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REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an 
official State publication established by authority 
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the 
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any 
regulations that are proposed to be adopted, 
amended or repealed and any emergency 
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of 
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the 

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is 
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An 
example would be:

8 DE Reg. 757-772 (12/01/04)

Refers to Volume 8, pages 757-772 of the 
Delaware Register issued on December 1, 2004.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) 
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is 
$135.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of 
$12.00 per issue, including postage. For more 
information contact the Division of Research at 
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties 
may participate in the process by which 
administrative regulations are adopted, amended 
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which 
the validity and applicability of regulations is 
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency 
proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a 
regulation, it shall file notice and full text of such 
proposals, together with copies of the existing 
regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, 
with the Registrar for publication in the Register 
of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title. The 
notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings 
including a brief synopsis of the subject, 
substance, issues, possible terms of the agency 
action, a reference to the legal authority of the 
agency to act, and reference to any other 
regulations that may be impacted or affected by 
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of 
the place to which and the final date by which such 
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, 
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not 
be scheduled less than 20 days following 
publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be 
held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place 
and a summary of the nature of the proposal shall 
also be published in at least 2 Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation. The notice shall 
also be mailed to all persons who have made 
timely written requests of the agency for advance 
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be 
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the 
proposal is published in the Register of 
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and 
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written 
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materials, upon all the testimonial and written 
evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by 
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether 
a regulation should be adopted, amended or 
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order 
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the 
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief 
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of 
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A 
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or 
to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and 
information received;  (4)  The exact text and 
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6) 
Any other findings or conclusions required by the 
law under which the agency has authority to act; 
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the 
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, 
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less 
than 10 days from the date the order adopting, 
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal 
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the 
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an 
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the 
making or consideration of a proposed adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an 
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of 
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a 
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, 
no judicial review of a regulation is available 
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court 
within 30 days of the day the agency order with 
respect to the regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 

REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
DATE           DATE        TIME

APRIL 1 MARCH 15 4:30 P.M.

MAY 1 APRIL 15 4:30 P.M.

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

AUGUST 1 JULY 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

Deborah A. Porter, Interim Supervisor; 
Sandra F. Clark, Administrative Specialist II; 
Kathleen Morris, Unit Operations Support 
Specialist; Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar of 
Regulations; Steve Engebretsen, Assistant 
Registrar; Victoria Schultes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Rochelle Yerkes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Rhonda McGuigan, Administrative 
Specialist I; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative 
Librarian; Lisa Schieffert, Research Analyst; 
Judi Abbott, Administrative Specialist I; Alice 
W. Stark, Legislative Attorney; Ted Segletes, 
Paralegal;  Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop 
Supervisor;  Marvin L. Stayton, Printer;  Don 
Sellers, Printer.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed 
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that 
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with 
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with 
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE MANUFACTURED HOME RELOCATION TRUST FUND
201 Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund Regulations...................................... 8 DE Reg.   619 (Prop.)

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
Proposed Amendment to the Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and Comprehensive

Plan to Classify the Lower Delaware River as Special Protection Waters............................. 8 DE Reg.   513 (Prop.)
Proposed Amendment to the Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and Comprehensive

Plan to Establish Pollutant Minimization Plan Requirements for Point and Non-Point
Source Discharges of Toxic Pollutants Following Issuance of a TMDL by either the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency or a Member State, or an Assimilative Capacity
Determination by the Delaware River Basin Commission..................................................... 8 DE Reg.    515 (Prop.)

DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
State Fire Prevention Regulations.......................................................................................... .......... 8 DE Reg.        6 (Prop.)

   8 DE Reg.    416 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION (TITLE 24 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)

100 Board of Accountancy..................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   944 (Prop.)
200 Board of Landscape Architects........................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   625 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   947 (Prop.)
300 Board of Architecture...................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   953 (Prop.)
500 Board of Podiatry............................................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   955 (Prop.)
700 Board of Chiropractic...................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   627 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   997 (Final)
1100 Board of Dental Examiners............................................................................................ 8 DE Reg. 1057 (Prop.)
1400 Board of Electrical Examiners....................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   627 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   998 (Final)
1700 Board of Medical Practice............................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   628 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.  750 (Errata)
1770 Board of Medical Practice Respiratory Care Advisory Council.................................... 8 DE Reg.  635 (Prop.)
1800 Board of Plumbing Examiners....................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.  639 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1000 (Final)
1900 Board of Nursing........................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   377 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   757 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   864 (Final)
8 DE Reg. 1089 (Final)

2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice............................................................... 8 DE Reg.   518 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1063 (Prop.)

2100 Board of Examiners in Optometry......................................................................... 8 DE Reg.     16 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   536 (Final)
8 DE Reg.   640 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1002 (Final)

2500 Board of Pharmacy, Rule 16.0, Crimes Substantially Related to the Practice of
Pharmacy................................................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   517 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   879 (Final)
2600 Board of Physical Therapists & Athletic Trainers......................................................... 8 DE Reg.   772 (Prop.)
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2700 Board of Professional Land Surveyors.......................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   774 (Prop.)
2900 Real Estate Commission........................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   961 (Prop.)
3000 Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency

Professionals ........................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   963 (Prop.)
3100 Board of Funeral Services...................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   777 (Prop.)
3300 Board of Veterinary Medicine........................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   645 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1105 (Final)
3500 Board of Examiners of Psychologists............................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   779 (Prop.)
3600 Board of Geologists....................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   785 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1105 (Final)
3700 Board of Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists & Hearing Aid Dispensers..... 8 DE Reg.   786 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1106 (Final)
3800 State Committee on Dietitics/Nutrition......................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   787 (Prop.)
3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners.................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   218 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   880 (Final)
8 DE Reg.   966 (Prop.)

5100 Board of Cosmetology & Barbering.............................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   788 (Prop.)
5200 Board of Nursing Home Administrators........................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   790 (Prop.)
5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork.................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   390 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   692 (Final)
8 DE Reg.   796 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1107 (Final)

Gaming Control Board, Bingo, Charitable Gambling and Raffles......................................... 8 DE Reg.   531 (Final)
PUBLIC INTEGRITY COMMISSION

Public Integrity Commission, Rules of................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   710 (Final)
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Reg. Docket No. 15, Concerning the Terms and Conditions Under Which Water Utilities
Require Advances and/or Contributions In-Aid-Of Construction from Customers or
Developers, and the Proper Ratemakeing Treatment for such Contributions
and Advances................................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   969 (Prop.)

Reg. Docket No. 54, Concerning the Jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission to
Grant and Revoke Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity to Provide 
Wastewater Services........................................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   646 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Rule 8.3.3.5, Erythropietin...................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   329 (Final)
Rule 8.8 Prohibited Substances Protests; Testing................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   698 (Final)
Rule 8.9 Prerace Testing By Blood Gas Analyzer or Similar Equipment.............................. 8 DE Reg.   798 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1108 (Final)
Rule 8.10 Quarantine Procedure for Carbon Dioxide Positive Test (Prerace or Postrace)..... 8 DE Reg. 1108 (Final)
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Regulations............................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   336 (Final)

THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION
Rule 11.14.1.5 Scratches................................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   652 (Prop.)
Rule 19.3.1.1, Application for Review........................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   652 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION  (TITLE 14 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)
101 Delaware Student Testing Program................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.     17 (Prop.)

  8 DE Reg.   425 (Final)
106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II).......... 8 DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

  8 DE Reg.   431 (Final)
107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance  Appraisal System (DPAS II)...... 8 DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

   8 DE Reg.   431 (Final)
108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)........ 8 DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

   8 DE Reg.   431 (Final)
251 Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA)........................................................... 8 DE Reg. 1112 (Final)
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252 Required Educational Records and Transfer and Maintenance of Educational Records........ 8 DE Reg. 1112 (Final)
260 General Appeal Procedure for the Child and Adult Care Food Program of the

United States Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA  .................................................... 8 DE Reg.   221 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   537 (Final)

262 General Administrative Appeal Procedures for National School Lunch Programs (NSLP),
School Breakfast Program (SBP) and the After School Snack Program (ASSP) of the 
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)-Fiscal Action.......................................... 8 DE Reg. 1066 (Prop.)

264 General Administrative Appeal Procedures for the Summer Food Servide Programs of the
United States Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA...................................................... 8 DE Reg. 1068 (Prop.)

278 Non-public School Educator Licensure and Certification...................................................... 8 DE Reg.   811 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1123 (Final)

501 State Content Standards.......................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.     36 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   445 (Final)

609 District and School Based Intervention Services.................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   657 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1008 (Final)

611 Consortium Discipline Alternative Programs for Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems 8 DE Reg.   657 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1008  (Final)

618 (Formerly Reg. 879) School Safety Audit.............................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   344 (Final)
620 (Formerly Reg. 880) School Crisis Response Plans............................................................... 8 DE Reg.   344 (Final)
701 Unit Count.............................................................................................................................. 8 DE Reg. 1070 (Prop.)
705 Training Camp and Special Duty in the National Guard and/or Reserves.............................. 8 DE Reg.   396 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   700 (Final)
706 Credit for Experience for Full Time Service in the Armed Forces......................................... 8 DE Reg.   397 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   701 (Final)
712 Employee Leave...................................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg. 1073 (Prop.)
714 Professional Employee Work Stoppage or Strike................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   820 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1132 (Final)
718 Health Examinations for School District Employees..................................................... 8 DE Reg.     37 (Prop.)

  8 DE Reg.   399 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   702 (Final)

725 School Administrator Contracts/Agreements......................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   821 (Final)
8 DE Reg. 1133 (Final)

742  Compensation of District Personnel Under Specific Project Proposals................................ 8 DE Reg.   520 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   884 (Final)

805 The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control Program................................................ 8 DE Reg.     38 (Prop.)
   8 DE Reg.   400 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   822 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1134 (Final)

851 K-12 Compreshensive Health Education Program................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   661 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1012 (Final)

852 Child Nutrition........................................................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   224 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   540  (Final)

885 Safe Management and Disposal of Surplus Chemicals in the Delaware Public School
System ................................................................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   345 (Final)

925 Children with Disabilities....................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   225 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   402 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   886 (Final)

940 Early Admission to Kindergarten for Gifted Students............................................................ 8 DE Reg. 1074 (Prop.)
1105 School Transportation........................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   237 (Final)

8 DE Reg.   541 (Final)

REGULATIONS REPEALED
250 Procedures Related to the Collection, Maintenance  and Disclosure of Student Data,

Repeal of.......................................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   800 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.  1112 (Final)

610 Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems Component (14 Del.C. §1604 of Chapter 16,
Comprehensive School Discipline Improvement Program August 1998........................ 8 DE Reg.   657 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1008 (Rep.)
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
307 Certification Administrative - Director of Special Education........................................ 8 DE Reg.   825 (Prop.)
309 Certification Administrative - Supervisor of Special Education, Repeal of................... 8 DE Reg.   827 (Prop.)
323 Certification Computer Science Teacher................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   247 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   552  (Final)
331 (Transferred to 1566) Certification Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher........................ 8 DE Reg.   248 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   553  (Final)
368 Certification School Psychologist................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.     41 (Prop.)
1501 Knowledge, Skills And Responsibility Based Supplements For Educators................. 8 DE Reg.     73 (Final)

8 DE Reg.   828 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1137 (Final)

1502 Educator Mentoring.............................................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   347 (Final)
1505 Professional Growth Programs..................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.     78 (Final)
1509  Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation............................................................... 8 DE Reg.   446 (Final)
1528 Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive.................................................................. 8 DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1529 Foreign Language Teacher Secondary.......................................................................... 8 DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1531 Certification Administrative - School Leader I............................................................. 8 DE Reg.   832 (Prop.)
1533 Foreign Language Teacher Elementary........................................................................ 8 DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1537 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary........................................................................ 8 DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1540 Standard Certificate Science Teacher.................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.  834 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1138 (Final)
1542 Standard Certificate Science Teacher Middle Level............................................................. 8 DE Reg.   837 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1139 (Final)
1554 Standard Certificate Reading Specialist................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   405 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   899 (Final)
1558 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary Middle Level..................................................... 8 DE Reg.     80 (Final)
1566 (Formerly Reg. 331) Standard Certificate Family & Consumer Sciences Teacher.............. 8 DE Reg.   553 (Final)
1577 (Formerly Reg. 368) Standard Certificate-School Psychologist  ......................................... 8 DE Reg.   448 (Final)
1584 Permits Paraeducators........................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   839 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1141 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF REVENUE

Tobacco Quarterly Escrow Installments and Certification..................................................... 8 DE Reg. 1075 (Prop.)
OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY

Rule 4.2 Licensing of Technology Providers.......................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   842 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1143 (Final)

Rule 6.34 & 6.35 Agents........................................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   842 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1143 (Final)

Rule 7.16.2 Game Requirements............................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   842 (Final)
8 DE Reg. 1143 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Assisted Living Facilities, Regulations for..................................................................... 8 DE Reg.     46 (Prop.)
      8 DE Reg.     85 (Final)

Training & Qualifications for Nursing Assistants & Certified Nursing Assistants........ 8 DE Reg.   662 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1014 (Final)

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
4107 Testing of Newborn Infants for Metabolic, Hematologic and Endocrinologic Disorders8 DE Reg.   100 (Final)
4108 Autism Surveillance and Registration Program............................................................. 8 DE Reg.   972 (Prop.)
4203 Cancer Treatment Program.................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   107 (Final)

8 DE Reg.   509 (Emer.)
8 DE Reg.   850 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1144 (Final)

4463 Licensing and Registration of Operators of Public Water Supply Systems........... 8 DE Reg.     47 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   453 (Final)
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Private Duty Nursing Program Provider Specific Policy;............................................... 8 DE Reg.   975 (Prop.)
Provider Contractual/Programmatic Responsibilities, Section 1.6.................................. 8 DE Reg.   854 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1148 (Final)
Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM)

Client Cost Sharing for Pharmaceutical Services............................................................ 8 DE Reg.   664 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1017 (Final)

2001.1 and 2001.1.1 Redetermination: Eligibility Review Periods................................ 8 DE Reg.   855 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1150 (Final)

3003 Non-Time Limited Program-Children’s Program................................................... 8 DE Reg.   670 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1024 (Final)

3031 Work for your Welfare............................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   670 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1024 (Final)

5311 Notification of Time and Place of Hearing............................................................. 8 DE Reg.   351 (Final)
  8 DE Reg.   376 (Errata)

9026.1, Food Stamp Program.......................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   521 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   901 (Final)

9028.1, Joint Application Processing.............................................................................. 8 DE Reg. 1076 (Prop.)
9032.6 Residency (Including Homelessness Definition)................................................. 8 DE Reg.   857 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1153 (Final)
9068.1 Certification Period Length......................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   113 (Final)
11002.9, Child Care Subsidy Program - Definitions and Explanation Of Terms;
11004.4.1 Explanation of Certificates; 11006.4.2 Fee Paying Clients............................ 8 DE Reg.   407 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1154 (Final)
11004.7, Child Care Subsidy Program - Determination of the Child Care Parent Fee

and Fee Waiving Situations...................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   978 (Prop.)
20300.2 and 20360, Long Term Care Eligibility Process................................................ 8 DE Reg.   980 (Prop.)
20330.7, U.S. Savings Bonds.......................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   981 (Prop.)
20700.5-20700.5.8, Acquired Brain Injury Waiver Program.......................................... 8 DE Reg.   250 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   555 (Final)
8 DE Reg.   616 (Errata)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
301 Audited Financial Reports...................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   252 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   557 (Final)
504 (Formerly Reg. No. 47) Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines 

Brokers and Consultants......................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   409 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   703 (Final)

603 Delaware Motorists Protection Act......................................................................................... 8 DE Reg. 1158 (Final)
606 (Formerly Reg. No. 31) Proof of Automobile Insurance................................................ 8 DE Reg.     55 (Prop.)
607 (Formerly Reg. No. 37) Defensive Driving Course Discount Automobiles

and Motorcycles...................................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.     59 (Prop.)
   8 DE Reg.   460 (Final)

1310 Standards for Prompt, Fair & Equitable Settlement of Claims for Helath Care Services.... 8 DE Reg. 1077 (Prop.)
1404 Long-Term Care Insurance................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   257 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   562 (Final)
1501 Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards................................................. 8 DE Reg.     62 (Prop.)

   8 DE Reg.   465 (Final)
8 DE Reg.   672 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.  1026 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
COUNCIL ON APPRENTICESHIP & TRAINING

Section 106.5, Standards of Apprenticeship................................................................... 8 DE Reg.     65 (Prop.)
   8 DE Reg.   468 (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Green Energy Fund Program Regulation........................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   114 (Final)
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT-AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

1352 Above Ground Storage Tank Regulations..................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   677 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1167 (Final)

Hazardous Waste, Regulations Governing............................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   352 (Final)
Reporting of a Discharge of a Pollutant or Air Contaminant......................................... 8 DE Reg.   126 (Final)
Solid Waste, Regulations Governing...................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   354 (Final)
Reg. 43, Heavy Duty Diesel Engine Standards...................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   672 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1162 (Final)
Reg. 45, Excessive Idling of Heavy Duty Vehicles................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   982 (Prop.)

DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE
4.0 Seasons & 7.0 Deer........................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   355 (Final)
3308 (Formerly NT-7) Fish Stocking Practices...................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   374 (Emer.)

8 DE Reg.   858 (Prop.)
3502 Striped Bass Spawning Season and Area Restrictions.................................................. 8 DE Reg.   858 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg. 1169 (Final)
3505  Striped Bass Commercial Fishing Seasons; Quotas; Tagging &

Reporting Requirements........................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   858 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1169 (Final)

3507 Black Sea Bass Size Limits; Trip Limits; Seasons; Quotas........................................... 8 DE Reg. 1080 (Prop.)
3511 Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits; Seasons......................................... 8 DE Reg. 1080 (Prop.)
3553 River Herring Creel Limit.............................................................................................. 8 DE Reg.   858 (Prop.)

DIVISION OF SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION
5101 Sediment and Stormwater Regulations.......................................................................... 8 DE Reg. 1172 (Final)

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES
Design, Installation and Operation of On-Site Wastewater Treatment and Disposal

Systems, Regulations Governing..................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   283 (Prop.)
Surface Water Quality Standards.................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   154 (Final)
Water Pollution, Regulations Governing................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   679 (Prop.)
7101 Design, Installation and Operation of On-Site Wastewater Treatment & Disposal

Systems, Regulations Governing..................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   861 (Prop.)
7203 Control of Water Pollution, Regulations Governing, Sect. 9.0, Subsection 9.4, The

Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation........................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   984 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1189 (Final)

7409 TMDL’s for Little Assowoman Bay Watershed............................................................. 8 DE Reg.   688 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1027 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies................................ 8 DE Reg.   325 (Final)
Bounty Hunter/Bail Enforcement Agents...................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   689 (Prop.)

8 DE Reg.   994 (Prop.)
Division of Highway Safety

Electronic Red Light Safety Program..................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   524 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1029 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF HISTORICAL AND CULTURAL AFFAIRS

Historic Preservation Tax Credit..................... ...... .................................................. 8 DE Reg.   194 (Final)
8 DE Reg.   526 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg. 1031 (Final)

Human Relations Commission
1502 Fair Housing Regulation................................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   591 (Final)
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OFFICE OF THE STATE BANKING COMMISSIONER
708 (Formerly Reg. No. 5.770.0009) Establishment of a Branch Office by a Bank or 

Trust Company........................................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.     68 (Prop.)
   8 DE Reg.   472 (Final)

714 Establishment of a Mobile Branch Office by a Bank or Trust Company................ 8 DE Reg.     68 (Prop.)
8 DE Reg.   473 (Final)

1113 Election by a Subsidiary Corporation of a Banking Organization of Trust Company
to be Taxed in Accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30.......................................... 8 DE Reg.     68 (Prop.)

   8 DE Reg.   474 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Motorcycle Rider Education Courses Provider Requirements...................................................... 9 DE Reg. 1083 (Prop.)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE
Appointments ................................................................................................................................ 8 DE Reg.   361

8 DE Reg.   479
8 DE Reg.   602
8 DE Reg.   715
8 DE Reg.   907
8 DE Reg. 1036
8 DE Reg. 1200

Executive Order No. 56, Establishing The Infant Mortality Task Force....................................... 8 DE Reg.   199
Executive Order No .57, Declaring Friday, June 11, 2004 A Legal Holiday In 

Remembrance Of Former President Reagan.......................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   360
Executive Order No. 58, Relating to the Reestablishment of the Juvenile Justice

Advisory Group...................................................................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   477
Executive Order No. 59, Implementing the Strategies for State Policies & Spending   ............... 8 DE Reg.   714
Executive Order No. 61, Green Infrastructure............................................................................... 8 DE Reg.   905
Executive Order No. 62, Establishing a Task Force on Surface Water Management.................... 8 DE Reg. 1199
Executive Order No. 63, Amendment to Executive ORder Number Forty-Nine.......................... 8 DE Reg. 1199

MERIT EMPLOYEES RELATIONS BOARD
Classification Maintenance Review Appeal Procedures............................................................... 8 DE Reg.   599 (Final)
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text indicates new text. 
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file 
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with 
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature 
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference 
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the 
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final 
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the 
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a 
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation.  The 
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its 
regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
100 BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 105(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §105(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 100

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Accountancy in accordance 
with 24 Del.C. §105(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules 
and regulations.  The proposal amends Board Regulation 
10.8: Composition of Continuing Professional Education.
The regulation as amended converts the stated requirements 
from percentages to credit hours and adds a provision that 
four (4) of the required credit hours shall be in a Delaware 
specific ethics course approved by the Board. The regulation 
does not change the total number of required continuing 
education credit hours.

A public hearing will be held on April 20, 2005 at 9:00 
a.m. in the second floor Conference Room B of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone 
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may 
obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of Accountancy, 861 
Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 
19904.  Persons wishing to submit written comments may 
forward these to the Board at the above address.  The final 
date to receive written comments will be at the public 
hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 

regulation at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

100 Board of Accountancy

10.0 Continuing Education
10.1 Hours Required: Each permit holder must have 

completed at least 80 hours of acceptable continuing 
professional education each biennial reporting period of each 
year ending with an odd number. The eighty hours of 
acceptable continuing professional education submitted must 
have been completed in the immediately preceding two-year 
period.

10.2 Reporting Requirements: The Board will mail 
permit renewal forms which provide for continuing 
professional education reporting to all permit holders.  Each 
candidate for renewal shall submit a summary of  their 
continuing education hours, along with any supporting 
documentation requested by the Board, to the Board at least 
60 days prior to the permit renewal date set by the Division 
of Professional Regulation.

10.3 Proration: Prorated continuing professional 
education regulations consisting of less than eighty hours 
shall only apply to the first permit renewal, thereafter all 
permit holders are required to complete at least eighty hours 
of acceptable continuing professional education biennially.

10.3.1 If the initial permit was issued less than 
one year prior to the renewal date, there shall be no 
continuing education requirement for that period.

10.3.2 If the initial permit was issued at least one 
year, but less than two years prior to the renewal date, the 
continuing education requirement shall be 40 hours for that 
period.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 9, TUESDAY, MARCH 1, 2005

http://www.state.de.us/das/default.shtml
http://dpr.delaware.gov/default.shtml
http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/accountancy/index.shtml


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1217
10.4 Exceptions: The Board has the authority to 
make exceptions to the continuing professional education 
requirements for reasons including, but not limited to, 
health, military service, foreign residency, and retirement.

10.5 Qualified Programs.
10.5.1 General Determination: The overriding 

consideration in determining if a specific program qualifies 
as a continuing professional education program is whether it 
is a formal program of learning which contributes directly to 
the professional competence of the permit holder.

10.5.2 Formal Programs: Formal programs 
requiring class attendance will qualify only if:

10.5.2.1 An outline is prepared in advance and 
the plan sponsor agrees to preserve a copy for five years or 
the outline is provided to the participant or both.

10.5.2.2 The program is at least an hour (a 
fifty-minute period) in length.

10.5.2.3 The program is conducted by a 
qualified instructor or discussion leader.

10.5.2.4 A record of registration or 
attendance is maintained for five years or the participant is 
furnished with a statement of attendance, or both.

10.5.3 Programs deemed approved: Provided the 
criteria in Sections 10.5.1 and 10.5.2 of these Rules and 
Regulations are met, the following are deemed to qualify for 
continuing professional education:

10.5.3.1 Programs approved by National 
Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA);

10.5.3.2 Professional development 
programs of national, state and local accounting 
organizations;

10.5.3.3 Technical sessions at meeting of 
national, state and local accounting organizations and their 
chapters;

10.5.3.4 University or college courses:
10.5.3.4.1 Credit courses: each 

semester hour credit shall equal 5 hours of continuing 
professional education.

10.5.3.4.2 Non-credit courses: each 
classroom hour shall equal one hour of continuing 
professional education;

10.5.3.5 Programs of other organizations 
(accounting, industrial, professional, etc.);

10.5.3.6 Other organized educational 
programs on technical and other practice subjects including 
“in-house” training programs of public accounting firms.

10.5.4 Correspondence and Individual Study 
Programs: Formal correspondence or other individual study 
programs which provide evidence of satisfactory completion 
will qualify, with the amount of credit to be determined by 
the Board. The Board will not approve any program of 
learning that does not offer sufficient evidence that the work 
has actually been accomplished. The maximum credit 
toward meeting the continuing professional education 

requirement with formal correspondence or other individual 
study programs shall not exceed 30% of the total 
requirement.

10.5.5 Instructors and Discussion Leaders: Credit 
for one hour of continuing professional education will be 
awarded for each hour completed as an instructor or 
discussion leader plus two additional hours of credit for each 
classroom hour for research and preparation to the extent 
that the activity contributes to the professional competence 
of the registrant as determined by the Board. No credit will 
be awarded for repeated offerings of the same subject matter. 
The maximum credit toward meeting the continuing 
professional education requirement as an instructor or 
discussion leader shall not exceed 50% of the total 
requirement.

10.5.6 Published Articles and Books: One hour 
credit will be granted for each 50 minute period of 
preparation time on a self-declaration basis to a maximum of 
20 hours in each biennial reporting period.  A copy of the 
published article must be submitted to the Board upon 
request.  

10.5.7 Committee, Dinner, Luncheon and Firm 
Meetings.  One hour credit will be granted for each 50 
minutes of participation.  Credit will only be granted for 
those meetings which are structured as a continuing 
education program.

10.6 Control and Reporting
10.6.1 Each applicant for permit renewal shall 

provide a signed statement under penalty of perjury, 
disclosing the following information pertaining to the 
educational programs submitted in satisfaction of the 
continuing education requirements:

10.6.1.1 school, firm or organization 
conducting course;

10.6.1.2 location of course;
10.6.1.3 title of course or description of 

content;
10.6.1.4 dates attended; and
10.6.1.5 hours claimed.

10.6.2 The Board may verify information 
submitted by applicants by requesting submission of the 
documentation to be retained by the applicant and/or sponsor 
and may revoke permits for which deficiencies exist. If a 
Continuing Professional Education Statement submitted by 
an applicant for permit renewal is not approved, or if upon 
verification, revocation is being considered, the applicant 
will be notified and may be granted a period of time in which 
to correct the deficiencies.  Any license revocation or denial 
of application for license renewal will proceed in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, 29
Del.C. §10101, et. seq. 

10.7 Evidence of Completion - Retention
10.7.1 Primary responsibility for documenting 

the requirements rest with the applicant. Evidence in support 
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of the requirements should be retained for a period of five 
years after completion of the educational activity.

10.7.2 Sufficiency of evidence includes retention 
of course outlines and such signed statements of attendance 
as may be furnished by the sponsor. 

10.7.3 For courses taken for scholastic credit in 
accredited universities or colleges, evidence of satisfactory 
completion of the course will satisfy the course outline and 
attendance record.

10.7.4 For non-credit courses at accredited 
universities or colleges, a statement of the hours of 
attendance signed by the instructor or an authorized official 
of the sponsoring institution, must be obtained and retained 
by the applicant. Course outlines may be retained by the 
sponsoring institution for a period of five years in lieu of 
retention of the outlines by the applicant.

10.8 Composition of Continuing Professional 
Education: The biennial continuing professional education 
requirement shall include a minimum of 20 percent  sixteen 
(16) credit hours in accounting and/or auditing and a 
minimum of 20 percent  sixteen (16) credit hours in taxation 
and four (4) credit hours in a Delaware specific ethics course 
approved by the Board. The remaining forty–four (44) credit
hours may be satisfied by general subject matters so long as 
they contribute to the professional competence of the 
individual practitioner. Such general subject matters include, 
but are not limited to, the following areas:

Accounting
Administrative Practice
Auditing
Business Law
Communication Arts
Computer Science
Economics
Finance, Production and Marketing
Management Services Mathematics, Statistics, 

Probability, and Quantitative
Applications in Business
Personnel Relations, Business Management and 

Organization
Social Environment of Business
Specialized Areas of Industry
Taxation

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Accountancy is 
available at:

http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/accountancy/
index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
700 BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 706(a)(1)  (24 Del.C. §706(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 700

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Chiropractic in accordance with 
24 Del.C. §706(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules and 
regulations.  The proposal amends rule 4.2.1 Continuing 
Education for Licensees Other Than New Licensees to 
provide that the maximum allowable online continuing 
education credits permissible in each reporting period is 
twelve (12) of the twenty-four (24) required hours.

A public hearing will be held on April 21, 2005 at 8:45 
a.m. in the second floor Conference Room B of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone 
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Chiropractic, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 
203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to submit written 
comments may forward these to the Board at the above 
address.  The final date to receive written comments will be 
at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

700 Board of Chiropractic

4.0 Continuing Education
4.1 Continuing Education for New Licensees:

4.1.1 At the time of the initial license renewal, 
some individuals will have been licensed for less than two 
(2) years.  Therefore, for these individuals only, the 
continuing education hours will be pro-rated as follows:

License Granted During First Year: Credit Hours
    Required:

July 1 - December 31 24 hours
January 1 - June 30 18 hours

License Granted During Second Year: Credit Hours 
Required: 

July 1 - December 31 12 hours
January 1 - June 30    0 hours

4.2 Continuing Education for Licensees other than new 
licensees:

4.2.1 Unless otherwise excused by the Board for 
good cause such as illness, extended absence from the 
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country, or unique personal hardship which is not the result 
of professional negligence or inadvertence, all Chiropractors 
seeking renewal more than two (2) years from initial 
licensure or reinstatement of a lapsed license must provide to 
the Board adequate proof of the satisfactory completion of 
twenty four (24) credit hours of Board approved continuing 
education within the immediately preceding two (2) year 
period. Of the required twenty four (24) credit hours of 
Board approved continuing education, a maximum of twelve 
(12) credit hours may be fulfilled by participating in online 
courses.

4.2.2 Proof of continuing education shall be 
received at the Division of Professional Regulation, Dover, 
Delaware, no later than April 30th of the reporting year and 
shall be received every 2 years after such date.  Continuing 
education completed before April 30th of the reporting year 
shall not be carried over to the next renewal period.  The 
Board has the right to conduct an audit of the proof of 
continuing education submitted by licensees.

4 DE Reg. 1940 (6/1/01)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Chiropractic is 
available at:

http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/chiropractic/
index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
1900 BOARD OF NURSING

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 1906(1) (24 Del.C. §1906(1)

24 DE Admin. Code 1900

PUBLIC NOTICE

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE pursuant to 29 Del.C. chapter 
101 and 24 Del.C. §1906(1) the Delaware Board of Nursing 
proposes to revise its Rules and Regulations.

The subject matter of the proposed revisions relates to 
the insertion and removal of epidural catheters by Advanced 
Practice Nurses and also identifies specific health care acts 
to be excluded from delegation by competent individuals as 
specified in 24 Del.C. §1921(a)(19). 

The proposed rule and regulation developed by the 
Board relating to the insertion and removal of epidural 
catheters provides that the insertion and removal of epidural 
catheters is an authorized practice for Certified Registered 
Nurse Anesthetists and provides that the removal of epidural 
catheters is authorized practice for Nurse Practitioners, 

Clinical Nurse Specialists and Certified Nurse Midwives 
with specialized training.
 Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1906(1) and Senate Bill No. 261, 
as amended [74 Del. Laws C. 762], the Board of Nursing is 
also proposing Rules and Regulations which specifically 
identify health care acts to be excluded from delegation to 
unlicensed persons by competent individuals who do not 
reside in a medical facility or a facility regulated pursuant to 
Chapter 11 of Title 16. [See 24 Del.C. §1921(19)]. 

A public hearing concerning these proposed changes to 
the Board of Nursing Rules and Regulations will be held on 
Wednesday, April 13, 2005 at 9:30 a.m., in the auditorium of 
the Carter Partnership Building, Delaware Technical and 
Community College, Owens Campus, Georgetown, 
Delaware.

Anyone desiring a copy of the proposed Rules and 
Regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Nursing, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 
203, Dover, DE 19904, (302) 744-4515 or (302) 744-4516. 
Persons desiring to submit written comments on the revised 
rules and regulations may forward these comments to the 
above address. The final date to receive written comments 
will be April 12, 2005. Persons wishing to make comments 
at the public hearing on April 13, 2005 should contact Iva 
Boardman at the above address or by calling (302) 744-
4517.

1900 Board of Nursing

7.0 Standards of Nursing Practice
7.1 Authority

“Standards of Nursing Practice” means those 
standards of practice adopted by the Board that interpret the 
legal definitions of nursing, as well as provide criteria 
against which violations of the law can be determined. Such 
standards of nursing practice shall not be used to directly or 
indirectly affect the employment practices and deployment 
of personnel by duly licensed or accredited hospitals and 
other duly licensed or accredited health care facilities and 
organizations. In addition, such standards shall not be 
assumed the only evidence in civil malpractice litigation, nor 
shall they be given a different weight than any other 
evidence.

7.2 Purpose
The purpose of standards is to establish minimal 

acceptable levels of safe practice for the Registered and 
Licensed Practical Nurse, and to serve as a guide for the 
Board to evaluate safe and effective nursing care.

7.3 Standards of Practice for the Registered and 
Licensed Practical Nurse

7.3.1 Standards related to the Registered Nurse.
7.3.1.1 The Registered Nurse shall conduct 

and document nursing assessments of the health status of 
individuals and groups by:
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7.3.1.1.1 Collecting objective and 
subjective data from observations, examinations, interviews 
and written records in an accurate and timely manner. The 
data include but are not limited to:

7.3.1.1.1.1 Biophysical and 
emotional status and observed changes;

7.3.1.1.1.2 Growth and 
development;

7.3.1.1.1.3 Ethno-cultural, spiritual, 
socio-economic and ecological background;

7.3.1.1.1.4 Family health history;
7.3.1.1.1.5 Information collected by 

other health team members;
7.3.1.1.1.6 Ability to perform 

activities of daily living;
7.3.1.1.1.7 Consideration of client’s 

health goals;
7.3.1.1.1.8 Client knowledge and 

perception about health status and potential, or maintaining 
health status;

7.3.1.1.1.9 Available and accessible 
human and material resources;

7.3.1.1.1.10 Patterns of coping and 
interaction.

7.3.1.1.2 Sorting, selecting, reporting, 
and recording the data.

7.3.1.1.3 Analyzing data.
7.3.1.1.4 Validating, refining and 

modifying the data by using available resources including 
interactions with the client, family, significant others, and 
health team members.

7.3.1.1.5 Evaluating data.
7.3.1.2 Registered Nurses shall establish and 

document nursing diagnoses that serve as the basis for the 
strategy of care.

7.3.1.3 Registered Nurses shall develop 
strategies of care based on assessment and nursing 
diagnoses. This includes, but is not limited to:

7.3.1.3.1 Prescribing nursing 
intervention(s) based on the nursing diagnosis.

7.3.1.3.2 Initiating nursing 
interventions through

7.3.1.3.2.1 Giving care.
7.3.1.3.2.2 Assisting with care.
7.3.1.3.2.3 Delegating care.

7.3.1.3.3Identifying to the identification 
of priorities in the strategies of care.

7.3.1.3.4 Setting realistic and 
measurable goals for implementation.

7.3.1.3.5 Identifying measures to 
maintain comfort, to support human functions and responses, 
to maintain an environment conducive to well being, and to 
provide health teaching and counseling.

7.3.1.3.6 Supervising the caregiver to 
whom care is delegated.

7.3.1.4 Registered Nurses shall participate in 
the implementation of the strategy of care by:

7.3.1.4.1 Providing care for clients 
whose conditions are stabilized or predictable.

7.3.1.4.2 Providing care for clients 
whose conditions are critical and/or fluctuating, under the 
direction and supervision of a recognized authority.

7.3.1.4.3 Providing an environment 
conducive to safety and health.

7.3.1.4.4 Documenting nursing 
interventions and client outcomes.

7.3.1.4.5 Communicating nursing 
interventions and client outcomes to health team members.

7.3.1.5 Registered Nurses shall evaluate 
outcomes, which shall include the client, family, significant 
others and health team members.

7.3.1.5.1 Evaluation data shall be 
appropriately documented; and

7.3.1.5.1.1 Be communicated to the 
client, family, significant others and appropriate members of 
the health care team; and

7.3.1.5.1.2 Used as a basis for 
modifying outcomes by reassessing client health status, 
modifying nursing diagnoses, revising strategies of care or 
prescribing changes in nursing interventions.

7.4 Standards of Practice for the Licensed Practical 
Nurse

7.4.1 Standards related to the Licensed Practical 
Nurse’s contributions to the nursing process.

7.4.1.1 The Licensed Practical Nurse shall 
contribute to and document nursing assessments of the 
health status of individuals and groups by:

7.4.1.1.1 Sorting, selecting, reporting, 
and recording the data.

7.4.1.1.2 Collecting objective and 
subjective data from observations, examinations, interview 
and written records in an accurate and timely manner. The 
data include but are not limited to:

7.4.1.1.2.1 Biophysical and 
emotional status and observed changes;

7.4.1.1.2.2 Growth and 
development;

7.4.1.1.2.3 Ethno-cultural, spiritual, 
socio-economic, and ecological background;

7.4.1.1.2.4 Family health history;
7.4.1.1.2.5 Information collected by 

other health team members;
7.4.1.1.2.6 Ability to perform 

activities of daily living;
7.4.1.1.2.7 Consideration of client’s 

health goals;
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7.4.1.2 Licensed Practical Nurses shall 
participate in establishing and documenting nursing 
diagnoses that serve as the basis for the strategy of care.

7.4.1.3 Licensed Practical Nurses shall 
participate in developing strategies of care based on 
assessment and nursing diagnoses.

7.4.1.3.1 Contributing to setting 
realistic and measurable goals for implementation.

7.4.1.3.2 Participating in identifying 
measures to maintain comfort, to support human functions 
and responses to maintain an environment conducive to 
well-being, and to provide health teaching and counseling.

7.4.1.3.3 Contributing to setting client 
priorities.

7.4.1.4 Licensed Practical Nurses shall 
participate in the implementation of the strategy of care by:

7.4.1.4.1 Providing care for clients 
whose conditions are stabilized or predictable.

7.4.1.4.2 Providing care for clients 
whose conditions are critical and/or fluctuating, under the 
directions and supervision of a recognized licensed authority.

7.4.1.4.3 Providing an environment 
conducive to safety and health.

7.4.1.4.4 Documenting nursing 
interventions and client outcomes.

7.4.1.4.5 Communicating nursing 
interventions and client outcomes to health team members.

7.4.1.5 Licensed Practical Nurses shall 
contribute to evaluating outcomes by appropriately 
documenting and communicating to the client, family, 
significant others and the health care team members.

7.5 Standards Related to the Registered and Licensed 
Practical Nurse’s Competencies and Responsibilities.

7.5.1 Registered and Licensed Practical Nurses 
shall:

7.5.1.1 Have knowledge of the statutes and 
regulations governing nursing and function within the legal 
boundaries of professional and practical nursing practice.

7.5.1.2 Accept responsibility for competent 
nursing practice.

7.5.1.3 Function as a member of the health 
team:

7.5.1.3.1 By collaborating with other 
members of the health team to provide optimum care, or

7.5.1.3.2 As an LPN under the 
direction and supervision of a recognized licensed authority.

7.5.1.4 Consult with nurses, other health team 
members and community agencies for continuity of care and 
seek guidance as necessary.

7.5.1.5 Obtain instruction and supervision as 
necessary when implementing nursing techniques.

7.5.1.6 Contribute to the formulation, 
interpreting, implementing and evaluating of the objectives 

and policies related to professional and practical nursing 
practice within the employment setting.

7.5.1.7 Participate in evaluating nurses 
through peer review.

7.5.1.8 Report unsafe nursing practice to the 
Board and unsafe practice conditions to recognized legal 
authorities.

7.5.1.9 Practice without discrimination as to 
age, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, national origin, or 
disability.

7.5.1.10 Respect the dignity and rights of 
clients regardless of social or economic status, personal 
attributes or nature of health problems.

7.5.1.11 Respect the client’s right to 
privacy by protecting confidentiality unless obligated by law 
to disclose the information.

7.5.1.12 Respect the property of clients, 
their families and significant others. In addition to the 
proceeding, the Registered Nurse shall:

7.5.1.13 Delegate to others only those 
nursing interventions that those persons are prepared or 
qualified to perform.

7.5.1.14 Supervise others to whom 
nursing interventions are delegated.

7.5.1.15 Retain professional 
accountability for care when delegating.

7.5.1.16 Teach safe practice to other 
health care workers as appropriate.

7.6 Dispensing
7.6.1 Definitions

7.6.1.1 “Dispensing” means providing 
medication according to an order of a practitioner duly 
licensed to prescribe medication. The term shall include both 
the repackaging and labeling of medication from bulk to 
individual doses. 

7.6.1.2 “Prescription Label” - a label 
affixed to every prescription or drug order which contains 
the following information at a minimum.

7.6.1.2.1 A unique number for that 
specific drug order.

7.6.1.2.2 The date the drug was 
dispensed.

7.6.1.2.3 The patient’s full name.
7.6.1.2.4 The brand or established 

name and manufacturer and the strength of the drug to the 
extent it can be measured.

7.6.1.2.5 The practitioner’s directions 
as found on the prescription order.

7.6.1.2.6 The practitioner’s name.
7.6.1.2.7 The initials of the dispensing 

nurse.
7.6.1.2.8 The name and address of the 

facility or practitioner from which the drug is dispensed.
7.6.1.2.9 Expiration date.
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7.6.1.3 “Standing order” - An order written 
by the practitioner which authorizes a designated registered 
nurse or nurses to dispense prescription drugs to his/her 
patients(s) according to the standards listed below.

7.6.2 Authority to Dispense
7.6.2.1 Registered Nurses may assume the 

responsibility of dispensing as defined in the Nurse Practice 
Act.

7.6.2.2 Licensed Practice Nurses may assume 
the responsibility of dispensing as authorized by the Nurse 
Practice Act and defined in these Regulations, Section 
7.6.2.2.1., 7.6.2.2.2, and 7.6.2.2.3

7.6.2.2.1 Licensed Practical Nurses 
may provide to a patient pre-packaged medications in 
accordance with the order of a practitioner duly licensed to 
prescribe medication where such medications have been pre-
packaged by a person with lawful authority to dispense 
drugs.

7.6.2.2.2 Licensed Practical Nurses, 
per written order of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, advanced 
practice nurse, or other practitioner duly licensed to 
prescribe medication, may add the name of the client to a 
preprinted label on a pre-packaged medication.

7.6.2.2.3 Licensed Practical Nurses in 
a licensed methadone clinic may apply a preprinted label to a 
pre-packaged medication.

7.6.3 Standards for Dispensing
7.6.3.1 All licensed nurses engaged in 

dispensing shall adhere to these standards.
7.6.3.1.1 The medication must be 

prepackaged by a pharmaceutical company or prepared by a 
registered pharmacist.

7.6.3.1.2 The nurse shall be 
responsible for proper drug storage of the medication prior to 
dispensing.

7.6.3.1.3 The practitioner who 
originated the prescription or drug order must be on the 
premises or he/she or their designated coverage shall be 
available by telephone during the act of dispensing.

7.6.3.1.4 Once a drug has been 
dispensed it shall not be returned for reuse by another or the 
same patient in an institutional setting.

7.6.3.1.5 The nurse may not 
delegate any part of the dispensing function to any other 
individual who is not licensed to dispense.

7.6.3.1.6 The dispensing nurse 
must assure compliance to the state generic substitution laws 
when selecting the product to be dispensed.

7.6.3.1.7 The nurse-dispensed 
prescription may not be refillable; it requires the authority of 
the prescriber with each dispensing.

7.6.3.1.8 A usage review process 
must be established for the medicines dispensed to assure 
proper patient usage.

7.6.3.1.9 All dispensed drugs 
must be labeled as defined above and dispensed in proper 
safety closure containers that meet the standards established 
by the United States Pharmacopoeia for stability.

7.6.3.1.10 Record keeping must 
include the maintenance of the original written prescription 
of drug order for at least three years, allow retrospective 
review of accountability, and provide an audit trail. All 
dispensing records must be maintained on site, and available 
for inspection by authorized agents of the Board of Health, 
Pharmacy, and Nursing.

7.6.3.1.11 The dispensing nurse 
shall assume the responsibility of patient counseling of drug 
effects, side-effects, desired outcome, precautions, proper 
storage, unique dosing criteria, drug interactions, and other 
pertinent data, and record evidence of patient education.

7.6.3.1.12 Conformance to 
paragraphs 6 through 11 are not necessary if the original 
prescription was dispensed by a pharmacist for that specific 
patient.

7.7 Delegation
7.7.1 Definitions

7.7.1.1 “Accountability” - The state of being 
accountable, answerable, or legally liable for actions and 
decisions, including supervision.

7.7.1.2 “Delegation” - Entrusting the 
performance of selected nursing duties to individuals 
qualified, competent and legally able to perform such duties 
while retaining the accountability for such act.

7.7.1.3 “Supervision” - The guidance by a 
registered nurse (RN) for the accomplishment of a function 
or activity. The guidance consists of the activities included in 
monitoring as well as establishing the initial direction, 
delegating, setting expectations, directing activities and 
courses of action, critical watching, overseeing, evaluating, 
and changing a course of action.

7.7.1.4 “Unlicensed Assistive Personnel” - 
Individuals not licensed to perform nursing tasks that are 
employed to assist in the delivery of client care. The term 
ìunlicensed assistive personnelî does not include members of 
the client’s immediate family, guardians, or friends; these 
individuals may perform incidental care of the sick in private 
homes without specific authority from a licensed nurse (as 
established in 24 Del.C. §1921(a)(4) of the Nurse Practice 
Act).

7.7.2 Conditions
7.7.2.1 The following conditions are relevant 

to delegation:
7.7.2.1.1 Only RNs may delegate.
7.7.2.1.2 The RN must be 

knowledgeable regarding the unlicensed assistive 
personnel’s education and training and have opportunity to 
periodically verify the individual’s ability to perform the 
specific tasks.
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7.7.2.1.3 The RN maintains 
accountability for determining the appropriateness of all 
delegated nursing duties and responsibility for the delivery 
of safe and competent care. Unlicensed assistive personnel 
may not reassign a delegated act.

7.7.3 Criteria
7.7.3.1 The RN may delegate only tasks that 

are within the scope of sound professional nursing judgment 
to delegate.

7.7.3.2 Determination of appropriate factors 
include, but are not limited to:

7.7.3.2.1 stability of the client’s 
condition

7.7.3.2.2 educational background, 
skill level, or preparation of the individual

7.7.3.2.3 nature of the nursing act that 
meets the following:

7.7.3.2.3.1 task is performed 
frequently in the daily care of a client 

7.7.3.2.3.2 task is performed 
according to an established sequence of steps

7.7.3.2.3.3 task may be performed 
with a predictable outcome

7.7.3.2.3.4 task does not involve 
ongoing assessment, interpretation or decision making that 
cannot be logically separated from the task itself.

7.7.3.3 The RN must be readily available in 
person or by telecommunication.

7.7.4 Exclusions
7.7.4.1 The following activities require 

nursing knowledge, judgment, and skill and may not be 
delegated by the RN to an unlicensed assistive person. These 
exclusions do not apply to Advanced Practice Nurses.

7.7.4.2 Physical, psychological, and social 
assessment which requires professional nursing judgment, 
intervention, referral, or follow-up;

7.7.4.3 Development of nursing diagnosis 
and care goals;

7.7.4.4 Formulation of the plan of nursing 
care and evaluation of the effectiveness of the nursing care 
provided;

7.7.4.5 Specific tasks involved in the 
implementation of the plan of care which require nursing 
judgment, skill, or intervention, that include, but are not 
limited to: performance of sterile invasive procedures 
involving a wound or anatomical site; nasogastric, newly 
established gastrostomy and jejunostomy tube feeding; 
nasogastric, jejunostomy and gastrostomy tube insertion or 
removal; suprapubic catheter insertion and removal; 
(phlebotomy is not considered a sterile, invasive procedure);

7.7.4.6 Administration of medications, 
including prescription topical medications; and

7.7.4.7 Receiving or transmitting verbal 
orders.

1 DE Reg. 1888 (6/1/98)
6 DE Reg. 1195 (3/1/03)

7.8 Intravascular Therapy By Licensed Nurses
Intravascular therapy encompasses several 

components, some of which require primarily skill 
proficiency with a minimum of critical judgement.   Other 
aspects of intravascular therapy require skill proficiency and 
more importantly a high degree of knowledge, critical 
judgement and decision making to perform the function 
safely.

7.8.1 Definition Of Terms 
7.8.1.1 Vascular system - is composed of all 

peripheral and central veins and arteries.
7.8.1.2 Intravascular therapy (IV) - is the 

broad term including the administration of fluids and 
medications, blood and blood derivatives into an individual's 
vascular system.

7.8.1.3 Intravenous fluids - include 
solutions, vitamins, nutrient preparations, and commercial 
blood fractions designed to be administered into an 
individual's vascular system. Whole blood and blood 
components, which are administered in the same manner, are 
considered intravenous fluids in this definition.

7.8.1.4 Intravenous and intra-arterial 
medications - are drugs administered into an individual's 
vascular system by any one of the following methods:

7.8.1.4.1 By way of infusion diluted in 
solution or suspended in fluid and administered over a 
specified time at a specified rate.

7.8.1.4.2 Through an established intra-
vascular needle or catheter (referred to as "IV push").

7.8.1.4.3 By venipuncture carried out 
for the sole purpose of administering the medication. This 
method is referred to as direct medication injection (direct 
IV push).

7.8.1.5 Vascular access - Utilization of an 
established device or the introduction of a needle or catheter 
into an individual’s vascular system.

7.8.1.6 Venipuncture - Introduction of a 
needle or catheter into an individual's peripheral vein for the 
purpose(s) of withdrawing blood or establishing an infusion 
or administering medications.

7.8.1.7 Intravascular therapy maintenance - 
Monitoring of the therapy for changes in patient's condition, 
appropriate flow rate, equipment function, the hanging of 
additional fluid containers and the implementation of site 
care.

7.8.1.8 Termination of intravascular therapy - 
Cessation of the therapy either by withdrawing a needle or 
catheter from an individual’s vascular system or by 
discontinuing the infusion and maintaining the device as a 
reservoir.
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7.8.1.9 Supervision - a registered nurse, 
licensed physician or dentist is physically present in the unit 
where the patient is being provided care, or within 
immediate electronic/telephone contact.

7.8.2 Conditions Of Performing Intravascular 
Therapy Procedures By Licensed Nurses

7.8.2.1 Intravascular therapy must be 
authorized by a written order from a state licensed and 
authorized prescriber.

7.8.2.2 The performance of any procedures of 
intravascular therapy by a licensed practical nurse will be 
done under the supervision of a registered nurse, APN, or 
person licensed to practice medicine, surgery, or podiatry.

7.8.2.3 Admixed intravascular solutions 
documented and instituted by one licensed nurse and 
subsequently interrupted may be re-instituted by another 
licensed nurse after confirmation with the state licensed and 
authorized prescriber's order.

7.8.2.4 Admixed intravascular solutions 
documented and prepared by one licensed nurse may be 
initiated or continued by another licensed nurse after 
confirmation with the state licensed and authorized 
prescriber's order.

7.8.2.5 Intradermal or topical anesthetics may 
be used by the RN or LPN when initiating vascular access 
therapy in various situations or settings, provided there is an 
authorized prescriber’s order and organizational policy/
procedure to support use of these medications. All RNs and 
LPNs must have documented educational preparation 
according to the employing agency’s policies and 
procedures. Documented evidence must include both 
theoretical instruction including anatomy and physiology, 
pharmacology, nursing management and education of 
patients and demonstration of clinical proficiency in 
performance of the task. 

7.8.3 Functional Scope Of Responsibility For 
Intravascular Therapy Procedures

7.8.3.1 Registered Nurses bear the 
responsibility and accountability for their nursing practice 
under the license granted by the Board of Nursing and are 
permitted to perform the following:

7.8.3.1.1 Assessment of the patient 
and the prescribed intravascular therapy before, during and 
after the therapy is carried out.

7.8.3.1.2 Acceptance and 
confirmation of intravascular therapy order(s).

7.8.3.1.3 Calculation of medication 
dosage and infusion rate for intravascular therapy 
administration.

7.8.3.1.4 Confirmation of medication 
dosage and infusion rate for intravascular therapy 
administration.

7.8.3.1.5 Addition of prescribed 
medications in intravascular solution, labeling and 
documenting appropriately.

7.8.3.1.6 Start initial solution or add 
replacement fluids to an existing infusion as prescribed.

7.8.3.1.7 Vascular access for 
establishing an infusion or administering medications.

7.8.3.1.8 Administration of 
medications by "IV push".

7.8.3.1.9 Intravascular therapy 
maintenance.

7.8.3.1.10 Termination of intravascular 
therapy, including the removal of subclavian and PICC lines.

7.8.3.1.11 Access the vascular system 
for the purpose of the withdrawal of blood and to monitor the 
patient's condition before, during, and after the withdrawal 
of blood.

7.8.3.2 Licensed Practical Nurses bear the 
responsibility and accountability for their nursing practice 
under the license granted by the Board of Nursing and are 
permitted to perform the following for peripheral lines:

7.8.3.2.1 Acceptance of intravascular 
therapy order(s).

7.8.3.2.2 Calculation of medication 
dosage and infusion rate of intravascular medications 
prescribed. This does not include titration.

7.8.3.2.3 Confirmation of medication 
dosage and infusion rate for intravascular therapy 
administration.

7.8.3.2.4 Addition of mediations in 
intravascular solutions, label and document appropriately.

7.8.3.2.5 Venipuncture with needle 
device to establish access to the peripheral vascular system.

7.8.3.2.6 Start initial solution or add 
replacement fluids to an existing infusion as prescribed.

7.8.3.2.7 Intravascular therapy 
maintenance including the flushing of peripheral lines with 
Heparin and/or saline solution.

7.8.3.2.8 Termination of peripheral 
intravascular therapy.

7.8.3.2.9 Performance of venipuncture 
for the purpose of the withdrawal of blood and to monitor the 
patient's condition before, during and after the withdrawal of 
blood.

7.8.3.3 The Licensed Practical Nurse is 
permitted to perform the following procedures for central 
lines:

7.8.3.3.1 Acceptance of intravascular 
therapy order(s).

7.8.3.3.2 Calculation of medication 
dosage and infusion rate of intravascular medications 
prescribed. This does not include titration.
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7.8.3.3.3 Confirmation of medication 
dosage and infusion rate for intravascular therapy 
administration.

7.8.3.3.4 Addition of medications in 
intravascular solutions, label and document appropriately.

7.8.3.3.5 Intravascular therapy 
maintenance, including the flushing of central lines with 
Heparin and/or saline solution. 

7.8.3.3.6 Dressing and tubing changes, 
including PICC lines.

7.8.3.3.7 Addition of replacement 
fluids to an existing infusion as prescribed.

7.8.4 Special Intravascular Procedures By 
Registered Nurses

7.8.4.1 Chemotherapy - Only intravascular 
routes are addressed in these rules. Review of the Oncology 
Nursing Society’s current guidelines is recommended before 
the administration of anti-neoplastic agents. 

7.8.4.1.1 Definition of Terms
7.8.4.1.1.1 Cancer Chemotherapy

- is the broad term including the administration of anti-
neoplastic agents into an individual's vascular system.

7.8.4.1.1.2 Anti-neoplastic agents
- are those drugs which are administered with the intent to 
control neoplastic cell growth.

7.8.4.1.2 The Registered Nurse who 
administers cancer chemotherapy by the intravascular route 
must have documented educational preparation according to 
the employing agency's policies and procedures.

7.8.4.1.3 The Registered Nurse must 
have documented evidence of knowledge and skill in the 
following:

Pharmacology of anti-neoplastic agents
Principles of drug handling and 

preparation
Principles of administration
Vascular access
Side effects of chemotherapy on the nurse, 

patient, and family
7.8.4.2 Central Venous Access Via Peripheral 

Veins
7.8.4.2.1 Definition of Terms

7.8.4.2.1.1 Central venous access - 
is that entry into an individual's vascular system via the 
insertion of a catheter into a peripheral vein threaded through 
to the superior vena cava with placement confirmed by x-
ray.

