10, 2000.

March 30, 2000
Date of Signature

Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D.
Secretary

Guaranteed Eligibility

Section 1902(e)(2) of the Social Security Act, as
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amended by the Balanced Budget Act of 1997, permits up to
six months of guaranteed eligibility for individuals if they
are enrolled in a managed care organization.

A six-month period of guaranteed eligibility is defined
as a six-month period of continuous enrollment in a managed
care organization under the Diamond State Health Plan
(DSHP).  The following individuals may be found eligible
for a six-month period of guaranteed eligibility:

• A first-time Medicaid recipient
• An individual who becomes eligible for Medicaid

again following a period of at least one month of
ineligibility for Medicaid.

The guaranteed eligibility period begins with the first of
the month in which the individual enrolls in the DSHP and
continues for six consecutive months.  The individual who is
enrolled in DSHP retains eligibility for Medicaid services,
even if the individual otherwise loses Medicaid eligibility.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Section 
2107 (7 Del.C. 2107)

Re:  Amendments to Shellfish Regulations Nos. S-51, S-
54, S-55 and S-57.

Order No. 2000-F-0019
Order

Summary of the Evidence and Information

Pursuant to due notice 3:9 Del. R. 1176-1178, the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control proposed to amend shellfish regulations pertaining
to horseshoe crabs to reduce the harvest in 2000 to 361,801
horseshoe crabs as required in Addendum No. 1 to the
Fishery Management Plan for Horseshoe Crab, approved by
the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission on
February 9, 2000.  The Department proposed to implement a
daily harvest and require written permission from private
landowners for anyone collecting horseshoe crabs on private
lands.  The Department also proposed to ban the landing of
horseshoe crabs in Delaware that were taken from the
Exclusive Economic Zone.

A public workshop was conducted by the Department
on March 7, 2000.  It was proposed by watermen at that
workshop that commercial eel pot fishermen should be
restricted in collecting horseshoe crabs to only those who

reported landing eels in 1999.  It was also proposed by
watermen that the Department implement a quota based
management system whereby the quota of 361,801
horseshoe crabs would be administered by monitoring the
weekly harvest of horseshoe crabs and closing the fishery for
horseshoe crabs when the quota of 361,801 is reached.  Daily
restrictions on the harvest of horseshoe crabs of less than 300
cubic feet or 1500 per day was discouraged by watermen.
Watermen and conservationists agreed that written
permission to collect horseshoe crabs from private lands was
warranted.  No one objected to limiting the landing of
horseshoe crabs taken in the Exclusive Economic Zone to
the five horseshoe crab dredge permittees.

A public hearing was conducted by the Department on
March 20, 2000 on options resulting from the public
workshop to reduce the harvest of horseshoe crabs to
361,801 in 2000.  The options presented included to do
nothing; to implement a 361 horseshoe crab daily take limit
for all persons harvesting horseshoe crabs; to implement a
quota based management system with weekly reporting; to
restrict commercial eel fishermen authorized to collect
horseshoe crabs to only those who reported landing eels in
1999; to change the possession limit of 300 cubic feet of
horseshoe crabs to a daily take and possession limit; to not
allow the landing of horseshoe crabs taken form the
Exclusive Economic Zone unless one has a valid horseshoe
crab dredge permit and to require written permission to
collect horseshoe crabs from private property.

Findings of Fact

• Delaware is required to comply with Fishery Man-
agement Plan adopted by the Atlantic States Marine
Fisheries Commission under P.L. 103-206

• The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission
adopted Addendum No. 1 to the Fishery Manage-
ment Plan for Horseshoe Crab on February 9, 2000.

• Addendum No. 1 to the Fishery Management Plan
for Horseshoe Crab requires Delaware to harvest no
more than 361,801 horseshoe crabs in calendar year
2000.  

• Addendum No. 1 requires that each Atlantic
Coastal state document its landings and enforce
their harvest caps.

• The Secretary of the U.S. Department of Commerce
is authorized to close the horseshoe crab fishery in
Delaware if Delaware does not comply with the
requirements of Addendum No. 1.

• The DNREC is not authorized to limit the issuance
of commercial eel pot licenses.

• Under current DNREC regulations, commercial eel
pot fishermen are authorized to collect horseshoe
crabs, without a horseshoe crab collecting permit,
for their own use as bait in their eel pots in this
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State.  An alternate to an eel pot licensee also is
authorized to collect horseshoe crabs for use in the
eelers pots.  The commercial eel fisherman and his
alternate are not authorized to sell horseshoe crabs.

• The current possession limit of 300 cubic feet of
horseshoe crabs equates to approximately 1500
horseshoe crabs, both male and female.

Conclusions

I have reached the following conclusions relative to
limiting the harvest of horseshoe crabs to 361,801 in 2000.

• A yearly quota based fishery for horseshoe crabs,
limited to 361,801 horseshoe crabs in 2000, is
acceptable to most watermen and environmental
interest groups provided monitoring of the harvest
is weekly and verifiable.

• The rate of harvest for horseshoe crabs in 1998 and
1999 indicates the 361,801 horseshoe crabs should
be harvested by the second or third week in June.

• Weekly reports of harvested horseshoe crabs should
be required via telephone to a dedicated telephone
number monitored by the Department of  Fish and
Wildlife specifically for reporting the harvest of
horseshoe crabs.

• The current possession limit of 300 cubic feet of
horseshoe crabs should be expanded to also be a
daily take limit to prevent a rush to harvest horse-
shoe crabs and better insure the availability of
horseshoe crabs throughout the year for the local
bait needs of eel and conch pot fishermen.

• Delaware horseshoe crab harvesters do not favor a
daily limit of horseshoe crabs less than the current
possession limit of 300 cubic feet.  Anything less
would concentrate the harvest on female horseshoe
crabs and not allow a profitable dredge fishery.

• Commercial eel pot fishermen should not be
restricted in harvesting horseshoe crabs for their
own use as bait in their commercial eel pots in the
State.  The current law allows for an open commer-
cial eel fishery and all privileges should apply to all
commercial eelers.  Otherwise, it should be a legis-
lative matter.

• Any horseshoe crabs harvested by dredge in the
Exclusive Economic Zone and landed in Delaware
should be allowed for only those persons holding a
horseshoe crab dredge permit.

• Collecting horseshoe crabs on lands not owned by
the State or federal government is a privilege
offered by the owner of said lands.  To avoid con-
flicts among horseshoe crab collectors, written per-
mission to collect horseshoe crabs should be
obtained from the owner of the land.

Recommendations

• The DNREC should implement an annual quota
management system for 361,801 horseshoe crabs in
2000.

• The DNREC should require weekly reporting of the
harvest of horseshoe crabs by all commercial horse-
shoe crab collectors, commercial eel fishermen and
horseshoe crab dredgers.  These reports should be
made by calling a dedicated line, maintained by the
Division of Fish and Wildlife, to report horseshoe
crab landings on or before midnight of the Monday
following the week in question.

• All commercial eel fishermen should be authorized
to collect horseshoe crabs by hand.

• The current possession limit of 300 cubic feet of
horseshoe crabs should be expanded to also be the
daily take limit of horseshoe crabs to prolong the
season for collecting horseshoe crabs at least
through June.

• Horseshoe crabs harvested in the Exclusive Eco-
nomic Zone should not be landed in Delaware
unless a person has a commercial horseshoe crab
dredge permit.

• Anyone collecting horseshoe crabs on land not
owned by the State or federal government should be
required to have written permission on his person
from the owner of the land upon which horseshoe
crabs are being collected.  Written permission
should include the name and address of the person
collecting horseshoe crabs and signed and dated by
the owner of the land.

Order

It is hereby ordered, this 7 th day of April, 2000 that
amendments to shellfish regulation Nos. S-51, S-54, S-55
andS-57, copies of which are attached hereto, are adopted
pursuant to §2701, 7 Del. C. and are supported by the
Department's findings on the evidence and testimony
received.  This Order shall be effective on May 10, 2000.

Nicholas A. DiPasquale, Secretary
Department of Natural Resources And

Environmental Control

Be it adopted by the Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control the following amendments to
Shellfish Regulation Nos. S-51, S-54, S-55 and S-57.

Section 1.  Amend Shellfish Regulation No. S-51,
SEASONS AND AREA CLOSED TO TAKING
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HORSESHOE CRABS by adding new subsections (c) and
(d) to read as follows:

"(c) It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
attempt to collect any horseshoe crabs from any
land not owned by the State or federal government
unless said person has on his/her person written
permission, signed by the owner of said land with
the owner's address and phone number, indicating
the individual to whom permission to collect
horseshoe crabs is granted.
(d)  It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
dredge or to attempt to collect or dredge horseshoe
crabs at anytime during a calendar year after the
date the Department determines the annual quota of
horseshoe crabs, approved for Delaware by the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, is
landed."

