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The Delaware Register of Regulations is an 
official State publication established by authority 
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the 
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any 
regulations that are proposed to be adopted, 
amended or repealed and any emergency 
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of 
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the 

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is 
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An 
example would be:

6 DE Reg. 1541-1542 (06/01/03)

Refers to Volume 6, pages 1541-1542 of the 
Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2003.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) 
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is 
$135.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of 
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more 
information contact the Division of Research at 
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties 
may participate in the process by which 
administrative regulations are adopted, amended 
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which 
the validity and applicability of regulations is 
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an 
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or 
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text 
of such proposals, together with copies of the 
existing regulation being adopted, amended or 
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the 
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this 
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the 
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the 
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the 
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of 
the agency to act, and reference to any other 
regulations that may be impacted or affected by 
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of 
the place to which and the final date by which such 
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, 
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not 
be scheduled less than 20 days following 
publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will 
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, 
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal 
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice 
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made 
timely written requests of the agency for advance 
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be 
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the 
proposal is published in the Register of 
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and 
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written 
materials, upon all the testimonial and written 
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evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by 
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether 
a regulation should be adopted, amended or 
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order 
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the 
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief 
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of 
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A 
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or 
to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and 
information received;  (4)  The exact text and 
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6) 
Any other findings or conclusions required by the 
law under which the agency has authority to act; 
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the 
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, 
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less 
than 10 days from the date the order adopting, 
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal 
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the 
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an 
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the 
making or consideration of a proposed adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an 
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of 
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a 
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, 

no judicial review of a regulation is available 
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court 
within 30 days of the day the agency order with 
respect to the regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER 

OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
DATE           DATE        TIME

APRIL 1 MARCH 15 4:30 P.M.

MAY 1 APRIL 15 4:30 P.M.

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

AUGUST 1 JULY 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

Walter G. Feindt, Deputy Director; Judi 
Abbott, Administrative Specialist I; Sandra F. 
Clark, Administrative Specialist II; Jeffrey W. 
Hague, Registrar of Regulations; Ruth Ann 
Melson, Legislative Librarian; Deborah J. 
Messina, Print Shop Supervisor; Kathleen 
Morris, Unit Operations Support Specialist; Alex 
W. Mull, Assistant Registrar; Deborah A. Porter, 
Interim Supervisor; Lisa Schieffert, Research 
Analyst; Victoria Schultes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Ted Segletes, Paralegal;  Don 
Sellers, Printer; Alice W. Stark, Legislative 
Attorney;   Marvin L. Stayton, Printer; Rochelle 
Yerkes, Administrative Specialist II.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed 
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that 
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with 
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with 
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION (TITLE 24 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)

100  Board of Accountancy.................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.      7  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  494  (Final)

700  Board of Chiropractic..................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    36  (Final)
1400 Board of Electrical Examiners....................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  697  (Prop.)
1700 Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council of the Delaware Board of Medical

 Practice........................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  384  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  761  (Final)

1900  Board of Nursing 7  DE Reg.  158  (Final)
2100  Board of Optometry...................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  545  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  912  (Final)
2500  Board of Pharmacy, ..................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  239  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  309  (Final)
7  DE Reg.  546  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  693 (Errata)
7  DE Reg.  914  (Final)

2700  Board of Professional Land Surveyors......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  385  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  918  (Final)

3600  Board of Professional Geologists................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  853  (Prop.)
3900  Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners.................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  854  (Prop.)
5300  Board of Massage and Bodywork................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    40  (Final)

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Regulation Docket No. 50, Consideration of Rules, Standards and Indices to Ensure

Reliable Electrical Service by Electric Distribution Companies...................... ......    ..... 7  DE Reg.  243  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  762  (Final)

Regulation Docket No. 53, Regulations Governing Termination of Residential Electric
or Natural Gas Service by  Public Utilities for Non-Payment During Extreme
Seasonal Temperature Conditions................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  550  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  922  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Regulations..................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  119  (Prop.

7  DE Reg.  497  (Final)
Nutrient Management Program

703  Mandatory Nutrient Management Plan Reporting Implementation Regulation............. 7  DE Reg.  160  (Final)
Harness Racing Commission

Rules 3.0 Officials, 6.0 Types of Races and 8.0 Veterinary Practices, Equine
Health Medication........................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   861 (Prop.)

Rule 7.0, Rules of the Race, Sections 7.6.6.3 and 7.3.9......................................................... 7  DE Reg.    42  (Final)
Thoroughbred Racing Commission

Rule 1.28, Meeting.................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  316  (Final)
Rule 3.02, Appointment of Stewards..................... ......  ................................................... 7  DE Reg.  316  (Final)
Rule 6.02,  Requirements for Owner's Registration............................................................... 7  DE Reg.  389  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  766  (Final)
Rule 13.05 Thirty Day Prohibition-Racing Claimed Horse .................................................. 7  DE Reg.  324  (Final)
Rule 13.12, Claiming Races................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  978  (Prop.)
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Rule 15.1.3.1.13, Erythropietin (EPO)................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  978  (Prop.)
Rule 15.12, Intermittent Hypoxic Treatment by External Device.......................................... 7  DE Reg.  389  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  766  (Final)
Rule 19.01, Procedure Before Stewards................ ......   ........................................................ 7  DE Reg.  316  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION  (TITLE 14 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)
101  Delaware Student Testing Program........................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.    51  (Final)

7  DE Reg.  325  (Final)
103  School Accountability for Academic Performance............................................................... 7  DE Reg.    57  (Final)
104  Education Profiles for the Schools, Districts and the State.................................................... 7  DE Reg.    65  (Final)
215  Strategic Planning.................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    10  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  330  (Final)
220  Diversity................................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  554  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  887  (Prop.)
225  Prohibition of Discrimination................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  556  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  888  (Prop.)
230  Promotion Regulation............................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  556  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  927  (Final)
235  Teacher of the Year................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  889  (Prop.)
240  Recruiting & Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular Areas.................... 7  DE Reg.  703  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  994  (Final)
245  Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards Scholarship....................................................... 7  DE Reg.  707  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  998 (Final)
255  Definitions of Public School and Private School................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  254  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  618  (Final)
275  Charter Schools...................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  125  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  557  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  928  (Final)

511  Credit Requirements for High School Graduation................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  891  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  982  (Prop.)

515  High School Diplomas and Certificate of Performance......................................................... 7  DE Reg.  891  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  986  (Prop.)

520  Options for Awarding Credit Toward High School Graduation............................................ 7  DE Reg.  891  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  986  (Prop.)

608  Unsafe School Choice Option for Students in Persistently Dangerous Schools and for
Students Who Have Been Victims of a Violent Felony.......................................................... 7  DE Reg.    67  (Final)

610  Comprehensive School Discipline Program.......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    10  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  331  (Final)

612 (Formerly 876) Possession, Use or Distribution of Drugs and Alcohol ................................ 7  DE Reg.  403  (Prop.)
................................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  767  (Final)

615  School Attendance 7  DE Reg.  130  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  619  (Final)

707 Salary continuation: Operation Noble Eagle and Enduring Freedom..................................... 7  DE Reg.  708  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1000  (Final)

811  School Health Record Keeping Requirements,...................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    68  (Final)
815  Physical Examinations and Screening .................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   68   (Final)
817 Administration of Medications and Treatments...................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   68   (Final)
878  Guidelines for the School Districts to Comply with the Gun Free Schools Act.................... 7  DE Reg.   12   (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  333  (Final)
881  Releasing Students to Persons Other Than Their Parents or Legal Guardians...................... 7  DE Reg.  131  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  504  (Final)
901 Education of Homeless Children & Youth............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  254  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  620  (Final)
1102 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in Production on March 1, 2002...... 7  DE Reg.  563  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  933  (Final)
1051 DIAA Senior High School Interscholastic Athletics............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  406  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  770  (Final)
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PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
120  Required Inservice Training Activities For Delaware Public School Administrators,

Repeal Of ............................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  894  (Prop.)
301  General Regulations for Certification of Professional Public School Personnel................... 7  DE Reg.  161  (Final)
321  Certification Agriculture Teacher.................. ......   .............................................................. 7  DE Reg.  416  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
322  Certification Business Education Teacher............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  417  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
325  Certification English Teacher......................... ......  ............................................................... 7  DE Reg.  418  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
328  Certification Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive...................................................... 7  DE Reg.  418  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
329  Certification Foreign Language Secondary........................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  419  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
330  Certification Foreign Language Teacher Elementary............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  420  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
333  Certification Journalism Teacher, Repeal.............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  412  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  777  (Final)
335  Certification Mathematics Teacher........................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  421  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
337  Certification Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  422  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
338  Certification Social Studies Teacher...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  423  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
339  Certification Speech Teacher, Repeal.................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  412  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  777  (Final)
342  Endorsement Trade and Industrial Teacher............................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  986  (Prop.)
343  Certification Art Teacher Comprehensive............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  424  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
344  Certification Art Teacher Elementary.................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  424  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
345  Certification Art Teacher Secondary...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  425  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
346  Certification Heath Education Teacher.................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  425  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
348  Music Teacher Comprehensive.............................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  426  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
349  Music Teacher Elementary..................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  427  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
350  Certification Music Teacher Secondary................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  427  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
351  Certification Physical Education Teacher Comprehensive.................................................... 7  DE Reg.  428  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
352  Certification Physical Education TeacherElementary............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  428  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
353  Certification Physical Education Teacher Secondary............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  429  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
354  Certification Reading Specialist............. .......   ..................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   430 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
355  Certification Early Care and Education Teacher.................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   431 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
356  Certification Primary Teacher (Grades K-4).......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   432 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
357  Certification Middle Level Teacher (Grades 5-8).................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   433 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
358  Certification Bilingual Teacher (Spanish)Primary/middle Level.......................................... 7  DE Reg.   435 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
361  Certification Teacher Exceptional Children Special Education/Elementary......................... 7  DE Reg.   436 (Prop.)
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361  Certification Teacher Exceptional Children Special Education/Elementary......................... 7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
362  Certification Teacher Exceptional Children Special Education/Secondary........................... 7  DE Reg.   437 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
363  Certification Exceptional Children Teacher Gifted/Talented................................................. 7  DE Reg.   410 (Prop.)
364  Certification Interpreter Tutor for the Hearing Impaired....................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
365  Certification Resident Advisor............................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
373  Certification Coordinator, Cooperative Occupational/Vocational Education and/or Work-

Study Programs....................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
374  Certification Counselor Career Guidance and Placement...................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
375  Certification Counselor – Elementary School....................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   438 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
376  Certification Counselor – Secondary School......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   439 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
377  Certification Human Relations Specialists, Repeal............................................................... 7  DE Reg.   412 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   777 (Final)
378  Intern, Repeal......................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   412 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   777 (Final)
383  Visiting Teacher..................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
390 Delaware Licensure for Teachers Holding National Board for Professional Teaching

Standards Certification............................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   585 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   955 (Final)

392  Middle Level Certification, Repeal........................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   412 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   777 (Final)

605  Student Rights and Responsibilities....................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   187 (Final)
905  Federal Programs General Complaint Procedures................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   188 (Final)
1504  Delaware Performance Appraisal System for Administrators............................................. 7  DE Reg.     13 (Prop.)
1507 Professional Growth Salary Increments................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   709 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1001 (Prop.)
1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   712 (Prop.)
1510  Issuance of Initial License.................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   262 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   623 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   714 (Prop.)

1511  Issuance and Renewal of Continuing License...................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   197 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   988 (Prop.)

1512  Issuance & Renewal of Advanced License.......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   585 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   956 (Final)

1514  Revocation of Licenses................................ ......  ............................................................... 7  DE Reg.   265 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   627 (Final)

1516  Standard Certificate.............................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   267 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   629 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   718 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1004 (Final)

1526  Certification English to Speakers of Other Languages........................................................ 7  DE Reg.  440  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)

1530  Certification - Administrative - School Principal................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  190  (Final)
1531  Certification - Administrative - School Leader I................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  190  (Final)
1532  Certification - Administrative - School Leader II................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  190  (Final)
1540  Certificate Science Teacher.................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  441  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
1541  Standard Certificate – Mathematics Teacher –Middle Level............................................... 7  DE Reg.  442  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
1542  Standard Certificate – Science Teacher –Middle Level....................................................... 7  DE Reg.  443  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
1547 (Formerly 347) Certification Library/Media Specialist 7  DE Reg.  258  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  632  (Final)
1563 Standard Certificate, Teacher of Gifted and Talented Students............................................ 7  DE Reg.  779  (Final)
1580 (Formerly 380)  Certification School Nurse......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  260  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  633  (Final)
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 2004



CUMULATIVE TABLES1034
1584 Permits, School, Classroom Aides and Autistic Residential Child Care Specialists 7  DE Reg.   720 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1006 (Final)

1593  Delaware Professional Teaching Standards 7  DE Reg.     75 (Final)

PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS BOARD
Rule 12, Binding Grievance Arbitration................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  397  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  823  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY
Lottery Regulations

Rule 30, Non-Discrimination on the Basis of Disability in Delaware Lottery Programs...... 7  DE Reg.  270  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  635  (Final)
7  DE Reg. 1010 (Final)

Video Lottery Regulations
Video Lottery, ........................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  587  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  958  (Final)
Video Lottery, Section 5.1, Technology Providers: Contracts; Requirements; Duties,

Section 7.15, Game Requirements................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  202  (Final)
Video Lottery, Section 5.0, Technology Providers: Contracts; Requirements; Duties,

Section 6.0, Agents: Duties, Section 7.0, Game Requirements....................................... 7  DE Reg.  206  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Adult Abuse Registry, Regulations Governing....................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    82  (Final)
Regulation 55.0, Neighborhood Homes for Persons with Developmental Disabilities.......... 7  DE Reg.  132  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  504  (Final)
Training of Paid Feeding Assistants, Regulations for............................................................. 7  DE Reg.  895  (Prop.)

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Home Health Agencies, Regulations for................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  724  (Prop.)
Pre-Hospital Advanced Care Directive Regulations.............................................................. 7  DE Reg.    85  (Final)
Public Drinking Water Systems, Regulations Governing....................................................... 7  DE Reg.    94  (Final)
Regulation for the Certification of Radiation Technologists/Technicians.............................. 7  DE Reg.  273  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  639  (Final)
Uniformed Controlled Substances Act, Rescheduling of Gamma Hydroxy Butyrate (GHB) 7  DE Reg.  608  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  960  (Final)
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Independent Therapist Provider for Physical Therapy and Related Services......................... 7  DE Reg.  745  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1011 (Final)

Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Program and Title XIX Medicaid State Plan 7  DE Reg.  277  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  643  (Final)

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program 7  DE Reg.  280  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  649  (Final)
7  DE Reg.  898  (Prop.)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 4.18, Client Cost Sharing for 
Pharmaceutical Services.................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    23  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  609  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  751  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  962  (Final)

Beds During Absence from Long-Term Care Facilities.................................................. 7  DE Reg.    28  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  781  (Final)

DSSM
1009, Procedures for Serving Non-English Speaking Clients................................................ 7  DE Reg.  898  (Prop.)
2027, Disqualification of Individuals Convicted of Drug Related Offenses ......................... 7  DE Reg.  299  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  647  (Final)
3001, Definitions.................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  899  (Prop.)
3006.3, TANF Employment and Training Activities.............................................................. 7  DE Reg.  899  (Prop.)
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3006.4, TANF Employment and Training Activities Which Constitute Participation Under
TANF .............................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  899  (Prop.)

3007,  TANF Supportive Services and Transitional Benefits................................................. 7  DE Reg.  900  (Prop.)
3007.1,  Child Care................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  900  (Prop.)
3007.2,  Fees, Repeal Of......................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  900  (Prop.)
3007.3,  CWEP Payments, Repeal Of.................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  900  (Prop.)
3007.4,  Accessories For Work Or Training, Repeal Of......................................................... 7  DE Reg.  901  (Prop.)
3007.5, Remedial Medical, Repeal Of.................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  901  (Prop.)
3011.1,  Employment and Training Requirements................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  901  (Prop.)
3011.2,  Sanctions for Failing to Comply With Requirements............................................... 7  DE Reg.  902  (Prop.)
3021,  Unrelated Children....................... .......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  902  (Prop.)
3028.1, Mandatory Composition of Assistance Units............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  902  (Prop.)
3028.2, Optional Composition of Assistance Units................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  902  (Prop.)
3032.1.3,  Items/Services Covered......... .......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  903  (Prop.)
4001, Family Budget Group................... .......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  904  (Prop.)
4001.1, Examples to Illustrate Rules Regarding Budget Groups........................................... 7  DE Reg.  904  (Prop.)
4005.1, Child Support Payments TANF. .......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  905 (Prop.)
5100, Legal Base..................................... .......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5304, Jurisdiction.................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5312, Responses to Hearing Requests.................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5402, Hearings on Decisions.................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5403, Availability of Documents and Records....................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5405, Fair Hearing Procedures............................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
7002.1, Cash Assistance Overpayments......... .................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  905  (Prop.)
9007.1, Citizenship and Alien Status...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    29  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   334 (Final)
9038, Verification Subsequent to Initial Certification............................................................ 7  DE Reg.     30 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   336 (Final)
9063.3, Income Averaging...................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.     30 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   336 (Final)
9081.3, Exempt Aliens............................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   150 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   516 (Final)
9085, Reporting Changes........................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.     30 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   150 (Prop.)
9085, Reporting Changes 7  DE Reg.   336 (Final)

7  DE Reg.   516 (Final)
9085.2, DSS Responsibilities: Actions on Changes............................................................... 7  DE Reg.   336 (Final)
14300,  Citizenship and Alienage........................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   212 (Final)
14960, Cost Sharing................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   609 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   962 (Final)

15120.2, Financial Eligibility................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.     32 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   339 (Final)

15200, Transitional Medicaid/Initial Eligibility..................................................................... 7  DE Reg.     32 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   339 (Final)

Temporary Assistance For Needy Families Services to Move Families to Work 7  DE Reg.   905 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
1213 Recognition of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table for use in Determining 

Minimum Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Benefits............................................. ....... 7  DE Reg.   444 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   783 (Final)

1310, Standards for Prompt, Fair and Equitable Settlement of Claims for
Health Care Services............................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   100 (Final)

1406, Third Party Administrators.......................... ......  ............................................................... 7  DE Reg.   300 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   668 (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
DIVISION OF SECURITIES

Delaware Securities Act, Sections 600, 601, 608, 700 and 610............................................. 7  DE Reg.   213 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Delaware Prevailing Wage Regulation.......................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   152 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   518 (Final)
Payroll Debit Cards........................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   906 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Amendments to Delaware Phase II Attainment Demonstration For The Philadelphia-
Wilmington-Trenton Ozone Non-Attainment Area, Including A Revision of the Mid-
Course Review Schedule................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   907 (Prop.)

Delaware 1999 Milestone Compliance Demonstration” For the 1-hour National Ambient
Air Quality Standard Of Ground-Level Ozone .............................................................. 7  DE Reg.   345 (Final)

Delaware Phase II Attainment Demonstration For The Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton
Ozone Non-Attainment Area Including A Revision of the 2005 Mobile Source
Emission Budgets Using MOBILE6............................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   353 (Final)

Hazardous Waste, Regulations Governing............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   615 (Prop.)
Reg. No. 30, Title V State Operating Permit Program, Section 2 Definitions....................... 7  DE Reg.   446 (Final)
Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories,

Subpart B......................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.       6 (Errata)
DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Horseshoe Crab Regs HC-1 thru HC-14................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   220 (Final)
Shellfish Regulation 3708....................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   308 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   785 (Final)
Tidal Finfish Regulation 3503, Striped Bass Recreational Fishing Season; Methods of

Take:  Creel Limit; Possession Limit 7  DE Reg.   909 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Regulation 3504, Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions 7  DE Reg.   909 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Regulation 3565, License Lotteries for Apprentices......................................... 7  DE Reg.   308 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   785 (Final)
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

Surface Water Discharges Section
Surface Water Quality Standards..................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   448 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
Policy Regulation 45, Concerning Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program...................... 7  DE Reg.   524 (Final)

7  DE Reg.   756 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1017 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR FAMILIES
DIVISION OF FAMILY SERVICES

Child Protection Registry........................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   340 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   488 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   787 (Final)

Requirements For Day Care Centers...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   911 (Prop.)

MERIT EMPLOYEES RELATIONS BOARD
Rules and Regulations.................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   493 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   799 (Final)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE
Executive Order No. 44, Creating Principles for Responsible Industry in Delaware............. 7  DE Reg.   103
Executive Order No. 45, Amendment to Executive Order 20 Regarding State

Employees’ Charitable Campaign................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   104
Executive Order No. 46, The Delaware Homeland Security Council ................................... 7  DE Reg.   358
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Executive Order No. 47, Establishing the Delaware P-20 Council ....................................... 7  DE Reg.   358
Executive Order No. 48, Amending Executive Order Number Eleven.......................... .......    7  DE Reg.   677
Executive Order No. 49, Creating The Community Notification Working Group   .............. 7  DE Reg.   677
Executive Order No. 50, Creating The Governor’s Commission On Community-Based

Alternatives For Individuals With Disabilities................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   678
Executive Order No. 51, Declaring December 26, 2003 a Holiday....................................... 7  DE Reg. 1022
Executive Order No. 52, Expanding Bidding Competition for State-Funded Purchases....... 7  DE Reg. 1022
Appointments.......................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  105

7  DE Reg.  360
7  DE Reg.  831

HUMAN RELATIONS COMMISSION
Rule 10, Voluntary Termination and Dismissal & Rule 27, Reconsideration................................ 7  DE Reg.   34   (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  793  (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Statutory Authority:  3 Delaware Code,

 Section 6301, 7101(a) (3 Del.C. §6301, 7101(a))

EMERGENCY ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS
POULTRY

AND NOW this 20th day of February, the Secretary of 
Delaware’s Department of Agriculture, in discharging his 
duties and responsibilities under 3 Del.C. §§6301 and 
7101(a) to protect, prevent, suppress, control or eradicate 
dangerous, contagious, or infectious diseases within the 
poultry population of the State of Delaware, deems it 
imperative that the following regulations be adopted on an 
emergency basis to combat the recent outbreak of avian 
influenza that has been detected on two (2) farms within the 
state. The Secretary proposes the immediate adoption of the 
following regulations, consistent with the requirements of 
Section 10119 of Delaware’s Administrative Procedures Act 
(29 Del.C. §10119) so as to protect the health of the 
uninfected poultry within Delaware and to negate or 
minimize the potential adverse economic implications to 
Delaware’s overall economy on failing to contain and 
eradicate the current avian influenza outbreak, as follows:   

1.0 Any movement, transportation, or field application 
of poultry litter is forbidden on any Delaware farm until after 
March 10, 2004 or as modified by the Secretary.

2.0 All Delaware poultry house complete cleanouts are 
forbidden until after March 10, 2004 or as modified by the 
Secretary.

2.1 Partial cleanout will be permitted starting 
Friday, February 27, 2004 at 12:00 noon, for all growers 
outside the two mile quarantine zone who have received 
negative avian influenza test results from the testing of their 
last flocks.

2.2 Litter from the cleanout must be stored in a 
manure storage structure or stockpiled at the end of the 
poultry house and covered.  Under no circumstances will the 
litter be permitted to be moved outside the general area of 
the poultry house nor spread.

3.0 With the exception of commercial integrators 
recognized as such by the Delaware Department of 
Agriculture, the transportation of live poultry intrastate or in 
or out of Delaware  is forbidden.

4.0 Violation of the foregoing regulations will subject 
the violator to a fine of up to $5,000.00.

5.0 The Delaware Department of Agriculture will 
receive, consider, and  respond to petitions by any interested 
person for the reconsideration or revision of these 
emergency regulations.

Michael T. Scuse, Secretary
Delaware Department of Agriculture

Dated:   February _____, 2004 

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/index.htm
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text. 
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file 
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with 
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature 
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference 
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the 
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final 
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the 
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a 
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The 
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its 
regulation-making proceedings.
DELAWARE STATE FIRE 
PREVENTION COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,

Section 6603 (16 Del.C. §6603)

Notice Of Public Hearing

The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will 
hold a hearing pursuant to 16 Del.C. §6603 and 29 Del.C.
101 on Tuesday, April 20, 2004, at 1:00 P.M. and 7:00 P.M. 
in the Commission Chamber, Delaware State Fire School, 
Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove Road, 
Dover, Delaware.  The Commission is proposing changes to 
the following Regulations.

This regulation has been revised to reflect consolidation 
of numerous policies and an upgrade in training 
requirements and certification of Ambulance Attendants to 
Delaware Emergency Medical Technicians Basics 
implemented since 1998 by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.

Persons may view the proposed changes to the 
Regulations between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., 
Monday through Friday, at the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission, Delaware State Fire School, 
Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove Road, 
Dover, Delaware, 19904, or Office of the State Fire Marshal 
located at the Delaware Fire Service Center, 1537 Chestnut 
Grove Road, Dover, Delaware, 19904, or the Regional State 
Fire Marshal’s Offices located 2307 MacArthur Road, New 
Castle, Delaware and 22705 Park Avenue, Georgetown, 
Delaware, 19947.  The webpage address is 
www.delawarestatefiremarshal.com under the tabs 

“Technical Services” and “Proposed Changes”.
Persons may present their views in writing by mailing 

their views to the Commission at the above addresses prior 
to the hearing, and the Commission will consider those 
responses received before 10:a.m. on April 19, 2004, or by 
offering testimony at the Public Hearing.  If the number of 
persons desiring to testify at the Public Hearing is large, the 
amount of time allotted to each speaker will be limited. 
There will be a reasonable fee charge for copies of the 
proposed changes.

Part X, Ambulance Services Regulations

I. Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to ensure a consistent 

and coordinated high quality level of ambulance service 
throughout the state, focusing on timeliness, quality of care 
and coordination of efforts.

II. Application
This regulation shall apply to any person, firm, 

corporation or association either as owner, agent or 
otherwise providing either pre-hospital or inter hospital 
ambulance service meeting the definitions of either “BLS 
Ambulance Service” or “Non-Emergency Ambulance 
Service” within the State of Delaware. The following are 
exempted from this regulation:

a. Entities engaged in providing ALS ambulance 
service.

b. a. Privately owned vehicles not ordinarily used in 
the business of transporting persons who are sick, injured, 
wounded or otherwise incapacitated or helpless.

c. b. A vehicle rendering service as an ambulance in 
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case of a major catastrophe or emergency when the 
ambulances with permits and based in the locality of the 
catastrophe or emergency are insufficient to render the 
services required.

d. c. Ambulances based outside the State rendering 
service in case of a major catastrophe or emergency when 
the ambulances with permits and based in the locality of the 
catastrophe or emergency are insufficient to render the 
services required.

e. d. Ambulances owned and operated by an agency 
of the United States Government.

f. e. Ambulances based outside the State engaged 
strictly in interstate transportation.

g. f. A vehicle which is designed or modified and 
equipped for rescue operations to release persons from 
entrapment and which is not routinely used for emergency 
medical care or transport of patients.

III. Definitions
For the purpose of this policy the following definitions 

are used:
Advanced Life Support (ALS) - The advanced level of 

pre-hospital and inter hospital emergency care that includes 
basic life support functions including cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation, plus cardiac monitoring, cardiac defibrillation, 
telemetered electrocardiography, administration of anti 
arrhythmic agents, intravenous therapy, administration of 
specific medications, drugs and solutions, use of adjunctive 
medical devices, trauma care and other authorized 
techniques and procedures.

Advertising - Information communicated to the public, 
or to an individual concerned by any oral, written, or graphic 
means including, but not limited to, handbills, newspapers, 
television, billboards, radio, and telephone directories.

Ambulance - Any publicly or privately owned vehicle, 
as certified by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission, that is specifically designed, constructed or 
modified and equipped, and intended to be used for and is 
maintained or operated for the transportation upon the streets 
and highways of this state for persons who are sick, injured, 
wounded or otherwise incapacitated or helpless.

Ambulance Attendant - A person trained in emergency 
medical care procedures and currently certified by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission in accordance 
with standards prescribed by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.  Such course shall be classified as 
basic life support and shall be the minimum acceptable level 
of training for certified emergency medical personnel.

Ambulance Service District - A geographical area with 
boundaries which are typically (but not always) aligned to 
fire service districts within the state as identified and 
certified by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

BLS Run Report - Standardized Patient Care Report 
provided by the State EMS office, paper or computerized.

Basic Life Support (BLS) - The level of capability 
which provides noninvasive EMT-B emergency patient care 
designed to optimize the patient’s chances of surviving an 
emergency situation.

BLS Ambulance Service - Ambulance service which 
provides BLS level intervention both through the level of 
personnel and training provided.

BLS Ambulance Service Contract - A written contract 
between either a Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service 
Provider and an individual, organization, company, site 
location or complex or other entity for BLS ambulance 
service.

Board State Board Of Medical Practice (Board) - 
Means the State Board of Medical Practice.  The Board of 
Medical Practice is charged with protecting the consumers of 
the Delaware healthcare system through the proper licensing 
and regulation of physicians and other health care 
professionals.

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) – A 
combination of chest compressions and rescue breathing 
used during cardiac and respiratory arrest to keep 
oxygenated blood flowing to the brain. (AHA Manual)

Certification – An initial authorization by the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission to practice the skills of an 
EMT-Basic/Ambulance Attendant or First Responder
specifying that the individual has successfully completed 
and passed the approved curriculum and evaluation 
instruments process.

Commission - The State Fire Prevention Commission 
or a duly authorized representative thereof.

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
(DSFPC) - The State Governing Body mandated in Title 16, 
Delaware Code whom Regulates the Basic Life Support 
System in Delaware.

DFPC – The Delaware Fire Prevention Commission
DOT- United States Department of Transportation
DSFS - Delaware State Fire School
Delaware Refresher Course - A course of instruction 

authorized by the DOT respectively for EMT-B or First 
Responders that prepare the ambulance provider for re-
certification by the DFPC or the NREMT  A course of 
instruction for re-certification required by the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission for EMT-B/Ambulance 
Attendants and First Responders that meet the guidelines of 
the DOT Curriculum.

Delaware State Fire School (DSFS)  - An agency of 
the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission which is 
designated as its duly authorized representative to administer 
the provisions of the Ambulance Service Regulations.

Delaware Training Standard For Delaware Emt-b/
ambulance Attendants & First Responders – The current 
of United States Department of Transportation Curriculum. 

EMT-B – Emergency Medical Technician – Basic
EMT-B – Bridge Course – A state-approved course of 
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instruction that upon successful completion entitles the 
provider to sit for the NREMT-B examination.

Emergency - A combination of circumstances resulting 
in a need for immediate pre-hospital emergency medical 
care.

Emergency Medical Dispatch System - Means an a 
BOARD approved protocol system used by an approved 
dispatch center to dispatch aid to medical emergencies which 
must include:

• Systematized caller interrogation questions
• Systematized pre-arrival instruction; and
• Protocols matching the dispatcher’s evaluation of 

injury or illness severity with vehicle response mode and 
configuration.

Emergency Medical Services (Ems) Provider – 
Individual providers certified by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission to perform pre hospital care.  For 
the purposes of this regulation this includes EMT-B and First 
Responders.

Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) - A person 
trained, and currently certified by the State Fire Prevention 
Commission in emergency medical care procedures through 
a course which meets the objectives of the National Standard 
Curriculum.

Emergency Medical Technician – Basic (EMT-B) – 
The individual as defined in Title 16 of Delaware Code who 
provides patient care on an ambulance and has completed the 
National Department of Transportation curriculum and 
initially certified as a National Registered and Delaware 
Emergency Medical Technician-Basic and upon re-
certification chooses to meet the State of Delaware 
requirements.

Emergency Mission - The BLS and ALS response to 
the needs of an individual for immediate medical care in 
order to prevent loss of life or aggravation or physiological 
of psychological illness or injury.

First Responder - An individual who has to take the 
First Responder Course as provided by the Delaware State 
Fire School that meets the DOT curriculum.

First Responder Curriculum – The United States 
Department of Transportation National Standard Curriculum 
for First Responders.

Center For Medicare/Medicaid Services (CMS) - The 
Federal Agency which oversee Medicare Billing and 
Ambulance Standard.

HIPAA - Health Insurance Probability and 
Accountability Act of 1996.

Hospital - An institution having an organized medical 
staff which is primarily engaged in providing to inpatients, 
by or under the supervision of physicians, diagnostic and 
therapeutic services or rehabilitation services for the care or 
rehabilitation of injured, disabled, pregnant, diseased, sick or 
mentally ill persons. The term includes facilities for the 
diagnosis and treatment of disorders within the scope of 

specific medical specialties, but not facilities caring 
exclusively for the mentally ill.

Medical Command Facility - The distinct unit within a 
hospital which meets the operational, staffing and equipment 
requirements established by the Secretary, Delaware Health 
and Social Services for providing medical control to the 
providers of advanced life support services.  Any hospital 
that operates an emergency medical facility and desires to be 
designated as a medical command facility shall maintain and 
staff such facility on its premises and at its own expense with 
exception of base station communication devices which shall 
be an authorized shared expense pursuant to the provisions 
of Title 16, Chapter 98.

Medical Control - shall mean directions and advice 
normally provided from a centrally designated medical 
facility operating under medical supervision, supplying 
professional support through radio or telephonic 
communication for on-site and in-transit basic and advanced 
life support services given by field and satellite facility 
personnel.

Medical Control Physician - Any physician board-
certified or board-prepared in emergency medicine, or a 
physician certified on advanced trauma life support (ATLS) 
and advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) who is 
credentialed by the hospital within which a medical 
command facility is located, and who is authorized by the 
medical command facility to give medical commands via 
radio or other telecommunication devices to a paramedic. 
When a medical control physician establishes contact with a 
paramedic, and provides medical control instructions that 
exceed or otherwise modify the standing orders of the 
statewide standard treatment protocol, the paramedic shall, 
solely for the purpose of compliance with the Medical 
Practices Act, be considered to be operating under the 
license of said medical control physician.

Mobilization Time - The total time from station alert to 
the time an ambulance “is in service”.\

NREMT – The National Registry of Emergency 
Medical Technicians.

National Department Of Transportation (DOT) – 
Emergency Medical Technician Curriculum - A 
curriculum developed and adopted by the Federal 
Government as a recommended guide for people providing 
emergency care in the field.

National Registry Of Emergency Medical 
Technicians (NREMT) - The nationally recognized 
organization for the testing and registering of persons who 
have completed a DOT, EMT-Basic course and First 
Responder Courses.

National Registered Emergency Medical Technician 
– Basic (NREMT-B) - a person who completed the DOT 
curriculum and passes passed the National Registry of 
Emergency Medical Technicians Examination.

Non-emergency Ambulance Service - Ambulance 
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service which provides routine transport of persons who are 
sick, convalescent, incapacitated and non-ambulatory but do 
not ordinarily require emergency medical treatment while in 
transit.

OEMS – Office of Emergency Medical Services, 
Division of Public Health.

Office Of Emergency Medical Services (OEMS) - 
The State Agency Mandated in Title 16 that serves as the 
designated representative of the NREMT; provides medical 
advise and direction; regulates the statewide automatic 
external defibrillator program; and coordinates data 
collection activities for the EMS system.

Patient - An individual who is sick, injured, wounded 
or otherwise incapacitated or helpless and/or seeks who 
needs immediate medical attention.

Pre-hospital Care - Any emergency medical service, 
including advanced life support, rendered by an emergency 
medical unit before and during transportation to a hospital or 
other facility.

Primary Ambulance Service - BLS Ambulance 
Service provided by the Primary Ambulance Service 
Provider certified by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission within a specific ambulance service district.  

Primary Ambulance Service Provider - An 
organization or company which has been designated by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission as having 
primary responsibility for providing BLS ambulance service 
within a specific ambulance service district.

Protocols - shall mean written and uniform treatment 
and care plans for emergency and critical patient statewide 
that constitutes the standing order of basic life support 
provider.  The treatment protocols shall be prepared by the 
Board of Medical Practice as defined by House Bill 332 of 
the 140th General Assembly.

Provider - A person who, as an individual or member of 
a corporation or organization, whether profit-making or 
nonprofit, on a regular basis gives or offers for sale any 
supplies, equipment, professional or nonprofessional 
services, or is capable of giving or offering for sale supplies, 
equipment or services vital or incidental to the function of an 
emergency medical service system.

Recertification Training - A defined curriculum that 
once completed allows the individual to continue practicing 
as an EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant or First Responder for a 
specific period of time as determined by the Delaware State 
Fire Prevention Commission.

Response Time - The total time from “in-service” the 
ambulance is notified by dispatch until the ambulance 
arrives to arrival on the scene.

Responsible Charge - The individual who is identified 
as having both the responsibility and authority to ensure full 
and complete compliance with all requirements of this 
regulation.

Secondary Ambulance Service - Ambulance Service 
provided under contract to specific locations within a 
primary ambulance service district by a BLS Ambulance 
Service Provider other than the primary provider.

Secondary Ambulance Service Provider - An 
organization or company which provides supplemental BLS 
ambulance service anywhere in the state and always under 
specific contractual agreements.

Semi Automatic External Defibrillation (AED)
Certification – An external computerized defibrillator 
designed for use in unresponsive victims with no breathing 
or signs of circulation (AHA Manual). 

AED Certification – Semi-Automatic External 
Defibrillation Training and Certification as recognized by 
the Delaware Board of Medical Practice.

II. Training Standard - Effective June 16, 1998, the 
current of United States Department of Transportation 
Emergency Medical Technician—Basic National Standard 
Curriculum shall be the curriculum adopted for the 
Ambulance Attendants in the State of Delaware. 

Basic Life Service (BLS) Ambulance Service

IV. BLS Ambulance Service Permits
A. Any person, firm, corporation or association either 

as owner, agent or otherwise who furnish, conduct, maintain, 
advertise or otherwise engage in or profess to be engaged in 
the business or service of providing BLS Ambulance Service 
upon the streets or highways of this state shall hold a valid 
permit as either a Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service 
Provider issued by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission.  Application for this permit shall be upon 
forms provided by the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission (Appendix B).

B. The issuance of a permit hereunder shall not be 
construed so as to authorize any person, firm, corporation or 
association to provide ambulance services or to operate any 
ambulance without compliance with all ordinances and 
regulations enacted or promulgated by any state, county or 
municipal government concerning ambulances.

C. Prior to issuing an original or renewal permit, the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission shall determine 
that all requirements of this regulation are fully met. 
Additionally, the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission has the authority to ensure continued 
compliance with these regulations through the periodic 
review of records and operations.

D. Only companies holding a current, valid BLS 
Ambulance Service Provider Permit shall be authorized to 
respond and provide BLS Ambulance Service within the 
state.

E. A Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service 
Provider may not discontinue BLS ambulance service until a 
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replacement provider has been selected and can assume 
service with no reduction in service.

V.   BLS Ambulance Service Districts
A. The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 

shall have the authority to establish Ambulance Service 
Districts as per Title 16 Delaware Code, Section 6717(a).

B. The role of Primary Ambulance Service Provider 
shall be assigned to those fire departments providing BLS 
Ambulance Service at the time this regulation is officially 
adopted was initially adopted in 1997.  The ambulance 
service district for these providers shall correspond to their 
established fire districts as certified by the Delaware State 
Fire Prevention Commission.

C. In those areas in which fire departments are were
not providing BLS Ambulance Service at the time this 
regulation was officially adopted in 1997, the organization 
who is currently was providing BLS Ambulance Service 
shall be designated as the Primary Ambulance Service 
Provider. The ambulance service district for these providers 
shall correspond to their current boundaries.

VI.   Primary And Secondary BLS Ambulance Service 
Providers

A. BLS Ambulance Service may be provided by 
Primary Ambulance Service Providers within their 
ambulance service district or in the course of providing 
mutual aid within other ambulance service districts 
provided:

1. They have a current permit
2. They are assigned by the Delaware State Fire 

Prevention Commission as a Primary Ambulance Service 
Provider

B. The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
shall be authorized to select a new Primary Ambulance 
Service Provider at such time that:

1. The current Primary Ambulance Service 
Provider chooses to discontinue service 

2. Failure to meet one or more elements of these 
regulations creates a threat to public safety

C. Any organization desiring to assume the role of 
Primary Ambulance Service Provider will be required to 
apply to the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission
showing adequate cause in the interest of public safety to 
justify the change.

D. BLS Ambulance Service may be provided by 
Secondary Ambulance Service Providers only to those with 
whom they have a contract for such service provided they:

1. Have a current permit.
2. Have a written contract to provide BLS 

Ambulance Service to that specific location or site.  
3. Provide the names, locations and conditions of 

all Secondary Ambulance Service contracts to the Delaware 

State Fire Prevention Commission within 20 days of contract 
finalization.

VII. BLS Ambulance Service Provider Permit 
Requirements 

BLS Administrative Requirements
A. Procedures for securing a BLS ambulance service 

primary or secondary ambulance service permit include:
1. The owner or registered agent must apply to 

the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission upon forms 
provided and according to procedures established by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

2. The Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service 
Provider shall either be based in Delaware or maintain an 
office in Delaware with a full time individual domiciled at 
that office who is in “Responsible Charge”.

3. All requirements set forth in this regulation 
must be met before issuance of permit.

4. The Primary or Secondary Ambulance 
Provider must provide proof of automobile liability 
insurance in the amount of $1 Million individual, $3 Million 
aggregate per occurrence.The Primary or Secondary 
Ambulance Provider must provide proof of liability 
insurance in the amount of $1 Million blanket liability 
coverage.

B. Permits shall be valid for a period of one year from 
the permits effective date.  Effective date runs for a calendar 
year.

C. The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
may issue temporary permits when determined to be in the 
interest of public safety per Title 16.

D. On an on-going basis throughout the term of the 
permit, the owner or individual in “responsible charge” shall 
be available upon reasonable notification for the purpose of 
providing documentation on any provisions of this 
regulation and permitting physical inspection of all facilities 
and vehicles.

E. No ambulance service provider shall advertise or 
represent that it provides any ambulance service other than 
authorized to provide under this regulation.

F. All individuals or ambulance service providers 
shall be required to participate in the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission approved ambulance data collection 
system which includes:

1. A BLS run report will be completed on all 
dispatched responses.

2. A completed copy of the report will be left at 
the hospital receiving the patient, at the time of the call

3. A completed copy of the report will be 
forwarded to the state EMS office.  EMT-B’s must complete, 
without exception, a written/computer report on each patient 
contact.  Reports must be completed in a timely fashion.

4. When available, the report will be entered 
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electronically and forwarded to the state EMS office.
5. Failure to comply with data submission will 

result in loss of ambulance provider license or EMT-B/
Ambulance Attendant Certification.

6. Submit any other data to the designated 
agencies as required by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission.

G. The ambulance company shall provide on an annual 
basis a financial statement to the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.  The Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission has the option to withhold funding 
as per HB 332 for failing to report the financial statement.

XIII.  Reporting
A. Every individual who operates as an ambulance 

attendant and provides patient care will:
1. Ensure that the State mandated EMS Run paper 

on computer data report is submitted to ambulance agency 
for forwarding to the proper collection agency and the 
receiving health care facility.  Failure to comply with data 
submission will result in loss of ambulance attendant 
certification.

2. Submit any other data to the designated 
agencies as required by the State Fire Prevention 
Commission.

BLS Operational Requirements
A. Vehicle Standards

1. All ambulances shall be registered and licensed 
in the State of Delaware by the Delaware Motor Vehicle 
Department.

EXCEPTIONS:
a. Those vehicles to which the international 

registration plan applies
b. Those vehicles properly registered in some 

other state.
2. Vehicles shall have clearly visible letters on 

both sides and the rear identifying the name of the 
organization or corporation or the vehicle’s specific 
identifier as specified under permit documentation. The 
letters shall be at least three inches in height.

3. Vehicle patient compartment shall conform 
with the criteria within the GSA Federal Specifications for 
ambulances (KKK-1822C).

B. Equipment Standards
Every ambulance shall be equipped with equipment 

and supplies as specified by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission within Appendix “A” and updated 
annually following recommendations from the Delaware 
State Fire School Director with concurrence from the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission’s Medical 
Advisor Director.

C.  Staffing Requirements
1. Minimum acceptable crew staffing when 

transporting a patient shall consist of a driver and one EMT-
B/Ambulance Attendant.

2. A minimum of one EMT-B/Ambulance 
Attendant shall always be in the patient compartment when a 
patient is present.

3. Within 6 months following adoption of this 
regulation, BLS ambulance drivers are required to have 
completed the “Emergency Vehicle Operators” course 
conducted by the Delaware State Fire School or an 
equivalent program approved by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.

D. Quality Assurance
1. Each Primary and Secondary Ambulance 

Service Provider shall be responsible for monitoring quality 
assurance in the form of patient care and both mobilization 
and response times.  The method in which this is 
accomplished is the authority and responsibility of the 
Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service Provider.

NOTE: For Primary Ambulance Service 
Providers- this monitoring shall only apply to response 
within their Primary Ambulance Service District - NOT for 
mutual aid calls to other ambulance service districts. 

2. As identified above, included within the 
quality assurance program is the responsibility for assuring 
the public a consistently reasonable response to BLS 
ambulance calls.  In the interest of public safety, primary and 
secondary ambulance service providers are responsible for 
meeting the following mobilization and response times:

Mobilization Times
80% of all emergency missions within 8 minutes - 

1st Year regulation is in effect
85% of all emergency missions within 8 minutes - 

2nd Year regulation is in effect 
90% of all emergency missions within 8 minutes - 

3rd Year regulation is in effect 
Response Times - 90% of all BLS calls shall not 

exceed 18 minutes
3. For the purposes of Monitoring quality control, bth 

mobilization and response times will be monitored based on 
calendar year quarterly periods.

4. Upon periodic review of both mobilization and 
response times, the Commission may consider extraordinary 
weather and traffic conditions as impacting these times.

NOTE: As stated above, this regulation is striving 
to ensure, within a high percentage of ambulance calls, that 
two goals are met:

1. That ambulances will be in-service within 
8 minutes from the time of station alert.

2. That, once an ambulance is in-service, 
time to arrive on the scene is not more than 18 minutes.

NOTE:  The intent of this criteria is to cause the 
review and monitoring of both mobilization and response 
time.  By reviewing these times based on quarterly periods, 
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both mobilization and response times are being monitored 
relative to the above criteria in order to determine if a 
problem is developing.  Mobilization or response time 
exceeding the above criteria for any quarter requires review. 
The same problem(s) occurring for a second period or within 
a total one year period of time require some form of 
correction action.  The form of corrective action taken is the 
prerogative of the BLS Ambulance Service Provider and 
may include but not be limited to the following: Providing an 
incentive to personnel responding to ambulance calls during 
problem time periods, providing paid personnel during 
difficult time periods, contracting with secondary ambulance 
service providers on an individual or regional basis.  Once 
determined to be necessary, corrective action is required to 
be implemented within 3 months.  Additional corrective 
action shall be required if monitoring indicates a problem 
continues to exist.

E. Communications Requirements
1. Dispatch Centers

a. Dispatch centers for both Primary and 
Secondary Ambulance Service Providers shall meet the 
criteria established of NFPA 1221 as amended by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

b. Secondary ambulance service providers 
dispatch centers shall be responsible for following call 
taking protocols as established by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.  Calls determined to be ALS in 
nature shall be transferred to the appropriate public safety 
answering point (PSAP)within 30 seconds of taking the call 
utilizing a dedicated phone line to that PSAP.

c. Calls determined to be BLS in nature shall 
not be required to be forwarded to the PSAP.

d. Dispatch centers shall follow an 
Emergency Medical Dispatch System approved by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

2. Ambulances
a. All Ambulances shall be equipped with 

reliable communications systems which permit direct 
communications with their dispatch center and all medical 
command facilities with which the ambulance will or may 
operate.

F. SAED Requirements
Upon placing an SAED on any ambulance, the 

ambulance service provider will comply with the Delaware 
Early Defibrillation Program Administrative Policies as 
established by the Department of Health and Human 
Services, Office of Emergency Medical Services.

G. Infection Control
All ambulance service providers will comply with 

the infection control requirements in chapter 12A, Title 16 of 
the Delaware code.

H. Medical Control
Once medical control is established, Ambulance 

service providers shall be required to follow all orders 

issued.
I. Center for Medicare Medicaid Services (CMS)

All ambulance services providers will comply with 
the Final Rule in the Federal Register (64F.R3637) revising 
the Medicare policies for ambulance services adopted 
February 24, 1999.

J. Health Insurance Portability and Accountability 
Act of 1996 (HIPAA)

All ambulance service providers will comply with 
the HIPAA of 1996.

VIII.   Compliance
A. The owner or registered agent of every ambulance 

service provider shall provide ambulance service in 
accordance with the requirements set forth in this regulation 
and the contractual agreements established as either a 
primary or secondary Ambulance Service Provider and filed 
with the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission in 
accordance with the provisions set forth in these regulations. 
Failure to provide this service shall be grounds for 
suspension or revocation of permit.

B. Grievances - All grievances relative to ambulance 
service shall follow procedures established within the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations, Part IX “Fire 
Service Standards” sections 1.1 through 6.1.

C. Penalties - Following review of a valid complaint or 
upon failure to comply with any provision of this regulation, 
the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, following 
procedures established within the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Regulations, shall have the authority to issue 
corrective orders, suspend or revoke the provider’s permit.

D. Whenever there is reason to believe that any 
provisions of this regulation have been violated, the 
ambulance service provider shall be immediately notified. 
Violations shall require correction within five (5) working 
days of receipt of notice with the exception of those 
violations which represent an imminent danger to the public.

E. For those violations representing an imminent 
danger to the public, the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission shall issue and deliver an order to cease and 
desist any further ambulance service until such time as the 
violation has been verified as being corrected and corrective 
measures accepted by the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission.

F. The continued violation of any element of this 
regulation or failure or refusal to comply with any order to 
correct a violation or failure to obey a cease and desist order 
by any ambulance service provider shall be cause for 
revocation or suspension of permit by the Delaware State 
Fire Prevention Commission after determination that the 
provider is guilty of such violation.

G. In addition to (F), it shall be cause for revocation or 
suspension of a permit after determining the ambulance 
service provider:
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(a) Has practiced any fraud, misrepresentation, or 
deceit in obtaining or renewing a permit 

(b) Is guilty of gross negligence, incompetence or 
misconduct in providing services

(c) Is guilty of a violation of the codes and 
regulations adopted by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission

(d) Has been found guilty of an unfair or deceptive 
trade practice

(e) Has violated any contractual agreement related 
to providing ambulance service

H. Upon issuance of an order, the ambulance service 
provider accused may request a review of the order by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.  All hearings 
shall be conducted in conformity with procedures 
established by the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission.

I. Any person aggrieved by a violation or order may 
file an appeal to the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission pursuant to Delaware Code, Title 16, Chapter 
66, Section 6608. 

IX.   Basic Life Support Data Assessment Committees
1. Members:  The Delaware State Fire Prevention 

Commission, hereinafter referred to as the Commission,
hereby establishes Basic Life Support (BLS) Data 
Assessment Committees, hereinafter referred to as the 
Committees.

There shall be three committees, one in each county 
of the State of Delaware.  Members shall consist of 
representatives from the County Volunteer Firemen’s 
Association, the County Fire Chief’s Association, the 
County Ambulance Association, and the County or local 
Fire and Emergency Medical (EMS) Dispatch Center 
dispatching the respective Company’s EMS calls.

The President of his or her respective Association 
shall appoint each representative.  The manager of the Fire 
and EMS Dispatch Center dispatching the Company's BLS 
incidents shall appoint the Dispatch Center representative.

The representative from each Association shall 
serve on their respective Committee until a letter of 
appointment is received from the respective Association or 
Dispatch Center indicating replacement of their current 
representative. 

2. Goal Duties:  Each Committee shall meet at least 
biannually, or as necessary, to review their respective 
County’s Fire and EMS Dispatch Center’s Basic Life 
Support (BLS) data.  They shall review the monthly data for 
each Ambulance Provider, hereinafter referred to as 
Provider, in their County.  Criteria for review shall include 
numbers of dispatched calls, scratches, and special 
circumstances.  Each committee shall submit biannually a 
written report to the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission, reporting on their reviews, and any suggestions 

they might have to improve the BLS system or committee 
procedures.

If the Committee deems that a Provider needs 
improvement in an area, the Committee shall schedule a 
meeting with that Provider to determine if they can support 
the Provider in solving the identified problem(s).  When 
meeting with the Provider, the Committee, by consensus, 
shall select a Chair to mediate discussions presented by the 
Committee to the Provider.

3. Grievance Procedure
In the event that the Committee has problems with 

the Provider, or the Provider has problems with the 
Committee, either may forward the problem to the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission through the normal 
Grievance Procedures, previously adopted by the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission.  Each Committee shall 
submit an annual written report to the Commission, 
reporting on their reviews, and any suggestions they might 
have to improve the BLS system or Committee procedures.

NON-EMERGENCY AMBULANCE SERVICE

X. Non-emergency Ambulance Service Permits
A. Any person, firm, corporation or association either 

as owner, agent or otherwise who furnish, conduct, maintain, 
advertise or otherwise engage in or profess to be engaged in 
the business or service of providing non-emergency 
ambulance service upon the streets or highways of this state 
shall hold a valid permit issued by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.  Application for this permit shall be 
upon forms provided by the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission   (Appendix B).

B. The issuance of a permit hereunder shall not be 
construed so as to authorize any person, firm, corporation or 
association to provide ambulance services or to operate any 
ambulance without compliance with all ordinances and 
regulations enacted or promulgated by any state, county or 
municipal government concerning ambulances.

C. Prior to issuing an original or renewal permit, the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission shall determine 
that all requirements of this regulation are fully met. 
Additionally, the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission has the authority to ensure continued 
compliance with these regulations through the periodic 
review of records and operations.

D. Only companies holding a current, valid non-
emergency ambulance service provider permit shall be 
authorized to respond and provide non-emergency 
ambulance service within the state. 

XI. Non-emergency Ambulance Service Provider Permit 
Requirements
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Administrative Requirements
A. Procedures for securing a non-emergency 

ambulance service permit include:
1. The owner or registered agent must apply to 

the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission upon forms 
provided and according to procedures established by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

2. The non-emergency ambulance service 
provider shall either be based in Delaware or maintain an 
office in Delaware with a full time individual domiciled at 
that office who is in “Responsible Charge”.

3. All requirements set forth in this regulation 
must be met before issuance of permit.

4. The non-emergency ambulance service 
provider must provide proof of liability insurance in the 
amount of $1 Million blanket liability coverage.

5. The non-emergency ambulance service 
provider must provide proof of automobile liability 
insurance in the amount of $1 Million individual, $3 Million 
aggregate per occurrence.

B. Permits shall be valid for a period of one year from 
the permits effective date.

C. The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
may issue temporary permits when determined to be in the 
interest of public safety per Title 16.

D. On an on-going basis throughout the term of the 
permit, the owner or individual in  “responsible charge” shall 
be available upon reasonable notification for the purpose of 
providing documentation on any provisions of this 
regulation and permitting physical inspection of all facilities 
and vehicles.

E. No ambulance service provider shall advertise or 
represent that it provides any ambulance service other than 
authorized to provide under this regulation.

Operational Requirements
A. Vehicle Standards

1. All ambulances shall be registered and licensed 
in the State of Delaware by the Delaware Division of Motor 
Vehicle Department.

EXCEPTIONS:
a. Those vehicles to which the international 

registration plan applies.
b. Those vehicles properly registered in some 

other state.
2. Vehicles shall have clearly visible letters on 

both sides and the rear identifying the name of the 
organization or corporation or the vehicle’s specific 
identifier as specified under permit documentation. The 
letters shall be at least three inches in height.

3. Vehicle patient compartment shall conform 
with the criteria within the GSA Federal Specifications for 
ambulances (KKK-A-1822C).

B. Equipment Standards

Every ambulance shall be equipped with equipment 
and supplies as specified by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission within Appendix “A” and updated 
annually considering recommendations from the Delaware 
State Fire School Director with concurrence from the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission’s Medical 
Advisor Director.

C. Staffing Requirements
1. Minimum acceptable crew staffing when 

transporting a patient shall consist of a driver and one 
ambulance attendant.

2. A minimum of one ambulance attendant shall 
always be in the patient compartment when a patient is 
present.

D. Communications Requirements Ambulances
All Ambulances shall be equipped with a reliable 

communications systems which permit direct 
communications with all medical command facilities with 
which the ambulance will or may operate.

E. SAED Requirements
Upon placing an SAED on any ambulance, the 

ambulance service provider will comply with the Delaware 
Early Defibrillation Program Administrative Policies as 
established by the Department of Health and Human 
Services, Office of Emergency Medical Services

F. Infection Control
All ambulance service providers will comply with 

the infection control requirements in Chapter 12A, Title 16 
of the Delaware code.

G. Center for Medicare Medicaid Services (CMS)
All ambulance services providers will comply with 

the Final Rule in the Federal Register (64F.R3637) revising 
the Medicare policies for ambulance services adopted 
February 24, 1999.

H. Health Insurance Portability and Accountability 
Act of 1996 (HIPAA)

All ambulance service providers will comply with 
the HIPAA of 1996.

XII.  Compliance
A. The owner or registered agent of every ambulance 

service provider shall provide ambulance service in 
accordance with the requirements set forth in this regulation 
and the contractual agreements established as either a 
primary or secondary Ambulance Service Provider and filed 
with the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission in 
accordance with the provisions set forth in these regulations. 
Failure to provide this service shall be grounds for 
suspension or revocation of permit.

B. Grievances - All grievances relative to ambulance 
service shall follow procedures established within the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations, Part IX “Fire 
Service Standards” Sections 1.1 through 6.1.

C. Penalties - Following review of a valid complaint or 
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upon failure to comply with any provision of this regulation, 
the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, following 
procedures established within the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Regulations, shall have the authority to issue 
corrective orders, suspend or revoke the provider’s permit.

D. Whenever there is reason to believe that any 
provisions of this regulation have been violated, the 
ambulance service provider shall be immediately notified. 
Violations shall require correction within five (5) working 
days of receipt of notice with the exception of those 
violations which represent an imminent danger to the public.

E. For those violations representing an imminent 
danger to the public, the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission shall issue and deliver an order to cease and 
desist any further ambulance service until such time as the 
violation has been verified as being corrected and corrective 
measures accepted by the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission.

F. The continued violation of any element of this 
regulation or failure or refusal to comply with any order to 
correct a violation or failure to obey a cease and desist order 
by any ambulance service provider shall be cause for 
revocation or suspension of permit by the Delaware State 
Fire Prevention Commission after determination that the 
provider is guilty of such violation.

G. In addition to (F), it shall be cause for revocation or 
suspension of a permit after determining the ambulance 
service provider:

(a) Has practiced any fraud, misrepresentation, or 
deceit in obtaining or renewing a permit 

(b) Is guilty of gross negligence, incompetence or 
misconduct in providing services

(c) Is guilty of a violation of the codes and 
regulations adopted by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission

(d) Has been found guilty of an unfair or deceptive 
trade practice

(e) Has violated any contractual agreement related 
to providing ambulance service 

H. Upon issuance of an order, the ambulance service 
provider accused may request a review of the order by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.  All hearings 
shall be conducted in conformity with procedures 
established by the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission.

I. Any person aggrieved by a violation or order may 
file an appeal to the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission pursuant to Delaware Code, Title 16, Chapter 
66, Section 6608.

Appendix A

Required Ambulance Equipment & Supplies

1 – set Battery Jumper Cables or Dual Battery System
1 - Fire Extinguisher (minimum 5 pound dry chemical)
1 – Portable Resuscitation, Oxygen Inhalation Apparatus
1 – Fixed Oxygen Inhalation Apparatus
1 - Portable Suction Apparatus
1 - Permanently Mounted Suction Apparatus
1 - Adult Bag Mask Ventilator
1 - Child Bag Mask Ventilator
1 - Infant Bag Mask Ventilator
2 – Size “D” or “E” Bottles of Oxygen
Splints for two arms & two legs  (May be inflatable splints, 
Timmons splints, or wooden padded boards)
1 - Hare Traction Splint or Equivalent
1 - KED (Or an equivalent Extrication Device)
1 - Spine Board (Or Equivalent CPR Device
2 - Backboards
1 - Orthopedic Stretcher
8 – Extrication Collars (2 large Adult, 2 Medium, 2 Small & 
2 Child)
1 - Bandage Shears
1 - Hand Lantern
1 - Set Oropharyngeal Airways  Seven Sizes)
1 - Ambulance Cot
1 - Folding Stretcher OR Square Bench
1 - Stair Chair OR Combination Stretcher-Chair
1 - Wrecking Bar – 24” Minimum
2 - Sputum Pans OR Buckets
3 - BP Cuffs (One Large Adult, One Adult & One Child)
1 - Stethoscope
1 - Head Immobilizer for each long backboard
1 - AED (Effective one year from adoption of this 
regulation)

SUPPLIES

1 - Set Dot Triangles
5 – Adhesive Tape (various sizes)
2 – Towels
2 – Blankets
2 - Pillows
24- Sterile Gauze Pads (4”X4”)
6 – Roller Bandage, Self-Adhering type (3” X 5 YD)
2 - Roller Bandage, Self Adhering Type (6” X 5 YD)
1 – Universal Dressing (10”X36”)
3 – Triangular Bandages
2 - Sets of Cot Linens
1 – OB. Kit (Sterile) Including:

2 - Drape Sheets
2 – Pair Rubber Gloves
2 – Receiving Blankets
1 – Bulb Aspirator
2 – Hand Tools
2 – Cord Clamps OR Umbilical Tape

1 – Gallon of Water (Distilled)
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Trauma Dressings
4 - Ice Packs
12- Surgical Disposable Gloves
4 - Hot Packs
1 - Burn Kit
1 - Sharps Container
6 - Oxygen Masks – Non Rebreathers and 6 Nasal Canules
12– Eye/Mouth/Nose Protection (Disposable) 
1 – Child Car Seat
Eye Protection
Disposable Gowns

XIII.  Discontinuation Of Service By Ambulance 
Providers

Ambulance Company’s Intent to Discontinue Service
A. STEP 1

Any fire department and/or ambulance company 
desiring to terminate ambulance service in the state of 
Delaware must notify the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission in writing 120 days before terminating service.

B. STEP 2
Immediately upon notification of a fire department 

and/or ambulance company’s desire to terminate service, the 
Chairman or the Vice Chairman of the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission shall notify the president of the 
county firemen’s association in which the fire department 
and/or ambulance company provides service to the 
residences and visitors of the state of Delaware for that 
district.

C. STEP 3
Immediately upon receiving notification of a fire 

department and or ambulance company’s desire to terminate 
service the county firemen’s association president shall 
appoint a committee.  The committee shall include, but not 
be limited to: two members shall be the President’s of the 
County Fire Chief’s and County Ambulance Associations or 
their designees.  The County President shall have the right to 
appoint other members to this committee, as he and/or she 
may deem necessary. 

1. To communicate and offer assistance to the 
terminating company in an effort to help them continue 
service.

2. In the event that the county committee is 
unable to get the company to continue service, they shall 
then contact the surrounding departments and ascertain and/
or develop a plan for those departments to divide the district 
and continue service.

3. In the event that steps one and two fail the 
county committee may put forth any and all suggestions they 
deem viable in order to provide ambulance service to the 
residences and visitors of the state of Delaware for that 
district.

4. The committee, through the County Firemen’s 
Association President, shall report to the Delaware State Fire 

Prevention Commission within 60 days with their 
recommendations and/or findings.

XIV.  Training/Certification
All individuals who successfully complete initial EMT-

B training or a bridge course shall be eligible for and must 
successfully pass the NREMT examination to receive 
Delaware EMT-B certification.

IV.   Effective Date Of Implementation
January 1, 2002 all ambulance attendants who provide 

patient care and ride in the patient care compartment shall be 
Emergency Medical Technicians – Basic.

V Eligibility For Certification/EMT-B/Ambulance 
Attendant

A. Apply to the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission on the approved application form provided by 
the Delaware State Fire School.

B. An individual may apply for and receive 
certification as an EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant provided 
that.

1. They are a member in good standing of a 
Delaware Fire Department, an Ambulance Organization, a 
Private Ambulance Provider or any other group, business or 
industry certified by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission to provide ambulance service.

2. They have obtained EMT-B, EMT-I or EMT-P
registration from the NREMT.

3. The Chief, CEO, or head of the respective 
organization signs the application.

4. They are compliant with criminal history 
background check legislation.

5. Must be 18 years of age.
6. Comply with the State of Delaware 

Immunization policy.

VI   Certification
A. After 2001 Certification will be obtained by 

completing a state approved EMT-B Course and passing the 
National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians Exam. 
Every individual who successfully completes the National 
Registry of Emergency Medical Technician-Basic 
certification will receive Registration & Certification will be 
issued for the time period to coincide with the NREMT 
registration cycle.  This is typically a two-year period. 
Individuals will be issued a Delaware EMT-B certification 
upon successful completion of initial or bridge course and
the NREMT registration process.

B. During the Implementation phase from January 1, 
1998 to December 31, 2001 initial NREMT-B certification 
may be obtained in one of two ways:

1. Complete a full Emergency Medical 
Technician Basic course as offered by a member of the 
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Prehospital Education Consortium of Delaware or other 
recognized training program and passes the National 
Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians examination.

Prerequisites
a Must be 18 years or older
b Healthcare Provider CPR
c AED Certification

2. Complete an Emergency Medical Technician 
Bridge course offered by a member of the Prehospital 
Education Consortium of Delaware or other recognized 
training program and passes the National Registry of 
Emergency Medical Technicians examination.

Prerequisites
a Must posses current ambulance attendant 

or 
b Emergency Care Technician certification.

CPR/AED
c Must be 18 years old or older

C. After 2001 certification will be obtained by 
completing a state approved EMT-B Course and passing the 
National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians Exam. 

D. The Bridge Course will be offered only during 
implementation which ends December 31, 2001.

B. Individual who take EMT-B class from approved 
provider other than the Delaware State Fire School are 
required to meet all Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission requirements for certification.

1. It is the responsibility of the individual 
applying for certification to provide criminal history 
background check as specified by Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.

2. It is the responsibility of the individual 
applying to provide all necessary documentation for 
certification to include AED/CPR, protocol training and 
NREMT-B card.

VII   Recertification as DELAWARE EMT-B
A Individuals will be re-certified for a two-year 

period.
B All individuals initially receive both a State and 

NREMT-B Certification.  After the first two years, the 
department or the individual may:

1. Reregister with the NREMT.  The provider will 
be re-certified as both a Delaware EMT-B and NREMT-B. 

2. Re-certify as a Delaware EMT-B.
C The registration requirements for a National 

Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians – Basic will be 
determined by the National Registry of Emergency Medical 
Technicians.

D The re-certification requirements for a Delaware 
EMT-B will be determined by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission, with recommendations of their 
medical advisor/director.

A. Individuals will be re-certified for a two-year 

period.
B. The re-certification requirements for a Delaware 

EMT-B will be determined by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission, with recommendations of their 
medical advisor/director.

C. Requirements for re-certification are:
1. Individuals must submit a request for re-

certification to the Delaware State Fire School documenting 
completion of requirements.

a. Requirements
• Attend a prescribed DOT/EMT-B 

refresher
• Current CPR/AED certificate

D. Re-registration as an NREMT-B:  The registration 
requirements for a National Registry of Emergency Medical 
Technician – Basic will be determined by the National 
Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians.

1. Continuing education classes to achieve re-
registration through the NREMT will be reviewed for 
approval by the Office of Emergency Medical Services in 
accordance with NREMT policy and procedures.

E. Active duty military personnel not able to re-certify 
due to deployment may request for an extension of 
certification until they are able to return and complete 
necessary requirements.  Upon return the individual shall 
have 90 days to complete re-certification requirements.

VIII Continuing Education Requirements
A Requirements for continuing education will be 

determined by the authority having jurisdiction over type 
and quantity of Continuing Education required.

B Special Requirements:
1. Continuing education classes to achieve re-

registration through the NREMT will be reviewed for 
approval by the OEMS in accordance with NREMT policy 
and procedure.

2. Delaware Continuing Education classes will be 
approved by the State Fire Prevention Commission with 
recommendation of their Medical Advisor/Director.

IX   Decertification
A An EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant will lose their 

Delaware EMT-B Certification to provide patient care if:
1. They do not meet the required continuing 

education re-certification requirements as defined by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

2. Certification is revoked De-certification by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission following 
procedures and in compliance with Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Regulations, Part IX Fire Service Standards.

B. National Registry of Emergency Medical 
Technicians will revoke certification based upon their 
national policy.  If an individual has their certification 
revoked by the National Registry of Emergency Medical 
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Technicians the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
may also revoke decertify their Delaware EMT-B 
Certification.

C. The individual is convicted of an offense as 
specified in 16 Del C. §6712(b) while currently certified and 
the procedures in Part X, Section XV, Criminal History 
Background Check SectionVII of this policy followed.

X   Expired Certifications
A. Maintain state EMT-B certification, but NREMT-B 

lapsed and wish to regain NREMT-B.
1. Attends DOT EMT-B refresher as specified by 

National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians
2. Pass DOT EMT-B Practical Exam
3. Pass National Registry of Emergency Medical 

Technicians Written Exam
B. Both state EMT-B certification and NREMT-B 

lapsed beyond two years
1. Attend EMT-B course and pass the National 

Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians exam
2. CPR/AED – Current Certification.

C. Both state EMT-B certification and NREMT-B 
lapsed less than two years

1. DOT EMT-B Refresher
2. CPR/AED Current
3. National Registry of Emergency Medical 

Technicians/State Practical Exam
4. National Registry of Emergency Medical 

Technicians written exam.

Reinstatement For Delaware EMT-B Delaware EMT-B 
Reinstatment Policy

A. Individual desiring to regain certification as a 
Delaware EMT-B, after the expiration of their certification 
may do so provided the following conditions are met.

• Their card has been expired 18 months or less.
• They must attend an approved EMT-B refresher 

course.
• They must take and pass the Delaware Protocol 

examination.
• They must show proof of a current AED and CPR 

certification.
• They must take and pass the current protocol self 

study course available from the Delaware State Fire School.
• They must acquire a Delaware and Federal 

Background Check at their expense.
• They must submit all required paperwork and 

application for certification to the Delaware State Fire 
School.

B. Individuals whose card has expired 18 months or 
more must take the entire EMT-B course and National 
Registry Examination.

C. Individuals desiring to regain registration as an 
NREMT-B must follow the policies of the National Registry 

Organization.

XI   Testing Procedures For National Registry
Initial testing and re-testing for National Registered 

EMT-B and National Registered First Responders will 
follow the guidelines set forth by the National Registry of 
Emergency Medical Technicians.

XII   Reciprocity
A EMT’s Emergency Medical Technicians, 

paramedics, nurses, or physicians who enter Delaware with 
prior Emergency Medical Services Training a National 
Registry EMT-B, EMT-I or EMT-P certification will receive 
reciprocity as EMT-B in the Delaware System provided that.

1. They become a member of a certified 
ambulance service provider.

2. They have a current National Registry EMT-B 
certification.

A. Submit request for reciprocity
B. CPR and AED as approved in Delaware
C. Challenge four (4) practical exams

3. They have a current EMT-B certification from 
another state

A. Certification less than 2 years and 
practical less than 12 months    

1. State approved practical exam
2. National Registry written exam

B. Certification greater than two years and 
practical greater than 12 months

1. State Practical/National Registry 
exam

2. Complete DOT EMT-B Refresher
3. National Registry written exam
4. State Approved AED & CPR 

Certification
4. They submit the required application form to 

the State Fire Prevention Commission.
1. They become a member of a certified 

ambulance service provider in Delaware.
2. They submit the required application form to 

the Delaware State Fire School.
3. They have a current National Registry EMT-B, 

EMT-I or EMT-P certification.
4. CPR and AED as approved by the Delaware 

State Fire Prevention Commission.
5. Challenge four (4) practical exams as required.
6. Challenge Delaware Protocol Examination.
7. Provide mandated State & Federal background 

checks.
8. Applicants will be advised of the appeal 

process of Part X, Section XV, Criminal History Background 
Check if reciprocity is denied because of criminal history 
background check.

B. Applicant’s certified from other states without at 
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least a Nationally Registered EMT-B certification must 
obtain National Registry prior to applying for Delaware 
Certification.

B PARAMEDICS
They hold a current certification and/or license specified 

below
1. National Registered Emergency Medical 

Technician-Paramedic
A. Submit request for reciprocity
B. Must produce current cards AED/CPR
C. Letter from affiliate

2. Emergency Medical Technician-Paramedic from 
another state

A. Challenge National Registry exam at the basic 
or Paramedic level

B. Must take DOT refresher at the level they are 
challenging written exam    
C REGISTERED NURSE

1. Registered Nurse or higher with current Ambulance 
Attendant Certification

A. DOT EMT-B Refresher
B. National Registry/State approved practical 

exam
C. CPR/AED
D. NREMT-B exam
E. Letter from affiliate

2. Registered Nurse or higher with no prior EMS 
training.

A. CPR/AED
B. EMT-B course
C. State approved practical
D. National Registry written exam

D PHYSICIANS WITH DELAWARE LICENSE
A. CPR/AED
B. State approved practical exam
C. National Registry Written exam
D. Letter from affiliate

E PHYSICIANS WITHOUT DELAWARE LICENSE
A. CPR/AED
B. EMT-B course National Registry State approved 

practical 
C. National Registry Written exam
D. Letter from affiliate
F C. The Delaware State Fire Prevention 

Commission reserves the right to administer a written 
examination if deemed necessary.

G The State Fire Prevention Commission will grant 
reciprocity with recommendations from their Medical 
Advisor/Director.

XV .  Criminal History Background Records Check 
Policy

I. Authorized Governmental Designee for the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission

A. The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
authorizes the Director of the Delaware State Fire School to 
be its governmental designee to acquire and review State and 
Federal criminal history records background checks
submitted by the State Bureau of Identification for an 
applicant applying to become an Ambulance Attendant/ or a
Delaware Emergency Medical Technician and to interview 
the applicant, if necessary.

II. Evaluation Procedure for Criminal History Background 
Checks

A. The Director of the Delaware State Fire School 
shall evaluate the criminal history records background 
checks using the criteria established in 16 Del. C. § 6712(b). 
All criminal history records background checks will be 
forwarded by the State Bureau of Identification to the 
Director of the Delaware State Fire School.

B. Should the Director of the Delaware State Fire 
School as a result of the criminal history records check find 
cause to recommend to the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission that it deny the application of the person 
seeking certification as an Ambulance Attendant/ or as an
Delaware Emergency Medical Technician-B, the Director 
shall notify the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
of this decision.

C. The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
shall advise the applicant that it intends to deny the 
application and state the reason therefor.  The Delaware State 
Fire Prevention Commission will also advise the applicant of 
the right to review all information reviewed by the Director 
of the Delaware State Fire School and the right to appeal the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission’s decision by 
requesting a hearing before the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.

III. Appeal Process for Denial of Certification or De-
certification because of Criminal Conviction

A. Any Delaware EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant
applicant or certificate holder notified by the Delaware State 
Fire Prevention Commission that the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission intends to deny the application or 
decertify the certificate holder because of criminal history 
records check information may appeal the denial to the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.  The process 
is:

1. Within 10 days after the postmark on the 
notification of the intent to deny certification or decertify a 
certificate holder, the applicant shall submit a written request 
for a hearing to the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission stating the reason(s) supporting the appeal.

2. Notice of the hearing shall be given at least 20 
days before the day of the hearing and comply with the 
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provisions of 29 Del.C. §10122.
3. The grievance hearing before the Delaware

State Fire Prevention Commission will be conducted in 
accordance with the Delaware Administrative Procedures 
Act 29 Del.C. Ch 101.

4. The hearing will be closed to the public unless 
the applicant requests an open hearing.  After the hearing, 
the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will inform 
the applicant of its decision.

IV.   Requirements for Certification
A. Persons seeking certification as an Ambulance 

Attendant/Delaware Emergency Medical Technician 
Ambulance Attendant or as an Emergency Medical 
Technician must be eighteen (18) years of age at the time of 
application.

1. Individuals entering an EMT-B course must be 
eighteen (18) years of age at the start of the course.

B. An individual applying for certification must meet 
the requirement of Part X, of the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Regulations “Ambulance Service Regulations”. 
Section V, Eligibility of Certification of the State Fire 
Prevention Commission Addendum to the Ambulance 
Service Regulations, BLS Ambulance Provider/First 
Responder.

C. Persons seeking certification must meet the 
criminal history record check as mandated in 16 Del C. § 
6712(b), effective July 12, 2001 and follow the procedures 
outlined in this policy.

V.   Administrative Policy Pertaining to Criminal 
History Background Checks

A. Delaware State Fire School All training 
announcements for EMT-B courses will include the 
statement “Criminal History Background Records checks 
will be required on or before the first night of class”.

B. All Chiefs of Departments, Presidents or 
Ambulance Captains of volunteer rescue or ambulance 
squads or Operating Officers of private corporations which 
have students pre-registered for the class will be sent a notice 
to inform the student that a criminal history background
records checks will be done on the first night of class and 
fingerprinting will be required.  It will be the responsibility 
of private EMT-B training institution to make their students 
aware that a Criminal History Background Check is required 
to become a State of Delaware EMT-B and the Criminal 
History Background Check be available in order to receive 
certification.

C. Any student not pre-registered for the class will not 
be accepted as a walk-in.

D. All EMT-B students will sign a release provided by 
the State Bureau of Identification authorizing the criminal 
history records check.  Any student failing to sign the 
designated form will not be allowed to participate in the 

course.
E. All students of new courses who are members of a 

volunteer fire, rescue or ambulance organization will sign 
the authorization of payment allowing the State Fire 
Prevention Commission to reimburse the State Bureau of 
Identification on their behalf for the cost of the criminal 
history records check.

F E. Students who are members of a private 
ambulance service are required to pay the course tuition 
prior to the first night of class.  The tuition is non-refundable 
unless the student drops out prior to the first night of class. 
The tuition includes the cost of the criminal history records 
check which will be paid to the State Bureau of 
Identification on the student’s behalf by the Delaware State 
Fire School.

G. F. Any volunteer fire, rescue or ambulance 
company which registering a student who is denied 
certification pursuant to the provision of 16 Del. C. § 
6712(b), shall be responsible to reimburse the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission for the cost of the 
criminal history records check.

H. G. Any student accepted into the course who does 
not complete same the course will be required to reimburse 
the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission the cost of 
the criminal history records check and course textbook.

VI.   Condition and Duration of Certification/De-
certification

A. The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
shall issue initial certification as an Ambulance Attendant/
and Delaware Emergency Medical Technician – Basic as 
prescribed in Part X, Section VI, Certification, of the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission Regulations 
provided that:

1. The applicant passes the mandated criminal 
history record check.

2. Obtain all necessary immunizations.
3. Meet the course attendance requirement policy 

as prescribed by the Delaware State Fire School, if 
applicable.

4. Pass the National Registry of Emergency 
Medical Technician’s Examination.

B. De-certification
1. The State Fire Prevention Commission shall 

decertify an Ambulance Attendant or Delaware EMT-B if:
a. The individual does not meet the re-

certification requirements established in the State Fire 
Prevention Commission Regulation, Part X, section IX.  Or

b. The individual is convicted of an offense 
as specified in 16 Del. C. § 6712(b) while currently certified 
and the procedures in section VII of this policy are followed.

VII B.  Procedure for De-certification for Criminal Offense
A 1. The Delaware State Fire Prevention 
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Commission may decertify any currently certified 
Ambulance Attendant/ or Delaware Emergency Medical 
Technician-Basic  EMT when it has reason to believe that 
the person has been convicted of a crime within the scope of 
§6712 of Title 16.

B. 2. Upon receiving a written notice that an 
Ambulance Attendant/ or EMT Delaware Emergency 
Medical Technician-Basic was convicted of a crime within 
the provisions of  §6712, Title 16 the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission shall:

1 a. Immediately suspend the individual’s 
certification pending an investigation into the allegations.

2 b. Notify the individual in writing of the 
allegations and suspensions and allow the certificate holder 
an informal opportunity to contest the allegations of a 
conviction.

3 c. Require the individual to obtain a current 
Criminal History background check at their expense.

a 1. Criminal History Background check 
information will be sent to and reviewed by the Director of 
the Delaware State Fire School, who will make 
determination if cause for de-certification exists.  The 
Director of the Delaware State Fire School will notify the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission of the findings.

4 d. Based on the information provided by the 
Director of the Delaware State Fire School, the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission will either inform the 
certificate holder of the intent to de-certify the individual or 
lift the individual’s suspension.

C 3. The individuals may appeal the de-certification 
using the procedure under Part X, Section XV, Criminal 
History Background Check, Appeal Process section III, 
Appeal Process specified in this Policy.

VIII.  Reciprocity Applicants for Certification as 
Ambulance Attendant or EMT

A. Applicants applying for reciprocity for Ambulance 
Attendant and Delaware EMT-B from another state shall 
meet the requirements of Part X, Section XII of the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission Regulations

B. Applicants applying for reciprocity from another 
state must comply with the background check requirements 
as specified in 16 Del. C. § 6712.

IX.   Reciprocity Applicants – Criminal History Records 
Check Procedures

A. Applicants seeking reciprocity to become Delaware 
Ambulance Attendant or EMT’s must submit to a criminal 
history records check prior to applying for reciprocity 
certification.

1. Applicants will go to a Delaware State Police 
Troop and apply for a State and Federal criminal history 
records check.  All reciprocity applicants will pay at the time 
of request.  The criminal history records check must be done 

within 30 days of the reciprocity request.
2. Applicant will authorize the release of the 

criminal history records check information directly to the 
Director of the Delaware State Fire School.

3. Applicant will notify the Delaware State Fire 
School on the prescribed form they are seeking reciprocity 
and have applied for a criminal history records check.

4. Upon receipt by the Delaware State Fire 
School and evaluation of the criminal history records check 
the individual will be notified by the Fire School as to how to 
proceed with required testing and certification procedures.

5. Should the applicant be denied reciprocity 
because of criminal history records check information they 
will be advised of the appeal process in section III of this 
policy.

X  C.  Funding of Reciprocity Criminal History Background 
Checks

A 1. All applicants will pay for the criminal history 
background records check at the time of their request.

1 a. It is the responsibility of the private 
providers, private individuals or City of Wilmington to pay 
all costs – they are not eligible for reimbursement.

2 b. Upon successful completion of the 
reciprocity process the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission will reimburse the individual or the individual’s 
volunteer fire, rescue or ambulance organization for the cost 
of the criminal history background records check.

XI D.  Reciprocity for University of Delaware Students
A 1. The Delaware State Fire Prevention 

Commission will waive the criminal history background
records check requirements for all University of Delaware 
Students applying for certification as an Ambulance 
Attendant or as an /Delaware Emergency Medical 
Technician.

1 a. The University Police Department will provide 
the Director of the Delaware State Fire School with a written 
document listing all eligible students and a statement that 
they have passed an internal background check at least equal 
to the requirement of 16 Del. C. § 6712.

XII E. Confidentiality Of Criminal History Background 
Check Information

A 1. Information obtained pursuant to the criminal 
history background check is confidential and except as 
provided in Section C below, shall not be released from the 
Delaware State Fire School under any circumstances to 
anyone.

B 2. All criminal history background check 
information that is reviewed by the Director of the Delaware 
State Fire School shall be retained in a locked file cabinet in 
the custody of the Director for a two (2) year period.

C 3. When a denial for certification is made, the 
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information will be turned over to the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission where it will be secured for at least 
60 days or until the appeal process is completed.

1. If an appeal is not filed at the end of 60 days, 
the information is to be returned to the Director of the 
Delaware State Fire School.

D 4. Per 16 Del.C. §6712 the individual may meet 
with the Director of the Delaware State Fire School and after 
providing proof of identification including a photo 
identification, review their information.  Copies will not be 
provided to anyone.

XIV XVI  First Responder
First Responders do not meet the requirements of EMT-

B and cannot transport a patient without a Delaware EMT-B 
present and in the patient care compartment.

A Individuals who successfully complete the 
Delaware State Fire School First Responder Course will be 
certified as same by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission for a period of two years.

A. First Responder Criteria Eligibility for Delaware 
First Responder Certification 

1. CPR/AED Prerequisites 16 years of age
2. Must be 16 years old or older Complete 

Approved DOT First Responder Curriculum
B 3. National Registry First Responder 

Certification is optional
C Individuals who have maintained their Ambulance 

Attendant Certification until December 31, 2001 but do not 
become an Emergency Medical Technician Basic will be 
certified as a First Responder.

B. Certification is valid for 2 years with a re-
certification date of September.

C. Re-certification
1. Must re-certify as mandated by the Delaware 

State Fire Prevention Commission.
a. DOT First Responder Refresher, AED and 

CPR.
b. National Registry – As determined by 

National Registry.
D. De-certification

1. May have their certification revoked by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission in compliance 
with the Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations Part IX 
“Fire Service Standards”.

D A First Responder may provide initial on scene care 
in the following situations.

Initial on scene care as contained in the First 
Responder curriculum.

Semi Automatic External Defibrillation if holding 
an AED card.

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR)
E The First Responder may not provide transport of a

patient without an EMT-B or higher present.

F First Responders can participate as a member of an 
ambulance crew with an EMT-B providing Patient Care.

G Must re certify as mandated by the State Fire 
Prevention Commission to maintain First Responder Status.

• DOT First Responder Refresher, AED & CPR
• National Registry – As determined by National 

Registry
H May have their certification revoked by the State 

Fire Prevention Commission in compliance with Delaware 
Fire Service Standards.

I Reciprocity for First Responders from other states 
must submit request for reciprocity, uptain CPR/AED as 
approved in Delaware, and challenge two practicals.

XV E  Expired First Responder Cards Certifications
A. State First Responder card lapsed less than two (2) 

years
1. Refresher as specified by State Fire Prevention 

Commission
2. DOT First Responder Refresher
3. Current CPR & AED

B. Maintain State First Responder, but National 
Registry First Responder lapsed

1. Refresher with practical evolutions as specified 
by National Registry

2. National Registry First Responder written 
exam

C State First Responder and National Registry First 
Responder lapsed within two years

1. DOT First Responder Refresher
2. State approved practical
3. National Registry First Responder exam

D. State First Responder and National Registry First 
Responder lapsed greater than 2 years: Must take entire First 
Responder Course

1. Individuals desiring certification as a First 
Responder after the expiration date of their certification may 
do so providing the following conditions are met.

a. Card expired 18 months or less
b. Attend approved refresher course
c. Show proof of current AED/CPR 

Certification
d. Submit all required applications and 

paperwork to Delaware State Fire School
2. Individuals whose card has expired more than 

18 months must attend a complete First Responder Training 
course.

3. Individuals desiring to regain National 
Registry Registration must follow the policies of the 
National Registry.

F. Testing procedures Delaware First Responder
1. Initial testing and retesting for First 

Responders will follow the guidelines set forth by Delaware 
State Fire School.
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G. Reciprocity
1. First Responders from other state must submit 

a request
2. Show proof of attending a DOT curriculum
3. Obtain CPR/AED as approved by Delaware 

State Fire Prevention Commission
4. Challenge practical examinations as 

determined by the Delaware State Fire School
5. Challenge the State First Responder 

Examination

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
PESTICIDES SECTION

Statutory Authority:  3 Delaware Code,
 Section 1237 (3 Del.C. §1237)

NOTICE

The State of Delaware, Department of Agriculture, will 
hold a public hearing on April 28, 2004, 6 p.m., in the 
Conference Room, Delaware Department of Agriculture 
Building, 2320 S. Dupont Hwy., Dover, DE.

The hearing is being held for the purpose of receiving 
information, factual evidence, and public reaction as it 
relates to proposed amendments to the Pesticide Regulations 
under Title 3, Delaware Code, Chapter 12, Pesticide Law. 
The hearing will be conducted in accordance with Title 29, 
Chapter 101, Administrative Procedures Act.

Beginning at 6 p.m., comments will be received relating 
to the numerous grammatical corrections proposed 
throughout the current regulations.  The proposed 
amendments  include a revised format of numerically coded 
paragraphs.  Substantive changes under the proposed 
amendment include further restrictions on the distribution of 
restricted use pesticides (paragraph 14.2.1.2); and additional 
prohibitions on the open burning of any pesticides or 
pesticide containers (16.1.1.3).

Title 3, Delaware Code, Section 1237, provides the 
Department with the authority to issue regulations pursuant 
to this statute.

Interested parties may obtain a copy of the proposed 
amendments by calling the Department at 1-800-282-8685; 
by writing the Delaware Department of Agriculture, 2320 S. 
Dupont Hwy., Dover, DE  19901; or, by visiting the Register 
of Regulations site at:  http://www.delregs.state.de.us/
index.html.

801 Pesticide Rules and Regulations

1.0 General
1.1 Scope

1.1.1 These regulations establish general 
operating rules and procedures for the enforcement of the 
Delaware Pesticide Law, including but not limited to the 
certification of users of restricted and general use pesticides.

1.2 Authority
1.2.1 These regulations are issued under the 

authority of Title 3 Part II Chapter 12 of the Annotated Code 
of Delaware.

1.3 Effective Date
1.3.1 These regulations were amended on June 

15, 2000 (new date to be entered), in accordance with Title 
29, Chapter 101, Annotated Code of Delaware

1.4 Filing Date
1.4.1 These regulations were filed in the Office 

of the Secretary of State on June 15, 2000 (new date to be 
entered).

2.0 Declaration of Policy
2.1 3 Del.C. Chapter 12, Section 1237, places the 

enforcement of the Delaware Pesticide Law with the 
Department of Agriculture and empowers the Department to 
establish regulations.

2.2 By virtue of the authority vested in me as Secretary 
of Agriculture by 3 Del.C. Chapter 12, I, John F. Tarburton
Michael T. Scuse, Secretary of Agriculture, do hereby 
promulgate the following rules and regulations governing 
the sale, use and application of pesticides in Delaware.

3.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in these 

regulations, shall have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise.  All terms defined by the 
Delaware Pesticides Law (3 Del.C. Chapter 12) are hereby 
incorporated by reference in this regulation.

“Accident” means an unexpected, undesirable 
event resulting in the presence of a pesticide that adversely 
affects man or the environment.

“Brand” means any word, name, symbol, device, 
or any combination thereof, which serves to distinguish a 
pesticide product manufactured, distributed, sold, or offered 
for sale by one person from that manufactured, distributed, 
sold, or offered for sale by any other person.

