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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

4 DE Reg. 769 - 775 (11/1/00)

Refers to Volume 4, pages 769 - 7775 of the
Delaware Register issued on November 1, 2000.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$120.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-739-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written
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evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,

no judicial review of a regulation is available
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER 

OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
 DATE             DATE        TIME

FEBRUARY 1 JANUARY 15 4:30 P.M.

MARCH 1 FEBRUARY 15 4:30 P.M.

APRIL 1 MARCH 15 4:30 P.M.

MAY 1 APRIL 15 4:30 P.M.

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

Walter G. Feindt, Deputy Director; Judi
Abbott, Secretary; Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar
of Regulations; Maryanne McGonegal, Research
Analyst; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative
Librarian; Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop
Supervisor; Alex W. Mull, Assistant Registrar;
Deborah A. Porter, Administrative  Assistant;
Barbara Ryan, Public Information Clerk;
Victoria Schultes, Administrative Assistant; Ted
Segletes, Paralegal;  Don Sellers, Printer; Thom
Shiels, Legislative Attorney; Marguerite P.
Smith, Public Information Clerk; Alice W. Stark,
Legislative Attorney; Mary Jane Starkey, Senior
Secretary;  Marvin L. Stayton, Printer; Rochelle
Yerkes, Senior Secretary.
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DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
1997 Edition Part I, Annex A, 1997 Edition Part I, Annex B and 1997 Edition Part III,

Chapter 1, Operation, Maintenance and Testing of Fire Protection Systems................. .......4  DE Reg.   769  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
Division of Professional Regulation

Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners...................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   892  (Prop.)
Board of Cosmetology & Barbering............................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   329  (Final)
Board of Examiners in Optometry.................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   674  (Final)
Board of Examiners of Psychologists............................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   275  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   977  (Final)
Board of Funeral Services............................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   157  (Final)
Board of Landscape Architecture................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   385  (Prop.)
Board of Massage and Bodywork................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   771  (Prop.)
Board of Medical Practice, Respiratory Care Advisory Council.................................... .......4  DE Reg.     14  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   699  (Final)
Board of Nursing............................................................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   274  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   672  (Final)
Board of Nursing, Advance Practice Nurses, Independent Practice and/or

Independent Prescriptive Authority......................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   296  (Final)
Board of Pharmacy

Reg. I, Pharmacist Licensure Requirements............................................................ .......4  DE Reg.    163  (Final)
4  DE Reg.    889  (Prop.)   

Reg. II Grounds for Disciplinary Proceeding.......................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   163  (Final) 
4  DE Reg.   247  (Errata)

Reg. V, Dispensing........................................................................................... ......   .....4  DE Reg.       8  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   163  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   682  (Final)

Reg. VI, Pure Drug Regulations.............................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   890  (Prop.)
Reg. XV, Automated Pharmacy Systems................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   605  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   890  (Prop.)
Board of Podiatry............................................................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   688  (Final)
Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health...................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   267  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   970  (Final)
Examining Board of Physical Therapists........................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.     21  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   440  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   607  (Prop.)

Gaming Control Board, Regulations Governing Bingo, Section 1.03 (10).................... .......4  DE Reg.   334  (Final)
Real Estate Commission................................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   390  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   844  (Final)
Real Estate Commission, Rule 5.2.................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   457  (Final)

DEPARTMENT  OF AGRICULTURE
Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund Program.......................................................... .......4  DE Reg.     37  (Prop.)
Nutrient Management Certification Regulations............................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   609  (Prop.)

The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
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Nutrient Management, Regulations Governing the Processing of Complaints
of Violations............................................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   612  (Prop.)

Harness Racing Commission............................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.       6  (Errata)
Amend Rules 3.2.8.3; 6.3.2; 7.6.6; 7.6.13; 7.6.14; 7.6.15; 8.3.5.4; and 8.4.3.5.10........ .......4  DE Reg.   336  (Final)  
Rules 6.3.3.13 and 8.3.5.9.4............................................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   259  (Errata)
Claiming Races.Rule 6.3................................................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   776  (Prop.)

Thoroughbred Racing Commission
30 Rule Amendments...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   173  (Final)
Rules 8.08, 10.07, 15.01.1(b), 15.01.2(d) and 15.02...................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   397  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
101 Delaware Student Testing Program................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.     69  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   464  (Final)
103  School Accountability for Academic Performance....................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   784  (Prop.)

  245 Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards Scholarship Program................................. .......4  DE Reg.   224  (Final)
250 Procedures Related to the Collection, Maintenance and

Disclosure of Student Data............................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   787  (Prop.)
255 Definitons Public & Private School................................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   897  (Prop.)
309 Middle Level Certification.............................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   995  (Final)
310 Speech/Language Pathologist......................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   184  (Final)
311 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish) Primary/Middle Level....................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   408  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   851  (Final)
312 Bilingual Teacher (Spanish ) Secondary......................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   408  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   851  (Final)
391 Limited Standard Certification for Middle Level Mathematics and Science

and  Secondary Science Certificate for Middle Level Science....................................... .......4  DE Reg.   222  (Final)
396 Private Business and Trade Schools............................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   614  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   986  (Final)
398 Degree Granting Institutions of Higher Education......................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   807  (Prop.)
401 Major Capital Improvement Programs........................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   898  (Prop.)
501 State Content Standards.................................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   343  (Final)

4  DE Reg.   407  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   853  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   901  (Prop.)

510 Computer Literacy Amendments to the Graduation Requirements, Repeal of.............. .......4  DE Reg.   626  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   995  (Final)

511 Credit Requirements for High School Graduation ......................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   634  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   995  (Final)

522 Visual and Performing Arts............................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   634  (Prop.)
524 Physical Education.......................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   634  (Prop.)
525 Requirements for Vocational-Technical Education Programs........................................ .......4  DE Reg.   634  (Prop.)
543 (Formerly 524) Physical Education, Reproposal............................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   903  (Prop.)
710 Teacher Workday............................................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   905  (Prop.)
716 Maintenance of Local School District Personnel Records.............................................. .......4  DE Reg.   635  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   989  (Final)
729 School Custodians........................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   225  (Final)
885 Policy for the Safe Management & Disposal of Surplus Chemicals in the

Delaware Public School System..................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   906  (Prop.)
920 Educational Programs for Students with Limited English Proficiency.......................... .......4  DE Reg.     71  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   467  (Final)
925 Children with Disabilities............................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.     43  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   470  (Final)
930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound)............................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.     75  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   344  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   381  (Errata)
4  DE Reg.   497  (Final)
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1051 DSSAA, Senior High School Interscholastic Athletic Eligibility Rules...................... .......4  DE Reg.   185  (Final)
1052 DSSAA, Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic Athletic Eligibility Rules.......... .......4  DE Reg.   185 (Final)
1101 Standards for School Buses........................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   637  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   995  (Final) 
Handbook for K-12 Education Sections II, III, and IV, Repeal of ........................................ .......4 DE Reg.    626  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
Division of Revenue

Technical Memo. 2000-02, Duty to Report Sales of Cigarette Products
made by Non Participating Manufacturers.............................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   346  (Final)

Technical Memo. 2000-06, Form 1801AC, Application and Computation for
Delaware Land & Historic Resource Conservation Credit...................................... .......4  DE Reg.   823  (Prop.)

Office of the State Lottery
Delaware Lottery & Video Lottery, Introduction, Sections 13, 16, 18, 19 & 29............ .......4  DE Reg.     78  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   498  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Mental Retardation

Eligibility Criteria........................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   228  (Final)
Division of Public Health

Conrad State 20/J-1 Visa Waiver Program..................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   349  (Final)
Delaware Early Defibrillation Program.......................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   412  (Prop.)
Licensing & Registration of Operators of Public Water Supply Systems...................... .......4  DE Reg.   825  (Prop.)
Office of Emergency Medical Services

Advanced Life Support Interfacility Transport Regulations (ALS-IFT)................. .......4  DE Reg.   908  (Prop.)
Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities

Establishment of Delegation of Power of Relative Caregivers to
Consent to Medical Treatment of Minors................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   263  (Emer.)

4  DE Reg.   283  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   599  (Emer.)
4  DE Reg.   656  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1014  (Final)

Establishment of Delegation of Power of Relative Caregivers to
Consent for Registering Minors for School............................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   264  (Emer.)

4  DE Reg.   284  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   600  (Emer.)
4  DE Reg.   657  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1016  (Final)

Division of Social Services
4004.6, Minor Student Earned Income........................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.     89  (Prop.)
4004.6, Minor Student Earned Income - ABC and GA.................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   855  (Final)
4004.7, Minor Student Earned Income GA, Repeal of................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   855  (Repeal)
4006.1, Excluded Income............................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   229  (Final)
7002.1, Cash Assistance Overpayments......................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   922  (Prop.)
8030.1, Excluded Income............................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   229  (Final)
9059 Income Exclusions................................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   229  (Final)
10004.3, Sanction Period and Penalty, 10004.3.1, Information Coordination............... .......4  DE Reg.     89  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   856  (Final)
11003.9.1, Countable Income......................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   229  (Final)
14300 Citizenship and Alienage..................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.     91  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   858  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   923  (Prop.)

14320.1 Medicaid Eligibility for Qualified Aliens......................................................... .......4  DE Reg.     92  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   859  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   924  (Prop.)
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14320.3  Medicaid Eligibility Not Based on Date of Entry into U.S............................. .......4  DE Reg.     92  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   859  (Final)

 14330.2 Eligibility for State Funded Benefits (Nonqualified Aliens)............................ .......4  DE Reg.     92  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   860  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   924  (Prop.)

14380 Documentation of Citizenship or Alien Status.................................................... .......4  DE Reg.     93  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   860  (Final)
4  DE Reg.   382  (Errata)

14400 Acceptable Evidence of U.S. Citizenship, Repeal of.......................................... .......4  DE Reg.     93  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   861  (Final)

14410 Acceptable Evidence of Qualified Alien Status.................................................. .......4  DE Reg.     93  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   861  (Final)

14710 Income................................................................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   229  (Final)
15120.1.2 Child Support Cooperation............................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.     95  (Prop.)

4 DE Reg.   862   (Final)
16100.1.2 Initial Eligibility Determination..................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   383  (Emer.)

4  DE Reg.   418  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   857  (Final)

16250 Eligibility Determination..................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   384  (Emer.)
4  DE Reg.   418  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   858  (Final)

17800 Medical Assistance during Transition to Medicare............................................. .......4  DE Reg.   924  (Prop.)
18100.3 Fair Hearings..................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.     95  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   382  (Errata)
4  DE Reg.   862  (Final)

Delaware Prescription Assistance Program (DPAP), Eligibility Policy......................... .......4  DE Reg.     95  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   834  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Regulation 41, Medicare Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards.......................... .......4  DE Reg.   863  (Final)
Regulation 81, Prompt Payment of Settled Claims........................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   659  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Delaware Securities Act, Rules 700, 701, 710............................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   510  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Delaware Prevailing Wage Regulation III.C.................................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   419  (Prop.)

4  DE Reg.   838  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   863  (Final)

Council on Apprenticeship & Training
Delaware Apprenticeship and Training Law, Sections 106.9 & 106.10......................... .......4  DE Reg.   842  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES & ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Freedom of Information Act Regulations....................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   660  (Prop.)

Division of Air and Waste Management
Air Quality Management Section

Reg. No. 26, Motor Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program................................... .......4  DE Reg.   925  (Prop.)
Reg. No. 30, Title V State Operating Permit Program............................................ .......4  DE Reg. 1018  (Final) 
Reg. No. 31, Low Enhanced Inspection & Maintenance Program Proposed

Sip Revision...................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   931  (Prop.)
Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for

Source Categories, Subparts M and N.............................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   286  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg.   707  (Final)

Reg. No. 39, NOx Budget Trading Program........................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   419  (Prop.)
4  DE Reg. 1019  (Final)

2002 Rate-of-Progress Plan for Kent & New Castle Counties................................ .......4  DE Reg.   664  (Prop.)
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Waste Management Section
Solid Waste Regulations.......................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   101  (Prop.)
Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste............................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   514  (Final)

Division of Fish and Wildlife
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 7, Striped Bass Possession Size Limit; Exceptions................... .......4  DE Reg.   229  (Final)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 23, Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Trip Limits; Seasons;

Quotas ..................................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   602  (Emer.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 27, Spiny Dogfish, Closure of Fishery....................................... .......4  DE Reg.   603  (Emer.)

Division of Water Resources
Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution.................................................. .......4  DE Reg.   103  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies

Employment Notification............................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   361  (Final)
Rules and Regulations.................................................................................................... .......4  DE Reg.   864  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Toll Exemption Policy............................................................................................................ .......4  DE Reg.   294  (Prop.)
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

COMMISSION ON ADULT ENTERTAINMENT 
ESTABLISHMENTS

24 DE Admin. Code 1600
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 

Sections 1604(g), 1618(c)
(24 Del.C. §§1604(g),1618(c))

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Sections 1604(g) and 1618(c),
the Delaware Commission on Adult Entertainment
Establishments proposes to adopt rules and regulations
pursuant to its authority under 24 Del.C. §1618(c).  The
proposed regulations (Rule 1.0) will establish various
sanctions, which the Commission may impose, for violations
of certain provisions of Title 24, Chapter 16 of the Delaware
Code.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Thursday, February 1, 2001 at 9:00 a.m. in
the ABCC  Conference Room, Third Floor, Carvel State
Office Building, 820 N. French St., Wilmington, DE. The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Mary
Paskey at Division of Professional Regulation, 861 Silver
Lake Blvd., Dover, Delaware 19904.  The final date to
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled
public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the
proposed Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the

public hearing should notify Mary Paskey at the above
address or by calling (302) 739-4522.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

1600 Commission On Adult Entertainment 
Establishments

Proposed Rules and Regulations

Rule 1.0  Sanctions for Violations
1.1  Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1618(c), the Commission

may, following a hearing,  impose civil fines and/or license
suspensions for violations of the following statutes:

1.1.1  24 Del.C. §1608
1.1.2  24 Del.C. §1610
1.1.3  24 Del.C. §1611
1.1.4  24 Del.C. §1617
1.1.5  24 Del.C. §1622
1.1.6  24 Del.C. §1629

1.2  The Commission may, in its discretion, impose
fines of no less than $250.00 and no more than $1000.00
and/or license suspensions of no less than one (1) day and no
more than sixty (60) days for each violation of the laws set
forth at Rule 1.1.

1.3  If a penalty imposed by the Commission, pursuant
to this rule, is not complied with pursuant to the terms of the
Commission’s Order, the Commission shall convene a
hearing for the licensee to show cause why the license
should not be revoked and/or additional penalties imposed.

1.4  Nothing in this rule shall prohibit the Commission
from imposing a license revocation in lieu of or in addition
to any penalty established under this rule, if license

Symbol Key
Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.

Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nat ure
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.
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revocation is a penalty authorized by statute for the specific
offense(s).

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF NURSING

24 DE Admin. Code 1000
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,

Section 1906 (24 Del.C. §1906 (1))

The Delaware Board of Nursing in accordance with 24
Del.C., Subsection 1906(1) and 24 Del.C., Chapter 19A
(Article VI(d)) has proposed to amend 6.10.1.1 of the
Board’s Rules and Regulations.

This proposed rules and regulations change requires that
employers submit to the Board by April 15 a list of only the
nurses employed with a nursing license from another
compact state. 

A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, February
14, 2001 at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor Conference Room
A, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware.

Anyone desiring a copy of the proposed change of the
Rules and Regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware
Board of Nursing, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon
Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE  19904, (302) 739-4522, ext.
215 or 216.  Persons desiring to submit written comments on
the revised rules and regulations may forward these
comments to the above address.  The final date to receive
written comments will be February 14, 2001.

6.0  Requirements and Procedures for Licensure
6.1  Examinations

6.1.1  The Board declares that the National Council
Licensure Examination-RN (NCLEX-RN) and the National
Council Licensure Examination-PN (NCLEX-PN) are the
required examinations for licensure in Delaware. The
Division of Professional Regulation has the authority to
review and approve the content and validity of examinations.

6.1.2  Up to July 1982, the passing score for
professional nurse candidates was a standard score of 350 on
each test of the State Board Test Pool Examination. 

6.1.3  Effective July 1, 1982, the passing score for
Registered Nurse candidates was 1600 on the NCLEX-RN
and 350 on NCLEX-PN.

6.1.4  Effective July 1, 1988, results are reported
and recorded as pass or fail.

6.1.5  The candidate shall take the licensing
examination within 90 calendar days following graduation
from a Board approved program of professional or practical
nursing and not there after without petitioning the Board for
specific authorization to test after the 90 day period.  Such
petitions may be granted by the Board upon a showing of

good cause.
See 3 DE Reg. 1373 (4/1/00)

6.1.6  To be eligible to take the examination for
licensure for practical nursing, the applicant must be a
graduate of a Board approved program for practical nursing.
A graduate of a program for professional nursing will be
denied permission to take the examination for licensure as a
practical nurse.

6.1.7  The candidate shall file two applications for
each examination.

6.1.7.1  The NCLEX application shall be filed
with a non-refundable fee.

6.1.7.2  The candidate shall file a completed
and notarized Delaware application for licensure by
examination, along with the required fee.

6.1.7.3  In addition, the candidate shall file a
signed official school transcript indicating the date of
graduation or date degree was conferred. If this is not
possible, a certifying letter from the director indicating the
candidate had completed the program will be accepted until
an official transcript is available.

6.1.7.4  The candidate shall present the
admission card issued by the Board in order to be admitted to
any portion of the examination.

6.1.8  A candidate who has been accepted but is
unable to attend the scheduled examination must notify the
Board prior to the starting time or during the first day of
examination with a specific reason for not attending. If the
reason is acceptable to the Board, (e.g. candidate is ill, death
in immediate family, accident, etc.) the Delaware application
for licensure by examination will be extended to the next
examination date.

6.2  Temporary Permits Prior to Examination
6.2.1  Prior to the employment starting date the

candidate shall submit a notarized application for a
temporary permit on a form provided by the Board.

6.2.2  The temporary permit is a limited license
authorizing professional or practical nursing practice only at
the institution employing the graduate, and only under
supervision and pending the results of the examination.

6.2.3  Any graduate who has completed the
requirements of a state board of nursing approved program
of professional or practical nursing and who has filed for
licensure by examination in Delaware may be employed in
professional or practical nursing, working under the direct
supervision of a Registered Nurse pending results of the
licensing examination.

6.2.4 Direct supervision means supervision by a
Registered Nurse on the same assigned unit during the same
time period. The term  “unit” is defined as one staffed unit of
a maximum of forty patients.

6.2.5  In order to practice nursing in Delaware with
a temporary permit, a recent graduate of a state board of
nursing approved program of nursing in another state must
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file an application for licensure before beginning to practice.
If the graduate has taken, or is scheduled to take, the NCLEX
Examination in the state in which the program is located, the
applicant shall file an application for licensure by
endorsement in Delaware.

6.2.5.1  Candidates must submit written
documentation that they are candidates for the NCLEX in
the state in which the examination is being written.

6.2.6  The Board of Nursing will verify
employment with the employer and verified documentation
will be noted on the application.

6.2.7  Only a candidate approved to take an
examination scheduled after graduation from an approved
State Board of Nursing program in the United States or its
territories may be issued a temporary permit to practice
nursing, good until the release of the examination results.

6.2.8  The temporary permit shall terminate
forthwith if a candidate fails to take the examination in the
time prescribed. The Board will notify the candidate’s
employer of the termination of the permit.  The candidate
shall return the permit to the Board.

6.2.9  If extenuating circumstances exist, the
candidate may apply to the Board for reissuance of a
temporary permit. If the reason is acceptable, the permit may
be reissued. (Refer to Section 6.7, Temporary Permits)

6.3  Test Results
6.3.1  In the case of a successful candidate, the

results are released in the following order: the candidate, the
director of the school of nursing and the news media. In the
case of the unsuccessful candidate the results are released in
the following order: the candidate, the employer, and the
director of the school program.

6.3.2  A successful candidate will receive the test
results and a copy of the Law regulating the practice of
nursing in Delaware, (24 Del.C. Ch. 19), and a certificate of
registration with a permanent license number.

6.3.3  A letter to unsuccessful candidates will
accompany the test results to advise them of their status and
the procedure to be followed for re-examination.

6.3.4  Candidates for licensure who fail the
National Council Licensure Examination may not be
employed in nursing, are not permitted to practice nursing as
defined in the Law, and must return the temporary permit
upon receipt of the failure notification.

See 3 DE Reg. 1373 (4/1/00)
6.3.5  The candidate’s employer shall be notified

that the temporary permit is not valid, and the candidate may
not be employed in nursing until the NCLEX has been
passed.

See 3 DE Reg. 1373 (4/1/00)
6.3.6  The applicant shall retake the examination

within a one-year period following notification of failure in
order to be eligible for re-examination and not there after
without petitioning the Board for specific authorization to

retest after the one-year period.  Such petitions may be
granted by the Board upon a showing of good cause to allow
for further examination. There is a fee for each re-
examination. Any candidate who graduated following the
date of February 1982 may retake NCLEX for an unlimited
number of times within a five year period from the date of
graduation from an approved nursing education program.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, any candidate who graduates
from an approved nursing education program after April 30,
2000 may retake NCLEX an unlimited number of times
within a two year period from graduation and not there after
without petitioning the Board for specific authorization to
retest after the two year period.  Such petitions may be
granted by the Board upon a showing of good cause to allow
further examination.

See 3 DE Reg. 1373 (4/1/00)
6.4  Requirements for Applicants Graduating from

Foreign Programs
6.4.1  Applicants graduating from programs outside

of the United States and not licensed by the State Board Test
Pool Examination or NCLEX in another state:

6.4.1.1  Must have been issued a certificate of
licensure by the licensing agency in the state, territory, or
country where the nursing program is located;

6.4.1.2  Must submit a certificate issued by the
Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools as
evidence of the educational requirements of a curriculum for
the preparation of professional nurses which is equivalent to
the approved professional schools in Delaware;

6.4.1.3  Must submit official English
translations of all required credentials; 

6.4.1.4  Must, in instances when completion of
a four-year high school course study or its equivalent cannot
be verified, take the high school equivalence examination
given by a State Department of Education;

6.4.1.5  Must submit evidence that the program
from which applicant is a graduate meets the approved
standards adopted by the Board (24 Del.C. §§1910, 1914)
and Rules and Regulations: 2.5. (If the program does not
include the areas specified in the above curricula, the
deficiencies must be made up before the applicant is eligible
to take NCLEX);

6.4.1.6 Are allowed one year from the date of
Board review of the completed application to make up all
deficiencies, including the taking of the initial examination;

6.4.1.7  Effective July 1, 1982, professional
nurse applicants must have passed the NCLEX examination
(with a minimum standard score of 1600) and practical nurse
applicants must have passed the NCLEX examination (with
a minimum standard score of 350) within four examination
opportunities, within a period of two years or original
notification of failure.

6.4.1.8  Effective July 1, 1988, results are
reported and recorded as pass or fail.
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6.4.1.9  May be issued a temporary permit and
may be employed in professional or practical nursing if the
applicant has met all of the Board’s prerequisites for taking
the NCLEX in Delaware and is scheduled to do so;

6.4.1.10  May work only at the institution
employing the applicant, under the direct supervision of a
registered nurse pending results of the first licensing
examination.

6.4.1.11  Must meet all other requirements for
licensure.

6.4.2  All applications will be reviewed by the
Board to determine if the applicant is eligible to take the
NCLEX Examination or to determine if applicant’s
educational qualifications are as Board prescribed and may
be eligible for licensure by examination.

6.4.3  Canadian applicants writing the Canadian
Nurses’ Association Testing Service (CNATS) Examination
from 1970 - 1979 are eligible for licensure by endorsement.

6.4.4  Canadian applicants writing the Canadian
Nurses’ Association Testing Service (CNATS) Examination,
first administered August 1980, are eligible for licensure by
endorsement with a passing score of 400. (September 15,
1981)

6.4.5  Canadian applicants  writing the Canadian
Nurses’ Association Testing Service (CNATS) Examination
after that examination became graded on a pass or fail basis
are not eligible for licensure by endorsement and must pass
the NCLEX.  (June 8, 1996)

6.5  Licensure by Endorsement
6.5.1  All endorsement applicants shall:

6.5.1.1  Submit a completed, signed, and
notarized application on a form provided by the Board.

6.5.1.2  Remit the required non-refundable fee.
6.5.1.3  Attach to the application a photocopy

of a current license indicating date   of expiration.
6.5.1.4  Provide official verification of original

licensure in another  jurisdiction on a form acceptable to the
Board.

6.5.1.5  An applicant for endorsement must
have completed high school or must have passed a nationally
standardized test, and be otherwise qualified for licensure.

6.5.1.5.1  The Board shall request a
reference on a form supplied by the Board from:

6.5.1.5.1.1  the applicant’s immediate
past employer(s) in the past six months.  Such reference(s)
should be given by the nursing employer, or if the immediate
past employer is not a nursing professional, by the
applicant’s immediate supervisor (e.g. physician, director,
manager).  In the case of someone engaged in solo practice
or who is self-employed, the reference shall be provided by
at least one professional colleague with whom the individual
has most recently worked for at least six months in the past
five years.

6.5.1.5.1.2  in the event of no previous

nursing employer, the Director of the applicant’s approved
nursing education program. Any unsatisfactory reference
shall be brought to the attention of the Board for review.

6.5.1.5.2  If the applicant has not been
employed in nursing a minimum of 1000 hours in the past
five years or a minimum of 400 hours of nursing practice
within the previous two years, the applicant must give
evidence of satisfactory completion of an approved refresher
program within a two-year period before licensure by
endorsement will be granted. In the event no refresher course
is available the Board may consider alternate methods of
evaluating current knowledge in professional/practical
nursing.

6.5.1.5.3  All completed applications for
endorsement will be submitted to the Board for
consideration of approval.

6.5.1.5.4  Issuance of a license shall be
considered as notice of approval of the application.

6.5.1.5.5  All applications will be purged
in accordance with Division policy.

6.5.2  Registered Nurses
6.5.2.1  The Board may issue a license to

practice professional nursing as a Registered Nurse by
endorsement, without a written examination, to an applicant
who has been duly licensed as a Registered Nurse under the
laws of another state, territory,  or foreign country if, in the
opinion of the Board, the applicant meets the qualifications
for licensure in this state.

6.5.2.2  As of 1950 and thereafter, the State
Board Test Pool Examination for professional nursing is the
licensing examination authorized for use by all boards of
nursing in jurisdictions in the United States. (In July 1982,
the examination was re-titled National Council Licensure
Examination-RN (NCLEX-RN). Prior to this date,
examinations constructed by state boards of nursing are
acceptable, providing such examinations include all of the
required clinical areas: medicine, surgery, obstetrics-
gynecology, pediatrics, psychiatry). Until 1953, the passing
score required for each of the tests was 70%.

6.5.2.3  Those applicants graduating as of 1953
and thereafter are required to show evidence of clinical
experience in medical nursing, surgical nursing, psychiatric
nursing, nursing of children, and obstetrical nursing.

6.5.2.4  An applicant for licensure by
endorsement must be a graduate of a State Board of Nursing
approved school of nursing, and be otherwise qualified for
licensure. 

6.5.3  Licensed Practical Nurses
6.5.3.1  Effective October 1, 1963, waiver or

equivalency licensure is not acceptable in Delaware. The
Board may issue a license to practice nursing as a Licensed
Practical Nurse, without a written examination, to an
applicant who has been licensed as a Practical Nurse or a
person entitled to perform similar services under a different
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title under the laws of any state, territory or foreign country
if, in the opinion of the Board, the applicant has the
qualifications required for the licensing of practical nurses.

6.5.3.2  Candidates for licensure are required to
have theory and clinical experience in medical nursing,
surgical nursing, psychiatric nursing, obstetrical nursing, and
nursing of children.

6.5.3.3  The applicant must be a graduate of a
Board approved program for practical nursing.

6.5.3.4  A licensed practical nurse applicant for
licensure by endorsement must have passed the NCLEX-PN.

6.5.3.5  An applicant for endorsement must be
otherwise qualified for endorsement.

6.6  Licensure: Biennial Renewal and Reinstatement
6.6.1  Biennial Renewal of Licensure

6.6.1.1  In order to practice nursing in
Delaware with or without financial compensation,
Registered Nurses or Licensed Practical Nurses who are duly
licensed under any provision of 24 Del.C. Ch. 19 shall renew
their licenses biennially, prior to December 31 of the
biennium. In the event that applicant for renewal or
reinstatement of licensure has not been actively employed in
professional or practical nursing in the past five years, the
applicant will be required to give evidence of satisfactory
completion of a professional or practical nursing refresher
program within an approved agency within a two-year
period to renewal before licensure will be granted, In the
event no refresher course is available the Board may
consider alternate methods of evaluating current knowledge
in professional or practical nursing.

6.6.1.1.1  Registered Nurses - the license
shall be valid for two calendar years expiring each odd-
numbered year on dates established by the Department of
Administrative Services.

6.6.1.1.2  Licensed Practical Nurses - the
license shall be valid for two calendar years expiring each
even-numbered year on the dates established by the
Department of Administrative Services.

6.6.1.2  The applicant shall indicate nursing
employment within the past five years before the renewal
application will be processed.  A minimum of 1000 hours of
nursing practice within the past five years or a minimum of
four hundred hours of nursing practice within the past two
years is required for licensure by renewal or reinstatement.
Verification of completion of the practice hours will occur
for a minimum of 1% of the total number of licensees with
notice of the audit two months prior to the renewal in a
biennium.  An additional 2% will be audited within six
months of renewal of licensure. See 9.0, for Mandatory
Continuing Education requirements.

6.6.1.2.1  Upon receipt of such notice, the
licensee must submit verification of compliance for the
period being audited/verified.  Verification will be done on a
form supplied by the Board office that includes employer’s

name, title, address, telephone number, job title, and dates of
employment.

6.6.1.2.2  The employer will submit the
completed form directly to the Board office.

6.6.1.2.3  The Board shall notify the
licensee of the results of the audit immediately following the
Board meeting at which the audits are reviewed.

6.6.1.2.4  An unsatisfactory verification or
audit shall result in Board action.

6.6.1.2.5  Failure to notify the Board of a
change in mailing address will not absolve the licensee from
audit requirements.

6.6.1.3  An application for renewal of license
will be mailed at least 12 weeks prior to the expiration date
of current licensure.

6.6.1.4  Failure to receive the application for
renewal shall not relieve the licensee of the responsibility for
renewing their license by the expiration date.

6.6.1.5  Renewal application, along with the
required fee, shall be returned to the Board office and
postmarked no later than the last day of the month before the
month of expiration.

6.6.1.6  Licenses that have lapsed may be
reinstated by the Board upon satisfactory explanation by the
licensee of failure to renew and after payment of a penalty
fee.

6.6.1.7  During the month of expiration, the
Board may issue a renewal certificate upon receipt of a
renewal application, the documentation of nursing
employment, the renewal fee and late fee.

6.6.2  Reinstatement of Licensure
6.6.2.1  Registered Nurses or Licensed

Practical Nurses who fail to renew their licenses by February
28, May 31, and September 30, of the renewal period shall
be considered to have lapsed licenses and shall not practice
nursing in the state of Delaware. After February 28, May 31,
and September 30 of the current licensing period, any
requests for reinstatement of a lapsed licensed shall be
presented to the Board for action. All applicants shall have a
minimum of 1000 hours of nursing practice within the
previous five years or a minimum of four hundred hours of
nursing practice within the past two years before licensure
by reinstatement will be granted. The practice of nursing can
be with or without financial compensation. In the event the
applicant has not been actively employed in nursing as
described above, the applicant will be required to give
evidence of satisfactory completion of a refresher program
with an approved agency within two years prior to
reinstatement. In the event no refresher course is available,
the Board may consider alternate methods of evaluating
current knowledge in professional or practical nursing.

6.6.2.2  The applicant shall file a notarized
application for reinstatement of licensure. The application
shall be accompanied by a satisfactory reference from a
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current or previous employer, renewal fee and penalty fee.
6.6.3  It is unprofessional conduct and a violation of

Delaware Law to practice without a license. The Board may
refuse a license or refuse to renew a license of a professional
nurse or a practical nurse who practices without a current
license.

6.6.4  Reinstatement Hearings
6.6.4.1  Hearings for consideration of

reinstatement licensure may be held for those applicants who
file for reinstatements more than 90 days after the renewal
period and who have been practicing nursing without a
current license, or who have submitted an unsatisfactory
explanation for failure to renew.

6.6.4.2  A notice of hearing shall be sent to the
Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse. The hearing
shall be conducted in accordance with the Administrative
Procedures Act and the Nurse Practice Act.

6.6.4.3  The Board shall make determination
for reinstatement of licensure or shall determine that the
Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse shall be
subject to the penalties provided for violations of the Nurse
Practice Act.

6.6.4.4  Upon determination that licensure shall
be reinstated, the Board shall issue a license to practice
nursing.

6.7  Temporary Permits
6.7.1  The temporary permit is a limited license

authorizing professional, practical or graduate nursing
practice only at the employing institution for no longer than
an initial 90 day period.

6.7.2  Nurses who produce current evidence of
licensure to practice nursing in another state and who have
applied for endorsement may be issued a temporary permit
to practice nursing for a maximum of 90 days, if they have
been employed in nursing a minimum of 1000 hours in the
past five years or a minimum of four hundred hours of
nursing practice within the past two years.

6.7.3  A temporary permit to practice nursing for a
maximum of 90 days may be issued to persons who have
requested reinstatement of their licensure, if they have been
employed in nursing a minimum of 1000 hours in the past
five years or a minimum of four hundred hours of nursing
practice in the past two years.

6.7.4  All applicants seeking temporary permits to
practice professional, practical or graduate nursing in
Delaware must:

6.7.4.1  Prior to employment starting date,
submit a notarized application for endorsement or
examination, completing the portion for a temporary permit,
and indicating employer.

6.7.4.2  Have been employed in nursing a
minimum of 1000 hours in the past five years or a minimum
of four hundred hours in the past two years, if applying for
reinstatement or endorsement, with current evidence of

licensure from another state.
6.7.4.3  Have been accepted as a nurse

employee in Delaware. The Board of Nursing will verify
employment with the employer and verified documentation
will be noted on the application.

6.7.4.4  Have graduated from a State Board of
Nursing approved program.

6.7.4.5  Pay a licensure fee which is not
refundable.

6.7.5  Upon completion of all requirements, a
temporary permit will be issued for no longer than 90 days
with subsequent renewal periods of 60 and 30 days
sequentially.

6.7.6  The Executive Director shall:
6.7.6.1  Keep a register of permits.
6.7.6.2  Refrain from issuing a temporary

permit in any doubtful situation until further evidence is
obtained or until the Board has given approval.

6.7.7  In the absence of the Executive Director, the
President may issue a temporary permit with the same
restrictions.

6.8  Inactive Status
6.8.1  A person previously licensed by the Board

and not engaged in the practice of nursing in the state of
Delaware, but desiring to maintain the right to use the title
Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse, may apply
and be granted inactive status by the Board in accordance
with these regulations.

6.8.2  A nurse desiring inactive status shall send a
written notice to the Board with fee. Upon receipt of notice
and fee the Board shall place the name of the person on an
inactive status list and shall issue a certificate. The person
shall not practice nursing in this state.

6.8.3  A licensee on inactive status shall use the
appropriate title, Registered or Licensed Practical Nurse,
followed by (INACTIVE).

6.8.4  A licensee will receive a certificate of
inactive status with the term Inactive Registered Nurse or
Inactive Licensed Practical Nurse printed across the top.

6.8.5  A notice of inactive status shall be sent to all
persons on the inactive list at renewal time. To receive a
certificate of inactive status, the licensee shall return the
renewal notice with the fee.

6.8.6  All applications from persons on inactive
status who decide to resume active status will be presented to
the Board for review for reinstatement.

6.8.7  In the event the applicant has not been
actively practicing nursing within the previous five years,
the applicant will be required to give evidence of satisfactory
completion of a refresher program with an approved agency
within two years prior to reactivation, or participate in an
alternate Board approved method of evaluating current
knowledge in professional or practical nursing. All
applicants shall have a minimum of 1000 hours of nursing
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within the previous five years or a minimum of four hundred
hours of nursing practice within the previous two years. See
9.0 for Mandatory Continuing Education requirements.

6.9  Loss of License, Change of Name/address
6.9.1  If a license is lost, stolen or destroyed, the

licensee shall submit a letter to the Board explaining the loss.
A letter indicating the original number and expiration dates
shall be issued by the Executive Director in lieu of a
duplicate license.

6.9.2  Licensees who legally change their names
and wish to change the name on the license, shall provide
notarized copies of evidence, such as marriage licenses or
court actions. The maiden name will be retained on the
license.

6.9.3  Notice of change of address shall be
submitted in writing within 30 days of the change. All
notices from the Board will be sent to the last address
provided by the licensee or applicant to the Board.

6.9.4  A list of license numbers of lost, stolen or
otherwise destroyed licenses shall be kept on file in the
Board office.

6.10  Register of Nurses Licensed in Delaware
6.10.1  Licensure Verification

6.10.1.1  Following the official renewal period,
the Executive Director shall request each employer or
employing agency to submit to the Board by April 15 a list
of all nurses employed with a nursing license from another
compact state. The list shall include the following
information:

See 3 DE Reg. 1373 (4/1/00)
6.10.1.1.1  Name of employee,

alphabetized by last name;
6.10.1.1.2  Classification (Registered

Nurse, Licensed Practical Nurse, Advanced Practice Nurse
or nurse holding temporary permit);

6.10.1.1.3  License number; and
6.10.1.1.4  Expiration date of current

license or temporary permit.
6.10.1.2  Individuals submitting the list attest

by their signatures that they viewed each current registration
of licensure and advanced practice recognition.

6.10.1.3  The list will be checked by the
Executive Director. If it is not possible to verify current
licensure, the Executive Director will immediately notify the
employer by letter.

6.10.1.4  The Executive Director shall prepare
a summary of the survey to be presented to the Board.

6.10.2  Release of Information
6.10.2.1  The Executive Director may release

to a citizen of Delaware the following information:
6.10.2.1.1  Whether or not the individual

was or is currently licensed,
6.10.2.1.2  Date of original licensure,
6.10.2.1.3  Under what condition license

was issued (examination, endorsement, or waiver),
6.10.2.1.4  Whether license was ever

suspended or revoked following a hearing.
6.10.2.2  Additional information may be

released pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

COUNCIL ON REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

24 DE Admin. Code 2930
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,

Section 2934 (24 Del.C. 2934(a))

The Delaware Council on Real Estate Appraisers has
proposed to revise provisions of its rules and regulations.
The proposals are intended to eliminate the two year
limitation on obtaining experience to qualify for licensure,
clarify the responsibilities of licensees who collaborate with
other licensees and licensees who supervise licensed
trainees, and incorporate provisions of the Administrative
Procedures Act and the Freedom of Information Act.  The
regulations provide for a supplement to be made available
that explains the requirements for licensure determined by
the Appraiser Qualifications Board that are incorporated
under Delaware Law.  The Inactive Status is eliminated.

A public hearing will be held on February 20,2001 at
10:00 in Conference Room A on the second floor of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware 19904 where members of the public can offer
comments.  Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the
Proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from Dana
Spruill, Administrative Assistant, Division of Professional
Regulation, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite
203, Dover, DE 19904. Individuals may submit written
comments at the above address.  The final date for receipt of
written comments will be at the public hearing.

The Council will consider promulgating the proposed
rules and regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting
following the conclusion of the public hearing.

Council on Real Estate Appraisers

1.0    Application for Appraiser License or Certificate
2.0    Appraiser Licensing and Certification
3.0    Examination
4.0    General Appraisal Practice
5.0    Temporary Practice & Reciprocity
6.0    Qualifying Mass Appraisal Experience
7.0    Standards of Appraisal Practice
8.0    Complaints; Hearing Procedures; Final Decisions
9.0    Public Disclosure
10.0  Change and Modification to Rules and Regulations
11.0  Severability
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12.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically Dependent
 or Impaired Professionals

1.0  Application for Appraiser License or Certificate
1.1  Application

1.1.1  A person who wishes to file an application
for a real property appraiser license or certificate may obtain
the required form upon request to the Council.  In general,
the form calls for information such as the applicant’s name
and address, the applicant’s social security number, places of
residence and employment, experience, education, and other
information as may be necessary to identify the applicant
and review the applicant’s qualifications for licensure or
certification.

1.2  Filing and Fees
1.2.1  Properly completed applications together

with the appropriate fee(s) must be received in the Council’s
office prior to scheduling the examination.

1.2.2  A fee set by the Division of Professional
Regulation will be charged for the following:

1.2.2.1  Initial application and licensure for
appraiser trainee license

1.2.2.2  Initial application and licensure for
licensed real property appraiser license

1.2.2.3  Initial application and certification for
certified  residential real property appraiser certificate

1.2.2.4  Initial application and certification for
certified general real property appraiser certificate

1.2.2.5  Renewal fee
1.2.2.6  Duplicate license and certificate fee
1.2.2.7  Inactive status fee
1.2.2.87  Roster fee
1.2.2.9  Printing fee
1.2.2.108  Federal Appraiser Registry fee
1.2.2.119  Letter of Good Standing
12.2.1210  Copies of the Uniform Standards of

Professional Appraisal Practice
1.2.3  Fees shall be made payable to the “State of

Delaware,” and mailed to the Delaware Council on Real
Estate Appraisers, Cannon Building, Suite 203, 861 Silver
Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware  19904.  For further
information, please contact the Administrative Assistant to
the Council at (302) 739-4522.

2.0  Appraiser Licensing and Certification
2.1  Qualifications for Appraiser Licensure and

Certification
2.1.1  Applicants for certification as a state certified

general or residential real property appraiser and for licensed
real property appraiser must shall satisfy the qualification
requirements stated in 24 Del.C.  §2934, which adopts by
reference “Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform,
Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989, Public Law 101-
73, and any subsequent amendments thereto or any

regulations promulgated thereunder” and “qualification
criteria established by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of
the Appraisal Foundation and any subsequent amendments
thereto.”  A summary of the criteria set by the Appraiser
Qualification Board (AQB) is available from the Division of
Professional Regulation and designated “Informational
Supplement to the Regulations.”  The Supplement is
regularly updated by the Council but the most current
information is available directly from the AQB whose
address and website are provided on the Supplement.

2.1.2  Applicants for licensure as a State licensed
real property appraiser shall satisfy the qualification criteria
established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board of the
Appraisal Foundation and any subsequent amendments
thereto.  A summary of the criteria set by the Appraiser
Qualification Board (AQB) is available from the Division of
Professional Regulation and designated “Informational
Supplement to the Regulations.”  The Supplement is
regularly updated by the Council but the most current
information is available directly from the AQB whose
address and website are provided on the Supplement.

2.1.2 2.1.3  Applicants for licensure as a state
licensed appraiser trainee shall have successfully completed
a minimum of 45 classroom hours of education on real estate
matters satisfactory to the Council, of which fifteen (15)
classroom hours shall be on the topic of the Code of
Professional Ethics and Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice. satisfy the qualification criteria
established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board of the
Appraisal Foundation and any subsequent amendments
thereto.  A summary of the criteria set by the Appraiser
Qualification Board (AQB) is available from the Division of
Professional Regulation and designated “Informational
Supplement to the Regulations.”  The Supplement is
regularly updated by the Council but the most current
information is available directly from the AQB whose
address and website are provided on the Supplement.

2.2  License and Certificate Renewal
2.2.1 In September of each odd numbered year, the

Division of Professional Regulation will send renewal
notices to the mailing address on file of all licensed and
certified appraisers.  Certificates and licenses will expire on
October 31st of each odd numbered year.

2.2.2  As a condition of renewal, all licensees and
certificate holders, either active or inactive, resident or
reciprocal, shall be required to satisfy the continuing
education requirements set forth in rule 2.3 of this Section.

2.2.3  Any person who acts or professes to be a state
licensed or state certified real property appraiser while their
appraiser license or certificate has expired will be subject to
disciplinary action and penalties as described in 24 Del.C.
Ch. 29.

2.3  Continuing Education
2.3.1  As a prerequisite to renewal of a real property
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appraiser license or certificate, the licensee or certificate
holder shall present evidence satisfactory to the Council of
having completed during the immediately preceding two (2)
years, the number of classroom hours of instruction,
approved by the Council as set by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board (AQB) as from time-to-time amended,
as provided by 24 Del.C. §2934(c).

2.3.2  As a prerequisite to renewal of a license,
certificate and trainee license, a seminar dealing with
updating of Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal
Practice (USPAP) or a seminar dealing with USPAP shall be
required in each license period.  A minimum of four (4)
hours will be required.  The seminars must be approved by
the Council.

2.4  Inactive Status
2.4.1  A licensee or certificate holder may request

to be placed on inactive status for a period not to exceed two
(2) years.  Such request shall be directed to the Council and
shall be in writing.  Upon written request to the Council, a
licensee or certificate holder shall be placed on inactive
status for a period not to exceed two (2) years.  The Council
may grant extensions if the licensee or certificate holder
shows due cause.

2.4.2  A licensee or certificate holder on inactive
status shall not be entitled to act as a state licensed or state
certified real property appraiser.  However, in order to
continue to hold an appraiser license or certificate, a licensee
or certificate holder on inactive status must renew his/her
license or certificate, including payment of the prescribed
renewal fee and completion of all continuing education.

2.4.3  A licensee or certificate holder on inactive
status may request to be returned to active status at any time.
Such request shall be directed to the Council and shall be in
writing. Upon written request to the Council and payment of
all necessary fees, a licensee or certificate holder on inactive
status shall be returned to active status.

2.5  Expired License or Certificate
2.5.1  Expired real property appraiser licenses and

certificates may be reinstated within twelve (12) months
after expiration upon proper application and payment of the
renewal fee plus a late filing fee as set by the Division of
Professional Regulation.

2.5.2  Licenses and certificates expired for more
than twelve (12) months may be considered for
reinstatement upon proper application, payment of the
renewal fee plus late filing fee, provision of proof of having
obtained continuing education equal to the total number of
classroom hours that would have been required had the
license or certificate been continuously renewed, and
successful completion of the examination as required in
Section 3 herein.  Further, the reinstatement application must
meet the current requirements of the AQB for education and
experience.

2.6  Payment of License and Certificate Fees

Checks in payment of real property appraiser
license and certificate fees which are returned unpaid shall
be considered cause for license or certificate denial,
suspension, or revocation.

2.7 2.4  Duplicate License or Certificate Fee
2.4.1  By submitting a written request to the

Council and paying the appropriate fee as set by the Division
of Professional Regulation, a licensee or certificate holder
may obtain a duplicate real property appraiser license,
certificate or pocket card to replace an original license,
certificate or pocket card which has been lost, damaged,
destroyed, or if the name of the licensee or certificate holder
has been lawfully changed.  An official copy (notarized) of a
marriage license, divorce decree or court order of a name
change must accompany a request for a change of name.

2.8 2.5  Federal Appraiser Registry
Licensees and certificate holders are required to be

enrolled in the federal roster or registry of state licensed and
state certified real property appraisers.  The fee established
for that purpose shall be paid annually biennially by the
license or certificate holder to the State of Delaware.

3.0  Examination
3.1  Examination

3.1.1  The Council shall review each application to
determine whether the applicant is qualified to sit for the
examination.  Such review shall consider the applicant’s
education and whether the applicant has been convicted of a
felony, substance abuse or fraud within the last five years
preceding the date of application.  If the applicant meets the
education requirement for the license or certificate applied
for and has not been convicted of a felony, substance abuse
or fraud within the last five years preceding the date of
application, the applicant shall be entitled to take the
appropriate examination.

3.1.2  Applicants for licensure as a state licensed
real property appraiser and for certification as a state
certified residential or general real property appraiser shall
successfully complete the examination as endorsed by the
AQB and approved by the Council on Real Estate
Appraisers.  The prerequisites to sit for the applicable
examination are completion of the education/classroom hour
requirement and not having been convicted of a felony,
substance abuse or fraud within the five years preceding the
date of the application.

3.1.3  For the examination to be considered valid,
the experience requirement must be satisfied within two (2)
years of the date of successful completion of the
examination.  Should the experience requirement not be met
within the two (2) year period, the examination will be
considered invalid and it will be necessary to re-apply and
pay the required fee as if no examination had been taken.

3.1.4 3.1.3  The passing scores on the examinations
shall be the scores recommended as passing by Assessment
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Systems, Inc., the successor agency or company then
contracted by the Division of Professional Regulation for
administering the examination as endorsed by the Council on
Real Estate Appraisers.

4.0 General Appraisal Practice Duties and Responsibilities
of State Licensed Appraiser Trainees; Supervision of State
Licensed Appraiser Trainees; Trainee License Renewals

4.1  Appraisal Office Administration Administrative
Responsibilities

4.1.1   A certified or licensed appraiser shall be
designated as the supervisory appraiser by each appraisal
firm, each combined real estate brokerage and appraisal
firm, and each branch office of such firms for which real
estate appraisals are performed by:

4.1.1.1  Two (2) or more state licensed or state
certified real property appraisers who are employed by or
associated with the firm; or

4.1.1.2  Licensed appraiser trainees who are
employed by or associated with the firm and who assist a
state licensed or state certified real property appraiser in the
performance of real estate appraisals.

4.1.2  The certified or licensed appraiser so
designated shall be responsible for:

4.1.2.1  The proper display of licenses and
certificates of all state licensed and state certified real
property appraisers employed by or associated with that
office of the firm, and ascertaining whether each licensee or
certificate holder employed by or associated with the firm
has complied with Rule 2.2 of these Rules and Regulations;

4.1.2.2  The proper notification to the Council
of any change of business address or trade name of that
office of the firm and the registration of any assumed
business name adopted by the firm for its use;

4.1.2.3  The proper conduct of advertising of
appraisal services by or in the name of the firm;

4.1.2.4  The property retention and
maintenance of records relating to appraisals conducted by
or on behalf of the firm;

4.1.2.5  The maintenance of a record for each
of the firm’s state licensed appraiser trainees that generally
describes the nature and extent of assistance rendered in
connection with each appraisal; and

4.1.2.6  The maintenance of a record for each
of the firm’s state licensed and state certified residential real
property appraisers that generally describes the nature and
extent of assistance rendered by the state licensed real
property appraiser when assisting a state certified residential
or general real property appraiser and any assistance
rendered by the state certified residential real property
appraiser when assisting a state certified general real
property appraiser in performing an appraisal.