Section 2.  Amend Shellfish Regulation No. S-54,
POSSESSION LIMIT OF HORSESHOE CRABS,
EXCEPTIONS, in subsection (b) by striking the word "filed"
as it appears in "…fishing licensee has filed all required
reports…" and substituting the words "submitted" in lieu
thereof.   

Further amend shellfish regulation No. 54 in subsection
(b) by striking the word "month's" as it appears in "…
alternate's previous month's harvest…" and substitute the
word "week's" in lieu thereof.

Further amend Shellfish Regulation No. 54 by adding a
new subsection (h) to read as follows

"(h) It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
to attempt to collect more than 300 cubic feet of
horseshoe crabs during any 24 hour period
beginning at 12:01AM and continuing through
midnight next ensuing."

Section 3.  Amend Shellfish Regulation No. S-55 by
adding a new subsection (d) to read as follows:

"(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to land
horseshoe crabs taken from the Exclusive
Economic Zone unless said person has a valid
horseshoe crabs dredge permit."  

Section 4.  Amend Shellfish Regulation No. S-57,
HORSESHOE CRAB REPORTING REQUIREMENTS, by
striking subsections (a) and (b) in their entirety and
substitute in lieu thereof the following:

"(a) It shall be unlawful for any person who has
been issued a horseshoe crab dredge permit, a
horseshoe crab commercial collecting permit or a

commercial eel pot license to not report his/her
harvest of horseshoe crabs to the Department on a
weekly basis.  Said weekly reports shall not be
required to be submitted to the Department during
any month said person indicates previously in
writing to the Department that he/she will not be
harvesting horseshoe crabs. Any person required to
submit a weekly report on his/her harvest of
horseshoe crabs to the Department shall submit said
report on or before 4:30PM on the Monday
following the week covered by said report.  If said
Monday is a legal State holiday, said report shall be
submitted on or before 4:30PM on Tuesday, next
ensuing.  For purposes of this section, a week shall
commence at 12:01AM on Monday and conclude at
midnight on Sunday, next ensuing.  Said report
shall include but not be limited to said person's
unique identification number assigned by the
Department, the dates and locations horseshoe
crabs were harvested, the number and sex of
horseshoe crabs harvested and the method of
harvest of horseshoe crabs.  Said report shall be
submitted to the Department by telephone by
calling a phone number, dedicated by the
Department for the reporting of harvested
horseshoe crabs, and entering the required data by
code or voice as indicated.
"(b) Any person who fails to submit a weekly report
on his/her harvest of horseshoe crabs to the
Department on time shall have his/her permit to
dredge or his/her permit or authority to collect
horseshoe crabs suspended until all delinquent
reports on harvested horseshoe crabs are received
by the Department."

Section 5.  These amendments to Shellfish Regulations
Nos. S-51, S-54, S-55 and S-57 shall become effective on
May 10, 2000.

Final Amendments to Shellfish Regulations on 
Horseshoe Crabs

S-51 Seasons And Area Closed To Taking
Horseshoe  Crabs

(a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
dredge or attempt to collect or dredge horseshoe crabs fro
any state or federal land owned in fee simple or the tidal
waters of this state during a period beginning at 12:01 a.m.
on May 1 and continuing through midnight, June 30, next
ensuing, except that persons with valid horseshoe crab
collecting permits and eel licensees and their alternates may
collect horseshoe crabs on Tuesdays and Thursdays from
state owned lands to the east of state road No. 89 (Port
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Mahon Road.)  
(b)  It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or

attempt to collect any horseshoe crabs from any lands not
owned by the state or federal government during the period
beginning at 12:01 a.m. on May 1 and continuing through
midnight, June 30, next ensuing, except that persons with
valid horseshoe crab collecting permits and eel licensees and
their alternates may collect horseshoe crabs on Mondays,
Wednesdays and Fridays.

(c)  It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
attempt to collect any horseshoe crabs from [any] land [s]
not owned by the State or federal government unless said
person has [in] [on] his or her [possession] [person] written
permission [to collect horseshoe crabs signed by the
lawful owner of said lands.] [, signed by the owner of said
land with the owner's address and phone number,
indicating the individual to whom permission to collect
horseshoe crabs is granted.]

[(d)  It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
dredge or to attempt to collect or dredge horseshoe crabs
at any time during a calendar year after the date the
Department determines the annual quota of horseshoe
crabs, approved for Delaware by the Atlantic States
Marine Fisheries Commission, is landed.]

S-54 Possession Limit Of Horseshoe Crabs,
Exceptions

(a)  Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for
any person to possess more than six (6) horseshoe crabs,
except a person with a validated receipt from a person with a
valid horseshoe crab commercial collecting or dredge permit
for the number of horseshoe crabs in said person’s
possession.  A receipt shall contain the name, address and
signature of the supplier, the date and the number of
horseshoe crabs obtained.

(b)  Any person who has been issued a valid commercial
eel fishing license by the Department or said person’s
alternate while in the presence of the licensee, is exempt
from the possession limit of six (6) horseshoe crabs,
provided said commercial eel fishing licensee has [filed]
[submitted] all required reports of his/her and his/her
alternate’s previous [month’s] [week's] harvest of horseshoe
crabs with the Department in accordance with S-57.  Any
person who has been issued a commercial eel fishing license
and said person’s alternate while in the presence of the
licensee, may collect horseshoe crabs without a horseshoe
crab commercial collecting permit provided all horseshoe
crabs taken are for personal, non-commercial use, as bait for
the licensee’s eel pots fished in this state.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license to be assisted in collecting
horseshoe crabs by any person who is not listed on his
commercial eel fishing license as the alternate.

(d) Any person with both a valid commercial eel fishing
license and a valid commercial horseshoe crab collecting
permit shall be considered as a commercial horseshoe crab
collecting permittee for purposes of enforcing the provisions
of chapter 27, 7 Del. C. and/or shellfish regulations
pertaining to horseshoe crabs.

(e) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license to commingle any horseshoe
crabs collected either by said commercial eel fishing licensee
or by his or her alternate with horseshoe crabs either
collected by a person with a valid horseshoe crab dredge
permit or by a person with a valid commercial horseshoe
crab collecting permit.   

(f) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
horseshoe crab dredge permit or with a valid commercial
horseshoe crab collecting permit to commingle any
horseshoe crab dredged or collected by said horseshoe crab
dredge permittee or horseshoe crab collecting permittee with
horseshoe crabs collected by any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license.

(g) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess more
than 300 cubic feet of  horseshoe crabs except in a stationary
cold storage or freezer facility.  

[(g) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess
more than 300 cubic feet of horseshoe crabs except in a
stationary cold storage or freezer facility.]

[(g) It shall be unlawful for any person, except a
person with a valid  horseshoe crab dredge permit, to
take or attempt to take more than 300 horseshoe crabs
per day.]

[(h)  (It shall be unlawful for any person, except a
person with a valid horseshoe crab dredge permit, to
possess more than 300 horseshoe crabs at any time
during the sequence of collecting said horseshoe crabs
and placing said horseshoe crabs in a stationary cold
storage or freezer facility.

(i)   It shall be unlawful for any person, except a
person with a valid horseshoe crab dredge permit, to
bring into the jurisdictional waters of this State any
horseshoe crabs harvested from the Exclusive Economic
Zone.]

[(h)  It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
attempt to collect more than 300 cubic feet of horseshoe
crabs during any 24 hour period beginning at 12:01AM
and continuing through midnight next ensuing.]

S-55 Horseshoe Crab Dredging Restrictions

(a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to dredge
horseshoe crabs in the area in Delaware Bay designated as
leased Shellfish grounds except on one’s own leased
shellfish grounds or with permission from the owner of
leased shellfish grounds.  The area in Delaware Bay
designated as leased shellfish grounds is within the
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boundaries that delineate leasable shellfish grounds and is
described as follows:   Starting at a point on the “East Line”
in Delaware at Loran-C coordinates 27314.50/42894.25 and
continuing due east to a point at Loran-C coordinates
27294.08/42895.60 and then 27270.80/42852.83 and then
continuing southwest to a point at Loran-C coordinates
27279.67/42837.42 and then continuing west southwest to a
point at Loran-C coordinates  27281.31/42803.48 and then
continuing west to a point at Loran-C coordinates 27280.75/
42795.50 and then in a northerly direction on a line 1000’
offshore, coterminous with the existing shoreline to the point
of beginning on the “East Line.”

(b)  It shall be unlawful for any person, who operates a
vessel and has on board said vessel a dredge of any kind, to
have on board or to land more than 1500 [1125] [1500]
horseshoe crabs during any 24 hour period beginning at
12:01 a.m. and continuing through midnight next ensuing.