“Certification” means the recognition by the 
Department that a person has met the qualification standards 
established under Section 8 or Section 9 of these regulations 
and has been issued a written certificate from the 
Department authorizing them to use pesticides for the 
specified type(s) of pest control.

“Competent” means properly qualified to perform 
functions associated with pesticide application, the degree of 
capability required being directly related to the nature of the 
activity and associated responsibility.

“Fumigant” means a gaseous or readily 
volatilizable chemical (such as hydrogen cyanide or methyl 
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bromide) used as a pesticide.
“Fumigation” means the application of a fumigant 

to one or more rooms in a structure, or to the entire structure, 
or to a localized space within a structure or outside a 
structure, such as a box car, aircraft, truck, ship or any object 
sealed or covered.  Excluded is the use of a fumigant in or on 
the soil.

“Grade” means a formulation of a pesticide, except 
that the addition of pigments solely for coloration shall not 
constitute a change in formulation such as to constitute a 
new grade requiring registration.

“Handle pesticides” means to mix, load, apply, or 
dispose of pesticides.

“Hazardous waste” means a solid waste, or 
combination of solid wastes, which because of its quantity, 
concentration, physical, chemical, or infectious 
characteristics may cause or significantly contribute to an 
increase in mortality or an increase in serious irreversible, or 
incapacitating, irreversible illness or poses a substantial 
present or potential hazard to human health or the 
environment when improperly treated, stored, transported or 
disposed of, or otherwise managed. Without limitation, 
included within this definition are those hazardous wastes 
listed in Section 261.31, 261.32 and 261.33 of the State of 
Delaware Hazardous Waste Regulations and those solid 
wastes which otherwise exhibit the characteristics of a 
hazardous waste as defined in Part 261 of the State of 
Delaware Hazardous Waste Regulations.

“Law” means the Delaware Pesticide Law, 3
Del.C. Chapter 12.

“Regulated pest” means a specific organism 
considered by the state or by a Federal Agency to be a pest 
requiring regulatory restrictions, regulations or control 
procedures in order to protect man or the environment.

“Service vehicle” means any vehicle used by a 
licensee to transport pesticides for the purpose of their 
application.

4.0 Registration
4.1 Product Registration

4.1.1 Every pesticide which is distributed within 
the State or delivered for transportation or transported in 
intrastate commerce or between points within this State 
through any point outside this State shall be registered with 
the Secretary subject to the provisions of this law. 
Registration is not required if a pesticide is shipped from one 
plant or warehouse to another plant or warehouse operated 
by the same person and used solely at such plant or 
warehouse as a constituent part of a pesticide which is 
registered under the provision of an experimental use permit 
issued by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

4.1.2 An applicant for registration for a 
pesticide which is federally registered shall file a statement 
with the Secretary which shall include:

4.1.2.1 The name and address of the applicant 
and the name and address of the person whose name will 
appear on the label, if other than the applicant's.

4.1.2.2 The name of the pesticide.
4.1.2.3 Other necessary information required 

for completion of the Department’s application for 
registration form.

4.1.2.4 A complete copy of the labeling 
accompanying the pesticide and a statement of all claims to 
be made for it, including the directions for use.

4.1.2.5  The use classification as provided in 
the "Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act", as 
amended.

4.1.2.6  The EPA product registration 
number.

4.1.3 The applicant desiring to register a 
pesticide shall pay a biennial registration fee of seventy 
dollars ($70.00) to the Delaware Department of Agriculture 
for each brand or grade of pesticide to be registered for such
the applicant.  All registrations shall continue in effect until 
June 30 of the year in which they expire.  Applications 
received between January 1 and June 30 shall be registered 
for the upcoming two year period.  Applications received 
between July 1 and December 31 will be registered for a two 
year period beginning July 1 of the year in which the 
application was received.

4.1.4 Any registration approved by the 
Secretary and in effect on June 30, for which a renewal 
application has been made and the proper fee paid, shall 
continue in full force and effect until suspended, or 
otherwise denied in accordance with the provisions of 
Section 1205 of the LAW. Forms for registration shall be 
mailed to registrants at least forty-five days prior to the due 
date.

4.1.5 If it appears to the Secretary that the 
composition of the pesticide is such as to warrant the 
proposed claims for it and if the pesticide and its labeling 
and other material required to be submitted comply with the 
requirements of these regulations, he shall register the 
pesticide.

4.1.6 Pesticide products that are discontinued by 
a registrant shall be registered for a period of two years. 
Said two year limit covers the year in which the item is 
declared to be discontinued by the registrant and an 
additional year to permit time to dispose of shelf stock. 
Should the registrant provide the Department with written 
notification that shelf stocks of the product are depleted, the 
products shall be exempt from the two year continued 
registration period.

4.2 Employee Registration
4.2.1 Every lLicensees shall register with the 

Department all employees who handle pesticides. 
Registration shall be made when making an application for a 
license or within 30 days after employment.  The fee for 
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registering each an employee shall be $25.00.  However, the 
employee registration fee shall be waived for any employee 
registration if that the employee is certified under the LAW. 

4.2.2 Each lLicensees shall be responsible for 
insuring that all employees handling pesticides (other than a 
certified applicator) have successfully completed a training 
program approved by the Department.  Such This training 
shall be completed within 30 days of employment and before 
the employees is are registered with the Department.

4.2.2.1 The Department will not approve any 
training program that does not include the following 
subjects:

4.2.2.1.1  Pesticide Law and Regulations;
4.2.2.1.2  Label comprehension;
4.2.2.1.3  Safety and emergency 

procedures;
4.2.2.1.4 Proper pesticide handling, 

storage and disposal;
4.2.2.1.5 Pest identification and control 

procedures;
4.2.2.1.6  Pesticide application techniques;
4.2.2.1.7 Environmental and health 

concerns; and
4.2.2.1.8 Integrated pest management 

principles
4.2.2.2 Upon request by the Department, each 

licensee shall provide written verification that an employee 
has completed an approved training program.

4.2.3 The name and address of each such 
employee shall be provided to the Department by the 
licensee.  The Department shall issue a registration card to 
those registered.  This registration card shall bear the name 
and license number of the employee and shall become null 
and void upon termination of employment with the licensee. 
The name and address of employees who have been trained 
according to this Section shall be provided to the Department 
by the licensee.  The Department shall issue a registration 
card bearing the employee’s name and the licensee’s name, 
address and license number.  The employee registration shall 
become null and void upon termination of employment with 
the licensee. This card is to be carried by the employee 
during working hours and is to be displayed upon request.

4.2.4 Written notification of employment 
termination of this registered employee with the licensee 
shall be made to the Department within 30 days subsequent 
to termination. The licensee shall provide the Department 
written notification of a registered employee’s employment 
termination within 30 days of the effective date of 
termination.

4.2.5 The Department, after due notice, and 
opportunity for a hearing may deny, suspend or revoke an 
employee registration, if the Department finds the registered 
employee has committed any violations of the LAW.

4.2.6 The Department, after due notice and 

opportunity for a hearing, may deny an application for 
employee registration, if the applicant has committed any 
violations under the Law.

5.0 Licensing
5.1 Applicants for a business license shall complete a 

signed and notarized application form prescribed by the 
Department.  

5.2 All business license applicants shall pay an annual 
fee of $50.00, or a biennial fee of $100.00. 

5.3 No license shall be issued to any person, nor shall it 
remain valid, unless such person is certified or has a certified 
applicator in his employ at all times.

5.4 For applicants or holders of a license in categories 
7.1.1, 7.2, or 7.7.1.1 - 7.7.1.3, at least one person designated 
as a certified applicator  under the license shall meet the 
experience requirement of §1207(c)(1) of the LAW.

5.5 All pest control business license numbers shall 
appear on all service vehicles used by persons holding a 
commercial pesticide applicators license with the exception 
of categories: 7.1.1 Agriculture Plant Pest Control; 7.1.2 
Agriculture Animal Pest Control; 7.2 Forest Pest Control; 
7.4 Seed Treatment; 7.5 Aquatic Pest Control; 7.8 Public 
Health Pest Control; 7.9 Regulatory Pest Control; 7.10 
Demonstration and Research Pest Control.  The license 
number shall be in bold readable numbers not less than 2 
inches or more than 6 inches high.  The full name of the 
business licensee shall be displayed on the vehicle.

6.0 Restricted Use Pesticides Classification 
Restricted use pesticides shall be classified in the State 

of Delaware to conform to the current listing of pesticides 
classified by the EPA as Federally registered use products
Restricted Use Pesticides.

7.0 Categorization of Commercial Applicators
Categories and subcategories of applicators (other than 

private applicators) who use or supervise the use of 
pesticides are identified below.

7.1 Agricultural Pest Control Category
7.1.1 Agricultural Plant - This subcategory 

includes commercial applicators using or supervising the use 
of pesticides in the production of agricultural crops, 
including without limiting the following:  feed grains, 
soybeans, forage, vegetables, small fruits and tree fruits; as 
well as on grasslands and non-crop agricultural lands.

7.1.2 Agricultural Animal - This subcategory 
includes commercial applicators using or supervising the use 
of pesticides on swine, sheep, horses,  goats, poultry and 
livestock, and to places on or in which animals are confined. 
Doctors of Veterinary Medicine engaged in the business of 
applying pesticides for hire, or publicly holding themselves 
out as pesticide applicators or engaged in large scale use are 
included in this category.
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7.1.3 Fumigation of Soil and Agricultural 
Products - This subcategory includes commercial applicators 
using or supervising the use of pesticides for soil fumigation 
in the production of an agricultural commodity and/or for 
fumigation of agricultural products in storage or transit.

7.2 Forest Pest Control Category
7.2.1 This category includes commercial 

applicators using or supervising the use of pesticides in 
forests, forest nurseries, and forest seed producing areas.

7.3 Ornamental and Turf Pest Control Category
7.3.1 This category includes commercial 

applicators using or supervising the use of pesticides to 
control pests in the maintenance and production of 
ornamental trees, shrubs, flowers and turf.

7.4 Seed Treatment Category
7.4.1 This category includes commercial 

applicators using or supervising use of pesticides on seeds.
7.5 Aquatic Pest Control Category

7.5.1 Aquatic Weed - This subcategory includes 
commercial applicators using or supervising the use of any 
pesticide purposefully applied to standing or running water, 
excluding applicators engaged in public health related 
activities.

7.5.2 Antifouling Paint - This subcategory 
includes commercial applicators using or supervising the use 
of any anti-fouling paints for the protection of boat hulls. 
This subcategory also includes applicators using or 
supervising the use of anti-fouling paints on containers 
which they sell, lease, or use for the purpose of harvesting 
shellfish.

7.5.3 Mosquito Control - This subcategory 
includes applicators using or supervising the use of 
pesticides for the management and control of mosquitoes.

7.6 Right-of-way Pest Control Category
7.6.1 This category includes commercial 

applicators using or supervising the use of pesticides in the 
maintenance of  roads, electric power lines, pipelines, 
railway rights-of-way or similar areas.

7.7 Industrial, Institutional, Structural and Health 
Related Pest Control Category

7.7.1 This category includes commercial 
applicators using or supervising the use of pesticides in, on, 
or around food handling establishments, including 
warehouses and grain elevators, and any other structures and 
adjacent areas, public or private; human dwellings, 
institutions, such as schools and hospitals, industrial 
establishments; and for the protection of stored, processed or 
manufactured products.  This category contains the 
following subcategories:

7.7.1.1 General Pest Control.  This 
subcategory includes commercial applicators who use or 
supervise the use of pesticides to control household pests, 
including pests that infest structures, stored products, and 
residential food preparation areas, and pests that infest or 

contaminate food and any stage of processing in food 
processing facilities.  This includes treatment of food 
processing areas and control of vertebrate structural 
invaders.  This category does not include control of wood-
destroying pests, or the use of fumigants.

7.7.1.2 Wood Destroying Pest Control. This 
subcategory includes commercial applicators using or 
supervising the use of pesticides, other than fumigants, in or 
around structures for the prevention, suppression, or control 
of wood destroying organisms.

7.7.1.3 Fumigation Pest Control (non-
agricultural).  This subcategory includes commercial 
applicators using or supervising the use of fumigant 
pesticides to control pests in structures other than soils and 
agricultural products/commodities.

7.7.1.4 Wood Preservatives. This subcategory 
includes commercial applicators using or supervising the use 
of pesticides for the preservation of wood or wood products. 
This would include, but not be limited to, the pressure 
treatments, non-pressure treatments, or brush-on 
applications with wood preservatives.  Commercial 
applicators certified in another category of pest control and 
who use or supervise the use of wood preservatives on an 
incidental basis may apply these products under their current 
certification.  Private applicators using wood preservative 
products for purposes related to agricultural production may 
also apply wood preservatives under their current 
certification.

7.7.1.5 Institutional and Maintenance Pest 
Control.  Except as otherwise provided in these regulations, 
this subcategory includes any individual using pesticides on 
a property they own, or are employed or otherwise engaged 
to maintain, including but not limited to janitors, general 
maintenance personnel, sanitation personnel, and grounds 
maintenance personnel.  This subcategory does not include 
private applicators as defined in Section 9 below, individuals 
who use anti-microbial pesticides, or individuals who use 
pesticides which are not classified as “restricted use 
pesticides” in or around their dwelling.

7.7.1.6 Cooling Tower Pest Control.  This 
subcategory includes commercial applicators using or 
supervising the use of pesticides to control microbial and 
other pests in cooling towers or related areas.

7.7.1.7 Miscellaneous Pest Control. This 
subcategory includes commercial applicators using or 
supervising the use of pesticides in a category not previously 
covered in these regulations.

7.8 Public Health Pest Control Category.  This category 
includes, but is not limited to, State, Federal and other 
governmental employees who use or supervise the use of 
pesticides in public health programs for the management and 
control of pests having medical or public health importance.

7.9 Regulatory Pest Control Category.  This category 
includes State, Federal and other governmental employees 
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who use or supervise the use of restricted use pesticides in 
the control of regulated pests.

7.10 Demonstration and Research Pest Control 
Category

7.10.1 This category includes:
7.10.1.1 Individuals who demonstrate to the 

public the proper use and technique of application of a 
restricted use pesticide or supervises such demonstrations, 
and/or

7.10.1.2 Persons conducting field research with 
pesticides, and in doing so, use or supervise the use of 
restricted use pesticides.  Included in the first group are such
persons such as extension specialists and county agents, 
commercial representatives demonstrating pesticide 
products, and those individuals demonstrating methods used 
in public programs. The second group includes State, 
Federal, commercial and other persons conducting field 
research when utilizing pesticides.

8.0 Standards for Certification of Commercial Applicators
8.1 Determination of Competency.  

8.1.1 Competence in the use and handling of 
pesticides shall be determined on the basis of written 
examinations, and, as appropriate, performance testing, 
based upon standards set forth below and which are 
approved by the Secretary. Such eExamination and testing 
shall include the general standards applicable to all 
categories and the additional standards specifically identified 
for each category or subcategory (if any) in which an 
applicator is to be certified.  All examinations shall be 
administered as closed book examinations.

8.1.2 Applicants for examination shall register 
at least one (1) week before the scheduled examination date.

8.1.3 Exams shall be scheduled quarterly during 
the calendar year and shall be given at such times and places 
as the Secretary may direct.

8.1.4 Correctly answering 70% or more of the 
questions shall be considered to be satisfactory evidence of 
competence.

8.1.5 Failure to answer at least 70% of the 
questions correctly shall be grounds for denial of 
certification.  Applicants may apply for one (1) 
reexamination scheduled at least thirty (30) days after their 
initial examination. No person shall be permitted to be 
examined in the same category or subcategory more than 
twice in any twelve (12) month period.

8.2 General Standards for All Categories of Certified 
Commercial Applicators.

8.2.1 All commercial applicators shall 
demonstrate practical knowledge of the principles and 
practices of pest control and safe use of pesticides.  Testing 
shall be based on examples of problems and situations 
appropriate to the particular category or subcategory of the 
applicator's certification and the following areas of 

competency:
8.2.1.1  Label & Labeling Comprehension

8.2.1.1.1 The general format and 
terminology of pesticide labels and labeling;

8.2.1.1.2 The understanding of 
instructions, warnings, terms, symbols, and other 
information commonly appearing on pesticide labels;

8..2.1.1.3 Classification of the product, 
general or restricted; and the necessity for use consistent 
with the label.

8.2.1.2 Safety
8.2.1.2.1 Pesticides toxicity and hazard to 

man and common exposure routes; 
8.2.1.2.2 Common types and causes of 

pesticides accidents;
8.2.1.2.3 Precautions necessary to 

guard against injury to applicators and other individuals in or 
near treated area; 

8.2.1.2.4 Need for and use of 
protective clothing and equipment; 

8.2.1.2.5 Symptoms of pesticide 
poisoning;

8.2.1.2.6 First aid and other procedures to 
be followed in case of a pesticide accident; and 

8.2.1.2.7 Proper identification, storage, 
transport, handling, mixing procedures and disposal methods 
for pesticides and used pesticide containers, including 
precautions to be taken to prevent children from having 
access to pesticides and pesticide containers.

8.2.1.3 Environment
8.2.1.3.1 The potential environmental 

consequences of the use and misuse of pesticides as may be 
influenced by such factors such as:

8.2.1.3.1.1 Weather and other climatic 
conditions;

8.2.1.3.1.2 Types of terrain, soil or 
other substrate;

8.2.1.3.1.3 Presence of fish, wildlife 
and other non-target organisms; and     

8.2.1.3.1.4 Drainage patterns.
8.2.1.4 Pests

8.2.1.4.1  Factors such as:
8.2.1.4.1.1 Common features of pest 

organism and characteristics of damage needed for pest 
recognition; 

8.2.1.4.1.2 Recognition of relevant 
pests; and

8.2.1.4.1.3 Pest development and 
biology as it may be relevant to problem identification and 
control.

8.2.1.5 Pesticides
8.2.1.5.1  Factors such as:

8.2.1.5.1.1  Types of pesticides;
8.2.1.5.1.2  Types of formulations;
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8.2.1.5.1.3 Compatibility, synergism, 
persistence and animal and plant toxicity of the 
formulations;

8.2.1.5.1.4 Hazards and residues 
associated with use;

8.2.1.5.1.5 Factors which influence 
effectiveness or lead to such problems such as resistance to 
pesticides; and,

8.2.1.5.1.6  Dilution procedures.
8.2.1.6 Equipment

8.2.1.6.1  Factors including:
8.2.1.6.1.1 Types of equipment and 

advantages and limitations of each type; and 
8.2.1.6.1.2 Uses, maintenance and 

calibration.
8.2.1.7 Application Techniques

8.2.1.7.1  Factors including:
8.2.1.7.1.1 Methods or procedures 

used to apply various formulations of pesticides, solutions, 
and gases, together with a knowledge of which technique of 
application to use in a given situation; 

8.2.1.7.1.2 Relationship of discharge 
and placement of pesticides to proper use, unnecessary use, 
and misuse; and 

8.2.1.7.1.3 Prevention of drift and 
pesticide loss into the environment.

8.2.1.8 Laws and Regulations
8.2.1.8.1  Factors including:

8.2.1.8.1.1 Applicable State and 
Federal laws and regulations.

8.3 Specific Standards for Competency for Each 
Category of Commercial Applicators

Some of the factors referenced in this section are of 
particular importance because of the different types of 
activities carried out by the applicators in each category.  For 
example, practical knowledge of drift problems should be 
required of agricultural applicators but not seed treatment 
applicators.  The latter, however, should be particularly 
knowledgeable of the hazards of the misuse of treated seed 
and the necessary precautionary techniques.  Commercial 
applicators in each category shall be particularly qualified 
with respect to the practical knowledge standards elaborated 
below.

8.3.1 Agricultural Pest Control Category
8.3.1.1 Agricultural Plant Pest Control 

Subcategory
8.3.1.1.1 Applicators must demonstrate 

practical knowledge of crops grown and the specific pests of 
those crops on which they may be using restricted use 
pesticides.  The importance of such competency is amplified 
by the extensive areas involved, the quantities of pesticides 
needed, and the ultimate use of many commodities as food 
and feed. Practical knowledge is required concerning soil 
and water problems, pre-harvest intervals, re-entry intervals, 

phytotoxicity, and potential for environmental 
contamination, non-target injury and community problems 
resulting from the use of restricted use pesticides in 
agricultural areas.

8.3.1.2 Agricultural Animal Pest Control 
Subcategory

8.3.1.2.1 Applicators applying pesticides 
directly to animals must demonstrate practical knowledge of 
such animals and their associated pests.  A practical 
knowledge is also required concerning specific pesticide 
toxicity and residue potential, since host animals will 
frequently be used for food.  Further, the applicator must 
know the relative hazards associated with such factors as 
formulation, application techniques, age of animals, stress 
and extent of treatment.

8.3.1.3 Fumigation of Soil and Agricultural 
Products Subcategory

8.3.1.3.1 Applicators must demonstrate 
knowledge of application techniques appropriate to soil 
fumigation and agricultural product fumigation.  This 
includes the use of personal protective clothing and 
equipment, and general safety procedures such as posting, 
reentry, aeration, and accident procedures.

8.3.2 Forest Pest Control Category
8.3.2.1 Applicators shall demonstrate practical 

knowledge of types of forests, forest nurseries, and forest 
seed production in Delaware and the pests involved.  They 
should possess practical knowledge of the cyclic occurrence 
of certain pests and specific population dynamics as a basis 
for programming pesticide applications.  A practical 
knowledge is required of the relative biotic agents and their 
vulnerability to the pesticides to be applied.  Because forest 
stands may be large and frequently  include natural aquatic 
habitats and harbor wildlife, the consequences of pesticide 
use may be difficult to assess.  The applicator must, 
therefore, demonstrate practical knowledge of control 
methods which will minimize the possibility of secondary 
problems such as unintended effects on wildlife.  Proper use 
of specialized equipment must be demonstrated, especially 
as it may relate to meteorological factors and adjacent land 
use.

8.3.3 Ornamental and Turf Pest Control 
Category

8.3.3.1 Applicators shall demonstrate 
knowledge of pesticide problems associated with the 
production and maintenance of ornamental trees, shrubs, 
plantings, and turf, including cognizance of phytotoxicity 
due to a wide variety of plant material, drift, and persistence 
beyond the intended period of pest  control.  Because of the 
frequent proximity of human habitations to application 
activities, applicators in this category must demonstrate 
practical knowledge of application methods which will 
minimize or prevent hazards to humans, pets, and other 
domestic animals.
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8.3.4 Seed Treatment Category
8.3.4.1 Applicators shall demonstrate practical 

knowledge of types of seeds that require chemical protection 
against pests and factors such as seed coloration, carriers, 
and surface-active agents which influence pesticide binding 
and may affect germination.  They must demonstrate 
practical knowledge of hazards associated with handling, 
sorting and mixing, and misuse of treated seed such as 
introduction of treated seed into food and feed channels, as 
well as proper disposal of unused treated seeds.

8.3.5 Aquatic Pest Control Category
8.3.5.1 Aquatic Weed. Applicators shall 

demonstrate practical knowledge of the secondary effects 
which can be caused by improper application rates, incorrect 
formulations, and faulty application of pesticides used in this 
subcategory.  Further, they must have practical knowledge 
concerning potential pesticide effects on plants, fish, birds, 
beneficial insects and other organisms which may be present 
in aquatic environments.  These applicators shall also 
demonstrate practical knowledge of the principles of limited 
area application.

8.3.5.2 Antifouling Paint. Applicators in this 
subcategory shall demonstrate practical knowledge of the 
labeling instructions, safety precautions and environmental 
concerns associated with the use of marine anti-fouling 
paints.  They shall demonstrate practical knowledge of the 
term “acceptable release rate” as it applies to organotin 
paints; knowledge of the types of paints approved for 
specific hull types; knowledge of the types of anti-fouling 
paints approved for use on equipment or containers used for 
the harvesting of shellfish; knowledge of potential 
environmental consequences from the use/misuse or 
improper disposal of pesticides; safety precautions necessary 
to avoid exposure of workers to anti-fouling paints; proper 
storage, handling, and disposal methods of paint chips and 
dusts suspected of containing organotin compounds; marine 
pests and relevant life cycles which are controlled through 
the application of anti-fouling paints; methods, procedures, 
and equipment used in applying organotin and anti-fouling 
paints; applicable State and Federal laws and regulations; 
and recordkeeping requirements under the Delaware 
Pesticide Law.

8.3.5.3 Mosquito Control. Applicators shall 
demonstrate a practical knowledge of the principles 
associated with the management of mosquitoes, including all 
of the following: their life cycle; types of formulations 
appropriate for their management; methods of application; 
possible effects on water quality; and, the potential health 
effects on humans in the target area.

8.3.6 Right-of-way Pest Control Category
8.3.6.1 Applicators shall demonstrate a 

practical knowledge of a wide variety of environments, since 
right-of- ways can traverse many different terrains, including 
waterways.  They shall demonstrate practical knowledge of 

problems on runoff, drift, and excessive foliage destruction 
and ability to recognize target organisms.  They shall also 
demonstrate practical knowledge of the nature of herbicides 
and the need for containment of these pesticides within the 
right-of-way area, and the impact of their application 
activities in the adjacent areas and communities.

8.3.7 Industrial, Institutional, Structural and 
Health Related Pest Control Category

8.3.7.1 Applicators in this category must 
demonstrate a practical knowledge of a wide variety of pests 
including their life cycles, types of formulation appropriate 
for their control, and methods of  application that avoid 
contamination of food, contamination of habitat, and  the 
exposure of people and pets.  Since human exposure, 
including babies, children, pregnant women, and elderly 
people, is frequently a potential problem, applicators must 
demonstrate practical knowledge of the specific factors 
which may lead to a hazardous condition including 
continuous exposure. Because health related pest control 
may involve outdoor applications, applicators must also 
demonstrate practical knowledge of environmental 
conditions particularly related to this activity.

8.3.7.1.1 General Pest Control 
Subcategory

8.3.7.1.1.1 Applicators must 
demonstrate knowledge of household pests including but not 
limited to:  pests that invade or infest structures, stored 
products, and residential food preparation areas;  pests that 
infest or contaminate foods and foodstuffs at any stage of 
processing in the food manufacturing and processing areas 
of operation including but not limited to: flour mills, 
bakeries, bottling plants, dairies, canneries, meat packing 
plants, supermarkets, convenience stores, rest homes, 
hospitals, ships, vehicles, restaurants, cafeterias, and snack 
bars; conditions conducive to infestations and selection of 
appropriate control procedures, other than fumigation for 
each situation; and hazards associated with pesticides in food 
manufacturing and processing.

8.3.7.1.2 Wood Destroying Pest Control 
Subcategory

8.3.7.1.2.1 Applicators must 
demonstrate knowledge of organisms that destroy structures 
made of wood including but not limited to beetles, termites 
and fungi, and conditions conducive to infestation; selection, 
calibration, and use of appropriate control procedures and 
their related equipment including:  rodding and trenching, 
topical application of pesticides and local injection of 
specially labeled liquid or pressurized aerosol pesticides into 
infested wood; hazards involved in the handling and use of 
these pesticides.

8.3.7.1.3 Fumigation (Non-agricultural) 
Subcategory

8.3.7.1.3.1 Applicators must 
demonstrate a practical knowledge of the conditions 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1063
requiring the application of fumigants, and the selection of 
the most appropriate fumigation methods to use; equipment 
used in fumigation including but not limited to application, 
monitoring, testing, calculating, and personal protective 
devices; release, distribution, and maintenance of the correct 
fumigant concentrations for the product being used and the 
structure being fumigated under differing conditions; and 
hazards involved in the use of fumigants.

8.3.7.1.4  Wood Preservative Subcategory
8.3.7.1.4.1 Applicators must 

demonstrate a practical knowledge of the pests involved with 
wood products, including their life cycles, wood 
degradation, the pesticides available for controlling such 
problems, and methods of application including pressure, 
non-pressure and brush-on treatments.  Since there is 
concern regarding the potential for environmental 
contamination as well as acute and chronic health problems 
from applicator exposure when using certain woodtreating 
pesticides, specific emphasis will be placed upon 
demonstrating a practical knowledge of the product use, 
precautions    which are required and found on the labels and 
labeling of these pesticides and include protective clothing 
and equipment, sanitation procedures, disposal procedures 
and environmental precautions.  Since treated wood products 
present potential environmental problems and acute and 
chronic exposure problems to the users and the general 
public, whether or not they come into direct contact with the 
treated wood, applicators must demonstrate a practical 
knowledge of the consumer information covering use, site, 
and handling precautions which are found in the Consumer 
Information Sheets of products registered for pressure 
treatment and in the labeling for products registered for sap 
and stain control, ground line treatment of utility poles, and 
home and farm use (including railroad tie repair).   

8.3.7.1.5 Institutional and Maintenance 
Subcategory

8.3.7.1.5.1 Applicators in this 
subcategory must demonstrate a practical knowledge of a 
wide variety of pests for the purpose of providing structural 
pest control or lawn pest control in and around schools, 
hospitals, nursing homes, child day-care centers, and 
apartment buildings.  Since children and elderly people have 
a potentially higher sensitivity to pesticides, applicators in 
this subcategory should be particularly knowledgeable in 
avoiding applications which may lead to a hazardous 
condition, including continuous exposure.

8.3.7.1.6  Cooling Tower Subcategory
8.3.7.1.6.1 Applicators shall 

demonstrate a practical knowledge of the labeling 
instructions, safety precautions and environmental concerns 
associated with the use of pesticides to treat the waters of 
cooling towers.  They must demonstrate an understanding of 
the following: the effects of tower operation upon cooling 
water composition; the importance and potential harm of 

discharge of exhaust water into environment waters, the 
steps that can be taken to minimize water-caused problems, 
the importance of diligence and control in the execution of 
cooling water treatment programs.

8.3.7.1.7  Miscellaneous Subcategory
8.3.7.1.7.1 Applicator must demonstrate 

knowledge appropriate to their specific field of pest control.
8.3.8 Public Health Pest Control Category

8.3.8.1 Applicators shall demonstrate practical 
knowledge of vector-disease transmission as it relates to and 
influences application programs.  A wide variety of pests are 
involved, and it is essential that they be known and 
recognized, and appropriate life cycles and habitats be 
understood as a basis for control strategy.  These applicators 
shall have practical knowledge of a great variety of 
environments ranging from streams to those conditions 
found in buildings. They should also have practical 
knowledge of the importance and employment of such non-
chemical control methods such as sanitation, waste disposal, 
and drainage.

8.3.9 Regulatory Pest Control Category
8.3.9.1 Applicators shall demonstrate practical 

knowledge of regulated pests, applicable laws relating to 
quarantine and other regulation of pests, and the potential 
impact on the environment of restricted use of pesticides 
used in suppression and eradication programs.  

8.3.9.2 They shall demonstrate knowledge of 
factors influencing introduction, spread, and population 
dynamics of relevant pests.  Their knowledge shall extend 
beyond that required by their immediate duties, since their 
services are frequently required in other areas where 
emergency measures are invoked to control regulated pests 
and where individual judgments must be made in new 
situations.

8.3.10 Demonstration and Research Pest Control 
Category

8.3.10.1 Persons demonstrating the safe and 
effective use of pesticides to other applicators and the public 
will be expected to meet comprehensive standards reflecting 
a broad spectrum of pesticides uses.  Many different pest 
problem situations will be encountered in the course of 
activities associated with demonstration, and practical 
knowledge of problems, pests, and population levels 
occurring in each  demonstration situation is required. 
Further, they should demonstrate an understanding of 
pesticide -  organism interactions and the importance of 
integrating pesticide use with other control methods.  In 
general, it would be expected that applicators doing 
demonstration pest control work possess a practical 
knowledge of all of the standards detailed in section 8.02 
above.  In addition, they shall meet the specific standards 
required for categories (1) through (7) of this section as may 
be applicable to their particular activity.

8.3.10.2 Persons conducting field research or 
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method improvement work with restricted use pesticides 
should  be expected to know the general standards detailed in 
8.2 above. In addition, they shall be expected  to know the 
specific standards required for paragraph 8.3.1.1 through 
8.3.1.9 of this section, applicable to their particular activity, 
or alternatively, to meet the more inclusive requirements 
listed under “Demonstration".

8.4 Certification Fees and Renewal
8.4.1 Certification Fees

8.4.1.1 Commercial applicators shall pay an 
annual certification fee of $20.00.  All certifications shall 
continue in full force until December 31st of each year 
whereupon they shall become invalid unless renewed, except 
that a certification for which a renewal application has been 
submitted to the Department by November 30th, shall 
remain in full force and effect until such time as the 
Department gives notice to the applicant of renewal or 
denial.  Applications for renewal shall be mailed to all 
certified applicators by the Department before October 1st of 
each year.

8.4.1.2 Federal, State or Local government 
employees who are certified under this law are exempt from 
this fee.  This exemption shall remain valid only when 
applying or supervising the application of pesticides for such 
governmental agencies.

8.4.2 Certification Renewal
8.4.2.1  Commercial Applicators

8.4.2.1.1 Commercial applicators shall be 
required to be reexamined through a written test prior to their 
annual certification renewal.

8.4.2.1.2 The reexamination requirement 
may be satisfied without taking a test, if the commercial 
applicator provides the Department with evidence that he has 
completed a specified minimum number of hours attending 
approved education courses, seminars or programs during 
the three calendar years preceding certification renewal.  The 
specified number of hours for each category are listed in 
paragraph 8.4.2.1.4 below.  This exemption from 
reexamination does not apply to a person holding a lapsed 
certificate, as described in paragraph 8.4.2.3 below.

8.4.2.1.3 A commercial applicator shall be 
exempt from the reexamination requirement for the first two 
certification renewals following his original certification in 
Delaware.

8.4.2.1.4 The number of hours of training 
required to fulfill paragraph 8.4.2.1.2 are specified as 
follows:

Category of Pest Control Hours
Agricultural Plant (1A) 8
Agricultural Animal (1B) 4
Fumigation of Soils and
Agricultural Commodities (1C) 4
Forest (02) 4
Ornamental & Turf (03) 8

Seed Treatment (04) 2
Aquatic (5A) 4
Antifouling Paint (5B) 2
Mosquito (5C)    4
Right-of-Way (06)    4
Industrial, Institutional, Structural
  & Health Related (07)
General Pest Control (7A) 18
Wood Destroying Pest Control (7B) 18
Fumigation Pest Control
(non-agricultural) (7C)   4
Wood Preservatives (7D) 4
Institutional and Maintenance (7E) 18
Cooling Towers (7F)    4
Miscellaneous (7G)    4
Public Health (08)    4
Regulatory (09)    4
Demonstration & Research (10) 8

8.4.2.2  Private Applicators
8.4.2.2.1 A private applicator's 

certification shall continue in full force until December 31st 
of the third year following his original certification.

8.4.2.2.2 A private applicator shall be 
required to be reexamined prior to certification renewal.

8.4.2.2.3 The reexamination requirement 
may be satisfied without taking a test, if the applicator 
provides the Department with evidence that he has attended 
a minimum of three (3) hours of approved education courses, 
seminars or programs during the three (3) calendar years 
preceding certification renewal.

8.4.2.3  Expiration
8.4.2.3.1 A certificate shall have a ninety 

(90) day grace period after the date of expiration.  When the 
grace period expires, the certificate shall be considered to 
have lapsed.

8.4.2.3.2 A person holding a lapsed 
certificate must be examined as described by paragraph 8.01, 
in order to receive a new certificate.

8.4.2.3.3 An applicator is not imparted the 
right to purchase, use or supervise the use of a restricted use 
pesticide during the ninety (90) day grace period following 
the expiration date on his certificate.

8.5 Exemptions
8.5.1 The above standards do not apply to the 

following persons for the purposes of these regulations:
8.5.1.1 Persons conducting laboratory type 

research involving restricted use pesticides; and
8.5.1.2 Doctors of Medicine, Doctors of 

Osteopathy, and Doctors of Veterinary Medicine applying 
pesticides as drugs or medication during the course of their 
normal practice.

8.5.1.3 Owners and employees of any child 
day-care center which is operated within a private home.
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9.0 Standards for Certification of Private Applicators
9.1 As a minimum requirement for certification, a 

private applicator must show that he possesses a practical 
knowledge of the pest problem and pest control practices 
associated with his agricultural operations and his related 
legal responsibility.  This practical knowledge includes 
ability to:

9.1.1 Recognize common pests to be controlled 
and damage caused by them.

9.1.2 Read and understand the label and labeling 
information - including the common name of pesticides he 
applies; pest(s) to be controlled, timing and methods of 
application; safety precautions; any pre-harvest or re-entry 
restrictions; and specific disposal procedures.

9.1.3 Apply pesticides in accordance with label 
instructions and warnings, including the ability to prepare 
the proper concentration of pesticide to be used under 
particular circumstances taking into account such factors as 
area to be covered, speed at which application equipment 
will be driven, and the quantity dispersed in a given period 
of operation.

9.1.4 Recognize local environmental situations 
that must be considered during application to avoid 
contamination.

9.1.5 Recognize poisoning symptoms and 
procedures to follow in case of a pesticide accident.

9.2 Such The competence of each private applicator 
shall be verified through the administration of a private 
applicator certification system here described which ensures 
that the private applicator is competent, based upon the 
standards set forth above, to use the restricted use pesticides 
under limitations of applicable State and Federal laws and 
regulations.  One or more of the following options will be 
employed to certify private applicators:

9.2.1 General Certification
9.2.1.1 This option certifies the private 

applicator as competent to apply any restricted use pesticide 
which he would normally expect to use in his particular 
agricultural operations.  Competency determination shall 
reflect all aspects of the private applicator standards and 
shall be broad enough to test the private applicator's ability 
to apply general principles to specific problems associated 
with the restricted use pesticides required for the production 
and protection of his crops.

9.2.2 Pesticide Class Certification
9.2.2.1 This option certifies the private 

applicator as competent to apply any restricted use pesticide 
products and all different formulations of a pesticide used for 
the same purpose, use, or application.  Examples  include, 
but are not limited to, preemergence herbicides for vegetable 
crops, foliar insecticides on corn, rodenticides in fruit 
orchards, nematicides in fields prior to planting, ground 
application of fungicides on vegetables, seed treatments for 
plant diseases, and livestock dips for insect control.

9.2.2.2 Competency determination shall reflect 
the full range of the private applicator standards, but with 
special emphasis placed on the particular characteristics of 
the pesticide class, as well as the nature of  the application or 
use.

9.2.3 Commodity/Crop/Site Certification
9.2.3.1 This option certifies the private 

applicator as competent to apply any restricted use pesticide 
needed for specific crops or sites which that the applicator 
would be expected to deal with in his agricultural operations. 
This would include any pesticide products (different 
pesticide classes, active ingredients, and formulations) used 
on a specific line or class designation. Examples include: 
single crop such as corn, apples, or wheat; single site class 
such as poultry houses or dairy barns; single livestock line, 
such as beef cattle, swine, or turkeys; crop classes such as 
forage crops or small fruits, site class such as barns or 
greenhouses; and livestock class such as poultry.

9.2.3.2 Competency determination shall reflect 
the full range of the private applicator standards, with 
emphasis placed on the particular characteristics of the 
specific crop or site, or crop/site class concerned and the 
pests involved.

9.2.3.3 A private applicator may wish to be 
certified for a specific crop or site (such as corn or beef 
cattle) or for a crop or site class (such as forage crops, 
livestock, small grain crops).

9.2.4 Single Product Certification
9.2.4.1 This option certifies as competent the 

private applicator for one or more uses of a single product or 
related products with the same active ingredient and with a 
similar formulation and uses. Competency determination 
shall reflect all appropriate uses of these products for the 
agricultural area where he will be expected to make pesticide 
application.

9.2.5 Single Products/single Use Authorization 
(Emergency Program)

9.2.5.1 This option would authorize the private 
applicator to make single use application(s) of a restricted 
use  product (or other products of the same formulation). 
This option will be used only as an emergency provision to 
accommodate situations such as an unexpected pest problem 
that requires immediate certification of a previously 
uncertified private applicator or one whose particular type of 
certification would not cover the product needed to deal with 
the problem.

9.3 Determination of Competency for Private 
Applicators

9.3.1 Competence in the use and handling of 
pesticides by private applicators shall be determined by 
written examinations with questions based upon study 
materials made available by the Department.  Correctly 
answering 70% or more of the questions shall be considered 
to be satisfactory evidence of competence.
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9.3.2 Failure to answer at least 70% of the 
questions correctly shall be grounds for denial of 
certification.  The applicant may apply for reexamination, 
which shall be scheduled by the Department at least 30 days 
after the applicant’s initial examination.

9.3.3 Upon showing of hardship, an applicant 
for private applicator certification may appeal to the 
Secretary for an exception to paragraphs 9.3.1 and 9.3.2.  At 
his discretion, the Secretary may provide for an alternative 
means of examination, to include but not be limited to oral 
examination.  Oral examinations shall cover the same 
material included in the written examination.

10.0 Standards for Supervision of Non-certified 
Applicators by Certified Private and Commercial 
Applicators

10.1 Certified applicators whose activities indicate a 
supervisory role must demonstrate a practical knowledge of 
federal and state supervisory requirements, including 
labeling, regarding the application of restricted use 
pesticides by non-certified applicators.

10.2 The availability of the certified applicator must 
be directly related to the hazard of the situation, the 
complexity of the application or the ability to readily 
communicate with the non-certified applicator.  In many 
situations, where the certified applicator is not required to be 
physically present, "direct supervision" shall include 
verifiable instructions to the competent person, as follows:

10.2.1 Detailed guidance for applying the 
pesticide properly, and

10.2.2 Provisions for contacting the certified 
applicator in the event he is needed. In other situations, and 
as required by the label, the actual physical presence of a 
certified applicator may be required when  application is 
made by a non-certified applicator.

11.0 Federal Agency Pesticide Applicators
11.1 When an employee of any agency of the United 

States Government has been qualified in any category as 
competent to apply restricted use pesticides under the 
Government Agency Plan (GAP) or under other plans 
judged by the Secretary to be at least equal to the Delaware 
Plan, such the employee will be certified by the Secretary in 
the same category without the need for a written examination 
nor for the payment of any fee.

11.2 Federal employees qualified under an 
acceptable Federal Plan to apply restricted use pesticides and 
who intend to apply restricted use pesticides in Delaware as 
a part of their agency work shall present their qualifying 
documents to the Secretary and, if acceptable, these 
documents will be endorsed or a state document will be 
issued which will permit the federal employee to use 
restricted use pesticides in Delaware.

11.3 If, in an emergency situation, federal 

employees are brought into Delaware to control or eradicate 
pests and when these employees have been properly 
qualified to use restricted use pesticides under the plan of 
another state or under an acceptable federal government 
agency plan, such these employees shall be considered to be 
certified in Delaware and he or his for a period of 10 days. 
Within this 10 day period their agency must, within 10 days, 
present qualifying credentials to the Secretary and  at this
that time state credentials will be issued if the employees is
are to remain in Delaware as an applicators of restricted use 
pesticides.

11.4 The provisions of this section do not apply to 
non-federal employees contracted to perform pesticide 
application for the federal government.  In an emergency, 
however, and with the concurrence of the Secretary, a non-
certified person may apply pesticides under the direct 
supervision of a properly certified federal applicator.  Within 
10 days such person working within the state boundaries 
must apply for Delaware certification in the normal manner.

12.0 Reciprocity
When a commercial applicator is certified under the 

state plan of another state and desires to operate as a 
commercial applicator in Delaware he shall make 
application to the Secretary and shall include, along with the 
proper fee and other details required by the LAW, a true copy 
of his credentials certifying him as an applicator of restricted 
use pesticides in another state.  The Secretary then may, if he 
approves the credentials, issue a Delaware certification to 
the applicator in the appropriate classification and/or 
category(ies) for which he is certified in another state 
without a written examination.  The original certification 
must be made in the state where the commercial applicator 
resides or where he has his principle place of business.

13.0 Revocation
The Department, after due notice and opportunity for a 

hearing, may deny, suspend, revoke or modify any 
application for or provision of any certification, including 
reciprocal certification, under the LAW if the Department 
finds that the Certified Applicator or the applicant for 
Certification has committed any act or acts declared by the 
Law or these regulations to be unlawful.

14.0 Records
14.1 Commercial Applicators

14.1.1 Commercial applicators shall, for a period 
of two years from the date of application, keep records 
detailing the application of any pesticides to include:

14.1.1.1 The brand name of the pesticide used. 
In the case of a Restricted Use Pesticide or a pesticide which 
is used under the provisions of 40 Code of Federal 
Regulations, Part 170, Worker Protection Standards, the 
EPA Registration Number shall also be recorded at or before 
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the time of application.
14.1.1.2 When applicable, the dilution rate of 

the pesticide and the amount of diluted material applied per 
unit (i.e. gallons/acre, lbs./acre, etc.)

14.1.1.3 The date and specific area treated.
14.1.1.4 The pest against which the pesticide 

was used.
14.1.1.5 The applicator's name, and when 

applicable, the name of the certified applicator responsible 
for his  supervision.

14.1.1.6 When label directions advise 
precaution in regard to drift, on-site weather conditions to 
include:

14.1.1.6.1 Wind velocity and direction
14.1.1.6.2  Temperature
14.1.1.6.3  Relative humidity

14.1.1.7 In addition to the above record 
keeping requirements, the applicator shall have available at 
the site of application, a copy of the label of the pesticide 
being used.  Upon request, the applicator shall provide any 
interested person at or adjacent to the application site, with 
any information contained on the pesticide label.

14.2 Restricted Use Pesticides Dealers
14.2.1 Restricted use pesticide dealers shall keep 

and maintain for a period of two years, records on the sale or 
other disposition of restricted use pesticides to include the 
following:

14.2.1.1  The name and address of the 
residence or principal place of business of the certified 
applicator to whom the pesticide is made available for use.

14.2.1.2 The certification identification 
number of the purchaser or receiver of the pesticide on the 
document.  If the receiver of the restricted use pesticide is 
other than a certified applicator, a form of photographic 
identification of the receiver must be presented at the time of 
delivery.

14.2.1.3 The product name and E.P.A. 
registration number on the label of the pesticide.

14.2.1.4 The quantity of the pesticide made 
available for use in the transaction.

14.2.1.5  Date of the sale or transaction.

15.0 Financial Security Required of Licensee
15.1 The Secretary shall not issue a license until the 

applicant has filed evidence of financial security with the 
Secretary.  Such  eEvidence shall consist of a general 
liability insurance policy with completed operation coverage 
or certification thereof from an insurance company, person, 
or risk retention group formed under the Federal Risk Act of 
1986, authorized to do business in Delaware.

15.1.1 Agriculture
15.1.1.1  Plant Pest Control

15.1.1.1.1 An applicant for certification in 
this category shall file evidence of financial security in the 

minimum amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property 
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.1.1.2 Agriculture Animal Pest Control
15.1.1.2.1 An applicant for certification in 

this category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property 
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.1.2 Forest Pest Control
15.1.2.1 An applicant for certification in this 

category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property 
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.1.3 Ornamental and Turf Pest Control
15.1.3.1 An applicant for certification in this 

category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of  Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred   Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for 
property damage resulting from the use or misuse of 
pesticides.

15.1.4 Seed Treatment
15.1.4.1 An applicant for certification in this 

category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of  Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property 
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.1.5 Aquatic Pest Control
15.1.5.1 An applicant for certification in this 

category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property 
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.1.6 Right-of-Way Pest Control
15.1.6.1 An applicant for certification in this 

category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property 
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.1.7 Industrial, Institutional, Structural and 
Health Related Pest Control

15.1.7.1 An applicant for certification in this 
category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property 
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damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.
15.2 Aerial Applicators

15.2.1 Aerial applicators applying for a license in 
any of the above categories or subcategories shall show 
evidence of  financial security in the minimum of One 
Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for each individual 
damage and Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) 
for bodily injury or death for each occurrence and One 
Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage 
resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.3 Nothing to in these regulations shall be 
construed in any way to relieve any person from liability for 
any damage to the person or lands of another caused by the 
use of pesticides even though such use conforms to the rules 
and regulations of the Secretary.

16.0 Storing and Disposal of Pesticides and Pesticide 
Containers

16.1 Prohibited Acts
16.1.1 No person shall dispose of or store (or 

receive for disposal or storage) any pesticide, pesticide 
container or pesticide container residue:

16.1.1.1 In a manner inconsistent with its label 
or labeling;

16.1.1.2 So as to cause or allow the open 
dumping of pesticides or pesticide containers;

16.1.1.3 So as to cause or allow open burning 
of pesticide or pesticide containers. except; the open burning 
by the user of small quantities of combustible containers (but 
not to exceed 50 lbs.) containing pesticides other than those 
containing organic mercury, chlorates, lead, cadmium, or 
arsenic compounds, is acceptable when allowed by state or 
local regulations and when due regard is given to wind 
direction in relation to the protection of crops, animals and 
people from the pesticide vapors created through burning;

16.1.1.4 So as to cause or allow dumping of 
pesticides in any stream, river, pond, sewer or lake, except in 
conformance with permits issued by the Delaware 
Department of Agriculture or other state agency having 
jurisdiction regarding water pollution;

16.1.1.5  So as to violate any applicable state 
or federal pollution control standard.

16.2 Pesticide and Pesticide Container Disposal
16.2.1 Pesticide containers shall, upon 

completion of use, be triple rinsed immediately by the 
applicator or someone under his direct supervision or 
cleaned by another method or procedure equivalent in 
residue removal effectiveness.

16.2.1.1 The standard triple rinse procedure is 
as follows:

16.2.1.1.1 The emptied container shall be 
drained for at least thirty (30) seconds after steady flow of 
pesticide formulation has ceased and after individual drops 
are evident.  Any pesticide formulation drained shall be 

added to the spray tank mix and shall be applied in 
accordance with label instructions.

16.2.1.1.2 A solvent, usually water, 
specified by the manufacturer and capable of removing the 
pesticide residue shall be added to the drained container in 
an amount equal to ten percent (10%) of its capacity.  The 
container then shall be shaken, agitated, or rolled vigorously 
in such fashion as to dislodge residues from the top, bottom 
and sides. The liquid residues (rinsate) shall be added as 
make-up to the spray tank mix, and the container shall be 
allowed to drain for at least thirty (30) seconds after steady 
flow has ceased and after individual drops are evident.

16.2.1.1.3 The above procedure shall be 
performed two more times, each time allowing the container 
to drain at least thirty (30) seconds and adding all rinsate to 
the spray tank mix to be applied in accordance with label 
instructions.

16.2.1.2 In cases where undiluted formulations 
are used and rinsate cannot be added to the spray tank, the 
residue must be disposed of in accordance with applicable 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control (DNREC) regulations.

16.2.1.3 Methods of rinsing or cleaning 
containers, other than the standard triple rinsing procedure 
described above, may be used provided they are shown to 
remove equivalent amounts of pesticide residues which that
can be disposed of in an environmentally safe manner.

16.2.1.4 In the case of containers with 
removable inner liners that prevent contact between the 
pesticide and the container, removal of the liner shall be 
considered the equivalent of triple rinsing.  The removed 
liners must be disposed of in a sanitary landfill or by 
incineration if allowed by State and local authorities.   Liners 
removed from pesticide containers containing pesticides 
listed as hazardous waste are also considered hazardous 
waste unless the liners are triple rinsed with an applicable 
solvent or other method approved as equivalent, prior to 
their removal from the container. These liners must be 
handled and disposed of in accordance with applicable 
DNREC regulations.

16.2.1.5 Following the rinsing, cleaning or 
liner removal procedure, plastic or metal containers not 
destined for return to manufacturers or shipment to 
reconditioners shall be punctured prior to disposal to insure
ensure they are empty and to prevent re-use.  Glass 
containers are exempt from this puncture requirement. 
Plastic containers may be burned if allowed by State and 
local authorities.

16.2.1.6 Pesticide containers labeled for 
commercial or farm use, which have been triple rinsed and 
handled in accordance with 16.2.1.1 through 16.2.1.5, shall 
be disposed of at a Solid Waste Facility.

16.2.1.7 Unused or unwanted farm or 
commercial use pesticides which qualify as hazardous waste 
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shall be disposed of in accordance with 7 Del.C. Chapter 63
and the Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.

16.2.1.8 Pesticides and/or pesticide containers 
which are not subject to these regulations are as follows:

16.2.1.8.1 Paper, cardboard and fiberboard 
containers.  Storage, handling and disposal must, however, 
be in accordance with label directions and any applicable 
DNREC regulations and/or local ordinances.  This waiver 
applies only if all the pesticide contents have been removed 
from the container using practical methods.

16.2.1.8.2 Aerosol containers and 
compressed gas cylinders, provided that aerosol containers 
are disposed of according to the product labeling and the 
empty compressed gas cylinders are returned for re-use.

16.2.1.8.3 Pesticide containers labeled as 
returnable, and which are returned to the manufacturer for 
refill.

16.2.1.8.4 Pesticides and pesticide 
containers which are intended solely for home and garden 
use, provided they are securely wrapped in several layers of 
paper and disposed of singly during routine municipal solid 
waste disposal.

16.3 Pesticide Storage
16.3.1 Pesticides shall be stored in such a manner 

so as to prevent the contamination of food, feed and/or water.
16.3.2 Pesticides shall be stored out of the reach 

of children and so as not to present a public nuisance.
16.3.3 Until such time as the Secretary shall, 

along with the Pesticide Advisory Committee and any other 
person as the Secretary may consult, promulgate more 
specific rules and regulations covering the storage of 
pesticides and pesticide containers not provided in 16.1 and 
16.3 of this Section, the recommended  procedures for the 
storage of pesticides and containers detailed in Regulations 
promulgated by the Administrator, United States 
Environmental Protection Agency shall be the recommended 
procedures for Delaware.  The Secretary shall make copies 
of these procedures available to any person needing 
guidance for proper storage of pesticides or pesticide 
containers.

17.0 Pesticide Advisory Committee
17.1 Expenses of Members Not from Government 

Departments.  Pesticide Advisory Committee members not 
from governmental departments shall submit expense 
accounts to the Secretary. Reimbursements made to 
members not from governmental departments shall be made 
for the actual cost of lodging and meals (out of state) and for 
transportation according to the regulations applicable to 
Department employees.

18.0 Application and Equipment
18.1 No person shall apply, dispense or use any 

pesticide in or through any equipment or application 

apparatus unless such the equipment or application apparatus 
is in sound mechanical condition and capable of satisfactory 
operation.  All pesticide application equipment shall be 
properly equipped to dispense the proper amount of material; 
all pesticide mixing, storage, or holding tanks, whether on 
application equipment or not, shall not leak pesticide; all 
spray distribution systems shall not leak pesticides and any 
pumps which such the systems may have shall not leak 
pesticides and any pumps which such the systems may have 
shall be capable of operating at sufficient pressure to assure a 
uniform and adequate rate of discharge; and all pesticide 
application equipment shall be equipped with whatever cut-
off valves and discharge orifices may be necessary to enable 
the operator to pass over non-target areas without 
contaminating them.

18.2 All hoses, pumps or other equipment used to 
fill pesticide handling, storage or application equipment 
shall be fitted with an effective valve or device to prevent 
backflow of pesticides or pesticide use-dilutions into water 
supply systems, streams, lakes, ground water other sources 
of water or other materials.  Provided, however, such
backflow devices or valves are not required for separate 
water storage tanks used to fill agricultural pesticide 
application equipment by gravity systems when the fill 
spout, tube or pipe is not allowed to contact or fall below the 
water level of the application equipment being filled and no 
other possible means of establishing a backsiphon or 
backflow exists.

19.0 Antifouling Paint Restrictions
19.1 For the purposes of this section, the following 

definitions shall apply:
"Acceptable release rate" means a measured 

release rate not to exceed 4.0 micrograms per square 
centimeter per day and as further defined in the Organotin 
Anti-fouling Paint Control Act of 1988, (Pub. L. - 100-333).

"Antifouling paint" means a coating, paint, or 
treatment that is applied to a vessel or any fishing gear used 
to catch shellfish or finfish to control fresh water or marine 
fouling organisms.

“Vessel” means every description of watercraft, 
other than a seaplane, used or capable of being used as a 
means of transportation on the water, whether self-propelled 
or otherwise, and includes barges and tugs. 

"Commercial boat yard" means any facility 
which engages for hire in the construction, storage, 
maintenance, repair, or refurbishing of vessels or any 
licensed independent marine maintenance contractor who 
engages in such activities.

"Organotin" means any compound of tin used as a 
biocide in an anti-fouling paint.

"Retail" means the transfer of title to tangible 
personal property other than for resale, after manufacturing 
or processing.
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19.2 Except as otherwise provided in this Section, 
no person shall distribute, possess, sell, or offer for sale, 
apply or offer for use or application any marine anti-fouling 
paint containing organotin.

19.3 No person may sell or deliver to, or purchase or 
receive from, another person at retail any substance 
containing organotin for the purpose of adding such 
substances to paint to create an anti-fouling paint.

19.4 A person may distribute or sell a marine anti-
fouling paint containing organotin with an acceptable release 
rate to the owner or agent of a commercial boat yard.  The 
owner or agent of a commercial boat yard may possess and 
apply or purchase for application an anti-fouling paint 
containing organotin with an acceptable release rate, 
however, such the paint may be applied only within a 
commercial boat yard and only to vessels which exceed 
twenty-five meters (82.02 feet) in length or which have 
aluminum hulls.

19.5 A person may distribute, sell, or apply a marine 
anti-fouling paint containing organotin having an acceptable 
release rate, if the paint is distributed or sold in a spray can in 
a quantity of sixteen ounces avoirdupois or less and is 
commonly referred to as outboard or lower unit paint.

20.0 Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer Permits
20.1 For the purposes of these regulations the 

following definitions shall apply:
20.1.1 The term "restricted use pesticide dealer" 

means any person who makes available for use any restricted 
use pesticide,  or who offers to make available for use any 
such pesticide.  The term excludes any person who sells or 
distributes pesticides only as an integral part of his pesticide 
application service and when such the pesticides are 
dispensed only through equipment used during a pesticide 
application.

20.1.2 The term "make available for use" means 
to distribute, sell, ship, deliver for shipment, or receive, and 
(having so received) deliver, for use by any person. 
However, the term excludes transactions solely between 
persons who are pesticide producers, registrants, 
wholesalers, or retail dealers, acting only in those capacities.

20.1.3 The term "dealership" means any site 
owned or operated by a restricted use pesticide dealer where 
any  restricted use pesticide is made available for use, or 
where the dealer offers to make available for use any  such 
pesticide.

20.2 Effective December 31, 1990, no person shall 
make available for use any restricted use pesticide unless 
that person has a valid Dealer Permit issued by the 
Department.

20.3 A separate Dealer Permit shall be required for 
each dealership owned or operated by the restricted use 
pesticide dealer.

20.4 Issuance of a Dealer Permit:

20.4.1 Application for a Dealer Permit shall be 
made in writing to the Department on a designated form 
obtained from the Department.

20.4.2 The Department shall issue a Dealer 
Permit to an applicant upon payment of a fee of $25.00 for a 
calendar  year or any part of a calendar year.

20.4.3 All permits shall remain in full force and 
effect until December 31st of each year whereupon they 
shall become invalid unless renewed, except that a permit for 
which a renewal application has been submitted to the 
Department by November 30th shall remain in full force and 
effect until such time as the Department gives written notice 
to the permit holder of renewal or denial.

20.5 A restricted use pesticide dealer is responsible 
for the acts of his employees in the solicitation and sale of all 
pesticides and all claims and recommendations for the use of 
pesticides.

20.6 A dealer permit is not transferable.
20.7 The Department, in addition to any penalties 

authorized by the LAW, may deny, suspend, or revoke the 
application or permit of a restricted use pesticide dealer if he 
has failed to comply with any provisions of the LAW or any 
rules and regulations promulgated thereunder.

21.0 Institutional and Maintenance Pesticide Use 
Restrictions

21.1 For the purposes of these regulations, the 
following definitions shall apply:

“General use pesticide” shall include all pesticides 
as defined by 3 Del.C.  §1202(27) Delaware Pesticide Law, 
with the following exceptions:

• Any Restricted Use Pesticides, as defined by 3
Del.C. §1202 (30);

• Any State Restricted Use Pesticide, as defined by 3
Del.C. §1202 (31);

• Any anti-microbial pesticide used for controlling 
bacteria, viruses, or other microorganisms.
“School” shall mean a completed structure utilized 

as a public or private school, grades kindergarten through 
post graduate.

"Apartment building" shall mean a building that 
contains four or more dwelling units that are rented primarily 
for nontransient, permanent dwelling purposes, with rental 
paid by intervals of one week or longer.

"Nursing home" shall have the same meaning 
assigned by 16 Del.C.  §1101.

“Hospital” shall have the same meaning assigned 
by 16 Del.C. §1001(1).

“Child day-care center” shall mean a facility, 
other than a school as defined elsewhere herein, which 
provides care, education, protection, supervision and 
guidance on a regular basis for children.  Services are 
provided for part of the 24 hour day, unattended by parent or 
guardian, and for compensation.  Provided, nevertheless, that 
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“child day-care center” shall not include any such facility 
which is operated within a private home.

"Private home" shall mean a non-public residence 
such as a house, duplex, townhouse, apartment, or mobile 
home where the provider of child day-care services lives and 
has control over the furnishings and use of space.  An 
individual unit in public housing and university housing 
complexes is considered a private home.

"Institutional and Maintenance applicator"
means any person who:

• Owns, operates or maintains a school, apartment 
building, nursing home, hospital or child day-care 
center, or is an employee of a school, apartment 
building, nursing home, hospital, or child day-care 
center; and who

• Applies general use pesticides inside the school, 
apartment building, nursing home, hospital, or child 
day-care center.

• A general use pesticide applicator must be certified 
pursuant to Section 8.0 of these regulations, unless, 
such person possesses a valid certification in 
subcategory 7.7.1.5  Institutional and Maintenance 
Pest Control.

21.2 A person certified as a general maintenance 
applicator may not engage in the business of pest control 
outside the scope of the employment for which they have 
been certified, unless the person becomes certified as 
otherwise provided by the LAW.

21.3 An owner or manager of a building that is a 
school, apartment building, nursing home, hospital, or child 
day-care center may obtain general maintenance pest control 
services for the building from a person only by:

21.3.1 Contracting with a business licensed 
pursuant to 3 Del.C. §1206;

21.3.2 Having the services performed by a 
general maintenance applicator with a valid certification in 
7.7.1.1 or 7.7.1.5 of these regulations.

21.4 Records of "general use pesticide" applications 
made in a school, apartment building, nursing home, 
hospital, or child day-care center shall be kept in accordance 
with Section 14.1.

22.0 Restrictions on the Use of Pesticides for the 
Control of Subterranean Termites

22.1 This section applies to commercial pesticide 
applications for the control of subterranean termites.  It is 
directed primarily towards soil treatment and does not 
include other treatments applied as dusts, aerosols or 
fumigants, nor does it address application technology such 
as biological control agents or baits.

22.2 For the purpose of this section, the following 
definition shall apply:

22.2.1 "Termiticide" shall mean a pesticide 
registered pursuant to the LAW and which is intended for 

preventing, destroying, repelling or mitigating termites.
22.2.2 “Continuous chemical barrier” shall mean 

the application of a termiticide such that the resultant soil 
residue meets or exceeds the soil residue requirements 
currently recommended by the Association of Structural Pest 
Control Regulatory Officials (ASPCRO) and as those 
requirements may be amended in the future.  Soil residue 
sampling shall be conducted in conformity with the current 
ASPCRO soil sampling protocol and as it may be amended 
in the future.

22.3 Termiticides shall be used to establish a 
continuous chemical barrier in all applicable areas 
prescribed by the label.  However, where the termiticide is 
applied such that a continuous barrier is not achieved, or 
where the termiticide is not applied to all applicable areas 
prescribed by the termiticide label, the conditions outlined in 
both 22.3.1 and 22.3.2 below must be satisfied:

22.3.1 One or more of the following situations is 
present:

22.3.1.1 Specific environmental conditions are 
such that application of the termiticide at the full labeled 
concentration and volume may result in adverse 
environmental impact. Examples may include the presence 
of a well, a footing drain that empties into a water body, a 
high water table, etc.;

22.3.1.2 Structural barriers or soil conditions or 
types exist that prohibit application of the labeled volume or 
limit access to applicable soil treatment areas;

22.3.1.3 Specific customer request, or the 
recommendation of the certified applicator.

22.3.2 Within fourteen (14) days following the 
termiticide application, the following information shall be 
furnished in writing to the customer or to the customer’s 
agent:

22.3.2.1 A full disclosure explaining the 
difference between full and partial applications.  The 
disclosure shall include the termite control strategies being 
utilized and the reasons for those alternatives;

22.3.2.2 The pesticide used, including brand 
name and EPA registration number;

22.3.2.3 The actual volume of the termiticide 
applied;

22.3.2.4 Specific information of sufficient 
detail to distinguish where treatment actually occurred, 
including a diagram of the structure identifying treated areas, 
known well heads, and sites of visible termite activity;

22.3.2.5 A clear, concise statement indicating 
whether the application has any guarantee or warranty, and 
the terms of the guarantee or warranty, e.g., retreatment (full 
or partial), damage repair and retreatment, or no warranty.

22.3.3 This information shall be furnished to the 
customer or customer’s agent on a form approved by the 
Department.  The applicator shall for a period of two years 
from the date of application, keep and maintain all 
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completed copies of disclosure documents.  Such These
records shall be made available to authorized employees of 
the Department upon request.

22.4 Any application of termiticides, pursuant to 
this section, must be conducted with a commercial applicator 
at the site of application.  This commercial applicator must 
be certified in category 7.7.1.2, Wood Destroying Pest 
Control.   

22.5 The disclosure information and written 
notification specified in paragraph 22.3.2 are not required of 
termiticide treatments to utility poles, fence posts or tree 
stumps. 

22.6 Any pre-construction termiticide application 
shall be applied in accordance with the termiticide product 
labeling and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
Pesticide Regulations (PR) Notice 96-7.  For pre-
construction treatments, PR Notice 96-7 supercedes this 
Section, and no pre-construction treatment shall be applied 
at a lower dosage and/or concentration than specified on the 
label, for applications prior to installation of the finished 
grade.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(e) (14 Del.C. §122(e))
14 DE Admin. Code 106

Education Impact Analysis
Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II)

107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II)

108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware 
Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
New Regulations

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 

State Board of Education to adopt regulations 106 Teacher 
Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
(DPAS II), 107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware 
Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) and 108 
Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II).  The development of these 
regulations by the Department of Education was mandated in 
14 Del.C. §1270(b).

These regulations shall be effective July 1, 2005 for all 

teachers, specialists and administrators.  However, for the 
teachers, specialists and administrators in those districts that 
are participating in the pilot of this process the effective date 
shall be July 1, 2004.  

These regulations will replace the three existing 
regulations for DPAS I, 110 Teachers and Specialists 
Appraisal Process, 112 Addendum to Teachers and 
Specialists Appraisal Process and 115 School Level 
Administrator Appraisal Process on July 1, 2005.  The new 
regulations 106, 107 and 108 have the added component of 
student achievement as one of the evaluation elements and 
108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System includes all administrators not just 
building level administrators.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the regulations help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The regulations are concerned with improving 
teacher, specialist and administrator quality which relates to 
student improvement.  This is the last piece of the 
accountability system.

2. Will the regulations help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education?  The regulations address a 
staff appraisal process, not equity issues for students.

3. Will the regulations help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected?  The regulations 
address a staff appraisal process, not students’ health and 
safety.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
legal rights are respected?  The regulations address a staff 
appraisal process, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the regulations preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level?  The regulations will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?  The regulations 
will require new training and different proceedures for the 
evaluation of staff in Delaware schools.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subjects to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subjects to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the regulations be consistent with and not an 
impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies?  The regulations 
will be consistent with and not an impediment to the 
implementation of other state educational policies, in 
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particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulations? The Delaware Code requires 
that the Department of Education promulgate regulations for 
a performance appraisal system for teachers, specialists and 
administrators.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  The cost for these 
new regulations should not be more than the existing 
appraisal system.

106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II)

1.0 Teacher Appraisal Process shall be effective July 1, 
2005 for all teachers; however, for teachers in those districts 
which are participating in the pilot of this process the 
effective date shall be July 1, 2004.

1.1 For teachers participating in the pilot, any rating 
received on a Summative Evaluation shall not be included in 
the determination of a pattern of ineffective teaching as 
defined below.

2.0 Definitions
“Announced Observation” shall consist of the Pre-

Observation Form and conference with the evaluator, an 
observation by the evaluator at an agreed upon date and 
time, and formative conferences/reports.

“Board” shall mean a local board of education or 
charter school board of directors.

“Improvement Plan” shall be the plan that a teacher 
and evaluator mutually develop in accordance with section 
7.0.

“Non-tenured teacher” is a professional employee 
who has not met the requirements of tenure and holds a valid 
and current license and certificate.

“Pattern of Effective Teaching” is defined in section 
6.3.1.

“Pattern of Ineffective Teaching” is defined in 6.3.2.
“Satisfactory Component Rating” shall mean the 

teacher understands the concepts of the component and the 
teacher’s performance in that component is acceptable.  

“Satisfactory Evaluation” shall be equivalent to the 
overall “Effective” or “Needs Improvement” rating on the 
Summative Evaluation.

“Summative Evaluation” shall be the rating process at 
the conclusion of the appraisal cycle.

“Technical Assistance Document” shall mean the 
manual that contains the prescribed forms, detailed 
procedures, evaluation criteria and other relevant documents 
that assist in the appraisal process.

“Tenured Teacher” is a professional employee who has 

completed three (3) years of service in the State, two (2) 
years of which shall have been in the employ of the same 
board and holds a valid and current license and certificate.

“Unannounced Observation” shall consist of an 
observation by the evaluator at a date and time that has not 
been previously arranged and formative conferences/reports.

“Unsatisfactory Component Rating” shall mean that 
the teacher does not understand the concepts of the 
component and the teacher’s performance in that component 
is not acceptable.

“Unsatisfactory Evaluation” shall be the equivalent to 
the overall “Ineffective” rating on the Summative 
Evaluation.

3.0 Appraisal Cycles
3.1 Tenured teachers who have earned a rating of 

“Effective” on their most recent Summative Evaluation shall 
receive a minimum of one (1) Announced Observation each 
year with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the one year 
period.  The minimum annual evaluation for a tenured 
teacher who has earned an effective rating, may be waived 
for the subsequent year but not for two (2) consecutive years. 
During the first year of implementation, half of the tenured 
teachers in a building with a rating of “Effective” on the 
most recent Summative Evaluation may have the annual 
Summative Evaluation waived.

3.2 Tenured teachers who have earned a rating of 
“Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their most recent 
Summative Evaluation shall receive a minimum of one (1) 
Announced Observation and one (1) Unannounced 
Observation with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the 
one year period.  These teachers shall have an Improvement 
Plan which may require additional observations and/or other 
types of monitoring as outlined in the Technical Assistance 
Document.

3.3 Non-tenured teachers shall receive a minimum of 
one (1) Announced Observation and one (1) Unannounced 
Observation with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the 
one year period.  Non-tenured teachers who have earned a 
rating of “Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their 
most recent Summative Evaluation shall have an 
Improvement Plan which may require additional 
observations and/or other types of monitoring as outlined in 
the Technical Assistance Document.

4.0 Technical Assistance Document
4.1 All districts and charter schools shall use the 

document entitled Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
(DPAS) II Technical Assistance Document as developed by 
the Department of Education to assist in the implementation 
of the appraisal system.
 4.2 The Document shall contain, at a minimum, the 
following:

4.2.1 Specific details about each of the five (5) 
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components of criteria listed in 5.1.
4.2.2 All forms or documents needed to 

complete the requirements of the appraisal process including 
Announced Observation, Unannounced Observation, 
Summative Evaluation, Improvement Plan and Appeal 
Form.

4.2.3 Specific procedures for observations, 
conferences, ratings, Summative Evaluation, Improvement 
Plans, and appeals.

5.0 Appraisal Criteria
5.1 The following five (5) components of criteria as 

outlined in the Technical Assistance Document shall be the 
basis upon which the performance of a teacher shall be 
evaluated:

5.1.1 Planning and Preparation
5.1.2 Classroom Environment
5.1.3 Instruction
5.1.4 Professional Responsibilities
5.1.5 Student Improvement

5.2 Each of the five (5) components shall be 
weighted equally and assigned a rating of Satisfactory or 
Unsatisfactory on the Summative Evaluation.

6.0 Appraisal Ratings and Teaching Patterns
6.1 The Summative Evaluation shall include ratings of 

Satisfactory or Unsatisfactory on each of the five (5) 
components in 5.1 above.

6.2 The Summative Evaluation shall also include one 
of three overall ratings: Effective, Needs Improvement, or 
Ineffective.

6.2.1 Effective shall mean that the teacher has 
received Satisfactory Component ratings in all five (5) 
components of the appraisal criteria.

6.2.2 Needs Improvement shall mean that the 
teacher has received no more than two (2) Unsatisfactory 
Component ratings out of the five (5) components of the 
appraisal criteria.

6.2.3 Ineffective shall mean that the teacher has 
received three (3) or more Unsatisfactory Component ratings 
out of the five (5) components of the appraisal criteria or if 
the overall rating is “Needs Improvement” for the third 
consecutive year.

6.3 A pattern of teaching shall include one of the 
following:

6.3.1 A pattern of effective teaching shall be 
defined by the following chart representing the three (3) 
most recent appraisal cycles.

6.3.2 A pattern of ineffective teaching shall be 
defined by the following chart representing the three (3) 
most recent appraisal cycles. 

Effective Effective Effective

Effective Effective Needs 
Improvement

Effective Effective Ineffective

Effective Needs 
Improvement

Effective

Effective Ineffective Effective

Effective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Effective Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective

Effective Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Effective

Needs 
Improvement

Effective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Effective Effective

Needs 
Improvement

Effective Ineffective

Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Effective

Ineffective Ineffective Effective

Ineffective Effective Ineffective

Ineffective Effective Effective

Ineffective Effective Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Effective

Effective Ineffective Ineffective

Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective

Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Ineffective

Ineffective Ineffective Ineffective
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7.0 Improvement Plan
7.1 Improvement Plans shall be developed for teachers 

who receive an overall rating of Needs Improvement or 
Ineffective on the Summative Evaluation and/or a rating of 
Unsatisfactory (Unsatisfactory Component Rating) on any 
component on the Summative Evaluation regardless of the 
overall rating.

7.2 The Improvement Plan shall contain the following:
7.2.1 Identification of the specific deficiencies 

and recommended area(s) for growth;
7.2.2 Measurable goals for improving the 

deficiencies to satisfactory levels;
7.2.3 Specific professional development or 

activities to accomplish the goals;
7.2.4 Specific resources necessary to implement 

the plan, including but not limited to, opportunities for the 
teacher to work with mentor(s), curriculum specialist(s), lead 
teacher(s) or veteran teacher(s);

7.2.5 Procedures and evidence that must be 
collected to determine that the goals of the plan were met;

7.2.6 Timeline for the plan, including 
intermediate check points to determine progress;

7.2.7 Procedures for determining satisfactory 
improvement.

7.3 The Improvement Plan shall be developed 
cooperatively by the teacher and evaluator.  If the plan 
cannot be cooperatively developed, the evaluator shall have 
the authority and responsibility to determine the plan as 
specified in 7.2 above.

7.4 The teacher shall be held accountable for the 
implementation and completion of the Improvement Plan.

7.5 Upon completion of the Improvement Plan, the 
teacher and evaluator shall sign the documentation that 
determines the satisfactory or unsatisfactory completion of 
the plan.

8.0 Evaluator Credentials
8.1 Evaluators shall have completed the DPAS II 

training as developed by the Department of Education. 
Evaluators shall receive a certificate of completion which 
shall be renewed every five (5) years.

8.2 The training for the certificate of completion shall 
consist of observation and conferencing techniques, 
frameworks for teaching training and a thorough review of 
the Technical Assistance Document.

8.3 The credentialing process shall be conducted by the 
Department of Education.

9.0 Appeal Process
9.1 A teacher may appeal any rating on the Summative 

Evaluation, either a Component Rating or the Overall 
Rating, by submitting additional information specific to the 
point of disagreement in writing within ten (10) working 
days of the date of the teacher’s receipt of the Summative 
Evaluation.  Such written response shall become part of the 
appraisal record and shall be attached to the Summative 
Evaluation.  All appeals together with the record shall be 
forwarded to the supervisor of the evaluator.

9.1.1 Within ten (10) working days of receiving 
the written appeal, the supervisor of the evaluator shall 
review the record which consists of the Pre-observation 
Form(s), the Formative Feedback Form(s), the Summative 
Evaluation and the written appeal, and issue a written 
decision. 

9.1.2 If the appeal is denied, the decision shall 
state the reasons for denial.

9.1.3 The decision of the supervisor of the 
evaluator shall be final.

107  Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance 
Appraisal System (DPAS II)

1.0 Specialist Appraisal Process shall be effective July 1, 
2005 for all specialists; however, for specialists in those 
districts which are participating in the pilot of this process 
the effective date shall be July 1, 2004.

1.1 For specialists participating in the pilot, any rating 
received on a Summative Evaluation shall not be included in 
the determination of a pattern of ineffective practice as 
defined below.

1.2 Specialist shall mean a licensed and certificated 
staff person who is part of the school team and delivers 
professional services to students, teachers, staff and/or 
families.  Specialists include but are not limited to guidance 
counselors, instructional support specialists, library media 
specialists, school psychologists, school nurses, student 
support specialists, and therapeutic services specialists.

2.0 Definitions
“Announced Observation” shall consist of the Pre-

Observation Form and conference with the evaluator, an 
observation by the evaluator at an agreed upon date and 
time, and formative conferences/reports.  The observation 
for the specialist may be a collection of data over a specified 
period of time, up to four (4) weeks, or it may be an 
observation of sufficient length to gather appropriate data 
but less than twenty (20) minutes.

“Board” shall mean a local board of education or a 
charter school board of directors.

Ineffective Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement
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“Improvement Plan” shall be the plan that a specialist 
and evaluator mutually develop in accordance with section 
7.0.

“Non-tenured specialist” is a professional employee 
who has not met the requirements of tenure and holds a valid 
and current license and certificate.

“Pattern of Effective Practice” is defined in 6.3.1.
“Pattern of Ineffective Practice” is defined in 6.3.2.
“Satisfactory Component Rating” shall mean the 

specialist understands the concepts of the component and the 
specialist’s performance in that component is acceptable.

“Satisfactory Evaluation” shall be equivalent to the 
overall “Effective” or “Needs Improvement” rating on the 
Summative Evaluation.

“Summative Evaluation” shall be the rating process at 
the conclusion of the appraisal cycle.

“Technical Assistance Document” shall mean the 
manual that contains the prescribed forms, detailed 
procedures, evaluation criteria and other relevant documents 
that assist in the appraisal process.

“Tenured Specialist” is a professional employee who 
has completed three (3) years of service in the State, two (2) 
years of which shall have been in the employ of the same 
board and holds a valid and current license and certificate.

“Unannounced Observation” shall consist of an 
observation by the evaluator at a date and time that has not 
been previously arranged and formative conferences/reports. 
The unannounced observation for the specialist may be an 
observation of sufficient length to gather appropriate data 
but not less than twenty (20) minutes.

“Unsatisfactory Component Rating” shall mean that 
the specialist does not understand the concepts of the 
component and the specialist’s performance in that 
component is not acceptable.

“Unsatisfactory Evaluation” shall be the equivalent to 
the overall “Ineffective” rating on the Summative 
Evaluation.

3.0 Appraisal Cycles
3.1 Tenured specialists who have earned a rating of 

“Effective” on their most recent Summative Evaluation shall 
receive a minimum of one (1) Announced Observation each 
year with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the one year 
period.  This minimum annual evaluation for a tenured 
specialist who has earned an effective rating may be waived 
for the subsequent year but not for two (2) consecutive years. 
During the first year of implementation, half of the tenured 
specialists in a building with a rating of “Effective” on the 
most recent Summative Evaluation may have the annual 
evaluation waived.

3.2 Tenured specialists who have earned a rating of 
“Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their most recent 
Summative Evaluation shall receive a minimum of one (1) 
Announced Observation and one (1) Unannounced 

Observation with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the 
one year period.  These specialists shall have an 
Improvement Plan which may require additional 
observations and/or other types of monitoring as outlined in 
the Technical Assistance Document.

3.3 Non-tenured specialists shall receive a minimum of 
one (1) Announced Observation and one (1) Unannounced 
Observation with a Summative Evaluation at the end of the 
one year period.  Non-tenured specialists who have earned a 
rating of “Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their 
most recent Summative Evaluation shall have an 
Improvement Plan which may require additional 
observations and/or other types of monitoring as outlined in 
the Technical Assistance Document.

4.0 Technical Assistance Document
4.1  All districts and charter schools shall use the 

document entitled Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
(DPAS) II Technical Assistance Document as developed by 
the Department of Education to assist in the implementation 
of the appraisal system.

4.2 The Document shall contain, at a minimum, the 
following:

4.2.1 Specific details about each of the five (5) 
components of criteria listed in 5.1.

4.2.2 All forms or documents needed to 
complete the requirements of the appraisal process including 
Announced Observation, Unannounced Observation, 
Summative Evaluation, Improvement Plan and Appeal 
Form.

4.2.3 Specific procedures for observations, 
conferences, ratings, Summative Evaluation, Improvement 
Plans, and appeals.

5.0 Appraisal Criteria
5.1 The following five (5) components of criteria as 

outlined in the Technical Assistance Document shall be the 
basis upon which the performance of a specialist shall be 
evaluated:

5.1.1 Planning and Preparation
5.1.2 Professional Practice and Delivery of 

Service
5.1.3 Professional Collaboration and 

Consultation
5.1.4 Professional Responsibilities
5.1.5 Student Improvement

5.2 Each of the five (5) components shall be weighted 
equally and  assigned a rating of Satisfactory or 
Unsatisfactory on the Summative Evaluation.

6.0 Appraisal Ratings and Practice Patterns
6.1 The Summative Evaluation shall include ratings of 

Satisfactory or Unsatisfactory on each of the five (5) 
components in 5.1 above.
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6.2 The Summative Evaluation shall also include one 
of three overall ratings: Effective, Needs Improvement or 
Ineffective.

6.2.1 Effective shall mean that the specialist has 
received Satisfactory Component ratings in all five (5) 
components of the appraisal criteria.

6.2.2 Needs Improvement shall mean that the 
specialist has received no more than two (2) Unsatisfactory 
Component ratings out of the five (5) components of the 
appraisal criteria.

6.2.3 Ineffective shall mean that the specialist 
has received three (3) or more Unsatisfactory Component 
ratings out of the five (5) components of the appraisal 
criteria or if the overall rating is “Needs Improvement” for 
the third consecutive year.

6.3 A pattern of practice shall include one of the 
following:

6.3.1 A pattern of effective practice shall be 
defined by the following chart representing the three (3) 
most recent appraisal cycles.

6.3.2 A pattern of ineffective practice shall be 
defined by the following chart representing the three (3) 
most recent appraisal cycles. 

7.0 Improvement Plan
7.1 Improvement Plans shall be developed for 

specialists who receive an overall rating of Needs 
Improvement or Ineffective on the Summative Evaluation 
and/or a rating of Unsatisfactory (Unsatisfactory Component 
Rating) on any component on the Summative Evaluation 
regardless of the overall rating.

7.2 The Improvement Plan shall contain the following:
7.2.1 Identification of the specific deficiencies 

and recommended area(s) for growth;
7.2.2 Measurable goals for improving the 

deficiencies to satisfactory levels;
7.2.3 Specific professional development or 

activities to accomplish the goals;
7.2.4 Specific resources necessary to implement 

the plan, including but not limited to, opportunities for the 
specialist to work with mentor(s), curriculum specialist(s), 
lead specialist(s) or veteran specialist(s);

7.2.5 Procedures and evidence that must be 

Effective Effective Effective

Effective Effective Needs 
Improvement

Effective Effective Ineffective

Effective Needs 
Improvement

Effective

Effective Ineffective Effective

Effective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Effective Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective

Effective Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Effective

Needs 
Improvement

Effective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Effective Effective

Needs 
Improvement

Effective Ineffective

Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Effective

Ineffective Ineffective Effective

Ineffective Effective Ineffective

Ineffective Effective Effective

Ineffective Effective Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Effective

Effective Ineffective Ineffective

Needs Improvement Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective

Needs Improvement Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Needs Improvement Ineffective Ineffective

Ineffective Ineffective Ineffective

Ineffective Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement
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collected to determine that the goals of the plan were met;
7.2.6 Timeline for the plan, including 

intermediate check points to determine progress;
7.2.7 Procedures for determining satisfactory 

improvement.
7.3 The Improvement Plan shall be developed 

cooperatively by the specialist and evaluator. If the plan 
cannot be cooperatively developed, the evaluator shall have 
the authority and responsibility to determine the plan as 
specified in 7.2 above.

7.4 The specialist shall be held accountable for the 
implementation and completion of the Improvement Plan.

7.5 Upon completion of the Improvement Plan, the 
specialist and evaluator shall sign the documentation that 
determines the satisfactory or unsatisfactory completion of 
the plan.

8.0 Evaluator Credentials
8.1 Evaluators shall have completed the DPAS II 

training as developed by the Department of Education. 
Evaluators shall receive a certificate of completion which 
shall be renewed every five (5) years..

8.2 The training for the certificate of completion shall 
consist of observation and conferencing techniques, 
frameworks for practice training and a thorough review of 
the Technical Assistance Document.

8.3 The credentialing process shall be conducted by the 
Department of Education.

9.0 Appeal Process
9.1 A specialist may appeal any rating on the 

Summative Evaluation, either a Component Rating or the 
Overall Rating, by submitting additional information 
specific to the point of disagreement in writing within ten 
(10) working days of the date of the specialist receipt of the 
Summative Evaluation.  Such written response shall become 
part of the appraisal record and shall be attached to the 
Summative Evaluation.  All appeals together with the record 
shall be forwarded to the supervisor of the evaluator.

9.1.1 Within ten (10) working days of receiving 
the written appeal, the supervisor of the evaluator shall 
review the record which consists of the Pre-evaluation 
Form(s) the Formative Feedback Form(s), the Summative 
Evaluation and the written appeal, and issue a written 
decision.

9.1.2 If the appeal is denied, the decision shall 
state the reasons for denial.

9.1.3 The decision of the supervisor of the 
evaluator shall be final.

108  Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware 
Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)

1.0 Administrator Appraisal Process shall be effective July 

1, 2005 for all administrators; however, for administrators in 
those districts which are participating in the pilot of this 
process the effective date shall be July 1, 2004.

1.1 For administrators participating in the pilot, any 
rating received on a Summative Evaluation shall not be 
included in the determination of a pattern of ineffective 
administration as defined below.

1.2 For purposes of this regulation, an administrator is 
a professional employee of a board in a supervisory capacity 
involving the oversight of an instructional program(s).

2.0 Definitions:
“Announced Observation” shall consist of the Goal 

Setting Conference, self evaluation, a survey of staff that are 
supervised by the administrator, and formative conferences/
reports.

“Board” shall mean the local board of education or 
charter school board.

“Experienced Administrator” shall mean an 
administrator who has three (3) or more years of service  in a 
given role.

“Improvement Plan” shall be the plan that an 
administrator and evaluator mutually develop in accordance 
with section 7.0.

“Inexperienced Administrator” shall mean an 
administrator who has less than three (3) years of service in a 
given role.

“Pattern of Effective Administration” is defined in 
section 6.3.1.

“Pattern of Ineffective Administration” is defined in 
6.3.2. 

“Satisfactory Component Rating” shall mean the 
administrator’s performance in that component is acceptable 
and the administrator understands the concepts of  the 
component.

“Satisfactory Evaluation” shall be equivalent to the 
overall “Effective” or “Needs Improvement” rating on the 
Summative Evaluation.

“Summative Evaluation” shall be the rating 
component at the conclusion of the appraisal cycle.

“Technical Assistance Document” shall mean the 
manual that contains the prescribed forms, detailed 
procedures, evaluation criteria and other relevant documents 
that assist in the appraisal process.

“Unsatisfactory Component Rating” shall mean that 
the administrator’s performance in that component is not 
acceptable and the administrator does not  understand the 
concepts of the component.

“Unsatisfactory Evaluation” shall be the equivalent to 
the overall “Ineffective” rating on the Summative 
Evaluation.

3.0 Appraisal Cycles
3.1 Experienced administrators who have earned a 
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rating of “Effective” on their most recent Summative 
Evaluation shall receive a minimum of one (1) Announced 
Observation each year with a Summative Evaluation at the 
end of the one year period.  This minimum annual evaluation 
may be waived for the subsequent year but not for two (2) 
consecutive years.  During the first year of implementation, 
half of the experienced  administrators in a building with a 
rating of “Effective” on the most recent Summative 
Evaluation may have the annual Summative Evaluation 
waived.

3.2 Experienced administrators who have earned a 
rating of “Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their 
most recent Summative Evaluation shall receive a minimum 
of two (2) Announced Observations with a Summative 
Evaluation at the end of the one year period.  These 
administrators shall have an Improvement Plan which may 
require additional observation(s) and/or other types of 
monitoring as outlined in the Technical Assistance 
Document.

3.3 Inexperienced administrators shall receive a 
minimum of two (2) Announced Observations with a 
Summative Evaluation at the end of the one year period. 
Inexperienced administrators who have earned a rating of 
“Needs Improvement” or “Ineffective” on their most recent 
Summative Evaluation shall have an Improvement Plan 
which may require additional observation(s) and/or other 
types of monitoring as outlined in the Technical Assistance 
Document.

4.0 Technical Assistance Document
4.1 All districts and charter schools shall use the 

document entitled Delaware Performance Appraisal System 
(DPAS) II Technical Assistance Document as developed by 
the Department of Education to assist in the implementation 
of the appraisal system.

4.1.1 The Document shall contain at a minimum 
the following:

4.1.1.1 Specific details about each of the four 
(4) components of criteria listed
in 5.1.

4.1.1.2 All forms or documents needed to 
complete the requirements of the appraisal process including 
Announced Observation, Summative Evaluation, 
Improvement Plan and Appeal Form.

4.1.1.3 Specific procedures for observations, 
conferences, ratings, Summative Evaluation, Improvement 
Plans, and appeals.

5.0 Appraisal Criteria
5.1 The following four (4) components of criteria as 

outlined in the Technical Assistance Document shall be the 
basis upon which the performance of an administrator shall 
be evaluated:

5.1.1 Assessment of Leader Standards

5.1.2 Assessment on Goals and Priorities
5.1.3 Assessment on the School or District 

Improvement Plan
5.1.4 Assessment on Measures of Student 

Improvement
5.2 Each of the four (4) components shall be equally 

weighted and  assigned a rating of Satisfactory or 
Unsatisfactory on the Summative Evaluation.  