4.1.3  No licensee or certificate holder shall be so
designated for more than one appraisal firm, combined real

estate brokerage and appraisal firm, or branch office of such
firms.

4.1.4  Each certified or licensed appraiser so
designated shall notify the Council in writing of any change
in his/her status of the certified or licensed appraiser so
designated within ten (10) days following the change.

4.1.5  Each certified or licensed appraiser so
designated shall be located at the office for which he/she is
responsible for direct and personal supervision thereof.

4.1.1   A State licensed real property appraiser shall
utilize the term “State licensed real property appraiser”; a
State certified residential real property appraiser shall utilize
the term “State certified residential real property appraiser”;
and a State certified general real property appraiser shall
utilize the term “State certified general real property
appraiser” when performing and signing appraisals.  The
terms “certified” or “licensed” shall not be used in
connection with appraisals or appraisers in any other form.
A State licensed appraiser trainee shall use the term “State
licensed appraiser trainee” and shall only co-sign appraisals
along with a State licensed or State certified real property
appraiser.  Approved abbreviations are as follows:

DE Cert Gen followed by the certification number,
DE Cert Res followed by the certification number,
DE Lic Appr followed by the license number,
DE Appr Trainee followed by the license number. 
4.1.2  The real property appraiser license or

certificate of a State licensed or State certified real property
appraiser shall be prominently displayed at the appraiser’s
place of  business. 

4.1.3 The biennial license or certificate renewal
pocket card issued by the Council to each State licensed or
State certified real property appraiser shall be retained by the
licensee or certificate holder as evidence of licensure or
certification.

4.1.4 When advertising or otherwise holding
himself/herself out as a real property appraiser, a State
licensed real property appraiser shall identify himself/herself
as a “State licensed real property appraiser.”  A State
certified residential real property appraiser shall identify
himself/herself as a “State certified residential real property
appraiser”.  A State certified general real property appraiser
shall identify himself/herself as a “State certified general real
property appraiser.”

4.1.5 Licensure or certification as a real property
appraiser is granted only to persons and does not extend to a
business entity. A State licensed or State certified real
property appraiser doing business as a partnership,
association, corporation, or other business entity shall not
represent in any manner to the public that the partnership,
association, corporation, or other business entity is either
licensed or certified by the State of Delaware to engage in
the business of real estate appraising.

4.1.6 All licensees and certificate holders shall
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notify the Council in writing of each change of business
address, residence address, or trade name within ten (10)
days of said change. The address shall be sufficiently
descriptive to enable the Council to correspond with and
locate the licensee or certificate holder.

4.1.7 Each written appraisal report prepared by or
under the direction of a State licensed or State certified real
property appraiser shall bear the signature of the State
licensed or State certified appraiser, the license or certificate
number of the licensee or certificate holder in whose name
the appraisal report is issued, and the appropriate title such
as “State licensed appraiser trainee” (as co-signer only),
“State licensed real property appraiser,” “State certified
residential real property appraiser,” or the designation “State
certified general real property appraiser,” or the approved
abbreviations as specified in Rule 4.1.1.  Said certified or
licensed appraiser shall be fully responsible for the content
of the report prepared under his or her direction.  Where
applicable, each appraisal report shall also indicate whether
or not the State licensed or State certified appraiser has
personally inspected the property, and shall identify any
other person who assists in the appraisal process other than
by providing clerical assistance.

4.1.8 Each State certified or State licensed appraiser
shall be responsible for the proper maintenance and retention
of the appraisal records.

4.2  Supervision of State Licensed Appraiser Trainees
Responsibilities of Supervisors of State Licensed Trainees

4.2.1  A state licensed appraiser trainee may assist
in the completion of an appraisal report, including an
opinion of value, and may co-sign an appraisal, provided that
he/she is actively and personally supervised by  a state
certified or licensed real property appraiser, provided that
the appraisal report is reviewed and signed by the state
certified or licensed real property appraiser, and provided
that the licensed or certified appraiser accepts total
responsibility for the appraisal report.

4.2.2  A state licensed or state certified real
property appraiser may employ a person(s) as a state
licensed appraiser trainee(s) to assist in the performance of
real estate appraisals, provided that the state licensed or state
certified real property appraiser:

4.2.2.1  Actively and personally supervises
Provides direct supervision of the State licensed appraiser
trainee as defined in the Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice (USPAP);  “Direct Supervision” means
to:

4.2.5.1.1 4.2.2.1.1 personally inspect
with the trainee the interior and exterior of each  property
appraised;

4.2.5.1.2 4.2.2.1.2 personally review
each appraisal report prepared by the trainee;

4.2.5.1.3 4.2.2.1.3 accept full
responsibility for the report;

4.2.5.1.4 4.2.2.1.4 assign work to the
trainee only if the trainee is competent to perform such work;
and

4.2.5.1.5 4.2.2.1.5 approve and sign
the report as being independently and impartially prepared
and in compliance with USPAP, these rules and regulations,
and applicable statutory requirements;

4.2.2.2  Reviews all appraisal reports and
supporting data used in connection with appraisals in which
the services of a state licensed appraiser trainee is utilized;

4.2.2.3  Complies with all provisions of Rule
4.8 of this Section 4.1.7 regarding appraisal reports; and if
applicable,

4.2.2.4  Prepares and furnishes to the certified
or licensed appraiser designated under  4.1, and to each state
licensed appraiser trainee whose services were utilized in
connection with the appraisal, a report on a form prescribed
by the Council describing the nature and extent of assistance
rendered by the state licensed appraiser trainee and places a
copy of such report in the supporting file for the appraisal.
Reviews and approves an trainee’s experience log
maintained pursuant to 4.3.2.2.  The supervisor shall make
available to the trainee a copy of any appraisal report that the
trainee signed that is requested for review by the Council;

 4.2.5.5 4.2.2.5 Supervises no more than three
(3) trainees whose application for exemption has not been
approved by the Council pursuant to Rule 4.2.5.1.1 4.2.3;

4.2.5.6 4.2.2.6 Signs an affidavit affirming that
he/she is a State licensed or certified Real Property
Appraiser and that he/she shall comply with all rules and
policies regarding supervisory appraisers; and 

4.2.2.7 Immediately advises the Council in
writing when the certified or licensed  appraiser is no longer
supervising the trainee.  The writing shall include the last
known address of the appraiser trainee along with a copy of
the letter from the supervisor to the trainee advising the
trainee that his/her employment has been terminated or the
letter of resignation from the trainee to the supervisor,
whichever is applicable.

4.2.3 After the trainee successfully completes
seventy-five (75) hours of education on real estate matters
satisfactory to the Council, and has obtained two hundred
fifty (250) hours of residential appraising or one thousand
(1,000) hours of non-residential appraising experience as
defined by the Appraisal Qualifications Board in its
appraisal qualifications criteria, the supervisor and the
trainee may jointly apply to the Council on a form provided
by the Council, for an exemption that would allow the
supervisor to sign the report without inspecting the property
as provided by Rule 4.2.2.1 4.2.2.1.1, provided the trainee is
competent to perform the inspection.

4.3 Responsibilities of State Licensed Appraiser
Trainees

4.2.3 4.3.1 All appraiser trainees must be licensed
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as required under 24 Del.C. Ch. 29.
4.2.4  The holder of a real property appraiser trainee

license issued pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2934(d) and Rule 2.1.2
shall have the following duties and responsibilities:

4.3.2 A State licensed trainee may assist in the
performance of real estate  appraisals provided that:

4.2.4.1 4.3.2.1 The trainee shall only work
under the direct supervision of one or more a State licensed
or State certified real property appraiser(s); an individual
who is no longer supervised shall not engage in the act of
appraising until a new license is issued showing a new
supervisor;

4.2.4.2 4.3.2.2 The trainee shall maintain an
appraisal experience log on a form provided by the Council
and certified by the supervising appraiser;

4.2.4.3 4.3.2.3 The trainee shall inspect the
property and participate in the appraisal process in order to
sign the report appraisal and to receive experience credit for
the hours spent.  The report appraisal shall be signed by the
trainee as follows:

Assisted by:
____________________________,Trainee
Name: _____________________________
License Number:  ____________________

4.2.4.4 4.3.2.4 The trainee shall ensure that the
experience log is available at all times for inspection by the
Council; and

4.2.4.5 4.3.2.5 When performing appraisal
assignments, the trainee shall carry on his/her person the
license issued by the Council.

4.2.5  A supervising appraiser must be a State
licensed or state certified real property appraiser, and shall
have the following duties and responsibilities:

4.2.5.1  The supervisor shall at all times be
responsible for and provide direct supervision of the work
performed by the trainee in accordance with the Uniform
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP).
“Direct Supervision” means to:

4.2.5.1.1  personally inspect with the
trainee the interior and exterior of each  property appraised;

4.2.5.1.2  personally review each appraisal
report prepared by the trainee;

4.2.5.1.3  accept full responsibility for the
report;

4.2.5.1.4  assign work to the trainee only if
the trainee is competent to perform such work; and

4.2.5.1.5  approve and sign the report as
being independently and impartially prepared and in
compliance with USPAP, these rules and regulations, and
applicable statutory requirements.

4.2.5.2  At least once a month, the supervisor
shall sign the experience log required to be kept by the
trainee and shall affix his/her license or certification number.

4.2.5.3  The supervisor shall make available to
the trainee a copy of any appraisal report that the trainee
signed that is requested for review by the Council.

4.2.5.4  After the trainee successfully
completes seventy-five (75) hours of education on real estate
matters satisfactory to the Council, and has obtained two
hundred fifty (250) hours of residential appraising or one
thousand (1,000) hours of non-residential appraising
experience as defined by the Appraisal Qualifications Board
in its appraisal qualifications criteria, the supervisor and the
trainee may jointly apply to the Council on a form provided
by the Council, for an exemption that would allow the
supervisor to sign the report without inspecting the property
as provided by Rule 4.2.2.1, provided the trainee is
competent to perform the inspection.

4.2.5.5  The supervisor shall not supervise
more than three (3) trainees whose application for exemption
has not been approved by the Council pursuant to Rule
4.2.5.1.1.

4.2.5.6  The supervisor must sign an affidavit
affirming that he/she is a state licensed or certified Real
Property Appraiser and that he/she shall comply with all
rules and policies regarding supervisory appraisers.

4.2.5.7  The supervisor shall comply with all
provisions of Rule 4.8 regarding appraisal reports.

4.2.6  Pursuant to Rule 2.3 a Real Property
Appraiser Trainee’s licenses may be renewed only two (2)
times.

4.2.7  When an appraiser trainee is discharged or
terminates his/her employment with a licensed or certified
real estate appraiser by such licensed or certified real estate
appraiser shall immediately notify the Council in writing of
such termination.  At the time of the written notification to
the Council, the licensed or certified appraiser shall address
a communication to the last known address of such appraiser
trainee, which communication shall advise the appraiser
trainee that his/her employment has been terminated.  A
copy of the communication to the appraiser trainee shall
accompany the notification to the Council.  No such
appraiser trainee shall perform any of the acts contemplated
by this Chapter or engage directly or indirectly in the
business of an appraiser trainee until the Council shall issue
a new license showing change of employment and business
location.

4.3  Supervision of Licensed or Certified Residential
Appraisers and Trainees

4.3.1  When a state licensed real property appraiser
assists a state certified residential or general real property
appraiser in the performance of a real estate appraisal and the
resulting appraisal report is to be signed by the state certified
real property appraiser, the state certified real property
appraiser shall:

4.3.1.1  Actively and personally supervise the
state licensed real property appraiser;
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4.3.1.2  Review the appraisal report and
supporting data used in connection with the appraisal;

4.3.1.3  Comply with all provisions of Rule 4.8
of this Section regarding appraisal reports; and if applicable, 

4.3.1.4  Prepare and furnish to the certified or
licensed appraiser designated under 4.1, and to each state
licensed real property appraiser whose services were utilized
in connection with the appraisal, a report on a form
prescribed by the Council describing the nature and extent of
assistance rendered by the state licensed real property
appraiser and place a copy of such report in the supporting
file for the appraisal.

4.3.2  When a state certified residential real
property appraiser assists a state certified general real
property appraiser in the performance of a real estate
appraisal and the resulting appraisal report is to be signed by
the state certified general real property appraiser, the state
certified general real property appraiser shall perform those
supervisory acts set forth in 4.2.1 of this Rule with regard to
the activities of the state certified residential real property
appraiser.

4.4  Use of Titles
4.4.1  Licensure or certification as a real property

appraiser is granted only to persons and does not extend to a
business entity.

4.4.2   A state licensed real property appraiser shall
utilize the term “state licensed real property appraiser”; a
state certified residential real property appraiser shall utilize
the term “state certified residential real property appraiser”;
and a state certified general real property appraiser shall
utilize the term “state certified general real property
appraiser” when performing and signing appraisals.  The
terms “certified” or “licensed” shall not be used in
connection with appraisals or appraisers in any other form.
A state licensed appraiser trainee shall use the term “state
licensed appraiser trainee” and shall only co-sign appraisals
along with a state licensed or state certified real property
appraiser.  Approved abbreviations are as follows:

DE Cert Gen followed by the certification
number,

DE Cert Res followed by the certification
number,

DE Lic Appr followed by the license number,
DE Appr Trainee followed by the license

number.
4.5  Display of Licenses and Certificates

4.5.1  The real property appraiser license or
certificate of a state licensed or state certified real property
appraiser shall be prominently displayed at the appraiser’s
place of  business. Pursuant to Rule 4.1 the license or
certificate of the supervisory appraiser and the license or
certificate of each licensee or certificate holder engaged in
real estate appraisal activities at the office of the supervisory
appraiser shall be prominently displayed at such office.

4.5.2  The biennial license or certificate renewal
pocket card issued by the Council to each state licensed or
state certified real property appraiser shall be retained by the
licensee or certificate holder as evidence of licensure or
certification.

4.6  Advertising
4.6.1  When advertising or otherwise holding

himself/herself out as a real property appraiser, a state
licensed real property appraiser shall identify himself/herself
as a “state licensed real property appraiser.”  A state certified
residential real property appraiser shall identify himself/
herself as a “state certified residential real property
appraiser”.  A state certified general real property appraiser
shall identify himself/herself as a “state certified general real
property appraiser.”

4.6.2  A state licensed or state certified real
property appraiser doing business as a partnership,
association, corporation, or other business entity shall not
represent in any manner to the public that the partnership,
association, corporation, or other business entity is either
licensed or certified by the State of Delaware to engage in
the business of real estate appraising.

4.7  Change of Name or Address
4.7.1  All licensees and certificate holders shall

notify the Council in writing of each change of business
address, residence address, or trade name within ten (10)
days of said change. The address shall be sufficiently
descriptive to enable the Council to correspond with and
locate the licensee or certificate holder.

4.8  Appraisal Reports
4.8.1  Each written appraisal report prepared by or

under the direction of a state licensed or state certified real
property appraiser shall bear the signature of the state
licensed or state certified appraiser, the license or certificate
number of the licensee or certificate holder in whose name
the appraisal report is issued, and the designation “state
licensed appraiser trainee” (as co-signer only), “state
licensed real property appraiser,” “state certified residential
real property appraiser,” or the designation “state certified
general real property appraiser,” or the approved
abbreviations as specified in Rule 4.1.  Where applicable,
each appraisal report shall also indicate whether or not the
state licensed or state certified appraiser has personally
inspected the property, and shall identify any other person
who assists in the appraisal process other than by providing
clerical assistance.

4.8.2  When a state licensed or certified real
property appraiser signs an appraisal report prepared by
another person, including a subcontractor acting under the
direction or supervision of the appraiser, such appraiser shall
be fully responsible for the content of the report.

5.0  Temporary Practice & Reciprocity
5.1  Temporary Practice
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The Council may grant temporary licensing or
certification privileges in accordance with 24 Del.C.
§2935(a).

5.2  Reciprocity
The Council may grant a reciprocal license in

accordance with 24 Del.C. §2935(b) to applicants certified
or licensed in another state whose requirements for
certification or licensure are substantially equivalent to the
State of Delaware without being registered with and duly
licensed or certified by the Council on Real Estate
Appraisers.

6.0  Guidelines for Qualifying Mass Appraisal
Experience

6.1  Qualifying Mass Appraisal Experience
6.1.1  The Delaware Council on Real Estate

Appraisers (“Council”) has developed an application for ad
valorem tax assessors to apply mass appraisal experience
toward licensure or certification.  The application is different
from the application for independent fee appraisers, and,
therefore, the Council has prepared this document as
supplemental explanation of the  mass appraisal experience
guidelines set forth in the Tax Assessor’s Application for
Real Estate Appraiser License or Certificate.  The State of
Delaware under 24 Del.C. §2932 2934(c), sets forth
specifically:

6.1.1.1  “(c) The Council on Real Estate
Appraisers is required to include in its regulations
educational experience and testing requirements for
licensure and certification of real estate appraisers that
ensure protection of the public interest.  Educational
experience and testing requirements for certified and
licensed appraisers must specifically meet the criteria
established under Title XI of the Financial Institutions
Reform Recovery Act of 1989, public Law 101-73 [12
U.S.C. & 1833 a et seq.], and any subsequent amendments
thereto or any regulations promulgated thereunder.  (67 Del
Laws, C. 381 ss1; 68 Del. Laws, c. 140, ss 5-7, 15.)”

6.1.2  Further, The Appraiser Qualifications Board
of the Appraisal Foundation has issued as additional
explanation “Interpretations/Clarifications” to accompany
the qualifying criteria for appraiser licensure and
certification, which specifically sets forth:  

6.1.2.1  “Experience credit should be awarded
to ad valorem appraisers who demonstrate that they (1) use
techniques similar to those used by appraisers to value
properties and (2) effectively use the appraisal process.

6.1.3  Components of the mass appraisal process
that should be given credit are highest and best use analysis,
model specification (developing the model), and model
calibration (developing adjustments to the model).  Other
components of the mass appraisal process, by themselves,
shall not be eligible for experience credit.

 6.1.4  Mass appraisals shall be performed in

accordance with USPAP Standard 6.” In order to evaluate
the experience qualifications of ad valorem tax assessors
with mass appraisal experience, the Council will review such
applications considering the above - mentioned criteria, and
shall review work samples for compliance with USPAP
Standard 6.  It is important to note that any individual
appraisal reports prepared in conformity with USPAP
Standards 1 and 2 are fully creditable as appraisal experience
using the hourly scheme set forth in the category for Full
Appraisals in the Real Property Tax Assessor’s Application
for Real Estate Appraiser License or Certificate.  Such
reports are often prepared by ad valorem appraisers for
defense of value work.  Ad valorem appraisers are
encouraged to apply for experience credit for full appraisals
as well as for mass appraisal experience.  An hour of
experience is defined as actual verifiable time spent
performing tasks in accordance with the Council Rules and
Regulations.  USPAP Standard 6 sets forth in detail the
required work and the reporting of that work for ad valorem
tax purposes.  Unlike the fee appraiser who prepares and
signs a report for each value estimate, the ad valorem
appraiser typically prepares analyses and reports that support
the appraisals for groups of properties.  These efforts are
focused on the specification and calibration of models
(validation schedules) for these groups of properties.

6.1.5  Mass appraisal experience hours are awarded
for completing appraisals pursuant to the USPAP Standard
6.  Currently, a minimum of 2,000 hours over a two (2) -
year period is required for all applicants for licensure or
certification.  A minimum of 1,000 a minimum of 2,500
hours is required for all applicants for certified residential,
and a minimum of 3,000 hours is required for all applicants
for certified general, of which a minimum of 1000 hours
must be obtained in non-residential valuation if applying for
the General Certification.  The State of Delaware has the
same qualification criteria as published by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation.

6.1.6  As stated in the Real Property Tax Assessor’s
Application for Real Estate Appraiser License or Certificate,
applicants seeking mass appraisal experience credit must
demonstrate their experience using one of the following
options:

6.1.6.1  Develop the mass appraisal system
(model specification and calibration that includes highest
and best use analysis) or;

6.1.6.2  Adjust an existing mass appraisal
system to local market conditions (model calibration that
includes highest and best use analysis).

6.1.7 6.1.6.2.1  Data collection for purposes of mass
appraisal, defined as the on-site collection of property
characteristics, is not by itself creditable as appraisal
experience.  However, as part of mass appraisal model
specification and/or calibration, the applicant accepts
responsibility for the accuracy of market (sales) data used to
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develop and/or calibrate the models.  Therefore, it is
important that the applicant have a working familiarity with
the range of properties in the sales sample and thus
creditable experience is allowed for sales verification work
in conjunction with the mass appraisal model specification/
calibration process.

6.1.8 6.1.6.2.2  The applicant must have a
documented data collection manual that specifies how each
property characteristic was measured.  For each property
characteristic that influences the final value for any property,
a complete specification of the variable must be available in
the mass appraisal model (schedule) documentation.  This
documentation must detail how each property characteristic
influences value and it must provide a basis in terms of
market evidence for using these characteristics.

6.1.9 6.1.6.2.3  If the applicant is using an existing
mass appraisal system, either mass appraisal vendor supplied
or a commercial cost service, documentation must exist
which supports how the valuation system was calibrated to
local market conditions.  If the cost approach is used,
documentation must exist which illustrates the extraction of
depreciation schedules from local market analysis.

6.1.10 6.1.6.2.4  If the applicant develops the mass
appraisal model (schedule) specification, evidence derived
directly from the local market must be available that
supports the use of each property characteristic.  For
property characteristics included in the model that have a
marginal influence on value (items generally included for
public relations purposes), such items should be specifically
identified and their contribution to value detailed.

6.2  Mass Appraisal Experience Log
6.2.1  Applicants seeking mass appraisal experience

credit must complete the attached Mass Appraisal
Experience Log on a form approved by the Council.  Use the
key on the Mass Appraisal Experience Log form for
creditable experience.  The information included in each
column is as follows:

6.2.1.1  Date of Activity  State the specific
dates of the activity.  If a range of dates is appropriate, be
sure that the activity occurred continuously over that period.
(Example: March 23-24, 1992)

6.2.1.2  Value Date:  Applicants applying for
ad valorem, mass appraisal experience completed in
Delaware must list the month and year of the valuation date.

6.2.1.3  Property Class:  Use the key on the
form for identifying the property type.

6.2.1.3.1  Residential (less than 5 units)
6.2.1.3.2  Multi - Family (2 - 4 units)
6.2.1.3.3  Commercial
6.2.1.3.4  Industrial 
6.2.1.3.5  Special purpose properties

6.2.1.4  City/Town:  Municipality where the
mass appraisal work was used to generate appraisals.

6.2.1.5  Type of Activity:  Use the key on the

form for identifying the property type.  The creditable types
of activity are listed as follows:

6.2.1.5.1  Highest and Best Use Analysis -
Detail analysis used to determine highest and best use of a
site both as if vacant and as developed.

6.2.1.5.2  Model Specification -
Development of the valuation schedules. Such
documentation should include the approach to value (cost,
market or income), identification of how factors (property
characteristics) were selected, the  quantification of these
factors (dollar or percentage adjustments) and how the
relationship among the factors was determined.

6.2.1.5.3   Model Calibration - Adjusting
the valuation schedules using the generally accepted
techniques, such documentation should include any
statistical analyses employed to set unit prices and
percentage adjustments.

6.2.1.6  Hours:  Only the actual working hours
on the associated activity are creditable.  Only time
specifically spent on the activity is creditable.  Working full-
time on a revaluation project does not automatically translate
into 40 hours per week of creditable appraisal experience.
The applicant must be precise in detailing the activities and
when they took place.  In evaluating the number of hours of
credit requested, any unusual number of hours claimed for a
particular activity may result in further review of the
supporting documentation.  Note That Data Collection and
Field Review Activities by  Themselves Are Not Creditable
Experience.

6.2.1.7  Position Title:  List your position at the
time of activity.

6.2.1.8  Documentation Location:  State the
physical location of the documentation which details each
activity for which experience credit is requested.  It is
advisable to secure copies of any documentation not in your
possession prior to applying for experience credit. The
Applicant Is Responsible for the Production of this
Documentation. Therefore, it is important that the applicant
claim credit only for the activities for which documentation
can be immediately produced.

6.2.1.9  Upon request the applicant may be
asked to submit sworn statements from witnesses who can
verify his/her claimed experience.

7.0  Standards of Appraisal Practice
7.1  Appraisal Standards

7.1.1  In performing the acts and services of a state
licensed or state certified real property appraiser, every
appraiser trainee, state licensed and state certified real
property appraiser shall comply with those appraisal practice
standards known as the “Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice” and any subsequent amendments
thereto, promulgated by the Appraisal Standards Board of
the Appraisal Foundation or it successor organization, which
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standards are hereby adopted by reference. 
7.1.2  Copies of the “Uniform Standards of

Professional Appraisal Practice” are available upon request
to The Appraisal Foundation, 1029 Vermont Avenue, N.W.,
Suite 900 Washington, D.C.  20005-3517 and are made
available by the Council from time-to-time.

8.0  Complaints and Hearing Procedures; Final Decisions 
8.1  Complaints

8.1.1  The Council incorporates by reference the
procedures for investigation of complaints by the Division of
Professional Regulation as set forth in 29 Del.C. §8810
8807.

8.2  Hearing Procedures
8.2.1  All hearings shall be in accordance with the

Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. §§10121-10129.
8.2.2  At least 30 days before the date fixed for the

hearing, the Council shall cause a copy of the complaint,
together with a notice of the time and place fixed for the
hearing, to be personally delivered or served upon the
accused real estate appraiser.  In cases where the accused
real estate appraiser cannot be located or where personal
service cannot be effected, substitute service shall be
effected in the same manner as with civil litigation.  The
accused real estate appraiser shall also be advised of his/her
rights, as follows:

8.2.2.1  That he/she has the right to appear
personally and to be represented by counsel;

8.2.2.2  That he/she has the right to cross-
examine any witness who may appear against him/her and
produce witnesses and evidence in his/her own defense; and

8.2.2.3  That he/she is entitled to the subpoena
power of the Council to ensure the attendance of any
witnesses he or she intends to call.  If the accused wishes to
avail himself/herself of the Council’s subpoena power, he/
she must submit to the Council, in writing and no later than
fifteen (15) days prior to the date of the hearing, the names
and addresses of the witnesses whose attendance he/she
wishes the Council to compel.

8.2.3  All hearings shall be informal and shall not
be bound by the formal rules of evidence.  All testimony
shall be taken under oath.  All testimony which the Council
determines to be relevant, reliable, and probative and not
unduly repetitious, shall be admissible.  Objections to the
admission or exclusion of evidence shall be brief and shall
state the grounds for objection.  Any offer of proof which is
made in connection with the objection to the admission of
evidence shall consist of a statement of that which the
offeror contends would be abused by such evidence.  Where
the offered evidence concerns a document, a copy of the
same shall be marked for identification.

8.2.4  All testimony shall be recorded either by a
court reporter or by means of an electronic recording device.
In the event electronic means are used, the electronic record

shall be preserved until after the time for appeal of the
Council’s decision has expired with no appeal being taken.
The Council shall maintain a permanent written record of all
hearings in the form of official minutes.

8.2.5  Hearings shall be conducted in the following
manner:

8.2.5.1  The Council shall open the hearing
with a brief statement of the purpose of the hearing.

8.2.5.2  The Council shall then receive the
evidence which is offered to support the charges which have
been proffered against the accused real estate appraiser.

8.2.5.3  The accused real estate appraiser shall
be afforded an opportunity to cross-examine any witness
who may testify against him/her.

8.2.5.4  After all of the evidence which
supports the charges has been received, the accused real
estate appraiser may present a brief statement of that which
he/she intends to establish.

8.2.5.5  The accused real estate appraiser may
then testify in his/her own behalf and present witnesses and
evidence in his/her defense.

8.2.5.6  All witnesses who appear before the
Council shall be subject to examination by the Council.

8.3  Transcripts
Transcripts of the proceedings my be obtained by

the accused real estate appraiser or any other person
interested in the hearing upon written request and payment
of the costs involved in preparing the same.

8.4  Return of Documentary Evidence
Any documentary evidence which is submitted to

the Council shall be returned to the owner thereof upon
written request for the return of such documents within 120
days of the Council’s final decision.  Otherwise, the Council
may dispose of such evidence at its discretion.

8.5  Final Decision
8.5.1  If, on the basis of the evidence presented at

the hearing, the Council finds, by a majority vote of all
members, that the complaint has merit, the Council shall take
such action permitted under Subchapter II, 24 Del.C. Ch. 29
as it deems necessary.  The Council’s decision shall be in
writing and shall include:

8.5.1.1  A brief statement of the evidence
presented,

8.5.1.2  The Council’s findings of fact,
8.5.1.3  What record evidence these findings

are based upon, and
8.5.1.4  The Council’s conclusions of law.

8.5.2  A copy of the Council’s decision shall be
mailed immediately by certified mail, return receipt
requested, to the accused real estate appraiser.  The
Council’s decision shall become effective on the 30th day
after the date it is mailed or served on the accused real estate
appraiser, unless there is a stay pending appeal by the
accused real estate appraiser ordered by the Superior Court.
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9.0  Public Disclosure
9.1  Public Notice

9.1.1  All meetings shall be convened  in
compliance with the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) in
29 Del. C. Chapter 100.

Public notice of all meetings shall be given seven
(7) days prior to all meetings.

9.1.1  The notice will be posted at the Division of
Professional Regulation Office in Dover, Delaware,
according to the Freedom of Information Act.

9.1.2  Said notice shall include the agenda, as well
as the date, time, and location of each meeting.

9.2  Meeting Minutes
Minutes shall be kept of all meetings in accordance

with the Freedom of Information Act. 
9.2.1  Said minutes shall include a record of those

present.
9.2.2  The minutes shall also include a record by

individual members, on each vote taken, as well as any
action agreed upon.

9.2.3  It shall be the responsibility of the Council’s
Administrative Assistant to prepare said minutes and keep a
copy on file with the Division of Professional Regulation.

9.3  Council Records
9.3.1  It shall be the responsibility of the Council’s

Administrative Assistant to safeguard maintain the Council’s
records and to make then accessible to the general public.

9.3.2  No citizen of the State of Delaware shall be
denied reasonable access to the public records of the
Council.  Copies of records may be obtained from the
Administrative Assistant at a cost per page as established by
the Division.

9.3.3  The Council shall not be obligated to disclose
to the general public any matter which intrudes upon an
individual’s personal or private affairs which is not a public
record in which the public has not legitimate interest.
Records will be open to the public in reference to the
Freedom of Information Act.

10.0  Change and Modification to Rules and Regulations
10.1  Changes/Modifications  The Council may, change

or modify these Rules and Regulations as dictated by the
evolution of appraisal practice after providing for the Public
Notice/Hearing as required, if any.   as provided in  29 Del.
C.§§10111-10119.

11.0  Severability
11.1  Severability If any part of these rules and

regulations is held invalid, unconstitutional or otherwise
contrary to law, then it shall be severable and the remaining
portions hereof shall remain and continue in full force and
effect.

12.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically

Dependent or Impaired Professionals
12.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the

regulatory Board Council, that chairperson shall
immediately notify the Director of Professional Regulation
or his/her designate of the report. If the Director of
Professional Regulation receives the report, he/she shall
immediately notify the chairperson of the regulatory Board
Council, or that chairperson's designate or designates.

12.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board Council
or that chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7
days of receipt of the report, contact the individual in
question and inform him/her in writing of the report, provide
the individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.  

12.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board Council chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

12.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board Council or that chairperson's designate for a treatment
plan and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program
and complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board Council.

12.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board Council chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board Council chairperson or
that chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

12.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
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regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  
12.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a treatment
program approved by the participating Board Council. Board
Council approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board Council. Treatment
and evaluation functions must be performed by separate
agencies to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  

12.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board Council or to that chairperson's designate or
designates or to the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate at such intervals as required
by the chairperson of the participating Board Council or that
chairperson's designate or designates or the Director of the
Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and
such person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

12.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program. 

12.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, Council as well as the proportional
expenses incurred by the Division of Professional
Regulation in its services on behalf of the Board Council in
addition to the administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option.  

12.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
Council’s chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/ her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.  

12.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

12.7  The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating

Board Council may consider such records in setting a
disciplinary sanction in any future matter in which the
regulated professional's chemical dependency or impairment
is an issue.  

12.8  The participating Board's Council’s chairperson,
his/her designate or designates or the Director of the
Division of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
may, in consultation with the treating professional at any
time during the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the
practice of a chemically dependent or impaired professional
if such action is deemed necessary to protect the public
health, welfare or safety.  

12.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.  

12.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board Council shall be notified and cause to
be activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

12.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this section
in good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such
reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

12.12  Any regulated professional who complies with all
of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment Option
shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise
specified in a participating Board's Council’s rules and
regulations. In such an instance, the written agreement with
the regulated professional shall include the potential for
disclosure and specify those to whom such information may
be disclosed.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS

24 DE Admin. Code 3500
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 
Section 3506(a) (24 Del.C. §3506(a))

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Sections 3506(a)(1) and (4), the
Delaware Board of Examiners of Psychologists proposes to
revise its rules and regulations.  These revisions are to clarify
the acceptable passing score on the EPPP examination for
various examination administrations, and to implement new
computer based testing procedures established by the
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards for
administration of the Examination for Professional Practice
in Psychology. 
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A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Monday, February 5, 2001 at 9:00 a.m. in
the Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware,
19904.  The Board will receive and consider input in writing
from any person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.
Any written comments should be submitted to the Board in
care of Gayle Franzolino at the above address.  The final
date to submit written comments shall be at the above
scheduled public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy
of the proposed Rules and Regulations or to make comments
at the public hearing should notify Gayle Franzolino at the
above address or by calling (302) 739-4522, extension 220.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

Board of Examiners of Psychologists

1.0 General Rules and Regulations
2.0 Official Board Office
3.0 Meetings of the Board
4.0 Officers of the Board
5.0 Procedures for Licensure
6.0 Evaluation of Credentials
7.0 Supervised Experience
8.0 Failure to Pass Examination
9.0 Psychological Assistants
10.0 Continuing Education
11.0 Professional Conduct
12.0 Complaint Procedures
13.0 License Renewal
14.0 Procedures for Licensure Applicable to Full-Time

Faculty Members in a Nationally Accredited
Doctoral Level Clinical Training Program in the
State of Delaware.

15.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

1.0  General Rules and Regulations
The Board of Examiners of Psychologists has been

established under the 24 Del.C. Ch. 35, and current
amendments to that Law.  Within the framework of the Law,
the Board has the responsibility for interpreting and
implementing the legal provisions and requirements of the
Law through the establishment of operating Rules and
Regulations.  The Board and the public may propose
changes in the Rules and Regulations in accordance with the
Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.
2.0  Official Board Office

The official office of the Board of Examiners shall be in
Dover in the Division of Professional Regulation and all
correspondence must be addressed to this office in written
form before official action can be taken.  In addition, the

Division of Professional Regulation will provide an
Administrative Assistant who will take notes at Board
meetings, keep the records for the Board, and serve as a
liaison between the Board and members of the public who
have questions for the Board.  The Division of Professional
Regulation will also set fees to defray the cost of regulation.

3.0  Meetings of the Board
The Board will hold such meetings during the year as it

may deem necessary to review licensure applications and
psychological assistant applications, evaluate continuing
education, hold disciplinary hearings, or conduct other
Board business.  Either the President, or the majority of the
Board may call a Board meeting.  The Division of
Professional Regulation, Board members, and the public
shall be notified of the meeting agenda, time and location in
accordance with the Freedom of Information Act.

4.0  Officers of the Board
The Board elects its own officers at the first meeting of

each calendar year.  The President of the Board sets the
agendas of the meetings, chairs meetings, and represents the
Board at state regulatory meetings, the American
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards, and
other organizations that may interface with the Board unless
someone else is designated to attend in place of the
President.  The Vice President or Secretary acts for the
President in the President’s absence.  The Secretary of the
Board, in conjunction with the Administrative Assistant
from the Division of Professional Regulation, is responsible
for taking care of Board correspondence.

5.0  Procedures for Licensure
5.1  Application - Initial Licensure

An applicant who is applying for licensure as a
psychologist shall submit evidence showing that he/she
meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. §3508.  The applicant
must submit the following:

5.1.1  An application for licensure, which shall
include:

5.1.1.1  Academic credentials documented by
official transcripts showing completion of an educational
program meeting the requirements of 24 Del.C. §3508(a)(1).

5.1.1.2  Supervised experience documented by
having each supervisor complete a Supervisory Reference
Form.

5.1.1.3  Evidence that the applicant passed the
written “Examination for Professional Practice in
Psychology”, developed by the Association of State and
Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB), by achieving the
passing score recommended by the ASPPB at the time of the
application for licensure.  for that particular examination
(computer or paper) administration.  Candidates who are not
licensed in any other state must have passed the written
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examination within five (5) years of application for licensure
in Delaware. Applicants who have not taken the examination
must submit all other required documents to the Board for
review prior to sitting for the examination.  Only those
applicants the Board determines are otherwise eligible for
Delaware licensure shall be approved to sit for the
examination, subject to the administration policies and
procedures of the ASPPB.  After sitting for the examination,
applicants must supplement their application materials by
submitting evidence of their passing score as recommended
by the ASPPB. 

See 3 DE Reg 1067 (2/1/00)
5.1.1.4  Verification that the applicant has no

past or pending disciplinary proceedings.  [24 Del.C.
§3508(a)(4)]

5.1.1.5  The application shall not be considered
complete until all materials are received by the Board for
review at an officially scheduled meeting.  The applicant
will have twelve (12) months from the date of initial
submission of the application and fee to complete the
application process.

5.1.2  Completed certification form.  The applicant
will be notified, once his/her application is complete and
available for the Board’s review.  The certification form
must be submitted before any further action can be taken.

5.2  Application - By Reciprocity
An applicant who is applying for licensure as a

psychologist by reciprocity, as defined in 24 Del.C. §3511,
shall submit evidence that he/she meets the following
requirements:

5.2.1  An application for licensure, which shall
include:

5.2.1.1  Evidence that the applicant is licensed
or certified in another state and that the applicant has
practiced continuously, as a doctoral-level psychologist, in
good standing in that jurisdiction for two (2) years.

5.2.1.2  Evidence that the applicant passed the
written Examination for Professional Practice of Psychology
(EPPP).  The Board shall accept the passing score
recommended by the ASPPB for that particular examination
(computer or paper) administration. a score of 70% or better,
or, for examinations taken prior to 1992, the Board shall
accept either the ASPPB recommended passing score or the
minimum passing score accepted by the Delaware Board in
the year the examination was take, whichever was lower.

See 4 DE Reg. 979 (12/1/00)
5.2.2  Completed certification form.  The applicant

will be notified once his/her application is complete and
available for the Board’s review.  The certification form
must be submitted before any further action can be taken.

5.3 Computer Based Testing Procedures1

5.3.1 The EPPP will be offered by computerized
delivery beginning in 2001.  An applicant for examination

shall complete an application for computer based-testing,
available from the Board.

5.3.2 Once a candidate has been approved to sit for
the EPPP by the Board, the Board shall forward a notice of
approval to the examination service, which will then forward
instructions to the examination candidate.

5.3.3 It shall be the responsibility of the applicant to
schedule his or her EPPP administration with a test delivery
site purusant to the instructions given by the examination
service.

5.3.4 The examination service will forward test
results directly to the Board.  Test results will not be
available to the candidate at the testing center, nor will test
results be given over the phone.  

5.3.5 The Board shall notify the applicant of his or
her examination score, and pass/fail status upon receipt of
this information from the testing service.

5.3.6 If an applicant has been approved to sit for the
EPPP by a jurisdiction other than Delaware, it shall be the
responsibility of the applicant to arrange to have the score
transferred to the Delaware Board.

5.3.7 An applicant who fails the examination may
re-take the exam no sooner than 60 days after the prior
examination date.  An applicant may take the examination a
maximum of four (4) times in any 12 month period.
[24 Del. C. §§ 3506(a)(4).]

6.0  Evaluation of Credentials
6.1  Candidates for licensure as psychologists in the

State of Delaware shall:
6.1.1  Have received a doctoral degree based on a

program of studies which is  psychological in content and
specifically designed to train and prepare psychologists.  The
doctoral degree must be from  a college or university,
accredited as required by 24 Del.C. §3508(a)(1) having a
graduate program which states its purpose to be the training
and preparation of psychologists. Graduates of non-United
States (U.S.) degree programs will be required to have their
credentials evaluated by a credential evaluation service
approved by the National Association of Credential
Evaluation Services, to determine equivalency to the
accreditation requirements of §3508(a)(1) and equivalency
of psychological content and training.  The Board will
consider programs to be psychological in  content by the
criteria established by the joint designation project of the
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards and
the Council for the National Register of Health Service
Providers in Psychology, as follows:

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)

1.  This rule shall take effect upon implementation of
the computer-based EPPP by ASPPB. The expected imple-
mentation date is April 2001.
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See 4 DE Reg. 980 (12/1/00)
6.1.1.1  Programs that are accredited by the

American Psychological Association are recognized as
meeting the definition of a professional psychology
program.  The criteria for accreditation serves as a model for
professional psychology training.

6.1.1.2  Or, all of the following criteria, (1)
through (9):

6.1.1.2.1  Training in professional
psychology is doctoral training offered in a regionally
accredited institution of higher education.

6.1.1.2.2  The program, wherever it may
be administratively housed,  must be clearly identified and
labeled as a psychology program.  Such program must
specify in pertinent institutional catalogues and brochures its
intent to educate and train professional psychologists.

6.1.1.2.3  The psychology program must
stand as a recognizable, coherent organizational entity
within the institution.

6.1.1.2.4  There must be a clear authority
and primary responsibility for the core and specialty areas
whether or not the program cuts across administrative lines.

6.1.1.2.5  The program must be an
integrated, organized sequence of study.

6.1.1.2.6  There must be an identifiable
psychology faculty and a psychologist responsible for the
program.

6.1.1.2.7  The program must include a
body of students who are matriculated in  that program for a
degree.

6.1.1.2.8  The program must include
supervised  practicum, internship,  field or laboratory
training appropriate to the practice of psychology.

6.1.1.2.9  The curriculum shall encompass
a minimum of three (3) academic years of full time graduate
study.  In addition to instruction in scientific and
professional ethics and standards research design and
methodology, statistics, and psychometrics, the  core
program shall require each student to demonstrate
competence in each of the following substantive content
areas.  This typically will be met by including a minimum of
three or more graduate semester hours (5 or more graduate
quarter hours) in each of these 4 substantive content areas:

6.1.1.2.9.1  Biological bases of
behavior:  Physiological psychology, comparative
psychology, neuropsychology, sensation and perception,
psychopharmacology.

6.1.1.2.9.2  Cognitive-affective bases
of behavior: Learning, thinking, motivation, emotion.

6.1.1.2.9.3  Social bases of behavior:
Social psychology, group processes, organizational and
systems theory.

6.1.1.2.9.4  Individual differences:
Personality theory, human development, abnormal

psychology.
6.1.1.3  In addition, all professional education

programs in psychology will include course requirements in
specialty areas.

6.2  Have had, after receiving the doctoral degree, at
least 2 years of supervised experience in psychological work
satisfactory to the Board; and

6.3  Have achieved the passing score on the written
standardized Examination for Professional Practice in
Psychology (EPPP) developed by the Association of State
and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) or its successor;
or

6.4  The Board will qualify for licensing without
examination any person who applies for licensure and who is
a Diplomate of the American Board of Professional
Psychology.  All such applicants must meet all other
requirements for licensure.

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)

7.0  Supervised Experience
The types of supervision pertinent to licensure as a

psychologist or registration as a psychological assistant are
comprised of three types of supervisory experiences:

7.1  Predoctoral internship supervision as required by
doctoral programs in psychology.  The predoctoral
internship consists of a minimum of 1,500 hours of actual
work experience completed in not less than 48 weeks, nor
more than 104 weeks.  At least 50% of the predoctoral
supervised experience must be in clinical services such as
treatment, consultation, assessment, and report writing, with
at least 25% of that time devoted to face-to-face direct
patient/client contact.  No more than 25% of time shall be
allocated for research.

7.2  Postdoctoral supervision is required for initial
licensure as a psychologist. Postdoctoral experience must
consist of 3,000 hours of actual work experience.  This
experience is to be completed in not less than two years and
not more than three calendar years, save for those covered
under 24 Del.C. §3519(e).  For those individuals the accrual
of 3,000 hours of supervised postdoctoral experience must
take place within six calendar years from the time of hire.
There is to be one hour of face-to-face supervision for every
1-10 hours of clinical work.  This experience shall consist of
at least twenty-five percent and not more than sixty percent
of the time devoted to direct service per week in the area of
the applicant’s academic training. “Direct service” consists
of any activity defined as the practice of psychology or the
supervision of graduate students engaging in activities
defined as the practice of psychology. Not more than 25% of
this supervision can be done by other licensed mental health
professionals besides psychologists.  

The purpose of the postdoctoral supervision is to
train psychologists to practice at an independent level. This
experience should be an organized educational and training
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program with explicit goals and a clear plan to meet those
goals.  There should be regular written evaluations based on
this program.  

7.3  Supervision of psychological assistants is required
at the frequency of one hour of face-to-face supervision for
every 1-10 hours of clinical work by the psychological
assistants, as required by Section 9 of the Rules and
Regulations.  An individual registered as a psychological
assistant may or may not be receiving supervision in pursuit
of independent licensure as a psychologist.

7.4  A psychologist providing either postdoctoral
supervision or supervision of psychological assistants must
have been in practice for two years post licensure in this or
any other state without having been subject to any
disciplinary actions.  He/she must provide 24-hour
availability to both the supervisee and the supervisee’s
clients, or ensure that adequate alternative coverage is
provided in the supervisor’s absence. The supervising
psychologist shall have sufficient knowledge of all clients
including face-to-face contact when necessary and must be
employed or under contract in the setting where the clinical
service takes place and the supervision must occur within
that setting.

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)

8.0  Failure to Pass Examination
Applicants may take the Examination for the

Professional Practice in Psychology as many times as they
choose. Intervals between testing will be determined by the
testing agency and the ASPPB.

9.0  Psychological Assistants
9.1  A psychological assistant is an individual who

meets the requirements of 24 Del.C. Section 3509(2a-2e).
This individual may be registered as a psychological
assistant in order to receive supervision to be eligible for
later licensure to practice independently as a psychologist
and/or for any other reason as recognized by law. 

9.2  Psychological assistants are supervised, directed,
and evaluated by a Delaware licensed psychologist who
assumes professional and legal responsibility for the services
provided.
  9.2.1  Any Delaware licensed psychologist who has
had a least two (2) years of experience following the
granting of licensure in this or in any other state may
supervise a maximum of seven (7) psychological assistants.  

9.2.2  It is the responsibility of the supervising
psychologist in conjunction with the psychological assistant
to diagnose and form treatment plans for patients seen by the
psychological assistant and to file such plan in the patient/
client’s chart.  

9.2.3  The patient/client must be informed that
services are being delivered by a psychological assistant and
that the licensed psychologist is responsible for the

treatment.
  9.2.4  The patient/client shall sign a statement of
informed consent attesting that he/she understands that the
services are being delivered by a psychological assistant and
that the licensed psychologist is ultimately responsible for
his/her treatment. This document shall include the
supervising psychologist’s name and the telephone number
where he/she can be reached.  One copy shall be filed with
the patient/client’s record and another given to the patient.  

9.3  The Delaware licensed psychologist is identified as
the legally and ethically responsible party in all advertising,
public announcements, and billings.  In addition, billings and
advertisements will clearly indicate that the service is being
provided by a psychological assistant.  All treatment and
evaluation reports prepared by the psychological assistant
must be signed by the psychologist and the psychological
assistant.

9.4  The Delaware licensed psychologist who accepts
the responsibility of using a psychological assistant shall
develop and maintain a current, written job description
delineating the range and type of duties, educational
practicum and clinical experience to be assigned to the
psychological assistant, limits of independent action,
emergency procedures for contacting the  supervising
psychologist, and the amount and type of supervision to be
provided.  This job description must be signed by the
psychologist and the psychological assistant and will be filed
in the Division of Professional Regulation, along with an
official copy of the psychological assistant’s college
transcript, and proof of a 450-hour clinical practicum
supervised by a licensed psychologist or by a faculty
member in a nationally accredited doctoral level clinical
training program in the State of Delaware who is actively
pursuing licensure.  The psychological assistant will also
provide a statement under oath as outlined in 24 Del.C.
§3509(b1 - b3).
  9.5  The Board will then review credentials, job
description and supervisory arrangements, and if the
arrangements are acceptable, will inform the psychologist in
writing that the psychological assistant can begin work. No
psychological assistant shall begin work until the Board has
approved the application.  Registration for psychological
assistants expires biennially and continued performance of
the duties of a psychological assistant requires proof of
twenty (20) hours of continuing education and payment of
the renewal fee.

9.6  Supervision of the psychological assistant by the
Delaware licensed psychologist is to be a regular and formal
process.  It is required that the licensed psychologist and the
psychological assistant have weekly one-on-one, face-to-
face supervision with review of each case served by the
psychological assistant.  The supervising psychologist
should be familiar with each patient/client seen by the
psychological assistant and with the ongoing progress of
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treatment. One hour of supervision for every ten hours, or
fraction thereof, of direct clinical work by the psychological
assistant is required as a minimum.  For example, if a
psychological assistant provides eight (8) hours of direct
clinical service, he or she must receive a minimum of one (1)
hour of supervision.  Likewise, a psychological assistant,
who has fifteen (15) hours of direct clinical contact, must
receive at least two (2) hours of supervision.  This
supervision must be documented in writing on patient
records.  In addition, the supervising psychologist shall
submit at the time of relicensure and at the termination of the
supervision relationship a supervision report on a form
provided by the Board which will become a part of the
public record.  It will contain information describing the date
and amount of supervision and any unscheduled supervisory
contact, as well as a brief assessment of the psychological
assistant’s functioning.  The Board will consider requests to
substitute group supervision for some portion of the one-to-
one, face-to-face supervision requirement.  A supervising
psychologist must petition the Board and show good cause
for this substitution.   If the supervising psychologist’s
request is granted, no more than five (5) psychological
assistants may meet with the supervising psychologist at one
time and there must be two (2) hours of group supervision in
place of every one (1) hour of individual supervision.  All
psychological assistants must have at least one (1) hour of
individual supervision per week. The Board reserves the
right to withdraw their permission for the substitution at any
time.  