(c)  It shall be unlawful for any person, who operates a
vessel and has on board said vessel a dredge of any kind, to
have or possess on board said vessel any horseshoe crabs at
any time during the period beginning 12:01 a.m. on May 1
and continuing through midnight, June 30, next ensuing.

[(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to land
horseshoe crabs taken from the Exclusive Economic
Zone unless said person has a valid horseshoe crab
dredge permit.]

S-57 Horseshoe Crab Reporting Requirements

[(a)  It shall be unlawful for any person who has been
issued a scientific permit, a beach clean up permit, a
horseshoe crab dredge permit, a horseshoe crab
commercial collecting  permit, or a commercial eel pot
license if used to collect horseshoe crabs for personal,
non-commercial use to not file a monthly report of his/
her harvest of horseshoe crabs with the Department on
forms provided by the Department on or before the 10th
day of the next month.  Monthly reports on horseshoe
crabs shall be filed for each month whether horseshoe
crabs are dredged or collected or not dredged or
collected, and include the harvest by any person or
persons authorized by S-54 and S-52 to assist with the
collection of horseshoe crabs.  Said forms shall require
the reporting of the date, location, sex and number of
horseshoe crabs dredged or collected.  

(b)  Any person who fails to file a completed monthly
report with the Department on horseshoe crabs on or
before the 10th day of the following month shall have his/
her permit or authority to collect horseshoe crabs as a
commercial eel fisherman, a commercial horseshoe crab
collector or a horseshoe crab dredger suspended until
such time that all delinquent reports are received by the
Department.]

[(a)  It shall be unlawful for any person who has been

issued a horseshoe crab dredge permit, a horseshoe crab
commercial collecting permit or a commercial eel pot
license to not report his/her harvest of horseshoe crabs to
the Department on a weekly basis.  Said weekly reports
shall not be required to be submitted to the Department
during any month said person indicates previously in
writing to the Department that he/she will not be
harvesting horseshoe crabs.  Any person required to
submit a weekly report on his/her harvest of horseshoe
crabs to the Department shall submit said report on or
before 4:30PM on the Monday following the week
covered by said report.  If Monday is a legal State
holiday, said report shall be submitted on or before
4:30PM on Tuesday, next ensuing.  For purposes of this
section, a week shall commence at 12:01AM on Monday
and conclude at midnight on Sunday, next ensuing.  Said
report shall include but not be limited to said person's
unique identification number assigned by the
Department, the dates and location horseshoe crabs were
harvested, the number and sex of horseshoe crabs
harvested and the method of harvest of horseshoe crabs.
Said report shall be submitted to the Department by
telephone by calling a phone number, dedicated by the
Department for the reporting of harvested horseshoe
crabs, and entering the required data by code or voice as
indicated.

(b) Any person who fails to submit a weekly report
on his/her harvest of horseshoe crabs to the Department
on time shall have his/her permit to dredge or his/her
permit or authority to collect horseshoe crabs suspended
until all delinquent reports on harvested horseshoe crabs
are received by the Department.]

DEPARTMENT OF 
TRANSPORTATION

Statutory Authority: 17 Delaware Code, Section 
508 and 29 Delaware Code, Chapter 84

(17 Del.C. 508, 29 Del.C. Ch. 84)

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted

The Department of Transportation (Department)
received written comments on the Mobility Friendly Design
(MFD) Standards from Angelo Alberto of the Whitehall
Community, Inc., New Castle County Councilman Richard
Abbott, Mr. James Straight of Artesian Water, Mayor Robert
Newman of the Town of Smyrna, and Mr. John Janowski of
the New Castle County Department of Land Use.

Mr. Alberto favors the implementation of the MFD
Standards and in his comments emphasized the need for
flexibility, suggested a few word changes to clarify and/or
strengthen the MFD Standards, and expressed interest in
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seeing them expanded to include non-residential roadways.
Councilman Abbott also favored the implementation of the
MFD Standards and in his comments asked if the
Department could do more to promote curvilinear street
designs and raised a concern over the proposed width of
sidewalks.  Mr. Straight expressed concern over the
availability of right-of-way for utility placement while
Mayor Newman expressed some concern over how the MFD
Standards related to access management regulations as well
as over the availability of right-of-way for utility placement.
Comments made by Mr. Janowski were mostly related to
clarifying how the MFD Standards related to the New Castle
County Unified Development Code.

Findings of Fact

Under its authority the Department of Transportation is
adopting the Mobility Friendly Design Standards as an
amendment to it Rules and Regulations for Subdivision
Streets as an option for the development of local subdivision
and minor collector subdivision streets.  The Department is
doing this to directly support the provisions of the Statewide
Long Range Transportation Plan, and county and local
transportation and comprehensive land use plans that seek to
promote more traditional development patterns by giving
greater emphasis to bicycle and pedestrian access and
mobility.

Based on the comments received, the following is a
summary of the changes made to Draft Mobility Friendly
Design Standards:

Local Subdivision Streets

Network Design.  The MFD Standards have been
revised to make the connectivity index of 1.4 a requirement. 

Utility/Planning Strip.  The MFD Standards have been
revised to from 5 feet to 10 feet.  While this change the
overall right-of-way width by 10 feet, it makes the area
behind the curb available to utility companies is comparable
to our existing street section.

Right-of way width.  The right-of-way width has been
increased from 42 feet to 52 feet to increase the area behind
the curb to make it available for utility placement.  
Alleys.  The MFD Standards have been changed to remove
the word ‘landscaped’ and it assumed that that right-of-way
would include drainage.

Tree/Obstacle Clearance.  The tree clearance distance
was changed to be at least 3 feet from the back of curb to
provide a wider corridor for the placement of utilities.

Minor Collector Subdivision Streets

Network Design.  The MFD Standards have been
revised to make the connectivity index of 1.4 a requirement. 

Alleys.  The MFD Standards have been changed to

remove the word ‘landscaped’ and it assumed that that right-
of-way would include drainage.

Medians.  The MFD Standards have been changed to
encourage the use of medians, with additional right-of-way
to be required if provided.

Tree/Obstacle Clearance.  The tree clearance distance
was changed to be at least 3 feet from the back of curb to
provide a wider corridor for the placement of utilities.

Text and Citation

Purpose

The purpose of this amendment is to amend the
Delaware Department of Transportation (Department) Rules
and Regulations for Subdivision Streets  to include Mobility
Friendly Design Standards as an option for the development
of local subdivision and minor collector subdivision streets.
These standards are shown in Attachment 1.

Introduction

In the broadest sense and with regard to transportation,
Mobility Friendly Design Standards are roadway design
standards that promote greater use of transportation facilities
and service by bicyclists and pedestrians.  Such design
standards include, but are not limited to, the addition of
sidewalks and landscaped areas, narrower pavement widths,
and a requirement for greater connectivity within
developments.  The addition of these standards will directly
support the provisions of the Statewide Long Range
Transportation Plan, and county and local transportation and
comprehensive land use plans that seek to promote more
traditional development patterns by giving greater emphasis
to bicycle and pedestrian access and mobility.

Background

Early in 1997 the Wilmington Area Planning Council
(WILMAPCO) began a study in partnership with the Town
of Middletown, New Castle County, the Department, and
their consultant team headed by LDR International.  The
purpose of this study was to develop a set of optional land
development and street design standards to encourage
greater use of the transportation system by pedestrians and
bicyclist, to provide greater access to public transportation
facilities and services, and to provide connections within and
between existing and planned communities.  These standards
are known as Mobility Friendly Design Standards
(Standards).

The study was initiated, in part, to support the Town of
Middletown Comprehensive Plan, the long-range planning
efforts of New Castle County, the WILMAPCO
Metropolitan Transportation Plan, and Transportation and
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Delaware’s Future, the Statewide Long-Range
Transportation Plan.  Although these activities and products
represent separate efforts, among their common goals is
increasing accessibility of the transportation system and the
mobility of its users by providing them with the widest range
of travel options possible that are supported by sustainable
transportation and land development systems.  

The scope of the study was organized around three
major activities. The first involved research on the various
and most commonly used mobility friendly land
development and street design criteria throughout the
Country and their potential for application in Delaware.  The
second involved reviewing the land development regulations
of the Town of Middletown to propose modifications that
would support its desire to accommodate increased growth
and economic development while retaining its current
community character.  The third task was to develop a set of
subdivision street design standards for the Department that
would support local efforts such as those being pursued by
the Town of Middletown.  The specific purpose of this
portion of the study was to develop Standards for local
subdivision and minor collector subdivision streets that
could be incorporated into Rules and Regulations for
Subdivision Streets, the manual under which the Department
reviews subdivision streets. 