6.0 Appraisal Ratings and Administration Patterns
6.1 The Summative Evaluation shall include ratings of 

Satisfactory or Unsatisfactory on each of the four (4) 
components in 5.1 above.

6.2 The Summative Evaluation shall also include one 
of three overall ratings: Effective, Needs Improvement or 
Ineffective.

6.2.1 Effective shall mean that the administrator 
has received Satisfactory Component ratings in all four (4) 
components of the appraisal criteria.

6.2.2 Needs Improvement shall mean that the 
administrator has received one (1) Unsatisfactory 
Component rating out of the four (4) components of the 
appraisal criteria.

6.2.3 Ineffective shall mean that the 
administrator has received two (2) or more Unsatisfactory 
Component ratings out of the four (4) components of the 
appraisal criteria or if the overall rating is “Needs 
Improvement” for the third consecutive year.

6.3 A pattern of administrative performance shall 
include one of the following:

6.3.1 A pattern of effective administration shall 
be defined by the following chart representing the three (3) 
most recent appraisal cycles.

Effective Effective Effective

Effective Effective Needs 
Improvement

Effective Effective Ineffective

Effective Needs 
Improvement

Effective

Effective Ineffective Effective

Effective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Effective Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective

Effective Ineffective Needs 
Improvement
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6.3.2 A pattern of ineffective administration 
shall be defined by the following chart representing the three 
(3) most recent appraisal cycles. 

7.0 Improvement Plan
7.1 Improvement Plans shall be developed for 

administrators who receive an overall rating of Needs 
Improvement or Ineffective on the Summative Evaluation 
and/or a rating of Unsatisfactory (Unsatisfactory Component 

Rating) on any component on the Summative Evaluation 
regardless of the overall rating.

7.2 The Improvement Plan shall contain the following:
7.2.1 Identification of the specific deficiencies 

and recommended area(s) for growth;
7.2.2 Measurable goals for improving the 

deficiencies to satisfactory levels;
7.2.3 Specific professional development or 

activities to accomplish the goals;
7.2.4 Specific resources necessary to implement 

the plan, including but not limited to, opportunities for the 
administrator to work with mentor(s), curriculum 
specialist(s) or other administrator(s), lead administrator(s) 
or veteran administrator(s);

7.2.5 Procedures and evidence that must be 
collected to determine that the goals of the plan were met;

7.2.6 Timeline for the plan, including 
intermediate check points to determine progress;

7.2.7 Procedures for determining satisfactory 
improvement.

7.3 The Improvement Plan shall be developed 
cooperatively by the administrator and evaluator.  If the plan 
cannot be cooperatively developed, the evaluator shall have 
the authority and responsibility to determine the plan as 
specified in 7.2 above.

7.4 The administrator shall be held accountable for the 
implementation and completion of the Improvement Plan.

7.5 Upon completion of the Improvement Plan, the 
administrator and evaluator shall sign the documentation that 
determines the satisfactory or unsatisfactory completion of 
the plan.

8.0 Evaluator Credentials
8.1 Evaluators shall have completed the DPAS II 

training as developed by the Department of Education. 
Evaluators shall receive a certificate of completion which 
shall be renewed every five (5) years by attending additional 
training.

8.2 The training for the certificate of completion shall 
consist of observation and conferencing techniques, review 
of ISLLC standards, and a thorough review of the Technical 
Assistance Document.

8.3 The credentialing process shall be conducted by the 
Department of Education.

9.0 Appeal Process
9.1 An administrator may appeal any rating on the 

Summative Evaluation, either a Component Rating or the 
Overall Rating, by submitting additional information 
specific to the point of disagreement in writing within ten 
(10) working days of the date of administrator’s receipt of 
the Summative Evaluation.  Such written response shall 
become part of the appraisal record and shall be attached to 
the Summative Evaluation.  All appeals together with the 

Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Effective

Needs 
Improvement

Effective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Effective Effective

Needs 
Improvement

Effective Ineffective

Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Effective

Ineffective Ineffective Effective

Ineffective Effective Ineffective

Ineffective Effective Effective

Ineffective Effective Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Effective

Effective Ineffective Ineffective

Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective

Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Ineffective

Ineffective Ineffective Ineffective

Ineffective Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Ineffective

Ineffective Needs 
Improvement

Needs 
Improvement
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record shall be forwarded to the supervisor of the evaluator.
9.1.1 Within ten (10) working days of receiving 

the written appeal, the supervisor of the evaluator shall 
review the record which consists of information from the 
Announced Observation, the Summative Evaluation and the 
written appeal, and issue a written decision.

9.1.2 If the appeal is denied, the decision shall 
state the reasons for denial.

9.1.3 The decision of the supervisor of the 
evaluator shall be final.

EDUCATION IMPACT ANALYSIS
PURSUANT TO 14 DEL.C. SECTION 122(D)

1025 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association 
(DIAA)

1049 DIAA Definitions
1050 DIAA Sportsmanship

1051 DIAA Senior High School Interscholastic Athletics
1052 DIAA Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic 

Athletics
1053 DIAA Waiver Procedure

1054 DIAA Investigative Procedure
1055 DIAA Appeal Procedure

1056 Recognition of Officials’ Associations

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation
Repeal and Replace Regulations

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 

State Board of Education to amend regulation 1050 DIAA 
Sportsmanship by changing the number of the regulation to 
1007 in order to conform with other number changes for the 
DIAA regulations.  Section 2.4.1 Appeals, is also amended 
in order to align it with the other changes in the DIAA 
regulations.

The Secretary of Education also seeks the consent of the 
State Board of Education to repeal and replace the other 
eight (8) DIAA regulations.

Regulation 1025 will be renumbered as 1006 and retain 
the same name, Delaware Interscholastic Athletic 
Association (DIAA).  Regulation 1006 now includes the 
content of three previous regulations 1053 DIAA Waiver 
Procedure, 1054 DIAA Investigative Procedure and 1055 
DIAA Appeal Procedure.  In addition, regulation 1006 
includes sections on: the organization’s name and purpose; 
on membership; the Board of Directors; the Executive 
Director; responsibilities of the member schools; the 
reporting of violations and protests and complaints to DIAA 
and additional penalties and fines.  The sections on the 

reporting of violations and protests and complaints to DIAA. 
and additional penalties and fines were formally in the old 
regulations 1051 and 1052. Regulation 1006 has also been 
revised to reflect the changes in the Delaware Interscholastic 
Athletic Association processes and procedures as found in 
the reorganization of DIAA through14 Del.C. Ch.3.

Regulations 1051 DIAA Senior High School 
Interscholastic Athletics and1052 DIAA Junior High/Middle 
School Interscholastic Athletics have been renumbered as 
1008 DIAA Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic 
Athletics and 1009 DIAA Senior High School 
Interscholastic Athletics.  Both 1008 and 1009 now include 
the content of two previous regulations 1049 DIAA 
Definitions and 1056 Recognition of Officials’ Associations. 
Both 1008 and 1009 have been totally realigned.  Instead of 
36 and 38 sections respectively the regulations have ten (10) 
sections which are parallel in design. These regulations have 
also been revised to reflect the changes in the Delaware 
Interscholastic Athletic Association as found in the 
reorganization of DIAA through14 Del.C. Ch.3.

In addition to the realignment of regulations 1008 and 
1009 they contain the following changes:

• The term “Relative Caregiver” was added in all 
references to parents and guardians in order to 
include that type of student/adult relationship.

• Under 2.2 Eligibility, Residence, “with the 
exception of boarding school students” was added 
to 2.2.1.

• The status of students who are homeless was added 
in 2.2.1.6 and 2.4.2.6 in regulation1008 and in 
2.2.1.8 and 2.4.2.6 in regulation 1009.

• In 2.5.1.5, under 2.5 Eligibility, Amateur Status, the 
permissible cash value of a gift was increased from 
$50.00 to $150.00.

• In 2.7.1.2 and 2.7.1.2.1 the definition of the term 
“Hardship has been clarified as well as conditions 
for seeking a waiver under the hardship rule.  Also, 
2.7.2.1 was added in regulation 1009 only to clarify 
the eligibility status of eighth grade students who 
are in eighth grade for a second time.

• Under 2.8, in 1009 only, the term “international 
students” was substituted for “foreign students” 
when referring to students who are not part of a 
foreign exchange program and these “international 
students” will now be treated as transfer students 
under DIAA regulations.

• Under 4.2 Practice Sessions, in 4.2.1 the minimum 
number of practice days has been changed from 
“(3) three weeks” to “21 calendar days”.  In 4.2.3 
the sentence “However, there shall be one day of no 
activity (practice, scrimmage or contests) during 
any seven day period” was added at the end.

• Under 5.4 All-Star Contests in 5.4.5 (regulation 
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1009 only), the financial report now has to be filed 
in ninety (90) days not Thirty (30) days and the fine 
for not filing on time has been raised  from $50.00 
to $300.00.

• Under 7.5 Coaching Out of Season, in 7.5.1 
(regulation 1009 only), the status of eighth and 
ninth grade students has been clarified.  In 7.5.2.4 
the words “as well as to members of the student 
body” was added at the end of the sentence (in both 
regulations 1008 and 1009).

• Under 9.1 Award in 9.1.1 “not more than $150.00" 
was added after the word “symbolic” to place a cap 
on the value of awards.  In 9.1.4 the retail aggregate 
value of the awards was increased from $100.00 to 
$150.00.

• The reference to boxing was removed from both 
regulations.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the regulations help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended and replaced regulations are for the 
Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Program which 
compliments the academic program.

2. Will the regulations help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education? 
The amended and replaced regulations are for the Delaware 
Interscholastic Athletic Program which is available to all 
students.

3. Will the regulations help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected?  The amended 
and replaced regulations for the Delaware Interscholastic 
Athletic Program are designed to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected

4. Will the regulations help to ensure that all students’ 
legal rights are respected?  The amended and replaced 
regulations for the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic 
Program are designed to respect students’ legal rights.

5. Will the regulations preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local 
board and school level?  The amended and replaced 
regulations for the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic 
Program will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility 
of decision making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the regulations place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?  The amended 
and replaced regulations for the Delaware Interscholastic 
Athletic Program will not place any unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 

and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the regulations be consistent with and not an 
impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies?  The amended and 
replaced regulations for the Delaware Interscholastic 
Athletic Program will be consistent with and not an 
impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulations?   The statute, 14 Del.C. Ch.3, 
requires the Department of Education and the DIAA Board 
of Directors to promulgate regulations for the interscholastic 
athletics program.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  These regulations 
do not alter the existing costs.

* PLEASE NOTE:  DUE TO THE LENGTH OF THE EXISTING 
REGULATIONS THAT ARE BEING RENUMBERED THEY ARE 
NOT BEING REPRODUCED HERE. THE EXISTING 
REGULATIONS MAY BE VIEWED AT 
WWW.STATE.DE.US/RESEARCH/ADMINCODE/EDUCATION/
FRAME.HTM

1050 1007  DIAA Sportsmanship

1.0 Member schools are required to conduct all of their 
athletic affairs with other schools in a spirit of good 
sportsmanship.  Acts which are prima facie evidence of a 
failure to abide by this rule are those which are noted below 
and others of a similar nature which transgress the usually 
accepted code for good sportsmanship.

1.1 Failure to provide for proper control of spectators at 
a contest.  When the number of spectators is expected to be 
large in relation to the seating capacity of the facility, 
uniformed state, county, or local police shall be provided for 
crowd control.  The host school is expected to take 
reasonable and proper steps to assure crowd control under 
any foreseeable conditions.

1.2 Failure of a team or competitor to stay in a contest 
until its normal end when failure to do so is related to 
dissatisfaction with the officiating of the contest, unless the 
physical safety of the team or competitor would have been 
endangered by continuing the contest.

1.3 Harassment of game officials by a coach.  Going 
onto the playing surface to interrupt a contest in protest of a 
decision by an official; conduct by a coach, team member, or 
any individual in the official party which invokes a penalty 
against the team; continued and visible actions by a coach 
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which indicate to the team and/or to the spectators that the 
coach believes the game is being improperly officiated; 
public demonstrations with game officials which indicate to 
others extreme dissatisfaction with the officiating; and such 
related actions when exhibited in aggravated form are 
evidence of poor sportsmanship.

1.4 Failure of a school to use every means at its 
disposal to impress upon its faculty, student body, team 
members, coaching staff, and spectators the importance of 
good sportsmanship before, during, and after athletic 
contests.  The host school is encouraged to read a brief 
statement concerning sportsmanship prior to the start of each 
athletic contest.

1.5 Failure of an administrator, athletic director, coach, 
athlete, official, or spectator to comply with the directions 
stipulated in the following Code of Interscholastic Athletics:

1.5.1 The School Administrator and Athletic 
Director shall:

1.5.1.1 Encourage and promote friendly 
relations and good sportsmanship throughout the school by 
requiring courtesy and proper decorum at all times, by 
familiarizing students and others in the community with the 
ideals of good sportsmanship, and by publicizing these 
concepts and attitudes so that all members of the school 
community understand and appreciate their meaning.

1.5.1.2 Review the Sportsmanship Rule with 
all athletic staff.

1.5.1.3 Insist upon strict compliance with all 
DIAA rules and regulations.

1.5.1.4 Insist upon adequate safety provisions 
for both participants and spectators in all activities.

1.5.1.5 Encourage all to judge the success of 
the interscholastic athletic program based on the attitude of 
the participants and spectators rather than on the number of 
games won or lost.

1.5.1.6 Insist that all participants adhere to 
the highest standards of good sportsmanship as a means of 
ensuring desirable spectator attitudes.

1.5.1.7 Provide sanitary and attractive 
facilities for the dressing and housing of visiting teams and 
officials.

1.5.2 The Coach shall:
1.5.2.1 Demonstrate high ideals, good habits, 

and desirable attitudes in his/ her personal and professional 
behavior and demand the same of his/her players.

1.5.2.2 Recognize that the purpose of 
competition is to promote the physical, mental, social, and 
emotional well-being of the individual players and that the 
most important values of competition are derived from 
playing the game fairly.

1.5.2.3 Be a modest winner and a gracious 
loser.

1.5.2.4 Maintain self-control at all times and 
accept adverse decisions without public display of emotion 

or dissatisfaction with the officials. Register disagreement 
through proper channels.

1.5.2.5 Employ accepted educational 
methods in coaching and give his/her players an opportunity 
to develop and use initiative, leadership, and judgement.

1.5.2.6 Pay close attention to the physical 
well-being of his/her players, refusing to jeopardize the 
health of an individual for the sake of improving his/her 
team's chances to win.

1.5.2.7 Teach athletes that it is better to lose 
fairly than to win unfairly.

1.5.2.8 Discourage gambling, profanity, 
abusive language, and similar violations of the true 
sportsman's or sportswoman's code.

1.5.2.9 Refuse to disparage an opponent, an 
official, or others associated with interscholastic athletics 
and discourage gossip and rumors about them.

1.5.2.10 Properly supervise the athletes under 
his/her immediate care.

1.5.3 The Participant (athletes and cheerleaders) 
shall:

1.5.3.1 Be responsible for the perpetuation of 
interscholastic athletics.  Strive to enhance the image of 
athletics not only as a member of a team but also as a 
member of your school and community.

1.5.3.2 Be courteous to the visiting team. 
Your opponents wish to excel as much as you do.  Respect 
their efforts.

1.5.3.3 Play hard to the limit of your ability 
regardless of discouragement.  The true athlete does not give 
up, quarrel, cheat, bet, or grandstand.

1.5.3.4 Be modest when successful and be 
gracious in defeat.  A true sportsman or sportswoman does 
not offer excuses for failure.

1.5.3.5 Understand and observe the playing 
rules of the game and the standards of eligibility.

1.5.3.6 Respect the integrity and judgement 
of the officials and accept their decisions without complaint.

1.5.3.7 Respect the facilities of the host 
school and do not violate the trust entailed in being a guest.

1.5.4 The Official shall:
1.5.4.1 Know the rules and 

interpretations and be thoroughly trained to administer them.
1.5.4.2 Maintain self-control in all 

situations.
1.5.4.3 When enforcing the rules, do not 

make gestures or comments that will embarrass the players 
or coaches.

1.5.4.4 Be impartial and fair, yet firm, in all 
decisions.  A good official will not attempt to compensate 
later for an unpopular decision.

1.5.4.5 Refrain from commenting upon or 
discussing a team, player, or game situation with those not 
immediately concerned.
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1.5.4.6 Conduct the game so as to enlist the 
cooperation of the players, coaches, and spectators in 
promoting good sportsmanship.

1.5.5 The Spectator shall:
1.5.5.1 Realize that he/she represents the 

school just as definitely as does a member of the team, and 
that he/she has an obligation to be a true sportsman or 
sportswoman and to encourage through his/her behavior the 
practice of good sportsmanship by others.

1.5.5.2 Recognize that good sportsmanship is 
more important than victory by approving and applauding 
good team play, individual skill, and outstanding examples 
of sportsmanship and fair play exhibited by either team.  The 
following are some examples of poor sportsmanship which 
shall not be tolerated:

1.5.5.2.1Profanity, vulgarity, obscene 
gestures, abusive language, and/or derogatory remarks.

1.5.5.2.2Throwing objects.
1.5.5.2.3Going onto the playing surface 

and interrupting a contest.
1.5.5.2.4Use of alcohol or other controlled 

substances.
1.5.5.3 Respect the judgement and integrity 

of the officials, recognizing that their decisions are based 
upon game conditions as they observe them.

1.5.5.4 Treat visiting teams and officials as 
guests extending to them every courtesy.

1.5.5.5 Be modest in victory and gracious in 
defeat.

2.0  Processing Violations
2.1 Procedures

2.1.1 The Executive Director is specifically 
authorized to pursue any matter which, on the surface, has 
indications of being a sportsmanship violation.

2.1.2 Within twenty (20) calendar days of the 
incident, an alleged sportsmanship violation must be 
reported in writing to the Executive Director by the 
administrative head of a member school or by the Executive 
Board of an officials= association.

2.1.3 The Executive Director shall transmit a 
copy of the report to the principal of the school(s) involved.

2.1.4 Each principal concerned shall investigate 
and provide such information or answers to the report as are 
appropriate.

2.1.5 The Executive Director shall provide 
member schools and officials’ associations with a specially 
designed form to facilitate the proper reporting of 
sportsmanship related incidents.

2.1.6 Upon receipt of all reports, the Executive 
Director shall review the documents and inform the 
school(s) involved of his/her disposition of the matter.  The 
Executive Director may, in turn, refer the matter to the 
Sportsmanship Committee to investigate and adjudicate 

what appears to be a violation of the Sportsmanship Rule.
2.1.7 The Sportsmanship Committee shall 

review such available evidence as it deems necessary to 
reach a conclusion.  Actions such as requesting reports and 
conducting interviews should not be interpreted as casting 
aspersions on a school adhering to DIAA regulations, but as 
an effort to keep all parties properly informed.  Penalties up 
to and including suspensions of member schools may be 
imposed by the Sportsmanship Committee.

2.1.8 A copy of the Sportsmanship Committee's 
action shall be filed with the Executive Director and the 
administrative head of the school(s) involved.

2.2 Policies
2.2.1 The basis for the following policy 

statement is that a member school shall not be represented by 
individuals whose conduct reflects discredit upon the school. 
Insofar as unsportsmanlike actions by participants and 
spectators are concerned, the Sportsmanship Committee 
shall refer to the items previously identified in the Code of 
Interscholastic Athletics as well as the following guidelines:

2.2.1.1 The school whose administrator or 
athletic director behaves in a manner likely to have an 
adverse influence on the attitudes of the players or spectators 
may be provided with a choice of:

2.2.1.1.1 Reprimanding its 
administrator or athletic director and providing written 
documentation to the Executive Director, or

2.2.1.1.2 Suspending its administrator 
or athletic director from representing the school in athletic 
events for a specified period of time not to exceed 180 
school days, or

2.2.1.1.3 Having the entire school 
disciplined by DIAA.

2.2.1.2 An athlete shall not strike an official, 
opponent, coach, or spectator or display gross misconduct 
before, during, or after an athletic event.  The athlete, 
depending on the seriousness of the act, may be declared 
ineligible by the principal, Executive Director, or 
Sportsmanship Committee for a specified period of time not 
to exceed 180 school days.

2.2.1.3 In the case of spectators physically 
assaulting an official, coach, or player, the school may be 
given the option of either taking punitive action against the 
offender or accepting discipline from DIAA.

2.2.1.4 Schools that do not fully cooperate in 
promoting the spirit of the Sportsmanship Rule may be 
disciplined by DIAA.

2.2.1.5 The school whose coach behaves in a 
manner likely to have an adverse influence on the attitudes 
of the players or spectators may be provided with a choice 
of:

2.2.1.5.1 Reprimanding its coach and 
providing written documentation to the Executive Director, 
or
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2.2.1.5.2 Suspending its coach from 
representing the school in athletic events for a specified 
period of time not to exceed 180 school days, or

2.2.1.5.3 Having the entire school 
disciplined by DIAA.

2.2.1.6 An administrator, athletic director, or 
coach may be considered as having committed an 
unsportsmanlike act if:

2.2.1.6.1 He/she makes disparaging 
remarks about the officials during or after a game either on 
the field of play, from the bench, or through any public news 
media, or

2.2.1.6.2 He/she argues with the 
official or indicates with gestures or other physical actions 
his/her dislike for a decision, or

2.2.1.6.3 He/she detains the official on 
the field of play following a game to request a ruling or 
explanation of some phase of the game, or

2.2.1.6.4 He/she makes disparaging or 
unprofessional remarks about another school's personnel.

2.2.1.7 All actions by a member school 
resulting from an investigation relative to the above policies 
shall be subject to approval by the Executive Director and/or 
the Sportsmanship Committee.

2.3 Penalties
2.3.1 Game Ejection

2.3.1.1 A player or coach disqualified before, 
during, or after a contest for unsportsmanlike and flagrant 
verbal or physical misconduct shall be suspended from the 
next complete (a winner is determined or a tie is declared) 
contest at that level of competition and all other complete or 
suspended contests in the interim at any level of competition 
in addition to any other penalties which DIAA or a 
conference may impose.

2.3.1.1.1 A player who leaves the 
team bench area and enters the playing field, court, or mat 
during a fight or other physical confrontation shall be ejected 
from the contest.  A player who commits such an offense and 
is ejected by the game officials shall also be suspended from 
the next complete contest at that level of competition and all 
other complete or suspended contests at any level of 
competition in the interim.  Additional penalties may be 
imposed if a player leaving the bench area becomes involved 
in the altercation.

2.3.1.2 A disqualified player or coach may 
not be physically present at any contest in that sport during 
his/her suspension.

2.3.1.3 If a coach is disqualified from the 
final contest of the season, his/her suspension shall carry 
over to the next year in that sport.  In the case of an athlete, 
the same penalty shall apply if said athlete retains eligibility 
in that sport.

2.3.1.3.1 Coaches who do not fulfill 
their penalty in the same sport shall be disqualified for the 

appropriate length of time in their subsequent coaching 
assignment.

2.3.1.3.2 Seniors shall fulfill their 
penalty in the post-season all-star game in that sport.  If not 
chosen to participate in the all-star game, they shall fulfill 
their penalty in another sport during the same season or 
another sport during a subsequent season.  When a senior is 
disqualified from the last game of his/her high school career, 
the member school is requested to take appropriate 
administrative action to discipline the offending student.

See 3 DE Reg. 436 (9/1/99)
2.3.1.4 A player or coach ejected for a second 

time during the same season shall be subjected to a two-
game suspension and meet, in a timely fashion, with the 
Sportsmanship Committee accompanied by his/her principal 
or designee and, in the case of an athlete, by his/her coach.

2.3.2 The following penalties represent degrees 
of discipline in enforcing the Sportsmanship Rule:

2.3.2.1 Reprimand - a reprimand may be 
given by the Executive Director or the Sportsmanship 
Committee.  It is official notice that an unethical or 
unsportsmanlike action has occurred, is a matter of record 
and that such an occurrence must not be repeated.

2.3.2.2 Probation - probation is a more severe 
penalty and may be imposed by the Executive Director or the 
Sportsmanship Committee on a member school, a particular 
team of a member school, a particular coach or athlete of a 
member school, or an official.  Probation may be expressed 
in one of the following ways:

2.3.2.2.1Conditional probation wherein 
the offending party may participate in regular season 
contests, sanctioned events, and conference and state 
championships provided he/she/the school files with DIAA a 
plan indicating the measures that shall be taken to alleviate 
the problem which caused him/her/the school to be placed on 
probation, or

2.3.2.2.2Restrictive probation wherein a 
member school or a particular team of a member school may 
engage in its regular season schedule but may not enter any 
sanctioned events, participate in any playoff toward a 
conference or state championship, or be awarded a 
conference or state championship.

2.3.2.3 Suspension - a member school, a 
particular team of a member school, a particular coach or 
athlete of a member school, or an official may not participate 
in any DIAA sanctioned interscholastic competition.

2.4 Appeals
2.4.1 Decisions of the Executive Director or 

Sportsmanship Committee may be appealed to the DIAA 
Board of Directors in accordance with the procedure found 
in Regulation 1055 DIAA Appeal Procedure  However, 
Notice of Appeal shall be served by certified mail within ten 
(10) calendar days after receipt by the appellant written 
notice of the action of the Executive Director or 
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Sportsmanship Committee. Decisions of the Executive 
Director or Sportsmanship Committee may be appealed to 
the DIAA Board of Directors in accordance with the 
procedure found in 14 DE Admin. Code 1006.10.  In 
accordance with subsection 1006.10.1.1.3.1, the notice of 
appeal shall be served by certified mail within ten (10) 
calendar days after the appellant’s receipt of the written 
notice that official action has been taken by the Executive 
Director or Sportsmanship Committee.

1006  Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association 
(DIAA)

1.0 Organization Name and Purpose: The organization shall 
be known as the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic 
Association (DIAA) and shall function as the official 
designee of the Secretary of Education with the authority to 
implement the Department of Education’s Rules and 
Regulations governing the conduct of interscholastic 
athletics.

2.0 Membership in DIAA
2.1 Full Member Schools: Any secondary school 

including private, public, vocational-technical, and charter 
schools, as authorized by 14 Del.C. Ch. 5, may become a full 
member school of DIAA by payment of dues and a signed 
affirmation of the obligations of membership.

2.1.1 A full member school is a non-voting 
member of DIAA and does not participate in its day-to-day 
governance. A full-member school may at any time make 
appropriate recommendations for policy action to the DIAA 
Board of Directors for its consideration.

2.2 Associate Member School: Any school, not a full 
member school, located within the boundaries of the state of 
Delaware and containing grades 6 thru 8, or 8 thru 12, or any 
grouping of such grade levels, may apply for status as an 
associate member school provided the applicant sets forth 
good cause and sufficient justification why such school 
cannot become a full member school. The initial application 
may be submitted at any time but renewal applications shall 
be submitted to the DIAA office no later than May 1 of each 
year.

2.2.1 The membership application shall contain 
a statement that the school will abide by the Rules and 
Regulations of the Department of Education and the 
Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association and in those 
cases wherein the school cannot comply, the application 
shall set forth the specific rule and regulation, and a 
sufficiently acceptable explanation of why the rule or 
regulation cannot be kept in force or why the school is 
incapable of compliance.  Full compliance shall be made 
with all rules and regulations when an associate member 
school competes with a full member school of DIAA or a 
comparable state association; participates in DIAA 

sanctioned tournaments/meets in cross country, indoor track, 
wrestling (except dual-team tournaments), outdoor track, 
and golf involving the aforementioned full member schools; 
or participates in a state championship event.

2.2.2 Such associate member schools, after 
initial approval, shall be reviewed each year by the DIAA 
Board of Directors for the purpose of approving, rejecting, or 
modifying their application for renewal of associate member 
status.

2.3 Membership Dues Schedule: Yearly dues for full 
member and associate member schools shall be as follows:

2.3.1 $400 for middle schools.
2.3.2 $600 for high schools with enrollments of 

499 or less.
2.3.3 $800 for high schools with enrollments of 

999 or less.
2.3.4 $1,000 for high schools with enrollments 

of 1,499 or less.
2.3.5 $1,200 for high schools with enrollments 

of 1,999 or less.
2.3.6 $1,400 for high schools with enrollments 

of 2,000 or more.
2.3.7 Membership dues shall be paid each year 

by August 1.  Full member and associate member schools 
which fail to comply may be subject to penalties as 
determined by the DIAA Board of Directors.

2.4 Participation in State Championship Tournaments/
Meets:  Any member high school in good standing, is 
sponsoring a team in a given sport, and is in compliance with 
all applicable DIAA Rules and Regulations shall be eligible 
for the DIAA approved state championship tournament/meet 
in that sport.

2.5 Member schools shall comply with the regulations 
of the Delaware Interscholastic Association and acceptance 
of membership shall be construed as an agreement to that 
effect.

3.0 DIAA Board of Directors 
3.1 Conflict of Interest: Any member of the Board of 

Directors who may be directly affected or whose school or 
school district may be directly affected by a potential 
decision related to an appeal or waiver request shall recuse 
himself or herself from consideration of the matter and shall 
not vote on that appeal or waiver request.  The Chairperson 
of the Board is responsible for maintaining the integrity of 
the decision making process.

3.2 Committees of the DIAA Board of Directors
3.2.1 DIAA Board standing committees include: 

Rules and Regulations, Officials, Sports Medicine; 
Sportsmanship and one for each DIAA recognized sport. 
The Chairperson of the DIAA Board may appoint additional 
short term committees with specific assignments when 
deemed necessary.

3.2.1.1 The committee for each DIAA 
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recognized sport shall have, in writing, procedures for 
determining tournament berths and selecting tournament 
sites.  Such procedures shall be on file with the Executive 
Director and sent to the administrative head of each member 
school.

3.3 Committee Membership
3.3.1 The Chairperson of the DIAA Board of 

Directors and the Executive Director shall be ex-officio 
members of all committees  Committee membership shall be 
geographically representative and committee membership 
may include administrators, athletic directors, coaches, local 
school board members, officials and public members.

3.3.2 The Chairperson of the DIAA Board of 
Directors shall appoint individuals to serve as committee 
chairpersons.  The individuals appointed shall serve for an 
indefinite period of time.  The Chairperson of the Board, 
however, with the advice of the Executive Director, in his or 
her discretion, may remove a committee chairperson.

3.3.3 The Committee Chairperson, with the 
advice and consent of the Executive Director, shall appoint 
individuals to serve on the committee.  The individuals so 
appointed shall serve for an indefinite period of time.  The 
Committee Chairperson, however, with the advice and 
consent of the Executive Director, may, in his or her 
discretion, remove individuals from the committee.

4.0 Responsibilities of the Executive Director
4.1 Interpret the rules and regulations and grant waivers 

of rules and regulations:  Any waiver granted shall be 
temporary and shall be subject to review and approval by the 
DIAA Board at a subsequent or special meeting.  All 
decisions or actions as noted above shall be documented and 
shall be a part of any hearing or appeal procedure.

4.2 Decide issues between meetings of the Board of 
Directors. The Executive Director shall initiate a review of 
or fully investigate an alleged violation of the Rules and 
Regulations that he/she has seen, heard or read about, or 
which has been reported to him/her. Subsequent action by 
the Executive Director may include an official reprimand, 
placement on probation, a fine, the imposing of sanctions, or 
the suspension from participation for a designated period of 
time of a player, team, coach or official to ensure the 
necessary, orderly, and proper conduct of interscholastic 
competition.

4.3 Carry on the business of the DIAA Board and 
DIAA between meetings: Waiver requests decided by the 
Executive Director shall be temporary and shall be subject 
too review and final approval by the Board of Directors.  No 
school or individual shall be penalized in any case in which 
the DIAA Board reverses an earlier ruling of the Executive 
Director.  In addition, the Executive Director shall 
administer the day-to-day operation of the organization.

5.0 Responsibilities, Powers, and Duties of the 

Administrative Head of School
5.1 Responsibilities of Administrative Head of School

5.1.1 The administrative head of middle level 
and high school member schools shall be responsible for the 
conduct of the interscholastic athletic program in which 
representative teams participate including the organization 
and scheduling of individuals and teams.  The administrative 
head may delegate his or her authority, but such delegation 
will not negate the responsibility for a violation of the DIAA 
Regulations by his/her school.

5.2 Powers and Duties of Administrative Head of 
School 

5.2.1 The administrative head of each member 
school shall exercise general control over all of the 
interscholastic athletic matters of his/her school which 
include but are not limited to the following:

5.2.1.1 Sanctioning all interscholastic athletic 
contests in which his/her school participates.

5.2.1.2 Excluding any contestant because of 
improper conduct.

5.2.1.3 Excluding any contestant whose 
physical health would be jeopardized by such participation, 
because of illness or injury suffered, until such time as the 
contestant is declared physically fit by the school or 
attending physician.

5.2.1.4 Protecting the well-being of all 
visitors and officials attending interscholastic athletic 
contests conducted by his/her school. Administrative heads 
of member schools shall be expected to provide adequate 
security and, in the absence of such provisions, penalties 
may be imposed.

5.2.1.4.1 When a contest is conducted 
at a neutral site, the administrative heads of the participating 
schools shall be held jointly responsible for the protection 
and well-being of all visitors and officials. In the absence of 
adequate security, penalties may be imposed upon either or 
both of the schools.

5.2.1.5 Protecting the well-being of the 
school’s participants by providing them with safe and 
suitable uniforms and equipment.

5.2.1.6 Ensuring that all required contracts 
for athletic contests in which the school participates are in 
writing and bear the proper signatures.

5.2.1.7 Designating a staff member of the 
school as the faculty manager for the teams representing the 
school or to serve as the faculty manager.

5.2.1.8 Ensuring that an authorized 
representative accompanies the school’s teams to all 
contests.

5.2.1.9 Certifying in writing the eligibility of 
his/her school’s contestants in accordance with the 
Regulations of the Department of Education.

5.2.1.10 Exercising such other powers 
regarding the interscholastic athletic program of the school 
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as are consistent with the needs of the school and with the 
provisions and spirit of the Regulations of the Department of 
Education.

5.2.1.11 Urging all students competing on the 
school’s teams to obtain medical accident insurance which 
covers athletic participation.

6.0 Amendments to Department of Education Regulations
6.1 The DIAA Board, The Secretary of Education, the 

Executive Director of DIAA or any member school may 
propose changes, additions or deletions to the Department of 
Education regulations.

6.1.1 Proposed changes shall be submitted in 
writing by a member school(s) to the Executive Director and 
these proposed changes and any other changes submitted by 
the Secretary of Education or the Executive Director of 
DIAA or the DIAA Board of Directors shall be reviewed by 
the Rules and Regulations Committee.

6.1.2 Any proposed changes to the Regulations 
along with comments received from the Rules and 
Regulations Committee, shall be considered at a scheduled 
meeting of the DIAA Board. Proposed changes adopted by 
the Board shall thereafter be submitted to the Secretary of 
Education who will place them on the State Board of 
Education agenda for review and final approval.

6.1.2.1 All member schools shall then be 
advised in writing of any proposed changes. The member 
schools and the public shall have an opportunity to review 
and comment on the proposed changes during the thirty day 
period that the regulations are advertised in the Register of 
Regulations (as per the Administrative Procedures Act).

7.0 Reporting Violations of Department of Education 
Regulations and Protests and Complaints to DIAA

7.1 Reporting violations of Department of Education 
regulations

7.1.1 If a school violates a provision of the 
Department of Education regulations the administrative head 
or his/her designee shall notify the Executive Director in 
writing of the violation. All violations shall be reviewed by 
the DIAA Board of Directors which may impose additional 
penalties.

7.1.1.1 Additional penalties may be imposed 
for repeat offences or as deemed necessary to assure proper 
conduct of interscholastic athletics.

7.2 Reporting Protests and Complaints
7.2.1 All protests and complaints brought before 

DIAA shall be in writing and shall be acted on only after the 
administrative head of the school involved has been given an 
opportunity to appear before the Board of Directors.

8.0 DIAA Board of Directors Investigative Procedure
8.1 The following investigative procedure shall be 

followed when the DIAA office receives information 

indicating that an incident has occurred which is not in the 
best interests of the interscholastic athletic programs of the 
member schools of DIAA.

8.1.1 The administrative head of the member 
school involved shall be notified by telephone and confirmed 
by letter of the pending investigation (copy to be forwarded 
to the chief school officer). The notification shall contain an 
explanation of the nature of the investigation and identify the 
person(s) conducting the investigation.

8.1.2 Permission shall be obtained from the 
administrative head of the member school to interview 
students and/or staff members and each person interviewed 
shall be informed of the nature of the investigation.

8.1.3 Upon completion of the investigation, a 
written statement of charges shall be presented to the 
administrative head of the charged school (copy to be 
forwarded to the chief school officer).

8.1.4 When immediate punitive action by the 
Executive Director is necessary, the action taken shall be 
stated in writing.

8.1.5 When charges are to be presented to the 
DIAA Board of Directors, the charged school shall be 
advised of the meeting date, time, and location and shall be 
provided with an opportunity to respond to the charges.

9.0 Waiver of DIAA Rules and Regulation 
9.1 General

9.1.1 The DIAA Board has the authority to set 
aside the effect of any athletic rule or regulation, subject to 
any limitations set forth in the specific rule or regulation, 
when the affected party establishes by the preponderance of 
the evidence, all of the following conditions:

9.1.1.1 In the case of eligibility waiver 
requests, there exists a hard ship as defined by 9.2.1;

9.1.1.2 Strict enforcement of the rule in the 
particular case will not serve to accomplish the purpose of 
the Rule;

9.1.1.3 The spirit of the rule being waived 
will not be offended or compromised;

9.1.1.4 The principal of educational balance 
over athletics will not be offended or compromised; and

9.1.1.5 The waiver will not result in a safety 
risk to teammates or competitors.

9.1.2 Waivers are exceptional and extraordinary 
relief from the athletic rules and regulations.  Ignorance of 
any rule alone, whether by the student athlete, his/her family 
or school, shall not be sufficient reason for waiving a rule. 
The burden of proof rests on the applicant (the student, his/
her parents or guardians, principal, headmaster or other 
affected party) to show extenuating circumstances 
warranting waiver.

9.1.3 The waiver request shall contain all facts 
pertaining to the case, including sufficient data to make it 
possible to reach a decision without further investigation.  It 
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is not the duty of the Executive Director or the DIAA Board 
to produce or collect information.

9.1.4 Waiver requests would be filed promptly 
when it becomes apparent to the student, principal, 
headmaster or other affected party, that a waiver will be 
required.  In any event, all requests for a waiver of the rules, 
with all documentation complete, must be received by the 
Executive Director at least 21 calendar days before the next 
regularly scheduled meeting of the DIAA Board in order to 
be placed on the agenda for that meeting.

9.1.4.1 Notwithstanding this 
requirement, the Chairperson of the DIAA Board may at his/
her discretion add a waiver request to an agenda in an 
emergency situation.  Failure to file a waiver request in a 
timely manner when all information is available shall not be 
considered an emergency situation.

9.1.5 The applicant is entitled to a hearing on 
his/her waiver request.  Waiver hearings shall be conducted 
in an informal manner that affords all parties the opportunity 
to present all information and all relevant arguments.

9.1.5.1 The DIAA Board may administer 
oaths, take testimony, hear proofs and receive exhibits into 
evidence at any hearing.  Testimony at any hearing shall be 
under oath or affirmation.

9.1.5.2 Any party to a proceeding before the 
DIAA Board may be represented by counsel.  An attorney 
representing a party in a proceeding before the Board shall 
notify the Executive Director of the representation in writing 
as soon as practicable.

9.1.5.3 Strict rules of evidence do not apply. 
Evidence having probative value commonly accepted by 
reasonably prudent people in the conduct of their affairs may 
be admitted into evidence.

9.1.5.4 Any document introduced into 
evidence at the hearing shall be marked by the Board and 
shall be a part of the record of the hearing.  The party 
offering the document into evidence shall provide a copy of 
the document to each of the other parties, if any, and to each 
of the Board members present for the hearing unless 
otherwise directed.

9.1.5.5 Any request by the DIAA Board for 
additional information pertaining to a waiver request shall be 
promptly supplied by the affected students, coaches, and 
member schools.  

9.1.5.6 DIAA shall provide a stenographic 
reporter at a hearing at its own expense.

9.1.6 The DIAA Board shall consider the entire 
record of the case in reaching its final decision.  Unless 
otherwise provided, a decision made on a waiver request 
shall be effective immediately.

9.1.7 The DIAA Board’s decision shall be 
incorporated into a final order, which shall be signed and 
mailed to the parties within twenty (20) days of the hearing.  

9.2 Eligibility Rule Waiver Request

9.2.1 Unless specifically defined in the 
eligibility rule in question, “hardship” means a hardship 
peculiar to the student athlete caused by unforeseen events 
beyond the election, control or creation of the student 
athlete, his/her family, or school, which deprive him or her 
of all or part of one of his or her opportunities to participate 
in a particular sports season.  Ignorance of any rule alone, 
whether by the student athlete, his/her family or school, shall 
not be sufficient reason for waiving a rule. The waiver 
provision is intended to restore eligibility that has been lost 
as a result of a hardship situation.  Injury, illness or 
accidents, which cause a student to fail to meet the basic 
requirements, are possible causes for a hardship 
consideration. 

9.2.2 All eligibility hardship waiver requests 
shall be processed on forms approved by the DIAA Board 
and in accordance with the following procedures:

9.2.2.1 A request for a waiver of the 
eligibility rules must be directed by the student to the 
involved member school’s principal, headmaster or their 
designee who shall then file a written request stating the full 
particulars of the case and the reasons felt by the student or 
the administrator, or both, for granting the waiver.

9.2.2.1.1 All requests for eligibility 
rule waivers must be signed by the Principal or Headmaster 
of the school requesting the waiver and must include a letter 
from the Principle or Headmaster indicating whether the 
school supports the waiver request.

9.2.2.1.2 The school shall submit a 
waiver request form when requested by individual student 
athletes.  The DIAA Board, however, may take into 
consideration the school’s position on the waiver request 
when rendering its decision.

9.2.2.2 To aid the DIAA Board in making an 
informed decision, the waiver request shall include the 
student’s:

9.2.2.2.1 Official transcripts from the 
sixth grade through the current school year and semester 
grades for the current school year;

9.2.2.2.2 Attendance records for the 
last two (2) years;

9.2.2.2.3 A letter from the Principal or 
Headmaster either supporting or not supporting the waiver 
request;

9.2.2.2.4 Medical records (if 
applicable);

9.2.2.2.5 Legal documentation (if 
applicable);

9.2.2.2.6 IEP’s (if applicable); and
9.2.2.2.7 Any documentation/

evidence to substantiate a hardship or extenuating 
circumstance exits.

9.2.3 An appearance by the student and their 
parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver before the DIAA 
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Board is mandatory on requests for an eligibility waiver.  An 
appearance by a school representative is strongly 
encouraged.

9.3 Waiver Requests of Non-eligibility Rules
9.3.1 The Principal or Headmaster of a member 

school, or any other individual may request a waiver of a 
rule, regulation, guideline, policy or procedure of DIAA not 
directly related to student eligibility when special 
circumstances arise that, in the Principal or Headmaster’s 
opinion, or in the opinion of the individual, call for relief 
from, or modification of the effects of the rule.

9.3.2 All requests for non-eligibility waivers 
must be in writing, signed by the Principal or Headmaster.  

9.3.3 An appearance by the Principal or 
Headmaster or his/her designee or other individual 
requesting the non-eligibility waiver is optional.  If the 
Principal or Headmaster or his/her designee or other 
individual requesting the non-eligibility waiver choose to 
appear before the DIAA Board he/she must notify the 
Executive Director of his/her intent to do so at the time the 
request for waiver is filed. Otherwise, the principal or his/her 
designee, or other individual, may attend the meeting but 
may not be permitted to address the DIAA Board.

9.3.4 If the waiver requested would affect more 
than one member school, the waiver applicant shall provide 
the position of the other affected member schools on the 
waiver request in their written application.  The failure to 
provide this information may result in a delay in the Board’s 
consideration of the waiver request.

10.0 Appeal Procedure to the DIAA Board of Directors 
10.1 Decisions of the Executive Director, with the 

exception of those to uphold or rescind the suspension 
resulting from a game ejection, may be appealed de novo to 
the DIAA Board of Directors. The Board of Directors has 
been designated by the Secretary of Education to conduct 
fact finding hearings or conferences in matters regarding 
interscholastic athletics.

10.1.1 Initiation of an Appeal to the DIAA Board
10.1.1.1 Whenever a right of appeal of a 

decision to the DIAA Board of Directors is provided, an 
aggrieved person who is under the regulatory authority of 
DIAA and who has, in fact, suffered a direct injury due to the 
decision, may initiate an appeal by filing a Notice of Appeal 
with the Executive Director.  The notice shall be in writing, 
shall be signed by the person making the request (or by the 
party’s authorized representative), and shall be delivered to 
the Executive Director by certified mail.

10.1.1.2 The notice of appeal shall briefly state 
the decision from which the appeal is taken, the law, rule or 
regulation involved in the decision, the names of the parties, 
and the grounds for the appeal. 

10.1.1.3 The notice of appeal shall be filed 
within a reasonable time after the controversy arises, but in 

no event shall a notice be filed more than thirty (30) calendar 
days after the appellant’s receipt of written notice that 
official action has been taken by the Executive Director or 
other authorized person or body.

10.1.1.3.1 Notwithstanding the above, 
the notice of appeal shall be served ten (10) calendar days 
after appellant’s receipt of written notice that official action 
has been taken by the Executive Director or the 
Sportsmanship Committee pursuant to 14  DE Admin. Code 
1007.

10.1.1.4 A copy of the notice of appeal shall be 
delivered to al other parties to the proceeding at the same 
time it is sent to the Executive Director.  A copy of any other 
paper or document filed with DIAA  shall also be provided 
to all other parties to the proceeding.  If a party is 
represented by legal counsel, delivery to legal counsel is 
sufficient.

10.1.1.5 Upon receipt of an adequately 
detailed notice of appeal , the Executive Director shall place 
the appeal on the on the next meeting agenda of DIAA.

10.1.2 Record of Prior Proceedings
10.1.2.1 If proceedings were previously held 

on the matters complained of in the notice, the committee 
which conducted those proceedings shall file a certified copy 
of the record of the proceedings with the Executive Director.

10.1.2.2 The record shall contain any written 
decision, a copy of the rule or regulation involved, any 
minutes of the meetings(s) at which a disputed action was 
taken, a verbatim transcript of the hearing conducted by the 
party below, and all exhibits presented at the agency.

10.1.2.3 The record shall be filed with the 
Executive Director within ten (10) days of the date the 
Executive Director notifies the committee that the notice was 
filed, unless directed otherwise.  A copy of the record shall 
be sent to the appellant when it is submitted to the Executive 
Director.

10.1.3 DIAA Board Hearing Procedures for 
Appeals

10.1.3.1 Record Review
10.1.3.1.1 If a hearing was previously 

held on the matters complained of in the notice, the parties to 
the proceeding before the DIAA Board may agree to submit 
the matter to the Board on the existing record without the 
presentation of additional evidence.  The parties shall inform 
the Executive Director in writing of their agreement to 
submit the matter to the Board on the existing record no later 
than ten (10) days after the notice was filed.

10.1.3.1.2 If the parties agree to submit 
the matter for decision on the existing record, they shall 
support their positions in written statements limited to 
matters in the existing record.  The written statements shall 
be filed no later than ten (10) days before the consideration 
date, unless otherwise directed.

10.1.3.1.3 If the parties agree to submit 
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the matter for decision on the existing record, they may 
nonetheless request oral argument be heard on the 
consideration date.  A request for oral argument shall be 
submitted with the written statement of appeal.  There will 
be no oral argument unless it is requested when the written 
statement of appeal is submitted.  Oral argument shall be 
limited to the matters raised in the written statements and 
shall be limited to fifteen (15) minutes per side with an 
additional five (5) minutes for rebuttal.

10.1.3.1.4 If the parties agree to submit 
the matter for decision on the existing record, the DIAA 
Board’s decision shall be based on the existing record, the 
written statements and oral argument, if any.

10.1.3.2 Evidentiary Hearings
10.1.3.2.1 Evidentiary hearings will be 

held when there has not been a prior hearing, when the 
parties do not agree to rest on the existing record, or when 
the DIAA Board otherwise decides to receive additional 
evidence.

10.1.3.2.2 The Chairperson or his/her 
designated representative shall be the hearing officer.  The 
hearing officer shall conduct the hearing and make rulings 
on the admissibility of evidence.

10.1.3.2.3 The DIAA Board of 
Directors may continue, adjourn, or postpone a hearing for 
good cause on motion of a party or upon its own motion.

10.1.3.2.4 Objections to the admission 
of evidence shall be brief and shall state the grounds for such 
objections.  Objections with regard to the form of question 
will not be considered.

10.1.3.2.5 The hearing will proceed 
with the appellant first presenting its evidence and case.  The 
responding party may then present its case.  The appellant 
will have an opportunity to present rebuttal evidence.

10.1.3.2.6 Opening and closing 
arguments and post hearing submissions of briefs or legal 
memoranda will be permitted in the discretion of the DIAA 
Board.

10.1.3.2.7 Any person who testifies as a 
witness shall also be subject to cross examination by the 
other parties to the proceeding.  Any witness is also subject 
to examination by the DIAA Board.

10.1.3.2.8 The Board may administer 
oaths, take testimony, hear proofs and receive exhibits into 
evidence at any hearing.  Testimony at any hearing shall be 
under oath or affirmation.

10.1.3.2.9 Any party to a proceeding 
before the DIAA Board may be represented by counsel.  An 
attorney representing a party in a proceeding before the 
Board shall notify the Executive Director of the 
representation in writing as soon as practicable.

10.1.3.2.10 Strict rules of evidence do 
not apply.  Evidence having probative value commonly 
accepted by reasonably prudent people in the conduct of 

their affairs may be admitted into evidence.
10.1.3.2.11 Any document introduced 

into evidence at the hearing shall be marked by the DIAA 
Board and shall be a part of the record of the hearing.  The 
party offering the document into evidence shall provide a 
copy of the document to each of the other parties, if any, and 
to each of the DIAA Board members present for the hearing 
unless otherwise directed.

10.1.3.2.12 DIAA shall provide a 
stenographic reporter at a hearing at its own expense.

10.1.3.2.13 The Board’s decision shall 
be incorporated into a final order, which shall be signed and 
mailed to the parties within twenty (20) days of the hearing.  

11.0 Appeal to the State Board of Education: Any party 
to a controversy involving the athletic rules and regulations, 
including a waiver thereof, may appeal to the State Board of 
Education by setting forth such grievance in a petition.  The 
petition or notice of appeal shall be served on the Secretary 
of Education no later than thirty (30) calendar days after 
receipt of the decision.  In addition, a copy of the petition or 
notice of appeal shall be served on the Executive Director of 
DIAA by certified or registered mail.  Any decision shall 
otherwise be final.  All appeals to the State Board of 
Education shall be on the basis of the record. (See14 Del.C.
§312 and the State Board of Education Manual for the 
Conduct of Hearings Before the State Board of Education).

1008  DIAA Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic 
Athletics (Feb. 9, 2004)

1.0 National Federation of State High Schools, 
Conferences, Contracts and Equivalency Rules

1.1 National Federation of High school Associations
1.1.1 DIAA is affiliated with the National 

Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS).  The 
playing codes, sanctions, and other rules of the NFHS are 
adopted except as modified by the DIAA Board of Directors.

1.1.1.1 The playing rules of the 
United States Tennis Association, the United States Golf 
Association and the United States Lacrosse Association are 
adopted for the sports of tennis, golf and girls’ lacrosse 
respectively except as modified by the DIAA Board of 
Directors.

1.2 Conferences
1.2.1 Member schools may establish voluntary 

conference organizations that may be composed of public 
and non-public schools.  When established they must submit 
its proposed membership and its constitution and bylaws to 
the DIAA Board of Directors and must be approved by the 
DIAA Board of Directors before the schools may enter into 
any contractual agreements.

1.2.1.1 All subsequent amendments to the 
constitution and bylaws of the conference must be 
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compatible with all provisions of the DIAA Regulations; 
interpretations and rulings of the Executive Director, 
Sportsmanship Committee, and Board of Directors; state 
tournament regulations; and DIAA approved playing codes.

1.3 Contracts
1.3.1 Contracts between DIAA member schools 

or between DIAA member schools and full member schools 
of comparable state associations are encouraged but not 
required.

1.3.1.1 Conference master contracts are 
approved substitutes for individual contracts.

1.3.1.2 In the case of a dispute and provided 
either a signed individual contract or conference master 
contract was received in the DIAA office or postmarked 
prior to the contest in question, appeal may be made to the 
Executive Director or the DIAA Board of Directors which, 
after review of the circumstances, may assign an appropriate 
penalty.

1.3.1.2.1Without a signed individual 
contract or conference master contract, a member school has 
no right of appeal to the Executive Director or the DIAA 
Board of Directors.

1.3.2 Contracts between DIAA member schools 
and non-member or associate member schools of 
comparable state associations are required.

1.3.2.1 A copy of the signed contract must be 
either received by the Executive Director or postmarked 
prior to the contest for which the agreement was drawn up. 
Failure to file a signed contract as prescribed shall result in 
the DIAA member school being assessed a $15.00 fine.

1.3.2.2 In the case of a dispute, a member 
school has no right of appeal to the Executive Director or the 
DIAA Board of Directors unless a signed individual contract 
is in place.

1.3.3 Contracts shall be interchanged according 
to the following provisions:

1.3.3.1 Contracts on the accepted form shall 
be arranged by the competing schools for each season's 
interscholastic athletic contests.

1.3.3.2 Contracts shall be drawn up by the 
faculty manager or other designated staff member of the 
home school of the earlier contest.

1.3.3.3 A signed contract or any part thereof 
may not be nullified or modified except by mutual 
agreement of both schools involved.

1.3.4 If a game is not played, it shall be 
considered “no contest” unless a signed individual contract 
or conference master contract was received in the DIAA 
office or postmarked prior to the contest in question and one 
of the participating schools breached the agreement in which 
case appeal may be made to the Executive Director or the 
DIAA Board of Directors.

1.4 Equivalent Rules
1.4.1 A full member school shall not participate 

in a scrimmage or contest with an instate school that is not a 
member in good standing of DIAA.

1.4.1.1 Scrimmage is defined as: an informal 
competition between schools in which officials are not 
compensated, a score is not kept, the time periods are 
modified, the results of the competition are not reported to 
the media, the coaches may interrupt the play tp provide 
instruction and the competition is strictly for practice 
purposes.

1.4.2 A full member school shall not participate 
in a scrimmage or contest with an associate or non-member 
school of another state association unless the opposing 
school, as part of a written contract, certifies that its 
contestants are eligible under the rules of its home state 
association.

1.4.3 An associate member school shall not 
participate in a scrimmage or contest with an in-state school 
that is not a member in good standing of DIAA unless the 
opposing school complies with the conditions specified in 
1.4.2.  However, the opposing school shall be exempt from 
those rules which DIAA has waived for its associate member 
school.

1.4.4 Member schools shall not participate in a 
practice, scrimmage, or contest with a non-school sponsored 
team.

1.4.5 Member schools shall not participate in a 
practice, scrimmage, or contest with college students.  This 
provision shall not apply to games played against the alumni 
or faculty of the school when the game is sponsored by 
school authorities.

1.4.6 A school which participates in a game 
against an illegal opponent shall be required to forfeit the 
contest and be assessed a $100.00 fine.

2.0 Eligibility: No student shall represent a school in an 
interscholastic scrimmage or contest if he/she does not meet 
the following requirements.

2.1 Eligibility, Grades and Age
2.1.1 The junior high /middle school 

interscholastic program shall include grades 6-8, inclusive. 
No junior high/middle school student who has completed a 
season at the junior high/middle school level shall compete 
in the same sport at the senior high school level during the 
same school year.  A junior high/middle school student who 
participates in a varsity or sub-varsity game at the high 
school level shall be ineligible to participate at the junior 
high/ middle school level in the same sport.

2.1.1.1 Eighth-grade students who become 15 
years of age on or after June 15 in a school terminating in the 
eighth grade shall be eligible for all sports during the current 
school year provided all other eligibility requirements are 
met.

2.1.1.2 Permission shall be granted for 15-
year old eighth-grade students in a school terminating in the 
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eighth grade who are ineligible for junior high/middle school 
competition to participate in the district high school athletic 
program provided they meet all other eligibility 
requirements.  In determining the age of a contestant, the 
birth date as entered on the birth record of the Bureau of 
Vital Statistics shall be required and shall be so certified on 
all eligibility lists.

2.1.2 Requests for waiver of the age 
requirement shall be considered only for participation on an 
unofficial, non-scoring basis in non-contact sports.

2.2 Eligibility, Residence
2.2.1 With the exception of boarding school 

students, a student must be living with his/her custodial 
parent(s) legal guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver in the 
attendance zone of the school which he/she attends in order 
to be eligible for interscholastic athletics in that school.  In 
cases of joint custody, the custodial parent shall be the parent 
with actual physical placement as determined by court 
action. In the case of shared custody the parents must 
commit to sending the student to a particular school for the 
year.  Maintaining multiple residences to circumvent this 
requirement shall render the student ineligible.

2.2.1.1 A student who, pursuant to 
established school board policy or administrative procedure, 
remains in a school he/she has been attending after his/her 
legal residence changes to the attendance zone of a different 
school in the same school district, may exercise, prior to the 
first official student day of the subsequent academic year, a 
one time election to remain at his/her current school and 
thereby not lose athletic eligible.  If a student chooses to 
remain at his/her current school and then transfers to the 
school in his/her new attendance zone on or after the first 
official student day of the subsequent academic year, he/she 
shall be ineligible for ninety (90) school days.

2.2.1.2 A student who changes residence to a 
different attendance zone after the start of the last marking 
period and, pursuant to established school board policy or 
administrative procedure, is granted permission to continue 
attending his/her present school, the student shall retain his/
her athletic eligibility in that school for the remainder of the 
school year provided all other eligibility requirements are 
met.

2.2.1.3 A student may be residing outside of 
the attendance zone of the school which he/she attends if the 
student is participating in the Delaware School Choice 
Program as authorized by 14 Del.C., Ch.4.

2.2.1.4 A student who is a non-resident of 
Delaware shall be eligible to attend a public school, charter 
school or career-technical school  if, in accordance with 14 
Del.C. §607, his/her custodial parent, legal guardian or 
Relative Caregiver is a full-time employee of that district.

2.2.1.5 Notwithstanding 2.2.1, a student shall 
be eligible at a public school, charter school or vocational-
technical school if he/ she is enrolled in accordance with 14

Del.C. §202(f), the Caregivers School Authorization.
2.2.1.5.1 An exception would be a 

student whose relative caregiver does not provide the 
documentation required by the Caregivers’ School 
Authorization (proof of relation and proof of full-time care) 
but is permitted to register on the basis of a petition for the 
transfer of guardianship.  A student who registers on the 
basis of a petition for the transfer of guardianship is not 
eligible to scrimmage or compete until the Relative 
Caregiver has provided the aforementioned required 
documentation or has received a signed court order 
designating him/her as the student’s legal guardian.

2.2.1.6 Notwithstanding 2.2.1, a student who 
is homeless as defined in the McKinney-Vento Act, 42 
U.S.C. 11434a(2) shall be eligible to participate at the public 
school in which he/she is enrolled.

2.3 Eligibility, Enrollment and Attendance
2.3.1 A student must be legally enrolled in the 

junior high/middle school which he/she represents in order 
to participate in a practice, scrimmage, or contest.

2.3.2 A student who is participating in the 
Delaware School Choice Program, as authorized by 14 
Del.C. Ch.4, is obligated to attend the choice school for a 
minimum of two (2) years unless the student’s custodial 
parent(s), legal guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver relocate to 
a different school district or the student fails to meet the 
academic requirements of the choice school.  If a student 
attends a choice school for less than two (2) years and 
subsequently returns to his/her home school, the student 
must receive a release from the choice district in order to 
legally enroll at his/her home school.  Without a release, the 
student would not be legally enrolled and consequently 
would be ineligible to participate in interscholastic athletics.

2.3.3 A student may not participate in a practice, 
scrimmage, or contest during the time a suspension, either 
in-school or out-of-school, is in effect or during the time he/
she is assigned to an alternative school for disciplinary 
reasons.

2.3.4 A student who is not legally in attendance 
at school due to illness or injury shall not be permitted to 
participate in a practice, scrimmage, or contest on that day.

2.3.5 A Student who fails to complete a 
semester or absence for one or more semesters for reasons 
other than personal illness or injury shall be ineligible for 
ninety (90) school days from his/her reentry to school.

2.3.6 An eligible student who practices in 
violation of 2.2.2 through 2.2.5 shall. When he/she regains 
her eligibility, be prohibited from practicing, scrimmaging or 
competing for an equivalent number of days.

2.4 Eligibility-Transfers
2.4.1 A student who has not previously 

participated in interscholastic athletics (previous 
participation is defined as having practiced, scrimmaged or 
competed in grades 6 through 8), is released by a proper 
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school authority from a sending school, has completed the 
registration process at the receiving school, and is pursuing 
an approved course of study shall be eligible immediately 
upon registration provided he/she meets all other DIAA 
eligibility requirements.

2.4.2 If a student has previously participated in 
interscholastic athletics, he/she shall be ineligible for a 
period of ninety (90) school days commencing with the first 
day of official attendance in the receiving school unless one 
of the following exceptions applies:

2.4.2.1 The transfer is within a school district 
and is approved by the district's superintendent pursuant to 
established school board policy or administrative procedure. 
This provision shall not apply to a student who transfers to 
his/her home school from a “choice school” within the 
district and who has not completed the two-year attendance 
requirement unless he/she satisfies the conditions stipulated 
in 2.4.2.5.1 through 2.4.2.5.4.  This provision shall also not 
apply to a student who transfers from a “choice school” to 
another “choice school” within the district (see 1.4.6.1).

2.4.2.2 The transfer is caused by court action, 
court action being an order from a court of law affecting 
legally committed students.  In the case of a transfer of 
guardianship/custody, the transfer shall be the result of a 
court order signed by a judge, commissioner, or master of a 
court of competent jurisdiction.  A petition for the transfer of 
guardianship/custody, an affidavit, (except as permitted by 
2.4.2.3) or a notarized statement signed by the affected 
parties shall not be sufficient to render the student eligible to 
participate in interscholastic athletics.

2.4.2.3 The transfer is in accordance with 14 
Del.C. §202(f), the Caregivers School Authorization.

2.4.2.3.1 An exception would be a 
student whose relative caregiver does not provide the 
documentation required by the Caregivers School 
Authorization (proof of relation and proof of full-time care) 
but is permitted to register on the basis of a petition for the 
transfer of guardianship.  A student who registers on the 
basis of a petition for the transfer of guardianship is not 
eligible to scrimmage or compete until the Relative 
Caregiver has provided the aforementioned required 
documentation or has received a signed court order 
designating him/her as the student’s legal guardian.

2.4.2.4 The transfer is the result of a change 
in residence by the custodial parent(s) legal guardian(s) or 
Relative Caregiver from the attendance zone of the sending 
school to the attendance zone of the receiving school.  A 
change in residence has occurred when all occupancy of the 
previous residence has ended.  A student who transfers shall 
be eligible in the receiving school immediately when the 
custodial parent(s) legal guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver 
has established a new legal residence in another public 
school attendance zone.

2.4.2.5 The transfer occurs after the close of 

the sending school's academic year and prior to the first 
official student day of the receiving school's academic year 
provided:

2.4.2.5.1 The student has completed 
the registration process at the receiving school prior to the 
first official student day of the academic year.  The first 
official student day shall be defined as the first day on which 
students in any grade in that school are required to be in 
attendance.

2.4.2.5.2 The student has not attended 
class, excluding summer school, or participated in a 
scrimmage or contest at the sending school since the close of 
the previous academic year.

2.4.2.5.3 The student's legal residence 
is located in the attendance zone of the receiving school.

2.4.2.5.4 All other DIAA eligibility 
requirements have been met.

2.4.2.6 The transfer is the result of the student 
being homeless as defined in the McKinney-Vento Act, 42 
U.S.C. 11434a(2).

2.4.2.6.1 Notwithstanding the above, 
the student shall be ineligible under the ninety (90) school 
day ineligibility clause where the student’s homeless status is 
created by the student or his/her family for the primary 
reason of:

2.4.2.6.1.1  Seeking a superior 
team;

2.4.2.6.1.2 Seeking a team more 
compatible with the student’s abilities; or

2.4.2.6.1.3 Dissatisfaction with the 
philosophy, policies, methods or actions of a coach or 
administrator pertaining to interscholastic athletics; or

2.4.2.6.1.4 Avoiding disciplinary 
action imposed by the school of origin related to affecting 
interscholastic athletic participation.

2.4.3 Transfer Because of a Change in the 
Program of Study or Financial Hardship  If a waiver of the 
ninety (90) school day ineligibility clause is requested due to 
a desired change in the program of study or financial 
hardship, the parent(s), legal guardian(s) or Relative 
Caregiveris responsible for providing documentation to the 
DIAA Board of Directors to support the request.

2.4.3.1 Documentation for Change in 
Program of Study: Documentation for change in program of 
study (a multi-year hierarchical sequence of courses with a 
common theme or subject matter leading to a specific 
outcome) shall include:

2.4.3.1.1 The student’s schedule;
2.4.3.1.2 The student’s transcript;
2.4.3.1.3 Current course descriptions 

from both the sending and receiving schools;
2.4.3.1.4 A statement from the 

principal of the sending school indicating that a significant 
part of the student's desired program of study will not be 
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offered and that it will place the student at a definite 
disadvantage to delay transfer until the end of the current 
school year; and

2.4.3.1.5 A statement from the 
principals of both the sending and receiving school that the 
student is not transferring for athletic advantage (see 2.4.5).

2.4.3.2 Documentation for Financial 
Hardship: Documentation for financial hardship shall 
include:

2.4.3.2.1 Proof of extreme financial 
hardship caused by significant loss of income and/or 
increased expenses; and

2.4.3.2.2 A statement from the 
principal of both the sending and receiving schools that the 
student is not transferring for athletic advantage (see 2.4.5).

2.4.4 Transfer Because of a Custody Change:  In 
cases of joint or shared custody when a primary residence is 
established, a change in a student’s primary residence 
without court action subjects the student to the ninety (90) 
school day ineligibility clause.

2.4.5 A change of custody or guardianship for 
athletic advantage shall render a student ineligible under the 
ninety (90) school-day ineligibility clause if the reason for 
his/her transfer is one of the following: to seek a superior 
team, to seek a team more compatible with his/her abilities, 
dissatisfaction with the philosophy, policies, methods, or 
actions of a coach or administrator pertaining to 
interscholastic athletics, or  to avoid disciplinary action 
imposed by the sending school related to or affecting 
interscholastic athletic participation.

2.4.6 A student who transfers from a public, 
private, career-technical school or charter school to a school 
of choice, as authorized by 14 Del.C. Ch.4 shall be eligible 
immediately provided the transfer occurs after the close of 
the sending school's academic year and prior to the first 
official student day of the receiving school's academic year.

2.4.6.1 A student who transfers from a school 
of choice to another school of choice shall be ineligible to 
participate in interscholastic athletics during his/ her first 
year of attendance at the receiving school unless the 
receiving school sponsors a sport(s) not sponsored by the 
sending school in which case the student shall be eligible to 
participate in that sport only.

2.4.7 A student who transfers from a school of 
choice to either a private school, public school, career 
technical school or, after completing his/her two year 
commitment, to a public charter school, shall be eligible 
immediately provided the transfer occurs after the close of 
the sending school’s academic year.

2.4.8 If a student transfers with fewer than 
ninety (90) school days left in the academic year, he/she 
shall be ineligible for the remainder of the school year but 
shall be eligible beginning with the subsequent fall sports 
season provided he/she is in compliance with all other 

eligibility requirements.
2.5 Eligibility, Amateur Status

2.5.1 A student may not participate in an 
interscholastic sport unless he/she is considered an amateur 
in that sport.  A student forfeits his/her amateur status if he/ 
she does any of the following:

2.5.1.1 Knowingly plays on or against a 
professional team which is defined as a team having one or 
more members who have received or are receiving directly 
or indirectly monetary consideration for their athletic 
services.

2.5.1.2 Signs a professional contract, accepts 
reimbursement for expenses to attend a professional tryout, 
or receives financial assistance in any form from a 
professional sports organization.

2.5.1.3 Enters competition under an assumed 
name.  The surname and given name used by any player in 
the first game of interscholastic competition shall be used 
during the remainder of the student's interscholastic career. 
Any change in spelling or use of another name shall be 
regarded as an attempt to evade this rule unless the change 
has been properly certified by the player to the principal of 
the school.

2.5.1.4 Receives remuneration of any kind or 
accepts reimbursement for expenses in excess of the actual 
and necessary costs of transportation, meals, and lodging for 
participating in a team or individual competition or an 
instructional camp/clinic  Reimbursement for the 
aforementioned expenses is permitted only if all of the 
participants receive the same benefit.

2.5.1.5 Receives cash or a cash equivalent 
(savings bond, certificate of deposit, etc.), merchandise 
(except as permitted by 9.1.4) or a merchandise discount 
(except for discount arranged by school for part of team 
uniform) a reduction or waiver of fees, a gift certificate, or 
other valuable consideration as a result of his/her 
participation in an organized competition or instructional 
camp/clinic.  Accepting an event program and/or a 
complimentary item(s) (t-shirt, hat, equipment bag, etc.) that 
is inscribed with a reference to the event, has an aggregate 
retail value of no more than $150.00, and is provided to all of 
the participants, shall not jeopardize his/ her amateur status.

2.5.1.6 Sells or pawns awards received.
2.5.1.7 Uses his/her athletic status to promote 

or endorse a commercial product or service in a newsprint, 
radio, or television advertisement or personal appearance.

2.5.2 Accepting compensation for teaching 
lessons, coaching, or officiating shall not jeopardize his/her 
amateur status.

2.5.3 A student who forfeits his/her amateur 
status under the provisions of this rule is ineligible to 
participate at the interscholastic level in the sport in which 
the violation occurred. He/she may be reinstated after a 
period of up to 180 school days provided that during the 
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suspension, he/she complies with all of the provisions of this 
rule.  The suspension shall date from the time of the last 
offense.

2.6 Eligibility, Passing Work
2.6.1 In order to be eligible for participation in 

interscholastic athletics, including practices, a student must 
pursue a regular course of study or its equivalent as approved 
by the local governing body, and must be passing at least 
four (4) courses.   Two (2) of those courses must be in the 
areas of English, Mathematics, Science, or Social Studies.

2.6.1.1 A student who is receiving special 
education services and is precluded from meeting the 
aforementioned academic requirements due to modifications 
in the grading procedure or course of study, shall be 
adjudged eligible by the principal if he/she is making 
satisfactory progress in accordance with the requirements of 
his/her individualized education plan (IEP).

2.6.2 A student whose work in any regular 
marking period does not meet the above standards shall be 
ineligible to participate in interscholastic athletics, including 
practices, for the next marking period.

2.6.2.1 In the case of a conflict between the 
marking period grade and the final grade, the final grade 
shall determine eligibility.

2.6.2.2 The final accumulation of credits shall 
determine eligibility for the first marking period of the 
following school year.  When a student makes up a failure or 
earns the required credit(s) during the summer, he/she shall 
become eligible provided he/she successfully completes the 
course work prior to the first official student day of the 
school year.

2.6.2.3 Written verification of the successful 
completion of a correspondence course must be received 
before a student shall regain his/her eligibility.

2.6.3 A student forfeits or regains his/her 
eligibility, in accordance with the provisions of this rule, on 
the day report cards are issued.

2.6.4 Local school boards and non-public 
schools may establish more stringent requirements for 
academic eligibility than the minimum standards herein 
prescribed.

2.6.5 An ineligible student who practices in 
violation of 2.6.1. 2.6.2 or 2.6.3. shall, when he/she regains 
his/her eligibility, be prohibited from practicing, 
scrimmaging, or competing for an equivalent number of 
days.

2.7 Eligibility, Years of Participation
2.7.1 No student shall represent a school in 

athletics after four (4) consecutive semesters from the date of 
his/her first entrance into the seventh grade in schools which 
restrict participation in interscholastic athletics to students in 
grades 7 and 8 unless a waiver is granted for hardship 
reasons.

2.7.1.1 No student shall have more than two 

(2) opportunities to participate in a fall sport or combination 
of fall sports, in a winter sport or combination of winter 
sports, or in a spring sport or combination of spring sports.

2.7.1.2 “Hardship” shall be defined as 
extenuating circumstances peculiar to the student athlete 
caused by unforseen events beyond the election, control or 
creation of the student athlete, his/her family, or school 
which (1) deprive him/her of all or part of one of his/her 
opportunities to participate in a particular sports season; (2) 
preclude him/her from completing the academic 
requirements for graduation within the normal period of 
eligibility; and (3) deprive him/her of all or part of one of 
his/her opportunities to participate in a particular sport.  The 
waiver provision is intended to restore eligibility that has 
been lost as a result of a hardship situation.  Injury, illness or 
accidents, which cause a student to fail to meet the basic 
requirements, are possible causes for a hardship 
consideration.

2.7.1.2.1 A waiver shall not be granted 
under this section where DIAA finds that the student was 
academically eligible pursuant to DIAA’s minimum passing 
work standards but was ineligible to participate under more 
stringent locally adopted academic standards and where the 
local school board has adopted its own waiver or exemption 
policy.

2.7.1.2.2 A clear and direct causal 
relationship must exist between the alleged hardship 
condition and the failure of the student to complete the 
academic requirements for promotion within the normal 
period of eligibility and the loss of all or part of one of his/ 
her opportunities to participate in a particular sports season.

2.7.1.2.3 The burden of proof rests 
with the student in conjunction with the waiver process as 
described in 14 DE Admin. Code 1006.  Claims of extended 
illness, debilitating injury, emotional stress, etc., must be 
accompanied by appropriate documentation.  Evidence must 
be submitted to verify that the student or his/her parent(s) or 
court appointed legal guardian(s) sought assistance to 
ameliorate the effects of the hardship condition.

2.7.2 No student shall represent a school in 
athletics after six (6) consecutive semesters from the date of 
his/her first entrance into the sixth grade in schools which 
permit students in grades 6, 7 and 8 to participate in 
interscholastic athletics unless a waiver is granted for 
hardship reasons 

2.7.2.1 No student shall have more than three 
(3) opportunities to participate in a fall sport or combination 
of fall sports, in a winter sport or combination of winter 
sports, or in a spring sport or combination of spring sports.

2.7.2.2 Participation on the part of a sixth-
grade student shall be at the discretion of the individual 
school.

2.7.2.3 Sixth-grade students shall not be 
permitted to participate in football unless the conference 
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develops a classification system that is approved by the 
DIAA Board of Directors.

2.7.3 Students below the sixth grade shall not be 
permitted to practice, scrimmage, or compete on junior high/ 
middle school interscholastic teams.

2.7.4 Participation shall be defined as taking 
part in a school sponsored practice, scrimmage, or contest on 
or after the first allowable date for practice in that sport.

2.8 Student Eligibility Report Forms
2.8.1 Member schools shall use eligibility forms 

approved by the Executive Director.  A copy of the original 
eligibility report and subsequent addenda must be either 
received by the Executive Director or postmarked prior to 
the first contest for which the students listed are eligible. 
Failure to file an eligibility report as prescribed shall result in 
a $15.00 fine against the school.

2.8.1.1 In the case of a student who met 
all DIAA eligibility requirements but was omitted from the 
eligibility report due to administrative or clerical error, he/
she shall be adjudged eligible and the school assessed a 
$10.00 fine.

2.9 Use of an Eligible Athlete: 
2.9.1 If a school uses an ineligible athlete, the 

administrative head or his/her designee shall notify the 
opposing school(s) or event sponsor, in the case of a 
tournament or meet, and the Executive Director in writing of 
the violation and the forfeiture of the appropriate game(s), 
match(es) and/or point(s) won. 

2.9.2 The deliberate or inadvertent use of an 
ineligible athlete in the sports of soccer, football, volleyball, 
field hockey, basketball, baseball, softball, and lacrosse shall 
require the offending school to forfeit the contest(s) in which 
the ineligible athlete participated.

2.9.2.1 If the infraction occurs during a 
tournament, the offending school shall be replaced by its 
most recently defeated opponent. Teams eliminated prior to 
the most recently defeated opponent shall not be allowed to 
reenter the tournament.  Team and/or individual awards shall 
be returned to the event sponsor and team and/or individual 
records and performances shall be nullified.

2.9.2.2 The offending school may appeal to 
the DIAA Board of Directors for a waiver of the forfeiture 
penalty.  If the forfeiture penalty is waived, the offending 
school shall be reprimanded and fined $200.00 unless the 
athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed legal 
guardian(s) knowingly withheld information or provided 
false information that caused him/her to be eligible for 
interscholastic competition.  The burden of proof, in both 
cases, rests entirely with the offending school.  A forfeit 
shall constitute a loss for the offending school and a win for 
its opponent for purposes of standings.  A forfeit shall be 
automatic and not subject to refusal by the offending school's 
opponent.

2.9.3 The deliberate or inadvertent use of an 

ineligible athlete in the sports of cross country, wrestling, 
swimming, track, golf, and tennis shall require the offending 
school to forfeit the matches won and/or points earned by the 
ineligible athlete or by a relay team of which he/she was a 
member. The points contributed by an ineligible athlete to 
his/her team score shall be deleted and the contest score as 
well as any affected placements will be adjusted according to 
the rules of that sport.

2.9 3.1 If the infraction occurs during a 
tournament, the ineligible athlete shall be replaced by his/her 
most recently defeated opponent or next highest finisher. 
Contestants eliminated prior to the most recently defeated 
opponent shall not be allowed to reenter the tournament.

2.9.3.2 Individual awards earned by the 
ineligible athlete and team awards, if necessary because of 
adjustments in the standings, shall be returned to the event 
sponsor.  Individual records and performances by the 
ineligible athlete shall be nullified.

2.9.4 If an ineligible athlete participates in 
interscholastic competition contrary to DIAA rules but in 
accordance with a temporary restraining order or injunction 
against his/her school and/or DIAA, and the injunction is 
subsequently vacated, stayed, or reversed, or the courts 
determine that injunctive relief is not or was not justified, or 
the injunction expires without further judicial determination, 
the penalties as stipulated in 2.9.1 and 2.9.2 shall be 
imposed.

2.9.5 The intentional use of an ineligible athlete 
by a member school or repeated indifference to its 
responsibility to determine the eligibility of its athletes will 
subject the school to additional penalties which may include 
suspension for the number of days up to the length of the 
school year from the date the charge is substantiated.

2.9.6 If a coach knowingly withholds 
information or provides false information that causes an 
athlete to be eligible for interscholastic competition, the 
coach shall be suspended from coaching in any sport at any 
DIAA member school for up to the number of days up to the 
length of the school year from the date the charge is 
substantiated.

2.9.7 If an athlete or his/her parent(s, legal 
guardian(s), or Relative Caregiver knowingly withholds 
information or provides false information that causes him/ 
her to be eligible for interscholastic competition, the athlete 
shall be suspended from participation in any sport at any 
DIAA member school for up to the number of days up to the 
length of the school year from the date the charge is 
substantiated.

2.10 Determination of Student Eligibility and the 
Appeal Procedures

2.10.1 In cases of uncertainty or 
disagreement, the eligibility of a student shall be determined 
initially by the Executive Director.  If the Executive Director 
determines that the student is ineligible, the school and the 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1098
student shall be notified and the student suspended 
immediately from participation in interscholastic athletics.

2.10.2 The school and the student shall be 
informed that the decision of the Executive Director may be 
appealed to the DIAA Board of Directors.

2.10.3 Decisions of the DIAA Board of 
Directors to affirm, modify, or reverse the eligibility rulings 
of the Executive Director may be appealed to the State Board 
of Education in accordance with the procedure described in 
Regulation 1006 Section 10.1.3.

3.0 Physical Examinations, Weight control Programs for 
Wrestling and Required Medical Personnel in Attendance at 
All Football Games

3.1 Physical Examinations
3.1.1 A student shall not be eligible to practice, 

scrimmage, or compete in an interscholastic contest unless 
he/she has been adequately examined by a licensed 
physician (M.D. or D.O.), a certified nurse practitioner, or a 
certified physician's assistant on or after May 1 and before 
beginning such athletic activity for the current school year.

3.1.2 A certificate to that effect, as well as the 
parent's, legal guardian's or Relative Caregiver’s consent, 
shall be on file with the administrative head of the school 
prior to the student participating in a practice, scrimmage, or 
game.

3.1.3 For any subsequent sports season in the 
school year, a limited reexamination shall be performed if 
any of the following circumstances exist: the athlete has 
been treated for an injury during the preceding sports season, 
the athlete has been out of school during the preceding sports 
season with an illness other than the usual minor upper 
respiratory or gastrointestinal upset, an operation has been 
performed on the athlete during the preceding term, or the 
athlete has a remedial defect.

3.1.4 The medical history of the student should 
be available at the time of each examination.

3.1.5 A player who is properly certified to 
participate in interscholastic athletics but is physically 
unable to participate for five (5) consecutive days on which a 
practice, scrimmage, or contest is held due to illness or 
injury, must present to the administrative head of the school 
or designee, a statement from a qualified physician that he/
she is again physically able to participate.

3.2 Wrestling Weight Control Program
3.2.1 Each year, four (4) weeks from the first 

day he/she appears at practice, a wrestler must establish his/ 
her minimum weight class at a weigh-in witnessed by and 
attested to in writing by the athletic director or a designated 
staff member (excluding coaches) of the school the wrestler 
attends. A wrestler may re-certify at a lower weight during 
the 4 weeks from the first day he/she appears at practice. 
However, once certified at a weight, a wrestler may not 
weigh-in more than one class above the weight of the 

certification without automatically re-certifying at a higher 
weight.  Once re-certified to a higher weight class the 
wrestler can no longer re-certify lower.  After 4 weeks from 
the first practice day a wrestler may not compete in a weight 
class below his duly established weight class.

3.2.2 The weight classifications shall be as 
follows:

76 lbs. 100 lbs. 124 lbs. 148 lbs.
82 lbs. 106 lbs. 130 lbs. 155 lbs.
88 lbs. 112 lbs. 136 lbs. 165 lbs.
94 lbs. 118 lbs. 142 lbs. 250 lbs.
(minimum  weight 164 lbs.)

3.2.3 With the exception of the above weight 
classifications, the current edition of the NFHS Wrestling 
Rules Book shall apply.

3.2.4 By the end of four (4) weeks of practice, a 
certified team roster listing the established minimum weight 
class of each wrestler shall be sent to the Executive Director 
of DIAA.  Further, duly attested notices of additions to the 
certified roster shall be sent to the Executive Director 
without delay.

3.2.5 Schools which desire to conduct their 
wrestling program at a time other than the specified season 
must request permission from the Executive Director.

3.2.5.1 A team which begins its season in 
October shall receive a one-pound growth allowance in 
November and an additional pound in December.  A team 
which begins its season in November shall receive a one-
pound growth allowance in December, an additional pound 
in January, and a third pound in February.

3.3 Required Medical Personnel In Attendance at All 
Football Games

3.3.1 Provision shall be made for a licensed 
physician, a NATA certified athletic trainer, or a registered 
nurse to be present at all interscholastic football games in 
which a member school participates.  The host school shall 
provide this service.  Failure by the host school to provide 
this service shall result in a $100.00 fine.

4.0 Sports Seasons, Practice Sessions and Maximum Game 
Schedules and designated Sports Seasons

4.1 Sports Seasons
4.1.1 The fall sports season shall begin on 

August 25 and end not later than December 1. Practice for 
any fall sport shall not begin earlier than August 25.

4.1.1.1 The first three (3) days of football 
practice shall be primarily for the purpose of physical 
conditioning and shall be restricted to non-contact activities. 
Coaches may introduce offensive formations and defensive 
alignments, run plays on "air", practice non-contact phases 
of the kicking game, and teach non-contact positional skills. 
Protective equipment shall be restricted to helmets, mouth 
guards and shoes.  The use of dummies, hand shields, and 
sleds in contact drills is prohibited.  Blocking, tackling, and 
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block protection drills which involve any contact between 
players are also prohibited.

4.1.1.2 No member school shall participate in 
spring football games nor shall a member school conduct 
football practice of any type outside of the regular fall sports 
season except when participating in the state tournament.  " 
Organized football" or "organized football practice" shall be 
defined as any type of sport which is organized to promote 
efficiency in any of the various aspects of football.  Touch 
football, featuring blocking, tackling, ball handling, 
signaling, etc. shall be considered "organized football" and 
shall be illegal under the intent of this rule

4.1.2 The winter sports season shall begin 21 
days before the first Friday in December and end not later 
than March 1.  Practice for any winter sport shall not begin 
earlier than 21 days before the first Friday in December 

4.1.3 The spring sports season shall begin on 
March 1 and end not later than the last school day.  Practice 
for any spring sport shall not begin earlier than March 1.

4.1.4 A school which conducts practice prior to 
the first allowable date shall pay a $100.00 fine per each 
illegal practice day and a school which participates in a game 
prior to the first allowable date shall be required to forfeit the 
contest and pay a $100.00 fine.

4.1.5 No member school shall participate in a 
post season contest without the written approval of the 
Executive Director.

4.2 Practice Sessions
4.2.1 A practice session shall be defined as any 

instructional or conditioning activity on the field, court, mat, 
or track or in the pool, weight room, or classroom such as 
team meetings, film reviews, chalkboard sessions, warmup 

and cool down exercises, drills, and mandatory strength 
training, etc.  Member schools shall conduct a minimum of 
21 calendar days of practice under the supervision of the 
school's coaching staff prior to the first scheduled contest in 
all sports.

4.2.2 Practice sessions shall be limited to two 
(2) hours on official school days.  Split sessions may be 
conducted, but practice time shall not exceed two (2) hours 
for any individual athlete.  The two-hour practice limitation 
does not include time for non-instructional activities such as 
dressing, showering, transportation, or training room care.

4.2.3 Practicing on holidays and weekends shall 
be left to the individual schools and conferences.  However, 
there shall be one day of no activity (practice, scrimmage or 
contests) during any seven day period.

4.2.4 A student shall be required to practice for 
a period of at least seven (7) calendar days prior to 
participating in a contest.  However, if an eighth grade 
student has been participating in a state tournament during 
the preceding sports season and is unable to begin practicing 
at least seven (7) calendar days before his/her team's first 
contest, he/she shall be exempt from this requirement.

4.2.5 A school which exceeds the two-hour 
practice limitation shall pay a $100.00 fine.

4.3 Maximum Game Schedules and Designated Sports 
Seasons:  

4.3.1 The maximum number of regularly 
scheduled interscholastic contests/competition dates for each 
team and individual in the recognized sports and their 
designated season shall be as follows:

Team Limitations Individual Limitations

Sport Season Week Week Day

Fall
 Cross Country (boys and girls) 12 competition dates +2 competition dates +2 competition dates
 Field Hockey (girls) 12 contests 2 contests 2 competition dates 2 halves
 Football (boys) 8 contests 1 contest 4 quarters
 Soccer (boys) 12 contests 2 contests 2 competition dates 2 halves
 Volleyball (girls) 12 competition dates 2 competition dates 2 competition dates

of which one date may 
involve more than
2 teams

Winter
 Basketball (boys and girls)    14 contests 2 contests 2 competition dates 4 quarters
 Wrestling (boys) * 12 contests 2 competition dates 2 competition dates 5 matches

Spring
 Baseball (boys) 12 contests 2 contests 2 contests
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+ A team may not participate in two different cross 
country or outdoor track meets on the same day.

*Participation in a triangular meet shall count as two 
contests and participation in a quadrangular meet shall count 
as three contests toward the seasonal limitation.

Participation in any part of a quarter/half shall count as a 
quarter/half toward the weekly and daily limitations in that 
sport. However, in the case of football, participation on a 
free kick or a play from a scrimmage kick formation shall 
not count as a quarter.  Overtime periods shall be considered 
as part of the fourth quarter or second half.

4.3.2 The preceding game limitations, with the 
exception of the individual daily limitation, shall not prohibit 
the rescheduling of postponed games at the discretion and 
convenience of the member schools involved provided the 
game was postponed due to inclement weather, unplayable 
field conditions, failure of the assigned officials to appear for 
the game, breakdown of the bus or van carrying the visiting 
team, or any other circumstances beyond the control of site 
management which preclude playing the game.  However, a 
team may not participate in more than three (3) contests/ 
competition dates in a week.

4.3.3 A student shall participate in a particular 
sport for only one season during each academic year.

4.3.4 A school which participates in more than 
the allowable number of contests in a season shall be fined 
$200.00.

4.3.5 A school which exceeds the weekly 
contest limitation shall forfeit the contest and pay a $100.00 
fine.

4.3.6 A student who exceeds the weekly or daily 
contest limitation shall be considered an ineligible athlete 
and the school subject to the penalties stipulated in 2.10.

5.0 School/Team Competition, Sanctioning of Competitions 
and All Star Contests

5.1 School/Team Competition 
5.1.1 Sponsoring Interscholastic Teams: 

Interscholastic competition is defined as any athletic contest 
between students representing two (2) or more schools. 
Member of school clubs who participate in non-competitive, 
recreational activities or compete unattached are not 
considered to be engaged in interscholastic competition. 
Students are considered to be representing a school if the 
school does any of the following:

5.1.1.1 Partially or wholly subsidizes the 
activity (providing equipment, uniforms, transportation, 
entry fees, etc.).

5.1.1.2 Controls and administers the funds, 
regardless of their source, needed to conduct the activity.

5.1.1.3 Permits the students to compete under 
the name of the school.

5.1.1.4 Publicizes or promotes the activity 
through announcements, bulletins, or school sponsored 
publications in excess of what is customarily done for 
“outside” organizations.

5.1.1.5 Presents or displays individual/ team 
awards.

5.1.2 Schools may sponsor teams for 
interscholastic competition in a sport provided the following 
criteria are met:

5.1.2.1 The governing body of the 
participating district or non-public school approves 
participation in the sport.  The administrative head of the 
school shall notify the Executive Director in writing of the 
school’s intent to sponsor a team in a new sport.