9.7  Psychological Assistants are to work in the office of
the licensed psychologist so as to have regular and continued
supervision.  When the licensed psychologist is not in the
office, he or she is expected to provide clear contingency
plans for consultation for the psychological assistant.  It is
assumed that the psychologist will be available to the
psychological assistant under most circumstances; therefore,
arrangements in which the supervising psychologist is
employed full time elsewhere will not be approved, unless it
can be demonstrated that there will be adequate supervision
and contingency coverage of the psychological assistant.
Supervising psychologists will be expected to describe in
their application for the psychological assistant how much
supervision they will provide and how that supervision will
be provided.

9.8  Psychological assistants who work for agencies
must be supervised by a psychologist employed by or under
contract to the agency.  Supervision must occur on site, and
the agency must have clearly spelled out plans for providing
consultation and backup when the supervising psychologist
is not on site.  A psychological assistant, who provides
services that are under the direction of different
psychologists, must be registered as a psychological
assistant by all of the psychologists who are directly
supervising the clinical work.

9.9  When there is a complaint of incompetent,
improper, or unethical behavior on the part of the
psychological assistant, in addition to the disciplinary action
against the psychological assistant, disciplinary action may
be taken against the supervising psychologist for failing to
provide adequate supervision of the psychological assistant.
The Board reserves the right to suspend or revoke the
Delaware licensed psychologist's privilege of hiring a
psychological assistant when just cause has been established
through a formal hearing.  Violation of this regulation may
constitute cause for suspending or revoking the future
privilege of hiring a  psychological assistant.

9.10  Patients/clients are always the responsibility of the
supervising psychologist.  Termination or transfer plans
must be worked out with the approval of the supervising
psychologist.  A  psychological assistant will be considered
to be working for the supervising psychologist until the
Board of Examiners is notified in writing of the change in
arrangements.  The letter terminating a psychological
assistant arrangement must also specify when the
supervising psychologist is terminating the arrangement
because of concerns about the ethical or professional
behavior of the psychological assistant.

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)

10.0  Continuing Education
10.1  Psychologists must obtain 40 hours of continuing

education every two years in order to be eligible for renewal
of license.  Psychologists will be notified in January that
they may submit their documentation beginning March 1st.
Continuing education credit must be submitted for the period
of August 1st of the year of renewal to July 31st of the
second year.  Individuals licensed within the two year period
will be notified by the Board of the prorated amount to
submit.

10.2  Psychological assistants must obtain 20 hours of
continuing education every two years for re-registration.
Psychological assistants may submit their documentation
beginning March 1st.  The appropriate period for credits to
be accrued is from August 1st of the year of renewal to July
31st of the second year.  Psychological assistants registered
within the two year period will be notified by the Board of
the prorated amount to submit.

10.3  Psychologists or psychological assistants who
have not submitted their material by July 31st  will be
allowed  to reapply for licensure or registration  until August
31st.  In the situation where the appropriate amount of
documentation has been submitted in a timely fashion and in
good faith and with reasonable expectation of renewal, but
has been found to be inadequate, the practitioner has 30 days
from the notification of inadequacy to submit valid
continuing education credit in the amount specified, or until
August 31st of that year, whichever is later.

Hardship.  An applicant for license renewal or
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registered psychological assistant may be granted an
extension of time in which to complete continuing education
hours upon a showing of good cause.  “Good cause” may
include, but is not limited to, disability, illness, extended
absence from the jurisdiction and exceptional family
responsibilities.  Requests for hardship consideration must
be submitted to the Board in writing prior to the end of the
licensing period, along with payment of the appropriate
renewal fee.  No extension shall be granted for more than
120 days after the end of the licensing period.  A license
shall be renewed upon approval of the hardship extension by
the Board, but the license shall be subject o revocation if the
licensee does not complete the requisite continuing
education pursuant to the terms of the extension.

See 4 DE Reg. 983 (12/1/00)
10.4  It is the responsibility of the psychologist or

psychological assistant to file a record of his/her continuing
education.  Documentation of continuing education will
consist of letters/certificates of attendance from the
sponsoring entity.

10.5  The subject of the continuing education must
contribute directly to the professional competency of a
person licensed to practice as a psychologist or registered as
a psychological assistant.  The activity must have significant
intellectual or practical content and deal with psychological
techniques, issues or ethical standards relevant to the
practice of psychology.

10.6  Activities from APA-approved continuing
education sponsors will be automatically accepted.  The
following may be eligible:

10.6.1  Other programs which are not APA-
approved sponsors but where the material is relevant to
professional practice and provides the equivalent of APA-
defined credit.  An applicant must provide a brochure or
other documentation that supports the following criteria:
relevance, stated objectives, faculty and educational
objectives.  To document attendance and completion, a
certificate of attendance is required.  In these circumstances,
hours will be accrued on the basis of clock hours involved in
the training.

10.6.2  Graduate courses relevant to professional
practice taken for educational credit offered by a regionally
accredited academic institution of higher education.  Each
credit hour of a course is equivalent to 5 CE hours.

10.6.3  Teaching an undergraduate or graduate level
course in applied psychology at an accredited institution.
Teaching a 3 hour semester or quarter course is considered
the equivalent of 5 CE credits.  No more than 5 CE credits
may be completed in this manner for any renewal period and
can be submitted only for the first time that a course is
presented.  Appropriate documentation of teaching must
include the listing of the course in the school catalog and a
letter from the academic institution stating that the course
was taught.

10.6.4  Teaching of a workshop or conduction of a
seminar on a topic of pertinence to the practice of
psychology.  Credit earned for one day is a maximum of 2
credits, two days is a maximum of 3 credits, and three days
or more is a maximum of 5 credits.  However, credit can be
earned only once for teaching a particular seminar or
workshop and not be eligible for re-submission at any time.
Appropriate documentation is considered to be the brochure
and demonstration of the workshop being held by the
sponsoring entity.

10.6.5  Authorship, editing or reviewing of a
publication.  Credit may be earned only in the year of the
publication and is limited to the following:

10.6.5.1  Author of a book (maximum of 40 CE
hours)

10.6.5.2  Author of a book chapter or journal
article (maximum of 15 CE hours)

10.6.5.3  Editor of a book (maximum of 25 CE
hours)

10.6.5.4  Editor of or reviewer for a scientific
or professional journal recognized by the Board (maximum
25 CE hours)

10.6.5.5  Proof of the above (10.6.5.1 -
10.6.5.4) must include the submission of the work or
documentation of authorship by copy of title pages.
 10.6.6  Preparing and presenting a scientific or
professional paper or poster at a meeting of a professional or
scientific  organization.  Up to 2 hours may be claimed for a
poster presentation.  Up to 3 hours of credit may be claimed
for each hour of paper presentation, with a maximum of 8
CE hours per paper.  Listing within the program and
certificate letters of attendance at the meeting is appropriate
documentation for both a paper or poster presentation.

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)
10.7  The Board reserves the right to reject any CE

program, if it is outside the scope of the practice of
psychology.

10.8  The following will not be considered for credit:
service to organizations; attending business meetings of
professional organizations; business management or office
administration courses; group supervision; or case
conferences.  

11.0  Professional Conduct
Psychologists and psychological assistants may be

disciplined for violations of provisions of 24 Del.C. §3514.

12.0  Complaint Procedures
12.1  Complaints against psychologists and

psychological assistants will be investigated as provided by
29 Del.C. §8807 and all hearings shall be conducted in
accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 29
Del.C. Chapter 101.

12.2  Complaints must be filed, in writing, with the
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Division of Professional Regulation.
13.0  License Renewal

13.1  Renewal notices will be mailed to the current
address on file in the Board’s records  in a timely fashion to
all psychologists and psychological assistants who are
currently licensed or registered.  It shall be the responsibility
of each psychologist and psychological assistant to advise
the Board, in writing, of a change of name or address.

13.2  Continuing education requirements must be
fulfilled as detailed in Section 10.0 of the Rules and
Regulations and submitted along with the established fee for
renewal to be approved.  The Board may, in its discretion,
grant a license renewal under the terms of a continuing
education hardship extension pursuant to rule 10.3    Should
any psychologist fail to renew or obtain a hardship
extension and continue to make representation as a licensed
psychologist beyond July 31st, that individual is practicing
without a license.  Should any psychological assistant fail to
renew or obtain a hardship extension and continue to make
representation as a registered psychological assistant beyond
July 31st, that individual is considered no longer to be
registered, and his/her supervising psychologist is in
violation of the law.

See 4 DE Reg. 984 (12/1/00)

14.0  Procedures for Licensure Applicable to Full Time
Faculty Members in a Nationally Accredited Doctoral
Level Clinical Training Program in the State of Delaware

14.1  University faculty employed full time in a
nationally accredited doctoral level clinical training program
in the State of Delaware, as specified in 24 Del.C. §3519(e),
who are not licensed, are subject to the following rules and
regulations:

14.1.1  Notification.  Such individuals must notify
the Board of Examiners of Psychologists no later than 30
days after the commencement of employment, indicating
employer, position and date employment began.  At that time
they will receive a copy of the statute and Rules and
Regulations which detail the exemption under which they
operate.

14.1.2  Professional Activities.  These individuals
may participate in activities defined by statute as the practice
of psychology (including the supervision of matriculated
graduate students) only within the context of a clinical
training program.  They may conduct any research and
teaching activities related to the activities of such a program.

14.1.3  Education.  Such individuals must have
completed the doctoral degree at the time employment
commences consistent with 24 Del.C. §3508(a).

14.1.4  Active Pursuit of Licensure.  Such
individuals are required to be in active pursuit of licensure
for a period not to exceed six (6) years.  The six year time
frame for the completion of licensure requirements
commences with the initial date of employment.  The six-

year time frame for individuals employed as of June 12,
1995 commenced on that date.

14.1.5  Supervision.  The supervised experience
required for licensure of such individuals is described in
Section 7.0 of the Rules and Regulations.  

See 2 DE Reg. 776 (11/1/98)

15.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

15.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the
regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify
the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
of the report. If the Director of Professional Regulation
receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the
chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's
designate or designates.

15.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.  

15.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).  

15.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

15.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 7, MONDAY, JANUARY 1, 2001

1093

evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

15.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

15.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.  

15.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.  

15.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program. 

15.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses
incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its
services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option.  

15.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/
her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.  

15.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

15.7  The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.  

15.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/her
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.  

15.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.  

15.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.  

15.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this section
in good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such
reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter. 

15.12  Any regulated professional who complies with all
of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment Option
shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise
specified in a participating Board's rules and regulations. In
such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated
professional shall include the potential for disclosure and
specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.

APPENDIX A

“Professional psychology” refers to psychology as a
profession. The term is not intended in the more restrictive
sense of applied or practice areas of psychology since the
intent is for a generic designation system.

“Professional psychology” refers to psychology as a
profession. The term is not intended in the more restrictive
sense of applied or practice areas of psychology since the
intent is for a generic designation system.

6.1.1.2.1 refers to an institution with regional
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accreditation in the United States, an institution with
provincial authorization in Canada, or in other countries, or
an institution that is accredited by a body which was deemed
by the ASPPB/National Register Joint Designation
Committee to be performing a function equivalent to U.S.
regional accrediting bodies.

In reference to “instruction in scientific and professional
ethics and standards” rule 6.1.1.2.9, it is understood that a
course of three or more graduate semester hours (five or
more graduate quarter hours) or its equivalent is highly
desirable; substantial instruction in these issues is required.

It is understood that rule 6.1.1.2.9 includes the
requirement of a minimum of one year’s residency at the
educational institution granting the doctoral degree.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Section 10027 (3 Del.C. 10027)

The Harness Racing Commission is proposing, pursuant
to 3 Del.C. 10027, to amend Rule 6.3.3.13 of its rules.  The
proposed amendment would permit the testing of claimed
horses at the request of the claimant.  This proposal
supercedes a proposal published in the November, 2000
Register of Regulations.  At its November 28, 2000 meeting,
the Commission voted not to adipt that rule and to propose
another amendment.

The Commission will hold a public hearing on the
proposed rule amendment on January 23, 2001 at 10:00 a.m.
at the Dover Downs, Dover DE. The Commission will
accept written comments from January 1, 2001 through
January 30, 2001. Written comments should be sent to John
Wayne, Administrator of Racing, Department of
Agriculture,  2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover DE19901.

6.0  Types of Races
6.1  Types of Races Permitted

In presenting a program of racing, the racing
secretary shall use exclusively the following types of races:

6.1.1  Overnight events which include:
6.1.1.1  Conditioned races;
6.1.1.2  Claiming races;
6.1.1.3  Preferred, invitational, handicap, open

or free-for-all races;
6.1.1.4  Schooling races; and
6.1.1.5  Matinee races

6.1.2  Added money events which include:
6.1.2.1  Stakes;
6.1.2.2  Futurities;
6.1.2.3  Early closing events; and

6.1.2.4  Late closing events
6.1.3  Match races
6.1.4  Qualifying Races (See Rule 7.0 --"Rules of

the Race")
6.1.5  Delaware-owned or bred races as specified in

3 Del. C.§10032
2 DE Reg. 1240 (01/01/99)

6.2  Overnight Events
6.2.1  General Provisions

6.2.1.1  For the purpose of this rule, overnight
events shall include conditioned, claiming, preferred,
invitational, handicap, open, free-for-all, schooling or
matinee races or a combination thereof.

6.2.1.2  At extended meetings, condition sheets
must be available to participants at least 18 hours prior to
closing declarations to any race program contained therein.
At other meetings, conditions must be posted and available
to participants at least 18 hours prior to closing declarations.

6.2.1.3  A fair and reasonable racing
opportunity shall be afforded both trotters and pacers in
reasonable proportion from those available and qualified to
race.

6.2.1.4  Substitute races may be provided for
each race program and shall be so designated in condition
books sheets. A substitute race may be used when a regularly
scheduled race fails to fill.

6.2.1.5  Regularly scheduled races or substitute
races may be divided where necessary to fill a program of
racing, or may be divided and carried over to a subsequent
racing program, subject to the following:

6.2.1.5.1  No such divisions shall be used
in the place of regularly scheduled races which fill.

6.2.1.5.2  Where races are divided in order
to fill a program starters for each division must be
determined by lot after preference has been applied, unless
the conditions provide for divisions based upon age,
performance, earnings or sex.

6.2.1.5.3  However, where necessary to fill
a card, not more than one race per day may be divided into
not more than two divisions after preference has been
applied. The divisions may be selected by the racing
secretary.  For all other overnight races that are divided, the
division must be by lot unless the conditions provide for a
division based on performance, earnings or sex.

6.2.2  Conditions
6.2.2.1  Conditions may be based only on:

6.2.2.1.1  horses' money winnings in a
specified number of previous races or during a specified
previous time;

6.2.2.1.2  horses' finishing positions in a
specified number of previous races or during a specified
period of time;

6.2.2.1.3  age, provided that no horse that
is 15 years of age or older shall be eligible to perform in any

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/index.htm
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race except in a matinee race;
2 DE Reg. 1243 (01/01/99)

6.2.2.1.4  sex;
6.2.2.1.5  number of starts during a

specified period of time;
6.2.2.1.6  special qualifications for foreign

horses that do not have a representative number of starts in
the United States or Canada;

6.2.2.1.7  the exclusion of schooling races;
or

6.2.2.1.8  Delaware-owned or bred races
as specified in 3 Del. C. §10032; or

2 DE Reg.1241 (01/01/99) 
6.2.2.1.9  any one or more combinations of

the qualifications herein listed.
6.2.2.2  Conditions shall not be written in such

a way that any horse is deprived of an opportunity to race in
a normal preference cycle. Where the word preference is
used in a condition, it shall not supersede date preference as
provided in the rules. Not more than three also eligible
conditions shall be used in writing the conditions for
overnight events.

6.2.2.3  The Commission may, upon
application from the racing secretary, approve conditions
other than those listed above for special events.

6.2.2.4  In the event there are conflicting
published conditions and neither one nor the other is
withdrawn by the association, the one more favorable to the
declarer shall govern.

6.2.2.5  For the purpose of eligibility, a racing
season or racing year shall be the calendar year. All races
based on winnings will be programmed as Non-Winners of a
multiple of $100 plus $1 or Winners over a multiple of $100.
Additional conditions may be added. When recording
winnings, gross winnings shall be used and cents shall be
disregarded.  In the case of a bonus, the present value of the
bonus shall be credited to the horse as earnings for the race
or series of races for which it received the bonus.  It shall be
the responsibility of the organization offering the bonus to
report the present value of the bonus to the United States
Trotting Association in a timely manner.

1 DE Reg. 503 (11/01/97)
2 DE Reg. 1243 (01/01/99)

6.2.2.6  Records, time bars shall not be used as
a condition of eligibility.

6.2.2.7  Horses must be eligible when
declarations close subject to the provision that:

6.2.2.7.1  Wins and winnings on or after
the closing date of declarations shall not be considered;

6.2.2.7.2  Age allowances shall be given
according to the age of the horse on the date the race is
contested.

6.2.2.7.3  In mixed races, trotting and
pacing, a horse must be eligible under the conditions for the

gait at which it is stated in the declaration the horse will
perform.

6.2.2.8  When conditions refer to previous
performances, those performances shall only include those
in a purse race. Each dash or heat shall be considered as a
separate performance for the purpose of condition races.

6.2.2.9  In overnight events, not more than one
trailer shall be permitted, regardless of the size of the track
except with the approval of the Commission. At least eight
feet per horse must be provided the starters in the front tier.

6.2.2.10  The racing secretary may reject the
declaration to an overnight event of any horse whose past
performance indicates that it would be below the competitive
level of other horses declared to that particular event.

6.3  Claiming Races
6.3.1  General Provisions

6.3.1.1  No horse will be eligible to start in a
claiming race unless the owner has provided written
authorization, which must include the minimum price for
which the horse may be claimed, to the racing secretary at
least one hour prior to post time of its race. If the horse is
owned by more than one party, all parties must sign the
authorization. Any question relating to the validity of a
claiming authorization shall be referred to the judges who
shall have the authority to disallow a declaration or scratch
the horse if they deem the authorization to be improper.

6.3.1.2  Except for the lowest claiming price
offered at each meeting, conditions and allowances in
claiming races may be based only on age and sex.  Whenever
possible, claiming races shall be written to separate horses
five years old and up from young horses and to separate
males from females.  If sexes are mixed, mares shall be
given a price allowance; provided, however, that there shall
be no price allowance given to a spayed mare racing in a
claiming race.

6.3.1.3  Registration certificate in current
ownership, together with the application for transfer thereon
duly endorsed by all registered owners, must be filed in the
office of the racing secretary for all horses claimed within a
reasonable time after the race from which the horse was
claimed.

6.3.1.4  The price allowances that govern for
claiming races must be approved by the Commission.
Claiming prices recorded on past performance lines in the
daily race program and on eligibility certificates shall not
include allowances.

6.3.1.5  The claiming price, including any
allowances, of each horse shall be printed on the official
program adjacent to the horse's program number and claims
shall be for the amount designated, subject to correction if
printed in error.

6.3.1.6  In handicap claiming races, in the
event of an also eligible horse moving into the race, the also
eligible horse shall take the place of the horse that it replaces
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provided that the handicap is the same.  In the event the
handicap is different, the also eligible horse shall take the
position on the outside of horses with a similar handicap,
except when the horse that is scratched is a trailing horse, in
which case the also eligible horse shall take the trailing
position, regardless of its handicap. In handicap claiming
races with one trailer, the trailer shall be determined as the
fourth best post position.

6.3.1.7  To be eligible to be claimed a horse
must start in the event in which it has been declared to race,
except as provided in 6.3.1.8 of this subsection.

6.3.1.8  The successful claimant of a horse
programmed to start may, at his option, acquire ownership of
a claimed horse, even though such claimed horse was
scratched and did not start in the claiming race from which it
was scratched.  The successful claimant must exercise his/
her option by 9:00 a.m. of the next day following the
claiming race to which the horse was programmed and
scratched.  Upon notification that the successful claimant has
exercised his/her option, the owner shall present the horse
for inspection, and the claim shall not be final until the
successful claimant has had the opportunity to inspect the
horse.  No horse may be claimed from a claiming race unless
the race is contested. 

6.3.1.9  Any licensed owner or the authorized
agent of such person who holds a current valid Commission
license may claim any horse or any person who has properly
applied for and been granted a claiming certificate shall be
permitted to claim any horse. Any person or authorized
agent eligible to claim a horse shall be allowed access to the
grounds of the association, excluding the paddock, in order
to effect a claim at the designated place of making claims
and to take possession of the horse claimed.

6.3.1.10  Claiming certificates are valid on day
of issue and expire at the end of the race meeting for which it
was granted. These certificates may be applied for at the
office designated by the association prior to post time on any
day of racing.

6.3.1.11  There shall be no change of
ownership or trainer once a horse is programmed.

6.3.2  Prohibitions on Claims
6.3.2.1  A person shall not claim directly or

indirectly his/her own horse or a horse trained or driven by
him/her or cause such horse to be claimed directly or
indirectly for his/her own account.

6.3.2.2  A person shall not directly or indirectly
offer, or directly or indirectly enter into an agreement, to
claim or not to claim or directly or indirectly attempt to
prevent another person from claiming any horse in a
claiming race.

6.3.2.3  A person shall not have more than one
claim on any one horse in any claiming race.

6.3.2.4  A person shall not directly or indirectly
conspire to protect a horse from being claimed by arranging

another person to lodge claims, a procedure known as
protection claims.

6.3.2.5  No qualified owner or his agent shall
claim a horse for another person.

6.3.2.6  No person shall enter in a claiming
race a horse against which there is a mortgage, bill or sale, or
lien of any kind, unless the written consent of the holder
thereof shall be filed with the Clerk of the Course of the
association conducting such claiming race.

6.3.2.7  Any mare which has been bred shall
not be declared into a claiming race for at least 30 days
following the last breeding of the mare, and thereafter such a
mare may only be declared into a claiming race after a
veterinarian has pronounced the mare not to be in foal.  Any
mare pronounced in foal shall not be declared into a claiming
race.  Where a mare is claimed out of a claiming race and
subsequently proves to be in foal from a breeding which
occurred prior to the race from which she was claimed, the
claim may be voided by the judges at the option of the
successful claimant provided the mare is subjected to a
pregnancy examination within 18 days of the date of the
claim, and is found pregnant as a result of that pregnancy
examination.  A successful claimant seeking to void the
claim must file a petition to void said claim with the judges
within 10 days after this pregnancy examination and shall
thereafter be heard by the judges after due notice of the
hearing to the parties concerned.

1 DE Reg. 503 (01/11/97)
6.3.2.8  No person shall claim more than one

horse in a race either alone, in a partnership, corporation or
other legal entity.

6.3.2.9  If a horse is claimed, no right, title or
interest therein shall be sold or transferred except in a
claiming race for a period of thirty (30) days following the
date of the claiming.

4 DE Reg 336 (8/1/00)
6.3.3  Claiming Procedure

6.3.3.1  A person desiring to claim a horse
must have the required amount of money, in the form of cash
or certified check, on deposit with the association at the time
the completed claim form is deposited.  Such deposit also
may be made by wire transfer prior to 2:00 p.m. on the day
of the claiming race.

6.3.3.2  The claimant shall provide all
information required on the claim form provided by the
association.

6.3.3.3  The claim form shall be completed and
signed by the claimant prior to placing it in an envelope
provided for this purpose by the association and approved by
the Commission. The claimant shall seal the envelope and
identify on the outside the date, time of day, race number and
track name only.

6.3.3.4  The envelope shall be delivered to the
designated area, or licensed delegate, at least fifteen (15)
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minutes before post time of the race from which the claim is
being made. That person shall certify on the outside of the
envelope the time it was received, the current license status
of the claimant and whether credit in the required amount
has been established.

6.3.3.5  It shall be the responsibility of the
association to ensure that all such claim envelopes are
delivered unopened or otherwise undisturbed to the judges
prior to the race from which the claim is being made.  The
association shall provide for an agent who shall,
immediately after closing, deliver the claim to the judges'
stand.

6.3.3.6  The claim shall be opened and the
claims, if any, examined by the judges prior to the start of the
race.  The association's auditor, or his/her agent, shall be
prepared to state whether the claimant has on deposit, the
amount equivalent to the specified claiming price and any
other required fees and taxes.

6.3.3.7  The judges shall disallow any claim
made on a form or in a manner which fails to comply with all
requirements of this rule.

6.3.3.8  Documentation supporting all claims
for horses, whether successful or unsuccessful, shall include
details of the method of payment either by way of a
photostatic copy of the check presented, or written detailed
information to include the name of the claimant, the bank,
branch, account number and drawer of any checks or details
of any other method of payment. This documentation is to be
kept on file at race tracks for three (3) years and is to be
produced to the Commission for inspection at any time
during the period.

6.3.3.9  When a claim has been lodged it is
irrevocable, unless otherwise provided for in these rules.

6.3.3.10  In the event more than one claim is
submitted for the same horse, the successful claimant shall
be determined by lot by the judges, and all unsuccessful
claims involved in the decision by lot shall, at that time,
become null and void, notwithstanding any future
disposition of such claim.

6.3.3.11  Upon determining that a claim is
valid, the judges shall notify the paddock judge of the name
of the horse claimed, the name of the claimant and the name
of the person to whom the horse is to be delivered. Also, the
judges shall cause a public announcement to be made.

6.3.3.12  Every horse entered in a claiming
race shall race for the account of the owner who declared it
in the event, but title to a claimed horse shall be vested in the
successful claimant from the time the horse is deemed to
have started, and the successful claimant shall become the
owner of the horse, whether it be alive or dead, or sound or
unsound, or injured during or after the race. If a horse is
claimed out of a heat or dash of an event having multiple
heats or dashes, the judges shall scratch the horse from any
subsequent heat or dash of the event.

6.3.3.13  A post-race urinalysis test may be
taken from any horse claimed out of a claiming race.  The
trainer of the horse at the time of entry for the race from
which the horse was claimed shall be responsible for the
claimed horse until the post-race urine sample is collected.
Any claimed horse not otherwise selected for testing by the
State Steward or judges shall be tested  if requested by the
claimant at the time the claim form is submitted in
accordance with these rules.  The successful claimant shall
have the right to void the claim should the forensic analysis
be positive for any prohibited substance or an illegal level of
a permitted medication. The horse's halter must accompany
the horse. Altering or removing the horse's shoes will be
considered a violation, and, until the Commission chemist
issues a report on his forensic analysis of the samples taken
from the horse, the claimed horse shall not be permitted to be
entered to race.

3 DE Reg 1520 (5/1/00)
6.3.3.14  Any person who refuses to deliver a

horse legally claimed out of a claiming race shall be
suspended, together with the horse, until delivery is made.

6.3.3.15  A claimed horse shall not be eligible
to start in any race in the name or interest of the owner of the
horse at the time of entry for the race from which the horse
was claimed for thirty (30) days, unless reclaimed out of
another claiming race. Nor shall such horse remain in or be
returned to the same stable or care or management of the first
owner or out of another claiming race.  Further, such horse
shall be required to continue to race the track where claimed
for a period of 60 days or the balance of the current racing
meet, whichever comes first, unless released by the Racing
Secretary.

2 DE Reg. 1765 (1/1/98)
3 DE Reg 1520 (5/1/00)

6.3.3.16  The claiming price shall be paid to the
owner of the horse at the time entry for the race from which
the horse was claimed only when the judges are satisfied that
the successful claim is valid and the registration and
eligibility certificates have been received by the racing
secretary for transfer to the new owner.

6.3.3.17  The judges shall rule a claim invalid:
6.3.3.17.1  at the option of the claimant if

the official racing chemist reports a positive test on a horse
that was claimed, provided such option is exercised within
48 hours following notification to the claimant of the
positive test by the judges;

2 DE Reg. 1243 (01/01/99)
6.3.3.17.2  if the horse has been found

ineligible to the event from which it was claimed, regardless
of the position of the claimant.

2 DE Reg. 1243 (01/01/99)
6.3.3.18  Mares and fillies who are in foal are

ineligible to claiming races.  Upon receipt of the horse, if a
claimant determines within 48 hours that a claimed filly or
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mare is in foal, he/she may, at their option, return the horse
to the owner of the horse at the time of entry for the race
from which the horse was claimed.

6.3.3.19  When the judges rule that a claim is
invalid and the horse is returned to the owner of the horse at
the time of entry for the race in which the invalid claim was
made:

6.3.3.19.1  the amount of the claiming
price and any other required fees and/or taxes shall be repaid
to the claimant;

6.3.3.19.2  any purse monies earned
subsequent to the date of the claim and before the date on
which the claim is ruled invalid shall be the property of the
claimant; and

6.3.3.19.3  the claimant shall be
responsible for any reasonable costs incurred through the
care, training or racing of the horse while it was in his/her
possession.

6.4  Added Money Events
6.4.1  General Provisions

6.4.1.1  For the purpose of this rule, added
money events include stakes, futurities, early closing events
and late closing events.

6.4.1.2  All sponsors and presenters of added
money events must comply with the rules and must submit to
the Commission the conditions and other information
pertaining to such events.

6.4.1.3  Any conditions contrary to the
provisions of any of these rules are prohibited.

6.4.2  Conditions
Conditions for added money events must

specify:
6.4.2.1  which horses are eligible to be

nominated;
6.4.2.2  the amount to be added to the purse by

the sponsor or presenter, should the amount be known at the
time;

6.4.2.3  the dates and amounts of nomination,
sustaining and starting payments;

6.4.2.4  whether the event will be raced in
divisions or conducted in elimination heats, and;

6.4.2.5  the distribution of the purse, in percent,
to the money winners in each heat or dash, and the
distribution should the number of starters be less than the
number of premiums advertised; and

6.4.2.6  whether also eligible horses may be
carded prior to the running heats or legs of added money
events.

6.4.3  Requirements of Sponsors/Presenters
6.4.3.1  Sponsors or presenters of stakes,

futurities or early closing events shall provide a list of
nominations to each nominator or owner and to the
associations concerned within sixty (60) days after the date
on which nominations close, other than for nominations

payable prior to January 1st of a horse's two-year-old year.
6.4.3.2  In the case of nominations for futurities

payable during the foaling year, such lists must be forwarded
out prior to October 15th of that year and, in the case of
nominations payable in the yearling year, such lists must be
forwarded out not later than September 1 of that year.

6.4.3.3  Sponsors or presenters of stakes,
futurities or early closing events shall also provide a list of
horses remaining eligible to each owner of an eligible within
45 days after the date on which sustaining payments are
payable. All lists shall include a resume of the current
financial status of the event.

6.4.3.4  The Commission may require the
sponsor or presenter to file with the Commission a surety
bond in the amount of the fund to ensure faithful
performance of the conditions, including a guarantee that the
event will be raced as advertised and all funds will be
segregated and all premiums paid. Commission consent
must be obtained to transfer or change the date of the event,
or to alter the conditions. In any instance where a sponsor or
presenter furnishes the Commission with substantial
evidence of financial responsibility satisfactory to the
Commission, such evidence may be accepted in lieu of a
surety bond.

6.4.4  Nominations, Fees and Purses
6.4.4.1  All nominations to added money

events must be made in accordance with the conditions.
6.4.4.2  Dates for added money event

nominations payments are:
6.4.4.2.1  Stakes: The date for closing of

nominations on yearlings shall be May 15th. The date
foreclosing of nominations to all other stakes shall fall on the
fifteenth day of a month.

6.4.4.2.2  Futurity: The date for closing of
nominations shall be July 15th of the year of foaling.

6.4.4.2.3  Early Closing Events: The date
for closing of nominations shall fall on the first or fifteenth
day of a month. Nominations on two-year-olds shall not be
taken prior to February 15th.

6.4.4.2.4  Late Closing Events: The date
for closing of nominations shall be at the discretion of the
sponsor or presenter.

6.4.4.3  Dates for added money event
sustaining payments are:

6.4.4.3.1  Stakes and Futurities: Sustaining
payments shall fall on the fifteenth day of a month. No stake
or futurity sustaining fee shall become due prior to (Month)
15th of the year in which the horses nominated become two
years of age.

6.4.4.3.2  Early and Late Closing Events:
Sustaining payments shall fall on the first or fifteenth day of
a month.

6.4.4.4  The starting fee shall become due
when a horse is properly declared to start and shall be
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payable in accordance with the conditions of the added
money event. Once a horse has been properly declared to
start, the starting fee shall be forfeited, whether or not the
horse starts. Should payment not be made thirty (30) minutes
before the post time of the event, the horse may be scratched
and the payment shall become a liability of the owner who
shall, together with the horse or horses, be suspended until
payment is made in full, providing the association notifies
the Commission within thirty (30) days after the starting
date.

6.4.4.5  Failure to make any payment required
by the conditions constitutes an automatic withdrawal from
the event.

6.4.4.6  Conditions that will eliminate horses
nominated to an event, or add horses that have not been
nominated to an event by reason of performance of such
horses at an earlier meeting, are invalid. Early and late
closing events shall have not more than two also eligible
conditions.

6.4.4.7  The date and place where early and late
closing events will be raced must be announced before
nominations are taken. The date and place where stakes and
futurities will be raced must be announced as soon as
determined but, in any event, such announcement must be
made no later than March 30th of the year in which the event
is to be raced.

6.4.4.8  Deductions may not be made from
nomination, sustaining and starting payments or from the
advertised purse for clerical or any other expenses.

6.4.4.9  Every nomination shall constitute an
agreement by the person making the nomination and the
horse shall be subject to these rules. All disputes and
questions arising out of such nomination shall be submitted
to the Commission, whose decision shall be final.

6.4.4.10  Nominations and sustaining payments
must be received by the sponsor or presenter not later than
the hour of closing, except those made by mail must bear a
postmark placed thereon not later than the hour of closing. In
the event the hour of closing falls on a Saturday, Sunday or
legal holiday, the hour of closing shall be extended to the
same hour of the next business day.  The hour of closing
shall be midnight of the due date.
  6.4.4.11  If conditions require a minimum
number of nominations and the event does not fill, the
Commission and each nominator shall be notified within
twenty (20) days of the closing of nominations and a refund
of nomination fees shall accompany such notice to
nominators.

6.4.4.12  If conditions for early or late closing
events allow transfer for change of gait, such transfer shall
be to the lowest class the horse is eligible to at the adopted
gait, eligibility to be determined at the time of closing
nominations. The race to which the transfer may be made
must be the one nearest the date of the event originally

nominated to. Two-year-olds, three-year-olds, or
four-year-olds, nominated in classes for their age, may only
transfer to classes for the same age group at the adopted gait
to the race nearest the date of the event they were originally
nominated to, and entry fees to be adjusted.

6.4.4.13  A nominator is required to guarantee
the identity and eligibility of nominations, and if this
information is given incorrectly he or she may be fined,
suspended, or expelled and the horse declared ineligible. If
any purse money was obtained by an ineligible horse, the
monies shall be forfeited and redistributed among those
justly entitled to the same.

6.4.4.14  Early or late closing events must be
contested if six or more betting interests are declared to start.
If less horses are declared to start than required, the race may
be declared off, in which case the total of nominations,
sustaining and starting payments received shall be divided
equally to the horses declared to start. Such distribution shall
not be credited as purse winnings.

6.4.4.15  Stakes or futurities must be contested
if one or more horses are declared to start. In the event only
one horse, or only horses in the same interest start, it
constitutes a walk-over. In the event no declarations are
made, the total of nomination and sustaining payments shall
be divided equally to the horses remaining eligible after
payment to the last sustaining payment, but such distribution
shall not be credited as purse winnings.

6.4.4.16  Associations shall provide stable
space for each horse declared on the day before, the day of
and the day following the race.

6.4.4.17  The maximum size of fields permitted
in any added money event shall be no more than one trailer
unless otherwise approved by the Commission.

6.4.4.18  An association may elect to go with
less than the number of trailers specified in subdivision 17
above.

6.4.4.19  In the event more horses are declared
to start than allowed in one field, the race will be conducted
in divisions or eliminations, as specified in the conditions.

6.4.4.20  In early closing races, late closing
races and overnight races requiring entry fees, all monies
paid in by the nominators in excess of 85 percent of the
advertised purse shall be added to the advertised purse and
the total shall then be considered to be the minimum purse.
If the race is split and raced in divisions, the provisions of
subdivision 21 below shall apply.  Provided further that
where overnight races are split and raced in eliminations
rather than divisions, all starting fees payable under the
provisions of this rule shall be added to the advertised purse.

6.4.4.21  Where a race other than a stake or
futurity is divided, each division must race for at least 75
percent of the advertised purse.

6.4.4.22  In added money events conducted in
eliminations, starters shall be divided by lot. Unless
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conditions provide otherwise, sixty percent of the total purse
will be divided equally among the elimination heats. The
final heat will be contested for 40 percent of the total purse.
Unless the conditions provide otherwise, all elimination
heats and the final heat must be raced on the same day. If the
conditions provide otherwise, elimination heats must be
contested not more than six days, excluding Sundays, prior
to the date of the final heat. The winner of the final heat shall
be the winner of the race.

6.4.4.23  The number of horses allowed to
qualify for the final heat of an event conducted in
elimination heats shall not exceed the maximum number
permitted to start in accordance with the rules.  In any
elimination dash where there are horses unable to finish due
to an accident and there are fewer horses finishing than
would normally qualify for the final, the additional horses
qualifying for the final shall be drawn by lot from among
those unoffending horses not finishing.

1 DE Reg. 503 (01/01/97)
6.4.4.24  The judges' decisions in arriving at

the official order of finish of elimination heats on the same
program shall be final and irrevocable and not subject to
appeal or protest.

6.4.4.25  Unless the conditions for the added
money event provide otherwise the judges shall draw by lot
the post positions for the final heat in elimination events, i.e.
they shall draw positions to determine which of the two
elimination heat winners shall have the pole, and which the
second position; which of the two horses that were second
shall start in the third position, and which in the fourth, etc.  

6.4.4.26  In a two-in-three race, a horse must
win two heats to win a race and there shall be 10 percent set
aside for the race winner. Unless conditions state otherwise,
the purse shall be divided and awarded according to the
finish in each of the first two or three heats, as the case may
be. If the number of advertised premiums exceeds the
number of finishers, the excess premiums shall go to the
winner of the heat. The fourth heat, when required, shall be
raced for 10 percent of the purse set aside for the race
winner. In the event there are three separate heat or dash
winners and they alone come back in order to determine the
race winner, they will take post positions according to the
order of their finish in the previous heat.  In a two-year-old
race, if there are two heat winners and they have made a
dead heat in the third heat, the race shall be declared finished
and the one standing best in the summary shall be awarded
the 10 percent. If the two heat winners make a dead heat and
stand the same in the summary, the 10 percent shall be
divided equally among them.

6.5  Cancellation of a Race
In case of cancellation of races, see Rule 7.3

"Postponement and Cancellation."
6.6  Delaware Owned or Bred Races

6.6.1  Persons licensed to conduct harness horse

racing meets under title 3, chapter 100, may offer non-stakes
races limited to horses wholly owned by Delaware residents
or sired by Delaware stallions.

6.6.2  For purposes of this rule, a Delaware bred
horse shall be defined as one sired by a Delaware stallion
who stood in Delaware during the entire breeding season in
which it sired a Delaware bred horse or a horse whose dam
was a wholly-owned Delaware mare at the time of breeding
as shown on the horse's United State Trotting Association
registration or  eligibility papers.  The breeding season
means that period of time beginning February 1 and ending
August 1 of each year.

6.6.3  All horses to be entered in Delaware owned
or bred races must first be registered and approved by the
Commission or its designee.  The Commission may establish
a date upon which a horse must be wholly-owned by a
Delaware resident(s) to be eligible to be nominated, entered,
or raced as Delaware-owned.  In the case of a corporation
seeking to enter a horse in a Delaware-owned or bred event
as a Delaware-owned entry, all owners, officers,
shareholders, and directors must meet the requirements for a
Delaware resident specified below.  In the case of an
association or other entity seeking to enter a horse in a
Delaware owned or bred event as a Delaware-owned entry,
all owners must meet the requirements for a Delaware
resident specified below. Leased horses are ineligible as
Delaware owned entries unless both the lessor and the lessee
are Delaware residents as set forth in this Rule and 3 Del.C.
section 10032.

6.6.4  The following actions shall be prohibited for
Delaware-owned races and such horses shall be deemed
ineligible to be nominated, entered, or raced as Delaware-
owned horses:

6.6.4.1  Payment of the purchase price over
time beyond the date of registration;

6.6.4.2  Payment of the purchase price through
earnings beyond the date of registration;

6.6.4.3  Payment of the purchase price with a
loan, other than from a commercial lender regulated in
Delaware and balance due beyond the date of registration;

6.6.4.4  Any management fees, agent fees,
consulting fees, or any other form of compensation to non-
residents of Delaware, except industry standard training and
driving fees;  or

6.6.4.5  Leasing a horse to a non-resident of
Delaware.

6.6.5  The Commission or its designee shall
determine all questions about a person's eligibility to
participate in Delaware-owned races.  In determining
whether a person is a Delaware Resident, the term "resident"
shall mean the place where an individual has his or her
permanent home, at which that person remains when not
called elsewhere for labor or other special or temporary
purposes, and to which that person returns in seasons of
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repose.  The term "residence" shall mean a place a person
voluntarily fixed as a permanent habitation with an intent to
remain in such place for the indefinite future.

6.6.6  The Commission or its designee may review
and subpoena any information which is deemed relevant to
determine a person's residence, including but not limited to,
the following:

6.6.6.1  Where the person lives and has been
living;

6.6.6.2  The location of the person's sources of
income;

6.6.6.3  The address used by the person for
payment of taxes, including federal, state and
property taxes;

6.6.6.4  The state in which the person's
personal automobiles are registered;

6.6.6.5  The state issuing the person's driver's
license;

6.6.6.6  The state in which the person is
registered to vote;

6.6.6.7  Ownership of property in Delaware or
outside of Delaware;

6.6.6.8  The residence used for U.S.T.A.
membership and U.S.T.A. registration of a horse, whichever
is applicable;

6.6.6.9  The residence claimed by a person on a
loan application or other similar document;

6.6.6.10  Membership in civic, community, and
other organizations in Delaware and elsewhere.

6.6.6.11  None of these factors when
considered alone shall be dispositive, except that a person
must have resided in the State of Delaware in the preceding
calendar year for a minimum of one hundred and eighty
three (183) days.  Consideration of all of these factors
together, as well as a person's expressed intention, shall be
considered in arriving at a determination.  The burden shall
be on the applicant to prove Delaware residency and
eligibility for Delaware-owned or bred races.  The
Commission may promulgate by regulation any other
relevant requirements necessary to ensure that the licensee is
a Delaware resident.  In the event of disputes about a
person's eligibility to enter a Delaware-owned or bred race,
the Commission shall resolve all disputes and that decision
shall be final.

6.6.7  Each owner and trainer, or the authorized
agent of an owner or trainer, or the nominator (collectively,
the "entrant"), is required to disclose the true and entire
ownership of each horse with the Commission or its
designee, and to disclose any changes in the owners of the
registered horse to the Commission or its designee.  All
licensees and racing officials shall immediately report any
questions concerning the ownership status of a horse to the
Commission racing officials, and the Commission racing
officials may place such a horse on the steward's or judge's

list. A horse placed on the steward's or judge's list shall be
ineligible to start in a race until questions concerning the
ownership status of the horse are answered to the satisfaction
of the Commission or the Commission's designee, and the
horse is removed from the steward or judge's list.

6.6.8  If the Commission, or the Commission's
designee, finds a lack of sufficient evidence of ownership
status, residency, or other information required for
eligibility, prior to a race, the Commission or the
Commission's designee, may order the entrant's horse
scratched from the race or ineligible to participate.

6.6.9  After a race, the Commission or the
Commission's designee, may upon reasonable suspicion,
withhold purse money pending an inquiry into ownership
status, residency, or other information required to determine
eligibility.  If the purse money is ultimately forfeited because
of a ruling by the Commission or the Commission's
designee, the purse money shall be redistributed per order of
the Commission or the Commission's designee.

6.6.10  If purse money has been paid prior to
reasonable suspicion, the Commission or the Commission's
designee may conduct an inquiry and make a determination
as to eligibility.  If the Commission or the Commission's
designee determines there has been a violation of ownership
status, residency, or other information required for
eligibility, it shall order the purse money returned and
redistributed per order of the Commission or the
Commission's designee.

6.6.11  Anyone who willfully provides incorrect or
untruthful information to the Commission or its designee
pertaining to the ownership of a Delaware-owned or bred
horse, or who attempts to enter a horse restricted to
Delaware-owned entry who is determined not to be a
Delaware resident, or who commits any other fraudulent act
in connection with the entry or registration of a Delaware-
owned or bred horse, in addition to other penalties imposed
by law, shall be subject to mandatory revocation of licensing
privileges in the State of Delaware for a period to be
determined by the Commission in its discretion except that
absent extraordinary circumstances, the Commission shall
impose a minimum revocation period of two years and a
minimum fine of $5,000 from the date of the violation of
these rules or the decision of the Commission, whichever
occurs later.

6.6.12  Any person whose license is suspended or
revoked under subsection (k) of this rule shall be required to
apply for reinstatement of licensure and the burden shall be
on the applicant to demonstrate that his or he licensure will
not reflect adversely on the honesty and integrity of harness
racing or interfere with the orderly conduct of a race
meeting.  Any person whose license is reinstated under this
subsection shall be subject to a two year probationary period,
and may no participate in any Delaware-owned or bred race
during this probationary period.  Any further violations of
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this section by the licensee during the period of probationary
licensure shall, absent extraordinary circumstances, result in
the Commission imposing revocation of all licensure
privileges for a five year period along with any other penalty
the Commission deems reasonable and just.

6.6.13  Any suspension imposed by the
Commission under this rule shall not be subject to the stay
provisions in 29 Del. C. §10144.

2 DE Reg. 1241 (1/1/99)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C., SECTION 122(d)

543  PHYSICAL EDUCATION

A.  Type Of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B.  Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the approval of the

State Board of Education to repeal the regulations D.5
Physical Education in Section II Elementary Education and
2.e. Physical Education in Section III Middle Level
Education and to amend 3.f. Physical Education in Section
IV Secondary Education from the Handbook for K-12
Education. 

The Elementary Physical Education Section is repealed
because it is simply technical assistance information and
content standards now define the elementary program.  The
Middle Level Education Section is repealed since content
standards now define the physical education program.  The
Secondary Section is amended to remove the technical
assistance information in (3) and (4), reformat the regulation
and reword the waiver statement in (5) for clarity.  A credit
in physical education is required for graduation in regulation
511 Credit Requirements for High School Graduation.  This
Physical Education regulation as amended places some
parameters around the high school physical education
program and clarifies the wording on the waiver that applies
to elementary, middle/junior high and high school programs.
The high school program is also defined by the content
standards.

C. Impact Criteria
1.  Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation clarifies student program
requirements at the high school level.

2.  Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses student program
requirements, not equity issues.

3.  Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulation addresses physical education
requirements which do affect health and safety issues.

4.  Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses student program
requirements, not students’ legal rights.

5.  Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The amended regulation will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level.

6.  Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7.  Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision-making authority and accountability for
addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8.  Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulation will be consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9.  Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the
purpose of the regulation?

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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The amendment is necessary to clarify the existing
regulation.

10.  What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulations?

There is no cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulation.

AS APPEARS IN THE HANDBOOK FOR K-12 
EDUCATION

II.  ELEMENTARY EDUCATION
5. PHYSICAL EDUCATION

a. The primary goal of the elementary
physical education program is to have students acquire the
fundamental skills necessary for their participation in team
or group activities, free play, and health-related physical
fitness.

b. Classes should be learning laboratories in
which students are involved in the important task of learning
about themselves and others through movement.

c. The program should be student centered,
with a special focus on problem-solving and exploratory
methods applied to a wide range of activities.

d. Students should have freedom of choice,
but be guided by the teacher toward predetermined goals.

e. This suggested time allotment will serve
as a basis in the formulation of the daily or weekly schedule
depending on the school organization.

Vigorous Physical Activity--
1st and 2nd grade30 minutes daily
3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th grade30 minutes

daily
f. A major part of physical education should

be directed play involving team or group activities, while 30
minutes per week may be supervised free play.  Directed
play involves selected activities to teach desirable skills
while free play is permitting the children a choice of
activities under the supervision of the teacher.
III. MIDDLE LEVEL EDUCATION

e. Physical Education
Physical education must be offered at least

two class periods per week for a year or five days a week for
a semester in both grades 7 and 8.  (State Board Approved
February 1985)

IV. HIGH SCHOOL
f. Physical Education

(1) Physical education shall be a
requirement for any two years during grades nine through
twelve with a maximum of 1/2 unit of credit earned per year.
Provision for makeup and accumulation of required credit
should be provided at the ninth through twelfth grade levels.

(2) Physical education should be offered

as an elective for ninth through twelfth grade students.
(3) The high schools may establish their

physical education program of instruction within these
guidelines:

(a) providing instruction on a five-
day week basis for a full semester;

(b) providing instruction for a
minimum of three days per week for the entire school year;

(c) providing instruction on a
flexible basis equivalent to three instructional periods per
week or rotating two periods one semester and three the next
semester; and

(d) providing instruction on a
variable basis equivalent to 3 instructional classes per week
during the school year.

(4) The physical education program
should emphasize the concept of lifetime sports and be
adapted to both individual and group physical education
needs.  All schools should conscientiously develop a
meaningful elective program in physical education.

(5) In addition to the one unit of credit
required for graduation, a student may receive only one unit
of elective credit for a maximum total of two credits in
physical education.