The WILMAPCO study was completed in November
1997 and resulted in two major products.  The first was a
proposed set of revisions to the Town of Middletown zoning
ordinance and site plan regulations.  Subsequent to the
completion of the study, the Town adopted the revisions with
only a few minor modifications.  The second product was a
road standards matrix which proposed the standards needed
by the Department to allow mobility friendly design.
Although the Department actively participated in the study,
there remained outstanding issues at its conclusion that
limited the immediate adoption of its recommendations.
These included how to address the relationship between the
Standards and the Draft Statewide Access Management
Program.  Therefore, at the completion of the study the
Department committed to more closely reviewing the criteria
on the road standards matrix and to work out the details of
their adoption and implementation.  The Department has
completed its review and is adopting the Standards through
this amendment.

Implementation 

The Department is updating its Access Management
Program, which will affect where and how Mobility Friendly
Design Standards are maintained within the family of
Department regulations.  As part of the Access Management
Program, a Technical Design Manual is being developed that
will include subdivision and entrance design standards, and
clarify the relationship of such roads and connections with

the Road Design Manual.  Within the Technical Design
Manual, the Standards will be an option for application to
subdivision streets.

In the short-term and until work on the Technical Design
Manual is completed, the Standards for local and minor
collector subdivision streets are being implemented by
amending Rules and Regulations for Subdivision Streets
through adoption of this amendment.  This will allow the
Standards to be utilized immediately.

Application

By providing the Standards as an option for the design
of local subdivision and minor collector subdivision streets,
the Department is supporting county and local governments
that wish to implement land development patterns that
provide more useable environments for pedestrians,
bicyclists and transit users.  The Department however,
recognizes that for the Standards to be effective, they must
be applied as a set and as part of municipally-based
development strategy that emphasizes mobility and
accessibility for pedestrians and bicyclists which is
supported by appropriate land development regulations.
With this in mind, the Department has established the
following conditions under which applications of the
Standards will be permitted:

The Standards must be applied in their entirety.  While
each individual element of the Standards has some impact on
mobility, applied independently these affects would be too
incremental to be effective.  Therefore, the Standards must
be applied as a set to best serve their stated purpose; and,

The Standards will be permitted in Multimodal
Investment Areas and will be considered for application in
Management and Preservation Investment Areas when they
would be applied as part of an area wide development plan
adopted by the county or local government.

Administration

As discussed above, in the short-term the Standards will
be amended to Rules and Regulations for Subdivision Streets
and will ultimately become part of the Technical Design
Manual being developed for the Access Management
Program.  As such they will be administered by the
Subdivision and Utilities Section of the Division of
Preconstruction within the Department. 

The adoption and implementation of these Standards by
the Department through this amendment does not eliminate
additional requirements that might apply through the
application of Rules and Regulations for Subdivision Streets.
These include but are not limited to requirements for the
production and submission of construction plans,
construction standards, utilities, inspection and maintenance,
and traffic impact studies.  Questions or issues that might
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arise through the application of the Standards will be decided
at the discretion of the Subdivision and Utilities Engineer.

Expiration

As the Standards will ultimately become part of the
Technical Design Manual being developed under the Access

Management Program, this amendment will expire on the
effective date of that manual.
Attachment 1

Local Subdivision Streets

Design Element DelDOT Standard Subdivision DelDOT Mobility Friendly Design
Guideline

Network Design None specified. [Short interconnected streets and
direct routes are preferred.]   A
[minimum] network connectivity
index of 1.4, calculated as the number
of roadway links divided by the
number of nodes (i.e., intersections
and cul-de-sac heads), is [preferred.
required].

Block Lengths None specified. Between 200 and 500 feet with the
requirement that blocks longer than
500 feet include mid-block crosswalks
and pass-throughs.

Design Speed 25 miles per hour. 20 miles per hour.

Intersection Design T-intersection at 90 degrees. T-intersections or four-way
intersections preferred

All-way Stops None specified. Generally inappropriate as a method of
speed control at low-volume
intersections.

Local to local subdivision street @ 25-
foot radius

Corner Radius 25 feet. Local to collector subdivision street
with parking @ 30-foot radius

Local to collector subdivision street
without parking @ 40-foot radiu

Maximum Cul-de-sac Length 500 to 1,000 feet, depending on
density of development.

300 feet is the maximum permitted
length of a cul-de-sac with it serving
no more than 30 units and with cut-
throughs provided at cul-de-sac heads
for pedestrians and bicyclists.

Minimum Driveway Spacing 200 feet, with narrower lots calling for
shared driveways.

50 feet, with narrower lots calling for
alley access or shared driveways.

Minimum Driveway Width 12-foot standard, not minimum. Between 8 to 16 feet for single family
development, depending on setback of
garage and number of cars; 18 feet for
multi-family development.
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Right-of-way Width 50 feet for minor streets with 26 feet
permitted under special circumstances.

[42 52] feet.  This is based on a 12-foot
travel way, two one-foot curb offsets,
one 7-foot parking lane, one 6-inch
curb on each side of the street, one [5-
10]-foot planting strip on each side of
the street, and one 5-foot sidewalk on
each side of the street.   

Pavement Width 22 feet for minor streets  (24 feet when
offset from integral curb is
considered).

21 feet.  This is based on a 12-foot
travel lane, two one-foot curb offsets,
and one 7-foot parking lane.  For these
low volume roads, this pavement
width assumes that in the cases when
vehicles meet that they will be able to
pass each other by finding space at
driveways or in parking lanes to
maneuver within.

Travel Lane Width 11 feet for minor streets See above.

Parking Lane Width None specified. 7 feet.

Pavement Edge Treatment Mountable or barrier curbs.  None are
required at densities less than two units
per acre and where the lots have
greater than 100 feet of frontage and
where buildings are set back at least 60
feet.

6 or 8-inch vertical curbs with closed
drainage.

Horizontal Curve Radius 150 feet 90-foot minimum when the curve is
unsigned, and a 45-foot minimum
when the curve is signed as a traffic
calming measure.

Vertical Curve Length None specified. 60-foot minimum at a design speed of
20 miles per hour. For larger grade
changes the Department will defer to
AASHTO Figures III-11 for crest
curves and III-43 for sag curves.
When a short vertical curve is signed
and marked as a traffic calming
measure, no minimum standards apply.

Sidewalk Warrants Not required by the Department. New
Castle County requires sidewalks on at
least one side of all local street with 10
or more units and densities greater
than 1 unit per acre, and on both sides
of minor collectors.

Required on both sides of the street.

Sidewalk Width None specified.  New Castle County
requires 5 feet.

5 feet.

Planting Buffer/Utility Strip None specified. [5-10]-foot minimum.
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Minor Collector Subdivision Streets

Tree/Obstacle Clearance A clear zone of 2 feet must be
provided in urban areas where a barrier
curb is provided.

[2.5 feet with vertical curb as
measured from the back of the curb
to the centerline of the tree.] [At
least 3 feet with vertical curb as
measured from the back of the curb
to the centerline of the tree.]

Alleys None specified. Alleys are recommended when lots are
less than 50 feet wide.  When
provided, a 20-foot [landscaped]
right-of-way should be provided with a
12-foot paved width.

Traffic Calming Measures None specified. A full array of horizontal and vertical
measures are allowed, consistent with
a 20 mile per hour design speed.

Design Element DelDOT Standard Subdivision DelDOT Mobility Friendly Design
Guideline

Network Design None specified. [Short interconnected streets and
direct routes are preferred.]  A
[minimum] network connectivity
index of 1.4, calculated as the number
of roadway links divided by the
number of nodes (i.e., intersections
and cul-de-sac heads), is [preferred.
required.]

Block Lengths None specified. Between 200 and 500 feet with the
requirement that blocks longer than
500 feet include mid-block crosswalks
and pass-throughs.

Design Speed 30 miles per hour. 25 miles per hour.

Intersection Control T-intersection at 90 degrees. Roundabouts and two-way stops
preferred to signals. 

All-way Stops None specified. Unwarranted stop signs are not
preferred but are acceptable when an
engineering study shows unusually
high cut-through traffic volumes or an
unusually high accident rate.

Local to collector subdivision street
with parking @ 30-foot radius

Corner Radius  Local to collector subdivision street
without parking @ 40-foot radiu

Collector to collector subdivision
street with parking @ 25-foot radius
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Collector to collector subdivision
street without parking @ 50-foot
radius

Maximum Cul-de-sac Lengt 500 to 1,000 feet, depending on
density of development.

300 feet is the maximum permitted
length of a cul-de-sac with it serving
no more than 30 units and with cut-
throughs provided at cul-de-sac heads
for pedestrians and bicyclists.

Minimum Driveway Spacing 200 feet, with narrower lots calling for
shared driveways.

50 feet, with narrower lots calling for
alley access or shared driveways.

Minimum Driveway Width 12-foot standard, not minimum. Between 8 to 16 feet for single family
development, and 18 feet for multi-
family development.

Right-of-way Width 60 feet for minor collector subdivision
streets.

