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The Delaware Register of Regulations is an 
official State publication established by authority 
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the 
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any 
regulations that are proposed to be adopted, 
amended or repealed and any emergency 
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of 
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the 

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is 
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An 
example would be:

6 DE Reg. 1541-1542 (06/01/03)

Refers to Volume 6, pages 1541-1542 of the 
Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2003.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) 
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is 
$135.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of 
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more 
information contact the Division of Research at 
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties 
may participate in the process by which 
administrative regulations are adopted, amended 
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which 
the validity and applicability of regulations is 
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an 
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or 
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text 
of such proposals, together with copies of the 
existing regulation being adopted, amended or 
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the 
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this 
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the 
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the 
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the 
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of 
the agency to act, and reference to any other 
regulations that may be impacted or affected by 
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of 
the place to which and the final date by which such 
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, 
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not 
be scheduled less than 20 days following 
publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will 
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, 
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal 
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice 
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made 
timely written requests of the agency for advance 
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be 
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the 
proposal is published in the Register of 
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and 
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written 
materials, upon all the testimonial and written 
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evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by 
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether 
a regulation should be adopted, amended or 
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order 
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the 
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief 
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of 
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A 
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or 
to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and 
information received;  (4)  The exact text and 
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6) 
Any other findings or conclusions required by the 
law under which the agency has authority to act; 
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the 
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, 
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less 
than 10 days from the date the order adopting, 
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal 
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the 
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an 
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the 
making or consideration of a proposed adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an 
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of 
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a 
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, 
no judicial review of a regulation is available 
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court 
within 30 days of the day the agency order with 
respect to the regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 

REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
DATE           DATE        TIME

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

AUGUST 1 JULY 15 4:30 P.M.

SEPTEMBER 1 AUGUST 16 4:30 P.M.

OCTOBER 1 SEPTEMBER 15 4:30 P.M.

NOVEMBER 1 OCTOBER 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

Deborah A. Porter, Interim Supervisor; 
Rochelle Yerkes, Administrative Specialist II.; 
Sandra F. Clark, Administrative Specialist II; 
Kathleen Morris, Unit Operations Support 
Specialist; Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar of 
Regulations; Victoria Schultes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Rhonda McGuigan, Administrative 
Specialist I; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative 
Librarian; Lisa Schieffert, Research Analyst; 
Judi Abbott, Administrative Specialist I; Alice 
W. Stark, Legislative Attorney; Ted Segletes, 
Paralegal;  Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop 
Supervisor;  Marvin L. Stayton, Printer;  Don 
Sellers, Printer.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed 
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that 
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with 
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with 
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
Part X Ambulance Regulations............................................................................................... 7 DE Reg.  1039 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION (TITLE 24 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)

100  Board of Accountancy.................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.      7  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  494  (Final)

700  Board of Chiropractic..................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    36  (Final)
1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies................ 7  DE Reg. 1173 (Final)

7  DE Reg. 1375 (Prop.)
1400 Board of Electrical Examiners....................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  697  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1167 (Final)
1700 Respiratory Care Practice Advisory Council of the Delaware Board of Medical

 Practice........................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  384  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  761  (Final)

1900  Board of Nursing 7  DE Reg.  158  (Final)
2100  Board of Optometry...................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  545  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  912  (Final)
2500  Board of Pharmacy, ..................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  239  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  309  (Final)
7  DE Reg.  546  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  693 (Errata)
7  DE Reg.  914  (Final)

3.0, Pharmacy Requirements & 15.0 Automated Pharmacy Systems ............................ 7  DE Reg. 1237 (Prop.)
2700  Board of Professional Land Surveyors......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  385  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  918  (Final)
3600  Board of Professional Geologists................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  853  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1342 (Final)
3900  Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners.................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  854  (Prop.)
5300  Board of Massage and Bodywork................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    40  (Final)

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Regulation Docket No. 50, Consideration of Rules, Standards and Indices to Ensure

Reliable Electrical Service by Electric Distribution Companies...................... ......    ..... 7  DE Reg.  243  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  762  (Final)

Regulation Docket No. 53, Regulations Governing Termination of Residential Electric
or Natural Gas Service by  Public Utilities for Non-Payment During Extreme
Seasonal Temperature Conditions................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  550  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  922  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Plant Pests ................................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1235(Emer.)
Poultry ................................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1038(Emer.)
Poultry, Order Rescinding Emergency Regulation 7  DE Reg. 1236(Emer.)

7  DE Reg. 1374(Emer.)
Poultry Disease Prevention Regulations........................................................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1241(Prop.)
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Regulations..................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  119  (Prop.

7  DE Reg.  497  (Final)
Nutrient Management Program

703  Mandatory Nutrient Management Plan Reporting Implementation Regulation............. 7  DE Reg.  160  (Final)
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Harness Racing Commission
Rules 3.0 Officials, 6.0 Types of Races and 8.0 Veterinary Practices, Equine

Health Medication........................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   861 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1512 (Final)

Rule 7.0, Rules of the Race, Sections 7.6.6.3 and 7.3.9......................................................... 7  DE Reg.    42  (Final)
Rule 8.3.3.5, Erythropietin..................................... ......  ................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1378 (Prop.)

Pesticides Section
Pesticide Regulations.............................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1056 (Prop.)

Thoroughbred Racing Commission
Rule 1.28, Meeting.................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  316  (Final)
Rule 3.02, Appointment of Stewards..................... ......  ................................................... 7  DE Reg.  316  (Final)
Rule 6.02,  Requirements for Owner's Registration............................................................... 7  DE Reg.  389  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  766  (Final)
Rule 13.05 Thirty Day Prohibition-Racing Claimed Horse .................................................. 7  DE Reg.  324  (Final)
Rule 13.12, Claiming Races................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  978  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1540 (Final)
Rule 15.1.3.1.13, Erythropietin (EPO)................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  978  (Prop.)
Rule 15.12, Intermittent Hypoxic Treatment by External Device.......................................... 7  DE Reg.  389  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  766  (Final)
Rule 19.01, Procedure Before Stewards................ ......   ........................................................ 7  DE Reg.  316  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION  (TITLE 14 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)
101  Delaware Student Testing Program........................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.    51  (Final)

7  DE Reg.  325  (Final)
103  School Accountability for Academic Performance 7  DE Reg.    57  (Final)

7  DE Reg. 1244 (Prop.)
104  Education Profiles for the Schools, Districts and the State.................................................... 7  DE Reg.    65  (Final)
106 Teacher Appraisal Process-Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II).................. 7  DE Reg. 1072 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1384 (Prop.)
107 Specialist Appraisal Process-Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)............... 7  DE Reg. 1072 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1384 (Prop.)
108 Administrator Appraisal Process-Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)....... 7  DE Reg. 1072 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1384 (Prop.)
215  Strategic Planning.................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    10  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  330  (Final)
220  Diversity................................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  554  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  887  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1177 (Final)

225  Prohibition of Discrimination................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  556  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  888  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1178 (Final)

230  Promotion Regulation............................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  556  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  927  (Final)

235  Teacher of the Year................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  889  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1178 (Final)

240  Recruiting & Training of Professional Educators for Critical Curricular Areas.................... 7  DE Reg.  703  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  994  (Final)

245  Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards Scholarship....................................................... 7  DE Reg.  707  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  998 (Final)

255  Definitions of Public School and Private School................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  254  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  618  (Final)

275  Charter Schools...................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  125  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  557  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  928  (Final)

505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas........................................................... 7  DE Reg.  982  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1344 (Final)

511  Credit Requirements for High School Graduation................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   891 (Prop.)
511  Credit Requirements for High School Graduation................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   982 (Prop.)
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7  DE Reg. 1344 (Final)
515  High School Diplomas and Certificate of Performance......................................................... 7  DE Reg.   891 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1344 (Final)

520  Options for Awarding Credit Toward High School Graduation............................................ 7  DE Reg.   891 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1344 (Final)

608  Unsafe School Choice Option for Students in Persistently Dangerous Schools and for
Students Who Have Been Victims of a Violent Felony.......................................................... 7  DE Reg.    67  (Final)

610  Comprehensive School Discipline Program.......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    10  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  331  (Final)

612 (Formerly 876) Possession, Use or Distribution of Drugs and Alcohol ................................ 7  DE Reg.  403  (Prop.)
................................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  767  (Final)

615  School Attendance................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  130  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  619  (Final)

707 Salary continuation: Operation Noble Eagle and Enduring Freedom..................................... 7  DE Reg.  708  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1000  (Final)

805  The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control Program ...................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1393 (Prop.)
811  School Health Record Keeping Requirements,...................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    68  (Final)
815  Physical Examinations and Screening .................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   68   (Final)
817 Administration of Medications and Treatments...................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   68   (Final)
878  Guidelines for the School Districts to Comply with the Gun Free Schools Act.................... 7  DE Reg.   12   (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  333  (Final)
881  Releasing Students to Persons Other Than Their Parents or Legal Guardians...................... 7  DE Reg.  131  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  504  (Final)
901 Education of Homeless Children & Youth............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  254  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  620  (Final)
1025 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA)........................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)
1102 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in Production on March 1, 2002...... 7  DE Reg.  563  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  933  (Final)
1049 DIAA Definitions.................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)
1050 DIAA Sportsmanship............................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)
1051 DIAA Senior High School Interscholastic Athletics............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  406  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  770  (Final)
7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)

1052 DIAA Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic Athletics................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)

1053 DIAA Waiver Procedure............................... ...... .......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)

1054 DIAA Investigative Procedure...................... ...... .......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)

1055 DIAA Appeal Procedure............................... ...... .......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)

1056 Recognition of Officials’ Associations................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1081 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1251 (Prop.)

1101 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in Production After March 1, 1998.. 7  DE Reg. 1123 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1545 (Final)

1105 School Transportation........................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1123 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1546 (Final)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
120  Required Inservice Training Activities For Delaware Public School Administrators,

Repeal Of ............................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  894  (Prop.)
120  Required Inservice Training Activities For Delaware Public School Administrators,

Repeal Of ............................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1180 (Final)
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301  General Regulations for Certification of Professional Public School Personnel................... 7  DE Reg.  161  (Final)
321  Certification Agriculture Teacher.................. ......   .............................................................. 7  DE Reg.  416  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
322  Certification Business Education Teacher............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  417  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
325  Certification English Teacher......................... ......  ............................................................... 7  DE Reg.  418  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
328  Certification Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive...................................................... 7  DE Reg.  418  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
329  Certification Foreign Language Secondary........................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  419  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
330  Certification Foreign Language Teacher Elementary............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  420  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
333  Certification Journalism Teacher, Repeal.............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  412  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  777  (Final)
335  Certification Mathematics Teacher........................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  421  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
337  Certification Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  422  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
338  Certification Social Studies Teacher...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  423  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
339  Certification Speech Teacher, Repeal.................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  412  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  777  (Final)
341 Certification Trade and Industrial (T & I) Teacher .......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1294 (Prop.)
342  Endorsement Trade and Industrial Teacher............................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  986  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1347 (Final)
343  Certification Art Teacher Comprehensive............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  424  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
344  Certification Art Teacher Elementary.................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  424  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
345  Certification Art Teacher Secondary...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  425  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
346  Certification Heath Education Teacher.................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  425  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
348  Music Teacher Comprehensive.............................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  426  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
349  Music Teacher Elementary..................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  427  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
350  Certification Music Teacher Secondary................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  427  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
351  Certification Physical Education Teacher Comprehensive.................................................... 7  DE Reg.  428  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
352  Certification Physical Education TeacherElementary............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  428  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
353  Certification Physical Education Teacher Secondary............................................................ 7  DE Reg.  429  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
354  Certification Reading Specialist............. .......   ..................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   430 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
355  Certification Early Care and Education Teacher.................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   431 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
356  Certification Primary Teacher (Grades K-4).......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   432 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
357  Certification Middle Level Teacher (Grades 5-8).................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   433 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
358  Certification Bilingual Teacher (Spanish)Primary/middle Level.......................................... 7  DE Reg.   435 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
361  Certification Teacher Exceptional Children Special Education/Elementary......................... 7  DE Reg.   436 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)
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362  Certification Teacher Exceptional Children Special Education/Secondary........................... 7  DE Reg.   437 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)

363  Certification Exceptional Children Teacher Gifted/Talented................................................. 7  DE Reg.   410 (Prop.)
364  Certification Interpreter Tutor for the Hearing Impaired....................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
365  Certification Resident Advisor............................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
373  Certification Coordinator, Cooperative Occupational/Vocational Education and/or Work-

Study Programs....................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1347 (Final)

374  Certification Counselor Career Guidance and Placement...................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1347 (Final)

375  Certification Counselor – Elementary School....................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   438 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)

376  Certification Counselor – Secondary School......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   439 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   775 (Final)

377  Certification Human Relations Specialists, Repeal............................................................... 7  DE Reg.   412 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   777 (Final)

378  Intern, Repeal......................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   412 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   777 (Final)

382 Certification School Social Work Services..... ...... .......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1298 (Prop.)
383  Visiting Teacher..................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   986 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1347 (Final)
390 Delaware Licensure for Teachers Holding National Board for Professional Teaching

Standards Certification............................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   585 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   955 (Final)

392  Middle Level Certification, Repeal........................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   412 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   777 (Final)

605  Student Rights and Responsibilities....................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   187 (Final)
905  Federal Programs General Complaint Procedures................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   188 (Final)
1501 Knowledge, Skills And Responsibility Based Supplements For Educators ........................ 7  DE Reg. 1396 (Prop.)
1504  Delaware Performance Appraisal System for Administrators............................................. 7  DE Reg.     13 (Prop.)
1505 Professional Growth Programs, Repeal of 7  DE Reg. 1400 (Prop.)
1507 Professional Growth Salary Increments................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   709 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1001 (Prop.)
1509 Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   712 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1402 (Prop.)
1510  Issuance of Initial License.................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   262 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   623 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   714 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1181 (Final)

1511  Issuance and Renewal of Continuing License...................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   197 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   988 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1350 (Final)

1512  Issuance & Renewal of Advanced License.......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   585 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   956 (Final)

1514  Revocation of Licenses................................ ......  ............................................................... 7  DE Reg.   265 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   627 (Final)

1516  Standard Certificate.............................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   267 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   629 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   718 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1004 (Final)
7  DE Reg. 1300 (Prop.)

1526  Certification English to Speakers of Other Languages........................................................ 7  DE Reg.  440  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)

1528 Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive.......................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1404 (Prop.)
1529 Foreign Language Teacher Secondary.................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1404 (Prop.)
1530  Certification - Administrative - School Principal................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  190  (Final)
1530  Certification - Administrative - School Principal................................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1302 (Prop.)
1531  Certification - Administrative - School Leader I................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  190  (Final)
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1532  Certification - Administrative - School Leader II................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  190  (Final)
1533 Foreign Language Teacher Elementary................................................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1404 (Prop.)
1537 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary................................................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1404 (Prop.)
1540  Certificate Science Teacher.................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  441  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
1541  Standard Certificate – Mathematics Teacher –Middle Level............................................... 7  DE Reg.  442  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
1542  Standard Certificate – Science Teacher –Middle Level....................................................... 7  DE Reg.  443  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  775  (Final)
1547 (Formerly 347) Certification Library/Media Specialist........................................................ 7  DE Reg.  258  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  632  (Final)
1556 Standard Certificate Primary Teacher........... ...... .......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1305 (Prop.)
1557 Standard Certificate Middle Level Teacher . ................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1307 (Prop.)
1558 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary/Middle Level............................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1404 (Prop.)
1563 Standard Certificate, Teacher of Gifted and Talented Students............................................ 7  DE Reg.  779  (Final)
1580 (Formerly 380)  Certification School Nurse......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  260  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  633  (Final)
1584 Permits, School, Classroom Aides and Autistic Residential Child Care Specialists............ 7  DE Reg.   720 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1006 (Final)
1593  Delaware Professional Teaching Standards......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.     75 (Final)

PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS BOARD
Rule 12, Binding Grievance Arbitration................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  397  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  823  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
GAMING CONTROL BOARD

Bingo Regulations................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1409 (Prop.)
OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY
Lottery Regulations

Rule 30, Non-Discrimination on the Basis of Disability in Delaware Lottery Programs...... 7  DE Reg.  270  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  635  (Final)
7  DE Reg. 1010 (Final)

Video Lottery Regulations
Video Lottery, ........................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  587  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  958  (Final)
Video Lottery, Section 5.1, Technology Providers: Contracts; Requirements; Duties,

Section 7.15, Game Requirements................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  202  (Final)
Video Lottery, Section 5.0, Technology Providers: Contracts; Requirements; Duties,

Section 6.0, Agents: Duties, Section 7.0, Game Requirements....................................... 7  DE Reg.  206  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Adult Abuse Registry, Regulations Governing....................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    82  (Final)
Assisted Living Facilities, Regulations For............................................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1413 (Prop.)
Regulation 55.0, Neighborhood Homes for Persons with Developmental Disabilities.......... 7  DE Reg.  132  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  504  (Final)
Regulation 73.0, Training of Paid Feeding Assistants............................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1133 (Prop.)
Training of Paid Feeding Assistants, Regulations for............................................................. 7  DE Reg.  895  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1186 (Final)
Training & Qualifications for Nursing Assistants and  Certified Nursing Assistants, .......... 7  DE Reg. 1309 (Prop.)

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
108 Hearing Aid Loan Bank Program Regulations................................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1134 (Prop.)
203 Cancer Treatment Program.............................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1427 (Prop.)
Home Health Agencies, Regulations for................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.  724  (Prop.)
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Pre-Hospital Advanced Care Directive Regulations.............................................................. 7  DE Reg.    85  (Final)
Public Drinking Water Systems, Regulations Governing....................................................... 7  DE Reg.    94  (Final)
Regulation for the Certification of Radiation Technologists/Technicians.............................. 7  DE Reg.  273  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  639  (Final)
Regulations Pertaining to the Testing of Newborn Infants for Metabolic, Hematologic and

Endocrinologic Disorders............................... ......  ................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1310 (Prop.)
Uniformed Controlled Substances Act, Rescheduling of Gamma Hydroxy Butyrate (GHB) 7  DE Reg.  608  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  960  (Final)
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Independent Therapist Provider for Physical Therapy and Related Services......................... 7  DE Reg.  745  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1011 (Final)

Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Program and Title XIX Medicaid State Plan................ 7  DE Reg.  277  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  643  (Final)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 4.18, Client Cost Sharing for 
Pharmaceutical Services.................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    23  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  609  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  751  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  962  (Final)

Beds During Absence from Long-Term Care Facilities.................................................. 7  DE Reg.    28  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  781  (Final)

DSSM
1009, Procedures for Serving Non-English Speaking Clients................................................ 7 DE Reg.  898  (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1191 (Final)
2027, Disqualification of Individuals Convicted of Drug Related Offenses ......................... 7 DE Reg.  299  (Prop.)

7 DE Reg.  647  (Final)
3001, Definitions.................................................................................................................... 7 DE Reg.  899  (Prop.)

7 DE Reg. 1191 (Final)
3006.3, TANF Employment and Training Activities.............................................................. 7 DE Reg.  899 (Prop.)

................................................................................................................................. 7 DE Reg. 1191 (Final)
3006.4, TANF Employment and Training Activities Which Constitute Participation Under

TANF .............................................................................................................................. 7 DE Reg.  899 (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1192 (Final)

3007,  TANF Supportive Services and Transitional Benefits................................................. 7 DE Reg.  900 (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1192 (Final)

3007.1,  Child Care................................................................................................................. 7 DE Reg.  900 (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1192 (Final)

3007.2,  Fees, Repeal Of......................................................................................................... 7 DE Reg.  900 (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1193 (Rep.)

3007.3,  CWEP Payments, Repeal Of.................................................................................... 7 DE Reg.  900 (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1193 (Rep.)

3007.4, Accessories For Work Or Training, Repeal of................................................... ....... 7 DE Reg.  901 (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1193 (Rep.)

3007.5, Remedial Medical, Repeal Of.................................................................................... 7 DE Reg.  901 (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1193 (Rep.)

3011.1,  Employment and Training Requirements................................................................. 7 DE Reg.  901 (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1194 (Final)

3011.2,  Sanctions for Failing to Comply With Requirements............................................... 7 DE Reg.  902 (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1194 (Final)

3021,  Unrelated Children....................................................................................................... 7 DE Reg.  902  (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1194 (Final)

3028.1, Mandatory Composition of Assistance Units............................................................ 7 DE Reg.  902  (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1195 (Final)

3028.2, Optional Composition of Assistance Units................................................................ 7 DE Reg.  902 (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1195 (Final)

3032.1.3,  Items/Services Covered......... .......................................................................... 7 DE Reg.  903 (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1195 (Final)

4001, Family Budget Group................... .......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  904 (Prop.)
7 DE Reg.  1197 (Final)
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4001.1, Examples to Illustrate Rules Regarding Budget Groups........................................... 7  DE Reg.  904  (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1197 (Final)

4005.1, Child Support Payments TANF. .......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.  905 (Prop.)
7 DE Reg. 1197 (Final)

5100, Legal Base..................................... .......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5304, Jurisdiction.................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5312, Responses to Hearing Requests.................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5402, Hearings on Decisions.................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5403, Availability of Documents and Records....................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
5405, Fair Hearing Procedures............................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96  (Final)
6103, Eligibility.............................................. ...... .......................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1135 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1556 (Final)
7002.1, Cash Assistance Overpayments......... .................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  905  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1197 (Final)
9007.1, Citizenship and Alien Status...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    29  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   334 (Final)
9038, Verification Subsequent to Initial Certification............................................................ 7  DE Reg.     30 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   336 (Final)
9056,  Earned Income............................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1136 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1556 (Final)
9057,  Unearned Income......................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1137 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1556 (Final)
9059,  Income Exclusions....................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1137 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1556 (Final)
9063.3, Income Averaging...................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.     30 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   336 (Final)
7  DE Reg. 1139 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1556 (Final)

9068.1 Certification Period Length........................................................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1431 (Prop.)
9079.1, Through 9079.7.......................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1140 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1560 (Final)
9081.3, Exempt Aliens............................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   150 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   516 (Final)
9085, Reporting Changes........................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.     30 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   150 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   336 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   516 (Final)

9085.2, DSS Responsibilities: Actions on Changes............................................................... 7  DE Reg.   336 (Final)
14300,  Citizenship and Alienage........................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   212 (Final)
14960, Cost Sharing................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.     23 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   609 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   962 (Final)

15120.2, Financial Eligibility................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.     32 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   339 (Final)

15200, Transitional Medicaid/Initial Eligibility..................................................................... 7  DE Reg.     32 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   339 (Final)

Temporary Assistance For Needy Families Services to Move Families to Work.................. 7  DE Reg.   905 (Prop.)
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program................................................. 7  DE Reg.  280  (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.  649  (Final)
7  DE Reg.  898  (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1197 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
1213 Recognition of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table for use in Determining 

Minimum Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Benefits............................................. ....... 7  DE Reg.   444 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   783 (Final)

1310, Standards for Prompt, Fair and Equitable Settlement of Claims for
Health Care Services............................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   100 (Final)
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1406, Third Party Administrators.......................... ......  ............................................................... 7  DE Reg.   300 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   668 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
DIVISION OF SECURITIES

Delaware Securities Act, Sections 600, 601, 608, 700 and 610............................................. 7  DE Reg.   213 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Delaware Prevailing Wage Regulation.......................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   152 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   518 (Final)
Payroll Debit Cards........................................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   906 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Aboveground Storage Tanks, Regs Governing ..................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1143 (Prop.)
Amendments to Delaware Phase II Attainment Demonstration For The Philadelphia-

Wilmington-Trenton Ozone Non-Attainment Area, Including A Revision of the Mid-
Course Review Schedule................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   907 (Prop.)

Chronic Violator Regulation................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1198 (Final)
7  DE Reg. 1569 (Final)

Delaware 1999 Milestone Compliance Demonstration” For the 1-hour National Ambient
Air Quality Standard Of Ground-Level Ozone .............................................................. 7  DE Reg.   345 (Final)

Delaware Phase II Attainment Demonstration For The Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton
Ozone Non-Attainment Area Including A Revision of the 2005 Mobile Source
Emission Budgets Using MOBILE6............................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   353 (Final)

DNREC Freedom of Information Act Regulations................................................................ 7  DE Reg. 1565 (Final)
Green Energy Fund Program Regulation 7  DE Reg. 1317 (Prop.)
Hazardous Waste, Regulations Governing............................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   615 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1202 (Final)
Reg. No. 30, Title V State Operating Permit Program, Section 2 Definitions....................... 7  DE Reg.   446 (Final)

7  DE Reg. 1573 (Final)
Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories,

Subpart B......................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.       6 (Errata)
Solid Waste, Regulations Governing...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1432 (Prop.)

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Horseshoe Crab Regs HC-1 thru HC-14................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   220 (Final)
Shellfish Regulation 3708....................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   308 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   785 (Final)
Shellfish Reg. No. 3768, Oyster Harvest Quota..................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1144 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1578 (Final)
Shellfish Reg. No. 3772, Oyster Harvesting Seasons............................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1144 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg. 1578 (Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. 3503, Striped Bass Recreational Fishing Season; Methods of

Take:  Creel Limit; Possession Limit 7  DE Reg.   909 (Prop.)
................................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1205 (Final)

Tidal Finfish Reg. 3504, Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions 7  DE Reg.   909 (Prop.)
................................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1205 (Final)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 3507, Black Sea Bass Size Limits; Trip Limits; Seasons; Quotas .... 7  DE Reg. 1145 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1575 (Final)

Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 3511, Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits; Seasons .. 7  DE Reg. 1145 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1575 (Final)

Tidal Finfish Reg. 3565, License Lotteries for Apprentices................................................... 7  DE Reg.   308 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   785 (Final)

DIVISION OF PARKS AND RECREATION
Delaware State Parks Rules & Regulations........... ......  ................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1327 (Prop.)

DIVISION OF SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION
Delaware Sediment and Stormwater Regulations ................................................................. 7  DE Reg. 1147 (Prop.)
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DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES
Surface Water Discharges Section

Surface Water Quality Standards..................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   448 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
Bounty Hunter/Bail Enforcement Agents...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1164 (Prop.)
Policy Regulation 45, Concerning Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program...................... 7  DE Reg.   524 (Final)

7  DE Reg.   756 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg. 1017 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR FAMILIES
DIVISION OF FAMILY SERVICES

Child Protection Registry........................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   340 (Final)
7  DE Reg.   488 (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.   787 (Final)

Requirements For Day Care Centers...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   911 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF HISTORICAL & CULTURAL AFFAIRS

Historic Preservation Tax Credit, Regulations Governing..................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1501 (Prop.)
HUMAN RELATIONS COMMISSION

Rule 10, Voluntary Termination and Dismissal & Rule 27, Reconsideration......................... 7  DE Reg.   34   (Prop.)
7  DE Reg.  793  (Final)

1502 Fair Housing Regulations............................. ......  ................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1505 (Prop.)

MERIT EMPLOYEES RELATIONS BOARD
Rules and Regulations.................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   493 (Prop.)

7  DE Reg.   799 (Final)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE
Executive Order No. 44, Creating Principles for Responsible Industry in Delaware............. 7  DE Reg.   103
Executive Order No. 45, Amendment to Executive Order 20 Regarding State

Employees’ Charitable Campaign................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   104
Executive Order No. 46, The Delaware Homeland Security Council ................................... 7  DE Reg.   358
Executive Order No. 47, Establishing the Delaware P-20 Council ....................................... 7  DE Reg.   358
Executive Order No. 48, Amending Executive Order Number Eleven.......................... .......    7  DE Reg.   677
Executive Order No. 49, Creating The Community Notification Working Group   .............. 7  DE Reg.   677
Executive Order No. 50, Creating The Governor’s Commission On Community-Based

Alternatives For Individuals With Disabilities................................................................ 7  DE Reg.   678
Executive Order No. 51, Declaring December 26, 2003 a Holiday....................................... 7  DE Reg. 1022
Executive Order No. 52, Expanding Bidding Competition for State-Funded Purchases....... 7  DE Reg. 1022
Executive Order No. 53, Reallocation of State Private Activity Bond Volume Cap for

Calendar Year 2003 and Initial Suballocation of State Private Activity Bond Volume
Cap for Calendar Year 2004.................... .................................................................... 7  DE Reg. 1213

Appointments.......................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   105
7  DE Reg.   360
7  DE Reg.   831
7  DE Reg. 1208
7  DE Reg. 1580
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text. 
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file 
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with 
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature 
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference 
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the 
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final 
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the 
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a 
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The 
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its 
regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Section 10005 (3 Del.C. §10005)

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Harness Racing Commission proposes 
amendments to Commission rules pursuant to 3 Del.C.
§10005 and 29 Del.C. §10115.  The Commission will accept 
written comments from June 1, 2004 through August 17, 
2004.  The Commission will hold a public hearing on the 
proposed rule amendments on August 18, 2004 at 10:15 a.m. 
at Harrington Raceway, Harrington, DE.  Written comments 
should be submitted to John Wayne, Department of 
Agriculture, 2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901. 

The Commission proposes to amend its Rules as 
follows:  1) enact a new rule 5.1.8.16 setting forth 
requirements for maintaining the confidentiality of test 
reports for the human drug testing program; and 2) delete 
rule 8.4.3.2.1 which currently provides that buckets and 
water shall be furnished by the State Veterinarian in the 
detention area where the specimens are collected from the 
horses.  

5.0 Licensees
5.1 General Provisions

5.1.1 Licenses Required
5.1.1.1 A person shall not participate in 

pari-mutuel racing under the jurisdiction of the Commission 
without a valid license issued by the Commission.  License 
categories shall include the following and others as may be 

established by the Commission:
5.1.1.1.1 racing participants and 

personnel (including owner, authorized agent, trainer, 
assistant trainer, driver, veterinarian, veterinary assistant, 
horseshoer and stable employees);

5.1.1.1.2 racing officials (including 
the State Steward, judges, racing secretary, paddock judge, 
horse identifier and equipment checker, clerk of the course 
official starter, official charter, official timer, photo finish 
technician, patrol judge, program director, State veterinarian 
and Lasix veterinarian);

5.1.1.1.3 persons employed by the 
association, or employed by a person or concern contracting 
with or approved by the association or Commission to 
provide a service or commodity, which requires their 
presence in a restricted area; and

5.1.1.1.4 all Commission employees.
5.1.1.2 Persons required to be licensed shall 

submit a completed application on forms furnished by the 
Commission and accompanied by the required fee, which 
shall be determined by the Commission.

5.1.1.3 License applicants may be required to 
furnish to the Commission a set(s) of fingerprints and a 
recent photograph and may be required to be re-fingerprinted 
or re-photographed periodically as determined by the 
Commission.

5.1.2 Licensing Reciprocity 
The Commission may license persons holding 

valid permanent (not temporary) licenses issued by 
Association of Racing Commissioners International (RCI) 
member racing jurisdictions in North America. The licensee 
must be in good standing; have cleared a Federal Bureau of 
Investigation (FBI) or Royal Canadian Mounted Police 
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(RCMP) fingerprint check within the previous 36 months, or 
such other period as is required by the Commission; file an 
application and/or affidavit as may be required by the 
Commission; and pay the required fees prior to participating 
in racing.

5.1.2.1 The Commission may recognize the 
issuance of racing licenses from RCI member jurisdictions in 
North America for purposes of issuance of licenses in this 
jurisdiction.

5.1.2.2 Only permanent licenses in good 
standing shall be considered. Temporary or probationary 
licenses shall not be considered.

5.1.2.3 An applicant must be in good standing 
in each jurisdiction where they hold or have held a racing 
license.

5.1.2.4 The applicant must have submitted 
fingerprints within the past 36 months, or such other period 
as is required by this jurisdiction, for the purpose of a 
criminal records check by the FBI or RCMP. The applicant 
shall provide this jurisdiction with proof of licensure from 
another RCI member jurisdiction to which fingerprints were 
submitted.

5.1.2.5 The applicant shall submit the license 
application form and license fee required by this jurisdiction.

5.1.2.6 Provided the above requirements have 
been met, this jurisdiction may issue either a license and/or a 
validation sticker.  The validation sticker shall be affixed to 
either a license issued by this jurisdiction or a valid license 
issued by another RCI member jurisdiction.  This 
Commission shall determine the period of time that such 
license shall be valid in Delaware.

5.1.2.7 In the event the licensee is absent 
from this jurisdiction, and upon payment of the applicable 
fees, a receipt shall be mailed to the licensee's permanent 
address. The receipt may then be presented at the 
Commission office by the licensee so that a Commission 
representative may affix the proper validation sticker to the 
racing license badge.

5.1.3 Multi-State Licensing Information
In lieu of a license application from this 

jurisdiction, the Commission shall accept an RCI Multi-State 
License and Information form.

5.1.4 Age Requirement
Applicants for licensing shall be a minimum of 

14 years of age unless otherwise specified in these rules.  An 
applicant may be required to submit a certified copy of his/
her birth certificate.  Persons under the age of 18 may be 
required to show evidence of active participation in a 
certified educational program or have a high school diploma 
or equivalent.

5.1.5 Consent to Investigation
The filing of an application for license shall 

authorize the Commission to investigate criminal and 
employment records, to engage in interviews to determine 

applicant's character and qualifications and to verify 
information provided by the applicant.

5.1.6 Consent to Search and Seizure
By acceptance of a license, a licensee consents 

to search and inspection by the Commission or its agents and 
to the seizure of any prohibited medication, drugs, 
paraphernalia or devices in accordance with state/provincial 
and federal law. Any drugs, medication or other materials 
seized may be forwarded by the Commission to the official 
chemist for analysis.

5.1.7 Licensees' Obligation to Protect Horses
Each person licensed by the Commission shall 

do all that is reasonable and within his/her power and scope 
of duty to guard against and prevent the administration of 
any drug, medication or other substance, including 
permissible medication in excess of the maximum allowable 
level, to any horse entered or to be entered in an official 
workout or race, as prohibited by these rules.

5.1.8 Substance Abuse/Addiction
5.1.8.1 All licensees shall be deemed to be 

exercising the privileges of their license, and to be subject to 
the requirements of these rules, when engaged in activities 
that could affect the outcome of a race or diminish the 
conditions of safety or decorum required in restricted areas.

5.1.8.2 It shall be a violation to exercise the 
privileges granted by a license from this Commission if the 
licensee:

5.1.8.2.1 Is engaged in the illegal sale 
or distribution of alcohol or a controlled substance; 

5.1.8.2.2 Possesses, without a valid 
prescription, a controlled substance; 

5.1.8.2.3 Is intoxicated or under the 
influence of alcohol or a controlled substance; 

5.1.8.2.4 Is addicted, having been 
determined to be so by a professional evaluation, to alcohol 
or other drugs and not engaged in an abstinence-based 
program of recovery acceptable to the Commission; 

5.1.8.2.5 Has in his/her possession 
within the enclosure any equipment, products or materials of 
any kind which are used or intended for use in planting, 
propagating, cultivating, growing, harvesting, 
manufacturing, compounding, converting, producing, 
processing, preparing, testing, analyzing, packaging, 
repackaging, storing, containing, concealing, injecting, 
ingesting, inhaling or otherwise introducing into the human 
body a controlled dangerous substance;

5.1.8.2.6 Refuses to submit to urine or 
drug testing, when notified that such testing is based on a 
random drug testing procedure, is based on reasonable 
suspicion that the person is using drugs or alcohol or is based 
on the licensee's acting as if in an impaired condition; or

5.1.8.2.7 Presently has drugs 
(controlled substances) or alcohol in his or her body.  With 
regard to alcohol, the results of a breathalyzer test showing a 
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reading of more than .05 percent of alcohol in the blood shall 
be the criterion for a finding of alcohol present in the body; 
provided, however, that with respect to licensees under the 
age of 21, the presence of any measurable level of alcohol in 
the blood shall constitute a violation.  With regard to other 
controlled substances, presence of the drug in any quantity 
measured by the testing instrument establishes the presence 
of the drug for purposes of this paragraph. 

5.1.8.3 At its discretion, the Commission may 
conduct random or episodic random drug testing, as well as 
testing based on reasonable suspicion, in order to ensure 
safety on the racetrack.

5.1.8.4 When conducted, random drug testing 
shall apply equally to all licensees who are, at the time of the 
random testing, exercising the privileges of their license in 
such ways as may affect the outcome of a race or diminish 
the conditions of safety or decorum required in restricted 
areas.

5.1.8.5 No notice need be given as to onset or 
cessation of random testing.

5.1.8.6 For licensees who are tested under the 
provisions in this chapter, and whose urine testing shows the 
presence of drugs (controlled substances) or alcohol, any 
field screening test results shall be confirmed by a laboratory 
acceptable to the Commission which shall include Gas 
Chromatography/Mass Spectrometry (GC/MS) procedures.

5.1.8.7 When the sample quantity permits, 
each test sample may be divided into portions so that one 
portion may be used for the confirmation procedure and 
another portion may be utilized to obtain an independent 
analysis of the urine sample.

5.1.8.8 The Commission shall provide for a 
secure chain of custody for the sample.

5.1.8.9 Assuming that laboratory procedures 
confirm the field screening test results, all costs for the 
transportation and testing of the sample, including the costs 
of the independent analysis of the divided portion of the 
sample, shall be the financial responsibility of the licensee.

5.1.8.10 Payment shall be due from the 
requesting person immediately upon receipt of notice of the 
costs.

5.1.8.11 A licensee penalized or restricted 
pursuant to this chapter shall retain rights of due process 
with respect to any determination of alleged violations which 
may adversely affect the right to hold a license.

5.1.8.12 If there has been a violation, as 
specified in 5.1.8.2 above, the following procedures will be 
followed:

5.1.8.12.1 The Commission or State 
Steward may, at its or his/her discretion, order the licensee to 
obtain a professional assessment to determine whether there 
is a substantial probability that the licensee is dependent on, 
or abuses, alcohol or other drugs or the Commission or State 
Steward may act on the information at hand.

5.1.8.12.2 Actions in the case of first 
violators may include revocation of the license, suspension 
of the license for up to six months, placing the violator on 
probation for up to 90 days or ordering formal assessment 
and treatment.

5.1.8.12.3 Treatment or assessment, if 
ordered, must meet the conditions set forth below.

5.1.8.12.4 The license of the person 
may be revoked or suspended for a period of up to one year 
or a professional assessment of the person may be ordered by 
the Commission or State Steward.

5.1.8.12.5 If a professional assessment 
indicates presence of a problem of alcohol or other drug 
abuse that is not treatable within the reasonably foreseeable 
future (360 days) the license may be suspended for a period 
of up to one year.

5.1.8.12.6 If a professional assessment 
indicates presence of a treatable problem of alcohol or other 
drug abuse or dependence, the Commission or State Steward 
may order the licensee to undergo treatment as a condition of 
continuing licensure.  Such treatment will be through a 
program or by a practitioner, acceptable to the licensee and 
the Commission or State Steward.  Required features of any 
program or practitioner acceptable to the Commission will 
be:

5.1.8.12.6.1 Accreditation or 
licensure by an appropriate government agency, if required 
by Delaware law;

5.1.8.12.6.2 A minimum of one year 
follow-up of formal treatment; and 

5.1.8.12.6.3 A formal contract 
indicating the elements of the treatment and follow up 
program that will be completed by the licensee and, upon 
completion, certified to the Commission or State Steward as 
completed.  To effect the contract, the licensee will authorize 
release of information by the treating agency, hospital or 
individual.

5.1.8.12.7 For third-time violators, the 
violator's license may be revoked and the violator may be 
deemed ineligible for licensure for up to five years.

5.1.8.13 Although relapse (failure to maintain 
abstinence) is not inevitable, it is common for relapse to 
occur in recovery from alcoholism or other substance 
dependence. Therefore, a licensee who is engaged in a 
formal program of recovery, and is compliant with all 
provisions other than abstinence, will not be regarded 
automatically as having committed a new violation.

5.1.8.14 When a licensee is determined to have 
failed in maintaining abstinence, the licensee shall furnish to 
the Commission or State Steward an assessment by the 
treating agency, hospital or individual practitioner indicating 
whether the licensee was compliant with the agreed upon 
program of recovery, and an opinion as to whether  a "new 
violation" occurred.
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5.1.8.15 The Commission or State Steward 
will determine whether a new violation has occurred in each 
instance.  If a new violation has occurred, the Commission or 
State Steward will proceed under  5.1.8.12.1 - 5.1.8.12.3 
above or 5.1.8.12.4 - 5.1.8.12.6 above. Otherwise, the 
licensee shall continue in the agreed upon program of 
recovery.

5.1.8.16 Reporting Requirements - 
Confidentiality

5.1.8.16.1 It shall be the obligation of 
the individual conducting the test to report, in writing, to the 
Chairman of the Commission or the Chairman's designee. 
The individual conducting the test shall immediately report 
any test indicating the presence of alcohol or controlled 
substances to the Chairman or the Chairman's designee.  In 
addition, on a schedule to be set by the Commission, the 
individual conducting the test shall make written report to 
the Commission the number of people tested each day, the 
names of the individuals tested each week, the number of 
tests which were found "positive" in any field screening test 
and the number confirmed to be "positive" by laboratory 
testing.

5.1.8.16.2 Any information received 
and records retained in the process of obtaining a test sample 
including, but not limited to, medical information, 
information regarding the lawful use of prescription 
medication, the results of any tests and any reports filed as a 
result of attending any approved treatment program shall be 
treated as confidential, except for their use in a ruling issued 
pursuant to these rules, or any administrative or judicial 
hearing with respect to such a ruling.  Access to the 
information received and/or reports generated shall be 
limited to the Commissioners of the Delaware Harness 
Racing Commission, the Commission's designee, the 
Secretary of the Department of Agriculture and employees 
of the office of the Attorney General.

5.1.8.16.3 Information received and 
reports generated pursuant to this rule shall be stored in the 
office of the Chairman of the Commission for a period of 
three (3) years.  After three (3) years, they may be destroyed 
at the discretion of the Commission.  The Commission may 
maintain information received and reports on individuals 
violating this rule for the purposes of recording the number 
of violations and results of treatment programs, should 
future violations occur.

5.1.9 Approval or Recommendations by State 
Steward or Presiding Judge 

The Commission may designate categories of 
licenses which shall require State Steward's or Presiding 
Judge's prior approval or recommendation.

5.1.10 Employer Responsibility
5.1.10.1 The employment or harboring of any 

unlicensed person at facilities under the jurisdiction of the 
Commission is prohibited.

5.1.10.2 With respect to personnel actions 
based on a violation of any rule of the Commission relating 
to racing or pari-mutuel wagering, every employer shall 
report the discharge of any licensed employee in writing to 
the Commission or its designee, including the person's name, 
occupation and reason for the discharge.

5.1.11 Employer Endorsement of License 
Applications

The license application of an employee shall be 
signed by the employer.

5.1.12 Workers' Compensation
Licensed employers shall carry workers' 

compensation insurance covering their employees as 
required by Delaware law.

5.1.13 Financial Responsibility
Applicants for a license may be required to 

submit evidence of financial responsibility and shall 
maintain financial responsibility during the period for which 
the license is issued.

5.1.14 License Refusal
The Commission or its designee may refuse to 

issue a license and give the applicant the option of 
withdrawal of an application without prejudice.  If an 
applicant is refused, the applicant may reapply for a license.

5.1.15 License Denial
The Commission may formally deny an 

application in accordance with these rules.  An application 
denied shall be reported in writing to the applicant stating the 
reasons for denial, the date when a reapplication may be 
submitted, and shall be reported to the United States Trotting 
Association, which shall then advise other racing 
jurisdictions. 

5.1.16 Grounds for Refusal, Denial, Suspension 
or Revocation of License 

5.1.16.1 The Commission or its designee may 
refuse to issue or may deny a license to an applicant, or may 
suspend or revoke a license issued, or may order disciplinary 
measures, if the applicant:

5.1.16.1.1 has been convicted of a 
felony;

5.1.16.1.2 has been convicted of 
violating any law regarding gambling or a controlled 
dangerous substance;

5.1.16.1.3 has pending criminal 
charges; or

5.1.16.1.4 is unqualified to perform the 
duties required of the applicant;

5.1.16.1.5 has failed to disclose or 
states falsely any information required in the application;

5.1.16.1.6 has been found in violation 
of statutes or rules governing racing in this state or other 
jurisdictions;

5.1.16.1.7 has racing disciplinary 
charges pending in this state or other jurisdictions;
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5.1.16.1.8 has been or is currently 
excluded from association grounds by a recognized racing 
jurisdiction;

5.1.16.1.9 has had a license denied, 
suspended or revoked by any racing jurisdiction;

5.1.16.1.10 is a person whose conduct or 
reputation may adversely reflect on the honesty and integrity 
of horse racing or interfere with the orderly conduct of a race 
meeting;

5.1.16.1.11 demonstrates financial 
irresponsibility by accumulating unpaid obligations, 
defaulting in obligations or issuing drafts or checks that are 
dishonored or payment refused;

5.1.16.1.12 is ineligible for employment 
pursuant to federal or state law because of age or citizenship; 
or

5.1.16.1.13 has violated any of the 
alcohol or substance abuse provisions outlined in these rules.

5.1.16.2 A license suspension or revocation 
shall be reported in writing to the applicant and the United 
States Trotting Association whereby other racing 
jurisdictions shall be advised.

5.1.17 License Restrictions, Limitations and 
Conditions

The Commission or its designee, for cause, 
may restrict, limit or place conditions on any license.

5.1.18 Duration of License
5.1.18.1 Licenses are valid for such other 

period as permitted by the Commission.
5.1.18.2 A license is valid only under the 

condition that the licensee remains eligible to hold such 
license.

5.1.19 Changes in Application Information
During the period for which a license has been 

issued, the licensee shall report to the Commission changes 
in information provided on the license applications as to 
current legal name, marital status, permanent address, 
criminal convictions, license suspensions of 10 days or more 
or license revocations or fines of $500 or more in other 
jurisdictions.

5.1.20 Temporary Licenses
The Commission may establish provisions for 

temporary licenses or may permit applicants to participate in 
racing pending action on an application.

5.1.21 More Than One License
More than one license to participate in horse 

racing may be granted to a person except when prohibited by 
these rules due to a potential conflict of interest.

5.1.22 Conflict of Interest
5.1.22.1 The Commission or its designee shall 

refuse, deny, suspend or revoke the license of a person 
whose spouse holds a license and which the Commission, 
State Steward or judges find to be a conflict of interest.

5.1.22.2 A commissioner or Commission 

employee or racing official shall not be an owner of a horse 
entered to race, and shall not accept breeder awards at, a race 
meeting where the Commission has jurisdiction. 

5.1.22.3 A racing official who is an owner of 
either the sire or dam of a horse entered to race shall not act 
as an official with respect to that race.

5.1.22.4 A person who is licensed as an owner 
or trainer, or has any financial interest in a horse registered 
for racing at a race meeting in Delaware shall not be 
employed or licensed at that race meeting as a racing 
official; racetrack managing employee; photo finish 
operator; racing chemist or testing laboratory employee; 
provided, further, that a racing official who is the parent, 
child or sibling of such person shall not officiate on any day 
when the horse owned or trained, or in which the person has 
any financial interest, is entered to race at association 
grounds; provided, however, that a parent, child or sibling 
acting as a groom for such a horse shall not be deemed to 
pose a conflict of interest for an official.

5.1.23 License Presentation
5.1.23.1 A person shall present an appropriate 

license to enter a restricted area.
5.1.23.2 The State Steward or Presiding Judge 

may require visible display of a license in a restricted area.
5.1.23.3 A license may only be used by the 

person to whom it is issued.
5.1.24 Visitor's Pass

Track security may authorize unlicensed 
persons temporary access to restricted areas.  Such persons 
shall be identified and their purpose and credentials verified 
and approved in writing by track security.  A copy of the 
written approval shall be filed with the Commission or its 
designee within 48 hours.  Such authorization or credential 
may only be used by the person to whom it is issued.

5.1.25 Safety Helmets
5.1.25.1 A protective helmet, meeting the 

Snell Foundation standards for protective harness racing 
headwear, securely fastened under the chin, must be worn at 
all times on association grounds when:

5.1.25.1.1 racing, parading or warming 
up a horse prior to racing; or

5.1.25.1.2 jogging, training or 
exercising a horse at any time.

5.1.25.2 A violation of this rule shall result in a 
suspension or fine and the participant may be referred to the 
Commission.

5.1.26 Knowledge of Rules
5.1.26.1 A licensee shall be knowledgeable of 

the rules of the Commission; and by acceptance of the 
license, agrees to abide by the rules.

5.1.26.2 A licensee shall report to track 
security or to the State Steward or judges any knowledge he/
she has that a violation of these rules has occurred or may 
occur.
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5.1.27 Standards of Conduct
5.1.27.1 No licensee shall use improper 

language to any race official, or be guilty of any improper 
conduct toward such officials or persons serving under their 
orders, such improper language or conduct having reference 
to the administration of the course, or of any race.

5.1.27.2 No licensee shall commit an assault, 
or an assault and battery, upon any driver, trainer, groom, 
racing official or Commission appointee on the grounds of a 
racing association, or upon a racing official or Commission 
appointee who is in the performance of his official duties, 
nor shall any licensee threaten to do bodily or other injury to 
any driver, trainer, groom, racing official or Commission 
appointee, nor shall any licensee address to any such person 
language which is outrageously insulting.

5.1.27.3 If any licensee shall threaten, or join 
with others in threatening, not to race, or not to declare in, 
because of the entry of a certain horse or horses, or of a 
particular stable, thereby compelling or trying to compel the 
Racing Secretary to reject certain eligible entries, it shall be 
reported immediately to the State Steward, and the offending 
parties may be suspended by the State Steward pending a 
hearing before the Commission.

5.1.27.4 No owner, agent, trainer or driver who 
has entered a horse shall thereafter demand of the association 
a bonus of money or other special award or consideration as 
a condition for starting the horse.

5.1.27.5 No owner, trainer or driver of a horse 
shall bet or cause any other person to bet on his behalf on 
any other horse in any race in which there shall be a horse 
owned, trained or driven by him, or which he in anywise 
represents or handles or in which he has an interest; 
provided, however, that such a person may participate in 
multiple pool wagering on a race in which his/her horse is 
included in the wager only in the first (winning) position.

5.1.27.6 If any licensee shall be approached 
with any offer or promise of a bribe, or a wager or with a 
request or suggestion for a bribe, or for any improper, 
corrupt or fraudulent act in relation to racing, or that any race 
shall be conducted otherwise than fairly and honestly, it shall 
be the duty of such licensee to report the details thereof 
immediately to the Presiding Judge or State Steward.

5.1.27.7 Any misconduct on the part of a 
licensee or patron, fraudulent in its nature or injurious to 
racing, although not specified in these rules, is forbidden. 
Any licensee or other person who, individually or in concert 
with one another, shall fraudulently and corruptly, by any 
means, affect the outcome of any race or affect a false 
registration, or commit any other act injurious to racing, 
shall be guilty of a violation of these rules.

5.1.27.8 If two or more persons combine and 
confederate together, in any manner, regardless of where the 
said persons may be located, for the purpose of violating any 
of the Rules and Regulations of the Commission, and shall 

commit some act in furtherance of the said purpose or plan, 
it shall constitute a conspiracy and a violation of these rules.

5.1.27.9 In any case where an oath is 
administered by the judges, by the State Steward, by the 
Commission or by a hearing officer thereof, under these 
rules, or by a Notary Public and any other person legally 
authorized to administer oaths, if the party knowingly swears 
falsely or withholds information pertinent to the 
investigation, he shall be fined, suspended, or both, or 
expelled.

5.1.27.10 The Commission may impose a 
fine or suspension on, or may refuse to license, any person 
subject to the jurisdiction of the Commission if the 
Commission finds that such person:

5.1.27.10.1 Is associating, consorting or 
negotiating with bookmakers, touts or other persons of 
similar pursuits; or

5.1.27.10.2 Is associating, consorting or 
negotiating with persons who have been convicted of a 
crime; or

5.1.27.10.3 Is guilty of fraud or has 
attempted any fraud or misrepresentation in connection with 
racing, breeding or otherwise; or

5.1.27.10.4 Has violated any law, rule or 
regulation with respect to racing in any jurisdiction; or

5.1.27.10.5 Has violated any rule, 
regulation or order of the Commission; or

5.1.27.10.6 Is of such experience, 
character or general unfitness that the person's participation 
in harness racing or related activities would be inconsistent 
with the public interest, convenience or necessity, or with the 
best interests of racing generally.

5.1.27.11 The Commission may refuse 
admission to race meeting grounds, and/or may eject from 
the enclosure of a race track operated by any association, any 
person whose presence there is, in the judgment of the 
Commission, inconsistent with the orderly or proper conduct 
of a race meeting, or whose presence or conduct is deemed 
detrimental to the best interests of harness racing.

5.1.27.12 Any person, whether a licensee or 
a patron, may be expelled from the enclosure of a race track 
operated by any association for any violation of Rule 5.1.27.

5.1.27.13 All licensees, officials and 
appointees of the Commission, and all employees of any 
association, are required to conduct themselves in a 
forthright and courteous manner at all times while on or near 
the premises of an association during the operation of a 
licensed harness race meeting. The Commission at any time 
may require the removal of any licensee, official, appointee 
or employee whose conduct does not comport with this 
requirement.

5.1.27.14 Licensees tampering with 
eligibility certificates may be fined, or their licenses may be 
suspended or revoked.  Further, any winnings of such 
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licensees in races in which a horse was entered whose 
eligibility certificate was tampered with by such licensee 
may be ordered forfeited.

5.2 Owners
5.2.1 Licensing Requirements for Owners

5.2.1.1 Each person who has an ownership or 
beneficial interest in a horse is required to be licensed.

5.2.1.2 An applicant for an owner's license 
shall own or lease a horse which is eligible to race, registered 
with the racing secretary and under the care of a trainer 
licensed by the Commission. An owner shall notify the 
stewards/judges of a change in trainer of his/her horse. A 
horse shall not be transferred to a new trainer after entry.

5.2.1.3 The provisions of 5.1.4 
notwithstanding, a person younger  than 14 years of age may 
apply for an owner’s license, provided that no licensed 
owner younger than 14 years of age will be permitted 
paddock access at any licensed association.  If younger than 
18 years of age, an applicant for an owner's license shall 
submit a notarized affidavit from his/her parent or legal 
guardian stating that the parent or legal guardian expressly 
assumes responsibility for the applicant's financial, 
contractual and other obligations relating to the applicant's 
participation in racing.

5.2.1.4 If the Commission or its designee has 
reason to doubt the financial responsibility of an applicant 
for an owner's license, the applicant may be required to 
complete a verified financial statement.

5.2.1.5 Horses not under lease must race in 
the name of the bona fide owner. Each owner shall comply 
with all licensing requirements.

5.2.1.6 The Commission or its designee may 
refuse, deny, suspend or revoke an owner's license for the 
spouse or member of the immediate family or household of a 
person ineligible to be licensed as an owner, unless there is a 
showing on the part of the applicant or licensed owner, and 
the Commission determines that participation in racing will 
not permit a person to serve as a substitute for an ineligible 
person.  The transfer of a horse to circumvent the intent of a 
Commission rule or ruling is prohibited.

5.2.2 Licensing Requirements for Multiple 
Owners

5.2.2.1 If the legal owner of any horse is a 
partnership, corporation, limited liability company, syndicate 
or other association or entity, each shareholder, member or 
partner shall be licensed as required in 5.1.1  of this section.

5.2.2.2 Each partnership, corporation, limited 
liability company, syndicate or other association or entity 
shall disclose to the Commission all owners holding a five 
percent or greater beneficial interest, unless otherwise 
required by the Commission.

5.2.2.3 Each partnership, corporation, limited 
liability company, syndicate or other association or entity 
which includes an owner with less than a five percent 

ownership or beneficial interest shall file with the 
Commission an affidavit which attests that, to the best of 
their knowledge, every owner, regardless of their ownership 
or beneficial interest, is not presently ineligible for licensing 
or suspended in any racing jurisdiction.

5.2.2.4 To obtain an owner's license, an 
owner with less than a five percent ownership or beneficial 
interest in a horse shall establish a bona fide need for the 
license and the issuance of such license shall be approved by 
the Commission.

5.2.2.5 Application for joint ownership shall 
include a designation of a managing owner and a business 
address.  Receipt of any correspondence, notice or order at 
such address shall constitute official notice to all persons 
involved in the ownership of such horse.

5.2.2.6 The written appointment of a 
managing owner or authorized agent shall be filed with the 
United State Trotting Association or Canadian Trotting 
Association and with the Commission.

5.2.3 Lease Agreements
A horse may be raced under lease provided a 

completed breed registry or other lease form acceptable to 
the Commission is attached to the certificate of registration 
and on file with the Commission.  The lessor and lessee shall 
be licensed as horse owners.  For purposes of issuance of 
eligibility certificates and/or transfers of ownership, a lease 
for an indefinite term shall be considered terminable at the 
will of either party unless extended or reduced to a term 
certain by written documentation executed by both lessor 
and lessee.

5.2.4 Racing Colors
Drivers must wear distinguishing colors, and 

shall not be permitted to drive in a race or other public 
performance unless, in the opinion of the judges/stewards, 
they are properly dressed, their driving outfits are clean and 
they are well groomed. During inclement weather 
conditions, drivers must wear rain suits in either of their 
colors or made of a transparent material through which their 
colors can be distinguished.

5.3 Trainers
5.3.1 Eligibility

5.3.1.1 A person shall not train horses, or be 
programmed as trainer of record at extended meetings, 
without first having obtained a trainer license valid for the 
current year by meeting the standards for trainers, as laid 
down by the United State Trotting Association, and being 
licensed by the Commission.  The "trainer of record" shall be 
any individual who receives compensation for training the 
horse.  The holder of a driver's license issued by the United 
States Trotting Association is entitled to all privileges of a 
trainer and is subject to all rules respecting trainers.

5.3.1.2 Valid categories of licenses are:
5.3.1.2.1 "A," a full license valid for 

all meetings and permitting operation of a public stable.; and
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5.3.1.2.2 "L," a license restricted to 
the training of horses while owned by the holder and/or his 
or her immediate family at all race meetings.

5.3.1.3 If more than one person receives any 
form of compensation, directly or indirectly, for training the 
horse, then the principal trainer or trainers must be listed as 
“trainer of record”.  It shall be a violation for the principal 
trainer or trainers of a horse not to be listed as “trainer of 
record”, and, if such unlisted principal trainer or trainers are 
licensees of the Commission, then he, she or they shall be 
subject to a fine and/or suspension for such violation.  In 
addition, it shall be a violation for a person who is not the 
principal trainer of the horse to be listed as “trainer of 
record”, and such person shall be subject to a fine and/or 
suspension for such violation.  Principal trainers and 
programmed trainers shall be equally liable for all rule 
violations.  For purposes of this rule, the Steward and judges 
shall use the following criteria in determining the identity of 
the principal trainer or trainers of a horse:

5.3.1.3.1 The identity of the person 
who is responsible for the business decisions regarding the 
horse, including, but not limited to, business arrangements 
with and any payments to or from owners or other trainers, 
licensed or otherwise, veterinarians, feed companies, hiring 
and firing of employees, obtaining workers’ compensation 
or proof of adequate insurance coverage, payroll, horsemen’s 
bookkeeper, etc.;

5.3.1.3.2 The identity of the person 
responsible for communicating, or who in fact does 
communicate, with the racing secretary’s office, stall 
manager, association and track management, owners, etc. 
regarding racing schedules and other matters pertaining to 
the entry, shipping and racing of the horse;

5.3.1.3.3 The identity of the person 
responsible for the principal conditioning of the horse;

5.3.1.3.4 The identity of the person 
responsible for race day preparation including, but not 
limited to, accompanying the horse to the paddock or ship-in 
barn, selection of equipment, authority to warm up the horse 
before the public, discussion with the driver of race strategy, 
etc.; and

5.3.1.3.5 The identity of the person 
who communicates on behalf of the owner with the Steward, 
judges and other Commission personnel regarding the horse, 
including regarding any questions concerning the location or 
condition of the horse, racing or medication violations, etc.

5.3.2 Trainer Responsibility
5.3.2.1 A trainer is responsible for the 

condition of horses entered in an official race and is 
responsible for the presence of any prohibited drug, 
medication or other substance, including permitted 
medication in excess of the maximum allowable level, in 
such horses. A positive test for a prohibited drug, medication 
or substance, including permitted medication in excess of the 

maximum allowable level, as reported by a 
Commission-approved laboratory, is prima facie evidence of 
a violation of this rule.  In the absence of substantial 
evidence to the contrary, the trainer shall be responsible. 
Whenever a trainer of a horse names a substitute trainer for 
program purposes due to his or her inability to be in 
attendance with the horse on the day of the race, or for any 
other reason, both trainers shall be responsible for the 
condition of the horse should the horse test positive.

5.3.2.2 A trainer shall prevent the 
administration of any drug or medication or other prohibited 
substance that may cause a violation of these rules.

5.3.2.3 A trainer whose horse has been 
claimed remains responsible for any violation of rules 
regarding that horse's participation in the race in which the 
horse is claimed.

5.3.3 Other Responsibilities
A trainer is responsible for:
5.3.3.1 the condition and contents of stalls, 

tack rooms, feed rooms, sleeping rooms and other areas 
which have been assigned by the association;

5.3.3.2 maintaining the assigned stable area 
in a clean, neat and sanitary condition at all times;

5.3.3.3 ensuring that fire prevention rules are 
strictly observed in the assigned stable area;

5.3.3.4 providing a list to the Commission of 
the trainer's employees on association grounds and any other 
area under the jurisdiction of the Commission.  The list shall 
include each employee's name, occupation, social security 
number and occupational license number. The Commission 
shall be notified by the trainer, in writing, within 24 hours of 
any change;

5.3.3.5 the proper identity, custody, care, 
health, condition and safety of horses in his/her charge;

5.3.3.6 disclosure of the true and entire 
ownership of each horse in his/her care, custody or control;

5.3.3.8 registering with the racing secretary 
each horse in his/her charge within 24 hours of the horse's 
arrival on association grounds;

5.3.3.9 ensuring that, at the time of arrival at 
a licensed racetrack, each horse in his/her care is 
accompanied by a valid health certificate which shall be filed 
with the racing secretary;

5.3.3.10 having each horse in his/her care 
that is racing, or is stabled on association grounds, tested for 
Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) in accordance with state/
provincial law and for filing evidence of such negative test 
results with the racing secretary;

5.3.3.11 using the services of those 
veterinarians licensed by the Commission to attend horses 
that are on association grounds;

5.3.3.12 immediately reporting the 
alteration of the sex of a horse in his/her care to the horse 
identifier and the racing secretary, whose office shall note 
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such alteration on the certificate of registration;
5.3.3.13 promptly reporting to the 

Presiding Judge, racing secretary and the State veterinarian 
any horse on which a posterior digital neurectomy (heel 
nerving) is performed and ensuring that such fact is 
designated on its certificate of registration;

5.3.3.14 promptly notifying the State 
veterinarian of any reportable disease and any unusual 
incidence of a communicable illness of any horse in his/her 
charge;

5.3.3.15 promptly reporting the death of 
any horse in his/her care on association grounds to the State 
Steward or judges and the State veterinarian and compliance 
with the rules in Chapter 8 governing post-mortem 
examinations;

5.3.3.16 maintaining a knowledge of the 
medication record and status of all horses in his/her care;

5.3.3.17 immediately reporting to the 
State Steward and the State veterinarian if he/she knows, or 
has cause to believe, that a horse in his/her custody, care or 
control has received any prohibited drugs or medication;

5.3.3.18 representing an owner in making 
entries and scratches and in all other matters pertaining to 
racing;

5.3.3.19 horses entered as to eligibility 
and allowances claimed;

5.3.3.20 ensuring the fitness of a horse to 
perform creditably at the distance entered;

5.3.3.21 ensuring that his/her horses are 
properly prepared and equipped;

5.3.3.22 presenting his/her horse in the 
paddock at a time prescribed by the Presiding Judge before 
the race in which the horse is entered;

5.3.3.23 personally attending to his/her 
horses in the paddock and supervising the preparation 
thereof, unless excused by the Paddock Judge;

5.3.3.24 attending the collection of a urine 
or blood sample from the horse in his/her charge or 
delegating a licensed employee or the owner of the horse to 
do so; and

5.3.3.25 notifying horse owners upon the 
revocation or suspension of his/her trainer's license.  Upon 
application by the owner, the State Steward may approve the 
transfer of such horses to the care of another licensed trainer, 
and upon such approved transfer, such horses may be entered 
to race.

5.3.4 Restrictions on Wagering
A trainer shall only be allowed to wager on his/

her horse or entries to win or finish first in combination with 
other horses.

5.3.5 Substitute Trainers
If any licensed trainer is to be absent from the 

association grounds where his/her horse is programmed to 
race the Presiding Judge shall be immediately notified and at 

that time a licensed substitute trainer, acceptable to the 
Presiding Judge, shall be appointed to assume responsibility 
for the horse(s) racing during the absence of the regular 
trainer. The name of the substitute trainer shall appear on the 
program if possible.

5.4 Owners' Authorized Agents
5.4.1 Licenses Required

5.4.1.1 An authorized agent shall obtain a 
license from the Commission.

5.4.1.2 Application for license shall be filed 
for each owner represented.

5.4.1.3 A written instrument signed by the 
owner shall accompany the application and shall clearly set 
forth the delegated powers of the authorized agent.  The 
owner's signature on the written instrument shall be 
acknowledged before a notary public.

5.4.1.4 If the written instrument is a power of 
attorney it shall be filed with the Commission and attached 
to the regular application form.

5.4.1.5 Any changes shall be made in writing 
and filed as provided in 5.4.1.3 above.

5.4.1.6 The authorized agent's appointment 
may be terminated by the owner, in writing, acknowledged 
before a notary public and filed with the Commission 
whereupon the license shall not be valid.

5.4.2 Powers and Duties
5.4.2.1 A licensed authorized agent may 

perform on behalf of the licensed owner-principal all acts as 
relate to racing, as specified in the agency appointment, that 
could be performed by the principal if such principal were 
present.

5.4.2.2 In executing any document on behalf 
of the principal, the authorized agent shall clearly identify 
the authorized agent and the owner-principal.

5.4.2.3 When an authorized agent enters a 
claim for the account of a principal, the name of the licensed 
owner for whom the claim is being made and the name of the 
authorized agent shall appear on the claim slip or card.

5.4.2.4 Authorized Agents are responsible for 
disclosure of the true and entire ownership of each horse for 
which they have authority at a race meeting.  Any change in 
ownership shall be reported immediately to, and approved 
by, the stewards/judges and recorded by the United States 
Trotting Association.

5.5 Drivers
5.5.1 A person shall not drive a horse in any 

race or performance against time, other than an exhibition 
race, without having first obtained a driver license valid for 
the current year by meeting the standards as established by 
the United States Trotting Association and being licensed by 
the Commission. The driver license shall be presented to the 
judges prior to participating for the first time at any race 
meeting.

5.5.2 The judges may review the performance of 
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a driver at any time and may take the following actions:
5.5.2.1 amend the license category;
5.5.2.2 revoke the license;
5.5.2.3 apply conditions to the license; or
5.5.2.4 require the driver to re-qualify for his/

her license in accordance with the United States Trotting 
Association regulations.

5.5.3 Drivers must report to the Paddock Judge 
at least one hour before post time of any race in which they 
are programmed to drive, unless excused by the Presiding 
Judge.

5.5.4 Where advanced wagering takes place on 
any feature betting race, drivers programmed to drive in such 
races must make their presence known to the Paddock Judge 
prior to commencement of the advanced wagering.

5.5.5 A driver cannot decline to be substituted 
by the judges. Any driver who refuses shall be suspended 
and may be fined.

5.5.6 Once a driver reports to the paddock he/
she shall not enter the public stands or the betting area until 
his/her driving duties for the day have been completed and 
upon completion of driving duties the driver shall not enter 
the public stands until he/she has replaced his/her driving 
outfit with ordinary clothing.

5.5.7 The State Steward or judges may remove a 
driver at any time if, in his or their opinion, his/her driving 
would not be in the best interests of harness racing.

5.5.8 A driver shall not drive for any other 
person in a race in which one of the horses he/she trains or 
owns has been declared into race, except where such horses 
are coupled as an entry.

5.5.9 Drivers shall fulfil all engagements, unless 
excused by the judges.

See 1 DE Reg. 502 (11/01/97)
See 5 DE Reg. 832 (10/1/01)

8.0 Veterinary Practices, Equine Health Medication
8.1 General Provisions

The purpose of this Rule is to protect the integrity 
of horse racing, to ensure the health and welfare of race 
horses and to safeguard the interests of the public and the 
participants in racing. 

8.2 Veterinary Practices
8.2.1 Veterinarians Under Authority of 

Commission Veterinarian
Veterinarians licensed by the Commission and 

practicing at any location under the jurisdiction of the 
Commission are subject to these Rules, which shall be 
enforced under the authority of the Commission Veterinarian 
and the State Steward.  Without limiting the authority of the 
State Steward to enforce these Rules, the Commission 
Veterinarian may recommend to the State Steward or the 
Commission the discipline which may be imposed upon a 
veterinarian who violates the rules. 

8.2.2 Treatment Restrictions
8.2.2.1 Except as otherwise provided by this 

subsection, no person other than a veterinarian licensed to 
practice veterinary medicine in this jurisdiction and licensed 
by the Commission may administer a prescription or 
controlled medication, drug, chemical or other substance 
(including any medication, drug, chemical or other substance 
by injection) to a horse at any location under the jurisdiction 
of the Commission.

8.2.2.2 This subsection does not apply to the 
administration of the following substances except in 
approved quantitative levels, if any, present in post-race 
samples or as they may interfere with post-race testing:

8.2.2.2.1a recognized non-injectable 
nutritional supplement or other substance approved by the 
official veterinarian;

8.2.2.2.2a non-injectable substance on the 
direction or by prescription of a licensed veterinarian; or

8.2.2.2.3a non-injectable non-prescription 
medication or substance.

8.2.2.3 No person shall possess a hypodermic 
needle, syringe or injectable of any kind on association 
premises, unless otherwise approved by the Commission.  At 
any location under the jurisdiction of the Commission, 
veterinarians may use only one-time disposable needles, and 
shall dispose of them in a manner approved by the 
Commission.  If a person has a medical condition which 
makes it necessary to have a syringe at any location under 
the jurisdiction of the Commission, that person may request 
permission of the State Steward, judges and/or the 
Commission in writing, furnish a letter from a licensed 
physician explaining why it is necessary for the person to 
possess a syringe, and must comply with any conditions and 
restrictions set by the State Steward, judges and/or the 
Commission.

8.3 Medications and Foreign Substances
Foreign substances shall mean all substances, 

except those which exist naturally in the untreated horse at 
normal physiological concentration, and shall include all 
narcotics, stimulants, depressants or other drugs or 
medications of any type.  Except as specifically permitted by 
these rules, no foreign substance shall be carried in the body 
of the horse at the time of the running of the race. Upon a 
finding of a violation of these medication and prohibited 
substances rules, the State Steward or other designee of the 
Commission shall consider the classification level of the 
violation as listed at the time of the violation by the Uniform 
Classification Guidelines of Foreign Substances as 
promulgated by the Association of Racing Commissioners 
International and shall consider all other relevant available 
evidence including but not limited to:  i) whether the 
violation created a risk of injury to the horse or driver;  ii) 
whether the violation undermined or corrupted the integrity 
of the sport of harness racing;  iii) whether the violation 
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misled the wagering public and those desiring to claim the 
horse as to the condition and ability of the horse;  iv) whether 
the violation permitted the trainer or licensee to alter the 
performance of the horse or permitted the trainer or licensee 
to gain an advantage over other horses entered in the race; v) 
the amount of the purse involved in the race in which the 
violation occurred.  The State Steward may impose penalties 
and disciplinary measures consistent with the 
recommendations contained in subsection 8.3.2 of this 
section. 

8.3.1 Uniform Classification Guidelines
The following outline describes the types of 

substances placed in each category.  This list shall be 
publicly posted in the offices of the Commission 
Veterinarian and the racing secretary.

8.3.1.1 Class 1
Opiates, opium derivatives, synthetic 

opiates, psychoactive drugs, amphetamines and U.S. Drug 
Enforcement Agency (DEA) scheduled I and II drugs.  Also 
found in this class are drugs which are potent stimulants of 
the nervous system.  Drugs in this class have no generally 
accepted medical use in the race horse and their 
pharmacological potential for altering the performance of a 
race is very high.

8.3.1.2 Class 2
Drugs in this category have a high 

potential for affecting the outcome of a race.  Most are not 
generally accepted as therapeutic agents in the race horse. 
Many are products intended to alter consciousness or the 
psychic state of humans, and have no approved or indicated 
use in the horse.  Some, such as injectable local anesthetics, 
have legitimate use in equine medicine, but should not be 
found in a race horse.  The following groups of drugs are in 
this class:

8.3.1.2.1 Opiate partial agonist, or 
agonist-antagonists;

8.3.1.2.2 Non-opiate psychotropic 
drugs, which may have stimulant, depressant, analgesic or 
neuroleptic effects;

8.3.1.2.3 Miscellaneous drugs which 
might have a stimulant effect on the central nervous system 
(CNS);

8.3.1.2.4 Drugs with prominent CNS 
depressant action;

8.3.1.2.5 Antidepressant and 
antipsychotic drugs, with or without prominent CNS 
stimulatory or depressant effects;

8.3.1.2.6 Muscle blocking drugs 
which have a direct neuromuscular blocking action;

8.3.1.2.7 Local anesthetics which have 
a reasonable potential for use as nerve blocking agents 
(except procaine); and

8.3.1.2.8 Snake venoms and other 
biologic substances which may be used as nerve blocking 

agents.
8.3.1.3 Class 3

Drugs in this class may or may not have an 
accepted therapeutic use in the horse.  Many are drugs that 
affect the cardiovascular, pulmonary and autonomic nervous 
systems.  They all have the potential of affecting the 
performance of a race horse.  The following groups of drugs 
are in this class:

8.3.1.3.1 Drugs affecting the 
autonomic nervous system which do not have prominent 
CNS effects, but which do have prominent cardiovascular or 
respiratory system effects (bronchodilators are included in 
this class);

8.3.1.3.2 A local anesthetic which has 
nerve blocking potential but also has a high potential for 
producing urine residue levels from a method of use not 
related to the anesthetic effect of the drug (procaine);

8.3.1.3.3 Miscellaneous drugs with 
mild sedative action, such as the sleep inducing 
antihistamines;

8.3.1.3.4 Primary vasodilating/
hypotensive agents; and

8.3.1.3.5 Potent diuretics affecting 
renal function and body fluid composition.

8.3.1.4 Class 4
This category is comprised primarily of 

therapeutic medications routinely used in race horses.  These 
may influence performance, but generally have a more 
limited ability to do so.  Groups of drugs assigned to this 
category include the following:

8.3.1.4.1 Non-opiate drugs which 
have a mild central analgesic effect;

8.3.1.4.2 Drugs affecting the 
autonomic nervous system which do not have prominent 
CNS, cardiovascular or respiratory effects

8.3.1.4.2.1 Drugs used solely as 
topical vasoconstrictors or decongestants

8.3.1.4.2.2 Drugs used as 
gastrointestinal antispasmodics

8.3.1.4.2.3 Drugs used to void the 
urinary bladder

8.3.1.4.2.4 Drugs with a major 
effect on CNS vasculature or smooth muscle of visceral 
organs.

8.3.1.4.3 Antihistamines which do not 
have a significant CNS depressant effect (This does not 
include H1 blocking agents, which are listed in Class 5);

8.3.1.4.4 Mineralocorticoid drugs;
8.3.1.4.5 Skeletal muscle relaxants;
8.3.1.4.6 Anti-inflammatory 

drugs--those that may reduce pain as a consequence of their 
anti-inflammatory actions, which include:

8.3.1.4.6.1 Non-Steroidal 
Anti-Inflammatory Drugs (NSAIDs)--aspirin-like drugs;
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8.3.1.4.6.2 Corticosteroids 
(glucocorticoids); and

8.3.1.4.6.3 Miscellaneous 
anti-inflammatory agents.

8.3.1.4.7 Anabolic and/or androgenic 
steroids and other drugs;

8.3.1.4.8 Less potent diuretics;
8.3.1.4.9 Cardiac glycosides and 

antiarrhythmics including:
8.3.1.4.9.1 Cardiac glycosides;
8.3.1.4.9.2 Antiarrhythmic agents 

(exclusive of lidocaine, bretylium and propanolol); and
8.3.1.4.9.3 Miscellaneous 

cardiotonic drugs.
8.3.1.4.10 Topical Anesthetics--agents 

not available in injectable formulations;
8.3.1.4.11 Antidiarrheal agents; and
8.3.1.4.12 Miscellaneous drugs 

including:
8.3.1.4.12.1 Expectorants with little 

or no other pharmacologic action;
8.3.1.4.12.2 Stomachics; and
8.3.1.4.12.3 Mucolytic agents.

8.3.1.5 Class 5
Drugs in this category are therapeutic 

medications for which concentration limits have been 
established as well as certain miscellaneous agents. 
Included specifically are agents which have very localized 
action only, such as anti-ulcer drugs and certain antiallergic 
drugs.  The anticoagulant drugs are also included.

8.3.2 Penalty Recommendations
The following penalties and disciplinary 

measures may be imposed for violations of these medication 
and prohibited substances rules:

8.3.2.1 Class 1- in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of eighteen months and a minimum fine of $5,000, and a 
maximum fine up to the amount of the purse money for the 
race in which the infraction occurred, forfeiture of the purse 
money, and assessment for cost of the drug testing.  

8.3.2.2 Class 2- in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of nine months and a minimum fine of $3,000, and a 
maximum fine of up to the amount of the purse money for 
the race in which the violation occurred, forfeiture of the 
purse money, and assessment for cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.3 Class 3- in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 
of ninety days, and a minimum fine of $3,000, and a 
maximum fine of up to the amount of the purse money for 
the race in which the violation occurred, forfeiture of the 
purse money, and assessment for cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.4 Class 4 - in the absence of 
extraordinary circumstances, a minimum license revocation 

of thirty days, and a minimum fine of $2,000, and a 
maximum fine of up to the amount of the purse money for 
the race in which the violation occurred, forfeiture of the 
purse money, and assessment for the cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.5 Class 5 - Zero to 15 days suspension 
with a possible loss of purse and/or fine and assessment for 
the cost of the drug testing.

8.3.2.6 In determining the appropriate penalty 
with respect to a medication rule violation, the State Steward 
or other designee of the Commission may use his discretion 
in the application of the foregoing penalty recommendations, 
and shall consult with the Commission veterinarian and/or 
the Commission chemist to determine the seriousness of the 
laboratory finding or the medication violation.  Aggravating 
or mitigating circumstances in any case should be considered 
and greater or lesser penalties and/or disciplinary measures 
may be imposed than those set forth above.  Specifically, if 
the State Steward or other designee of the Commission 
determine that mitigating circumstances warrant imposition 
of a lesser penalty than the recommendations suggest, he 
may impose a lesser penalty.  If the State Steward or other 
designee of the Commission determines that aggravating 
circumstances require imposition of a greater penalty, 
however, he may only impose up to the maximum 
recommended penalty, and must refer the case to the 
Commission for its review, with a recommendation for 
specific action.  Without limitation, the presence of the 
following aggravating circumstances may warrant 
imposition of greater penalties than those recommended, up 
to and including a lifetime suspension:

8.3.2.6.1 Repeated violations of these 
medication and prohibited substances rules by the same 
trainer or with respect to the same horse;

8.3.2.6.2 Prior violations of similar 
rules in other racing jurisdictions by the same trainer or with 
respect to the same horse; or

8.3.2.6.3 Violations which endanger 
the life or health of the horse.

8.3.2.6.4 Violations that mislead the 
wagering public and those desiring to claim a horse as to the 
condition and ability of the horse;

8.3.2.6.5 Violations that undermine or 
corrupt the integrity of the sport of harness racing.

8.3.2.7 Any person whose license is 
reinstated after a prior violation involving class 1 or class 2 
drugs and who commits a subsequent violation within five 
years of the prior violation, shall absent extraordinary 
circumstances, be subject to a minimum revocation of 
license for five years, and a minimum fine in the amount of 
the purse money of the race in which the infraction occurred, 
along with any other penalty just and reasonable under the 
circumstances.

8.3.2.7.1 With respect to Class 1, 2 
and 3 drugs detect in a urine sample but not in a blood 
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sample, and in addition to the foregoing factors, in 
determining the length of a suspension and/or the amount of 
a fine, or both, the State Steward or judges may take in 
consideration, without limitation, whether the drug has any 
equine therapeutic use, the time and method of 
administration, if determined, whether more than one foreign 
substance was detected in the sample, and any other 
appropriate aggravating or mitigating factors.

8.3.2.8 Whenever a trainer is suspended more 
than once within a two-year period for a violation of this 
chapter regarding medication rules, any suspension imposed 
on the trainer for any such subsequent violation also shall 
apply to the horse involved in such violation. The State 
Steward or judges may impose a shorter suspension on the 
horse than on the trainer.

8.3.2.9 At the discretion of the State Steward 
or other designee of the Commission, a horse as to which an 
initial finding of a prohibited substance has bee made by the 
Commission chemist may be prohibited from racing pending 
a timely hearing; provided, however, that other horses 
registered under the care of the trainer of such a horse may, 
with the consent of the State Steward or other designee of the 
Commission be released to the care of another trainer, and 
may race.

8.3.3 Medication Restrictions
8.3.3.1 Drugs or medications in horses are 

permissible, provided:
8.3.3.1.1 the drug or medication is 

listed by the Association of Racing Commissioners 
International's Drug Testing and Quality Assurance 
Program; and

8.3.3.1.2 the maximum permissible 
urine or blood concentration of the drug or medication does 
not exceed the limit established in theses Rules or otherwise 
approved and published by the Commission.

8.3.3.2 Except as otherwise provided by this 
chapter, a person may not administer or cause to be 
administered by any means to a horse a prohibited drug, 
medication, chemical or other substance, including any 
restricted medication pursuant to this chapter during the 
24-hour period before post time for the race in which the 
horse is entered.  Such administration shall result in the 
horse being scratched from the race and may result in 
disciplinary actions being taken.

8.3.3.3 A finding by the official chemist of a 
prohibited drug, chemical or other substance in a test 
specimen of a horse is prima facie evidence that the 
prohibited drug, chemical or other substance was 
administered to the horse and, in the case of a post-race test, 
was present in the horse's body while it was participating in a 
race.  Prohibited substances include:

8.3.3.3.1 drugs or medications for 
which no acceptable levels have been established in these 
Rules or otherwise approved and published by the 

Commission.
8.3.3.3.2 therapeutic medications in 

excess of acceptable limits established in these rules or 
otherwise approved and published by the Commission.

8.3.3.3.3Substances present in the horse in 
excess of levels at which such substances could occur 
naturally and such prohibited substances shall include a total 
carbon dioxide level of 37 mmol/L or serum in a submitted 
blood sample from a horse or 39 mmol/L if serum from a 
horse which has been administered furosemide in 
compliance with these rules, provided that a licensee has the 
right, pursuant to such procedures as may be established 
from time to time by the Commission, to attempt to prove 
that a horse has a naturally high carbon dioxide level in 
excess of the above-mentioned levels; and provided, further, 
that an excess total carbon dioxide level shall be penalized in 
accordance with the penalty recommendation applicable to a 
Class 2 substance.

8.3.3.3.4 substances foreign to a horse 
at levels that cause interference with testing procedures.  The 
detection of any such substance is a violation, regardless of 
the classification or definition of the substance or its 
properties under the Uniform Classification Guidelines for 
Foreign Substances.

8.3.3.4 The tubing, dosing or jugging of any 
horse for any reason within 24 hours prior to its scheduled 
race is prohibited unless administered for medical 
emergency purposes by a licensed veterinarian, in which 
case the horse shall be scratched.  The practice of 
administration of any substance via a naso-gastric tube or 
dose syringe into a horse's stomach within 24 hours prior to 
its scheduled race is considered a violation of these rules and 
subject to disciplinary action, which may include fine, 
suspension and revocation or license.

8.3.4 Medical Labeling
8.3.4.1 No person on association grounds 

where horses are lodged or kept, excluding licensed 
veterinarians, shall have in or upon association grounds 
which that person occupies or has the right to occupy, or in 
that person's personal property or effects or vehicle in that 
person's care, custody or control, a drug, medication, 
chemical, foreign substance or other substance that is 
prohibited in a horse on a race day unless the product is 
labelled in accordance with this subsection.

8.3.4.2 Any drug or medication which is used 
or kept on association grounds and which, by federal or 
Delaware law, requires a prescription must have been validly 
prescribed by a duly licensed veterinarian, and in 
compliance with the applicable federal and state statutes. 
All such allowable medications must have a prescription 
label which is securely attached and clearly ascribed to show 
the following:

8.3.4.2.1 the name of the product;
8.3.4.2.2 the name, address and 
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telephone number of the veterinarian prescribing or 
dispensing the product;

8.3.4.2.3 the name of each patient 
(horse) for whom the product is intended/prescribed;

8.3.4.2.4 the dose, dosage, duration of 
treatment and expiration date of the prescribed/dispensed 
product; and 

8.3.4.2.5 the name of the person 
(trainer) to whom the product was dispensed.

8.3.5 Furosemide (Salix) and Aminiocaproic 
Acid (Amicar)

8.3.5.1 General
Furosemide (Salix) and Aminiocaproic 

Acid (Amicar)
 may be administered intravenously to a horse on the 
grounds of the association at which it is entered to compete 
in a race.  Furosemide or Furosemide with Aminiocaproic 
Acid  shall be permitted only after the Commission 
Veterinarian has placed the horse on the Bleeder List or to 
facilitate the collection of a pot-race urine sample.

8.3.5.2 Method of Administration
Furosemide or Furosemide with 

Aminocaproic Acid shall be administered intravenously by 
the licensed Bleeder Medication Veterinarian, unless he/she 
determines that a horse cannot receive an intravenous 
administration of  Furosemide or Furosemide with 
Aminocaproic Acid. Permission for an intramuscular 
administration must be authorized by the Presiding Judge or 
his/her representative; provided, however, that once 
Furosemide or Furosemide with Aminocaproic Acid is 
administered intramuscularly, the horse shall remain in a 
detention area under the supervision of a Commission 
representative until it races.

8.3.5.3 Dosage
Aminocaproic Acid shall be administered 

to a horse on the Bleeder List only by the licensed Bleeder 
Medication Veterinarian, who will administer not more than 
7.5 grams or less than 2.5 grams intravenously. Furosemide 
shall be administered to horses on the Bleeder List only by 
the licensed Bleeder Medication Veterinarian, who will 
administer not more than 500 milligrams nor less than 100 
milligrams, subject to the following conditions:

8.3.5.3.1 Not more than 750 
milligrams may be administered if (1) the Commission 
veterinarian grants permission for a dosage greater than 500 
milligrams, and (2) after the administration of such greater 
dosage, the horse remains in a detention area under the 
supervision of a Commission representative until it races; 
and

8.3.5.3.2 The dosage administered 
may not vary by more than 250 milligrams from race to race 
without the permission of the Commission Veterinarian.

8.3.5.4 Timing of Administration
Horses must be presented at their assigned 

stalls in the paddock for Aminocaproic Acid treatment. 
Aminocaproic Acid will be administered not more than 90 
minutes (1 1/2 hours) and not less than 60 minutes (1 hour) 
prior to post time of their respective races and must be 
treated prior to going on the track the first time.  Failure to 
meet this time frame will result in scratching the horse and 
the trainer may be fined. Horses must be presented at the 
Furosemide stall in the paddock, and the Furosemide 
administered, not more than three hours and 30 minutes (3-1/
2 hours) nor less than three hours (three hours) prior to post 
time of their respective races.  Failure to meet this time 
frame will result in scratching the horse, and the trainer may 
be fined.

8.3.5.5 Veterinary Charges
It is the responsibility of the owner or 

trainer, prior to the administration of the medication, to pay 
the licensed Bleeder Medication veterinarian at the rate 
approved by the Commission.  No credit shall be given 
without approval of the Bleeder Medication Veterinarian.

8.3.5.6 Restrictions
No one except a licensed practicing 

veterinarian shall possess equipment or any substance for 
injectable administration on the race track complex, and no 
horse is to receive furosemide in oral form.

8.3.5.7 Post-Race Quantification
The presence of Aminocaproic Acid in a 

horse following the running of the race in which it was not 
declared or reported, may result in the disqualification of the 
horse or other sanctions being imposed upon the trainer and 
the administering veterinarian.

Conversely, the absence of a bleeder 
medication following the running of a race, which was 
declared and reported may result in the disqualification of 
the horse and other sanctions being imposed upon the trainer 
and the bleeder Medication Veterinarian

8.3.5.7.1 As indicated by post-race 
quantification, a horse may not carry in its body at the time 
of the running of the race more than 100 nanograms of 
Furosemide per milliliter of plasma in conjunction with a 
urine that has a specific gravity of less than 1.01, unless the 
dosage of Furosemide:

8.3.5.7.1.1 Was administered 
intramuscularly as provided in 8.3.5.2; or

8.3.5.7.1.2 Exceeded 500 
milligrams as provided in 8.3.5.3.1.

8.3.5.7.2 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race more than 100 nanograms of furosemide 
per milliliter of plasma in conjunction with a urine that has a 
specific gravity of less than 1.01, and provided that the 
dosage of furosemide was not administered intramuscularly 
as provided in 8.3.5.2 or exceeded 500 milligrams as 
provided in 8.3.5.3.1, then a penalty shall be imposed as 
follows:
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8.3.5.7.2.1 If such overage is the 
first violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up to a 
$250 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.5.7.2.2 If such overage is the 
second violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up to 
a $1,000 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.5.7.2.3 If such overage is the 
third violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up to a 
$1,000 fine and up to a 15-day suspension and loss of purse.

8.3.5.7.2.4 If in the opinion of the 
official chemist any such overage caused interference with 
testing procedures, then for each such overage a penalty of 
up to a $1,000 fine and a suspension of from 15 to 50 days 
may be imposed. 

8.3.5.8 Reports
8.3.5.8.1 The Bleeder Medication 

Veterinarian who administers Aminocaproic Acid or 
Furosemide or Furosemide with Aminocaproic Acid to a 
horse scheduled to race shall prepare a written certification 
indicating the time, dosage and method of administration.

8.3.5.8.2 The written certification 
shall be delivered to a Commission representative designated 
by the Judges within one (1) hour of the last scheduled race 
for that day.

8.3.5.9 Bleeder List
8.3.5.9.1 The Bleeder Medication 

Veterinarian shall maintain a Bleeder List of all horses which 
have demonstrated external evidence of exercise induced 
pulmonary hemorrhage (EIPH) or the existence of 
hemorrhage in the trachea post exercise upon:

8.3.5.9.1.1 visual examination 
wherein blood is noted in one or both nostrils either:

8.3.5.9.1.1.1 during a race;
8.3.5.9.1.1.2 immediately post-

race or post-exercise on track; or
8.3.5.9.1.1.3 within one hour 

post-race or post-exercise in paddock and/or stable area, 
confirmed by endoscopic examination; or

8.3.5.9.1.2 endoscopic 
examination, which may be requested by the owner or 
trainer who feels his or her horse is a bleeder.  Such 
endoscopic examination must be done by a practicing 
veterinarian, at the owner's or trainer's expense, and in the 
presence of the Commission Veterinarian.  Such an 
examination shall take place within one hour post-race or 
post-exercise; or

8.3.5.9.1.3 presentation to the 
Commission Veterinarian, at least 48 hours prior to racing, of 
a current Bleeder Certificate from an official veterinarian 
from any other jurisdiction, which show the date, place and 
method -- visual or endoscopy -- by which the horse was 
determined to have bled, or which attests that the horse is a 
known bleeder and receives bleeder medication in that 
jurisdiction, provided that such jurisdiction's criteria for the 

identification of bleeders are satisfactory to the Commission 
Veterinarian.

8.3.5.9.2 The confirmation of a 
bleeder horse must be certified in writing by the Commission 
Veterinarian and entered on the Bleeder List. Copies of the 
certification shall be issued to the owner of the horse or the 
owner's designee upon request.  A copy of the bleeder 
certificate shall be attached to the horse's eligibility 
certificate.

8.3.5.9.3 Every confirmed bleeder, 
regardless of age, shall be placed on the Bleeder List, and 
furosemide or Furosemide with Aminocaproic Acid, if 
applicable must be administered to the horse in accordance 
with these rules prior to every race, including qualifying 
races, in which the horse starts.

8.3.5.9.4 A horse which bleeds based 
on the criteria set forth in 8.3.5.9.1 above shall be restricted 
from racing at any facility under the jurisdiction of the 
Commission, as follows:

8.3.5.9.4.1 1st time - 10 days;
8.3.5.9.4.2 2nd time - 30 days, 

provided that the horse must be added to or remain on the 
Bleeder List, and must complete a satisfactory qualifying 
race before resuming racing;

8.3.5.9.4.3 3rd time - 30 days, and 
the horse shall be added to the Steward's List, to be removed 
at the discretion of the Commission Veterinarian following a 
satisfactory qualifying race after the mandatory 30-day rest 
period; and

8.3.5.9.4.4 4th time - barred for life.
8.3.5.9.5 An owner or trainer must 

notify the Commission Veterinarian immediately of evidence 
that a horse is bleeding following exercise or racing.

8.3.5.9.6 A horse may be removed 
from the Bleeder List at the request of the owner or trainer, if 
the horse completes a 10-day rest period following such 
request, and then re-qualifies.  A horse may discontinue the 
use of Aminocaproic Acid without a ten (10) day rest period 
or having to reliquary provided the horse was on 
Aminocaproic Acid for thirty (34) days or more.  In addition, 
once a horse discontinues the use of Aminocaproic Acid, it is 
prohibited from using said medication for ninety (90) days 
from the date of its last administration for Aminocaproic 
Acid.

8.3.5.9.7 Any horse on the Bleeder 
List which races in a jurisdiction where it is not eligible for 
bleeder medication, whether such ineligibility is due to the 
fact that it does not qualify for bleeder medication in that 
jurisdiction or because bleeder medication is prohibited in 
that jurisdiction, shall automatically remain on the Bleeder 
List at the discretion of the owner or trainer, provided that 
such decision by the owner or trainer must be declared at the 
time of the first subsequent entry in Delaware, and the 
Furosemide and Aminocaproic Acid symbols in the program 
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shall appropriately reflect that the horse did not receive 
Furosemide or Furosemide with Aminocaproic Acid its last 
time out.  Such an election by the owner or trainer shall not 
preclude the Commission Veterinarian, State Steward or 
Presiding Judge from requiring re-qualification whenever a 
horse on the Bleeder List races in another jurisdiction 
without bleeder medication, and the integrity of the Bleeder 
List may be questioned.

8.3.5.9.8 Any horse on the Bleeder 
List which races without Furosemide or Furosemide with 
Aminocaproic Acid in any jurisdiction which permits the use 
of Furosemide or Furosemide with Aminocaproic Acid in 
any jurisdiction which permits the use of Lasix shall 
automatically be removed from the Bleeder List. In order to 
be restored to the Bleeder List, the horse must demonstrate 
EIPH in accordance with the criteria set forth in subdivision 
8.3.5.9.1 above.  If the horse does demonstrate EIPH and is 
restored to the Bleeder List, the horse shall be suspended 
from racing in accordance with the provisions of 8.3.5.9.4 
above.

8.3.5.9.9 The State Steward or 
Presiding Judge, in consultation with the Commission 
Veterinarian, will rule on any questions relating to the 
Bleeder List.

8.3.5.10 Medication Program Entries
It is the responsibility of the trainer at the 

time of entry of a horse to provide the racing secretary with 
the bleeder medication status of the horse on the entry blank, 
and also to provide the Commission Veterinarian with a 
bleeder certificate, if the horse previously raced out-of-state 
on bleeder medication.

8.3.6 Phenylbutazone (Bute)
8.3.6.1 General

8.3.6.1.1 Phenylbutazone or 
oxyphenbutazone may be administered to horses three years 
of age and older in such dosage amount that the official test 
sample shall contain not more than 2.0 micrograms per 
milliliter of blood plasma. Phenylbutazone or 
oxyphenbutazone is not permissible at any level in horses 
two years of age and if phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone 
is present in any post-race sample from a two year old horse, 
said horse shall be disqualified, shall forfeit any purse 
money, and the trainer shall be subject to penalties including 
up to a $1,000 fine and up to a fifty day suspension.

8.3.6.1.2 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race more than 2.0 but not more than 2.6 
micrograms per milliliter of blood plasma of phenylbutazone 
or oxyphenbutazone, then warnings shall be issued to the 
trainer.

8.3.6.1.3 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race more than 2.6 micrograms per milliliter 
of blood plasma of phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone, 

then a penalty shall be imposed as follows:
8.3.6.1.3.1 For an average between 

2.6 and less than 5.0 micrograms per milliliter:
8.3.6.1.3.1.1 If such overage is 

the first violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up 
to a $250 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.2 If such overage is 
the second violation of this rule within a 12-month period: 
Up to a $1,000 fine and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.3 If such overage is 
the third violation of this rule within a 12-month period: Up 
to a $1,000 fine and up to a 15-day suspension and loss of 
purse.