(a) Objectors must submit to the
administrative head of the school an affidavit stating reasons
for being excused from this activity.

(b) Pupils may be excused from
physical education if they have a certified excuse from a
qualified physician or they have objections based on
religious beliefs to various rhythmical activity.

543  Physical Education

1.0  Physical education programs shall be a requirement for
any two years during grades 9 through 12 with a maximum
of 1/2 unit of credit earned per year.  Provision for makeup
and accumulation of required credit shall be provided at the
ninth through twelfth grade levels.

1.1  Physical education shall be offered as an elective
for ninth through twelfth grade students.

1.2  In addition to the one unit of credit required for
graduation, a student may receive only one unit of elective
credit for a maximum total of two credits in physical
education.

2.0  The Physical Education requirements may be waived
only for students who have an excuse from a qualified
physician or objections based on religious beliefs.  The
Education Associate for Physical Education shall have the
authority to grant such waivers.
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EDUCATIONAL IMPACT ANALYSIS PURSUANT
TO 14 DEL. C. SECTION 122(d)

804 IMMUNIZATIONS
 
A.  Type Of Regulatory Action Requested

Amendment to Existing Regulation

B.  Synopsis Of Subject Matter Of Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks to amend the

regulation on Immunizations in order to up date the language
and to bring the regulation in line with the recommendations
of the Division of Public Health.  Changes in 2.0 include
adding a reference to public health recommendations in 2.0,
adding DTaP to 2.1, recommending a booster dose of Td at
five years instead of ten in 2.1.1, modifying the references to
the doses of the oral polio vaccine in 2.2, allowing two doses
of CDC approved Hepatitis B vaccine for children ages 11-
15 in 2.4, and adding a recommendation for a varicella
vaccine.

Changes to 3.0 include adding DTaP to 3.3.1 and
allowing schools to admit students after the first dose of the
Hepatitis B Series in 3.3.4.

Changes to 4.0 and 5.0 include correcting the way the
Delaware Code is referenced in the regulations.

C.  Impact Criteria
1.  Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?

The amended regulation addresses immunizations, not
state achievement standards.

2.  Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?

The amended regulation addresses immunizations, not
equity issues.

3.  Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?

The amended regulation does address students’ health
and protects them from acquiring a communicable disease.

4.  Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?

The amended regulation addresses immunizations, not
students’ legal rights.

5.  Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?

The amended regulation will preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level.

6.  Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?

The amended regulation will not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7.  Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?

The decision-making authority and accountability for
addressing the subject to be regulated will remain in the
same entity.

8.  Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?

The amended regulation will be consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9.  Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the
purpose of the amended regulation?

The requirements for immunization of school students
must be in regulation.

10.  What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the amended regulation?

There is no additional cost to the state and to the local
school boards for compliance with the amended regulation.

804  Immunizations

1.0  Definition of School Enterer:  A school enterer is any
child between the ages of two months and 21 years entering
or being admitted to a Delaware school district for the first
time, including but not limited to, foreign exchange students,
immigrants, students from other states and territories and
children entering from nonpublic schools.

2.0  The following minimum immunizations will be required
for all school enterers.  Children who enter school prior to
age 4 shall follow current Division of Public Health
recommendations.  Disease histories for measles, rubella and
mumps will not be accepted unless serologically confirmed.

2.1  Four or more doses of diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis
(DTaP, DTP, or other approved vaccine) or diphtheria,
tetanus (DT) vaccine or a combination of these vaccines with
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the following exceptions:  (1) a child who received a fourth
dose prior to the fourth birthday must have a fifth dose;  (2) a
child who received the first dose of Td (adult) at or after age
seven may meet this requirement with only three doses of Td
(adult).

2.1.1  A booster dose of Td (adult) is recommended
for all students, five years at ten year intervals for all
students after the last DTaP, DTP or DT dose was
administered.

2.2  Four Three or more doses of inactivated polio virus
(IPV), oral polio vaccine (OPV), or four doses of inactivated
polio virus (IPV) or a combination of these vaccines with the
following exception:  If the third primary dose of OPV or
IPV is administered on or after the fourth birth date, a fourth
dose is not required.  A child who received a third dose prior
to the fourth birthday must have a fourth dose.

2.3  Two doses of measles vaccine.  The first dose
should be administered on or after the age of 12 months.
The second dose should be administered after the fourth
birthday.  The combination vaccines of measles, mumps,
rubella (MMR) can be used to meet this requirement.

2.4  Three doses of Hepatitis B vaccine beginning in the
1999-2000 school year with kindergarten and grade seven.
(By adding a grade at each of the levels, by the year 2004-
2005 all students will be required to have the vaccine.)  Two
doses of CDC approved vaccine for children ages 11 – 15
may be used.

2.5  One dose of rubella vaccine administered after the
age of 12 months.

2.6  One dose of mumps vaccine administered after the
age of 12 months.

2.7  One dose of varicella is recommended.

3.0  Certification of Immunization
3.1  All parents or legal guardians of school enterers

shall present a certificate specifying the month, day, and year
that the immunizations were administered by the physician
or public health agency state licensed health care
practitioner.

3.2  According to Delaware Code, Title 14, Section 131,
a principal or person in charge of a school shall not permit a
child to enter into school without acceptable evidence of
immunization.  The parent or legal guardian shall be notified
of this requirement in writing.  Within 14 calendar days after
notification, evidence must be presented to the school that
the basic series of immunizations has been initiated or has
been completed.

3.3  A school enterer may be conditionally admitted to a
Delaware school district by presenting a statement from a
state licensed health care practitioner who physician or
public health agency which specifies that the school enterer:

3.3.1  has received at least one dose of DTaP, DTP,
or DT and

3.3.2  has received at least one dose of IPV or OPV

or IPV and
3.3.3  has received at least one dose of measles,

mumps and rubella (MMR) vaccine.
3.3.4  without documentation for the first or second

dose of measles should be admitted after the first dose.  A
second dose is required between 30 and 90 days after the
first dose.  (MMR can be used to meet this requirement.)

3.3.4  without documentation for the first, second,
and third doses of completion of the hepatitis B series,
should be admitted after the first dose.  A second dose
should be given at least one month after the first dose; a third
dose should be given at least four months after the first dose
and at least two (2) months after the second dose (beginning
in September, 1999).

3.4  If the school enterer fails to complete the series of
required immunizations according to the Division of Public
Health's recommended schedule, the parent or legal guardian
will be notified the child will be excluded according to 14
Del. C. Section 131.

4.0  Lost or Destroyed Medical Records:  When an
immunization record has been lost or destroyed by the
medical provider who administered the vaccine, the parent
shall sign a written statement to this effect and must obtain at
least one dose of DTaP, DTP or DT, one dose of IPV or
OPV, one dose of Hepatitis B or IPV and immunization
against measles, mumps and rubella. Beginning in 1999-
2000, hepatitis B will be needed.  Evidence that the vaccines
were administered shall be presented to the superintendent or
designated person.  An exemption to this requirement would
be a statement from a physician demonstrating serological
evidence of immunity to measles, mumps or rubella.

5.0  Exemption from Immunization:
5.1  Exemption from this requirement may be granted in

accordance with 14 Del. C. Section 131.
5.2  Alternative dosages or immunization schedules may

be accepted with the written approval of the Division of
Public Health.

6.0  Verification of School Records:  The Division of Public
Health shall have the right to audit and verify school
immunization records to determine compliance with the law.
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority:
7 Delaware Code, Sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(3) 

(7 Del.C. §§1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(3))

REGISTER NOTICE

1.  TITLE OF THE REGULATION:
TIDAL FINFISH REGULATIONS

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

To amend Tidal Finfish Regulations in order to remain
in compliance with fishery management plans, as amended
and adopted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission, the Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council
and/or the U.S. Department of Commerce.

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4 SUMMER
FLOUNDER SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS;
SEASON is proposed to be amended to adjust the
recreational fishing season closure dates, creel limit and/or
minimum size limit in order to implement any adjustments to
fishing mortality required in the Summer Flounder Fishery
Management Plan.

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 7, STRIPED BASS
POSSESSION SIZE LIMIT; EXCEPTIONS is proposed
to be amended to eliminate the commercial slot size limits of
20 inches-32 inches and in its place return to a commercial
minimum size limit of 20 inches or to not amend and leave
the slot size limit of 20 inches – 32 inches in place.  It also is
proposed to allow the transfer of striped bass tags among
commercial food fishermen prior to any tags being
distributed by the Department.

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 9, BLUEFISH
POSSESSION LIMITS is proposed to be amended by
increasing the daily possession limit from 10 bluefish to 15
bluefish per day.

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 10 WEAKFISH SIZE
LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS; SEASONS is proposed
to be amended to change the 2000 dates when it was illegal
to take weakfish with any gear other than hook and line in
the Delaware Bay and Ocean to the corresponding calendar
dates in 2001.  These dates involve 35 days.

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 14, SPANISH
MACKEREL SIZE LIMIT AND CREEL LIMIT is
proposed to be amended by increasing the daily possession
limit from 10 Spanish mackerel per day.

3.  POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:

There are no sunset dates for these regulations.
However, if Delaware is found to be out of compliance with
a Fishery Management Plan by the Atlantic States Marine
Fisheries Commission, that particular fishery may be closed
by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Commerce.

4.  STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:

7 Del.C. §903(e)(2)(a).

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

6.  NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, calling or
visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife,
89 Kings Highway, Dover Delaware 19901, (302)739-3441.
A public hearing on these proposed amendments will be held
at the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover DE at 7:30
PM on Thursday January 25, 2001.  The record will remain
open for written comments until 4:30 PM on January 31,
2001.

7.  PREPARED BY:
Charles A. Lesser, (302)-739-3441, December 8, 2000

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4.  Summer Flounder Size
Limits; Possession Limits; Seasons.

a)  It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman or
any commercial hook and line fisherman to take and reduce
to possession or to land any summer flounder during the
period beginning at 12:01AM on January 1 and ending at
midnight on May 9 and during the period beginning at
12:01AM on October 3 and ending at midnight on December
31.  (Note – A closed fishing period(s) will be required to
meet the mandatory compliance measures in the Summer
Flounder Fishery Management Plan.  These dates will be
decided after a public hearing).

See 3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00)
b)  It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to

have in possession more than eight (8) (Note: the creel limit
may change depending on the season closure) summer
flounder at or between the place where said summer flounder
were caught and said recreational fisherman’s personal
abode or temporary or transient place of lodging.

c)  It shall be unlawful for any person, other than
qualified persons as set forth in paragraph (f) of this
regulation, to possess any summer flounder that measure less
than fifteen and one-half (15.5) inches  (Note-the size may
change depending on the season closure.

See 3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00)

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/dnrec2000/
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d)  It shall be unlawful for any person, while on board a
vessel, to have in possession any part of a summer flounder
that measures less than fifteen and one-half (15.5) inches
(Note–the size may change depending on the season closure)
between said part’s two most distant points unless said
person also has in possession the head, backbone and tail
intact from which said part was removed. 

See 3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00)
e)  Open See 2 DE Reg 1900 (4/1/99)
f)  Notwithstanding the size limits and possession limits

in this regulation, a person may possess a summer flounder
that measures no less than fourteen (14) inches between the
tip of the snout and the furthest tip of the tail and a quantity
of summer flounder in excess of the possession limit set
forth in this regulation, provided said person has one of the
following:

1)  A valid bill-of-sale or receipt indicating the date
said summer flounder  were received, the amount of said
summer flounder received and the name, address and
signature of the person who had landed said summer
flounder;

2)  A receipt from a licensed or permitted fish
dealer who obtained said summer flounder; or

3)  A bill of lading while transporting fresh or
frozen summer flounder.

g)    Open See 2 DE Reg 1900 (4/1/99)
h)  It shall be unlawful for any commercial finfisherman

to sell, trade and or barter  or attempt to sell, trade and or
barter any summer flounder or part thereof that is landed in
this State by said commercial fisherman after a date when
the de minimis amount of commercial landings of summer
flounder is determined to have been landed in this State by
the Department.  The de minimis amount of summer
flounder shall be 0.1% of the coast wide commercial quota
as set forth in the Summer Flounder Fishery Management
Plan approved by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission. 

i)  It shall be unlawful for any vessel to land more than
200 pounds of summer flounder in any one day in this State.

j)  It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been
issued a commercial foodfishing license and fishes for
summer flounder with any food fishing equipment other than
a gill net, to have in possession more than eight (8) (Note-the
creel limit may change depending on the season closure.)
summer flounder at or between the place where said summer
flounder where caught and said persons personal abode or
temporary or transient place of lodging.

See 1 DE Reg 1769 (5/1/98)
See 2 DE Reg 1900 (4/1/99)

Tidal Finfish Regulation 7.  Striped Bass Possession Size
Limit; Exceptions.

a)  Notwithstanding, the provisions of §929(b)(1),
Chapter 9, Title 7, Delaware Code or unless otherwise

authorized, it shall be unlawful for any recreational
fisherman to take and reduce to possession more than two (2)
striped bass from the tidal waters of this State in one day
provided one measures no less than twenty-four (24) inches
in total length or more than twenty-eight (28) inches in total
length and one measures no less than twenty-eight (28)
inches in total length.

See 4 DE Reg. 230 (7/1/00)
b)  Notwithstanding, the provisions of § 929(b)(1),

Chapter 9, Title 7, Delaware Code or unless otherwise
authorized, it shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to take and reduce to possession any striped bass
from the tidal waters of this State that measure less than
twenty (20) inches in total length or more than 32 inches in
total length. (Note-The thirty-two (32) inches maximum
commercial size limit may be dropped if approved by the
Striped Bass Fishery Management Board).

c)  Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for
any person to possess a striped bass that measures less than
28 inches, total length, unless said striped bass is in one or
more of the following categories:

1)  It has affixed, a valid strap tag issued by the
Department to a commercial food fisherman; or

2)  It was legally landed in another state for
commercial purposes and has affixed a valid tag issued by
said state’s marine fishery authority; or

3)  It is packed or contained for shipment, either
fresh or frozen, and accompanied by a bill-of-lading with a
destination to a state other than Delaware; or

4)  It was legally landed in another state for non
commercial purposes by the person in possession of said
striped bass and there is affixed to either the striped bass or
the container in which the striped bass is contained a tag that
depicts the name and address of the person landing said
striped bass and the date, location, and state in which said
striped bass was landed; or

5)  It is the product of a legal aquaculture operation
and the person in possession has a written bill of sale or
receipt for said striped bass.

d)  Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for
any commercial finfisherman to possess any striped bass for
which the total length has been altered in any way prior to
selling, trading or bartering said striped bass.

e)  The words “land” and “landed” shall mean to put or
cause to go on shore from  a vessel.

f)  It shall be unlawful for any person, except a
commercial finfisherman authorized to fish during
Delaware’s commercial striped bass fishery, to land any
striped bass that measures less than twenty four (24) inches
in total length.

See 4 DE Reg. 230 (7/1/00)
g)  It shall be unlawful for a commercial finfisherman

authorized to fish during Delaware’s commercial striped
bass fishery to land any striped bass that measures less than
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twenty (20) inches in total length or more than 32 inches in
total length.  (Note-The 32 inches maximum commercial
size limit may be dropped if approved by the Striped Bass
Fishery Management Board.)

See 3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00)

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 8,  Striped Bass
Commercial Fishing Seasons; Quotas; Tagging And
Reporting Requirements.

a)  It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman using a gill net to take and reduce to possession
any striped bass at any time except when said commercial
food fisherman is authorized by the Department to
participate in a commercial gill net fishery for striped bass
established herein.  A commercial food fisherman may use a
gill net to take and reduce to possession striped bass during
the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on March 1 and ending at
4:00 p.m. on April 30 next ensuing.  A commercial food
fisherman may use a gill net to take and reduce to possession
striped bass during the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on
November 15 and ending at 4:00 p.m. on December 31 next
ensuing provided at least two (2) percent of the commercial
allocation of striped bass for the gill net fishery, as
determined by the Department, was not landed in the March
- April gill net fishery.  In order for a commercial food
fisherman  to be authorized by the Department to participate
in a commercial gill net fishery, said commercial food
fisherman shall have a valid food fishing equipment permit
for a gill net and shall register in writing with the
Department to participate in said fishery by February 15 for
the March - April gill net fishery and by November 1 for the
December gill net fishery.

b)  It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman using a hook and line to take and reduce to
possession any striped bass at any time except when said
commercial food fisherman is authorized by the Department
to participate in a commercial hook and line fishery for
striped bass established herein.  A commercial food
fisherman may use a hook and line to take and reduce to
possession striped bass during the period beginning at 12:01
a.m. on September 1 and ending at 4:00 p.m. on December
31 next ensuing.  In order for a commercial food fisherman
to be authorized to participate in the commercial hook and
line fishery, said commercial food fisherman shall register in
writing with the Department to participate in said fishery by
August 15.

c)  It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman using a hook and line, during the striped bass
hook and line fishery established for subsection (b) herein, to
take striped bass by means of a gill net or to have any gill net
on board or to otherwise have in possession on or near his
person any gill net.

d)  The striped bass gill net fishery in March - April, the
striped bass gill net fishery in November - December and the

striped bass hook and line fishery in September - December
shall be considered separate striped bass fisheries. Each
participant in a striped bass fishery shall be assigned an
equal share of the total pounds of striped bass allotted by the
Department to that fishery.  A share shall be determined by
dividing the number of pre-registered participants in that
fishery into the total pounds of striped bass allotted to that
fishery by the Department.  The total pounds of striped bass
allotted to each fishery by the Department shall be as
follows: 95% of the State’s commercial quota, as determined
by the ASMFC, for the March - April gill net fishery, 10% of
the State’s commercial quota for the September - December
hook and line fishery and, provided that in excess of two (2)
% of the March - April gill net fishery allocation was not
landed, said remainder for the November - December gill net
fishery.  Any overage of the State’s commercial quota will
be subtracted from the next year’s commercial quota
proportionally to the appropriate fishery.  

e)  It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to land, during a striped bass fishing season, more
than the total pounds assigned by the Department to said
individual commercial food fisherman.

f)  It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to possess any striped bass that does not have
locked into place through the mouth and gill a tag issued to
said commercial fisherman by the Department.  Said tag
shall be locked into place immediately after taking said
striped bass.

g)  The Department shall issue tags to commercial food
fishermen who register in writing with the Department to
participate in a striped bass fishery.  Each participant shall
initially be issued a quantity of  tags that is to be determined
by the Department by dividing said participants assigned
share in pounds by the estimated weight of a striped bass
expected to be landed.  If a commercial food fisherman
needs additional tags to fulfill his or her assigned share, the
Department shall issue additional tags after verifying the
balance of the share from reports submitted by an official
weigh station to the Department.

h)  It shall be unlawful for a commercial food fisherman
who has been is authorized to be issued striped bass tags by
the Department to transfer said tags to another person
commercial food fisherman, authorized to participate in the
same striped bass fishery, provided said transfer is made
prior to said tags being issued by the Department.

i)  It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to apply a tag to a striped bass unless said tag had
been issued or legally transferred to said commercial food
fisherman by the Department.

j)  It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to apply a tag to a striped bass if said tag had
previously been applied to another striped bass.

k)  It shall be unlawful for any commercial food
fisherman to sell, barter or trade any striped bass, to attempt
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to sell, barter or trade any striped bass or to transport, to have
transported or to attempt to have transported any striped bass
out of the state unless said striped bass has been weighed and
tagged by an official weigh station.

l)  The Department shall appoint individuals and their
agents as official weigh stations to weigh and tag all striped
bass landed in a commercial striped bass fishery.  Official
weigh stations shall be compensated by the Department for
each striped bass weighed and tagged.  An official weigh
station shall enter into an agreement with the Department to
maintain records and report on a regular basis each
commercial food fisherman’s daily landings of striped bass
weighed and tagged at said station.  The Department shall
provide official weigh stations with tags to be applied to
each striped bass weighed.

m)  Each commercial food fisherman participating in a
striped bass fishery shall file an acceptable report with the
Department on forms provided by the Department on all
striped bass landed during said fishery.  Each report shall be
filed with the Department within 30 days after the end date
of each fishery.  All unused tags issued or legally transferred
to a commercial food fisherman shall be returned to the
Department with said report.  Failure to file an acceptable
report or failure to return all unused tags may disqualify the
commercial food fisherman from future striped bass
fisheries.

See 1 DE Reg 270 (9/1/97)

Tidal Finfish Regulation 9.  Bluefish Possession Limits.
a)  Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for

any recreational fisherman to have in possession more than
ten (10) fifteen (15) bluefish (Pomatomus saltatrix) at or
between the lace caught and his/her personal abode or
temporary or transient place of lodging).

Tidal Finfish Regulation 10.  Weakfish Size Limits;
Possession Limits; Seasons.

a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to possess
weakfish Cynoscion regalis taken with a hook and line, that
measure less than thirteen (13) inches, total length.

b)  It shall be unlawful for any person to whom the
Department has issued a commercial food fishing license
and a food fishing equipment permit for hook and line to
have more than six (6) weakfish in possession during the
period beginning at 12:01 AM on May 1 and ending at
midnight on October 31 except on four specific days of the
week as indicated by the Department on said person’s food
fishing equipment permit for hook and line.

c)  It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been
issued a valid commercial food fishing license and a valid
food fishing equipment permit for equipment other than a
hook and line to possess weakfish, lawfully taken by use of
such permitted food fishing equipment, that measure less
than twelve (12) inches, total length.

d)  It shall be unlawful for any person, except a person
with a valid commercial food fishing license, to have in
possession more than six (6) weakfish, not to include
weakfish in one’s personal abode or temporary or transient
place of lodging.  A person may have weakfish in possession
that measure no less than twelve (12) inches, total length,
and in excess of six (6) if said person has a valid bill-of-sale
or receipt for said weakfish that indicates the date said
weakfish were received, the number of said weakfish
received and the name, address and signature of the
commercial food fisherman who legally caught said
weakfish or a bill-of-sale or receipt from a person who is a
licensed retailer and legally obtained said weakfish for
resale.

e)  It shall be unlawful for any person to fish with any
gill net in the Delaware Bay or Atlantic Ocean or to take and
reduce to possession any weakfish from the Delaware Bay or
the Atlantic Ocean with any fishing equipment other than a
hook and line during the following periods of time:

Beginning at 12:01 AM on May 1, 2000 2001and
ending at midnight on May 9,2000 2001;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 12, 2000 11,2001and
ending at midnight on May 14, 2000 13, 2001;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 19, 2000 18,2001and
ending at midnight on May 21, 2000 20, 2001;

beginning at 12:01 AM on May 26, 2000 25,2001and
ending at midnight on May 28, 2000; 27, 2001;

beginning at 12:01 AM on June 2, 2000 1, 2001and
ending at midnight on June 4, 2000; 3, 2001;

beginning at 12:01 AM on June 9, 2000 8, 2001and
ending at midnight on June 11, 2000; 10, 2001;

beginning at 12:01 AM on June 16, 2000 15, 2001and
ending at midnight on June 18, 2000; 17, 2001;

and beginning 12:01 AM on June 24, 2000 2001and
ending at midnight on June 30, 2000 2001.”

See 1 DE Reg 1770 (5/1/98)
See 2 DE Reg 1904 (4/1/99)
See 3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00)
f)  The Department shall indicate on a persons food

fishing equipment permit for hook and line four (4) specific
days of the week during the period May 1 through October
31, selected by said person when applying for said permit, as
to when said permit is valid to take in excess of six (6)
weakfish per day.  These four days of the week shall not be
changed at any time during the remainder of the calendar
year.

g)  It shall be unlawful for any person with a food
fishing equipment permit for hook and line to possess more
than fourteen (14) weakfish while on the same vessel with
another person who also has a food fishing equipment permit
for hook and line unless each person’s food fishing
equipment permit for hook and line specifies the same day of
the week in question for taking in excess of six (6) weakfish.

See 1 DE Reg 1770 (5/1/98)
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See 2 DE Reg 1904 (4/1/99)
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 14.  Spanish Mackerel Size
Limit And Creel Limit.

a)  Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for
any person to possess any Spanish mackerel,
(Scomberomorus maculatus), that measure less than fourteen
(14) inches total length.

b)  Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful for
any recreational fisherman to have in possession more than
ten (10) fifteen (15) Spanish mackerel at or between the
place caught and his/her personal abode or temporary or
transient place of lodging.

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 24 Fish Pot Requirements.
a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to fish, set, place,

use or tend any fish pot in the tidal waters of this state unless
said fish pot has an escape vent placed in a lower corner of
the parlor portion of said pot which complies with one of the
following minimum sizes:  1.125 inches by 5.75 inches; or a
circular vent 2 inches in diameter; or a square vent with sides
of 1.5 inches, inside measure. Pots constructed of wooden
lathes must have spacing of at least 1.125 inches between
one set of lathes.

b)  It shall be unlawful for any person to fish, set, place,
use or tend any fish   pot in the tidal waters of this state
unless said fish pot contains a panel (ghost panel) measuring
at least 3.0 inches by 6.0 inches affixed to said pot with one
of the following degradable materials:

1.)  Untreated hemp, jute or cotton string of 3/16
inches diameter or smaller; or 

2.)  Magnesium alloy timed float release (pop-up
devices) or similar magnesium alloy fasteners; or

3.)Ungalvanized or uncoated iron wire of 0.094
inches diameter or smaller. 

c)  It shall be lawful for a person with a valid
commercial crab pot license to take and reduce to possession
any food fish caught in his/her commercial crab pots
provided said food fish is otherwise legal to possess.  

d)  It shall be lawful for a person with a valid
commercial crab dredgers  license to    take and reduce to
possession any food fish caught in his/her crab dredge
provided    said food fish is otherwise legal to possess.

See 2 DE Reg 1905 (4/1/99)

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR 
CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR 

FAMILIES
DIVISION OF FAMILY SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,
Chapter 9 (16 Del.C. Ch. 9)

The Delaware Department of Services for Children,
Youth and Their Families, Division of Family Services will
hold public hearings to discuss proposed  “Regulations for
Entry onto and Expungement from the Central Child Abuse
Registry” 

The public hearings will be held January 22, 2001 from
5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. in the DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, Delaware; January 25, 2001 from 5:30
p.m. to 7:30 p.m. at the Alexis I. duPont Middle School
Auditorium, 3130 Kennett Pike, Greenville, Delaware; and
February 6, 2001 from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. in the Sussex
Central High School Auditorium, 301 W. Market Street,
Georgetown, Delaware.

Anyone wishing to submit written comments as a
supplement to or in lieu of oral testimony should submit such
comments by January 30, 2001 to:

Linda M. Shannon, Program Manager, Intake and
Investigation, Division of Family Services, 1825 Faulkland
Road, Wilmington DE 19805.  Fax comments  to: (302)633-
2625

PROPOSED REGULATIONS FOR CENTRAL CHILD 
ABUSE REGISTRY

Legislation regarding the Central Child Abuse Registry
was signed into law by Governor Thomas R. Carper on July
18, 2000.  The registry is a database of information about
persons the Division of Family Services has substantiated to
have committed child abuse or neglect.  The statute gives an
individual the opportunity for an appeal hearing prior to
entry on the Central Child Abuse Registry and also provides
an opportunity to be expunged from the registry.  A person
who is expunged from the registry will not be reported to an
employer as having committed child abuse or neglect.

REGULATIONS FOR ENTRY ON TO AND 
EXPUNGEMENT FROM THE CENTRAL  CHILD 
ABUSE REGISTRY UNDER 16 Del.C., CHAPTER 9

1.0  LEGAL AUTHORIZATION
1.1 The legal authority for these regulations is found in

the Delaware Code:  Title 10, Chapters 9 and 10; Title 11,
Chapters 5 and 85; Title 16, Chapter 9; and Title 31, Chapter
3.  

http://www.state.de.us/kids/index.htm
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2.0 PURPOSE
2.1 The purpose of these regulations is to provide due

process to persons to be entered on the Central Child Abuse
Registry. 

3.0 DATE OF IMPLEMENTATION 
3.1 These regulations become effective ten days after

publication in final form in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

4.0 INDIVIDUALS SUBJECT TO THE LAW
4.1 Persons, adults or children, substantiated on or after

April 1, 2001 to have committed child abuse or neglect,
except that the opportunity for administrative expungement
shall be provided for substantiated cases before or after April
1, 2001 unless a disqualifying factor applies.

5.0 DEFINITIONS
“Abuse” as defined in 16 Del.C., § 902 (1) means any

physical injury to a child by those responsible for the care,
custody, and control of the child, through unjustified force as
defined in 11 Del.C., § 468, emotional abuse, torture,
criminally negligent treatment, sexual abuse, exploitation, or
mistreatment.

“Administrative Expungement” as defined in 16 Del.C.,
§ 902A (g) means that the individual's name shall no longer
be reported to employers pursuant to 11 Del.C. § 8563(b) in
a Central Child Abuse Registry check as a substantiated case
from the central registry. Notwithstanding the granting of a
request for administrative expungement under this section,
the individual's name and other case information shall
remain on the central registry as substantiated for all other
purposes, including, but not limited to, the Division's use of
such information for historical, treatment and investigative
purposes, child care licensing decisions, reporting pursuant
to 31 Del.C. §309, reporting to law enforcement authorities,
or any other purpose set forth in 16 Del.C. § 906(b).

“Central Registry” as defined in 16 Del.C., § 902 (2)
means a registry of information about persons the Division
of Family Services has substantiated to have committed
child abuse and neglect.  The persons shall have been
responsible for the care, custody, and control of the child as
defined in 16 Del.C. § 902 (12).  Substantiation may be
made through civil or criminal judicial proceedings or
through civil administrative decision or proceedings where
the burden of proof is at a minimum a preponderance of the
evidence.

“Department” means the Department of Services for
Children, Youth and Their Families.

“Disqualifying Factors” means items that disqualify an
individual from the opportunity for notice and a
substantiation hearing or the opportunity for administrative
expungement.

“Division” means the Division of Family Services.

“Good Cause” means discretionary factors that justify
not reporting a substantiated case of child abuse or neglect to
an employer.  It depends upon the circumstances of the
individual case and the finding of it lies in the discretion of
the decision-maker to which the decision is committed.

“Neglect” as defined in 16 Del.C., §902 means the
failure to provide, by those responsible for the care, custody,
and control of the child, the proper or necessary: education
as required by law; nutrition; or medical, surgical, or any
other care necessary for the child’s well-being.

“Intent to Substantiate” means a person for whom the
Division of Family Services intends to substantiate for child
abuse or neglect, but whose name has not been entered on
the registry.

“Preponderance of the Evidence” is a standard of proof
that is met when a party’s evidence  indicates that the fact “is
more likely than not” what the party alleges it to be.
Evidence which, as a whole, shows the fact to be proved is
more probable than not.

“Substantiated” means that the Division of Family
Services after an investigation has concluded by a
preponderance of the evidence that child abuse or neglect
occurred. In addition, substantiation may occur through civil
or criminal judicial proceedings, failure to request a
Substantiation Hearing within the specified time frame, or
by decision of a hearing officer. 

“Substantiation Hearing” means a hearing held by a
hearing officer to determine whether or not an individual
committed child abuse or neglect.

“Substantiated Person” means a person who has been
substantiated by the Division of Family Services as having
committed child abuse or neglect and has been entered on
the Central Child Abuse Registry.

6.0 SUBSTANTIATION  HEARING    
6.1 NOTICE TO SUBSTANTIATED PERSONS

PENDING ENTRY ON THE CENTRAL CHILD ABUSE
REGISTRY

6.2 At the conclusion of an investigation the Division
shall send written notice, by certified mail, return receipt
requested to the person’s last known address, of its intent to
place a person on the Central Registry for having committed
child abuse or neglect, and shall advise the individual of the
opportunity to request a Substantiation Hearing.  The person
can also be notified by personal delivery and accepting
service of the notice in writing. 

6.3 A person substantiated for child abuse or neglect, or
an attorney acting on his or her behalf,  shall have twenty
(20) calendar days from the date the notice was mailed to
request a Substantiation Hearing.  The request for a
Substantiation Hearing shall be in writing and shall be
received by the Division Director within 20 days of the date
the notice was mailed.

6.4 Though the Division shall still issue its notice and
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the individual shall request a Substantiation Hearing within
twenty (20) days, when such Substantiation Hearing is
requested, such hearing shall be stayed if civil or criminal
proceedings regarding the same allegations of abuse or
neglect are pending.  A person substantiated for child abuse
and neglect awaiting adjudication of criminal or delinquency
charges or awaiting civil court adjudication of abuse or
neglect which were the result of the same child abuse or
neglect incident investigated by the Division shall be offered
a postponement of the hearing by the hearing officer.  He or
she shall be eligible to reschedule a Substantiation Hearing
following the resolution of the criminal or delinquency
charges or other civil court proceeding, unless they pled or
were convicted or were adjudicated for the same incident
investigated by the Division.

6.5 A person substantiated for child abuse or neglect
may waive in writing his or her right to a Substantiation
Hearing and request an Administrative Expungement in
writing to the Division Director.

7.0 DISQUALIFYING FACTORS
7.1 See circumstances identified in Regulation #32.

8.0 PROCEDURES
8.1 Unless postponed or stayed, within twenty (20)

calendar days of receiving a request for a hearing by the
person found to have committed child abuse or neglect
(appellant), a Substantiation Hearing date shall be set, and
such hearing shall be held by the hearing officer within sixty
(60) calendar days of the receipt of such request.

8.2 The burden of proof at the hearing shall be upon the
Division, which shall be required to prove by a
preponderance of the evidence that abuse or neglect
occurred.

8.3 The appellant and the Division may have legal
representation during the hearing. The parties may also
present witnesses and other evidence on their behalf.

8.4 The hearing officer shall have the authority to:
8.4.1 issue subpoenas for witnesses and other

sources of evidence, either at the request of the Division or at
the request of the appellant;

8.4.2 administer oaths to witnesses;
8.4.3 exclude irrelevant, immaterial, insubstantial,

cumulative and privileged evidence;
8.4.4 limit proof, rebuttal and cross-examination if

they are repetitive; and
8.4.5 hold pre-hearing conferences for the

settlement or simplification of issues by consent, for the
disposal of procedural requests or disputes and to regulate
and expedite the course of the hearing.

8.5 An audio tape recording shall be made of the
hearing.  Copies of the tape or request for a transcript of
same may be made at the request of and expense of  the
appellant.

8.6   Following the Substantiation Hearing, the hearing
officer shall issue a written decision to the appellant by
certified mail, return receipt requested and by regular mail to
the Division no later than sixty (60) calendar days of the last
day of the conclusion of the hearing and arguments. 

8.7 The decision shall include a brief summary of
evidence and findings of fact based upon the  evidence and
conclusions of law.  The appellant shall be advised of the
right to request an appeal of the decision to Family Court.

9.0 APPEAL TO FAMILY COURT FOLLOWING
SUBSTANTIATION HEARING DECISION 

9.1 The appellant or the Division may request a review
by Family Court within thirty (30) days of the date of the
hearing officer’s decision.  

9.2 The Family Court review shall be limited in scope
to whether there is substantial evidence to support the
findings of fact or whether any error of law was made.

9.3 Such reviews, hearings and decisions, audio tapes,
transcripts, and records on appeal to Family Court shall be
confidential and not open to the public.  Neither the
Administrative Procedures Act 29 Del.C., Ch.101 nor the
Freedom of Information Act shall apply to such hearings,
any record thereof, or any evidence or documents produced
or introduced at such hearings.  The Division shall have the
discretion to release records, the decision, and hearing
evidence pursuant to 16 Del.C. § 906 (b) (18).

10.0 ENTRY ON TO THE CENTRAL CHILD ABUSE
REGISTRY

10.1 A person found to have committed child abuse or
neglect shall be entered on the Central Registry when he or
she:

10.1.1 fails to make timely request in writing for a
Substantiation Hearing in response to a notice as specified in
law and regulation or failed to make a timely written request
to appeal a similar notice issued prior to the enactment of
this law;

10.1.2 fails to appear at a scheduled Substantiation
Hearing without  prior approval of the hearing officer or fails
to show that good cause existed to postpone the hearing
within ten (10) calendar days after the scheduled hearing
date of the reason for his or her absence from the hearing;

10.1.3 fails to request a Family Court review of the
substantiation hearing officer’s decision;

10.1.4 has been afforded the due process provisions
covered under these regulations or law and the substantiation
was upheld; 

10.1.5 has been convicted or pled guilty to a
criminal offense contained in Subchapters II or V of Chapter
5 of Title 11 including those taken nolo contendere or
subsequently discharged or dismissed under a First
Offenders program pursuant to 10 Del.C. § 1024 and the
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plea or conviction is for the same incident substantiated by
the Division;

10.1.6 has been adjudicated delinquent as a juvenile
for any of the comparable criminal offenses listed for adults
for the same incident investigated by the Division; and

10.1.7 has been substantiated for abuse or neglect at
a civil court hearing or administrative hearing at which the
minimum standard of proof was preponderance of the
evidence for the same incident investigated by the Division.  

11.0 ADMINISTRATIVE EXPUNGEMENT OF
SUBSTANTIATED CASES

11.1 An  application for administrative expungement of
a substantiated case may be made by any individual whose
name is entered on the Central Child Abuse Registry unless
there is one or more disqualifying factors.  Expungement
shall be granted only for good cause, and at the discretion of
the Division considering the factors below:

11.1.1 the nature of the substantiation with respect
to safety of the children who may come  into  the
individual’s direct care;

11.1.2 compliance with a DFS recommended or
court-ordered treatment plan; 

11.1.3 history of substantiated or unsubstantiated
reports of child abuse and neglect;

11.1.4 any evidence of acts  involving weapons,
explosive devices, or threats of harm;

11.1.5 any evidence of domestic violence involving
assaults, stalking, or cruelty to animals;

11.1.6 any evidence of addiction to drugs or
alcohol;  

11.1.7 untreated or treated medical conditions that
present a threat of harm to children;

11.1.8  length of time since the incident;
11.1.9  seriousness of the incident;  
11.1.10  number of incidents;
11.1.11  indication of remorse; and

changed behavior.

12.0  DISQUALIFYING FACTORS
12.1  The entire criminal history of a person, including

all convictions, is required to be reported for any person
seeking employment with a licensed child care provider (11
Del.C. §8561) and for a person seeking employment in a
nursing home, hospital, or other entity licensed pursuant to
Chapter 11 of Title 16 of the Delaware Code (16 Del.C. §
1141), thus a individual shall not be eligible for
Administrative Expungement when he or she has been
convicted, pled guilty, or has been adjudicated delinquent
via plea or adjudication of any criminal offense contained in
Subchapters II or V of Chapter 5 of Title 11, or of the same
offenses if charged or delinquent in which the person was
responsible for the care, custody, and control of the child at
the time of the offense.

13.0  PROCEDURES
13.1  A person placed on the Central Child Abuse

Registry may submit a written request for Administrative
Expungement to the Division Director with the reasons
therefore.

13.2  Within sixty (60) days of receiving the written
request for Administrative Expungement, the Division shall
send its decision by certified mail, return receipt requested to
the person requesting expungement.  The decision shall
include notice of the right to appeal to a hearing officer for a
hearing on the issue of administrative expungement.

13.3  A person placed on the Central Child Abuse
Registry, or an attorney acting on his or her behalf, shall
have twenty (20) calendar days from the posted date of the
notice to request an Administrative Expungement hearing
before a hearing officer.  The request shall be made in
writing to the Division Director.  

13.4 The procedures for an Administrative
Expungement hearing shall be the same as for the
Substantiation Hearing before a hearing officer.  (See
Regulations #24-28)

13.5 The Division and the individual may also consent
to administrative expungement outside the procedures
specified above.

14.0  APPEAL TO FAMILY COURT FOLLOWING
ADMINISTRATIVE EXPUNGEMENT DECISION

14.1  Upon receipt of the hearing officer’s decision,
either the Division or the person requesting expungement, or
an attorney acting on his or her behalf, may file a written
appeal to Family Court within thirty (30) calendar days of
receipt of the decision.

14.2  Such reviews, hearings and decisions, audio tapes,
transcripts, and records on appeal to Family Court shall be
confidential and not open to the public.  Neither the
Administrative Procedures Act 29 Del.C., Ch.101 nor the
Freedom of Information Act shall apply to such hearings,
any record thereof, or any evidence or documents produced
or introduced at such hearings.  The Division shall have the
discretion to release records, the decision, and hearing
evidence pursuant to 16 Del.C. § 906 (b) (18).

15.0  CASES SUBSTANTIATED PRIOR TO APRIL 1,
2001

15.1  A substantiated person can request a
Substantiation Hearing unless they have already been
notified by the Division of the right to appeal and failed to
appeal, have already been given a hearing regarding the
substantiation, or he or she have the circumstances described
in Regulation 10.1.5, 10.1.6 and 10.1.7.

15.2  A substantiated person can request an
Administrative Expungement unless a disqualifying factor
applies.
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.  

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

STATE EXAMINING BOARD OF PHYSICAL 
THERAPISTS

24 DE ADMIN. CODE 2600
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 2604(1) (24 Del.C. 2604(1))

IN RE:  |
 | ORDER

ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS|

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

Written Comments
The State Council for Persons with Disabilities

submitted written comments addressing the proposed
changes to the Rules and Regulations.  The written
comments were contained in a letter dated October 30, 2000,
and initialed by Ms. Rita Mariani, Chairperson of the State
Council for Persons with Disabilities.  The letter was
received by the Division of Professional Regulation on
November 1, 2000, and is attached herein as �Exhibit A.�
The letter stated the support by the State Council for Persons
with Disabilities for the proposed changes to the Rules and
Regulations and an overall  general support for the
expansion of  authorized support activities of non-medical

personnel. 

Findings of Fact

1.  Pursuant to 24 Del.C. �2604(1), the Delaware State
Examining Board of Physical Therapists (the "Board")
proposed to revise to its rules and regulations as more
specifically set forth in the Hearing Notice which is attached
hereto as Exhibit "B" and incorporated herein.

2.  Pursuant to 29 Del.C. � 10115, notice was given to
the public that a hearing would be held on November 21,
2000, at 6:00 p.m. in the Second Floor Conference Room A
of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware to consider the proposed changes.  Notice was
posted in two Delaware newspapers of general circulation as
more specifically set 
forth in the affidavits which are attached hereto as Exhibits
"C" and �D� and incorporated herein.

3.  The notice invited the public to submit written
comments regarding the proposed changes.

4.  A hearing was held on November 21, 2000, at which
a quorum of the State Examining Board of Physical
Therapists was present.

5.  The Board finds the change to Section 1.5.21
clarifies the extent to which a licensee can modify a
treatment prescription without consulting a physician.

6.  The Board finds that support personnel should be
able to perform ambulation and not gait training.   The Board
finds that gait training is an activity that requires additional



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 7, MONDAY, JANUARY 1, 2001

1115

training because the activity includes an intervention which
involves an assessment of quality.

7.  The Board finds that support personnel should be
able to perform transfers instead of transfer training.  The
Board finds that transfer training is an activity that requires
additional training because the activity includes an
intervention which involves an assessment of quality. 

8.  The State Examining Board of Physical Therapists
finds the proposed revisions serve to implement or clarify
specific sections of 24 Del. C. Chapter 26 .

Text and Citation

The text of the Rules and Regulations hereby
promulgated are as it appeared in the Delaware Register of
Regulations, Vol. 4,  Issue 4 (October 1, 2000).  The  text is
attached hereto in �Exhibit E� with the changes noted.

Decision

After consideration of the written comments received,
the Board has decided to change Sections 1.5.21, 5.1.1, and
5.1.3 of the Rules and Regulations.

NOW, THEREFORE, based on the State Examining
Board of Physical Therapists� authority to formulate rules
and regulations pursuant to 24 Del.C. �2604(1), it is the
decision of the State Examining Board of Physical
Therapists to adopt the proposed changes to Sections 1.5.21,
5.1.1, and 5.1.3 of its Rules and Regulations.  A copy of the
Rules and Regulations is attached hereto as Exhibit "E" and
incorporated herein.  Such proposed changes to the Rules
and Regulations shall be effective ten days after the date this
Order is published in its final form in the Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this ______ day of November,
2000.   

DELAWARE STATE EXAMINING BOARD OF 
PHYSICAL THERAPISTS

Phillip N. Barkins, President Lynn M. Doherty
Carolyn Cotter, Vice-President Faith K. Hannagan
Tara J. Manal, Secretary Danna Levy
Phyllis Collins Kathy Watson

ATTEST:

Susan Miccio
Administrative Assistant to the Board

This is to certify that the above and foregoing is a true
and correct copy of the Order of the Delaware State
Examining Board of Physical Therapists in the Matter of
Adoption of Regulations.

1.0  DEFINITIONS
1.1  Consultation (24 Del.C. § 2612)

1.1.1 Consultation in direct access.  A physician
must be consulted if a patient is still receiving physical
therapy after 30 calendar days have lapsed from the date of
the initial assessment.  This consultation must be
documented and could take place at any time during the
initial thirty day period.  The consultation can be made by
telephone, fax, in writing, or in person.  There is nothing in
these rules and regulations or in the Physical Therapy Law
that limits the number of consultations the Physical
Therapist can make on the patient’s behalf.  The consult
should be with the patient’s personal physician.  If the
patient does not have a personal physician, the Physical
Therapist is to offer the patient at least three physicians from
which to choose.  The referral to a physician after the initial
thirty day period must not be in conflict with 24 Del.C. §
2616 (a)(8) which deals with referral for profit.  If no
physician consult has been made in this initial thirty day
period, treatment must be terminated and no treatment may
be resumed without a physician consult. 

1.1.2  Consultation with written prescription from a
physician, dentist, podiatrist, or chiropractor.  A prescription
accompanying a patient must not be substantially modified
without documented consultation with the referring
practitioner.  The consultation can be made by telephone,
fax, in writing, or in person.

1.2  Direct Supervision (24 Del.C. § 2611 (a))
1.2.1  Direct supervision in connection with a

Physical Therapist practicing under a temporary license
means:

1.2.1.1  a licensed Physical Therapist
supervisor shall be on the premises when the individual with
a temporary license is practicing and 

1.2.1.2  evaluations and progress notes written
by the individual with a temporary license shall be co-signed
by the licensed Physical Therapist supervisor.

1.2.2  Direct supervision in relation to a Physical
Therapist Assistant with less than one (1) year experience
means a Physical Therapist shall be on the premises at all
times and see each patient.

1.2.3  Direct supervision in relation to a Physical
Therapist Assistant with one (1) year or more experience
means that a Physical Therapist Assistant must receive on-
site, face to face supervision at least once every fifth
treatment day or once every three weeks, whichever occurs
first.  The supervising Physical Therapist must have at least
one (1) year clinical experience.  The Physical Therapist
must be available and accessible by telecommunications to
the Physical Therapist Assistant during all working hours of
the Physical Therapist Assistant.

1.2.4  The Physical Therapist is responsible for the
actions of the Physical Therapist Assistant when under his/
her supervision. All supervision must be documented.
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1.2.5  Direct supervision in connection with an
Athletic Trainer means a Physical Therapist shall be on the
premises at all times in a clinical setting and see every
patient.

1.2.6  At no time may a Physical Therapist
supervise more than 2 Physical Therapist Assistants, 2
Athletic Trainers or 1 Physical Therapist Assistant and 1
Athletic Trainer.  A Physical Therapist may only supervise 1
Physical Therapist Assistant off site.  Athletic Trainers must
be supervised on site.

1.2.7  Direct supervision in connection with support
personnel means a licensed Physical Therapist or Physical
Therapist Assistant shall be personally present and
immediately available within the treatment area to give aid,
direction, and instruction when procedures are performed.

1.3 On site or on premises (24 Del.C. § 2602 (5)), in
connection with supervision of a Physical Therapist
Assistant or Athletic Trainer, means that the Physical
Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer must be in the same
physical building as the supervising Physical Therapist.  On
site or on premises does not refer to attached buildings.

1.4  Support personnel (24 Del.C. § 2615) means a
person(s) who performs certain routine, designated physical
therapy tasks under the direct supervision of a licensed
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant.  There
shall be documented evidence of sufficient in-service
training to assure safe performance of the duties assigned to
the support personnel.

1.5 Unprofessional Conduct (24 Del.C. § 2616 (7)).
Unprofessional conduct shall include departure from or the
failure to conform to the minimal standards of acceptable
and prevailing physical therapy practice or athletic training
practice, in which proceeding actual injury to a patient need
not be established. 24 Del.C. § 2616 (7).  Such
unprofessional conduct shall include, but not be limited to,
the following:

1.5.1 - Assuming duties within the practice of
physical therapy or athletic training without adequate
preparation or supervision or when competency has not been
maintained.

1.5.2 - The Physical Therapist who knowingly
allows a Physical Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer to
perform prohibited activities is guilty of unprofessional
conduct.

1.5.3 - The Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist
Assistant, or Athletic Trainer who knowingly performs
prohibited activities is guilty of unprofessional conduct.

1.5.4 - The Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist
Assistant who knowingly allows support personnel to
perform prohibited activities is guilty of unprofessional
conduct.

1.5.5 - Performing new physical therapy or athletic
training techniques or procedures without proper education
and practice or without proper supervision.

1.5.6 - Failing to take appropriate action or to
follow policies and procedures in the practice situation
designed to safeguard the patient.

1.5.7 - Inaccurately recording, falsifying, or altering
a patient or facility record.

1.5.8 - Committing any act of verbal, physical,
mental or sexual abuse of patients.

1.5.9 - Assigning untrained persons to perform
functions which are detrimental to patient safety, for which
they are not adequately trained or supervised, or which are
not authorized under these rules and regulations.

1.5.10 - Failing to supervise individuals to whom
physical therapy tasks have been delegated.

1.5.11 -  Failing to safeguard the patient’s dignity
and right to privacy in providing services regardless of race,
color, creed and status.

1.5.12 - Violating the confidentiality of information
concerning the patient.

1.5.13 - Failing to take appropriate action in
safeguarding the patient from incompetent health care
practice.

1.5.14 - Practicing physical therapy as a Physical
Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant or athletic training
as an Athletic Trainer when unfit to perform procedures or
unable to make decisions because of physical, psychological,
or mental impairment.

1.5.15 - Practicing as a Physical Therapist, Physical
Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer when physical or
mental ability to practice is impaired by alcohol or drugs.