53 feet minimum to 60 feet maximum.
The maximum right-of-way is based
on two 10-foot travel lanes, two one-
foot curb offsets, one 7-foot parking
lane, one 6-inch curb on each side of
the street, one 10-foot planting strip on
each side of the street, and one 5-foot
sidewalk on each side of the street.
The minimum right-of-way can be
used if on-street parking is eliminated.

Pavement Widt 32 feet for minor collector subdivision
streets (34 feet when offset fro
integral curb is considered).

22 feet minimum to 29 feet maximum.
The maximum pavement width is
based on two 10-foot travel lanes, two
one-foot curb offsets, and one 7-foot
parking lane.

Travel Lane Width 11 feet 4-inches for minor subdivision
streets.

10 feet.

Parking Lane Width None specified. 7 feet.

Pavement Edge Treatment None specified. 6 or 8-inch vertical curbs with closed
drainage.

Medians or Center Islands None specified. [Required] [Encouraged] on all
multilane roads with additional right-
of-way required if medians or center
islands are provided.

Horizontal Curve Radius 300 feet. 167-foot minimum when the curve is
unsigned or a 90-foot minimum when
the curve is signed as a traffic calming
device.
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Decision

Pursuant to the authority in 17 Delaware Code, Section
508 and 29 Delaware Code, Chapter 84 and after due notice
as required under the Administrative Procedures Act, the
Department of Transportation is hereby amending Rules and
Regulations for Subdivision Street  by adopting the Mobility
Friendly Design Standards, effective June 1, 2000.

Comments or questions regarding how these standards
will be administered and under which circumstances the
Department will allow their application should be directed
to:

David DuPlessis, Subdivision Engineer
The Delaware Department of Transportation

Division of Planning and Policy 
P.O. Box 778
Dover, DE  19903
(302) 760-2266 (telephone)
(302) 739-2251 (fax)
dduplessis@.mail.dot.state.de.us

Secretary Anne P. Canby

Vertical Curve Length None specified. 75-foot minimum at a design speed of
25 miles per hour. For larger grade
changes the Department will defer to
AASHTO Figures III-11 for crest
curves and III-43 for sag curves.
When a short vertical curve is signed
and marked as a traffic calming
measure, no minimum standards apply.

Sidewalk Warrants Not required by the Department. New
Castle County requires sidewalks on at
least one side of all local street with 10
or more units and densities greater
than 1 unit per acre, and on both sides
of minor collectors.

Required on both sides of the street.

Sidewalk Width None specified.  New Castle County
requires 5 feet.

5 feet minimum.

Planting Buffer/Utility Strip None specified. 10-foot minimum.

Tree/Obstacle Clearance A clear zone of 2 feet must be
provided in urban areas where a barrier
curb is provided.

[5 feet with vertical curb as
measured from the back of the curb
to the centerline of the tree.] [At
least 3 feet with vertical curb as
measured from the back of the curb
to the centerline of the tree.]

Alleys None specified. Alleys are recommended when lots are
less than 50 feet wide.  When
provided, a 20-foot [landscaped]
right-of-way should be provided with a
12-foot paved width.

Traffic Calming Measure None specified. A full array of horizontal and vertical
measures are required, consistent with
a 25 mile per hour design speed,
except on primary emergency response
routes
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PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 26 Delaware Code, 

Section 209(a) (26 Del.C. 209(a))

In the Matter of the Regulation |
Establishing the Minimum Filing |
Requirements for All Regulated |     PSC Regulation 
Companies Subject to the Juris- |     Docket  No. 4
Diction of the Public Service |
Commission (Reopened May 26, 1999) |

ORDER NO. 5410

AND NOW, this 11th day of April, 2000, the
Commission having considered the record as described in
Order No. 5349 herein, along with the comments filed by
Chesapeake Utilities Corporation (dated March 28, 2000),
and the comments filed by Delmarva Power & Light Co. and
United Water Delaware (both dated March 31, 2000);  

IT IS ORDERED THAT:
1. As and for its summary of the evidence pursuant to

29 Del. C. § 10118(b)(1), the Commission incorporates by
reference the summary of evidence set forth in Order No.
5349 herein.

2. Pursuant to 29 Del. C. § 10118(b), the Commission
adopts the following findings of fact and conclusions of law.

3. Part "A," Section I(C).  Staff proposed changes to
this section of the Minimum Filing Requirements ("MFRs")
for the principal purpose of curtailing the alleged practice,
by some utilities, of modifying test period data late in the
rate review process.  With one non-substantive exception,
the Hearing Examiner recommended the adoption of Staff's
proposal in its entirety.  

4. By its Order No. 5349, the Commission adopted the
Hearing Examiner's recommendation; but it directed Staff to
propose additional language that would vest in the Hearing
Examiner the discretion to permit utilities to offer
modifications in evidence simultaneously with the filing of
rebuttal evidence, where extraordinary circumstances and
the interests of justice so warrant.  

5.  In response to the Commission's directive, Staff
proposed the following language:

Modifications in test period data occasioned by
reasonably known and measurable changes in
current or future rate base items, expenses (i.e.,
labor costs, tax expenses, insurance, etc.) or
revenues may be offered in evidence by the utility
at any time prior to its filing of rebuttal evidence;
provided, however, that if any party makes timely
objection to the proffered modifications, such
objections shall be promptly presented to the

Commission, the Presiding Officer or Hearing
Examiner for a decision on due consideration of the
parties' respective positions.  For purposes of this
Section I(C), an objection shall be timely if made
within five (5) business days of the utility's proffer
of modifications.

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this
Section I(C), the Commission, Presiding Officer or
Hearing Examiner may permit the utility to offer in
evidence the modifications contemplated hereunder
simultaneously with the filing of rebuttal evidence,
where extraordinary circumstances and the interests
of justice so warrant.  

6. The Commission finds that Staff's proposal, as
quoted above, is consistent with the directive to which it
responds.  The Commission further finds that, if adopted, the
quoted language will promote fairness and efficiency in rate
proceedings; and that it should, therefore, be adopted
pursuant to 26 Del. C. § 106.  The Commission, therefore,
finally adopts the quoted language for inclusion within the
MFRs.     

7. Parts "A" and "B," Section I(E).  This section
addresses Staff's review of rate increase applications for
compliance with the MFRs, and the consequences of non-
compliance.  Staff proposed that it be changed to permit
Staff to reject defective applications where the defects are
"so numerous or serious as to materially impair Staff's timely
review of the application . . . ."  Delmarva, Chesapeake, and
others opposed Staff's proposal on due process and other
grounds.  

8.  The Hearing Examiner rejected Staff's proposal,
concluding that because "Staff is akin to a party prosecutor
in all rate proceedings[,]" it would be unfair to permit Staff
to reject rate applications on its own discretion.  Report of
the Hearing Examiner at ¶ 36.  The Hearing Examiner
agreed with Staff, however, that an amendment to this
section is needed to allow Staff "sufficient time to fully
review and investigate all of the complexities that are so
typical of rate cases."  Id. at ¶  38.  Accordingly, the Hearing
Examiner recommended changes to this section that were (in
large part) similar to those proposed by Staff, but which did
not confer discretion on Staff to reject defective applications
under any circumstances.  

9. The Hearing Examiner's recommendation also
added a new feature to the debate: It effectively provided
that no rate application would be deemed finally filed with
the Commission (for the purposes contemplated under the
Public Utilities Act) until the completion by Staff of a
review-and-notification process.  Under the terms proposed
by the Hearing Examiner, that process could take as long as
fifteen days for non-defective applications, and as long as
thirty days for defective applications.  
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10.  Chesapeake and Delmarva took exception to the
Hearing Examiner's recommendation, arguing (for example)
that a non-defective application should be deemed filed ab
initio.  Chesapeake and Delmarva similarly alleged
unfairness in the prospect that an application with only
minor defects might be deemed filed a full thirty days after
its actual filing date.  

11.  By its Order No. 5349, the Commission concluded
that the Hearing Examiner's recommendation should be
modified in two respects.  First, the Commission concluded
that non-defective applications should be deemed filed as of
the date of their actual, initial filing.  Second, the
Commission concluded that where an application suffers
from only minor defects, the presence of such defects should
not affect the date on which it is deemed filed.  Staff was,
therefore, directed to propose new language that would
effect these modifications.

12. In response to this directive, Staff proposed the
following language:

The Commission Staff will review all filings for
compliance with the format and instructions
furnished herein and, within fifteen (15) days after
the date of filing, specifically identify any
noncompliance with such format and  instructions,
and immediately request the  Commission's
Secretary to promptly notify the utility of the
alleged defects in compliance. Following such
notification by the Commission's Secretary, the
utility shall have fifteen (15) days within which to
correct the alleged defects; and only upon the
utility's filing of the corrected application shall such
application be deemed filed with the Commission
for the purposes contemplated under the Public
Utilities Act.  In the event the alleged defects are
not corrected within the time provided hereunder,
Staff may move the Commission to reject the
utility's application for noncompliance with these
Minimum Filing Requirements.  