5.1.2.2 The governing body of the 
participating district or non-public school controls the funds 
needed to support the proposed team, regardless of their 
source, in the same manner as existing teams (coaches' 
salaries, purchase and repair of equipment, medical 
supervision, transportation, preparation and maintenance of 
practice and game facilities, awards, etc.).  Requests from 
outside sources to make financial contributions or to donate 
equipment or services must be submitted in writing and must 
include an acknowledgment that the equipment becomes the 
property of the school. The contribution or donation must be 
approved in writing by the administrative head of the school.

5.1.2.3 The participating schools agree to 
comply with all applicable DIAA rules and regulations as 
stated in the current DIAA Official Handbook.

5.1.3 Levels of Participation
5.1.3.1 Level 1 or developmental sport - less 

than seven (7) participating schools.  DIAA rules and 
regulations shall not be in effect.

5.1.3.2 Level 2 or recognized sport - seven 
(7) or more participating schools. Participating schools must 
petition the DIAA Board of Directors for official recognition 
of the sport.

5.1.3.2.1 At the time of official 
recognition, DIAA shall provide rules publications to the 
participating schools, designate an approved official’s 
association, conduct an annual or biannual rules clinic for 
coaches and officials, and establish a maximum game 
schedule. DIAA rules and regulations shall then be in effect.

5.1.3 2.2 Withdrawal of level 2 status: 
If, for two (2) consecutive years, less than the required 

 Softball (girls) 12 contests 2 contests 2 contests
 Outdoor Track (boys and  girls) 10 competition dates +2 competition dates +2 competition dates
  Tennis (boys and girls) 12 contests 2 contests 2 contests 2 halves
 Outdoor Track (boys and girls) 10 competition dates + 2 competition dates + 2 competition dates
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number of schools participate in a sport, DIAA may 
withdraw official recognition for a period of time as 
determined by the Board of Directors.

5.1.4 Membership on Coed Teams
5.1.4.1 If a school sponsors a boys' team and 

a girls' team in a particular sport, boys shall participate on 
the boys' team and girls shall participate on the girls' team 
even if the teams compete during different seasons.  If a 
school sponsors only a boys' team in a particular sport, girls 
shall be permitted to participate on the boys' team but if a 
school sponsors only a girls' team in a particular sport, boys 
shall not be permitted to participate on the girls' team.

5.2 Sanctioning of Competitions
5.2.1 Member schools may participate in 

tournaments/meets involving four (4) or more schools only if 
the event has been sanctioned by DIAA and, if applicable, by 
the NFHS.  Tournaments/meets shall be sanctioned in 
accordance with the following criteria:

5.2.1.1 The event shall not be for determining 
a regional or national champion.

5.2.1.2 The event shall be organized, 
promoted, and conducted by and all profits go to a nonprofit 
organization.  Involvement by a commercial organization 
shall be limited to providing financial support.

5.2.1.3 Non-symbolic competition awards 
shall have a value of not more than $50.00 per recipient and 
shall require the prior approval of the Executive Director.

5.2.1.4 Non-school event organizers shall 
submit a full financial report to the DIAA office within 
ninety (90) calendar days of the completion of the event.

5.2.1.5 The event organizer shall submit a list 
of out-of-state schools which have been invited to participate 
and such schools shall be subject to approval by the 
Executive Director.

5.2.1.6 Out-of-state schools which are not 
members of their state athletic association shall verify in 
writing that their participating athletes are in compliance 
with their state athletic association’s eligibility rules and 
regulations.

5.2.1.7 The event organizer shall not accept 
financial support or sell advertising to companies involved in 
the production or distribution of alcohol and tobacco 
products.

5.2.1.8 The event organizer shall comply with 
all applicable NFHS sanctioning requirements.

5.2.2 Participation in a non-sanctioned event 
shall result in payment of a $25.00 fine.  A second offense 
shall result in a $50.00 fine and loss of eligibility to 
participate in sanctioned events for the remainder of the 
sport season.  A third offense shall result in a $100.00 fine 
and loss of eligibility to participate in sanctioned events for 
the remainder of the school year.

5.3 All-Star Contests: Junior high/middle school 
students shall not participate in an all-star event until they 

have completed their high school eligibility in that sport.

6.0 Out of Season Athletic Camps and Clinic Sponsorship, 
Commercial Camps and Clinics and Open Gyms, 
Conditioning Programs and Non School Competition

6.1 Out of season Athletic Camps and Clinic 
Sponsorship

6.1.1 DIAA does not restrict a student’s decision 
to attend an out of season  athletic camp/clinic.  However, 
schools, school organizations, coaches, or school related 
groups, such as booster clubs, may not sponsor an athletic 
camp/clinic which limits membership to their own district, 
locale, or teams.  Coaches employed by an out of season 
athletic camp/clinic may only instruct their own athletes in 
accordance with 7.5.

6.1.1.1 School related groups, such as booster 
clubs, which desire to sponsor the attendance of their 
school's enrolled students at out of season athletic camp/
clinic, may do so with the approval of the local school board 
or governing body.  The disbursement of funds to pay for 
camp/clinic related expenses (fees, travel costs, etc.) shall be 
administered by the principal or his/her designee and the 
funds shall be allocated according to the following 
guidelines:

6.1.1.1.1 All students and team 
members shall be notified of the available sponsorship by 
announcement, publication, etc.

6.1.1.1.2 All applicants shall share 
equally in the funds provided.

6.1.1.1.3 All applicants shall be 
academically eligible to participate in interscholastic 
athletics.

6.1.1.1.4 All applicants shall have one 
year of prior participation in the sport for which the camp is 
intended or, absent any prior participation, he/she shall be 
judged by the coach to benefit substantially from 
participation in the camp/clinic.

6.2 Commercial Camps and Clinics
6.2.1 Commercial; camps and clinics are 

defined as a camp/clinic operated for profit which provides 
coaching or other sports training for a fee.

6.2.2 A student may participate in a commercial 
camp or clinic, including private lessons, both during and out 
of the designated sport season provided the following 
conditions are observed:

6.2.2.1 The student must participate 
unattached and may not wear school uniforms.

6.2.2.2 The student may use only school 
equipment whose primary purpose is to protect the wearer 
from physical injury.

6.2.2.3 The school may not provide 
transportation or pay fees.

6.2.2.4 The school coach may not require his/
her athletes to participate in a camp or clinic or provide 
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instruction to his/her returning athletes in a camp or clinic 
except as in accordance with 7.5.

6.3 Open Gym Programs
6.3.1 A member school may open its 

gymnasium or other facility for informal, recreational 
activities in accordance with the following provisions:

6.3.1.1 The open gym must be available to all 
interested students, must not be restricted to members of a 
particular team, and must be publicized as such.

6.3.1.2 Student participation must be 
voluntary and the open gym must not be a prerequisite for 
trying out for a particular team.

6.3.1.3 The activities must be unstructured 
and student-generated.  Organized drills in the skills or 
techniques of a particular sport are prohibited.  Organized 
competition with fixed team rosters is also prohibited.

6.3.1.4 A coach may not predetermine that 
the open gym will include only his/her sport and publicize 
the open gym as being restricted to that sport.  It is the 
responsibility of the adult supervisor to permit as many 
different activities as the facility can effectively and safely 
accommodate.

6.3.1.5 A coach may open the facility and 
distribute playing equipment but may not instruct, officiate, 
participate, organize the activities, or choose teams in his/ 
her assigned sport.

6.3.1.6 Playing equipment is restricted to that 
which is customarily used in a contest in a particular sport. 
Playing equipment which is only used in a practice session is 
prohibited.

6.3.1.7 The participants must provide their 
own workout clothing.

6.4 Conditioning Programs
6.4.1 A member school may conduct a 

conditioning program in accordance with the following 
provisions:

6.4.1.1 The conditioning program must be 
available to all interested students, must not be restricted to 
members of a particular team, and must be publicized as 
such.

6.4.1.2 Student participation must be 
voluntary.  The conditioning program must not be a 
prerequisite for trying out for a particular team.

6.4.1.3 Permissible activities include 
stretching, lifting weights, jumping rope, running, 
calisthenics, aerobics, and similar generic conditioning 
activities.  Organized drills in the skills or techniques of a 
particular sport are prohibited.

6.4.1.4 A coach may not provide instruction 
in sport specific skills or techniques.

6.4.1.5 Sport specific equipment is 
prohibited.

6.4.1.6 The participants must provide their 
own workout clothing.

6.5 Non School Competition in which Participates are 
Competing Unattached and are Not Representing Their 
Schools

6.5.1 A student may participate on a non-school 
team or in a non-school individual event both during and out 
of the designated sport season.  However, the student owes 
his/her primary loyalty and allegiance to the school team of 
which he/she is a member.  A school shall have the authority 
to require attendance at practices and contests and students 
not in compliance shall be subject to disciplinary action as 
determined by the school.

6.5.2 Participation on a non-school team or in a 
non-school individual event shall be subject to the following 
conditions:

6.5.2.1 With the exception of organized 
intramurals, the student may not wear school uniforms.

6.5.2.2 With the exception of organized 
intramurals, the student may use only school equipment 
whose primary purpose is to protect the wearer from 
physical injury.

6.5.2.3 The school or a school affiliated 
support group may not provide transportation.

6.5.2.4 The school or a school affiliated 
support group may not pay entry fees or provide any form of 
financial assistance.

6.5.2.5 The school coach may not require his/
her athletes to participate in non-school competition or 
provide instruction to his/her athletes in non-school 
competition except as in 7.5.

6.5.3 14 Del.C. §122 (15) requires written 
parental permission prior to participation on a similar team 
during the designated sport season.  Written authorization 
must be on file in the student's school prior to engaging in a 
tryout, practice, or contest with a similar team.  Consent 
forms shall be available in all member schools.  Similar 
teams shall include organized intramural teams as well as 
non-school teams in that sport.

7.0 Certified and Emergency and Volunteer Coaches, 
Student Teaching and Coaching Out of Season

7.1 Certified Coaches
7.1.1 Only those professional employees 

certified by the Department of Education and whose salary is 
paid by the State and/or local Board of Education, or in the 
case of charter and non-public schools by a similar 
governing body, if acceptable as a coach by the governing 
body, shall coach, assist in coaching, or direct member 
school teams in any district.  The terms of employment must 
be for the regular school year and the professional 
assignment shall be no less than 1/2 of the school day, 
exclusive of coaching duties.

7.1.2 All head coaches shall be required to 
attend the DIAA rules clinic for their sport or, if applicable, 
pass an open book rules examination supplied by the DIAA 
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office.  A school shall pay a $50.00 fine and the head coach 
shall be placed on probation if he/ she fails to attend the 
DIAA rules clinic or pass the open book rules examination in 
his/her sport.  Failure to comply for a second consecutive 
year shall result in the school paying a $50.00 fine and the 
coach being suspended for up to five contests as determined 
by the Executive Director.

7.1.2.1 Certified coaches at all levels of 
competition shall be required to hold a current certification 
in adult CPR.

7.2 Emergency Coaches
7.2.1 An emergency coach shall be defined as an 

individual who is either not certified by the Department of 
Education, or is certified by the Department of Education but 
is not employed for the school year or whose professional 
assignment is less than 1/2 of the school day.  An individual 
who meets the requirements of a certified coach as specified 
in 21.1, but whose professional assignment is located in a 
different school or district than his/her coaching assignment 
shall not be considered an emergency coach by DIAA.

7.2.1.1 Emergency coaches at all levels of 
competition shall be required to hold a current certification 
in adult CPR.

7.2.2 Member schools shall be required to 
annually reopen all positions that are held by emergency 
coaches.

7.2.3 Emergency coaches may be employed 
provided the local governing body adheres to the following 
procedures:

7.2.3.1 The employing Board of Education 
must attempt to locate an acceptable, certified professional 
staff member by advertising the coaching vacancy in the 
district for as many days as are required by the district's 
collective bargaining agreement.

7.2.3.2 If an acceptable, certified professional 
staff member is not available, an individual who is 
acceptable to the employing Board of Education may be 
hired as an emergency coach.

7.2.3.3 Any individual employed as a coach 
under the emergency provision must comply with the 
following regulations:

7.2.3.3.1 He/she must be officially 
appointed by the local Board of Education. The 
superintendent or his/her designee may temporarily appoint 
an individual if a coaching vacancy arises and the sport 
season begins during the interim between meetings of the 
local Board of Education.

7.2.3.3.2 His/her coaching salary must 
be paid exclusively by the local Board of Education.

7.3 Student Teaching and Coaching
7.3.1 Students who are practice teaching in a 

member school shall be permitted to assist in all professional 
activities during their practice teaching period.

7.4 Volunteer Coaches

7.4.1 In addition to the members of the school's 
regular coaching staff, the local governing body may 
supplement a school's coaching staff with volunteer coaches. 
Volunteer coaches are individuals who donate their services 
to a school and who have been approved by that school's 
local governing body.  A current list of approved volunteer 
coaches shall be on file in the school's administrative office 
before any coaching duties are assumed.

7.5 Coaching Out of Season
7.5.1 From August 2nd through June 14th, a 

certified, emergency, or volunteer coach shall not be allowed 
to provide instruction out of the designated season in his/her 
assigned sport to returning members of the teams of the 
school at which he/she coaches or transfer students from 
other schools who play the coach’s sport.

7.5.1.1 A coach shall not be allowed to 
participate on a team in his/her assigned sport with the 
aforementioned players.

7.5.1.2 A coach shall also be prohibited from 
officiating contests in his/her assigned sport if the 
aforementioned players are participating except in organized 
league competition.

7.5.1.3 The league shall not be organized and 
conducted by the employing school, the employing school’s 
booster club, or the employing school’s coaching staff.

7.5.1.4 The league shall have written rules 
and regulations that govern the conduct of contests and 
establish the duties of contest officials.

7.5.1.5 The league shall have registration/
entry procedures, forms, and fees; eligibility requirements; 
and fixed team rosters, team standings, and a master 
schedule of contests.

7.5.1.6 A certified, emergency, or volunteer 
coach shall not be allowed to provide instruction during the 
designated season in his/her assigned sport to current 
members of the teams of the school at which he/she coaches 
outside of school sponsored practices, scrimmages, and 
contests.

7.5.1.7 A coach who is in violation of this 
section shall be suspended from coaching in the specified 
sport at any DIAA member school for up to the total number 
of days in the school year from the date the charge is 
substantiated.

7.5.2 From June 15th through August 1st, a 
certified, emergency or volunteer coach shall be allowed to 
provide instruction in his/her assigned sport to returning 
members of the varsity or sub-varsity teams of the school at 
which he/she coaches.  Instructional contact with the 
aforementioned returning school team members shall be 
subject to the following conditions:

7.5.2.1 A coach may provide instruction to an 
unlimited number of his/her returning school team members 
in formal league/tournament competition or in formal 
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instructional camps/clinics provided the league/tournament 
or instructional camp/clinic is organized and conducted by a 
non-school affiliated organization.

7.5.2.2 A coaching staff may provide 
instruction to a maximum of two returning school team 
members in an informal setting where the student has 
initiated the contact and it was not scheduled.  A coaching 
staff may have multiple two-hour sessions on any given day. 
Returning school team members shall not receive more than 
two hours of sports instruction per day.  

7.5.2.3 A coach shall not receive any 
compensation, from any source, for the instruction of his/her 
returning school team members.  Reimbursement for out-of-
pocket expenses (e.g. gas, food, lodging) incurred by 
returning school team members and coaches to attend 
leagues/tournaments or instructional camps/clinics are not 
prohibited provided that no local school or state educational 
funds are used.

7.5.2.4 Participation in the formal league/
tournament or instructional camp/clinic, or informal 
instruction shall be open, voluntary and equally available to 
all returning school team members as well as to members of 
the student body.

7.5.2.5 A coach in violation of this section 
shall be suspended from coaching in the specific sport at any 
DIAA member school for up to the total number of days in 
the school year from the date the charge is substantiated.

8.0 Recognition of Officials’ Associations, Required Use of 
Officials and Attendance at Rules Clinics

8.1 Recognition of Officials’ Associations
8.1.1 The officiating of interscholastic contests 

in the state of Delaware which involve one (1) or more 
member schools shall be under the control of the DIAA and 
such control may include, but not be restricted to, giving 
examinations, evaluating officials, setting game fees, 
determining the number of officials per game, and assigning 
officials.

8.1.2 An official’s association which desires to 
officiate middle school and/or high school contests shall 
request recognition and approval from DIAA by submitting 
the following documents to the DIAA Officials' Committee:

8.1.2.1 A letter of request indicating the 
association's willingness to abide by DIAA rules and 
regulations.

8.1.2.2 A brief history of the association.
8.1.2.3 A copy of the association's 

constitution and bylaws including a statement that it does not 
discriminate on the basis of age, gender, race, religion, etc.

8.1.2.4 A description of the association's 
evaluation and rating system.

8.1.2.5 A description of the association's 
recruiting and training programs for new members.

8.1.2.6 A membership roster indicating the 

number of years of experience at the sub-varsity, varsity, and 
state tournament levels for each member and also his/her 
most recent rating in a previous association.

8.1.2.7 If applicable, letters of 
recommendation or names of references from leagues which 
the association has serviced during the past year.

8.1.3 The Officials' Committee shall review the 
aforementioned documents and, if necessary, meet with the 
officers of the association to discuss their petition.

8.1.4 The Officials' Committee shall reserve the 
right to consult with any other interested parties during the 
evaluation process.

8.1.5 The Officials' Committee shall report its 
findings to the DIAA Board of Directors and recommend 
that the officials' association be granted recognition, granted 
recognition with conditions, or denied recognition.

8.1.6 The president of the officials' association 
or his/her designee shall petition the DIAA Board of 
Directors and the Board shall render a decision.

8.1.7 If more than one association is approved to 
officiate a particular sport, a conference or, in the absence of 
a conference affiliation, an individual school shall determine 
which association shall provide the officials for its home 
contests.

8.2 Required Use of Officials
8.2.1 Member schools and tournament sponsors 

shall be required to use officials approved by DIAA for 
interscholastic contests.  Use of non-approved officials 
without permission from the Executive Director shall result 
in the school or tournament sponsor being assessed a $50.00 
fine per game per non-approved official.

8.2.1.1 In the case of emergencies such as an 
act of God, refusal by an association to work games, or a 
shortage of qualified officials, schools which desire to use 
other than approved officials must obtain permission from 
the Executive Director.

8.3 Attendance at Rules Clinics
8.3.1 Officials shall be required each year to 

both attend the DIAA rules interpretation clinic and to pass 
the rules examination provided by the DIAA office for the 
sport(s) they officiate.

8.3.2 Failure on the part of an official to attend 
the DIAA rules interpretation clinic and pass the rules 
examination in the same season shall cause the official to be 
placed on probation and to lose his/her eligibility to officiate 
a state tournament contest during that season.

8.3.3 Failure to satisfy both requirements in the 
same season for two (2) consecutive years shall cause the 
official to lose varsity officiating status during the second 
season.  Failure to fulfill this obligation in subsequent years 
shall cause the official to continue to be restricted to sub-
varsity contests until both requirements have been satisfied 
in the same season.

8.3.4 Attending the fall soccer rules 
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interpretation clinic shall satisfy the clinic attendance 
requirement for both the boys’ and girls’ soccer seasons. 
Attending the spring soccer rules interpretation clinic shall 
satisfy the clinic attendance requirement for only the girls’ 
soccer season.

8.3.5 If, for a legitimate reason which is 
documented by the president of his/her association, an 
official is unable to attend the DIAA rules interpretation 
clinic, he/she may view a videotape of the DIAA clinic or, in 
the absence of a videotape, attend a clinic conducted by 
another NFHS member state association provided the 
following procedures are observed:

8.3.5.1 No later than the day of the DIAA 
rules interpretation clinic, the president of the association 
notifies the Executive Director, in writing, of the official's 
inability to attend the clinic.

8.3.5.2 The out-of-state clinic is conducted by 
an individual either trained by the NFHS or designated as a 
clinician by the state's athletic association.

8.3.5.3 The official arranges for a letter to be 
sent to the Executive Director from the state's athletic 
association office verifying his/her attendance at the clinic.

9.0 Awards
9.1 Awards

9.1.1 Member schools an support groups 
affiliated with a member schools, such as an alumni 
association or booster club, shall be allowed to present 
recognition awards for team and/or individual 
accomplishments.  The awards, including artwork and 
lettering, shall require the approval of the administrative 
head of the school and their value shall be mostly symbolic, 
not more than $150.00. Member schools and/or support 
groups affiliated with member schools are also permitted to 
sponsor banquets.

9.1.2 A non-profit group such as a coaches 
association, booster club not affiliated with a member 
school, or community service organization shall be allowed 
to present recognition awards for team and/or individual 
accomplishments with the approval of the administrative 
head of the school. Non-profit groups shall also be permitted 
to sponsor banquets.

9.1.3 Commercial organizations shall be 
allowed to present recognition awards for team and/or 
individual accomplishments with the approval of the 
administrative head of the school.

9.1.4 Permissible awards include trophies, 
plaques, medals, letters, certificates, photographs, and 
similar items.  Jackets, sweaters, shirts, watches, rings, 
charms, and similar items if properly inscribed (reference to 
the team or individual athletic accomplishment) are also 
acceptable.  The awards shall have symbolic value only, 
awards with utilitarian value are prohibited..  The aggregate 
retail value of the award shall not exceed $150.00 per team 

or per recipient and shall require prior approval of the 
Executive Director.

10.0 Use of Influence for Athletic Purposes
10.1 Definition: The use of influence for athletic 

purposes shall include, but not be limited to, the following:
10.1.1 Offer of money, room, board, clothing, 

transportation, or other valuable consideration to a 
prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed 
legal guardian(s).

10.1.2 Offer of waiver/reduction of tuition or 
financial aid if based, even partially, on athletic 
considerations.

10.1.3 Preference in job assignments or offer of 
compensation for work performed in excess of what is 
customarily paid for such services.

10.1.4 Offer of special privileges not accorded to 
other students.

10.1.5 Offer of financial assistance including free 
or reduced rent, payment of moving expenses, etc., to induce 
a prospective athlete or his/her parent(s),legal guardian(s) or 
Relative Caregiver to change residence..

10.2 Illegal Contact with Students, Legal guardians, 
or a Relative Caregiver

10.2.1 A school employee or Board approved 
volunteer may not initiate contact or request that a booster 
club member, alumnus, or player initiate contact with a 
student enrolled in another school or his/her parent(s), legal 
guardian(s) or a relative Caregiver in order to persuade the 
student to enroll in a particular school for athletic purposes. 
Illegal contact shall include, but not be limited to, letters, 
questionnaires or brochures, telephone calls, and home visits 
or personal contact at athletic contests.

10.2.2 If a coach or athletic director is contacted 
by a prospective athlete or his/her parent(s), legal 
guardian(s)or a Relative Caregiver , the former must refer 
the individual(s) to the principal or school personnel 
responsible for admissions.

10.3 Permitted Activities
10.3.1 A school employee or Board approved 

volunteer may do the following:
10.3.1.1 Discuss the athletic program with 

a prospective student or his/her parent(s), legal guardian(s)or 
Relative Caregiver during an open house or approved visit 
initiated by the parent(s), legal guardian(s) or Relative 
Caregiver..

10.3.1.2 Provide information concerning 
sports offered, facilities, conference affiliation, and general 
athletic policies.  However, he/she is not permitted to state or 
imply in any way that his/her athletic program is superior to 
that of another school or that it would be more beneficial or 
advantageous for the prospective student to participate in 
athletics at his/her school.

10.3.1.3 Conduct an informational 
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presentation at a feeder school.
10.4 School Choice

10.4.1 If the number of applicants under the 
Delaware School Choice Program exceeds the number of 
available student openings, the selection criteria established 
by the district shall not include athletic considerations.

10.5 Penalties 
10.5.1 The use of influence or illegal contact but 

not limited to violations of 10.1 and 10.2 by a person(s) 
employed by or representing a member school including 
members of alumni associations, booster groups, and similar 
organizations to persuade, induce, or facilitate the 
enrollment of a student in that school for athletic purposes 
may render the student ineligible for up to 1 full school year 
from the date the charge is substantiated.  In addition, the 
offending school may be placed on probation, as determined 
by the DIAA Board of Directors, and the offending 
employee, if a coach, may be suspended for up to one (1) full 
school year from the date the charge is substantiated.

1009  DIAA Senior High School Interscholastic Athletics

1.0 National Federation of State High Schools, 
Conferences, Contracts and Equivalency Rules

1.1 National Federation of High School Associations
1.1.1 DIAA is affiliated with the National 

Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS).  The 
playing codes, sanctions, and other rules of the NFHS are 
adopted except as modified by the DIAA Board of Directors.

1.1.1.1 The playing rules of the United States 
Tennis Association, the United States Golf Association, and 
the United States Lacrosse Association are adopted for the 
sports of tennis, golf, and girls' lacrosse respectively except 
as modified by the DIAA Board of Directors.

1.2 Conferences
1.2.1 Member schools may establish voluntary 

conference organizations that may be composed of public 
and non-public schools.  When established, they must submit 
their conferences’ proposed membership and its constitution 
and bylaws to the DIAA Board of Directors and be approved 
by the DIAA Board of Directors before the schools may 
enter into any contractual agreements.

1.2.1.1 All subsequent amendments to the 
constitution and bylaws of the conferences must be 
compatible with all provisions of the DIAA Regulations; 
interpretations and with the rulings of the Executive 
Director, Sportsmanship Committee, and Board of Directors; 
state tournament regulations; and DIAA approved playing 
codes.

1.3 Contracts
1.3.1 Contracts between DIAA member schools 

or between DIAA member schools and full member schools 
of comparable state associations are encouraged but not 
required.

1.3.1.1 Conference master contracts are 
approved substitutes for individual contracts.

1.3.1.2 In the case of a dispute and provided 
either a signed individual contract or conference master 
contract was received in the DIAA office or postmarked 
prior to the contest in question, appeal may be made to the 
Executive Director or the DIAA Board of Directors which, 
after review of the circumstances, may assign an appropriate 
penalty.

1.3.1.2.1 Without a signed individual 
contract or conference master contract, a member school has 
no right of appeal to the Executive Director or the DIAA 
Board of Directors.

1.3.2 Contracts between DIAA member schools 
and non-member or associate member schools of 
comparable state associations are required.

1.3.2.1 A copy of the signed contract must be 
either received by the Executive Director or postmarked 
prior to the contest for which the agreement was drawn up. 
Failure to file a signed contract as prescribed shall result in 
the DIAA member school being assessed a $15.00 fine.

1.3.2.2 In the case of a dispute, a member 
school has no right of appeal to the Executive Director or the 
DIAA Board of Directors unless a signed individual contract 
is in place.

1.3.3 Contracts shall be interchanged according 
to the following provisions:

1.3.3.1 Contracts on the accepted form shall 
be arranged by the competing schools for each season's 
interscholastic athletic contests.

1.3.3.2 Contracts shall be drawn up by the 
faculty manager or other designated staff member of the 
home school of the earlier varsity contest.

1.3.3.3 A signed contract or any part thereof 
may not be nullified or modified except by mutual 
agreement of both schools involved.

1.3.4 If a game is not played, it shall be 
considered “no contest” unless a signed individual contract 
or conference master contract was received in the DIAA 
office or postmarked prior to the contest in question, and one 
of the participating schools breached the agreement in which 
case appeal may be made to the Executive Director or the 
DIAA Board of Directors.

1.3.4.1 If a game is not played because an out 
of state opponent qualifies for its state championship series 
and the date of the playoff game conflicts with the date of the 
regular season game, a forfeit shall not be awarded.

1.4 Equivalency Rules
1.4.1 A full member school shall not participate 

in a scrimmage or contest with an in-state school that is not a 
member in good standing of DIAA.

1.4.1.1 Scrimmage shall be defined in as: an 
informal competition between schools in which the officials 
are not compensated, a score is not kept, the time periods are 
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modified, the results of the competition are not reported to 
the media, the coaches may interrupt the play to provide 
instruction and the competition is strictly for practice 
purposes.

1.4.2 A full member school shall not participate 
in a scrimmage or contest with an associate or non-member 
school of another state association unless the opposing 
school, as part of a written contract, certifies that its 
contestants are eligible under the rules of its home state 
association.

1.4.3 An associate member school shall not 
participate in a scrimmage or contest with an associate or 
non-member school of another state association unless the 
opposing school complies with the conditions specified in 
1.4.2.  However, the opposing school shall be exempt from 
those rules which DIAA has waived for its associate member 
school.

1.4.4 Member schools shall not participate in a 
practice, scrimmage, or contest with a non-school sponsored 
team.

1.4.5 Member schools shall not participate in a 
practice, scrimmage, or contest with post graduate students 
or college students.  This provision shall not apply to games 
played against the alumni or faculty of the school when the 
game is sponsored by school authorities.

1.4.6 A school which participates in a game 
against an illegal opponent shall be required to forfeit the 
contest and be assessed a $100.00 fine.

2.0 Eligibility: No student shall represent a school in an 
interscholastic scrimmage or contest if he/she does not meet 
the following requirements:

2.1 Eligibility, Age
2.1.1 Students who become 19 years of age on 

or after June 15 shall be eligible for all sports during the 
school year provided all other eligibility requirements are 
met.  In determining the age of a contestant, the birth date as 
entered on the birth record of the Bureau of Vital Statistics 
shall be required and shall be so certified on all eligibility 
lists.

2.1.1.1 Requests for a waiver of the age 
requirement shall only be considered for participation on an 
unofficial, non-scoring basis in non-contact or non-collision 
sports

2.2 Eligibility, Residence
2.2.1 With the exception of boarding school 

students, a student must be living with his/her custodial 
parent(s), legal guardian(s), or Relative Caregiver in the 
attendance zone of the school which he/she attends, or be a 
student 18 years of age or older and living in the attendance 
zone of the school which he/she attends (see 2.2.1.7), in 
order to be eligible for interscholastic athletics in that school. 
In cases of joint custody, the custodial parent shall be the 
parent with actual physical placement as determined by 

court. In the case of shared custody the parents must commit 
to sending the student to a particular school for the year. 
Maintaining multiple residences in order to circumvent this 
requirement shall render the student ineligible.

2.2.1.1 A student who, pursuant to 
established school board policy or administrative procedure, 
remains in a school he/she has been attending after his/her 
legal residence changes to the attendance zone of a different 
school in the same school district, may exercise, prior to the 
first official student day of the subsequent academic year, a 
one time election to remain at his/her current school and 
thereby not lose athletic eligibility.  If a student chooses to 
remain at his/her current school and then transfers to the 
school in his/her new attendance zone on or after the first 
official student day of the subsequent academic year, he/ she 
shall be ineligible, for ninety (90) school days.

2.2.1.2 A student who changes residence to a 
different attendance zone after the start of the last marking 
period and, pursuant to established school board policy or 
administrative procedure, shall be granted permission to 
continue attending his/her present school, the student shall 
retain his/her athletic eligibility in that school for the 
remainder of the school year provided all other eligibility 
requirements are met.

2.2.1.3 A student shall be permitted to 
complete his/her senior year at the school he/she is attending 
and remain eligible even though a change of legal residence 
to the attendance zone of another school has occurred.  This 
provision shall refer to any change of legal residence that 
occurs after the completion of the student's junior year.

2.2.1.4 A student may be residing outside of 
the attendance zone of the school which he/she attends if the 
student is participating in the Delaware School Choice 
Program as authorized by 14 Del.C., Ch.4.

2.2.1.5 A student who is a non-resident of 
Delaware shall be eligible to attend a public school, charter 
school or career-technical school if, in accordance with 14 
Del.C. '607, his/her custodial parent or court appointed 
legal guardian or Relative Caregiver is a full-time employee 
of that district.

2.2.1.6 Notwithstanding 2.2.1, a student shall 
be eligible at a public or vocational-technical school if he/ 
she is enrolled in accordance with 14 Del.C. §202(f), the 
Caregivers School Authorization.

2.2.1.6.1An exception would be a student 
whose relative caregiver does not provide the documentation 
required by the Caregivers’ School Authorization (proof of 
relation and proof of full-time care) but is permitted to 
register on the basis of a petition for the transfer of 
guardianship.  A student who registers on the basis of a 
petition for the transfer of guardianship is not eligible to 
scrimmage or compete until the relative caregiver has 
provided the aforementioned required documentation or has 
received a signed court order designating him/her as the 
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student’s legal guardian.
2.2.1.7 A student who reaches the age of 

majority (18) and leaves his/her parents' place of residency 
and jurisdiction thereof, and moves to another attendance 
zone to continue his/her high school education shall be 
ineligible to participate in athletics for 90 school days 
commencing with the first day of official attendance.  This 
provision shall not apply to a student participating in the 
Delaware School Choice Program, as authorized by 14 
Del.C. Ch. 4, provided the student’s choice application was 
properly submitted prior to his/her change of residence.

2.2.1.8 Notwithstanding 2.2.1, a student who 
is homeless as defined in the McKinney-Vento Act, 42 
U.S.C. 11434a(2) shall be eligible to participate at the public 
school in which he/she is enrolled.

2.3 Eligibility, Enrollment and Attendance
2.3.1 A student must be legally enrolled in the 

high school which he/she represents in order to participate in 
a practice, scrimmage or contest.

2.3.2 A shared-time student who attends two (2) 
different schools during the regular school day shall be 
eligible to participate only at his/her home school.  A 
student's home school shall be the school at which he/she is 
receiving instruction in the core academic areas and at which 
he/she is satisfying the majority of his/her graduation 
requirements; not a school at which he/she is receiving only 
specialized educational instruction such as vocational 
training.

2.3.3 A student who attends the Sterck School 
shall participate in interscholastic athletics at the Sterck 
School.  If the Sterck School does not sponsor a particular 
sport, Sterck students shall be eligible to participate in 
interscholastic athletics at the Christiana High School, the 
high school in closest proximity to the Sterck School.

2.3.3.1 Notwithstanding 2.3.1 and 2.3.2 
above, a shared time student who attends the Sterck School 
and a mainstream high school during the regular school day 
shall participate in interscholastic athletics at the Sterck 
School.  If the Sterck School does not sponsor a particular 
sport, the shared-time student shall be eligible to participate 
in interscholastic athletics only at the mainstream high 
school.

2.3.4 A student who is participating in the 
Delaware School Choice Program, as authorized by 14 
Del.C. Ch.4, is obligated to attend the choice school for a 
minimum of two (2) years unless the students custodial 
parent(s), legal guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver relocate to 
a different school district or the student fails to meet the 
academic requirements of the choice school.  If a student 
attends a choice school for less than two (2) years and 
subsequently returns to his/her home school, the student 
must receive a release from the “choice district” in order to 
legally enroll at his/her home school.  Without a release, the 
student would not be eligible legally enrolled and 

consequently would be ineligible to participate in 
interscholastic athletics.

2.3.5 A student may not participate in a practice, 
scrimmage, or contest during the time a suspension, either 
in-school or out-of-school, is in effect or during the time he/
she is assigned to an alternative school for disciplinary 
reasons.

2.3.6 A student who is not legally in attendance 
at school due to illness or injury shall not be permitted to 
participate in a practice, scrimmage, or contest on that day.

2.3.7 A student who fails to complete a semester 
or is absent for one or more semesters for reasons other than 
personal illness or injury shall be ineligible for ninety (90) 
school days from the date of his/her reentry to school.

2.3.8 An ineligible student who practices in 
violation of 2.2.2 through 2.2.5 shall, when he/she regains 
his/her eligibility, be prohibited from practicing, 
scrimmaging, or competing for an equivalent number of 
days.

2.4 Eligibility, Transfers
2.4.1 A student who has not previously 

participated in interscholastic athletics (previous 
participation is defined as having practiced, scrimmaged, or 
competed in grades 9 through 12) is released by a proper 
school authority from a sending school, has completed the 
registration process at the receiving school, and is pursuing 
an approved course of study shall be eligible immediately 
upon registration provided he/she meets all other DIAA 
eligibility requirements.

2.4.2 If a student has previously participated in 
interscholastic athletics, he/she shall be ineligible for a 
period of ninety (90) school days commencing with the first 
day of official attendance in the receiving school unless one 
of the following exceptions applies:

2.4.2.1 The transfer is within a school district 
and is approved by the district's superintendent pursuant to 
established school board policy or administrative procedure. 
This provision shall not apply to a student who transfers to 
his/her home school from a “choice school” within the 
district and who has not completed the two-year attendance 
requirement unless he/she satisfies the conditions stipulated 
in 2.4.2.5.1 through 2.4.2.5.4.  This provision shall also not 
apply to a student who transfers from a “choice school” to 
another “choice school” within the district.

2.4.2.2 The transfer is caused by court action, 
court action being an order from a court of law affecting 
legally committed students.  In the case of a transfer of 
guardianship/custody, the transfer shall be the result of a 
court order signed by a judge, commissioner, or master of a 
court of competent jurisdiction. A petition for the transfer of 
guardianship/custody, an affidavit, (except as permitted by 
2.4.2.3), or a notarized statement signed by the affected 
parties shall not be sufficient to render the student eligible to 
participate in interscholastic athletics.
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2.4.2.3 The transfer is in accordance with the 
student being placed with a Relative Caregiver as per 14 
Del.C. §202(f), the Caregivers School Authorization.

2.4.2.3.1 An exception would be a 
student whose relative caregiver does not provide the 
documentation required by the Caregivers School 
Authorization (proof of relation and proof of full-time care) 
but is permitted to register on the basis of a petition for the 
transfer of guardianship.  A student who registers on the 
basis of a petition for the transfer of guardianship is not 
eligible to scrimmage or compete until the relative caregiver 
has provided the aforementioned required documentation or 
has received a signed court order designating him/her as the 
student’s legal guardian.

2.4.2.4 The transfer is the result of a change 
in residence by the custodial parent(s) legal guardian(s)or 
Relative Caregiver from the attendance zone of the sending 
school to the attendance zone of the receiving school.  A 
change in residence has occurred when all occupancy of the 
previous residence has ended.  A student who transfers shall 
be eligible in the receiving school immediately, when the 
custodial parent(s) legal guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver 
has established a new legal residence in another public 
school attendance zone. 

2.4.2.5 The transfer occurs after the close of 
the sending school's academic year and prior to the first 
official student day of the receiving school's academic year 
provided that the following has occurred:

2.4.2.5.1 The student has completed 
the registration process at the receiving school prior to the 
first official student day of the academic year.  The first 
official student day shall be defined as the first day on which 
students in any grade in that school are required to be in 
attendance.

2.4.2.5.2 The student has not attended 
class, excluding summer school, or participated in a 
scrimmage or contest at the sending school since the close of 
the previous academic year.

2.4.2.5.3 The student's legal residence 
is located in the attendance zone of the receiving school.

2.4.2.5.4 All other DIAA eligibility 
requirements have been met.

2.4.2.6 The transfer is the result of the student 
being homeless as defined in the McKinney - Vento Act, 42 
U.S.C. 11434a(2).

2.4.2.6.1 Notwithstanding the above, 
the student shall be ineligible under the ninety (90) school 
day ineligibility clause where the student’s homeless status is 
created by the student or his/her family for the primary 
reason of:

2.4.2.6.1.1 Seeking a superior team; 
or

2.4.2.6.1.2 Seeking a team more 
compatible with the student’s abilities; or

2.4.2.6.1.3 Dissatisfaction with the 
philosophy, policies, methods or actions of a coach or 
administrator pertaining to interscholastic athletics; or

2.4.2.6.1.4 Avoiding disciplinary 
action imposed by the school of origin related to or affecting 
interscholastic athletic participation.

2.4.3 Transfer Because of Promotion or 
Administrative Assignment: Transfer because of promotion 
or administrative assignment to the ninth grade from a 
school whose terminal point is the eighth grade, or to the 
tenth grade from a junior high school whose terminal point is 
the ninth grade, shall not constitute a transfer.  Students so 
promoted or administratively assigned shall be eligible.

2.4.4 Transfer Because of a Change in the 
Program of Study or Financial Hardship: If a waiver of the 
ninety (90) school day ineligibility clause is requested due to 
a desired change in the program of study or financial 
hardship, the parent(s), legal guardian(s) or Relative 
Caregiver is responsible for providing documentation to the 
DIAA Board of Directors to support the request.

2.4.4.1 Documentation for change in the 
program of study (a multi-year, hierarchical sequence of 
courses with a common theme or subject matter leading to a 
specific outcome) shall include:

2.4.4.1.1 The student’s schedule;
2.4.4.1.2 The student’s transcript;
2.4.4.1.3 Current course descriptions 

from both the sending and receiving schools;
2.4.4.1.4 A statement from the 

principal of the sending school indicating that a significant 
part of the student's desired program of study will not be 
offered and that it will place the student at a definite 
disadvantage to delay transfer until the end of the current 
school year; and

2.4.4.1.5 A statement from the 
principals of both the sending and receiving schools that the 
student is not transferring for athletic advantage (see 2.4.6).

2.4.4.2 Documentation for Financial 
Hardship: Documentation for financial hardship shall 
include:

2.4.4.2.1 Proof of extreme financial 
hardship caused by significant and unexpected reduction in 
income and/or increase in expenses; and

2.4.4.2.2 A statement from the 
principals of both the sending and receiving schools that the 
student is not transferring for athletic advantage (see 2.4.6).

2.4.5 Transfer Because of Custody Change: In 
cases of joint or shared custody when a primary residence is 
established, a change in a student's primary residence 
without court action subjects the student to the ninety (90) 
school day ineligibility clause.

2.4.6 A change of custody or guardianship for 
athletic advantage shall render a student ineligible under the 
ninety (90) school day ineligibility clause if the reason for 
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his/her transfer is one of the following: to seek a superior 
team, to seek a team more compatible with his/her abilities, 
dissatisfaction with the philosophy, policies, methods, or 
actions of a coach or administrator pertaining to 
interscholastic athletics or to avoid disciplinary action 
imposed by the sending school related to or affecting 
interscholastic athletic participation.

2.4.7 A student who transfers from a public, 
private, vocational-technical, or charter school to a school of 
choice, as authorized by 14 Del.C. Ch.4, shall be eligible 
immediately provided the transfer occurs after the close of 
the sending school's academic year and prior to the first 
official student day of the receiving school's academic year.

2.4.7.1 A student who transfers from a school 
of choice to another school of choice shall be ineligible to 
participate in interscholastic athletics during his/ her first 
year of attendance at the receiving school unless the 
receiving school sponsors a sport(s) not sponsored by the 
sending school in which case the student shall be eligible to 
participate in that sport(s) only.

2.4.8 A student who transfers from a school of 
choice to either a private school, career-technical school or, 
after completing his/her two-year commitment, to a public 
charter school shall be eligible immediately provided the 
transfer occurs after the close of the sending school’s 
academic year and prior to the first official student day of the 
receiving school’s academic year.

2.4.9 If a student transfers with fewer than 
ninety (90) school days left in the academic year, he/she 
shall be ineligible for the remainder of the school year but 
shall be eligible beginning with the subsequent fall sports 
season provided he/she is in compliance with all other 
eligibility requirements.

2.5 Eligibility, Amateur Status
2.5.1 A student may not participate in an 

interscholastic sport unless he/she is considered an amateur 
in that sport.  A student forfeits his/her amateur status if he/ 
she does any of the following:

2.5.1.1 Knowingly plays on or against a 
professional team which is defined as a team having one or 
more members who have received or are receiving directly 
or indirectly monetary consideration for their athletic 
services.. 

2.5.1.2 Signs a professional contract, accepts 
reimbursement for expenses to attend a professional tryout, 
or receives financial assistance in any form from a 
professional sports organization.

2.5.1.3 Enters a competition under an 
assumed name. The surname and given name used by any 
player in his/her first game of interscholastic competition 
shall be used during the remainder of the student's 
interscholastic career. Any change in spelling or use of 
another name shall be regarded as an attempt to evade this 
rule unless the change has been properly certified by the 

player to the principal of the school.
2.5.1.4 Receives remuneration of any kind or 

accepts reimbursement for expenses in excess of the actual 
and necessary costs of transportation, meals, and lodging for 
participating in a team or individual competition or an 
instructional camp or clinic.  Reimbursement for the 
aforementioned expenses is permitted only if all of the 
participants receive the same benefit.

2.5.1.5 Receives cash or a cash equivalent 
(savings bond, certificate of deposit, etc.), merchandise 
(except as permitted by 9.1.4) or a merchandise discount, 
(except for discount arranged by school for part of team 
uniform) a reduction or waiver of fees, a gift certificate, or 
other valuable consideration as a result of his/her 
participation in an organized competition or instructional 
camp/clinic.  Accepting an event program and/or a 
complimentary item(s) (t-shirt, hat, equipment bag, etc.) that 
is inscribed with a reference to the event, has an aggregate 
retail value of no more than $150.00, and is provided to all of 
the participants, shall not jeopardize his/ her amateur status.

2.5.1.6 Sells or pawns awards received.
2.5.1.7 Uses his/her athletic status to promote 

or endorse a commercial product or service in a newsprint, 
radio, or television advertisement or personal appearance.

2.5.2 Accepting compensation for teaching 
lessons, coaching, or officiating shall not jeopardize his/her 
amateur status.

2.5.3 A student who forfeits his/her amateur 
status under the provisions of this rule is ineligible to 
participate at the interscholastic level in the sport in which 
the violation occurred. He/she may be reinstated after a 
period of up to the number of days in the school year 
provided that during the suspension, he/she complies with all 
of the provisions of this rule.  The suspension shall date from 
the time of the last offense.

2.6 Eligibility, Passing Work
2.6.1 In order to be eligible for participation in 

interscholastic athletics, including practices, a student must 
pursue a regular course of study or its equivalent as approved 
by the local governing body, and must be passing at least 
five (5) credits.  Two (2) of those credits must be in the areas 
of English, Mathematics, Science, or Social Studies.

2.6.1.1 A student who is receiving special 
education services and is precluded from meeting the 
aforementioned academic requirements due to modifications 
in the grading procedure or course of study, shall be 
adjudged eligible by the principal if he/she is making 
satisfactory progress in accordance with the requirements of 
his/her individualized education plan (IEP).

2.6.2 In the case of a student in the twelfth 
grade, he/she must be passing all courses necessary for 
graduation from high school in order to be eligible for 
participation. A course necessary for graduation shall be any 
course, whether taken during or outside the regular school 
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day, that satisfies an unmet graduation requirement.
2.6.3 A student whose work in any regular 

marking period does not meet the above standards shall be 
ineligible to participate in interscholastic athletics, including 
practices, for the next marking period.

2.6.3.1 In the case of a conflict between the 
marking period grade and the final grade, the final grade 
shall determine eligibility.

2.6.3.2 The final accumulation of credits shall 
determine eligibility for the first marking period of the 
following school year.  When a student makes up a failure or 
earns the required credit(s) during the summer, he/she shall 
become eligible provided he/she successfully completes the 
course work prior to the first official student day of the 
school year.

2.6.3.3 Written verification of the successful 
completion of a correspondence course must be received 
before a student shall regain his/her eligibility.

2.6.4 A student forfeits or regains his/her 
eligibility, in accordance with the provisions of this rule, on 
the day report cards are issued.

2.6.5 Local school boards and non-public 
schools may establish more stringent requirements for 
academic eligibility than the minimum standards herein 
prescribed.

2.6.6 An ineligible student who practices in 
violation of 2.6.1, 2.6.2, 2.6.3 or 2.6.4 shall, when he/she 
regains his/her eligibility, be prohibited from practicing, 
scrimmaging, or competing for an equivalent number of 
days.

2.7 Eligibility, Years of Participation
2.7.1 No student shall represent a school in 

athletics after four (4) consecutive years from the date of his/
her first entrance into the ninth grade unless a waiver is 
granted for hardship reasons.

2.7.1.1 No student shall have more than four 
(4) opportunities to participate in a fall sport or combination 
of fall sports, in a winter sport or combination of winter 
sports, or in a spring sport or combination of spring sports.

2.7.1.2 “Hardship” shall be defined as 
extenuating circumstances peculiar to the student athlete 
caused by unforseen events beyond the election, control or 
creation of the student athlete, his/her family, or school 
which (1) deprive him/her of all or part of one of his/her 
opportunities to participate in a particular sports season; (2) 
preclude him/her from completing the academic 
requirements for graduation within the normal period of 
eligibility; and (3) deprive him/her of all or part of one of 
his/her opportunities to participate in a particular sport.  The 
waiver provision is intended to restore eligibility that has 
been lost as a result of a hardship situation.  Injury, illness or 
accidents, which cause a student to fail to meet the basic 
requirements, are possible causes for a hardship 
consideration.

2.7.1.2.1 A waiver not shall be granted 
under this section where DIAA finds that the student was 
academically eligible pursuant to DIAA’s minimum passing 
work standards but was ineligible to participate under more 
stringent locally adopted academic standards and where the 
local school board has adopted its own waiver or exemption 
policy.

2.7.1.2.2 A clear and direct causal 
relationship must exist between the alleged hardship 
condition and the failure of the student to complete the 
academic requirements for graduation within the normal 
period of eligibility and the loss of all or part of one of his/ 
her opportunities to participate in a particular sports season.

2.7.1.2.3 The burden of proof rests 
with the student in conjunction with the waiver process as 
described in 14 DE Admin. Code 1006.9.  Claims of 
extended illness, debilitating injury, emotional stress, etc., 
must be accompanied by appropriate documentation. 
Evidence must be submitted to verify that the student or his/
her parent(s) or court appointed legal guardian(s) sought 
assistance to ameliorate the effects of the hardship condition.

2.7.2 Satisfactory completion of studies in 
accordance with promotion policies established by the local 
governing body shall determine when a student is beyond the 
eighth grade.  If the eighth grade is part of the same 
administrative unit as grades 9 through 12, participation on 
the part of an eighth-grade student toward five (5) years of 
eligibility shall be at the discretion of the individual school.

2.7.2.1 Eighth grade students who are 
enrolled or transfer to schools that meet the above criteria 
begin their five years of eligibility for senior high school 
athletic participation the first year they enter eighth grade.

2.7.3 Seventh-grade students shall not be 
permitted to participate on senior high school interscholastic 
teams.

2.7.4 Participation of Postgraduates
2.7.4.1 Participation shall be defined as 

taking part in a school sponsored practice, scrimmage or 
contest on or after the first allowable date for practice in that 
sport.

2.7.4.2 Postgraduates shall not be eligible to 
participate in interscholastic athletics. All graduates of 
recognized senior high schools shall be considered 
postgraduates.

2.7.4.3 A regularly enrolled student taking 
courses in an institution of higher education shall be eligible 
provided he/she meets all other DIAA requirements.

2.7.4.4 Students whose commencement 
exercises are prior to the completion of the school's regular 
season schedule and/or the state tournament shall be eligible 
to compete.

2.8 Eligibility of Foreign Exchange Students and 
International Students

2.8.1 Notwithstanding 2.2, 2.3, and 2.4, foreign 
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exchange students and international students may be eligible 
to participate in interscholastic athletics upon arrival at their 
host school provided they have not attained the age of 19 
prior to June 15 and are enrolled as participants in a 
recognized foreign exchange program.

2.8.1.1 All foreign exchange programs which 
are included on the Advisory List of International 
Educational Travel and Exchange Programs of the Council 
on Standards for International Educational Travel (CSIET) 
and are two (2) semesters in length shall be considered as 
recognized.

2.8.1.2 Students participating in programs not 
included on the CSIET list shall be required to present 
evidence that the program is a bona fide educational 
exchange program before it shall be considered as 
recognized.

2.8.2 International students who are not 
participating in a foreign exchange program are considered 
to be transfer students and are ineligible to compete in 
interscholastic athletics unless they are in compliance with 
all DIAA eligibility requirements including 2.2.

2.8.3 Once enrolled, foreign exchange and other 
international students must comply with all DIAA eligibility 
rules.

2.8.3.1 Athletic recruitment of foreign 
exchange students or other international students by a 
member school or any other entity is prohibited, and any 
such students recruited shall be ineligible.

2.9 Student Eligibility Report Forms
2.9.1 Member schools shall use eligibility forms 

approved by the Executive Director.  A copy of the original 
eligibility report and subsequent addenda must be either 
received by the Executive Director or postmarked prior to 
the first contest for which the students listed are eligible. 
Failure to file an eligibility report as prescribed shall result in 
a $15.00 fine against the school.

2.9.1.1 In the case of a student who met all 
DIAA eligibility requirements but was omitted from the 
eligibility report due to administrative or clerical error, he/ 
she shall be adjudged eligible and the school assessed a 
$10.00 fine.

2.10 Use of an Ineligible Athlete:
2.10.1 If a school uses an ineligible athlete, the 

administrative head or his/her designee shall notify the 
opposing school(s) or event sponsor, in the case of a 
tournament or meet, and the Executive Director in writing of 
the violation and the forfeiture of the appropriate game(s), 
match(es), and/or point(s) won.

2.10.2 The deliberate or inadvertent use of an 
ineligible athlete in the sports of soccer, football, volleyball, 
field hockey, basketball, baseball, softball, and lacrosse shall 
require the offending school to forfeit the contest(s) in which 
the ineligible athlete participated.

2.10.2.1 If the infraction occurs during a 

tournament, including a state championship, the offending 
school shall be replaced by its most recently defeated 
opponent.  Teams eliminated prior to the most recently 
defeated opponent shall not be allowed to reenter the 
tournament, team and/or individual awards shall be returned 
to the event sponsor and team and/or individual records and 
performances shall be nullified.

2.10.2.2 The offending school may appeal 
to the DIAA Board of Directors for a waiver of the forfeiture 
penalty.  If the forfeiture penalty is waived, the offending 
school shall be reprimanded and fined $200.00 unless the 
athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed legal 
guardian(s) knowingly withheld information or provided 
false information that caused him/her to be eligible for 
interscholastic competition.  The burden of proof, in both 
instances, rests entirely with the offending school.  A forfeit 
shall constitute a loss for the offending school and a win for 
its opponent for purposes of standings and playoff eligibility 
and shall be automatic and not subject to refusal by the 
offending school's opponent.

2.10.3 The deliberate or inadvertent use of an 
ineligible athlete in the sports of cross country, wrestling, 
swimming, track, golf, and tennis shall require the offending 
school to forfeit the matches won and/or points earned by the 
ineligible athlete or by a relay team of which he/she was a 
member.  The points contributed by an ineligible athlete to 
his/her team score shall be deleted and the contest score as 
well as the affected placements will be adjusted according to 
the rules of the sport.

2.10.3.1 If the infraction occurs during a 
tournament, including a state championship, the ineligible 
athlete shall be replaced by his/her most recently defeated 
opponent or the next highest finisher.  Contestants 
eliminated prior to the most recently defeated opponent shall 
not be allowed to reenter the tournament.

2.10.3.1.1 Individual awards earned by 
the ineligible athlete and team awards, if necessary because 
of adjustments in the standings, shall be returned to the event 
sponsor.  Individual records and performances by the 
ineligible athlete shall be nullified.

2.10.4 If an ineligible athlete participates in 
interscholastic competition contrary to DIAA rules but in 
accordance with a temporary restraining order or injunction 
against his/her school and/or DIAA, and the injunction is 
subsequently vacated, stayed, or reversed, or the courts 
determine that injunctive relief is not or was not justified, or 
the injunction expires without further judicial determination, 
the penalties stipulated in 2.10.1 and 2.10.2 shall be 
imposed.

2.10.5 The intentional use of an ineligible athlete 
by a member school or repeated indifference to its 
responsibility to determine the eligibility of its athletes will 
subject the school to additional penalties which may include 
suspension for the amount of days up to length of the school 
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year from the date the charge is substantiated.
2.10.6 If a coach knowingly withholds 

information or provides false information that causes an 
athlete to be eligible for interscholastic competition, the 
coach shall be suspended from coaching in any sport at any 
DIAA member school for the amount of days up to length of 
the school year from the date the charge is substantiated.

2.10.7 If an athlete or his/her parent(s), legal 
guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver knowingly withholds 
information or provides false information that causes him/ 
her to be eligible for interscholastic competition, the athlete 
shall be suspended from participation in any sport at any 
DIAA member school for up to the amount of days up to the 
length of the school year from the date the charge is 
substantiated.

2.11 Determination of Student Eligibility and the 
Appeal Proceedures 

2.11.1 In cases of uncertainty or disagreement, 
the eligibility of a student shall be determined initially by the 
Executive Director.  If the Executive Director determines 
that the student is ineligible, the school and the student shall 
be notified and the student suspended immediately from 
participation in interscholastic athletics.

2.11.2 The school and the student shall be 
informed that the decision of the Executive Director may be 
appealed to the DIAA Board of Directors.

2.11.3 Decisions of the DIAA Board of Directors 
to affirm, modify, or reverse the eligibility rulings of the 
Executive Director may be appealed to the State Board of 
Education in accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code 1006.11.

3.0 Physical Examinations, Weight Control Program for 
Wrestling and Required Medical Personnel in Attendance at 
All Football Games.

3.1 Physical examinations
3.1.1 A student shall not be eligible to practice, 

scrimmage, or compete in an interscholastic contest unless 
he/she has been adequately examined by a licensed 
physician (M.D. or D.O.), a certified nurse practitioner, or a 
certified physician's assistant on or after May 1 and before 
beginning such athletic activity for the current school year.

3.1.2 A certificate to that effect, as well as the 
parent's, legal guardian's, or Relative Caregiver’s consent, 
shall be on file with the administrative head of the school 
prior to the student participating in a practice, scrimmage, or 
game.

3.1.3 For any subsequent sports season in the 
school year, a limited reexamination shall be performed if 
any of the following circumstances exist: the athlete has 
been treated for an injury during the preceding sports season, 
the athlete has been out of school during the preceding sports 
season with an illness other than the usual minor upper 
respiratory or gastrointestinal upset, an operation has been 
performed on the athlete during the preceding sports season, 

or the athlete has a remedial defect.
3.1.4 The medical history of the student should 

be available at the time of each examination.
3.1.5 A player who is properly certified to 

participate in interscholastic athletics but is physically 
unable to participate for five (5) consecutive days on which a 
practice, scrimmage, or contest is held due to illness or 
injury, must present to the administrative head of the school 
or designee, a statement from a qualified physician that he/
she is again physically able to participate.

3.2 Wrestling Weight Control Program
3.2.1 Each year, beginning November 1st and 

prior to January 15th, a wrestler must establish his/her 
minimum weight class at a weigh-in witnessed by and 
attested to in writing by the athletic director or a designated 
staff member (excluding coaches) of the school the wrestler 
attends.  The official weigh-in for a regularly scheduled dual 
meet or tournament would establish certification.  In 
addition, each year beginning November 1 and prior to 
January 15, each wrestler is required to determine his/her 
lowest allowable competitive weight according to the DIAA 
Weight Monitoring Program.  A wrestler may re-certify at a 
lower weight class during November 1 and prior to January 
15 if his individual weight loss plan allows for it.  However, 
once certified at a weight a wrestler may not weigh-in more 
than one weight class above the weight of certification 
without automatically re-certifying at a higher weight. Once 
re-certified to a higher weight class the wrestler can no 
longer re-certify lower. After January 14 no wrestler is 
allowed to re-certify at a lower weight. 

3.2.1.1 A wrestler who weighs in at least once 
but fails to establish his/her minimum weight class prior to 
January 15 shall automatically be certified at the weight he/ 
she last weighed in before that date.

3.2.1.2 A wrestler who does not weigh in at 
least once and fails to establish his/her minimum weight 
class prior to January 15 shall automatically be certified at 
the weight he/she first weighs in after that date.

3.2.1.3 A wrestler who is unable, prior to 
January 15, to get down to the maximum allowable weight 
of 275 pounds in order to compete in the heavyweight class 
shall be permitted to certify his/her minimum weight class at 
a later date in the season and thereafter be eligible to 
participate.

3.2.2 By January 15, a certified team roster 
listing the established minimum weight class of each 
wrestler shall be sent to the secretary of the conference to 
which the school belongs or to the secretary of the 
independent tournament.  Further, duly attested notices of 
additions to the certified roster shall be sent to the 
conference secretary without delay.

3.2.2.1 The conference secretary shall in turn 
send to each school in his/her conference copies of the 
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certified rosters of each school.  Further, he/she shall note 
and send copies of the notices of additions to the rosters as 
these additions occur.

3.3 Required Medical Personnel In Attendance at All 
Football Games

3.3.1 Provision shall be made for a licensed 
physician, a NATA certified athletic trainer, or a registered 
nurse to be present at all interscholastic football games in 
which a member school participates.  The host school shall 
provide this service.  Failure by the host school to provide 
this service shall result in a $100.00 fine.

4.0 Sports Seasons, Practices Sessions and Maximum Game 
Schedules and Designated Sports Seasons

4.1 Sports Seasons
4.1.1 The fall sports season shall begin with the 

first approved day for practice and end with the start of the 
state championship in that sport.  Any regular season contest 
that was postponed must be rescheduled and played before 
the beginning of the state tournament in that sport.  A 
conference championship game must also be completed 
before the start of the state tournament in that sport and 
practice for any fall sport shall not begin earlier than 21 days 
before the first Friday after Labor Day. 

4.1.1.1 The first three (3) days of football 
practice shall be primarily for the purpose of physical 
conditioning and shall be restricted to non-contact activities. 
Coaches may introduce offensive formations and defensive 
alignments, run plays "on air," practice non-contact phases 
of the kicking game, and teach non-contact positional skills. 
Protective equipment shall be restricted to helmets, mouth 
guards, and shoes.  The use of dummies, hand shields, and 
sleds in contact drills is prohibited.  Blocking, tackling, and 
block protection drills which involve any contact between 
players are also prohibited.

4.1.1.2 No member school shall participate in 
spring football games nor shall a member school conduct 
football practice of any type outside of the regular fall sports 
season except when participating in the state tournament. 
Organized football" or "organized football practice" shall be 
defined as any type of sport which is organized to promote 
efficiency in any of the various aspects of football.  Touch 
football, featuring blocking, tackling, ball handling, 
signaling, etc. shall be considered "organized football" and 
shall be illegal under the intent of this rule

4.1.2 The winter sports season shall begin with 
the first approved day for practice and end with the start of 
the state championship in that sport.  Any regular season 
contest that was postponed must be rescheduled and played 
before the beginning of the state tournament in that sport. 
Conference championships must also be completed before 
the start of the state tournament in that sport and practice for 
any winter sport shall not begin earlier than 21 days before 
the first Friday in December.

4.1.3 The spring sports season shall begin on 
March 1 and ends with the start of the state championship in 
that sport.  Any regular season contest that was postponed 
must be rescheduled and played before the beginning of the 
state tournament in that sport.  Conference championships 
must also be completed before the start of the state 
tournament in that sport and practice for any spring sport 
shall not begin earlier than March 1.

4.1.4 A school which participates in a game 
prior to the first allowable date or after the start of the state 
championship shall be required to forfeit the contest and be 
assessed a $100.00 fine.

4.1.5 A school which conducts practice prior to 
the first allowable date shall pay a fine of $100.00 per illegal 
practice day.

4.1.6 No member school shall participate in a 
post-season contest without the written approval of the 
Executive Director.

4.2 Practice Sessions 
4.2.1 A practice session shall be defined as any 

instructional activity on the field, court, mat, or track or in 
the pool, weight room, or classroom such as team meetings, 
film reviews, blackboard sessions, warmup and cool down 
exercises, drills or mandatory strength training. Member 
schools shall conduct a minimum of 21 calendar days of 
practice under the supervision of the school's certified, 
emergency and/or approved volunteer coaching staff prior to 
the first scheduled contest in all sports.

4.2.2 Practice sessions shall be limited to two 
(2) hours on official school days.  Split sessions may be 
conducted but practice time shall not exceed two hours for 
any individual athlete. The two-hour practice limitation does 
not include time for non-instructional activities such as 
dressing, showering, transportation, or training room care.

4.2.3 Practicing on holidays and weekends shall 
be left to the discretion of the individual schools and 
conferences.  However there should be one day of no activity 
(practice, scrimmage, or contest) during any seven day 
period.

4.2.4 A student shall be required to practice for 
a period of at least seven (7) calendar days prior to 
participating in a contest.  However, if a student has been 
participating in a state tournament during the preceding 
sports season and is unable to begin practicing at least seven 
(7) calendar days before his/her team's first contest, he/she 
shall be exempt from this requirement.

4.2.5 A school which exceeds the two-hour 
practice limitation shall pay a $100.00 fine.

4.3 Maximum Game Schedules and Designated Sports 
Seasons:

4.3.1 The maximum number of regularly 
scheduled interscholastic contests/competition dates for each 
team and individual in the recognized sports and their sports 
season shall be designated by the DIAA Board of Directors 
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and is as follows:

_  The third contest/competition date in a week must be 
held on Friday (no early dismissal permitted), Saturday or 
Sunday.  This requirement is waived when a school is closed 
for the entire week such as during winter or spring vacation.

+  A team may not participate in two different cross 
country, indoor track or outdoor track meets on the same day.

*  Participation in a triangular meet shall count as two 
contests and participation in a quadrangular meet shall count 
as three contests toward the seasonal limitation.

4.3.2 The third contest/competition date in a 
week shall be held on Friday (no early dismissal permitted), 
Saturday or Sunday.  This requirement is waived when a 
school is closed for the entire week such as during winter or 

spring vacation.
4.3.2.1 A team shall not participate in two 

different cross country, indoor track or outdoor track meets 
on the same day.

4.3.2.2 Participation in a triangular meet shall 
count as two contests and participation in a quadrangular 
meet shall count as three contests toward the seasonal 
limitation.

4.3.2.3 Participation in any part of a quarter/
half shall count as a quarter/half toward the weekly and daily 
limitations in that sport.  However, in the case of football, 
participation on a free kick or a play from a scrimmage kick 
formation shall not count as a quarter.  Overtime periods 
shall be considered as part of the fourth quarter or second 
half.

Team Limitations Individual Limitations

Sport Season Week Week Day

Fall

 Cross Country (boys and girls) 16 competition dates _ +3 competition dates _+3 competition dates
 Field Hockey (girls) 16 contests _ 3 contest _ 3 Competition dates 2 halves
 Football (boys) 10 contests 1 contest 4 varsity quarters or any 

combination of 5 varsity 
and subvarsity quarters 
provided no more than 3 
quarters are at the varsity 
level

 Soccer (boys) 16 Contests _ 3 contests _ 3 competition dates 2 halves
 Volleyball (girls) 16 competition dates

of which 1 date may 
involve more than
2 teams

_ 3 competition dates _ 3 competition dates

Winter
 Basketball (boys and girls) 22 contests _ 3 contests _ 3 competition dates 4 quarters

 Swimming and Diving
        (boys and girls)

16 contests _ 3 contests _ 3 contests

 Indoor Track (boys and girls) 12 contests _ + 3 contests _ + 3 contests
 Wrestling (boys) * 18 contests _ 3 competition dates _ 3 competition dates 5 matches

Spring
 Baseball (boys) 20 contests _ 3 contests _ 3 contests
 Softball (girls) 20 contests _ 3 contests _ 3 contests

 Golf (boys) 16 competition dates _ 3 competition dates _ 3 competition dates
 Tennis (boys and girls) 16 contests _ 3 contests _ 3 contests

 Outdoor Track (boys and girls) 18 competition dates _ +3 competition dates _ +3 competition dates
 Lacross (boys and girls) 16 contests _ 3 contests _ 3 competition dates 4 quarters (boys)

or
2 halves (girls) 

 Soccer (girls) 16 contests _ 3 contests _ 3 competition dates 2 halves
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4.3.3 A week shall be designated as starting on 
Monday and ending on Sunday for all sports except football. 
A football week shall begin the day of the varsity game and 
end the day preceding the next varsity game or the following 
Friday.

4.3.3.1 The preceding game limitations, with 
the exception of the individual daily limitation, shall not 
prohibit the rescheduling of postponed games at the 
discretion and convenience of the member schools involved 
provided the game was postponed due to inclement weather, 
unplayable field conditions, failure of the assigned officials 
to appear for the game, breakdown of the bus or van carrying 
the visiting team, or any other circumstances beyond the 
control of site 
management which preclude playing the game.  However, a 
team may not participate in more than four (4) contests/ 
competition dates in a week.

4.3.4 The maximum number of regularly 
scheduled contests for each of the recognized sports, except 
football, shall be exclusive of conference championships, 
playoffs to determine tournament state berths, and the state 
tournament/meet.  The maximum number of regularly 
scheduled football contests shall be exclusive of the state 
tournament.

4.3.4.1 Any playoffs to determine state 
tournament berths shall be under the control and supervision 
of the DIAA tournament committee.

4.3.5 A student shall participate in a particular 
sport for only one season during each academic year.

4.3.6 A school which participates in more than 
the allowable number of contests in a season shall be 
suspended from the state playoffs or, if a non-qualifying 
team, fined $200.00.

4.3.6.1 A school which exceeds the weekly 
contest limitation shall be required to forfeit the contest and 
pay a $100.00 fine.

4.3.6.2 A student who exceeds the weekly or 
dily contest limitation shall be considered an ineligible 
athlete and the school subject to the process stipulated in 
2.10.

5.0 School/Team Competition, Sanctioning of 
Competitions, State Championships and All Star Contests

5.1 School/Team Competition
5.1.1 Sponsoring Interscholastic Teams: 

Interscholastic competition is defined as any athletic contest 
between students representing two (2) or more schools. 
Members of school clubs who participate in non-
competitive, recreational activities or compete unattached 
are not considered to be engaged in interscholastic 
competition  Students are considered to be representing a 
school if the school does any of the following:

5.1.1.1 Partially or wholly subsidizes the 
activity (providing equipment, uniforms, transportation, 

entry fees, etc.).
5.1.1.2 Controls and administers the funds, 

regardless of their source, needed to conduct the activity.
5.1.1.3 Permits students to compete under the 

name of the school.
5.1.1.4 Publicizes or promotes the activity 

through announcements, bulletins, or school sponsored 
publications in excess of what is customarily done for 
“outside” organizations.

5.1.1.5 Presents or displays individual/ team 
awards.

5.1.2 Schools may sponsor teams for 
interscholastic competition in a sport provided the following 
criteria are met:

5.1.2.1 The governing body of the 
participating district or non-public school approves 
participation in the sport.  The administrative head of the 
school shall notify the Executive Director in writing of the 
school’s intent to sponsor a team in a new sport.

5.1.2.2 The governing body of the 
participating district or non-public school controls the funds 
needed to support the proposed team, regardless of their 
source, in the same manner as existing teams (coaches’ 
salaries, purchase and repair of equipment, medical 
supervision, transportation, preparation and maintenance of 
practice and game facilities, awards, etc.).  Requests from 
outside sources to make financial contributions or to donate 
equipment or services must be submitted in writing and must 
include an acknowledgment that the equipment becomes the 
property of the school. The contribution or donation must be 
approved in writing by the administrative head of the school.

5.1.2.3. The participating schools agree to 
comply with all applicable DIAA rules and regulations as 
stated in the current DIAA Official Handbook.

5.1.3 Levels of Participation
5.1.3.1 Level 1 or developmental sport - less 

than twelve (12) participating schools at the varsity level. 
DIAA rules and regulations shall not be in effect.

5.1.3.2 Level 2 or recognized sport - twelve 
(12) or more participating schools at the varsity level. 
Participating schools must petition the DIAA Board of 
Directors for official recognition of the sport.

5.1.3.2.1 At the time of official 
recognition, DIAA shall provide rules publications to the 
participating schools, designate an approved officials' 
association, conduct an annual or biannual rules clinic for 
coaches and officials, establish a maximum game schedule, 
and form a committee to promote the continued development 
of the sport and prepare for a future state championship.  All 
DIAA rules and regulations shall then be in effect.

5.1.3.3 Level 3 or championship sport sixteen 
(16) or more participating schools at the varsity level.  Upon 
petition by the sport committee and adoption of a tournament 
proposal, DIAA shall establish a state championship.
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5.1.3.4 Withdrawal of level 2 or level 3 
status.  If, for two (2) consecutive years, less than the 
required number of schools participate in a sport, DIAA may 
withdraw official recognition or suspend the state 
tournament/meet for a period of time as determined by the 
Board of Directors.

5.1.4 Membership on Coed Teams
5.1.4.1 If a school sponsors a boys' team and 

a girls' team in a particular sport, boys shall participate on 
the boys' team and girls shall participate on the girls' team 
even if the teams compete during different seasons.  If a 
school sponsors only a boys' team in a particular sport, girls 
shall be permitted to participate on the boys' team but if a 
school sponsors only a girls' team in a particular sport, boys 
shall not be permitted to participate on the girls' team.

5.1.4.2 Coed teams shall participate only in 
the boys' state championship tournament/meet.

5.2 Sanctioning of Competitions
5.2.1 Member schools may participate in 

tournaments/meets involving four (4) or more schools only if 
the event has been sanctioned by DIAA and, if applicable, by 
the NFHS.  Tournaments/meets shall be sanctioned in 
accordance with the following criteria:

5.2.1.1 The event shall not be for determining 
a regional or national champion.

5.2.1.2 The event shall be organized, 
promoted, and conducted by and all profits go to a nonprofit 
organization.  Involvement by a commercial organization 
shall be limited to providing financial support.

5.2.1.3 Non-symbolic competition awards 
shall have a value of not more than $50.00 per recipient and 
shall require the prior approval of the Executive Director.

5.2.1.4 Non-school event organizers shall 
submit a full financial report to the DIAA office within 
ninety (90) calendar days of the completion of the event.

5.2.1.5 The event organizer shall submit a list 
of out-of-state schools which have been invited to participate 
and such schools shall be subject to approval by the 
Executive Director.

5.2.1.6 Out-of-state schools which are not 
members of their state athletic association shall verify in 
writing that their participating athletes are in compliance 
with their state athletic association’s eligibility rules and 
regulations.

5.2.1.7 The event organizer shall not accept 
financial support or sell advertising to companies involved in 
the production or distribution of alcohol and tobacco 
products.

5.2.1.8 The event organizer shall comply with 
all applicable NFHS sanctioning requirements.

5.2.2 Participation in a non-sanctioned event 
shall result in payment of a $25.00 fine.  A second offense 
shall result in a $50.00 fine and loss of eligibility to 
participate in sanctioned events for the remainder of the 

sport season.  A third offense shall result in a $100.00 fine 
and loss of eligibility to participate in sanctioned events for 
the remainder of the school 

5.3 State Championships
5.3.1 State Championships: The minimum 

number of high schools which must sponsor a sport at the 
varsity level in order for DIAA to approve a state 
championship shall be sixteen (16).

5.3.1.1 State championship play shall be 
permitted at the varsity level only in football, basketball, 
indoor and outdoor track, cross country, swimming, 
wrestling, golf, baseball, soccer, tennis, field hockey, 
softball, girls' volleyball, and lacrosse provided such 
tournament or meet is under the direct control and 
supervision of and/or has the approval of DIAA.

5.3.1.2 A member school which does not pay 
all fines incurred during the school year by July1st shall be 
ineligible to participate in a state championship event in any 
sport during the following school year until such time as all 
fines are paid.

5.3.2 All state championships shall be managed 
by committees established by the DIAA Board of Directors.

5.3.2.1 Each tournament format, as well as 
the criteria and procedures for selecting and seeding the 
participating teams, must be approved by the Board of 
Directors and any subsequent changes must also be approved 
by the Board.  The Executive Director shall advise the 
committees as to which proposed changes must be presented 
to the Board.  If the Executive Director and the committee 
cannot agree, the proposed change must be presented to the 
DIAA Board of Directors for approval.

5.3.2.2 All financial arrangements, including 
the collection of monies and expenditures, must be approved 
by the Executive Director

5.3.2.3 Championship play in other sports 
must be confined to the individual conferences and 
conducted in accordance with the rules of the conference as 
approved by the DIAA Board of Directors.

5.4 All-Star Contests
5.4.1 An all-star contest shall be defined as an 

organized competition in which the participants are selected 
by the sponsoring organization or its designee on the basis of 
their performance during the interscholastic season in that 
sport.

5.4.2 Students who have completed their 
eligibility in a sport may participate in all-star contests in 
that sport, if approved by DIAA, prior to graduation from 
high school.

5.4.3 Member schools shall not make their 
facilities, equipment, or uniforms available to the sponsoring 
organization or the participants unless the all-star contest is 
approved by DIAA.

5.4.4 The all-star contest must be approved by 
DIAA in accordance with the following criteria:
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5.4.4.1 The contest shall not be for 
determining a regional or national champion.

5.4.4.2 The contest shall be organized, 
promoted, and conducted by and all profits go to a nonprofit 
organization. Involvement by a commercial organization 
shall be limited to providing financial support.

5.4.4.3 The awards given shall be in 
compliance with 9.0.

5.4.4.4 Exceptions to the adopted rules code 
for the sport, including uniform regulations, shall require the 
approval of DIAA.

5.4.5 A full financial report must be filed with 
the Executive Director within ninety 90 days of the contest. 
Failure to submit a financial report within the specified 
period of time shall result in the sponsoring organization 
being assessed a $300.00 fine.

5.4.6 The event organizer shall not accept 
financial support or sell advertising to companies involved in 
the production or distribution of alcohol and tobacco 
products.

6.0 Out of Season Athletic Camps and Clinics Sponsorship, 
Commercial Camps and Clinics and Open Gyms, 
Conditioning Programs and Non School Competition

6.1 Out of Season Athletic Camps and Clinic 
Sponsorship

6.1.1 DIAA does not restrict a student's decision 
to attend an out of season athletic camp/clinic. However, 
schools, school organizations, coaches, or school related 
groups, such as booster clubs, may not sponsor an athletic 
camp/clinic which limits membership to their own district, 
locale, or teams. Coaches employed by an out of season 
athletic camp may only instruct their returning athletes in 
accordance with 4.5.

6.1.1.1 School related groups, such as booster 
clubs, which desire to sponsor the attendance of their 
school's enrolled students at an out of season athletic camp/
clinic, may do so with the approval of the local school board 
or governing body.  The disbursement of funds to pay for 
camp/clinic related expenses (fees, travel costs, etc.) shall be 
administered by the principal or his/her designee and the 
funds shall be allocated according to the following 
guidelines:

6.1.1.1.1All students and team members 
shall be notified of the available sponsorship by 
announcement, publication, etc.

6.1.1.1.2All applicants shall share equally 
in the funds provided.

6.1.1.1.3All applicants shall be 
academically eligible to participate in interscholastic 
athletics.

6.1.1.1.4All applicants shall have one year 
of prior participation in the sport for which the camp/clinic is 
intended or, absent any prior participation, he/she shall be 

judged by the coach to benefit substantially from 
participation in the camp/clinic.

6.2 Commercial Camps and Clinics:
6.2.1 Commercial camps and clinics are defined 

as a camp/clinic operated for profit which provides coaching 
or other sports training for a fee.

6.2.2 A student may participate in a commercial 
camp or clinic, including private lessons, both during and out 
of the designated sport season provided the following 
conditions are observed:

6.2.2.1 The student must participate 
unattached and may not wear school uniforms.

6.2.2.2 The student may use only school 
equipment whose primary purpose is to protect the wearer 
from physical injury.

6.2.2.3 The school may not provide 
transportation or pay fees.

6.2.2.4 The school coach may not require his/
her athletes to participate in a camp or clinic, or provide 
instruction to his/her returning athletes in a camp or clinic 
except as provided in 7.5.

6.3 Open Gym Programs
6.3.1 A member school may open its 

gymnasium or other facility for informal, recreational 
activities in accordance with the following provisions:

6.3.1.1 The open gym must be available to all 
interested students, must not be restricted to members of a 
particular team, and must be publicized as such.

6.3.1.2 Student participation must be 
voluntary and the open gym must not be a prerequisite for 
trying out for a particular team.

6.3.1.3 The activities must be unstructured 
and student-generated.  Organized drills in the skills or 
techniques of a particular sport are prohibited.  Organized 
competition with fixed team rosters is also prohibited.

6.3.1.4 A coach may not predetermine that 
the open gym will include only his/her sport and publicize 
the open gym as being restricted to that sport.  It is the 
responsibility of the adult supervisor to permit as many 
different activities as the facility can effectively and safely 
accommodate.

6.3.1.5 A coach may open the facility and 
distribute playing equipment but may not instruct, officiate, 
participate, organize the activities, or choose teams in his/ 
her assigned sport.

6.3.1.6 Playing equipment is restricted to that 
which is customarily used in a contest in a particular sport. 
Playing equipment which is only used in a practice session is 
prohibited.

6.3.1.7 The participants must provide their 
own workout clothing.

6.4 Conditioning Programs
6.4.1 A member school may conduct a 

conditioning program in accordance with the following 
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provisions:
6.4.1.1 The conditioning program must be 

available to all interested students, must not be restricted to 
members of a particular team, and must be publicized as 
such.

6.4.1.2 Student participation must be 
voluntary. The conditioning program must not be a 
prerequisite for trying out for a particular team.

6.4.1.3 Permissible activities include 
stretching, lifting weights, jumping rope, running, 
calisthenics, aerobics, and similar generic conditioning 
activities.  Organized drills in the skills or techniques of a 
particular sport are prohibited.

6.4.1.4 A coach may not provide instruction 
in sport specific skills or techniques.

6.4.1.5 Sport specific equipment is 
prohibited.

6.4.1.6 The participants must provide their 
own workout clothing.

6.5 Non-School Competition in which Participants are 
Competing Unattached and are Not Representing Their 
Schools

6.5.1 A student may participate on a non-school 
team or in a non-school individual event both during and out 
of the designated sport season.  However, the student owes 
his/her primary loyalty and allegiance to the school team of 
which he/she is a member.  A school shall have the authority 
to require attendance at practices and contests and students 
not in compliance shall be subject to disciplinary action as 
determined by the school.

6.5.2 Participation on a non-school team or in a 
non-school individual event shall be subject to the following 
conditions:

6.5.2.1 With the exception of organized 
intramurals, the student may not wear school uniforms.

6.5.2.2 With the exception of organized 
intramurals, the student may use only school equipment 
whose primary purpose is to protect the wearer from 
physical injury.

6.5.2.3 The school or a school affiliated 
support group may not provide transportation.

6.5.2.4 The school or a school affiliated 
support group may not pay entry fees or provide any form of 
financial assistance.

6.5 2.5 The school coach may not require his/
her athletes to participate in non-school competition or 
provide instruction to his/her athletes in non-school 
competition except as in 7.5..

6.5.3 14 Del.C. §122(b)(15) requires written 
parental permission prior to participation on a similar team 
during the designated sport season.  Written authorization 
must be on file in the student's school prior to engaging in a 
tryout, practice, or contest with a similar team.  Consent 
forms shall be available in all member schools.  Similar 

teams shall include organized intramural teams as well as 
non-school teams in that sport.

7.0 Certified, Emergency and Volunteer Coaches, Student 
Teaching and Coaching and Coaching Out of Season

7.1 Certified Coaches: 
7.1.1 Only those professional employees 

certified by the Department of Education and whose salary is 
paid by the State and/or local Board of Education, or in the 
case of charter and non-public schools by a similar 
governing body, if acceptable as a coach by the governing 
body, shall coach, assist in coaching, or direct member 
school teams in any district.  The terms of employment must 
be for the regular school year and the professional 
assignment shall be no less than ½ of the school day, 
exclusive of coaching duties.

7.1.2 All varsity head coaches (junior varsity if 
the school does not sponsor a varsity team) shall be required 
to attend the DIAA rules clinic for their sport or, if 
applicable, pass an open book rules examination supplied by 
the DIAA office.  A school shall be assessed a $50.00 fine 
and the head coach shall be placed on probation if he/ she 
fails to attend the DIAA rules clinic or pass the open book 
rules examination in his/her sport.  Failure to comply for a 
second consecutive year shall result in the school being 
assessed a $50.00 fine and the coach being suspended for up 
to five contests as determined by the Executive Director.

7.1.2.1 Certified coaches at all levels of 
competition shall be required to hold a current certification 
in adult CPR.

7.2 Emergency Coaches
7.2.1 An emergency coach shall be defined as an 

individual who is either not certified by the Department of 
Education, or is certified by the Department of Education but 
is not employed for the regular school year or whose 
professional assignment is less than ½ of the school day.  An 
individual who meets the requirements of a certified coach 
but whose professional assignment is located in a different 
school or district than his/her coaching assignment shall not 
be considered an emergency coach by DIAA.

7.2.1.1 Emergency head coaches at all levels 
of competition shall be required to hold a current 
certification in adult CPR

7.2.2 Member schools shall be required to 
annually reopen all positions that are held by emergency 
coaches.

7.2.3 Emergency coaches may be employed 
provided the local governing body adheres to the following 
procedures:

7.2.3.1 The employing Board of Education 
must attempt to locate an acceptable, certified professional 
staff member by advertising the coaching vacancy in the 
district for as many days as are required by the district's 
collective bargaining agreement.
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7.2.3.2 If an acceptable, certified professional 
staff member is not available, an individual who is 
acceptable to the employing Board of Education may be 
hired as an emergency coach.

7.2.3.3 Any individual employed as a coach 
under the emergency provision must comply with the 
following regulations:

7.2.3.3.1 He/she must be officially 
appointed by the local Board of Education. The 
superintendent or his/her designee may temporarily appoint 
an individual if a coaching vacancy arises and the sport 
season begins during the interim between meetings of the 
local Board of Education.

7.2.3.3.2 His/her coaching salary must 
be paid exclusively by the local Board of Education.

7.3 Student Teaching and Coaching
7.3.1 Students who are practice teaching in a 

member school shall be permitted to assist in all professional 
activities during their practice teaching period.

7.4 Volunteer Coaches
7.4.1 In addition to the members of the school's 

regular coaching staff, the local governing body may 
supplement a school's coaching staff with volunteer coaches. 
Volunteer coaches are individuals who donate their services 
to a school and who have been approved by that school's 
local governing body.  A current list of approved volunteer 
coaches shall be on file in the school's administrative office 
before any coaching duties are assumed.

7.5 Coaching Out of Season
7.5.1 From August 2nd through June 14th a 

certified, emergency, or volunteer coach shall not be allowed 
to provide instruction out of the designated season in his/her 
assigned sport to returning members of the varsity or sub-
varsity teams of the school at which he/she coaches or 
transfer students from other schools who play the coach’s 
sport.  He/she shall also be prohibited from coaching rising 
ninth graders (rising eighth graders if eighth grade is part of 
the same administrative unit as grades 9 through 12) who 
participated in his/her assigned sport at a feeder school.  A 
rising ninth grader is a student who has completed eighth 
grade requirements but is not yet enrolled in ninth grade.  A 
rising eighth grader is a student who has completed seventh 
grade requirements but is not yet enrolled in eighth grade.

7.5.1.1 A coach shall not be allowed to 
participate on a team in his/her assigned sport with the 
aforementioned players.

7.5.1.2 A coach shall also be prohibited from 
officiating contests in his/her assigned sport if the 
aforementioned players are participating except in organized 
league competition.

7.5.1.3 The league shall not be organized and 
conducted by the employing school, the employing school’s 
booster club, or the employing school’s coaching staff.

7.5.1.4 The league shall have written rules 
and regulations that govern the conduct of contests and 
establish the duties of contest officials.

7.5.1.5 The league shall have registration/
entry procedures, forms, and fees; eligibility requirements; 
and fixed team rosters, team standings, and a master 
schedule of contests.

7.5.1.6 A certified, emergency, or volunteer 
coah shall not be allowed to provide instruction during the 
designated season in his/her assigned sport to current 
members of the varsity or subvarsity teams of the school at 
which he/she coaches outside of school sponsored practices, 
scrimmages, and contests.

7.5.1.7 A coach who is in violation of this 
section shall be suspended from coaching in the specified 
sport at any DIAA member school for up to the total number 
of days in the school year from the date the charge is 
substantiated.

7.5.2 From June 15th through August 1st, a 
certified, emergency or volunteer coach shall be allowed to 
provide instruction in his/her assigned sport to returning 
members of the varsity or sub-varsity teams of the school at 
which he/she coaches.  Instructional contact with the 
aforementioned returning school team members shall be 
subject to the following conditions:

7.5.2.1 A coach may provide instruction to an 
unlimited number of his/her returning school team members 
in formal league/tournament competition or in formal 
instructional camps/clinics provided the league/tournament 
or instructional camp/clinic is organized and conducted by a 
non-school affiliated organization.

7.5.2.2 A coaching staff may provide 
instruction to a maximum of two returning school team 
members in an informal setting which means student 
initiated and non-scheduled.  A coaching staff may have 
multiple two-hour sessions in any given day.  Returning 
school team members shall not receive more than 2 hours of 
sports instruction per day.

7.5.2.3 A coach shall not receive any 
compensation, from any source, for the instruction of his/her 
returning school team members.  Reimbursement for out-of-
pocket expenses (e.g. gas, food, lodging) incurred by 
returning school team members and coaches to attend 
leagues/tournaments or instructional camps/clinics are not 
prohibited provided that no local school or state educational 
funds are used.

7.5.2.4 Participation in the formal league/
tournament or instructional camp/clinic, or informal 
instruction, shall be open, voluntary and equally available to 
all returning school team members as well as members of the 
student body. 

7.5.2.5 A coach who is in violation of this 
section shall be suspended from coaching in the specified 
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sport at any DIAA member school for up to the total number 
of days in the school year from the date the charge is 
substantiated.

8.0 Recognition of Officials’ Associations, Required Use of 
Officials and Attendance at Rules Clinics

8.1 Recognition of Officials’ Associations
8.1.1 The officiating of interscholastic contests 

in the state of Delaware which involve one (1) or more 
member schools shall be under the control of the DIAA and 
such control may include, but not be restricted to, giving 
examinations, evaluating officials, setting game fees, 
determining the number of officials per game, and assigning 
officials.

8.1.2 An official’s association which desires to 
officiate middle school and/or high school contests shall 
request recognition and approval from DIAA by submitting 
the following documents to the DIAA Officials' Committee:

8.1.2.1 A letter of request indicating the 
association's willingness to abide by DIAA rules and 
regulations.

8.1.2.2 A brief history of the association.
8.1.2.3 A copy of the association's 

constitution and bylaws including a statement that it does not 
discriminate on the basis of age, gender, race, religion, etc.

8.1.2.4 A description of the association's 
evaluation and rating system.

8.1.2.5 A description of the association's 
recruiting and training programs for new members.

8.1.2.6 A membership roster indicating the 
number of years of experience at the sub-varsity, varsity, and 
state tournament levels for each member and also his/her 
most recent rating in a previous association.

8.1.2.7 If applicable, letters of 
recommendation or names of references from leagues which 
the association has serviced during the past year.

8.1.3 The Officials' Committee shall review the 
aforementioned documents and, if necessary, meet with the 
officers of the association to discuss their petition.

8.1.4 The Officials' Committee shall reserve the 
right to consult with any other interested parties during the 
evaluation process.