7.8.4.2.2 The Registered Nurse who 
performs central venous access via peripheral veins must 
have documented educational preparation according to the 
employing agency's policies and procedures.

7.8.4.2.3 Documented evidence must 
include, but is not limited to, evidence of both theoretical 

instruction and clinical proficiency in performance of the 
task.

7.8.4.2.3.1 Theoretical instruction 
must include, but is not limited to, anatomy and physiology, 
pharmacology, nursing management, and education of 
patients as they relate to central venous access via peripheral 
veins.

7.8.4.2.3.2 A preceptor must 
supervise the learning experience and must document the 
Registered Nurse's competency in the performance of the 
procedure.

7.8.4.3 Pain Management Via Epidural 
Catheter

7.8.4.3.1 It is within the scope of 
practice of a Registered Nurse to instill analgesics (opiates)/
low dose anesthetics at analgesic levels into an existing 
catheter under the following conditions/exceptions:

7.8.4.3.1.1 The epidural catheter is 
in place.

7.8.4.3.1.2 The position of the 
epidural catheter was verified as correct by a physician at the 
time of insertion.

7.8.4.3.1.3 Bolus doses and/or 
continuous infusions, as pre-mixed by anesthesiologists, 
C.R.N.A.s, or pharmacists, of epidural analgesics/low does 
anesthetics at analgesic levels can be administered by the 
Registered Nurse only after the initial dose has been 
administered. Changes in medication and/or dosage of the 
same medication are not defined as the initial dose.

7.8.4.3.1.4 Only analgesics 
(opiates)/low dose anesthetics at analgesic levels will be 
administered via this route for acute and chronic pain 
management.

7.8.4.3.1.5 The Registered Nurse 
must complete a course that includes, but is not limited to, a) 
anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, nursing management, 
assessment, and education of patients as they relate to 
epidural administration of opiates/low dose anesthetics at 
analgesic levels; b) a credentialed preceptor must supervise 
the learning experience and must document the Registered 
Nurse's clinical competency in the performance of the 
procedure.

7.8.4.3.1.6 The Registered Nurse 
may not insert or remove epidural catheters.

7.9 Exclusions of Health Care Acts pursuant to 24 Del.C.
1921(a) (19) 

7.9.1 Health care acts that shall not be delegated 
by a competent individual who does not reside in a medical 
facility or a facility regulated pursuant to Chapter 11 of Title 
16 include the following:

7.9.1.1 original intravenous insertion
7.9.1.2 original suprapubic catheter insertion 

or removal
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7.9.1.3 newly established gastrostomy or 
jejunostomy tube feeding

7.9.1.4 original nasogastric and gastrostomy 
tube insertion or removal

7.9.1.5 any jejunostomy tube insertion or 
removal

7.9.1.6 sterile invasive procedures not 
normally taught to patients and caregivers by  licensed health 
care professionals

8 DE Reg. 864 (12/01/04)

8.0 Rules and Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Nursing as an Advanced Practice Nurse in the State of 
Delaware

8.1 Authority
These rules and regulations are adopted by the 

Delaware Board of Nursing under the authority of the 
Delaware Nurse Practice Act, 24 Del.C. §§1902(d), 1906(1), 
1906(7).

8.2 Purpose
8.2.1 The general purpose of these rules and 

regulations is to assist in protecting and safeguarding the 
public by regulating the practice of the Advanced Practice 
Nurse.

8.3 Scope 
8.3.1 These rules and regulations govern the 

educational and experience requirements and standards of 
practice for the Advanced Practice Nurse. Prescribing 
medications and treatments independently is pursuant to the 
Rules and Regulations promulgated by the Joint Practice 
Committee as defined in 24 Del.C. §1906(20). The 
Advanced Practice Nurse is responsible and accountable for 
her or his practice. Nothing herein is deemed to limit the 
scope of practice or prohibit a Registered Nurse from 
engaging in those activities that constitute the practice of 
professional nursing and/or professional nursing in a 
specialty area.

8.4 Definitions
“Advanced Practice Nurse” as defined in 24

Del.C. §1902(d)(1). Such a nurse will be given the title 
Advanced Practice Nurse by state licensure, and may use the 
title Advanced Practice Nurse within his/her specific 
specialty area.

“Audit” The verification of existence of a 
collaborative agreement for a minimum of 10% of the total 
number of licenses issued during a specified time period.

“Board” The Delaware Board of Nursing
“Certified Nurse Midwife (C.N.M.)” A 

Registered Nurse who is a provider for normal maternity, 
newborn and well-woman gynecological care. The CNM 
designation is received after completing an accredited post-
basic nursing program in midwifery at schools of medicine, 
nursing or public health, and passing a certification 
examination administered by the ACNM Certification 

Council, Inc. or other nationally recognized, Board of 
Nursing approved certifying organization.

“Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist 
(C.R.N.A.)” A Registered Nurse who has graduated from a 
nurse anesthesia educational program accredited by the 
American Association of Nurse Anesthetists’ Council on 
Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational programs, 
and who is certified by the American Association of Nurse 
Anesthetists’ Council on Certification of Nurse Anesthetists 
or other nationally recognized, Board of Nursing approved 
certifying organization.

“Clinical Nurse Specialist (C.N.S.)” A Registered 
Nurse with advanced nursing educational preparation who 
functions in primary, secondary, and tertiary settings with 
individuals, families, groups, or communities. The CNS 
designation is received after graduation from a Master’s 
degree program in a clinical nurse specialty or post Master’s 
certificate, such as gerontology, maternal-child, pediatrics, 
psych/mental health, etc. The CNS must have national 
certification in the area of specialization at the advanced 
level if such a certification exists or as specified in 8.9.4.1 of 
these Rules and Regulations. The certifying agency must 
meet the established criteria approved by the Delaware 
Board of Nursing.

“Clinical Nursing Specialty” a delimited focus of 
advanced nursing practice. Specialty areas can be identified 
in terms of population, setting, disease/ pathology, type of 
care or type of problem. Nursing administration does not 
qualify as a clinical nursing specialty.

3 DE Reg. 1373 (4/1/00)
“Collaborative Agreement” Written verification 

of health care facility approved clinical privileges; or health 
care facility approved job description; or a written document 
that outlines the process for consultation and referral 
between an Advanced Practice Nurse and a licensed 
physician, dentist, podiatrist, or licensed Delaware health 
care delivery system.

“Guidelines/ Protocols” Suggested pathways to be 
followed by an Advanced Practice Nurse for managing a 
particular medical problem. These guidelines/ protocols may 
be developed collaboratively by an Advanced Practice Nurse 
and a licensed physician, dentist or a podiatrist, or licensed 
Delaware health care delivery system.

“National Certification” That credential earned by 
a nurse who has met requirements of a Board approved 
certifying agency.

The agencies so approved include but are not 
limited to:

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners
American Nurses Credentialing Center
American Association of Nurse Anesthetists 

Council on Certification of Nurse Anesthetists
American Association of Nurse Anesthetists 

Council on Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists
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National Certification Corporation for the 
Obstetric, Gynecologic and Neonatal Nursing Specialties

National Certification Board of Pediatric Nurse 
Practitioners and Nurses.

ACNM Certification Council, Inc.
“Nurse Practitioner (N.P.)” A Registered Nurse 

with advanced nursing educational preparation who is a 
provider of primary healthcare in a variety of settings with a 
focus on a specific area of practice. The NP designation is 
received after graduation from a Master’s program or from 
an accredited post-basic NP certificate program of at least 
one academic year in length in a nurse practitioner specialty 
such as acute care, adult, family, geriatric, pediatric, or 
women’s health, etc. The NP must have national certification 
in the area of specialization at the advanced level by a 
certifying agency which meets the established criteria 
approved by the Delaware Board of Nursing.

“Post Basic Program”
A combined didactic and clinical/preceptored 

program of at least one academic year of full time study in 
the area of advanced nursing practice with a minimum of 
400 clinical/preceptored hours.

The program must be one offered and 
administered by an approved health agency and/or institution 
of higher learning,

Post basic means a program taken after 
licensure is achieved.

“Scope of Specialized Practice” That area of 
practice in which an Advanced Practice Nurse has a Master’s 
degree or a post-basic program certificate in a clinical 
nursing specialty with national certification.

“Supervision” Direction given by a licensed 
physician or Advanced Practice Nurse to an Advanced 
Practice Nurse practicing pursuant to a temporary permit. 
The supervising physician or Advanced Practice Nurse must 
be periodically available at the site where care is provided, 
or available for immediate guidance.

8.5 Grandfathering Period
8.5.1 Any person holding a certificate of state 

licensure as an Advanced Practice Nurse that is valid on July 
8, 1994 shall be eligible for renewal of such licensure under 
the conditions and standards prescribed herein for renewal of 
licensure.

8.6 Standards for the Advanced Practice Nurse
8.6.1 Advanced Practice Nurses view clients 

and their health concerns from an integrated multi-system 
perspective.

8.6.2 Standards provide the practitioner with a 
framework within which to operate and with the means to 
evaluate his/her practice. In meeting the standards of 
practice of nursing in the advanced role, each practitioner, 
including but not limited to those listed in 8.6.2 of these 
Rules and Regulations:

8.6.2.1 Performs comprehensive assessments 
using appropriate physical and psychosocial parameters;

8.6.2.2 Develops comprehensive nursing care 
plans based on current theories and advanced clinical 
knowledge and expertise;

8.6.2.3 Initiates and applies clinical 
treatments based on expert knowledge and technical 
competency to client populations with problems ranging 
from health promotion to complex illness and for whom the 
Advanced Practice Nurse assumes primary care 
responsibilities. These treatments include, but are not limited 
to psychotherapy, administration of anesthesia, and vaginal 
deliveries;

8.6.2.4 Functions under established 
guidelines/protocols and/ or accepted standards of care;

8.6.2.5 Uses the results of scientifically sound 
empirical research as a basis for nursing practice decisions;

8.6.2.6 Uses appropriate teaching/learning 
strategies to diagnose learning impediments;

8.6.2.7 Evaluates the quality of individual 
client care in accordance with quality assurance and other 
standards;

8.6.2.8 Reviews and revises guidelines/
protocols, as necessary;

8.6.2.9 Maintains an accurate written account 
of the progress of clients for whom primary care 
responsibilities are assumed;

8.6.2.10 Collaborates with members of a 
multi-disciplinary team toward the accomplishment of 
mutually established goals;

8.6.2.11 Pursues strategies to enhance 
access to and use of adequate health care services;

8.6.2.12 Maintains optimal advanced 
practice based on a continual process of review and 
evaluation of scientific theory, research findings and current 
practice;

8.6.2.13 Performs consultative services 
for clients referred by other members of the multi-
disciplinary team; and

8.6.2.14 Establishes a collaborative 
agreement with a licensed physician, dentist, podiatrist, or 
licensed Delaware health care delivery system to facilitate 
consultation and/or referral as appropriate in the delivery of 
health care to clients.

8.6.3 In addition to these standards, each nurse 
certified in an area of specialization and recognized by the 
Board to practice as an Advanced Practice Nurse is 
responsible for practice at the level and scope defined for 
that specialty certification by the agency which certified the 
nurse.

8.7 Generic Functions of the Advanced Practice Nurse 
Within the Specialized Scope of Practice include but are not 
limited to:

8.7.1 Eliciting detailed health history(s)
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8.7.2 Defining nursing problem(s)
8.7.3 Performing physical examination(s)
8.7.4 Collecting and performing laboratory tests
8.7.5 Interpreting laboratory data
8.7.6 Initiating requests for essential laboratory 

procedures
8.7.7 Initiating requests for essential x-rays 
8.7.8 Screening patients to identify abnormal 

problems
8.7.9 Initiating referrals to appropriate resources 

and services as necessary
8.7.10 Initiating or modifying treatment and 

medications within established guidelines
8.7.11 Assessing and reporting changes in the 

health of individuals, families and communities
8.7.12 Providing health education through 

teaching and counseling
8.7.13 Planning and/or instituting health care 

programs in the community with other health care 
professionals and the public

8.7.14 Delegating tasks appropriately
8.7.15 Prescribing medications and treatments 

independently pursuant to Rules and Regulations 
promulgated by the Joint Practice Committee as defined in 
24 Del.C. §1906(20).

8.7.16 Inserting and removing epidural catheters 
by Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists

8.7.17 Removing epidural catheters by Nurse 
Practitioners, Clinical Nurse Specialists and Certified Nurse 
Midwives after specialized training in collaboration with the 
facility department of anesthesiology, including population 
specific advanced life support.

8.8 Criteria for Approval of Certification Agencies
8.8.1 A national certifying body which meets 

the following criteria shall be recognized by the Board to 
satisfy 24 Del.C. §1902(d)(1).

8.8.2 The national certifying body:
8.8.2.1 Is national in the scope of its 

credentialing.
8.8.2.2 Has no requirement for an applicant to 

be a member of any organization.
8.8.2.3 Has educational requirements which 

are consistent with the requirements of these rules.
8.8.2.4 Has an application process and 

credential review which includes documentation that the 
applicant’s education is in the advanced nursing practice 
category being certified, and that the applicant’s clinical 
practice is in the certification category.

8.8.2.5 Uses an examination as a basis for 
certification in the advanced nursing practice category which 
meets the following criteria:

8.8.2.5.1 The examination is based 
upon job analysis studies conducted using standard 
methodologies acceptable to the testing community;

8.8.2.5.2 The examination represents 
the knowledge, skills and abilities essential for the delivery 
of safe and effective advanced nursing care to the clients;

8.8.2.5.3 The examination content and 
its distribution are specified in a test plan (blueprint), based 
on the job analysis study, that is available to examinees;

8.8.2.5.4 Examination items are 
reviewed for content validity, cultural sensitivity and correct 
scoring using an established mechanism, both before use and 
periodically;

8.8.2.5.5 Examinations are evaluated 
for psychometric performance;

8.8.2.5.6 The passing standard is 
established using acceptable psychometric methods, and is 
reevaluated periodically; and

8.8.2.5.7 Examination security is 
maintained through established procedures

8.8.2.6 Issues certification based upon 
passing the examination and meeting all other certification 
requirements.

8.8.2.7 Provides for periodic recertification 
which includes review of qualifications and continued 
competency.

8.8.2.8 Has mechanisms in place for 
communication to Boards of Nursing for timely verification 
of an individual’s certification status, changes in certification 
status, and changes in the certification program, including 
qualifications, test plan and scope of practice.

8.8.2.9 Has an evaluation process to provide 
quality assurance in its certification program.

8.9 Application for Licensure to Practice as an 
Advanced Practice Nurse

8.9.1 Application for licensure as a Registered 
Nurse shall be made on forms supplied by the Board.

8.9.2 In addition, an application for licensure to 
practice as an Advanced Practice Nurse shall be made on 
forms supplied by the Board.

8.9.2.1 The APN applicant shall be required 
to furnish the name(s) of the licensed physician, dentist, 
podiatrist, or licensed Delaware health care delivery system 
with whom a current collaborative agreement exists.

8.9.2.2 Notification of changes in the name of 
the licensed physician, dentist, podiatrist, or licensed 
Delaware health care delivery system shall be forwarded to 
the Board office.

8.9.3 Each application shall be returned to the 
Board office together with appropriate documentation and 
non-refundable fees.

8.9.4 A Registered Nurse meeting the practice 
requirement as listed in 8.11 and all other requirements set 
forth in these Rules and Regulations may be issued a license 
as an Advanced Practice Nurse in the specific area of 
specialization in which the nurse has been nationally 
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certified at the advanced level and/or has earned a Master’s 
degree in a clinical nursing specialty.

8.9.4.1 Clinical nurse specialists, whose 
subspecialty area can be categorized under a broad scope of 
nursing practice for which a Board-approved national 
certification examination exists, are required to pass this 
certification examination to qualify for permanent licensure 
as an Advanced Practice Nurse. This would include, but not 
be limited to medical-surgical and psychiatric-mental health 
nursing. If a more specific post-graduate level certification 
examination that has Board of Nursing approval is available 
within the clinical nursing specialist’s subspecialty area at 
the time of licensure application, the applicant may 
substitute this examination for the broad-based clinical 
nursing specialist certification examination.

8.9.4.2 Faculty members teaching in nursing 
education programs are not required to be licensed as 
Advanced Practice Nurses. Those faculty members teaching 
in graduate level clinical courses may apply for licensure as 
Advanced Practice Nurses and utilize graduate level clinical 
teaching hours to fulfill the practice requirement as stated in 
8.11.2.1.

8.9.5 Renewal of licensure shall be on a date 
consistent with the current Registered Nurse renewal period. 
A renewal fee shall be paid.

8.9.6 The Board may refuse to issue, revoke, 
suspend or refuse to renew the license as an Advanced 
Practice Nurse or otherwise discipline an applicant or a 
practitioner who fails to meet the requirements for licensure 
as an Advanced Practice Nurse or as a registered nurse, or 
who commits any disciplinary offense under the Nurse 
Practice Act, 24 Del.C. Ch. 19, or the Rules and Regulations 
promulgated pursuant thereto. All decisions regarding 
independent practice and/or independent prescriptive 
authority are made by the Joint Practice Committee as 
provided in 24 Del.C. §1906(20) - (22).

8.10 Temporary Permit for Advanced Practice 
Nurse Licensure

8.10.1 A temporary permit to practice, pending 
Board approval for permanent licensure, may be issued 
provided that:

8.10.1.1 The individual applying has also 
applied for licensure to practice as a Registered Nurse in 
Delaware, or

8.10.1.2 The individual applying holds a 
current license in Delaware, and

8.10.1.3 The individual submits proof of 
graduation from a nationally accredited or Board approved 
Master’s or certificate advanced practice nursing program, 
and has passed the certification examination, or 

8.10.1.4 The individual is a graduate of a 
Master’s program in a clinical nursing specialty for which 
there is no certifying examination, and can show evidence of 

at least 1000 hours of clinical nursing practice within the 
past 24 months.

8.10.1.5 Application(s) and fee(s) are on 
file in the Board office.

8.10.2 A temporary permit to practice, under 
supervision only, may be issued at the discretion of the 
Executive Director provided that:

8.10.2.1 The individual meets the 
requirements in 8.10.1.1 or 8.10.1.2, and 8.10.1.5 and; 

8.10.2.2 The individual submits proof of 
graduation from a nationally accredited or Board approved 
Master’s or certificate advanced practice nurse program, 
and;

8.10.2.3 The individual submits proof of 
admission into the approved certifying agency’s examination 
or is seeking a temporary permit to practice under 
supervision to accrue the practice hours required to sit for the 
certifying examination or has accrued the required practice 
hours and is scheduled to take the first advanced certifying 
examination upon eligibility or is accruing the practice hours 
referred to in 8.10.2.4; or,

8.10.2.4 The individual meets 8.10.2.1 
and 8.10.2.2 hereinabove and is awaiting review by the 
certifying agency for eligibility to sit for the certifying 
examination.

8.10.3 If the certifying examination has been 
passed, the appropriate form must accompany the 
application.

8.10.4 A temporary permit may be issued:
8.10.4.1 For up to two years in three 

month periods.
8.10.4.2 At the discretion of the Executive 

Director.
8.10.5 A temporary permit will be withdrawn:

8.10.5.1 Upon failure to pass the first 
certifying examination

8.10.5.1.1 The applicant may petition 
the Board of Nursing to extend a temporary permit under 
supervision until results of the next available certification 
exam are available by furnishing the following information:

8.10.5.1.1.1 current employer 
reference,

8.10.5.1.1.2 supervision available,
8.10.5.1.1.3 job description,
8.10.5.1.1.4 letter outlining any 

extenuating circumstances,
8.10.5.1.1.5 any other information 

the Board of Nursing deems necessary.
8.10.5.2 For other reasons stipulated 

under temporary permits elsewhere in these Rules and 
Regulations.

3 DE Reg. 1373 (4/1/00)
8.10.6 A lapsed temporary permit for designation 

is equivalent to a lapsed license and the same rules apply.
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8.10.7 Failure of the certifying examination does 
not impact on the retention of the basic professional 
Registered Nurse licensure.

8.10.8 Any person practicing or holding oneself 
out as an Advanced Practice Nurse in any category without a 
Board authorized license in such category shall be 
considered an illegal practitioner and shall be subject to the 
penalties provided for violations of the Law regulating the 
Practice of Nursing in Delaware, (24 Del.C. Ch. 19).

8.10.9 Endorsement of Advanced Practice Nurse 
designation from another state is processed the same as for 
licensure by endorsement, provided that the applicant meets 
the criteria for an Advanced Practice Nurse license in 
Delaware.

8.11 Maintenance of Licensure Status: 
Reinstatement

8.11.1 To maintain licensure, the Advanced 
Practice Nurse must meet the requirements for recertification 
as established by the certifying agency.

8.11.2 The Advanced Practice Nurse must have 
practiced a minimum of 1500 hours in the past five years or 
no less than 600 hours in the past two years in the area of 
specialization in which licensure has been granted.

8.11.2.1 Faculty members teaching in 
graduate level clinical courses may count a maximum of 500 
didactic course contact hours in the past five years or 200 in 
the past two years and all hours of direct on-site clinical 
supervision of students to meet the practice requirement.

8.11.2.2 An Advanced Practice Nurse who 
does not meet the practice requirement may be issued a 
temporary permit to practice under the supervision of a 
person licensed to practice medicine, surgery, dentistry, or 
advanced practice nursing, as determined on an individual 
basis by the Board.

8.11.3 The Advanced Practice Nurse will be 
required to furnish the name(s) of the licensed physician, 
dentist, podiatrist, or licensed Delaware health care delivery 
system with whom a current collaborative agreement exists.

8.11.4 Advanced Practice Nurses who fail to 
renew their licenses by February 28, May 31, or September 
30 of the renewal period shall be considered to have lapsed 
licenses. After February 28, May 31, or September 30 of the 
current licensing period, any requests for reinstatement of a 
lapsed license shall be presented to the Board for action.

8.11.5 To reinstate licensure status as an 
Advanced Practice Nurse, the requirements for 
recertification and 1500 hours of practice in the past five 
years or no less than 600 hours in the past two years in the 
specialty area must be met or the process described in 8.11.4 
followed.

8.11.6 An application for reinstatement of 
licensure must be filed and the appropriate fee paid.

8.12 Audit of Licensees

8.12.1 The Board may select licensees for audit 
two months prior to renewal in any biennium. The Board 
shall notify the licensees that they are to be audited for 
compliance of having a collaborative agreement.

8.12.1.1 Upon receipt of such notice, the 
licensee must submit a copy of a current collaborative 
agreement(s) within three weeks of receipt of the notice.

8.12.1.2 The Board shall notify the 
licensee of the results of the audit immediately following the 
Board meeting at which the audits are reviewed.

8.12.1.3 An unsatisfactory audit shall 
result in Board action.

8.12.1.4 Failure to notify the Board of a 
change in mailing address will not absolve the licensee from 
audit requirements.

8.12.2 The Board may select licensees for audit 
throughout the biennium.

8.13 Exceptions to the Requirements to Practice
8.13.1 The requirements set forth in 8.9 shall not 

apply to a Registered Nurse who is duly enrolled as a bona 
fide student in an approved educational program for 
Advanced Practice Nurses as long as the practice is confined 
to the educational requirements of the program and is under 
the direct supervision of a qualified instructor.

8.14 Definitions
8.14.1 Collaborative Agreement - Includes 

8.14.1.1 A true collegial agreement 
between two parties where mutual goal setting, access, 
authority, and responsibility for actions belong to individual 
parties and there is a conviction to the belief that this 
collaborative agreement will continue to enhance patient 
outcomes and

8.14.1.2 A written document that outlines 
the process for consultation and referral between an 
Advanced Practice Nurse and a duly licensed Delaware 
physician, dentist, podiatrist or licensed Delaware health 
care delivery system. This document can include, but not be 
limited to, written verification of health care facility 
approved clinical privileges or a health care facility 
approved job description of the A.P.N. If the agreement is 
with a licensed Delaware health care delivery system, the 
individual will have to show that the system will supply 
appropriate medical back-up for purposes of consultation 
and referral.

8.14.2 National Certification - That credential 
earned by an Advanced Practice Nurse who has met 
requirements of a Board of Nursing approved certifying 
agency.

8.14.3 Pharmacology/Pharmacotherapeutics - 
refers to any course, program, or offering that would include, 
but not be limited to, the identification of individual and 
classes of drugs, their indications and contraindications, their 
likelihood of success, their dosages, their side-effects and 
their interactions. It also encompasses clinical judgement 
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skills and decision making. These skills may be based on 
thorough interviewing, history taking, physical assessment, 
test selection and interpretation, patho-physiology, 
epidemiology, diagnostic reasoning, differentiation of 
conditions, treatment decisions, case evaluation and non-
pharmacologic interventions.

8.14.4 Prescription Order - includes the 
prescription date, the name of the patient, the name, address, 
area of specialization and business telephone number of the 
advanced practice nurse prescriber, the name, strength, 
quantity, directions for use, and number of refills of the drug 
product or device prescribed, and must bear the name and 
prescriber ID number of the advanced practice nurse 
prescriber, and when applicable, prescriber’s D.E.A. number 
and signature. There must be lines provided to show whether 
the prescription must be dispensed as written or substitution 
is permitted.

8.15 Requirements for Initial Independent Practice/
prescriptive Authority

An APN who has not had independent 
prescriptive authority within the past two years in Delaware 
or any other jurisdiction who is applying for independent 
practice and/or independent prescriptive authority shall:

8.15.1 Be an Advanced Practice Nurse (APN) 
holding a current permanent license issued by the Board of 
Nursing (BON). If the individual does not hold national 
certification, eligibility will be determined on a case by case 
basis.

8.15.2 Have completed a post basic advanced 
practice nursing program that meets the criteria as 
established in Section 4.7 of Article 7 of the Rules and 
Regulations of the Delaware Board of Nursing with 
documentation of academic courses in advanced health 
assessment, diagnosis and management of problems within 
the clinical specialty, advanced patho-physiology and 
advanced pharmacology/ pharmacotherapeutics. In the 
absence of transcript verification of the aforementioned 
courses, applicants shall show evidence of content 
integration through course descriptions, course syllabi, or 
correspondence from school officials. If the applicant cannot 
produce the required documentation, such applicant may 
petition the Joint Practice Committee for consideration of 
documented equivalent independent prescriptive authority 
experience.

8.15.3 Submit a copy of the current collaborative 
agreement to the Joint Practice Committee (JPC). The 
collaborative agreement(s) shall include arrangements for 
consultation, referral and/or hospitalization complementary 
to the area of the nurse's independent practice.

8.15.4 Show evidence of the equivalent of at least 
thirty hours of advanced pharmacology and 
pharmacotherapeutics related continuing education within 
the two years prior to application for independent practice 
and/or independent prescriptive authority. This may be 

continuing education programs or a three credit, semester 
long graduate level course. The thirty hours may also occur 
during the generic APN program as integrated content as 
long as this can be documented to the JPC. All offerings will 
be reviewed and approved by the JPC.

8.15.5 Demonstrate how submitted continuing 
education offerings relate to pharmacology and therapeutics 
within their area of specialty. This can be done by submitting 
the program titles to show content and dates attended. If the 
JPC questions the relevance of the offerings, the applicant 
must have available program descriptions, and/ or learner 
objectives, and/or program outlines for submission to the 
JPC for their review and approval.

8.16 Requirements for Independent Practice/
prescriptive Authority by Endorsement

An APN who has had prescriptive authority in 
another jurisdiction who is applying for independent practice 
and/or independent prescriptive authority shall:

8.16.1 Show evidence of meeting 8.15.1 and 
8.15.3.

8.16.2 Show evidence of having current 
prescriptive authority in another jurisdiction.

8.16.3 Have no encumbered APN designation(s) 
in any jurisdiction.

8.16.4 Show evidence of completion of a 
minimum of ten hours of JPC approved pharmacology/
pharmacotherapeutics related continuing education within 
the area of specialization and licensure within the past two 
years.

8.17 Application
8.17.1 Names and credentials of qualified 

applicants will be forwarded to the Joint Practice Committee 
for approval and then forwarded to the Board of Medical 
Practice for review and final approval.

8.18 Prescriptive Authority
8.18.1 APNs may prescribe, administer, and 

dispense legend medications including Schedule II - V 
controlled substances, (as defined in the Controlled 
Substance Act and labeled in compliance with 24 Del.C. 
§2536(C), parenteral medications, medical therapeutics, 
devices and diagnostics.

8.18.2 APNs will be assigned a provider 
identifier number as outlined by the Division of Professional 
Regulation.

8.18.3 Controlled Substances registration will be 
as follows:

8.18.3.1 APNs must register with the 
Drug Enforcement Agency and use such DEA number for 
controlled substance prescriptions.

8.18.3.2 APNs must register biennially 
with the Office of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs in 
accordance with 16 Del.C. §4732(a).

8.18.4 APNs may request and issue professional 
samples of legend, including schedule II-V controlled 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 9, TUESDAY, MARCH 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1232
substances, and over-the-counter medications that must be 
labeled in compliance with 24 Del.C. §2536(C).

8.18.5 APNs may give verbal prescription orders.
8.19 Prescriptive Writing

8.19.1 All prescription orders will be written as 
defined by the Delaware Board of Pharmacy as defined in 
8.14.4.

8.20 Renewal
8.20.1 Maintain current APN licensure.
8.20.2 Maintain competency through a minimum 

of ten hours of JPC approved pharmacology/
pharmacotherapeutics related continuing education within 
the area of specialization and licensure per biennium. The 
pharmacology/pharmacotherapeutics content may be a 
separate course or integrated within other offerings.

8.21 Disciplinary Proceedings
8.21.1 Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1906(19)(c), the 

Joint Practice Committee is statutorily empowered, with the 
approval of the Board of Medical Practice, to grant 
independent practice and/or prescriptive authority to nurses 
who qualify for such authority. The Joint Practice 
Committee is also empowered to restrict, suspend or revoke 
such authority also with the approval of the Board of 
Medical Practice.

8.21.2 Independent practice or prescriptive 
authority may be restricted, suspended or revoked where the 
nurse has been found to have committed unprofessional 
conduct in his or her independent practice or prescriptive 
authority or if his or her mental or physical faculties have 
changed or deteriorated in such a manner as to create an 
inability to practice or prescribe with reasonable skill or 
safety to patients.

8.21.3 Unprofessional conduct, for purposes of 
restriction, suspension or revocation of independent practice 
or prescriptive authority shall include but not be limited to:

8.21.3.1 The use or attempted use of any 
false, fraudulent or forged statement or document or use of 
any fraudulent, deceitful, dishonest or immoral practice in 
connection with any acquisition or use of independent 
practice or prescriptive authority;

8.21.3.2 Conviction of a felony;
8.21.3.3 Any dishonorable or unethical 

conduct likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public;
8.21.3.4 Use, distribution or prescription 

of any drugs or medical devices other than for therapeutic or 
diagnostic purposes;

8.21.3.5 Misconduct, incompetence, or 
gross negligence in connection with independent or 
prescriptive practice;

8.21.3.6 Unjustified failure upon request 
to divulge information relevant to authorization or 
competence to independently practice or exercise 
prescriptive authority to the Executive Director of the Board 

of Nursing or to anyone designated by him or her to request 
such information.

8.21.3.7 The violation of the Nurse 
Practice Act or of an Order or Regulation of the Board of 
Nursing or the Board of Medical Practice related to 
independent practice or prescriptive authority.

8.21.3.8 Restriction, suspension, or 
revocation of independent practice or prescriptive authority 
granted by another licensing authority in any state, territory 
or federal agency.

8.21.4 Complaints concerning the use or misuse 
of independent practice or prescriptive authority received by 
the Division of Professional Regulation or the Board of 
Nursing shall be investigated in accordance with the 
provisions of Title 29, Section 8807 governing investigations 
by the Division of Professional Regulation. As soon as 
convenience permits, the Board of Nursing shall assign an 
Investigating Board Member to assist with the investigation 
of the complaint. The Investigating Board Member shall, 
whenever practical, be a member of the Joint Practice 
Committee.

8.21.5 Upon receipt of a formal complaint from 
the Office of the Attorney General seeking the revocation, 
suspension or restriction of independent practice or 
prescriptive authority, the Committee Chairperson shall 
promptly arrange for not less than a quorum of the 
Committee to convene for an evidentiary hearing concerning 
such complaint upon due notice to the licensee against whom 
the complaint has been filed. Such notice shall comply with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act (29
Del.C. Ch. 101).

8.21.6 The hearing shall be conducted in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act (29
Del.C. §101), and after the conclusion thereof, the Joint 
Practice Committee will promptly issue a written Decision 
and Order which shall be based upon the affirmative vote of 
a majority of the quorum hearing the case.

8.21.7 Any written Decision and Order of the 
Joint Practice Committee which imposes a restriction, 
suspension or revocation of independent practice or 
prescriptive authority shall not be effective prior to the 
approval of the Board of Medical Practice.

4 DE Reg. 296 (8/1/00)
5 DE Reg. 1606 (2/1/02)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Nursing is 
available at:

http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/nursing/index.shtml
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
2600 BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPISTS AND 

ATHLETIC TRAINERS
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 2604(1) (24 Del.C. §2604(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 2600

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Examining Board of Physical Therapists 
and Athletic Trainers in accordance with 24 Del.C. §2604(1) 
has proposed changes to its rules and regulations as the result 
of statutory amendments due to the enactment of  SB 292. 
The proposal amends the rules to reflect the current practice 
of athletic training.

A public hearing will be held on April 19, 2005 at 6:30 
p.m. in the second floor conference room A of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone 
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Examining 
Board of Physical Therapists and Athletic Trainers, 861 
Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 
19904.  Persons wishing to submit written comments may 
forward these to the Board at the above address.  The final 
date to receive written comments will be at the public 
hearing.

The Board will consider adopting the proposed 
amendments to its regulations at its regularly scheduled 
meeting following the public hearing.

The proposed amendments are set forth below:

1.0 Definitions
1.1 Consultation (24 Del.C. §2612)

1.1.1 Consultation in direct access. A licensed 
health practitioner who has been granted prescriptive 
authority must be consulted if a patient is still receiving 
physical therapy after 30 calendar days have lapsed from the 
date of the initial assessment.  This consultation must be 
documented and could take place at any time during the 
initial thirty day period.  The consultation can be made by 
telephone, fax, in writing, or in person.  There is nothing in 
these rules and regulations or in the Physical Therapy Law 
that limits the number of consultations the Physical 
Therapist can make on the patient’s behalf.  The consult 
should be with the patient’s personal licensed health 
practitioner.  If the patient does not have a personal licensed 
health practitioner, the Physical Therapist is to offer the 
patient at least three licensed health practitioner from which 
to choose.  The referral to a licensed health practitioner after 
the initial thirty day period must not be in conflict with 24
Del.C. §2616(a)(8) which deals with referral for profit.  If no 
licensed health practitioner consult has been made in this 

initial thirty day period, treatment must be terminated and no 
treatment may be resumed without a licensed health 
practitioner consult.

1.1.2 Consultation with written prescription 
from a licensed health practitioner.  A prescription 
accompanying a patient must not be substantially modified 
without documented consultation with the referring 
practitioner.  The consultation can be made by telephone, 
fax, in writing, or in person.

1.2 Direct Supervision (24 Del.C. §2611(a))
1.2.1 Direct supervision in connection with a 

Physical Therapist or Athletic Trainer practicing under a 
temporary license means:

1.2.1.1 a licensed Physical Therapist or 
Athletic Trainer supervisor shall be on the premises when 
the individual with a temporary license is practicing and

1.2.1.2 evaluations and progress notes written 
by the individual with a temporary license shall be co-signed 
by the licensed Physical Therapist supervisor.

1.2.2 Direct supervision in relation to a Physical 
Therapist Assistant with less than one (1) year experience 
means a Physical Therapist shall be on the premises at all 
times and see each patient.

1.2.3 Direct supervision in relation to a Physical 
Therapist Assistant with one (1) year or more experience 
means that a Physical Therapist Assistant must receive on-
site, face to face supervision at least once every fifth 
treatment day or once every three weeks, whichever occurs 
first. The supervising Physical Therapist must have at least 
one (1) year clinical experience.  The Physical Therapist 
must be available and accessible by telecommunications to 
the Physical Therapist Assistant during all working hours of 
the Physical Therapist Assistant.

1.2.4 The Physical Therapist is responsible for 
the actions of the Physical Therapist Assistant or the Athletic 
Trainer when under his/ her supervision. All supervision 
must be documented.

1.2.5 Direct supervision in connection with an 
athletic trainer in a non-clinical setting means that the 
supervising athletic trainer should be personally present and 
immediately available to the treatment area. Direct 
supervision in connection with an Athletic Trainer treating 
an injury not defined as an 'athletic injury', which must be a 
musculoskeletal disorder if seen for physical therapy when 
the athletic trainer has one (1) year or more of continuous 
experience means that an Athletic Trainer must receive on-
site, face to face supervision at least once every fifth 
treatment day or once every three weeks, whichever occurs 
first. The supervising Physical Therapist must have at least 
one (1) year clinical experience. The Physical Therapist 
must be accessible by telecommunications to the Athletic 
Trainer during all work hours of the Athletic Trainer.

Direct supervision in connection with an 
Athletic Trainer treating an injury not defined as an 'athletic 
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injury' which must be a musculoskeletal disorder if seen for 
physical therapy, when the Athletic Trainer has less than one 
(1) year of continuous experience means a Physical 
Therapist shall be on the premises at all times and see each 
patient.

1.2.6 Direct supervision in connection with an 
Athletic Trainer with a temporary license treating an 'athletic 
injury' is that the licensed Athletic Trainer supervisor shall 
be on the premises when the individual with a temporary 
license is practicing and all evaluations and progress notes 
shall be co-signed by the Athletic Trainer supervisor.

1.2.67 Direct supervision in connection with an Athletic 
Trainer means a Physical Therapist shall be on the premises 
at all times in a clinical setting and see every patient. in 
relation to an Athletic Trainer with one (1) year or more 
experience means that an Athletic Trainer must receive on-
site, face to face supervision at least once every fifth 
treatment day or once every three weeks, whichever occurs 
first. The Supervising Athletic Trainer must have at least one 
(1) year experience.  The Supervising Athletic Trainer must 
be available and accessible by telecommunications to the 
Athletic Trainer during all working hours.

1.2.7 8 At no time may a Physical Therapist 
supervise more than 2 Physical Therapist Assistants, 2 
Athletic Trainers or 1 Physical Therapist Assistant and 1 
Athletic Trainer.  A Physical Therapist may only supervise 1 
Physical Therapist Assistant off site.  Athletic Trainers must 
be supervised on site.

1.2.8 9 Direct supervision in connection with 
support personnel means a licensed Physical Therapist, or
Physical Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer shall be 
personally present and immediately available within the 
treatment area to give aid, direction, and instruction when 
procedures are performed. On site or on premises (24 Del.C. 
§2602(5)), in connection with supervision of a Physical 
Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer, means that the 
Physical Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer supervising 
professional must be in the same physical building as the 
supervising Physical Therapist.  On site or on premises does 
not refer to attached buildings is located on the same 
physical property where the supervision is occurring.

1.3 On site or on premises (24 Del.C. §2602(5)), in 
connection with supervision of a Physical Therapist 
Assistant or Athletic Trainer, means that the Physical 
Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer must be in the same 
physical building as the supervising Physical Therapist.  On 
site or on premises does not refer to attached buildings.

1.4 3 Support personnel (24 Del.C. §2615) means a 
person(s) who performs certain routine, designated physical 
therapy tasks, or athletic training tasks, under the direct 
supervision of a licensed Physical Therapist or Physical 
Therapist Assistant. or Athletic Trainer. There shall be 
documented evidence of sufficient in-service training to 

assure safe performance of the duties assigned to the support 
personnel.

1.5 4 Unprofessional Conduct (24 Del.C. §2616(7)). 
Unprofessional conduct shall include departure from or the 
failure to conform to the minimal standards of acceptable 
and prevailing physical therapy practice or athletic training 
practice, in which proceeding actual injury to a patient need 
not be established 24 Del.C. §2616(7).  Such unprofessional 
conduct shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

1.54.1 Assuming duties within the practice of 
physical therapy or athletic training without adequate 
preparation or supervision or when competency has not been 
maintained.

1.54.2 The Physical Therapist or Athletic Trainer
who knowingly allows a Physical Therapist Assistant or 
Athletic Trainer to perform prohibited activities is guilty of 
unprofessional conduct.

1.54.3 The Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist 
Assistant, or Athletic Trainer who knowingly performs 
prohibited activities is guilty of unprofessional conduct.

1.54.4 The Physical Therapist, Athletic Trainer,
or Physical Therapist Assistant who knowingly allows 
support personnel to perform prohibited activities is guilty of 
unprofessional conduct.

1.54.5 Performing new physical therapy or 
athletic training techniques or procedures without proper 
education and practice or without proper supervision.

1.54.6 Failing to take appropriate action or to 
follow policies and procedures in the practice situation 
designed to safeguard the patient.

1.54.7 Inaccurately recording, falsifying, or 
altering a patient or facility record.

1.54.8 Committing any act of verbal, physical, 
mental or sexual abuse of patients.

1.54.9 Assigning untrained persons to perform 
functions which are detrimental to patient safety, for which 
they are not adequately trained or supervised, or which are 
not authorized under these rules and regulations.

1.54.10 Failing to supervise individuals to whom 
physical therapy or athletic training tasks have been 
delegated.

1.54.11 Failing to safeguard the patient’s dignity 
and right to privacy in providing services regardless of race, 
color, creed and status.

1.54.12 Violating the confidentiality of 
information concerning the patient.

1.54.13 Failing to take appropriate action in 
safeguarding the patient from incompetent health care 
practice.

1.54.14 Practicing physical therapy as a Physical 
Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant or athletic training 
as an Athletic Trainer when unfit to perform procedures or 
unable to make decisions because of physical, psychological, 
or mental impairment.
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1.54.15 Practicing as a Physical Therapist, 
Physical Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer when 
physical or mental ability to practice is impaired by alcohol 
or drugs.

1.54.16 Diverting drugs, supplies or property of a 
patient or a facility.

1.54.17 Allowing another person to use his/her 
license.

1.54.18 Resorting to fraud, misrepresentation, or 
deceit in taking the licensing examination or obtaining a 
license as a Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant 
or Athletic Trainer.

1.54.19 Impersonating any applicant or acting as 
proxy for the applicant in a Physical Therapist, Physical 
Therapist Assistant, or Athletic Trainer licensing 
examination.

1.54.20 A Physical Therapist, who initiated a 
physical therapy plan of care without a referral, Ccontinuing 
to treat a patient, who initiated treatment without a formal 
referral, for longer than thirty days without a licensed health 
practitioner consult. An Athletic Trainer continuing to treat a 
patient, who initiated treatment for a minor strain, sprain, or 
contusion for longer than thirty days without a licensed 
health practitioner consult; preventative taping, padding, 
bandaging, icing and conditioning excluded.

1.54.21 Substantially modifying a treatment 
prescription without consulting the referring licensed health 
practitioner.

1.54.22 Failing to comply with the mandatory 
continuing education requirements of 24 Del.C. §2607(a) and 
Section 7 of these rules and regulations.

 4 DE Reg. 1114 (1/1/01)
 5 DE Reg. 2101 (5/1/02)

2.0 Board
2.1 Specific duties of the officers:

2.1.1 The Chairperson:
2.1.1.1 Shall call meetings of the Board at 

least twice a year.
2.1.1.2 Shall represent the Board in all 

official functions and act as Board spokesperson.
2.1.2 The Vice-Chairperson:

2.1.2.1 Shall substitute for the Chairperson 
during the officer’s absence.

2.1.3 The Secretary:
2.1.3.1 Shall preside when the Chairperson 

and Vice-Chairperson are absent.

3.0 Physical Therapist Assistants (24 Del.C. §2602(3))
The Physical Therapist Assistant may treat patients only 

under the direction of a Physical Therapist as defined in 
Sections 1.2.2 and 1.2.3.  The Physical Therapist Assistant 
may perform physical therapy procedures and related tasks 
that have been selected and delegated by the supervising 

Physical Therapist.  The Physical Therapist Assistant may 
administer treatment with therapeutic exercise, massage, 
mechanical devices, and therapeutic agents that use the 
properties of air, water, electricity, sound or light. The 
Physical Therapist Assistant may make minor modifications 
to treatment plans within the predetermined plan of care, 
assist the Physical Therapist with evaluations, and document 
treatment progress. The ability of the Physical Therapist 
Assistant to perform the selected and delegated tasks shall be 
assessed by the supervising Physical Therapist. The Physical 
Therapist Assistant shall not perform interpretation of 
referrals, physical therapy evaluation and reevaluation, 
major modification of the treatment plan, final discharge of 
the patient, or therapeutic techniques beyond the skill and 
knowledge of the Physical Therapist Assistant or without 
proper supervision.

4.0 Athletic Trainers (24 Del.C. §2602)
The Athletic Trainer in a clinical setting - 24 Del.C. 

§2602 (5)).
The Athletic Trainer in a nonclinical setting - 24 Del.C. 

§2602(5)).
4.1 Athletic injuries:

4.1.1 Athletic trainers may treat athletic injuries. 
Athletic injuries shall be considered musculoskeletal injuries 
to athletes that occur while currently participating in, or 
currently training for, scholastic, professional, or sanctioned 
amateur athletics, where such injury limits the athlete’s 
ability to participate or trainf for their sport. Athletic 
Trainers may also treat musculoskeletal imjuries received by 
athletes that occur while currently participating in 
recreational activities, where such recreational activities are 
recognized by the Amateur Athletic Union (see website for 
list of activites within the AAU). All Athletic imjuries must 
be documented by the Athletic Trainer as interfering with 
participation in or training for such athletic activities. 
Nothing prohibits the Athletic Trainer from treating minor 
sprains, strains, and contusions to athletes currently 
participating in professional, scholastic, recreational, or 
sanctioned amateur athletic actvities.

4.2 Non-athletic injuries:
4.2.1 Athletic Trainers may treat 

musculoskeletal injuries as part of a physical therapy plan of 
care only under the direction and supervision of a Physical 
Therapist as defined in sections 1.2.5 and 1.2.6. The Athletic 
Trainer may perform physical therapy and athletic training 
procedures and related taskes that have been selected and 
delegated by the supervising physical therapist.  The Athletic 
Trainer may administer tratment with therapeutic exercises 
and modalities such as heat, cold, light air water, sound, 
electricity, massage and non-thrust mobilization. The 
Athletic Trainer may document treatment progress. The 
ability of the Athletic Trainer to perform selected and 
delegated taskes shall be assessed by the supervising 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 9, TUESDAY, MARCH 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1236
Physical Therapist.  The Athletic Trainer shall not perform 
interpretation of referrals, physical therapy evaluation and 
reevaluation, modification of the treatment plan, final 
discharge of the patient, or therapeutic techniques beyond 
the skill and knowledge of the athletic trainer without proper 
supervision.  The supervising Physical Therapist must be 
contacted for approval to make any modification of the 
treatment plan within the physcial therapy plan of care.

4.3 Exceptions:
4.3.1 Nothing in this regulation shall limit an 

Athletic Trainer’s ability to provide preventative care 
procedures of conditioning, taping, protective bandaging, 
padding and icing.  Nothing in this regulation shall limit an 
Athletic Trainer’s ability to provide emergency treatment to 
injuries, or to provide immediate care to athletes who are 
currently participating in scholastic, professional, or 
sanctioned amateur athletics, within the scope of their 
training, so long as the immediate care does not last longer 
than 5 days.

5.0 Support Personnel (24 Del.C. §2615)
5.1 Treatments which may be performed by support 

personnel under direct supervision are:
5.1.1 ambulation
5.1.2 functional activities
5.1.3 transfers
5.1.4 routine follow-up of specific exercises
5.1.5 hot or cold packs
5.1.6 whirlpool/Hubbard tank
5.1.7 contrast bath
5.1.8 infrared
5.1.9 paraffin bath
5.1.10 ultra sound

5.2 Exceptions - A support person may perform:
5.2.1 patient related activities that do not 

involve treatment, including transporting patients, 
undressing and dressing patients, and applying assistive and 
supportive devices without direct supervision, and

5.2.2 set up and preparation of patients requiring 
treatment using Physical Therapist modalities.

5.3 Prohibited Activities - support personnel may not 
perform:

5.3.1 evaluation, or
5.3.2 treatments other than those listed in 

Section 5.1.
 4 DE Reg. 1114 (1/1/01)

6.0 Qualifications of Applicant (24 Del.C. § 2606)
6.1 Applications, copies of the rules and regulations, 

and copies of the Practice Act are available from the 
Division of Professional Regulation.

6.2 Applicants for Physical Therapist or Physical 
Therapist Assistant licensure shall not be admitted to the 

examination without the submission of the following 
documents:

6.2.1 Professional Qualifications - proof of 
graduation (official transcript) from an educational program 
for the Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant 
which is accredited by the appropriate accrediting agency as 
set forth in the Practice Act. 

6.2.2 A fee in check or money order payable to 
the State of Delaware.

6.2.3 A completed application form.
6.3 The Board may use the Physical Therapist and 

Physical Therapist Assistant examination endorsed by the 
Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy and the 
APTA, respectively.

6.4 All applicants for licensure as a Physical Therapist 
or Physical Therapist Assistant must successfully pass the 
examination described in Section 6.3 in order to become 
eligible for licensure. The Board will adopt the criterion-
referenced passing point recommended by the Federation of 
State Boards of Physical Therapy.

6.5 Applicants for licensure as an Athletic Trainer must 
submit to the Board the following:

6.5.1 Professional Qualifications - proof of 
graduation (official transcript) from an educational program 
described in 24 Del.C. §2606(a)(1), whether an accredited 
program or National Athletic Trainers Association Board of 
Certification (NATA BOC) internship.

6.5.2 Official letter of Athletic Trainer 
certification from NATABOC.

6.5.3 A check or money order made payable to 
the State of Delaware.

6.5.4 The completed application form.
6.6 Licenses shall expire biennially on every odd 

numbered year.  The following items shall be submitted 
upon application for renewal:

6.6.1 completed renewal application form,
6.6.2 applicable fee, and
6.6.3 for individuals seeking renewal, evidence 

of continuing education courses as provided by Section 7.

7.0 Mandatory Continuing Education Units (CEU’s) (24 
Del.C. §2607 (a))

7.1 Three CEU’s are required for every biennial license 
renewal for Physical Therapists, Physical Therapist 
Assistants, and Athletic Trainers. The  Continuing Education 
Unit Activity Record (CEUAR) credits shall be received at 
the Division of Professional Regulation, Dover, Delaware, 
no later than November 30th of every even numbered year 
and shall be received every 2 years after such date.

7.2 Individuals shall maintain the following items in 
order to receive credit for CEU’s:

7.2.1 name of applicant seeking renewal
7.2.2 license classification (Physical Therapist, 

Physical Therapist Assistant, Athletic Trainer)
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7.2.3 license number of applicant
7.2.4 proof of attendance at CEU course
7.2.5 date of CEU course
7.2.6 instructor(s) of CEU course
7.2.7 sponsor of CEU course
7.2.8 title of CEU course
7.2.9 number of hours of CEU course

7.3 Continuing Education Regulations, (24 Del.C. 
§2607(a)). Each licensed Physical Therapist, Physical 
Therapist Assistant and Athletic Trainer is responsible for 
continuing his/her education so that professional skills are 
maintained in accordance with the advancement of the 
profession. The purpose of this is to help Physical 
Therapists, Physical Therapist Assistants, and Athletic 
Trainers become more efficient in achieving their objectives.

7.3.1 For a licensee to renew a license, the 
licensee must complete three continuing education units over 
the two year period immediately preceding November 30th

of each even year. CEU’s completed before November 30th

of the even year shall not be carried over to the next renewal 
period. Any continuing education completed in the 
December or January preceding renewal will apply to the 
next renewal period. CEU requirements shall be prorated for 
new licensees.  If the license is granted during the six month 
period shown below, the following will be required for 
renewal:

Odd Numbered Year            Even Numbered Year
1/1-  6/30   2.5 CEUs             1/1-  6/30   1.5 CEUs
7/1-12/31   2.0 CEUs            7/1-12/31     .5 CEUs
7.3.2One CEU will be given for every 10 hours of 

an approved continuing education course.  (1 contact hour = 
.1 CEU).  Each course must include topics relevant to the 
field of health care as it pertains to Physical Therapy or 
Athletic Training.  Approval of CEU’s shall be within the 
discretion of the State Examining Board of Physical 
Therapists. Continuing education units that have been 
previously approved during the current licensing period by 
another agency such as a national governing body or a fellow 
state licensing board shall be acceptable to the Examining 
Board for the State of Delaware as appropriate CEU’s.  Any 
sponsors or licensees wishing to receive prior written 
approval of CEU courses from the Examining Board must 
complete a CEU Application Form. CEU’s may not be 
carried over from one biennial period to the next one.

7.3.3 At the time of license renewal, the 
appropriate forms will be supplied by the Board.  Proof of 
attendance shall be enclosed by the licensee when requested 
by the Board.  While course brochures may be used to verify 
contact hours, they are not considered to be acceptable proof 
for use of verification of course attendance.  All licensees 
must complete and submit to the Board the CEUAR. If 
randomly selected, the licensee must submit documentation 

of the CEU’s.  The CEUAR is due November 30th of the 
even year.  All questionable CEUAR’s will be re-evaluated.

7.3.4 In the event a licensee shall fail to 
complete the required credits by November 30, 2000, the 
Board may withhold issuance of a permanent license unless 
the CEUAR required by Section 7.3.3 is accompanied by a 
specific plan for making up the deficiency of necessary 
credits by March 31, 2001.  The plan shall be deemed 
accepted by the Board unless within  60 days after the receipt 
of the CEUAR the Board notifies the licensee to the 
contrary.  Full completion of the licensee’s plan shall be 
reported by CEUAR not later April 15, 2001. Failure to 
complete the specific plan may result in the Board 
suspending the license issued, following a hearing pursuant 
to the Administrative Procedures Act, for unprofessional 
conduct as defined by Section 1.5.22. This provision no 
longer applies effective with the 2003 renewal.

7.3.5 The Board has the power to waive any part 
of the entire CEU requirement. Exemptions to the CEU 
requirement may be granted due to prolonged illness or other 
incapacity. Application for exemption shall be made in 
writing to the Board by the applicant for renewal and must 
be received by the Board no later than November 30th of the 
end of the respective CEU term.

7.3.6 CEU’s may be earned through Board 
approved courses in colleges and universities, extension 
courses, independent study courses, workshops, seminars, 
conferences, lectures, videotapes, professional presentations 
and publications, and in-services oriented toward the 
enhancement of their respective professional’s practice. 
CEU programs shall be conducted under responsible 
sponsorship, capable direction and qualified instruction. The 
program may include staff development activities of 
agencies and cross-disciplinary offerings.

7.3.7 The following are examples of acceptable 
continuing education which the Board may approve. The 
Board will determine the appropriate number of contact 
hours for these categories of continuing education, subject to 
any limitation shown below.

7.3.7.1 professional meetings including 
national, state, chapter, and state board meetings

7.3.7.2 seminars/workshops
7.3.7.3 staff/faculty in-services
7.3.7.4 first time presentation of 

professionally oriented course/lecture (0.3 CEU/hour per 
presentation)

7.3.7.5 approved self studies including:
- videotapes, if:
- there is a sponsoring agency
- there is a facilitator or program official 

present 
- the program official is not the only 

attendee
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- correspondence course, if a sponsoring 
agency provides a certificate of completion

7.3.8 The following are also examples of 
acceptable continuing education in the amount of CEU’s 
shown.

7.3.8.1 university/college courses:
1.0 CEU for semester
0.8 CEU for trimester
0.7 CEU for quarter

7.3.8.2 passing of licensing examination (1.5 
CEU’s)

7.3.8.3 original publication in peer reviewed 
publication (0.3 CEU)

7.3.8.4 original publication in non-peer 
reviewed publication (0.1 CEU)

7.3.8.5 holding of an office (0.3 CEU), to 
include:

- executive officer’s position for the 
national or state professional associations (President, Vice-
President, Secretary, Treasurer) 

- member, Examining Board of Physical 
Therapists

7.3.8.6 acting as the direct clinical instructor 
providing  supervision to a Physical Therapist, Physical 
Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer student  officially 
enrolled in an accredited institution program during an 
internship (40 contact hours = 0.1 CEU).

7.3.8.7 acting as the direct clinical instructor 
providing supervision to an Athletic Training student 
officially enrolled in an accredited Athletic Training 
Education Program (40 contact hours = 0.1 CEU).

8.0 Admission to Practice, Licensure by Reciprocity (24 
Del.C. §2610)

Definition - The granting of a license to an applicant 
who meets all the requirements set forth in this section and 
24 Del.C. §2610.

