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The Delaware Register of Regulations is an 
official State publication established by authority 
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the 
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any 
regulations that are proposed to be adopted, 
amended or repealed and any emergency 
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of 
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the 

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is 
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An 
example would be:

8 DE Reg. 757-772 (12/01/04)

Refers to Volume 8, pages 757-772 of the 
Delaware Register issued on December 1, 2004.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) 
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is 
$135.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of 
$12.00 per issue, including postage. For more 
information contact the Division of Research at 
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties 
may participate in the process by which 
administrative regulations are adopted, amended 
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which 
the validity and applicability of regulations is 
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an 
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or 
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text 
of such proposals, together with copies of the 
existing regulation being adopted, amended or 
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the 
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this 
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the 
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the 
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the 
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of 
the agency to act, and reference to any other 
regulations that may be impacted or affected by 
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of 
the place to which and the final date by which such 
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, 
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not 
be scheduled less than 20 days following 
publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be 
held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place 
and a summary of the nature of the proposal shall 
also be published in at least 2 Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation. The notice shall 
also be mailed to all persons who have made 
timely written requests of the agency for advance 
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be 
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the 
proposal is published in the Register of 
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and 
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written 
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materials, upon all the testimonial and written 
evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by 
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether 
a regulation should be adopted, amended or 
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order 
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the 
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief 
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of 
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A 
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or 
to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and 
information received;  (4)  The exact text and 
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6) 
Any other findings or conclusions required by the 
law under which the agency has authority to act; 
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the 
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, 
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less 
than 10 days from the date the order adopting, 
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal 
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the 
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an 
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the 
making or consideration of a proposed adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an 
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of 
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a 
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, 
no judicial review of a regulation is available 
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court 
within 30 days of the day the agency order with 
respect to the regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 

REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
DATE           DATE        TIME

FEBRUARY 1 JANUARY 15 4:30 P.M.

MARCH 1 FEBRUARY 15 4:30 P.M.

APRIL 1 MARCH 15 4:30 P.M.

MAY 1 APRIL 15 4:30 P.M.

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

Deborah A. Porter, Interim Supervisor; 
Sandra F. Clark, Administrative Specialist II; 
Kathleen Morris, Unit Operations Support 
Specialist; Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar of 
Regulations; Steve Engebretsen, Assistant 
Registrar; Victoria Schultes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Rochelle Yerkes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Rhonda McGuigan, Administrative 
Specialist I; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative 
Librarian; Lisa Schieffert, Research Analyst; 
Judi Abbott, Administrative Specialist I; Alice 
W. Stark, Legislative Attorney; Ted Segletes, 
Paralegal;  Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop 
Supervisor;  Marvin L. Stayton, Printer;  Don 
Sellers, Printer.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 7, SATURDAY, JANUARY 1, 2005



TABLE OF CONTENTS938

Cumulative Tables................................................. .......   940

PROPOSED

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

100 Board of Accountancy.................................... .......   944
200 Board of Landscape Architecture................... .......   947
300 Board of Architecture..................................... .......   953
500 Board of Podiatry........................................... .......   955
2900 Real Estate Commission............................... .......   961
3000 Board of Professional Counselors of

Mental Health and Chemical Dependency
Professionals ................................................. .......   963

3900 Clinical Social Work Examiners.................. .......   966

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Reg. Docket No. 15, Concerning the Terms and
Conditions Under Which Water Utilities
Require Advances and/or Contributions
In-Aid-Of Construction from Customers or
Developers, and the Proper Ratemakeing
Treatment for such Contributions and
Advances........................................................ .......   969

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL 
SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

4108 Autism Surveillance and Registration Program ..   972

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Private Duty Nursing Program Provider Specific
Policy; ........................................................... .......   975

Child Care Subsidy Program................................. .......   978
DSSM; 20300.2 and 20360, Long Term Care

Eligibility Process.......................................... .......   980
20330.7 U.S. Savings Bonds.......................... .......   981

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND 
ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Reg. 45, Excessive Idling of Heavy Duty Vehicles .....   982

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

7203 Control of Water Pollution, Regulations
Governing, Sect. 9.0, Subsection 9.4,The
Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation....... ......    984

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND 
SECURITY

Bounty Hunter/Bail Enforcement Agents.............. ......    994

FINAL

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

700 Board of Chiropractic..................................... ......    997
1400 Board of Electrical Examiners...................... ......    998
1800 Board of Plumbing Examiners...................... ......  1000
2100 Board of Optometry...................................... ......  1002

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

610 Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems
Component...................................................... ......  1008

851 K-12 Comprehensive Health Education
Program.......................................................... ......  1012

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL 
SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

69.2 Regulations for Training and Certification for
Nursing Assistants.......................................... ......  1014

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Client Cost Sharing for Pharmaceutical Services.. ......  1017
DSSM; 3003 & 3031............................................. ......  1024

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

1501 Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum
Standards........................................................ ......  1026

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND 
ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDL) for the Little
Assawoman Bay and its Watershed................ ......  1027
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 7, SATURDAY, JANUARY 1, 2005

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/index.shtml
http://www.state.de.us/delpsc/index.html
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/index.html
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dph/index.html
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/index.html
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/dnrec2000/
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/Water/Water.htm
http://www.delawarepublicsafety.com/
http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/index.shtml
http://www.state.de.us/das/default.shtml
http://www.state.de.us/das/default.shtml
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/index.html
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/index.html
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dltcrp/index.html
http://www.state.de.us/inscom/
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/dnrec2000/
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/Water/Water.htm


TABLE OF CONTENTS 939
DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND 
SECURITY

Electronic Red Light Safety Program (ERLSP).... ....... 1029

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF HISTORICAL AND CULTURAL AFFAIRS

Historic Preservation Tax Credit........................... ....... 1031

GOVERNOR

Appointments........................................................ ....... 1036

GENERAL NOTICES

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF REVENUE

Technical Information Memorandum 2004-3
Transient Nursery Retailers........................... ....... 1037

Technical Information Memorandum 2004-4
Headquarters Management Corporation........ ....... 1037

CALENDAR OF EVENTS/HEARING 
NOTICES

Dept. of Administrative Services, Div. of Professional
Regulation, Notices of Public Hearings:
Board of Accountancy................................... ....... 1039
Board of Landscape Architecture.................. ....... 1039
Board of Accountancy................................... ....... 1039
Board of Podiatry........................................... ....... 1039
Real Estate Commission................................ ....... 1040
Board of Professional Counselors of Mental

Health and Chemical Dependency
Professionals........................................... ....... 1040

Clinical Social Work Examiners.................... ....... 1040

Public Service Commission, Reg. Docket No. 15,
Notice of Public Hearing................................ ....... 1040

State Board of Education Monthly Meeting Notice..... 1041

Dept. of Health & Social Service, Div. of Public
Health, Notice of Public Hearing................... ....... 1041

Div. of Social Services; Notices of Public Comment
Periods ........................................................... ......  1042

DNREC, Div. of Air & Waste Management,
Reg. 45, Excessive Idling of Heavy Duty Vehicles,
Notice of Public Hearing................................ ......  1043
Div. of Water Resources, Regs. Governing the
Control of Water Pollution, Sect. 9.0,
Subsection 9.4,The Concentrated Animal
Feeding Operation.......................................... ......  1043

Dept. of Safety and Homeland Security, Bounty
Hunter/Bail Enforcement Agents, Notice of
Public Comment Period.................................. ......  1044

Delaware River Basin Commission; Notices of Public
Hearings for Proposal to Amend the Administrative
Procedure and Fee Schedule for the Renewal
of Projects Under Section 3.8 and Article 10
of the Delaware River Basin Compact........... ......  1044
Proposed Amendments to the Comprehensive
Plan and Water Code Relating to the Coordinated
Operation of Lower Basin and Hydroelectric
Reservoirs During a Basinwide Drought........ ......  1045
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 7, SATURDAY, JANUARY 1, 2005

http://www.delawarepublicsafety.com/
http://www.state.de.us/sos/default.shtml
http://www.state.de.us/sos/histcult.shtml
http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.shtml
http://www.state.de.us/finance/default.shtml
http://www.state.de.us/revenue/default.shtml
http://www.state.de.us/das/default.shtml
http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/index.shtml
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm


CUMULATIVE TABLES940

The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed 
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that 
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with 
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with 
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE MANUFACTURED HOME RELOCATION TRUST FUND
201 Delaware Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund Regulations...................................... 8  DE Reg.  619 (Prop.)

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
Proposed Amendment to the Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and Comprehensive

Plan to Classify the Lower Delaware River as Special Protection Waters............................. 8  DE Reg.  513 (Prop.)
Proposed Amendment to the Water Quality Regulations, Water Code and Comprehensive

Plan to Establish Pollutant Minimization Plan Requirements for Point and Non-Point
Source Discharges of Toxic Pollutants Following Issuance of a TMDL by either the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency or a Member State, or an Assimilative Capacity
Determination by the Delaware River Basin Commission..................................................... 8  DE Reg.  515 (Prop.)

DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
State Fire Prevention Regulations.......................................................................................... .......... 8  DE Reg.      6 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.  416 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION (TITLE 24 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)

200 Board of Landscape Architects........................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.  625 (Prop.)
700 Board of Chiropractic...................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  627 (Prop.)
1400 Board of Electrical Examiners....................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  627 (Prop.)
1700 Board of Medical Practice............................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.  628 (Prop.)
1770 Board of Medical Practice Respiratory Care Advisory Council.................................... 8  DE Reg.  635 (Prop.)
1800 Board of Plumbing Examiners....................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  639 (Prop.)
1900 Board of Nursing........................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  377 (Prop.)
2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, Rule 7.0, Crimes Substantially 

Related to the Practice of Occupational Therapy.................................................... 8  DE Reg.  518  (Prop.)
2100 Board of Examiners in Optometry......................................................................... 8  DE Reg.    16 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.  536 (Final)
8  DE Reg.  640 (Prop.)

2500 Board of Pharmacy, Rule 16.0, Crimes Substantially Related to the Practice of
Pharmacy................................................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.  517 (Prop.)

3300 Board of Veterinary Medicine........................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.  645 (Prop.)
3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners.................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  218 (Prop.)
5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork.................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.  390 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.  692 (Final)
Gaming Control Board, Bingo, Charitable Gambling and Raffles......................................... 8  DE Reg.  531 (Final)

PUBLIC INTEGRITY COMMISSION
Public Integrity Commission, Rules of................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  710 (Final)

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Reg. Docket No. 54, Concerning the Jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission to

Grant and Revoke Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity to Provide 
Wastewater Services........................................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.  646 (Prop.)
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Rule 8.3.3.5, Erythropietin...................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  329 (Final)
Rule 8.8 Prohibited Substances Protests; Testing................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  698 (Final)
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Regulations............................................................................. 8  DE Reg.  336 (Final)

THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION
Rule 11.14.6 Scratches.................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  652 (Prop.)
Rule 19.3.2, Application for Review.............................................................................. 8  DE Reg.  652 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION  (TITLE 14 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)
101 Delaware Student Testing Program................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.    17 (Prop.)

  8  DE Reg.  425 (Final)
106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II).......... 8  DE Reg.    23 (Prop.)

  8  DE Reg.  431 (Final)
107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance  Appraisal System (DPAS II)...... 8  DE Reg.    23 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.  431 (Final)
108 Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)........ 8  DE Reg.    23 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.  431 (Final)
260 General Appeal Procedure for the Child and Adult Care Food Program of the

United States Department of Agriculture CACFP/USDA  .................................................... 8  DE Reg.  221 (Prop.)
8  DE Reg.  537 (Final)

501 State Content Standards.......................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.    36 (Prop.)
8  DE Reg.  445 (Final)

610 Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems Component (14 Del.C. §1604 of Chapter 16,
Comprehensive School Discipline Improvement Program August 1998............................... 8  DE Reg.  657 (Prop.)

618 (Formerly Reg. 879) School Safety Audit.............................................................................. 8  DE Reg.  344 (Final)
620 (Formerly Reg. 880) School Crisis Response Plans............................................................... 8  DE Reg.  344 (Final)
705 Training Camp and Special Duty in the National Guard and/or Reserves.............................. 8  DE Reg.  396 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.  700 (Final)
706 Credit for Experience for Full Time Service in the Armed Forces......................................... 8  DE Reg.  397 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.  701 (Final)
718 Health Examinations for School District Employees..................................................... 8  DE Reg.    37 (Prop.)

  8  DE Reg.  399 (Prop.)
8  DE Reg.  702 (Final)

742  Compensation of District Personnel Under Specific Project Proposals........................ .......    8  DE Reg.  520  (Prop.)
805 The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control Program................................................ 8  DE Reg.    38 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.  400 (Prop.)
851 K-12 Compreshensive Health Education Program................................................................. 8  DE Reg.  661 (Prop.)
852 Child Nutrition........................................................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.  224 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.  540  (Final)
885 Safe Management and Disposal of Surplus Chemicals in the Delaware Public School

System ................................................................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.  345 (Final)
925 Children with Disabilities....................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  225 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.  402 (Prop.)
1105 School Transportation................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  237 (Final)

8  DE Reg.  541 (Final)
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
323 Certification Computer Science Teacher................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.  247 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.  552  (Final)
331 (Transferred to 1566) Certification Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher........................ 8  DE Reg.  248 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.  553  (Final)
368 Certification School Psychologist................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.    41 (Prop.)
1501 Knowledge, Skills And Responsibility Based Supplements For Educators................. 8  DE Reg.    73 (Final)
1502 Educator Mentoring.............................................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.  347 (Final)
1505 Professional Growth Programs..................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.    78 (Final)
1509  Meritorious New Teacher Candidate Designation............................................................... 8  DE Reg.  446 (Final)
1528 Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive.................................................................. 8  DE Reg.    80 (Final)
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1529 Foreign Language Teacher Secondary.......................................................................... 8  DE Reg.    80 (Final)
1533 Foreign Language Teacher Elementary........................................................................ 8  DE Reg.    80 (Final)
1537 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Secondary........................................................................ 8  DE Reg.    80 (Final)
1554 Standard Certificate Reading Specialist................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.  405 (Prop.)
1558 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary Middle Level..................................................... 8  DE Reg.    80 (Final)
1566 (Formerly Reg. 331) Standard Certificate Family & Consumer Sciences Teacher.............. 8  DE Reg.  553 (Final)
1577 (Formerly Reg. 368) Standard Certificate-School Psychologist  ......................................... 8  DE Reg.  448 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Assisted Living Facilities, Regulations for..................................................................... 8  DE Reg.    46 (Prop.)
      8  DE Reg.    85 (Final)

Training & Qualifications for Nursing Assistants & Certified Nursing Assistants........ 8  DE Reg.  662 (Prop.)
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Regulations Pertaining to the Testing of Newborn Infants for Metabolic, Hematologic
and Endocrinologic Disorders................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.  100 (Final)

203 Cancer Treatment Program...................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  107 (Final)
8  DE Reg.  509 (Emer.)

463 Licensing and Registration of Operators of Public Water Supply Systems............. 8  DE Reg.    47 (Prop.)
   8  DE Reg.  453 (Final)

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM)

Client Cost Sharing for Pharmaceutical Services............................................................ 8  DE Reg.  664 (Prop.)
3003 Non-Time Limited Program-Children’s Program................................................... 8  DE Reg.  670 (Prop.)
3031 Work for your Welfare............................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.  670 (Prop.)
5311 Notification of Time and Place of Hearing............................................................. 8  DE Reg.  351 (Final)

  8  DE Reg.  376 (Errata)
9026.1, Food Stamp Program.......................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  521  (Prop.)
9068.1 Certification Period Length......................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  113 (Final)
20700.5-20700.5.8, Acquired Brain Injury Waiver Program.......................................... 8  DE Reg.  250 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.  555 (Final)
8  DE Reg.  616 (Errata)

Child Care Subsidy Program: 11002.9 Definitions and Explanation Of Terms; 
11004.4.1 Explanation of Certificates;  11006.4.2 Fee Paying Clients.................... 8  DE Reg.  407 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
301 Audited Financial Reports...................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  252 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.  557 (Final)
504 (Formerly Reg. No. 47) Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines 

Brokers and Consultants......................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  409 (Prop.)
8  DE Reg.  703 (Final)

606 (Formerly Reg. No. 31) Proof of Automobile Insurance................................................ 8  DE Reg.    55 (Prop.)
607 (Formerly Reg. No. 37) Defensive Driving Course Discount Automobiles

and Motorcycles...................................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.    59 (Prop.)
   8  DE Reg.  460 (Final)

1404 Long-Term Care Insurance................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  257 (Prop.)
8  DE Reg.  562  (Final)

1501 Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards................................................. 8  DE Reg.    62 (Prop.)
   8  DE Reg.  465 (Final)

8  DE Reg.  672 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
COUNCIL ON APPRENTICESHIP & TRAINING

Section 106.5, Standards of Apprenticeship................................................................... 8  DE Reg.    65 (Prop.)
   8  DE Reg.  468 (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Green Energy Fund Program Regulation............................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  114 (Final)
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT-AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

1352 Above Ground Storage Tank Regulations..................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  677 (Prop.)
Hazardous Waste, Regulations Governing............................................................................. 8  DE Reg.  352 (Final)
Reporting of a Discharge of a Pollutant or Air Contaminant......................................... 8  DE Reg.  126 (Final)
Solid Waste, Regulations Governing...................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  354  (Final)
Reg. 43, Not to Exceed Heavy Duty California Engine Standards........................................ 8  DE Reg.  672 (Prop.)

DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE
4.0 Seasons & 7.0 Deer........................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  355  (Final)
3308 (Formerly NT-7) Fish Stocking Practices...................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  374 (Emer.)

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES
Design, Installation and Operation of On-Site Wastewater Treatment and Disposal
Systems, Regulations Governing............................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.  283 (Prop.)
Surface Water Quality Standards.................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  154 (Final)
TMDL’s for Little Assowoman Bay Watershed...................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  688 (Prop.)
Water Pollution, Regulations Governing................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.  679 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
Board of Examiners of Private Investigators and Private Security Agencies................................ 8  DE Reg.  325 (Final)
Bounty Hunter/Bail Enforcement Agents...................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  689 (Prop.)
Division of Highway Safety

Electronic Red Light Safety Program............................................................................. .......    8  DE Reg.  524 (Prop.)
DIVISION OF HISTORICAL AND CULTURAL AFFAIRS

Historic Preservation Tax Credit, Regulations Governing ............................................ 8  DE Reg.  194 (Final)
Human Relations Commission

1502 Fair Housing Regulation................................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.  591 (Final)
OFFICE OF THE STATE BANKING COMMISSIONER

708 (Formerly Reg. No. 5.770.0009) Establishment of a Branch Office by a Bank or 
Trust Company........................................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.    68 (Prop.)

   8  DE Reg.  472 (Final)
714 Establishment of a Mobile Branch Office by a Bank or Trust Company................ 8  DE Reg.    68 (Prop.)

8  DE Reg.  473 (Final)
1113 Election by a Subsidiary Corporation of a Banking Organization of Trust Company

to be Taxed in Accordance with Chapter 19 of Title 30.......................................... 8  DE Reg.    68 (Prop.)
   8  DE Reg.  474 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Division of Historical & Cultural Affairs

Historic Preservation Tax Credit............................................................................................. 8  DE Reg.  526 (Prop.)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE
Appointments ................................................................................................................................ 8  DE Reg.  361

8  DE Reg.  479
8  DE Reg.  602
8  DE Reg.  715

Executive Order No. 56, Establishing The Infant Mortality Task Force....................................... 8  DE Reg.  199
Executive Order No .57, Declaring Friday, June 11, 2004 A Legal Holiday In 

Remembrance Of Former President Reagan.......................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  360
Executive Order No. 58, Relating to the Reestablishment of the Juvenile Justice

Advisory Group...................................................................................................................... 8  DE Reg.  477
Executive Order No. 59, Implementing the Strategies for State Policies & Spending   ............... 8  DE Reg.  714

MERIT EMPLOYEES RELATIONS BOARD
Classification Maintenance Review Appeal Procedures............................................................... 8  DE Reg.  599 (Final)
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text. 
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file 
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with 
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature 
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference 
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the 
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final 
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the 
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a 
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation.  The 
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its 
regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code
Section 105 (1), (24 Del.C. §105(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 100

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Accountancy in accordance 
with 24 Del.C. §105(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules 
and regulations as mandated by SB 229. The proposal 
identifies crimes that are substantially related to the practice 
of accountancy.

A public hearing will be held on February 16, 2005 at 
9:00 a.m. in the second floor conference room B of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Accountancy, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 
203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to submit written 
comments may forward these to the Board at the above 
address. The final date to receive written comments will be 
at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

15.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of
accountancy:

15.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following 
crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the practice 
of accountancy in the State of Delaware without regard to 
the place of conviction:

15.1.1 Aggravated menacing.  11 Del.C. §602 (b)
15.1.2 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §604
15.1.3 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C.  §605.
15.1.4 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C. §606.
15.1.5 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§612
15.1.6 Assault in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §613.
15.1.7 Assault by abuse or neglect. 11 Del.C.

§615.
15.1.8 Gang participation. 11 Del.C. §616.
15.1.9 Terroristic threatening; felony. 11 Del.C.

§621(a) and (b).
15.1.10 Unlawfully administering controlled 

substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs. 11 
Del.C. §626.

15.1.11 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 
degree. 11 Del.C. §633

15.1.12 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 
degree. 11 Del.C. §634.

15.1.13 Murder in the second degree.  11 Del.C.
§635.

15.1.14 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 7, SATURDAY, JANUARY 1, 2005

http://www.state.de.us/das/default.shtml
http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/index.shtml
http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/accountancy/index.shtml


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 945
15.1.15 Promoting suicide. 11 Del.C. §645.
15.1.16 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §768.
15.1.17 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §769.
15.1.18 Rape in the fourth degree.  11 Del.C. §770.
15.1.19 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §771.
15.1.20 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§772.
15.1.21 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §773.
15.1.22 Sexual extortion.  11 Del.C. §776.
15.1.23 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11 

Del.C. §778.
15.1.24 Dangerous crime against a child. 11 

Del.C. §779.
15.1.25 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §782.
15.1.26 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11 Del. 

C. §783.
15.1.27 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C. 

§783A.
15.1.28 Arson in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§802.
15.1.29 Arson in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §803.
15.1.30 Burglary in the third degree.  11 Del.C.

§824.
15.1.31 Burglary in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§825.
15.1.32 Burglary in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§826.
15.1.33 Possession of burglar’s tools or 

instruments facilitating theft. 11 Del.C. §828.
15.1.34 Robbery in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§831.
15.1.35 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C. 

§832.
15.1.36 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§835.
15.1.37 Carjacking in the first degree. 11 Del.C. 

§836.
15.1.38 Shoplifting; felony.  11 Del.C. §840.
15.1.39 Use of illegitimate retail sales receipt or 

Universal Product Code Label; felony.  11 Del.C. §840A.
15.1.40 Theft. 11 Del.C. §841.
15.1.41 Theft; lost or mislaid property; mistaken 

delivery. 11 Del.C. §842.
15.1.42 Theft; false pretense. 11 Del.C. §843.
15.1.43 Theft; false promise. 11 Del.C. §844.
15.1.44 Theft of services. 11 Del.C. §845.
15.1.45 Extortion. 11 Del.C. §846.
15.1.46Misapplication of property; felony. 11 

Del.C. §848.
15.1.47 Receiving stolen property. 11 Del.C. §851
15.1.48 Identity theft. 11 Del.C. §854.

15.1.49 Forgery.  11 Del.C. §861.
15.1.50 Possession of forgery devices. 11 Del.C. 

§862.
15.1.51 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C. 

§871.
15.1.52 Tampering with public records in the 

second degree  11 Del.C. §873.
15.1.53 Tampering with public records in the first 

degree.  11 Del.C. §876.
15.1.54 Offering a false instrument for filing. 11 

Del.C. §877.
15.1.55 Issuing a false certificate. 11 Del.C. §878.
15.1.56 Defrauding secured creditors. 11 Del.C.

§891.
15.1.57  Fraud in insolvency. 11 Del.C. §892.
15.1.58 Interference with levied-upon property. 11 

Del.C. §893.
15.1.59 Issuing a bad check; felony. 11 Del.C.

§900.
15.1.60 Unlawful use of credit card; felony. 11 

Del.C. §903.
15.1.61 Reencoder and scanning devices. 11 

Del.C. §903A.
15.1.62 Deceptive business practices.  11 Del.C.

§906.
15.1.63 Criminal impersonation. 11 Del.C. §907.
15.1.64 Criminal impersonation, accident related. 

11 Del.C. §907A.
15.1.65 Criminal impersonation of a police officer. 

11 Del.C. §907B.
15.1.66 Unlawfully concealing a will. 11 Del.C.

§908.
15.1.67 Securing execution of documents by 

deception. 11 Del.C. §909.
15.1.68 Debt adjusting. 11 Del.C. §910.
15.1.69 Fraudulent conveyance of public lands. 11 

Del.C. §911.
15.1.70 Fraudulent receipt of public lands. 11 

Del.C. §912.
15.1.71 Insurance fraud.  11 Del.C. §913.
15.1.72 Health care fraud.  11 Del.C. §913A.
15.1.73 Home improvement fraud. 11 Del.C.

§916.
15.1.74 New home construction fraud.  11 Del.C.

§917.
15.1.75 Unauthorized access.  11 Del.C. §932.
15.1.76 Theft of computer services. 11 Del.C. 

§933.
15.1.77 Interruption of computer services. 11 

Del.C. §934.
15.1.78 Misuse of computer system information. 

11 Del.C. §935.
15.1.79 Destruction of computer equipment. 11 

Del.C. §936.
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15.1.80 Unrequested or unauthorized electronic 
mail or use of network or software to cause same. 11 Del.C.
§937.

15.1.81 Failure to promptly cease electronic 
communication upon.request.  11 Del.C. §938.

15.1.82 Dealing in children. 11 Del.C. §1100.
15.1.83 Sexual exploitation of a child. 11 Del.C. 

§1108.
15.1.84 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography. 

11 Del.C. §1109.
15.1.85 Possession of child pornography. 11 

Del.C. §1111.
15.1.86 Sexual offenders; prohibitions from school 

zones.  11 Del.C. §1112.
15.1.87 Sexual solicitation of a child. 11 Del.C. 

§1112A.
15.1.88 Criminal non-support and aggravated 

criminal non-support. 11 Del.C. §1113.
15.1.89 Bribery; felony.  11 Del.C. §1201
15.1.90 Receiving a bribe; felony. 11 Del.C. 

§1203.
15.1.91 Giving unlawful gratuities. 11 Del.C.

§1205.
15.1.92 Receiving unlawful gratuities.  11 Del.C.

§1206.
15.1.93 Improper influence. 11 Del.C. §1207.
15.1.94 Official misconduct. 11 Del.C. §1211.
15.1.95 Profiteering.  11 Del.C. §1212.
15.1.96 Perjury in the second degree.  11 Del.C. 

§1222.
15.1.97 Perjury in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§1223.
15.1.98 Making a false written statement. 11 

Del.C. §1233.
15.1.99 Terroristic threatening of public officials 

or public servants; felony. 11 Del.C. §1240.
15.1.100 Hindering prosecution; felony. 11 

Del.C. §1244.
15.1.101 Falsely reporting an incident; felony. 

11 Del.C. §1245.
15.1.102 Promoting prison contraband; felony. 

11 Del.C. §1256.
15.1.103 Bribing a witness.  11 Del.C. §1261.
15.1.104 Bribe receiving by a witness.  11 

Del.C. §1262.
15.1.105 Tampering with a witness. 11 Del.C. 

§1263.
15.1.106 Interfering with child witness. 11 

Del.C. §1263A.
15.1.107 Bribing a juror.  11 Del.C. §1264.
15.1.108 Bribe receiving by a juror. 11 Del.C. 

§1265.
15.1.109 Tampering with a juror. 11 Del.C. 

§1266.

15.1.110 Misconduct by a juror.  11 Del.C. 
§1267.

15.1.111 Tampering with physical evidence. 11 
Del.C. § 1269.

15.1.112 Unlawful grand jury disclosure. 11 
Del.C. §1273.

15.1.113 Hate crimes; felony. 11 Del.C. §1304.
15.1.114 Stalking; felony.  11 Del.C. §1312A.
15.1.115 Violation of privacy; felony.  11 

Del.C. §1335.
15.1.116 Bombs, incendiary devices, Molotov 

cocktails and explosive devices. 11 Del.C. §1338.
15.1.117 Adulteration.  11 Del.C. §1339.
15.1.118 Possessing a destructive weapon. 11 

Del.C. §1444.
15.1.119 Unlawfully dealing with a dangerous 

weapon; felony.  11 Del.C. §1445.
15.1.120 Possession of a deadly weapon during 

commission of a felony. 11 Del.C. §1447.
15.1.121 Possession of a firearm during 

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C. §1447A.
15.1.122 Possession and purchase of deadly 

weapons by persons prohibited.  11 Del.C. §1448.
15.1.123 Engaging in a firearms transaction on 

behalf of another.   11 Del.C. §1455.
15.1.123 Organized Crime and Racketeering. 

11 Del.C. §1504.
15.1.125 Victim or Witness Intimidation  11 

Del.C. §3532 & 3533.
15.1.126 Financial exploitation of residents or 

patients; felony  16 Del.C. §1136 (b).
15.1.127 Prohibited acts A under the Uniform 

Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4751(a), (b) and (c).
15.1.128 Prohibited acts B under the Uniform 

Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4752(a) and (b).
15.1.129 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, 

illegal drugs,   methamphetamines, Lysergic Acid 
Diethylamide (L.S.D.), designer drugs, or 3,4-
methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA). 16 Del.C. 
§4753A (a)(1)-(9).

15.1.130 Prohibited acts under the Uniform 
Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4756(a)(1)-(5) and 
(b).

15.1.131 Distribution to persons under 21 years 
of age.  16 Del.C. §4761.

15.1.132 Distribution, delivery, or possession 
of controlled substance within 1,000 feet of school property. 
16 Del.C. §4767

15.1.133 Drug paraphernalia; felony. 16 Del.C. 
§4771 (b) and (c) [manufacture and sale, delivery to a 
minor].

15.1.134 Attempt to evade or defeat tax. 30 
Del.C. §571.

15.1.135 Failure to collect or pay over tax.  30 
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Del.C. §572.
15.1.136 Failure to file return, supply 

information or pay tax.  30 Del.C. §573.
15.1.137 Fraud and false statements. 30 Del.C.

§574.
15.1.138 Misdemeanors [tax related]. 30 

Del.C. §576.
15.1.139 Obtaining benefit under false 

representation; felony. 31 Del.C. §1003.
15.1.140 Reports, statements and documents; 

felony. 31 Del.C. §1004.
15.1.141 Kickback schemes and solicitations. 

31 Del.C. §1005.
15.1.142 Conversion of payment. 31 Del.C. 

§1006.
15.1.143 Violations of the Securities Act. 6 

Del. C. §7322.
15.1.144 Attempt to Intimidate. 11 Del.C.

§3534.
15.1.145 Alteration, Theft or Destruction of 

Will.  12 Del.C. §210.
15.1.146 Financial exploitation of infirm adult; 

felony.  31 Del.C. §3913.
15.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 

accountancy shall be deemed to include any crimes under 
any federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county 
ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Accountancy is 
available at:

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
accountancy/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 205 (24 Del.C. §205)
24 DE Admin Code 200

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Landscape Architecture in 
accordance with 24 Del.C. §205 has proposed changes to its 
rules and regulations.  The first proposed rule change, in 
accordance with 29 Del.C. §10113(b)(5), is to conforms 
application requirements for certificate of authorization to 
changes in the law as amended by HB 211. The second 
proposed rule change is to clarify the requirements for 

processing continuing education requirements in Rule 7.1.2. 
The third proposed rule change, as mandated by SB 229, 
identifies crimes that are substantially related to the 
provision of landscape architecture services.

A public hearing will be held on March 9, 2005 in the 
second floor conference room B of the Cannon Building, 
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where 
members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone wishing 
to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may 
obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of Landscape 
Architecture, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 
203, Dover DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit written 
comments may forward these to the Board at the above 
address. The final date to receive written comments will be 
at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

200 Board of Landscape Architecture

1.0 Filing of Applications for Written Examination
1.1 Persons seeking licensure pursuant to 24 Del.C. 

§206 shall submit an application for written examination on 
a form prescribed by the Board to the Board’s office at the 
Division of Professional Regulation (the “Division”) along 
with the application fee established by the Division. 
Applicants for written examination shall be filed in such 
office of the Board no later than twelve (12) weeks prior to 
the opening date of the examination.

1.2 Applicants seeking licensure pursuant to 24 Del.C. 
§206(a)(1) shall have graduated from a school or college of 
landscape architecture approved or accredited by the 
national Council of Landscape Architectural Registration 
Boards, the American Society of Landscape Architects 
Landscape Architectural Accreditation Board, or other 
legitimate national association of landscape architects.

1.3 For purposes of 24 Del.C. §206(a)(3), courses in 
landscape architecture shall have been taken at a school or 
college of landscape architecture approved or accredited by 
the national Council of Landscape Architectural Registration 
Boards, the American Society of Landscape Architects 
Landscape Architectural Accreditation Board, or other 
legitimate national association of landscape architects.

1.4 Each applicant must submit documentary evidence, 
as more fully described on the application form, to show the 
Board that the applicant is clearly eligible to sit for the 
examination under 24 Del.C. §206.
  1.5 The Board shall not consider an application for 
written examination until all items described in paragraphs 
1.1 and 1.2 of this Rule have been submitted to the Board’s 
office.
  1.6 The Board reserves the right to retain as a 
permanent part of the application any or all documents 
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submitted.
  1.7 The examination shall be the Council of Landscape 
Architectural Registration Board’s (“CLARB”) current 
uniform national examination.  CLARB establishes a 
passing score for each uniform national examination.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §§206, 207
5 DE Reg. 821 (10/01/01)

2.0 Filing of Applications for Reciprocity
  2.1 Persons seeking licensure pursuant to 24 Del.C. 
§208, shall submit payment of the fee established by the 
Division and an application on a form prescribed by the 
Board which shall include proof of licensure and good 
standing in each state or territory  of current licensure, and 
on what basis the license was obtained therein, including the 
date licensure was granted.  Letters of good standing must 
also be provided for each state or jurisdiction in which the 
applicant was ever previously licensed.

2.2 The Board shall not consider an application for 
licensure by reciprocity until all items described in 24 Del.C. 
§208 and paragraph 2.1 of this Rule have been submitted to 
the Board’s office.

2.3 A passing exam score for purposes of reciprocity 
shall be the passing score set by CLARB, or the passing 
score accepted by the Delaware Board, for the year in which 
the exam was taken.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §208.

3.0 Filing of Applications for Certificate of 
Authorization

Corporations or partnerships seeking a certificate of 
authorization pursuant to 24 Del. C. §212 shall submit an 
application on a form prescribed by the Board.  Such 
application shall include the (a) names and addresses of all 
officers and members of the corporation, or officers and 
partners of the partnership, and (b) the name of a corporate 
officer in the case of a corporation, or the name of a partner 
in the case of a partnership, who is licensed to practice 
landscape architecture in this State and who shall be 
responsible for services in the practice of landscape 
architecture on behalf of the corporation or partnership.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §212.
A business entity desiring a certificate of authorization 

pursuant to 24 Del.C. Section 212 shall file with the Board 
an application, on forms provided by the Board, listing 
relevant information, including the names and addresses of 
officers, partners, members, managers or principals of the 
business entity and also of the individual(s) duly licensed to 
practice landscape architecture in this State who shall be in 
responsible charge of the landscape architecture in 
compliance with 24 Del.C. Section 212(b)(1), and any other 
information required by the Board, accompanied by the 
appropriate fee. A certificate of authorization shall be 
renewed biennially in such manner as is determined by the 

Division, and upon payment of the appropriate fee and 
submission of a renewal form provided by the Division. In 
the event there should be a change in the information 
provided in the application for a certificate of authorization, 
notification of such change shall be provided to the Board in 
writing within thirty (30) days of the effective date of such 
change.

4.0 Licenses 
Only one license shall be issued to a licensed landscape 

architect, except for a duplicate issued to replace a lost or 
destroyed license.

5.0 Seal
5.1 Technical Requirements

5.1.1 For the purpose of signing and sealing 
drawings, specifications, contract documents, plans, reports 
and other documents (hereinafter collectively referred to as 
“drawings”), each landscape architect shall provide him or 
herself with an individual seal of design and size as approved 
by the Board to be used as hereinafter directed on documents 
prepared by him or her or under his/her direct supervision for 
use in the State of Delaware.

5.1.2 The application of the seal impression or 
rubber stamp to the first sheet of the bound sheets of the 
drawings (with index of drawings included), title page of 
specifications, and other drawings and contract documents 
shall constitute the licensed landscape architect’s stamp.

5.1.3 The seal to be used by a licensee of the 
Board shall be of the embossing type or a rubber stamp, and 
have two (2) concentric circles.  The outside circle measures 
across the center 1 13/16 inches. The inner circle shall 
contain only the words “NO.” and “State of Delaware.”  At 
the bottom the words “Registered Landscape Architect” 
reading counterclockwise, and at the top the name of the 
licensee.

5.1.4 An impression of the seal is to be 
submitted to the Board to be included in the licensee’s 
records.

5.2 Use of the Seal
5.2.1 A landscape architect shall not sign or seal 

drawings unless they were prepared by him/her or under his/
her direct supervision.

5.2.2 “Supervision” for purposes of signing and/
or sealing drawings shall mean direct supervision, involving 
responsible control over and detailed professional 
knowledge of the contents of the drawings throughout their 
preparation. Reviewing, or reviewing and correcting, 
drawings after they have been prepared by others does not 
constitute the exercise of responsible control because the 
reviewer has neither control over, nor detailed professional 
knowledge of, the content of such drawings throughout their 
preparation. 

  5.2.3 The seal appearing on any drawings shall 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 7, SATURDAY, JANUARY 1, 2005



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 949
be prima facie evidence that said drawings were prepared by 
or under the direct supervision of the individual who signed 
and/or sealed the drawings.  Signing or sealing of drawings 
prepared by another shall be a representation by the 
registered landscape architect that he/she has detailed 
professional knowledge of and  vouches for the contents of 
the drawings.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §205(a)(1); 212(a).

6.0 Renewal of Licenses 
6.1 Each application for license renewal or request for 

inactive status shall be submitted on or before the expiration 
date of the current licensing period.  However, a practitioner 
may still renew his or her license within 60 days following 
the license renewal date upon payment of a late fee set by the 
Division. Upon the expiration of 60 days following the 
license renewal date an unrenewed license shall be deemed 
lapsed and the practitioner must reapply pursuant to the 
terms of 24 Del.C. §210(b).

6.2 It shall be the responsibility of all licensees to keep 
the Board and the Division informed of any change in name, 
home or business address.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §210.

7.0 Continuing Education as a Condition of Biennial 
Renewal

7.1 General Statement: Each licensee shall be required 
to meet the continuing education requirements of these 
guidelines for professional development as a condition for 
license renewal. Continuing education obtained by a licensee 
should maintain, improve or expand skills and knowledge 
obtained prior to initial licensure, or develop new and 
relevant skills and knowledge.

  7.1.1 In order for a licensee to qualify for 
license renewal as a landscape architect in Delaware, the 
licensee must have completed 20 hours of continuing 
education acceptable to the Board within the previous two 
years, or be granted an extension by the Board for reasons of 
hardship.  Such continuing education shall be obtained by 
active participation in courses, seminars, sessions, programs 
or self-directed activities approved by the Board.

7.1.1.1 For purposes of seminar or classroom 
continuing education, one hour of acceptable continuing 
education shall mean 60 minutes of instruction.

7.1.2 To be acceptable for credit toward this 
requirement, all courses, seminars, sessions, programs or 
self-directed activities shall be submitted to the Board.  The 
Board shall recommend any course, seminar, session or 
program for continuing education credit that meets the 
criteria in sub-paragraph 7.1.2.1 below. All courses, 
seminars, sessions and programs are acceptable for 
continuing education credit if sponsored by organizations 
listed in Rule 7.1.3. All other continuing education credits 
will be reviewed at the time of  renewal. All self-directed 

activities for continuing education credit allowed by Rule 
7.6 must be pre-approved and submitted by the licensee 60 
days prior to the activity on the form provided in Rules 7.3 
and 7.4.

7.1.2.1 Each course, seminar, session, 
program, or self-directed activity to be recommended for 
approval by the Board shall have a direct relationship to the 
practice of landscape architecture as defined in the Delaware 
Code and contain elements which will assist licensees to 
provide for the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of 
Delaware served by Delaware licensed landscape architects.

5 DE Reg. 446 (8/1/01)
7.1.3 Continuing Education courses offered or 

sponsored by the following organizations will be 
automatically deemed to qualify for continuing education 
credit:

7.1.3.1 American Society of Landscape 
Architects (National and local/chapter levels)

7.1.3.2 Council of Landscape Architectural 
Registration

7.1.4 Erroneous or false information attested to 
by the licensee shall constitute grounds for denial of license 
renewal.

7.2 Effective Date: The Board shall commence 
requiring continuing education as a condition of renewal of a 
license for the license year commencing on February 1, 
1995. The licensee shall be required to successfully 
complete twenty (20) hours of continuing education within 
the previous two calendar years (example: February 1, 1993 
through January 31, 1995).

7.3 For licensing periods beginning February 1, 2001 
and thereafter, documentation as required by Rule 7.4 of all 
continuing education hours must be submitted to the Board 
on or before November 1 of the year preceding the biennial 
renewal date of the licenses.  A license shall not be renewed 
until the Board has approved twenty (20) hours of continuing 
education classes as provided in Rule 7.1 or has granted an 
extension of time for reasons of hardship.

7.4 Reporting: The licensee shall submit a completed 
Verification of Continuing Education Form provided by the 
Division of Professional Regulation to the Board.

7.4.1 Each licensee must retain copies of all 
supporting materials documenting proof of continuing 
education compliance for submission to the Board upon 
request.  Supporting materials include a syllabus, agenda, 
itinerary or brochure published by the sponsor of the activity 
and a document showing proof of attendance (i.e., 
certificate, a signed letter from the sponsor attesting to 
attendance, report of passing test score).  The Board reserves 
its right to request additional information and/or 
documentation to verify continuing education compliance.

7.5 Hardship: The Board will consider any reasonable 
special request from individual licensees for continuing 
education credits and procedures. The Board may, in 
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individual cases involving physical disability, illness, or 
extenuating circumstances, grant an extension, not to exceed 
two (2) years, of time within which continuing education 
requirements must be completed. In cases of physical 
disability or illness, the Board reserves the right to require a 
letter from a physician attesting to the licensee’s physical 
condition.  No extension of time shall be granted unless the 
licensee submits a written request to the Board prior to the 
expiration of the license.

7.6 Self-directed Activities: For renewal periods 
beginning February 1, 2001, the following rules regarding 
self-directed activity shall apply. The Board will have the 
authority to allow self-directed activities to fulfill the 
continuing education requirements of the licensees. 
However, these activities must result in a book draft, 
published article, delivered paper, workshop, symposium, or 
public address within the two (2) year reporting period. 
Self-directed activities must advance the practitioner’s 
knowledge of the field and be beyond the practitioner’s 
normal work duties. Instructors will not be granted CE credit 
for studies customarily associated with their usual university 
or college instruction teaching loads.

7.6.1 The Board may, upon request, review and 
approve credit for self-directed activities in a given biennial 
licensing period.  A licensee must obtain pre-approval of the 
Board prior to undertaking the self-directed activity in order 
to assure continuing education credit for the activity.  Any 
self-directed activity submitted for approval must include a 
written proposal outlining the scope of the activity, the 
number of continuing education hours requested, the 
anticipated completion date(s), the role of the licensee in the 
case of multiple participants and whether any part of the self-
directed activity has ever been previously approved or 
submitted for credit by the same licensee. Determination of 
credit will be made by the Board upon review of the 
completed final project.

7.7 Exemptions: New licensees by way of uniform 
national examination or by way of reciprocity shall be 
exempt from the continuing education requirements set forth 
herein for their first renewal period.

Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §205(12).
5 DE Reg. 446 (8/1/01)

8.0 Inactive Status
8.1 A licensee may, upon written request to the Board, 

place his/her license on inactive status.
8.2 A licensee who has been granted inactive status and 

who wishes to re-enter the practice of landscape architecture, 
shall submit a written request to the Board along with a pro-
rated renewal fee and proof of completion of twenty (20) 
hours of continuing education during the period of inactive 
status.

8.3 Licensees on inactive status shall renew their 
inactive status by notification to the Division of Professional 

Regulation at the time of biennial license renewal.
Statutory Authority: 24 Del.C. §210(c).

9.0 Disciplinary Proceedings and Hearings
9.1 Disciplinary proceedings against any  licensee may 

be initiated by an aggrieved person by submitting a 
complaint in writing to the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation as specified in 29 Del.C. 
§8807(h)(1)-(3).

9.1.1 A copy of the written complaint shall be 
forwarded to the administrative assistant for the Board.  At 
the next regularly scheduled Board meeting, a contact person 
for the Board shall be appointed and a copy of the written 
complaint given to that person.

9.1.2 The contact person appointed by the Board 
shall maintain strict confidentiality with respect to the 
contents of the complaint and shall not discuss the matter 
with other Board members or with the public.  The contact 
person shall maintain contact with the investigator or deputy 
attorney general assigned to the case regarding the progress 
of the investigation.

9.1.3 In the instance when the case is being 
closed by the Division, the contact person shall report the 
facts and conclusions to the Board without revealing the 
identities of the parties involved.  No vote of the Board is 
necessary to close the case.

9.1.4 If a hearing before the Board has been 
requested by the Deputy Attorney General, a copy of these 
Rules and Regulations shall be provided to the respondent 
upon request. The notice of hearing shall fully comply with 
29 Del.C. Sec. 10122 and 10131 pertaining to the 
requirements of the notice of proceedings. All notices shall 
be sent to the respondent’s address as reflected in the Board’s 
records.

9.1.5 At any disciplinary hearing, the 
respondent shall have the right to appear in person or be 
represented by counsel, or both.  The Respondent shall have 
the right to produce evidence and witnesses on his or her 
behalf and to cross examine witnesses. The Respondent shall 
be entitled to the issuance of subpoenas to compel the 
attendance of witnesses and the production of documents on 
his or her behalf.

9.1.6 No less than 10 days prior to the date set 
for a disciplinary hearing, the Department of Justice and the 
respondent shall submit to the Board and to each other, a list 
of the witnesses they intend to call at the hearing.  Witnesses 
not listed shall be permitted to testify only upon a showing of 
reasonable cause for such omission.

9.1.7 If the respondent fails to appear at a 
disciplinary hearing after receiving the notice required by 29
Del.C. §10122 and 10131, the Board may proceed to hear 
and determine the validity of the charges against the 
respondent.

Statutory authority: 24 Del.C. §§213 and 215; 29 Del.C. 
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§§10111, 10122 and 10131
9.2 Hearing procedures

9.2.1 The Board may administer oaths, take 
testimony, hear proofs and receive exhibits into evidence at 
any hearing. All testimony at any hearing shall be under 
oath.

9.2.2 Strict rules of evidence shall not apply. 
All evidence having probative value commonly accepted by 
reasonably prudent people in the conduct of their affairs 
shall be admitted.

9.2.3 An attorney representing a party in a 
hearing or matter before the Board shall notify the  Board of 
the representation in writing as soon as practicable.

9.2.4 Requests for postponements of any matter 
scheduled before the Board shall be submitted to the Board’s 
office in writing no less than three (3) days before the date 
scheduled for the hearing. Absent a showing of exceptional 
hardship, there shall be a maximum of one postponement 
allowed to each party to any hearing.

9.2.5 A complaint shall be deemed to “have 
merit” and the Board may impose disciplinary sanctions 
against the licensee if a majority of the members of the 
Board find, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the 
respondent has committed the act(s) of which he or she is 
accused and that those act(s) constitute grounds for 
discipline pursuant to 24 Del.C. §213.

Statutory authority: 24 Del.C. §§205(7)(8); 213, 214, 
215.

10.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically 
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

10.1 If the report is received by the chairperson of 
the regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately 
notify the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her 
designate of the report. If the Director of Professional 
Regulation receives the report, he/she shall immediately 
notify the chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that 
chairperson's designate or designates.

10.2 The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that 
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of 
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and 
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the 
individual written information describing the Voluntary 
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter 
the Voluntary Treatment Option.

10.3 In order for the individual to participate in the 
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to 
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a 
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial 
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days 
following notification to the professional by the participating 
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).

10.4 A regulated professional with chemical 
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or 

alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and 
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice 
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's 
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in 
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary, 
only if such action will not endanger the public health, 
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into 
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or 
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating 
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan 
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and 
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment 
programs may be operated by professional Committees and 
Associations or other similar professional groups with the 
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the 
chairperson of the participating Board.

10.5 Failure to cooperate fully with the participating 
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or 
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional 
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary 
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for 
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated 
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment 
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that 
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be 
activated an immediate investigation and institution of 
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in 
section 10.8.

10.6 The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a 
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which 
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:

10.6.1 Entry of the regulated professional into a 
treatment program approved by the participating Board. 
Board approval shall not require that the regulated 
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and 
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies 
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated 
professional's progress.

10.6.2 Consent to the treating professional of the 
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the 
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating 
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to 
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or 
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the 
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's 
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such 
person making such report will not be liable when such 
reports are made in good faith and without malice.

10.6.3 Consent of the regulated professional, in 
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any 
treatment information from anyone within the approved 
treatment program.
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 10.6.4 Agreement by the regulated professional 
to be personally responsible for all costs and charges 
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option and 
treatment program(s). In addition, the Division of 
Professional Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the 
regulated professional to cover administrative costs 
associated with the Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount 
of the fee imposed under this subparagraph shall 
approximate and reasonably reflect the costs necessary to 
defray the expenses of the participating Board, as well as the 
proportional expenses incurred by the Division of 
Professional Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board 
in addition to the administrative costs associated with the 
Voluntary Treatment Option.