Nothing in this Section I(E) shall prevent a utility
from filing an application in draft form for Staff's
informal review and approval without prejudice,
such informal review and approval not to be
unreasonably withheld by  Staff; nor shall this
Section I(E) affect or delay the filing date, for the
purposes contemplated under the Public Utilities
Act, of rate applications that comply with the
format and instructions furnished herein, or whose
noncompliance with such format and instructions is
deemed minor by the Commission or its Staff.

13. The Commission finds that Staff's proposal, as
quoted above, is consistent with the directive to which it

responds.  The Commission further finds that, if adopted, the
quoted language will promote fairness and efficiency in rate
proceedings; and that it should, therefore, be adopted
pursuant to 26 Del. C. § 106.  The Commission, therefore,
finally adopts the quoted language for inclusion within the
MFRs.

14. Summary of action taken.  The Commission finally
adopts, for inclusion within the MFRs, the amendments
approved by this Order and by Order No. 5349.

15. Staff is directed to prepare a new and conformed
version of the MFRs, consistent with the terms of this Order
and Order No. 5349, and to submit the same promptly to the
Registrar of Regulations consistent with 29 Del. C. §§ 1134
and 1135.  The amendments shall be effective ten (10) days
after the publication in the Register of Regulations.

16. The Commission retains jurisdiction in this matter,
including the authority to make such further Orders as may
be just or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Robert J. McMahon, Chairman
Joshua M. Twilley, Vice Chairman
Arnetta McRae, Commissioner
Donald J. Puglisi, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

*  PLEASE NOTE THAT A FULL-TEXT COPY OF

REGULATION DOCKET NO. 4 CAN BE OBTAINED

BY CONTACTING THE REGISTRAR OF
REGULATIONS OR THE PUBLIC SERVICE

COMMISSION. 

Excerpts of Amendments to Minimum Filing 
Requirements Adopted in Psc Order No. 5410

(April 11, 2000) 
(Altered Text Underlined)

State of Delaware
Public Service Commission

Minimum Filing Requirements For All Regulated 
Companies Subject to The Jurisdiction of the 

Commission

PSC Regulations Docket Nos. 4, 7, & 8:

As Originally Promulgated by PSC Order No. 2144 (Nov. 5,
1980);
As Amended by PSC Order No. 2587 (Sept. 25, 1984); 
As Amended by PSC Order No. 2704 (Dec. 12, 1985); and
As Amended by PSC Order No. 5410 (April 11, 2000).
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State of Delaware
Public Service Commission

Minimum Filing Requirements

General Information

Background
...
Purpose of Minimum Filing Requirements
...
Compliance With Minimum Filing Requirements

It is intended that the required information be furnished
in accordance with the format and instructions furnished
herein.  If exceptions are requested or proposed, they should
be fully explained and justified. Exceptions may be granted
if good cause is shown by the utility.  The Commission Staff
will review all filings for compliance with the format and
instructions furnished herein and notify the utility within 15
days after the date of filing of any defects in compliance.
The utility after such notification by the Commission Staff
will then have 15 days to correct these defects.

General Rate Increase Defined  . . . 
Part A – Rate Increase Applications – Major Utilities

Part A applies to utilities or divisions thereof with
annual gross intra-State revenues of $1 million or more (at
time of filing).  When an application is made for a general
rate increase, utilities with less than $1 million of annual
intra-State revenues, but which would exceed $1 million if
the proposed rates were to become effective, are subject to
Part A of these regulations.

Part B – Rate Increase Applications – Small Utilities
. . .

Part C – Cost Adjustment Clauses – All Utilities
. . . 

Part D – Issuance of Securities – All Utilities
. . .

Part E – Quarterly Reporting Requirements – Major Utilities
All major utilities, except Bell Atlantic-Delaware, Inc.,

subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission (i.e., those with
annual gross intra-State revenues of $1 million or more) are
required to file quarterly information in accordance with the
instructions in Part E.  Such utilities should file the required
financial data relative to the twelve months ended each
calendar quarter not later than 60 days following the
reporting quarter. No quarterly reporting is required for any
utility whose annual gross intra-State revenues are less than
$1 million.

Part F – Annual Reporting Requirements – Small Utilities
. . .

State Of Delaware
Public Service Commission

Minimum Filing Requirements - Part A
Rate Increase Application - Major Utilities

I. Instructions
A. Prefiling Announcement

. . .
B. Test Year and Test Periods

1. Test Year Defined.The test year is the actual
historical period of time for which financial and operating
data will be required.  The test year data must include the
actual “Per Books” results of  operation for a 12-month
period at the end of a reporting quarter.  In addition, the
twelve month period must end no later than seven months
prior to the filing of the application , but no sooner than one
month after the final closing of the test year (post reversal of
accrual entries), so that actual expenditures are reflected in
the books of account.  For example, if the actual results of
operations for the twelve months ending March 30, 200x, are
used for the purposes of the test year, the application must be
filed no sooner than April 30, 200x, but no later than October
31, 200x.

2. Test Period Defined.
. . . 
Updating Projected Test Periods.
. . . 

C. Testimony and Exhibits.
Prepared direct testimony and supporting exhibits

must be filed coincident with the filing of the applications
for rate relief.  This filing requirement shall not prohibit the
utility from subsequently submitting further testimony and
exhibits in a timely fashion as necessary or proper to address
issues raised during investigation of the application; nor
shall it (or B.2., above) prohibit the utility from also
proffering an exhibit or exhibits in the form of a fully
projected test period (in addition to the test period described
in I.B.2. above), provided (1) such period shall consist of
twelve consecutive months ending not later than the end of
the first year during which the proposed rates are to become
effective; (2) it is supported by relevant testimony
establishing a verifiable link between the test period defined
in section B.2. and the projected test period; and (3) it is in
format consistent with such test period.

Modifications in test period data occasioned by
reasonably known and measurable changes in current or
future rate base items, expenses (i.e., labor costs, tax
expenses, insurance, etc.) or revenues may be offered in
evidence by the utility at any time prior to its filing of
rebuttal evidence; provided, however, that if any party makes
timely objection to the proffered modifications, such
objections shall be promptly presented to the Commission,
the Presiding Officer or Hearing Examiner for a decision on
due consideration of the parties' respective positions.  For
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purposes of this Section I (C), an objection shall be timely if
made within five (5) business days of the utility's proffer of
modifications.

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this
Section I(C), the Commission, Presiding Officer or Hearing
Examiner may permit the utility to offer in evidence the
modifications contemplated hereunder simultaneously with
the filing of rebuttal evidence, where extraordinary
circumstances and the interests of justice so warrant.

D. Due Date
. . . 

E. Penalty for Non-Compliance
The Commission Staff will review all filings for

compliance with the format and instructions furnished herein
and, within fifteen (15) days after the date of filing,
specifically identify any noncompliance with such format
and instructions, and immediately request the Commission's
Secretary to promptly notify the utility of the alleged defects
in compliance.  Following such notification by the
Commission's Secretary, the utility shall have fifteen (15)
days within which to correct the alleged defects; and only
upon the utility's filing of the corrected application shall
such application be deemed filed with the Commission for
the purposes contemplated under the Public Utilities Act.  In
the event the alleged defects are not corrected within the
time provided hereunder, Staff may move the Commission to
reject the utility's application for non-compliance with these
Minimum Filing Requirements.

Nothing in this Section I(E) shall prevent a utility
from filing an application in draft form for Staff's informal
review and approval without prejudice, such informal review
and approval not to be unreasonably withheld by Staff; nor
shall this Section I(E) affect or delay the filing date, for the
purposes contemplated under the Public Utilities Act, of rate
applications that comply with the format and instructions
furnished herein, or whose non-compliance with such format
and instructions is deemed minor by the Commission or its
Staff.

F. General Guidelines
. . . 

Schedule No. 2 - B
INTANGIBLE ASSETS CLAIMED IN RATE BASE

Delaware Public Service Commission

Company:______________________

Docket No._____________________
Witness Responsible:____________________________

Line Description Date of Net
No. Location of Asset Acquisition Original

Cost

Allocation Jurisdictional Expected Expected
Percentages Net Original In Service Use of

Cost Date Asset

State Of Delaware 
Public Service Commission

Minimum Filing Requirements - Part B
Rate Increase Application - Small Utilities

I. Instructions
A. Prefiling Announcement

. . . 
B. Test Year

1. The test year is the actual historical period of
time for which operating and financial data will be required.
The test year must include the actual “Per Books” results of
operation for a twelve month period ending no more than
four months prior to the filing of the application for
increased rates.  In addition, the twelve-month period must
end no later than seven months prior to the filing of the
application, but no sooner than one month after the final
closing of the test year (post reversal of accrual entries), so
that actual expenditures are reflected in the books of
account.  For example, if the actual results of operations for
the twelve months ending March 30, 200x are used for
purposes of the test year, the application must be filed no
sooner than April 30, 200x, but no later than October 31,
200x.
. . .
. . .