8.3.6.1.3.1.4 For an overage of 
5.0 micrograms or more per milliliter: Up to a $1,000 fine 
and up to a 5-day suspension and loss of purse.

8.3.6.1.4 If post-race quantification 
indicates that a horse carried in its body at the time of the 
running of the race any quantity of phenylbutazone or 
oxyphenbutazone, and also carried in its body at the time of 
the running of the race any quantity of any other non-
steroidal anti-inflammatory drug, including but not limited 
to naproxen, flunixin and meclofenamic acid, then such 
presence of phenylbutazone or oxyphenbutazone, shall 
constitute a violation of this rule and shall be subject to a 
penalty of up to a $1,000 fine and up to a 50-day suspension 
and loss of purse.

8.4 Testing
8.4.1 Reporting to the Test Barn

8.4.1.1 Horses shall be selected for post-
racing testing according to the following protocol:

8.4.1.1.1 At least one horse in each 
race, selected by the judges from among the horses finishing 
in the first four positions in each race, shall be tested. 

8.4.1.1.2 Horses selected for testing 
shall be taken to the Test Barn or Test Stall to have a blood, 
urine and/or other specimen sample taken at the direction of 
the State veterinarian.

8.4.1.2 Random or extra testing, including 
pre-race testing, may be required by the State Steward or 
judges, or by the Commission, at any time on any horse on 
association grounds.

8.4.1.3 Unless otherwise directed by the State 
Steward, judges or the Commission Veterinarian, a horse that 
is selected for testing must be taken directly to the Test Barn.

8.4.2 Sample Collection
8.4.2.1 Sample collection shall be done in 

accordance with the RCI Drug Testing and Quality 
Assurance Program External Chain of Custody Guidelines, 
or other guidelines and instructions provided by the 
Commission Veterinarian.

8.4.2.2 The Commission veterinarian shall 
determine a minimum sample requirement for the primary 
testing laboratory.  A primary testing laboratory must be 
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approved by the Commission.
8.4.3 Procedure for Taking Specimens

8.4.3.1 Horses from which specimens are to 
be drawn shall be taken to the detention area at the 
prescribed time and remain there until released by the 
Commission Veterinarian.  Only the owner, trainer, groom, 
or hot walker of horses to be tested shall be admitted to the 
detention area without permission of the Commission 
Veterinarian.

8.4.3.2 Stable equipment other than 
equipment necessary for washing and cooling out a horse 
shall be prohibited in the detention area.

8.4.3.2.1 Buckets and water shall be 
furnished by the Commission Veterinarian.

8.4.3.2.2 1 If a body brace is to be used, 
it shall be supplied by the responsible trainer and 
administered only with the permission and in the presence of 
the Commission Veterinarian.

8.4.3.2.3 2A licensed veterinarian shall 
attend a horse in the detention area only in the presence of 
the Commission Veterinarian.

8.4.3.3 One of the following persons shall be 
present and witness the taking of the specimen from a horse 
and so signify in writing:

8.4.3.3.1 The owner;
8.4.3.3.2 The responsible trainer who, 

in the case of a claimed horse, shall be the person in whose 
name the horse raced; or

8.4.3.3.3 A stable representative 
designated by such owner or trainer.

8.4.3.4
8.4.3.4.1 All urine containers shall be 

supplied by the Commission laboratory and shall be sealed 
with the laboratory security seal which shall not be broken, 
except in the presence of the witness as provided by 
(subsection (3)) subsection 8.4.3.3 of this section.

8.4.3.4.2 Blood  vacutainers will also 
be supplied by the Commission laboratory in sealed 
packages as received from the manufacturer.

8.4.3.5 Samples taken from a horse, by the 
Commission Veterinarian or his assistant at the detention 
barn, shall be collected and in double containers and 
designated as the “primary” and “secondary” samples.

8.4.3.5.1 These samples shall be 
sealed with tamper-proof tape and bear a portion of the 
multiple part “identification tag” that has identical printed 
numbers only.  The other portion of the tag bearing the same 
printed identification number shall be detached in the 
presence of the witness.

8.4.3.5.2 The Commission 
Veterinarian shall:

8.4.3.5.2.1 Identify the horse from 
which the specimen was taken.

8.4.3.5.2.2 Document the race and 

day, verified by the witness; and
8.4.3.5.2.3 Place the detached 

portions of the identification tags in a sealed envelope for 
delivery only to the stewards.

8.4.3.5.3 After both portions of 
samples have been identified in accordance with this section, 
the “ primary” sample shall be delivered to the official 
chemist designated by the Commission.

8.4.3.5.4 The  “secondary”  sample 
shall remain in the custody of the Commission Veterinarian 
at the detention area and urine samples shall be frozen and 
blood samples refrigerated in a locked refrigerator/freezer.

8.4.3.5.5 The Commission 
Veterinarian shall take every precaution to ensure that 
neither the Commission chemist nor any member of the 
laboratory staff shall know the identity of the horse from 
which a specimen was taken prior to the completion of all 
testing.

8.4.3.5.6 When the Commission 
chemist has reported that the “primary” sample delivered 
contains no prohibited drug, the “secondary” sample shall be 
properly disposed.

8.4.3.5.7 If after a horse remains a 
reasonable time in the detention area and a specimen can not 
be taken from the horse, the Commission Veterinarian may 
permit the horse to be returned to its barn and usual 
surroundings for the taking of a specimen under the 
supervision of the Commission Veterinarian.

8.4.3.5.8 If one hundred (100) 
milliliters (ml.) or less of urine is obtained, it will not be 
split, but will be considered the “primary”  sample and will 
be tested as other “primary” samples.

8.4.3.5.9 Two (2) blood samples shall 
be collected in twenty (20) milliliters vacutainers, one for the 
“primary” and one for the “secondary” sample.

8.4.3.5.10 In the event of an initial 
finding of a prohibited substance or in violation of these 
Rules and Regulations, the Commission chemist shall notify 
the Commission, both orally and in writing, and an oral or 
written notice shall be issued by the Commission to the 
owner and trainer or other responsible person no more than 
twenty-four (24) hours after the receipt of the initial finding, 
unless extenuating circumstances require a longer period, in 
which case the Commission shall provide notice as soon as 
possible in order to allow for testing of the “secondary” 
sample; provided, however, that with respect to a finding of 
a prohibited level of total carbon dioxide in a blood sample, 
there shall be no right to testing of the “secondary sample” 
unless such finding initially is made at the racetrack on the 
same day that the tested horse raced, and in every such 
circumstance a “secondary sample” shall be transported to 
the Commission laboratory on an anonymous basis for 
confirmatory testing.

8.4.3.5.10.1 If  testing of the 
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“secondary”  sample is desired, the owner, trainer, or other 
responsible person shall so notify the Commission in writing 
within 48 hours after notification of the initial positive test or 
within a reasonable period of time established by the 
Commission after consultation with the Commission 
chemist.  The reasonable period is to be calculated to insure 
the integrity of the sample and the preservation of the alleged 
illegal substance.

8.4.3.5.10.2 Testing of the 
“secondary” samples shall be performed at a referee 
laboratory selected by representatives of the owner, trainer, 
or other responsible person from a list of not less than two 
(2) laboratories approved by the Commission.

8.4.3.5.11 The Commission shall bear 
the responsibility of preparing and shipping the sample, and 
the cost of preparation, shipping, and testing at the referee 
laboratory shall be assumed by the person requesting the 
testing, whether it be the owner, trainer, or other person 
charged.

8.4.3.5.11.1 A Commission 
representative and the owner, trainer, or other responsible 
person or a representative of the persons notified under these 
Rules and Regulations may be present at the time of the 
opening, repackaging, and testing of the “secondary” sample 
to ensure its identity and that the testing is satisfactorily 
performed.

8.4.3.5.11.2 The referee laboratory 
shall be informed of the initial findings of the Commission 
chemist prior to making the test.

8.4.3.5.11.3 If the finding of the 
referee laboratory is proven to be of sufficient reliability and 
does not confirm the finding of the initial test performed by 
the Commission chemist and in the absence of other 
independent proof of the administration of a prohibited drug 
of the horse in question, it shall be concluded that there is 
insubstantial evidence upon which to charge anyone with a 
violation.

8.4.3.5.12 The Commission 
Veterinarian shall be responsible for safeguarding all 
specimens while in his possession and shall cause the 
specimens to be delivered only to the Commission chemist 
as soon as possible after sealing, in a manner so as not to 
reveal the identity of a horse from which the sample was 
taken.

8.4.3.5.13 If an Act of God, power 
failure, accident, strike or other action beyond the control of 
the Commission occurs, the results of the primary official 
test shall be accepted as prima facie evidence.

8.5 Trainer Responsibility
The purpose of this subsection is to identify 

responsibilities of the trainer that pertain specifically to the 
health and well-being of horses in his/her care.

8.5.1 The trainer is responsible for the condition 
of horses entered in an official workout or race and is 

responsible for the presence of any prohibited drug, 
medication or other substance, including permitted 
medication in excess of the maximum allowable level, in 
such horses. A positive test for a prohibited drug, medication 
or substance, including permitted medication in excess of the 
maximum allowable level, as reported by a 
Commission-approved laboratory, is prima facie evidence of 
a violation of this rule.  In the absence of substantial 
evidence to the contrary, the trainer shall be responsible. 
Whenever a trainer of a horse names a substitute trainer for 
program purposes due to his or her inability to be in 
attendance with the horse on the day of the race, or for any 
other reason, both trainers shall be responsible for the 
condition of the horse should the horse test positive; 
provided further that, except as otherwise provided herein, 
the trainer of record (programmed trainer) shall be any 
individual who receives any compensation for training the 
horse.

8.5.2 A trainer shall prevent the administration 
of any drug or medication or other foreign substance that 
may cause a violation of these rules.

8.5.3 A trainer whose horse has been claimed 
remains responsible for any violation of rules regarding that 
horse's participation in the race in which the horse is 
claimed.

8.5.4 The trainer is responsible for:
8.5.4.1 maintaining the assigned stable area 

in a clean, neat and sanitary condition at all times;
8.5.4.2 using the services of those 

veterinarians licensed by the Commission to attend horses 
that are on association grounds;

8.5.5 Additionally, with respect to horses in his/
her care or custody, the trainer is responsible for:

8.5.5.1 the proper identity, custody, care, 
health, condition and safety of horses;

8.5.5.2 ensuring that at the time of arrival at 
locations under the jurisdiction of the Commission a valid 
health certificate and a valid negative Equine Infectious 
Anemia (EIA) test certificate accompany each horse and 
which, where applicable, shall be filed with the racing 
secretary;

8.5.5.3 having each horse in his/her care that 
is racing, or is stabled on association grounds, tested for 
Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) in accordance with state 
law and for filing evidence of such negative test results with 
the racing secretary;

8.5.5.4 using the services of those 
veterinarians licensed by the Commission to attend horses 
that are on association grounds;

8.5.5.5 immediately reporting the alteration 
of the sex of a horse to the clerk of the course, the United 
States Trotting Association and the racing secretary;

8.5.5.6 promptly reporting to the racing 
secretary and the Commission Veterinarian when a posterior 
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digital neurectomy (heel nerving) has been performed and 
ensuring that such fact is designated on its certificate of 
registration;

8.5.5.7 promptly notifying the Commission 
Veterinarian of any reportable disease and any unusual 
incidence of a communicable illness in any horse in his/her 
charge;

8.5.5.8 promptly reporting the serious injury 
and/or death of any horse at locations under the jurisdiction 
of the Commission to the State Stewards and judges, the 
Commission Veterinarian, and the United States Trotting 
Association;

8.5.5.9 maintaining a knowledge of the 
medication record and status;

8.5.5.10 immediately reporting to the 
State Steward, judges and the Commission Veterinarian 
knowledge or reason to believe, that there has been any 
administration of a prohibited medication, drug or substance;

8.5.5.11 ensuring the fitness to perform 
creditably at the distance entered;

8.5.5.12 ensuring that every horse he/she 
has entered to race is present at its assigned stall for a 
pre-race soundness inspection as prescribed in this chapter;

8.5.5.13 ensuring proper bandages, 
equipment and shoes;

8.5.5.14 presence in the paddock at least 
one hour before post time or at a time otherwise appointed 
before the race in which the horse is entered;

8.5.5.15 personally attending in the 
paddock and supervising the harnessing thereof, unless 
excused by the Paddock Judge; 

8.5.5.16 attending the collection of a urine 
or blood sample or delegating a licensed employee or the 
owner to do so; and

8.5.5.17 immediately reporting to the 
State Steward or other Commission designee, or to the State 
Veterinarian or Commission Veterinarian if the State Steward 
or other Commission designee is unavailable, the death of 
any horse drawn in to start in a race in this jurisdiction 
provided that the death occurred within 60 days of the date 
of the draw.

8.6 Physical Inspection of Horses
8.6.1 Veterinarian's List

8.6.1.1 The Commission Veterinarian shall 
maintain a list of all horses which are determined to be unfit 
to compete in a race due to physical distress, unsoundness, 
infirmity or medical condition.

8.6.1.2 A horse may be removed from the 
Veterinarian's List when, in the opinion of the Commission 
Veterinarian, the horse has satisfactorily recovered the 
capability of competing in a race.

8.6.2 Postmortem Examination
8.6.2.1 The Commission may conduct a 

postmortem examination of any horse that is injured in this 

jurisdiction while in training or in competition and that 
subsequently expires or is destroyed.  In proceeding with a 
postmortem examination the Commission or its designee 
shall coordinate with the trainer and/or owner to determine 
and address any insurance requirements.

8.6.2.2 The Commission may conduct a 
postmortem examination of any horse that expires while 
housed on association grounds or at recognized training 
facilities within this jurisdiction.  Trainers and owners shall 
be required to comply with such action as a condition of 
licensure.

8.6.2.3 The Commission may take possession 
of the horse upon death for postmortem examination.  The 
Commission may submit blood, urine, other bodily fluid 
specimens or other tissue specimens collected during a 
postmortem examination for testing by the 
Commission-selected laboratory or its designee.  Upon 
completion of the postmortem examination, the carcass may 
be returned to the owner or disposed of at the owner's option.

8.6.2.4 The presence of a prohibited 
substance in a horse, found by the official laboratory or its 
designee in a bodily fluid specimen collected during the 
postmortem examination of a horse, which breaks down 
during a race constitutes a violation of these rules.

8.6.2.5 The cost of Commission-ordered 
postmortem examinations, testing and disposal shall be 
borne by the Commission.

1 DE Reg. 505 (11/01/97)
1 DE Reg. 923 (1/1/98)
3 DE Reg 1520 (5/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 6 (7/1/00)
4 DE Reg 336 (8/1/00)
5 DE Reg. 832 (10/1/01)
5 DE Reg. 1691 (3/1/02)
6 DE Reg. 862 (1/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1512 (5/1/04)

DELAWARE STANDARDBRED BREEDERS' FUND 
PROGRAM

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code,
Sections 4815(b)(3)b.2.D. 29 &  8103 (8)

(29 Del.C. §§ 4815(b)(3)b.2.D.29, 8103 (8))

NOTICE

The State of Delaware, Department of Agriculture’s 
Standardbred Breeders’ Fund (herein “the Fund”)  hereby 
gives notice of its intention to adopt amended regulations 
concerning its enforcement procedures pursuant to the 
General Assembly’s delegation of authority to adopt such 
measures found at 29 Del.C. §4815(b)(3)b.2.D and in 
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compliance with Delaware’s Administrative Procedures Act, 
29 Del.C. §10115. The proposed amended regulations 
constitute a substantial revision of its regulations and more 
specifically set forth the powers and duties of the Fund’s 
Administrator, eliminate the Delaware Harness Racing 
Commission from the hearing process that currently exists 
for resolving disputes between horse owners and the Fund’s 
Administrator substituting  in its stead a public hearing 
before the Fund, and allowing for appeals to the Superior 
Court of the State of Delaware from decisions by the Fund.

The Fund requests, and will consider, timely filed 
written comments from interested individuals and groups 
concerning these proposed amended regulations. The 
deadline for the filing of such written comments will be 
thirty days (30) after these proposed amended regulations are 
promulgated in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

Any such submissions should be mailed or delivered to 
Ms. Judy Davis-Wilson, Administrator, Delaware 
Standardbred Breeders’ Fund whose address is State of 
Delaware, Department of Agriculture, 2320 South duPont 
Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901.

1.0 Introduction
1.1 These regulations are authorized pursuant to 

§4815(b)(3)b.2.D. of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, which 
established in the State of Delaware a Delaware 
Standardbred Breeder's Program (herein "the Program") for:

1.1.1 Standardbred horses; 
1.1.2 that are bred in a manner prescribed in 

Section 2.0 herein;
1.1.3 that are the product of a registered 

Delaware stallion;
1.1.4 who that are registered, and whose sire is 

registered, with the Administrator of the Program as such; 
and,

1.1.5 listed in their registry books.
1.2 Those horses eligible to race under said Delaware 

Standardbred Breeder's Program shall be any foal of any 
registered Delaware stallion standing at a Delaware breeding 
farm and either owned by a resident of the State of Delaware 
or owned by a non-resident who holds a lease for a period of 
the breeding season and will stand the stallion for that full 
season on a Delaware breeding farm. A copy of any such 
lease shall be filed with the United States Trotting 
Association, the Administrator of the Breeder's Program, and 
the Delaware Harness Racing Commission.

1.3 The Board of the Delaware Standardbred Breeder's 
Program (herein "the Board") is authorized to do all that is 
reasonable and necessary for the proper administration of the 
Program and shall prepare, issue and promulgate rules and 
regulations providing for:

1.3.1 Classes and divisions of races, eligibility 
of horses and owners therefor and purses and bonuses to be 
awarded;

1.3.2 Nominating, sustaining and entry fees on 
horses and races;

1.3.3 Such temporary programs including 
eligibility of horses, breeding, and other matters as may be 
necessary to make the Program operable as soon as possible;

1.3.4 Registration and certification of Delaware 
stallions, mares bred to such stallions and foals produced 
thereby; and,

1.3.5 Such other matters as the board determines 
to be necessary and appropriate for the proper administration 
and implementation of the Program.

1.4 The funds for the Program pursuant to §4815(b)(3) 
of Title 29 of the Delaware Code and any nominating, 
sustaining, and declaration fees provided for herein shall be 
administered by the Delaware Department of Agriculture by 
deposit in a trust account entitled Delaware Standardbred 
Breeders’ Fund. The Board shall approve an annual budget 
including the payment of purses and awards, cost of 
administration, reimbursement of expenses of members of 
the Board, promotional expenses, and any other appropriate 
expenses. The budget shall be administered by the Secretary 
of Agriculture or his designee in consultation with the Board 
in a manner consistent with the state laws and procedures. A 
report shall be prepared and filed annually by the Secretary 
of Agriculture with the Delaware Harness Racing 
Commission and the Board setting forth an itemization of all 
deposits to and expenditures from said fund.

1.5 Races for in the Program shall be contested at each 
licensed harness track in the State of Delaware. Said races 
and Purses and awards awarded, therefore, for program 
races, shall be pursuant to in compliance with the rules and 
regulations of the Board hereunder, and the Delaware 
Harness Racing Commission.

1.6 The Board can propose to amend these regulations 
through a by the affirmative vote of 2/3 majority of the entire 
board eight of its eleven members. Changes to the rules of 
eligibility for the Program will be effective at the beginning 
of the next breeding season and the corresponding racing 
season.

2.0 Definitions.
The following words and terms, when used in this part 

for the purposes of the Delaware Standardbred Breeder's 
Fund Program, have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise.  Such definitions shall 
not affect the use of that term by the Delaware Harness 
Racing Commission for purposes other than for the Breeder's 
Fund Program.

"Bred" means any form of insemination inside the 
State of Delaware by a Delaware sire, including 
insemination using semen transported within the State of 
Delaware, provided that such semen is not frozen or 
desiccated in any way or at any time. Bred shall also refer to 
foals of mares bred outside the State of Delaware by a 
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Delaware sire through interstate semen transportation when
such semen is not frozen or desiccated in any way or at any
time, provided that owners of mares that produce foals from
Delaware sires eligible for this program that are bred through
interstate semen transportation shall not be eligible for
bonuses paid to owners of mares under the Delaware
Standardbred Breeder's Program set forth in Section 4.0
herein. A foal conceived through embryo transplantation is
not eligible for nomination to the Delaware Standardbred
Breeder's Program under any circumstances.

"Breeder"  means the owner of the dam at the time of
breeding through foaling. 

“Breeding Season” is the season during which
reproduction occurs and which runs from February 1st to
August 1st of the calendar year.

“Delaware-bred horse” is a Standardbred by a
Delaware sire and registered with the Harness Racing
Commission and Administrator of the Program  provided
that for the purposes of determining eligibility for race years
2002 and 2003 Delaware-bred horses shall also include any
foal of a 100% wholly owned mare at the time of breeding
through foaling by a Delaware resident registered with the
Harness  and Administrator of the Program by August by
May 15th of the yearling year.

“Delaware resident” is as defined in §10032 of Title 3
of the Delaware Code.

“Delaware sire” is a Standardbred stallion that
regularly stands for a breeding season in Delaware, does not
compete for purses during that period, and is registered with
the Harness Racing Commission and Administrator of the
Program. A Delaware sire may be: a) owned by a resident of
the state of Delaware and standing the entire breeding season
in the state of Delaware; or b) owned by a resident of a state
other than Delaware, but standing the entire breeding season
in Delaware, verified by a copy of a lease filed with the
Administrator of the Program  and the Harness Racing
Commission at the time of registration for the Program as
provided in section 1.1 above; or c) owned jointly by a
resident (or residents) and non-resident (or non-residents) of
Delaware and standing the entire breeding season in
Delaware with the same lease requirements as in b) above.

“Private Treaty” No stallion participating in the
Program may be offered for service under private treaty.
Each stallion registered in the Program must make public the
maximum  possible breeding fee.

Such definitions shall not affect the use of that term by
the Delaware Harness Racing Commission for purposes
other than for the Program.

“Registrant” is a horse owner, the horse owner’s agent
of record or trainer of record, or the lessee of a horse.

6 DE Reg. 1497 (5/1/03)

3.0 Eligibility for Delaware-bred races.
3.1 To be eligible for races under the Program for race

years 2002 and 2003, a horse, which shall be registered with
the Administrator and Commission by August 15th of its
yearling year, shall be: 1) the product of a 100% wholly
owned mare a the time of breeding through foaling by a
Delaware resident, which mare shall be registered with the
Administrator and Commission by August 15, 2000 for the
breeding seasons of 1999 and 2000 and by August 15th 2001
for the breeding season of 2001: and/or, 2) the product of a
Delaware-sire, which sire shall be registered with the
Administrator and Commission by March 1, 2000 for the
breeding seasons of 1999 and 2000 and by August 15, 2001
for the breeding season of 2001.

3.21 To be eligible for races under the Program for
race year 2004, the horse shall be a Delaware sired 2-year
old registered with the Administrator and Commission by
August May 15th of its yearling year or a 3-year old product
of a 100% wholly owned mare at the time of breeding
through foaling by a Delaware resident, which mare shall
have been registered with the Administrator and
Commission Department of Agriculture by August 15, 2000
for the breeding season of 1999 and 2000 and by August 15,
2001 for the breeding season of 2001 or a 3-year old product
of a Delaware-sire, which sire shall have been registered
with the Administrator and Commission by March 1, 2000
for the breeding seasons of 1999 and 2000 and by August 15,
2001 for the breeding season of 2001. by March 1, 2000 and
said 3-year old registered with the Administrator by May
15th of its yearling year.

3.32 To be eligible for races under the Program for
race year 2005 and thereafter, the horse shall be a Delaware
sired 2 or 3- year old registered with the Administrator and
Commission by August May 15th of its yearling year.

4.0 Eligibility of breeders for bonus payments.
Bonus payments of eight percent (8%) of money earned

in the Program by the a foals shall be paid to the owner of the
mare at the time of breeding that is bred to Delaware sires to
produce that foal.  Bonus payments of two percent (2%) of
money earned in the Program by the foals shall be paid to
owners of stallions standing in Delaware. In order for a
Delaware-bred horse to be eligible to earn an award for its
breeder, in a race conducted by a licensed harness race track
in Delaware, the foals, mares, and stallions shall be
registered in accordance with these regulations with the
Harness Racing Commission and Administrator of the
Breeder's Program prior to entry for the race. In race year
2002, bonus payments shall be restricted to 2 year olds.  For
race years 2003 and thereafter, bonus payments shall not
exceed $70,000 per crop of foals. In the event such payments
would exceed these limits, owners eligible for bonus
payments shall receive a prorated share of those monies
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allocated toward the payment of bonus payments.

5.0 Eligibility of owners of Delaware sires for awards.
In order for a Delaware sire to be eligible to earn an 

award for its owner, the sire shall have been registered as a 
sire of Delaware with the Harness Racing Commission and
Administrator of the Breeder's Program during each 
breeding season when the sire inseminated the dams that, as 
a result of that insemination, produced Delaware-breds. To 
be eligible for a sire award, it is necessary that the foal 
entitling the sire owner to the award be itself registered in 
accordance with these regulations.

6.0 Records of registration.
Foals and sires eligible for registration shall be 

registered on official registration forms approved by the 
Harness Racing Commission and maintained by the 
Administrator of  the Program. The registrar Administrator 
shall certify thereon the name and address of the Owner, 
breeder, farm where mare was inseminated, farm on which 
this horse was foaled, owner of stallion at time the mare was 
inseminated, owner of the mare at the time of breeding, 
notice of semen transfer, stallion by which the mare was 
inseminated following the birth of the Standardbred to be 
registered, breeder social security or tax identification 
number, United State Trotting Association registration 
number, name of foal, color and sex of foal, date of foaling, 
sire, dam, sire of the dam, signature of the owner, or breeder 
or  authorized representative and the date of application. The 
registration record shall be maintained at the Administrator 
of the Program and be open to public inspection during 
normal business days and hours at the State Department of 
Agriculture. Immediately upon completion and filing of the 
form, the Administrator of the Program shall cause a correct 
copy of it to be filed with the offices of the State Department 
of Agriculture. or agent, social security number and or tax id 
number. If registration is made by an agent, the name and 
address of the owner and social security number and or tax id 
number shall also be provided. Breeding information must 
include name, color, sex, gait, sire, and dam. For sires, the 
address and contact information for the breeding farm where 
the stallion will be collected, and current phone number, 
address and contact information for where the stallion 
actually resides, if different from where semen collection 
occurs. The registration records shall be maintained by the 
Administrator of  the Program and be open to public 
inspection during normal business days and hours at the 
State Department of Agriculture. Immediately upon 
completion and filing of the form, the Administrator of the 
Program shall cause a correct copy of it to be filed with the 
offices of the State Department of Agriculture.

7.0 Appeals Duties and Powers of the Fund 
Administrator; Public Hearings; Appeals.

A person having an interest in a matter concerning the 
registration of a horse in the Breeder's Program shall have 
the right to file objections or exceptions to a registration and 
to the facts set forth therein within 30 days of the filing of the 
copy of the registration with the Administrator and the 
Delaware Harness Racing Commission. The objections or 
exceptions shall be filed in writing with the Administrator of 
the Breeder's Program and a duplicate delivered to the 
Harness Racing Commission within the 30-day time period. 
An interested party aggrieved of an action taken by the 
Administrator may appeal to the Commission in the manner 
prescribed for appeals.  The Commission shall hear and 
determine an appeal de novo. In the absence of objections or 
exceptions timely made, a registration shall be deemed final 
and binding and an official record of the Commission at the 
expiration of the 30th day of the delivery to the Commission. 
The Commission shall thereafter have the right on its own 
motion to correct an error or inaccuracy that it may find 
within the records. 

7.1 In addition to the duties of the Fund’s Administrator 
that are set forth elsewhere in these regulations, the 
Administrator is charged with receiving and reviewing for 
compliance with all rules and regulations of the Fund, 
information submitted by registrants who are seeking to 
register or renew the registration  of horses for participation 
in the Program.

7.2 If, after performing the review set forth in the 
immediately preceding section, the Administrator 
determines, in his or her sole discretion, that the information 
supplied by a registrant is incomplete or false, the 
Administrator has the power to: deny any application for 
registration; deny an application to renew an existing 
registration; and to suspend or revoke an existing 
registration.

7.3 The Administrator must provide the registrant with 
a written decision explaining the reason(s) why the 
registration, or application for renewal of registration, has 
been denied, suspended or revoked. Such written decision 
shall inform the registrant of the right to file a request for an 
administrative hearing before the Fund. Such a request for a 
hearing shall be considered timely filed with the Fund if it is 
received by the Fund within ten (10) days of the date the 
Administrator mails his or her written decision to the 
registrant. Such a request for a hearing challenging the 
Administrator’s written decision must state with specificity 
the ground(s) upon which the Administrator’s written 
decision is being contested.

7.4 No more than thirty (30) days after receiving a 
registrant’s request a public hearing before the Fund will be 
scheduled and at which the registrant will be permitted to 
subpoena, call and cross-examine witnesses, and to 
introduce documentary evidence challenging the 
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Administrator’s decision. The formal rules of evidence will 
not apply to such proceeding. The proceeding will be 
conducted in such a way as to allow for the creation of a 
verbatim transcript of the proceeding should either party 
wish to obtain one, the cost of such a transcript to be born by 
the requestor.

7.5 The Fund will, after considering all the evidence, 
and within thirty (30) days from the close of the public 
hearing, mail a written decision to the Administrator of the 
Fund and to the registrant stating its Findings of Fact and 
Conclusions of Law. An appeal from the decision by the 
Fund will be to the Superior Court of the State of Delaware 
on the record made before the Fund.

8.0 Records of expenses.
The Administrator of the Breeder's Program shall 

maintain a complete record of reasonable and necessary 
expenses and will submit quarterly estimates to the Board 
and the Secretary of Agriculture, on the basis of which the 
Secretary may disburse advances. The quarterly estimated 
statements of expenses and advances shall be reconciled 
annually with a certified statement of expenses to be 
prepared by an auditor approved in advance by the Board. 
The Board may thereafter review them and after approval of 
allowable items shall then reimburse the Administrator of 
the Program for the expenses the Board finds reasonable and 
appropriate to this program. If advances on account of 
expenses exceed actual expenses as approved at the end of a 
given year, the excess shall be deemed disbursed on account 
of the ensuing year’s expenses. bills to the Department of 
Agriculture following the normal procedures of the State of 
Delaware as set forth by the Finance Department within the 
Department of Agriculture. The Secretary of Agriculture has 
the responsibility to authorize all travel and major purchases.

9.0 Purses and Bonus Awards
9.1 A purse or bonus awarded under this section shall 

be in accordance with the standards for purses at each racing 
meet as approved by order of the Commission. The racing 
association shall maintain a separate ledger of such purses 
and bonuses and shall transmit a certified copy of 
allowances, bonus payments, and purses made no later than 
the 10th day of each month of the meet to the Commission. 
After the Commission has reviewed and approved them, it 
shall reimburse the racing association for the advances made 
which the Commission finds proper. The Administrator shall 
send a confirmation to the Department of Agriculture on a 
race week basis which will state the amount owed for purses 
of the Program.

9.2 Administrator of the Program shall compile awards
bonus payments earned by breeders and owners of Delaware 
Sires and Dams and maintain a separate ledger of them. A 
certified report of awards earned shall be forwarded to the 

Commission on a monthly basis during the racing season. 
The list of awards will be forwarded to Administrator of the 
Program who shall ensure payment to the awardees  subject 
to approval by the Commission. Bonus payments will be 
paid out at the end of the racing year. For race years 2003 
and thereafter, bonus payments shall not exceed $70,000 per 
crop of foals. In the event such payments would exceed these 
limits, owners eligible for bonus payments shall receive a 
prorated share of those monies allocated toward the payment 
of bonus payments.

9.3 A person interested in the awards, allowances, 
prizes and purses bonus payments and objecting to the 
calculations or determinations thereof as shown on the 
records of the Administrator of the Program and the Harness 
Racing Commission shall be responsible for taking written 
appeals to the Commission Board in the manner provided for 
appeals from the decisions of the Administrator pertaining to 
registrations.

9.4 The Board will have the right to review and 
approve fees and charges imposed by the Administrator or 
the Program. The charge or fee may not be imposed without 
prior approval by the Board.

9.54 Records, funds and accounts of funds,  and
prizes, purses, allowances and awards under this program 
shall be maintained separate from other records, funds, and 
accounts and may not become co-mingled with other 
matters. The records, funds, and accounts shall be kept 
continuously open for inspection by the Administrator of the 
Program.

10.0 Responsibilities-Owners or lessees of 
standardbred stallions and mares

10.1 An owner or lessee of a standardbred stallion 
who desires to use him for breeding purposes and to have 
him qualify for the Program, shall register the stallion by 
December 1st of the approaching breeding season with the 
Delaware Harness Racing Commission and Administrator of 
the Program or by January 1st of the approaching breeding 
season with an additional supplemental fee equal to the 
standard registration fee. For breeding season 1999 and 
2000, an owner or lessee of a Standardbred stallion who 
desires to use him for breeding purposes and to have him 
qualify for the Program, shall register the stallion by March 
1, 2000. Unless the stallion is contracted to stand at stud in 
the southern hemisphere, the stallion shall stand in the State 
of Delaware for the remainder of the breeding season. If a 
stallion is contracted to stand at stud in the southern 
hemisphere, a copy of said contract must be provided to the 
Administrator of the Program and the Harness Racing 
Commission at the time of application for eligibility
registration in the Program, in the event the contract is 
entered into at a subsequent date, within ten (10) days of 
entering into the contract. A virgin Standardbred stallion 
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entering stud service for the first time shall be registered 
prior to his first breeding and shall stand in the State of 
Delaware the remainder of the breeding season, unless he is 
contracted to stand at stud in the southern hemisphere. A 
stallion shall be registered on an application for 
Standardbred stallion certificate for eligibility established by 
the Administrator of the Program. in consultation with the 
Harness Racing Commission.

10.2 An owner or lessee of a standardbred stallion 
eligible for the Program shall designate a resident of 
Delaware as the authorized agent who shall be responsible 
for the registrations and records of the farm; of the stallion 
and the records of the breeding farm; and complying with the 
requirements of the Program. The “Authorized Agent” form 
shall be filed with information shall be incorporated into the 
Stallion registration form and filed as such.

10.3  In order for foals of 100% wholly owned mares at 
the time of breeding through foaling by a Delaware resident 
to be eligible for races under the Program for race years 2002 
and 2003, said mares shall be registered with the 
Administrator and Commission by August 15, 2000 for the 
breeding seasons of 1999 and 2000. No fee shall be charged 
for registering said mare.

10.3 No stallion participating in the Delaware 
Standardbred Breeder's Program may be offered under 
private treaty.  Each stallion registered in the Delaware 
Standardbred Breeder's Program must make public the 
maximum possible breeding fee.

11.0 Sire Registration Fees
11.1 Sires shall initially register for the Program no 

later than December 1st of the approaching breeding season, 
or no later than January 1st with an additional supplemental 
registration fee equal to the regular stallion registration fee. 
For sires registering in breeding season 2000, sires shall 
initially register for the Program no later than March 1, 2000.

11.2 All fees must accompany the registration and 
must be submitted by registered or certified mail.

11.3 Registration fees for the Program are non-
refundable.

11.4 Sire registration fee for a Standardbred stallion 
shall be $500.00. Sire registration for those sires standing in 
the State of Delaware and registering for breeding seasons 
prior to 2001 in accordance with these regulations shall be 
charged a single fee of $250. The supplemental registration 
fee shall be $1,000.00.

11.5 The annual stallion registration fees may be 
used to offset reasonable expenses related to administering 
and promoting the Program. Any fees beyond reasonable 
expenses shall be invested in the endowment account of the 
Program.

11.6 The annual stallion registration fee may be 
used to offset reasonable expenses related to administering 

and promoting the Program. Any fees beyond reasonable 
expenses shall be invested in the endowment account of the 
Program. An owner of a Standardbred stallion registered 
with the Administrator and Commission shall submit by 
December 1st of each year the stallion registration fee, or 
January 1st with the supplemental fee provided in section 10 
above and a report for each stallion that states each mare 
bred by said stallion during the preceding twelve (12) 
months. For breeding seasons prior to breeding season 2001, 
an owner of a Standardbred stallion registered with the 
Administrator and Commission shall submit by March 1, 
2000 the stallion registration fee of $250 and any other 
documentation required by the Administrator and 
Commission to verify where the stallion stood during the 
period for which the stallion or its progeny seek to register.
An owner of a Standardbred stallion registered with the 
Administrator shall submit by September 1st after the 
breeding season which the stallion serviced mares a copy of 
the USTA “Mares Bred Report.”

12.0 Sire Renewal Fees
12.1 The registration of a stallion that remains in the 

state for more than one (1) breeding season shall be renewed 
annually.

12.2 The annual renewal fee for registration of 
stallions to the Delaware Standardbred Breeders' Fund 
Program shall be $500.

12.3 The annual stallion registration fee may be 
used to offset reasonable expenses related to administering 
and promoting the Delaware Standardbred Breeder's 
Program.  Any fees beyond reasonable expenses shall be 
invested in the endowment account of the Delaware 
Standardbred Breeder's Program. An owner of a 
standardbred stallion registered with the Administrator and 
Commission shall submit by December 1st of each year the 
stallion registration fee and a report for each stallion that 
states each mare bred by said stallion during the preceding 
twelve (12) months.

13.0 Penalties and Suspension from the Program 
13.1 If an owner or a lessee of a registered stallion 

fails to furnish information the Administrator of the 
Breeder's Program has requested relating to the registration 
or renewal of registration of a horse, the Administrator of the 
Breeder's Program shall:

13.1.1 Suspend or deny the registration of the 
stallion; and

13.1.2 Schedule a hearing within thirty days of 
the denial or suspension.

13.1.2.1 After the hearing, the Administrator 
of the Breeder's Program shall determine within ten working 
days whether the failure to furnish information was willful; 
and:
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13.1.2.1.1 Suspend the registration; or
13.1.2.1.2 Rescind its suspension of the

registration; or
13.1.2.1.3 Deny or revoke the

registration; or
13.1.2.1.4 Deny or revoke the

registration; and bar from further registration, horses owned
by the person who executed the application containing false
or misleading information.

13.1.2.2 If the Administrator of the Breeder's
Program determines that a registration is incorrect, or an
application for registration, renewal of registration, or
transfer of a registered stallion contains false or misleading
information, the Administrator shall:

13.1.2.2.1 Suspend or deny the
registration of the stallion; and

13.1.2.2.2 Summon the person who
executed the application, and any person who has knowledge
relating to the application, to appear before the
Administrator at a hearing;

13.1.2.3 After the hearing, the Administrator
of the Breeder's Program shall determine within ten working
days whether the person knew or had reason to know that the
information was false or misleading, and:

13.1.2.3.1Rescind its suspension or denial
of the registration; or

13.1.2.3.2Suspend, deny, or revoke the
registration; or

13.1.2.3.3Deny or revoke the registration;
and bar from further registration, horses owned by the
person who executed the application containing false or
misleading information.

13.1.2.4 If a person summoned by the
Administrator of the Breeder's Program fails to respond to
the summons within ten working days, the Administrator of
the Breeder's Program:

13.1.2.4.1 Shall suspend or deny the
registration of the stallion;

13.1.2.4.2 Notify the person in writing
of the action taken by the Commission; and

13.1.2.4.3 may deny or revoke the
registration; and bar from further registration, horses owned
by the person who executed the application containing false
or misleading information.

13.2 Appeals
Appeals of decisions to deny or suspend

registrations by the Administrator of the Breeder's Program
may be appealed to the Delaware Harness Racing
Commission within thirty days of the action by the
Administrator of the Breeder's Program, subject to the same
rules and procedures for handling appeals established for the
Delaware Harness Racing Commission.

14.0 13.0 Races
14.1 13.1 The purses for all races, including

walkovers, under this Breeder’s Program shall be distributed
on the following percentage basis: 50-25-12-8-5. Walkovers
receive 50 % of the purse. Points to qualify for the finals
shall be distributed on the same percentage basis. In fields
with more than five horses, places six through nine eight
shall receive 4-3-2-1 points, respectively.

14.2 13.2 In the case of dead heats, points for the
two positions shall be divided equally among those horses
finishing in a dead heat. For example, if two horses finish in
a dead heat for second, those horses would divide 25 plus 12
points to receive 18.5 percent of the purse or 18.5 qualifying
points each. In the case of a tie in points, the fastest time in
either elimination shall determine the horse eligible to enter
the final. In the case of horses tied in points that have
recorded identical times, the amount of the horses’ lifetime
earnings will decide the horse eligible to enter the final. In
the case where points, times, and lifetime earnings are equal,
the eligible horse shall be drawn by lot. All horses must start
in one elimination in order to start in the final. All horses
shall be on the gate in eliminations and the final.

14.3 13.3 The percentage basis established by
subsection (1) of this section shall apply at each of the
associations licensed by the Delaware Harness Racing
Commission.

14.4 13.4 If circumstances prevent the racing of an
event, and the race is not drawn, all stake payments shall be
refunded to the purse account of the Program.

14.5 13.5 The monies provided for purses and bonus
payments shall be distributed evenly between the races of
each:

14.5.1  13.5.1 Age:
14.5.2  13.5.2 Sex: and
14.5.3  13.5.3 Gait.

14.6 13.6 The minimum purses for elimination races
for both pacers and trotters shall be $5,000. The minimum
purses for finals shall be $30,000. Beginning in 2004, the
minimum purse for elimination races for 2 and 3-year old
trotters and pacers shall be $15,000.00 and the finals shall be
$100,000.00. The Board of the Program, pursuant to a
recommendation from the Administrator of the Program may
agree to increase purses should funds and other conditions
permit, or decrease purses in the event of insufficient funds.

14.7 13.7 No horse is eligible to declare unless it has
at least one charted satisfactory performance line within 30
days of declaration and must meet the following qualifying
standards:

2 Year-Olds 3 Year-Olds
Pacers    Trotters Pacers    Trotters
2:10   2:14 2:06        2:12

14.8 13.8 Horses that meet the qualifying standards
for a preliminary leg at each racetrack are qualified for
subsequent legs and the final at that racetrack.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 12, TUESDAY, JUNE 1, 2004



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1634
14.9 13.9 The Administrator of the Program shall be 
responsible for races conducted under the Program and shall 
ensure that:

14.9.1 13.9.1 each track declares the time 
specified for races under this program by proper notice and 
racing dates are issued for sires stakes after the track’s race 
dates are set.

14.9.2 13.9.2 entry for races run under the 
Program is required to be received by the Racing Office by 
noon three days in advance of the scheduled race date in a 
box designated for this purpose. at the date and time 
published on the track’s condition sheet.

14.9.3 13.9.3 The eligibility and class of all 
horses running participating in races is carefully screened.

14.9.4 13.9.4 The Administrator, or his/her 
designee, is present for the Judge’s race draw by the Judges
for all races conducted under the Program.

6 DE Reg. 1497 (5/1/03) 
14.10 Beginning in 2004, the minimum purse for 

elimination races for 2-year old trotters and pacers shall be 
$7,500.00 and minimum purse for finals shall be $75,000. 

14.11 Beginning in 2005, the minimum purse for 
elimination races for 2 and 3-year old trotters and pacers 
shall be $7,500.00 and minimum purse for finals shall be 
$75,000.00.

7 DE Reg. 497 (10/01/03)
7 DE Reg. 497 (10/01/03)

15.0 14.0 Nomination and Sustaining Payments 
15.1 14.1 Nomination and sustaining payments shall 

be made to the Program in U.S. Funds.
15.2 14.2 A fee payment required by this section 

shall be postmarked no later than the date due that is 
specified for the fee by this section. If the date due is on a 
Sunday and/or a legal federal holiday which falls on a 
Saturday, payment is due by the following Monday. If the 
date due falls on a Monday that is a legal holiday, such 
payment is due on Tuesday. Payments made by commercial 
delivery services shall be treated the same as those made by 
letters bearing a postmark.

15.3 14.3 Beginning with the yearlings of 2001, the 
yearling nomination fee shall be:

15.3.1 14.3.1 Forty (40) dollars each; and
15.3.2 14.3.2 Due by May 15th of the yearling 

year.
15.4 14.4 A nomination shall be accompanied by a 

photocopy of the USTA registration certificate. 
Supplemental fees of $25 shall be assessed if the USTA 
registration certificate does not accompany the nomination. 
No nomination shall be accepted where a USTA registration 
certificate is not obtained and submitted within 60 days of 
nomination to the Program.

15.5 14.5 If the May 15th deadline to nominate a 

yearling is missed, a late supplemental payment of $350 
shall be required. The late supplemental payment shall be 
accepted if (a) it is received by April 1 March 15th of the two 
(2) year old year; and (b) the two (2) year old Marcfh 15th

payment has been made. This payment is in addition to the 
regular sustaining payment due on March 15th.

15.6 14.6 Sustaining payments shall be as follows:
15.6.1 14.6.1 Two(2) Year Old payments

March 15th-$100.00(must be made to ensure 
eligibility as a three (3) year old;

May 15th-$200.00;
Declaration Fee (for each track) $500.00

15.6.2 14.6.2 Three (3) Year Old payments.
March 15th-$300.00
Declaration Fee (for each track) $500.00

6 DE Reg. 1497 (5/1/03)
5 DE Reg. 1274 (12/1/01)

16.0 15.0 Investment Plan and Use of Fees
16.1 15.1 All proceeds received pursuant to 

§4815(b)(3)b.2.D of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, which 
established in the State of Delaware, a Delaware 
Standardbred Breeders’ Program and any interest earned on 
these monies shall be invested in an endowment account 
until race year 2002.

16.2 15.2 For race year 2002, five hundred thousand 
dollars ($500,000) of the proceeds received pursuant to 
§4815(b)(3)b.2.D of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, which 
established in the State of Delaware, the Program and any 
interest earned on the endowment fund in the preceding  (12) 
twelve months shall be deposited in a separate purse account 
for purses and bonuses for that race year. For race year 2002, 
one million five hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000) of 
the proceeds pursuant to §4815(b)(3)b.2.D of Title 29 of the 
Delaware Code, which established in the State of Delaware, 
the Program shall be deposited in the endowment account.

16.3 15.3 For race year 2003, two million dollars 
($2,000,000) of the proceeds received pursuant to 
§4815(b)(3)b.2.D of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, which 
established in the State of Delaware, the Program and any 
interest earned on the endowment fund in the preceding  (12) 
twelve months shall be deposited in a separate purse account 
for purses and bonuses for that race year.

16.5 15.4 For race year 2004 and each race year 
thereafter, two three million dollars ($3,000,000) of the 
proceeds received pursuant to §4815(b)(3)b.2.D of Title 29 
of the Delaware Code, which established in the State of 
Delaware, the Program and any interest earned on that 
money the endowment fund in the preceding  (12) twelve 
months shall be deposited in a separate purse account for 
purses and bonuses for race year 2004 and for each year 
thereafter that race year.
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16.4 15.5 Any monies from the purse account for the 
Program at the end of the race year shall revert to the 
endowment account of the Program.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 220 (14 Del.C. 220)
14 DE Admin. Code 220

Education Impact Analysis
Pursuant To 14 Del.C. §122(d)

879 School Safety Audit

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend DE 

Admin. Code 879 School Safety Audit by requiring that a 
corrective plan of action be developed within sixty (60) days 
of conducting the School Safety Audit and that the plan be 
made available to the Department’s Quality Review Team at 
the time of their visit.  The reference to Alterative Schools 
has been changed more appropriately to Alternative Program 
sites and the number assigned to the regulation has been 
changed to 618 in order to place it in the School Climate and 
Discipline section of the regulations.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses the school 
safety audit not student achievement.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education? The amended regulation 
addresses the school safety audit not equity issues.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected?  The amended 
regulation is about the issue of student safety in Delaware 
public schools.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation does 
address students’ legal rights as part of the safety issue.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority 
and flexibility of decision making at the local board and 
school level?  The amended regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 

makers at the local board and school levels?  The amended 
regulation will require some additional reporting on the part 
of the decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an 
impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies?  The amended 
regulation will be consistent with and not an impediment to 
the implementation of other state educational policies, in 
particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation? There is no less burdensome 
method for addressing the purpose of the amended 
regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  Some cost in staff 
time may be required to conduct the safety audit and follow 
up meetings.

879 618  School Safety Audit

1.0 Each school year every Delaware public school 
including Charter Schools and Alternative Schools Program 
sites shall conduct a School Safety Audit.  Such audit shall 
be conducted using guidelines provided by the Department 
of Education.  Districts and heads of charter schools shall 
ensure that a corrective plan of action to address identified 
needs is developed within sixty (60) days of the School 
Safety Audit.  The corrective plan of action shall be made 
available to the Department of Education’s Quality Review 
Team at the time of their visit.

Education Impact Analysis
Pursuant To 14 Del.C. §122(d)

880 School Crisis Response Plans

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 

Admin. Code 880 School Crisis Response Plans.  The 
amendment requires a meeting following practice drills to 
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assess the readiness and effectiveness of the plan.  The plan 
must also be made available to the Department’s Quality 
Review Team when they visit the school.  The reference to 
Alterative Schools has been changed more appropriately to 
Alternative Program sites and the number assigned to the 
regulation has been changed to 620 in order to place it in the 
School Climate and Discipline section of the regulations.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses School Crisis 
Response Plans not student achievement.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education? The amended regulation 
addresses School Crisis Response Plans not equity issues.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected?  The amended 
regulation addresses health and safety issues.

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation 
addresses students’ legal rights as part of the School Crisis 
Response Plan.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority 
and flexibility of decision making at the local board and 
school level?  The amended regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?  The amended 
regulation may require additional reporting by the decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an 
impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies?  The amended 
regulation will be consistent with and not an impediment to 
the implementation of other state educational policies, in 
particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation? There is no less burdensome 
method for addressing the purpose of the amended 
regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There may be 

additional costs in staff time associated with compliance 
with this regulation.

880 620  School Crisis Response Plans

1.0 Every Delaware public school including Charter 
Schools and Alternative Schools Program sites shall develop 
a School Crisis Response Plan and shall conduct at least one 
practice drill annually.  Following practice drills, the districts 
and heads of charter schools shall ensure that the school 
safety teams conduct meetings to assess readiness and 
determine the effectiveness of the existing plans.  Such plan
School Crisis Response Plans shall be developed using 
guidelines provided by the Department of Education and 
shall be made available to the Department of Education’s 
Quality Review Team at the time of their visit.

Education Impact Analysis
Pursuant To 14 Del.C. §122(d)

885 Safe Management and Disposal of Surplus 
Chemicals in the Delaware Public School System

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE 

Admin. Code 885 Safe Management and Disposal of 
Surplus Chemicals in the Delaware Public School System. 
The amendments include a statement in 1.0 that no mercury 
or mercury compounds may be used in Delaware public 
schools, an explanation of the use of the word “surplus” in 
the regulation in 4.0 and the inclusion of charter schools in 
the regulation.  In addition, the word “surplus” has been 
removed from the title.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The amended regulation addresses chemicals and 
chemical storage and disposal not student achievement.

2. Will the regulation help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education? The amended regulation 
addresses chemicals and chemical storage and disposal not 
equity issues.

3. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
health and safety are adequately protected?  The amended 
regulation addresses health and safety issues for students 
using chemicals for educational purposes in Delaware public 
schools. 

4. Will the regulation help to ensure that all students’ 
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legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation protects 
students legal rights concerning safety.

5. Will the regulation preserve the necessary authority 
and flexibility of decision making at the local board and 
school level?  The amended regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the regulation place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?  The amended 
regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be 
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority 
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated 
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the regulation be consistent with and not an 
impediment to the implementation of other state educational 
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies?  The amended 
regulation will be consistent with and not an impediment to 
the implementation of other state educational policies, in 
particular to state educational policies addressing 
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, 
science, language arts and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the regulation? The requirement to ban 
Mercury and Mercury compounds from public school 
science labs has to be regulated.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There are some 
additional costs to the local school districts and charter 
schools for the disposal of the chemicals on a yearly basis.

885 Safe Management and Disposal of Surplus 
Chemicals in the Delaware Public School System

This policy was developed with the assistance of the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control, the Delaware Solid Waste Authority, the Bureau of 
Environmental Health, Delaware Department of 
Transportation, and the Advisory Committee on Science/ 
Environmental Education.

1.0 The storage of all chemicals shall conform to the 
specifications stated in Safety First: Guidelines for Safety in 
the Science or Science Related Classrooms.

2.0 All laboratories and science storage in the Delaware 
public schools shall be inventoried each year during the 
month of March. The inventory of chemicals both hazardous 

and non-hazardous should contain the following 
information:

2.1 Who may handle the chemical and/or use it;
2.2 The name of the chemical;
2.3 The amount on hand;
2.4 The location where the chemical is stored;
2.5 The date purchased; and
2.6 The date discarded.

3.0 A list of the chemicals shall be kept by the school 
principal.

4.0 Each district shall prepare a list of surplus chemicals 
and send a copy to the Education Associate, Science/ 
Environmental Education by April 15 of each year. These 
lists will be duplicated and disseminated to school districts 
so that they may negotiate, trade or exchange their surplus 
chemicals.

5.0 Disposal of surplus non-hazardous chemicals shall be 
carried out within the school district in accordance with 
procedures outlined in the Flinn Chemical Catalog/ 
Reference Manual, using trained staff. Direct any questions 
regarding these procedures to the Education Associate for 
Science/Environmental Education.

6.0 Each district shall prepare a list of Transportable 
Surplus Hazardous chemicals and submit it to the Education 
Associate for Science/Environmental Education by May 15 
of each year. These Transportable Surplus Hazardous 
chemicals, from all districts, will be brought to a central 
facility by district personnel. The location of this facility and 
date of aggregation will be announced annually by the 
Education Associate for Science/Environmental Education. 
Arrangements will be made for a licensed waste hauler to 
take the chemicals to a proper waste facility for disposal. 
Cost of disposal will be prorated among the districts and will 
be based upon the weight of the hazardous materials.

7.0 Non-transportable hazardous chemicals such as diethyl 
ether, picric acid, benzoyl peroxide and other materials listed 
in Safety First: Guidelines for Safety in the Science or 
Science Related Classrooms, must be disposed of in a 
prompt manner through the use of a licensed waste hauler. It 
is the school district's responsibility to contact a licensed 
waste hauler and to pay the cost for removal and disposal.

See 4 DE Reg. 1255 (2/1/01)

1.0 Mercury and Mercury Compounds
1.1 Mercury and mercury compounds, both organic and 

inorganic shall not be used in the science classrooms in the 
public schools in Delaware no later than January 1, 2005. 
Instruments which contain mercury such as thermometers, 
hydrometers, barometers, etc. shall be replaced at all grade 
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levels in order to guard against spillage.

2.0 Storage of Chemicals
2.1 The storage of all chemicals shall conform to the 

specifications stated in Safety First: Guidelines for Safety in 
the Science or Science Related Classrooms.
3.0 Inventory of Chemicals, Hazardous and 
Nonhazardous

3.1 All laboratories and science storage in the Delaware 
public schools shall be inventoried each year during the 
month of March.  The list of the chemicals shall be kept by 
the school principal. The inventory of chemicals both 
hazardous and non-hazardous shall contain the following 
information:

3.2 Who may handle the chemical and/or use it;
3.3 The name of the chemical;
3.4 The amount on hand;
3.5 The location where the chemical is stored;
3.6 The date purchased; and
3.7 The date discarded.

4.0 For purposes of this regulation, surplus shall refer to 
chemicals which are no longer usable or needed  

5.0 Inventory of Surplus Chemicals
5.1 Each district and charter school shall prepare a list 

of surplus chemicals and send a copy to the Education 
Associate, Science/ Environmental Education by April 15 of 
each year. The Department shall duplicate and disseminate 
these lists to school districts and charter schools so that they 
may negotiate, trade or exchange their surplus chemicals.

6.0 Disposal of Surplus Nonhazardous Chemicals
6.1 Disposal of surplus non-hazardous chemicals shall 

be carried out by the school district and charter school in 
accordance with procedures outlined in the Flinn Chemical 
Catalog/ Reference Manual, using trained staff.

7.0 Disposal of Surplus Transportable Hazardous 
Chemicals

7.1 Each district and charter school shall prepare a list 
of surplus transportable hazardous chemicals and submit it to 
the Education Associate for Science/Environmental 
Education by May 15 of each year. These surplus 
transportable hazardous chemicals, from all districts and 
charter schools shall be brought to a central facility by 
district and charter school personnel. The location of this 
facility and date of aggregation shall be announced annually 
by the Education Associate for Science/Environmental 
Education. The Department shall arrange for a licensed 
waste hauler to take the chemicals to a proper waste facility 
for disposal. The cost of disposal shall be prorated among 
the districts and charter schools based upon the weight of the 
hazardous materials.

8.0 Disposal of Surplus Non-transportable Hazardous 
Chemicals

8.1 Surplus non-transportable hazardous chemicals 
such as diethyl ether, picric acid, benzoyl peroxide and other 
materials that are listed in Safety First: Guidelines for Safety 
in the Science or Science Related Classrooms, must be 
disposed of in a prompt manner through the use of a licensed 
waste hauler. It is the responsibility of the school districts 
and charter schools to contact a licensed waste hauler and to 
pay the cost for removal and disposal.

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. §122(d)

1502 Educator Mentoring
 
A. Type Of Regulatory Action Requested

New Regulation

B. Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 

and collaboration with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to adopt 14 DE 
Admin. Code §1502 Educator Mentoring.  It is necessary to 
adopt this regulation in order to fully implement educator 
mentoring, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1210(c) and 14 Del.C.
§1305(o).  This regulation concerns the duties and 
responsibilities of educator lead mentors, mentors, and new 
educators.  All educators serving on an Initial License must 
successfully participate in educator mentoring in order to be 
eligible for a Continuing License.  In addition, educators 
new to Delaware or new to roles or districts within the state 
must participate in mentoring activities.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the new regulation help improve student 

achievement as measured against state achievement 
standards?  The new regulation addresses student 
achievement by establishing standards for educator 
mentoring with the goal of ensuring that new educators 
possess the necessary skills and knowledge to provide 
effective instruction to students.

2. Will the new regulation help ensure that all students 
receive an equitable education?  The new regulation 
addresses educator mentoring, not equitable education for all 
students.  
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3. Will the new regulation help to ensure that all 
students' health and safety are adequately protected?   The 
new regulation addresses educator mentoring, not students’ 
health and safety.

4. Will the new regulation help to ensure that all 
students' legal rights are respected?  The new regulation 
addresses educator mentoring, not students’ legal rights.

5. Will the new regulation preserve the necessary 
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board 
and school level?   The new regulation will preserve the 
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the 
local board and school level.

6. Will the new regulation place unnecessary reporting 
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels?   The new 
regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or 
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision 
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability 
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the 
same entity? The decision-making authority and 
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests 
with the Professional  Standards Board, in collaboration with 
the Department of Education, and with the consent of the 
State Board of Education.

8. Will the new regulation be consistent with and not 
an impediment to the implementation     of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing    achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and     social 
studies?  The new regulation will be consistent with, and not 
an impediment to, the implementation of other state 
educational policies, in particular to state educational 
policies addressing achievement in the core academic 
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social 
studies.

9.  Is there a less burdensome method for addressing 
the purpose of the new regulation?  14 Del.C. requires that 
we promulgate this regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school 
boards of compliance with the new  regulation?   There is no 
additional cost to local school boards for compliance with 
the regulation.

1502 Educator Mentoring

1.0 Content.
 1.1 This regulation shall apply to mentoring activities 
required of (1) all educators who hold an Initial License and 
(2) all educators who hold a Standard or Professional Status 
Certificate issued prior to August 1, 2003, or a Continuing, 
or Advanced License, who are new to the State of Delaware, 
new to an employing authority, or who move from one 
category of position to another (i.e., teacher to 

administrator), pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1210(c).

2.0 Definitions.
The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“Educator” means a public school employee who holds 
a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del.C. Ch. 12, 
and includes teachers, specialists, and administrators, and as 
otherwise defined by the Standards Board and the State 
Board pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1203, but does not include 
substitute teachers.  For the purposes of this regulation, 
licensed and certified charter school teachers, and teachers 
or specialists who are employed on temporary contracts of 
91 days or longer duration shall be included under the term 
“educator”.

“Employing Authority” means any entity which 
employs educators, and includes, but is not limited to, school 
districts, charter schools, boards of directors, or management 
companies.

“Experienced Educator” is an educator who holds a 
Continuing or Advanced License, or an educator who holds 
a Standard or Professional Status Certificate issued prior to 
August 1, 2003, and a Standard Certificate in the area 
assigned, and who has satisfactory DPAS evaluations.

“Lead Mentor” means a teacher, specialist, or 
administrator who holds a Standard or Professional Status 
Certificate issued prior to August 1, 2003,  or a Continuing 
or Advanced License, who has participated in the training 
specified for lead mentors and who is employed by an 
employing authority as a lead mentor and performs the 
duties and responsibilities assigned that position.  Educators 
serving as lead mentors must have satisfactory DPAS 
evaluations, and may not be on a DPAS improvement plan.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Mentor” means a teacher, specialist, or administrator 
who holds a Standard or Professional Status Certificate 
issued prior to August 1, 2003, or a Continuing or Advanced 
License, who has participated in the training for mentors 
specified by the Department and the employing authority. 
Educators serving as mentors must have satisfactory DPAS 
evaluations, and may not be on a DPAS Improvement Plan.

“Mentoring” means activities prescribed by the 
Department or other employing authority in which a holder 
of an Initial License must engage during the three-year term 
of the Initial License. Mentoring also means activities 
prescribed by the Department or other employing authority 
for educators who are new to Delaware or who move from 
one category of position to another, such as from teacher to 
specialist or from teacher or specialist to administrator, 
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regardless of the level of the license held.
“NASSP” means the National Association of 

Secondary School Principals.
“New Educator” means an educator who holds an 

Initial License.
“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards 

Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1201.
“State Board” means the State Board of Education of 

the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.

3.0 New Educator Mentoring.
3.1 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1210(c), educators 

who are new to the profession and who hold an Initial 
License shall participate in mentoring activities prescribed 
by the Department.  Each new educator will be assigned a 
mentor for his or her first year in the profession, with 
continuing support in years two and three, who will assist the 
new educator in becoming acclimated to the role, the school 
or other setting, and Delaware content standards and 
Delaware Professional Teaching Standards, applicable 
national specialist standards, or Delaware Administrator 
Standards.  The new educator will meet with his or her 
mentor at least 30 documented hours, which may include a 
combination of in-school and after-school time, during the 
first year of employment.  The assignment of a mentor 
beyond the first year of employment in Delaware is at the 
discretion of the employing authority, based upon a review 
of the educator’s performance.

3.2 The new educator shall, during the three-year term 
of the Initial License, attend such activities as are planned by 
the Department as part of the New Educator Mentoring 
Program and offered in individual employing authorities.

3.3 The new educator shall participate in workshops 
and other activities offered for new educators as part of the 
New Educator Mentoring Program by the employing 
authority.

3.4 The new educator shall complete the requirements 
of the New Educator Mentoring Program, which shall 
consist of no more than 60 hours, inclusive of meetings 
between the mentor and the new educator.

3.4.1 The New Educator Mentoring Program 
shall be aligned with Danielson’s (1996) “A Framework for 
Teaching” and shall include training and support in the 
components of the Delaware Performance Appraisal System, 
including descriptive, non-evaluative feedback.

3.5 Failure by a new educator to complete the 
requirements of the New Educator Mentoring Program shall 
result in the denial of a Continuing License.

4.0 Experienced Educators New to the State of 
Delaware.

4.1 Experienced teachers and specialists new to the 
State of Delaware who hold an Initial License shall 
participate in mentoring activities prescribed by the 

Department.  Each teacher or specialist shall be assigned a 
mentor for the first year of employment in the State.  The 
mentor will assist the new teacher or specialist in becoming 
acclimated to the role, the school or other setting, and 
Delaware content and teacher or specialist standards.  The 
teacher or specialist will meet with his or her mentor at least 
30 documented hours, which may include a combination of 
in-school and after-school time, during the first year of 
employment.  The assignment of a mentor beyond the first 
year of employment in Delaware is at the discretion of the 
employing authority, based upon a review of the teacher’s or 
specialist’s performance.

4.1.1 The teacher or specialist shall, during the 
three-year term of the Initial License, attend such activities 
as are planned by the Department and offered by individual 
employing authorities.

4.1.2 The teacher or specialist shall also 
participate in workshops and other activities concerning 
employing authority specific practices offered for new 
teachers and specialists by the employing authority.

4.2 Experienced teachers and specialists new to the 
State of Delaware who hold a Continuing or Advanced 
License shall, within the first year of employment, 
participate in, and successfully complete, a Department-
sponsored mentoring program which focuses on current best 
practices in curriculum, instruction and assessment aligned 
to state standards.

4.3 Experienced educators new to the State who are 
employed as school administrators shall participate in 
mentoring activities specified by the Department, as well as 
in mentoring activities required by the employing authority.

4.4 Experienced teachers and specialists new to the 
State of Delaware who hold Initial Licenses shall complete 
the requirements of the New Educator Mentoring Program, 
which shall consist of no more than 60 hours, inclusive of 
meetings between the mentor and the experienced teachers 
and specialists.

4.4.1 The New Educator Mentoring Program 
shall be aligned with Danielson’s (1996) “A Framework for 
Teaching” and shall include training and support in the 
components of the Delaware Performance Appraisal System, 
including descriptive, non-evaluative feedback.

4.5 Failure by an experienced teacher or specialist new 
to the State of Delaware to complete the requirements of the 
New Educator Mentoring Program shall result in the denial 
of a Continuing License.

5.0 Experienced Delaware Educators New to an 
Employing Authority.

5.1 Experienced Delaware educators who hold a 
Continuing or Advanced License, or a Standard or 
Professional Status Certificate issued prior to August 1, 
2003, who move to a different employing authority shall, 
within the first year of employment, participate in, and 
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complete, an employing authority sponsored mentoring 
program which focuses on current best practices in 
curriculum, instruction and assessment aligned to state 
standards.

5.2 Experienced Delaware administrators moving to a 
new employing authority shall participate in that employing 
authority’s designated mentoring program during the first 
year of employment.

6.0 Experienced Delaware Educators New to a Category 
of Employment.

6.1 Experienced Delaware educators who move from a 
teacher, specialist, or administrative category to any other 
category, whether within the same or a different employing 
authority, shall participate in mentoring activities specified 
by the Department, as well as in mentoring activities 
required by the employing authority.

7.0 Duties and Responsibilities of Mentors.
7.1 Lead Mentors.

7.1.1 Teacher lead mentors must:
7.1.1.1 Satisfactorily complete training in 

mentoring and coaching development provided by the 
Department for lead mentors; and

7.1.1.2 Work a minimum of 45 documented 
hours per year in Lead Mentor Activities.  Lead Mentor 
activities may include, but are not limited to, a combination 
of in-school and after-school time, per year in the program in 
a leadership position, planning mentor training, providing 
two-day mentor training to aspiring mentors, assisting 
mentors with specific issues, and other responsibilities as 
directed by the site coordinator.

7.1.2 Administrative lead mentors must:
7.1.2.1  Satisfactorily complete training in 

mentoring and coaching development provided by the 
NASSP Leadership Development and Assessment Program.

7.1.2.2  Satisfactorily complete training in the 
mentoring and coaching facilitator development provided by 
the NASSP Leadership Development and Assessment 
Program or Assessor Training for the Developmental 
Assessment Center provided by the NASSP Leadership 
Development and Assessment Program;

7.1.2.3 Work a minimum of 45 documented 
hours per year in Administrative Lead Mentor activities. 
Administrative Lead Mentor activities may include, but are 
not limited to, a combination of in-school and after-school 
time, in the program in a leadership position, planning 
mentor training, providing two-day mentor training as 
prescribed by NASSP to aspiring mentors, assisting mentors 
with specific issues, and other responsibilities as directed by 
the program coordinator; and

7.1.2.4 Serve on the administrative mentoring 
program advisory committee.

7.2 Mentors.

7.2.1 Teacher mentors must:
7.2.1.1 Satisfactorily complete training in 

mentoring and coaching development provided by the Lead 
Mentors; 

7.2.1.2 Attend structured meetings 
concerning the mentoring program as directed by the district; 

7.2.1.3 Facilitate 30 documented contact 
hours, which may include a combination of in-school and 
after-school time, with their protégées annually which are 
designed to help the new teacher acquire additional skills 
and knowledge appropriate to their specific positions; and

7.2.1.4 Submit contact log documentation to 
site coordinator January 15 and May 15.  This 
documentation must be forwarded to the Department by May 
30.

7.2.2 Administrative mentors must:
7.2.2.1 Satisfactorily complete training in 

Mentoring and Coaching Development 
provided by the NASSP Leadership Development and 
Assessment Program; 

7.2.2.2 Attend a minimum of three (3) 
structured meetings with protégées;

7.2.2.3 Facilitate 30 documented contact 
hours annually in Administrative 
mentoring activities.  Administrative mentoring activities 
may include, but are not limited to, a combination of in-
school and after-school activities which are designed to help 
the new administrator link school leadership theory and on 
the job practice;

7.2.2.4 Submit contact log documentation to 
program coordinator January 15 and May 15.  This 
documentation must be forwarded to the Department by May 
30.

8.0 Mentors and lead mentors who are paid in accordance 
with the provisions of 14 Del.C. §1305 shall be paid an extra 
responsibility salary supplement annually, upon 
documentation of satisfactory fulfillment of duties and 
responsibilities, in accordance with the schedule adopted 
annually by the Standards Board, with concurrence of the 
State Board.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF REVENUE

PUBLIC NOTICE

Technical Information Memorandum 2004-2
Internet Retail Sale Of Any Tobacco Product

House Bill 153 of the 142nd General Assembly amended 
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Chapter 53 of Title 30 of the Delaware Code by inserting a 
new subchapter entitled: Subchapter VI.  Delivery Sale of 
Cigarettes.  This new subchapter will allow Internet retail 
sales of cigarettes and other tobacco products under certain 
terms and conditions.

Prior to initiating Internet retail sales of cigarettes or 
other tobacco products from a business location within or 
without Delaware or mailing, shipping, or otherwise 
delivering cigarettes or other tobacco products to customers 
within Delaware, every Internet retailer shall complete and 
file with the Delaware Division of Revenue the Delaware 
Form CRA (Combined Registration Application) to register 
the Internet retailer’s name, trade name and address of the 
principal place of business and any other place of business. 
Internet retailers selling, mailing, shipping, or otherwise 
delivering cigarettes or other tobacco products to customers 
within Delaware from a business location outside of 
Delaware must complete only Part A of the Delaware Form 
CRA.  Internet retailers selling, mailing, shipping, or 
otherwise delivering cigarettes or other tobacco products to 
customers within Delaware from a business location within 
Delaware must complete Parts A, B and C of Delaware Form 
CRA.  When completing Part C of Delaware Form CRA, the 
Internet retailer shall be required to apply for a General 
Retailer license in accordance with Section 2905 of 30 
Del.C. and a Cigarette Retailer license in accordance with 
Section 5308(b) of 30 Del. C.

Every Internet retailer accepting a purchase order for 
any sale of cigarettes or other tobacco products to a 
consumer in this State where either (i) the purchaser submits 
the order for such sale by means of a telephonic or other 
method of voice transmission, the mails or any other 
delivery service, or the Internet or other online service; or 
(ii) the cigarettes or other tobacco products are delivered by 
use of the mails or any person engaged in the commercial 
delivery of letters, packages, or other containers shall collect 
and remit to the Delaware Division of Revenue all cigarette 
or other tobacco product taxes imposed by this State with 
respect to such delivery sale. Such collection and remission 
shall not be required to the extent that the Internet retailer 
sells and ships to the Delaware consumer packages of 
cigarettes affixed with the Delaware tax stamp or has 
otherwise obtained proof that such taxes already have been 
paid to the State.  A sale of cigarettes or other tobacco 
products not for personal consumption to a person who is a 
distributor or a retail dealer shall not be considered a 
delivery sale.

On or before the 10th day of each calendar month, every 
Internet retailer that has made a delivery sale or mailed, 
shipped, or otherwise delivered cigarettes or other tobacco 
products, either without a stamp or affixed with any state 
stamp, to a customer within Delaware from a business 
location either within or without Delaware must, in 

connection with any such sale during the previous calendar 
month, file a completed Delaware Form 5367 C and 
Schedule 5367 C-A for sales of cigarettes and Delaware 
Form 5367- OTP and Schedule 5367 OTP-A for sales of all 
other tobacco products (copies attached) with the Delaware 
Division of Revenue. Form 5367 C is filed to remit all 
collected Delaware cigarette tax not previously paid before 
the sale and Delaware Schedule 5367 C-A is filed to 
individually identify all Internet retail sales for which a 
delivery sale has been made to a Delaware customer. Form 
5367 OTP is filed to remit Delaware other tobacco products 
tax not previously paid before the sale and Schedule 5367 
OTP-A is filed to individually identify all Internet retail sales 
for which a delivery sale has been made to a Delaware 
customer.  The filing of Forms 5367 C & 5367 OTP and 
Schedules 5367 C-A & 5367 OTP-A are in addition to the 
filing requirements of a General Retailer contained in 
Section 2905(b)(1) of 30, Del. C.. 

Chapter 53 of Title 30 requires that the first vendor who 
has possession of unstamped tobacco products in this State 
for sale in this State shall be deemed an affixing agent.  Any
Internet seller of cigarettes, who is not located in Delaware, 
does not need to become an affixing agent.  However, the 
Internet seller must either become an affixing agent in order 
to purchase and affix Delaware cigarette stamps or remit the 
tax using Form 5367 C. The Other Tobacco Products Tax is 
15% of the wholesale cost of the tobacco products sold and 
the tax must be remitted on Form 5367 OTP.  Information 
concerning becoming an affixing agent may be found at: 
http://www.state.de.us/revenue/obt/taxtips/tt-
cigarette_other_tobacco_products.htm 

House Bill 153 with House Amendment #1 was signed 
on June 30, 2003 and was effective on that date. Reports, 
returns and payment for the period beginning June 30, 2003 
through May 31, 2004 are due on or before June 30, 2004. 
Thereafter, reports, returns and payments are due on or 
before the 10th day of the month following the month during 
which any tobacco product was delivered in this State. 

Please contact Jeanne Davis, 302-577-8448, or by email 
at jeanne.davis@state.de.us, if you have any questions 
concerning Internet cigarette retail sales.

Patrick T. Carter, Director of Revenue
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 

107 (31 Del.C. §107)

Public Notice
Fair Hearing Practices and Procedures

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) as it relates to fair hearing practices and procedures. 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program 
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware by June 30, 2004.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Change

DSSM 5311, Notification of Time and Place of Hearing. 
The change adds language to clarify that the ten day advance 
notice period in this rule refers to the date the fair hearing 
scheduling letter is mailed and not to the date the letter is 
received by certified mail.

5311 Notification of Time and Place of Hearing
The time, date, and place of the hearing will be arranged 

so that the hearing is accessible to the appellant.  At least ten 
(10) days before the hearing, advance written notice will be 
provided by mailing the notice to all parties involved to 
permit adequate preparation of the case.  An appellant may 
request less notice in order to expedite the scheduling of the 
hearing.  Notices to appellants are sent by certified mail. 
The notice will:

1) Advise the appellant or representative of the name, 
address, and phone number of the person to notify in the 
event it is not possible for the appellant to attend the 
scheduled hearing;

2) Stipulate that the hearing request will be dismissed 
if the appellant or his/her representative fails to appear for 
the hearing without good cause (i.e., death in family, 
personal illness, unexpected emergency);

3) Include the hearing procedures and any other 
information that would provide the appellant with an 
understanding of the proceedings that would contribute to 
the effective presentation of the household's case and will 
include fair hearing summary and documents filed for the 
hearing;

4) Explain that the appellant has the right to bring an 
attorney or other representative to his/her hearing;

5) Explain that the appellant may present any 
information that (s)he desires at the hearing;

6) Explain that the appellant or representative may 
examine the record prior to the hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code, 

Chapters 60 and 63 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60 and 63)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. Title Of The Regulations: 
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste

(DRGHW)

2. Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And 
Issues:

In order for the State of Delaware to maintain 
authorization from the U. S. Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) to administer its own hazardous waste 
management program, the State must maintain a program 
that is equivalent to and no less stringent than the Federal 
program.  To accomplish this, the State regularly amends the 
DRGHW by adopting amendments previously promulgated 
by EPA.  In addition, the State will be proposing to make 
miscellaneous changes to the DRGHW that correct existing 
errors in the hazardous waste regulations, add clarification or 
enhance the current hazardous waste regulations.

3. Possible Terms Of The Agency Action:
None

4. Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
Amendments to DRGHW are proposed and amended in 

accordance with the provisions found at 7 Delaware Code, 
Chapters 60 and 63.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 12, TUESDAY, JUNE 1, 2004

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/index.html
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm


PROPOSED REGULATIONS1644
5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The 
Proposal: 

None

6. Notice Of Public Comment:
The public hearing on the proposed amendments to 

DRGHW will be held on Wednesday June 23, 2004 starting 
at 6:00 p.m. in the Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89 
Kings Highway, Dover, DE.  

7. Prepared By:
Donald K. Short, Environmental Scientist, Solid and 

Hazardous Waste Management - (302) 739-3689

2004 AMENDMENTS TO
DELAWARE REGULATIONS GOVERNING 

HAZARDOUS WASTE

SYNOPSIS

This synopsis presents a brief description of the 2004 
amendments to Delaware’s Regulations Governing 
Hazardous Waste (DRGHW) and a list of those sections 
generally affected by the amendments.  This synopsis is 
provided solely for the convenience of the reader.

These changes incorporate certain RCRA amendments 
promulgated by U. S. EPA into Delaware’s hazardous waste 
management program.  The State is required to adopt these 
amendments in order to maintain its hazardous waste 
program delegation and remain current with the Federal 
RCRA hazardous waste program.

The State is also making miscellaneous changes to the 
existing regulations for the purpose of correcting errors and 
to add consistency or clarification to the existing regulations. 
Some amendments are being made to the existing 
regulations in order to improve or enhance the performance 
of the hazardous waste management program.

A description of the regulatory amendments is shown 
below and organized by EPA’s promulgating Federal 
Register notice.  For additional information, please contact 
the Solid and Hazardous Waste Management Branch at (302) 
739-3689. 

Title: Treatment Variance for Radioactively
Contaminated Batteries

EPA Federal Register Reference: 67 FR 62618-62624
Federal Promulgation Date: October 7, 2002

Summary:  The October 7, 2002 Federal Rule grants a 
national treatability variance from the Land Disposal 
Restrictions (LDR) treatment standards for radioactively 
contaminated cadmium-, mercury-, and silver-containing 
batteries by designating new treatment subcategories for 

these wastes. The current treatment standards of thermal 
recovery for cadmium batteries and of roasting and retorting 
for mercury batteries are technically inappropriate, because 
any recovered metals would likely contain residual 
radioactive contamination and not be usable. The current 
numerical treatment standard for silver batteries is also 
inappropriate because of the potential increase in radiation 
exposure to workers associated with manually segregating 
silver-containing batteries for the purpose of treatment. 
Macroencapsulation is designated as the required treatment 
prior to land disposal for the new waste subcategories. 

Sections of the DRGHW affected by this amendment:
Part 268, §268.40, the Table, “Treatment Standards for 
Hazardous Wastes.” 

2.  Title:  Miscellaneous Changes

Summary:  Proposed miscellaneous changes to DRGHW 
include non-substantive corrections for typographical or 
grammatical errors.

Proposed miscellaneous changes will also: Reinsert 
missing hazardous waste codes that were erroneously 
deleted from §261.32, and Part 262, Appendix VIII in a 
previous edition of the DRGHW; revise the timeframe in 
§263.103(d) for a transporter to submit an application to 
replace an expiring permit; add new section 264.1050(h) 
regarding purged coatings and solvents from surface coating 
operations; add a sentence in §265.55 regarding annual 
training of a facility’s emergency coordinator; add new 
section 265.1050(g) regarding purged coatings and solvents 
from surface coating operations. 

Sections of the DRGHW affected by this amendment:
§261.32; Part 261, Appendix VIII; §263.103(d), 
§264.1050(h), §265.1050(g), and §265.55.

DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Section 103(a)(1) and (b),
( 7 Del.C. 103(a)(1) and (b))

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN # 2004-03

1. Title Of The Regulations:
Delaware Wildlife Regulations

2. Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And 
Issues:
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To provide additional shotgun hunting days for deer in 
October and add 1 day to the  October muzzleloader deer 
season.  To increase the general bag limit for deer from 2 to 4 
antlerless deer. To allow squirrel hunting during deer gun 
hunting days in October. To require that deer checked using 
the automated system be tagged with the hunters name, date    
of birth, date of kill and the deer registration number.  

3. Possible Terms Of The Agency Action:
N/A

4. Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
Title 7. Conservation. Chapter 1, Section 103

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The 
Proposal:  

None 

6. Notice Of Public Comment:
A public hearing will be held on June 30, 2004 in the 

DNREC Richardson and Robbins Building auditorium, 89 
Kings Highway, Dover, DE starting at 7:00 p.m. Written 
comments for the record will be accepted for 30 days 
following publication of the amendments in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations. Written comments should be sent to 
The Delaware Division of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings 
Highway, Dover, DE 19901 Attention: Kenneth Reynolds 

7. Prepared By:
Kenneth M. Reynolds
(302) 653-2883 May 6, 2004

4.0 Seasons (Formerly WR-4)
(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. 1304)
4.1 Season Dates. Hunting and trapping season dates 

will be published each year in an annual publication entitled 
“Delaware Hunting and Trapping Guide.”

4.2 General. It shall be unlawful for any person to hunt 
those species of wildlife for which a season is designated at 
any time other than during that season.

4.3 Protected Wildlife.
4.3.1 Unless otherwise provided by law or 

regulation of the Department, it shall be unlawful for any 
person to hunt any species of protected wildlife.

4.3.2 It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, 
transport or possess any species of protected wildlife, except 
when:

4.3.2.1 Otherwise provided by law or 
regulation of the Department; or

4.3.2.2 The wildlife was lawfully taken 
outside of this State in accordance with the laws or 
regulations of the state or nation where the wildlife was 
taken.

4.4 Beaver.

4.4.1 Unless otherwise provided by law or 
regulation of the Department, it shall be unlawful for any 
person to hunt or trap beaver during any period of the year, 
however, from December 1 through March 20, landowners 
(or their agents) may take up to eight beavers from their 
property without a permit, provided the beavers are causing 
crop or property damage.

4.4.2 Beaver hides and the meat of lawfully 
taken beaver harvested anywhere within or outside of 
Delaware may be sold.

4.5 Bullfrogs.
4.5.1 Season. Bullfrogs may be hunted in 

accordance with the statutes and regulations of the State of 
Delaware governing the hunting of bullfrogs: from May 1 
through September 30.

4.5.2 Limit.  It shall be unlawful for any person 
to take more than twenty-four (24) bullfrogs in any one day.

4.5.3 License.  A hunting or fishing license is 
required to take bullfrogs.

4.6 Crows.
It shall be unlawful for any person to hunt common 

crows during any period of the year, except Thursdays, 
Fridays and Saturdays between and including the fourth 
Thursday of June and the last Saturday of March, unless said 
person holds a valid depredation permit.  The hunting of 
common crows is restricted only by the provisions of federal 
regulations pertaining to the taking of common crows. 
Crows may be taken without a permit when committing 
damage or about to commit damage.

4.7 Gray Squirrel.
4.7.1 Season. Gray squirrel may be hunted in 

accordance with the statutes and regulations of the State of 
Delaware governing the hunting of gray squirrel: from 
September 15 (September 14, if September 15 is a Sunday) 
through the first Saturday in November; and from the 
Monday that immediately precedes Thanksgiving through 
the day that precedes the January shotgun deer season. 
Squirrel hunting shall be unlawful during any period and in 
any area when it is lawful to hunt deer with a firearm. 
Notwithstanding the foregoing, when squirrel season 
overlaps with an October firearms deer season, squirrel may 
be hunted when hunter orange is displayed in accordance 
with §718 of Title 7.

4.7.2 Limit. It shall be unlawful for any person 
to take more than four gray squirrels in any one day.

4.8 Opossum.
The opossum may only be hunted or trapped during 

the lawful season to hunt or trap raccoons.
4.9 Pheasant.

4.9.1 Season. Male pheasant may be hunted in 
accordance with the statutes and regulations of the State of 
Delaware governing the hunting of pheasant: from the 
Monday that immediately precedes Thanksgiving through 
the day that precedes the January shotgun deer season, 
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except that no pheasant hunting shall be lawful during any 
period when it is lawful to hunt deer with a firearm. 
Notwithstanding the foregoing, pheasant may be hunted 
during the December firearm deer season when hunter 
orange is displayed in accordance with § 718 of Title 7.

4.9.2 Female Pheasant. It shall be unlawful for 
any person to hunt or possess any female pheasant at any 
time, except as permitted on game preserves, by licensed 
game breeders or as otherwise permitted by law.

4.9.3 Male Pheasant Limit. It shall be unlawful 
for any person to hunt or possess more than two (2) male 
pheasants in any one day during the pheasant season, except 
as permitted by law.

4.9.4 Scientific or Propagating Purposes.  It 
shall be unlawful for any person to possess pheasants for 
scientific and propagating purposes without a valid permit 
from the Director.

4.9.5 Game Preserves. Nothing in this 
regulation shall be construed so as to limit the number or sex 
of pheasants that may be harvested by any one person on 
licensed game preserves.

4.10 Quail.
4.10.1 Season.  Bobwhite quail may be hunted in 

accordance with the statutes and regulations of the State of 
Delaware governing the hunting of bobwhite quail: from the 
Monday that immediately precedes Thanksgiving through 
the first Saturday of February, except that no quail hunting 
shall be lawful during any period when it is lawful to hunt 
deer with a firearm. Notwithstanding the foregoing, quail 
may be hunted during the December or January firearm deer 
seasons when hunter orange is displayed in accordance with 
§ 718 of Title 7. 

4.10.2 Limit.  It shall be unlawful for any person 
to take more than six (6) quail in any one day.

4.11 Rabbit.
4.11.1 Season.  Rabbits may be hunted in 

accordance with the statutes and regulations of the State of 
Delaware governing the hunting of rabbits: from the Monday 
that immediately precedes Thanksgiving through the first 
Saturday in February, except that no rabbit hunting shall be 
lawful during any period when it is lawful to hunt deer with a 
firearm.  Notwithstanding the foregoing, rabbit may be 
hunted during the December or January firearm deer seasons 
when hunter orange is displayed in accordance with § 718 of 
Title 7.

4.11.2 Limit.   It shall be unlawful for any person 
to take more than four (4) rabbits in any one day.

4.12 Raccoon.
4.12.1 Trapping Season.  Raccoon may be 

trapped in accordance with the statutes and regulations of the 
State of Delaware governing the trapping of raccoon: from 
December 1 through March 10 (March 20 on embanked 
meadows) in New Castle County; and from December 15 
through March 15 in Kent and Sussex counties.  The season 

is open throughout the year on private land, except on 
Sundays, in eastern New Castle and Kent counties pursuant 
to § 786 of Title 7 and Section 4(b) of WR-2.

4.12.2 Hunting Season.  Raccoon may be hunted 
in accordance with the statutes and regulations of the State of 
Delaware governing the hunting of raccoon: from September 
1 (September 2, if September 1 is a Sunday) through October 
31 for chase only whereby it shall be unlawful to kill raccoon 
and opossum; from November 1 through the last day of 
February; and from March 1 through March 31 for chase 
only whereby it shall be unlawful to kill raccoon and 
opossum.  The season is open throughout the year on private 
land in eastern New Castle and Kent counties, except on 
Sundays, pursuant to § 786 of Title 7. 

4.12.3 Notwithstanding subsection 4.3.2 of this 
section, it shall be unlawful for any person to hunt raccoon 
or opossum during any period when it is lawful to hunt deer 
with a firearm, except that it shall be lawful to hunt raccoon 
from 7:00 p.m. until midnight during the December and 
January firearm deer seasons.

4.13 Red Fox.
Red fox may be hunted in accordance with the 

statutes and regulations of the State of Delaware governing 
the hunting of red fox: from October 1 through April 30 for 
chase only whereby it shall be unlawful to kill red fox, 
except no red fox hunting shall be lawful during any period 
when it is lawful to hunt deer with a firearm. 
Notwithstanding the foregoing, red foxes may be killed in 
accordance with Section 8 of WR-2 and § 788 of Title 7.

4.14 Ruffed Grouse.
It shall be unlawful for any person to hunt for ruffed 

grouse during any period of the year.
4.15 Snapping Turtles.

4.15.1 Season.  It shall be unlawful for any 
person to hunt for snapping turtles during any period of the 
year, except between and including June 15 and May 15.

4.15.2 Size.    It shall be unlawful for any person 
to sell, offer for sale or kill any snapping turtle with a 
carapace length of less than eight inches, measured on the 
curvature.

4.16 Terrapin.
4.16.1 Season.  It shall be unlawful for any 

person to hunt for diamondback terrapin during any period 
of the year, except between and including September 1 and 
November 15.

4.16.2 Limit.  It shall be unlawful for any person 
to take more than four (4) diamondback terrapin in any one 
day.

See 3 DE Reg.   289 (8/1/99) 
See 3 DE Reg. 1738 (6/1/00)
See 6 DE Reg. 536 (10/1/02)
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7.0 Deer (Formerly WR-7)
(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. 1304)
7.1 Limit.

 7.1.1 Unless otherwise provided by law or 
regulation of the Department, it shall be unlawful for any 
person to:

7.1.1.1 Kill or take or attempt to kill or take 
more than two four antlerless deer in any license year;

7.1.1.2 Kill or take two four antlerless deer in 
any license year without at least one two of the two four deer 
being an antlerless female deer; or

7.1.1.3 Possess or transport any deer that was 
unlawfully killed.

7.1.1.4 Kill any antlered deer without first 
purchasing a Delaware Resident Hunter’s Choice Deer Tag 
or a Delaware Non Resident Antlered Deer Tag, except that 
persons exempt from purchasing a hunting license shall be 
entitled to take one Hunter’s Choice deer at no cost. 

7.1.2 For the purposes of this section, a person 
“driving deer” and not in possession of any weapon or 
firearm shall not be treated as if they are hunting deer, 
provided they are assisting lawful hunters.

7.1.3 It shall be unlawful for any person to 
purchase, sell, expose for sale, transport or possess with the 
intent to sell, any deer or any part of such deer at any time, 
except that hides from deer lawfully killed and checked may 
be sold when tagged with a non-transferable tag issued by 
the Division.  Said tag must remain attached to the hide until 
it leaves the State or is commercially processed into leather. 
This subsection shall not apply to venison approved for sale 
by the United States Department of Agriculture and 
imported into Delaware.

7.1.4  Notwithstanding subsection 7.1 of this 
section, a person may purchase an Antlerless Deer Tag Tags
for $10 each to kill or take an additional antlerless deer 
during the open season.  , provided:

7.1.4.1 The tag is valid for the season in 
which it is used; and

7.1.4.2 The tag is valid in the deer 
management zone from which the deer is taken. Hunters 
may take additional antlerless deer on Antlerless Deer 
Damage Tags at no cost. 

7.1.5 Notwithstanding subsection 7.1.1 of this 
section, a person may use one Quality Buck tag to take an 
antlered deer with a minimum outside antler spread of fifteen 
inches, provided the tag is valid for the season in which it is 
used. Hunters exempt from the requirement to purchase a 
hunting license must purchase a Quality Buck tag in order to 
take a second antlered deer in any one license year. 

7.2 Tagging and Designated Checking Stations.
7.2.1 Attaching Tags. – Each licensed person 

who hunts and kills a deer shall, immediately after the killing 
and before removing the deer from the location of the 
killing, attach an approved tag to the deer. An approved tag 

shall mean an Antlerless Deer Tag or Doe Tag received with 
the hunting license, a Delaware Resident Quality Buck Deer
Tag, a Delaware Resident Hunter’s Choice Deer Tag,  a 
Delaware Non Resident Quality Buck Deer Tag, a Delaware 
Non Resident Antlered Deer Tag, an Antlerless Deer 
Damage Tag, a Sportsmen Against Hunger tag or an 
Antlerless Tag purchased in addition to the hunting license 
tags.  a tag detached from a Delaware hunting license.  Any 
unlicensed person not required to secure a license shall make 
and attach a tag to the deer that contains the person’s name, 
address and reason for not having a valid Delaware hunting 
license.

7.2.2 this section shall remain attached to the 
deer until the deer is presented to an official checking station 
for examination and tagging, or registered by phone or over 
the internet, as prescribed by subsection  7.1.3 of this 
section.

7.2.3 Checking Stations. – Each person who 
hunts and kills a deer shall, within 24 hours of killing said 
deer, present the deer to a checking station designated by the 
Division or to an authorized employee of the Division. or 
register the deer by phone. Hunters may also check deer by 
phone or over the internet through systems authorized by the 
Division. 

7.2.4 Dressing. –  It shall be unlawful for any 
person to remove from any deer any part thereof, except 
those internal organs known as the viscera, or cut the meat 
thereof into parts, until such deer has been examined by an 
authorized employee of the Division or a checking station, as 
prescribed by subsection (c) of this section or registered 
using the phone or internet system.

7.2.5 Receipt Tag. – The Division shall issue, at 
a checking station or otherwise, an official receipt tag 
proving the deer was examined by an authorized employee 
of the Division or a checking station, as prescribed by 
subsection (c) of this section. The receipt tag shall remain 
with the deer until such time as the deer is processed for 
consumption or prepared for mounting. Deer checked over 
the phone or internet will be given a registration number. 
These deer shall be tagged by the hunter, butcher or 
taxidermist with the registration number, hunter’s first and 
last name, hunter’s date of birth, and date of kill. This tag 
may be homemade or be one provided by the Division and 
must remain with the head and/or carcass until the mount is 
picked up from the taxidermist or the meat is processed and 
stored as food.

7.2.6 Hunting with Tags Detached from 
License. It shall be unlawful for any person to hunt deer with 
any license that has the applicable deer tag detached from the 
license, even though said tag may be in the possession of the 
hunter.  Any person with a detached deer tag may, upon 
application to the Division, have a duplicate license issued in 
order to obtain a valid deer tag.

7.3 Method of Take.
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7.3.1 Shotgun.  It shall be unlawful for any 
person to hunt deer during the shotgun season using a 
shotgun of a caliber smaller than 20 gauge, or have in his or 
her possession any shell loaded with shot smaller than what 
is commonly known as “buckshot.”

7.3.2 Bow and Arrow.  It shall be unlawful for 
any person to hunt deer during the longbow season and have 
in his or her possession any weapon or firearm other than a 
knife, a bow and sharpened broadhead arrows having 
minimum arrowhead width of 7/8 of an inch.

7.3.3 Muzzle-loading Pistols.  A single shot 
muzzle-loading pistol of .42 caliber or larger using a 
minimum powder charge of 40 grains may be used to 
provide the coupe-de-grace on deer during the primitive 
firearm season.

7.3.4 Refuge in Water.  It shall be unlawful for 
any person to shoot, kill or wound or attempt to shoot, kill or 
wound any deer that is taking refuge in or swimming through 
the waters of any stream, pond, lake or tidal waters.

7.3.5 Dogs.   It shall be unlawful for any person 
to make use of a dog for hunting during the shotgun or 
muzzleloader seasons for deer (in each county), except as 
permitted in the hunting of migratory waterfowl from an 
established blind or for hunting dove, quail, raccoon or 
rabbit on properties closed to deer hunting with firearms 
during December and January.

7.4 Illegal Hunting Methods; Baiting.
It shall be unlawful for any person to set, lay or use 

any trap, snare, net, or pitfall or make use of any artificial 
light, or other contrivance or device, for the purpose of 
hunting deer.  This subsection does not preclude the use of 
bait for the purpose of attracting deer in order to hunt them 
on private land.

7.5 Seasons.
7.5.1 Shotgun Seasons.  Deer may be hunted 

with shotgun in accordance with the statutes and regulations 
of the State of Delaware governing the hunting of deer: from 
the Friday in November that precedes Thanksgiving by 
thirteen (13) days through the second Saturday succeeding 
said Friday; and from the Saturday that precedes the third 
Monday in January through the following Saturday in 
January.

7.5.2 Archery Seasons.  Deer may be hunted 
with longbow in accordance with statutes and regulations of 
the State of Delaware governing the hunting of deer: from 
September 1 (September 2, if September 1 is a Sunday) 
through the last day of January, provided hunter orange is 
displayed in accordance with § 718 of Title 7 when it also 
lawful to hunt deer with a firearm.