10.6.5 Agreement by the regulated professional 
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment 
program shall be reported to the participating Board's 
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the 
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/ 
her designate by the treating professional who shall be 
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good 
faith and without malice.

10.6.6 Compliance by the regulated professional 
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice 
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment 
Option.

10.7 The regulated professional's records of 
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not 
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public 
records open to public inspection. However, the participating 
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary 
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated 
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an 
issue.

10.8 The participating Board's chairperson, his/her 
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of 
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in 
consultation with the treating professional at any time during 
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a 
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action 
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or 
safety.

10.9 If practice is restricted, the regulated 
professional may apply for unrestricted licensure upon 
completion of the program.

10.10 Failure to enter into such agreement or to 
comply with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the 
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional 
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and 
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be 
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary 
proceedings as appropriate.

10.11 Any person who reports pursuant to this 
section in good faith and without malice shall be immune 

from any civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from 
such reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected 
if the matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter.

10.12 Any regulated professional who complies with 
all of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment 
Option shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless 
otherwise specified in a participating Board's rules and 
regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with 
the regulated professional shall include the potential for 
disclosure and specify those to whom such information may 
be disclosed.

11.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
architecture

11.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following 
crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the practice 
of landscape architecture in the State of Delaware without 
regard to the place of conviction:

11.1.1 Conspiracy in the first degree. 11 Del.C.
§513.

11.1.2 Aggravated Menacing. 11 Del.C. §602(b).
11.1.3 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §604.
11.1.4 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second 

degree. 11 Del. C. §605.
11.1.5 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C. §606.
11.1.6 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§612.
11.1.7 Assault in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §613
11.1.8 Terroristic threatening; felony. 11 Del.C. 

§621
11.1.9 Vehicular homicide in the first degree. 11 

Del.C. §630A.
11.1.10 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 

degree.  11 Del.C. §633.
11.1.11 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C. §634.
11.1.12 Murder in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§635.
11.1.13 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636.
11.1.14 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §768.  
11.1.15 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §769.
11.1.16 Rape in the fourth degree. 11 Del.C. §770.
11.1.17 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §771.
11.1.18 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§772.
11.1.19 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §773.
11.1.20 Sexual extortion.  11 Del.C. §776.
11.1.21 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11 
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Del.C. §778.
11.1.22 Female genital mutilation. 11 Del.C. §780.
11.1.23Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §782.
11.1.24 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11 

Del.C. §783.
11.1.25 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§783A.
11.1.26 Arson in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§802.
11.1.27 Arson in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §803.
11.1.28  Burglary in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§825.
11.1.29 Burglary in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§826
11.1.30 Robbery in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§831.
11.1.31 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§832.
11.1.32 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§835.
11.1.33 Carjacking in the first degree. 11 Del.C. 

§836.
11.1.34 Theft 11 Del.C. §841
11.1.35 Theft; false pretenses 11 Del C. §843
11.1.36  Extortion.  11 Del. C. §846.
11.1.37  Identity theft.  11 Del.C. §854.
11.1.38  Forgery.  11 Del.C. §861.
11.1.39 Tampering with public records in the first 

degree.  11 Del.C. §876.
11.1.40 Issuing a false certificate 11 Del.C. §878.
11.1.41 Bribery 11 Del.C. §881.
11.1.42 Receiving a bribe 11 Del.C. §882.
11.1.43 Criminal impersonation of a police officer. 

11 Del.C. §907B.
11.1.44  Insurance fraud 11 Del.C. §913.
11.1.45 Dealing in children.  11 Del.C. §1100.
11.1.46 Endangering the welfare of a child. 11 

Del.C. §1102.
11.1.47 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C. 

§1108.
11.1.48 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography. 

11 Del.C. §1109.
11.1.49 Possession of child pornography. 11 

Del.C. § 1111.
11.1.50 Felony Bribery. 11 Del.C. §1201.
11.1.51 Felony Receiving a Bribe. 11 Del.C. 

§1203.
11.1.52 Perjury in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§1222.
11.1.53 Perjury in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§1223.
11.1.54 Terroristic threatening of public officials 

or public servants. 11 Del. C. §1240.

11.1.55 Unlawfully dealing with a dangerous 
weapon.  11 Del.C.  §1445.

11.1.56 Possession of a deadly weapon during 
commission of a felony. 11 Del.C. §1447.

11.1.57 Possession of a firearm during 
commission of a felony.  11 Del.C. §1447A.

11.1.58 Possession and purchase of deadly 
weapons by persons prohibited. 11 Del.C. §1448.

11.1.59 Removing a firearm from the possession 
of a law enforcement officer.  11 Del.C. §1458.

11.1.60 Criminal Penalties, Organized Crime and 
Racketeering.  11 Del.C. §1504.

11.1.61 Victim or Witness intimidation. 11 Del.C. 
§§3532 & 3533.

11.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
landscape architecture shall be deemed to include any crimes 
under any federal law,  state law, or  valid town, city or 
county ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
identified in this rule.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF ARCHITECTURE

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 205 (24 Del.C. §306)

24 DE Admin Code 300

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Architecture in accordance with 
24 Del.C. §306 has proposed changes to its rules and 
regulations as mandated by SB 229.  The proposal identifies 
crimes that are substantially related to the provision of 
architectural services.

A public hearing will be held on February 2, 2005 at 
10:15 a.m. in the second floor conference room B of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Architecture, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 
203, Dover, DE 19904.  Persons wishing to submit written 
comments may forward these to the Board at the above 
address.  The final date to receive written comments will be 
at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

10.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
architecture

10.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
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of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following 
crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the practice 
of architecture in the State of Delaware without regard to the 
place of conviction:

10.1.1 Criminal solicitation in the second degree. 
11 Del.C. §502

10.1.2 Criminal solicitation in the first degree.  11 
Del.C. §503. 

10.1.3 Conspiracy in the first degree.  11 Del.C.
§513.

10.1.4 Aggravated Menacing.  11 Del.C. §602(b).
10.1.5 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 

11  Del.C. §604.
10.1.6 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second 

degree. 11  Del.C. §605.
10.1.7 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first 

degree.  11  Del.C. §606.
10.1.8 Assault in the third degree.  11  Del.C.

§611
10.1.9 Assault in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§612.
10.1.10 Assault in the first degree. 11 Del.C.§613.
10.1.11 Terroristic threatening; felony.  11 Del.C.

§621.
10.1.12 Vehicular assault in the first degree 11 

Del.C.  §629.
10.1.13 Vehicular homicide in the first degree 

11Del.C. §630A.
10.1.14 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 

degree.  11Del.C.  §633.
10.1.15 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 

degree.  11 Del.C. §634.
10.1.16 Murder in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§635
10.1.17 Murder in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§636.
10.1.18 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 

degree.  11 Del.C. §768.
10.1.19 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §769.
10.1.20 Rape in the fourth degree.  11 Del.C. §770.
10.1.21 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C.  §771.
10.1.22 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§772.
10.1.23 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §773
10.1.24 Sexual extortion.  11 Del.C. §776.
10.1.25 Continuous sexual abuse of a child.  11 

Del.C. §778.
10.1.26 Female genital mutilation. 11 Del.C. §780.
10.1.27 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §782.
10.1.28 Kidnapping in the second degree.  11 

Del.C.  §783.

10.1.29 Kidnapping in the first degree.  11 Del.C.
§783A.

10.1.30 Arson in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §801
10.1.31 Arson in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§802.
10.1.32 Arson in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §803.
10.1.33 Burglary in the third degree 11 Del.C.

§824
10.1.34 Burglary in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§825.
10.1.35 Burglary in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§826
10.1.36 Robbery in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§831.
10.1.37 Robbery in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§832.
10.1.38 Carjacking in the second degree.  11 

Del.C.  §835.
10.1.39 Carjacking in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§836.
10.1.40 Theft 11 Del.C.  §841.
10.1.41 Theft; false pretenses 11 Del.C.  §843
10.1.42 Extortion.  11 Del.C. §846.
10.1.43 Identity theft.  11 Del.C.  §854.
10.1.44 Forgery.  11 Del.C.  §861.
10.1.45 Tampering with public records in the first 

degree.  11 Del.C.  §876.
10.1.46 Issuing a false certificate 11 Del.C. §878
10.1.47 Bribery 11 Del.C.  §881
10.1.48 Receiving a bribe 11 Del.C.  §882
10.1.49 Criminal impersonation of a police officer. 

11 Del.C.  §907B.
10.1.50 Insurance fraud 11 Del.C.  §913
10.1.51 Dealing in children.  11 Del.C.  §1100 
10.1.52 Endangering the welfare of a child. 11 

Del.C.  §1102.
10.1.53 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C.

§1108.
10.1.54 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography. 

11 Del.C.  §1109.
10.1.55 Possession of child pornography.  11 

Del.C. §1111.
10.1.56 Felony Bribery 11 Del.C.  §1201
10.1.57 Felony Receiving a Bribe 11 Del.C.

§1203
10.1.58 Perjury in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§1222.
10.1.59 Perjury in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§1223.
10.1.60 Terroristic threatening of public officials 

or public servants.  11 Del.C.  §1240.
10.1.61 Unlawfully dealing with a dangerous 

weapon.  11 Del.C.   §1445.
10.1.62 Possession of a deadly weapon during 
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commission of a felony. 11 Del.C.  §1447.
10.1.63 Possession of a firearm during 

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C.  §1447A
10.1.64 Possession and purchase of deadly 

weapons by persons prohibited.   11 Del.C.  §1448.
10.1.65 Giving a firearm to person prohibited.  11 

Del.C.   §1454.
10.1.66 Engaging in a firearms transaction on 

behalf of another.  11 Del.C.  §1455.
10.1.67 Possession of a weapon in a Safe School 

and Recreation Zone; class D,    E, or F Felony.  11 Del.C.
§1457.

10.1.68 Removing a firearm from the possession 
of a law enforcement officer.  11 Del.C. §1458.

10.1.69 Criminal Penalties, Organized Crime and 
Racketeering.  11 Del.C.  §1504.

10.1.70 Victim or Witness intimidation.  11 Del.C.
§§ 3532 & 3533.

10.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
architecture shall be deemed to include any crimes under any 
federal law,  state law, or  valid town, city or county 
ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended, they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Architecture is 
available at:

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
architects/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PODIATRY

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 506 (24 Del.C. §506(a))

24 DE Admin Code 506

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Podiatry, in accordance with 24
Del.C. §506(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules and 
regulations as mandated by Senate Bill No.229 (74 Del. 
Laws c. 262) The proposal changes list the crimes that are 
substantially related to the provision of Podiatry 

A public hearing will be held at 5:00 p.m. February 17, 
2005 in the second floor conference room A of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone 
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Board, 861 Silver 
Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904. 

Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward 
these to the Board of Podiatry at the above address. The final 
date to receive written comments will be at the public 
hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

Proposed Rules And Regulations

AUTHORITY:
Pursuant to 74 Del. Laws. c.262, (Senate Bill No. 229 of 

the 142nd General Assembly, 2004, as amended), the Board 
was directed to promulgate regulations specifically 
identifying those crimes which are substantially related to 
the practice of podiatry.

PURPOSE:
The Board of Podiatry believes that the State of 

Delaware has a compelling public policy interest in ensuring 
that its licensed professionals not only have specified levels 
of educational and professional competence but also possess 
sufficient character and judgment necessary to practice 
safely in their chosen fields and to do so in a manner which 
will not undermine the community’s confidence in the 
expertise and professionalism of the members of the 
profession. Licensed professionals, particularly those in 
health care related fields, often come into contact with 
clients and patients and other members of the public at times 
when they may be sick, infirmed, or otherwise extremely 
vulnerable to undue influence or other forms of misuse, 
fraud and abuse.  It is therefore critical that all reasonable 
steps are taken to determine, to the extent possible, that the 
regulation of such professionals takes into consideration not 
only the individual’s technical competence but his or her 
demonstrated propensity to behave in a way that does not 
expose the client population to risk or diminish legitimate 
expectations of honest and honorable behavior by such 
licensed health care professionals. A podiatric physician is 
expected to be professional, ethical and competent while 
exhibiting good judgment and compassion.

9.0 DEFINITIONS - The following words and terms, when 
used in this regulation, should have the following meaning 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“conviction”, unless otherwise defined by specific 
statute, means a verdict of guilty by whether entered by a 
judge or jury, or a plea of guilty or a plea of nolo contendere 
or other similar plea such as a “Robinson” or “Alford” plea 
unless the individual has been discharged under §4218 of 
Title 11 of the Delaware Code (probation before judgment) 
or under §1024 of Title 10 (domestic violence diversion 
program) or by §4764 of Title 16 ( first offenders controlled 
substances diversion program).
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“Substantially similar crimes in another State of 
Jurisdiction”, shall include all crimes prohibited by or 
punishable under Title 18 of the United Stated Code 
Annotated (U.S.C.A.) such as, but not limited to, Federal 
Health Care offenses.

9.1 Any crime which involves the use of physical force 
or violence toward or upon the person of another and shall 
include by way of example and not of limitation the 
following crimes set forth in Title 11 of the Delaware Code 
Annotated: 

Assaults and Related Offenses
9.1.1 §601.  Offensive touching;
9.1.2 §602.  Menacing;
9.1.3 §603.  Reckless endangering in the second 

degree;
9.1.4 §604.  Reckless endangering in the first 

degree;
9.1.5 §605.  Abuse of a pregnant female in the 

second degree;
9.1.6 §606.  Abuse of a pregnant female in the 

first degree;
9.1.7 §611.  Assault in the third degree;
9.1.8 §612.  Assault in the second degree;
9.1.9 §613.  Assault in the first degree; 
9.1.10 §614.  Assault on a sports official.
9.1.11 §615.  Assault by abuse or neglect;
9.1.12 §621.  Terroristic threatening;
9.1.13 §625.  Unlawfully administering drugs;
9.1.14 §626. Unlawfully administering controlled 

substance or counterfeit   substance or narcotic drugs; 
9.1.15 §627.  Prohibited acts as to substances 

releasing vapors or fumes;
9.1.16 §628.  Vehicular assault in the second 

degree; 
9.1.17 §629.  Vehicular assault in the first degree; 
9.1.18 §630.  Vehicular homicide in the second 

degree; 
9.1.19 §630A.  Vehicular homicide in the first 

degree;
9.1.20 §631.  Criminally negligent homicide; 
9.1.21 §632.  Manslaughter; 
9.1.22 §633.  Murder by abuse or neglect in the 

second degree; 
9.1.23 §634.  Murder by abuse or neglect in the 

first degree;
9.1.24 §635.  Murder in the second degree; 
9.1.25 §636.  Murder in the first degree; 
9.1.26 §645.  Promoting suicide. 
Abortion and Related Offenses
9.1.27 §651.  Abortion;
9.1.28 §653.  Issuing abortional articles.
Sexual Offenses
9.1.29 §763.  Sexual harassment;
9.1.30 §764.  Indecent exposure in the second 

degree;
9.1.31 §765.  Indecent exposure in the first 

degree;
9.1.32 §766.  Incest;
9.1.33 §767.  Unlawful sexual contact in the third 

degree;
9.1.34 §768. Unlawful sexual contact in the 

second degree; 
9.1.35 §769.  Unlawful sexual contact in the first 

degree; 
9.1.36 §770.  Rape in the fourth degree;
9.1.37 §771.  Rape in the third degree;
9.1.38 §772.  Rape in the second degree;
9.1.39 §773.  Rape in the first degree;
9.1.40 §776.  Sexual extortion;
9.1.41 §777.  Bestiality;
9.1.42 §778.  Continuous sexual abuse of a child; 
9.1.43 §780.  Female genital mutilation.
Kidnapping and Related Offenses
9.1.44 §781. Unlawful imprisonment in the 

second degree;
9.1.45 §782.  Unlawful imprisonment in the first 

degree; 
9.1.46 §783.  Kidnapping in the second degree;
9.1.47 §783A.Kidnapping in the first degree;
9.1.48 §785.  Interference with custody;
Coercion
9.1.49 §791.  Acts constituting coercion;

9.2 Any crime which involves dishonesty or false, 
fraudulent or aberrant behavior and shall include by way of 
example and not of limitation the following crimes listed in 
Title 11 of the Delaware Code Annotated:

Arson and Related Offenses
9.2.1 §801.  Arson in the third degree; 
9.2.2 §802.  Arson in the second degree;
9.2.3 §803.  Arson in the first degree;
9.2.4 §804.  Reckless burning or exploding; 
9.2.5 §805.  Cross or religious symbol burning; 
Criminal Trespass and Burglary
9.2.6 §820.  Trespassing with intent to peer or 

peep into a window or door of another;
9.2.7 §821. Criminal trespass in the third 

degree;
9.2.8 §822.  Criminal trespass in the second 

degree; 
9.2.9 §823.  Criminal trespass in the first degree; 
9.2.10 §824.  Burglary in the third degree; 
9.2.11 §825.  Burglary in the second degree; 
9.2.12 §826.  Burglary in the first degree; 
9.2.13 §828. Possession of burglar’s tools or 

instruments facilitating theft;
Robbery
9.2.14 §831.  Robbery in the second degree; 
9.2.15 §832.  Robbery in the first degree.
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9.2.16 §835.  Carjacking in the second degree; 
9.2.17 §836.  Carjacking in the first degree; 
Theft and Related Offenses
9.2.18 §840.  Shoplifting; class G felony; 
9.2.19 §840A. Use of illegitimate retail sales 

receipt or Universal Product Code Label.
9.2.20 §841.  Theft;
9.2.21 §842. Theft; lost or mislaid property; 

mistaken delivery.
9.2.22 §843.  Theft; false pretense.
9.2.23 §844.  Theft; false promise.
9.2.24 §845.  Theft of services.
9.2.25 §846.  Extortion;
9.2.26 §848.  Misapplication of property; 
9.2.27 §849.  Theft of rented property; 
9.2.28 §850. Use, possession, manufacture, 

distribution and sale of unlawful telecommunication and 
access devices.

9.2.29 §851.  Receiving stolen property;
9.2.30 §853.  Unauthorized use of a vehicle;
9.2.31 §854.  Identity theft; 
9.2.32 §859.  Larceny of livestock; 
9.2.33 §860.  Possession of shoplifter’s tools or 

instruments facilitating theft;
Forgery and Related Offenses
9.2.34 §861.  Forgery; class F felony;
9.2.35 §862.  Possession of forgery devices; 
Offenses Involving Falsification of Records
9.2.36 §871.  Falsifying business records;
9.2.37 §872.  Falsifying business records;
9.2.38 §873. Tampering with public records in 

the second degree;
9.2.39 §876. Tampering with public records in 

the first degree;
9.2.40 §877. Offering a false instrument for 

filing;
9.2.41 §878.  Issuing a false certificate;
Bribery Not Involving Public Servants
9.2.42 §881.  Bribery;
9.2.43 §882.  Bribe receiving;
Frauds on Creditors
9.2.44 §891.  Defrauding secured creditors;
9.2.45 §892.  Fraud in insolvency;
9.2.46 §893. Interference with levied-upon 

property;
Other Frauds and Cheats
9.2.47 §900.  Issuing a bad check;
9.2.48 §903.  Unlawful use of credit card;
9.2.49 §903A.  Reencoder and scanning devices;
9.2.50 §906.  Deceptive business practices;
9.2.51 §907.  Criminal impersonation;
9.2.52 §907A. Criminal impersonation, accident 

related;
9.2.53 §907B. Criminal impersonation of a police 

officer;
9.2.54 §908.  Unlawfully concealing a will;
9.2.55 §909.  Securing execution of documents 

by deception;
9.2.56 §910.  Debt adjusting;
9.2.57 §911.  Fraudulent conveyance of public 

lands;
9.2.58 §912.  Fraudulent receipt of public lands;
9.2.59 §913.  Insurance fraud;
9.2.60 §913A.  Health care fraud;
9.2.61 §914. Use of consumer identification 

information;
9.2.62 §915.  Use of credit card information;
9.2.63 §915A.  Credit and debit card transaction 

receipts; 
9.2.64 §916.  Home improvement fraud; 
9.2.65 §917.  New home construction fraud;
Offenses Relating to Recorded Devices
9.2.66 §920.  Transfer of recorded sounds; 
9.2.67 §921.  Sale of transferred recorded sounds;
9.2.68 §922.  Improper labeling;
Computer Related Offenses
9.2.69 §932.  Unauthorized access.
9.2.70 §933.  Theft of computer services.
9.2.71 §934.  Interruption of computer services.
9.2.72 §935.Misuse of computer system 

information.
9.2.73 §936.Destruction of computer equipment.
9.2.74 §937.Unrequested or unauthorized 

electronic mail or use of network or  software to cause same.
9.2.75 §938.  Failure to promptly cease electronic 

communication upon request.
Offenses Relating to Marriage
9.2.76 §1001.  Bigamy;
9.2.77 §1003. Bigamous marriage contracted 

outside the State.
9.3 Any crime which involves misuse or abuse of 

children or animals and shall include by way of example and 
not of limitation the following crimes listed in Title 11 of the 
Delaware Code Annotated:

Child Welfare; Sexual Offenses, Animal Offenses
9.3.1 §1100. Dealing in children;
9.3.2 §1101. Abandonment of child;
9.3.3 §1102. Endangering the welfare of a 

child;
9.3.4 §1105. Endangering the welfare of an 

incompetent person;
9.3.5 §1106. Unlawfully dealing with a child; 
9.3.6 §1107. Endangering children;
9.3.7 §1108. Sexual exploitation of a child;
9.3.8 §1109. Unlawfully dealing in child 

pornography; 
9.3.9 §1111.  Possession of child pornography;
9.3.10 §1112. Sexual offenders; prohibitions 
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from school zones.
9.3.11 §1112A. Sexual solicitation of a child;
9.3.12 §1113. Criminal non-support and 

aggravated criminal non-support.
9.3.13 §1114. Body-piercing; tattooing or 

branding;
9.3.14 §1114A. Tongue-splitting;
9.3.15 §1116. Sale or distribution of tobacco 

products to minors;
9.3.16 §1117. Notice;
9.3.17 §1119. Distribution of cigarettes through 

vending machines;
9.3.18 §1120. Distribution of tobacco products;
9.3.19 §1124. Purchase or receipt of tobacco 

products by minor;
9.3.20 §1325. Cruelty to animals; 
9.3.21 §1325A. The unlawful trade in dog or cat 

by-products;
9.3.22 §1326. Animals; fighting and baiting 

prohibited;
9.3.23 §1327. Maintaining a dangerous animal;

9.4 Any crime which involves offenses against the 
public order the commission of which may tend to bring 
discredit upon the profession and which are thus 
substantially related to one’s fitness to practice such 
profession and shall include by way of example and not of 
limitation the following crimes listed in Title 11 of the 
Delaware Code Annotated:

Bribery and Improper Influence
9.4.1 §1201. Bribery;
9.4.2 §1203. Receiving a bribe;
9.4.3 §1205. Giving unlawful gratuities;
9.4.4 §1206. Receiving unlawful gratuities;
9.4.5 §1207. Improper influence;
9.4.6 §1211. Official misconduct;
9.4.7 §1212. Profiteering.
Perjury and related offenses
9.4.8 §1221. Perjury in the third degree;
9.4.9 §1222. Perjury in the second degree;
9.4.10 §1223. Perjury in the first degree;
9.4.11 §1233. Making a false written statement; 
9.4.12 §1239. Wearing a disguise during the 

commission of a felony;
9.4.13 §1240. Terroristic threatening of public 

officials or public servants;
9.4.14 §1241. Refusing to aid a police officer;
9.4.15 §1243. Obstructing fire-fighting 

operations;
9.4.16 §1244. Hindering prosecution;
9.4.17 §1245. Falsely reporting an incident;
9.4.18 §1246. Compounding a crime;
9.4.19 §1248. Obstructing the control and 

suppression of rabies;
9.4.20 §1249. Abetting the violation of driver’s 

license restrictions;
9.4.21 §1250. Offenses against law-

enforcement animals;
9.4.22 §1251. Escape in the third degree;
9.4.23 §1252. Escape in the second degree;
9.4.24 §1253. Escape after conviction;
9.4.25 §1254. Assault in a detention facility;
9.4.26 §1257A. Use of an animal to avoid 

capture;
9.4.27 §1259. Sexual relations in detention 

facility;
9.4.28 §1260. Misuse of prisoner mail.
Offenses Relating to Judicial and Similar 

Proceedings
9.4.29 §1261. Bribing a witness;
9.4.30 §1262. Bribe receiving by a witness;
9.4.31 §1263. Tampering with a witness;
9.4.32 §1263A.  Interfering with child witness.
9.4.33 §1264. Bribing a juror;
9.4.34 §1265. Bribe receiving by a juror;
9.4.35 §1266. Tampering with a juror;
9.4.36 §1267. Misconduct by a juror;
9.4.37 §1269. Tampering with physical 

evidence;
9.4.38 §1271. Criminal contempt;
9.4.39 §1271A.  Criminal contempt of a domestic 

violence protective order;
9.4.40 §1273. Unlawful grand jury disclosure.

9.5 Any crime which involves offenses against a public 
health order and decency which may tend to bring discredit 
upon the profession, specifically including the below listed 
crimes from Title 11 of the Delaware Code Annotated which 
evidence a lack of appropriate concern for the safety and 
well being of another person or persons in general or 
sufficiently flawed judgment to call into question the 
individuals ability to make health care decisions or advise 
upon health care related matters for other individuals.

Disorderly Conduct and Related Offenses
9.5.1 §1301. Disorderly conduct;
9.5.2 §1302. Riot;
9.5.3 §1304. Hate crimes;
9.5.4 §1311. Harassment;
9.5.5 §1312. Aggravated harassment;
9.5.6 §1312A.  Stalking;
9.5.7 §1313. Malicious interference with 

emergency communications;
9.5.8 §1315.  Public intoxication;
9.5.9 §1316.  Registration of out-of-state liquor 

agents;
9.5.10 §1320.  Loitering on property of a state-

supported school, college  or university;
9.5.11 §1321. Loitering
9.5.12 §1322. Criminal nuisance;
9.5.13 §1323. Obstructing public passages;
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9.5.14 §1324. Obstructing ingress to or egress 
from public buildings;

9.5.15 §1331. Desecration;
9.5.16 §1332. Abusing a corpse;
9.5.17 §1333. Trading in human remains and 

associated funerary objects.
9.5.18 §1335. Violation of privacy;
9.5.19 §1338. Bombs, incendiary devices, 

Molotov cocktails and explosive devices;
9.5.20 §1339. Adulteration;
9.5.21 §1340. Desecration of burial place.
Offenses Involving Public Indecency
9.5.22 §1341. Lewdness;
9.5.23 §1342. Prostitution;
9.5.24 §1343. Patronizing a prostitute 

prohibited.
9.5.25 §1351. Promoting prostitution in the 

third degree;
9.5.26 §1352.Promoting prostitution in the 

second degree;
9.5.27 §1353. Promoting prostitution in the first 

degree;
9.5.28 §1355. Permitting prostitution;
Obscenity
9.5.29 §1361. Obscenity; acts constituting;
9.5.30 §1365. Obscene literature harmful to 

minors;
9.5.31 §1366. Outdoor motion picture theatres;
Offenses Involving Gambling
9.5.32 §1403. Advancing gambling in the first 

degree;
9.5.33 §1404. Providing premises for gambling;
9.5.34 §1405. Possessing a gambling device; 

class A misdemeanor.
9.5.35 §1406. Being concerned in interest in 

keeping any gambling device;
9.5.36 §1407. Engaging in a crap game;
9.5.37 §1411. Unlawfully disseminating 

gambling information.
9.6 Any crime which involves the illegal possession or 

the misuse or abuse of narcotics, or other addictive 
substances and those non-addictive substances with a 
substantial capacity to impair reason or judgment and shall 
include by way of example and not of limitation the 
following crimes listed in Chapter 47 of Title 16 of the 
Delaware Code Annotated:

9.6.1 §4751. Prohibited acts A;
9.6.2 §4752. Prohibited acts B;
9.6.3 §4752A. Unlawful delivery of 

noncontrolled substance.
9.6.4 §4753. Prohibited acts C.
9.6.5 §4753A. Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, 

illegal drugs, methamphetamines, L.S.D., or designer drugs.
9.6.6 §4754. Prohibited acts D;

9.6.7 §4754A. Possession and delivery of 
noncontrolled prescription drug.

9.6.8 §4755. Prohibited acts E;
9.6.9 §4756. Prohibited acts;
9.6.10 §4757. Hypodermic syringe or needle; 

delivering or possessing; disposal; exceptions;
9.6.11 §4758. Keeping drugs in original 

containers.
9.6.12 §4761. Distribution to persons under 21 

years of age; 
9.6.13 §4761A. Purchase of drugs from minors; 
9.6.14 §4767. Distribution, delivery, or 

possession of controlled substance within 1,000 feet of 
school property;

9.6.15 §4768. Distribution, delivery or 
possession of controlled substance in or within 300 feet of 
park, recreation area, church, synagogue or other place of 
worship.

9.7 Any crime which involves the misuse or illegal 
possession or sale of a deadly weapon or dangerous 
instrument and shall include by way of example and not of 
limitation the following crimes listed in Title 11 of the 
Delaware Code Annotated:

Offenses Involving Deadly Weapons and 
Dangerous Instruments

9.7.1 §1442. Carrying a concealed deadly 
weapon;

9.7.2 §1443. Carrying a concealed dangerous 
instrument;

9.7.3 §1444. Possessing a destructive weapon; 
9.7.4 §1445. Unlawfully dealing with a 

dangerous weapon;
9.7.5 §1446. Unlawfully dealing with a 

switchblade knife;
9.7.6 §1447. Possession of a deadly weapon 

during commission of a   felony;
9.7.7 §1447A. Possession of a firearm during 

commission of a felony;
9.7.8 §1448. Possession and purchase of 

deadly weapons by persons prohibited;
9.7.9 §1448A. Criminal history record checks 

for sales or firearms;
9.7.10 §1449. Wearing body armor during 

commission of felony;
9.7.11 §1450. Receiving a stolen firearm;
9.7.12 §1451. Theft of a firearm;
9.7.13 §1452. Unlawfully dealing with 

knuckles-combination knife;
9.7.14 §1453. Unlawfully dealing with martial 

arts throwing star;
9.7.15 §1454. Giving a firearm to person 

prohibited;
9.7.16 §1455. Engaging in a firearms 

transaction on behalf of another;
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9.7.17 §1456. Unlawfully permitting a minor 
access to a firearm;

9.7.18 §1457. Possession of a weapon in a Safe 
School and Recreation Zone;

9.7.19 §1458. Removing a firearm from the 
possession of a law   enforcement officer;

9.7.20 §1459. Possession of a weapon with a 
removed, obliterated or   altered serial number;

9.7.21 §1471. Prohibited acts.
Offenses Involving Drug Paraphernalia
9.7.22 §4774. Penalties.
Offenses Involving Organized Crime and 

Racketeering
9.7.23 §1504. Criminal Penalties for Organized 

Crime & Racketeering Offenses Involving Intimidation of 
Victims or Witnesses

9.7.25 §3533. Aggravated act of intimidation, 
Class D felony

9.7.24 §3532. Acts of Intimidation: Class E 
felony

Other Crimes
9.7.26 Title 3 §1041.Willfully or maliciously 

starting fires; Carelessly Starting  Fires;
9.7.27 §1043. Setting fire to woodland; 

Unseasonable Marsh Burning.
9.7.28 Title 4 §901. Offenses carrying penalty of 

imprisonment for 3 to 6 months;
9.7.29 §902. Offenses carrying penalty of fine 

of $500 to $1,000 or imprisonment of 3 to 6 months on 
failure to pay fine;

9.7.30 §903. Offenses carrying penalty of fine 
of not more than $100 imprisonment for 1 month on failure 
to pay fine;

9.7.31 §904. Offenses concerning certain 
persons;

9.7.32 §905. Unlicensed manufacture of 
alcoholic liquor; Possession of   still, apparatus, mash, etc., 
by unlicensed person;

 9.7.33 §906. Transportation or shipment;
9.7.34 §907. Interference with officer or 

inspector;
9.7.35 §908.  Failure of licensee to file report;
9.7.36 §909. Violation of rules respecting 

liquor taxes.
9.7.37 Title 7 §1717.Unauthorized acts against a 

service guide or seeing eye dog.
9.7.38 Title 11 §2403.Manufacture, possession or 

sale of intercepting device;
9.7.39 §2410. Breaking and entering, etc. to 

place or remove equipment;
9.7.40 §2412. Obstruction, impediment or 

prevention of interception;
9.7.41 §2422. Divulging contents of 

communications;

9.7.42 §3532. Act of intimidation;
9.7.43 §3533. Aggravated act of intimidation;
9.7.44 §3534. Attempt to intimidate;
9.7.45 §8523. Penalties [for violation of 

reporting provision re: SBI];
9.7.46 §8562. Penalties [for failure of child-care 

provider to obtain information required under §8561 or for 
those providing  false information]

9.7.47 §8572. Penalties [for providing false 
information when seeking employment in a public school]

9.7.48 §9016. Filing false claim [under Victims’ 
Compensation Fund].

9.7.49 Title 12 §210. Alteration, theft or 
destruction of Will.

9.7.50 Title 16 §1136. Abuse or neglect of a 
patient or resident of a nursing facility.

9.7.51 Title 21 §2118A. Unlawful possession or 
manufacture of proof of  insurance;

9.7.52 §2133. Penalties; jurisdiction of justices 
of the peace.

9.7.53 §2315. False statements;
9.7.54 §2316. Altering or forging certificate of 

title, manufacturer’s certificate of origin, registration sticker 
or vehicle I identification plate;

9.7.55 §2620. False statements; incorrect or 
incomplete information;

9.7.56 §2703. License to operate a motorcycle, 
motorbike, etc.;

9.7.57 §2710. Issuance of a Level 1 Learner’s 
Permit and Class D     operator’s license to persons under 18 
years of age;

9.7.58 §2722. Restricted licenses based on 
driver’s physical limitations;

9.7.59 §2751. Unlawful application for or use 
of license or identification card;

9.7.60 §2752. False statements;
9.7.61 §2756. Driving vehicle while license is 

suspended or revoked; penalty;
9.7.62 §2760. Duplication, reproduction, 

altering, or counterfeiting of driver’s licenses or 
identification cards.

9.7.63 Title 23 §2302. Operation of a vessel or 
boat while under the influence of intoxicating liquor and/or 
drugs;

9.7.64 §2305. Penalties; jurisdiction.
9.7.65 Title 24  §903. Sale to persons under 21 

or intoxicated persons.
 9.7.66 Title 29 §3107. Motor vehicle safety-

responsibility; False statements;
9.7.67 §4175A. Reckless driving;
9.7.68 §4177. Driving a vehicle while under the 

influence or with a prohibited alcohol content; evidence; 
arrests; and penalties.

9.7.69 §4177M. Operating a commercial 
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motor vehicle with a prohibited blood alcohol concentration 
or while impaired by drugs;

9.7.70 §4183. Parking areas for vehicles being 
used by persons with disabilities;

9.7.71 §4198J. Bicycling on highways under 
influence of drugs or alcohol;

9.7.72 §4198O. Operation of electric personal 
assistive mobility devices (EPAMD);

9.7.73 §4201. Duty of driver involved in 
accident resulting in property damage or injury;

9.7.74 §4202. Duty of driver involved in 
accident resulting in injury or death to any person;

9.7.75 §4203. Duty to report accidents; 
evidence;

9.7.76 §4204. Report of damaged vehicles; cars 
involved in fatal accidents;

9.7.77 §4604. Possession of motor vehicle 
master keys, manipulative keys, key-cutting devices, lock 
picks or lock picking devices and hot wires;

9.7.78 §6420. Odometers penalties;
9.7.79 §6702. Driving vehicle without consent 

of owner;
9.7.80 §6704. Receiving or transferring stolen 

vehicle;
9.7.81 §6705. Removed, falsified or 

unauthorized identification number on vehicle, bicycle or 
engine; removed or affixed license/registration plate with 
intent to misrepresent identity;

9.7.82 §6707. Penalty;
9.7.83 §6709. Removal of warranty or 

certification stickers; vehicle identification plates; 
confidential vehicle identification  numbers;

9.7.84 §6710. Unlawful possession of assigned 
titles, assigned registration cards, vehicle identification 
plates and warranty stickers.

9.7.85 Title 30  §571.Attempt to evade or defeat 
tax;

9.7.86 §572. Failure to collect or pay over tax;
9.7.87 §573. Failure to file return, supply 

information or pay tax;
9.7.88 §574.  Fraud and false statements;
9.7.89 §576.  Misdemeanors.
9.7.90 Title 31§1007. Fraudulent acts 

penalties;
9.7.91 §3913. Welfare violations [knowing or 

reckless abuse of an infirm adult]
9.8 Any crime which is a violation of Title 24, Chapter 

5 as it may be amended from time to time or of any other 
statute which requires the reporting of a medical situation or 
condition to state, federal or local authorities or a crime 
which constitutes a violation of the Podiatric Practice Act of 
the state in which the conviction occurred or in which the 
physician is licensed.

9.9 The Board reserves the jurisdiction and authority to 

modify this regulation as and if it becomes necessary to 
either add or delete crimes including such additions as may 
be required on an emergency basis under 29 Del.C. §10119 
to address imminent peril to the public health, safety or 
welfare.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended, they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Podiatry is 
available at:

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
podiatry/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 2905(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §2905(a)(1))

24 DE Admin Code 2900

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Real Estate Commission in accordance 
with 24 Del.C. §2905(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules 
and regulations as mandated by SB 229. The proposal 
identifies crimes that are substantially related to services 
provided by real estate brokers, salespersons, and appraisers.

A public hearing will be held on February 10, 2005 at 
9:00 a.m. in the second floor conference room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Real 
Estate Commission, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, 
Suite 203, Dover DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit 
written comments may forward these to the Commission at 
the above address. The final date to receive written 
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Commission will consider promulgating the 
proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting 
following the public hearing.

16.0 Crimes Substantially Related To The Practice Of 
Real Estate Brokers, Salespersons And Appraisers

16.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following 
crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the practice 
of real estate brokers, salespersons and appraisers in the 
State of Delaware without regard to the place of conviction:

16.1.1 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 
degree; class B felony.  11 Del.C. §633.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 7, SATURDAY, JANUARY 1, 2005

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/index.shtml
http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/realestate/index.shtml


PROPOSED REGULATIONS962
16.1.2 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 
degree; class A felony. 11 Del.C. §634.

16.1.3 Murder in the second degree; class A 
felony.  11 Del.C. §635.

16.1.4 Murder in the first degree; class A felony. 
11 Del.C. §636.

16.1.5 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 
degree; class G felony.  11 Del.C. §768.

16.1.6 Unlawful sexual contact in the first 
degree; class F felony.  11 Del.C. §769.

16.1.7 Rape in the fourth degree; class C felony. 
11 Del.C. §770.

16.1.8 Rape in the third degree; class B felony. 
11 Del.C. §771.

16.1.9 Rape in the second degree; class B felony. 
11 Del.C. §772.

16.1.10 Rape in the first degree; class A felony. 11 
Del.C. §773.

16.1.11 Continuous sexual abuse of a child; class 
B felony. 11 Del.C. §778.

16.1.12 Dangerous crime against a child; class B 
felony. 11 Del.C. §779.

16.1.13 Kidnapping in the second degree; class C 
felony. 11 Del.C. §783.

16.1.14 Kidnapping in the first degree; class B 
felony.  11 Del.C. §783A.

16.1.15 Arson in the third degree; class G felony. 
11 Del.C. §801.

16.1.16 Arson in the second degree; class D 
felony.  11 Del.C.§802.

16.1.17 Arson in the first degree; class C felony. 
11 Del.C. §803.

16.1.18 Burglary in the second degree; class D 
felony.  11 Del.C. §825.

16.1.19 Burglary in the first degree; class C 
felony; class B felony.  11 Del.C. §826.

16.1.20 Robbery in the second degree; class E 
felony.  11 Del.C. §831.

16.1.21 Robbery in the first degree; Class B.  11 
Del.C. §832.

16.1.22 Carjacking in the first degree; class C 
felony; class B felony.  11 Del.C. §836.

16.1.23 Extortion; class E felony.  11 Del.C. §846.
16.1.24 Misapplication of property; class G felony. 

11 Del.C. §848.
16.1.25 Theft of rented property; class G felony. 

11 Del.C. §849.
16.1.26 Identity theft; class E felony; class D 

felony.  11 Del.C. §854.
16.1.27 Forgery; class F felony; class G felony. 11 

Del.C. §861.
16.1.28 Possession of forgery devices; class G 

felony.  11 Del.C. §862.
16.1.29 Tampering with public records in the first 

degree; class E felony.  11 Del.C. §876.
16.1.30 Issuing a false certificate; class G felony. 

11 Del.C. §878. 
16.1.31 Fraudulent conveyance of public lands; 

class G felony.  11 Del.C. §911.
16.1.32 Fraudulent receipt of public lands; class G 

felony.  11 Del.C. §912.
16.1.33 Insurance fraud; class G felony.  11 Del.C. 

§913.
16.1.34 Home improvement fraud; class G felony. 

11 Del.C. §916.
16.1.35 New home construction fraud; class C 

felony, class F felony, class G felony. 11 Del.C. §917.
16.1.36 Dealing in children; class E felony. 11 

Del.C. §1100.
16.1.37 Endangering the welfare of a child; class E 

or G felony.  11 Del.C. §1100.
16.1.38 Sexual exploitation of a child; class B 

felony.  11 Del.C. §1108.
16.1.39 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography; 

class D felony.  11 Del.C. §1109.
16.1.40 Possession of child pornography; class F 

felony.  11 Del.C. §1111.
16.1.41 Sexual solicitation of a child; class C 

felony.  11 Del.C. §1112A.
16.1.42 Bribery; class E felony.  11 Del.C. §1201.
16.1.43 Receiving a bribe; class E felony.  11 

Del.C. §1203.
16.1.44 Perjury in the second degree; class F 

felony. 11 Del.C. § 1222.
16.1.45 Perjury in the first degree; class D felony. 

11 Del.C. §1223.
16.1.46 Tampering with physical evidence; class G 

felony.  11 Del.C. §1269.
16.1.47 .Hate crimes;  class G felony, class F 

felony, class E felony, class D felony, class C felony, class B 
felony, class A felony.  11 Del.C. §1304.

16.1.48 Possession of a deadly weapon during 
commission of a felony; class B felony.  11 Del.C. §1447.

16.1.49 Possession of a firearm during 
commission of a felony; class B felony.  11 Del.C. §1447A.

16.1.50 Removing a firearm from the possession 
of a law enforcement officer; class C felony.  11 Del.C. 
§1458.

16.1.51 Organized Crime and Racketeering, Class 
B Felony.  11 Del.C. §1504.

16.1.52 Abuse of patient or resident in nursing 
home; Class D felony; Class G felony; Class A felony.  16 
Del.C. §1136(a).

16.1.53 Prohibited acts A; Class B felony. 16 
Del.C. §4751.

16.1.54 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, illegal 
drugs, methamphetamines, Lysergic Acid Diethylamide 
(L.S.D.), designer drugs, or 3,4-
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methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA); Class B 
felony. 16 Del.C. §4753A.

16.1.55 Knowing or reckless abuse of an infirm 
adult; Class D felony; Class E felony; Class G felony; Class 
A felony.  31 Del. C. §3913.

16.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
real estate brokers, salespersons and appraisers shall be 
deemed to include any crimes under any federal law, state 
law, or valid town, city or county ordinance, that are 
substantially similar to the crimes identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended, they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Real Estate Commission 
is available at:

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
realestate/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS OF 

MENTAL HEALTH AND
CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY PROFESSIONALS

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 3006(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §3006(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 3000

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Professional Counselors of 
Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals in 
accordance with 24 Del.C. §3006(a)(1) has proposed 
changes to its rules and regulations as mandated by SB 229. 
The proposal identifies crimes that are substantially related 
to the provision of mental health counseling and chemical 
dependency counseling.

A public hearing will be held on February 4, 2005 at 
3:00 p.m. in the second floor conference room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical 
Dependency Professionals, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon 
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to 
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at 
the above address. The final date to receive written 
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

11.0 Crimes substantially related to the provision of 
mental health counseling and chemical dependency 
counseling:

11.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following 
crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the provision 
of mental health counseling and chemical dependency 
counseling in the State of Delaware without regard to the 
place of conviction:

11.1.1 Menacing.  11 Del.C. §602(a)
11.1.2 Aggravated menacing.  11 Del.C. §602(b) 
11.1.3 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §604
11.1.4 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §605.
11.1.5 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C. §606.
11.1.6 Assault in the third degree.  11 Del.C. 

§611.
11.1.7 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§612
11.1.8 Assault in the first degree.  11 Del.C. 

§613.
11.1.9 Abuse of a sports official; felony.  11 

Del.C. §614.
11.1.10 Assault by abuse or neglect. 11 Del.C. 

§615.
11.1.11 Terroristic threatening.  11 Del.C. §621(a) 

and (b).
11.1.12 Unlawfully administering drugs.  11 

Del.C. §625.
11.1.13 Unlawfully administering controlled 

substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs. 11 
Del.C. §626.

11.1.14 Criminally negligent homicide.  11 Del.C. 
§631.

11.1.15 Manslaughter. 11 Del.C. §632.
11.1.16 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §633
11.1.1 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C. §634.
11.1.18 Murder in the second degree.  11 Del.C. 

§635.
11.1.19 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636.
11.1.20 Promoting suicide. 11 Del.C. §645.
11.1.21 Abortion.  11 Del.C. §651.
11.1.22 Self abortion.  11 Del.C. §652.
11.1.23 Issuing abortional articles.  11 Del.C. 

§653.
11.1.24  Sexual harassment.  11 Del.C. §763.
11.1.25 Indecent exposure in the second degree. 

11 Del.C. §764.
11.1.26 Indecent exposure in the first degree.  11 
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Del.C. §765.
11.1.27 Incest.  11 Del.C. §766.
11.1.28 Unlawful sexual contact in the third 

degree. 11 Del.C. §767.
1.1.29 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §768.
11.1.30 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §769.
11.1.31 Rape in the fourth degree.  11 Del.C. §770.
11.1.32 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §771.
11.1.33 Rape in the second degree.  11 Del.C. 

§772.
11.1.34 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §773.
11.1.35 Sexual extortion.  11 Del.C. §776.
11.1.36 Bestiality.  11 Del.C. §777.
11.1.37 Continuous sexual abuse of a child.  11 

Del.C. §778.
11.1.38 Dangerous crime against a child.  11 

Del.C. §779.
11.1.39 Female genital mutilation. 11 Del.C. §780.
11.1.40 Unlawful imprisonment in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §781.
11.1.41 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §782.
11.1.42 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11 

Del.C. §783.
11.1.43 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C. 

§783A.
11.1.44 Acts constituting coercion. 11 Del.C. 

§791.
11.1.45 Arson in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §801.
11.1.46 Arson in the second degree.  11 Del.C. 

§802.
11.1.47  Arson in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §803
11.1.48 Cross or religious symbol burning.  11 

Del.C. §805.
11.1.49 Trespassing with intent to peer or peep 

into a window of another.  11 Del.C. §820.
11.1.50 Burglary in the third degree.  11 Del.C. 

§824.
11.1.51 Burglary in the second degree.  11 Del.C. 

§825.
11.1.52 Burglary in the first degree.  11 Del.C. 

§826.
11.1.53 Robbery in the second degree.  11 Del.C. 

§831.
11.1.54 Robbery in the first degree.  11 Del.C. 

§832.
11.1.55 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§835.
11.1.56 Carjacking in the first degree. 11 Del.C. 

§836.
11.1.57 Theft; felony. 11 Del.C. §841.
11.1.58 Theft; false pretense. 11 Del.C. §843.

11.1.59 Theft; false promise. 11 Del.C.  §844.
11.1.60 Extortion. 11 Del.C. §846.
11.1.61 Misapplication of property. 11 Del.C. 

§848.
11.1.62 Theft of rented property; felony 11 Del.C. 

§849.
11.1.63 Receiving stolen property.  11 Del.C. §851
11.1.64 Identity theft.  11 Del.C. §854.
11.1.65 Forgery.   11 Del.C. §861.
11.1.66 Possession of forgery devices.  11 Del.C. 

§862.
11.1.67 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C. 

§871.
11.1.68 Tampering with public records in the 

second degree  11 Del.C. §873.
11.1.69 Tampering with public records in the first 

degree.  11 Del.C.  §876.
11.1.70 Offering a false instrument for filing.  11 

Del.C. §877.
11.1.71 Issuing a false certificate.  11 Del.C. §878.
11.1.72 Bribery. 11 Del.C. §881.
11.1.73 Bribe receiving. 11 Del.C. §882.
11.1.74 Defrauding secured creditors. 11 Del.C. 

§891.
11.1.75 Fraud in insolvency. 11 Del.C. §892.
11.1.76 Interference with levied-upon property. 11 

Del.C. §893.
11.1.77 Issuing a bad check; felony.  11 Del.C. 

§900.
11.1.78 Unlawful use of credit card; felony.  11 

Del.C.   §903.
11.1.79 Reencoder and scanning devices.  11 

Del.C. §903A.
11.1.80 Criminal impersonation. 11 Del.C. §907.
11.1.81 Criminal impersonation, accident related. 

11 Del.C. §907A.
11.1.82 Criminal impersonation of a police officer. 

11 Del.C. §907B.
11.1.83 Unlawfully concealing a will. 11 Del.C. 

§908.
11.1.84 Securing execution of documents by 

deception. 11 Del.C. §909.
11.1.85 Fraudulent conveyance of public lands. 11 

Del.C. §911.
11.1.86 Fraudulent receipt of public lands.  11 

Del.C. §912.
11.1.87 Insurance fraud.  11 Del.C.  §913.
11.1.88 Health care fraud.  11 Del.C. §913A.
11.1.89 Home improvement fraud.  11 Del.C. 

§916.
11.1.90 New home construction fraud.  11 Del.C. 

§917.
11.1.91 Misuse of computer system information. 