1.5.16 -  Diverting drugs, supplies or property of a
patient or a facility.

1.5.17 - Allowing another person to use his/her
license.

1.5.18 - Resorting to fraud, misrepresentation, or
deceit in taking the licensing examination or obtaining a
license as a Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant
or Athletic Trainer.

1.5.19 - Impersonating any applicant or acting as
proxy for the applicant in a Physical Therapist, Physical
Therapist Assistant, or Athletic Trainer licensing
examination.

1.5.20 - Continuing to treat a patient, who initiated
treatment without a formal referral, for longer than thirty
days without a physician consult.

1.5.21 - Substantially modifying a treatment
prescription without consulting the referring physician.

1.5.22 - Failing to comply with the mandatory
continuing education requirements of 24 Del.C. § 2607 (a)
and Section 7 of these rules and regulations.

5.0  SUPPORT PERSONNEL (24 Del. C. § 2615)
5.1 Treatments which may be performed by support

personnel under direct supervision are:
5.1.1  ambulation
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5.1.2  functional activities
5.1.3  transfers
5.1.4  routine follow-up of specific exercises
5.1.5  hot or cold packs
5.1.6  whirlpool/Hubbard tank
5.1.7  contrast bath
5.1.8  infrared
5.1.9  paraffin bath
5.1.10  ultra sound

5.2  Exceptions - A support person may perform:
5.2.1  patient related activities that do not involve

treatment, including transporting patients, undressing and
dressing patients, and applying assistive and supportive
devices without direct supervision, and

5.2.2  set up and preparation of patients requiring
treatment using Physical Therapist modalities.

5.3  Prohibited Activities - support personnel may not
perform:

5.3.1  evaluation, or
5.3.2  treatments other than those listed in Section

5.1.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT PROGRAM

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code,
Section 2221 (3 Del.C. 2221)

MEMORANDUM FOR RECORD

SECRETARY'S ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 
TO IMPLEMENT DELAWARE NUTRIENT 

MANAGEMENT PROGRAM

DATE:  December 13, 2000

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118, I hereby enter this Order
which adopts certain elements, as specified below, of the
Delaware Nutrient Management Program.  Authority for the
regulations appears at Title 3 Del.C. Chapter 22.

1. Brief summary of evidence and information
submitted.

Three public hearings were held.  On October 24, 2000,
one substantive comment was received.  The comment
argued that eight horses were too few to trigger application
of the nutrient management program.

At the second hearing, conducted on October 26, 2000,
one individual commented that the definition of "nutrient"
should exclude water and also "be more specific on what a
nutrient is."  The same individual commented that a person
should be allowed to place a stockpile closer than 100 feet to

a ditch if the slope of land is away from the ditch.
At the third hearing, conducted on November 1, 2000,

an individual commented that the credit requirements are
vague and do not "address a dual category situation" (i.e., a
situation where someone may be both a nutrient generator
and a nutrient handler).  The commenter indicated that he
believed he would need 9, 12 or 15 credits to spread manure
but it was not clear which was needed.  The same individual
commented that a 21-day period should be changed to 30
days to allow additional time for a certificate holder to
prepare for a hearing.  The same individual commented that
the record-keeping requirements are excessive and
unnecessary.  The same individual commented that he did
not think it appropriate that the identity of a complainant be
kept from the person he is accusing.  

In addition to the oral comments received, one written
comment was received during the comment period.  That
written comment was a two-paragraph letter from the
Delaware Equine Council.  The letter contended that
equine's are not "agricultural commodities."  The letter
contends that equine owners should not be required to
implement a nutrient management plan.  The stated basis for
excluding equine owners from implementation of the plan
was that there is not an accurate count of the number of
equines in the state and there are conflicting categorizations
of equines.

2. Brief summary of findings of fact with respect to
the above evidence and information.

As a general matter, the comments received did not
appear to address specific provisions of the proposed
regulations. 

The aforementioned comment received at that first
public hearing (the objection to eight horses triggering
program requirements) probably relates to a provision of the
certification regulations that requires a nutrient generator
certification for owners or operators of animal feeding
operations in excess of eight animal units.  That requirement
is derived in large part from the enabling statute which, at
§2202(2) defines "animal unit" to "be as defined by the
United States Department of Agriculture," as well as
§2247(a) which requires nutrient management plans for
animal feeding operations with greater than eight animal
units.  I hereby find that the regulation is consistent with the
statutory requirements and otherwise serves the purposes
intended by the statute.

The comment at the second hearing, to the effect that
"nutrient" should be defined with more specificity and
should exempt water, has been duly considered.  The
regulatory definition is consistent with the statutory
definition at §2202(12).  The definition is intentionally broad
to ensure that the purposes of the statute are met and that
there will be adequate control over elements that may have
significant impacts on water quality in Delaware,

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/index.htm
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agricultural profitability, and the overall public welfare.  It is
not contemplated that rain water or irrigation water be
considered a nutrient for purposes of the regulation and I
find that it is not necessary to so indicate in the definition of
"nutrient."

The comment regarding the 100 foot distance from the
ditch appears to address §2247(e) of the statute which
requires that the outdoor storage of manure, other than an
approved manure storage structural facility, must be at least
100 feet from any body of water or drainage ditch.  The
regulation itself does not contain such requirement.  

The comment at the third hearing regarding the number
of credits required appears to relate to educational course
work required to obtain certain types of certificates.  The
comment reflects that the commenter believes that the credit
requirements are confusing if one is required to have more
than one type of certificate because it is allegedly unclear
whether the requirements are cumulative.  Nothing in the
regulation suggests that they are cumulative.  For example, if
an individual seeks a commercial nutrient handler certificate
and a nutrient generator certificate, he/she needs only obtain
the number of educational credits required for the certificate
which requires the greater number of credits.  I find that the
regulation is clear and does not need to be changed in this
regard.

With respect to the comment regarding the 21-day
period for a hearing, the comment appears to relate to a
requirement in the statute at §2244(a).  The 21-day
requirement is consistent with the statute and provides a
reasonable amount of time to prepare for the hearing after
the notice of the hearing is sent.  Likewise, the comment
regarding the confidentiality of the identity of complainants
is apparently derived from §2260(c) of the statute, which
does require such confidentiality.  

Finally, the comment at the third hearing objects to the
record-keeping requirements and asserts that they are more
excessive than needed. The comment did not indicate which
specific records are objectionable.  The comment suggests
that the record-keeping requirements should be no more
stringent than those required in §2290 of the statute that
requires the submission of annual reports by persons who
maintain a nutrient management plan.  However, the statute,
at §2247(c) contains requirements for additional and more
specific record-keeping than contained at §2290.  I find that
the record-keeping requirements contained in the regulation
are consistent with the intent of the statute and are necessary
to ensure that the nutrient management program is being
properly implemented.

With respect to the written comment I find that the
statute contemplates that the regulation encompass animal
feeding operations of eight or more equines.  For purposes of
the regulation and the statute, it is not relevant that equines
may be categorized differently with respect to the census of
agriculture or that we may not have an accurate figure of the

number of equines located in the state.

3. Decision to adopt the regulations.
I hereby adopt the regulations attached hereto as

Exhibits "A" and Exhibits "B". 

4. Text and citation of such regulation adopted.
The exact text and citation of the regulations adopted

herein appear in Exhibits "A" and Exhibits "B."

5. The effective date of the Order.
The Order shall take effect 10 days from the date the

Order has been published in its final form in the Register of
Regulations.

John F. Tarburton 
Secretary of the Delaware Department of Agriculture

DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT CERTIFICATION 

REGULATIONS
Developed with the Guidance, Advice and Consent of

the Delaware Nutrient Management Commission.

PREAMBLE

These regulations have been developed pursuant to Title
3, Chapter 22, of the Delaware Code. That statute
established the Delaware Nutrient Management Commission
and authorized the Commission to develop, review, approve,
and enforce nutrient management regulations, including
regulations governing the certification of persons who
conduct certain activities that involve the generation or
application of nutrients to lands or water, or who are
involved in providing advice or consultation regarding such
application of nutrients.  These regulations were developed
by the Commission and the Delaware Department of
Agriculture.  They are adopted with the guidance, advice,
and consent of the Commission.

A. AUTHORITY.
These regulations are promulgated pursuant to the

authority provided by Section 2221, Chapter 22, Title 3, of
the Delaware Code.

B. PURPOSE.
The purpose of these regulations is to establish

certification requirements for certain generators or handlers
of nutrients, or who engage in advising or consulting with
others regarding the formulation, application, or scheduling
of nutrients within the State of Delaware.
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C. DEFINITIONS.
For purposes of these regulations, the following words

or terms shall have the meanings as indicated:
1.  "Animal Feeding Operation" or "AFO" means any

area or facility where animals have been, are, or will be
stabled or confined and fed or maintained for a total of 45
days or more in any 12 month period.  

2.  "Animal unit" shall be as defined by the United
States Department of Agriculture Natural Resources
Conservation Service, and is approximately 1,000 lbs.
"average" live body weight.

3.  "Applicant" means any person seeking a certificate
from the Commission.

4.  "Apply, applying", or any derivation of the word
"apply", as it relates to the application of nutrients, means
the human controlled mechanical conveyance of nutrients to
land for the purpose of applying organic and/or inorganic
nutrients.

5. "Certification" means the recognition by the
Commission that a person has met the qualification
standards established by the Commission and has been
issued a written certificate authorizing such person to
perform certain functions specified in these regulations.

6.  "Commercial nutrient handler" means a person who
applies organic or inorganic nutrients to lands or waters in
the State as a component of a commercial or agricultural
business in exchange for a fee or service charge.

7.  "Commercial processor" means any individual,
partnership, corporation, association or other business unit
that controls, through contracts, vertical integration or other
means, several stages of production and marketing of any
agricultural commodity.

8.   "Commission" or "DNMC" means the Delaware
Nutrient Management Commission.

9.   "Credit" represents a unit of measuring education for
certification as defined by the Commission and is dependent
upon such factors as curricula intensity and class time.

10.   "Direct Supervision" refers to actions by a person
who is certified with the State Nutrient Management
Program and directs individuals within the same
organization/company in applying nutrients. Direct
supervisors hold responsibility for nutrient application
actions for those under his/her supervision.

11.   "Nutrient consultant" means a person who is
engaged in the activities of advising or consulting with
another person who is required to have a certificate under
these regulations, regarding the formulation, application, or
scheduling of organic or inorganic nutrients within the State.
Provided, however, any employee of any federal, State or
local government agency or the University of Delaware, or
other organization duly recognized by the Commission for
such purpose, who provides advice or consultation in his/her
capacity as such an employee, without compensation, shall
not be deemed to be a nutrient consultant unless such advice

and consultation constitutes a direct and substantial part of a
nutrient management plan developed pursuant to these
regulations.

12.  "Nutrient generator" means a person who owns or
operates a facility within the State that produces organic or
inorganic nutrients.

13.  "Nutrient Management Plan" or "plan" means a
plan by a certified nutrient consultant to manage the amount,
placement, timing, and application of nutrients in order to
reduce nutrient loss or runoff and to maintain the
productivity of soil when growing agricultural commodities
and turfgrass.

14.  "Nutrients" means nitrogen, nitrate, phosphorus,
organic matter, and any other elements necessary for or
helpful to plant growth.

15.  "Person" means any individual, partnership,
association, fiduciary, or corporation or any organized group
of persons, whether incorporated or not.

16.  "Private nutrient handler" means a person in the
State who applies organic or inorganic nutrients to lands or
waters he/she owns, leases, or otherwise controls.

17.  "Program Administrator" or "Nutrient Management
Program Administrator" means the exempt employee of the
Delaware Department of Agriculture who is responsible for
the operation of the State Nutrient Management Program.

18.  "Secretary" means the Secretary of the Delaware
Department of Agriculture or his/her designee.

19. "State Nutrient Management Program" or "SNMP"
means all the nutrient management program elements
developed by the Commission, whether or not reduced to
rules or regulations.

D. CERTIFICATION CATEGORIES AND
ACTIVITIES REQUIRING CERTIFICATION.

1.  No later than January 1, 2004, any person who
engages in any of the following activities must have the
applicable certificate or certificates required by and issued
pursuant to these regulations, as follows:

a.  Nutrient generator certification - A nutrient
generator who owns or operates any animal feeding
operation in excess of eight animal units must have a nutrient
generator certificate.

b.  Private nutrient handler certification - A private
nutrient handler who, on an annual basis, applies nutrients to
10 acres or greater of land or waters owned, leased, or
otherwise controlled by such handler must have a private
nutrient handler certificate.

c.  Commercial nutrient handler certification - A
commercial nutrient handler who, on an annual basis, applies
nutrients to 10 acres or greater of land or waters of the state
must have a commercial nutrient handler certificate.

d.  Nutrient consultant certification - A nutrient
consultant who is engaged in the provision of nutrient
management advice or the formulation of a nutrient
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management plan or in nutrient management planning as it
relates to the application or disposal of nutrients at or from a
specific site in the State of Delaware must have a nutrient
consultant certificate.

2.  These certification requirements shall not apply to
individuals who perform services under the direct
supervision of a certified person, provided that the certified
person assures that such individuals act in accordance with
the standards or practices which the certified person would
follow if such person performed the service. Nor shall the
certification requirements of this section apply to persons
who utilize a person certified under these regulations to
conduct the activities identified in this section, provided that
such persons do not engage in any of the activities
themselves and the certified person is certified at the time the
activities are undertaken.

3.  Conditional certifications may be issued for any
reason specified by the Commission and shall be issued for
periods not to exceed one year.

E.  CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS.
Any person who seeks a certification shall file with the

Commission an application on a form provided by the
Commission, along with the application fee.  The minimum
requirements for the certifications follow.

1.  Nutrient generator certificates - To obtain a nutrient
generator certificate, the applicant must take and
successfully complete at least 6 credits of educational course
work as approved by the Commission or Program
Administrator.  Proof of such completion of course work
shall be submitted with the application.

2.  Private nutrient handler - To obtain a private nutrient
handler certificate, the applicant must take and successfully
complete at least 9 credits of educational course work as
approved by the Commission or Program Administrator.
Proof of such completion of course work shall be submitted
with the application.

3.  Commercial nutrient handler - To obtain a
commercial nutrient handler certificate the following criteria
must be satisfied:

a.  The applicant must take and successfully
complete at least 12 credits of educational course work as
approved by the Commission or Program Administrator.
Proof of such completion of course work shall be submitted
with the application.

b.  The applicant must pass a written test approved
by the Commission.

4.  Nutrient consultant - To obtain a nutrient consultant
certificate the following criteria must be satisfied:

a.  The applicant must take and successfully
complete at least 12 credits of educational course work as
approved by the Commission or Program Administrator.
Proof of such completion of course work shall be submitted
with the application.

b.  The applicant must pass a written test approved
by the Commission.

F.  RECIPROCITY.
Notwithstanding the requirements of Section E, supra,

any person may obtain a certificate under these regulations if
all the following requirements are satisfied.

1.  The applicant must submit an application for the
applicable certificate on a form provided by the
Commission, along with the application fee.

2.  The applicant must have a valid certificate or
equivalent authorization, such as a license for the certificated
activity, from another state or organization that requires
qualifications at least as rigorous as those required under
these regulations and approved by the Commission.

3.  The applicant must pass a test approved by the
Commission related to specific Delaware Nutrient
Management requirements.  The Commission may in its sole
discretion waive this test requirement.

G.  CONTINUING EDUCATION.
1.  After a certificate is issued, the certificate holder

must take and successfully complete continuing education
courses approved by the Commission or Program
Administrator in accordance with the following:

a.  Nutrient generator - 6 credits of continuing
education in each three-year period following the issuance of
the certification.

b.  Private nutrient handlers - 6 credits of
continuing education in each three-year period following the
issuance of the certification.

c.  Commercial nutrient handlers - 9 credits of
continuing education in each three-year period following the
issuance of the certification.

d.  Nutrient consultants - 8 credits of continuing
education each year following the issuance of the
certification.

2. Failure to satisfy the continuing education
requirements may result in the revocation of a certificate or
non-renewal of the certificate.

3. Any dispute regarding continuing education credits
may be directed to the Commission which will determine
whether a hearing is necessary to resolve the dispute.

H. DURATION OF CERTIFICATES AND
CERTIFICATION FEES.

1.  Certificates normally will be issued and renewed for
periods of three years for nutrient generators, private nutrient
handlers, and commercial nutrient handlers.  Certified
nutrient consultants will be issued and renewed certifications
annually.

2. Certificate fees are due with the application.  The fee
for a one-year certificate issued to nutrient consultants shall
be $100.00.  The certificate fee for commercial nutrient
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handlers for a three-year certificate shall be $150.00.
3. No fee will be charged for certification of a nutrient

generator or a private nutrient handler. 

I. SUSPENSIONS, MODIFICATIONS, AND
REVOCATIONS.

The Commission may, after notice and opportunity for
hearing, suspend, modify, or revoke any certificate where
the Commission has reasonable grounds to believe that the
certificate holder is responsible for violations of the nutrient
management statute (Title 3, Chapter 22, of the Delaware
Code) or Commission regulations.  The Commission shall
furnish the person accused of a violation with notice of the
time and place of the hearing, which notice shall be served
personally or by registered mail directly to such person's
place of business or last known address with postage fully
paid no sooner than 10 days but within 21 days of the time
fixed for the hearing.

J.  CERTIFICATION RENEWALS.
1.  At least 60 days before the expiration of a certificate,

the certificate holder shall file an application with the
Commission for renewal of the certificate, along with the
certification fee.

2.  Nutrient consultants must file with the application
and fee evidence that the consultant prepared at least one
nutrient management plan during the preceding three-year
period.  If no such plan was prepared, the certificate shall not
be renewed.

3.  The certificate holders must also supply with the
application and renewal fee evidence that they have
complied with the continuing education and record keeping
and reporting requirements contained in these regulations.

4.  Absent good cause for failure to timely file an
application for renewal in compliance with these
requirements, the certificate holder must reapply for the
certificate in the same manner required for the issuance of
the original certificate.

5.  Decisions to refuse renewal of a certificate shall be
final and conclusive unless appealed to the Commission
pursuant to Section 2262, Chapter 22, of the Delaware Code.

K. APPEALS TO THE SECRETARY.
All decisions of the Commission under this regulation

shall be final and conclusive unless appealed to the Secretary
pursuant to Section 2263, Chapter 22, of the Delaware Code.
Provided, however, that the denial of a certificate pursuant to
Sections 2243 or 2245, Chapter 22, of the Delaware Code
shall first be appealed to the Commission which shall hold a
hearing.
L.  RECORD KEEPING.

1.  Nutrient generators shall record and keep the
following available for inspection by the Secretary or the
Commission:

a.  A contemporaneously recorded log that contains
the dates, approximate quantities, locations, and disposition
(stored, shipped, etc.) of nutrients that are applied to land or
transported from land owned, leased or otherwise controlled
by the Nutrient Generator.

b.  A copy of any applicable nutrient management
plan.

2.  Private nutrient handlers shall record and keep the
following available for inspection by the Secretary or the
Commission:

a.  A contemporaneously recorded log showing the
dates, locations, approximate quantities, acreage and
methods of nutrient application.

b.  A copy of any applicable nutrient management
plan.

3. Commercial nutrient handlers shall prepare and keep
available for inspection by the Secretary or the Commission,
a contemporaneously recorded log showing the dates,
locations, approximate quantities, acreage, and methods of
nutrient application.

4. Nutrient consultants shall prepare and/or keep
available for inspection by the Secretary or the Commission,
copies of any written materials prepared by the nutrient
consultants or at their direction that establish how nutrients
are to be managed at specific sites within Delaware, such as
nutrient management plans.

5.  The information required in this section shall be kept
and maintained for a period of 6 years.

M. EFFECTIVE DATE.
These regulations shall become effective on [January

10, 2001 , 2000.]

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE PROCESSING 
OF COMPLAINTS OF VIOLATIONS

Developed with the Guidance, Advice and Consent of
the Delaware Nutrient Management Commission.

PREAMBLE

These regulations have been developed pursuant to Title
3, Chapter 22, of the Delaware Code. That statute
established the Delaware Nutrient Management Commission
and authorized the Commission to develop, review, approve,
and enforce nutrient management regulations, including
regulations governing the investigation and resolution of
complaints concerning alleged violations of the statute or
regulations.  These regulations were developed by the
Commission and the Delaware Department of Agriculture.
They are adopted with the guidance, advice, and consent of
the Commission.
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PART A.  AUTHORITY.
These regulations are promulgated pursuant to the

authority provided by Sections 2221 and 2260, Chapter 22,
Title 3, of the Delaware Code.

PART B.  PURPOSE.
These regulations establish processes for the filing,

investigation, and resolution of complaints against any
person who allegedly has violated the Nutrient Management
Law, Title 3, Chapter 22, of the Delaware Code, or
regulations promulgated pursuant thereto.

PART C.  DEFINITIONS.
For purposes of these regulations, the following words

or terms shall have the meanings as indicated:
1. "Administrator," "Program Administrator," or

"Nutrient Management Program Administrator" means the
exempt employee of the Delaware Department of
Agriculture who is responsible for the operation of the State
Nutrient Management Program, or his or her designee.

2.  "Certificate" means recognition by the Commission
that a person has met the qualification standards established
by the Commission and has been issued a written certificate
authorizing such person to perform certain functions
specified in regulations adopted by the Department of
Agriculture with the Commission's approval.

3.  "Chairman" means the Chairman of the Delaware
Nutrient Management Commission.

4. "Commission" means the Delaware Nutrient
Management Commission.

5. "Person" means any individual, partnership,
association, fiduciary, or corporation or any organized group
of persons, whether incorporated or not.

PART D.  COMPLAINTS AND INVESTIGATIONS.
1. Any person wishing to file a complaint with the

Commission against any person regarding an alleged
violation of the Nutrient Management Law, or any
regulation promulgated pursuant thereto, shall direct such
complaint to the Nutrient Management Program
Administrator.

2. Complaints must be in writing and include at least
the following information:

a) name of complainant;
b) information on how the Administrator may

contact the complainant; and
c) sufficient information to identify the location

of the alleged violation, the nature thereof, and any other
material fact known to the complainant that supports the
complaint.

3. The Commission and the Administrator shall not
investigate or respond to anonymous complaints, and, when
requested, shall keep confidential the identity of
complainants.

4. The Administrator shall provide the members of the
Commission with a copy of any complaint that complies
with the above section 2 requirements as soon as practicable,
but no later than within 14 days of receipt of the complaint.
A copy of any complaint that does not comply with the
section 2 requirements shall, if possible, be returned to the
complainant with an explanation of how the complaint is
deficient. 

5. Unless otherwise directed by the Chairman or the
Commission, the Administrator shall conduct an
investigation sufficient to determine if the complaint appears
to have any merit and whether there is a possible means of
resolving it.  If the Administrator determines that the
complaint may be meritorious, the alleged violator(s) shall
be informed of the complaint and provided an opportunity to
respond.

6. The Administrator shall prepare a report and
present it to the Commission that relates his/her investigative
findings and recommendations.

7. If the Administrator's report indicates that the
complaint appears not to have any merit or that for any other
reason enforcement action is not warranted, the Commission
may dismiss the complaint.

8. If the report indicates that a resolution has been
tentatively agreed to by the alleged violator(s) and the
Administrator, the Commission may authorize approval of
the resolution, pursue another acceptable resolution, or hold
a hearing on the complaint.

9. The dismissal of a complaint or any other resolution
approved by the Commission without holding a hearing shall
take place at a public meeting of the Commission and before
any complaint is dismissed or any resolution is approved by
the Commission, any interested person shall be provided an
opportunity to explain to the Commission why such action
should not be taken or why a hearing should be held.

PART E.  HEARINGS.
1. A hearing shall be held on any complaint if it is

requested by an interested party or the Commission
determines in its sole discretion to hold a hearing.

2. Requests for a hearing may be made at any time
before the Commission authorizes a disposition of the case
without a hearing.

3. Any request for a hearing shall be in writing, unless
made at the Commission meeting at which the case
disposition is considered, and shall include a statement of
how the person requesting the hearing may be affected by
the resolution of the case.

4. The Commission shall send not less than 10 days
written notice of any hearing to the alleged violator(s) and
any other person who has requested notification.

5. All hearings shall be conducted by the
Commission.  Interested persons shall be provided an
opportunity to present relevant evidence that is not unduly
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repetitive.  Formal rules of evidence need not be observed
within the discretion of the Commission.

6. A record of the hearing shall be kept by the
Commission until all appeal periods are exhausted and shall
include all the evidence presented to the Commission.

7. The Commission's decision shall recite: 
(a) its findings of fact;
(b) the manner in which the Commission

construed the law and applied it to the facts; 
(c) any remunerative action a violator must take or

has taken;
(d) any fine a violator must pay pursuant to

Department regulations and a reference to the applicable
regulations; and

(e) any revocation, suspension or modification to
any certificate that has occurred.

8. Any decision of the Commission made pursuant to
PART E. shall be final and conclusive unless a party to such
hearing shall appeal the decision within 15 days of receipt of
notice thereof.

[PART F.  EFFECTIVE DATE.
These regulations shall become effective on January

10, 2001]

HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Section 10027 (3 Del.C. 10027)

IN RE: PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS
ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118 and 3 Del.C. §10027, the
Delaware Harness Racing Commission ("Commission")
hereby issues this Order promulgating a proposed
amendment to the Commission's Rules. Following notice
and a public hearing held on November 28, 2000 on the
proposed Rule amendment to Rule 6.3.3.13, the Commission
makes the following findings and conclusions:

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION 
SUBMITTED

1. The Commission posted public notice of the proposed
rule revisions in the November 1, 2000 Register of
Regulations and in the News-Journal and the Delaware State
News. The proposal contained a proposed amendment to
Rule 6.3.3.13 to strike the existing first two sentences and
add the following provision: "Any claimed horse not
otherwise selected for testing by the State Steward or judges
shall be tested if requested by the claimant at the time the
claim form is submitted in accordance with these rules."

2. The Commission held a public hearing on November
28, 2000. The Commission received a public comment from
Presiding Judge Don Harmon against striking the first two
sentences of the existing Rule 6.3.3.13. Charles Lockhart of
Dover Downs stated that the horsemen do not want to have
all the claimed horses tested.

FINDINGS OF FACT

3. The public was given notice and an opportunity to
provide the Commission with comments in writing and by
testimony at the public hearing regarding the proposed rule
amendments. A summary of the evidence is contained in
paragraph #2.

4. Based on the public comments and the Commission's
own review of the proposed rule, the Commission finds that
the proposed amendment to Rule 6.3.3.13 should not be
adopted in its current form. The Commission agrees with the
comments of the Presiding Judge Harmon that the first two
sentences of the existing Rule 6.3.3.13 should remain in the
Rule. The Commission finds that a new proposed rule should
be published to provide as follows:

6.3.3.13 A post race urinalysis test may be taken
from any horse claimed out of a claiming race. The
trainer of the horse at the time of entry for the race
from which the horse was claimed shall be
responsible for the claimed horse until the post race
urine sample is collected. Any claimed horse not
otherwise selected for testing by the State Steward
or judges shall be tested if requested by the
claimant at the time the claim form is submitted in
accordance with these rules. The successful
claimant shall have the right to void the claim
should the forensic analysis be positive for any
prohibited substance or an illegal level of a
permitted medication. The horse's halter must
accompany the horse. Altering or removing the
horse's shoes will be considered a violation, and
until the Commission chemist issues a report on his
forensic analysis of the samples taken form the
horse, the claimed horse shall not be permitted to be
entered to race.

CONCLUSIONS

5. The proposed rule amendment to Rule 6.3.3.13 was
promulgated by the Commission in accord with its statutory
duties and authority as set forth in 3 Del. C. § 10027. The
Commission concludes that the proposed Rule should not be
adopted in its proposed form since it would strike necessary
provisions of the existing rule. The Commission will not
adopt the proposed amendment to Rule 6.3.3.13 and will
issue a new proposed amendment to the same rule.

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/index.htm
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6. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the publication of this order in the Registrar of
Regulations on January 1, 2001.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 4th day of December, 2000.
Anthony G. Flynn, Chairman
Terry Johnson, Commissioner
Beth Steele, Commissioner
Mary Ann Lambertson, Commissioner
Robert Kerr, Commissioner

6.0  Types of Races
6.1  Types of Races Permitted

In presenting a program of racing, the racing
secretary shall use exclusively the following types of races:

6.1.1  Overnight events which include:
6.1.1.1  Conditioned races;
6.1.1.2  Claiming races;
6.1.1.3  Preferred, invitational, handicap, open

or free-for-all races;
6.1.1.4  Schooling races; and
6.1.1.5  Matinee races

6.1.2  Added money events which include:
6.1.2.1  Stakes;
6.1.2.2  Futurities;
6.1.2.3  Early closing events; and
6.1.2.4  Late closing events

6.1.3  Match races
6.1.4  Qualifying Races (See Rule 7.0 --"Rules of

the Race")
6.1.5  Delaware-owned or bred races as specified in

3 Del. C.§10032
2 DE Reg. 1240 (01/01/99)

6.2  Overnight Events
6.2.1  General Provisions

6.2.1.1  For the purpose of this rule, overnight
events shall include conditioned, claiming, preferred,
invitational, handicap, open, free-for-all, schooling or
matinee races or a combination thereof.

6.2.1.2  At extended meetings, condition sheets
must be available to participants at least 18 hours prior to
closing declarations to any race program contained therein.
At other meetings, conditions must be posted and available
to participants at least 18 hours prior to closing declarations.

6.2.1.3  A fair and reasonable racing
opportunity shall be afforded both trotters and pacers in
reasonable proportion from those available and qualified to
race.

6.2.1.4  Substitute races may be provided for
each race program and shall be so designated in condition
books sheets. A substitute race may be used when a regularly
scheduled race fails to fill.

6.2.1.5  Regularly scheduled races or substitute
races may be divided where necessary to fill a program of
racing, or may be divided and carried over to a subsequent

racing program, subject to the following:
6.2.1.5.1  No such divisions shall be used

in the place of regularly scheduled races which fill.
6.2.1.5.2  Where races are divided in order

to fill a program starters for each division must be
determined by lot after preference has been applied, unless
the conditions provide for divisions based upon age,
performance, earnings or sex.

6.2.1.5.3  However, where necessary to fill
a card, not more than one race per day may be divided into
not more than two divisions after preference has been
applied. The divisions may be selected by the racing
secretary.  For all other overnight races that are divided, the
division must be by lot unless the conditions provide for a
division based on performance, earnings or sex.

6.2.2  Conditions
6.2.2.1  Conditions may be based only on:

6.2.2.1.1  horses' money winnings in a
specified number of previous races or during a specified
previous time;

6.2.2.1.2  horses' finishing positions in a
specified number of previous races or during a specified
period of time;

6.2.2.1.3  age, provided that no horse that
is 15 years of age or older shall be eligible to perform in any
race except in a matinee race;

2 DE Reg. 1243 (01/01/99)
6.2.2.1.4  sex;
6.2.2.1.5  number of starts during a

specified period of time;
6.2.2.1.6  special qualifications for foreign

horses that do not have a representative number of starts in
the United States or Canada;

6.2.2.1.7  the exclusion of schooling races;
or

6.2.2.1.8  Delaware-owned or bred races
as specified in 3 Del. C. §10032; or

2 DE Reg.1241 (01/01/99) 
6.2.2.1.9  any one or more combinations of

the qualifications herein listed.
6.2.2.2  Conditions shall not be written in such

a way that any horse is deprived of an opportunity to race in
a normal preference cycle. Where the word preference is
used in a condition, it shall not supersede date preference as
provided in the rules. Not more than three also eligible
conditions shall be used in writing the conditions for
overnight events.

6.2.2.3  The Commission may, upon
application from the racing secretary, approve conditions
other than those listed above for special events.

6.2.2.4  In the event there are conflicting
published conditions and neither one nor the other is
withdrawn by the association, the one more favorable to the
declarer shall govern.
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6.2.2.5  For the purpose of eligibility, a racing
season or racing year shall be the calendar year. All races
based on winnings will be programmed as Non-Winners of a
multiple of $100 plus $1 or Winners over a multiple of $100.
Additional conditions may be added. When recording
winnings, gross winnings shall be used and cents shall be
disregarded.  In the case of a bonus, the present value of the
bonus shall be credited to the horse as earnings for the race
or series of races for which it received the bonus.  It shall be
the responsibility of the organization offering the bonus to
report the present value of the bonus to the United States
Trotting Association in a timely manner.

1 DE Reg. 503 (11/01/97)
2 DE Reg. 1243 (01/01/99)

6.2.2.6  Records, time bars shall not be used as
a condition of eligibility.

6.2.2.7  Horses must be eligible when
declarations close subject to the provision that:

6.2.2.7.1  Wins and winnings on or after
the closing date of declarations shall not be considered;

6.2.2.7.2  Age allowances shall be given
according to the age of the horse on the date the race is
contested.

6.2.2.7.3  In mixed races, trotting and
pacing, a horse must be eligible under the conditions for the
gait at which it is stated in the declaration the horse will
perform.

6.2.2.8  When conditions refer to previous
performances, those performances shall only include those
in a purse race. Each dash or heat shall be considered as a
separate performance for the purpose of condition races.

6.2.2.9  In overnight events, not more than one
trailer shall be permitted, regardless of the size of the track
except with the approval of the Commission. At least eight
feet per horse must be provided the starters in the front tier.

6.2.2.10  The racing secretary may reject the
declaration to an overnight event of any horse whose past
performance indicates that it would be below the competitive
level of other horses declared to that particular event.

6.3  Claiming Races
6.3.1  General Provisions

6.3.1.1  No horse will be eligible to start in a
claiming race unless the owner has provided written
authorization, which must include the minimum price for
which the horse may be claimed, to the racing secretary at
least one hour prior to post time of its race. If the horse is
owned by more than one party, all parties must sign the
authorization. Any question relating to the validity of a
claiming authorization shall be referred to the judges who
shall have the authority to disallow a declaration or scratch
the horse if they deem the authorization to be improper.

6.3.1.2  Except for the lowest claiming price
offered at each meeting, conditions and allowances in
claiming races may be based only on age and sex.  Whenever

possible, claiming races shall be written to separate horses
five years old and up from young horses and to separate
males from females.  If sexes are mixed, mares shall be
given a price allowance; provided, however, that there shall
be no price allowance given to a spayed mare racing in a
claiming race.

6.3.1.3  Registration certificate in current
ownership, together with the application for transfer thereon
duly endorsed by all registered owners, must be filed in the
office of the racing secretary for all horses claimed within a
reasonable time after the race from which the horse was
claimed.

6.3.1.4  The price allowances that govern for
claiming races must be approved by the Commission.
Claiming prices recorded on past performance lines in the
daily race program and on eligibility certificates shall not
include allowances.

6.3.1.5  The claiming price, including any
allowances, of each horse shall be printed on the official
program adjacent to the horse's program number and claims
shall be for the amount designated, subject to correction if
printed in error.

6.3.1.6  In handicap claiming races, in the
event of an also eligible horse moving into the race, the also
eligible horse shall take the place of the horse that it replaces
provided that the handicap is the same.  In the event the
handicap is different, the also eligible horse shall take the
position on the outside of horses with a similar handicap,
except when the horse that is scratched is a trailing horse, in
which case the also eligible horse shall take the trailing
position, regardless of its handicap. In handicap claiming
races with one trailer, the trailer shall be determined as the
fourth best post position.

6.3.1.7  To be eligible to be claimed a horse
must start in the event in which it has been declared to race,
except as provided in 6.3.1.8 of this subsection.

6.3.1.8  The successful claimant of a horse
programmed to start may, at his option, acquire ownership of
a claimed horse, even though such claimed horse was
scratched and did not start in the claiming race from which it
was scratched.  The successful claimant must exercise his/
her option by 9:00 a.m. of the next day following the
claiming race to which the horse was programmed and
scratched.  Upon notification that the successful claimant has
exercised his/her option, the owner shall present the horse
for inspection, and the claim shall not be final until the
successful claimant has had the opportunity to inspect the
horse.  No horse may be claimed from a claiming race unless
the race is contested. 

6.3.1.9  Any licensed owner or the authorized
agent of such person who holds a current valid Commission
license may claim any horse or any person who has properly
applied for and been granted a claiming certificate shall be
permitted to claim any horse. Any person or authorized
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agent eligible to claim a horse shall be allowed access to the
grounds of the association, excluding the paddock, in order
to effect a claim at the designated place of making claims
and to take possession of the horse claimed.

6.3.1.10  Claiming certificates are valid on day
of issue and expire at the end of the race meeting for which it
was granted. These certificates may be applied for at the
office designated by the association prior to post time on any
day of racing.

6.3.1.11  There shall be no change of
ownership or trainer once a horse is programmed.

6.3.2  Prohibitions on Claims
6.3.2.1  A person shall not claim directly or

indirectly his/her own horse or a horse trained or driven by
him/her or cause such horse to be claimed directly or
indirectly for his/her own account.

6.3.2.2  A person shall not directly or indirectly
offer, or directly or indirectly enter into an agreement, to
claim or not to claim or directly or indirectly attempt to
prevent another person from claiming any horse in a
claiming race.

6.3.2.3  A person shall not have more than one
claim on any one horse in any claiming race.

6.3.2.4  A person shall not directly or indirectly
conspire to protect a horse from being claimed by arranging
another person to lodge claims, a procedure known as
protection claims.

6.3.2.5  No qualified owner or his agent shall
claim a horse for another person.

6.3.2.6  No person shall enter in a claiming
race a horse against which there is a mortgage, bill or sale, or
lien of any kind, unless the written consent of the holder
thereof shall be filed with the Clerk of the Course of the
association conducting such claiming race.

6.3.2.7  Any mare which has been bred shall
not be declared into a claiming race for at least 30 days
following the last breeding of the mare, and thereafter such a
mare may only be declared into a claiming race after a
veterinarian has pronounced the mare not to be in foal.  Any
mare pronounced in foal shall not be declared into a claiming
race.  Where a mare is claimed out of a claiming race and
subsequently proves to be in foal from a breeding which
occurred prior to the race from which she was claimed, the
claim may be voided by the judges at the option of the
successful claimant provided the mare is subjected to a
pregnancy examination within 18 days of the date of the
claim, and is found pregnant as a result of that pregnancy
examination.  A successful claimant seeking to void the
claim must file a petition to void said claim with the judges
within 10 days after this pregnancy examination and shall
thereafter be heard by the judges after due notice of the
hearing to the parties concerned.

1 DE Reg. 503 (01/11/97)
6.3.2.8  No person shall claim more than one

horse in a race either alone, in a partnership, corporation or
other legal entity.

6.3.2.9  If a horse is claimed, no right, title or
interest therein shall be sold or transferred except in a
claiming race for a period of thirty (30) days following the
date of the claiming.

4 DE Reg 336 (8/1/00)
6.3.3  Claiming Procedure

6.3.3.1  A person desiring to claim a horse
must have the required amount of money, in the form of cash
or certified check, on deposit with the association at the time
the completed claim form is deposited.  Such deposit also
may be made by wire transfer prior to 2:00 p.m. on the day
of the claiming race.

6.3.3.2  The claimant shall provide all
information required on the claim form provided by the
association.

6.3.3.3  The claim form shall be completed and
signed by the claimant prior to placing it in an envelope
provided for this purpose by the association and approved by
the Commission. The claimant shall seal the envelope and
identify on the outside the date, time of day, race number and
track name only.

6.3.3.4  The envelope shall be delivered to the
designated area, or licensed delegate, at least fifteen (15)
minutes before post time of the race from which the claim is
being made. That person shall certify on the outside of the
envelope the time it was received, the current license status
of the claimant and whether credit in the required amount
has been established.

6.3.3.5  It shall be the responsibility of the
association to ensure that all such claim envelopes are
delivered unopened or otherwise undisturbed to the judges
prior to the race from which the claim is being made.  The
association shall provide for an agent who shall,
immediately after closing, deliver the claim to the judges'
stand.

6.3.3.6  The claim shall be opened and the
claims, if any, examined by the judges prior to the start of the
race.  The association's auditor, or his/her agent, shall be
prepared to state whether the claimant has on deposit, the
amount equivalent to the specified claiming price and any
other required fees and taxes.

6.3.3.7  The judges shall disallow any claim
made on a form or in a manner which fails to comply with all
requirements of this rule.

6.3.3.8  Documentation supporting all claims
for horses, whether successful or unsuccessful, shall include
details of the method of payment either by way of a
photostatic copy of the check presented, or written detailed
information to include the name of the claimant, the bank,
branch, account number and drawer of any checks or details
of any other method of payment. This documentation is to be
kept on file at race tracks for three (3) years and is to be
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produced to the Commission for inspection at any time
during the period.

6.3.3.9  When a claim has been lodged it is
irrevocable, unless otherwise provided for in these rules.

6.3.3.10  In the event more than one claim is
submitted for the same horse, the successful claimant shall
be determined by lot by the judges, and all unsuccessful
claims involved in the decision by lot shall, at that time,
become null and void, notwithstanding any future
disposition of such claim.

6.3.3.11  Upon determining that a claim is
valid, the judges shall notify the paddock judge of the name
of the horse claimed, the name of the claimant and the name
of the person to whom the horse is to be delivered. Also, the
judges shall cause a public announcement to be made.

6.3.3.12  Every horse entered in a claiming
race shall race for the account of the owner who declared it
in the event, but title to a claimed horse shall be vested in the
successful claimant from the time the horse is deemed to
have started, and the successful claimant shall become the
owner of the horse, whether it be alive or dead, or sound or
unsound, or injured during or after the race. If a horse is
claimed out of a heat or dash of an event having multiple
heats or dashes, the judges shall scratch the horse from any
subsequent heat or dash of the event.

6.3.3.13  A post-race urinalysis test may be
taken from any horse claimed out of a claiming race.  The
trainer of the horse at the time of entry for the race from
which the horse was claimed shall be responsible for the
claimed horse until the post-race urine sample is collected.
[Any claimed horse not otherwise selected for testing by
the State Steward of judges shall be tested  if requested
by the claimant at the time the claim form is submitted in
accordance with these rules.]  The successful claimant
shall have the right to void the claim should the forensic
analysis be positive for any prohibited substance or an illegal
level of a permitted medication. The horse's halter must
accompany the horse. Altering or removing the horse's shoes
will be considered a violation, and, until the Commission
chemist issues a report on his forensic analysis of the
samples taken from the horse, the claimed horse shall not be
permitted to be entered to race.

3 DE Reg 1520 (5/1/00)
6.3.3.14  Any person who refuses to deliver a

horse legally claimed out of a claiming race shall be
suspended, together with the horse, until delivery is made.

6.3.3.15  A claimed horse shall not be eligible
to start in any race in the name or interest of the owner of the
horse at the time of entry for the race from which the horse
was claimed for thirty (30) days, unless reclaimed out of
another claiming race. Nor shall such horse remain in or be
returned to the same stable or care or management of the first
owner or out of another claiming race.  Further, such horse
shall be required to continue to race the track where claimed

for a period of 60 days or the balance of the current racing
meet, whichever comes first, unless released by the Racing
Secretary.

2 DE Reg. 1765 (1/1/98)
3 DE Reg 1520 (5/1/00)

6.3.3.16  The claiming price shall be paid to the
owner of the horse at the time entry for the race from which
the horse was claimed only when the judges are satisfied that
the successful claim is valid and the registration and
eligibility certificates have been received by the racing
secretary for transfer to the new owner.

6.3.3.17  The judges shall rule a claim invalid:
6.3.3.17.1  at the option of the claimant if

the official racing chemist reports a positive test on a horse
that was claimed, provided such option is exercised within
48 hours following notification to the claimant of the
positive test by the judges;

2 DE Reg. 1243 (01/01/99)
6.3.3.17.2  if the horse has been found

ineligible to the event from which it was claimed, regardless
of the position of the claimant.

2 DE Reg. 1243 (01/01/99)
6.3.3.18  Mares and fillies who are in foal are

ineligible to claiming races.  Upon receipt of the horse, if a
claimant determines within 48 hours that a claimed filly or
mare is in foal, he/she may, at their option, return the horse
to the owner of the horse at the time of entry for the race
from which the horse was claimed.

6.3.3.19  When the judges rule that a claim is
invalid and the horse is returned to the owner of the horse at
the time of entry for the race in which the invalid claim was
made:

6.3.3.19.1  the amount of the claiming
price and any other required fees and/or taxes shall be repaid
to the claimant;

6.3.3.19.2  any purse monies earned
subsequent to the date of the claim and before the date on
which the claim is ruled invalid shall be the property of the
claimant; and

6.3.3.19.3  the claimant shall be
responsible for any reasonable costs incurred through the
care, training or racing of the horse while it was in his/her
possession.

6.4  Added Money Events
6.4.1  General Provisions

6.4.1.1  For the purpose of this rule, added
money events include stakes, futurities, early closing events
and late closing events.

6.4.1.2  All sponsors and presenters of added
money events must comply with the rules and must submit to
the Commission the conditions and other information
pertaining to such events.

6.4.1.3  Any conditions contrary to the
provisions of any of these rules are prohibited.
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6.4.2  Conditions
Conditions for added money events must

specify:
6.4.2.1  which horses are eligible to be

nominated;
6.4.2.2  the amount to be added to the purse by

the sponsor or presenter, should the amount be known at the
time;

6.4.2.3  the dates and amounts of nomination,
sustaining and starting payments;

6.4.2.4  whether the event will be raced in
divisions or conducted in elimination heats, and;

6.4.2.5  the distribution of the purse, in percent,
to the money winners in each heat or dash, and the
distribution should the number of starters be less than the
number of premiums advertised; and

6.4.2.6  whether also eligible horses may be
carded prior to the running heats or legs of added money
events.

6.4.3  Requirements of Sponsors/Presenters
6.4.3.1  Sponsors or presenters of stakes,

futurities or early closing events shall provide a list of
nominations to each nominator or owner and to the
associations concerned within sixty (60) days after the date
on which nominations close, other than for nominations
payable prior to January 1st of a horse's two-year-old year.

6.4.3.2  In the case of nominations for futurities
payable during the foaling year, such lists must be forwarded
out prior to October 15th of that year and, in the case of
nominations payable in the yearling year, such lists must be
forwarded out not later than September 1 of that year.

6.4.3.3  Sponsors or presenters of stakes,
futurities or early closing events shall also provide a list of
horses remaining eligible to each owner of an eligible within
45 days after the date on which sustaining payments are
payable. All lists shall include a resume of the current
financial status of the event.

6.4.3.4  The Commission may require the
sponsor or presenter to file with the Commission a surety
bond in the amount of the fund to ensure faithful
performance of the conditions, including a guarantee that the
event will be raced as advertised and all funds will be
segregated and all premiums paid. Commission consent
must be obtained to transfer or change the date of the event,
or to alter the conditions. In any instance where a sponsor or
presenter furnishes the Commission with substantial
evidence of financial responsibility satisfactory to the
Commission, such evidence may be accepted in lieu of a
surety bond.

6.4.4  Nominations, Fees and Purses
6.4.4.1  All nominations to added money

events must be made in accordance with the conditions.
6.4.4.2  Dates for added money event

nominations payments are:

6.4.4.2.1  Stakes: The date for closing of
nominations on yearlings shall be May 15th. The date
foreclosing of nominations to all other stakes shall fall on the
fifteenth day of a month.

6.4.4.2.2  Futurity: The date for closing of
nominations shall be July 15th of the year of foaling.

6.4.4.2.3  Early Closing Events: The date
for closing of nominations shall fall on the first or fifteenth
day of a month. Nominations on two-year-olds shall not be
taken prior to February 15th.

6.4.4.2.4  Late Closing Events: The date
for closing of nominations shall be at the discretion of the
sponsor or presenter.

6.4.4.3  Dates for added money event
sustaining payments are:

6.4.4.3.1  Stakes and Futurities: Sustaining
payments shall fall on the fifteenth day of a month. No stake
or futurity sustaining fee shall become due prior to (Month)
15th of the year in which the horses nominated become two
years of age.

6.4.4.3.2  Early and Late Closing Events:
Sustaining payments shall fall on the first or fifteenth day of
a month.

6.4.4.4  The starting fee shall become due
when a horse is properly declared to start and shall be
payable in accordance with the conditions of the added
money event. Once a horse has been properly declared to
start, the starting fee shall be forfeited, whether or not the
horse starts. Should payment not be made thirty (30) minutes
before the post time of the event, the horse may be scratched
and the payment shall become a liability of the owner who
shall, together with the horse or horses, be suspended until
payment is made in full, providing the association notifies
the Commission within thirty (30) days after the starting
date.

6.4.4.5  Failure to make any payment required
by the conditions constitutes an automatic withdrawal from
the event.

6.4.4.6  Conditions that will eliminate horses
nominated to an event, or add horses that have not been
nominated to an event by reason of performance of such
horses at an earlier meeting, are invalid. Early and late
closing events shall have not more than two also eligible
conditions.

6.4.4.7  The date and place where early and late
closing events will be raced must be announced before
nominations are taken. The date and place where stakes and
futurities will be raced must be announced as soon as
determined but, in any event, such announcement must be
made no later than March 30th of the year in which the event
is to be raced.

6.4.4.8  Deductions may not be made from
nomination, sustaining and starting payments or from the
advertised purse for clerical or any other expenses.
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6.4.4.9  Every nomination shall constitute an
agreement by the person making the nomination and the
horse shall be subject to these rules. All disputes and
questions arising out of such nomination shall be submitted
to the Commission, whose decision shall be final.

6.4.4.10  Nominations and sustaining payments
must be received by the sponsor or presenter not later than
the hour of closing, except those made by mail must bear a
postmark placed thereon not later than the hour of closing. In
the event the hour of closing falls on a Saturday, Sunday or
legal holiday, the hour of closing shall be extended to the
same hour of the next business day.  The hour of closing
shall be midnight of the due date.
  6.4.4.11  If conditions require a minimum
number of nominations and the event does not fill, the
Commission and each nominator shall be notified within
twenty (20) days of the closing of nominations and a refund
of nomination fees shall accompany such notice to
nominators.