7.5.3 Muzzleloader Seasons. – Deer may be 
hunted with muzzle-loading rifles in accordance with the 
statutes and regulations of the State of Delaware governing 
the hunting of deer: from the Saturday  Friday that precedes 
the second Monday in October through the next  second

Saturday that succeeds the Friday opening day; and from the 
Monday that follows the close of the January shotgun season 
through the next Saturday.

7.5.4 Special Antlerless Seasons. – Antlerless 
deer may be hunted with a shotgun in accordance with the 
statutes and regulations of the State of Delaware governing 
the hunting of deer during all Fridays, Saturdays and 
Mondays in October except for during the October 
Muzzleloader season and the last Monday prior to the 
opening Friday of the October Muzzleloader season. 
Notwithstanding the foregoing, antlered deer may be taken 
with archery equipment that is legal during this October 
shotgun season. Antlerless deer may be hunted with shotgun 
in accordance with the statutes and regulations of the State of 
Delaware governing the hunting of deer: from the second 
Saturday in December through the third Saturday in 
December.

7.5.5 Crossbow Seasons.  Crossbows may be 
used in lieu of shotguns during that part of the November 
shotgun season that runs from Monday through Saturday of 
each year and in any shotgun or muzzleloader deer season 
open in December or January.

7.5.6 Special Shotgun Season for Young and 
Disabled Hunters.  Deer may be hunted on the first Saturday 
of November by disabled (non-ambulatory) hunters using a 
wheelchair for mobility, and hunters 12 years of age or older 
but less than 16 years of age (12 to 15 inclusive) who have 
completed an approved course in hunter training.  Young 
hunters must be accompanied by a licensed non-hunting 
adult who is 21 years of age or older.  Young hunters must be 
of sufficient size, physical strength and emotional maturity 
to safely handle a shotgun.

See 3 DE Reg.  289 (8/1/99) 
See 6 DE Reg. 536 (10/1/02) 
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text 
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold 
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language 
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in 
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials, 
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and 
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and 
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2) 
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being 
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, 
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under 
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the 
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations, 
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DELAWARE STATE FIRE 
PREVENTION COMMISSION
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,

Section 6603 (16 Del.C. §6603)

ORDER

Part X – Ambulance Regulations

This regulation has been revised to reflect consolidation 
of numerous policies and an upgrade in training 
requirements and certification of Ambulance Attendants to 
Delaware Emergency Medical Technicians Basics 
implemented since 1998 by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.

The State Fire Prevention Commission (“the 
Commission”) held a properly noticed public hearing on 
April 20, 2004 to receive comment on proposed revisions, to 
the Commission’s Ambulance Regulations.  (Attached to 
this Order as “Exhibit A”) The attendance sheets and 
transcribed minutes of this hearing are attached to this Order 
as “Exhibit B” in lieu of a statement of the summary of 
evidence.  Similarly, those written comments received by the 
Commission and introduced into evidence at the hearing are 
attached to this Order as Exhibit “C”.

Based upon the evidence received, the Commission 
finds the following facts to be supported by the evidence.

1. There was no public comment presented 
concerning the proposed regulations at the public hearing.

2. In written correspondence, Dr. Ross E. Megargel, 
the State EMS Medical Director, requested that “the county 
and/or State EMS Medical Director be listed as members of 
the Basic Life Support Data Assessment Committees.”

The Commission accepts Dr. Megargel’s requests and 
amends Part IX subsection (1) of the Ambulance 
Regulations to include thte “county and/or State EMS 
Medical Director” as members of the county’s Basic Life 
Support (BLS) Data Assessment Committees.

THE LAW

The State Fire Prevention Commission’s rulemaking 
authority is provided by 16 Del.C. §6711(b)(2) and §6717(a) 
that state:

§6711.  Establishment of operational standards.
(a) ...
(b) Emergency ambulance licensing and 
certification.
(b)(1)...
(b)(2) The Commission shall adopt regulations 
specifying operational standards for ambulances. 
Regulations so adopted shall also require that the 
interior of the ambulance and the equipment within 
the ambulance be sanitary and maintained in good 
working order and sufficient quantities at all times.

§6717.  Establishment of State Fire Prevention 
Commission ambulance service responsibility and 
authority; ambulance service districts; operational and 
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administrative requirements; ambulance service 
permits.

(a) As the responsible agency for the regulation of 
ambulance services within the State, the 
Commission shall adopt regulations applicable to 
ambulance service providers including but not 
limited to the establishment of ambulance service 
districts, establishment of operational and 
administrative requirements and requirements for 
certification of ambulance service providers.  The 
Commission shall also have the authority to 
establish a process for certification renewal and 
shall have the authority to decertify any agency for 
noncompliance with its regulations.

DECISION

The Commission hereby adopts the Ambulance 
Regulations as proposed with alterations and clarifications 
noted in this Order and a copy of the Regulations as adopted 
is attached to this Order.  The Commission relies upon its 
expertise in this area and the evidence presented in the 
testimony and documents submitted.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 18th day of May, 2004

STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
Kenneth H. McMahon, Chairman
W. (Bill) Betts, Jr., Vice Chairman
Carlton E. Carey, Sr.
Frances J. Dougherty
Robert Ricker
Daniel W. McGee
Jasper H. Lakey

Part X, Ambulance Services Regulations

I. Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to ensure a consistent 

and coordinated high quality level of ambulance service 
throughout the state, focusing on timeliness, quality of care 
and coordination of efforts.

II. Application
This regulation shall apply to any person, firm, 

corporation or association either as owner, agent or 
otherwise providing either pre-hospital or inter hospital 
ambulance service meeting the definitions of either “BLS 
Ambulance Service” or “Non-Emergency Ambulance 
Service” within the State of Delaware. The following are 
exempted from this regulation:

a. Entities engaged in providing ALS ambulance 
service.

b. a. Privately owned vehicles not ordinarily used in 

the business of transporting persons who are sick, injured, 
wounded or otherwise incapacitated or helpless.

c. b. A vehicle rendering service as an ambulance in 
case of a major catastrophe or emergency when the 
ambulances with permits and based in the locality of the 
catastrophe or emergency are insufficient to render the 
services required.

d. c. Ambulances based outside the State rendering 
service in case of a major catastrophe or emergency when 
the ambulances with permits and based in the locality of the 
catastrophe or emergency are insufficient to render the 
services required.

e. d. Ambulances owned and operated by an agency 
of the United States Government.

f. e. Ambulances based outside the State engaged 
strictly in interstate transportation.

g. f. A vehicle which is designed or modified and 
equipped for rescue operations to release persons from 
entrapment and which is not routinely used for emergency 
medical care or transport of patients.

III. Definitions
For the purpose of this policy the following definitions 

are used:
Advanced Life Support (ALS) - The advanced level of 

pre-hospital and inter hospital emergency care that includes 
basic life support functions including cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation, plus cardiac monitoring, cardiac defibrillation, 
telemetered electrocardiography, administration of anti 
arrhythmic agents, intravenous therapy, administration of 
specific medications, drugs and solutions, use of adjunctive 
medical devices, trauma care and other authorized 
techniques and procedures.

Advertising - Information communicated to the public, 
or to an individual concerned by any oral, written, or graphic 
means including, but not limited to, handbills, newspapers, 
television, billboards, radio, and telephone directories.

Ambulance - Any publicly or privately owned vehicle, 
as certified by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission, that is specifically designed, constructed or 
modified and equipped, and intended to be used for and is 
maintained or operated for the transportation upon the streets 
and highways of this state for persons who are sick, injured, 
wounded or otherwise incapacitated or helpless.

Ambulance Attendant - A person trained in emergency 
medical care procedures and currently certified by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission in accordance 
with standards prescribed by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.  Such course shall be classified as 
basic life support and shall be the minimum acceptable level 
of training for certified emergency medical personnel.

Ambulance Service District - A geographical area with 
boundaries which are typically (but not always) aligned to 
fire service districts within the state as identified and 
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certified by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.
BLS Run Report - Standardized Patient Care Report 

provided by the State EMS office, paper or computerized.
Basic Life Support (BLS) - The level of capability 

which provides noninvasive EMT-B [/Ambulance 
Attendant] emergency patient care designed to optimize the 
patient’s chances of surviving an emergency situation.

BLS Ambulance Service - Ambulance service which 
provides BLS level intervention both through the level of 
personnel and training provided.

BLS Ambulance Service Contract - A written contract 
between either a Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service 
Provider and an individual, organization, company, site 
location or complex or other entity for BLS ambulance 
service.

Board State Board Of Medical Practice (Board) - 
Means the State Board of Medical Practice.  The Board of 
Medical Practice is charged with protecting the consumers of 
the Delaware healthcare system through the proper licensing 
and regulation of physicians and other health care 
professionals.

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) – A 
combination of chest compressions and rescue breathing 
used during cardiac and respiratory arrest to keep 
oxygenated blood flowing to the brain. (AHA Manual)

Certification – An initial authorization by the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission to practice the skills of an 
EMT-Basic/Ambulance Attendant or First Responder
specifying that the individual has successfully completed 
and passed the approved curriculum and evaluation 
instruments process.

Commission - The State Fire Prevention Commission 
or a duly authorized representative thereof.

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
(DSFPC) - The State Governing Body mandated in Title 16, 
Delaware Code whom Regulates the Basic Life Support 
System in Delaware.

DFPC – The Delaware Fire Prevention Commission
DOT- United States Department of Transportation
DSFS - Delaware State Fire School
Delaware Refresher Course - A course of instruction 

authorized by the DOT respectively for EMT-B or First 
Responders that prepare the ambulance provider for re-
certification by the DFPC or the NREMT  A course of 
instruction for re-certification required by the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission for EMT-B/Ambulance 
Attendants and First Responders that meet the guidelines of 
the DOT Curriculum.

Delaware State Fire School (DSFS)  - An agency of 
the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission which is 
designated as its duly authorized representative to administer 
the provisions of the Ambulance Service Regulations.

Delaware Training Standard For Delaware Emt-b/
ambulance Attendants & First Responders – The current 

of United States Department of Transportation Curriculum. 
EMT-B – Emergency Medical Technician – Basic
EMT-B – Bridge Course – A state-approved course of 

instruction that upon successful completion entitles the 
provider to sit for the NREMT-B examination.

Emergency - A combination of circumstances resulting 
in a need for immediate pre-hospital emergency medical 
care.

Emergency Medical Dispatch System - Means an a 
BOARD approved protocol system used by an approved 
dispatch center to dispatch aid to medical emergencies which 
must include:

• Systematized caller interrogation questions
• Systematized pre-arrival instruction; and
• Protocols matching the dispatcher’s evaluation of 

injury or illness severity with vehicle response mode and 
configuration.

Emergency Medical Services (Ems) Provider – 
Individual providers certified by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission to perform pre hospital care.  For 
the purposes of this regulation this includes EMT-
B[Ambulance Attendant] and First Responders.

Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) - A person 
trained, and currently certified by the State Fire Prevention 
Commission in emergency medical care procedures through 
a course which meets the objectives of the National Standard 
Curriculum.

Emergency Medical Technician – Basic (EMT-B) – 
The individual as defined in Title 16 of Delaware Code who 
provides patient care on an ambulance and has completed the 
National Department of Transportation curriculum and 
initially certified as a National Registered and Delaware 
Emergency Medical Technician-Basic and upon re-
certification chooses to meet the State of Delaware 
requirements.

Emergency Mission - The BLS and ALS response to 
the needs of an individual for immediate medical care in 
order to prevent loss of life or aggravation or physiological 
of psychological illness or injury.

First Responder - An individual who has to take the 
First Responder Course as provided by the Delaware State 
Fire School that meets the DOT curriculum.

First Responder Curriculum – The United States 
Department of Transportation National Standard Curriculum 
for First Responders.

Center For Medicare/Medicaid Services (CMS) - The 
Federal Agency which oversee Medicare Billing and 
Ambulance Standard.

HIPAA - Health Insurance Probability and 
Accountability Act of 1996.

Hospital - An institution having an organized medical 
staff which is primarily engaged in providing to inpatients, 
by or under the supervision of physicians, diagnostic and 
therapeutic services or rehabilitation services for the care or 
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rehabilitation of injured, disabled, pregnant, diseased, sick or 
mentally ill persons. The term includes facilities for the 
diagnosis and treatment of disorders within the scope of 
specific medical specialties, but not facilities caring 
exclusively for the mentally ill.

Medical Command Facility - The distinct unit within a 
hospital which meets the operational, staffing and equipment 
requirements established by the Secretary, Delaware Health 
and Social Services for providing medical control to the 
providers of advanced life support services.  Any hospital 
that operates an emergency medical facility and desires to be 
designated as a medical command facility shall maintain and 
staff such facility on its premises and at its own expense with 
exception of base station communication devices which shall 
be an authorized shared expense pursuant to the provisions 
of Title 16, Chapter 98.

Medical Control - shall mean directions and advice 
normally provided from a centrally designated medical 
facility operating under medical supervision, supplying 
professional support through radio or telephonic 
communication for on-site and in-transit basic and advanced 
life support services given by field and satellite facility 
personnel.

Medical Control Physician - Any physician board-
certified or board-prepared in emergency medicine, or a 
physician certified on advanced trauma life support (ATLS) 
and advanced cardiac life support (ACLS) who is 
credentialed by the hospital within which a medical 
command facility is located, and who is authorized by the 
medical command facility to give medical commands via 
radio or other telecommunication devices to a paramedic. 
When a medical control physician establishes contact with a 
paramedic, and provides medical control instructions that 
exceed or otherwise modify the standing orders of the 
statewide standard treatment protocol, the paramedic shall, 
solely for the purpose of compliance with the Medical 
Practices Act, be considered to be operating under the 
license of said medical control physician.

Mobilization Time - The total time from station alert to 
the time an ambulance “is in service”.\

NREMT – The National Registry of Emergency 
Medical Technicians.

National Department Of Transportation (DOT) – 
Emergency Medical Technician Curriculum - A 
curriculum developed and adopted by the Federal 
Government as a recommended guide for people providing 
emergency care in the field.

National Registry Of Emergency Medical 
Technicians (NREMT) - The nationally recognized 
organization for the testing and registering of persons who 
have completed a DOT, EMT-Basic course and First 
Responder Courses.

National Registered Emergency Medical Technician 
– Basic (NREMT-B) - a person who completed the DOT 

curriculum and passes passed the National Registry of 
Emergency Medical Technicians Examination.

Non-emergency Ambulance Service - Ambulance 
service which provides routine transport of persons who are 
sick, convalescent, incapacitated and non-ambulatory but do 
not ordinarily require emergency medical treatment while in 
transit.

OEMS – Office of Emergency Medical Services, 
Division of Public Health.

Office Of Emergency Medical Services (OEMS) - 
The State Agency Mandated in Title 16 that serves as the 
designated representative of the NREMT; provides medical 
advise and direction; regulates the statewide automatic 
external defibrillator program; and coordinates data 
collection activities for the EMS system.

Patient - An individual who is sick, injured, wounded 
or otherwise incapacitated or helpless and/or seeks who 
needs immediate medical attention.

Pre-hospital Care - Any emergency medical service, 
including advanced life support, rendered by an emergency 
medical unit before and during transportation to a hospital or 
other facility.

Primary Ambulance Service - BLS Ambulance 
Service provided by the Primary Ambulance Service 
Provider certified by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission within a specific ambulance service district.  

Primary Ambulance Service Provider - An 
organization or company which has been designated by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission as having 
primary responsibility for providing BLS ambulance service 
within a specific ambulance service district.

Protocols - shall mean written and uniform treatment 
and care plans for emergency and critical patient statewide 
that constitutes the standing order of basic life support 
provider.  The treatment protocols shall be prepared by the 
Board of Medical Practice as defined by House Bill 332 of 
the 140th General Assembly.

Provider - A person who, as an individual or member of 
a corporation or organization, whether profit-making or 
nonprofit, on a regular basis gives or offers for sale any 
supplies, equipment, professional or nonprofessional 
services, or is capable of giving or offering for sale supplies, 
equipment or services vital or incidental to the function of an 
emergency medical service system.

Recertification Training - A defined curriculum that 
once completed allows the individual to continue practicing 
as an EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant or First Responder for a 
specific period of time as determined by the Delaware State 
Fire Prevention Commission.

Response Time - The total time from “in-service” the 
ambulance is notified by dispatch until the ambulance 
arrives to arrival on the scene.

Responsible Charge - The individual who is identified 
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as having both the responsibility and authority to ensure full 
and complete compliance with all requirements of this 
regulation.

Secondary Ambulance Service - Ambulance Service 
provided under contract to specific locations within a 
primary ambulance service district by a BLS Ambulance 
Service Provider other than the primary provider.

Secondary Ambulance Service Provider - An 
organization or company which provides supplemental BLS 
ambulance service anywhere in the state and always under 
specific contractual agreements.

Semi Automatic External Defibrillation (AED)
Certification – An external computerized defibrillator 
designed for use in unresponsive victims with no breathing 
or signs of circulation (AHA Manual). 

AED Certification – Semi-Automatic External 
Defibrillation Training and Certification as recognized by 
the Delaware Board of Medical Practice.

II. Training Standard - Effective June 16, 1998, the 
current of United States Department of Transportation 
Emergency Medical Technician—Basic National Standard 
Curriculum shall be the curriculum adopted for the 
Ambulance Attendants in the State of Delaware. 

Basic Life Service (BLS) Ambulance Service

IV. BLS Ambulance Service Permits
A. Any person, firm, corporation or association either 

as owner, agent or otherwise who furnish, conduct, maintain, 
advertise or otherwise engage in or profess to be engaged in 
the business or service of providing BLS Ambulance Service 
upon the streets or highways of this state shall hold a valid 
permit as either a Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service 
Provider issued by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission.  Application for this permit shall be upon 
forms provided by the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission (Appendix B).

B. The issuance of a permit hereunder shall not be 
construed so as to authorize any person, firm, corporation or 
association to provide ambulance services or to operate any 
ambulance without compliance with all ordinances and 
regulations enacted or promulgated by any state, county or 
municipal government concerning ambulances.

C. Prior to issuing an original or renewal permit, the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission shall determine 
that all requirements of this regulation are fully met. 
Additionally, the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission has the authority to ensure continued 
compliance with these regulations through the periodic 
review of records and operations.

D. Only companies holding a current, valid BLS 
Ambulance Service Provider Permit shall be authorized to 
respond and provide BLS Ambulance Service within the 

state.
E. A Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service 

Provider may not discontinue BLS ambulance service until a 
replacement provider has been selected and can assume 
service with no reduction in service.

V.   BLS Ambulance Service Districts
A. The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 

shall have the authority to establish Ambulance Service 
Districts as per Title 16 Delaware Code, Section 6717(a).

B. The role of Primary Ambulance Service Provider 
shall be assigned to those fire departments providing BLS 
Ambulance Service at the time this regulation is officially 
adopted was initially adopted in 1997.  The ambulance 
service district for these providers shall correspond to their 
established fire districts as certified by the Delaware State 
Fire Prevention Commission.

C. In those areas in which fire departments are were
not providing BLS Ambulance Service at the time this 
regulation was officially adopted in 1997, the organization 
who is currently was providing BLS Ambulance Service 
shall be designated as the Primary Ambulance Service 
Provider. The ambulance service district for these providers 
shall correspond to their current boundaries.

VI.   Primary And Secondary BLS Ambulance Service 
Providers

A. BLS Ambulance Service may be provided by 
Primary Ambulance Service Providers within their 
ambulance service district or in the course of providing 
mutual aid within other ambulance service districts 
provided:

1. They have a current permit
2. They are assigned by the Delaware State Fire 

Prevention Commission as a Primary Ambulance Service 
Provider

B. The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
shall be authorized to select a new Primary Ambulance 
Service Provider at such time that:

1. The current Primary Ambulance Service 
Provider chooses to discontinue service 

2. Failure to meet one or more elements of these 
regulations creates a threat to public safety

C. Any organization desiring to assume the role of 
Primary Ambulance Service Provider will be required to 
apply to the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission
showing adequate cause in the interest of public safety to 
justify the change.

D. BLS Ambulance Service may be provided by 
Secondary Ambulance Service Providers only to those with 
whom they have a contract for such service provided they:

1. Have a current permit.
2. Have a written contract to provide BLS 
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Ambulance Service to that specific location or site.
3. Provide the names, locations and conditions of 

all Secondary Ambulance Service contracts to the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission within 20 days of contract 
finalization.

VII. BLS Ambulance Service Provider Permit 
Requirements 

BLS Administrative Requirements
A. Procedures for securing a BLS ambulance service 

primary or secondary ambulance service permit include:
1. The owner or registered agent must apply to 

the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission upon forms 
provided and according to procedures established by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

2. The Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service 
Provider shall either be based in Delaware or maintain an 
office in Delaware with a full time individual domiciled at 
that office who is in “Responsible Charge”.

3. All requirements set forth in this regulation 
must be met before issuance of permit.

4. The Primary or Secondary Ambulance 
Provider must provide proof of automobile liability 
insurance in the amount of $1 Million individual, $3 Million 
aggregate per occurrence.The Primary or Secondary 
Ambulance Provider must provide proof of liability 
insurance in the amount of $1 Million blanket liability 
coverage.

B. Permits shall be valid for a period of one year from 
the permits effective date.  Effective date runs for a calendar 
year.

C. The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
may issue temporary permits when determined to be in the 
interest of public safety per Title 16.

D. On an on-going basis throughout the term of the 
permit, the owner or individual in “responsible charge” shall 
be available upon reasonable notification for the purpose of 
providing documentation on any provisions of this 
regulation and permitting physical inspection of all facilities 
and vehicles.

E. No ambulance service provider shall advertise or 
represent that it provides any ambulance service other than 
authorized to provide under this regulation.

F. All individuals or ambulance service providers 
shall be required to participate in the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission approved ambulance data collection 
system which includes:

1. A BLS run report will be completed on all 
dispatched responses.

2. A completed copy of the report will be left at 
the hospital receiving the patient, at the time of the call

[32.]A completed copy of the report will be 
forwarded to the state EMS office.  EMT-B [Ambulance 

Attendant’s] must complete, without exception, a written/
computer report on each patient contact.  Reports must be 
completed in a timely fashion.

[43.]When available, the report will be entered 
electronically and forwarded to the state EMS office.

[54.]Failure to comply with data submission will 
result in loss of ambulance provider license or EMT-B/
Ambulance Attendant Certification.

[65.]Submit any other data to the designated 
agencies as required by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission.

G. The ambulance company shall provide on an annual 
basis a financial statement to the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.  The Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission has the option to withhold funding 
as per HB 332 for failing to report the financial statement.

XIII.  Reporting
A. Every individual who operates as an ambulance 

attendant and provides patient care will:
1. Ensure that the State mandated EMS Run paper 

on computer data report is submitted to ambulance agency 
for forwarding to the proper collection agency and the 
receiving health care facility.  Failure to comply with data 
submission will result in loss of ambulance attendant 
certification.

2. Submit any other data to the designated 
agencies as required by the State Fire Prevention 
Commission.

BLS Operational Requirements
A. Vehicle Standards

1. All ambulances shall be registered and licensed 
in the State of Delaware by the Delaware Motor Vehicle 
Department.

EXCEPTIONS:
a. Those vehicles to which the international 

registration plan applies
b. Those vehicles properly registered in some 

other state.
2. Vehicles shall have clearly visible letters on 

both sides and the rear identifying the name of the 
organization or corporation or the vehicle’s specific 
identifier as specified under permit documentation. The 
letters shall be at least three inches in height.

3. Vehicle patient compartment shall conform 
with the criteria within the GSA Federal Specifications for 
ambulances (KKK-1822C).

B. Equipment Standards
Every ambulance shall be equipped with equipment 

and supplies as specified by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission within Appendix “A” and updated 
annually following recommendations from the Delaware 
State Fire School Director with concurrence from the 
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Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission’s Medical 
Advisor Director.

C.  Staffing Requirements
1. Minimum acceptable crew staffing when 

transporting a patient shall consist of a driver and one EMT-
B/Ambulance Attendant.

2. A minimum of one EMT-B/Ambulance 
Attendant shall always be in the patient compartment when a 
patient is present.

3. Within 6 months following adoption of this 
regulation, BLS ambulance drivers are required to have 
completed the “Emergency Vehicle Operators” course 
conducted by the Delaware State Fire School or an 
equivalent program approved by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.

D. Quality Assurance
1. Each Primary and Secondary Ambulance 

Service Provider shall be responsible for monitoring quality 
assurance in the form of patient care and both mobilization 
and response times.  The method in which this is 
accomplished is the authority and responsibility of the 
Primary or Secondary Ambulance Service Provider.

NOTE: For Primary Ambulance Service 
Providers- this monitoring shall only apply to response 
within their Primary Ambulance Service District - NOT for 
mutual aid calls to other ambulance service districts. 

2. As identified above, included within the 
quality assurance program is the responsibility for assuring 
the public a consistently reasonable response to BLS 
ambulance calls.  In the interest of public safety, primary and 
secondary ambulance service providers are responsible for 
meeting the following mobilization and response times:

Mobilization Times
80% of all emergency missions within 8 minutes - 

1st Year regulation is in effect
85% of all emergency missions within 8 minutes - 

2nd Year regulation is in effect 
90% of all emergency missions within 8 minutes - 

3rd Year regulation is in effect 
Response Times - 90% of all BLS calls shall not 

exceed 18 minutes
3. For the purposes of Monitoring quality control, bth 

mobilization and response times will be monitored based on 
calendar year quarterly periods.

4. Upon periodic review of both mobilization and 
response times, the Commission may consider extraordinary 
weather and traffic conditions as impacting these times.

NOTE: As stated above, this regulation is striving 
to ensure, within a high percentage of ambulance calls, that 
two goals are met:

1. That ambulances will be in-service within 
8 minutes from the time of station alert.

2. That, once an ambulance is in-service, 

time to arrive on the scene is not more than 18 minutes.
NOTE:  The intent of this criteria is to cause the 

review and monitoring of both mobilization and response 
time.  By reviewing these times based on quarterly periods, 
both mobilization and response times are being monitored 
relative to the above criteria in order to determine if a 
problem is developing.  Mobilization or response time 
exceeding the above criteria for any quarter requires review. 
The same problem(s) occurring for a second period or within 
a total one year period of time require some form of 
correction action.  The form of corrective action taken is the 
prerogative of the BLS Ambulance Service Provider and 
may include but not be limited to the following: Providing an 
incentive to personnel responding to ambulance calls during 
problem time periods, providing paid personnel during 
difficult time periods, contracting with secondary ambulance 
service providers on an individual or regional basis.  Once 
determined to be necessary, corrective action is required to 
be implemented within 3 months.  Additional corrective 
action shall be required if monitoring indicates a problem 
continues to exist.

E. Communications Requirements
1. Dispatch Centers

a. Dispatch centers for both Primary and 
Secondary Ambulance Service Providers shall meet the 
criteria established of NFPA 1221 as amended by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

b. Secondary ambulance service providers 
dispatch centers shall be responsible for following call 
taking protocols as established by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.  Calls determined to be ALS in 
nature shall be transferred to the appropriate public safety 
answering point (PSAP)within 30 seconds of taking the call 
utilizing a dedicated phone line to that PSAP.

c. Calls determined to be BLS in nature shall 
not be required to be forwarded to the PSAP.

d. Dispatch centers shall follow an 
Emergency Medical Dispatch System approved by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

2. Ambulances
a. All Ambulances shall be equipped with 

reliable communications systems which permit direct 
communications with their dispatch center and all medical 
command facilities with which the ambulance will or may 
operate.

F. SAED Requirements
Upon placing an SAED on any ambulance, the 

ambulance service provider will comply with the Delaware 
Early Defibrillation Program Administrative Policies as 
established by the Department of Health and Human 
Services,  Office of Emergency Medical Services.

G. Infection Control
All ambulance service providers will comply with 

the infection control requirements in chapter 12A, Title 16 of 
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the Delaware code.
H. Medical Control

Once medical control is established, Ambulance 
service providers shall be required to follow all orders 
issued.

I. Center for Medicare Medicaid Services (CMS)
All ambulance services providers will comply with 

the Final Rule in the Federal Register (64F.R3637) revising 
the Medicare policies for ambulance services adopted 
February 24, 1999.

J. Health Insurance Portability and Accountability 
Act of 1996 (HIPAA) All ambulance service providers will 
comply with the HIPAA of 1996.

VIII.   Compliance
A. The owner or registered agent of every ambulance 

service provider shall provide ambulance service in 
accordance with the requirements set forth in this regulation 
and the contractual agreements established as either a 
primary or secondary Ambulance Service Provider and filed 
with the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission in 
accordance with the provisions set forth in these regulations. 
Failure to provide this service shall be grounds for 
suspension or revocation of permit.

B. Grievances - All grievances relative to ambulance 
service shall follow procedures established within the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations, Part IX “Fire 
Service Standards” sections 1.1 through 6.1.

C. Penalties - Following review of a valid complaint or 
upon failure to comply with any provision of this regulation, 
the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, following 
procedures established within the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Regulations, shall have the authority to issue 
corrective orders, suspend or revoke the provider’s permit.

D. Whenever there is reason to believe that any 
provisions of this regulation have been violated, the 
ambulance service provider shall be immediately notified. 
Violations shall require correction within five (5) working 
days of receipt of notice with the exception of those 
violations which represent an imminent danger to the public.

E. For those violations representing an imminent 
danger to the public, the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission shall issue and deliver an order to cease and 
desist any further ambulance service until such time as the 
violation has been verified as being corrected and corrective 
measures accepted by the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission.

F. The continued violation of any element of this 
regulation or failure or refusal to comply with any order to 
correct a violation or failure to obey a cease and desist order 
by any ambulance service provider shall be cause for 
revocation or suspension of permit by the Delaware State 
Fire Prevention Commission after determination that the 
provider is guilty of such violation.

G. In addition to (F), it shall be cause for revocation or 
suspension of a permit after determining the ambulance 
service provider:

(a) Has practiced any fraud, misrepresentation, or 
deceit in obtaining or renewing a permit 

(b) Is guilty of gross negligence, incompetence or 
misconduct in providing services

(c) Is guilty of a violation of the codes and 
regulations adopted by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission

(d) Has been found guilty of an unfair or deceptive 
trade practice

(e) Has violated any contractual agreement related 
to providing ambulance service

H. Upon issuance of an order, the ambulance service 
provider accused may request a review of the order by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.  All hearings 
shall be conducted in conformity with procedures 
established by the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission.

I. Any person aggrieved by a violation or order may 
file an appeal to the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission pursuant to Delaware Code, Title 16, Chapter 
66, Section 6608. 

IX.   Basic Life Support Data Assessment Committees
1. Members:  The Delaware State Fire Prevention 

Commission, hereinafter referred to as the Commission,
hereby establishes Basic Life Support (BLS) Data 
Assessment Committees, hereinafter referred to as the 
Committees.

There shall be three committees, one in each county 
of the State of Delaware.  Members shall consist of 
representatives from the County Volunteer Firemen’s 
Association, the County Fire Chief’s Association, the 
County Ambulance Association, [County and/or State 
EMS Medical Directors,]and the County or local Fire and 
Emergency Medical (EMS) Dispatch Center dispatching the 
respective Company’s EMS calls.

The President of his or her respective Association 
shall appoint each representative.  The manager of the Fire 
and EMS Dispatch Center dispatching the Company's BLS 
incidents shall appoint the Dispatch Center representative.

The representative from each Association shall 
serve on their respective Committee until a letter of 
appointment is received from the respective Association or 
Dispatch Center indicating replacement of their current 
representative. 

2. Goal Duties:  Each Committee shall meet at least 
biannually, or as necessary, to review their respective 
County’s Fire and EMS Dispatch Center’s Basic Life 
Support (BLS) data.  They shall review the monthly data for 
each Ambulance Provider, hereinafter referred to as 
Provider, in their County.  Criteria for review shall include 
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numbers of dispatched calls, scratches, and special 
circumstances.  Each committee shall submit biannually a 
written report to the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission, reporting on their reviews, and any suggestions 
they might have to improve the BLS system or committee 
procedures.

If the Committee deems that a Provider needs 
improvement in an area, the Committee shall schedule a 
meeting with that Provider to determine if they can support 
the Provider in solving the identified problem(s).  When 
meeting with the Provider, the Committee, by consensus, 
shall select a Chair to mediate discussions presented by the 
Committee to the Provider.

3. Grievance Procedure
In the event that the Committee has problems with 

the Provider, or the Provider has problems with the 
Committee, either may forward the problem to the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission through the normal 
Grievance Procedures, previously adopted by the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission.  Each Committee shall 
submit an annual written report to the Commission, 
reporting on their reviews, and any suggestions they might 
have to improve the BLS system or Committee procedures.

NON-EMERGENCY AMBULANCE SERVICE

X. Non-emergency Ambulance Service Permits
A. Any person, firm, corporation or association either 

as owner, agent or otherwise who furnish, conduct, maintain, 
advertise or otherwise engage in or profess to be engaged in 
the business or service of providing non-emergency 
ambulance service upon the streets or highways of this state 
shall hold a valid permit issued by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.  Application for this permit shall be 
upon forms provided by the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission   (Appendix B).

B. The issuance of a permit hereunder shall not be 
construed so as to authorize any person, firm, corporation or 
association to provide ambulance services or to operate any 
ambulance without compliance with all ordinances and 
regulations enacted or promulgated by any state, county or 
municipal government concerning ambulances.

C. Prior to issuing an original or renewal permit, the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission shall determine 
that all requirements of this regulation are fully met. 
Additionally, the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission has the authority to ensure continued 
compliance with these regulations through the periodic 
review of records and operations.

D. Only companies holding a current, valid non-
emergency ambulance service provider permit shall be 
authorized to respond and provide non-emergency 
ambulance service within the state. 

XI. Non-emergency Ambulance Service Provider Permit 
Requirements

Administrative Requirements
A. Procedures for securing a non-emergency 

ambulance service permit include:
1. The owner or registered agent must apply to 

the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission upon forms 
provided and according to procedures established by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.

2. The non-emergency ambulance service 
provider shall either be based in Delaware or maintain an 
office in Delaware with a full time individual domiciled at 
that office who is in “Responsible Charge”.

3. All requirements set forth in this regulation 
must be met before issuance of permit.

4. The non-emergency ambulance service 
provider must provide proof of liability insurance in the 
amount of $1 Million blanket liability coverage.

5. The non-emergency ambulance service 
provider must provide proof of automobile liability 
insurance in the amount of $1 Million individual, $3 Million 
aggregate per occurrence.

B. Permits shall be valid for a period of one year from 
the permits effective date.

C. The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
may issue temporary permits when determined to be in the 
interest of public safety per Title 16.

D. On an on-going basis throughout the term of the 
permit, the owner or individual in  “responsible charge” shall 
be available upon reasonable notification for the purpose of 
providing documentation on any provisions of this 
regulation and permitting physical inspection of all facilities 
and vehicles.

E. No ambulance service provider shall advertise or 
represent that it provides any ambulance service other than 
authorized to provide under this regulation.

Operational Requirements
A. Vehicle Standards

1. All ambulances shall be registered and licensed 
in the State of Delaware by the Delaware Division of Motor 
Vehicle Department.

EXCEPTIONS:
a. Those vehicles to which the international 

registration plan applies.
b. Those vehicles properly registered in some 

other state.
2. Vehicles shall have clearly visible letters on 

both sides and the rear identifying the name of the 
organization or corporation or the vehicle’s specific 
identifier as specified under permit documentation. The 
letters shall be at least three inches in height.

3. Vehicle patient compartment shall conform 
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with the criteria within the GSA Federal Specifications for 
ambulances (KKK-A-1822C).

B. Equipment Standards
Every ambulance shall be equipped with equipment 

and supplies as specified by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission within Appendix “A” and updated 
annually considering recommendations from the Delaware 
State Fire School Director with concurrence from the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission’s Medical 
Advisor Director.

C. Staffing Requirements
1. Minimum acceptable crew staffing when 

transporting a patient shall consist of a driver and one 
[EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant ambulance attendant].

2. A minimum of one [EMT-B/Ambulance 
Attendant ambulance attendant] shall always be in the 
patient compartment when a patient is present.

D. Communications Requirements Ambulances
All Ambulances shall be equipped with a reliable 

communications systems which permit direct 
communications with all medical command facilities with 
which the ambulance will or may operate.

E. SAED Requirements
Upon placing an SAED on any ambulance, the 

ambulance service provider will comply with the Delaware 
Early Defibrillation Program Administrative Policies as 
established by the Department of Health and Human 
Services, Office of Emergency Medical Services

F. Infection Control
All ambulance service providers will comply with 

the infection control requirements in Chapter 12A, Title 16 
of the Delaware code.

G. Center for Medicare Medicaid Services (CMS)
All ambulance services providers will comply with 

the Final Rule in the Federal Register (64F.R3637) revising 
the Medicare policies for ambulance services adopted 
February 24, 1999.

H. Health Insurance Portability and Accountability 
Act of 1996 (HIPAA) All ambulance service providers will 
comply with the HIPAA of 1996.

XII.  Compliance
A. The owner or registered agent of every ambulance 

service provider shall provide ambulance service in 
accordance with the requirements set forth in this regulation 
and the contractual agreements established as either a 
primary or secondary Ambulance Service Provider and filed 
with the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission in 
accordance with the provisions set forth in these regulations. 
Failure to provide this service shall be grounds for 
suspension or revocation of permit.

B. Grievances - All grievances relative to ambulance 
service shall follow procedures established within the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations, Part IX “Fire 

Service Standards” Sections 1.1 through 6.1.
C. Penalties - Following review of a valid complaint or 

upon failure to comply with any provision of this regulation, 
the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, following 
procedures established within the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Regulations, shall have the authority to issue 
corrective orders, suspend or revoke the provider’s permit.

D. Whenever there is reason to believe that any 
provisions of this regulation have been violated, the 
ambulance service provider shall be immediately notified. 
Violations shall require correction within five (5) working 
days of receipt of notice with the exception of those 
violations which represent an imminent danger to the public.

E. For those violations representing an imminent 
danger to the public, the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission shall issue and deliver an order to cease and 
desist any further ambulance service until such time as the 
violation has been verified as being corrected and corrective 
measures accepted by the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission.

F. The continued violation of any element of this 
regulation or failure or refusal to comply with any order to 
correct a violation or failure to obey a cease and desist order 
by any ambulance service provider shall be cause for 
revocation or suspension of permit by the Delaware State 
Fire Prevention Commission after determination that the 
provider is guilty of such violation.

G. In addition to (F), it shall be cause for revocation or 
suspension of a permit after determining the ambulance 
service provider:

(a) Has practiced any fraud, misrepresentation, or 
deceit in obtaining or renewing a permit 

(b) Is guilty of gross negligence, incompetence or 
misconduct in providing services

(c) Is guilty of a violation of the codes and 
regulations adopted by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission

(d) Has been found guilty of an unfair or deceptive 
trade practice

(e) Has violated any contractual agreement related 
to providing ambulance service 

H. Upon issuance of an order, the ambulance service 
provider accused may request a review of the order by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.  All hearings 
shall be conducted in conformity with procedures 
established by the Delaware State Fire Prevention
Commission.

I. Any person aggrieved by a violation or order may 
file an appeal to the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission pursuant to Delaware Code, Title 16, Chapter 
66, Section 6608.
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Appendix A

Required Ambulance Equipment & Supplies

1 – set Battery Jumper Cables or Dual Battery System
1 - Fire Extinguisher (minimum 5 pound dry chemical)
1 – Portable Resuscitation, Oxygen Inhalation Apparatus
1 – Fixed Oxygen Inhalation Apparatus
1 - Portable Suction Apparatus
1 - Permanently Mounted Suction Apparatus
1 - Adult Bag Mask Ventilator
1 - Child Bag Mask Ventilator
1 - Infant Bag Mask Ventilator
2 – Size “D” or “E” Bottles of Oxygen
Splints for two arms & two legs  (May be inflatable splints, 
Timmons splints, or wooden padded boards)
1 - Hare Traction Splint or Equivalent
1 - KED (Or an equivalent Extrication Device)
1 - Spine Board (Or Equivalent CPR Device
2 - Backboards
1 - Orthopedic Stretcher
8 – Extrication Collars (2 large Adult, 2 Medium, 2 Small & 
2 Child)
1 - Bandage Shears
1 - Hand Lantern
1 - Set Oropharyngeal Airways  Seven Sizes)
1 - Ambulance Cot
1 - Folding Stretcher OR Square Bench
1 - Stair Chair OR Combination Stretcher-Chair
1 - Wrecking Bar – 24” Minimum
2 - Sputum Pans OR Buckets
3 - BP Cuffs (One Large Adult, One Adult & One Child)
1 - Stethoscope
1 - Head Immobilizer for each long backboard
1 - AED (Effective one year from adoption of this 
regulation)

SUPPLIES

1 - Set Dot Triangles
5 – Adhesive Tape (various sizes)
2 – Towels
2 – Blankets
2 - Pillows
24- Sterile Gauze Pads (4”X4”)
6 – Roller Bandage, Self-Adhering type (3” X 5 YD)
2 - Roller Bandage, Self Adhering Type (6” X 5 YD)
1 – Universal Dressing (10”X36”)
3 – Triangular Bandages
2 - Sets of Cot Linens
1 – OB. Kit (Sterile) Including:

2 - Drape Sheets
2 – Pair Rubber Gloves
2 – Receiving Blankets

1 – Bulb Aspirator
2 – Hand Tools
2 – Cord Clamps OR Umbilical Tape

1 – Gallon of Water (Distilled)
Trauma Dressings
4 - Ice Packs
12- Surgical Disposable Gloves
4 - Hot Packs
1 - Burn Kit
1 - Sharps Container
6 - Oxygen Masks – Non Rebreathers and 6 Nasal Canules
12– Eye/Mouth/Nose Protection (Disposable) 
1 – Child Car Seat
Eye Protection
Disposable Gowns

XIII.  Discontinuation Of Service By Ambulance 
Providers

Ambulance Company’s Intent to Discontinue Service
A. STEP 1

Any fire department and/or ambulance company 
desiring to terminate ambulance service in the state of 
Delaware must notify the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission in writing 120 days before terminating service.

B. STEP 2
Immediately upon notification of a fire department 

and/or ambulance company’s desire to terminate service, the 
Chairman or the Vice Chairman of the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission shall notify the president of the 
county firemen’s association in which the fire department 
and/or ambulance company provides service to the 
residences and visitors of the state of Delaware for that 
district.

C. STEP 3
Immediately upon receiving notification of a fire 

department and or ambulance company’s desire to terminate 
service the county firemen’s association president shall 
appoint a committee.  The committee shall include, but not 
be limited to: two members shall be the President’s of the 
County Fire Chief’s and County Ambulance Associations or 
their designees.  The County President shall have the right to 
appoint other members to this committee, as he and/or she 
may deem necessary. 

1. To communicate and offer assistance to the 
terminating company in an effort to help them continue 
service.

2. In the event that the county committee is 
unable to get the company to continue service, they shall 
then contact the surrounding departments and ascertain and/
or develop a plan for those departments to divide the district 
and continue service.

3. In the event that steps one and two fail the 
county committee may put forth any and all suggestions they 
deem viable in order to provide ambulance service to the 
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residences and visitors of the state of Delaware for that 
district.

4. The committee, through the County Firemen’s 
Association President, shall report to the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission within 60 days with their 
recommendations and/or findings.

XIV.  Training/Certification
All individuals who successfully complete initial EMT-

B [Ambulance Attendant] training or a bridge course shall 
be eligible for and must successfully pass the NREMT 
examination to receive Delaware EMT-B[/Ambulance 
Attendant] certification.

IV.   Effective Date Of Implementation
January 1, 2002 all ambulance attendants who provide 

patient care and ride in the patient care compartment shall be 
Emergency Medical Technicians – Basic.

V Eligibility For Certification/EMT-B/Ambulance 
Attendant

A. Apply to the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission on the approved application form provided by 
the Delaware State Fire School.

B. An individual may apply for and receive 
certification as an EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant provided 
that.

1. They are a member in good standing of a 
Delaware Fire Department, an Ambulance Organization, a 
Private Ambulance Provider or any other group, business or 
industry certified by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission to provide ambulance service.

2. They have obtained EMT-B, EMT-I or EMT-P
registration from the NREMT.

3. The Chief, CEO, or head of the respective 
organization signs the application.

4. They are compliant with criminal history 
background check legislation.

5. Must be 18 years of age.
6. Comply with the State of Delaware 

Immunization policy.

VI   Certification
A. After 2001 [A.] Certification will be obtained by 

completing a state approved EMT-B[/Ambulance 
Attendant] Course and passing the National Registry of 
Emergency Medical Technicians Exam.  Every individual 
who successfully completes the National Registry of 
Emergency Medical Technician-Basic certification will 
receive Registration & Certification will be issued for the 
time period to coincide with the NREMT registration cycle. 
This is typically a two-year period.  Individuals will be 
issued a Delaware EMT-B[/Ambulance Attendant]
certification upon successful completion of initial or bridge 

course and the NREMT registration process.
B. During the Implementation phase from January 1, 

1998 to December 31, 2001 initial NREMT-B certification 
may be obtained in one of two ways:

1. Complete a full Emergency Medical 
Technician Basic course as offered by a member of the 
Prehospital Education Consortium of Delaware or other 
recognized training program and passes the National 
Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians examination.

Prerequisites
a Must be 18 years or older
b Healthcare Provider CPR
c AED Certification

2. Complete an Emergency Medical Technician 
Bridge course offered by a member of the Prehospital 
Education Consortium of Delaware or other recognized 
training program and passes the National Registry of 
Emergency Medical Technicians examination.

Prerequisites
a Must posses current ambulance attendant 

or 
b Emergency Care Technician certification.

CPR/AED
c Must be 18 years old or older

C. After 2001 certification will be obtained by 
completing a state approved EMT-B Course and passing the 
National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians Exam. 

D. The Bridge Course will be offered only during 
implementation which ends December 31, 2001.

B. Individuals who take EMT-B[/Ambulance 
Attendant] class from approved provider other than the 
Delaware State Fire School are required to meet all 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission requirements 
for certification.

1. It is the responsibility of the individual 
applying for certification to provide criminal history 
background check as specified by Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.

2. It is the responsibility of the individual 
applying to provide all necessary documentation for 
certification to include AED/CPR, protocol training and 
NREMT-B card.

VII   Recertification as DELAWARE EMT-B[/
Ambulance Attendant]

A Individuals will be re-certified for a two-year 
period.

B All individuals initially receive both a State and 
NREMT-B Certification.  After the first two years, the 
department or the individual may:

1. Reregister with the NREMT.  The provider will 
be re-certified as both a Delaware EMT-B and NREMT-B. 

2. Re-certify as a Delaware EMT-B.
C The registration requirements for a National 
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Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians – Basic will be 
determined by the National Registry of Emergency Medical 
Technicians.

D The re-certification requirements for a Delaware 
EMT-B will be determined by the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission, with recommendations of their 
medical advisor/director.

A. Individuals will be re-certified for a two-year 
period.

B. The re-certification requirements for a Delaware 
EMT-B[/Ambulance Attendant] will be determined by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, with 
recommendations of their medical advisor/director.

C. Requirements for re-certification are:
1. Individuals must submit a request for re-

certification to the Delaware State Fire School documenting 
completion of requirements.

a. Requirements
• Attend a prescribed DOT/EMT-B[/

Ambulance Attendant] refresher
• Current CPR/AED certificate

D. Re-registration as an NREMT-B:  The registration 
requirements for a National Registry of Emergency Medical 
Technician – Basic will be determined by the National 
Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians.

1. Continuing education classes to achieve re-
registration through the NREMT will be reviewed for 
approval by the Office of Emergency Medical Services in 
accordance with NREMT policy and procedures.

E. Active duty military personnel not able to re-certify 
due to deployment may request for an extension of 
certification until they are able to return and complete 
necessary requirements.  Upon return the individual shall 
have 90 days to complete re-certification requirements.

VIII Continuing Education Requirements
A Requirements for continuing education will be 

determined by the authority having jurisdiction over type 
and quantity of Continuing Education required.

B Special Requirements:
1. Continuing education classes to achieve re-

registration through the NREMT will be reviewed for 
approval by the OEMS in accordance with NREMT policy 
and procedure.

2. Delaware Continuing Education classes will be 
approved by the State Fire Prevention Commission with 
recommendation of their Medical Advisor/Director.

IX   Decertification
A An EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant will lose their 

Delaware EMT-B[/Ambulance Attendant] Certification to 
provide patient care if:

1. They do not meet the required continuing 
education re-certification requirements as defined by the 

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.
2. Certification is revoked De-certification by the 

Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission following 
procedures and in compliance with Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Regulations, Part IX Fire Service Standards.

B. National Registry of Emergency Medical 
Technicians will revoke certification based upon their 
national policy.  If an individual has their certification 
revoked by the National Registry of Emergency Medical 
Technicians the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
may also revoke decertify their Delaware EMT-B[/
Ambulance Attendant] Certification.

C. The individual is convicted of an offense as 
specified in 16 Del C. §6712(b) while currently certified and 
the procedures in Part X, Section XV, Criminal History 
Background Check SectionVII of this policy followed.

X   Expired Certifications
A. Maintain state EMT-B certification, but NREMT-B 

lapsed and wish to regain NREMT-B.
1. Attends DOT EMT-B refresher as specified by 

National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians
2. Pass DOT EMT-B Practical Exam
3. Pass National Registry of Emergency Medical 

Technicians Written Exam
B. Both state EMT-B certification and NREMT-B 

lapsed beyond two years
1. Attend EMT-B course and pass the National 

Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians exam
2. CPR/AED – Current Certification.

C. Both state EMT-B certification and NREMT-B 
lapsed less than two years

1. DOT EMT-B Refresher
2. CPR/AED Current
3. National Registry of Emergency Medical 

Technicians/State Practical Exam
4. National Registry of Emergency Medical 

Technicians written exam.

Reinstatement For Delaware EMT-B[/Ambulance 
Attendant] Delaware EMT-B Reinstatment Policy

A. Individual desiring to regain certification as a 
Delaware EMT-B[/Ambulance Attendant], after the 
expiration of their certification may do so provided the 
following conditions are met.

• Their card has been expired 18 months or less.
• They must attend an approved EMT-B[/

Ambulance Attendant] refresher course.
• They must take and pass the Delaware Protocol 

examination.
• They must show proof of a current AED and CPR 

certification.
• They must take and pass the current protocol self 

study course available from the Delaware State Fire School.
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• They must acquire a Delaware and Federal 
Background Check at their expense.

• They must submit all required paperwork and 
application for certification to the Delaware State Fire 
School.

B. Individuals whose card has expired 18 months or 
more must take the entire EMT-B[/Ambulance Attendant]
course and National Registry Examination.

C. Individuals desiring to regain registration as an 
NREMT-B must follow the policies of the National Registry 
Organization.

XI   Testing Procedures For National Registry
Initial testing and re-testing for National Registered 

EMT-B and National Registered First Responders will 
follow the guidelines set forth by the National Registry of 
Emergency Medical Technicians.

XII   Reciprocity
A EMT’s Emergency Medical Technicians, 

paramedics, nurses, or physicians who enter Delaware with 
prior Emergency Medical Services Training a National 
Registry EMT-B, EMT-I or EMT-P certification will receive 
reciprocity as EMT-B[/Ambulance Attendant] in the 
Delaware System provided that.

1. They become a member of a certified 
ambulance service provider.

2. They have a current National Registry EMT-B 
certification.

A. Submit request for reciprocity
B. CPR and AED as approved in Delaware
C. Challenge four (4) practical exams

3. They have a current EMT-B certification from 
another state

A. Certification less than 2 years and 
practical less than 12 months    

1. State approved practical exam
2. National Registry written exam

B. Certification greater than two years and 
practical greater than 12 months

1. State Practical/National Registry 
exam

2. Complete DOT EMT-B Refresher
3. National Registry written exam
4. State Approved AED & CPR 

Certification
4. They submit the required application form to 

the State Fire Prevention Commission.
1. They become a member of a certified 

ambulance service provider in Delaware.
2. They submit the required application form to 

the Delaware State Fire School.
3. They have a current National Registry EMT-B, 

EMT-I or EMT-P certification.

4. CPR and AED as approved by the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission.

5. Challenge four (4) practical exams as required.
6. Challenge Delaware Protocol Examination.
7. Provide mandated State & Federal background 

checks.
8. Applicants will be advised of the appeal 

process of Part X, Section XV, Criminal History Background 
Check if reciprocity is denied because of criminal history 
background check.

B. Applicant’s certified from other states without at 
least a Nationally Registered EMT-B certification must 
obtain National Registry prior to applying for Delaware 
Certification.

B PARAMEDICS
They hold a current certification and/or license specified 

below
1. National Registered Emergency Medical 

Technician-Paramedic
A. Submit request for reciprocity
B. Must produce current cards AED/CPR
C. Letter from affiliate

2. Emergency Medical Technician-Paramedic from 
another state

A. Challenge National Registry exam at the basic 
or Paramedic level

B. Must take DOT refresher at the level they are 
challenging written exam    
C REGISTERED NURSE

1. Registered Nurse or higher with current Ambulance 
Attendant Certification

A. DOT EMT-B Refresher
B. National Registry/State approved practical 

exam
C. CPR/AED
D. NREMT-B exam
E. Letter from affiliate

2. Registered Nurse or higher with no prior EMS 
training.

A. CPR/AED
B. EMT-B course
C. State approved practical
D. National Registry written exam

D PHYSICIANS WITH DELAWARE LICENSE
A. CPR/AED
B. State approved practical exam
C. National Registry Written exam
D. Letter from affiliate

E PHYSICIANS WITHOUT DELAWARE LICENSE
A. CPR/AED
B. EMT-B course National Registry State approved 

practical 
C. National Registry Written exam
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D. Letter from affiliate
F C. The Delaware State Fire Prevention 

Commission reserves the right to administer a written 
examination if deemed necessary.

G The State Fire Prevention Commission will grant 
reciprocity with recommendations from their Medical 
Advisor/Director.

XV .  Criminal History Background Records Check 
Policy

I. Authorized Governmental Designee for the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission

A. The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
authorizes the Director of the Delaware State Fire School to 
be its governmental designee to acquire and review State and 
Federal criminal history records background checks
submitted by the State Bureau of Identification for an 
applicant applying to become[an Ambulance Attendant/or 
a Delaware Emergency Medical Technician a Delaware 
EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant] an Ambulance Attendant/ 
or a Delaware Emergency Medical Technician and to 
interview the applicant, if necessary.

II. Evaluation Procedure for Criminal History Background 
Checks

A. The Director of the Delaware State Fire School 
shall evaluate the criminal history records background 
checks using the criteria established in 16 Del.C. §6712(b). 
All criminal history records background checks will be 
forwarded by the State Bureau of Identification to the 
Director of the Delaware State Fire School.

B. Should the Director of the Delaware State Fire 
School as a result of the criminal history [background 
records] check find cause to recommend to the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission that it deny the 
application of the person seeking certification as an [EMT-
B/Ambulance Attendant Ambulance Attendant/ or as an 
Delaware Emergency Medical Technician-B], the Director 
shall notify the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
of this decision.

C. The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
shall advise the applicant that it intends to deny the 
application and state the reason therefor.  The Delaware State 
Fire Prevention Commission will also advise the applicant of 
the right to review all information reviewed by the Director 
of the Delaware State Fire School and the right to appeal the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission’s decision by 
requesting a hearing before the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission.

III. Appeal Process for Denial of Certification or De-
certification because of Criminal Conviction

A. Any Delaware EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant

applicant or certificate holder notified by the Delaware State 
Fire Prevention Commission that the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission intends to deny the application or 
decertify the certificate holder because of criminal history 
[background records] check information may appeal the 
denial to the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission. 
The process is:

1. Within 10 days after the postmark on the 
notification of the intent to deny certification or decertify a 
certificate holder, the applicant shall submit a written request 
for a hearing to the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission stating the reason(s) supporting the appeal.

2. Notice of the hearing shall be given at least 20 
days before the day of the hearing and comply with the 
provisions of 29 Del.C. §10122.

3. The grievance hearing before the Delaware
State Fire Prevention Commission will be conducted in 
accordance with the Delaware Administrative Procedures 
Act 29 Del.C. Ch 101.

4. The hearing will be closed to the public unless 
the applicant requests an open hearing.  After the hearing, 
the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will inform 
the applicant of its decision.

IV.   Requirements for Certification
A. Persons seeking certification as an Ambulance 

Attendant/Delaware Emergency Medical Technician 
Ambulance Attendant or as an Emergency Medical 
Technician must be eighteen (18) years of age at the time of 
application.

1. Individuals entering an EMT-B[/Ambulance 
Attendant] course must be eighteen (18) years of age at the 
start of the course.

B. An individual applying for certification must meet 
the requirement of Part X, of the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Regulations “Ambulance Service Regulations”. 
Section V, Eligibility of Certification of the State Fire 
Prevention Commission Addendum to the Ambulance 
Service Regulations, BLS Ambulance Provider/First 
Responder.

C. Persons seeking certification must meet the 
criminal history [background records] check as mandated 
in 16 Del C. § 6712(b), effective July 12, 2001 and follow 
the procedures outlined in this policy.

V.   Administrative Policy Pertaining to Criminal 
History Background Checks

A. Delaware State Fire School All training 
announcements for EMT-B[/Ambulance Attendant]
courses will include the statement “Criminal History 
Background Records checks will be required on or before 
the first night of class”.

B. All Chiefs of Departments, Presidents or 
Ambulance Captains of volunteer rescue or ambulance 
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squads or Operating Officers of private corporations which 
have students pre-registered for the class will be sent a notice 
to inform the student that a criminal history background
records checks will be done on the first night of class and 
fingerprinting will be required.  It will be the responsibility 
of private EMT-B[/Ambulance Attendant] training 
institution to make their students aware that a Criminal 
History Background Check is required to become a State of 
Delaware EMT-B[/Ambulance Attendant] and the 
Criminal History Background Check be available in order to 
receive certification.

C. Any student not pre-registered for the class will not 
be accepted as a walk-in.

D. All EMT-B[/Ambulance Attendant] students will 
sign a release provided by the State Bureau of Identification 
authorizing the criminal history [background 
records]check.  Any student failing to sign the designated 
form will not be allowed to participate in the course.

E. All students of new courses who are members of a 
volunteer fire, rescue or ambulance organization will sign 
the authorization of payment allowing the State Fire 
Prevention Commission to reimburse the State Bureau of 
Identification on their behalf for the cost of the criminal 
history records check.

F E. Students who are members of a private 
ambulance service are required to pay the course tuition 
prior to the first night of class.  The tuition is non-refundable 
unless the student drops out prior to the first night of class. 
The tuition includes the cost of the criminal history 
[background records]check which will be paid to the State 
Bureau of Identification on the student’s behalf by the 
Delaware State Fire School.

G. F. Any volunteer fire, rescue or ambulance 
company which registering a student who is denied 
certification pursuant to the provision of 16 Del. C. § 
6712(b), shall be responsible to reimburse the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission for the cost of the 
criminal history [background records] check.

H. G. Any student accepted into the course who does 
not complete same the course will be required to reimburse 
the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission the cost of 
the criminal history [background records]check and course 
textbook.

VI.   Condition and Duration of Certification/De-
certification

A. The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
shall issue initial certification as an Ambulance Attendant/
and Delaware Emergency Medical Technician – Basic as 
prescribed in Part X, Section VI, Certification, of the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission Regulations 
provided that:

1. The applicant passes the mandated criminal 
history record check.

2. Obtain all necessary immunizations.
3. Meet the course attendance requirement policy 

as prescribed by the Delaware State Fire School, if 
applicable.

4. Pass the National Registry of Emergency 
Medical Technician’s Examination.

B. De-certification
1. The State Fire Prevention Commission shall 

decertify an Ambulance Attendant or Delaware EMT-B if:
a. The individual does not meet the re-

certification requirements established in the State Fire 
Prevention Commission Regulation, Part X, section IX.  Or

b. The individual is convicted of an offense 
as specified in 16 Del. C. § 6712(b) while currently certified 
and the procedures in section VII of this policy are followed.

VII B.  Procedure for De-certification for Criminal Offense
A 1. The Delaware State Fire Prevention 

Commission may decertify any currently certified [EMT-B/
Ambulance Attendant Ambulance Attendant/ or 
Delaware Emergency Medical Technician-Basic  EMT]
when it has reason to believe that the person has been 
convicted of a crime within the scope of §6712 of Title 16.

B. 2. Upon receiving a written notice that an [EMT-
B/]Ambulance Attendant/ or EMT Delaware Emergency 
Medical Technician-Basic was convicted of a crime within 
the provisions of  §6712, Title 16 the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission shall:

1 a. Immediately suspend the individual’s 
certification pending an investigation into the allegations.

2 b. Notify the individual in writing of the 
allegations and suspensions and allow the certificate holder 
an informal opportunity to contest the allegations of a 
conviction.

3 c. Require the individual to obtain a current 
Criminal History background check at their expense.

a 1. Criminal History Background check 
information will be sent to and reviewed by the Director of 
the Delaware State Fire School, who will make 
determination if cause for de-certification exists.  The 
Director of the Delaware State Fire School will notify the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission of the findings.

4 d. Based on the information provided by the 
Director of the Delaware State Fire School, the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission will either inform the 
certificate holder of the intent to de-certify the individual or 
lift the individual’s suspension.

C 3. The individuals may appeal the de-certification 
using the procedure under Part X, Section XV, Criminal 
History Background Check, Appeal Process section III, 
Appeal Process specified in this Policy.

VIII.  Reciprocity Applicants for Certification as 
Ambulance Attendant or EMT
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A. Applicants applying for reciprocity for Ambulance 
Attendant and Delaware EMT-B from another state shall 
meet the requirements of Part X, Section XII of the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission Regulations

B. Applicants applying for reciprocity from another 
state must comply with the background check requirements 
as specified in 16 Del. C. § 6712.

IX.   Reciprocity Applicants – Criminal History Records 
Check Procedures

A. Applicants seeking reciprocity to become Delaware 
Ambulance Attendant or EMT’s must submit to a criminal 
history records check prior to applying for reciprocity 
certification.

1. Applicants will go to a Delaware State Police 
Troop and apply for a State and Federal criminal history 
records check.  All reciprocity applicants will pay at the time 
of request.  The criminal history records check must be done 
within 30 days of the reciprocity request.

2. Applicant will authorize the release of the 
criminal history records check information directly to the 
Director of the Delaware State Fire School.

3. Applicant will notify the Delaware State Fire 
School on the prescribed form they are seeking reciprocity 
and have applied for a criminal history records check.

4. Upon receipt by the Delaware State Fire 
School and evaluation of the criminal history records check 
the individual will be notified by the Fire School as to how to 
proceed with required testing and certification procedures.

5. Should the applicant be denied reciprocity 
because of criminal history records check information they 
will be advised of the appeal process in section III of this 
policy.

X  C.  Funding of Reciprocity Criminal History Background 
Checks

A 1. All applicants will pay for the criminal history 
background records check at the time of their request.

1 a. It is the responsibility of the private 
providers, private individuals or City of Wilmington to pay 
all costs – they are not eligible for reimbursement.

2 b. Upon successful completion of the 
reciprocity process the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission will reimburse the individual or the individual’s 
volunteer fire, rescue or ambulance organization for the cost 
of the criminal history background records check.

XI D.  Reciprocity for University of Delaware Students
A 1. The Delaware State Fire Prevention 

Commission will waive the criminal history background
records check requirements for all University of Delaware 
Students applying for certification as an Ambulance 
Attendant or as an /Delaware Emergency Medical 
Technician.

1 a. The University Police Department will provide 
the Director of the Delaware State Fire School with a written 
document listing all eligible students and a statement that 
they have passed an internal background check at least equal 
to the requirement of 16 Del. C. § 6712.

XII E. Confidentiality Of Criminal History Background 
Check Information

A 1. Information obtained pursuant to the criminal 
history background check is confidential and except as 
provided in Section C below, shall not be released from the 
Delaware State Fire School under any circumstances to 
anyone.

B 2. All criminal history background check 
information that is reviewed by the Director of the Delaware 
State Fire School shall be retained in a locked file cabinet in 
the custody of the Director for a two (2) year period.

C 3. When a denial for certification is made, the 
information will be turned over to the Delaware State Fire 
Prevention Commission where it will be secured for at least 
60 days or until the appeal process is completed.

1. If an appeal is not filed at the end of 60 days, 
the information is to be returned to the Director of the 
Delaware State Fire School.

D 4. Per 16 Del.C. §6712 the individual may meet 
with the Director of the Delaware State Fire School and after 
providing proof of identification including a photo 
identification, review their information.  Copies will not be 
provided to anyone.

XIV XVI  First Responder
First Responders do not meet the requirements of EMT-

B[/Ambulance Attendant] and cannot transport a patient 
without a Delaware EMT-B/Ambulance Attendant] present 
and in the patient care compartment.

A Individuals who successfully complete the 
Delaware State Fire School First Responder Course will be 
certified as same by the Delaware State Fire Prevention 
Commission for a period of two years.

A. First Responder Criteria Eligibility for Delaware 
First Responder Certification 

1. CPR/AED Prerequisites 16 years of age
2. Must be 16 years old or older Complete 

Approved DOT First Responder Curriculum
B 3. National Registry First Responder 

Certification is optional
C Individuals who have maintained their Ambulance 

Attendant Certification until December 31, 2001 but do not 
become an Emergency Medical Technician Basic will be 
certified as a First Responder.

B. Certification is valid for 2 years with a re-
certification date of September.

C. Re-certification
1. Must re-certify as mandated by the Delaware 
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State Fire Prevention Commission.
a. DOT First Responder Refresher, AED and 

CPR.
b. National Registry – As determined by 

National Registry.
D. De-certification

1. May have their certification revoked by the 
Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission in compliance 
with the Delaware State Fire Prevention Regulations Part IX 
“Fire Service Standards”.

D A First Responder may provide initial on scene care 
in the following situations.

Initial on scene care as contained in the First 
Responder curriculum.

Semi Automatic External Defibrillation if holding 
an AED card.

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR)
E The First Responder may not provide transport of a

patient without an EMT-B or higher present.
F First Responders can participate as a member of an 

ambulance crew with an EMT-B providing Patient Care.
G Must re certify as mandated by the State Fire 

Prevention Commission to maintain First Responder Status.
• DOT First Responder Refresher, AED & CPR
• National Registry – As determined by National 

Registry
H May have their certification revoked by the State 

Fire Prevention Commission in compliance with Delaware 
Fire Service Standards.

I Reciprocity for First Responders from other states 
must submit request for reciprocity, uptain CPR/AED as 
approved in Delaware, and challenge two practicals.

XV E  Expired First Responder Cards Certifications
A. State First Responder card lapsed less than two (2) 

years
1. Refresher as specified by State Fire Prevention 

Commission
2. DOT First Responder Refresher
3. Current CPR & AED

B. Maintain State First Responder, but National 
Registry First Responder lapsed

1. Refresher with practical evolutions as specified 
by National Registry

2. National Registry First Responder written 
exam

C State First Responder and National Registry First 
Responder lapsed within two years

1. DOT First Responder Refresher
2. State approved practical
3. National Registry First Responder exam

D. State First Responder and National Registry First 
Responder lapsed greater than 2 years: Must take entire First 
Responder Course

1. Individuals desiring certification as a First 
Responder after the expiration date of their certification may 
do so providing the following conditions are met.

a. Card expired 18 months or less
b. Attend approved refresher course
c. Show proof of current AED/CPR 

Certification
d. Submit all required applications and 

paperwork to Delaware State Fire School
2. Individuals whose card has expired more than 

18 months must attend a complete First Responder Training 
course.

3. Individuals desiring to regain National 
Registry Registration must follow the policies of the 
National Registry.

F. Testing procedures Delaware First Responder
1. Initial testing and retesting for First 

Responders will follow the guidelines set forth by Delaware 
State Fire School.

G. Reciprocity
1. First Responders from other state must submit 

a request
2. Show proof of attending a DOT curriculum
3. Obtain CPR/AED as approved by Delaware 

State Fire Prevention Commission
4. Challenge practical examinations as 

determined by the Delaware State Fire School
5. Challenge the State First Responder 

Examination

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PHARMACY

24 DE Admin. Code 2500
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 2509 (24 Del.C. §2509)

ORDER

A hearing was held to receive comments on May 12, 
2004 at a scheduled meeting of the State Board of Pharmacy. 
The Board considered proposed changes to Regulations 3 
and 15 as published in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 7, 
Issue 10, April 1, 2004.

Summary Of The Evidence And Information Submitted

1. Suzanne E. Raab-Long, Vice President, 
Professional Services, Delaware Healthcare Association, 
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wrote a letter dated May 12, 2004 in support of the changes
to Regulations 15.  The proposed  provisions are less
onerous and are helpful to hospitals and health systems.   She
also made verbal comment at the public hearing.
Submitting a  written  plan for an automated system rather
than making a personal appearance at a meeting of the Board
is a more efficient procedure for a system that has previously
been evaluated and approved.  

Findings Of Fact With Respect To The Evidence And 
Information Submitted

The comment confirms the need for the proposed
changes to Regulation 15.  

Decision And Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulations 3
and 15  to be effective 10 days following publication of this
order in the Register of Regulations.

Text And Citation

The text of the revised rules remains as published in
Register of Regulations, Vol. 7, Issue 10, April 1, 2004.

SO ORDERED this 12th day of May, 2004.

STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY
John E. Murphy, R.Ph., President
Yvonne Brown, R.Ph., Vice President
Daniel Hauser, Pharm. D.
Karen J. Dey, R.Ph.
Angelo Chiari, R.Ph.
Chris Tigani, Public Member
Nancy Weldin, Public Member
Carlolyn Calio, Public Member

* Please note that no changes were made to the
regulation as originally proposed and published in the
April 2004 issue of the Register at page 1237 (7 DE Reg.
1237).  Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished.  Please refer to the April 2004 issue of the
Register or contact the Board of Pharmacy.

BOARD OF CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK 
EXAMINERS

24 DE Admin. Code 3900
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 3906(1) (24 Del.C. §3906(1)

ORDER

The Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners (“the
Board”) held a properly noticed, public hearing on March
15, 2004 to receive comment on proposed additions,
revisions, deletions and modifications to the Board’s
Regulations.  No members of the public attended.  The
written comments received by the Board included a January
12, 2004 letter from Anthony L. Horstman on behalf of the
Delaware Developmental Disabilities Council, a February
12, 2004 letter from John A. Werner on behalf of the
Governor’s Advisory Council For Exceptional Citizens and
a February 3, 2004 Memorandum from Rita Landgraf on
behalf of the State Council For Persons With Disabilities.

Based upon the evidence received, the Commission
finds the following facts to be supported by the evidence:

There was no public comment received concerning the
proposed amendments to the  Regulations except for the
provisions in Regulation 4.1 concerning who may provide
professional supervision to an applicant in the absence of a
licensed clinical social worker.  The letters received by the
Board as public comment requested that the list of who may
provide supervision be expanded to include a “licensed
counselor of mental health” and a “master’s level certified
rehabilitation counselor.”  The Board declines to accept this
request because the licensees who may offer professional
supervision in the absence of a licensed clinical social
worker are specified in 24 Del. C. § (a)(1), and therefore, the
change requested would require a legislative change.  To
clarify Regulation 3.2.1, the Board inserted the phrase
“through a Board approved form,” after the word “Board.”

The Law

The Board’s rulemaking authority is provided by 24
Del. C. §3906(1).

§ 3906 Same  - Powers and Duties
The Board shall have the authority to:

(1) Formulate rules and regulations with
appropriate notice to those affected; all rules and regulations
shall be promulgated in accordance with the procedure
specified in the Administrative Procedures Act of this State.
Each rule or regulation shall implement or clarify a specific
section of this chapter.
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Decision

The Board hereby adopts the Regulations as proposed with
the alterations and classifications noted in this Order, and a
copy of the Regulations as adopted is attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this        day of April, 2004.

Malisa Knox, President
Timothy J. Toole, Secretary
Dr. Maria Connoll
Robb Carter
Gloria Ho-Ruggiero

1.0 Election of Officers and Responsibilities
1.1 Officers shall be elected in September of each year,

for a one year term.  Special election to fill vacancies shall
be held upon notice and shall be only for the balance of the
original term.

1.2 Officers have the following responsibilities:
1.2.1 The President will preside at all meetings

and sign official documents on behalf of the Board.
1.2.2 The Vice-President will perform the duties

of the President when the latter is unavailable or unable to
perform the duties of the President.

1.2.3 The Secretary will preside over meetings
in the absence of the President and Vice-President.

2.0 Definitions
“Clinical Social Work” as provided in 24 Del.C.

§3902(2) shall mean the application of social work theory
and methods, which may include the person-in-environment
perspective, to the assessment, diagnosis, prevention and
treatment of biopsychosocial dysfunction, disability and
impairment, including mental and emotional disorders,
developmental disabilities and substance abuse.  The
application of social work method and theory includes, but is
not restricted to, assessment (excluding administration of the
psychological tests which are reserved exclusively for use by
licensed psychologists pursuant to Chapter 35 of Title 24 of
the Delaware Code), diagnosis, treatment planning and
psychotherapy with individuals, couples, families and
groups, case management, advocacy, crisis intervention and
supervision of and consultation about clinical social work
practice.

“Advocacy” means advocacy on behalf of an individual
or family, and not on behalf of a cause or a group of people.

“Assessment” of “biopsychosocial dysfunction,
disability and impairment” includes ongoing evaluation of a
client’s functioning and intervention outcomes.

The term “groups” shall mean small groups, consisting
of persons who represent themselves and are not
representatives of a larger group.

3.0 Acceptable Clinical Social Work Experience
3.1 An applicant for examination and licensure shall

submit evidence, verified by oath and acceptable to the
Board, that such person has acquired two years (not less than
3200 hours) of clinical social work experience that is
acceptable to the Board after receiving a master’s degree
from an accredited school of social work.

3.2 At least 1600 hours of the required 3200 hours of
post-degree clinical social work experience shall be under
professional supervision acceptable to the Board in
accordance with Section 4.0 of these rules and regulations.

3.2.1 Each Applicant shall demonstrate to the
satisfaction of the Board [through a Board approved form]
that he or she has satisfactorily completed each of the
following practice skills during the 1600 hours of
professionally supervised clinical social work experience:

3.2.1.1 Provides adequate clinical diagnoses
and biopsychosocial assessments;

3.2.1.2 Performs short-term and/or long-term
interventions;

3.2.1.3 Establishes treatment plans with
measurable goals;

3.2.1.4 Adapts interventions to maximize client
responsiveness;

3.2.1.5 Demonstrates competence in clinical
risk assessment and intervention;

3.2.1.6 Recognizes when personal issues
affect clinical objectivity;

3.2.1.7 Recognizes and operates within own
practice limitations;

3.2.1.8 Seeks consultation when needed;
3.2.1.9 Refers to sources of help when

appropriate; and
3.2.1.10 Practices within established

ethical and legal parameters.
3.2.2 Use of professional values, professional

knowledge, professional identity and use of self and
disciplined approach to the practice environment should be
reflected in each of the above listed practice skills.

2.0 4.0 Professional Supervision
2.1 Acceptable supervision shall be that amount of

personal oversight by the licensed professional that would be
considered usual and customary in the   profession consistent
with the applicant’s level of skill, education and experience,
but in any event should include the following activities, by
way of example and not by way of limitation:

2.1.1 Individual case reviews.
2.1.2 Evaluations of diagnosis and courses of

treatment.
2.1.3 Proper adherence to agency policy and

procedures.
4.1 Professional supervision that is acceptable to the

Board shall be that amount of personal oversight, conducted
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directly by the licensed clinical social worker, necessary and
consistent with the applicant’s level of skill, education and
experience, to enable both the applicant and the licensed
clinical social worker to attest that the applicant has attained
the required acceptable clinical social work experience
including achievement of the practice competencies and
practice skills set forth in Section 3.0 of these Rules and
Regulations.  When professional supervision by a licensed
clinical social worker is not available, the applicant may be
supervised by a master’s level degree social worker, a
licensed psychologist, or a licensed psychiatrist.

2.2  4.2 The amount of supervisory contact shall be at
least one hour per week during the supervised period.  This
contact must may be on a one-to-one face-to-face basis or by
live videoconferencing; provided, however, that supervision
by live videoconferencing shall not exceed fifty percent (50
%) of the total supervision in any month.  Supervision by
telephone or e-mail is expressly not permitted.

2.3 4.3 The Board shall require submission of the
following information from the supervisor(s): supervisor’s
name; business address; license number, professional field
and State in which the license was granted during the period
of supervision; agency in which the supervision took place
(if applicable); the number of qualifying practice hours
toward the statutory requirement; the number of one-to-one
face-to-face supervisory hours; and the number of live
videoconferencing supervisory hours (if applicable).

2.4 4.4 A licensed Psychiatrist shall be defined as a
licensed Medical Doctor with a specialty in psychiatry or a
licensed Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine with a  specialty in
psychiatry.

See 5 DE Reg. 1072 (11/1/01)

3.0 5.0 Application and Examination
3.1 5.1 Applications will be kept active and on file for

two (2) years.  If the applicant  fails to meet the licensure
requirements and/or pass the examination within two (2)
years, the application shall be deemed to have expired and
the applicant must reapply in the same manner as for initial
application, i.e., by submitting the application
documentation along with the proper fee to be eligible to sit
for the examination.

3.2 5.2 The Board will not review incomplete
applications.

3.3 5.3 All signatures must be original on all forms.
3.4 5.4 The applicant shall have obtained the passing

score on the national clinical  examination approved by the
American Association of State Social Work Boards
(AASSWB).  The Board shall accept the passing grade as
determined  by the AASSWB.

3.5 5.5 Any applicant holding a degree from a program
outside the United States or its territories must provide the
Board with an educational credential evaluation from
International Consultants of Delaware, Inc., its successor, or

any other similar agency approved by the Board,
demonstrating that their training and degree are equivalent to
domestic accredited programs.  No application is considered
complete until the educational credential evaluation is
received by the Board.  (29 Del. C. § 3907(a)(1))

4.0 6.0 Renewal
4.1 6.1 The licensee’s failure to receive notices or

letters concerning renewal will not  relieve the licensee of
the responsibility to personally assure delivery of his/her
renewal application to the Board.

4.2 6.2 In order to be eligible for license renewal
during the first year after expiration, the practitioner shall be
required to meet all continuing education credits for
continued licensure, pay the licensure fee, and pay any late
fee established by the Division of Professional Regulation.

5.0 7.0 Continuing Education
5.1 7.1 Required Continuing Education Hours:

5.1.1 7.1.1 Hours Required.  All licensees must
complete forty-five (45) hours of continuing education
during each biennial license period.  For license periods
beginning January 1, 1999 and thereafter, documentation, as
required by Rule 5.4, of all continuing education hours must
be submitted to the Board for approval by October 31 of
each biennial license period.

5.1.2 7.1.2 Proration.  At the time of the initial
license renewal, some individuals will have been licensed
for less than two (2) years.  Therefore, for these individuals
only, the continuing education hours will be prorated as
follows:

License Granted During First Credit Hours
Year Of Licensing Period Required 

January 1 - June 30 35 hours
July 1 - December 31 25 hours

License Granted During Second Credit Hours
Year Of Licensing Period Required

January 1 - June 30 15 hours
July 1 - December 31 5 hours

5.1.3 7.1.3 Hardship.  A candidate for license
renewal may be granted an extension of time in which to
complete continuing education hours upon a showing of
good cause.  “Good Cause” may include, but is not limited
to, disability, illness, extended absence from the jurisdiction
and exceptional family responsibilities.  Requests for
hardship consideration must be submitted to the Board in
writing prior to the end of the licensing period, along with
payment of the appropriate renewal fee.  No extension shall
be granted for more than 120 days after the end of the
licensing period.  If the Board does not have sufficient time
to consider and approve a request for hardship extension
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prior to the expiration of the license, the license will lapse
upon the expiration date and be reinstated upon completion
of continuing education pursuant to the hardship exception.

See 2 DE Reg 775 (11/1/98)
5.2 7.2 Definition and Scope of Continuing Education:

5.2.1 7.2.1 Continuing Education is defined to
mean approved courses offered by colleges and universities,
televised and extension courses, independent study courses
which have a final exam or paper, workshops, seminars,
conferences and lectures oriented toward the enhancement of
clinical social work practice, values, skills and knowledge,
including self-directed activity and preparation of a first-
time clinical course as described herein.

5.2.1.1 7.2.1.1 Approved Courses shall be
those courses which: increase the clinical social worker
(CSW)’s knowledge about, skill in diagnosing and assessing,
skill in treating, and/or skill in preventing mental and
emotional disorders, developmental disabilities and
substance abuse; AND are instructed or presented by persons
who have received specialized graduate-level training in the
subject, or who have no less than two (2) years of practical
application or research experience pertaining to the subject.

5.2.1.2 7.2.1.2 Mental and Emotional
Disorders, Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse
are those disorders enumerated and described in the most
current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual including, but not
limited to, the V Codes and the Criteria Sets and Axes
provided for further study.   

5.2.1.3 7.2.1.3 Self-Directed Activity shall
include teaching, research, preparation and/or presentation
of professional papers and articles, and other activities
specifically approved by the Board.

5.2.2  7.2.2 Any program submitted for
continuing education hours must have been attended during
the biennial licensing period for which it is submitted.
Excess credits may not be carried over to the next licensing
period.  

5.2.3 7.2.3 An “hour” for purposes of continuing
education credit shall mean 60 minutes of instruction or
participation in an appropriate course or program. Meals and
breaks shall be excluded from credit.

5.2.4 7.2.4 The Board may, upon request, review
and approve credit for self-directed activities, to a maximum
of 15 hours per biennial licensing period.  A licensee must
obtain pre-approval of the Board prior to undertaking the
self-directed activity in order to assure continuing education
credit for the activity.  Any self-directed activity submitted
for approval must include a written proposal outlining the
scope of the activity, the number of continuing education
hours requested, the anticipated completion date(s), the role
of the licensee in the case of multiple participants (e.g.
research) and whether any part of the self-directed activity
has ever been previously approved or submitted for credit by
the same licensee.

5.2.5 7.2.5 The Board may award a maximum of
5 continuing education hours for the first-time preparation
and presentation of a clinical social work course, in-service
training, workshop, or seminar.  A copy of the course
syllabus and verification that the course was presented is
required for Board approval.

5.3 7.3 Continuing Education Content Requirements:
During each biennial licensing period, licensees

shall complete a minimum of thirty (30) hours of continuing
education in Category I courses.  The remaining fifteen (15)
continuing education hours may be taken in Category II
courses.  At least three (3) of the 30 Category I hours shall
consist of courses acceptable to the Board in the area of
ethics for mental health professionals.

Category I:  Courses which have as their primary
focus and content the assessment, diagnosis, and
biopsychosocial (biological, psychological and social)
treatment of mental and emotional disorders, developmental
disabilities, and/or substance abuse; courses which have as
their primary focus and content the ethical practice of social
work.

Category II:  Courses in any of the following areas
which are related to and increase the CSW’s knowledge of
mental and emotional disorders, developmental disabilities,
and/or substance abuse

research methods and findings;
psychology and sociology;
human growth and development;
child and family constructs;
physical illness and health;
social action;
advocacy; 
human creativity;
spirituality
HIV

5.4 7.4 Continuing Education Reporting and
Documentation

5.4.1 7.4.1 Continuing Education Reporting
Periods

Licenses are valid for 2 year periods, renewing
on January 31 of odd numbered years (e.g. January 31, 2001,
2003).  Continuing education reporting periods run from
October 31 to October 31 of the preceding two even-
numbered years (e.g. credits for the January 2001 license
renewal may be obtained between October 31, 1998 and
October 31, 2000).  The Board will allow credits obtained
between October 31 and January 31 to apply to either (but
not both) of the biennial licensing periods, at the licensee’s
discretion.

Beginning with the January 2003 license
renewal, all required continuing education should be
completed within the previous two year October to October
period (e.g. between October 31, 2000 and October 31, 2002
for January 2003 renewal).  The Board shall continue to have
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the discretion, however, to grant extensions of time in which
to complete continuing education in cases of hardship,
pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3912 and Rule 5.1.3 7.1.3. 

5.4.2 7.4.2 In order to assure receipt of
continuing education credits, a licensee must complete and
submit the appropriate continuing education form provided
by the Division of Professional Regulation no later than
October 31st of the biennial licensing period.

5.4.3 7.4.3 In addition to the form, each licensee
must submit the following documentation as to each course
attended: a certificate of attendance or completion signed by
the presenter and attesting to the number of hours the
licensee attended; documentation identifying the date and
location of the course, the total number of CE hours attended
and the agenda, outline or brochure describing the course.
Originals or photocopies will be accepted and retained by the
Board.  The Board reserves its right to request additional
documentation, such as copies of program materials, to
verify CE compliance. Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §§
3906(7), 3912.

See 3 DE Reg 1680 (6/1/00)
See 4 DE Reg 1815 (5/1/01)

6.0 8.0 Inactive Status  (24 Del. C. § 3911(c))
6.1 8.1 A licensee asking to have his/her license placed

on inactive status must notify the Board of his/her intention
to do so, in writing, prior to the expiration of his/her current
license.  Each subsequent request for extensions of inactive
status must be submitted to the Board in writing, before the
end of the immediately prior inactive period.

6.2 8.2 A licensee on inactive status must comply with
Rule 5.0, "Continuing Education," for each period of
inactivity.  A licensee on inactive status seeking to re-enter
practice must notify the Board in writing of his/her intention,
pay the appropriate fee, and provide the Board with
documentation of any continuing education hours required
by Rule 5.0.

6.3 8.3 On written request and a showing of hardship,
the Board may grant additional time for completion of
continuing education requirements to licensees returning to
practice from inactive status. "Hardship" may include, but is
not limited to, disability, illness, extended absence from the
jurisdiction and exceptional family responsibilities.

See 2 DE Reg 775 (11/1/98)
See 3 DE Reg 1680 (6/1/00)

7.0 9.0 Ethics
7.1 9.1 Duties to Client

7.1.1 9.1.1 The LCSW’s primary responsibility is
the welfare of the client. 

7.1.2 9.1.2 In providing services, the LCSW must
not discriminate on the basis of age, sex, race, color,
religion/ spirituality, national origin, [handicap disability],

political affiliation, or sexual orientation.
7.1.3 9.1.3 When a client needs other community

services or resources, the LCSW has the responsibility to
assist the client in securing the appropriate services.

7.1.4 9.1.4 The LCSW should refer a client to
other service providers in the event that the LCSW cannot
provide the service requested.  In the case of a referral, no
commission, rebate or any other remuneration may be given
or received for referral of clients for professional services,
whether by an individual or an organization.

7.1.5 9.15 The LCSW must, in cases where
professional services are requested by a person already
receiving therapeutic assistance from another professional,
clarify with the client and the other professional the scope of
services and division of responsibility which each
professional will provide.

7.1.6 9.1.6 The LCSW must maintain appropriate
boundaries in his/her interactions with a client.  The LCSW
must not engage in sexual activity with a client.  The LCSW
must not treat a family member or close personal friend
where detached judgment or objectivity would be impaired.
Business, social or professional relationships with a client
(outside of the counseling relationship) should be avoided,
where such relationships may influence or impair the
LCSW’s professional judgment.  

7.2 9.2 Confidentiality/privileged Communications
7.2.1 9.2.1 The LCSW must safeguard the

confidentiality of information given by clients in the course
of client services. 

7.2.2 9.2.2 The LCSW must discuss with clients
the nature of and potential limits to confidentiality that may
arise in the course of therapeutic work. 

7.2.3 9.2.3 No LCSW or employee of such
person may disclose any confidential information they may
have acquired from persons consulting  them in their
professional capacity except under the following conditions:

7.2.3.1 9.2.3.1 With the written consent of
the person or persons (the guardian, in the case of a minor)
or, in the case of death or disability, of his/her personal
representative, or person authorized to sue, or the beneficiary
of an insurance policy on his/her life, health or physical
condition, or 

7.2.3.2 9.2.3.2 Where the communication
reveals [the contemplation of a crime or harmful act the
planning of any violent crime or act].

7.2.3.3 9.2.3.3 When the person waives the
privilege by initiating formal charges against the LCSW.

7.2.3.4 9.2.3.4 When otherwise specifically
required by law or judicial order.

7.2.4 9.2.4 The disclosure of confidential
information, as permitted by Rule 7.2.3, is restricted to what
is necessary, relevant, verifiable and based on the recipients’
need to know.  The LCSW should, provided it will not
adversely affect the client’s condition, inform the client
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about the nature and scope of the information being
disclosed, to whom the information will be released and the
purpose for which it is sought.

7.3 9.3 Ethical Practice
7.3.1 9.3.1 The LCSW is responsible for

confining his/her practice to those areas in which he/she is
legally authorized and in which he/she is qualified to
practice.  When necessary the LCSW should utilize the
knowledge and experience of members of other professions.

7.3.2 9.3.2 The LCSW is responsible for
providing a clear description of what the client may expect in
the way of scheduling services, fees and any other charges or
reports

7.3.3 9.3.3 The LCSW, or any employee or
supervisee of the LCSW, must be accurately identified on
any bill as the person providing a particular service, and the
fee charged the client should be at the LCSW’s usual and
customary rate.  Sliding fee scales are permissible.

7.3.4 9.3.4 An LCSW employed by an agency or
clinic, and also engaged in private practice, must conform to
contractual agreements with the employing facility.  He/She
must not solicit or accept a private fee or consideration of
any kind for providing a service to which the client is
entitled through the employing facility.

7.3.5 9.3.5 An LCSW having direct knowledge
of a colleague’s impairment, incompetence or unethical
conduct should take adequate measures to assist the
colleague in taking remedial action. In cases where the
colleague does not address the problem, or in any case in
which the welfare of a client appears to be in danger, the
LCSW should report the impairment, incompetence or
unethical conduct to the Board.

7.3.6 9.3.6 The Board has voted to adopt the
Voluntary Treatment Option, in accordance with 29 Del.C.
§8807(n).

7.3.7 9.3.7 An LCSW should safeguard the
welfare of clients who willingly participate as research
subjects.  The LCSW must secure the informed consent of
any research participant and safeguard the participant’s
interests and rights.

7.3.8 9.3.8 In advertising his or her services, the
LCSW may use any information so long as it describes his/
her credentials and the services provided accurately and
without misrepresentation. 

7.3.9 9.3.9 In the areas of computer and Internet
technology and non-established practice, the LCSW should
inform the client of risks involved.  The LCSW should
exercise careful judgment and should take responsible steps
(such as research, supervision, and training) to ensure the
competence of the work and the protection of the client.  All
precautions should be taken with computer-based
communications to ensure that no confidential information is
disseminated to the wrong individual and identities are
protected with respect to privacy.

7.4 9.4 Clinical Supervision
7.4.1 9.4.1 The LCSW should ensure that

supervisees inform clients of their status as interns, and of
the requirements of supervision (review of records,
audiotaping, videotaping, etc.). The client shall sign a
statement of informed consent attesting that services are
being delivered by a supervisee and that the LCSW is
ultimately responsible for the services. This document shall
include the supervising LCSW’s name and the telephone
number where he/she can be reached.  One copy shall be
filed with the client’s record and another given to the client.
The LCSW must intervene in any situation where the client
seems to be at risk.  

7.4.2 9.4.2 The LCSW should inform the
supervisee about the process of supervision, including goals,
case management procedures, and agency or clinic policies.  

7.4.3 9.4.3 The LCSW must avoid any
relationship with a supervisee that may interfere with the
supervisor’s professional judgment or exploit the supervisee.

7.4.4 9.4.4 The LCSW must refrain from
endorsing an impaired supervisee when such impairment
deems it unlikely that the supervisee can provide adequate
professional services.

7.4.5 9.4.5 The LCSW must refrain from
supervising in areas outside his/her  realm of competence.
Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §§3901, 3906(1)(6)(9), 3913,
3915.

See 3 DE Reg 1680 (6/1/00)

8.0 10.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

8.1 10.1 If the report is received by the chairperson
of the regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately
notify the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her
designate of the report. If the Director of Professional
Regulation receives the report, he/she shall immediately
notify the chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that
chairperson's designate or designates.  

8.2 10.2 The chairperson of the regulatory Board or
that chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7
days of receipt of the report, contact the individual in
question and inform him/her in writing of the report, provide
the individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.  

8.3 10.3 In order for the individual to participate in
the Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit
to a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

8.4 10.4 A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
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alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

8.5 10.5 Failure to cooperate fully with the
participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the
Voluntary Treatment Option or to comply with their requests
for evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

8.6 10.6 The Voluntary Treatment Option may
require a regulated professional to enter into an agreement
which includes, but is not limited to, the following
provisions:  

8.6.1 10.6.1 Entry of the regulated professional
into a treatment program approved by the participating
Board. Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.

8.6.2 10.6.2 Consent to the treating professional of
the approved treatment program to report on the progress of
the regulated professional to the chairperson of the
participating Board or to that chairperson's designate or
designates or to the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate at such intervals as required
by the chairperson of the participating Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates or the Director of the
Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and
such person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

8.6.3 10.6.3 Consent of the regulated professional,
in accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved

treatment program. 
8.6.4 10.6.4 Agreement by the regulated

professional to be personally responsible for all costs and
charges associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and
treatment program(s). In addition, the Division of
Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the
regulated professional to cover administrative costs
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount
of the fee imposed under this subparagraph shall
approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to
defray the expenses of the participating Board, as well as the
proportional expenses incurred by the Division of
Professional Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board
in addition to the administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option.  

8.6.5 10.6.5 Agreement by the regulated
professional that failure to satisfactorily progress in such
treatment program shall be reported to the participating
Board's chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/ her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.  

8.6.6 10.6.6 Compliance by the regulated
professional with any terms or restrictions placed on
professional practice as outlined in the agreement under the
Voluntary Treatment Option.

8.7 10.7 The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.

8.8 10.8 The participating Board's chairperson, his/
her designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.

8.9 10.9 If practice is restricted, the regulated
professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon
completion of the program.

8.10 10.10 Failure to enter into such agreement or to
comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.

8.11 10.11 Any person who reports pursuant to this
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section in good faith and without malice shall be immune
from any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from
such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected
if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

8.12 10.12 Any regulated professional who complies
with all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless
otherwise specified in a participating Board's rules and
regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with
the regulated professional shall include the potential for
disclosure and specify those to whom such information may
be disclosed.

See 3 DE Reg 1680 (6/1/00)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
PESTICIDES SECTION

Statutory Authority:  3 Delaware Code,
 Section 1237 (3 Del.C. §1237)

ORDER

Notice Provided

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10115 and 3 Del.C.
§1237, the State of Delaware, Department of Agriculture,
published notice of proposed changes to the Pesticide Rules
and Regulations (“Rules”) in the Delaware Register of
Regulations (“Register”), March 1, 2004.  The notice
provided a full text of the existing Rules with proposed
changes, and provided a notice of date, time, and location for
a Public Hearing at which the public could present their
views.  In addition to the notice published in the Register,
the Department of Agriculture published notice of the Public
Hearing in the Legal Classified Advertisements of the
Delaware State News (publish date, April 4, 2004) and the
News Journal (publish date, April 11, 2004).  Notice of the
proposed Rule changes were also mailed to the Chair, of the
Governor’s Pesticide Advisory Committee, and
electronically mailed to the following organizations:

Responsible Industry for a Sound Environment (RISE)
Pesticide.Net
National Agricultural Aviation Association (NAAA)
National Pest Management Association (NPMA)
Professional Lawn Care Association of America

(PLCAA)
Golf Course Superintendents of America (GCSA
Association of Landscape Contractors of America
National Arborist Association
Delaware Pest Control Association

A copy of the proposed Rules were also mailed to James

Metzger, Wilmington, DE, in consideration of Mr. Metzger’s
past participation in pesticide rulemaking.

Summary of Evidence Received:

A hand written letter was received from Mr. James
Metzger, dated March 8, 2004, with a request to clarify the
definition of “hazardous waste.”  In addition, Mr. Metzger
provided a recommendation to move the paragraph relating
to certification renewal for Private Applicators, to paragraph
9.4.  Mr. Metzger also offered numerous suggestions to
improve format and wording.

Recommendations relating to the “hazardous waste”
definition were received from Karen JAnthony, Department
of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, Waste
Management Section.  Ms. JAnthony also provided
clarification to wording in paragraphs 16.2.1.8 and
16.2.1.8.2, relating to container rinsing.

A letter from Susan W. King, Ph.D., Chair, Pesticide
Advisory Committee, was received on April 27, 2004.  Dr.
King supported the amendments to the Rules.

The Public Hearing was held on April 28, 2004, at 6
p.m., Delaware Department of Agriculture Building.  No one
from the public attended.

Based upon the evidence received from Mr. Metzger
and Ms. JAnthony, modifications were incorporated into the
proposed Rules, as published in the March 1, 2004, Register.
None of the changes to the proposed Rules were substantive.
The full text of the revised Rules are attached to this Order.