8.1 The reciprocity applicant shall submit the 
documentation listed in rules 6.2 or 6.5.

8.2 An applicant shall be deemed to have satisfied this 
section upon evidence satisfactory to the Board that he/she 
has complied with the standards set forth below:

8.2.1 The Physical Therapist or Physical 
Therapist Assistant applicant has passed the examination in 
the state, territory, or the District of Columbia in which he/
she was originally licensed/registered.  The passing score 
shall be 1.5 standard deviation below the national norm for 
those Physical Therapists and Physical Therapist Assistants 
having taken the examination prior to 1990.

8.2.2 All Physical Therapist/Physical Therapy 
Assistant reciprocity applicants shall supply his/her 
examination scores to the Board.  The applicant may obtain 
his/her scores from the regulatory body of the state, territory, 
or the District of Columbia in which he/she was originally 

licensed/registered or from the FSBPT Score Transfer 
Service. From Physical Therapist applicants who were 
licensed/registered by a state, territory, or the District of 
Columbia only prior to 1963, the Board shall accept the 
following:

8.2.2.1 Professional Examination Service-
American Physical Therapy Association (PES-APTA) 
examination scores with a passing grade of 1.5 standard 
deviation below the national norm on all sections, or

8.2.2.2 other examining mechanisms which 
in the judgment of the Board were substantially equal to the 
mechanisms of the State of Delaware at the time of 
examination.

8.2.3 For the Athletic Trainer candidate, the 
passing score shall be that which was established at time of 
examination. All sections of the examination shall be passed. 
The reciprocity applicant shall supply his/her examination 
scores to the Board. have their National Athletic Trainer 
Association Board of Certification (NATABOC) 
[verification of certification] forwarded directly to the Board 
office.

9.0 Temporary Licensure (24 Del.C. §2611)
9.1 The Board may issue a temporary license to all 

applicants who have submitted to the Board the documents 
listed in Rule 6.2 and Rule 6.5, respectively, and who have 
been determined to be eligible to take the examination.  The 
Board shall accept a letter signed by the Physical Therapist 
or Physical Therapist Assistant applicant’s school official 
stating that the applicant has completed all requirements for 
graduation;  provided, however, that the applicant shall 
submit to the Board an official transcript as soon as it 
becomes available.  The Board will determine the Physical 
Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant applicant’s 
eligibility to take the examination.  In the case of Athletic 
Trainer applicants for temporary license, a letter from NATA 
stating the applicant’s eligibility to take the NATA 
examination will be required. Physical Therapist and 
Physical Therapist Assistant applicants may practice only 
under the direct supervision of a licensed Physical Therapist. 
Athletic Trainer applicants may practice only under the 
direct supervision of a licensed Athletic Trainer in a non-
clinical setting. In a clinical setting, Athletic Trainer 
applicants may practice only under the direct supervision of 
a licensed or Physical Therapist. as that supervision is 
defined in regulation 1.2 above.  A temporary license shall 
expire upon notice to the applicant of his/her failure to pass 
the license examination and may not be renewed. In all other 
cases, a temporary license may be renewed only once.

9.2 Applicants requesting reciprocity as a Physical 
Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant, and Athletic Trainer. 
The Board may issue a temporary license to an applicant 
upon the applicant’s submission of letters of good standing 
from all jurisdictions in which the applicant is or has ever 
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been licensed.  The temporary licensee may practice only 
under the direct supervision of an applicable licensed 
professional.

9.3 Applicants engaged in a special project, teaching 
assignment, or medical emergency as described in 24 Del.C. 
§2611(b) must submit letters of good standing from all 
jurisdictions in which the applicant is or has ever been 
licensed.

5 DE Reg. 2101 (5/1/02)

10.0 Foreign Trained Applicant for Licensure  (24 
Del.C. §2606 (b))

10.1 Applicants for licensure who are graduates of a 
Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant school or 
Athletic Trainer program located in a foreign country shall 
complete all of the following requirements before being 
admitted to the examination.

10.1.1 The applicant shall submit proof 
satisfactory to the Board of graduation from an education 
program appropriate to their profession in a foreign country. 
Each foreign applicant must demonstrate that they have met 
the minimum education requirements as presented by the 
Federation of State Boards in the Course Work Evaluation 
Tool for Persons Who Received Their Physical Therapy 
Education Outside the United States. The applicant shall 
arrange and pay for a credential evaluation of such foreign 
school’s program to be completed by one of four 
independent agencies:

International Educational Research Foundation, Inc.
P.O. Box 3665
Culver City, CA  90231

(Address change 2/1/01)

International Consultants of Delaware, Inc.
109 Barksdale Professional Center
Newark, DE  19711

Educational Credential Evaluators, Inc.
P.O. Box 92970
Milwaukee, WI  53202-0970

Foreign Credentialing Commission for Physical
Therapists

P.O. Box 25827
Alexandria VA  22313-9998

10.1.2 The applicant shall complete the 
requirements of rules 6.2 or 6.5.

10.1.3 The applicant shall pass the examination 
described in rules 6.3 and 6.4.

11.0 Reactivation and Reinstatement  (24 Del.C. §2607)

11.1 Any person who has been registered in the 
State and is not actively engaged in the practice of physical 
therapy or athletic training in the State may, upon request, be 
placed on the inactive register for the remainder of the 
biennial licensure period. Subsequent requests for extensions 
of inactive status should be submitted biennially. The Board 
may reactivate an inactive license if the Physical Therapist, 
Physical Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer:

11.1.1 files a written request for reactivation;
11.1.2 has been actively engaged in the practice 

for the past five years.  If the licensee has not met this 
condition, the following requirements shall be completed:

11.1.2.1 The Physical Therapist, or Physical 
Therapist Assistant, or Athletic Trainer working in a clinical 
setting shall work under the direct supervision of a Physical 
Therapist/Athletic Trainer in Delaware for a minimum of six 
months.

11.1.2.2 The Athletic Trainer working in a 
nonclinical setting shall work under the direct supervision of 
an Athletic Trainer in Delaware for a minimum of six 
months.

11.1.2.3 At the end of the period, the 
supervising Physical Therapist/Athletic Trainer shall certify 
to the applicant’s clinical competence on forms supplied by 
the Board;

11.1.3 submits proof of completion of 1.5 CEU’s 
during the previous 12 months.

11.2 Provided reinstatement is requested within 5 
years of the expiration date, the Board may reinstate the 
license of a Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant, 
or Athletic Trainer who allowed their license to lapse 
without requesting placement on the inactive register if the 
Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant, or Athletic 
Trainer:

11.2.1 completes a form supplied by the Board
11.2.2 provides proof of completion of 3.0 CEU’s 

during the previous 24 months
11.3 If the license has been expired over five years, 

the Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist Assistant/Athletic 
Trainer must file a new application and provide proof of 
completion of 3.0 DEU’s when reapplying under the 
provisions which govern reciprocity.

 5 DE Reg. 2101 (5/1/02)
 6 DE Reg. 189 (8/1/02)

12.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically 
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

12.1 If the report is received by the chairperson of 
the regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately 
notify the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her 
designate of the report. If the Director of Professional 
Regulation receives the report, he/she shall immediately 
notify the chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that 
chairperson's designate or designates.
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12.2 The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that 
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of 
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and 
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the 
individual written information describing the Voluntary 
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter 
the Voluntary Treatment Option.

12.3 In order for the individual to participate in the 
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to 
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a 
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial 
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days 
following notification to the professional by the participating 
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).

12.4 A regulated professional with chemical 
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or 
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and 
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice 
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's 
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in 
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary, 
only if such action will not endanger the public health, 
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into 
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or 
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating 
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan 
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and 
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment 
programs may be operated by professional Committees and 
Associations or other similar professional groups with the 
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the 
chairperson of the participating Board.

12.5 Failure to cooperate fully with the participating 
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or 
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional 
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary 
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for 
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated 
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment 
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that 
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be 
activated an immediate investigation and institution of 
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in 
subsection (h) of this section.

12.6 The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a 
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which 
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:

12.6.1 Entry of the regulated professional into a 
treatment program approved by the participating Board. 
Board approval shall not require that the regulated 
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and 
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies 

to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated 
professional's progress.

12.6.2 Consent to the treating professional of the 
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the 
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating 
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to 
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or 
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the 
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's 
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such 
person making such report will not be liable when such 
reports are made in good faith and without malice.

12.6.3 Consent of the regulated professional, in 
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any 
treatment information from anyone within the approved 
treatment program. 

12.6.4 Agreement by the regulated professional 
to be personally responsible for all costs and charges 
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and 
treatment program(s). In addition, the Division of 
Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the 
regulated professional to cover administrative costs 
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount 
of the fee imposed under this subparagraph shall 
approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to 
defray the expenses of the participating Board, as well as the 
proportional expenses incurred by the Division of 
Professional Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board 
in addition to the administrative costs associated with the 
Voluntary Treatment Option.

12.6.5 Agreement by the regulated professional 
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment 
program shall be reported to the participating Board's 
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the 
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/ 
her designate by the treating professional who shall be 
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good 
faith and without malice.

12.6.6 Compliance by the regulated professional 
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice 
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment 
Option.

12.7 The regulated professional's records of 
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not 
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public 
records open to public inspection. However, the participating 
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary 
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated 
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an 
issue.

12.8 The participating Board's chairperson, his/her 
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in 
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consultation with the treating professional at any time during 
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a 
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action 
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or 
safety.

12.9 If practice is restricted, the regulated 
professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon 
completion of the program.

12.10 Failure to enter into such agreement or to 
comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the 
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional 
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and 
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be 
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary 
proceedings as appropriate.

12.11 Any person who reports pursuant to this 
section in good faith and without malice shall be immune 
from any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from 
such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected 
if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter.

12.12 Any regulated professional who complies with 
all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment 
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless 
otherwise specified in a participating Board's rules and 
regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with 
the regulated professional shall include the potential for 
disclosure and specify those to whom such information may 
be disclosed.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3100 BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 3105(a)(10) (24 Del.C. §3105(a)(10))

24 DE Admin. Code 3100

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Funeral Services in accordance 
with 24 Del.C. §3105(a)(1)  has proposed changes to its 
rules and regulations relating to continuing education. The 
proposal authorizes the automatic approval of courses 
offered by the Academy of Funeral Services Practitioners 
(AFSP) or state boards that license funeral directors.

A public hearing will be held at  10:30 a.m. on April 6, 
2005, in the second floor Conference Room B of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone 
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rule may obtain a 
copy from the Delaware Board of Funeral Services, 861 
Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 
19904.  Persons wishing to submit written comments may 

forward these to the Board at the above address.  The final 
date to receive written comments will be at the public 
hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed rule 
at its regularly scheduled meeting following the public 
hearing.

3100 Board of Funeral Services

9.0 Continuing Education Regulations
9.1 Board Authority

9.1.1 This rule is promulgated under the 
authority of 24 Del.C. §3105 which grants the Board  of 
Funeral Services (hereinafter “the Board”) authority to 
provide for rules for continuing funeral services education as 
a prerequisite for license renewal.

9.2 Requirements
9.2.1 Every licensed funeral director in active 

practice shall complete at least 10 hours/credits of approved 
continuing education (hereinafter "CE") during the two year 
licensure period prior to the time of license renewal.  All CE 
credit hours must further the licensee’s skills and 
understanding in the field of funeral services. Licensees who 
earn more than the required amount of CE credit hours 
during a given licensure period may carry over no more than 
50% of the total CE credit hours required for the next 
licensure period.

9.2.2 When a Delaware licensee on inactive 
status files a written application to return to active practice 
with the Board, the licensee shall submit proof of having 
completed the required CE credit hours for the period just 
prior to the request to return to active practice.

9.2.3 Upon application for renewal of a license, 
a funeral director licensee shall submit to the Board proof of 
completing the required number of CE credit hours.

9.3 Waiver of the CE Requirement
9.3.1 The Board has the power to waive any part 

of the entire CE requirement for good cause if the licensee 
files a written request with the Board. For example, 
exemptions to the CE requirement may be granted due to 
health or military service.  Application for exemption shall 
be made in writing to the Board by the applicant for renewal. 
The Board shall decide the merits of each individual case at a 
regularly scheduled meeting.

9.3.2 Newly licensed funeral directors, 
including those newly licensed by reciprocity, are exempt 
during the time from initial licensure until the 
commencement of the first full licensure period.

9.4 Continuing Education Program Approval
9.4.1 Each contact hour (at least fifty minutes) is 

equivalent to 1.0 CE credit hour. One college credit hour is 
equivalent to 5 CE credit hours.

9.4.2 Eligible program providers or sponsors 
include but are not limited to, educational institutions, 
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government agencies, professional or trade associations and 
foundations and private firms. Programs offered by the 
Academy of Funeral Service Practitioners (AFSP) or state 
boards that license funeral directors are automatically 
approved. Eligible program providers or sponsors include 
but are not limited to, educational institutions, government 
agencies, professional or trade associations and foundations 
and private firms.

9.4.3 Sources of CE credits include but are not 
limited to the following:

• Programs sponsored by national funeral 
service organizations.

• Programs sponsored by state 
associations.

• Program provided by local associations.
• Programs provided by suppliers.
• Independent study courses for which 

there is an assessment of knowledge.
• College courses.

9.4.4 The recommended areas include but are 
not limited to the following:

• Grief counseling
• Professional conduct, business ethics or 

legal aspects relating to practice in the profession.
• Business management concepts relating 

to delivery of goods and services.
• Technical aspects of the profession.
• Public relations.
• After care counseling.

9.4.5 Application for CE program approval shall 
include the following:

9.4.5.1 Date and location.
9.4.5.2 Description of program subject, 

material and content.
9.4.5.3 Program schedule to time segments in 

subject content areas for which approval of, and 
determination of credit is required.

9.4.5.4 Name of instructor(s), background, 
expertise.

9.4.5.5 Name and position of person making 
request for program approval.

9.4.6 Requests for CE program approval shall 
be submitted to the Board on the application provided by the 
Board.  Application for approval may be made after the 
program; however, if the program is not approved, the 
applicant will be notified and no credit given.

9.4.7 Approval of CE credits and program 
formats by the Committee shall be valid for a period of two 
years from the date of approval.  Changes in any aspect of 
the approved program shall render the approval invalid and 
the presenter will be responsible for making reapplication to 
the Committee.

9.4.8 Upon request, the Board shall mail a 
current list of all previously approved programs.

9.5 Continuing Education Committee
9.5.1 The Board of Funeral Services shall 

appoint a committee known as the Continuing Education 
Committee.  The Committee shall consist of the following 
who shall elect a chairperson:

9.5.1.1 One (1) Board member (non-
licensed).

9.5.1.2 One (1) non-Board member who shall 
be a licensed funeral director who is owner/operator of a 
funeral establishment.

9.5.1.3 One (1) non-Board member who shall 
be a licensed funeral director who does not own or operate a 
funeral establishment.

9.5.2 Membership on this Committee shall be 
on a rotating basis, with each member serving a three year 
term and may be eligible for reappointment.  The Committee 
members shall continue to serve until a new member is 
appointed.

9.5.3 The Continuing Education Committee 
shall oversee matters pertaining to continuing education and 
make recommendations to the Board with regard to approval 
of submitted programs for CE by licensees and with regard 
to the Board's review of audited licensees.  The Board shall 
have final approval on all matters.

9.6 Certification of Continuing Education - Verification 
and Reporting

9.6.1 The program provider/sponsor has sole 
responsibility for the accurate monitoring of program 
attendance. Certificates of attendance shall be supplied by 
the program provider/sponsor and be distributed only at the 
completion of the program.

9.6.2 Verification of completion of an 
independent study program will be made with a student 
transcript.

9.6.3 The funeral director licensee shall 
maintain all original certificates of attendance for CE 
programs for the entire licensure period.  Proof shall consist 
of completed CE form provided by the Board and shall be 
filed with the Board on or before thirty (30) days prior to the 
expiration date of the biennial renewal period.

9.6.4 Applications for renewal may be audited 
by the Board to determine whether or not the recommended 
requirements of continuing education have been met by the 
licensee.

9.6.5 If a licensee is found to be non-compliant 
in continuing education, the licensee's license shall lapse at 
the expiration of the present licensing period. The Board 
shall reinstate such license within twelve (12) months of 
such lapse upon presentation of satisfactory evidence of 
successful completion of continuing education requirements 
and upon payment of all fees due.

9.6.6 Programs approved for continuing 
education credit by another state funeral board other than 
Delaware shall be automatically approved for all Delaware 
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licensees upon written application and verification of CE 
credits by the applicable state board.

5 DE Reg. 606 (9/1/01)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Funeral 
Services is available at:

http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/funeralservices/
index.shtml

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 525

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. §122(d)

PUBLIC NOTICE

525 Requirements for Career Technical Education 
Programs

A. Type Of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of The Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 

State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 
525 Requirements for Career-Technical Education Programs 
in order to add the JDG student organization to 2.9 and to 
correct a number of punctuation errors in sections 3.0 and 
4.0.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation clarifies how Jobs for 
Delaware Graduates Programs may qualify for State 
occupational-vocational units but does not specifically 
address student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulation addresses how Jobs for Delaware Graduates 
Programs may qualify for State occupational-vocational 
units not equitable education issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The 
amended regulation addresses how Jobs for Delaware 

Graduates Programs may qualify for State occupational-
vocational units not health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses how Jobs for Delaware Graduates Programs may 
qualify for State occupational-vocational units not issues of 
students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level?  The amended regulation will 
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision 
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The 
amended regulation will not place any unnecessary reporting 
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation?  There is no less burdensome 
method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no cost 
to the State and to the local school boards of compliance 
with the regulation.

525  Requirements for Career Technical Education 
Programs

1.0 All Career-Technical Education Programs shall meet 
the provisions of Delaware's State Plan for Career and 
Technical Education and meet the provisions of the content 
standards approved by the Department of Education or, if 
there are no approved state content standards, meet local 
program standards approved by the Department of 
Education.
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2.0 All local school districts and charter schools that 
offer state approved Career-Technical Education Programs 
shall:

2.1 Have the approval of the Department of Education 
before implementing new programs.

2.2 Have adequate funding to support and sustain the 
instructional program.

2.3 Employ teachers certified in Career-Technical 
Education Program areas.

2.4 Make provisions for meeting the unique needs of all 
students.

2.5 Establish and maintain an active advisory 
committee which includes labor and management personnel 
to assist in the development and operation of the program.

2.6 Use present and projected labor market 
information, available from the Delaware Occupational 
Information Coordinating Committee, to determine the need 
for new and continuing Career-Technical Education 
Programs.

2.7 Survey local business and industry to determine 
their occupational needs and the availability of placement 
and employment opportunities for program completers.

2.8 Survey the student population to determine their 
occupational interests and needs.

2.9 Organize and financially support career-technical 
student organizations as integral components of Career-
Technical Education Programs in public schools that 
complement and enrich instruction.  The following career-
technical student organizations are affiliated in Delaware:

2.9.1 Business Professionals of America (BPA)
2.9.2 Technology Student Association (TSA)
2.9.3 Distributive Education Clubs of America 

(DECA), an association of marketing students
2.9.4 Family, Career and Community Leaders of 

America (FCCLA)
2.9.5 The National FFA Organization
2.9.6 Skills USA/VICA
2.9.7 The Delaware Career Association (DCA)

2.10 Integrate related academic content into 
individual career-technical education courses, and guide 
students through a course selection process that supports the 
necessary academic preparation required by the student’s 
career path and educational goals.

2.11 Schedule trade and industrial education 
programs, when offered, for a minimum of two consecutive 
periods a day or the equivalent, five days a week for two or 
more years.

2.12 Establish no rules practices or regulations that 
interfere with, prohibit or otherwise prevent students from 
having the opportunity to learn about, enroll in and complete 
a Career-Technical Education Program in a career-technical 
school district.

2.13 Use equipment and facilities comparable to 
that used by local business and industry for which the 
Career-Technical Education Program is preparing students.

2.14 Schedule Department of Education and 
Delaware Advisory Council on Career Education program 
review and monitoring visits upon request.
3.0 Cooperative Education Programs: Cooperative 
Education Programs provide senior Career-Technical 
Education Program students with coordinated on-the-job 
training not ordinarily available in the classroom. During the 
student’s senior year, employers may provide this on-the-job 
training in occupations directly related to the Career-
Technical-Education Program in which the student is 
enrolled.  For the purpose of granting credit during the 
school year two hours of Cooperative Education Work 
Experience shall equal one hour of instructional time. In a 
summer Cooperative Education Work Experience Program 
one-half unit of credit shall be granted and shall be counted 
toward the units of credit necessary for graduation.

3.1 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education 
funding units the Career-Technical Education Program 
Teacher or Career Guidance Counselor shall be provided 
with a full class period, each day, for every fifteen (15) 
students enrolled in the Cooperative Education Work 
Experience Program in order to make quarterly visits to the 
student’s place of employment to ensure coordination 
between the classroom and the on-the-job experience.

3.2 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education 
funding units the students shall; possess minimum 
occupational competencies specified by the Career-
Technical Education Teacher Coordinator before being 
placed in cooperative employment, be in their senior year 
and be in a Cooperative Education Work Experience 
Program that relates directly to the student’s current or 
completed career-technical education pathway and be 
supervised through on-site visits by an assigned Career-
Technical Education Program Teacher Coordinator or Career 
Guidance Counselor.

3.3 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education 
funding units the school shall have on file, for each student;.
: a training agreement that includes training objectives and is 
signed by a parent or guardian, the employer, the student and 
a representative of the district.  A State Work Permit for 
Minors in accordance with State Department of Labor 
regulations shall also be on file. 

3.4 For an IDEA eligible student, the student’s IEP 
team, in consultation with the Career Technical Education 
Teacher Coordinator, may authorize the student’s 
participation in this program irrespective of lack of senior 
year status, if necessary, to provide the student a free, 
appropriate public education.

4.0 Diversified Occupations Programs: Diversified 
Occupations Programs provide students with coordinated 
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on-the-job training not ordinarily available in the classroom. 
During the student’s junior and senior year, employers 
provide this on-the-job training.  For the purpose of granting 
credit during the school year, two hours of work experience 
in a Diversified Occupations Work Experience Program 
shall equal one hour of instructional time.  In a summer 
Diversified Occupations Work Experience Program one-half 
unit of credit shall be granted and that credit shall be counted 
toward the units of credit necessary for graduation.

4.1 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education 
funding units a Career-Technical Education Program 
Teacher or Career Guidance Counselor shall be provided 
with a full class period, each day, for every fifteen (15) 
students enrolled in the Diversified Occupations Work 
Experience Program in order to make on-site visits to the 
student’s place of employment to ensure coordination 
between the classroom and the on-the-job experience.

4.2 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education 
funding units the students shall; possess minimum readiness 
competencies as specified by the Career-Technical 
Education Program Teacher Coordinator before being placed 
in a Diversified Occupations Work Experience Program 
employment situation, be in their junior or senior year and be 
actively enrolled in a Diversified Occupations Work 
Experience Program that meets for at least one class period 
per week..

4.3 In order to qualify for Career-Technical Education 
funding units the school shall have on file, for each student;
a training agreement that includes training objectives and is 
signed by a parent or guardian, the employer, the student and 
a representative of the district.  A State Work Permit for 
Minors in accordance with State Department of Labor 
regulations shall also be on file.

4.4 For an IDEA eligible student, the student’s IEP 
team, in consultation with the Career Technical Education 
Teacher Coordinator, may authorize the student’s 
participation in this program irrespective of lack of junior or 
senior year status, if necessary, to provide the student a free, 
appropriate public education.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 545

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. §122(d)

PUBLIC NOTICE

545 K-12 School Counseling Program

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 

State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
545 K-12 School Counseling Program.  The amendments 
add “K-12” before the word “plan” in Section 1.0 and add 
the phrase “and implemented by a State certified school 
counselor” at the end of Section 1.4.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards? The amended regulation can help improve 
student achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards through the support of a counseling plan.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulation may help to ensure that all students receive an 
equitable education through the support of the counseling 
plan.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The 
amended regulation may add to the protection of students’ 
health and safety through the support of the counseling plan.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
may help in the protection of students’ legal rights through 
the support of the counseling plan.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level?  The amended regulation will 
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision 
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The 
amended regulation will not place any unnecessary reporting 
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels. 
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7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation?  There is no less burdensome 
method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no cost 
to the State and to the local school boards of compliance 
with the regulation.

545 K-12 School Counseling Programs

1.0 Each local school district shall have a written K-12
plan for the district's school counseling program. The 
Plan shall:

1.1 Include the American School Counselors 
Association's National Standards for School Counseling 
Programs in the areas of Academic Development, Career 
Development and Personal/Social Development.

1.2 Be on file in the district office.
1.3 Be reviewed and updated by the local school 

district every three (3) years.
1.4 Be incorporated in the individual school 

improvement plans that are reviewed as part of the Quality 
Review process and be implemented by a State certified 
school counselor.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 727

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. §122(d)

PUBLIC NOTICE

727 Credit for Experience for Administrators, Teachers 
and Specialists

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 

Admin Code 727 Credit for Experience for Administrators, 
Teachers and Specialists.  The amended regulation has been 
renamed as Credit for Experience for Educators and for 
Secretarial Staff.  As amended it includes the experience 
credit of one year granted to a graduate of a five year 
preservice program or a graduate of a four year preservice 
program who graduates with a GPA of 3.75 or higher on a 
4.0 scale pursuant to 14 Del. C.§1312(a).

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses credit for
experience for educators and secretarial staff not student 
achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulation addresses credit for experience for educators and 
secretarial staff not equitable education issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The 
amended regulation addresses credit for experience for 
educators and secretarial staff not health and safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses credit for experience for educators and secretarial 
staff not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level?  The amended regulation will 
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision 
making at the local board and school level.
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6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The 
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation?  There is no less burdensome 
method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no 
additional cost to the State and to the local school boards of 
compliance with the regulation.

727 Credit for Experience for Administrators, Teachers 
and Specialists

1.0 Administrators:  No credit shall be given for part time 
employment in Administrative and Supervisory positions.

2.0 Teachers:  Days taught as a substitute or as a teacher's 
aide may not be used toward credit for experience; however, 
employment as a teacher on a regular part time basis may be 
used toward credit for experience.

2.1 As used in this instance, a "regular part time" 
employee is one who is employed in a position which 
requires at least 50 hours per month for at least 9 months 
during a period of 12 consecutive months.

3.0 Secretaries:  Secretaries may be granted one (1) year's 
experience for each creditable year of experience as a 
secretary in private business, public school, or other 
governmental agency.

4.0 Creditable experience includes experience obtained 
while working outside of Delaware.4.1 This regulation 
applies to the determination of creditable experience for 
salary purposes only, and does not apply to the determination 

of creditable experience for pension purposes which is 
specified in 29 Del.C. Ch. 55.Laws on employment and 
salary for administrators, teachers, and secretaries are found 
in 14 Del.C. Ch. 13.

3 DE Reg. 1542 (5/1/00)

1.0 Educators Graduating from a 5-Year or 4-Year 
Preservice Program

1.1 Definitions
1.1.1 The following words and terms when used 

in this subsection shall have the following meaning unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Four Year Preservice Program” means 
a regionally accredited college or university four year 
preservice undergraduate bachelor degree program.

“Five Year Preservice Program” means 
a regionally accredited college or university five year 
planned degree program which includes an extensive clinical 
component or internship in the fifth year. 

“Grade Point Average (GPA)” means the 
grade point average (GPA) stated on the official transcript of 
the regionally accredited college or university granting the 
bachelor’s degree in the Four Year Preservice Program.

1.2 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1312(a), a graduate of a five 
year preservice program, or a graduate of a four year 
preservice program who graduates with a GPA of 3.75 or 
higher on a 4.0 scale or the equivalent, shall be granted one 
year of experience on the applicable state salary schedule.

1.3 Eligible employees for the one year credit of 
experience shall include any employee paid in accordance 
with 14 Del.C. §1305, who meets the requirements in 1.2 
and was hired after July 1, 2001. Eligible employees include, 
but are not limited to, teachers, nurses, librarians, 
psychologists, therapists, counselors, and school and district 
level administrators.

2.0 Administrators
2.1 No credit for experience shall be given for part time 

employment in administrative or supervisory positions.

3.0 Teachers
3.1 Days taught as a substitute or as a paraeducator may 

not be used toward credit for experience; however, 
employment as a teacher on a regular part time basis may be 
used toward credit for experience.

3.1.1 A "regular part time" employee is one who 
is employed in a position which requires at least 50 hours per 
month for at least 9 months during any 12 consecutive month 
period.

4.0 Secretarial Staff
4.1 Secretaries may be granted one (1) year's 

experience for each creditable year of experience as a 
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secretary in private business, public or private school, or 
other governmental agency.

5.0 Creditable experience includes experience obtained 
while working outside of Delaware.

6.0 This regulation applies to the determination of 
creditable experience for salary purposes only, and does not 
apply to the determination of creditable experience for 
pension purposes which is specified in 29 Del.C. Ch. 55. 
Laws on employment and salary for administrators, teachers, 
and secretaries are found in 14 Del.C. Ch. 13.

3 DE Reg. 1542 (5/1/00)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 731

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. §122(d)

PUBLIC NOTICE

731 School Food Service Employees

A. Type Of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE

Admin. Code 731 School Food Service Employees. The 
amendments are for the purpose of clarity and include 
moving the words “state funded” in front of the word 
“positions”, changing “will” to “shall” in 3.1.3.1 and 3.3 and 
changing the word “employees” to “managers” in the second 
line of 3.0.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses school food 
service employees’ experience, salaries and staffing 
formulas not student achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulation addresses school food service employees’ 
experience, salaries and staffing formulas not equitable 
education issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The 

amended regulation addresses food service employees’ 
experience, salaries and staffing formulas not students’ 
health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses food service employees’ experience, salaries and 
staffing formulas not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level? The amended regulation will 
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision 
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The 
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation?  There is no less burdensome 
method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no cost 
to the State and to the local school boards of compliance 
with the regulation.

731 School Food Service Employees

1.0 Experience: School food service employees may be 
granted one (1) year's experience for each creditable year of 
experience in similar employment.

2.0 Determination of Employee Staffing and Formula
2.1 School districts shall determine the salaries paid to 

cafeteria workers as follows:
2.1.1 Of the total number of full time workers 

assigned to a food-preparing cafeteria, a maximum of two 
may be paid as a cook/baker. Satellite schools are eligible for 
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state funded positions as set forth in 14 Del.C. §1322 (c).
state funded.

3.0 The salaries prescribed in 14 Del.C. §1322(e) for 
general workers, and cooks/bakers shall be paid by the State 
from funds not derived from local food service operations as 
determined by the formula:

3.1 Seven (7) hours of labor per 100 meals determined 
as follows:

3.1.1 Total number of reimbursable lunches 
served in the base month; plus

3.1.2 Total number of reimbursable breakfasts 
served in the base month; plus

3.1.3 Total of all other meals served in the base 
month determined by aggregating all income.

3.1.3.1 The number of meals prepared and 
served will shall be based on the average reported for the 
month of October on the monthly reimbursement claim.

3.2 Each school district will submit to the Department 
of Education a computation sheet for cafeteria workers with 
data showing hourly rate and hours worked not to exceed the 
maximum allowed under state formula.

3.3 Each school district will shall submit a roster of 
cafeteria managers to the Department of Education showing 
names of the employees managers and the salaries 
prescribed in 14 Del.C. §1322(a). Each district shall also 
submit a computation sheet as prescribed by the Department 
to determine the number of meals served according to the 
state formula.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 733

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. §122(d)

PUBLIC NOTICE

733 Substitutes

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 

Admin. Code 733 Substitutes by inserting the word “shall” 
in lieu of “are to” in 1.4, 1.5, 1.6, and 1.7.  The language in 
1.1, 1.2.1, 1.3, 1.6 and 1.7 has been clarified and the title has 
been changed to “Payment of Substitutes for Teachers” to 

reflect that the content of the regulation only refers to 
teachers.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses the payment 
of substitutes for teachers not achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulation addresses the payment of substitutes for teachers 
not equitable education issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The 
amended regulation addresses the payment of substitutes for 
teachers not student health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses the payment of substitutes for teachers not 
students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level?  The amended regulation will 
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision 
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The 
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation?  There is no less burdensome 
method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no cost 
to the State and to the local school boards of compliance 
with the regulation.
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733 Substitutes

1.0 Payment of Teacher and Other School Employee 
Substitutes

1.1 Substitutes for State funded teachers may be paid 
from State substitute teacher funds under the provisions of 
14 Del.C. §1318, Sick leave and absences for other reasons 
(only specified reasons allowable), 29 Del.C. §5524, 
Eligibility for disability pension and 29 Del.C. §5933, 
Leaves (sick leave not counted for absence for work-related 
disease or accident).

1.2 Substitutes for state funded teachers may also be 
paid from State substitute teacher funds for:

1.2.1 Military leave (training or duty not in 
excess of 15 days).

1.2.2 Kindergarten Teachers on Abbreviated 
Days. In order to allow kindergarten teachers additional time 
for parent conferences, substitute teachers may be hired 
using state substitute teacher funding for ½ day on 
abbreviated days when kindergarten is scheduled.

1.2.3 Teachers participating in Department of 
Education initiated committee work and project 
assignments.

1.3 Substitutes for teachers absent under the provisions 
of 14 Del.C. §1320, Deduction for Unexcused Absence (or 
on approved leave without pay) may be charged to the 
Division I teacher salary line.

1.4 Substitutes for teachers who are paid from federal 
funds are to be paid from federal funds from the federal 
program involved or local funds.

1.5 Substitutes for teachers who are paid from local 
funds are to be paid from local funds.

1.6 Substitutes for teachers who are paid from State 
funds for a fractional part of a State teacher unit and a 
fractional part from other funds are to be paid on the same 
proportional basis from State substitute teacher funds.

1.7 Substitutes are to be paid from State substitute 
teacher funds the amounts authorized for the various classes 
of substitutes as provided for in 14 Del.C. §1326.  School 
districts paying more for teacher substitutes than prescribed 
in 14 Del.C. §1326 shall do so from local or federal funds.

3 DE Reg. 1542 (5/1/00)

1.0 Payment of Substitutes for Teachers
1.1 State substitute teacher funds may be used to pay 

substitutes for State funded teachers when the state funded 
teachers are unavailable for duty under the provisions of 14
Del.C. §1318, 29 Del.C. §5524 and 29 Del.C. §5933 (for 
sick leave calculations for teachers qualifying for workers’ 
compensation).

1.2 Substitutes for state funded teachers may also be 
paid from State substitute teacher funds for:

1.2.1 Military leave for training or duty not in 
excess of 15 working days per year.

1.2.2 Kindergarten Teachers on Abbreviated 
Days. In order to allow kindergarten teachers additional time 
for parent conferences, substitute teachers may be hired 
using state substitute teacher funding for ½ day on 
abbreviated days when kindergarten is scheduled.

1.2.3 Teachers participating in Department of 
Education initiated committee work and project 
assignments.

1.3 Substitutes for teachers who are absent without pay 
may be charged to the Division I teacher salary line.

1.4 Substitutes for teachers who are paid from federal 
funds shall be paid from federal funds from the federal 
program involved or local funds.

1.5 Substitutes for teachers who are paid from local 
funds shall be paid from local funds.

1.6 Substitutes for teachers who are paid from State 
funds for a fractional part of a State teacher unit and a 
fractional part from other funds shall be paid on the same 
proportional basis.

1.7 Substitutes shall be paid from State substitute 
teacher funds the amounts authorized for the various classes 
of substitutes as provided for in 14 Del.C. §1326.  School 
districts paying more for teacher substitutes than prescribed 
in 14 Del.C. §1326 shall do so from local or federal funds. 
Federal funds may be used only if the federal program 
permits that use. 

3 DE Reg. 1542 (5/1/00)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 334

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. §122(d)

PUBLIC NOTICE

334 Standard Certificate Marketing Education Teacher
 

A. Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 

and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 334 Standard Certificate Marketing Education 
Teacher. The regulation concerns the requirements for 
certification of educational personnel, pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1220(a).  It is necessary to amend this regulation to align it 
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with changes in statute regarding the licensure and 
certification of educators.  In addition, the course work 
required has been amended to reflect modifications in the 
marketing education curriculum.  The requirement for work 
experience by marketing education teachers has been 
eliminated. The regulation will be renumbered 1560 to 
reflect its movement to the Professional Standards Board 
section of the Department of Education regulations.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses student 
achievement by establishing standards for the issuance of a 
standard certificate to educators who have acquired the 
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a 
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a 
particular category of students to help ensure that students 
are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?  The amended 
regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach 
students meet high standards and have acquired the 
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a 
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a 
particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students' health and safety are adequately protected?   The 
amended regulation addresses educator certification, not 
students’ health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students' legal rights are respected? The amended regulation 
addresses educator certification, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board 
and school level?   The amended regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?   The 
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability 
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the 
same entity? The decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests 
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with 
the Department of Education, and with the consent of the 
State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 

policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with, 
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the new regulation?  14 Del. C. requires that 
we promulgate this regulation.

10.  What is the cost to the state and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the amended regulation?   There 
is no additional cost to local school boards for compliance 
with the regulation.

1560 334 Standard Certificateion Marketing Education 
Teacher Effective July 1, 1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard 
License.

1.1 Bachelor's degree from an accredited college and,
1.2 Professional Education

1.2.1 Completion of an approved teacher 
preparation program in the area of Marketing Education or,

1.2.2 A minimum of 27 semester hours to include 
Human Development, Organization/Administration of 
Marketing Education, Methods of Teaching Marketing 
Education, Identifying/Treating Exceptionalities, Effective 
Teaching Strategies, Multicultural Education, and student 
teaching at the secondary (7-12) level and, 

1.3 Technical Education
1.3.1 Major in Marketing or,
1.3.2 A minimum of 18 semester hours selected 

from the following areas: Visual Merchandising, Textiles, 
Advertising, Basic Economics (3 semester hours maximum), 
Color, Line and Design, Display, Store Organization, 
Management, Retailing, Business Law, Real Estate, 
Wholesaling, Fashion and Design, Visual Aids, 
Salesmanship, Marketing, Insurance, Investments, 
Supermarket Operation, Service Station Operation and,

1.4 Work Experience in Marketing Occupations
1.4.1 A minimum of 2,000 hours of work 

experience is required in organizations which market goods 
or services.  The work experience may consist of prior 
full-time and/or part-time work in different organizations.

2.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include 
Standard and Limited Standard.

2.1 The Limited Standard license may be issued upon 
the request of a Delaware public school district for a teacher 
employed for this position who meets the standards set forth 
in 2.3 of regulation 301 General Regulations for 
Certification of Professional Public School Personnel.
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1.0 Content
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a

Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for
Marketing Education Teacher.

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education

“License” means a credential which authorizes the
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill,
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department
shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Marketing Education
Teacher to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial,
Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department
prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following
requirements:

3.1 A bachelor’s degree from an NCATE specialty
organization recognized educator preparation program
offered by a regionally accredited college or university with
a major in marketing education; or

3.2 A bachelor’s degree from a state approved educator
preparation program offered by a regionally accredited
college or university, with a major in marketing education,
where the state approval body employed the appropriate
NASDTEC standards or NCATE specialty organization
standards; or

3.3 A bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited
college or university with a major in marketing; and 

3.3.1 A minimum of twenty-seven four (274)
semester hours of pedagogy courses from a regionally
accredited college or university to include at least three (3)
credits in each of the following:

3.3.1.1 Human Development,;
3.3.1.2 Methods of Teaching Marketing/

Business Education;
3.3.1.3 Identifying/Treating Exceptionalities,;
3.3.1.4 Effective Teaching Strategies; and 
3.3.1.5 Multicultural Education; or

3.4 A bachelor’s degree in any field and completion of
the semester hours indicated below from a regionally
accredited college or university, taken either as part of a
degree program or in addition to it, and completion of the
course work set forth in 3.3.1:

3.4.1 A minimum of eighteen (18) semester
hours in marketing, selected from the following areas: 

3.4.1.1 Visual Merchandising and Display;
3.4.1.2 Advertising/Promotional Strategies;
3.4.1.3  Economics
3.4.1.4 Management;
3.4.1.5 Retailing;
3.4.1.6 Business Law;
3.4.1.7 Fashion and Design;
3.4.1.8 Salesmanship;
3.4.1.9 Marketing;
3.4.1.10 E-marketing/Website Design;
3.4.1.11 Business Ethics;
3.4.1.12 Human Resource Management; or
3.4.1.13 Entrepreneurship.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 1555

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. §122(d)

PUBLIC NOTICE

1555 Standard Certificate Early Care And Education 
(Ages 0 - K) Teacher

 
A. Type Of Regulatory Action Requested

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation

and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE
Admin. Code 1555 Standard Certificate Early Care and
Education (Ages 0 - K) Teacher.  The regulation concerns the
requirements for certification of educational personnel,
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a).  It is necessary to amend this
regulation to align it with changes in the grade configuration
of the standard certificate for elementary teacher. The
amended regulation extends the age and grade span of the
regulation from ages 0 - K to birth – grade 2.  Course work
requirements have been modified to expand the content
knowledge required for this standard certificate.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards? The amended regulation addresses student
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achievement by establishing standards for the issuance of a 
standard certificate to educators who have acquired the 
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a 
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a 
particular category of students to help ensure that students 
are instructed by educators who are highly qualified.

2.   Will the amended regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education? The amended 
regulation helps to ensure that all teachers employed to teach 
students meet high standards and have acquired the 
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a 
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a 
particular category of students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students' health and safety are adequately protected?   The 
amended regulation addresses educator certification, not 
students’ health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all 
students' legal rights are respected? The amended regulation 
addresses educator certification, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board 
and school level?   The amended regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?   The 
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability 
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the 
same entity? The decision-making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests 
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with 
the Department of Education, and with the consent of the 
State Board of Education.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and 
not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with, 
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

 9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the new regulation?  14 Del. C. requires that 
we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the amended regulation?  There is 

no additional cost to local school boards for compliance with 
the regulation.

1555 Standard Certificate Early Care And Education 
Teacher (Ages 0 - K)

1.0 Content:  This regulation shall apply to the 
requirements for a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 
Del.C. '1220(a), for Early Care and Education Teacher (ages 
0-K).

2.0 Definitions:  The following words and terms, when 
used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill, 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. '1220(a), the 
Department shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Early 
Care and Education Teacher to an applicant who holds a 
valid Delaware Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License; or 
Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued by the 
Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the 
following requirements:

3.1 Degree Requirement
3.1.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university in any field and 45 semester 
hours of general content courses. These courses may be part 
of the Bachelor's degree, but if not, then the courses shall be 
taken in addition to the degree.

3.1.1.1 Nine semester hours of English 
including an upper level composition course and a literature 
course

3.1.1.2 Twelve semester hours of science 
including one course each in Life/Environmental, Earth/
Space and Physical Sciences

3.1.1.3 Nine semester hours of social sciences 
including World History, American History and Geography.

3.1.1.4 Nine semester hours of Mathematics
3.1.1.6 Six semester hours of Fine Arts, or

3.1.2 A Bachelor's degree from a regionally 
accredited college in the field of Education and,

3.2  Professional Education
3.2.1  An approved program in Early Care and 

Education, Birth to Kindergarten or,
3.2.2  An approved program in Primary Education 

which includes 15 semester hours of coursework, or the 
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equivalent thereof, specific to the birth to kindergarten child 
and including instruction in each of the following areas:

3.2.2.1 Children's Growth, Development and 
Learning (ages 0-3 years);

3.2.2.2 Assessment of Young Children;
3.2.2.3 Language Development and Early 

Literacy in Young children;
3.2.2.4 Family Development and Service 

Systems for Children and Families;
3.2.2.5 Three additional semester hours taken 

in one of the four areas above or in another area specifically 
related to care giving for children ages 0-3 or,

3.2.3 A minimum of 60 semester hours of 
coursework to include a total of 45 semester hours of 
specific courses to be taken in addition to the degree if not a 
part of the degree program and to include the following 
courses as specified.

3.2.3.1 Children's Growth, Development, and 
Learning (6 semester hours);

3.2.3.2 Identifying and Teaching Children with 
Exceptional Needs (6 semester hours);

3.2.3.3 Parent, Family Community Interactions 
(3 semester hours);

3.2.3.4 Early Childhood Curriculum 
Development, Content, and Implementation (15 semester 
hours);

3.2.3.5 Professional Issues in Early Childhood 
Education (3 semester hours);

3.2.3.6 Fifteen semester hours to include 3 
semester hours in each of the following areas dealing with 
children from birth to kindergarten: Children's Growth, 
Development and learning (ages 0-3 years), Assessment of 
Young Children, Language Development and Early Literacy 
in Young Children, and Family Development and Service 
Systems for Children and Families. Three additional 
semester hours taken in one of the four areas above or in 
another area specifically related to care-giving for children 
ages 0-3.

4.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 
only.  Applicants who apply for a standard certificate as an 
early care and education teacher after that date must comply 
with the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code
1516.

1555 Standard Certificate Early Childhood Teacher 
(Birth - Grade 2)

1.0 Content:
This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a 

Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. '1220(a), for 
Early Childhood Teacher (Birth - Grade 2).

2.0 Definitions
2.1  The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill, 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards 
Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of 
the State of Delaware established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§104.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. 1220(a), the Department 
shall issue a Standard Certificate as an Early Childhood 
Teacher to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware Initial, 
Continuing, or Advanced License; or Standard or 
Professional Status Certificate issued by the Department 
prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the following 
requirements:

3.1 A bachelor’s degree from an NCATE specialty 
organization recognized educator preparation program 
offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with 
a major in Early Childhood Education; or

3.2 A bachelor’s degree from a state approved educator 
preparation program offered by a regionally accredited 
college or university, with a major in Early Childhood 
Education, where the state approval body employed the 
appropriate NCATE specialty organization standards for 
early childhood teacher education; or

3.3 Passage of the appropriate PRAXIS™II test 
approved by the Standards Board and the State Board; or

3.4 A bachelor’s degree from an NCATE or state 
approved program, where the state approval body employed 
the appropriate NCATE specialty organization standards, 
offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with 
a major in Primary or Elementary Education; and 

3.4.1 At least eighteen (18) semester hours of 
course work, specific to This now totals 21 credits.  Do you 
want to change the requirement to 18 or allow some 
flexibility for folks to choose from among the stated 
courses? the birth to age five (5) child, taken either as part of 
the degree program or in addition to it, as follows:

3.4.1.1 Children’s Growth, Development and 
Learning (birth – age five (5)) (3 credits);

3.4.1.2 Early Childhood Curriculum 
Development, Assessment, Content, and Implementation (6 
credits);
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3.4.1.3 Language Development and Early 
Literacy in Young Children (3 credits);

3.4.1.4 Family Development and Service 
Systems for Children and Families (3 credits); and

3.4.1.5 Development and Programming for 
Young Children with Special Needs (3 credits); or

3.5 A bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited 
college or university in any field, and

3.5.1 A minimum of forty-five (45) semester 
hours of general content course work, taken either as part of 
the degree program or in addition to it, as follows:

3.5.1.1 English, including an upper level 
composition course and a literature course (9 semester 
hours);

3.5.1.2 A total of twelve (12) semester hours 
of science, including one course each in Life/Environmental, 
Earth/Space and Physical Sciences;

3.5.1.3 Social sciences, including world 
history, American history, political science, economics and 
geography (9 semester hours);

3.5.1.4 Mathematics (9 semester hours); and
3.5.1.5 Fine Arts or Humanities (6 semester 

hours); and
3.5.2 A minimum of thirty-nine (39) semester 

hours of course work, taken either as part of the degree 
program or in addition to it, as follows:

3.5.2.1 Children’s Growth, Development, and 
Learning (Birth – age 8) (6 semester hours);

3.5.2.2 Identifying and Teaching Children 
with Exceptional Needs (6 semester hours);

3.5.2.3 Early Childhood Curriculum 
Development, Assessment, Content, and Implementation, 
including a practicum of no less than 50 hours (Birth – age 8) 
(9 semester hours);

3.5.2.4 Professional Issues in Early 
Childhood Education (3 semester hours);

3.5.2.5 Language Development, Early 
Literacy and Reading in Young Children ( 9 semester hours);

3.5.2.6 Parent, Family Community 
Interactions (3 semester hours); and

3.5.2.7 Family Development and Service 
Systems for Children and Families ( 3 semester hours).
Will it be necessary to retain the course count option after 
2006? 

4.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30,
2006 only.  Applicants who apply for a standard certificate 
as an Early Childhood Teacher after that date must comply 
with the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 
1516.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, 

Section 122(1) and (3) a, f and j
(16 Del.C. §122 (1) & (3) a, f & j)

PUBLIC NOTICE

461 Regulations Governing the Production and Sale of 
Milk and Milk Products

Nature of the Proceedings

These regulations, State of Delaware Regulations 
Governing the Production and Sale of Milk and Milk 
Products, replace by recision the current State of Delaware 
Regulations Governing the Production and Sale of Milk and 
Milk Products adopted on March 10, 2003.

Pursuant to Title 16 Delaware Code, Chapter 1, §122 
(1) and (3) a, f and j, the Department of Health and Social 
Services intends to adopt by reference the newest version of 
the U.S. Public Health Service/Food and Drug 
Administration’s Grade A Pasteurized Milk Ordinance 2003 
Revision (PMO).  These Regulations establish standards for 
the production and sale of milk and milk products within the 
State of Delaware.

Notice of Public Hearing

The Health Systems Protection Section, Division of 
Public Health, Department of Health and Social Services 
will hold a public hearing to discuss the proposed State of 
Delaware Regulations Governing the Production and Sale of 
Milk and Milk Products.

The public hearing will be held on March 23, 2005 at 
10:00 a.m. in the 3rd Floor Conference Room of the Jesse 
Cooper Building located at the intersection of Federal and 
Water Streets in Dover Delaware. Copies of the proposed 
regulations are available for review by calling the following 
location:

Community Environmental Health (Mr. Ed Pettee)
Williams State Service Center
805 River Road
Dover, DE  19901
Telephone: (302) 739-5305

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at 
this hearing should contact Mr. David P. Walton at (302) 
744-4700 by Tuesday, March 22, 2005.  Anyone wishing to 
submit written comments as a supplement to or in lieu of oral 
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testimony can fax them to David Walton at (302) 739-6659 
or submit such comments by Thursday, March 31, 2005 to:

David P. Walton
Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903-0637

461 Regulations Governing the Production and Sale of 
Milk and Milk Products

1.0 General Provisions
1.2 Purpose

It is hereby declared that the purpose of this 
Regulation is to protect, preserve and promote the public 
health and wellbeing of the people, to minimize the 
incidence of communicable diseases and to regulate the 
inspection of dairy farms, milk and milk product plants and 
provide for the examination, labeling, pasteurization, 
distribution and sale of milk and milk products.  It is hereby 
further declared that the purpose of this Regulation is to 
establish minimum chemical, bacteriological and 
temperature standards for milk and milk products and an 
adequate level of operation and maintenance and provision 
for the administrative and enforcement thereof.

1.3 Definitions
Regulatory Agency: as defined in the PMO, Section 

1, Definition II, shall mean the Secretary, Delaware Health 
and Social Services or his official designee.

1.4 Application and Scope
The requirements of this section shall apply to the 

construction, alteration, addition, establishment maintenance 
and or the operation of all dairy farms, milk and milk 
product plants in the State of Delaware, and also to any milk 
and milk products from outside the boundaries of the state 
that are sold in Delaware.

The Regulatory Agency may grant a variance by 
modifying or waiving the requirements of these Regulations 
if in the opinion of the Regulatory Agency a health hazard or 
nuisance will not result from the variance or waiver.

Enforcement:  It shall be the duty of the Regulatory 
Agency to enforce the provisions of these Regulations

Repeal and Date of Effect:  All current or previous 
regulations or parts of regulations in conflict with these 
Regulations are hereby repealed; and these Regulations shall 
be in full force and effective on ______________.

Severability: Should any section, paragraph, 
sentence, clause or phrase of these Regulations be declared 
unconstitutional or invalid for any reason, the remainder of 
the Regulation shall not be affected in any way.

1.5 Imminent Danger to Public Health:  Suspension of 
Permit

If some condition(s) is/are determined to exist 
which present(s) an imminent health hazard to the public, the 
Regulatory Agency may suspend the operating permit of the 

facility, without hearing, for a period not to exceed ten (10) 
government business days.  The suspension shall be effective 
upon receipt of written notice by the permit holder or another 
reasonably responsible employee.  A suspension statement 
recorded on an inspection report by the inspecting 
Regulatory Agency representative constitutes written notice. 
The permit shall not be suspended for a period longer than 
ten (10) government business days without a hearing. 
Failure to hold a hearing within ten (10) government 
business days shall automatically terminate the suspension.

The permit holder of the Facility may request, in 
writing, a hearing before the Regulatory Agency at any time 
during the period of suspension, for the purpose of 
demonstrating the imminent health hazard(s) no longer exist. 
The request for hearing shall not stay the suspension.

1.6  Unsanitary Conditions: Suspension, Revocation or 
Refusal to Reissue Permit

The Regulatory Agency, may after providing an 
opportunity for a hearing, suspend, for a period not to exceed 
ninety (90) days, revoke, or recommend non-reissuance of a 
permit to operate a Facility for serious or repeated violations 
of any requirements of these Regulations or refusing access 
to representatives of the Regulatory Agency.

This section is not intended to preclude 
enforcement of this Regulation through the institution of 
court action by the Regulatory Agency.

1.7 Global Footnote Clarification
Whereas indicated in the PMO as footnote 2, page 

v, of the introduction and footnote 1, pages 1, 8, 9 and 113 of 
the body, insert “the State of Delaware”.

2.0 Grade “A” Pasteurized Milk Ordinance 2003 
Revision

This section incorporates by reference the U.S. Public 
Health Service/Food and Drug Administration’s Grade “A” 
Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2003 Revision.  For copies 
contact the Division of Public Health or the Registrar of 
Regulations.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C.  §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

TANF and Food Stamp Employment Training Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
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and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding changes to Delaware’s Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) and Food Stamp 
Employment and Training policies.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, and P.O. 
Box 906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by March 31, 
2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)

1. TANF sections 3002.1, 3002.2, 3002.3, 3002.9, 
3006.2, 3006.6, 3030 and 3031.5 have been changed to 
reflect an increase from 20 hours per week to 25 hours per 
week in the required amount of participation hours for 
workfare, education, and work hours.  This change now 
requires participants to work, participate in workfare, or 
education for 25 hours per week in order to meet 
participation requirements.  The change in the participation 
requirement is also reflected in the time limited TANF 
programs’ monthly time count.  The hours of participation 
required to stop the TANF month from counting towards the 
participant’s time limit has increased from 20 to 25.

These changes will prepare Delaware Division of 
Social Services (DSS) for TANF reauthorization and 
increase the number of participants DSS can count towards 
the mandated participation rate. 

2. TANF sections 3007 Supportive Services and 
Transitional Benefits and 3007.6 Transportation Assistance.

Transportation benefits will now be automatically 
generated by DCIS II for TANF recipients who are referred 
to a Workfare Vendor. New Castle County (NCC) 
participants will receive $5.00 per referral, Kent and Sussex 
(K/S) participants will receive $10.00 per referral. This is not 
a new practice; the existing practice will now be automated. 
This will allow for state wide consistency of Transportation 
services.

Food Stamp Employment & Training

1. Section 10007 Participation Reimbursement has 
been re-designed to accommodate Transportation 
Reimbursement, section 10007.1, Dependent Care 

Reimbursement, section 10007.2, and Supportive Services 
Reimbursement, section 10007.3.  Supportive Services 
Reimbursement is a new addition to policy.  Transportation 
and Dependent Care Reimbursement sections have been 
modified to accommodate the changes due to automating 
and consolidating the Employment and Training (E&T) 
system into the DCIS II system.  All of the above outlined 
reimbursements were, or are currently, practiced in the field. 
The consolidation of the computer systems has provided the 
opportunity to automate the majority of these procedures. 
This will provide consistent application of Transportation 
and Supportive Services participant reimbursement 
throughout the state.  Participant reimbursement for E&T 
related expenses is mandated in the Code of Federal 
Regulations.

2. Section 10007.1 Transportation
Transportation allowances have been automated. 

New Castle County (NCC) participants will receive $5.00 
allowances and Kent and Sussex (K/S) participants will 
receive $10.00.  This maintains consistency between the FS 
and TANF transportation services.

Transportation allowances will be automatically 
issued upon successful completion of the Independent Job 
Search (IJS) Log and verified monthly attendance at a One 
Stop facility.

The FS E&T participants will have the ability to 
request more Transportation funds in addition to the initial 
$5.00 or $10.00 allowances when the additional expense is 
verified.

3. Section 10007.3 Supportive Services
Supportive Services were offered initially prior to 

redesign.  There are no policies in place that reflect these 
services.  For consistency the previous TANF Supportive 
Services categories and limits have been used for the FS 
E&T and work related participant expenses.  