11 Del.C. §935.
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11.1.92 Bigamy.  11 Del.C. §1001.
11.1.93 Bigamous marriage contracted outside of 

the State.  11 Del.C. §1002.
11.1.94 Dealing in children. 11 Del.C. §1100.
11.1.95 Abandonment of child.  11 Del.C. §1101.
11.1.96 Endangering the welfare of a child. 11 

Del.C. §1102.
11.1.97 Endangering the welfare of an 

incompetent person.  11 Del.C. §1105.
11.1.98 Unlawfully dealing with a child. 11 Del.C. 

§1106.
11.1.99 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C. 

§1108.
11.1.100 Unlawfully dealing in child 

pornography. 11 Del.C. §1109.
11.1.101 Possession of child pornography. 11 

Del.C. §1111.
11.1.102 Sexual offenders; prohibitions from 

school zones.  11 Del.C. §1112.
11.1.103 Sexual solicitation of a child.  11 

Del.C. §1112A.
11.1.104 Criminal non-support and aggravated 

criminal non-support. 11 Del.C. §1113.
11.1.105 Bribery.  11 Del.C. §1201
11.1.106 Receiving a bribe; felony.  11 Del.C. 

§1203.
11.1.107 Improper influence. 11 Del.C. §1207.
11.1.108 Perjury in the third degree.  11 Del.C. 

§1221.
11.1.109 Perjury in the second degree.  11 

Del.C. §1353.
11.1.147 Permitting prostitution.  11 Del.C. 

§1355.
11.1.148 Obscenity.  11 Del.C. §1361.
11.1.149 Obscene literature harmful to minors. 

11 Del.C. §1365.
11.1.150 Outdoor notion picture theatres.  11 

Del.C. §1366.
11.1.151 Possessing a destructive weapon.  11 

Del.C. §1444.
11.1.152 Unlawfully dealing with a dangerous 

weapon; felony.  11 Del.C. §1445.
11.1.153 Possession of a deadly weapon during 

commission of a felony. 11 Del.C. §1447.
11.1.154 Possession of a firearm during 

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C. §1447A.
11.1.155 Possession and purchase of deadly 

weapons by persons prohibited.  11 Del.C. §1448.
11.1.156 Receiving a stolen firearm.  11 Del.C. 

§1450.
11.1.157 Theft of a firearm.  11 Del.C. §1451.
11.1.158 Giving a firearm to person prohibited. 

11 Del.C.  §1454.
11.1.159 Engaging in a firearms transaction on 

behalf of another.   11 Del.C. §1455.
11.1.160 Possession of a weapon in a Safe 

School and Recreation Zone.  11 Del.C. §1457.
11.1.161 Removing a firearm from the 

possession of a law enforcement officer.  11 Del.C. §1458.
11.1.162 Organized Crime and Racketeering. 

11 Del.C. §1504.
11.1.163 Victim or Witness Intimidation  11 

Del.C. §§3532 & 3533.
11.1.164 Abuse, neglect, mistreatment or 

financial exploitation of residents or patients.  16 Del.C. 
§1136(a), (b) and (c).

11.1.165 Prohibited acts A under the Uniform 
Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4751(a), (b) and (c).

11.1.166 Unlawful delivery of non controlled 
substance. 16 Del.C. §4752A.

11.1.167 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, 
illegal drugs,   methamphetamines, Lysergic Acid 
Diethylamide (L.S.D.), designer drugs, or 3,4-
methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA). 16 Del.C. 
§4753A (a)(1)-(9).

11.1.168 Prohibited acts under the Uniform 
Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4756(a)(1)-(5) and 
(b).

11.1.169 Distribution to persons under 21 years 
of age.  16 Del.C. §4761.

11.1.170 Purchase of drugs from minors.  16 
Del.C. §4761A

11.1.171 Distribution, delivery, or possession 
of controlled substance within 1,000 feet of school property; 
penalties; defenses.  16 Del.C. §4767

11.1.172 Distribution, delivery or possession of 
controlled substance in or within 300 feet of park, recreation 
area, church, synagogue or other place of worship.  16 
Del.C. §4768

11.1.173 Drug paraphernalia-Manufacture and 
sale; delivery to a minor; felony.  16 Del.C. §§4771 and 
4774.

11.1.174 Operation of a vessel or boat while 
under the influence of intoxicating liquor and/or drugs; third 
and fourth offenses.  23 Del.C. §2302(a) and §2305 (3) and 
(4).

11.1.175 Obtaining benefit under false 
representation. 31 Del.C. §1003.

11.1.176 Reports, statements and documents. 
31 Del.C. §1004.

11.1.177 Kickback schemes and solicitations. 
31 Del.C. §1005.

11.1.178 Conversion of payment.  31 Del.C. 
§1006.

11.1.179 Driving a vehicle while under the 
influence or with a prohibited alcohol content; third and 
fourth offenses.  21 Del.C. §4177 (3) and (4).

11.1.180 Duty of driver involved in accident 
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resulting in injury or death to any person; felony.   21 Del.C. 
§4202.

11.1.181 Prohibited trade practices against 
infirm or elderly.  6 Del.C. §2581

11.1.182 Prohibition of intimidation [under the 
Fair Housing Act]; 6 Del.C. §4619

11.1.183 Auto Repair Fraud victimizing the 
infirm or elderly.  6 Del.C. §4909A

11.1.184 Unauthorized Acts against a Service 
Guide or Seeing Eye Dog  7 Del.C. §1717

11.1.185 Interception of Communications 
Generally; Divulging Contents of Communications 11 
Del.C. §2402

11.1.186 Breaking and Entering, Etc. to Place 
or Remove Equipment  11 Del.C.  §2410

11.1.187 Divulging Contents of 
Communications.  11 Del.C. §2422

11.1.188 Installation and Use Generally [of pen 
trace and trap and trace devices]. 11 Del.C. §243.

11.1.189 Attempt to Intimidate. 11 Del.C. 
§3534

11.1.190 Failure of child-care provider to 
obtain information required under §8561 or for those 
providing false information; felony. 11 Del.C. §8562

11.1.191 Providing false information when 
seeking employment in a public school.  11 Del.C. §8572

11.1.192 Filing False Claim [under Victims’ 
Compensation Fund].  11 Del.C. §9016

11.1.193 Alteration, Theft or Destruction of 
Will. 12 Del.C. §210.

11.1.194 Failure of Physician to file report of 
abuse of neglect pursuant to 16 Del.C. §903.

11.1.195 Coercion or intimidation involving 
health-care decisions and falsification, destruction of a 
document to create a false impression that measures to 
prolong life have been authorized; felony. 16 Del.C. §2513 
(b).

11.1.196 [Failure to make] Reports of Persons 
who are Subject to Loss Consciousness.  24  Del.C. §1763.  

11.1.197 Abuse, neglect, exploitation or 
mistreatment of infirm adult.  31 Del.C. §3913(a), (b) and 
(c).

11.2 Crimes substantially related to provision of 
mental health counseling and chemical dependency 
counseling shall be deemed to include any crimes under any 
federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county 
ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended, they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Professional 
Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency 
Professionals is available at:

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
profcounselors/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK 

EXAMINERS
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 3906(1) (24 Del.C. §3906(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 3900

The Delaware Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners 
in accordance with 24 Del.C. §3906(1) has proposed 
changes to its rules and regulations as mandated by SB 229. 
The proposal identifies crimes that are substantially related 
to the provision of social work services.

A public hearing will be held on February 14, 2005 at 
9:30 a.m. in the second floor conference room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Clinical Social Work Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, 
Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons 
wishing to submit written comments may forward these to 
the Board at the above address.  The final date to receive 
written comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

Proposed Rules and Regulations

11.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
social work:

11.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following 
crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the practice 
of social work in the State of Delaware without regard to the 
place of conviction:

11.1.1 Aggravated menacing.  11 Del.C. §602(b).
11.1.2 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §604.
11.1.3 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C.  §605.
11.1.4 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C.  §606.
11.1.5 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§612.
11.1.6 Assault in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§613.
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11.1.7 Abuse of a sports official; felony.  11 
Del.C. §614.

11.1.8 Assault by abuse or neglect. 11 Del.C.
§615.

11.1.9 Terroristic threatening; felony.  11 Del.C.
§621.

11.1.10 Unlawfully administering drugs.  11 
Del.C. §625.

11.1.11 Unlawfully administering controlled 
substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs. 11 
Del.C. §626.

11.1.12 Manslaughter. 11 Del.C. §632.
11.1.13 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §633.
11.1.14 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C. §634.
11.1.15 Murder in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§635.
11.1.16 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636.
11.1.17 Promoting suicide. 11 Del.C. §645.
11.1.18 Abortion.  11Del.C. §651.
11.1.19 Incest.  11 Del.C.  §766.
11.1.20 Unlawful sexual contact in the third 

degree. 11 Del.C. §767.
11.1.21 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §768. 
11.1.22 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §769.
11.1.23 Rape in the fourth degree.  11 Del.C. §770.
11.1.24 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §771.
11.1.25 Rape in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§772.
11.1.26 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §773.
11.1.27 Sexual extortion.  11 Del.C. §776.
11.1.28 Bestiality.  11 Del.C. §777.
11.1.29 Continuous sexual abuse of a child.  11 

Del.C.  §778.
11.1.30 Dangerous crime against a child.  11 

Del.C.  §779.
11.1.31 Female genital mutilation. 11 Del.C. §780. 
11.1.32 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §782.
11.1.33 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11 

Del.C.  §783.
11.1.34 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§783A.
11.1.35 Acts constituting coercion.  11 Del.C.

§791.
11.1.36  Arson in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §803.
11.1.37 Burglary in the third degree.  11 Del.C.

§824. 
11.1.38 Burglary in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§825.
11.1.39 Burglary in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§826.
11.1.40 Possession of burglar’s tools or 

instruments facilitating theft. 11 Del.C.  §828. 
11.1.41 Robbery in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§831. 
11.1.42 Robbery in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§832.
11.1.43 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§835.
11.1.44 Carjacking in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§836.
11.1.45 Extortion. 11 Del.C.  §846.
11.1.46 Identity theft.  11 Del.C. §854.
11.1.47  Forgery.   11 Del.C. §861.
11.1.48 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C.

§871.
11.1.49 Tampering with public records in the 

second degree  11 Del.C. §873.
11.1.50 Tampering with public records in the first 

degree.  11 Del.C. §876.
11.1.51 Issuing a false certificate.  11 Del.C. §878.
11.1.52 Criminal impersonation. 11 Del.C.  §907. 
11.1.53 Criminal impersonation, accident related. 

11 Del.C.  §907A.
11.1.54 Criminal impersonation of a police officer. 

11 Del.C.  §907B.
11.1.55 Insurance fraud.  11 Del.C.  §913.
11.1.56 Health care fraud.  11 Del.C.  §913A.
11.1.57 Misuse of computer system information. 

11 Del.C.  §935.
11.1.58 Dealing in children. 11 Del.C.  §1100.
11.1.59 Endangering the welfare of a child. 11 

Del.C. §1102.
11.1.60 Endangering the welfare of an 

incompetent person.  11 Del.C. §1105.
11.1.61 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C.

§1108.
11.1.62 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography. 

11 Del.C.  §1109.
11.1.63 Possession of child pornography. 11 

Del.C.  §1111.
11.1.64 Sexual offenders; prohibitions from school 

zones.  11 Del.C.  §1112.
11.1.65 Sexual solicitation of a child.  11 Del.C.

§1112A.
11.1.66 Perjury in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§1222.
11.1.67 Perjury in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§1223.
11.1.68 Making a false written statement.  11 

Del.C. §1233.
11.1.69 Terroristic threatening of public officials 

or public servants. 11Del.C. §1240.
11.1.70 Assault in a detention facility; Class B 
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felony.  11 Del.C. §1254.
11.1.71 Sexual relations in a detention facility.  11 

Del.C. §1259.
11.1.72 Bribing a witness.  11 Del.C.  §1261.
11.1.73 Bribe receiving by a witness.  11 Del.C.

§1262.
11.1.74 Tampering with a witness.  11 Del.C.

§1263.
11.1.75 Interfering with child witness.  11 Del.C.

§1263A.
11.1.76  Bribing a juror.  11 Del.C. §1264.
11.1.77 Bribe receiving by a juror.  11 Del.C.

§1265.
11.1.78 Tampering with physical evidence.  11 

Del.C.  §1269.
11.1.79 Criminal contempt of a domestic violence 

protective order.  11 Del.C.  §1271A.
11.1.80  Hate crimes. 11 Del.C. §1304.
11.1.81 Aggravated harassment.  11 Del.C. §1312.
11.1.82 Stalking; felony  11 Del.C. §1312A.
11.1.83 Cruelty to animals; felony.  11 Del.C.

§1325.
11.1.84 Violation of privacy.  11 Del.C. §1335.
11.1.85 Bombs, incendiary devices, Molotov 

cocktails and explosive devices. 11 Del.C.  §1338.
11.1.86 Adulteration.  11 Del.C.  §1339.
11.1.87 Promoting prostitution in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §1353.
11.1.88 Possessing a destructive weapon.  11 

Del.C. §1444.
11.1.89 Unlawfully dealing with a dangerous 

weapon; felony.  11 Del.C.  §1445.
11.1.90 Organized Crime and Racketeering.  11 

Del.C.  §1504.
11.1.91 Victim or Witness Intimidation  11 Del.C.

§3532 & 3533.
11.1.92 Abuse, neglect, mistreatment or financial 

exploitation of residents or patients.  16 Del.C.  §1136(a), (b) 
and (c).

11.1.93 Prohibited acts A under the Uniform 
Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4751(a), (b) and (c).

11.1.94 Prohibited acts B under the Uniform 
Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4752(a) and (b).

11.1.95 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, illegal 
drugs,   methamphetamines,Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (L. 
S. D.), designer drugs, or 3,4-
methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA). 16 Del.C.
§4753A (a)(1)-(9).

11.1.96 Distribution to persons under 21 years of 
age.  16 Del.C.  §4761.

11.1.97 Purchase of drugs from minors.  16 Del.C.
§ 4761A.

11.1.98 Drug paraphernalia; delivery to a minor 16 
Del.C. §4774 (c).

11.1.99 Obtaining benefit under false 
representation. 31 Del.C.  §1003.

11.1.100 Reports, statements and documents. 
31 Del.C. §1004.

11.1.101 Kickback schemes and solicitations. 
31 Del.C.  §1005.

11.1.102 Conversion of payment.  31 Del.C.
§1006.

11.1.103 Driving a vehicle while under the 
influence or with a prohibited alcohol content; third and 
fourth offenses.  21 Del.C.  §4177 (3) and (4).

11.1.104 Prohibited trade practices against 
infirm or elderly.  6 Del.C. §2581.

11.1.105 Prohibition of intimidation [under the 
Fair Housing Act]; felony.  6 Del.C.  §4619.

11.1.106 Auto Repair Fraud victimizing the 
infirm or elderly.  6 Del.C.  §4909A.

11.1.107 Interception of Communications 
Generally; Divulging Contents of Communications 11 
Del.C. §2402.

11.1.108 Manufacture, Possession or Sale of 
Intercepting Device.  11 Del.C. .§2403.

11.1.109 Breaking and Entering, Etc. to Place 
or Remove Equipment  11 Del.C.  §2410.

11.1.110 Obstruction, Impediment or 
Prevention of Interception.  11 Del.C.  §2412.

11.1.111 Obtaining, Altering or Preventing 
Authorized Access.   11 Del.C.  §2421.

11.1.112 Divulging Contents of 
Communications.  11 Del.C.  §2422.

11.1.113 Installation and Use Generally [of pen 
trace and trap and trace devices]. 11 Del.C.  §243.

11.1.114 Attempt to Intimidate. 11 Del.C.
§3534.

11.1.115 Disclosure of Expunged Records. 11 
Del. C. § 4374.

11.1.116 Providing false information when 
seeking employment in a public school.  11 Del.C.  §8572.

11.1.117 Failure of Physician to file report of 
abuse of neglect pursuant to 16 Del.C. §903.

11.1.118 Coercion or intimidation involving 
health-care decisions and falsification, destruction of a 
document to create a false impression that measures to 
prolong life have been authorized; felony. 16 Del.C. §2513 
(b).

11.1.119 Failure of Physician to report persons 
subject to loss of consciousness.  24 Del.C.  §1763.

11.1.120 Abuse, neglect, exploitation or 
mistreatment of infirm adult.  31 Del.C. §3913(a), (b) and 
(c).

11.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
social work shall be deemed to include any crimes under any 
federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county 
ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
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identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended, they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Clinical Social 
Work Examiners is available at:

http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/
socialworkers/index.shtml

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority:  26 Delaware Code,

Section 209(a)  (26 Del.C. §209(a))

In the Matter of the Investigation, on |
Motion Of The Commission, Into The |
Terms And Conditions Under Which | PSC
Water Utilities Require Advances and/or| Regulation Docket
Contributions In-Aid-of Construction |  No. 15
from Customers Or  Developers, |
and the Proper Ratemaking Treatment |
for Such Contributions And Advances |
(Opened March 24, 1987; Reopened |
September 24, 1996; and |
Reopened June 17, 2003) |

ORDER NO. 6538

AND NOW, this 7th day of December, 2004;
WHEREAS, on May 14, 2003, the Division of the 

Public Advocate ("DPA") filed a petition to reopen PSC 
Regulation Docket No. 15, which addresses the terms and 
conditions under which regulated water utilities require 
advances and/or Contributions In-Aid-Of Construction 
("CIAC") from customers or developers; and 

WHEREAS, in PSC Docket No. 02-109, a rate case 
proceeding filed by Artesian Water Company ("Artesian"), 
the DPA, the PSC Staff and Artesian entered into a 
stipulation stating that the DPA would petition the 
Commission to open a separate generic proceeding to 
consider the use of a "means test" for determining the 
amount of advances or CIACs; and 

WHEREAS, in prior water utility rate cases, both the 
DPA and the PSC Staff have raised issues about whether the 
regulated water utility had determined and collected 
adequate advances or CIACs, so that existing customers did 
not bear the costs of expansion; and

WHEREAS, issues related to advances and CIACs may 
affect all regulated water utilities in Delaware; and

WHEREAS, the PSC Staff submitted a May 16, 2003 
memorandum to the Commission in support of the DPA's 
petition to reopen Regulation Docket No. 15; and

WHEREAS, on June 17, 2003, the Commission 
determined that good reasons exist to reopen this regulation 
docket, and entered Order No. 6198 to that effect; and

WHEREAS, over the course of many months, the 
Commission Staff has received written comments on a 
proposed set of regulations from interested parties, including 
representatives of regulated water utilities, developers, and 
the DPA; and 

WHEREAS, over the course of many months, the 
Commission Staff has met on numerous occasions with 
representatives of regulated water utilities, developers, and 
the DPA, engaged in teleconferences, and received further 
written and oral comments; and

WHEREAS, the Commission Staff has attempted to 
work cooperatively with all interested parties to create a 
proposed set of regulations that would be fair and reasonable 
and serve the public interest, and the common interests of 
regulated water utilities, their present and future customers, 
developers, and the public at-large; and

WHEREAS, in order to proceed more deliberately and 
expeditiously with the promulgation of proper regulations, 
the Commission deems it appropriate, advisable, and in the 
public interest to publish proposed regulations recommended 
by Staff in order to obtain additional public comment and 
facilitate the promulgation of final regulations; and

WHEREAS, the Commission has considered the 
proposed regulations prepared by the Commission's Staff 
that were developed after a lengthy period of comment by 
interested parties;

Now, therefore, IT IS SO ORDERED:
1. Pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209(a), and 29 Del.C.

§10111 et seq., the Commission promulgates proposed 
Regulations Governing the Terms and Conditions Under 
Which Water Utilities Require Advances and/or 
Contributions In-Aid-Of Construction From Customers or 
Developers and the Proper Ratemaking Treatment For Such 
Contributions and Advances ("Regulations").

2. The Secretary of the Commission shall transmit to 
the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Delaware 
Register the notice and the proposed Regulations attached 
hereto as Exhibits "A" and "B," respectively.

3. The Secretary of the Commission shall cause the 
notice attached hereto as Exhibit "A" to be published in The 
News Journal and Delaware State News newspapers on or 
before Tuesday, December 21, 2004.

4. The Secretary of the Commission shall cause the 
notice attached hereto as Exhibit "A" to be sent by U.S. mail 
to all Water Utilities currently operating under a CPCN in 
Delaware and all persons who have made timely written 
requests for advance notice of the Commission's regulation-
making proceedings.

5. William F. O'Brien is designated the Hearing 
Examiner for this matter pursuant to 26 Del.C. §502 and 29 
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Del.C. Ch. 101, and is authorized to organize, classify, and 
summarize all materials, evidence, and testimony filed in 
this docket, to conduct the public hearing contemplated 
under the attached notice, and to make proposed findings 
and recommendations to the Commission concerning Staff's 
proposed regulations on the basis of the materials, evidence, 
and testimony submitted. Hearing Examiner O'Brien is 
specifically authorized, in his discretion, to solicit additional 
comment and to conduct, on due notice, such public 
hearing(s) as may be required to develop further materials 
and evidence concerning any later submitted proposed 
regulations or amendments thereto. 

6. Francis J. Murphy, Esquire, is designated Staff 
Counsel for this matter.  

7. The Class “A” water utilities regulated by the 
Commission are notified that they may be charged for the 
cost of this proceeding under 26 Del.C.  §114.

8. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and 
authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may 
be deemed necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Arnetta McRae, Chair
Joshua M. Twilley, Vice Chair
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner

ATTEST: Norma J. Sherwood, Acting Secretary

EXHIBIT  “A”
PUBLIC  NOTICE

SOLICITING COMMENTS CONCERNING
REVISIONS TO RULES

On May 14, 2003, the Division of the Public Advocate 
(“DPA”) filed a petition with the Public Service Commission 
(“the Commission”) asking the Commission to make 
revisions and amendments to its rules and regulations 
concerning the Terms and Conditions Under Which Water 
Utilities Require Advances and/or Contributions In-Aid-Of 
Construction From Customers or Developers and the Proper 
Ratemaking Treatment for Such Contributions and Advances
(“the Regulations”). These Regulations were originally 
adopted in PSC Order No. 2928 (Mar. 15, 1988) and revised 
in PSC Order No. 4310 (Sept. 24, 1996).

In PSC Order No. 6198 (June 16, 2003), the 
Commission accepted the DPA’s petition to reopen those 
earlier Regulations. The Commission agreed to consider 
revisions proposed by the DPA which would modify the 
Regulations to adopt and implement a "means test" for 
determining the amount of Advances In-Aid-Of 
Construction and Contributions In-Aid-Of Construction.

As the first step in the process, the Commission’s Staff, 

with the assistance of the DPA, proposed textual 
amendments and revisions to the present Regulations for the 
Commission’s consideration. The Commission Staff has 
since met with representatives of the DPA and interested 
parties, received written comments, conducted meetings and 
workshops, and the Staff has developed proposed changes to 
the existing regulations.

The new regulations will address the following: (a) the 
definitions of Contributions In-Aid-Of Construction 
(“CIAC") and advances; (b) the computation of CIAC, 
including costs categories; (c) the nature of advances; (d) 
refunds of advances; (e) the ratemaking treatment of 
advances; (f) the ratemaking treatment of CIAC; (g) interest 
on excess CIAC and advances; and (h) matters necessarily 
related to the foregoing.  The Commission proposes that its 
Order promulgating the final version of the new regulations 
will provide that the regulations (and the related docket) will 
be reopened two years from the effective date of the new 
regulations to review the new rate-making methodology, and 
to assess its effectiveness, the CIAC computation, and 
related costs categories.  After such review and assessment, 
the Commission may, if deemed appropriate, consider 
further modifications of the regulations.

Copies of the present Regulations and the DPA’s petition 
to reopen are available for public inspection at the 
Commission’s address set out below during normal business 
hours:

The Commission has authority to promulgate the 
regulations pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209(a) and 29 Del.C. 
§10111 et seq.

The Commission hereby solicits written comments, 
suggestions, and compilations of data, briefs, or other 
written materials concerning the proposed regulations.  Ten 
(10) copies of such materials shall be filed with the 
Commission at its office located at 861 Silver Lake 
Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware, 
19904. All such materials shall be filed with the Commission 
on or before February 4, 2005. Persons who wish to 
participate in the proceedings, but who do not wish to file 
written materials, are asked to send a letter informing the 
Commission of their intention to participate on or before 
February 4, 2005.

The regulations and the materials submitted in 
connection therewith will be available for public inspection 
and copying at the Commission's Dover office during normal 
business hours.  The fee for copying is $0.25 per page.  The 
regulations may also be reviewed, by appointment during 
normal business hours, at the office of the Division of the 
Public Advocate located at the Carvel State Office Building, 
4th Floor, 820 North French Street, Wilmington, Delaware 
19801, and will also be available for review on the 
Commission's website:  www.state.de.us/delpsc.

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to 
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participate in these proceedings should contact the 
Commission to discuss any auxiliary aids or services needed 
to facilitate such review or participation. Such contact may 
be in person, by writing, by telephone, or otherwise.  The 
Commission's toll-free telephone number (in Delaware) is 
(800) 282-8574.  Any person with questions may also 
contact the Commission Staff at (302) 739-4247 or by Text 
Telephone at (302) 739-4333.  Inquiries can also be sent by 
Internet e-mail to karen.nickerson@state.de.us.

E X H I B I T  “B”

DEFINITIONS:

Main Extension:  The extension of the water utility’s mains 
for the provision of water service.

New Services:  The extension of pipe from the water utility’s 
mains to the customer’s premises.

1.2.12 CONTRIBUTIONS IN-AID-OF 
CONSTRUCTION ("CIAC") -DEFINITION.

Cash, services, funds, property or other value 
received from State, municipal, or other governmental 
agencies, individuals, contractors, or others for the purpose 
of constructing or aiding in the construction of utility plant 
for Main Extensions and which represent a permanent 
infusion of capital from sources other than utility 
bondholders or stockholders.

1.3.13 ADVANCES  FOR  CONSTRUCTION OF 
SERVICES ("ADVANCES") - DEFINITION.

Cash, services, funds, property or other value 
received by the utility which would be a CIAC but for an 
agreement by the utility to refund in whole or in part the 
amount received for New Services so that the Advances 
initially represent a temporary infusion of capital from 
sources other than utility bondholders or stockholders.

3.8 CONTRIBUTIONS IN-AID-OF CONSTRUCTION 
AND ADVANCES.

Nothing contained herein shall prevent a utility from 
accepting either non-refundable Contributions or refundable 
Advances, as defined in §§1.2.12 and 1.3.13, for the 
construction of Main Extensions or the provision of New 
Services.

3.8.1 COMPUTATION OF CIAC.
A utility shall require a CIAC when the request 

for a Main Extension will require the installation of pipe and 
associated utility plant. All charges henceforth to 
contractors, builders, developers, municipalities, 
homeowners, etc., seeking the construction of water 
facilities from a water utility company shall be in the form of 
a CIAC to be paid to the water utility for Category 1 and 2 

facilities’ costs.
Category 1 Costs.
All on-site facility costs that are directly 

assignable to a specific project are Category 1 Costs and 
shall be designated by the utility and paid for by the 
contractor, builder, developer, municipality, homeowner, 
etc., as CIAC, with no refunds.  These costs include such 
items as mains, services, hydrants, treatment plants, wells, 
storage facilities, and shall include any other items that are 
deemed necessary by the Delaware Public Service 
Commission for the provision of utility water service.  The 
cost of a main extension from the furthest point of the project 
site up to 100 feet beyond the boundary of the project shall 
be considered a Category 1 Cost. However, if the main is 
installed only to accommodate a specific project and there 
appears to be little chance that any additional customers 
would be added due to this expansion, then the utility can 
include the cost of installation beyond the 100 feet. 

Category 2 Costs.
Category 2 Costs refer to supply and treatment 

plant costs that are not directly assignable to a specific 
project and the Category 1 Costs have not included any 
significant direct costs for supply and treatment plant. The 
contractor, builder, developer, municipality, or homeowner 
shall pay $1,500 per residential water meter service for their 
portion of supply and treatment facilities already provided 
by the water utility. These costs will be contributed by the 
contractor, builder, developer, municipality, homeowner, 
etc., as CIAC, with no refunds. It is the water utility’s 
responsibility to compute the appropriate charge for non-
residential water meter service, however, the utility must be 
able to justify such charges if challenged in a dispute or 
complaint investigation.

3.8.3 ADVANCES.
An Advance may consist of the following 

components:
a. An amount equal to the entire estimated cost 

(including reasonable overhead costs) of constructing New 
Services; plus

b. Any applicable Federal income taxes, and 
applicable State taxes, that may be generated to the account 
of the utility as a result of the Advance.

3.8.4 REFUNDS OF ADVANCES.
By April 30th of each year, the utility will 

refund a portion of the Advance representing each additional 
customer connected during the previous calendar year or an 
agreed upon percentage of the utility's net revenue generated 
by the new service to which the Advance relates, or pursuant 
to such other methodology as may be established by 
agreement of the parties (the "net refund amount") plus the 
tax savings, if any, which the utility receives from deducting 
the Advance refund payment (the sum of which is referred to 
as the "gross refund amount").  In no event shall the total 
amount refunded by a utility (the sum of the gross refund 
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amounts) exceed the amount received by such utility as an 
Advance (as finally determined by the utility after 
compliance with Rule 3.8.8).  At the end of the negotiated 
refund period, no further refunds or payments will be made. 
If, at the end of such refund period, an Advance has not been 
fully refunded, the remaining unrefunded Advance will be 
considered a CIAC and will be treated for accounting and 
ratemaking purposes as a CIAC. The utility and the 
person(s) making the Advance shall determine the period in 
which the refund of the Advance may occur, but such period 
shall be at least twenty (20) years unless the approval of the 
Commission is obtained to employ a shorter period, except 
that a utility may agree to a full refund in less than twenty 
(20) years.

3.8.5 RATEMAKING TREATMENT OF 
ADVANCES.

An Advance will be considered as a non-
taxable transaction for ratemaking purposes since the income 
taxes, if required, will be provided by the person making the 
Advance.

3.8.6 CIAC COMPONENT.
A CIAC will consist of an amount equal to the 

entire actual cost, including the utility’s standard overhead 
costs of constructing the Main Extension. If any of the 
portion of property contributed by the contractor, builder, 
developer, municipality, homeowner, etc. is deemed taxable 
income to the utility, the utility shall be permitted to gross up 
the amount of the contribution to include such tax liability.

3.8.7 RATEMAKING TREATMENT OF CIAC.
The Federal and State income taxes, if 

required, associated with the CIAC and paid by the utility 
receiving the CIAC, may be added to rate base at which time 
the utility will have an opportunity to earn a fair return on 
this amount.

3.8.8 INTEREST ON EXCESS CONTRIBUTIONS 
AND ADVANCES.

Where the estimated amount of an Advance or 
Contribution exceeds the finally determined cost of the Main 
Extension Or New Services, that excess amount shall be 
returned with interest, at the same rate as authorized by § 
6.1.8 herein, to the person making the Advance or 
Contribution.

Miscellaneous:  This docket will be reopened two years from 
the effective date of these Rules to review the extension 
methodology and to assess its effectiveness, and the CIAC 
computation and costs categories.  After such review and 
assessment, the Commission may, if deemed appropriate, 
consider further modifications.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,

Section 223 (16 Del.C. §223)
16 DE Admin. Code 4108

PUBLIC NOTICE

Nature of the Proceedings

Pursuant to 16 Delaware Code, Section 223, the 
Department of Health and Social Services is proposing 
“Autism Surveillance and Registration Program 
Regulations” that will require health care practitioners to 
report information on children under 18 years of age with 
autism to a central Autism Registry. The information 
collected in the Autism Registry will be used to track 
changes in prevalence of autism over time, to inform the 
planning of service delivery to children with autism and their 
families, and to facilitate autism research.

Notice of Public Hearing

The Division of Public Health, Department of Health 
and Social Services will hold a public hearing to discuss the 
proposed Autism Surveillance and Registration Program 
Regulations.  The public hearing will be held on January 24, 
2005 at 10:00 a.m., in the Third Floor Conference Room of 
the Jesse Cooper Building, Federal and Water Streets, Dover, 
Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for 
review by calling the following location:

Community and Family Health (Rebecca Luis)
Blue Hen Corporate Center, Suite 206
655 S. Bay Road, Dover, Delaware
Telephone: (302) 741-2980

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at 
this hearing should contact David Walton at (302) 744-4700 
by January 21, 2005. Anyone wishing to submit written 
comments as a supplement to or in lieu of oral testimony 
should submit such comments by January 31, 2005 to:

David P. Walton
Division of Public Health
Jesse Cooper Building
P.O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903-0637
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4108 Autism Surveillance and Registration Program

1.0 Purpose
1.1 Autism is a severe neurodevelopmental disorder 

whose prevalence appears to be increasing in Delaware and 
across the United States. An Autism Surveillance and 
Registration, or an Autism Registry, will enable the 
Department of Health & Social Services (DHSS), Division 
of Public Health (DPH) to collect basic descriptive 
information on the individuals with autism, to track changes 
in prevalence over time, to inform the planning of service 
delivery to children with autism and their families, and to 
facilitate autism research.

1.2 The purpose of the Autism Registry is to provide an 
accurate and continuing source of data concerning autism to 
provide information to Public Health officials to help to 
ultimately decrease the autism morbidity burden associated 
with the disorder. The Autism Registry will gather data to 
assist with: prevalence estimation, cluster investigation, risk 
factor identification, and outcome assessment.

1.3 The usefulness of the data collected in the Autism 
Registry will depend upon the full and accurate reporting of 
the confirmed diagnosis of autism by health care 
practitioners, hospitals, and clinical laboratories.

1.4 The Autism Registry will be a separate component 
of the Newborn Screening Management System.

2.0 Definitions
The following words shall have the meanings indicated:
"Autism" means any structural or biochemical 

abnormality, regardless of cause, diagnosed at any time 
before or after birth, that requires medical or surgical 
intervention or that interferes with normal growth or 
development. Reportable autism diagnoses are listed in 
Appendix A of these Regulations.

“Confirmed Autism Or Diagnosed Autism” means an 
abnormality characterized by each of the following 
symptoms:

• Impaired social behavior:
• marked impairment in the use of multiple 

nonverbal behaviors, such as eye-to-eye 
gaze, facial expression, body postures, and 
gestures to regulate social interaction

• failure to develop peer relationships 
appropriate to developmental level

• a lack of spontaneous seeking to share 
enjoyment, interest, or achievements with 
other people (e.g., by a lack of showing, 
bringing, or pointing out objects of 
interest)

• lack of social or emotional reciprocity
• Abnormal development of communication 

skills:
• delay in, or total lack of, the development 

of spoken language (not accompanied by 
an attempt to compensate through 
alternative modes of communication such 
as gesture or mime)

• in individuals with adequate speech, 
marked impairment in the ability to initiate 
or sustain a conversation with others

• stereotyped and repetitive use of language 
or idiosyncratic language

• lack of varied, spontaneous make-believe 
play or social imitative play appropriate to
developmental level

• Lack of awareness of the need for emotional 
support and little emotional response to family 
members: 
• encompassing preoccupation with one or 

more stereotyped and restricted patterns of 
interest that is abnormal either in intensity 
or focus

• apparently inflexible adherence to 
specific, nonfunctional routines or rituals

• stereotyped and repetitive motor 
mannerisms (e.g., hand or finger flapping 
or twisting or complex whole-body 
movements)

• persistent preoccupation with parts of 
objects

"Division" refers to the Division of Public Health under 
the Department of Health and Social Services.

“Infant” refers to a newborn from birth to 1 year of age.
"Registry" means a central data bank containing 

collected, classified, coded, and sorted data relating to 
confirmed autism in children from birth through age 17, as 
reported by health care practitioners, hospitals and clinical 
laboratories.

"Surveillance" means the process of identifying and 
investigating confirmed autism in children under age 18.

“Suspected Autism” is a term used for an infant or 
young child who is showing some developmental variations 
that do not meet the criteria for autism but whose variations 
have been shown to be associated with a risk of eventually 
developing all of the traits of autism.

3.0 Reporting Requirements
The provisions of this section shall apply to the 

Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of Public 
Health, Autism Registry:

3.1 The registry shall collect information on any child 
under the age eighteen (18) who is a resident of the state of 
Delaware, or whose parent is a resident of Delaware, and 
who is diagnosed at any time prior to age eighteen (18) as 
having confirmed autism. For the purposes related to the 
registry the Department shall have access to any medical 
record of the child with confirmed autism.
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3.2 The Department shall have access to information in 
the medical records of children with suspected autism. On 
request of the Department all mandated reporting sources 
should identify children who have suspected autism.  The 
Department shall have access to records of such children.

3.3 Any diagnosis of confirmed autism shall be 
reported for all infants and children up to age 18, including 
those who have since died (if the data is still available).

3.4 For purposes of these reporting requirements, 
reportable diagnoses are those diagnoses, from the 
International Classification of Diseases (ICD) and DSM IV
as listed in Appendix A of these regulations; as well as the 6-
digit modified Pediatric Association system (BPA/ICD-9). 
The reportable diagnoses listed in Appendix A may be 
revised, upon notice, to reflect changes in publications 
accepted for use by the Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention.

3.5 The following persons and organizations are 
required to report occurrences of autism within 30 days of 
diagnosis to the Division of Public Health.

3.5.1 Any physician, surgeon, dentist, podiatrist, 
or other health care practitioner who diagnoses a child with 
autism under age 18 who is not known to be previously 
reported.  Other health care practitioners will include but not 
be limited to: psychiatrists, clinical and school 
psychologists, speech and language pathologists, licensed 
clinical social workers, and nurses including school nurses;

3.5.2 The designated representative of any 
clinical laboratory conducting assessment, evaluation or 
research that performs any test which identifies a child or 
children under age 18 with confirmed autism not known to 
be previously reported; and

3.5.3 The designated representative of any 
hospital that diagnoses a child or children under age 18 with 
confirmed autism.

3.6 The administrative officer of every health care 
facility shall be responsible for establishing reporting 
procedures at that facility, using the identified Autism 
Registry Reporting Form. Reporting procedures must ensure 
that, on the effective date of these regulations, each child up 
to the age of 18 diagnosed as having confirmed autism or 
currently under care with a diagnosis of confirmed autism 
must be reported to the Division.

3.7 Reporting sources shall complete the Division of 
Public Health Autism Surveillance Form for each reported 
case, and forward the completed form to the Division of 
Public Health Director or designee within 30 days of the 
diagnosis.

4.0 Follow-up Information from Reporting Sources
Any follow-up information, including family, physician, 

hospital or clinical laboratory contact deemed necessary by 
the Department, shall be submitted to the Department at least 
1 time each year by those required to report occurrences of 

autism. The required follow-up information for the Autism 
Surveillance and Registry system will be sent to the same 
address as the Autism Registry Report Form.

5.0 Confidentiality of Reports
5.1 No report of a diagnosis or treatment of confirmed 

autism shall be disclosed in such a way as to identify the 
child who is the subject of the report, or as to identify the 
child's family. However, patient-identifying information may 
be exchanged among authorized entities as approved by the
Department and upon receipt by the Department of 
satisfactory assurances by those entities of the preservation 
of the confidentiality of such information. Those entities will 
maintain the confidentiality of any information exchanged 
for the purpose of delivery of program services, evaluation, 
early intervention and epidemiological investigation.

5.2 No individual or organization providing 
information pursuant to these regulations shall be held liable 
for divulging such information to the Division.

5.3 Inclusion on the registry does not determine the 
eligibility for services through any state agency.

6.0 Penalties
Any person or organization required to report the 

diagnosis or treatment of confirmed autism pursuant to these 
regulations, and who violates these regulations, shall be 
subject to a fine of up to $100 for each violation, pursuant to 
16 Del.C. Sec. 226. Justices of the Peace Courts have 
jurisdiction over such violations.

7.0 Severability
In the event any particular clause or section of the 

regulations should be declared invalid or unconstitutional by 
any court of competent jurisdiction, the remaining portions 
shall remain in full force and effective.

APPENDIX A

DELAWARE AUTISM REGISTRY REPORTABLE 
DIAGNOSES

Broad Categories Specific Categories Codes

Autism spectrum    ICD-9
disorder (ASD)      Infantile autism              299.0

     Infantile autism, active state     299.00
     Infantile autism, residual state  299.01
     DSM-IV
     Autistic disorder      299
     Childhood disintegrative
    disorder      299.1
     Rett's Disorder      299.8
     Asperger's Disorder      299.8
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     Pervasive developmental
    disorder NOS         299.8

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Chapter 5, Section 512 (31 Del.C. Ch.5, §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Private Duty Nursing Services

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code), 42 CFR §447.205, and under the authority 
of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, 
Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of 
Social Services / Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Provider 
Manual and the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to revise and 
clarify the criteria and reimbursement methodology for 
Private Duty Nursing (PDN) services. The proposal 
describes program eligibility; who can receive PDN 
services; who can provide the services and the requirements 
that must be met; program limitations; and, services a person 
can receive, if eligible.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720 by January 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATIONS #04-24a
REVISIONS:

Private Duty Nursing Program Provider Specific Policy

1.0 Overview
Up to 28 hours of private duty nursing (PDN) per week 

are included in the Managed Care Organization (MCO) 
benefit package for both the Diamond State Health Plan 
(DSHP) and the Delaware Healthy Children Program 
(DHCP). Additional private duty nursing hours may be 
covered as a wrap-around service for the DSHP. No 
additional private duty nurse hours are covered for the 
DHCP.

Medicaid clients age 21 years and over are eligible for 
up to eight hours of PDN daily.  Children under age 21 are 
covered under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, 
and Treatment (EPSDT) Program and may exceed this limit 
if medically necessary.

Providers shall refer to the Managed Care section of the 
General Policy for the required forms and procedures related 
to Diamond State Partners (DSP).

This manual reflects the policies as they relate to:
• Medicaid clients who are exempt from 

managed care coverage (see list of those 
exempt from managed care coverage in the 
Managed Care section of the General Policy)

• Medicaid clients enrolled in the DSHP whose 
medical need for private duty nursing has been 
determined by the Delaware Medical 
Assistance Program (DMAP) to exceed 28 
hours per week.

• Medicaid clients whose medical need requires 
private duty nursing services in a non-
institutional setting.  This policy does not apply 
to waiver group homes.

1.1 Service Definition
1.1.1 Private duty nursing PDN services are 

available through the Delaware Medical Assistance Program 
(DMAP) DMAP for clients who require more individual and 
continuous skilled care than is available from a visiting nurse 
or than is required to be provided in an inpatient setting by 
the nursing staff of a hospital or skilled nursing facility home 
health services as defined in 42 CFR 440.80.

1.1.2 PDN services may be provided by a single 
nurse to an individual or to multiple clients in a non-
institutional group setting as described above.  The nurse-
client ratio will not exceed 3 clients per nurse. unless 
authorized by the Medical Review Team.

1.1.3 Special aArrangements for multiple clients 
in non-institutional settings may be considered if such 
arrangements are medically appropriate and advantageous to 
both the client and to DMAP.

1.1.4 PDN services are provided to Medicaid 
clients in their home as an alternative to more expensive 
institutional care.  Generally, the total cost of PDN services 
shall not exceed the cost of care provided in an institutional 
setting.

2.0 Qualified Providers
2.1 General Criteria

2.1.1 Private duty nursing may be provided by 
any registered nurse (RN), licensed practical nurse (LPN) or 
certified registered nurse practitioner (CNP) (CRNP) who 
has a professional license from the State to provide nursing 
services.

2.1.2 Home health agencies that employ and 
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provide qualified nursing staff as described above or self-
employed qualified nursing staff are considered qualified 
providers and may enroll as PDN providers.

2.1.2.1 Individual nurses, either employed by 
an agency or self-employed may provide no more than 16 
hours of PDN services in a 24-hour period except in an 
emergency situation which will be reviewed by the Medical 
Review Team.

3.0 Documentation
3.1 Provider Requirements

3.1.1 The private duty nursing provider is 
required to keep the following documentation in the patient’s 
record:

3.1.1.1 Documentation of orientation to 
client’s care needs and demonstration of nursing skills 
necessary to deliver prescribed care.

3.1.1.2 Maintain A written plan of care that is 
established, signed and dated by the attending practitioner 
which includes orders for medications, treatments, 
nutritional requirements, activities permitted, special 
equipment and other ordered therapies.

3.1.1.3 Renew Orders renewed, signed and 
dated at least once every 60 days or as often sooner as the 
severity of the client’s conditions requires.

3.1.1.4 Documentation that the nurse 
promptly alerts the practitioner to any changes that suggest a 
need to alter the plan of care.

3.1.1.5 Adequate documentation dated and 
signed by the nurse performing the service.

4.0 Reimbursement
4.1 Methodology

4.1.1 Private duty nursing services provided to 
eligible DMAP clients are reimbursed using prospectively 
determined at a rates representing hourly or 15 minute units. 
The unit of service for agency providers is one hour, and for 
self-employed nurses is 15 minutes. A weekly maximum 
limit is established for each client by the DMAP based on the 
authorized services.  This limit is defined as the product of 
the hourly rate and the minimum number of hours necessary 
to maintain the client in the home as an alternative to 
institutionalization. Hours will not exceed eight hours daily 
for clients age twenty-one years and over.

4.1.2 Hourly Hourly rrates Rates for agency 
services are reviewed annually. The rate represents the will 
relate to the lowest prevailing usual and customary charge, 
as determined by a survey of all private duty nursing service 
providers agencies.  Providers Agencies will be reimbursed 
the lower of their usual and customary charges or the 
maximum hourly rate.

4.1.3 Rates for self-employed nurses will be 
individually negotiated, but will not exceed a predetermined 
percentage of the agency rate.  Rates may not be 

renegotiated more than once annually except in extenuating 
circumstances. Increases will be limited to the normal 
medical inflation used by DMAP.  Self-employed nurses will 
be reimbursed the lower of their usual and customary 
charges or the maximum rate.

4.1.3 4.1.4 Providers are not required to submit 
cost reports to the DMAP. There are no retrospective 
settlements on claims paid.

4.1.5 The baseline PDN reimbursement rate will 
normally represent services provided by one nurse to one 
client.  An adjusted reimbursement rate per client will be 
established for medically appropriate PDN services provided 
by a single nurse for up to three clients.  Maximum rates are 
established according to the following table:

One client: Rate for One = 100% of established
baseline rate

Two clients Rate for Each = 50% of 143% of
baseline rate

Three clients Rate for Each = 33% of 214% of
baseline rate

For example, if the baseline rate for one client is $21.00 per 
hour, the reimbursement rate for multiple client settings is as 
follows:

One Client: Rate for each client = $21.00 per hour
 (Baseline)

Two Clients Rate for each client = $15.00 per hour
Three Clients Rate for each client = $15.00 per hour

5.0 Prior Authorization
5.1 Requirements

5.1.1 Private duty nursing services must be prior 
authorized by DMAP before payment from the DMAP is 
made available the services are rendered.

5.1.2 Private duty nursing services for clients 
who are eligible for the Elderly and Disabled HCBS Waiver 
program or the Assisted Living Medicaid Waiver program 
must be prior authorized by the nursing staff of the Division 
of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities 
(DSAAPD). See the Index in back of General Policy for 
appropriate address and telephone number.

5.1.3 All other requests for prior authorization 
should be directed to the Medical Review Team Prior 
Authorization Units. located in the Robscott Building The 
New Castle County unit is located in the Robscott Building 
and the Kent/Sussex County unit is located in Georgetown 
(see the Index section in the back of General Policy for the
address and telephone number of each Prior Authorization 
Unit).

5.1.4 The maximum number of hours provided 
by an individual nurse will be restricted to a level that can 
safely and reasonably be provided.  No individual nurse will 
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be authorized to work more than a 16 hour shift per day 
except in an emergency situation which will be reviewed by 
the Medical Review Team.

5.1.5 PDN hours must be used for the period of 
time in which they are authorized.  If the authorized hours 
are not used they cannot be carried over into another time 
period.

5.2 General Guidelines for Private Duty Nursing 
Authorization

5.2.1 Initially, a DSS Medical Services Nurse 
completes a face-to-face medical assessment.  The client will 
receive a written notice of approval or non-approval for PDN 
services.

5.2.2 The on-going need for PDN care is 
routinely/periodically re-evaluated.  DSS may determine that 
because of parent/caregiver work schedule, stability of the 
patient, and other factors, that PDN hours may be reduced or 
increased.

5.2.3 PDN will only be authorized when there is 
at least one caregiver and one back-up caregiver willing and 
able to accept responsibility for the client’s care when the 
nurse is not available. DSS expects that parents/caregivers 
be willing and capable to accept responsibility for their 
relative/child’s care.  If the parent/caregiver cannot or will 
not accept responsibility for the client’s care when PDN is 
not authorized or available, the client is deemed not to be in 
a safe environment and PDN will not be authorized.

5.2.4 DSS cannot guarantee that PDN services 
will be available from a specific home health agency.

5.2.5 DSS reimburses for medically necessary 
transportation through a Medicaid transportation broker. 
DSS expects the parent/caregiver to accompany the client in 
transport.  If, because of employment or school, the parent/
caregiver cannot accompany the client, the prior authorized 
PDN may accompany the client.  If the client is transported 
to a medical appointment or the hospital with the PDN, as 
soon as the parent/caregiver arrives, the PDN service is no 
longer required.  PDN will not be authorized for a nurse to 
accompany a client to a medical appointment or hospital stay 
when the parent/caregiver is available.

5.2.6 PDN may be approved to accompany 
school-age children with a compromised airway in transport 
to school and to provide medically necessary care during 
school hours.

5.2.7 DSS may approve PDN when a child is 
home sick with a cold, virus or normal childhood disease or 
there are unplanned school closures or inclement weather 
days.  However, additional hours must be prior authorized. 
Home health agencies may not be able to provide “on 
demand or same day service.”  Families should contact DSS 
as soon as they know about an unplanned school closure, etc. 
and find a willing and available provider.

5.2.8 DSS may approve PDN to cover summer 
vacation as well as scheduled school year holiday vacations 

for school age children if parent/caregiver requests the 
coverage timely.  Absence of parents/guardian from the 
home for employment or work-related education reasons 
must be documented.