Decision and Order

In accordance with the authority vested in the State of
Delaware, Department of Agriculture, to establish rules and
procedures for the enforcement of the Delaware Pesticide
Law, 3 Del.C. Ch. 12, the attached, amended Pesticide Rules
and Regulations are adopted.  The effective date of these
amendments shall be June 1, 2004.

Michael T. Scuse
Secretary of Agriculture
Delaware Department of Agriculture
4/29/04

801 Pesticide Rules and Regulations

1.0 General
1.1 Scope

1.1.1 These regulations establish general
operating rules and procedures for the enforcement of the
Delaware Pesticide Law, including but not limited to the
certification of users of restricted and general use pesticides.

1.2 Authority
1.2.1 These regulations are issued under the
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authority of Title 3 Part II Chapter 12 of the Annotated Code 
of Delaware.

1.3 Effective Date
1.3.1 These regulations were amended on June 

15, 2000 (new date to be entered), in accordance with Title 
29, Chapter 101, Annotated Code of Delaware

1.4 Filing Date
1.4.1 These regulations were filed in the Office 

of the Secretary of State on June 15, 2000 (new date to be 
entered).

2.0 Declaration of Policy
2.1 3 Del.C. Chapter 12, Section 1237, places the 

enforcement of the Delaware Pesticide Law with the 
Department of Agriculture and empowers the Department to 
establish regulations.

2.2 By virtue of the authority vested in me as Secretary 
of Agriculture by 3 Del.C. Chapter 12, I, John F. Tarburton
Michael T. Scuse, Secretary of Agriculture, do hereby 
promulgate the following rules and regulations governing 
the sale, use and application of pesticides in Delaware.

3.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in these 

regulations, shall have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise.  All terms defined by the 
Delaware Pesticides Law (3 Del.C. Chapter 12) are hereby 
incorporated by reference in this regulation.

“Accident” means an unexpected, undesirable 
event resulting in the presence of a pesticide that adversely 
affects man or the environment.

“Brand” means any word, name, symbol, device, 
or any combination thereof, which serves to distinguish a 
pesticide product manufactured, distributed, sold, or offered 
for sale by one person from that manufactured, distributed, 
sold, or offered for sale by any other person.

“Certification” means the recognition by the 
Department that a person has met the qualification standards 
established under Section 8 or Section 9 of these regulations 
and has been issued a written certificate from the 
Department authorizing them to use pesticides for the 
specified type(s) of pest control.

“Competent” means properly qualified to perform 
functions associated with pesticide application, the degree of 
capability required being directly related to the nature of the 
activity and associated responsibility.

“Fumigant” means a gaseous or readily 
volatilizable chemical (such as hydrogen cyanide or methyl 
bromide) used as a pesticide.

“Fumigation” means the application of a fumigant 
to one or more rooms in a structure, or to the entire structure, 
or to a localized space within a structure or outside a 
structure, such as a box car, aircraft, truck, ship or any object 
sealed or covered.  Excluded is the use of a fumigant in or on 

the soil.
“Grade” means a formulation of a pesticide, except 

that the addition of pigments solely for coloration shall not 
constitute a change in formulation such as to constitute a 
new grade requiring registration.

“Handle pesticides” means to mix, load, apply, or 
dispose of pesticides.

“Hazardous waste” [means a solid waste, or 
combination of solid wastes, which because of its 
quantity, concentration, physical, chemical, or infectious 
characteristics may cause or significantly contribute to 
an increase in mortality or an increase in serious 
irreversible, or incapacitating, irreversible illness or 
poses a substantial present or potential hazard to human 
health or the environment when improperly treated, 
stored, transported or disposed of, or otherwise 
managed. Without limitation, included within this 
definition are those hazardous wastes listed in Section 
261.31, 261.32 and 261.33 of the State of Delaware 
Hazardous Waste Regulations and those solid wastes 
which otherwise exhibit the characteristics of a 
hazardous waste as defined in Part 261 of the State of 
Delaware Hazardous Waste Regulations. has the same 
meaning as found in  7 Del.C. Ch. 63.]

“Law” means the Delaware Pesticide Law, 3
Del.C. Chapter 12.

“Regulated pest” means a specific organism 
considered by the state or by a Federal Agency to be a pest 
requiring regulatory restrictions, regulations or control 
procedures in order to protect man or the environment.

“Service vehicle” means any vehicle used by a 
licensee to transport pesticides for the purpose of their 
application.

4.0 Registration
4.1 Product Registration

4.1.1 Every pesticide which is distributed within 
the State or delivered for transportation or transported in 
intrastate commerce or between points within this State 
through any point outside this State shall be registered with 
the Secretary subject to the provisions of this law. 
Registration is not required if a pesticide is shipped from one 
plant or warehouse to another plant or warehouse operated 
by the same person and used solely at such plant or 
warehouse as a constituent part of a pesticide which is 
registered under the provision of an experimental use permit 
issued by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

4.1.2 An applicant for registration for a 
pesticide which is federally registered shall file a statement 
with the Secretary which shall include:

4.1.2.1 The name and address of the applicant 
and the name and address of the person whose name will 
appear on the label, if other than the applicant's.

4.1.2.2 The name of the pesticide.
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4.1.2.3 Other necessary information required 
for completion of the Department’s application for 
registration form.

4.1.2.4 A complete copy of the labeling 
accompanying the pesticide and a statement of all claims to 
be made for it, including the directions for use.

4.1.2.5  The use classification as provided in 
the "Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act", as 
amended.

4.1.2.6  The EPA product registration 
number.

4.1.3 The applicant desiring to register a 
pesticide shall pay a biennial registration fee of seventy 
dollars ($70.00) to the Delaware Department of Agriculture 
for each brand or grade of pesticide to be registered for such
the applicant.  All registrations shall continue in effect until 
June 30 of the year in which they expire.  Applications 
received between January 1 and June 30 shall be registered 
for the upcoming two year period.  Applications received 
between July 1 and December 31 will be registered for a two 
year period beginning July 1 of the year in which the 
application was received.

4.1.4 Any registration approved by the 
Secretary and in effect on June 30, for which a renewal 
application has been made and the proper fee paid, shall 
continue in full force and effect until suspended, or 
otherwise denied in accordance with the provisions of 
Section 1205 of the LAW. Forms for registration shall be 
mailed to registrants at least forty-five days prior to the due 
date.

4.1.5 If it appears to the Secretary that the 
composition of the pesticide is such as to warrant the 
proposed claims for it and if the pesticide and its labeling 
and other material required to be submitted comply with the 
requirements of these regulations, he shall register the 
pesticide.

4.1.6 Pesticide products that are discontinued by 
a registrant shall be registered for a period of two years. 
Said two year limit covers the year in which the item is 
declared to be discontinued by the registrant and an 
additional year to permit time to dispose of shelf stock. 
Should the registrant provide the Department with written 
notification that shelf stocks of the product are depleted, the 
products shall be exempt from the two year continued 
registration period.

4.2 Employee Registration
4.2.1 Every lLicensees shall register with the 

Department all employees who handle pesticides. 
Registration shall be made when making an application for a 
license or within 30 days after employment.  The fee for 
registering each an employee shall be $25.00.  However, the 
employee registration fee shall be waived for any employee 
registration if that the employee is certified under the LAW. 

4.2.2 Each lLicensees shall be responsible for 

insuring that all employees handling pesticides (other than a 
certified applicator) have successfully completed a training 
program approved by the Department.  Such This training 
shall be completed within 30 days of employment and before 
the employees is are registered with the Department.

4.2.2.1 The Department will not approve any 
training program that does not include the following 
subjects:

4.2.2.1.1  Pesticide Law and Regulations;
4.2.2.1.2  Label comprehension;
4.2.2.1.3Safety and emergency 

procedures;
4.2.2.1.4Proper pesticide handling, 

storage and disposal;
4.2.2.1.5Pest identification and control 

procedures;
4.2.2.1.6  Pesticide application techniques;
4.2.2.1.7Environmental and health 

concerns; and
4.2.2.1.8Integrated pest management 

principles
4.2.2.2 Upon request by the Department, each 

licensee shall provide written verification that an employee 
has completed an approved training program.

4.2.3 The name and address of each such 
employee shall be provided to the Department by the 
licensee.  The Department shall issue a registration card to 
those registered.  This registration card shall bear the name 
and license number of the employee and shall become null 
and void upon termination of employment with the licensee. 
The name and address of employees who have been trained 
according to this Section shall be provided to the Department 
by the licensee.  The Department shall issue a registration 
card bearing the employee’s name and the licensee’s name, 
address and license number.  The employee registration shall 
become null and void upon termination of employment with 
the licensee. This card is to be carried by the employee 
during working hours and is to be displayed upon request.

4.2.4 Written notification of employment 
termination of this registered employee with the licensee 
shall be made to the Department within 30 days subsequent 
to termination. The licensee shall provide the Department 
written notification of a registered employee’s employment 
termination within 30 days of the effective date of 
termination.

4.2.5 The Department, after due notice, and 
opportunity for a hearing may deny, suspend or revoke an 
employee registration, if the Department finds the registered 
employee has committed any violations of the LAW.

4.2.6 The Department, after due notice and 
opportunity for a hearing, may deny an application for 
employee registration, if the applicant has committed any 
violations under the Law.
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5.0 Licensing
5.1 Applicants for a business license shall complete a 

signed and notarized application form prescribed by the 
Department.  

5.2 All business license applicants shall pay an annual 
fee of $50.00, or a biennial fee of $100.00. 

5.3 No license shall be issued to any person, nor shall it 
remain valid, unless such person is certified or has a certified 
applicator in his employ at all times.

5.4 For applicants or holders of a license in categories 
7.1.1, 7.2, or 7.7.1.1 - 7.7.1.3, at least one person designated 
as a certified applicator  under the license shall meet the 
experience requirement of §1207(c)(1) of the LAW.

5.5 All pest control business license numbers shall 
appear on all service vehicles used by persons holding a 
commercial pesticide applicators license with the exception 
of categories: 7.1.1 Agriculture Plant Pest Control; 7.1.2 
Agriculture Animal Pest Control; 7.2 Forest Pest Control; 
7.4 Seed Treatment; 7.5 Aquatic Pest Control; 7.8 Public 
Health Pest Control; 7.9 Regulatory Pest Control; 7.10 
Demonstration and Research Pest Control.  The license 
number shall be in bold readable numbers not less than 2 
inches or more than 6 inches high.  The full name of the 
business licensee shall be displayed on the vehicle.

6.0 Restricted Use Pesticides Classification 
Restricted use pesticides shall be classified in the State 

of Delaware to conform to the current listing of pesticides 
classified by the EPA as Federally registered use products
Restricted Use Pesticides.

7.0 Categorization of Commercial Applicators
Categories and subcategories of applicators (other than 

private applicators) who use or supervise the use of 
pesticides are identified below.

7.1 Agricultural Pest Control Category
7.1.1 Agricultural Plant [(1A)] - This 

subcategory includes commercial applicators using or 
supervising the use of pesticides in the production of 
agricultural crops, including without limiting the following: 
feed grains, soybeans, forage, vegetables, small fruits and 
tree fruits; as well as on grasslands and non-crop agricultural 
lands.

7.1.2 Agricultural Animal [(1B)]- This 
subcategory includes commercial applicators using or 
supervising the use of pesticides on swine, sheep, horses, 
goats, poultry and livestock, and to places on or in which 
animals are confined.  Doctors of Veterinary Medicine 
engaged in the business of applying pesticides for hire, or 
publicly holding themselves out as pesticide applicators or 
engaged in large scale use are included in this category.

7.1.3 Fumigation of Soil and Agricultural 
Products [(1C)]- This subcategory includes commercial 
applicators using or supervising the use of pesticides for soil 

fumigation in the production of an agricultural commodity 
and/or for fumigation of agricultural products in storage or 
transit.

7.2 Forest Pest Control Category [(02)]
7.2.1 This category includes commercial 

applicators using or supervising the use of pesticides in 
forests, forest nurseries, and forest seed producing areas.

7.3 Ornamental and Turf Pest Control Category [(03)]
7.3.1 This category includes commercial 

applicators using or supervising the use of pesticides to 
control pests in the maintenance and production of 
ornamental trees, shrubs, flowers and turf.

7.4 Seed Treatment Category [(04)]
7.4.1 This category includes commercial 

applicators using or supervising use of pesticides on seeds.
7.5 Aquatic Pest Control Category

7.5.1 Aquatic Weed  [(5A)]- This subcategory 
includes commercial applicators using or supervising the use 
of any pesticide purposefully applied to standing or running 
water, excluding applicators engaged in public health related 
activities.

7.5.2 Antifouling Paint [(5B)] - This 
subcategory includes commercial applicators using or 
supervising the use of any anti-fouling paints for the 
protection of boat hulls.  This subcategory also includes 
applicators using or supervising the use of anti-fouling paints 
on containers [which that] they sell, lease, or use for the 
purpose of harvesting shellfish.

7.5.3 Mosquito Control [(5C)]- This 
subcategory includes applicators using or supervising the use 
of pesticides for the management and control of mosquitoes.

7.6 Right-of-way Pest Control Category [(06)]
7.6.1 This category includes commercial 

applicators using or supervising the use of pesticides in the 
maintenance of  roads, electric power lines, pipelines, 
railway rights-of-way or similar areas.

7.7 Industrial, Institutional, Structural and Health 
Related Pest Control Category

7.7.1 This category includes commercial 
applicators using or supervising the use of pesticides in, on, 
or around food handling establishments, including 
warehouses and grain elevators, and any other structures and 
adjacent areas, public or private; human dwellings, 
institutions, such as schools and hospitals, industrial 
establishments; and for the protection of stored, processed or 
manufactured products.  This category contains the 
following subcategories:

7.7.1.1 General Pest Control [(7A)].  This 
subcategory includes commercial applicators who use or 
supervise the use of pesticides to control household pests, 
including pests that infest structures, stored products, and 
residential food preparation areas, and pests that infest or 
contaminate food and any stage of processing in food 
processing facilities.  This includes treatment of food 
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processing areas and control of vertebrate structural 
invaders.  This category does not include control of wood-
destroying pests, or the use of fumigants.

7.7.1.2 Wood Destroying Pest Control [(7B)]. 
This subcategory includes commercial applicators using or 
supervising the use of pesticides, other than fumigants, in or 
around structures for the prevention, suppression, or control 
of wood destroying organisms.

7.7.1.3 Fumigation Pest Control (non-
agricultural) [(7C)].  This subcategory includes commercial 
applicators using or supervising the use of fumigant 
pesticides to control pests in structures other than soils and 
agricultural products/commodities.

7.7.1.4 Wood Preservatives [(7D)]. This 
subcategory includes commercial applicators using or 
supervising the use of pesticides for the preservation of 
wood or wood products. This would include, but not be 
limited to, the pressure treatments, non-pressure treatments, 
or brush-on applications with wood preservatives. 
Commercial applicators certified in another category of pest 
control and who use or supervise the use of wood 
preservatives on an incidental basis may apply these 
products under their current certification.  Private applicators 
using wood preservative products for purposes related to 
agricultural production may also apply wood preservatives 
under their current certification.

7.7.1.5 Institutional and Maintenance Pest 
Control [(7E)].  Except as otherwise provided in these 
regulations, this subcategory includes any individual using 
pesticides on a property they own, or are employed or 
otherwise engaged to maintain, including but not limited to 
janitors, general maintenance personnel, sanitation 
personnel, and grounds maintenance personnel.  This 
subcategory does not include private applicators as defined 
in Section 9 below, individuals who use anti-microbial 
pesticides, or individuals who use pesticides which are not 
classified as “restricted use pesticides” in or around their 
dwelling.

7.7.1.6 Cooling Tower Pest Control [(7F)]. 
This subcategory includes commercial applicators using or 
supervising the use of pesticides to control microbial and 
other pests in cooling towers or related areas.

7.7.1.7 Miscellaneous Pest Control [7G)]. 
This subcategory includes commercial applicators using or 
supervising the use of pesticides in a category not previously 
covered in these regulations.

7.8 Public Health Pest Control Category [(08)].  This 
category includes, but is not limited to, State, Federal and 
other governmental employees who use or supervise the use 
of pesticides in public health programs for the management 
and control of pests having medical or public health 
importance.

7.9 Regulatory Pest Control Category [(09)].  This 
category includes State, Federal and other governmental 

employees who use or supervise the use of restricted use 
pesticides in the control of regulated pests.

7.10 Demonstration and Research Pest Control 
Category [(10)]

7.10.1 This category includes:
7.10.1.1 Individuals who demonstrate to the 

public the proper use and technique of application of a 
restricted use pesticide or supervises such demonstrations, 
and/or

7.10.1.2 Persons conducting field research with 
pesticides, and in doing so, use or supervise the use of 
restricted use pesticides.  Included in the first group are such
persons such as extension specialists and county agents, 
commercial representatives demonstrating pesticide 
products, and those individuals demonstrating methods used 
in public programs. The second group includes State, 
Federal, commercial and other persons conducting field 
research when utilizing pesticides.

8.0 Standards for Certification of Commercial 
Applicators

8.1 Determination of Competency.  
8.1.1 Competence in the use and handling of 

pesticides shall be determined on the basis of written 
examinations, and, as appropriate, performance testing, 
based upon standards set forth below and which are 
approved by the Secretary. Such eExamination and testing 
shall include the general standards applicable to all 
categories and the additional standards specifically identified 
for each category or subcategory (if any) in which an 
applicator is to be certified.  All examinations shall be 
administered as closed book examinations.

8.1.2 Applicants for examination shall register 
at least one (1) week before the scheduled examination date.

8.1.3 Exams shall be scheduled quarterly during 
the calendar year and shall be given at such times and places 
as the Secretary may direct.

8.1.4 Correctly answering 70% or more of the 
questions shall be considered to be satisfactory evidence of 
competence.

8.1.5 Failure to answer at least 70% of the 
questions correctly shall be grounds for denial of 
certification.  Applicants may apply for one (1) 
reexamination scheduled at least thirty (30) days after their 
initial examination. No person shall be permitted to be 
examined in the same category or subcategory more than 
twice in any twelve (12) month period.

8.2 General Standards for All Categories of Certified 
Commercial Applicators.

8.2.1 All commercial applicators shall 
demonstrate practical knowledge of the principles and 
practices of pest control and safe use of pesticides.  Testing 
shall be based on examples of problems and situations 
appropriate to the particular category or subcategory of the 
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applicator's certification and the following areas of 
competency:

8.2.1.1  Label & Labeling Comprehension
8.2.1.1.1 The general format and 

terminology of pesticide labels and labeling;
8.2.1.1.2 The understanding of 

instructions, warnings, terms, symbols, and other 
information commonly appearing on pesticide labels;

8..2.1.1.3 Classification of the product, 
general or restricted; and the necessity for use consistent 
with the label.

8.2.1.2 Safety
8.2.1.2.1 Pesticides toxicity and hazard to 

man and common exposure routes; 
8.2.1.2.2 Common types and causes of 

pesticides accidents;
8.2.1.2.3 Precautions necessary to 

guard against injury to applicators and other individuals in or 
near treated area; 

8.2.1.2.4 Need for and use of 
protective clothing and equipment; 

8.2.1.2.5 Symptoms of pesticide 
poisoning;

8.2.1.2.6 First aid and other procedures to 
be followed in case of a pesticide accident; and 

8.2.1.2.7 Proper identification, storage, 
transport, handling, mixing procedures and disposal methods 
for pesticides and used pesticide containers, including 
precautions to be taken to prevent children from having 
access to pesticides and pesticide containers.

8.2.1.3 Environment
8.2.1.3.1 The potential environmental 

consequences of the use and misuse of pesticides as may be 
influenced by such factors such as:

8.2.1.3.1.1 Weather and other climatic 
conditions;

8.2.1.3.1.2 Types of terrain, soil or 
other substrate;

8.2.1.3.1.3 Presence of fish, wildlife 
and other non-target organisms; and     

8.2.1.3.1.4 Drainage patterns.
8.2.1.4 Pests

8.2.1.4.1  Factors such as:
8.2.1.4.1.1 Common features of pest 

organism and characteristics of damage needed for pest 
recognition; 

8.2.1.4.1.2 Recognition of relevant 
pests; and

8.2.1.4.1.3 Pest development and 
biology as it may be relevant to problem identification and 
control.

8.2.1.5 Pesticides
8.2.1.5.1  Factors such as:

8.2.1.5.1.1  Types of pesticides;

8.2.1.5.1.2  Types of formulations;
8.2.1.5.1.3 Compatibility, synergism, 

persistence and animal and plant toxicity of the 
formulations;

8.2.1.5.1.4 Hazards and residues 
associated with use;

8.2.1.5.1.5 Factors which influence 
effectiveness or lead to such problems such as resistance to 
pesticides; and,

8.2.1.5.1.6  Dilution procedures.
8.2.1.6 Equipment

8.2.1.6.1  Factors including:
8.2.1.6.1.1 Types of equipment and 

advantages and limitations of each type; and 
8.2.1.6.1.2 Uses, maintenance and 

calibration.
8.2.1.7 Application Techniques

8.2.1.7.1  Factors including:
8.2.1.7.1.1 Methods or procedures 

used to apply various formulations of pesticides, solutions, 
and gases, together with a knowledge of which technique of 
application to use in a given situation; 

8.2.1.7.1.2 Relationship of discharge 
and placement of pesticides to proper use, unnecessary use, 
and misuse; and 

8.2.1.7.1.3 Prevention of drift and 
pesticide loss into the environment.

8.2.1.8 Laws and Regulations
8.2.1.8.1  Factors including:

8.2.1.8.1.1 Applicable State and 
Federal laws and regulations.

8.3 Specific Standards for Competency for Each 
Category of Commercial Applicators

Some of the factors referenced in this section are of 
particular importance because of the different types of 
activities carried out by the applicators in each category.  For 
example, practical knowledge of drift problems should be 
required of agricultural applicators but not seed treatment 
applicators.  The latter, however, should be particularly 
knowledgeable of the hazards of the misuse of treated seed 
and the necessary precautionary techniques.  Commercial 
applicators in each category shall be particularly qualified 
with respect to the practical knowledge standards elaborated 
below.

8.3.1 Agricultural Pest Control Category
8.3.1.1 Agricultural Plant Pest Control 

Subcategory
8.3.1.1.1 Applicators must demonstrate 

practical knowledge of crops grown and the specific pests of 
those crops on which they may be using restricted use 
pesticides.  The importance of such competency is amplified 
by the extensive areas involved, the quantities of pesticides 
needed, and the ultimate use of many commodities as food 
and feed. Practical knowledge is required concerning soil 
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and water problems, pre-harvest intervals, re-entry intervals, 
phytotoxicity, and potential for environmental 
contamination, non-target injury and community problems 
resulting from the use of restricted use pesticides in 
agricultural areas.

8.3.1.2 Agricultural Animal Pest Control 
Subcategory

8.3.1.2.1 Applicators applying pesticides 
directly to animals must demonstrate practical knowledge of 
such animals and their associated pests.  A practical 
knowledge is also required concerning specific pesticide 
toxicity and residue potential, since host animals will 
frequently be used for food.  Further, the applicator must 
know the relative hazards associated with such factors as 
formulation, application techniques, age of animals, stress 
and extent of treatment.

8.3.1.3 Fumigation of Soil and Agricultural 
Products Subcategory

8.3.1.3.1 Applicators must demonstrate 
knowledge of application techniques appropriate to soil 
fumigation and agricultural product fumigation.  This 
includes the use of personal protective clothing and 
equipment, and general safety procedures such as posting, 
reentry, aeration, and accident procedures.

8.3.2 Forest Pest Control Category
8.3.2.1 Applicators shall demonstrate practical 

knowledge of types of forests, forest nurseries, and forest 
seed production in Delaware and the pests involved.  They 
should possess practical knowledge of the cyclic occurrence 
of certain pests and specific population dynamics as a basis 
for programming pesticide applications.  A practical 
knowledge is required of the relative biotic agents and their 
vulnerability to the pesticides to be applied.  Because forest 
stands may be large and frequently  include natural aquatic 
habitats and harbor wildlife, the consequences of pesticide 
use may be difficult to assess.  The applicator must, 
therefore, demonstrate practical knowledge of control 
methods which will minimize the possibility of secondary 
problems such as unintended effects on wildlife.  Proper use 
of specialized equipment must be demonstrated, especially 
as it may relate to meteorological factors and adjacent land 
use.

8.3.3 Ornamental and Turf Pest Control 
Category

8.3.3.1 Applicators shall demonstrate 
knowledge of pesticide problems associated with the 
production and maintenance of ornamental trees, shrubs, 
plantings, and turf, including cognizance of phytotoxicity 
due to a wide variety of plant material, drift, and persistence 
beyond the intended period of pest  control.  Because of the 
frequent proximity of human habitations to application 
activities, applicators in this category must demonstrate 
practical knowledge of application methods which will 
minimize or prevent hazards to humans, pets, and other 

domestic animals.
8.3.4 Seed Treatment Category

8.3.4.1 Applicators shall demonstrate practical 
knowledge of types of seeds that require chemical protection 
against pests and factors such as seed coloration, carriers, 
and surface-active agents which influence pesticide binding 
and may affect germination.  They must demonstrate 
practical knowledge of hazards associated with handling, 
sorting and mixing, and misuse of treated seed such as 
introduction of treated seed into food and feed channels, as 
well as proper disposal of unused treated seeds.

8.3.5 Aquatic Pest Control Category
8.3.5.1 Aquatic Weed. Applicators shall 

demonstrate practical knowledge of the secondary effects 
which can be caused by improper application rates, incorrect 
formulations, and faulty application of pesticides used in this 
subcategory.  Further, they must have practical knowledge 
concerning potential pesticide effects on plants, fish, birds, 
beneficial insects and other organisms which may be present 
in aquatic environments.  These applicators shall also 
demonstrate practical knowledge of the principles of limited 
area application.

8.3.5.2 Antifouling Paint. Applicators in this 
subcategory shall demonstrate practical knowledge of the 
labeling instructions, safety precautions and environmental 
concerns associated with the use of marine anti-fouling 
paints.  They shall demonstrate practical knowledge of the 
term “acceptable release rate” as it applies to organotin 
paints; knowledge of the types of paints approved for 
specific hull types; knowledge of the types of anti-fouling 
paints approved for use on equipment or containers used for 
the harvesting of shellfish; knowledge of potential 
environmental consequences from the use/misuse or 
improper disposal of pesticides; safety precautions necessary 
to avoid exposure of workers to anti-fouling paints; proper 
storage, handling, and disposal methods of paint chips and 
dusts suspected of containing organotin compounds; marine 
pests and relevant life cycles which are controlled through 
the application of anti-fouling paints; methods, procedures, 
and equipment used in applying organotin and anti-fouling 
paints; applicable State and Federal laws and regulations; 
and recordkeeping requirements under the Delaware 
Pesticide Law.

8.3.5.3 Mosquito Control. Applicators shall 
demonstrate a practical knowledge of the principles 
associated with the management of mosquitoes, including all 
of the following: their life cycle; types of formulations 
appropriate for their management; methods of application; 
possible effects on water quality; and, the potential health 
effects on humans in the target area.

8.3.6 Right-of-way Pest Control Category
8.3.6.1 Applicators shall demonstrate a 

practical knowledge of a wide variety of environments, since 
right-of-ways can traverse many different terrains, including 
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waterways.  They shall demonstrate practical knowledge of 
problems on runoff, drift, and excessive foliage destruction 
and ability to recognize target organisms.  They shall also 
demonstrate practical knowledge of the nature of herbicides 
and the need for containment of these pesticides within the 
right-of-way area, and the impact of their application 
activities in the adjacent areas and communities.

8.3.7 Industrial, Institutional, Structural and 
Health Related Pest Control Category

8.3.7.1 Applicators in this category must 
demonstrate a practical knowledge of a wide variety of pests 
including their life cycles, types of formulation appropriate 
for their control, and methods of  application that avoid 
contamination of food, contamination of habitat, and  the 
exposure of people and pets.  Since human exposure, 
including babies, children, pregnant women, and elderly 
people, is frequently a potential problem, applicators must 
demonstrate practical knowledge of the specific factors 
[which that] may lead to a hazardous condition including 
continuous exposure. Because health related pest control 
may involve outdoor applications, applicators must also 
demonstrate practical knowledge of environmental 
conditions particularly related to this activity.

8.3.7.1.1 General Pest Control 
Subcategory

8.3.7.1.1.1 Applicators must 
demonstrate knowledge of household pests including but not 
limited to:  pests that invade or infest structures, stored 
products, and residential food preparation areas;  pests that 
infest or contaminate foods and foodstuffs at any stage of 
processing in the food manufacturing and processing areas 
of operation including but not limited to: flour mills, 
bakeries, bottling plants, dairies, canneries, meat packing 
plants, supermarkets, convenience stores, rest homes, 
hospitals, ships, vehicles, restaurants, cafeterias, and snack 
bars; conditions conducive to infestations and selection of 
appropriate control procedures, other than fumigation for 
each situation; and hazards associated with pesticides in food 
manufacturing and processing.

8.3.7.1.2 Wood Destroying Pest Control 
Subcategory

8.3.7.1.2.1 Applicators must 
demonstrate knowledge of organisms that destroy structures 
made of wood including but not limited to beetles, termites 
and fungi, and conditions conducive to infestation; selection, 
calibration, and use of appropriate control procedures and 
their related equipment including:  rodding and trenching, 
topical application of pesticides and local injection of 
specially labeled liquid or pressurized aerosol pesticides into 
infested wood; hazards involved in the handling and use of 
these pesticides.

8.3.7.1.3 Fumigation (Non-agricultural) 
Subcategory

8.3.7.1.3.1 Applicators must 

demonstrate a practical knowledge of the conditions 
requiring the application of fumigants, and the selection of 
the most appropriate fumigation methods to use; equipment 
used in fumigation including but not limited to application, 
monitoring, testing, calculating, and personal protective 
devices; release, distribution, and maintenance of the correct 
fumigant concentrations for the product being used and the 
structure being fumigated under differing conditions; and 
hazards involved in the use of fumigants.

8.3.7.1.4  Wood Preservative Subcategory
8.3.7.1.4.1 Applicators must 

demonstrate a practical knowledge of the pests involved with 
wood products, including their life cycles, wood 
degradation, the pesticides available for controlling such 
problems, and methods of application including pressure, 
non-pressure and brush-on treatments.  Since there is 
concern regarding the potential for environmental 
contamination as well as acute and chronic health problems 
from applicator exposure when using certain woodtreating 
pesticides, specific emphasis will be placed upon 
demonstrating a practical knowledge of the product use, 
precautions    which are required and found on the labels and 
labeling of these pesticides and include protective clothing 
and equipment, sanitation procedures, disposal procedures 
and environmental precautions.  Since treated wood products 
present potential environmental problems and acute and 
chronic exposure problems to the users and the general 
public, whether or not they come into direct contact with the 
treated wood, applicators must demonstrate a practical 
knowledge of the consumer information covering use, site, 
and handling precautions which are found in the Consumer 
Information Sheets of products registered for pressure 
treatment and in the labeling for products registered for sap 
and stain control, ground line treatment of utility poles, and 
home and farm use (including railroad tie repair).

8.3.7.1.5 Institutional and Maintenance 
Subcategory

8.3.7.1.5.1 Applicators in this 
subcategory must demonstrate a practical knowledge of a 
wide variety of pests for the purpose of providing structural 
pest control or lawn pest control in and around schools, 
hospitals, nursing homes, child day-care centers, and 
apartment buildings.  Since children and elderly people have 
a potentially higher sensitivity to pesticides, applicators in 
this subcategory should be particularly knowledgeable in 
avoiding applications which may lead to a hazardous 
condition, including continuous exposure.

8.3.7.1.6  Cooling Tower Subcategory
8.3.7.1.6.1 Applicators shall 

demonstrate a practical knowledge of the labeling 
instructions, safety precautions and environmental concerns 
associated with the use of pesticides to treat the waters of 
cooling towers.  They must demonstrate an understanding of 
the following: the effects of tower operation upon cooling 
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water composition; the importance and potential harm of 
discharge of exhaust water into environment waters, the 
steps that can be taken to minimize water-caused problems, 
the importance of diligence and control in the execution of 
cooling water treatment programs.

8.3.7.1.7  Miscellaneous Subcategory
8.3.7.1.7.1 Applicator must demonstrate 

knowledge appropriate to their specific field of pest control.
8.3.8 Public Health Pest Control Category

8.3.8.1 Applicators shall demonstrate practical 
knowledge of vector-disease transmission as it relates to and 
influences application programs.  A wide variety of pests are 
involved, and it is essential that they be known and 
recognized, and appropriate life cycles and habitats be 
understood as a basis for control strategy.  These applicators 
shall have practical knowledge of a great variety of 
environments ranging from streams to those conditions 
found in buildings. They should also have practical 
knowledge of the importance and employment of such non-
chemical control methods such as sanitation, waste disposal, 
and drainage.

8.3.9 Regulatory Pest Control Category
8.3.9.1 Applicators shall demonstrate practical 

knowledge of regulated pests, applicable laws relating to 
quarantine and other regulation of pests, and the potential 
impact on the environment of restricted use of pesticides 
used in suppression and eradication programs.  

8.3.9.2 They shall demonstrate knowledge of 
factors influencing introduction, spread, and population 
dynamics of relevant pests.  Their knowledge shall extend 
beyond that required by their immediate duties, since their 
services are frequently required in other areas where 
emergency measures are invoked to control regulated pests 
and where individual judgments must be made in new 
situations.

8.3.10 Demonstration and Research Pest Control 
Category

8.3.10.1 Persons demonstrating the safe and 
effective use of pesticides to other applicators and the public 
will be expected to meet comprehensive standards reflecting 
a broad spectrum of pesticides uses.  Many different pest 
problem situations will be encountered in the course of 
activities associated with demonstration, and practical 
knowledge of problems, pests, and population levels 
occurring in each  demonstration situation is required. 
Further, they should demonstrate an understanding of 
pesticide -  organism interactions and the importance of 
integrating pesticide use with other control methods.  In 
general, it would be expected that applicators doing 
demonstration pest control work possess a practical 
knowledge of all of the standards detailed in section 8.02 
above.  In addition, they shall meet the specific standards 
required for categories (1) through (7) of this section as may 
be applicable to their particular activity.

8.3.10.2 Persons conducting field research or 
method improvement work with restricted use pesticides 
should  be expected to know the general standards detailed in 
8.2 above. In addition, they shall be expected  to know the 
specific standards required for paragraph 8.3.1.1 through 
8.3.1.9 of this section, applicable to their particular activity, 
or alternatively, to meet the more inclusive requirements 
listed under “Demonstration".

8.4 [Commercial Applicator] Certification Fees [,
and] Renewal [, and Expiration]

8.4.1 Certification Fees
8.4.1.1 Commercial applicators shall pay an 

annual certification fee of $20.00.  All certifications shall 
continue in full force until December 31st of each year 
whereupon they shall become invalid unless renewed, except 
that a certification for which a renewal application has been 
submitted to the Department by November 30th, shall 
remain in full force and effect until such time as the 
Department gives notice to the applicant of renewal or 
denial.  Applications for renewal shall be mailed to all 
certified applicators by the Department before October 1st of 
each year.

8.4.1.2 Federal, State or Local government 
employees who are certified under this law are exempt from 
this fee.  This exemption shall remain valid only when 
applying or supervising the application of pesticides for such 
governmental agencies.

8.4.2 Certification Renewal
8.4.2.1  [Commercial Applicators]

[8.4.2.1.1] Commercial applicators shall 
be required to be reexamined through a written test prior to 
their annual certification renewal.

8.4.2.[1.]2 The reexamination requirement 
may be satisfied without taking a test, if the commercial 
applicator provides the Department with evidence that he has 
completed a specified minimum number of hours attending 
approved education courses, seminars or programs during 
the three calendar years preceding certification renewal.  The 
specified number of hours for each category are listed in 
paragraph 8.4.2.[1.]4 below.  This exemption from 
reexamination does not apply to a person holding a lapsed 
certificate, as described in paragraph 8.4.[2.]3 below.

8.4.2.[1.]3 A commercial applicator shall 
be exempt from the reexamination requirement for the first 
two certification renewals following his original certification 
in Delaware.

8.4.2.[1.]4 The number of hours of 
training required to fulfill paragraph 8.4.2.[1.]2 are specified 
as follows:

Category of Pest Control Hours
Agricultural Plant (1A) 8
Agricultural Animal (1B) 4
Fumigation of Soils and
Agricultural Commodities (1C) 4
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Forest (02) 4
Ornamental & Turf (03) 8
Seed Treatment (04) 2
Aquatic (5A) 4
Antifouling Paint (5B) 2
Mosquito (5C)    4
Right-of-Way (06)    4
Industrial, Institutional, Structural
  & Health Related (07)
General Pest Control (7A) 18
Wood Destroying Pest Control (7B) 18
Fumigation Pest Control
(non-agricultural) (7C)   4
Wood Preservatives (7D) 4
Institutional and Maintenance (7E) 18
Cooling Towers (7F)    4
Miscellaneous (7G)    4
Public Health (08)    4
Regulatory (09)    4
Demonstration & Research (10) 8

[8.4.2.2  Private Applicators
8.4.2.2.1 A private applicator's 

certification shall continue in full force until December 
31st of the third year following his original certification.

8.4.2.2.2 A private applicator shall be 
required to be reexamined prior to certification renewal.

8.4.2.2.3 The reexamination 
requirement may be satisfied without taking a test, if the 
applicator provides the Department with evidence that 
he has attended a minimum of three (3) hours of 
approved education courses, seminars or programs 
during the three (3) calendar years preceding 
certification renewal.]

8.4.[2.]3 Expiration
8.4.[2.]3.1 A certificate shall have a ninety (90) 

day grace period after the date of expiration.  When the grace 
period expires, the certificate shall be considered to have 
lapsed.

8.4.[2.]3.2 A person holding a lapsed 
certificate must be examined as described by paragraph 8.1, 
in order to receive a new certificate.

8.4.[2.]3.3 An applicator [is not imparted the 
right to  may not] purchase, use or supervise the use of a 
restricted use pesticide during the ninety (90) day grace 
period following the expiration date on his certificate.]

8.5 Exemptions
8.5.1 The above standards do not apply to the 

following persons for the purposes of these regulations:
8.5.1.1 Persons conducting laboratory type 

research involving restricted use pesticides; and
8.5.1.2 Doctors of Medicine, Doctors of 

Osteopathy, and Doctors of Veterinary Medicine applying 

pesticides as drugs or medication during the course of their 
normal practice.

8.5.1.3 Owners and employees of any child 
day-care center which is operated within a private home.

9.0 Standards for Certification of Private Applicators
9.1 As a minimum requirement for certification, a 

private applicator must show that he possesses a practical 
knowledge of the pest problem and pest control practices 
associated with his agricultural operations and his related 
legal responsibility.  This practical knowledge includes 
ability to:

9.1.1 Recognize common pests to be controlled 
and damage caused by them.

9.1.2 Read and understand the label and labeling 
information - including the common name of pesticides he 
applies; pest(s) to be controlled, timing and methods of 
application; safety precautions; any pre-harvest or re-entry 
restrictions; and specific disposal procedures.

9.1.3 Apply pesticides in accordance with label 
instructions and warnings, including the ability to prepare 
the proper concentration of pesticide to be used under 
particular circumstances taking into account such factors as 
area to be covered, speed at which application equipment 
will be driven, and the quantity dispersed in a given period 
of operation.

9.1.4 Recognize local environmental situations 
that must be considered during application to avoid 
contamination.

9.1.5 Recognize poisoning symptoms and 
procedures to follow in case of a pesticide accident.

9.2 Such The competence of each private applicator 
shall be verified through the administration of a private 
applicator certification system here described which ensures 
that the private applicator is competent, based upon the 
standards set forth above, to use the restricted use pesticides 
under limitations of applicable State and Federal laws and 
regulations.  One or more of the following options will be 
employed to certify private applicators:

9.2.1 General Certification
9.2.1.1 This option certifies the private 

applicator as competent to apply any restricted use pesticide 
which he would normally expect to use in his particular 
agricultural operations.  Competency determination shall 
reflect all aspects of the private applicator standards and 
shall be broad enough to test the private applicator's ability 
to apply general principles to specific problems associated 
with the restricted use pesticides required for the production 
and protection of his crops.

9.2.2 Pesticide Class Certification
9.2.2.1 This option certifies the private 

applicator as competent to apply any restricted use pesticide 
products and all different formulations of a pesticide used for 
the same purpose, use, or application.  Examples  include, 
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but are not limited to, preemergence herbicides for vegetable 
crops, foliar insecticides on corn, rodenticides in fruit 
orchards, nematicides in fields prior to planting, ground 
application of fungicides on vegetables, seed treatments for 
plant diseases, and livestock dips for insect control.

9.2.2.2 Competency determination shall reflect 
the full range of the private applicator standards, but with 
special emphasis placed on the particular characteristics of 
the pesticide class, as well as the nature of  the application or 
use.

9.2.3 Commodity/Crop/Site Certification
9.2.3.1 This option certifies the private 

applicator as competent to apply any restricted use pesticide 
needed for specific crops or sites which that the applicator 
would be expected to deal with in his agricultural operations. 
This would include any pesticide products (different 
pesticide classes, active ingredients, and formulations) used 
on a specific line or class designation. Examples include: 
single crop such as corn, apples, or wheat; single site class 
such as poultry houses or dairy barns; single livestock line, 
such as beef cattle, swine, or turkeys; crop classes such as 
forage crops or small fruits, site class such as barns or 
greenhouses; and livestock class such as poultry.

9.2.3.2 Competency determination shall reflect 
the full range of the private applicator standards, with 
emphasis placed on the particular characteristics of the 
specific crop or site, or crop/site class concerned and the 
pests involved.

9.2.3.3 A private applicator may wish to be 
certified for a specific crop or site (such as corn or beef 
cattle) or for a crop or site class (such as forage crops, 
livestock, small grain crops).

9.2.4 Single Product Certification
9.2.4.1 This option certifies as competent the 

private applicator for one or more uses of a single product or 
related products with the same active ingredient and with a 
similar formulation and uses. Competency determination 
shall reflect all appropriate uses of these products for the 
agricultural area where he will be expected to make pesticide 
application.

9.2.5 Single Products/single Use Authorization 
(Emergency Program)

9.2.5.1 This option would authorize the private 
applicator to make single use application(s) of a restricted 
use  product (or other products of the same formulation). 
This option will be used only as an emergency provision to 
accommodate situations such as an unexpected pest problem 
that requires immediate certification of a previously 
uncertified private applicator or one whose particular type of 
certification would not cover the product needed to deal with 
the problem.

9.3 Determination of Competency for Private 
Applicators

9.3.1 Competence in the use and handling of 

pesticides by private applicators shall be determined by 
written examinations with questions based upon study 
materials made available by the Department.  Correctly 
answering 70% or more of the questions shall be considered 
to be satisfactory evidence of competence.

9.3.2 Failure to answer at least 70% of the 
questions correctly shall be grounds for denial of 
certification.  The applicant may apply for reexamination, 
which shall be scheduled by the Department at least 30 days 
after the applicant’s initial examination.

9.3.3 Upon showing of hardship, an applicant 
for private applicator certification may appeal to the 
Secretary for an exception to paragraphs 9.3.1 and 9.3.2.  At 
his discretion, the Secretary may provide for an alternative 
means of examination, to include but not be limited to oral 
examination.  Oral examinations shall cover the same 
material included in the written examination.

[9.4 Private Applicators Certification Fees and 
Renewal

9.4.1 A private applicator’s certification shall 
continue in full force until December 31st of the third 
year following his original certification.

9.4.2 A private applicator shall be required to 
be reexamined prior to certification renewal.

9.4.3 The reexamination requirement may be 
satisfied without taking a test, if the applicator provides 
the Department with evidence that he has attended a 
minimum of three (3) hours of approved education 
courses, seminars or programs during the three (3) 
calendar years preceding certification renewal.

9.4.4 In accordance with Title 3, Delaware 
Code, Section 1218, there is no fee for Private Applicator 
Certification.

9.5 Expiration
9.5.1 A certificate shall have a ninety (90) day 

grace period after the date of expiration.  When the grace 
period expires, the certificate shall be considered to have 
lapsed.

9.5.2 A person holding a lapsed certificate 
must be examined as described by paragraph 9.2, in 
order to receive a new certificate.

9.5.3 An applicator may not purchase, use or 
supervise the use of a restricted use pesticide during the 
ninety (90) day grace period following the expiration date 
on his certificate.]

10.0 Standards for Supervision of Non-certified 
Applicators by Certified Private and Commercial 
Applicators

10.1 Certified applicators whose activities indicate a 
supervisory role must demonstrate a practical knowledge of 
federal and state supervisory requirements, including 
labeling, regarding the application of restricted use 
pesticides by non-certified applicators.
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10.2 The availability of the certified applicator must 
be directly related to the hazard of the situation, the 
complexity of the application or the ability to readily 
communicate with the non-certified applicator.  In many 
situations, where the certified applicator is not required to be 
physically present, "direct supervision" shall include 
verifiable instructions to the competent person, as follows:

10.2.1 Detailed guidance for applying the 
pesticide properly, and

10.2.2 Provisions for contacting the certified 
applicator in the event he is needed. In other situations, and 
as required by the label, the actual physical presence of a 
certified applicator may be required when  application is 
made by a non-certified applicator.

11.0 Federal Agency Pesticide Applicators
11.1 When an employee of any agency of the United 

States Government has been qualified in any category as 
competent to apply restricted use pesticides under the 
Government Agency Plan (GAP) or under other plans 
judged by the Secretary to be at least equal to the Delaware 
Plan, such the employee will be certified by the Secretary in 
the same category without the need for a written examination 
nor for the payment of any fee.

11.2 Federal employees qualified under an 
acceptable Federal Plan to apply restricted use pesticides and 
who intend to apply restricted use pesticides in Delaware as 
a part of their agency work shall present their qualifying 
documents to the Secretary and, if acceptable, these 
documents will be endorsed or a state document will be 
issued which will permit the federal employee to use 
restricted use pesticides in Delaware.

11.3 If, in an emergency situation, federal 
employees are brought into Delaware to control or eradicate 
pests and when these employees have been properly 
qualified to use restricted use pesticides under the plan of 
another state or under an acceptable federal government 
agency plan, such these employees shall be considered to be 
certified in Delaware and he or his for a period of 10 days. 
Within this 10 day period their agency must, within 10 days, 
present qualifying credentials to the Secretary and  at this
that time state credentials will be issued if the employees is
are to remain in Delaware as an applicators of restricted use 
pesticides.

11.4 The provisions of this section do not apply to 
non-federal employees contracted to perform pesticide 
application for the federal government.  In an emergency, 
however, and with the concurrence of the Secretary, a non-
certified person may apply pesticides under the direct 
supervision of a properly certified federal applicator.  Within 
10 days such person working within the state boundaries 
must apply for Delaware certification in the normal manner.

12.0 Reciprocity
When a commercial applicator is certified under the 

state plan of another state and desires to operate as a 
commercial applicator in Delaware he shall make 
application to the Secretary and shall include, along with the 
proper fee and other details required by the LAW, a true copy 
of his credentials certifying him as an applicator of restricted 
use pesticides in another state.  The Secretary then may, if he 
approves the credentials, issue a Delaware certification to 
the applicator in the appropriate classification and/or 
category(ies) for which he is certified in another state 
without a written examination.  The original certification 
must be made in the state where the commercial applicator 
resides or where he has his principle place of business.

13.0 Revocation
The Department, after due notice and opportunity for a 

hearing, may deny, suspend, revoke or modify any 
application for or provision of any certification, including 
reciprocal certification, under the LAW if the Department 
finds that the Certified Applicator or the applicant for 
Certification has committed any act or acts declared by the 
Law or these regulations to be unlawful.

14.0 Records
14.1 Commercial Applicators

14.1.1 Commercial applicators shall, for a period 
of two years from the date of application, keep records 
detailing the application of any pesticides to include:

14.1.1.1 The brand name of the pesticide used. 
In the case of a Restricted Use Pesticide or a pesticide which 
is used under the provisions of 40 Code of Federal 
Regulations, Part 170, Worker Protection Standards, the 
EPA Registration Number shall also be recorded at or before 
the time of application.

14.1.1.2 When applicable, the dilution rate of 
the pesticide and the amount of diluted material applied per 
unit (i.e. gallons/acre, lbs./acre, etc.)

14.1.1.3 The date and specific area treated.
14.1.1.4 The pest against which the pesticide 

was used.
14.1.1.5 The applicator's name, and when 

applicable, the name of the certified applicator responsible 
for his  supervision.

14.1.1.6 When label directions advise 
precaution in regard to drift, on-site weather conditions to 
include:

14.1.1.6.1 Wind velocity and direction
14.1.1.6.2  Temperature
14.1.1.6.3  Relative humidity

14.1.1.7 In addition to the above record 
keeping requirements, the applicator shall have available at 
the site of application, a copy of the label of the pesticide 
being used.  Upon request, the applicator shall provide any 
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interested person at or adjacent to the application site, with 
any information contained on the pesticide label.

14.2 Restricted Use Pesticides Dealers
14.2.1 Restricted use pesticide dealers shall keep 

and maintain for a period of two years, records on the sale or 
other disposition of restricted use pesticides to include the 
following:

14.2.1.1  The name and address of the 
residence or principal place of business of the certified 
applicator to whom the pesticide is made available for use.

14.2.1.2 The certification identification 
number of the purchaser or receiver of the pesticide on the 
document.  If the receiver of the restricted use pesticide is 
other than a certified applicator, a form of photographic 
identification of the receiver must be presented at the time of 
delivery.

14.2.1.3  The product name and E.P.A. 
registration number on the label of the pesticide.

14.2.1.4  The quantity of the pesticide made 
available for use in the transaction.

14.2.1.5  Date of the sale or transaction.

15.0 Financial Security Required of Licensee
15.1 The Secretary shall not issue a license until the 

applicant has filed evidence of financial security with the 
Secretary.  Such  eEvidence shall consist of a general 
liability insurance policy with completed operation coverage 
or certification thereof from an insurance company, person, 
or risk retention group formed under the Federal Risk Act of 
1986, authorized to do business in Delaware.

15.1.1 Agriculture
15.1.1.1  Plant Pest Control

15.1.1.1.1 An applicant for certification in 
this category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property 
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.1.1.2 Agriculture Animal Pest Control
15.1.1.2.1 An applicant for certification in 

this category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property 
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.1.2 Forest Pest Control
15.1.2.1 An applicant for certification in this 

category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property 
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.1.3 Ornamental and Turf Pest Control
15.1.3.1 An applicant for certification in this 

category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of  Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred   Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for 
property damage resulting from the use or misuse of 
pesticides.

15.1.4 Seed Treatment
15.1.4.1 An applicant for certification in this 

category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of  Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property 
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.1.5 Aquatic Pest Control
15.1.5.1 An applicant for certification in this 

category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property 
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.1.6 Right-of-Way Pest Control
15.1.6.1 An applicant for certification in this 

category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property 
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.1.7 Industrial, Institutional, Structural and 
Health Related Pest Control

15.1.7.1 An applicant for certification in this 
category shall file evidence of financial security in the 
minimum amount of Three Hundred Thousand Dollars 
($300,000) for bodily injury or death for each occurrence 
and One Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property 
damage resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.2 Aerial Applicators
15.2.1 Aerial applicators applying for a license in 

any of the above categories or subcategories shall show 
evidence of  financial security in the minimum of One 
Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for each individual 
damage and Three Hundred Thousand Dollars ($300,000) 
for bodily injury or death for each occurrence and One 
Hundred Thousand Dollars ($100,000) for property damage 
resulting from the use or misuse of pesticides.

15.3 Nothing to in these regulations shall be 
construed in any way to relieve any person from liability for 
any damage to the person or lands of another caused by the 
use of pesticides even though such use conforms to the rules 
and regulations of the Secretary.

16.0 Storing and Disposal of Pesticides and Pesticide 
Containers

16.1 Prohibited Acts
16.1.1 No person shall dispose of or store (or 
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receive for disposal or storage) any pesticide, pesticide 
container or pesticide container residue:

16.1.1.1 In a manner inconsistent with its label 
or labeling;

16.1.1.2 So as to cause or allow the open 
dumping of pesticides or pesticide containers;

16.1.1.3 So as to cause or allow open burning 
of pesticide or pesticide containers. except; the open burning 
by the user of small quantities of combustible containers (but 
not to exceed 50 lbs.) containing pesticides other than those 
containing organic mercury, chlorates, lead, cadmium, or 
arsenic compounds, is acceptable when allowed by state or 
local regulations and when due regard is given to wind 
direction in relation to the protection of crops, animals and 
people from the pesticide vapors created through burning;

16.1.1.4 So as to cause or allow dumping of 
pesticides in any stream, river, pond, [sewer or lake, lake, 
sewer, storm water drain, or to ground water] except in 
conformance with permits issued by the Delaware 
Department of Agriculture or other state agency having 
jurisdiction regarding water pollution;

16.1.1.5  So as to violate any applicable state 
or federal pollution control standard.

16.2 Pesticide and Pesticide Container Disposal
16.2.1 Pesticide containers shall, upon 

completion of use, be triple rinsed immediately by the 
applicator or someone under his direct supervision or 
cleaned by another method or procedure equivalent in 
residue removal effectiveness.

16.2.1.1 The standard triple rinse procedure is 
as follows:

16.2.1.1.1 The emptied container shall be 
drained for at least thirty (30) seconds after steady flow of 
pesticide formulation has ceased and after individual drops 
are evident.  Any pesticide formulation drained shall be 
added to the spray tank mix and shall be applied in 
accordance with label instructions.

16.2.1.1.2 A solvent, usually water, 
specified by the manufacturer and capable of removing the 
pesticide residue shall be added to the drained container in 
an amount equal to ten percent (10%) of its capacity.  The 
container then shall be shaken, agitated, or rolled vigorously 
in such fashion as to dislodge residues from the top, bottom 
and sides. The liquid residues (rinsate) shall be added as 
make-up to the spray tank mix, and the container shall be 
allowed to drain for at least thirty (30) seconds after steady 
flow has ceased and after individual drops are evident.

16.2.1.1.3 The above procedure shall be 
performed two more times, each time allowing the container 
to drain at least thirty (30) seconds and adding all rinsate to 
the spray tank mix to be applied in accordance with label 
instructions.

16.2.1.2 In cases where undiluted formulations 
are used and rinsate cannot be added to the spray tank, the 

residue must be disposed of in accordance with applicable 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control (DNREC) regulations.

16.2.1.3 Methods of rinsing or cleaning 
containers, other than the standard triple rinsing procedure 
described above, may be used provided they are shown to 
remove equivalent amounts of pesticide residues which that
can be disposed of in an environmentally safe manner.

16.2.1.4 In the case of containers with 
removable inner liners that prevent contact between the 
pesticide and the container, removal of the [empty] liner 
shall be considered the equivalent of triple rinsing.  The 
removed liners must be disposed of in a sanitary landfill [or 
by incineration if allowed by State and local authorities. 
Empty lL]iners removed from pesticide containers [that 
held containing] pesticides listed as hazardous waste are 
also considered hazardous waste unless the liners are triple 
rinsed [with an applicable using a] solvent capable of 
removing the pesticide or other method approved as 
equivalent [by the DNREC prior to their removal from 
the container. Once rinsed tT]hese liners [may must] be 
handled and disposed of [in accordance with applicable 
DNREC regulations in a sanitary landfill.  Rinsates shall 
be used in accordance with 16.2.1.1.2.]

16.2.1.5 Following the rinsing, cleaning or 
liner removal procedure, plastic or metal containers not 
destined for return to manufacturers or shipment to 
reconditioners shall be punctured prior to disposal to insure
ensure they are empty and to prevent re-use.  Glass 
containers are exempt from this puncture requirement. 
Plastic containers may be burned if allowed by State and 
local authorities.

16.2.1.6 Pesticide containers labeled for 
commercial or farm use, which have been triple rinsed and 
handled in accordance with 16.2.1.1 through 16.2.1.5, shall 
be disposed of at a [Solid Waste Facility sanitary landfill 
or through a Department accepted recycling program.]

16.2.1.7 Unused or unwanted farm or 
commercial use pesticides [which that] qualify as hazardous 
waste shall be disposed of in accordance with 7 Del.C. 
Chapter 63 and the Delaware Regulations Governing 
Hazardous Waste.

16.2.1.8 Pesticides [and/]or pesticide 
containers which are not subject to these regulations are as 
follows:

16.2.1.8.1 Paper, cardboard and 
fiberboard containers.  Storage, handling and disposal must, 
however, be in accordance with label directions and any 
applicable DNREC regulations [and/]or local ordinances. 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 12, TUESDAY, JUNE 1, 2004



FINAL REGULATIONS1688
This waiver applies only if all the pesticide contents have 
been removed from the container using practical methods.

16.2.1.8.2 [Empty aA]erosol 
containers and [empty] compressed gas cylinders, provided 
that [the empty] aerosol containers [contain non-reactive 
propellant and] are disposed of according to the product 
labeling and the empty compressed gas cylinders are 
returned for re-use.

16.2.1.8.3 Pesticide containers labeled 
as returnable, and which are returned to the manufacturer for 
refill.

16.2.1.8.4 Pesticides and pesticide 
containers which are intended solely for home and garden 
use, provided they are securely wrapped in several layers of 
paper and disposed of singly [during through] routine 
municipal solid waste disposal [or at a sanitary landfill].

16.3 Pesticide Storage
16.3.1 Pesticides shall be stored in such a manner 

so as to prevent the contamination of food, feed and/or water.
16.3.2 Pesticides shall be stored out of the reach 

of children and so as not to present a public nuisance.
16.3.3 Until such time as the Secretary shall, 

along with the Pesticide Advisory Committee and any other 
person as the Secretary may consult, promulgate more 
specific rules and regulations covering the storage of 
pesticides and pesticide containers not provided in 16.1 and 
16.3 of this Section, the recommended  procedures for the 
storage of pesticides and containers detailed in Regulations 
promulgated by the Administrator, United States 
Environmental Protection Agency shall be the recommended 
procedures for Delaware.  The Secretary shall make copies 
of these procedures available to any person needing 
guidance for proper storage of pesticides or pesticide 
containers.

17.0 Pesticide Advisory Committee
17.1 Expenses of Members Not from Government 

Departments.  Pesticide Advisory Committee members not 
from governmental departments shall submit expense 
accounts to the Secretary. Reimbursements made to 
members not from governmental departments shall be made 
for the actual cost of lodging and meals (out of state) and for 
transportation according to the regulations applicable to 
Department employees.

18.0 Application and Equipment
18.1 No person shall apply, dispense or use any 

pesticide in or through any equipment or application 
apparatus unless such the equipment or application apparatus 
is in sound mechanical condition and capable of satisfactory 
operation.  All pesticide application equipment shall be 
properly equipped to dispense the proper amount of material; 

all pesticide mixing, storage, or holding tanks, whether on 
application equipment or not, shall not leak pesticide; all 
spray distribution systems shall not leak pesticides and any 
pumps which such the systems may have shall not leak 
pesticides and any pumps which such the systems may have 
shall be capable of operating at sufficient pressure to assure a 
uniform and adequate rate of discharge; and all pesticide 
application equipment shall be equipped with whatever cut-
off valves and discharge orifices may be necessary to enable 
the operator to pass over non-target areas without 
contaminating them.

18.2 All hoses, pumps or other equipment used to 
fill pesticide handling, storage or application equipment 
shall be fitted with an effective valve or device to prevent 
backflow of pesticides or pesticide use-dilutions into water 
supply systems, streams, lakes, ground water [or] other 
sources of water or other materials.  [Provided, however,
such b B]ackflow devices or valves are not required for 
separate water storage tanks used to fill agricultural pesticide 
application equipment by gravity systems when the fill 
spout, tube or pipe is not allowed to contact or fall below the 
water level of the application equipment being filled and no 
other possible means of establishing a backsiphon or 
backflow exists.

19.0 Antifouling Paint Restrictions
19.1 For the purposes of this section, the following 

definitions shall apply:
"Acceptable release rate" means a measured 

release rate not to exceed 4.0 micrograms per square 
centimeter per day and as further defined in the Organotin 
Anti-fouling Paint Control Act of 1988, (Pub. L. - 100-333).

"Antifouling paint" means a coating, paint, or 
treatment that is applied to a vessel or any fishing gear used 
to catch shellfish or finfish to control fresh water or marine 
fouling organisms.

"Commercial boat yard" means any facility 
which engages for hire in the construction, storage, 
maintenance, repair, or refurbishing of vessels or any 
licensed independent marine maintenance contractor who 
engages in such activities.

"Organotin" means any compound of tin used as a 
biocide in an anti-fouling paint.

"Retail" means the transfer of title to tangible 
personal property other than for resale, after manufacturing 
or processing.

“Vessel” means every description of watercraft, 
other than a seaplane, used or capable of being used as a 
means of transportation on the water, whether self-propelled 
or otherwise, and includes barges and tugs. 

19.2 Except as otherwise provided in this Section, 
no person shall distribute, possess, sell, or offer for sale, 
apply or offer for use or application any marine anti-fouling 
paint containing organotin.
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19.3 No person may sell or deliver to, or purchase or 
receive from, another person at retail any substance 
containing organotin for the purpose of adding such 
substances to paint to create an anti-fouling paint.

19.4 A person may distribute or sell a marine anti-
fouling paint containing organotin with an acceptable release 
rate to the owner or agent of a commercial boat yard.  The 
owner or agent of a commercial boat yard may possess and 
apply or purchase for application an anti-fouling paint 
containing organotin with an acceptable release rate, 
however, such the paint may be applied only within a 
commercial boat yard and only to vessels which exceed 
twenty-five meters (82.02 feet) in length or which have 
aluminum hulls.

19.5 A person may distribute, sell, or apply a marine 
anti-fouling paint containing organotin having an acceptable 
release rate, if the paint is distributed or sold in a spray can in 
a quantity of sixteen ounces avoirdupois or less and is 
commonly referred to as outboard or lower unit paint.

20.0 Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer Permits
20.1 For the purposes of these regulations the 

following definitions shall apply:
20.1.1 The term "restricted use pesticide dealer" 

means any person who makes available for use any restricted 
use pesticide,  or who offers to make available for use any 
such pesticide.  The term excludes any person who sells or 
distributes pesticides only as an integral part of his pesticide 
application service and when such the pesticides are 
dispensed only through equipment used during a pesticide 
application.

20.1.2 The term "make available for use" means 
to distribute, sell, ship, deliver for shipment, or receive, and 
(having so received) deliver, for use by any person. 
However, the term excludes transactions solely between 
persons who are pesticide producers, registrants, 
wholesalers, or retail dealers, acting only in those capacities.

20.1.3 The term "dealership" means any site 
owned or operated by a restricted use pesticide dealer where 
any  restricted use pesticide is made available for use, or 
where the dealer offers to make available for use any  such 
pesticide.

20.2 Effective December 31, 1990, no person shall 
make available for use any restricted use pesticide unless 
that person has a valid Dealer Permit issued by the 
Department.

20.3 A separate Dealer Permit shall be required for 
each dealership owned or operated by the restricted use 
pesticide dealer.

20.4 Issuance of a Dealer Permit:
20.4.1 Application for a Dealer Permit shall be 

made in writing to the Department on a designated form 
obtained from the Department.

20.4.2 The Department shall issue a Dealer 

Permit to an applicant upon payment of a fee of $25.00 for a 
calendar  year or any part of a calendar year.

20.4.3 All permits shall remain in full force and 
effect until December 31st of each year whereupon they 
shall become invalid unless renewed, except that a permit for 
which a renewal application has been submitted to the 
Department by November 30th shall remain in full force and 
effect until such time as the Department gives written notice 
to the permit holder of renewal or denial.

20.5 A restricted use pesticide dealer is responsible 
for the acts of his employees in the solicitation and sale of all 
pesticides and all claims and recommendations for the use of 
pesticides.

20.6 A dealer permit is not transferable.
20.7 The Department, in addition to any penalties 

authorized by the LAW, may deny, suspend, or revoke the 
application or permit of a restricted use pesticide dealer if he 
has failed to comply with any provisions of the LAW or any 
rules and regulations promulgated thereunder.

21.0 Institutional and Maintenance Pesticide Use 
Restrictions

21.1 For the purposes of these regulations, the 
following definitions shall apply:

"Apartment building" shall mean a building that 
contains four or more dwelling units that are rented primarily 
for nontransient, permanent dwelling purposes, with rental 
paid by intervals of one week or longer.

“Child day-care center” shall mean a facility, 
other than a school as defined elsewhere herein, which 
provides care, education, protection, supervision and 
guidance on a regular basis for children.  Services are 
provided for part of the 24 hour day, unattended by parent or 
guardian, and for compensation.  Provided, nevertheless, that 
“child day-care center” shall not include any such facility 
which is operated within a private home.

“General use pesticide” shall include all pesticides 
as defined by 3 Del.C.  §1202(27) Delaware Pesticide Law, 
with the following exceptions:

• Any Restricted Use Pesticides, as defined by 3
Del.C. §1202 (30);

• Any State Restricted Use Pesticide, as defined by 3
Del.C. §1202 (31);

• Any anti-microbial pesticide used for controlling 
bacteria, viruses, or other microorganisms.
“Hospital” shall have the same meaning assigned 

by 16 Del.C. §1001(1).
“Institutional and Maintenance applicator"

means any person who[: Oo]wns, operates or maintains a 
school, apartment building, nursing home, hospital or child 
day-care center, or is [an] employee of a school, apartment 
building, nursing home, hospital, or child day-care center; 
and who [Aa]pplies general use pesticides inside the school, 
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apartment building, nursing home, hospital, or child day-
care center.  [A general use pesticide applicator must be 
certified pursuant to Section 8.0 of these regulations, 
unless, such person possesses a valid certification in 
subcategory 7.7.1.5 Institutional and Maintenance Pest 
Control.]

"Nursing home" shall have the same meaning 
assigned by 16 Del.C.  §1101.

"Private home" shall mean a non-public residence 
such as a house, duplex, townhouse, apartment, or mobile 
home where the provider of child day-care services lives and 
has control over the furnishings and use of space.  An 
individual unit in public housing and university housing 
complexes is considered a private home.

“School” shall mean a completed structure utilized 
as a public or private school, grades kindergarten through 
post graduate.

21.2 A person certified as a[n general maintenance
Institutional and Maintenance] applicator may not engage 
in the business of pest control outside the scope of their
employment [at a school, apartment building, nursing 
home, hospital, or child day-care center for which they 
have been certified], unless the person becomes certified as 
otherwise provided by the Law.

21.3 An owner or manager of a building that is a 
school, apartment building, nursing home, hospital, or child 
day-care center may obtain [general maintenance
Institutional and Maintenance] pest control services for 
the building from a person only by:

21.3.1 Contracting with a business licensed 
pursuant to 3 Del.C. §1206;

21.3.2 Having the services performed by an 
[general maintenance Institutional and Maintenance]
applicator with a valid certification in 7.7.1.1 or 7.7.1.5 of 
these regulations.

21.4 Records of "general use pesticide" applications 
made in a school, apartment building, nursing home, 
hospital, or child day-care center shall be kept in accordance 
with Section 14.1.

22.0 Restrictions on the Use of Pesticides for the 
Control of Subterranean Termites

22.1 This section applies to commercial pesticide 
applications for the control of subterranean termites.  It is 
directed primarily towards soil treatment and does not 
include other treatments applied as dusts, aerosols or 
fumigants, nor does it address application technology such 
as biological control agents or baits.

22.2 For the purpose of this section, the following 
definition shall apply:

22.2.1 "Termiticide" shall mean a pesticide 
registered pursuant to the LAW and which is intended for 

preventing, destroying, repelling or mitigating termites.
22.2.2 “Continuous chemical barrier” shall mean 

the application of a termiticide such that the resultant soil 
residue meets or exceeds the soil residue requirements 
currently recommended by the Association of Structural Pest 
Control Regulatory Officials (ASPCRO) and as those 
requirements may be amended in the future.  Soil residue 
sampling shall be conducted in conformity with the current 
ASPCRO soil sampling protocol and as it may be amended 
in the future.

22.3 Termiticides shall be used to establish a 
continuous chemical barrier in all applicable areas 
prescribed by the label.  However, where the termiticide is 
applied such that a continuous barrier is not achieved, or 
where the termiticide is not applied to all applicable areas 
prescribed by the termiticide label, the conditions outlined in 
both 22.3.1 and 22.3.2 below must be satisfied:

22.3.1 One or more of the following situations is 
present:

22.3.1.1 Specific environmental conditions are 
such that application of the termiticide at the full labeled 
concentration and volume may result in adverse 
environmental impact. Examples may include the presence 
of a well, a footing drain that empties into a water body, a 
high water table, etc.;

22.3.1.2  Structural barriers or soil conditions 
or types exist that prohibit application of the labeled volume 
or limit access to applicable soil treatment areas;

22.3.1.3 Specific customer request, or the 
recommendation of the certified applicator.

22.3.2 Within fourteen (14) days following the 
termiticide application, the following information shall be 
furnished in writing to the customer or to the customer’s 
agent:

22.3.2.1 A full disclosure explaining the 
difference between full and partial applications.  The 
disclosure shall include the termite control strategies being 
utilized and the reasons for those alternatives;

22.3.2.2 The pesticide used, including brand 
name and EPA registration number;

22.3.2.3 The actual volume of the termiticide 
applied;

22.3.2.4 Specific information of sufficient 
detail to distinguish where treatment actually occurred, 
including a diagram of the structure identifying treated areas, 
known well heads, and sites of visible termite activity;

22.3.2.5 A clear, concise statement indicating 
whether the application has any guarantee or warranty, and 
the terms of the guarantee or warranty, e.g., retreatment (full 
or partial), damage repair and retreatment, or no warranty.

22.3.3 This information shall be furnished to the 
customer or customer’s agent on a form approved by the 
Department.  The applicator shall for a period of two years 
from the date of application, keep and maintain all 
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completed copies of disclosure documents.  Such These
records shall be made available to authorized employees of 
the Department upon request.

22.4 Any application of termiticides, pursuant to 
this section, must be conducted with a commercial applicator 
at the site of application.  This commercial applicator must 
be certified in category 7.7.1.2, Wood Destroying Pest 
Control.   

22.5 The disclosure information and written 
notification specified in paragraph 22.3.2 are not required of 
termiticide treatments to utility poles, fence posts or tree 
stumps. 

22.6 Any pre-construction termiticide application 
shall be applied in accordance with the termiticide product 
labeling and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
Pesticide Regulations (PR) Notice 96-7.  For pre-
construction treatments, PR Notice 96-7 supercedes this 
Section, and no pre-construction treatment shall be applied 
at a lower dosage and/or concentration than specified on the 
label, for applications prior to installation of the finished 
grade.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
 Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code,

Sections 6301 and 7101
(3 Del.C. §§6301 and 7101)

ORDER

I. Nature Of Proceedings

Pursuant to its authority under 3 Del.C. §§6301 and 
7101, the Department of Agriculture proposed to adopt 
regulations concerning the sale and transfer of poultry. It's 
purpose in proposing these amendments was to more clearly 
define the role of the Department of Agriculture in 
regulating the state's poultry industry and to set out its 
enforcement powers so as to ensure the health, safety and
welfare of the citizens of the state from outbreaks of 
poultry-borne infectious diseases.

Notice of the public hearing on the Department's 
proposed regulations was published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations for April 1, 2004 as well as in two 
Delaware newspapers in general circulation in accordance 
with 29 Del.C. §10115. Thereafter, the public hearing was 
held as noticed on Friday, May 7, 2004 before the 
Department's Secretary, Michael T. Scuses's designee, State 
Veterinarian Dr. H.W. Towers, DVM. This is the 
Department's Decision and Order adapting the proposed 
regulations.

II.  Evidence Submitted At Public Hearing

The Department received no written comments in 
response to the notice of intention to adopt the proposed 
regulations. No public comments were received at the May 
7, 2004 public hearing.

III.  Findings And Conclusions

The public was given the. required notice of the 
Department's intention to adopt the proposed regulations and 
was given ample opportunity to provide the Department with 
comments opposing the Department's proposals. Thus, the 
Department concludes that its consideration of the proposed 
regulations was entirely within its prerogatives and statutory 
authority and, having received no comments opposed to 
adoption, is now free to adopt them.

IV.  ORDER

NOW THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered that:

1. The Department's poultry regulations are adopted;
2. The text of the regulations shall be in the form 

attached hereto as Exibit A.
3. The effective date of the Order is ten days from the date 

of its publication in the Delaware; Register of Regulations in
accordance with 29 Del.C. §10118(e); and

4. The Department reserves unto itself the authority to 
issue such other and further orders in this matter as may be 
necessary to discharge its responsibilities under the enabling 
acts.

Michael T. Scuse, Secretary
Delaware Department of Agriculture
5/10/04

* Please note that no changes were made to the 
regulation as originally proposed and published in the 
April 2004 issue of the Register at page 1241 (7 DE Reg. 
1241).  Therefore, the final regulation is not being 
republished.  Please refer to the April 2004 issue of the 
Register or contact the Department of Agriculture.
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 220 (14 Del.C. 220)
14 DE Admin. Code 103

Regulatory Implementing Order

103 Accountability for Schools, Districts and the State

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 
State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
103 Accountability for Schools, Districts and the State.  The 
amendments reflect the changes made to Delaware’s plan 
under the federal No Child Left Behind Act of 2001. 
Changes include: definitions of the Adequate Yearly 
Progress levels in 2.1.1 and changes in other sections of the 
regulation reflecting these changes; changes to 2.4 
Participation Rate, changes in the Other Academic 
Indicator(s) definition in 2.6; the definition of a “new 
school” in 3.4; and the addition of State Progress 
Determinations in 5.0 and changes in other sections 
reflecting the calculations as defined in 5.0. 

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on March 19, 
2004 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  Comments 
were received from the State Council for Citizens with 
Disabilities and the Governor’s Advisory Council for 
Exceptional Citizens.  The responses to the councils’ 
comments are as follows:

Regarding the issue of the high school graduation rate as 
a performance indicator, the standard will remain as is but 
the Department will be issuing a memo modifying the IEP so 
that the Individual Education Program (IEP) will specify the 
time frame for graduation for students with IEPs.  Regarding 
the change requiring the inclusion of students exempted 
from the DSTP in the participation rate calculation, the 
federal law, No Child Left Behind, requires that these 
students who were formally exempted be included in the 
participation rate calculation.  The Secretary will be 
considering an amendment to 14 DE Admin. Code 101.9.0, 
Delaware Student Testing Program in order to correct any 
discrepancy that may exist between the two regulations.

II.  Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 
DE Admin. Code 103 in order to make changes that reflect 
the changes made to Delaware’s plan under the federal No 
Child Left Behind Act of 2001.

III.  Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 103. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §154, §155 and §156, 14 
DE Admin. Code 103 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is 
hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. 
§122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in effect for 
a period of five years from the effective date of this order as 
set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 103  amended hereby 
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and shall 
be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 103 in the Administrative 
Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §154, §155 and §156 on 
May 20 2004.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten 
(10) days from the date this Order is published in the 
Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 20th day of May 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

APPROVED THIS 20TH DAY OF MAY, 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1.0 Accountability
1.1 Accountability: All public schools, including 

charter schools, reorganized and vocational-technical school 
districts and the state shall be subject to the calculation and 
reporting of Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) as prescribed 
by the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act 
(ESEA), 20 U.S. C.A. §6301 et seq.  Additionally, public 
schools, including charter schools, reorganized and 
vocational-technical school districts shall be subject to the 
applicable rewards, sanctions and other accountability 
activities including the State Progress Determinations as 
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prescribed in this regulation.

2.0 Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP)
2.1 Adequate Yearly Progress shall be determined by 

the Department of Education for all public schools, 
including charter schools, reorganized and vocational-
technical school districts and the State on an annual basis.  In 
order for a public school, including a charter school, 
reorganized or vocational-technical school district or the 
State to meet AYP, the aggregate student population and 
each subgroup of students as identified in ESEA, must meet 
or exceed the target for percent proficient using a confidence 
interval to be determined by the Department of Education in 
the state assessments of reading/language arts and 
mathematics; 95% of the students as an aggregate and within 
each subgroup must participate in the state assessments of 
reading/language arts and mathematics, except for those 
students who meet the exemption criteria as specified in 14 
DE Admin. Code 101.9.0; and the respective entity must 
maintain or show progress towards the state target for other 
academic indicator(s) meet the requirements of the Other 
Academic Indicator(s) as defined in 2.6. In calculating the 
percent proficient each year, the state will average the most 
recent two years of percent proficient (including the current 
year’s percent proficient) and compare the results to the 
current year percent proficient.  The highest percent 
proficient score will be used to determine the school, district 
or State AYP status.

2.1.1 Adequate yearly progress shall include 
three levels: Above Target, Meets Target and Below Target.

2.1.1.1 Above Target shall mean that the 
school, district or State in the aggregate student population 
and for each subgroup exceeds the annual target in English 
language arts and mathematics for percent proficient as 
defined in 2.3 and further meets the criteria for participation 
as defined in 2.4 and Other Academic Indicator(s) as defined 
in 2.6.

2.1.1.2 Meets Target shall mean that the 
school, district or State in the aggregate student population 
and for each subgroup meets the annual target in English 
language arts and mathematics with or without the 
application of a confidence interval for percent proficient as 
defined in 2.3 or meets the criteria of Safe Harbor defined in 
2.5, and further meets the criteria for participation as defined 
in 2.4 and Other Academic Indicator(s) as defined in 2.6.

2.1.1.3 Below Target shall mean that the 
school, district or State in the aggregate student population 
and for each subgroup did not meet the annual target in 
English language arts or mathematics through the 
application of a confidence interval for percent proficient as 
defined in 2.3 or does not meet the criteria of Safe Harbor 
defined in 2.5, or does not meet the criteria for participation 
as defined in 2.4 or does not meet the criteria of Other 
Academic Indicator(s) as defined in 2.6.

2.2 Full academic year for accountability:
2.2.1 For school accountability students 

enrolled continuously in the school from September 30 
through May 31 of a school year and including those 
students identified in 3.1 and 3.2, shall be considered 
enrolled for a full academic year.

2.2.2 For district accountability students 
enrolled continuously in the district (but not necessarily the 
same school), from September 30 through May 31 of a 
school year, and including those students identified in 3.1 
and 3.2 , shall be considered enrolled for a full academic 
year.

2.2.3 For state accountability students enrolled 
continuously in the state (but not necessarily the same school 
or district) from September 30 through May 31 of a school 
year shall be considered enrolled for a full academic year.

2.3 Proficient: For accountability purposes students 
who score at Performance Level 3 (Meets the Standard) or 
above and who have met the requirements of a Full 
Academic Year as defined in 2.2 shall be deemed proficient. 
Students who score at Performance Level 2, Level 1 or Level 
0 Level 2 or Level 1 who have met the requirements of a Full 
Academic Year as defined in 2.2 shall not meet the definition 
of proficient.

2.4 Participation Rate: For accountability purposes in 
school years 2002-2003 through 2004-2005, the 
participation rate for each subgroup, all public schools, 
including charter schools, districts, and the State, shall be the 
number of students who participate in the DSTP in grades 
3,5, 8 and 10 divided by the number of students enrolled in 
these tested grades during the testing period.  Beginning with 
the 2005-2006 school year the participation rate shall include 
the number of students who participate in the DSTP in 
grades 3 through 8 inclusive and grade 10 divided by the 
number of students enrolled in these tested grades during the 
testing period.  Students exempted by 14 DE Admin. Code
101.9.0 are not shall be included in the participation rate 
calculation [unless their medical condition prevents them 
from being in school during the testing period. For 
schools with no accountability tested grades (K-2), the 
participation rate shall be determined by the number of 
students who participated in the work sampling or grade 
2 DSTP assessments divided by the number of students 
enrolled during the testing period.]

2.5 Safe Harbor: For accountability purposes if a 
school, district or the State fails to meet the target for percent 
proficient for a given subgroup or for the entity in aggregate, 
safe harbor Safe Harbor provisions shall be examined for 
that group.  When the percentage of students in a subgroup 
not meeting the definition of proficient decreases by at least 
10% when compared to the previous year’s data, the 
participation rate for the population is at least 95%, and the 
subgroup maintains or shows progress on the other academic 
indicator meets the requirements of the Other Academic 
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Indicator(s) as defined in 2.6. the subgroup will have met 
AYP.

2.6 Other academic indicator Academic Indicator(s):
2.6.1 High School: For AYP purposes, the other 

academic indicator Other Academic Indicator(s) shall be 
graduation rate as defined as the number of students in one 
cohort who started in the school/district/state school, the 
district or the state in 9th grade and graduated four years later
or in the time frame specified in the Individual Education 
Program (IEP), excluding students who earn a GED 
certificate, divided by the same number plus those that have 
dropped out during the same four year period.

2.6.1.1 The statewide target for the high 
school other academic indicator Other Academic Indicator 
shall be a graduation rate of 90% by the school year 2013-
2014.  The statewide target for 2003-2004 shall be 75% and 
shall increase by 1.5% each year until 90% is reached in 
2013-2014.  Beginning with the school year 2002-2003, if 
the graduation rate is used for safe harbor Safe Harbor
purposes, the high school shall be expected to maintain its 
graduation rate or show positive progress when compared to 
the previous year or meet or exceed the statewide target for 
that school year.

2.6.1.2 A school that does not maintain its 
graduation rate or show positive progress from the previous 
year or meet or exceed the statewide target for that school 
year shall be considered as not meeting AYP for that year.

2.6.2 Elementary and Middle School:  For AYP 
purposes, the Other Academic Indicator for elementary and 
middle schools shall be the percent of students proficient on 
the grade 4, 6, and 8 DSTP science and social studies 
assessments combined.  The science and social studies 
content standards are arranged by grade clusters.  Students 
shall be tracked back to the school/district that provided the 
instructional services for the grade cluster determined by 
improvement of the scores of the low achieving students, 
defined as students performing below Performance Level 3, 
in reading and mathematics combined or a decrease in the 
percent of students scoring at Performance Level 1 in 
reading and mathematics.  The average scale score for the 
students who perform at Performance Level 1 and 2 in 
reading and mathematics combined shall be determined for 
the current and previous years.  The scores from the current 
year will be compared to the previous year to determine if 
the school has shown progress.  A confidence interval 
determined by the Department of Education shall be applied 
to the average scale scores when making this determination. 
Students included in this calculation shall have been in the 
school for a full academic year.

2.6.2.1 The statewide target for the 
elementary and middle school other academic indicator 
Other Academic Indicator shall be a percent proficient of 
85% 0% of students scoring at Performance Level 1 in 

reading and mathematics by the school year 2013-2014. 
Beginning with the school year 2002-2003 2003-2004, when 
compared to the previous year, the school or subgroup, if 
used for safe harbor Safe Harbor purposes, shall be expected 
to maintain its percent proficient or show positive progress 
shall maintain or show progress when compared to the 
previous year towards the state target of 85%.  shall maintain 
or show improvement of the scores of the low achieving 
students in reading and mathematics combined or show that 
the percent of students at Performance Level 1 in reading 
and mathematics has decreased from the previous year.

2.6.2.2 An elementary or middle school that 
does not maintain its percent proficient for the other 
academic indicator or show positive progress from the 
previous year shall be considered as not meeting AYP for 
that year or show improvement of the scores of the low 
achieving students in reading and mathematics combined or 
show that the percent of students at Performance Level 1 in 
reading and mathematics has decreased from the previous 
year shall be considered as not meeting AYP for that year.

2.6.3 For state and district accountability 
purposes, the state or a district shall be expected to maintain 
both the graduation rate and percent proficient or show 
positive progress when compared to the previous year 
towards the state target of 90% for the high school other 
academic indicator and 85% for the elementary and middle 
school other academic indicator. meet the requirements in 
2.6.1.2 and 2.6.2.2.

2.7 Annual Objective: The annual objectives for 
reading/language arts and mathematics shall be determined 
by the Department of Education and published annually. 
The annual objectives shall be the same for all schools, 
districts and subgroups of students.

2.8 Intermediate Target: There shall be seven 
intermediate targets with the first intermediate target 
occurring in the 2004-2005 school year.  The second 
intermediate target shall occur in 2006-2007; the third in 
2008-2009; the fourth in 2009-2010; the fifth in 2010-2011, 
the sixth in 2011-2012 and the seventh in 2012-2013.  By the 
end of the school year 2013-2014, all students in all 
subgroups shall be proficient in reading/language arts and 
mathematics.  The intermediate targets shall be calculated 
using the procedures as prescribed by the federal Elementary 
and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), 20 U.S.C.A. §6301 et 
seq.

2.9 Starting Point: A single statewide starting point 
shall be calculated for reading/language arts and a single 
statewide starting point shall be calculated for mathematics 
using the procedures as prescribed by the federal Elementary 
and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), 20 U.S.C.A. §6301 et 
seq.

2.10 Subgroup categories:  For AYP purposes, 
subgroup categories shall be delineated as follows: 1) 
Children with Disabilities (as per IDEA); 2) Economically 
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Disadvantaged Students, as determined by eligibility for free 
and reduced lunch program; 3) Students with Limited 
English Proficiency, as determined by the language 
proficiency assessment; and 4) Race/ethnicity, to be 
furthered divided into African American/black Black, 
American Indian/Alaska native Native, Asian/Pacific 
Islander, Hispanic, and White.  Such subgroup categories 
shall include all students eligible for the AYP calculation as 
further defined throughout this Chapter.  The “All” 
categories shall include all students in the entity for which 
AYP is calculated and who meet all other eligibility criteria 
for the AYP calculation. 

2.11 Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) Calculations
AYP Determinations

2.11.1 For each public school, including charter 
schools, reorganized and vocational-technical school district, 
and the State, AYP shall be calculated annually.

2.11.2 School AYP: In order to meet AYP, the 
aggregate student population of a school and each subgroup 
of students within a school, shall meet or exceed the annual 
target for percent proficient as defined in 2.3; the 
participation rate shall be 95% or greater; and the school in 
the aggregate shall maintain or show progress on the other 
academic indicator, the school shall be classified according 
to 2.1.1 as Above Target or Meets Target.  If there are 15 or 
more students in the aggregate or in any subgroup the 
percent proficient, participation rate and Other Academic 
Indicator shall be reported.  If there are 40 or more students 
in the aggregate or in any subgroup the percent proficient, 
participation rate and Other Academic Indicator  shall be 
reported and used to determine AYP status and 
accountability ratings.  The Safe Harbor provision as defined 
in 2.5 shall be used for a school that does not meet AYP in 
the aggregate or in any subgroup within the school.

2.11.3 District AYP: In order to meet AYP, the 
aggregate student population of a district and each subgroup 
of students within a district, shall meet or exceed the annual 
target for percent proficient as defined in 2.3; the 
participation rate shall be 95% or greater; and the district in 
the aggregate shall maintain or show progress on both of the 
other academic indicators district shall be classified 
according to 2.1.1 as Above Target or Meets Target. If there 
are 15 or more students in the aggregate or in any subgroup 
the percent proficient, participation rate and Other Academic 
Indicator(s) shall be reported.  If there are 40 or more 
students in the aggregate or in any subgroup the percent 
proficient, participation rate and Other Academic Indicator 
shall be reported and used to determine AYP status and 
accountability ratings. The Safe Harbor provision as defined 
in  2.5 shall be used for a district that does not meet AYP in 
the aggregate or in any subgroup within the school.

2.11.4 State AYP: In order to meet AYP, the 
aggregate student population in the State and each subgroup 
of students within the State, shall meet or exceed the annual 

target for percent proficient as defined in 2.3; the 
participation rate shall be 95% or greater; and the State in the 
aggregate shall maintain or show progress on both of the 
other academic indicators state shall be classified according 
to 2.1.1 as Above Target or Meets Target.  If there are 15 or 
more students in the aggregate or in any subgroup the 
percent proficient, participation rate and Other Academic 
Indicator(s) shall be reported.  If there are 40 or more 
students in the aggregate or in any subgroup the percent 
proficient, participation rate and Other Academic Indicator 
shall be reported and used to determine AYP status and 
accountability ratings.  The Safe Harbor provision as defined 
in 2.5 shall be used for state accountability if the State does 
not meet AYP in the aggregate or in any subgroup within the 
State.

2.11.5 Under Improvement:  A school or district 
shall be deemed Under Improvement if AYP is not met two 
consecutive years in the same content area of reading/
English language arts or mathematics for percent proficient 
or for participation rate, or if a school or district in the 
aggregate does not maintain or show progress on meet the 
requirements of the Other Academic Indicator(s) as defined 
in 2.6.

3.0 Accountability School and/or District:
For AYP purposes, the school/district to which a 

student's performance is assigned for a full academic year 
shall be the Accountability School/District.  No student shall 
have his/her performance assigned to more than one 
Accountability School/District in a given school year.

3.1 For a student enrolled in an intra-district intensive 
learning center or intra-district special school or program 
operating within one or more existing school facilities, the 
school/district of residence shall be considered the 
Accountability School/District for the student.  For a student 
enrolled in inter-district special schools or programs that 
have an agreement to serve students from multiple school 
districts, the school/district of residence shall be considered 
the Accountability School/District the special school that 
provides the instructional program shall be considered the 
Accountability School for that student.  For district 
accountability purposes, the district of residence shall be the 
district to which these special school students are included 
for accountability.

3.2 For a student enrolled in an alternative school
program pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch.16, or the Delaware 
Adolescent Program, the Accountability School/District 
shall be the school/district that assigned such student to the 
program or the school/district of residence. For the purposes 
of this chapter the The time the students were enrolled in the 
alternative or transitional program shall be credited to the 
Accountability School/District.

3.3 For a student who participates in the a choice 
program pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch.4 the Accountability 
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School/District shall be the school/district to which the 
student has choiced.

3.4 For accountability purposes, a school shall be 
considered a new school if: less than sixty percent of the 
students would have been enrolled in the same school 
together without the creation of the new school; or it is the 
first year of operation of a charter school; or two or more 
grade levels have been added to the school or to a charter 
school’s charter.

3.5 If a school is determined not to be a new school, the 
school shall receive the accountability rating and related 
consequences of the school in which the majority of students 
would attend in that year.

4.0 Assessment Criteria
4.1 For a student who takes a portion of the assessment 

more than once during the school year, the first score shall be 
included in the AYP calculation.

4.2 A student who tests with non-aggregable conditions 
as defined in the Department of Education's Guidelines for 
the Inclusion of Students with Disabilities and Students with 
Limited English Proficiency shall have his/her earned 
performance level included in the calculation of AYP.

4.3 For accountability purposes a student who tests but 
does not meet attemptedness rules as defined in the 
Department of Education's scoring specifications or 
otherwise receives an invalid score shall be deemed as not 
meeting proficiency.

4.4 A student participating in alternate assessments 
shall have her/his earned performance level included in the 
AYP calculation consistent with the regulations as prescribed 
by the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act 
(ESEA) 20 U.S. C.A.§6301 et seq. or Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

4.5 Schools with more than one tested grade shall 
receive a single accountability rating.

4.6 Student performance in a tested grade shall be 
apportioned in equal weights to each grade in a standards 
cluster, except that Kindergarten shall be weighted at 10% 
and grade 10 shall be weighted at 100%.  Beginning with the 
school year 2005-2006 students in grades 4,5,6,7,8, and 10 
will count 100%.  Students in grade 3 will continue to be 
weighted to each grade in the K-3 standards cluster. 

4.7 For AYP purposes the reading/language arts percent 
proficient shall be based on a combination of the reading and 
writing DSTP assessments.  The reading percent proficient 
scores shall  be weighted to count 90% and the writing 
percent proficient scores shall be weighted to count 10%.

4.8 For AYP purposes, the mathematics percent 
proficient shall be based on 100% of the DSTP mathematics 
assessment.

5.0 State Progress Determinations:
Each school and district shall receive a State Progress 

Determination of Above Target, Meets Target or Below 
Target. The State Progress shall be determined by 
improvement in the composite score of the reading, 
mathematics, science and social studies DSTP assessments 
combined.  The composite score range shall be from 25  to 
125 and is determined by the following formula: Composite 
Score = 25 [(reading score x reading weight) + (math score x 
math weight) + (science score x science weight) + (social 
studies score x social studies weight)] where: Reading score 
= [(5 x % of students in level 5 in reading) + (4 x % of 
students in level 4 in reading) + (3 x % of students in level 3 
in reading) + (2 x % of students in level 2 in reading) + (1 x 
% of students in level 1 in reading)]; Math score = [(5 x % of 
students in level 5 in math) + (4 x % of students in level 4 in 
math) + (3 x % of students in level 3 in math) + (2 x % of 
students in level 2 in math) + (1 x % of students in level 1 in 
math)]; Science score = [(5 x % of students in level 5 in 
science) + (4 x % of students in level 4 in science) + (3 x % 
of students in level 3 in science) + (2 x % of students in level 
2 in science) + (1 x % of students in level 1 in science)]; 
Social Studies = [(5 x % of students in level 5 in social 
studies) + (4 x % of students in level 4 in social studies) + (3 
x % of students in level 3 in social studies) + (2 x % of 
students in level 2 in social studies) + (1 x % of students in 
level 1 in social studies)]. Each of the subject areas shall be 
weighted equally at 25%.

5.1 Above Target shall mean that the school or district 
has a minimum composite score of 75.00 for the current 
year; or the school or district has demonstrated a growth of 
6.00 or more points when comparing last year’s composite 
score to the current year’s composite score provided the 
composite score is 45.00 or more.

5.2 Meets Target shall mean that the school or district 
with a composite score of 61.00 or less than 75.00 in the 
current year, shall demonstrate a growth of [2.00 1.00] or 
more points when comparing last year’s composite score to 
the current year’s composite score.  For a school or district 
with a composite score of 45.00 but less than 61.00 in the 
current year, the school or district shall demonstrate a growth 
of 2.00 or more points when comparing last year’s composite 
score to the current year’s composite score.

5.3 Below  Target shall mean that the school or district 
has a composite score of less than 45.00; or the school or 
district does not meet the criteria of 5.2.

5.0 6.0 Performance Classifications:
Schools and districts shall receive one of five levels of 

performance classification annually which shall be based on 
a combination of AYP determinations and State Progress 
determinations.

5.1 6.1 Superior: A school or district's performance is 
deemed excellent.  Schools or districts in this category shall 
have met AYP while the school or district is not Under 
Improvement and additional rigorous state criteria are met 
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and is a combination of Above Target for AYP and Above 
Target for State Progress or Above Target for AYP and 
Meets Target for State Progress or Meets Target for AYP and 
Above Target for State Progress. The additional state criteria 
shall be developed by the Department of Education with the 
consent of the State Board of Education.

5.2 6.2 Commendable: A school or district's 
performance is deemed above average.  Schools or districts 
in this category shall have met AYP while the school or 
district is not Under Improvement.  Combinations of Above 
Target for AYP and Below Target for State Progress or Meets 
Target for AYP and Meets Target for State Progress shall be 
rated as Commendable.  A school or district with a 
combination of Meets Target for AYP and Below Target for 
State Progress shall be determined Commendable for no 
more than one year; if this same combination exists for the 
school or district in the following year, the school or district 
shall be rated Academic Review.

5.3 6.3 Academic Review: A school or district’s 
performance is deemed acceptable.  Schools or districts in 
this category shall not have met APY for one year and are 
not Under Improvement. Combinations of:  Below Target for 
AYP and Above Target for State Progress; or Below Target 
for AYP and Meets Target for State Progress shall be rated as 
Academic Review for no more than one year; if the same 
combination exists for the school or district in the following 
year, the school or district shall be rated Academic Progress 
unless the provisions of 6.5 or 6.6  are met.  A school or 
district with a combination of  Below Target for AYP and 
Below Target for State Progress shall be rated as Academic 
Review unless the provisions of 6.5 and 6.6 are met.

6.4 Academic Progress: A school or district’s 
performance is deemed as needing improvement.  Schools or 
districts in this category shall not be Under Improvement as 
defined in 2.11.5.

5.4 6.5 Academic Progress-Under Improvement: A 
school or district's performance is deemed as needing 
improvement.  Schools or districts in this category shall have 
met AYP for one year while the school or district is Under 
Improvement.  If a school or district was classified as 
Academic Watch the prior year, all accountability sanctions 
from that prior year remain in effect. 

5.5 6.6 Academic Watch-Under Improvement: A 
school or district’s performance is deemed as unsatisfactory. 
Schools or districts in this category shall not have met AYP 
for two or more years and shall be Under Improvement 
consecutive years in the same content area as described in 
2.11.5 and shall be Under Improvement.

6.0 7.0 Schools and Districts that are classified as Under 
Improvement.

6.1 7.1 Accountability sanctions for schools that are 
classified as Under Improvement:

6.1.1 7.1.1 Under Improvement -Year 1 - A 

school shall review and modify its current School 
Improvement Plan outlining additional specific school 
improvement activities to be implemented beginning in this 
same year.  A school designated as Title I shall implement 
federal ESEA Choice.  The school shall follow the district 
Federal ESEA Choice Program.