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-05
REVISIONS:

3002.1 Two-Parent Families - Time Limit, Temporary 
Welfare Program

A.)  Delaware's Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families Program (TANF), cash benefits are time-limited for 
households headed by two employable adults age 18 or older 
who are included in the grant. For households applying on or 
after 01/01/2000, the lifetime time limit will be thirty-six 
(36) cumulative months.  Families will receive these benefits 
only through participation in a pay-after-performance work 
experience position or if the adults are working at least 20 25
hours per week and the family has countable income is 
below the need standard.

Time limits apply when three conditions are met:

• the caretaker is included in the grant,
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• the caretaker is age 19 or older,
• the caretaker is employable, and

When one or more of the conditions listed above is not 
met, the family receives benefits in the non-time limited 
program known as the Children’s Program.

3002.2 Single Parent / Non-Parent Caretaker Families
Delaware's Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 

Program (TANF), cash benefits are time-limited for 
households headed by an employable adult age 18 or older 
who is included in the grant.  For households applying on or 
after 01/01/2000, the lifetime time limit will be thirty-six 
(36) cumulative months.  Families will receive benefits only 
through participation in a pay-after-performance work 
experience position or if the adult is working at least 20 25
hours per week and the family has countable income is
below the need standard.

Time limits apply when four conditions are met:

• the caretaker is included in the grant;
• the caretaker is age 19 or older;
• the caretaker is employable; and

When one or more of the conditions listed above is not 
met, the family receives benefits in the non-time-limited 
program known as the Children’s Program.

3002.3 Time Limits For Single Parent and Two Parent 
Families On Assistance Prior To 01/01/2000

If a family was headed by an employable adult age 18 or 
older who was included in the grant and received Delaware’s 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program (TANF) 
cash benefits prior to 01/01/2000 they had a forty-eight (48) 
cumulative month time limit. This lifetime limit will still 
apply for those families.  After twenty-four (24) cumulative 
months these families can only receive benefits if the adult is 
working at least twenty twenty-five hours per week or 
through participation in a pay-after-performance work 
experience position.  The family must still have countable 
income that is below the need standard.  Families with a 
forty-eight (48) month cumulative time limit who reapply for 
assistance on or after 01/01/2000 can only receive benefits if 
the adult is working at least twenty twenty-five hours per 
week or if through participation in a pay-after-performance 
work experience position.

Here are some examples:
1. Example:

A family initially began receiving TANF on 08/01/
97.  The TANF case was closed 06/30/1998.  The family 
applied for and received TANF benefits while the time limit 
was forty-eight months.  The family used eleven (11) months 
of time limited TANF benefits.  The family reapplies for 
benefits 02/01/2000.  The family can receive up to thirty-

seven (37) more cumulative months of TANF benefits in the 
time-limited program if and only if:

• the employable adult is working at least twenty
twenty -five hours per week; or

• by participating in a pay-after-performance work 
experience position; and

• the family still has countable income that is below 
the need standard.

2. Example:
A family had not received TANF benefits prior to 

01/01/2000.  The family applies for and it opened in TANF 
03/01/2000.  The family can only receive TANF benefits for 
up to thirty-six (36 cumulative months and only if:

• the employable adult is working at least twenty
twenty-five hours per week; or

• by participating in a pay-after-performance work 
experience position; and

• the family still has countable income that is below 
the need standard.

See 3002.3 Time Limits For Those On Assistance Prior 
To 01/01/2000 - History

3002.9 Exceptions To The Time Limit Counter
The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity 

Reconciliation Act of 1996 calls for a maximum sixty (60) 
month lifetime limit on the receipt of Temporary Assistance 
For Needy Families (TANF) benefits.  A family that has an 
employable adult will be able to receive cash benefits that do 
not count to the State’s thirty-six (36) month or forty-eight 
(48) month time limit if:

• The adult is working for twenty (20) hours twenty-
five (25) or more hours per week; and

• The countable income of the family is still below 
the need standard. 

The Federal time limit does not apply in these cases. 

3006.2 TANF Employment and Training Participation 
Rates

Under the Temporary Assistance For Needy Families 
Block Grant, DSS is required to meet the following work 
participation rates with respect to all families that include an 
adult or minor child head of household receiving assistance:

  ALL FAMILIES            TWO-PARENT FAMILIES          

Fiscal Year Minimum Fiscal Year Minimum 
Participation Rate     Participation Rate

1997 25 1997 75
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1998 30 1998                       75
1999 35 1999 and after      90
2000 - - 40
2001 - - 45
2002 and after      50

DSS may face a lower work participation rate if it 
experiences a net caseload reduction compared to FY 1995.

Example:  If it is determined that DSS' average monthly 
caseload in FY 1997 was 4 percentage points lower than 
average monthly caseloads in FY 1996, then, rather than 
having to meet at 30% work participation rate requirement in 
FY 1998, the rate would be lowered by 4 percentage points 
to 26%.

To be counted toward meeting the work participation 
rate, each individual must meet the minimum number of 
hours averaged over a month. This differs from the old JOBS 
requirement in which the hours were averaged among 
participants, and where participants only had to meet at least 
75% of the scheduled hours.

Example:  Under JOBS, if Ms. Jones was scheduled for 
20 hours and attended 15, she was counted as having 
participated for 20 hours.  Under TANF, Ms. Jones would 
fail to meet her 20 hours requirement, and DSS could not 
count her as participating.  In addition, under JOBS, you 
could pair participants and combine their hours to get more 
participants to the 20 hour level.  For instance, one 
participant working 25 hours could be paired with one 
participant working 15 hours to get two participants.  Under 
TANF, only one participant could count as having met the 20 
25 hour rule.

The monthly participation rate is calculated as follows:
Numerator:  # of families receiving assistance that 

include adult or minor head of household who is engaged in 
work for the requisite hours

divided by

Denominator:  # of families that include an adult or a 
minor child head of household receiving assistance, less # of 
families sanctioned in that month for failure to participate in 
work (for up to 3 months in preceding 12 month period), less 
the number of non-needy caretaker households, less the 
number of temporarily incapacitated households, less the 
number of mothers with a child under 13 weeks old.

3006.6 Senate Bill 101- 1997 and Employment & 
Training Activities

Under Senate Bill 101- 1997, persons who must 
participate in Delaware's Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families Program, can qualify for participation purposes if 
they are engaged in secondary education, post-secondary 
education up to the baccalaureate level, adult basic education 
or vocational training. Participants must meet the following 

Senate Bill 101-1997 requirements in order to meet 
participation rates. 

(a) Persons who qualify for assistance under 
Delaware’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
program shall be eligible to participate in adult basic 
education, secondary education, post-secondary education 
up to the baccalaureate level, adult basic education or 
vocational training, as an approved work activity provided 
each of the following requirements are met:

1. The person does not hold a baccalaureate 
degree.

2. The secondary, post-secondary education up to 
the baccalaureate level, or vocational training is pursued 
through an accredited or approved school program.

3. The person is enrolled with enough credit 
hours to have full-time student status and is in good standing 
as it relates to attendance and achievement as defined by the 
program the person is attending.

4. If the person attending school would otherwise 
be subject to a work requirement in order to receive 
assistance under TANF, the combination of credit hours and 
work hours shall equal at least 25 hours per week while the 
program is in session. This work requirement may be met 
through work-study, internships, externships, or through 
work as a research assistant. If possible, during scheduled 
breaks, the work requirement will be the same as for other 
program participants, with work experience related to the 
field of study. However, if the student is enrolled full-time 
for the next semester and work activity placement cannot be 
arranged for the duration of the break in classes, it may be 
excused.

For every 1 credit hour count 1.5 hours of 
study as part of the fulfillment of the required work 
participation hours. Therefore if a persons full-time status is 
12 credit hours count the 12 hours plus an additional 18 
hours (12 x 1.5=18) for a total of 30 hours of weekly 
participation.

(b) Loans, scholarships, grants and work-study 
received by the recipient to   pay for tuition and materials are 
excluded in determination of eligibility for assistance under 
TANF or the amount of assistance received by the recipient.

(c) The Department of Health and Social Services shall 
advise all persons of this section at application interviews 
and, at a minimum, at each recertification appointment.

(d) Persons attending education and training programs 
under this section shall receive support services, such as 
assistance with transportation and child care, while they 
attend the educational or vocational training program on the 
same basis as support services are provided other persons 
who are receiving assistance under TANF.

(e) If program completion will occur within one 
semester or quarter after the time limit expires, an extension 
may be granted for that semester or quarter.
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(f) Persons sanctioned while attending educational or 
vocational programs shall be afforded the same due process 
as provided other persons under TANF.

3007 TANF Supportive Services and Transitional 
Benefits

The Division will ensure that Supportive Services are 
available.  The Division will ensure the availability of these 
services, to the extent it determines they are necessary for a 
recipient to participate.  

Currently child care is provided in accordance with 
child care policy in DSSM 11000. Transportation assistance 
is provided in accordance with DSSM 3007.6. All other 
supportive services are included and provided by the vendors 
as specified in the employment contracts.

Support services based on the actual cost of services. 
The limit is imposed when the cost exceeds the maximum 
allowed.  Participants are not automatically entitled to the 
maximum cost.  Support services are paid or reimbursed to 
the participant based on the verified actual amount and the 
participant's need.

All other Supportive Services are included and provided 
by the vendor as specified in the employment contracts.

3007.6 Transportation Assistance
Transportation assistance will be paid to participants 

who are referred to the TANF E&T Workfare Vendor to 
assist with the transportation costs incurred during the initial 
contact with the Workfare Vendor.

Participants residing in New Castle County will receive 
a $5.00 Transportation assistance check.

Participants residing in Kent and Sussex Counties will 
receive a $10.00 Transportation assistance check.

The Transportation checks will be sent automatically by 
DICS II after Confirmation. Replacement checks can be 
issued by the supervisor after the completion of the affidavit.

3031 Work For Your Welfare
All two-parent households, who are without 

employment, must enter a Work For Your Welfare activity to 
qualify for benefits.  Single-parent adult recipients who 
reach their 22nd month of benefit and are without 
employment, and all eligible applicants on or after 01/01/
2000, must enter a Work For Your Welfare activity to qualify 
for benefits. Additionally, all TANF recipients who are 
employed must have regular earnings of the current federal 
minimum wage at twenty-five hours per week. (The current 
federal minimum wage is $5.15 per hour, which at 25 hours 
per week equals $128.75 per week earnings.) A person who 
is employed but not earning at least the equivalent of the 
current federal minimum wage at twenty-five hours per 
week will be considered mandatory for Work for Your 
Welfare. A contracted worker must receive his or her wages 
on a regular basis to be exempted from this requirement.

Work for Your Welfare is defined as a work experience 
program in which participants work to earn their benefits.  In 
addition, DSS requires each participant to complete 10 hours 
of job search activity per week.  The failure to complete job 
search as required will result in a progressive 1/3 sanction. 
For two parent households, one parent must participate in the 
Work For Your Welfare program in order to earn benefits. 
The second parent, unless exempt, must also participate in 
required employment related activities as defined by DSS 
and the DSS contractor.

3031.5 Ending a Work For Welfare Placement
Work for welfare placements will end when any of the 

following circumstances occur:

• The participant secures a full-time, non-subsidized 
job or a part-time, non-subsidized job of 20 25
hours or more.

• The participant becomes exempt. Exemptions, 
however, can only occur if DSS declares 
participants unemployable, using   the standard 
TANF definition for unemployable.  In this case, 
DSS will transfer the participants to the Children’s 
Program under TANF.

• The participant requests an end to benefits 
payments.

• When the time limit has been reached.

NOTE:  Participants in either one parent or two parent 
households are exempt from work for your welfare 
participation if a parent is working 20  25 or more hours per 
week in a non-subsidized job.  

10007   E&T Non ABAWD Participant Reimbursement 
Participants are reimbursed for necessary expenses 

incurred in while fulfilling Food Stamp Employment and 
Training requirements or obtaining/maintaining 
employment. as follows Reimbursements are available in the 
following areas:

 A. up to $30 per participant, per month, for 
transportation and Transportation as defined in 10007.1.

 B. up to $496.65 per month for dependents under age 
2; or $521.60 per month for dependents with special needs 
under the age of 2; and

up to $370.88 per month for dependents over 2, or 
$389.36 per month for dependents with special needs over 2.
Dependent care expenses as defined in 10007.2.

C. Support Services as defined in 10007.3.
The amounts noted represent the statewide limits DSS 

has set for its TANF Child Care programs.  DSS elects to set 
its Food Stamp Employment and Training dependent care 
rates comparable to its TANF child care rates.  The federal 
share of these statewide limits does not exceed half of the 
amounts noted.
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DSS provides dependent care services through licensed 
care and exempt facilities.  The types of care provided 
include:  full-time care, before/after school care, and 
extended child care in either a family/group home or child 
care center.

When a Food Stamp Employment and Training work 
registrant needs dependent care to participate or continue 
participating in a component activity, offer the work 
registrant an option of using a child care facility with a 
contract with DSS or any other licensed or exempt facility a 
registrant might choose.  Monthly child care providers 
submit attendance reports to the Division of Management 
Services, Payment Section.  The Payment Section enters the 
attendance data in the Child Care Management Information 
System which makes payment to providers based on 
attendance and the prescribed Food Stamp Employment and 
Training dependent care formula.

Transportation, Dependent Care and Supportive 
Services payments are for all E&T mandatory or voluntary 
Non ABAWD participants.

10007.1   Method of Reimbursement for Non-Dependent 
Care Costs Transportation

The State agency elects to reimburse participants for 
transportation and costs other than dependent care based on 
an initial allowance plus actual verified expenses incurred 
beyond the initial allowance.  

The total cost per participant per month is a 
reimbursement amount equal to the initial allowance plus
actual costs documented by the participant that are above the 
initial allowance, but not exceeding the standard amount of 
$30. $30.00. Transportation reimbursement is given for 
those participants residing beyond a ten block radius from 
the place of work for urban areas, and 1/4 mile radius for 
rural areas, except in extenuating circumstances such as 
physical impairment.  Contract providers and Case 
Managers are responsible for providing payments to 
participants.

Upon successful completion of the IJS log the 
participant will automatically receive a system generated 
transportation allowance.  The allowance is $5.00 for New 
Castle County (NCC) and $10.00 for Kent and Sussex (K/S).

Upon computer verified participation at a DOL One 
Stop Service Center the participant will automatically 
receive a system generated transportation allowance.  The 
allowance is $5.00 for NCC and $10.00 for K/S. 

Participants can receive only one transportation 
allowance check per month to attend the One Stop Service 
Center regardless of the number of times they go to the One 
Stop Service Center.  Participants can only receive one 
transportation allowance check per month.  If the participant 
completes an IJS log and goes to the One Stop Service 
Center in the same month they will only receive one 
allowance check.

A participant may be reimbursed additional monies if 
the participant brings in verification of the actual expenses 
that were above the initial $5.00 or $10.00 allowance.  The 
total monthly reimbursement should not exceed $30.00.

Any monthly total exceeding $30.00 must be verified 
and approved by a supervisor.

Depending on the individual's circumstances, an 
advance allowance or reimbursement after incurred expenses 
is provided.  All records are maintained by contract 
providers and DSS. Providers attach supporting 
documentation to their monthly expenditure report to justify 
participant reimbursement expense. Reimbursement of 
participant expenses may not exceed $30 per month per 
participant.

10007.2 Dependent Care Reimbursement
Dependent Care reimbursement can be authorized when 

a Food Stamp Employment and Training participant needs 
dependent care to participate in an E&T component or 
employment.

Dependent Care expenses are determined by the 
approved Purchase of Care program fee scale.

DSS provides dependent care services through licensed 
and exempt facilities.  The types of care provided include: 
full-time care, before/after school care, and extended child 
care in either a family/group home or child care center.

Offer the participant an option of using a child care 
facility with a contract with DSS or any other licensed or 
exempt facility a registrant might choose.  Monthly Child 
care providers submit monthly attendance reports to the 
Division of Management Services, Payment Section.  The 
Payment Section enters the attendance data in the Child Care 
Management Information System which makes payment to 
providers based on attendance and the prescribed Food 
Stamp Employment and Training dependent care formula.   

Dependent Care can be authorized to a voluntary 
participant. 

Example:
An 18 year old High School graduate with a 3 year 

old child can volunteer for the E&T program and receive 
child care for either work hours or school hours.

10007.3 Supportive Services Reimbursements
All Supportive Services reimbursements/payments must 

be actual costs that are necessary for Employment and 
Training participation or obtaining employment.  They must 
be verified and documented.

Supportive Services reimbursements /payments can be 
provided under the following categories;

A. Fees
These services can include licenses such as 

Commercial Drivers License and Nurses licenses, testing for 
employment or education (this includes GED test fees), or 
other fees directly related to training or employment. 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 9, TUESDAY, MARCH 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1262
 Monetary Limit of Service / Expense:  Verified 
actual cost up to $200.00 per individual, per month as 
determined by need.

B. Clothing
These services can include clothes that are 

appropriate for interviewing or the first few days of 
employment.

Monetary Limit of Service / Expense:  Verified 
actual cost up to $150.00 per individual. This is a one time 
only service.

C. Accessories for Work or Training
These services can include purchase of safety 

equipment, uniforms, shoes, or tools required to participate 
in training or work.  The need in some cases can be verified 
by Office of Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 
regulations.

Monetary Limit of Service / Expense:  Verified 
actual cost up to $150.00 per individual, per month as 
determined by need.

D. Physical Exam
This service can be authorized when a participant is 

required to undergo a physical exam to participate in training 
or accept employment and such exam is not available 
through a public health facility or covered by Medicaid.

Monetary Limit of Service / Expense:  Verified 
actual cost up to $100.00 per individual, per month as 
determined by need.

E. Dental Services
This service is only necessary when a participant's dental 
condition poses a significant barrier to employment.

Monetary Limit of Service / Expense:  Verified 
actual cost up to $400.00 per individual, per month as 
determined by need.

F. Eye exams and eyeglasses
When the assessment indicates the participant’s vision is 
impaired, or when the individual needs glasses to continue in 
a component or job.  This does not include contact lenses 
unless they are medically necessary.

Monetary Limit of Service / Expense:  Verified 
actual cost up to $200.00 per individual, per month as 
determined by need.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C.  §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Long Term Care Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding the Long Term Care Program. The 
proposal gives direction on counting annuities for the 
eligibility process.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by March 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of The Proposed Change

Citation

20 CFR §416.1201(a) - Resources
Adds a new rule at DSSM 20330.4.1 that addresses 

annuities and how they count towards the eligibility process.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-07
NEW:

20330.4.1 Annuities
An annuity is a financial device that conveys a right to 

receive periodic payments for life or a fixed number of 
months or years.  While the annuity itself may or may not be 
an available resource, the stream of income generated by the 
annuity is a countable asset.  If there is a market to purchase 
the annuity stream of income it is considered to be available 
for the applicant’s or spouse’s support and maintenance.  See 
20 CFR 416.1201 (a).

To calculate the value of the annuity’s stream of income 
use the amount at which the annuity was originally 
purchased and subtract all payments received to date.  The 
remainder is the value of the annuity’s income stream.  The 
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annuity income stream must be sold at Fair Market Value. 
See DSSM 20350.1.7.

An annuity purchased by a third party, e.g., the 
applicant’s employer, as a retirement benefit to the applicant 
is not counted as an available resource.  However, the 
income generated from a third party annuity is counted as 
income.

An annuity that is revocable is always a countable 
resource.  Revocable annuities are able to be converted to 
cash.

Spouses that claim the income allowance is inadequate 
to meet the needs of the Community Spouse may request 
additional resources be set aside to bring their income up to 
the minimum maintenance needs allowance.  These requests 
MUST go through the fair hearing process in order to retain 
excess resources for their protected income share.  See 
DSSM 20970 and 42 USC 1396r-5(e).  In these cases, at the 
death of the annuity’s owner, the beneficiary of the annuity 
must be the estate of the Medicaid recipient.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C.  §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Attendant Services Waiver Program (ASWP)

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding the Attendant Services Waiver Program 
(ASWP). 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, and P.O. 
Box 906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by March 31, 
2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Change

The Attendant Services Waiver Program (ASWP) is a 
community-based services program funded by the Division 
of Social Services (DSS), Delaware Medical Assistance 
Program (DMAP) and operated by the Division of Services 
for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities (DSAAPD). 

The proposal sets forth the rules and regulations 
governing the administration of the ASWP, and describes the 
types of services available under the program.  The 
regulations being proposed would also define the eligibility 
criteria that must be met by applicants for the services and 
the scope of services available to eligible applicants. 

The earliest effective date for the ASWP is October 1, 
2004.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #05-08
NEW:

20700.6  Attendant Services Waiver
The Attendant Services Waiver (ASW) is a home and 

community based services program that will be managed by 
the Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical 
Disabilities (DSAAPD). The purpose of the Wavier is to 
minimize the likelihood of institutionalization and maximize 
the potential for independent living for adults with physical 
disabilities. This program is a consumer directed support 
program. Participants will have the opportunity to hire and 
train their own attendants and serve as the employer of 
record for these attendants. DSAAPD staff will provide 
initial intake, assessment, service authorization, and wavier 
service plan.  The Division of Social Services (DSS) will be 
responsible for determining financial eligibility for the 
Waiver.  The effective date is October 1, 2004.

20700.6.1 Eligibility Criteria
To be eligible for this program, individuals must:

• Be a resident of the state of Delaware
• Be 18 years of age or older
• Meet the financial and medical criteria for DSS 

Long Term Care Medicaid Program
• Medical criteria must meet nursing facility 

admission standards
• Meet the ASW criteria as determined by DSAAPD

• Financial eligibility is determined by DSS
• Medical eligibility is determined by the Pre-
Admission Screening Unit of DSAAPD
• Program eligibility is determined by DSAAPD. 

An individual must meet ALL of the following criteria:

• have an anatomical/physical deficit anticipated to 
last 12 months or more
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• be medically stable 
• have ability to self-direct or have a surrogate who 

can support the client in making decisions

Priority will be applicants who are:

• persons who, with an attendant, can complete an 
education, or can attain or retain gainful 
employment;

• persons with greater environmental, social 
supportive and financial capacity constraints, 
especially those with constraints in all three areas;

• persons living in costly, congregate living facilities 
who could live independently and more cost 
effectively if they had attendants.

20700.6.2 Number Of Recipeints
There are a maximum number of recipients who may be 

served under the ASW each fiscal year. The total 
unduplicated number of recipients served under the program 
cannot exceed the maximum number approved by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). 
DSAAPD will monitor the number of individuals receiving 
ASW so the maximum number will not be exceeded. 

20700.6.3 Cost Effective Requirement
In order for an applicant to be eligible for the ASW, the 

applicant’s cost of care cannot exceed the cost if the same 
applicant were institutionalized.  This determination is made 
on an aggregate basis which considers all ASW recipients. 
A DSAAPD worker determines cost effectiveness. 

20700.6.4 Approval
Upon approval, DSS will send a notice of approval to 

the applicant or his representative.  The notice will include 
the effective date of coverage and the patient pay amount if 
any.  The client’s start date is determined by DSAAPD staff.

20700.6.5 Post Eligibility Budgeting
For recipients in the ASW the personal needs allowance 

is equal to 250% of the Federal SSI Benefit Rate.  Collection 
of the patient pay amount from the recipient or the 
recipient’s representative is the responsibility of the provider 
who is administering the most costly service.

20700.6.6 Hospitalization Or Illness
Waiver services will terminate upon the 31st 

consecutive day of hospitalization.  There are no Medicaid 
bed hold days for hospitalization. DSS will redetermine 
eligibility for continued Medicaid coverage.  Waiver services 
may restart after hospital discharge as determined by 
DSAAPD staff.  

20700.6.7 ASW Services
The Attendant Services Waiver will include the 

following:

• Attendant Services
• Adult Day Health
• Respite
• Equipment/Supplies
• Emergency Response Systems
• Supports Brokerage

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,

Sections 311(a) and 2304(1) 
(18 Del.C. §§311(a) and 2304(1))

18 DE Admin. Code 702

702 Required Disclosures For Residential Homeowners 
Policies

PUBLIC NOTICE

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN 
hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING will be held 
on Wednesday, March 30, 2005 at 10:00 a.m. in the 
Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware 
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware. The hearing is to receive public comment on 
proposed Regulation 702 relating to REQUIRED 
DISCLOSURES FOR RESIDENTIAL 
HOMEOWNERS POLICIES.

The purpose for proposing Regulation 702 is to require 
insurance companies to deliver a separate form to 
policyholders on an annual basis explaining information 
about coverage limitations. That form would, among other 
things: explain that Delaware homeowners insurance does 
not cover flood damage, and will explain to the homeowner 
how flood insurance can be obtained; explain how to assure 
replacement coverage; explain limitations on reimbursement 
for theft from the home and how to obtain additional 
coverage for theft; and to require explanations for an 
insurer’s decision not to renew a homeowner’s policy at the 
end of the term.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 18 
Del.C. §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures 
Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited 
from any interested party. Comments may be in writing or 
may be presented orally at the hearing. Written comments, 
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed 
change to the regulation must be received by the Department 
of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Tuesday, March 29, 
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2005, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney General 
Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, or sent by fax to 
302.739.5566 or email to michael.rich@state.de.us.

702 Required Disclosures For Residential Homeowners 
Policies

1.0 Authority
This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner 

pursuant to 18 Del. C. §§ 311(a) and 2304(1). It is 
promulgated in accordance with 29 Del. C. Chapter 101.  

2.0 Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to ensure that 

homeowners insurance policyholders are aware that they are 
not insured for certain types risks or claims, to the extent that 
they do not have such coverage.  This regulation does not 
mandate any coverage by any carrier issuing homeowners 
insurance in the State of Delaware.

3.0 Applicability
This regulation shall apply to homeowners insurance 

policies.  A homeowners insurance policy for purposes of 
this regulation means a property or casualty contract of 
insurance covering residential properties as defined by 18 
Del. C. § 4120.

4.0 Requirement of Disclosure
Insurers, upon initial delivery of a homeowners policy 

terms and declaration page, and not less than once annually 
after delivery, shall provide a form to the policyholder 
entitled “Important Information About Your Homeowners 
Insurance.”  The title of the document shall be in at least 30 
point type.

5.0 Content of Disclosure
5.1 Each form presented pursuant to Section 4.0 of this 

Regulation shall make the following disclosures:
5.1.1 Disclosure that the policy does not cover 

damage caused by flooding, and sufficient information to 
allow the policyholder to contact the National Flood 
Insurance Program in order to purchase flood insurance if so 
desired.  The following language shall be sufficient to ensure 
compliance with this subsection 5.1: “This policy does not 
cover damage to your property caused by flooding.  Flood 
insurance is available for communities and property that 
participate in the National Flood Insurance Program 
(“NFIP”).  Not all communities participate in the NFIP. 
Flood insurance may be available even if you do not live in a 
flood hazard area as defined by the NFIP.  Please call the 
NFIP at 1-800-427-4661 to see if your community and 
property are eligible for coverage.  If your community does 
not participate in the NFIP, you may contact your insurance 

agent or broker to see if there is other flood insurance 
coverage available to you.”  The disclosure may also inform 
the policyholder that the insurer offers flood insurance as a 
participant in the NFIP’s “Write Your Own” program.  The 
disclosure required by this subsection shall be entitled 
“Flood Insurance,” and the subsection title shall be in at least 
18 point type.

5.1.2 Disclosure that the policy may not cover 
the full cost of replacement without depreciation of the 
property, and sufficient information to allow the 
policyholder to purchase such coverage from the carrier if it 
is offered by the carrier.  The following language shall be 
sufficient to ensure compliance with this subsection 5.2: 
“This policy may not cover the full cost of replacing your 
home if your home should be destroyed in an event 
otherwise covered by this policy.  If this is the case, you may 
purchase additional coverage from us sufficient to cover the 
full cost of replacing your home, at an additional cost.”  The 
disclosure required by this subsection shall be entitled 
“Replacing Your Home,” and the subsection title shall be in 
at least 18 point type.

5.1.3 Disclosure of any limitations in the policy 
regarding reimbursement for items stolen from the property, 
including but not limited to jewelry, furs, fine art, etc. and 
sufficient information to allow the policyholder to purchase 
insurance which would not contain such limitation if such 
coverage is offered by the insurer.  The following language 
shall be sufficient to ensure compliance with this subsection 
5.3: “This policy may not cover the full value of certain 
items stolen from your home.  Please carefully review your 
policy to determine which items stolen from your home are 
not covered by this policy.”  The disclosure required by this 
subsection shall be entitled “Reimbursement for Stolen 
Items,” and the subsection title shall be in at least 18 point 
type.

5.1.4 Disclosure of factors and conditions 
considered by the insurer regarding non-renewal of the 
policy on the basis of claims asserted by the policyholder. 
The following language shall be sufficient to ensure 
compliance with this subsection 5.4: “Certain events may 
lead to the non-renewal of your homowners policy.  Those 
factors include, but are not limited to:  (list factors and 
conditions that are likely to cause non-renewal of a 
policyholder’s policy).  Be sure to contact (the company or) 
your insurance agent to learn more.” The disclosure required 
by this subsection shall be entitled “Non-Renewal of Your 
Policy,” and the subsection title shall be in at least 18 point 
type.

5.2 Where a policy provides full coverage for any of 
the items required by sections 5.1.1 through 5.1.3, the 
insurer may indicate that the disclosure, as to each such item, 
is not applicable or “N/A.”
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 9, TUESDAY, MARCH 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1266
6.0 Review and Approval of Forms
 All form required by this regulation shall be submitted 
to and approved by the Commissioner, or his representative, 
pursuant to 18 Del. C. § 2712 et seq.

7.0 Separability
If any provision of this regulation, or the application of 

any such provision to any person or circumstances, shall be 
held invalid, the remainder of such provisions, and the 
application of such provisions to any person or circumstance 
other than those as to which it is held invalid, shall not be 
affected.

8.0 Causes of Action
This regulation shall not create, nor form the basis for, a 

cause of action for any person or entity, other than the 
Delaware Department of Insurance, against any insurer for 
violation of the provisions hereof.

9.0 Effective Date  
The effective date of this regulation shall be July 1, 

2005.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

REGISTER NOTICE

7408 TMDL’s For The Murderkill River Watershed

1. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance, and Issues
The Department of Natural Resources and 

Environmental Control (DNREC) is proposing to amend the 
2001 Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulation for 
the Murderkill River Watershed, Delaware.   A TMDL sets a 
limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged into 
a waterbody and still protect water quality. TMDLs are 
composed of three components including Waste Load 
Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load 
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of 
Safety (MOS) to account for uncertainties and future growth.

The proposed amendments are the result of additional 
technical studies and field work that has shown that the 2001 
Murderkill River TMDL Regulation should be amended.

2. Possible Terms of the Agency Action
Following adoption of the proposed amendments to the 

2001 Murderkill River Total Maximum Daily Loads, 
DNREC will develop a Pollution Control Strategy (PCS) to 
achieve the necessary load reductions. The PCS will identify 
specific pollution reduction activities and timeframes and 
will be developed in concert with the Murderkill River 
Tributary Action Team, other stakeholders, and the public.

3. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act
The authority to develop a TMDL is provided by Title 7 

of the Delaware Code, Chapter 60, and Section 303(d) of 
the Federal Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251 et. seq., as 
amended.

4. Other Legislation That May be Impacted
None

5. Notice of Public Comment
A public hearing will be held at 6:00 p.m., April 7, 

2005, at the Felton Fire Hall, 9 East Main Street, Felton, 
Delaware.   If you cannot attend the hearing, you are 
encouraged to submit written comments well in advance of 
the hearing date.  All written and oral comments must be 
received by the conclusion of the hearing.  The hearing 
record will close at the conclusion of the hearing.  Please 
send written comments to Hassan Mirsajadi, DNREC/
Division of Water Resources, Watershed Assessment 
Section, Silver Lake Plaza – Suite 220, 820 Silver Lake 
Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904-2464, (302) 739-4590, 
facsimile: (302) 739-6140, email: 
(Hassan.Mirsajadi@state.de.us). You are encouraged to 
submit comments electronically.

Copies of the proposed amended regulation and 
supporting technical document are available at the 
Department’s website at http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/
water2000/Sections/Watershed/TMDL/tmdlinfo.htm
or may be obtained by contacting Hassan Mirsajadi.

6. Prepared By:
Hassan Mirsajadi, Watershed Assessment Branch, 739-

4590

Proposed Amendment of the 2001 Total Maximum Daily 
Loads (TMDLs) for  the Murderkill River Watershed, 

Delaware

Introduction And Background

On December 2001, the Cabinet Secretary of the 
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control (DNREC) issued Order No. 2001-A-
0044 adopting a Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) 
Regulation for nutrients and oxygen consuming compounds 
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for the entire Murderkill River Watershed.  The TMDLs, 
which are developed in compliance with requirements of 
Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act (CWA), establish 
maximum amounts of pollutants that can be discharged to a 
waterbody from point and nonpoint sources while 
maintaining water quality standards.  The TMDLs include 
Waste Load Allocations (WLAs) for point sources, Load 
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of 
Safety (MOS).

Following adoption of the Murderkill River TMDLs 
Regulation in December 2001, Kent County Levy Court, 
which owns and operates the Kent County Facility, appealed 
the TMDLs Regulation for the lower Murderkill River to the 
State Environmental Appeal Board and State Superior Court. 
As a result of settlement negotiations, which have been 
concluded, and additional technical studies, the Department 
concluded that the original hydrodynamic and water quality 
WASP5 model of the Murderkill River needed to be refined. 
Following refinement of the WASP5 model and evaluation 
of several loading scenarios, DNREC is proposing to amend 
the 2001 TMDLs Regulation.

7408 TMDLs for the Murderkill River Watershed

1.0 Introduction and Background
1.1 Intensive water quality monitoring performed by 

Delaware Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control (DNREC) has shown that the waters 
of the Murderkill River and several of its tributaries and 
ponds are impaired as the result of low dissolved oxygen and 
high nutrients. Low concentrations of dissolved oxygen are 
harmful to fish, shellfish, and other aquatic life. With regard 
to nutrients (nitrogen and phosphorus), although they are 
essential elements for both plants and animals, their presence 
in excessive amounts causes undesirable conditions. 
Symptoms of nutrient overenrichment include frequent 
phytoplankton blooms, decreased water clarity, dissolved 
oxygen deficiency, alteration of composition and diversity of 
economically important native species of plants and animals, 
and possible human health effects.   

1.2 A reduction in the amount of nutrients and oxygen 
consuming pollutants reaching the waters of the Murderkill 
River and its tributaries and ponds is necessary to reverse 
these undesirable impacts. These pollutants and nutrients 
enter the waters of the Murderkill River from point sources 
and nonpoint sources.   Point sources are end-of-pipe 
discharges from municipal or industrial wastewater 
treatment plants. Nonpoint sources include runoff from 
agricultural and urban areas, septic tank effluent, and ground 
water discharges.

1.3 Section 303(d) of the Federal Clean Water Act 
(CWA) requires states to develop a list (303(d) List) of 
waterbodies for which existing pollution control activities 
are not sufficient to attain applicable water quality criteria 

and to develop Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for 
pollutants of concern. A TMDL sets a limit on the amount of 
a pollutant that can be discharged into a waterbody and still 
protect water quality. TMDLs are composed of three 
components, including Waste Load Allocations (WLAs) for 
point source discharges, Load Allocations (LAs) for 
nonpoint sources, and a Margin of Safety (MOS) to account 
for uncertainties and future growth.   

1.4 DNREC listed the Murderkill River and several of 
its tributaries and ponds on the Delaware’s 1996, 1998, and 
2000 303(d) Lists and proposes the following Total 
Maximum Daily Load regulation for nitrogen, phosphorous, 
and Carbonaceous Biochemical Oxygen Demand (CBOD). 

2.0 Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulation 
for the Murderkill River Watershed, Delaware

Article 1. The total nitrogen load from the four point 
source facilities in the watershed (City of Harrington, Kent 
County Facility, Canterbury Crossing Mobile Home Park, 
and Southwood Acres Mobile Home Park) shall be limited to 
406.3 pounds per day. The load allocation for each facility 
includes: City of Harrington (25 pounds per day), Kent 
County Facility (375 pounds per day), Canterbury Crossing 
Mobile Home Park (4.3 pounds per day), and Southwood 
Acres Mobile Home Park (2.0 pounds per day). 

Article 2. The total phosphorous load from the four 
point source facilities in the watershed shall be limited to 
27.3 pounds per day. The load allocation for each facility 
includes: City of Harrington (2 pounds per day), Kent 
County Facility (25 pounds per day), Canterbury Crossing 
Mobile Home Park (0.2 pounds per day), and Southwood 
Acres Mobile Home Park (0.1 pounds per day).

Article 3. The CBOD5 (5-day Carbonaceous 
Biochemical Oxygen Demand) load from the four point 
source facilities in the watershed shall be limited to 672.1 
pounds per day. The load allocation for each facility 
includes: City of Harrington (33 pounds per day), Kent 
County Facility (625 pounds per day), Canterbury Crossing 
Mobile Home Park (9.6 pounds per day), and Southwood 
Acres Mobile Home Park (4.5 pounds per day). 

Article 4. The nonpoint source nitrogen load in the 
entire watershed shall be reduced by 30 percent (from the 
1997 base-line). This shall result in a yearly-average total 
nitrogen load of 560 pounds per day. 

Article 5. The nonpoint source phosphorus load in the 
entire watershed shall be reduced by 50 percent (from the 
1997 base-line). This shall result in a yearly-average total 
phosphorous load of 96 pounds per day. 

Article 6. Based upon hydrodynamic and water quality 
model runs and assuming implementation of reductions 
identified by Articles 1 through 5, DNREC has determined 
that, with an adequate margin of safety, water quality 
standards and nutrient targets will be met in the Murderkill 
River and its tributaries and ponds.
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Article 7. Implementation of this TMDL Regulation 
shall be achieved through development and implementation 
of a Pollution Control Strategy. The Strategy will be 
developed by DNREC in concert with the Department’s 
Whole Basin Management Program, Murderkill River 
Tributary Action Team, and other affected parties.

Article 1. The total nitrogen waste load from the 
Kent County Facility and Canterbury Crossing Mobile 
Home Park shall be limited to 755.3 pounds per day.  The 
waste load allocation for the Kent County Facility will be 
751 pounds per day and for Canterbury Crossing Mobile 
Home Park will be 4.3 pounds per day.  

Article 2. The total phosphorus waste load from the 
Kent County Facility and Canterbury Crossing Mobile 
Home Park shall be limited to 62.7 pounds per day.  The 
waste load allocation for the Kent County Facility will be 
62.5 pounds per day and for Canterbury Crossing Mobile 
Home Park will be 0.2 pounds per day.

Article 3. The CBOD5 (5-day Carbonaceous 
Biochemical Oxygen Demand) waste load from the Kent 
County Facility and Canterbury Crossing Mobile Home Park 
shall be limited to 1010.6 pounds per day.  The waste load 
allocation for Kent County Facility will be 1001 pounds per 
day and for Canterbury Crossing Mobile Home Park will be 
9.6 pounds per day.

Article 4. Treated wastewater from the City of 
Harrington wastewater treatment facility shall be used for 
spray irrigation.   However, during the winter season, as well 
as during wet weather periods, when spray irrigation of 
treated wastewater is not practical, the effluent may be 
discharged into Browns Branch.  During periods of surface 
discharge, the maximum discharge flow rate shall not exceed 
750,000 gallons per day and daily waste loads shall not 
exceed 140 pounds per day for total nitrogen, 0.75 pounds 
per day for total phosphorus, and 37.5 pounds per day for 
CBOD5. Furthermore, the total annual waste load 
discharged from the City of Harrington wastewater treatment 
facility to the surface waters of Browns Branch shall not 
exceed 9125 pounds per year for total nitrogen, 55 pounds 
per year for total phosphorus, and 3000 pounds per year for 
CBOD5.

Article 5. The nonpoint source nitrogen load in the 
entire watershed shall be reduced by 30 percent (from the 
1997 base-line).  This shall result in a yearly-average total 
nitrogen load of 560 pounds per day.

Article 6. The nonpoint source phosphorus load in 
the entire watershed shall be reduced by 50 percent (from the 
1997 base-line).  This shall result in a yearly-average total 
phosphorous load of 96 pounds per day.

Article 7. Based upon hydrodynamic and water 
quality model runs and assuming implementation of 
reductions identified by Articles 1 through 6, DNREC has 
determined that, with an adequate margin of safety, water 

quality standards and nutrient targets will be met in the 
Murderkill River and its tributaries and ponds.

Article 8. Implementation of this TMDL Regulation 
shall be achieved through development and implementation 
of a Pollution Control Strategy. The Strategy will be 
developed by DNREC in concert with the Murderkill River 
Tributary Action Team, other stakeholders, and the public.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new text 
added at the time of the proposed action. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold 
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language 
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in 
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials, 
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and 
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and 
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2) 
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being 
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, 
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under 
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the 
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations, 
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
100 BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 105(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §105(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code

ORDER

AFTER due notice in the Register of Regulations and 
two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on 
February 16, 2005 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware 
Board of Accountancy to receive comments regarding 
proposed Regulation 15.0. The proposed regulation 
identifies crimes substantially related to the practice of 
accountancy as mandated by SB 229 enacted by the 142nd

General Assembly.  The proposed regulation was published 
in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 7, January 1, 
2005.  

Background

Under Title 24, Chapter 1, one of the qualifications for a 
certificate is that the applicant shall submit evidence that the 
applicant “is of good character.” “Good character", for 
purposes of this section, means that an applicant has not 
been convicted of a crime that is substantially related to the 

practice of accountancy” 24 Del.C. §107(a)(1). 24 Del.C.
§117, as amended by SB 229, provides that any individual 
holding a certificate and any individual or firm holding a 
permit to practice shall be subject to disciplinary action set 
forth in § 118 if, after a hearing, the Board finds that the 
individual or firm “has been found guilty of or has entered a 
plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a crime that is 
substantially related to the practice of accountancy.” 24 
Del.C. §117(4). “‘Substantially related’ means the nature of 
the criminal conduct, for which the person was convicted, 
has a direct bearing on the fitness or ability to perform 1 or 
more of the duties or responsibilities necessarily related to 
accountancy.” 24 Del.C. §102(13).

The Board’s authority to promulgate rules and 
regulations implementing or clarifying specific sections of 
Chapter 53 is set forth in 24 Del.C. §105(a)(1). The specific 
mandate for this rule is set forth in 24 Del.C. §105(b).  The 
proposed regulation specifically identifies those crimes 
which are substantially related to the practice of 
accountancy. 

Summary Of The Evidence And Information Submitted

No written comments were received. No public 
comment was received at the February 16, 2005 hearing. 
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Findings Of Fact With Respect To The Evidence
And Information Submitted

The Board carefully reviewed and considered the crimes 
presented as a compilation of crimes extracted from the 
Delaware Code.  The overarching concern of the Board was 
the safety of the public since licensed certificate and permit 
holders work closely in a position of trust and responsibility 
with the members of the public they serve gaining access to 
the details of their clients’ personal and business financial 
information. Certificate holders and permit holders often 
deal with individuals who are inexperienced in financial 
matters and place a great deal of trust in the practitioner. 
These individuals, including the elderly, may be vulnerable 
to manipulation and undue influence.In addition 
practitioners work in a variety of settings, including private 
offices, where it is not uncommon for certificate holders to 
meet with clients after hours when no one else is present in 
order to accommodate the client’s schedule.

The “primary objective of the Board of Accountancy, to 
which all other objectives and purposes are secondary, is to 
protect the general public (specifically those persons who are 
the direct recipients of services regulated by this chapter) 
from unsafe practices, including incompetent auditing, 
accounting and tax services rendered by certificate and 
permit holders, and from occupational practices which tend 
to reduce competition or fix the price of services rendered.” 
24 Del.C. §101.   

The Board finds that the crimes identified in the 
proposed rule are substantially related to fitness or ability to 
perform 1 or more of the duties and responsibilities of 
accountancy in that they involve: the use of physical 
violence or force, or the threat thereof, toward or upon the 
person of another; sexual abuse or inappropriate sexual 
conduct; violation of privacy; dishonesty, or false or 
fraudulent conduct; offenses against  public administration 
including but not limited to bribery and perjury; financial 
exploitation and tax offenses; mistreatment or abuse of 
children and the elderly; and offenses involving the illegal 
possession or the misuse or abuse of narcotics, or other 
addictive substances and those non-addictive substances 
with a substantial capacity to impair reason or judgment. 

In summary, the Board finds that adopting regulation 
15.0 as proposed is in the best interest of the citizens of the 
State of Delaware and is necessary to protect the health and 
safety of the general public, particularly the recipients of 
accountancy services.

Decision And Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulation 15.0 
to be effective 10 days following publication of this order in 
the Register of Regulations.

Text And Citation

The text of the revised rule remains as published in 
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 7, January 1, 2005, and 
as attached hereto as Exhibit A.

SO ORDERED this 16th day of February, 2005.

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY
James R. Zdimal, President, CPA Member
John A. McManus, PA Member
Cathel Tanner, PA Member
Norma Rohleder, CPA Member
James Horty, CPA Member
Sandra Gulledge, CPA Member
Joyce Dyer, Public Member
Diane Marky, Public Member

15.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of
accountancy:

15.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following 
crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the practice 
of accountancy in the State of Delaware without regard to 
the place of conviction:

15.1.1 Aggravated menacing.  11 Del.C. §602 (b)
15.1.2 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §604
15.1.3 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C.  §605.
15.1.4 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C. §606.
15.1.5 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§612
15.1.6 Assault in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §613.
15.1.7 Assault by abuse or neglect. 11 Del.C.

§615.
15.1.8 Gang participation. 11 Del.C. §616.
15.1.9 Terroristic threatening; felony. 11 Del.C.

§621(a) and (b).
15.1.10 Unlawfully administering controlled 

substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs. 11 
Del.C. §626.

15.1.11 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 
degree. 11 Del.C. §633

15.1.12 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 
degree. 11 Del.C. §634.

15.1.13 Murder in the second degree.  11 Del.C.
§635.

15.1.14 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636.
15.1.15 Promoting suicide. 11 Del.C. §645.
15.1.16 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §768.
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15.1.17 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 
11 Del.C. §769.

15.1.18 Rape in the fourth degree.  11 Del.C. §770.
15.1.19 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §771.
15.1.20 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§772.
15.1.21 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §773.
15.1.22 Sexual extortion.  11 Del.C. §776.
15.1.23 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11 

Del.C. §778.
15.1.24 Dangerous crime against a child. 11 

Del.C. §779.
15.1.25 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §782.
15.1.26 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11 

Del.C. §783.
15.1.27 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C. 

§783A.
15.1.28 Arson in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§802.
15.1.29 Arson in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §803.
15.1.30 Burglary in the third degree. 11 Del.C.

§824.
15.1.31 Burglary in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§825.
15.1.32 Burglary in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§826.
15.1.33 Possession of burglar’s tools or 

instruments facilitating theft. 11 Del.C. §828.
15.1.34 Robbery in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§831.
15.1.35 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C. 

§832.
15.1.36 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§835.
15.1.37 Carjacking in the first degree. 11 Del.C. 

§836.
15.1.38 Shoplifting; felony.  11 Del.C. §840.
15.1.39 Use of illegitimate retail sales receipt or 

Universal Product Code Label; felony.  11 Del.C. §840A.
15.1.40 Theft. 11 Del.C. §841.
15.1.41 Theft; lost or mislaid property; mistaken 

delivery. 11 Del.C. §842.
15.1.42 Theft; false pretense. 11 Del.C. §843.
15.1.43 Theft; false promise. 11 Del.C. §844.
15.1.44 Theft of services. 11 Del.C. §845.
15.1.45 Extortion. 11 Del.C. §846.
15.1.46Misapplication of property; felony. 11 

Del.C. §848.
15.1.47 Receiving stolen property. 11 Del.C. §851
15.1.48 Identity theft. 11 Del.C. §854.
15.1.49 Forgery.  11 Del.C. §861.
15.1.50 Possession of forgery devices. 11 Del.C. 

§862.

15.1.51 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C. 
§871.

15.1.52 Tampering with public records in the 
second degree  11 Del.C. §873.

15.1.53 Tampering with public records in the first 
degree.  11 Del.C. §876.

15.1.54 Offering a false instrument for filing. 11 
Del.C. §877.

15.1.55 Issuing a false certificate. 11 Del.C. §878.
15.1.56 Defrauding secured creditors. 11 Del.C.

§891.
15.1.57  Fraud in insolvency. 11 Del.C. §892.
15.1.58 Interference with levied-upon property. 11 

Del.C. §893.
15.1.59 Issuing a bad check; felony. 11 Del.C.

§900.
15.1.60 Unlawful use of credit card; felony. 11 

Del.C. §903.
15.1.61 Reencoder and scanning devices. 11 

Del.C. §903A.
15.1.62 Deceptive business practices.  11 Del.C.

§906.
15.1.63 Criminal impersonation. 11 Del.C. §907.
15.1.64 Criminal impersonation, accident related. 

11 Del.C. §907A.
15.1.65 Criminal impersonation of a police officer. 

11 Del.C. §907B.
15.1.66 Unlawfully concealing a will. 11 Del.C.

§908.
15.1.67 Securing execution of documents by 

deception. 11 Del.C. §909.
15.1.68 Debt adjusting. 11 Del.C. §910.
15.1.69 Fraudulent conveyance of public lands. 11 

Del.C. §911.
15.1.70 Fraudulent receipt of public lands. 11 

Del.C. §912.
15.1.71 Insurance fraud.  11 Del.C. §913.
15.1.72 Health care fraud.  11 Del.C. §913A.
15.1.73 Home improvement fraud. 11 Del.C.

§916.
15.1.74 New home construction fraud.  11 Del.C.

§917.
15.1.75 Unauthorized access.  11 Del.C. §932.
15.1.76 Theft of computer services. 11 Del.C. 

§933.
15.1.77 Interruption of computer services. 11 

Del.C. §934.
15.1.78 Misuse of computer system information. 

11 Del.C. §935.
15.1.79 Destruction of computer equipment. 11 

Del.C. §936.
15.1.80 Unrequested or unauthorized electronic 

mail or use of network or software to cause same. 11 Del.C.
§937.
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15.1.81 Failure to promptly cease electronic 
communication upon.request.  11 Del.C. §938.

15.1.82 Dealing in children. 11 Del.C. §1100.
15.1.83 Sexual exploitation of a child. 11 Del.C. 

§1108.
15.1.84 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography. 

11 Del.C. §1109.
15.1.85 Possession of child pornography. 11 

Del.C. §1111.
15.1.86 Sexual offenders; prohibitions from school 

zones.  11 Del.C. §1112.
15.1.87 Sexual solicitation of a child. 11 Del.C. 

§1112A.
15.1.88 Criminal non-support and aggravated 

criminal non-support. 11 Del.C. §1113.
15.1.89 Bribery; felony.  11 Del.C. §1201
15.1.90 Receiving a bribe; felony. 11 Del.C. 

§1203.
15.1.91 Giving unlawful gratuities. 11 Del.C.

§1205.
15.1.92 Receiving unlawful gratuities.  11 Del.C.

§1206.
15.1.93 Improper influence. 11 Del.C. §1207.
15.1.94 Official misconduct. 11 Del.C. §1211.
15.1.95 Profiteering.  11 Del.C. §1212.
15.1.96 Perjury in the second degree.  11 Del.C. 

§1222.
15.1.97 Perjury in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§1223.
15.1.98 Making a false written statement. 11 

Del.C. §1233.
15.1.99 Terroristic threatening of public officials 

or public servants; felony. 11 Del.C. §1240.
15.1.100 Hindering prosecution; felony. 11 

Del.C. §1244.
15.1.101 Falsely reporting an incident; felony. 

11 Del.C. §1245.
15.1.102 Promoting prison contraband; felony. 

11 Del.C. §1256.
15.1.103 Bribing a witness.  11 Del.C. §1261.
15.1.104 Bribe receiving by a witness.  11 

Del.C. §1262.
15.1.105 Tampering with a witness. 11 Del.C. 

§1263.
15.1.106 Interfering with child witness. 11 

Del.C. §1263A.
15.1.107 Bribing a juror.  11 Del.C. §1264.
15.1.108 Bribe receiving by a juror. 11 Del.C. 

§1265.
15.1.109 Tampering with a juror. 11 Del.C. 

§1266.
15.1.110 Misconduct by a juror.  11 Del.C. 

§1267.
15.1.111 Tampering with physical evidence. 11 

Del.C. § 1269.
15.1.112 Unlawful grand jury disclosure. 11 

Del.C. §1273.
15.1.113 Hate crimes; felony. 11 Del.C. §1304.
15.1.114 Stalking; felony.  11 Del.C. §1312A.
15.1.115 Violation of privacy; felony. 11 

Del.C. §1335.
15.1.116 Bombs, incendiary devices, Molotov 

cocktails and explosive devices. 11 Del.C. §1338.
15.1.117 Adulteration.  11 Del.C. §1339.
15.1.118 Possessing a destructive weapon. 11 

Del.C. §1444.
15.1.119 Unlawfully dealing with a dangerous 

weapon; felony.  11 Del.C. §1445.
15.1.120 Possession of a deadly weapon during 

commission of a felony. 11 Del.C. §1447.
15.1.121 Possession of a firearm during 

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C. §1447A.
15.1.122 Possession and purchase of deadly 

weapons by persons prohibited.  11 Del.C. §1448.
15.1.123 Engaging in a firearms transaction on 

behalf of another.   11 Del.C. §1455.
15.1.123 Organized Crime and Racketeering. 

11 Del.C. §1504.
15.1.125 Victim or Witness Intimidation  11 

Del.C. §3532 & 3533.
15.1.126 Financial exploitation of residents or 

patients; felony  16 Del.C. §1136 (b).
15.1.127 Prohibited acts A under the Uniform 

Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4751(a), (b) and (c).
15.1.128 Prohibited acts B under the Uniform 

Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4752(a) and (b).
15.1.129 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, 

illegal drugs,   methamphetamines, Lysergic Acid 
Diethylamide (L.S.D.), designer drugs, or 3,4-
methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA). 16 Del.C. 
§4753A (a)(1)-(9).

15.1.130 Prohibited acts under the Uniform 
Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4756(a)(1)-(5) and 
(b).

15.1.131 Distribution to persons under 21 years 
of age.  16 Del.C. §4761.

15.1.132 Distribution, delivery, or possession 
of controlled substance within 1,000 feet of school property. 
16 Del.C. §4767

15.1.133 Drug paraphernalia; felony. 16 Del.C. 
§4771 (b) and (c) [manufacture and sale, delivery to a 
minor].

15.1.134 Attempt to evade or defeat tax. 30 
Del.C. §571.

15.1.135 Failure to collect or pay over tax.  30 
Del.C. §572.

15.1.136 Failure to file return, supply 
information or pay tax.  30 Del.C. §573.
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15.1.137 Fraud and false statements. 30 Del.C.
§574.

15.1.138 Misdemeanors [tax related]. 30 
Del.C. §576.

15.1.139 Obtaining benefit under false 
representation; felony. 31 Del.C. §1003.

15.1.140 Reports, statements and documents; 
felony. 31 Del.C. §1004.

15.1.141 Kickback schemes and solicitations. 
31 Del.C. §1005.

15.1.142 Conversion of payment. 31 Del.C. 
§1006.

15.1.143 Violations of the Securities Act. 6 
Del. C. §7322.

15.1.144 Attempt to Intimidate. 11 Del.C.
§3534.

15.1.145 Alteration, Theft or Destruction of 
Will.  12 Del.C. §210.

15.1.146 Financial exploitation of infirm adult; 
felony.  31 Del.C. §3913.

15.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
accountancy shall be deemed to include any crimes under 
any federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county 
ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Accountancy is 
available at:

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
accountancy/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
500 BOARD OF PODIATRY

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 506 (24 Del.C. §506(a))

24 DE Admin Code 506

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and 
publication of notice in two Delaware Newspapers, a public 
hearing was held on February 17, 2005 at a scheduled 
meeting of the Board of Podiatry to receive and consider 
public comment concerning proposed Regulation No. 29. 
This Regulation sets forth crimes which the Board of 
Podiatry believes are substantially related to the practice of 
podiatric medicine. The proposed regulation was published 

in the Register of Regulations in Volume 8, Issue 7, on 
Saturday, January 1, 2005.

Background

The 142nd General Assembly of the State of Delaware 
passed Senate Bill No. 229 which, among other things, 
directed various Boards, Agencies and Commissions 
including the Board of Podiatry to adopt a regulation 
specifically identifying and setting forth crimes which were 
deemed to be substantially related to the practice of podiatry. 
(See Section 13, Senate Bill No. 229, Del. Code Ann., 
§1730(e) (June 30, 2004)). The Governor signed this 
legislation into law. 