8.1.5 The Officials' Committee shall report its 
findings to the DIAA Board of Directors and recommend 
that the officials' association be granted recognition, granted 
recognition with conditions, or denied recognition.

8.1.6 The president of the officials' association 
or his/her designee shall petition the DIAA Board of 
Directors and the Board shall render a decision.

8.1.7 If more than one association is approved to 
officiate a particular sport, a conference or, in the absence of 
a conference affiliation, an individual school shall determine 
which association shall provide the officials for its home 
contests.

8.2 Required Use of Officials
8.2.1 Member schools and tournament sponsors 

shall be required to use officials approved by DIAA for 
interscholastic contests.  Use of non-approved officials 
without permission from the Executive Director shall result 
in the school or tournament sponsor being assessed a $50.00 
fine per game per non-approved official.

8.2.1.1 In the case of emergencies such as an 
act of God, refusal by an association to work games, or a 
shortage of qualified officials, schools which desire to use 
other than approved officials must obtain permission from 
the Executive Director.

8.3 Attendance at Rules Clinics
8.3.1 Officials shall be required each year to 

both attend the DIAA rules interpretation clinic and to pass 
the rules examination provided by the DIAA office for the 
sport(s) they officiate.

8.3.2 Failure on the part of an official to attend 
the DIAA rules interpretation clinic and pass the rules 
examination in the same season shall cause the official to be 
placed on probation and to lose his/her eligibility to officiate 
a state tournament contest during that season.

8.3.3 Failure to satisfy both requirements in the 
same season for two (2) consecutive years shall cause the 
official to lose varsity officiating status during the second 
season.  Failure to fulfill this obligation in subsequent years 
shall cause the official to continue to be restricted to sub-
varsity contests until both requirements have been satisfied 
in the same season.

8.3.4 Attending the fall soccer rules 
interpretation clinic shall satisfy the clinic attendance 
requirement for both the boys’ and girls’ soccer seasons. 
Attending the spring soccer rules interpretation clinic shall 
satisfy the clinic attendance requirement for only the girls’ 
soccer season.

8.3.5 If, for a legitimate reason which is 
documented by the president of his/her association, an 
official is unable to attend the DIAA rules interpretation 
clinic, he/she may view a videotape of the DIAA clinic or, in 
the absence of a videotape, attend a clinic conducted by 
another NFHS member state association provided the 
following procedures are observed:

8.3.5.1 No later than the day of the DIAA 
rules interpretation clinic, the president of the association 
notifies the Executive Director, in writing, of the official's 
inability to attend the clinic.

8.3.5.2 The out-of-state clinic is conducted by 
an individual either trained by the NFHS or designated as a 
clinician by the state's athletic association.

8.3.5.3 The official arranges for a letter to be 
sent to the Executive Director from the state's athletic 
association office verifying his/her attendance at the clinic.

9.0 Awards and Scholarships
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1122
9.1 Awards
9.1.1 Member schools an support groups 

affiliated with a member schools, such as an alumni 
association or booster club, shall be allowed to present 
recognition awards for team and/or individual 
accomplishments.  The awards, including artwork and 
lettering, shall require the approval of the administrative 
head of the school and their value shall be mostly symbolic, 
no more than $150.00. Member schools and/or support 
groups affiliated with member schools are also permitted to 
sponsor banquets.

9.1.2 A non-profit group such as a coaches 
association, booster club not affiliated with a member 
school, or community service organization shall be allowed 
to present recognition awards for team and/or individual 
accomplishments with the approval of the administrative 
head of the school. Non-profit groups shall also be permitted 
to sponsor banquets.

9.1.3 Commercial organizations shall be 
allowed to present recognition awards for team and/or 
individual accomplishments with the approval of the 
administrative head of the school.

9.1.4 Permissible awards include trophies, 
plaques, medals, letters, certificates, photographs, and 
similar items.  Jackets, sweaters, shirts, watches, rings, 
charms, and similar items if properly inscribed (reference to 
the team or individual athletic accomplishment) are also 
acceptable.  The awards shall have symbolic value only, 
awards with utilitarian value are prohibited.  The aggregate 
retail value of the award shall not exceed $150.00 per team 
or per recipient and shall require prior approval of the 
Executive Director.

9.2 Scholarships
9.2.1 Member schools and support groups 

affiliated with member schools shall be permitted to present 
post-secondary scholarships.

9.2.2 Non-profit organizations co-sponsoring a 
tournament shall be allowed to give post-secondary 
scholarships to participating schools provided they are not 
awarded on the basis of team or individual performance in 
the tournament.  Scholarship monies shall be administered in 
accordance with DIAA and NCAA regulations.

10.0 Use of Influence for Athletic Purposes
10.1 Definition: The use of influence for athletic 

purposes shall include, but not be limited to, the following:
10.1.1 Offer of money, room, board, clothing, 

transportation, or other valuable consideration to a 
prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed 
legal guardian(s).

10.1.2 Offer of waiver/reduction of tuition or 
financial aid if based, even partially, on athletic 
considerations.

10.1.3 Preference in job assignments or offer of 

compensation for work performed in excess of what is 
customarily paid for such services.

10.1.4 Offer of special privileges not accorded to 
other students.

10.1.5 Offer of financial assistance including free 
or reduced rent, payment of moving expenses, etc., to induce 
a prospective athlete or his/her parent(s), legal guardian(s) or 
Relative Caregiver to change residence.

10.2 Illegal Contact with Students, Legal guardians, 
or a Relative Caregiver

10.2.1 A school employee or Board approved 
volunteer may not initiate contact or request that a booster 
club member, alumnus, or player initiate contact with a 
student enrolled in another school or his/her parent(s), legal 
guardian(s) or a relative Caregiver in order to persuade the 
student to enroll in a particular school for athletic purposes. 
Illegal contact shall include, but not be limited to, letters, 
questionnaires or brochures, telephone calls, and home visits 
or personal contact at athletic contests.

10.2.2 If a coach or athletic director is contacted 
by a prospective athlete or his/her parent(s), legal 
guardian(s)or a Relative Caregiver , the former must refer 
the individual(s) to the principal or school personnel 
responsible for admissions.

10.3 Permitted Activities
10.3.1 A school employee or Board approved 

volunteer may do the following:
10.3.1.1 Discuss the athletic program with a 

prospective student or his/her parent(s), legal guardian(s)or 
Relative Caregiver during an open house or approved visit 
initiated by the parent(s), legal guardian(s) or Relative 
Caregiver..

10.3.1.2 Provide information concerning 
sports offered, facilities, conference affiliation, and general 
athletic policies.  However, he/she is not permitted to state or 
imply in any way that his/her athletic program is superior to 
that of another school or that it would be more beneficial or 
advantageous for the prospective student to participate in 
athletics at his/her school.

10.3.1.3 Conduct an informational 
presentation at a feeder school.

10.4 School Choice
10.4.1 If the number of applicants under the 

Delaware School Choice Program exceeds the number of 
available student openings, the selection criteria established 
by the district shall not include athletic considerations.

10.5 Penalties 
10.5.1 The use of influence or illegal contact 

including but not limited to, violations of 10.1 and 10.2 by a 
person(s) employed by or representing a member school 
including members of alumni associations, booster groups, 
and similar organizations to persuade, induce, or facilitate 
the enrollment of a student in that school for athletic 
purposes may render the student ineligible for up to 1 full 
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school year from the date the charge is substantiated.  In 
addition, the offending school may be placed on probation, 
as determined by the DIAA Board of Directors, and the 
offending employee, if a coach, may be suspended for up to 
one (1) full school year from the date the charge is 
substantiated.

EDUCATION IMPACT ANALYSIS
PURSUANT TO 14 DEL.C. SECTION 122(D)

1101  Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies 
Placed in Production After March 1, 1998 (terminology 

and school bus types are described in the National 
Standards for School Transportation 1995)

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Re-authorization of Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 

State Board of Education to re-authorize regulation 1001 
Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in 
Production After March 1, 1998 (terminology and school 
bus types are described in the National Standards for School 
Transportation 1995).  The five year review cycle requires 
that it must be acted on again.  The regulation is still needed 
until the buses placed in production after March 1, 1998, that 
are referenced in the standards, are no longer operating in the 
school system.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The re-authorized regulation addresses school 
bus standards not academic achievement.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education?  The re-authorized 
regulation addresses school bus standards not equity issues.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected?  The re-
authorized regulation addresses school bus standards and 
students’ health and safety are a major consideration in 
developing the standards.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
legal rights are respected?  The re-authorized regulation 
addresses school bus standards not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority 
and flexibility of decision making at the local board and 
school level?  The re-authorized regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or 

administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?  The re-
authorized regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an 
impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies?  The re-authorized 
regulation will be consistent with and not an impediment to 
the implementation of other state educational policies, in 
particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation?  Delaware Code requires that 
the regulation be acted on every five years.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no 
addition costs to the State and to the local school boards for 
compliance with the regulation.

DUE TO SPACE LIMITATIONS THE REGULATION IS NOT 
BEING RE-PRINTED HERE. THE REGULATION IS AVAILABLE 
FROM THE REGISTRAR OR ON THE WEB AT:

http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/Education/
Frame.htm

EDUCATION IMPACT ANALYSIS
PURSUANT TO 14 DEL.C. SECTION 122(D)

1105 School Transportation

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUIRED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 

State Board of Education to amend regulation 1105 School 
Transportation in order to add “Emergency Days as forgiven 
by the Department of Education” to section 13.6 items, 13 6 
1 through 13.6.4 and to clarify the language.  This section 
addresses reimbursement contracts and allowances for 
school districts and contractors.
C. Impact Criteria
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1. Will the regulation help improve student 
achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses school 
transportation issues not student achievement.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education? The amended regulation 
addresses school transportation not equity issues.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected?  The amended 
regulation addresses school transportation issues which 
include health and safety issues.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses school transportation issues which includes 
respect for students’ legal rights.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority 
and flexibility of decision making at the local board and 
school level? . The amended regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?  The amended 
regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an 
impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies?  The amended 
regulation will be consistent with and not an impediment to 
the implementation of other state educational policies, in 
particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation? The changes must be put into 
regulation according to 14 Del.C. Ch. 29.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There are no 
additional costs associated with amending this regulation.

1105  School Transportation

1.0 Responsibilities of Local Superintendents:  Local 
District Superintendents or their designees shall assume the 
following responsibilities concerning the transportation of 
students:

1.1 Implement state school transportation regulations. 
Local school disciplinary policies shall include pupil 
behavior and discipline on the school bus.

1.2 Define and coordinate changes to school 
transportation operations impacting local district budget 
allocations with the Department of Education.

1.3 Provide resource material and encourage teachers 
to include instruction in passenger safety in the school 
curriculum.

1.4 Provide for close and continuous supervision of the 
unloading and loading zones on or near the school plant, and 
of the emergency drills.

1.5 Provide supervision for those students whose bus 
schedules require them to arrive at school before classes 
begin and remain after classes terminate.

1.6 Promote public understanding of, and support for 
the district‘s school transportation program.

1.7 Assume prime responsibility for student conduct.

2.0 Conditions for School Bus Contractors:  School Bus 
Contractors shall agree to the following conditions in their 
contracts:

2.1 Follow all applicable federal, state, and local school 
bus regulations and policies.

2.2 Communicate effectively with the district 
transportation supervisor.

2.3 Dismiss a school bus driver when it can be shown 
that the driver is not satisfactorily performing driver tasks. 
District transportation supervisors may restrict a driver from 
operating in their school district.

2.4 Pay drivers and aides and provide substitute drivers 
and aides.

3.0 Responsibilities of School Bus Drivers:  Local school 
districts shall have a policy concerning the responsibilities of 
school bus drivers which, at a minimum, includes the 
following:

3.1 A statement that the school bus driver is in full 
charge of the bus and pupils, has the authority of a classroom 
teacher and is responsible for the health, safety, and welfare 
of each passenger.

3.2 Statements listing the following specific 
responsibilities of the bus driver:

3.2.1 Operate the school bus in a safe and 
efficient manner.

3.2.2 Conduct pre-trip and post-trip checks on 
the vehicle.

3.2.3 Establish and maintain rapport with 
passengers.

3.2.4 Maintain discipline among passengers.
3.2.5 Meet emergency situations effectively.
3.2.6 Communicate effectively with district and 

school staff.
3.2.7 Maintain effective contact with the public.
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3.2.8 Complete reports as required by the state 
or school district.

3.2.9 Complete required training programs 
satisfactorily.

3.2.10 Refrain from using profane or indecent 
language or tobacco while on duty.

3.2.11 Dress appropriately.
3.2.12 Pickup and drop-off students at designated 

stops.
3.2.13 Submit to periodic random drug and 

alcohol testing and be subject to actions specified in the 
Delaware Code and in federal requirements.

3.2.14 Report suspected cases of child abuse to 
the school principal or designated official.

3.2.15 Notify the district transportation 
supervisor of any school bus accident.

3.3 A statement requiring a report of a physical 
examination on forms designated by the Department of 
Education.

4.0 Qualifications and Responsibilities of School Bus Aides
4.1 Qualifications for School Bus Aides include the 

following and shall apply to all new applicants and for any 
person whose employment as an aide has lapsed for a period 
of over one year.

4.1.1 Be at least 18 years of age.
4.1.2 Be fingerprinted to allow a criminal 

history check at both state and federal level. and meet the 
same requirements (pre-licensing) specified for school bus 
drivers in the Del.C.

4.1.3 File with the district transportation 
supervisor a notarized affidavit (the same as the school bus 
driver affidavit) attesting to acceptable criminal history 
pending an official state and federal criminal record report.

4.1.4 Submit to the federal drug and alcohol 
testing procedures established for school bus drivers. 

4.2 Local school districts shall have a policy 
concerning school bus aides which, at a minimum, lists the 
following responsibilities:

4.2.1 Assist in loading and unloading of 
students, including lift operation.

4.2.2 Ensure that students and equipment are 
properly strapped in seats.  Adjust, fasten, and release 
restraint devices for students and equipment, as required. 
Monitor overall safety of students and equipment.

4.2.3 Ensure that all students remain seated at 
all times.

4.2.4 Assist the driver during unusual traffic 
conditions; act as a lookout if necessary when bus must be 
backed.

4.2.5 Assist the driver in the enforcement of all 
state and school district bus safety regulations.

4.2.6 Perform record keeping tasks related to 
student attendance and bus assignment.

4.2.7 Monitor and report student misbehavior 
according to established procedure.

4.2.8 Assist the driver in keeping the interior of 
the bus clean.

4.2.9 Assist students with disabilities with 
personal needs associated with their disabilities.

4.2.10 Assist in bus evacuation drills.
4.2.11 Work cooperatively with all school 

personnel and parents.
4.2.12 Perform other duties as assigned by the 

district transportation supervisor or designee.

5.0 Student Conduct on School Buses:  School Districts 
shall have a policy concerning the behavior of students on 
school buses that shall, at a minimum, contain the following 
rules which if not followed may result in the suspension of 
bus riding privileges.

5.1 Obey the driver promptly, and be courteous to the 
driver and to fellow students. Students are to conduct 
themselves while on the bus in such a way that it will not 
distract the driver from the job of driving.

5.2 Be at their bus stop on time for pickup.
5.3 Wait for the bus on the sidewalk or shoulder, not the 

roadway.
5.4 Keep a safe distance from the bus while it is in 

motion.
5.5 Enter the bus without crowding or disturbing others 

and occupy their seats immediately.
5.6 Get on or off the bus only when it is stopped.
5.7 Remain seated and facing forward.  No student 

shall occupy a position in the driver area in front of a 
stanchion, barrier, or white floor line that may distract the 
driver’s attention or interfere with the driver’s vision.

5.8 Stay out of the driver’s seat.  Also, unnecessary 
conversation with the driver is prohibited while the bus is in 
motion.

5.9 Follow highway safety practices in accordance with 
the Motor Vehicle Laws of the State of Delaware and walk 
on the side of the road facing traffic when going to or from 
the bus or bus stop along the highway.  Before crossing the 
road to board the bus or after being discharged from the bus 
cross only upon an audible clearance signal from the driver.

5.10 Do not cross the road until it is clear of all 
traffic or that traffic has come to a complete stop and then 
walk in front of the bus far enough to be seen by the driver at 
all times.

5.11 Observe classroom conduct when on the bus.
5.12 Do not call out to passers-by or open the bus 

windows without permission from the driver, nor extend 
head or arms out of the windows.

5.13 Do not leave the bus without the driver’s 
consent, except on arrival at their regular bus stop or at 
school.

5.14 Keep the bus clean, sanitary, and orderly and 
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not damage or abuse the equipment.
5.15 Do not smoke, use profanity or eat or drink on 

the bus.
5.16 Do not throw articles of any kind in, out, or 

around the bus.
5.17 Other forms of misconduct that will not be 

tolerated are acts such as, but not limited to, indecent 
exposure, obscene gestures, spitting, and others that may be 
addressed in the school code of conduct.

6.0 Procedures for Operating Buses:  Each school district 
shall adopt the following procedures for the operation of 
their school buses:

6.1 No person other than a pupil, teacher, school 
official, aide or substitute driver shall be permitted to ride on 
a school bus while transporting pupils.  Exceptions may be 
made for parents involved in Department of Education 
educational programs that provide for transportation and 
others approved by the district transportation supervisor.

6.2 The driver shall maintain a schedule in the bus and 
shall at all times adhere to it. Drivers shall not be required to 
wait for pupils unless they can be seen making an effort to 
reach the bus stop.

6.3 The driver shall maintain discipline on the bus, and 
shall report cases of disobedience or misconduct to the 
proper school officials.  No pupils may be discharged from 
the bus for disciplinary reasons except at the home or school. 
The principal or designated school official shall be notified 
of such action immediately. Any change to the action taken 
by the driver or any further disciplinary action to be taken is 
the responsibility of the principal or designated school 
official.

See 3 DE Reg. 942 (1/1/00)
6.4 Pupils shall have definite places to get on and leave 

the bus, and should not be allowed to leave the bus at any 
place other than the regular stop without written permission 
from their parents, and approval by the principal or 
designated school official, except in cases of emergency. 
Districts may adopt a more restrictive policy.

6.5 Buses shall be brought to a full stop before pupils 
are allowed to get on or off.  Pupils are not permitted to ride 
outside or in any hazardous location in the bus including the 
area ahead of the stanchions, barriers, or white floor line 
designating the driver-area.

6.6 Buses shall not stop near the crest of hills, on 
curves, or on upgrades or downgrades of severe inclination. 
When stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging 
pupils, the bus shall always be stopped on the right side of 
the road and as far off the paved or main traveled portion of 
the highway as the condition of the shoulder permits.

6.7 Pupils who must cross the road to board the bus or 
after leaving the bus shall cross at a distance in front of the 
bus and beyond the crossing control arms so as to be clearly 
seen by the driver and only upon an audible clearance by the 

driver.  The driver shall attempt to signal pupils to cross by 
instructions through the external speaker of the public 
address system.

6.8 All loading and unloading of pupils shall be made 
from the service door.  The rear exit door is not to be used 
except in cases of emergency or emergency drills.  No object 
shall be placed in the bus that restricts the passage to the 
emergency door or other exits.

6.9 No one but the driver shall occupy the driver’s seat. 
Pupils shall remain behind the white floor line.

6.10 Seats may be assigned to pupils by the driver, 
subject to the approval of a school official.

6.11 The doors of the bus shall be kept closed while 
the bus is in motion, and pupils shall not put their head or 
arms out of open windows.

6.12 When the bus is stopped on school grounds, 
students are aboard, and the motor is running, the 
transmission shall be in neutral (clutch disengaged) and the 
parking brake set. While on school grounds, drivers shall not 
leave their seat while the motor is running or leave the key in 
the ignition switch.

6.13 Fuel tanks shall not be filled while the engine 
is running or while pupils are in the bus.

6.14 Weapons of any kind are not permitted on a 
school bus.

6.15 Animals are not permitted on school buses; 
however, a service animal is permitted if a physician certifies 
that it is required.

6.16 A school bus shall not be used for hauling 
anything that would make it objectionable for school use or 
unsafe for passengers.

6.17 Band instruments, shop projects and other 
school projects shall not be permitted on the bus if they 
interfere with the driver or other passengers.  The aisle, exits, 
and driver’s vision shall not be blocked.

6.18 Bus stops on roadways with three or more 
lanes (with oncoming traffic) must be made on the right side 
of the road.  Students shall not be required to cross more than 
two lanes of traffic when entering or leaving the bus.

6.19 Headlights or daytime running lights shall be 
on at all times when the bus is in motion.

6.20 On the bus route every effort should be made to 
load children before turn-arounds are made and unload them 
after the turn-around is made.

6.21 Backing of school buses is prohibited, except 
in unusual circumstances:

6.21.1 A school bus shall not be driven 
backwards on school grounds unless an adult is posted to 
guard the rear of the bus.

6.21.2 When backing is unavoidable extreme 
caution must be exercised by the bus operator and an outside 
observer should be used if possible.

7.0 Accident Reports: All drivers or contractors shall 
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complete accident reports and submit them to the district 
person in charge of transportation in order to assure accurate 
information pertaining to school bus accidents.

7.1 The following information shall be included on all 
school bus accident reports and be maintained in the district 
transportation files:

7.1.1 A description, preferably using diagrams, 
of the damage to each vehicle in addition to estimates of 
damage costs.

7.1.2 A description of all personal injuries.
7.1.3 A list of passengers and witnesses.
7.1.4 Name, address and telephone number of 

the driver.
See 3 DE Reg. 942 (1/1/00)

7.1.5 Follow-up information, such as the actual 
cost of repairs, should be added to the accident report 
wherever it is filed; i.e., in federal, state or local offices, so 
that the record of the accident is complete.  Other pertinent 
information relating to the accident that should be added 
later, if the information is readily available, includes:

• Disposition of any litigation.
• Disposition of any summonses.
• Net effects of all personal injuries sustained, 

including medical care given, physician’s fees, 
hospital expenses, etc.

• Amount of property damage other than to 
vehicles involved.

• Any corrective actions taken against the school 
bus driver, e.g., training, suspension, or 
dismissal.

• A summation of the driver’s total accident 
record so that each completed report form will 
contain a listing of the total number of accidents 
that the driver has had.

8.0 Transportation Benefits:  Transportation benefits shall 
be provided for pupils in grades K-6 whose legal residences 
are one (1) mile or more from the public schools to which 
they would normally be assigned by the district 
administrations and for pupils in grades 7-12 whose legal 
residences are two (2) miles or more from the public schools 
to which they would normally be assigned by the district 
administrations.

8.1 For the purpose of these regulations, the “legal 
residence” of the pupil is deemed to be the legal residence of 
the parent(s), legal guardian(s), or caregiver as described in 
14 Del.C. §202(e)(3).  Daycare facilities may be designated 
as a pupil’s residence for pickup and drop off.

8.2 To determine pupil eligibility for transportation 
benefits, measurement shall be by the most direct route 
provided by a public road or public walkway.  The 
measurement shall be from the nearest point where a private 
road or walkway connects the legal residence of the pupil 
with the nearest public entrance of the school building to 

which the pupil is normally assigned by the school district 
administration.

8.3 All school bus routes shall be measured from the 
first pick-up point to the respective schools served in the 
approved sequence, and then by the most direct route back to 
the first pick-up point.

8.4 Additional bus routes required after the opening of 
school shall be approved by the Department of Education 
and supported by evidence of need to include:  enrollment 
number changes, descriptions of existing routes in the area 
of proposed additional service, the run times, and actual 
loads.  A description of the proposed route shall also 
accompany the request.

8.5 Transportation for eligible pupils may be provided 
from locations other than their legal residence provided that:

8.5.1 Such pickup and discharge points as 
approved by the district administration are in excess of the 
relevant one and two mile limits from the school to be 
attended, and such transportation to be provided will be to 
the public school to which the pupil is assigned by the 
district administration.

8.5.2 Such transportation to be provided be on 
the same bus and/or route to and from the school attended by 
the pupil (i.e. each student is entitled to one seat on one bus) 
except that permission may be granted on a year-by-year 
basis by the district administration for eligible pupils to ride 
other buses if seats are available and does not create 
additional expense to the State.

8.5.3 The limitation pertaining to “same bus and 
route” indicated above is not applicable to pupils attending 
vocational-technical schools or kindergartens operating one-
half day sessions.

8.6 A spur to a bus route (where a bus leaves a main 
route) shall not be scheduled unless the one-way distance is 
greater than ½ mile.  Requests for exception due to a unique 
traffic hazard from a parent must be in writing, approved by 
the local school board, and submitted through the Chairman 
of the Unique Hazard Committee for review.

8.7 Students otherwise ineligible to ride a bus may ride 
if a physician certifies that a student is unable or should not 
walk from home to school and return.

9.0 Bus Capacities:  Bus capacities for children in grades K-
6 shall be established by the manufacturer on the basis of 13 
inches per child, and for Grades7-12 secondary pupils the 
capacity shall be established on the basis of 15 inches per 
child.  A mixture of the criteria will be used to plan loads 
when pupils come from both of the above groups.  Actual 
bus loads may not exceed this guidance.  Standees shall not 
be permitted under normal circumstances; however, 
exceptions may be made in emergency situations on a 
temporary basis.

10.0 Loading and Unloading:  Each school shall have a 
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loading and unloading dock or area, rather than load or 
discharge passengers onto the street.  On school grounds all 
other traffic is prohibited in the loading and unloading area 
during school bus loading/unloading operations.

11.0 Unique Hazards:  Unique hazards are considered to 
be conditions or situations that expose the pedestrian to rare 
or uncommon traffic dangers.  This definition is not intended 
to include hazards representative of situations which may 
exist throughout the State.

11.1 Procedures for handling Unique Hazards 
requests.

11.1.1 When the request for relief originates with 
parents of pupils affected or vested officials, such as State 
and local police representatives, Safety Council 
representatives, and legislators, it shall be presented in 
writing to the local school authorities.

11.1.1.1 The local school administration shall 
make every effort to resolve problems identified by the 
parents, vested officials, or by the local district staff.

11.1.1.2 If the problem cannot be resolved by 
the local school administration, the request shall be 
forwarded to the local board of education for appropriate 
action.  If the local board of education has explored all of the 
local alternatives to resolve the problem without success, a 
request by board action shall be made to the Chairman of the 
Unique Hazards Committee (Education Associate for School 
Transportation).

11.2 The request to the Unique Hazards Committee 
must include:

11.2.1 The original request from the parents, 
vested officials, or the district staff.

11.2.2 A statement of the specific hazard and area 
involved including maps showing the specific location, 
points of concern and schools attended.

11.2.3 Number and grades of children involved.
11.2.4 School schedule and the time children 

would normally be walking to and from school in the area of 
concern.

11.2.5 List any actions to resolve the problem 
taken by the local school administration.

11.2.6 List any actions to resolve the problem 
taken by the local board of education.

11.2.7 List any actions to resolve the problem 
taken by the town, the city or county.

11.3 The Unique Hazards Committee will process 
the request and report its findings and recommendations to 
the Department of Education for their consideration and 
action.  A copy of the report will also be forwarded to the 
local board of education involved.

11.4 The Unique Hazards Committee consists of 
representatives from the Department of Transportation; the 
New Castle County Crossing Guard Division; Delaware 
Safety Council; Traffic Control Section, the Delaware State 

Police; and the Department of Education Associate for 
School Transportation (Chairman).

11.5 Unique Hazards Committee Recommendations 
Appeal Process

11.5.1 Appeals to the Unique Hazards Committee 
recommendations approved by the State Department of 
Education must be in writing and from the local board of 
education.

11.5.2 The local school board shall, before 
making an appeal, make every effort to resolve the problem. 
If, in the opinion of the local board of education, 
reconsideration is needed by the Unique Hazards 
Committee, the appeal, along with pertinent information, 
should be forwarded to the Chairman of the Unique Hazards 
Committee.

11.5.3 The Unique Hazards Committee will 
submit to the State Department of Education its 
recommendations regarding the appeal for reconsideration 
by the local board of education.  A copy of the report will 
also be forwarded to the local board of education involved.

12.0 Contingency Plans:  Each school district shall have 
contingency plans for inclement weather, accidents, bomb 
threats, hostages, civil emergencies, natural disasters, and 
facility failures (environmental/water, etc.).  These plans 
shall be developed in cooperation with all those whose 
services would be required in the event of various types of 
emergencies.  The school transportation supervisor, school 
administrators, teachers, drivers, maintenance and service 
personnel, students, and others shall be instructed in the 
procedure to be followed in the event of the contingencies 
provided for in the plans.

13.0 Reimbursements for School Bus Ownership and or 
Contracts:  School buses may be either state owned/district 
operated or contracted.

13.1 Reimbursements for buses operated by the 
district shall be on the basis of the formula for district 
operated buses unless otherwise approved by the Department 
of Education.

13.1.1 Drivers employed by the district shall be 
paid on the regular payroll of the district.  When drivers are 
employed in a dual capacity there shall be strict accounting 
for salary division.

13.2 Reimbursement for buses operated on contract 
shall be on the basis of the approved formula or of a bid if 
the amount should be less.

13.2.1 Contractors shall be paid regularly at the 
end of the month.  The total contract shall be paid in ten (10) 
installments, with the first payment at the end of September.

13.3 Any transportation costs caused by grade 
reorganizations and/or pupil re-assignments during the 
school term after October 1, other than the occupancy of a 
new school building, shall be at the expense of the local 
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school district unless approved by the Department of 
Education.

13.4 Bills unpaid from Transportation funding lines 
that have not been encumbered as of June 30, shall be the 
responsibility of the local school district.

13.5 Reimbursement to the local school district for 
contracts or for district-owned or leased buses shall be made 
on the basis of a Department of Education formula approved 
by the State Board of Education.  This formula shall take 
into consideration school bus cost and depreciation, fixed 
charges, operations, maintenance, driver and aide wages. 
Reimbursement shall be made only for transportation of 
eligible pupils and exceptions approved by the Department 
of Education and the State Board of Education.

13.6 Reimbursement Contract allowances for buses 
when there are Emergency Days (forgiven by the 
Department of Education), Specially Declared Holidays or 
Strikes by Teachers.

13.6.1 School bus contractors and school districts 
shall be paid the normal rate of pay as provided for in their 
contract, less the allowance for operation including  fuel, oil, 
tires, and maintenance and administration.  Driver (including 
layover allowance) and aide allowances shall be paid.

13.6.2 Contractors School bus contractors and 
school districts with buses assigned to midday kindergarten 
or vocational-technical trips shall be reimbursed for the 
amount of the driver’s allowance plus the administrative 
allowance paid the normal rate of pay as provided for in their 
contract, less the allowance for fuel.

13.6.3 School districts operating district-owned, 
leased, or lease-purchase buses shall be reimbursed based on 
the formula for district reimbursement, less the allowance 
for operation which includes fuel, oil, tires, and 
maintenance. The additional mileage allowance for 
contractor and school district buses will not include fuel and 
maintenance allowances.

13.6.4 Districts with buses assigned to midday 
kindergarten or vocational-technical trips shall be 
reimbursed for the amount of the driver’s allowance plus the 
administrative allowance.

13.6.5 4 The Delmar School District shall be 
reimbursed on the basis of the additional days necessary to 
operate as a result of the agreement with the Wicomico 
County Board of Education for the Delmar, Maryland 
elementary schools.

14.0 Transportation Formulas for Public School Districts 
Operating District , Lease, or Lease Purchase Buses  Items 
which are not on this list must be approved by the State 
Department of Education.  Any purchase, commitment, or 
obligation exceeding the transportation allocation to the 
district is the responsibility of the district.

14.1 The following items may be used for the 
purpose of providing pupil transportation in accordance with 

the regulations of the Department of Education.
14.1.1 Advertising including equipment, routes, 

supplies, and employees.
14.1.2 Communication systems including two-

way radios, cellular phones, and AM-FM radio.
14.1.3 Fuel including gasoline, diesel, propane, 

kerosene, storage tanks, pumps, additives, and oil.
14.1.4 Leasing/rental including tools, equipment, 

storage facilities, buses, garage space, and office space.
14.1.5 Office supplies and materials including 

computer hardware, computer software, data processing, 
maps, postage, printing, subscription, and measuring 
devices.

14.1.6 Safety materials including audio-visual 
aids, restraining vests, belts, safety awards, pins, patches, 
certificates, wheelchair ramps, wheelchair retainers, 
printing, handout materials, pamphlets, training materials, 
subscriptions, and bus seats.

14.1.7 Salary/wages including attendants (aide) 
as approved by the Department of Education when required 
in a student’s IEP, dispatchers, drivers, maintenance helpers, 
mechanics, mechanics helpers, office workers, secretarial, 
substitute drivers, supervisory (other than State supported 
supervisor or manager), and State provided employee 
benefits.

14.1.8 Shop facilities including heat, electric, 
water, sewer, security, fences, lights, locks, guards, bus 
storage, janitorial supplies, brushes, mops, buckets, soap, 
tools, maintenance vehicles, grease, service vehicles, and 
work uniforms for maintenance staff.

14.1.9 Sidewalks including construction of 
sidewalks, footbridges, etc. that would be offset in reduced 
busing costs in 5 years or less, with prior approval of 
Supervisors of Transportation and School Plant Planning.

14.2 Special 01-60 state funds are provided to 
school districts for training supplies.  This account may also 
be used for reimbursements for state provided equipment 
and services.

14.3 Examples of Programs Excluded from State 
Reimbursement:

14.3.1 Extracurricular Field trips
14.3.2 Transportation of pupils from one school 

to another for special programs (e.g., music festivals, 
Christmas programs, etc.)

14.3.3 Transportation of pupils to and from 
athletic contests, practices, tutoring, band events, etc.

14.3.4 Post-secondary classes
14.3.5 Federal programs
14.3.6 Alternative school transportation when not 

using a shuttle concept that is as efficient as a shuttle 
concept.

14.3.7 Choice school transportation outside of the 
school district or outside of the attendance area of school that 
the bus normally serves.
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14.3.8 Charter school transportation outside of 
the school district.

15.0 Transportation Allowances for Individuals: 
Requests for transportation allowances shall be made in 
writing to the Department of Education by districts with 
justification.  This information is necessary in order for the 
Department to determine a pupil’s eligibility.  The 
responsibility for establishing a claim for transportation 
allowances rests upon the district and claimant.

15.1 All requests shall be signed by the parent or 
guardian and certified by the superintendent, principal or the 
principal teacher of the school to be attended.  In case of a 
car pool, only the driver shall be paid.

15.2 Payments or reimbursements for transportation 
by private means shall be on the following basis:

15.2.1 When adequate public services is 
available, the public service rates shall be used.

15.2.2 When public service is not available and it 
is necessary to provide transportation by private conveyance, 
the allowance shall be calculated at the prevailing state rate 
per mile for the distance from the home to the school or 
school bus and return twice a day, or for the actual distance 
traveled.

15.2.3 Districts shall maintain a monthly record 
of mileage traveled on a form provided by the Department of 
Education.

15.2.4 Any exception or variation must be 
approved by the Department of Education.

16.0 Cost Records: Cost Records shall include the 
following costs directly attributable to the transportation of 
eligible students on district school buses:

16.1 Total expenditures by funding code.
16.2 Wages of the Drivers.
16.3 Bus maintenance costs (expenditure for all bus 

supplies, repairs and routine service).
16.4 Cost of accidents, including bus repairs.
16.5 Indirect costs (all those costs not included in 

above categories and all costs associated with those who 
supervise the school transportation operation).

17.0 Bus Replacement Schedules: The time begins for a 
new bus when it is placed in service.  A bus shall have the 
required mileage prior to the start of the school year.  Once a 
bus is placed in service for the school year, it will not be 
replaced unless it is unable to continue service due to 
mechanical failure.

17.1 The following age and mileage requirements 
apply:

17.1.1 12th year must be replaced ( it may then be 
used as a spare); or

17.1.2 150,000 miles no matter age of bus; or
17.1.3 7 years plus 100,000 miles; or

17.1.4 may be replaced after 10 years.
17.2 Contractors shall be reimbursed for their 

eligible school buses for the annual allowances permitted by 
the Formula.  New (unused) buses placed in service in a year 
following their manufacture shall begin their 7 years of 
capital allowances with the rate specified for the year of 
manufacture and continue in year increments until 
completed.

17.3 School buses purchased with state-allocated 
transportation funds may be used by the school districts for 
purposes other than transportation of pupils to and from 
school.  This type of use shall be at the district’s expense and 
shall occur only during a time when the bus is not making its 
normal school run.

In accordance with the Attorney General’s opinion 
of June 18, 1974, regarding the use of buses purchased from 
State-allocated transportation funds for purposes other than 
the regular transportation of pupils to and from school, the 
provisions of Title 14, Section 1056, School Property, Use, 
Control and Management, shall apply.

18.0 School Bus Inspections: The Delaware Motor 
Vehicle Division has two periods of time when all school bus 
owners shall have their buses inspected each year, once 
during January or February and the second yearly inspection 
during June, July, or August.

19.0 Transportation for Students with Disabilities: 
Transportation or a reimbursement for transportation 
expenses actually incurred shall be provided by the State for 
eligible persons with disabilities by the most economically 
feasible means compatible with the person’s disability 
subject to the limitations in the following regulations:

19.1 When the legal residence of a person receiving 
tuition assistance for private placement is within sixty (60) 
miles (one way) of the school or institution to be attended, 
the person shall be eligible for round trip reimbursement for 
transportation on a daily basis at the per mile rate allowed by 
the Internal Revenue Service for business use of a private 
vehicle, or for transportation at State expense which may be 
provided in lieu of the per mile reimbursement. (Round trip 
mileage is considered to be from the person’s legal residence 
to the school or institution and return twice a day, or for 
actual mileage traveled, whichever is less.)

19.2 When the legal residence of a person receiving 
tuition assistance for private placement is in excess of sixty 
(60) miles (one way) but less than one hundred (100) miles 
(one way) from the school or institution to be attended, the 
person shall be eligible for round trip transportation 
reimbursement at the per mile rate allowed by the Internal 
Revenue Service for business use of a private vehicle, or for 
transportation at State expense which may be provided in 
lieu of the per mile reimbursement on a weekly basis and on 
such other occasions as may be required when the school is 
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not in session due to scheduled vacations or holidays of the 
school or institution.  (Round trip mileage is considered to be 
from the person’s legal residence to the school or institution 
and return twice a week.  The weekly basis is to be 
determined by the calendar of the school or institution to be 
attended.)

19.3 When the legal residence of a person receiving 
tuition assistance for private placement is in excess of one 
hundred (100) miles (one way) of the school or institution to 
be attended, the person shall be eligible for round trip 
reimbursement on the basis of one round trip per year from 
the person’s legal residence to the school or institution and 
return, and at such other times when care and maintenance of 
the person is unavailable due to the closing of the residential 
facility provided in conjunction with the school or 
institution.  (Round trip is considered to be from the person’s 
legal residence to the school or institution to be attended and 
from the school or institution to the legal residence of the 
person on an annual basis or at such times as indicated 
above.)

19.4 Reimbursement shall be computed on the per 
mile rate allowed by the Internal Revenue Service for 
business use of a private vehicle from the legal residence to 
the point of embarkation and return to the legal residence 
and for the actual fares based on the most economical means 
of transportation from the point of embarkation to the school 
or institution to be attended; the return trip shall be computed 
on the same basis.

19.5 Transportation at State expense may be 
provided from the legal residence to the point of 
embarkation in lieu of the per mile reimbursement when it is 
determined by the local district to be more economically 
feasible.

19.6 The local district of residence shall be 
responsible for payment of all such transportation 
reimbursement when it is determined by the local district to 
be more economically feasible.

19.7 All requests for payment shall be made by the 
parent or legal guardian or other person who has control of 
the child to the transportation supervisor responsible for 
transportation in the district of residence at a time 
determined by the district but prior to June 5 of any year.

19.8 When reimbursements are made they shall be 
based on required documentation to support such payment.

19.9 The legal residence for the purpose of these 
regulations is defined as the residence of the parent, legal 
guardian or other persons in the state having control of the 
child with disabilities and with whom the child actually 
resides.

19.10 School Transportation Aides:  With the 
approval of the Department of Education, a state funded 
school bus aide may be provided on school buses serving 
special schools/programs for children with disabilities.

See 3 DE Reg. 1548 (5/1/00)

20.0 Transportation for Alternative Programs:  Costs for 
transportation shall be paid by the state from funds 
appropriated for student transportation if transportation is 
provided by extending already existing routes.  Shuttle 
services that extend existing routes will be allowed. 
Additional routes established to transport students to and 
from the Alternative Programs or other special transportation 
designs will not be paid by the state from the school 
transportation appropriation and shall be included in the 
Alternative Program budget and be paid from the state 
allocation for alternative programs and/or the districts 30% 
share.  Planning committees for these programs shall include 
the transportation supervisors who will be providing 
services.  In addition, those supervisors must coordinate 
planning with and submit their transportation plans to the 
Education Associate for School Transportation at the 
Department of Education.

21.0 Drugs and Alcohol Testing
21.1 Content:

21.1.1 Pursuant to 14  Del.C. §2910, this 
regulation shall apply to the contracting for a program of 
drug and alcohol testing services necessary to enable public 
school districts, charter schools, and any person or entity that 
contracts with a school district or charter school to provide 
transportation for State public school students, to comply 
with such drug and alcohol testing requirements applicable 
to Delaware public school bus drivers as are now, or may 
hereafter be, imposed by federal law.

21.1.2 School bus aides shall be subject to the 
same federal and state drug and alcohol testing requirements 
as school bus drivers.  They shall use non-DOT forms, and 
the employer shall follow the same procedures set forth 
herein.

21.2 Definitions:  The following words and terms, 
when used in this regulation, shall have the following 
meaning unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Alcohol” means the intoxicating agent in beverage 
alcohol, ethyl alcohol or other low molecular exercising 
weight alcohols, including methyl or isopropyl alcohol.

“CDL” means a commercial drivers license issued 
pursuant to 21 Del.C. Chapter 26.

“Department”means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“DOT” means the United States Department of 
Transportation.

“Drug”means the controlled substances for which 
tests are required under the provisions of 49 U.S.C. 49 
§31306 CFR Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40, and include 
marijuana, cocaine, amphetamines, phencyclidine (PCP), 
and opiates.

“Employer” means school bus contractors or 
school districts and charter schools when they directly 
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employ school bus drivers..
“Negative result” means a verified negative drug 

test result or an alcohol test result lower than the Federal 
standard as defined by the provisions of 49 U.S.C. §31306, 
49 CFR Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40.

“Positive result” means a verified positive, 
adulterated, or substituted drug test result, an alcohol test 
result equal to or greater than the Federal standard or a 
refusal to take a drug or alcohol test as defined by the 
provisions of 49 U.S.C. §31306, 49 CFR Part 382 and 49 
CFR Part 40.

21.3 Federal Regulations: Employers shall comply 
with the drug and alcohol testing regulations 
 issued by the Secretary of Transportation of the United 
States pursuant to 49 U.S.C. ' 31306 and located at 49 CFR 
Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40.
 21.4 Drug and Alcohol testing program 
requirements:

21.4.1 The employer shall:
  21.4.1.1 Be responsible for compliance 

with all federal and state regulations;
  21.4.1.2 Maintain drug and alcohol testing 

records for their school bus drivers and aides.
21.4.1.2.1 Documentation of drug and 

alcohol testing results shall flow directly from the 
Consortium/Third Party Administrator Medical Review 
Officer (C/TPA/MRO), as defined by the provisions of 49 
CFR Part 382 and 49 CFR Part 40, to the employer.  Copies 
of positive results shall be sent to the transportation 
supervisor for the school district or charter school and the 
Department for accounting and audit purposes.

21.4.1.2.2 Documentation of results 
shall be addressed to the individual, or employer, and the 
transportation supervisors for the school district, charter 
school or Department so as to ensure confidentiality.

21.4.2 The Department shall:
 21.4.2.1 Bid the contract for the drug and 

alcohol testing program;
 21.4.2.2 Monitor the drug and alcohol 

testing program;
21.4.3 Any school bus driver or aide who is not in 

compliance with federal and state drug and alcohol testing 
requirements shall not perform driver or aide duties until 
they have satisfied the federal and state requirements.

21.4.3.1 Any school bus driver or aide who has 
a positive drug or alcohol test result shall comply with DOT 
regulations regarding a Substance Abuse Professional (SAP) 
evaluation, treatment and return-to-duty testing before 
another pre-employment test is allowed.

21.4.3.2 An employer who hires a school bus 
driver or aide who has previously failed a drug or alcohol 
test shall ensure that all follow-up drug and/or alcohol 
testing recommended by the SAP evaluation is implemented.

21.5 Pre-employment Testing

21.5.1 School bus drivers with no CDL and aides 
with no prior experience must have a negative pre-
employment drug test, and the employer must receive a 
negative result before the prospective employee can operate 
a school bus or serve as an aide.

21.5.2 Bus drivers with a CDL and school bus 
aides with past experience shall follow DOT rules and 
regulations to determine the necessity for pre-employment 
drug testing.

21.5.3 Employers shall provide Federal Drug 
Testing Custody and Control (CCF) forms to new school bus 
drivers and non-DOT forms to school bus aides who shall 
take the forms to the appropriate collection facility where the 
driver or aide shall be administered a drug test.  Forms shall 
note the employer and school district or charter school.

21.5.4 Negative results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.

21.5.5 Positive results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.  Copies of positive results 
shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for the school 
district or charter school and the Department for accounting 
and audit purposes.

21.5.6 Employers shall notify prospective school 
bus drivers and aides in writing of a positive result.  Copies 
of this letter shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for 
the school district or charter school and the Department. 

21.6 Random Testing
21.6.1 Employers shall provide the C/TPA/MRO 

a quarterly list of eligible drivers and aides to be drug and 
alcohol tested no later than one week before the testing 
quarter.  The list shall note the primary school district or 
charter school of the drivers and aides.  Copies of the lists 
shall be provided to the school district or charter school 
transportation supervisors.

21.6.2 The C/TPA/MRO shall send the employer 
lists of drivers and aides to be tested by the end of the first 
week of the quarter.  

21.6.3 Employers shall provide CCF and alcohol 
testing forms to the drivers and aides who shall take the 
forms and go immediately to the appropriate collection 
facility where the driver or aide shall be administered a drug 
test or a drug and alcohol test.  Forms shall note the 
employer and the school district or charter school.

21.6.4 Employers shall complete the required 
random tests before the end of the calendar quarter.

21.6.5 Negative results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO  to the employer.

21.6.6 Notification of positive results shall be 
forwarded from the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.  Copies of 
the positive results forms shall be sent to the transportation 
supervisor for the school district or charter school and the 
Department for accounting and audit purposes.

21.6.7 Employers shall notify school bus drivers 
and aides in writing of a positive result. Copies of this letter 
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shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for the school 
district or charter school and Department.

21.7Post-Accident and Reasonable Suspicion Testing
21.7.1 Employers shall provide CCF and alcohol 

testing forms to the school bus drivers and aides who shall 
take the forms and go immediately to the appropriate 
collection facility where the driver or aide shall be 
administered a drug and/or alcohol test.  Forms shall note the 
employer and school district and charter school.

21.7.2 Negative results shall be forwarded from 
the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.

21.7.3 Notification of positive results shall be 
forwarded from the C/TPA/MRO to the employer.  Copies of 
the positive result form shall be sent to the transportation 
supervisor for the school district or charter school and the 
Department for accounting and audit purposes.  

21.7.4 Employers shall notify school bus drivers 
and aides in writing of a positive result. Copies of this letter 
shall be sent to the transportation supervisor for the school 
district or charter school and the Department. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS 
PROTECTION

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,
Section 1101 (16 Del.C. §1101)

NOTICE

Regulations For Training Of Paid Feeding Assistants

The Department of Health and Social Services, Division 
of Long Term Care Residents Protection, has prepared four 
(4) revised proposed Regulations For Training of Paid 
Feeding Assistants pursuant to 16 Del.C. Section 1101(f). 
The remainder of the regulations addressing issues such as 
definitions, general requirements, training program 
requirements, curriculum and competencies appear as final 
regulations elsewhere in this edition of the Register of 
Regulations.  The following four (4) proposed regulations, 
revised or extended after public hearings on February 3 and 
February 4, will be the subject of a further public hearing: 
Regulations 73.104, 73.201, 73.203A and the Introduction.

Invitation For Public Comment

A public hearing will be held as follows:
Monday, April 5, 2004, 9:00 AM
Room 301, Main Building

Herman Holloway Campus
1901 N. DuPont Highway
New Castle

For clarification or directions, please call Gina 
Loughery at 302-577-6661.

Written comments are also invited on these proposed 
revised regulations and should be sent to the following 
address:

Robert Smith
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
3 Mill Road, Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806

Written comments will be accepted until the conclusion 
of the public hearing.

Regulations For Training Of Paid Feeding Assistants

Introduction

These regulations allow for the use of Paid Feeding 
Assistants, as single task workers, to provide feeding 
assistance in nursing facilities and assisted living facilities. 
To ensure consistency in the training of Feeding Assistants, 
the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection has 
developed minimum requirements for Feeding Assistant 
training programs.  Each Feeding Assistant training program 
shall be approved by the Division of Long Term Care 
Residents Protection.  The intent of these regulations is to 
provide more residents with help in eating and drinking, or 
encouraging the resident so that more of the meal is 
consumed, making mealtime a more pleasant experience, 
and potentially reducing the incidence of unplanned weight 
loss and dehydration.  The determination of which residents 
may receive assistance from a Feeding Assistant shall be 
based on the needs and potential risks to a resident as 
observed and documented in the resident’s plan of care and 
the comprehensive assessment of the resident’s functional 
capacity.  While these regulations are not applicable to 
volunteers and family members, those individuals are 
encouraged to complete a Feeding Assistant training 
program.

73.104 Instructors -  Registered nurses, advanced practice 
nurses, dietitians, speech pathologists, or a combination of 
such professionals, who train Feeding Assistants. 
Occupational therapists may be defined as instructors for 
purposes of training in special needs as described in Section 
73.303C.

73.201 Facilities implementing Feeding Assistant 
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Programs shall have written policies and procedures in place
that include each item in Section 73.200.

73.203A Each unlicensed or uncertified individual who
feeds and hydrates residents in a facility, with the exception
of family members and volunteers, shall successfully
complete a Feeding Assistant training program approved by
the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection.

* PLEASE NOTE:  AS THE REST OF THE REGULATIONS
WERE NOT AMENDED, THEY ARE NOT BEING PUBLISHED.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, 

Chapter 26A, Section 2631 (16 Del.C. §2631)

NOTICE

Nature of the Proceedings

Pursuant to 16 Delaware Code, Chapter 26A, Section
2631, these new regulations “Hearing Aid Loan Bank
Program Regulations” establish requirements for a Hearing
Aid Loan Program within the Division of Public for children
under 3 years of age with a diagnosed hearing impairment.

Notice of Public Hearing

The Community Health Care Access Section, Division
of Public Health, Department of Health and Social Services
will hold a public hearing to discuss the proposed Hearing
Aid Loan Bank Program Regulations.  The public hearing
will be held on March 24, 2004 at 9:30 a.m., in the Third
Floor Conference Room of the Jesse Cooper Building,
Federal and Water Streets, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for
review by calling the following location:

Community Health Care Access Section
Jesse Cooper Building
Federal and Water Streets, Dover, Delaware
Telephone: (302) 744-4554

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at
this hearing should contact David Walton at (302) 744-4700
by March 23, 2004.  Anyone wishing to submit written
comments as a supplement to or in lieu of oral testimony
should submit such comments by March 31, 2004 to:

David P. Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health

P.O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903-0637

108 Hearing Aid Loan Bank Program Regulations

1.0 Purpose
1.1 The program is established for the purpose of

lending hearing aids on a temporary basis to a parent or legal
guardian of an eligible child to ensure that children under the
age of three (3) years will have maximum auditory input
during the critical period of language learning.

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words shall have the meanings

indicated:
"Director" means the Director or designee of the

Division of Public Health, Department of Health and Social
Services.

"Division" means the Division of Public Health,
Department of Health and Social Services.

"Eligible Child" means a child who is a resident of the
State, identified by a licensed audiologist as having a hearing
impairment, has no immediate access to a hearing aid, and is
under the age of three (3) years.

"Licensed Audiologist" means an individual who is
licensed to practice audiology under Chapter 37 of Title 24
of this Code.

"Loan Bank" means hearing aid loan bank.
“Loan Period” means time periods to include initial

(up to six months) and extension for additional three month
periods, with required documentation.

"Program" means the Hearing Aid Loan Bank
Program.

"Program Manager" means the program manager of
the Hearing Aid Loan Bank Program.

3.0 Eligibility
3.1 A child under three (3) years of age is eligible if

confirmed through:
3.1.1 A prescription from a licensed audiologist;
3.1.2 Birth certificate or other documentation

for proof of age;
3.1.3 Address of residence to document

Delaware residency;
3.1.4 No immediate access to another hearing

aid under Medicaid, the State children’s health program or
private insurance, as per insurance denial letters; and

3.1.5 Proof of the parent or legal guardian’s
inability to pay for the hearing aid based on:

3.1.5.1 Proof of family income by review of
three of the most recent consecutive pay stubs for each
parent or legal guardian, using the Federal Poverty
Guidelines as the reference.  If such pay stubs are not
available, documents as approved by program manager must
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be submitted.
3.1.5.2 Documentation of insurance 

coverage, and/or medical assistance status.
3.2 A parent or legal guardian who borrows a hearing 

aid for an eligible child shall:
3.2.1 be the custodian of the hearing aid;
3.2.2 return the hearing aid immediately to the 

loan bank upon the expiration of the loan period or receipt of 
a suitable permanent hearing aid, whichever occurs first;

3.2.3 be responsible for the proper care and use 
of the hearing aid;

3.2.4 be responsible for any damage to or loss of 
the hearing aid; and

3.2.5 sign a written agreement provided by the 
program manager that states the term and conditions of the 
loan.

3.3 For a child to be eligible for one or more extensions 
of the initial six month loan period, a parent or the guardian 
of the child must show:

3.3.1 That there is no immediate access to 
another hearing aid under Medicaid, the State children’s 
health program or private insurance;

3.3.2 The child’s parent or legal guardian 
currently does not have the financial means to obtain 
immediate access to another hearing aid; and

3.3.3 Proof of making reasonable efforts to 
obtain immediate access to another hearing aid, such as 
pursuing insurance coverage for hearing aids or pursuing 
alternate financial assistance to cover the hearing aid; and

3.3.4 Has met initial eligibility criteria prior to 
age three; not to exceed two extensions during the third year 
of life.

4.0 Penalty for Non-Compliance
Under the Authority granted to the Department of 

Health and Social Services in 16 Del. C. Section 107, 
"whoever refuses, fails or neglects to perform the duties 
required under this chapter, or violates, neglects or fails to 
comply with the duly adopted regulations or orders of the 
Department of Health and Social Services, shall be fined not 
less than $100 and not more than $1,000, together with costs, 
unless otherwise provided by law."

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 

Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

NOTICE

Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional Resource 
Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 

Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health 
and Social Services/Division of Social Services (DHSS/
DSS) is proposing to amend the policy in the Division of 
Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates to time 
limitations for the Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) 
Transitional Resource Program.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning this notice must submit same to Sharon 
L. Summers, Policy and Program Implementation Unit, 
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, 
Delaware 19720-0906 by March 31, 2004.  

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Regulations

DSSM 6103 is being amended to permit non-parent 
caregivers more time to access this service; specifically, 
changing the timeframe from 90 to 180 days.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #04-05 

REVISION:

6103 Eligibility

Applicants must meet the following eight criteria to 
receive assistance from the Relative Caregivers’ (Non-
Parent) Transitional Resource Program:

1. Relationship-The child is living with a relative 
within the 5th degree of relationship (DSSM 3004).

2. Age-The child is less than 18 years of age.
3. Residence-Applicants must reside in Delaware 

to be eligible for benefits. Persons including the homeless 
(those with no fixed address or not living in a permanent 
dwelling) who currently live in Delaware and plan to stay, 
regardless of the length of time they have been here, meet 
the residency requirement.

4. Time Limitation-The child has been living in 
caregiver('s) home less than or equal to 90 180 days. 

5. Income - The income of the caregiver cannot 
exceed 200% of the Federal Poverty Level based on the 
household size.  The caregiver's household includes the 
caregiver and his/her children.  The income of the child 
moving in with the caregiver and any siblings (or half-
siblings) who also reside in the home is not counted.

6. Resources-Eligibility will be determined 
without regard to the child or caregiver('s)  resources.
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7. Citizenship-The child is a citizen or lawfully
admitted alien.

8. Need-The child’s need is for one or more of the
covered services.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 

Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

NOTICE

Food Stamp Program 

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services /
Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program is proposing to
amend the policy of the Food Stamp Program in the Division
of Social Services Manual (DSSM).  

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by March 31, 2004.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

• Excludes educational income (financial assistance)
for food stamp purposes. 

• Removes the reference to PAN (Program of
Assistance Nutrition) income which is no longer
counted for food stamp purposes per federal rules.  

Citations

• Farm Bill Section 4102 (Simplified Definition of
Income) allows a State the option to exclude certain
types of income that are not counted under the
State’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
(TANF) cash assistance or Medicaid programs.
Under this provision, States are allowed to exclude:
educational assistance not counted under Medicaid;
State complementary assistance not counted under

section 1931 of Medicaid; and any type of income
not counted under section 1931 of Medicaid or
TANF.

• The Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) issued
Administrative Notice 04-2003: Guidance on the
Treatment of Nutritional Assistance Program
(NAP) Benefit. Under the new guidance, States will
no longer count NAP benefits from Puerto Rico
when determining eligibility and benefits.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATIONS #04-06

REVISIONS:

9056  Earned Income

[273.9(b)(1)]
Earned income includes:

1. All wages and salaries for services performed as an
employee, including money withheld from an employee's
earnings to pay certain expenses such as child care or
medical expenses as a vendor payment to a third party, and

 2. The gross income from a self-employment
enterprise, including the total gain from the sale of any
capital goods or equipment related to the business, excluding
the costs of doing business as provided in DSSM 9074.
Consider ownership of rental property a self- employment
enterprise; however, income derived from the rental property
will be considered earned income only if a member of the
household is actively engaged in the management of the
property at least an average of 20 hours a week.  Payments
from a roomer/boarder, except foster care boarders, or
roomer only will also be considered self-employment
income and need not meet the 20-hour rule.

3. Training allowances from vocational and
rehabilitative programs recognized by Federal, State, or local
governments, to the extent that they are not reimbursements.
Training allowances under WIA, other than earnings as
specified in #5 of this Section are excluded from
consideration as income.

4. Payments under Title I (VISTA, etc.) of the
Domestic Volunteer Service Act of 1973 (P.L. 93-113).

5. Earnings to individuals who are participating in on-
the-job training programs under Section 204(b)(1)(C) or
section 264(c)(1)(A) of the Workforce Investment Act
(WIA).  This provision does not apply to household
members under 19 years of age who are under the parental
control of another adult member, regardless of school
attendance and/or enrollment.  Earnings include monies paid
under WIA and monies paid by the employer.

6. Educational assistance which has a work
requirement (such as work study, assistantship or fellowship
with a work requirement) in excess of the amount excluded
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under DSSM 9059.

9057  Unearned Income

[273.9(b)(2)]
Unearned income includes, but is not limited to:

1. Assistance payments from Federal or federally 
aided public assistance programs, such as Supplemental 
Security Income (SSI) or Delaware's Temporary Assistance 
To Needy Families Program (TANF), Refugee Cash 
Assistance (RCA), General Assistance (GA) programs or 
other assistance programs based on need.

2. Annuities, pensions, retirement, veteran's benefits, 
disability benefits, workman's compensation, unemployment 
compensation, social security, strike benefits, foster care 
payments for children or for adults who are considered 
members of the household, gross income minus the cost of 
doing business derived from rental property in which a 
household member is not actively engaged in the 
management of the property at least 20 hours a week.

3. Support or alimony payment made directly to the 
household from non-household members.

4. Scholarships, education grants, deferred payment 
loans for educational benefits, veteran's educational benefits 
and the like, other than educational assistance with a work 
requirement, in excess of amount excluded. Payments from 
Government-sponsored programs, dividends, interest, 
royalties, and all other direct money payments from any 
source which can be construed to be a gain or benefit.

A lottery winner that receives a set amount each 
year will have those winnings counted as unearned income. 
The income shall be averaged over a 12-month period of 
time.

For example, a household receives $24,000 each 
November from a lottery win. The $24,000 is averaged over 
a 12-month period and $2,000 counted on a monthly basis.

Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) payments are not 
to be treated as income.  [See DSSM 9059 (H) ].

6. 5. Monies which are withdrawn or dividends 
which are or could be received by a household from trust 
funds considered to be excludable resources under DSSM 
9049 (8). Such trust withdrawals will be considered income 
in the month received, unless otherwise exempt under the 
provisions of DSSM 9059.  Dividends which the household 
has the option of either receiving as income or reinvesting in 
the trust are to be considered as income in the month they 
become available to the household unless otherwise exempt 
under the provisions of DSSM 9059 .

7. 6. For a household containing a sponsored alien, 
the income of the sponsor and the sponsor’s spouse must be 
deemed in accordance with DSSM 9081.2.

8. 7. The earned or unearned income of an 
individual disqualified from the household for intentional 

Program violation, in accordance with DSSM 2023 will 
continue to be attributed in their entirety, to the remaining 
household members.  However, the earned or unearned 
income of individuals disqualified from households for 
failing to comply with the requirement to provide an SSN in 
accordance with DSSM 9012 , or for being an ineligible 
alien in accordance with DSSM 9007 , will continue to be 
counted as income, less a prorata share for the individual.

Procedures for calculating a prorata share are 
described in DSSM 9076 .

9. PAN income - Puerto Rico gives cash instead of 
food stamp coupons.  The income counts as unearned 
income when households apply for food stamps and received 
PAN funds from Puerto Rico in the same month.  PAN 
means Programa De Asistencia Nutricional.

10. 8. State and local energy assistance is counted as 
income. Delaware does not have state or local energy 
assistance programs.

9059  Income Exclusions

[273.9(c)]
Only the following items will be excluded from household 
income and no other income will be excluded:

A. Any gain or benefit which is not in the form of 
money payable directly to the household.

This includes in-kind benefits and certain vendor 
payments.  In-kind benefits are those for which no monetary 
payment is made on behalf of the household and includes 
meals, clothing, housing, or produce from a garden.  A 
vendor payment is a money payment made on behalf of a 
household by a person or organization outside of the 
household directly to either the household's creditors or to a 
person or organization providing a service to the household.  

Payments made to a third party on behalf of the 
household are included or excluded as income as follows:

1. Department of Housing and Urban 
Development (HUD) vendor payments.  Rent or mortgage 
payments made to landlords or mortgages by HUD are 
excluded.

2. Educational assistance vendor payments. 
Educational assistance provided to a third party on behalf of 
the household for living expenses shall be treated the same 
as educational assistance directly to the household.

3. 2. Vendor payments that are reimbursements. 
Reimbursements made in the form of vendor payments are 
excluded on the same basis as reimbursements paid directly 
to the household as described in DSSM 9059 E .

4. 3. Other third party payments.  Other third 
party payments shall be handled as follows:  Moneys legally 
obligated and otherwise payable to the household which are 
diverted by the provider of the payment to a third party for a 
household expense shall be counted as income and not 
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excluded.  If the person or organization makes a payment to 
a third party on behalf of a household using funds that are 
not owed to the household, the payment shall be excluded 
from income. The following are examples of third party 
payments:

a) A friend or relative uses his or her own 
money to pay the household's rent directly to the landlord. 
This vendor payment shall be excluded.

b) A household member earns wages. 
However, the wages are garnished or diverted by the 
employer and paid to a third party for a household expense, 
such as rent.  This vendor payment is counted as income. 
However, if the employer pays a household's rent directly to 
the landlord in addition to paying the household its regular 
wages, the rent payment shall be excluded from income. 
Similarly, if the employer provides housing to an employee 
in addition to wages, the value of the housing shall not be 
counted as income.

c) A household receives court-ordered 
monthly support payments in the amount of $400.  Later, 
$200 is diverted by the provider and paid directly to a 
creditor for a household expense.  The payment is counted as 
income.

Money deducted or diverted from a court-
ordered support or alimony payment to a third party for a 
household's expense shall be included as income because the 
payment is taken from money that is owed to the household. 
However, payments specified by a court order or other 
legally binding agreement to go directly to a third party 
rather than the household are excluded from income because 
they are not otherwise payable to the household.

Examples of court-ordered payments:
a) A court awards support payments in 

the amount of $400 a month and in addition orders $200 to 
be paid directly to a bank for repayment of a loan.  The $400 
payment is counted as income and the $200 payment is 
excluded from income.

b) A civil service retiree is entitled to a 
retirement payment of $800 a month.  However, $400 is 
diverted to his ex-wife by court order for child support.  This 
is similar to a wage garnishment.  Since the retirement 
benefits are legally obligated and otherwise payable to the 
retiree's household, the $800 is budgeted for food stamp 
purposes.

Support payments not required by a court 
order or other legally binding agreement (including 
payments in excess of the amount specified in a court order 
or written agreement) which are paid to a third party on the 
household's behalf shall be excluded from income.

5. 4. Payments made by the Division or by 
another government agency to a child care institution to 
provide day care for a household member are also excluded 
as vendor payments.

6. 5. All or part of a public assistance grant 

which would normally be provided in a money payment but 
which is diverted to a protective payee will be considered 
income to the household.

7. 6. Emergency Assistance payments will be 
excluded if they are made directly to a third party for a 
household expense.  This rule applies even if the household 
has the option of receiving a direct cash payment.

8. 7. Under some pay/benefit plans, an 
employee may choose to have the employer withhold from 
the employee's earnings money to pay certain expenses such 
as child care and medical expenses as a vendor payment to a 
third party when the expenses are incurred.  The amount is 
counted as earned income when withheld because the money 
is legally obligated and otherwise payable to the employee at 
that time.

9. 8. Some companies make credits available to 
employees to use to buy health insurance, annual leave, sick 
leave or life insurance.  The employee cannot elect to receive 
a cash payment and loses the credits if not used.  The amount 
shows up on the pay stub when used.  These flexible benefits 
are not counted as income because they are not legally 
obligated and otherwise payable to the employee as 
earnings.

Some companies give employees "points" as 
incentive to arrive to work on time, work so many weeks 
without taking leave, etc.  These points have a monetary 
value that appears on the pay stub and the points are subject 
to taxes.  The employee can only redeem the points for 
commodities or goods from a catalog provided by the 
employer; they cannot convert the points to cash.  These 
points are excluded from income because the funds are not 
otherwise payable to the household.

B. Any income in the certification period which is 
received too infrequently or irregularly to be reasonably 
anticipated, but not in excess of $30 a quarter.

C. Educational assistance, including grants, 
scholarships, fellowships, work study, educational loans on 
which payment is deferred, veterans’ educational benefits 
and the like  Grants, Loans and Scholarships - Do not count 
educational financial assistance received from school grants, 
scholarships, vocational rehabilitation payments, Job 
Training Partnership Act payments, educational loans, and 
other loans that are expected to be repaid as income. 
Exclude any other financial assistance received that is 
intended for books, tuition, or other self-sufficiency 
expenses.  

To be excluded, the educational assistance listed 
above must be:

A. Awarded to a household member enrolled at a:
1. Recognized institution of post-secondary 

education,* 
2. School for the handicapped,
3. Vocational education program,
4. Vocational or technical school, or 
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5. Program that provides for obtaining a 
secondary school diploma or the equivalent;

*   Means any public or private educational 
institution which normally requires a high school diploma or 
equivalency certificate for enrollment or admits persons who 
are beyond the age of compulsory school attendance for that 
State.  The institution must be authorized to provide an 
educational program beyond secondary education or 
provides a program of training to prepare students for gainful 
employment, including correspondence schools at that level. 

B. Used for or identified (earmarked) by the 
institution, school, program, or other grantor for the 
following allowable expenses:

1. Tuition,
2. Mandatory school fees, including the 

rental or purchase of any equipment, material, and supplies 
related to the pursuit of the course of study involved,

3. Books,
4. Supplies,
5. Transportation,
6. Miscellaneous personal expenses, other 

than the normal living expenses of room and board, of the 
student incidental to attending a school, institution, or 
program,

7. Dependent care (amounts excluded cannot 
be excluded under the income dependent care deduction 
under DSSM 9060 ), and 

8. Origination fees and insurance premiums 
on educational loans.

Exclusions based on use for the allowable 
expenses listed above must be incurred or anticipated for the 
period the educational income is intended to cover regardless 
of when the educational income is actually received.  If a 
student uses other income sources to pay for allowable 
educational expenses in months before the educational 
income is received, the exclusions to cover the expenses 
shall be allowed when the educational income is received. 
When the amounts used for allowable expenses are more 
than amounts earmarked by the institution, school,  program 
or other grantor, an exclusion shall be allowed for amounts 
used over the earmarked amounts.  Exclusions based on use 
shall be subtracted from unearned educational income first 
when possible, and the remainder, if any, shall be excluded 
from earned educational income.

An individual's total educational income 
exclusions cannot exceed that individual's total educational 
income received. 

 D. All loans, including loans from private 
individuals as well as commercial institutions.  , other than 
educational loans on which repayment is deferred. 
Educational loans on which repayment is deferred shall be 
excluded according to DSSM 9059 C .  A loan on which 
repayment must begin within 60 days after receipt of the 
loan shall not be considered a deferred repayment loan.  

9063.3  Income Averaging

[273.10(c)(3)]

Income may be averaged when the household has 
fluctuating income.  When averaging income, use the 
household's anticipation of monthly income fluctuations 
over the certification period.  Averages are recalculated at 
recertification and when changes in income are reported.  

Conversion of income received weekly or biweekly 
according to DSSM 9063.2 is not averaging income.

Households which, by contract or by self-employment, 
derive their annual income in a period of time shorter than 
one (1) year will have that income averaged over a 12-month 
period, provided the income from the contract is not received 
on an hourly or piecework basis.  These households may 
include school employees, share croppers, farmers and other 
self-employed households.  However, these provisions do 
not apply to migrant or seasonal farmworkers.  The 
procedures for averaging self-employed income are 
described in DSSM 9075 .  Contract income which is not the 
household's annual income and is not paid on an hourly or 
piecework basis shall be prorated over the period the income 
is intended to cover.

For food stamp purposes, a contract employee is one 
that has an agreement with an employer to work a certain 
length of time or perform a specific job.  It may be either a 
written contract or an implied contract.  Acceptable 
verification would be a statement from the employer or a 
written document, such as a copy of the contract or 
agreement, that shows the terms of employment.

The following shows an example of contract and hourly 
work:

A teacher's aid works 10 months of the year for 
$9.16 per hour and 6 hours per day.  She does not sign a 
"contract" but it is implied that she will be "rehired" for the 
following school year.  She will be considered a contract 
employee whose income must be annualized.

An employee who is paid hourly is one that is paid 
based on the number of hours he works when there is no 
established work schedule such as a handyman who does 
odd jobs around the school.

Earned and unearned educational income, after 
allowable exclusions, shall be averaged over the period 
which it is intended to cover.  Income shall be counted either 
in the month it is received, or in the month the household 
anticipates receiving it or receiving the first installment 
payment, although it is still prorated over the period it is 
intended to cover.
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 

Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

NOTICE

Food Stamp Program Electronic Benefit Transfer

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health 
and Social Services/Division of Social Services (DHSS/
DSS) is proposing to amend the policy of the Food Stamp 
Program in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) 
as it relates to Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT).

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning this notice must submit same to Sharon 
L. Summers, Policy and Program Implementation Unit, 
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, 
Delaware 19720-0906 by March 31, 2004.  

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Regulations

1. The proposed regulation reflects the change from 
coupons to Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) in regards to 
the replacement of benefits policy.

2. Replacement of food stamp benefits issued via EBT 
is restricted to:

• Food purchased with benefits and destroyed in 
a disaster or misfortune;

• Unauthorized access to benefits after the client 
has reported a lost or stolen EBT card to e-
Funds; and

• Unauthorized access to benefits due to agency 
or vendor error.

3. DSS will not replace food stamp benefits 
withdrawn from an EBT account:

• Before the client reports the EBT card lost or 
stolen to the e-Funds Customer Support Unit; 
or 

• Due to misuse by an authorized representative.

Citations

• 7 CFR §274.6, Replacement Issuances to 
Households

• 7 CFR §274.12, EBT Issuance System Approval 
Standards

DSS PROPOSED REGULATIONS #04-02 

REVISIONS:

9079.1  Replacing Coupons

We will replace an issuance to a household when the 
household reports that:

· Its coupons were not received in the mail or were 
stolen from the mail,  were destroyed in a 
household misfortune, or were improperly 
manufactured or mutilated; or

· Food purchased with food stamps was destroyed in 
a household misfortune.

We will not provide a replacement issuance to a household 
when:

· The coupons are lost, stolen, or misplaced after 
receipt;

• The coupons are totally destroyed after receipt in 
other than a disaster or misfortune; 

• Coupons sent by registered or certified mail are 
signed for by anyone residing with or visiting the 
household; or

• The household or its authorized representative has 
not signed the Affidavit Form 324.  Whenever an 
affidavit is signed by an authorized representative, 
use this format:

"________________________" for "_______________"
 (authorized representative)    (household head)

Where FNS has issued a disaster declaration and the 
household is eligible for disaster food stamp benefits, the 
household cannot receive both the disaster allotment and a 
replacement allotment for a misfortune.

In order for a replacement to be considered non-
countable, the replacement must not result in a loss to the 
Program.

9079.2  Replacement Restrictions

Provide a replacement issuance only if a household 
timely reports a loss orally or in writing and signs a Form 
324 (affidavit) if the original benefit (coupons) has not been 
returned to DSS at the time of the request for replacement. 
A report is considered timely if it is made within the 
following timeframes:

For Monthly Benefits:
•· From the mailing date until the end of the month

Example:  May’s monthly benefit is mailed on 5/6.  The 
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household has until 5/31 to report non-receipt.  If the report 
is made on 5/31, the household has until 6/10 to sign an 
affidavit in the office or return a signed affidavit to DSS.

For Daily Benefits (Initial, Expedited, Supplemental, 
Restoration, or Replacement):

•· For benefits issued from the 1st of the month 
through the 20th of the month, until the end of the 
month.

Example:  Benefit is mailed on 4/10.  The household has 
until 4/30 to report non-receipt.  If the report is made on 4/
30, the household has until 5/10 to sign an affidavit in the 
office or return a signed affidavit to DSS.

•· For benefits issued from the 21st through the 30/
31st of the month, until the end of the next month.

Example:  Benefit is mailed on 9/25.  The household has 
until 10/31 to report non-receipt.  If the report is made on 10/
31, the household has until 11/10 to sign an affidavit in the 
office or return a signed affidavit to DSS.

Limit the number of replacement issuances a household 
may receive as follows:

•· Limit replacement issuances to a total of two (2) 
countable replacements in six (6) months for:

•· coupons not received in, or stolen from the mail.

Limit replacement issuances per household to two (2) 
countable replacements in six (6) months for coupons 
reported as destroyed in a household misfortune.  This limit 
is in addition to the above limits.

Do not limit the number of replacements for coupons 
which were improperly manufactured or mutilated or food 
purchased with food stamp benefits which was destroyed in 
a household misfortune.

A replacement issuance is not considered a countable 
replacement if:

• The original or replacement benefit is returned or 
otherwise recouped by the Division, or

• The replacement is being issued due to an Agency 
issuance error.

Provide replacement issuances in the amount of the loss 
to the household, up to a maximum of one month's 
allotment, unless the issuance includes restored benefits 
which are to be replaced up to their full value.

9079.3  Household Statement of Non-Receipt (Affidavits)

Prior to issuing a replacement, obtain from a household 
member a signed statement attesting to the household's loss 

(Form 324).  Do not require an affidavit if:
• The reason for the replacement is that the coupons 

were improperly manufactured, or mutilated; or
• The original issuance has already been returned.

The affidavit may be mailed to DSS if the household 
member is unable to come into the office because of age, 
disability, or distance from the office and is unable to appoint 
an authorized representative.

If the affidavit is not received by DSS within ten (10) 
days of the date of the report, do not issue a replacement.  If 
the tenth day falls on a weekend or holiday, and the 
statement is received the day after the weekend or holiday, 
consider the statement timely received.

Retain a copy of the affidavit in the case record.

9079.4  Time Limits for Making Replacements

Provide replacement issuances to households within ten 
(10) days after report of non-delivery or loss, or within two 
(2) working days of receiving the signed household 
statement required in DSSM 9079.3 , whichever date is later. 
Delay replacement of mutilated coupons until a 
determination of the value of the coupons can be made in 
accordance with DSSM 9079.6 .

If the household has already been issued the maximum 
allowable number of countable replacements, delay 
subsequent replacements until DMS has verified that the 
original issuance was returned.  Due to the time it takes for 
benefits to return, it may not be known at the time of the 
replacement request whether prior replacements are 
countable replacements, and, therefore, whether the 
household has reached its limit.  In such cases, restore the 
allotment when DMS verifies that the limit on countable 
replacements has not been reached.

After a household has been issued the maximum 
allowable number of countable replacements, continue to 
allow the household to sign affidavits (Form 324) for 
subsequent replacements.  However, the replacements will 
not be issued until DMS verifies that the original issuance 
was returned.

For example, a client received replacement coupons for 
the months of January and March.  In June, the client reports 
non-receipt of June's coupons.

• Client signs an affidavit.
• Staff sends affidavit to DMS Payments Office.
• DMS investigates the replacement request.
• DMS replaces the coupons in August only after 

verifying the original benefit had returned.

Deny or delay replacement issuances in cases in which 
available documentation indicates that the household's 
request for replacement appears to be fraudulent.

Inform the household of its right to a fair hearing to 
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contest the denial or delay of a replacement issuance.  Do not 
make replacement while the denial or delay is being 
appealed.

9079.5  Replacing Issuances Lost in the Mail or Stolen Prior 
to Receipt by the Household

1) Determine if the coupons were:
• Validly issued,
• Actually mailed and if sufficient time has 

elapsed for delivery, or
• If it was returned in the mail.

2) Determine, to the extent possible, the validity of the 
request for a replacement. This includes determining 
whether the original benefit has been returned to DMS.

3) Issue a replacement if the household is eligible.
 4) Take other action, such as correcting the address in 

DCIS, as warranted.

9079.6  Replacing Issuances After Receipt by the Household

Upon receiving a request for replacement of an issuance 
reported as destroyed after receipt by the household, 
determine if the benefit was validly issued.  Comply with all 
applicable provisions in DSSM 9079.2 - 9079.4, as well as 
following procedures for each type of replacement.

1) Prior to replacing destroyed coupons, or destroyed 
food that was purchased with food stamp benefits, determine 
that the destruction occurred in a household misfortune or 
disaster, such as, but not limited to, a fire or flood.  Verify 
such occurrences through a collateral contact, 
documentation from a community agency including, but not 
limited to, the fire department or the Red Cross, or a home 
visit.  Provide replacements of coupons, and/or food in the 
actual amount of the loss, but not exceeding one month's 
allotment, unless the issuance includes restored benefits, 
which are to be replaced at full value.

2) Households cannot receive a replacement for 
coupons lost or stolen after receipt.

3. Provide replacements for improperly manufactured 
or mutilated coupons as follows:

Replace coupons received by a household and 
subsequently mutilated or found to be improperly 
manufactured in the amount of the loss to the household. 
Replace mutilated coupons when three- fifths of a coupon is 
presented by the household.  Examine the improperly 
manufactured or mutilated coupon to determine the validity 
of the claim and the amount of coupons to be replaced.

If the value of the improperly manufactured or mutilated 
coupons can be determined, replace the unusable coupons in 
a dollar-for-dollar exchange.  If the value of the improperly 
manufactured or mutilated coupons cannot be determined, 
cancel the coupons by writing "cancelled" across the face of 

the coupons.  Request that DMS forward the coupons to FNS 
for a determination of the value by the U.S. Bureau of 
Engraving and Printing.

To replace these improperly manufactured or mutilated 
coupons, send the coupons and a completed Form FNS-135 
(Affidavit of Return or Exchange of Food Coupons) to DMS 
Payments Office.

9079.7  Delivery of Coupons

After the first report of non-receipt of a mailed benefit, 
or when circumstances exist that indicate that the household 
may not receive its coupons through the mail, benefits must 
be sent to the over-the-counter issuance sites.

The requirement for a household to pick up its coupons 
and the length of time for which we require the household to 
pick up its benefits are not adverse actions under §5304 and 
there is no jurisdiction for a fair hearing over these 
requirements.

9079.1 Replacing Food Benefits Issued via Electronic 
Benefit Transfer (EBT)

Food stamp benefits issued via EBT can only be 
replaced under two conditions:

• Unauthorized use of the account based on the 
conditions listed below; and

• Food purchased with food stamp benefits that was 
destroyed in a household misfortune or disaster.

The primary payee (cardholder) has the sole 
responsibility for the security and safeguarding of the EBT 
card and PIN, including the careful selection of authorized 
representatives.

9079.2  Unauthorized use of the account.

The issuance of food stamp benefits via EBT is 
designed to minimize the loss and theft of client benefits. 
DSS will rarely be liable for replacement benefits due to loss 
of benefits from an EBT account.

DSS will replace benefits issued via EBT due to the 
unauthorized use of the account only if the loss occurred:

• after the client reports the EBT card lost or stolen to 
the e-Funds Customer Support number at 1-800-
526-9099;

• because of DSS local office card/PIN issuance 
error; or

• because of an unlawful or other erroneous action on 
the part of DSS or the EBT contractor.

DSS will not replace food stamp benefits withdrawn 
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from an EBT account before the client reports the EBT card 
lost or stolen to the e-Funds Customer Support Unit.

DSS will replace food stamp benefits withdrawn from 
an EBT account after the client reported the EBT card lost or 
stolen to the e-Funds Customer Support Unit.  Before issuing 
the replacement, the time/date of the report to e-funds and 
the time/date of the loss of benefits must be verified.

DSS will not replace EBT issued benefits that were 
misused by an authorized representative.

A household member, or authorized representative, 
must sign and return to the food stamp office the Affidavit 
for Replacement of EBT Food Benefits attesting to the loss 
within ten days of the report of the loss.  Failure to sign and 
return the affidavit within ten days of the report of the loss 
may result in a denial of the replacement request.

9079.3  Food purchased with food stamp benefits that 
was destroyed.

We may issue replacement of food benefits for food 
destroyed in a household misfortune or disaster. 

The household may be entitled to a replacement of the 
actual value of the loss which cannot exceed the allotment 
issued for one month.

The household must report the household misfortune or 
disaster within ten days of the loss.

DSS must verify the household’s misfortune or disaster. 
Disasters can include fire, floods, or hurricanes.  Household 
misfortunes can include a breakdown in the refrigerator or 
freezer or the loss of electricity causing food to spoil.

Verification of a household’s misfortune or disaster can 
include statements from community agencies, the Red Cross, 
fire departments, home visits, or other acceptable collateral 
contact.

There is no limit on the number of times a household 
may receive replacement of food destroyed in a household 
misfortune or disaster.

If a household is eligible for emergency benefits under a 
disaster program, the household cannot receive both the 
emergency benefits and replacement benefits for the same 
time period.

Replacements of destroyed food cannot be used to offset 
food stamp overpayment claims.

9079.4  Affidavit for Replacement of EBT Food Benefits

A household member, or authorized representative, 
must sign the Affidavit for Replacement of EBT Food 
Benefits attesting to the loss within ten days of the report of 
the loss.

The household will not receive a replacement if the 
affidavit is not received by DSS within ten days of the report 
of the loss.

If the tenth day falls on a weekend or holiday, DSS will 

consider the affidavit as received timely if received on the 
next business day.

DSS will provide replacement benefits within ten days 
of the reported loss or within two working days of receiving 
the affidavit, whichever is later.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL 

CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Chapter 74A (7 Del.C. Ch. 74A)

NOTICE

1. Title Of The Regulations:
Regulations Governing Aboveground Storage Tanks

2. Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And 
Issues:

The Regulations Governing Aboveground Storage Tanks 
(ASTs) were created under the authority of the Jeffrey Davis 
Aboveground Storage Tank Act, Title 7, Del.C. Chapter 74A. 
The draft Regulations comprise five sections addressing 
AST installations, AST upgrades, AST inspections, and 
financial responsibility and remediation requirements for 
ASTs.

3. Possible Terms Of The Agency Action:

4. Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
Title 7, Del.C. Chapter 74A, The Jeffrey Davis 

Aboveground Storage Tank Act.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The 
Proposal:  

None known

6. Notice Of Public Comment:
A Public Hearing will be held March 30, 2004 at 

6:00pm at the DNREC, 391 Lukens Drive, New Castle, DE 
office. 

7. Prepared By:  
Jill Williams Hall ,  302-395-2500 Date  February 13, 

2004
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Summary of Draft Regulations Governing Aboveground 
Storage Tanks promulgated pursuant to Title 7 Del. C., 
Chapter 74A, The Jeffrey Davis Aboveground Storage 

Tank Act.  

The Delaware Department of Natural Resource and 
Environmental Control is responsible for protecting, 
preserving and enhancing the environmental quality of 
water, air and land of the State.  In addition, the General 
Assembly of the State of Delaware has found "that it is 
therefore necessary to provide for more stringent control of 
the installation, operation, retrofitting, maintenance, repair, 
abandonment, and/or removal of aboveground storage tanks 
(ASTs) to prevent releases and where releases occur, to 
detect and remediate them at the earliest possible stage, thus 
minimizing further degradation of soil, air, surface water, 
and groundwater and promoting public safety."  

The Regulations Governing Aboveground Storage 
Tanks are intended to address existing and potential sources 
of pollution that may result from ASTs.  To ensure the 
prevention and early detection of a release of a regulated 
substance should one occur, new tanks are required to meet 
acceptable design and installation criteria and existing tanks 
are required to upgrade by a schedule set forth to comparable 
standards. AST design criteria promulgated under these 
Regulations will minimize the risk of Regulated Substances 
impacting the environment.  Release confirmation and 
remediation standards are set forth to require the clean-up of 
any Release that does occur.

The Regulations are divided into five sections.  The first 
section, Part A, includes registration requirements including 
fees, a list of standards referenced in the Regulations, 
alternative procedures approval requirements, release 
preparedness plan, release indication and reporting 
requirements, and specifications for confidentiality claims.  

Part B details the specific requirements governing the 
design and construction of new aboveground storage tanks, 
including requirements for secondary containment, overfill 
and spill prevention, leak detection and inerting 
requirements for ullage volumes of new ASTs without a 
floating roof. Requirements for the upgrade of existing 
aboveground storage tanks, requirements for out of service 
ASTs and requirements for removal, permanent closure in 
place and permanent change in contents are included in this 
section.

Part C details the requirements for the inspection, 
monitoring, testing and record keeping for all aboveground 
storage tanks.

Part D details the requirements for showing proof of 
financial responsibility by owners and operators of 
aboveground storage tanks.

Part E details the requirements for conducting site 
assessments and remediation of sites with contamination 
resulting from a release of a regulated substance from an 

aboveground storage tank.

DUE TO THE LENGTH OF THE REGULATION THE FULL 
TEXT IS NOT BEING PUBLISHED. THE REGULATION IS 
AVAILABLE FROM THE REGISTAR OR ONLINE.

Adobe Acrobat

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Section 6010, (7 Del.C. §6010)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. Title Of The Regulations:
Amendments To Shellfish Regulations

2. Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And 
Issues:

Oyster harvesting regulations need to be updated to 
cover the harvest season and  the harvestable amount of 
oysters that can be taken annually in the direct market 
natural oyster bed fishery.

3. Possible Terms Of The Agency Action:
None

4. Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
7 Del.C. §1902, 7 Del.C. §2106

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The 
Proposal:  

None

6. Notice Of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their comments or request 

additional information by contacting the Fisheries Section, 
Division of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 
19901, (302) 739-3441.  A public hearing on this proposed 
amendment will be held on March 29, 2004 at 7:30 PM in 
the DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 
19901.  The record will remain open for written comments 
until 12:00 PM, March 31, 2004.

7. Prepared By:
Richard Cole (302) 739-4782, January 10, 2003.
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Proposed Amendments To Shellfish Regulation 
Pertaining To Oysters

3768 Oyster Harvest Quota
1.0  The oyster harvest quota for the 2003 season is 

11,640 bushels.  The oyster harvest quota for the direct 
market fishery from the state owned natural beds will be 
established annually by the Department.

See 5 DE Reg. 2140 (5/1/02)
See 6 DE Reg. 1356 (4/1/03)

3772 Oyster Harvesting Seasons
1.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or to 

attempt to harvest oysters from the State’s natural oyster 
beds except during the seasons beginning at sunrise on May 
12, 2003 and ending at sunset on June 28, 2003 and 
beginning sunrise on September 1, 2003 and ending at sunset 
on December 31, 2003.  It shall be unlawful for any person 
to harvest or to attempt to harvest oysters from the State’s 
natural oyster beds except during a season that will be 
established by the Department.

See 5 DE Reg. 2140 (5/1/02)
See 6 DE Reg. 1356 (4/1/03)

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Section 6010, (7 Del.C. §6010)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. Title Of The Regulations:
Tidal Finfish Regulations

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The coast wide requirements for recreational black sea 

bass fishermen, as mandated by the Atlantic States Marine 
Fisheries Commission’s Fishery Management Plan (FMP), 
in 2004 are a 12.0 inch minimum size length with a 25 fish 
creel limit and a closed season from September 8, 2004 
through September 21, 2004 and December 1, 2004 through 
December 31, 2004.  Delaware currently has an twelve (12) 
inch minimum size limit, a 25 fish creel limit and a closed 
season during September 2 through September 15 and 
December 1 through December 31.  It is proposed to amend 
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 3507 to establish adjusted dates 
for the closed season to September 8, 2004 through 
September 21, 2004 and December 1, 2004 through 
December 31, 2004 in order to be in compliance with the 
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s FMP.