5.2.9 DSS projects a sufficient amount of hours 
per day.  If the hours authorized are not used on a particular 
day, the hours do not carry over to the next day or weekend 
nor can the hours be “banked” to be used at a later time.

5.3 Determination of Hours Needed
5.3.1 DSS does not approve 24 hour on-going 

PDN services.  DSS may approve 24 hours PDN for 3-4 days 
(trach and vent child/adult) to help parents/caregivers adjust 
and ensure all equipment is functioning.  PDN reduces to 20 
hours for 1-2 days.  PDN then reduces to 18 hours then 
reduces to 16 hours, the maximum number of hours a day 
authorized for children (8 hours for adults).

5.3.2 PDN may be reduced further by school 
enrollment or attendance at a Prescribed Pediatric Extended 
Care (PPEC) facility.  A home health aid or Certified 
Nursing Assistant (CNA) may be approved for some clients 
in lieu of PDN when appropriate and cost effective.

5.3.3 An increase in hours may be approved if 
additional hours will avoid hospitalization as a cost effective 
measure.  This will depend on the medical necessity, the 
amount of additional hours needed and the letter of medical 
necessity from the admitting physician.

5.3.4 If a parent/caregiver needs hours for sleep 
and skilled care is required for a client with a compromised 
airway (trach/vent) during this sleep time, PDN is approved 
for a maximum of up to eight hours, generally eight hours 
within the range of 10 pm through 8 am.

5.3.5 PDN is adjusted to cover work and travel 
time of the parent/caregiver or to cover education (class 
schedule) and travel time of the parent, if there is not another 
parent/caregiver in the home.  PDN is authorized for up to 40 
hours per week plus an additional five hours for travel to and 
from work or school.  Parent/guardian work hours/schedule 
must be verified.  PDN for education is for employment 
related classes, vo-tech, GED, high school, college, etc. and 
must be documented.

5.3.6 If medical care is needed, but it is less than 
skilled care, DSS may authorize a CNA or home health aid 
to provide medically necessary care if it is deemed to be the 
most appropriate and cost effective.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATIONS #04-24b
REVISIONS:

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX UNDER THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT 

STATE OF DELAWARE

ATTACHMENT 3.1-A
Page 3a Addendum
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AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL 
AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES PROVIDED 

TO THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

LIMITATIONS:
8. Private Duty Nursing Services: All requests for 

private duty nursing services must be prior authorized. 
Private duty nursing is available only for recipients who 
require more individual and continuous skilled care than is 
available from a visiting nurse or routinely provided by the 
nursing staff of a hospital or nursing facility home health 
services as defined in 42 CFR 440.80.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATIONS #04-24c
REVISIONS:

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX UNDER THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT

STATE OF DELAWARE

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 10

DELAWARE RATES FOR PRIVATE DUTY NURSING

Private Duty Nursing Services, whether performed by a 
provider located in Delaware or a provider with an out-of-
state location are reimbursed at a capped unit rate with 
weekly maximum dollar limit per client, as set by the 
Delaware Medicaid Program. The unit rates are reviewed 
whenever a rate increase is requested by a provider, but no 
more frequently than annually, by conducting a survey of 
agencies that provide private duty nursing services and 
capping the rate at the lowest level available of these 
prevailing rates. The weekly maximum dollar limit is 
derived by multiplying the capped unit rate by the minimum 
number of units necessary to maintain the client in the home 
as an alternative to institutionalization, but not to exceed 
eight (8) hours daily.

Private duty nursing services provided to eligible DMAP 
clients are reimbursed using prospectively determined rates. 
represe The unit of service for agency providers is one hour, 
and for self-employed nurses is 15 minutes. A weekly 
maximum limit is established for each client by the DMAP
based on the authorized services.  

Hourly rRates for agency services are reviewed annually. 
The rate will relate to the lowest prevailing usual and 
customary charge, as determined by a survey of all private 
duty nursing service agencies.  Providers Agencies will be 
reimbursed the lower of their usual and customary charges or 
the maximum hourly rate.

Rates for self-employed nurses will be individually 
negotiated, but will not exceed a predetermined percentage 
of the agency rate.  Rates may not be renegotiated more than 
once annually except in extenuating circumstances. 
Increases will be limited to the normal medical inflation used 
by DMAP. Self-employed nurses will be reimbursed the 
lower of their usual and customary charges or the maximum 
rate.

Providers are not required to submit cost reports to the 
DMAP. There are no retrospective settlements on claims 
paid.

The baseline PDN reimbursement rate will normally 
represent services provided by one nurse to one client.  An 
adjusted reimbursement rate per client will be established for 
medically appropriate PDN services provided by a single 
nurse for up to three clients.  Maximum rates are established 
according to the following table:

One client: Rate for One = 100% of established
baseline rate

Two clients Rate for Each = 50% of 143% of
baseline rate

Three clients Rate for Each = 33% of 214% of
baseline rate

For example, if the baseline rate for one client is $21.00 per 
hour, the reimbursement rate for multiple client settings is as 
follows:

One Client: Rate for each client  = $21.00 per hour
(Baseline)

Two Clients Rate for each client  = $15.00 per hour
Three Clients Rate for each client  = $15.00 per hour

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. Ch.5, §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Child Care Subsidy Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding the child care subsidy program as it 
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relates to the determination of the child care parent fee and 
fee waiving situations.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by January 31, 
2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of The Proposed Provisions

DSSM 11004.7 – Determination of the Child Care Parent 
Fee and Fee Waiving Situations

• In accordance with the Trademark Agreement, 
replaced previous program name with Delaware’s 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Welfare 
Reform Program, where applicable.

• Renumbered and revised the conditions under 
which child care fees will be waived; and, included 
examples. 

Added one more condition: waive the parent fee of teen 
parent attending high school.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #04-28
REVISIONS:

11004.7 Determination of The Child Care Parent Fee and 
Fee Waiving Situations

Under regulations, eligible families are required to 
contribute to the cost of child care services based upon their 
ability to pay.  Families contribute to the cost of care by 
paying a DSS child care parent fee.  DSS, however, provides 
child care services to certain families at no cost.  Part of the 
process, therefore, of determining fees includes not only the 
decision of how much parent/caretakers should pay for the 
cost of care, but also which families should receive services 
at no cost.   Part of the process after determining the client’s 
financial eligibility and need for child care would be 
determining the parent fee and which families should have 
their parent fee waived.

All child care fees will be waived if the family meets one of 
the four (4) six (6) conditions below.

1. For all families in Category 31 active with the 
Division of Family Services (DFS) including foster care 

families.
2. For all families in Delaware's Temporary 

Assistance For Needy Families Program (TANF) in 
Categories 11 and 12.  General Assistance (GA) families, 
and caretakers in Category 31 caring for children who 
receive TANF or GA assistance where the adult requesting 
the child care is not the child's natural or adoptive parent (for 
example, grandparents, aunts, uncles, etc.).

3. When paying the fee creates an excessive financial 
burden (as defined below). Excessive financial burden is 
defined as situations where the family's disposable income, 
after deductions listed below, result in the family having 
income below 75% of the federal poverty level.  Deductions 
are limited to:

• rent, mortgage, lot rent;
• any mandatory expense required by the landlord or 

mortgage holder (e.g., homeowners insurance, 
property taxes, school taxes);

• actual utility expenses (e.g., electric, gas, water, 
sewer);

• unreimbursed medical costs:  Before considering 
these medical costs as deductions, families not 
already receiving Medicaid or on the Delaware 
Healthy Children Program (DHCP), must first 
apply for either Medicaid of the DHCP.  Any 
unreimbursed medical costs not covered by 
Medicaid or the DHCP will be considered as a 
deduction to determine the family's income for 
excessive financial burden.

4. Families where the need for service is based on the 
special needs of the child or the caretaker.

1. Families active with and referred by the Division of 
Family Services (DFS) including foster care families.

2. Families in Delaware’s TANF Program in 
Categories 11 and 12, and General Assistance (GA) families. 

3. Families where the need for service is solely based 
on the special needs of the child or the caretaker/parent. 
Families must first be financially eligible for Child Care 
Services. (See policy section 11003.7)

EXAMPLE: A family consisting of a working 
mother and two children applies for Purchase of Care.  One 
child has ADD/HD and mom needs child care because she is 
working.  The parent fee for the child with ADD/HD would 
not be waived due to special needs.  The need for care is 
based on her employment not the special need.

EXAMPLE: A family consisting of a working 
father, stay at home mother and two children applies for 
POC.  They are income eligible and the mom states she 
needs childcare because her one child is developmentally 
delayed and needs increased socialization.  If this is verified 
by a professional on the Special Needs form 611, they may 
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receive child care for that child based on the special need and 
the parent fee for that child will be waived.  (Note, the only 
need for child care is due to the child’s special need, Mom is 
at home so there would not otherwise be a need for POC.)

4. Caretakers in Category 31 caring for a child/
children who receive TANF or GA assistance where the 
adult requesting the child care is not the child’s natural or 
adoptive parent (for example, grandparents, aunts, uncles, 
etc.). 

5. When paying the fee creates an excessive financial 
burden.  Excessive financial burden is defined as a situation 
where the family’s disposable income prior to the deductions 
or after the deductions, result in the family having income 
below 75% of the federal poverty level.  Deductions are 
limited to:

• rent, mortgage, lot rent;
• any mandatory expenses required by the landlord 

or mortgage holder (e.g., homeowners insurance, 
property taxes, school taxes);

• actual current monthly utility expenses (e.g., 
electric, gas, trash, water and sewer). Late fee’s 
and past due amounts are not included.

• telephone expenses are capped at the same rate as 
the FS standard deduction for telephone bills;

• un-reimbursed medical costs (Before considering 
these medical costs as deductions, families not 
already receiving Medicaid or on the Delaware 
Healthy Children Program (DHCP) must first 
apply for either Medicaid or the DHCP.  The 
DHCP premiums are included in the un-
reimbursed medical cost deductions.  Any un-
reimbursed medical costs not covered by 
Medicaid or the DHCP will be considered as a 
deduction to determine the family’s income for 
excessive financial burden.)

EXAMPLE:
A family of three has gross monthly income of 

$1,417.00.  The parent fee for this family would be 23% of 
the cost of care.  The rent payment for this family is $550/
month.  Utility expenses are $20 for phone and $65 for 
electric.

Total income per month equals: $1,417.00
Total expenses are: $   635.00
After deductions: $   782.00
$782.00 is less than $954.00, 75% of the 

federal poverty level for a family of 3, so this family can 
have the parent fee waived.

EXAMPLE: 
A family of four has a gross monthly income of 

$2,203.00.  The parent fee for this family would be 44% of 
the cost of care.  The rent payment for this family is $600/
month.  Utility expenses are $20 for phone and $165 for 

electric.
Total income per month equals: $2,203.00
Total expenses are: $   785.00
After deductions: $1,418.00
$1,418.00 is more than $1,150.00, 75% of the 

federal poverty level for a family of 4, so this family will not 
have the parent fee waived.

6. Teen parents 18 years old or younger attending high 
school or a high school equivalent.

All requests to waive the fee must be documented in the case 
file and be approved by the unit supervisor.  Requests to 
waive the fee for Division of Social Service (DSS) 
employees (seasonal, merit system) or temporary employees 
working for DSS must be approved by the Operations 
Administrator, as well as the unit supervisor.

As is the case with income, a person who acts as a child's 
caretaker, as defined in Section 11002.9, pays a child care 
fee based only upon income attributable to the child, unless 
the family meets one of the waived fee conditions above.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. Ch.5, §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Long Term Care Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding the Long Term Care Program. The 
proposal gives direction on counting annuities and their 
streams of income for the eligibility process; to clarify that 
the list of non-liquid resources is not all inclusive; and, to 
correct an inconsistency in language.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by January 31, 
2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
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of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of The Proposed Changes

1. To DSSM 20300.2 Non-Liquid Resources:
• Add the word “annuity” to the list of non-liquid 

resources; and,
• Add the words ‘including but not limited to”.

2. To DSSM 20360 Conditional Medicaid Coverage 
While Disposing of Resources:

Delete the word “securities” from DSSM 20360. 
there exists an inconsistency in DSSM 20360 which lists 
“securities” as a non-liquid resource while DSSM 20300.0 
lists “stocks” as a liquid resource.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #04-27
REVISIONS:

20300.2 Non-Liquid Resources

Assets that require more than 20 working days to convert to 
cash are considered non-liquid.

The following types of resources are non-liquid:, including 
but not limited to: annuities and their streams of income,
household goods and personal effects, automobiles, trucks, 
tractors, and other vehicles, machinery and livestock, 
buildings and land, non-cash business property.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

20360 Conditional Medicaid Coverage While Disposing 
of Resources

Effective September 1, 1987 "conditional" Medicaid 
coverage for nursing home care can be approved for 
applicants who need Medicaid services while they are 
disposing of non-liquid resources, e.g., property, securities, 
etc.  There are strict limits on the amount of time allowed for 
sale of resources and the applicant must sign a statement 
agreeing to the conditions before an application can be 
approved. Under conditional eligibility, excess resources are 
treated as a "conditional exclusion" and are not counted 
during the conditional benefit period.

However, there is no "conditional exclusion" for spousal 
impoverishment cases.  These resources count because they 
meet the spousal definition of countable resources. They 
should be counted in the spousal resource calculation.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. Ch.5, §512)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Long Term Care Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding the Long Term Care Program related to 
the redemption period for certain U.S. Savings Bonds and 
provides instructions on waiving the redemption period for 
U.S. Savings Bonds

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by January 31, 
2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

Summary Of The Proposed Changes

Citations

• 31 CFR 351.6; 352.12;359.70; 351.85; 360.90
• POMS SI  01140.240

To DSSM 20330.7 - U.S. Savings Bonds:

1. Change the redemption period for U.S. Savings 
Bonds Series EE and I from 6 months to 12 months; and,

2. Include instructions provided by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) on waiving the 
mandatory redemption period.

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #04-29
REVISIONS:

20330.7 U.S. Savings Bonds

U.S. Savings Bonds are obligations of the Federal 
Government. They are not transferable and can only be sold 
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back to the Federal Government.  They Normally, they
cannot be redeemed for six months after the issue date 
specified on the face of the bond. For Series EE, and I 
Savings Bonds, the redemption period has been extended to 
12 months. They are not resources during the 6-month
mandatory retention period.  They become resources (not 
income) as of the 7th or 13th month.  A bond may not roll 
over or renew in order to prolong the minimum retention 
period.  Actual redemption (converting to cash) of one bond 
is required before purchasing a new bond.  However, the 
U.S. Treasury regulation authorizes the Commission of 
Public Debt to waive the regulatory provisions pertaining to 
U.S. Savings bonds including the redemption period in order 
to “relieve any person or persons of unnecessary hardship”. 
A request for a refund because the person now requires 
Nursing Home care and so needs the funds used to purchase 
the bonds may constitute hardship.  A written request to the 
Commissioner of Public Debt requesting a waiver to the 
redemption period is all that is required.  The bondholder 
may simultaneously tender the bond(s) for redemption.

The individual in whose name a U.S. Savings Bond is 
registered owns it.  The Social Security Number shown on a 
bond is not proof of ownership.  The co-owners of a bond 
(bond titled AND/OR) own equal (50%) shares of the 
redemption value of the bond.  The bond may show an 
owner followed by POD (proof of death) and another name. 
This is a survivorship type of bond. The first named 
individual owns 100% of the bond.  The second individual 
will own 100% of the bond upon the death of the first 
individual. 

Physical possession of a U.S. Savings Bond is a requirement 
for redeeming it.  This is true for sole or joint ownership.  If 
an individual alleges that he or she cannot submit a bond 
because a co-owner or other individual will not relinquish 
physical possession of the bond, obtain a signed statement 
from the co-owner or the other individual that he or she:  has 
physical possession of the bond; will not allow the applicant 
to cash the bond; and if co-owner, will not cash the bond and 
give the applicant his or her share.

The Table of Redemption Values for U.S. Savings Bonds is 
used to determine the value of a bond.  These are available 
from a local bank. The bank will need the series, 
denomination, date of purchase or issue date. After the 
mandatory 6 month retention period, the value of a series H 
or HH bond is its face value.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. Title Of The Regulation:
Regulation 45 -- Excessive Idling of Heavy Duty 

Vehicles 

2. Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And 
Issues:

The Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control, Division of Air and Waste 
Management, Air Quality Management Section is proposing 
a revision to the State Implementation Plan for the 
Attainment and Maintenance of the National Air Quality 
Standards for Ozone. Delaware has been designated 
moderate non-attainment for the eight hour ozone standard. 
The proposed revision will contain a new regulation, 
Regulation No. 45. In order to curb air emissions that 
contribute to the poor air quality in the State, the Department 
is proposing to regulate the engine idling time for the 
operation of on-road heavy-duty vehicles, having a gross 
vehicle weight rating of over 8,500 pounds. This regulation 
will continue the efforts by the State to reduce the emissions 
of NOx (nitrogen oxides), particulates and other tailpipe 
pollutants from vehicles operated in Delaware.

3. Possible Terms Of The Agency Action:
N/A

4. Statutory Basis Or Legal Authority To Act:
7 Del.C. Section 6010
29 Del.C.  Chapter 101

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The 
Proposal:

None

6. Notice Of Public Comment:
The Department will hold a public hearing on January 

25, 2005 at 6 PM at the office of Air Quality Management 
Section, 156 South State Street, Dover Delaware, in the 
second floor conference room. Prior to the public hearing, an 
informational workshop on the proposal will be held on 
January  6, 2005 at 1:30 PM at the same location above.
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7. Prepared By:
Philip Wheeler (302) 739-4791December 9, 2004

Regulation 45
Excessive Idling of Heavy Duty Vehicles

1.0 Applicability 
This regulation applies to all on-road heavy-duty motor 

vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 
greater than 8,500 pounds operating in the State of 
Delaware.

2.0 Definitions
The following definitions are applicable to this 

regulation: 
“Emergency vehicle” means any publicly owned 

and operated ambulance, lifeguard, or lifesaving equipment 
or any privately owned or operated vehicle which is in 
response to an emergency call. Any publicly owned vehicle 
operated by the following persons, agencies, or 
organizations: (a) any federal, state, or local agency, 
department, or district employing peace officers for use by 
those officers in the performance of their duties, and,; (b) 
any forestry or fire department of any public agency or fire 
department.  Any vehicle owned or operated for the purpose 
of: (a) fighting fires, (b) towing or servicing other vehicles, ( 
c) caring for injured persons, or (d) repairing, maintaining 
and restoring public utility services necessary for the health 
and/or safety by any of the following: (1) the state, (2) a 
bridge and highway district, (3) a municipality and (4) a 
public or private utility Any state-owned vehicle used in 
responding to emergency fire, rescue or communications 
calls and operated either by the Delaware Emergency 
Management Agency or by any public agency or industrial 
fire department to which the Delaware Emergency 
Management Agency has assigned the vehicle. Any vehicle 
owned or operated by any department or agency of the 
United States government when the vehicle is used in 
responding to emergency fire, ambulance, or lifesaving calls 
or is actively engaged in law enforcement work. Any 
emergency vehicle which a permit has been issued by the 
Superintendent of the Delaware State Police.

“On-road heavy-duty motor vehicle” means any 
vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 
greater than 8,500 pounds which is self- propelled and 
designed for transporting persons or property, including but 
not limited to trucks, buses, and farm vehicles.

3.0 Severability
Each section of this regulation shall be deemed 

severable. If any section of this regulation is held to be 
invalid, the remainder shall continue in full force and effect.

4.0 Operational Requirements for Heavy Duty Motor 

Vehicles.
The owner or operator of an on-road heavy duty motor 

vehicle shall comply with the following operational 
requirements unless specifically exempted from the 
operational requirements for these motor vehicles:

No on-road heavy duty motor vehicle shall be allowed 
to operate for more than three (3) consecutive minutes when 
the vehicle is not in motion.

5.0 Exemptions 
5.1 any on-road heavy duty motor vehicle which is 

forced to remain motionless because of traffic conditions or 
mechanical difficulties over which the operator has no 
control; or

5.2 any situation where it is necessary to bring the on-
road heavy duty vehicle to the manufacturer's recommended 
operating temperature; or

5.3 any situation when the on-road heavy duty vehicle 
is being repaired; or

5.4 any emergency vehicle defined in Section 2.0 of 
this regulation; or

5.5 any vehicle using auxiliary power for equipment to 
perform the intended operation of the vehicle, including, by 
way of example, a  power take off generator for any utility 
truck; or

5.6 any vehicle idling for the necessary power for a 
heater, air conditioner, or any ancillary equipment during 
sleeping or resting in a sleeper berth such that the vehicle’s 
location is not within 25 miles of a parking facility with 
available truckstop electrification equipment, either shore 
power or an advance system; or

5.7 any vehicle idling to verify that the vehicle is in 
safe operating condition as required by law and that all 
equipment is in good working order, either as part of a  daily 
vehicle inspection or as otherwise needed, provided that 
such engine  idling is mandatory for such verification; or
any transit or school  bus for  up to five (5) minutes prior to 
passenger boarding; or

5.8 any transit or school  bus when passengers are 
onboard; or

5.9 any vehicle when providing heat to the occupant 
and when the temperature is between -23 and 0 C, or -10 and 
32 F, an engine shall not idle for more than 15 consecutive 
minutes; or when the temperature is below -23 C or -10 F, 
and where no nuisance is created, an engine shall not be 
subject to idling restrictions.

6.0 Enforcement and Penalty
This regulation is enforceable under Title 7 Chapter 60, 

§§6005 and 6013 of the Delaware Code. Violators are 
subject to a penalty of not less than fifty dollars ($50) and 
not more than five-hundred dollars ($500) for each offence.
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DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code

Chapter 60 and 3 Delaware Code Chapter 22
(7 Del.C. Ch. 60 and 3 Del.C. Ch. 22)

REGISTER NOTICE

1. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues
The Department of Natural Resources and 

Environmental Control, The Department of Agriculture and 
the Delaware Nutrient management Commission are 
proposing general permit regulations for concentrated 
animal feeding operations (CAFOs).  The proposed CAFO 
regulations will amend section 9 (The General Permit 
Program) of the Regulations Governing the Control of 
Water Pollution. The Clean Water Act and recent revisions 
to federal regulations define  a CAFO.  The draft regulations 
were developed cooperatively with the involvement of the 
Department of Agriculture, Delaware Nutrient Management 
Commission, Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control, Natural Resource Conservation 
Service  and the University of Delaware.  

2. Possible Terms of the Agency Action: 
N/A

3. List of Other Regulations That May be Impacted or 
Affected by the Proposal:  

Regulations Governing the Control of Water 
Pollution (Amended May 14, 2003)

4. Notice Of Public Comment
The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 

Control,  the Department of Agriculture and the Delaware 
Nutrient Management Commission  will hold public hearings 
on January 25, 2005 at 6 PM at the Farmington Fire Hall and 
January 27, 2005 at 6 PM at the Gumboro Fire Hall to receive 
comments on proposed amendments to the  Regulations 
Governing the Control of Water Pollution. Comments 
should be sent in writing to Peder Hansen, Surface Water 
Discharges Section, Division of Water Resources, DNREC, 89 
Kings Hwy., Dover, DE 19901.

Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution

9.0 The General Permit Program
Introduction.  This section of the regulations, the 

General Permit Program, is designed to provide NPDES 
permit coverage to a specified group, category or class of 
discharges that are substantially similar in nature or type of 
pollutants discharged. These regulations outline the general 
provisions or requirements that apply to all discharges within 
the specified category. This approach eases the 

administrative burden of developing and issuing a large 
number of individual NPDES permits for essentially the 
same type of discharge. By issuing general permits, the 
Department can provide a quicker and less expensive 
mechanism for the regulated community to obtain permit 
coverage. It also allows staff resources to concentrate on 
discharges that may have more significant potential for 
impacting the quality of Delaware's surface waters.

General NPDES Permits as defined by federal 
regulations in 40 C.F.R. §122.28, authorize a category of 
discharges from sources within a defined area that share 
certain similarities. General NPDES Permits are self-
implementing standards applicable to multiple dischargers 
that the DNREC has determined can best be regulated as a 
class. Conversely, individual NPDES permits are issued to a 
potential discharger who applies for a permit with special 
conditions specifically tailored to the discharger. Thus, a 
General NPDES Permit is an agency statement of general 
applicability and future effect that implements and 
prescribes law and as such is a regulation.

Although no individual permits will be issued to the 
categories of dischargers covered by this section of the 
regulations, the subsections dealing with each category may 
be referred to as "General NPDES Permits" and the entire 
Section of these regulations may be referred to as the 
"General NPDES Permit Program."

In order to obtain coverage under this section of these 
regulations (the General NPDES Permit Program), most 
persons will be required to file with the Department a Notice 
of Intent to be covered in accordance with 40 C.F.R. 
§122.28(b)(2). The Department will consider this the 
equivalent of an NPDES Permit application for a General 
NPDES Permit.

Subsection 9.1 provides NPDES permit coverage for 
storm water discharges associated with industrial activity. 
Industrial activity is that which is directly related to 
manufacturing, processing, raw material handling or waste 
handling. The regulations in Subsection 1 seek to define a 
program for controlling material handling and other 
industrial activities such that the potential for exposing 
significant materials to precipitation and the subsequent 
transport of such materials via storm water runoff or 
infiltration is eliminated or minimized to the maximum 
extent practicable. Significant materials are those 
substances, products or wastes that become exposed to 
precipitation as a result of the industrial activity and 
potentially contribute pollutants to storm water runoff or 
storm water infiltration. The types of activities or categories 
of industries covered under this subsection are listed in 
§9.1.1.1, as well as in the federal regulations, 40 CFR Part 
122.26(b)(14).

Part 1 of Subsection 9.1 consists of general provisions 
that apply to each category of industrial activity specified in 
§9.1.1.1. Part 2 outlines specific provisions applicable to 
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storm water discharges associated with land disturbing 
activities (i.e. construction activities). The regulations in Part 
2 are designed to mesh NPDES permit program 
requirements with existing provisions for sediment and 
erosion control under 7 Del.C. Ch. 40 and the Delaware 
Sediment and Stormwater Regulations. The remaining Parts 
under Subsection 1 outline category-specific storm water 
requirements that are tailored to the activity conducted.

Subsections 9.2 through 9.6 provide NPDES permit 
coverage for the following categories of discharges: 
discharges from aquaculture or aquatic animal production 
facilities; discharges from the clean up of gasoline and fuel 
oil released from underground storage tanks; discharges 
from feedlot or concentrated animal feeding operations; 
discharges associated with car washes and other motor 
vehicle washing operations; and discharges associated with 
the operation of swimming pools and spas.

9.1 Regulations Governing Storm Water Discharges 
Associated with Industrial Activities

Part 1 - Baseline General Permit (§9.1.1)
Part 2 - Special Conditions for Storm Water 

Discharges Associated with Land Disturbing Activities 
(§9.1.2.)

Part 3 - Special Conditions for Storm Water 
Discharges Associated with Concrete Manufacturing 
Activities (§9.1.3)

Part 4 - Special Conditions for Storm Water 
Discharges Associated with Asphalt Manufacturing 
Activities (§9.1.04.)

Part 5 - Special Conditions for Storm Water 
Discharges Associated with Chemical Manufacturing 
Activities (§9.1.05.)

Part 6 - Special Conditions for Storm Water 
Discharges Associated with Activities Regulated by the 
Delaware Regulations Governing Solid Waste (§9.1.06.)

Part 7 - Special Conditions for Storm Water 
Discharges Associated with Automotive Salvaging 
Activities (§9.1.07.)

Part 8 - Special Conditions for Storm Water 
Discharges Associated with Scrap Recycling Activities 
(§9.1.08.) 

Part 9 -  Special Conditions for Storm Water 
Discharges Associated with Watercraft Maintenance 
Activities (§9.1.09.)

Part10 - Special Conditions for Storm Water 
Discharges Associated with Air Transportation Maintenance 
and De-icing Activities (§9.1.10.)

Part 11 - Special Conditions for Storm Water 
Discharges Associated with Rail Transportation 
Maintenance Activities (§9.1.11.)

Part 12 - Special Conditions for Storm Water 
Discharges Associated with Automotive Transportation 
Maintenance Activities (§9.1.12.)

Part 13 - Special Conditions for Storm Water 

Discharges Associated with Food Processing Activities 
(§9.1.13.)

Part 14 - Special Conditions for Storm Water 
Discharges Associated with Metals Manufacturing Activities 
(§9.1.14.)

APPENDIX -Water Priority Chemicals
9.2 Regulations Governing Discharges from 

Aquaculture or Aquatic Animal Production Facilities 
(Reserved)

9.3 Regulations Governing Discharges from the Clean 
Up of Gasoline and Fuel Oil Released from Underground 
Storage Tanks (Reserved)

9.4 The Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation 
(CAFO)

PREAMBLE
These regulations have been developed pursuant to 

3 Del.C. §2201-2290 and 7 Del.C. §6000 et.al., 40 Code of 
Federal Regulations (C.F.R) §122.23 and 40 C.F.R. §122, 
Appendix B and 40 CFR part 412.  These statutory and 
regulatory authorities establish the requirement that a 
National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) 
permitting program for Concentrated Animal Feeding 
Operations (CAFOs) be implemented. These regulations will 
function as the baseline CAFO standards for compliance of 
NPDES permits applicable to certain farms.  The Delaware 
Department of Agriculture (DDA) will administer these 
regulations, while the legal framework and authority is 
maintained by the Delaware Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control.  In general, NPDES 
general permits, as provided in these regulations, are 
effective for five years.  After five years, new or updated 
CAFO General Permit regulations will be promulgated. 
These regulations were developed by the Delaware Nutrient 
Management Commission, the Delaware Department of 
Agriculture and the Delaware Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control. They are to be 
adopted with the guidance, advice and consent of the 
Commission.

9.4.1 Authority.
These regulations are promulgated pursuant to 

the authority provided by 3 Del.C. §2200 et.al. and 7 Del.C. 
§6000 et.al.

9.4.2 Purpose.
The purpose of these regulations is to establish 

requirements for certain animal feeding operations defined 
as a Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation (CAFO) in 
order to protect water quality from activities associated with 
CAFO management sustain and provide a profitable 
agricultural industry and to help meet or exceed Federal 
mandated water quality standards.  

9.4.3 Definitions.
For purposes of these regulations, the 

following words or terms shall have the meanings as 
indicated:
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“Animal Feeding Operation” or “AFO”
means a lot or facility (other than an aquatic animal 
production facility) where the animals have been, or will be 
stabled or confined and fed or maintained for a total of 45 
days or more in any 12-month period, and the animal 
confinement areas do not sustain crops, vegetation, forage 
growth or post-harvest residues in the normal growing 
season.  Two or more AFOs under common ownership are 
considered to be a single AFO for the purposes of 
determining the number of animals in an operation, if the 
production areas adjoin each other or if the AFOs use a 
common area or system for the disposal of wastes.  (For 
example, facilities or production areas that are commonly 
managed, co-located and share manure storage systems are 
considered a single AFO.  A poultry operation with many 
facilities in a single location or address is deemed a single 
AFO).

“Animal Waste Management Plan” means a 
plan written by a certified nutrient management consultant 
that documents and recommends a combination of 
conservation practices and management measures for the 
handling, storage, treatment and management of any or all of 
the following for use on cropland and pastureland: animal 
wastes, manures, composted dead animals, or process 
wastewater from any animal feeding operation.  

“Applicant” means any person seeking and or 
required to obtain an individual CAFO permit or coverage 
under a general permit.

“Apply,” “applying,” or any variation of the 
word “apply,” as it relates to the application of nutrients, 
means the human controlled mechanical conveyance of 
nutrients to land for the purpose of applying organic and/or 
inorganic nutrients.

“Best Management Practices” or “BMP” 
means those practices that have been approved by the 
Delaware Nutrient Management Commission.

“Catastrophic Mortalities” means any 
mortality that exceeds the approved disposal system capacity 
to accommodate losses within 24 hours.  Most disposal 
systems are designed to handle the normal anticipated 
mortality.  If enough animals are lost and the disposal system 
cannot hold them all without causing serious disruption in 
the disposal process, then it is a catastrophic loss.  

“Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation”
or CAFO” is an animal feeding operation that is subject to 
the terms and conditions of these regulations.  A CAFO is 
designated by the confinement of the number of animals 
specified in section D of these regulations.

“Delaware Nutrient Management 
Commission,” “DNMC,” or “Commission” means the 
Commission established by 3 Del.C. §2220 “or its 
designee.”

“Department” means the Delaware 
Department of Agriculture.

“Discharge of a Pollutant” means the 
addition of any pollutant or combination of pollutants, to 
state waters or contiguous zones, or the ocean, from any 
source or activity other than a vessel or other floating craft 
when being used as a means of transportation and in 
compliance with Section 312 of the Act. This definition 
includes additions of pollutants into State waters from:

Surface runoff that is collected or 
channeled by man;

Discharges through pipes, sewers, and 
other conveyances which do not lead to a treatment works; 
and

Discharges through pipes, sewers, or other 
conveyances, leading into a treatment works other than a 
publicly owned treatment works (POTW).

“Drainage Ditch” is defined as a constructed 
or reconstructed watercourse with a drainage area less than 
800 acres.  A constructed or reconstructed watercourse with 
a drainage area greater than 800 acres is considered a stream.

“Effluent Limitation” means any restrictions, 
prohibitions, or permit requirements established under State 
or Federal law, including but not limited to, standards of 
performance for new sources, best management practices or 
BMPs, effluent standards and ocean discharge criteria on the 
quantities, rates, and concentrations of the chemical, 
physical, biological, or other constituents discharged into 
State waters.

“Freeboard Action Level” is the liquid level 
within a lagoon or other liquid storage structure that 
indicates the structure is full and implies that immediate 
steps be taken to transfer liquid out of the waste storage 
structure.

“General Permit” means an authorization 
granted to a category of point sources discharges pursuant to 
Section 9 of the Regulations Governing the Control of Water 
Pollution.

“Ground Water” means any water naturally 
found under the surface of the earth.

“Inorganic Fertilizer(s)” means a fertilizer 
comprised of chemically synthesized plant nutrient elements 
that are essential for plant growth and include at least 
nitrogen or phosphorus.

“Liquid Manure” means usually less than 
8.0% solids.  Wash water, runoff, precipitation, and so forth 
are added, if needed to dilute the manure and lower the 
solids content.

“Liquid Manure Handling System” means 
an operation where animals are raised outside with 
swimming areas or ponds, or with a stream running through 
an open lot, or in confinement buildings where water is used 
to flush the manure to a lagoon, pond, or some other liquid 
storage structure.

“Manure” is defined to include fecal and 
urinary defecations of livestock and poultry; may include 
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spilled feed, bedding, soil, compost and raw materials if 
commingled with manure.
 “NPDES”  (National Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System) means the national program for issuing, 
modifying, revoking and reissuing, terminating, monitoring 
and enforcing permits for the discharge of any pollutant or 
combination of pollutants and imposing and enforcing 
pretreatment and sludge requirements pursuant to Sections 
307, 402, 318, and 405 of the Act.

“Notice of Intent (NOI)” means the form used 
to serve as a notification of the intention of the facility 
identified on the form to adhere to the provisions of The 
Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation Regulations. 

“Nutrient Management Plan” or “Plan” 
means a plan by a certified nutrient consultant to manage the 
amount, placement, timing and application of nutrients in 
order to reduce nutrient loss or runoff and to maintain the 
productivity of soil when growing agricultural commodities 
and turf grass. 

“Nutrients” means nitrogen, nitrate, 
phosphorus, organic matter and any other elements 
necessary for or helpful to plant growth. 

“Phosphorus Site Index or PSI” means the 
assessment tool developed by the University of Delaware 
designed to evaluate the site characteristics and management 
factors in determining Phosphorus loss to the environment.  

“Person” means any individual, partnership, 
association, fiduciary, corporation, or any organized group of 
persons, whether incorporated or not.

“Pollutant” means any substance, which 
causes or contributes to, or may cause or contribute to, 
pollution.

“Process Wastewater” means any process-
generated wastewater directly or indirectly used in the 
operation of an AFO (such as spillage or overflow from 
animal or poultry watering systems; washing, cleaning, or 
flushing pens, barns, manure pits; direct contact swimming, 
washing, or spray cooling of animals; and dust control) or 
any precipitation (rain or snow) which comes into contact 
with any manure or litter, bedding, or any other raw material 
or intermediate or final material or product used in or 
resulting from the production of animals or poultry or direct 
products (e.g., milk, eggs).

“Production Area” means that part of an AFO 
that includes the animal confinement area, the manure 
storage area, the raw materials storage area and the waste 
containment areas, also includes egg washing or processing 
facility and any area used in the storage, handling, treatment 
or disposal of mortalities.

“Realistic Yield Goals” are defined as the 
expected crop yields based on the best 4 out of 7 years of 
recorded data.  Without yield records, one shall use soil 
productivity classes.  Yield goals higher than the average, 
require written justification from a certified consultant.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the 
Delaware Department of Agriculture or his/her designee.

“Sinkhole” is defined as a depression in the 
landscape where limestone has been dissolved.

“Soil Productivity” means the capacity of a 
soil, in its normal environment, to produce a specified plant 
or sequence of plants under a specified system of 
management.  The “specified” limitations are needed 
because no soil can produce all crops with equal success and 
a single system of management cannot achieve the same 
effect on all soils.  Productivity means the capacity of soil to 
produce crops and is expressed in terms of yields.  

“State Nutrient Management Program” or 
“SNMP” means all the nutrient management program 
elements developed by the Commission, whether or not 
reduced to rules or regulations.

“State Waters” or “Waters of the State” 
means all water, on the surface and under the ground, wholly 
or partially within, or bordering the State, or within its 
jurisdiction including but not limited to:

• Waters which are subject to the ebb and 
flow of the tide including, but not limited 
to, estuaries, bays and the Atlantic Ocean;

• All interstate waters, including interstate 
wetlands;

• All other waters of the State, such as lakes, 
rivers, streams (including intermittent and 
ephemeral streams), drainage ditches, tax 
ditches, creeks, mudflats, sand flats, 
wetlands, sloughs, or natural or 
impounded ponds;

• All impoundments of waters otherwise 
defined as waters of the State under this 
definition;

• Wetlands adjacent to waters (other than 
waters that are themselves wetlands) 
identified in the above four statements.

• Waste and storm water treatment systems 
or waste storage structures including, but 
not limited to, treatment ponds or lagoons 
designed to meet the requirements of the 
Act (other than cooling ponds which 
otherwise meet the requirements of this 
definition) are not “State waters” or 
“waters of the State.”  This exclusion 
applies only to manmade bodies of water, 
which neither were originally created in 
waters of the State nor resulted from the 
impoundment of waters of the State

“Vegetated Buffer” means a narrow, 
permanent strip of dense perennial vegetation established 
parallel to the contours of and perpendicular to the dominant 
slope of the field for the purposes of slowing water runoff, 
enhancing water infiltration, and minimizing the risk of any 
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potential nutrients or pollutants from leaving the field and 
reaching surface waters.

“Water Quality Standard” means any rule or 
limit established by the Secretary of the Department of 
Natural Resources and Environmental Control which 
consists of a designated use or uses for waters of the State 
and the water quality criteria for such waters based upon 
such designated uses.

“25-Year, 24-Hour Rainfall Event” means 
the maximum 24-hour precipitation event with a probable 
recurrence interval of once in 25 years, as defined by the 
National Weather Service Technical Paper Number 40, 
“Rainfall Frequency Atlas of the United States”, equivalent 
to regional or state rainfall probability information 
developed there from, or a rain event greater than 5.7 inches 
for New Castle county, 5.9 for Kent county and 6.3 for 
Sussex county.  

“100-Year, 24-Hour Rainfall Event” means 
the maximum 24-hour precipitation event with a probable 
recurrence interval of once in 100 years, as defined by the 
National Weather Service Technical Paper Number 40, 
“Rainfall Frequency Atlas of the United States”, equivalent 
to regional or state rainfall probability information 
developed there from, or a rain event greater than 7.3 inches 
for New Castle county, 7.6 for Kent county and 7.9 for 
Sussex county.

9.4.4 Applicability
9.4.4.1 Any person who owns or operates a 

CAFO (Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation) must 
comply with the applicable standards required by and issued 
pursuant to, these regulations.

9.4.4.2 These NPDES permit requirements 
shall apply to any person who engages in the management of 
a CAFO where animal manure is, has been or will be 
generated.  An Animal Feeding Operation (AFO) is a CAFO 
if the number of animals equal or exceed the following 
criteria:

9.4.4.2.1 More than the numbers of 
animals specified in any of the following categories:

9.4.4.2.1.1 1,000 beef cattle or 
heifers,

9.4.4.2.1.2 700 mature dairy cattle 
(whether milked or dry cows),

9.4.4.2.1.3 2,500 swine each 
weighing over 55 pounds,

9.4.4.2.1.4 10,000 swine weighing 
under 55 pounds,

9.4.4.2.1.5 500 horses,
9.4.4.2.1.6 10,000 sheep or lambs,
9.4.4.2.1.7 55,000 turkeys,
9.4.4.2.1.8 30,000 laying hens or 

broilers, if the AFO uses a liquid manure handling system,
9.4.4.2.1.9 125,000 chickens except 

laying hens (if other than a liquid manure handling system),*

9.4.4.2.1.10 82,000 laying hens (if 
other than a liquid manure handling system),

9.4.4.2.1.11 1,000 veal calves.
*Note:  An alternative criterion 

for square footage calculations may be utilized and adopted 
as policy that qualifies a CAFO based on the area within the 
confined facility.  For example the animal density of 0.75 
square feet per bird calculates to 93,750 square feet and can 
be defined as a CAFO. This alternative may not supersede 
the actual number of chickens maintained.  

9.4.4.2.2 Provided one of the 
following conditions are met and the number of animals is in 
the range specified below, the operator has a duty to apply:

9.4.4.2.2.1 Pollutants are 
discharged into waters of the State through a man-made 
ditch, flushing system, or other similar man-made device; or

9.4.4.2.2.2 Pollutants are 
discharged directly into waters of the State, which originate 
outside of and pass over, across, or through the facility or 
otherwise come into direct contact with the animals confined 
in the operation.

9.4.4.2.2.2.1 300 to 999 beef 
cattle or heifers,

9.4.4.2.2.2.2 210 to 699 mature 
dairy cattle (whether milked or dry cows),

9.4.4.2.2.2.3 750 to 2,499 swine 
each weighing over 55 pounds,

9.4.4.2.2.2.4 3,000 to 9,999 
swine weighing under 55 pounds,

9.4.4.2.2.2.5 150 to 499 horses,
9.4.4.2.2.2.6 3,000 to 9,999 

sheep or lambs,
9.4.4.2.2.2.7 16,500 to 54,999 

turkeys,
9.4.4.2.2.2.8 9,000 to 29,999 

laying hens or broilers, if the AFO uses a liquid manure 
handling system,

9.4.4.2.2.2.9 37,500 to 124,999 
chickens except laying hens (if other than a liquid manure 
handling system),*

9.4.4.2.2.2.1024,600 to 81,999 
laying hens (if other than a liquid manure handling system),

9.4.4.2.2.2.11300 to 999 veal 
calves.

9.4.4.2.2.3 These General NPDES 
permit requirements shall apply to any person notified in 
writing by the Secretary and covered by the Nutrient 
Management Law (3 Del.C. §2200 et.al.) as specified in 
9.4.7 of these regulations or anyone requesting coverage.

9.4.5 Application For Coverage 
9.4.5.1 Any one who owns or operates a 

CAFO or is designated as a CAFO must submit a Notice of 
Intent (NOI) on a form provided by the Department, to the 
Secretary within 120 calendar days of the effective date of 
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these regulations or upon operation of a new facility. 
Anyone who expands their operation and becomes a CAFO 
must submit a NOI within 90 days of becoming a CAFO. 
The NOI will serve as a formal commitment by the CAFO 
applicant to comply with the standards established in these 
regulations.  The NOI shall include, but not be limited to, the 
following information:

9.4.5.1.1 The name of the farm/
facility, mailing address, manager or applicant, contact 
information to include emergency address or closest road 
name intersection of the CAFO.  

9.4.5.1.2 The name, address and 
contact information of the farm/facility owner if different 
than the applicant.

9.4.5.1.3 Annual operation data to 
include, animal type(s), number of animals confined, 
estimated manure generation by type per year, manure 
storage capacity, manure storage system, animal mortality 
system, process waste water (quantity where applicable), and 
total number of acres under control and available for land 
application.  

9.4.5.1.4 The NOI must be signed by 
the owner or other person who performs similar policy-
making or decision-making functions for the facility.  Any 
person signing documents in accordance with this subsection 
shall certify that the information submitted is, to the best of 
his/her knowledge and belief, true, accurate and complete. 
Such person is advised that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information, including the possibility of 
fines and imprisonment for willful violations.

9.4.5.1.5 A completed and signed 
copy of the NOI shall be submitted to the Delaware 
Department of Agriculture, Nutrient Management Program, 
2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover, DE 19901.

9.4.5.1.6 Contents of the NOI and any 
discharge data shall be available to the public.  However, all 
animal waste management plans, nutrient management plans 
and records of implementation shall be kept by the land 
owner or person responsible for the plans or records. 
Animal waste management plans, nutrient management 
plans and records of implementation shall not be considered 
as public records under the Freedom of Information Act and 
shall not be disclosed, except, however, that they shall be 
made available for inspection by the Department and the 
Commission.  

9.4.5.1.7 A person’s obligation to 
independently seek and secure an NPDES permit is not 
conditioned upon or qualified by having received a notice 
that an NPDES permit is required from the Secretary.

9.4.5.2 Effective date of coverage:  Permit 
coverage under these regulations begins at the time when the 
NOI is received by the Department.  

9.4.5.3 Expiration date of coverage:  Permit 
coverage for a CAFO under these regulations will continue 

until an individual NPDES permit is issued to the CAFO or 
until the deadline for notices of intent to be filed under new 
general permit regulations that are promulgated for CAFOs. 
These regulations shall expire five years from the effective 
date.

9.4.5.4 Duty to maintain permit coverage: 
No later than 180 days before the expiration of the permit, 
the permittee must submit an application to renew its permit, 
unless the facility has ceased operation or is no longer a 
CAFO.

9.4.6 Requirements For General CAFO NPDES 
Permits

Each person covered by these regulations shall 
meet or exceed the minimum standards of a general permit 
that consists of the following and applicable contents:

9.4.6.1 A nutrient management plan or 
animal waste management plan required by the Commission 
and developed by a Delaware certified consultant.  A 
required nutrient management plan or animal waste 
management plan consists of the following applicable 
contents: 

9.4.6.1.1 Plan Identification:
9.4.6.1.1.1 Applicant name, mailing 

address, county road number or name, telephone number and 
watershed designation of operation.

9.4.6.1.1.2 The name of the farm/
facility, mailing address, manager or applicant, contact 
information to include emergency address or closest road 
name intersection of the CAFO.

9.4.6.1.1.3 Nutrient consultant's 
name and company:

9.4.6.1.1.3.1 Address and 
telephone number. 

9.4.6.1.1.3.2 Nutrient 
management consultant certification number. 

9.4.6.1.1.3.3 Date of plan and 
duration of animal waste or nutrient management plan (not 
to exceed 3 years). 

9.4.6.1.1.4 Total acres under control 
(owned, rented or leased) of the CAFO represented in the 
nutrient management plans and a brief description of 
agricultural commodities produced within the operation.

9.4.6.1.1.5 Certification statement 
signed by the applicant documenting the intention to 
implement the nutrient management and/or animal waste 
management plan.

9.4.6.1.2 Field maps or aerial 
photographs that include the following:

9.4.6.1.2.1 Individual field 
identification and boundaries for all owned, rented or leased 
fields under control of the CAFO.

9.4.6.1.2.2 A copy of soil survey 
map showing all soil types on each field or the soil texture 
identification of all pertinent soils.
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9.4.6.1.2.3 The location of all 
surface waters including drainage ditches, streams, ponds, 
etc.

9.4.6.1.2.4 Irrigation systems where 
applicable.

9.4.6.1.3 Crop and Nutrient 
Information:

9.4.6.1.3.1 The total number and 
type of animals, annual quantity estimate of waste 
generation and storage methods.

9.4.6.1.3.2 Description and method 
of temporary outside storage/stockpiling of manure.

9.4.6.1.3.3 Total acres (controlled 
by the CAFO, owned, rented or leased) represented by the 
animal waste management plan and/or nutrient management 
plan and summary of needed nutrients.

9.4.6.1.3.4 Realistic yield goal 
determined (average yield for the best 4 of the last 7 years).

9.4.6.1.3.5 Without yield records 
use soil productivity classes or provide written justification 
if realistic yield goals are higher than average.  

9.4.6.1.3.6 Soil test (no older than 3 
years) from an agronomic laboratory approved by the 
Commission.

9.4.6.1.3.7 Current and planned 
crop rotation.

9.4.6.1.3.8 Determine nitrogen rate 
based on realistic yield goal of crop(s) to be grown.

9.4.6.1.3.9 The application rate of 
phosphorus to high soil phosphorus levels, as defined by the 
Commission, cannot exceed a three-year crop removal rate. 
Optionally, a University of Delaware approved Phosphorus 
Site Index (PSI) may be performed and Phosphorus may be 
added as indicated by the PSI value.

9.4.6.1.3.10 Manure analysis 
(annually) results or a nutrient value average with written 
justification.

9.4.6.1.3.11 Estimate residual 
nitrogen (organic nutrients, fertilizer, or legume crops from 
prior year) in absence of a Pre-sidedress Soil Notrate Test 
(PSNT).

9.4.6.1.3.12 Nutrient source(s) 
selected, rates and approximate timing of application(s).

9.4.6.1.4 Best Management Practices 
(BMPs) are recommendations to enhance agronomic and 
environmental practices should be recommended to better 
advise and educate persons and are not to be interpreted as 
mandatory implementation actions of a plan (e.g., Pre-
sidedress Soil Nitrate Test, cover crops, vegetative buffer 
strips, litter additives, manure incorporation, timing/method, 
etc.) unless specified in site-specific practices covered in 
paragraph F2 below.