6.1.2 7.1.2 Under Improvement - Year 2 - A 
school shall continue to review and modify the School 
Improvement Plan as needed. A school designated as Title I 
shall continue to offer federal ESEA Choice.  In addition a 
Title I school shall provide supplemental services according 
to the federal ESEA requirements.  Schools not designated 
as Title I shall give priority, as appropriate, within their extra 
time services to students in those subgroups that have not 
met the target for percent proficient in the reading/language 
arts and/or mathematics assessments.

6.1.3 7.1.3 Under Improvement - Year 3 - A 
school shall continue with the activities as per 6.1.2 7.1.2.  In 
addition, all schools shall be subject to corrective action as 
outlined by federal ESEA requirements.

6.1.4 7.1.4 Under Improvement - Year 4 - A 
school shall continue with the activities as per 6.1.3 7.1.3.  In 
addition, the school shall develop a plan for restructuring as 
outlined by federal ESEA requirements and submit such plan 
to the Secretary of Education.  The Secretary of Education 
shall investigate the reasons for the continued deficiency of 
the school’s performance and shall consult with the State 
Board of Education prior to making comment.

6.1.5 7.1.5 Under Improvement - Year 5 - A 
school shall continue with the activities as per 6.1.2 7.1.2.  In 
addition, the school shall implement the restructuring plan as 
outlined by federal ESEA requirements.

6.2 7.2 Accountability sanctions for districts that are 
classified as Under Improvement:

6.2.1 7.2.1 Under Improvement - Year 1 - A 
district shall develop and implement a District Improvement 
Plan.

6.2.2 7.2.2 Under Improvement - Year 2 - A 
district shall evaluate and modify the District Improvement 
Plan and shall incorporate such plan into the Consolidated 
Application.

6.2.3 7.2.3 Under Improvement - Year 3 - A 
district shall continue with the activities outlined in 6.2.2
7.2.2.  In addition the district shall develop a corrective 
action plan as outlined by Federal ESEA requirements and 
submit such plan to the Secretary of Education.  The 
Secretary of Education shall investigate the reasons for the 
continued deficiency of the district’s performance and shall 
consult with the State Board of Education prior to making 
comment.

6.2.4 7.2.4 Under Improvement - Year 4 - A 
district shall continue with the activities as outlined in 6.2.3 
7.2.3.  In addition the district and the Department of 
Education shall evaluate the corrective action plan and make 
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appropriate modifications as needed.

7.0 8.0 Review Process:
A school or district deemed Under Improvement may 

review school or district level data, including academic 
assessment data upon which the proposed classification is 
based.  The school or district shall present statistical 
evidence or other substantive reasons why the classification 
should be changed before the final classification will be 
determined.  [All accountability schools that have a 
student or students who have been granted an exemption 
according to 4.4  shall automatically have their 
classification reviewed based on the evidence submitted 
in the exemption request.]

7.1 8.1 The school or district must file a written notice 
of review with the Secretary no later than 15 calendar days 
after receiving preliminary notification of its designation of 
Under Improvement proposed classification.  The request for 
review shall state with specificity the grounds for the review, 
and shall be signed by the principal or lead authority of the 
school, or the signature of the Superintendent of the district. 
This request for review shall include all supporting evidence 
and documentation and shall be clear and concise.

7.2 8.2 Upon receipt of a written notice of review, the 
Department of Education shall conduct a review of the 
evidence or other substantive reasons presented by the 
school or district.

7.3 8.3 The Department of Education shall make a 
final determination within 30 calendar days from the written 
notice of review on the Under Improvement status proposed 
classification of the school or district based on the evidence 
or other substantive reasons presented by the school or 
district.

Regulatory Implementing Order

1025 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association 
(DIAA)

1049 DIAA Definitions
1050 DIAA Sportsmanship

1051 DIAA Senior High School Interscholastic Athletics
1052 DIAA Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic 

Athletics
1053 DIAA Waiver Procedure

1054 DIAA Investigative Procedure
1055 DIAA Appeal Procedure

1056 Recognition of Officials’ Associations

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 

State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
1050 DIAA Sportsmanship by changing the number to 14 
DE Admin. Code 1007 in order to conform with other 
number changes for the DIAA regulations.  Section 2.4.1 
Appeals, is also amended in order to align it with the other 
changes in the DIAA regulations.  In the April 1st Register of 
Regulations Volume 7 Issue 10 the publication did not show 
this change by crossing out the version of 2.4.1 that was 
removed.  The error has been corrected in the final version.

The Secretary of Education also seeks the consent of the 
State Board of Education to repeal and replace the other 
eight (8) DIAA regulations.

Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA), 
14 DE Admin. Code 1025 will be renumbered as 14 DE 
Admin. Code 1006 and retain the same name.  It now 
includes the content of 14 DE Admin. Code 1053 DIAA 
Waiver Procedure, 14 DE Admin. Code 1054 DIAA 
Investigative Procedure and 14 DE Admin. Code 1055 
DIAA Appeal Procedure.  In addition, it includes sections 
on: the organization’s name and purpose; on membership; 
the Board of Directors; the Executive Director; 
responsibilities of the member schools; the reporting of 
violations and protests and complaints to DIAA and 
additional penalties and fines.  The section on the reporting 
of violations and protests and complaints to DIAA and the 
section on additional penalties and fines were formally in 14 
DE Admin Code 1051 and 1052.  Delaware Interscholastic 
Athletic Association (DIAA), 14 DE Admin. Code 1025 has 
also been revised to reflect the changes in the Delaware 
Interscholastic Athletic Association processes and 
procedures as found in the reorganization of DIAA 
through14 Del.C. Ch.3.

DIAA Senior High School Interscholastic Athletics 14 
DE Admin. Code 1051 and DIAA Junior High/Middle 
School Interscholastic Athletics 14 DE Admin. Code 1052 
have been renumbered as 14 DE Admin. Code 1008 DIAA 
Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic Athletics and 14 
DE Admin. Code 1009 DIAA Senior High School 
Interscholastic Athletics. Both 1008 and 1009 will now 
include the content of two previous regulations 14 DE 
Admin. Code 1049 DIAA Definitions and 14 DE Admin. 
Code 1056 Recognition of Officials’ Associations.  Both 
1008 and 1009 have been totally realigned.  Instead of 36 
and 38 sections respectively the regulations have ten (10) 
sections which are parallel in design. These regulations have 
also been revised to reflect the changes in the Delaware 
Interscholastic Athletic Association as found in the 
reorganization of DIAA through14 Del.C. Ch.3.

In addition to the realignment of 14 DE Admin. Code 
1008 and 1009 they contain the following changes:

1. The term “Relative Caregiver” was added in all 
references to parents and guardians in order to 
include that type of student/adult relationship.
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2. Under 2.2 Eligibility, Residence, “with the 
exception of boarding school students” was added 
to 2.2.1.

3. The status of students who are homeless was added 
in 2.2.1.6 and 2.4.2.6 in 14 DE Admin. Code 1008 
and in 2.2.1.8 and 2.4.2.6 in 14 DE Admin. Code 
1009.

4. In section 2.3.2 in 14 DE Admin. Code 1008 and 
2.3.3 in 14 DE Admin. Code 1009. issues have 
been clarified for students with disabilities who are 
placed in a special school or programs administered 
by a school district or charter school which 
sponsors junior high/middle school and senior high 
school interscholastic athletics.  In the April 1st

Register of Regulations Volume 7 Issue 10 the 
publication did not show that in 14 DE Admin. 
Code 1009 sections 2.3.3 and 2.3.3.1 were 
eliminated.  This error has been corrected in the 
final version.

5. In 2.5.1.5, under 2.5 Eligibility, Amateur Status, the 
permissible cash value of a gift was increased from 
$50.00 to $150.00.

6. In 2.7.1.2 and 2.7.1.2.1 the definition of the term 
“Hardship has been clarified as well as conditions 
for seeking a waiver under the hardship rule.  Also, 
2.7.2.1 was added (in 14 DE Admin. Code 1009 
only) to clarify the eligibility status of eighth grade 
students who are in eighth grade for a second time.

7. Under 2.8 (in 14 DE Admin. Code 1009 only) the 
term “international students” was substituted for 
“foreign students” when referring to students who 
are not part of a foreign exchange program and 
these “international students” will now be treated as 
transfer students under DIAA regulations.

8. Under 4.2 Practice Sessions, in 4.2.1 the minimum 
number of practice days has been changed from 
“(3) three weeks” to “21 calendar days”.  In 4.2.3 
the sentence “However, there shall be one day of no 
activity (practice, scrimmage or contests) during 
any seven day period” was added at the end.

9. Under 5.4 All-Star Contests in 5.4.5 (in 14 DE 
Admin. Code 1009 only), the financial report now 
has to be filed in ninety (90) days not Thirty (30) 
days and the fine for not filing on time has been 
raised from $50.00 to $300.00.

10. Under 7.5 Coaching Out of Season, in 7.5.1 (in 14
DE Admin. Code 1009 only), the status of eighth 
and ninth grade students has been clarified.  In 
7.5.2.4 the words “as well as to members of the 
student body” was added at the end of the sentence 
(in both 14 DE Admin. Code 1008 and 1009).

11. Under 9.1 Award in 9.1.1 “not more than $150.00" 
was added after the word “symbolic” to place a cap 

on the value of awards.  In 9.1.4 the retail aggregate 
value of the awards was increased from $100.00 to 
$150.00.

12. The reference to boxing was removed from both 14 
DE Admin Code 1008 and 1009.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on March 19, 
2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  Written 
comments were received from the State Council for Citizens 
with Disabilities and the Governor’s Advisory Council for 
Exceptional Citizens.  The department offers the following 
comments:

The State Council for Citizens with Disabilities and the 
Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens 
suggested that the definition of “Student with a disability” 
was under inclusive because it does not specifically refer to 
Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, that students who 
attend the Sterck School are being treated differently than 
students who attend other special schools, and that Section 
5.1.4.1 of 14 DE Admin Code 1008 and Section 5.1.4.1 of 
14 DE Admin. Code 1009 violate Title IX of the Education 
Amendments Act of 1972.

Section 2.3.2 of 14 DE Admin Code §1008 and Section 
2.3.3 of 14 DE Admin. Code 1009 address where students 
with disabilities who are placed in special schools or 
programs are eligible to participate in interscholastic 
athletics.  By definition, the regulations limit special schools 
and programs to those schools and programs that serve 
students who have been identified as in need of special 
education pursuant to the IDEA.  Students qualifying for 
protection under Section 504 are eligible to participate in 
interscholastic athletics at their regular school under the 
same eligibility criteria as any other student.  Any student, 
including those qualifying for protection under Section 504, 
who needs relief from a particular situation, may seek a 
waiver pursuant to14 DE Admin. Code 1006.9.

Regarding the Councils’ concerns that Sterck students 
are being treated differently than students attending other 
special schools, the copy of the regulation that was approved 
by DIAA and the State Board of Education and forwarded to 
the Register for publication indicated that sections 2.3.3 and 
2.3.3.1 were being deleted and what was published as 
section 2.3.4 was supposed to be a new section 2.3.3.   With 
the deletion of sections 2.3.3 and 2.3.3.1, the Sterck School 
is not being treated differently than all other special schools. 
If a special school, including the Sterck School, chooses to 
sponsor interscholastic athletics, their students would be 
expected to compete on that team.  DIAA does, however, 
have the power to hear individual waivers of this rule.  See
14 DE Admin. Code 1006.9.

The Department has carefully considered the Councils’ 
concern that section 5.1.4.1 of 14 DE Admin Code 1008
and section 5.1.4.1 of 14 DE Admin. Code 1009 violate 
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Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972.  The 
Department respectfully disagrees.  Title IX permits schools 
to field separate teams for members of each sex when either 
the sport is a contact sport or the excluded sex’s athletic 
opportunities have been previously limited.  The policy 
behind DIAA’s exclusion of male athletes from all-female 
teams is to provide female athletes with athletic 
opportunities that have historically been denied.  See
Williams v. School District of Bethlehem, PA, 998 F.2d 168 
(3d Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1043(1994).

In addition, 14 DE Admin Code 1008 2.3.4 and 
Regulation14 DE Admin. Code 1009.2.3.6 and their 
prohibition of participation in interscholastic athletics if a 
student is enrolled in an alternative school for disciplinary 
reasons, reflects the long-standing policy of DSSAA, 
DIAA’s predecessor organization, and is consistent with the 
14 DE Admin. Code 610.7.0. Regarding the Councils’ 
concern with mandatory caps on years of participation in a 
sport and age limits, DIAA carefully weighed the risks of 
competition against the obvious benefits and struck a 
balance which allows for waivers of the age rule on a non-
scoring basis in non-contact sports. Lastly, the 5 consecutive 
day rule set forth in section 3.15 of both 14 DE Admin. 
Code 1008 and 1009 has been in place for some time and 
was readopted by DIAA at the request of its Sports Medicine 
Committee.  DIAA has received no complaints from 
member schools, parents or students that it is overly 
burdensome.

Therefore, with the exception of correcting some 
grammatical errors, no changes are recommended in 
response to the comments received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 
DE Admin Code 1050 Sportsmanship and to repeal and 
replace 14 DE Admin. Code 1025, 1049, 1051, 1052, 1053, 
1054, 1055, and 1056 by creating 14 DE Admin. Code 
1006, 1007, 1008 and 1009.  With the exception of 14 DE 
Admin. Code 1050 Sportsmanship the regulations have 
been totally reformatted and amended as indicated in the 
Summary.  These changes are necessary for the proper 
operation of the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic 
Association.

III. Decision to Amend and to repeal and Replace  the 
Regulations

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1050 and to 
repeal and replace 14 DE Admin. Code 1025, 1049, 1051, 
1052, 1053, 1054, 1055, and 1056.  Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del.C. Ch.3, 14 DE Admin. Code 1025, 1050, 1049, 
1051, 1052, 1053, 1054, 1055, and 1056 attached hereto as 

Exhibit “B” are hereby amended and repealed and replaced. 
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), these 
sections of 14 DE Admin. Code are hereby amended and 
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective 
date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in 
the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation 
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1006, 1007, 1008 and 
1009 in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the 
Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch.3 on May 20, 2004.  The 
effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the 
date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 20th day of May 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

APPROVED THIS 20TH DAY OF MAY 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1006 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association 
(DIAA)
1.0 Organization Name and Purpose: The organization shall 
be known as the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic 
Association (DIAA) and shall function as the official 
designee of the Secretary of Education with the authority to 
implement the Department of Education’s Rules and 
Regulations governing the conduct of interscholastic 
athletics.

2.0 Membership in DIAA
2.1 Full Member Schools: Any secondary school 

including private, public, vocational-technical, and charter 
schools, as authorized by 14 Del.C. Ch. 5, may become a full 
member school of DIAA by payment of dues and a signed 
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affirmation of the obligations of membership.
2.1.1 A full member school is a non-voting 

member of DIAA and does not participate in its day-to-day 
governance. A full-member school may at any time make 
appropriate recommendations for policy action to the DIAA 
Board of Directors for its consideration.

2.2 Associate Member School: Any school, not a full 
member school, located within the boundaries of the state of 
Delaware and containing grades 6 through 8, or 8 through 
12, or any grouping of such grade levels, may apply for 
status as an associate member school provided the applicant 
sets forth good cause and sufficient justification why such 
school cannot become a full member school. The initial 
application may be submitted at any time but renewal 
applications shall be submitted to the DIAA office no later 
than May 1 of each year.

2.2.1 The membership application shall contain 
a statement that the school will abide by the Rules and 
Regulations of the Department of Education and the 
Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association and in those 
cases wherein the school cannot comply, the application 
shall set forth the specific rule and regulation, and a 
sufficiently acceptable explanation of why the rule or 
regulation cannot be kept in force or why the school is 
incapable of compliance.  Full compliance shall be made 
with all rules and regulations when an associate member 
school competes with a full member school of DIAA or a 
comparable state association; participates in DIAA 
sanctioned tournaments/meets in cross country, indoor track, 
wrestling (except dual-team tournaments), outdoor track, 
and golf involving the aforementioned full member schools; 
or participates in a state championship event.

2.2.2 Such associate member schools, after 
initial approval, shall be reviewed each year by the DIAA 
Board of Directors for the purpose of approving, rejecting, or 
modifying their application for renewal of associate member 
status.

2.3 Membership Dues Schedule: Yearly dues for full 
member and associate member schools shall be as follows:

2.3.1 $400 for middle schools.
2.3.2 $600 for high schools with enrollments of 

499 or less.
2.3.3 $800 for high schools with enrollments of 

999 or less.
2.3.4 $1,000 for high schools with enrollments 

of 1,499 or less.
2.3.5 $1,200 for high schools with enrollments 

of 1,999 or less.
2.3.6 $1,400 for high schools with enrollments 

of 2,000 or more.
2.3.7 Membership dues shall be paid each year 

by August 1.  Full member and associate member schools 
which fail to comply may be subject to penalties as 
determined by the DIAA Board of Directors.

2.4 Participation in State Championship Tournaments/
Meets:  Any member high school in good standing, is 
sponsoring a team in a given sport, and is in compliance with 
all applicable DIAA Rules and Regulations shall be eligible 
for the DIAA approved state championship tournament/meet 
in that sport.

2.5 Member schools shall comply with the regulations 
of the Delaware Interscholastic Association and acceptance 
of membership shall be construed as an agreement to that 
effect.

3.0 DIAA Board of Directors
3.1 Conflict of Interest: Any member of the Board of 

Directors who may be directly affected or whose school or 
school district may be directly affected by a potential 
decision related to an appeal or waiver request shall recuse 
himself or herself from consideration of the matter and shall 
not vote on that appeal or waiver request.  The Chairperson 
of the Board is responsible for maintaining the integrity of 
the decision making process.

3.2 Committees of the DIAA Board of Directors
3.2.1 DIAA Board standing committees include: 

Rules and Regulations, Officials, Sports Medicine; 
Sportsmanship and one for each DIAA recognized sport. 
The Chairperson of the DIAA Board may appoint additional 
short term committees with specific assignments when 
deemed necessary.

3.2.1.1 The committee for each DIAA 
recognized sport shall have, in writing, procedures for 
determining tournament berths and selecting tournament 
sites.  Such procedures shall be on file with the Executive 
Director and sent to the administrative head of each member 
school.

3.3 Committee Membership
3.3.1 The Chairperson of the DIAA Board of 

Directors and the Executive Director shall be ex-officio 
members of all committees  Committee membership shall be 
geographically representative and committee membership 
may include administrators, athletic directors, coaches, local 
school board members, officials and public members.

3.3.2 The Chairperson of the DIAA Board of 
Directors shall appoint individuals to serve as committee 
chairpersons.  The individuals appointed shall serve for an 
indefinite period of time.  The Chairperson of the Board, 
however, with the advice of the Executive Director, in his or 
her discretion, may remove a committee chairperson.

3.3.3 The Committee Chairperson, with the 
advice and consent of the Executive Director, shall appoint 
individuals to serve on the committee.  The individuals so 
appointed shall serve for an indefinite period of time.  The 
Committee Chairperson, however, with the advice and 
consent of the Executive Director, may, in his or her 
discretion, remove individuals from the committee.
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4.0 Responsibilities of the Executive Director
4.1 Interpret the rules and regulations and grant waivers 

of rules and regulations:  Any waiver granted shall be 
temporary and shall be subject to review and approval by the 
DIAA Board at a subsequent or special meeting.  All 
decisions or actions as noted above shall be documented and 
shall be a part of any hearing or appeal procedure.

4.2 Decide issues between meetings of the Board of 
Directors. The Executive Director shall initiate a review of 
or fully investigate an alleged violation of the Rules and 
Regulations that he/she has seen, heard or read about, or 
which has been reported to him/her. Subsequent action by 
the Executive Director may include an official reprimand, 
placement on probation, a fine, the imposing of sanctions, or 
the suspension from participation for a designated period of 
time of a player, team, coach or official to ensure the 
necessary, orderly, and proper conduct of interscholastic 
competition.

4.3 Carry on the business of the DIAA Board and 
DIAA between meetings: Waiver requests decided by the 
Executive Director shall be temporary and shall be subject 
too review and final approval by the Board of Directors.  No 
school or individual shall be penalized in any case in which 
the DIAA Board reverses an earlier ruling of the Executive 
Director.  In addition, the Executive Director shall 
administer the day-to-day operation of the organization.

5.0 Responsibilities, Powers, and Duties of the 
Administrative Head of School

5.1 Responsibilities of Administrative Head of School
5.1.1 The administrative head of middle level 

and high school member schools shall be responsible for the 
conduct of the interscholastic athletic program in which 
representative teams participate including the organization 
and scheduling of individuals and teams.  The administrative 
head may delegate his or her authority, but such delegation 
will not negate the responsibility for a violation of the DIAA 
Regulations by his/her school.

5.2 Powers and Duties of Administrative Head of 
School 

5.2.1 The administrative head of each member 
school shall exercise general control over all of the 
interscholastic athletic matters of his/her school which 
include but are not limited to the following:

5.2.1.1 Sanctioning all interscholastic athletic 
contests in which his/her school participates.

5.2.1.2 Excluding any contestant because of 
improper conduct.

5.2.1.3 Excluding any contestant whose 
physical health would be jeopardized by such participation, 
because of illness or injury suffered, until such time as the 
contestant is declared physically fit by the school or 
attending physician.

5.2.1.4 Protecting the well-being of all 

visitors and officials attending interscholastic athletic 
contests conducted by his/her school. Administrative heads 
of member schools shall be expected to provide adequate 
security and, in the absence of such provisions, penalties 
may be imposed.

5.2.1.4.1 When a contest is conducted 
at a neutral site, the administrative heads of the participating 
schools shall be held jointly responsible for the protection 
and well-being of all visitors and officials. In the absence of 
adequate security, penalties may be imposed upon either or 
both of the schools.

5.2.1.5 Protecting the well-being of the 
school’s participants by providing them with safe and 
suitable uniforms and equipment.

5.2.1.6 Ensuring that all required contracts 
for athletic contests in which the school participates are in 
writing and bear the proper signatures.

5.2.1.7 Designating a staff member of the 
school as the faculty manager for the teams representing the 
school or to serve as the faculty manager.

5.2.1.8 Ensuring that an authorized 
representative accompanies the school’s teams to all 
contests.

5.2.1.9 Certifying in writing the eligibility of 
his/her school’s contestants in accordance with the 
Regulations of the Department of Education.

5.2.1.10 Exercising such other powers 
regarding the interscholastic athletic program of the school 
as are consistent with the needs of the school and with the 
provisions and spirit of the Regulations of the Department of 
Education.

5.2.1.11 Urging all students competing on 
the school’s teams to obtain medical accident insurance 
which covers athletic participation.

6.0 Amendments to Department of Education 
Regulations

6.1 The DIAA Board, The Secretary of Education, the 
Executive Director of DIAA or any member school may 
propose changes, additions or deletions to the Department of 
Education regulations.

6.1.1 Proposed changes shall be submitted in 
writing by a member school(s) to the Executive Director and 
these proposed changes and any other changes submitted by 
the Secretary of Education or the Executive Director of 
DIAA or the DIAA Board of Directors shall be reviewed by 
the Rules and Regulations Committee.

6.1.2 Any proposed changes to the Regulations 
along with comments received from the Rules and 
Regulations Committee, shall be considered at a scheduled 
meeting of the DIAA Board. Proposed changes adopted by 
the Board shall thereafter be submitted to the Secretary of 
Education who will place them on the State Board of 
Education agenda for review and final approval.
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6.1.2.1 All member schools shall then be 
advised in writing of any proposed changes. The member 
schools and the public shall have an opportunity to review 
and comment on the proposed changes during the thirty day 
period that the regulations are advertised in the Register of 
Regulations (as per the Administrative Procedures Act).

7.0 Reporting Violations of Department of Education 
Regulations and Protests and Complaints to DIAA

7.1 Reporting violations of Department of Education 
regulations

7.1.1 If a school violates a provision of the 
Department of Education regulations the administrative head 
or his/her designee shall notify the Executive Director in 
writing of the violation. All violations shall be reviewed by 
the DIAA Board of Directors which may impose additional 
penalties.

7.1.1.1 Additional penalties may be imposed 
for repeat offences or as deemed necessary to assure proper 
conduct of interscholastic athletics.

7.2 Reporting Protests and Complaints
7.2.1 All protests and complaints brought before 

DIAA shall be in writing and shall be acted on only after the 
administrative head of the school involved has been given an 
opportunity to appear before the Board of Directors.

8.0 DIAA Board of Directors Investigative Procedure
8.1 The following investigative procedure shall be 

followed when the DIAA office receives information 
indicating that an incident has occurred which is not in the 
best interests of the interscholastic athletic programs of the 
member schools of DIAA.

8.1.1 The administrative head of the member 
school involved shall be notified by telephone and confirmed 
by letter of the pending investigation (copy to be forwarded 
to the chief school officer). The notification shall contain an 
explanation of the nature of the investigation and identify the 
person(s) conducting the investigation.

8.1.2 Permission shall be obtained from the 
administrative head of the member school to interview 
students and/or staff members and each person interviewed 
shall be informed of the nature of the investigation.

8.1.3 Upon completion of the investigation, a 
written statement of charges shall be presented to the 
administrative head of the charged school (copy to be 
forwarded to the chief school officer).

8.1.4 When immediate punitive action by the 
Executive Director is necessary, the action taken shall be 
stated in writing.

8.1.5 When charges are to be presented to the 
DIAA Board of Directors, the charged school shall be 
advised of the meeting date, time, and location and shall be 
provided with an opportunity to respond to the charges.

9.0 Waiver of DIAA Rules and Regulation
9.1 General

9.1.1 The DIAA Board has the authority to set 
aside the effect of any athletic rule or regulation, subject to 
any limitations set forth in the specific rule or regulation, 
when the affected party establishes by the preponderance of 
the evidence, all of the following conditions:

9.1.1.1 In the case of eligibility waiver 
requests, there exists a hard ship as defined by 9.2.1;

9.1.1.2 Strict enforcement of the rule in the 
particular case will not serve to accomplish the purpose of 
the Rule;

9.1.1.3 The spirit of the rule being waived 
will not be offended or compromised;

9.1.1.4 The [principal principle] of 
educational balance over athletics will not be offended or 
compromised; and

9.1.1.5 The waiver will not result in a safety 
risk to teammates or competitors.

9.1.2 Waivers are exceptional and extraordinary 
relief from the athletic rules and regulations.  Ignorance of 
any rule alone, whether by the student athlete, his/her family 
or school, shall not be sufficient reason for waiving a rule. 
The burden of proof rests on the applicant (the student, his/
her parents or guardians, principal, headmaster or other 
affected party) to show extenuating circumstances 
warranting waiver.

9.1.3 The waiver request shall contain all facts 
pertaining to the case, including sufficient data to make it 
possible to reach a decision without further investigation.  It 
is not the duty of the Executive Director or the DIAA Board 
to produce or collect information.

9.1.4 Waiver requests would be filed promptly 
when it becomes apparent to the student, principal, 
headmaster or other affected party, that a waiver will be 
required.  In any event, all requests for a waiver of the rules, 
with all documentation complete, must be received by the 
Executive Director at least 21 calendar days before the next 
regularly scheduled meeting of the DIAA Board in order to 
be placed on the agenda for that meeting.

9.1.4.1 Notwithstanding this requirement, the 
Chairperson of the DIAA Board may at his/her discretion 
add a waiver request to an agenda in an emergency situation. 
Failure to file a waiver request in a timely manner when all 
information is available shall not be considered an 
emergency situation.

9.1.5 The applicant is entitled to a hearing on 
his/her waiver request.  Waiver hearings shall be conducted 
in an informal manner that affords all parties the opportunity 
to present all information and all relevant arguments.

9.1.5.1 The DIAA Board may administer 
oaths, take testimony, hear proofs and receive exhibits into 
evidence at any hearing.  Testimony at any hearing shall be 
under oath or affirmation.
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9.1.5.2 Any party to a proceeding before the 
DIAA Board may be represented by counsel.  An attorney 
representing a party in a proceeding before the Board shall 
notify the Executive Director of the representation in writing 
as soon as practicable.

9.1.5.3 Strict rules of evidence do not apply. 
Evidence having probative value commonly accepted by 
reasonably prudent people in the conduct of their affairs may 
be admitted into evidence.

9.1.5.4 Any document introduced into 
evidence at the hearing shall be marked by the Board and 
shall be a part of the record of the hearing.  The party 
offering the document into evidence shall provide a copy of 
the document to each of the other parties, if any, and to each 
of the Board members present for the hearing unless 
otherwise directed.

9.1.5.5 Any request by the DIAA Board for 
additional information pertaining to a waiver request shall be 
promptly supplied by the affected students, coaches, and 
member schools.  

9.1.5.6 DIAA shall provide a stenographic 
reporter at a hearing at its own expense.

9.1.6 The DIAA Board shall consider the entire 
record of the case in reaching its final decision.  Unless 
otherwise provided, a decision made on a waiver request 
shall be effective immediately.

9.1.7 The DIAA Board’s decision shall be 
incorporated into a final order, which shall be signed and 
mailed to the parties within twenty (20) days of the hearing.  

9.2 Eligibility Rule Waiver Request
9.2.1 Unless specifically defined in the 

eligibility rule in question, “hardship” means a hardship 
peculiar to the student athlete caused by unforeseen events 
beyond the election, control or creation of the student 
athlete, his/her family, or school, which deprive him or her 
of all or part of one of his or her opportunities to participate 
in a particular sports season.  Ignorance of any rule alone, 
whether by the student athlete, his/her family or school, shall 
not be sufficient reason for waiving a rule. The waiver 
provision is intended to restore eligibility that has been lost 
as a result of a hardship situation.  Injury, illness or 
accidents, which cause a student to fail to meet the basic 
requirements, are possible causes for a hardship 
consideration. 

9.2.2 All eligibility hardship waiver requests 
shall be processed on forms approved by the DIAA Board 
and in accordance with the following procedures:

9.2.2.1 A request for a waiver of the 
eligibility rules must be directed by the student to the 
involved member school’s principal, headmaster or their 
designee who shall then file a written request stating the full 
particulars of the case and the reasons felt by the student or 
the administrator, or both, for granting the waiver.

9.2.2.1.1 All requests for eligibility 

rule waivers must be signed by the Principal or Headmaster 
of the school requesting the waiver and must include a letter 
from the Principle or Headmaster indicating whether the 
school supports the waiver request.

9.2.2.1.2 The school shall submit a 
waiver request form when requested by individual student 
athletes.  The DIAA Board, however, may take into 
consideration the school’s position on the waiver request 
when rendering its decision.

9.2.2.2 To aid the DIAA Board in making an 
informed decision, the waiver request shall include the 
student’s:

9.2.2.2.1 Official transcripts from the 
sixth grade through the current school year and semester 
grades for the current school year;

9.2.2.2.2 Attendance records for the 
last two (2) years;

9.2.2.2.3 A letter from the Principal or 
Headmaster either supporting or not supporting the waiver 
request;

9.2.2.2.4 Medical records (if 
applicable);

9.2.2.2.5 Legal documentation (if 
applicable);

9.2.2.2.6 IEP’s (if applicable); and
9.2.2.2.7 Any documentation/

evidence to substantiate a hardship or extenuating 
circumstance exits.

9.2.3 An appearance by the student and [their 
his or her] parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver before the 
DIAA Board is mandatory on requests for an eligibility 
waiver.  An appearance by a school representative is strongly 
encouraged.

9.3 Waiver Requests of Non-eligibility Rules
9.3.1 The Principal or Headmaster of a member 

school, or any other individual may request a waiver of a 
rule, regulation, guideline, policy or procedure of DIAA not 
directly related to student eligibility when special 
circumstances arise that, in the Principal or Headmaster’s 
opinion, or in the opinion of the individual, call for relief 
from, or modification of the effects of the rule.

9.3.2 All requests for non-eligibility waivers 
must be in writing, signed by the Principal or Headmaster.  

9.3.3 An appearance by the Principal or 
Headmaster or his/her designee or other individual 
requesting the non-eligibility waiver is optional.  If the 
Principal or Headmaster or his/her designee or other 
individual requesting the non-eligibility waiver choose to 
appear before the DIAA Board he/she must notify the 
Executive Director of his/her intent to do so at the time the 
request for waiver is filed. Otherwise, the principal or his/her 
designee, or other individual, may attend the meeting but 
may not be permitted to address the DIAA Board.

9.3.4 If the waiver requested would affect more 
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than one member school, the waiver applicant shall provide 
the position of the other affected member schools on the 
waiver request in their written application.  The failure to 
provide this information may result in a delay in the Board’s 
consideration of the waiver request.

10.0 Appeal Procedure to the DIAA Board of 
Directors

10.1 Decisions of the Executive Director, with the 
exception of those to uphold or rescind the suspension 
resulting from a game ejection, may be appealed de novo to 
the DIAA Board of Directors. The Board of Directors has 
been designated by the Secretary of Education to conduct 
fact finding hearings or conferences in matters regarding 
interscholastic athletics.

10.1.1 Initiation of an Appeal to the DIAA Board
10.1.1.1 Whenever a right of appeal of a 

decision to the DIAA Board of Directors is provided, an 
aggrieved person who is under the regulatory authority of 
DIAA and who has, in fact, suffered a direct injury due to the 
decision, may initiate an appeal by filing a Notice of Appeal 
with the Executive Director.  The notice shall be in writing, 
shall be signed by the person making the request (or by the 
party’s authorized representative), and shall be delivered to 
the Executive Director by certified mail.

10.1.1.2 The notice of appeal shall briefly 
state the decision from which the appeal is taken, the law, 
rule or regulation involved in the decision, the names of the 
parties, and the grounds for the appeal. 

10.1.1.3 The notice of appeal shall be filed 
within a reasonable time after the controversy arises, but in 
no event shall a notice be filed more than thirty (30) calendar 
days after the appellant’s receipt of written notice that 
official action has been taken by the Executive Director or 
other authorized person or body.

10.1.1.3.1 Notwithstanding the above, 
the notice of appeal shall be served ten (10) calendar days 
after appellant’s receipt of written notice that official action 
has been taken by the Executive Director or the 
Sportsmanship Committee pursuant to 14  DE Admin. Code 
1007.

10.1.1.4 A copy of the notice of appeal 
shall be delivered to al other parties to the proceeding at the 
same time it is sent to the Executive Director.  A copy of any 
other paper or document filed with DIAA  shall also be 
provided to all other parties to the proceeding.  If a party is 
represented by legal counsel, delivery to legal counsel is 
sufficient.

10.1.1.5 Upon receipt of an adequately 
detailed notice of appeal, the Executive Director shall place 
the appeal on the on the next meeting agenda of DIAA.

10.1.2 Record of Prior Proceedings
10.1.2.1 If proceedings were previously 

held on the matters complained of in the notice, the 

committee which conducted those proceedings shall file a 
certified copy of the record of the proceedings with the 
Executive Director.

10.1.2.2 The record shall contain any 
written decision, a copy of the rule or regulation involved, 
any minutes of the meetings(s) at which a disputed action 
was taken, a verbatim transcript of the hearing conducted by 
the party below, and all exhibits presented at the agency.

10.1.2.3 The record shall be filed with the 
Executive Director within ten (10) days of the date the 
Executive Director notifies the committee that the notice was 
filed, unless directed otherwise.  A copy of the record shall 
be sent to the appellant when it is submitted to the Executive 
Director.

10.1.3 DIAA Board Hearing Procedures for 
Appeals

10.1.3.1 Record Review
10.1.3.1.1 If a hearing was previously 

held on the matters complained of in the notice, the parties to 
the proceeding before the DIAA Board may agree to submit 
the matter to the Board on the existing record without the 
presentation of additional evidence.  The parties shall inform 
the Executive Director in writing of their agreement to 
submit the matter to the Board on the existing record no later 
than ten (10) days after the notice was filed.

10.1.3.1.2 If the parties agree to submit 
the matter for decision on the existing record, they shall 
support their positions in written statements limited to 
matters in the existing record.  The written statements shall 
be filed no later than ten (10) days before the consideration 
date, unless otherwise directed.

10.1.3.1.3 If the parties agree to submit 
the matter for decision on the existing record, they may 
nonetheless request oral argument be heard on the 
consideration date.  A request for oral argument shall be 
submitted with the written statement of appeal.  There will 
be no oral argument unless it is requested when the written 
statement of appeal is submitted.  Oral argument shall be 
limited to the matters raised in the written statements and 
shall be limited to fifteen (15) minutes per side with an 
additional five (5) minutes for rebuttal.

10.1.3.1.4 If the parties agree to submit 
the matter for decision on the existing record, the DIAA 
Board’s decision shall be based on the existing record, the 
written statements and oral argument, if any.

10.1.3.2 Evidentiary Hearings
10.1.3.2.1 Evidentiary hearings will be 

held when there has not been a prior hearing, when the 
parties do not agree to rest on the existing record, or when 
the DIAA Board otherwise decides to receive additional 
evidence.

10.1.3.2.2 The Chairperson or his/her 
designated representative shall be the hearing officer.  The 
hearing officer shall conduct the hearing and make rulings 
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on the admissibility of evidence.
10.1.3.2.3 The DIAA Board of 

Directors may continue, adjourn, or postpone a hearing for 
good cause on motion of a party or upon its own motion.

10.1.3.2.4 Objections to the admission 
of evidence shall be brief and shall state the grounds for such 
objections.  Objections with regard to the form of question 
will not be considered.

10.1.3.2.5 The hearing will proceed 
with the appellant first presenting its evidence and case.  The 
responding party may then present its case.  The appellant 
will have an opportunity to present rebuttal evidence.

10.1.3.2.6 Opening and closing 
arguments and post hearing submissions of briefs or legal 
memoranda will be permitted in the discretion of the DIAA 
Board.

10.1.3.2.7 Any person who testifies as a 
witness shall also be subject to cross examination by the 
other parties to the proceeding.  Any witness is also subject 
to examination by the DIAA Board.

10.1.3.2.8 The Board may administer 
oaths, take testimony, hear proofs and receive exhibits into 
evidence at any hearing.  Testimony at any hearing shall be 
under oath or affirmation.

10.1.3.2.9 Any party to a proceeding 
before the DIAA Board may be represented by counsel.  An 
attorney representing a party in a proceeding before the 
Board shall notify the Executive Director of the 
representation in writing as soon as practicable.

10.1.3.2.10 Strict rules of evidence do 
not apply.  Evidence having probative value commonly 
accepted by reasonably prudent people in the conduct of 
their affairs may be admitted into evidence.

10.1.3.2.11 Any document introduced 
into evidence at the hearing shall be marked by the DIAA 
Board and shall be a part of the record of the hearing.  The 
party offering the document into evidence shall provide a 
copy of the document to each of the other parties, if any, and 
to each of the DIAA Board members present for the hearing 
unless otherwise directed.

10.1.3.2.12 DIAA shall provide a 
stenographic reporter at a hearing at its own expense.

10.1.3.2.13 The Board’s decision shall 
be incorporated into a final order, which shall be signed and 
mailed to the parties within twenty (20) days of the hearing.  

11.0 Appeal to the State Board of Education: Any party 
to a controversy involving the athletic rules and regulations, 
including a waiver thereof, may appeal to the State Board of 
Education by setting forth such grievance in a petition.  The 
petition or notice of appeal shall be served on the Secretary 
of Education no later than thirty (30) calendar days after 
receipt of the decision.  In addition, a copy of the petition or 
notice of appeal shall be served on the Executive Director of 

DIAA by certified or registered mail.  Any decision shall 
otherwise be final.  All appeals to the State Board of 
Education shall be on the basis of the record. (See14 Del.C.
§312 and the State Board of Education Manual for the 
Conduct of Hearings Before the State Board of Education).

1050 1007  DIAA Sportsmanship
1.0 Member schools are required to conduct all of their 
athletic affairs with other schools in a spirit of good 
sportsmanship.  Acts which are prima facie evidence of a 
failure to abide by this rule are those which are noted below 
and others of a similar nature which transgress the usually 
accepted code for good sportsmanship.

1.1 Failure to provide for proper control of spectators at 
a contest.  When the number of spectators is expected to be 
large in relation to the seating capacity of the facility, 
uniformed state, county, or local police shall be provided for 
crowd control.  The host school is expected to take 
reasonable and proper steps to assure crowd control under 
any foreseeable conditions.

1.2 Failure of a team or competitor to stay in a contest 
until its normal end when failure to do so is related to 
dissatisfaction with the officiating of the contest, unless the 
physical safety of the team or competitor would have been 
endangered by continuing the contest.

1.3 Harassment of game officials by a coach.  Going 
onto the playing surface to interrupt a contest in protest of a 
decision by an official; conduct by a coach, team member, or 
any individual in the official party which invokes a penalty 
against the team; continued and visible actions by a coach 
which indicate to the team and/or to the spectators that the 
coach believes the game is being improperly officiated; 
public demonstrations with game officials which indicate to 
others extreme dissatisfaction with the officiating; and such 
related actions when exhibited in aggravated form are 
evidence of poor sportsmanship.

1.4 Failure of a school to use every means at its 
disposal to impress upon its faculty, student body, team 
members, coaching staff, and spectators the importance of 
good sportsmanship before, during, and after athletic 
contests.  The host school is encouraged to read a brief 
statement concerning sportsmanship prior to the start of each 
athletic contest.

1.5 Failure of an administrator, athletic director, coach, 
athlete, official, or spectator to comply with the directions 
stipulated in the following Code of Interscholastic Athletics:

1.5.1 The School Administrator and Athletic 
Director shall:

1.5.1.1 Encourage and promote friendly 
relations and good sportsmanship throughout the school by 
requiring courtesy and proper decorum at all times, by 
familiarizing students and others in the community with the 
ideals of good sportsmanship, and by publicizing these 
concepts and attitudes so that all members of the school 
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community understand and appreciate their meaning.
1.5.1.2 Review the Sportsmanship Rule with 

all athletic staff.
1.5.1.3 Insist upon strict compliance with all 

DIAA rules and regulations.
1.5.1.4 Insist upon adequate safety provisions 

for both participants and spectators in all activities.
1.5.1.5 Encourage all to judge the success of 

the interscholastic athletic program based on the attitude of 
the participants and spectators rather than on the number of 
games won or lost.

1.5.1.6 Insist that all participants adhere to 
the highest standards of good sportsmanship as a means of 
ensuring desirable spectator attitudes.

1.5.1.7 Provide sanitary and attractive 
facilities for the dressing and housing of visiting teams and 
officials.

1.5.2 The Coach shall:
1.5.2.1 Demonstrate high ideals, good habits, 

and desirable attitudes in his/ her personal and professional 
behavior and demand the same of his/her players.

1.5.2.2 Recognize that the purpose of 
competition is to promote the physical, mental, social, and 
emotional well-being of the individual players and that the 
most important values of competition are derived from 
playing the game fairly.

1.5.2.3 Be a modest winner and a gracious 
loser.

1.5.2.4 Maintain self-control at all times and 
accept adverse decisions without public display of emotion 
or dissatisfaction with the officials. Register disagreement 
through proper channels.

1.5.2.5 Employ accepted educational 
methods in coaching and give his/her players an opportunity 
to develop and use initiative, leadership, and judgement.

1.5.2.6 Pay close attention to the physical 
well-being of his/her players, refusing to jeopardize the 
health of an individual for the sake of improving his/her 
team's chances to win.

1.5.2.7 Teach athletes that it is better to lose 
fairly than to win unfairly.

1.5.2.8 Discourage gambling, profanity, 
abusive language, and similar violations of the true 
sportsman's or sportswoman's code.

1.5.2.9 Refuse to disparage an opponent, an 
official, or others associated with interscholastic athletics 
and discourage gossip and rumors about them.

1.5.2.10 Properly supervise the athletes under 
his/her immediate care.

1.5.3 The Participant (athletes and cheerleaders) 
shall:

1.5.3.1 Be responsible for the perpetuation of 
interscholastic athletics.  Strive to enhance the image of 
athletics not only as a member of a team but also as a 

member of your school and community.
1.5.3.2 Be courteous to the visiting team. 

Your opponents wish to excel as much as you do.  Respect 
their efforts.

1.5.3.3 Play hard to the limit of your ability 
regardless of discouragement.  The true athlete does not give 
up, quarrel, cheat, bet, or grandstand.

1.5.3.4 Be modest when successful and be 
gracious in defeat.  A true sportsman or sportswoman does 
not offer excuses for failure.

1.5.3.5 Understand and observe the playing 
rules of the game and the standards of eligibility.

1.5.3.6 Respect the integrity and judgement 
of the officials and accept their decisions without complaint.

1.5.3.7 Respect the facilities of the host 
school and do not violate the trust entailed in being a guest.

1.5.4 The Official shall:
1.5.4.1 Know the rules and interpretations 

and be thoroughly trained to administer them.
1.5.4.2 Maintain self-control in all situations.
1.5.4.3 When enforcing the rules, do not 

make gestures or comments that will embarrass the players 
or coaches.

1.5.4.4 Be impartial and fair, yet firm, in all 
decisions.  A good official will not attempt to compensate 
later for an unpopular decision.

1.5.4.5 Refrain from commenting upon or 
discussing a team, player, or game situation with those not 
immediately concerned.

1.5.4.6 Conduct the game so as to enlist the 
cooperation of the players, coaches, and spectators in 
promoting good sportsmanship.

1.5.5 The Spectator shall:
1.5.5.1 Realize that he/she represents the 

school just as definitely as does a member of the team, and 
that he/she has an obligation to be a true sportsman or 
sportswoman and to encourage through his/her behavior the 
practice of good sportsmanship by others.

1.5.5.2 Recognize that good sportsmanship is 
more important than victory by approving and applauding 
good team play, individual skill, and outstanding examples 
of sportsmanship and fair play exhibited by either team.  The 
following are some examples of poor sportsmanship which 
shall not be tolerated:

1.5.5.2.1 Profanity, vulgarity, obscene 
gestures, abusive language, and/or derogatory remarks.

1.5.5.2.2 Throwing objects.
1.5.5.2.3 Going onto the playing 

surface and interrupting a contest.
1.5.5.2.4 Use of alcohol or other 

controlled substances.
1.5.5.3 Respect the judgement and integrity 

of the officials, recognizing that their decisions are based 
upon game conditions as they observe them.
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1.5.5.4 Treat visiting teams and officials as 
guests extending to them every courtesy.

1.5.5.5 Be modest in victory and gracious in 
defeat.

2.0 Processing Violations
2.1 Procedures

2.1.1 The Executive Director is specifically 
authorized to pursue any matter which, on the surface, has 
indications of being a sportsmanship violation.

2.1.2 Within twenty (20) calendar days of the 
incident, an alleged sportsmanship violation must be 
reported in writing to the Executive Director by the 
administrative head of a member school or by the Executive 
Board of an officials= association.

2.1.3 The Executive Director shall transmit a 
copy of the report to the principal of the school(s) involved.

2.1.4 Each principal concerned shall investigate 
and provide such information or answers to the report as are 
appropriate.

2.1.5 The Executive Director shall provide 
member schools and officials’ associations with a specially 
designed form to facilitate the proper reporting of 
sportsmanship related incidents.

2.1.6 Upon receipt of all reports, the Executive 
Director shall review the documents and inform the 
school(s) involved of his/her disposition of the matter.  The 
Executive Director may, in turn, refer the matter to the 
Sportsmanship Committee to investigate and adjudicate 
what appears to be a violation of the Sportsmanship Rule.

2.1.7 The Sportsmanship Committee shall 
review such available evidence as it deems necessary to 
reach a conclusion.  Actions such as requesting reports and 
conducting interviews should not be interpreted as casting 
aspersions on a school adhering to DIAA regulations, but as 
an effort to keep all parties properly informed.  Penalties up 
to and including suspensions of member schools may be 
imposed by the Sportsmanship Committee.

2.1.8 A copy of the Sportsmanship Committee's 
action shall be filed with the Executive Director and the 
administrative head of the school(s) involved.

2.2 Policies
2.2.1 The basis for the following policy 

statement is that a member school shall not be represented by 
individuals whose conduct reflects discredit upon the school. 
Insofar as unsportsmanlike actions by participants and 
spectators are concerned, the Sportsmanship Committee 
shall refer to the items previously identified in the Code of 
Interscholastic Athletics as well as the following guidelines:

2.2.1.1 The school whose administrator or 
athletic director behaves in a manner likely to have an 
adverse influence on the attitudes of the players or spectators 
may be provided with a choice of:

2.2.1.1.1 Reprimanding its 

administrator or athletic director and providing written 
documentation to the Executive Director, or

2.2.1.1.2 Suspending its administrator 
or athletic director from representing the school in athletic 
events for a specified period of time not to exceed 180 
school days, or

2.2.1.1.3 Having the entire school 
disciplined by DIAA.

2.2.1.2 An athlete shall not strike an official, 
opponent, coach, or spectator or display gross misconduct 
before, during, or after an athletic event.  The athlete, 
depending on the seriousness of the act, may be declared 
ineligible by the principal, Executive Director, or 
Sportsmanship Committee for a specified period of time not 
to exceed 180 school days.

2.2.1.3 In the case of spectators physically 
assaulting an official, coach, or player, the school may be 
given the option of either taking punitive action against the 
offender or accepting discipline from DIAA.

2.2.1.4 Schools that do not fully cooperate in 
promoting the spirit of the Sportsmanship Rule may be 
disciplined by DIAA.

2.2.1.5 The school whose coach behaves in a 
manner likely to have an adverse influence on the attitudes 
of the players or spectators may be provided with a choice 
of:

2.2.1.5.1 Reprimanding its coach and 
providing written documentation to the Executive Director, 
or

2.2.1.5.2 Suspending its coach from 
representing the school in athletic events for a specified 
period of time not to exceed 180 school days, or

2.2.1.5.3 Having the entire school 
disciplined by DIAA.

2.2.1.6 An administrator, athletic director, or 
coach may be considered as having committed an 
unsportsmanlike act if:

2.2.1.6.1 He/she makes disparaging 
remarks about the officials during or after a game either on 
the field of play, from the bench, or through any public news 
media, or

2.2.1.6.2 He/she argues with the 
official or indicates with gestures or other physical actions 
his/her dislike for a decision, or

2.2.1.6.3 He/she detains the official on 
the field of play following a game to request a ruling or 
explanation of some phase of the game, or

2.2.1.6.4 He/she makes disparaging or 
unprofessional remarks about another school's personnel.

2.2.1.7 All actions by a member school 
resulting from an investigation relative to the above policies 
shall be subject to approval by the Executive Director and/or 
the Sportsmanship Committee.

2.3 Penalties
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2.3.1 Game Ejection
2.3.1.1 A player or coach disqualified before, 

during, or after a contest for unsportsmanlike and flagrant 
verbal or physical misconduct shall be suspended from the 
next complete (a winner is determined or a tie is declared) 
contest at that level of competition and all other complete or 
suspended contests in the interim at any level of competition 
in addition to any other penalties which DIAA or a 
conference may impose.

2.3.1.1.1 A player who leaves the 
team bench area and enters the playing field, court, or mat 
during a fight or other physical confrontation shall be ejected 
from the contest.  A player who commits such an offense and 
is ejected by the game officials shall also be suspended from 
the next complete contest at that level of competition and all 
other complete or suspended contests at any level of 
competition in the interim.  Additional penalties may be 
imposed if a player leaving the bench area becomes involved 
in the altercation.

2.3.1.2 A disqualified player or coach may 
not be physically present at any contest in that sport during 
his/her suspension.

2.3.1.3 If a coach is disqualified from the 
final contest of the season, his/her suspension shall carry 
over to the next year in that sport.  In the case of an athlete, 
the same penalty shall apply if said athlete retains eligibility 
in that sport.

2.3.1.3.1 Coaches who do not fulfill 
their penalty in the same sport shall be disqualified for the 
appropriate length of time in their subsequent coaching 
assignment.

2.3.1.3.2 Seniors shall fulfill their 
penalty in the post-season all-star game in that sport.  If not 
chosen to participate in the all-star game, they shall fulfill 
their penalty in another sport during the same season or 
another sport during a subsequent season.  When a senior is 
disqualified from the last game of his/her high school career, 
the member school is requested to take appropriate 
administrative action to discipline the offending student.

See 3 DE Reg. 436 (9/1/99)
2.3.1.4 A player or coach ejected for a second 

time during the same season shall be subjected to a two-
game suspension and meet, in a timely fashion, with the 
Sportsmanship Committee accompanied by his/her principal 
or designee and, in the case of an athlete, by his/her coach.

2.3.2 The following penalties represent degrees 
of discipline in enforcing the Sportsmanship Rule:

2.3.2.1 Reprimand - a reprimand may be 
given by the Executive Director or the Sportsmanship 
Committee.  It is official notice that an unethical or 
unsportsmanlike action has occurred, is a matter of record 
and that such an occurrence must not be repeated.

2.3.2.2 Probation - probation is a more severe 
penalty and may be imposed by the Executive Director or the 

Sportsmanship Committee on a member school, a particular 
team of a member school, a particular coach or athlete of a 
member school, or an official.  Probation may be expressed 
in one of the following ways:

2.3.2.2.1 Conditional probation 
wherein the offending party may participate in regular 
season contests, sanctioned events, and conference and state 
championships provided he/she/the school files with DIAA a 
plan indicating the measures that shall be taken to alleviate 
the problem which caused him/her/the school to be placed on 
probation, or

2.3.2.2.2 Restrictive probation 
wherein a member school or a particular team of a member 
school may engage in its regular season schedule but may 
not enter any sanctioned events, participate in any playoff 
toward a conference or state championship, or be awarded a 
conference or state championship.

2.3.2.3 Suspension - a member school, a 
particular team of a member school, a particular coach or 
athlete of a member school, or an official may not participate 
in any DIAA sanctioned interscholastic competition.

2.4 Appeals
2.4.1 Decisions of the Executive Director or 

Sportsmanship Committee may be appealed to the DIAA 
Board of Directors in accordance with the procedure found 
in 14 DE Admin. Code 1006.10.  In accordance with 
subsection 1006.10.1.1.3.1, the notice of appeal shall be 
served by certified mail within ten (10) calendar days after 
the appellant’s receipt of the written notice that official 
action has been taken by the Executive Director or 
Sportsmanship Committee.

1008  DIAA Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic 
Athletics
1.0 National Federation of State High Schools, 
Conferences, Contracts and Equivalency Rules

1.1 National Federation of High school Associations
1.1.1 DIAA is affiliated with the National 

Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS).  The 
playing codes, sanctions, and other rules of the NFHS are 
adopted except as modified by the DIAA Board of Directors.

1.1.1.1 The playing rules of the United States 
Tennis Association, the United States Golf Association and 
the United States Lacrosse Association are adopted for the 
sports of tennis, golf and girls’ lacrosse respectively except 
as modified by the DIAA Board of Directors.

1.2 Conferences
1.2.1 Member schools may establish voluntary 

conference organizations that may be composed of public 
and non-public schools.  When established they must submit 
its proposed membership and its constitution and bylaws to 
the DIAA Board of Directors and must be approved by the 
DIAA Board of Directors before the schools may enter into 
any contractual agreements.
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1.2.1.1 All subsequent amendments to the 
constitution and bylaws of the conference must be 
compatible with all provisions of the DIAA Regulations; 
interpretations and rulings of the Executive Director, 
Sportsmanship Committee, and Board of Directors; state 
tournament regulations; and DIAA approved playing codes.

1.3 Contracts
1.3.1 Contracts between DIAA member schools 

or between DIAA member schools and full member schools 
of comparable state associations are encouraged but not 
required.

1.3.1.1 Conference master contracts are 
approved substitutes for individual contracts.

1.3.1.2 In the case of a dispute and provided 
either a signed individual contract or conference master 
contract was received in the DIAA office or postmarked 
prior to the contest in question, appeal may be made to the 
Executive Director or the DIAA Board of Directors which, 
after review of the circumstances, may assign an appropriate 
penalty.

1.3.1.2.1 Without a signed individual 
contract or conference master contract, a member school has 
no right of appeal to the Executive Director or the DIAA 
Board of Directors.

1.3.2 Contracts between DIAA member schools 
and non-member or associate member schools of 
comparable state associations are required.

1.3.2.1 A copy of the signed contract must be 
either received by the Executive Director or postmarked 
prior to the contest for which the agreement was drawn up. 
Failure to file a signed contract as prescribed shall result in 
the DIAA member school being assessed a $15.00 fine.

1.3.2.2 In the case of a dispute, a member 
school has no right of appeal to the Executive Director or the 
DIAA Board of Directors unless a signed individual contract 
is in place.

1.3.3 Contracts shall be interchanged according 
to the following provisions:

1.3.3.1 Contracts on the accepted form shall 
be arranged by the competing schools for each season's 
interscholastic athletic contests.

1.3.3.2 Contracts shall be drawn up by the 
faculty manager or other designated staff member of the 
home school of the earlier contest.

1.3.3.3 A signed contract or any part thereof 
may not be nullified or modified except by mutual 
agreement of both schools involved.

1.3.4 If a game is not played, it shall be 
considered “no contest” unless a signed individual contract 
or conference master contract was received in the DIAA 
office or postmarked prior to the contest in question and one 
of the participating schools breached the agreement in which 
case appeal may be made to the Executive Director or the 
DIAA Board of Directors.

1.4 Equivalent Rules
1.4.1 A full member school shall not participate 

in a scrimmage or contest with an instate school that is not a 
member in good standing of DIAA.

1.4.1.1 Scrimmage is defined as: an informal 
competition between schools in which officials are not 
compensated, a score is not kept, the time periods are 
modified, the results of the competition are not reported to 
the media, the coaches may interrupt the play tp provide 
instruction and the competition is strictly for practice 
purposes.

1.4.2 A full member school shall not participate 
in a scrimmage or contest with an associate or non-member 
school of another state association unless the opposing 
school, as part of a written contract, certifies that its 
contestants are eligible under the rules of its home state 
association.

1.4.3 An associate member school shall not 
participate in a scrimmage or contest with an in-state school 
that is not a member in good standing of DIAA unless the 
opposing school complies with the conditions specified in 
1.4.2.  However, the opposing school shall be exempt from 
those rules which DIAA has waived for its associate member 
school.

1.4.4 Member schools shall not participate in a 
practice, scrimmage, or contest with a non-school sponsored 
team.

1.4.5 Member schools shall not participate in a 
practice, scrimmage, or contest with college students.  This 
provision shall not apply to games played against the alumni 
or faculty of the school when the game is sponsored by 
school authorities.

1.4.6 A school which participates in a game 
against an illegal opponent shall be required to forfeit the 
contest and be assessed a $100.00 fine.

2.0 Eligibility: No student shall represent a school in an 
interscholastic scrimmage or contest if he/she does not meet 
the following requirements.

2.1 Eligibility, Grades and Age
2.1.1 The junior high /middle school 

interscholastic program shall include grades 6-8, inclusive. 
No junior high/middle school student who has completed a 
season at the junior high/middle school level shall compete 
in the same sport at the senior high school level during the 
same school year.  A junior high/middle school student who 
participates in a varsity or sub-varsity game at the high 
school level shall be ineligible to participate at the junior 
high/ middle school level in the same sport.

2.1.1.1 Eighth-grade students who become 15 
years of age on or after June 15 in a school terminating in the 
eighth grade shall be eligible for all sports during the current 
school year provided all other eligibility requirements are 
met.
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2.1.1.2 Permission shall be granted for 15-
year old eighth-grade students in a school terminating in the 
eighth grade who are ineligible for junior high/middle school 
competition to participate in the district high school athletic 
program provided they meet all other eligibility 
requirements.  In determining the age of a contestant, the 
birth date as entered on the birth record of the Bureau of 
Vital Statistics shall be required and shall be so certified on 
all eligibility lists.

2.1.2 Requests for waiver of the age 
requirement shall be considered only for participation on an 
unofficial, non-scoring basis in non-contact sports.

2.2 Eligibility, Residence
2.2.1 With the exception of boarding school 

students, a student must be living with his/her custodial 
parent(s) legal guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver in the 
attendance zone of the school which he/she attends in order 
to be eligible for interscholastic athletics in that school.  In 
cases of joint custody, the custodial parent shall be the parent 
with actual physical placement as determined by court 
action. In the case of shared custody the parents must 
commit to sending the student to a particular school for the 
year.  Maintaining multiple residences to circumvent this 
requirement shall render the student ineligible.

2.2.1.1 A student who, pursuant to 
established school board policy or administrative procedure, 
remains in a school he/she has been attending after his/her 
legal residence changes to the attendance zone of a different 
school in the same school district, may exercise, prior to the 
first official student day of the subsequent academic year, a 
one time election to remain at his/her current school and 
thereby not lose athletic eligible.  If a student chooses to 
remain at his/her current school and then transfers to the 
school in his/her new attendance zone on or after the first 
official student day of the subsequent academic year, he/she 
shall be ineligible for ninety (90) school days.

2.2.1.2 A student who changes residence to a 
different attendance zone after the start of the last marking 
period and, pursuant to established school board policy or 
administrative procedure, is granted permission to continue 
attending his/her present school, the student shall retain his/
her athletic eligibility in that school for the remainder of the 
school year provided all other eligibility requirements are 
met.

2.2.1.3 A student may be residing outside of 
the attendance zone of the school which he/she attends if the 
student is participating in the Delaware School Choice 
Program as authorized by 14 Del.C., Ch.4.

2.2.1.4 A student who is a non-resident of 
Delaware shall be eligible to attend a public school, charter 
school or career-technical school  if, in accordance with 14 
Del.C. §607, his/her custodial parent, legal guardian or 
Relative Caregiver is a full-time employee of that district.

2.2.1.5 Notwithstanding 2.2.1, a student shall 

be eligible at a public school, charter school or vocational-
technical school if he/ she is enrolled in accordance with 14
Del.C. §202(f), the [Relative] Caregivers School 
Authorization.

2.2.1.5.1 An exception would be a 
student whose [relative caregiver Relative Caregiver] does 
not provide the documentation required by the [Caregivers’
Relative Caregiver] School Authorization (proof of relation 
and proof of full-time care) but is permitted to register on the 
basis of a petition for the transfer of guardianship.  A student 
who registers on the basis of a petition for the transfer of 
guardianship is not eligible to scrimmage or compete until 
the Relative Caregiver has provided the aforementioned 
required documentation or has received a signed court order 
designating him/her as the student’s legal guardian.

2.2.1.6 Notwithstanding 2.2.1, a student 
who is homeless as defined in the McKinney-Vento Act, 42 
U.S.C. 11434a(2) shall be eligible to participate at the public 
school in which he/she is enrolled.

2.3 Eligibility, Enrollment and Attendance
2.3.1 A student must be legally enrolled in the 

junior high/middle school which he/she represents in order 
to participate in a practice, scrimmage, or contest.

2.3.2 Students with disabilities who are placed 
in special schools or programs administered by a school 
district or charter school which sponsors junior high/middle 
school interscholastic athletics.

2.3.2.1 Definitions:
“Campus” means a contiguous land 

area containing one or more school buildings.
“Special School or Program” means 

a school or program approved by the Department of 
Education with the approval of the State Board of Education 
to serve students with disabilities, but does not include 
alternative schools.

“Student With a Disability” means a 
“child with a disability” as that term in the Administrative 
Manual for Special Education Services (AMSES), 14 DE 
Admin. Code 925.

2.3.2.2 A student with a disability who is 
placed in a special school or program administered by a 
school district or charter school which sponsors junior high/
middle school interscholastic athletics shall be eligible to 
participate in interscholastic athletics as follows:

2.3.2.2.1 If the special school or 
program sponsors the interscholastic sport in question, the 
student shall be eligible to participate only at the school or 
program.

2.3.2.2.2 If the special school or 
program does not sponsor the interscholastic sport in 
question and the student is served in a regular junior high/
middle school for all or part of the school day, the student 
shall be eligible only at that regular junior high/middle 
school.  
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2.3.2.2.3 If the special school or 
program does not sponsor the interscholastic sport in 
question, and the student is served exclusively in the special 
school or program, and the special school or program is 
located on the campus of a regular junior high/middle 
school, the student shall be eligible only at the regular junior 
high/middle school on the same campus.

2.3.2.2.4 If the special school or 
program does not sponsor the interscholastic sport in 
question, and the student is served exclusively in the special 
school or program, and the special school or program is not 
located on the campus of a regular junior high/middle school 
the student shall be eligible only at the regular junior high/
middle school designated to serve the special school’s or 
program’s students.

2.3.2.2.4.1 School districts or 
charter schools which administer special schools or 
programs and have multiple middle schools shall decide 
which of its regular middle schools shall be designated to 
serve special school or program students in these 
circumstances.  

2.3.3 A student who is participating in the 
Delaware School Choice Program, as authorized by 14 
Del.C. Ch.4, is obligated to attend the choice school for a 
minimum of two (2) years unless the student’s custodial 
parent(s), legal guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver relocate to 
a different school district or the student fails to meet the 
academic requirements of the choice school.  If a student 
attends a choice school for less than two (2) years and 
subsequently returns to his/her home school, the student 
must receive a release from the choice district in order to 
legally enroll at his/her home school.  Without a release, the 
student would not be legally enrolled and consequently 
would be ineligible to participate in interscholastic athletics.

2.3.4 A student may not participate in a practice, 
scrimmage, or contest during the time a suspension, either 
in-school or out-of-school, is in effect or during the time he/
she is assigned to an alternative school for disciplinary 
reasons.

2.3.5 A student who is not legally in attendance 
at school due to illness or injury shall not be permitted to 
participate in a practice, scrimmage, or contest on that day.

2.3.6 A Student who fails to complete a 
semester or absence for one or more semesters for reasons 
other than personal illness or injury shall be ineligible for 
ninety (90) school days from his/her reentry to school.

2.3.7 An eligible student who practices in 
violation of 2.2.2 through 2.2.5 shall. When he/she regains 
her eligibility, be prohibited from practicing, scrimmaging or 
competing for an equivalent number of days.

2.4 Eligibility-Transfers
2.4.1 A student who has not previously 

participated in interscholastic athletics (previous 
participation is defined as having practiced, scrimmaged or 

competed in grades 6 through 8), is released by a proper 
school authority from a sending school, has completed the 
registration process at the receiving school, and is pursuing 
an approved course of study shall be eligible immediately 
upon registration provided he/she meets all other DIAA 
eligibility requirements.

2.4.2 If a student has previously participated in 
interscholastic athletics, he/she shall be ineligible for a 
period of ninety (90) school days commencing with the first 
day of official attendance in the receiving school unless one 
of the following exceptions applies:

2.4.2.1 The transfer is within a school district 
and is approved by the district's superintendent pursuant to 
established school board policy or administrative procedure. 
This provision shall not apply to a student who transfers to 
his/her home school from a “choice school” within the 
district and who has not completed the two-year attendance 
requirement unless he/she satisfies the conditions stipulated 
in 2.4.2.5.1 through 2.4.2.5.4.  This provision shall also not 
apply to a student who transfers from a “choice school” to 
another “choice school” within the district (see 1.4.6.1).

2.4.2.2 The transfer is caused by court action, 
court action being an order from a court of law affecting 
legally committed students.  In the case of a transfer of 
guardianship/custody, the transfer shall be the result of a 
court order signed by a judge, commissioner, or master of a 
court of competent jurisdiction.  A petition for the transfer of 
guardianship/custody, an affidavit, (except as permitted by 
2.4.2.3) or a notarized statement signed by the affected 
parties shall not be sufficient to render the student eligible to 
participate in interscholastic athletics.

2.4.2.3 The transfer is in accordance with 14 
Del.C. §202(f), the Caregivers School Authorization.

2.4.2.3.1 An exception would be a 
student whose relative caregiver does not provide the 
documentation required by the [Caregivers Relative 
Caregiver] School Authorization (proof of relation and 
proof of full-time care) but is permitted to register on the 
basis of a petition for the transfer of guardianship.  A student 
who registers on the basis of a petition for the transfer of 
guardianship is not eligible to scrimmage or compete until 
the Relative Caregiver has provided the aforementioned 
required documentation or has received a signed court order 
designating him/her as the student’s legal guardian.

2.4.2.4 The transfer is the result of a change 
in residence by the custodial parent(s) legal guardian(s) or 
Relative Caregiver from the attendance zone of the sending 
school to the attendance zone of the receiving school.  A 
change in residence has occurred when all occupancy of the 
previous residence has ended.  A student who transfers shall 
be eligible in the receiving school immediately when the 
custodial parent(s) legal guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver 
has established a new legal residence in another public 
school attendance zone.
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2.4.2.5 The transfer occurs after the close of 
the sending school's academic year and prior to the first 
official student day of the receiving school's academic year 
provided:

2.4.2.5.1 The student has completed 
the registration process at the receiving school prior to the 
first official student day of the academic year.  The first 
official student day shall be defined as the first day on which 
students in any grade in that school are required to be in 
attendance.

2.4.2.5.2 The student has not attended 
class, excluding summer school, or participated in a 
scrimmage or contest at the sending school since the close of 
the previous academic year.

2.4.2.5.3 The student's legal residence 
is located in the attendance zone of the receiving school.

2.4.2.5.4 All other DIAA eligibility 
requirements have been met.

2.4.2.6 The transfer is the result of the student 
being homeless as defined in the McKinney-Vento Act, 42 
U.S.C. 11434a(2).

2.4.2.6.1 Notwithstanding the above, 
the student shall be ineligible under the ninety (90) school 
day ineligibility clause where the student’s homeless status is 
created by the student or his/her family for the primary 
reason of:

2.4.2.6.1.1 Seeking a superior team;
2.4.2.6.1.2 Seeking a team more 

compatible with the student’s abilities; or
2.4.2.6.1.3 Dissatisfaction with the 

philosophy, policies, methods or actions of a coach or 
administrator pertaining to interscholastic athletics; or

2.4.2.6.1.4 Avoiding disciplinary 
action imposed by the school of origin related to affecting 
interscholastic athletic participation.

2.4.3 Transfer Because of a Change in the 
Program of Study or Financial Hardship  If a waiver of the 
ninety (90) school day ineligibility clause is requested due to 
a desired change in the program of study or financial 
hardship, the parent(s), legal guardian(s) or Relative 
Caregiveris responsible for providing documentation to the 
DIAA Board of Directors to support the request.

2.4.3.1 Documentation for Change in 
Program of Study: Documentation for change in program of 
study (a multi-year hierarchical sequence of courses with a 
common theme or subject matter leading to a specific 
outcome) shall include:

2.4.3.1.1 The student’s schedule;
2.4.3.1.2 The student’s transcript;
2.4.3.1.3 Current course descriptions 

from both the sending and receiving schools;
2.4.3.1.4 A statement from the 

principal of the sending school indicating that a significant 
part of the student's desired program of study will not be 

offered and that it will place the student at a definite 
disadvantage to delay transfer until the end of the current 
school year; and

2.4.3.1.5 A statement from the 
principals of both the sending and receiving school that the 
student is not transferring for athletic advantage (see 2.4.5).

2.4.3.2 Documentation for Financial 
Hardship: Documentation for financial hardship shall 
include:

2.4.3.2.1 Proof of extreme financial 
hardship caused by significant loss of income and/or 
increased expenses; and

2.4.3.2.2 A statement from the 
principal of both the sending and receiving schools that the 
student is not transferring for athletic advantage (see 2.4.5).

2.4.4 Transfer Because of a Custody Change:  In 
cases of joint or shared custody when a primary residence is 
established, a change in a student’s primary residence 
without court action subjects the student to the ninety (90) 
school day ineligibility clause.

2.4.5 A change of custody or guardianship for 
athletic advantage shall render a student ineligible under the 
ninety (90) school-day ineligibility clause if the reason for 
his/her transfer is one of the following: to seek a superior 
team, to seek a team more compatible with his/her abilities, 
dissatisfaction with the philosophy, policies, methods, or 
actions of a coach or administrator pertaining to 
interscholastic athletics, or  to avoid disciplinary action 
imposed by the sending school related to or affecting 
interscholastic athletic participation.

2.4.6 A student who transfers from a public, 
private, career-technical school or charter school to a school 
of choice, as authorized by 14 Del.C., Ch.4 shall be eligible 
immediately provided the transfer occurs after the close of 
the sending school's academic year and prior to the first 
official student day of the receiving school's academic year.

2.4.6.1 A student who transfers from a school 
of choice to another school of choice shall be ineligible to 
participate in interscholastic athletics during his/ her first 
year of attendance at the receiving school unless the 
receiving school sponsors a sport(s) not sponsored by the 
sending school in which case the student shall be eligible to 
participate in that sport only.

2.4.7 A student who transfers from a school of 
choice to either a private school, public school, career 
technical school or, after completing his/her two year 
commitment, to a public charter school, shall be eligible 
immediately provided the transfer occurs after the close of 
the sending school’s academic year.

2.4.8 If a student transfers with fewer than 
ninety (90) school days left in the academic year, he/she 
shall be ineligible for the remainder of the school year but 
shall be eligible beginning with the subsequent fall sports 
season provided he/she is in compliance with all other 
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eligibility requirements.
2.5 Eligibility, Amateur Status

2.5.1 A student may not participate in an 
interscholastic sport unless he/she is considered an amateur 
in that sport.  A student forfeits his/her amateur status if he/ 
she does any of the following:

2.5.1.1 Knowingly plays on or against a 
professional team which is defined as a team having one or 
more members who have received or are receiving directly 
or indirectly monetary consideration for their athletic 
services.

2.5.1.2 Signs a professional contract, accepts 
reimbursement for expenses to attend a professional tryout, 
or receives financial assistance in any form from a 
professional sports organization.

2.5.1.3 Enters competition under an assumed 
name.  The surname and given name used by any player in 
the first game of interscholastic competition shall be used 
during the remainder of the student's interscholastic career. 
Any change in spelling or use of another name shall be 
regarded as an attempt to evade this rule unless the change 
has been properly certified by the player to the principal of 
the school.

2.5.1.4 Receives remuneration of any kind or 
accepts reimbursement for expenses in excess of the actual 
and necessary costs of transportation, meals, and lodging for 
participating in a team or individual competition or an 
instructional camp/clinic  Reimbursement for the 
aforementioned expenses is permitted only if all of the 
participants receive the same benefit.

2.5.1.5 Receives cash or a cash equivalent 
(savings bond, certificate of deposit, etc.), merchandise 
(except as permitted by 9.1.4) or a merchandise discount 
(except for discount arranged by school for part of team 
uniform) a reduction or waiver of fees, a gift certificate, or 
other valuable consideration as a result of his/her 
participation in an organized competition or instructional 
camp/clinic.  Accepting an event program and/or a 
complimentary item(s) (t-shirt, hat, equipment bag, etc.) that 
is inscribed with a reference to the event, has an aggregate 
retail value of no more than $150.00, and is provided to all of 
the participants, shall not jeopardize his/ her amateur status.

2.5.1.6 Sells or pawns awards received.
2.5.1.7 Uses his/her athletic status to promote 

or endorse a commercial product or service in a newsprint, 
radio, or television advertisement or personal appearance.

2.5.2 Accepting compensation for teaching 
lessons, coaching, or officiating shall not jeopardize his/her 
amateur status.

2.5.3 A student who forfeits his/her amateur 
status under the provisions of this rule is ineligible to 
participate at the interscholastic level in the sport in which 
the violation occurred. He/she may be reinstated after a 
period of up to 180 school days provided that during the 

suspension, he/she complies with all of the provisions of this 
rule.  The suspension shall date from the time of the last 
offense.

2.6 Eligibility, Passing Work
2.6.1 In order to be eligible for participation in 

interscholastic athletics, including practices, a student must 
pursue a regular course of study or its equivalent as approved 
by the local governing body, and must be passing at least 
four (4) courses.   Two (2) of those courses must be in the 
areas of English, Mathematics, Science, or Social Studies.

2.6.1.1 A student who is receiving special 
education services and is precluded from meeting the 
aforementioned academic requirements due to modifications 
in the grading procedure or course of study, shall be 
adjudged eligible by the principal if he/she is making 
satisfactory progress in accordance with the requirements of 
his/her individualized education plan (IEP).

2.6.2 A student whose work in any regular 
marking period does not meet the above standards shall be 
ineligible to participate in interscholastic athletics, including 
practices, for the next marking period.

2.6.2.1 In the case of a conflict between the 
marking period grade and the final grade, the final grade 
shall determine eligibility.

2.6.2.2 The final accumulation of credits shall 
determine eligibility for the first marking period of the 
following school year.  When a student makes up a failure or 
earns the required credit(s) during the summer, he/she shall 
become eligible provided he/she successfully completes the 
course work prior to the first official student day of the 
school year.

2.6.2.3 Written verification of the successful 
completion of a correspondence course must be received 
before a student shall regain his/her eligibility.

2.6.3 A student forfeits or regains his/her 
eligibility, in accordance with the provisions of this rule, on 
the day report cards are issued.

2.6.4 Local school boards and non-public 
schools may establish more stringent requirements for 
academic eligibility than the minimum standards herein 
prescribed.

2.6.5 An ineligible student who practices in 
violation of 2.6.1. 2.6.2 or 2.6.3. shall, when he/she regains 
his/her eligibility, be prohibited from practicing, 
scrimmaging, or competing for an equivalent number of 
days.

2.7 Eligibility, Years of Participation
2.7.1 No student shall represent a school in 

athletics after four (4) consecutive semesters from the date of 
his/her first entrance into the seventh grade in schools which 
restrict participation in interscholastic athletics to students in 
grades 7 and 8 unless a waiver is granted for hardship 
reasons.

2.7.1.1 No student shall have more than two 
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(2) opportunities to participate in a fall sport or combination 
of fall sports, in a winter sport or combination of winter 
sports, or in a spring sport or combination of spring sports.

2.7.1.2 “Hardship” shall be defined as 
extenuating circumstances peculiar to the student athlete 
caused by [unforseen unforeseen] events beyond the 
election, control or creation of the student athlete, his/her 
family, or school which (1) deprive him/her of all or part of 
one of his/her opportunities to participate in a particular 
sports season; (2) preclude him/her from completing the 
academic requirements for graduation within the normal 
period of eligibility; and (3) deprive him/her of all or part of 
one of his/her opportunities to participate in a particular 
sport.  The waiver provision is intended to restore eligibility 
that has been lost as a result of a hardship situation.  Injury, 
illness or accidents, which cause a student to fail to meet the 
basic requirements, are possible causes for a hardship 
consideration.

2.7.1.2.1 A waiver shall not be granted 
under this section where DIAA finds that the student was 
academically eligible pursuant to DIAA’s minimum passing 
work standards but was ineligible to participate under more 
stringent locally adopted academic standards and where the 
local school board has adopted its own waiver or exemption 
policy.

2.7.1.2.2 A clear and direct causal 
relationship must exist between the alleged hardship 
condition and the failure of the student to complete the 
academic requirements for promotion within the normal 
period of eligibility and the loss of all or part of one of his/ 
her opportunities to participate in a particular sports season.

2.7.1.2.3 The burden of proof rests 
with the student in conjunction with the waiver process as 
described in 14 DE Admin. Code 1006.  Claims of extended 
illness, debilitating injury, emotional stress, etc., must be 
accompanied by appropriate documentation. Evidence must 
be submitted to verify that the student or his/her parent(s) or 
court appointed legal guardian(s) sought assistance to 
ameliorate the effects of the hardship condition.

2.7.2 No student shall represent a school in 
athletics after six (6) consecutive semesters from the date of 
his/her first entrance into the sixth grade in schools which 
permit students in grades 6, 7 and 8 to participate in 
interscholastic athletics unless a waiver is granted for 
hardship reasons 

2.7.2.1 No student shall have more than three 
(3) opportunities to participate in a fall sport or combination 
of fall sports, in a winter sport or combination of winter 
sports, or in a spring sport or combination of spring sports.

2.7.2.2 Participation on the part of a sixth-
grade student shall be at the discretion of the individual 
school.

2.7.2.3 Sixth-grade students shall not be 
permitted to participate in football unless the conference 

develops a classification system that is approved by the 
DIAA Board of Directors.

2.7.3 Students below the sixth grade shall not be 
permitted to practice, scrimmage, or compete on junior high/ 
middle school interscholastic teams.

2.7.4 Participation shall be defined as taking 
part in a school sponsored practice, scrimmage, or contest on 
or after the first allowable date for practice in that sport.

2.8 Student Eligibility Report Forms
2.8.1 Member schools shall use eligibility forms 

approved by the Executive Director.  A copy of the original 
eligibility report and subsequent addenda must be either 
received by the Executive Director or postmarked prior to 
the first contest for which the students listed are eligible. 
Failure to file an eligibility report as prescribed shall result in 
a $15.00 fine against the school.

2.8.1.1 In the case of a student who met all 
DIAA eligibility requirements but was omitted from the 
eligibility report due to administrative or clerical error, he/
she shall be adjudged eligible and the school assessed a 
$10.00 fine.

2.9 Use of an Eligible Athlete: 
2.9.1 If a school uses an ineligible athlete, the 

administrative head or his/her designee shall notify the 
opposing school(s) or event sponsor, in the case of a 
tournament or meet, and the Executive Director in writing of 
the violation and the forfeiture of the appropriate game(s), 
match(es) and/or point(s) won. 

2.9.2 The deliberate or inadvertent use of an 
ineligible athlete in the sports of soccer, football, volleyball, 
field hockey, basketball, baseball, softball, and lacrosse shall 
require the offending school to forfeit the contest(s) in which 
the ineligible athlete participated.

2.9.2.1 If the infraction occurs during a 
tournament, the offending school shall be replaced by its 
most recently defeated opponent. Teams eliminated prior to 
the most recently defeated opponent shall not be allowed to 
reenter the tournament.  Team and/or individual awards shall 
be returned to the event sponsor and team and/or individual 
records and performances shall be nullified.

2.9.2.2 The offending school may appeal to 
the DIAA Board of Directors for a waiver of the forfeiture 
penalty.  If the forfeiture penalty is waived, the offending 
school shall be reprimanded and fined $200.00 unless the 
athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed legal 
guardian(s) knowingly withheld information or provided 
false information that caused him/her to be eligible for 
interscholastic competition.  The burden of proof, in both 
cases, rests entirely with the offending school.  A forfeit 
shall constitute a loss for the offending school and a win for 
its opponent for purposes of standings.  A forfeit shall be 
automatic and not subject to refusal by the offending school's 
opponent.

2.9.3 The deliberate or inadvertent use of an 
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ineligible athlete in the sports of cross country, wrestling, 
swimming, track, golf, and tennis shall require the offending 
school to forfeit the matches won and/or points earned by the 
ineligible athlete or by a relay team of which he/she was a 
member.  The points contributed by an ineligible athlete to 
his/her team score shall be deleted and the contest score as 
well as any affected placements will be adjusted according to 
the rules of that sport.

2.9 3.1 If the infraction occurs during a 
tournament, the ineligible athlete shall be replaced by his/her 
most recently defeated opponent or next highest finisher. 
Contestants eliminated prior to the most recently defeated 
opponent shall not be allowed to reenter the tournament.

2.9.3.2 Individual awards earned by the 
ineligible athlete and team awards, if necessary because of 
adjustments in the standings, shall be returned to the event 
sponsor. Individual records and performances by the 
ineligible athlete shall be nullified.

2.9.4 If an ineligible athlete participates in 
interscholastic competition contrary to DIAA rules but in 
accordance with a temporary restraining order or injunction 
against his/her school and/or DIAA, and the injunction is 
subsequently vacated, stayed, or reversed, or the courts 
determine that injunctive relief is not or was not justified, or 
the injunction expires without further judicial determination, 
the penalties as stipulated in 2.9.1 and 2.9.2 shall be 
imposed.

2.9.5 The intentional use of an ineligible athlete 
by a member school or repeated indifference to its 
responsibility to determine the eligibility of its athletes will 
subject the school to additional penalties which may include 
suspension for the number of days up to the length of the 
school year from the date the charge is substantiated.

2.9.6 If a coach knowingly withholds 
information or provides false information that causes an 
athlete to be eligible for interscholastic competition, the 
coach shall be suspended from coaching in any sport at any 
DIAA member school for up to the number of days up to the 
length of the school year from the date the charge is 
substantiated.

2.9.7 If an athlete or his/her parent(s, legal 
guardian(s), or Relative Caregiver knowingly withholds 
information or provides false information that causes him/ 
her to be eligible for interscholastic competition, the athlete 
shall be suspended from participation in any sport at any 
DIAA member school for up to the number of days up to the 
length of the school year from the date the charge is 
substantiated.

2.10 Determination of Student Eligibility and the 
Appeal Procedures

2.10.1 In cases of uncertainty or disagreement, 
the eligibility of a student shall be determined initially by the 
Executive Director.  If the Executive Director determines 
that the student is ineligible, the school and the student shall 

be notified and the student suspended immediately from 
participation in interscholastic athletics.

2.10.2 The school and the student shall be 
informed that the decision of the Executive Director may be 
appealed to the DIAA Board of Directors.

2.10.3 Decisions of the DIAA Board of Directors 
to affirm, modify, or reverse the eligibility rulings of the 
Executive Director may be appealed to the State Board of 
Education in accordance with the procedure described in 
Regulation 1006 Section 10.1.3.

3.0 Physical Examinations, Weight Control Programs for 
Wrestling and Required Medical Personnel in Attendance at 
All Football Games

3.1 Physical Examinations
3.1.1 A student shall not be eligible to practice, 

scrimmage, or compete in an interscholastic contest unless 
he/she has been adequately examined by a licensed 
physician (M.D. or D.O.), a certified nurse practitioner, or a 
certified physician's assistant on or after May 1 and before 
beginning such athletic activity for the current school year.

3.1.2 A certificate to that effect, as well as the 
parent's, legal guardian's or Relative Caregiver’s consent, 
shall be on file with the administrative head of the school 
prior to the student participating in a practice, scrimmage, or 
game.

3.1.3 For any subsequent sports season in the 
school year, a limited reexamination shall be performed if 
any of the following circumstances exist: the athlete has 
been treated for an injury during the preceding sports season, 
the athlete has been out of school during the preceding sports 
season with an illness other than the usual minor upper 
respiratory or gastrointestinal upset, an operation has been 
performed on the athlete during the preceding term, or the 
athlete has a remedial defect.

3.1.4 The medical history of the student should 
be available at the time of each examination.

3.1.5 A player who is properly certified to 
participate in interscholastic athletics but is physically 
unable to participate for five (5) consecutive days on which a 
practice, scrimmage, or contest is held due to illness or 
injury, must present to the administrative head of the school 
or designee, a statement from a qualified physician that he/
she is again physically able to participate.

3.2 Wrestling Weight Control Program
3.2.1 Each year, four (4) weeks from the first 

day he/she appears at practice, a wrestler must establish his/ 
her minimum weight class at a weigh-in witnessed by and 
attested to in writing by the athletic director or a designated 
staff member (excluding coaches) of the school the wrestler 
attends.  A wrestler may re-certify at a lower weight during 
the 4 weeks from the first day he/she appears at practice. 
However, once certified at a weight, a wrestler may not 
weigh-in more than one class above the weight of the 
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certification without automatically re-certifying at a higher 
weight.  Once re-certified to a higher weight class the 
wrestler can no longer re-certify lower.  After 4 weeks from 
the first practice day a wrestler may not compete in a weight 
class below his duly established weight class.

3.2.2 The weight classifications shall be as 
follows:

76 lbs. 100 lbs. 124 lbs. 148 lbs.
82 lbs. 106 lbs. 130 lbs. 155 lbs.
88 lbs. 112 lbs. 136 lbs. 165 lbs.
94 lbs. 118 lbs. 142 lbs. 250 lbs.
(minimum  weight 164 lbs.)
3.2.3 With the exception of the above weight 

classifications, the current edition of the NFHS Wrestling 
Rules Book shall apply.

3.2.4 By the end of four (4) weeks of practice, a 
certified team roster listing the established minimum weight 
class of each wrestler shall be sent to the Executive Director 
of DIAA.  Further, duly attested notices of additions to the 
certified roster shall be sent to the Executive Director 
without delay.

3.2.5 Schools which desire to conduct their 
wrestling program at a time other than the specified season 
must request permission from the Executive Director.

3.2.5.1 A team which begins its season in 
October shall receive a one-pound growth allowance in 
November and an additional pound in December.  A team 
which begins its season in November shall receive a one-
pound growth allowance in December, an additional pound 
in January, and a third pound in February.

3.3 Required Medical Personnel In Attendance at All 
Football Games

3.3.1 Provision shall be made for a licensed 
physician, a NATA certified athletic trainer, or a registered 
nurse to be present at all interscholastic football games in 
which a member school participates.  The host school shall 
provide this service.  Failure by the host school to provide 
this service shall result in a $100.00 fine.

4.0 Sports Seasons, Practice Sessions and Maximum 
Game Schedules and designated Sports Seasons

4.1 Sports Seasons
4.1.1 The fall sports season shall begin on 

August 25 and end not later than December 1.  Practice for 
any fall sport shall not begin earlier than August 25.

4.1.1.1 The first three (3) days of football 
practice shall be primarily for the purpose of physical 
conditioning and shall be restricted to non-contact activities. 
Coaches may introduce offensive formations and defensive 
alignments, run plays on "air", practice non-contact phases 
of the kicking game, and teach non-contact positional skills. 
Protective equipment shall be restricted to helmets, mouth 
guards and shoes.  The use of dummies, hand shields, and 
sleds in contact drills is prohibited.  Blocking, tackling, and 

block protection drills which involve any contact between 
players are also prohibited.

4.1.1.2 No member school shall participate in 
spring football games nor shall a member school conduct 
football practice of any type outside of the regular fall sports 
season except when participating in the state tournament." 
Organized football" or "organized football practice" shall be 
defined as any type of sport which is organized to promote 
efficiency in any of the various aspects of football.  Touch 
football, featuring blocking, tackling, ball handling, 
signaling, etc. shall be considered "organized football" and 
shall be illegal under the intent of this rule

4.1.2 The winter sports season shall begin 21 
days before the first Friday in December and end not later 
than March 1.  Practice for any winter sport shall not begin 
earlier than 21 days before the first Friday in December 

4.1.3 The spring sports season shall begin on 
March 1 and end not later than the last school day.  Practice 
for any spring sport shall not begin earlier than March 1.

4.1.4 A school which conducts practice prior to 
the first allowable date shall pay a $100.00 fine per each 
illegal practice day and a school which participates in a game 
prior to the first allowable date shall be required to forfeit the 
contest and pay a $100.00 fine.

4.1.5 No member school shall participate in a 
post season contest without the written approval of the 
Executive Director.

4.2 Practice Sessions
4.2.1 A practice session shall be defined as any 

instructional or conditioning activity on the field, court, mat, 
or track or in the pool, weight room, or classroom such as 
team meetings, film reviews, chalkboard sessions, warm-up 
and cool down exercises, drills, and mandatory strength 
training, etc.  Member schools shall conduct a minimum of 
21 calendar days of practice under the supervision of the 
school's coaching staff prior to the first scheduled contest in 
all sports.

4.2.2 Practice sessions shall be limited to two 
(2) hours on official school days.  Split sessions may be 
conducted, but practice time shall not exceed two (2) hours 
for any individual athlete.  The two-hour practice limitation 
does not include time for non-instructional activities such as 
dressing, showering, transportation, or training room care.

4.2.3 Practicing on holidays and weekends shall 
be left to the individual schools and conferences.  However, 
there shall be one day of no activity (practice, scrimmage or 
contests) during any seven day period.

4.2.4 A student shall be required to practice for 
a period of at least seven (7) calendar days prior to 
participating in a contest.  However, if an eighth grade 
student has been participating in a state tournament during 
the preceding sports season and is unable to begin practicing 
at least seven (7) calendar days before his/her team's first 
contest, he/she shall be exempt from this requirement.
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4.2.5 A school which exceeds the two-hour 
practice limitation shall pay a $100.00 fine.

4.3 Maximum Game Schedules and Designated Sports 
Seasons:  

4.3.1 The maximum number of regularly 
scheduled interscholastic contests/competition dates for each 

team and individual in the recognized sports and their 
designated season shall be as follows:

+ A team may not participate in two different cross 
country or outdoor track meets on the same day.

*Participation in a triangular meet shall count as two 
contests and participation in a quadrangular meet shall 
count as three contests toward the seasonal limitation.

Participation in any part of a quarter/half shall count as 
a quarter/half toward the weekly and daily limitations in that 
sport. However, in the case of football, participation on a 
free kick or a play from a scrimmage kick formation shall not 
count as a quarter.  Overtime periods shall be considered as 
part of the fourth quarter or second half.

4.3.2 The preceding game limitations, with the 
exception of the individual daily limitation, shall not prohibit 
the rescheduling of postponed games at the discretion and 

convenience of the member schools involved provided the 
game was postponed due to inclement weather, unplayable 
field conditions, failure of the assigned officials to appear for 
the game, breakdown of the bus or van carrying the visiting 
team, or any other circumstances beyond the control of site 
management which preclude playing the game.  However, a 
team may not participate in more than three (3) contests/ 
competition dates in a week.

4.3.3 A student shall participate in a particular 
sport for only one season during each academic year.

4.3.4 A school which participates in more than 
the allowable number of contests in a season shall be fined 
$200.00.

4.3.5 A school which exceeds the weekly 
contest limitation shall forfeit the contest and pay a $100.00 

Team Limitations Individual Limitations

Sport Season Week Week Day

Fall

Cross Country (boys and 
girls)

12 competition dates +2 competition dates +2 competition dates

 Field Hockey (girls) 12 contests 2 contests 2 competition dates 2 halves
 Football (boys) 8 contests 1 contest 4 quarters

 Soccer (boys) 12 contests 2 contests 2 competition dates 2 halves
 Volleyball (girls) 12 competition dates 2 competition dates 2 competition dates

of which one date may 

involve more than

2 teams

Winter

Basketball (boys and 
girls)

   14 contests 2 contests 2 competition dates 4 quarters

Wrestling (boys) * 12 contests 2 competition dates 2 competition dates 5 matches

Spring

Baseball (boys) 12 contests 2 contests 2 contests

Softball (girls) 12 contests 2 contests 2 contests

Outdoor Track (boys and 
girls)

10 competition dates +2 competition dates +2 competition dates

Tennis (boys and girls) 12 contests 2 contests 2 contests 2 halves
Outdoor Track (boys and 
girls)

10 competition dates + 2 competition dates + 2 competition dates
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fine.
4.3.6 A student who exceeds the weekly or daily 

contest limitation shall be considered an ineligible athlete 
and the school subject to the penalties stipulated in 2.10.

5.0 School/Team Competition, Sanctioning of 
Competitions and All Star Contests

5.1 School/Team Competition 
5.1.1 Sponsoring Interscholastic Teams: 

Interscholastic competition is defined as any athletic contest 
between students representing two (2) or more schools. 
Member of school clubs who participate in non-competitive, 
recreational activities or compete unattached are not 
considered to be engaged in interscholastic competition. 
Students are considered to be representing a school if the 
school does any of the following:

5.1.1.1 Partially or wholly subsidizes the 
activity (providing equipment, uniforms, transportation, 
entry fees, etc.).

5.1.1.2 Controls and administers the funds, 
regardless of their source, needed to conduct the activity.

5.1.1.3 Permits the students to compete under 
the name of the school.

5.1.1.4 Publicizes or promotes the activity 
through announcements, bulletins, or school sponsored 
publications in excess of what is customarily done for 
“outside” organizations.

5.1.1.5 Presents or displays individual/ team 
awards.

5.1.2 Schools may sponsor teams for 
interscholastic competition in a sport provided the following 
criteria are met:

5.1.2.1 The governing body of the 
participating district or non-public school approves 
participation in the sport.  The administrative head of the 
school shall notify the Executive Director in writing of the 
school’s intent to sponsor a team in a new sport.

5.1.2.2 The governing body of the 
participating district or non-public school controls the funds 
needed to support the proposed team, regardless of their 
source, in the same manner as existing teams (coaches' 
salaries, purchase and repair of equipment, medical 
supervision, transportation, preparation and maintenance of 
practice and game facilities, awards, etc.). Requests from 
outside sources to make financial contributions or to donate 
equipment or services must be submitted in writing and must 
include an acknowledgment that the equipment becomes the 
property of the school.  The contribution or donation must be 
approved in writing by the administrative head of the school.

5.1.2.3 The participating schools agree to 
comply with all applicable DIAA rules and regulations as 
stated in the current DIAA Official Handbook.

5.1.3 Levels of Participation
5.1.3.1 Level 1 or developmental sport - less 

than seven (7) participating schools. DIAA rules and 
regulations shall not be in effect.

5.1.3.2 Level 2 or recognized sport - seven 
(7) or more participating schools. Participating schools must 
petition the DIAA Board of Directors for official recognition 
of the sport.

5.1.3.2.1 At the time of official 
recognition, DIAA shall provide rules publications to the 
participating schools, designate an approved official’s 
association, conduct an annual or biannual rules clinic for 
coaches and officials, and establish a maximum game 
schedule.  DIAA rules and regulations shall then be in effect.

5.1.3.2.2 Withdrawal of level 2 status: 
If, for two (2) consecutive years, less than the required 
number of schools participate in a sport, DIAA may 
withdraw official recognition for a period of time as 
determined by the Board of Directors.