The Summer Flounder Fishery Management Plan 
(FMP) details the annual process that the Summer Flounder 

Fishery Management Board, the Mid-Atlantic Management 
Council and the National Marine Fisheries Service are to use 
to establish conservation equivalency for the recreational 
summer flounder fishery.  These agencies agreed that the 
states would implement conservationally equivalent 
measures rather than a coastwide management program for 
summer flounder in 2004.  Delaware is obligated to cap the 
summer flounder recreational harvest at 139,000 fish for 
2004.  This is 35,000 more fish than were estimated to have 
been landed in 2003.  Given that over one million marine 
recreational fishing trips occur annually in Delaware and that 
the 2000 year class of summer flounder was reported to be 
above average thus suggesting that more fish may be 
available for harvest in 2004; it is unadvisable to 
significantly alter the management measures that were in 
place for 2003.  However, landings information suggests that 
by increasing the bag limit by two additional fish only a 
minimal impact on total harvest will occur.  As such, it is 
proposed that the seven management options that were 
presented for the 2003 fishing season, which included size 
ranges from 16 inches to 17.5 inches and creel limits ranging 
from 4 fish to 7 fish, and a variety of seasonal closures be 
presented again for public review and comment.  The 
adopted management approach for 2003 included a 17.5 inch 
minimum size, and 4 fish creel limit.  This particular option 
could be slightly adjusted by adding two additional fish to 
the creel limit for 2004.  It is anticipated that the minimum 
size limit of 17.5 inches would be the major factor 
restraining the catch in 2004.

3. Possible Terms Of The Agency Action
Delaware is required to comply with specific Fishery 

Management Plans approved by the Atlantic States Marine 
Fisheries Commission.  Failure to do so could result in 
complete closure of a specific fishery in Delaware

4. Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
7 Del. C. § 903, 7 (e)(2)(a)

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The 
Proposal:

None

6. Notice Of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their comments or request 

additional information by contacting the Fisheries Section, 
Division of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 
19901, (302) 739-3441.  A public hearing on these proposed 
amendments will be held on March 25, 2004 at 7:00 PM in 
the DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 
19901.  The record will remain open for written comments 
until 4:30 PM, March 30, 2004.
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7. Prepared By:
Richard Cole, (302) 739-4782, January 13, 2004

3507 Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Landing Permits; 
Qualifying Criteria; Seasons; Quotas (Formerly Tidal 
Finfish Reg.  23)

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. 936(b)(2))

1.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial person to 
have in possession any black sea bass (Centropristis striata) 
that measures less than eleven (11) inches, total length.

2.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational person to 
have in possession any black sea bass that measures less than 
twelve (12) inches total length.

3.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial fisherman 
to land, to sell, trade and or barter any black sea bass in 
Delaware unless authorized by a black sea bass landing 
permit issued by the Department.  The black sea bass landing 
permit shall be presumed to transfer with the vessel 
whenever it is bought, sold, or otherwise transferred, unless 
there is a written agreement, signed by the transferor/seller 
and transferee/buyer, or other credible written evidence, 
verifying that the transferor/seller is retaining the vessel’s 
fishing and permit history for purposes of replacing the 
vessel.

4.0 The black sea bass pot fishery and the black sea 
bass commercial hook and line fishery shall be considered 
separate black sea bass fisheries.  The total pounds allocated 
to each fishery by the Department shall be as follows: 96 
percent of the State’s commercial quota, as determined by 
the ASMFC, for the pot fishery; 4 percent for the 
commercial hook and line fishery.  

5.0 The Department may only issue a black sea bass 
landing permit for the pot fishery to a person who is the 
owner of a vessel permitted by the National Marine Fisheries 
Service in accordance with 50 CFR §§ 648.4 and who had 
applied for and secured from the Department a commercial 
food fishing license and has a reported landing history in 
either the federal or state reporting systems of landing by pot 
at least 10,000 pounds of black sea bass during the period 
1994 through 2001.  Those individuals that have landing 
history only in the federal data base must have possessed a 
state commercial food fishing license for at least one year 
during the time from 1994 through 2001.

6.0 The Department may only issue a black sea bass 
landing permit for the commercial hook and line fishery to a 
person who has applied for and secured from the Department 
a commercial food fishing license and a fishing equipment 
permit for hook and line and submitted landings reports in 
either the federal or state landing report systems for black 
sea bass harvested by hook and line during at least one year 
between  1994 and 2001.

7.0 Any overage of the State's commercial quota will 
be subtracted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 

Commission from the next year's commercial quota.
Any overage of an individual’s allocation will be 

subtracted from that individual's allocation the next year and 
distributed to those individuals in the appropriate fishery that 
did not exceed their quota.

8.0 Each participant in a black sea bass fishery shall be 
assigned a equal share of the total pounds of black sea bass 
allotted by the Department for   that particular fishery.  A 
share shall be determined by dividing the number of pre-
registered participants in one of the two recognized fisheries 
into the total pounds of black sea bass allotted to the fishery 
by the Department.  In order to pre-register an individual 
must indicate their intent in writing to participate in this 
fishery by 4:30 PM on a date no later than 15 days after this 
regulation is signed by the Secretary of the Department.

9.0 It shall be unlawful for a commercial food 
fisherman to transfer quota allocation shares of black sea 
bass to another commercial food fishermen.

10.0 Each commercial food fishermen participating 
in a black sea bass fishery shall report to the Department, via 
the interactive voice phone reporting system operated by the 
Department, each days landings in pounds at least one hour 
after packing out their harvest.

11.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational 
fisherman to have in possession more than 25 black sea bass 
at or between the place where said black sea bass were 
caught and said recreational fisherman’s personal abode or 
temporary or transient place of lodging.

12.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational 
fisherman to take and reduce to possession or to land black 
sea bass during the periods beginning at 12:01 AM on 
September 2 8, 20034 and ending at midnight on September 
15 21, 20034 and beginning at 12:01 AM on December 1, 
20034 and ending at midnight on December 31, 20034.

See 1 DE Reg.1767 (5/1/98)
See 2 DE Reg 1900 (4/1/99)
See 3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00)
See 4 DE Reg 1665 (4/1/01)
See 4 DE Reg 1859 (5/1/01)
See 5 DE Reg 2142 (5/1/02)
See 6 DE Reg. 348 (9/1/02)
See 6 DE Reg. 1230 (3/1/03)

3511 Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession 
Limits;  (Formerly Tidal Finfish Reg. 4)

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. 936(b)(2))

1.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman 
to have in possession more than four (4) summer flounder at 
or between the place where said summer flounder were 
caught and said recreational fisherman's personal abode or 
temporary or transient place of lodging. (Note:  creel limit to 
be determined in combination with seasonal closure and size 
limit.)
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1147
2.0 It shall be unlawful for any person, other than 
qualified persons as set forth in section 4.0 of this regulation, 
to possess any summer flounder that measure less than 
seventeen and one-half (17.5) inches between the tip of the 
snout and the furthest tip of the tail. (Note:  size limit to be 
determined in combination with seasonal closure and creel 
limit.)

3.0 It shall be unlawful for any person while on board a 
vessel, to have in possession any part of a summer flounder 
that measures less than seventeen and one-half (17.5) inches 
between said part's two most distant points unless said 
person also has in possession the head, backbone and tail 
intact from which said part was removed. (Note:  size limit 
to be determined in combination with seasonal closure and 
creel limit.)

4.0 Notwithstanding the size limits and possession 
limits in this regulation, a person may possess a summer 
flounder that measures no less than fourteen (14) inches 
between the tip of the snout and the furthest tip of the tail and 
a quantity of summer flounder in excess of the possession 
limit set forth in this regulation, provided said person has 
one of the following:

4.1 A valid bill-of-sale or receipt indicating the 
date said summer flounder were received, the amount of said 
summer flounder received and the name, address and 
signature of the person who had landed said summer 
flounder;

4.2 A receipt from a licensed or permitted fish 
dealer who obtained said summer flounder; or

4.3 A bill of lading while transporting fresh or 
frozen summer flounder.

4.4 A valid commercial food fishing license and a 
food fishing equipment permit for gill nets.

5.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial 
finfisherman to sell, trade and or barter  or attempt to sell, 
trade and or barter any summer flounder or part thereof that 
is landed in this State by said commercial fisherman after a 
date when the de minimis amount of commercial landings of 
summer flounder is determined to have been landed in this 
State by the Department.  The de minimis amount of summer 
flounder shall be 0.1% of the coast wide commercial quota 
as set forth in the Summer Flounder Fishery Management 
Plan approved by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 
Commission. 

6.0 It shall be unlawful for any vessel to land more than 
200 pounds of summer flounder in any one day in this State.

7.0 It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been 
issued a commercial food fishing license and fishes for 
summer flounder with any food fishing equipment other than 
a gill net, to have in possession more than four (4) summer 
flounder at or between the place where said summer flounder 
were caught and said person's personal abode or temporary 
or transient place of lodging. (Note:  size limit to be 
determined in combination with seasonal closure and creel 

limit.)
See 1 DE Reg 1767 (5/1/98)
See 2 DE Reg 1900 (4/1/99)
See 3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00)
See 4 DE Reg 1552 (3/1/01)
See 5 DE Reg   462 (8/1/01)
See 5 DE Reg. 2142 (5/1/02)
See 6 DE Reg. 1358 (4/1/03)

Opening Final Number of Bag Minimum
Option Day Day Open Days Limit Size
1 01-Jan 31-Jul 212 7 16”
2 01-Jan 06-Aug 218 5 16.5”
3 01-Jan 23-Aug 235 5 17”
4 25-May 02-Aug 70 7 16”
5 25-May 09-Aug 77 5 16.5”
6 25-May 27-Aug 95 5 17”
7 01-Jan 31-Dec 365 4 17.5”
8 01-Jan 31-Dec 365 6 17.5”

DIVISION OF SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Section 6010, (7 Del.C. §6010)

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN # 2001-21

1. Title Of The Regulations:
Delaware Sediment and Stormwater Regulations.

2. Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And 
Issues:

Currently, the Regulations specify a hierarchy of 
preference when stormwater management practices are 
designed for new land development projects.  The 
regulations would be amended to allow a greater degree of 
flexibility for the types of practices that could be considered 
for approval.  This change will result in more low-impact 
stormwater practices such as bio-retention, bio-swales and 
buffers being used to meet water quality requirements.

The existing design criterion for the water quality 
requirement is to provide extended detention for the first 
inch of runoff.  This would be changed to a specific design 
storm for the corresponding land use.  The proposed 
regulation changes provide more incentives for using 
“Conservation Design” resulting in site development with 
less paved surface and less runoff.

3. Possible Terms Of The Agency Action:
No sunset date is applicable.
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4. Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
Title 7, Delaware Code, Chapter 40, The Sediment and 

Stormwater Law

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The 
Proposal:

N/A

6. Notice Of Public Comment:
Final hearing scheduled for April 20, 2004, 6:00 p.m. at 

the DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, 
Delaware.

7.  Prepared By:
Frank M. Piorko 302-739-4411 2/10/04

Section 1 - Scope 
1. Stormwater runoff may reasonably be expected to 

be a source of pollution to waters of the State, and may add 
to existing flooding problems. The implementation of a 
statewide sediment and stormwater program will prevent 
existing water quantity and water quality problems from 
becoming worse, and in some cases, reduce existing 
problems. 

2. Sediment and stormwater approvals are required for 
land changes or construction activities for residential, 
commercial, silvicultural, industrial, or institutional land use 
which are not exempted or waived by these Regulations. 
Requirements under these Regulations do not apply to 
agricultural land management practices unless the 
Conservation District or the Department determines that the 
land requires a soil and water conservation plan, and the 
owner or operator of the land has refused either to apply to a 
Conservation District for the development of such a plan, or 
to implement a plan developed by a Conservation District. 

3. The Department intends that, to the extent possible, 
the provisions of these Regulations be delegated to either the 
Conservation Districts, local governments, or other State 
agencies. Those program provisions which are subject to 
delegation include sediment and stormwater management 
plan approval, inspection during construction, post-
construction inspection, and education and training. Initial 
consideration regarding delegation of program components 
shall be given to the Conservation Districts. 

4. The implementation of a stormwater utility 
represents a comprehensive approach to program funding 
and implementation. The activities which may be undertaken 
by a stormwater utility include not only assessment, 
collection, and funding activities, but also carrying out 
provisions of adopted stormwater management plans. These 
provisions may include contracting for such services as 
project construction, project maintenance, project 
inspection, and enforcement of installation and maintenance 

requirements imposed with respect to approved land 
disturbing activities. 

Section 2 - Definitions 
As used in these regulations, the following terms shall 

have the meanings indicated below: 
”Adverse Impact” means a negative impact to land 

or waters resulting from a construction or development 
activity. The negative impact includes increased risk of 
flooding; degradation of water quality; increased 
sedimentation; reduced groundwater recharge; negative 
impacts on aquatic organisms; negative impacts on wildlife 
and other resources, and threatened public health. 

“Agricultural Land Management Practices” 
means those methods and procedures generally accepted by 
the Conservation Districts and used in the cultivation of land 
in order to further crop and livestock production and 
conservation of related soil and water resources. 

“Applicant” means a person, firm, or governmental 
agency who executes the necessary forms to obtain plan
approval or a permit for a land disturbing activity. 

“Appropriate Plan Approval Agency” means the 
Department, Conservation District, county, municipality, or 
State agency that is responsible in a jurisdiction for review 
and approval of sediment and stormwater management 
plans. 

“As-Built Plans or Record Documents” means a 
set of engineering or site drawings that delineate the specific 
approved permitted stormwater management facility as 
actually constructed. 

“Certified Construction Reviewer” means those 
individuals, having passed a Departmental sponsored or 
approved training course, who provide on-site inspection for 
sediment control and stormwater management in accordance 
with these regulations. 

“Delegation” means the acceptance of 
responsibility by a Conservation District, county, 
municipality, or State agency for the implementation of one 
or more elements of the statewide sediment and stormwater 
management program. 

”Department” means the Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control. 

“Designated Watershed or Subwatershed” means 
a watershed or subwatershed proposed by a Conservation 
District, county, municipality, or State agency and approved 
by the Department. The Department may establish additional 
requirements in these watersheds and subwatersheds due to 
existing water quantity or water quality problems. These 
requirements shall be implemented on an overall watershed 
or subwatershed master plan that is developed for water 
quality and/or water quantity protection. 

“Detention Structure” means a permanent 
stormwater management structure whose primary purpose is 
to temporarily store stormwater runoff and release the stored 
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runoff at controlled rates. 
“Develop Land” means to change the runoff 

characteristics of a parcel of land in conjunction 
withresidential, commercial, industrial, or institutional 
construction or alteration. 

“Developer” means a person undertaking, or for 
whose benefit, activities covered by theseregulations are 
commenced and/or carried out. 

“Drainage Area” means that area contributing 
runoff to a single point measured in a horizontal plane, 
which is enclosed by a ridge line. 

“Easement” means a grant or reservation by the 
owner of land for the use of such land by others for a specific 
purpose or purposes, and which must be included in the 
conveyance of land affected by such easement. 

“Erosion and Sediment Control” means the 
control of solid material, both mineral and organic, during a 
land disturbing activity, to prevent its transport out of the 
disturbed area by means of air, water, gravity, or ice. 

“Exemption” means those land development 
activities that are not subject to the sediment and stormwater 
requirements contained in these regulations. 

“Grading” means excavating, filling (including 
hydraulic fill) or stockpiling of earth materials, or any 
combination thereof, including the land in its excavated or 
filled condition. 

"Green Technology Best Management Practices 
(BMP's)" means those practices that achieve stormwater 
management objectives by applying the principles of 
filtration, infiltration and storage most often associated with 
natural vegetation and undisturbed soils while minimizing a 
reliance on structural components. They may also be 
constructed using an imported soil medium and planted with 
vegetation designed to promote the natural hydrologic 
process. These practices include, but are not limited to, 
vegetative filtration, riparian buffer plantings, bio-retention 
areas, vegetative flow conveyance, as well as recharge and 
surface storage in undisturbed natural areas. 

“Infiltration” means the passage or movement of 
water through the soil profile. 

“Land Disturbing Activity” means a land change 
or construction activity for residential, commercial, 
silvicultural, industrial, and institutional land use which may 
result in soil erosion from water or wind or movement of 
sediments or pollutants into State waters or onto lands in the 
State, or which may result in accelerated stormwater runoff, 
including, but not limited to, clearing, grading, excavating, 
transporting and filling of land. 

“Off-site Stormwater Management” means the 
design and construction of a stormwater management facility 
that is necessary to control stormwater from more than one 
land disturbing activity. 

“On-site Stormwater Management” means the 
design and construction of stormwater management 

practices that are required for a specific land disturbing 
activity. 

“Person” means any State or federal agency, 
individual, partnership, firm, association, joint venture, 
public or private corporation, trust, estate, commission, 
board, public or private institution, utility, cooperative, 
municipality or other political subdivision of this State, any 
interstate body or any other legal entity. 

“Redevelopment” means a land disturbance 
activity that alters the use of land but does not necessarily 
alter the pre-development runoff characteristics. 

“Responsible Personnel” means a foreman or 
superintendent who is in charge of on-site clearing and land 
disturbing activities for sediment and stormwater control 
associated with a construction project. 

“Sediment” means soils or other surficial materials 
transported and/or deposited by the action of wind, water, ice 
or gravity as a product of erosion. 

“Sediment and Stormwater Management Plan” 
(or Detailed Plan) means a plan for the control of soil 
erosion, sedimentation, stormwater quantity, and water 
quality impacts resulting from any land disturbing activity. 

“Stabilization” means the prevention of soil 
erosion by surface runoff or wind through the establishment 
of a soil cover through the implementation of vegetative or 
structural measures. Examples include, but are not limited 
to, straw mulch with temporary or permanent vegetation, 
wood chips, and stone or gravel ground cover. 

"Standard Plan" means a set of pre-defined 
standards and/or specifications for minor land disturbing 
activities that may preclude the preparation of a detailed plan 
under specific conditions. 

“State Waters” means any and all waters, public or 
private, on the surface of the earth which are contained 
within, flow through or border upon the State or any portion 
thereof. 

“Stormwater” means the runoff of water from the 
surface of the land resulting from precipitation or snow or 
ice melt. 

“Stormwater Management” means: 
• for water quantity control, a system of 

vegetative, structural, and other measures that may control 
the volume and rate of stormwater runoff which may be 
caused by land disturbing activities or activities upon the 
land; and 

• for water quality control, a system of 
vegetative, structural, and other measures that control 
adverse effects on water quality that may be caused by land 
disturbing activities or activities upon the land. 

“Stormwater Utility” means an administrative 
organization that has been established for the purposes of 
funding sediment control, stormwater management or flood 
control planning, design, construction, maintenance, and 
overall resource needs by authorized and imposed charges. 
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“Tidewater” means water that alternately rises and 
falls due to the gravitational attraction of the moon and sun 
and is under the regulatory authority of Delaware Code, Title 
7, Chapter 72. Examples of tidewaters include the Atlantic 
Ocean, the Delaware Bay, and the Delaware Inland Bays. 

“Variance” means the modification of the 
minimum sediment and stormwater management 
requirements for specific circumstances where strict 
adherence of the requirements would result in unnecessary 
hardship and not fulfill the intent of these regulations. 

“Waiver” means the relinquishment from sediment 
and stormwater management requirements by the 
appropriate plan approval authority for a specific 
development on a case-by-case review basis. 

“Water Quality” means those characteristics of 
stormwater runoff from a land disturbing activity that relate 
to the chemical, physical, biological, or radiological integrity 
of water. 

“Water Quantity” means those characteristics of 
stormwater runoff that relate to the rate and volume of the 
stormwater runoff to downstream areas resulting from land 
disturbing activities. 

“Watershed” means the total or partial drainage 
area contributing stormwater runoff to a single point. 

Section 3 - Exemptions, Waivers, and Variances
1. The following activities are exempt from both 

sediment control and stormwater management requirements 
established by these regulations: 

A. Agricultural land management practices, 
unless the local Conservation District or the Department 
determines that the land requires a new or updated soil and 
water conservation plan, and the owner or operator of the 
land has refused either to apply to a Conservation District for 
the development of such a plan, or to implement a plan 
developed by a Conservation District; 

B. Developments or construction that disturb less 
than 5,000 square feet; 

C. Land development activities which are 
regulated under specific State or federal laws which provide 
for managing sediment control and stormwater runoff. An 
example of this exemption would be specific permits 
required under the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System when discharges are a combination of stormwater 
and industrial or domestic wastewater or which must comply 
with Parts 122, 123, and 124 of Title 40 of the Code of 
Federal Regulations. The Department shall ensure that all 
land developments which are regulated under specific State 
or federal laws are coordinated with delegated plan approval 
agencies to ensure compatibility of requirements 

D. Projects which are emergency in nature that are 
necessary to protect life or property such as bridge, culvert, 
or pipe repairs and above ground or underground electric and 
gas utilities or public utility restoration. The emergency 

nature of a project may preclude prior plan review and 
approval, but subsequent inspection may necessitate 
sediment control or site stabilization in accordance with the 
provisions of this Chapter. The appropriate plan approval 
agency shall be notified orally or in writing within 48 hours 
of the initiation of such emergency activity. 

The appropriate plan approval agency shall 
determine and approve of the emergency nature of a project. 
If the nature of the emergency will require more than 120 
days to accomplish construction, formal approval shall be 
obtained for sediment control and stormwater management. 
These activities must still comply with other State, federal, 
and local requirements. 

E. Commercial forest harvesting operations that 
meet the requirements of the Department of Agriculture 
under Subchapter VI, Chapter 29, Title 3, of the Delaware 
Code. 

2. Appropriate Plan Approval Agencies may grant 
waivers from the stormwater management requirements of 
these regulations for individual developments provided that 
a written request is submitted by the applicant containing 
descriptions, drawings, and any other information that is 
necessary to evaluate the proposed development. A separate 
written waiver request shall be required if there are 
subsequent additions, extensions, or modifications which 
would alter the approved stormwater runoff characteristics to 
a development receiving a waiver. 

A. A project may be eligible for a waiver of 
stormwater management for both quantitative and qualitative 
control if the applicant can demonstrate that: 

(1) The proposed project will return the 
disturbed area to a pre-development runoff condition and the 
pre-development land use cover is unchanged at the 
conclusion of the project; or 

(2) The proposed project consists of a linear 
disturbance of less than six (6) ten (10) feet in width; or 

(3) The project is for an individual residential 
detached unit or agricultural structure, and the total disturbed 
area of the site is less than one acre; or 

(4) The proposed project is for agricultural 
structures in locations included in current soil and water 
conservation plans that have been approved by the 
appropriate Conservation District. 

B. A project may be eligible for a waiver or 
variance of stormwater management for water quantity 
control if the applicant can demonstrate that: 

(1) The proposed project will not generate an 
increase in the 2-year post-development peak discharge rate 
of more than ten (10) percent above the 2-year pre-
development peak discharge rate and will have no adverse 
impact on the receiving wetland, watercourse, or waterway; 
or 

(2) Provisions will be made or exist for a 
nonerosive conveyance system to tidewater by either a 
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closed drainage system or by open channel flow that has 
adequate capacity to contain the runoff events being 
considered as a requirement of these regulations; or

(3) The location of a project within a 
watershed would aggravate downstream flooding by the 
imposition of peak control requirements. 

3. The plan approval agency may grant a written 
variance from any requirement of these regulations if there 
are exceptional circumstances applicable to the site such that 
strict adherence to the provisions of these regulations will 
result in unnecessary hardship and not fulfill the intent of 
these regulations. A written request for variance shall be 
provided to the plan approval agency and shall state the 
specific variances sought and the reasons for their granting. 
The plan approval agency shall not grant a variance unless 
and until sufficient specific reasons justifying the variance 
are provided by the applicant. 

Section 4 - Departmental Responsibilities 
1. The Department is responsible for the 

implementation and supervision of the sediment and 
stormwater program which is established by Chapter 40, 
Title 7, Delaware Code. This responsibility shall include, but 
not be limited to, the authority to: 

A. Provide technical and other assistance to 
Conservation Districts, counties, municipalities, federal, and 
State agencies in implementing this Chapter; 

B. Develop and publish, as regulation 
components, minimum standards, guidelines and criteria for 
delegation of sediment and stormwater program 
components, and model sediment and stormwater ordinances 
for use by Conservation Districts, counties, State agencies, 
and municipalities; 

C. Review the implementation of all components 
of the statewide sediment and stormwater management 
program that have been delegated to either the Conservation 
Districts, counties, municipalities, or other State agencies in 
reviews to be accomplished at least once every three years; 

D. Require that appropriate sediment and 
stormwater management provisions be included in all new 
erosion and sediment control plans developed pursuant to 
these regulations; 

E. Cooperate with appropriate agencies of the 
United States or other states or any interstate agency with 
respect to sediment control and stormwater management; 

F. Conduct studies and research regarding the 
causes, effects, and hazards of stormwater and methods to 
control stormwater runoff; 

G. Conduct and supervise educational programs 
with respect to sediment control and stormwater 
management; 

H. Require the submission to the Department of 
records and periodic reports by Conservation Districts, tax 
ditch organizations, county, and municipal agencies as may 

be necessary to carry out these regulations; 
I. Review and approve designated watersheds; 
J. Establish a maximum life of three years for the 

validation of approved plans. These regulations shall specify 
variances which expand this time limitation in specific 
situations; and 

K Establish a means of communication, such as a 
newsletter, so that information regarding program 
development and implementation can be distributed to 
interested individuals. 

2. Matters of policy, procedures, standards, criteria, 
approvals, inspection, or enforcement relating to the 
Sediment and Stormwater Chapter shall be established by 
the Department subject to the jurisdiction of the Secretary of 
the Department. Sediment and stormwater programs or 
portions of programs which are delegated to the 
Conservation Districts, counties, municipalities, or State 
agencies shall include sediment and stormwater criteria 
consistent with the standards, procedures, and regulations of 
the Department. 

A variation of requirements by the delegated 
agency on a specific watershed will not be valid unless 
approved by the Department. All State and federal 
development in the watershed shall be reviewed subject to 
the same variations and requirements by the delegated State 
agency or Department as appropriate. 

3. In situations where public notification and 
comment are required before an action is taken by the 
Department, the Regulatory Advisory Committee shall have 
an opportunity to review the proposed Departmental action 
and provide input to the Department regarding the action. 

Section 5 - Criteria for Delegation of Program Elements 
1. Conservation Districts, counties, municipalities, 

and State agencies may seek delegation of four program 
elements relating to the implementation of the statewide 
sediment and stormwater program. Delegation may be 
granted by the Secretary for review and approval of sediment 
and stormwater management plans, inspection during 
construction, subsequent maintenance inspection, and 
education and training. Program elements that are delegated 
shall be implemented according to Chapter 40 and these 
regulations.

2. The Secretary, or his designee, shall grant 
delegation of one or more program elements to any 
Conservation District, county, municipality, or State agency 
seeking delegation that is found capable of providing 
compliance with Chapter 40 and these regulations. The final 
decision regarding delegation shall be made only after an 
opportunity has been provided for public review and 
comment. Initial consideration regarding delegation of 
program elements shall be given to the Conservation 
Districts. The Conservation Districts, having unique 
capabilities and area wide responsibilities are in ideal 
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positions to coordinate and implement local sediment and 
stormwater programs. 

3. Requests for delegation of more than one program 
element may be accomplished by the submission of one 
request for all the elements requested. A concern by the 
Department over one element will not jeopardize delegation 
of other requested program elements.

4. To be considered capable of providing compliance 
with Chapter 40 and these regulations, applications for 
delegation of program elements shall contain the following 
requisite items. 

A. Requests for delegation of plan approval 
responsibility shall include the following information:

(1) Ordinance or program information 
detailing the plan approval process,

(2) Plan review check lists and plan 
submission requirements, 

(3) Sediment and stormwater criteria, 
including waiver and variance procedures, that meet 
minimum standards established by these regulations, 

(4) Assurance of adequate personnel 
allocations and expected time frames for plan review which 
meet the requirements of Section 8(9), and 

(5) Assurance that plan reviewers will attend 
Departmental training programs in related fields such as 
wetlands identification, subaqueous permits requirements, 
etc. 

B. Requests for delegation of inspection during 
construction shall include the following information: 

(1) Inspection and referral procedures, 
(2) Time frames for inspection of active land 

disturbing activities, 
(3) Inspection forms, 
(4) Assurance of adequate personnel 

allocations or a timetable to obtain adequate personnel, 
(5) Criteria for the Certified Construction 

Reviewer if utilized, and 
(6) Procedures and time frames for processing 

complaints. 
C. Requests for delegation of maintenance 

inspection responsibility shall include the following 
information: 

(1) Inspection and referral procedures, 
(2) Inspection forms, 
(3) Time frames, not exceeding one year, for 

inspection of completed stormwater management structures, 
and 

(4) Assurance of adequate personnel 
allocation or a timetable to obtain adequate personnel. 

D. Requests for delegation of education and 
training responsibility shall include the following 
information: 

(1) Types of educational and training activities 
to be accomplished, 

(2) Frequency of activities, 
(3) Names and backgrounds of those 

individuals conducting the training, and 
(4) Procedures and timetables to notify the 

Department of educational programs. 
5. A Conservation District, county, municipality, or 

State agency which has been granted delegation of one or 
more program elements may establish alternative 
requirements which are compatible with or are more 
stringent than Departmental requirements. These alternative 
requirements may be implemented only when prior 
Departmental approval has been granted. These alternative 
requirements shall apply in lieu of the provisions of these 
regulations in the specific program element that has been 
delegated. Alternative requirements shall be implemented 
only after public notice has been provided which would 
allow for public review and comment prior to Departmental 
approval. 

6. Delegation of authority for one or more program 
elements may be granted for a maximum time frame of three 
years. After three years a new application to the Department 
must be made. Over the time frame for which delegation has 
been granted, the Department will evaluate delegation 
implementation, coordinate review findings with the 
delegated authority, and determine if the new delegation 
should be granted. 

7. A Conservation District, county, municipality, or 
State agency requesting or renewing delegation shall submit 
a written request to the Secretary on or before January 1 of 
the year immediately preceding the fiscal year for which 
delegation or renewal of delegation is sought. 

8. The Secretary shall, in writing, grant or deny 
delegation on or before April 1 of the year during which 
delegation is sought. The Secretary may not deny a 
requested delegation unless opportunity has been afforded to 
the appropriate officials to present arguments. Delegation 
shall be effective July 1 of that year and extend no more than 
three years, unless renewed. In the event that the Department 
does not act on the renewal request by April 1, the delegated 
authority submitting the request would be entitled to 
continue operating for a subsequent three year time period 
unless action is taken by the Department to suspend the 
program. 

9. If the Secretary determines that a delegated 
program falls below acceptable standards established by 
these regulations, delegation may be suspended after 
opportunity is afforded for a hearing. During a period of 
suspension, the program element shall revert to the 
Department for implementation. Funds set aside by a 
delegated agency, that were collected through fees 
established by the plan approval agency, shall be transferred 
to the Department for use if delegation is suspended. 

10. A delegated authority may sub-delegate program 
elements, with Departmental concurrence, to a stormwater 
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utility or other responsible entity or agency. 
11. The Department shall maintain, and make available 

upon request, a listing of the current status of delegation for 
all jurisdictions within the State. 

Section 6 -Permit Plan Approval Fees, Maintenance Fees, 
and Performance Bonds 

1. The establishment of permit plan approval fees, not 
involving stormwater utilities, shall be in accordance with 
the following items: 

A. Delegation of program elements will depend, 
to a large extent, on funding and personnel commitments. If 
the delegated jurisdiction has a source of funding that is 
provided through State General or local revenues, then the 
implementation of the delegated component will not 
necessitate the imposition of a permit plan approval fee to 
cover the cost of the delegated program component. 

B. In the event that one component of an overall 
sediment and stormwater management program is not 
funded through the use of general or special funds, a non-
refundable permit plan approval fee will be collected at the 
time that the sediment and stormwater management plan or 
application for waiver or variance is submitted or approved. 
The permit plan approval fee will provide for the unfunded 
costs of plan review, administration and management of the 
permitting office approval agency, construction review, 
maintenance inspection, and education and training. The 
plan review or permit approval agency, whether delegated or 
the Department, shall be responsible for the collection of the 
permit plan approval fee. 

Unless all program elements in a county or 
municipality have been delegated to a single agency, the 
funds collected not supporting the plan review function shall 
be distributed to the appropriate agencies. 

C. The number of needed personnel and the direct 
and indirect expenses associated with those personnel shall 
be developed by the agencies requesting delegation in a 
specific jurisdiction in conjunction with and with the 
concurrence of the Department. Those expenses will then 
form the basis for determining unit plan approval costs. 

D. Prior to plan approval, a fee may be assessed 
by the appropriate plan approval agency for those activities 
approved prior to July 1, 1991 for which construction will 
initiate after July 1, 1991. 

E. Where the Department becomes the designated 
plan approval agency, the Department may assess a plan 
review and construction review fee. That fee shall not 
exceed $80.00 per disturbed acre per project. 

F. The use of Certified Construction Reviewers 
for sediment control and the submission of “As Built or 
Record Document” certification regarding stormwater 
management construction may reduce the inspection 
requirements for the delegated agency but may not eliminate 
that inspection requirement. Periodic overview inspections 

will still be necessary to ensure construction management. 
2. The imposition of a financial guarantee, based on 

existing local authority, may be required by the plan 
approval agency to ensure that construction of the 
stormwater management practices was accomplished 
according to the approved sediment and stormwater 
management plan. The developer, when required, shall 
submit to the plan approval agency a surety or cash bond, or 
irrevocable letter of credit prior to the issuance of any 
building or grading permit for construction of any land 
disturbing activity that requires a stormwater management 
facility. 

The amount of the security shall not exceed 150% 
of the total estimated construction cost of the stormwater 
management facility. The financial guarantee so required 
shall include provisions relative to forfeiture for failure to 
complete work specified in the approved stormwater 
management plan, compliance with all the provisions of 
these regulations, and other applicable laws and regulations, 
and any time limitations. The financial guarantee, fully or 
partially, shall not be released without a final inspection of 
the completed work and, when required, after submission of 
“As Built or Record Document” plans, and after written 
confirmation by the design engineer that construction was 
accomplished according to the approved plans. A partial 
release of the financial guarantee shall be allowed only to the 
extent that the work already accomplished would warrant 
such release. 

3. A maintenance fee may be required on approvals 
granted for stormwater management structures that will be 
maintained by a Conservation District, county, or 
municipality. A fee mechanism shall be established prior to 
the final release of any required financial guarantee or final 
approval of the completed stormwater management structure 
by the designated construction review agency. 

Section 7- Criteria for Implementation of a Stormwater 
Utility 

The implementation of a stormwater utility will 
necessitate the development of a local utility ordinance prior 
to its implementation. There are essential components that 
an ordinance must contain to function as a funding 
mechanism for stormwater management and those 
components shall include, but not be limited to, the 
following items: 

1. The financing of a stormwater utility with a user 
charge system must be reasonable and equitable so that each 
user of the stormwater system pays to the extent to which the 
user contributes to the need for the stormwater system, and 
that the charges bear a substantial relationship to the cost of 
the service. The use of county and municipal taxpayer rolls 
and accounting systems are allowed for the assessment and 
collection of fees. 

2. The intent of the utility must be clearly defined 
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regarding program components that are to be funded through 
the utility. Those components may include but not be limited 
to the following activities: 

A. Preparation of long range watershed master 
plans for stormwater management, 

B. Annual inspections of all stormwater 
management facilities, both public and private, 

C. Undertaking regular maintenance, through 
contracting or other means, of stormwater management 
structures that have been accepted for maintenance, 

D. Plan review and inspection of sediment control 
and stormwater management plans and practices, and 

E. Retrofitting designated watersheds, through 
contracting or other means, to reduce existing flooding 
problems or to improve water quality. 

3. The authority for the creation of the stormwater 
utility and the imposition of charges to finance sediment and 
stormwater activities is conferred in Chapter 40, Title 7, 
Delaware Code. The application of a stormwater utility by 
means of a local ordinance shall not be deemed a limitation 
or repeal of any other powers granted by State statute. 

4. The creation of a stormwater utility shall include 
the following components: 

A. The boundaries of the utility, such as 
watersheds or jurisdictional boundaries as identified by the 
local governing body, 

B. The creation of a management entity, 
C. Identification of stormwater problems, 
D. Method for determining utility charges, 
E. Procedures for investment and reinvestment of 

funds collected, and 
F. An appeals or petition process. 

5. As established by local ordinance, the local 
governing agency shall have responsibility for implementing 
all aspects of the utility including long range planning, plan 
implementation, capital improvements, maintenance of 
stormwater facilities, determination of charges, billing, and 
hearing of appeals and petitions. The local agency also will 
have responsibility for providing staff support for utility 
implementation

In the event that an agency or department other than 
the one in which the utility is located is best equipped to 
undertake a particular task, the local governing agency shall 
ensure that appropriate interagency charges are determined 
such that all costs of stormwater management are reflected in 
the utility budget and that utility charges finance all aspects 
of stormwater management. 

6. With respect to new stormwater management 
facilities constructed by private developers, the local 
governing agency shall develop criteria for use in 
determining whether these will be maintained by the utility 
or by the facility owner. Such criteria may include whether 
the facility has been designed primarily to serve residential 
users and whether it has been designed primarily for 

purposes of stormwater management. In situations where it 
is determined that public maintenance is not preferable, 
standards shall be developed to ensure that inspection of 
facilities occurs annually and that facilities are maintained as 
needed.

7. The use of charges is limited to those purposes for 
which the utility has been established, including but not 
limited to: planning; acquisition of interests in land including 
easements; design and construction of facilities; 
maintenance of the stormwater system; billing and 
administration; and water quantity and water quality 
management, including monitoring, surveillance, private 
maintenance inspection, construction inspection, and other 
activities which are reasonably required. 

Section 8 -Permit Plan Application and Approval Process 
1. After July 1, 1991, unless a particular activity is 

exempted by these regulations, a person may not disturb land 
without an approved sediment and stormwater management 
plan from the appropriate plan approval agency. A grading 
or building permit may not be issued for a property unless a 
sediment and stormwater management plan has been 
approved that is consistent with the following items: 

A. Chapter 40, Title 7, Delaware Code, relating to 
erosion and sediment control and stormwater 
management,and;

B. These regulations, or duly adopted county or 
municipal ordinances that are adopted as a part of the 
delegation process and relate to the intent of these 
regulations. 

2. A sediment and stormwater management plan or an 
application for a waiver shall be submitted to the appropriate 
plan approval agency by the developer for review and 
approval for a land disturbing activity, unless otherwise 
exempted. The sediment and stormwater management plan 
shall contain supporting computations, drawings, and 
sufficient information describing the manner, location, and 
type of measures in which stormwater runoff will be 
managed from the entire development. The appropriate plan 
approval agency shall review the plan to determine 
compliance with the requirements of these regulations prior 
to approval. The approved sediment and stormwater 
management plan shall serve as the basis for water quantity 
and water quality control on all subsequent construction. 

3. The sediment and stormwater management plan 
shall not be considered approved without the inclusion of an 
approval stamp with signature and date, on the plans by the 
appropriate plan approval agency. 

4. All sediment and stormwater management plans 
submitted for approval shall contain certification by the 
owner or developer that clearing, grading, construction, or 
development will be accomplished pursuant to the plan and 
that responsible personnel involved in the land disturbance 
will have a Certification of Training at a Departmental 
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sponsored or approved training program for the control of 
erosion and sediment control before initiation of the project. 
The Certification of Training for responsible personnel 
requirement may be waived by the appropriate plan approval 
agency on any project involving silviculture or fewer than 
four residential homes. 

5. All sediment and stormwater management plans 
shall contain certification by the owner or developer of the 
right of the Department or delegated inspection agency to 
conduct on-site inspections. 

6. A grading or building permit issued by a local 
jurisdiction may be suspended or revoked after written 
notice is given to the permittee by the responsible delegated 
agency or the Department for any of the following reasons: 

A. Violations of the conditions of the sediment 
and stormwater management plan approval; 

B. Changes in site runoff characteristics upon 
which a waiver was granted; 

C. Construction not in accordance with the 
approved plans; 

D. Noncompliance with correction notice or stop 
work order issued for the construction of the sediment 
control practices or the stormwater management facilities; 

E. An immediate danger exists in a downstream 
area in the opinion of the appropriate plan approval or 
inspection agency, or the Department; or 

F. Failure to submit stormwater management “As 
Built or Record Document” plans, when required, at the 
completion of the project. 

7. Approved plans remain valid for 3 years from the 
date of an approval, unless specifically extended or renewed 
by the appropriate plan approval agency. The basis for 
extension or renewal may include, but not limited to, the 
following items: 

A. Failure to initiate the approved project for 
reasons acceptable to the appropriate plan approval agency 
such as funding or other agency permit delays; or 

B. Time duration for a type of activity that 
typically exceeds three years. 

8. Projects which have been approved prior to July 1, 
1991, and where site clearing has not been initiated on the 
project within two years, shall be resubmitted to the 
appropriate plan approval agency for review and approval 
subject to the requirements of these regulations. 

9. Upon receipt of a completed application for 
sediment and stormwater management, the appropriate plan 
approval agency shall accomplish its review within 30 
calendar days, and have either the approval or review 
comments transmitted to the applicant. If that 30 day time 
frame cannot be met, the appropriate plan approval agency 
shall notify the applicant of the reasons for delay, and an 
expected time frame not to exceed an additional 30 days, 
when that review will be accomplished. 

Section 9 - Criteria for Designated Watersheds 
The concept of designated watersheds is intended, not 

only to prevent existing water quantity and water quality 
problems from getting worse, but also to reduce existing 
flooding problems and to improve existing water quality or 
meet State Water Quality Standards in selected watersheds. 
Criteria is established for designated watersheds and that 
criteria will depend on whether the specific problems of the 
watershed are water quantity or water quality oriented. Water 
quantity and water quality concerns will be considered in all 
designated watersheds, but the overall emphasis for each 
designated watershed will depend on its existing and 
anticipated problems. 

1. To initiate consideration of a watershed for 
Designated Watershed or Subwatershed status, a watershed 
shall be recommended by a Conservation District, county, 
municipality, or State agency, to the Department. Upon 
recommendation to the Department, all involved agencies at 
the local level will be contacted and their input received 
prior to any watershed study being initiated. 

2. Included with the recommendation of a watershed 
for Designated Watershed or Subwatershed status to the 
Department shall be an identification of the specific 
problems that exist in the watershed so that the pursuit of a 
watershed study is warranted. Inclusion in these regulations 
as a Designated Watershed or Subwatershed requires 
approval by the Department that a significant water quantity 
or water quality problem exists that would necessitate this 
joint State, District, and local government involvement. 
Also, inclusion of a watershed as a Designated Watershed or 
Subwatershed will necessitate a public hearing process. The 
process of problem identification shall be based on the 
following information: 

A. To initiate a watershed study based on water 
quality considerations the following information must be 
submitted: 

(1) Existing water quality data that has been 
collected as a result of the overall statewide water quality 
inventory process, or 

(2) Other water quality data collected through 
specific sampling that was accomplished in the watershed, or 

(3) Submission of a water quality assessment 
that was accomplished using a qualitative collection method 
of benthic macroinvertebrates. 

B. To initiate a watershed study based on flooding 
or water quantity considerations the following information 
must be submitted: 

(1) Estimated annual flood damage to either 
private, residential, commercial, industrial, or public 
properties, or 

(2) Number of residences or industries in the 
floodplain, or 

(3) The history of flooding in the watershed, 
or 
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(4) Measures already taken to minimize or 
reduce flooding, or 

(5) Dangers to public health and welfare. 
3. Upon modification of these regulations to include a 

watershed as a Designated Watershed or Subwatershed an 
advisory group will be established that will guide the overall 
watershed study. The advisory group will be appointed by 
the Secretary and will include State, District, and local 
representatives in addition to representatives of the regulated 
community and others affected by the results of the study. 

4. The general components contained in the actual 
watershed studies shall be the following items: 

A. Stormwater quantity or water quality problem 
identification, 

B. The overall needs of the watershed including 
the additional impacts of new development activities, 

C. Alternative approaches to address the existing 
and future problems, 

D. A selected approach that includes the overall 
costs and benefits, 

E. Schedule for implementation, 
F. Funding sources that are available for the 

actual implementation of study recommendations, and 
G. A public hearing process prior to final 

Departmental approval. 
5. The following goals are to be obtained through the 

implementation of the Designated Watershed or 
Subwatershed program: 

A. Reduction of existing flooding or water quality 
impacts, 

B. Prevention of future flooding or water quality 
impacts, and 

C. Minimization of economic and social losses. 
6. Specific plan components of a water quality 

watershed study shall include, but not be limited to, the 
following items: 

A. The limits of the watershed, 
B. An inventory of existing water quality data, 
C. An inventory of areas having significant 

natural resource value as defined in existing State or local 
studies as they may be impacted by the construction or 
location of stormwater control structures, 

D. An inventory of areas of historical and 
archaeological value identified in existing State or local 
studies as they may be impacted by the construction or 
location of stormwater control structures, 

E. A map or series of maps of the watershed 
showing the following information: 

(1) watershed topography, 
(2) Significant geologic formations, 
(3) Soils information, 
(4) Existing land use based on existing 

zoning, 
(5) Proposed land use based on expected 

zoning or comprehensive plans, 
(6) Location of tidal and nontidal wetlands, 

and 
(7) Locations where water quality data were 

obtained. 
F. An evaluation of water quantity concerns so 

that flooding does not become a problem in the watershed. 
7. Specific components of a water quantity based 

study shall include, but not be limited to, the following 
items: 

A. The limits of the watershed, 
B. An inventory of historic flood damage sites, 

including frequency and damage estimates, 
C. An inventory of areas of significant natural 

resource value as noted in existing State and local studies as 
they may be impacted by the construction or location of 
stormwater control structures, 

D. An inventory of areas of historical and 
archaeological value identified in existing State and local 
studies as they may be impacted by the construction or 
location of stormwater control structures, 

E. A map or series of maps of the watershed 
showing the following information: 

(1) watershed topography, 
(2) Soils information, 
(3) Existing land use based on existing 

zoning, 
(4) Proposed land use based on expected 

zoning or comprehensive plans, 
(5) Locations of tidal and nontidal wetlands, 
(6) Locations of existing flooding problems 

including floor and corner elevations of structures already 
impacted, and

(7) 100 year floodplain delineations, water 
surface profiles, and storm hydrographs at selected 
watershed location.

F. An evaluation of water quality concerns so that 
water quality degradation does not become a problem in the 
watershed. 

8. The initiation of studies for Designated Watersheds 
or Subwatersheds depends on the availability of funding for 
the study. Once a watershed has been designated, the 
Department will make every effort to secure funding through 
federal, State, or local means. 

9. The Department is designated as the agency 
responsible for administering designated watershed or 
subwatershed studies with the advice of the advisory group 
appointed by the Secretary. Recommendations based on the 
results of the watershed study will only be made with the 
overall consent of the advisory group. 

10. The formal results of the Designated Watershed or 
Subwatershed study will require formal acceptance by the 
local Conservation District Board of Supervisors and the 
local governing body of the appropriate county or 
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municipality. 
11. Implementation of the results of the Designated 

Watershed or Subwatershed study will necessitate the 
development and implementation of a dedicated funding 
source such as a stormwater utility to ensure design, 
construction, and maintenance of needed structures is 
accomplished. 

12. Those watersheds or subwatersheds designated due 
to existing water quantity or water quality problems include 
the following: 

A. Dover/Silver Lake/St. Jones River and all 
drainage areas upstream of the Silver Lake dam. 

Section 10 - Specific Design Criteria and Minimum 
Standards and Specifications 

1. General submission requirements for all projects 
requiring sediment and stormwater management approval 
include the following information: 

A. A standard application form, 
B. A vicinity map indicating north arrow, scale, 

and other information necessary to locate the property or tax 
parcel, 

C. A plan at an appropriate scale accompanied by 
a design report and indicating at least: 

(1) Name and address of: 
(a) The owner of the property where the 

project is proposed; 
(b) The land developer; and 
(c) The applicant. 

(2) The existing and proposed topography, as 
required on a case by case basis. 

(3) The proposed grading and earth 
disturbance including: 

(a) Surface area involved; and 
(b) Limits of grading including limitation 

of mass clearing and grading whenever possible. 
(4) Stormwater management and stormwater 

drainage computations, including: 
(a) Pre- and post-development velocities, 

peak rates of discharge, and inflow and outflow hydrographs 
of stormwater runoff at all existing and proposed points of 
discharge from the site, 

(b) Site conditions around points of all 
surface water discharge including vegetation and method of 
flow conveyance from the land disturbing activity, and 

(c) Design details for structural controls. 
(5) Erosion, sediment control, and stormwater 

management provisions including: 
(a) Provisions to preserve top soil and 

limit disturbance; 
(b) Details of site grading, and; 
(c) Design details for structural controls 

which includes diversions and swales. 
D. Federal Emergency Management Agency flood 

maps and federal and State protected wetlands, where 
appropriate. 

E. The appropriate plan approval agency shall 
require that plans and design reports be sealed by a qualified 
design professional that the plans have been designed in 
accordance with approved sediment and stormwater 
ordinances, regulations, standards and criteria. The 
appropriate plan approval agency may waive this 
requirement on a case by case basis. 

F. Additional information necessary for a 
complete project review may be required by the appropriate 
plan approval agency as deemed appropriate. This additional 
information may include items such as public sewers, water 
lines, septic fields, wells, etc. 

2. Specific requirements for the erosion and sediment 
control portion of the sediment and stormwater management 
plan approval process include, but are not limited to, the 
following items. The appropriate plan approval agency may 
modify the following items for a specific project or type of 
project. Modification for a specific type of project will 
require the concurrence of the Department before that 
modification may be applied and that modification shall be 
subject to public review and comment prior to adoption. 

A. All plans shall include details of temporary and 
permanent stabilization measures including placement of the 
following statement on all plans submitted for approval. 
Following soil disturbance or redisturbance, permanent or 
temporary stabilization shall be completed within 14 
calendar days as to the surface of all perimeter sediment 
controls, topsoil stockpiles, and all other disturbed or graded 
areas on the project site. 

These requirements do not apply to those areas 
which are shown on the plan and are currently being used for 
material storage, or for those areas on which actual earth 
moving activities are currently being performed. 

B. All erosion and sediment control plans shall 
comply with be consistent with the standards and 
specifications contained in the Delaware Erosion and 
Sediment Control Handbook, dated 1989 and approved 
supplements. The supplements shall be subject to public 
review and comment prior to their incorporation in the 
Erosion and Sediment Control Handbook. 

C. A sequence of construction shall be contained 
on all plans describing the relationship between the 
implementation and maintenance of sediment controls, 
including permanent and temporary stabilization and the 
various stages or phases of earth disturbance and 
construction. The sequence of construction shall, at a 
minimum, include the following activities: 

(1) Clearing and grubbing for those areas 
necessary for installation of perimeter controls; 

(2) Construction of perimeter controls; 
(3) Remaining clearing and grubbing; 
(4) Road grading; 
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(5) Grading for the remainder of the site; 
(6) Utility installation and whether 

stormdrains will be used or blocked until after completion of 
construction; 

(7) Final grading, landscaping, or 
stabilization; and 

(8) Removal of sediment controls. 
D. The plans shall contain a description of the 

predominant soil types on the site, as described by the 
appropriate soil survey information available through the 
local Conservation District. 

E. Unless an exception is approved on a case by 
case basis or an exception is approved for a specific type of 
activity by the appropriate plan approval agency, not more 
than 20 acres may be cleared at any one time. Once grading 
is initiated in one 20 acre section, a second 20 acre section 
may have stumps, roots, brush, and organic material 
removed. This will necessitate the phasing of construction 
on sites in excess of 20 acres to minimize areas exposed of 
ground cover and reduce erosion rates. Grading of the 
second 20 acre section may not proceed until temporary or 
permanent stabilization of the first 20 acre section is 
accomplished. 

3. Specific requirements for the permanent 
stormwater management portion of the sediment and 
stormwater management plan approval process include, but 
are not limited to, the following items. The appropriate plan 
approval agency may modify the following items for a 
specific project or type of project. Modification for a specific 
type of project will require the concurrence of the 
Department before the modification may be applied and the 
modification for a type of project shall be subject to public 
review and comment. 

A. It is the overall goal of the Department to 
address utilize stormwater management on a watershed by 
watershed basis to provide a cost effective water quantity 
and water quality solution to the specific watershed 
problems as a means to minimize water quantity and water 
quality impacts due to land disturbing activities and to mimic 
pre-development hydrology, to the maximum extent 
practicable, in regards to the rate, volume and duration of 
flow. These regulations will provide general design 
requirements that must be adhered to in the absence of 
Designated Watershed or Subwatershed specific criteria. 

B. All hydrologic computations shall be 
accomplished using the methodologies from the most recent 
U.S.D.A. Soil Conservation Service Natural Resources 
Conservation Service Technical Releases 20 or 55, or other 
methods as approved by the Department. The storm duration 
for computational purposes shall be the 24 hour rainfall 
event. For projects south of the Chesapeake and Delaware 
Canal, the Delmarva Unit Hydrograph shall be incorporated 
into the design procedure. 

C. Stormwater management requirements for a 

specific project shall be based on the entire area to be 
developed, or if phased, the initial submittal shall control 
that area proposed in the initial phase and establish a 
procedure and obligation for total site control. 

D. Water quantity control is an integral 
component of overall stormwater management. Control of 
peak discharges will, to some extent, prevent increases in 
flooding. The following design criteria for peak flow control 
is established for water quantity control purposes, unless a 
waiver is granted based on a case-by-case basis: 

(1) Projects in New Castle County that are 
located north of the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal shall 
not exceed the post-development peak discharge for the 2, 
10, and 100 year frequency storm events at the pre-
development peak discharge rates for the 2, 10, and 100 year 
frequency storm events. 

(2) Projects in New Castle County that are 
located south of the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal, Kent 
County, and Sussex County shall not exceed the post-
development peak discharge for the 2 and 10 year frequency 
storm events at the pre-development peak discharge rates for 
the 2 and 10 year frequency storm events. 

(3) Watersheds, other than Designated 
Watersheds or Subwatersheds, that have well documented 
water quantity problems may have more stringent, or 
modified, design criteria that is responsive to the specific 
needs of that watershed. Modified criteria for that watershed 
must receive Departmental approval, and all projects 
reviewed and approved by the appropriate plan approval 
agency shall meet or exceed the modified criteria. Proposed 
modification of criteria for a watershed shall be subject to 
public review and comment prior to implementation. 

E. Water quality control is also an integral 
component of stormwater management. Control of water 
quality runoff from small, frequent rainfall events on-site 
will prevent minimize further degradation of downstream 
water quality and habitat. The following design criteria is are
established for water quality protection unless a waiver or 
variance is granted on a case-by-case basis. 

(1) In general, the preferred option for water 
quality protection shall be ponds those practices collectively 
referred to as "Green Technology BMP's". Ponds having a 
permanent pool of water must be considered before a pond 
having no permanent pool. Infiltration Other practices shall 
be considered only after ponds preferred practices have been 
eliminated for engineering or hardship reasons as approved 
by the appropriate plan approval agency. 

(2) Water quality ponds having a permanent 
pool shall be designed to release the first 1/2 inch of runoff 
from the site over a 24 hour period. The storage volume of 
the normal pool shall be designed to accommodate, at least, 
1/2 inch of runoff from the entire site. Water quality 
practices shall be designed to manage the rate and volume of 
flow from the 2.0" NRCS Type II rainfall event, up to a 
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maximum of 1.0" of runoff. 
(3) Water quality ponds, not having a normal 

pool, shall be designed to release the first inch of runoff from 
the site over a 24 hour period. Alternative stormwater quality 
practices may be acceptable to the Department and/ or the 
plan approval agency if the removal efficiency for suspended 
solids meets or exceeds 80% as demonstrated by 
scientifically independent evaluation and monitoring 
performance data. 

(4) Infiltration practices, when used, shall be 
designed to accept, at least, the first inch of runoff from all 
streets, roadways, and parking lots. The Department and/or 
the plan approval agency may require other acceptable 
stormwater quality practices if a receiving waterbody has 
been identified as impaired, or designated with a specific 
pollutant reduction target necessary to meet State of 
Delaware water quality regulations. 

(5) Other practices may be acceptable to the 
appropropriate plan approval agency if they achieve an 
equivalent remaoval efficiency of 80% for suspended solids.
Water quality practices may also be acceptable to the 
Department and/or the plan approval agency if they are 
designed to reduce pollutant loading from a specific post-
development source. The Department and/or the plan 
approval agency will determine if this criterion for water 
quality Best Management Practices is appropriate. 

(6) The Department will develop policy and 
maintain documentation related to the performance of water 
quality practices. The Department will also provide guidance 
for the design, appropriate use and required maintenance of 
water quality practices. These shall include structural and 
non-structural practices in addition to source reduction 
management strategies. 

(7) The Department and/or the plan approval 
agency will review the specific water quality practices 
proposed in a Sediment and Stormwater Management Plan, 
and review, approve or deny approval of the plan based on 
the criteria specified in Section E. of these regulations.

F. All ponds that are constructed for stormwater 
management shall be designed and constructed in 
accordance with the U.S.D.A. Soil Conservation Service 
Small Pond Code 378, dated September, 1990, as approved 
for use in Delaware.

G. Any pond utilized for water supply purposes, 
or for irrigation, must obtain approval from the Department 
for that use pursuant to Chapter 60. 

H. Where ponds are the proposed method of 
control, the developer shall submit to the approving agency, 
when required, an analysis of the impacts of stormwater 
flows downstream in the watershed for the 100 year 
frequency storm event. 

The analysis shall include hydrologic and 
hydraulic calculations necessary to determine the impact of 
hydrograph timing modifications of the proposed 

development, with and without the pond, on downstream 
dams, highways, structures, or natural points of constricted 
streamflows past which the timing effects would be 
considered negligible. The results of the analysis will 
determine the need to modify the pond design or to eliminate 
the pond requirement. Lacking a clearly defined downstream 
point of constriction, the downstream impacts shall be 
established, with the concurrence of the approving agency, 
downstream of a tributary of the following size: 

(1) The first downstream tributary whose 
drainage area equals or exceeds the contributing area to the 
pond; or 

(2) The first downstream tributary whose peak 
discharge exceeds the largest designed release rate of the 
pond. 

I. Where existing wetlands are intended as a 
component of an overall stormwater management system, 
the following criteria shall be adhered to: 

(1) The only disturbance to the wetland, for 
the purposes of these regulations, shall be that disturbance 
caused by the stormwater management pond embankment 
placement and construction; or 

(2) The applicant can demonstrate that the 
intended or functional aspects of the stormwater 
management facility and wetlands are maintained or 
enhanced, or the construction in the wetland for stormwater 
management is the only reasonable alternative. 

(3) All other necessary State and federal 
permits can be obtained. 

J. Designs shall be in accordance with standards 
developed or approved by the Department, which are subject 
to public review and comment. 

K Ease of maintenance must be considered as a 
site design component. Access to the stormwater 
management structure must be provided for in the design, 
and land area adjacent to the structure must be set aside for 
disposal of sediments removed from the structure when 
maintenance is performed. The land set aside for pond 
maintenance shall be sized as follows: 

(1) The set aside area shall accommodate at 
least 2% of the stormwater management basin volume to the 
elevation of the 2 year storage volume elevation; 

(2) The maximum depth of the set aside 
volume shall be one foot; 

(3) The slope of the set aside area shall not 
exceed 5%; and 

(4) The area and slope of the set aside area 
may be modified if an alternative area or method of disposal 
is approved by the appropriate plan approval agency. 

L. A clear statement of defined maintenance 
responsibility shall be established during the plan review and 
approval process. 

M. All ponds shall have a forebay or other design 
feature to act as a sediment trap. A reverse slope bench must 
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be provided one foot above the normal pool elevation for 
safety purposes and all embankment ponds, having a normal 
pool, shall have a drain installed to facilitate maintenance. 

N. The use of infiltration practices for the disposal 
of stormwater runoff is classified by the USEPA as an 
underground injection control practice, class V injection 
well. The appropriate plan approval agency shall forward a 
copy of all such approvals and the results of all construction 
inspections to the Department’s Underground Injection 
Control program manager. 

O. Infiltration practices have certain limitations on 
their use on certain sites. These limitations include the 
following items: 

(1) Areas draining to these practices must be 
stabilized and vegetative filters established prior to runoff 
entering the system. Infiltration practices shall not be used if 
a suspended solids filter system does not accompany the 
practice. If vegetation is the intended filter, there shall be, at 
least, a 20 foot length of vegetative filter prior to stormwater 
runoff entering the infiltration practice; 

(2) The bottom of the infiltration practice 
shall be at least three feet above the seasonal high water 
table, whether perched or regional, determined by direct 
piezometer measurements which can be demonstrated to be 
representative of the maximum height of the water table on 
an annual basis during years of normal precipitation, or by 
the depth in the soil at which mottling first occurs; 

(3) The infiltration practice shall be designed 
to completely drain of water within 48 hours. 

(4) Soils must have adequate permeability to 
allow water to infiltrate. Infiltration practices are limited to 
soils having an infiltration rate of at least 1.02 inches per 
hour. 

Initial consideration will be based on a 
review of the appropriate soil survey, and the survey may 
serve as a basis for rejection. On-site soil borings and 
textural classifications must be accomplished to verify the 
actual site and seasonal high water table conditions when 
infiltration is to be utilized. 

(5) Infiltration practices greater than three feet 
deep shall be located at least 20 feet from basement walls; 

(6) Infiltration practices designed to handle 
runoff from impervious parking areas shall be a minimum of 
150 feet from any public or private water supply well; 

(7) The design of an infiltration practice shall 
provide an overflow system with measures to provide a non-
erosive velocity of flow along its length and at the outfall; 
and 

(8) The slope of the bottom of the infiltration 
practice shall not exceed five percent. Also, the practice shall 
not be installed in fill material as piping along the fill/natural 
ground interface may cause slope failure. 

(9) Unless allowed on a specific project, 
infiltration practices will be used primarily for water quality 

enhancement only. 
(10) An infiltration practice shall not be 

installed on or atop a slope whose natural angle of incline 
exceeds 20%.

P. A regional approach to stormwater 
management is an acceptable alternative to site specific 
requirements. As a substitute control practice, regional 
stormwater management structures shall be required to meet 
the following items: 

(1) They shall have a contributory drainage 
area not in excess of 400 acres unless, on a case by case 
basis, a larger drainage area is approved by the appropriate 
plan approval agency; 

(2) They shall have a permanent pool of water 
and provide for 24 hour detention of the first inch of 
stormwater runoff from the entire upstream watershed; and 

(3) All other necessary approvals have been 
obtained that could be cause for site rejection. 

Q. The pre-development peak discharge rate shall 
be computed assuming that all land uses in the site to be 
developed are in good hydrologic condition. 

Section 11 -General Permit Standard Plan Criteria 
1. A general permit involves completion and 

submission of a form Approval under this section involves 
submission of a standard plan by a land owner, developer, or 
agent to the appropriate plan approval agency for signature. 
The minimum criteria for the form standard plan will be 
developed by the Department, and may be expanded upon by 
the appropriate plan approval agency. The form standard 
plan will contain standard conditions for erosion and 
sediment control that must be implemented on sites where a 
specific control detailed plan is not required. The appropriate 
plan approval agency shall approve or deny general permit
standard plan requests within 5 14 calendar days of receipt. 

2. The inclusion of an activity into the general permit
standard plan classification does not relinquish that activity 
from the requirements of Chapter 40. Rather, the general 
permit standard plan precludes that activity from the 
necessity of a specific detailed plan review for each 
individual project. 

3. Approval of a general permit standard plan does not 
relieve the applicant from the conditions that are a part of the 
general permit standard plan approval regarding the 
implementation of control practices as required by the 
general permit standard plan. Failure to implement control 
practices pursuant to conditions included in the general 
permit standard plan may necessitate appropriate 
enforcement action as provided in Chapter 40 and these 
regulations. 

4. Those activities eligible for general permits
standard plans include the following, when the stormwater 
management requirements have been waived in accordance 
with Section 3 of these Regulations: 
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A. Individual detached residential home or 
agricultural structure construction where the disturbed area 
for construction will be less than one acre in size. Two or 
more contiguous lots being developed concurrently by the 
same land developer will not be eligible for the general 
permit standard plan. 

B. Forest harvest operations. Highway shoulder 
and side swale maintenance.

C. The repair, maintenance, and installation of 
above and underground utilities. 

D. Minor Commercial, Institutional, and industrial 
projects where the total disturbed area will be less than one 
acre.

E. Modification or reconstruction of a tax ditch by 
a tax ditch organization when that tax ditchis not intended to 
serve new development, and which will not increase water 
quantity or adversely impact water quality, or change points 
of discharge so as to adversely affect the waters of the State. 

5. The appropriate plan approval agency may place 
more restrictive conditions upon the general permits
standard plan approval including the requirement for site 
specific detailed plans for any general permits standard plan
category. The imposition of more specific requirements for 
categories of projects shall be approved by the Department, 
and shall be subject to public review and comment prior to 
their imposition. 

Section 12 - Certified Construction Reviewer 
Requirements 

1. Projects reviewed and approved by the Department 
for sediment control and stormwater management, in 
general, shall have a certified construction reviewer when 
the disturbed area of the project is in excess of 50 acres. In 
addition any project, regardless of its size, may be required 
by the Department, or the appropriate plan approval agency, 
to have a certified construction reviewer on a case by case 
basis. 

2. The Department or the appropriate inspection 
agency may require that any project, already under 
construction, have on site a certified construction reviewer 
if, on that project, significant sediment control or stormwater 
management problems necessitate more frequent 
inspections. 

3. The certified construction reviewer shall function 
under the direction of a registered professional engineer 
licensed to practice engineering in the State of Delaware. 

4. Individuals designated as certified construction 
reviewers shall attend and pass a Departmental sponsored or 
approved construction review training course. The course 
content will contain, at a minimum, information regarding 
the following items: 

A. Basic hydrology and hydraulics; 
B. Soils information including texture, 

limitations, erodibility, and classifications; 

C. Types of vegetation, growing times, and 
suitability; 

D. Erosion, sediment control, and stormwater 
management practices; 

E. Inspection and problem referral procedures; 
F. Aspects of State law, regulations, local 

ordinances, and approval procedures: and 
G. Sediment and stormwater management plan 

content. 
5. The time frame for certification shall not exceed 

five years unless extended by the Department. 
6. The responsibility of the certified construction 

reviewer will be to ensure the adequacy of construction 
pursuant to the approved sediment and stormwater 
management plan. 

7. The certified construction reviewer shall be 
responsible for the following items: 

A. Provision of a construction review of active 
construction sites on at least a weekly basis; 

B. Within five calendar days, informing the 
person engaged in the land disturbing activity, and the 
contractor, by a written construction review report of any 
violations of the approved plan or inadequacies of the plan. 
The plan approval agency shall be informed, if the approved 
plan is inadequate, within five working days. In addition, the 
appropriate construction review agency shall receive copies 
of all construction review reports; and 

C. Referral of the project through the delegated 
inspection agency to the Department for appropriate 
enforcement action if the person engaged in the land 
disturbing activity fails to address the items contained in the 
written construction review report. Verbal notice shall be 
made to the Department within two working days and 
written notice shall be provided to the Department within 
five working days. 

8. If the Secretary or his designee determines that a 
certified construction reviewer is not providing adequate site 
control or is not referring problem situations to the 
Department, the Secretary or his designee may suspend or 
revoke the certification of the construction reviewer. 

9. In any situation where a certified construction 
reviewer’s approval is being suspended or revoked, an 
opportunity for hearing before the Secretary or his designee 
shall be provided. During any suspension or revocation, the 
certified construction reviewer shall not be allowed to 
provide construction reviews pursuant to these regulations. 
The minimum time of suspension or revocation shall be 6 
months. 

Section 13 - Contractor Certification Program 
1. The Department shall require certification of 

responsible personnel for any foreman or superintendent 
who is in charge of on-site clearing and land disturbing 
activities for sediment and stormwater control associated 
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with a construction project. Responsible personnel are not 
required on any project involving silvaculture or fewer than 
four residential homes. Responsible personnel shall obtain 
certification by completing a Department sponsored or 
approved training program. Enrollment of existing and 
future responsible personnel is the responsibility of 
employers. Response to a Department notice of training and 
certification in accordance with the provisions of item 3 of 
this section shall serve as an application for training. The 
Department shall notify employers of responsible personnel 
as to the date and location of training programs for 
attendance by responsible personnel and other interested 
persons. 

2. After July 1, 1991, any applicant seeking sediment 
and stormwater plan approval shall certify to the appropriate 
plan approval agency that all responsible personnel involved 
in the construction project will have a certificate of 
attendance at a Departmental sponsored or approved training 
course for the control of sediment and stormwater before 
initiation of any land disturbing activity. The certificate of 
attendance shall be valid until the Department notifies the 
individual or announces in local newspapers that 
recertification is required due to a change in course content. 

3. After July 1, 1991, employers of responsible 
personnel may receive interim certification for responsible 
personnel during the period before attendance at a 
Departmental sponsored or approved training course by 
submitting an enrollment form to the Department. Interim 
certification shall be valid until the scheduled date of 
attendance for training of responsible personnel. These 
enrollment forms are available from the Department and the 
Conservation Districts. 

Section 14 - Construction Review and Enforcement 
Requirements 

1. The land developer shall request, at least 24 hours 
ahead of time, that the appropriate inspection agency 
approve work completed at the stages of construction 
outlined in the sequence of construction contained on the 
approved plans. Any portion of the work which does not 
comply will be promptly corrected by the developer after 
written notice by the appropriate inspection agency. The 
notice shall set forth the nature of corrections required and 
the time frame within which corrections must be made. 

2. The land developer shall notify the appropriate 
inspection agency before initiation of construction and upon 
project completion when a final inspection will be conducted 
to ensure compliance with the approved sediment and 
stormwater management plan. 

3. The responsible inspection agency shall, for 
inspection purposes, do all of the following items: 

A. Ensure that the approved sediment and 
stormwater management plans are on the project site and are 
complied with; 

B. Ensure that every active site is inspected for 
compliance with the approved plan on a regular basis; 

C. Prepare and leave on site, or forward to the 
contractor, a written report after every inspection that 
describes: 

(1) The date and location of the site 
inspection; 

(2) Whether the approved plan has been 
properly implemented and maintained; 

(3) Approved plan or practice deficiencies; 
and 

(4) The action taken. 
D. Notification of on-site personnel or the owner/

developer in writing when violations are observed, 
describing the: 

(1) Nature of the violation; 
(2) Required corrective action; and 
(3) Time period for violation correction. 

4. The Department may investigate complaints or 
refer any complaint received to the local inspection agency if 
the activity is located in a jurisdiction that has received 
delegation of sediment and stormwater management 
inspection. In conjunction with a referral, the Department 
may also initiate an on-site investigation after notification of 
the local inspection agency in order to properly evaluate the 
complaint. The Department shall take enforcement action 
when appropriate, and notify the local inspection agency in a 
timely manner of any enforcement actions taken.

5. The Department, at its discretion and upon 
notification to either the owner, developer, or contractor, 
may visit any site to determine the adequacy of sediment and 
stormwater management practices. In the event that the 
Department conducts site inspections, the appropriate 
inspection agency shall be notified prior to the initiation of 
any enforcement action. The appropriate inspection agency 
shall establish a time frame to obtain site compliance. This 
notification shall, in no way limit the right to the Department 
to take action subsequent to any provision of these 
regulations or Chapter. Formal procedures for interaction 
between the Department and the appropriate inspection 
agency on site inspection and referral will be developed on 
an individual basis. 

6. The appropriate plan approval agency may require 
a revision to the approved plans as necessary due to differing 
site conditions. The appropriate plan approval agency shall 
establish guidelines to facilitate the processing of revised 
plans where field conditions necessitate plan modification. 
Where changes to the approved plan are necessary those 
changes shall be in accordance to the following: 

A. Major changes to approved sediment and 
stormwater management plans, such as the addition or 
deletion of a sediment basin, shall be submitted by the 
owner/developer to the appropriate plan approval agency for 
review and approval. 
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B. Minor changes to sediment and stormwater 
management plans may be made in the field if approved by 
the construction reviewer and documented in the field 
review report. The appropriate inspection agency shall 
develop a list of allowable field modifications for use by the 
construction reviewer. 

7. Stormwater management construction shall have 
inspections accomplished at the following stages: 

A. Infiltration practices shall be inspected at the 
commencement, during, and upon completion of 
construction; 

B. All ponds shall be inspected at the following 
stages: 

(1) Upon completion of excavation to sub-
foundation and where required, installation of structural 
supports or reinforcement for structures, including, but not 
limited to; 

(a) Core trenches for structural 
embankments, 

(b) Inlet-outlet structures and anti-seep 
structures, watertight connectors on pipes, and 

(c) Trenches for enclosed storm drainage 
facilities. 

(2) During placement of structural fill, 
concrete, and installation of piping and catch basins; 

(3) During backfill of foundations and 
trenches; 

(4) During embankment construction; and 
(5) Upon completion of final grading and 

establishment of permanent vegetation. 
8. The agency responsible for construction review 

may, in addition to local enforcement options, refer a site 
violation to the Department for additional enforcement 
action. 

9. Referral of a site violation to the Department may 
initiate a Departmental construction review of the site to 
verify site conditions. That construction review may result in 
the following actions: 

A. Notification through appropriate means to the 
person engaged in a land disturbing activityand the 
contractor to comply with the approved plan within a 
specified time frame; and 

B. Notification of plan inadequacy, with a time 
frame for the person engaged in a land disturbing activity to 
submit a revised sediment and stormwater plan to the 
appropriate plan approval agency and to receive its approval 
with respect thereto. 

The Department shall notify the local 
inspection agency in a timely manner of what enforcement 
action is taken on the site. 

10. Failure of the person engaged in the land disturbing 
activity or the contractor to comply with Departmental 
requirements may result in the following actions in addition 
to other penalties as provided in Chapter 40. 

A. The Department shall have the power to issue a 
cease and desist order to any person violating any provision 
of Chapter 40 and these regulations by ordering such person 
to cease and desist from any site work activity other than 
those actions necessary to achieve compliance with any 
administrative order. 

B. The Department may request that the 
appropriate plan approval agency refrain from issuing any 
further building or grading permits to the person having 
outstanding violations until those violations have been 
remedied. 

Section 15 - Maintenance Requirements 
1. For erosion and sediment control, all practices shall 

be maintained in accordance with requirements specified in 
the Delaware Sediment and Erosion Control Handbook 
dated 1989 or as directed by the construction reviewer. 

2. Prior to the issuance of any building or grading 
permit for which stormwater management is required, the 
responsible plan approval agency shall require the applicant 
or owner to execute an inspection and maintenance 
agreement binding on all subsequent owners of land served 
by the private stormwater management facility. Such 
agreement shall provide for access to the facility at 
reasonable times for regular inspection by an inspection 
agency and for an assessment of property owners to ensure 
that the stormwater management structure is maintained in 
proper design working condition. 

3. The Department encourages, and will provide 
technical assistance to, any Conservation District or local 
jurisdiction who chooses to assume the maintenance 
responsibility for stormwater management structures on, at 
least, residential lands. Public maintenance provides a 
reasonable assurance that maintenance will be accomplished 
on a regular basis. 

4. The owner or person responsible shall perform or 
cause to be performed preventive maintenance of all 
completed stormwater management practices to ensure 
proper functioning. The responsible inspection agency shall 
ensure preventive maintenance through inspection of all 
stormwater management practices. The inspections shall 
occur at least once each year. 

5. Inspection reports shall be maintained by the 
responsible inspection agency on all detention and retention 
structures and those inspection reports shall include the 
following items: 

A. The date of inspection; 
B. The name of the inspector; 
C. The condition of: 

(1) Vegetation, 
(2) Fences, 
(3) Spillways, 
(4) Embankments, 
(5) Reservoir area, 
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(6) Outlet channels, 
(7) Underground drainage, 
(8) Sediment load, or 
(9) Other items which could effect the proper 

function of the structure. 
D. Description of needed maintenance. 

6. Responsible inspection agencies shall provide 
procedures to ensure that deficiencies indicated by 
inspections are rectified. The procedures shall include the 
following: 

A. Notification to the person responsible for 
maintenance of deficiencies including a time frame for 
repairs; 

B. Subsequent inspection to ensure completion of 
repairs; and 

C. Effective enforcement procedures or 
procedures to refer projects to the Department if repairs are 
not undertaken or are not done properly. 

Section 16 - Penalties 
1. Any person who violates any rule, order, condition 

imposed in an approved plan or other provision of these 
regulations shall be fined not less than $200 or more than 
$2,000 for each offense. Each day that the violation 
continues shall constitute a separate offense. The Justice of 
the Peace Courts shall have jurisdiction of offenses brought 
under this subsection. 

2. Any person who intentionally, knowingly, and after 
written notice to comply, violates or refuses to comply with 
any notice issued pursuant to these regulations shall be fined 
not less than $500 or more than $10,000 for each offense. 
Each day the violation continues shall constitute a separate 
offense. The Superior Court shall have jurisdiction of 
offenses brought under this subsection. 

Section 17 - Hearings 
The conduct of all hearings conducted pursuant to these 

regulations shall be in accordance with the relevant 
provisions of Delaware Code, Title 7, Chapter 60.

Section 18 - Severability 
If any section, subsection, sentence, clause, phrase, or 

portion of these regulations are for any reason held invalid or 
unconstitutional by any court or competent jurisdiction, such 
provision and such holding shall not affect the validity of the 
remaining portions of these regulations.

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND 
HOMELAND SECURITY
BAIL ENFORCEMENT AGENTS

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 5404(a) (24 Del.C. §5404(a))

NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Safety 
and Homeland Security, Division of State Police, in 
accordance with 24 Del.C. §5404(a) proposes to amend 
several rules dealing with Bail Enforcement Agent.

Amend Rule 1.0 - Licensing.  This amendment will 
further protect the public from a Bail Enforcement Agent 
that may endanger his or her safety while performing their 
duties.

Amend Rule 4.0 – Firearms Policy.  This amendment 
will require Bail Enforcement Agents to provide proof of 
firearm training on a yearly basis.

Amend Rule 5.0 – Nightstick, PR24, Mace, Peppergas, 
Chemical Spray, and Handcuffs.  This amendment requires 
Bail Enforcement Agents to have training by certified 
instructors to further protect the public from anyone that may 
endanger his or her safety while in the performance of a Bail 
Enforcement Agent.

Amend Rule 6.0 – Training.  This amendment 
eliminates the waiver for initial licensing training to be done 
by January 19, 2003.

If you wish to view the complete Rules, contact Ms. 
Peggy Anderson at (302) 739-5991.  Any persons wishing to 
present views may submit them in writing, by March 31, 
2004, to Delaware State Police, Detective Licensing, P.O. 
BOX 430, DOVER, DE, 19903.

Bounty Hunter/Bail Enforcement Agents

Preamble

These Rules & Regulations are promulgated pursuant to 
24 Del.C. Section 5504(a) and the Secretary of Public Safety 
delegates his regulatory authority granted by Chapter 55 to 
the Division of State Police.

1.0 Licensing
1.1 Any individual applying for a bail enforcement 

agent ID card under Title 24 Chapter 55 must meet and 
maintain the following qualifications:

1.1.1 Must not be convicted of any felony; and
1.1.2 Must not have been convicted, within the 

last seven (7) years, of any two (2) of the following 
misdemeanors:  theft, drug offenses, offensive touching, or 
assault III; and

1.1.3 Must not have been convicted of any 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 2004

http://www.delawarepublicsafety.com/


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1165
charge that bears a relationship to the performance of the 
bounty hunter as determined by the Detective Licensing 
Section; Must not have been convicted of any charge or been 
involved in any conduct that may impair the performance of 
the bail enforcement agent and endanger public safety as 
determined by the Detective Licensing Secion and

1.1.4 Must not have been, as a juvenile, 
adjudicated as delinquent for conduct which, if committed 
by an adult, would constitute a felony, unless and until that 
person has reached their 25th birthday.

1.2 An individual bail enforcement agent ID card will 
not be issued if there is a pending charge as listed in Section 
1.1.1 or a pending charge as listed in Section 1.1.2 for an 
applicant with one (1) conviction of specified misdemeanor 
listed in Section 1.1.2.

1.3 The individual bail enforcement agent applying for 
an ID card under Title 24 Chapter 55 must also meet the 
following qualifications:

1.3.1 Must be at least 21 years of age; and
1.3.2 Must complete the training qualifications 

set forth in Section 6.0; and
1.3.3 If carrying a weapon, must meet and 

maintain the qualifications set forth in Section 4.0.
1.4 The individual bail enforcement agent applying for 

an ID card under Title 24 Chapter 55 must submit the 
following for approval:

1.4.1 A fee of $25 for a four (4) year ID card 
which shall expire and be renewable on the 4th anniversary 
date of the birth of the applicant next following the date of its 
issuance unless the birth date is February 29, in which event 
the license shall expire and be renewable on February 28 
every 4th year; and

1.4.2 Any and all applications required by the 
Detective Licensing Section; and

1.4.3 Submit two (2) sets of fingerprints for a 
Delaware (CHRI) and Federal (FBI) criminal history record 
check.  The Director of the State Bureau of Identification 
(SBI) determines the fee for this process.  This subsection 
1.4.3 does not apply to the renewal of ID cards, unless 
required by the Director of Detective Licensing.

1.5 The ID cards are the property of the Delaware State 
Police and must be returned to the Detective Licensing 
Section upon expiration of the ID card or at the request of the 
Detective Licensing Section.

1.6 A bail enforcement agent that has been issued an ID 
card by the Detective Licensing Section shall be required to 
have such card in their possession while in the performance 
of his or her duties.

1.7 A bail enforcement agent must not be a member or 
employee of any Delaware Law Enforcement Organization, 
as defined by the Council on Police Training, or a member or 
employee of a law enforcement organization of any other 
local, state or federal jurisdiction.

1.8 There will be no reciprocity with any other state 
regarding the issuing of an ID card to a bail enforcement 
agent.

2.0 Badges, Patches, Advertisements
2.1 No individual licensed under Title 24 Chapter 55 

shall use any type of uniform or other clothing items 
displaying logos, badges, patches, or any other type of 
writing without first being approved by the Detective 
Licensing Section.  Under no circumstances shall any item 
contain the seal or crest of the State of Delaware, any state of 
the United States, the seal or crest of any county or local sub 
division, or any facsimile of the aforementioned seals or 
crests.

2.2 All advertisements or other forms of publication, 
subsequent to their use, are subject to review by the 
Detective Licensing Section for potential misrepresentation. 
If the Detective Licensing Section does not approve the 
advertisement or publication, it will forward its concerns to 
the licensee.  Failure to correct the advertisement or 
publication will be considered a violation of these Rules & 
Regulations.

2.3 The use of auxiliary lights, sirens, or any markings 
on vehicles is prohibited.

3.0 Use Of Animals
3.1 The use of animals is prohibited in the performance 

of any bail enforcement agent activity.

4.0 Firearms Policy
4.1 No person shall carry a firearm under this chapter 

unless the individual first completed and passed an approved 
40-hour firearm course, instructed by a certified firearm 
instructor, recognized by the Detective Licensing Section.

4.2 All persons licensed to carry a firearm under this 
chapter must be re-certified yearly, by an instructor as 
described in Section 4.1, by shooting a minimum of three (3) 
qualifying shoots a year.  The shoots must be scheduled on at 
least two (2) separate days, with a recommended 90 days 
between scheduled shoots.  Of the three (3) shoots, there will 
be one mandatory “low light” shoot. Simulation is permitted 
and it may be combined with a daylight shoot.  All 
individuals must qualify with the same type of weapon that 
he/she will carry.  The minimum passing score is 75%.

4.2.1 All renewal shoot sheets must be 
submitted by January 31st of each year for the previous 
calendar year.

4.3 All handguns must be either a revolver or semi-
automatic and be maintained to factory specifications.  Only 
the handguns with the following calibers are permitted:

4.3.1 9mm
4.3.2 .357
4.3.3 .38
4.3.4 .40
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4.4.5 .45
4.4 All ammunition will be factory fresh (no re-loads).
4.5 Any person requesting to carry any shotgun, rifle, 

any type of weapon or apprehension device must first 
provide proof of training to the Detective Licensing Section 
for approval.

5.0 Nightstick, PR24, Mace, Peppergas, Chemical Spray, 
And Handcuffs

5.1  To carry the above weapons/items a bail 
enforcement agent must have completed training by a 
Detective Licensing Section apporved insturctor, on each 
and every weapon/item carried.  Proof of training, and any 
renewal training, must be provided to the Detective 
Licensing Section.  Under no circumstances would a person 
be permitted to carry any other type weapon/item, unless 
first approved by the Detective Licensing Section.

6.0 Training
6.1 All bail enforcement agents licensed under Title 24 

Chapter 55 must complete training in the following courses: 
Constitution/Bill of Rights, Laws of Arrest, Laws of Search 
& Seizure of Persons Wanted, Police Jurisdiction, Use of 
Deadly Force, and the Rules & Regulations of Bounty 
Hunters/Bail Enforcement Agents.

6.2 This training will be waived for the initial licensing, 
but must be completed by January 19, 2003.  Thereafter, the 
training must be completed prior to obtaining a license. The 
training must be completed prior to obtaining a license.

7.0 Notification Of Apprehensions
7.1 All bail enforcement agents licensed under Title 24 

Chapter 55 are required to notify the police emergency 911 
dispatch center (i.e., Recom, Kentcom, Suscom) of the 
appropriate police agency in which the apprehension will be 
attempted.

8.0 Notification Of Arrest
8.1 Anyone licensed under Title 24 Chapter 55 shall, 

excluding weekends and State holidays, notify the Detective 
Licensing Section within five (5) days of being arrested for a 
misdemeanor or felony crime.  Failure to do so may result in 
the suspension or revocation of any individual.

9.0 Suspensions And Revocations
9.1 The Detective Licensing Section shall have the 

power to suspend or revoke any individual, licensed under 
Title 24 Chapter 55, that violates the Chapter or the 
promulgated Rules & Regulations.

9.2 The Detective Licensing Section may suspend or 
revoke any individual, licensed under Title 24 Chapter 55, 
that has been arrested and that arrest could result in the 
conviction of any misdemeanor or felony as described in 
Section 1.0.

9.3 Anyone whose license has been suspended, 
revoked, rejected, or denied is entitled to a hearing before the 
Secretary of Public Safety the Department of Safety and 
Homeland Security.

9.3.1 Anyone requesting a hearing shall notify 
the Detective Licensing Section, in writing, within 30 days 
from the suspension, revocation, rejection, or denial and the 
hearing shall be scheduled at the earliest possible time.

See 5 DE Reg. 1523 (1/1/02)
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text 
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold 
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language 
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in 
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials, 
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and 
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and 
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2) 
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being 
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, 
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under 
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the 
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations, 
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS

24 DE Admin. Code 1406
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 1406(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §1406(a)(1))

ORDER

A public hearing was held to receive comments on 
January 6, 2004  at the regularly scheduled meeting of the 
Board of Electrical Examiners.   The Board considered 
changes to its rules and regulations that were  published in 
the Register of Regulations, Vol. 7, Issue 6 , December 1, 
2003. 

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

No written comments were received.  The verbal 
comments are summarized below.

Robert Smith of First State Inspection Agency had 
comments to Rules 12.4 and 12.1.  He wanted some 
clarification under Rule 12.4 about whether an inspection 
agency had the responsibility to check the professional 
license of the person requesting an inspection. 

He also suggested a change to Rule 12.1.  The Rule 
should recognize that at times an application for inspection is 

received and the work is not in fact started until after 5 days 
has passed.  An application may say “will call” rather that 
provide a specific date for the inspection requested.  The call 
for the inspection should trigger the five days rather that the 
initial application.
    

Findings of Fact with Respect to the Evidence and 
Information

1. The representative of the inspection agency must 
obtain the information provided on the form submitted by 
the licensee to request an inspection under Rule 12.4.   This 
will provide an investigator with the tools necessary to 
thoroughly investigate complaints.  An employee of the 
agency is not expected to view the license of the applicant. 
However, the list of licensees is provided by the Division of 
Professional Regulation quarterly and they appear on the 
web page of the Division. An employee of the  inspection 
agency must confirm that a person requesting an inspection 
is among the currently licensed electricians or a person 
excepted from licensure as provided in Rule 15.4.

2. The Board believes the wording of the Rules could 
be improved to clarify that a licensee can file an application 
for inspection as required under 24 Del.C. §1420(b), but the 
five days in order to complete the inspection does not begin 
until there is a request for inspection. The Board will 
recommend changes to 24 Del.C. §1421(f) which requires an 
inspection within five days of an application.

3. The changes proposed by the Board in response to 
public comment are not substantive.
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Decision and Effective Date

The Board of Electrical Examiners hereby adopts the 
Rules and Regulations as proposed to be effective 10 days 
following final publication in the Register of Regulations. 

BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS
Jacob Good, President
Richard Strouse, Vice President
Leroy James
Donald King
John Gordy
James Anderson 

Date: February 4, 2004

Text and Citation

1.0 License required.
1.1 No person shall perform electrical services or 

represent themselves as qualified to perform electrical 
services  without first having been duly licensed unless 
specifically excepted by statute.  24 Del.C. §§1407, 1419

1.2 To perform “electrical services” or   “electrical 
work” means to plan, estimate, layout, perform, or supervise 
the installation, erection, or repair of any electrical 
conductor, molding, duct, raceway, conduit, machinery, 
apparatus, device, or fixture for the purpose of lighting, 
heating, or power in or on any structure or for elevators, 
swimming pools, hot tubs, electric signs, air conditioning, 
heating, refrigeration, oil burners, and overhead and 
underground primary distribution systems.

1.3 A license is not required for servicing equipment in 
the fields of heating, air conditioning, refrigeration or 
appliances.

1.4 A licensee  under this  chapter shall perform all 
electrical services or electrical work in accordance with the 
standards established in the National Electric Code (NEC) as 
adopted by the Delaware Fire Commission and in any 
applicable local building code.  The version of the NEC 
applicable to a particular project is determined by the 
Delaware Fire Commission.

2.0 Applications.
2.1 Applications may be obtained in person during 

regular business hours  or by mail from the Division of 
Professional Regulation, Cannon Building, Ste. 203,  861 
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904-2467. 
Applications must be made in the name of the individual, not 
a company. The Board shall approve the application form to 
insure that it contains all of the information necessary to 
satisfy the statutory requirements for licensure.

2.2 Applications which are incomplete shall be retained 
for one year to allow an applicant the opportunity to 

supplement the application.  After one year, incomplete 
applications are destroyed.  Thereafter, an applicant must 
resubmit a current application with the appropriate fee.

2.3 Applications approved for testing will be valid for 
two years.  If the test isn’t taken, the application is destroyed. 
Thereafter, an applicant must resubmit a current application 
with the appropriate fee.

3.0 Qualifications.
3.1 Persons demonstrating the education and 

experience qualifications set forth in 24 Del.C. §1408 may 
be licensed as a master electrician, limited electrician, master 
electrician special, or limited electrician special. 