In this legislation, the term “substantially related to” 
means that the nature of the criminal conduct, for which the 
person was convicted, has a direct bearing on the fitness or 
ability to perform one or more of the duties or 
responsibilities necessarily related to the provision of the 
particular professional services.

Summary Of The Evidence And Information Submitted

The Board received no written comments and no 
individuals appeared at the scheduled hearing to make 
comments concerning the proposed regulation.

In proposing the Regulation, the Board carefully 
considered a compilation of crimes extracted from the 
Delaware Code and included federal criminal offenses (Title 
18, U.S.C.A.) to also include Federal Health Care offenses as 
being substantially related to the fitness of an individual to 
provide health care services in the State of Delaware as a 
podiatric physician. Also included are any crimes under 
other laws which are substantially similar to those crimes 
identified in the proposed regulation.

It is the view of the Board of Podiatry that the 
conviction of such crimes, which are the same crimes 
identified for physicians by the Board of Medical Practice, 
should form the basis for discipline or a proposal to deny 
certification to an applicant as a matter of public information 
and protection.  It is unfortunate, in the view of the Board 
that it has been required to specify in advance a list of crimes 
which are deemed to be “substantially related to the practice 
of podiatry” because such determinations are in many 
instances more appropriately made after a review of the 
circumstances surrounding the crime and the particular facts 
leading to the conviction. The Board will be seeking 
legislative authorization similar to that present in 24 Del.C.
§1720(d) for the Board of Medical Practice to allow the 
waiver of such convictions in appropriate circumstances.
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Decision And Effective Date

The Board by this order adopts the proposed Regulation 
No. 9 to be effective on March 11, 2005. (Ten (10) days after 
the publication of this Order in the Register of Regulations).

Text And Citation

The text of the Regulation No. 9 remains as it was 
published in the Register of Regulation, Volume No. 8, Issue 
No. 7, Saturday, January 1, 2005, (a copy of which is 
attached).

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 17th DAY OF February, 
2005.

Dr. Jonathan P. Contompasis
Dr. Edwin M. Mow
Dr. Jeffrey Barton
Mr. Nathaniel Gibbs  (abstaining)

9.0 Definitions - The following words and terms, when 
used in this regulation, should have the following meaning 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Conviction”, unless otherwise defined by specific 
statute, means a verdict of guilty by whether entered by a 
judge or jury, or a plea of guilty or a plea of nolo contendere 
or other similar plea such as a “Robinson” or “Alford” plea 
unless the individual has been discharged under §4218 of 
Title 11 of the Delaware Code (probation before judgment) 
or under §1024 of Title 10 (domestic violence diversion 
program) or by §4764 of Title 16 ( first offenders controlled 
substances diversion program).

“Substantially similar crimes in another State of 
Jurisdiction”, shall include all crimes prohibited by or 
punishable under Title 18 of the United Stated Code 
Annotated (U.S.C.A.) such as, but not limited to, Federal 
Health Care offenses.

9.1 Any crime which involves the use of physical force 
or violence toward or upon the person of another and shall 
include by way of example and not of limitation the 
following crimes set forth in Title 11 of the Delaware Code 
Annotated: 

Assaults and Related Offenses
9.1.1 §601.  Offensive touching;
9.1.2 §602.  Menacing;
9.1.3 §603.  Reckless endangering in the second 

degree;
9.1.4 §604.  Reckless endangering in the first 

degree;
9.1.5 §605.  Abuse of a pregnant female in the 

second degree;
9.1.6 §606.  Abuse of a pregnant female in the 

first degree;

9.1.7 §611.  Assault in the third degree;
9.1.8 §612.  Assault in the second degree;
9.1.9 §613.  Assault in the first degree; 
9.1.10 §614.  Assault on a sports official.
9.1.11 §615.  Assault by abuse or neglect;
9.1.12 §621.  Terroristic threatening;
9.1.13 §625.  Unlawfully administering drugs;
9.1.14 §626. Unlawfully administering controlled 

substance or counterfeit   substance or narcotic drugs; 
9.1.15 §627.  Prohibited acts as to substances 

releasing vapors or fumes;
9.1.16 §628.  Vehicular assault in the second 

degree; 
9.1.17 §629.  Vehicular assault in the first degree; 
9.1.18 §630.  Vehicular homicide in the second 

degree; 
9.1.19 §630A.  Vehicular homicide in the first 

degree;
9.1.20 §631.  Criminally negligent homicide;
9.1.21 §632.  Manslaughter;
9.1.22 §633.  Murder by abuse or neglect in the 

second degree;
9.1.23 §634.  Murder by abuse or neglect in the 

first degree;
9.1.24 §635.  Murder in the second degree;
9.1.25 §636.  Murder in the first degree;
9.1.26 §645.  Promoting suicide.
Abortion and Related Offenses
9.1.27 §651.  Abortion;
9.1.28 §653.  Issuing abortional articles.
Sexual Offenses
9.1.29 §763.  Sexual harassment;
9.1.30 §764.  Indecent exposure in the second 

degree;
9.1.31 §765.  Indecent exposure in the first 

degree;
9.1.32 §766.  Incest;
9.1.33 §767.  Unlawful sexual contact in the third 

degree;
9.1.34 §768. Unlawful sexual contact in the 

second degree; 
9.1.35 §769.  Unlawful sexual contact in the first 

degree; 
9.1.36 §770.  Rape in the fourth degree;
9.1.37 §771.  Rape in the third degree;
9.1.38 §772.  Rape in the second degree;
9.1.39 §773.  Rape in the first degree;
9.1.40 §776.  Sexual extortion;
9.1.41 §777.  Bestiality;
9.1.42 §778.  Continuous sexual abuse of a child; 
9.1.43 §780.  Female genital mutilation.
Kidnapping and Related Offenses
9.1.44 §781. Unlawful imprisonment in the 

second degree;
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9.1.45 §782.  Unlawful imprisonment in the first 
degree; 

9.1.46 §783.  Kidnapping in the second degree;
9.1.47 §783A. Kidnapping in the first degree;
9.1.48 §785.  Interference with custody;
Coercion
9.1.49 §791.  Acts constituting coercion;

9.2 Any crime which involves dishonesty or false, 
fraudulent or aberrant behavior and shall include by way of 
example and not of limitation the following crimes listed in 
Title 11 of the Delaware Code Annotated:

Arson and Related Offenses
9.2.1 §801.  Arson in the third degree; 
9.2.2 §802.  Arson in the second degree;
9.2.3 §803.  Arson in the first degree;
9.2.4 §804.  Reckless burning or exploding;
9.2.5 §805.  Cross or religious symbol burning;
Criminal Trespass and Burglary
9.2.6 §820.  Trespassing with intent to peer or 

peep into a window or door of another;
9.2.7 §821. Criminal trespass in the third 

degree;
9.2.8 §822.  Criminal trespass in the second 

degree;
9.2.9 §823.  Criminal trespass in the first degree; 
9.2.10 §824.  Burglary in the third degree;
9.2.11 §825.  Burglary in the second degree;
9.2.12 §826.  Burglary in the first degree;
9.2.13 §828. Possession of burglar’s tools or 

instruments facilitating theft;
Robbery
9.2.14 §831.  Robbery in the second degree;
9.2.15 §832.  Robbery in the first degree.
9.2.16 §835.  Carjacking in the second degree;
9.2.17 §836.  Carjacking in the first degree;
Theft and Related Offenses
9.2.18 §840.  Shoplifting; class G felony;
9.2.19 §840A. Use of illegitimate retail sales 

receipt or Universal Product Code Label.
9.2.20 §841.  Theft;
9.2.21 §842. Theft; lost or mislaid property; 

mistaken delivery.
9.2.22 §843.  Theft; false pretense.
9.2.23 §844.  Theft; false promise.
9.2.24 §845.  Theft of services.
9.2.25 §846.  Extortion;
9.2.26 §848.  Misapplication of property;
9.2.27 §849.  Theft of rented property;
9.2.28 §850. Use, possession, manufacture, 

distribution and sale of unlawful telecommunication and 
access devices.

9.2.29 §851.  Receiving stolen property;
9.2.30 §853.  Unauthorized use of a vehicle;
9.2.31 §854.  Identity theft;

9.2.32 §859.  Larceny of livestock;
9.2.33 §860.  Possession of shoplifter’s tools or 

instruments facilitating theft;
Forgery and Related Offenses
9.2.34 §861.  Forgery; class F felony;
9.2.35 §862.  Possession of forgery devices;
Offenses Involving Falsification of Records
9.2.36 §871.  Falsifying business records;
9.2.37 §872.  Falsifying business records;
9.2.38 §873. Tampering with public records in 

the second degree;
9.2.39 §876. Tampering with public records in 

the first degree;
9.2.40 §877. Offering a false instrument for 

filing;
9.2.41 §878.  Issuing a false certificate;
Bribery Not Involving Public Servants
9.2.42 §881.  Bribery;
9.2.43 §882.  Bribe receiving;
Frauds on Creditors
9.2.44 §891.  Defrauding secured creditors;
9.2.45 §892.  Fraud in insolvency;
9.2.46 §893. Interference with levied-upon 

property;
Other Frauds and Cheats
9.2.47 §900.  Issuing a bad check;
9.2.48 §903.  Unlawful use of credit card;
9.2.49 §903A.  Reencoder and scanning devices;
9.2.50 §906.  Deceptive business practices;
9.2.51 §907.  Criminal impersonation;
9.2.52 §907A. Criminal impersonation, accident 

related;
9.2.53 §907B. Criminal impersonation of a police 

officer;
9.2.54 §908.  Unlawfully concealing a will;
9.2.55 §909.  Securing execution of documents 

by deception;
9.2.56 §910.  Debt adjusting;
9.2.57 §911.  Fraudulent conveyance of public 

lands;
9.2.58 §912.  Fraudulent receipt of public lands;
9.2.59 §913.  Insurance fraud;
9.2.60 §913A.  Health care fraud;
9.2.61 §914. Use of consumer identification 

information;
9.2.62 §915.  Use of credit card information;
9.2.63 §915A.  Credit and debit card transaction 

receipts;
9.2.64 §916.  Home improvement fraud;
9.2.65 §917.  New home construction fraud;
Offenses Relating to Recorded Devices
9.2.66 §920.  Transfer of recorded sounds;
9.2.67 §921.  Sale of transferred recorded sounds;
9.2.68 §922.  Improper labeling;
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Computer Related Offenses
9.2.69 §932.  Unauthorized access.
9.2.70 §933.  Theft of computer services.
9.2.71 §934.  Interruption of computer services.
9.2.72 §935. Misuse of computer system 

information.
9.2.73 §936. Destruction of computer 

equipment.
9.2.74 §937. Unrequested or unauthorized 

electronic mail or use of network or  software to cause same.
9.2.75 §938.  Failure to promptly cease electronic 

communication upon request.
Offenses Relating to Marriage
9.2.76 §1001.  Bigamy;
9.2.77 §1003. Bigamous marriage contracted 

outside the State.
9.3 Any crime which involves misuse or abuse of 

children or animals and shall include by way of example and 
not of limitation the following crimes listed in Title 11 of the 
Delaware Code Annotated:

Child Welfare; Sexual Offenses, Animal Offenses
9.3.1 §1100. Dealing in children;
9.3.2 §1101. Abandonment of child;
9.3.3 §1102. Endangering the welfare of a 

child;
9.3.4 §1105. Endangering the welfare of an 

incompetent person;
9.3.5 §1106. Unlawfully dealing with a child; 
9.3.6 §1107. Endangering children;
9.3.7 §1108. Sexual exploitation of a child;
9.3.8 §1109. Unlawfully dealing in child 

pornography; 
9.3.9 §1111.  Possession of child pornography;
9.3.10 §1112. Sexual offenders; prohibitions 

from school zones.
9.3.11 §1112A.  Sexual solicitation of a child;
9.3.12 §1113. Criminal non-support and 

aggravated criminal non-support.
9.3.13 §1114. Body-piercing; tattooing or 

branding;
9.3.14 §1114A.  Tongue-splitting;
9.3.15 §1116. Sale or distribution of tobacco 

products to minors;
9.3.16 §1117. Notice;
9.3.17 §1119. Distribution of cigarettes through 

vending machines;
9.3.18 §1120. Distribution of tobacco products;
9.3.19 §1124. Purchase or receipt of tobacco 

products by minor;
9.3.20 §1325. Cruelty to animals;
9.3.21 §1325A. The unlawful trade in dog or cat 

by-products;
9.3.22 §1326. Animals; fighting and baiting 

prohibited;

9.3.23 §1327. Maintaining a dangerous animal;
9.4 Any crime which involves offenses against the 

public order the commission of which may tend to bring 
discredit upon the profession and which are thus 
substantially related to one’s fitness to practice such 
profession and shall include by way of example and not of 
limitation the following crimes listed in Title 11 of the 
Delaware Code Annotated:

Bribery and Improper Influence
9.4.1 §1201. Bribery;
9.4.2 §1203. Receiving a bribe;
9.4.3 §1205. Giving unlawful gratuities;
9.4.4 §1206. Receiving unlawful gratuities;
9.4.5 §1207. Improper influence;
9.4.6 §1211. Official misconduct;
9.4.7 §1212. Profiteering.
Perjury and related offenses
9.4.8 §1221. Perjury in the third degree;
9.4.9 §1222. Perjury in the second degree;
9.4.10 §1223. Perjury in the first degree;
9.4.11 §1233. Making a false written statement; 
9.4.12 §1239. Wearing a disguise during the 

commission of a felony;
9.4.13 §1240. Terroristic threatening of public 

officials or public servants;
9.4.14 §1241. Refusing to aid a police officer;
9.4.15 §1243. Obstructing fire-fighting 

operations;
9.4.16 §1244. Hindering prosecution;
9.4.17 §1245. Falsely reporting an incident;
9.4.18 §1246. Compounding a crime;
9.4.19 §1248. Obstructing the control and 

suppression of rabies;
9.4.20 §1249. Abetting the violation of driver’s 

license restrictions;
9.4.21 §1250. Offenses against law-

enforcement animals;
9.4.22 §1251. Escape in the third degree;
9.4.23 §1252. Escape in the second degree;
9.4.24 §1253. Escape after conviction;
9.4.25 §1254. Assault in a detention facility;
9.4.26 §1257A. Use of an animal to avoid 

capture;
9.4.27 §1259. Sexual relations in detention 

facility;
9.4.28 §1260. Misuse of prisoner mail.
Offenses Relating to Judicial and Similar 

Proceedings
9.4.29 §1261. Bribing a witness;
9.4.30 §1262. Bribe receiving by a witness;
9.4.31 §1263. Tampering with a witness;
9.4.32 §1263A.  Interfering with child witness.
9.4.33 §1264. Bribing a juror;
9.4.34 §1265. Bribe receiving by a juror;
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9.4.35 §1266. Tampering with a juror;
9.4.36 §1267. Misconduct by a juror;
9.4.37 §1269. Tampering with physical 

evidence;
9.4.38 §1271. Criminal contempt;
9.4.39 §1271A.  Criminal contempt of a domestic 

violence protective order;
9.4.40 §1273. Unlawful grand jury disclosure.

9.5 Any crime which involves offenses against a public 
health order and decency which may tend to bring discredit 
upon the profession, specifically including the below listed 
crimes from Title 11 of the Delaware Code Annotated which 
evidence a lack of appropriate concern for the safety and 
well being of another person or persons in general or 
sufficiently flawed judgment to call into question the 
individuals ability to make health care decisions or advise 
upon health care related matters for other individuals.

Disorderly Conduct and Related Offenses
9.5.1 §1301. Disorderly conduct;
9.5.2 §1302. Riot;
9.5.3 §1304. Hate crimes;
9.5.4 §1311. Harassment;
9.5.5 §1312. Aggravated harassment;
9.5.6 §1312A.  Stalking;
9.5.7 §1313. Malicious interference with 

emergency communications;
9.5.8 §1315.  Public intoxication;
9.5.9 §1316.  Registration of out-of-state liquor 

agents;
9.5.10 §1320.  Loitering on property of a state-

supported school, college  or university;
9.5.11 §1321. Loitering
9.5.12 §1322. Criminal nuisance;
9.5.13 §1323. Obstructing public passages;
9.5.14 §1324. Obstructing ingress to or egress 

from public buildings;
9.5.15 §1331. Desecration;
9.5.16 §1332. Abusing a corpse;
9.5.17 §1333. Trading in human remains and 

associated funerary objects.
9.5.18 §1335. Violation of privacy;
9.5.19 §1338. Bombs, incendiary devices, 

Molotov cocktails and explosive devices;
9.5.20 §1339. Adulteration;
9.5.21 §1340. Desecration of burial place.
Offenses Involving Public Indecency
9.5.22 §1341. Lewdness;
9.5.23 §1342. Prostitution;
9.5.24 §1343. Patronizing a prostitute 

prohibited.
9.5.25 §1351. Promoting prostitution in the 

third degree;
9.5.26 §1352. Promoting prostitution in the 

second degree;

9.5.27 §1353. Promoting prostitution in the first 
degree;

9.5.28 §1355. Permitting prostitution;
Obscenity
9.5.29 §1361. Obscenity; acts constituting;
9.5.30 §1365. Obscene literature harmful to

minors;
9.5.31 §1366. Outdoor motion picture theatres;
Offenses Involving Gambling
9.5.32 §1403. Advancing gambling in the first 

degree;
9.5.33 §1404. Providing premises for gambling;
9.5.34 §1405. Possessing a gambling device; 

class A misdemeanor.
9.5.35 §1406. Being concerned in interest in 

keeping any gambling device;
9.5.36 §1407. Engaging in a crap game;
9.5.37 §1411. Unlawfully disseminating 

gambling information.
9.6 Any crime which involves the illegal possession or 

the misuse or abuse of narcotics, or other addictive 
substances and those non-addictive substances with a 
substantial capacity to impair reason or judgment and shall 
include by way of example and not of limitation the 
following crimes listed in Chapter 47 of Title 16 of the 
Delaware Code Annotated:

9.6.1 §4751. Prohibited acts A;
9.6.2 §4752. Prohibited acts B;
9.6.3 §4752A. Unlawful delivery of 

noncontrolled substance.
9.6.4 §4753. Prohibited acts C.
9.6.5 §4753A. Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, 

illegal drugs, methamphetamines, L.S.D., or designer drugs.
9.6.6 §4754. Prohibited acts D;
9.6.7 §4754A. Possession and delivery of 

noncontrolled prescription drug.
9.6.8 §4755. Prohibited acts E;
9.6.9 §4756. Prohibited acts;
9.6.10 §4757. Hypodermic syringe or needle; 

delivering or possessing; disposal; exceptions;
9.6.11 §4758. Keeping drugs in original 

containers.
9.6.12 §4761. Distribution to persons under 21 

years of age; 
9.6.13 §4761A. Purchase of drugs from minors; 
9.6.14 §4767. Distribution, delivery, or 

possession of controlled substance within 1,000 feet of 
school property;

9.6.15 §4768. Distribution, delivery or 
possession of controlled substance in or within 300 feet of 
park, recreation area, church, synagogue or other place of 
worship.

9.7 Any crime which involves the misuse or illegal 
possession or sale of a deadly weapon or dangerous 
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instrument and shall include by way of example and not of 
limitation the following crimes listed in Title 11 of the 
Delaware Code Annotated:

Offenses Involving Deadly Weapons and 
Dangerous Instruments

9.7.1 §1442. Carrying a concealed deadly 
weapon;

9.7.2 §1443. Carrying a concealed dangerous 
instrument;

9.7.3 §1444. Possessing a destructive weapon; 
9.7.4 §1445. Unlawfully dealing with a 

dangerous weapon;
9.7.5 §1446. Unlawfully dealing with a 

switchblade knife;
9.7.6 §1447. Possession of a deadly weapon 

during commission of a   felony;
9.7.7 §1447A. Possession of a firearm during 

commission of a felony;
9.7.8 §1448. Possession and purchase of 

deadly weapons by persons prohibited;
9.7.9 §1448A. Criminal history record checks 

for sales or firearms;
9.7.10 §1449. Wearing body armor during 

commission of felony;
9.7.11 §1450. Receiving a stolen firearm;
9.7.12 §1451. Theft of a firearm;
9.7.13 §1452. Unlawfully dealing with 

knuckles-combination knife;
9.7.14 §1453. Unlawfully dealing with martial 

arts throwing star;
9.7.15 §1454. Giving a firearm to person 

prohibited;
9.7.16 §1455. Engaging in a firearms 

transaction on behalf of another;
9.7.17 §1456. Unlawfully permitting a minor 

access to a firearm;
9.7.18 §1457. Possession of a weapon in a Safe 

School and Recreation Zone;
9.7.19 §1458. Removing a firearm from the 

possession of a law   enforcement officer;
9.7.20 §1459. Possession of a weapon with a 

removed, obliterated or   altered serial number;
9.7.21 §1471. Prohibited acts.
Offenses Involving Drug Paraphernalia
9.7.22 §4774. Penalties.
Offenses Involving Organized Crime and 

Racketeering
9.7.23 §1504. Criminal Penalties for Organized 

Crime & Racketeering Offenses Involving Intimidation of 
Victims or Witnesses

9.7.25 §3533. Aggravated act of intimidation, 
Class D felony

9.7.24 §3532. Acts of Intimidation: Class E 
felony

Other Crimes
9.7.26 Title 3 §1041. Willfully or maliciously 

starting fires; Carelessly Starting  Fires;
9.7.27 §1043. Setting fire to woodland; 

Unseasonable Marsh Burning.
9.7.28 Title 4 §901. Offenses carrying penalty of 

imprisonment for 3 to 6 months;
9.7.29 §902. Offenses carrying penalty of fine 

of $500 to $1,000 or imprisonment of 3 to 6 months on 
failure to pay fine;

9.7.30 §903. Offenses carrying penalty of fine 
of not more than $100 imprisonment for 1 month on failure 
to pay fine;

9.7.31 §904. Offenses concerning certain 
persons;

9.7.32 §905. Unlicensed manufacture of 
alcoholic liquor; Possession of still, apparatus, mash, etc., by 
unlicensed person;

9.7.33 §906. Transportation or shipment;
9.7.34 §907. Interference with officer or 

inspector;
9.7.35 §908.  Failure of licensee to file report;
9.7.36 §909. Violation of rules respecting 

liquor taxes.
9.7.37 Title 7 §1717. Unauthorized acts 

against a service guide or seeing eye dog.
9.7.38 Title 11 §2403. Manufacture, possession 

or sale of intercepting device;
9.7.39 §2410. Breaking and entering, etc. to 

place or remove equipment;
9.7.40 §2412. Obstruction, impediment or 

prevention of interception;
9.7.41 §2422. Divulging contents of 

communications;
9.7.42 §3532. Act of intimidation;
9.7.43 §3533. Aggravated act of intimidation;
9.7.44 §3534. Attempt to intimidate;
9.7.45 §8523. Penalties [for violation of 

reporting provision re: SBI];
9.7.46 §8562. Penalties [for failure of child-care 

provider to obtain information required under §8561 or for 
those providing  false information]

9.7.47 §8572. Penalties [for providing false 
information when seeking employment in a public school]

9.7.48 §9016. Filing false claim [under Victims’ 
Compensation Fund].

9.7.49 Title 12 §210. Alteration, theft or 
destruction of Will.

9.7.50 Title 16 §1136. Abuse or neglect of a 
patient or resident of a nursing facility.

9.7.51 Title 21 §2118A. Unlawful possession or 
manufacture of proof of  insurance;

9.7.52 §2133. Penalties; jurisdiction of justices 
of the peace.
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9.7.53 §2315. False statements;
9.7.54 §2316. Altering or forging certificate of 

title, manufacturer’s certificate of origin, registration sticker 
or vehicle I identification plate;

9.7.55 §2620. False statements; incorrect or 
incomplete information;

9.7.56 §2703. License to operate a motorcycle, 
motorbike, etc.;

9.7.57 §2710. Issuance of a Level 1 Learner’s 
Permit and Class D operator’s license to persons under 18 
years of age;

9.7.58 §2722. Restricted licenses based on 
driver’s physical limitations;

9.7.59 §2751. Unlawful application for or use 
of license or identification card;

9.7.60 §2752. False statements;
9.7.61 §2756. Driving vehicle while license is 

suspended or revoked; penalty;
9.7.62 §2760. Duplication, reproduction, 

altering, or counterfeiting of driver’s licenses or 
identification cards.

9.7.63 Title 23 §2302. Operation of a vessel or 
boat while under the influence of intoxicating liquor and/or 
drugs;

9.7.64 §2305. Penalties; jurisdiction.
9.7.65 Title 24  §903. Sale to persons under 21 

or intoxicated persons.
 9.7.66 Title 29 §3107. Motor vehicle safety-

responsibility; False statements;
9.7.67 §4175A. Reckless driving;
9.7.68 §4177. Driving a vehicle while under the 

influence or with a prohibited alcohol content; evidence; 
arrests; and penalties.

9.7.69 §4177M. Operating a commercial 
motor vehicle with a prohibited blood alcohol concentration 
or while impaired by drugs;

9.7.70 §4183. Parking areas for vehicles being 
used by persons with disabilities;

9.7.71 §4198J. Bicycling on highways under 
influence of drugs or alcohol;

9.7.72 §4198O. Operation of electric personal 
assistive mobility devices (EPAMD);

9.7.73 §4201. Duty of driver involved in 
accident resulting in property damage or injury;

9.7.74 §4202. Duty of driver involved in 
accident resulting in injury or death to any person;

9.7.75 §4203. Duty to report accidents; 
evidence;

9.7.76 §4204. Report of damaged vehicles; cars 
involved in fatal accidents;

9.7.77 §4604. Possession of motor vehicle 
master keys, manipulative keys, key-cutting devices, lock 
picks or lock picking devices and hot wires;

9.7.78 §6420. Odometers penalties;

9.7.79 §6702. Driving vehicle without consent 
of owner;

9.7.80 §6704. Receiving or transferring stolen 
vehicle;

9.7.81 §6705. Removed, falsified or 
unauthorized identification number on vehicle, bicycle or 
engine; removed or affixed license/registration plate with 
intent to misrepresent identity;

9.7.82 §6707. Penalty;
9.7.83 §6709. Removal of warranty or 

certification stickers; vehicle identification plates; 
confidential vehicle identification  numbers;

9.7.84 §6710. Unlawful possession of assigned 
titles, assigned registration cards, vehicle identification 
plates and warranty stickers.

9.7.85 Title 30  §571. Attempt to evade or 
defeat tax;

9.7.86 §572. Failure to collect or pay over tax;
9.7.87 §573. Failure to file return, supply 

information or pay tax;
9.7.88 §574.  Fraud and false statements;
9.7.89 §576.  Misdemeanors.
9.7.90 Title 31§1007. Fraudulent acts 

penalties;
9.7.91 §3913. Welfare violations [knowing or 

reckless abuse of an infirm adult]
9.8 Any crime which is a violation of Title 24, Chapter 

5 as it may be amended from time to time or of any other 
statute which requires the reporting of a medical situation or 
condition to state, federal or local authorities or a crime 
which constitutes a violation of the Podiatric Practice Act of 
the state in which the conviction occurred or in which the 
physician is licensed.

9.9 The Board reserves the jurisdiction and authority to 
modify this regulation as and if it becomes necessary to 
either add or delete crimes including such additions as may 
be required on an emergency basis under 29 Del.C. §10119 
to address imminent peril to the public health, safety or 
welfare.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended, they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Podiatry is 
available at:

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
podiatry/index.shtml
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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
2700 BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL LAND 

SURVEYORS
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 2706(g) (24 Del.C. §2706(g))
24 DE Admin. Code 2700

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two 
Delaware Newspapers, a public hearing was held on January 
20, 2005 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of 
Professional Land Surveyors to receive comments regarding 
proposed Regulation 20.0. The proposed regulation 
identifies crimes substantially related to the practice of 
professional land surveying as mandated by SB 229 enacted 
by the 142nd General Assembly. The proposed regulation 
was published in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 6, 
December 1, 2004.  

Background

Under Title 24, Chapter 27, one of the qualifications for 
licensure is that the applicant shall submit evidence that the 
applicant “shall not have a criminal conviction record, nor 
pending criminal charge relating to an offense the 
circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of 
land surveying. Applicants who have criminal conviction 
records or pending criminal charges shall request appropriate 
authorities to provide information about the record or charge 
directly to the Board in sufficient specificity to enable the 
Board to make a determination whether the record or charge 
is substantially related to the practice of land surveying. 24 
Del.C. §2708(5).  24 Del.C. §2712(a)(2), as amended by SB 
229, provides that a practitioner licensed under this chapter 
shall be subject to disciplinary actions set forth in §2714 of 
this title after a hearing, the Board finds that the land 
surveyor “has been convicted of a crime that is substantially 
related to the practice of land surveying; a copy of the record 
of conviction certified by the clerk of the court entering the 
conviction shall be conclusive evidence therefor;”. 
“‘Substantially related’ means the nature of the criminal 
conduct, for which the person was convicted, has a direct 
bearing on the fitness or ability to perform 1 or more of the 
duties or responsibilities necessarily related to the practice of 
land surveying.” 24 Del.C. §2702(9).

The Board’s authority to promulgate rules and 
regulations implementing or clarifying specific sections of 
Chapter 27 is set forth in 24 Del.C. §2702(a)(1). The specific 
mandate for this rule is set forth in 24 Del.C. §2706(b).  The 
proposed regulation specifically identifies those crimes 
which are substantially related to the practice of land 
surveying.

Summary Of The Evidence And Information Submitted

No written comments were received. No public 
comment was received at the January 20, 2005 hearing. 

Findings Of Fact With Respect To The Evidence And 
Information Submitted

The Board carefully reviewed and considered the crimes 
presented as a compilation of crimes extracted from the 
Delaware Code.   The primary concern of the Board was the 
safety of the public since the licensed practitioners 
frequently work outdoors, in residential subdivisions, office 
parks, farms, and other types of properties, under conditions 
that sometimes can lead to potential confrontations over 
boundary disputes or other real estate controversies. In 
addition, Land Surveyors have regular contact with public 
officials regarding land use matters, where honesty and 
respect for the integrity of public institutions is of paramount 
concern. Land Surveyor clients may also include the elderly 
who are vulnerable to undue influence or other forms of 
abuse.  Land Surveyors may also have access to confidential 
client information health and financial information.

The “primary objective of the Board of Professional 
Land Surveyors, to which all other objectives and purposes 
are secondary, is to protect the general public, specifically 
those persons who are the direct recipients of services 
regulated by this chapter, from unsafe practices and from 
occupational practices which tend to reduce competition or 
fix the price of services rendered.” 24 Del.C. §2701.

The Board finds that the crimes identified in the 
proposed rule are substantially related to the fitness or ability 
to perform 1 or more of the duties and responsibilities of 
land surveying services in that they involve: the use of 
physical violence or force, or the threat thereof, toward or 
upon the person of another; sexual abuse or inappropriate 
sexual conduct; violation of privacy; dishonesty, or false or 
fraudulent conduct; mistreatment or abuse of children, the 
elderly or animals; and offenses involving the illegal 
possession or the misuse or abuse of narcotics, or other 
addictive substances and those non-addictive substances 
with a substantial capacity to impair reason or judgment.

In summary, the Board finds that adopting regulation 
20.0 as proposed is in the best interest of the citizens of the 
State of Delaware and is necessary to protect the health and 
safety of the general public, particularly the recipients of 
land surveying services.

Decision And Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulation 20.0 
to be effective 10 days following publication of this order in 
the Register of Regulations.
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Text And Citation

The text of the revised rule remains as published in 
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 6, December 1, 2004.

SO ORDERED this 20th day of January, 2005.

BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL LAND SURVEYORS
Elton M. Murray, Chairman, Professional Member
Roy B.Kemp,Vice-Chairman, Professional Member
Russel Y. Dolbeare, Professional Member
Lena M. Corder, Public Member
Michael J. Early, Professional Member
Amos W. Aiken, Professional Member
Victor Kennedy, Public Member

20.0 Crimes substantially related to practice of land 
surveyors

20.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of solicitation to commit the following crimes, is 
deemed to be a crime substantially related to the practice of 
land surveyor in the State of Delaware without regard to the 
place of conviction:

20.1.1 Menacing. 11 Del.C. §602
20.1.2 Reckless endangering in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §603
20.1.3 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §604
20.1.4 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §605
20.1.5 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first 

degree.  11 Del.C. §606
20.1.6 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§612
20.1.7 Assault in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §613
20.1.8 Assault by abuse or neglect. 11 Del.C.

§615
20.1.9 Terroristic threatening. 11 Del.C.

§621(a)(b)
20.1.10 Unlawful administering drugs. 11 Del.C.

§625
20.1.11 Unlawful administering controlled 

substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs. 11 
Del.C. §626

20.1.12 Prohibited acts as to substances releasing 
vapors or fumes.  11 Del.C. §627

20.1.13 Vehicular assault in the second degree. 11 
Del.C. §628

20.1.14 Vehicular assault in the first degree.11 
Del.C. §629

20.1.15 Vehicular homicide in the second degree. 
11 Del.C. §630

20.1.16 Vehicular homicide in the first degree. 11 

Del.C. §630A
20.1.17 Criminally negligent homicide. 11 Del.C.

§631
20.1.18 Manslaughter. 11 Del.C.  §632
20.1.19 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 

degree. 11Del.C. §633
20.1.20 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C. §634
20.1.21 Murder in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§635
20.1.22 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636 
20.1.23 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §768 
20.1.24 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §769
20.1.25 Rape in the fourth degree. 11 Del.C. §770
20.1.26 Rape in the third degree. 11 Del.C. §771
20.1.27 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §772
20.1.28 Rape in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §773 
20.1.29 Sexual extortion. 11 Del.C. §776
20.1.30 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11 

Del.C. §778
20.1.31 Female genital mutilation. 11 Del.C. §780
20.1.32 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §782
20.1.33 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11 

Del.C. §783
20.1.34 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§783A 
20.1.35 Arson in the first degree. 11 Del.C.. §803
20.1.36 Burglary in the third degree. 11 Del.C.

§824
20.1.37 Burglary in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§825
20.1.38 Burglary in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§826
20.1.39 Multiple Offenses. 11 Del.C. §827
20.1.40 Possession of burglar’s tools or 

instruments facilitating theft. 11 Del.C. §828 
20.1.41 Robbery in the second degree.11 Del.C.

§831
20.1.42 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§832
20.1.43 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§835
20.1.44 Carjacking in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§836
20.1.45 Shoplifting. 11 Del.C. § 840
20.1.46 Theft. 11 Del.C. §841
20.1.47 Theft of Services. 11 Del.C. §845
20.1.48 Extortion.11 Del.C.. §846
20.1.49 Misapplication of property. 11 Del.C.

§848
20.1.50 Theft of rented property. 11 Del.C. §849
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20.1.51 Receiving stolen property. 11 Del.C. §851
20.1.52 Identity theft. 11 Del.C. §854
20.1.53 Forgery. 11 Del.C. §861
20.1.54 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C.

§871 
20.1.55 Tampering with public records in the 

second degree. 11 Del.C. §873
20.1.56 Tampering with public records in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C. §876
20.1.57 Offering a false instrument for filing. 11 

Del.C. §877
20.1.58 Issuing a false certificate. 11 Del.C. §878
20.1.59 Bribery. 11 Del.C. §881
20.1.60 Bribe receiving. 11 Del.C. §882
20.1.61 Issuing a bad check. 11 Del.C.§900
20.1.62 Criminal impersonation of a police officer. 

11 Del.C. §907B
20.1.63 Unlawfully concealing a will. 11 Del.C.

§908
20.1.64 Fraudulent conveyance of public lands. 11 

Del.C. §911
20.1.65 Fraudulent receipt of public lands. 11 

Del.C. §912
20.1.66 Insurance fraud.11 Del.C.. §913
20.1.67 Health care fraud. 11 Del.C. §913A
20.1.68 New home construction fraud. 11 Del.C.

§917
20.1.69 Unauthorized access. 11 Del.C. §932
20.1.70 Theft of computer services. 11 Del.C.

§933
20.1.71 Interruption of computer services. 11 

Del.C. §934
20.1.72 Misuse of computer system information. 

11 Del.C. §935
20.1.73 Destruction of computer equipment. 11 

Del.C. §936
20.1.74 Dealing in children. 11 Del.C. §1100
20.1.75 Abandonment of a child. 11 Del.C. §1101
20.1.76 Endangering the welfare of a child. 11 

Del.C. §1102 
20.1.77 Sexual exploitation of a child. 11 Del.C.

§1108
20.1.78 Unlawful dealing in child pornography. 11 

Del.C. §1109
20.1.79 Possession of child pornography. 11 

Del.C. §1111
20.1.80 Sexual solicitation of a child. 11 Del.C.

§1112A
20.1.81 Bribery. 11 Del.C.  §1201
20.1.82 Receiving a bribe. 11 Del.C. §1203
20.1.83 Giving unlawful gratuities. 11 Del.C.

§1205
20.1.84 Receiving unlawful gratuities. 11 Del.C.

§1206

20.1.85 Perjury in the third degree. 11 Del.C.
§1221

20.1.86 Perjury in the second degree. 11 Del.C.
§1222

20.1.87 Perjury in the first degree. 11 Del.C.
§1223

20.1.88 Making a false written statement. 11 
Del.C. §1233

20.1.89 Threats to public officials. 11 Del.C.
§1240

20.1.90 Assault in a detention facility. 11 Del.C.
§1254

20.1.91 Bribing a witness. 11 Del.C. §1261
20.1.92 Bribe receiving by a witness. 11 Del.C.

§1262
20.1.93 Tampering with a witness. 11 Del.C.

§1263
20.1.94 Interfering with child witness. 11 Del.C.

§1263A
20.1.95 Bribing a juror. 11 Del.C. §1264
20.1.96 Bribe receiving by a juror. 11 Del.C.

§1265
20.1.97 Tampering with physical evidence. 11 

Del.C. §1269
20.1.98 Disorderly conduct. 11 Del.C. §1301
20.1.99 Felony hate crimes. 11 Del.C. §1304
20.1.100 Harassment. 11 Del.C. §1311
20.1.101 Aggravated harassment. 11 Del.C.

§1312
20.1.102 Felony stalking.  11 Del.C. §1312A
20.1.103 Trading in human remains and 

associated funerary objects. 11 Del.C. §1333
20.1.104 Adulteration.11 Del.C. §1339
20.1.105 Carrying a concealed deadly weapon. 

11 Del.C. §1442
20.1.106 Possessing a destructive weapon. 11 

Del.C. §1444
20.1.107Felony possession of a deadly weapon 

during the commission of a felony.  11 Del.C. §1447
20.1.108 Possession of a firearm during 

commission of a felony. 11 Del.C. §1447A
20.1.109 Possession and purchase of deadly 

weapons by persons prohibited.  11 Del.C. §1448
20.1.110 Theft of a firearm. 11 Del.C. §1451
20.1.111 Engaging in a firearms transaction on 

behalf of another. 11 Del.C. §1455
20.1.112 Removing a firearm from the 

possession of a law enforcement officer. 11 Del.C.. §1458
20.1.113 Act of intimidation. 11 Del.C.. §3532
20.1.114 Aggravated act of intimidation. 11 

Del. C. §3533
20.1.115 Prohibited drug offenses A. 16 Del.C.

§4751
20.1.116 Prohibited drug offenses B.  16 Del.C.
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§4752
20.1.117 Unlawful delivery of noncontrolled 

substances. 16 Del.C. §4752A 
20.1.118 Prohibition against transfer, sale and 

purchase. 7 Del.C. §5306
20.1.119 Alteration, theft or destruction of will. 

12 Del.C. §210
20.1.120 Receiving or transferring stolen 

vehicle. 21 Del.C. §6704
20.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 

professional land surveyors shall be deemed to include any 
crimes under any federal law, state law, or valid town, city or 
county ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Professional 
Land Surveyors is available at:  http://
www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
landsurveyors/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
2900 REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 2905(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §2905(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 2900

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two 
Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on 
February 10, 2005 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware 
Real Estate Commission to receive comments regarding 
proposed Regulation 16.0. The proposed regulation 
identifies crimes substantially related to services provided by 
real estate brokers, salespersons and appraisers as mandated 
by SB 229 enacted by the 142nd General Assembly. The 
proposed regulation was published in the Register of 
Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 7, January 1, 2005.

Background

Under Title 24, Chapter 29, as amended by SB 229, one 
of the qualifications for licensure is that the applicant “shall 
not have been convicted of a crime that is substantially 
related to the practice of real estate brokering or real estate 
sales, nor have been professionally penalized, nor convicted 
for drug addiction nor have been professionally penalized or 
convicted for fraud.” 24 Del.C. §2907(a)(4). In addition, a 
real estate appraiser may be subject to disciplinary action for 

conduct which includes, but is not limited to, “conviction of 
a crime that is substantially related to the practice of real 
estate appraisal.” 24 Del.C. § 2938(4).

“‘Substantially related’ means the nature of the criminal 
conduct, for which the person was convicted, has a direct 
bearing on the fitness or ability to perform 1 or more of the 
duties or responsibilities necessarily related to the practice of 
real estate brokering, real estate sales or real estate 
appraisal.” 24 Del.C.§2901(a)(7).

The Board’s authority to promulgate rules and 
regulations implementing or clarifying specific sections of 
Chapter 29 is set forth in 24 Del.C. §2905(2)(1). The 
specific mandate for this rule is set forth in 24 Del.C.
§2905(c). The proposed regulation specifically identifies 
those crimes which are substantially related to the practice of 
real estate brokering, real estate sales or real estate appraisal. 

Summary Of The Evidence And Information Submitted

No written comments were received.  No public 
comment was received at the February 10, 2005 hearing. 

Findings Of Fact With Respect To The Evidence And 
Information Submitted

Within the purview of its responsibilities, the Board has 
carefully reviewed and considered the crimes presented as a 
compilation of crimes extracted from the Delaware Code. 
The overarching concern of the Board was the safety of the 
public since the licensed practitioners work closely in a 
position of trust and responsibility with the members of the 
public they serve. For example, they gain access to their 
homes and businesses, many times without the knowledge of 
others. Oftentimes too, licensed practitioners transport to or 
meet prospective buyers at homes or other locations in 
isolated situations when no one else is aware of their 
whereabouts. Clients and coworkers should not have to be 
concerned for their physical safety or the safety of their 
property. Licensees also have access to confidential financial 
information pertaining to prospective sellers and buyers. In 
addition, they deal with individuals who seldom experience 
real estate transactions and are unaware of the proper 
conduct of such endeavors. The Board also considered that 
many sellers and buyers are elderly and may be mentally or 
physically impaired.  Many of these individuals are often in 
stressful situations when buying or selling a home and may 
be subject to undue influence or manipulation.

The “primary objective of the Real Estate Commission, 
to which all other objectives and purposes are secondary, is 
to protect the general public, especially those persons who 
are direct recipients of services regulated by this chapter 
from unsafe practices, and from occupational practices 
which tend to reduce competition or fix the price of services 
rendered. The secondary objectives of the Commission are 
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to maintain and establish minimum standards of licensee 
competency, and establish and maintain certain standards in 
the delivery of services to the public.” 24 Del.C. §2929.

The Board finds that the crimes identified in the 
proposed rule are substantially related to fitness or ability to 
perform one or more of the duties and responsibilities of a 
real estate broker, real estate salesperson or real estate 
appraiser in that they involve:  the use of physical violence 
or force, or the threat thereof, toward or upon the person of 
another; sexual abuse or inappropriate sexual conduct; 
burglary and arson offenses evidencing a disregard for safety 
of persons and property; violation of privacy; theft, 
dishonesty, or false or fraudulent conduct; mistreatment or 
abuse of children and the elderly, including financial 
exploitation; and those drug offenses classified as violent 
felonies involving manufacture, delivery and intent to 
deliver and/or trafficking.

In summary, the Board finds that adopting regulation 
16.0, as proposed, is in the best interest of the citizens of the 
State of Delaware and is necessary to protect the health and 
safety of the general public, particularly the recipients of real 
estate brokering, real estate sales and rentals, or real estate 
appraisal services.

Decision And Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulation 16.0 
to be effective 10 days following publication of this order in 
the Register of Regulations.

Text And Citation

The text of the revised rule remains as published in 
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 7, January 1, 2005, and 
as attached hereto as Exhibit A.

SO ORDERED this 10th day of February, 2005.

DELAWARE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
Marvin R. Sachs, Chairperson, Presiding 
Joseph P. Connor, Jr., Vice-Chairperson
Paul Davis
John R. Giles
Harry W. Kreger
James D. McGinnis

16.0 Crimes Substantially Related To The Practice Of 
Real Estate Brokers, Salespersons And Appraisers

16.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following 
crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the practice 
of real estate brokers, salespersons and appraisers in the 
State of Delaware without regard to the place of conviction:

16.1.1 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 
degree; class B felony.  11 Del.C. §633.

16.1.2 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 
degree; class A felony. 11 Del.C. §634.

16.1.3 Murder in the second degree; class A 
felony.  11 Del.C. §635.

16.1.4 Murder in the first degree; class A felony. 
11 Del.C. §636.

16.1.5 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 
degree; class G felony.  11 Del.C. §768.

16.1.6 Unlawful sexual contact in the first 
degree; class F felony.  11 Del.C. §769.

16.1.7 Rape in the fourth degree; class C felony. 
11 Del.C. §770.

16.1.8 Rape in the third degree; class B felony. 
11 Del.C. §771.

16.1.9 Rape in the second degree; class B felony. 
11 Del.C. §772.

16.1.10 Rape in the first degree; class A felony. 11 
Del.C. §773.

16.1.11 Continuous sexual abuse of a child; class 
B felony. 11 Del.C. §778.

16.1.12 Dangerous crime against a child; class B 
felony. 11 Del.C. §779.

16.1.13 Kidnapping in the second degree; class C 
felony. 11 Del.C. §783.

16.1.14 Kidnapping in the first degree; class B 
felony.  11 Del.C. §783A.

16.1.15 Arson in the third degree; class G felony. 
11 Del.C. §801.

16.1.16 Arson in the second degree; class D 
felony.  11 Del.C. §802.

16.1.17 Arson in the first degree; class C felony. 
11 Del.C. §803.

16.1.18 Burglary in the second degree; class D 
felony.  11 Del.C. §825.

16.1.19 Burglary in the first degree; class C 
felony; class B felony.  11 Del.C. §826.

16.1.20 Robbery in the second degree; class E 
felony.  11 Del.C. §831.

16.1.21 Robbery in the first degree; Class B.  11 
Del.C. §832.

16.1.22 Carjacking in the first degree; class C 
felony; class B felony.  11 Del.C. §836.

16.1.23 Extortion; class E felony.  11 Del.C. §846.
16.1.24 Misapplication of property; class G felony. 

11 Del.C. §848.
16.1.25 Theft of rented property; class G felony. 

11 Del.C. §849.
16.1.26 Identity theft; class E felony; class D 

felony.  11 Del.C. §854.
16.1.27 Forgery; class F felony; class G felony. 11 

Del.C. §861.
16.1.28 Possession of forgery devices; class G 
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felony.  11 Del.C. §862.
16.1.29 Tampering with public records in the first 

degree; class E felony.  11 Del.C. §876.
16.1.30 Issuing a false certificate; class G felony. 

11 Del.C. §878. 
16.1.31 Fraudulent conveyance of public lands; 

class G felony.  11 Del.C. §911.
16.1.32 Fraudulent receipt of public lands; class G 

felony.  11 Del.C. §912.
16.1.33 Insurance fraud; class G felony.  11 Del.C. 

§913.
16.1.34 Home improvement fraud; class G felony. 

11 Del.C. §916.
16.1.35 New home construction fraud; class C 

felony, class F felony, class G felony. 11 Del.C. §917.
16.1.36 Dealing in children; class E felony. 11 

Del.C. §1100.
16.1.37 Endangering the welfare of a child; class E 

or G felony.  11 Del.C. §1100.
16.1.38 Sexual exploitation of a child; class B 

felony.  11 Del.C. §1108.
16.1.39 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography; 

class D felony.  11 Del.C. §1109.
16.1.40 Possession of child pornography; class F 

felony.  11 Del.C. §1111.
16.1.41 Sexual solicitation of a child; class C 

felony.  11 Del.C. §1112A.
16.1.42 Bribery; class E felony.  11 Del.C. §1201.
16.1.43 Receiving a bribe; class E felony.  11 

Del.C. §1203.
16.1.44 Perjury in the second degree; class F 

felony. 11 Del.C. § 1222.
16.1.45 Perjury in the first degree; class D felony. 

11 Del.C. §1223.
16.1.46 Tampering with physical evidence; class G 

felony.  11 Del.C. §1269.
16.1.47 .Hate crimes; class G felony, class F 

felony, class E felony, class D felony, class C felony, class B 
felony, class A felony.  11 Del.C. §1304.

16.1.48 Possession of a deadly weapon during 
commission of a felony; class B felony.  11 Del.C. §1447.

16.1.49 Possession of a firearm during 
commission of a felony; class B felony.  11 Del.C. §1447A.

16.1.50 Removing a firearm from the possession 
of a law enforcement officer; class C felony.  11 Del.C. 
§1458.

16.1.51 Organized Crime and Racketeering, Class 
B Felony.  11 Del.C. §1504.

16.1.52 Abuse of patient or resident in nursing 
home; Class D felony; Class G felony; Class A felony.  16 
Del.C. §1136(a).

16.1.53 Prohibited acts A; Class B felony. 16 
Del.C. §4751.

16.1.54 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, illegal 

drugs, methamphetamines, Lysergic Acid Diethylamide 
(L.S.D.), designer drugs, or 3,4-
methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA); Class B 
felony. 16 Del.C. §4753A.

16.1.55 Knowing or reckless abuse of an infirm 
adult; Class D felony; Class E felony; Class G felony; Class 
A felony.  31 Del. C. §3913.

16.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
real estate brokers, salespersons and appraisers shall be 
deemed to include any crimes under any federal law, state 
law, or valid town, city or county ordinance, that are 
substantially similar to the crimes identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended, they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Real Estate Commission 
is available at:

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
realestate/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3100 BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 3105(f) (24 Del.C. §3105(f))

24 DE Admin. Code 3100

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two 
Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on January 
26, 2005 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board 
Funeral Services to receive comments regarding proposed 
Regulation 11.0. The proposed regulation identifies crimes 
substantially related to the practice of funeral services as 
mandated by SB 229 enacted by the 142nd General 
Assembly.  The proposed regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 6, December 1, 2004.

Background

The enabling legislation for the practice of funeral 
services is found in 24 Del.C. Chapter 31. One of the 
qualifications for licensure is that the applicant “shall not 
have a criminal conviction record, nor pending criminal 
charge relating to an offense, the circumstances of which 
substantially relate to the practice of funeral services. 
Applicants who have criminal convictions records or 
pending criminal charges shall require appropriate 
authorities to provide information about the record or charge 
directly to the Board in sufficient specificity to enable the 
Board to make a determination whether the record or charge 
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is substantially related to the practice of funeral services.” 24 
Del.C. §3107(a)(7).  Furthermore, it is grounds for discipline 
if a practitioner “has been convicted of a crime that is 
substantially related to the provision of funeral services or 
any offense which would limit the ability of the practitioner 
to carry out the practitioner’s professional duties with due 
regard for the health and safety of the public;  a copy of the 
record of conviction certified by the clerk of the court 
entering the conviction shall be conclusive evidence 
therefore…” 24 Del.C. §3112(a)(3).  “‘Substantially related’ 
means the nature of the criminal conduct, for which the 
person was convicted, has a direct bearing on the fitness or 
ability to perform 1 or more of the duties or responsibilities 
necessarily related to the practice funeral services.” 24 
Del.C. §3101(12).  The Board is empowered “to promulgate 
regulations specifically identifying those crimes which are 
substantially related to the provision of funeral services.” 24 
Del.C. §3105(f). This regulation specifically identifies those 
crimes which are substantially related to the practice of 
funeral services.

Summary Of The Evidence And Information Submitted

No written comments were received. No public 
comment was received at the January 26, 2005 hearing. 

Findings Of Fact With Respect To The Evidence
And Information Submitted

The Board carefully reviewed and considered the crimes 
presented as a compilation of crimes extracted from the 
Delaware Code. The overarching concerns of the Board of 
Funeral Services were the public health, the protection of 
clients who are especially vulnerable during a time of 
bereavement, and the dignity of the decedent. The ability to 
maintain the public trust and work with a diverse population 
are essential to the practice of funeral services. A 
practitioner may have access to confidential information 
about the decedent. Children may not be well monitored 
during a funeral service by grieving family. Practitioners 
have access to chemicals that can be harmful if abused. At 
times a practice may involve animals who have passed. 

The Board finds that the identified crimes are 
substantially related to fitness or ability to perform 1 or more 
of the duties and responsibilities of a practitioner in that they 
involve: the use of physical violence or force, or the threat 
thereof, toward or upon the person of another; sexual abuse 
or inappropriate sexual conduct; violation of privacy; 
dishonesty, or false or fraudulent conduct;  mistreatment or 
abuse of children, the elderly or animals; and offenses 
involving the illegal possession or the misuse or abuse of 
narcotics, or other addictive substances and those non-
addictive substances with a substantial capacity to impair 
reason or judgment. 

In summary, the Board finds that adopting regulation 
11.0 as proposed is in the best interest of the citizens of the 
State of Delaware and is necessary to protect the health and 
safety of the individuals who need the services of a 
practitioner and maintain appropriate standards in the 
delivery of services. 24 Del.C. §3100.

Decision And Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulation 11.0 
to be effective 10 days following publication of this order in 
the Register of Regulations.

Text And Citation

The text of the revised rule remains as published in 
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 6, December 1, 2004.

SO ORDERED this 26th day of January, 2005.

BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICES
Kelly Anne Pepper, President 
William J. Doherty II, Secretary
Lyle Dabson
Rose L. Pritchett

11.0 Crimes substantially related to the provision of 
Funeral Services

11.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of the solicitation to commit any of the following 
crimes, is deemed to be a crime substantially related to the 
provision of Funeral Services in the State of Delaware 
without regard to the place of conviction:

11.1.1 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second 
degree. 11 Del.C.  §605.

11.1.2 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first 
degree. 11 Del.C. §606

11.2.3 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C.
§612.

11.1.4 Assault in the first degree. 11 Del.C.
§613.

11.1.5 Felony abuse of a sports official. 11 Del.C.
§614

11.1.6 Assault by abuse or neglect. 11 Del.C.
§615.

11.1.7 Unlawfully administering of drugs. 11 
Del.C. §625.

11.1.8 Unlawfully administering controlled 
substance or counterfeit  substance or narcotic drugs.  11 
Del.C.  §626.

11.1.9 Prohibited acts as to substances releasing 
vapors or fumes.  11 Del.C.  §627.

11.1.10 Manslaughter. 11 Del.C. §632.
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11.1.11 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 
degree.  11 Del.C. §633.

11.1.12 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 
degree. 11 Del.C. §634.

11.1.13 Murder in the second degree. 11 Del.C.
§635.

11.1.14 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636.
11.1.15 Promoting suicide. 11 Del.C. §645
11.1.16 Abortion. 11 Del.C. §651
11.1.17 Self-abortion.11 Del.C. §652
11.1.18 Issuing abortion articles.  11 Del.C. §653
11.1.19 Unlawful sexual contact in the third 

degree.11 Del.C. §767
11.1.20 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §768
11.1.21 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §769
11.1.22 Rape in the fourth degree. 11 Del.C. §770
11.1.23 Rape in the third degree. 11 Del.C. §771
11.1.24 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §772
11.1.25 Rape in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §773
11.1.26 Sexual extortion. 11Del.C. §776
11.1.27 Bestiality. 11 Del.C. §777 
11.1.28 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11 

Del.C. §778
11.1.29 Dangerous crimes against a child. 11 

Del.C. §779
11.1.30 Female genital mutilation.11 Del.C. §780
11.1.31 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11 

Del.C. §783
11.1.32 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§783A
11.1.33 Acts constituting coercion. 11 Del.C. §791
11.1.34 Arson in the third degree. 11 Del.C. §801
11.1.35 Arson in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§802
11.1.36 Arson in the first degree.11 Del.C. §803
11.1.37 Reckless burning or exploding. 11 Del.C. 

§804
11.1.38 Burglary in the third degree. 11 Del.C.

§824
11.1.39 Burglary in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§825
11.1.40 Burglary in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§826
11.1.41 Possession of burglar’s tools or 

instruments facilitating theft.  11 Del.C.  §828
11.1.42 Robbery in the second degree.11 Del.C.

§831
11.1.43 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§832
11.1.44 Carjacking in the second degree.11 Del.C.

§835
11.1.45 Carjacking in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§836
11.1.46 Felony theft. 11 Del.C. §841
11.1.47 Theft;  lost or mislaid property. 11 Del.C. 

§842
11.1.48 Theft;  false pretense. 11 Del.C. §843
11.1.49 Extortion 11 Del.C.  §844
11.1.50 Theft, extortion; claim of right as an 

affirmative defense. 11 Del.C. §846
11.1.51 Misapplication of property. 11 Del.C.