C. Due Date
. . . 

D. Testimony and Exhibits
. . .

E. Penalty for Non-Compliance
The Commission Staff will review all filings for

compliance with the format and instructions furnished herein
and, within fifteen (15) days after the date of filing,
specifically identify any non-compliance with such format
and instructions, and immediately request the Commission
Secretary to promptly notify the utility of the alleged defects
in compliance.  Following such notification by the
Commission's Secretary, the utility shall have fifteen (15)
days within which to correct the alleged defects; and only
upon the utility's filing of the corrected application shall
such application be deemed filed with the Commission for
the purposes contemplated under the Public Utilities Act.  In
the event the alleged defects are not corrected within the
time provided hereunder, Staff may move the Commission to
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reject the utility's application for non-compliance with these
Minimum Filing Requirements.

Nothing in this Section I(E) shall prevent a utility from
filing an application in draft form for Staff's informal review
and approval without prejudice, such informal review and
approval not to be unreasonably withheld by Staff, nor shall
this Section I(E) affect or delay the filing date, for the
purposes contemplated under the Public Utilities Act, of rate
applications that comply with the format and instructions
furnished herein, or whose non-compliance with such format
and instructions is deemed minor by the Commission or its
Staff.

F. General Guidelines
. . . 
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BOARD/COMMISSION        TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE          OFFICE
Board of Funeral Services Mr. Lyle Dabson 04/03/03

Board of Medical Practice  Dr. Constantine Michell 04/07/03

Board of Occupational Therapy Ms. December E. Hughes 04/07/03

Commission for the Purchase of Products and Pleasure of the
Services of the Blind Mr. James G. Cagle Governor

Council on Forestry Ms. Mary Burton 04/10/03

Court of Common Pleas of the State of Delaware Mr. Kenneth S. Clark, Jr
for Sussex County   Judge 04/28/12

Delaware Board of Examiners of
Nursing Home Administrators Ms. Elizabeth Ann Happoldt 04/03/03

Delaware Board of Nursing Ms. Doris Dayton 04/03/03
Ms. Gwelliam Hine 04/03/03
Ms. Sheila McMahon 04/03/03
Ms. Matilda Purnell 04/03/03

Developmental Disabilities Planning Council Mr. Goodwin Cobb, III 03/20/03
Ms. Theda M. Ellis 04/03/03
Ms. Brenda S. Kramer 04/03/03
Ms. Jamie Wolfe 03/20/03

Environmental Appeals Board Mr. Donald E. Dean 03/27/03

Family Court of the State of Delaware for Ms. Mardi F. Pyott,
Kent County    Judge 03/31/12

Foster Care Review Board Ms. Andrea M. Alston 03/27/03
Ms. Shirley J. Butler 03/27/03
Mr. Patrick Casey 03/27/03
Ms. Mary K. Field 03/27/03
Ms. Marion Gibbs 03/27/03
Mr. Edmund M. Hillis 04/11/02
Ms. Ellen W. Holler 03/27/03
Mr. Salvatore J. Leone, III 04/17/03
Ms. Judith G. Lewis 03/27/03
Ms. Lydia Massey 03/27/01
Ms. Nancy P. Meadows 03/27/03
Ms. Pamela Meyer 03/27/03
Mr. Thomas Moore, Jr. 03/27/03
Mr. Rodney C. Smith 03/27/03
Ms. Delores A. Taylor 03/27/03
Mr. Richard W. White 03/27/03
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BOARD/COMMISSION      TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE        OFFICE
Governor’s Task Force on School Libraries Ms. Harriett B. Hook 03/27/03
Ms. Marilyn Kulkarni 03/27/03
Mr. John J. Micklos, Jr. 03/27/03
Ms. Mary Tise 03/27/03

Industrial Accident Board Mr. Harold B. Barber 04/04/06

Justice of the Peace for the State of Delaware The Honorable
for New Castle County Mr. Roberto C. Lopez 03/29/04

Justice of the Peace for the State of Delaware The Honorable
for New Castle County Marie E. Page 04/24/04

State Board of Architect Mr. Page Nelson 04/04/03

State Board of Electrical Examiners Mr. C. Leroy James 04/04/03

State Board of Examiners of Psychologists Mr. Frank E. Szczuka, Jr. 03/20/03

State Board of Plumbing Examiners Mr. Wayne R. Reed 04/17/03
Mr. Carey G. Saddler, III 04/17/03

State Board of Social Work Examiners Mr. Claude Massey 04/04/03
Mr. Thomas C. Tulley 04/04/03

State Rehabilitation Advisory Council Mr. Mark A. Chamberlin 04/17/03
Ms. Kathleen M. Moen 04/17/03
Ms. Jamie Wolfe 03/20/03

Superior Court of the State of Delaware Mr. E. Scott Bradley 04/07/12
for Sussex County    Associate Judge

Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board Mr. Elmer L. Newlin, III 06/17/05

Violent Crimes Compensation Board Ms. Leah W. Betts 04/04/03

Water Supply Coordinating Council The Honorable Pleasure of the
Nicholas A. DiPasquale, Chairperson  Governor

Workforce Investment Board Mr. Wayne A. George Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Patricia Troy Pleasure of the
Governor
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF CONSTABLES

Statutory Authority: 10 Delaware Code, Ch. 27 
(10 Del.C. Ch. 27)

Public Notice

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Examiners of
Constables, in accordance with Del. Code Title 10 Chapter
27 proposes to repeal Adopted Rules 09/10/86 – Age; 09/10/
86 – Badge and/or Identification Card, 09/10/86 –
Employers, and 09/10/86 – Mailing Address.  These Rules
are already in the Law.  The Board also proposed to Amend
Rules 09/10/86 – Experience, 09/10/86 – Character, 09/10/
86 –fingerprinting, 09/10/86 – Employment, 09/10/86 –
Application Fee, 09/10/86 – Appeal, 09/10/86 –Application,
and 10/17/96 – Law Enforcement Exemption.  These
amendments will compile and clarify the expectations of
individuals applying to become Constables.  If you with to
view the complete set of Rules & Regulations, contact Ms.
Peggy Anderson at (302) 739-5991.  Any persons wishing to
present views may submit them in writing, by May 31, 2000,
to Delaware State Police, Detective Licensing, P.O. Box
430, Dover, DE 19903;  The Board will hold its annual
meeting Tuesday, May 16, 2000, 10:00am, at the Delaware
State Police Headquarters Conference Room, 1441 North
DuPont Highway in Dover, Delaware.

Board of Examiners Of Constables
Promulgated

Rules and Regulations

09/10/1986-1 - EXPERIENCE
AMENDED 05/00/00

A constable must meet the minimum training standards
for a full-time police officer as established by the Council on
Police Training

09/10/1986-2 - APPEAL

Any applicant who is rejected for a commission as a
constable may, within 20 days of such notice of rejection,
submit a written notice of appeal.

A hearing date, to be determined by the Board, will be
convened to take relevant evidence on the appeal.

Such proceedings shall be conducted in accordance with
the administrative procedures act (Title 20).

The Board decision, in writing, will be mailed to the
applicant within ten working days after the hearing.

10/16/1996-3 - LAW ENFORCEMENT EXEMPTION
AMENDED 05/00/00

Applicants, who were prior law enforcement officers in
any jurisdiction and have been away from police work for
not more than five (5) years, will be considered for
commissions on a case-by-case basis.

Applicants, who have been law enforcement officers in
the past but have been away from active law enforcement for
more than five (5) years, will be required to take an MMPI
(Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory) and a
comprehensive, multiple-choice examination, equivalent to
the C.O.P.T. exam to identify weaknesses in their knowledge
of law enforcement.  Once those shortcomings have been
identified, the individual officer will be required to take the
requisite training where the deficiency was noted.

05/00/2000-4 - EMPLOYMENT

All applicants must submit written testimony from five
(5) reputable citizens attesting to good character, integrity,
and competency

All applicants must submit a MMPI - Minnesota
Multiphasic Personality Inventory.

All applicants shall be required to submit an application
and their fingerprints to the Director of Detective Licensing
on the appropriate forms.  The Director of the State Bureau
of Identification shall set the processing fee.

No full-time police officer may apply for a commission
as a constable.

All applicants seeking a new commission as a constable
shall be required to submit a $100.00 application fee.