6.4.4.12  If conditions for early or late closing
events allow transfer for change of gait, such transfer shall
be to the lowest class the horse is eligible to at the adopted
gait, eligibility to be determined at the time of closing
nominations. The race to which the transfer may be made
must be the one nearest the date of the event originally
nominated to. Two-year-olds, three-year-olds, or
four-year-olds, nominated in classes for their age, may only
transfer to classes for the same age group at the adopted gait
to the race nearest the date of the event they were originally
nominated to, and entry fees to be adjusted.

6.4.4.13  A nominator is required to guarantee
the identity and eligibility of nominations, and if this
information is given incorrectly he or she may be fined,
suspended, or expelled and the horse declared ineligible. If
any purse money was obtained by an ineligible horse, the
monies shall be forfeited and redistributed among those
justly entitled to the same.

6.4.4.14  Early or late closing events must be
contested if six or more betting interests are declared to start.
If less horses are declared to start than required, the race may
be declared off, in which case the total of nominations,
sustaining and starting payments received shall be divided
equally to the horses declared to start. Such distribution shall
not be credited as purse winnings.

6.4.4.15  Stakes or futurities must be contested
if one or more horses are declared to start. In the event only
one horse, or only horses in the same interest start, it
constitutes a walk-over. In the event no declarations are
made, the total of nomination and sustaining payments shall
be divided equally to the horses remaining eligible after
payment to the last sustaining payment, but such distribution
shall not be credited as purse winnings.

6.4.4.16  Associations shall provide stable
space for each horse declared on the day before, the day of

and the day following the race.
6.4.4.17  The maximum size of fields permitted

in any added money event shall be no more than one trailer
unless otherwise approved by the Commission.

6.4.4.18  An association may elect to go with
less than the number of trailers specified in subdivision 17
above.

6.4.4.19  In the event more horses are declared
to start than allowed in one field, the race will be conducted
in divisions or eliminations, as specified in the conditions.

6.4.4.20  In early closing races, late closing
races and overnight races requiring entry fees, all monies
paid in by the nominators in excess of 85 percent of the
advertised purse shall be added to the advertised purse and
the total shall then be considered to be the minimum purse.
If the race is split and raced in divisions, the provisions of
subdivision 21 below shall apply.  Provided further that
where overnight races are split and raced in eliminations
rather than divisions, all starting fees payable under the
provisions of this rule shall be added to the advertised purse.

6.4.4.21  Where a race other than a stake or
futurity is divided, each division must race for at least 75
percent of the advertised purse.

6.4.4.22  In added money events conducted in
eliminations, starters shall be divided by lot. Unless
conditions provide otherwise, sixty percent of the total purse
will be divided equally among the elimination heats. The
final heat will be contested for 40 percent of the total purse.
Unless the conditions provide otherwise, all elimination
heats and the final heat must be raced on the same day. If the
conditions provide otherwise, elimination heats must be
contested not more than six days, excluding Sundays, prior
to the date of the final heat. The winner of the final heat shall
be the winner of the race.

6.4.4.23  The number of horses allowed to
qualify for the final heat of an event conducted in
elimination heats shall not exceed the maximum number
permitted to start in accordance with the rules.  In any
elimination dash where there are horses unable to finish due
to an accident and there are fewer horses finishing than
would normally qualify for the final, the additional horses
qualifying for the final shall be drawn by lot from among
those unoffending horses not finishing.

1 DE Reg. 503 (01/01/97)
6.4.4.24  The judges' decisions in arriving at

the official order of finish of elimination heats on the same
program shall be final and irrevocable and not subject to
appeal or protest.

6.4.4.25  Unless the conditions for the added
money event provide otherwise the judges shall draw by lot
the post positions for the final heat in elimination events, i.e.
they shall draw positions to determine which of the two
elimination heat winners shall have the pole, and which the
second position; which of the two horses that were second
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shall start in the third position, and which in the fourth, etc.  
6.4.4.26  In a two-in-three race, a horse must

win two heats to win a race and there shall be 10 percent set
aside for the race winner. Unless conditions state otherwise,
the purse shall be divided and awarded according to the
finish in each of the first two or three heats, as the case may
be. If the number of advertised premiums exceeds the
number of finishers, the excess premiums shall go to the
winner of the heat. The fourth heat, when required, shall be
raced for 10 percent of the purse set aside for the race
winner. In the event there are three separate heat or dash
winners and they alone come back in order to determine the
race winner, they will take post positions according to the
order of their finish in the previous heat.  In a two-year-old
race, if there are two heat winners and they have made a
dead heat in the third heat, the race shall be declared finished
and the one standing best in the summary shall be awarded
the 10 percent. If the two heat winners make a dead heat and
stand the same in the summary, the 10 percent shall be
divided equally among them.

6.5  Cancellation of a Race
In case of cancellation of races, see Rule 7.3

"Postponement and Cancellation."
6.6  Delaware Owned or Bred Races

6.6.1  Persons licensed to conduct harness horse
racing meets under title 3, chapter 100, may offer non-stakes
races limited to horses wholly owned by Delaware residents
or sired by Delaware stallions.

6.6.2  For purposes of this rule, a Delaware bred
horse shall be defined as one sired by a Delaware stallion
who stood in Delaware during the entire breeding season in
which it sired a Delaware bred horse or a horse whose dam
was a wholly-owned Delaware mare at the time of breeding
as shown on the horse's United State Trotting Association
registration or  eligibility papers.  The breeding season
means that period of time beginning February 1 and ending
August 1 of each year.

6.6.3  All horses to be entered in Delaware owned
or bred races must first be registered and approved by the
Commission or its designee.  The Commission may establish
a date upon which a horse must be wholly-owned by a
Delaware resident(s) to be eligible to be nominated, entered,
or raced as Delaware-owned.  In the case of a corporation
seeking to enter a horse in a Delaware-owned or bred event
as a Delaware-owned entry, all owners, officers,
shareholders, and directors must meet the requirements for a
Delaware resident specified below.  In the case of an
association or other entity seeking to enter a horse in a
Delaware owned or bred event as a Delaware-owned entry,
all owners must meet the requirements for a Delaware
resident specified below. Leased horses are ineligible as
Delaware owned entries unless both the lessor and the lessee
are Delaware residents as set forth in this Rule and 3 Del.C.
section 10032.

6.6.4  The following actions shall be prohibited for
Delaware-owned races and such horses shall be deemed
ineligible to be nominated, entered, or raced as Delaware-
owned horses:

6.6.4.1  Payment of the purchase price over
time beyond the date of registration;

6.6.4.2  Payment of the purchase price through
earnings beyond the date of registration;

6.6.4.3  Payment of the purchase price with a
loan, other than from a commercial lender regulated in
Delaware and balance due beyond the date of registration;

6.6.4.4  Any management fees, agent fees,
consulting fees, or any other form of compensation to non-
residents of Delaware, except industry standard training and
driving fees;  or

6.6.4.5  Leasing a horse to a non-resident of
Delaware.

6.6.5  The Commission or its designee shall
determine all questions about a person's eligibility to
participate in Delaware-owned races.  In determining
whether a person is a Delaware Resident, the term "resident"
shall mean the place where an individual has his or her
permanent home, at which that person remains when not
called elsewhere for labor or other special or temporary
purposes, and to which that person returns in seasons of
repose.  The term "residence" shall mean a place a person
voluntarily fixed as a permanent habitation with an intent to
remain in such place for the indefinite future.

6.6.6  The Commission or its designee may review
and subpoena any information which is deemed relevant to
determine a person's residence, including but not limited to,
the following:

6.6.6.1  Where the person lives and has been
living;

6.6.6.2  The location of the person's sources of
income;

6.6.6.3  The address used by the person for
payment of taxes, including federal, state and property taxes;

6.6.6.4  The state in which the person's
personal automobiles are registered;

6.6.6.5  The state issuing the person's driver's
license;

6.6.6.6  The state in which the person is
registered to vote;

6.6.6.7  Ownership of property in Delaware or
outside of Delaware;

6.6.6.8  The residence used for U.S.T.A.
membership and U.S.T.A. registration of a horse, whichever
is applicable;

6.6.6.9  The residence claimed by a person on a
loan application or other similar document;

6.6.6.10  Membership in civic, community, and
other organizations in Delaware and elsewhere.

6.6.6.11  None of these factors when
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considered alone shall be dispositive, except that a person
must have resided in the State of Delaware in the preceding
calendar year for a minimum of one hundred and eighty
three (183) days.  Consideration of all of these factors
together, as well as a person's expressed intention, shall be
considered in arriving at a determination.  The burden shall
be on the applicant to prove Delaware residency and
eligibility for Delaware-owned or bred races.  The
Commission may promulgate by regulation any other
relevant requirements necessary to ensure that the licensee is
a Delaware resident.  In the event of disputes about a
person's eligibility to enter a Delaware-owned or bred race,
the Commission shall resolve all disputes and that decision
shall be final.

6.6.7  Each owner and trainer, or the authorized
agent of an owner or trainer, or the nominator (collectively,
the "entrant"), is required to disclose the true and entire
ownership of each horse with the Commission or its
designee, and to disclose any changes in the owners of the
registered horse to the Commission or its designee.  All
licensees and racing officials shall immediately report any
questions concerning the ownership status of a horse to the
Commission racing officials, and the Commission racing
officials may place such a horse on the steward's or judge's
list. A horse placed on the steward's or judge's list shall be
ineligible to start in a race until questions concerning the
ownership status of the horse are answered to the satisfaction
of the Commission or the Commission's designee, and the
horse is removed from the steward or judge's list.

6.6.8  If the Commission, or the Commission's
designee, finds a lack of sufficient evidence of ownership
status, residency, or other information required for
eligibility, prior to a race, the Commission or the
Commission's designee, may order the entrant's horse
scratched from the race or ineligible to participate.

6.6.9  After a race, the Commission or the
Commission's designee, may upon reasonable suspicion,
withhold purse money pending an inquiry into ownership
status, residency, or other information required to determine
eligibility.  If the purse money is ultimately forfeited because
of a ruling by the Commission or the Commission's
designee, the purse money shall be redistributed per order of
the Commission or the Commission's designee.

6.6.10  If purse money has been paid prior to
reasonable suspicion, the Commission or the Commission's
designee may conduct an inquiry and make a determination
as to eligibility.  If the Commission or the Commission's
designee determines there has been a violation of ownership
status, residency, or other information required for
eligibility, it shall order the purse money returned and
redistributed per order of the Commission or the
Commission's designee.

6.6.11  Anyone who willfully provides incorrect or
untruthful information to the Commission or its designee

pertaining to the ownership of a Delaware-owned or bred
horse, or who attempts to enter a horse restricted to
Delaware-owned entry who is determined not to be a
Delaware resident, or who commits any other fraudulent act
in connection with the entry or registration of a Delaware-
owned or bred horse, in addition to other penalties imposed
by law, shall be subject to mandatory revocation of licensing
privileges in the State of Delaware for a period to be
determined by the Commission in its discretion except that
absent extraordinary circumstances, the Commission shall
impose a minimum revocation period of two years and a
minimum fine of $5,000 from the date of the violation of
these rules or the decision of the Commission, whichever
occurs later.

6.6.12  Any person whose license is suspended or
revoked under subsection (k) of this rule shall be required to
apply for reinstatement of licensure and the burden shall be
on the applicant to demonstrate that his or he licensure will
not reflect adversely on the honesty and integrity of harness
racing or interfere with the orderly conduct of a race
meeting.  Any person whose license is reinstated under this
subsection shall be subject to a two year probationary period,
and may no participate in any Delaware-owned or bred race
during this probationary period.  Any further violations of
this section by the licensee during the period of probationary
licensure shall, absent extraordinary circumstances, result in
the Commission imposing revocation of all licensure
privileges for a five year period along with any other penalty
the Commission deems reasonable and just.

6.6.13  Any suspension imposed by the
Commission under this rule shall not be subject to the stay
provisions in 29 Del. C. §10144.

2 DE Reg. 1241 (1/1/99)

THOROUGHBRED RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 
Section 10103 (3 Del.C. 10103)

PROPOSED RULES AND REGULATIONS
ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118 and 3 Del.C. §10103, the
Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission
("Commission") hereby issues this Order promulgating
proposed amendments to the Commission's Rules.
Following notice and a public hearing held on September 27,
2000 on the proposed Rules, the Commission makes the
following findings and conclusions:

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/index.htm
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SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION 
SUBMITTED

1. The Commission posted public notice of the proposed
rule revisions in the September 1, 2000 Register of
Regulations and in the News-Journal and the Delaware State
News. The proposal contained five proposed changes to the
Commission's existing rules. The proposed rule amendments
were as follows: 1)  amend Rule 10.07 to provide a
procedure for postmortem examinations; 2)  amend Rule
15.01.2(d) to permit the use of phenylbutazone in two year
old horses; 3) amend Rule 15.02 to provide for
quantification of lasix; 4) amend Rule 15.01.1(b) to expand
the definition of "foreign substance" to include substances
that cause interference with testing procedures; 5)amend
Rule 8.08 to increase the fee for losing mounts by $5.00.

2. The Commission held a public hearing on September
27, 2000 on the proposed rules. The Delaware Thoroughbred
Horsemen's Association ("DTHA") did not oppose the
quantification of lasix under proposed Rule 15.02 but
opposed the proposed penalties. The DTHA also opposed
the revision to Rule 15.01.1(b) expanding the definition of
"foreign substance" The DTHA recommended that the
Commission follow the standards and penalties used by the
Maryland Racing Commission. The DTHA also opposed the
jockey fee increase under proposed Rule 8.08.

3. The Commission Veterinarians agreed with proposed
Rule 15.02 for quantification of lasix. The Veterinarians
believed that adoption of this rule would require stricter
enforcement of lasix treatment times. The Veterinarians
opposed the portion of proposed Rule 15.02 that would
permit intramuscular injections of lasix over 500 mg. The
Veterinarians were also opposed to proposed Rule
15.01.1(b) to expand the definition of a "foreign substance"
and opposed to proposed Rule 15.01(d).

4. The Commission Stewards submitted comments
opposing Rule 15.01.2(d) to permit the use of
phenylbutazone for two year olds.

5. The DTHA submitted written comments from Dr.
Soma who appeared at the Commission's prior meeting. Dr.
Soma is employed by the Pennsylvania Equine Toxicology
& Research Laboratory, West Chester, Pennsylvania. In his
comments to the Commission, Dr. Soma stated that his
research raised questions about any correlation between
specific gravity and the specific dosage of lasix or the timing
of the administration. Dr. Soma stated that his research
indicated that some horses may have a naturally high or low
specific gravity, thereby affecting the test result for specific
gravity. Dr. Soma recommended that the Commission use
specific gravity as the standard in any lasix quantification
rule. The DTHA also submitted a research paper authored by
Dr. Soma, Dr. Cornelius Uboh, Jeffrey Rudy, Elizabeth
Morgan, Kathleen Mengeringhausen, and Richard Sams.
The research paper found no meaningful correlation between

the dose of furosemide and the specific gravity of the
sample. The research found that specific gravity cannot be
reliably used in either predicting the dose of furosemide
administered or in accurately differentiating the bleeders
from the non-bleeders.

6. The Commission received comments from the
Jockey's Guild in support of the jockey fee increase under
proposed Rule 8.08. The Jockey's Guild stated that the
jockey fees had not increased in approximately ten years.

FINDINGS OF FACT

7. The public was given notice and an opportunity to
provide the Commission with comments in writing and by
testimony at the public hearing regarding the proposed rule
amendments. A summary of the evidence is contained in
paragraphs 2-6.

8. The Commission received no comments in opposition
to proposed Rule 10.07. This proposed rule would establish a
procedure for the Commission to conduct a postmortem
examination on a horse that expires on the licensee's
grounds. This proposed Rule is modeled after a rule
currently enacted by the Delaware Harness Racing
Commission. The Commission finds Rule 10.07 is necessary
for the regulation of racing and will be adopted as proposed.

9. The Commission received comments in favor and
against the proposed amendment to Rule 15.01.2(d). The
Commission finds that the use of phenylbutazone in two year
olds will have little overall impact on the health of the two
year olds racing at Delaware Park. The Commission will
adopt the proposed Rule 15.01.2(d).

10. The Commission received extensive comments
regarding proposed amendments to Rule 15.02(d)(g-i). The
Commission finds that the issue of quantification of lasix
and implementation of a penalty schedule requires further
study. The Commission will not adopt the proposed
amendment to Rule 15.02(d)(g-i).

11. The Commission received comments from the
DTHA and the Commission Veterinarians in opposition to
proposed Rule 15.01.1(b). This proposed Rule would expand
the definition of a "foreign substance" to include detection
by the Commission chemist of substances that are foreign to
a horse that cause interference with testing procedures. The
Commission does not agree with the comments of the DTHA
that this rule requires further study. The Commission finds
the rule is necessary to address a situation where a trainer
gives a horse a foreign substance with the intent to mask
other illegal substances. The Commission finds the proposed
Rule 15.01.1(b) should be adopted as proposed.

12. The Commission proposed the amendment to Rule
8.08 to increase the jockey fee on losing mounts by $5.00.
This rule amendment was requested by the Jockeys' Guild
who noted that the fees for losing mounts have not increased
in about ten years. The Commission finds that the $5.00
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increase is more than warranted considering the passage of
time since the last increase. The Commission will adopt the
proposed amendment to Rule 8.08.

CONCLUSIONS

13. The proposed rules were promulgated by the
Commission in accord with its statutory duties and authority
as set forth in 3 Del.C. §10103. The Commission deems
these rules as proposed to be necessary for the effective
enforcement of 3 Del.C. chapter 101 and for the full and
efficient performance of the duties thereunder.

14. The Commission concludes that the adoption of the
proposed rules, with the exception of proposed Rule
15.02(d)(g-i), would be in the best interests of the citizens of
the State of Delaware and necessary to ensure the integrity
and security of thoroughbred racing in the State of Delaware.

15. The Commission therefore adopts the following rule
amendments pursuant to 3 Del.C. §10103 and 29 Del.C.
§10113:

Amendment to Rule 10.07 (proposed amendment #1).
Amendment to Rules 15.01.2 (proposed amendment #2).
Amendment to Rule 15.01.1 (proposed amendment #4).
Amendment to Rule 8.08 (proposed amendment #5).

These rules replace in their entirety the former version
of the Rules of the Delaware State Thoroughbred Racing
Commission.

16. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)
days from the publication of this order in the Registrar of
Regulations on January 1, 2001. Attached hereto and
incorporated herein is the amended Rules marked as Exhibit
A and executed simultaneously this 20th day of November,
2000. IT IS SO ORDERED this 20th day of No v er 2000.

Bernard Daney, Chairman
Duncan Patterso, Commissioner
H. Jam Decker, Comissioner
Carolyn Wilson, Commissioner

Part 8 -- Jockeys and Apprentice Jockeys

8.01  Probationary Mounts:  
Any person desiring to participate at Licensee's

premises as a rider and who never previously has ridden in a
race may be permitted to ride in two races before applying
for a permit as a Jockey or Apprentice Jockey, provided,
however:

(a)  Such person has had at least one year of service with
a racing stable and currently holds a permit issued by the
Commission for a recognized activity in racing;

4 DE Reg. 181 (7/1/00)
(b)  A registered Trainer certifies in writing to the

Stewards that such person has demonstrated sufficient
horsemanship to be permitted such probationary mounts;

(c)  The Starter has schooled such person in breaking

from the starting gate with other horses and approves such
person as being capable of starting a horse properly from the
starting gate in a race;

(d)  The Stewards, in their sole discretion, are satisfied
that such person intends to become a licensed Jockey,
possesses the physical ability and has demonstrated
sufficient horsemanship to ride in a race without
jeopardizing the safety of horses or other riders in such race.
No such person shall be permitted to ride in any such
probationary race without the prior approval of the Stewards.

8.02  Qualification for Permit:  
In addition to satisfying the requirements applicable to

Permittees, et al., imposed by Part 2 of these Rules, in order
to be eligible to have an authorization or permit issued to
him as a Jockey or Apprentice Jockey, a person also:

(a)  Must be an individual 16 years of age or older;
(b)  Must utilize in his or her application his or her legal

name only so that such may be listed in the daily race
program;

(c)  Must have served at least one year with a racing
stable;

(d)  Must have ridden in at least two races; and
(e)  Must, when required by the Stewards, provide a

medical affidavit certifying he or she is physically and
mentally capable of performing the activities and duties of a
Jockey.

8.03  Amateur or Provisional Jockey:
An amateur wishing to ride in races on even terms with

professional riders, but without accepting fees or gratuities
therefor, must be approved by the Stewards as to
competency of horsemanship, may be granted a Jockey's
authorization or permit, and such amateur status must be
duly noted on the daily race program.  A registered Owner or
registered Trainer, upon approval by the Stewards, may be
issued a provisional Jockey's authorization or permit to ride
his or her own horse or horse registered in his or her care as
Trainer.

8.04  Apprentice Allowance:
An apprentice jockey may claim the following weight

allowances in all overnight races except stakes and
handicaps:

(a)  A ten pound allowance beginning with the first
mount and continuing until the apprentice has ridden five
winners.

(b)  A seven pound allowance until the apprentice has
ridden an additional 35 winners.

(c)  If an apprentice has ridden a total of 40 winners
prior to the end of a period of one year from the date of
riding his or her fifth winner, he or she shall have an
allowance of five pounds until the end of that year.

(d)  If after one year from the date of the fifth winning
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mount, the apprentice jockey has not ridden 40 winners, the
applicable weight allowance shall continue for more than
one year or until the 40th winner, whichever comes first. An
apprentice may in no event claim a weight allowance for
more than two years from the date of the fifth winning
mount, unless an extension has been granted pursuant to this
Rule.

(e)  After the completion of the weight allowances as
defined in this Rule, a contracted apprentice may for one
year claim three pounds when riding horses owned or trained
by his or her original contract employer, provided his or her
contract has not been transferred or sold since his or her first
winner.  Such original contract employer shall be deemed
the party to the contract who was the employer at the time of
the apprentice jockey's first winner.

(f)  An apprentice jockey may enter into a contract with
a registered owner or registered trainer qualified under Rule
8.05 for a period not to exceed five years.  Such contracts
must be approved by the stewards and filed with the licensee
or its registrar.  Such contracts shall be binding in all
respects on the signers thereof.  An apprentice who is not
contracted may be given an apprentice jockey certificate on a
form furnished by the licensee or its registrar.

(g)  After the completion of the weight allowances
defined in this Rule, such rider must obtain a jockey license
before accepting subsequent mounts.

(h)  The Commission may extend the weight allowance
of an apprentice jockey when, in the discretion of the
Commission, an apprentice jockey is unable to continue
riding due to:

(1)  Physical disablement or illness;
(2)  Military service;
(3)  Attendance in an institution of secondary or

higher education;
(4)  Restriction on racing;
(5)  Other valid reasons.

(i)  To qualify for an extension, an apprentice jockey
shall have been rendered unable to ride for a period of not
less than seven (7) consecutive days during the period in
which the apprentice was entitled to an apprentice weight
allowance.  Under exceptional circumstances, total days lost
collectively will be given consideration.

(j)  The Commission currently licensing apprentice
jockeys shall have the authority to grant an extension to an
eligible applicant, but only after the apprentice has produced
documentation verifying time lost as defined by this Rule.

(k)  An apprentice may petition one of the jurisdictions
in which he or she is licensed and riding for an extension of
the time for claiming apprentice weight allowances, and the
apprentice shall be bound by the decision of the jurisdiction
so petitioned.

Revised 10/31/96.

8.05  Rider Contracts:  

All contracts between an employer or Trainer and
employee rider are subject to the rules of racing.  All riding
contracts for terms longer than 30 days, as well as any
amendments thereto, or cancellations or transfer thereof,
must be in writing with the signatures of the parties thereto
notarized, be approved by the Stewards and filed with
Licensee or his Registrar.  The Stewards may approve a
riding contract and permit parties thereto to participate in
racing at Licensee's premises if they find that:

(a)  The contract employer is a registered Owner or
registered Trainer who owns or trains at least three horses
eligible to race at the time of execution of such contract;

(b)  The contract employer possesses such character,
ability, facilities and financial responsibility as may be
conducive to the development of a competent race rider;

(c)  Such contracts for Apprentice Jockeys provide for
fair remuneration, adequate medical care and an option
equally available to both employer and Apprentice Jockey to
cancel such contract after two years from the date of
execution.

8.06  Restrictions as to Contract Riders:
No rider may:
(a)  Ride any horse not owned or trained by his or her

contract employer in a race against a horse owned or trained
by his or her contract employer;

(b)  Ride or agree to ride any horse in a race without the
consent of his or her contract employer;

(c)  Share any money earned from riding with his or her
contract employer;

(d)  Repealed: 10/31/96.

8.07  Calls and Engagements:
Any rider not so prohibited by prior contract may agree

to give first or second call on his or her race-riding services
to any registered Owner or Trainer.  Such agreements, if for
terms of more than 30 days, must be in writing, approved by
the Stewards and filed with the Licensee or its Registrar.
Any rider employed by a racing stable on a regular salaried
basis may not ride against the stable which so employs him
or her.  No Owner or Trainer shall employ or engage a rider
to prevent him or her from riding another horse.

8.08  Jockey Fee:
The fee to a Jockey in all races shall be, in the absence

of special agreement, as follows:

Purse     Winning       Second     Third   Losing 
      Mount       Mount      Mount    Mount

$5,000 to   10% of Win $65       $50   $40 $45
9,900 Purse

$10,000 to  10% of Win    5% 5%   $45 $50
14,900 Purse
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$15,000 to  10% of Win    5% 5%   $50 $55
24,900 Purse

$25,000 to   10% of Win     5% 5%   $60 $65
49,900 Purse

$50,000 to    10% of Win     5% 5%    $75 $80
99,900 Purse

100,000 10% of Win     5% 5%  $100 $105
and up Purse

A jockey fee shall be considered earned by a rider when
he or she is weighed out by the Clerk of Scales, except when:

(a)  A rider does not weigh out and ride in a race for
which he or she has been engaged because an Owner or
Trainer engaged more than one rider for the same race;  in
such case, the Owner or Trainer shall pay an appropriate fee
to each rider engaged for such race.

(b)  Such rider capable of riding elects to take himself or
herself off the mount, without, in the opinion of the
Stewards, proper cause therefor.

(c)  Such rider is replaced by the Stewards with a
substitute rider for a reason other than a physical injury
suffered by such rider during the time between weighing out
and start of the race.

8.09  Duty to Fulfill Engagements:
Every rider shall fulfill his or her duly scheduled riding

engagements unless excused by the Stewards.  No rider shall
be forced to ride a horse he or she believes to be unsound nor
over a racing strip he or she believes to be unsafe, but if the
Stewards find a rider's refusal to fulfill a riding engagement
is based on a personal belief unwarranted by the facts and
circumstances, such rider may be subject to disciplinary
action.

8.10  Presence in Jockey Room:
Each rider who has been engaged to ride in a race shall

be physically present in the Jockey room no later than one
hour prior to post time for the first race on the day he or she
is scheduled to ride, unless excused by the Stewards or the
Clerk of Scales and, upon arrival, shall report to the Clerk of
Scales his or her engagements.  In the event a rider fails for
any reason to arrive in the Jockey room prior to one hour
before post time of a race in which he or she is scheduled to
ride, the Clerk of Scales shall so advise the Stewards who
thereupon may name a substitute rider, in which case they
shall cause an announcement to be made of any such rider
substitution prior to the opening of wagering on such race.

(a)  Each rider reporting to the Jockey room shall remain
in the Jockey room until he or she has fulfilled all his riding
engagements for the day, except to ride in a race or to view
the running of a race from a location approved by the

Stewards.  Such rider shall have no contact or
communication with any person outside the Jockey room
other than an Owner or Trainer for whom he or she is riding,
or a racing official, or a representative of Licensee, until
such rider has fulfilled all his or her riding engagements for
the day.

(b)  Licensee shall take measures designed to exclude
from the Jockey room all persons, except riders scheduled to
ride on the day's program, Valets, authorized attendants,
Racing Officials, representatives of Licensee and persons
having special permission from the Stewards to enter the
Jockey room.

(c)  Any rider intending to discontinue riding at a race
meeting prior to its conclusion shall so notify the stewards
not later than after fulfilling his or her final riding
engagement of the day he or she intends to depart.

8.11  Weighing Out:
Each rider engaged to ride in a race shall report to the

Clerk of Scales for weighing out not more than one hour and
not less than 15 minutes before post time for each race in
which he or she is engaged to ride and to report their weight
and overweight, if any, at a time designated by the Stewards.

(a)  No rider shall pass the scale with more than one
pound overweight, without the consent of the Owner or
Trainer of the horse he or she is engaged to ride.  In no event
shall a rider pass the scale with more than five pounds
overweight.

(b)  No horse shall be disqualified because of
overweight carried.

(c)  Whip, blinkers, number cloth, bridle and rider's
safety helmet and rider's safety vest (with a minimum British
rating of #5) shall not be included in a rider's weight.

Revised:  10/20/93

8.12  Wagering:
No rider shall place a wager, or cause a wager to be

placed on his behalf, or accept any ticket or winnings from a
wager on any race, except on his or her own mount to win, or
a combination wager on his or her own mount to win, place
and show, and except through the Owner or Trainer of the
horse he or she is riding.  Such Owner or Trainer placing
wagers for his rider shall maintain a precise and complete
record of all such wagers and such record shall be available
for examination by the Stewards at all times.

8.13  Attire:
Upon leaving the Jockey room to ride in any race, each

rider shall be neat and clean in appearance and wear the
traditional Jockey costume with all jacket buttons and
catches fastened.  Except with the approval of the Stewards,
each Jockey shall wear the cap and jacket racing colors
registered in the name of the Owner of the horse he or she is
to ride, white or light breeches, top boots, safety helmet
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approved by the Commission, safety vest approved by the
Commission and a number on his or her right shoulder
corresponding to his or her mount's number as shown on the
saddle cloth and daily race program.  The Clerk of Scales
and attending Valet shall be held jointly responsible with a
rider for his or her neat and clean appearance and proper
attire.

Revised:  10/20/93

8.14  Viewing Films or Tapes of Race
Every rider shall be responsible for checking the film

list posted by the Stewards in the Jockey room the day after
riding in a race, the posting of same to be considered as
notice to all riders whose names are listed thereon to present
themselves at the time designated by the Stewards to view
the patrol films or video tape of races.  Any rider may be
accompanied by a representative of the Jockey organization
of which he or she is a member in viewing such films or,
with the Stewards' permission, be represented at such
viewing by his or her designated representatives.

Part 10 -- Horses

10.01  Registration required:
  No horse may be entered or raced in the State unless
duly registered and named in the registry office of the Jockey
Club in New York and unless the registration certificate or
racing permit issued by the Jockey Club for such horse is on
file with the Racing Secretary except that, for good cause,
the Stewards, in their discretion, may waive this requirement
if the horse is otherwise correctly identified to their
satisfaction.

For steeplechase racing only, a Certificate for Racing
Purposes Only issued by the National Steeplechase and Hunt
Association in New York can be acceptable within the
meaning of this paragraph.

10.02  Ringers Prohibited:  
No horse may be entered or raced in this state

designated by a name other than the name under which such
horse is currently registered with the Jockey Club in New
York or with any other authority recognized by the
Commission. In the event a horse's name is changed by the
Jockey Club, or any other authority recognized by the
Commission, such horse's former name shall be shown
parenthetically in the daily race program the first three times
such horse races after such name change.

(a)  No person shall at any time cause or permit the
correct identity of a horse to be concealed or altered nor shall
any person refuse to reveal the correct identity of a horse he
owns, or which is in his care, to a Racing Official.

(b)  No horse shall race in this State without a legible lip
tattoo number applied by agents of the Thoroughbred Racing
and Protective Bureau, except that for good cause the

Stewards, in their discretion, may waive this requirement if
the horse is otherwise correctly identified to the Stewards'
satisfaction.  The Stewards shall require that a horse without
a lip tattoo number be lip tattooed within a reasonably
practical time.

(c)  No horse may be entered or raced in this State if
previously involved in a "ringer" case if:  (1) a person having
control of such horse knowingly entered or raced such horse
while designated by a name other than the name under which
such horse was registered with the Jockey Club or any other
authority recognized by the Commission; or (2) such person
having control of such horse participated in or assisted in the
entry or racing of some other horse under the name
registered as belonging to such horse in question.

10.03  Denerving:  
Any horse on which a neurectomy has been performed

shall have such fact designated on its registration certificate
or racing permit.  It shall be the joint responsibility of the
practicing veterinarian who performed the operation and the
Trainer of such denerved horse to insure that such fact is
designated on the registration certificate or racing permit.

(a)  Any horse whose ulnar, radial or median nerve has
been either blocked or removed (known as high nerved), or
whose volar or plantar nerve has been blocked or removed,
unilaterally or bilaterally, shall not be entered or raced in this
State.

(b)  Any horse which has had a posterior digital
neurectomy (known as low nerved) may be permitted to race
provided such denerving has been reported by the Trainer to
the Stewards and such horse has been approved for racing by
the Commission's Veterinarian prior to being entered for a
race.

4 DE Reg. 182 (7/1/00)
(c)  In the event a horse races in violation of this Rule

and participates in the purse distribution, then no protest
thereon will be considered unless submitted in writing to the
Stewards within 48 hours after such race.

(d)  In the event a horse races in violation of this Rule
and is claimed, then no protest thereon will be considered
unless the successful claimant submits such protest in
writing within 48 hours requesting that his claim be voided.
Should the claim be voided, the horse shall be returned to the
Owner who started such horse in such race and the claim
price shall be returned to the claimant.

(e)  A list of all denerved horses shall be posted in the
Racing Secretary's Office.  No person shall report a horse as
having a neurectomy when in fact such horse has not.

10.04  Bleeders:  
Any horse known to have bled from its nostrils during a

race or workout may not be entered or raced without the
prior approval for racing by the Commission's Veterinarian.
A horse which bled for the first time shall not be permitted to
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run for a period of ten (10) calendar days.  A horse which
bleeds a second time shall not be permitted to run for thirty
(30) calendar days.  A horse which bleeds a third time shall
not be permitted to run for ninety (90) days.  A horse which
bleeds a fourth time shall be barred from further racing in the
State of Delaware, except that if a horse's fourth bleeding
incident occurs within one year of the first bleeding incident,
then the horse shall not be barred but shall not be permitted
to run for one year.  If a horse has bled three times but at
least twelve months have passed since the last bleeding
incident, then if the horse bleeds for a fourth time, the horse
shall not be permitted to run for twelve (12) months, and any
further bleeding incidents will prevent the horse from racing
for another twelve (12) month period.  (A positive
endoscopic examination shall be classed as a first time
bleeder).  See Rule 15.02 Bleeder Medication.

4 DE Reg. 182 (7/1/00)

10.05  Health Certificate Required:
  Licensee, within its discretion, may require a health
certificate from an accredited, practicing veterinarian of any
horse stabled or to be stabled on its grounds.

10.06  Workouts:  
No horse may be schooled in the paddock or taken onto

a track on Licensee's grounds for training or workout, other
than during normal training hours as posted by Licensee,
without the special permission of the Stewards.

10.07  Removal from Licensee’s Grounds/Postmortem
Examination

(a)  No dead or sick horse may be removed from
Licensee’s grounds without the prior approval of the
Commission’s Veterinarian.

4 DE Reg. 182 (7/1/00)
(b)  The Commission may conduct a postmortem

examination of any horse that is injured in this jurisdiction
while in training or in competition and that subsequently
expires or is destroyed.  In proceeding with a postmortem
examination, the Commission or its designee shall
coordinate with the trainer and/or owner to determine and
address any insurance requirements.

(c)  The Commission may conduct a postmortem
examination of any horse that expires while housed on a
licensee’s grounds within this jurisdiction.  Trainers and
owners shall be required to comply with such action as a
condition of licensure.

(d)  The Commission may take possession of the horse
upon death for postmortem examination.  The Commission
may submit blood, urine, other bodily fluid specimens or
other tissue specimens collected during a postmortem
examination for testing by the Commission-selected
laboratory or its designee.  Upon completion of the
postmortem examination, the carcass may be returned to the

owner or disposed of at the owner’s option.
(e)  The presence of a prohibited substance in a horse,

found by the official laboratory or its designee in a bodily
fluid specimen collected during the postmortem examination
of a horse, which breaks down during a race constitutes a
violation of these rules.

(f)  The cost of Commission-ordered postmortem
examinations, testing and disposal will be borne by the
Commission. 

10.08  Serviceable for Racing:  
No horse may be entered or raced that:
(a)  is not in serviceable, sound racing condition.  The

Stewards may, at any time, cause a horse on Licensee's
grounds to be examined by a qualified person.

(b)  is posted on a Veterinarian's list or Steward's list or
is suspended in any racing jurisdiction;

(c)  has been administered any drug, medication or
substance foreign to the natural horse in violation of these
Rules;

(d)  is blind or has seriously impaired vision in both
eyes;

(e)  is not correctly identified to the satisfaction of the
Stewards;

(f)  is owned wholly or in part by, or is trained by, an
ineligible person.

10.09  Equipment:  
Whips or blinkers must be used consistently on a horse

or not at all.  Permission to change any equipment used on a
horse in its last previous start must be obtained from the
Stewards.  A horse's tongue may be tied down for a race with
a clean bandage or gauze.  A horse's bridle may weigh no
more than two pounds.  War bridles are prohibited.  No horse
may race in ordinary training shoes.  Bar shoes may be used
for racing only with the permission of the Stewards.

Use on a horse either in a race or workout of any
goading device, chain, electrical or mechanical device or
appliance, other than the ordinary whip, which could be used
to alter the speed of such horse is prohibited, except that
spurs may be used in jumping races and, with the permission
of the Stewards, during workouts.

No whip shall be used that weighs more than one pound
or is longer than 30 inches with one popper; no stingers or
projections extending through the hole of a popper or any
metal part on a whip shall be permitted.

Indiscriminate or brutal use of an ordinary whip on a
horse, as determined by the Stewards in their sole discretion,
is prohibited.

10.10  Sex Alteration:  
Any alteration in the sex of a horse must be reported by

such horse's Trainer to the Racing Secretary promptly, and
the Racing Secretary shall note same on such horse's
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registration certificate.
Rule 10.01 and 10.02 Rev. March 1976.

Part 15 -- Medication, Testing Procedures

15.01  Prohibition and Control of Medication:
  It shall be the intent of these Rules to protect the
integrity of horse racing, to guard the health of the horse and
to safeguard the interests of the public and the racing
participants through the prohibition or control of all drugs
and medications or substances foreign to the natural horse.
In this context:

(a)  No horse participating in a race shall carry in its
body any substance foreign to the natural horse, except as
hereinafter provided.

(b)  No foreign substance shall be administered to a
horse (entered to race) by injection, oral administration,
rectal infusion or suppository, or by inhalation within
twenty-four (24) hours prior to the scheduled post time for
the first race, except as hereinafter provided.

(c)  No person other than a veterinarian shall have in his
possession any equipment for hypodermic injection, any
substance for hypodermic administration or any foreign
substance which can be administered internally to a horse by
any route, except for an existing condition as prescribed by a
veterinarian.

(d)  Notwithstanding the provisions of Rule 15.01(c)
above, any person may have in his possession within a race
track enclosure, any chemical or biological substance for use
on his own person, provided that, if such chemical substance
is prohibited from being dispensed by any Federal law or law
of this State without a prescription, he is in possession of
documentary evidence that a valid prescription for such
chemical or biological substance has been issued to him.

(e)  Notwithstanding the provisions of Rule 15.01(c)
above, any person may have in his possession within any
race track enclosure, any hypodermic syringe or needle for
the purpose of administering a chemical or biological
substance to himself, provided that he has notified the
Stewards:  (1) of his possession of such device; (2) of the
size of such device; and (3) of the chemical substance to be
administered by such device and has obtained written
permission for possession and use from the Stewards.

15.01.1  Definitions:
  The following terms and words used in these Rules

are defined as:
(a)  Hypodermic Injection shall mean any injection

into or under the skin or mucous, including intradermal
injection, subcutaneous injection, submucosal injection,
intramuscular injection, intravenous injection and
intraocular (intraconjunctival) injection.

(b)  Foreign Substances shall mean all substances
except those which exist naturally in the untreated horse at
normal physiological concentration, and shall also include

substances foreign to a horse at levels that cause interference
with testing procedures.

(c)  Veterinarian shall mean a veterinary
practitioner authorized to practice at the race track.

(d)  Horse includes all horses registered for racing
under the jurisdiction of the Commission and for the
purposes of these Rules shall mean stallion, colt, gelding,
ridgling, filly or mare.

(e)  Chemist shall mean the Commission's chemist.
(f)  Test Sample shall mean any body substance

including, but not limited to, blood or urine taken from a
horse under the supervision of the Licensee's Veterinarian
and in such manner as prescribed by the Commission for the
purpose of analysis.

(g)  Race Day shall mean the 24-hour period prior
to the scheduled post time for the first race.

15.01.2  Foreign Substances:  
No horse participating in a race shall carry in its

body any foreign substance except as provided in Rule
15.01.2(c):

(a)  A finding by the chemist that a foreign
substance is present in the test sample shall be prima facie
evidence that such foreign substance was administered and
carried in the body of the horse while participating in a race.
Such a finding shall also be taken as prima facie evidence
that the Trainer and agents responsible for the care or
custody of the horse has/have been negligent in the handling
or care of the horse.

(b)  A finding by the chemist of a foreign substance
or an approved substance used in violation of Rule 15.01 in
any test sample of a horse participating in a race shall result
in the horse being disqualified from purse money or other
awards, except for purposes of pari-mutuel wagering which
shall in no way be affected.

(c)  A foreign substance of accepted therapeutic
value may be administered as prescribed by a Veterinarian
when test levels and guidelines for its use have been
established by the Veterinary-Chemist Advisory Committee
of the National Association of State Racing Commissioners
and approved by the Commission.

(d)  The only approved non-steroidal anti-
inflammatory drug (NSAID) that may be present in a horse's
body while it is participating in a race is phenylbutazone/
oxyphenobutazone in the level stated in subsection (e) or (f).
The presence of any other NSAID at any test level is
forbidden.  Notwithstanding the foregoing, the presence of
any NSAID at any test level is forbidden for a two-year old
horse.

Revised:  1/6/92.
(e)  The test level of phenylbutazone under this

Rule shall not be in excess of two point five (2.5)
micrograms (mcg) per milliliter (ml) of plasma without
penalties in the following format:
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Micrograms per milliliter Penalties
0 to 2.5 No action
2.6 to 4.9 First Offense

$250.00 fine
2.6 to 4.9 Second Offense

  within 365 days -
  $500.00 fine

2.6 to 4.9 Third Offense
  within 365 days -
  $500.00 fine and/
 or Suspension and
 or Loss of Purse

5.0 and Over Fine, Suspension,
  Loss of Purse

(f)  The test level for oxphenobutazone under this
Rule shall not be in excess of two (2) micrograms (mcg) per
milliliter (ml) of plasma.

Micrograms per milliliter Penalties
0 to 2.5 No action
2.6 to 4.9 First Offense

  $250.00 fine
2.6 to 4.9 Second Offense

  within 365 days -
  $500.00 fine

2.6 to 4.9 Third Offense
  within 365 days -
  $500.00 fine and/
  or Suspension and/
  or Loss of Purse

5.0 and Over Fine, Suspension, 
  Loss of Purse

15.02  Bleeder Medication:  
Notwithstanding anything in the Rules of Racing to the

contrary, the Stewards may permit the administration of
Furosemide (Lasix) to control epistaxis (bleeding) to horses
under the following conditions:

(a)  A horse which, during a race or workout at a duly
licensed race track in this State or within the first hour
immediately following such a race or workout, is observed
by the Commission's Veterinarian or the Stewards to be
shedding blood from one or both nostrils or is found to have
bled internally.  (An endoscopic examination of the horse, in
order to confirm bleeding, may be performed by the
practicing veterinarian in the presence of the Commission's
Veterinarian at the detention barn within one (1) hour of
workout or race.)

(b)  A horse which has been certified as a bleeder in
another jurisdiction may be placed on the bleeder list
provided that the other jurisdiction qualified it as a bleeder
using criteria satisfactory to the Commission's Veterinarian
and the Stewards.  It shall be the absolute responsibility of
the Trainer to report bleeders from other jurisdictions to the

Licensee's Veterinarian or Stewards on official forms from
that State prior to entry.

(c)  The Commission's Veterinarian shall be responsible
to maintain an up-to-date "bleeder" list and the list shall be
available in the Racing Secretary's office.

(d)  A horse in the Bleeder Program shall be required to
be brought to [a detention barn an area] designated by the
Licensee and approved by the Commission not later than
three and one-half (3 1/2) hours before post time for the race
in which it is entered [and shall remain in said detention
barn (in its assigned stall) until called to the paddock
prior to post time.]  During the 3 1/2 hour period, the horse
shall be under the care and custody of a groom or caretaker
appointed by the Trainer.  The approved furosemide
medication may be administered by a licensed practicing
veterinarian [in the detention barn] within three (3) hours
before post time.  The practicing veterinarian shall make a
report to the Stewards of the treatment on forms provided by
the Stewards on the same day of treatment. 

(e)  (Deleted.)
(f)  A horse which bled for the first time shall not be

permitted to run for a period of ten (10) calendar days. A
horse which bleeds a second time shall not be permitted to
run for thirty (30) calendar days.  A horse which bleeds a
third time shall not be permitted to run for ninety (90) days.
A horse which bleeds a fourth time shall be barred from
further racing in the State of Delaware, except that if a
horse's fourth bleeding incident occurs within one year of the
first bleeding incident, then the horse shall not be barred but
shall not be permitted to run for one year.  If a horse has bled
three times but at least twelve months have passed since the
last bleeding incident, then if the horse bleeds for a fourth
time, the horse shall not be permitted to run for twelve (12)
months, and any further bleeding incidents will prevent the
horse from racing for another twelve (12) month period.  A
positive endoscopic examination shall be classed as a first
time bleeder.

Revised:  6/19/92.
[(g)  Dosage.  Furosemide (Lasix) shall be

administered intravenously to horses in the Bleeder
Program by a licensed practicing veterinarian, who will
administer not more than 500 milligrams nor less than
100 milligrams, subject to the following conditions:

i.  A horse may receive an intramuscular
administration of furosemide if the Commission
Veterinarian determines that the horse cannot receive an
intravenous administration of furosemide and gives
permission for an intramuscular administration;

ii.  A horse may receive up to 750 milligrams of
furosemide if the Commission Veterinarian grants
permission for a dosage greater than 500 milligrams; 

iii.  The dosage administered may not vary by
more than 250 milligrams from race to race without the
permission of the Commission Veterinarian.
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(h)  Restrictions.  No one except a licensed practicing
veterinarian shall possess equipment or any substance
for injectable administration on the race track complex,
and no horse is to receive furosemide (lasix) in oral form.

(i)  Post-Race Quantification.  As indicated by post-
race quantification, a horse may not carry in its body at
the time of the running of the race more than 100
nanograms of furosemide (lasix) per milliliter of plasma
in conjunction with a urine that has a specific gravity of
1.010 or lower, unless the dosage of furosemide (lasix):

i.  Was administered intramuscularly as
provided in Rule 15.02(g)(i); or

ii.  Exceeded 500 milligrams as provided in Rule
15.02(g)(ii).

If post-race quantification indicates that a horse
carried in its body at the time of the running of the race
more than 100 nanograms of furosemide per milliliter of
plasma in conjunction with a urine that has a specific
gravity of 1.010 or lower, and provided that the dosage of
furosemide was not administered intramuscularly as
provided in Rule 15.02(g)(i) or exceeded 500 milligrams
as provided in Rule 15.02(g)(ii), then a penalty shall be
imposed as follows:

a.  If such overage is the first violation of this
rule within a twelve month period-up to a $250 fine and
loss of purse.

b.  If such overage is the second violation of
this rule within a twelve month period-up to a $1,000 fine
and loss of purse.

c.  If such overage is the third violation of
this rule within a twelve month period-up to a $1,000
fine, up to a fifteen day suspension, and loss of purse.

d.  If the overage caused interference with
the testing procedures, then the penalty for such overage
will be up to a $1,000 fine, a suspension of from 15 to 50
days, and loss of purse. ]

4 DE Reg. 183 (7/1/00)

15.03  Responsibility for Prohibited Administration:  
Any person found to have administered or authorized a

medication, drug or substance which caused or could have
caused a violation of Rules 15.01 or 15.02, or caused,
participated or attempted to participate in any way in such
administration, shall be subject to disciplinary action.

(a)  The registered Trainer of a horse found to have been
administered a medication, drug or substance in violation of
Rules 15.01 or 15.02 shall bear the burden of proof to show
freedom from negligence in the exercise of a high degree of
care in safeguarding such horse from being tampered with
and, failing to prove such freedom from negligence (or
reliance on the professional ability of a licensed
Veterinarian), shall be subject to disciplinary action.

(b)  The Assistant Trainer, groom, stable watchman or
any other person having the immediate care and custody of a

horse found to have been administered a medication, drug or
substance in violation of Rules 15.01 or 15.02, if found
negligent in guarding or protecting such horse from being
tampered with, shall be subject to disciplinary action.

(c)  A licensed Veterinarian shall be responsible for any
medication, drug or substance that he administers, prescribes
or causes to be administered by his direction on a horse.  If
found to have made an error in type or quantity of same
administered and if in reliance upon the correctness thereof a
Trainer races such treated horse in violation of Rules 15.01
and 15.02, such licensed Veterinarian shall be subject to
disciplinary action.

15.04  Reports of Administration:  
Before a licensed Veterinarian administers or prescribes

any drug or restricted substance for a horse, he shall
ascertain by reasonable inquiry whether the horse has been
entered to race at any track and, if the horse has been
entered, he shall not administer or prescribe any drug or
restricted substance within the time or manner restricted by
these Rules.

If, however, an emergency exists involving the life or
health of the horse, he may proceed to treat or prescribe for
the horse but shall report the matter as promptly as
practicable to the State Veterinarian and Stewards.