§848
11.1.52 Use, possession manufacture, distribution 

and sale of unlawful telecommunication and access devises 
11 Del.C. §850

11.1.53 Receiving stolen property  11 Del.C. §851
11.1.54 Unauthorized use of a vehicle  11 Del.C.

§853
11.1.55 Identity theft 11 Del.C. §854
11.1.56 Forgery  11 Del.C. §861
11.1.57 Possession of forgery devices  11 Del.C.

§862
11.1.58 Falsifying business records  11 Del.C.

§871
11.1.59 Tampering with public records in the 

second degree  11 Del.C. §873
11.1.60 Tampering with public records in the first 

degree 11 Del.C. §876
11.1.61 Offering a false instrument for filing. 11 

Del.C. §877
11.1.62 Issuing a false certificate 11 Del.C.  §878
11.1.63 Bribery 11 Del.C.  §881
11.1.64 Bribe receiving 11 Del.C. §882
11.1.65 Unlawful use of credit card. 11 Del.C.

§903
11.1.66 Reencoder and scanning devices. 11 

Del.C. §903A
11.1.67 Criminal impersonation . 11 Del.C. §907
11.1.68 Criminal impersonation, accident related. 

11 Del.C. §907A
11.1.69 Criminal impersonation of a police officer. 

11 Del.C. §907B
11.1.70 Unlawfully concealing a will. 11 Del.C.

§908
11.1.71 Securing execution of documents by 

deception.  11 Del.C. §909
11.1.72 Insurance fraud   11 Del.C. §913
11.1.73 Use of consumer identification 

information.  11Del.C.  §914
11.1.74 Use of credit card information. 11 Del.C.

§915
11.1.75 Unauthorized access  11 Del.C. §932
11.1.76 Misuse of computer system information. 

11 Del.C. §935
11.1.77 Endangering the welfare of a child  11 

Del.C. §1102
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11.1.78 Endangering the welfare of an 
incompetent person.  11 Del.C. §1105

11.1.79 Unlawfully dealing with a child. 11 Del.C.
§1106

11.1.80 Sexual exploitation of a child. 11 Del.C.
§1108

11.1.81 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography. 
11 Del.C. §1109

11.1.82 Possession of child pornography. 11 
Del.C. §1111

11.1.83 Sexual solicitation of a child. 11 Del.C.
§1112A

11.1.84 Perjury in the second degree. 11 Del.C.
§1222

11.1.85 Perjury in the first degree. 11 Del.C.
§1223

11.1.86 Making a false written statement. 11 
Del.C. §1233

11.1.87 Tampering with physical evidence. 11 
Del.C. §1269

11.1.88 Hate crimes  11 Del.C. §1304
11.1.89 Aggravated harassment  11 Del.C. §1312
11.1.90 Abusing a corpse  11 Del.C. §1332
11.1.91 Trading in human remains and associated 

funerary objects  11 Del.C. §1333
11.1.92 Adulteration  11 Del.C. §1339
11.1.93 Desecration of a burial place. 11 Del.C.

§1340
11.1.94 Act of intimidation.  11 Del.C. §3532
11.1.95 Aggravated act of intimidation. 11 Del.C.

§3533
11.1.96 Attempt to intimidate.  11 Del.C. §3534.
11.1.97 Alteration, theft, or destruction of will. 12 

Del.C. §210
11.1.98 Abuse, Neglect Mistreatments or Financial 

Exploitation of  residents or patients. 16 Del.C. §1136
11.1.99 Controlled substance prohibited acts A. 16 

Del.C. §4751
11.1.100 Controlled substance prohibited acts 

B.  16 Del.C. §4752.
11.1.10 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, 

illegal drugs,    metamphetamines, L.S.D., or designer drugs. 
16 Del.C. §4753A

11.1.102 Possession and delivery of 
noncontrolled prescription drug. 16 Del.C. §4754A (d) E 
felony

11.1.103 Hypodermic syringe or needle 
delivering or possessing; disposal; exceptions. 16 Del.C.
§4757

11.1.104 Distribution to persons under 21 years 
of age.  16 Del.C. §4761

11.1.105 Purchase of drugs from minors. 16 
Del.C. §4761A

11.1.106 Distribution, delivery, or possession 

of controlled substance within 1,000 feet of school property. 
16 Del.C. §4767

11.1.107 Distribution, delivery or possession of 
controlled substance in or within 300 feet of park, recreation 
area, church, synagogue or other place of worship. 16 Del.C.
§4768

11.1.108 Duty of driver involved in accident 
resulting in injury or death to any person. 21 Del.C. §4202

11.2 Crimes substantially related to the provision of 
Funeral Services shall be deemed to include any crimes 
under any federal law,  state law, or  valid town, city or 
county ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Funeral 
Services is available at:  http://
www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
funeralservices/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3800 STATE COMMITTEE ON DIETETICS/

NUTRITION
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 3805(1) (24 Del.C. §3805(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 3800

Pursuant to due notice of the time and place of hearing 
published in the News Journal and in the Delaware State 
News and in compliance with the requirements of 29 Del.C. 
§10115, 72 Del. Laws C. 292 and the Delaware Stated 
Committee on Dietetics/Nutrition (“Committee”) under its 
authority to enact rules and regulations specified in 24 
Del.C. §3805, conducted a public hearing concerning 
proposed modifications to the Rules and Regulations of the 
Committee.  The proposed modifications and additions were 
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations Volume 8, 
Issue 6, Wednesday, December 1, 2004.

Notice of the hearing was also published in two 
newspapers of general circulation and on page 929 of 
Volume 8, Issue 6 of the Delaware Register of Regulations. 
The public hearing was held on January 19, 2005 as 
scheduled in Conference Room B, Cannon Building, 861 
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Kent County, Delaware.  A 
quorum of the Committee was present for the hearing.

Summary Of The Evidence

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118, the following is a 
summary of the evidence and information provided at the 
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hearing: No written comments were received and no 
individuals appeared to make oral comments.

Findings Of Fact And Conclusions

The Board finds that the procedures required for the 
modification of Rules and Regulations have been 
accomplished as required and that the proposed change 
furthers the public purposes of the Committee.

Decision And Order

Based upon the findings and conclusions set forth 
above, the undersigned, constituting a quorum of the 
Delaware State Committee on Dietetics/Nutrition, adopt the 
proposed modification to the Rules and Regulations 
published in the Register of Regulations in Volume 8, Issue 
6, Wednesday, December 1, 2004, beginning at page 787 as a 
modification to the Rules and Regulations of the Committee, 
effective (See Attached EXHIBIT A).

SO ORDERED this 19th Day of  January, 2005.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMITTEE ON DIETETICS/
NUTRITION. 

Marianne Carter
Genalda Cornwall
Tracie Sinibaldi

6.0 Crimes Substantially Related To Provision Of 
Dietetic/Nutrition Services.

6.1 For the purposes of this section the following 
definition shall apply:

6.1.1 “Conviction” means a verdict of guilty by 
whether entered by a judge or jury, or a plea of guilty or a 
plea of nolo contendere or other similar plea such as a 
“Robinson” or “Alford” plea unless the individual has been 
discharged under §1024 of Title 10 (domestic violence 
diversion program) or by §4764 of Title 16 (first offenders 
controlled substances diversion program). Including all 
crimes prohibited by or punishable under Title 18 of the 
United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.) such as, but not 
limited to, Federal Health Care offenses.

6.2 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or of the 
attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or conceal or 
of solicitation to commit the following crimes, is deemed to 
be a crime substantially related to the provision of Dietetics/
Nutrition services as a Certified Dietitian and/or Nutritionist 
in the State of Delaware without regard to the place of 
conviction:

6.2.1 Homicide
6.2.2 Assault 
6.2.3 Criminal Sexual Abuse
6.2.4 Tax Evasion

6.2.5 Kidnapping
6.2.6 Theft and all related offenses
6.2.7 Embezzlement
6.2.8 Child pornography
6.2.9 Forgery
6.2.10 Identity theft
6.2.11 Insurance fraud
6.2.12 Bribery
6.2.13 Perjury
6.2.14 Abuse- any abuse of a person or animal
6.2.15 Counterfeiting
6.2.16 Tampering with consumer products
6.2.17 Hate crimes
6.2.18 False or fraudulent statements
6.2.19 Kick Back schemes 
6.2.20 Abduction or unlawful restraint

6.3 Crimes substantially related to the provision of 
services as a Certified Dietitian and/or Nutritionist shall be 
deemed to include any crimes under any federal law, state 
law, or valid town, city or county ordinance, that are 
substantially similar to the crimes identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the State Committee on 
Dietetics/Nutrition is available at:  http://
www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/dietitians/
index.shtml

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION
Statutory Authority:  3 Delaware Code,

Section 10103 (3 Del.C.  §10103)

ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118 and 3  Del.C. §10103, the 
Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission issues this 
Order adopting one of two proposed amendments to the 
Commission’s Rules. Following notice and a public hearing 
on January 11, 2005, the Commission makes the following 
findings and conclusions:

Summary Of The Evidence

1. The Commission posted public notice of the 
proposed amendments in the December 1, 2004 Register of 
Regulations and for two consecutive weeks in the Delaware 
Capital Review and Delaware State News.  The Commission 
proposed to enact a new Rule 11.14.1.5 to provide for a 
recommended fine of $1,000 for owners or trainers who 
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scratch their horses in Delaware in order to race in another 
jurisdiction. The Commission also proposed to amend Rule 
19.3.1.1 to require that persons filing appeals before the 
Commission must pay a $150 nonrefundable fee to cover 
court reporter fees.  

2. The Commission received no written comments 
prior to the public hearing.  The Commission held a public 
hearing on January 11, 2005.  Steward Fritz Burkhardt stated 
that, on proposed Rule 11.14.1.5, the stewards would 
initially look to the trainer as the person responsible for any 
scratch of a horse. Commissioner Decker stated that the 
owner or trainer could be responsible, depending on who 
entered the horse.  Larry Semuel of the Jockeys’ Guild stated 
that there could be instances where the Race Secretary would 
request that a trainer enter a horse and then later allow the 
horse to scratch.  In such cases, the Race Secretary would 
sign the slip authorizing the scratch.

3. Regarding proposed Rule 19.3.1.1, Administrator 
of Racing John Wayne stated that the proposed rule change 
is the same as the existing Harness Racing Commission 
Rule.  Mr. Wayne stated that there is a lot of labor involved 
in sending out notices in connection with appeals.  Mr. 
Wayne stated that the proposed $150 fee would cover the 
court reporter’s fee. Commissioner Patterson stated that it 
would be more accurate to revise the proposed rule to 
reference “administrative expenses or the court reporter’s 
fee.”

Findings Of Fact And Conclusions

4. The public was given notice and an opportunity to 
provide the Commission with comments in writing and by 
testimony at the public hearing on the proposed amendments 
to the Commission’s Rules. 

5. The Commission has considered the public 
comments at the January 11, 2005 public hearing. The 
Commission finds that Rule 11.14.1.5 should be adopted in 
its current form.  The Rule addresses the serious problem of 
trainers or owners scratching a horse in Delaware in order to 
race the same horse in another jurisdiction. The Rule 
contains a recommended $1,000 fine which the Commission 
finds is necessary for this type of conduct.  The Rule would 
also properly penalize the party who is responsible for 
scratching the horse in Delaware so that the horse can race in 
another jurisdiction.

6. The Commission concludes that Rule 19.3.1.1 
should not be adopted in its current form. The rule as 
proposed should be amended to refer to a nonrefundable fee 
of $150 to cover the cost of the court reporter and the costs 
of administrative expenses. The Commission will submit a 
new proposed Rule 19.3.1.1 for publication in the Register of 
Regulations.

7. The Commission concludes that the proposed 
amendment to Rule 11.14.1.5 should be adopted in order for 

this agency to achieve its statutory duty to effectively 
regulate thoroughbred racing pursuant to 3 Del.C. § 10103. 
The Commission concludes that the proposed Rule 19.3.1.1 
should not be adopted at this time and will be resubmitted for 
publication.  

The effective date of this Order will be ten (10) days 
from the publication of this Order in the Register of 
Regulations on March 1, 2005.  

Bernard Daney, Chair Date
Duncan Patterson, Commissioner Date
H. James Decker, Commissioner Date
Debbie Killeen, Commissioner Date

Rule Amendments of the Delaware Thoroughbred 
Racing Commission

Rule 11.14.1.5 Scratches and Rule 19.3.1.1 Applications 
for Review

11.0  Entries, Subscriptions, Delegations
11.1 Entering Required:

11.1.1 No horse shall be qualified to start in any 
race unless such horse has been and continues to be duly 
entered therein.  Entries or subscriptions for any horse, or the 
transfer of same, may be refused or cancelled by the 
Licensee without notice or reason given therefor.

11.2 Procedure for Making Entries:
11.2.1 It shall be the absolute responsibility of the 

Trainer to report bleeders from other jurisdictions to the 
Commission's Veterinarian or Stewards on official forms 
from that State prior to entry.

11.2.2 All entries, subscriptions, declarations and 
scratches shall be lodged with the Racing Secretary and shall 
not be considered as having been made until received by the 
Racing Secretary who shall maintain a record of time of 
receipt of same.

11.2.3 Every entry must be in the name of such 
horse's registered Owner, as completely disclosed and 
registered with the Racing Secretary under these Rules and 
made by the Owner, Trainer or a person deputized by such 
Owner or Trainer.

11.2.4 Every entry must be in writing, or by 
telegraph promptly confirmed in writing, except that an 
entry may be made by telephone to the Racing Secretary but 
must be confirmed in writing should the Stewards, the 
Racing Secretary or an assistant to the Racing Secretary so 
request.

11.2.5 Every entry shall clearly designate the 
horse so entered. When entered for the first time during a 
meeting, every horse shall be designated by name, age color, 
sex, sire, dam and broodmare sire, as reflected by such 
horse's registration certificate.

11.2.6 No horse may race unless correctly 
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identified to the satisfaction of the Stewards as being the 
horse duly entered;

11.2.7 In establishing the identity of a horse, 
responsibility shall be borne by any person attempting to 
identify such horse as well as the Owner of such horse, all 
such persons being subject to appropriate disciplinary action 
for incorrect identification.

11.2.8 At the time of entering a horse, the Trainer 
of such horse or his representative, must declare to the 
Racing Secretary or his representative, whether the horse 
will race on any medication permitted by these Rules and 
shall not deviate from such declaration.

11.2.9 Within the discretion of the Stewards, a list 
of horses so declared to race on medication may, in whole or 
in part, be announced, released for publication or otherwise 
made public without liability for the accuracy thereof.

11.2.10 In order to claim an apprentice allowance 
at the time of entry, an Apprentice Jockey must be 
designated by name.

11.2.11  No alteration may be made in any entry 
after the closing of entries, except that an error may be 
corrected.

11.2.12  No horse may be entered in two races to 
be run on the same day.

11.3 Limitation as to Spouses:
Repealed 1/6/92.

11.4 Mutuel Entries:
11.4.1 All horses entered in the same race and 

owned wholly or in part by the same owner or spouse thereof 
shall be joined as a mutuel entry and a single betting interest. 
Horses shall be regarded as having a common owner when 
an owner of one horse, either as an individual or as a 
licensed member of a partnership or as a licensed 
shareholder of a corporation, has an ownership interest in 
another horse, either as an individual or as a licensed 
shareholder of a partnership or as a licensed shareholder of a 
corporation. No trainer of any horse shall have any 
ownership interest in any other horse in the same race unless 
such horses are coupled as a single wagering interest.

11.4.2 No owner shall have more than one horse 
start in a trifecta or twin-trifecta race. No mutuel entry shall 
start in a trifecta or twin-trifecta race. However, the Stewards 
may, in their discretion, permit mutuel entries to start in 
stakes races and simulcast races when there is trifecta 
wagering.

11.4.3 Except with the permission of the 
Stewards, no more than two horses having such common ties 
through ownership as to require them to be joined as a 
mutuel entry may be entered in a purse race. When making 
such double entry, a preference for one of the horses may be 
made.

11.4.4 In no case may two horses having 
common ties through ownership start in a purse race to the 
exclusion of a single interest.

Revised:  6/19/92
11.5 Subscriptions:

11.5.1 Nominations to or entry of a horse in a 
stakes race is a subscription.  Any subscriber to a stakes race 
may transfer or declare such subscription prior to closing.

11.5.1.1  Joint subscription and entries may be 
made by any one of the joint Owners of a horse and each 
such Owner shall be jointly and severally liable for all 
payments due thereon.

11.5.1.2  Death of a horse or a mistake in its 
entry, when such horse is eligible, does not release the 
subscriber or transferee from liability for all stakes fees due 
thereon.  No fees paid in connection with a subscription to a 
stakes race that is run shall be refunded.

11.5.1.3  Death of a nominator or original 
subscriber to a stakes race shall not render void any 
subscription, entry or right of entry thereunder; all rights, 
privileges and obligations shall attach to the successor 
Owner, including the legal representatives of the decedent.

11.5.1.4  When a horse is sold privately, sold at 
public auction or claimed, stakes engagements for such 
horse shall be transferred automatically with such horse to its 
new Owner, except that if such horse is transferred to a 
person whose registration is suspended or otherwise 
unqualified to race or enter such horse, then subscriptions 
shall be void as of the date of such transfer.

Rule 11.4 Rev. July 1977
Rule 11.4 Rev. July 1978

11.5.1.5 All stakes fees paid toward a stakes 
race shall be allocated to the winner thereof unless otherwise 
provided by the conditions for such stakes race.  In the event 
a stakes race is not run for any reason, all such subscription 
fees paid shall be refunded.

11.6 Closings:
11.6.1 Entries for purse races and subscriptions to 

stakes races shall close at the time designated by the 
Licensee in the previously published conditions for such 
races.  If a race is not split, no entry, subscription or 
declaration shall be accepted after such closing time, except 
that in the event of an emergency or if a purse race fails to 
fill, then the Racing Secretary may, with the approval of a 
Steward, extend such closing time.

11.6.2 If the hour of closing is not specified for 
stakes races, then subscriptions and declarations therefor 
may be accepted until midnight of the day of closing, 
provided they are received in time for compliance with every 
other condition of such race.

11.6.3 Entries which have closed shall be 
compiled without delay by the Racing Secretary and, along 
with declarations, be posted.

11.7 Number of Starters in a Race:
11.7.1  The maximum number of starters in any 

race shall be limited to the number of starting positions 
afforded by the Licensee's starting gate and such extensions 
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thereof as can be positioned across the width of the track at 
the starting point for such race. Such maximum number of 
starters shall be further limited by the number of horses 
which, in the opinion of the Stewards, considering the safety 
of the horses and riders and the distance from the start of the 
first turn, can be afforded a fair and equal start.

11.7.2  If any purse race in the printed condition 
book fails to fill, then the Licensee may cancel or declare off 
such race.

11.8 Split or Divided Races:
11.8.1 In the event a race is cancelled or declared 

off, the Licensee may split any race programmed for the 
same day and which may previously have been closed.

11.8.2 When a purse race is split, forming two or 
more separate races, the Racing Secretary shall give notice 
thereof not less than 15 minutes before such races are closed 
so as to grant time for the making of additional entries to 
such split races.

11.8.3 Division of entries upon the splitting of 
any race shall be made in accordance with the conditions 
under which entries and subscriptions therefor were made 
and in the absence of specific prohibition by such conditions:

11.8.3.1 Horses originally joined as a mutuel 
entry shall, to the greatest extent possible, be placed in 
different divisions of a split race;

11.8.3.2 Division of other entries in any split 
race may be made according to age, sex or weight, except 
that such entries not so divided shall be divided by lot so as 
to provide a number of betting interests as nearly equal as 
possible for each division of such split race.

11.9 Post Positions:
11.9.1 Post positions for all races shall be 

determined by lot drawn in the presence of those making the 
entries for such race.  Post positions in split races also shall 
be redetermined by lot in the presence of those making the 
entries for such split race.  The Racing Secretary shall assign 
pari-mutuel numbers for each starter to conform with the 
post position drawn, except when a race includes two or 
more horses joined as a single betting interest.

11.10 Also Eligible List:
11.10.1  If the number of entries for a purse race 

exceeds the number of horses permitted to start in such race, 
then the names of as many as six (6) additional horses may 
be drawn as provided in Rule 11.9. The names drawn shall 
be posted, in the order they were drawn, as "also eligible" to 
start.

11.10.2 After any horses have been excused from a 
purse race at scratch time, the starting and post position of 
such horses as needed from the also-eligible list shall be 
determined by the order in which they appear on the entry 
sheet.

Revised:  10/26/95
11.10.3  Any Owner or Trainer of any horse on the 

also-eligible list who does not wish to start such horse in 

such race shall so notify the Racing Secretary prior to scratch 
time for such race and such horse shall forfeit any preference 
to which it may have been entitled.

11.10.4  Where entries are closed two racing days 
prior to the running of a race, any horse on an also-eligible 
list, which has also been drawn into a race as a starter for the 
succeeding day, shall not be given an opportunity to be 
drawn into the earlier race for which he had been listed as 
also-eligible.

11.11 Preferred List; Stars:
11.11.1 The Racing Secretary shall maintain a list 

of horses which were entered but denied an opportunity to 
race because eliminated from a race programmed in the 
printed condition book either by overfilling or failure to fill. 
Horses so eliminated shall be awarded a preference "star" for 
each such elimination. As to drawing in from the also-
eligible list to subsequent races of similar distance and 
similar conditions, such horses shall be given preference 
over horses with fewer number or no preference stars.

11.11.2  No preference shall be given a horse 
otherwise entitled thereto for a race if such horse is also 
entered for a race on the succeeding day.

11.11.3  No preference shall be given a horse 
otherwise entitled thereto for a race unless preference is 
claimed at the time of entry by indicating same on the entry 
with the word "preferred".

11.12 Arrears:
11.12.1  No horse may be entered or raced if the 

Owner thereof is in arrears as to any stakes fees due by such 
Owner, or is indebted in any sum to Licensee, except with 
the approval of the Racing Secretary.  (Also, see Rule 6.11).

11.13 Declarations:
11.13.1  Withdrawal of a horse from a race before 

closing thereof by the Owner or Trainer or person deputized 
by either, such being known as a "declaration', shall be made 
in the same manner as to form, time and procedure as 
provided for the making of entries. Declarations and 
scratches are irrevocable. No declaration fee shall be 
required by any Licensee.

11.14 Scratches:
11.14.1  Withdrawal of a horse from a race after 

closing thereof by the Owner or Trainer or person deputized 
by either, such being known as a "scratch", shall be 
permitted only under the following conditions:

11.14.1.1 A horse may be scratched from a 
stakes race for any reason at any time up until 45 minutes 
before post time for that race.

11.14.1.2 No horse may be scratched from a 
purse race without approval of the Stewards and unless such 
intention to scratch has been filed in writing with the Racing 
Secretary or his assistant at or before the time conspicuously 
posted as "scratch time".  Scratch of one horse coupled in a 
mutuel entry in a purse race must be made at or before the 
posted scratch time, unless permission is granted by the 
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Stewards to allow both horses to remain in the race until a 
later appointed scratch time therefor.

11.14.1.3  In purse races, horses that are 
physically disabled or sick shall be permitted to be scratched 
first.  Horses that are not physically disabled or sick may be 
scratched only with the permission and in the manner 
prescribed by the Stewards.

11.14.1.4 Entry of any horse which has 
been scratched or excused from starting by the Stewards 
because of a physical disability or sickness shall not be 
accepted until the expiration of three calendar days after 
such horse was scratched or excused.

11.14.1.5 The Stewards will review all 
cases in which a horse is entered to run at a licensed track in 
Delaware, while appearing in the entries in another racing 
jurisdiction, during the five day entry period for Delaware. 
It shall be a violation of these Rules for a licensee to scratch 
a horse entered to race in Delaware in order for said horse to 
race in another jurisdiction within the five day entry period. 
Violations of this Rule, absent mitigating circumstances, will 
be subject to fines of not less than $1,000 and no more than 
$2,500.  This rule shall not pertain to Handicap and Stake 
races. 

4 DE Reg. 179 (7/1/00)

19.0 Hearings, Reviews and Appeals
19.1 Procedure Before Stewards:

19.1.1 Before holding any Stewards' hearing 
provided for under these Rules, notice in writing must be 
given to any party charged with a violation, other than a 
routine riding offense occurring in a race, unless such notice 
is waived in writing by the person charged.

19.1.2 The notice required by the preceding 
subsection shall include:

19.1.2.1 Identification of the specific Rule or 
Rules involved, the infraction for which he is charged and a 
brief statement of the facts supporting such charge.

19.1.2.2  The time and place of hearing.
19.1.2.3 The statement that the party charged 

may be represented by legal counsel or by a representative of 
any racing trade organization of which he is a member.

19.1.3 All Stewards' hearings shall be closed and 
the Stewards shall cause no public announcement to be made 
concerning a matter under investigation until the conclusion 
of the hearing and the party charged has been notified of the 
decision.

19.1.4 The hearing shall be conducted by no less 
than two of the Stewards in such a manner as to ascertain and 
determine the substantial rights of the parties involved and 
shall not be bound by technical rules of procedure and 
evidence. In emergencies during the live racing meet or 
during periods when there is no live racing, a hearing may be 
conducted by only one Steward.

7 DE Reg. 316 (9/1/03)

19.1.5 All testimony at such hearings shall be 
given under oath. A record shall be made of the hearing, 
either by use of a tape recorder or by court reporter's 
transcript, or otherwise, if funds for such are made available 
from any source. The Stewards will not be required to 
receive testimony under oath in cases where their ruling is 
based upon a review of the video tapes of a race.

19.1.6 If, at the conclusion of their hearing, the 
Stewards find that a Rule has been violated, they promptly 
shall issue a written ruling which sets forth the name of 
every person charged with a violation, the Rule violated, 
their finding as to the violation of such Rule and the penalty 
affixed. Copies of such rulings shall be delivered to each 
party in interest and to the Commission and the Licensee, 
and posted in the Racing Secretary's office.

19.2 Review and Appeal:
19.2.1 Any party who is penalized by any order 

or ruling of the Stewards may apply to the Commission for a 
review of such Stewards' order or ruling.

19.3 Application for Review:
19.3.1 An application to the Commission for the 

review of a Steward's order or ruling must be made within 
forty-eight (48) hours after such order or ruling is issued by 
written or oral notice and shall:

19.3.1.1 Be in writing and addressed to the 
Commission's Administrator of Racing, accompanied by a 
filing fee of $250 [plus an additional fee of $150 to cover 
the cost of the court reporter's attendance.  The 
Commission, for just cause, may refund the $250 portion 
of the filing fee.  In no event shall the advance payment of 
the court reporter's fee be refunded;]

19.3.1.2 Contain the signature of the applicant 
and the address to which notices may be mailed to applicant;

19.3.1.3 Set forth the order or ruling requested 
to be reviewed and the date thereof;

19.3.1.4  Succinctly set forth the reasons for 
making such application;

19.3.1.5  Request a hearing;
19.3.1.6  Briefly set forth the relief sought; and
19.3.1.7 Provide assurance to the Commission 

that all expenses occasioned by the appeal will be borne by 
the applicant; and

19.3.1.8 Contain a sworn, notarized statement 
that the applicant has a good faith belief that the appeal is 
meritorious and is not taken merely to delay the penalty 
imposed by the stewards.

19.4 Disposition of Review Application:
19.4.1 After consideration of any such 

application for review, the Commission may grant the 
application, defer it or reject it.  The applicant shall be 
advised of the Commission's disposition of his application 
for review.

19.5 Commission Hearing:
19.5.1 If the Commission grants any such 
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application for review, before holding any hearing thereon, it 
shall:

19.5.1.1 Give written notice forthwith to the 
applicant and all other necessary parties personally or by 
mail, including:

19.5.1.1.1 Time and place of such hearing 
as designated by the Commission Chairman, but such time 
shall not be less than five (5) days and no more than thirty 
(30) days after service of notice unless at the request of a 
party and in order to provide a fair hearing.

19.5.1.1.2  Except to applicant, a copy of 
the application for review.

19.5.2 The Commission may request the 
Attorney General to appoint a special prosecutor to carry the 
burden of proof showing a Rule violation if the matter 
involves a Rule violation and requires a proceeding of an 
adversary nature, such prosecutor being an attorney who has 
had no prior participation in the matter on review.

19.5.3 The Commission may request the 
Attorney General, or a member of his staff other than the 
special prosecutor, to serve as law officer for the 
Commission to assist the presiding officer in rendering 
decisions of a judicial nature.

19.5.4 The Commission shall permit all parties 
that so desire to be represented by counsel and, to the extent 
it deems necessary or appropriate, shall permit all parties to 
respond and present evidence and argument on all issues 
involved.

19.5.5 The Commission may issue, under the 
hand of its Chairman and the seal of the Commission, 
subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses and the production 
of books, papers and documents, before the Commission, 
and may administer oaths or affirmations to the witnesses 
whenever, in the judgment of the Commission, it may be 
necessary for the effectual discharge of its duties.

19.5.6 If any person refuses to obey any 
subpoena or to testify or produce any books, papers or 
documents, then any Commissioner may apply to the 
Superior Court of the county in which he or the Commission 
may be sitting and, thereupon, the Court shall issue its 
subpoena requiring the person to appear and to testify or 
produce any books, papers or documents.

19.5.7 Whoever fails to obey or refuses to obey a 
subpoena of the Superior Court shall be guilty of contempt 
of court and shall be punished accordingly.

19.5.8 False swearing on the part of any witness 
shall be deemed perjury and shall be punished as such.

19.5.9 All tape recordings or stenographic 
recordings taken and transcriptions made of the hearing or 
any part thereof shall be paid for by such parties as request 
that such a tape or stenographic record be made of the 
hearing, except that additional transcripts thereof shall be 
paid for by the person desiring such copies.

19.5.10 The Commission may exclude evidence 

that is irrelevant, immaterial or unduly repetitious and may 
admit evidence that would be inadmissible under the Civil 
Rules of Procedure but is evidence of the type commonly 
relied upon by reasonably prudent men in the conduct of 
their affairs.

19.5.11 All or part of the evidence may be received 
in written form if the interest of the appearing parties will not 
be substantially prejudiced thereby.

19.5.12 The Commission may take official notice 
of technical facts or customs or procedures common to 
racing.

19.5.13 The Commission may make an informal 
disposition of the matter by stipulation, agreed settlement, 
consent order or default.

19.5.14 Upon conclusion of the hearing, the 
Commission shall take the matter under advisement, shall 
render a decision as promptly as possible and shall issue a 
ruling in final adjudication of the matter.  Such ruling shall 
set forth the name of every person charged with a Rule 
violation; the Rule number and pertinent parts of the Rule 
alleged to have been violated; a separate statement of 
reasons for the decision; and penalties fixed by the 
Commission, if any.  Copies of such ruling shall be delivered 
to each party in interest, posted in the Racing Secretary's 
office of the Licensee where the matter arose and forwarded 
to the national office of the National Association of State 
Racing Commissioners.

19.5.15 The Commission, for just cause, may 
refund the filing fee to the applicant.

Added:  9/27/94
19.6 Continuances:

19.6.1 All applications for a continuance of a 
scheduled hearing shall be in writing, shall set forth the 
reasons therefor and shall be filed with the Commission's 
Administrator of Racing after giving notice of such 
application by mail or otherwise to all parties or their 
attorneys, including counsel for the stewards. The 
Commission will not consider any continuance request from 
counsel for an appellant unless counsel has filed a written 
entry of appearance with the Commission.  For attorneys 
who are not members of the Delaware bar, those attorneys 
must comply with the provisions of Delaware Supreme 
Court Rule 72 for admission pro hac vice before the 
Commission. The Commission will not consider any 
continuance request from attorneys who are not members of 
the Delaware bar unless and until that attorney has been 
formally admitted under Delaware Supreme Court Rule 72 
as the attorney of record for the appellant. 

19.6.2 When application is made for continuance 
of a cause because of the illness of an applicant, witness or 
counsel, such application shall be accompanied by a medical 
certificate attesting to such illness and inability.

19.6.3 An application for continuance of any 
hearing must be received by the Commission at least ninety-
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six (96) hours prior to the time fixed for the hearing. An 
application received by the Commission within the 96-hour 
period will not be granted except for extraordinary reasons. 
The Commission will not consider any request for a 
continuance absent evidence of good cause for the request. 
A failure by an appellant to take reasonable action to retain 
counsel shall not be considered good cause for a 
continuance.

19.6.4 If the Commission approves the 
application for continuance, it shall, concurrently with such 
postponement, set a date for the continued hearing.

3 DE Reg. 1541 (5/1/00)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Thoroughbred Racing 
Commission are available from the Registrar’s Office.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(e)  (14 Del.C. §122(e))
14 DE Admin. Code 401

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

401 Major Capitol Improvement Program

I. Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 401 Major Capitol Improvement Program by 
adding the phrase “or when they propose to use a currently 
owned site for school purposes; or when they propose to 
obtain a site through donation, gift or condemnation” to line 
two of 2.1, and removing the phrase “It is preferable that at 
least four (4) sites be considered” at the end of  2.1.  The 
phrase “and the State Budget Office” is also being added to 
2.2 in line two along with the updated title of the Office of 
State Planning. These amendments reflect the changes 
required by Senate Bill 305 which amended 14 Del.C. 
§1714. The regulation is exempt from the Administrative 
Procedures Act 29 Del.C. 100113(b)(5) because the 
amendments are required by changes in the Delaware Code. 
The Regulation is being published as a final regulation.
 

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 
DE Admin. Code 401 in order to bring the Regulation in 
line with 14 Del.C. §1714.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 401. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1714, 14 DE Admin. 
Code 401 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended. 
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE 
Admin. Code 401 is hereby amended and shall be in effect 
for a period of five years from the effective date of this order 
as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 401amended hereby 
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said 
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 401 in the 
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of 
Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on February 15, 2005. 
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from 
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 15 day of February 2005.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

401 Major Capital Improvement Programs

1.0 Major Capital Improvement Programs are projects 
having a cost of $500,000, or more.

1.1 The Secretary of Education shall annually review 
the current cost per square foot for construction and make 
needed adjustments as required.

1.2 Projects may be considered together to form a 
single Major Capitol Improvement Project. However, the 
consolidated major capital project should be a consolidation 
of projects at one location.

2.0 Procedures for Approval of a Site for School 
Construction

2.1 Local school districts shall notify the Department of 
Education by letter to schedule a site review when they 
propose to purchase a site for school purposes; or when they 
propose to use a currently owned site for school purposes; or 
when they propose to obtain a site through donation, gift or 
condemnation. All prospective sites shall be reviewed at one 
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time. It is preferable to have more than one site to be 
considered in the case of purchase.

2.2 The Department of Education will forward all 
prospective sites to the Office of State Planning Office of 
State Planning Coordination and the State Budget Office for 
the pre-application review process. The Department of 
Education will review the responses of the other agencies in 
order to rank the prospective sites and list all reasons for 
approval or rejection. The Department shall then notify the 
school district concerning their final decision.

3.0 Approval of Educational Specifications, Schematic 
Design Plans, Design Development Plans, and 
Construction Drawings.

3.1 Educational Specifications are defined as a 
document which presents to an architect what is required of 
an educational facility to house and implement the 
educational philosophy and institutional program in an 
effective way.

3.1.1 Educational Specifications shall be approved 
by the local school board and the Department of Education. 
The Department will require a minimum of ten (10) working 
days for completion of the review and approval process.

3.2 All Schematic Design Plans shall be approved by 
the local school board and the Department of Education. 
Schematic Design Plans should be sent to the county or city 
planning office for information purposes only. The 
Department of Education requires one set of Schematic 
Design Plans.

3.3 All Design Development Plans shall be approved 
by the local school board and the  Department of Education. 
The Department of Education requires one set of Design 
Development Plans.

3.4 All Final Construction Drawings shall be approved 
by the local school board and the  Department of Education. 
The Department of Education requires one set of Final 
Construction Drawings.

3.5 The local school district must involve the following 
groups in reviewing Final Construction Drawings  prior to 
the final approval. Copies of all local and state agency 
approvals shall be submitted to the Department of Education 
for final approval.

3.5.1 Fire Marshal to review the plans for fire 
safety.

3.5.2 Division of Public Health, Bureau of 
Environmental Health, Sanitary Engineering for Swimming 
Pools, and the County Health Unit for information on 
Kitchens and Cafeterias.

3.5.3 Division of Facilities Management, Chief 
of Engineering & Operations for compliance with building 
codes.

3.5.4 Division of Highways for review of the 
Site Plan showing entrances and exits.

3.5.5 Architectural Accessibility Board for 
access for persons with disabilities.

3.5.6 Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control for wastewater and erosion control.

3.6 Exemptions: Major Capitol Projects that do not 
include structural changes or wall modifications such as, but 
not limited to, window replacement, HVAC, electrical or 
plumbing infrastructure upgrades do not require submission 
to the Department of Education.

4.0  Certificates of Necessity
4.1 The Certificate of Necessity is a document issued 

by the Department of Education which certifies that a 
construction project is necessary and sets the scope and cost 
limits for that project.

4.2 Certificates of Necessity shall be obtained 
sufficiently in advance to meet all prerequisites for the 
holding of a local referendum and shall be issued only at the 
written request of the local school district. The Certificate of 
Necessity shall be quoted in the advertisement for the 
referendum.

4.3 Projects proposing the construction of a new 
building or for an addition to an existing building shall be 
issued a separate Certificate of Necessity.  Funds issued for 
the construction of a new building or for an addition to an 
existing building shall not be transferred between projects or 
to projects in a separate Certificate of Necessity.

4.4 Additions to existing buildings that are done in 
connection with other renovations may be issued a single 
Certificate of Necessity.  However, when the Certificate is 
issued, it shall identify each building in the program and 
describe the work to be done in that building including the 
dollar amount for that work.  Funds may be transferred 
between projects issued under this Certificate of Necessity.

4.5 The Office of School Plant Planning will complete 
the final Certificates of Necessity and forward the Certificate 
of Necessity to the district superintendent for his/her 
signature.

4.6 A copy of the final Certificate of Necessity will be 
returned to the district within ten working days following 
final approval by the Department of Education.

5.0 Notification, Start of Construction, Completion of 
Construction and Certificate of Occupancy

5.1 The school district shall submit to the  Department 
of Education and the State Budget Director a construction 
schedule, showing start dates, intermediate stages and final 
completion dates.

5.2 The school district shall notify the  Department of 
Education, the State Budget Director and the Insurance 
Coverage Office at the completion of the construction, which 
is defined as when the school district, with the concurrence 
of the architect, accepts the building as complete.
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5.3 The school district shall notify the  Department of 
Education, the State Auditor, and the State Budget Director 
upon approval of the Certificate of Occupancy.

5.4 Local school districts shall submit to the 
Department of Education a copy of the electronic autocad 
files. Electronic autocad files shall be submitted no later than 
30 calendar days after the completion of any major 
renovation, addition to an existing facility, new school or 
replacement school.

6.0 Purchase Orders.
All purchase orders for any Major Capitol Improvement 

Project shall be approved by both the  Department of 
Education and the Director of Capital Budget and Special 
Projects prior to submission to the Division of Accounting.

7.0 Change Orders
7.1 Change Orders are changes in the construction 

contract negotiated with the contractor. The main purpose is 
to correct design omissions, faults of unforeseen 
circumstances which arise during the construction process.

7.2 All Change Orders must be agreed upon by the 
architect, the school district and the contractor and shall be 
forwarded to the  Department of Education.

7.2.1 Submission of a Change Order must 
include the following documents: Completed purchase order 
as applicable; local board of education minutes identifying 
and approving the changes; completed AIA document G701, 
and correspondence which gives a breakdown in materials 
mark-up and other expenses.

8.0 Percentage of Funds Transferrable Between Projects 
within a Certificate of Necessity

8.1 The transfer of funds between projects during the 
bidding and construction process shall have the written 
approval of the  Department of Education.  Acceptability of 
the transfer of funds will meet the following criteria:

8.1.1 No project may have more than 10% of its 
funding moved to another project. 

8.1.2 No project may have more than 10% 
added to its initial funding.

9.0 Educational Technology.
All school buildings being constructed or renovated 

under the Major Capital Improvement Program shall 
include, wiring for technology that meets the state standards 
appropriate to the building type, such as high school, 
administration, etc.  The cost of such wiring shall be borne 
by project funds.

10.0 Air Conditioning.
All school buildings with Certificates of Necessity for 

new school construction and/or major renovation/

rehabilitation shall require the inclusion of air conditioning 
unless otherwise waived by the Secretary of Education.

11.0 Administration of the New School.
The principle administrator of a new school may be 

hired for up to one (1) year prior to student occupancy to 
organize and hire staff.  The State portion of salary/benefits 
may be paid from Major Capital Improvement Programs.

12.0 Voluntary School Assessment
12.1 The funds generated as a result of the 

Voluntary School Assessment, as authorized by the 
provisions of 14 Del.C. §103(c) relating to land use planning 
and education, shall be applied exclusively to offsetting the 
required local share of major capital construction costs.

12.1.1 Districts receiving Voluntary School 
Assessment funds shall have full discretion in the use of 
those funds for any construction activities that increase 
school capacity.

2 DE Reg. 1380 (2/1/99)
4 DE Reg. 1252 (2/1/01)
4 De Reg. 1949 (6/1/01)
6 DE Reg. 1669 (6/1/03)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(e)  (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 309

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

309 Certification Administrative Supervisor of Special 
Education

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to repeal 
regulation 309 from the DE Admin. Code.  The regulation 
concerns the requirements for certification of educational 
personnel. As part of a continuing effort to reduce the 
number of regulations which govern virtually every aspect of 
State government, it is recommended that the above-
referenced regulation be repealed.

Notice of the proposed repeal of the regulations was 
published in the News Journal and Delaware State News on 
November 23, 2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit 
“A”. The notice invited written comments. No written 
comments were received.
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II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to repeal this 
regulation as the content is incorporated into amended 14
DE Admin. Code 1523, Director of Special Education, as 
part of the Professional Standards Board’s continuing efforts 
to reduce the number and complexity of regulations 
governing the licensure and certification of educators.  

III.  Decision To Repeal The Regulations

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude the 
identified regulation should be repealed. Therefore, pursuant 
to 14 Del. C. §1203 and §1205(b)., the regulations attached 
hereto as Exhibit “B” are hereby repealed.

IV.  Text And Citation

The text of the regulations 309, attached hereto as 
Exhibit “B” are repealed, and said regulations shall be 
deleted from the DE Admin. Code.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL 
STANDARDS BOARD THE 3RD  DAY of FEBRUARY, 
2005.

Harold Roberts, Chair Bruce Harter
Sharon Brittingham Valerie Hoffmann
Norman Brown Leslie Holden
Heath Chasanov Carla Lawson
Edward Czerwinski Mary Mirabeau
Angela Dunmore Gretchen Pikus
Karen Gordon Karen Schilling Ross
Barbara Grogg Carol Vukelich

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT 
OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 17TH DAY OF 
FEBRUARY, 2005.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President

Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

309 Certification Administrative - Supervisor of Special 
Education

Effective July 1, 1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
1.1 Degree required

1.1.1Master's degree from a regionally accredited 
college and,

1.2  Experience
1.2.1Three years of full-time, classroom teaching 

experience as a special education teacher, while holding a 
Standard License for teaching Exceptional Children. 
Standard certification is limited to LD, SED, MD, VI, HI, PI, 
Autistic/Severely Disabled and combinations thereof and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1Master's degree from a regionally accredited 

college with a major in Administration and Supervision of 
Programs for Exceptional Children and,

1.3.2Eligible for a Standard License to teach 
Exceptional Children LD, SED, MD, VI, HI, Autistic/
Severely Disabled and combinations thereof or,

1.3.3Master's degree from a regionally accredited 
college and,

1.3.3.1Eligible for a Standard Administrative 
License as an Administrative Supervisor in the State of 
Delaware and,

1.3.3.2A three semester hour, graduate level 
course in the Administration and Supervision of Programs 
for Exceptional Children and,

1.3.3.3Eligible for a Standard License in 
Exceptional Children LD, SED, MD, VI, HI, Autistic/
Severely Disabled and combinations thereof.

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited Standard 
License

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a 
period of three years, at the request of a Delaware public 
school district, to a person employed in the above position to 
allow for the completion of the requirements for the 
Standard License in 1.0 or,

2.1.1Master's degree from a regionally accredited 
college and,

2.1.2Meets the requirements in 1.2 and,
2.1.3Is eligible for a Standard License to teach 

Exceptional Children in 1.3.2 and, 
2.1.4Within six semester hours of meeting the 

course work requirements in 1.3.4.1 and 1.3.4.2.
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3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include 
Standard and Limited Standard.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(e)  (14 Del.C. §122(e))
14 DE Admin. Code 1523

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

307 Certification Administrative Director Of Special 
Education

I. Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 307 Certification Administrative Director of 
Special Education.  This regulation applies to the 
certification of educators as Directors of special Education, 
as established by 14 Del.C. §1220(a). The regulation is 
being amended to align it with the statutory changes in 14 
Del.C. 1220(a), and to require that a candidate complete an 
NCATE or NASDTEC approved educator preparation 
program or an approved alternative routes to certification 
program for school leaders. The requirements for Supervisor 
of Special Education, as set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code
309, are incorporated into the amended regulation.  The 
regulation will be renamed to make it consistent with the 
titles of other Professional Standards Board regulations and 
will be renumbered 1523 to reflect its movement to the 
Professional Standards Board section of the DE Admin. 
Code.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation 
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State 
News on November 23, 2004, in the form hereto attached as 
Exhibit “A”. The notice invited written comments. Written 
comments supporting the proposed amendment were 
received from the State Council for Persons with Disabilities 
and the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional 
Citizens.

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to adopt this 
regulation to comply with changes in statute regarding the 
licensure and certification of educators.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is 
appropriate to amend the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit 
“B” is hereby adopted. Pursuant to the provision of 14 
Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in 
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this 
order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form 
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1523 of the Administrative 
Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL 
STANDARDS BOARD THE 3RD DAY OF FEBRUARY, 
2005.

Harold Roberts, Chair Bruce Harter
Sharon Brittingham Valerie Hoffmann
Norman Brown Leslie Holden
Heath Chasanov Carla Lawson
Edward Czerwinski Mary Mirabeau
Angela Dunmore Gretchen Pikus
Karen Gordon Karen Schilling Ross
Barbara Grogg Carol Vukelich

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT 
OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 17TH DAY OF 
FEBRUARY, 2005

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith
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1523 307  Certification Administrative Standard 
Certificate Director of Special Education Effective July 

1, 1993

1.0 Content.
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a 

Standard Certificate for Director of Special Education, 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a).

2.0 Definitions.
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Administrative Experience” means experience in a 
pK-12 setting as an assistant principal, principal, School 
Leader I, or School Leader II.

[“Standards Board” means the Professional 
Standards Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. 
§1201.]

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
verify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

[“State Board” means the State Board of Education 
of the State of Delaware established pursuant to 14 Del.C. 
§104.]

“Teaching Experience” means meeting students on a 
regularly scheduled basis, planning and delivering 
instruction, developing or preparing instructional materials, 
and evaluating student performance in any pK-12 setting.

3.0 The following shall be required for the Standard 
Certificate for a Director of Special Education.
1.0  The following is required for the Standard License

1.1  Degree required
3.1 Educational requirements.

3.1.1 A master’s degree in special education 
from a regionally accredited college or university where the 
program is NCATE approved or state approved, where the 
state approval body employed the appropriate NASDTEC or 
NCATE specialty organization standards; and

3.1.1.1 Successful completion of a Delaware 
approved alternative routes to certification program for 
school leaders.  Until approval and implementation of an 
alternative routes to certification program occurs, candidates 
shall fulfill the following requirements;

3.1.1.1.1 A minimum of twenty-four 
(24) semesters hours of graduate level course work in 
administration, completed either as part of the master’s 
degree or in addition to it, to include at least one course in 
each of the following areas, unless otherwise indicated:

3.1.1.1.1.1 Supervision/Evaluation 
of Staff;

3.1.1.1.1.2 Curriculum 

Development;
3.1.1.1.1.3 School Law/Legal 

Issues in Education;
3.1.1.1.1.4 Human Relations; and
3.1.1.1.1.5 Special Education (12 

credits)(may include courses in curriculum, instruction, 
methods, and/or administration); or

3.1.2 [A master’s degree in school 
administration; and 30 graduate level semester hours in 
Special Education taken either as part of a degree 
program or in addition to it; or

1.1.1  3.1.3]  A M master's degree in any field from 
a regionally accredited college or university; plus and

3.1.2[3].130 graduate level credits semester 
hours in Special Education[, to include at least one course 
in each of the areas set forth in 3.1.1.1.1.1 through 
3.1.1.1.1.5 taken either as part of a degree program or in 
addition to it; and

3.1.3.2 Successful completion of a 
Delaware approved alternative routes to certification 
program for school leaders. Until approval and 
implementation of an alternative routes to certification 
program occurs, candidates shall fulfill the following 
requirements:

3.1.3.2.1 Supervision/Evaluation of 
Staff;

3.1.3.2.2 Curriculum Development;
3.1.3.2.3 School Law/Legal Issues in 

Education;
3.1.3.2.4 Human Relations; and
3.1.3.1.5 Special Education (12 

credits)(may include courses in curriculum, instruction, 
methods, and/or administration taken either as part of a 
degree program or as part of the requirement for 
graduate level semester hours in Special Education set 
forth in 3.1.2.1 and 3.1.3.1, above; or]

3.1.[3 4] A current and valid special education 
administrative certificate from another state or the District of 
Columbia.

3.2 Experience requirements.
3.2.1 A minimum of three (3) years of teaching 

experience with children with disabilities at the pK-12 level; 
or

3.2.2 A minimum of three (3) years of 
professional experience with children with disabilities at the 
pK-12 level, in any setting, in a position requiring 
certification or licensing by the appropriate regulatory body, 
including, but not limited to a school psychologist, speech 
pathologist, or audiologist, regardless of whether the 
applicant’s position meets the definition of “teaching 
experience”; or

3.2.3 A minimum of three (3) years 
administrative experience with children with disabilities at 
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the pK-12 level; or
3.2.4 Any combination of these types of 

experiences which totals a minimum of three (3) years.
1.5  Experience

1.2.1  three years of administrative experience as a 
supervisor of programs for Special Education or as an 
administrator in a school for the disabled and, 

1.3  Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1  Master's degree in Administration and 

Supervision of Programs for Special Education from a 
regionally accredited college plus 30 graduate level semester 
hours in Special Education or,

1.3.2  A Master's degree from a regionally 
accredited college, in any field, plus 30 graduate semester 
hours.  A total of 30 semester hours of graduate level course 
work shall be from the area of Special Education, taken 
either within or beyond the Master's degree and,

1.3.3  The individual shall meet the State of 
Delaware requirements for a Standard License as a 
Supervisor of Special Education or a Principal/ of a School 
for the Disabled.

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited Standard 
License

2.1  The Limited Standard License may be issued for a 
period of three years at the request of a Delaware public 
school district, to a person employed in the above position to 
allow for the completion of the requirements for the 
Standard License in section 1.0.

2.1.1  Master's degree from a regionally accredited 
college and,

2.1.2  Meets the requirement in 1.2 and,
2.1.3  Within six semester hours of meeting the 

requirements in 1.3.1 or 1.3.2. and 1.3.3

3.0  Licenses that may be issued for this position include 
Standard and Limited Standard.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(e)  (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 1531

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1531 Standard Certificate School Leader I

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks 

the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code 1531 Certification Administrative School 
Leader I. This regulation applies to the certification of 
educators as school administrators, pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§1220(a).  It is necessary to amend this regulation to delete 
references to Director of Special Education, which will 
remain as an independent regulation.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation 
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State 
News on November 23, 2004, in the form hereto attached as 
Exhibit “A”. The notice invited written comments. No 
comments were received. 

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to adopt this 
regulation to align it with changes in 14 DE Admin. Code
307.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is 
appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit 
“B” is hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 
Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in 
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this 
order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form 
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1531 of the Administrative 
Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL 
STANDARDS BOARD THE 3RD  DAY of FEBRUARY, 
2005.

Harold Roberts, Chair Bruce Harter
Sharon Brittingham Valerie Hoffmann
Norman Brown Leslie Holden
Heath Chasanov Carla Lawson
Edward Czerwinski Mary Mirabeau
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Angela Dunmore Gretchen Pikus
Karen Gordon Karen Schilling Ross
Barbara Grogg Carol Vukelich

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT 
OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS 17TH DAY OF 
FEBRUARY, 2005.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1.0 Content.
1.1 The following shall apply to the issuance of a 

Standard Certificate for Directors, Supervisors, 
Administrative Assistants, Coordinators, and Managers in 
instructional areas, except Directors of Special Education 
(See 14 DE Code 1523), pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220.

7 DE Reg.  190 (8/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1744 (6/1/04)

2.0 Definitions.
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards 
Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1201.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
verify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of 
the State of Delaware established pursuant to 14 Del.C. 
§104.

“Teaching Experience” means meeting students on a 
regularly scheduled basis, planning and delivering 
instruction, developing or preparing instructional materials, 
and evaluating student performance in any pK-12 setting.

7 DE Reg.  190 (8/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1744 (6/1/04)

3.0 The following shall be required for the Standard 
Certificate for Directors, Supervisor, Administrative 
Assistants, Coordinators, and Managers in instructional 
areas.

3.1 Educational requirements
3.1.1 A master’s degree in educational 

leadership from an NCATE or state approved program where 
the state approval body employed the appropriate 
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards from 
a regionally accredited college or university, or

3.1.2 A master’s degree in education offered by 
an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator 
preparation program or from a state approved educator 
preparation program where the state approval body 
employed the appropraite NCATE specialty organization 
standards from a regionally accredited college or university 
and a current and valid equivalent central office 
administrative certificate from another state, or

3.1.3 A master’s degree in any field from a 
regionally accredited college or university and successful 
completion of a Delaware approved alternative routes to 
certification program for school leaders.  Until approval and 
implementation of an alternatives routes to certification 
program occurs, candidates completing the Standard 
Certificate in accordance with 3.1.3.1 of this regulation shall 
fulfill the following requirements;

3.1.3.1 A minimum of twenty-four semester 
hours of graduate level course work, completed either as 
part of the master’s degree or in addition to it, in 
administration, to include at least one course in each of the 
following areas:

3.1.3.1.1 Curriculum Development,
3.1.3.1.2 Supervision/Evaluation of 

Staff,
3.1.3.1.3 Human Relations, and
3.1.3.1.4 School Law/Legal Issues and
3.1.3.1.5 In the area(s) to be 

supervised (may include courses in curriculum, instruction, 
and/or methods), and

3.2 Experience requirements
3.2.1 A minimum of three (3) years of teaching 

experience at the pK-12 level. Teaching experience for 
Directors, Supervisors, Administrative Assistants, 
Coordinators, and Managers of programs for exceptional 
children must have been with exceptional children.

7 DE Reg.  190 (8/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1744 (6/1/04)
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Chapter 5, Section 512 (31 Del.C. Ch.5, §512)

ORDER

Private Duty Nursing Services

Nature Of The Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / 
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend 
the provider manual of the Delaware Medicaid/Medical 
Assistance Program and the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan 
to revise and clarify the criteria and reimbursement 
methodology for Private Duty Nursing (PDN) services.  The 
Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were 
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and 
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed 
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the January 2005 Delaware Register of 
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions 
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be 
produced by January 31, 2005 at which time the Department 
would receive information, factual evidence and public 
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

Citations

• Section 1905(a)(8) of the Social Security Act, 
includes private duty nursing services in the 
definition of medical assistance

• 42 CFR §440.80, defines Private Duty Nursing 
Services

• 42 CFR 447.205, defines requirement for Public 
Notice of Statewide Methods and Standards for 
Setting Payment Rates

Background

Coverage practices not specified by the Delaware 
Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) policy 
includes: serving multiple clients in a congregate setting; 
self-employed individual providers enrolled independently 
of a nursing agency; multiple nurses providing service to a 
single client, congregate group of clients, or when the PDN 
provider is a caretaker not legally responsible for the client.

Currently, DMAP enrolls multiple nurses to serve one or 
more clients in a home setting at negotiated rates.  Rates 
negotiated for independent nurses are intended to be lower 

than the PDN rate paid to nursing agencies. Independent 
nurses were also intended to assure service when agencies 
were unreliable or unavailable. DSS staff prepares claims for 
reimbursement based on time logs submitted by independent 
PDN providers. This practice has provided adequate nursing 
care for clients, but has exposed DSS to possible billing 
issues and overpayments, and may not be consistent with 
current DMAP policy.  

Summary of Proposed Changes

1. Private Duty Nursing may be provided by a single 
nurse to an individual or to multiple clients in a group 
setting.  Private Duty Nursing is NOT necessarily defined as 
one-on-one nursing care, and may apply to services provided 
by a single nurse to multiple clients. This will be referred to 
as “Shared Nursing Services” because no single client is 
receiving the total attention of the nurse.  