9.4.6.2 Site-specific management 
requirements that supplement the animal waste management 

plan and/or nutrient management plan by addressing the 
following site-specific measures to protect waters of the 
State shall include:

9.4.6.2.1 An overall manure balance 
budget that clearly identifies available manure, intended 
manure use, manure storage capacity, and excess manure 
determined by the animal waste management plan and/or 
nutrient management plan. This budget must identify 
intended use to include land application, exportation, or 
other described uses.  Operations must account for excess 
manure in the Annual Nutrient Management Report.

9.4.6.2.2 A description of manure 
storage capacity and general schedule or timeframe when 
manure is removed or transported from storage site to 
include but not be limited to:

9.4.6.2.2.1 Management practices 
to prevent storage, collection, and conveyance systems from 
leaking pollutants to ground or surface water.

9.4.6.2.2.2 For liquid storage: 
storage must be conducted to prevent a discharge and must 
include a calendar plan for liquid and sediment removal, 
with a freeboard action level of not less than one foot, with a 
depth marker.

9.4.6.2.2.3 For solid storage: 
permanent and temporary storage must be conducted to 
prevent a discharge and be consistent with standards adopted 
by NRCS and/or the Commission.

9.4.6.2.2.4 Emergency actions for 
spills and catastrophic events for existing CAFO liquid 
storage systems to include the volume of water generated 
and collected by a 25-year, 24-hour rainfall event or as 
specified in N.2.2.

9.4.6.2.3 A description and action plan 
to divert or segregate all clean water as appropriate from the 
production area and/or for collecting all water coming in 
contact with the production area to include but not limited to 
the following categories:

9.4.6.2.3.1 Roof runoff control to 
prevent contact of clean runoff with production areas where 
animal manures are present;

9.4.6.2.3.2 Direct contact between 
animals and waters of the State; and

9.4.6.2.3.3 Runoff coming into 
contact with animal waste. 

9.4.6.2.4 A detailed animal mortality 
plan indicating as outlined. Burial of dead animals is 
prohibited except with approval and under special 
circumstances such as serious bio-security circumstances as 
approved by the state veterinarian.   

9.4.6.2.4.1 Daily handling and 
disposal of dead animals in a manner that prevents 
contamination of ground/surface waters as recommended by 
the BMPs approved by the Commission.

9.4.6.2.4.1 Methods for handling 
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catastrophic mortalities as recommended by the BMPs 
approved by the Commission.

9.4.6.2.5 Manure and processed 
wastewater application setbacks.  These setbacks are defined 
as the distance between the application area and any down-
gradient surface waters, open tile line, intake structures, 
sinkholes or other conduits to surface waters. The direct 
application of manure or processed wastewater to ditches or 
surface waters is prohibited. These setback standards are 
provided as three options:

9.4.6.2.5.1 100-foot application 
setback, or

9.4.6.2.5.2 35-foot vegetated buffer 
where applications of manure, litter, and process wastewater 
are prohibited, or

9.4.6.2.5.3 Alternative compliance 
practices as follows:

9.4.6.2.5.3.1 For surface waters 
other than drainage ditches:

9.4.6.2.5.3.1.1 50-foot 
application setback for the field under the conservation 
practice of  incorporation or planting a winter cover crop 
following the crop receiving manure, litter or process 
wastewater.

9.4.6.2.5.3.1.215-foot 
application setback for the field under the conservation 
practice of incorporation within 2 days of application and 
planting a winter cover crop following the crop receiving 
manure, litter or process wastewater.

9.4.6.2.5.3.2 For drainage 
ditches:

9.4.6.2.5.3.2.1 20-foot 
application setback for the field under the conservation 
practice of incorporation or planting a winter cover crop 
following the crop receiving manure, litter or process 
wastewater.

9.4.6.2.5.3.2.2 10-foot 
application setback for the field under the conservation 
practice of incorporation within 2 days of application and 
planting a winter cover crop following the crop receiving 
manure, litter or process wastewater.

9.4.6.2.5.3.3 Any alternative 
compliance practice approved by the Commission.

9.4.6.2.6 Chemicals and other 
contaminants handled on-site are not to be disposed of in any 
manure, litter, process wastewater, or storm water storage or 
treatment system unless specifically designed to treat such 
chemicals and contaminants.

9.4.6.3 A nutrient management plan and/or 
animal waste management plan and site-specific 
management requirements shall be updated a minimum of 
every three years or upon significant alteration to include, 
but not be limited to, a 25 percent increase in animal units or 
acres of crops grown.  Such plans shall be reported to the 

Commission no later than December 15 of the year in which 
they must be updated.

9.4.7 Requirements for Individual CAFO 
NPDES Permit

9.4.7.1 With the guidance, advice and consent 
of the Commission, the Secretary may require any person 
covered by these regulations and the Nutrient Management 
Law (3 Del.C. §2248) to apply for and obtain an individual 
NPDES permit.   Cases where an individual NPDES permit 
may be required include but not limited to the following: 

9.4.7.1.1 There is noncompliance with 
the provisions of these regulations, the Nutrient 
Management Law (3 Del.C. §2200 et.al.), or the SNMP.

9.4.7.1.2 There is evidence indicating 
that a person is a significant contributor of a pollutant to 
waters of the State by demonstrating one of the following 
discharges:

9.4.7.1.2.1 Pollutants are 
discharged into waters of the State through a manmade ditch, 
flushing system, or other similar manmade device; or

9.4.7.1.2.2 Pollutants are 
discharged directly into waters of the State which originate 
outside of the facility and pass over, across, or through the 
facility or otherwise come into direct contact with the 
animals confined in the operation.

9.4.7.1.3 There is a request for 
coverage by an applicant who is not required to obtain 
coverage.

9.4.7.2 Each person designated to need an 
individual CAFO permit will be notified in writing by the 
Secretary.  Such notice shall include a brief statement of the 
reasons for the decision, an application form, a deadline for 
submission of the application and a statement regarding the 
effective date of coverage.

9.4.7.3 A CAFO Individual NPDES Permit 
will establish standards for mitigating or preventing 
pollutants from entering waters of the State and will consist 
of, but not be limited to, the following information:

9.4.7.3.1 All applicable contents 
found in a General Permit (9.4.6).

9.4.7.3.2 Conditions and compliance 
measures to mitigate or prevent pollutants from entering 
waters of the State.

9.4.7.3.3 The time line for 
implementation requirements and an expiration date not to 
exceed five years.

9.4.8 Reporting and Emergency Notification 
Requirements

9.4.8.1 Reporting Requirements: Each person 
covered by these regulations shall submit to the Department 
and the Commission by March 1 of every calendar year, on a 
form developed and supplied by the Commission, a report 
detailing, at a minimum, the following:

9.4.8.1.1 Annual plan identification to 
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include:
9.4.8.1.1.1 Applicants name, 

mailing address and telephone number.
9.4.8.1.1.2 Nutrient consultant’s 

name and company.
9.4.8.1.1.3 Date Nutrient 

Management plan was prepared and duration of plan not to 
exceed 3 years.

9.4.8.1.1.4 Total acres represented 
by the nutrient management plan and a brief description of 
agricultural commodities produced within the operation.

9.4.8.1.2 The annual operating data to 
include animal type(s), number of animals confined and 
manure generation by type.  

9.4.8.1.3 The quantity of animal 
manure in tons or thousand gallons applied to land managed 
within operation and the quantity of land to which applied.

9.4.8.1.4 The quantity of inorganic 
fertilizers applied to the land and the quantity of land to 
which applied.

9.4.8.1.5 The quantity and type of 
manure exported from operation; and the name, address and 
organization of person(s) responsible for utilizing the 
manure.

9.4.8.1.6 All reports submitted under 
this subsection shall not be considered public records under 
the Delaware Freedom of Information Act and shall not be 
disclosed.  Such data may be used for data compilation.

9.4.8.1.7 A statement indicting that 
the current nutrient management plan was developed by a 
certified Nutrient Consultant.

9.4.8.2 Emergency Notification: If for any 
reason, there is a discharge from a CAFO the applicant shall 
verbally notify the Department within 24 hours of becoming 
aware of the discharge and document the incident in writing 
within five (5) days.  In general, discharges occur when 
manure is conveyed by means of surface flow from a 
confinement facility, holding area, manure storage structure. 
The information to be provided shall include:

9.4.8.2.1 A description of the 
discharge and cause, including a description of the flow path 
to the receiving waters, an estimate of the flow and volume 
discharged.

9.4.8.2.2 The period of discharge, 
including exact dates and times and if not corrected, the 
anticipated time the discharge is expected to continue and 
the steps being taken to reduce, eliminate and prevent 
recurrence of the discharge.

9.4.8.2.3 If the discharge was caused 
by a precipitation event(s), the amount of rainfall, as 
measured with a rain gauge at the site. 

9.4.8.2.4 Results of any sampling and 
analysis of the discharge, if available.

9.4.8.2.5 For further questions or 

assistance, call the Delaware Department of  Agriculture at 
1-800-282-8685, (Nutrient Management Program), or 
DNREC Emergency at 1-800-662-8802.

9.4.9 Record Keeping
9.4.9.1 Those persons requiring coverage by 

these regulations must maintain records of implementation 
for six years.  All animal waste management plans, nutrient 
management plans, site-specific management requirements 
and records of implementation shall be kept by the 
landowner or person responsible for the plans or records. 
Animal waste management plans, nutrient management 
plans and records of implementation shall not be considered 
as public records under the Delaware Freedom of 
Information Act and shall not be disclosed, except, however, 
that they shall be made available for inspection as specified 
in Subsection J.  Records of implementation shall include:

9.4.9.1.1 Soil test results and 
recommended nutrient application rates or the nutrient 
management plan.

9.4.9.1.2 Quantities, analyses and 
sources of all nutrients applied to fields.

9.4.9.1.3 Dates, weather conditions (as 
specified by the Commission) and methods of nutrient 
application(s).

9.4.9.1.4 Crops planted, yields, and 
plant matter (grain, silage, etc.) removed from the land.

9.4.9.1.5 The annual report and 
supporting documents.

9.4.9.2 Off site use of manure
9.4.9.2.1 If the manure is sold or given 

to other persons for disposal and/or utilization, the following 
applicant information shall be maintained at the facility 
generating the waste or manure: 

9.4.9.2.1.1 The date of manure 
removal.

9.4.9.2.1.2 Name of receiver and 
contact information.

9.4.9.2.1.3 Quantity (tons/gallons) 
of waste removed.

9.4.9.2.1.4 A copy of the manure 
nutrient analysis shall be given to the receiver.

9.4.9.3 Corrective actions taken as a result of 
visual inspections of storm water diversion devices, water 
lines, manure, litter, and process wastewater impoundments.

9.4.10 Entry and Evaluation
9.4.10.1 The Secretary or the Commission, or 

authorized designee shall be authorized to evaluate 
implementation of these regulations and furthermore be 
allowed to:

9.4.10.1.1 Enter and inspect the facility 
subject to these regulations following proper notification.

9.4.10.1.2 Have access to and the right 
to copy, at reasonable times, any records that must be kept 
under the conditions of these regulations.
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9.4.10.1.3 Sample or monitor any 
discharges from the site.

9.4.10.2 Facility applicant and/or the 
landowner shall be notified 48 hours in advance. Entry and 
evaluation shall be in accordance with any biosecurity 
requirements of the individual or commodity industry 
involved.

9.4.10.3 In cases where there is a probable 
blatant violation, in the sole judgment of the Secretary to 
these regulations, no advanced notice is required.  

9.4.10.4 The implementation of these 
regulations shall not deny any property rights of either real 
or personal property, nor shall it authorize any injury to 
private property or any invasion of personal rights.

9.4.11 Duty to Comply
All practices required by these regulations 

shall be consistent with the terms and conditions of these 
regulations.  The discharge of any pollutant more frequently 
than, or at a level in excess of, that identified and authorized 
herein shall constitute a violation of these regulations and 
shall be grounds for enforcement action as provided in 3 
Del.C. §2200 et.al. and 7 Del.C. §6000 et.al.; for loss of 
authorization to discharge pursuant to these regulations; or 
for denial of a permit renewal application. The Department 
may seek voluntary compliance with a warning, notice or 
other educational means.  However, the law does not require 
that such voluntary means be used before proceeding with 
enforcement.

9.4.12 Transfer of Ownership
9.4.12.1 In the event of any pending change in 

ownership of facilities covered by a CAFO general or 
individual permit, the new owner or applicant shall submit 
either an application for an individual NPDES permit or 
Notice Of Intent (NOI) to the Department as outlined in 
9.4.5. (Application for Coverage).

9.4.12.2 Such written notice shall include the 
proposed date of transfer.  The new owner is encouraged to 
provide notice at least 30 days prior to the proposed transfer 
to avoid any lag in coverage.

9.4.12.3 The Secretary per 3 Del.C. §2248(d) 
may require the new owner to apply for and obtain an 
individual NPDES permit, as provided in 9.4.7.

9.4.13 Effluent Standards and Limitations
Discharge limitations: No discharges of 

process wastewater from any animal feeding operation 
subject to these regulations may enter waters of the United 
States.  The requirements do allow a discharge caused by a 
rainfall event, provided the following conditions are met:

9.4.13.1 The production area must be 
designed, built, operated and maintained to handle all of the 
process wastewater, plus the runoff and direct precipitation 
from a 25-year, 24-hour rainfall event.

9.4.13.2 The discharge may consist only of 
overflows caused by the rainfall event. Dry weather 

discharges are not permitted. Discharges caused by poor 
management are never permitted.

9.4.14 Criteria for New Facilities
New CAFO facilities permitted after the 

effective date of these regulations shall meet the following 
criteria:

9.4.14.1 Siting of Control Facilities.
9.4.14.1.1 Waste storage structures 

shall not be located in the 100-year flood plain unless the 
facility is designed and constructed such that the manure 
from a facility is protected from floodwaters from a storm of 
24 hours duration having a one (1) percent chance of 
recurrence within a given year.  Such events are defined as 
100-year 24-hour rainfall event.  Waste storage structures 
and treatment lagoons are to be designed as essentially 
watertight structures in accordance with NRCS practices and 
standards.

9.4.14.1.2 Waste storage structures 
shall not be located closer than 300 feet from a public water 
well nor 200 feet from domestic water well.

9.4.14.1.3 No waters of the State shall 
come into direct contact with the animals confined at the 
facility. Fences or other practices may be used to restrict 
such access.

9.4.14.1.4 Animal confinement areas 
shall not be located:

9.4.14.1.4.1 In the 100 year flood 
plain unless they are protected from inundation and damage 
that may occur during that flood event.

9.4.14.1.4.2 Closer than 300 feet 
from a public water well, nor 200 feet from a domestic water 
well.

9.4.14.1.5 The handling, treatment, and 
management of AFO wastes shall not:

9.4.14.1.5.1 Result in the inadvertent 
destruction or adverse modification of the critical habitat of 
endangered or threatened species of plant, fish, or wildlife.

9.4.14.1.5.2 Create a public health 
hazard.

9.4.14.1.5.3 Result in groundwater 
contamination.

9.4.14.2 Effluent Limitations
9.4.14.2.1 No discharges of process 

wastewater from any animal feeding operation subject to 
these regulations may enter waters of the United States.  The 
requirements do allow a discharge caused by a rainfall event, 
provided the following conditions are met:

9.4.14.2.1.1 The production area for 
horse, sheep, duck, dairy and beef (other than veal) must be 
designed, built, operated and maintained to handle all of the 
process wastewater, plus the runoff and direct precipitation 
from a 25-year, 24-hour rainfall event.

9.4.14.2.1.2 The production area for 
swine, veal calf, turkey and chickens must be designed, built, 
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operated and maintained to handle all of the process 
wastewater, plus the runoff and direct precipitation from a 
100-year, 24-hour rainfall event.

9.4.14.2.1.3 The discharge may 
consist only of overflows caused by the rainfall event.  Dry 
weather discharges are not permitted.  Discharges caused by 
poor management are never permitted.

9.4.15 Enforcement, Fines, and Penalties
9.4.15.1 Whoever violates these regulations 

shall be subject to the following fines and penalties:
9.4.15.1.1 A civil penalty shall be 

imposed by the Justice of the Peace Court of not less than 
$25 nor more than $1,000 for each violation.  Each day of 
continued violation shall be considered as a separate 
violation up to a limit of $10,000.  The Justice of the Peace 
Court shall have jurisdiction of a violation in which a civil 
penalty is sought.  In setting penalty amounts under this 
section, consideration shall be given to offsetting any 
economic benefit from non-compliance or any delayed or 
avoided costs to any person.  Further, penalty assessments 
shall be sufficient to deter recurrence of non-compliance.  If 
there is a substantial likelihood that non-compliance will 
reoccur, the Commission may recommend that the Secretary 
also seek a permanent or preliminary injunction or 
temporary restraining order in the Court of Chancery.  Civil 
penalties imposed under this section may not be suspended.

9.4.15.1.2 In its discretion, the 
Commission may recommend that the Secretary impose an 
administrative penalty of not more than $1,000 for each 
violation.  Prior to assessment of an administrative penalty, 
written notice of the Secretary’s proposal to impose such 
penalty shall be given to the violator and the violator shall 
have 30 days from receipt of said notice to request a public 
hearing.  Any public hearing, if requested, right of appeal 
and judicial appeal shall be conducted pursuant to this 
section.  Assessment of an administrative penalty shall be 
determined by the nature, circumstances, extent and gravity 
of the violation or violations, ability of the violator to pay, 
any prior history of such violations, the degree of culpability, 
economic benefit or savings (if any), resulting from the 
violation and such other matters as justice may require.

9.4.15.2 Any expenses or civil administrative 
penalties collected by the Department under this section are 
hereby appropriated to the Department for use in assisting 
persons in achieving compliance or to demonstrate the 
application of research that may be of substantial benefit to 
any individuals seeking compliance with this section.

9.4.15.3 Any person wishing to file a 
complaint against any person regarding an alleged violation 
of these regulations shall follow the process established by 
Regulations Governing the Processing of Complaints and 
Violations published in the January 1, 2001 Register of 
Regulations.

9.4.16 Effective Date.

These regulations shall become effective.
9.5 Regulations Governing Discharges Associated with 

Car Washes and Other Motor Vehicle Washing Operations 
(Reserved)

9.6 Regulations Governing Discharges Associated with 
the Operation and Maintenance of Swimming Pools and 
Spas (Reserved)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND 
HOMELAND SECURITY
BAIL ENFORCEMENT AGENTS

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 5404(a) (24 Del.C. §5404(a))

PUBLIC NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Safety 
and Homeland Security, Division of State Police, in 
accordance with 24 Del.C. Section 5404(a) proposes to 
amend Adopted Rule 1.0 - Licensing.  This amendment will 
clarify items and fees that a Bail Enforcement Agent will 
receive when applying or renewing.  If you wish to view the 
complete Rule, contact Ms. Peggy Anderson at (302) 739-
5991.  

These clarifications were originally published in the 
November issue (8 DE Reg. 689) of the Register of 
Regulations.  The public comment period originally open 
until November 8, 2004, has been extended until January 31, 
2005.  Any persons wishing to present views may submit 
them in writing, by January 31, 2005, to Delaware State 
Police, Detective Licensing, P.O. BOX 430, DOVER, DE, 
19903.

Bounty Hunter/Bail Enforcement Agents

Preamble
These Rules & Regulations are promulgated pursuant to 

24 Del.C. §5504(a) and the Secretary of Public Safety 
delegates his regulatory authority granted by Chapter 55 to 
the Division of State Police.

1.0 Licensing
1.1 Any individual applying for a bail enforcement 

agent ID card under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 must meet and 
maintain the following qualifications:

1.1.1 Must not be convicted of any felony; and
1.1.2 Must not have been convicted, within the 

last seven (7) years, of any two (2) of the following 
misdemeanors:  theft, drug offenses, offensive touching, or 
assault III; and

1.1.3 Must not have been convicted of any 
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charge or been involved in any conduct that may impair the 
performance of the bail enforcement agent and endanger 
public safety as determined by the Detective Licensing 
Section and

1.1.4 Must not have been, as a juvenile, 
adjudicated as delinquent for conduct which, if committed 
by an adult, would constitute a felony, unless and until that 
person has reached their 25th birthday.

1.2 An individual bail enforcement agent ID card will 
not be issued if there is a pending charge as listed in Section 
1.1.1 or a pending charge as listed in Section 1.1.2 for an 
applicant with one (1) conviction of specified misdemeanor 
listed in Section 1.1.2.

1.3 The individual bail enforcement agent applying for 
an ID card under Title 24 Chapter 55 must also meet the 
following qualifications:

1.3.1 Must be at least 21 years of age; and
1.3.2 Must complete the training qualifications 

set forth in Section 6.0; and
1.3.3 If carrying a weapon, must meet and 

maintain the qualifications set forth in Section 4.0.
1.4 The individual bail enforcement agent applying for 

an ID card under Title 24 Chapter 55 must submit the 
following for approval:

1.4.1 A fee of $25 $75 for a four (4) year ID 
card which shall expire and be renewable on the 4th

anniversary date of the birth of the applicant next following 
the date of its issuance unless the birth date is February 29, 
in which event the license shall expire and be renewable on 
February 28 every 4th year; and

1.4.2 Any and all applications required by the 
Detective Licensing Section; and

1.4.3 Submit two (2) sets of fingerprints for a 
Delaware (CHRI) and Federal (FBI) criminal history record 
check.  The Director of the State Bureau of Identification 
(SBI) determines the fee for this process.  This subsection 
1.4.3 does not apply to the renewal of ID cards, unless 
required by the Director of Detective Licensing.

1.5 The ID cards are the property of the Delaware State 
Police and must be returned to the Detective Licensing 
Section upon expiration of the ID card or at the request of the 
Detective Licensing Section.

1.6 A bail enforcement agent that has been issued an ID 
card by the Detective Licensing Section shall be required to 
have such card in their possession while in the performance 
of his or her duties.

1.7 A bail enforcement agent must not be a member or 
employee of any Delaware Law Enforcement Organization, 
as defined by the Council on Police Training, or a member or 
employee of a law enforcement organization of any other 
local, state or federal jurisdiction.

1.8 There will be no reciprocity with any other state 
regarding the issuing of an ID card to a bail enforcement 

agent.
1.9 A fee of $50 shall be for the renewal of the ID card 

and license, which shall be valid for another four (4) years.
7 DE Reg. 1782 (6/1/04)

2.0 Badges, Patches, Advertisements
2.1 No individual licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 shall 

use any type of uniform or other clothing items displaying 
logos, badges, patches, or any other type of writing without 
first being approved by the Detective Licensing Section. 
Under no circumstances shall any item contain the seal or 
crest of the State of Delaware, any state of the United States, 
the seal or crest of any county or local sub division, or any 
facsimile of the aforementioned seals or crests.

2.2 All advertisements or other forms of publication, 
subsequent to their use, are subject to review by the 
Detective Licensing Section for potential misrepresentation. 
If the Detective Licensing Section does not approve the 
advertisement or publication, it will forward its concerns to 
the licensee. Failure to correct the advertisement or 
publication will be considered a violation of these Rules & 
Regulations.

2.3 The use of auxiliary lights, sirens, or any markings 
on vehicles is prohibited.

3.0 Use Of Animals
3.1 The use of animals is prohibited in the performance 

of any bail enforcement agent activity.

4.0 Firearms Policy
4.1 No person shall carry a firearm under this chapter 

unless the individual first completed and passed an approved 
40-hour firearm course, instructed by a certified firearm 
instructor, recognized by the Detective Licensing Section.

4.2 All persons licensed to carry a firearm under this 
chapter must be re-certified yearly, by an instructor as 
described in Section 4.1, by shooting a minimum of three (3) 
qualifying shoots a year.  The shoots must be scheduled on at 
least two (2) separate days, with a recommended 90 days 
between scheduled shoots.  Of the three (3) shoots, there will 
be one mandatory “low light” shoot. Simulation is permitted 
and it may be combined with a daylight shoot. All 
individuals must qualify with the same type of weapon that 
he/she will carry.  The minimum passing score is 75%.

4.2.1  All renewal shoot sheets must be submitted 
by January 31st of each year for the previous calendar year.

4.3 All handguns must be either a revolver or semi-
automatic and be maintained to factory specifications.  Only 
the handguns with the following calibers are permitted:

4.3.1 9mm
4.3.2 .357
4.3.3 .38
4.3.4 .40
4.4.5 .45
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4.4 All ammunition will be factory fresh (no re-loads).
4.5 Any person requesting to carry any shotgun, rifle, 

any type of weapon or apprehension device must first 
provide proof of training to the Detective Licensing Section 
for approval.

5.0 Nightstick, PR24, Mace, Peppergas, Chemical Spray, 
And Handcuffs

5.1 To carry the above weapons/items a bail 
enforcement agent must have completed training by a 
Detective Licensing Section apporved insturctor, on each 
and every weapon/item carried.  Proof of training, and any 
renewal training, must be provided to the Detective 
Licensing Section.  Under no circumstances would a person 
be permitted to carry any other type weapon/item, unless 
first approved by the Detective Licensing Section.

7 DE Reg. 1782 (6/1/04)

6.0 Training
6.1 All bail enforcement agents licensed under Title 24 

Chapter 55 must complete training in the following courses: 
Constitution/Bill of Rights, Laws of Arrest, Laws of Search 
& Seizure of Persons Wanted, Police Jurisdiction, Use of 
Deadly Force, and the Rules & Regulations of Bounty 
Hunters/Bail Enforcement Agents.

6.2 The training must be completed prior to obtaining a 
license.

7 DE Reg. 1782 (6/1/04)

7.0 Notification Of Apprehensions
7.1 All bail enforcement agents licensed under 24 

Del.C. Ch. 55 are required to notify the police emergency 
911 dispatch center (i.e., Recom, Kentcom, Suscom) of the 
appropriate police agency in which the apprehension will be 
attempted.

8.0 Notification Of Arrest
8.1  Anyone licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55 shall, 

excluding weekends and State holidays, notify the Detective 
Licensing Section within five (5) days of being arrested for a 
misdemeanor or felony crime.  Failure to do so may result in 
the suspension or revocation of any individual.

9.0 Suspensions And Revocations
9.1 The Detective Licensing Section shall have the 

power to suspend or revoke any individual, licensed under 
24 Del.C. Ch. 55, that violates the Chapter or the 
promulgated Rules & Regulations.

9.2 The Detective Licensing Section may suspend or 
revoke any individual, licensed under 24 Del.C. Ch. 55, that 
has been arrested and that arrest could result in the 
conviction of any misdemeanor or felony as described in 
Section 1.0.

9.3 Anyone whose license has been suspended, 

revoked, rejected, or denied is entitled to a hearing before the 
Secretary of Safety and Homeland Security.

9.3.1 Anyone requesting a hearing shall notify 
the Detective Licensing Section, in writing, within 30 days 
from the suspension, revocation, rejection, or denial and the 
hearing shall be scheduled at the earliest possible time.

5 DE Reg. 1523 (1/1/02)
7 DE Reg. 1782 (6/1/04)
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text 
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold 
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language 
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in 
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials, 
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and 
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and 
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2) 
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being 
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, 
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under 
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the 
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations, 
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 706(a)(1)) (24 Del.C. 706(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 700

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two 
Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on 
December 16, 2004 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware 
Board of Chiropractic to receive comments regarding 
proposed Regulation 9.0.  The proposed regulation identifies 
crimes substantially related to chiropractic practice as 
mandated by SB 229 enacted by the 142nd General 
Assembly.  The proposed regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 5, November 1, 2004.

Background

Under Title 24, Chapter 7, as amended by SB 229, one 
of the qualifications for licensure is that the applicant “shall 
not have a criminal conviction record, nor pending criminal 
charge relating to an offense, the circumstances of which 
substantially relate to the practice of chiropractic. 
Applicants who have criminal convictions records or 

pending criminal charges shall require appropriate 
authorities to provide information about the record or charge 
directly to the Board in sufficient specificity to enable the 
Board to make a determination whether the record or charge 
is substantially related to the practice of chiropractic.” 24 
Del.C. §707(a)(5). In addition, a licensee shall be subject to 
disciplinary action for unprofessional conduct which 
includes, but is not limited to, “conviction of a crime that is 
substantially related the practice of chiropractic.” 24 Del.C.
§711(b)(2).  

“‘Substantially related’ means the nature of the criminal 
conduct, for which the person was convicted, has a direct 
bearing on the fitness or ability to perform one or more of the 
duties or responsibilities necessarily related to the practice of 
chiropractic.  24 Del.C. §707(a)(5); 24 Del.C. §711(b)(2).

The Board is charged by SB 229 to “promulgate 
regulations specifically identifying those crimes, which are 
substantially related to the practice of chiropractic.” 24 
Del.C. §706(f).

Summary Of The Evidence

No written comments were received.  No members of 
the public attended the hearing.

Findings Of Fact

The Board carefully reviewed and considered the crimes 
presented as a compilation of crimes extracted from the 
Delaware Code. The overarching concern of the Board was 
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the safety of public since the licensees have direct physical 
contact with the individuals they treat while performing 
chiropractic procedures which can include children. In 
addition, healthcare professions come into contact with the 
public at times when their patients are sick or infirmed and 
often extremely vulnerable to undue influence or other forms 
of abuse. The “primary objective of the Board of 
Chiropractic, to which all other objectives and purposes are 
secondary, is to protect the general public, specifically those 
persons who are the direct recipients of the services 
regulated by this chapter, from unsafe practices and from 
occupational practices which tend to reduce competition or 
fix the price of services rendered” 24 Del.C. §700. Board 
finds that the violent crimes and crimes involving abuse of 
children identified in the proposed rule are substantially 
related to the practice of chiropractic.

Decision And Effective Date

NOW THEREFORE, the Board hereby adopts the 
changes to Regulation 9.0 to be effective 10 days following 
publication of this order in the Register of Regulations.

Text And Citation

The text of the revised rules remains as published in 
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 5, November 1, 2004, 
without any changes.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 16th day of December, 2004.

STATE BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC

William Cowan, D.C., Chairman, Professional Member
Gary Morgan, D.C., Professional Member
Trent Camp, D.C., Professional Member
Raymond Moore, Public Member
Terry Jackson, Public Member
Pramela Kaza, Public Member
Michael P. Kelman, D.C., Professional  Member

700 Board of Chiropractic

9.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
chiropractic

9.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or of the 
attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or conceal or 
of solicitation to commit any of the following crimes, is 
deemed to be substantially related to the practice of 
chiropractic in the State of Delaware without regard to the 
place of conviction:

9.1.1 Manslaughter.  11 Del.C. §632.
9.1.2 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 

degree.  11 Del.C. § 634.

9.1.3 Murder in the second degree.  11 Del.C. § 
635.

9.1.4 Murder in the first degree.  11 Del.C. § 
636.

9.1.5 Rape in the second degree.  11 Del.C. § 
772.

9.1.6 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. § 773.
9.1.7 Continuous sexual abuse of a child.  11 

Del.C. § 778.
9.1.8 Dangerous crime against a child.  11 

Del.C. § 779.
91.9 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C. § 

1108.
9.1.10 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography. 

11 Del.C. § 1109.
9.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 

chiropractic shall be deemed to include any crimes under any 
federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county 
ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Chiropractic is 
available at:

http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title24/
700 Board of Chiropractic.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 1406(b) (24 Del.C. §1406(b)) 

24 DE Admin. Code 1400

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two 
Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on 
December 1, 2004 at a scheduled meeting of the Board of 
Electrical Examiners to receive comments regarding 
proposed Regulation 17.0. The proposed regulation 
identifies crimes substantially related to  the work of an 
electrician as mandated by SB 229 enacted by the 142nd

General Assembly.  The proposed regulation was published 
in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 5, November 1, 
2004.  

Background

The felony bar in 24 Del.C. §1408(a)(8) is stricken by 
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SB 229. However, conviction of a felony remains as grounds 
for discipline in §1412(a)(4).  

One of the qualifications for licensure in Title 24, 
Chapter 14 is that the applicant “shall not have a criminal 
conviction record, nor pending criminal charge relating to an 
offense, the circumstances of which substantially relate to 
providing electrical services. Applicants who have criminal 
convictions records or pending criminal charges shall 
request appropriate authorities to provide information about 
the record or charge directly to the Board to make a 
determination whether the record or charge is substantially 
relates to providing electrical services.” §1408(a)(9). The 
Board is charged by SB 229 with “promulgating regulations 
specifically identifying those crimes which are substantially 
related to the work of an electrician.” §1406(b)
 “Substantially related” means the nature of the criminal 
conduct, for which the person was convicted, has a direct 
bearing on the fitness or ability to perform one or more of the 
duties or responsibilities necessarily related to the work of an 
electrician. §1402(19).

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

No comments were received.

Findings of Fact with Respect to the Evidence
and Information Submitted

The Board carefully reviewed and  considered the 
crimes presented as a compilation of crimes extracted from 
the Delaware Code. The overarching concern of the Board 
was the safety of public since the licensees have access to the 
homes of consumers, sometimes when the resident is home 
alone or not at home. The “primary objective of the Board of 
Electrical Examiners, to which all other objectives and 
purposes are secondary, is to protect the general public, 
specifically those persons who are the direct recipients of the 
services regulated by this chapter, from unsafe practices and 
from occupational practices which tend to reduce 
competition or fix the price of services rendered” 24 Del.C.
§1401.  Unrestricted access to a person’s home is a matter of 
security and involves an element of trust.  Board finds 
crimes of dishonesty and violence are substantially related to 
the work of an electrician.  

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulation 17.0 
to be effective 10 days following publication of this order in 
the Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the revised rules remains as published in 

Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 5, November 1, 2004.

SO ORDERED this 1st day of December, 2004.

STATE BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS

Jacob Good, President
Richard Strouse, Vice President
Shirley Good, Secretary
Leroy James
Donald Collins
Donald King
John Gordy
Steve Dignan
James Anderson

1400 Board of Electrical Examiners

17.0 Crimes substantially related to work of an 
electrician.

17.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or the solicitation to commit any of  the following 
crimes, is deemed to be a crime substantially related to the 
work of an electrician in the State of Delaware without 
regard to the place of conviction:

17.1.1 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 
11 Del.C. §604

17.1.2 Assault in the second degree.11 Del.C.
§612

17.1.3 Assault in the first degree.11 Del.C. §613
17.1.4 Manslaughter.  11 Del.C. §632 
17.1.5 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §633 
17.1.6 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C. §634
17.1.7 Murder in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§635
17.1.8 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C.§636
17.1.9 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §768
17.1.10 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §769 
17.1.11 Rape in the fourth degree. 11Del.C.§770
17.1.12 Rape in the third degree. 11 Del.C.§771
17.1.13 Rape in the second degree. 11Del.C.§772
17.1.14 Rape in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §773 
17.1.15 Sexual extortion. 11 Del.C. §776 
17.1.16 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11 

Del.C. §778 
17.1.17 Dangerous crimes against a child. 11 

Del.C. §779
17.1.18 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11 

Del.C. §783 
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17.1.19 Kidnapping in the first degree.11 Del.C. 
§783A

17.1.20 Arson in the second degree.11 Del.C.
§802

17.1.21 Arson in the first degree.11 Del.C. §803 
17.1.22 Criminal mischief. 11 Del.C. §811
17.1.23 Burglary in the third degree. 11 Del.C. 

§824
17.1.24 Burglary in the second degree.11 Del.C. 

§825
17.1.25 Burglary in the first degree.11 Del.C. §826 
17.1.26 Robbery in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§831
17.1.27 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§832
17.1.28 Theft of services. 11 Del.C. §845
17.1.29 Extortion. 11 Del.C. §846
17.1.30 Identity theft. 11 Del.C. §854
17.1.31 Forgery. 11 Del.C. §861 
17.1.32 Unlawful use of credit card. 11 Del.C. 

§903
17.1.33 Criminal impersonation of a police officer. 

11 Del.C. §907B
17.1.34 Insurance fraud. 11 Del.C. §913
17.1.34 Home improvement fraud. 11 Del.C. §916
17.1.36 New home construction fraud. 11 Del.C.

§917 
17.1.37 Dealing in children.  11 Del.C. §1100 
17.1.38 Sexual exploitation of a child. 11 Del.C.

§1108
17.1.39 Unlawful dealing in  child pornography. 11 

Del.C. §1109 
17.1.40 Sexual solicitation of a child.11 Del.C.

§1112A
17.1.41 Perjury in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§1222
17.1.42 Perjury in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§1223
17.1.43 Aggravated harassment. 11 Del.C. §1312
17.1.44 Adulteration. 11 Del.C. §1339
17.1.45 Possession of a firearm during a felony. 11 

Del.C. §1447
17.1.46 Theft of a firearm.11 Del.C. §1451
17.1.47 Organized crime and racketeering. 11 

Del.C. §1503 
17.1.48 Breaking and entering, etc. to place or 

remove equipment 11 Del.C. §2410 
17.2 Crimes substantially related to the work of an 

electrician shall be deemed to include any crimes under any 
federal law,  state law, or  valid town, city or county 
ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 

amended, they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Electrical 
Examiners is available at:  http://www.state.de.us/
research/AdminCode/title24/1400 Board of Electrical 
Examiners.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PLUMBING EXAMINERS

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 1802(b) (24 Del.C. §1802(b)) 

24 DE Admin. Code 1800

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two 
Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on 
December 14, 2004 at a scheduled meeting of the Board of 
Electrical Examiners to receive comments regarding 
proposed Regulation 8.0.  The proposed regulation identifies 
crimes substantially related to plumbing services as 
mandated by SB 229 enacted by the 142nd General 
Assembly.  The proposed regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 5,  November 1, 2004.

Background

The  disciplinary provisions in 24 Del.C. §1810(a)(3) 
were amended to replace the word “felony” with the phrase 
“crime that is substantially related to plumbing services.” 
Offenses that are grounds for discipline 24 Del.C.
§1810(a)(3) are a bar to licensure under 24 Del.C. §1806(c).
The Board is charged by SB 229 with “promulgating 
regulations specifically identifying those crimes which are 
substantially related to plumbing services” in §1805(b). 
‘Substantially related’ means the nature of the criminal 
conduct, for which the person was convicted, has a direct 
bearing on the fitness or ability to perform one or more of the 
duties or responsibilities necessarily related to providing 
plumbing services. §1802(6).

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

No written comments were received.
Paul Smith commented in the public hearing that he 

believed that burglary in the third degree, proposed rule 
8.1.2.2, should not be included in the crimes related to 
plumbing.  In his view it was barely over a misdemeanor.

Findings of Fact with Respect to the Evidence and 
Information Submitted
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The Board carefully reviewed and considered the crimes 
presented as a compilation of crimes extracted from the 
Delaware Code. The overarching concern of the Board was 
the safety of public since the licensees have access to the 
homes of consumers, sometimes when the resident is home 
alone or not at home. The Board finds that burglary in the 
third degree should be included in the list of crimes since an 
element of the offense is entry into a building with the intent 
to commit a crime.

The “primary objective of the Board of Plumbing 
Examiners, to which all other objectives and purposes are 
secondary, is to protect the general public, specifically those 
persons who are the direct recipients of the services 
regulated by this chapter, from unsafe practices and from 
occupational practices which tend to reduce competition or 
fix the price of services rendered” 24 Del.C. §1801. 
Unrestricted access to a person’s home is a matter of security 
and involves an element of trust. Board finds crimes of 
dishonesty and violence are substantially related to 
providing plumbing services.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulation 8.0 
to be effective 10 days following publication of this order in 
the Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the revised rules remains as published in 
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 5, November 1, 2004.

SO ORDERED this 14th day of December, 2004.

STATE BOARD OF PLUMBING EXAMINERS

Bruce Collins, Chair
Lawrence Carson, Secretary
Dess Stokes
Brent Schrock
Frank Beebe
Carol Guilbert
Thomas Ciconte
Robert Briccotto, Jr.

1800 Board of Plumbing Examiners

8.0 Crimes substantially related to plumbing services.
8.1  Conviction of any of the following crimes, or of 

the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of the solicitation to commit any of the following 
crimes, is deemed to be a crime substantially related to 
plumbing services or in the State of Delaware without regard 
to the place of conviction:

8.1.1 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 
11 Del.C.  §604

8.1.2 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 
§612

8.1.3 Assault in the first degree. 11 Del.C.  §613
8.1.4 Manslaughter.  11 Del.C. §632
8.1.5 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 

degree.  11 Del.C. §633
8.1.6 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 

degree.  11 Del.C. §634
8.1.7 Murder in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§635
8.1.8 Murder in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §636
8.1.9 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 

degree.  11 Del.C.  §768
8.1.10 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 

11 Del.C.  §769
8.1.11 Rape in the fourth degree.  11 Del.C. §770
8.1.12 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C.  §771
8.1.13 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C. §772
8.1.14 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §773
8.1.15 Sexual extortion.  11 Del.C.  §776
8.1.16 Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 11 

Del.C.  §778
8.1.17 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11 

Del.C. §783
8.1.18 Kidnapping in the first degree.  11 Del.C. 

§783A
8.1.19 Arson in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§802
8.1.20 Arson in the first degree.  11 Del.C.  §803
8.1.21 Criminal mischief.  11 Del.C.  §811
8.1.22 Burglary in the third degree. 11 Del.C. 

§824
8.1.23 Burglary in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§825
8.1.24 Burglary in the first degree. 11 Del.C. 

§826
8.1.25 Robbery in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§831
8.1.26 Robbery in the first degree. 11 Del.C. 

§832
8.1.27 Theft; lost or mislaid property; mistaken 

delivery. 11 Del.C.  §842
8.1.28 Theft; false pretense.  11 Del.C.  §843
8.1.29 Theft, false promise.  11 Del.C. §844
8.1.30 Theft of services.  11 Del.C.  §845
8.1.31 Extortion.  11 Del.C. §846
8.1.32 Identity theft.  11 Del.C.  §854
8.1.33 Forgery.  11 Del.C. §861
8.1.34 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C. 

§871
8.1.35 Unlawful use of credit card. 11 Del.C. 

§903
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8.1.36 Reencoder and scanning devices. 11 
Del.C. §903A

8.1.37 Insurance fraud.  11 Del.C.  §913
8.1.38 Home improvement fraud. 11 Del.C. §916
8.1.39 New home construction fraud. 11 Del.C. 

§917
8.1.40 Dealing in children.  11 Del.C. §1100
8.1.41 Sexual exploitation of a child. 11 Del.C. 

§1108
8.1.42 Sexual solicitation of a child. 11 Del.C. 

§1112A
8.1.43 Perjury in the second degree. 11 Del.C. 

§1222
8.1.44 Perjury in the first degree. 11 Del.C. 

§1223
8.1.45 Aggravated harassment.  11 Del.C. §1312
8.1.46 Possession of a deadly weapon during 

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C.  §1447
8.1.47 Possession of a firearm during 

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C.  §1447A
8.1.48 Breaking and entering, etc., to place or 

remove equipment.  11 Del.C.  §2410 
8.2 Crimes substantially related to plumbing services 

shall be deemed to include any crimes under any federal law, 
state law, or  valid town, city or county ordinance, that are 
substantially similar to the crimes identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Plumbing 
Examiners is available at:  http://www.state.de.us/
research/AdminCode/title24/1800 Board of Plumbing 
Examiners.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 2104(a)(1)  (24 Del.C. §2104(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 2100

ORDER

After due notice in the Register of Regulations and two 
Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held on 
December 16, 2004 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware 
Board of Examiners in Optometry to receive comments 
regarding proposed Regulation 14.0. The proposed 
regulation identifies crimes substantially related to the 
practice of optometry as mandated by SB 229 enacted by the 
142nd General Assembly. The proposed regulation was 
published in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 5, 

November 1, 2004.

Background

Under Title 24, Chapter 21, one of the qualifications for 
licensure is that the applicant shall submit evidence that the 
applicant “has not engaged in any of the acts or offenses that 
would be grounds for disciplinary action under this chapter 
and has no disciplinary proceedings or unresolved 
complaints pending against him or her in any jurisdiction 
where the applicant has previously been or is currently 
licensed.” 24 Del.C. §2107(a)(4), 24 Del.C. §2113(a)(8), as 
amended by SB 229 provides that a licensee shall be subject 
to disciplinary action set forth §2114 if, after a hearing the 
Board finds that the optometrist “has been convicted of a 
crime that is substantially related to the practice of 
optometry. ‘Substantially related’ means the nature of the 
criminal conduct, for which the person was convicted, has a 
direct bearing on the fitness or ability to perform one or more 
of the duties or responsibilities necessarily related to the 
practice of optometry.  A copy of the record of conviction 
certified by the clerk of the court entering the conviction 
shall be conclusive evidence therefore.”  §2133 (a)(8).

The Board’s authority to promulgate rules and 
regulations implementing or clarifying specific sections of 
Chapter 21 is set forth in 24 Del.C. §2104. The proposed 
regulation specifically identifies those crimes which are 
substantially related to the practice of optometry.

Summary Of The Evidence

No written comments were received. No public 
comment was received at the December 16, 2004 hearing. 

Findings of Fact with Respect to the Evidence and 
Information Submitted

The Board carefully reviewed and considered the crimes 
presented as a compilation of crimes extracted from the 
Delaware Code. The overarching concern of the Board was 
the safety of the public since the licensed practitioners work 
in close physical proximity, and have direct physical contact, 
with the individuals they treat while performing optometric 
services. An optometrist’s patients may also include children 
and the elderly who are vulnerable to undue influence or 
other forms of abuse. An optometrist has access to 
confidential patient records, billing and health insurance 
records. In addition, therapeutically certified optometrists 
have prescriptive authority for those pharmaceutical agents 
specified by statute.

The “primary objective” of the Board of Examiners in 
Optometry, to which all other objectives and purposes are 
secondary, is to protect the general public, specifically those 
persons who are the direct recipients of services regulated by 
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this chapter, from unsafe practices and from occupational 
practices which tend to reduce competition or fix the price of 
services rendered” 24 Del.C. §2100. The Board finds that 
the crimes in the proposed rule are substantially related to 
fitness or ability to perform 1 or more of the duties and 
responsibilities of an optometrist in that they involve: the use 
of physical violence or force, or the threat thereof, toward or 
upon the person of another; dishonesty, or false or fraudulent 
conduct;  mistreatment or abuse of children, the elderly or 
animals; offenses against the public administration including 
but not limited to bribery and perjury; offenses against 
public health, order and decency; offenses which evidence  a 
lack of appropriate concern for the safety and well being of 
another person or persons in general demonstrating 
sufficiently flawed judgment to call into question the 
individuals ability to make or advise upon health care related 
matters for other individuals; and offenses involving the 
illegal possession or the misuse or abuse of narcotics, or 
other addictive substances and those non-addictive 
substances with a substantial capacity to impair reason or 
judgment.

In summary, the Board finds that adopting regulation 
14.0 as proposed is in the best interest of the citizens of the 
State of Delaware and is necessary to protect the health and 
safety of the general public, particularly the recipients of 
optometric services.

 Decision And Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulation 14.0 
to be effective 10 days following publication of this order in 
the Register of Regulations.

Text And Citation

The text of the revised rule remains as published in 
Register of Regulations, Vol. 8, Issue 5, November 1, 2004, 
and as attached hereto as Exhibit A.

SO ORDERED this 16th day of December, 2004.

BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN OPTOMETRY

Carl Maschauer, O.D., President, Professional Member
Sonja P. Biddle, O.D., Professional Member
Allan S. Tocker, O.D., Professional Member
Ruth Banta, Public Member
Nichole Anderson, Public Member

2100 Board of Optometry

14.0 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
optometry:

14.1 Conviction of any of the following crimes, or 
of the attempt to commit or of a conspiracy to commit or 
conceal or of solicitation to commit any of the following 
crimes, is deemed to be substantially related to the practice 
of optometry in the State of Delaware without regard to the 
place of conviction:

14.1.1 Aggravated menacing.  11 Del.C. §602 (b)
14.1.2 Reckless endangering in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §604
14.1.3 Abuse of a pregnant female in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C.  §605.
14.1.4 Abuse of a pregnant female in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C. §606.
14.1.5 Assault in the third degree.  11 Del.C.

§611.
14.1.6 Assault in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§612
14.1.7 Assault in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§613.
14.1.8 Abuse of a sports official; felony.  11 

Del.C. §614.
14.1.9 Assault by abuse or neglect. 11 Del.C.

§615.
14.1.10 Terroristic threatening; felony.  11 Del.C.

§621.
14.1.11 Unlawfully administering drugs. 11 Del.C.

§625.
14.1.12 Unlawfully administering controlled 

substance or counterfeit substance or narcotic drugs. 11 
Del.C. §626

14.1.13 Vehicular assault in the first degree. 11 
Del.C. §629.

14.1.14 Vehicular homicide in the second degree. 
11 Del.C. §630.

14.1.15 Vehicular homicide in the first degree. 11 
Del.C. §630A.

14.1.16 Criminally negligent homicide.  11 Del.C.
§631.

14.1.17 Manslaughter. 11 Del.C. §632.
14.1.18 Murder by abuse or neglect in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §633
14.1.19 Murder by abuse or neglect in the first 

degree. 11 Del.C. §634.
14.1.20 Murder in the second degree; class A 

felony.  11 Del.C. §635.
14.1.21 Murder in the first degree. 11 Del.C. §636.
14.1.22 Promoting suicide. 11 Del.C. §645.
14.1.23 Abortion.  11 Del.C. §651.
14.1.24 Incest.  11 Del.C. §766.
14.1.25 Unlawful sexual contact in the second 

degree. 11 Del.C. §768.
14.1.26 Unlawful sexual contact in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. § 769.
14.1.26 Rape in the fourth degree.  11 Del.C. §770.
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14.1.27 Rape in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §771.
14.1.28 Rape in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§772.
14.1.29 Rape in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §773.
14.1.30 Sexual extortion.  11 Del.C. §776.
14.1.31 Bestiality.  11 Del.C. §777.
14.1.32 Continuous sexual abuse of a child.  11 

Del.C. §778.
14.1.33 Dangerous crime against a child.  11 

Del.C. §779.
14.1.34 Female genital mutilation. 11 Del.C. §780.
14.1.35 Unlawful imprisonment in the first degree. 