3.2 An applicant shall submit proof of qualifications 
verified by his or her affidavit on a form approved by the 
Board. Proof of experience requires an employer’s affidavit 
describing the nature of the experience.  If an applicant 
cannot obtain the required affidavit from the supervising 
licensed electrician, tax W-2 forms showing full-time 
employment may be substituted at the discretion of the 
Board.  The required experience and training must be 
completed  prior to taking the licensure test.

3.3 Applicants relying on military training and 
experience shall submit official documentation from the 
supervising officials showing type and approximate hours of 
work experience.  Other official military documentation that 
reliably verifies military training and experience may be 
accepted when supervisory officials are not available or 
cannot be located.

3.4 The requirement of two years of technical training 
under 24 Del.C.§ 1408 (a)(1)(c) can be met by successful 
completion of two years of technical training related to 
electrical technology in a vocational/technical high school or 
by completion of 48 credit hours in technical training related 
to electrical technology  at an accredited post-secondary 
school. 

3.5 The experience necessary under 24 Del.C. §1408 to 
qualify for a particular license must relate to the activity 
authorized by such a license as defined in 24 Del.C.
§1402(10) - (13).

See 4 DE Reg. 1788 (5/1/01)
See 6 DE Reg. 1495 (5/1/01)

4.0 Examinations.
4.1 As a condition of licensure, applicants shall obtain 

a grade of 75% on the Division-approved test. Only the 
National Electrical Code Book can be used during the test as 
a reference. Applicants should submit a completed 
application with all necessary credentials for Board approval 
at least 45 days before the test is given.  As long as the 
credentials have been approved, a license may issue from the 
Division of Professional Regulation upon proof of obtaining 
a passing score on the test, proof of insurance, and payment 
of the fee as provided herein.  A member of the State Board 
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of Electrical  Examiners may attend the examination. All 
scores will be presented to the Board at the first meeting 
after the examination results are available.  The roster of 
persons qualified for licensure will appear in the minutes.

4.2 Applicants who fail  two consecutive times with a 
grade of less than 50% each time must wait one year before 
retesting.

See 4 DE Reg. 1788 (5/1/01)

5.0 Fees
5.1 Fee information can be obtained from the Division 

of Professional Regulation, Cannon Building Ste. 203, 861 
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE 19904 -2467.

6.0 License and Insurance.
6.1 The license will be issued by the Division of 

Professional Regulation to a qualified applicant upon receipt 
of the required fee and proof of insurance.

6.2 Each licensee shall maintain general liability 
insurance of at least $300,000.00.  Proof of said insurance 
shall be submitted at the time of license issuance and each 
renewal.

6.3 The insurance requirement is satisfied for a licensee 
who is performing work as an employee as long as the 
employer is insured for the risk on the work performed as 
required under these regulations.  A licensee  who also 
works independently from his or her employer  must 
maintain separate insurance for that risk as provided under 
these regulations.

See 4 DE Reg. 1788 (5/1/01)

7.0 Expiration and Renewal.
7.1 Beginning in 2002, all licenses expire June 30 and 

biennially every two years thereafter.
7.2 As a condition of renewal, each applicant must 

show proof  of continuing education as required in the Rules 
and Regulations.  Extra continuing education hours do not 
carry over to the next licensing period. Renewal applications 
will be audited by the Board for compliance with the 
continuing education requirements.

7.3 A license is expired when a licensee has failed to 
either complete the requirements for renewal or obtain 
permission for  inactive status.  A licensee may activate an 
expired license within one year of the date the renewal 
application was due by meeting all requirements and paying 
an additional fee set by the Division of Professional 
Regulation.

7.4 A licensee with a valid license may request in 
writing to be placed on inactive status. An inactive status can 
be effective for up to two years and renewed biennially by 
application to the Division upon proof of 10 hours of 
continuing education.  Said license may be reactivated by the 
Board  upon written request, proof of insurance, and 
payment of a prorated fee to be computed by the Division of 

Professional Regulation. 
7.5 A  licensee is not authorized to work as a licensed 

electrician in this State during the period of inactive status.
7.6 An individual whose license has expired for more 

than one year must reapply as a new applicant.  Any prior 
training and experience satisfies the requirements under 24 
Del.C. §1408(a).  However, the applicant must take the 
examination required by §1408(5) again and achieve a 
passing score.

See 4 DE Reg. 1788 (5/1/01)

8.0 Continuing Education
8.1 Continuing education (CE) is required of all 

licensees and proof shall be submitted to the Board by April 
30 of any year after 2000 in which a license is to be renewed. 
For example, if a license must be renewed June 30, 2001, the 
proof of completion of CE  is due on April 30, 2001. A 
licensee who has submitted CE hours that are not allowed 
will be notified so that he or she may obtain replacement CE 
before the June 30 expiration of the license.

8.2 Courses must be approved by the Board in order to 
qualify as CE.  Licensees may contact the Administrative 
Assistant of the Board at the Division of Professional 
Regulation to determine whether particular courses have 
been approved.

8.2.1 Courses shall be designed to maintain and 
enhance the knowledge and skills of licensees related to 
providing electrical services.

8.2.2 Sponsors or licensees can obtain Board 
approval of courses at any time by completing a form 
approved by the Board and including a course outline with 
the number of classroom hours and name of the instructor.

8.2.3 Sponsors or licensees seeking pre-
approval should submit the request as provided in 8.1.2 at 
least 60 days before the CE course  is being offered.

8.2.4 Approval of CE automatically expires on 
September 1, 2002 and every three years thereafter on each 
September 1. A sponsor or licensee must reapply for 
approval as provided in 8.2.1.

8.3 Licensees shall complete 10 hours of approved CE 
during each renewal period with the following exceptions - a 
person licensed less than one year does not need to complete 
CE at the first renewal; a person licensed one year but less 
than two years must submit 5 CE hours at the first renewal. 
Beginning with the licensee’s second renewal, 5 of the 10 
CE hours required for renewal must be related to the 
National Electrical Code.

8.4 The Board may consider a waiver of CE 
requirements or acceptance of partial fulfillment based on 
the Board’s review of a written request with supporting 
documentation of hardship.

8.5 A log of CE on a form approved by the Board shall 
be maintained and submitted. Documentation of the CE 
should not be routinely sent with the log but must be retained 
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during the licensure period to be submitted if the renewal 
application is selected for CE audit.  Random audits will be 
performed by the Board to ensure compliance with the CE 
requirements. Licensees selected for the random audit shall 
submit attendance verification.

See 4 DE Reg. 1788 (5/1/01)

9.0 Loss of license holder
9.1 A procedure permitting  temporary practice after 

loss of a licensee to avoid business interruption is provided 
in 24 Del.C. §1418 and is necessary only where there is no 
currently employed licensee to assume the duties of the 
former license holder.

9.2 The notification must include documentation of the 
business relationship with the former license holder.

10.0 Exceptions.
10.1 No license is required for performing electrical 

work by the following persons or entities:
10.1.1 persons working under the supervision of 

a Delaware licensed master or limited electrician;
10.1.2 persons under the supervision of a licensed 

electrician who is the owner or full-time employee of a 
company performing electrical work;

10.1.3 a professional engineer in a manufacturing 
or industrial plant having six years experience in electrical 
planning and design who is registered with the Board as the 
person responsible for the plant repairs, maintenance, and 
electrical additions;

10.1.4 the Department of Transportation, or a 
contractor, for work performed by or under the supervision 
of the Department for the installation erection, construction, 
reconstruction and/or maintenance of drawbridges and 
traffic control devices

10.1.5 persons working beyond the main breaker 
or fuse of 200 amps or less in a structure used exclusively for 
agriculture;

10.1.6 persons performing the work of any light 
or power company, electric or steam railway company, 
telegraph or telephone company when the work is part of the 
plant or service used in rendering authorized service to the 
public such as power delivery by an electric company.  This 
exception ends at the point of service, termination box, or 
demarcation point; 

10.1.7 a homeowner who has obtained a 
homeowner’s permit  provided by law.

11.0 Reciprocity
11.1 An applicant for licensure by reciprocity shall 

complete an application approved by the Board and cause a 
certificate of good standing to be sent to the Board from the 
licensing agencies of all jurisdictions where the applicant is
or has been licensed.  Upon request an applicant for 
licensure under this provision must submit to the Board a 

copy of reciprocal state’s current licensure requirements. If 
the reciprocal state’s requirements are not substantially 
similar to those of this State, as determined by the Board, 
the applicant shall submit proof of practice for at least five 
years after licensure. Proof of practice can be by an 
employer’s affidavit, tax form w-2 , or tax Schedule C.

11.2 If the reciprocal state’s requirements are not 
substantially similar to those of this State, as determined by 
the Board,  the applicant shall submit proof of practice for at 
least five years after licensure. Proof of practice requires an 
employer’s affidavit describing the nature of the applicant’s 
experience.  If an applicant cannot obtain an affidavit from 
the employer, tax W-2 forms showing full-time employment 
may be substituted at the discretion of the Board.  A 
self-employed applicant may submit tax form Schedule C as 
proof of practice.

See 6 DE Reg. 1495 (5/1/03)

12.0 Required Inspection.
12.1 Every licensee shall file [a request an 

application] for an inspection by a licensed inspection 
agency no later than five working days after the 
commencement of electrical work.  The inspection agency 
shall [complete the perform an] inspection[s] no later than 
five working days after [the application has been received
the inspection has been requested.]

12.2 [A request An application]  for an inspection 
shall be filed with the inspection agency on a form, signed 
by the licensee, or person authorized under Rules 12.7, 12.8, 
or 12.9, containing at least the following information:

12.2.1 Full names of the licensee and any job 
foreman

12.2.2 License number, type (T-1,  T-2, or 
Specialty) and expiration date

12.2.3 Date inspection requested
12.2.3 Location of work to be inspected
12.2.4 Permit numbers, if applicable
12.2.5 [Requestor’s Applicant’s] name and 

contact information, if other than the licensee
12.2.6 A detailed description of the work to be 

inspected including any devices or equipment
12.2.7 Signature of the licensee

12.3 A licensee who signs [a request an 
application] for inspection form is deemed to have 
authorized and shall be responsible for the work described in 
the form.

12.4 An inspection agency shall not conduct an 
inspection of work performed  until it has received a request 
made in compliance with Rule 12.2.

12.5 An inspection agency is responsible to [insure
ensure] that the standards for its inspection are those 
established in the National Electric Code as adopted by the 
Delaware Fire Commission and in any applicable local 
building code.   The version of the Code applicable to a 
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particular project is determined by the Delaware Fire 
Commission.

12.6 An inspection report shall be recorded legibly 
on a form containing at least the following information:

12.6.1 Full name of the licensee
12.6.2 License number, type (T-1,  T-2, or 

Specialty) and expiration date
12.6.3 Location of work to be inspected
12.6.4 Permit numbers
12.6.5 Inspector’s full name
12.6.6 A detailed description of the work 

inspected
12.6.7 Deficiencies noted, any applicable NEC 

section,  and inspection dates
12.6.8 Signature of inspector
12.6.9 Date inspection completed. 

12.2 12.7 Any professional engineer excepted from 
licensure shall at least annually file with the Board a 
certificate of inspection by a licensed inspection agency and 
a letter stating that all repairs, maintenance, and additions to 
a manufacturing or industrial plant meet the Standards of the 
National Electrical Code.  The annual inspection should 
include a representative sampling of the work performed by 
the authority of the responsible professional engineer.

12.3 12.8 Any person performing electrical work on 
agricultural structures excepted from licensure shall 
nevertheless obtain a certificate of inspection from a licensed 
inspection agency for new installations.

12.4 12.9 Any person authorized to perform work by 
a homeowner’s permit shall obtain a final inspection as 
provided in Rule 12.0 by an inspection agency licensed by 
the Board.

13.0 Organization of the Board
13.1 Election of Officers

Annually during the July meeting, the Board shall 
elect officers to serve for a one year term from September 1- 
August 31.

13.2 Duties of the Officers
13.2.1 President - The president shall preside at 

all meetings, designate subordinates when provided by law, 
sign correspondence on behalf of the Board, and perform 
other functions inherent in the position.  In conducting 
meetings or hearings, the President may limit or exclude 
evidence as provided under the Administrative Procedures 
Act unless overruled by a majority of the Board.

13.2.2 Vice President - The Vice President 
assumes the duties and powers of the President when the 
President is unavailable.

13.2.3 Secretary - The Secretary assumes the 
duties and powers of the President when neither the 
President nor the Vice President is available.

13.2.4 Complaint officer - The complaint officer 
shall be a member who  works with the investigator of the 

Division of Professional Regulation when complaints are 
investigated pursuant to 29 Del.C. §8807.  The complaint 
officer shall report to the Board when complaints are closed 
and recuse himself or herself from participating in 
disciplinary hearings involving matters that have been 
reviewed in his or her capacity as complaint officer.    

13.2.5 Education officer - The education officer 
may review courses submitted for continuing education 
approval and makes recommendations to the Board.

13.3 Meeting Minutes
The minutes of each meeting are taken by the 

Administrative Assistant from the Division of Professional 
Regulation and approved by the Board.

See 4 DE Reg. 1788 (5/1/01)

14.0 Homeowners Permits
14.1 The Division of Professional Regulation is 

authorized to issue homeowners’ permits pursuant to an 
application process approved by the Board. Generally 
homeowner’s permits are not required for replacement in 
kind but are required for new construction, renovation, and 
any work that requires a building permit.

14.2 A homeowner shall not be permitted to install 
his or her own internal wiring, electrical work or equipment 
associated with a hot tub or a swimming pool.    

See 4 DE Reg. 1788 (5/1/01)

15.0 Inspection agencies
15.1 Inspection agencies shall be licensed in accord 

with the provisions of 24 Del.C. §1421 in order to operate in 
Delaware.  An application on a form  approved by the Board 
must be  filed at the Division of Professional Regulation. 
Licenses must be renewed annually on June 30 by 
completing the renewal form and paying the fee determined 
by the Division.

15.2 No inspection agency will be approved until it 
produces proof of general liability insurance in the amount 
of at least $1,000,000.00 and errors and omissions insurance 
in the amount of at least $1,000,000.00.

15.3 Inspection agencies must submit, to the 
Division of Professional Regulation, the names of its 
employees who are inspectors and proof of compliance with 
the statutory requirements for inspectors. Inspectors must 
have seven years of experience in residential, commercial, or 
industrial wiring.  Proof of experience shall be submitted by 
affidavit of the named employer, a tax form w-2, or tax 
Schedule C. The experience requirement for an inspector 
employed by an approved inspection agency on July 20, 
1999 is satisfied with seven years of inspection experience. 
Each inspector shall also submit a passing score for the 
Electrical one and two family dwelling and the Electrical 
General examinations within 18 months of employment and 
the Electrical Plan Review examination within 24 months of 
employment. For inspectors employed by the inspection 
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agency on July 20, 1999, the time for taking said 
examinations shall run from the date these regulations 
become effective and not the date first employed.

15.4 An employee of an inspection agency shall 
confirm that the person who has filed for an inspection is a 
licensee under this chapter, a homeowner having a permit, or 
a person who has performed work allowed under an 
exception to licensure.  The Division of Professional 
Regulation will provide quarterly lists of licensees to each 
inspection agency licensed in this State.

15.5 If a violation found in an inspection is not 
corrected within 15 days as provided in 24 Del.C. §1421(g), 
the inspection agency shall notify the Board in writing and 
include a copy of the notice of violation.  The Division of 
Professional Regulation will send, on behalf of the Board, 
the notice of violation to the other inspection agencies and to 
any local building inspector having jurisdiction over the 
structure.

See 4 DE Reg. 1788 (5/1/01)
See 6 DE Reg. 1495 (5/1/03)
15.6 An inspection agency shall notify the Board in 

writing within 10 days when an employee leaves the agency 
or when a new employee is hired by the agency.  This 
notification shall include the full name and address of the 
inspector.   The date a new employee is hired by an 
inspection agency marks the beginning of the period in 
which the inspection examinations in Rule 15.3 must be 
successfully completed.

16.0 Voluntary treatment option for chemically 
dependent or impaired professionals.

A voluntary treatment option is available for chemically 
dependent or impaired professionals as provided in 29 
Del.C. §8807(n) who are reported to the Board or Division 
using the following procedures:

16.1 If the report is received by the president of the 
Board, that president shall immediately notify the Director 
of Professional regulation or his/her designate of the report. 
If the Director of Professional Regulation receives the 
report, he/she shall immediately notify the president of the 
Board, or that president’s designate or designates.

16.2 The president of the Board or that president’s 
designate or designates shall, within seven (7) days of 
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and 
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the 
individual written information describing the Voluntary 
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter 
the Voluntary Treatment Option.

16.3 In order for the individual to participate in the 
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to 
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a 
specified laboratory or health care facility.  This initial 
evaluation and screen shall take place within thirty (30) days 
following notification to the professional by the participating 

Board president or that president’s designate(s).
16.4 A regulated professional with chemical 

dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or 
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and 
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice 
the participating Board president or that president’s 
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in 
consultation with the with the treating professional, deem 
necessary, only if such action will not endanger the public 
health, welfare or safety, and the regulated professional 
enters into an agreement with the Director of Professional 
Regulation or his/her designate and the president of the 
Board or that president’s designate for a treatment plan and 
progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and 
complies with all terms of that agreement.  Treatment 
programs may be operated by professional Committees and 
Associations or other similar professional groups with the 
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the 
President of the Board.  

16.5 Failure to cooperate fully with the Board 
president or that president’s designate or designates or the 
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/ 
her designate in regard to the Voluntary Treatment Option or 
to comply with their requests for evaluations and screens 
may disqualify the regulated professional from the 
provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option and the Board 
president or that president’s designate or designates shall 
cause to be activated an immediate investigation and 
institution of disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as 
outlined in 29 Del.C. §8807(h).

16.6 The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a 
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which 
includes, but is not limited to the following provisions:

16.6.1 Entry of the regulated professional into a 
treatment program approved by the Board.  Board approval 
shall not require that the regulated professional be identified 
to the Board. Treatment and evaluation functions must be 
performed by separate agencies to assure an unbiased 
assessment of the regulated professional’s progress.

16.6.2 Consent to the treating professional of the 
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the 
regulated professional to the president of the Board or to that 
president’s designate or designates or to the Director of the 
Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate at 
such intervals as required by the president of the Board or 
that president’s designate or designates or the Director of the 
Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and 
such person making such report will not be liable when such 
reports are made in good faith and without malice.

16.6.3 Consent of the regulated professional, in 
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any 
treatment information from anyone within the approved 
treatment program.
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16.6.4 Agreement by the regulated professional 
to be personally responsible for all costs and charges 
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and 
treatment program(s). In addition, the Division of 
Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the 
regulated professional to cover administrative costs 
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option.  The 
amount of the fee imposed under this paragraph shall 
approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to 
defray the expenses of the Board, as well as the proportional 
expenses incurred by the Division of Professional 
Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board in addition 
to the administrative costs associated with the Voluntary 
Treatment Option.

16.6.5 Agreement by the regulated professional 
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment 
program shall be reported to the Board’s president, or his/her 
designate or designates or to the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate by the treating 
professional who shall be immune from any liability for such 
reporting made in good faith and without malice.

16.7 The regulated professional’s records of 
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not 
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public 
records open to public inspection.  However, the 
participating Board may consider such records in setting a 
disciplinary sanction in any future matter in which the 
regulated professional’s chemical dependency or impairment 
is an issue.

16.8 The Board’s president, his/her designate or 
designates or the Direction of the Division of Professional 
Regulation or his/her designate may, in consultation with the 
treating professional at any time during the Voluntary 
Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a chemically 
dependent or impaired professional if such action is deemed 
necessary to protect the public health, welfare or safety.

16.9 If practice is restricted, the regulated 
professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon 
completion of the program.

16.10 Failure to enter into such agreement or to 
comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the 
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional 
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and 
the Board shall be notified and cause to be activated an 
immediate investigation and disciplinary proceedings as 
appropriate.

16.11 Any person who reports pursuant to this 
section in good faith and without malice shall be immune 
from any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from 
such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected 
if the matter is handled in a non-disciplinary matter.

16.12 Any regulated professional who complies with 
all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment 
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PRIVATE 

INVESTIGATORS AND PRIVATE SECURITY 
AGENCIES

24 DE Admin. Code 1300
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,

Section 1304(b)(3) (24 Del.C. §1304(b)(3))

ORDER

Pursuant to the Guidelines in 29 Del.C. §10118 (a)(1)- 
(7), the Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and 
Private Security Agencies ("Board") hereby issues this order. 
Following notice and a public hearing held on January 29, 
2004 on the proposed amendment of promulgated rules and 
regulations 1.0 Firearms Policy, the Board makes the 
following Findings and Conclusions:

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted

1. The Board did not receive written evidence or 
information pertaining to the proposed amendment.

2. The Board expressed its desire to amend the rule to 
correct the license expiration date to coincide with the Law.

Findings of Fact

3. The public was given notice and the opportunity to 
provide the Board with comments, in writing and by oral 
testimony, on the amendment of the rule. The written 
comments and oral testimony received are described in 
paragraph 1.

4. The Board finds that the amendment of this rule 
will correct the license expiration date to coincide with the 
Law.

5. The Board finds that the amendment of this rule 
will give a full 2 years of licensure to each new agency at the 
time of approval.

6. The Board finds that the amendment will have no 
adverse impact on the public.

7. The Board finds that the amendment is well written 
and describes its intent to amend the rule to correct the 
license expiration date to coincide with the Law.

Conclusion

8. The proposed rule amendment was promulgated by 
the Board in accord with the statutory duties and authority as 
set forth in 24 Del.C. §1304 et seq. and, in particular, 24 Del. 
C.  §1304 (b) (3) .

9. The Board deems this amendment necessary and 
expedient to the full and official performance of its duties 
under 24 Del.C.  §1304 et. seq.
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10. The Board concludes that the amendment of this 
rule will be in the best interests of the citizens of the State of 
Delaware.

11. The Board therefore adopts the amendment of this 
rule pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1304 (b) (3) and guidelines of 29 
Del.C. §10118 of the Administrative Procedures Act. See, 
Strauss v. Silverman, Del. Supr., 399 A.2d 192 (1979).

12. This amended rule replaces 1.0(1.7), in its entirety, 
any former rule or regulation heretofore promulgated by the 
Board.

13. The effective date of this Order shall be February 
23, 2004.

14. Attached hereto and incorporated herein this order 
is the amended rule marked as exhibit A and executed 
simultaneously by the Board on the 29th day of January, 
2004.

Colonel L. Aaron Chaffinch, Chairman

APPROVED AS TO FORM:
Ralph K. Durstein, III, Esquire
Deputy Attorney General
January 29, 2004

1.0 Firearm’s Policy
1.1 No person licensed under 24 Del.C. 1315 & 1317

shall carry a firearm unless that person has first passed an 
approved firearms course given by a Board approved 
certified firearms instructor, which shall include a minimum 
40 hour course of instruction.  Individuals licensed to carry a 
firearm must shoot a minimum of three (3) qualifying shoots 
per year, scheduled on at least two (2) separate days, with a 
recommended 90 days between scheduled shoots.  Of these 
three, there will be one (1) mandatory “low light” shoot. 
Simulation is permitted and it may be combined with a 
daylight shoot.

1.2 Firearms - approved type of weapons
1.2.1 9mm
1.2.2 .357
1.2.3 .38
1.2.4 .40

1.3 All weapons must be either a revolver or semi-
automatic and must be double-action or double-action only 
and must be maintained to factory specifications.

1.4 Under no circumstances will anyone be allowed to 
carry any type of shotgun or rifle or any type of weapon that 
is not described herein.

1.5 All individuals must qualify with the same type of 
weapon that he/she will carry.

1.6 All ammunition will be factory fresh (no re-loads).
1.7 The minimum passing score is 75%.  All licenses 

are valid for a period of one (1) year.
1.8 All licenses are valid for a period of five (5) years, 

subject to proof of compliance of Rule 1.0 by submission of 

shoot sheets by January 31st of each year for the previous 
calendar year.

 Adopted 11/04/1994
See 3 DE Reg. 960 (1/1/00)

2.0 Nightstick, Pr24, Mace, Peppergas and Handcuffs
To carry the above weapons/items a security guard must 

have completed a training program on each and every 
weapon/item carried, taught by a certified instructor 
representing the manufacturer of the weapon/item.  Proof of 
these certifications must be provided to the Director of the 
Board of Examiners. Under no circumstances would a 
person be permitted to carry any other type weapon/item, 
unless first approved by the Director of the Board of 
Examiners.

Adopted 11/04/1994

3.0 Personnel Rosters and Job Assignments
3.1 Anyone licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall 

submit an alphabetical personnel roster and a job site list to 
the director of the Detective Licensing Section by the tenth 
of every month. Alphabetical personnel rosters shall include 
the full name, DOB, race, sec, expiration date, and position 
code of each individual in your employ.  For example:

Mark A. Smith 01/25/60W M 01/25/99 SG
Helen E. White 03/17/71B F 03/17/00 FA
John F. Henry 05/23/43B M 05/23/00 PI
James D. Williams12/03/40W M 06/30/99 MG
Frank G. Mongomery07/24/55BM 06/30/99 LH
Anne L. Murray 10/20/40W F 06/30/99 CO

SG Security Guard
FA Firearm’s
PI Private Investigator
MG Delaware Manager
LH License Holder
CO Corporate Officer

3.2 Job site lists shall include the name, address, 
location, and hours of coverage. For example:

The DuPont Industry
Barley Mill Road
2200 - 0600 Hours, Monday, Wednesday, and 

Friday
Adopted 11/04/1994
See 3 DE Reg. 960 (1/1/00)

4.0 Record Book; Right of Inspection
All persons licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch.13 shall keep 

and maintain at their place of business, at all times, a book 
that shall contain the names and positions of all employees 
along with the location that each employee is assigned to 
work.  This book shall contain all current personnel 
information and at all times shall be current and up-to-date to 
include the list of weapons/items each employee is qualified 
to carry, the certification dates, scores and the serial number 
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of the weapon/item, if applicable.
Adopted 11/04/1994
See 3 DE Reg. 960 (1/1/00)

5.0 Uniforms, Patches, Badges, Seals, Vehicular 
Markings Amended 04/17/97

5.1 No person licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 shall 
wear or display any uniform, patch, or badge unless first 
approved by the Board of Examiners.  The use of “patrol” 
and/or “officer” on any type of uniform, patch, badge, seal, 
vehicular marking or any type of advertisement shall first be 
proceeded by the word “security”.  Under no circumstances 
shall a uniform, patch, badge, seal, vehicular marking, 
letterhead, business card or any type of advertisement 
contain the seal or crest of the State of Delaware, any state of 
the United States, the seal or crest of any county or local sub 
division, or any facsimile of the aforementioned seals or 
crests.

5.2 Advertisement and other forms of publications:
5.2.1 No letterhead, business card, 

advertisement, or other form of publication including but not 
limited to uniforms, patches, badges, seals, vehicular 
markings and similar items may be used or displayed unless 
first approved by the Board of Examiners.  No such items 
will be approved by the Board if the item will mislead the 
public by confusing the licensee and/or his/her employees 
with official law enforcement agencies and/or personnel.

5.2.2 All uniforms displaying a patch must 
contain an approved patch that is not generic in nature.  The 
patch must have the name of the agency printed on it.

5.2.3 Auxiliary lights on vehicles, used for 
patrol, shall be amber and/or clear only. Use of sirens is 
prohibited.

Adopted 11/04/1994
See 3 DE Reg. 960 (1/1/00)

6.0 Qualified Manager
A qualified manager cannot be employed by more than 

one company at the same time.  For example; a person 
cannot serve as a qualified manager for two separate private 
security agencies and/or private investigative agencies.

Adopted 11/04/1994
7.0 Employment Notification

7.1 It shall be the responsibility of each person licensed 
as a security guard under 24 Del.C. Ch. 13 to notify the 
Director of the Board of Examiners, in writing within 24 
hours, if such person is terminated or leaves one agency for 
employment with another or works for more than one 
security guard agency.  Under no circumstances will a 
security guard be permitted to be employed by more than 
two agencies at a time.  It is also the responsibility for each 
licensed security guard to advise his/her employer(s) of 
whom he/she is employed with (i.e. If a security guard is 
employed with two security guard agencies, both employers 

must be made aware of this fact as well as the Director of the 
Board of Examiners.)

7.2 Employers Responsibility
7.2.1 A licensed private security agency, after 

investigation, shall notify the Detective Licensing Office, in 
writing, of any terminated employees.  This information is to 
be included in the next monthly roster report following the 
termination.

7.2.2 A licensed private security agency shall 
report to the Detective Licensing Office, in writing, the 
following:

7.2.2.1 The name of any employee arrested;
7.2.2.2 The name of any employee admitted 

to any mental hospital ward, mental institution or sanitarium; 
or

7.2.2.3 The name of any employee disabled 
from carrying, owning, or possession a gun by action of 
federal or state statute and/or court order, including bond 
orders and protection from abuse orders.

Adopted 11/04/1994
See 4 DE Reg. 361 (8/1/00)

8.0 Criminal Offenses
In addition to those qualifications set forth in 24  Del.C. 

§1314, no person required to be licensed under this chapter 
shall be issued a license, if that person has been convicted of 
Assault III or Offensive Touching misdemeanor within the 
last three (3) years.

Adopted 11/04/1994

9.0 Private Investigators
9.1 A Private Investigator must not be a member or 

employee of any Law Enforcement Organization, as defined 
by the Council on Police Training.

9.2 At the time of processing, a Private Investigator 
must provide proof of employment by a licensed Private 
Investigative Agency with the Private Investigator 
application signed by the employer.  The identification card 
will bear the employer’s name.  Upon termination of 
employment, the identification card is no longer valid.  If 
seeking employment with another licensed agency, the 
Private Investigator must be re-licensed with the new 
employer and a new identification card will be issued as in 
the previous procedure.

9.3 A licensed Private Investigator may only be 
employed by one licensed private investigative agency at a 
time.

Adopted 11/04/1994

10.0 Licensing Fees
10.1 Class A License - Private Investigative Agency

10.1.1 In-State License Holder
10.1.1.1 Individual - No Employees - Not 

Corporation
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10.1.1.1.1 $230 for 2 years to expire 
June 30th of odd years

10.1.1.1.2 $5,000 Bond
10.1.1.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.1.1.2 Corporation - Has Employees

10.1.1.2.1 $345 for 2 years to expire 
June 30th of odd years

10.1.1.2.2 $10,000 Bond
10.1.1.2.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.1.2 Out-of-State

10.1.2.1 License Holder - Individual and 
Corporation

10.1.2.1.1 $345 for 2 years to expire 
June 30th of odd years

10.1.2.1.2 $10,000 Bond
10.1.2.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.1.2.2 Delaware Manager

10.1.2.2.1 $230 for 2 years to expire 
June 30th of odd years

10.1.2.1.2 $5,000 Bond
10.2 Class B License - Private Security Agency

10.2.1 In-State License Holder
10.2.1.1 Individual - No Employees - Not 

Corporation
10.2.1.1.1 $230 for 2 years to expire 

June 30th of odd years
10.2.1.1.2 $5,000 Bond
10.2.1.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.2.1.2 Corporation - Has Employees

10.2.1.2.1 $345 for 2 years to expire 
June 30th of odd years

10.2.1.2.2 $10,000 Bond
10.2.1.2.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.2.2 Out-of-State

10.2.2.1 License Holder - Individual and 
Corporation

10.2.2.1.1 $345 for 2 years to expire 
June 30th of odd years

10.2.2.1.2 $10,000 Bond
10.2.2.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.2.2.2 Delaware Manager

10.2.2.2.1 $230 for 2 years to expire 
June 30th of odd years

10.2.2.2.2 $5000 Bond
10.3 Class C License - Private Investigative & 

Private Security Agency
10.3.1 In-State License Holder

10.3.1.1 Individual - No Employees - Not 

Corporation
10.3.1.1.1 $345 for 2 years to expire 

June 30th of odd years
10.3.1.1.2 $10,000 Bond
10.3.1.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.3.1.2 Corporation - Has Employees

10.3.1.2.1 $520 for 2 years to expire 
June 30th of odd years

10.3.1.2.2 $15,000 Bond
10.3.1.2.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.3.2 Out-of-State

10.3.2.1 Individual and Corporation
10.3.2.1.1 License Holder

10.3.2.1.1.1 $520 for 2 years to 
expire June 30th of odd years

10.3.2.1.1.2 $15,000 Bond
10.3.2.1.1.3 $1,000,000 Liability 

Insurance per occurrence
10.3.2.1.2 Delaware Manager

10.3.2.1.2.1 $345 for 2 years to 
expire June 30th of odd years

10.3.2.1.2.2$10,000 Bond
10.4 Class D License - Armored Car Agency 

License
10.4.1 License Holder

10.4.1.1 $345 for 2 years to expire June 30th of 
odd years

10.4.1.2 Banking Commissioner License as 
required by 5 Del.C. 3203

10.4.1.3 $10,000 Bond
10.4.1.4 $1,000,000 Liability Insurance per 

occurrence.
10.4.2 Delaware Manager

10.4.2.1 $230 for 2 years to expire on June 30th

of odd years.
10.4.2.2 $5000 Bond

10.5 All license will expire 2 years from the last day 
of the month they are approved for licensure.

See 6 DE Reg. 637 (11/01/02)
See 7 DE Reg. (3/1/04)

11.0Use Of Animals
The use of animals is prohibited in the performance of 

private security activities.
Adopted 04/23/1998
See 3 DE Reg 960 (1/1/00)
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 220

Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,
Section 220 (14 Del.C. §220)

Regulatory Implementing Order

220 Diversity

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend regulation 
220 Diversity.  The regulation defines diversity and requires 
the local school districts to take certain steps to infuse 
diversity concepts into student classrooms.  The 
amendments update the language to focus on issues of 
inclusion and diversity and since it is a regulation of the 
Department of Education the reference to the State Board of 
Education has been eliminated.  Regulation 220 Diversity 
was previously advertised for re-adoption in the November 
1, 2003 Register of Regulations but it is now being re-
advertised as an amended regulation with the changes 
indicated. 

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on December 
17, 2003, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. 
Comments received from the Governors Advisory Council 
for Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for persons 
with Disabilities endorsed the amended regulation.

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend this 
regulation in order to up date the language and remove the 
reference to the State Board of Education.

III.  Decision To Amend The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, the regulation attached hereto as 
Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of 
14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in 
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this 
order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in 
the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation 
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §220 in the 
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on February 4, 2004. 
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from 
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 4th day of February 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

220  Diversity

1.0 Definition:
A school community that values diversity is one which 

embraces and builds on the strengths of individual and group 
differences, and by so doing enriches the educational 
program for all students.  A curriculum that is multicultural 
and inclusive of many racial, ethnic, regional, religious, 
linguistic, and socio-economic groups, and which gives 
visibility to both women and men, to people of all ages, and 
to persons with disabilities, affirms the richness of our 
pluralistic society.  The Secretary of Education and the State 
Board of Education believe believes that students achieve 
their best in classrooms where diversity is commonplace.

2.0 Each school district shall:
2.1 Infuse information on diverse cultural groups 

throughout the K-12 curriculum in order to equip students 
with the knowledge and skills necessary to participate 
productively in a culturally diverse society.

2.2 Provide professional development to equip all 
teachers with various instructional techniques and best 
practices for infusing multicultural information into the 
curriculum and effectively meeting to effectively meet the 
needs of diverse learners.

2.3 Describe in district strategic plans and school plans 
how disparities and gaps in student achievement associated 
with the student’s gender, race, ethnicity, socioeconomic 
status, limited English proficiency, or disability will be 
identified and eliminated.

2.4 Provide student counseling, assessment, discipline 
and placement that is sensitive to the needs of diverse 
populations.

2.5 Provide appropriate instruction to limited English 
proficient students so that they will have success in a 
mainstream classroom where the medium of instruction is 
English.

2.6 Describe in the district strategic plan a strategy to 
attract and retain a highly skilled and committed faculty and 
staff reflective of the diversity in the school community.

2.7 Enact measures to avoid and address inequitable 
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and prejudicial behaviors among employees and students.
2.8 Describe in the school plans specific ways 

principals and building staff create an atmosphere which 
recognizes, accepts and values diversity as a positive, 
integral resource of a democratic society.

See 2 DE Reg. 1244 (1/1/99)

Regulatory Implementing Order

225 Prohibition of Discrimination

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend regulation 
225 Prohibition of Discrimination by adding the word “age” 
after the word disability and adding the word “unlawful” 
before the word excluded.  The regulation is a statement of 
non-discrimination in programs and activities approved by 
the Department of Education. Since it is a regulation of the 
Department of Education, the reference to the State Board of 
Education was removed.  The Regulation 225 Prohibition of 
Discrimination was previously advertised for re-adoption in 
the November 1, 2003 Register of Regulations but it is now 
being re-advertised as an amended regulation with the 
changes indicated. 

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on December 
17, 2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. 
Comments received from the Governors Advisory Council 
for Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for persons 
with Disabilities endorsed the amended regulation.

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend this 
regulation in order to add the word age and to remove the 
reference to the State Board of Education.

III.  Decision To Amend The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, the regulation attached hereto as 
Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of 
14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in 
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this 
order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  Text And Citation
The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in 

the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation 

shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §225 in the 
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on February 4, 2004. 
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from 
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 4th day of February 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

225  Prohibition of Discrimination

1.0 No person in the State of Delaware, shall, on the basis of 
race, color, creed, national origin, disability, age or gender, 
be unlawfully excluded from participation in, be denied the 
benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any 
program or activity receiving approval or financial 
assistance from or through the Delaware State Board of 
Education and/or the Delaware Department of Education.

See 2 DE Reg. 1246 (1/1/99)

Regulatory Implementing Order

235 Teacher of the Year Award

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend regulation 
235 Teacher of the Year Award. The amendments to sections 
1.0 and 2.0 are necessary to align the regulation with current 
practice Changes were made to 2.1 to incorporate the 
involvement of the charter schools and 2.1.1 was substituted 
for the existing 2.2 in order to make it clear that “Nominees 
for State Teacher of the Year who are not actively engaged in 
teaching in a public school at the time at which observations 
are made pursuant to Section 2.2 below shall be 
disqualified.”

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on December 
17, 2003, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  No 
comments were received.
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II.  Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend this 
regulation in order to incorporate the involvement of the 
charter schools and to substitute 2.1.1 for the existing 2.2 in 
order to make it clear that “Nominees for State Teacher of 
the Year who are not actively engaged in teaching in a public 
school at the time at which observations are made pursuant 
to Section 2.2 below shall be disqualified.”

III.  Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, 
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, the regulation attached hereto as 
Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of 
14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in 
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this 
order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in 
the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation 
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §235 in the 
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on February 4, 2004. 
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from 
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 4th day of February 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

235  Teacher of the Year Award

This program shall be administered in accordance with 
14 Del.C., Ch.89, and the following rules and regulations.

1.0 Qualifications - To be considered for the Teacher-of-the-
Year award, a person shall have taught, continuously or 
intermittently, for an accumulative period of nine months or 
more previous to the date of such person's nomination; shall 
have been formally nominated; and be actively teaching in 
this State at the time of nomination.  A nominee shall be a 
person fully certified by the Department of Education for the 
position held. To be considered for the Teacher-of-the-Year 
award, a person shall have taught, continuously or 

intermittently, for an accumulative period of three years or 
more previous to the date of such person’s nomination; shall 
have been formally nominated; and be actively teaching in 
this state at the time of nomination.  A nominee shall have 
met all the requirements for a Standard Certificate for the 
position held, as approved by the Professional Standards 
Board, [Department of Education] and the State Board of 
Education.

2.0 Nominations - The following shall apply in preparing 
nominations in accordance with the requirements of the Act.

2.1 The Department of Education shall annually send to 
each school district superintendent detailed instructions and 
proper forms for the presentation of nominees. Each district 
superintendent is invited to nominate one teacher employed 
by the district. The Department of Education shall meet 
annually with the district coordinators of the Teacher of the 
Year Program and the coordinator for the charter schools for 
the purpose of providing them with detailed instructions and 
proper forms for the presentation of nominees.  Each district 
is invited to nominate one teacher employed by the district 
and the charter schools are invited to select one nominee to 
represent all of the charter schools.

[2.2 Nominees shall be skillful and dedicated 
teachers, pre-kindergarten through Grade 12, who plan 
to continue as teachers.  Personnel whose main 
responsibilities are administrative or supervisory, such as 
principals or guidance counselors, are not eligible.

2.1.1 Nominees shall be skillful and dedicated 
teachers, pre-kindergarten through grade 12. 
Administrative personnel such as principals and 
guidance counselors are not eligible to be considered for 
State Teacher of the Year. Nominees for State Teacher of 
the Year who are not actively engaged in teaching in a 
public school at the time at which observations are made 
pursuant to Section 2.2 below shall be disqualified.]

2.3 Nominees shall have the respect and admiration of 
students, parents, and co-workers.  They should play active 
and useful roles in their communities as well as in their 
schools.  They should be poised and articulate and have the 
energy and equanimity to be able to withstand a busy 
schedule. 

2.4 The most important qualification is a superior 
ability to inspire students of all backgrounds and abilities to 
learn.

[2.3 2.2] 2.5  Each district Nominees shall submit a 
portfolio describing the nominee themselves and setting 
forth his or her their positions on educational issues. Format 
will be based on that of the National Teacher of the Year 
program.

2.6 Staff members of the Department shall review each 
portfolio and shall observe each teacher at work.  Based on 
reading of the portfolios and observations, the Department 
selectors will designate not more than five finalists for 
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consideration by judges.
2.7 Judges from outside of the Department shall 

evaluate the finalists.  Those invited as judges will be the 
three most recent previous state Teachers of the Year; the 
president of the State PTA; the president of the State Student 
Council Association; and a member of the State Board of 
Education.

2.8 The judges shall recommend one person for the 
Secretary of Education to declare as state Teacher-of-the-
Year.

[2.4 2.3] Following the submission of the portfolios, 
selected Department of Education staff members and 
selected former state and local district Teachers of the Year 
shall be assigned in pairs to read the portfolios of two 
nominees and observe those nominees in the classroom 
based on the criteria stipulated in the Teacher of the Year 
Nomination Information Document that is updated each 
year.  Another group of Department of Education Staff 
members [are shall be] assigned to read all of the portfolios 
and rate them based on forms found in the Teacher of the 
Year Nomination Information Document.  Based on the 
numerical ratings from both the portfolio readers and from 
the observations, three nominees shall be identified as 
finalists for consideration by a panel of judges.

[2.5 2.4]  The panel of judges shall include: the current 
State Teacher of the Year; the President of the State Congress 
of Parents and Teachers; the President of the State Student 
Council Association; a member of the State Board of 
Education; a representative of the Chamber of Commerce; 
the President of the Delaware State Education Association; 
and the Chair of the Professional Standards Board or, if 
necessary, their designees.  

[2.6 2.5]  The judges shall recommend one person for 
the Secretary of Education to declare as the State Teacher of 
the Year. 

See 3 DE Reg. 104 (7/1/99)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to
14 Del.C. Section 122 (D)

120 Required Inservice Training Activities for Delaware 
Public School Administrators

A. Type Of Regulatory Action Requested
Repeal

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board in cooperation and 

collaboration with the Department of Education seeks the 
approval of the State Board of Education to repeal regulation 
120 Required Inservice Training Activities for Delaware 
Public School Administrators.  This regulation concerns the 
requirement for administrators to successfully complete 15 
hours of professional development annually.  It is necessary 
to repeal this regulation as the subject is regulated by 
regulation 1511 Issuance and Renewal of Continuing 
License, which is in compliance with 14 Del. C. § 1211 and 
§ 1213.  Regulation 120 is, therefore, no longer necessary.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the repeal of the regulation help improve 

student achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The repealed regulation concerns professional 
development for educators, not student achievement.

2. Will the repeal of the regulation help ensure that all 
students receive an equitable education?   The repealed 
regulation concerns professional development for educators, 
not equitable education for students.

3. Will the repeal of the regulation help to ensure that 
all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The 
repealed regulation concerns professional development for 
educators, not students’ health and safety.

4. Will the repeal of the regulation help to ensure that 
all students’ legal rights are respected?  The repealed 
regulation addresses educator professional development, not 
students’ legal rights.

5. Will the repealed regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board 
and school level?  The repeal of the regulation will preserve 
the authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local 
board and school level.

6. Will the repealed regulation place unnecessary 
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon 
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The 
repeal of the regulation will not place unnecessary reporting 
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability 
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the 
same entity?  The decision-making authority and 
accountability for addressing the regulation to be repealed 
rests with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration 
and cooperation with the Department of Education, and with 
the consent of the State Board of Education.

8. Will the repeal of the  regulation be consistent with 
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies?  The repeal of the regulation will be consistent with, 
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
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policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the repeal of regulation?  The repeal of the 
regulation is designed to reduce the burden placed on school 
districts.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the repeal of the regulation? 
There will be no cost to the state or to local school boards 
resulting from the repeal of the regulation.

120 Required Inservice Training Activities for Delaware 
Public School Administrators

1.0 All administrators responsible for the supervision, 
management and evaluation of instruction shall complete a 
minimum of 15 clock hours of staff development between 
July 1 and June 30 of each year, beginning July 1, 1988. The 
purpose for this staff development program is to assist new 
administrators to obtain and veteran administrators to 
maintain skills in and knowledge of effective teaching, staff 
supervision and evaluation, and building management.

1.1 Persons newly appointed to administrative 
positions responsible for the supervision, management and 
evaluation of instruction and who do not have backgrounds 
in or experience with effective teaching and/or training in the 
use of the Delaware Performance Appraisal System shall 
contact the Department of Education to make arrangements 
to receive training in these two areas.

1.1.1 Such training may be provided by a local 
school district or through DOE and shall include a minimum 
of 15 clock hours in effective teaching and 15 clock hours in 
the use of the Delaware Performance Appraisal System.

1.1.2 These hours shall count toward the 
minimum 15 clock hour requirement.

1.2 School districts shall maintain written records of 
each administrator’s participation in staff development 
programs. Once an administrator has accumulated a total of 
forty-five clock hours of training, but no less than a 
minimum of fifteen clock hours in any one year, the district 
superintendent shall forward a signed copy of that 
administrator’s record on a form approved by the 
Department to the Department of Education. A certificate 
will then be sent to the district superintendent to be awarded 
to the administrator along with the verification of three 
inservice credits by the Department of Education. An 
administrator may then begin accumulating another forty-
five clock hours of training realizing that no previous 
training is to be repeated if credit is desired. Cumulative 
records for each administrator will be kept by the 
Department of Education.

1.3 Department of Education staff who are responsible 
for the supervision, management and evaluation of 

instruction shall complete a minimum of 15 clock hours of 
staff development between July 1 and June 30 of each year.

1.4 Administrators at the local or state level, not 
responsible for the supervision, management and evaluation 
of instruction may, but are not required to, complete the 
minimum of 15 clock hours of staff development each year.

1.5 A variety of programs will be available to 
administrators for meeting the required hours of staff 
development. Options include:

1.5.1 Delaware Principal’s Academy programs 
in management, evaluation and effective instruction.

1.5.2 Workshops for administrators sponsored 
by the Department of Education and/or school districts in 
management, evaluation and effective instruction.

1.5.3 Special programs and institutes co-
sponsored by the University of Delaware and the 
Department of Education in management, evaluation and 
effective instruction.

1.5.4 Graduate level college courses in 
management and evaluation.

1.5.5 Programs related to management and 
evaluation which are offered by state or national educational 
or professional organizations.

1.5.6 Workshops, seminars, and institutes 
provided by institutions or organizations from the public or 
private sector in management or evaluation.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Regulatory Implementing Order

Regulation 1510 Issuance Of Initial License

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 
regulation 1510 Issuance of Initial License.  This regulation 
applies to the issuance an initial license as established by 14 
Del.C. §1210.  The amendment to this regulation is 
necessary to define and clarify the forms of PRAXIS I tests 
which are acceptable in applying the composite score, set 
forth procedures for the suspension of a license for failure to 
pass PRAXIS I, and define two years of college or technical 
training as applied to trade and industry teachers.  The 
amendment also clarifies that an individual under 
investigation by another state will not be issued a license 
until there is a favorable resolution to the investigative 
proceeding.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation 
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was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State 
News on November 26, 2003, in the form hereto attached as 
Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.  No 
comments were received. 

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this 
regulation to comply with changes in statute regarding the 
licensure of educators.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is 
appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit 
“B” is hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 
Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in 
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this 
order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form 
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §1510 in the Regulations of 
the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL 
STANDARDS BOARD THE 5TH DAY of FEBRUARY, 
2004

Harold Roberts, Chair Leslie Holden
Sharon Brittingham Carla Lawson
Heath Chasanov Mary Mirabeau
Patricia Clements John Pallace
Edward Czerwinski Karen Schilling Ross
Karen Gordon Carol Vukelich
Barbara Grogg Geraldine A. Williams
Bruce Harter

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT 
OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED this 19th day of February, 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1510 Issuance of Initial License

1.0 Content:  This regulation shall apply to the issuance of 
an initial license for educators, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1210.

2.0 Definitions:  The following words and terms, when used 
in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Alternative Routes to Licensure and Certification”
means programs approved by the Department of Education 
to certify or license candidates who hold bachelors[’
]degrees with appropriate to the instructional field they 
desire to teach, but who did not complete a regionally 
accredited educator preparation program.

“Composite Score” means a total of an applicant’s 
scores on all three (3) subtests of PRAXIS I which is equal 
to, or greater than, the sum of the passing scores on the three
subtests.  Scores from either the PRAXIS I (PPST) paper and 
pencil test and/or from the PRAXIS I (CPPST) computerized 
test may be used when applying the composite score 
provision.  Scores from the PRAXIS I computer based test 
(CBT) may be used when applying the composite score 
provision, but may not be used in conjunction with scores 
from the PRAXIS I (PPST) paper and pencil test and/or with 
the PRAXIS I (CPPST) computerized test.

“Date of Hire” means the effective date of employment 
by a school district, charter school, or other employing 
authority.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“Educator” means a public school employee who holds 
a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del.C., 
Ch[.apter] 12, and includes teachers, specialists, and 
administrators, and as otherwise defined by the Standards 
Board and the State Board, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1203, but 
does not include substitute teachers.

“Examination of General Knowledge” means a 
standardized test which measures general knowledge and 
essential skills in mathematics or quantitative and verbal 
skills, including reading and writing.

“Exigent Circumstances” means unanticipated 
circumstances or circumstances beyond the educator’s 
control, including, but not limited to, expiration of a license 
during the school year, serious illness of the educator or a 
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member of his/her immediate family, activation to active 
military duty, and other serious emergencies which 
necessitate the educator’s temporarily leaving active service.

“Jurisdiction” means a state, territory or country.
“License” means a credential which authorizes the 

holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Mentoring” means activities prescribed by the 
Department and/or other employing authority in which a 
holder of an initial license must engage during the three-year 
term of the initial license.

“Novice Applicant” means an applicant who has not 
previously held an initial license in Delaware.

“PRAXIS I or “PPST” means a test from Educational 
Testing Service of general knowledge in reading, writing, 
and mathematics.

“PRAXIS I CBT” means the discontinued PRAXIS I 
computer based test from Educational Testing Service taken 
between November 1993 and December 2001, with a 
possible score range of 300 to 335.  Scores from the 
PRAXIS I CBT test may not be combined with scores from 
the PRAXIS I paper and pencil test or the PRAXIS I 
computerized test (CPPST) to derive a composite score.

“PRAXIS I CPPST” means the PRAXIS I 
computerized test from Educational Testing Service which 
began in January 2002.  This test, which is delivered in a 
computer format, has a possible score range of 150 to 190. 
Scores from the CPPST and the PRAXIS I (PPST) paper and 
pencil test may be combined for a composite scores.

[“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, 
skill and/or education to practice in a particular area, 
teach a particular subject, or teach a category of 
students.]

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards 
Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of 
the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.

“Student Teaching Program” means a [traditional 
student teaching] placement within a National Association 
of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification or 
National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education 
approved program offered by a college or university, or such 
alternatives as deemed appropriate to the program, such as 
supervised internships or other field based experience 
recognized as a required component of the regionally 
accredited educator preparation program.  For the purposes 
of this regulation, student teaching program also means one 
year of teaching experience within the last year consisting of 
a minimum of 91 days of long term teaching experience at 
one assignment during which regular evaluations were 
conducted, evidencing at least satisfactory performance.

“Suspension” means the temporary removal of an 
initial license for failure to pass the PRAXIS I test.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1210, the Department 
shall issue an  initial license to a novice applicant who 
submits evidence of (1) receipt of a bachelor[’]s degree from 
a regionally accredited 4-year college or university; (2) 
completion of a student teaching program, or one year of 
teaching experience consisting of a minimum of 91 days of 
long term teaching experience at one assignment or 
enrollment in an Alternative Routes to Licensure and 
Certification program, and (3) a passing score on an 
examination of general knowledge, such as PRAXIS I, or 
such other alternative as may be established by the Standards 
Board, with the approval of the State Board. For the 
purposes of this regulation, a bachelor’s degree for a trades 
and industry teacher shall be two (2) years of college or 
technical training, plus six (6) years of trade experience.  An 
initial license shall also be issued to an applicant currently 
licensed as an educator in another jurisdiction with less than 
three years of teaching experience or to an applicant who 
previously held a valid Delaware standard or professional 
status certificate who has been out of the profession for more 
than three years. In addition to an initial license, applicants 
must also apply for a standard certificate in the particular 
area, subject, or category in which they wish to be employed, 
and must verify that they possess the prescribed knowledge, 
skill and/or education to practice in that area, subject, or 
category.  (See 14 DE Admin. Code 1516). 

3.1 An applicant for an initial license shall submit the 
[completed] application form, official transcripts, and 
official scores on an examination of general knowledge, such 
as the PRAXIS I tests in any format, as defined in 2.0, to the 
Department.

3.1.1 Official transcripts shall be forwarded 
directly from the issuing institution or by the applicant in an 
unopened, unaltered envelope.

3.2 Examination of General Knowledge Requirements
3.2.1 An applicant seeking initial licensure in 

Delaware shall provide the Department with official test 
scores for one or more of the following tests of essential 
skills in reading, writing and mathematics: the PRAXIS I 
Tests (PPST) or such alternatives as set forth in 3.2.4 below.

3.2.2 Scores of Examinations of General 
Knowledge. 

3.2.2.1 The following minimum passing 
scores are required in the areas of reading, writing and 
mathematics for each of the examinations of essential skills.

3.2.2.1.1 Pre-professional Skills Test 
PPST) Ttaken between 7/1/83 and 10/22/93: reading - 175, 
mathematics - 175, writing - 172.

3.2.2.1.2 PRAXIS I (PPST)- Paper 
and Pencil Tests (Tests and thereafter[)], with a possible 
score range of 150 to 190.[)] and PRAXIS I cComputerized 
pPre-pProfessional sSkills tTests taken 1/1/02 and 
thereafter:, both of which have a possible score range of 150 
to 190, with passing scores of: reading - 175, mathematics - 
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174, writing - 173. 
3.2.2.1.3 PRAXIS I - Computer Based 

Tests (CBT) (Tests taken on between 10/23/93 and thereafter
12/31/01), with passing scores of: reading - 322, 
mathematics - 319, writing - 319. 

3.2.3 Individuals holding Delaware certificates 
issued prior to July 1, 1983 are exempt from the testing 
requirements.

3.2.4 Acceptable alternatives to the PRAXIS I 
test scores include:

3.2.4.1 Scores from the California Test of 
Basic Skills (CTBS) shall be accepted in lieu of PPST/
PRAXIS I scores if the test was taken as a condition of 
meeting certification or licensure requirements in that state 
and the scores total 123, with a minimum of at least 37 in 
each category.

3.2.4.2 Scholastic Aptitude Tests (SAT) taken 
after 4/1/95 and presented for exemption must meet the 
scores set forth below due to a re-centering of the SAT.

3.2.4.2.1 A minimum score of 520 on 
the SAT Mathematics taken prior to 4/1/95, and a minimum 
score of 540 on the SAT Mathematics test taken thereafter 
will be accepted as fulfillment of the PRAXIS I Mathematics 
requirement. 

3.2.4.2.2 A minimum score of 480 on 
the SAT Verbal test taken prior to 4/1/95, and a minimum 
score of 560 on the SAT verbal test taken thereafter will be 
accepted as fulfillment of the PRAXIS I reading 
requirement.

3.2.4.3 Graduate Record Examination (GRE) 
scores presented for exemption must meet the scores set 
forth below.

3.2.4.3.1 A minimum score of 490 on 
the Graduate Record Examination (GRE) Verbal test will be 
accepted as fulfillment of the PRAXIS I reading 
requirement.

3.2.4.3.2. A minimum score of 540 on 
the Graduate Record Examination (GRE) Quantitative test 
will be accepted as fulfillment of the PRAXIS I mathematics 
requirement. 

3.2.4.4 National Teacher Examination (NTE) 
Core Battery Communications Skills with a minimum score 
of 670 will be accepted as fulfillment of the PRAXIS I 
writing requirement.

3.2.5 Any Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) 
scores, Graduate Records Exam (GRE) scores or NTE 
Communication Skills scores intended to be used as an 
exemption for the PPST/PRAXIS I, shall be submitted 
within the same timeline as that required for PRAXIS I and 
scores must pre-date the employment date.

3.2.6 Timeline for Examination of General 
Knowledge.

3.2.6.1  An applicant for an initial license 
must pass the three PRAXIS I (PPST) tests in any format or 

an approved alternative within the period of time from the 
date of hire to the end of the next, consecutive fiscal year.  

[3.2.6.1.1 Evidence of passage of 
PRAXIS I within the time period of the suspension shall 
result in the reinstatement of the initial license.

3.2.6.1.[1 2] If proof of passage of 
PRAXIS I is not provided by the end of the next consecutive 
fiscal year, the initial license shall be suspended for a 
maximum of two years.

3.2.6.1.[2 3] Suspension.
3.2.6.1.[2 3]1 An applicant who 

does not pass PRAXIS I during the time period of the 
suspension, and whose initial license is expired, must 
reapply and may be issued an initial license, valid for three 
years, if he/she meets the requirements for initial licensure 
then in effect.

3.2.6.1.[2 3.]2Notwithstanding the 
foregoing, the superintendent of the employing school 
district or charter school or other employing authority may 
submit to the Secretary of Education a written request for a 
one-year extension.  The request must document the 
effectiveness of the applicant. 

3.2.6.1.[3 4.]Composite Score.
3.2.[56].1.[3 4.]1 Scores from either 

the paper and pencil PRAXIS I (PPST) test and/or from the 
computerized PRAXIS I (CPPST) test, begun in January, 
2002, both of which have a possible score range of 159 to 
190, may be used when applying the composite score 
provision.  Scores from the PRAXIS I computer based test 
(CBT), taken between November, 1993 and December 31, 
2001 may be used when applying the composite score 
provision, but may not be used in conjunction with the paper 
and pencil PRAXIS I test and/or with the computerized 
PRAXIS I (CPPST) test.

3.2.6.1.[34.].2 3.2.6.1.1 An applicant 
for an initial license who does not achieve a passing score on 
PRAXIS I, but whose score on PRAXIS I is within 2 points 
of the passing score on the reading, writing, or mathematics 
section of PRAXIS I may use a composite score to meet the 
requirements of passage.  Notwithstanding the use of a 
composite score, an applicant who seeks to teach in the 
secondary content areas of mathematics or English/language 
arts must meet the passing score in that content area.

3.2.[56].1.[34.].3Notwithstanding the 
use of a composite score, an applicant who seeks to teach in 
the secondary content area of mathematics must meet the 
current state passing score for the PRAXIS I mathematics 
test.  An applicant who seeks to teach in the secondary 
content area of English/language arts must meet the current 
state passing score for the PRAXIS I reading and writing 
tests.

3.2.6.2 An applicant in a vocational trade and 
industry area must pass PRAXIS I or an approved alternative 
within six (6) years of the date of employment or before the 
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expiration of the initial license, whichever is later.
3.2.7 There is no limit on the number of times 

an individual may take the PPST/PRAXIS I.  Once passed, a 
section need not be taken again.

3.2.7.1 Passing scores in each area (reading, 
writing, mathematics) may be attained in any testing format.    

3.2.8 Submission of Scores of Examination of 
General Knowledge.

3.2.8.1 Test scores shall be official and sent 
directly from Educational Testing Service or other test 
vendor to the Department.

3.2.8.2 Unopened, unaltered envelopes 
containing PPST/PRAXIS I scores, or scores of acceptable 
alternatives,  sent to the individual may be accepted as 
official. The Department shall determine whether the scores 
as presented are acceptable.

3.2.8.3 Direct verification from another State 
Department of Education shall be considered as official.  An 
original of the grade form shall be forwarded directly from 
the other State Department to the Department.  This method 
will be accepted only when official test scores from 
Educational Testing Service are not available.

[3.3 The Department shall not act on an application 
for licensure if the applicant is under official 
investigation by any state or local authority with the 
power to issue educator licenses or certifications, where 
the alleged conduct involves allegations of immorality, 
misconduct in office, incompetence, willful neglect of 
duty, disloyalty or falsification of credentials, until the 
applicant provides evidence of the investigation’s 
resolution.

3.3.1 “Immorality” means conduct which is 
inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality 
expected of an educator and may reasonably be found to 
impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her 
unfitness.]

3.[3 4] Trades and Industry Teacher Experience 
Requirements.

[3.4.1 3.3.1] A bachelor’s degree equivalent for a 
trades and industry teacher shall be two (2) years of college 
or technical training, plus six (6) years of trade experience. 
The requirement for two (2) years of college or technical 
training may be satisfied through the satisfactory completion 
of the requirements for any one or an appropriate 
combination of the following experiences in the area to be 
taught equaling:

[3.4.1.1 3.3.1.1]  An associate’s degree with a 
major in the specific occupational area to be taught; or

[3.4.1.2 3.3.1.2]  Two years of college 
majoring in the specific occupational area to be taught with 
at least 50% of the major courses required for a bachelor’s 
degree satisfactorily completed; or

[3.4.1.3 3.3.1.3]  A state-issued certificate 
indicating completion of apprenticeship hours and 

apprentice-related training (e.g. journey papers); or
[3.4.1.4 3.3.1.4]  Four years of sequential 

Delaware Trade Extension courses; or
[3.4.1.5 3.3.1.5]  Four years of National Center 

for Construction Education and Research’s Contren
documented training; or

[3.4.1.6 3.3.1.6]  Nine high school credits of 
career and technical high school training; or

[3.4.1.7 3.3.1.7] Passage of the State of 
Delaware Licensing test, offered through the Division of 
Professional Regulation; or

[3.4.1.8 3.3.1.8]  576 hours of military training; 
or

[3.4.1.9 3.3.1.9]  576 hours postsecondary 
trade school training; or

[3.4.1.10 3.3.1.10] Completing the written and 
performance teacher testing for the National Occupational 
Competency Testing Institute with a minimum score set by 
the Department; or

[3.4.1.11 3.3.1.11] DOE approved equivalents.

4.0 An initial license is valid for three (3) years, unless 
revoked, and may not be renewed.  Notwithstanding the 
foregoing, an initial license issued to an applicant in a 
vocational trade and industry area is valid for up to six (6) 
years to provide time for completion of specified college 
level course work required for certification.

4.1 An initial license issued to an applicant who is not 
currently employed by a school district, charter school, or 
other employing authority shall be inactive until such time as 
an applicant is employed by a public school district or 
charter school.  Once employed, the initial license shall be in 
effect for three (3) years from the date of hire until the last 
day of the month of issuance three (3) years later, except in 
the case of the vocational and trade industry areas which 
shall expire on the last day of the month of issuance six (6) 
years later.

4.2 During the term of the initial license, license 
holders are required to participate in mentoring and other 
prescribed professional development activities offered by the 
Department and by the school district or charter school or 
other employing authority in which they are employed.

5.0 Applicants with Foreign Credentials.
5.1 Applicants graduating from foreign institutions 

shall provide an analysis of the degree equivalency, along 
with all other required application materials, which shall be 
reviewed by the Department. 

6.0 The Department may extend an initial license for a 
period not to exceed one (1) year, exigent circumstances 
warranting the necessity of such extension.

6.1 A license holder whose license expires during the 
school year may have the initial license extended until the 
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last day of the fiscal year upon a request from the district 
superintendent, charter school administrator, or other 
employing authority.  This extension shall be considered an 
exigent circumstance[s] and shall not exceed one (1) year in 
length.

7.0 An educator may take a leave of absence of up to three 
(3) years with no effect upon the validity or expiration of the 
initial license.

8.0 An applicant shall disclose his or her criminal 
conviction history upon application for an initial license. 
Failure to disclose a criminal conviction history is grounds 
for denial or revocation of an initial license as specified in 14 
Del.C. §1219.

9.0  This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance 
of an initial license, except as specifically addressed herein. 

9.1 Educators whose applications for certification in 
Delaware were received prior to August 31, 2003,  and 
whose applications and credentials have been reviewed by 
the Department and resulted in the issuance of a prescription 
letter shall be required to meet the General Regulations for 
Certification of Professional Public School Personnel and 
the Specific Regulations as adopted for certification 
effective July 1, 1993. 

9.21 Educators employed on a Limited Standard 
Certificate or a Temporary Certificate issued prior to August 
31, 2003  shall continue on that certificate until the 
requirements specified are met or the certificate expires, 
whichever comes first.   In no case shall a Limited Standard 
or Temporary Certificate be valid after July 1, 2008.

10.0 The Secretary of Education may, at the request of 
the superintendent of a local school district or charter school 
administrator or other employing authority, review licensure 
credentials on an individual basis and grant a license to an 
applicant who otherwise does not meet the requirements for 
initial license, but whose effectiveness is documented by the 
local school district, charter school, or other employing 
authority.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE
RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,
Section 1101 (16 Del.C. §1101)

ORDER

Regulations For Training Of Paid Feeding Assistants

Nature of the Proceedings
The Department of Health and Social Services, Division 

of Long Term Care Residents Protection (DLTCRP) initiated 
proceedings in accordance with 29 Delaware Code, Chapter 
101 to adopt Regulations For Training of Paid Feeding 
Assistants.  These regulations supplement and implement the 
federal final rule on Requirements for Paid Feeding 
Assistants in Long Term Care Facilities published by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services in the Federal 
Register on September 26, 2003.

On January 1, 2004, the Department of Health and 
Social Services, Division of Long Term Care Residents 
Protection published proposed regulations in the Register of 
Regulations and received written and verbal comments at 
public hearings on February 3 and February 4, 2004.  Upon 
review of the comments received, DLTCRP has revised four 
sections of the regulations which will be the subject of a 
further public hearing.  The regulations being revised  and 
withheld from publication as final regulations are 73.201 and 
73.203A.  Additionally, new sentences have been added to 
73.104 and to the Introduction.  The revised proposed 
regulations and the hearing notice appear elsewhere in this 
edition of the Register.

The remaining proposed regulations are attached and 
are being promulgated as final regulations.  A discussion of 
the comments received which were not incorporated into the 
final regulations is in the accompanying Summary of 
Evidence.

Findings of Fact

The Department of Health and Social Services finds that 
the proposed regulations, as set forth in the attached copy, 
should be adopted as final regulations.  Therefore, it is 
ordered that the proposed Regulations For Training of Paid 
Feeding Assistants are adopted effective March 10, 2004. 

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary
Department of Health and Social Services, 2/13/04

Summary of Evidence

Comments on the proposed regulations have been 
received and evaluated as follows:

Two comments suggested the posting of names of all 
Feeding Assistants or of those Feeding Assistants hired 
solely for that purpose.  DLTCRP has followed the federal 
regulation which does not require posting the names of 
Feeding Assistants.  However, Section 73.204 of the 
regulations requires recordkeeping by the facility of those 
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Feeding Assistants hired solely to assist with nutrition and 
hydration and those Feeding Assistants who perform 
additional paid tasks in the facility.

DLTCRP received comments calling for the regulations 
to require that Feeding Assistants undergo criminal 
background checks.  Requirements for criminal background 
checks and Adult Abuse Registry checks for all facility staff 
are statutory.

A commenter proposed that the regulations include 
Feeding Assistant ratios.  The scope of responsibilities for a 
Feeding Assistant may range from simply cuing a group of 
residents who are able to eat independently to providing 
complete assistance to one resident who is unable to feed 
himself or herself at all.  Therefore, ratios are not 
appropriate.

One commenter noted that the regulations do not require 
continuing education for Feeding Assistants.  Current 
orientations and facility in-services should be sufficient to 
maintain competency given the limited scope of Feeding 
Assistants’ responsibilities.

One comment assumed that Feeding Assistants would 
be transporting residents and should be trained to do so.  The 
regulations specify that facilities shall ensure that Feeding 
Assistants are limited in the scope of their duties to 
providing nutrition and hydration unless they have been 
trained to provide other services.

A commenter suggested that approval for the use of 
Feeding Assistants by facilities should be deferred while a 
demonstration project is conducted for at least one year.  Full 
implementation of the use of Feeding Assistants now can 
have a positive impact on nutrition and hydration issues 
currently existing in some nursing homes.  Delaying full 
implementation could result in more negative outcomes in 
these areas.

A suggestion was received that clear outcome measures 
should be established for such quality of care indicators as 
malnutrition, dehydration, aspiration pneumonia and staffing 
levels.  All those outcome measures as well as many others 
are currently in place.

A comment suggested that Feeding Assistants be 
required to demonstrate competency by passing both a 
written and skills test.  Competency will be evaluated by 
facilities in programs approved individually by DLTCRP.

Another comment proposed that residents receive 
feeding assistance only in a facility’s dining room.  DLTCRP 
believes that such a limitation would deprive some residents 
from benefiting from a feeding assistance program.  For 
example, a resident who refuses to go to the dining room 
may be most in need of encouragement to eat through the 
social interaction and companionship offered by a Feeding 
Assistant.

A proposal urged that Feeding Assistants be prohibited 
in facilities with repeat or serious deficiencies.  It is unclear 
how residents will be helped through penalizing facilities 

with deficiencies by prohibiting them from using Feeding 
Assistants.  The intent of using Feeding Assistants is to 
augment existing staff and improve the services provided to 
residents.  Thus, the residents of a facility with deficiencies 
may benefit more than the residents of a facility without 
deficiencies from the additional services provided by 
Feeding Assistants.

One commenter suggested that enforcement remedies be 
evaluated if the use of feeding assistants results in 
deficiencies.  The evaluation of enforcement remedies takes 
place for all deficiencies.

Two commenters urged a requirement that Feeding 
Assistants wear badges or other identification.  That 
requirement for all facility employees is already in statute.

One comment pointed out that reassessment of residents 
is not mentioned in the Feeding Assistant regulations. 
Assessments and reassessments are detailed in other state 
and federal regulations.

One comment suggested a revision to clarify Section 
73.205.  The regulation is clear as written.

Another comment calls for orientation should a Feeding 
Assistant change to a different facility.  Orientation 
requirements are addressed in other currently existing 
regulations.

A comment point out that assistive devices are 
mentioned in the competencies, but not in the curriculum. 
The requirements for curriculum and competencies should 
be read together to summarize the knowledge and skills that 
Feeding Assistants are expected to acquire and demonstrate. 

73.0 Regulations for Training of Paid Feeding Assistants

Introduction

These regulations allow for the use of Paid Feeding 
Assistants, as single task workers, to provide feeding 
assistance in nursing facilities and assisted living facilities. 
To ensure consistency in the training of Feeding Assistants, 
the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection has 
developed minimum requirements for Feeding Assistant 
training programs.  Each Feeding Assistant training program 
shall be approved by the Division of Long Term Care 
Residents Protection.  The intent of these regulations is to 
provide more residents with help in eating and drinking, or 
encouraging the resident so that more of the meal is 
consumed, making mealtime a more pleasant experience, 
and potentially reducing the incidence of unplanned weight 
loss and dehydration.  The determination of which residents 
may receive assistance from a Feeding Assistant shall be 
based on the needs and potential risks to a resident as 
observed and documented in the resident’s plan of care and 
the comprehensive assessment of the resident’s functional 
capacity.
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Section 73.100 – Definitions
73.101 Division – The Division of Long Term Care 

Residents Protection.
73.102 Feeding Assistant – An unlicensed, uncertified 

person trained to assist residents with nutrition and hydration 
who has successfully completed an initial training program 
and has demonstrated competency.

73.103 Feeding Assistant Program - Policies and 
procedures established by a facility to provide supervision of 
Feeding Assistants, resident selection criteria, and 
implementation of Section 73.200 of these regulations.

73.104 Instructors – Registered nurses, advanced 
practice nurses, dietitians, speech pathologists, or a 
combination of such professionals, who train Feeding 
Assistants.

73.105 Resident – A person admitted to a nursing 
facility or assisted living facility licensed pursuant to 16 Del. 
C., Chapter 11.

73.106 Student – A person enrolled in an approved 
Feeding Assistant training program.

73.107 Supervision – Direct oversight by a registered 
nurse or licensed practical nurse who is in the unit or on the 
floor where feeding assistance is furnished.

73.108 Supervisory Nurse - The nurse who is 
responsible for a specific  area of a facility such as a floor or 
unit.

Section 73.200 – General Requirements
[73.201 Facilities implementing Feeding Assistant 

Programs shall have policies and procedures in place that 
include each item in Section 73.200.]

73.202 Facilities implementing Feeding Assistant 
Programs shall strictly limit the responsibilities of each 
Feeding Assistant.

A. The facility shall ensure that each Feeding 
Assistant performs only those duties for which he/she has 
been specifically trained.

B. The facility shall ensure that each Feeding 
Assistant seeks assistance from other members of the 
resident care team for all resident needs other than nutrition/
hydration.

73.203 Each Feeding Assistant employed by any 
facility either as facility or contract/agency staff shall be 
required to meet the following:

[A. Each unlicensed or uncertified individual 
who feeds and hydrates residents in a facility, with the 
exception of family members and volunteers, shall 
complete a Feeding Assistant training program approved 
by the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection.]

B. Feeding Assistants shall be required to 
successfully complete an approved Feeding Assistant 
training program before providing nutrition/hydration to 
residents.

C. A Feeding Assistant may provide nutrition/

hydration to a resident only under the supervision of a 
registered nurse or licensed practical nurse who is present in 
the unit or on the floor where the task is performed and is 
readily available to provide assistance to the Feeding 
Assistant when needed.

D. A Feeding Assistant may provide nutrition/
hydration only for those residents who have been assessed 
and approved by the supervisory nurse for such assistance. 
The resident assessment shall be based on the needs of, and 
potential risks to, the resident as observed and documented 
in the resident’s written plan of care and the latest 
comprehensive assessment of the resident’s functional 
capacity.

E. A Feeding Assistant shall not feed residents 
who are assessed to have complicated feeding problems such 
as recurrent lung aspirations, difficulty swallowing, feeding 
tubes, parenteral/IV feedings, chronic coughing or choking.

F. The supervisory nurse shall request a physician 
referral to a speech pathologist for an assessment of a 
resident served by a Feeding Assistant when indicated, e.g., 
when there has been a change in the resident’s swallowing 
ability.

73.204 Participating facilities shall maintain records 
regarding the following:

A. The names of Feeding Assistants hired solely 
to provide nutrition and hydration.

B. The names of Feeding Assistants performing 
additional paid tasks in the facility.

C. The names of residents served by the Feeding 
Assistants.

73.205 The facility shall have policies and procedures 
in place to assure that Feeding Assistants report and record 
appropriate observations made while providing nutrition and 
hydration to nursing staff.

73.206 The resident’s record shall have documentation 
that the resident may be fed by a Feeding Assistant. 
Examples of such documentation include care plans, 
minimum data sets, uniform assessment instruments and 
flow charts.

73.207 The facility shall maintain a list of facility staff 
qualified to train Feeding Assistants.

73.208 Feeding Assistants shall not be counted toward 
meeting any minimum staffing requirement.

Section 73.300 – Feeding Assistant Training Program 
Requirements

73.301 General Training Requirements
A. Each Feeding Assistant training program shall 

be approved by the Division.
B. To obtain approval, the curriculum content for 

the Feeding Assistant training programs shall meet each of 
the following requirements:

1. The program shall be a minimum of 12 
hours to include classroom instruction and demonstrated 
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competency.
2. Classroom instruction and demonstrated 

competency in each requirement shall be completed prior to 
students providing resident nutrition/hydration.  Programs 
shall maintain documentation of completion of 
requirements.

3. At the completion of training, each student 
who has satisfactorily completed a Feeding Assistant 
training program shall be provided with documentation of 
completion of a Delaware Feeding Assistant Program which 
shall be transferable among facilities with Feeding Assistant 
programs.

4. The instructor shall directly supervise 
students at all times while students are demonstrating 
competency.

5. Programs shall notify the Division in 
writing when changes to the program or the instructors are 
made.

73.302 Curriculum Content
A. Feeding Assistant Role and Function

1. On-the-job conduct, appearance, 
grooming, personal hygiene and ethical behavior.

2. Responsibilities and limitations of a 
Feeding Assistant.

(a) A Feeding Assistant shall perform 
only those duties for which he/she has been specifically 
trained.

(b) A Feeding Assistant shall seek 
assistance from other members of the resident care team for 
all resident needs other than nutrition/hydration. 

3. Reporting and documenting incidents.
4. Knowledge of the “chain of command” in 

the facility.
5. Importance of punctuality and 

commitment to the job.
B. Resident Rights

1. Providing dignity and maintaining 
confidentiality.

2. Promoting the resident’s right to make 
personal choices to accommodate individual needs.

3. Maintaining care and security of resident’s 
personal possessions.

4. Providing care which ensures that the 
resident is free from abuse, mistreatment, neglect or 
financial exploitation.

C. Psychosocial Factors
1. Verbal and non-verbal communication and 

interpersonal skills with residents, including those with 
dementia.

2. Religious, ethnic and personal food 
preferences.

D. Appropriate Responses to Resident Behaviors
1. Identifying behaviors which require 

assistance from professional staff.

2. Recognizing and reporting changes in 
residents that are inconsistent with their normal behavior.

3. Distinguishing between normal eating and 
drinking behaviors and those which need to be reported.   

E. Safety and Emergency Procedures
1. Recognizing emergencies which require 

assistance from other members of the resident care team.
2. Learning appropriate use of the resident 

call system.
3. Identifying when a resident is choking.
4. Learning how to perform the Heimlich 

maneuver.
F. Nutrition/Hydration

1. Understanding of therapeutic diets, 
supplements and dietary restrictions, including consistency 
restrictions.

2. Understanding of fluid needs and 
restrictions.

3. Understanding tips to encourage intake.
4. Understanding of food substitution policy.
5. Understanding use of special feeding 

devices, including use of straws when deemed appropriate 
and beneficial to a resident.

6. Understanding the components of a 
healthy diet.

7. Understanding factors that cause higher 
risk for nutrition and hydration problems.   

G. Infection Control
1. Knowledge of proper hand washing and 

hygiene.
2. Knowledge of disease transmission and 

infection prevention.
H. Monitoring and Reporting Intake

1. Fluids
(a) Identifying amounts consumed 

according to facility policy and procedures.
(b) Identifying items that are liquid or 

classified as liquid.
(c) Recording liquid intake accurately.

2. Foods
(a) Identifying percentage of food 

consumed according to facility policy and procedure.
(b) Recording amount eaten accurately.
(c) Reporting food-related resident 

problems.
73.303 Competencies

A. Feeding Techniques
1. Check resident’s identification and diet 

card to ensure that resident has received the correct tray.
2. Provide resident with napkin and clothing 

protector, as needed.
3. Describe selection and location of foods 

on tray.
4. Assist resident with food preparation, as 
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needed.
5. Observe to make sure each mouthful of 

food is swallowed before more is ingested.
6. Offer liquids at intervals with solid food.
7. Record food and fluid intake separately 

and accurately.
B. Social/Environmental Factors

1. Encourage resident to eat independently, if 
appropriate.

2. Provide cuing and prompting during meals 
as needed.

3. Make pleasant conversation, but refrain 
from asking questions while the resident has food in his/her 
mouth or asking questions that require lengthy answers.

4. Never rush the resident while feeding.
5. Sit next to the resident to convey an 

unhurried feeling.
6. Keep the resident focused on eating. 

Avoid distractions.    
7. Be aware of infection control techniques, 

including avoidance of blowing on hot food and sharing or 
sampling resident’s meal.

C. Special Needs
1. Use hand on hand to assist resident, as 

needed.
2. Help resident to grasp eating utensils and 

beverage containers.
3. Help resident with assistive devices such 

as plate guards and adaptive eating utensils.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,

Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

ORDER

Nature Of The Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / 
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend 
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates 
to the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
Program.  The Department’s proceedings to amend its 
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code 
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed 
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the January 2004 Delaware Register of 
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions 
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be 

produced by January 31, 2004 at which time the Department 
would receive information, factual evidence and public 
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

• Revised definition of unemployable so that DSS 
can count nursing assistant type duties without pay 
as work.

• Added vocational rehabilitation, nursing assistant 
type duties without pay, and, generic language that 
will permit Bridge Program as work activities.

• Revised TANF supportive services section to reflect 
that DSS contracted vendors now handles this func-
tion.

• Corrected manual language so that the third (3rd) 
sanction for school attendance is not permanent but 
curable.

• Corrected discrepancy in the manual on how to 
determine assistance groups and budget groups for 
needy non-relative adults who are caring for a 
minor child.

• Added clarifying language in the Diversion Assis-
tance policy that will assist staff in making determi-
nations.

• Added language to reflect that the Division of Child 
Support Enforcement (DCSE) cannot accept child 
support payments unless DCSE has a Delaware 
order in place.

Summary Of Comments Received With Agency 
Response

The Delaware Developmental Disabilities Council 
(DDDC), the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional 
Citizens (GACEC), and the State Council for Persons with 
Disabilities (SCPD) provided the following observations 
summarized below:

First, DSS is eliminating from the definition of 
“unemployable” persons those “caring for a disabled family 
member”.  This deletion is a major amendment and no 
rationale is provided.

Agency Response: In regards to caring for a disabled 
family member, DSS is going to count caring for a disabled 
family member as an allowable work activity. This change 
credits the person and will not result in putting any undo 
requirements on that person. People caring for a disabled 
family member WOULD NOT be required to do anything 
different. This change is in recognition that what they are 
doing is working.

Second, the interpreter provisions do not explicitly 
address interpreters for the Deaf.  Such assistance should be 
available.
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Agency Response: DSSM 1010 already addresses 
services for the hearing impaired or deaf. Those services 
have not changed. DSSM 1009 just updates the service 
providers by adding another provider.  This policy manual 
revision adds more services.

Third, DSS guarantees child care for children under 13 
or 13 + who are physically or mentally incapable of caring 
for themselves.  See §3007.1. It is a form of support service 
within the purview of §3007.  This section could be 
improved by clarifying types of other support services that 
might be available for such children particularly since DSS 
is eliminating caretaker assistance for children with 
disabilities as a justification for not working.

Agency Response: DSS will consider the suggestion. 
Currently, home health services and private duty services are 
specifically covered under other DSS programs and are not 
part of the supportive services outlined in DSSM 3007.  

Fourth, the “diversion assistance” provision is 
interesting. It contemplates purchase of vehicles for TANF 
beneficiaries, vehicle repairs, insurance, gas, etc.  This 
concept is strongly endorsed by our Council.  There is an 
expectation of partnering with DVR, particularly in the 
context of vehicle modification.  However, the language 
(§3032.1.3D) is somewhat confusing.  Additionally, we 
suggest the following numbers be added to contact for 
further information:  the main number for the Division of 
Vocational Rehabilitation (DVR) as well as the Division of 
Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities 
(DSAAPD).  Finally, there is a “typo” in the fourth sentence 
(“we” is not capitalized).

Agency Response: DSS thanks you for your 
endorsement.  Additionally, DSS staff already has the main 
telephone numbers for DVR and DSAAPD. DSS partners 
with DVR regularly but DVR staff may not know about the 
specific program which relates to the diversion program. 
DSS will review the language of DSSM 3032.1.1 D to 
ensure its clarity. The “typo” has been corrected.

Findings Of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set 
forth in the January 2004 Register of Regulations should be 
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) as it relates to the Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families (TANF) Program is adopted and shall be final 
effective March 10, 2004.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 2/13/04

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #03-42
REVISIONS:

1009 Procedures for Serving Non-English Speaking 
Clients

Non-English speaking clients who need an interpreter 
will be identified by the receptionist at the time of arrival. 
The receptionist will notify the unit supervisor who will 
make arrangements for a bilingual staff person or contracted 
vendor to translate for the client.

DSS has contracts for translation services with the 
following:

• EDS (1-800-996-9969 and press Option 8),
• Family and Children Services of Delaware, Inc. 

(655-6486),
• Cammie Santiago-Hall (410-548-4740 or 

HARBORRD@aol.com), 
• Latin American Community Center (655-7338); 

and 
• Para-Plus Translations, Inc. (1-800-558-3011).

For complete detailed procedures in accessing these 
services read the most recent administrative notice on 
translation services.

3001 Definitions
J. PAY AFTER PERFORMANCE - A work 

experience program is required for families with employable 
adults where the adult has either not found employment or 
have lost a job.  Families who were continuously on TANF 
prior to 01/01/2000 will have 24 months before being 
required to enter into this program.  Families applying or 
reapplying on/or after 01/01/2000 will immediately enter 
this program.  Participants will work to earn TANF benefits. 

M. UNEMPLOYABLE - the inability to engage in 
activities necessary to work for  at least the minimum wage; 
the person is prohibited either because s/he is caring for a 
disabled family member or s/he is physically or mentally 
disabled.  The disabled family member can either be living 
in the home or outside of the home but must be within the 
5th degree of relationship to the adult caring for him or her. 
An unemployable individual cannot participate in 
employment or activities necessary to seek and obtain 
employment, e.g., job search, job training, job readiness, etc.  

The determination and duration of unemployability are 
made by a health care professional (e.g., doctor, nurse, nurse 
practitioner, therapist, etc.).  Periods of unemployability are 
not counted toward the cumulative months of benefit 
eligibility under the time-limited program.

3006.3 TANF Employment and Training Activities
The Division of Social Services, in conjunction with the 

Delaware Department of Labor and the Delaware Economic 
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Development Office, has developed employment and 
training programs to move TANF clients to economic 
independence self-sufficiency.  These agencies will conduct 
initial and ongoing assessments of client employability and 
appropriateness of employment and training related 
activities. For individuals deemed unable to work because s/
he is physically or mentally disabled a referral is to be made 
to the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation. Use Form 134.

The Division will establish agreements with the 
Delaware Department of Labor and the Delaware Economic 
Development Office to employment and training activities.

The goal is to place the adult recipient in an 
unsubsidized job in as timely a manner as possible.  The 
Department of Labor will have the option of recycling 
through job search those adult recipients who are 
unsuccessful in finding work, and/or placing the adult 
recipient in an alternative work experience, OJT, 
remediation, or a skills training program.  Also, both the 
Division and the Department of Labor are jointly responsible 
for the development of an Employability Development Plan.

Although the Department of Labor assumes primary 
responsibility for assigning adult recipients to employment-
related activities for this age group, the Division retains 
responsibility for supportive services, sanctions, federal 
reporting and other TANF requirements.

3006.4 TANF Employment and Training Activities 
Which Constitute Participation Under TANF

The following are employment-related activities 
counting as participation:

• Education, training and job search activities. with 
the types and length of education, training and job 
search determined on an individual basis depending 
on age and other relevant factors; The Eligibility 
eligibility will be determined by the employment 
contractors.

• Pay-after-performance work experience, with the 
hours determined by dividing the benefits by the 
minimum wage, plus up to 10 hours of job search 
weekly;

• Regular school attendance or appropriate 
alternative activity (e.g. training or employment) 
for dependent children and minor parents;

• Job search may be required for applicants and 
recipients.

• Vocational Rehabilitation program for eligible 
recipients.

• Nursing or nursing assistant activities performed 
without pay are considered work experience.

• Other work-related activities that assist in obtaining 
or maintaining employment or improving work 
performance.

3007 TANF Supportive Services and Transitional 
Benefits

The Division will ensure that Supportive Services, such 
as child care, transportation as required to participate in 
employment and training activities, and assistance with other 
work-related expenses (as defined in the State Supportive 
Services Plan) are available.  The Division will ensure the 
availability of these services, to the extent it determines they 
are necessary for a recipient to participate.  The Division will 
provide child care in accordance with its Child Care policy 
as outlined in Section 11000.

Currently child care is provided in accordance with 
child care policy in DSSM 11000. All other supportive 
services are included and provided by the vendors as 
specified in the employment contracts.

TANF pays a Support services are based on the actual 
cost of services.  The limit is imposed when the cost exceeds 
the maximum allowed.  Participants are not automatically 
entitled to the maximum cost.  Support services are paid or 
reimbursed to the participant based on the verified actual 
amount and the participant's need.

3007.1 Child Care
The State IV-A agency must guarantee child care for a 

dependent child(ren) who resides in the home and who is:

• under 13, 
• or children 13 or and older who is are physically or 

mentally handicapped incapable of caring for 
themselves, or under court order requiring adult 
supervision 

• or active with the Division of Family services. 
and for A child who would be a dependent child except 

for the receipt of benefits under SSI or foster care payments 
can receive child care, to the extent that such child care is 
necessary to permit an a TANF eligible family member to:

A. accept employment or remain employed; or
B. participates in an approved TANF Employment and 

Training education or training activity (including self-
initiated education or training). participate in an approved 
education or training activity under First Step - TANF 
(including self-initiated education or training). 

Payment may be made or continued when the 
participant is waiting for entry into employment on an 
approved education training, or First Step - TANF 
components for: to begin an approved TANF Employment 
and Training component for:  for entry into employment on 
an approved education training, or First Step - TANF 
components for:

A. up to two weeks; or
B. up to 30 days if it is verified that the child care 

arrangement would be lost if payment is not made or 
continued.
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NOTE:  Refer to the Child Care Subsidy Manual 11000 for 
further information.

3007.2 Fees
Fees include purchase of either certificates, licenses or 

testing needed for education or to obtain employment, such 
as Commercial Divers License (CDL) or license for nursing 
assistants, and GED test fees.

A. Basis For Determining Need:  Evaluate each 
education testing or licensing request on an individual basis. 
Give consideration for jobs where such licenses are 
necessary for employment or to obtain such employment. 
Education testing includes GED test fees.

B. Monetary Limit of Service / Expense:  Verified 
actual cost up to $200.00 per individual for licensing and/or 
testing per occurrence as determined by need.