2. Special arrangements for other than one-on-one 
service for children in home settings will be considered if 
Shared Nursing Services are medically appropriate, 
advantageous to the client and to DMAP. Private Duty 
Nursing or Shared Nursing Services may supplement the 
care provided by a parent.

3. Private Duty Nursing reimbursement rates will be 
set at a One Nurse to One Client baseline.  Shared Nursing 
Services will be reimbursed at a reduced or discounted rate 
per client, and will be limited to a maximum of three clients 
per nurse at one time.

4. Clients authorized for Private Duty Nursing may 
change from “private” services to Shared Nursing Services 
at the discretion of the DMAP Medical Director with no 
change to their medical condition.  Areas considered by the 
Medical Director’s decision include availability of nursing 
staff, the housing situation of the client, the medical needs of 
the client, and the economic advantage of DMAP.

5. Referring physicians must be informed when 
DMAP has determined that Shared Nursing Services are 
appropriate.  Referring physicians may object to Shared 
Nursing Services for their client if their interpretation of 
Private Duty Nursing is one-on-one nursing care.

6. Reimbursement rates will be based on the 
individual client, rather than the provider.  A fixed rate will 
be established for each unit of client service for PDN.  A 
reduced rate will be established for each unit of client service 
for shared nursing care for up to three clients.  For example, 
a client who is authorized 8 hours of PDN per day may share 
a nurse with another client also authorized 8 hours of PDN 
per day.  They will each be billed as 8 hours of Shared 
Nursing Service, at the discounted rate, rather than each 4 
hours of PDN. 

7. The maximum number of hours provided by an 
individual nurse will be restricted to a level that can safely 
and reasonably be provided.  No single nurse should be 
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expected to provide routinely or on a sustained basis more 
than 16 hours of service per day.  

8. Neither DMAP Policy nor the State Plan makes a 
distinction between agency PDN and nursing services 
provided by independent contract nurses. Shared Nursing 
Service policy will apply to both, and will depend upon 
provider availability, the needs of the client, and the 
economic advantages of DMAP.

9. DHSS/DSS or their fiscal agent should not be 
involved in preparing, altering, revising, submitting, or 
correcting provider claims.  Submission of claims for 
reimbursement is the responsibility of the provider. 
Retroactive adjustments for rate updates adjust the fee file 
and the reimbursement, not the claim.

10. A Prior Authorization template will be established 
for each client to display the authorized hours for the 
provider, and for the DSS staff to monitor claims.  The 
template will document the authorized hours of service for 
each client, and coordinate the amount of service available 
from each provider.  The Prior Authorization number will be 
entered in the MMIS, so edits/audits and payments can be 
automated.  Billing will be oriented to the client, not to the 
provider.

Reimbursement Methodology

The baseline PDN reimbursement rate will normally 
represent services provided by one nurse to one client.  An 
adjusted reimbursement rate per client will be established for 
medically appropriate PDN services provided by a single 
nurse for up to three clients.  Maximum rates are established 
according to the following table:

One client: Rate for One  = 100% of established
baseline rate

Two clients Rate for Each = 50% of 143% of
baseline rate

Three clients Rate for Each = 33% of 214% of
baseline rate

For example, if the baseline rate for one client is $21.00 
per hour, the reimbursement rate for multiple client settings 
is as follows:

One Client: Rate for each client  = $21.00 per hour
 (Baseline)

Two Clients Rate for each client  = $15.00 per hour
Three Clients Rate for each client = $15.00 per hour

The proposed provisions are subject to approval by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

Summary Of Comments Received With Agency 
Response With Explanation Of Changes

The Governor's Advisory Council for Exceptional 
Citizens (GACEC), the Delaware Developmental 
Disabilities Council (DDDC), and the State Council for 
Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following 
summarized observations:

First, in Section 1.0, the last bullet indicates that the 
Provider Manual standards do not apply to “waiver group 
homes”.  We believe the DDDC HCBS waiver also covers 
foster homes.  The sentence could either be amended to 
include such settings or deleted altogether since the first 
bullet already covers beneficiaries enrolled in waivers.

Agency Response: Accepted comment and change 
made.

Second, in Section 1.1.1, the inclusion of the word 
“skilled” imposes a higher standard than the Federal PDN 
regulation, 42 CFR 440.80, which does not use the term 
“skilled”.  The State cannot adopt a definition of a Medicaid 
service which is narrower than the Federal standard. 
Moreover, the reference to 42 CFR 440.80 should be 42 CFR 
440.70.

Agency Response: Accepted comment and change 
made.

Third, in Section 1.1.4.1, we recommend adding “or 
community settings” after the word “home”. CMS modified 
its policy to permit PDN services to be provided in other 
community settings.  Moreover, the limited reference to 
“home” in Section 1.1.4 is inconsistent with Sections 5.2.5 
and 5.2.6 which authorize PDN in the contexts of 
accompaniment to medical appointments, accompaniment to 
school, and in-school settings.

Agency Response: Added the phrase, “or other DMAP 
approved community setting”.

Fourth, in Section 1.1.4, we recommend deletion of the 
second sentence which recites that “(g)enerally, the total cost 
of PDN services shall not exceed the cost of care provided in 
an institutional setting.” This is not a waiver program in 
which the cost of services are subject to an aggregate or 
individual cap. Moreover, it is inconsistent with the ADA 
and Olmstead which encourages states to review and revamp 
policies which encourage unnecessary institutionalization.

Agency Response: PDN is included in Delaware’s 
1115(c) waiver.  No change.

Fifth, Section 4.1.3 suggests that DSS will pay less to 
self-employed nurses than agency-based nurses.  Given the 
nursing shortage, this approach may discourage individual 
nurses from providing PDN services.  It would be preferable 
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to establish compensation standards which attract, not deter, 
self-employed nurse participation in the Medicaid program.

Agency Response:  The difference in the rates takes into 
account the fact that agencies have higher costs than self-
employed nurses.  No change.

Sixth, the regulations are unduly constrictive in the 
context of “carryover”.  See Sections 5.1.5 and 5.2.9. The 
standards explicitly disallow carryover even to the next day. 
A completely rigid and inflexible system is simply not 
realistic and will result in hardship to families. Recognizing 
that a weekly schedule is developed at a minimum, consider 
the following alternative to Section 5.2.9:

DSS projects a sufficient amount of hours per 
day.  If the hours authorized are not used on a 
particular day, the hours do not generally carry 
over to the next day or weekend nor can the 
hours be “banked” to be used at a later time. 
Occasional variations of 3 hours or less within 
a week based on unexpected or extenuating 
circumstances may be acceptable.

Agency Response:  If a situation arises that necessitates 
the use of additional hours, the nurse or facility may seek 
prior approval from DMAP.  No change.

Seventh, Section 5.2.3 is objectionable.  This establishes 
a categorical requirement that no one (adult or child) is 
eligible for PDN unless they have a least 2 independent 
caregivers.  This is not authorized by Federal law.  If a single 
parent with a medically fragile child has no relatives in the 
area, she would be precluded from obtaining PDN to which 
her child is otherwise entitled.  Moreover, the implication of 
the sentence is that if an agency nurse does not appear as 
scheduled, the agency need not arrange for s substitute. 
Rather, the primary caretaker or back-up caregiver would be 
expected to “cover” for the defaulting nurse to the exclusion 
of the provider.  The sentence should be deleted.

Agency Response:  The phrase, “and one back-up 
caregiver”, has been removed.

Eighth, Section 5.2.4 recites as follows: “DSS cannot 
guarantee that PDN services will be available from a specific 
home health agency.” The reference to “home health 
agency” is problematic since it suggests that PDN is a “home 
health service”.  PDN is a distinct service.  At a minimum, 
we recommend substituting “provider” for “home health 
agency”. Moreover, the sentence could be construed to mean 
that PDN may not be available based on a lack of 
participating providers or openings. DSS has a duty to 
ensure the ready availability of participating providers 
throughout the State. Therefore, Section 5.2.4 could be 
improved as follows:

Although a sufficient network of PDN 
providers will be enrolled to ensure statewide 
availability, DSS cannot guarantee that PDN 
services will be available from a specific 
provider.

Agency Response:  The phrase, “home health agency” 
has been removed and replaced with the word, “provider”.

Ninth, there is some “tension” between Section 5.2.5 
(which categorically prohibits a PDN accompanying a 
caregiver to a medical appointment or hospital) and Section 
5.3.1 (which contemplates that some caregivers may not be 
sufficiently trained/skilled to care for a Medicaid beneficiary 
(e.g. with new trach or vent).  Section 5.2.5 should be 
revised to permit such accompaniment when the 
beneficiary’s health and safety would be compromised by 
transport without a private duty nurse.  This is similar to the 
authorization of accompaniment in the school transit context 
authorized by Section 5.2.6.

Agency Response:  The intent of this section is to 
clarify that DMAP will not pay for a PDN when a parent/
caregiver is available.  No change.

Tenth, Section 5.2.6 should be revised to clarify that the 
“compromised airway” is only one of multiple medical 
conditions which may justify nurse accompaniment. 
Consider inserting “or other high risk condition” after the 
word “airway”.

Agency Response:  Accepted comment.  Added the 
phrase “or other DMAP approved high risk condition”.

Eleventh, for similar reasons, Section 5.3.4 could be 
revised by substituting “due to compromised airway (trach/
vent) or other high risk condition” for “with a compromised 
airway (trach/vent)”.

Agency Response:  Accepted comment.  Added the 
phrase “or other DMAP approved high risk condition”.

Twelfth, the regulations establish a utilization cap of 16 
hours/day for children.  See Section 5.3.1.  Under EPSDT, 
utilization limits may be used as guides but not absolute 
caps.  Section 5.3.3 ostensibly recognizes that the utilization 
standard is a guide and not an absolute cap by authorizing 
more hours to avoid hospitalization. At a minimum, we 
therefore recommend substitution of “upper utilization 
guideline” for “maximum number of hours a day” in Section 
5.3.1.

Agency Response:  Section 5.3.1 - no change.

Thirteenth, for similar reason, we recommend the 
following substitute for the first sentence in Section 5.3.1:
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In absence of compelling circumstances (e.g. 
unavailability of other appropriate options), 
DSS does not approve 24 hour on-going PDN 
services.

Agency Response:  Refer to Section 5.3.3.

Fourteenth, for similar reasons, we recommend 
inserting “or institutional placement” after the word 
“hospitalization”. There are non-hospital settings (e.g. 
Voorhees) which should be disfavored over community 
settings.

Agency Response:  Accepted comment and change 
made.

DSS Note:  In addition to the above changes, please be 
notified of the following change. To indicate the appropriate 
number of units to bill based on the minutes of service 
provided, a new section numbered 4.2.1 has been added to 
clarify how to calculate units of PDN service. 

Findings Of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set 
forth in the January 2005 Register of Regulations should be 
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
regulation to amend the policies for Private Duty Nursing 
Services is adopted and shall be final effective March 10, 
2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 2/15/05 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATIONS #05-12a
REVISIONS:

Private Duty Nursing Program Provider Specific Policy

1.0 Overview
Up to 28 hours of private duty nursing (PDN) per week 

are included in the Managed Care Organization (MCO) 
benefit package for both the Diamond State Health Plan 
(DSHP) and the Delaware Healthy Children Program 
(DHCP). Additional private duty nursing hours may be 
covered as a wrap-around service for the DSHP. No 
additional private duty nurse hours are covered for the 
DHCP.

Medicaid clients age 21 years and over are eligible for 
up to eight hours of PDN daily.  Children under age 21 are 
covered under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, 
and Treatment (EPSDT) Program and may exceed this limit 
if medically necessary.

Providers shall refer to the Managed Care section of the 

General Policy for the required forms and procedures related 
to Diamond State Partners (DSP).

This manual reflects the policies as they relate to:
• Medicaid clients who are exempt from 

managed care coverage (see list of those 
exempt from managed care coverage in the 
Managed Care section of the General Policy)

• Medicaid clients enrolled in the DSHP whose 
medical need for private duty nursing has been 
determined by the Delaware Medical 
Assistance Program (DMAP) to exceed 28 
hours per week.

• Medicaid clients whose medical need requires 
private duty nursing services in a non-
institutional setting.  [This policy does not 
apply to waiver group homes.]

1.1 Service Definition
1.1.1 Private duty nursing PDN services are 

available through the Delaware Medical Assistance Program 
(DMAP) DMAP for clients who require more individual and 
continuous [skilled] care than is available from a visiting 
nurse or than is required to be provided in an inpatient 
setting by the nursing staff of a hospital or skilled nursing 
facility [home health services] as defined in 42 CFR 
440.80.

1.1.2 PDN services may be provided by a single 
nurse to an individual or to multiple clients in a non-
institutional group setting as described above.  The nurse-
client ratio will not exceed 3 clients per nurse. unless 
authorized by the Medical Review Team.

1.1.3 Special aArrangements for multiple clients 
in non-institutional settings may be considered if such 
arrangements are medically appropriate and advantageous to 
both the client and to DMAP.

1.1.4 PDN services are provided to Medicaid 
clients in their home [or other DMAP approved 
community setting] as an alternative to more expensive 
institutional care.  Generally, the total cost of PDN services 
shall not exceed the cost of care provided in an institutional 
setting.

2.0 Qualified Providers
2.1 General Criteria

2.1.1 Private duty nursing may be provided by 
any registered nurse (RN), licensed practical nurse (LPN) or 
certified registered nurse practitioner (CNP) (CRNP) who 
has a professional license from the State to provide nursing 
services.

2.1.2 Home health agencies that employ and 
provide qualified nursing staff as described above or self-
employed qualified nursing staff are considered qualified 
providers and may enroll as PDN providers.

2.1.2.1 Individual nurses, either employed by 
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an agency or self-employed may provide no more than 16 
hours of PDN services in a 24-hour period except in an 
emergency situation which will be reviewed by the Medical 
Review Team.

3.0 Documentation
3.1 Provider Requirements

3.1.1 The private duty nursing provider is 
required to keep the following documentation in the patient’s 
record:

3.1.1.1 Documentation of orientation to 
client’s care needs and demonstration of nursing skills 
necessary to deliver prescribed care.

3.1.1.2 Maintain A written plan of care that is 
established, signed and dated by the attending practitioner 
which includes orders for medications, treatments, 
nutritional requirements, activities permitted, special 
equipment and other ordered therapies.

3.1.1.3 Renew Orders renewed, signed and 
dated at least once every 60 days or as often sooner as the 
severity of the client’s conditions requires.

3.1.1.4 Documentation that the nurse 
promptly alerts the practitioner to any changes that suggest a 
need to alter the plan of care.

3.1.1.5 Adequate documentation dated and 
signed by the nurse performing the service.

4.0 Reimbursement
4.1 Methodology

4.1.1 Private duty nursing services provided to 
eligible DMAP clients are reimbursed using prospectively 
determined at a rates representing hourly or 15 minute units. 
The unit of service for agency providers is one hour, and for 
self-employed nurses is 15 minutes. A weekly maximum 
limit is established for each client by the DMAP based on the 
authorized services.  This limit is defined as the product of 
the hourly rate and the minimum number of hours necessary 
to maintain the client in the home as an alternative to 
institutionalization. Hours will not exceed eight hours daily 
for clients age twenty-one years and over.

4.1.2 Hourly Hourly rrates Rates for agency 
services are reviewed annually. The rate represents the will 
relate to the lowest prevailing usual and customary charge, 
as determined by a survey of all private duty nursing service 
providers agencies.  Providers Agencies will be reimbursed 
the lower of their usual and customary charges or the 
maximum rate.

4.1.3 Rates for self-employed nurses will be 
individually negotiated, but will not exceed a predetermined 
percentage of the agency rate.  Rates may not be 
renegotiated more than once annually except in extenuating 
circumstances. Increases will be limited to the normal 
medical inflation used by DMAP.  Self-employed nurses will 
be reimbursed the lower of their usual and customary 

charges or the maximum rate.
4.1.3 4.1.4 Providers are not required to submit 

cost reports to the DMAP. There are no retrospective 
settlements on claims paid.

4.1.5 The baseline PDN reimbursement rate will 
normally represent services provided by one nurse to one 
client.  An adjusted reimbursement rate per client will be 
established for medically appropriate PDN services provided 
by a single nurse for up to three clients.  Maximum rates are 
established according to the following table:

One client: Rate for One = 100% of established
baseline rate

Two clients Rate for Each = 50% of 143% of
baseline rate

Three clients Rate for Each = 33% of 214% of
baseline rate

For example, if the baseline rate for one client is $21.00 per 
hour, the reimbursement rate for multiple client settings is as 
follows:

One Client: Rate for each client = $21.00 per hour
 (Baseline)

Two Clients Rate for each client = $15.00 per hour
Three Clients Rate for each client = $15.00 per hour

[4.2 Counting of 15-Minute Increments
4.2.1 Visits are to be rounded to the nearest 

15-minute increment.  The following chart is to be used 
to assist providers in determining the number of units to 
be billed:

1 unit 1 minute to <23 minutes
2 units >23 minutes to <38 minutes
3 units >38 minutes to <53 minutes
4 units >53 minutes to <68 minutes
5 units >68 minutes to <83 minutes
6 units >83 minutes to <98 minutes
7 units >98 minutes to <113 minutes
8 units >113 minutes to <128 minutes
NOTE: Unless prior authorized, providers 

cannot exceed the limited number of units assigned to 
each private duty nursing service.]

5.0 Prior Authorization
5.1 Requirements

5.1.1 Private duty nursing services must be prior 
authorized by DMAP before payment from the DMAP is 
made available the services are rendered.

5.1.2 Private duty nursing services for clients 
who are eligible for the Elderly and Disabled HCBS Waiver 
program or the Assisted Living Medicaid Waiver program 
must be prior authorized by the nursing staff of the Division 
of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities 
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(DSAAPD). See the Index in back of General Policy for 
appropriate address and telephone number.

5.1.3 All other requests for prior authorization 
should be directed to the Medical Review Team Prior 
Authorization Units. located in the Robscott Building The 
New Castle County unit is located in the Robscott Building 
and the Kent/Sussex County unit is located in Georgetown 
(see the Index section in the back of General Policy for the
address and telephone number of each Prior Authorization 
Unit).

5.1.4 The maximum number of hours provided 
by an individual nurse will be restricted to a level that can 
safely and reasonably be provided.  No individual nurse will 
be authorized to work more than a 16 hour shift per day 
except in an emergency situation which will be reviewed by 
the Medical Review Team.

5.1.5 PDN hours must be used for the period of 
time in which they are authorized.  If the authorized hours 
are not used they cannot be carried over into another time 
period.

5.2 General Guidelines for Private Duty Nursing 
Authorization

5.2.1 Initially, a DSS Medical Services Nurse 
completes a face-to-face medical assessment.  The client will 
receive a written notice of approval or non-approval for PDN 
services.

5.2.2 The on-going need for PDN care is 
routinely/periodically re-evaluated.  DSS may determine that 
because of parent/caregiver work schedule, stability of the 
patient, and other factors, that PDN hours may be reduced or 
increased.

5.2.3 PDN will only be authorized when there is 
at least one caregiver [and one back-up caregiver] willing 
and able to accept responsibility for the client’s care when 
the nurse is not available. DSS expects that parents/
caregivers be willing and capable to accept responsibility for 
their relative/child’s care.  If the parent/caregiver cannot or 
will not accept responsibility for the client’s care when PDN 
is not authorized or available, the client is deemed not to be 
in a safe environment and PDN will not be authorized.

5.2.4 DSS cannot guarantee that PDN services 
will be available from a specific [home health agency
provider].

5.2.5 DSS reimburses for medically necessary 
transportation through a Medicaid transportation broker. 
DSS expects the parent/caregiver to accompany the client in 
transport.  If, because of employment or school, the parent/
caregiver cannot accompany the client, the prior authorized 
PDN may accompany the client.  If the client is transported 
to a medical appointment or the hospital with the PDN, as 
soon as the parent/caregiver arrives, the PDN service is no 
longer required.  PDN will not be authorized for a nurse to 
accompany a client to a medical appointment or hospital stay 
when the parent/caregiver is available.

5.2.6 PDN may be approved to accompany 
school-age children with a compromised airway [or other 
DMAP approved high risk condition] in transport to 
school and to provide medically necessary care during 
school hours.

5.2.7 DSS may approve PDN when a child is 
home sick with a cold, virus or normal childhood disease or 
there are unplanned school closures or inclement weather 
days.  However, additional hours must be prior authorized. 
Home health agencies may not be able to provide “on 
demand or same day service.”  Families should contact DSS 
as soon as they know about an unplanned school closure, etc. 
and find a willing and available provider.

5.2.8 DSS may approve PDN to cover summer 
vacation as well as scheduled school year holiday vacations 
for school age children if parent/caregiver requests the 
coverage timely.  Absence of parents/guardian from the 
home for employment or work-related education reasons 
must be documented.

5.2.9 DSS projects a sufficient amount of hours 
per day.  If the hours authorized are not used on a particular 
day, the hours do not carry over to the next day or weekend 
nor can the hours be “banked” to be used at a later time.

5.3 Determination of Hours Needed
5.3.1 DSS does not approve 24 hour on-going 

PDN services.  DSS may approve 24 hours PDN for 3-4 days 
(trach and vent child/adult) to help parents/caregivers adjust 
and ensure all equipment is functioning.  PDN reduces to 20 
hours for 1-2 days.  PDN then reduces to 18 hours then 
reduces to 16 hours, the maximum number of hours a day 
authorized for children (8 hours for adults).

5.3.2 PDN may be reduced further by school 
enrollment or attendance at a Prescribed Pediatric Extended 
Care (PPEC) facility.  A home health aid or Certified 
Nursing Assistant (CNA) may be approved for some clients 
in lieu of PDN when appropriate and cost effective.

5.3.3 An increase in hours may be approved if 
additional hours will avoid hospitalization as a cost effective 
measure.  This will depend on the medical necessity, the 
amount of additional hours needed and the letter of medical 
necessity from the admitting physician.

5.3.4 If a parent/caregiver needs hours for sleep 
and skilled care is required for a client with a compromised 
airway (trach/vent) [or other DMAP approved high risk 
condition] during this sleep time, PDN is approved for a 
maximum of up to eight hours, generally eight hours within 
the range of 10 pm through 8 am.

5.3.5 PDN is adjusted to cover work and travel 
time of the parent/caregiver or to cover education (class 
schedule) and travel time of the parent, if there is not another 
parent/caregiver in the home.  PDN is authorized for up to 40 
hours per week plus an additional five hours for travel to and 
from work or school.  Parent/guardian work hours/schedule 
must be verified.  PDN for education is for employment 
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related classes, vo-tech, GED, high school, college, etc. and 
must be documented.

5.3.6 If medical care is needed, but it is less than 
skilled care, DSS may authorize a CNA or home health aid 
to provide medically necessary care if it is deemed to be the 
most appropriate and cost effective.

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATIONS #05-12b
REVISIONS:

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX UNDER THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT 

STATE OF DELAWARE

ATTACHMENT 3.1-A
Page 3a Addendum

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL 
AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES PROVIDED 

TO THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

LIMITATIONS:
8. Private Duty Nursing Services: All requests for 

private duty nursing services must be prior authorized. 
Private duty nursing is available only for recipients who 
require more individual and continuous skilled care than is 
available from a visiting nurse or routinely provided by the 
nursing staff of a hospital or nursing facility home health 
services as defined in 42 CFR 440.80.

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATIONS #05-12c
REVISIONS:

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX UNDER THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT

STATE OF DELAWARE

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 10

DELAWARE RATES FOR PRIVATE DUTY NURSING

Private Duty Nursing Services, whether performed by a 
provider located in Delaware or a provider with an out-of-
state location are reimbursed at a capped unit rate with 
weekly maximum dollar limit per client, as set by the 
Delaware Medicaid Program. The unit rates are reviewed 
whenever a rate increase is requested by a provider, but no 
more frequently than annually, by conducting a survey of 
agencies that provide private duty nursing services and 
capping the rate at the lowest level available of these 
prevailing rates. The weekly maximum dollar limit is 
derived by multiplying the capped unit rate by the minimum 

number of units necessary to maintain the client in the home 
as an alternative to institutionalization, but not to exceed 
eight (8) hours daily.

Private duty nursing services provided to eligible DMAP 
clients are reimbursed using prospectively determined rates. 
The unit of service for agency providers is one hour, and for 
self-employed nurses is 15 minutes. A weekly maximum 
limit is established for each client by the DMAP based on the 
authorized services.

Rates for agency services are reviewed annually. The rate 
will relate to the lowest prevailing usual and customary 
charge, as determined by a survey of all private duty nursing 
service agencies. Agencies will be reimbursed the lower of 
their usual and customary charges or the maximum rate.

Rates for self-employed nurses will be individually 
negotiated, but will not exceed a predetermined percentage 
of the agency rate.  Rates may not be renegotiated more than 
once annually except in extenuating circumstances. 
Increases will be limited to the normal medical inflation used 
by DMAP. Self-employed nurses will be reimbursed the 
lower of their usual and customary charges or the maximum 
rate.

Providers are not required to submit cost reports to the 
DMAP. There are no retrospective settlements on claims 
paid.

The baseline PDN reimbursement rate will normally 
represent services provided by one nurse to one client.  An 
adjusted reimbursement rate per client will be established for 
medically appropriate PDN services provided by a single 
nurse for up to three clients.  Maximum rates are established 
according to the following table:

One client: Rate for One = 100% of established
baseline rate

Two clients Rate for Each = 50% of 143% of
baseline rate

Three clients Rate for Each = 33% of 214% of
baseline rate

For example, if the baseline rate for one client is $21.00 per 
hour, the reimbursement rate for multiple client settings is as 
follows:

One Client: Rate for each client  = $21.00 per hour
(Baseline)

Two Clients Rate for each client  = $15.00 per hour
Three Clients Rate for each client  = $15.00 per hour
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Chapter 5, Section 512 (31 Del.C. Ch.5, §512)

ORDER

Child Care Subsidy Program

Nature Of The Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / 
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend 
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding 
the child care subsidy program as it relates to the 
determination of the child care parent fee and fee waiving 
situations. The Department’s proceedings to amend its 
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code 
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed 
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the January 2005 Delaware Register of 
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions 
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be 
produced by January 31, 2005 at which time the Department 
would receive information, factual evidence and public 
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

DSSM 11004.7 – Determination of the Child Care Parent 
Fee and Fee Waiving Situations

• In accordance with the Trademark Agreement, 
replaced previous program name with Delaware’s 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Welfare 
Reform Program, where applicable.

• Renumbered and revised the conditions under 
which child care fees will be waived; and, included 
examples.

• Added one more condition: waive the parent fee of 
teen parent attending high school.

Summary Of Comments Received With Agency 
Response 

The Governor's Advisory Council for Exceptional 
Citizens (GACEC), the Delaware Developmental 
Disabilities Council (DDDC), and the State Council for 
Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following 
summarized comments.

Most of the proposed changes would not affect persons 
with disabilities.  The most significant change for persons 

with disabilities is in the context of “special needs” children. 
The current standard authorizes waiver of all childcare fees 
for “families where the need for service is based on the 
special needs of the child or caretaker. The proposed version 
narrows this authorization to “families where the need for 
service is solely based on the special needs of the child or 
caretaker/parent.”  The problem with this approach is that it 
presumes that the need for child care can be neatly 
categorized into a single justification.  Life is rarely so 
“neat”.  At a minimum, we recommend that the word 
“primarily” be substituted for the word “solely”.  This would 
provide guidance to the DSS intake worker while still 
allowing some limited discretion.

DSS provides two illustrations of this standard.  The 
first example could easily be misconstrued to mean that 
waiver of the childcare fee for a special needs child will 
never be justified if the childcare facilitates the parent’s 
employment.  In the example, the employment could very 
well be prompted by the special needs of the child.  We ask 
that the following substitute example be considered:

EXAMPLE:  A family consisting of a working mother 
and two children applies for Purchase of Care. One child has 
ADD/HD and mom needs childcare because she is working. 
The parent fee for the child with ADD/HD would not be 
waived unless employment is directly linked to the special 
needs of the child (e.g. special school tuition; tutoring).

Agency Response: The Division of Social Services has 
considered the recommendation and respectfully chooses to 
retain the word “solely.  The word “solely” was specifically 
chosen to emphasize and clarify that waiving a parent fee 
based on “special needs” can only happen when the need for 
child care is based on the identified “special need” of the 
individual who needs the child care.  

Findings Of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set 
forth in the January 2005 Register of Regulations should be 
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
regulation to amend the policies for the Child Care Subsidy 
Program is adopted and shall be final effective March 10, 
2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 2/15/05

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #05-10
REVISIONS:

11004.7 Determination of The Child Care Parent Fee and 
Fee Waiving Situations

Under regulations, eligible families are required to 
contribute to the cost of child care services based upon their 
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ability to pay.  Families contribute to the cost of care by 
paying a DSS child care parent fee.  DSS, however, provides 
child care services to certain families at no cost.  Part of the 
process, therefore, of determining fees includes not only the 
decision of how much parent/caretakers should pay for the 
cost of care, but also which families should receive services 
at no cost.   Part of the process after determining the client’s 
financial eligibility and need for child care would be 
determining the parent fee and which families should have 
their parent fee waived.

All child care fees will be waived if the family meets one of 
the four (4) six (6) conditions below.

1. For all families in Category 31 active with the 
Division of Family Services (DFS) including foster care 
families.

2. For all families in Delaware's Temporary 
Assistance For Needy Families Program (TANF) in 
Categories 11 and 12.  General Assistance (GA) families, 
and caretakers in Category 31 caring for children who 
receive TANF or GA assistance where the adult requesting 
the child care is not the child's natural or adoptive parent (for 
example, grandparents, aunts, uncles, etc.).

3. When paying the fee creates an excessive financial 
burden (as defined below). Excessive financial burden is 
defined as situations where the family's disposable income, 
after deductions listed below, result in the family having 
income below 75% of the federal poverty level.  Deductions 
are limited to:

• rent, mortgage, lot rent;
• any mandatory expense required by the landlord or 

mortgage holder (e.g., homeowners insurance, 
property taxes, school taxes);

• actual utility expenses (e.g., electric, gas, water, 
sewer);

• unreimbursed medical costs:  Before considering 
these medical costs as deductions, families not 
already receiving Medicaid or on the Delaware 
Healthy Children Program (DHCP), must first 
apply for either Medicaid of the DHCP.  Any 
unreimbursed medical costs not covered by 
Medicaid or the DHCP will be considered as a 
deduction to determine the family's income for 
excessive financial burden.

4. Families where the need for service is based on the 
special needs of the child or the caretaker.

1. Families active with and referred by the Division of 
Family Services (DFS) including foster care families.

2. Families in Delaware’s TANF Program in 
Categories 11 and 12, and General Assistance (GA) families. 

3. Families where the need for service is solely based 

on the special needs of the child or the caretaker/parent. 
Families must first be financially eligible for Child Care 
Services. (See policy section 11003.7)

EXAMPLE: A family consisting of a working 
mother and two children applies for Purchase of Care.  One 
child has ADD/HD and mom needs child care because she is 
working.  The parent fee for the child with ADD/HD would 
not be waived due to special needs.  The need for care is 
based on her employment not the special need.

EXAMPLE: A family consisting of a working 
father, stay at home mother and two children applies for 
POC.  They are income eligible and the mom states she 
needs childcare because her one child is developmentally 
delayed and needs increased socialization.  If this is verified 
by a professional on the Special Needs form 611, they may 
receive child care for that child based on the special need and 
the parent fee for that child will be waived.  (Note, the only 
need for child care is due to the child’s special need, Mom is 
at home so there would not otherwise be a need for POC.)

4. Caretakers in Category 31 caring for a child/
children who receive TANF or GA assistance where the 
adult requesting the child care is not the child’s natural or 
adoptive parent (for example, grandparents, aunts, uncles, 
etc.). 

5. When paying the fee creates an excessive financial 
burden.  Excessive financial burden is defined as a situation 
where the family’s disposable income prior to the deductions 
or after the deductions, result in the family having income 
below 75% of the federal poverty level.  Deductions are 
limited to:

• rent, mortgage, lot rent;
• any mandatory expenses required by the landlord 

or mortgage holder (e.g., homeowners insurance, 
property taxes, school taxes);

• actual current monthly utility expenses (e.g., 
electric, gas, trash, water and sewer). Late fee’s 
and past due amounts are not included.

• telephone expenses are capped at the same rate as 
the FS standard deduction for telephone bills;

• un-reimbursed medical costs (Before considering 
these medical costs as deductions, families not 
already receiving Medicaid or on the Delaware 
Healthy Children Program (DHCP) must first 
apply for either Medicaid or the DHCP.  The 
DHCP premiums are included in the un-
reimbursed medical cost deductions.  Any un-
reimbursed medical costs not covered by 
Medicaid or the DHCP will be considered as a 
deduction to determine the family’s income for 
excessive financial burden.)

EXAMPLE:
A family of three has gross monthly income of 
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$1,417.00.  The parent fee for this family would be 23% of 
the cost of care.  The rent payment for this family is $550/
month.  Utility expenses are $20 for phone and $65 for 
electric.

Total income per month equals: $1,417.00
Total expenses are: $   635.00
After deductions: $   782.00
$782.00 is less than $954.00, 75% of the 

federal poverty level for a family of 3, so this family can 
have the parent fee waived.

EXAMPLE: 
A family of four has a gross monthly income of 

$2,203.00.  The parent fee for this family would be 44% of 
the cost of care.  The rent payment for this family is $600/
month.  Utility expenses are $20 for phone and $165 for 
electric.

Total income per month equals: $2,203.00
Total expenses are: $   785.00
After deductions: $1,418.00
$1,418.00 is more than $1,150.00, 75% of the 

federal poverty level for a family of 4, so this family will not 
have the parent fee waived.

6. Teen parents 18 years old or younger attending high 
school or a high school equivalent.

All requests to waive the fee must be documented in the case 
file and be approved by the unit supervisor.  Requests to 
waive the fee for Division of Social Service (DSS) 
employees (seasonal, merit system) or temporary employees 
working for DSS must be approved by the Operations 
Administrator, as well as the unit supervisor.

As is the case with income, a person who acts as a child's 
caretaker, as defined in Section 11002.9, pays a child care 
fee based only upon income attributable to the child, unless 
the family meets one of the waived fee conditions above.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. Ch. 5, §512)

ORDER

Long Term Care Program

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / 
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend 
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding 
the Long Term Care Program.  The proposal gives direction 
on counting annuities and their stream of income for the 

eligibility process; to clarify that the list of non-liquid 
resources is not all inclusive; and, to correct an inconsistency 
in language. The Department’s proceedings to amend its 
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code 
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed 
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the January 2005 Delaware Register of 
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions 
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be 
produced by January 31, 2005 at which time the Department 
would receive information, factual evidence and public 
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

1. To DSSM 20300.2 Non-Liquid Resources:
• Add the word “annuity” to the list of  non-liquid 

resources; and,
• Add the words ‘including but not limited to”.

2. From DSSM 20360 Conditional Medicaid Coverage 
While Disposing of Resources:

• Delete the word `“securities” from DSSM 20360. 
There exists an inconsistency in DSSM 20360 
which lists “securities” as a non-liquid resource 
while DSSM 20300.1 lists “stocks” as a liquid 
resource.

Summary Of Comments Received With Agency 
Response 

The Governor's Advisory Council for Exceptional 
Citizens (GACEC), the Delaware Developmental 
Disabilities Council (DDDC), and the State Council for 
Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following 
summarized observations:

We are concerned that not all “securities” can be readily 
converted to cash in 20 working days.  There are bonds, 
notes, and non-negotiable instruments that may not be 
convertible within 20 working days.  For example, a parent 
holding a mortgage and note creating a lien on an adult 
child’s home would not readily find a buyer for the mortgage 
and note.  The same result would occur if a seller of a home 
provided “owner financing” by holding the mortgage and 
note on the property.  Moreover, stock in a small business 
which is not publicly traded in which the other stockholders 
have the right of first purchase may not be convertible within 
20 working days.

Therefore, while it may be appropriate for DSS to delete 
“securities” as an example of non-liquid resource since some 
securities are easily sold, it would be helpful to add a 
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clarification in the finds section of the final regulation. 
Specifically, DSS could include the following comment:

While publicly traded securities will generally qualify 
as liquid resources, other securities may vary widely in 
liquidity and no absolute characterization of securities as a 
liquid or non-liquid resource is intended by the amendment 
to §20360. 

We request that DSS consider making decisions on a 
case by case analysis because there are cases that can’t be 
liquidated in 20 days.  It may be that after due diligence an 
extension of the time limits would be appropriate for non-
liquid resources.

Agency Response: Both liquid and non liquid resources 
are counted.  However, applicants with non liquid resources 
have the option of signing an “agreement to sell” while 
attempting to dispose of the resource and may then get 
conditional Medicaid.  The word “securities” was deleted 
because of a conflict within the Division of Social Services 
Manual and its vague reference to resources. DSS has 
corrected this.

Findings Of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set 
forth in the January 2005 Register of Regulations should be 
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
regulation to amend the policies for the Long Term Care 
Program is adopted and shall be final effective March 10, 
2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS,2/15/05

DSS FINAL ORDER #05-09

REVISIONS:

20300.2 Non-Liquid Resources

Assets that require more than 20 working days to convert to 
cash are considered non-liquid.

The following types of resources are non-liquid:, including 
but not limited to: annuities and their streams of income,
household goods and personal effects, automobiles, trucks, 
tractors, and other vehicles, machinery and livestock, 
buildings and land, non-cash business property.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

20360 Conditional Medicaid Coverage While Disposing 
of Resources

Effective September 1, 1987 "conditional" Medicaid 

coverage for nursing home care can be approved for 
applicants who need Medicaid services while they are 
disposing of non-liquid resources, e.g., property, securities, 
etc.  There are strict limits on the amount of time allowed for 
sale of resources and the applicant must sign a statement 
agreeing to the conditions before an application can be 
approved. Under conditional eligibility, excess resources are 
treated as a "conditional exclusion" and are not counted 
during the conditional benefit period.

However, there is no "conditional exclusion" for spousal 
impoverishment cases.  These resources count because they 
meet the spousal definition of countable resources. They 
should be counted in the spousal resource calculation.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. Ch.5, §512)

ORDER

Long Term Care Program

Nature Of The Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / 
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend 
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding 
the Long Term Care Program related to the redemption 
period for certain U.S. Savings Bonds and provides 
instructions on waiving the redemption period for U.S. 
Savings Bonds.  The Department’s proceedings to amend its 
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code 
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed 
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the January 2005 Delaware Register of 
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions 
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be 
produced by January 31, 2005 at which time the Department 
would receive information, factual evidence and public 
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

Citations
• 31 CFR 351.6; 352.12;359.70; 351.85; 360.90
• POMS SI  01140.240

To DSSM 20330.7 - U.S. Savings Bonds:
1. Change the redemption period for U.S. Savings 

Bonds Series EE and I from 6 months to 12 months; and,
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2. Include instructions provided by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) on waiving the 
mandatory redemption period.

Summary Of Comments Received With Agency 
Response And Explanation Of Change

The Governor's Advisory Council for Exceptional 
Citizens (GACEC), the Delaware Developmental 
Disabilities Council (DDDC), and the State Council for 
Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following 
summarized comments:

First, some savings bonds are not redeemable for several 
months after initial purchase. During this period, they are not 
a countable resource since they cannot be converted to cash. 
Traditionally, savings bonds had a 6 month minimum 
“retention” period.  However, some savings bonds now have 
a 12-month retention period.  Therefore, DSS has modified 
its regulation to characterize both types of bonds as “non-
resources” during the 6 or 12 month retention period.

Second, a bondholder may avoid the retention period 
and obtain a refund based on hardship (e.g. bondholder 
needs funds for nursing home care).  DSS has added several 
sentences to describe this option.

We believe that the consequences of obtaining a refund 
of a bond based on hardship are not clearly stated.  We infer 
that the refund would constitute a resource, at least as of the 
next month. In contrast, DSS clearly states that bonds 
redeemed after the retention period become resources in the 
7th or 13th month.  DSS may wish to add a similar clarifying 
sentence covering the status of a hardship refund.

Agency Response: The following clarifying sentence is 
added to the final order regulation: If the Treasury receives 
the bond(s) and grants the waiver, it will issue the individual 
a check.  At that point, the individual would have a countable 
resource in the amount of the check.

Findings Of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set 
forth in the January 2005 Register of Regulations should be 
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
regulation to amend the policies for the Long Term Care 
Program is adopted and shall be final effective March 10, 
2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 2/15/05

DSS REGULATION #05-11
REVISIONS:

20330.7 U.S. Savings Bonds

U.S. Savings Bonds are obligations of the Federal 
Government. They are not transferable and can only be sold 
back to the Federal Government. They Normally, they
cannot be redeemed for six months after the issue date 
specified on the face of the bond. For Series EE, and I 
Savings Bonds, the redemption period has been extended to 
12 months. They are not resources during the 6-month
mandatory retention period. They become resources (not 
income) as of the 7th or 13th month.  A bond may not roll 
over or renew in order to prolong the minimum retention 
period.  Actual redemption (converting to cash) of one bond 
is required before purchasing a new bond.  However, the 
U.S. Treasury regulation authorizes the Commission of 
Public Debt to waive the regulatory provisions pertaining to 
U.S. Savings bonds including the redemption period in order 
to “relieve any person or persons of unnecessary hardship”. 
A request for a refund because the person now requires 
Nursing Home care and so needs the funds used to purchase 
the bonds may constitute hardship.  A written request to the 
Commissioner of Public Debt requesting a waiver to the 
redemption period is all that is required.  The bondholder 
may simultaneously tender the bond(s) for redemption. [If 
the Treasury receives the bond(s) and grants the waiver, 
it will issue the individual a check.  At that point, the 
individual would have a countable resource in the 
amount of the check.]

The individual in whose name a U.S. Savings Bond is 
registered owns it.  The Social Security Number shown on a 
bond is not proof of ownership.  The co-owners of a bond 
(bond titled AND/OR) own equal (50%) shares of the 
redemption value of the bond.  The bond may show an 
owner followed by POD (proof of death) and another name. 
This is a survivorship type of bond. The first named 
individual owns 100% of the bond.  The second individual 
will own 100% of the bond upon the death of the first 
individual. 

Physical possession of a U.S. Savings Bond is a requirement 
for redeeming it.  This is true for sole or joint ownership.  If 
an individual alleges that he or she cannot submit a bond 
because a co-owner or other individual will not relinquish 
physical possession of the bond, obtain a signed statement 
from the co-owner or the other individual that he or she:  has 
physical possession of the bond; will not allow the applicant 
to cash the bond; and if co-owner, will not cash the bond and 
give the applicant his or her share.
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The Table of Redemption Values for U.S. Savings Bonds is 
used to determine the value of a bond.  These are available 
from a local bank. The bank will need the series, 
denomination, date of purchase or issue date. After the 
mandatory 6 month retention period, the value of a series H 
or HH bond is its face value.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Sections 903(2)(b7) (7 Del.C. §§903(2)(b7))

ORDER No. 2005-F-0011

Summary Of Evidence And Information

Pursuant to due notice in Vol. 8, Issue 6 Delaware 
Register of Regulations, pp. 859 and 861, the Department of 
Natural Resources and Environmental Control proposes 
changes to Non-Tidal Fishing Regulation 3308 pertaining to 
adding the northern snakehead fish (Channa argus) and the 
blotched snakehead fish (Channa maculata) to the list of 
species for which it shall be unlawful for any person to 
transport, purchase, possess or sell within Delaware. 
Further, the Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control proposes adopting a possession limit 
of 25 blueback herring (Alosa aestivalis) and/or alewife 
(Alosa pseudoharengus) per person per day unless said 
person has a valid bill-of-sale or receipt for said river herring 
that indicates the date said river herring were received; and 
the name, address and signature of the commercial food 
fisherman who legally caught said river herring; or a bill-of-
sale or receipt from a person who is a licensed retailer and 
legally obtained said river herring for resale.

Public hearings were held on January 4 and February 1, 
2005 to take comments on proposed amendment to Non-
Tidal Fishing Regulation 3308 and new Tidal Fishing 
Regulation 3553.  The comment period for these hearings 
remained open until February 7, 2005.  

Findings Of Fact

• The exotic northern snakehead fish is known to 
be an aggressive predator that is capable of 
reproducing in Maryland and Pennsylvania, even 
though the species is native to southeast Asia. 
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service has declared 
all known species of snakehead fishes to be 

injurious wildlife that may not be imported into 
states and territories of the U.S.  The surrounding 
states of Maryland, Pennsylvania, and New 
Jersey have already outlawed the possession of 
northern snakehead fishes (Channa argus), and 
Maryland recently included the blotched 
snakehead (Channa maculata) in their ban 
because both species are tolerant of temperate 
climates and are a threat to survive and breed in 
the mid-Atlantic area.  By banning both the 
northern and blotched snakehead fishes, 
Delaware’s proposal would complement action 
already taken by Maryland.  This regulation 
would make it illegal to possess any of the two 
target species of snakeheads in Delaware.  This 
action is necessary to protect native and 
naturalized populations of gamefish and fish food 
organisms from an additional source of 
competition and predation.

• 903(e)(2)(a) 7 Delaware Code authorizes the 
Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control (DNREC) to promulgate 
regulations concerning species of finfish that 
spend part or all their life cycle within the tidal 
waters of the state provided that such regulations 
are consistent with an interstate fisheries 
management plan developed for the protection 
and conservation of said species of finfish.  The 
most recent amendment (Amendment 1) to the 
Interstate Fishery Management Plan for Shad and 
River Herring was released by the Atlantic States 
Marine Fisheries Commission in April 1999.  All 
jurisdictions were urged to conserve and restore 
river herring populations throughout their range 
along the Atlantic Coast.  

• The proposed daily possession limit (creel limit) 
should serve to discourage the development of a 
fishery in Delaware conducted by recreational 
fishermen seeking to take river herring to be sold 
as live bait for striped bass.  In neighboring states 
fisheries were developing where river herring 
concentrate at the base of dams while on their 
spawning migrations.  At such confined locations 
river herring would be vulnerable to overharvest. 
In addition Delaware has been actively 
attempting to restore river herring populations by 
installing fish ladders over dams so that remnant 
river herring adults can reach ancestral spawning 
areas.  It is these spawning adults that are sought 
after as bait for large striped bass, and as a result, 
live river herring can bring a premium price. 
Bait and tackle dealers and commercial crabbers 
will still be able to obtain river herring from 
commercial fishermen, but recreational 
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fishermen will not be able to keep more than they 
need for a day of fishing. 

• Pennsylvania and New Jersey have already taken 
regulatory action to set a daily harvest limit on 
river herring by recreational fishermen in order to 
discourage expansion of this fishery.

• All comments received on the proposal favored 
both regulatory changes.

• The Delaware Advisory Council on Tidal 
Finfisheries was apprised of both proposed 
regulatory changes in separate actions in 2004. 
The Advisory Council endorsed the proposed ban 
on snakehead fishes in Delaware on October 20, 
2004 but did not vote on the river herring 
proposal because a quorum was not present on 
the night it was discussed (March 17, 2004).

Conclusions 

• The Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control has a statutory obligation 
to manage the freshwater (non-tidal) fisheries to 
…assure the conservation of freshwater fish,…as 
it deems necessary or advisable for the protection 
and conservation of wildlife or freshwater fish 
(§103 7 Del.C.).  Further, the Department has the 
statutory obligation to manage the tidal water 
finfisheries of Delaware in a manner that is 
….consistent with an interstate fisheries 
management plan developed for the protection 
and conservation of said species of finfish. 
(§903(2)b7 Del.C.).  

• The regulations as proposed will help prevent the 
unwanted introduction into the wild of two 
species of exotic fishes declared by the U.S. Fish 
and Wildlife Service to be injurious.

• The regulations as proposed will help prevent the 
establishment of a commercialized-bait fishery 
among recreational fishermen within spawning 
tributaries for river herring.  The river herring 
comprise two species which the State is actively 
attempting to  restore to former abundance 
through the building of fish ladders to increase 
access to historical spawning areas. 

ORDER

It is hereby ordered this ____ day of February in the 
year 2005 that amendments to Non-Tidal Fishing Regulation 
3308 and new Tidal Fishing Regulation 3553, copies of 
which are attached hereto, are adopted pursuant to §103, 7 
Del.C. and §903(2)b7 Del.C. and are supported by the 
Department’s findings of evidence and testimony received. 
This Order shall become effective on March 10, 2005.

John A. Hughes, Secretary
Department of Natural Resources                                           
and Environmental Control

3308 Fish Stocking Practices  (Formerly NT-7)
(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §1304)

1.0  Stocking Fish Practices.
1.1 It shall be unlawful for any person to stock any 

species of fish into the non-tidal public waters of this State 
without the written permission of the Director. This 
regulation does not prohibit the stocking of private 
impoundments.

2.0  Transportation, Possession and Sale.
2.1 It shall be unlawful for any person to transport, 

purchase, possess, or sell walking catfish (Clarius 
batrachus) or the white amur or grass carp 
(Ctenopharyngodon idella) or live northern snakehead fish 
(Channa argus) or blotched snakehead fish (Channa 
maculata) without the written permission of the Director.

3 DE Reg. 289 (8/1/99)

3553. River Herring Creel Limit
(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. 936(b)(2))

Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for any 
person to have in possession, except a person with a valid 
Delaware commercial food fishing license, more than 
twenty-five (25) blueback herring and/or alewife (Alosa 
aestivalis and/or Alosa pseudoharengus), collectively known 
as river herring, at or between the place caught and his/her 
personal abode or temporary or transient place of lodging; or 
unless said person has a valid bill-of-sale or receipt for said 
river herring that indicates the date said river herring were 
received, the number of said river herring received and the 
name, address and signature of the commercial food 
fisherman who legally caught said river herring;, or a bill-of-
sale or receipt from a person who is a licensed retailer and 
legally obtained said river herring for resale.
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DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND 
HOMELAND SECURITY
BAIL ENFORCEMENT AGENTS

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 5404(a) (24 Del.C. §5404(a))

ORDER

Pursuant to the Guidelines in 29 Del.C. Section 
10118(a)(1)-(7), the Secretary of Safety and Homeland 
Security ("Secretary") hereby issues this Order.  Following 
public notice held open until February 1, 2005 on the 
proposed amendment of promulgated rules and regulations 
1.0 - Licensing, the Secretary makes the following Findings 
and Conclusions:

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted

1. The Secretary did not receive written evidence or 
information pertaining to the proposed amendment.

2. The Secretary expressed his intent to amend the 
rule to clarify items and fees that a Bail Enforcement Agent 
will incur when applying for or renewing their license.

Findings of Fact

3. The public was given notice and the opportunity to 
provide the Secretary with comments, in writing, on the 
amendment of the rule.  The written comments received are 
described in paragraph 1.

4. The Secretary finds that the amendment of this rule 
will clarify items and fees that a Bail Enforcement Agent 
will incur when applying for or renewing their license.

5. The Secretary finds that the amendment will have 
no adverse impact on the public.

6. The Secretary finds that the amendment is well 
written and describes its intent to clarify items and fees that a 
Bail Enforcement Agent will incur when applying for or 
renewing their license.

Conclusion

7. The proposed rule amendment was promulgated by 
the Secretary in accord with the statutory duties and 
authority as set forth in 24 Del.C. Section 5504 et seq. and, 
in particular, 24 Del.C. Section 5504(a).

8. The Secretary deems this amendment necessary and 
expedient to the full and official performance of his duties 
under 24 Del.C. Section 5504 et. seq.

9. The Secretary concludes that the amendment of this 
rule will be in the best interests of the citizens of the State of 
Delaware.

10. The Secretary therefore adopts the amendment of 
this rule pursuant to 24 Del.C. Section 5504(a) and 
guidelines of 29 Del.C. Section 10118 of the Administrative 
Procedures Act.  See, Strauss v. Silverman, Del. Supr., 399 
A.2d 192 (1979).

11. This amended rule replaces 1.0 (1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 
1.4.1, 1.5, 1.6, 1.8, & 1.9), in its entirety, and any former rule 
or regulation heretofore promulgated by the Secretary.

12. The effective date of this Order shall be March 10, 
2005.

13. Attached hereto and incorporated herein this order 
is the amended rule marked as exhibit A and executed 
simultaneously by the Secretary on the 14th day of February, 
2005.

Secretary David B. Mitchell

APPROVED AS TO FORM:
Patricia D. Murphy, Esquire
Deputy Attorney General
February 14, 2005

Bounty Hunter/Bail Enforcement Agents

Preamble
These Rules & Regulations are promulgated pursuant to 

24 Del.C. §5504(a) and the Secretary of Public Safety 
delegates his regulatory authority granted by Chapter 55 to 
the Division of State Police.

1.0 Licensing
1.1 Any individual applying for a bail enforcement 

agent ID card under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 must meet and 
maintain the following qualifications:

1.1.1 Must not be convicted of any felony; and
1.1.2 Must not have been convicted, within the 

last seven (7) years, of any two (2) of the following 
misdemeanors:  theft, drug offenses, offensive touching, or 
assault III; and

1.1.3 Must not have been convicted of any 
charge or been involved in any conduct that may impair the 
performance of the bail enforcement agent and endanger 
public safety as determined by the Detective Licensing 
Section and

1.1.4 Must not have been, as a juvenile, 
adjudicated as delinquent for conduct which, if committed 
by an adult, would constitute a felony, unless and until that 
person has reached their 25th birthday.

1.2 An individual bail enforcement agent ID card will 
not be issued if there is a pending charge as listed in Section 
1.1.1 or a pending charge as listed in Section 1.1.2 for an 
applicant with one (1) conviction of specified misdemeanor 
listed in Section 1.1.2.
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1.3 The individual bail enforcement agent applying for 
an ID card under Title 24 Chapter 55 must also meet the 
following qualifications:

1.3.1 Must be at least 21 years of age; and
1.3.2 Must complete the training qualifications 

set forth in Section 6.0; and
1.3.3 If carrying a weapon, must meet and 

maintain the qualifications set forth in Section 4.0.
1.4 The individual bail enforcement agent applying for 

an ID card under Title 24 Chapter 55 must submit the 
following for approval:

1.4.1 A fee of $25 $75 for a four (4) year ID 
card which shall expire and be renewable on the 4th

anniversary date of the birth of the applicant next following 
the date of its issuance unless the birth date is February 29, 
in which event the license shall expire and be renewable on 
February 28 every 4th year; and

1.4.2 Any and all applications required by the 
Detective Licensing Section; and

1.4.3 Submit two (2) sets of fingerprints for a 
Delaware (CHRI) and Federal (FBI) criminal history record 
check.  The Director of the State Bureau of Identification 
(SBI) determines the fee for this process.  This subsection 
1.4.3 does not apply to the renewal of ID cards, unless 
required by the Director of Detective Licensing.

1.5 The ID cards are the property of the Delaware State 
Police and must be returned to the Detective Licensing 
Section upon expiration of the ID card or at the request of the 
Detective Licensing Section.

1.6 A bail enforcement agent that has been issued an ID 
card by the Detective Licensing Section shall be required to 
have such card in their possession while in the performance 
of his or her duties.

1.7 A bail enforcement agent must not be a member or 
employee of any Delaware Law Enforcement Organization, 
as defined by the Council on Police Training, or a member or 
employee of a law enforcement organization of any other 
local, state or federal jurisdiction.

1.8 There will be no reciprocity with any other state 
regarding the issuing of an ID card to a bail enforcement 
agent.

1.9 A fee of $50 shall be for the renewal of the ID card 
and license, which shall be valid for another four (4) years.

7 DE Reg. 1782 (6/1/04)

2.0 Badges, Patches, Advertisements
2.1 No individual licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 shall 

use any type of uniform or other clothing items displaying 
logos, badges, patches, or any other type of writing without 
first being approved by the Detective Licensing Section. 
Under no circumstances shall any item contain the seal or 
crest of the State of Delaware, any state of the United States, 
the seal or crest of any county or local sub division, or any 

facsimile of the aforementioned seals or crests.
2.2 All advertisements or other forms of publication, 

subsequent to their use, are subject to review by the 
Detective Licensing Section for potential misrepresentation. 
If the Detective Licensing Section does not approve the 
advertisement or publication, it will forward its concerns to 
the licensee. Failure to correct the advertisement or 
publication will be considered a violation of these Rules & 
Regulations.

2.3 The use of auxiliary lights, sirens, or any markings 
on vehicles is prohibited.

3.0 Use Of Animals
3.1 The use of animals is prohibited in the performance 

of any bail enforcement agent activity.

4.0 Firearms Policy
4.1 No person shall carry a firearm under this chapter 

unless the individual first completed and passed an approved 
40-hour firearm course, instructed by a certified firearm 
instructor, recognized by the Detective Licensing Section.