11 Del.C. §782.
14.1.36 Kidnapping in the second degree. 11 

Del.C. §783.
14.1.37 Kidnapping in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§783A.
14.1.38 Arson in the third degree.  11 Del.C. §801.
14.1.39 Arson in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§802.
14.1.40 Arson in the first degree.  11 Del.C. §803.
14.1.41 Criminal mischief.  11 Del.C. §811.
14.1.42 Burglary in the third degree.  11 Del.C.

§824.
14.1.43 Burglary in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§825.
14.1.44 Burglary in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§826.
14.1.45 Possession of burglar’s tools or 

instruments facilitating theft. 11 Del.C. §828.
14.1.46 Robbery in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§831.
14.1.47 Robbery in the first degree.  11 Del.C.

§832.
14.1.48 Carjacking in the second degree. 11 Del.C.

§835.
14.1.49 Carjacking in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§836.
14.1.50 Shoplifting; felony.  11 Del.C. §840.
14.1.51 Use of illegitimate retail sales receipt or 

Universal Product Code Label; felony.  11 Del.C. §840A.
14.1.52 Extortion. 11 Del.C. §846.
14.1.53 Use, possession, manufacture, distribution 

and sale of unlawful telecommunication and access devices; 
felony.  11 Del.C. §850.

14.1.54 Receiving stolen property; felony.  11 
Del.C. §851

14.1.55 Identity theft.  11 Del.C. §854.
14.1.56   Possession of shoplifters tools or instruments 
facilitating theft. 11 Del.C. §860.

14.1.57 Forgery; felony; misdemeanor  11 Del.C.
§861.

14.1.58 Possession of forgery devices.  11 Del.C.
§862.

14.1.59 Falsifying business records. 11 Del.C.
§871.

14.1.60 Tampering with public records in the 
second degree  11 Del.C. §873.

14.1.61 Tampering with public records in the first 
degree.  11 Del.C. §876.

14.1.62 Offering a false instrument for filing.  11 
Del.C. §877.

14.1.63 Issuing a false certificate.  11 Del.C. §878.
14.1.64 Issuing a bad check; felony.  11 Del.C.

§900.
14.1.65 Unlawful use of credit card; felony.  11 

Del.C. §903.
14.1.66 Reencoder and scanning devices.  11 

Del.C. §903A.
14.1.67 Deceptive business practices.  11 Del.C.

§906.
14.1.68 Criminal impersonation. 11 Del.C. §907.
14.1.69 Criminal impersonation, accident related. 

11 Del.C. §907A.
14.1.70 Criminal impersonation of a police officer. 

11 Del.C. §907B.
14.1.71 Securing execution of documents by 

deception. 11 Del.C. §909.
14.1.72 Fraudulent conveyance of public lands. 11 

Del.C. §911.
14.1.73 Fraudulent receipt of public lands.  11 

Del.C. §912.
14.1.74 Insurance fraud.  11 Del.C. §913.
14.1.75 Health care fraud.  11 Del.C. §913A.
14.1.76 Use of consumer identification 

information. 11 Del.C. §914.
14.1.77 Home improvement fraud.  11 Del.C.

§916.
14.1.78 New home construction fraud.  11 Del.C.

§917.
14.1.79 Unauthorized access.  11 Del.C. §932.
14.1.80 Theft of computer services.  11 Del.C.

§933.
14.1.81 Interruption of computer services.  11 

Del.C. §934.
14.1.82 Misuse of computer system information. 

11 Del.C. §935.
14.1.83 Destruction of computer equipment.  11 

Del.C. §936.
14.1.84 Dealing in children. 11 Del.C. §1100.
14.1.85 Abandonment of child.  11 Del.C. §1101.
14.1.86 Endangering the welfare of a child. 11 

Del.C. §1102.
14.1.87 Endangering the welfare of an 

incompetent person.  11 Del.C. § 1105.
14.1.88 Sexual exploitation of a child.  11 Del.C.

§1108.
14.1.89 Unlawfully dealing in child pornography. 
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11 Del.C. §1109.
14.1.90 Possession of child pornography. 11 

Del.C. §1111.
14.1.91 Sexual offenders; prohibitions from school 

zones.  11 Del.C. §1112.
14.1.92 Sexual solicitation of a child.  11 Del.C.

§1112A
14.1.93 Bribery.  11 Del.C. §1201
14.1.94 Receiving a bribe; class E felony.  11 

Del.C. §1203.
14.1.95 Improper influence. 11 Del.C. §1207.
14.1.96 Official misconduct. 11 Del.C. §1211.
14.1.97 Perjury in the second degree.  11 Del.C.

§1222.
14.1.98 Perjury in the first degree. 11 Del.C.

§1223.
14.1.99 Making a false written statement.  11 

Del.C. §1233.
14.1.100 Wearing a disguise during the 

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C. §239.
14.1.101 Terroristic threatening of public 

officials or public servants. 11 Del.C. §1240.
14.1.102 Hindering prosecution.  11 Del.C.

§1244.
14.1.103 Falsely reporting an incident.  11 

Del.C. §1245.
14.1.104 Abetting the violation of driver’s 

license restrictions.  11 Del.C. §1249.
14.1.105 Offenses against law-enforcement 

animals. Felony  11 Del.C. §1250.
14.1.106 Escape in the second degree.  11 

Del.C. §1252.
14.1.107 Escape after conviction.  11 Del.C.

§1253.
14.1.108 Assault in a detention facility.  11 

Del.C. §1254.
14.1.109 Promoting prison contraband; felony; 

misdemeanor.  11 Del.C. §1256.
14.1.110 Use of an animal to avoid capture; 

felony  11 Del.C. § 1257A.
14.1.111 Misuse of prisoner mail; felony.  11 

Del.C. §1260.
14.1.112 Bribing a witness.  11 Del.C. §1261.
14.1.113 Bribe receiving by a witness.  11 

Del.C. §1262.
14.1.114 Tampering with a witness.  11 Del.C.

§1263.
14.1.115 Interfering with child witness.  11 

Del.C. §1263A.
14.1.116 Bribing a juror.  11 Del.C. §1264.
14.1.117 Bribe receiving by a juror.  11 Del.C.

§1265.
14.1.118 Tampering with a juror.  11 Del.C.

§1266.

14.1.119 Misconduct by a juror.  11 Del.C.
§1267.

14.1.120 Tampering with physical evidence. 
11 Del.C. §1269.

14.1.121 Riot.  11 Del.C. §1302.
14.1.122 Hate crimes; misdemeanor; felony. 11 

Del.C. §1304.
14.1.123 Aggravated harassment.  11 Del.C.

§1312.
14.1.124 Stalking.  11 Del.C. §1312A.
14.1.125 Cruelty to animals; felony.  11 Del.C.

§1325.
14.1.126 Animals; fighting and baiting 

prohibited; felony.  11 Del.C. §1326.
14.1.127 Maintaining a dangerous animal; 

felony.  11 Del.C. §1327.
14.1.128 Abusing a corpse.  11 Del.C. §1332.
14.1.129 Trading in human remains and 

associated funerary objects.  11 Del.C. §1333.
14.1.129 Violation of privacy; misdemeanor; 

felony.  11 Del.C. §1335.
14.1.130 Bombs, incendiary devices, Molotov 

cocktails and explosive devices. 11 Del.C. §1338.
14.1.131 Adulteration.  11 Del.C. §1339.
14.1.132 Prostitution.  11 Del.C. §1342.
14.1.133 Patronizing a prostitute prohibited.  11 

Del.C. §1343.
14.1.134 Promoting prostitution in the third 

degree.  11 Del.C. §1351.
14.1.135 Promoting prostitution in the second 

degree.  11 Del.C. §1352.
14.1.136 Promoting prostitution in the first 

degree.  11 Del.C. §1353.
14.1.137 Permitting prostitution.  11 Del.C.

§1355.
14.1.138 Carrying a concealed deadly weapon. 

11 Del.C. §1442.
14.1.139 Carrying a concealed dangerous 

instrument.  11 Del.C. §1443.
14.1.140 Possessing a destructive weapon.  11 

Del.C. §1444.
14.1.141 Unlawfully dealing with a dangerous 

weapon.  11 Del.C. §1445.
14.1.142 Possession of a deadly weapon during 

commission of a felony. 11 Del.C. §1447.
14.1.143 Possession of a firearm during 

commission of a felony.  11 Del.C. §1447A.
14.1.144 Possession and purchase of deadly 

weapons by persons prohibited.  11 Del.C. §1448.
14.1.145 Criminal history record checks for 

sales of firearms; felony.  11 Del.C. §1448A.
14.1.146 Wearing body armor during 

commission of felony.  11 Del.C. §1449.
14.1.147 Receiving a stolen firearm.  11 Del.C.
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§1450.
14.1.148 Theft of a firearm.  11 Del.C. §1451.
14.1.149 Giving a firearm to person prohibited. 

11 Del.C. §1454.
14.1.150 Engaging in a firearms transaction on 

behalf of another.   11 Del.C. §1455.
14.1.151 Unlawfully permitting a minor access 

to a firearm. 11 Del.C. §1456.
14.1.152 Possession of a weapon in a Safe 

School and Recreation Zone.  11 Del.C. §1457.
14.1.153 Removing a firearm from the 

possession of a law enforcement officer.  11 Del.C. §1458.
14.1.154 Possession of a weapon with a 

removed, obliterated or altered serial number.  11 Del.C.
§1459.

14.1.155 Prohibited acts. cheating devices (a)-
(e), second or subsequent offense.  11 Del.C. §1471.

14.1.156 Organized Crime and Racketeering. 
11 Del.C. §1504.

14.1.157 Victim or Witness Intimidation  11 
Del.C. §3532 & 3533.

14.1.158 Abuse, neglect, mistreatment or 
financial exploitation of residents or patients 16 Del.C.
§1136(a), (b) and (c). 

14.1.159 Prohibited acts A under the Uniform 
Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4751(a), (b) and (c).

14.1.160 Prohibited acts B under the Uniform 
Controlled Substances Act.   16 Del.C. §4752(a) and (b).

14.1.161 Unlawful delivery of noncontrolled 
substance. 16 Del.C. §4752A.

14.1.162 Trafficking in marijuana, cocaine, 
illegal drugs,   methamphetamines, Lysergic Acid 
Diethylamide (L.S.D.), designer drugs, or 3,4-
methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA). 16 Del.C.
§4753A (a)(1)-(9).

14.1.163 Possession and delivery of 
noncontrolled prescription drug. 16 Del.C. §4754A.

14.1.164 Prohibited acts E under the Uniform 
Controlled Substances Act.    16 Del.C. §4755.(a)(1) and (2)

14.1.165 Prohibited acts under the Uniform 
Controlled Substances Act.  16 Del.C. §4756(a)(1)-(5) and 
(b).

14.1.166 Hypodermic syringe or needle; 
delivering or possessing;  disposal; 16 Del.C. §4757.

14.1.167 Keeping drugs in original containers. 
16 Del.C. §4758.

14.1.168 Distribution to persons under 21 years 
of age.  16 Del.C. § 4761.

14.1.169 Purchase of drugs from minors.  16 
Del.C. §4761A

14.1.170 Distribution, delivery, or possession 
of controlled substance within 1,000 feet of school property; 
penalties; defenses.  16 Del.C. §4767

14.1.171 Distribution, delivery or possession of 

controlled substance in or within 300 feet of park, recreation 
area, church, synagogue or other place of worship.  16 
Del.C. §4768

14.1.172 Drug paraphernalia.  16 Del.C. §4771 
(a) and (b).

14.1.173 Possession, manufacture and sale, 
delivery to a minor and advertising of drug paraphernalia. 
16 Del.C. §4774(a), (b), (c) (d)

14.1.174 Operation of a vessel or boat while 
under the influence of intoxicating liquor and/or drugs; third 
and fourth offenses.  23 Del.C. §2302(a) and §2305 (3) and 
(4).

14.1.175 Attempt to evade or defeat tax. 30 
Del.C. §571.

14.1.176 Failure to collect or pay over tax.  30 
Del.C. §572.

14.1.177 Failure to file return, supply 
information or pay tax.  30 Del.C. §573.

14.1.178 Fraud and false statements.  30 Del.C.
§574.

14.1.179 Obtaining benefit under false 
representation. 31 Del.C. §1003.

14.1.180 Reports, statements and documents. 
31 Del.C. §1004(1), (2), (3), (4), (5)

14.1.181 Kickback schemes and solicitations. 
31 Del.C. §1005.

14.1.182 Conversion of payment.  31 Del.C.
§1006.

14.1.183 Unlawful possession or manufacture 
of proof of insurance.  21 Del.C. §2118A.

14.1.184 Temporary registration violations 
related to providing false information.  21 Del.C.  §2133(a) 
(1)-(3).

14.1.185 False statements.  21 Del.C. §2315.
14.1.186 Altering or forging certificate of title, 

manufacturer’s certificate of origin, registration card, vehicle 
warranty or certification sticker or vehicle identification 
plate.  21 Del.C. §2316.

14.1.187 False statements; incorrect or 
incomplete information.  21 Del.C. §2620.

14.1.188 License to operate a motorcycle, 
motorbike, etc.  21 Del.C. §2703.

14.1.189 Issuance of a Level 1 Learner’s 
Permit and Class D operator’s license to persons under 18 
years of age.  21 Del.C. §2710.

14.1.190 Unlawful application for or use of 
license or identification card.  21 Del.C. §2751.

14.1.191 False statements.  21 Del.C. §2752.
14.1.192 Driving vehicle while license is 

suspended or revoked.  21 Del.C. §2756.
14.1.193 Duplication, reproduction, altering, or 

counterfeiting of driver’s licenses or identification cards.  21 
Del.C. §2760(a) and (b).

14.1.194 Driving after judgment prohibited.  21 
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Del.C. §2810.
14.1.195 False statements.  21 Del.C. §3107.
14.1.196 Driving a vehicle while under the 

influence or with a prohibited alcohol content.  21 Del.C.
§4177 (3) and (4).

14.1.197 Duty of driver involved in accident 
resulting in injury or death to any person.   21 Del.C. §4202.

14.1.198 Duty to report accidents; evidence. 21 
Del.C. §4203.

14.1.199 Possession of motor vehicle master 
keys, manipulative keys, key-cutting devices, lock picks or 
lock picking devices and hot wires.  21 Del.C. §4604(a).

14.1.200 Tampering with vehicle.  21 Del.C.
§6703.

14.1.201 Receiving or transferring stolen 
vehicle.  21 Del.C. §6704.

14.1.202 Removed, falsified or unauthorized 
identification number on vehicle, bicycle or engine; removed 
or affixed license/registration plate with intent to 
misrepresent identity.  21 Del.C. §6705(a)-(e).

14.1.203 Possession of blank title; blank 
registration card;  vehicle identification plate; warranty 
sticker and registration card.  21 Del.C. §6708(a) and (b).

14.1.204 Removal of warranty or certification 
stickers; vehicle identification plates; confidential vehicle 
identification numbers. 21 Del.C. §6709(a).

14.1.205 Unlawful possession of assigned 
titles, assigned registration cards, vehicle identification 
plates and warranty stickers.  21 Del.C.  §6710(a).

14.1.206 Offenses [involving meat and poultry 
inspection including  bribery or attempted bribery or 
assaulting or impeding any person in the performance of his 
duties] (felony)   3 Del.C. §871

14.1.207 Fraudulent Written Statements  3 
Del.C. §10049

14.1.208 Fraudulent Certificate of Registration 
or Eligibility Documents 3 Del.C. §10050

14.1.209 Prohibited trade practices against 
infirm or elderly] 6 Del.C. §2581

14.1.210 Auto Repair Fraud victimizing the 
infirm or elderly  6 Del.C. §4909A

14.1.211 Possession or use of false weights. 6 
Del.C. §5134

14.1.212 Violations of the Securities Act 6 
Del.C. §7322

14.1.213 Unauthorized Acts against a Service 
Guide or Seeing Eye Dog 7 Del.C. §1717

14.1.214 Interception of Communications 
Generally; Divulging Contents of Communications 11 
Del.C. §2402

14.1.215 Manufacture, Possession or Sale of 
Intercepting Device.  11 Del.C.§2403

14.1.216 Breaking and Entering, Etc. to Place 
or Remove Equipment 11 Del.C. §2410

14.1.217 Obstruction, Impediment or 
Prevention of Interception.  11 Del.C. §2412

14.1.218 Obtaining, Altering or Preventing 
Authorized Access.   11 Del.C. §2421

14.1.219 Divulging Contents of 
Communications.  11 Del.C. §2422

14.1.220 Installation and Use Generally [of pen 
trace and trap and trace devices]. 11 Del.C. §2431

14.1.221 Aggravated Act of Intimidation.  11 
Del.C. §3533

14.1.223 Attempt to Intimidate. 11 Del.C. 
§3534

14.1.224 Disclosure of Expunged Records. 11 
Del.C. §4374

14.1.225 Violation of reporting provisions re: 
SBI.  11 Del.C. §8523

14.1.226 Failure of child-care provider to 
obtain information required under §8561 or for those 
providing false information. 11 Del.C. §8562

14.1.227 Providing false information when 
seeking employment in a public school.  11 Del.C. §8572

14.1.228 Filing False Claim [under Victims’ 
Compensation Fund].  11 Del.C. §9016

14.1.229 Alteration, Theft or Destruction of 
Will. 12 Del.C. §210

14.1.230 Violation of reporting requirements 
involving abuse under §903. 16 Del.C. §914

14.1.231 Coercion or intimidation involving 
health-care decisions and falsification, destruction of a 
document to create a false impression that measures to 
prolong life have been authorized. 16 Del.C. §2513(a) and 
(b).

14.1.232 Violations related to the  sale, 
purchase, receipt, possession, transportation, use, safety and 
control of explosive materials other than 16 Del.C. §7103. 
16 Del.C. §7112

14.1.233 Operation of a Vessel or Boat while 
under the Influence of Intoxicating Liquor and/or Drugs  23 
Del.C. §2302 (3) and (4)

14.1.234 License Requirements.  24 Del.C.
§901

14.1.235 Sale to Persons under 21 or 
Intoxicated Persons.  24 Del.C. §903

14.1.236 Failure to make Reports of Persons 
who are Subject to Loss of Consciousness   24 Del.C. §1763

14.1.237 [Interference] Relating to the Blind 
and “Seeing Eye Dogs” 31 Del.C. §2117

14.1.238 Abuse, neglect, exploitation or 
mistreatment of infirm adult.  31 Del.C. §3913(a), (b) and 
(c).

14.2 Crimes substantially related to the practice of 
optometry shall be deemed to include any crimes under any 
federal law, state law, or valid town, city or county 
ordinance, that are substantially similar to the crimes 
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identified in this rule.

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not 
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of 
the rules and regulations for the Board of Optometry is 
available at:  http://
www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/optometry/
index.shtml

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d)  (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 610

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

610 Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems Component 

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to repeal 14 DE 
Admin. Code 610 Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems 
Component (14 Del.C. Section 1604 of Chapter 16 
Comprehensive School Discipline Improvement Program 
August 1998) and replace it with two separate regulations 
(14 DE Admin. Code 609 District and School Based 
Intervention Services and 14 DE Admin. Code 611 
Consortium Discipline Alternative Programs for Treatment 
of Severe Discipline Problems).  The new regulations 609 
and 611 streamline and clarify the requirements for each 
type of program, School Based Programs and Alternative 
Program Sites.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on October 22, 
2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  Comments 
were received from the Governor’s Advisory Council for 
Exceptional Children and the State Council for Persons with 
Disabilities. The Councils recommended some word 
changes for clarity in sections 4.1 and 4.3 of 609 and the 
changes have been made.  In Section 5.0 in 609 and in 
Section 12.0 in 611 clarifying phrases concerning the 
reporting process were added as per the Councils 
recommendations.  In response to the concern about students 
who are eligible for CDAP services being excluded from 
eligibility for school based services the Department offers 
the following response.  Proposed regulation 609 requires 
that the districts provide services to disruptive students who 
are not eligible for placement in consortia discipline 
alternative programs (CDAP’s).  It does not prohibit districts 
from providing school based services to students who are 
eligible for CDAP placement.  The categorical exclusion in 

proposed regulations 609 and 611 runs the opposite 
direction: students may not be placed in CDAP for behaviors 
that are best served through school based programs and 
services.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to repeal 14 DE 
Admin. Code 610 Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems 
Component (14 Del.C. Section 1604 of Ch. 16 
Comprehensive School Discipline Improvement Program 
August 1998) and replace it with two separate regulations 
(14 DE Admin. Code 609 District and School Based 
Intervention Services and 14 DE Admin. Code 611 
Consortium Discipline Alternative Programs for Treatment 
of Severe Discipline Problems) in order to streamline and 
clarify the requirements for each type of program, School 
Based Programs and Alternative Program Sites.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to repeal 14 DE Admin. Code 610 and 
replace it with two separate regulations 14 DE Admin. Code
609 District and School Based Intervention Services and 14 
DE Admin. Code 611 Consortium Discipline Alternative 
Programs for Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. Chapter 16, 14 DE Admin. 
Code 609 and 14 DE Admin. Code 611 attached hereto as 
Exhibit “B” are hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision 
of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 609 and 14 DE 
Admin. Code 611 hereby adopted shall be in effect for a 
period of five years from the effective date of this order as 
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 609 and 14 DE 
Admin. Code 611 adopted hereby shall be in the form 
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulations shall be 
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 609 and 14 DE Admin. Code
611 in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the 
Department of Education.  In addition 14 DE Admin. Code
610 shall be removed from the Administrative Code of
Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch.16 on December 15, 
2004.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days 
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware 
Register of Regulations.
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IT IS SO ORDERED the 16th day of December 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Valarie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education
Approved this 16th day of December 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

610 Treatment of Sever Discipline problems Component 
(14 Del.C. Section 1604 of Chapter 16 Comprehensive 
School Discipline Improvement Program August 1998

1.0 Population to be Served: Except as otherwise provided 
herein, all students who are expelled by a local school 
district or are in danger of being expelled shall be placed in 
the alternative program unless the student is expelled for an 
offense equivalent to a violation of one of the following: 11 
Del.C. §613 (Assault in the First Degree); or 11 Del.C. 
§1457 (Possession of a Weapon in a Safe School and 
Recreation Zone); or 11 Del.C. §802 (Arson in the Second 
Degree); or 11 Del.C. §803 (Arson in the First Degree); or 
11 Del.C. §771 (Unlawful Sexual Penetration in the Second 
Degree); or 11 Del.C. §772 (Unlawful Sexual Penetration in 
the First Degree); or 11 Del.C. §773 (Unlawful Sexual 
Intercourse in the Third Degree); or 11 Del.C. §774 
(Unlawful Sexual Intercourse in the Second Degree); or 11 
Del.C. §775 (Unlawful Sexual Intercourse in the First 
Degree); or 16 Del.C. §4753A (Trafficking Marijuana, 
Cocaine, Illegal Drugs or Methamphetamine).

2.0 Non-referral of Students: In any case in which an 
expelled student is not referred to an alternative program, the 
decision of the local school district to expel shall state with 
specificity the reason for non-referral and the evidence in 
support thereof.

3.0 Informing the Legal Guardian: Districts shall inform the 
legal guardian of students for whom expulsion is being 
considered or who are expelled of the alternative education 
options that are then currently available to the students. 
These options shall include but not be limited to the 
alternative program, GED programs, James H. Groves High 
School and others.

4.0 Age/Grade Level to be Served: Eligible students shall 
be primarily those who are enrolled in grades 6 through 12, 
however students in lower grades may also be served 
through these funds.

5.0 Placement in Alternative Programs: Each district shall 
establish an Alternative Placement Team to review each case 
and prescribe the appropriate placement for each student. 
The Placement Team, in concert with the Alternative 
Program staff, shall design an Individual Service Plan (ISP) 
for each student that will include educational goals, 
behavioral goals, and services needed by both the student 
and his/her family. The ISP shall include a tentative re-entry/
transition plan. The Alternative Placement Team shall be 
composed of a representative of the Alternative Program 
staff; a district level coordinator who will be designated by 
the superintendent; the building level principal, assistant 
principal or other person as appropriate; student’s custodial 
adult; guidance counselor and/or school social worker; 
representatives from DSCYF such as Youth Rehabilitation 
Service or other worker with whom the family is involved as 
appropriate. Other school, alternative program, or agency 
personnel may be invited as needed and determined by the 
Placement Team. Students who are being placed in the 
Alternative Program as a transition from DSCYF facilities 
will have an ISP developed in concert with the DSCYF 
facility team, the Alternative Placement Team, and the 
student’s custodial adult. If students from either a school 
district or DSCYF facility are students with disabilities, 
appropriate special education staff shall be included in 
placement considerations. The Alternative Placement Team 
and the IEP Team may be the same.

6.0 September 30 Enrollment Count: A student enrolled in 
an Alternative Program may be counted in the regular school 
enrollment count. If enrolled the previous year in a special 
education program in the reporting school, the student may 
continue to be reported for the same level of special 
education service as was received the previous year. If 
enrolled the previous year in a vocational program in the 
reporting school, the student may be reported as enrolled in 
the next vocational course in the program series.

7.0 Alternative Program Setting: The Alternative Program 
setting shall be apart from the regular school setting, 
however, a part of a school building may be used for these 
programs so long as the students do not interact with the 
regular school population or use any school facility at the 
same time as the regular school population. Use of other 
agency facilities (Boys and Girls Club, YMCA, YWCA, 
etc.) is encouraged. Settings shall meet safety regulations for 
student occupancy as outlined in Delaware Code.

8.0 Alternative Program Design: The Alternative Program 
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shall include an educational program designed to maintain 
and improve skills at least in core academic areas such as 
English/language arts, mathematics, science, and social 
studies that will allow students to re-enter the regular school 
program with a reasonable chance and expectation for 
success. Every effort shall be made to provide courses 
comparable to the regular school setting for each student. 
Opportunities for academic acceleration will also be 
provided. The academic program should focus on applied 
learning activities that encourage students’ active 
participation in the learning process as opposed to work 
sheets and other “seat oriented” drill exercises. Credit for 
work accomplished in the Alternative Program setting shall 
be automatically transferred to the regular school. Included 
in the academic core studies should be study skills, test 
taking strategies, and academic confidence building. 
Counseling and other services shall be delivered on-site for 
students.

9.0 Staffing: Instructional staff shall include at least two 
certified teachers in the major academic subject areas who 
can provide the lead for academic instruction and at least two 
instructional/service aides. Priority should be given to hiring 
staff who are qualified to teach special education.

10.0 Students With Disabilities: Notwithstanding any of 
the provisions to the contrary, students with disabilities shall 
be served pursuant to the provisions of Regulation 925, 
Children with Disabilities. 

See 2 DE Reg. 374 (9/1/98)
See 7 DE Reg. 330 (9/1/03)

609 District and School Based Intervention Services

1.0 Each school district shall provide services for students 
whose behavior disrupts the classroom setting and creates 
distractions that impede the learning process, but who are 
not eligible for placement in an alternative program pursuant 
to 14 DE Admin. Code 611.  School districts may offer such 
services based on the identified needs of the district and its 
individual schools, subject to the requirements of this 
regulation.

2.0 Application for Funding:
Any school district requesting an incentive or 

supplemental grant to provide intervention services shall 
apply for such funds using the LEA Consolidated 
Application process provided by the Department of 
Education.

2.1 Any incentive or supplemental grant approved as 
part of the LEA Consolidated Application process shall be in 
the amount appropriated for that purpose by law.

3.0 Student Population to be Served:

Services funded under this regulation may be provided 
to any student in grades K-12, subject to the terms of the 
district’s approved LEA Consolidated Application. 
Notwithstanding any of the provisions to the contrary, 
students with disabilities shall be served pursuant to the 
provisions in 14 DE Admin. Code 925.

4.0 School Based Intervention Programs:
If a district, through its LEA Consolidated Application, 

provides a School Based Intervention Program as part of the 
services provided to disruptive students, such Program shall 
meet the following requirements:

4.1 A School Based Intervention Program shall include 
both short term and long term intervention strategies.  Such 
strategies may include character education, short or long 
term counseling to improve behavior which impacts 
[academic educational] performance, and methods to 
identify the need to refer students for additional services 
either within the district or to other agencies.  The Program 
shall also include support services to provide a smooth 
transition for students who are returning to their regular 
school from a Consortium Discipline Alternative Program or 
from a Department of Services to Children, Youth and their 
Families (DSCYF) setting.

4.2 The decision to place a student in the School Based 
Intervention Program shall be made by the student’s 
Intervention Team.  The Intervention Team shall include the 
building principal or assistant principal, school nurse, 
counselor, social worker (if the student receives social work 
services), and a teacher familiar with the student. Other 
individuals, including parents, guardians or Relative 
Caregivers, may be invited as appropriate. 

4.3 When placing a student with disabilities in a School 
Based Intervention Program, the Intervention Team and a 
student’s IEP team may be the same as long as the 
membership of the [IEP team Intervention Team also]
meets the requirements of 14 DE Admin. Code 925.

5.0 Evaluation of Services:
Any local school district receiving a grant pursuant to 

this regulation shall submit an annual evaluation report on 
the effectiveness of its District and School Based 
Intervention Services.  Such report shall be submitted as part 
of the LEA Consolidated Application process [and shall 
conform to content and format standards.]

611 Consortium Discipline Alternative Programs for 
Treatment of Severe Discipline Problems

1.0 Eligible Students:
Except as otherwise provided in this regulation, any 

student who is expelled by a local school district, who is 
subject to expulsion or who otherwise seriously violates the 
district discipline code shall be eligible for placement at a 
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Consortium Discipline Alternative Program site.
1.1 Local school districts may place a student at a 

Consortium Discipline Alternative Program site only if the 
district board:

1.1.1 Has expelled the student for a violation of 
the district’s discipline code; or

1.1.2 Determines that the student has engaged in 
conduct that permits the board to expel the student; or

1.1.3 Determines that the student has exhibited 
such severe discipline problems that expulsion is imminent.

1.2 School districts may place a student in a 
Consortium Discipline Alternative Program site for 
classroom or school environment disruptions only if:

1.2.1 Such disruptions are chronic and 
repetitive; and 

1.2.2 The student has participated in all 
available School Based Intervention Programs pursuant to 
14 DE Admin. Code 609 and continues to routinely and 
seriously disrupt the classroom and impede the learning of 
other students.

2.0 Ineligible students:
Any student expelled or suspended pending expulsion 

for behavior equivalent to a violation of the following is not 
eligible for, and may not be placed at a Consortium 
Discipline Alternative Program site.

2.1 11 Del.C. §613 Assault in the First Degree; class C 
felony; or

2.2 11 Del.C. §1457 Possession of a Weapon in a Safe 
School and Recreation Zone;
class D, E, or F: class A or B misdemeanor; or

2.3 11 Del.C. §802 Arson in the Second Degree 
affirmative defense; class D felony; or

2.4 11 Del.C. §803 Arson in the first degree; class C 
felony; or

2.5 11 Del.C. §770 Rape in the fourth degree; class C 
felony; or

2.6 11 Del.C. §771 Rape in the third degree; class B 
felony; or

2.7 11 Del.C. §772 Rape in the second degree class B 
felony; or

2.8 11 Del.C. §773 Rape in the first degree class A 
felony; or

2.9 16 Del.C. §4753A Trafficking in marijuana, 
cocaine, illegal drugs, methamphetamine, LSD, or designed 
drugs or 

2.10 Any behavior equivalent to or greater than the 
offenses in 2.1 through 2.9.

3.0 Written Decision:
When a school board expels a student but determines 

the student shall not be placed at a Consortium Discipline 
Alternative Program under subsections 2.1.1 to 2.1.10 of this 
regulation, the school district’s written decision shall address 

with specificity the reason for non-placement and the 
evidence in support thereof. Such decisions shall be reported 
to the Delaware Department of Education’s Office of School 
Climate and Discipline within five working days.

4.0 Informing the Parents, Guardians, Relative 
Caregiver or Students (if the Student is Age 18 or Older):

Districts shall inform the parents, guardians, Relative 
Caregiver or students (if the student is age 18 or older) of the 
alternative education options that are then currently available 
to them if the students have been expelled or expulsion is 
being considered.  These options may include, but are not be 
limited to, the Consortium Discipline Alternative Program, a 
GED Program, James H. Groves High School and continued 
special education and related services for children with 
disabilities as determined by the student’s individual 
eligibility for participation in such programs. A student’s 
eligibility for such alternative education options is 
determined by the requirements of such programs.

5.0 Grade Level to be Served:
Eligible students in the Consortium Discipline 

Alternative Program shall be primarily those who are 
enrolled in grades 6 through 12, however students in the 
lower grades may also be served through Alternative 
Program funds.

6.0 Placement at Consortium Discipline Alternative 
Program Sites

6.1 Each district shall establish an Alternative 
Placement Team to review each case and prescribe the 
appropriate placement for students. The Placement Team, in 
concert with the Consortium Discipline Alternative Program 
staff, shall design an Individual Service Plan (ISP) for each 
student that will include educational goals, behavioral goals, 
and services needed by both students and their families. The 
ISP shall include a tentative transition plan.

6.1.1 The Alternative Placement Team shall be 
composed of a representative of the Consortium Discipline 
Alternative Program staff; a district level coordinator who 
will be designated by the superintendent; the building level 
principal, assistant principal or other person as appropriate; 
the student’s custodial adult; guidance counselor or school 
social worker; and a representative from the Department of 
Services for Children Youth and Their Families (DSCYF) 
with knowledge of the student’s and family’s needs as 
appropriate.  Other individuals may be invited as determined 
by the placement team.

6.1.1.1 Students who are being placed at a 
Consortium Discipline Alternative Program site as a 
transition from DSCYF facilities shall have an ISP 
developed in concert with the DSCYF facility team, the 
Alternative Placement Team, and the student’s custodial 
adult.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 7, SATURDAY, JANUARY 1, 2005



FINAL REGULATIONS1012
6.1.2 If students from either a school district or 
DSCYF facility are children with disabilities, appropriate 
special education staff shall be included in placement 
considerations.  The Alternative Placement Team and the 
Individual Education Program (IEP) Team may be the same 
so long as the membership of the IEP Team meets the 
requirements of 14 DE Admin. Code 925.

7.0 September 30 Enrollment Count 
7.1 Students enrolled at a Consortium Discipline 

Alternative Programs site shall be counted in the enrollment 
of the sending school.  

7.2 Students shall be reported for the level of special 
education service as defined by the current IEP.

7.3 If a student was enrolled the previous year in a 
vocational program in the reporting school, the students shall 
be reported as enrolled in the next vocational course in the 
program series.

8.0 Consortium Discipline Alternative Program Setting
8.1 The Consortium Discipline Alternative Program 

setting shall be apart from the regular school setting, 
however, a part of a school building may be used for these 
programs if the students do not interact with the regular 
school population or use any school facility at the same time 
as the regular school population.

8.1.1 Use of other agency facilities (Boys and 
Girls Club, YMCA, YWCA, etc.) is encouraged. 
Consortium Discipline Alternative Program settings shall 
meet all applicable health and safety laws and regulations for 
student occupancy.

9.0 Consortium Discipline Alternative Program Design
9.1 The Consortium Discipline Alternative Program 

shall include an educational program designed to maintain 
and improve skills aligned to the Delaware State Content 
Standards that will allow students to re-enter the regular 
school program with a reasonable chance and expectation for 
success.  Opportunities for academic acceleration shall also 
be provided.  

9.1.1 The academic program shall include 
applied learning activities that encourage students’ active 
participation in the learning process as opposed to work 
sheets and other “seat oriented” drill exercises.  Study skills, 
test taking strategies for academic confidence building, and 
Character Education shall be integrated with the Delaware 
State Content Standards.

9.1.1.1 Credit for work accomplished in the 
Consortium Discipline Alternative Program setting shall be 
automatically transferred to the sending school.

9.1.2 All students enrolled in Consortium 
Discipline Alternative Programs shall participate in the 
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP).

10.0 Staffing
Instructional staff shall include educators who are 

licensed and certified in the content areas of English 
language arts, mathematics, science and social studies. 

11.0 Children With Disabilities
Notwithstanding any of the provisions to the contrary, 

children with disabilities shall be served pursuant to the 
provisions of 14 DE Admin. Code 925.

12.0 The Department of Education shall annually 
evaluate the effectiveness of the Consortium Discipline 
Alternative Programs using criteria that includes student 
demographic data, types of interventions employed, and 
prior versus subsequent behavioral and academic patterns, 
parent involvement, agency involvement and recidivism. 
[Grantees shall compile and submit data based on 
uniform standards and format established by the 
Department.]

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d)  (14 Del.C. §122(d))
14 DE Admin. Code 851

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

851 K-12 Comprehensive Health Education Program

I. Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the 
State Board of Education to re-authorize 14 DE Admin. 
Code 851 K-12 Comprehensive Health Education Program. 
The regulation is due for review under the five year cycle 
prescribed by statute.  Some amendments to the regulation 
may need to be made in the future due to possible changes in 
the National Health Education Standards as well as the work 
of the Secretary of Education’s Healthy Lifestyles Task 
Force, but these projects are not yet completed.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the 
News Journal and the Delaware State News on October 22, 
2004, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  Comments 
were received from the Governor’s Advisory Council for 
Exceptional Children and the State Council for Persons with 
Disabilities.  In response to concerns expressed about the 
inclusion of content on tobacco use, depression and obesity, 
the Department notes that tobacco is addressed in the 
regulation in section 1.3 as a core concept as is depression 
(under emotional health) and obesity (under nutrition and 
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physical health).  In the future changes may be made to this 
regulation as a result of pending changes in the National 
Health Education Standards and/or recommendations from 
Secretary Woodruff’s Task Force on Healthy Lifestyles.  A 
draft of the recommendations of the Healthy Lifestyles Task 
Force will be made available to the Councils.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to re-authorize 
14 DE Admin. Code 851 in order to keep the regulation in 
place pending any future changes in the National Health 
Education Standards and/or recommendations from 
Secretary Woodruff’s Task Force on Healthy Lifestyles.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that 
it is appropriate to re-authorize 14 DE Admin. Code 851. 
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code
851 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby re-authorized. 
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE 
Admin. Code 851 is hereby re-authorized and shall be in 
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this 
order as set forth in Section V. below

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 851 re-authorized 
hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, 
and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code
851 in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the 
Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the 
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on December 16, 2004. 
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from 
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of 
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 16th day of December 2004.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Valarie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education
Approved this 16th day of December 2004

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President

Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

851 K-12 Comprehensive Health Education Program

1.0 Each school district shall have a sequential, skill-based 
K-12 Comprehensive Health Education Program that 
establishes a foundation of understanding the relationship 
between personal behavior and health and shall include at a 
minimum the following:

1.1 Identification of a district level person to coordinate 
the district program and a coordinator in each building to 
assure compliance at the building level.

1.2 Appointment of persons such as teachers, parents, 
school nurses, community leaders, guidance counselors, law 
enforcement officers and others with expertise in the areas of 
health, family life and safe and drug free schools and 
communities to serve as members of the District 
Consolidated Application Planning Committee.

1.3 The use of the state content standards for health 
education for grades K-12 inclusive of the core concepts: 
alcohol and other drugs, injury prevention, nutrition, 
physical activity, family life and sexuality, tobacco, 
emotional health, personal and consumer health and 
community and environmental health with minimum hours 
of instruction as follows:

1.3.1 In grades K-4, a minimum of thirty (30) 
hours in each grade of comprehensive health education and 
family life education of which ten (10) hours, in each grade, 
must address drug/alcohol education.

1.3.2 In grades 5 and 6, a minimum of thirty-
five (35) hours in each grade of comprehensive health 
education and family life education of which fifteen (15) 
hours, in each grade, must address drug/alcohol education.

1.3.3 In grades 7 and 8, separate from other 
subject areas, a minimum of sixty (60) hours of 
comprehensive health education of which fifteen (15) hours, 
in each grade, must address drug/alcohol education.  If all of 
the 60 hours are provided in one year at grade 7 or 8, an 
additional fifteen hours of drug/alcohol education must be 
provided in the other grade.

1.3.4 In grades 9-12, one-half (1/2) credit of 
comprehensive health education is required for graduation of 
which fifteen (15) hours of this 1/2 credit course must 
address drug/alcohol education. This 1/2 credit course may 
be provided in the 9th, 10th, 11th or 12th grade.  In each of 
the remaining three grades, fifteen (15) hours of drug/ 
alcohol education must be provided for all students.

1.4 Inclusion of a comprehensive sexuality education 
and an HIV prevention program that stresses the benefits of 
abstinence from high-risk behaviors.
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1.5 Inclusion of the core concepts of nutrition and 
family life and sexuality implemented through family and 
consumer science/home economics courses.

1.6 An annual staff development plan that describes the 
use of effective instructional methods as demonstrated in 
sound research in the core concepts and skills inclusive of 
accessing information, self-management, analyzing internal 
and external influences, interpersonal communication, 
decision making and goal setting and advocacy.

1.7 A description of the method(s) used to implement 
and evaluate the effectiveness of the program which shall be 
reported every three years as part of the Quality Review for 
Ensuring School and Student Success.

3 DE Reg. 1073 (2/1/00)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS 
PROTECTION

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,
Section 3006A (16 Del.C. §3006A)

ORDER

Regulations for Training and Certification for Nursing 
Assistants and Certified Nursing Assistants

                                                      
Nature of the Proceedings:

The Department of Health and Social Services, Division 
of Long Term Care Residents Protection (DLTCRP) initiated 
proceedings in accordance with 29 Delaware Code, Chapter 
101 to amend the Regulations for Training and 
Qualifications for Nursing Assistants and Certified Nursing 
Assistants. On November 1, 2004, DLTCRP published 
proposed regulations in the Register of Regulations and held 
public hearings on November 30 and December 2 at which 
written comments were received.

DLTCRP reviewed and evaluated the comments from 
those public hearings as well as comments from earlier 
public hearings on proposed regulations pertaining to the 
responsibility of federally certified nursing facilities to pay 
the costs of training nursing assistants. As a result of that 
evaluation, the accompanying proposed regulations are 
being promulgated as final regulations. The discussion of the 
comments is in the accompanying Summary of Evidence.

Findings of Fact

The Department of Health and Social Services finds that 

the proposed regulations, as set forth in the attached copy, 
should be adopted as final regulations. Therefore, it is 
ordered that the proposed Regulations for Training and 
Qualifications for Nursing Assistants and Certified Nursing 
Assistants are promulgated effective January 10, 2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary
Department of Health and Social Services
Date of Signature, 12.15.2004

Summary of the Evidence

A comment asked the purpose of the regulations relating 
to reimbursement issues. The purpose is to clarify and ensure 
compliance with federal regulations found at 42 CFR 
§483.152 which prohibit charging a nurse aide for any 
portion of a nurse aide training program and which require 
reimbursement of personally incurred training costs if a 
federally certified nursing facility hires an individual within 
twelve months of completion of a training program.

Several commenters discussed the issue of the added 
costs to facilities if students in facility-based CNA training 
programs cannot be charged any amount for the training. 
Concern was expressed that the added costs may lead to the 
closing of some facility-based training programs. 
Additionally, a commenter made the point that students who 
are paying for a portion of the training program score higher 
on the test because they have a personal investment in 
succeeding.  However valid these points may be, the federal 
regulations are explicit in prohibiting facilities from 
charging students for CNA training.

One comment suggested that facilities are not required 
under federal regulations to pay for more than one 
competency evaluation although the federal regulations 
permit the student to test three times.  Since the federal 
regulations clearly prohibit charging students for any portion 
of the training program, there is no basis to conclude that it is 
the intent of the regulations that students should pay for the 
second or third test.

Several comments focused on issues related to state 
reimbursement to facilities for their training and competency 
evaluation costs. One comment requested that these 
regulations clarify the method by which facilities recoup 
their training costs from Medicaid. Another comment 
suggested that Medicaid reimburse costs entirely under CNA 
training costs rather than to divide them between training 
costs and the regular cost report.  A commenter called for the 
state to pay all costs of testing.  Another comment stated that 
Medicaid and not the Division of Long Term Care Residents 
Protection should issue these regulations because they are a 
Medicaid fiscal issue. The Medicaid reimbursement 
methodology in place in the Medicaid State Plan is the 
mechanism by which the state pays facilities for CNA 
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training and testing costs; and, therefore, the Division of 
Long Term Care Residents Protection is not including in 
these regulations fiscal matters that are the province of 
Medicaid.

One comment called attention to the section of the state 
law pertaining to CNA training which says that it is the 
intent of the General Assembly that costs to entities 
administering CNA training courses be offset to the fullest 
extent possible by state and federal training funds. 
Currently, several schools offering CNA training programs 
receive funding from the Department of Labor. Facility-
based programs may wish to explore their potential 
eligibility for such funding. 

Several comments were received expressing concerns 
about nonfacility-based training programs raising their rates 
if students were eligible for reimbursement by a facility. It 
should be noted that federal regulations already require such 
reimbursement, so these regulations should not provide any 
new incentive for training programs to raise rates. In any 
event, since students who are not eligible for any other 
funding source must pay training costs out of pocket, school-
based training programs imposing excessive rate increases 
would lose enrollments.

A comment proposed that a reasonable charge for 
nonfacility-based training programs be established prior to 
the adoption of these regulations. The Division of Long 
Term Care Residents Protection has no authority to set 
charges for training programs.

Another comment expressed concern that CNAs who 
are eligible for reimbursement of personally incurred 
expenses might encounter difficulty in finding jobs if they 
are competing for employment with applicants who are not 
eligible for reimbursement.  The comment raises a legitimate 
concern, and the ease or difficulty with which a CNA 
eligible for reimbursement finds employment may be 
dictated by the facility’s ease or difficulty in complying with 
minimum staffing requirements.

A commenter questioned how to handle a situation in 
which a facility hires a previously trained CNA and 
subsequently decides to retrain the CNA in the facility’s 
training program because the facility found the individual’s 
skills inadequate. A facility’s decision to retrain an employee 
has no effect on the initial reimbursement requirement if the 
employee is eligible for reimbursement. If the facility 
subsequently expends additional funds to retrain the 
individual, those expenditures should be eligible for 
reimbursement through the cost-reporting process.

Comments were received urging that reimbursement to 
CNAs for personally incurred costs of training and testing 
should take place after a CNA has worked at the facility for 
one year in order to encourage the employee to remain at the 
facility for at least that period.  By pro-rating payments over 
a year’s time, these regulations attempt to address that 
concern while also recognizing the CNA’s interest in 

recouping those expenditures.
Another comment proposed that these regulations 

extend to all Medicare and Medicaid certified entities that 
hire CNAs including home health agencies, temporary 
staffing agencies and hospitals. The Division of Long Term 
Care Residents Protection has jurisdiction strictly over long 
term care facilities and has no authority to regulate other 
entities.

Along the same lines, a comment called for the 
reimbursement requirements to be expanded by using the 
term “long term care facilities” rather than “nursing homes” 
so that the regulations would be more inclusive.  The federal 
regulations that form the basis for the reimbursement 
requirement apply only to federally certified nursing 
facilities.

One comment expressed concern that facilities would be 
responsible for keeping records of all items in the CNA 
Registry. Nothing in these regulations assigns such 
responsibility to facilities; the Division of Long Term Care 
Residents Protection maintains records for the Delaware 
CNA Registry.

A comment criticized the requirement that facilities 
notify the Division upon reimbursing a CNA’s personally 
incurred training costs, saying that the Division would be 
aware of the individual because the Division had issued the 
certification and that the notification would be a violation of 
the facility’s privacy. The Division’s issuance of certification 
is based on the applicant completing the Delaware training 
and testing requirement or meeting the requirements for 
reciprocal certification from another state. Nothing in the 
certification criteria relates to the source of payment for 
training. The purpose of requiring notification of 
reimbursement is to protect facilities from duplicating 
reimbursements, not to invade their privacy.

Comments called for addressing the matter of a 
duplicate reimbursement to a CNA by having the Division 
remove the CNA from the CNA Registry or otherwise note 
the fraudulent activity in the database until the duplicated 
payment is repaid to the facility. The CNA Registry is 
established under federal regulations which do not include 
provisions for such action to be taken.  The issue of potential 
duplicated reimbursements is dealt with in these regulations 
by the requirement that facilities notify the Division upon 
reimbursing personally incurred training costs to students. 
The maintenance of that reimbursement data by the Division 
will enable any facility questioning the eligibility of a CNA 
for reimbursement to prevent a duplicated payment by 
contacting the Division before initiating the reimbursement.

One comment proposed that a standard Division form 
be developed to report reimbursements by facilities to CNAs 
with the form identifying the individual at the Division who 
will enter the information in the database. If such a standard 
form is needed, the Division will prepare one. However, 
since several Division employees assist in responding to 
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CNA inquiries and maintaining the CNA Registry database, 
the form would not identify a single contact person.

A commenter disputed the enforcement of these 
regulations in a facility that does not have a facility-based 
CNA training program. It should be noted that the 
regulations apply to all federally certified nursing facilities 
regardless of whether a facility chooses to have its own 
training program.

A commenter described scenarios that a facility might 
implement to avoid reimbursement to an employee or to 
prevent a school from charging a student for training. 
Implementation of such schemes would violate federal 
regulations. The commenter also characterized the 
regulations as a tax which the Division of Long Term Care 
Residents Protection has no authority to impose. The 
Division is not imposing a tax; it is clarifying federal 
regulations which already apply to federally certified nursing 
facilities.

One comment complained of the inadequacy of 
Medicaid reimbursement and stated that Medicare’s portion 
of the training costs are eliminated.  In fact, the training costs 
are to be allocated to Medicaid, Medicare and private pay 
patients based on patient days of service.

A comment complained that the regulations permit 
schools to shift their costs to facilities. Inasmuch as these 
regulations and federal regulations require reimbursement of 
student costs, it is costs being borne by students rather than 
costs being borne by schools that are the subject of these 
regulations.

One comment objected to the regulation that the 64 
hours of nursing related services required for recertification 
be performed for pay.  The comment stated that volunteer 
services should qualify for recertification.  The requirement 
for 64 hours of nursing related services is intended to ensure 
that CNAs are current in maintaining their skills. By 
requiring that the 64 hours are performed for pay, a 
mechanism is established to verify the necessary 
maintenance of those skills.  An ongoing issue of claims of 
unverifiable volunteer services has directly led to this 
regulation.