5.1.4 Membership on Coed Teams
5.1.4.1 If a school sponsors a boys' team and 

a girls' team in a particular sport, boys shall participate on 
the boys' team and girls shall participate on the girls' team 
even if the teams compete during different seasons.  If a 
school sponsors only a boys' team in a particular sport, girls 
shall be permitted to participate on the boys' team but if a 
school sponsors only a girls' team in a particular sport, boys 
shall not be permitted to participate on the girls' team.

5.2 Sanctioning of Competitions
5.2.1 Member schools may participate in 

tournaments/meets involving four (4) or more schools only if 
the event has been sanctioned by DIAA and, if applicable, by 
the NFHS. Tournaments/meets shall be sanctioned in 
accordance with the following criteria:

5.2.1.1 The event shall not be for determining 
a regional or national champion.

5.2.1.2 The event shall be organized, 
promoted, and conducted by and all profits go to a nonprofit 
organization.  Involvement by a commercial organization 
shall be limited to providing financial support.

5.2.1.3 Non-symbolic competition awards 
shall have a value of not more than $50.00 per recipient and 
shall require the prior approval of the Executive Director.

5.2.1.4 Non-school event organizers shall 
submit a full financial report to the DIAA office within 
ninety (90) calendar days of the completion of the event.

5.2.1.5 The event organizer shall submit a list 
of out-of-state schools which have been invited to participate 
and such schools shall be subject to approval by the 
Executive Director.

5.2.1.6 Out-of-state schools which are not 
members of their state athletic association shall verify in 
writing that their participating athletes are in compliance 
with their state athletic association’s eligibility rules and 
regulations.

5.2.1.7 The event organizer shall not accept 
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financial support or sell advertising to companies involved in 
the production or distribution of alcohol and tobacco 
products.

5.2.1.8 The event organizer shall comply with 
all applicable NFHS sanctioning requirements.

5.2.2 Participation in a non-sanctioned event 
shall result in payment of a $25.00 fine.  A second offense 
shall result in a $50.00 fine and loss of eligibility to 
participate in sanctioned events for the remainder of the 
sport season.  A third offense shall result in a $100.00 fine 
and loss of eligibility to participate in sanctioned events for 
the remainder of the school year.

5.3 All-Star Contests: Junior high/middle school 
students shall not participate in an all-star event until they 
have completed their high school eligibility in that sport.

6.0 Out of Season Athletic Camps and Clinic Sponsorship, 
Commercial Camps and Clinics and Open Gyms, 
Conditioning Programs and Non School Competition

6.1 Out of season Athletic Camps and Clinic 
Sponsorship

6.1.1 DIAA does not restrict a student’s decision 
to attend an out of season  athletic camp/clinic.  However, 
schools, school organizations, coaches, or school related 
groups, such as booster clubs, may not sponsor an athletic 
camp/clinic which limits membership to their own district, 
locale, or teams.  Coaches employed by an out of season 
athletic camp/clinic may only instruct their own athletes in 
accordance with 7.5.

6.1.1.1 School related groups, such as booster 
clubs, which desire to sponsor the attendance of their 
school's enrolled students at out of season athletic camp/
clinic, may do so with the approval of the local school board 
or governing body.  The disbursement of funds to pay for 
camp/clinic related expenses (fees, travel costs, etc.) shall be 
administered by the principal or his/her designee and the 
funds shall be allocated according to the following 
guidelines:

6.1.1.1.1 All students and team 
members shall be notified of the available sponsorship by 
announcement, publication, etc.

6.1.1.1.2 All applicants shall share 
equally in the funds provided.

6.1.1.1.3 All applicants shall be 
academically eligible to participate in interscholastic 
athletics.

6.1.1.1.4 All applicants shall have one 
year of prior participation in the sport for which the camp is 
intended or, absent any prior participation, he/she shall be 
judged by the coach to benefit substantially from 
participation in the camp/clinic.

6.2 Commercial Camps and Clinics
6.2.1 Commercial; camps and clinics are 

defined as a camp/clinic operated for profit which provides 

coaching or other sports training for a fee.
6.2.2 A student may participate in a commercial 

camp or clinic, including private lessons, both during and out 
of the designated sport season provided the following 
conditions are observed:

6.2.2.1 The student must participate 
unattached and may not wear school uniforms.

6.2.2.2 The student may use only school 
equipment whose primary purpose is to protect the wearer 
from physical injury.

6.2.2.3 The school may not provide 
transportation or pay fees.

6.2.2.4 The school coach may not require his/
her athletes to participate in a camp or clinic or provide 
instruction to his/her returning athletes in a camp or clinic 
except as in accordance with 7.5.

6.3 Open Gym Programs
6.3.1 A member school may open its 

gymnasium or other facility for informal, recreational 
activities in accordance with the following provisions:

6.3.1.1 The open gym must be available to all 
interested students, must not be restricted to members of a 
particular team, and must be publicized as such.

6.3.1.2 Student participation must be 
voluntary and the open gym must not be a prerequisite for 
trying out for a particular team.

6.3.1.3 The activities must be unstructured 
and student-generated.  Organized drills in the skills or 
techniques of a particular sport are prohibited.  Organized 
competition with fixed team rosters is also prohibited.

6.3.1.4 A coach may not predetermine that 
the open gym will include only his/her sport and publicize 
the open gym as being restricted to that sport.  It is the 
responsibility of the adult supervisor to permit as many 
different activities as the facility can effectively and safely 
accommodate.

6.3.1.5 A coach may open the facility and 
distribute playing equipment but may not instruct, officiate, 
participate, organize the activities, or choose teams in his/ 
her assigned sport.

6.3.1.6 Playing equipment is restricted to that 
which is customarily used in a contest in a particular sport. 
Playing equipment which is only used in a practice session is 
prohibited.

6.3.1.7 The participants must provide their 
own workout clothing.

6.4 Conditioning Programs
6.4.1 A member school may conduct a 

conditioning program in accordance with the following 
provisions:

6.4.1.1 The conditioning program must be 
available to all interested students, must not be restricted to 
members of a particular team, and must be publicized as 
such.
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6.4.1.2 Student participation must be 
voluntary. The conditioning program must not be a 
prerequisite for trying out for a particular team.

6.4.1.3 Permissible activities include 
stretching, lifting weights, jumping rope, running, 
calisthenics, aerobics, and similar generic conditioning 
activities.  Organized drills in the skills or techniques of a 
particular sport are prohibited.

6.4.1.4 A coach may not provide instruction 
in sport specific skills or techniques.

6.4.1.5 Sport specific equipment is 
prohibited.

6.4.1.6 The participants must provide their 
own workout clothing.

6.5 Non School Competition in which Participates are 
Competing Unattached and are Not Representing Their 
Schools

6.5.1 A student may participate on a non-school 
team or in a non-school individual event both during and out 
of the designated sport season.  However, the student owes 
his/her primary loyalty and allegiance to the school team of 
which he/she is a member.  A school shall have the authority 
to require attendance at practices and contests and students 
not in compliance shall be subject to disciplinary action as 
determined by the school.

6.5.2 Participation on a non-school team or in a 
non-school individual event shall be subject to the following 
conditions:

6.5.2.1 With the exception of organized 
intramurals, the student may not wear school uniforms.

6.5.2.2 With the exception of organized 
intramurals, the student may use only school equipment 
whose primary purpose is to protect the wearer from 
physical injury.

6.5.2.3 The school or a school affiliated 
support group may not provide transportation.

6.5.2.4 The school or a school affiliated 
support group may not pay entry fees or provide any form of 
financial assistance.

6.5.2.5 The school coach may not require his/
her athletes to participate in non-school competition or 
provide instruction to his/her athletes in non-school 
competition except as in 7.5.

6.5.3 14 Del.C. §122 (15) requires written 
parental permission prior to participation on a similar team 
during the designated sport season.  Written authorization 
must be on file in the student's school prior to engaging in a 
tryout, practice, or contest with a similar team.  Consent 
forms shall be available in all member schools.  Similar 
teams shall include organized intramural teams as well as 
non-school teams in that sport.

7.0 Certified and Emergency and Volunteer Coaches, 
Student Teaching and Coaching Out of Season

7.1 Certified Coaches
7.1.1 Only those professional employees 

certified by the Department of Education and whose salary is 
paid by the State and/or local Board of Education, or in the 
case of charter and non-public schools by a similar 
governing body, if acceptable as a coach by the governing 
body, shall coach, assist in coaching, or direct member 
school teams in any district.  The terms of employment must 
be for the regular school year and the professional 
assignment shall be no less than 1/2 of the school day, 
exclusive of coaching duties.

7.1.2 All head coaches shall be required to 
attend the DIAA rules clinic for their sport or, if applicable, 
pass an open book rules examination supplied by the DIAA 
office.  A school shall pay a $50.00 fine and the head coach 
shall be placed on probation if he/ she fails to attend the 
DIAA rules clinic or pass the open book rules examination in 
his/her sport.  Failure to comply for a second consecutive 
year shall result in the school paying a $50.00 fine and the 
coach being suspended for up to five contests as determined 
by the Executive Director.

7.1.2.1 Certified coaches at all levels of 
competition shall be required to hold a current certification 
in adult CPR.

7.2 Emergency Coaches
7.2.1 An emergency coach shall be defined as an 

individual who is either not certified by the Department of 
Education, or is certified by the Department of Education but 
is not employed for the school year or whose professional 
assignment is less than 1/2 of the school day.  An individual 
who meets the requirements of a certified coach as specified 
in 21.1, but whose professional assignment is located in a 
different school or district than his/her coaching assignment 
shall not be considered an emergency coach by DIAA.

7.2.1.1 Emergency coaches at all levels of 
competition shall be required to hold a current certification 
in adult CPR.

7.2.2 Member schools shall be required to 
annually reopen all positions that are held by emergency 
coaches.

7.2.3 Emergency coaches may be employed 
provided the local governing body adheres to the following 
procedures:

7.2.3.1 The employing Board of Education 
must attempt to locate an acceptable, certified professional 
staff member by advertising the coaching vacancy in the 
district for as many days as are required by the district's 
collective bargaining agreement.

7.2.3.2 If an acceptable, certified professional 
staff member is not available, an individual who is 
acceptable to the employing Board of Education may be 
hired as an emergency coach.

7.2.3.3 Any individual employed as a coach 
under the emergency provision must comply with the 
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following regulations:
7.2.3.3.1 He/she must be officially 

appointed by the local Board of Education. The 
superintendent or his/her designee may temporarily appoint 
an individual if a coaching vacancy arises and the sport 
season begins during the interim between meetings of the 
local Board of Education.

7.2.3.3.2 His/her coaching salary must 
be paid exclusively by the local Board of Education.

7.3 Student Teaching and Coaching
7.3.1 Students who are practice teaching in a 

member school shall be permitted to assist in all professional 
activities during their practice teaching period.

7.4 Volunteer Coaches
7.4.1 In addition to the members of the school's 

regular coaching staff, the local governing body may 
supplement a school's coaching staff with volunteer coaches. 
Volunteer coaches are individuals who donate their services 
to a school and who have been approved by that school's 
local governing body.  A current list of approved volunteer 
coaches shall be on file in the school's administrative office 
before any coaching duties are assumed.

7.5 Coaching Out of Season
7.5.1 From August 2nd through June 14th, a 

certified, emergency, or volunteer coach shall not be allowed 
to provide instruction out of the designated season in his/her 
assigned sport to returning members of the teams of the 
school at which he/she coaches or transfer students from 
other schools who play the coach’s sport.

7.5.1.1 A coach shall not be allowed to 
participate on a team in his/her assigned sport with the 
aforementioned players.

7.5.1.2 A coach shall also be prohibited from 
officiating contests in his/her assigned sport if the 
aforementioned players are participating except in organized 
league competition.

7.5.1.3 The league shall not be organized and 
conducted by the employing school, the employing school’s 
booster club, or the employing school’s coaching staff.

7.5.1.4 The league shall have written rules 
and regulations that govern the conduct of contests and 
establish the duties of contest officials.

7.5.1.5 The league shall have registration/
entry procedures, forms, and fees; eligibility requirements; 
and fixed team rosters, team standings, and a master 
schedule of contests.

7.5.1.6 A certified, emergency, or volunteer 
coach shall not be allowed to provide instruction during the 
designated season in his/her assigned sport to current 
members of the teams of the school at which he/she coaches 
outside of school sponsored practices, scrimmages, and 
contests.

7.5.1.7 A coach who is in violation of this 

section shall be suspended from coaching in the specified 
sport at any DIAA member school for up to the total number 
of days in the school year from the date the charge is 
substantiated.

7.5.2 From June 15th through August 1st, a 
certified, emergency or volunteer coach shall be allowed to 
provide instruction in his/her assigned sport to returning 
members of the varsity or sub-varsity teams of the school at 
which he/she coaches.  Instructional contact with the 
aforementioned returning school team members shall be 
subject to the following conditions:

7.5.2.1 A coach may provide instruction to an 
unlimited number of his/her returning school team members 
in formal league/tournament competition or in formal 
instructional camps/clinics provided the league/tournament 
or instructional camp/clinic is organized and conducted by a 
non-school affiliated organization.

7.5.2.2 A coaching staff may provide 
instruction to a maximum of two returning school team 
members in an informal setting where the student has 
initiated the contact and it was not scheduled.  A coaching 
staff may have multiple two-hour sessions on any given day. 
Returning school team members shall not receive more than 
two hours of sports instruction per day.  

7.5.2.3 A coach shall not receive any 
compensation, from any source, for the instruction of his/her 
returning school team members.  Reimbursement for out-of-
pocket expenses (e.g. gas, food, lodging) incurred by 
returning school team members and coaches to attend 
leagues/tournaments or instructional camps/clinics are not 
prohibited provided that no local school or state educational 
funds are used.

7.5.2.4 Participation in the formal league/
tournament or instructional camp/clinic, or informal 
instruction shall be open, voluntary and equally available to 
all returning school team members as well as to members of 
the student body.

7.5.2.5 A coach in violation of this section 
shall be suspended from coaching in the specific sport at any 
DIAA member school for up to the total number of days in 
the school year from the date the charge is substantiated.

8.0 Recognition of Officials’ Associations, Required Use 
of Officials and Attendance at Rules Clinics

8.1 Recognition of Officials’ Associations
8.1.1 The officiating of interscholastic contests 

in the state of Delaware which involve one (1) or more 
member schools shall be under the control of the DIAA and 
such control may include, but not be restricted to, giving 
examinations, evaluating officials, setting game fees, 
determining the number of officials per game, and assigning 
officials.

8.1.2 An official’s association which desires to 
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officiate middle school and/or high school contests shall 
request recognition and approval from DIAA by submitting 
the following documents to the DIAA Officials' Committee:

8.1.2.1 A letter of request indicating the 
association's willingness to abide by DIAA rules and 
regulations.

8.1.2.2 A brief history of the association.
8.1.2.3 A copy of the association's 

constitution and bylaws including a statement that it does not 
discriminate on the basis of age, gender, race, religion, etc.

8.1.2.4 A description of the association's 
evaluation and rating system.

8.1.2.5 A description of the association's 
recruiting and training programs for new members.

8.1.2.6 A membership roster indicating the 
number of years of experience at the sub-varsity, varsity, and 
state tournament levels for each member and also his/her 
most recent rating in a previous association.

8.1.2.7 If applicable, letters of 
recommendation or names of references from leagues which 
the association has serviced during the past year.

8.1.3 The Officials' Committee shall review the 
aforementioned documents and, if necessary, meet with the 
officers of the association to discuss their petition.

8.1.4 The Officials' Committee shall reserve the 
right to consult with any other interested parties during the 
evaluation process.

8.1.5 The Officials' Committee shall report its 
findings to the DIAA Board of Directors and recommend 
that the officials' association be granted recognition, granted 
recognition with conditions, or denied recognition.

8.1.6 The president of the officials' association 
or his/her designee shall petition the DIAA Board of 
Directors and the Board shall render a decision.

8.1.7 If more than one association is approved to 
officiate a particular sport, a conference or, in the absence of 
a conference affiliation, an individual school shall determine 
which association shall provide the officials for its home 
contests.

8.2 Required Use of Officials
8.2.1 Member schools and tournament sponsors 

shall be required to use officials approved by DIAA for 
interscholastic contests.  Use of non-approved officials 
without permission from the Executive Director shall result 
in the school or tournament sponsor being assessed a $50.00 
fine per game per non-approved official.

8.2.1.1 In the case of emergencies such as an 
act of God, refusal by an association to work games, or a 
shortage of qualified officials, schools which desire to use 
other than approved officials must obtain permission from 
the Executive Director.

8.3 Attendance at Rules Clinics
8.3.1 Officials shall be required each year to 

both attend the DIAA rules interpretation clinic and to pass 

the rules examination provided by the DIAA office for the 
sport(s) they officiate.

8.3.2 Failure on the part of an official to attend 
the DIAA rules interpretation clinic and pass the rules 
examination in the same season shall cause the official to be 
placed on probation and to lose his/her eligibility to officiate 
a state tournament contest during that season.

8.3.3 Failure to satisfy both requirements in the 
same season for two (2) consecutive years shall cause the 
official to lose varsity officiating status during the second 
season.  Failure to fulfill this obligation in subsequent years 
shall cause the official to continue to be restricted to sub-
varsity contests until both requirements have been satisfied 
in the same season.

8.3.4 Attending the fall soccer rules 
interpretation clinic shall satisfy the clinic attendance 
requirement for both the boys’ and girls’ soccer seasons. 
Attending the spring soccer rules interpretation clinic shall 
satisfy the clinic attendance requirement for only the girls’ 
soccer season.

8.3.5 If, for a legitimate reason which is 
documented by the president of his/her association, an 
official is unable to attend the DIAA rules interpretation 
clinic, he/she may view a videotape of the DIAA clinic or, in 
the absence of a videotape, attend a clinic conducted by 
another NFHS member state association provided the 
following procedures are observed:

8.3.5.1 No later than the day of the DIAA 
rules interpretation clinic, the president of the association 
notifies the Executive Director, in writing, of the official's 
inability to attend the clinic.

8.3.5.2 The out-of-state clinic is conducted by 
an individual either trained by the NFHS or designated as a 
clinician by the state's athletic association.

8.3.5.3 The official arranges for a letter to be 
sent to the Executive Director from the state's athletic 
association office verifying his/her attendance at the clinic.

9.0 Awards
9.1 Awards

9.1.1 Member schools an support groups 
affiliated with a member schools, such as an alumni 
association or booster club, shall be allowed to present 
recognition awards for team and/or individual 
accomplishments.  The awards, including artwork and 
lettering, shall require the approval of the administrative 
head of the school and their value shall be mostly symbolic, 
not more than $150.00.  Member schools and/or support 
groups affiliated with member schools are also permitted to 
sponsor banquets.

9.1.2 A non-profit group such as a coaches 
association, booster club not affiliated with a member 
school, or community service organization shall be allowed 
to present recognition awards for team and/or individual 
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accomplishments with the approval of the administrative 
head of the school.  Non-profit groups shall also be 
permitted to sponsor banquets.

9.1.3 Commercial organizations shall be 
allowed to present recognition awards for team and/or 
individual accomplishments with the approval of the 
administrative head of the school.

9.1.4 Permissible awards include trophies, 
plaques, medals, letters, certificates, photographs, and 
similar items.  Jackets, sweaters, shirts, watches, rings, 
charms, and similar items if properly inscribed (reference to 
the team or individual athletic accomplishment) are also 
acceptable.  The awards shall have symbolic value only, 
awards with utilitarian value are prohibited.  The aggregate 
retail value of the award shall not exceed $150.00 per team 
or per recipient and shall require prior approval of the 
Executive Director.

10.0 Use of Influence for Athletic Purposes
10.1 Definition: The use of influence for athletic 

purposes shall include, but not be limited to, the following:
10.1.1 Offer of money, room, board, clothing, 

transportation, or other valuable consideration to a 
prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed 
legal guardian(s).

10.1.2 Offer of waiver/reduction of tuition or 
financial aid if based, even partially, on athletic 
considerations.

10.1.3 Preference in job assignments or offer of 
compensation for work performed in excess of what is 
customarily paid for such services.

10.1.4 Offer of special privileges not accorded to 
other students.

10.1.5 Offer of financial assistance including free 
or reduced rent, payment of moving expenses, etc., to induce 
a prospective athlete or his/her parent(s), legal guardian(s) or 
Relative Caregiver to change residence.

10.2 Illegal Contact with Students, Legal guardians, 
or a Relative Caregiver

10.2.1 A school employee or Board approved 
volunteer may not initiate contact or request that a booster 
club member, alumnus, or player initiate contact with a 
student enrolled in another school or his/her parent(s), legal 
guardian(s) or a [relative [Relative Caregiver] in order to 
persuade the student to enroll in a particular school for 
athletic purposes.  Illegal contact shall include, but not be 
limited to, letters, questionnaires or brochures, telephone 
calls, and home visits or personal contact at athletic contests.

10.2.2 If a coach or athletic director is contacted 
by a prospective athlete or his/her parent(s), legal 
guardian(s)or a Relative Caregiver , the former must refer 
the individual(s) to the principal or school personnel 
responsible for admissions.

10.3 Permitted Activities

10.3.1 A school employee or Board approved 
volunteer may do the following:

10.3.1.1 Discuss the athletic program with 
a prospective student or his/her parent(s), legal guardian(s)or 
Relative Caregiver during an open house or approved visit 
initiated by the parent(s), legal guardian(s) or Relative 
Caregiver.

10.3.1.2 Provide information concerning 
sports offered, facilities, conference affiliation, and general 
athletic policies.  However, he/she is not permitted to state or 
imply in any way that his/her athletic program is superior to 
that of another school or that it would be more beneficial or 
advantageous for the prospective student to participate in 
athletics at his/her school.

10.3.1.3 Conduct an informational 
presentation at a feeder school.

10.4 School Choice
10.4.1 If the number of applicants under the 

Delaware School Choice Program exceeds the number of 
available student openings, the selection criteria established 
by the district shall not include athletic considerations.

10.5 Penalties 
10.5.1 The use of influence or illegal contact but 

not limited to violations of 10.1 and 10.2 by a person(s) 
employed by or representing a member school including 
members of alumni associations, booster groups, and similar 
organizations to persuade, induce, or facilitate the 
enrollment of a student in that school for athletic purposes 
may render the student ineligible for up to 1 full school year 
from the date the charge is substantiated.  In addition, the 
offending school may be placed on probation, as determined 
by the DIAA Board of Directors, and the offending 
employee, if a coach, may be suspended for up to one (1) full 
school year from the date the charge is substantiated.

1009 DIAA Senior High School Interscholastic 
Athletics
1.0 National Federation of State High Schools, 
Conferences, Contracts and Equivalency Rules

1.1 National Federation of High School Associations
1.1.1 DIAA is affiliated with the National 

Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS).  The 
playing codes, sanctions, and other rules of the NFHS are 
adopted except as modified by the DIAA Board of Directors.

1.1.1.1 The playing rules of the United States 
Tennis Association, the United States Golf Association, and 
the United States Lacrosse Association are adopted for the 
sports of tennis, golf, and girls' lacrosse respectively except 
as modified by the DIAA Board of Directors.

1.2 Conferences
1.2.1 Member schools may establish voluntary 

conference organizations that may be composed of public 
and non-public schools.  When established, they must submit 
their conferences’ proposed membership and its constitution 
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and bylaws to the DIAA Board of Directors and be approved 
by the DIAA Board of Directors before the schools may 
enter into any contractual agreements.

1.2.1.1 All subsequent amendments to the 
constitution and bylaws of the conferences must be 
compatible with all provisions of the DIAA Regulations; 
interpretations and with the rulings of the Executive 
Director, Sportsmanship Committee, and Board of Directors; 
state tournament regulations; and DIAA approved playing 
codes.

1.3 Contracts
1.3.1 Contracts between DIAA member schools 

or between DIAA member schools and full member schools 
of comparable state associations are encouraged but not 
required.

1.3.1.1 Conference master contracts are 
approved substitutes for individual contracts.

1.3.1.2 In the case of a dispute and provided 
either a signed individual contract or conference master 
contract was received in the DIAA office or postmarked 
prior to the contest in question, appeal may be made to the 
Executive Director or the DIAA Board of Directors which, 
after review of the circumstances, may assign an appropriate 
penalty.

1.3.1.2.1 Without a signed individual 
contract or conference master contract, a member school has 
no right of appeal to the Executive Director or the DIAA 
Board of Directors.

1.3.2 Contracts between DIAA member schools 
and non-member or associate member schools of 
comparable state associations are required.

1.3.2.1 A copy of the signed contract must be 
either received by the Executive Director or postmarked 
prior to the contest for which the agreement was drawn up. 
Failure to file a signed contract as prescribed shall result in 
the DIAA member school being assessed a $15.00 fine.

1.3.2.2 In the case of a dispute, a member 
school has no right of appeal to the Executive Director or the 
DIAA Board of Directors unless a signed individual contract 
is in place.

1.3.3 Contracts shall be interchanged according 
to the following provisions:

1.3.3.1 Contracts on the accepted form shall 
be arranged by the competing schools for each season's 
interscholastic athletic contests.

1.3.3.2 Contracts shall be drawn up by the 
faculty manager or other designated staff member of the 
home school of the earlier varsity contest.

1.3.3.3 A signed contract or any part thereof 
may not be nullified or modified except by mutual 
agreement of both schools involved.

1.3.4 If a game is not played, it shall be 
considered “no contest” unless a signed individual contract 
or conference master contract was received in the DIAA 

office or postmarked prior to the contest in question, and one 
of the participating schools breached the agreement in which 
case appeal may be made to the Executive Director or the 
DIAA Board of Directors.

1.3.4.1 If a game is not played because an out 
of state opponent qualifies for its state championship series 
and the date of the playoff game conflicts with the date of the 
regular season game, a forfeit shall not be awarded.

1.4 Equivalency Rules
1.4.1 A full member school shall not participate 

in a scrimmage or contest with an in-state school that is not a 
member in good standing of DIAA.

1.4.1.1 Scrimmage shall be defined in as: an 
informal competition between schools in which the officials 
are not compensated, a score is not kept, the time periods are 
modified, the results of the competition are not reported to 
the media, the coaches may interrupt the play to provide 
instruction and the competition is strictly for practice 
purposes.

1.4.2 A full member school shall not participate 
in a scrimmage or contest with an associate or non-member 
school of another state association unless the opposing 
school, as part of a written contract, certifies that its 
contestants are eligible under the rules of its home state 
association.

1.4.3 An associate member school shall not 
participate in a scrimmage or contest with an associate or 
non-member school of another state association unless the 
opposing school complies with the conditions specified in 
1.4.2.  However, the opposing school shall be exempt from 
those rules which DIAA has waived for its associate member 
school.

1.4.4 Member schools shall not participate in a 
practice, scrimmage, or contest with a non-school sponsored 
team.

1.4.5 Member schools shall not participate in a 
practice, scrimmage, or contest with post graduate students 
or college students.  This provision shall not apply to games 
played against the alumni or faculty of the school when the 
game is sponsored by school authorities.

1.4.6 A school which participates in a game 
against an illegal opponent shall be required to forfeit the 
contest and be assessed a $100.00 fine.

2.0 Eligibility: No student shall represent a school in an 
interscholastic scrimmage or contest if he/she does not meet 
the following requirements:

2.1 Eligibility, Age
2.1.1 Students who become 19 years of age on 

or after June 15 shall be eligible for all sports during the 
school year provided all other eligibility requirements are 
met.  In determining the age of a contestant, the birth date as 
entered on the birth record of the Bureau of Vital Statistics 
shall be required and shall be so certified on all eligibility 
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lists.
2.1.1.1 Requests for a waiver of the age 

requirement shall only be considered for participation on an 
unofficial, non-scoring basis in non-contact or non-collision 
sports

2.2 Eligibility, Residence
2.2.1 With the exception of boarding school 

students, a student must be living with his/her custodial 
parent(s), legal guardian(s), or Relative Caregiver in the 
attendance zone of the school which he/she attends, or be a 
student 18 years of age or older and living in the attendance 
zone of the school which he/she attends (see 2.2.1.7), in 
order to be eligible for interscholastic athletics in that school. 
In cases of joint custody, the custodial parent shall be the 
parent with actual physical placement as determined by 
court. In the case of shared custody the parents must commit 
to sending the student to a particular school for the year. 
Maintaining multiple residences in order to circumvent this 
requirement shall render the student ineligible.

2.2.1.1 A student who, pursuant to 
established school board policy or administrative procedure, 
remains in a school he/she has been attending after his/her 
legal residence changes to the attendance zone of a different 
school in the same school district, may exercise, prior to the 
first official student day of the subsequent academic year, a 
one time election to remain at his/her current school and 
thereby not lose athletic eligibility.  If a student chooses to 
remain at his/her current school and then transfers to the 
school in his/her new attendance zone on or after the first 
official student day of the subsequent academic year, he/ she 
shall be ineligible, for ninety (90) school days.

2.2.1.2 A student who changes residence to a 
different attendance zone after the start of the last marking 
period and, pursuant to established school board policy or 
administrative procedure, shall be granted permission to 
continue attending his/her present school, the student shall 
retain his/her athletic eligibility in that school for the 
remainder of the school year provided all other eligibility 
requirements are met.

2.2.1.3 A student shall be permitted to 
complete his/her senior year at the school he/she is attending 
and remain eligible even though a change of legal residence 
to the attendance zone of another school has occurred.  This 
provision shall refer to any change of legal residence that 
occurs after the completion of the student's junior year.

2.2.1.4 A student may be residing outside of 
the attendance zone of the school which he/she attends if the 
student is participating in the Delaware School Choice 
Program as authorized by 14 Del.C., Ch.4.

2.2.1.5 A student who is a non-resident of 
Delaware shall be eligible to attend a public school, charter 
school or career-technical school if, in accordance with 14 
Del.C. '607, his/her custodial parent or court appointed 
legal guardian or Relative Caregiver is a full-time employee 

of that district.
2.2.1.6 Notwithstanding 2.2.1, a student shall 

be eligible at a public or vocational-technical school if he/ 
she is enrolled in accordance with 14 Del.C. §202(f), the 
Caregivers School Authorization.

2.2.1.6.1 An exception would be a 
student whose [relative caregiver Relative Caregiver] does 
not provide the documentation required by the [Caregivers’ 
Relative Caregiver] School Authorization (proof of relation 
and proof of full-time care) but is permitted to register on the 
basis of a petition for the transfer of guardianship.  A student 
who registers on the basis of a petition for the transfer of 
guardianship is not eligible to scrimmage or compete until 
the [relative caregiver Relative Caregiver] has provided 
the aforementioned required documentation or has received 
a signed court order designating him/her as the student’s 
legal guardian.

2.2.1.7 A student who reaches the age of 
majority (18) and leaves his/her parents' place of residency 
and jurisdiction thereof, and moves to another attendance 
zone to continue his/her high school education shall be 
ineligible to participate in athletics for 90 school days 
commencing with the first day of official attendance.  This 
provision shall not apply to a student participating in the 
Delaware School Choice Program, as authorized by 14 
Del.C. Ch. 4, provided the student’s choice application was 
properly submitted prior to his/her change of residence.

2.2.1.8 Notwithstanding 2.2.1, a student who 
is homeless as defined in the McKinney-Vento Act, 42 
U.S.C. 11434a(2) shall be eligible to participate at the public 
school in which he/she is enrolled.

2.3 Eligibility, Enrollment and Attendance
2.3.1 A student must be legally enrolled in the 

high school which he/she represents in order to participate in 
a practice, scrimmage or contest.

2.3.2 A shared-time student who attends two (2) 
different schools during the regular school day shall be 
eligible to participate only at his/her home school.  A 
student's home school shall be the school at which he/she is 
receiving instruction in the core academic areas and at which 
he/she is satisfying the majority of his/her graduation 
requirements; not a school at which he/she is receiving only 
specialized educational instruction such as vocational 
training.

2.3.3 Students with disabilities who are placed 
in special schools or programs

2.3.3.1 Definitions:
“Campus” means a contiguous land area 

containing one or more school buildings.  
“Special School or Program” means a 

school or program approved by the Department of Education 
with the approval of the State Board of Education to serve 
students with disabilities, but does not include alternative 
schools.
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“Student With a Disability” means a 
“child with a disability” as that term is defined in the 
Administrative Manual for Special Education Services 
(AMSES), 14 DE Admin. Code 925.  

2.3.3.2 A student with a disability who is 
placed in a special school or program shall be eligible to 
participate in interscholastic athletics as follows:

2.3.3.2.1 If the special school or 
program sponsors the interscholastic sport in question, the 
student shall be eligible to participate only at the school or 
program.

2.3.3.2.2 If the special school or 
program does not sponsor the interscholastic sport in 
question and the student is served in a regular high school for 
all or part of the school day, the student shall be eligible only 
at that regular high school.  

2.3.3.2.3 If the special school or 
program does not sponsor the interscholastic sport in 
question, and the student is served exclusively in the special 
school or program, and the special school or program is 
located on the campus of a regular high school, the student 
shall be eligible only at the regular high school on the same 
campus.

2.3.3.2.4 If the special school or 
program does not sponsor the interscholastic sport in 
question, and the student is served exclusively in the special 
school or program, and the special school or program is not 
located on the campus of a regular high school, the student 
shall be eligible only at the regular high school designated to 
serve the special school’s or program’s students.

2.3.3.2.4.1 School districts or 
charter schools which administer special schools or 
programs and have multiple high schools shall decide which 
of its regular high schools shall be designated to serve 
special school or program students in these circumstances.

2.3.4 A student who is participating in the 
Delaware School Choice Program, as authorized by 14 
Del.C. Ch.4, is obligated to attend the choice school for a 
minimum of two (2) years unless the students custodial 
parent(s), legal guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver relocate to 
a different school district or the student fails to meet the 
academic requirements of the choice school.  If a student 
attends a choice school for less than two (2) years and 
subsequently returns to his/her home school, the student 
must receive a release from the “choice district” in order to 
legally enroll at his/her home school.  Without a release, the 
student would not be eligible legally enrolled and 
consequently would be ineligible to participate in 
interscholastic athletics.

2.3.5 A student may not participate in a practice, 
scrimmage, or contest during the time a suspension, either 
in-school or out-of-school, is in effect or during the time he/
she is assigned to an alternative school for disciplinary 
reasons.

2.3.6 A student who is not legally in attendance 
at school due to illness or injury shall not be permitted to 
participate in a practice, scrimmage, or contest on that day.

2.3.7 A student who fails to complete a semester 
or is absent for one or more semesters for reasons other than 
personal illness or injury shall be ineligible for ninety (90) 
school days from the date of his/her reentry to school.

2.3.8 An ineligible student who practices in 
violation of 2.2.2 through 2.2.5 shall, when he/she regains 
his/her eligibility, be prohibited from practicing, 
scrimmaging, or competing for an equivalent number of 
days.

2.4 Eligibility, Transfers
2.4.1 A student who has not previously 

participated in interscholastic athletics (previous 
participation is defined as having practiced, scrimmaged, or 
competed in grades 9 through 12) is released by a proper 
school authority from a sending school, has completed the 
registration process at the receiving school, and is pursuing 
an approved course of study shall be eligible immediately 
upon registration provided he/she meets all other DIAA 
eligibility requirements.

2.4.2 If a student has previously participated in 
interscholastic athletics, he/she shall be ineligible for a 
period of ninety (90) school days commencing with the first 
day of official attendance in the receiving school unless one 
of the following exceptions applies:

2.4.2.1 The transfer is within a school district 
and is approved by the district's superintendent pursuant to 
established school board policy or administrative procedure. 
This provision shall not apply to a student who transfers to 
his/her home school from a “choice school” within the 
district and who has not completed the two-year attendance 
requirement unless he/she satisfies the conditions stipulated 
in 2.4.2.5.1 through 2.4.2.5.4.  This provision shall also not 
apply to a student who transfers from a “choice school” to 
another “choice school” within the district.

2.4.2.2 The transfer is caused by court action, 
court action being an order from a court of law affecting 
legally committed students.  In the case of a transfer of 
guardianship/custody, the transfer shall be the result of a 
court order signed by a judge, commissioner, or master of a 
court of competent jurisdiction. A petition for the transfer of 
guardianship/custody, an affidavit, (except as permitted by 
2.4.2.3), or a notarized statement signed by the affected 
parties shall not be sufficient to render the student eligible to 
participate in interscholastic athletics.

2.4.2.3 The transfer is in accordance with the 
student being placed with a Relative Caregiver as per 14 
Del.C. §202(f), the Caregivers School Authorization.

2.4.2.3.1 An exception would be a 
student whose relative caregiver does not provide the 
documentation required by the [Caregivers’ Relative 
Caregiver] School Authorization (proof of relation and 
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proof of full-time care) but is permitted to register on the 
basis of a petition for the transfer of guardianship.  A student 
who registers on the basis of a petition for the transfer of 
guardianship is not eligible to scrimmage or compete until 
the relative caregiver has provided the aforementioned 
required documentation or has received a signed court order 
designating him/her as the student’s legal guardian.

2.4.2.4 The transfer is the result of a change 
in residence by the custodial parent(s) legal guardian(s)or 
Relative Caregiver from the attendance zone of the sending 
school to the attendance zone of the receiving school.  A 
change in residence has occurred when all occupancy of the 
previous residence has ended.  A student who transfers shall 
be eligible in the receiving school immediately, when the 
custodial parent(s) legal guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver 
has established a new legal residence in another public 
school attendance zone. 

2.4.2.5 The transfer occurs after the close of 
the sending school's academic year and prior to the first 
official student day of the receiving school's academic year 
provided that the following has occurred:

2.4.2.5.1 The student has completed 
the registration process at the receiving school prior to the 
first official student day of the academic year.  The first 
official student day shall be defined as the first day on which 
students in any grade in that school are required to be in 
attendance.

2.4.2.5.2 The student has not attended 
class, excluding summer school, or participated in a 
scrimmage or contest at the sending school since the close of 
the previous academic year.

2.4.2.5.3 The student's legal residence 
is located in the attendance zone of the receiving school.

2.4.2.5.4 All other DIAA eligibility 
requirements have been met.

2.4.2.6 The transfer is the result of the student 
being homeless as defined in the McKinney - Vento Act, 42 
U.S.C. 11434a(2).

2.4.2.6.1 Notwithstanding the above, 
the student shall be ineligible under the ninety (90) school 
day ineligibility clause where the student’s homeless status is 
created by the student or his/her family for the primary 
reason of:

2.4.2.6.1.1 Seeking a superior team; 
or

2.4.2.6.1.2 Seeking a team more 
compatible with the student’s abilities; or

2.4.2.6.1.3 Dissatisfaction with the 
philosophy, policies, methods or actions of a coach or 
administrator pertaining to interscholastic athletics; or

2.4.2.6.1.4 Avoiding disciplinary 
action imposed by the school of origin related to or affecting 
interscholastic athletic participation.

2.4.3 Transfer Because of Promotion or 

Administrative Assignment: Transfer because of promotion 
or administrative assignment to the ninth grade from a 
school whose terminal point is the eighth grade, or to the 
tenth grade from a junior high school whose terminal point is 
the ninth grade, shall not constitute a transfer.  Students so 
promoted or administratively assigned shall be eligible.

2.4.4 Transfer Because of a Change in the 
Program of Study or Financial Hardship: If a waiver of the 
ninety (90) school day ineligibility clause is requested due to 
a desired change in the program of study or financial 
hardship, the parent(s), legal guardian(s) or Relative 
Caregiver is responsible for providing documentation to the 
DIAA Board of Directors to support the request.

2.4.4.1 Documentation for change in the 
program of study (a multi-year, hierarchical sequence of 
courses with a common theme or subject matter leading to a 
specific outcome) shall include:

2.4.4.1.1 The student’s schedule;
2.4.4.1.2 The student’s transcript;
2.4.4.1.3 Current course descriptions 

from both the sending and receiving schools;
2.4.4.1.4 A statement from the 

principal of the sending school indicating that a significant 
part of the student's desired program of study will not be 
offered and that it will place the student at a definite 
disadvantage to delay transfer until the end of the current 
school year; and

2.4.4.1.5 A statement from the 
principals of both the sending and receiving schools that the 
student is not transferring for athletic advantage (see 2.4.6).

2.4.4.2 Documentation for Financial 
Hardship: Documentation for financial hardship shall 
include:

2.4.4.2.1 Proof of extreme financial 
hardship caused by significant and unexpected reduction in 
income and/or increase in expenses; and

2.4.4.2.2 A statement from the 
principals of both the sending and receiving schools that the 
student is not transferring for athletic advantage (see 2.4.6).

2.4.5 Transfer Because of Custody Change: In 
cases of joint or shared custody when a primary residence is 
established, a change in a student's primary residence 
without court action subjects the student to the ninety (90) 
school day ineligibility clause.

2.4.6 A change of custody or guardianship for 
athletic advantage shall render a student ineligible under the 
ninety (90) school day ineligibility clause if the reason for 
his/her transfer is one of the following: to seek a superior 
team, to seek a team more compatible with his/her abilities, 
dissatisfaction with the philosophy, policies, methods, or 
actions of a coach or administrator pertaining to 
interscholastic athletics or to avoid disciplinary action 
imposed by the sending school related to or affecting 
interscholastic athletic participation.
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2.4.7 A student who transfers from a public, 
private, vocational-technical, or charter school to a school of 
choice, as authorized by 14 Del.C. Ch.4, shall be eligible 
immediately provided the transfer occurs after the close of 
the sending school's academic year and prior to the first 
official student day of the receiving school's academic year.

2.4.7.1 A student who transfers from a school 
of choice to another school of choice shall be ineligible to 
participate in interscholastic athletics during his/ her first 
year of attendance at the receiving school unless the 
receiving school sponsors a sport(s) not sponsored by the 
sending school in which case the student shall be eligible to 
participate in that sport(s) only.

2.4.8 A student who transfers from a school of 
choice to either a private school, career-technical school or, 
after completing his/her two-year commitment, to a public 
charter school shall be eligible immediately provided the 
transfer occurs after the close of the sending school’s 
academic year and prior to the first official student day of the 
receiving school’s academic year.

2.4.9 If a student transfers with fewer than 
ninety (90) school days left in the academic year, he/she 
shall be ineligible for the remainder of the school year but 
shall be eligible beginning with the subsequent fall sports 
season provided he/she is in compliance with all other 
eligibility requirements.

2.5 Eligibility, Amateur Status
2.5.1 A student may not participate in an 

interscholastic sport unless he/she is considered an amateur 
in that sport.  A student forfeits his/her amateur status if he/ 
she does any of the following:

2.5.1.1 Knowingly plays on or against a 
professional team which is defined as a team having one or 
more members who have received or are receiving directly 
or indirectly monetary consideration for their athletic 
services. 

2.5.1.2 Signs a professional contract, accepts 
reimbursement for expenses to attend a professional tryout, 
or receives financial assistance in any form from a 
professional sports organization.

2.5.1.3 Enters a competition under an 
assumed name. The surname and given name used by any 
player in his/her first game of interscholastic competition 
shall be used during the remainder of the student's 
interscholastic career. Any change in spelling or use of 
another name shall be regarded as an attempt to evade this 
rule unless the change has been properly certified by the 
player to the principal of the school.

2.5.1.4 Receives remuneration of any kind or 
accepts reimbursement for expenses in excess of the actual 
and necessary costs of transportation, meals, and lodging for 
participating in a team or individual competition or an 
instructional camp or clinic.  Reimbursement for the 
aforementioned expenses is permitted only if all of the 

participants receive the same benefit.
2.5.1.5 Receives cash or a cash equivalent 

(savings bond, certificate of deposit, etc.), merchandise 
(except as permitted by 9.1.4) or a merchandise discount, 
(except for discount arranged by school for part of team 
uniform) a reduction or waiver of fees, a gift certificate, or 
other valuable consideration as a result of his/her 
participation in an organized competition or instructional 
camp/clinic.  Accepting an event program and/or a 
complimentary item(s) (t-shirt, hat, equipment bag, etc.) that 
is inscribed with a reference to the event, has an aggregate 
retail value of no more than $150.00, and is provided to all of 
the participants, shall not jeopardize his/ her amateur status.

2.5.1.6 Sells or pawns awards received.
2.5.1.7 Uses his/her athletic status to promote 

or endorse a commercial product or service in a newsprint, 
radio, or television advertisement or personal appearance.

2.5.2 Accepting compensation for teaching 
lessons, coaching, or officiating shall not jeopardize his/her 
amateur status.

2.5.3 A student who forfeits his/her amateur 
status under the provisions of this rule is ineligible to 
participate at the interscholastic level in the sport in which 
the violation occurred. He/she may be reinstated after a 
period of up to the number of days in the school year 
provided that during the suspension, he/she complies with all 
of the provisions of this rule.  The suspension shall date from 
the time of the last offense.

2.6 Eligibility, Passing Work
2.6.1 In order to be eligible for participation in 

interscholastic athletics, including practices, a student must 
pursue a regular course of study or its equivalent as approved 
by the local governing body, and must be passing at least 
five (5) credits.  Two (2) of those credits must be in the areas 
of English, Mathematics, Science, or Social Studies.

2.6.1.1 A student who is receiving special 
education services and is precluded from meeting the 
aforementioned academic requirements due to modifications 
in the grading procedure or course of study, shall be 
adjudged eligible by the principal if he/she is making 
satisfactory progress in accordance with the requirements of 
his/her individualized education plan (IEP).

2.6.2 In the case of a student in the twelfth 
grade, he/she must be passing all courses necessary for 
graduation from high school in order to be eligible for 
participation. A course necessary for graduation shall be any 
course, whether taken during or outside the regular school 
day, that satisfies an unmet graduation requirement.

2.6.3 A student whose work in any regular 
marking period does not meet the above standards shall be 
ineligible to participate in interscholastic athletics, including 
practices, for the next marking period.

2.6.3.1 In the case of a conflict between the 
marking period grade and the final grade, the final grade 
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shall determine eligibility.
2.6.3.2 The final accumulation of credits shall 

determine eligibility for the first marking period of the 
following school year.  When a student makes up a failure or 
earns the required credit(s) during the summer, he/she shall 
become eligible provided he/she successfully completes the 
course work prior to the first official student day of the 
school year.

2.6.3.3 Written verification of the successful 
completion of a correspondence course must be received 
before a student shall regain his/her eligibility.

2.6.4 A student forfeits or regains his/her 
eligibility, in accordance with the provisions of this rule, on 
the day report cards are issued.

2.6.5 Local school boards and non-public 
schools may establish more stringent requirements for 
academic eligibility than the minimum standards herein 
prescribed.

2.6.6 An ineligible student who practices in 
violation of 2.6.1, 2.6.2, 2.6.3 or 2.6.4 shall, when he/she 
regains his/her eligibility, be prohibited from practicing, 
scrimmaging, or competing for an equivalent number of 
days.

2.7 Eligibility, Years of Participation
2.7.1 No student shall represent a school in 

athletics after four (4) consecutive years from the date of his/
her first entrance into the ninth grade unless a waiver is 
granted for hardship reasons.

2.7.1.1 No student shall have more than four 
(4) opportunities to participate in a fall sport or combination 
of fall sports, in a winter sport or combination of winter 
sports, or in a spring sport or combination of spring sports.

2.7.1.2 “Hardship” shall be defined as 
extenuating circumstances peculiar to the student athlete 
caused by [unforseen unforeseen] events beyond the 
election, control or creation of the student athlete, his/her 
family, or school which (1) deprive him/her of all or part of 
one of his/her opportunities to participate in a particular 
sports season; (2) preclude him/her from completing the 
academic requirements for graduation within the normal 
period of eligibility; and (3) deprive him/her of all or part of 
one of his/her opportunities to participate in a particular 
sport.  The waiver provision is intended to restore eligibility 
that has been lost as a result of a hardship situation.  Injury, 
illness or accidents, which cause a student to fail to meet the 
basic requirements, are possible causes for a hardship 
consideration.

2.7.1.2.1 A waiver shall not be granted 
under this section where DIAA finds that the student was 
academically eligible pursuant to DIAA’s minimum passing 
work standards but was ineligible to participate under more 
stringent locally adopted academic standards and where the 
local school board has adopted its own waiver or exemption 
policy.

2.7.1.2.2 A clear and direct causal 
relationship must exist between the alleged hardship 
condition and the failure of the student to complete the 
academic requirements for graduation within the normal 
period of eligibility and the loss of all or part of one of his/ 
her opportunities to participate in a particular sports season.

2.7.1.2.3 The burden of proof rests 
with the student in conjunction with the waiver process as 
described in 14 DE Admin. Code 1006.9.  Claims of 
extended illness, debilitating injury, emotional stress, etc., 
must be accompanied by appropriate documentation. 
Evidence must be submitted to verify that the student or his/
her parent(s) or court appointed legal guardian(s) sought 
assistance to ameliorate the effects of the hardship condition.

2.7.2 Satisfactory completion of studies in 
accordance with promotion policies established by the local 
governing body shall determine when a student is beyond the 
eighth grade.  If the eighth grade is part of the same 
administrative unit as grades 9 through 12, participation on 
the part of an eighth-grade student toward five (5) years of 
eligibility shall be at the discretion of the individual school.

2.7.2.1 Eighth grade students who are 
enrolled or transfer to schools that meet the above criteria 
begin their five years of eligibility for senior high school 
athletic participation the first year they enter eighth grade.

2.7.3 Seventh-grade students shall not be 
permitted to participate on senior high school interscholastic 
teams.

2.7.4 Participation of Postgraduates
2.7.4.1 Participation shall be defined as 

taking part in a school sponsored practice, scrimmage or 
contest on or after the first allowable date for practice in that 
sport.

2.7.4.2 Postgraduates shall not be eligible to 
participate in interscholastic athletics.  All graduates of 
recognized senior high schools shall be considered 
postgraduates.

2.7.4.3 A regularly enrolled student taking 
courses in an institution of higher education shall be eligible 
provided he/she meets all other DIAA requirements.

2.7.4.4 Students whose commencement 
exercises are prior to the completion of the school's regular 
season schedule and/or the state tournament shall be eligible 
to compete.

2.8 Eligibility of Foreign Exchange Students and 
International Students

2.8.1 Notwithstanding 2.2, 2.3, and 2.4, foreign 
exchange students and international students may be eligible 
to participate in interscholastic athletics upon arrival at their 
host school provided they have not attained the age of 19 
prior to June 15 and are enrolled as participants in a 
recognized foreign exchange program.

2.8.1.1 All foreign exchange programs which 
are included on the Advisory List of International 
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Educational Travel and Exchange Programs of the Council 
on Standards for International Educational Travel (CSIET) 
and are two (2) semesters in length shall be considered as 
recognized.

2.8.1.2 Students participating in programs not 
included on the CSIET list shall be required to present 
evidence that the program is a bona fide educational 
exchange program before it shall be considered as 
recognized.

2.8.2 International students who are not 
participating in a foreign exchange program are considered 
to be transfer students and are ineligible to compete in 
interscholastic athletics unless they are in compliance with 
all DIAA eligibility requirements including 2.2.

2.8.3 Once enrolled, foreign exchange and other 
international students must comply with all DIAA eligibility 
rules.

2.8.3.1 Athletic recruitment of foreign 
exchange students or other international students by a 
member school or any other entity is prohibited, and any 
such students recruited shall be ineligible.

2.9 Student Eligibility Report Forms
2.9.1 Member schools shall use eligibility forms 

approved by the Executive Director.  A copy of the original 
eligibility report and subsequent addenda must be either 
received by the Executive Director or postmarked prior to 
the first contest for which the students listed are eligible. 
Failure to file an eligibility report as prescribed shall result in 
a $15.00 fine against the school.

2.9.1.1 In the case of a student who met all 
DIAA eligibility requirements but was omitted from the 
eligibility report due to administrative or clerical error, he/ 
she shall be adjudged eligible and the school assessed a 
$10.00 fine.

2.10 Use of an Ineligible Athlete:
2.10.1 If a school uses an ineligible athlete, the 

administrative head or his/her designee shall notify the 
opposing school(s) or event sponsor, in the case of a 
tournament or meet, and the Executive Director in writing of 
the violation and the forfeiture of the appropriate game(s), 
match(es), and/or point(s) won.

2.10.2 The deliberate or inadvertent use of an 
ineligible athlete in the sports of soccer, football, volleyball, 
field hockey, basketball, baseball, softball, and lacrosse shall 
require the offending school to forfeit the contest(s) in which 
the ineligible athlete participated.

2.10.2.1 If the infraction occurs during a 
tournament, including a state championship, the offending 
school shall be replaced by its most recently defeated 
opponent. Teams eliminated prior to the most recently 
defeated opponent shall not be allowed to reenter the 
tournament, team and/or individual awards shall be returned 
to the event sponsor and team and/or individual records and 
performances shall be nullified.

2.10.2.2 The offending school may appeal 
to the DIAA Board of Directors for a waiver of the forfeiture 
penalty.  If the forfeiture penalty is waived, the offending 
school shall be reprimanded and fined $200.00 unless the 
athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed legal 
guardian(s) knowingly withheld information or provided 
false information that caused him/her to be eligible for 
interscholastic competition.  The burden of proof, in both 
instances, rests entirely with the offending school.  A forfeit 
shall constitute a loss for the offending school and a win for 
its opponent for purposes of standings and playoff eligibility 
and shall be automatic and not subject to refusal by the 
offending school's opponent.

2.10.3 The deliberate or inadvertent use of an 
ineligible athlete in the sports of cross country, wrestling, 
swimming, track, golf, and tennis shall require the offending 
school to forfeit the matches won and/or points earned by the 
ineligible athlete or by a relay team of which he/she was a 
member.  The points contributed by an ineligible athlete to 
his/her team score shall be deleted and the contest score as 
well as the affected placements will be adjusted according to 
the rules of the sport.

2.10.3.1 If the infraction occurs during a 
tournament, including a state championship, the ineligible 
athlete shall be replaced by his/her most recently defeated 
opponent or the next highest finisher.  Contestants 
eliminated prior to the most recently defeated opponent shall 
not be allowed to reenter the tournament.

2.10.3.1.1 Individual awards earned by 
the ineligible athlete and team awards, if necessary because 
of adjustments in the standings, shall be returned to the event 
sponsor.  Individual records and performances by the 
ineligible athlete shall be nullified.

2.10.4 If an ineligible athlete participates in 
interscholastic competition contrary to DIAA rules but in 
accordance with a temporary restraining order or injunction 
against his/her school and/or DIAA, and the injunction is 
subsequently vacated, stayed, or reversed, or the courts 
determine that injunctive relief is not or was not justified, or 
the injunction expires without further judicial determination, 
the penalties stipulated in 2.10.1 and 2.10.2 shall be 
imposed.

2.10.5 The intentional use of an ineligible athlete 
by a member school or repeated indifference to its 
responsibility to determine the eligibility of its athletes will 
subject the school to additional penalties which may include 
suspension for the amount of days up to length of the school 
year from the date the charge is substantiated.

2.10.6 If a coach knowingly withholds 
information or provides false information that causes an 
athlete to be eligible for interscholastic competition, the 
coach shall be suspended from coaching in any sport at any 
DIAA member school for the amount of days up to length of 
the school year from the date the charge is substantiated.
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2.10.7 If an athlete or his/her parent(s), legal 
guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver knowingly withholds 
information or provides false information that causes him/ 
her to be eligible for interscholastic competition, the athlete 
shall be suspended from participation in any sport at any 
DIAA member school for up to the amount of days up to the 
length of the school year from the date the charge is 
substantiated.

2.11 Determination of Student Eligibility and the 
Appeal Procedures 

2.11.1 In cases of uncertainty or disagreement, 
the eligibility of a student shall be determined initially by the 
Executive Director.  If the Executive Director determines 
that the student is ineligible, the school and the student shall 
be notified and the student suspended immediately from 
participation in interscholastic athletics.

2.11.2 The school and the student shall be 
informed that the decision of the Executive Director may be 
appealed to the DIAA Board of Directors.

2.11.3 Decisions of the DIAA Board of Directors 
to affirm, modify, or reverse the eligibility rulings of the 
Executive Director may be appealed to the State Board of 
Education in accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code 1006.11.

3.0 Physical Examinations, Weight Control Program for 
Wrestling and Required Medical Personnel in Attendance at 
All Football Games.

3.1 Physical examinations
3.1.1 A student shall not be eligible to practice, 

scrimmage, or compete in an interscholastic contest unless 
he/she has been adequately examined by a licensed 
physician (M.D. or D.O.), a certified nurse practitioner, or a 
certified physician's assistant on or after May 1 and before 
beginning such athletic activity for the current school year.

3.1.2 A certificate to that effect, as well as the 
parent's, legal guardian's, or Relative Caregiver’s consent, 
shall be on file with the administrative head of the school 
prior to the student participating in a practice, scrimmage, or 
game.

3.1.3 For any subsequent sports season in the 
school year, a limited reexamination shall be performed if 
any of the following circumstances exist: the athlete has 
been treated for an injury during the preceding sports season, 
the athlete has been out of school during the preceding sports 
season with an illness other than the usual minor upper 
respiratory or gastrointestinal upset, an operation has been 
performed on the athlete during the preceding sports season, 
or the athlete has a remedial defect.

3.1.4 The medical history of the student should 
be available at the time of each examination.

3.1.5 A player who is properly certified to 
participate in interscholastic athletics but is physically 
unable to participate for five (5) consecutive days on which a 
practice, scrimmage, or contest is held due to illness or 

injury, must present to the administrative head of the school 
or designee, a statement from a qualified physician that he/
she is again physically able to participate.

3.2 Wrestling Weight Control Program
3.2.1 Each year, beginning November 1st and 

prior to January 15th, a wrestler must establish his/her 
minimum weight class at a weigh-in witnessed by and 
attested to in writing by the athletic director or a designated 
staff member (excluding coaches) of the school the wrestler 
attends.  The official weigh-in for a regularly scheduled dual 
meet or tournament would establish certification.  In 
addition, each year beginning November 1 and prior to 
January 15, each wrestler is required to determine his/her 
lowest allowable competitive weight according to the DIAA 
Weight Monitoring Program.  A wrestler may re-certify at a 
lower weight class during November 1 and prior to January 
15 if his individual weight loss plan allows for it.  However, 
once certified at a weight a wrestler may not weigh-in more 
than one weight class above the weight of certification 
without automatically re-certifying at a higher weight. Once 
re-certified to a higher weight class the wrestler can no 
longer re-certify lower. After January 14 no wrestler is 
allowed to re-certify at a lower weight.

3.2.1.1 A wrestler who weighs in at least once 
but fails to establish his/her minimum weight class prior to 
January 15 shall automatically be certified at the weight he/ 
she last weighed in before that date.

3.2.1.2 A wrestler who does not weigh in at 
least once and fails to establish his/her minimum weight 
class prior to January 15 shall automatically be certified at 
the weight he/she first weighs in after that date.

3.2.1.3 A wrestler who is unable, prior to 
January 15, to get down to the maximum allowable weight 
of 275 pounds in order to compete in the heavyweight class 
shall be permitted to certify his/her minimum weight class at 
a later date in the season and thereafter be eligible to 
participate.

3.2.2 By January 15, a certified team roster 
listing the established minimum weight class of each 
wrestler shall be sent to the secretary of the conference to 
which the school belongs or to the secretary of the 
independent tournament.  Further, duly attested notices of 
additions to the certified roster shall be sent to the 
conference secretary without delay.

3.2.2.1 The conference secretary shall in turn 
send to each school in his/her conference copies of the 
certified rosters of each school.  Further, he/she shall note 
and send copies of the notices of additions to the rosters as 
these additions occur.

3.3 Required Medical Personnel In Attendance at All 
Football Games

3.3.1 Provision shall be made for a licensed 
physician, a NATA certified athletic trainer, or a registered 
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nurse to be present at all interscholastic football games in 
which a member school participates.  The host school shall 
provide this service.  Failure by the host school to provide 
this service shall result in a $100.00 fine.

4.0 Sports Seasons, Practices Sessions and Maximum 
Game Schedules and Designated Sports Seasons

4.1 Sports Seasons
4.1.1 The fall sports season shall begin with the 

first approved day for practice and end with the start of the 
state championship in that sport.  Any regular season contest 
that was postponed must be rescheduled and played before 
the beginning of the state tournament in that sport.  A 
conference championship game must also be completed 
before the start of the state tournament in that sport and 
practice for any fall sport shall not begin earlier than 21 days 
before the first Friday after Labor Day. 

4.1.1.1 The first three (3) days of football 
practice shall be primarily for the purpose of physical 
conditioning and shall be restricted to non-contact activities. 
Coaches may introduce offensive formations and defensive 
alignments, run plays "on air," practice non-contact phases 
of the kicking game, and teach non-contact positional skills. 
Protective equipment shall be restricted to helmets, mouth 
guards, and shoes.  The use of dummies, hand shields, and 
sleds in contact drills is prohibited.  Blocking, tackling, and 
block protection drills which involve any contact between 
players are also prohibited.

4.1.1.2 No member school shall participate in 
spring football games nor shall a member school conduct 
football practice of any type outside of the regular fall sports 
season except when participating in the state tournament. 
Organized football" or "organized football practice" shall be 
defined as any type of sport which is organized to promote 
efficiency in any of the various aspects of football.  Touch 
football, featuring blocking, tackling, ball handling, 
signaling, etc. shall be considered "organized football" and 
shall be illegal under the intent of this rule

4.1.2 The winter sports season shall begin with 
the first approved day for practice and end with the start of 
the state championship in that sport.  Any regular season 
contest that was postponed must be rescheduled and played 
before the beginning of the state tournament in that sport. 
Conference championships must also be completed before 
the start of the state tournament in that sport and practice for 
any winter sport shall not begin earlier than 21 days before 
the first Friday in December.

4.1.3 The spring sports season shall begin on 
March 1 and ends with the start of the state championship in 
that sport.  Any regular season contest that was postponed 
must be rescheduled and played before the beginning of the 
state tournament in that sport.  Conference championships 
must also be completed before the start of the state 
tournament in that sport and practice for any spring sport 

shall not begin earlier than March 1.
4.1.4 A school which participates in a game 

prior to the first allowable date or after the start of the state 
championship shall be required to forfeit the contest and be 
assessed a $100.00 fine.

4.1.5 A school which conducts practice prior to 
the first allowable date shall pay a fine of $100.00 per illegal 
practice day.

4.1.6 No member school shall participate in a 
post-season contest without the written approval of the 
Executive Director.

4.2 Practice Sessions 
4.2.1 A practice session shall be defined as any 

instructional activity on the field, court, mat, or track or in 
the pool, weight room, or classroom such as team meetings, 
film reviews, blackboard sessions, warmup and cool down 
exercises, drills or mandatory strength training. Member 
schools shall conduct a minimum of 21 calendar days of 
practice under the supervision of the school's certified, 
emergency and/or approved volunteer coaching staff prior to 
the first scheduled contest in all sports.

4.2.2 Practice sessions shall be limited to two 
(2) hours on official school days.  Split sessions may be 
conducted but practice time shall not exceed two hours for 
any individual athlete.  The two-hour practice limitation 
does not include time for non-instructional activities such as 
dressing, showering, transportation, or training room care.

4.2.3 Practicing on holidays and weekends shall 
be left to the discretion of the individual schools and 
conferences.  However there should be one day of no activity 
(practice, scrimmage, or contest) during any seven day 
period.

4.2.4 A student shall be required to practice for 
a period of at least seven (7) calendar days prior to 
participating in a contest.  However, if a student has been 
participating in a state tournament during the preceding 
sports season and is unable to begin practicing at least seven 
(7) calendar days before his/her team's first contest, he/she 
shall be exempt from this requirement.

4.2.5 A school which exceeds the two-hour 
practice limitation shall pay a $100.00 fine.

4.3 Maximum Game Schedules and Designated Sports 
Seasons:

4.3.1 The maximum number of regularly 
scheduled interscholastic contests/competition dates for each 
team and individual in the recognized sports and their sports 
season shall be designated by the DIAA Board of Directors 
and is as follows:
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_  The third contest/competition date in a week must be 
held on Friday (no early dismissal permitted), Saturday or 
Sunday.  This requirement is waived when a school is closed 
for the entire week such as during winter or spring vacation.

+  A team may not participate in two different cross 
country, indoor track or outdoor track meets on the same day.

*  Participation in a triangular meet shall count as two 

contests and participation in a quadrangular meet shall count 
as three contests toward the seasonal limitation.

4.3.2 The third contest/competition date in a 
week shall be held on Friday (no early dismissal permitted), 
Saturday or Sunday.  This requirement is waived when a 
school is closed for the entire week such as during winter or 
spring vacation.

Team Limitations Individual Limitations

Sport Season Week Week Day

Fall

 Cross Country (boys and 
girls)

16 competition dates +3 competition dates +3 competition dates

 Field Hockey (girls) 16 contests 3 contest
3 Competition dates

2 halves

 Football (boys) 10 contests 1 contest 4 varsity quarters or any 
combination of 5 varsity 
and subvarsity quarters 
provided no more than 3 
quarters are at the varsity 
level

 Soccer (boys) 16 Contests 3 contests 3 competition dates 2 halves
 Volleyball (girls) 16 competition dates

of which 1 date may 
involve more than
2 teams

3 competition dates 3 competition dates

Winter

 Basketball (boys and 
girls)

22 contests 3 contests 3 competition dates 4 quarters

 Swimming and Diving
        (boys and girls)

16 contests 3 contests 3 contests

 Indoor Track (boys and 
girls)

12 contests + 3 contests + 3 contests

 Wrestling (boys) * 18 contests 3 competition dates 3 competition dates 5 matches

Spring

 Baseball (boys) 20 contests 3 contests 3 contests

 Softball (girls) 20 contests 3 contests 3 contests

 Golf (boys) 16 competition dates 3 competition dates 3 competition dates

 Tennis (boys and girls) 16 contests 3 contests 3 contests

 Outdoor Track (boys and 
girls)

18 competition dates +3 competition dates +3 competition dates

 Lacross (boys and girls) 16 contests 3 contests 3 competition dates 4 quarters (boys)
or 2 halves (girls) 

 Soccer (girls) 16 contests 3 contests 3 competition dates 2 halves
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4.3.2.1 A team shall not participate in two 
different cross country, indoor track or outdoor track meets 
on the same day.

4.3.2.2 Participation in a triangular meet shall 
count as two contests and participation in a quadrangular 
meet shall count as three contests toward the seasonal 
limitation.

4.3.2.3 Participation in any part of a quarter/
half shall count as a quarter/half toward the weekly and daily 
limitations in that sport.  However, in the case of football, 
participation on a free kick or a play from a scrimmage kick 
formation shall not count as a quarter.  Overtime periods 
shall be considered as part of the fourth quarter or second 
half.

4.3.3 A week shall be designated as starting on 
Monday and ending on Sunday for all sports except football. 
A football week shall begin the day of the varsity game and 
end the day preceding the next varsity game or the following 
Friday.

4.3.3.1 The preceding game limitations, with 
the exception of the individual daily limitation, shall not 
prohibit the rescheduling of postponed games at the 
discretion and convenience of the member schools involved 
provided the game was postponed due to inclement weather, 
unplayable field conditions, failure of the assigned officials 
to appear for the game, breakdown of the bus or van carrying 
the visiting team, or any other circumstances beyond the 
control of site management which preclude playing the 
game.  However, a team may not participate in more than 
four (4) contests/ competition dates in a week.

4.3.4 The maximum number of regularly 
scheduled contests for each of the recognized sports, except 
football, shall be exclusive of conference championships, 
playoffs to determine tournament state berths, and the state 
tournament/meet.  The maximum number of regularly 
scheduled football contests shall be exclusive of the state 
tournament.

4.3.4.1 Any playoffs to determine state 
tournament berths shall be under the control and supervision 
of the DIAA tournament committee.

4.3.5 A student shall participate in a particular 
sport for only one season during each academic year.

4.3.6 A school which participates in more than 
the allowable number of contests in a season shall be 
suspended from the state playoffs or, if a non-qualifying 
team, fined $200.00.

4.3.6.1 A school which exceeds the weekly 
contest limitation shall be required to forfeit the contest and 
pay a $100.00 fine.

4.3.6.2 A student who exceeds the weekly or 
daily contest limitation shall be considered an ineligible 
athlete and the school subject to the process stipulated in 
2.10.

5.0 School/Team Competition, Sanctioning of 
Competitions, State Championships and All Star 
Contests

5.1 School/Team Competition
5.1.1 Sponsoring Interscholastic Teams: 

Interscholastic competition is defined as any athletic contest 
between students representing two (2) or more schools. 
Members of school clubs who participate in non-
competitive, recreational activities or compete unattached 
are not considered to be engaged in interscholastic 
competition  Students [who] are considered to be 
representing a school if the school does any of the following:

5.1.1.1 Partially or wholly subsidizes the 
activity (providing equipment, uniforms, transportation, 
entry fees, etc.).

5.1.1.2 Controls and administers the funds, 
regardless of their source, needed to conduct the activity.

5.1.1.3 Permits students to compete under the 
name of the school.

5.1.1.4 Publicizes or promotes the activity 
through announcements, bulletins, or school sponsored 
publications in excess of what is customarily done for 
“outside” organizations.

5.1.1.5 Presents or displays individual/ team 
awards.

5.1.2 Schools may sponsor teams for 
interscholastic competition in a sport provided the following 
criteria are met:

5.1.2.1 The governing body of the 
participating district or non-public school approves 
participation in the sport.  The administrative head of the 
school shall notify the Executive Director in writing of the 
school’s intent to sponsor a team in a new sport.

5.1.2.2 The governing body of the 
participating district or non-public school controls the funds 
needed to support the proposed team, regardless of their 
source, in the same manner as existing teams (coaches’ 
salaries, purchase and repair of equipment, medical 
supervision, transportation, preparation and maintenance of 
practice and game facilities, awards, etc.). Requests from 
outside sources to make financial contributions or to donate 
equipment or services must be submitted in writing and must 
include an acknowledgment that the equipment becomes the 
property of the school.  The contribution or donation must be 
approved in writing by the administrative head of the school.

5.1.2.3. The participating schools agree to 
comply with all applicable DIAA rules and regulations as 
stated in the current DIAA Official Handbook.

5.1.3 Levels of Participation
5.1.3.1 Level 1 or developmental sport - less 

than twelve (12) participating schools at the varsity level. 
DIAA rules and regulations shall not be in effect.

5.1.3.2 Level 2 or recognized sport - twelve 
(12) or more participating schools at the varsity level. 
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Participating schools must petition the DIAA Board of 
Directors for official recognition of the sport.

5.1.3.2.1 At the time of official 
recognition, DIAA shall provide rules publications to the 
participating schools, designate an approved officials' 
association, conduct an annual or biannual rules clinic for 
coaches and officials, establish a maximum game schedule, 
and form a committee to promote the continued development 
of the sport and prepare for a future state championship.  All 
DIAA rules and regulations shall then be in effect.

5.1.3.3 Level 3 or championship sport sixteen 
(16) or more participating schools at the varsity level.  Upon 
petition by the sport committee and adoption of a tournament 
proposal, DIAA shall establish a state championship.

5.1.3.4 Withdrawal of level 2 or level 3 
status.  If, for two (2) consecutive years, less than the 
required number of schools participate in a sport, DIAA may 
withdraw official recognition or suspend the state 
tournament/meet for a period of time as determined by the 
Board of Directors.

5.1.4 Membership on Coed Teams
5.1.4.1 If a school sponsors a boys' team and 

a girls' team in a particular sport, boys shall participate on 
the boys' team and girls shall participate on the girls' team 
even if the teams compete during different seasons.  If a 
school sponsors only a boys' team in a particular sport, girls 
shall be permitted to participate on the boys' team but if a 
school sponsors only a girls' team in a particular sport, boys 
shall not be permitted to participate on the girls' team.

5.1.4.2 Coed teams shall participate only in 
the boys' state championship tournament/meet.

5.2 Sanctioning of Competitions
5.2.1 Member schools may participate in 

tournaments/meets involving four (4) or more schools only if 
the event has been sanctioned by DIAA and, if applicable, by 
the NFHS. Tournaments/meets shall be sanctioned in 
accordance with the following criteria:

5.2.1.1 The event shall not be for determining 
a regional or national champion.

5.2.1.2 The event shall be organized, 
promoted, and conducted by and all profits go to a nonprofit 
organization.  Involvement by a commercial organization 
shall be limited to providing financial support.

5.2.1.3 Non-symbolic competition awards 
shall have a value of not more than $50.00 per recipient and 
shall require the prior approval of the Executive Director.

5.2.1.4 Non-school event organizers shall 
submit a full financial report to the DIAA office within 
ninety (90) calendar days of the completion of the event.

5.2.1.5 The event organizer shall submit a list 
of out-of-state schools which have been invited to participate 
and such schools shall be subject to approval by the 
Executive Director.

5.2.1.6 Out-of-state schools which are not 

members of their state athletic association shall verify in 
writing that their participating athletes are in compliance 
with their state athletic association’s eligibility rules and 
regulations.

5.2.1.7 The event organizer shall not accept 
financial support or sell advertising to companies involved in 
the production or distribution of alcohol and tobacco 
products.

5.2.1.8 The event organizer shall comply with 
all applicable NFHS sanctioning requirements.

5.2.2 Participation in a non-sanctioned event 
shall result in payment of a $25.00 fine.  A second offense 
shall result in a $50.00 fine and loss of eligibility to 
participate in sanctioned events for the remainder of the 
sport season.  A third offense shall result in a $100.00 fine 
and loss of eligibility to participate in sanctioned events for 
the remainder of the school 

5.3 State Championships
5.3.1 State Championships: The minimum 

number of high schools which must sponsor a sport at the 
varsity level in order for DIAA to approve a state 
championship shall be sixteen (16).

5.3.1.1 State championship play shall be 
permitted at the varsity level only in football, basketball, 
indoor and outdoor track, cross country, swimming, 
wrestling, golf, baseball, soccer, tennis, field hockey, 
softball, girls' volleyball, and lacrosse provided such 
tournament or meet is under the direct control and 
supervision of and/or has the approval of DIAA.

5.3.1.2 A member school which does not pay 
all fines incurred during the school year by July1st shall be 
ineligible to participate in a state championship event in any 
sport during the following school year until such time as all 
fines are paid.

5.3.2 All state championships shall be managed 
by committees established by the DIAA Board of Directors.

5.3.2.1 Each tournament format, as well as 
the criteria and procedures for selecting and seeding the 
participating teams, must be approved by the Board of 
Directors and any subsequent changes must also be approved 
by the Board.  The Executive Director shall advise the 
committees as to which proposed changes must be presented 
to the Board.  If the Executive Director and the committee 
cannot agree, the proposed change must be presented to the 
DIAA Board of Directors for approval.

5.3.2.2 All financial arrangements, including 
the collection of monies and expenditures, must be approved 
by the Executive Director

5.3.2.3 Championship play in other sports 
must be confined to the individual conferences and 
conducted in accordance with the rules of the conference as 
approved by the DIAA Board of Directors.

5.4 All-Star Contests
5.4.1 An all-star contest shall be defined as an 
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organized competition in which the participants are selected 
by the sponsoring organization or its designee on the basis of 
their performance during the interscholastic season in that 
sport.

5.4.2 Students who have completed their 
eligibility in a sport may participate in all-star contests in 
that sport, if approved by DIAA, prior to graduation from 
high school.

5.4.3 Member schools shall not make their 
facilities, equipment, or uniforms available to the sponsoring 
organization or the participants unless the all-star contest is 
approved by DIAA.

5.4.4 The all-star contest must be approved by 
DIAA in accordance with the following criteria:

5.4.4.1 The contest shall not be for 
determining a regional or national champion.

5.4.4.2 The contest shall be organized, 
promoted, and conducted by and all profits go to a nonprofit 
organization. Involvement by a commercial organization 
shall be limited to providing financial support.

5.4.4.3 The awards given shall be in 
compliance with 9.0.

5.4.4.4 Exceptions to the adopted rules code 
for the sport, including uniform regulations, shall require the 
approval of DIAA.

5.4.5 A full financial report must be filed with 
the Executive Director within ninety 90 days of the contest. 
Failure to submit a financial report within the specified 
period of time shall result in the sponsoring organization 
being assessed a $300.00 fine.

5.4.6 The event organizer shall not accept 
financial support or sell advertising to companies involved in 
the production or distribution of alcohol and tobacco 
products.

6.0 Out of Season Athletic Camps and Clinics Sponsorship, 
Commercial Camps and Clinics and Open Gyms, 
Conditioning Programs and Non School Competition

6.1 Out of Season Athletic Camps and Clinic 
Sponsorship

6.1.1 DIAA does not restrict a student's decision 
to attend an out of season athletic camp/clinic. However, 
schools, school organizations, coaches, or school related 
groups, such as booster clubs, may not sponsor an athletic 
camp/clinic which limits membership to their own district, 
locale, or teams.  Coaches employed by an out of season 
athletic camp may only instruct their returning athletes in 
accordance with 4.5.

6.1.1.1 School related groups, such as booster 
clubs, which desire to sponsor the attendance of their 
school's enrolled students at an out of season athletic camp/
clinic, may do so with the approval of the local school board 
or governing body.  The disbursement of funds to pay for 
camp/clinic related expenses (fees, travel costs, etc.) shall be 

administered by the principal or his/her designee and the 
funds shall be allocated according to the following 
guidelines:

6.1.1.1.1 All students and team 
members shall be notified of the available sponsorship by 
announcement, publication, etc.

6.1.1.1.2 All applicants shall share 
equally in the funds provided.

6.1.1.1.3 All applicants shall be 
academically eligible to participate in interscholastic 
athletics.

6.1.1.1.4 All applicants shall have one 
year of prior participation in the sport for which the camp/
clinic is intended or, absent any prior participation, he/she 
shall be judged by the coach to benefit substantially from 
participation in the camp/clinic.

6.2 Commercial Camps and Clinics:
6.2.1 Commercial camps and clinics are defined 

as a camp/clinic operated for profit which provides coaching 
or other sports training for a fee.

6.2.2 A student may participate in a commercial 
camp or clinic, including private lessons, both during and out 
of the designated sport season provided the following 
conditions are observed:

6.2.2.1 The student must participate 
unattached and may not wear school uniforms.

6.2.2.2 The student may use only school 
equipment whose primary purpose is to protect the wearer 
from physical injury.

6.2.2.3 The school may not provide 
transportation or pay fees.

6.2.2.4 The school coach may not require his/
her athletes to participate in a camp or clinic, or provide 
instruction to his/her returning athletes in a camp or clinic 
except as provided in 7.5.

6.3 Open Gym Programs
6.3.1 A member school may open its 

gymnasium or other facility for informal, recreational 
activities in accordance with the following provisions:

6.3.1.1 The open gym must be available to all 
interested students, must not be restricted to members of a 
particular team, and must be publicized as such.

6.3.1.2 Student participation must be 
voluntary and the open gym must not be a prerequisite for 
trying out for a particular team.

6.3.1.3 The activities must be unstructured 
and student-generated.  Organized drills in the skills or 
techniques of a particular sport are prohibited.  Organized 
competition with fixed team rosters is also prohibited.

6.3.1.4 A coach may not predetermine that 
the open gym will include only his/her sport and publicize 
the open gym as being restricted to that sport.  It is the 
responsibility of the adult supervisor to permit as many 
different activities as the facility can effectively and safely 
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accommodate.
6.3.1.5 A coach may open the facility and 

distribute playing equipment but may not instruct, officiate, 
participate, organize the activities, or choose teams in his/ 
her assigned sport.

6.3.1.6 Playing equipment is restricted to that 
which is customarily used in a contest in a particular sport. 
Playing equipment which is only used in a practice session is 
prohibited.

6.3.1.7 The participants must provide their 
own workout clothing.

6.4 Conditioning Programs
6.4.1 A member school may conduct a 

conditioning program in accordance with the following 
provisions:

6.4.1.1 The conditioning program must be 
available to all interested students, must not be restricted to 
members of a particular team, and must be publicized as 
such.

6.4.1.2 Student participation must be 
voluntary. The conditioning program must not be a 
prerequisite for trying out for a particular team.

6.4.1.3 Permissible activities include 
stretching, lifting weights, jumping rope, running, 
calisthenics, aerobics, and similar generic conditioning 
activities.  Organized drills in the skills or techniques of a 
particular sport are prohibited.

6.4.1.4 A coach may not provide instruction 
in sport specific skills or techniques.

6.4.1.5 Sport specific equipment is 
prohibited.

6.4.1.6 The participants must provide their 
own workout clothing.

6.5 Non-School Competition in which Participants are 
Competing Unattached and are Not Representing Their 
Schools

6.5.1 A student may participate on a non-school 
team or in a non-school individual event both during and out 
of the designated sport season.  However, the student owes 
his/her primary loyalty and allegiance to the school team of 
which he/she is a member.  A school shall have the authority 
to require attendance at practices and contests and students 
not in compliance shall be subject to disciplinary action as 
determined by the school.

6.5.2 Participation on a non-school team or in a 
non-school individual event shall be subject to the following 
conditions:

6.5.2.1 With the exception of organized 
intramurals, the student may not wear school uniforms.

6.5.2.2 With the exception of organized 
intramurals, the student may use only school equipment 
whose primary purpose is to protect the wearer from 
physical injury.

6.5.2.3 The school or a school affiliated 

support group may not provide transportation.
6.5.2.4 The school or a school affiliated 

support group may not pay entry fees or provide any form of 
financial assistance.

6.5 2.5 The school coach may not require his/
her athletes to participate in non-school competition or 
provide instruction to his/her athletes in non-school 
competition except as in 7.5.

6.5.3 14 Del.C. §122(b)(15) requires written 
parental permission prior to participation on a similar team 
during the designated sport season.  Written authorization 
must be on file in the student's school prior to engaging in a 
tryout, practice, or contest with a similar team.  Consent 
forms shall be available in all member schools.  Similar 
teams shall include organized intramural teams as well as 
non-school teams in that sport.

7.0 Certified, Emergency and Volunteer Coaches, 
Student Teaching and Coaching and Coaching Out of 
Season

7.1 Certified Coaches: 
7.1.1 Only those professional employees 

certified by the Department of Education and whose salary is 
paid by the State and/or local Board of Education, or in the 
case of charter and non-public schools by a similar 
governing body, if acceptable as a coach by the governing 
body, shall coach, assist in coaching, or direct member 
school teams in any district.  The terms of employment must 
be for the regular school year and the professional 
assignment shall be no less than ½ of the school day, 
exclusive of coaching duties.

7.1.2 All varsity head coaches (junior varsity if 
the school does not sponsor a varsity team) shall be required 
to attend the DIAA rules clinic for their sport or, if 
applicable, pass an open book rules examination supplied by 
the DIAA office.  A school shall be assessed a $50.00 fine 
and the head coach shall be placed on probation if he/ she 
fails to attend the DIAA rules clinic or pass the open book 
rules examination in his/her sport.  Failure to comply for a 
second consecutive year shall result in the school being 
assessed a $50.00 fine and the coach being suspended for up 
to five contests as determined by the Executive Director.

7.1.2.1 Certified coaches at all levels of 
competition shall be required to hold a current certification 
in adult CPR.

7.2 Emergency Coaches
7.2.1 An emergency coach shall be defined as an 

individual who is either not certified by the Department of 
Education, or is certified by the Department of Education but 
is not employed for the regular school year or whose 
professional assignment is less than ½ of the school day.  An 
individual who meets the requirements of a certified coach 
but whose professional assignment is located in a different 
school or district than his/her coaching assignment shall not 
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be considered an emergency coach by DIAA.
7.2.1.1 Emergency head coaches at all levels 

of competition shall be required to hold a current 
certification in adult CPR

7.2.2 Member schools shall be required to 
annually reopen all positions that are held by emergency 
coaches.

7.2.3 Emergency coaches may be employed 
provided the local governing body adheres to the following 
procedures:

7.2.3.1 The employing Board of Education 
must attempt to locate an acceptable, certified professional 
staff member by advertising the coaching vacancy in the 
district for as many days as are required by the district's 
collective bargaining agreement.

7.2.3.2 If an acceptable, certified professional 
staff member is not available, an individual who is 
acceptable to the employing Board of Education may be 
hired as an emergency coach.

7.2.3.3 Any individual employed as a coach 
under the emergency provision must comply with the 
following regulations:

7.2.3.3.1 He/she must be officially 
appointed by the local Board of Education.  The 
superintendent or his/her designee may temporarily appoint 
an individual if a coaching vacancy arises and the sport 
season begins during the interim between meetings of the 
local Board of Education.

7.2.3.3.2 His/her coaching salary must 
be paid exclusively by the local Board of Education.

7.3 Student Teaching and Coaching
7.3.1 Students who are practice teaching in a 

member school shall be permitted to assist in all professional 
activities during their practice teaching period.

7.4 Volunteer Coaches
7.4.1 In addition to the members of the school's 

regular coaching staff, the local governing body may 
supplement a school's coaching staff with volunteer coaches. 
Volunteer coaches are individuals who donate their services 
to a school and who have been approved by that school's 
local governing body.  A current list of approved volunteer 
coaches shall be on file in the school's administrative office 
before any coaching duties are assumed.

7.5 Coaching Out of Season
7.5.1 From August 2nd through June 14th a 

certified, emergency, or volunteer coach shall not be allowed 
to provide instruction out of the designated season in his/her 
assigned sport to returning members of the varsity or sub-
varsity teams of the school at which he/she coaches or 
transfer students from other schools who play the coach’s 
sport.  He/she shall also be prohibited from coaching rising 
ninth graders (rising eighth graders if eighth grade is part of 
the same administrative unit as grades 9 through 12) who 

participated in his/her assigned sport at a feeder school.  A 
rising ninth grader is a student who has completed eighth 
grade requirements but is not yet enrolled in ninth grade.  A 
rising eighth grader is a student who has completed seventh 
grade requirements but is not yet enrolled in eighth grade.

7.5.1.1 A coach shall not be allowed to 
participate on a team in his/her assigned sport with the 
aforementioned players.

7.5.1.2 A coach shall also be prohibited from 
officiating contests in his/her assigned sport if the 
aforementioned players are participating except in organized 
league competition.

7.5.1.3 The league shall not be organized and 
conducted by the employing school, the employing school’s 
booster club, or the employing school’s coaching staff.

7.5.1.4 The league shall have written rules 
and regulations that govern the conduct of contests and 
establish the duties of contest officials.

7.5.1.5 The league shall have registration/
entry procedures, forms, and fees; eligibility requirements; 
and fixed team rosters, team standings, and a master 
schedule of contests.

7.5.1.6 A certified, emergency, or volunteer 
coach shall not be allowed to provide instruction during the 
designated season in his/her assigned sport to current 
members of the varsity or subvarsity teams of the school at 
which he/she coaches outside of school sponsored practices, 
scrimmages, and contests.

7.5.1.7 A coach who is in violation of this 
section shall be suspended from coaching in the specified 
sport at any DIAA member school for up to the total number 
of days in the school year from the date the charge is 
substantiated.

7.5.2 From June 15th through August 1st, a 
certified, emergency or volunteer coach shall be allowed to 
provide instruction in his/her assigned sport to returning 
members of the varsity or sub-varsity teams of the school at 
which he/she coaches.  Instructional contact with the 
aforementioned returning school team members shall be 
subject to the following conditions:

7.5.2.1 A coach may provide instruction to an 
unlimited number of his/her returning school team members 
in formal league/tournament competition or in formal 
instructional camps/clinics provided the league/tournament 
or instructional camp/clinic is organized and conducted by a 
non-school affiliated organization.

7.5.2.2 A coaching staff may provide 
instruction to a maximum of two returning school team 
members in an informal setting which means student 
initiated and non-scheduled.  A coaching staff may have 
multiple two-hour sessions in any given day.  Returning 
school team members shall not receive more than 2 hours of 
sports instruction per day.
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7.5.2.3 A coach shall not receive any 
compensation, from any source, for the instruction of his/her 
returning school team members.  Reimbursement for out-of-
pocket expenses (e.g. gas, food, lodging) incurred by 
returning school team members and coaches to attend 
leagues/tournaments or instructional camps/clinics are not 
prohibited provided that no local school or state educational 
funds are used.

7.5.2.4 Participation in the formal league/
tournament or instructional camp/clinic, or informal 
instruction, shall be open, voluntary and equally available to 
all returning school team members as well as members of the 
student body. 

7.5.2.5 A coach who is in violation of this 
section shall be suspended from coaching in the specified 
sport at any DIAA member school for up to the total number 
of days in the school year from the date the charge is 
substantiated.

8.0 Recognition of Officials’ Associations, Required Use 
of Officials and Attendance at Rules Clinics

8.1 Recognition of Officials’ Associations
8.1.1 The officiating of interscholastic contests 

in the state of Delaware which involve one (1) or more 
member schools shall be under the control of the DIAA and 
such control may include, but not be restricted to, giving 
examinations, evaluating officials, setting game fees, 
determining the number of officials per game, and assigning 
officials.

8.1.2 An official’s association which desires to 
officiate middle school and/or high school contests shall 
request recognition and approval from DIAA by submitting 
the following documents to the DIAA Officials' Committee:

8.1.2.1 A letter of request indicating the 
association's willingness to abide by DIAA rules and 
regulations.

8.1.2.2 A brief history of the association.
8.1.2.3 A copy of the association's 

constitution and bylaws including a statement that it does not 
discriminate on the basis of age, gender, race, religion, etc.

8.1.2.4 A description of the association's 
evaluation and rating system.

8.1.2.5 A description of the association's 
recruiting and training programs for new members.

8.1.2.6 A membership roster indicating the 
number of years of experience at the sub-varsity, varsity, and 
state tournament levels for each member and also his/her 
most recent rating in a previous association.

8.1.2.7 If applicable, letters of 
recommendation or names of references from leagues which 
the association has serviced during the past year.

8.1.3 The Officials' Committee shall review the 
aforementioned documents and, if necessary, meet with the 
officers of the association to discuss their petition.

8.1.4 The Officials' Committee shall reserve the 
right to consult with any other interested parties during the 
evaluation process.

8.1.5 The Officials' Committee shall report its 
findings to the DIAA Board of Directors and recommend 
that the officials' association be granted recognition, granted 
recognition with conditions, or denied recognition.

8.1.6 The president of the officials' association 
or his/her designee shall petition the DIAA Board of 
Directors and the Board shall render a decision.

8.1.7 If more than one association is approved to 
officiate a particular sport, a conference or, in the absence of 
a conference affiliation, an individual school shall determine 
which association shall provide the officials for its home 
contests.

8.2 Required Use of Officials
8.2.1 Member schools and tournament sponsors 

shall be required to use officials approved by DIAA for 
interscholastic contests.  Use of non-approved officials 
without permission from the Executive Director shall result 
in the school or tournament sponsor being assessed a $50.00 
fine per game per non-approved official.

8.2.1.1 In the case of emergencies such as an 
act of God, refusal by an association to work games, or a 
shortage of qualified officials, schools which desire to use 
other than approved officials must obtain permission from 
the Executive Director.

8.3 Attendance at Rules Clinics
8.3.1 Officials shall be required each year to 

both attend the DIAA rules interpretation clinic and to pass 
the rules examination provided by the DIAA office for the 
sport(s) they officiate.

8.3.2 Failure on the part of an official to attend 
the DIAA rules interpretation clinic and pass the rules 
examination in the same season shall cause the official to be 
placed on probation and to lose his/her eligibility to officiate 
a state tournament contest during that season.

8.3.3 Failure to satisfy both requirements in the 
same season for two (2) consecutive years shall cause the 
official to lose varsity officiating status during the second 
season.  Failure to fulfill this obligation in subsequent years 
shall cause the official to continue to be restricted to sub-
varsity contests until both requirements have been satisfied 
in the same season.

8.3.4 Attending the fall soccer rules 
interpretation clinic shall satisfy the clinic attendance 
requirement for both the boys’ and girls’ soccer seasons. 
Attending the spring soccer rules interpretation clinic shall 
satisfy the clinic attendance requirement for only the girls’ 
soccer season.

8.3.5 If, for a legitimate reason which is 
documented by the president of his/her association, an 
official is unable to attend the DIAA rules interpretation 
clinic, he/she may view a videotape of the DIAA clinic or, in 
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the absence of a videotape, attend a clinic conducted by 
another NFHS member state association provided the 
following procedures are observed:

8.3.5.1 No later than the day of the DIAA 
rules interpretation clinic, the president of the association 
notifies the Executive Director, in writing, of the official's 
inability to attend the clinic.

8.3.5.2 The out-of-state clinic is conducted by 
an individual either trained by the NFHS or designated as a 
clinician by the state's athletic association.

8.3.5.3 The official arranges for a letter to be 
sent to the Executive Director from the state's athletic 
association office verifying his/her attendance at the clinic.

9.0 Awards and Scholarships
9.1 Awards

9.1.1 Member schools an support groups 
affiliated with a member schools, such as an alumni 
association or booster club, shall be allowed to present 
recognition awards for team and/or individual 
accomplishments.  The awards, including artwork and 
lettering, shall require the approval of the administrative 
head of the school and their value shall be mostly symbolic, 
no more than $150.00.  Member schools and/or support 
groups affiliated with member schools are also permitted to 
sponsor banquets.

9.1.2 A non-profit group such as a coaches 
association, booster club not affiliated with a member 
school, or community service organization shall be allowed 
to present recognition awards for team and/or individual 
accomplishments with the approval of the administrative 
head of the school.  Non-profit groups shall also be 
permitted to sponsor banquets.

9.1.3 Commercial organizations shall be 
allowed to present recognition awards for team and/or 
individual accomplishments with the approval of the 
administrative head of the school.

9.1.4 Permissible awards include trophies, 
plaques, medals, letters, certificates, photographs, and 
similar items.  Jackets, sweaters, shirts, watches, rings, 
charms, and similar items if properly inscribed (reference to 
the team or individual athletic accomplishment) are also 
acceptable.  The awards shall have symbolic value only, 
awards with utilitarian value are prohibited.  The aggregate 
retail value of the award shall not exceed $150.00 per team 
or per recipient and shall require prior approval of the 
Executive Director.

9.2 Scholarships
9.2.1 Member schools and support groups 

affiliated with member schools shall be permitted to present 
post-secondary scholarships.

9.2.2 Non-profit organizations co-sponsoring a 
tournament shall be allowed to give post-secondary 
scholarships to participating schools provided they are not 

awarded on the basis of team or individual performance in 
the tournament.  Scholarship monies shall be administered in 
accordance with DIAA and NCAA regulations.

10.0  Use of Influence for Athletic Purposes
10.1 Definition: The use of influence for athletic 

purposes shall include, but not be limited to, the following:
10.1.1 Offer of money, room, board, clothing, 

transportation, or other valuable consideration to a 
prospective athlete or his/her parent(s) or court appointed 
legal guardian(s).

10.1.2 Offer of waiver/reduction of tuition or 
financial aid if based, even partially, on athletic 
considerations.

10.1.3 Preference in job assignments or offer of 
compensation for work performed in excess of what is 
customarily paid for such services.

10.1.4 Offer of special privileges not accorded to 
other students.

10.1.5 Offer of financial assistance including free 
or reduced rent, payment of moving expenses, etc., to induce 
a prospective athlete or his/her parent(s), legal guardian(s) or 
Relative Caregiver to change residence.

10.2 Illegal Contact with Students, Legal guardians, 
or a Relative Caregiver

10.2.1 A school employee or Board approved 
volunteer may not initiate contact or request that a booster 
club member, alumnus, or player initiate contact with a 
student enrolled in another school or his/her parent(s), legal 
guardian(s) or a Relative Caregiver in order to persuade the 
student to enroll in a particular school for athletic purposes. 
Illegal contact shall include, but not be limited to, letters, 
questionnaires or brochures, telephone calls, and home visits 
or personal contact at athletic contests.

10.2.2 If a coach or athletic director is contacted 
by a prospective athlete or his/her parent(s), legal 
guardian(s)or a Relative Caregiver , the former must refer 
the individual(s) to the principal or school personnel 
responsible for admissions.

10.3 Permitted Activities
10.3.1 A school employee or Board approved 

volunteer may do the following:
10.3.1.1 Discuss the athletic program with 

a prospective student or his/her parent(s), legal guardian(s)or 
Relative Caregiver during an open house or approved visit 
initiated by the parent(s), legal guardian(s) or Relative 
Caregiver.

10.3.1.2 Provide information concerning 
sports offered, facilities, conference affiliation, and general 
athletic policies.  However, he/she is not permitted to state or 
imply in any way that his/her athletic program is superior to 
that of another school or that it would be more beneficial or 
advantageous for the prospective student to participate in 
athletics at his/her school.
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10.3.1.3 Conduct an informational 
presentation at a feeder school.

10.4 School Choice
10.4.1 If the number of applicants under the 

Delaware School Choice Program exceeds the number of 
available student openings, the selection criteria established 
by the district shall not include athletic considerations.