A $50.00 annual renewal fee shall be required to
accompany the renewal application each year thereafter.
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN OPTOMETRY

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Section 2104(1), the Delaware
Board of Examiners in Optometry proposes to revise its rules
and regulations.  The proposed revisions clarify the Board’s
law as it relates to therapeutic licensing for reciprocity
applicants.  Specifically, the proposed revisions to Rule 4.0
provide that an applicant, therapeutically licensed in another
state, must demonstrate that that state allows the use and
prescription of diagnostic and therapeutic drugs at least
equivalent to that permitted by Delaware.  If the state from
which the applicant seeks reciprocity is not therapeutically
equivalent, the applicant must meet the requirements of 24
Del.C. §2108.   Proposed revisions to Rule 11.0 further
clarify the requirements for therapeutic certification and
specify that the 40 hours of clinical experience required
under §2108(b) must be obtained no earlier than 24 months
prior to application.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Thursday, June 15, 2000 at 6:45 p.m. in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904.  The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Susan
Miccio at the above address.  The final date to submit written
comments shall be at the above scheduled public hearing.
Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed Rules and
Regulations or to make comments at the public hearing
should notify Susan Miccio at the above address or by
calling (302) 739-4522.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

The Harness Racing Commission proposes to amend
certain rules.  The following is a summary of the proposed
rules:

1. Amend Rule 8.3.5.4 to clarify the time period for
administration of lasix to horses and to delete the provision
for removal of a horse from the Steward’s List for multiple
violations of the Rule.

2. Amend Rule 7.6.14 to revise the Hubrail Rule to

conform to the current use of pylons on the racetrack and to
require that a driver who leaves the course must reenter as
soon as possible.

3. Amend Rule 7.6.15 to clarify the rule requirements
for use of the extended homestretch and the penalties for
violation of the Rule.

4. Amend Rule 7.6.13 to provide that any driver
involved in an objection or inquiry must immediately
respond to an inquiry from the judges.

5. Amend Rule 3.2.8.3 to require that horses scratched
for lameness or sickness must be on the Steward’s List for
seven days, instead of five days.

6. Amend Rule 7.6.6 to delete Rule 7.6.6.6 regarding
use of a recall pole.

7. Amend Rule 6.3.2 to add new subsection 6.3.2.8
prohibiting a person from claiming more than one horse in
the same race.  Amend Rule 6.3.2 to add new subsection
6.3.2.9 to prohibit transfer of a claimed horse for a period of
thirty days after the claim, except for entry in a claiming
race.

8. Amend Rule 8.4.3.5.10 to revise the procedure for
the use of split samples for carbon dioxide testing to provide
that both samples would be sent to the Commission
laboratory on an anonymous basis for testing.

The Commission proposes these amendments pursuant
to 3 Del.C. §10027 and 29 Del.C. §10113.  The Commission
will consider the proposed rule changes at a public hearing
on May 22, 2000 at 10:30 a.m. at Harrington Raceway,
Harrington, DE.  The Commission will receive written
comments from th public until May 30, 2000.  Copies of the
proposed rules and current rules can be obtained from John
Wayne, Administrator of Racing, 2320 S. DuPont Highway,
Dover, DE 19901. Written comments can be sent to Mr.
Wayne’s attention at the Commission’s Office.

THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

The Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission
proposes several rule amendments to the Rules of Racing of
the Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission.  The
Commission proposes the rules pursuant to 3 Del.C. §10103
and 29 Del.C. §10118.  Although the proposal contains
many proposed changes, the changes for the most part are
stylistic changes designed to clarify the role of the
Commission and the racetrack in the racing operations.

The Commission will receive written public comments
from May 1, 2000 through May 30, 2000.  The Commission
will hold a public hearing on May 23, 2000 at 10:00 a.m at
Delaware Park, Stanton, DE.  Written comments should be
sent to John Wayne, Administrator of Racing, 2320 S.
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DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19910. Copies of the proposed
rules can be obtained from the Commission office at the
above address.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its
monthly meeting on Thursday, May 18, 2000 at
2:00 p.m. in the Townsend Building, Dover,
Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AN
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF MENTAL RETARDATION

PUBLIC NOTICE
DMR Eligibility Criteria

In compliance with the State’s Administrative
Procedures Act (APA – Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS)/Division of Mental Retardation is
amending its eligibility.

Comments, written suggestions, compilations of data,
testimony, briefs or other written materials concerning this
change must be received by mail no later than June 1, 2000,
at the DMR Administrative Office, Jesse Cooper Building,
Federal Street, Dover, DE  19903, attention Susan Morrison
Smith.  Materials filed thereafter will not be considered
except where good cause for lateness is demonstrated.
Copies of all written submissions filed with the Division of
Mental Retardation office will be available for public
inspection in the DMR Administrative Office at the address
given above.  Please call (302) 739-4386, for an appointment
if you wish to review the materials.  Individuals with
disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings, or
review the materials submitted, should contact the Division
to discuss auxiliary aids or services needed to facilitate such
review or participation.  Such contact may be in person, in
writing or by telephone by using the Telecommunications
Relay Service, or otherwise.

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF CONSTABLES

Public Notice

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Examiners of
Constables, in accordance with Del. Code Title 10 Chapter
27 proposes to repeal Adopted Rules 09/10/86 – Age; 09/10/
86 – Badge and/or Identification Card, 09/10/86 –
Employers, and 09/10/86 – Mailing Address.  These Rules
are already in the Law.  The Board also proposed to Amend
Rules 09/10/86 – Experience, 09/10/86 – Character, 09/10/
86 –fingerprinting, 09/10/86 – Employment, 09/10/86 –
Application Fee, 09/10/86 – Appeal, 09/10/86 –Application,
and 10/17/96 – Law Enforcement Exemption.  These
amendments will compile and clarify the expectations of
individuals applying to become Constables.  If you with to
view the complete set of Rules & Regulations, contact Ms.
Peggy Anderson at (302) 739-5991.  Any persons wishing to
present views may submit them in writing, by May 31, 2000,
to Delaware State Police, Detective Licensing, P.O. Box
430, Dover, DE 19903;  The Board will hold its annual
meeting Tuesday, May 16, 2000, 10:00am, at the Delaware
State Police Headquarters Conference Room, 1441 North
DuPont Highway in Dover, Delaware.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

That the Commission proposes to amend its rules and
regulations by: (a) repealing, in their entirety, the "Interim
Rules Governing Competition in the Market for Local
Telecommunications Services," adopted in PSC Order No.
4468 (April 8, 1997); (b) repealing in their entirety, the
"Rules for the Provision of Competitive Intrastate
Telecommunications Services," as adopted in PSC Order No.
3283 (J une18, 1991); and (c) adopting Rules for the
Provision of Telecommunications Service  as set forth in
Attachment 3 to Exhibit "A" of this Order.

That the Commission withdraws the proposed revisions
adopted in PSC Order No. 4949 (Nov. 17, 1998) in light of
the action proposed in paragraph one above.

That the Commission seeks public comment and input
concerning its proposal to repeal the present Docket 10 and
45 Rules and to adopt the proposed Rules for the Provision
of Telecommunications Services and, for this purpose, to
comply with the requirements of 29Del. C. §§ 1133 and
10115, the Commission hereby issues the Notices of
Proposed Repeal and Adoption of Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Services attached hereto as Exhibits
"A" and "B" for publication, respectively, in the Register of
Regulations and in two (2) newspapers of general circulation
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in the State.
That the Secretary shall transmit the Notice of Proposed

Repeal and Adoption of Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Services attached as Exhibit "A,"
together with copies of the existing text of the Docket 10 and
45 Rules and the proposed Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Services, to the Registrar of
Regulations for publication in the Register of Regulations on
May 1, 2000, as required by 29 Del. C. 10115.  In addition,
the Secretary shall, contemporaneous with such transmittal,
cause a copy of the Notice attached as Exhibit "A" and the
existing Docket 10 and 45 Rules and the proposed Rules for
the Provision of Telecommunications Services to be sent by
United States Mail to: (1) all prior participants in this
proceeding; (2) all persons who have made timely requests
for advance notice of such proceedings; and (3) the Division
of the Public Advocate.

That the Secretary shall cause the publication of the
Notice of Proposed Repeal and Adoption of Rules for the
Provision of Telecommunications Services attached hereto
as Exhibit "B" to be made in The News Journal and the
Delaware State News newspapers on the following dates, in
two column format, outlined in black:

May 1, 2000 (for The News Journal)
May 1, 2000 (for the Delaware State News)

That the Commission will conduct a public hearing on
the proposed repeal of the present Docket 10 and 45 Rules
and the adoption of the proposed Rules for the Provision of
Telecommunications Services during its regular public
meeting at its Dover office on Tuesday, Ju n e6, 2000,
beginning at 1:00 PM.

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN
COMMISSION

P.O. Box 7360 West Trenton

The Delaware River Basin Commission will meet on
Tuesday, May 2, 2000, in West Trenton, New Jersey.  For
more information contact Pamela M. Bush at (609) 883-
9500 extention 203.
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