A comment objected to the reimbursement of costs to an 
employee on a quarterly basis. The comment appears to 
assume that an employee who left employment at a time 
other than the end of a quarter would not be eligible for 
reimbursement for less than a full quarter of work. That 
assumption should not be read into the regulation.

69 Regulations for Training and Qualifications for 
Nursing Assistants and Certified Nursing Assistants

Section 69.200 – General Training Requirements And 
Competency Test

Each Nursing Assistant/Certified Nursing Assistant 

employed by any nursing facility either as contract/agency or 
facility staff shall be required to meet the following:

69.201 An individual shall complete a nursing 
assistant training course approved by the Department on the 
recommendation of the CNA Training Curriculum 
Committee.  The Committee shall consist of individuals with 
experience in the knowledge and skills required of CNAs.

69.202 Nursing Assistants are required to pass a 
competency test provided by the Department or by a 
contractor approved by the Department.

69.203 Nursing Assistants shall take the competency 
test within 30 days of completion of an approved program or 
when the nearest testing location is available to the nursing 
assistant, whichever is later.  Nursing assistants who fail to 
obtain a passing score may repeat the test two additional 
times, but must obtain certification within 90 days of 
program completion.  Nursing assistants who fail to obtain a 
passing score after testing three times must repeat the CNA 
training program before retaking the test, or they cannot 
continue to work as a nursing assistant.

69.204 A Certified Nursing Assistant must perform at 
least 64 hours of nursing related services in a health care 
setting for pay under the supervision of a licensed nurse  or 
physician during each 24-month certification period in order 
to qualify for recertification. A certified nursing assistant 
who does not perform at least 64 hours of nursing related 
services in a certification period must complete and pass a 
new training course and competency test, or competency 
test.

69.205 A Certified Nursing Assistant trained and 
certified outside the State of Delaware in a program that 
equals or exceeds the federal nurse aide training program 
requirements in the Code of Federal Regulations § 483.152 
cannot work in Delaware without a Delaware certificate. 
Delaware certification is required prior to being employed as 
a CNA. The Department will grant reciprocity if the 
following conditions are met:

A. The CNA must have a current certificate from 
the jurisdiction where he or she currently practices, except 
that candidates from the State of Maryland must hold a 
current Geriatric Nursing Assistant certificate.

B. The CNA must have 3 months of full-time 
experience as a CNA performing nursing related services for 
pay under the supervision of a licensed nurse or physician, or 
have completed a training and competency evaluation 
program with the number of hours at least equal to that 
required by the State of Delaware.

C. The CNA must be in good standing in the 
jurisdiction where he/she is currently certified.

69.206 Employees hired as Nursing Assistants/
Certified Nursing Assistants who are currently enrolled in an 
RN or LPN nursing program and have satisfactorily 
completed a Fundamentals/Basic Nursing course with a 
clinical component will be deemed to meet the training 
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requirements.  These individuals will be approved to take the 
competency test upon submission of a letter from their 
school of nursing attesting to current enrollment status and 
satisfactory course completion as described.

69.207 Individuals who have graduated from an RN or 
LPN program within 24 months prior to application for 
certification are deemed qualified to meet the Department’s 
nurse aide training and competency evaluation program 
requirements and are eligible for certification upon 
submission of a sealed copy of their diploma.  Individuals 
who have graduated from an RN or LPN program more than 
24 months prior to application for certification are deemed 
qualified to meet the Department’s nurse aide training 
program requirements and are eligible to take the 
competency test upon submission of a sealed copy of their 
diploma.

69.208 An individual who has satisfactorily completed 
a military nursing assistant training course or hospital-based 
nursing assistant training course of at least 150 hours with a 
curriculum comparable to the curriculum content of Section 
69.303 of these regulations and who has performed nursing 
related services within 24 months prior to application for 
certification is deemed qualified to meet the Department’s 
nurse aide training program requirements and is eligible to 
take the competency test upon submission of documentation 
of course completion.

69.2089 For the purpose of calculating minimum 
staffing levels, any individual who has completed all of the 
classroom training and half of the clinical training in a 
facility sponsored training program may be considered as a 
member of such facility’s staff while undergoing the last 
37.5 hours of clinical training at such facility.

69.209 A nursing assistant who is employed by, or 
who has received an offer of employment from, a facility on 
the date on which the aide begins a nurse aide training and 
competency evaluation program may not be charged for any 
portion of the program including tuition, initial and any 
subsequent testing and fees for textbooks or other required 
course materials.

69.210 If a certified nursing assistant who is not 
employed, or does not have an offer to be employed as a 
nurse aide becomes employed by, or receives an offer of 
employment from, a facility not later than 12 months after 
completing a nurse aide training and competency evaluation 
program, the facility shall reimburse all personally incurred 
costs in completing the program.  Such costs include tuition, 
initial and any subsequent testing and fees for textbooks or 
other required course materials.  Such costs are payable upon 
completion by the CNA of a six month period of 
employment including the orientation period.

69.211 The facility shall be required to notify the 
Department upon reimbursement to a CNA of personally 
incurred costs of the nurse aide training and competency 
evaluation program for the purpose of inclusion in the CNA 

registry database.  Facilities may contact the Department to 
verify the reimbursement status of any CNA seeking such 
reimbursement.

69.210 A nursing assistant who is employed by, or 
who has received an offer of employment from, a federally 
certified nursing facility on the date on which the aide begins 
a nurse aide training and competency evaluation program 
may not be charged for any portion of the program including 
tuition, any tests taken and fees for textbooks or other 
required course materials.

69.211 If a Certified Nursing Assistant who is not 
employed, or does not have an offer to be employed as a 
nurse aide becomes employed by, or receives an offer of 
employment from, a federally certified nursing facility not 
later than 12 months after completing a nurse aide training 
and competency evaluation program, the federally certified 
nursing facility shall reimburse all documented personally 
incurred costs in completing the program. Facilities shall 
accept as documentation canceled checks, paid receipts, 
written verification from a training program or other written 
evidence which reasonably establishes the CNA’s personally 
incurred costs.  Such costs include tuition, tests taken and 
fees for textbooks or other required course materials.  Such 
costs shall be reimbursed in equal quarterly payments with 
full reimbursement to coincide with the CNA’s completion 
of one year of employment including the orientation period.

69.212 Any nursing facility which reimburses a 
Certified Nursing Assistant for documented  personally 
incurred costs of a nurse aide training and competency 
evaluation program shall notify the Division of Long Term 
Care Residents Protection of such reimbursement.  Notice of 
such reimbursement shall be entered in the CNA Registry 
database and information regarding such reimbursement 
shall be available to facilities upon request.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Nature Of The Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / 
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend 
the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan and the Division of Social 
Services Manual (DSSM) to establish the provisions relating 
to imposing and collecting co-payments for pharmaceutical 
services from Medicaid/Medical Assistance clients. The 
Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were 
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and 
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its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 
512.

The Department published its notice of proposed 
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the November 2004 Delaware Register of 
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions 
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be 
produced by November 30, 2004 at which time the 
Department would receive information, factual evidence and 
public comment to the said proposed changes to the 
regulations.

Summary Of The Pharmacy Services Co-payment Policy

Title of Notice: 
Medicaid/Medical Assistance Client Cost Sharing 

Overview:
42 USC 1396a(a)(14) permits state Medicaid programs 

to require certain clients to share some of the costs of 
Medicaid by imposing enrollment fees, premiums, 
deductibles, coinsurance, co-payments, or similar cost 
sharing charges. The Delaware Medicaid/Medical 
Assistance Program (DMAP) exercises this option to impose 
a co-payment for prescription drugs for Medicaid clients. 
Having elected to impose this co-payment, DMAP must 
comply with the specific provisions of 42 U.S.C. 1396o, 42 
CFR §§447.15, 447.21, 447.53, 447.54, 447.55 and, 447.57.

Summary of Pharmacy Services Co-Payment Policy

This notice is being given to provide information of 
public interest with respect to the intent of DSS to amend the 
Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) and to submit 
to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 
an amendment to the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to 
establish and implement co-payments for pharmacy services. 
The following provisions of this amendment shall be 
implemented on January 10, 2005:

• All clients, other than those specifically excluded, 
are liable for sharing the cost of Medicaid cov-
ered prescription drugs.  Medicaid clients are 
required to pay a specific pharmacy co-pay 
amount for each initial and refilled prescription 
and over-the-counter drug filled at a pharmacy 
participating in the Medicaid program.

• In accordance with 42 CFR §447.54, the phar-
macy co-pay amount is based on the Medicaid fee 
for the drug being dispensed.  The co-pay 
amounts imposed are as follows:  

Medicaid Fee Co-Pay Amount

$10.00 or less $  .50
$10.01-$25.00 $1.00
$25.01-$50.00 $2.00
$50.01 or more $3.00

• Cumulative Maximum [42 CFR §447.54(d)].  Not 
applicable, there is no maximum.

• In accordance with Social Security Act §1916 and 
42 CFR §447.53, co-payments are not imposed 
upon categorically needy individuals for the fol-
lowing:
• Services furnished to individuals under 21 

years of age;
• Services furnished to pregnant women; 

including postpartum care;
• Services furnished to any individual who 

is an inpatient in a hospital, long-term care 
facility, or other medical institution;

• Emergency services; 
• Family Planning services and supplies; 

and,
• Services furnished to individuals receiving 

hospice care.
• The pharmacy will be advised via the Point-of-

Sale System regarding the client's liability for the 
drug co-pay and the amount of the co-pay. When 
a client advises a pharmacy of an inability to pay 
the applicable co-pay amount at the time the pre-
scription is filled, the pharmacy cannot refuse to 
fill the prescription and must dispense the drug 
as prescribed [42 CFR §447.53(e)].

• The client will remain liable for reimbursement 
of the co-pay amount and will be responsible for 
paying the pharmacy when financially able.

• Medicaid will not pay the co-pay amount to the 
pharmacy where a client declares an inability to 
pay. Provider payment will continue to be that 
sum which is the Medicaid fee minus the appli-
cable client co-pay amount.

The proposed amendment applies to Medicaid clients 
and shall be implemented on January 10, 2005. 

The proposed cost sharing requirements are subject to 
approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS)

Summary Of Comments Received With Agency 
Response and Explanation Of Any Change(S)

DSS received comments from the following 
organizations: the Governor's Advisory Council for 
Exceptional Citizens (GACEC) and the State Council for 
Persons with Disabilities (SCPD).

A summary of all the comments and agency response 
follows: 
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• In §14960.2 may wish to reconsider the language 
since “under the long term care nursing” is not a 
paragon of clarity.  Does DSS intend to exempt 
all waiver participants from the co-pay require-
ment or does DSS intend to exempt actual nurs-
ing home residents?

• In §14960.2 may wish to expand the list of 
exempt individuals to include GA recipients.

Agency Response:  This was a publication formatting 
problem.  Under 14960.2 Exclusions from Co-payment 
Requirement, the list should read from “a” to “f”, not “h”. 
What is listed under “d” is actually a continuation of “c”. In 
this case, letters were dropped when the word document was 
imported.  The final order regulation shows the correct text. 
DSS intends to exempt actual nursing home residents.  GA 
and waiver participants are not exempt from the co-pay 
requirement.

• The proposed effective date (January 10, 2005) 
may leave inadequate time to advise affected 
beneficiaries who may need to adjust budgets, 
etc.

Agency Response:  DSS expects to notify affected 
beneficiaries prior to implementation.

• DSS notes that it plans to advise pharmacies of 
the prohibition of service denial based on inabil-
ity to pay.  GACEC and SCPD respectfully 
requests copies of the pertinent section of the 
provider manual, the description in the provider 
newsletter, and the proposed letter to be sent to 
beneficiaries to review content.

Agency Response:  The requested information will be made 
available once finalized.

• The proposed regulation undermines the Olm-
stead implementation because persons in institu-
tions are exempt from the co-pays while person 
in the community must pay them.

Agency Response:  Federal regulations require states to 
exempt persons in institutions.

• The co-pays are essentially nuisance payments 
hardly worth the cost of collection.

Agency Response:  Co-pays have been implemented and are 
working in many other states.

• The state should adopt a “cumulative maximum 
co-pay” for high pharmacy users [42 CFR 
§447.54(d)].

Agency Response:  At present, the policy will remain as is.

Findings Of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set 
forth in the November 2004 Register of Regulations should 
be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
regulation to establish the provisions relating to imposing 
and collecting co-payments for pharmaceutical services from 
Medicaid/Medical Assistance clients is adopted and shall be 
final effective January 10, 2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS
Date of Signature 12.15.2004

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION  #04-31a

Page 54

Revision: OMB No.: 0938-

State/Territory: DELAWARE

Citation 4.18 Recipient Cost Sharing and
42 CFR 447.51 Similar Charges
 through 447.58 (a) Unless a waiver under 42 CFR

431.55(g) applies deductibles,
coinsurance rates, and co
payments do not exceed the
maximum allowable charges
under 42 CFR 447.54.

1916 (a) and (b) (b) Except as specified in items 4.18
of the Act (b) (4), (5) and (6) below, with

respect to individuals covered as
categorically needy or as
qualified Medicare beneficiaries
(as defined in section 1905 (p) (1)
of the Act) under the plan:
(1) No enrollment fee, premium,

or similar charge is imposed
under the plan.

(2) No deductible, coinsurance,
co-payment, or similar
charge is imposed under the
plan for the following:
(i) Services to individuals

under age 18, or under--
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Age 19
Age 20

X Age 21

Reasonable categories
of individuals who are
age 18 or older, but
under age 21, to whom
charges apply are listed
below, if applicable.

(ii) Services to pregnant
women related to the
pregnancy or any other
medical condition that
may complicate the
pregnancy.

Page 55

Revision: OMB No.: 0938-
State/Territory: DELAWARE

Citation 4.18 (b) (2) (Continued)

42 CFR 447.51 (iii) All services
through furnished to pregnant
447.58 women.

F Not applicable.
Charges apply for
services to pregnant
women unrelated to
the pregnancy.

(iv) Services furnished to
any individual who is an
inpatient in a hospital,
long-term care facility,
or other medical
institution, if the
individual is required, as
a condition of receiving
services in the
institution, to spend for
medical care costs all
but a minimal amount of
his or her income
required for personal
needs.

(v) Emergency services if
the services meet the
requirements in 42 CFR

447.53 (b) (4).

(vi) Family planning
services and supplies
furnished to individuals
of childbearing age.

(vii)Services furnished
by a health maintenance
organization in which
the individual is
enrolled.

1916 of the Act, (viii)Services furnished
P.L. 99-272, to an individual
(Section 9505) receiving hospice care,

as defined in section
1905 (o) of the Act.

Page 56

Revision: OMB No.: 0938-

State/Territory: DELAWARE

Citation 4.18(b)    (Continued)

42 CFR 447.51 (3) Unless a waiver under
through 42 CFR 431.55 (g)
447.48 applies, nominal deductible,

coinsurance, co-payment, or
similar charges are imposed
for services that are not
excluded from such charges
under item (b) (2) above.

Not applicable.  No such
charges are imposed.

(i) For any service, no more
than one type of charge
is imposed.

(ii) Charges apply to
services furnished to the
following age groups:

18 or older
19 or older
20 or older

X 21 or older

Charges apply to
services furnished
to the following
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reasonable
categories of
individuals listed
below who are 18
years of age or
older but under age
21.

Page 56a

Revision: OMB No.: 0938-

State/Territory: DELAWARE

Citation 4.18 (b) (3)   (Continued)

42 CFR 447.51 (iii) For the categorically
through 447.58 needy and qualified 

Medicare beneficiaries,
ATTACHMENT 4.18-
A specifies the:

A. Service(s) for
which a charge(s) is
applied;

B. Nature of the charge
 imposed on each 
service;

C. Amount(s) of and
basis for
determining the
charge(s);

D. Method used to
collect the
charge(s);

E. Basis for
determining
whether an
individual is unable
to pay the charge
and the means by
which such an
individual is
identified to 
providers;

F. Procedures for 
implementing and 
enforcing the 
exclusions from 

cost sharing 
contained in 42 
CFR 447.53 (b);and

G. Cumulative 
maximum that 
applies to all 
deductible, 
coinsurance or co-
payment charges
imposed on a 
specified time 
period.

X Not applicable.
There is no 
maximum.

Page 56b

Revision: OMB No.: 0938-

State/Territory: DELAWARE

Citation
1916 (c) of 4.18 (b) (4) F A monthly premium is
the Act imposed on pregnant

women and infants who
are covered under
section 1902 (a)(10)(A)
(ii) (IX) of the Act and
whose income equals or
exceeds 150 percent of
the Federal poverty level
applicable to a family of
the size involved.  The
requirements of section
1916 (c) of the Act are
met ATTACHMENT
 4.18-D specifies the
method the State uses
for determining the
premium and the criteria
for determining what
constitutes undue
hardship for waiving
payment of premiums
by recipients.

1902 (a) (52) 4.18 (b) (5)  F For families
and 1925 (b) receiving extended
of the Act benefits during a second

6-month period section
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1925 of the Act, a
monthly premium is
imposed in accordance
with sections 1925 (b)
(4) and (5) of the Act.

1916 (d) of      4.18 (b) (6)    F A monthly premium,
the Act set on a sliding

scale, imposed on
qualified disabled and
working individuals
who are covered under
section 1902 (a) (10) (E)
(ii) of the Act and whose

income exceeds 150
percent (but does not
exceed 200 percent) of
the Federal poverty level
applicable to a family of
the size involved.
The requirements of
section 1916 (d) of the
Act are met. 
ATTACHMENT4.18-E
Specifies the methods
and standards the State
uses for determining the
premium.

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #04-31b
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NEW STATE PLAN PAGE
Revision:  ATTACHMENT 4.18-A

Page 1
OMB NO.:  093-0193

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
STATE:  DELAWARE

A. The following charges are imposed on the categorically needy for services other than those provided under section 1905
(1) through (5) and (7) of the Act:

Service

Type of Charge
Amount and Basis for Determination

Deductible Coinsurance Co-payment

Pharmacy -0- -0- X This co-pay is effective January 10, 2005 and is based on the 
nominal ranges specified in 42 CFR 447.54(a)(3), based on the 
State fee for the service.

NEW STATE PLAN PAGE
Revision: ATTACHMENT 4.18-A

Page 2
OMB NO.:  093-0193

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
STATE:  DELAWARE

B.  The method used to collect cost sharing charges for categorically needy individuals:
X Providers are responsible for collecting the cost sharing charges from individuals.
F The agency reimburses providers the full Medicaid rate for services and collects the cost sharing charges from
     individuals.

C. The basis for determining whether an individual is unable to pay the charge, and the means by which such an individual 
is identified to providers, is described below:

The Pharmacy (Pharmacist) Provider will be advised via the Point-of-Sale System regarding the client's liability for the 
drug co-pay and the amount of the co-pay. When a client advises a pharmacy of an inability to pay the applicable co-pay 
amount at the time the prescription is filled, the pharmacy cannot refuse to fill the prescription and must dispense the drug as 
prescribed.

The client will remain liable for reimbursement of the co-pay amount and will be responsible for paying the pharmacy 
when financially able. Medicaid will not pay the co-pay amount to the pharmacy where a client declares an inability to pay. 
Provider payment will continue to be that sum which is the Medicaid fee minus the applicable client co-pay amount.
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D. The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exclusions from cost sharing contained in 42 CFR 447.53 (b) are
described below:
Exclusions from cost sharing requirements are programmed into the Medicaid Management Information System and 

the Point-of-Sale (POS) System.
Pharmacy Providers have been informed about applicable service and amount; and, the prohibition of service denial if 

client is unable to meet the co-pay amount by the following methods:  (1) provider manuals, which are distributed to all 
providers; and (2) provider newsletters.

Co-payment requirements are set forth in provider manuals, which are distributed, to all providers. The billing 
instructions are updated and transmitted to providers via the Provider Newsletter. These instructions have been 
incorporated in the billing instruction section of the provider manuals, which are given to all providers.

E. Cumulative maximums on charges:
X State policy does not provide maximums.
F Cumulative maximums have been established as described below:
DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #04-31c

Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM)

14960 Cost Sharing

Section 1902(a)(14) of the Social Security Act permits states 
to require certain recipients to share some of the costs of 
Medicaid by imposing upon them such payments as 
enrollment fees, premiums, deductibles, coinsurance, co-
payments, or similar cost sharing charges.

14960.1 Co-Payment Requirement

Effective January 10, 2005, a nominal co-payment will be 
imposed for generic and brand name prescription drugs as 
well as over-the-counter drugs prescribed by a practitioner.

The co-payment is based upon the cost of the drug as 
follows:

The co-payment is imposed for each drug that is prescribed 
and dispensed.

14960.2 Exclusions from Co-payment Requirement

The following individuals and services are excluded from 
the co-payment requirement:

a. individuals under age 21
b. pregnant women, including the postpartum period
c. individuals eligible under the long term care nursing

facility group or the acute care hospital group
d. emergency services
e. family planning services and supplies
f. hospice services

14960.3 Inability to Pay

The pharmacy provider may not refuse to dispense the 
prescription(s) subject to the co-payment requirement 
because of the individual's inability to pay the co-payment 
amount.  When a recipient indicates that he or she is unable 
to meet the co-payment requirement, the pharmacy provider 
must dispense the prescription(s) as written. Medicaid 
reimbursement for the prescription(s) will be the Medicaid 
fee minus the applicable co-payment amount.

The recipient remains liable for the co-payment amount and 
is responsible for paying the pharmacy when financially 
able. The pharmacy provider is permitted to pursue 
reimbursement of the co-payment amount from the recipient.

Medicaid Payment for the Drug Co-payment
$10.00 or less $.50
$10.01 to $25.00 $1.00
$25.01 to $50.00 $2.00
$50.01 or more $3.00
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Nature Of The Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) / 
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend 
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) regarding 
Delaware’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
Welfare Reform Program. The Department’s proceedings to 
amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware 
Code Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed 
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 
10115 in the November 2004 Delaware Register of 
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions 
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be 
produced by November 30, 2004 at which time the 
Department would receive information, factual evidence and 
public comment to the said proposed changes to the 
regulations.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

1. DSSM 3003 Non-Time Limited Program – 
Children’s Program

• In accordance with the Trademark Agreement, 
replaced previous program name with 
Delaware’s Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families Welfare Reform Program, where 
applicable.

• Adds language that states if a family is placed 
in the TANF Children’s Program because the 
parent or caretaker is caring for a disabled 
family member, DSS will obtain a statement or 
have the DSS Medical Certification form 
completed by a medical professional to verify 
that the person is needed in the home to care 
for the disabled family member.

2. DSSM 3031 Work for Your Welfare
Adds language that states to be exempt from 

Workfare, TANF recipients who are employed need to be 
earning at least the equivalent of minimum wage at 
twenty hours per week.]

Summary Of Comments Received With Agency 
Response And Explanation Of Change(S)

The Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional 
Citizens (GACEC) and, the State Council for Persons with 
Disabilities (SCPD) provided the following observations 
summarized below:

First, the proposed regulations amend the name of the 
program.

Agency Response:  DSS is mandated by the trademark 
agreement to change the name of the program from 
Delaware’s A Better Chance Program. DSS chose to just call 
it the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program 
since that is the name of the Federal legislation. 

Second, although TANF eligibility is generally time-
limited, there are exceptions.  One exception is the necessity 
of a parent to care for a child or adult with disability in the 
home.  See §3003, 1st bullet.  DSS proposes to require a 
statement or completed form from a medical professional 
verifying that “the person is needed in the home to care for 
the disabled family member.”  We believe it would be 
preferable to amend the references to read “medical or 
licensed mental health professional” to permit licensed 
clinical psychologist or licensed clinical social worker to 
provide the verification.  Alternately, a sentence could be 
added at the end to read as follows: For purposes of this 
paragraph, the term “medical profession” shall include a 
licensed mental health professional (e.g., psychologist; 
LCSW).”  The latter amendment would be more consistent 
with use of a “Medical Certification Form”.  In the context 
of mental illness or mental retardation, such non-medical 
professionals may be the primary expert on the child or 
family member’s impairment.

Agency Response:  The sentence has been amended to 
include licensed behavioral health professional. 

In addition, references to “disabled family member” in 
the proposed amendment do not reflect “people-first” 
language. Unfortunately, similar terminology is used in 
§3003, 1st bullet, which is not earmarked for amendment. 
For a variety of reasons, revision of the new sentence may 
not be preferred at this time.  The substance of the regulation 
does not restrict eligibility.

Agency Response:  It is the intent of DSS to use written and 
oral language that reflects the individuality and dignity of the 
persons we serve.  The current language is consistent with 
the rest of the manual.  In the near future, DSS will look into 
making wholesale changes in its policy manuals to reflect 
people first language.
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Third, DSS adds a sentence intended to clarify the 
extent of expected employment for TANF recipients in the 
Work for Your Welfare program.  Unfortunately, the added 
sentence is not grammatically correct and is difficult to 
understand.  Perhaps a phrase or provision was inadvertently 
omitted. We recommend that the sentence be revised to 
ensure clarity of intent.

Agency Response:  DSS is postponing changes to DSSM 
3031 to allow for consistency with required changes to Work 
for Your Welfare hours. Your comments will be considered.

Findings Of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set 
forth in the November 2004 Register of Regulations should 
be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed 
regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
regarding Delaware’s Temporary Assistance for Needy 
Families Welfare Reform Program is adopted and shall be 
final effective January 10, 2005.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS
12.15.2004, Date of Signature

DSS ORDER REGULATION #04-30

3003  Non-Time Limited Program - Children's Program

DELAWARE'S A BETTER CHANCE TEMPORARY 
ASSISTANCE FOR NEEDY FAMILIES WELFARE 
REFORM PROGRAM creates a non-time-limited program 
for certain families, referred to as the Children's Program. 
Families with the following status will receive benefits in the 
Children's Program:

• Families that the agency has determined are 
unemployable and unable to achieve self-
sufficiency, either because a parent is too 
physically or mentally disabled to work in an 
unsubsidized work setting or because the parent 
is needed in the home to care for a child or 
another adult disabled to that extent; or

• Families headed by a non-needy, non-parent 
caretaker; or

• Families where the agency has determined that 
the adult caretaker is temporarily unemployable. 
Based on medical information, DSS will set the 
duration of the unemployability. The caretaker 
has the responsibility to request an extension and 
provide proof of  continuing unemployability. 
Otherwise, DSS will consider the caretaker 
employable and transfer the family to the time-

limited program.
• Families in which the adult files a claim or has a 

claim being adjudicated for SSI or disability 
insurance under OASDI.  (In this case, the family 
must sign an agreement to repay cash benefits 
received under the Children's Program from the 
proceeds of the first SSI/DI check received. 
However, the Division will require this only as 
long as the SSI/DI benefit includes retroactive 
payments for a period when the family received 
benefits under the Children's Program. The 
amount repaid will not exceed the amount of the 
retroactive SSI/DI benefit.)

In cases for which the family is placed in the Children’s 
program because the parent (or other caretaker relative) is 
caring for a disabled family member, DSS will obtain a 
statement from a medical [or licensed behavioral health]
professional or have the DSS Medical Certification form 
completed by a medical professional to verify that the person 
is needed in the home to care for the disabled family 
member.

CONTRACT OF MUTUAL RESPONSIBILITY 
requirements and sanctions for non-compliance apply to 
families in the Children's Program.

3031 Work For Your Welfare

All two-parent households, who are without 
employment, must enter a Work For Your Welfare activity to 
qualify for benefits.  Single adult recipients, who reach their 
22nd month of benefit and are without employment, and all 
eligible applicants on or after 01/01/2000, must enter a Work 
For Your Welfare activity to qualify for benefits. 
[Additionally, all TANF recipients who are employed 
must earn at least the equivalent of minimum wage at 
twenty hours per week will be considered mandatory for 
Work for Your Welfare.] Work for Your Welfare is defined 
as a work experience program in which participants work to 
earn their benefits. In addition, DSS requires each participant 
to complete 10 hours of job search activity per week. The 
failure to complete job search as required will result in a 
progressive 1/3 sanction. For two parent households, one 
parent must participate in the work for your welfare program 
in order to earn benefits. The second parent, unless exempt, 
must also participate in required employment related 
activities as defined by DSS and the DSS contractor.

Currently DSS operates the work for your welfare 
program under contract with a work for your welfare 
services provider. The provider assumes responsibility for 
the assessment, placement and monitoring of all work for 
your welfare participants in unsalaried work assignments. 
The work assignments are with public or nonprofit 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 7, SATURDAY, JANUARY 1, 2005



FINAL REGULATIONS1026
organizations. In return for their services, participants earn 
the amount of the benefit they are eligible to receive.

Work for your welfare is not preferable to participants 
obtaining unsubsidized employment.  Though the work for 
your welfare assignment should be a safe assignment, it 
should not be more attractive than unsubsidized 
employment.

DSS is to ensure that no participants placed in work for 
welfare activities displace regular paid employees of any of 
the organizations providing the placements.

Since placements are not voluntary, DSS expects 
participants to accept assignments unless the assignment 
represents an unreasonable health and safety risk (e.g., the 
participant has a health condition, which would be 
aggravated by the assignment).

Participants cannot appeal their assignments to work for 
your welfare work sites[.]

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority:  18 Delaware Code,

Sections 311 and 3403 
(18 Del.C. §§311 and 3403)

ORDER

A public hearing was held on December 2, 2004 to 
receive comments on proposed amendments to Regulation 
1501 relating to amendments to Delaware’s Medicare 
Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards.  On October 14, 
2004, I appointed Deputy Insurance Commissioner F.L. 
Peter Stone as the hearing officer to receive comments and 
testimony on the proposed regulatory amendments.  Public 
notice of the hearings and publication of the proposed 
amendments to Regulation 1501 in the Register of 
Regulations and two newspapers of general circulation was 
in conformity with Delaware law.  Five persons attended the 
public hearing.  Four written comments were received by the 
Department as a result of the public notice for comment.

Summary Of The Evidence And Information Submitted

Exhibits admitted into the record included, the order 
appointing the hearing officer, the affidavits of publication in 
the Delaware State News and the News Journal, the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners’ (“NAIC”) 
September 8, 2004 model regulation  (“NAIC model”) 
showing the changes to be made and drafting notes 
explaining all of the changes, and the written statements of 
Allan R. Glass, UnitedHealth Group and America’s Health 
Insurance Plans.  Deputy Attorney General Michael J. Rich 
presented the position of the Delaware Department of 

Insurance (“the Department”). One of the Department’s 
purposes in proposing the changes to the regulation was to 
adopt the NAIC’s recommended changes to the NAIC model 
regulation which, in turn, reflected changes in the federal 
regulatory provisions. Delaware’s existing regulation 1501 
was itself based on the original NAIC model and adopting 
the proposed changes would keep Delaware’s regulation 
consistent with the uniform changes approved by the NAIC. 
The drafting notes in the NAIC model provided the basis and 
the rationale for the changes to the current version of the 
regulation.  A second purpose for the proposed amendments 
was to amend section 12.2.1.  The Department seeks to 
amend section 12.2.1. independently of the NAIC model to 
provide a 63 day guaranteed issue period for Medigap 
purchase for Delawareans whose employer-sponsored health 
plans cut back on some or all benefits.  Allan R. Glass, a 
member of Senator Joseph R. Biden, Jr.’s staff, speaking for 
himself and not the Senator, had recommended additional 
changes to the regulation. However, the Department 
recommended against such changes since those additional 
changes might expand the scope of the change to section 
12.2.1 beyond that intended by the Department. 

Ms. Dotti Outland, on behalf of UnitedHealth Group, 
spoke in support of the proposed changes. She recommended 
that the effective date of the regulation in section 25 be 
amended to reflect the federal provision that forms being 
currently used under Plans K and L can be used through 
2005 since the federal provisions relating to forms used 
under Medicare Part D do not become effective until the 
beginning of 2006.  

The NAIC had faxed errata sheets to the Department on 
December 1, 2004 noting several printing errors in certain of 
the tables included in the regulation.  The errata sheets did 
not suggest any substantive changes to the regulation.

Findings Of Fact

The purpose for a public hearing on a proposed 
regulatory change is to determine the necessity for the 
change and whether the language proposed to effect that 
change needs to be changed or modified for purposes of 
clarity or efficiency.  There were no objections to the 
adoption of the proposed changes to the regulation.  I find 
that the proposed technical changes recommended by 
UnitedHealth Group and Amereica’s Health Insurance Plans 
are desirable for purposes of clarity and conformity with 
existing law (in the case of the modification to the provisions 
relating to the effective date). Accordingly, I find that 
making such changes does not require republication and 
rehearing under the provisions of 29 Del.C. §10113.    

I find that Mr. Glass’ recommendations to modify 
sections 12.6 and 12.3.1.1 are not required and would be 
likely to be substantive.  Since any change to a regulation is 
normally prospective in nature, any change to sections 12.6 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 8, ISSUE 7, SATURDAY, JANUARY 1, 2005

http://www.state.de.us/inscom/


FINAL REGULATIONS 1027
or 12.3.1.1 as recommended would, by necessity either be 
retroactive or delay the purpose for the change.  That would 
either increase a class of beneficiaries or delay the 
implementation of the change.  As a result, I find that it is not 
appropriate to make the recommend changes to sections 12.6 
or 12.3.1.1.

Decision

Based on the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§311 and 3403, 
and the record in this docket, I adopt the FINAL REPORT 
AND RECOMMENDATION OF THE HEARING 
OFFICER dated December 8, 2004 and order that 
Regulation 1501 be amended as provided for in the notice 
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations 8 DE 
Reg. 672 (10/1/04) with the technical and legally 
conforming changes recommended by the Department, the 
NAIC, UnitedHealth Group and America’s Health Insurance 
Plans.  

I order that the proposed change shall become effective 
on February 1, 2005.

Donna Lee H. Williams, Insurance Commissioner
DATED:  December 10, 2004

DUE TO THE LENGTH OF THE REGULATION THE FULL 
TEXT IS NOT BEING PUBLISHED. THE REGULATION IS 
AVAILABLE FROM THE REGISTRAR OR ONLINE.

Regulation 1501 Medicare Supplement Insurance 
Minimum Standards (PDF Version)

Regulation 1501 Medicare Supplement Insurance 
Minimum Standards (HTML Version)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,
 Section 60 (7 Del.C. §60)

Secretary’s Order No.:  2004-W-0059

Total Maximum Daily Loads (“TMDLs”) for the Little 
Assawoman Bay and its Watershed, Delaware

I. Background

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the 
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 

Control under 29 Del.C. §§8001 et seq., the following 
findings and  conclusions are entered as an Order of the 
Secretary: 

II. Findings

In sum, I find and conclude that: 
1. Based on the record developed, as reviewed in the 

Hearing Officer’s Report(“Report”), dated December 9, 
2004, and appended hereto and incorporated herein, I find 
and conclude that the record overwhelmingly supports 
approval of issuance of the proposed regulation as a final 
regulation, as recommended in the Report;

2. The Department provided adequate public notice of 
the proposed regulation and public hearing as required by the 
law and Department regulations;

III. Order

3. The Department, acting through an order of the 
Secretary, adopts the proposed regulation as a final 
regulation under the Clean Water Act and regulations 
promulgated thereunder;

Reasons

4. The issuance of the proposed regulation as a final 
regulation will protect and improve the water quality of the 
Little Assawoman Bay;
 5. The issuance of the proposed regulation as a final 
regulation will comply with the federal consent decree;

6. The issuance of the proposed regulation as a final 
regulation will enable the Pollution Control Strategy to be 
developed and implemented in a subsequent regulation 
proceeding; 

7. The TMDLs were developed consistent with the 
applicable law and regulatory standards; and

8. The Department has an adequate record for its 
decision. 

John A. Hughes,  Secretary
Date of Issuance: December 9, 2004
Effective Date of the Amendment: December 9, 2004

1.0 Introduction And Background
Intensive water quality monitoring performed by the 

State of Delaware, the federal government, various 
university and private researchers, and citizen monitoring 
groups has shown that surface waters of the Inland Bays 
Watershed including the Little Assawoman Bay are highly 
enriched with the nutrients nitrogen and phosphorous. 
Although nutrients are essential elements for both plants and 
animals, their presence in excessive amounts cause 
undesirable conditions.  Symptoms of nutrient enrichment in 
the Inland Bays have included excessive macroalgae growth 
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(sea lettuce and other species), phytoplankton blooms (some 
potentially toxic), large daily swings in dissolved oxygen 
levels, loss of Submerged Aquatic Vegetation (SAV), and 
fish kills.  These symptoms threaten the future of the Inland 
Bays - very significant natural, ecological, and recreational 
resources of the State - and may result in adverse impacts to 
the local and State economies through reduced tourism, a 
decline in property values, and lost revenues. Hence, 
excessive nutrients pose a significant threat to the health and 
well being of people, other animals, and plants living within 
the watershed.

A reduction in the amount of nitrogen and phosphorous 
reaching the Inland Bays is necessary to reverse the 
undesirable effects.  These nutrients enter the Bays and its 
tributaries and ponds from several sources including point 
sources, nonpoint sources, and from the atmosphere.  Point 
sources of nutrients are end-of-pipe discharges coming from 
municipal and industrial wastewater treatment plants and 
other industrial uses.  Nonpoint sources of nutrients include 
runoff from agricultural and urban areas, seepage from septic 
tanks, and ground water discharges.  Atmospheric deposition 
comes from both local and regional sources, such as motor 
vehicle exhausts and emissions from power plants that burn 
fossil fuels.  

Section 303(d) of the Federal Clean Water Act (CWA) 
requires States to develop a list (303(d) List) of waterbodies 
for which existing pollution control activities are not 
sufficient to attain applicable water quality standards and to 
develop Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for 
pollutants or stressors causing the impacts.   A TMDL sets a 
limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged into 
a waterbody and still protect water quality.  TMDLs are 
composed of three components, including Waste Load 
Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load 
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of 
Safety (MOS).  

The Delaware Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control (DNREC) listed the Little 
Assawoman Bay and several tributaries and ponds of the 
Inland Bays on the State’s  303(d) Lists and establishes the 
following Total Maximum Daily Loads regulation for 
nitrogen and phosphorous.

Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for Little 
Assawoman Bay Watershed, Delaware

1.0 Introduction and Background
1.1 Intensive water quality monitoring performed by 

the State of Delaware, the federal government, various 
university and private researchers, and citizen monitoring 
groups has shown that surface waters of the Inland Bays 
Watershed including the Little Assawoman Bay are highly 
enriched with the nutrients nitrogen and phosphorous. 
Although nutrients are essential elements for both plants and 

animals, their presence in excessive amounts cause 
undesirable conditions.  Symptoms of nutrient enrichment in 
the Inland Bays have included excessive macroalgae growth 
(sea lettuce and other species), phytoplankton blooms (some 
potentially toxic), large daily swings in dissolved oxygen 
levels, loss of Submerged Aquatic Vegetation (SAV), and 
fish kills.   These symptoms threaten the future of the Inland 
Bays - very significant natural, ecological, and recreational 
resources of the State - and may result in adverse impacts to 
the local and State economies through reduced tourism, a 
decline in property values, and lost revenues.  Hence, 
excessive nutrients pose a significant threat to the health and 
well being of people, other animals, and plants living within 
the watershed.

1.2 A reduction in the amount of nitrogen and 
phosphorous reaching the Inland Bays is necessary to 
reverse the undesirable effects.  These nutrients enter the 
Bays and its tributaries and ponds from several sources 
including point sources, nonpoint sources, and from the 
atmosphere.   Point sources of nutrients are end-of-pipe 
discharges coming from municipal and industrial wastewater 
treatment plants and other industrial uses.  Nonpoint sources 
of nutrients include runoff from agricultural and urban areas, 
seepage from septic tanks, and ground water discharges. 
Atmospheric deposition comes from both local and regional 
sources, such as motor vehicle exhausts and emissions from 
power plants that burn fossil fuels.

1.3 Section 303(d) of the Federal Clean Water Act 
(CWA) requires States to develop a list (303(d) List) of 
waterbodies for which existing pollution control activities 
are not sufficient to attain applicable water quality standards 
and to develop Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for 
pollutants or stressors causing the impacts.   A TMDL sets a 
limit on the amount of a pollutant that can be discharged into 
a waterbody and still protect water quality.  TMDLs are 
composed of three components, including Waste Load 
Allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, Load 
Allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, and a Margin of 
Safety (MOS).  

1.4 The Delaware Department of Natural Resources 
and Environmental Control (DNREC) listed the Little 
Assawoman Bay and several tributaries and ponds of the 
Inland Bays on the State’s  303(d) Lists and proposes the 
following Total Maximum Daily Loads regulation for 
nitrogen and phosphorous.

2.0 Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Regulation 
for the Little Assawoman Bay, Delaware

Article 1. The nonpoint source nitrogen load in the Little 
Assawoman Bay Watershed shall be reduced by 40 percent. 
For the 3-year period of 1998 through 2000, this would 
result in reduction of total nitrogen load in the Watershed 
from 594 pounds per day to 357 pounds per day.
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Article 2. The nonpoint source phosphorous load in the 
Little Assawoman Bay Watershed shall be reduced by 40 
percent.  For the 3-year period of 1998 through 2000, this 
would result in reduction of total phosphorous load in the 
Watershed from 49 pounds per day to 30 pounds per day.

Article 3. Implementation of this TMDL Regulation shall 
be achieved through development and implementation of a 
Pollution Control Strategy.  The Strategy will be developed 
by DNREC in concert with the Inland Bays Tributary Action 
Team, other stakeholders, and the public.

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND 
HOMELAND SECURITY

Statutory Authority: 21 Delaware Code,
Section 4101(d) (21 Del.C. §4101(d))

ORDER

Summary Of Evidence

The Secretary of the Department of Safety and 
Homeland Security (hereinafter referred to as “Secretary”) 
intends to promulgate regulations that will regulate the 
administration of the Electronic Red Light Safety Program 
(hereinafter referred to as “Program”) in unincorporated 
areas of the State of Delaware.  The Program through the use 
of traffic light signal monitoring systems will impose 
monetary liability on owners or operators of motor vehicles 
for failure to comply with traffic light signals.

Notice for public comment and a public hearing were 
properly noticed and a public hearing was held on November 
22, 2004 in the second floor conference room of the 
Department of Safety and Homeland Security Building, 
Dover, DE.  No comments were received either in writing or 
at the public hearing.  The attendance sheet, record of public 
comment and documents received are attached to this Order.

Findings Of Fact

Based on the evidence and information, the Secretary 
finds the following facts:

1. The public was given proper notice and the 
opportunity to provide the Secretary with comments, in 
writing, and at a public hearing.  The Department received 
no comments.

2. 73 Del. Laws, c. 350 provides for the establishment 
of a red light safety program in unincorporated areas of the 
State of Delaware. Additionally, authority for the 
promulgation of the Electronic Red Light Safety Program 
regulations (hereinafter referred to as “Regulations”) is 

found at 21 Del.C. §4101(d).
3. The Regulations will provide for an effective, 

efficient and reasonable means of administering the 
Program.

4. The Regulations are necessary for the 
implementation of the Program as directed under 73 Del. 
Laws, c. 350 in unincorporated areas of the State of 
Delaware.

5. It is in the best interest of the citizens of the State of 
Delaware that the Regulations which provide for the 
administration of the Program in unincorporated areas of the 
State of Delaware are promulgated.

DECISION

The Secretary hereby adopts the Regulations as 
proposed and a copy of the Regulations as adopted is 
attached to this Order. The effective date of this Order shall 
be January 11, 2005.

IT IS SO ORDERED this ____ day of  ________, 2004.

The Honorable David B. Mitchell, J.D.

Electronic Red Light Safety Program (ERLSP)

1.0 Statement of Purpose
The purpose of these regulations are to provide for the 

establishment and administration of a program in 
unincorporated areas of the State of Delaware imposing 
monetary liability on owners or operators of motor vehicles 
for failure to comply with traffic light signals. These 
regulations are being promulgated in accordance with 21
Del.C. §4101(d) and 73 Del. Laws, c. 350, sec. 92. 

2.0 Locations of Traffic Light Signal Monitoring 
Systems

There shall be up to 10 locations in unincorporated areas 
of the State of Delaware where traffic light signal monitoring 
systems shall be installed and operated. 

3.0 Nestor Traffic Systems, Inc. 
The Department of Transportation has selected Nester 

Traffic Systems, Inc. to provide traffic light signal 
monitoring systems for unincorporated areas of the State of 
Delaware and to assist in administering the Electric Red 
Light Safety Program in unincorporated areas of the State of 
Delaware.  Nestor Traffic Systems, Inc. and its employees 
may participate in the administration of the Electronic Red 
Light Safety Program.

4.0 Fines
The owner or operator of a vehicle that commits a 

violation by failing to comply with a traffic light signal, as 
evidenced by information obtained from a traffic light signal 
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monitoring system, shall be subject to a civil assessment in 
the amount of $75.

5.0 Violation Criteria
For a violation to occur, the front of a vehicle must be 

behind the stop line marked on the pavement at the time the 
traffic light signal turns red and must then continue into the 
intersection while the traffic light signal is red. 

6.0 Determination of Violation
An employee of the Delaware State Police shall review 

video evidence from a traffic light signal monitoring system 
and make a determination as to whether a violation has 
occurred.  If a determination is made that a violation has 
occurred, a Notice of Violation shall be sent to the registered 
owner of the vehicle that committed the violation.

7.0 Exemptions
The following vehicles are exempt from receiving a 

notice of violation:
7.1 Emergency vehicles with active emergency lights;
7.2 Vehicles moving through the intersection to avoid 

or clear the way for a marked emergency vehicle; 
7.3 Vehicles under police escort; and
7.4 Vehicles in a funeral procession.

8.0 Notice of Violation Content
A Notice of Violation shall contain:
8.1 A civil violation number;
8.2 The name and address of the registered owner of 

the vehicle that committed the violation;
8.3 The registration number of the motor vehicle 

involved in the violation;
8.4 The violation charges;
8.5 The location where the violation occurred; 
8.6 The date and time of the violation;
8.7 The date the notice of violation is mailed;
8.8 Four images that demonstrate proof of a violation. 

This shall include:
8.8.1 An image showing the vehicle behind the 

stop line, light is red;
8.8.2 An image showing vehicle within 

intersection, light is red;
8.8.3 An image showing a close-up of the 

license plate; and
8.8.4 An image showing the rear of vehicle, 

with license plate;
8.9 The amount of the civil assessment imposed and the 

date by which the civil assessment should be paid;
8.10 Information advising an owner or operator of a 

vehicle regarding the manner, time and place by which 
liability as alleged in a Notice of Violation may be contested 
and warning that the failure to pay the civil assessment or to 
contest liability within 30 days of the mailing of the Notice 

of Violation is an admission of liability and may result in a 
judgment being entered against the owner or operator and/or 
the denial of the registration or the renewal of the 
registration of any of the owner’s vehicles; and

8.11 Notice concerning a person’s ability to rebut 
the presumption that he or she was the operator of the 
vehicle at the time of the alleged violation and the means for 
rebutting the presumption.

9.0 Affidavits
9.1 If the registered owner of a vehicle whom has 

received a notice of violation contends that he/she was not 
the operator of the vehicle at the time of the violation, he/she 
will be required to submit an affidavit denying that he/she 
was an operator and shall provide the name and address of 
the operator at the time of the violation.  

9.2 If the registered owner is a leasing company that 
rents/leases vehicles, that leasing company must provide by 
affidavit the name and address of the person or entity who 
rented/leased or otherwise had care, custody, or control of 
the vehicle at the time of the violation.

9.3 If  a vehicle, or its plates were stolen at the time of 
the alleged violation, the registered owner must provide an 
affidavit denying he/she was an operator and provide a 
certified copy of the police report/log  reflecting such theft.

9.4 An affidavit must be provided by the registered 
owner of a vehicle receiving a Notice of Violation within 30 
days of the mailing date of the Notice of Violation. 

9.5 Upon receipt of an affidavit by the State of 
Delaware or Nestor Traffic Signals, Inc., the newly 
implicated person will be mailed a notification informing 
him/her of the violation.

10.0 Payment of Civil Assessment 
A person electing to pay a civil assessment should make 

payment by check or money order to ERLSP. Payment 
should be made by mail to: P.O. Box 2018, Winchster, VA 
22604 or at such other address as specified on the Notice of 
Violation. 

11.0 Procedures to Contest a Violation
A hearing to contest a violation will be heard in the 

Justice of the Peace Court for the State of Delaware. A 
person receiving a Notice of Violation may request a hearing 
to contest a violation by sending such request to the address 
provided with or on the Notice of Violation within 30 days of 
the date the Notice of Violation was sent to the owner or 
operator of the vehicle. If a request for a hearing is not made 
within 30 days of the Notice of Violation being sent to the 
owner or operator of the vehicle, that person or entity has 
waived the right to contest the violation.  

12.0 Failure to Pay Civil Assessment
If the owner or operator of a vehicle does not pay a civil 
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assessment within 30 days of the Notice of Violation being 
sent to the owner or operator of the vehicle or does not 
successfully contest a violation, the Division of Motor 
Vehicles may refuse to register and/or deny the renewal of 
the registration of any of the owner’s vehicles.  Additionally, 
the Department of Transportation may pursue a civil action, 
including seeking judgment and execution on a judgment 
against the owner or operator of the vehicle.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF HISTORICAL AND

CULTURAL AFFAIRS
Statutory Authority:  30 Delaware Code,
Section 1815(b), (30 Del.C. §1815(b))

ORDER

Nature of Proceedings:

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10115 and 30 Del.C. 
§1815(b), the Department of State, Division of Historical 
and Cultural Affairs (Department) published notice of 
proposed changes to the Historic Preservation Tax Credit 
Program in the Delaware Register of Regulations (Register) 
on October 1, 2004 [7 DE Reg. 526-530 (10/1/04)]. The 
notice provided a full text of the existing Regulations with 
proposed changes, and provided notice of date and location 
for receiving written public comment.  In addition to the 
notice published in the Register, the Department published 
notice of the opportunity to comment for public comment 
concerning the proposed regulations in two newspapers of 
general circulation throughout the State.  The public 
comment period was from October 1, 2004 through 
November 1, 2004. The purpose of the proposed changes to 
the regulations is to implement code revisions of 2004 
relating to the phasing of projects and to make technical 
corrections in order to clarify the regulations.