10.5 Penalties 
10.5.1 The use of influence or illegal contact 

including but not limited to, violations of 10.1 and 10.2 by a 
person(s) employed by or representing a member school 
including members of alumni associations, booster groups, 
and similar organizations to persuade, induce, or facilitate 
the enrollment of a student in that school for athletic 
purposes may render the student ineligible for up to 1 full 
school year from the date the charge is substantiated.  In 
addition, the offending school may be placed on probation, 
as determined by the DIAA Board of Directors, and the 
offending employee, if a coach, may be suspended for up to 
one (1) full school year from the date the charge is 
substantiated.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Regulatory Implementing Order

Regulation 1516 Standard Certificate

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code §1516 Standard Certificate from the 
Regulations of the Department of Education.  The regulation 
concerns the requirements for certification of educational 
personnel, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a).  It is necessary to 
amend this regulation to include recognition of educator 
preparation programs approved using NASDTEC standards. 
It is further amended to reflect the establishment of PRAXIS 
II scores by the Standards Board and the State Board.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation 
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State 
News on November 26, 2003, in the form hereto attached as 
Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.  No 
comments were received.

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this 
regulation to comply with changes in statute regarding the 
certification of educators.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is 
appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del. C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as 
Exhibit “B” is hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision of 
14 Del. C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be 
in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of 
this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form 
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §1516 in the Administrative 
Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL 
STANDARDS BOARD THE 6TH DAY of  MAY, 2004

Harold Roberts, Chair Leslie Holden
Sharon Brittingham Carla Lawson
Heath Chasanov Mary Mirabeau
Patricia Clements John Pallace
Edward Czerwinski Karen Schilling Ross
Karen Gordon Carol Vukelich
Barbara Grogg Geraldine A. Williams
Bruce Harter

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT 
OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED This 20th Day Of March, 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
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Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1516 Standard Certificate

1.0 Content.
1.1  This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a 

Sstandard Ccertificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a).

2.0 Definitions.
2.1  The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, 
which may occur regardless of a recipient=s assignment or 
employment status.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“Educator” means a public school employee who holds 
a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del.C., Ch.apter
12, and includes teachers, specialists, and administrators, 
and as otherwise defined by the Standards Board and the 
State Board pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1203, but does not 
include substitute teachers.

“Examination of Ccontent Kknowledge” means a 
standardized test which measures
knowledge in a specific content area.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students. 

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards 
Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. '1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of 
the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. '104.

3.0 The Department shall issue a Sstandard Ccertificate to 
an educator who holds a valid Delaware Iinitial, Ccontinuing 
or Aadvanced Llicense; or Llimited Sstandard, Sstandard, or 
Pprofessional Sstatus Ccertificate issued prior to August 31, 
2003, who has:

3.1 Acquired the prescribed knowledge, skill and/or 
education to practice in a particular area, to teach a particular 
subject or to instruct a particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Obtaining National Board for Professional 
Teaching Standards certification in the area, subject, or 
category for which a Sstandard Ccertificate is requested; or

3.1.2 Meeting the requirements set forth in the 
relevant Department or Standards Board regulation 
governing the issuance of a Sstandard Ccertificate in the area 

for which a Sstandard Ccertificate is sought; or
3.1.3 Graduating from an NCATE specialty 

organization recognized educator preparation program 
offered by a regionally accredited college or university, with 
a major in the area of the Sstandard Ccertificate requested, or

3.1.4 Graduating from a state approved educator 
preparation program offered by a regionally accredited 
college or university, with a major in the area of the 
Sstandard Ccertificate requested, where the state approval 
body employed the appropriate NCATE speciality 
organization standards.

3.2 Graduating from an educator preparation program 
offered by a Delaware higher education institution approved 
by the Department pursuant to 14 DE Admin. Code 399, 
with a major in the area of the Sstandard Ccertificate 
requested; or

3.3 Achieving a passing score, as established by the 
Standards Board, in consultation with the Department and 
with the concurrence of the State Board, on a Praxis II 
examination in the area requested.  This section is subject to 
the establishment of passing scores for Praxis II 
examinations by the Department and their approval by the 
Standards Board, with concurrence from the State Board; or

3.4 Holding a valid and current certificate from another 
state in the area for which a standard certificate is sought.

3.4.1 A “valid and current certificate from 
another state” means a current full or permanent certificate 
or license issued by another state.  It does not include 
temporary, emergency or expired certificates or licenses 
issued from another state.  

3.4.2 The Department shall not act on an 
application for certification if the applicant is under official 
investigation by any state or local authority with the power 
to issue educator licenses or certifications, where the alleged 
conduct involves allegations of immorality, misconduct in 
office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty, or 
falsification of credentials, until the applicant provides 
evidence of the investigation’s resolution.

3.4.2.1  “Immorality” means conduct which 
is inconsistent with the rules and principles of morality 
expected of an educator and may reasonably be found to 
impair an educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her 
unfitness.

4.0 Educators may hold certificates in more than one 
area. 

5.0 An applicant for a Sstandard Ccertificate shall 
submit:

5.1 Official transcripts; or
5.2 Official scores on the Praxis II examination; or 
5.3 Evidence of passage of the National Board for 

Professional Teaching Standards Certificate; or 
5.4 An official copy of the out-of-state license or 
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certification, if applicable.  
5.5 If applied for simultaneously with application for 

an Iinitial Llicense, the applicant shall provide all required 
documentation for that application in addition to the 
documentation cited above.  

6.0 If an applicant holds a valid Iinitial, Ccontinuing, or 
Aadvanced Delaware Llicense; or a Llimited Sstandard, 
Sstandard or Pprofessional Sstatus Ccertificate issued prior 
to August 31, 2003 and is requesting additional Sstandard 
Ccertificates, only that documentation necessary to 
demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill 
and/or education required for the additional Sstandard 
Ccertificate requested is required.

7.0 This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of 
a standard certificate, except as specifically addressed 
herein.  Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate 
or a Standard Certificate issued on or before August 31, 2003 
shall be issued a Continuing License upon the expiration of 
their current professional status certificate or standard 
certificate.  The Standard Certificate for each area in which 
they held a Professional Status Certificate or a Standard 
Certificate shall be listed on the Continuing License.  The 
Department shall also recognize a limited standard 
certificate or temporary certificate issued prior to August 31, 
2003, provided that the educator successfully completes the 
requirements set forth in the prescription letter received with 
the limited standard or temporary certificate.  Requirements 
must be completed by the expiration date of the limited 
standard or temporary certificate, but in no case later than 
December 31, 2009 8.

8.0 A standard certificate is valid regardless of the 
assignment or employment status of the holder of a 
certificate or certificates, and is not subject to renewal.  It 
shall be revoked in the event the educator’s initial, 
continuing, or advanced license or limited standard, 
standard, or professional status certificate is revoked in 
accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator 
whose license or certificate is revoked is entitled to a full and 
fair hearing before the Professional Standards Board. 
Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the 
Standards Board’s Hearing Procedures and Rules.

9.0 The Secretary of Education may, upon the written 
request of the superintendent of a local school district or 
charter school administrator or other employing authority, 
review credentials submitted in application for a standard 
certificate on an individual basis and grant a standard 
certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the 
requirements for a standard certificate, but whose 
effectiveness is documented by the local school district or 
charter school administrator or other employing authority.

Regulatory Implementing Order

Amendment Administrative Certificates 1530, 1531, And 
1532

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code §1530 Certification Administrative – 
Principal/Assistant Principal, §1531 Certification 
Administrative – School Leader I, and §1532 Certification 
Administrative – School Leader II. The regulations apply to 
the certification of educators as school administrators, as 
established by 14 Del.C. §1220(a).  The regulations are 
being amended to include that educator preparation 
programs must be approved, either through NCATE or by 
states employing appropriate standards in the review of 
programs.  The requirement that school administrators 
complete approved programs will help to ensure adherence 
to recognized national standards for educational 
administrators and will hold school administrators to high 
standards.  The regulations will be renamed Standard 
Certificate to make them consistent with other regulations of 
the Professional Standards Board

Notice of the proposed adoption of these regulations 
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State 
News on March 29, 2004, in the form hereto attached as 
Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.  No 
written comments were received. 

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to amend these 
regulations to comply with changes in statute regarding the 
licensure and certification of educators.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is 
appropriate to amend the regulations.  Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del. C. §1205(b), the regulations attached hereto as 
Exhibit “B” are hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision 
of 14 Del. C. §122(e), the regulations hereby amended shall 
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date 
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulations adopted shall be in the form 
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attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulations shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §1530, §1531, and §1532 in 
the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department 
of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL 
STANDARDS BOARD THE 6TH DAY of MAY, 2004.

Harold Roberts, Chair Leslie Holden
Sharon Brittingham Carla Lawson
Heath Chasanov Mary Mirabeau
Patricia Clements John Pallace
Edward Czerwinski Karen Schilling Ross
Karen Gordon Carol Vukelich
Barbara Grogg Geraldine A. Williams
Bruce Harter

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT 
OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED This 20th Day Of March, 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

Regulation 1530 Certification Administrative Standard 
Certificate – School Principal/Assistant Principal

1.0 Content.
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a 

Sstandard Ccertificate for school principal and assistant 
principal, pursuant to 14 Del.C. '1220.

2.0 Definitions.
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards 
Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. '1201.

“Standard Ccertificate” means a credential issued to 
verify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill 

and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of 
the State of Delaware established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
'104.

“Teaching experience” means meeting students on a 
regularly scheduled basis, planning and delivering 
instruction, developing or preparing instructional materials, 
and evaluating student performance in any pK-12 setting.

3.0 The following shall be required for the Standard 
Certificate for the Pprincipal or Aassistant Pprincipal of an 
elementary or intermediate school, a middle school, a high 
school, or a school for exceptional students.

3.1 Educational requirements
3.1.1 A master=s degree in educational 

leadership from an NCATE or state aprroved program where 
the state approval body employed the appropriate 
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards from 
a regionally accredited college or university, or

3.1.2 A master=s degree in education offered by 
an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator 
preparation program or from a state approved educator 
preparation program where the state approval body 
employed the appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE specialty 
organization standards from a regionally accredited college 
or university and a current and valid Pprincipal or Aassistant 
Pprincipal certificate from another state, or

3.1.3  A master=s degree in any field from a 
regionally accredited college or university and successful 
completion of a Delaware approved alternative routes to 
certification program for school leaders.  Until approval and 
implementation of an alternative routes to certification 
program occurs, candidates completing the Sstandard 
Ccertificate in accordance with 3.1.3.1 of this regulation 
shall fulfill the following requirements.

3.1.3.1 A three semester hour graduate level 
course in each of the following areas:

3.1.3.1.1 School Administration (at 
the level to be initially assigned), 

3.1.3.1.2 Supervision/Evaluation of 
Staff, 

3.1.3.1.3 Curriculum Development, 
3.1.3.1.4 School Business 

Management, 
3.1.3.1.5 School Law/Legal Issues in 

Education, 
3.1.3.1.6 Human Relations, and, 
3.1.3.1.7 if not taken at the 

undergraduate level, Child/Adolescent/Human 
Development, if not taken at the undergraduate level.

3.2 Experience requirements
3.2.1 A minimum of three (3) years of teaching 

experience at the level to be initially assigned as a school 
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Pprincipal or Aassistant Pprincipal, except at the middle 
level, where the teaching experience may be at any pK-12 
level, or as a Pprincipal or Aassistant Pprincipal of a school 
for exceptional students, where the teaching experience must 
have been with one or more of the categories of exceptional 
children served by the school.

Regulation 1531 Certification Administrative Standard 
Certificate -- School Leader I

1.0 Content.
1.1 The following shall apply to the issuance of a 

Sstandard Ccertificate for Ddirectors, Ssupervisors, 
Aadministrative Aassistants, Ccoordinators, and Mmanagers 
in instructional areas, pursuant to 14 Del.C. '1220.

2.0 Definitions.
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards 
Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. '1201.

“Standard Ccertificate” means a credential issued to 
verify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of 
the State of Delaware established pursuant to 14 Del.C '104.

“Teaching Eexperience” means meeting students on a 
regularly scheduled basis, planning and delivering 
instruction, developing or preparing instructional materials, 
and evaluating student performance in any pK-12 setting.

3.0 The following shall be required for the Sstandard 
Ccertificate for Ddirectors, Ssupervisor, Aadministrative 
Aassistants, Ccoordinators, and Mmanagers in instructional 
areas.

3.1 Educational requirements
3.1.1 A master=s degree in educational 

leadership from an NCATE or state approved program where 
the state approval body employed the appropriate 
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards from 
a regionally accredited college or university, or

3.1.2 A master=s degree in education offered by 
an NCATE specialty organization recognized educator 
preparation program or from a state approved educator 
preparation program where the state approval body 
employed the appropraite NCATE specialty organization 
standards from a regionally accredited college or university 
and a current and valid equivalent central office 
administrative certificate from another state, or

3.1.3 A master=s degree in any field from a 
regionally accredited college or university and successful 
completion of a Delaware approved alternative routes to 

certification program for school leaders.  Until approval and 
implementation of an alternatives routes to certification 
program occurs, candidates completing the Sstandard 
Ccertificate in accordance with 3.1.3.1 of this regulation 
shall fulfill the following requirements;

3.1.3.1 A minimum of twenty-four semester 
hours of graduate level course work, completed either as 
part of the master=s degree or in addition to it, in 
administration, to include at least one course in each of the 
following areas:

3.1.3.1.1 Curriculum Development, 
3.1.3.1.2 Supervision/Evaluation of 

Staff, 
3.1.3.1.3 Human Relations, and
3.1.3.1.4 School Law/Legal Issues and 
3.1.3.1.5 Iin the area(s) to be 

supervised (may include courses in curriculum, instruction, 
and/or methods), and

3.2 Experience requirements
3.2.1 A minimum of three (3) years of teaching 

experience at the pK-12 level. Teaching experience for 
Ddirectors, Ssupervisors, Aadministrative Aassistants, 
Ccoordinators, and Mmanagers of programs for exceptional 
children must have been with exceptional children.

Regulation 1532 Certification Administrative Standard 
Certificate _ School Leader II

1.0 Content.
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a 

Sstandard Ccertificate for Sschool Ddistrict 
Ssuperintendents and Aassistant Ssuperintendents, pursuant 
to 14 Del.C. '1220.

2.0 Definitions.
2.1  The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Full-Time School Leadership” means full-time 
experience as a principal or assistant principal or as a district 
level administrator.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards 
Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. '1201.

“Standard Ccertificate”  means a credential issued to 
verify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of 
the State of Delaware established pursuant to 14 Del.C.
'104.

“Teaching Eexperience” means meeting students on a 
regularly scheduled basis, planning and delivering 
instruction, developing or preparing instructional materials, 
and evaluating student performance in any pK-12 setting.
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3.0 The following shall be required for the Standard 
Certificate for Sschool Ddistrict Ssuperintendents and 
Aassistant Ssuperintendents.

3.1 Educational requirements.
3.1.1 A doctoral degree in educational 

leadership from an NCATE or state approved program where 
the state approval body employed the appropriate 
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards
offered by an NCATE specialty organization recognized 
educator preparation program or from a state approved 
educator preparation program where the state approval body 
employed the appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE specialty 
organization standards from a regionally accredited college 
or university, or

3.1.2 A master=s or doctoral degree in education 
from a regionally accredited college and a current 
Ssuperintendent or Aassistant Ssuperintendent certificate 
from another state, or

3.1.3 A master=s or doctoral degree in any field 
from a regionally accredited college and successful 
completion of a Delaware approved alternative routes to 
certification program for school leaders/superintendents. 
Until approval and implementation of an alternative routes to 
certification program occurs, candidates completing the 
Sstandard Ccertificate in accordance with 3.1.3 of this 
regulation shall provide evidence of graduate course work in 
the following areas, either as part of the master=s or doctoral 
degree program or in addition to it.

3.1.3.1 Personnel Administration
3.1.3.2 Supervision/Evaluation of Staff
3.1.3.3 Curriculum Development and 

Instruction
3.1.3.4 School Business Management
3.1.3.5 School Law/Legal Issues in Education
3.1.3.6 Human Resource Management

Relations
3.1.3.7 Organizational Management
3.1.3.8 Child or Adolescent Development, if 

not taken at the undergraduate level.
3.2 Experience requirements

3.2.1 A minimum of five (5) years of teaching 
experience at the pK-12 level; or

3.2.2 A minimum of five (5) years of full-time 
pK-12 leadership experience; or

3.2.3 Any combination of these types of 
experience which totals a minimum of five (5) years.

3.2.4 The required experience may be acquired 
at either the building or district level.

Regulatory Implementing Order

Regulation 1556 Standard Certificate – Primary Teacher

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code §1556 Standard Certificate – Primary 
Teacher. This regulation applies to the requirements for a 
Standard Certificate for an Elementary Teacher as 
established by 14 Del. C. §1220(a).  The amendment to this 
regulation is necessary to change the grade span of the 
certificate from K-4 to K-6.  This change aligns with No 
Child Left Behind and is also aligned with configuration of 
Delaware elementary schools.  It will also be renamed 
Standard Certificate Elementary Teacher (Grades K-6) to be 
more reflective of its subject.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation 
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State 
News on March 29, 2004, in the form hereto attached as 
Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments. 
Comment was received from the University of Delaware 
regarding maintaining a K-4 certificate for a particular group 
of students.  This issue will be resolved without changing the 
proposed regulation.

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this 
regulation to comply with changes in statute regarding the 
licensure of educators.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is 
appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del. C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as 
Exhibit “B” is hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision of 
14 Del. C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be 
in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of 
this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form 
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §1556 in the Administrative 
Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.
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V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL 
STANDARDS BOARD THE 6TH DAY of MAY, 2004

Harold Roberts, Chair Leslie Holden
Sharon Brittingham Carla Lawson
Heath Chasanov Mary Mirabeau
Patricia Clements John Pallace
Edward Czerwinski Karen Schilling Ross
Karen Gordon Carol Vukelich
Barbara Grogg Geraldine A. Williams
Bruce Harter

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT 
OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED This 20th Day Of March, 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1556 Standard Certificate Primary Elementary Teacher 
(Grades K- 4 6) 

1.0 Content  
1.1 This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a 

Sstandard Ccertificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. '1220(a), for 
Primary Elementary Teacher (Grades K B4 6).

2.0 Definitions  
The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill, 

and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. '1220(a), the Department 
shall issue a Sstandard Ccertificate as an primary
Eelementary Tteacher to an applicant who holds a valid 
Delaware initial, continuing, or advanced license; or 
standard or professional status certificate issued by the 
Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets the 
following requirements:

3.1 Degree Requirement
3.1.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university in any field and 45 semester 
hours of general content courses. These courses may be part 
of the Bachelor's degree, but if not, then the courses shall be 
taken in addition to the degree.

3.1.1.1 Nine semester hours of English 
including an upper level composition course and a literature 
course

3.1.1.2 Twelve semester hours of science 
including one course each in Life/Environmental, Earth/
Space and Physical Sciences

3.1.1.3 Nine semester hours of social sciences 
including World History, American History and Geography.

3.1.1.4 Nine semester hours of Mathematics
3.1.1.5 Six semester hours of Fine Arts; or

and,
3.1.2 A total of 45 semester hours of course 

work, which may be taken as part of a bachelor’s degree, but, 
if not, then the courses shall be taken in addition to the 
degree, to include the following courses as specified.

2.1.1.1 Child Development
2.1.1.2 Identifying and Teaching 

Exceptionalities
2.1.1.3 Effective Teaching Strategies
2.1.1.4 Curriculum and methods (21 semester 

hours to include 3 semester hours in each of the following 
areas:  science, social studies, and mathematics);

2.1.1.5 Literacy reading/language arts, 
including children’s literature (12 semester hours);

2.1.1.6 Exploring Contemporary Cultural and 
Social Issues; 

[3.1.2 3.1.1.6] Courses which reflect 
accomplishment of the NCATE specialty organization 
standards for elementary teacher education to develop 
pedagogical content knowledge and professional and 
pedagogical skills

3.1.23 3.1.2] A Bachelor's degree in elementary 
education from an NCATE specialty organization or state 
approved program, where the state employed the appropriate 
NASDTEC or NCATE specialty organization standards for 
elementary teacher education, from a regionally accredited 
college or university. in the field of Education and,

3.2 Professional Education
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3.2.1 An approved program in Primary 
Education or,

3.2.2 An approved program in Elementary 
Education to include 18 semester hours of coursework or the 
equivalent thereof in each of the following areas, as 
specified:

3.2.2.1 Children's Growth, Development, and 
Learning (6 semester hours);

3.2.2.2 Parent, Family Community 
Interactions (3 semester hours);

3.2.2.3 Early Childhood Curriculum 
Development, Content, and Implementation - (6 semester 
hours);

3.2.2.4 Professional Issues in Early 
Childhood Education (3 semester hours) or,

3.2.3 An approved program in Early Childhood 
Education, Birth through age 8, to include an additional 15 
semester hours of coursework as indicated:

3.2.3.1 Nine semester hours in curriculum 
and methods in the following areas: Science, Social Studies 
and Mathematics.

3.2.3.2 Six semester hours in Literacy 
including reading, writing, and children's literature.
3.2.3.2 All coursework indicated in 3.2.3.1 and 3.2.3.2 shall 
focus on: integrated curriculum approaches, use of 
technology as an instructional tool, appropriate assessment 
strategies for the young child, culturally responsive 
curriculum and instruction, principles of developing and 
organizing curriculum for classroom organization and 
management techniques for children in K-4 or,

3.2.4 An approved program in Middle Level 
Education and, an additional 15 semester hours of 
coursework related to K-4, to include 3 semester hours in 
each of the following areas:

3.2.4.1 Children's Growth, Development, and 
Learning 

3.2.4.2 Parent, Family Community 
3.2.4.3 Early Childhood Curriculum 

Development, Content, and Implementation - (6 semester 
hours);

3.2.4.4 Professional Issues in Early 
Childhood Education or, 

3.2.5 A minimum of 60 semester hours of 
coursework to include a total of 45 semester hours of 
specific courses to be taken in addition to requirements 
stated in 3.1.1 and to include the following courses as 
specified:

3.2.5.1 A total of 45 semester hours of 
specific courses to be taken in addition to requirements 
stated in 1.1.1 and to include the following courses as 
specified:

3.2.5.1.1 Child Development (3 
semester hours);

3.2.5.1.2 Identifying and Teaching 

Exceptionalities (3 semester hours);
3.2.5.1.3 Effective Teaching Strategies 

(3 semester hours);
3.2.5.1.4 Curriculum and Methods (21 

semester hours) to include: 3 semester hours in each of the 
following areas: science, social studies, math and 12 
semester hours of literacy reading/language arts, including 3 
hours of children's literature);

3.2.5.1.5 Exploring Contemporary 
Cultural and Social Issues (3 semester hours);

3.2.5.2 An additional 15 semester hours of 
coursework related to K-4 6, to include 3 semester hours in 
each of the following areas: Children's Growth, 
Development, and Learning, Parent, Family Community 
Interactions, Early Childhood Curriculum Development, 
Content, and Implementation, Professional Issues in Early 
Childhood Education and an elective related to the above 
areas or any area that deals with teaching K-4 students.

4.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 
only.  Applicants who apply for a Standard Certificate as a 
primary an Elementary Teacher after that date must comply 
with the requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code
1516.

Regulatory Implementing Order

Regulation 1557 Standard Certificate – Middle Level 
Teacher

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code §1557 Standard Certificate – Middle Level 
Teacher. This regulation applies to the requirements for a 
Standard Certificate for a Middle Level Teacher as 
established by 14 Del. C. §1220(a).  The amendment to this 
regulation is necessary to change the grade span of the 
certificate from 4 - 6 to 6 - 8.  This change aligns with No 
Child Left Behind and is also aligned with configuration of 
Delaware elementary schools. 

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation 
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State 
News on March 29, 2004, in the form hereto attached as 
Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.  No 
comments were received. 
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II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this 
regulation to comply with changes in statute regarding the 
licensure of educators.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is 
appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del. C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as 
Exhibit “B” is hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision of 
14 Del. C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be 
in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of 
this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form 
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §1557 in the Administrative 
Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL 
STANDARDS BOARD THE 6TH DAY of MAY, 2004

Harold Roberts, Chair Leslie Holden
Sharon Brittingham Carla Lawson
Heath Chasanov Mary Mirabeau
Patricia Clements John Pallace
Edward Czerwinski Karen Schilling Ross
Karen Gordon Carol Vukelich
Barbara Grogg Geraldine A. Williams
Bruce Harter

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT 
OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED This 20th Day Of March, 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire

Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1557 Standard Certificate Middle Level Teacher
(Grades 5 6 - 8) 

1.0 Content
 1.1 This regulation shall apply to the requirements for a 
Sstandard Ccertificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. '1220(a), for 
Middle Level Teacher (Grades 5 6-8), except for 
mathematics and science in grades 7-8 (See 14 DE Admin. 
Code '' 1541 and 1542.

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“Major or its Equivalent” means a minimum of thirty 
(30) credits in the content area to be taught.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Standard certificate” means a credential issued to 
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill, 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. '1220(a), the Department 
shall issue a Sstandard Ccertificate as a Mmiddle Llevel 
Tteacher to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware initial, 
continuing, or advanced license; or standard or professional 
status certificate issued by the Department prior to August 
31, 2003, and who meets the following requirements:

3.1 Degree Requirement
3.1.1 Bachelor's degree from a regionally 

accredited college or university with a major or its 
equivalent in any the field content area to be taught; and and 
45 semester hours of general content courses. These courses 
may be part of the Bachelor's degree, but if not, then the 
courses shall be taken in addition to the degree.

3.1.1.1 Nine semester hours of English 
including an upper level course and a literature course

3.1.1.2 Twelve semester hours of science 
including one course each in Life/Environmental, Earth/
Space and Physical 

3.1.1.3 Nine semester hours of Social 
Sciences including World History, American History and 
Geography.

3.1.1.4 Nine semester hours of Mathematics
3.1.1.5 Six semester hours Fine Arts; or
3.1.1.1 Appropriate pedagogical content 
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courses consistent with the NASDTEC or NCATE specialty 
organization standards for middle school or the content 
specialization to be taught [;or]

3.1.2 Bachelor's degree from a regionally 
accredited college or university in the field of an NCATE 
specialty organization or state approved program, where the 
state employed the appropriate NASDTEC or NCATE 
specialty organization standards in Elementary or Middle 
School Education.

3.2 Professional Education
3.2.1 An approved program, in Middle Level 

Education or, 
3.2.2 An approved program, or a Standard 

License in Elementary Education and an additional 15 
semester hours of coursework or the equivalent thereof, 
including instruction in: Adolescent Development and 
Behavior, Curriculum and Instruction Strategies for Middle 
Grades, Classroom Management Techniques, Student 
Advising, Mentoring and Counseling Techniques and 
Reading in the Content Area, or, 

3.2.3 An approved program or Standard 
Certificate encompassing any segment of Birth through age 
eight and,

3.2.3.1 An additional 15 semester hours of 
coursework to include courses in each of the following areas 
related to the adolescent child: Adolescent Development and 
Behavior, Curriculum and Instruction Strategies for Middle 
Grades, Classroom Management Techniques, Student 
Advising, Mentoring and Counseling Techniques, and 
Reading in the Content Area.

And, an additional 15 semester hours of 
coursework as indicated:

3.2.3.2.1 Nine semester hours in 
Curriculum and Methods in areas of Science, Social Studies 
and Mathematics.

3.2.3.2.2 Six semester hours in 
Literacy including reading, writing, and children's literature.

3.2.3.2.3 All coursework indicated 
above, shall include an instructional focus which includes 
the following: Integrated Curriculum Approaches, Use of 
Technology as an Instructional Tool, Appropriate 
Assessment Strategies for the Young Child, Culturally 
Responsive Curriculum and Instruction, Principles of 
Developing and Organizing Curriculum for Children and 
Classroom Organization and Techniques for Children or,

3.2.4 An approved program or Standard certificate in 
Primary Education and an additional 15 semester hours of 
course work, to include each of the following areas related to 
the adolescent child:

3.2.4.1 Adolescent Development and Behavior, 
Curriculum and Instruction Strategies for Middle Grades, 
Classroom Management Techniques, Student Advising, 
Mentoring and Counseling Techniques and Reading in the 
Content Area or,

3.2.5 For the Middle Level Endorsement, an 
approved program or Standard License in Secondary 
Education and an additional 15 semester hours of 
coursework, to include each of the following areas related to 
the adolescent child:

3.2.5.1 Adolescent Development and 
Behavior, Curriculum and Instruction Strategies for Middle 
Grades, Classroom Management Techniques, Student 
Advising, Mentoring and Counseling Techniques, and 
Reading in the Content Area, or

3.2.6 A minimum of 60 semester hours of 
coursework to include 45 semester hours of specific courses 
to be taken in addition to requirements stated in 3.1.1 and to 
include the following:

3.2.6.1 Child Development (3 semester 
hours);

3.2.6.2 Identifying and Teaching 
Exceptionalities (3 semester hours);

3.2.6.3 Effective Teaching Strategies (3 
semester hours);

3.2.6.4 Curriculum and Methods (21 semester 
hours) to include: 3 semester hours in each area of Science, 
in Social Studies and in Mathematics and 12 semester hours 
of Literacy (reading/language arts, including 3 semester 
hours of children's literature)

3.2.6.5 Exploring Contemporary Cultural and 
Social Issues (3 semester hours);

3.2.6.6 An additional 15 semester hours of 
course work in middle level education, to include 3 semester 
hours in each of the following areas related to the adolescent 
child: Adolescent Development and Behavior, Curriculum 
and Instruction Strategies for Middle Grades, Classroom 
Management Techniques, Student Advising, Mentoring and 
Counseling Techniques and Reading in the Content Area.

4.0 This regulation shall be effective through June 30, 2006 
only.  Applicants who apply for a Sstandard Ccertificate as a 
middle level teacher after that date must comply with the 
requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1516.

Regulatory Implementing Order

Regulation 341 Certification Trade And Industrial 
Teacher

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code §341 Certification Trade and Industrial (T & 
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I) Teacher. This regulation applies to the requirements for a 
Standard Certificate for a Trade and Industrial  Teacher as 
established by 14 Del. C. §1220(a).  The amendment to this 
regulation is necessary to comply with changes in statute 
regarding licensure and certification of educators.  The 
regulation seeks to define “two years of college or technical 
training” and to clarify the requirements for course work by 
trade and industrial teachers.  The amended regulation will 
be renumbered 1559 to denote its movement to the 
Professional Standards Board section of the Administrative 
Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation 
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State 
News on March 29, 2004, in the form hereto attached as 
Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.  No 
comments were received. 

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this 
regulation to comply with changes in statute regarding the 
licensure of educators.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is 
appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del. C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as 
Exhibit “B” is hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision of 
14 Del. C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be 
in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of 
this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form 
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §1559 in the Administrative 
Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL 
STANDARDS BOARD THE 6TH DAY of MAY, 2004

Harold Roberts, Chair Leslie Holden
Sharon Brittingham Carla Lawson
Heath Chasanov Mary Mirabeau

Patricia Clements John Pallace
Edward Czerwinski Karen Schilling Ross
Karen Gordon Carol Vukelich
Barbara Grogg Geraldine A. Williams
Bruce Harter

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT 
OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED This 20th Day Of March, 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

[1559] 341 Standard Certificateion Trade and Industrial 
Education (T & I) Teacher

Effective July 1, 1993
1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License 
for grades 9-12 and is valid for grades 7-8 for the specific 
trade area only.

1.0 Content
1.1  This regulation shall apply to the requirements for 

a Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for 
Trade and Industrial Education Teacher.

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Current Trade Experience” means successful, full-
time employment within the last ten years in an occupation 
directly related to the specific occupational area to be taught.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“Department Approved” means approved by the 
Department of Education in consultation with DOE’s 
supervisor for Trade and Industrial Education.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill, 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Two Years of College or Technical Training” means 
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a minimum of a high school diploma or its recognized 
equivalent and the satisfactory completion of the 
requirements for any one, or an appropriate combination, of 
the following options in the occupational area to be taught 
equaling (1) an associate’s degree with a major in the 
specific occupational area to be taught; (2) two years of 
college majoring in the specific occupational area to be 
taught with at least 50% of the major courses required for a 
bachelor’s degree satisfactorily completed; (3) a state-issued 
certificate indicating completion of apprenticeship hours and 
apprentice-related training (e.g. journey papers); (4) four 
years of sequential Delaware Trade Extension courses; (5) 
four years of National Center for Construction Education 
and Research’s Contren documented training; (6) nine high 
school credits of career and technical high school training; 
(7) passage of the State of Delaware Licensing Test, offered 
through the Division of Professional Regulation; (8) 576 
hours of military training; (9) 576 hours postsecondary trade 
school training; (10) completing the written and performance 
teacher tests for the National Occupational Competency 
Testing Institute at or above the minimum score set by the 
Department; (11) industry-recognized certification of 
technical competence and/or journeyperson status, or (12) 
DOE approved equivalents.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department 
shall issue a Standard Certificate as a Trade and Industrial 
Education Teacher (required for grades 9-12, and valid in 
grades 7-8 in a middle level school) to an applicant who 
holds a valid Delaware initial, continuing, or advanced 
license; or standard or professional status certificate issued 
by the Department prior to August 31, 2003, and who meets 
the following requirements:

1.1 General Education
1.1.1 Bachelor’s degree from an accredited 

college or,
1.1.2 A high school diploma and 15 semester 

hours of general preparation from an accredited college in 
the areas of Science, mathematics, Social Studies, English/
Communications, and Computer Literacy and,

3.1 1.2 Professional Education
Bachelor’s degree in vocational education in the specific 

field of endorsement or, A minimum of 51 semester hours as 
follows:

3.1.1 1.1.1 Bachelor’s degree from an regionally 
accredited college or university in the occupational area to 
be taught or and two (2) years of current trade experience in 
the area to be taught, and

1.2.2.1  Required 24 semester hours from the 
following: Educational Psychology or Human Development, 
analysis Techniques and Course Construction, Methods of 
Teaching Vocational Education, Vocational Safety (as 
appropriate to the occupation being taught), Identifying/
Treating Exceptionalities, Effective Teaching Strategies, 

Multicultural Education, Student Testing and Evaluation 
and,

3.1.1.1 Required Courses: 24 semester hours
of course work, taken either as part of a degree program or in 
addition to it, from the following:

3.1.1.1.1 Educational Psychology or 
Human Development;

3.1.1.1.2 Career/Technical Education 
Assessment and Course Construction;

3.1.1.1.3 Methods of Teaching Career/
Technical Education I or Materials and Approaches to 
Career/Technical Education I;

3.1.1.1.4 Methods of Teaching Career/
Technical Education II or Materials and Approaches to 
Career/Technical Education II;

3.1.1.1.5 Introduction to/Education of 
Exceptional Children;

3.1.1.1.6 Behavior management or 
Classroom Management;

3.1.1.1.7 Instructional Technology; 
and

3.1.1.1.8 Multicultural Education or 
Diversity in the Classroom; and

3.1.1.2 1.2.2.2 Required Electives -- 27 12
semester hours of college-level and prior approved in-
service course work, taken either as part of a degree program 
or in addition to it, or the equivalent of 12 semester hours of 
documented industry/skills training, or a combination 
thereof, taken /skills documentation determined by the local 
district superintendent and/or the appropriate Department of 
Education staff to assist the teacher in maintaining current 
craftsmanship and teaching skills in the vocational area 
covered by the license that includes:  Vocational Guidance, 
Shop Organization and Management, History and 
Philosophy of Vocational Education, Student Organizations, 
Special Education, Behavior or Classroom Management, 
Development of Vocational Teaching Aids, Trade 
Competency Exam in Area, Appropriate Trade School 
Courses, Appropriate Manufacturer’s Service School 
Courses and,

3.1.1.2.1 Student Organizations in the 
Curriculum;

3.1.1.2.2 History and Regulations of 
Career/Technical Education;

3.1.1.2.3 Student Testing/Evaluation;
3.1.1.2.4 Education of Exceptional 

Children (at a level above any previous course work)
3.1.1.2.5 Career/Technical Guidance;
3.1.1.2.6 DOE-approved 

apprenticeship, military, or trade school/extension courses 
appropriate to the area taught or National Occupational 
Competency Testing (NOCTI) Written and Performance 
Tests or DOE-approved industry certification;

3.1.1.2.7 National Center for 
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Construction Education and Research (NCCER) Instructor 
Certification course or DOE-approved Instructor’s
Certification course(s);

3.1.1.2.8 DOE-approved test-based 
Professional Municipal License;

3.1.1.2.9 DOE-approved test-based 
Professional Municipal License Preparation course; or

3.1.1.2.10 College courses in the 
occupational area to be taught; or

3.1.2 Associate’s degree from a regionally 
accredited college or university in the occupational area to 
be taught and four (4) years of current trade experience in the 
area to be taught; and

3.1.2.1 Required Courses:  24 semester hours 
of course work, taken either as part of a degree program or in 
addition to it, from the following:

3.1.2.1.1 Educational Psychology or 
Human Development;

3.1.2.1.2 Career/Technical Education 
Assessment and Course Construction;

3.1.2.1.3 Methods of Teaching Career/
Technical Education I or Materials and Approaches to 
Career/Technical Education I;

3.1.2.1.4 Methods of Teaching Career/
Technical Education II or Materials and Approaches to 
Career/Technical Education II;

3.1.2.1.5 Introduction to/Education of 
Exceptional Children;

3.1.2.1.6 Behavior Management or 
Classroom;

3.1.2.1.7 nstructional Technology; and
3.1.2.1.8 Multicultural Education or 

Diversity in the Classroom; and
3.1.2.2 Required Electives – 12 semester 

hours of college-level course work, taken either as part of a 
degree program or in addition to it, or the equivalent of 12 
semester hours of documented industry/skills training, or a 
combination thereof, taken to assist the teacher in 
maintaining current craftsmanship and teaching skills in the 
career/technical area covered by the certificate that include:

3.1.2.2.1 Student Organizations in the 
Curriculum;

3.1.2.2.2 History and Regulations of 
Career/Technical Education;

3.1.2.2.3 Student Testing/Evaluation;
3.1.2.2.4 Education of Exceptional 

Children (at a level above any previous course work)
3.1.2.2.5 Career/Technical Guidance;
3.1.2.2.6 DOE-approved 

apprenticeship, military, or trade school/extension courses 
appropriate to the area taught or National Occupational 
Competency Testing (NOCTI) Written and Performance 
Tests or DOE-approved industry certification;

3.1.2.2.7 National Center for 

Construction Education and Research (NCCER) Instructor 
Certification course or DOE-approved Instructor’s
Certification course(s);

3.1.2.2.8 DOE-approved test-based 
Professional Municipal License;

3.1.2.2.9 DOE-approved test-based 
Professional Municipal License Preparation course; or

3.1.2.2.10 College courses in the 
occupational area to be taught; or

3.1.3 Two (2) years of college or technical 
training, plus 6 years of current trade experience in the area 
to be taught; and

3.1.3.1 Completion of a DOE-approved Trade 
and Industrial teacher education associate’s and/or 
bachelor’s degree program; or

3.1.3.2 1.2.2.1 Required Courses 24 
semester hours of course work from the following: 
Educational Psychology or Human Development, Analysis 
Techniques and Course Construction, Methods of Teaching 
Vocational Education, Vocational Safety (as appropriate to 
the occupation being taught), Identifying/Treating 
Exceptionalities, Effective Teaching Strategies, 
Multicultural Education, Student Testing and Evaluation and

3.1.3.2.1 Educational Psychology or 
Human Development;

3.1.3.2.2 Career/Technical Education 
Assessment and Course Construction;

3.1.3.2.3 Methods of Teaching Career/
Technical Education I or Materials and Approaches to 
Career/Technical Education I;

3.1.3.2.4 Methods of Teaching Career/
Technical Education II or Materials and Approaches to 
Career/Technical Education II;

3.1.3.2.5 Introduction to/Education of 
Exceptional Children;

3.1.3.2.6 Behavior Management or 
Classroom Management;

3.1.3.2.7 Instructional Technology; 
and

3.1.3.2.8 Multicultural Education or 
Diversity in the Classroom; and

3.1.3.3 1.2.2.2 Required Electives -- 27 12
semester hours of college-level and prior approved in-
service course work and/or industry training/skills 
documentation determined by the local district 
superintendent and/or the appropriate Department of 
Education staff to assist the teacher in maintaining current 
craftsmanship and teaching skills in the vocational area 
covered by the license that includes:  Vocational Guidance, 
Shop Organization and Management, History and 
Philosophy of Vocational Education, Student Organizations, 
Special Education, Behavior or Classroom Management, 
Development of Vocational Teaching Aids, Trade 
Competency Exam in Area, Appropriate Trade School 
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Courses, Appropriate Manufacturer’s Service School 
Courses and,

3.1.3.3.1 Career/Technical Student 
Organizations in the Curriculum;

3.1.3.3.2 History and Regulations of 
Career/Technical Education;

3.1.3.3.3 Student Testing/Evaluation;
3.1.3.3.4 Education of Exceptional 

Children (at a level above any previous course work);
3.1.3.3.5 Career/Technical Guidance;
3.1.3.3.6 DOE-approved 

apprenticeship, military, or trade school/extension courses 
appropriate to the area taught or National Occupational 
Competency Testing (NOCTI) Written and Performance 
Tests or DOE-approved industry certification;

3.1.3.3.7 National Center for 
Construction Education and Research (NCCER) Instructor 
Certification course or DOE-approved Instructor’s 
Certification course(s);

3.1.3.3.8 DOE-approved test-based 
Professional Municipal License;

3.1.3.3.9 DOE-approved test-based 
Professional Municipal License Preparation course; or

3.1.3.3.10 College courses in the 
occupational area to be taught; and

3.1.3.4 Required General Education – 15 
semester hours of general preparation from a regionally 
accredited college or university, with at least one course in 
each of the following area:

3.1.3.4.1 Science;
3.1.3.4.2 Mathematics;
3.1.3.4.3 Social Studies;
3.1.3.4.4 English/Communications; 

and
3.1.3.4.5 Computer Literacy.

3.2 1.3 Skilled Trade Experience
3.2.1 A minimum of six years of successful, 

full-time work/training experience, at least two years of 
which must have been within the last ten years, at an 
apprenticeship level, or two years beyond the learning 
period* in the trade or industrial occupation to be taught. 
and, Full-time teaching or direct supervision in the trade or 
industrial occupation qualifies as current work experience, 
provided the applicant has at least six (6) years of successful, 
full-time prior work/training experience.

3.3 1.4 Professions and Occupations License.
3.3.1 In teaching trade or industrial occupations 

areas where a state license or registration is required by law, 
the all applicants, except applicants for electrician’s or 
plumber’s trade and industrial certification must present the
a valid and current Delaware license or registration upon 
application for a standard license certificate.   Applicants for 
an electrician’s or a plumber’s trade and industrial 
certification must present a valid and current Delaware 

license as part of completing certification requirements.  The 
state license or registration must be renewed as required by 
law.

1.4.1 A Trade Competency Examination may be 
required by the Delaware State Department of Education for 
applicants whose work experience is not properly verified or 
whose experience appears to be outdated

1.4.2 * “Learning period” is defined as one of 
the following: Registered apprentice program State licensure 
program; i.e. Registered Nurse, LPN, Cosmetology, 
Barbering Approved high school vocational program, plus 
an associate’s degree in an appropriate vocational area 
Satisfactory completion of an appropriate Trade Competency 
Examination (as approved by the Department of Education 
A Bachelor’s degree in an appropriate vocational field 
(related to the occupational field to be taught).

2.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include 
Standard, Standard Endorsement and Limited Standard.

2.1 The Limited Standard license may be issued upon 
request of a Delaware public school district for a teacher 
employed for this position who meets the standards set forth 
in 2.3 or regulation 301 General Regulations for 
Certification of Professional Public School Personnel.

Regulatory Implementing Order

382 Certification School Social Work Services

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation 
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks 
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE 
Admin. Code §382 Certification School Social Work 
Services. This regulation applies to the requirements for a 
Standard Certificate for a School Social Worker, as 
established by 14 Del.C. §1220(a).  The amendment to this 
regulation is necessary to comply with changes in statute 
regarding the licensure and certification of educators.  The 
amended regulation deletes a section which permits non-
degreed social workers to practice, as they would be 
ineligible for an Initial or Continuing License.  It also deletes 
job responsibilities for social workers, as this is a 
responsibility of the employing authority, not the Office of 
Professional Accountability.  The amended regulation will 
be renumbered 1582 and renamed Standard Certificate – 
School Social Worker to reflect its movement to the 
Professional Standards Board portion of the Administrative 
Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.
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Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation 
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State 
News on March 29, 2004, in the form hereto attached as 
Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments. 
Comments were received from the State Council for Persons 
with Disabilities supporting the changes in requirements, but 
questioning the need for an internship. The comments were 
considered, but it was decided to maintain the internship as 
an important aspect of school social workers’ preparation.

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board 
of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this 
regulation to comply with changes in statute regarding the 
licensure of educators.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards 
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is 
appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to 
14 Del. C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as 
Exhibit “B” is hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision of 
14 Del. C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be 
in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of 
this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form 
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §1582 in the Administrative 
Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL 
STANDARDS BOARD THE 6TH DAY of MAY, 2004

Harold Roberts, Chair Leslie Holden
Sharon Brittingham Carla Lawson
Heath Chasanov Mary Mirabeau
Patricia Clements John Pallace
Edward Czerwinski Karen Schilling Ross
Karen Gordon Carol Vukelich
Barbara Grogg Geraldine A. Williams
Bruce Harter

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT 

OF EDUCATION:
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED This 18th Day Of March, 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1582 382 Standard Certificateion School Social Worker 
Services

Effective July 1, 1994

1.0 Content.
  1.1 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a 
Standard Certificate, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1220(a), for 
School Social Worker.

2.0 Definitions.
2.1  The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate, 
which may occur regardless of a recipient’s assignment or 
employment status.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of 
Education.

“License” means a credential which authorizes the 
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is 
issued.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to 
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill 
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a 
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §1220(a), the Department 
shall issue a Standard Certificate as a School Social Worker 
to an applicant who holds a valid Delaware initial, 
continuing, or advanced license; or standard or professional 
status certificate issued by the Department prior to August 
31, 2003, and who meets the following requirements.
1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License 
for individuals with this assigned responsibility (as described 
in the attachment) within the public school setting, K-12, 
whether assigned to a specific building(s) or at large.

1.1 Licensed School Social Worker (LSW)
1.1.1 Master's degree in Social Work from a 

regionally accredited college and,
1.1.2 Two years experience as a social worker 
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and,
1.1.3 State of Delaware license as a Licensed 

Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) and
1.1.4 One year of supervised experience in a 

school setting, or a one-year internship of 1000 hours 
approved by the Department of Education and supervised by 
an appropriate school designee.

3.1 1.2 Master's Degree School Social Worker (MSW)
3.1.1 1.2.1Master's degree in Social Work 

(MSW) from a regionally accredited college or university
and,

3.1.2 1.2.2Two years successful full-time work
experience as a social worker, and

3.1.3 one year of supervised experience in a 
school setting, or a one-year internship of 1000 hours 
approved by the Department of Education and supervised by 
an appropriate school designee.

1.3 Bachelor's Degree School Social Worker (BSW)
1.3.1 Bachelor's degree in Social Work (BSW) a 

closely related field and,
1.3.2 Two years experience in social work if 

Bachelor's degree is in social work or,
1.3.3 Five years experience in social work if 

degree is in a related field and,
1.3.4 One year of supervised experience in a 

school setting, or a one-year internship of 1000 hours 
approved by the Department of Education and supervised by 
an appropriate school designee.

1.4 Specialist
1.4.1 High school diploma and five years 

experience in the field of family services facilitation.

2.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include 
Standard and Limited Standard.

2.1 The following shall be required for the Limited 
Standard License

2.1.1 Meeting all requirements in 1.1.1, 1.1.2, 
1.1.3 or 2.1.1 and 2.1.2 or 

3.0 Job Responsibilities for Licensed School Social 
Worker (LSW)

3.1 Services to pupils and parents that include crisis 
intervention, conflict resolution strategies, case 
management, case history, administering workload, clinical 
assessment and treatment, individual, family, and/or group 
counseling, family therapy, development of treatment plans 
and analyzing /assessing progress related to plan.

3.2 Services to school personnel that include 
consultation with 
school professionals, developing and evaluating program 
success and supervision of interns.

3.3 Services to the school community that include 
training, student 
advocacy, education team participation and third party 

payments.
3.4 Qualifications that include a Masters Degree in 

School Social Work (MSW), 2 years experience as a 
practicing social worker, a State of Delaware license as a 
Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) and one year 
approved by the Department of Education.

4.0 Job Responsibilities for a Master's Degree School 
Social Worker (MSW)

4.1 Services to pupils and parents that include crisis 
intervention, conflict resolution strategies, case 
management, case history, administering workload, clinical 
assessment and treatment, individual, family, and/or group 
counseling, family therapy, development of treatment plans 
and analyzing /assessing progress related to plan.

4.2 Services to school personnel that include 
consultation with school professionals, developing and 
evaluating program (success) and supervision of interns.

4.3 Services to the school community that include 
training, student advocacy and education team participation.

4.4 Qualifications that include a Masters Degree in 
School Social Work (MSW), 2 years experience as a 
practicing social worker, internship in a school setting or one 
year approved by the Department of Education.

5.0 Job Responsibilities for Bachelor's Degree School 
Social Worker (BSW)

5.1 Services to pupils and parents that include first 
event/initial screening, referrals/coordination of services, 
special programs (student training) and referral to 
appropriate resources for service delivery when such training 
is out of the scope of personal expertise

5.2 Services to school personnel that include training of 
local school personnel related to role and function served.

5.3 Services to school community that include liaison 
to the school/community, support groups and general needs 
assessment.

5.4 Qualifications that include Bachelor's Degree in 
School Social Work (BSW) or a related area, 2 years 
experience in social work if degree is a BSW, 5 years 
experience in social work if the degree is in a related field 
and an Internship of 1000 hours approved by the Department 
of Education.

6.0 Job Responsibilities for Specialist
6.1 Services to pupils and parents that include 

advocating for children and families, interviewing, 
preliminary information gathering, scheduling appointments, 
parent training (minimum skills), transportation, and 
telephone calls.

6.2 Services to school personnel that includes training 
of local school personnel.

6.3 Services to the school community that includes 
specific needs assessment related to food, clothing and other 
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basic needs
6.4 Qualifications that include a high school diploma 

and five years of experience in family services facilitation.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, 

Chapter 26A, Section 2631 (16 Del.C. §2631)

ORDER

Nature Of The Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”) 
initiated proceedings to adopt State of Delaware Hearing Aid 
Loan Bank Program Regulations.  The DHSS proceedings to 
adopt regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware 
Code Chapter 101 and authority as prescribed by 16 
Delaware Code, Chapter 26A, Section 2631.

On March 1, 2004 (Volume 7, Issue 9), DHSS published 
in the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice of 
proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115.  It requested that written materials and suggestions 
from the public concerning the proposed regulations be 
delivered to DHSS by March 31, 2004, or be presented at a 
public hearing on March 24, 2004, after which time DHSS 
would review information, factual evidence and public 
comment to the said proposed regulations.

Verbal and written comments were received during the 
public comment period and evaluated.  The results of that 
evaluation are summarized in the accompanying “Summary 
of Evidence.”

Findings Of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed regulations, as 
set forth in the attached copy should be adopted in the best 
interest of the general public of the State of Delaware.  The 
proposed regulations include minor modifications from 
those published in the March 1, 2004, Register of 
Regulations, based on comments received during the public 
comment period.  These modifications are deemed not to be 
substantive in nature.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
State of Delaware Hearing Aid Loan Bank Program 
Regulations are adopted and shall become effective June 10, 
2004, after publication of the final regulation in the 
Delaware Register of Regulations. 

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, 5/17/2004

Summary Of Evidence

A public hearing was held on March 24, 2004 at 9:30 
a.m. in the Third Floor Conference Room of the Jesse 
Cooper Building located on Federal and Water Streets, 
Dover, Delaware before David P. Walton, Hearing Officer. 
The purpose of the hearing was to discuss the proposed 
amendments to the Department of Health and Social 
Services (DHSS) Hearing Aid Loan Bank Program 
Regulations.  Announcements regarding the public hearing 
were published in the Delaware State News, the News 
Journal and the Delaware Register of Regulations in 
accordance with Delaware Law.  JoAnn Baker from 
Community Health Care Access (CHCA) Section of the 
Division of Public Health (DPH) made the agency’s 
presentation.  Attendees were allowed and encouraged to 
discuss and ask questions regarding the proposed 
regulations.  Two individuals gave testimony at the hearing 
and three letters were received commenting on the proposed 
Regulations.  All comments were received during the public 
comment period (March 1 through March 31, 2004). 
Organizations that commented included:

• Delaware Developmental Disabilities Council
• State Council for Persons with Disabilities
• Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citi-

zens
• Delaware Infant Hearing Assessment and Interven-

tion Program
• Delaware State School for the Deaf

All public comments and the DHSS (Agency) responses 
are as follows:

Section 3.1.4: This section requires a parent with private 
insurance to obtain an actual denial letter.  This requirement 
could cause an unnecessary delay and is overly restrictive 
considering a parent could produce a benefits package 
description excluding hearing aid coverage, which should be 
acceptable.  Additionally, an audiologist may have sought 
preauthorization which was rejected by phone without 
issuance of a formal letter.  It is recommended that the 
requirement to produce a denial letter be deleted from this 
section.  By deleting this phrase, this section will also be co-
terminus with Section 3.3.1.

Agency Response:  Although Section 3.1.4 of the 
Regulation requires an insurance company denial letter, the 
lack of such a denial letter upon application for a hearing aid 
will not in an of itself delay the loaning of a hearing aid to an 
eligible child in need.

Section 3.2.4: This section requires the donee to, “be 
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responsible for any damage to or loss of the hearing aid”.  As 
the parent of a child with an orthodontic retainer will attest, 
kids can be expected to misplace or lose valuable items.  To 
expect a 1-2 year old toddler to display adult prudence and 
care of a hearing aid defies reality.  The section essentially 
makes the donee an “insurer” of the device, responsible for 
damage or loss regardless of the exercise of care by the 
parent/donee.  Since only parents without the ability to pay 
for a hearing aid are eligible for the program, it is doubtful 
that the parent or guardian will have the ability to repay for a 
lost or damaged hearing aid.  Recommend this provision 
either be deleted or amended to read, “ . . . be responsible for 
any damage to or loss of the hearing aid, apart from normal 
wear and tear, due to the intentional or gross negligence of 
the parent or guardian . . .”.

Agency Response: Based on this comment and after 
careful review of Section 3.2.4, the Agency amended this 
section as recommended by this comment.  Additionally, as 
part of this program the Agency will consider insurance 
coverage for the hearing aids.

Section 3.3.3: This section of the Regulation creates an 
additional “hurdle” for a parent seeking an extension of the 6 
month initial loan by requiring “proof of making reasonable 
efforts to obtain immediate access to another hearing aid, 
such as pursuing insurance coverage for hearing aids or 
pursuing alternate financial assistance to cover the hearing 
aid.”  If a parent does not have Medicaid, CHIP, or private 
insurance coverage and is poor, that should suffice.  The 
State should not require the parent to prove exhaustion of 
charitable institutions (Church; Lion’s Club; Delaware PVA; 
Needy Family Fund) or bank loans.  Recommend deletion of 
this provision.

Agency Response: The requirement that the parent or 
guardian is making reasonable efforts to obtain access to 
another hearing aid is established in law [16 Del.C., Chapter 
26A, Section 2630(b)(3)].  It is not the intention of the 
Agency to create an additional hurdle or require the parent or 
guardian to exhaust all charitable organizations for 
donations.  The Hearing Aid Loan Bank Program is a 
temporary loaner program and as such the Program Manager 
will actively assist parents and guardians with their search to 
obtain a permanent hearing aid.

The age of eligibility needs to be clarified.  Some regulations 
contemplate eligibility for children “under the age of (3) 
years”[Section 2.0 “Eligible Child” Definition; Section 3.1]. 
We read this as meaning up to the child’s third birthday, i.e., 
“under” age 3.  However, Section 3.3.4 permits up to 2 
extensions “during the third year of life” suggesting potential 
loan periods up to the fourth birthday.  If that is the intent, it 
is recommended that the Agency amend the definition of 
“Eligible Child” in Section 2.0 to read:

“Eligible Child” means a child who is a resident of the 

State, identified by a licensed audiologist as having a 
hearing impairment, has no immediate access to a 
hearing aid, and is either under the age of three (3) years 
or qualifies for an extension up to age four (4) consistent 
with Section 3.3.4.

Agency Response: An “Eligible child” is defined in 16 
Del.C., Section 2627(c)(4) as under the age of 3 years.  The 
Agency does not have the authority to go beyond that 
definition when determining initial eligibility.  However, the 
law does provide the Agency with some latitude when it 
comes to extending the original loan period [16 Del.C.,
Section 2630(b)].  In Section 3.1.4 of the Regulation, the 
Agency is not suggesting loan period extensions up to age 4, 
it is merely placing a reasonable limit on hearing aid loan 
extensions.

Section 4.0: What is the purpose of including this section in 
these Regulations?  If this is a supplement to Section 3.2.4, a 
parent whose child lost a hearing aid would ostensibly be 
compelled to both pay for the hearing aid and pay a fine of 
up to $1,000.00.  In combination, this certainly has an “in 
terrorem” effect which should deter any logical person from 
using this program.

Agency Response: The Agency has a responsibility to 
be a good steward of taxpayer’s money and as such must 
clearly specify consequences to those who choose to 
disregard rules established for the benefit of those in need. 
Section 4.0 of the Regulation is not supplement to Section 
3.2.4 or meant to have an “in terrorem” effect as suggested in 
this comment.  Additionally, Section 3.2.4 of the Regulations 
has been amended to only make the parent or guardian 
responsible for damage or loss of the hearing aid due to the 
intentional or gross negligence of the parent or guardian.

Section 3.2.4: Rather than making the parent or guardian 
responsible for damage or loss of the hearing aid (total cost), 
recommend the Division of Public Health carry additional 
loss and damage insurance on the hearing aid and make the 
parent or guardian responsible for the deductible for that 
insurance.  The deductible would be less costly and more 
reasonable than making the parent or guardian responsible 
for the cost of the hearing aid.

Agency Response: The Agency amended Section 3.2.4 
of the Regulation based on a previous comment, making the 
parent or guardian only responsible for damage or loss as a 
result of intentional or gross negligence of the parent or 
guardian.  The Agency will consider additional insurance 
coverage as suggested in this comment.

In addition to the comments listed above there was a 
general comment commending the Agency, legislators and 
all those involved for establishing such a program.

The public comment period was open from March 1, 
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2004 to March 31, 2004.
Verifying documents are attached to the Hearing 

Officer’s record.  The regulation has been approved by the 
Delaware Attorney General’s office and the Cabinet 
Secretary of DHSS.

108 Hearing Aid Loan Bank Program Regulations

1.0 Purpose
1.1 The program is established for the purpose of 

lending hearing aids on a temporary basis to a parent or legal 
guardian of an eligible child to ensure that children under the 
age of three (3) years will have maximum auditory input 
during the critical period of language learning.

2.0 Definitions
2.1 The following words shall have the meanings 

indicated:
"Director" means the Director or designee of the 

Division of Public Health, Department of Health and Social 
Services.

"Division" means the Division of Public Health, 
Department of Health and Social Services.

"Eligible Child" means a child who is a resident of the 
State, identified by a licensed audiologist as having a hearing 
impairment, has no immediate access to a hearing aid, and is 
under the age of three (3) years.

"Licensed Audiologist" means an individual who is 
licensed to practice audiology under Chapter 37 of Title 24 
of this Code.

"Loan Bank" means hearing aid loan bank.
“Loan Period” means time periods to include initial 

(up to six months) and extension for additional three month 
periods, with required documentation.

"Program" means the Hearing Aid Loan Bank 
Program.

"Program Manager" means the program manager of 
the Hearing Aid Loan Bank Program.

3.0 Eligibility
3.1 A child under three (3) years of age is eligible if 

confirmed through:
3.1.1 A prescription from a licensed audiologist;
3.1.2 Birth certificate or other documentation 

for proof of age;
3.1.3 Address of residence to document 

Delaware residency;
3.1.4 No immediate access to another hearing 

aid under Medicaid, the State children’s health program or 
private insurance, as per insurance denial letters; and

3.1.5 Proof of the parent or legal guardian’s 
inability to pay for the hearing aid based on:

3.1.5.1 Proof of family income by review of 
three of the most recent consecutive pay stubs for each 

parent or legal guardian, using the Federal Poverty 
Guidelines as the reference.  If such pay stubs are not 
available, documents as approved by program manager must 
be submitted.

3.1.5.2 Documentation of insurance 
coverage, and/or medical assistance status.

3.2 A parent or legal guardian who borrows a hearing 
aid for an eligible child shall:

3.2.1 be the custodian of the hearing aid;
3.2.2 return the hearing aid immediately to the 

loan bank upon the expiration of the loan period or receipt of 
a suitable permanent hearing aid, whichever occurs first;

3.2.3 be responsible for the proper care and use 
of the hearing aid;

3.2.4 be responsible for any damage to or loss of 
the hearing aid[, apart from normal wear and tear, due to 
the intentional or gross negligence of the parent or 
guardian]; and

3.2.5 sign a written agreement provided by the 
program manager that states the term and conditions of the 
loan.

3.3 For a child to be eligible for one or more extensions 
of the initial six month loan period, a parent or the guardian 
of the child must show:

3.3.1 That there is no immediate access to 
another hearing aid under Medicaid, the State children’s 
health program or private insurance;

3.3.2 The child’s parent or legal guardian 
currently does not have the financial means to obtain 
immediate access to another hearing aid; and

3.3.3 Proof of making reasonable efforts to 
obtain immediate access to another hearing aid, such as 
pursuing insurance coverage for hearing aids or pursuing 
alternate financial assistance to cover the hearing aid; and

3.3.4 Has met initial eligibility criteria prior to 
age three; not to exceed two extensions during the third year 
of life.

4.0 Penalty for Non-Compliance
Under the Authority granted to the Department of 

Health and Social Services in 16 Del. C. Section 107, 
"whoever refuses, fails or neglects to perform the duties 
required under this chapter, or violates, neglects or fails to 
comply with the duly adopted regulations or orders of the 
Department of Health and Social Services, shall be fined not 
less than $100 and not more than $1,000, together with costs, 
unless otherwise provided by law."
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DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
OFFICE OF LABOR LAW ENFORCEMENT
Statutory Authority: 19 Delaware Code, 

Sections 105, 114  (19 Del. C. §§105, 114)

ORDER

Nature Of The Proceedings

1. Pursuant to notice in accordance with 29 Del.C. § 
10115, the Department of Labor proposed a regulation under 
the Wage Payment and Collection Act to consider whether 
payroll debit cards, as a form of wage payment is the 
functional equivalent of cash or a check pursuant to the Act. 
A copy of the proposed regulation is attached as Exhibit 
“A”.

2. A public hearing was held at 9:00 a.m. on Friday, 
January 23, 2004, at the Department of Labor Annex, 19 Lea 
Boulevard, Wilmington, Delaware, the time and place 
designated to receive written and oral comments.

3. A second public hearing scheduled for 9:00 a.m. on 
Monday, January 26, 2004, at the Department of Health & 
Social Services Office, 18 North Walnut Street, Milford, 
Delaware, was cancelled due to inclement weather 
conditions.  A second public hearing was held at 9:00 a.m. 
on Tuesday, March 2, 2004, in the 2nd Floor Conference 
Room, at the Department of Labor Office Building, 24 N.W. 
Front Street, Milford, Delaware, the time and place 
designated to receive written and oral comments.

4. As designated by the Secretary of Labor, Harold E. 
Stafford, James G. Cagle, Jr., Director of the Division of 
Industrial Affairs, and Keri L. Williams, Administrator of 
the Office of Labor Law Enforcement, were present to 
receive testimony and evidence at the hearings.

Summary of the Evidence

5. Those individuals testifying at the January 23, 2004 
hearing in Wilmington, Delaware, and a summary of said 
testimony is as follows:

6. Mr. Peter Isberg, Director of Government Affairs 
for Automatic Data Processing, Inc. (ADP), provided 
general comments regarding ADP and the benefits and 
appropriateness of payroll debit cards for employees and the 
benefits to employers.  He offered the following suggestions:

In Section 3.0, there are several references to 
individual bank accounts.  Mr. Isberg stated that the payroll 
debit card is not a bank account.  Each card is not covered 
individually by FDIC insurance of up to $100,000.  He 
suggested that where the term “bank account” appears, that 
the term payroll debit card should be used in its place.  

Mr. Isberg submitted a written copy of his 
comments which is made a part of the record.

7. Ms. Lisa Peerman, Vice-President and deputy chief 
counsel for Comdata Networking, offered the following 
suggestions:

Ms. Peerman stated that, the payroll debit card 
option should not be limited to unbanked employees.  Any 
reference to unbanked employees should be stricken from 
the proposed regulation.  Ms. Peerman further stated that she 
agreed with the suggestion made by Mr. Isberg regarding 
replacing the term “individual bank account” with the term 
“payroll debit card.”

8. Ms. Carol Ford, Vice-President of Sales for 
Comdata Networking, offered general comments regarding 
the benefits of a payroll debit card system.  Ms. Ford stated 
that, Comdata has 24-hour customer service access for 
customers, as do most providers.  Further, Ms. Ford stated 
that employers today are at a disadvantage trying to find 
places for employees to cash checks.  A payroll debit card 
system will alleviate these problems.  

9. The individuals testifying at the March 2, 2004 
hearing in Milford, Delaware, and a summary of said 
testimony is as follows:

10. Mr. Andrew McDevitt, Manager of Government 
Relations for the American Payroll Association offered the 
following comments and suggestions:

Mr. McDevitt provided an introduction regarding 
the American Payroll Association.  He proposed that the 
term “unbanked employee” be stricken from the proposed 
regulation.  He stated that it is difficult to ascertain which 
employees have bank accounts and which do not.  Further, 
there is no validation process to obtain this information and 
that the payroll debit card system option should not be 
limited to unbanked employees.

Mr. McDevitt further commented on the usage of 
the term “individual bank account”.  He stated that it is a 
misnomer to refer to payroll debit card accounts as bank 
accounts.  It is dependant on how the employer sets up the 
program.  It was recommended that the usage of the term 
“individual bank account” be replaced with the term “payroll 
debit card.”

12. There was no other testimony.  Ms. Williams stated 
that the record would be held open until the end of the day 
Friday, March 5, 2004, in order to receive further written 
submissions. 

13. Following the January 23, 2004, hearing, written 
submissions supporting the proposed regulation were 
received from:

Richard G. Elliot, Jr., Esquire, on behalf of Comdata 
Networking.

Robert F. Stewart, Jr., Esquire, Dilworth Paxson, 
LLP on behalf of the Employee Relations Committee of the 
Delaware State Chamber of Commerce.  

Karen E. Peterson, Delaware State Senator.
These submissions have been made a part of the record.
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Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

Recommendations were given to the Secretary of Labor 
following the public hearing process and consideration of all 
oral testimony and written documentation received.  The 
Department of Labor’s findings regarding the issues raised at 
the hearings are as follows:

14. Generally, the public comments suggest that the 
references to individual bank accounts are inappropriate and 
a misnomer.  The payroll debit card system does not provide 
individual bank accounts but rather provides an efficient and 
safe means for wage payment that comports with the law. 
Regulations that reference the term “individual bank 
accounts” in conjunction with a payroll debit card system is 
inappropriate.  

15. Public comments further suggest that a payroll 
debit card system should not be limited to unbanked 
employees and that the use of such a term within the 
proposed regulation is confusing.  Payroll debit card systems 
generally do not offer individual bank accounts for unbanked 
employees.  Regulations that distinguish between banked 
and unbanked employees in conjunction with a payroll debit 
card system is inappropriate and confusing.

16. Lastly, the comments made by Mr. McDevitt, 
acknowledging that a payroll debit card system is dependant 
upon the employers’ choice of programs, succinctly states 
the Department of Labor’s interest in proposing a regulation 
that affords employers and employees the efficiency of a 
payroll debit card while emphasizing the employer’s 
responsibility to do so without offending the substantive 
rights of the Wage Payment and Collection Act.

17. The Department of Labor appreciates the comments 
received from the interested parties and emphasizes that the 
onus is on the employer to create a payroll debit card system 
which complies with all the substantive requirements under 
the Wage Payment and Collection Act at 19 Del.C. Ch. 11. 
The only purpose of this regulation is to recognize that a 
payroll debit card which is the substantial equivalent of cash 
or check payable on demand under the law, will not be 
actionable under the Wage Payment and Collection Act. 

18. Based upon the oral testimony and written 
submissions from the hearing, the Department of Labor 
wishes to amend the proposed regulations under the Wage 
Payment and Collection Act.  The Department will delete the 
definition of unbanked employee under section 1.0 and will 
delete section 3.0 in its entirety.

Decision to Adopt

It is the decision and order of the Department of Labor 
that the proposed regulation under the Wage Payment and 
Collection Act, a true and correct copy of which is attached 
hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby ADOPTED AS 
AMENDED to become effective June 14, 2004.

SO ORDERED, this 14th day of May, 2004.

Harold E. Stafford, Secretary of Labor

Wage Payment & Collection Act
Payroll Debit Cards

The Department of Labor finds payroll debit cards to be 
beneficial and acceptable as a form of wage payment under 
the Wage Payment and Collection Act.  Under all 
circumstances, the use of payroll debit cards as a form of 
wage payment must comply with all conditions set forth in 
the Act including, but not limited to the following:

a. Employers must inform new employees in writing, 
at the time of hire, when the employer will fulfill the 
exchange rate obligations (§1108 (1));

b. Employers must pay the employee within 7 days 
from the close of the pay period for the work performed 
(§1102 (b));

c. Employers must pay the employee no less than 
once a month on a day designated in advance by the 
employer (§1102 (a));

d. Employers must pay the employee in legal tender of 
cash, check payable on demand, or by credit to the 
employee’s bank account when requested in writing by the 
employee (§1102(a));

e. Employers must pay the full wages owed on the 
regular payday and account for lawful deductions specified 
under §1107 and related regulations; and

f. Employers must provide a written record reciting 
the hours worked, hours paid, benefits accrued, lawful 
deductions, and any information for historical purposes 
effecting the wage arrangement for three years (§1108 (4) 
and (6)).

1.0 Definitions
1.1 ATM means the automatic teller machine activated 

by a magnetically encoded card and the transmission of a 
code which allows card holders to perform routine banking 
transactions including the withdrawal of cash.

1.2 Cash means lawful money.
1.3 Credit means the amount of money which is added 

to an employee’s bank account.
1.4 Demand Deposit Account means funds that an 

employee or card holder may withdraw from a bank with no 
advance notice usually by writing a check or using an 
automatic teller machine.
 1.5 Direct Deposit means automatic deposit of wages 
or benefits into an employee’s bank account. 

1.6 Exchange Rate means the rate agreed upon by the 
employer and employee as compensation for the 
performance of work by the employee. 

1.7 Functional Equivalent means a change in the form 
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of the payment of wages without impacting the substantive 
rights or value of the employee’s wages.  For example, a 
debit card in lieu of cash, check, or credit must provide the 
full amount of wages without cost to the employee on the 
regular payday.

1.8 Payroll Debit Card is a card that provides an 
employee with the appropriate means of obtaining all wages 
earned in a defined pay period in a form that is the equivalent 
of payment by cash, check, or direct deposit. 

1.9 Unbanked Employee means an employee who 
does not transact banking business under their own 
individual account.

2.0 Payroll Debit Card in Lieu of Cash or Check
Delaware’s Wage Payment & Collection Act requires 

the payment of wages to employees in lawful money or 
checks payable on demand, “provided suitable arrangements 
are made by the employer for cashing such checks for the 
full amount of the wages due at a bank or other business 
establishment convenient to the place of employment. 
Employers may comply with this requirement by issuing a 
payroll debit card which provides the functional equivalent 
of cash or a check.  It is the employers’ responsibility to 
effectuate a payroll debit card system which will allow full 
payment of wages on the employee’s regular payday and 
without cost to the employee.  Employers may use a pre-paid 
debit card or general payroll fund account to establish 
suitable arrangements for converting wages into employee’s 
disposable income.

3.0 Payroll Debit Card and Account Option for the 
Unbanked Employee

Delaware’s Wage Payment & Collection Act allows for, 
but does not require a voluntary program of automatic 
deposit or credit to a designated bank account of the 
employee.  For employers who presently honor such a 
system, the employer may offer a similar option to unbanked 
employees upon the written request for the benefit of the 
employee who desires an individual bank account in their 
name.  Employees are required to provide a written 
authorization to the employer for the transfer of wages into 
the individual bank account.  All employees shall have 
notice that direct deposit into individual account programs 
are initiated and terminated by the employees’ written 
requests.  Costs associated with accounts established for the 
unbanked employee who voluntarily participates in the 
payroll debit card individual account program must be 
reasonable under the circumstances.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION
Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,

Chapter 60 (7 Del. C. Ch. 60)

Secretary’s Order No.:  2004-A-0023
Proposed Revisions to the State Implementation Plan 

(SIP) To Change the Mid-Course Review date to 12/31/04
Date of Issuance:  April 21, 2004

Effective Date of the SIP Revision: June 11, 2004

I.  Background

A public hearing was held on January 28, 2004, in the 
AQM Conference Room of the Priscilla Building, 156 South 
State Street, Dover, Delaware, to receive comment on a 
proposed non-regulatory action to amend Delaware’s Phase 
II Attainment Demonstration State Implementation Plan 
(SIP) by changing the Mid-Course Review (MCR) date to 
December 31, 2004.

The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA) 
requires Delaware to submit to the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) a SIP Revision to demonstrate its 
capability of attaining the 1-hour National Ambient Air 
Quality Standard (NAAQS) for the ground-level ozone in 
Kent and New Castle Counties in 2005.  This SIP Revision, 
termed the Phase II Attainment Demonstration, was initially 
submitted to the EPA in May 1998 and amended in October 
1998, January 2000, December 2000, October 2001 and June 
2003.  In order to settle a complaint filed by six 
environmental groups in U.S. District Court, EPA required, 
as a condition of approval of the Phase II Attainment 
Demonstration SIP of each state in the Philadelphia-
Wilmington-Trenton non-attainment area, that a MCR be 
conducted.  This MCR would evaluate the progress being 
made toward attainment of the 1-hour ozone standard, and 
be used to determine if any additional controls would be 
necessary to ensure attainment by 2005.  Pursuant to this 
EPA requirement, Delaware committed to its January 2000 
SIP revision to perform a MCR by December 31, 2003.

Following this, the U.S. Court of Appeals for D.C. 
Circuit delayed the implementation of the EPA NOx 
Transport SIP Call from 2003 to 2004.  Because the NOx 
Transport SIP Call is a significant part of the overall 1-hour 
ozone attainment strategy, EPA allowed states to revise their 
MCR due date to a date after May 31, 2004.  The later MCR 
date better serves the MCR purpose, as it enables states to 
consider the significant impacts of the NOx Transport SIP 
Call in their analysis.
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The purpose of this proposed SIP Revision is to amend 
Delaware’s Phase II Attainment Demonstration to revise its 
MCR date to December 31, 2004.  In addition to the EPA 
rationale of delaying the MCR to allow for inclusion of the 
implementation of the NOx Transport SIP Call in the 
analysis, the Department believes that additional rationale 
for a delay is to put Delaware on the same time line with 
other states in the region to enable Delaware to work 
cooperatively and to conduct the MCR as a regional effort. 
No specific segment of the public will be directly impacted 
by this proposed action, and no one from the public attended 
this hearing.  Proper notice of this hearing was provided as 
required by law. 

After the hearing, the Department performed an 
evaluation of the evidence entered into the record in this 
matter.  Thereafter, the Hearing Officer prepared his report 
and recommendation in the form of a Hearing Officer’s 
Report to the Secretary dated April 16, 2004, and that 
Hearing Officer’s report is expressly incorporated herein by 
reference.  

II.  Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the 
Hearing Officer’s Report dated April 16, 2004 are expressly 
incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the findings 
and conclusions of the Secretary.

III.  Order

In view of the above, I hereby order that the proposed 
Mid-Course Review SIP Revision be promulgated in the 
manner and form provided for by law,  as recommended in 
the Hearing Officer’s Report.

IV.  Reasons

The proposed Mid-Course Review SIP Revision will 
enable Delaware to remain on the same time line with other 
states in the region and work cooperatively with them to 
conduct the MCR as a regional effort.  Furthermore, the 
MCR is a planning analysis to ensure that Delaware is on 
track to attain compliance with the 1-hour ozone standard in 
2005, and will help contribute to the improvement of air 
quality in the State while maintaining consistency with 
applicable Federal requirements, in furtherance of the 
policies and purposes of 7 Del.C. Chapter 60.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

Amendments To
Delaware Phase II Attainment Demonstration For The 

Philadelphia - Wilmington - Trenton Ozone
Non-Attainment Area Including A Revision Of The

Mid-Course Review Schedule
June 2004

List of References
1. Federal Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C.A. 7401 et seq., as 

amended by the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990, P.L. 
101-549, November 15, 1990.

2. Delaware Phase II Attainment Demonstration for 
Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton Ozone Nonattainment 
Area. Delaware Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control, Dover, Delaware, May 1998, as 
amended in January 2000, December, 2000, July 2001, and 
June 2003.

3. Notice of Proposed Action on Attainment 
Demonstrations for the 1-Hour National Ambient Air 
Quality Standard for Ozone. Federal Register Vol. 64, No. 
241, pp 70317-70319, December 16, 1999. 

4. Mid-Course Review Guidance for the 1-Hour 
Ozone Nonattainment Areas that Rely on Weight-of-
Evidence for Attainment Demonstration.  Guidance 
Memorandum from L.N. Wegman, Director, Air Quality 
Strategies and Standard Division, and J.D. Mobley, Acting 
Director, Emission Monitoring and Analysis Division, 
Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards, US EPA, 
March 28, 2002. 

5. Proposed Rule to Implement the 8-Hour Ozone 
National Ambient Air Quality Standard, US EPA. Federal 
Register Vol. 68, No. 105, pp 32802-32870, June 2, 2003.  

1. Introduction
Under the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA, 

Reference 1), Kent and New Castle Counties in Delaware 
are classified as severe nonattainment areas with respect to 
the 1-hour National Ambient Air Quality Standard 
(NAAQS) for ground-level ozone.  The CAAA requires 
Delaware to submit to the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) a State Implementation Plan (SIP) revision to 
demonstrate that the 1-hour ozone standard can be attained 
in 2005 in these two counties with necessary and adequate 
control measures for VOC and NOx emission sources.  That 
SIP revision, entitled “Delaware Phase II Attainment 
Demonstration for Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton Ozone 
Nonattainment Area,” was originally submitted to EPA in 
May 1998, and amended in October 1998, January 2000, 
December 2000, October 2001, and June 2003 (Reference 
2).

In order to settle a complaint filed by six environmental 
groups in U.S. District Court, EPA required, as a condition 
of approval of the Phase II Attainment Demonstration SIP of 
each state in the Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton non-
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attainment area, that a mid-course review (MCR) be 
conducted to evaluate the progress being made toward 
attainment of the 1-hour ozone standard (Reference 3).  The 
results of the MCR were required to be submitted to EPA by 
December 31, 2003, and would be used to determine if any 
additional controls would be necessary to ensure the 
attainment by 2005.  Pursuant to this EPA requirement, 
Delaware committed in its January 2000 SIP revision to 
perform an MCR by December 31, 2003.  This MCR 
requirement was also imposed on other states with severe 1-
hour ozone non-attainment areas.

Following this, an order of the U.S. Court of Appeals for 
D.C. Circuit delayed the implementation of EPA’s NOx 
Transport SIP Call from 2003 to 2004.  The NOx Transport 
SIP Call is a significant part of the overall 1-hour ozone 
attainment strategy.  In response to this court order, EPA 
allowed states to revise the MCR due date to a date after 
May 31, 2004.  The later MCR date is believed to better 
serve the MCR purpose (i.e., to enable states to evaluate the 
adequacy of their attainment strategy, and to facilitate 
initiation of additional control measures if necessary).  Many 
states affected by the NOx SIP Call emission reductions 
have revised their commitment to conduct and submit the 
MCR on a schedule later than May 31, 2004 (Reference 4). 

2. Proposed Action
The document proposed herein is to revise the date of 

Delaware’s MCR from December 31, 2003 to December 31, 
2004.  In addition to EPA’s afore-mentioned rationale of 
postponing the MCR process to allow for inclusion of the 
implementation of the NOx SIP Call in the analysis, 
Delaware believes that the following reasons further validate 
the proposed action:

(1) To give EPA more time to develop final guidance 
on performing the MCR.

In the recent proposed rule to implement the 8-hour 
ozone standard, EPA has indicated that it is updating the 1-
hour MCR policy and technical guidance to include the 8-
hour matrices, and the final MCR guidance will be available 
around the end of year 2003 (Reference 5).  Delaware is 
anticipating that the final MCR guidance from EPA will 
provide detailed procedures on how to effectively conduct 
the MCR, in particular, to connect efforts of attaining the 1-
hour standard in 2005 to efforts of implementing the 8-hour 
rule beyond 2005.

(2) To put Delaware on the same time-line with other 
states.

According to EPA, many states affected by the NOx 
SIP Call have rescheduled their MCR due date after May 31, 
2004 (Reference 4).  These states include those in the Ozone 
Transport Region (OTR). The new MCR schedule proposed 
herein will enable Delaware to work cooperatively with 
these states, and to conduct the MCR as a regional effort to 
better addressing attainment of the 1-hour ozone standard.

3. Contact Information
The agency with direct responsibility for preparing and 

submitting this document is the Delaware Department of 
Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC), 
Division of Air and Waste Management, Air Quality 
Management Section (AQM), under the direction of Ali 
Mirzakhalili, Program Administrator.  The working 
responsibility for this document falls within the Planning and 
Community Protection (PCP) Branch of AQM, under the 
management of Raymond H. Malenfant, Program Manager 
II, and Ron Amirikian, Planning Supervisor.  The following 
staff member of PCP is responsible for the preparation of 
this document:

Frank Gao, Ph.D., P.E., Environmental Engineer
Principal Author and Project Leader

Comments and/or questions regarding this document 
should be addressed to F. Gao at (302)323-4542, e-mail 
Frank.Gao@state.de.us, or R. Amirikian at (302)739-4791, 
e-mail Ronald.Amirikian@state.de.us, Air Quality 
Management Section, DAWM-DNREC, 156 South State 
Street, Dover, DE 19901.

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT
WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

Secretary’s Order No.:  2004-A-0028

Regulations Governing Aboveground Storage Tanks 
2004

Date of Issuance:  May 4, 2004
Effective Date of the Amendment:  June 11, 2004

I.  Background

On March 30, 2004, a public hearing was held regarding 
the proposed Regulations Governing Aboveground Storage 
Tanks.  The Department evaluated all of the comments 
generated during the hearing and post-hearing phases in a 
Response Document dated April 14, 2004, and a Hearing 
Officer’s Report was submitted on April 28, 2004.  Proper 
notice of the hearing was provided as required by law.

II.  Findings and Conclusions

1. Proper notice of the hearing was provided as 
required by law.

2. The Department’s Response Document, dated April 
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14, 2004, provides a thorough summary of the record and is 
incorporated herein for that purpose as recommended by the 
Hearing Officer.

3. Suggested resolutions of the issues discussed in the 
Response Document are well-reasoned based on the record 
and are incorporated into this Order as specific findings on 
each of these matters, in accordance with the Hearing 
Officer’s Report.

4. The record shows that the proposed regulations, as 
amended through the hearing process, are consistent with 7 
Del.C. Chapter 74A, the Jeffrey Davis Aboveground Storage 
Tank Act.

III.  Order

In view of the above findings, it is hereby ordered that 
the proposed Delaware Regulations Governing 
Aboveground Storage Tanks, as amended to reflect hearing 
comments, be promulgated in final form in accordance with 
the customary procedures as required by law.

IV.  Reasons

The record shows that these regulations were developed 
in a careful manner after exhaustive reviews among 
numerous experts so as to satisfy all requirements in 7 
Del.C. Ch. 74A, in furtherance of the policies and purposes 
of that legislation.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

TANK MANAGEMENT BRANCH
391 LUKENS DRIVE

NEW CASTLE, DE 19720

MEMORANDUM

Summary of  the Regulations Governing 
Aboveground Storage Tanks promulgated pursuant to 
Title 7 Del.C. Ch. 74A, The Jeffrey Davis Aboveground 
Storage Tank Act.  

The Delaware Department of Natural Resource and 
Environmental Control is responsible for protecting, 
preserving and enhancing the environmental quality of 
water, air and land of the State. In addition, the General 
Assembly of the State of Delaware has found “that it is 
therefore necessary to provide for more stringent control of 
the installation, operation, retrofitting, maintenance, repair, 
abandonment, and/or removal of aboveground storage tanks 

(ASTs) to prevent releases and where releases occur, to 
detect and remediate them at the earliest possible stage, thus 
minimizing further degradation of soil, air, surface water, 
and groundwater and promoting public safety.”  

The Regulations Governing Aboveground Storage Tanks
are intended to address existing and potential sources of 
pollution that may result from ASTs.  To ensure the 
prevention and early detection of a release of a regulated 
substance should one occur, new tanks are required to meet 
acceptable design and installation criteria and existing tanks 
are required to upgrade by a schedule set forth to comparable 
standards. AST design criteria promulgated under these 
Regulations will minimize the risk of Regulated Substances 
impacting the environment.  Release confirmation and 
remediation standards are set forth to require the clean-up of 
any Release that does occur.

The Regulations are divided into five sections. 
Part A includes registration requirements including fees, 

a list of standards referenced in the Regulations, alternative 
procedures approval requirements, release preparedness 
plan, release indication and reporting requirements, and 
specifications for confidentiality claims.  

Part B details the specific requirements governing the 
design and construction of new aboveground storage tanks, 
including requirements for secondary containment, overfill 
and spill prevention, leak detection and inerting 
requirements for ullage volumes of new ASTs without a 
floating roof. Requirements for the upgrade of existing 
aboveground storage tanks, requirements for out of service 
ASTs and requirements for removal, permanent closure in 
place and permanent change in contents are included in this 
section.

Part C details the requirements for the inspection, 
monitoring, testing and record keeping for all aboveground 
storage tanks.

Part D details the requirements for showing proof of 
financial responsibility by owners and operators of 
aboveground storage tanks.

Part E details the requirements for conducting site 
assessments and remediation of sites with contamination 
resulting from a release of a regulated substance from an 
aboveground storage tank.

Changes made after Public Hearing
Part A, §3.3.1.8 – Added referenced standard API, 

RP1615 Installation of Underground Petroleum Storage 
Systems

Part A, §3.7.3 -  Added referenced standard, ASTM D-
2583, Standard Test Method for Indentation Hardness of 
Rigid Plastics by Means of a Barcol Impressor

Part A, §6.4 – Added “Any information submitted to the 
Department in which a confidential business information 
designation is requested shall be subject to Part A §9 of these 
Regulations and the Freedom of Information Act Regulations
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adopted Pursuant to 29 Del.C. Ch. 100 as amended.”
Part A, §7.1.1.8 – Removed the requirement that home 

phone numbers be submitted in the Release Preparedness 
Plan.  

“The Plan shall list names, addresses, and [office] phone 
numbers [office and home] of all persons qualified to act as 
emergency coordinator and this list shall be kept up to date. 
Where more than one person is listed, one shall be named as 
primary emergency coordinator and others shall be listed in 
the order in which they will assume responsibility as 
alternates.  A Facility emergency coordinator shall be 
available to respond at all times.”

Part A, §9.4 – Added “Any information submitted to the 
Department in which a confidential business information 
designation is requested shall be subject to the Freedom of 
Information Act Regulations adopted Pursuant to 29 Del.C., 
Chapter 100 as amended.”

Part B, §3.7 All metallic Shop-Fabricated ASTs 
installed after the effective date of these Regulations shall 
provide a method of Leak Detection in accordance with §9 
of this Part.[capable of detecting a leak before 
contamination of the soil not associated with secondary 
containment, or surface water or groundwater occurs].

Part B, §3.12 The completed installation of every 
metallic Shop-Fabricated AST installed after the effective 
date of these Regulations is to be inspected and certified by 
an inspector familiar with Shop-Fabricated ASTs [such as 
certified STI-SP001 Inspectors and qualified by 
experience for such inspections].

Part B, §4.5.2  An Impervious geosynthetic liner 
[installed in accordance with manufacturer’s 
recommendations] such as a 60 mil unreinforced liner, 40 
mil reinforced liner, or a material of similar or more stringent 
specifications and that is compatible with the Regulated 
Substance being stored.

Part B, §4.8 [All non-metallic ASTs installed after the 
effective date of these Regulations constructed for the 
purpose of storing Regulated Substance with corrosive 
properties shall be subject to additional design 
consideration Installation of all non-metallic ASTs 
installed after the effective date of these Regulations 
constructed for the purpose of storing sulfuric acid, 
Spent Acid or Spent Caustic or other Regulated 
Substances with similar corrosive properties shall be 
subject to additional design consideration including but 
not limited to NACE Standard RP0294, material 
compatibility, coating requirements and additional non-
destructive examination (NDE).]

Part B, §4.9 All non-metallic ASTs installed after the 
effective date of these Regulations shall provide a method of 
Leak Detection in accordance with §9 of this Part [capable 
of detecting a leak before contamination of the soil not 
associated with secondary containment, or surface water 
or groundwater occurs.]

Part B, §4.12 All non-metallic ASTs installed after the 
effective date of these Regulations shall be tested in 
accordance with industry standards [and manufacturer’s 
recommendations] before being placed in service.

Part B, §7.1.2 Secondary Containment shall not be used 
to store materials. [The containment structure The 
Secondary Containment] will be used to collect spills or 
Leaks, which shall then be promptly removed, in accordance 
with appropriate disposal and safety procedures.

Part B, §7.2.4.1.2 Leak Detection [as required in §9 of 
this Part;

Part B, §11.1.7.1 Leak Detection equipment [in 
accordance with the requirements of §9] of this Part or 
alternate method approved by the Department

Part B, §11.2.1 Within ten (10) years of the effective 
date of these Regulations, all existing  Underground Piping 
that does not meet the requirements for new underground 
piping as required in [§6 5] of this Part shall be upgraded to 
meet such Requirements.

Part B, §13.2.2 An AST Owner and Operator who 
reactivates an AST which has been Out-of-Service per 
[§13.1.1. 13.2.1] shall notify the Department by amending 
the AST registration form required by Part A, §4, ten (10) 
days prior to putting the AST back into service.

Part B, §14  An Owner and Operator shall notify the 
Department of the scheduled removal or permanent Closure 
in place of an AST or Permanent Change in Contents on a 
form provided by the Department not later than ten (10) days 
prior to removal or permanent Closure in place [or 
Permanent Change in Contents] of an AST.

Part D, §2.1 Owners and Operators of ASTs [are 
required to shall] comply with the requirements of this Part 
[120 days after promulgation of these Regulations by 
June 1, 2005.]

Part D, Appendix B (8) (e) Bodily [damage injury] 
Part D, Appendix O (7) (e) Bodily [damage injury]

DUE TO THE LENGTH OF THE REGULATION THE FULL 
TEXT IS NOT BEING PUBLISHED. THE REGULATION IS 
AVAILABLE FROM THE REGISTRAR OR ONLINE.

Aboveground Storage Tank (PDF Version)
Aboveground Storage Tank (HTML Version)
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DIVISION OF PARKS AND RECREATION
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

 Section 4702 (16 Del.C. §4702(c))

Secretary’s Order No.:  2004-P-0027

Date of Issuance:  May 3, 2004
Effective Date of the Amendment:  June 11, 2004

I. Background

On Wednesday, October 29, 2003 a public hearing was 
held in the DNREC Auditorium in Dover to receive 
comment on proposed amendments to the Division of Parks 
and Recreation’s Rules and Regulations.  Under Title 7, 
Del.C. §4701(a)(4), the Division of Parks and Recreations 
may make and enforce regulations relating to the protection, 
care and use of the areas which it administers.  A public 
workshop concerning these proposed changes was held 
immediately preceding this public hearing on October 29th. 
Public comments were received on the Department’s 
proposed changes during the pre-hearing, hearing and post-
hearing phases of this rulemaking procedure.  The Division 
of Parks and Recreation responded to these comments, both 
verbally at the public hearing and in a separate memorandum 
to the Hearing Officer dated February 17, 2004.  Proper 
notice of the hearing was provided as required by law.

After the hearing, the Department performed an 
evaluation of the evidence entered into the record in this 
matter.  Unfortunately, however, due to a promulgation error 
within the Department, a second public hearing had to be 
held on April 28, 2004, in order to effectuate formal 
publication of the notice of the public hearing in the 
Delaware Registry.  No members of the public attended the 
aforementioned second hearing of April 28, 2004, nor were 
there any additions made to the record as a result of the 
same.  Thereafter, the Hearing Officer prepared her report 
and recommendation in the form of a Hearing Officer’s 
Report to the Secretary dated April 29, 2004, and that 
memorandum is expressly incorporated herein by reference.

II.  Findings and Conclusions

All of the findings and conclusions contained in the 
Hearing Officer’s Memorandum dated April 29, 2004, are 
expressly incorporated herein and explicitly adopted as the 
findings and conclusions of the Secretary.

III.  Order

In view of the above, I hereby order that the proposed 
amendments to the DNREC Division of Parks and 
Recreation’s Rules and Regulations  be promulgated and 

implemented in the manner and form provided for by law 
pursuant to the changes proposed during this rulemaking 
process and as recommended in the Hearing Officer’s 
Report.

IV.  Reasons

Adopting the proposed amendments to the Division of 
Parks and Recreation’s Rules and Regulations will be 
beneficial to the State of Delaware, in that these amendments 
will add consistency and/or clarification to the existing 
regulations.  Additionally, some of these amendments will 
enable the State of Delaware to improve and/or enhance the 
overall performance of the State Parks’ management 
program.  Furthermore, the adoption of these amendments 
will permit the State of Delaware to further the purposes of 
Title 7, Delaware Code, Chapter 47.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

Delaware State Park Rules And Regulations

1.0 Definitions
"Activity Charge” means any fee assessed to offset the 

costs associated with a particular program or activity."
"Activity Engaged in Surf Fishing" means when a 

person is taking all reasonable and necessary actions to 
maximize the probability of hooking and landing game fish 
by rod, reel and line attached to a baited rig, artificial lure or 
artificial fly.  A person is also actively engaged in surf 
fishing when they are within 50 feet of their fishing 
equipment and are tending, casting and recasting their 
fishing equipment.

"Alcoholic Liquor", "Alcoholic Beverages" include 
the 4 varieties of liquor defined in 4 Del.C. §101 (alcohol, 
spirits, wine and beer) as well as every liquid or solid, 
patented or not, containing alcohol, spirits, wine or beer and 
capable of being consumed by a human being and any liquid 
or solid containing more than 1 of the 4 varieties defined in 4
Del.C. §101 is considered as belonging to that variety which 
usually has the higher percentage of alcohol. 

"Authorized Agent" shall mean any employee of the 
Division or volunteer who has been delegated the authority 
to perform or cause to be performed, certain designated acts 
or functions within the scope of his duties.

"Commission" means the Commission created under 4
Del.C. Ch. 3, under the name of "The Delaware Alcoholic 
Beverage Control Commission".

"Department" shall mean the Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control.

"Director" shall mean the Director of the Division of 
Parks and Recreation.

"Division" shall mean the Division of Parks and 
Recreation of the Department of Natural Resources and 
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Environmental Control.
"Drug Paraphernalia" for the purposes of this chapter 

shall be defined in 16 Del.C. §4701.
"Highway" means the entire width between the 

boundary lines of every way publicly maintained when any 
part thereof is open to the use of the public for purposes of 
vehicular travel.

"Hunter Registration Card" means a document 
issued by the Division which confers eligibility to participate 
in hunting programs on parks subject to special restriction.

"License" means any license, temporary instructor's 
permit or temporary license issued under the laws of the state 
pertaining to the licensing of persons to operate motor 
vehicles or vessels.  "License" shall also mean any document 
issued by the State for hunting or fishing.

"Motorized Vehicle" means every vehicle which is 
self- propelled including, but not limited to, mopeds, 
motorcycles, all terrain vehicles (ATV) and other two, three, 
three or four-wheel vehicles.

"Operator" means any person who is in actual in 
physical control of any motor vehicle, vessel, snowmobile or 
other means of conveyance.

"Owner" means a person who holds legal title to a 
vehicle, vessel or snowmobile.

"Permit" shall mean any written license issued by the 
Department permitting the performance of a specified act or 
acts.

"Resident" shall mean any person, persons or 
corporations owning a motor vehicle(s) duly registered by 
the Delaware Motor Vehicle Division of the Department of 
Public Safety and possessing a valid Delaware Motor 
Vehicle operator's license.

"Restaurant" means any establishment, provided with 
special space and accommodation, where, in consideration 
of payment, food is habitually furnished to a park visitor, and 
does not include the following types of establishments 
defined in 4 Del.C. §101, tavern or taproom.

"Restricted Use Parking Area" means those parking 
areas which may be set aside and reserved for use by persons 
patronizing certain facilities within the park. Such areas will 
be signed designating type of use: i.e., Restaurant Parking, 
Marina Parking, etc.