(a)  Any Veterinarian practicing at any Delaware race
track shall file a daily report with the Stewards and the Track
Veterinarian as to any medication prescribed or administered
or professional service performed.  This report shall be filed
in person or postmarked within a period of forty-eight (48)
hours from the time of treatment.  Detection of any
unreported medication, drug or substance by the
Commission's Chemist in a pre-race or post-race test may be
grounds for disciplinary action against such Veterinarian.

(b)  Such daily reports shall accurately reflect the
identity of the horse treated, diagnosis, time of treatment,
type and dosage of medication, drug or substance and
method of administration.

(c)  Such daily reports shall remain confidential except
that the Commission's Veterinarian may compile general
data therefrom to assist the Commission in formulating
policies or rules and the Stewards may review the same in
investigating a possible violation of these rules.  See Rule
11.02(d) respecting a public list of horses declared to race on
medication.

4 DE Reg. 184 (7/1/00)
(d)  When making an entry, it shall be the duty of the

Trainer or his representative, as required by Rule 11.02(d),
to disclose and declare to the Racing Secretary or his
representative whether said horse will race on any
medication permitted by these rules.

15.05  Report Prior to Race of Cessation or Reduction of
Medication:
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  For any horse entered to run in a race, a timely report of
the elimination or reduction since its last race in the level of
Phenylbutazone and/or similar medications administered to
it at the time of such last race shall be made to the
Commission's Veterinarian by the horse's Owner, Trainer,
attending Veterinarian and/or any other person having
supervision over, or custody of, such horse.

4 DE Reg. 184 (7/1/00)
Violation of this Rule will constitute grounds for

disciplinary action.

15.06  Bettors' Safeguard:  
To help protect against inconsistent performances, a

horse which last raced after having been administered
Phenylbutazone and/or similar medication shall not be
permitted to race without having been administered the same
or similar medication at a comparable level, unless the
Commission's Veterinarian grants his prior, express approval
that such horse may race notwithstanding that the medication
program to which it was subjected at the time of its last race
has subsequently been eliminated or reduced.

4 DE Reg. 184 (7/1/00)
Violation of any aspect of this Rule by an Owner,

Trainer, attending Veterinarian or any other person having
supervision or custody of the horse will constitute grounds
for disciplinary action as provided by these Rules.

15.07  Commission List:  
As a guide to Owners, Trainers and Veterinarians, the

Commission may from time to time publish a list of
medications, shown by brand and generic names,
specifically prohibited for racing.  Such list shall not be
considered exclusive and medications shown thereon shall
be considered only as among those, along with others not so
listed, prohibited by general classification under Rule 15.01.

15.08  Detention Area:  
Each Licensee may provide and maintain on its grounds

a fenced enclosure sufficient in size and facilities to
accommodate stabling of horses temporarily detained for the
taking of sample specimens for chemical testing; such
detention area shall be under the supervision and control of
the Commission's Veterinarian.

4 DE Reg. 184 (7/1/00)

15.09  Horses to be Tested:
  The Stewards may at any time order the taking of a
blood, urine, or saliva specimen for testing from any horse
entered.  Any Owner or Trainer may at any time request that
a specimen be taken from a horse he owns or trains by
Licensee's Veterinarian and be tested by Commission's
Chemist, provided the costs of such testing are borne by the
Owner or Trainer requesting such test.

15.10  Procedure for Taking Specimens:  
(1)  Horses from which specimens are to be drawn shall

be taken to the detention area at the prescribed time and
remain there until released by the Commission veterinarian.
Only the owner, trainer, groom, or hotwalker of horses to be
tested shall be admitted to the detention area without
permission of the Commission veterinarian.

(2)  Stable equipment other than equipment necessary
for washing and cooling out a horse shall be prohibited in the
detention area.

(a)  Buckets and water shall be furnished by the
Commission veterinarian.

(b)  If a body brace is to be used, it shall be supplied
by the responsible trainer and administered only with the
permission and in the presence of the Commission
veterinarian.

(c)  Alicensed veterinarian shall attend a horse in
the detention area only in the presence of the Commission
veterinarian.

(3)  One of the following persons shall be present and
witness the taking of the specimen from a horse and so
signify in writing:

(a)  The owner;
(b)  The responsible trainer who, in the case of a

claimed horse, shall be the person in whose name the horse
raced;  or

(c)  A stable representative designated by such
owner or trainer.

(4)   (a)  All urine containers shall be supplied by the
Commission laboratory and shall be sealed with the
laboratory security seal which shall not be broken, except in
the presence of the witness as provided by subsection (3) of
this section.

(b)  Blood vacutainers will also be supplied by the
Commission laboratory in sealed packages as received from
the manufacturer.

(5)  Samples taken from a horse, by the Commission
veterinarian or his assistant at the detention barn, shall be
collected and in double containers and designated as the
"primary" and "secondary" samples.

(a)  These samples shall be sealed with tamper-
proof tape and bear a portion of the multiple part
"identification tag" that has identical printed numbers only.
The other portion of the tag bearing the same printed
identification number shall be detached in the presence of
the witness.

(b)  The Commission veterinarian shall:
1.  Identify the horse from which the specimen

was taken.
2.  Document the race and day, verified by the

witness;  and
3.  Place the detached portions of the

identification tags in sealed envelope for delivery only to the
stewards.



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 7, MONDAY, JANUARY 1, 2001

1142

(c)  After both portions of samples have been
identified in accordance with this section, the "primary"
sample shall be delivered to the official chemist designated
by the Commission.

(d)  The "secondary" sample shall remain in the
custody of the Commission veterinarian at the detention area
and urine samples shall be frozen and blood samples
refrigerated in a locked refrigerator/freezer.

(e)  The Commission veterinarian shall take every
precaution to ensure that neither the Commission chemist
nor any member of the laboratory staff shall know the
identity of the horse from which a specimen was taken prior
to the completion of all testing.

(f)  When the Commission chemist has reported
that the "primary" sample delivered contains no prohibited
drug, the "secondary" sample shall be properly disposed.

(g)  If after a horse remains a reasonable time in the
detention area and a specimen can not be taken from the
horse, the Commission veterinarian may permit the horse to
be returned to its barn and usual surroundings for the taking
of a specimen under the supervision of the Commission
veterinarian.

(h)  If one hundred (100) milliliters (ml.) or less of
urine is obtained, it will not be split, but will be considered
the "primary" sample and will be tested as other "primary"
samples.

(i)  Two (2) blood samples shall be collected in
twenty (20) milliliters vacutainers, one for the "primary" and
one for the "secondary" sample.

(j)  In the event of an initial finding of a prohibited
drug or in violation of these Rules & Regulations, the
Commission chemist shall notify the Commission, both
orally and in writing, and an oral notice shall be issued by
the Commission to the owner and trainer or other responsible
person no more than twenty-four (24) hours after the receipt
of the initial finding, unless extenuating circumstances
require a longer period, in which case the Commission shall
provide notice as soon as possible in order to allow for
testing of the "secondary" sample.

1.  If testing of the "secondary" sample is
desired, the owner, trainer, or other responsible person shall
so notify the Commission in writing within 48 hours after
notification of the initial positive test or within a reasonable
period of time established by the Commission after
consultation with the Commission chemist.  The reasonable
period is to be calculated to insure the integrity of the sample
and the preservation of the alleged illegal substance.

2.  Testing of the "secondary" samples shall be
performed at a referee laboratory selected by representatives
of the owner, trainer, or other responsible person from a list
of not less than two (2) laboratories approved by the
Commission.

(k)  The Commission shall bear the responsibility of
preparing and shipping the sample, and the cost of

preparation, shipping, and testing at the referee laboratory
shall be assumed by the person requesting the testing,
whether it be the owner, trainer, or other person charged.

1.  A Commission representative and the
owner, trainer, or other responsible person or a
representative of the persons notified under these Rules and
Regulations may be present at the time of the opening,
repackaging, and testing of the "secondary" sample to ensure
its identity and that the testing is satisfactorily performed.

2.  The referee laboratory shall be informed of
the initial findings of the Commission chemist prior to the
making the test.

3.  If the finding of the referee laboratory is
proven to be of sufficient reliability and does not confirm the
finding of the initial test performed by the Commission
chemist and in the absence of other independent proof of the
administration of a prohibited drug to the horse in question,
it shall be concluded that there is insubstantial evidence upon
which to charge anyone with a violation.

(l)  The Commission veterinarian shall be
responsible for safeguarding all specimens while in his
possession and shall cause the specimens to be delivered
only to the Commission chemist as soon as the possible after
sealing, in a manner so as not to reveal the identity of a horse
from which the sample was taken.

(m)  If an Act of God, power failure, accident,
strike or other action beyond the control of the Commission
occurs, the results of the primary official test shall be
accepted as prima facie evidence.

15.11  Commission Chemist:  
The Commission's Chemist, who shall be a member of

the Association of Official Racing Chemists, shall conduct
tests on specimens provided him in order to detect and
identify prohibited substances therein and report on such in
such a manner, and according to such procedures, as the
Commission from time to time may approve and/or
prescribe.
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER
PROCEDURES RELATED TO THE COLLECTION, 
MAINTENANCE AND DISCLOSURE OF STUDENT 

DATA

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND 
INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Secretary of Education seeks the approval of the
State Board of Education to amend Appendix C from the
Handbook for K-12 Education entitled Procedures Related to
the Collection, Maintenance and Disclosure of Student Data.
The amendments change the format of the regulations to the
DOE format and change the references to the State Board of
Education to the Department of Education.  Sections 12.0
and 26.0, which have references to the Delaware Public
Archives have been amended to reflect changes in the
procedures and rules of the Delaware Public Archives.  The
other aspects of the regulations remain unchanged.

The concerns expressed in a letter from the State
Council for Persons with Disabilities have been addressed in
the following ways.

The Council was concerned with the tension between
FERPA’s characterization of an “eligible student” for the
purpose of releasing records at age 18 and the 14 Del. C.
4111 reference to the student being 14 years of age.  The
concern was addressed by adding a new 5.3 to read “Nothing
in these regulations shall be construed to limit the ability of a
pupil who has reached the age of 14 to request the release of
records as provided for in 14 Del. C. 4111”.

The Council expressed concern about the application of
these regulations to Business and Trade Schools and Higher
Education Institutions.  The Department addressed this
concern by changing the last part of 3.0 to read “disclosure
of education records by covered agencies and institutions”
thereby eliminating the words “under the general supervision
of the Department of Education”.

The Department changed 5.1 by removing the words
“with disabilities” from line four, so if applicable, 504
students would be covered by this section as per the
Council’s suggestion.

The Department has revised the numbering for 6.0 as
suggested by the Council to provide better clarity.

The Department added an additional reference to a
Federal statute in 9.2 as suggested by the Council.

The Department has eliminated the references to
“Divisions of Mental Health, Mental Retardation or Youth
Rehabilitation Services from 26.10 and replaced those
references with “Department of Children Youth and Their

Families” as per the Council’s recommendation.
The Council’s concern in 27.2 about the timelines and

ways appeals can be processed has been addressed by
changing 27.2 so that complaints involving this regulation
are directed to the Director, Exceptional Children and Early
Childhood Education and stating that the “procedures
provided in Regulation 925 Children with Disabilities may
also be available to students with disabilities for resolving
such allegations.”

The changes made are not substantive and hence do not
require that the regulations be readvertised.

Notice of the proposed regulations were published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on October 24,
2000, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice
invited written comments and none were received from the
newspaper advertisements.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend these
regulations because the language of the regulations needed
up dating and the format needed to be changed to the
Department’s format for regulations.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATIONS

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is necessary to amend the regulations. Therefore, pursuant
to 14 Del. C. Section 122, the regulations attached hereto as
Exhibit B are hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of
14 Del. C. Section 122(e), the regulations hereby amended
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective
date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulations amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations
shall be cited in the Regulations of the Department of
Education.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C. Section 122, in open session
at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on December
21, 2000.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)
days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 21st day of December, 2000.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A Woodruff, Secretary of Education

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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Approved this 21st day of December, 2000.
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

PROCEDURES FOR THE COLLECTION, 
MAINTENANCE AND DISCLOSURE OF STUDENT 

DATA

State Department of Public Instruction
Dover, Delaware
Revised September, 1994
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DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC 
INSTRUCTION

PROCEDURES RELATED TO THE COLLECTION, 
MAINTENANCE AND DISCLOSURE OF STUDENT 

DATA

SECTION 1 - AUTHORITY
Under the provisions of Section 122, Title 14, of the

Delaware Code, the State Board of Education has been given
authority to establish rules and regulations for the schools in
Delaware.  This document reflects Federal regulations and
procedures as required by Code of Federal Regulations.  Part
99 Family Education Rights and Privacy, Revised 2/19/88
and Public Law 101-476 Individuals with Disabilities
Education Act effective November 13, 1992, and their
respective regulations.

SECTION 2 - APPLICABILITY
(1) These regulations apply to an education agency or

institution to which funds have been available under any
program for which the U. S. Secretary of Education has
administrative responsibility, as specified by law or by
delegation of authority pursuant to law.

(2) These regulations do not apply to an educational
agency or institution solely because students attending that
non-monetary agency or institution receive benefits under
one or more of the Federal programs referenced in paragraph
1 of this section, if no funds under those programs are made
available to the agency or institution itself.

(3) For the purposes of these regulations, funds will be
considered to have been made available to an agency or
institution when funds under one or more of the programs
referenced in paragraph 1 of this section:  (1) Are provided
to the agency or institution by grant, contract, subgrant, or
subcontract, or (2) are provided to students attending the
agency or institution and the funds may be paid to the agency
or institution by those students for educational purposes,
such as under the Pell Grant Program and the Guaranteed
Student Loan Program (Titles IV-A-1 and IV-B,
respectively, of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as
amended.)

(4) Except as otherwise specifically provided, these
procedures apply to education records of students who are,
have been, or will be in attendance at the educational
institution which collects, maintains, or discloses the
records.

SECTION 3 - PURPOSE
The purpose of these procedures is to set forth the

conditions governing the protection of privacy of parents and
students as it relates to the collection, maintenance, and
disclosure of education records by agencies and institutions
under the general supervision of the Delaware State Board of
Education.
SECTION 4 - DEFINITIONS

As used in these procedures:

“Attendance” at an agency or institution includes, but is
not limited to:  (a) attendance in person having homebound
or correspondence instruction, and (b) the period during
which a person is working under a work-study program.

“Consent” means that (1) the parent or eligible student
has been fully informed of the information set out in this
document in his or her native language or other mode of
communication, unless it clearly is not feasible to do so; (2)
the parent or eligible student understands and agrees in
writing to the carrying out of the activity for which consent
is sought, and the consent sets forth that activity and lists the
records (if any) which will be released and to whom; and (3)
the parent or eligible student understands that the granting of
consent is voluntary.

“Directory information” means information in an
educational record the disclosure of which would not
generally be considered harmful or an invasion of privacy.  It
includes, but is not limited to, a student’s name, address,
telephone listing, date and place of birth, major field of
study, participation in officially recognized activities and
sports, weight and height of members of athletic teams, dates
of attendance, degrees and awards received, and the most
recent previous educational agency or institution attended by
the student, and other similar information.

“Disclosure” means permitting access or the release,
transfer, or other communication of education records of the
student or the personally identifiable information contained
therein, orally or in writing, or by electronic means, or by
any other means to any party.

“Educational institution” or “educational agency or
institution” means any public or private agency or institution
which is the recipient of the funds under any Federal
program referenced in Section 2 of this document.  The term
refers to the agency or institution recipient as a whole,
including all of its components (such as schools or
departments in a university) and shall not be read to refer to
one or more of these components separate from that agency
or institution.

“Education records” (a) means those records which:  (1)
are directly related to a student, and (2) are maintained by an
educational agency or institution or by a party acting for the
agency or institution, (b) the term does not include:

(1) Records of instructional, supervisory, and
administrative personnel and educational personnel ancillary
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thereto which:
(i) Are in the sole possession of the maker thereof,

and
(ii) Are not accessible or revealed to any other

individual except a substitute.  For the purpose of this
definition, a “substitute” means an individual who performs
on a temporary basis the duties of the individual who made
the record, and does not refer to an individual who
permanently succeeds the maker of the record in his or her
position.

(2) Records of a law enforcement unit of an
educational agency or institution which are:

(i) Maintained apart from the records described in
paragraph (a) of this definition.

(ii) Maintained solely for law enforcement
purposes, and:

(iii) Not disclosed to individuals other than law
enforcement officials of the same jurisdiction:  provided,
that education records maintained by the educational agency
or institution are not disclosed to the personnel of the law
enforcement unit.

(3) (i) Records relating to an individual who is
employed by an educational agency or institution which (a)
are made and maintained in the normal course of business;
(b) relate exclusively to the individual available for use for
any other purpose.

(ii) This paragraph does not apply to records
relating to an individual in attendance at the agency or
institution who is employed as a result of his or her status as
a student.

(4) Records relating to an eligible student which are:
(i) Created or maintained by a physician,

psychiatrist, psychologist, or other recognized professional
or paraprofessional acting in his or her professional or
paraprofessional capacity, or assisting in that capacity.

(ii) Created, maintained, or used only in
connection with the provision of treatment to the student,
and

(iii) Disclosed only to individuals providing the
treatment, provided that the records can be personally
reviewed by a physician or other appropriate professional of
the student’s choice.  For the purpose of this definition,
“treatment” does not include remedial educational activities,
diagnostic and evaluative data, or other activities used in the
development of the student’s instructional program.

(5) Records of an educational agency or institution
which contain only information related to a person after that
person is no longer a student at the educational agency or
institution.  An example would be information collected by
an educational agency or institution pertaining to the
accomplishments of its alumni.

“Eligible Student” means a student who has attained
eighteen years of age, or is attending an institution of post-
secondary education.

“Financial Aid” means a payment of funds provided to
an individual (or a payment in kind of tangible or intangible
property to the individual) which is conditioned on the
individual’s attendance at an educational agency or
institution.

“Student with Disability” means a person in the
chronological age group ranging from infancy, 3 or 4
(depending upon the disability) through 20 years, inclusive,
who because of mental, physical, emotional or learning
disability problems as defined by the State Board of
Education, requires special educational services in order to
develop his or her capabilities.

“Institution of post-secondary education” means an
institution which provides education to students beyond the
secondary school level; “secondary school level” means the
educational level (not beyond grade 12) at which secondary
education is provided, as determined under state law.

“Parent” includes a parent, guardian, or an individual
acting as a parent of a student in the absence of a parent or
guardian.  An educational agency or institution may presume
the parent has the authority to exercise the rights of access
and consent unless the agency or institution has been
provided with evidence that there is a court order governing
such matters as divorce, separation or custody, or a legally
binding instrument which provides to the contrary.

“Party” means an individual, agency, institution, or
organization.

“Personally identifiable” means that the data or
information includes (1) the name of the child, the child's
parent, or other family member, (2) the address of the child,
(3) a personal identifier, such as the child's social security
number or student number, or  (4) a list of personal
characteristics or other information that would make it
possible to identify the child with reasonable certainty.  {34
CFR 300.500 (c) (1) through (4)}.

“Records” means any information or data recorded in
any medium including, but not limited to:  handwriting,
print, tapes, film, microfilm, and microfiche.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the U. S.
Department of Education.

“Student” includes any individual with respect to whom
an education agency or institution maintains educational
records.

SECTION 5 - STUDENT RIGHTS
(1) For the purpose of this part, whenever a student has

attained eighteen years of age, or is attending an institution
of post-secondary education, the rights accorded to and the
consent required of the parent of the student shall thereafter
only be accorded to and required of the eligible student,
except in the case of a student with disabilities who is legally
determined to be incompetent to make such decisions for
himself/herself, and for whom legal guardianship is required
beyond the age of majority.  In these instances, the legally
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established guardian shall maintain the rights to privacy as
outlined in this document.

(2) The status of an eligible student as a dependent of
his or her parents does not otherwise affect the rights
accorded to and the consent required of the eligible student
by paragraph (1) of this section.

(3) These procedures shall not be construed to preclude
educational agencies or institutions from according students
rights in addition to those accorded to parents of students.

SECTION 6 - FORMULATION OF INSTITUTIONAL
POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

Each educational agency or institution shall formulate
and adopt a policy of --

(1) Informing parents of students or eligible students of
their rights under Section 7.

(2) Permitting parents of students or eligible students to
inspect and review the education records of the student in
accordance with Section 10, including at least:

(i) A statement of the procedure to be followed by
a parent or an eligible student who requests to inspect and
review the education records of the student.

(ii) With an understanding that it may not deny
access to an education record, a description of the
circumstances in which the agency or institution feels it has a
legitimate cause to deny a request for a copy of such records.

(iii) A schedule of fees for copies, and
(iv) A listing of the types and locations of

education records maintained by the educational agency or
institution and the titles and addresses of the officials
responsible for those records.

(3) Not disclosing personally identifiable information
from the education records of a student without the prior
written consent of the parent of the student or the eligible
student, except as otherwise permitted by Section 17 and 23,
the policy shall include, at least:

(i) A statement of whether the educational agency
or institution will disclose personally identifiable
information from the education records of a student under
Section 17(1) and, if so, a specification of the criteria for
determining which parties are “school officials” and what
the educational agency or institution considers to be a
“legitimate educational interest” and

(ii) A specification of the personally identifiable
information to be designated as “directory information”
under Section 23.

(4) Maintaining the records of disclosures of personally
identifiable information from the education records of a
student required to be maintained by Section 18 and
permitting a parent or an eligible student to inspect that
record;

(5) Providing a parent of the student or an eligible
student with an opportunity to seek the correction of
education records of the student through a request to amend

the records or a hearing and permitting a parent of a student
or an eligible student to place a statement in the education
records of the student as provided in Section 14(3).

The policy required to be adopted by this section shall
be in writing and copies shall be made available upon
request to parents of students and to eligible students.

SECTION 7 - ANNUAL NOTIFICATION OF RIGHTS
(1) Each educational agency or institution shall give

parents of students in attendance or eligible students in
attendance at the agency or institution annual notice by such
means as are reasonably likely to inform them of the
following:

(a) Their rights under these procedures adopted
under Section 6; the notice shall also inform parents of
students or eligible students of the locations where copies of
the policy may be obtained, and

(b) The right to file complaints under Section 24
concerning alleged failure by the educational agency or
institution to comply with the requirements of these policies.

(2) Agencies and institutions shall provide for the need
to effectively notify parents of students identified as having a
primary or home language other than English.

SECTION 8 - LIMITATIONS ON WAIVERS
(1) Subject to the limitations in this section and Section

11, a parent of a student or an eligible student may waiver
any of his or her rights under these procedures.  A waiver
shall not be valid unless in writing and signed by the parent
or student, as appropriate.

(2) An educational agency or institution may not
require that a parent of a student or an eligible student waive
his or her rights under these procedures.  This paragraph
does not preclude an educational agency or institution from
requesting such a waiver.

(3) An individual who is an applicant for admission to
an institution of post-secondary education may waiver his or
her right to inspect and review confidential letters and
confidential statements of recommendation.

(4) All waivers under paragraph (3) of this section must
be executed by the individual, regardless of age, rather than
by the parent of the individual.

(5) A waiver under this section may be made with
respect to specified classes of (1) education records, and (2)
persons or institutions.

(6) (a) A waiver under this section may be revoked
with respect to any actions occurring after the revocation.

(b) A revocation under this paragraph must be in
writing.

(c) If a parent of a student executes a waiver under
this section, that waiver may be revoked by the student at
any time after he or she becomes an eligible student.

SECTION 9 - FEES
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(1) An educational agency or institution may charge a
fee for copies of educational records which are made for the
parent of students or an eligible student, provided that the fee
does not effectively prevent the parents and students from
exercising their right to inspect and review those records.
{34 CFR 300.566(a)}

(2) An educational agency or institution may not
charge a fee to search for or retrieve the education records of
a student.  {34 CFR 300.566(b)}

SECTION 10 - RIGHT TO INSPECT AND REVIEW
EDUCATION RECORDS

(1) Each participating agency shall permit parents to
inspect and review any education records relating to their
children that are collected, maintained, or used by the agency
under this part.  The agency shall comply with a request
without unnecessary delay and before any meeting regarding
an IEP or any hearing relating to the identification,
evaluation, or educational placement of the child, or the
provision of FAPE to the child, and in no case more than 45
days after the request has been made.  {34 CFR 300.562(a)}

(2) The right to inspect and review education records
under paragraph (1) of this section includes:

(a) The right to a response from the educational
agency or institution to reasonable requests for explanations
and interpretations of the records; and

(b) The right to request that the agency provide
copies of the records containing the information if failure to
provide those copies would effectively prevent the parent
from exercising the right to inspect and review the records;
and {34 CFR 300.562(b)(2)}

(c) The right to have a representative of the parent
inspect and review the records.  {34 CFR 300.562(b)(3)}

(3) An education agency or institution may presume
that either parent of student has authority to inspect and
review the education records of the student unless the agency
or institution has been provided with evidence that there is a
legally binding instrument or a court order governing such
matters as divorce, separation or custody, which provides to
the contrary.

SECTION 11 - LIMITATIONS ON RIGHT TO INSPECT
AND REVIEW EDUCATION RECORDS

If the education records of a student contain information
on more than one student, the parent of the student or the
eligible student may inspect and review or be informed of
only the specific information which pertains to that student.
SECTION 12 - DESTRUCTION OF EDUCATION
RECORDS

(1) An educational agency or institution is not
precluded from destroying education records, subject to the
following exceptions:

(a) The agency or institution may not destroy any
education records if there is an outstanding request to inspect

and review them under Section 10;
(b) Explanations placed in the education record

under Section 14 shall be maintained as provided in Section
14(4);

(c) The record of access required under Section 18
shall be maintained for as long as the education record to
which it pertains is maintained;

(d) Records of handicapped students shall not be
destroyed without parental consent, or the consent of an
eligible student.  Prior to any destruction of such data parents
must be informed and give consent for that destruction. They
must be informed that records may be needed for other
purposes, such as social security benefits, etc.  If the parents
or eligible student requests that the information be
destroyed, that information must be destroyed.  However, a
permanent record of a student’s name, address, and phone
number, his or her grades, attendance record, classes
attended, grade level completed and year completed may be
maintained without time limitation.

(2) The following shall apply to the length of time and
special consideration for the maintaining of all student
records:

(a) Directory information may be maintained in
perpetuity;

(b) Academic grades and attendance records may
be maintained in perpetuity;

(c) Other personally identifiable data which is no
longer needed to provide educational services for the child
may be, but is not required to be destroyed, and may be
retained permanently;

(d) Student records should be reviewed and
screened at each level of school transition:  i.e., elementary
to middle school or junior high school to senior high school
or between other agencies providing educational
programming;

(e) Records of students who are no longer in
school should be duplicated and maintained in separate
facilities.

SECTION 13 - REQUEST TO AMEND EDUCATION
RECORDS

(1) A parent who believes that information in the
education records collected, maintained, or used under this
part is inaccurate or misleading or violates the privacy or
other rights of the child may request the participating agency
that maintains the information to amend the information.

(2) The agency shall decide whether to amend the
information in accordance with the request within a
reasonable period of time of receipt of the request.

(3) If the agency decides to refuse to amend the
information in accordance with the request, it shall inform
the parent of the refusal, and advise the parent of the right to
a hearing.  {34 CFR 300.567}
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SECTION 14 - RIGHT TO A HEARING
(1) A local educational agency or institution shall, on

request, provide an opportunity for a hearing in order to
challenge the content of a student’s education records to
insure that information in the education records of the
student is not inaccurate, misleading or otherwise in
violation of the privacy or other rights of students.  The
hearing shall be conducted in accordance with Section 15.

(2) If, as a result of the hearing, the local educational
agency or institution decides that the information is
inaccurate, misleading or otherwise in violation of the
privacy or other rights of students, it shall amend the
education records of the student accordingly and so inform
the parents of the student or the eligible student in writing.

(3) If, as a result of the hearing, the local education
agency or institution decides that the information is not
inaccurate, misleading or otherwise in violation of the
privacy or other rights of students, it shall inform the parent
or eligible student of the right to place in the education
records of the student a statement commenting upon the
information in the education records and/or setting forth any
reasons for disagreeing with the decision of the agency or
institution.

(4) Any explanation places in the education records of
the student under paragraph (3) of this section shall:

(a) Be maintained by the local educational agency
or institution as part of the education records of the student
as long as the record or contested portion thereof is
maintained by the agency or institution, and

(b) If the education records of the student or the
contested portion thereof is disclosed by the local
educational agency or institution to any party, the
explanation shall also be disclosed to that party.  (34 CFR
300.569)

SECTION 15 - CONDUCT OF THE HEARING
The hearing required to be held by Section 14(1) shall

be conducted according to procedures which shall include at
least the following elements:

(1) The hearing shall be held within a reasonable
period of time after the local educational agency or
institution has received the request, and the parent of the
student or the eligible student shall be given notice of the
date, place, and time reasonably in advance of the hearing;

(2) The hearing may be conducted by any party,
including an official of the educational agency or institution,
who does not have a direct interest in the outcome of the
hearing;

(3) The parent of the student or the eligible student
shall be afforded a full and fair opportunity to present
evidence relevant to the issues raised under Section 14, and
may be assisted or represented by individuals of his or her
choice at his or her own expense, including an attorney;

(4) The educational agency or institution shall make its

decision in writing within a reasonable period of time after
the conclusion of the hearing; and

(5) The decision of the educational agency or
institution shall be based solely upon the evidence presented
at the hearing and shall include a summary of the evidence
and the reasons for the decisions.

SECTION 16 - PRIOR CONSENT FOR DISCLOSURE
REQUIRED

(1) (a) An educational agency or institution shall
obtain the written consent of the parent of a student or the
eligible student before disclosing personally identifiable
information from the education records of a student, other
than directory information, except as provided in Section 17.

(b) Consent is not required under this section
where the disclosure is to --

(i) The parent of a student who is not an
eligible student, or

(ii) The student himself or herself.
(2) Whenever written consent is required, an

educational agency or institution may presume that the
parent of the student or the eligible student giving consent
has the authority to do so unless the agency or institution has
been provided with evidence that there is a legally binding
instrument or a court order governing such matters as
divorce, separation or custody, which provides to the
contrary.

(3) The written consent required by paragraph (1) of
this section must be signed and dated by the parent of the
student or the eligible student giving the consent and shall
include:

(a) A specification of the records to be disclosed;
(b) The purpose of the disclosure; and
(c) The party or class of parties to whom the

disclosure may be made.
(4) When a disclosure is made pursuant to paragraph

(1) of this section, the educational agency or institution shall,
upon request, provide a copy of the record which is disclosed
to the parent of the student or the eligible student, and to the
student who is not an eligible student if so requested by the
student’s parents.

SECTION 17 - PRIOR CONSENT FOR DISCLOSURE
NOT REQUIRED

(1) An educational agency or institution may disclose
personally identifiable information from the education
record of a student without the written consent of the parent
of the student or the eligible student if the disclosure is --

(a) To other school officials, including teachers,
within the educational institution or local educational agency
who have been determined by the agency or institution to
have legitimate educational interest;

(b) To officials of another school or school system,
or institution of post-secondary education, in which the
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student seeks or intends to enroll, subject to the requirements
set forth in Section 20.

(c) Subject to the conditions set forth in Section
21, to authorized representatives of:

(i) The Comptroller of the United States
(ii) The Secretary of Education
(iii) State and local educational authorities.

(d) In connection with financial aid for which a
student has applied or which a student has received;
provided, that personally identifiable information from the
education records of the students may be disclosed only as
may be necessary for such purposes as:

(i) To determine the eligibility of the student
for financial aid,

(ii) To determine the amount of the financial
aid,

(iii) To determine the conditions which will be
imposed regarding the financial aid, or

(iv) To enforce the terms and conditions of the
financial aid.

(e) To state and local officials or authorities to
whom information is specifically required to be reported or
disclosed pursuant to state statute adopted prior to November
19, 1974.

(f) To organizations conducting studies for, or on
behalf of, educational agencies or institutions for the purpose
of administering predictive tests, administering student aid
programs, and improving instruction; provided that the
studies are conducted in a manner which will not permit the
personal identification of students and their parents by
individuals other than representatives of the organization and
the information will be destroyed when no longer needed for
the purposes for which the study was conducted; the term
“organizations” includes, but is not limited to federal, state,
and local agencies, and independent organizations.

(g) To accrediting organizations in order to carry
out their accrediting functions.

(h) To parents of a dependent student, as defined
in Section 152 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954.

(i) To comply with a judicial order or lawfully
issued subpoena:  provided, that the educational agency or
institution makes a reasonable effort to notify the parent of
the student or the eligible student of the order or subpoena in
advance of compliance therewith;

(j) The appropriate parties in health or safety
emergency subject to the conditions set forth in Section 22.

SECTION 18 - RECORD OF REQUESTS AND
DISCLOSURE REQUIRED TO BE MAINTAINED

(1) An educational agency or institution shall for each
request for and each disclosure of personally identifiable
information from the education records of a student,
maintain a record kept with the education records of the
student which indicates:

(a) The parties who have requested or obtained
personally identifiable information from the education
records of the student, and

(b) The legitimate interests these parties had in
requesting or obtaining the information.

(2) Paragraph (1) of this section does not apply:
(a) To requests by or disclosures to a parent of a

student or an eligible student,
(b) To requests by or disclosures to school officials

under 34 CFR §99.31(a)(1);
(c) If there is written consent of a parent of a

student or an eligible student; or
(d) To requests for or disclosure of directory

information under 34 CFR §99.37.
(3) The record of requests and disclosures may be

inspected:
(a) By the parent of the student or the eligible

student.
(b) By the school official and his or her assistants

who are responsible for the custody of the records, and
(c) For the purpose of auditing the recordkeeping

procedures of the educational agency or institution by the
parties authorized in and under the conditions set forth in 34
CFR §99.31(a)(1) and (3).

SECTION 19 - LIMITATION ON REDISCLOSURE
(1) An educational agency or institution may disclose

personally identifiable information from the education
records of a student only on the condition that the party to
whom the information is disclosed will not disclose the
information to any other party without the prior written
consent of the parent of the student or the eligible student,
except that the personally identifiable information which is
disclosed to an institution, agency or organization may be
used by its officers, employees, and agents, but only for the
purposes for which disclosure was made.

(2) Paragraph (1) of this section does not preclude an
agency or institution from disclosing personally identifiable
information under Section 17, with the understanding that
the information will be redisclosed to other parties under that
section; provided, that the recordkeeping requirements of
Section 18 are met with respect to each of those parties.

(3) An educational agency or institution shall, except
for the disclosure of directory information under Section 23,
inform the party to whom a disclosure is made of the
requirements set forth in paragraph (1) of this section.

SECTION 20 - CONDITIONS FOR DISCLOSURE TO
OFFICIALS OF OTHER SCHOOLS AND SCHOOL
SYSTEMS

(1) An educational agency or institution transferring
the education records of a student pursuant to Section
17(1)(b) shall:

(a) Make a reasonable attempt to notify the parent
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of the student or the eligible student of the transfer of the
records at last known address of the parent or eligible
student, except

(i) When the transfer of the records is
initiated by the parent or eligible student at the sending
agency or institution, or

(ii) When the agency or institution includes a
notice on its policies and procedures formulated under
Section 6, that it forwards education records on request to a
school in which a student seeks or intends to enroll; the
agency or institution does not have to provide any further
notice of the transfer.

(b) Provide the parent of the student or the eligible
student, upon request with an opportunity for a hearing
under these procedures.

(2) If a student is enrolled in more than one school, or
receives services from more than one school, the schools
may disclose information from the education records of the
student to each other without obtaining the written consent
of the parent of the student or the eligible student; provided,
that the disclosure meets the requirements of paragraph (1)
of this section.

SECTION 21 - DISCLOSURE TO CERTAIN FEDERAL
AND STATE OFFICIALS FOR FEDERAL PROGRAM
PURPOSES

(1) Nothing in these policies shall preclude authorized
representatives of officials listed in Section 17(1)(c) from
having access to student and other records which may be
necessary in connection with the audit and evaluation of
federally supported education programs, or in connection
with the enforcement of or compliance with the federal legal
requirements which relate to these programs, or in
connection with the enforcement of or compliance with the
federal legal requirements which relate to these programs.

(2) Except when the consent of the parent of a student
or an eligible student has been obtained under Section 16, or
when the collection of personally identifiable information is
specifically authorized by federal or state law, any data
collected by officials listed in Section 17(1)(c) shall be
protected in a manner which will not permit the personal
identification of students and their parents by other than
those officials and personally identifiable data shall be
destroyed when no longer needed for such audits, evaluation,
or enforcement of or compliance with federal and state legal
requirements.

SECTION 22 - CONDITIONS FOR DISCLOSURE IN
HEALTH AND SAFETY EMERGENCIES

(1) An educational agency or institution may disclose
personally identifiable information from the education
records of a student to appropriate parties in connection with
an emergency if knowledge of the information is necessary
to protect the health or safety of the student or other

individuals.
(2) The factors to be taken into account in determining

whether personally identifiable information from the
education records of a student may be disclosed under this
section shall include the following:

(a) The seriousness of the threat to the health or
safety of the student or other individuals;

(b) The need for the information to meet the
emergency;

(c) Whether the parties to whom the information is
disclosed are in a position to deal with the emergency; and

(d) The extent to which time is of the essence in
dealing with the emergency.

(3) Paragraph (1) of this section shall be strictly
construed.

SECTION 23 - CONDITIONS FOR DISCLOSURE OF
DIRECTORY INFORMATION

(1) An educational agency or institution may disclose
personally identifiable information from the education
records of a student who is in attendance at the institution or
agency if that information has been designated as directory
information under paragraph (3) of this section.

(2) An educational agency or institution may disclose
directory information from the educational records of an
individual who is no longer in attendance at the agency or
institution without following the procedures under paragraph
(3) of this section.

(3) An educational agency or institution which wishes
to designate directory information shall give public notice of
the following:

(a) The categories of personally identifiable
information which the institution has designated as directory
information;

(b) The right of the parent of the student or the
eligible student to permit the designation of any or all of the
categories of personally identifiable information with respect
to that student as directory information; and

(c) The period of time within which the parent of
the student or the eligible student must inform the agency or
institution in writing that such personally identifiable
information is not to be designated as directory information
with respect to that student.

SECTION 24 - SAFEGUARDS
(1) Each participating agency shall protect the

confidentiality of personally identifiable information at
collection, storage, disclosure, and destruction stages.

(2) One official at each participating agency shall
assume responsibility for ensuring the confidentiality of any
personally identifiable information.

(3) All persons collecting or using personally
identifiable information must receive training or instruction
regarding the State's policies and procedures under §300.129
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and part 99 of this title.
(4) Each participating agency shall maintain, for public

inspection, a current listing of the names and positions of
those employees within the agency who may have access to
personally identifiable information.  (34 CFR 300.572)

SECTION 25 - DESTRUCTION OF INFORMATION
(1) The public agency shall inform parents when

personally identifiable information collected, maintained, or
used under this part is no longer needed to provide
educational services to the child.

(2) The information must be destroyed at the request of
the parents.  However, permanent record of a student's name,
address, and phone number, his or her grades, attendance
record, classes attended, grade level completed and year
completed may be maintained without the time limitation.
(34 CFR 300.573)

NOTE:  Under §300.573, the personally
identifiable information on a child with a disability may be
retained permanently unless the parents request that it be
destroyed.  Destruction of records is the best protection
against improper and unauthorized disclosure.  However, the
records may be needed for other purposes.  In informing
parents about their rights under this section, the agency
should remind them that the records may be needed by the
child or the parents for social security benefits or other
purposes.  If the parents request that the information be
destroyed, the agency may retain the information in
paragraph (2) of this section.

SECTION 26 - DELAWARE SPECIFIC REQUIREMENT
FOR STUDENT RECORDS
The following education records are required in Delaware
schools:

(1) Directory information for each student as defined in
Section 4 of this document.

(2) A cumulative record for each student which may
include identifying data, academic work completed, level of
achievement, attendance data, grades, scores on group or
individualized intelligence, achievement, aptitude
psychological, sociometric, or interest inventory tests, health
data, family background information, teacher, counselor, or
other school personnel ratings and observations, and verified
reports of serious or recurrent behavior patterns.

(a) Although they may be collected and
maintained separately from the cumulative record file, the
following education records shall be considered part of the
total cumulative record:
• A School Health Record Card and Emergency
Treatment Data Card for each student.
• A file including documents related to the
identification, evaluation, placement, and provision of a free
appropriate public education for each handicapped student.

The records of handicapped students shall be

maintained in accordance with Section 12(1)(d) of this
document.

The total cumulative record shall be disclosed
only in accordance with Sections 16-22 of this document.

(3) Permanent maintenance is required of certain
education records.

The following information shall be maintained in
perpetuity for each student ever registered and/or in
attendance:

(a) Names, address and telephone numbers of
parents or guardians.

(b) Birthdate, sex and other identifying data of the
student.

(c) Academic work completed.
(d) Level of achievement such as grades and

standardized achievement test score, including approval for
certificate of attendance, early college admission, or
alternative/option education.

(e) Attendance data.
(f) Transportation data.
(g) The reason for leaving school--graduated,

transferred, dropped out, etc.
(4) Contracts for microfilming student records of

graduates, for district storage, may be initiated between the
school district and the State Department of Historical and
Cultural Affairs.  Two or more copies in separate sites are
recommended to provide fire-safe storage.

The cumulative records folders for students who
have graduated from or who left school prior to graduation
from high school are to be stored at the school of last
attendance.  In those cases where schools have been closed,
razed or reorganized:

A central storage file should be developed and
maintained.  All clerical staff of the district, especially those
typically handling student record requests, should have as a
part of an operations manual information about stored
records, including site and acquisition procedures.

(NOTE:  Records of students graduated from the
William C. Jason Comprehensive High School during the
years 1951 through 1967 may be obtained by writing directly
to the Department of Public Instruction.)

In those cases where records are no longer being
handled by the original comprehensive high school, it will be
impossible to obtain character references on former students.
Employers or others requesting character references on
former students should be instructed to contact these
students for information concerning persons who served as
administrators or teachers during the period of time they
were in school.  They should then contact these individuals
directly for the needed information.

(5) Transfer is required of certain education records.
A file consisting of the complete up-to-date

cumulative record including School Health Record Card
shall follow each student transferred from one school to
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another.  The file for each handicapped student transferring
from one school to another shall also be included.  This
transfer of education records from one school to another is
subject to the requirements set forth in Sections 16-22.

(6) The "Student Folder Inspection Record"
(Attachment B) shall be permanently kept with the file on
each student, with all inspection and review transactions
recorded in the spaces provided.  The "Permission for
Disclosure of Educational Records" form (Attachment A)
shall be used in all cases requiring parental consent for
disclosure of records.

(7) Transfer of Student Records in the Case of
Placement for Adoption and Change of Name

In the case of either placement for adoption, or
adoption of a student, it is legally necessary to change the
name of that student to modify his or her identity on official
records.  Delaware law provides that adoption records of this
sort are to be held in confidence in the appropriate state
agency or court.  The Department of Services for Children,
Youth, and Their Families, Division of Child Protective
Services, is the agency authorized by Delaware Code, Title
13, Chapter 9, to undertake the appropriate transactions in
the case of placement for adoption, and change of name.
This agency is also authorized under Section 901 of that
chapter to license or to otherwise authorize adoption
procedures by other public or private agencies in the State of
Delaware or in other states.  When a written request for
records of a child being placed for adoption is addressed to
the superintendent of a Delaware school district from the
Adoption Coordinator, Division of Child Protective
Services; the Director, Catholic Social Services, Inc.; or the
Director, Children's Bureau of Delaware, the superintendent
shall release all pertinent and transferable records relating to
that student to that requesting agency. Following any such
release, no information concerning the student named is to
be released to any other person or agency except for further
endorsement from the Adoption Coordinator.  It is
recommended that any records considered not appropriate to
transfer to any other school be destroyed, and that the
permanent record system of the school show that the named
student has transferred to the social service agency named.
The official agency receiving the records will modify the
name wherever it appears and forward the file to the new
school.  The agency will identify itself as the contact point
for further information.

(8) Transfer of Students
(a) When a student transfers from a public school

to any other school in or out of Delaware, a Delaware
Student Transfer Form (Attachment C) will be available to
the transferring student or the student's parent or guardian for
presentation to the receiving school or district.  The principal
of the school from which the student is transferring shall
hold all cumulative records pending a request for them from
the receiving school.  A student assigned or admitted to any

of the institutions of the Divisions of Mental Health, Mental
Retardation or Youth Rehabilitation Services shall be
transferred as above.  A student on supportive instruction
(homebound or hospital) shall continue as an enrollee in the
public school attended before being assigned to such a
program.

(b) When a student transfers to a Delaware school,
the receiving school shall immediately request all student
records, including the cumulative record, from the sending
school district.  All transferred students shall be enrolled and
assigned temporarily to classes upon arrival in the receiving
school.

(c) In order for a transfer unit of credit to be valid
in the school to which transfer is made, it must have been
completed in the school from which pupil transferred.  In no
case shall work not satisfactorily completed (failed or left
incomplete) in one school be accepted as passed and
completed work in another school.  Incomplete or failed
work must be repeated if credit is to be granted for that work.

(d) Principals of secondary schools should be
constantly alert to the transfer rules as prescribed by the
Delaware statute and the regulations of the State Board of
Education.

(e) In the case of students who transfer to a
Delaware school from a foreign country, the transcripts may
be forwarded to the Department of Public Instruction for
appropriate evaluation.

SECTION 27 - STATE AND FEDERAL REVIEW
(1) The Secretary of the U. S. Department of Education

is required to establish or designate an office and a review
board.  The office will investigate, process, and review
violations, and complaints which may be filed concerning
the Privacy Rights of Parents and Students.  The review
board will adjudicate cases referred to it by the office under
the procedures set forth in §99.65-§99.67 of the Privacy
Rights of Parents and Students.  The following is the address
of the office:  The Family Educational Rights and Privacy
Act Office (FERPA), 330 Independence Avenue, S. W.,
Washington, D.C. 20201.

(2) In the case of handicapped students the reviewing,
investigating, and acting on any allegation of substance
which may be filed concerning the violation of provisions of
this policy by educational agencies or institutions will be
processed by the Team Leader of Exceptional Children
Team, Department of Public Instruction, Townsend
Building, Box 1402, Dover, DE 19903.

ATTACHMENT A
PERMISSION FOR DISCLOSURE OF EDUCATIONAL 

RECORDS

NOTE: When submitted, this authorization will become a
part of the student's permanent records in accordance with
the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 and
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P. L. 94-142, Education for All Handicapped Children Act.

Name of Student (use legal last name):                              
Birthdate:                     
School/Agency Presently Attending:  ______________

Permission is granted to disclose the education records listed
below:  (Please check appropriate item(s).)

a. Cumulative record (i.e., academic grades,
attendance data, and group or individually administered test
scores).

b. Health data and/or medical reports.
c. Diagnostic and evaluative data.
d. Special program records.
e. Other (be specific):

The record(s) indicated above is/are to be disclosed to:
The purpose for this disclosure is:
I hereby consent to the disclosure of the above record(s).

Date: Signature:
             (Parent/guardian/student over 18 years)

School/Agency Use Only
Date this Form Received: Date Data Released:
By:

A parent or an eligible student (18 years old) has the legal
right to inspect and review education records.  Guidelines
governing the inspection, review, and amendment of
educational records are available through this agency.

Consent means that (1) the parent (or eligible student) has
been fully informed of the procedures related to the
collection, maintenance, and disclosure of student data in his
or her native language or other mode of communication
unless it clearly is not feasible to do so; (2) the parent (or
eligible student) understands and agrees in writing to the
carrying-out of the activity for which consent is sought, and
the consent sets forth that activity and lists the records (if
any) which will be released and to whom; and (3) the parent
(or eligible student) understands that the granting of consent
is voluntary.

ATTACHMENT B
STUDENT FOLDER INSPECTION RECORD FOR

Name of Student

Person Inspecting Record Date Reason for Record
Inspection
1.
2.
3.

4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.

This record must be permanently kept with the file of the
student pursuant to Public Law 100-476 (I.D.E.A.) as
amended.

ATTACHMENT C
DELAWARE STUDENT TRANSFER FORM

This form is to be filled out by school personnel when a
student is transferred from a Delaware school to any other
school district.  The completed form will be given to the
student's parents, guardians and/or the student on the last day
of attendance and presented to the receiving school at the
time the student is registered.  Records will be sent to the
receiving school upon the request of that school.

(Legal Last Name of Student) (First Name)
(Middle Name)

Date of Birth:  Year: Month: Day:
No. of days school in session: Days attended:
Date of last attendance: Grade Placement:
Special Programs or Services Provided:
Pertinent Medical Information:

ELEMENTARY STUDENTS ONLY

Instructional Reading Level: Reading Series or
Text:
Completed to:
Comments:
Instructional Math Level: Math Series or
Text:
Completed to:
Comments:
General Comments:
School Teacher
District Principal
Date
Address

250  Procedures Related to the Collection, Maintenance 
and Disclosure of Student Data

1.0 Authority:  Under the provisions of Section 122, Title
14, of the Delaware Code, the Department of Education has
been given authority to establish rules and regulations for the
schools in Delaware.  This document reflects Federal
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regulations and procedures as required by Code of Federal
Regulations.  Part 99 Family Education Rights and Privacy,
Revised 2/19/88 and Public Law 105-17 Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act effective June 4, 1997, and their
respective regulations.

2.0 Applicability
2.1 These regulations apply to an education agency or

institution to which funds have been available under any
program for which the U. S. Secretary of Education has
administrative responsibility, as specified by law or by
delegation of authority pursuant to law.

2.2 These regulations do not apply to an educational
agency or institution solely because students attending that
non-monetary agency or institution receive benefits under
one or more of the Federal programs referenced in 1.0, if no
funds under those programs are made available to the agency
or institution.

2.3 For the purposes of these regulations, funds will be
considered to have been made available to an agency or
institution when funds under one or more of the programs
referenced in 1.0, are provided to the agency or institution by
grant, contract, sub-grant, or subcontract, or are provided to
students attending the agency or institution and the funds
may be paid to the agency or institution by those students for
educational purposes, such as under the Pell Grant Program
and the Guaranteed Student Loan Program (Titles IV-A-1
and IV-B, respectively, of the Higher Education Act of 1965,
as amended.).