Summary of Evidence:

The Department received no written comments in 
response to the notice of intention to adopt the proposed 
regulations.

Finding of Fact:

The public was given the required notice of the 
Department’s intention to adopt the proposed regulations and 
was given ample opportunity to provide the Department with 
comments opposing the Department’s proposals. Thus, the 
Department concludes that its consideration of the proposed 

regulations was entirely within its prerogatives and statutory 
authority and, having received no comments opposed to 
adoption, is now free to adopt them.

Order and Effective Date:

NOW THEREFORE, it is ordered that the proposed 
regulations, as set forth in the attached copy, are adopted and 
shall be final effective January 11, 2005.

Harriet N. Smith Windsor
Secretary of State

Regulations Governing the Historic Preservation Tax 
Credit Act:

1.0 Scope
A person or business entity that owns and rehabilitates a 

certified historic property may receive a credit against 
personal Delaware State income tax or bank franchise tax 
liabilities according to procedures and criteria established in 
these regulations and those that may be promulgated by the 
Division of Revenue or the State Bank Commissioner.  Any 
person eligible for credits under this Chapter, except a 
person engaged in a resident curator relationship, may 
transfer, sell or assign any or all unused credits. except a 
person engaged in a resident curator relationship.

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/2/02)

2.0 Statutory Authority
These regulations are created pursuant to 30 Del.C. Ch. 

18, Subch. II which authorizes the Division of Historical and 
Cultural Affairs to promulgate regulations for 
implementation of the provisions of this subchapter (except 
tax-related procedures) including, but not limited to, setting 
of fees and development of standards for the rehabilitation of 
eligible historic properties. The subchapter further 
authorizes the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs to 
promulgate the application and forms governing 
participation in the certification program.

3.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this 

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Act” means the 30 Del.C. Ch. 18, Subch. II. 
“Application” means the Delaware Historic 

Preservation Tax Credit application that shall consist of three
four parts, as follows: the Request for Certification of 
Historic Property (Part 1); the Request for Certification of 
Rehabilitation (Part 2); and the Request for Certification of 
Completion (Part 3), and the Request for Credit Award.

“Certified historic property” or “qualified property” 
means a property located within the State of Delaware that 
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is:
• individually listed in the National Register of 

Historic Places; or
• located in a historic district listed in the 

National Register of Historic Places and 
certified by the United States Secretary of 
the Interior as contributing to the historic 
significance of that district; or 

• individually designated as a historic property 
by local ordinance and certified by the 
Delaware State Historic Preservation Office 
as meeting the criteria for inclusion in the 
National Register of Historic Places; or

• located in a historic district set apart or 
registered by a local government, certified 
by the Delaware State Historic Preservation 
Office as contributing to the historic 
significance of such area, and certified by the 
Delaware State Historic Preservation Office 
as meeting the criteria for inclusion in the 
National Register.

"Certification of Completion", "Completion 
Certificate" or "Certificate of Completion" means the 
certificate issued by the Delaware State Historic 
Preservation Officer attesting that certified rehabilitation, or, 
if applicable, phase thereof, has been completed and that the 
documentation of qualified expenditures and project plans 
that would be required in order to qualify for tax credits 
under Section 47 of the Internal Revenue Code (whether or 
not such project would be eligible for such federal tax credit) 
has been obtained. 

“Certified rehabilitation” means rehabilitation of a 
certified historic structure property or portion thereof that 
has been certified by the Delaware State Historic 
Preservation Officer as a substantial rehabilitation, and is in 
conformance with the Standards of the Secretary of the 
Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation (36 CRF, part 67) or 
such other standards as the Delaware State Historic 
Preservation Office shall from time to time adopt.

“Credit award” means the amount of qualified 
expenditures as determined by the State Office as part of the 
Part 2 approval multiplied by the appropriate amount
percentage as determined in 30 Del.C. §1813.

“Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer” 
means the person designated and appointed in accordance 
with 16 USC §470a(b)(1)(a).

“Federal tax credit” means the Federal Rehabilitation 
Tax Credit as defined in the United States Tax Code, Title 
26, Subtitle A, Chapter 1, Subchapter A, Part IV, Subpart E, 
Section 47.

“Fiscal Year” means the State’s of Delaware’s fiscal 
year.

“National Register of Historic Places” or “National 
Register” means the National Register of districts, sites, 

buildings, structures, and objects significant in American 
history, architecture, archaeology, engineering, and culture 
that the United States Secretary of the Interior is authorized 
to expand and maintain pursuant to Section 101(a)(1) of the 
National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, as amended.

"Office" or "State Office" means the Delaware State 
Historic Preservation Office.

"Owner-occupied historic property" means any 
certified historic property, or any portion thereof, which is 
owned by a taxpayer and is being used, or within a 
reasonable period will be used, by such taxpayer as the 
taxpayer's principal residence. “Reasonable period” shall 
mean within six months of the issuance of the Certification 
of Completion.  The State Office, in its sole discretion, may 
offer one extension, not to exceed three months, for cause. 
Such property may consist of part of a multiple dwelling or 
multiple purpose building or series of buildings, including a 
cooperative or condominium. If only a portion of a building 
is used as the principal residence, only those qualified 
expenditures that are properly allocable to such portion shall 
be eligible under this subchapter.

"Person" means any individual, any form of company 
or corporation which is lawful within the State of Delaware 
(including limited liability companies and S corporations) 
whether or not for profit, any form of partnership which is 
lawful within the State of Delaware (including limited 
liability partnerships) whether or not for profit, any trust or 
estate, and any lawful joint venture. "Person" shall also mean 
any governmental entity, pass-through entity, or person 
under a lease contract for five years or longer.

“Phased rehabilitation” means any certified 
rehabilitation of a certified historic property reasonably 
expected to be completed in two or more distinct stages of 
development as more fully described in Treasury Regulation 
1-48-12(b)(v) or any successor provision.

"Property" means real estate and shall include any 
building or structure, including multiple-unit structures.

“Qualified expenditure” means any amount properly 
expended by a person for the certified rehabilitation of a 
certified historic property, but shall not include: 

• acquisition of real property or acquiring an 
interest in real property; 

• any addition to an existing structure except 
where the combined square footage of all 
additions is 20% or less than the total square 
footage of the historic portion of the property 
and each such addition is approved by the 
Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer, 
pursuant to federal guidelines, as: 
• preserving the character-defining 

features of the certified historic property,
• adequately differentiating the new 

construction from the existing structure, 
and 
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• complying with requirements regarding 
safety and accessibility in a manner 
reasonably designed to minimize any 
adverse impact on the certified historic 
property; 

• paving or landscaping costs which exceed 
10% of the total qualified expenditures; 

• sales and marketing costs; or
• expenditures not properly charged to a 

capital account, including in the case of 
owner-occupied property, expenditures that 
would not properly be charged to a capital 
account where the owner using such property 
is a trade or business. 

“Reasonable period” means that an owner must occupy 
the rehabilitated property as their principal residence within 
six months of the issuance of the Certificate of Completion. 
The State Office, in its sole discretion, may offer one 
extension, not to exceed three months, for cause.

“Resident Curator” means a person who has entered 
into a contractual agreement with the owner of a qualified 
property in which the person agrees to pay for full 
restoration of the owner’s qualifying property in exchange 
for a life tenancy in the property without remunerative 
compensation to the owner for the life tenancy.

“Substantial rehabilitation” or “full restoration” 
means rehabilitation of a certified historic property for which 
the qualified expenditures, during the 24-month period, or 
the 60-month period for a phased rehabilitation, selected by 
the taxpayer and ending with or within the taxable year, 
exceed: 

• for income-producing property, and non-
income producing property other than 
owner-occupied historic property, the current 
standard required by Section 47(c)(1)(C) 
Internal Revenue Code; and 

• for owner-occupied historic property or 
property under contract with a resident 
curator, $5,000.

“Taxpayer” means any person as defined in this section, 
and shall include any individual or corporation taxable under 
Title 5, or taxable under either 30 Del.C. Ch. 11 or 30 Del.C.
Ch. 19. 

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)
8 DE Reg. 194 (7/1/04) 

4.0 Procedures for Certification of Historic Property
4.1 A taxpayer may request that a property in a 

National Register listed or locally designated historic district 
be certified by the Delaware State Historic Preservation 
Officer as a certified historic property by filing the Part 1 
application with the State Office. The Part 1 application shall 
be filed on standard forms available from the State Office. 
An incomplete application will not be processed until all 

required application information has been received.  The 
State Office will notify the taxpayer of the additional 
information needed to undertake or complete the review.

4.2 An incomplete Part 1 application will not be 
processed until all required application information has been 
received.  Where adequate documentation is not provided, 
the State Office will notify the taxpayer of the additional 
information needed to undertake or complete the review.

4.3 The Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer 
shall determine whether the property for which a complete 
Part 1 application is received meets the definition of certified 
historic property and will notify the taxpayer of the decision.

4.4 Taxpayers of properties If a property is individually 
listed in the National Register, do not need to submit
submission of a Part 1 application is not required. The name 
of the historic property and its date of listing in the National 
Register must be provided in the Part 2 application.

6 DE Reg 108 (7/1/02)

5.0 Procedures for Certification of Rehabilitation
5.1 A taxpayer may request a determination by the 

Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer that a proposed 
substantial rehabilitation plan meets the criteria for 
certification by filing a Part 2 application with the State 
Office. The Part 2 application shall be filed on standard 
forms available from the State Office.

5.2 A taxpayer must submit Part 1 of the application 
prior to, or with, Part 2.  The Part 2 of the application will 
not be processed until an adequately documented and 
approved Part 1 application, where required as outlined in 
Section 4.0 of these regulations, is on file.

5.3 An incomplete Part 2 application will not be 
processed until all required application information has been 
received.  Where adequate documentation is not provided, 
the State Office will notify the taxpayer of the additional 
information needed to undertake or complete review.

5.4 A taxpayer requesting approval of a phased 
rehabilitation plan shall provide the State Office with a 
description of the phases and their completion dates when 
submitting the Part 2 application. The Delaware State 
Historic Preservation Officer will notify the taxpayer if the 
phased rehabilitation plan is approved.  The final completion 
date for a phased rehabilitation is binding unless the taxpayer 
requests a change in writing.  For a phased rehabilitation, the 
taxpayer has 60 months to meet the substantial rehabilitation 
test.

5.4.5 The Delaware State Historic Preservation 
Officer shall determine whether the proposed substantial 
rehabilitation for which a complete application is received 
under Section 5.1 of this regulation meets the definition of a 
certified rehabilitation and shall send the taxpayer notice of 
the determination and of the credit award. The State Office 
may require modifications to the plan in order to meet the 
definition of a certified rehabilitation.
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5.5.6 A Request for Credit Award application must 
be submitted with the Part 2 application.  The Part 2 
application A taxpayer must also provide cost estimates of 
qualified expenditures prepared by a licensed architect, 
engineer, or contractor or a certified construction cost 
estimator. for the proposed rehabilitation.  This information 
will be used to determine the credit award for approved Part 
2 applications.

5.5.7 The amount of tax credit applied against the 
qualified expenditures in accordance with 30 Del.C. §1813
shall represent the credit award.   The cost estimate supplied 
by the taxpayer in accordance with  Section 5.6 will be used 
to determine the credit award for approved Part 2 
applications.

5.5.8 Credits will be awarded in chronological order 
based upon the date and time on which each application 
receives Part 2 approval from the State Office. The State 
Historic Preservation Officer shall notify the taxpayer of the 
amount of the credit award.

5.5.9 In the alternative, the Delaware State Historic 
Preservation Officer may certify a rehabilitation plan and
issue a Part 2 approval to any taxpayer who has obtained a 
Part 1 and Part 2 certification from the federal government 
pursuant to 36 CFR 67. where applicable. Under this 
provision, a taxpayers must file the State of Delaware Part 2 
cover form containing as well as the information required 
under Section 5.5 5.6 of these regulations.

5.5.10 All taxpayers must begin construction on the 
approved Part 2 certified rehabilitation plan within one year 
of receiving the Part 2 approval. Taxpayers, having received 
Part 2 approval, must notify the State Office in writing of the 
start date of the rehabilitation work. If construction on the 
rehabilitation plan is not substantially commenced and is 
being diligently pursued within this time period, the taxpayer 
will forfeit the awarded credits, and the credits awarded to 
such taxpayer will become available for award to other 
taxpayers.  Substantially commenced and diligently pursued 
means that at a minimum 25% of the estimated rehabilitation 
costs must have been expended. The State Office reserves 
the right to obtain documentation from the applicant 
supporting the expenditure.

5.10.11 The project may be inspected by the Delaware 
State Historic Preservation Officer or his/her designated 
representative to determine if the work is consistent with the 
approved Part 2 certified rehabilitation plan, or and if the 
project has substantially commenced and is being diligently 
pursued.

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)

6.0 Procedures for Certification of Completion
6.1 Upon completion of a certified rehabilitation, or an 

approved project phase thereof, the taxpayer must submit a 
Part 3 application with required documentation and a final 
accounting of qualified expenditures, to the Delaware State 

Historic Preservation Office.  The completed project may be 
inspected by the Delaware State Historic Preservation 
Officer or his/her designated representative to determine if 
the work meets the definition of a certified rehabilitation.

6.2 An incomplete Part 3 application will not be 
processed until all required application information has been 
received.  Where adequate documentation is not provided, 
the State Office will notify the taxpayer of the additional 
information needed to undertake or complete the review. 
The completed project may be inspected by the Delaware 
State Historic Preservation Officer or his/her designated 
representative to determine if the work meets the definition 
of a certified rehabilitation.

6.2 3 Upon approval by the State Office that the 
completed rehabilitation, or an approved phase thereof,
meets the definition of a certified rehabilitation, the State 
Office shall submit the documentation of qualified 
expenditures to the Division of Revenue or the State Bank 
Commissioner, as appropriate, and request a determination 
of the value of the tax credit for the completed project or an 
approved phase.

6.3 4 Upon receipt from the Division of Revenue of 
the certification of the value of the tax credit for the project, 
or an approved phase thereof, associated with the Certificate 
of Completion by the Division of Revenue or the State Bank 
Commissioner, the Delaware State Historic Preservation 
Officer shall issue a Certificate of Completion to the 
taxpayer. For approved phased rehabilitations, each phase 
must receive a Certificate of Completion indicating that each 
phase is a certified rehabilitation in order for the overall 
project to be considered to be a certified rehabilitation.

6.5 In the case of approved phased projects, more than 
one Certificate of Completion may be awarded to a single 
rehabilitation project.  Credits issued to the initial assignee, 
or in the case of a tax-exempt assignee, to the first taxable 
transferee after the associated phase completion, shall be 
subject to revocation and repayment to the Delaware 
Division of Revenue or the Office of the State Bank 
Commissioner if, under regulations issued by the State 
Office, a phased rehabilitation is not completed by the 
agreed upon completion date indicating that the applicant for 
the credit award is unable or unwilling to complete it, or in 
the event that the project does not meet the certification 
requirements previously agreed to with the State Office.

6.4 6 In no event shall the credit claimed by a 
taxpayer exceed the approved Part 2 credit award.

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)  

7.0 Fees for Processing Rehabilitation Certification 
Request

7.1 The fee for review of rehabilitation work for 
projects where the qualified expenditures are over $100,000 
is $250 for each separate application. The fee from a single 
taxpayer for multiple projects submitted at the same time 
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shall not exceed $2,500. Final action will not be taken on any 
application until the appropriate remittance is received. No 
fee will be charged for rehabilitation projects where the 
qualified expenditures are under $100,000.

7.2 The fee, where applicable, must be submitted with 
the Part 3 application.  For phased projects, the fee must be 
submitted with the first Part 3 submitted.  All checks shall be 
made payable to the State of Delaware.

8.0 Resident Curator Program
8.1 Curatorship property is subject to periodic 

inspection by the State Office during the tax years in which 
the credit is applicable.

8.2 Improvements to curatorship property must be 
completed within five years from the date of execution of the 
contract between the owner and the resident curator.

8.3 Curatorship property must not be used for 
commercial purposes.

8 DE Reg. 194 (7/1/04)

9.0 Administrative Review
9.1 A taxpayer whose application has been disapproved 

by the Delaware State Historic Preservation Officer under 
these regulations may file a written request for review with 
the Secretary of State or the Secretary’s designee within 60 
days after the notice of disapproval is sent.

9.2 The Secretary of State or the Secretary’s designee 
shall review the request within 60 days after receipt of the 
request. If the Secretary of State or the Secretary’s designee 
determines that the application filed meets the standards set 
forth in these regulations the application shall be considered 
approved. If the Secretary of State or Secretary’s designee 
determines that the application filed does not meet the 
standards set forth in these regulations, the application shall 
be disapproved. The Secretary of State or Secretary’s 
designee shall promptly notify the taxpayer of the 
Secretary’s determination.

9.3 A taxpayer whose application has been disapproved 
by the Secretary of State may appeal that action in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 29 
Del.C. §10101 et. seq.

9.4 An appellant who has exhausted all administrative 
remedies shall be entitled to judicial review in accordance 
with 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, Subch. V of the Administrative 
Procedures Act.

6 DE Reg. 108 (7/1/02)
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE

Delaware Economic and Financial Advisory Mr. William Fasy Pleasure of the
Council Governor

First State Historical Park Task Force Ms. Reba Hollingsworth Pleasure of the
Governor

Governor’s Energy Advisory Council Mr. John W. Andrew 11/12/2007
Mr. Robert L. Baker 11/12/2006
Mr. David R. Hodas 11/12/2007
Mr. Raymond Long 11/12/2006
Mr. Patrick McCullar 11/12/2005
Mr. Gary Patterson 11/12/2006
Mr. Seth Ross 11/12/2007
Mr. Gary Stockbridge 11/12/2007
Mr. Stephen Thompson 11/12/2005
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Technical Information Memorandum 2004-3
Transient Nursery Retailers

Senate Bill 341 of the 142nd General Assembly 
amended Chapter 29 of Title 30 of the Delaware Code by 
adding a new license requirement for Transient Nursery 
Retailers. Transient nursery retailers must obtain a business 
license for each place of business. The fee for each location 
is $75.00 and is valid for 30 consecutive days from the date 
issued. The applicant must supply an original or copy of a 
valid Nursery Industry License issued by the Department of 
Agriculture prior to being issued a business license. In 
addition the applicant must provide proof that he or she has 
obtained all other necessary State, county and municipal 
licenses, permits and waivers regarding the sale of their 
products and operation at each location. These new 
requirements are effective July 19, 2004

A “Transient Nursery Retailer” is any retailer of 
nursery products as defined in Section 1301(27) of Title 3 of 
the Delaware Code that does not otherwise sell nursery 
products from a permanent structure within the State. Any 
charitable organization as defined in Section 501(c) of the 
Internal Revenue Code is excluded from the definition of a 
transient nursery retailer.

“Nursery Products” is defined as -- any plant for 
planting, propagation, or ornamentation, including, but not 
limited to:

a. All plants, trees, shrubs, vines, perennials 
grafts, cuttings and buds that may be sold for propagation, 
whether cultivated or wild, and all viable parts of these 
plants.

b. Any other plant or plant part, including cut 
Christmas trees or any non-hardy plant or plant part, 
including but not limited to, annuals, bedding plants and 
vegetable plants.

Every transient nursery retailer must complete a 
Combined Registration Application, pay the license fee for 
each location, and supply the appropriate State, county and 
municipal licenses, permits and waivers prior to selling any 
nursery product in the State. The Division of Revenue will 
issue a Cease and Desist Order for failure to comply with 
these requirements. In addition a civil penalty of $200.00 
will be imposed for each violation.

Please contact Ron Kaminski, 302-577-8448, or by 
email at, ronald.kaminski@state.de.us if you have any 
questions concerning the licensing requirements for transient 
nursery retailers.

Patrick T. Carter,  Director of Revenue

Technical Information Memorandum 2004-4
Headquarters Management Corporation

BACKGROUND

House Bill 403 of the 142nd General Assembly creates a 
new Chapter 64 of Title 30 of the Delaware Code.  This new 
chapter relates to the formation, powers and taxation of a 
new corporate entity known as a Delaware Headquarters 
Management Corporation (HMC). The purpose of this 
legislation and the creation of the HMC is to allow for the 
opportunity to attract investment management activities and 
headquarter support operations to the State of Delaware to 
create new employment within the State.

QUALIFICATION AND ELECTION

Any corporation may elect to be classified as an HMC if 
the corporation limits its activities in Delaware to investment 
activities and/or providing headquarters management 
services to itself and to members of its affiliated group. The 
election to become an HMC may be made anytime before 
the last day of the end of the first taxable year commencing 
after December 31, 2003.  An election shall remain in effect 
until terminated by revocation by the taxpayer or the 
taxpayer's failing to limit its activities in this State to 
headquarters services or investment activities.

DEFINITIONS

Section 6401(c) of 30 Del.C. defines “investment 
activities” as: the maintenance and management by an HMC 
of its intangible investments and the collection and 
distribution of the income from such investments or from 
tangible property physically located outside this State. 
Section 6401(b) of 30 Del.C. defines “headquarters 
management services” as: accounts receivable and payable, 
employee benefit plan, insurance, legal, payroll, data 
processing, purchasing, and tax, financial and securities 
accounting, reporting and compliance services provided by 
an HMC to itself and members of its affiliated group, and the 
maintenance and management of the intangible investments 
of other members of its affiliated group.

TAXATION

An HMC will pay an annual tax that is the greater of the 
sum of 8.7% of its HMC taxable income derived from 
headquarters services activities, not including investment 
income; and 4% of its HMC taxable income derived from its 
investment activities or $5,000. An HMC shall be credited 
with the amount of tax the income upon which tax was also 
paid, with respect to the taxable year, to any other state of the 
United States of the District of Columbia.
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ALTERNATIVE CALCULATION OF TAXABLE 
INCOME

House Bill 403 of the 142nd General Assembly also 
creates a new Subchapter VII to Chapter 20, 30 Del.C. that 
offers an alternative calculation of Delaware taxable income 
of the HMC and also offers employment tax credits.  Section 
2061(a), 30 Del.C. contains an alternative method for a 
newly formed HMC.  Section 2061(b), 30 Del.C. contains an 
alternative method for an HMC that previously conducted 
business in Delaware prior to its HMC election.

REDUCTIONS IN TAXABLE FOR EMPLOYMENT 
AND/INVESTMENT

Section 2061(a) provides a 20% tax reduction in taxable 
income for each qualified employee of the HMC and/or a 2% 
tax reduction for each expenditure (not including wages/
salaries/benefits) by the HMC in Delaware of $7,500 in 
excess of 100% of the HMC’s operating expenses for the 
most recent tax year ending before the effective date of its 
original license. 

Section 2061(b) provides a 20% tax reduction for each 
qualified employee of the HMC that is 25% or more greater 
than the number of individuals employed within this state 
before the effective date of its original license and/or a 2% 
tax reduction for each expenditure (not including wages/
salaries/benefits) by the HMC in Delaware of $7,500 in 
excess of 125% of the HMC’s operating expenses for the 
most recent tax year ending before the effective date of its 
original license.

The alternative Delaware taxable income calculations 
Section 2061 is available during each of the ten years 
commencing with the first taxable year beginning on the 
effective date of the HMC’s original license. The maximum 
amount of tax reduction is 99%. The maximum amount of 
tax reduction can not exceed a minimum annual HMC 
income tax of $5,000.

TAX CREDITS FOR NEW EMPLOYMENT

In addition to the reduction in taxable income, section 
2063 provides that any qualified HMC, during any 12 month 
taxable year, that employs 5 or more qualified employees is 
entitled to a $400/employee income tax credit. The amount 
of the credit allowable for each taxable year shall not exceed 
50% of the amount of tax imposed by this Chapter upon the 
HMC that is in excess of the $5,000 minimum tax nor shall 
the employment tax credit reduce the tax imposed upon the 
HMC below the $5,000 minimum tax. The employment tax 
credit and any carryover of the unused tax credit are limited 
to a 5 year life.

FILING REQUIREMENTS

A qualified HMC will be required to file an annual 
income tax return and pay a tax in lieu of the taxes imposed 
under Chapter 19 of Title 30 of the Delaware Code. Such 
return shall be due on the first day of the fourth month 
immediately following the end of the taxable year. The 
HMC’s Delaware taxable income for any year means the 
amount of its federal taxable income as computed for federal 
income tax purposes and subject to the specific allocation 
and apportionment provisions contained in Section 6403(a) 
and Section 6403(b), 30 Del.C.

A tentative tax return, covering estimated income tax 
liability for the current taxable year, shall be filed with the 
Division of Revenue on or before the first day of the fourth 
month of the current taxable year. For calendar year 
corporations, 25% of the estimated tax liability for the 
current taxable year shall each be paid with the tentative 
return required to be filed on or before April 1 of the current 
taxable year, the 15th day of June of the current taxable year, 
the 15th day of September of the current taxable year and the 
15th day of January of the immediately following taxable 
year.  For fiscal year corporations, 25% of the estimated tax 
liability for the current taxable year shall each be paid with 
the tentative return required to be filed on or before the 1st

day of the 4th month of the current taxable year, the 15th day 
of the 6th month of the current taxable year, the 15th day of 
the 9th month of the current taxable year and the 15th day of 
the 1st month of the immediately following taxable year. 
Tentative tax declarations and payments are not required for 
returns for taxable periods of less than 92 calendar days and 
any additional tax as computed in the final return shall be 
paid with the final return.

ANNUAL LICENSE FEE

 An HMC is required to obtain an occupational business 
license pursuant to 30 Del.C., §2301(27). The annual license 
fee is $5,000. Affiliates of the HMC are subject to an annual 
license fee of $500 for each affiliate electing to be a 
Headquarters Management Company.  An HMC is exempt 
from sections (b) and (d) of Section 2301 relating a General 
Service license and the payment of gross receipts tax.

Form 6401-HMC, APPLICATION AND ELECTION 
FOR A HEADQUARTERS MANAGEMENT 
CORPORATION BUSINESS LICENSE must be completed 
and submitted with the appropriate license fee to the Director 
of Revenue.

Please contact Ron Kaminski, 302-577-8448, or by 
email at, ronald.kaminski@state.de.us if you have any 
questions concerning questions regarding this notice.

Patrick T. Carter,  Director of Revenue
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Accountancy in accordance 
with 24 Del.C. §105(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules 
and regulations as mandated by SB 229. The proposal 
identifies crimes that are substantially related to the practice 
of accountancy.

A public hearing will be held on February 16, 2005 at 
9:00 a.m. in the second floor conference room B of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Accountancy, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 
203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to submit written 
comments may forward these to the Board at the above 
address. The final date to receive written comments will be 
at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Architecture in accordance with 
24 Del.C. §205 has proposed changes to its rules and 
regulations.  The first proposed rule change, in accordance 
with 29 Del.C. Section 10113(b)(5), is to conforms 
application requirements for certificate of authorization to 
changes in the law as amended by HB 211.  The second 
proposed rule change is to clarify the requirements for 
processing continuing education requirements in Rule 7.1.2. 
The third proposed rule change, as mandated by SB 229, 
identifies crimes that are substantially related to the 
provision of landscape architecture services.

A public hearing will be held on March 9, 2005 at 10:15 
a.m. in the second floor conference room B of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone 
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Landscape Architecture, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon 

Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904. Persons wishing to 
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at 
the above address. The final date to receive written 
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF ARCHITECTURE

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Architecture in accordance with 
24 Del.C. §306 has proposed changes to its rules and 
regulations as mandated by SB 229.  The proposal identifies 
crimes that are substantially related to the provision of 
architectural services.

A public hearing will be held on February 2, 2005 in the 
second floor conference room B of the Cannon Building, 
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware where 
members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone wishing 
to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may 
obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of Architecture, 861 
Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 
19904.  Persons wishing to submit written comments may 
forward these to the Board at the above address.  The final 
date to receive written comments will be at the public 
hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PODIATRY

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Podiatry, in accordance with 24
Del.C. §506(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules and 
regulations as mandated by Senate Bill No.229 (74 Del. 
Laws c. 262) The proposal changes list the crimes that are 
substantially related to the provision of Podiatry 

A public hearing will be held at 5:00 p.m. February 17, 
2005 in the second floor conference room A of the Cannon 
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 
where members of the public can offer comments.  Anyone 
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Board, 861 Silver 
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Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904. 
Persons wishing to submit written comments may forward 
these to the Board of Podiatry at the above address. The final 
date to receive written comments will be at the public 
hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Real Estate Commission in accordance 
with 24 Del.C. §2905(a)(1) has proposed changes to its rules 
and regulations as mandated by SB 229. The proposal 
identifies crimes that are substantially related to services 
provided by real estate brokers, salespersons, and appraisers.

A public hearing will be held on February 10, 2005 at 
9:00 a.m. in the second floor conference room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Real 
Estate Commission, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, 
Suite 203, Dover DE 19904. Persons wishing to submit 
written comments may forward these to the Commission at 
the above address. The final date to receive written 
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Commission will consider promulgating the 
proposed regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting 
following the public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS OF 

MENTAL HEALTH AND
CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY PROFESSIONALS

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Professional Counselors of 
Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals in 
accordance with 24 Del.C. §3006(a)(1) has proposed 
changes to its rules and regulations as mandated by SB 229. 
The proposal identifies crimes that are substantially related 
to the provision of mental health counseling and chemical 
dependency counseling.

A public hearing will be held on February 4, 2005 at 

3:00 p.m. in the second floor conference room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical 
Dependency Professionals, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon 
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons wishing to 
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at 
the above address. The final date to receive written 
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK 

EXAMINERS

The Delaware Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners 
in accordance with 24 Del.C. §3906(1) has proposed 
changes to its rules and regulations as mandated by SB 229. 
The proposal identifies crimes that are substantially related 
to the provision of social work services.

A public hearing will be held on February 14, 2005 at 
9:30 a.m. in the second floor conference room A of the 
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, 
Delaware where members of the public can offer comments. 
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and 
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of 
Clinical Social Work Examiners, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, 
Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904.  Persons 
wishing to submit written comments may forward these to 
the Board at the above address.  The final date to receive 
written comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed 
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the 
public hearing.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

PUBLIC NOTICE

On May 14, 2003, the Division of the Public Advocate 
(“DPA”) filed a petition with the Public Service Commission 
(“the Commission”) asking the Commission to make 
revisions and amendments to its rules and regulations 
concerning the Terms and Conditions Under Which Water 
Utilities Require Advances and/or Contributions In-Aid-Of 
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Construction From Customers or Developers and the Proper 
Ratemaking Treatment for Such Contributions and Advances
(“the Regulations”). These Regulations were originally 
adopted in PSC Order No. 2928 (Mar. 15, 1988) and revised 
in PSC Order No. 4310 (Sept. 24, 1996).

In PSC Order No. 6198 (June 16, 2003), the 
Commission accepted the DPA’s petition to reopen those 
earlier Regulations. The Commission agreed to consider 
revisions proposed by the DPA which would modify the 
Regulations to adopt and implement a "means test" for 
determining the amount of Advances In-Aid-Of 
Construction and Contributions In-Aid-Of Construction.

As the first step in the process, the Commission’s Staff, 
with the assistance of the DPA, proposed textual 
amendments and revisions to the present Regulations for the 
Commission’s consideration. The Commission Staff has 
since met with representatives of the DPA and interested 
parties, received written comments, conducted meetings and 
workshops, and the Staff has developed proposed changes to 
the existing regulations.

The new regulations will address the following: (a) the 
definitions of Contributions In-Aid-Of Construction 
(“CIAC") and advances; (b) the computation of CIAC, 
including costs categories; (c) the nature of advances; (d) 
refunds of advances; (e) the ratemaking treatment of 
advances; (f) the ratemaking treatment of CIAC; (g) interest 
on excess CIAC and advances; and (h) matters necessarily 
related to the foregoing.  The Commission proposes that its 
Order promulgating the final version of the new regulations 
will provide that the regulations (and the related docket) will 
be reopened two years from the effective date of the new 
regulations to review the new rate-making methodology, and 
to assess its effectiveness, the CIAC computation, and 
related costs categories.  After such review and assessment, 
the Commission may, if deemed appropriate, consider 
further modifications of the regulations.

Copies of the present Regulations and the DPA’s petition 
to reopen are available for public inspection at the 
Commission’s address set out below during normal business 
hours:

The Commission has authority to promulgate the 
regulations pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209(a) and 29 Del.C. 
§10111 et seq.

The Commission hereby solicits written comments, 
suggestions, and compilations of data, briefs, or other 
written materials concerning the proposed regulations.  Ten 
(10) copies of such materials shall be filed with the 
Commission at its office located at 861 Silver Lake 
Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware, 
19904. All such materials shall be filed with the Commission 
on or before February 4, 2005. Persons who wish to 
participate in the proceedings, but who do not wish to file 
written materials, are asked to send a letter informing the 
Commission of their intention to participate on or before 

February 4, 2005.
The regulations and the materials submitted in 

connection therewith will be available for public inspection 
and copying at the Commission's Dover office during normal 
business hours.  The fee for copying is $0.25 per page.  The 
regulations may also be reviewed, by appointment during 
normal business hours, at the office of the Division of the 
Public Advocate located at the Carvel State Office Building, 
4th Floor, 820 North French Street, Wilmington, Delaware 
19801, and will also be available for review on the 
Commission's website:  www.state.de.us/delpsc.

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to 
participate in these proceedings should contact the 
Commission to discuss any auxiliary aids or services needed 
to facilitate such review or participation. Such contact may 
be in person, by writing, by telephone, or otherwise.  The 
Commission's toll-free telephone number (in Delaware) is 
(800) 282-8574.  Any person with questions may also 
contact the Commission Staff at (302) 739-4247 or by Text 
Telephone at (302) 739-4333.  Inquiries can also be sent by 
Internet e-mail to karen.nickerson@state.de.us. 

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly 
meeting on Thursday, January 20, 2005 at 1:00 p.m. in the 
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

PUBLIC NOTICE

Nature of the Proceedings

Pursuant to 16 Delaware Code, Section 223, the 
Department of Health and Social Services is proposing 
“Autism Surveillance and Registration Program 
Regulations” that will require health care practitioners to 
report information on children under 18 years of age with 
autism to a central Autism Registry. The information 
collected in the Autism Registry will be used to track 
changes in prevalence of autism over time, to inform the 
planning of service delivery to children with autism and their 
families, and to facilitate autism research.
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Notice of Public Hearing

The Division of Public Health, Department of Health 
and Social Services will hold a public hearing to discuss the 
proposed Autism Surveillance and Registration Program 
Regulations.  The public hearing will be held on January 24, 
2005 at 10:00 a.m., in the Third Floor Conference Room of 
the Jesse Cooper Building, Federal and Water Streets, Dover, 
Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for 
review by calling the following location:

Community and Family Health (Rebecca Luis)
Blue Hen Corporate Center, Suite 206
655 S. Bay Road, Dover, Delaware
Telephone: (302) 741-2980

Anyone wishing to present his or her oral comments at 
this hearing should contact David Walton at (302) 744-4700 
by January 21, 2005. Anyone wishing to submit written 
comments as a supplement to or in lieu of oral testimony 
should submit such comments by January 31, 2005 to:

David P. Walton
Division of Public Health
Jesse Cooper Building
P.O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903-0637

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Private Duty Nursing Services

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code), 42 CFR §447.205, and under the authority 
of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, 
Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of 
Social Services / Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Provider 
Manual and the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan to revise and 
clarify the criteria and reimbursement methodology for 
Private Duty Nursing (PDN) services. The proposal 
describes program eligibility; who can receive PDN 
services; who can provide the services and the requirements 
that must be met; program limitations; and, services a person 
can receive, if eligible.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 

submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720 by January 31, 2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Child Care Subsidy Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding the child care subsidy program as it 
relates to the determination of the child care parent fee and 
fee waiving situations.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by January 31, 
2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Long Term Care Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding the Long Term Care Program. The 
proposal gives direction on counting annuities and their 
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streams of income for the eligibility process; to clarify that 
the list of non-liquid resources is not all inclusive; and, to 
correct an inconsistency in language.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by January 31, 
2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
PUBLIC NOTICE

Long Term Care Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative 
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the 
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the 
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, Delaware Health 
and Social Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services is 
proposing to amend the Division of Social Services Manual 
(DSSM) regarding the Long Term Care Program related to 
the redemption period for certain U.S. Savings Bonds and 
provides instructions on waiving the redemption period for 
U.S. Savings Bonds

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions, 
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written 
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must 
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program 
Development Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box 
906, New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 by January 31, 
2005.

The action concerning the determination of whether to 
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results 
of Department and Division staff analysis and the 
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by 
other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

REGISTER NOTICE

Title Of The Regulation:
Regulation 45 -- Excessive Idling of Heavy Duty 

Vehicles 

Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
The Department of Natural Resources and 

Environmental Control, Division of Air and Waste 
Management, Air Quality Management Section is proposing 
a revision to the State Implementation Plan for the 
Attainment and Maintenance of the National Air Quality 
Standards for Ozone. Delaware has been designated 
moderate non-attainment for the eight hour ozone standard. 
The proposed revision will contain a new regulation, 
Regulation No. 45. In order to curb air emissions that 
contribute to the poor air quality in the State, the Department 
is proposing to regulate the engine idling time for the 
operation of on-road heavy-duty vehicles, having a gross 
vehicle weight rating of over 8,500 pounds. This regulation 
will continue the efforts by the State to reduce the emissions 
of NOx (nitrogen oxides), particulates and other tailpipe 
pollutants from vehicles operated in Delaware.

Notice Of Public Comment:
The Department will hold a public hearing on January 

25, 2005 at 6 PM at the office of Air Quality Management 
Section, 156 South State Street, Dover Delaware, in the 
second floor conference room. Prior to the public hearing, an 
informational workshop on the proposal will be held on 
January  6, 2005 at 1:30 PM at the same location above.

Prepared By:
Philip Wheeler (302) 739-4791December 9, 2004

DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

REGISTER NOTICE

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The Department of Natural Resources and 

Environmental Control, The Department of Agriculture and 
the Delaware Nutrient management Commission are 
proposing general permit regulations for concentrated 
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animal feeding operations (CAFOs).  The proposed CAFO 
regulations will amend section 9 (The General Permit 
Program) of the Regulations Governing the Control of Water 
Pollution . The Clean Water Act and recent revisions to 
federal regulations define  a CAFO.  The draft regulations 
were developed cooperatively with the involvement of the 
Department of Agriculture, Delaware Nutrient Management 
Commission, Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Control, Natural Resource Conservation 
Service  and the University of Delaware.  

Notice Of Public Comment:
The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental 

Control,  the Department of Agriculture and the Delaware 
Nutrient Management Commission  will hold public hearings 
on january 25, 2005 at 6 PM at the Farmington Fire Hall and 
January 27, 2005 at 6 PM at the Gumboro Fire Hall to receive 
comments on proposed amendments to the  Regulations 
Governing the Control of Water Pollution.  Comments should 
be sent in writing to Peder Hansen, Surface Water Discharges 
Section, Division of Water Resources, DNREC, 89 Kings 
Hwy., Dover, DE 19901.

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND 
HOMELAND SECURITY
BAIL ENFORCEMENT AGENTS

PUBLIC NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Safety 
and Homeland Security, Division of State Police, in 
accordance with 24 Del.C. Section 5404(a) proposes to 
amend Adopted Rule 1.0 - Licensing.  This amendment will 
clarify items and fees that a Bail Enforcement Agent will 
receive when applying or renewing.  If you wish to view the 
complete Rule, contact Ms. Peggy Anderson at (302) 739-
5991.  

These clarifications ere originally published in the 
November issue (8 DE Reg. 689) of the Register of 
Regulations.  The public comment period originally open 
until November 8, 2004, has been extended until January 31, 
2005.  Any persons wishing to present views may submit 
them in writing, by January 31, 2005, to Delaware State 
Police, Detective Licensing, P.O. BOX 430, DOVER, DE, 
19903.

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN 
COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware River Basin Commission (“Commission” 
or “DRBC”) is a federal-state regional agency charged with 
managing the water resources of the Basin without regard for 
political boundaries. Its members are the governors of the 
four Basin states – Delaware, New Jersey, New York and 
Pennsylvania – and a Federal representative appointed by the 
President of the United States.  The Commission is exempt 
from the requirements of the 29 Delaware Code Chapter 
101.  This notice is published by the Commission for 
informational purposes.

Proposal to Amend the Administrative Procedure and 
Fee Schedule for the Renewal of Projects Under Section 3.8 
and Article 10 of the Delaware River Basin Compact

Summary:  The Commission will hold a public hearing to 
receive comments on a proposed amendment to the 
Commission’s administrative procedure and fee schedule for 
the renewal of project approvals under Section 3.8 and 
Article 10 of the Delaware River Basin Compact.  

The Commission's fee schedule for the review of 
projects under Section 3.8 and Article 10 of the Delaware 
River Basin Compact is set forth in Resolution No. 2003-14, 
duly adopted by the Commission on June 26, 2003.  The 
proposed amendments to the schedule would add provisions 
(a) for the administrative continuance of dockets and permits 
(collectively, “approvals”) pending Commission action on 
renewal applications that are timely submitted; and (b) 
imposition of a fee of $1,000, in addition to the ordinary 
review fee, for the review of renewal applications not 
submitted in a timely fashion.  In accordance with the 
proposed amendment, a docket holder or permittee whose 
approval has been administratively continued will not be 
subject to penalties for operating without a docket or permit 
during the period between expiration of the approval and 
Commission action on an application for renewal, provided 
that the docket holder or permittee will be responsible for 
violations of the terms and conditions of its approval to the 
same extent as if the approval had been renewed prior to its 
expiration.

In order to phase in the new program, the proposed rule 
sets forth one timeline for approvals that expire before 
October 1, 2005 and another for approvals that expire on or 
after October 1, 2005.

Approvals expiring before October 1, 2005 are proposed 
to be administratively continued pending issuance of a 
docket renewal when the docket holder or permittee submits 
a complete application within 90 calendar days after receipt 
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of a written notice from the Executive Director or by 
September 30, 2005, whichever is earlier.  The Executive 
Director may extend the deadline for good cause shown in 
the event a substantially complete application, along with the 
full fee, is submitted by the deadline.  The fee of $1,000, 
payable in addition to the ordinary fee, is proposed to be 
charged for renewal applications submitted after September 
30, 2005.  

Approvals expiring after September 30, 2005 are 
proposed to be administratively continued pending issuance 
of a docket renewal when the docket holder or permittee 
submits a complete application at least 120 calendar days in 
advance of the expiration date.  If the approval establishes a 
different application submission date, the docket or permit is 
controlling.  Again, the Executive Director may extend the 
deadline for good cause shown, in the event a substantially 
complete application, along with the full fee, is submitted by 
the deadline.  A fee of $1,000 above the ordinary fee is 
proposed to be charged for renewal applications submitted 
fewer than 120 calendar days before the approval’s 
expiration date.

The amendment provides for the Executive Director to 
implement procedures to furnish written notice to docket 
holders and permittees in advance of their approval 
expiration dates, reminding them to file a timely renewal 
application.  However, failure of the Executive Director to 
send such notice or lack of receipt of the notice by the docket 
holder or permittee will not relieve the docket holder or 
permittee of any obligation or condition or create any 
defense.

Dates:  The public hearing will be held during the 
Commission’s regularly scheduled business meeting on 
January 19, 2005 at 1:30 P.M.  Persons wishing to testify at 
the hearing are asked to register in advance with the 
Commission Secretary by phoning 609-883-9500, ext. 224. 
Submission of written comments by January 14, 2005 is 
requested; however, written comments will be accepted 
through the close of the public hearing on Wednesday, 
January 19, 2005.  

Addresses:  The public hearing will be held in the Goddard 
Room of the Commission’s office building at 25 State Police 
Drive in West Trenton, New Jersey.  Written comments
should be addressed to the Commission Secretary as follows: 
by e-mail to paula.schmitt@drbc.state.nj.us; by fax to 609-
883-9522; by U.S. Mail to Commission Secretary, DRBC, 
P.O. Box 7360, West Trenton, NJ 08628-0360; or by 
overnight mail to Commission Secretary, DRBC, 25 State 
Police Drive, West Trenton, NJ 08628-0360.

Further Information, Contact:  The full text of the 
proposed amendment is posted on the Commission’s web 
site, http://www.drbc.net.  Please contact Commission 

Secretary Pamela Bush, 609-883-9500 ext. 203, with 
questions about the proposed amendment or the amendment 
process.

Pamela M. Bush, Esquire
Commission Secretary

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN 
COMMISSION

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware River Basin Commission (“Commission” 
or “DRBC”) is a federal-state regional agency charged with 
managing the water resources of the Basin without regard for 
political boundaries.  Its members are the governors of the 
four Basin states – Delaware, New Jersey, New York and 
Pennsylvania – and a Federal representative appointed by the 
President of the United States. The Commission is not 
subject to the requirements of 29 Delaware Code Chapter 
101. This notice is published by the Commission for 
informational purposes.

Proposed Amendments to the Comprehensive Plan and 
Water Code Relating to the Coordinated Operation of Lower 
Basin and Hydroelectric Reservoirs During a Basinwide 
Drought.

Summary:  The Commission will hold a public hearing to 
receive comments on proposed amendments to Section 2.5.5 
of the Water Code (21 NYCRR §§ 890.11 and 890.12), 
relating to the Coordinated Operation of Lower Basin and 
Hydroelectric Reservoirs During a Basinwide Drought.   The 
Commission proposes to amend and codify changes to the 
Comprehensive Plan and Water Code effected by Resolution 
No. 2002-33, approved in November 2002 by the 
Commission and the parties to the U.S. Supreme Court 
Decree in New Jersey v. New York, 347 U.S. 995 (1954) 
(“Decree Parties”).  The amendments are for purposes of 
clarification and accuracy and to better ensure that the 
benefits of the changes effected by Resolution No. 2002-33 
are achieved without compromising habitat protection goals. 
Resolution No. 2002-33, which was not codified, in part 
amended the Comprehensive Plan and Water Code relating 
to the utilization of Lake Wallenpaupack during drought 
watch, drought warning and drought operations.

The proposed changes are as follows:  
First, numbered paragraph 1 of Resolution No. 2002-33 

provides that “any and all provisions pertaining to the 
operation of Lake Wallenpaupack during basinwide drought 
warning also apply to basinwide drought watch as 
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temporarily defined by the Commission in Docket No. D-77-
20 CP.”  The proposed amendment adds the parenthetical 
“(Revision 7 and following)” at the end of this sentence to 
make clear that the most current applicable revision of 
Docket No. D-77-20 CP is intended to apply.

Second, the inclusion of the term “drought watch” in 
brackets following every mention of “drought warning” in 
the November 2002 amendments is proposed to be deleted, 
because the Commission makes clear in numbered 
Paragraph 1 of the Resolution that provisions in Section 
2.5.5 of the Water Code pertaining to the operation of Lake 
Wallenpaupack during drought warning also are intended to 
apply to drought watch as defined by Docket No. D-77-20 
CP (Revision 7 and following).

Third, throughout the language added by Resolution No. 
2002-33, the terms “drought conditions” and “drought 
warning conditions” are replaced by “drought operations” 
and “drought warning operations,” respectively, to more 
accurately reflect the fact that the reservoir management 
activities described are triggered by a set of reservoir 
drought operating rules established by the Commission and 
the Decree Parties, rather than by hydrologic conditions.
Fourth, the November 2002 amendments inserted language 
at Section 2.5.5 of the Water Code stating that “[d]uring 
‘drought’ and ‘drought warning’ operations . . . , “the power 
companies shall release water only in accordance with 
Commission direction.”  This statement is proposed to be 
changed to reflect the Commission’s intention that “[d]uring 
‘drought’ and ‘drought warning’ operations as defined in 
Figure 1 of Section 2.5.3.A. of the Water Code, releases from 
Lake Wallenpaupack shall be made only in accordance with 
Commission direction.” In a related amendment, a new 
sentence is proposed to be added to Section 2.5.5 addressing 
operation of the Mongaup reservoir system by the 
Commission, which may take place only under more limited 
circumstances. The proposed provision reads, “After 
issuance of a Conservation Order by the Commission, power 
generation releases from the Mongaup reservoir system shall 
be made only in accordance with Commission direction.” 
This statement restores the rule governing drought operation 
of the Mongaup system reservoirs to the rule in effect before 
the November 2002 amendments.

Fifth, the Commission proposes to add a clause 
providing that when it directs releases from Lake 
Wallenpaupack during drought watch (including warning) 
and drought operations, it must give consideration to any 
flow and temperature targets established by the Commission 
and the Decree Parties in the upper Delaware River and in 
the West Branch Delaware, East Branch Delaware, and 
Neversink rivers for the protection of the cold water fisheries 
in these streams.

Dates:  The public hearing will be held during the 
Commission’s regularly scheduled business meeting on 

January 19, 2005 at 1:30 P.M.  Persons wishing to testify at 
the hearing are asked to register in advance with the 
Commission by phoning 609-883-9500, ext. 224. 
Submission of written comments by January 14, 2005 would 
be appreciated, but written comments will be accepted 
through the close of the public hearing on Wednesday, 
January 19, 2005.

Addresses:  The public hearing will be held in the Goddard 
Room of the Commission’s office building at 25 State Police 
Drive in West Trenton, New Jersey.  Written comments
should be addressed to the Commission Secretary as follows: 
by e-mail to paula.schmitt@drbc.state.nj.us; by fax to 609-
883-9522; by U.S. Mail to Commission Secretary, DRBC, 
P.O. Box 7360, West Trenton, NJ 08628-0360; or by 
overnight mail to Commission Secretary, DRBC, 25 State 
Police Drive, West Trenton, NJ 08628-0360.

Further Information, Contact:  The full text of the 
proposed resolution, the text of Resolution No. 2002-33, and 
the text of the sections of the Water Code as amended by 
both Resolution No. 2002-33 and the proposed resolution, 
are posted on the Commission’s web site, http://
www.drbc.net. Please contact Commission Secretary Pamela 
Bush, 609-883-9500 ext. 203, with questions about the 
proposed action.

Pamela M. Bush, Esquire
Commission Secretary
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