"Secretary" shall mean the Secretary of the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control.

"Snowmobile" means a motor vehicle designed to 
travel over ice or snow supported in whole or in part by skis, 
belts, or cleats, or an engine-driven vehicle of a type which 
uses sled-type runners or skis or an endless belt tread or any 
combination of these or other similar means of contact with 
the surface upon which it is operated, but does not include 
any farm tractor, highway or other construction equipment or 
any military or law enforcement vehicle.

"State" shall mean the State of Delaware.

"Surf Fishing Vehicle Permit" means the owner's 
copy of the written permit and a surf fishing vehicle plate 
with current year validation sticker affixed.

"Vending" means to: solicit or receive an order for; 
keep or expose for sale; deliver or value in any other way 
than purely gratuitously; keep with intent to sell; traffic in; or 
for any valuable consideration, promise or obtain, directly or 
indirectly, or under any pretext or by any means whatsoever, 
procure, or allow to be procured for any other person.

"Vendor" means a person who is in the act of vending 
as defined in these regulations.

"Vessel" includes every description of water craft, other 
than a seaplane on water, used or capable of being used as a 
means of transportation.

2.0 General Information
2.1 Purpose.  It shall be the intent and purpose of the 

Division of Parks and Recreation to adopt only those 
minimal Rules and Regulations that are essential to the 
protection of Park resources and improvements thereto and 
to the safety, protection and general welfare of the visitors 
and personnel on properties under its jurisdiction.

2.2 Scope.  Unless otherwise provided by statute, the 
following shall constitute the Rules and Regulations of the 
Division of Parks and Recreation and shall govern the use of 
all applicable lands, recreation areas, historic sites, natural 
areas, nature preserves, rights as grantee to conservation 
easements, marinas, waters and facilities administered by the 
Division of Parks and Recreation. No Rule or Regulation 
herein shall preclude the enforcement of any statute under 
the Delaware Code.

2.3 Regulation Authority.  In accordance with Title 7 
Del.C. §4702(c), of the Delaware Code Annotated, the 
Administrative Procedures Act, all Rules and Regulations of 
the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control, Division of Parks and Recreation, shall have the 
effect of law and shall be published in at least two 
newspapers, of general circulation in the territory to be 
affected, 30 days prior to the date the Rules and Regulation 
become effective, except in the case of an emergency, the 
Department or Division shall give such advance notice as 
deemed necessary or desirable.

2.4 Construction
2.4.1 No Rule or Regulation herein shall be 

interpreted or construed in such a manner as to prevent or 
delay authorized personnel of the Department or other state, 
county or municipal agencies from completing official duties 
or emergency services.

2.4.2 In special circumstances, events or 
emergencies, the Secretary or Director may, when it is 
deemed to be in the public interest, waive a specific Rule, 
Regulation or fee.

2.4.3 Failure to enforce a specific Rule or 
Regulation at a particular instance or instances shall not 
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affect the validity of any other Rule or Regulation or affect 
the validity of such Rule or Regulation at any other time.

2.5 Park Policies
2.5.1 The Director, Manager of the Operations 

and Maintenance Section, Park Administrators and 
Superintendents, iIn order to promote the safety and welfare 
of park visitors and protect and manage property in the 
parks, the Director, Chief of Enforcement, Park 
Administrators and Superintendents shall have the authority 
to develop reasonable policies for State Parks that are not in 
conflict with 7 Del.C. Ch. 47 and these Rules and 
Regulations. These policies must be approved by the 
Director and posted in a conspicuous place in the park prior 
to their becoming effective. Copies of all policies shall also 
be maintained in the office of the Park Superintendent or 
Park Administrator and the Central Office.

2.5.2 Violation of any park policy shall be 
grounds for eviction from the park and the denial, revocation 
or suspension of any permit issued or privilege granted by 
the Division.

2.5.3  The Division shall have the authority to 
enforce safety rules and/or policies developed in accordance 
with 2.5.1 of these Regulations for the protection of visitors 
and property.

2.6 Severability.  If any section, subsection, paragraph, 
sentence, phrase or word of these Rules and Regulations are 
declared unconstitutional by a court of competent 
jurisdiction, the remainder of these Rules and Regulations 
shall remain unimpaired and shall continue in full force and 
effect, and proceedings thereunder shall not be affected.

2.7 Terms
2.7.1 Any term contained in these Rules and 

Regulations shall be construed as follows:
2.7.1.1 Any term in the singular shall include 

the plural and vice versa;
2.7.1.2 Any term in the masculine shall 

include the feminine and neuter;
2.7.1.3 The prohibition of an act shall tend to 

include an attempt to commit such act and the causing and/or 
the procuring directly or indirectly of such act;

2.7.1.4 No provision contained in these Rules 
and Regulations and no act performed by an officer or 
employee of the Department in the line of duty or in the 
scope of employment, or any act performed by a person, his 
agents, or employees in the performance or execution of the 
terms of an agreement with the Department shall be cause to 
be deemed unlawful; and

2.7.1.5 Any reference to the Director, Park 
Administrator, Superintendent or Marina Manager shall 
include their authorized agent.

2.8 Permit Violation Penalties.  The violation of, or the 
refusal to obey, any Law, these Rules and Regulations, Park 
Policies or the terms or conditions of any permit issued or 
privilege granted by the Division shall be grounds for the 

suspension or revocation of any permit issued or privilege 
granted by the Division, the removal or eviction from State 
Park lands and/or the denial of future entry to, or the denial 
or future permits or privileges within State Parks. Any and 
all applicable permit fees shall be forfeited to, and retained 
by, the Division. Any such suspension, revocation, removal, 
eviction or the denial of entry, permit or privilege shall not 
preclude the prosecution of any person for violation of any 
Law or these Rules and Regulations. 

3.0 Rules and Regulations
3.1 Use Restriction/Trespassing

3.1.1 The Director may limit or close specific 
public use areas, lands, waters and/or facilities and/or 
temporarily prohibit certain activities, including possession 
and/or consumption of alcoholic beverages within those 
areas when such action is deemed necessary for property 
management, protection of flora, faunas and their habitats
and/or when it is in the best interest of the health, safety, and 
the general welfare of the visitors.

3.1.2 Entering or remaining on lands under the 
jurisdiction of the Division when such lands are closed or 
entering or remaining within any building, structure or 
facility when such building, structure or facility is closed, 
shall be prohibited without a written permit permission from 
the Director, or designee.

3.1.3 No person shall enter upon or be present 
upon lands administered by the Division, except as 
authorized by statute, regulation or written permission from 
the Director.

3.1.4 No structure, facility, building or area 
administered by the Division shall be used for any activity 
other than that for which it was intended without the prior 
written permission of the Director.

3.1.4.1 No person(s) shall sleep or attempt to 
sleep or otherwise be present and are not engaged in the 
activity for which the 24 hour facility or area is used for.

3.1.5 No person shall use or attempt to use a 
State Park campground or marina as a principle residence or 
as a base of operations for conducting any type of business 
either on a permanent or temporary basis.

3.1.6 Use of metal detectors on lands under the 
jurisdiction of the Division shall be prohibited except during 
normal park hours in the following areas:

3.1.6.1 Lums Pond State Park swimming area 
beach; and

3.1.6.2 Trap Pond State Park swimming area 
beach;

3.1.6.3 Holts Landing State Park beach; and
3.1.6.42  Ocean beaches east of the dune 

line.
3.1.7 No person shall collect, excavate, injure, 

destroy or appropriate prehistoric or historic artifacts or 
human skeletal remains from lands under the jurisdiction of 
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the Division except with written permission from the 
Director. Violations under this paragraph may be charged 
under the provisions of 7 Del.C. §5306 or 7 Del.C. §5411.

3.1.7.1 Possession or use of tools or devices 
specifically designed for the excavation and removal of 
artifacts or human skeletal remains shall be deemed prima 
facie evidence of a violation of this Regulation and will be 
confiscated, held as evidence and be subject to forfeiture 
upon conviction.

3.1.8 In areas where activities such as rock 
climbing, rapelling or similar activities are permitted on 
lands administered by the Division a program fee/
registration may be required.

3.1.9 The Division maintains exhibits at the 
Brandywine Zoo, various Nature Centers and temporary 
exhibits to provide recreational interpretation to the public. 
The following regulations apply in these areas:

3.1.9.1 No person shall bring pets or other 
animals into the Zoo.

3.1.9.2 No person shall throw any object(s) at 
animals or into the animal enclosures.

3.1.9.3 No person shall feed or attempt to 
feed any animal other than persons designated by the Zoo 
Director.

3.1.9.4 No person shall harass or attempt to 
harass any of the zoo animals by making unreasonable 
sounds, gestures, movements or use any object to touch the 
animals.

3.1.9.5 No person shall attempt to cross any 
safety barriers to prevent the animals from coming into 
contact with the general public.

3.1.9.6 No person shall put or attempt to put 
any body parts in the animal enclosures.

3.1.9.7 No person shall throw any object(s) 
into any exhibit.

4.0 Campground Policy
4.1 The Division shall develop policies as necessary 

pursuant to Section 2.5.1 of these Regulations to ensure the 
safe and efficient operation of its campgrounds. Copies of 
the Campground Policy shall be kept on file in the park 
offices, posted in the campgrounds and will be made 
available to campers at the time of registration.

5.0 Vessel Regulations
5.1 No person shall launch or recover vessels from 

waters within or bordering on State Park lands except at 
designated boat-launch areas or docks.

5.2 No person shall operate a vessel except at 
slow-no-wake speed on any pond, lake, canal or within any 
marina under the jurisdiction of the Division. 

5.2.1 No person shall launch or operate a vessel 
powered by an internal combustion engine on Trussum Pond 
and Raccoon Pond.

5.3 All laws, rules and regulations as established by the 
Department governing boating in the State of Delaware shall 
apply to all ponds, lakes, rivers, canals, waterways, and 
marinas owned, leased, licensed or under the jurisdiction of 
the Division.

5.4 No person shall operate or use vessels of any type, 
including inflatable rafts, sailboats, rowboats and canoes on 
waters administered by the Division without one (1) Coast 
Guard approved lifejacket or seat cushion on board for each 
person. 

5.4.1 Operators and passengers of Division 
rental canoes, sailboats, or kayaks or other watercraft rented 
or provided by the Division must wear a Coast Guard 
approved life jacket in the manner prescribed at all times 
while aboard such craft.

5.5 No person shall operate any vessel within fifty (50) 
feet of or through any designated public swimming area 
within any inland pond under the Division's jurisdiction.

5.6 No person shall operate any vessel within one 
hundred (100) feet of a swimmer, surfer, or any designated 
swimming or surfboarding area, any swimmer or surfer or 
the coastline of any ocean beach or inland bay unless 
designated for such purpose.

5.7 Vessels and/or trailers shall not be anchored, 
moored, beached, stored or left unattended between the 
hours of sunset and 8 a.m. on lands or waters administered 
by the Division without authorization of the Park 
Administrator, Superintendent or Marina Manager.

5.8 Swimming or diving from any vessel, including a 
seaplane is prohibited in waters under the jurisdiction of the 
Division. 

5.9 A person renting a vessel from the Division shall 
comply with the manufacturer's rated capacity for such 
vessel.

5.10 Operation of a vessel in a negligent or reckless 
manner which could endanger life, limb, or property is 
prohibited.

5.11 Vessels shall not be permitted to dock at Cape 
Henlopen State Park fishing pier, Holts Landing State Parks 
fishing pier or at Fort Delaware dock except in an emergency 
or when in distress. The following stipulations must be 
adhered to:

5.11.1 Approval for emergency docking must be 
obtained from the Park Superintendent or Administrator 
either prior to docking or within eight (8) hours after 
docking.

5.11.2 A docking fee based on prevailing rates in 
the area will be paid by vessels docking at Cape Henlopen 
fishing pier, Holts Landing fishing pier, or at Fort Delaware 
Dock.

5.11.3 The owner and/or vessel master shall be 
responsible for any damage to the docks.

5.12 The parking or leaving of vessels, or vessel 
trailers in marina parking lots or marina areas overnigh shall 
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be prohibited unless prior written permission is given by the 
Marina Manager. This shall not apply to vessels and trailers 
legally stored within designated vessel storage areas or if the 
area is designated as a 24-hour facility by the Division. 

6.0 Marinas
6.1 Any vessel entering the waters of any marina 

administered, operated, leased or licensed by the Division 
shall immediately come under the jurisdiction of the 
Division. All rules and regulations of the Division, in 
addition to the laws, rules and regulations governing vessels 
established by the Department and the U.S. Coast Guard 
shall apply.

6.2 No person shall dock or anchor a vessel within the 
waters of a marina complex administered, operated, leased 
or licensed by the Division unless the owner-master of such 
vessel pays such fees as required for dockage. Dockage 
contracts may be obtained from the marina office or from the 
Marina Manager. This regulation shall not apply to vessels 
docking at refueling stations to take on fuel.

6.2.1 In addition to any penalties assessed for 
violations of this Regulation, the owner or operator of the 
vessel shall also pay the dockage or anchorage fee.

6.3 Docking or anchoring of vessels will be permitted 
only in areas designated by the Marina Manager.

6.4 No major repair work, other than minor repairs and 
routine maintenance shall be performed on any vessel within 
a marina complex administered, operated, leased or licensed 
by the Division without the approval of the Marina Manager. 

6.4.1 No major repair work shall take place on 
any vessel, except in such areas as designated by the Marina 
Manager.

6.5 Refueling of vessels will be permitted only at the 
designated refueling bulkhead stations. Distributors shall not 
deliver fuel to vessels docked in a marina administered, 
operated, leased or licensed by the Division.

6.5.1 No vessel shall dock or anchor at a 
refueling station except to take on fuel.

6.5.2 Vessels docked at refueling stations to take 
on fuel shall not be left unattended and shall be removed 
immediately upon completion of refueling.

6.5.3 Only the owner, master or a crew member 
shall remain on board during refueling. All passengers must 
disembark until refueling operations are completed.

6.5.4 All engines must be shut down during 
refueling.

6.5.5 Smoking or open flames are prohibited 
within fifty (50) feet of the refueling stations.

6.5.6 No person shall use any refueling station 
for the purpose of loading or unloading supplies or 
passengers, except when complying with 6.5.3 above. 

6.5.7 No gasoline or diesel fuel shall be pumped 
or siphoned from any vessel within the marina complex 
without the Marina Manager's prior approval and then only 

within an approved area designated by the Marina Manager. 
Under no circumstances will fuel be removed while the 
vessel is docked within a slip.

6.6 No refuse, trash, oil or effluents shall be thrown or 
pumped overboard into the waters of a marina, channel 
approaches or other areas administered by the Division or 
Department.

6.6.1 Waste oil and used oil filters shall be 
transported in sealed containers and deposited in a waste oil 
tank located within the marina. Waste oil filters will be 
deposited in an oil filter receptacle located adjacent to the 
waste oil tank or other authorized recycle centers.

6.7 Disorderly conduct by vessel owners, their crew or 
guests shall be cause for cancellation of a pier dockage 
agreement and any assigned dock or mooring space.

6.8 Safety precautions must be observed and complied 
with in all marina areas administered by the Division. 

6.8.1 Swimming or diving is prohibited from all 
piers, docks, bulkheads and vessels within marina waters.

6.8.2 Running or horseplay is prohibited on all 
piers, docks and bulkheads within the marina.

6.8.3 Fishing is prohibited from all piers, docks, 
bulkheads and vessels within marina waters.

6.8.4 Use of barbecue grills or other types of 
portable open flame cooking devices are prohibited on docks 
or vessels moored within the marina complex.

6.9 Fish cleaning is prohibited within a marina 
complex, except at authorized fish cleaning facilities that 
may be provided.

6.9.1 It is prohibited to throw or dump any fish 
remains, parts or pieces thereof,  into the waters or onto the 
grounds of the marina except in receptacles provided for 
such purposes.

6.10 No person shall go aboard any vessel docked, 
anchored or stored within a marina complex, unless such 
person is accompanied by the owner or master, or has written 
permission from the owner or master of such vessel.

6.11 No person shall enter upon the grounds, waters, 
docks or piers of a marina from one-half (½) hour after 
sunset until one-half (½) hour before sunrise except 
authorized persons such as vessel owners, masters, crew 
members and passengers returning from or embarking on 
boating excursions for fishing or pleasure, or authorized 
persons residing aboard a vessel.

6.12 The parking or leaving of vessels or vessel 
trailers in marina parking lots or marina areas overnight shall 
be prohibited unless prior written permission is given by the 
Marina Manager. This shall not apply to vessels and trailers 
legally stored within designated vessel storage areas.

7.0 Water sports
7.1 Persons swimming or sunbathing in areas 

administered by the Division shall be attired in acceptable 
swimwear, worn so as to prevent any indecent or lewd 
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exposure of the person.
7.1.1 Males - must cover buttocks and genitals 
7.1.2 Females - must cover buttocks, breasts and 

genitals 
7.2 Swimsuits must be worn when using Division 

swimming pools. Cut-off jeans, trousers or other clothing not 
designed and sold as swimwear will not be permitted.

7.3 Lifeguards shall have the authority to enforce safety 
rules or policies that are deemed necessary for the protection 
of the public. Such rules shall be posted in a conspicuous 
place and shall be on file in the Park Administrator/
Superintendent's office. Lifeguards shall have the authority 
to expel any person or persons who violate the Park Rules, 
Regulations and Policies. Swimming outside of designated 
swimming areas is prohibited. 

7.4 No surfboarding surfboards, sailboards, kayaks or 
similar watercraft shall be allowed in other than designated 
guarded surfboarding swimming areas without permission of 
the Park Superintendent/Administrator unless approved by 
the Director or their designee. 

7.5 Water skiing or towing of any persons on any type 
of device, other than on another vessel, shall be prohibited 
on all non-tidal waters administered by the Division, except 
by written permission of the Director or designee.

7.6 Use of scuba diving equipment shall be prohibited 
in all waters administered by the Division, unless written 
permission is given by the Director. or his authorized agent.

7.7 The possession of glass containers within any 
swimming area or on any beach administered by the 
Division shall be prohibited.

8.0 Ice Skating 
8.1 No person shall ice skate or enter upon any frozen 

pond, lake or stream administered by the Division except on 
areas as may be designated by the Division. 

8.2 Areas where ice skating is permitted by the 
Division shall be marked and no person shall be permitted on 
the ice outside of such designated area.

9.0 Snowmobiles
9.1 Snowmobiles used or operated on lands under the 

jurisdiction of the Department must be registered with the 
Department State of Delaware. Exempt from this 
requirement are snowmobiles owned by non-residents 
evidenced by a valid registration of another state, province, 
county or political subdivision thereof, or the United States.

9.2 Registration of a snowmobile hereunder shall not 
be deemed to grant permission for operation of a 
snowmobile on any public roadway or highway or on private 
property.

10.0 Surf Fishing Vehicles
10.1 The Division through its authorized agents 

shall collect an annual fee and issue an appropriate permit 

for each four (4) wheeled vehicle equipped for travel upon 
sand beaches for the purpose of surf fishing at Cape 
Henlopen State Park, Delaware Seashore State Park, 
Fenwick Island State Park, and Beach Plum Island.

10.1.1 Surf Fishing Vehicle Permits shall be 
issued only to those vehicles duly registered and licensed to 
operate on public highways.

10.1.2 Four (4) wheeled vehicles for purposes of 
this Section shall mean a vehicle equipped with four (4) 
wheels which makes contact with the road surface.

10.1.3 No Surf Fishing Permit shall be issued to 
any vehicle which measures less than seven (7) inches 
between the lowest point of the vehicle and the ground.

10.1.4 Surf fishing vehicles must be equipped 
with a shovel, jack, tow rope or chain, board or similar 
support for the jack and a low-pressure tire gauge.

10.1.5 Failure to possess adequate saltwater 
fishing tackle, bait and/or lures commonly used for surf 
fishing shall be deemed prima facie evidence of a violation 
of this regulation.

10.2 No person shall operate a vehicle upon the 
beach areas or dune crossings administered by the Division 
without a permit for such vehicle as set forth in Section 10.1.

10.3 The surf fishing vehicle plate must be properly 
displayed on the vehicle for which the permit was issued 
prior to operation on beach areas administered by the 
Division.

10.3.1 The surf fishing vehicle plate shall be 
affixed to the front of the vehicle. 

10.3.2 The owner's copy of the permit receipt 
shall be available for inspection at all times when the vehicle 
is being operated on such beach areas. 

10.4 It shall be unlawful to operate any vehicle on 
any authorized dune crossing or on any beach area 
administered by the Division at any speed that is greater than 
is reasonable and prudent under the conditions, and having 
regard to the actual and potential hazards then existing, but 
never exceeding 15 m.p.h. In every event, speed shall be 
controlled and limited to that speed necessary to maintain 
traction and steerage.

10.5 Operation or use of any permitted surf fishing 
vehicle on the beaches administered by the Division except 
for traveling to and from fishing areas for the purpose of 
actively engaging in surf fishing is prohibited.  The capacity 
of the beaches administered by the Division to absorb the 
impact of vehicles, without substantial environmental 
degradations and decreased quality of experience for all 
visitors is limited.  Therefore, vehicle use on the designated 
beaches is restricted to persons actively engaged in surf 
fishing.  Permitted surf fishing vehicle operation on the 
beaches administered by the Division for reasons other than 
traveling to and from fishing areas for the express purpose of 
actively engaging in surf fishing, is prohibited.  Any 
permitted surf fishing vehicle parked for any period of time 
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on the beaches administered by the Division, without one or 
more persons who arrived in that vehicle being actively 
engaged in surf fishing is prohibited.  When no one who 
arrived in the surf fishing vehicle is actively engaged in surf 
fishing, the surf fishing vehicle shall exit the beach 
immediately.  In addition to other penalties prescribed in 
these rules and regulations and by statute, violation of this 
subsection is grounds for suspension or revocation of the 
permit.

10.5.1 Use of a surf fishing permit for the 
purpose of commercial bait fishing is permitted on the 
beaches administered by the Division provided all conditions 
and requirements of said permit are met and a bait fishing 
permit is obtained from the Director. 

10.6 The Division shall designate areas for surf 
fishing vehicle use on beaches under its jurisdiction. These 
areas shall be marked with symbol signs indicating 24-hour 
access, limited access and no access. Operation of a vehicle 
in an area not authorized for such use or during times and/or 
dates that the area is closed to vehicles shall be a violation of 
this regulation.

10.7 The use or operation of any vehicle 
whatsoever, on, over, or across the sand dunes on Division 
lands is expressly prohibited, except when it is a vehicle 
displaying a valid Delaware Surf Fishing Vehicle Permit and 
is crossing dunes at authorized dune crossings, which are 
designated and maintained for that purpose by the Division.

10.7.1 Any other use or operation of a vehicle on, 
over or across the primary sand dunes, except at authorized 
crossings, is expressly prohibited. Violators of this 
regulation may be charged under 7 Del. C. §6805(b) which 
carries a penalty of $200 to $5,000 or imprisonment for up to 
two years or both, in addition to reimbursing the Department 
for reasonable expenses in remedying damages created.

10.8 Beach areas, including surf fishing areas, may 
be closed to pedestrians and vehicles, in whole or in part, for 
resource protection or for health, welfare, and/or safety 
reasons for such a period as may be determined by the 
Department. Unauthorized entry into a posted and/or 
barricaded closed area shall be a violation of this regulation.

10.9 It shall be a violation of this Section to loan a 
Surf Fishing Vehicle Permit, or to use or attempt to use a 
Surf Fishing Vehicle Permit on any vehicle other than the 
vehicle it is assigned to. In addition to other action that may 
be taken, the permit will be confiscated and held as evidence.

10.10 The Director shall have the right to suspend 
Surf Fishing Vehicle Permits for up to 90 days or to revoke 
permits for up to three (3) years for conviction of reckless 
operation of a surf fishing vehicle or operation of a surf 
fishing vehicle under the influence of alcoholic beverages 
and/or drugs on lands administered by the Division or for 
violations of these regulations.

11.0 Vehicles
11.1 Vehicles operated on lands administered by the 

Division shall be in compliance with all State statutes, laws, 
rules and regulations.

11.1.1 No person shall operate any motorized 
vehicle upon any lands administered by the Division, unless 
said vehicle is licensed for use upon public highways and 
roadways.

11.1.2 Vehicles operated on lands administered 
by the Division must be properly equipped with brakes, 
headlights, tail lights, tag light, turn signal, and horn all in 
good working order.

11.1.3 Towed trailers must have an adequate 
towing hook-up, complete with safety chains. They must 
also be equipped with operating tail lights, turn signals, tag 
light, and be currently registered to be towed on public 
roads.

11.2 No person shall operate a motor vehicle, 
motorcycle, motor bike or other two or three-wheeled motor 
driven vehicle upon any lands administered by the Division, 
unless said person has been issued and is the holder of a 
valid license or permit to operate said vehicle on public 
highways and roadways.

11.2.1 The license or permit shall be in the 
immediate possession of the licensee at all times when 
driving a motor vehicle, motorcycle, motor bike or other two 
or three-wheeled motor driven vehicle and he/she shall 
display same upon demand of Department Enforcement 
personnel.

11.3 No person shall authorize or permit a motor 
vehicle of any type owned by him or under his control to be 
driven by any person on lands administered by the Division, 
knowing that said person has no legal right to do so, or shall 
authorize or permit said vehicle to be driven in violation of 
any of the provisions of the Division's Rules and 
Regulations.

11.4 When on lands administered by the Division, 
the driver of a motor vehicle shall not follow another vehicle 
more closely than is reasonable and prudent, having due 
regard for the speed of such vehicle, the traffic and the 
condition of the roadway or area.

11.5 Every driver shall yield preferential 
right-of-way at an intersection or other place indicated by 
stop signs or yield signs authorized and installed by the 
Division. 

11.5.1 Except when directed to proceed by an 
enforcement officer or traffic control device, every driver of 
a vehicle approaching a stop intersection indicated by a stop 
sign shall come to a complete stop before entering the 
intersection. 

11.5.2 The operator of any vehicle who has come 
to a full stop, as provided in 11.1.1 of this Regulation, shall 
not enter upon or across such intersection until such 
movement can be made in safety.
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11.6 Specific motor vehicle speed limits on lands 
administered by the Division:

11.6.1 Every driver shall observe all posted speed 
limits. When no special hazard exists the following speed 
shall be lawful, but any speed in excess of such limits shall 
be absolute evidence that the speed is not reasonable or 
prudent and that it is a violation of this Section:

11.6.1.1 25 m.p.h. -- on roads administered by 
the Division unless otherwise posted or stated in 
Regulations.

11.6.1.2 10 m.p.h. -- in parking, camping and 
congested areas unless otherwise posted.

11.7 No person shall operate a motor vehicle on 
lands administered by the Division in a careless or imprudent 
manner without due regard for road, weather and traffic 
conditions willful or wanton disregard for the safety of 
person or  property.

11.7.1 No person shall operate a motor vehicle on 
lands administered by the Division in a careless, inattentive 
or imprudent manner without due regard for road, weather 
and traffic conditions.

11.7.2 The intentional accelerating of a motor 
vehicle causing spinning of tires or what is commonly 
known as "burning rubber" on any park facility or roadway 
within an area administered by the Division is prohibited and 
shall be a violation of this Section.

11.8 An operator and/or passenger of a motorcycle 
under the age of 18 must wear a safety helmet of a type 
approved by the Secretary of Public Safety. 

11.9 An operator of a motor vehicle shall not permit 
any person riding upon any bicycle, coaster, roller skates, 
sled or toy vehicle to attach same or himself to any motor 
vehicle being operated on lands administered by the 
Division.

11.10 While on lands administered by the Division, 
no person,  shall ride upon any vehicle without the consent 
of the driver, and when any person is riding on any vehicle 
with the driver's consent, no part of the person's body may 
protrude beyond the limits of the vehicle.

11.11 No person shall drive or operate a motor 
vehicle on lands administered by the Division, unless such 
motor vehicle is equipped with a muffler in good working 
order and in constant operation to prevent excessive or 
unusual noise.

11.12 No vehicle shall be driven, moved or parked on 
any lands administered by the Division unless so loaded or 
constructed as to prevent its contents from dropping, sifting, 
leaking or otherwise escaping. 

11.13 It shall be unlawful for any person to operate 
any motor vehicle or any other type of vehicle within any 
area administered by the Division except on such roads or 
areas specifically designated by the Division for such 
purpose.

11.14 No driver shall at any time drive to the left of a 

solid center line on a roadway when operating a vehicle on 
lands administered by the Division.

11.15 Where traffic control devices establish one-
way traffic, it shall be unlawful to drive in the opposite 
direction unless directed by a Law Enforcement Officer.

12.0 Parking Violations
12.1 It shall be unlawful to stop, park or leave 

unattended any motor vehicle on any roadways, berms, 
trails, no parking zones or in any other areas not specifically 
designated as a parking area on lands administered by the 
Division.

12.1.1 No person shall park any vehicle in a 
parking space marked or signed as a designated handicap 
parking space unless such vehicle bears a special handicap 
license plate or displays an authorized identification card 
indicating that the vehicle is a vehicle of the handicapped 
and bearing the license number of the vehicle to which it was 
issued.

12.1.2 No person shall allow park a vehicle and 
allow said vehicle to remain parked in an area longer than 
the posted time limit.

12.1.3 No person shall park in any parking space 
that is signed and marked as reserved for a Park Ranger, 
emergency vehicles or employee parking.

12.1.4 No person shall park in a "Restricted Use 
Parking Area" unless parking is for the use of the facility so 
designated.

12.1.5 No person shall park in any fire lane or 
within fifteen (15) feet of a fire hydrant.

12.1.6 No person shall park a vehicle in any 
designated area without first having paid the appropriate 
rate, fee or charge established by the Division or 
Department.

12.2 It is said to be unlawful for any vehicle to 
remain on lands administered by the Division after "closing 
hours" for any day-use areas closed from sunset until 8 a.m.

12.3 It shall be unlawful to leave any motor vehicle 
unattended on lands administered by the Division for a 
period exceeding 24 hours, without prior notification to the 
Park Administrator or Superintendent or written approval 
from the Director.

12.4 Any officer empowered to enforce Division 
Rules and Regulations during the performance of his duties 
may remove or cause to be removed from any lands 
administered by the Division, at the owner's or operator's 
expense, any motor vehicle, camping unit, or part thereof, 
parked or standing illegally or in violation of these 
regulations.

12.4.1 No vehicle or camping unit removed or 
caused to be removed pursuant to this Section shall be 
released until payment is made for such removal and/or 
storage and proper authority to process and operate said 
vehicle, camping unit or part thereof displayed by the person 
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attempting to recover said vehicle, camping unit or part 
thereof.

12.4.2 No liability shall occur to the Division or 
its authorized agents for any damage or loss caused by such 
removal or storage.

12.5 A summons in appropriate form adopted by the 
Division may be attached to an unattended vehicle found in 
violation of any of the provisions of these Rules and 
Regulations.

12.5.1 If the identity of an operator of an 
unattended vehicle in violation is not otherwise apparent, the 
person in whose name the vehicle is registered shall be held 
prima facie responsible.

13.0 Bicycles
13.1 Anyone riding a bicycle or propelling a vehicle 

by human power shall have all the rights and all the duties 
applicable to the operator of any other vehicle referenced 
within these Regulations and shall be in compliance with all 
State laws, rules and regulations when operating on lands 
administered by the Division.

13.1.1 Bicycling is permitted only on roadways 
designated for public use, designated and signed bike paths 
and multiple-use trails designated and signed for such use.

13.1.2 Bicycles must be ridden as far to their 
right as possible on roadways.

13.1.3 Bicyclists must give hand signals when 
stopping or turning on Park roadways.

13.1.4 Bicycles operated on designated bike 
trails/paths shall yield right of way at all locations where the 
trail or path intersects with any roadway.

13.1.5 Bicycles operated at night shall be 
equipped with:

13.1.5.1 a lamp on the front which shall 
emit a white light and be visible for 500 feet.

13.1.5.2 Reflectors or reflectorized 
material on the rear and both sides visible from 600 feet.

13.1.6 No one shall operate a bicycle on Park 
roadways with ear plugs in both ears or while wearing a 
headset covering both ears.

14.0 Roller Skating, Skateboards, Roller Skis
14.1 Using roller skates, skateboards, roller skis or 

similar devices is prohibited on lands administered by the 
Division except in areas that may be designated for such use.

14.2 No person shall operate a motorized scooter, 
moped or similar device not defined in 21 Del.C. §101(53).

14.3 Persons on skateboards, roller skates, coasters, 
sleds or toy vehicles are prohibited from being towed or 
propelled by a motor vehicle on lands administered by the 
Division.

15.0 Aviation
15.1 No person shall voluntarily bring, land or cause 

to descend or alight on or upon any lands or waters 
administered by the Division any aircraft, flying machine, 
balloon, parachute or other apparatus for aviation except 
with the prior consent of the Director. "Voluntarily" shall 
mean for purposes of this paragraph anything other than a 
forced or emergency landing.

15.2 Flying of radio-controlled model aircraft or the 
launching of model rockets shall not be permitted in areas 
administered by the Division except in areas set aside and 
designated for such purposes. Special policies regarding 
insurance and operating conditions will be posted.

16.0 Domesticated Animals/Pets
16.1 No person shall ride or lead a horse through 

any area or upon any roadway, trail or path administered by 
the Division unless such area, trail, roadway or path is 
designated for such use by the Division.

16.1.1 Animal-drawn vehicles are permitted upon 
roadways and parking areas and shall be granted all the 
rights and shall be subject to all the regulations applicable to 
motor vehicles except for those regulations which by their 
very nature can have no application.

16.2 Horses shall be permitted on ocean beach areas 
administered by the Division provided they stay within the 
same boundaries as those designated for surf fishing vehicles 
under 10.6. In areas where horses are permitted on ocean 
beaches administered by the Division, owners/riders must 
stay within the parameters outlined in the Horseback Riding 
Policy.

16.2.1 On State Park ocean beach areas, horses 
must use the surf fishing vehicle crossings for access to the 
beach. Use of pedestrian crossings or crossing the dunes at 
other areas is prohibited. On State Park ocean beach areas, 
horses must use the  designated crossings as outlined in the 
Horseback Riding Policy.

16.2.2 Vehicle and trailers used to transport 
horses shall be parked in accordance with the Division's 
Horseback Riding Policy.

16.3 Except guide dogs accompanying blind and/or 
deaf persons, dogs and other domesticated animals, shall not 
be permitted within or upon designated picnic areas, nature 
trails, public buildings, structures and any other designated 
areas administered by the Division.

16.3.1 Except guide dogs accompanying blind 
and/or deaf persons, dogs and other domesticated animals 
shall not be permitted upon or within any 
Division-administered swimming area, or swimming area 
beach or surfboard/sailboard areas at anytime, day or night, 
from May 1 through September 30 each year, 7 Del.C. 
§1715.

16.3.2 On areas where such animals are 
permitted, person(s) having custody of said animal must 
have it restrained on a leash not to exceed six (6) feet in 
length and must be under proper control and not left 
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unattended. Leashes are not required when lawfully hunting 
when lawfully hunting with a dog or when training dogs 
within designated and authorized hunting and/or dog training 
areas.

16.3.3 In areas where such animals are permitted, 
person(s) having custody of said animal must keep it 
restrained on a leash not to exceed six (6) feet in length and 
must be under proper control

16.3.4 Areas where such animals are permitted 
person(s) having custody of said animal shall not leave the 
pet unattended.

16.3.5 Any person(s) with a dog or other 
domesticated animal or pet, which that creates a nuisance or 
disturbance, or who fails to properly control such animals, 
may be evicted without refund or reduction of fee.

16.3.6 Owners or persons having custody of dogs 
or other domesticated animals shall be responsible for the 
clean up and removal of any animal feces deposited by the 
animal.

17.0 Conduct
17.1 Disorderly conduct is unlawful and 

enforcement action may be enforced taken against any 
person who intentionally causes public inconvenience, 
annoyance, nuisance, or alarm to any other person who 
creates a risk thereof by:

17.1.1 Engaging in fighting or in violent, 
tumultuous or threatening behavior; 

17.1.2 Making an unreasonable noise or an 
offensively coarse utterance, gesture or display or addressing 
abusive language to any person present; 

17.1.3 Disturbing any lawful assembly or 
meeting of persons without lawful authority; 

17.1.4 Obstructing vehicular or pedestrian traffic;
17.1.5 Congregating with other persons and 

refusing to comply with a lawful order of an enforcement 
officer to disperse; 

17.1.6 Creating a hazardous or physically 
offensive condition which serves no legitimate purpose; or

17.1.7 Engaging with at least one other person in 
a course of disorderly conduct, which is likely to cause 
substantial harm or serious inconvenience, annoyance or 
alarm and refuses or knowingly fails to obey an order to 
disperse made by an enforcement officer to the participants.

17.2 No person shall expose themselves in any 
manner which would be considered as indecent exposure or 
perform any lewd act which they know is likely to be 
observed by others who would be affronted or alarmed by 
such act or exposure on lands or waters or in facilities 
administered by the Division.

17.2.1 The disposal of human body waste is 
prohibited except within designated facilities provided for 
that purpose.

17.3 Gambling is prohibited and no person shall 

bring any implement or device commonly used or intended 
for gambling purposes into any area administered by the 
Division, with the intention of engaging in a game of chance 
for money or other valuables.

17.4 Practicing, playing or using equipment 
pertaining to archery or golf on lands administered by the 
Division is prohibited except in those areas specifically 
designated for such use.

17.5 The playing of games on lands administered by 
the Division involving thrown objects such as hardballs, 
frisbees, horseshoes, etc. shall be restricted to such areas set 
aside for such activities.

17.6 While on lands administered by the Division 
shall, without a valid written permit, use any radio or other 
sound-producing device or article that, in any way, may 
annoy or disturb a reasonable person of normal sensitivities.

17.7 While on lands administered by the Division, 
no person shall at any time use a horn other than as a 
reasonable warning signal or make any unnecessary or 
unreasonable harsh sound by means of a horn or other 
amplified warning devices. 

17.8 Reasonable quiet must be maintained at all 
times within all overnight facilities, particularly between the 
hours of 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. Unnecessary loud noises or 
disturbances of any nature, that are disturbing to others, shall 
be prohibited.

18.0 Fires
18.1 No person shall kindle, build, maintain or use a 

fire on lands administered by the Division, unless there is 
written permission from the Director or designee. Said fire is
shall be in in a designated area and confined within 
fireplaces, grills, fire rings or other equipment designed for 
the purpose of containing cooking fires.

18.1.1 Any fire shall be under the care and 
direction of a competent person from the time it is kindled 
until it is extinguished.

18.1.2 All fires must be properly extinguished 
and the ashes, embers or coals disposed of in receptacles 
provided for such purpose, so as to cause no danger 
whatsoever to persons, structures, animals, or plant life, or 
vehicles.

18.1.3 Fires shall be prohibited on designated
swimming/surfing area beaches administered by the 
Division.

18.1.4 No fires larger than necessary for cooking 
purposes shall be permitted. 

18.1.5 Fires of any type or the use or possession 
of lanterns which use inflammable fuel, are not permitted on 
fishing piers.
19.0 Fireworks and Explosives 

19.1 18.2 The possession, explosion or discharge of 
any firecrackers, torpedoes, rockets or other fireworks or 
explosives in areas administered by the Division is 
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prohibited, except with prior written permission of the 
Director. 
20.0 Fuel Containers

20.1 18.3 No person shall leave fuel containers open 
and/or unattended within boat launch areas, docks, piers, 
bulkheads or on lands under the jurisdiction of the Division. 

19.0 Property Violations
19.1 It shall be unlawful to place, dump, deposit, 

throw or leave any garbage, refuse, trash, cans, bottles or 
other debris of any kind within or upon any public beach, 
lands or waters administered by the Division, except in 
receptacles provided for such purpose. 

19.1.1 No person shall bring into a State Park 
from an area outside of the Park any garbage, refuse, waste, 
rubbish or obnoxious materials for the purpose of disposing 
of such in park litter receptacles.

19.2 Disposing or discharging of solid waste on 
lands or waters under the jurisdiction of the Division is 
prohibited. Violators may be charged under 7 Del.C. 
§6025(b). 

19.3 Unless specifically authorized by the 
Department for management, research or educational 
purposes, the cutting, injuring or removal of trees, shrubs, 
wildflowers, ferns, mosses, or other plants from lands 
administered by the Division and the defacing, damaging, 
removing or altering any structures, buildings, natural land 
features, or other park property or equipment, or the willful 
harming, collecting, or possessing of wildlife, flora or fauna
is strictly prohibited.

19.4 Removal or defacing, damaging, removing or 
altering of any structures, buildings, natural-land features, 
or other park property or equipment from the lands 
administered by the Division is strictly prohibited.

19.5 The willful, harming, collecting, harassing or 
possessing of wildlife, flora, or fauna on lands administered 
by the Division is strictly prohibited.

19.6 Walking on, over or across a primary dune 
administered by the Division, except at locations specified 
by the Department or Division for such use, shall be 
prohibited.

19.7 Operating a motor vehicle in such a manner as 
to cause willful, wanton or reckless damage to lands 
administered by the Division, commonly known as "turfing", 
is prohibited and shall be a violation of this Section.

19.8 Use of dedicated state nature preserves shall be 
limited to posted trails and permitted activities. Property 
violations are enforceable under these Rules and Regulations 
and 7 Del.C. Ch. 73.

20.0 Multiple Use Trails
20.1 Bicycle riders shall yield to horseback riders 

and/or hikers encountered on multiple use trails administered 
by the Division. Bike riders shall come to a complete stop 

and allow horseback riders and/or hikers to pass.
20.2 Horseback riders shall yield to hikers 

encountered on multiple use trails administered by the 
Division. The horseback rider shall stop and remain stopped 
until the hiker passes.

21.0 Public Assemblies, Meetings, Distribution and 
Posting of Printed Matter

21.1 In order to maintain the recreational nature of 
State Parks as a haven for the public from the rigors of work 
and the commercial environment, and to promote the State's 
interest in its concessions and sales to the public, no 
commercial advertising by the distribution or posting of 
printed matter, other than by the State or its concessionaires, 
shall be permitted in State Parks.

21.2 Public meetings, assemblies, gatherings, 
demonstrations and/or the distribution or posting of printed 
matter are permitted on lands administered by the Division 
provided that a permit or approval to do so has been issued 
by the Park Administrator or Superintendent.

21.3 An application for such a permit shall set forth 
the name of the applicant, the name of the organization (if 
any), the date, time, duration and the number of persons 
expected to attend or participate, the location of the proposed 
distribution or posting of printed matter, and a statement 
designating the equipment and facilities to be used in 
connection therewith. The application shall be submitted to 
the Park Administrator or Superintendent at least 72 hours in 
advance of the proposed event, distribution or posting.

21.4 Within 48 hours the Park Administrator or 
Superintendent shall within 48 hours issue a permit unless:

21.4.1 A prior application for a permit for the 
same time and location has been made, which has been or 
will be granted; and the activities authorized by that permit 
do not reasonably allow multiple occupancy of the particular 
area; 

21.4.2 It appears that the event or the distribution 
or posting of printed matter will present a clear and present 
danger to the health or safety or park visitors and/or general 
public by inciting riots of public disturbances, or by 
encouraging injury to others, damage to property, or the 
violation of other’s civil rights; or

21.4.3 The event or the distribution or posting is 
of such nature or duration that it cannot reasonably be 
accommodated in the particular location applied for 
considering possible damage to park resources or facilities, 
impairment of a protected area's atmosphere of peace and 
tranquility, interference with Park program activities or 
impairment of public use facilities.

21.5 The Park Superintendent or Administrator shall 
designate on a map, which shall be available in the Park 
office, the locations available for public assemblies and/or 
distribution or posting of printed matter. Locations may be 
designated as not available only if such activity would:
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21.5.1 cause injury or damage to Park resources; 
21.5.2 be contrary to the purposes for which the 

natural, historic, development and special use zones are 
maintained; 

21.5.3 unreasonably interfere with interpretive, 
visitor service or other program activities or with the 
administrative function of the area; or

21.5.4 substantially impair the operation of 
public use facilities or services of concessionaires or 
contractors.

21.6 The permit may contain such conditions as are 
reasonably consistent with protection and use of the area for 
the purposes for which it is maintained.

21.7 Persons engaged in the distribution or posting 
of printed matter under this Section shall not obstruct or 
impede pedestrians or vehicles, harass visitors with physical 
contact or verbal demands, misrepresent the purposes or 
affiliations of those engaged in the distribution or 
misrepresent whether the printed matter is available without 
cost or donation. 

21.8 A permit may be revoked under any of those 
conditions as listed in paragraph d of this Section which 
constitutes grounds for denial of a permit, or for violation of 
the terms or conditions of the permit, Park Regulations or 
Park Policies. Such a revocation shall be made in writing 
with the reason(s) for revocation clearly set forth, except 
under emergency circumstances, when an immediate verbal 
revocation or suspension may be made, to be followed by a 
written confirmation.

22.0 Solicitations and Concessions
22.1 Vending of merchandise, services or food upon 

lands administered by the Division is prohibited without the 
express written approval of the Director.

22.2 No person shall solicit for money or goods or 
services on any lands administered by the Division without 
the written permission of the Director.

22.3. No person, group of persons, nor any business 
or commercial entity shall utilize parks or their facilities for 
business gain, whether for profit or otherwise, except those 
concessionaires or groups who have followed procedures, 
met established requirements, paid appropriate program 
charges and have been authorized by the Director.

23.0 Alcoholic Beverages and Drugs 
23.1 The sale of alcoholic beverages without a 

permit from the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control and 
written permission from the Director is prohibited on lands 
and waters administered by the Division.

23.2 No person under the age of twenty-one (21) 
years shall possess or consume alcoholic beverages of any 
type. Any person suspected of being in violation of this 
subsection, and who fails to provide sufficient identification 
to prove otherwise may, in addition to any other action taken, 

be evicted without refund of any fee. 
23.3 No person who is of legal age to possess or 

consume alcoholic beverages shall sell, give or in any way 
provide alcoholic beverages to a person under the age of 
twenty-one (21) years.

23.4 No person under the influence of alcohol, 
narcotics or any other drug, to the extent of being considered 
publicly intoxicated, shall enter or remain upon or within 
lands or waters administered by the Division.

23.5 The unlawful possession, use or consumption 
of narcotics, drugs, drug substances, or controlled substances 
and/or drug paraphernalia as listed and defined in Title 16, 
Delaware Code is expressly prohibited upon lands or waters 
or within facilities administered by the Division. 

23.6 Unless authorized by the Director the 
possession, consumption, or public display of alcoholic 
beverages or intoxicating liquors within or upon the 
following areas is prohibited:

23.6.1 Brandywine Creek State Park -- Prohibited 
on all areas.

23.6.2 Fort Delaware State Park -- Prohibited on 
all areas. 

23.6.3 Wilmington State Parks-Prohibited in all 
areas.

24.6.4 Fox Point State Park-Prohibited in all 
areas.

23.6.5 Specific Areas Within all State Parks -- All 
nature trails, nature preserves, youth camps public 
restrooms, bath houses, parking facilities, roadways, 
designated swimming areas, pools, surfboarding beach areas 
or other areas designated by the Director.

23.7 No person shall operate or be in actual physical 
control of any motorized vehicle, vessel, bicycle or any other 
means of conveyance while under the influence of alcohol or 
any drug.

23.7.1 Possession and/or use of any alcoholic 
beverage and/or drugs while aboard Division rental vessels 
shall be prohibited.

23.8 The bringing in of draft beer in kegs or by a 
vehicle equipped to dispense draft beer shall not be 
permitted upon lands administered by the Division without 
prior written permission from the Director.

24.0 Hunting, Fishing and Wildlife Management
24.1 No person shall hunt, pursue, trap, shoot, 

injure, kill or molest in any way by gun, archery equipment 
or dog any wild bird or animal on lands or waters 
administered by the Division, nor shall any person have any 
such wild bird or animal in his possession; provided 
however, that such wild bird or animal was not hunted, 
pursued, trapped, injured or killed by gun, archery 
equipment or dog in areas designated by the Division for 
hunting when such hunting is lawful.

24.2 Hunting may be permitted in certain areas as 
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designated at times authorized by the Division. during legal 
game seasons set forth by the Division of Fish and Wildlife.
Hunting shall be in accordance with State and Federal laws, 
rules and regulations.

24.3 It shall be unlawful to display, possess or 
discharge firearms of any description, air rifles, B.B. guns, 
sling shots or archery equipment upon any lands or waters 
administered by the Division, except by those persons 
lawfully hunting in those areas specifically designated for 
hunting by the Division, or those with prior written approval 
of the Director.

24.4 A Division Hunting Permit, A hunter 
registration card issued by the Division in addition to a valid 
Delaware hunting license, is required for hunting on lands 
administered by the Division that are opened for hunting. 
Permits Hunting registration cards  shall be issued by the 
Park Administrator or Park Superintendent and shall be valid 
for the entire hunting season unless revoked for violations of 
hunting laws, rules or regulations. All hunting activities shall 
be regulated by permit the registration card and all permit
card holders shall abide by the conditions of said permit(s)
the registration card. The permit This hunting registration 
card shall not be valid for deer hunting on any park where a 
drawing is held for assignment of deer stands or hunting 
areas. A special permit registration card is required in areas 
that regulate deer hunting by lottery. Persons hunting on 
State Park lands without a valid Division Hunting Permit or 
a special Deer Hunting Permit, when required, shall be in 
violation of these Regulations.

24.4.1 OIn areas where elevated deer stands are 
provided, hunters must remain on their assigned stand during 
the shotgun season. Archery deer hunters must stay within 
the area assigned to their stand.

24.4.2 Trapping is prohibited except for 
management purposes as authorized by the Director.

24.4.3 Raccoon hunting is restricted to chase by 
dogs only, with firearms prohibited.  Firearms are prohibited 
while raccoon hunting.

24.5 Persons under the influence of alcoholic 
beverages, liquors or drugs or possessing and/or consuming 
alcoholic beverages, liquors or drugs shall not be permitted 
to hunt on Division lands.

24.6 Fishing shall be permitted, in accordance with 
the laws and regulations as set forth by the Division of Fish 
and Wildlife. A fishing license is required for non-tidal 
waters.

24.6.1 Fishing is not permitted in designated 
swimming areas and surfboard areas during day-use hours.

24.7 The disturbance of nesting or interference with 
the raising of young of wildlife, including amphibians, 
reptiles, birds or mammals on any lands or waters 
administered by the Division is prohibited.

24.7.1 The heronry at Pea Patch Island Nature 
Preserve shall be closed to the public from April 15 to 

October 15 of each year round. Entry without specific prior 
written authorization by the Division Director is prohibited.

24.8 No person, pet or vehicle shall be permitted to 
enter an area designated and posted by the Division as a bird-
nesting/breeding area.

24.9 It shall be prohibited for any person to bring in 
or otherwise introduce any species of domestic or wild 
animal onto lands administered by the Division.

25.0 Rates, Fees and Charges
25.1 No person shall use or gain admittance to, or 

attempt to use or gain admittance to, any area or facilities for 
which a rate, fee, or charge is made by the Division or 
Department unless he/she pays the rate, fee or charge 
established by said Division or Department.

25.2 The purchase or resale of a daily entrance fee 
ticket, except through an authorized Division agent, is 
prohibited.

25.3 The use or attempt to use any altered daily 
entrance fee ticket is prohibited.

25.4 The vehicle permit for entering a State Park 
shall be affixed to a conspicuous place on the vehicle as 
designated by the Division. Adhesive backing on the permit 
shall be used to attach the permit to the vehicle. Use of any 
other material or device to attach the permit shall be 
prohibited.

26.0 Facility Rentals and Special Events
26.1 No person shall make use of or attempt to 

make use of any State Park pavilion or other facility which 
has been reserved, unless they are a member of the family or 
group reserving the pavilion or facility.

26.2 No person, group, or organization shall 
schedule, hold or conduct an activity or event that requires 
special arrangements, considerations and/or planning by the 
staff unless a written request is submitted to the Director or 
their designee for approval at least 72 hours 7 days prior to 
the holding of the activity or event. Such Additional costs 
may be charged for special arrangements, considerations 
and/or planning may include but not be limited to traffic and 
crowd control, parking, special equipment use, and the use 
of facilities for activities other than their intended purposes.

27.0 Enforcement Powers
27.1 In accordance with the provision set forth in 7

Del.C. §4701(a)(8), the Division may employ personnel who 
shall have all the powers of investigation, detention and 
arrest, conferred by law on peace officers, sheriffs, or 
constables for the enforcement of the Division Rules and 
Regulations.

27.2 Powers, duties and functions of Environmental 
Protection Officers Law Enforcement Officers of the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control:
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27.2.1 In accordance with 29 Del.C. §8003(a), 
Environmental Protection Officers Law Enforcement 
Officers of the Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control shall see to the enforcement of all 
laws, regulations, rules, permits, licenses, orders and 
program requirements of the Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control.

27.2.2 Environmental Protection Officers Law 
Enforcement Officers of the Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control shall have police 
powers similar to those of sheriffs, constables, peace officers 
and other police officers when enforcing the laws, rules, 
regulations, permits, licenses, orders and program 
requirements of the Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control. Such police powers shall include, 
but not be limited to, powers of investigation, search, 
seizure, detention and arrest, conferred by law on sheriffs, 
constables, peace officers and other police officers.

27.2.3 Environmental Protection Officers Law 
Enforcement Officers of the Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control shall have the 
authority to serve and return summonses, subpoenas and 
warrants.

27.3 Each employee vested with the enforcement 
responsibility as authorized in paragraphs a and b shall be 
required to show proper identification as issued by the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control or other county or state law enforcement agencies.

27.4 No person shall willfully fail or refuse to 
comply with any lawful order or direction of any 
Enforcement Officer on lands or waters administered by the 
Division. 

27.5 Anyone interfering with enforcement 
personnel during the performance of their duty in enforcing 
these regulations shall be cited for "interfering with 
enforcement personnel in the performance of his or her 
duty".

28.0 Penalty and Court Powers
28.1 In accordance with the provisions set forth in 

the 7 Del.C. §4702(a), violators of the Rules and 
Regulations promulgated by the Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control, Division of Parks 
and Recreation, shall be fined not less than $25.00 nor more 
than $250.00 and costs for each offense, or imprisoned not 
more than thirty (30) days or both. For each subsequent like 
offense, he/she shall be fined not less than $50.00 nor more 
than $500.00. In addition to such fines, costs or 
imprisonment, any person who is convicted of any violation 
involving the damage, destruction or removal of property 
owned or administered by the State shall be required to make 
restitution to the Department for replacement or restoration 
of such property. Furthermore, in lieu of or in addition to the 
aforesaid penalties, the court may order violators convicted 

of violations involving the damage, destruction, or removal 
of State Park property to perform work projects in State 
Parks.

28.2 Justices of the Peace shall severally throughout 
the State have jurisdiction of violations of the Rules and 
Regulations of the Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control, Division of State Parks and 
Recreation, throughout the state, with the condition that any 
person arrested for such violation be taken before the closest 
available magistrate in the county where such violation is 
alleged to have occurred. An arresting officer may issue a 
summons to any person arrested for any violation of these 
Rules and Regulations and have said person appear at a 
subsequent date at the Justice of the Peace Court which is the 
nearest available Justice of the Peace to the place of arrest 
during the regularly scheduled hours of said court. For the 
purposes of this Section, the summons for later appearance 
shall be sufficient to grant jurisdiction over the offense to the 
said nearest available Justice of the Peace. A Justice of the 
Peace is available when he is at his office or court.

28.3 Failure to answer any summons issued for 
violations of these Rules and Regulations shall result in an 
additional charge of Failure to Answer Summons.

28.4 Nothing contained herein shall preclude an 
action being brought in a court of equity for injunctive or 
other relief.

7 DE Reg. 1768 (6/1/2004)

Effective Date:
These Amended Rules and Regulations are to take full 

force and effect at midnight, June 30, 2002

Adoption:
I, Christophe A.G Tulou, John A. Hughes, Secretary of 

the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 
Control, hereby adopt and establish for the Division of Parks 
and Recreation the foregoing Rules and Regulations of the 
Department pursuant to Title 7, Delaware Code, Chapter 47, 
Subsection 4702(c).

Date John A. Hughes, Secretary
Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control 
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DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND 
HOMELAND SECURITY
BAIL ENFORCEMENT AGENTS

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 5404(a) (24 Del.C. §5404(a))

ORDER

Pursuant to the Guidelines in 29 Del.C. §10118 
(a)(1)-(7), the Secretary of Safety and Homeland Security 
("Secretary") hereby issues this Order. Following public 
notice held open until April 5, 2004 on the proposed 
amendment of promulgated rules and regulations 1.0 - 
Licensing; 4.0 - Firearms Policy; 5.0 - Nightstick, PR24, 
Mace, Peppergas, Chemical Spray, and Handcuffs; 6.0 - 
Training and 9.0 - Suspensions and Revocations, the 
Secretary makes the following Findings and Conclusions:

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted

1. The Secretary did not receive written evidence or 
information pertaining to the proposed amendment.

2. The Secretary expressed its desire to amend the rule 
to protect the public from a Bail Enforcement Agent that 
may endanger his or her safety while performing their duties.

Findings of Fact

3. The public was given notice and the opportunity to 
provide the Secretary with comments, in writing, on the 
amendment of the rule. The written comments received are 
described in paragraph 1.

4. The Secretary finds that the amendment of this rule 
will protect the public from a Bail Enforcement Agent that 
may endanger his or her safety while performing their duties.

5. The Secretary finds that the amendment will have 
no adverse impact on the public.

6. The Secretary finds that the amendment is well 
written and describes its intent to protect the public from a 
Bail Enforcement Agent that may endanger his or her safety 
while performing their duties.

Conclusion

7. The proposed rule amendment was promulgated by 
the Secretary in accord with the statutory duties and 
authority as set forth in 24 Del. C. Section 5504 et seq. and, 
in particular, 24 Del. C. Section 5504(a).

8. The Secretary deems this amendment necessary and 
expedient to the full and official performance of its duties 
under 24 Del. C. Section 5504 et. seq.

9. The Secretary concludes that the amendment of this 
rule will be in the best interests of the citizens of the State of 

Delaware.
10. The Secretary therefore adopts the amendment of 

this rule pursuant to 24 Del.C. Section 5504(a) and 
guidelines of 29 Del.C. Section 10118 of the Administrative 
Procedures Act.  See, Strauss v. Silverman, Del. Supr., 399 
A.2d 192 (1979)

11. This amended rule replaces 9.0 (9.3), in its entirety, 
and former rule or regulation heretofore promulgated by the 
Secretary.

12.) The effective date of this Order shall be April 23, 
2004.

13.) Attached hereto and incorporated herein this order 
is the amended rule marked as exhibit A and executed 
simultaneously by the Secretary on the 23rd day of April, 
2004. 

James L. Ford, Jr., Secretary

APPROVED AS TO FORM:
James Hanley, Esquire
Deputy Attorney General
April 23, 2004

Bounty Hunter/Bail Enforcement Agents

Preamble

These Rules & Regulations are promulgated pursuant to 
24 Del.C. Section 5504(a) and the Secretary of Public Safety 
delegates his regulatory authority granted by Chapter 55 to 
the Division of State Police.

1.0 Licensing
1.1 Any individual applying for a bail enforcement 

agent ID card under Title 24 Chapter 55 must meet and 
maintain the following qualifications:

1.1.1 Must not be convicted of any felony; and
1.1.2 Must not have been convicted, within the 

last seven (7) years, of any two (2) of the following 
misdemeanors:  theft, drug offenses, offensive touching, or 
assault III; and

1.1.3 Must not have been convicted of any 
charge that bears a relationship to the performance of the 
bounty hunter as determined by the Detective Licensing 
Section; Must not have been convicted of any charge or been 
involved in any conduct that may impair the performance of 
the bail enforcement agent and endanger public safety as 
determined by the Detective Licensing Secion and

1.1.4 Must not have been, as a juvenile, 
adjudicated as delinquent for conduct which, if committed 
by an adult, would constitute a felony, unless and until that 
person has reached their 25th birthday.
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1.2 An individual bail enforcement agent ID card will 
not be issued if there is a pending charge as listed in Section 
1.1.1 or a pending charge as listed in Section 1.1.2 for an 
applicant with one (1) conviction of specified misdemeanor 
listed in Section 1.1.2.

1.3 The individual bail enforcement agent applying for 
an ID card under Title 24 Chapter 55 must also meet the 
following qualifications:

1.3.1 Must be at least 21 years of age; and
1.3.2 Must complete the training qualifications 

set forth in Section 6.0; and
1.3.3 If carrying a weapon, must meet and 

maintain the qualifications set forth in Section 4.0.
1.4 The individual bail enforcement agent applying for 

an ID card under Title 24 Chapter 55 must submit the 
following for approval:

1.4.1 A fee of $25 for a four (4) year ID card 
which shall expire and be renewable on the 4th anniversary 
date of the birth of the applicant next following the date of its 
issuance unless the birth date is February 29, in which event 
the license shall expire and be renewable on February 28 
every 4th year; and

1.4.2 Any and all applications required by the 
Detective Licensing Section; and

1.4.3 Submit two (2) sets of fingerprints for a 
Delaware (CHRI) and Federal (FBI) criminal history record 
check.  The Director of the State Bureau of Identification 
(SBI) determines the fee for this process.  This subsection 
1.4.3 does not apply to the renewal of ID cards, unless 
required by the Director of Detective Licensing.

1.5 The ID cards are the property of the Delaware State 
Police and must be returned to the Detective Licensing 
Section upon expiration of the ID card or at the request of the 
Detective Licensing Section.

1.6 A bail enforcement agent that has been issued an ID 
card by the Detective Licensing Section shall be required to 
have such card in their possession while in the performance 
of his or her duties.

1.7 A bail enforcement agent must not be a member or 
employee of any Delaware Law Enforcement Organization, 
as defined by the Council on Police Training, or a member or 
employee of a law enforcement organization of any other 
local, state or federal jurisdiction.

1.8 There will be no reciprocity with any other state 
regarding the issuing of an ID card to a bail enforcement 
agent.

2.0 Badges, Patches, Advertisements
2.1 No individual licensed under Title 24 Chapter 55 

shall use any type of uniform or other clothing items 
displaying logos, badges, patches, or any other type of 
writing without first being approved by the Detective 
Licensing Section.  Under no circumstances shall any item 

contain the seal or crest of the State of Delaware, any state of 
the United States, the seal or crest of any county or local sub 
division, or any facsimile of the aforementioned seals or 
crests.

2.2 All advertisements or other forms of publication, 
subsequent to their use, are subject to review by the 
Detective Licensing Section for potential misrepresentation. 
If the Detective Licensing Section does not approve the 
advertisement or publication, it will forward its concerns to 
the licensee.  Failure to correct the advertisement or 
publication will be considered a violation of these Rules & 
Regulations.

2.3 The use of auxiliary lights, sirens, or any markings 
on vehicles is prohibited.

3.0 Use Of Animals
3.1 The use of animals is prohibited in the performance 

of any bail enforcement agent activity.

4.0 Firearms Policy
4.1 No person shall carry a firearm under this chapter 

unless the individual first completed and passed an approved 
40-hour firearm course, instructed by a certified firearm 
instructor, recognized by the Detective Licensing Section.

4.2 All persons licensed to carry a firearm under this 
chapter must be re-certified yearly, by an instructor as 
described in Section 4.1, by shooting a minimum of three (3) 
qualifying shoots a year.  The shoots must be scheduled on at 
least two (2) separate days, with a recommended 90 days 
between scheduled shoots.  Of the three (3) shoots, there will 
be one mandatory “low light” shoot. Simulation is permitted 
and it may be combined with a daylight shoot.  All 
individuals must qualify with the same type of weapon that 
he/she will carry.  The minimum passing score is 75%.

4.2.1 All renewal shoot sheets must be 
submitted by January 31st of each year for the previous 
calendar year.

4.3 All handguns must be either a revolver or semi-
automatic and be maintained to factory specifications.  Only 
the handguns with the following calibers are permitted:

4.3.1 9mm
4.3.2 .357
4.3.3 .38
4.3.4 .40
4.4.5 .45

4.4 All ammunition will be factory fresh (no re-loads).
4.5 Any person requesting to carry any shotgun, rifle, 

any type of weapon or apprehension device must first 
provide proof of training to the Detective Licensing Section 
for approval.

5.0 Nightstick, PR24, Mace, Peppergas, Chemical Spray, 
And Handcuffs

5.1  To carry the above weapons/items a bail 
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enforcement agent must have completed training by a 
Detective Licensing Section apporved insturctor, on each 
and every weapon/item carried.  Proof of training, and any 
renewal training, must be provided to the Detective 
Licensing Section.  Under no circumstances would a person 
be permitted to carry any other type weapon/item, unless 
first approved by the Detective Licensing Section.

6.0 Training
6.1 All bail enforcement agents licensed under Title 24 

Chapter 55 must complete training in the following courses: 
Constitution/Bill of Rights, Laws of Arrest, Laws of Search 
& Seizure of Persons Wanted, Police Jurisdiction, Use of 
Deadly Force, and the Rules & Regulations of Bounty 
Hunters/Bail Enforcement Agents.

6.2 This training will be waived for the initial licensing, 
but must be completed by January 19, 2003.  Thereafter, the 
training must be completed prior to obtaining a license. The 
training must be completed prior to obtaining a license.
7.0 Notification Of Apprehensions

7.1 All bail enforcement agents licensed under Title 24 
Chapter 55 are required to notify the police emergency 911 
dispatch center (i.e., Recom, Kentcom, Suscom) of the 
appropriate police agency in which the apprehension will be 
attempted.

8.0 Notification Of Arrest
8.1 Anyone licensed under Title 24 Chapter 55 shall, 

excluding weekends and State holidays, notify the Detective 
Licensing Section within five (5) days of being arrested for a 
misdemeanor or felony crime.  Failure to do so may result in 
the suspension or revocation of any individual.

9.0 Suspensions And Revocations
9.1 The Detective Licensing Section shall have the 

power to suspend or revoke any individual, licensed under 
Title 24 Chapter 55, that violates the Chapter or the 
promulgated Rules & Regulations.

9.2 The Detective Licensing Section may suspend or 
revoke any individual, licensed under Title 24 Chapter 55, 
that has been arrested and that arrest could result in the 
conviction of any misdemeanor or felony as described in 
Section 1.0.

9.3 Anyone whose license has been suspended, 
revoked, rejected, or denied is entitled to a hearing before the 
Secretary of Public Safety [the Department of] Safety and 
Homeland Security.

9.3.1 Anyone requesting a hearing shall notify 
the Detective Licensing Section, in writing, within 30 days 
from the suspension, revocation, rejection, or denial and the 
hearing shall be scheduled at the earliest possible time.

See 5 DE Reg. 1523 (1/1/02)
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER
EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER FIFTY-FOUR

RE: Creating Review Panels For School Assessments
And Performance Standards

WHEREAS, academic standards in English language 
arts, mathematics, science and social studies were developed 
by large stakeholder groups comprised of public school 
educators, higher education representatives, parents and 
members of the business community; and 

WHEREAS, those standards were approved by the 
State Board of Education in June 1995; and

WHEREAS, in 1997 the Delaware General Assembly 
required the development of an assessment system to 
measure progress toward meeting those standards; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware Student Testing Program 
(DSTP) in reading, writing, and mathematics has been 
administered to students in grades 3, 5, 8, and 10 since 1998; 
and 

WHEREAS, the General Assembly directed the 
Department of Education to identify five levels of individual 
student performance relative to state content standards to be 
used for identifying levels of proficiency; and 

WHEREAS, students in grades 3, 5, 8, and 10 who 
perform at Level II (below the standard) must participate in 
improvement activities and students who perform at Level I 
(well below the standard) must attend summer school and 
must show proficiency at the end of summer school in order 
to be promoted; and 

WHEREAS, concerns have been raised about the 
performance of students at grades 8 and 10 on the 
mathematics component of the DSTP; and

WHEREAS, recent studies have shown that the DSTP 
is aligned to the academic content standards; and 

WHEREAS, a study completed by the National Center 
for Education Statistics shows a correlation between the 
DSTP reading and the National Assessment of Education 
Progress (NAEP) reading; and

WHEREAS, no such study has been completed to 
determine a correlation between the DSTP mathematics and 
the NAEP mathematics assessment; and

WHEREAS, students who graduate from public high 
schools must meet a specific level of proficiency in order to 
receive one of three levels of diploma (Distinguished, 
Standard or Basic); and

WHEREAS, a review of student grade point averages 
and diploma indexes show a correlation between the two; 
and

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to periodically review 
both the content standards and the assessments as well as the 

performance levels established for said assessments; and
WHEREAS, Delaware’s accountability system holds 

students, teachers, schools and districts accountable for the 
academic achievement of all students; and

WHEREAS, any change to the DSTP performance 
levels will affect all components of the system; and

WHEREAS, the examination of the performance levels 
will be beneficial to the overall system;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, 
GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE DO 
HEREBY ORDER AND DECLARE:

1. The Delaware Department of Education shall 
convene a panel of three national experts in the areas of 
assessment, accountability, and/or standard setting. Said 
experts will be chosen as follows: one by Delaware 
Department of Education, one by the members of the 
Delaware Education Consortium (Delaware Chief School 
Officers Association, Delaware Association of School 
Administrators, Delaware State Education Association, 
Delaware School Boards Association, the State Board of 
Education and the Delaware Charter Schools Network) and 
one jointly chosen by the President Pro Tempore of the 
Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

2. The panel shall be provided with all applicable and 
related information regarding the development of the 
assessments, the setting of performance levels, and the 
design of the student accountability system from the 
Department of Education and from any other study or paper 
that has been produced by any other stakeholder groups.

3. The panel may also consider other sources of 
information from regional or national studies that have been 
conducted on related matters.

4. The panel shall also examine the levels of 
incentives and consequences associated with the student 
accountability system including requirements for student 
improvement activities such as Individual Improvement 
Plans, summer school, retention and promotion, and 
awarding of diplomas and scholarships.

5. The Department of Education shall also contract 
with three national experts to conduct a full review of the 
implementation of standards based curriculum in 
mathematics in both middle and high schools in Delaware. 
Said experts will be chosen in the same manner as the 
assessment panel, one by the Department of Education, one 
by the Education Consortium and one jointly chosen by the 
President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the 
House of Representatives.

6. To ensure public participation in the process, a 
posted public comment period shall be utilized to allow 
members of the public to submit written public comments to 
either or both panels.

7. The expert panel on assessment and accountability 
and the expert panel on curriculum shall present findings and 
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recommendations regarding these issues, including a 
timeline for proposed implementation, to the Governor and 
the General Assembly not later than February 15, 2005.

APPROVED: April 8, 2004

Ruth Ann Minner, 
Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor
Secretary of State

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER
EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER FIFTY-FIVE

RE: Creating The First State Historical Park
Task Force

WHEREAS, the City of Dover has been the seat of 
government in Delaware since 1777 and is home to one of 
the most beautifully preserved capitol complexes in the 
nation, featuring many sites of historic and cultural interest; 
and

WHEREAS, in convention in Dover on December 7, 
1787, the State of Delaware became the first of the 13 
original states to ratify the U.S. Constitution, forever staking 
our claim to the nickname, “The First State”; and 

WHEREAS, educating Delaware citizens and youth 
about the significant historical events and the diverse 
heritage of the City of Dover and the State can be a powerful 
tool in building our sense of community; and

WHEREAS, each year thousands of visitors come to 
Dover’s historic area to enjoy its hidden treasures while 
more than 1 million cars drive past Dover - unaware of the 
rich historical and cultural offerings of the area; and

WHEREAS, attracting more visitors to downtown 
Dover will help existing businesses grow, create new jobs, 
and ensure the area’s continued vitality; and

WHEREAS, many of the treasured sites in the 
downtown area are owned by the State, including Legislative 
Hall, the Governor’s House at Woodburn, the Delaware 
Public Archives, the Delaware State Museums’ Visitor 
Center, the State House Museum, the Johnson Victrola 
Museum, Legislative Mall, the Delaware Museum of Small 
Town Life and the Delaware Archaeology Museum, and the 
Biggs Museum of American Art is located in a State-owned 
building, and together these sites are operated by as many as 
six different agencies and organizations; and

WHEREAS, the State has not fully exploited 
opportunities to coordinate visitor hospitality services, hours 
of operation, educational programming, marketing, signage, 
and other infrastructure in order to improve visitor 
experiences, enhance Delawareans’ quality of life, and grow 
the local economy; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware Department of State, the 
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control, and the Delaware Economic 
Development Office have signed a Memorandum of 
Understanding setting forth certain commitments to improve 
coordination of such visitor services.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by 
virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State 
of Delaware do hereby declare and order as follows, this 
22nd day of April, 2004:

1. The First State Historical Park Task Force is hereby 
created for the purpose of recommending to the Governor, 
the General Assembly and State agencies, actions that should 
be undertaken to develop a non-traditional “park without 
boundaries” encompassing the State-owned historic sites 
within the Dover historic district.

2. The Task Force shall consist of thirteen members, 
who shall be selected as follows:

a. A representative from the Governor’s Office, 
to be appointed by the Governor;

b. One representative of the Delaware State 
Senate, to be appointed by the President Pro Tempore;

c. One representative of the Delaware House of 
Representatives, to be appointed by the Speaker of the 
House;

d. One representative of the Office of Legislative 
Council to be appointed by the President Pro Tem of the 
Senate and Speaker of the House of Representatives;

e. A representative from the Delaware Judicial 
Branch, to be appointed by the Chief Justice;

f. The Mayor of Dover, or his designee;
g. A representative of the Downtown Dover 

Development Corporation, to be appointed by its Chair;
h. A representative of Dover Main Street, to be 

appointed by its President;
i. A representative of the Kent County Tourism 

Board, to be appointed by its President;
j. A representative of the Biggs Museum of 

American Art, to be appointed by its President;
k. A member of the Delaware Heritage 

Commission to be appointed by its Chairman;
l. Two residents of the Dover community, to be 

appointed by the Governor;
m. Cabinet Secretaries or their designees 

representing each of the following government agencies: 
Department of State, Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control, and the Delaware Economic 
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Development Office.
3. The Governor shall appoint a Chair from among the 

members of the Task Force who shall serve as Chair at her 
pleasure. Members of the Task Force shall serve while they 
hold office or at the pleasure of the persons appointing them.

4. The Chair of the Task Force may form working 
groups that shall include members from the Task Force as 
well as members of the public with interest and/or expertise 
in the objectives of the Task Force. Each working group 
shall be chaired by a member of the Task Force. In addition 
to those agencies represented on the Task Force, all other 
state agencies are directed to provide reasonable support and 
planning assistance to the Task Force including, but not 
limited to, the Office of State Planning, the Office of 
Facilities Management, the Department of Transportation, 
and Capitol Police.

5. The Task Force shall develop a list of 
recommendations to be included with a First State Historical 
Park Plan currently under development by certain State 
agencies. A preliminary set of recommendations shall be 
submitted to the Governor no later than October 1, 2004. A 
final report and set of recommendations shall be submitted to 
the Governor and the Delaware General Assembly no later 
than March 1, 2005.

6. Recommendations shall address the following 
issues:

a. Coordinated visitor hospitality services;
b. Synchronized hours of operation, consistent 

look for park’s signage, literature, and other forms of 
identity;

c. Comprehensive visitor information at all sites;
d. Enhanced interpretive services and 

complementary educational programming across sites with a 
focus on children and family-oriented programming 
throughout the park;

e. Marketing and partnerships with tourism 
industry;

f. Security;
g. Infrastructure enhancements to enable better 

self-guided walking trails as well as alternative 
transportation modes within the historic district;

h. Other infrastructure in order to improve visitor 
experiences; and

i. Identification of long-term goals and 
objectives.
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Board of Examiners of Psychologists Ms. Diane Amery 6/20/2005

Board of Plumbing Examiners Mr. Robert J. Briccotto, Jr. 9/14/2004
Mr. Thomas Ciconte 4/19/2007

Board of Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists, Ms. Ilene Cohen Courtright 4/19/2007
and Hearing Aid Dispensers Ms. Bernadette D. Farley 1/7/2005

Mr. Michael A. Michelli 4/19/2007

Child Placement Review Board Executive Committee Mr. Ronney J. Bythwood 4/19/2007

Child Placement Review Board - New Castle Ms. Caroline N. Bither 4/19/2007
Ms. Phyllis N. Faulkner 4/19/2007
Mr. Lou Himelreich 4/19/2007
Ms. Elma E. Jackson 4/19/2007
Ms. Clementine J. Light 4/19/2007
Ms.Yahna Talley 4/19/2007

Child Protection Accountability Commission Ms. Merrijane Pierce Pleasure of the
Governor

Council of Delaware Association of Professional Mr. Frank Newton 1/14/2006
Engineers Mr. Dennis L. Schrader 4/19/2008

Council on Forestry Mr. Joseph C. Wick 4/19/2007

Council on Social Services Ms. Laura B. Hummel 4/19/2007

Council on Transportation Mr. Brian M. McGlinchey 4/16/2007

Delaware Bicycle Council Mr. Douglas R. Mills 10/20/2006

Delaware Health Resources Board Mr. Richard J. Cherrin 4/19/2007
Mr. Robert F. Miller 4/19/2007
Ms. Suzanne E. Raab-Long 4/19/2007

Delaware Perinatal Board Ms. Betty J. Paulanka Pleasure of the
Governor

Delaware Sentencing Accountability Commission Mr. Bernard V. Pepukayi 4/16/2008

Delaware Technology Park Pasquale N. Confalone, Ph.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Enhanced 911 Emergency Reporting System Service Mr. Michael P. Cebrick 4/8/2007
Board

Environmental Appeals Board Ms. Nancy J. Shevock Pleasure of the
Governor
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Governor’s Council on Lifestyles & Fitness Avron Abraham, Ph.D. 4/19/2006
Michael J. Axe, M.D. 4/19/2006
Ms. Lisa C. Barkley 4/19/2006
Ms. Martha C. Bogdan 4/19/2006
Ms. Evelyn P. Burkle 4/19/2006
The Honorable John C. Carney, Jr. 4/19/2006
Mr. Thomas Hall 4/19/2006
Ms. Annette Hubbard 4/19/2006
Mr. Donald L. Kjelleren 4/19/2006
Lynn Snyder-Mackler, Sc.D., PT 4/19/2006
Mr. David Tiberi 4/19/2006
Ms. Joann Wilkins 4/19/2006
D. Allan Waterfield, Ph.D. 4/19/2006

Public Integrity Commission Reverend P. David Brumbaugh 1/16/2010

State Emergency Response Commission Mr. John C. Taylor 4/16/2006

State Examining Board of Physical Therapists Ms. Katherine L. Daniello 4/19/2007
Mr. Vincent J. Deleo 4/19/2007
Ms. Sharon L. Harris 6/5/2005

Interagency Council on Adult Literacy Ms. Sherese B. Carr Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Helen Groft Pleasure of the
Governor

Violent Crimes Compensation Board Mr. Thomas W. Castaldi 4/8/2007

Vocational Rehabilitation Advisory Council for D.V.I. Ms. Verita A. Turner 4/19/2007
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DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Speed Restriction For Highways
Using Variable Speed Limit Technology

WHEREAS, Section 141, Title 17, Delaware Code
designates jurisdiction over and control of all State highways 
of the State outside the limits of incorporated towns and 
cities to the Department of Transportation for the purpose of 
regulating traffic and the use of vehicles thereover; and

WHEREAS, the Department of Transportation was 
further authorized by Section 4169, Title 21, Delaware Code, 
and in 73 Del.Laws, Chapter 95, Section 97(b) to install 
Variable Speed Limit (VSL) signs and Variable Message 
Signs (VMS) for major limited access and heavily traveled 
roads of the State; and

WHEREAS, as part of this authorization in 73 
Del.Laws, Chapter 95, Section 97(b), the Department of 
Transportation and the Department of Public Safety (now 
Department of Homeland Security) were also directed to 
conduct broad public notification and education efforts 
relating to the conditions under which these signs will be 
used to control safe speeds on Delaware’s highways; and 

WHEREAS, the Department of Transportation 
determined on the basis of an engineering study and traffic 
investigation to implement the VSL and VMS sign 
programs, in keeping with a Memorandum of Understanding 
dated June 10, 2002, and a set of Standard Operating 
Procedures (SOPs) for this purpose, copies of which are 
attached hereto and incorporated herein by reference.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the 
Department of Transportation, in accordance with the 
authority so vested in it, does hereby declare that it will use 
the VSL SOPs and the systems now in place along those 
portions of State highways on which the VSL technology has 
been installed, namely Interstate 495 in New Castle County.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that copies of this 
resolution be forwarded to the proper officials of the 
Department of Transportation and the Delaware State Police, 
and that additional copies of the resolution be posted at an 
appropriate location on the State of Delaware’s website, as 
well as in the Delaware Register of Regulations, operated by 
the Division of Research of Legislative Council.

Donald Weber, P.E., Chief Traffic Engineer

Memorandum of Agreement
Delaware Department Of Transportation.

And
Department Of Public Safety

Variable Speed Limit And Message Signs Program

Purpose of Memorandum.
Pursuant to 73 Del. Laws, Chapter 95, Section 97(b), the 

Delaware Department of Transportation (De1DOT) is 
authorized to install Variable Speed Limit (VSL) signs and 
Variable Message Signs (VMSes) for the major limited 
access and heavily traveled roads of the state. As part of this 
authorization, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and 
the Department of Transportation are directed to insure 
broad public notification and education surrounding the 
conditions under which these signs will be used to control 
safe speeds on Delaware's highways. This Memorandum 
outlines how the two agencies will meet their respective 
responsibilities under the relevant Delaware law.

Terms of the Memorandum.
The two agencies agree as follows:
1. DeIDOT will cause to be installed the VSL signs 

and VMS equipment authorized under 73 Del. Laws, 
Chapter 95, Section 97(b).

2. DeIDOT and DPS will use a set of Standard 
Operating Procedures (SOPs) for the full implementation of 
this new program, a copy of which are attached to this 
Memorandum.  These SOPs will permit lowering the 
displayed speed limit under defined conditions, including 
but not limited to a methodology to determine the proposed 
lowered speed limit; a process to notify the State Police and 
all users on the affected highways of any upcoming change 
in the posted speed limit; a mechanism to confirm that all 
such signs are displaying the desired speed limit; and a 
process to maintain an effective database record of the 
posted speed limits for enforcement purposes, and other 
relevant matters.

3. DelDOT and DPS will prepare and distribute 
educational and public relations materials to explain the VSL 
and VMS program, prior to and after its initial 
implementation

4. The Delaware State Police will enforce the speed 
limits posted under the VSL program, in keeping with their 
responsibilities and procedures.

The executed signatures this 10th day of  June of the 
respective Secretaries of the Department of Transportation 
and Department of Public Safety appearing below shall 
evidence their agreement to the terms of this Memorandum 
and their commitment to assure compliance with its terms on 
behalf of their respective staff assigned to carry out this 
program.
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ATTEST
Christine Pochomis, Director of Administration

For The Department Of Transportation
Nathan Hayward III, Secretary

ATTEST
Amelia Maurer, Witness

For The Department Of Public Safety
James L. Ford, Secretary

APPROVED AS TO FROM
Frederick H. Schranck, Deputy Attorney General

Variable Speed Limit (VSL) Sign System
Standard Operating Procedures (SOP's)

The variable speed limit (VSL) sign system is part of 
DelTrac and is operated at the Transportation Management 
Center (TMC). The VSL sign system is a tool to maintain 
safe driving conditions on major roadways in Delaware.  The 
V.SL sign system is used to control safe speeds during traffic 
incidents and to lower vehicle speeds on ozone action days. 
The following are standard operating procedures to operate 
the VSL sign system.

Participating Agencies
Delaware Department of Transportation (DelDOT)
Delaware Department of Public Safety-Delaware State 
Police (DSP)
Other law enforcement agencies
Elected public officials

General
The general reasons to implement the VSL sign system 

are,
 1) traffic incidents,

2) extreme weather conditions
3) poor roadway surface conditions, and 
4) ozone action days.
Traffic incidents are crashes, maintenance operations, 

enforcement operations, special events and other unusual, 
nonrecurring traffic operation events. Extreme weather 
conditions are heavy precipitation, high winds and fog. Poor 
roadway surface conditions are ice and snow covered 
roadways, "black ice", or foreign substances spilled on the 
roadway. Ozone action days are announced by public 
agencies during weather conditions conducive to the 
formation of ground level ozone concentrations that are 
injurious to health.

The decision to use the VSL sign system is made by the 
Chief Traffic Engineer or designated to the TMC manager
and/or the TMC shift supervisor. The TMC operators, who 

are monitoring the roadway conditions or other public safety 
officials, prompt the call for a decision to use the VSL sign 
system. The “other public safety officials" are law 
enforcement officers from the state, county or city; 
emergency operations personnel; and elected public 
officials. There are both emergency and scheduled incidents 
that will institute the use of the VSL sign system. The 
emergency uses will arise when there are crashes, extreme 
weather and extreme roadway conditions. A preplanned 
program developed by the respective event sponsors and 
DeIDOT officials at the TMC establishes VSL sign settings 
for scheduled programs or special events. Ozone action days 
will prompt predetermined settings for signs in the VSL sign 
system.

The procedures and guidelines to operate the VSL sign 
system in DelTrac are presented herein as standard operating 
procedures. The SOP's are part of the Memorandum of 
Agreement between the De1DOT and DSP, dated June 12, 
2002. The SOPs will be reviewed annually in April by both 
agencies for the purpose of making revisions that will 
improve the operations and maintenance of the system.

The DSP will enforce the varied speed limits, when 
posted according to these SOP's as the legal limit of travel 
speed the highways.

Communications
De1DOT personnel will operate the VSL sign system, 

which will be part of DelTrac's incident management 
program, from the Transportation Management Center 
(TMC) in Smyrna, Delaware. The TMC operator will call 
the DSP at 302-577-3010 to inform the DSP of a change of 
the VSL sign system displays according to these SOP 
guidelines. The DSP will call the TMC at 659-2400 or email 
to request a change to the VSL system displays according to 
these SOP guidelines.  When the VSL signs are changed the 
State Police will be told who authorized the change to the 
VSL signs, why the speeds were changed, the time they were 
changed, what the changed speed limit is and where they
were changed. This information will be saved by DelDOT in 
a retrievable database.

The VSL signs will be operated using a wireless 220 
MHz radio system at the TMC that connects to radio 
communication towers throughout the state. A 
communication testing and polling process will continually 
monitor the signs' performance and the history of the sign's 
message.  The TMC and DeIDOT will document the normal 
operation of the signs and record the speed message 
displayed on the VSL sign in a database for future use. A 
malfunction of the communications system to the signs or 
the sign itself will be automatically recorded and 
documented. The DSP may obtain written records of the 
speed limit displays upon request by calling or ernailing the 
TMC for such information.
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Speed Limit Variations
VSL signs shall display speed limits ranging from 45 to 

65 mph. The speed limits shown shall be multiples of 5 mph. 
An operator at the TMC employed by DelDOT, who will 
follow these written SOP guidelines and procedures to vary 
the speed limit sign messages, will control the speed limits 
shown.

Traffic Incidents
The speed limits will be varied by DelDOT operators at 

the TMC by decision of the Chief Traffic Engineer or 
delegated to the TMC Manager or at the request of the DSP 
for traffic incident management.

DelDOT will lower the speed limit the following 
amounts for the following conditions:

Reduce 5-10 mph
1. A roadway incident causes slower moving traffic 

and/or a traffic queue that presents a hazardous condition for 
approaching traffic. Upstream speed limits will be lowered 
5-10 mph to lengthen driver perception-reaction time and 
reduce safe stopping distance for approaching traffic. The 
DSP may recommend lower speed limits. Incidents and 
queues will be observed and measured from TMC cameras 
and detectors. Experience will establish set speed limit 
scenarios that safely manage traffic flow past incidents.

Either the police, a roadway user calling a 911 operator 
or someone at the TMC will notice a crash first. The police 
or the TMC operator may request the use of the VSL sign
system. Speed limits can be lowered upstream in both 
directions from the crash or incident. Lower speed limits will 
be posted in conjunction with information on Variable 
Message Signs (VMS) and traffic diversion plans created to 
respond to the circumstances of the incident.

DSP may request a lower speed limit for the following 
reasons:

Reduce 5-20 mph
1. Traffic crashes, disabled vehicles or traffic law 

enforcement incidents that require lower traffic speeds to 
safely manage bypassing traffic and/or to complete an 
accident investigation under lower and safer traffic speed 
conditions.

2. Emergency and medical treatment at a crash scene.
3. Evacuations and emergencies

Planned, nonrecurring traffic incidents -
Requests will be made and consideration given to lower 

speed limits for other traffic incidents of a planned, 
nonrecurring nature. These incidents may include but not be 
limited to roadway maintenance operations, law 
enforcement operations, traffic studies, and special events, 
such as official convoys or motorcades, parades, festivals or 
celebrations.

Extreme Weather Conditions
The speed limits will be varied by DelDOT operators at 

the TMC by decision of the Chief Traffic Engineer or 
delegated to the TMC Manager or at the request of the DSP 
for extreme weather conditions.

DeIDOT will lower the speed limit the following 
amounts for the following conditions:

Reduce 5-20 mph
1. Heavy precipitation.
2. High winds.
3. Reduced visibility due to precipitation, fog or 

smoke.
DSP may request a lower speed limit for the same 

reasons.
Reduce 5-20mph
The DSP will maintain their discretion to ticket drivers 

who are traveling too fast for conditions regardless of the 
'VSL posted speed.

Poor Roadway Surface Conditions
The speed limits will be varied by DeIDOT operators at 

the TMC by decision of the Chief Traffic Engineer or 
delegated to the TMC Manager or at the request of the DSP 
for poor roadway surface conditions.

DelDOT will lower the speed limit the following 
amounts for the following conditions:

Reduce 5-20 mph
l. Ice and/or snow covered pavement
2. "Black ice" patches on pavement
3 Material and object spills on the roadway pavement 

or roadsides.
DSP may request a lower speed limit for the same 

reasons.
Reduce 5-20 rnph

Ozone Action Days
The speed limits will be varied by DeIDOT operators at 

the TMC by decision of the Chief Traffic Engineer or 
delegated to the TMC Manager or at the request of public 
officials for ozone action days.

The speed limits may be varied by DeIDOT upon 
announcement from the Ozone Action Partnership and/or the 
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control (DNREC) that there is an ozone 
forecast for a specific code color ozone action day.

DelDOT will lower the speed limits to reduce vehicle 
emissions on days when ground level ozone concentrations 
are expected too exceed the federal health based air quality 
standards. Delaware's chart for the National Ambient Air 
Quality Index specifies six levels of pollution. They are 
listed below with the corresponding speed reductions: 

1.  Green - good No Reduction
2.  Yellow - moderate No Reduction
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3.  Orange - unhealthy for sensitive groups
Reduce 5-10 mph

I-95, I-295 SR 1 N., SR 1 Exp. 50mph
I-495, SR 1 S, 55mph

4.  Red - unhealthy Reduce 10-15mph
I-95, I -295 SR 1 N., SR 1 Exp. 50mph
I -495, SR 1 S. 50mph

5.  Purple - very unhealthy Reduce 10-20mph
I -95, I-295 SR 1 N., SR 1 Exp. 45rnph
I -495, SR 1 S. 45mph

6.  Brown - hazardous Reduce 10-20mph
I -95,I-295 SR 1 N., SR 1 Exp. 45mph
I -495, SR 1 S. 45mph

Documentation
DelDOT will inform DSP immediately when there is a 

speed limit change on any VSL display by calling 
302-577-3010.

DelDOT will maintain and store a database of the VSL 
sign displays by specific sign location. De1DOT will 
provide this information to the DSP upon request for the 
purpose of completing accident reports and for giving 
testimony at court appearances.  The database will be kept 
for 2 years.
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

The Delaware Harness Racing Commission proposes 
amendments to Commission rules pursuant to 3 Del.C.
§10005 and 29 Del.C. §10115.  The Commission will accept 
written comments from June 1, 2004 through August 17, 
2004.  The Commission will hold a public hearing on the 
proposed rule amendments on August 18, 2004 at 10:15 a.m. 
at Harrington Raceway, Harrington, DE.  Written comments 
should be submitted to John Wayne, Department of 
Agriculture, 2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901. 

The Commission proposes to amend its Rules as 
follows:  1) enact a new rule 5.1.8.16 setting forth 
requirements for maintaining the confidentiality of test 
reports for the human drug testing program; and 2) delete 
rule 8.4.3.2.1 which currently provides that buckets and 
water shall be furnished by the State Veterinarian in the 
detention area where the specimens are collected from the 
horses.  

DELAWARE STANDARDBRED BREEDERS'
FUND PROGRAM

NOTICE

The State of Delaware, Department of Agriculture’s 
Standardbred Breeders’ Fund (herein “the Fund”)  hereby 
gives notice of its intention to adopt amended regulations 
concerning its enforcement procedures pursuant to the 
General Assembly’s delegation of authority to adopt such 
measures found at 29 Del.C. §4815(b)(3)b.2.D and in 
compliance with Delaware’s Administrative Procedures Act, 
29 Del.C. §10115. The proposed amended regulations 
constitute a substantial revision of its regulations and more 
specifically set forth the powers and duties of the Fund’s 
Administrator, eliminate the Delaware Harness Racing 
Commission from the hearing process that currently exists 
for resolving disputes between horse owners and the Fund’s 
Administrator substituting  in its stead a public hearing 
before the Fund, and allowing for appeals to the Superior 
Court of the State of Delaware from decisions by the Fund.

The Fund requests, and will consider, timely filed 
written comments from interested individuals and groups 
concerning these proposed amended regulations. The 
deadline for the filing of such written comments will be 
thirty days (30) after these proposed amended regulations are 
promulgated in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

Any such submissions should be mailed or delivered to 
Ms. Judy Davis-Wilson, Administrator, Delaware 
Standardbred Breeders’ Fund whose address is State of 

Delaware, Department of Agriculture, 2320 South duPont 
Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly 
meeting on Thursday, June 17, 2004 at 1:00 p.m. in the 
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Public Notice
Fair Hearing Practices and Procedures

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 107, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) as it relates to fair hearing practices and procedures. 

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program 
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware by June 30, 2004.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of Proposed Change

DSSM 5311, Notification of Time and Place of Hearing. 
The change adds language to clarify that the ten day advance 
notice period in this rule refers to the date the fair hearing 
scheduling letter is mailed and not to the date the letter is 
received by certified mail.
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CALENDAR OF EVENTS/HEARING NOTICES 1795
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

REGISTER NOTICE

Title Of The Regulations: 
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste

(DRGHW)

Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
In order for the State of Delaware to maintain 

authorization from the U. S. Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) to administer its own hazardous waste 
management program, the State must maintain a program 
that is equivalent to and no less stringent than the Federal 
program.  To accomplish this, the State regularly amends the 
DRGHW by adopting amendments previously promulgated 
by EPA.  In addition, the State will be proposing to make 
miscellaneous changes to the DRGHW that correct existing 
errors in the hazardous waste regulations, add clarification or 
enhance the current hazardous waste regulations.

Notice Of Public Comment:
The public hearing on the proposed amendments to 

DRGHW will be held on Wednesday June 23, 2004 starting 
at 6:00 p.m. in the Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89 
Kings Highway, Dover, DE.  

Prepared By:
Donald K. Short, Environmental Scientist, Solid and 

Hazardous Waste Management - (302) 739-3689

DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE

REGISTER NOTICE
SAN # 2004-03

Title Of The Regulations:
Delaware wildlife and non-tidal fishing regulations

Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
To provide additional shotgun hunting days for deer in 

October and add 1 day to the  October muzzleloader deer 
season.  To increase the general bag limit for deer from 2 to 4 
antlerless deer. To allow squirrel hunting during deer gun 
hunting days in October. To require that deer checked using 
the automated system be tagged with the hunters name, date    

of birth, date of kill and the deer registration number.  

Notice Of Public Comment:
A public hearing will be held on June 30, 2004 in the 

DNREC Richardson and Robbins Building auditorium, 89 
Kings Highway, Dover, DE starting at 7:00 p.m. Written 
comments for the record will be accepted for 30 days 
following publication of the amendments in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations. Written comments should be sent to 
The Delaware Division of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings 
Highway, Dover, DE 19901 Attention: Kenneth Reynolds 

Prepared By:
Kenneth M. Reynolds
(302) 653-2883 May 6, 2004

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN 
COMMISSION

The Delaware River Basin Commission will meet on 
Wednesday, June 2, 2004 at 10:00 a.m. in West Trenton, 
New Jersey.  For more information contact Pamela M. Bush, 
Esq., Commission Secretary and Assistant General Counsel,, 
at 609-883-9500 extension 203.
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Visit The Delaware General 
Assembly On The Web! 

  The General Assembly Website features:
• Current legislative information
• Information on both the Senate and House of Representatives
• Access to the Delaware Code
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http://www.legis.state.de.us
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• Comprehensive full text search capabilities.
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