3007.3 CWEP Payments
A. CWEP payments include reimbursement to the 

participant or vendor payment to the provider for the 
following costs:  purchase of lunch, personal grooming aids, 
clothing, and transportation.

CWEP payments include reimbursement for purchase of 
lunch, as well as needed personal grooming aids, in order to 
enhance participation in CWEP.  In addition, payments can 
be made to help CWEP participants purchase clothes for 
wear at their community placement sites.  

CWEP activity involves real job situations in a general 
office environment.  For this reason, it is important for 
participants to look and dress appropriately.  Looking and 
dressing well also adds to feelings of self-worth and can lead 
to a positive attitude toward work.  Payments for lunches, 
grooming aids and clothing help to support CWEP 
participants in the performance of their CWEP activities and 
creates a beneficial atmosphere for CWEP participation.

CWEP payments may also include transportation 
expenses.  These costs are paid above and beyond the lunch 
and grooming payments.

A. Basis for Determining Need:  A participant’s ability 
to afford this expense.

B. Monetary Limit of Service / Expense:  
1. Verified actual cost up to $4.00 per day per 

participant up to $92.00 per month as determined by need, 
for lunch and grooming aids.  Need is determined by actual 
attendance at the CWEP site.  Verify attendance by receipt of 
the attendance sheet completed by the CWEP agency and 
signed by the participant.

2. Verified actual cost up to $150.00 per 
participant as determined by need, for clothing voucher. 
This service may be paid one time only.   

3. Provide bus tokens to cover the expense of 
public transportation and to reimburse for participant 
mileage at $.20 per mile for participants not served by public 
transportation.  The transportation limitation is $200 per 

month, per individual. 

PROCEDURE:  CWEP Check Stop Payments:  Use the 
following procedures to place a stop-payment on a CWEP 
check that is reported by a participant as lost, stolen, or not 
received at least five days after the mailing date:

A. Have the participant sign the Affidavit of Forgery 
and Request for Replacement of Lost Check or ATP (Form 
124) indicating that the CWEP check was not received, or 
was lost or stolen.

B. Complete the Stop Payment or Rescind Payment 
(Form 230) requesting a stop payment on the CWEP check.

C. Forward Form 230 and Form 124 to the Division of 
Management Services.

D. Division of Management Services will mail a 
replacement check to the recipient four working days after 
the receipt of the affidavit.  

B. CWEP Over-Payments
When it is determined that a participant receiving 

CWEP supportive services was actually ineligible for the 
service and thus an over-payment took place, forward all 
pertinent information to the Welfare Fraud Unit.  Complete a 
Notice of Overpayment (Form 940).  

NOTE:  Refer to DSSM 7001, 7003 to 7009 for procedures 
in such cases.

3007.4 Accessories For Work Or Training
These services include purchase of either safety 

equipment, uniforms, shoes, or tools required to participate 
in training or work.

A. Basis for Determining Need:  Evaluate each request 
on an individual basis.  Give consideration for jobs where 
such safety equipment or tools are required by Office of 
Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) regulations.

B. Monetary Limit of Service / Expense:  Verified 
actual cost up to $100.00 per individual, per month as 
determined by need.

3007.5 Remedial Medical
A. Physical Exam

1. Basis for Determining Need: When a 
participant is required to undergo a physical exam to 
participate in training or accept employment and such exam 
is not available through a public health facility or covered by 
Medicaid.

2. Monetary Limit of Service / Expense:  Verified 
actual cost up to $100.00 per individual, per month as 
determined by need.

 B. Dental Services
1. Basis for Determining Need: When a 

participant's dental condition poses a significant barrier to 
employment.

2. Monetary Limit of Service / Expense:  Verified 
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actual cost up to $400.00 per individual, per month as 
determined by need.

 C. Eye exams and eyeglasses
1. Basis for Determining Need:  When the 

Assessment indicates the individual's vision is impaired, or 
when the individual indicates difficulty in seeing, or when 
the individual needs glasses to continue in a component or 
job.

2. Monetary Limit of Service / Expense:  Verified 
actual cost up to $200.00 per individual, per month as 
determined by need.

D. Transportation
Provide bus tokens to cover expense of public 

transportation and to reimburse for participant mileage at 
$.20 / mile for participants not served by public 
transportation.

1. Basis for determining need:  Participant must 
live at least 10 blocks from services provided.

2. Monetary limit of Service / Expense:  Verified 
actual cost up to $200.00 monthly per individual, as 
determined by need.

3011.1 Employment and Training Requirements
Clients must keep appointments with employment and 

training staff, cooperate in the development of the 
Employability Plan, and participate in employment and 
training activities.

Clients who have secured employment are expected to 
continue employment unless they have good cause for 
terminating a job (see Good Cause definition under 3001 
Definitions)

Parents are expected to cooperate with school officials 
and other service providers in helping their child(ren) 
maintain satisfactory attendance.  Penalties can be imposed 
if parents do not cooperate.  Since parents with children 
under age 16 are expected to exert more influence over their 
children, and since early school attendance is so important in 
moving children down the path to self-sufficiency, this 
requirement is grouped with employment and training and 
work requirements as part of the overall self-sufficiency 
requirements, which invoke harsher penalties for 
noncompliance.  (See section DSSM 3012 for requirements 
and sanctions related to cooperation to ensure school 
attendance by children over the age of 16). A third non-
compliance will not result in a permanent but a curable 
penalty of loss of cash benefits. See DSSM 3011.2.

3011.2 Sanctions for Failing to Comply With 
Requirements

Self-sufficiency requirements include those related to 
employment and training, work, and cooperation with 
officials to ensure satisfactory school attendance by 
dependents under age 16.

The fiscal sanction for failure without good cause to 

meet school attendance requirements for a child under 16, 
are the same as for other self-sufficiency requirements.  This 
includes teen parents who are dependent children.

The penalty for noncompliance with any of the self-
sufficiency requirements will be: 

a) for the first offense, a 1/3 reduction in TANF
b) for the second offense, a 2/3 reduction in 

TANF
c) for the third offense, a loss of all cash benefits.

The duration of the first and second sanctions will each 
be two months or until the person complies, whichever is 
shorter.  If, after one month, the person has not complied, 
DSS will schedule an interview to explain again the 
participation requirements.  If at the end of the two month 
period there is no demonstrated compliance, the sanction 
will increase to the next level.  If the penalty is related to 
work non-compliance then the third penalty is permanent 
loss of benefits, unless the adult is deemed unemployable. 
Then the case may be reopened for the length of time that the 
adult is not able to work. If there is a third penalty and it is 
related to school attendance, it can be cured by the adult 
caretaker cooperating with school officials to remedy the 
situation.

The penalty for individuals who quit their jobs without 
good cause, but who comply with subsequent job search 
requirements, will be:

a) for a first offense, a 1/3 reduction in TANF, to 
be imposed for a period of two months or until the individual 
obtains a job of equal or higher pay.   

b) for a second offense, a 2/3 reduction in TANF, 
to be imposed for a period of two months or until the 
individual obtains a job of equal or higher pay.

c) for a third offense, a permanent loss of all cash 
benefits.

The penalty for individuals who quit their jobs without 
good cause and do not comply with subsequent job search 
requirements will be loss of all cash benefits for two months 
or until the individual obtains a job of equal or higher pay.

3021 Unrelated Children
A needy child (one whose income is less than the GA 

Standard of Need), who lives with an unrelated adult 
caretaker, is technically eligible for General Assistance.  The 
caretaker is payee for the child's grant and may be included 
in the GA budget group unit if he/she is also needy and 
meets at least one of the conditions specified in DSSM 3019.

In such cases, DSS will document the child's presence in 
the home and the reason that the child is not living with his/
her parents.  The possibility of financial support from the 
parents is also investigated.

In all such cases, the DFS will be notified of the child's 
placement so a study of the home can be made.
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3028 Assistance Units

3028.1 Mandatory Composition of Assistance Units

EXAMPLE:   In GA, establish a separate assistance unit 
for an unrelated child and the adult caretaker who is also 
eligible to receive GA on their own.  For instance, the 
adult caretaker is age 55 or older. is needed in the home 
to care for an unrelated child under age six.  There is no 
other person able to care for the child.  Establish two 
separate GA assistance units; one for the caretaker and 
one for the child. They may be in separate budget 
groups. (See DSSM 4001)

3028.2 Optional Composition of Assistance Units
3. In TANF married or unmarried couple cases where 

each adult has children from previous relationships who are 
eligible for TANF, they have the option of being in one 
assistance unit or two separate assistance units.  If the unit 
fails financially, a separate assistance unit may be 
established for the child(ren) of the previous relationships.

EXAMPLE:  A couple each have a child from previous 
relationships.  Initially, we place all the family members 
into one TANF assistance unit.  Income from the male 
partner’s job makes the family ineligible for TANF.  We 
have the option of placing the female partner and her 
child from a previous relationship into a TANF 
assistance unit.  In this scenario, if the couple were 
married, a step-parent situation would exist.  If the 
couple were not married, eligibility is based solely on 
the information from the female partner and her child.

8. For children eligible for GA who are living with a 
non-relative caretaker, include the child.  The caretaker may 
also be included if the child is under six and the caretaker is 
needy.

EXAMPLE:   In GA, establish a separate assistance unit 
for an unrelated child and the adult caretaker who is also 
eligible to receive GA because, the adult caretaker is 
needed in the home to care for an unrelated child under 
age six and there is no other person able to care for the 
child.  Establish two separate GA assistance units; one 
for the caretaker and one for the child but keep one 
budget group. (See DSSM 4001)

3032 Diversion Assistance

3032.1.3 Items/Services Covered:
A. The Diversion Assistance payment may be used for 

items and/or services such as but not limited to:

• Transportation (such as vehicle repairs, tires, 

insurance, driver’s license fee, gas, etc.),
• Clothing such as uniforms or other specialized 

clothing and footwear or other employment-related 
apparel,

• Tools and equipment,
• Medical expenses not covered by Medicaid (for 

example, eye glasses),
• Union dues, special fees, licenses or certificates,
• Up-front costs of employment such as agency fees 

and testing fees,
• Unpaid child care expenses which, if they remain 

unpaid, preclude the provision of future child care,
• Relocation expenses for verified employment in 

another county or state.  These expenses may 
include:

• Moving equipment rental, gas, and lodging for the 
days of the move, the first month’s rent, rental and 
utility deposit.

B. If transportation is the issue an expectation is that 
there is a discussion with the person regarding the cost 
effectiveness of repairing a vehicle versus purchasing a used 
vehicle or a new vehicle. We can authorize diversion 
assistance to be used as a down payment for purchasing a 
vehicle.

C. If the diversion assistance payment is requested for 
the down payment on a vehicle several things must be 
considered in determining if it is approved. DSS will need to 
determine if the family’s income will be enough to meet the 
regular household expenses such as rent, utilities, and food, 
as well as the costs involved with owning and maintaining a 
vehicle. The costs of owning the vehicle include gas to fuel 
the vehicle, monthly payments, vehicle insurance, and 
maintenance. Consider that fuel costs can vary based on the 
price of gas and the amount needed to drive to and from 
work and other daily life activities when the customer and 
DSS determines the potential monthly expense.

D. The Division of Vocational Rehabilitation has an 
Independent Living Program that will assist with home 
modifications and vehicle modifications. They will not 
purchase the vehicle. The only requirement is that they are 
disabled.  They operate on a first come first serve basis and 
maintain a waiting list. If an individual has another agency to 
assist in the cost sharing they do get served more quickly. If 
we assisted in the purchase of the vehicle they would 
consider this a cost share.  we would see if we could have the 
customer purchase an unmodified vehicle and then have 
DVR help with the modification. Then compare the DVR 
estimate in determining if the person could still accept or 
retain the employment with the expected wait for the 
modification. Call 302-378-5779, if you have a situation for 
which this program may be beneficial. 

Use the following guide to determine if the purchase 
request is fiscally sound and can be reasonably afforded. 
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1. Monthly Take Home Pay: $________
2a. Basic Living Expenses:

Mortgage or Rent    $______
Utilities _______
Food _______
Clothing _______
Home/Renter Insurance _______
Medical Expense _______
Vehicle Maintenance _______
Vehicle Insurance _______
Gas for Vehicle _______
School Supplies _______
Household Expenses _______
Dependent Care Expenses _______
Other Regular Expenses _______

2b. Total Basic Expenses _______ ________
(copy total into second column)

3. Subtract line 2b from line 1 ________
(take home pay minus basic
expenses)

4. Divide the amount in line 3 by 3
(money left after basic living
expenses ÷3) ___________

• Monthly take home pay is the after-tax net income 
received.

• School supplies include the following:  pens, 
pencils, notebooks, field trips.

• Household expenses include, but are not limited to, 
the following: cleaning supplies, furniture, laundry 
cost, napkins, and tissues.

• Utilities include the following expenses:  gas and /
or electric, heating and cooling, sewer, water, trash 
disposal and telephone. 

• Dependent care expenses are monthly costs for 
child care, after school care, or adult care.  

• Other regular expenses includes all other items for 
which a regular monthly payment is made such as 
other credit card purchases, personal entertainment, 
newspaper delivery or cellular telephone charges.

The money in line 4 is how much can be safely spent on 
monthly payments each month. This guide is to be used 
anytime when the diversion request will result in the person 
making monthly payments to complete the purchase.

The Delaware Money School considers the following 
good money management. Spending from housing costs are 
@40%, utilities are @10%, Food and other grocery items are 
@15%, travel and transportation costs are @15%, savings 
should be @10% and miscellaneous costs of clothing, 
medical, cleaning and bath supplies etc. to be @10% of the 
take home pay.   

NOTE:
It is not for DSS to provide a down payment on 

luxury class new vehicles when other suitable less expensive 
and reliable vehicles for purchase are available. For instance, 
assuming that a specially equipped vehicle is not needed and 
the number of family members can be seated properly in the 
average vehicle, a request for a down payment on a new
$30,000 Lexus is to be denied since there are many new 
vehicles that would fit the needs of the requestor and provide 
reliable transportation for much less that amount.  That said, 
DSS will not set a monetary value on the vehicle to be 
purchased due to needs such as large family size or 
medically necessary specially equipped vehicles that will 
increase the cost of a vehicle. If all other eligibility and cost 
consideration factors are met and using the guide above the 
family can afford a $20,000 Toyota, diversion assistance can 
be approved if all that is needed is money for a down 
payment.

Documentation Required:
The payment document can be in the form of an invoice, 

bill, or cost estimate.  It needs to be on the vendor’s 
letterhead.  All payment documents must include the name, 
address, and telephone number of the vendor and an original 
"live" signature.  This information is necessary to ensure that 
proper fiscal accountability procedures are followed.

For automobile purchases or down payments the 
amount of purchase, year, make, model, and vehicle 
identification number (VIN) must be included on the 
payment document.

A check is issued to the vendor only.  Make sure the 
customer name, customer address, MCI number, time period, 
the specific needs of the family, and the vendor's name and 
address are sent with the written estimate(s).  The unit 
supervisor will then approve the diversion payment.  The 
supervisor will sign the approval form.  Keep a copy of the 
form for the file.  Forward the information to the DSS Fiscal 
Office.  The information will be then added to a database that 
will keep track of all diversion payments made.  Staff will 
need to screen families through this database to make certain 
a person has not received Diversion Assistance during a time 
period that makes a family ineligible for it again or 
Delaware's TANF program.  

The mailing address of the DSS Fiscal Office is:
Division of Social Services 
Fiscal Office:  Attention Diversion Assistance
Herman Holloway Sr. DHSS Campus
1901 N. DuPont Highway - Lewis Building
New Castle, DE 19720
H150

DSS doesn’t make any claims as to the quality of service 
provided, work performed, or goods delivered. It is up to the 
diversion assistance requestor to seek remedy if the quality 
or performance is substandard. If the service provided, work 
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performed, or goods delivered is of substandard quality, 
DSS will make attempts to stop payment on checks written, 
when able, and will provide copies of canceled checks to 
verify payment was made to the vendor in question if 
needed. It is up to the diversion assistance recipient to verify 
the quality was substandard. Diversion assistance will not be 
re-approved in a case in which the vendor has cashed the 
check unless good cause is claimed, the person verifies that 
they are taking legal means to have the situation rectified, 
and the request is approved by the Chief of Operations.

4001 Family Budget Group
4. A needy caretaker caring for an unrelated child 

under the age of six (6) who is needed in the home to care for 
the child because no one else is available can receive 
General Assistance (GA) for him/her self and the child in 
two assistance units but one budget group.  SEE DSSM 
3028.

5. A caretaker caring for an unrelated child may be 
able to receive GA for the child in one assistance unit while 
receiving GA for him/her self  as well, in a separate 
assistance unit as long as one condition in DSSM 3019, other 
than #4 is met. They would be in two separate budget 
groups.

4001.1 Examples to illustrate rules regarding budget 
groups.

5. Mr. Smith is caring for a three year old child for 
whom he is not related. Mr. Smith is needy. Someone is 
needed in the home to care for the child but there is no one 
else available. 

Mr. Smith and the child could each receive GA in 
separate assistance units. They would be in one budget group 
capped by the GA size for two (2) people.  

6. Mrs. Robinson is caring for a child for whom she is 
not related. Mrs. Robinson is fifty-five (55) years of age. 

Mrs. Robinson and the child could each receive GA 
in separate assistance units. They would be two (2) separate 
budget groups.  

NOTE: When income is included in any of the above 
situations, it is possible that some of the recipients would be 
denied by maintaining separate budget groups, but all 
recipients could remain eligible if the groups are combined. 
In those situations the budget groups can be combined if the 
caretaker so chooses.

4005.1 Child Support Payments – TANF
In the TANF Program, the first $50.00 of child support 

received in a month is disregarded in determining financiall 
eligibility.  Child support in excess of $50.00 is counted as 
unearned income.  If a unit is determined financially eligible, 
child support is disregarded in determining the amount of the 
grant.

For active cases, child support is collected and retained 
by the Division of Child Support Enforcement.  The first 
$50.00 of child support that is collected each month by 
DCSE is paid to the TANF payee as a bonus check.  If the 
amount of support collected is less that $50.00, the bonus 
check will equal the amount collected.

Pass-through/Disregard Bonus checks are paid the 
month following the month that the DCSE collects support. 
They are disregarded in determining TANF financial 
eligibility and grant amounts; however, they are counted as 
unearned income in the Food Stamp Program.

In the month of application if support is received prior 
to approval of a TANF grant, the support received minus the 
$50.00 child support disregard is budgeted as unearned 
income.  Support received after approval of the grant is 
subject to collection by the DCSE. DCSE cannot accept 
child support payments unless a Delaware support order is in 
place. Therefore, we should count the child support money 
received by the recipient prior to a support order in place as 
unearned income until such time as DCSE has a support 
order in place and can accept the payments.  

EXAMPLE:A woman applies for TANF for herself and 
her children on 2/15.  She reports that she received a 
$100.00 support payment on 2/10 and expects to receive 
an additional $100.00 on 2/24.  She is found eligible for 
TANF on 2/15.  In February, $50.00 of child support is 
included in the TANF budget as unearned income. 
($100.00 received prior to approval of the grant - $50.00 
disregard = $50.00 budgetable.)  The recipient will 
receive a $50.00 bonus check in March based on the 
$100.00 payment collected by the DCSE on 2/24.

7002.1 Cash Assistance Overpayments

F. Exceptions To Repayment To DSS
For cases where TANF recipients retain child support 

payments assigned to the State, and DCSE has established a 
support order, the DCSE will file a claim, obtain a debt 
acknowledgment, and establish a repayment agreement with 
the indebted recipient.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 

Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

ORDER

Nature Of The Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / 
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Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend 
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates 
to the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
State Plan as it relates to services to move families to work. 
The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were 
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and 
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed 
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the January 2004 Delaware Register of 
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions 
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be 
produced by January 31, 2004 at which time the Department 
would receive information, factual evidence and public 
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

No comments were received during the public comment 
period.

Summary Of Proposed Change

Adds activities that assist in obtaining or maintaining 
employment or improve work performance as a work-related 
activity.

Findings Of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set 
forth in the January 2004 Register of Regulations should be 
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
regulation to amend the Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families (TANF) State Plan as it relates to services to move 
families to work is adopted and shall be final effective 
March 10, 2004.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, 2/13/04 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #04-04

REVISION:

Services to Move Families to Work

Delaware's goal is to place the adult recipient in 
unsubsidized employment as quickly as possible.  To 
accomplish this goal, the current menu of services includes:

• Work readiness/Life skills 
• Job search/Job placement
• Job retention
• Work Experience/OJT
• Education, including vocational education, as 

described in SB 101, effective July 2, 1999
• Provide financial management training.

• Work-related activities that assist in obtaining or 
maintaining employment or improve work perfor-
mance.

Non-exempt TANF participants will participate in the 
job search program, consisting of job readiness classes and 
supervised job search activity.  Unsuccessful job search 
participants can be placed in another job search sequence or 
another work-related activity such as an alternative work 
experience, OJT, remediation or a skills training program.

Clients must keep appointments with Employment and 
Training staff, cooperate in the development of the 
employment activities included in their Contract of Mutual 
Responsibility, and participate in employment and training 
activities.  The penalty for non-compliance with any of the 
above client responsibilities will be subject to sanctions as 
described in “Sanctions:  Failure to Comply with the 
Contract and Imposition of Sanctions” on page 29.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
7 Delaware Code, Chapter 79 (7 Del.C. Ch. 79)

Secretary’s Order No.:  2004-A-0004

Chronic Violator Regulation 

I. Background

The proposed Chronic Violator Regulation was 
developed by the Chronic Violator Regulatory Development 
Committee.  The Committee was created by Senate 
Substitute No. 1 for Senate Bill 33 as amended by Senate 
Amendment No. 2 in the 141st General Assembly.  The bill’s 
statutory provisions are found in 7 Del.C. §§7904 and 7906. 
The proposed regulation defines criteria and establishes a 
process for determining when a facility or regulated party 
should be declared a chronic violator by virtue of its inability 
to maintain compliance with Delaware’s permits, laws or 
regulations.

The Committee was charged with developing the draft 
regulation, which was completed in June 2002.  Since that 
time, the regulation has gone through public notice in the 
State Register of Regulations, a public workshop and public 
hearing.  The Register Notice was published in the February 
1, 2003 publication of the Delaware Register of Regulations. 
The public workshop was held on March 11, 2003 and the 
public hearing was held on Wednesday, March 19, 2003. 
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The public hearing deadline for submitting comments on the 
proposed regulation was Wednesday, March 26, 2003.

On May 1, 2003, the Committee was reconvened at the 
request of the Secretary in order to address, collectively as a 
committee, comments received at the public hearing.  7 
Del.C. § 7904(a) states that:  “[t]he Secretary, in conjunction 
with a committee of stakeholders….shall define criteria and 
establish a process for determining when a facility or 
regulated party should be declared a chronic violator…” 
(emphasis added).  In order to fulfill this statutory 
requirement, the Secretary asked for the Committee’s 
assistance in addressing the public comments received.  At 
the May 1, 2003 Committee Meeting, a motion was made 
and a vote was taken to not address all public comments 
individually.

There were enough favorable votes to sustain the 
motion, therefore the Committee voted not to address public 
comments.  The majority of the Committee members present 
felt that the regulation should go forward as written, and that 
the proposed regulation carefully considered and balanced 
all stakeholders’ interests.  Even so, the Committee was 
unable to reach a favorable vote for further action.  With no 
further formal guidance from the Committee on the public 
comments received, the Department compiled its Response 
Document on December 18, 2003 and submitted the same to 
the Hearing Officer.   

II.  Findings and Conclusions:

In the Response Document dated December 18, 2003, 
the Department has identified and summarized the relevant 
comments submitted for the record in very accurate and 
thorough manner.  Following each comment, the Response 
Document provides a reasoned discussion along with a 
conclusion which resolves the question presented.  These 
detailed explanations and conclusions are sufficient to serve 
as findings with respect to each relevant issue and are 
specifically adopted and incorporated herein for that 
purpose.  In essence, the record supports issuance of the 
proposed regulation which was the subject of the public 
hearing and review process.  Proper notice of the hearing 
was provided as required by law.

III.  Order

In view of the above findings, the proposed regulations 
shall be promulgated in final form as reflected in the text 
attached hereto and shall become effective upon compliance 
with the requirements of the Administrative Procedures Act.

IV.  Reasons

As reflected in the Response Document, this regulation 
represents a rational, carefully considered balance of the 

various participant’s views involved in this rulemaking and 
is consistent with the enabling legislation under which it is 
being promulgated.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

Date of Issuance:  February 9, 2004
Effective Date of the Order:  March 11, 2004 

Chronic Violator Regulation

1.0 Authority
1.1 These regulations are promulgated pursuant to the 

authority granted to the Secretary by 7 Del.C. Chapter 79.

2.0 Applicability 
2.1. The Chronic Violator regulations are administered 

by the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control pursuant to 7 Del.C. Chapter 79.

2.2. These regulations apply to the following DNREC 
Regulatory Programs adopted under Title 7:  Chapters 40, 
60, 62, 63, 66, 70, 72, 74, 77, 78, and 91 and Title 16 
Chapters 63 and 78: 

2.2.1 Erosion and Sedimentation Control  (7 
Del.C. Chapter 40) Control of erosion of sedimentation at 
construction sites and other land disturbing activities.

2.2.2 Stormwater Management (7 Del.C.
Chapter 60) -- Under the NPDES program for storm water 
from facilities and hard surfaces.

2.2.3 Solid Waste (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) -- 
Landfill permitting, transportation of solid waste, and illegal 
dumping of solid waste.

2.2.4 Water Discharges (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) -- 
NPDES program, all point source discharges into waters of 
the State.

2.2.5 Air Emissions (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) -- All 
point source emissions to air, including mobile and 
stationary sources.

2.2.6 Marinas (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) - All boat 
docking facilities, marinas, and vessel pumpout stations.

2.2.7 Scrap Tires (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) -- 
Storage requirements for scrap tires.

2.2.8 Beverage Containers (7 Del.C. Chapter 
60) -- Bottle Bill, requires stores to take returnable 
containers and pay the refund.

2.2.9 Ocean Dumping (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) -- 
Prohibits the disposal of solid wastes in the ocean and other 
waters of the State.

2.2.10 Water Supply (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) - 
Permitting of water supply wells.

2.2.11 On-Site Wastewater (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) 
-- Permitting of on-site wastewater treatment systems.

2.2.12 Debris Pits (7 Del.C. Chapter 60) -- 
Remediation of debris disposal areas.
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2.2.13 Labeling of Plastic Products (7 Del.C.
Chapter 60) -- Requires that all plastic containers sold in 
Delaware contain the triangle enclosed code number of the 
type of plastic the container is made of.

2.2.14 Oil Pollution Liability (7 Del.C. Chapter 
62) -- Prohibits the discharge of oil to the water or land.

2.2.15 Hazardous Waste (7 Del.C. Chapter 63) -- 
Regulates the generation, storage, transportation, treatment 
and disposal of hazardous waste.

2.2.16 Coastal Zone (7 Del.C. Chapter 70) -- 
Control of the location, extent, and type of industrial 
development in Delaware's coastal areas.

2.2.17 Underground Storage Tanks (7 Del.C.
Chapter 74) -- Controls the storage of petroleum products in 
underground storage tanks.

2.2.18 Aboveground Storage Tanks (7 Del.C.
Chapter 74A)-- Controls the storage of petroleum products 
and hazardous substances in aboveground storage tanks.

2.2.19 Extremely Hazardous Substances (7 
Del.C. Chapter 77) -- Prevention of sudden releases of 
extremely hazardous substances and the generation of 
pressure waves and thermal exposures beyond the property 
boundaries of the facility where they occur and the 
catastrophic health consequences caused by short-term 
exposures to such accidental releases.

2.2.20 Pollution Prevention (7 Del.C. Chapter 
78) -Establish a program to demonstrate and facilitate the 
potential for pollution prevention and waste minimization 
through technical assistance, education, and outreach.

2.2.21 Hazardous Substances Cleanup (7 Del.C.
Chapter 91) -- State Superfund program.

2.2.22 Emergency Planning/Community Right-
to-Know --(16 Del.C. Chapter 63) -- Requires the report of 
hazardous materials meeting specific threshold requirements 
stored at facilities for the purpose of emergency response 
and community right-to-know.

2.2.23 Asbestos (16 Del.C. Chapter 78) -- 
Regulates the practice of asbestos containment, removal, 
transportation, storage and disposal.

2.2.24 Wetlands (7 Del.C. Chapter 66) -- 
Protection of tidal wetlands.

2.2.25 Subaqueous Lands (7 Del.C. Chapter 72) -
- Control of activities in state-owned subaqueous lands.

3.0 Definitions
The following definitions shall have the meaning 

ascribed for the purposes of enforcing Chapter 79 and this 
Regulation only:

3.1 "Chronic Violator" means a facility or regulated 
party that is unable to maintain compliance or has engaged in 
a pattern of willful neglect or disregard with respect to the 
State's environmental permits, laws, or regulations as 
administered by the Department. 

3.2 "Days" means calendar days.

3.3 "Facility" means any site or structure regulated by 
the Department or subject to the provisions contained in the 
laws listed under Section 2.2 of this regulation.

3.4 "Department" means the Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control.

3.5 "Person" means any individual, trust, firm, joint 
stock company, federal agency, partnership, corporation 
(including a government corporation or authority), limited 
liability company, association, state, municipality, 
commission, political subdivision of a state or any interstate 
body.

3.6 "Public Meeting" means a forum to receive oral 
and written comments and other supporting materials from 
the public and the facility or regulated party as part of the 
administrative record.

3.7 "Regulated Party" means any person regulated by 
the Department or subject to the provisions contained in the 
laws listed under Section 2.2 of this regulation.

3.8 "Secretary" means the Secretary of the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control or the Secretary's duly authorized designee.
4.0 Criteria 

In determining if a facility or regulated party is a 
chronic violator, the Secretary shall apply the following 
criteria with respect to the State's environmental permits, 
laws or regulations as administered by the Department:

4.1 Inability to maintain compliance; or
4.2 Engaged in a pattern of willful neglect; or
4.3 Engaged in a pattern of disregard.
A facility or regulated party need only meet one of these 

criteria in order to be designated a chronic violator.

5.0 Initiation of Review
5.1 At the Secretary's discretion, he/she may initiate a 

review of any facility or regulated party at any time to 
determine if the facility is a chronic violator.

5.2 The Secretary shall review a facility or regulated 
party to determine if it is a chronic violator if one of the 
following conditions apply in a time frame not to exceed 5 
years:

5.2.1 Three (3) or more of any combination of 
administrative orders, civil judicial actions, court orders, 
negotiated settlements, and criminal convictions (excluding 
convictions pursuant to 7 Del.C. §6013(c)) at the same 
facility regardless of owner; or

5.2.2 Three (3) or more of any combination of 
administrative orders, civil judicial actions, court orders, 
negotiated settlements, and criminal convictions (excluding 
convictions pursuant to 7 Del.C. §6013(c)) under the same 
Department regulatory program, as defined in Section B, 
against the same person at different locations.

6.0 Notification of Review
6.1 The Secretary shall issue a Notice of Chronic 
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Violator Review to the facility or regulated party within ten 
(10) days of the Secretary's decision to conduct a review.  

6.2 Within ten (10) days after the facility or regulated 
party has received the written notice, the Department shall 
publish a public notice stating that a review has commenced, 
identifying the facility or regulated party being reviewed, 
describing the reason why the review was initiated, and 
requesting public and facility or regulated party comments 
within sixty (60) days. 

6.3 Any comments received by the Department shall be 
made available to the facility or regulated party and the 
public, within three (3) working days of receipt. A hard copy 
version of comments will be stored in the Department's 
facility file.

6.4 The Department shall issue a written notice of the 
status of the review to the facility or regulated party and to 
the public every six months from the date of the Public 
Notice.  If, during said review, new violations come to the 
attention of the Department the Secretary may consider the 
new violations and allow a further comment period by the 
facility, regulated party, or the public.

7.0 Factors to be Considered When Conducting Review
The Secretary may consider any relevant factors when 

deciding whether a facility or regulated party meets one or 
more of the chronic violator criteria. In conducting his/her 
review, the Secretary shall consider all relevant and reliable 
information available or submitted to the Department from 
all sources. Factors that must be considered are:

7.1 The nature and extent of the harm caused or 
threatened.

7.2 The impact on the integrity of regulatory programs.
7.3 Duration of noncompliance.
7.4 Number of violations of a similar nature.
7.5 Total number of violations of all types.
7.6 Economic benefit attributable to violations.
7.7 Relationship/relevance of violations to activity for 

which permit is sought.
7.8 Whether any or all of the violations were willful or 

grossly negligent.
7.9 The extent of deviation from the permit, order or 

other requirement.
7.10 The demonstrated attitude of new owners/ 

managers (if ownership and/or management has changed at 
the facility). 

7.11 Actions taken or not taken to prevent, mitigate 
or respond to harm caused or threatened by the violation.

7.12 Whether any or all of the violations were self-
reported within 15 consecutive days after the date of 
discovery.

All of these factors need not apply in order for a facility 
or regulated party to be considered a chronic violator.

8.0 Violations to be Considered When Conducting 
Review

The Secretary may consider any violations when 
conducting his/her review. The types of violations that shall 
be considered by the Secretary shall include, but not be 
limited to:

8.1 Violations that cause or genuinely threaten harm to 
the environment or to public health or safety.

8.2 Violations resulting in criminal convictions.
8.3 Tampering with monitoring or sampling equipment 

or interfering with samples or analytical results.
8.4 Filing false reports or inaccurate or misleading 

information.
8.5 Failing to maintain or use required pollution control 

equipment, structures or practices.
8.6 Repeatedly failing to submit required reports of 

regulated activity such as Discharge Monitoring Reports.
8.7 Repeatedly conducting a regulated activity without 

a required permit or authorization.

9.0 Secretary's Determination
In making a determination, the Secretary shall consider 

all relevant and reliable information available or submitted 
to the Department from all sources.  The Secretary shall 
consider the following when determining if a facility or 
regulated party meets one or more of the chronic violator 
criteria in Section 4.0: 

9.1 Relevant factors per Section 7.0;
9.2 Violations per Section 8.0; 
9.3 Public comments received per Section 6.0; and
9.4 Comments from the facility or regulated party per 

Section 6.0.

10.0 Notification of Determination
10.1. The Secretary shall issue a Notice of Chronic 

Violator Determination to the facility or regulated party once 
a determination has been made. The notice will describe in 
detail the basis for the Secretary's determination. If the 
facility or regulated party is determined to be a Chronic 
Violator, the notice will also describe the penalties, limits, 
requirements or restrictions being imposed in accordance 
with Section 11.0 and the requirements to be met in order to 
petition for removal of the Chronic Violator designation. 

10.2 Once the facility or regulated party has 
received the Notice of Chronic Violator Determination, the 
Department shall publish, within ten (10) days, a public 
notice announcing the determination and describing the basis 
for the Secretary's determination, and information on how to 
obtain the full Determination document. If the facility or 
regulated party is determined to be a Chronic Violator, the 
Public Notice will also summarize the penalties, limits, 
requirements or restrictions being imposed.

10.3 Persons or facilities determined by the 
Secretary to be chronic violators shall be provided due 
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process under 7 Del. C. § 6008 and § 6009.

11.0 Penalties and Requirements
11.1 The Secretary may impose limits, requirements 

or restrictions on a facility or regulated party determined to 
be a chronic violator by virtue of the exercise of his/her 
authority over such facility or regulated party through 
permitting provisions or enforcement actions.  Such limits, 
requirements or restrictions may include, but not be limited 
to:

11.1.1 denying permit applications or modifying, 
suspending or revoking operating permits, 

11.1.2 imposing a schedule of compliance;
11.1.3 requiring capital improvements and 

associated performance standards;
11.1.4 specifying the requirements for 

development and implementation of a system for managing 
environmental performance and compliance; or

11.1.5 instituting a requirement for the facility or 
regulated party to submit an annual environmental 
performance statement. Such a statement shall include, but 
not be limited to:

11.1.5.1 a description of the facility.
11.1.5.2 a listing of environmental permits 

held by the facility.
11.1.5.3 emissions and discharges from the 

facility.
11.1.5.4 disclosure of environmental violations 

of enforcement actions taken against the facility during the 
previous year.

11.1.5.5 a description of any pollution 
prevention or waste reduction activities undertaken at the 
facility during the previous year and the results of those 
activities.

11.1.5.6 plans to achieve compliance with all 
applicable laws, regulations or permits.

11.2 The Secretary may reject any permit 
application or revoke any permit upon a finding that the 
applicant has been determined by the Secretary to be a 
chronic violator.

11.3 Notwithstanding other applicable enforcement 
provisions contained in relevant sections of Chapters 
covered by 7 Del. C. § 7901(b), the Secretary is authorized 
to impose an administrative penalty of up to $10,000 per day 
for each violation against any person that is determined to be 
a chronic violator in accordance with the provisions of 7 Del. 
C. § 7904(a).  The person's right to contest or appeal the 
assessment of a penalty authorized under this Section shall 
be in accordance with the applicable provisions of the 
Delaware Code under which the violation and enforcement 
action is being taken.

12.0 Chronic Violator Delisting 
12.1 Any person determined to be a Chronic 

Violator may petition the Secretary to have the Chronic 
Violator designation removed once it has met the limits, 
requirements, or restrictions of the Notice of Chronic 
Violator Determination.  The petition must include the 
following information, as appropriate:

12.1.1 demonstration of compliance with the 
limits, requirements, or restrictions of the Notice of Chronic 
Violator Determination through an audit conducted by an 
independent third party if required by the Secretary;

12.1.2 description of actions taken to prevent 
violations of the kind that led to the notice; and

12.1.3 description of other violations that have 
occurred since the notice and how they were addressed.

12.2 Upon receipt of the petition, the Department 
shall issue a public notice announcing the petition and 
requesting public comments within 90 days.

12.3 Within 30 days of receipt of the petition, the 
Department will notify the facility or regulated party of the 
administrative completeness of the petition or its 
deficiencies.

12.4 Upon a meritorious request for a public 
meeting, as defined in Section C.6. of this Regulation, 
received within a reasonable time as stated in the Public 
Notice, the Secretary shall conduct a public meeting to 
review and receive additional comments on the petition.

12.5 The Department shall have 90 days from the 
date the petition is determined to be administratively 
complete to conduct applicable inspections of the facility 
and/or the regulated party's record to confirm the petition's 
statements. 

12.6 The Secretary will then have an additional 
sixty (60) days to review the petition, the inspection reports, 
audit reports if required, and public comments and issue a 
decision to the facility or regulated party that the Chronic 
Violator Status has been withdrawn or will be continued.

12.7 When the petition is granted or denied, the 
Secretary will issue a letter to the facility or regulated party, 
and the Department will issue a public notice indicating the 
Chronic Violator's status.

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code, 
Chapters 60 and 63 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60 and 63)

Secretary’s Order No.:  2004-A-0005

2003 Proposed Amendments to the
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste
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I.  Background

On December 10, 2003 a public hearing was held in the 
DNREC Auditorium in Dover to receive comment on 
proposed amendments to the State of Delaware’s 
Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.  The proposed 
amendments have already been promulgated by EPA and are 
already in effect at the Federal level.  Delaware is proposing 
to adopt these amendments as part of its requirements to 
maintain equivalency with its program authorization and 
equivalency with EPA’s hazardous waste program.

Additionally, Delaware is making miscellaneous 
changes to some of the existing regulations for the purpose 
of correcting errors and to add consistency or clarification to 
the existing regulations.  Some of these amendments are 
being made to the existing regulations in order to improve or 
enhance the performance of the hazardous waste 
management program.

After the hearing, the Department performed an 
evaluation of the evidence entered into the record in this 
matter.  Thereafter, the Hearing Officer prepared his report 
and recommendation in the form of a memorandum to the 
Secretary dated January 29, 2004, and that memorandum is 
expressly incorporated herein by reference.

II.  Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the 
Hearing Officer’s Memorandum dated January 29, 2004 are 
expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the 
findings and conclusions of the Secretary.

III.  Order

In view of the above, I hereby order that the proposed 
amendments to the Delaware Regulations Governing 
Hazardous Waste be promulgated and implemented in the 
manner and form provided for by law pursuant to the 
changes proposed prior to the hearing and as recommended 
in the Hearing Officer’s memorandum.

IV.  Reasons

Adopting the proposed amendments to the Delaware 
Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste will be 
beneficial to the State of Delaware, in that these amendments 
will add consistency and/or clarification to the existing 
regulations.  Additionally, some of these amendments will 
enable the State of Delaware to improve and/or enhance the 
overall performance of the hazardous waste management 
program.  Furthermore, the adoption of these amendments 
will permit the State of Delaware to maintain its RCRA 
program delegation, and remain current with the Federal 
hazardous waste program.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

Date of Issuance:  February 12, 2004
Effective Date of the Amendment:  March 21, 2004

2003 Amendments to
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste

Synopsis

This synopsis presents a brief description of the 2003 
amendments to Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous 
Waste (DRGHW) and a list of those sections generally 
affected by the amendments.  This summary is provided 
solely for the convenience of the reader.

These changes incorporate certain RCRA amendments 
promulgated by U. S. EPA into Delaware’s hazardous waste 
management program.  The State is required to adopt these 
amendments in order to maintain its hazardous waste 
program delegation and remain current with the Federal 
RCRA hazardous waste program.

The State is also making miscellaneous changes to the 
existing regulations for the purpose of correcting errors and 
to add consistency or clarification to the existing regulations. 
Some amendments are being made to the existing 
regulations in order to improve or enhance the performance 
of the hazardous waste management program.

Summaries for the regulatory amendments are listed 
below and organized by EPA’s promulgating Federal 
Register notice.  For additional information, please contact 
the Solid and Hazardous Waste Management Branch 
(SHWMB) at (302) 739-3689. 

1. Title:  Storage, Treatment, and Disposal of Mixed 
Waste: Mixed Waste Rule

Federal Register Reference:  66 FR 27218 – 27266
Federal Promulgation Date:  May 16, 2001

Summary:  This amendment was originally proposed by the 
State during a March 12, 2002 Public Hearing.  However, a 
comment was received at the Hearing regarding a 
comparison of the EPA amendments with current Nuclear 
Regulatory Commission (NRC) requirements.  After 
reviewing the comment a response was prepared and mailed 
to the commenter on April 10, 2002.

The rule promulgated conditional exemptions for: (1) 
low-level mixed wastes (LLMW) from most RCRA Subtitle 
C storage and treatment regulations, and (2) LLMW and 
technologically enhanced naturally occurring and/or 
accelerator-produced radioactive material (NARM) from 
most RCRA Subtitle C manifesting, transportation, and 
disposal regulations when specified conditions are met. 
With this rule, the EPA and the State intend to provide 
regulatory flexibility and relief to facilitate the disposal of 
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certain LLMW and eligible NARM.

Sections of the DRGHW effected by this amendment:
Adds new subpart N (§§266.210 to 266.360).
 
2. Title:  Hazardous Waste Identification Rule (HWIR): 
Revisions to the Mixture and Derived-From Rules: 

A. Mixture and Derived-From Rules
B. Land Disposal Restrictions
Federal Register Reference:  66 FR 27266 – 27297
Federal Promulgation Date:  May 16, 2001

Summary:  This amendment was originally proposed by the 
State during a March 12, 2002 Public Hearing but was 
withdrawn after the SHWMB determined that EPA 
inadvertently deleted certain regulatory language.  On 
October 3, 2001 EPA promulgated a clarifying revision to 
the May 16, 2001 Rule that reinserted the deleted language.

The May 16, 2001 Federal Rule contained two 
revisions:

(A) This rule finalizes the retention of the mixture 
rule and the derived-from rule with two revisions.  The first 
revision expands the exclusion for mixtures and/or 
derivatives of wastes listed solely for the ignitability, 
corrosivity and/or reactivity characteristic.  The second 
revision is a new conditional exemption from the mixture 
and derived-from rules for mixed wastes.

(B) This rule also corrects an error made by the 
June 8, 2000 rule (65 FR 36365).  The June 8, 2000 rule 
inadvertently removed the entry for hazardous waste code 
U048 from 40 CFR part 268, Appendix VII.  Note: Delaware 
did not adopt the EPA error contained in the June 8, 2000 
Federal Register.  The correct language is being reprinted as 
part of this amendment without change to provide clarity to 
the reader.

Sections of the DRGHW effected by this amendment:
Amends §261.3, paragraphs (a), (c), (g), (h), and Part 268, 
Appendix VII, Table 1.

3. Title:  Correction to the Hazardous Waste 
Identification Rule (HWIR): Revisions to the Mixture 
and Derived from Rules

Federal Register Reference:  66 FR 50332-50334
Federal Promulgation Date:  October 3, 2001

Summary:  This rule clarifies the May 16, 2001 Federal 
amendment regarding the Mixture and Derived-From Rule. 
The State originally proposed adopting the May 16, 2001 
Federal rule in 2002 but withdrew the proposed amendment 
due to errors in the Federal promulgation language.  The 
language in this proposed amendment corrects that error.
Sections of the DRGHW effected by this amendment:

Amends §§261.3(a)(2) and 261.3(g)(4).

4. Title:  Amendments to Corrective Action 
Management Unit Rule

Federal Register Reference:  67 FR 2962-3029
Federal Promulgation Date:  January 22, 2002

Summary:  This change amends the Corrective Action 
Management Unit (CAMU) rule to facilitate treatment, 
storage and disposal of hazardous wastes managed for 
implementing cleanup.

Sections of the DRGHW effected by this amendment: 
Amends §260.11(a)(11).

5. Title:  Hazardous Waste Management System; 
Definition of Solid Waste; Toxicity Characteristic

Federal Register Reference:  67 FR 11251-11254
Federal Promulgation Date:  March 13, 2002

Summary:  This rule was promulgated in response to 
vacaturs ordered by the United States Court of Appeals for 
the District of Columbia Circuit in Association of Battery 
Recyclers, v. EPA 208 F.3d 1047 (2000).  The court vacated 
two parts of the May 26, 1998 Phase IV LDR rule (63 FR 
28556) in response to a legal challenge from the Association 
of Battery Recyclers, the National Mining Association and 
other trade groups.  The first vacated part of the rule required 
deletion of regulatory language classifying mineral 
processing characteristic by-products and sludges being 
reclaimed as solid wastes.  The second vacated part 
disallows the Toxicity Characteristic Leaching Procedure 
(TCLP) to be used for determining whether manufactured 
gas plant (MGP) waste is hazardous.

Sections of the DRGHW effected this change include:
Amends §§261.2(c)(3), 261.4(a)(17), and 261.24(a).

6. Title:  Zinc Fertilizers Made From Recycled 
Hazardous Waste Secondary Materials: Zinc Fertilizer 
Rule

Federal Register Reference:  67 FR 48393-48415
Federal Promulgation Date:  July 24, 2002

Summary:  The amendments promulgated by EPA in this 
rule established a more consistent regulatory framework for 
the practice of making zinc fertilizer products from recycled 
hazardous secondary materials.  More specifically, it 
established conditions for excluding hazardous secondary 
materials used to make zinc fertilizers from the regulatory 
definition of solid waste. The rule also established new 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 2004



FINAL REGULATIONS 1205
product specifications for contaminants in zinc fertilizers 
made from those secondary materials.  

The majority of the changes included in this Federal 
Register Notice are considered less stringent than current 
Federal program.  Therefore, State has chosen to only adopt 
the portion of this Rule that removes a previous exemption 
from regulation for zinc fertilizers.  This allows the State to 
be more stringent than the Federal program.

Sections of the DRGHW effected this change include:
Amends §266.20(b); and Amends §268.40 by removing and 
reserving paragraph (i).

7. Miscellaneous Changes

Summary:  Proposed miscellaneous changes to DRGHW 
include non-substantive corrections for typographical or 
grammatical errors. 

Proposed miscellaneous changes will also: Add new 
paragraph to §261.22(a) regarding pH of a solid; Amend 
§263.102 regarding denial, revocation, termination or 
modification of hazardous waste transporter permits; Amend 
§265.195(c) to add requirement for generators accumulating 
hazardous waste in tanks to maintain written documentation 
of tank inspections; Amend §273.19 to require small 
quantity handlers of universal waste to keep written records 
of shipments of universal waste. 

Sections of the DRGHW effected by this amendment: 
Amends §§260.10; 261.1(c)(8); 261.22(a)(2) & (3); 263.102; 
264.145; 265.195(c); 273.19; 122.20(a)(1).

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,

 Section 903(e)(2)(a) (7 Del.C. §903(e)(2)(a))

Order No.  2004-F-0007

Tidal Finfish Regulations 3503 and 3504

Summary Of Evidence And Information

Pursuant to due notice Vol. 7, issue 7 DE Register of 
Regulations, 909-911 (1/1/04), the Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control proposes changes to 
Tidal Finfish Regulations 3503 and 3504 pertaining to 
striped bass minimum size limits and daily harvest and 
possession limits.  The purpose of these amended regulations 
is to come into compliance with Amendment 6 to the 
Interstate Fishery Management Plan for Atlantic Striped 
Bass. 

A public hearing was held on January 29, 2004 to take 
comments on proposed amendments to Tidal Finfish 
Regulations 3503 and 3504.  Comments were taken that 
evening and during the remainder of the comment period 
which remained open for written, faxed, or e-mail comments 
until 4:30 PM February 2, 2004. 

Findings Of Fact

• 903(e)(2)(a) 7 Delaware Code authorizes the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmen-
tal Control (DNREC) to promulgate regulations 
concerning species of finfish that spend part or all 
their life cycle within the tidal waters of the state 
provided that such regulations are consistent with 
an interstate fisheries management plan developed 
for the protection and conservation of said species 
of finfish.

• There is an interstate fisheries management plan 
amendment (Amendment 6) recently approved by 
the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission 
for striped bass.

• Although the majority of the comments received 
relative to weakfish favored a minimum size of 14 
or 15 inches, several Delaware speakers at the hear-
ing and some of the e-mail respondents stressed the 
importance of Delaware being consistent with New 
Jersey because of our shared waters.

• In regard to striped bass, 10 comments were 
received in favor of option 1, two fish per day at a 
minimum size of 28 inches.  No one favored the 
other options, including maintaining the present slot 
limit, in recognition that we will have to reduce our 
open season length fairly drastically in order to 
effect a 33% reduction in harvest in order to be in 
compliance with Amendment 6 to the Atlantic 
Striped Bass Fishery Management Plan.

• There were no comments from the public relative to 
the proposed clarification of 3503 Section 3.0 with 
regard to the definition of a day.  During the com-
ment period,  the Division of Fish and Wildlife 
Enforcement Section, via Enforcement Chief James 
Graybeal, suggested that the proposed wording 
change in §3503 Sect. 3.0 be further modified to 
define a day as a 24-hour period and to strike the 
proposed wording that would define a day as 
“…midnight to the next midnight thence ensu-
ing…” in regard to the take and possession of more 
than two (2) striped bass per day.   There were no 
comments for the hearing record concerning the 
proposed changes to commercial minimum size 
limits for striped bass that are necessary to remain 
in compliance with Amendment 6.  An Atlantic 
Ocean gill netter called the office on January 30 to 
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complain about the proposed raising of the mini-
mum commercial size limit in the Ocean and the 
Coastal Bays to 28 inches from the present 20 
inches, but this fisherman did not submit any for-
mal comments for the Hearing Record.

Conclusions

I have reached the following conclusions:
• Delaware should change the striped bass recre-

ational minimum size limit to 28 inches total length 
and the daily harvest and possession limit to two 
striped bass per 24-hour period.  

• The commercial size limit should be raised to 28 
inches total length in all tidal water areas of the 
state and at all times of the year with the exception 
that during the months of March and April in the 
Delaware River and Delaware Bay and its tributar-
ies, the minimum commercial size limit for gill net 
fisheries should remain 20 inches total length.  In 
the Nanticoke River and its tributaries in Delaware, 
the minimum size limit for striped bass should 
remain 20 inches TL during the spring commercial 
gill net season.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered this 13th day of February in the year 
2004 that amendments to Tidal Finfish Regulations 3503 and 
3504, copies of which are attached hereto, are adopted 
pursuant to 7 Del. C. 903(e)(2)(a) and are supported by the 
Department’s findings of evidence and testimony received. 
This Order shall become effective on March 10, 2004. 

John A. Hughes, Secretary
Department of Natural Resources

and Environmental Control

3503 Striped Bass Recreational Fishing Seasons; 
Methods of Take; Creel Limit; Possession Limit. 
(Formerly Tidal Finfish Reg. 6)

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. 936(b)(2))

1.0 It shall be lawful for any person to take and reduce 
to possession striped bass from the tidal waters of this State 
at any time except as otherwise set forth in this regulation or 
in Tidal Finfish Regulations 3502 and 3504.

2.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman 
to take or attempt to take any striped bass from the tidal 
waters of this State with any fishing equipment other than a 
hook and line or a spear while said recreational fisherman 
using the spear is underwater.  Recreational gill net 
permittees are not authorized to take and reduce to 

possession any striped bass in gill nets.
3.0 Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful 

for any recreational fisherman to take and reduce to 
possession more than two (2) striped bass per day [(defined 
as midnight to the next midnight thence ensuing)  a day 
being 24 hours)] from the tidal waters of this State.  Any 
striped bass taken from the tidal waters of this State that is 
not immediately returned, without unnecessary injury, to the 
same waters from which it was taken, is deemed taken and 
reduced to possession for purposes of this subsection.

4.0 Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful 
for any recreational fisherman to have in possession more 
than two (2) striped bass at or between the place said striped 
bass was taken and said fisherman's personal abode or 
temporary or transient place of lodging.

3504 Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions. 
(Formerly Tidal Finfish Reg. 7)

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. 936(b)(2))

1.0 Notwithstanding, the provisions of 7 Del.C.
§929(b)(1) or unless otherwise authorized, it shall be 
unlawful for any recreational fisherman to take and reduce to 
possession more than two (2) striped bass from the tidal 
waters of this State in one day provided one measures no less 
than twenty-four (24) inches in total length or more than 
twenty-eight (28) inches in total length and one measures no 
less than twenty-eight (28) inches in total length. any striped 
bass that measures less than twenty-eight (28) inches in total 
length.

2.0 Notwithstanding, the provisions of 7 Del.C.
§929(b)(1) or unless otherwise authorized, it shall be 
unlawful for any commercial food fisherman to take and 
reduce to possession any striped bass that measure less than 
twenty (20) twenty-eight (28) inches  in total length from the 
tidal waters of this State except that commercial gill net 
fishermen may take striped bass measuring no less than 
twenty (20) inches in total length from the tidal waters of the 
Delaware River and Delaware Bay [and or] their tributaries 
during the months of March and April or from the tidal 
waters of the Nanticoke River or its tributaries in the month 
of March.

3.0 Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful 
for any person to possess a striped bass that measures less 
than 24 28 inches, total length, unless said striped bass is in 
one or more of the following categories:

3.1 It has affixed, a valid strap tag issued by the 
Department to a commercial food gill net fisherman and was 
legally taken and tagged by said commercial gill net 
fisherman from the tidal waters of the Delaware River and 
Delaware Bay [or their tributaries] during the months of 
March and April; or from the tidal waters of the Nanticoke 
River or its tributaries in the month of March; or

3.2 It was legally landed in another state for 
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commercial purposes and has affixed a valid tag issued by 
said state's marine fishery authority; or

3.3 It is packed or contained for shipment, either 
fresh or frozen, and accompanied by a bill-of-lading with a 
destination to a state other than Delaware; or

3.4 It was legally landed in another state for non 
commercial purposes by the person in possession of said 
striped bass and there is affixed to either the striped bass or 
the container in which the striped bass is contained a tag that 
depicts the name and address of the person landing said 
striped bass and the date, location, and state in which said 
striped bass was landed; or

3.5 It is the product of a legal aquaculture 
operation and the person in possession has a written bill of 
sale or receipt for said striped bass.

4.0 Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful 
for any commercial finfisherman to possess any striped bass 
for which the total length has been altered in any way prior 
to selling, trading or bartering said striped bass.

5.0 The words "land" and "landed" shall mean to put or 
cause to go on shore from  a vessel.

6.0 It shall be unlawful for any person to land any 
striped bass that measures less than twenty-eight  (28) inches 
in total length at any time, except those striped bass caught 
in a commercial finfisherman gill net  legally fished in the 
waters of Delaware River or Delaware Bay or their 
tributaries during the months of [March and] April [and 
May] or from a commercial gill net legally fished in the tidal 
waters of the Nanticoke River or its tributaries in the month 
of March. authorized to fish during Delaware's commercial 
striped bass fishery, to land any striped bass that measures 
less than twenty-four (24) inches in total length.

7.0 It shall be unlawful for a commercial finfisherman 
authorized to fish during Delaware's commercial striped bass 
fishery to land any striped bass that measures less than 
twenty (20) inches in total length.

See 3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00)
See 4 DE Reg 230 (7/1/00)
See 4 DE Reg 1552 (3/1/01)
See 6 DE Reg 1512 (5/1/01)
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Advisory Council on Tidal Finfisheries Mr. Brian R. Hoffecker 1/15/2009

Architectural Accessibility Board Mr. Changuk Yoon 12/23/2007

Authority on Radiation Protection Mr. Jacob Beutel 1/12/2007

Board of Accountancy Mr. Paul D. Sunshine 1/12/2007

Board of Clinical Social Work Ms. Gloria L. Ho-Ruggerio 10/23/2004

Board of Dental Examiners Robert R. Hoopes, D.D.S. 1/12/2007
Mr. John M. Kirby 1/12/2007
Thomas W. Mercer, D.D.S. 1/12/2007

Board of Electrical Examiners Mr. Donald T. Collins 1/12/2007
Ms. Shirley S. Good 1/12/2007

Board of Examiners of Psychologists Ms. Lisa C. Gardner 12/23/2006

Board of Funeral Services Mr. William J. Doherty, II 12/23/2006
Mr. Bennie L. Smith 12/23/2006

Board of Nursing Ms. Carolyn E. Hill 1/12/2007
Ms. Diana E. Padula 1/12/2007

Board of Pension Trustees Mr. Philip S. Reese Pleasure of the
Governor

Board of Plumbing Examiners Mr. Frank H. Beebe 1/12/2007
Ms. Carol A. Guilbert 1/12/2007
Mr. Dess S. Stokes 1/12/2007

Board of Podiatry Jeffrey C. Barton, D.P.M. 12/23/2006

Cash Management Policy Board Mr. David F. Marvin 1/15/2007

Child Death and Stillbirth Review CommissionMs. Marie E. Renzi 12/23/2006

Child Placement Review Board-Kent Ms. Kathleen M. Jamison 12/23/2006
Ms. Wilberta Lewis 12/23/2006
Ms. Sheri J. Morris 12/23/2006
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Child Placement Review Board-New Castle Ms. Alexis V. Ciconte 12/23/2006
Child Placement Review Board-New Castle Ms. Trudy Halprin 7/29/2006

Ms. Tanya Hynson 12/23/2006
Ms. Vicky K. Kleinman 12/23/2006
Ms. Elaine Markell 12/23/2006
Ms. Lillian McGowan 12/23/2006
Ms. Yahna Talley 2/14/2004
Ms. Barbara P. Williams 12/23/2006
Ms. Marian L. Wilson 12/23/2006

Child Placement Review Board-Sussex Ms. Tiffany B. Derrickson 12/23/2006
Ms. Sandra S. Lord 12/23/2006
Ms. Bonita J. Maull 12/23/2006
Ms. Marie Wallop 12/23/2006

Commission on Uniform State Laws Mr. David C. McBride Pleasure of the
Governor

Community Notification Working Group Mr. James Apostolico Pleasure of the
Governor

Lewis L. Atkinson, Ed.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. William G. Bush, IV Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Carl Danberg Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Karen De Ramso Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Janice Mink Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Marc D. Richman Pleasure of the
Governor

Council on Banking Mr. Clinton W. Walker 5/1/2005

Council on the Blind Ms. Alice Capodanno 1/12/2007
Mr. Douglas Salter 1/12/2007
Ms. Beatrice P. Simonds 1/12/2007
Mr. Charles Yelle 914/2004

Council on Correction Ms. Stephen B. Ackerman 6/12/2006
Ms. Virginia S. Thogersen 2/27/2005
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Council on Forestry Mr. Allen Jones 12/23/2006
Mr. Raymond Taraila 12/23/2006

Council on Hispanic Affairs Ms. Sandra D. Bucay 1/12/2007
Mr. Henry P. Cruz 1/12/2007

Council on Libraries Ms. Jean Gandek 6/3/2005

Council on Manufactured Housing Ms. Jane D. Sklencar 6/11/2004

Council on Police Training Mr. Fred Duncan Pleasure of the
Governor

Council on Real Estate Appraisers Mr. Arthur B. Cahall 1/8/2007

Delaware Advisory Council on Career J. Richard Bacon, Ed.D. Pleasure of the
Education Governor

Ms. Sandra L. Daly Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Benjamin Ryan Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. James E. Sturgis Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Robert C. Suppe Pleasure of the
Governor

Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Mr. Lynnwood L. Davenport, Trustee 1/12/2007
Foundation

Mr. Alden S. Hopkins, Trustee 1/12/2007

Delaware Bicycle Council Mr. Nicholas Vacirca 1/8/2007
Mr. Thomas Hartley 5/10/2004
Mr. Timothy G. Willard 12/23/2006

Delaware Commission of Veterans’ Affairs Ms. Ruth B. Harden 1/12/2008

Delaware Emergency Medical Services Mr. Philip G. Cabaud Pleasure of the
Oversight Council Governor

Mr. James J. Cloney Pleasure of the
Governor

Delaware Gaming Control Board Mr. Thomas R. Trader 1/8/2009
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Delaware Greenways and Trails Council Ms. Gail VanGilder 12/23/2006

Delaware Heritage Commission Mr. Norman Borish 12/23/2006
Mr. Robert L. Byrd 1/28/2007
Ms. Reba R. Hollingsworth 1/28/2007
Mr. Francis A. Ianni 12/23/2006
Robert M. Stark, Ph.D. 12/23/2006

Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Mr. Raymond A. Paylor 6/30/2009
Authority

Delaware Solid Waste Authority Mr. William J. DiMondi 1/15/2007
Mr. Timothy P. Sheldon 7/6/2004(interim)
Mr. Timothy P. Sheldon 3/14/2005

Developmental Disabilities Council Mr. Brian P. Donovan 1/28/2010
Ms. Tracey E. Eastman 1/12/2010
Mr. Steven R. Tull 1/12/2010

Federal Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee Mr. Tyrone J. Jones Pleasure of the
Governor

Greater Wilmington Convention and Visitors Mr. Ernest J. Camoirano 5/14/2004
Bureau Ms. Laura Scanlan 1/28/2007

Mr. David Z. Tuttleman 1/28/2007
Mr. Ferdinand Wieland 1/28/2007

Industrial Accident Board Ms. Romayne B. Seward 1/15/2010

Judicial Nominating Committee Ms. Mary L. McKenzie-Dantzler 1/22/2007

Justice of the Peace for Kent County Mr. Douglas P. Kennedy Cox 1/17/2008

Juvenile Justice Advisory Group Mr. Michael Arrington, Chair Pleasure of the
Governor

Parks and Recreation Council Ms. Joan P. Brown 1/21/2007

Pesticide Advisory Committee Mr. David Allen Chorman 12/23/2006
Mr.  Jeffrey G. Hastings 12/23/2006
Gerald Llewellyn, Ph.D. 12/23/2006

Real Estate Commission of Delaware Mr. Paul Davis 1/12/2007
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Real Estate Commission of Delaware Mr. John R. Giles 1/12/2007
Mr. James D. McGinnis 1/12/2007
Mr.  Marvin Sachs 1/12/2007
Ms. Marcia J. Shihadeh 1/12/2007

Recycling Public Advisory Council Mr. Donald H. Mulrine, Jr. 1/28/2007
Mr. Paul R. Wilkinson 1/28/2007

Selective Service System Local Board Mr. Frederick L. Cottrell, III Nominated for a
Position as a
Member

Ms. Linda G. Watts Nominated for a 
Position as a
Member

Statewide Independent Living Council Ms. Helen T. McDonnell 1/28/2007
Ms. Christine E. Trincia 1/28/2007

Tax Appeals Board Ms. Regina C. Dudziec 1/15/2007

Welfard Employment Committee Mr. James R. Gettier 4/10/2005

Workforce Investment Board Mr. Robert M. Lau Pleasure of the
Governor
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER
EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER FIFTY-THREE

RE: REALLOCATION OF STATE PRIVATE
ACTIVITY BOND VOLUME CAP FOR
CALENDAR YEAR 2003 AND INITIAL
SUBALLOCATION OF STATE PRIVATE
ACTIVITY BOND VOLUME CAP FOR
CALENDAR YEAR 2004

WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5091, the State’s 
private activity bond volume cap (“Volume Cap”) for 2003 
under §103 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (the 
ìCodeî) has been allocated among various state and local 
government issuers; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Executive Order Number 
Forty-One, $114,290,000 of the Volume Cap for 2003 which 
had been allocated to the State of Delaware was further sub-
allocated between the Delaware Economic Development 
Authority and the Delaware State Housing Authority; and

WHEREAS, the allocation of Volume Cap in Executive 
Order Number Forty-One is subject to modification by 
further Executive Order; and 

WHEREAS, the Stateís Volume Cap for 2003 and 2004 
is allocated among the various State and local government 
issuers by 29 Del.C.  §5091(a); and

WHEREAS, Kent County has reassigned $22,860,000 
of its unallocated Volume Cap for 2003 to the State of 
Delaware; and

WHEREAS, Sussex County has reassigned 
$22,860,000 of its unallocated Volume Cap for 2003 to the 
State of Delaware; and

WHEREAS, the City of Wilmington has reassigned 
$28,570,000 of its unallocated Volume Cap for 2003 to the 
State of Delaware; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware Economic Development 
Authority has $41,745,000 of remaining Volume Cap for 
2003, previously allocated by Executive Order Number 
Forty-One; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5091(b), the 
Stateís $116,895,000 Volume Cap for 2004 is to be sub-
allocated by the Governor between the Delaware State 
Housing Authority and the Delaware Economic 
Development Authority; and

WHEREAS, the Secretary of Finance recommends (i) 
that the $74,290,000 unallocated Volume Cap for 2003 
reassigned to the State of Delaware by other issuers be sub-
allocated to the Delaware State Housing Authority for carry 
forward for use in future years; and (ii) that the $41,745,000 
of unallocated Volume Cap reassigned by the Delaware 

Economic Development Authority be sub-allocated to the 
Delaware State Housing Authority for carry forward for use 
in future years; and (iii) that the Stateís Volume Cap for 2004 
of $116,895,000 be allocated equally between the Delaware 
State Housing Authority and the Delaware Economic 
Development Authority; and

WHEREAS, the Chairperson of the Delaware 
Economic Development Authority and the Chairperson of 
the Delaware State Housing Authority concur in the 
recommendations of the Secretary of Finance.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Ruth Ann Minner, by the 
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware, 
do hereby declare and order as follows:

1. The $74,290,000 of unallocated Volume Cap for 
2003 that has been reassigned by Kent County, Sussex 
County and the City of Wilmington to the State of Delaware 
is hereby sub-allocated to the Delaware State Housing 
Authority for carry forward use, in addition to the 
$57,145,000 previously sub-allocated to the Delaware State 
Housing Authority for 2003 under Executive Order Forty-
0ne. Additionally, the $41,745,000 of Volume Cap for 2003 
previously allocated to the Delaware Economic 
Development Authority is allocated to the Delaware State 
Housing Authority, providing the Delaware State Housing 
Authority with a total carry forward amount of 
$173,180,000.

2. The $116,895,000 allocation to the State of 
Delaware of the 2004 Volume Cap is hereby sub-allocated: 
$58,447,500 to the Delaware State Housing Authority and 
$58,447,500 to the Delaware Economic Development 
Authority.

3. The aforesaid sub-allocations have been made with 
due regard to actions taken by other persons in reliance upon 
previous sub-allocations to bond issuers.

Approved: February 6, 2004

Ruth Ann Minner, 
Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor
Secretary of State

http://www.state.de.us/governor/
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
FORMS AND RATES BULLETIN NO. 28

LIMITATIONS ON NONRENEWALS OR 
SURCHARGES ON 

RESIDENTIAL HOMEOWNER POLICIES

Issued:  January 20, 2004

1.0 Purpose
On October 24, 1997, I had issued Forms and Rates 

Bulletin 18 prohibiting premium surcharges based on the 
number of claims incurred during specified time periods. 
The bulletin prohibited rate increases without corresponding 
increases in loss experience.

During the first few months of 2003, the Delaware 
Insurance Department became concerned about an apparent 
increasing trend in many states by insurers issuing 
residential homeowners coverage to nonrenew coverage 
based on single claims or multiple minor claims filed by the 
insured.  A number of states have instituted consumer 
protection measures to regulate an increasing practice by 
insurers to apply surcharges to insureds’ premiums based on 
factors such as multiple minor claims being filed or multiple 
inquiries being made by insureds.  A departmental 
committee was formed in mid-2003 to monitor the industry’s 
activities in Delaware and to recommend appropriate 
measures to protect consumers.   

Under 18 Del. C. § 4122, an insurer is required to 
provide written notice to insureds or applicants of the 
reasons for declining an application or for canceling or 
nonrenewing a policy of insurance on real or personal 
property.  The permissible reasons for cancellation or 
nonrenewal are listed in 18 Del. C. § 4123.  Under 18 Del. C. 
Chapter 25, surcharges would have to be approved under an 
appropriate rate filing by the insurer.  The purpose of this 
bulletin is to supersede Forms and Rates Bulletin 18 with 
respect to surcharges and to provide guidance with respect to 
the conditions under which insurers can issue notices of 
nonrenewal and/or impose surcharges upon renewal of 
residential homeowners insurance policies.  

2.0 Definitions
2.1 “Inquiry” means any contact initiated by the 

insured that is not the filing or reporting of a claim to the 
insurer.

2.2 “Minor claim” means claims for medical payments, 
claims for workers compensation, claims for mine 
subsidence or any claim where the payment by the insurer 
does not exceed the applicable deductible for the particular 
claim upon which benefits are paid including any adjustment 
required by reason of a successful subrogation.    

2.3 “Paid claim” means any actual payment by an 

insurer as a result of a claim for benefits that exceeds the 
applicable deductible for the particular claim.

2.4 “Unpaid claim” means a claim upon which the 
insurer has not yet made a payment or has not yet provided a 
benefit or a closed no-pay claim.  A claim is unpaid if an 
insurer obtains reimbursement by reason of subrogation.

2.5 “Natural phenomena related event” means damage 
caused by weather or natural phenomena, commonly 
referred to as “acts of God,” whether or not classified as an 
emergency by any federal or state authority. 

3.0 Limitations on Surcharges
3.1 No insurer authorized to do business in this State 

shall impose a surcharge at the inception of a homeowners 
insurance policy or upon renewal thereof  solely because of 
claims or losses due to natural phenomena related damage or 
a third-party act committed by someone who is not a resident 
of the insured dwelling, unless the claim or loss identifies or 
confirms an increase in hazard, a material change in the risk 
assumed or a breach of contractual duties, conditions or 
warranties that materially affect the nature or the insurability 
of the risk. However, this limitation shall not be construed to 
prohibit an insurer from offering to continue coverage on 
different terms and conditions if the insured fails to reduce 
the risk of additional or future claims or losses, either by 
effecting necessary repairs or taking other remedial action. 

3.2 No insurer authorized to do business in this State 
shall impose a surcharge on a premium of a homeowners 
insurance policy solely due to claim or loss frequency unless 
there have been two or more paid claims during the most 
recent three-year experience period.  In counting the number 
of claims for the purpose of this bulletin, the insurer shall not 
consider or count inquiries, unpaid claims, minor claims or 
for a loss caused by a natural phenomena related event.   

4.0 Limitations on Nonrenewals
4.1 No insurer authorized to do business in this State 

shall refuse to renew a homeowners insurance policy solely 
because of claims or losses due to natural phenomena related 
damage or a third-party act committed by someone who is 
not a resident of the insured dwelling, unless the claim or 
loss identifies or confirms an increase in hazard, a material 
change in the risk assumed or a breach of contractual duties, 
conditions or warranties that materially affect the nature or 
the insurability of the risk. However, this limitation shall not 
be construed to prohibit an insurer from offering to continue 
coverage on different terms and conditions if the insured 
fails to reduce the risk of additional or future claims or 
losses, either by effecting necessary repairs or taking other 
remedial action. 

4.2 No insurer authorized to do business in this State 
shall refuse to renew a homeowners insurance policy solely 
due to claim or loss frequency unless there have been two or 
more paid claims during the most recent three-year 
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experience period.  In counting the number of claims for the 
purpose of this bulletin, the insurer shall not consider or 
count inquiries, unpaid claims, minor claims or for a loss 
caused by a natural phenomena related event.

5.0 General Provisions
5.1 No insurer shall report any information related to 

claims not yet settled, inquiries or unpaid claims not 
countable for nonrenewal or surcharge purposes in Section 3 
above to the Comprehensive Loss Underwriting Exchange 
(“CLUE”) or other similar database.

5.2 Every insurer shall provide an advance annual 
notice to its insureds describing how the insurer considers 
claims history in determining whether to cancel, nonrenew 
or surcharge a policy as well as the maximum amount that 
the insurer could apply as a surcharge.  Such notice may be 
on the declarations page or as a notice that is sent to the 
insured separately or with the policy.

5.3 No insurer shall consider any claims history or loss 
experience, including data from CLUE or any other 
database, for purposes of cancellation or non-renewal for 
inquiries, unpaid claims or minor claims that occurred prior 
to providing the notice referred to in paragraph 5.2.  The 
insurer may use less than three years experience during the 
first three years after the first annual notice referred to in 
paragraph 5.2.

5.4 This bulletin shall take effect immediately.  This 
bulletin supersedes Forms and Rates Bulletin 18 which 
shall only be applicable to surcharges noticed between 
October 24, 1997 and the January 20, 2004.  

Donna Lee H. Williams
Insurance Commissioner

SURPLUS LINES BULLETIN NO. 6

PREMIUM TAX ON SURPLUS LINES INSURANCE
DEFINITION OF TAXABLE PREMIUM

Dated:  February 11, 2004

There has been some question about the treatment of 
policy fees when reporting premium amounts used to 
calculate insurance premium tax due to the State of 
Delaware on surplus lines insurance written in this State. 
The purpose of this Bulletin is to clarify the definition of 
taxable premium according to Delaware law, and to instruct 
surplus lines brokers in the proper reporting and calculation 
of premium tax.

It is the Department’s position that insurance premium 
tax should be calculated on premiums including any 

associated fees in consideration for surplus line insurance 
policies.  The Department bases its position on the 
following:

Chapter 19 of the Delaware Code, Title 18, deals 
exclusively with surplus line insurance.  Section 1917 
provides for a tax on surplus line insurance, which shall be 
computed on premiums received, exclusive of sums 
collected to cover federal and state taxes and examination 
fees, if any. This tax shall be at the same rate as applies to 
premiums for like kinds of insurance written by authorized 
insurers under Title 18.  

Chapter 7 of Title 18, addresses the general premium tax 
provisions as they apply to authorized insurers.  18 Del. C., § 
702(a) requires all insurers to report gross direct premium 
income, including policy, membership and other fees, 
assessments and all other considerations for insurance 
(emphasis added) on risks located in this State, after 
deducting amounts for returned premiums on cancelled 
policies and the unabsorbed portion of any deposit premium 
and the amount returned to policyholders as dividends and 
similar returns, whether paid in cash or used for reduction of 
premiums.  18 Del. C., § 702(c)(1) specifies a tax rate of 
1.75% and § 707(a) specifies an additional .25%, for a total 
premium tax of 2%, upon this gross direct premium income 
as reported according to § 702(a).

In addition, 18 Del. C., § 2703 defines premium as “the 
consideration for insurance by whatever name called.  Any 
"assessment," or any "membership," "policy," "survey," 
"inspection," "service" or similar fee or other charge in 
consideration for an insurance contract is deemed part of the 
premium.”

Therefore, it is determined that all surplus lines brokers 
must consistently include all associated policy fees in the 
calculation of taxable premium, and submit payment of 
insurance premium taxes based on policy premium including 
policy fees as required in Title 18.  This ruling shall be 
effective immediately.

Donna Lee H. Williams
Insurance Commissioner
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 9, MONDAY, MARCH 1, 2004



CALENDAR OF EVENTS/HEARING NOTICES1216
DELAWARE STATE FIRE 
PREVENTION COMMISSION

Notice Of Public Hearing

The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will 
hold a hearing pursuant to 16 Del.C. §6603 and 29 Del.C.
101 on Tuesday, April 20, 2004, at 1:00 P.M. and 7:00 P.M. 
in the Commission Chamber, Delaware State Fire School, 
Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove Road, 
Dover, Delaware.  The Commission is proposing changes to 
the following Regulations.

This regulation has been revised to reflect consolidation 
of numerous policies and an upgrade in training 
requirements and certification of Ambulance Attendants to 
Delaware Emergency Medical Technicians Basics 
implemented since 1998 by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.

Persons may view the proposed changes to the 
Regulations between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., 
Monday through Friday, at the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission, Delaware State Fire School, 
Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove Road, 
Dover, Delaware, 19904, or Office of the State Fire Marshal 
located at the Delaware Fire Service Center, 1537 Chestnut 
Grove Road, Dover, Delaware, 19904, or the Regional State 
Fire Marshal’s Offices located 2307 MacArthur Road, New 
Castle, Delaware and 22705 Park Avenue, Georgetown, 
Delaware, 19947.  The webpage address is 
www.delawarestatefiremarshal.com under the tabs 
“Technical Services” and “Proposed Changes”.

Persons may present their views in writing by mailing 
their views to the Commission at the above addresses prior 
to the hearing, and the Commission will consider those 
responses received before 10:a.m. on April 19, 2004, or by 
offering testimony at the Public Hearing.  If the number of 
persons desiring to testify at the Public Hearing is large, the 
amount of time allotted to each speaker will be limited. 
There will be a reasonable fee charge for copies of the 
proposed changes.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
PESTICIDES SECTION

NOTICE

The State of Delaware, Department of Agriculture, will 
hold a public hearing on April 28, 2004, 6 p.m., in the 
Conference Room, Delaware Department of Agriculture 
Building, 2320 S. Dupont Hwy., Dover, DE.

The hearing is being held for the purpose of receiving 
information, factual evidence, and public reaction as it 

relates to proposed amendments to the Pesticide Regulations 
under Title 3, Delaware Code, Chapter 12, Pesticide Law. 
The hearing will be conducted in accordance with Title 29, 
Chapter 101, Administrative Procedures Act.

Beginning at 6 p.m., comments will be received relating 
to the numerous grammatical corrections proposed 
throughout the current regulations.  The proposed 
amendments  include a revised format of numerically coded 
paragraphs.  Substantive changes under the proposed 
amendment include further restrictions on the distribution of 
restricted use pesticides (paragraph 14.2.1.2); and additional 
prohibitions on the open burning of any pesticides or 
pesticide containers (16.1.1.3).

Title 3, Delaware Code, Section 1237, provides the 
Department with the authority to issue regulations pursuant 
to this statute.

Interested parties may obtain a copy of the proposed 
amendments by calling the Department at 1-800-282-8685; 
by writing the Delaware Department of Agriculture, 2320 S. 
Dupont Hwy., Dover, DE  19901; or, by visiting the Register 
of Regulations site at:  http://www.delregs.state.de.us/
index.html.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS 
PROTECTION

NOTICE

Regulations For Training Of Paid Feeding Assistants

The Department of Health and Social Services, Division 
of Long Term Care Residents Protection, has prepared four 
(4) revised proposed Regulations For Training of Paid 
Feeding Assistants pursuant to 16 Del.C. Section 1101(f). 
The remainder of the regulations addressing issues such as 
definitions, general requirements, training program 
requirements, curriculum and competencies appear as final 
regulations elsewhere in this edition of the Register of 
Regulations.  The following four (4) proposed regulations, 
revised or extended after public hearings on February 3 and 
February 4, will be the subject of a further public hearing: 
Regulations 73.104, 73.201, 73.203A and the Introduction.

Invitation For Public Comment

A public hearing will be held as follows:
Monday, April 5, 2004, 9:00 AM
Room 301, Main Building
Herman Holloway Campus
1901 N. DuPont Highway
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New Castle

For clarification or directions, please call Gina 
Loughery at 302-577-6661.

Written comments are also invited on these proposed 
revised regulations and should be sent to the following 
address:

Robert Smith
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
3 Mill Road, Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806

Written comments will be accepted until the conclusion 
of the public hearing.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
NOTICE

Nature of the Proceedings

Pursuant to 16 Delaware Code, Chapter 26A, Section 
2631, these new regulations “Hearing Aid Loan Bank 
Program Regulations” establish requirements for a Hearing 
Aid Loan Program within the Division of Public for children 
under 3 years of age with a diagnosed hearing impairment.

Notice of Public Hearing

The Community Health Care Access Section, Division 
of Public Health, Department of Health and Social Services 
will hold a public hearing to discuss the proposed Hearing 
Aid Loan Bank Program Regulations.  The public hearing 
will be held on March 24, 2004 at 9:30 a.m., in the Third 
Floor Conference Room of the Jesse Cooper Building, 
Federal and Water Streets, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for 
review by calling the following location:

Community Health Care Access Section
Jesse Cooper Building
Federal and Water Streets, Dover, Delaware
Telephone: (302) 744-4554

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at 
this hearing should contact David Walton at (302) 744-4700 
by March 23, 2004.  Anyone wishing to submit written 
comments as a supplement to or in lieu of oral testimony 
should submit such comments by March 31, 2004 to:

David P. Walton, Hearing Officer
Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903-0637

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
NOTICE

Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) Transitional Resource 
Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health 
and Social Services/Division of Social Services (DHSS/
DSS) is proposing to amend the policy in the Division of 
Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates to time 
limitations for the Relative Caregivers’ (Non-Parent) 
Transitional Resource Program.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning this notice must submit same to Sharon 
L. Summers, Policy and Program Implementation Unit, 
Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, 
Delaware 19720-0906 by March 31, 2004.  

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
NOTICE

Food Stamp Program 

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / 
Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program is proposing to 
amend the policy of the Food Stamp Program in the Division 
of Social Services Manual (DSSM).  

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program 
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
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906, New Castle, Delaware by March 31, 2004.
The action concerning the determination of whether to 

adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

• Excludes educational income (financial assistance) 
for food stamp purposes. 

• Removes the reference to PAN (Program of 
Assistance Nutrition) income which is no longer 
counted for food stamp purposes per federal rules.  

Citations

• Farm Bill Section 4102 (Simplified Definition of 
Income) allows a State the option to exclude certain 
types of income that are not counted under the 
State’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) cash assistance or Medicaid programs. 
Under this provision, States are allowed to exclude: 
educational assistance not counted under Medicaid; 
State complementary assistance not counted under 
section 1931 of Medicaid; and any type of income 
not counted under section 1931 of Medicaid or 
TANF.

• The Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) issued 
Administrative Notice 04-2003: Guidance on the 
Treatment of Nutritional Assistance Program 
(NAP) Benefit. Under the new guidance, States will 
no longer count NAP benefits from Puerto Rico 
when determining eligibility and benefits.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
NOTICE

Food Stamp Program Electronic Benefit Transfer

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health 
and Social Services/Division of Social Services (DHSS/
DSS) is proposing to amend the policy of the Food Stamp 
Program in the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) 
as it relates to Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT).

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning this notice must submit same to Sharon 
L. Summers, Policy and Program Implementation Unit, 

Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 906, New Castle, 
Delaware 19720-0906 by March 31, 2004.  

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL 

CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

NOTICE

Title Of The Regulations:
Regulations Governing Aboveground Storage Tanks

Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
The Regulations Governing Aboveground Storage Tanks 

(ASTs) were created under the authority of the Jeffrey Davis 
Aboveground Storage Tank Act, Title 7, Del.C. Chapter 74A. 
The draft Regulations comprise five sections addressing 
AST installations, AST upgrades, AST inspections, and 
financial responsibility and remediation requirements for 
ASTs.

Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The 
Proposal:  

None known

Notice Of Public Comment:
A Public Hearing will be held March 30, 2004 at 

6:00pm at the DNREC, 391 Lukens Drive, New Castle, DE 
office. 

Prepared By:  
Jill Williams Hall ,  302-395-2500 Date  February 13, 

2004

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Title Of The Regulations:
Amendments To Shellfish Regulations

Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
Oyster harvesting regulations need to be updated to 

cover the harvest season and  the harvestable amount of 
oysters that can be taken annually in the direct market 
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natural oyster bed fishery.
Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The 
Proposal:  

None

Notice Of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their comments or request 

additional information by contacting the Fisheries Section, 
Division of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 
19901, (302) 739-3441.  A public hearing on this proposed 
amendment will be held on March 29, 2004 at 7:30 PM in 
the DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 
19901.  The record will remain open for written comments 
until 12:00 PM, March 31, 2004.

Prepared By:
Richard Cole (302) 739-4782, January 10, 2003.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Title Of The Regulations:
Tidal Finfish Regulations

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The coast wide requirements for recreational black sea 

bass fishermen, as mandated by the Atlantic States Marine 
Fisheries Commission’s Fishery Management Plan (FMP), 
in 2004 are a 12.0 inch minimum size length with a 25 fish 
creel limit and a closed season from September 8, 2004 
through September 21, 2004 and December 1, 2004 through 
December 31, 2004.  Delaware currently has an twelve (12) 
inch minimum size limit, a 25 fish creel limit and a closed 
season during September 2 through September 15 and 
December 1 through December 31.  It is proposed to amend 
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 3507 to establish adjusted dates 
for the closed season to September 8, 2004 through 
September 21, 2004 and December 1, 2004 through 
December 31, 2004 in order to be in compliance with the 
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s FMP.

The Summer Flounder Fishery Management Plan 
(FMP) details the annual process that the Summer Flounder 
Fishery Management Board, the Mid-Atlantic Management 
Council and the National Marine Fisheries Service are to use 
to establish conservation equivalency for the recreational 
summer flounder fishery.  These agencies agreed that the 
states would implement conservationally equivalent 
measures rather than a coastwide management program for 
summer flounder in 2004.  Delaware is obligated to cap the 
summer flounder recreational harvest at 139,000 fish for 
2004.  This is 35,000 more fish than were estimated to have 
been landed in 2003.  Given that over one million marine 
recreational fishing trips occur annually in Delaware and that 

the 2000 year class of summer flounder was reported to be 
above average thus suggesting that more fish may be 
available for harvest in 2004; it is unadvisable to 
significantly alter the management measures that were in 
place for 2003.  However, landings information suggests that 
by increasing the bag limit by two additional fish only a 
minimal impact on total harvest will occur.  As such, it is 
proposed that the seven management options that were 
presented for the 2003 fishing season, which included size 
ranges from 16 inches to 17.5 inches and creel limits ranging 
from 4 fish to 7 fish, and a variety of seasonal closures be 
presented again for public review and comment.  The 
adopted management approach for 2003 included a 17.5 inch 
minimum size, and 4 fish creel limit.  This particular option 
could be slightly adjusted by adding two additional fish to 
the creel limit for 2004.  It is anticipated that the minimum 
size limit of 17.5 inches would be the major factor 
restraining the catch in 2004.

Possible Terms Of The Agency Action
Delaware is required to comply with specific Fishery 

Management Plans approved by the Atlantic States Marine 
Fisheries Commission.  Failure to do so could result in 
complete closure of a specific fishery in Delaware

Notice Of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their comments or request 

additional information by contacting the Fisheries Section, 
Division of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 
19901, (302) 739-3441.  A public hearing on these proposed 
amendments will be held on March 25, 2004 at 7:00 PM in 
the DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 
19901.  The record will remain open for written comments 
until 4:30 PM, March 30, 2004.

Prepared By:
Richard Cole, (302) 739-4782, January 13, 2004

DIVISION OF SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION
REGISTER NOTICE

SAN # 2001-21

Title Of The Regulations:
Delaware Sediment and Stormwater Regulations.

Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
Currently, the Regulations specify a hierarchy of 

preference when stormwater management practices are 
designed for new land development projects.  The 
regulations would be amended to allow a greater degree of 
flexibility for the types of practices that could be considered 
for approval.  This change will result in more low-impact 
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stormwater practices such as bio-retention, bio-swales and 
buffers being used to meet water quality requirements.

The existing design criterion for the water quality 
requirement is to provide extended detention for the first 
inch of runoff.  This would be changed to a specific design 
storm for the corresponding land use.  The proposed 
regulation changes provide more incentives for using 
“Conservation Design” resulting in site development with 
less paved surface and less runoff.

Possible Terms Of The Agency Action:
No sunset date is applicable.

Notice Of Public Comment:
Final hearing scheduled for April 20, 2004, 6:00 p.m. at 

the DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, 
Delaware.

Prepared By:
Frank M. Piorko 302-739-4411 2/10/04

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND 
HOMELAND SECURITY
BAIL ENFORCEMENT AGENTS

NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Safety 
and Homeland Security, Division of State Police, in 
accordance with 24 Del.C. §5404(a) proposes to amend 
several rules dealing with Bail Enforcement Agent.

Amend Rule 1.0 - Licensing.  This amendment will 
further protect the public from a Bail Enforcement Agent 
that may endanger his or her safety while performing their 
duties.

Amend Rule 4.0 – Firearms Policy.  This amendment 
will require Bail Enforcement Agents to provide proof of 
firearm training on a yearly basis.

Amend Rule 5.0 – Nightstick, PR24, Mace, Peppergas, 
Chemical Spray, and Handcuffs.  This amendment requires 
Bail Enforcement Agents to have training by certified 
instructors to further protect the public from anyone that may 
endanger his or her safety while in the performance of a Bail 
Enforcement Agent.

Amend Rule 6.0 – Training.  This amendment 
eliminates the waiver for initial licensing training to be done 
by January 19, 2003.

If you wish to view the complete Rules, contact Ms. 
Peggy Anderson at (302) 739-5991.  Any persons wishing to 
present views may submit them in writing, by March 31, 
2004, to Delaware State Police, Detective Licensing, P.O. 
BOX 430, DOVER, DE, 19903.

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN 
COMMISSION

P.O. Box 7360
25 State Police Drive

West Trenton, New Jersey 08628-0360

The Delaware River Basin Commission will meet 
Tuesday, March 2 and Wednesday, March 3, 2004 in 
Hawley, Pennsylvania at the PPL Wallenpaupack 
Environmental Learning Center. For more information 
contact Pamela M. Bush, Esq., Commission Secretary and 
Assistant General Counsel, at 609-883-9500 extension 203.
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