4.2 All persons licensed to carry a firearm under this 
chapter must be re-certified yearly, by an instructor as 
described in Section 4.1, by shooting a minimum of three (3) 
qualifying shoots a year.  The shoots must be scheduled on at 
least two (2) separate days, with a recommended 90 days 
between scheduled shoots.  Of the three (3) shoots, there will 
be one mandatory “low light” shoot. Simulation is permitted 
and it may be combined with a daylight shoot. All 
individuals must qualify with the same type of weapon that 
he/she will carry.  The minimum passing score is 75%.

4.2.1  All renewal shoot sheets must be submitted 
by January 31st of each year for the previous calendar year.

4.3 All handguns must be either a revolver or semi-
automatic and be maintained to factory specifications.  Only 
the handguns with the following calibers are permitted:

4.3.1 9mm
4.3.2 .357
4.3.3 .38
4.3.4 .40
4.4.5 .45

4.4 All ammunition will be factory fresh (no re-loads).
4.5 Any person requesting to carry any shotgun, rifle, 

any type of weapon or apprehension device must first 
provide proof of training to the Detective Licensing Section 
for approval.

5.0 Nightstick, PR24, Mace, Peppergas, Chemical Spray, 
And Handcuffs

5.1 To carry the above weapons/items a bail 
enforcement agent must have completed training by a 
Detective Licensing Section apporved insturctor, on each 
and every weapon/item carried.  Proof of training, and any 
renewal training, must be provided to the Detective 
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Licensing Section.  Under no circumstances would a person 
be permitted to carry any other type weapon/item, unless 
first approved by the Detective Licensing Section.

7 DE Reg. 1782 (6/1/04)

6.0 Training
6.1 All bail enforcement agents licensed under Title 24 

Chapter 55 must complete training in the following courses: 
Constitution/Bill of Rights, Laws of Arrest, Laws of Search 
& Seizure of Persons Wanted, Police Jurisdiction, Use of 
Deadly Force, and the Rules & Regulations of Bounty 
Hunters/Bail Enforcement Agents.

6.2 The training must be completed prior to obtaining a 
license.

7 DE Reg. 1782 (6/1/04)

7.0 Notification Of Apprehensions
7.1 All bail enforcement agents licensed under 24 

Del.C. Ch. 55 are required to notify the police emergency 
911 dispatch center (i.e., Recom, Kentcom, Suscom) of the 
appropriate police agency in which the apprehension will be 
attempted.

8.0 Notification Of Arrest
8.1  Anyone licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 shall, 

excluding weekends and State holidays, notify the Detective 
Licensing Section within five (5) days of being arrested for a 
misdemeanor or felony crime.  Failure to do so may result in 
the suspension or revocation of any individual.

9.0 Suspensions And Revocations
9.1 The Detective Licensing Section shall have the 

power to suspend or revoke any individual, licensed under 
24 Del.C. Ch. 55, that violates the Chapter or the 
promulgated Rules & Regulations.

9.2 The Detective Licensing Section may suspend or 
revoke any individual, licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55, that 
has been arrested and that arrest could result in the 
conviction of any misdemeanor or felony as described in 
Section 1.0.

9.3 Anyone whose license has been suspended, 
revoked, rejected, or denied is entitled to a hearing before the 
Secretary of Safety and Homeland Security.

9.3.1Anyone requesting a hearing shall notify the 
Detective Licensing Section, in writing, within 30 days from 
the suspension, revocation, rejection, or denial and the 
hearing shall be scheduled at the earliest possible time.

5 DE Reg. 1523 (1/1/02)
7 DE Reg. 1782 (6/1/04)
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SIXTY-FOUR

RE: Reallocation of State Private Activity Bond
Volume Cap for Calendar Year 2004 and Initial
Suballocation of State Private Activity Bond
Volume Cap for Calendar Year 2005

WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5091, the State’s 
private activity bond volume cap (“Volume Cap”) for 2004 
under §103 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (the 
“Code”) has been allocated among various state and local 
government issuers; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Executive Order Number 
Fifty-Three, $116,895,000 of the Volume Cap for 2004 
which had been allocated to the State of Delaware was 
further sub-allocated between the Delaware Economic 
Development Authority and the Delaware State Housing 
Authority; and

WHEREAS, the allocation of Volume Cap in Executive 
Order Number Fifty-Three is subject to modification by 
further Executive Order; and

WHEREAS, the State’s Volume Cap for 2004 and 2005 
is allocated among the various State and local government 
issuers by 29 Del.C. §5091(a); and

WHEREAS, Kent County has reassigned $23,380,000 
of its unallocated Volume Cap for 2004 to the State of 
Delaware; and

WHEREAS, Sussex County has reassigned $23,380,000 
of its unallocated Volume Cap for 2004 to the State of 
Delaware; and

WHEREAS, the City of Wilmington has reassigned 
$29,225,000 of its unallocated Volume Cap for 2004 to the 
State of Delaware; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware Economic Development 
Authority has $58,447,500 of unused Volume Cap for 2004, 
previously allocated by Executive Order Number Fifty-
Three; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5091(b), the State’s 
$119,590,000 Volume Cap for 2005 is to be sub-allocated by 
the Governor between the Delaware State Housing Authority 
and the Delaware Economic Development Authority; and

WHEREAS, the Acting Secretary of Finance 
recommends (i) that the $75,985,000 unallocated Volume 
Cap for 2004 reassigned to the State of Delaware by other 
issuers be sub-allocated to the Delaware State Housing 
Authority for carry forward for use in future years; (ii) that 
the $58,447,500 of unallocated Volume Cap reassigned by 
the Delaware Economic Development Authority be sub-
allocated to the Delaware State Housing Authority for carry 

forward for use in future years; and (iii) that the State’s 
Volume Cap for 2005 of $119,590,000 be allocated equally 
between the Delaware State Housing Authority and the 
Delaware Economic Development Authority; and

WHEREAS, the Chairperson of the Delaware Economic 
Development Authority and the Chairperson of the Delaware 
State Housing Authority concur in the recommendations of 
the Acting Secretary of Finance.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Ruth Ann Minner, by the 
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware, 
do hereby declare and order as follows:

1. The $75,985,000 of unallocated Volume Cap for 
2004 that has been reassigned by Kent County, Sussex 
County and the City of Wilmington to the State of Delaware 
is hereby sub-allocated to the Delaware State Housing 
Authority for carry forward use, in addition to the 
$58,447,500 previously sub-allocated to the Delaware State 
Housing Authority for 2004 under Executive Order Number 
Fifty-Three. Additionally, the $58,447,500 of Volume Cap 
for 2004 previously allocated to the Delaware Economic 
Development Authority is allocated to the Delaware State 
Housing Authority, providing the Delaware State Housing 
Authority with a total carry forward amount of 
$192,880,000.

2. The $119,590,000 allocation to the State of 
Delaware of the 2005 Volume Cap is hereby sub-allocated: 
$59,795,000 to the Delaware State Housing Authority and 
$59,795,000 to the Delaware Economic Development 
Authority.

3. The aforesaid sub-allocations have been made with 
due regard to actions taken by other persons in reliance upon 
previous sub-allocations to bond issuers.

APPROVED THIS 17TH DAY OF DECEMBER, 2004.

Ruth Ann Minner,
Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Advisory Council on Planning Coordination Mr. Richard C. Woodin 1/11/2008

Advisory Council to the Division of Mr. Joseph P. Connor, Jr. 1/7/2008
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Mr. Richard E. Patterson, Ph.D. 1/7/2008

Mr. Pierre V. Stevens 1/7/2008

Authority on Radiation Protection Robert W. Frelick, M.D. 7/1/2007

Board of Architects Mr. Steven W. Atchley 1/11/2008
Mr. Goodwin K. Cobb, IV 1/11/2008
Mr. Charles M. Weymouth 7/19/2007

Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners Mr. Ralph F. Robinson, Jr. 1/7/2008

Board of Cosmetology & Barbering Ms. Winnie J. Lewis 1/11/2008

Board of Electrical Examiners Mr. James T. Anderson 1/10/2008
Mr. Richard A. Strouse 1/10/2008

Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Mr. Michael R.S. Bundek 4/22/2005
Administrators Mr. Jerrold P. Spilecki 5/16/2006

Board of Examiners of Psychologists Mr. Holllis C. Anglin 5/12/2006

Board of Massage and Bodywork Mr. Wade D. Carey 1/10/2008

Board of Medical Practice Mr. George E. Brown 1/13/2008

Board of Nursing Ms. Joyce E. Edwards 4/5/2007
Ms. Martha M. Hopkins 1/11/2008

Board of Pension Trustees Mr. Robert W. Allen 1/26/2009
Ms. Jan M. King 1/26/2009

Board of Pharmacy Mr. Chaitanya R. Gadde 1/11/2008

Board of Pilot Commissioners Mr. Gary B. Patterson 1/11/2010

Board of Podiatry Mr. Nathaniel Gibbs 1/10/2008

Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Ms. Dawn S. Brown 1/7/2008
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Health & Chemical Dependency
Professionals Mr. John J. Dowling, M.A., CADC 1/27/2008

M. Kathleen Nichols, Ph.D. 1/7/2008

Board of Professional Land Surveyors Mr. Roy B. Kemp, III 1/10/2008
Mr. Elton M. Murray 1/10/2008

Board of Speech/Language Pathologists Mr. George A. Christensen 1/10/2008

Board of Professoinal Counselors of Mental Mr. David M. Ciamaricone 1/7/2008

Child Placement Review Board-Kent Mr. Brendan F. Buschi 1/10/2008
Ms. Lorraine Lovely 1/10/2008
Ms. Elizabeth Y. Olsen 1/10/2008

Child Placement Review Board-New Castle Ms. Arlene Cronin 1/10/2008

Commission of Veterans’ Affairs Mr Cornelius C. Carroll 1/11/2009
Mr. Joseph M. Lank 1/11/2009
Mr. Richard M. Magner 1/11/2009
Mr. Louis E. Spitzfaden 1/11/2009
Mr. James L. Thompson 1/11/2009
Colonel Robert E. Wasson 1/11/2009

Committee on Employment of People with Ms. Carol E. Barnett 1/11/2008
Disabilities Mr. Griff Campbell 1/11/2008

Mr. Mark A. Chamberlin 1/11/2008
Mr. Bruce C. Crouch 1/11/2008
Ms. Lorrie B. Ginegaw-Sonnemma 1/11/2008
Ms. Regina Greenwald 1/11/2008
Ms. Nancy L. Myshko 1/11/2008
Ms. Celeste W. Williams 1/11/2008

Council on Development Finance Mr. Fred C. Sears, II 1/11/2008
Ms. Richelle Vible 1/11/2008

Council on Game and Fish Mr. Alden Townsend 1/11/2008

Council on Manufactured Housing Mr. Robert Fillmore 9/27/2006

Council on Services for Aging and Adults Mr. Bobby B. Brown 1/7/2008
with Physical Disabilities Ms. Charlotte R. Byers 1/7/2008
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Mr. Keith E. Campbell 1/7/2008
Ms. Mary T. Costello 1/7/2008

Council on Services for Aging and Adults Ms. Sandra H. Dole 1/7/2008
with Physical Disabilities Mr. David J. Friedland 1/7/2008

Ms. Evelyn R. Hayes 1/7/2008
Ms. La Vaida J. Owens-White 1/7/2008
Ms. Lelia D. Perkins 1/7/2008
Ms. Mary A. Teller 1/7/2008
Ms. Karen W. Wood 1/7/2008

Deferred Compensation Council Mr. Thomas M. Hurley 1/7/2008
Mr. Larry Koenig 1/13/2008

Delaware Commission for Women Ms. Nancy L. Charron 1/17/2008
Ms. Rebecca L. Evaristo 1/17/2008
Ms. Valerie A. Lemoi 9/27/2005
Mr. Brian S. Olson 1/7/2008
Ms. Susan G. Swan 1/7/2008
Ms. Jo Ann D. Van Heest 9/24/2005

Delaware Natural Areas Advisory Council Mr. Michael E. Riska 1/26/2009

Delaware Real Estate Commission Mr. James C. Brannon, Jr. 1/11/2008
Mr. Joseph P. Connor, Jr. 1/11/2008
Mr. Harry Kreger 1/11/2008
Ms. Denise R. Stokes 1/11/2008

Delaware River and Bay Authority Ms. Verna Wilkins Hensley 7/1/2009

Delaware State Arts Council Ms. Annabelle C. Kressman 10/4/2007

Delaware State Arts Council, Chair Ms. Julia M. McCabe Pleasure of the
Governor

Delaware State University Board of Trustees Ms. Cora Norwood Selby 1/11/2011

Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Ms. Jennifer M. Pulcinella Pleasure of the
Citizens Governor

Governor’s Council on Hispanic Affairs Mr. George L. Camacho 1/10/2008
Ms. Janette Medina 1/10/2008
Mr. Noel Rodriguez 1/10/2008

Governor’s Council on Hispanic Affairs Mr. Harry J. Sanchez 1/10/2008
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Governor’s Council on Lifestyles & Fitness Ms. Kimberly J. Eroh 1/13/2008
Christopher J. Malone, Ph.D. 1/13/2008

Human Relations Commission Mr. William D. Johnston 1/7/2009
Ms. Gail E. Launay 1/7/2009
Randal L. Perry, Ph.D. 1/7/2009
The Honorable John W. Pitts 1/7/2009

Justice of the Peace in and for New Castle The Honorable Thomas M. Kenney 1/31/2011
County The Honorable Marilyn Letts 1/31/2011

Parks and Recreation Council Ms. Deloris Donnelly 1/11/2008

Public Defender The Honorable Lawrence M. Sullivan, Sr. 1/27/2011

Resident Associate Judge of the Superior The Honorable William L. Witham, Jr. 1/19/2007
Court in and for Kent County

State Committee of Dietetics/Nutrition Ms. T. Genelda Cornwell 1/7/2008

State Employee Benefits Advisory Council Corporal Edwin Justiniano 5/16/2005

State Examining Board of Physical Therapists Mr. Steven G. Kotrch 1/10/2008
and Athletic Trainers Ms. Ruth Ann Messick 1/10/2008

State Examining Board of Physical Therapists Mr. John J. Smith 11/9/2007
and Athletic Trainers for New Castle Co.

State Examining Board of Physical Therapists Mr. Patrick A. McKenzie 1/10/2008
and Athletic Trainers for Sussex County

State Rehabilitation Advisory Council Ms. Kathryn S. Herel 2/24/2006

Vocational Rehabilitation Advisory Council Mr. Bruce C. Crouch 1/12/2008
for D.V.I. Ms. Beverly W. Wieland 1/7/2008

Worker’s Compensation Advisory Council Mr. John D. Daniello 1/11/2008
Mr. Melvin E. Phillips 1/11/2008

Workforce Investment Board T. Ben Hsu, Ph.D. Pleasure of the
Governor
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Workforce Investment Board Mr. Toby Lamb Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Carole Orr Pleasure of the
Governor
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DELAWARE FIRE PREVENTION 
COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,
Section 6717(b) 16 Del.C. §6717(b)

NOTICE OF SFPC POLICY

The Delaware State Fire Prevntion Commission has 
adopted the "Policy For The Complaint Investigation and 
Resolution Process", which lists the procedures for handling 
complaints that are considered in the incident review process 
and complaints referred to the Commission for Hearing.  The 
policy was adopted and effective on November 9, 2004 at the 
regularly scheduled Commission meeting held at the 
Delaware State Fire Prevntion Commission, 1463 Chestnut 
Grove Road, Dover, Delaware 19904.

PROCEDURES TO IMPLEMENT 

Policy For The Complaint Investigation and Resolution 
Process

Complaints

• Can be from any source.
• Should include name of provider or unit #, date 

and time of incident, details of complaint, and 
destination hospital if any.

• The medical director reviewing the complaint 
will review the concern, contact any persons if 
needed, do an investigation and may;
• Close the case.
• Develop an investigation report and discuss 
about further action.

Closing the Case

• Refer the complaint to the fire chief or organization 
administrator.

• Speak with and educate the provider
• File report with State EMS Medical Director, BLS 

Medical Director, and Commission.

Investigative Report and Discussion

• For those incidents which may require further 
action.

• Discuss with Commissioner(s), State Medical 
Directors, Deputy Attorney General and, if 
needed, the Fire Chief

• Disposition can be;
• Resolution Without Hearing
• Commission Hearing

• Incident Review 

Referral To Resolution Without Hearing

• The case may be referred to a resolution meeting.
• The resolution meeting shall include the 

following;
• At least one Medical Director 
• Commissioner
• Jurisdictional Chief Officer
• Administrator for employing agency if 

different from Juristictional Chief Officer 
• All information provided during the meeting can 

be used in future hearings if needed.
• A resolution may be agreed upon by all parties 

involved and the issue resolved without a hearing. 
A summary report and copy of the resolution 
signed by all involved will be sent to the State 
EMS Medical Director and Commission.

• If no resolution is found, the case may be referred 
to commission hearing, incident review, or 
closed. 

Referral To The Commission For Hearing

• A case may be referred to the Commission for 
hearing if the Medical Director feels that there 
may be need for action to be taken against the 
provider’s certification.

• If the case is referred to the Commission for 
hearing, no incident review is to be performed.

• The following will be notified in the event that a 
case is referred to the Commission for Hearing;
• Provider
• Commission
• State EMS Medical Director
• Chief or Administrative Officer for 

Employing Agency
• The Commission will hear the case at hearing and 

make any recommendations for action.
• The hearing will be briefly summarized including 

the recommendation, for the public record.

Incident Review

• Is indicated for those incidents that the medical 
director feels need further investigation but 
anticipates can be resolved without referral to the 
commission for further action against the 
provider’s certification.

• Is a formal review regarding concerns over 
patient care and/or provider conduct, or which is 
part of a larger systems issue that directly impacts 
patient care.
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• Complaints can be anonymous.  In the event that 
they are anonymous, the name should still be 
provided for incident review committee contact 
but will be kept anonymous from the provider in 
question or the record.  All complaints will be 
independently verified prior to incident review.

• The incident review committee shall include the 
following,
• At least one Medical Director 
• Commissioner
• Jurisdictional Chief Officer
• Administrator for employing agency if 

different from Jurisdictional Chief Officer
• The contents of the incident review will be kept 

confidential as per Delaware State Law.  
• The Incident Review Committee will make a 

final recommendation.
• This recommendation will be filed in writing 

with the Commission and State EMS Medical 
Director.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch.60)

ORDER 20050A-0008

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control (“the Department”) under 29 Del.C. §§8001 et seq., 
the following findings and conclusions are entered as an 
Order of the Secretary:  

1. Based on the record developed, as reviewed in the 
Hearing Officer’s Report (“Report”), dated January 14, 
2005, and appended hereto and incorporated herein, I find 
and conclude that the record supports approval of the 
issuance, in final form, of the  2002 Demonstration 
Compliance document prepared pursuant to the federal 
Clean Air Act, as amended;

2. The 2002 Demonstration Compliance document 
indicates that Delaware’s New Castle and Kent Counties 
have experienced a 9% reduction in air emissions of Volatile 
Organic Compounds and Nitrogen Oxide over the three year 
reporting period.  These air contaminants produce ozone, 
and high levels of ground level ozone will harm the 
respiratory system and cause breathing problems, throat 
irritation, coughing, chest pain, and increase the 

susceptibility to respiratory infection, particularly among 
children, the elderly and anyone with respiratory diseases. 
High levels of ozone also damages agriculture and forests. 
The progress in achieving the 9% reduction in ozone 
producing emissions is based upon the success of the 
Department’s State Implementation Plan, which has directed 
the regulatory steps to reduce ozone producing emissions in 
Delaware;

3. I find and conclude that the record supports 
approval of the issuance of the 2002 Demonstration 
Compliance as the Department’s final document, and its 
submission to the EPA as Delaware’s compliance with the 
federal law, as well as evidence of the success of Delaware’s 
efforts to reduce ozone producing air emissions;

4. The Department provided adequate public notice of 
the public hearing in a manner required by the applicable law 
and regulations;

5. The final 2002 Demonstration Compliance 
document shall be published as a notice in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations;

6. The Department considered all timely public 
comments and questions on the 2002 Demonstration 
Compliance document; as presented to the Department in 
writing and orally at the public hearing;  and

7. The Department has an adequate record for its 
decision, and no further public hearing is appropriate or 
necessary.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

Final Submittal

DELAWARE 2002 MILESTONE COMPLIANCE 
DEMONSTRATION FOR KENT AND NEW CASTLE 

COUNTIES
Demonstrating Adequate Progress toward Attainment of 
the 1-Hour National Ambient Air Quality Standard for 

Ground-Level Ozone

Submitted to US Environmental Protection Agency
By Delaware Department of Natural Resources and 

Environmental Control

March 2005

Acronym List

AQM Air Quality Management Section of DNREC 
CAAA Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 
CMSA Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area 
CO Carbon Monoxide 
DAWM Division of Air and Waste Management of

DNREC
DNREC Delaware Department of Natural Resources

and Environmental Control
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EID Emission Inventory Development
EPA United States Environmental Protection

Agency
FMVCP Federal Motor Vehicle Control Program 
I/M Inspection and Maintenance 
LEV Low Emission Vehicle
MCD Milestone Compliance Demonstration
NAA Nonattainment Area
NAAQS National Ambient Air Quality Standard 
NLEV National Low Emission Vehicle
NOx Oxides of Nitrogen 
OAQPS- Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards

of EPA
OTAG Ozone Transport Assessment Group
OTC Ozone Transport Commission
OTR Ozone Transport Region
PCP Planning and Community Protection Branch of

DNREC
PEI Periodic Emission Inventory
RACT Reasonably Available Control Technology 
RPP Rate-of-Progress Plan 
RVP Reid Vapor Pressure 
SCC Source Classification Code 
SIC Standard Industrial Classification 
SIP State Implementation Plan 
TPD Tons per day
TPY Tons per year
VOC Volatile Organic Compound 

Summary

Under the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 
(CAAA), Kent and New Castle Counties in Delaware are 
classified as severe nonattainment areas with respect to the 
1-hour ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard 
(NAAQS). This document addresses Delaware’s 2002 
milestone year compliance demonstration regarding progress 
toward attainment of the 1-hour ozone NAAQS.

Under Sections 182(b)(1) and 182(d) of CAAA, 
Delaware is required (1) by 1996 to achieve a 15% reduction 
in emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from its 
1990 level in the two nonattainment counties, (2) by 1999 to 
achieve an additional 9% reduction in emissions of either 
VOCs or oxides of nitrogen (NOx) from the 1990 levels, and 
(3) by 2002 to achieve a second additional 9% reduction in 
emissions of either VOCs or NOx from the 1990 levels. 
Under these requirements, the 2002 target levels of VOC and 
NOx emissions for the two nonattainment counties in 
Delaware have been determined to be 101.54 tons per day 
(TPD) and 143.12 TPD, respectively. To achieve these 
emissions targets, Delaware implemented numerous control 
measures over a large variety of VOC and NOx emission 
sources from 1990 to 2002. Delaware’s 2002 emission 
inventory, which has been recently compiled, shows that the 

2002 inventoried VOC and NOx emissions in Kent and New 
Castle Counties are 78.12 TPD and 144.49 TPD, 
respectively. These inventoried VOC and NOx emissions, 
when combined together and expressed as an equivalent 
VOC emission, are significantly lower than the required 
2002 targets levels. Thus, Delaware demonstrates herein that 
its 2002 milestone for complying with the CAAA’s VOC and 
NOx emission reduction requirements has been successfully 
met.

1.0 Introduction
1.1 Background

The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA) 
set forth National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) 
for the ground-level ozone. High levels of ground level 
ozone will harm the respiratory system and cause breathing 
problems, throat irritation, coughing, chest pains, and greater 
susceptibility to respiratory infection. Children, the elderly 
and individuals with respiratory diseases are especially 
vulnerable to the threat of ozone. Even healthy individuals 
can be harmed if they attempt strenuous activity on days 
with high ozone levels. High levels of ozone also cause 
serious damage to forests and agricultural crops, resulting in 
economic losses to logging and farming operations. 
Currently, there are two national standards for the ground-
level ozone, i.e., the 1-hour standard (0.12 ppm) and the 8-
hour standard (0.08 ppm). This document addresses issues 
relevant to the 1-hour standard only.

The CAAA classifies five nonattainment areas 
(NAA) that exceed the 1-hour ozone NAAQS based on the 
severity of the pollution problem. In the order of increasing 
severity, they are marginal, moderate, serious, severe, and 
extreme. According to Section 181 of CAAA, attainment 
dates for individual areas depend on their nonattainment 
designations. The Philadelphia Consolidated Metropolitan 
Statistical Area (CMSA) is classified as a severe 
nonattainment area (Figure 1), which has an attainment date 
of 2005. As shown in Figure 1, Kent and New Castle 
Counties in Delaware fall within the Philadelphia CMSA. 
Thus, these two counties are subject to all requirements set 
forth for the severe ozone nonattainment class. All 
discussions and data presented in this document apply only 
to Kent and New Castle Counties.

Generally, the ground level ozone is not directly 
emitted to the atmosphere, but is formed in the lower 
atmosphere by photochemical reactions mainly between 
volatile organic compounds (VOC) and nitrogen oxides 
(NOx) in the presence of sunlight. Thus, VOC and NOx are 
defined as ozone precursors. In order to reduce ozone 
concentration in the ambient air, the CAAA requires all 
ozone nonattainment areas to achieve specific reductions in 
anthropogenic VOC emissions and/or NOx emissions over 
several specified periods of years until the ozone standard is 
attained. This requirement for periodic emission reductions 
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is termed as “rate of progress” toward the attainment of the 
1-hour ozone standard (Reference 1).

Under Section 182(d) of CAAA, Delaware is 
required to develop and submit a State Implementation Plans 
(SIP) revision to the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency  (EPA) for each of the milestone years of 1996, 
1999, 2002 and 2005.  In these plans, Delaware has to show 
that, by adopting and implementing adequate control 
measures, it can achieve adequate rate-of-progress 
reductions in VOC and/or NOx emissions for its severe 
ozone nonattainment area, i.e., Kent and New Castle 
Counties. Since these state implementation plans construct 
the path of Delaware’s rate of progress toward the attainment 
of the ozone standard, they are termed as Delaware’s Rate-
of-Progress Plans (RPPs).

Under Section 182(a) of the CAAA, Delaware is 
required to develop comprehensive emission inventories of 
ozone precursors for 1993, 1996, 1999, 2002 and 2005 to 
monitor actual VOC and NOx emissions from its 
nonattainment areas along  the  path  of  rate of progress. 
These emission  inventories  are  termed  as  Delaware’s 
periodic  emission  inventories  (PEIs). Under Sections 
182(a) and 182(g) of the CAAA, Delaware is required to use 
these periodic emission inventories (except the 1993 PEI) to 
demonstrate whether Delaware meets the required emission 
reductions as specified in its rate-of-progress plans in 
individual milestone years. This demonstrating process is 
termed as milestone compliance demonstration (Reference 
1).

This document demonstrates Delaware 2002 
milestone year compliance with adequate progress in 
emission reductions toward attainment of the 1-hour ozone 
NAAQS as required by the CAAA. The document is 
hereafter referred to as “Delaware 2002 Milestone 
Compliance Demonstration.”

Figure 1.  Philadelphia Consolidated Metropolitan 
Statistical Area (CMSA) Nonattainment Area.1

1.2 Responsibilities
The agency with direct responsibility for preparing 

and submitting this document is Delaware Department of 
Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC), 
Division of Air and Waste Management (DAWM), Air 
Quality Management Section (AQM), under the direction of 
Ali Mirzakhalili, Program Administrator. The working 
responsibility for Delaware’s air quality management 
planning falls within the Planning and Community 
Protection (PCP) Branch of AQM Section, under the 
management of Raymond H. Malenfant, Program Manager 
and Ronald A. Amirikian, Planning Supervisor.  Frank F. 
Gao, Environmental Engineer of Airshed Evaluation and 
Planning Program in the PCP Branch, is the project leader 
and principal author of this document. Questions or 
comments regarding this document should be addressed to F. 
Gao, (302)323-4542, AQM, 715 Grantham Lane, New 
Castle, DE 19720, or be e-mailed to Frank.Gao@state.de.us. 

1. This map is adopted from Major CO, NO2 and VOC 
Sources in the 25-Mile Boundary Around Ozone 
Nonattainment Areas, Volume 1: Classified Ozone 
Nonattainment Area, EPA/4-92-005a, U.S. Environment 
Protection Agency, Office of Air Quality Planning and 
Standards, Office of Air and Radiation, Research Triangle 
Park , NC, February, 1992.
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2.0 Delaware State Implementation Plans
2.1 Delaware 1990 Base Year Emission Inventory

Section 182(a)(1) of CAAA requires each state with 
ozone nonattainment areas to develop a comprehensive 1990 
emission inventory for ozone precursors for its 
nonattainment areas. The emission inventory must be 
submitted as a state implementation plan (SIP) revision to 
EPA for approval.  This 1990 base year emission inventory is 
used as the basis for a state to develop its rate-of-progress 
plans and control strategies toward attainment of the 1-hour 
ozone standard. Delaware’s 1990 base year emission 
inventory was submitted to the EPA in May 1994, and 
approved by EPA in March 1996 (Reference 2).

The 1990 Base Year Inventory is categorized by 
five source sectors, i.e., point, stationary area, off-road 
mobile, on-road mobile and biogenic source sectors.  Since 
volatile organic compounds (VOC), nitrogen oxides (NOx) 
and carbon monoxide (CO) are precursors for ground level 
ozone formation, their emissions from these source sectors 
in 1990 are inventoried and reported in the 1990 Base Year 
Inventory. Because the contribution of CO to ozone 
formation is insignificant, the CO component of the 1990 
Base Year Inventory is not included in Delaware's rate-of-
progress planning for attainment of ozone standard.  A 
summary of VOC and NOx emissions by county in the 1990 
Base Year Inventory is presented in Table 1. The unit of 
emissions reported in Table 1 is tons per day (TPD) in the 
peak ozone season. The peak ozone season in Delaware is 
defined as from June 1 through August 31.

 Table 1. Summary of VOC and NOx Emissions (in TPD) 
in 1990 Base Year Inventory*

* Data obtained from Delaware 1990 Base Year Emission 
Inventory (Reference 2).

2.2 Delaware Rate-of-Progress Plans and Milestone 
Year Emission Targets

Under Sections 182(b)(1) and 182(d), Delaware is 
required to develop a rate-of-progress plan (as a SIP 
revision) for the period from 1990 to 1996. This plan must 
describe how Delaware could achieve an actual VOC 
emission reduction of at least 15% of its 1990 VOC emission 
level, and thus is termed as Delaware 1996 Rate-of-Progress 
Plan (RPP) or 15% RPP (Reference 3). The year of 1996 is 

defined as the first milestone year toward attainment of the 
1-hour ozone standard.

In addition to the 15% VOC emission reduction, 
Section 182(d) of CAAA requires Delaware to submit three 
post-1996 rate-of-progress plans that will lead to VOC and/
or NOx emission reductions of at least 3% per year between 
1996 and 2005. These three post-1996 plans are: the 1999 
RPP covering a 3-year period from 1997 to 1999, the 2002 
RPP covering the period from 2000 to 2002, and the 2005 
RPP covering the period from 2003 and 2005. Based on the 
3% per year emission reduction requirements, these three 
RPPs set forth Delaware’s VOC and NOx emission targets in 
their corresponding milestone years of 1999, 2002 and 2005. 

The required rate-of-progress reductions in VOC 
and/or NOx emissions in each rate-of-progress plan are 
estimated from the 1990 baseline level. For this purpose, the 
1990 base year emissions in Table 1 must be adjusted to (1) 
include only anthropogenic and photochemically reactive 
emissions, and (2) exclude emission reductions from control 
measures promulgated prior to the 1990 CAA Amendments 
(Reference 1). After these adjustments, the required VOC 
and/or NOx emission reductions can be estimated, and then 
the VOC and/or NOx emission targets of each milestone 
year can be calculated. A summary of VOC and /or NOx 
emission targets for individual milestone years are presented 
in Table 2. Details of how to conduct base-year inventory 
adjustments and how to estimate emission reductions and 
emission targets can be found in References 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 
and 7.

Table 2. Delaware VOC and/or NOx Emission Targets 
for Individual Milestone Years

2.3 Control Measures and Expected VOC/NOx 
Emissions in 2002 RPP

To meet the 2002 VOC and NOx emission targets, 
Delaware proposed numerous control measures in its 2002 
RPP. These control measures include federal mandatory 
rules and Delaware state regulations to be promulgated prior 
to the peak ozone season of 2002. These rules and 
regulations cover a large variety of VOC and NOx emission 
sources in all anthropogenic source sectors. A list of the 
control measures, along with their implementation dates, is 
given in Table 3. Detailed descriptions of individual rules 
and regulations can be found in Delaware 2002 RPP, as 

1990 Base 
Year

            Kent       New Castle Total NAA

All Source 
Sectors

VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Total 
Emissions

65.23 25.84 131.30 137.00 196.53 162.85

Emission 1996 1999 2002 2005
Targets 
(TPD)

Milestone 
Year

Milestone 
Year

Milestone 
Year

Milestone 
Year

VOC 115.82 110.21 101.54 95.41
NOx * 148.96 143.12 135.37

*NOx reduction was not required 
for the 1996 milestone year.
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amended in December 2000 (Reference 5), and Delaware 
Regulations Governing Control of Air Pollution (Reference 
8).

Table 3.  Control Measures Proposed in Delaware’s 2002 
RPP

In the 2002 RPP, Delaware projected 2002 VOC 
and NOx emissions in the peak ozone season assuming all 
control measures listed in Table 3 were implemented as 
expected. The projections are termed as "control strategy 
projections" and conducted following the methods and 
procedures specified in relevant EPA guidance documents 
(References 9, 10 and 11). In the projection calculations, 
factors such as growth, control efficiency, rule effectiveness, 
and rule penetration, are considered and incorporated 
whenever appropriate for point sources, stationary area 
sources and non-road mobile sources. Emission projections 
for on-road mobile sources were conducted using EPA's 
MOBILE5a software. Details of the control strategy 
projections are presented in the 2002 RPP, as amended in 

Control Measures 
and Regulations Creditability Emission Effective

  Controlled Date

Point Source Controls    
RACT "Catch-Ups" in 
Kent County:    
     Solvent Metal 
Cleaning Creditable VOC 31-May-95
     Surface Coating of 
Metal Furniture Creditable VOC 31-May-95
     Leaks from 
Synthetic Organic 
Chemical, Creditable VOC 31-May-95
        Polymer, and 
Resin Manufact. 
Equip.    
New RACT 
Regulations:    
     Bulk Gas. Marine 
Tank Vessel Loading 
Facil. Creditable 31-Dec-95
     SOCMI Reactor 
Proc. and Distillation 
Operat. Creditable VOC 01-Apr-96
     Batch Processing 
Operations Creditable VOC 01-Apr-96

     Offset Lithography      Creditable VOC 01-Apr-96

     Aerospace Coatings Creditable VOC 01-Apr-96
     Industrial Cleaning 
Solvents Creditable VOC 29-Nov-94

     Non-CTG RACT   Creditable  VOC 31-May-95
     Delaware NOx 
RACT   Creditable  NOx 31-May-95
Regional NOx Control 
OTC MOU Creditable NOx 01-May-99
Federal Benzene 
Waste Rule Creditable VOC Spring 1995

Sanitary Landfills Creditable VOC 09-Oct-93
Irreversible Process 
Changes Creditable VOC 01-Jan-96
Stationary Area 
Source Controls    
RACT "Catch-Ups" in 
Kent County:    
     Solvent Metal 
Cleaning Creditable VOC 31-May-95

     Cutback Asphalt                         Creditable   VOC 31-May-95

New RACT 
Regulations:    
Stage I Vapor 
Recovery-Gas. 
Dispensing Facil. Creditable VOC 15-Nov-94

     Emulsified Asphalt Creditable VOC 31-May-95
     Motor Vehicle 
Refinishing Creditable VOC 01-Apr-96

     Offset Lithography Creditable VOC 01-Apr-96

     Aerospace Coatings                       Creditable  VOC 01-Apr-96
     Stage II Vapor 
Recovery Creditable VOC 15-Nov-94

     Open Burning Creditable VOC, NOx 08-Feb-95
Off-Road Mobile 
Source Controls    

Reformulated Fuel Creditable VOC 01-Jan-95
New Emission 
Standards  
     Spark Ignition 
Engines Creditable VOC, NOx

Court-
Ordered

     Compression 
Ignition Engines Creditable VOC, NOx

Court-
Ordered

     Marine Engines Creditable VOC
Court-

Ordered

     Locomotives Creditable NOx 31-Dec-01
On-Road Mobile 
Source Controls    

FMVCP and RVP Noncreditable VOC, NOx Pre-1990
Tier I Vehicle 
Emissions Standards Creditable VOC, NOx

Model Yr 
1994

Basic I/M for Kent 
County Creditable VOC, NOx 01-Jan-91
ATP and Pressure Test 
for Kent County Creditable VOC, NOx 01-Jan-95
ATP and Pressure Test 
for New Castle 
County Creditable VOC, NOx 01-Jan-95

Reformulated Fuel Creditable VOC 01-Jan-95

LEV Program Creditable VOC, NOx 01-Nov-99
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December 2000 (Reference 5). A summary of the 2002 VOC 
and NOx control strategy emission projections is given in 
Table 4.  

Table 4.  Delaware 2002 Control Strategy Projections for 
VOC and NOx Emissions (TPD)

As shown in Table 4, the total VOC and NOx 
emissions projected for 2002 in Delaware’s nonattainment 
area (i.e., Kent and New Castle Counties) are 101.54 TPD 
and 142.08 TPD, respectively.  The VOC projection is equal 
to the emission target, while the NOx projection is lower 
than the target (143.12 TPD). Therefore, the 2002 RPP 
concludes that its proposed control measures are adequate 
and enough for Delaware to meet CAAA’s rate-of-progress 
requirements on VOC and NOx emission reductions in the 
milestone year of 2002.

2.4 Delaware 1993, 1996, 1999 and 2002 Periodic 
Emission Inventories

Under Section 182(a) of the CAAA, Delaware is 
required to compile comprehensive periodic emission 
inventories of ozone precursors for 1993, 1996, 1999, 2002 
and 2005. The emission data in these periodic inventories are 
either reported directly by individual sources (e.g., point 
sources such as industrial facilities), or calculated from the 
subject year activity data obtained from relevant sources or 
other agencies (e.g., area sources). These periodic emission 
inventories cover all sources included in the Delaware 1990 
Base Year Emission Inventory.  Delaware submitted to EPA 
its 1993 periodic emission inventory (PEI) in January 1998, 
its 1996 EPI in November 1999, its 1999 PEI in June 2002, 
and its 2002 PEI in June 2004. Emissions in these periodic 
emission inventories are reported in tons per year (TPY) and 
in tons per day (TPD) in the peak ozone season. Details of 
how Delaware compiled these periodical emission 
inventories are described in References 12 through 15. For 
the purpose of demonstrating milestone year compliance, a 
summary of VOC and NOx emissions (in the unit of TPD) in 
the 1996 PEI, 1999 PEI and 2002 PEI is presented in Table 
5.

Table 5. Summary of Delaware's 1996, 1999 and 2002 
Periodic Emission Inventories (TPD)

2.4 Delaware 1996 and 1999 Milestone Compliance 
Demonstration

As mentioned earlier, under Sections 182(d) of 
CAAA, Delaware was required (1) to achieve in 1996 an 
actual VOC emission reduction of at least 15% from its 1990 
VOC emission level, (2) to achieve in 1999 an additional 9% 
VOC and/or NOx emission reductions from the 1990 base 
year VOC or NOx emission levels. To demonstrate 
achieving these emission reduction goals, Delaware 
developed its 1996 milestone compliance demonstration 
(MCD) document in February 2000, and its 1999 MCD 
document in June 2003. A summary of the 1996 MCD is 
presented in Table 6, and a summary of the 1999 MCD is 
presented in Table 7.

Table 6. Delaware 1996 Milestone Compliance 
Demonstration Results*

*Data obtained from Reference 16. ** % = (1996 PEI – 1996 
Target)/1996 Target.

Table 7. Delaware 1999 Milestone Compliance 
Demonstration Results*

*Data obtained from Reference 17. ** % = (1999 PEI – 1999 
Target)/1999 Target.

As indicated in Table 6, the 1996 PEI VOC 
emission was 12.0% lower than the 1996 VOC emission 
target required by CAAA. As indicated in Table 7, the 1999 
PEI VOC and NOx emissions were 19.5% and 21.0% lower 
than the required 1999 VOC and NOx emission targets, 

2002 RPP             Kent       New Castle Total NAA

All Source 
Sector

VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Emission 
Projections

20.53 24.01 81.01 118.07 101.54 142.08

 1996 PEI 1999 PEI 2002 PEI

All Source 
Sectors

VOC NOx VOC NOx VOC NOx

Total 
Emissions

101.87 121.55 88.69 117.68 78.12 144.49

 
1996 

Required 1996 PEI PEI vs. Target**
Emission 

(TPD)
Emission 

Target
Actual 

Emission
Lower(-)/
Higher(+)

VOC 115.81 101.87 -12.0%

 1999 Required 1999 PEI PEI vs. Target**
Emission 

(TPD)
Emission 

Target
Actual 

Emission
Lower(-)/
Higher(+)

VOC 110.21 88.69 -19.5%
NOx 148.96 117.68 -21.0%
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respectively. Therefore, for these two milestone years (i.e., 
1996 and 1999), Delaware demonstrated that its VOC and/or 
NOx emissions were fully in compliance with the emission 
reduction requirements set forth by CAAA.

3.0 Delaware 2002 Milestone Compliance 
Demonstration

In the 2002 RPP, Delaware determined that the 2002 
targets of VOC and NOx emissions for its nonattainment 
area (i.e., Kent and New Castle Counties) were 101.54 TPD 
and 143.12 TPD, respectively, in the peak ozone season 
(Table 2). In the recently compiled 2002 PEI, Delaware has 
shown that the actual total VOC and NOx emissions in 2002 
are 78.12 TPD and 144.49 TPD, respectively, in the peak 
ozone season (Table 5).  A comparison of the 2002 emission 
targets and the 2002 PEI emissions is presented in Table 8. 
As indicated in Table 8, the VOC emission in the 2002 PEI is 
23.42 TPD lower than the target level, while the NOx 
emission in the 2002 PEI is 1.37 TPD higher than the 2002 
target

 Table 8. Comparison of 2002 Emission Targets and 2002 
Inventoried Emissions.

The 1990 baseline emission levels for VOC and NOx, as 
adjusted to 2002, are 133.15 TPD and 158.40 TPD, 
respectively (Reference 5). Thus, the VOC-to-NOx 
substitution ratio is 133.15:158.40 = 1:1.19. Using this ratio, 
the equivalent VOC emission for the over-target 1.37 TPD 
NOx emission can be calculated to be 1.37/1.19 = 1.15 TPD. 
Subtracting this number from the 23.42 TPD under-target 
VOC emission gives 23.42 – 1.15 = 22.27 TPD. In other 
words, the 2002 overall or net emission, expressed as an 
equivalent VOC emission, is 22.27 TPD lower than the 2002 
emission target. Therefore, Delaware has demonstrated 
herein that its 2002 emissions are in compliance with the 
emission reduction requirements set forth by CAAA.

4.0 References
1.  Guidance on the Relationship between the 15 

Percent Rate-of-Progress Plans and Other Provisions of the 
Clean Air Act, EPA-452/R-93-007, Office of Air Quality 
Planning and Standards, U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, May 1993.

2.  The 1990 Base Year Ozone SIP Emissions Inventory 
for VOC, CO, and NOx.  Air Quality Management Section, 

Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control, Dover, Delaware, revised as of May 3, 1994.

3.  The Delaware 15% Rate-of-Progress Plan. Air 
Quality Management Section, Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control, Dover, Delaware, 
February 1995.

4.  The Delaware 1999 Rate-of-Progress Plan for Kent 
and New Castle Counties.  Air Quality Management Section, 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control, Dover, Delaware, December 1997, as amended in 
June 1999.

5.  The Delaware 2002 Rate-of-Progress Plan for Kent 
and New Castle Counties.  Air Quality Management Section, 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control, Dover, Delaware, February 2000, as amended in 
December 2000.

6.  The Delaware 2005 Rate-of-Progress Plan for Kent 
and New Castle Counties.  Air Quality Management Section, 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control, Dover, Delaware, December 2000.

7.  Guidance on the Post-1996 Rate-of-Progress Plan 
and the Attainment Demonstration, Ozone/Carbon 
Monoxide Branch, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards, Research 
Triangle Park, North Carolina, 27711, February 18, 1994.
8.  Regulations Governing the Control of Air Pollution. Air 
Quality Management Section, Division of Air and Waste 
Management, Delaware Department of Natural Resources 
and Environmental Control, Dover, Delaware.

9. Procedures for Preparing Emissions Projections. 
EPA-450/4-91-019, Office of Air Quality Planning and 
Standards, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Research 
Triangle Park, North Carolina, July 1991.

10. Guidance for Growth Factors, Projections, and 
Control Strategies for the 15 Percent Rate-of-Progress 
Plans.  EPA-452/R-93-002, Office of Air Quality Planning 
and Standards, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, March 1993.

11. Guidance on Preparing Enforceable Regulations 
and Compliance Programs for the 15 Percent Rate-of-
Progress Plans.  EPA-452/R-93-005, Office of Air Quality 
Planning and Standards, U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, March 
1993.

12. The 1993 Periodic Ozone State Implementation Plan 
Emission Inventory for VOC, NOx, and CO. Air Quality 
Management Section, Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control, Dover, Delaware, January 1998.

13. The 1996 Periodic Ozone State Implementation Plan 
Emission Inventory for VOC, NOx, and CO. Air Quality 
Management Section, Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control, Dover, Delaware, November 1999.

14. The 1999 Periodic Ozone State Implementation Plan 
Emission Inventory for VOC, NOx, and CO. Air Quality 

 2002 Required 2002 PEI Difference
Emission 

(TPD)
Emission 

Target
Actual 

Emission
(PEI - 

Target)
VOC 101.54 78.12 -23.42
NOx 143.12 144.49 +1.37
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Management Section, Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control, Dover, Delaware, June 2002.

15. The 2002 Periodic Ozone State Implementation Plan 
Emission Inventory for VOC, NOx, and CO. Air Quality 
Management Section, Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control, Dover, Delaware, June 2004.

16. Delaware 1996 Milestone Demonstration for Kent 
and New Castle Counties. Air Quality Management Section, 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control, Dover, Delaware, February 2000.

17. Delaware 1999 Milestone Compliance 
Demonstration for Kent and New Castle Counties. Air 
Quality Management Section, Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control, Dover, Delaware, 
June 2003.
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

Notice Of Public Hearing

The Delaware Board of Accountancy in accordance 
with 24 Del.C. §105(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules 
and regulations.  The proposal amends Board Regulation 
10.8: Composition of Continuing Professional Education.
The regulation as amended converts the stated requirements 
from percentages to credit hours and adds a provision that 
four (4) of the required credit hours shall be in a Delaware 
specific ethics course approved by the Board. The regulation 
does not change the total number of required continuing 
education credit hours.

A public hearing will be held on April 20, 2005 at 9:00 
a.m. in the second floor Conference Room B of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone 
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may 
obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of Accountancy, 861 
Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 
19904.  Persons wishing to submit written comments may 
forward these to the Board at the above address.  The final 
date to receive written comments will be at the public 
hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulation at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC

Notice Of Public Hearing

The Delaware Board of Chiropractic in accordance with 
24 Del.C. §706(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules and 
regulations.  The proposal amends rule 4.2.1 Continuing 
Education for Licensees Other Than New Licensees to 
provide that the maximum allowable online continuing 
education credits permissible in each reporting period is 
twelve (12) of the twenty-four (24) required hours.

A public hearing will be held on April 21, 2005 at 8:45 
a.m. in the second floor Conference Room B of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone 
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Chiropractic, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 
203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to submit written 
comments may forward these to the Board at the above 

address.  The final date to receive written comments will be 
at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Notice Of Public Hearing

The Delaware Board of Dental Examiners in accordance 
with 24 Del.C. §1106(1) has proposed changes to its rules 
and regulations as mandated by SB 229 (74 Del. Laws C. 
262) to identify crimes that are substantially related to the 
provision of dentistry and dental hygiene. The change also 
clarifies who is eligible to take the practical (clinical) 
examination in dentistry or dental hygiene.

A public hearing will be held on March 10, 2005 at 6:00 
P. M. in the second floor Conference Room A of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone 
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Dental Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon 
Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904.  Persons wishing to 
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at 
the above address. The final date to receive written 
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF NURSING

Notice Of Public Hearing

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE pursuant to 29 Del.C. chapter 
101 and 24 Del.C. §1906(1) the Delaware Board of Nursing 
proposes to revise its Rules and Regulations.

The subject matter of the proposed revisions relates to 
the insertion and removal of epidural catheters by Advanced 
Practice Nurses and also identifies specific health care acts 
to be excluded from delegation by competent individuals as 
specified in 24 Del.C. §1921(a)(19). 

The proposed rule and regulation developed by the 
Board relating to the insertion and removal of epidural 
catheters provides that the insertion and removal of epidural 
catheters is an authorized practice for Certified Registered 
Nurse Anesthetists and provides that the removal of epidural 
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catheters is authorized practice for Nurse Practitioners, 
Clinical Nurse Specialists and Certified Nurse Midwives 
with specialized training.
 Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1906(1) and Senate Bill No. 261, 
as amended [74 Del. Laws C. 762], the Board of Nursing is 
also proposing Rules and Regulations which specifically 
identify health care acts to be excluded from delegation to 
unlicensed persons by competent individuals who do not 
reside in a medical facility or a facility regulated pursuant to 
Chapter 11 of Title 16. [See 24 Del.C. §1921(19)]. 

A public hearing concerning these proposed changes to 
the Board of Nursing Rules and Regulations will be held on 
Wednesday, April 13, 2005 at 9:30 a.m., in the auditorium of 
the Carter Partnership Building, Delaware Technical and 
Community College, Owens Campus, Georgetown, 
Delaware.

Anyone desiring a copy of the proposed Rules and 
Regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Nursing, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 
203, Dover, DE 19904, (302) 744-4515 or (302) 744-4516. 
Persons desiring to submit written comments on the revised 
rules and regulations may forward these comments to the 
above address. The final date to receive written comments 
will be April 12, 2005. Persons wishing to make comments 
at the public hearing on April 13, 2005 should contact Iva 
Boardman at the above address or by calling (302) 744-
4517.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPISTS AND 

ATHLETIC TRAINERS
Notice Of Public Hearing

The Delaware Examining Board of Physical Therapists 
and Athletic Trainers in accordance with 24 Del.C. §2604(1) 
has proposed changes to its rules and regulations as the result 
of statutory amendments due to the enactment of  SB 292. 
The proposal amends the rules to reflect the current practice 
of athletic training.

A public hearing will be held on April 19, 2005 at 6:30 
p.m. in the second floor Conference Room A of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone 
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Examining 
Board of Physical Therapists and Athletic Trainers, 861 
Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 
19904.  Persons wishing to submit written comments may 
forward these to the Board at the above address.  The final 
date to receive written comments will be at the public 
hearing.

The Board will consider adopting the proposed 
amendments to its regulations at its regularly scheduled 
meeting following the public hearing

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF FUNERAL SERVICES

Notice Of Public Hearing

The Delaware Board of Funeral Services in accordance 
with 24 Del.C. §3105(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules 
and regulations relating to continuing education. The 
proposal authorizes the automatic approval of courses 
offered by the Academy of Funeral Services Practitioners 
(AFSP) or state boards that license funeral directors.

A public hearing will be held at  10:30 a.m. on April 6, 
2005, in the second floor Conference Room B of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone 
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rule may obtain a 
copy from the Delaware Board of Funeral Services, 861 
Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 
19904.  Persons wishing to submit written comments may 
forward these to the Board at the above address.  The final 
date to receive written comments will be at the public 
hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed rule 
at its regularly scheduled meeting following the public 
hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly 
meeting on Thursday, March 17, 2005 at 1:00 p.m. in the 
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Notice Of Public Hearing

The Health Systems Protection Section, Division of 
Public Health, Department of Health and Social Services 
will hold a public hearing to discuss the proposed State of 
Delaware Regulations Governing the Production and Sale of 
Milk and Milk Products.
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The public hearing will be held on March 23, 2005 at 
10:00 a.m. in the 3rd Floor Conference Room of the Jesse 
Cooper Building located at the intersection of Federal and 
Water Streets in Dover Delaware. Copies of the proposed 
regulations are available for review by calling the following 
location:

Community Environmental Health (Mr. Ed Pettee)
Williams State Service Center
805 River Road
Dover, DE  19901
Telephone: (302) 739-5305

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at 
this hearing should contact Mr. David P. Walton at (302) 
744-4700 by Tuesday, March 22, 2005.  Anyone wishing to 
submit written comments as a supplement to or in lieu of oral 
testimony can fax them to David Walton at (302) 739-6659 
or submit such comments by Thursday, March 31, 2005 to:

David P. Walton
Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903-0637

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Public Notice

TANF and Food Stamp Employment Training Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding changes to Delaware’s Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) and Food Stamp 
Employment and Training policies.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, and P.O. 
Box 906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by March 31, 
2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Public Notice

Long Term Care Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding the Long Term Care Program. The 
proposal gives direction on counting annuities for the 
eligibility process.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by March 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Public Notice

Attendant Services Waiver Program (ASWP)

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding the Attendant Services Waiver Program 
(ASWP). 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy & Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, and P.O. 
Box 906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by March 31, 
2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Notice Of Public Hearing

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER MATTHEW DENN 
hereby gives notice that a PUBLIC HEARING will be held 
on Wednesday, March 30, 2005 at 10:00 a.m. in the 
Consumer Services Conference Room of the Delaware 
Department of Insurance, 841 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware. The hearing is to receive public comment on 
proposed Regulation 702 relating to REQUIRED 
DISCLOSURES FOR RESIDENTIAL 
HOMEOWNERS POLICIES.

The purpose for proposing Regulation 702 is to require 
insurance companies to deliver a separate form to 
policyholders on an annual basis explaining information 
about coverage limitations.  That form would, among other 
things: explain that Delaware homeowners insurance does 
not cover flood damage, and will explain to the homeowner 
how flood insurance can be obtained; explain how to assure 
replacement coverage; explain limitations on reimbursement 
for theft from the home and how to obtain additional 
coverage for theft; and to require explanations for an 
insurer’s decision not to renew a homeowner’s policy at the 
end of the term.

The hearing will be conducted in accordance with 18 
Del.C. §311 and the Delaware Administrative Procedures 
Act, 29 Del.C. Chapter 101. Comments are being solicited 
from any interested party. Comments may be in writing or 
may be presented orally at the hearing. Written comments, 
testimony or other written materials concerning the proposed 
change to the regulation must be received by the Department 
of Insurance no later than 4:30 p.m., Tuesday, March 29, 
2005, and should be addressed to Deputy Attorney General 
Michael J. Rich, c/o Delaware Department of Insurance, 841 
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904, or sent by fax to 
302.739.5566 or email to michael.rich@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

Notice Of Public Hearing

7408 TMDL’s For The Murderkill River Watershed

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance, and Issues
The Department of Natural Resources and 

Environmental Control (DNREC) is proposing to amend the 
2001 Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulation for 
the Murderkill River Watershed, Delaware.   A TMDL sets a 

limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged into 
a waterbody and still protect water quality. TMDLs are 
composed of three components including Waste Load 
Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load 
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of 
Safety (MOS) to account for uncertainties and future growth.

The proposed amendments are the result of additional 
technical studies and field work that has shown that the 2001 
Murderkill River TMDL Regulation should be amended.

Notice of Public Comment
A public hearing will be held at 6:00 p.m., April 7, 

2005, at the Felton Fire Hall, 9 East Main Street, Felton, 
Delaware.   If you cannot attend the hearing, you are 
encouraged to submit written comments well in advance of 
the hearing date.  All written and oral comments must be 
received by the conclusion of the hearing.  The hearing 
record will close at the conclusion of the hearing.  Please 
send written comments to Hassan Mirsajadi, DNREC/
Division of Water Resources, Watershed Assessment 
Section, Silver Lake Plaza – Suite 220, 820 Silver Lake 
Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904-2464, (302) 739-4590, 
facsimile: (302) 739-6140, email: 
(Hassan.Mirsajadi@state.de.us). You are encouraged to 
submit comments electronically.

Copies of the proposed amended regulation and 
supporting technical document are available at the 
Department’s website at http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/
water2000/Sections/Watershed/TMDL/tmdlinfo.htm
or may be obtained by contacting Hassan Mirsajadi.

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN 
COMMISSION

Public Notice

The Delaware River Basin Commission will meet on 
Wednesday, March 16, 2005 at 9:30 a.m. at the law offices of 
Wolf, Block, Schorr and Solis-Cohen, LLP, 1650 Arch 
Street, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in the 26th floor 
conference room.  For more information contact Pamela M. 
Bush, Esq., Commission Secretary and Assistant General 
Counsel, at 609-883-9500 extension 203.
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