2.4 Except as otherwise specifically provided, these
procedures apply to education records of students who are,
have been, or will be in attendance at the educational
institution that collects, maintains, or discloses the records.

3.0 Purpose:  The purpose of these procedures is to set
forth the conditions governing the protection of privacy of
parents and students as it relates to the collection,
maintenance, and disclosure of education records by
[covered] agencies and institutions [under the general
supervision of the Department of Education].

4.0 Definitions: as used in these procedures:
4.1 “Attendance” at an agency or institution includes,

but is not limited to:  attendance in person having
homebound or correspondence instruction, and the period
during which a person is working under a work-study
program.

4.2 “Consent” means that the parent or eligible student
has been fully informed of the information set out in this
document in his or her native language or other mode of
communication, unless it clearly is not feasible to do so; the
parent or eligible student understands and agrees in writing
to the carrying out of the activity for which consent is
sought, and the consent sets forth that activity and lists the

records (if any) which will be released and to whom; and the
parent or eligible student understands that the granting of
consent is voluntary.

4.3 “Directory information” means information in an
educational record the disclosure of which would not
generally be considered harmful or an invasion of privacy.  It
includes, but is not limited to, a student’s name, address,
telephone listing, date and place of birth, major field of
study, participation in officially recognized activities and
sports, weight and height of members of athletic teams, dates
of attendance, degrees and awards received, and the most
recent previous educational agency or institution attended by
the student, and other similar information.

4.4 “Disclosure” means permitting access or the
release, transfer, or other communication of education
records of the student or the personally identifiable
information contained therein, orally or in writing, or by
electronic means, or by any other means to any party.

4.5 “Educational institution” or “educational agency or
institution” means any public or private agency or institution
that is the recipient of the funds under any Federal program
referenced in 2.0.  The term refers to the agency or
institution recipient as a whole, including all of its
components (such as schools or departments in a university)
and shall not be read to refer to one or more of these
components separate from that agency or institution.

4.6 “Education records” means those records that are
directly related to a student, and are maintained by an
educational agency or institution or by a party acting for the
agency or institution, the term does not include:

4.6.1 Records of instructional, supervisory, and
administrative personnel and educational personnel ancillary
thereto which:

4.6.1.1  Are in the sole possession of the maker
thereof, and are not accessible or revealed to any other
individual except a substitute. For the purpose of this
definition, a “substitute” means an individual who performs
on a temporary basis the duties of the individual who made
the record, and does not refer to an individual who
permanently succeeds the maker of the record in his or her
position.

4.6.2  Records of a law enforcement unit of an
educational agency or institution that are:

4.6.2.1 Maintained apart from the records
described in 4.6.

4.6.2.2 Maintained solely for law enforcement
purposes, and:

4.6.2.3 Not disclosed to individuals other than
law enforcement officials of the same jurisdiction:  provided,
that education records maintained by the educational agency
or institution are not disclosed to the personnel of the law
enforcement unit.

4.6.3 Records relating to an individual who is
employed by an educational agency or institution which are
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made and maintained in the normal course of business; relate
exclusively to the individual available for use for any other
purpose.

4.6.3.1 This paragraph does not apply to
records relating to an individual in attendance at the agency
or institution that is employed as a result of his or her status
as a student.

4.6.4 Records relating to an eligible student that
are:

4.6.4.1 Created or maintained by a physician,
psychiatrist, psychologist, or other recognized professional
or paraprofessional acting in his or her professional or
paraprofessional capacity, or assisting in that capacity.

4.6.4.2 Created, maintained, or used only in
connection with the provision of treatment to the student,
and

4.6.4.3 Disclosed only to individuals providing
the treatment, provided that the records can be personally
reviewed by a physician or other appropriate professional of
the student’s choice.  For the purpose of this definition,
“treatment” does not include remedial educational activities,
diagnostic and evaluative data, or other activities used in the
development of the student’s instructional program.

4.6.5 Records of an educational agency or
institution that contain only information related to a person
after that person is no longer a student at the educational
agency or institution.  An example would be information
collected by an educational agency or institution pertaining
to the accomplishments of its alumni.

4.7  “Eligible Student” means a student who has attained
eighteen years of age, or is attending an institution of post-
secondary education.

4.8 “Financial Aid” means a payment of funds
provided to an individual (or a payment in kind of tangible or
intangible property to the individual) that is conditioned on
the individual’s attendance at an educational agency or
institution.

4.9 “Student with Disability” means a person in the
chronological age group ranging from infancy, 3 or 4
(depending upon the disability) through 20 years, inclusive,
who because of mental, physical, emotional or learning
disability problems as defined by the Department of
Education, requires special educational services in order to
develop his or her capabilities.

4.10 “Institution of post-secondary education” means an
institution which provides education to students beyond the
secondary school level; “secondary school level” means the
educational level (not beyond grade 12) at which secondary
education is provided, as determined under state law.

4.11 “Parent” includes a parent, guardian, or an
individual acting as a parent of a student in the absence of a
parent or guardian.  An educational agency or institution
may presume the parent has the authority to exercise the
rights of access and consent unless the agency or institution

has been provided with evidence that there is a court order
governing such matters as divorce, separation or custody, or
a legally binding instrument which provides to the contrary.

4.12 “Party” means an individual, agency, institution, or
organization.

4.13 “Personally identifiable” means that the data or
information includes the name of the child, the child's parent,
or other family member, the address of the child, a personal
identifier, such as the child's social security number or
student number, or a list of personal characteristics or other
information that would make it possible to identify the child
with reasonable certainty.  [{]34 CFR 300.500 (c) (1)
through (4)[}].

4.14 “Records” means any information or data recorded
in any medium including, but not limited to:  handwriting,
print, tapes, film, microfilm, and microfiche.

4.15 “Secretary” means the Secretary of the U. S.
Department of Education.

4.16 “Student” includes any individual with respect to
whom an education agency or institution maintains
educational records.

5.0 Student Rights
5.1 For the purpose of this part, whenever a student has

attained eighteen years of age, or is attending an institution
of post-secondary education, the rights accorded to and the
consent required of the parent of the student shall thereafter
only be accorded to and required of the eligible student,
except in the case of a student [with disabilities] who is
legally determined to be incompetent to make such decisions
for himself/herself, and for whom legal guardianship is
required beyond the age of majority.  In these instances, the
legally established guardian shall maintain the rights to
privacy as outlined in this document.

5.2 The status of an eligible student as a dependent of
his or her parents does not otherwise affect the rights
accorded to and the consent required of the eligible student
by 5.1.

[5.3 Nothing in these regulations shall be construed
to limit the ability of a pupil who has reached the age of
14 to request the release of records as provided in 14 Del.
C. 4111.
[5.3 5.4]  These procedures shall not be construed to
preclude educational agencies or institutions from according
students rights in addition to those accorded to parents of
students.

[6.0 Formulation of Institutional Policies and Procedures
6.1 Each educational agency or institution shall

formulate and adopt a policy of informing parents of
students or eligible students of their rights under 7.0. and
permitting parents of students or eligible students to
inspect and review the education records of the student
in accordance with 10.0, including at least:
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6.1.1 A statement of the procedure to be followed
by a parent or an eligible student who requests to inspect
and review the education records of the student.

6.1.2 With an understanding that it may not
deny access to an education record, a description of the
circumstances in which the agency or institution feels it
has a legitimate cause to deny a request for a copy of such
records.

6.1.3  A schedule of fees for copies, and
6.1.4 A listing of the types and locations of

education records maintained by the educational agency
or institution and the titles and addresses of the officials
responsible for those records.

6.2 Not disclosing personally identifiable information
from the education records of a student without the prior
written consent of the parent of the student or the eligible
student, except as otherwise permitted by 17.0 and 23.0,
the policy shall include, at least:

6.2.1 A statement of whether the educational
agency or institution will disclose personally identifiable
information from the education records of a student
under 17.1 and, if so, a specification of the criteria for
determining which parties are “school officials” and
what the educational agency or institution considers to be
a “legitimate educational interest” and

6.2.2 A specification of the personally
identifiable information to be designated as “directory
information” under 23.0.

6.3 Maintaining the records of disclosures of
personally identifiable information from the education
records of a student required to be maintained by 18.0
and permitting a parent or an eligible student to inspect
that record.

6.4 Providing a parent of the student or an eligible
student with an opportunity to seek the correction of
education records of the student through a request to
amend the records or a hearing and permitting a parent
of a student or an eligible student to place a statement in
the education records of the student as provided in 14.3.

6.5 The policy shall be in writing and copies shall be
made available upon request to parents of students and
to eligible students.]

6.0 Formulation of Institutional Policies and Procedures
6.1 Each educational agency or institution shall

formulate and adopt a policy of:
6.1.1 informing parents of students or eligible

students of their rights under 7.0;
6.1.2 permitting parents of students or eligible

students to inspect and review the education records of
the student in accordance with 10.0 including at least:

6.1.2.1 a statement of the procedure to be
followed by a parent or an eligible student who requests
to inspect and review the education records of the

student;
6.1.2.2 An understanding that it may not

deny access to an education record, a description of the
circumstances in which the agency or institution feels it
has a legitimate cause to deny a request for a copy of such
records;

6.1.2.3  A schedule of fees for copies; and
6.1.2.4 A listing of the types and locations of

education records maintained by the educational agency
or institution and the titles and addresses of the officials
responsible for those records.

6.1.3 Not disclosing personally identifiable
information from the education records of a student
without the prior written consent of the parent of the
student or the eligible student, except as otherwise
permitted by 17.0 and 23.0, including, at least:

6.1.3.1 A statement of whether the
educational agency or institution will disclose personally
identifiable information from the education records of a
student under 17.1 and, if so, a specification of the
criteria for determining which parties are “school
officials” and what the educational agency or institution
considers to be a “legitimate educational interest” and

6.1.3.2 Aspecification of the personally
identifiable information to be designated as “directory
information” under 23.0.

6.1.4 Maintaining the records of disclosures of
personally identifiable information from the education
records of a student required to be maintained by 18.0
and permitting a parent or an eligible student to inspect
that record.

6.1.5  Providing a parent of the student or an
eligible student with an opportunity to seek the
correction of education records of the student through a
request to amend the records or a hearing and
permitting a parent of a student or an eligible student to
place a statement in the education records of the student
as provided in 14.3.

6.2 The policy adopted by the educational agency or
institution shall be in writing and copies shall be made
available upon request to parents of students and to
eligible students.]

7.0 Annual Notification of Rights
7.1 Each educational agency or institution shall give

parents of students in attendance or eligible students in
attendance at the agency or institution annual notice by such
means as are reasonably likely to inform them of the
following:

7.1.1 Their rights under these procedures adopted
under 6.0; the notice shall also inform parents of students or
eligible students of the locations where copies of the policy
may be obtained, and

7.1.2 The right to file complaints under 24.0
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concerning alleged failure by the educational agency or
institution to comply with the requirements of these policies.

7.2 Agencies and institutions shall provide for the need
to effectively notify parents of students identified as having a
primary or home language other than English.

8.0 Limitations on Waivers
8.1 Subject to the limitations in 8.0 and 11.0, a parent

of a student or an eligible student may waive any of his or
her rights under these procedures.  A waiver shall not be
valid unless in writing and signed by the parent or student, as
appropriate.

8.2 An educational agency or institution may not
require that a parent of a student or an eligible student waive
his or her rights under these procedures.  This paragraph
does not preclude an educational agency or institution from
requesting such a waiver.

8.3 An individual who is an applicant for admission to
a post-secondary education may waive his or her right to
inspect and review confidential letters and confidential
statements of recommendation.

8.4 All waivers must be executed by the individual,
regardless of age, rather than by the parent of the individual.

8.5 A waiver under this section may be made with
respect to specified classes of education records, and persons
or institutions.

8.5.1 A waiver under this section may be revoked
with respect to any actions occurring after the revocation.

8.5.2 A revocation under this paragraph must be in
writing.

8.5.3 If a parent of a student executes a waiver
under this section, that waiver may be revoked by the student
at any time after he or she becomes an eligible student.

9.0 Fees
9.1 An educational agency or institution may charge a

fee for copies of educational records which are made for the
parent of students or an eligible student, provided that the fee
does not effectively prevent the parents and students from
exercising their right to inspect and review those records.
[{]34 CFR 300.566(a)[}]

9.2 An educational agency or institution may not
charge a fee to search for or retrieve the education records of
a student.  [{]34 CFR 300.566(b)[}] and [34 CFR 99.11].

10.0  Right to Inspect and Review Educational records
10.1 Each participating agency shall permit parents to

inspect and review any education records relating to their
children that are collected, maintained, or used by the agency
under this part.  The agency shall comply with a request
without unnecessary delay and before any meeting regarding
an IEP or any hearing relating to the identification,
evaluation, or educational placement of the child, or the
provision of FAPE to the child, and in no case more than 45

days after the request has been made.  [{]34 CFR
300.562(a)}[}]

10.2 The right to inspect and review education records
under 10.1 include:

10.2.1  The right to a response from the educational
agency or institution to reasonable requests for explanations
and interpretations of the records; and

10.2.2 The right to request that the agency provide
copies of the records containing the information if failure to
provide those copies would effectively prevent the parent
from exercising the right to inspect and review the records;
and [{]34 CFR 300.562(b)(2)[}]

10.2.3 The right to have a representative of the
parent inspect and review the records.  [{]34 CFR
300.562(b)(3)[}]

10.3 An education agency or institution may presume
that either parent of student has authority to inspect and
review the education records of the student unless the agency
or institution has been provided with evidence that there is a
legally binding instrument or a court order governing such
matters as divorce, separation or custody, which provides to
the contrary.

11.0 Limitations on the Right to Inspect and Review
Records

11.1 If the education records of a student contain
information on more than one student, the parent of the
student or the eligible student may inspect and review or be
informed of only the specific information that pertains to that
student.

12.0  Destruction of Educational Records
12.1 An educational agency or institution is not

precluded from destroying education records, subject to the
following exceptions:

12.1.1 The agency or institution may not destroy
any education records if there is an outstanding request to
inspect and review them as in 10.0.

12.1.2 Explanations placed in the education record
under14.0 shall be maintained as provided in 14.4.

12.1.3 The record of access required under 18.0
shall be maintained for as long as the education record to
which it pertains is maintained.

12.1.4 Records of children with disabilities shall
not be destroyed without parental consent, or the consent of
an eligible student.  Prior to any destruction of such data
parents must be informed and give consent for that
destruction.  They [must shall] be informed that records
may be needed for other purposes, such as social security
benefits, etc.  If the parents or eligible student requests that
the information be destroyed, that information [must shall]
be destroyed.  However, a [permanent] record of a student’s
name, address, and phone number, his or her grades,
attendance record, classes attended, grade level completed
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and year completed [may shall] be maintained[. without
time limitation.  (See School District General Records
Retention Schedule)]

12.2  The following shall apply to the length of time and
special consideration for the maintaining of all student
records:

12.2.1 Directory information [may shall] be
maintained [in perpetuity; in accordance with the
retention for the student files.  (See School District
General Records Retention Scheduled)]

12.2.2 Academic grades and attendance records
[may shall] be maintained [in perpetuity; in accordance
with the retention for the student files.  (See School
District General Records Retention Scheduled)]

12.2.3 Other personally identifiable data which is
no longer needed to provide educational services for the
child [may shall] be [purged and destroyed in accordance
with the Delaware Public Archives (29 Delaware Code
Subsection 504(b)), but is not required to be destroyed,
and may be retained permanently;]

12.2.4 Student records [should shall] be reviewed
and screened at each level of school transition:  i.e.,
elementary to middle school or junior high school to senior
high school or between other agencies providing educational
programming;

12.2.5 Records of students who are no longer in
school [should shall] be [transferred to the Delaware
Public Archives for storage.  duplicated and maintained
in separate facilities.]

13.0  Request to amend Educational Records
13.1 A parent who believes that information in the

education records collected, maintained, or used under this
part is inaccurate or misleading or violates the privacy or
other rights of the child may request the participating agency
that maintains the information to amend the information.

13.2 The agency shall decide whether to amend the
information in accordance with the request within a
reasonable period of time of receipt of the request.

13.3 If the agency decides to refuse to amend the
information in accordance with the request, it shall inform
the parent of the refusal, and advise the parent of the right to
a hearing.  [{]34 CFR 300.567[}]

14.0  Right to a Hearing
14.1  A local educational agency or institution shall, on

request, provide an opportunity for a hearing in order to
challenge the content of a student’s education records to
insure that information in the education records of the
student is not inaccurate, misleading or otherwise in
violation of the privacy or other rights of students.  The
hearing shall be conducted in accordance with 15.0.

14.2  If, as a result of the hearing, the local educational
agency or institution decides that the information is

inaccurate, misleading or otherwise in violation of the
privacy or other rights of students, it shall amend the
education records of the student accordingly and so inform
the parents of the student or the eligible student in writing.

14.3  If, as a result of the hearing, the local education
agency or institution decides that the information is not
inaccurate, misleading or otherwise in violation of the
privacy or other rights of students, it shall inform the parent
or eligible student of the right to place in the education
records of the student a statement commenting upon the
information in the education records and/or setting forth any
reasons for disagreeing with the decision of the agency or
institution.

14.4  Any explanation placed in the education records of
the student under 14.3 shall:

14.4.1 Be maintained by the local educational
agency or institution as part of the education records of the
student as long as the record or contested portion thereof is
maintained by the agency or institution, and

14.4.2  If the education records of the student or the
contested portion thereof is disclosed by the local
educational agency or institution to any party, the
explanation shall also be disclosed to that party.  [(]34 CFR
300.569[)]

15.0  Conduct of a Hearing
15.1  The hearing required to be held by 14.1 shall be

conducted according to procedures that shall include at least
the following elements:

15.1.1  The hearing shall be held within a
reasonable period of time after the local educational agency
or institution has received the request, and the parent of the
student or the eligible student shall be given notice of the
date, place, and time reasonably in advance of the hearing;

15.1.2  The hearing may be conducted by any party,
including an official of the educational agency or institution,
who does not have a direct interest in the outcome of the
hearing;

15.1.3  The parent of the student or the eligible
student shall be afforded a full and fair opportunity to
present evidence relevant to the issues raised under 14.0, and
may be assisted or represented by individuals of his or her
choice at his or her own expense, including an attorney;

15.1.4  The educational agency or institution shall
make its decision in writing within a reasonable period of
time after the conclusion of the hearing; and

15.1.5  The decision of the educational agency or
institution shall be based solely upon the evidence presented
at the hearing and shall include a summary of the evidence
and the reasons for the decisions.

16.0  Prior Consent for Disclosure Required
16.1 An educational agency or institution shall obtain

the written consent of the parent of a student or the eligible
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student before disclosing personally identifiable information
from the education records of a student, other than directory
information, except as provided in 17.0.

16.1.1 Consent is not required under this section
where the disclosure is to the parent of a student who is not
an eligible student, or the student himself or herself.

16.2 Whenever written consent is required, an
educational agency or institution may presume that the
parent of the student or the eligible student giving consent
has the authority to do so unless the agency or institution has
been provided with evidence that there is a legally binding
instrument or a court order governing such matters as
divorce, separation or custody, which provides to the
contrary.

16.3  The written consent must be signed and dated by
the parent of the student or the eligible student giving the
consent and shall include: a specification of the records to be
disclosed; the purpose of the disclosure; and the party or
class of parties to whom the disclosure may be made.

16.4  When a disclosure is made pursuant to 16.1, the
educational agency or institution shall, upon request, provide
a copy of the record that is disclosed to the parent of the
student or the eligible student, and to the student who is not
an eligible student if so requested by the student’s parents.

17.0  Prior Consent
17.1 An educational agency or institution may disclose

personally identifiable information from the education
record of a student without the written consent of the parent
of the student or the eligible student if the disclosure is:

17.1.1 To other school officials, including teachers,
within the educational institution or local educational agency
who have been determined by the agency or institution to
have legitimate educational interest;

17.1.2 To officials of another school or school
system, or institution of post-secondary education, in which
the student seeks or intends to enroll, subject to the
requirements set forth in 20.0.

17.1.3  Subject to the conditions set forth in 21.0, to
authorized representatives of the Comptroller of the United
States, the Secretary of Education and state and local
educational authorities.

17.1.4  In connection with financial aid for which a
student has applied or which a student has received;
provided, that personally identifiable information from the
education records of the students may be disclosed only as
may be necessary for such purposes as: to determine the
eligibility of the student for financial aid, to determine the
amount of the financial aid, to determine the conditions
which will be imposed regarding the financial aid, or to
enforce the terms and conditions of the financial aid.

17.1.5  To state and local officials or authorities to
whom information is specifically required to be reported or
disclosed pursuant to state statute adopted prior to November

19, 1974.
17.1.6  To organizations conducting studies for, or

on behalf of, educational agencies or institutions for the
purpose of administering predictive tests, administering
student aid programs, and improving instruction; provided
that the studies are conducted in a manner which will not
permit the personal identification of students and their
parents by individuals other than representatives of the
organization and the information will be destroyed when no
longer needed for the purposes for which the study was
conducted; the term “organizations” includes, but is not
limited to federal, state, and local agencies, and independent
organizations.

17.1.7  To accrediting organizations in order to
carry out their accrediting functions.

17.1.8  To parents of a dependent student, as
defined in Section 152 of the Internal Revenue Code of
1954.

17.1.9  To comply with a judicial order or lawfully
issued subpoena:  provided, that the educational agency or
institution makes a reasonable effort to notify the parent of
the student or the eligible student of the order or subpoena in
advance of compliance therewith;

17.1.10  The appropriate parties in health or safety
emergency subject to the conditions set forth in 22.0.

18.0  Records of Requests and Disclosure Required to be
Maintained

18.1 An educational agency or institution shall for each
request for and each disclosure of personally identifiable
information from the education records of a student,
maintain a record kept with the education records of the
student which indicates:

18.1.1  The parties who have requested or obtained
personally identifiable information from the education
records of the student, and

18.1.2 The legitimate interests these parties had in
requesting or obtaining the information.

18.1.3  18.1 does not apply: to requests by or
disclosures to a parent of a student or an eligible student, to
requests by or disclosures to school officials under 34 CFR
§99.31(a)(1); if there is written consent of a parent of a
student or an eligible student; or to requests for or disclosure
of directory information under 34 CFR §99.37.

18.1.4  The record of requests and disclosures may
be inspected:

18.1.4.1  By the parent of the student or the
eligible student.

18.1.4.2  By the school official and his or her
assistants who are responsible for the custody of the records,
and

18.1.4.3  For the purpose of auditing the record
keeping procedures of the educational agency or institution
by the parties authorized in and under the conditions set forth
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in 34 CFR §99.31(a)(1) and (3).

19.0  Limitation on Redisclosure
19.1  An educational agency or institution may disclose

personally identifiable information from the education
records of a student only on the condition that the party to
whom the information is disclosed will not disclose the
information to any other party without the prior written
consent of the parent of the student or the eligible student,
except that the personally identifiable information which is
disclosed to an institution, agency or organization may be
used by its officers, employees, and agents, but only for the
purposes for which disclosure was made.

19.2  Section 19.1 does not preclude an agency or
institution from disclosing personally identifiable
information under 17.0, with the understanding that the
information will be redisclosed to other parties under that
section; provided, that the recordkeeping requirements of
18.0 are met with respect to each of those parties.

19.3  An educational agency or institution shall, except
for the disclosure of directory information under 23.0,
inform the party to whom a disclosure is made of the
requirements set forth in19.1.

20.0  Conditions for Disclosure to Officials of Other
Schools and School Systems

20.1  An educational agency or institution transferring
the education records of a student pursuant to 17.1.2 shall:

20.1.1  Make a reasonable attempt to notify the
parent of the student or the eligible student of the transfer of
the records at last known address of the parent or eligible
student, except

20.1.1.1  When the transfer of the records is
initiated by the parent or eligible student at the sending
agency or institution, or

20.1.1.2 When the agency or institution
includes a notice on its policies and procedures formulated
under 6.0, that it forwards education records on request to a
school in which a student seeks or intends to enroll; the
agency or institution does not have to provide any further
notice of the transfer.

20.1.2  Provide the parent of the student or the
eligible student, upon request with an opportunity for a
hearing under these procedures.

20.2 If a student is enrolled in more than one school, or
receives services from more than one school, the schools
may disclose information from the education records of the
student to each other without obtaining the written consent
of the parent of the student or the eligible student; provided,
that the disclosure meets the requirements of 20.1.

21.0  Disclosure to Certain Federal and State Officials for
Federal Program

21.1  Nothing in these policies shall preclude authorized

representatives of officials listed in 17.1.3 from having
access to student and other records which may be necessary
in connection with the audit and evaluation of federally
supported education programs, or in connection with the
enforcement of or compliance with the federal legal
requirements which relate to these programs, or in
connection with the enforcement of or compliance with the
federal legal requirements which relate to these programs.

21.2  Except when the consent of the parent of a student
or an eligible student has been obtained under 16.0, or when
the collection of personally identifiable information is
specifically authorized by federal or state law, any data
collected by officials listed in 17.1.3 shall be protected in a
manner which will not permit the personal identification of
students and their parents by other than those officials and
personally identifiable data shall be destroyed when no
longer needed for such audits, evaluation, or enforcement of
or compliance with federal and state legal requirements.

22.0  Conditions for Disclosure in Health and Safety
Emergencies

22.1 An educational agency or institution may disclose
personally identifiable information from the education
records of a student to appropriate parties in connection with
an emergency if knowledge of the information is necessary
to protect the health or safety of the student or other
individuals.

22.2  The factors to be taken into account in determining
whether personally identifiable information from the
education records of a student may be disclosed under this
section shall include the following: the seriousness of the
threat to the health or safety of the student or other
individuals; the need for the information to meet the
emergency; whether the parties to whom the information is
disclosed are in a position to deal with the emergency; and
the extent to which time is of the essence in dealing with the
emergency.

22.3  22.1 shall be strictly construed.

23.0  Conditions for Disclosure of Directory Information
23.1  An educational agency or institution may disclose

personally identifiable information from the education
records of a student who is in attendance at the institution or
agency if that information has been designated as directory
information under 23.3.

23.2  An educational agency or institution may disclose
directory information from the educational records of an
individual who is no longer in attendance at the agency or
institution without following the procedures under 23.3.0

23.3  An educational agency or institution that wishes to
designate directory information shall give public notice of
the following:

23.3.1  The categories of personally identifiable
information which the institution has designated as directory
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information;
23.3.2  The right of the parent of the student or the

eligible student to permit the designation of any or all of the
categories of personally identifiable information with respect
to that student as directory information; and

23.3.3  The period of time within which the parent
of the student or the eligible student must inform the agency
or institution in writing that such personally identifiable
information is not to be designated as directory information
with respect to that student.

24.0  Safeguards
24.1  Each participating agency shall protect the

confidentiality of personally identifiable information at
collection, storage, disclosure, and destruction stages.

24.2  One official at each participating agency shall
assume responsibility for ensuring the confidentiality of any
personally identifiable information.

24.3  All persons collecting or using personally
identifiable information must receive training or instruction
regarding the State's policies and procedures under §300.129
and part 99 of this title.

24.4  Each participating agency shall maintain, for
public inspection, a current listing of the names and
positions of those employees within the agency who may
have access to personally identifiable information.  [(]34
CFR 300.572[)]

25.0  Destruction of Information
25.1 The public agency shall inform parents when

personally identifiable information collected, maintained, or
used under this part is no longer needed to provide
educational services to the child.

25.2 The information must be destroyed at the request of
the parents.  However, permanent record of a student's name,
address, and phone number, his or her grades, attendance
record, classes attended, grade level completed and year
completed may be maintained without the time limitation.
[(]34 CFR 300.573[)]

NOTE:  Under §300.573, the personally
identifiable information on a child with a disability may be
retained permanently unless the parents request that it be
destroyed.  Destruction of records is the best protection
against improper and unauthorized disclosure.  However, the
records may be needed for other purposes. In informing
parents about their rights under this section, the agency
should remind them that the records may be needed by the
child or the parents for social security benefits or other
purposes.  If the parents request that the information be
destroyed, the agency may retain the information in 25.2.

26.0  Education Records Required in Delaware Schools:
26.1  Directory information for each student as defined

in [4.0  4.3].

26.2 A cumulative record for each student which may
include identifying data, academic work completed, level of
achievement, attendance data, grades, scores on group or
individualized intelligence, achievement, aptitude
psychological, sociometric, or interest inventory tests, health
data, family background information, teacher, counselor, or
other school personnel ratings and observations, and verified
reports of serious or recurrent behavior patterns.

26.3 Although they may be collected and maintained
separately from the cumulative record file, the following
education records shall be considered part of the total
cumulative record:

26.3.1 A School Health Record Card and
Emergency Treatment Data Card for each student.

26.3.2 A file including documents related to the
identification, evaluation, placement, and provision of a free
appropriate public education for each student with
disabilities.

26.3.3 The records of students with disabilities
shall be maintained in accordance with 12.1.4.

26.3.4 The total cumulative record shall be
disclosed only in accordance with 16.0 to 22.0.

26.4 [Permanent] Maintenance [for 100 years] is
required of certain education records and the following
information shall be maintained [in perpetuity] for each
student ever registered and/or in attendance:

26.4.1 Names, addresses and telephone numbers
of parents or guardians.

26.4.2 Birthdate, sex and other identifying data of
the student.

26.4.3 Academic work completed.
26.4.4 Level of achievement such as grades and

standardized achievement test score, including approval for
certificate of attendance, early college admission, or
alternative/option education.

26.4.5 Attendance data.
26.4.6 Transportation data.
26.4.7 The reason for leaving school--graduated,

transferred or dropped out.
26.5 Contracts for [microfilming storage of] student

records of graduates, [withdrawals and special education
students] for district storage, [may shall] be initiated
between the school district and the Delaware Public
Archives.  Two or more copies in separate sites are
recommended to provide fire-safe storage.

26.6  The cumulative records folders for students who
have graduated from or who left school prior to graduation
from high school are to be stored at the school of last
attendance.  In those cases where schools have been closed,
razed or reorganized a central storage file should be
developed and maintained.  All clerical staff of the district,
especially those typically handling student record requests,
should have as a part of an operations manual information
about stored records, including site and acquisition
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procedures.
(NOTE:  Records of students graduated from the

William C. Jason Comprehensive High School during the
years 1951 through 1967 may be obtained by writing directly
to the Department of Education.)

In those cases where records are no longer being
handled by the original comprehensive high school, it will be
impossible to obtain character references on former students.
Employers or others requesting character references on
former students should be instructed to contact these
students for information concerning persons who served as
administrators or teachers during the period of time they
were in school.  They should then contact these individuals
directly for the needed information.

[Otherwise, the Delaware Public Archives
should be contacted immediately to facilitate the transfer
and continuing maintenance of the student records in
those cases described above.]

26.7  Transfer is required of certain education records.
A file consisting of the complete up-to-date cumulative
record including the school health record card shall follow
each student transferred from one school to another.  The file
for each student with disabilities transferring from one
school to another shall also be included.  This transfer of
education records from one school to another is subject to
the requirements set forth in 16.0 through 22.0.  [Records of
students graduated from or who left school prior to
graduation from Wilmington High School, may be
obtained by contacting the Delaware Public Archives.]

26.8 [The "Student Folder Inspection Record" shall
be permanently kept with the file on each student, with
all inspection and review transactions recorded in the
spaces provided.  The "Permission for Disclosure of
Educational Records" form shall be used in all cases
requiring parental consent for disclosure of records.]
[26.9]  Transfer of Student Records in the Case of Placement
for Adoption and Change of Name

[26.8.1 26.9.1] In the case of either placement for
adoption, or adoption of a student, it is legally necessary to
change the name of that student to modify his or her identity
on official records.  Delaware law provides that adoption
records of this sort are to be held in confidence in the
appropriate state agency or court. The Department of
Services for Children, Youth, and Their Families, Division
of Child Protective Services, is the agency authorized by
Delaware Code, Title 13, Chapter 9, to undertake the
appropriate transactions in the case of placement for
adoption, and change of name. This agency is also
authorized under Section 901 of that chapter to license or to
otherwise authorize adoption procedures by other public or
private agencies in the State of Delaware or in other states.
When a written request for records of a child being placed
for adoption is addressed to the superintendent of a Delaware
school district from the Adoption Coordinator, Division of

Child Protective Services; the Director, Catholic Social
Services, Inc.; or the Director, Children's Bureau of
Delaware, the superintendent shall release all pertinent and
transferable records relating to that student to that requesting
agency.  Following any such release, no information
concerning the student named is to be released to any other
person or agency except for further endorsement from the
adoption coordinator.  It is recommended that any records
considered not appropriate to transfer to any other school be
destroyed, and that the permanent record system of the
school show that the named student has transferred to the
social service agency named.  The official agency receiving
the records will modify the name wherever it appears and
forward the file to the new school.  The agency will identify
itself as the contact point for further information.

[26.9  26.10]  Transfer of Students
[26.9.1 2 6.10.1]  When a student transfers from a

public school to any other school in or out of Delaware, a
Delaware Student Transfer Form shall be made available to
the transferring student or the student's parent or guardian for
presentation to the receiving school or district.  The principal
of the school from which the student is transferring shall
hold all cumulative records pending a request for them from
the receiving school. [A student assigned or admitted to
any of the institutions of the Divisions of Mental Health,
Mental Retardation or Youth Rehabilitation Services
shall be transferred as above.]  [A student assigned or
admitted to an educational program operated by the
Department of Services for Children Youth and Their
Families shall be transferred as above.]  A student on
supportive instruction (homebound or hospital) shall
continue as an enrollee in the public school attended before
being assigned to such a program.

[26.9.2 26.10.2] When a student transfers to a
Delaware school, the receiving school shall immediately
request all student records, including the cumulative record,
from the sending school district.  All transferred students
shall be enrolled and assigned temporarily to classes upon
arrival in the receiving school.

[26.9.3  26.10.3]  In order for a transfer unit of
credit to be valid in the school to which transfer is made, it
shall have been completed in the school from which pupil
transferred.  In no case shall work not satisfactorily
completed (failed or left incomplete) in one school be
accepted as passed and completed work in another school.
Incomplete or failed work shall be repeated if credit is to be
granted for that work.

[26.9.4  26.10.4] Principals of secondary schools
should be constantly alert to the transfer rules as prescribed
by the Delaware Code and the regulations of the Department
of Education.

[26.9.5  26.10.5]  In the case of students who
transfer to a Delaware school from a foreign country, the
local school district or school is responsible for having the
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transcripts evaluated.

27.0  State and Federal Review
27.1 The Secretary of the U.S. Department of Education

is required to establish or designate an office and a review
board.  The office will investigate, process, and review
violations, and complaints that may be filed concerning the
Privacy Rights of Parents and Students.  The review board
will adjudicate cases referred to it by the office under the
procedures set forth in §99.65-§99.67 of the Privacy Rights
of Parents and Students.  The following is the address of the
office:  The Family Policy Compliance Office, Federal
Building No. 6, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington,
D.C. 20202.

27.2  In the case of students with disabilities the
reviewing, investigating, and acting on any allegation of
substance which may be filed concerning the violation of
provisions of this policy by educational agencies or
institutions will be processed by the [Director, Exceptional
Children and Early Childhood Education,] Department of
Education, Townsend Building, Box 1402, Dover, DE
19903-1402. [The procedures provided in Regulation 925
Children with Disabilities may also be available to
students with disabilities for resolving such allegations.]

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER
POLICIES, STANDARDS AND PROCEDURES FOR 
APPROVING DEGREE GRANTING INSTITUTIONS 

OF HIGHER EDUCATION

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND 
INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Secretary of Education seeks the approval of the
State Board of Education to amend the regulation Policies,
Standards and Procedures for Approving Degree Granting
Institutions of Higher Education.  The regulations have been
reformatted to fit the style of DOE regulations and to remove
language that repeats the Del. C.  References to the State
Board of Education have been changed to the Department of
Education and the title has been shortened to Degree
Granting Institutions of Higher Education.

Correspondence was received from the State Council
for Persons with Disabilities concerning inserting references
to the regulation 225 Prohibition of Discrimination.  The
Council’s concerns have been addressed by adding a new
1.1.1.2 to read “The Department’s regulation 225
Prohibition of Discrimination that prohibits discrimination
on the basis of race, color, creed, national origin, disability
or gender in programs receiving approval from the
Department applies to Degree Granting Institutions of
Higher Education approved by the Department of
Education”.

The Council also suggested adding a section on the
institution’s duties to make its facilities accessible to persons
with disabilities.  The Department added a sentence
affirming the institution’s duty to comply with state and
federal laws.  The sentence added to 1.9.1 reads as follows,
“The institution shall comply with applicable state and
federal standards, with respect to the accessibility of
facilities by persons with disabilities”.

The Council also recommended revising the language in
4.5 to read as follows:  “The institution shall prove that the
proposed site or facility is in compliance with applicable
Federal, Delaware and local governmental laws and
standards pertaining to zoning, occupancy, accessibility, fire,
health and safety”.  This revision was made.  The
grammatical error identified by the Council in 1.5.4.1 was
also corrected by changing the word “their” to “its”.

The changes made are not substantive and hence do not
require that the regulation be re-advertised.  Notice of the
proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and
the Delaware State News on October 24, 2000 in the form
hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice invited written
comments and none were received from the newspaper
advertisements.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend this
regulation because the changes are necessary to bring the
language of the regulation up to date, and to align the format
with existing regulations.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is necessary to amend the regulation. Therefore, pursuant
to 14 Del. C. Section. 122, the regulation attached hereto as
Exhibit B is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of
14 Del. C. Section 122(e), the regulation hereby amended
shall be in effect for a period of five years from the effective
date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulation
shall be cited in the Regulations of the Department of
Education.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C. Section 122, in open session
at the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on December
21, 2000.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)
days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
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Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 21st day of December, 2000.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Valerie A Woodruff, Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st day of December, 2000.
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

Exhibit B

398 Degree Granting Institutions of Higher Education

State Board of Education and Department of Education

POLICIES, STANDARDS AND PROCEDURES FOR 
APPROVING DEGREE GRANTING INSTITUTIONS

OF HIGHER EDUCATION
State of Delaware

Department of Education
P.O. Box 1402

Dover, DE 19903

POLICIES, STANDARDS AND PROCEDURES  FOR 
APPROVING DEGREE GRANTING INSTITUTIONS OF 

HIGHER EDUCATION

Revised, February 1, 1998

For further information or explanation, please contact:
Dr. Catherine Gilbertson
Education Associate, 
Program Approval, Evaluation and Certification
Department of Education
P.O. Box 1402
Dover, DE 19903
(302) 739-5622
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POLICIES, STANDARDS AND PROCEDURES FOR  
APPROVING DEGREE GRANTING INSTITUTIONS OF 

HIGHER EDUCATION

INTRODUCTION
The authority for the State Board of Education to

approve institutions of higher education incorporating in
Delaware and non-Delaware institutions making offerings in
Delaware are determined from the following sections of the
Delaware Laws.

A. Institutions Incorporated in Delaware  - Title 8,
Delaware Code Annoted -- General Corporation Laws
Section 125 -- Conferring academic or honorary degrees.

“No corporation [created under the provisions
of this chapter] organized after April 18, 1945, shall have



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 7, MONDAY, JANUARY 1, 2001

1166

power to confer academic or honorary degrees unless the
certificate of incorporation or an amendment thereof shall
expressly so provide and unless the certificate of
incorporation or an amendment thereof prior to its being
filed in the office of the Secretary of State shall have
endorsed thereon the approval of the State Board of
Education of this State. No corporation created under this
chapter before April 19, 1945, and provision in its certificate
of incorporation to the contrary notwithstanding possess the
power aforesaid without first filing in the office of the
Secretary of State [in accordance with Section 242 of this
title] a certificate of amendment expressly so providing, the
filing of which certificate of amendment in the office of the
Secretary of State shall be subject to prior approval of the
State Board of Education, evidenced as herein above
provided.  Approval shall be granted only when it appears to
the reasonable satisfaction of the State Board of Education,
that the corporation is engaged in conducting a bona fide
institution of higher learning, giving instructions in arts and
letters, science, or the professions, or that the corporation
proposes, in good faith, to engage in that field and has or will
have the resources, including personnel, requisite for the
conduct of an institution of higher learning.”

B. Institutions Located in Delaware Offering Teacher
Education Programs - Title 14, Del. C. -- Education Section
122 -- Rules and Regulations.

The Board shall prescribe Rules and Regulations:  
“(7)(a) Governing the qualifications and

certification of teachers in all of the public schools of the
State.

(b) Providing that no individual public or
private educational association, corporation or institution
shall offer a course, or courses for the training of school
teachers to be certified by the State Board of Education
without having first procured the assent of the Board for the
offering of such training courses.”

C. Non-Delaware Institutions Making Offerings in
Delaware - Title 14 Del. C. -- Education Section 121 --
General Powers of the Board

“The Board shall exercise general control and
supervision of the public schools of the State including:

(13) The determination of criteria to be met and
procedures to be followed by institutions of postsecondary
education that offer courses, programs of courses, or degrees
within the State of Delaware but that are not institutions
either incorporated in Delaware or located in Delaware,
except for the purpose of offering the particular courses,
programs of courses or degrees referred to above.  The
administration of the authority herein granted shall be
carried out according to Rules and Regulations of the Board
as authorized in §122 of this title.

§ 122(b), the Board shall prescribe Rules and
Regulations:

(4)(a)  Governing the issuance of certificates

and diplomas from the public schools of the State, and
     (b)  Determining the minimum requirements

for presentation of any course or program of courses and for
the issuing of academic, normal school, collegiate,
professional, or university degrees of any level by such
institutions as are not otherwise authorized by Delaware law
to determine such requirements;

(7)(c)  Providing for the licensing of any
institution of higher education, public or private, which is
not incorporated in the State of Delaware or which is not
established according to Delaware state law, whether the
main office of that institution is located within the State of
Delaware or in any state of the United States or any nation of
the world, if that institution offers any course, or program of
courses, or degree at a location within the State of Delaware
or by correspondence, to residents of the State.  Regulations
on this subject shall include provisions for the identification
and licensing of any agent of such institution who contacts
persons within the state of Delaware in person or by
correspondence for the purpose of soliciting enrollment by a
permanent or temporary resident of the State of Delaware in
any such course, program of courses, or degree.”

As required by statutes in effect in 1972, the following
STANDARDS were initially developed cooperatively by the
State Department of Education and the President of the
University of Delaware after review by attorneys for the
University and approval of the Executive Committee of the
Board of Trustees of the University and were adopted by the
State Board of Education on June 14, 1972.  The statutes in
effect in 1972 were amended by House Bill 423 of the 130th
General Assembly in 1979, and now appear as amendments
of Delaware Code, Title 14, Sections 12 and 122.  (See Also
Volume 62, Laws of Delaware, chapter 18.)

PART I

Policy statement regarding institutions of higher education 
incorporated in Delaware and institutions located in 

Delaware offering training in teacher education

POLICIES

Those institutions not fully established but
incorporating in Delaware are referred to Section 125 of
Title 8 of the Delaware Corporation Laws (see page 1) where
it states “or that the corporation proposes, in good faith, to
engage in that field and has or will have the resources,
including personnel, requisite for the conduct of an
institution of higher learning.”  The material presented for
review must follow the standards in this document and be
comprehensive in nature, covering all the required courses of
a projected program, and must specify what is proposed or
estimated for program, staff, facilities, library and other
resources on opening day.  The institution should expect to
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be held to these commitments where feasible.  If the material
is acceptable to the committee and the recommendation is
accepted by the State Board of Education, the institution
shall be acknowledged as a Recognized Applicant.  This
status may be valid for one or more years according to the
action of the State Board.  The status may be extended yearly
until Provisional Approval has been granted or it may be
terminated.  The status of Recognized Applicant does not
provide the right to grant degrees.

Once the institution is in operation, however, it may
petition for provisional Approval which shall be valid until
such time as the first class has been graduated.  In
preparation for this second review, additional information
will be required to bring the material up to date in line with
the various standards as described in this document and with
the recommendations made at the time of the first review.
This will include the section on outcomes and other sections
throughout the document relative to the judgment of
performance and shall be used as the basis for the on-site
visitation.

For final approval status, another on-site visitation may
or may not be required by the State Department of
Education.  See Section 13 of this report for more detailed
information relative to making applications, visitations,
subsequent reports, and possible actions of the State Board
of Education.

Proposals or descriptions for graduate programs must be
very carefully detailed with emphasis on admission
requirements, standards for maintaining graduate status,
qualifications of staff, opportunities for research, adaptation
of programs to individual needs, and any other facts
pertinent to a good graduate program.

Nonprofit institutions must apply for regional
accreditation within a minimum of two years from date of
initial operation.

Proprietary institutions must seek accreditation from the
appropriate national accrediting body or association within a
minimum of two years from date of initial operation.

For Final Approval an institution must meet the
minimum standards which are found in the following
sections of this document.  However, for certain types of
organizations such as a junior college of business, or a
specialized area within a college such as the library, or a
specialized college or school offering degrees, the State
Board of Education reserves the right to use as additional
criteria the regulations of the appropriate accrediting or
approving agency.  For example, the criteria established by
the Accrediting Commission for Business Schools might be
used as supplementary requirements to be applied to two-
year proprietary business colleges; the standards of the
American Association of Collegiate Schools of Business
might be applied to nonprofit two or four year institutions.
The Guidelines of the American Bar Association might be
the basis of approving a law school or college.  The

standards established by the American Library Association
will be applied to all college libraries except where more
specific standards are available for professional libraries
such as a law library.

STANDARDS

Section 1 -- Purposes and Objectives
For the information of its prospective students and to

provide a sound framework in which to operate, an
institution must present a well-defined statement of the
broad purposes or goals of the institution and the specific
objectives for the students both generally and in each special
program or area of study.  This statement should include the
reasons for the existence of the institution in its particular
community.  In addition, the purposes should be reflected in
the types of students and sequence of the offerings of the
college in general and in specific programs.  Wherever
possible, the specific objectives should be presented in
behavioral terms and should be the basis for future student
and program evaluation.

Section 2 -- Administrative Organization
The organizational pattern of the institution as a two-

year associate or a four-year baccalaureate or graduate or
professional institution, or as a single or multi-purpose
institution, should be clearly defined and should be related to
the purposes of the institution.

The institution must present a definite statement,
including an organizational chart, or its administrative
structure and a description of the functions and
interrelationships of the governing board (board of trustees),
advisory board (if any), the president and his administrative
staff, and the faculty.

There should be evidence that the governing board is
aware of the purposes of the institution and is working
toward their fulfillment and is striving to anticipate the
institution’s future needs.  The functions and responsibilities
of the board should be clearly defined in the Bylaws.  The
board should be moderate in size (preferably between 9 and
25 members), represent different points of view and
interests, be selected from persons interested in the
institution and willing to give the time necessary for board
matters, and be appointed or elected for regular and
overlapping terms of office long enough to be of real service
but not for indefinite tenure.  The large majority of members
should be other than the salaried administrators of the
institution.

There should be evidence of established channels of
communication between the governing board and the
administration and faculty and of the means developed for
cooperative planning and appraisal.  The delegation of
authority and responsibility to the administration and faculty
should be clearly delineated.

There should be evidence that the administrative staff
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has the necessary time and assistance to enable the members
to discharge their duties efficiently.  The assignment of
multiple functions to one individual, or the assignment of
administrative work as extra duty with or without
compensation to full-time members of the faculty without
due consideration of the full teaching and administrative
burden, is evidence of administrative inadequacy.

There should be evidence that the administrative staff is
aware of its three major functions:  selection, supervision,
and support of the faculty; selection and supervision of the
students; and operation of facilities for the benefit of faculty
and students.

There should be definite policies and procedures
concerning academic freedom, tenure, retirement, pensions,
leaves of absence, sick leave, the determination of rank and
promotions, and the professional development of the faculty,
administrative officers and professional staff.

Section 3 -- Financial Administration
The institution must demonstrate financial resources

adequate for the effective accomplishment of its announced
purposes.  There should be a minimum of $500,000 for an
adequate reserve in unencumbered funds for a beginning
private four-year institution.  The income must be so
expended as to provide equitably for instruction,
administration, maintenance, equipment and supplies,
library, and student activities.

The financial statements for both beginning and
continuing institutions should reflect clearly the sources of
income, categories of expenditure, and the profit or nonprofit
status of the institution.  They should show the nature and
amount of indebtedness, if any; how incurred; and the
provision for amortization.  They should indicate agreement
or provide a surety company bond for the protection of the
contractual rights of students.

The business management should be under the direction
of a responsible bonded financial officer charged with the
preparation and supervision of the budget in accordance with
sound financial and educational practices.

A continuing institution must present an operating
statement and proposed balance sheet for the fiscal year and
a budget summary for each present fiscal year, comparable
in amount of detail to those customarily prepared for
trustees.

Information should be available on the annual surplus or
deficit at the end of each of the past five fiscal years.

The general aspects of business administration and the
principles of accounting and reporting shall adhere to the
widely accepted standards published by the American
Council on Education in the current edition of College and
University Business Administration.

Section 4 -- Student Personnel Program
An institution should provide evidence of an adequate

student personnel program, including student activities and a
counseling service, which demonstrates a concern for the
total needs of the student as a citizen in a democratic society.
The student personnel program should be directed by a
professionally trained person whose responsibilities embrace
the general welfare and discipline of the students.
Depending upon the scope of the institution and whether it is
to be residential or nonresidential in character, the student
personnel program should be concerned with the living
arrangements and health needs of students and with the
development of a meaningful program of social, recreational
and athletic, education, and cultural out of class activities.  A
counseling service should be provided which is staffed with
professional personnel competent to assist students in
resolving academic, personal and vocational problems.
Provision should be made in the counseling service for
testing of students’ abilities and interests as aids to student
self-understanding, educational planning and career
decisions.  The counseling service should have a
responsibility for analyzing causes of academic deficiency
and reasons for dropping out.  The advisement of students in
the selection of courses to meet stated requirements for
various degree programs may be a responsibility assigned to
the counseling staff or to an academic dean and members of
the teaching facility.

Section 5 -- Admission Policies and Procedures
An admissions office must be adequately staffed to

carry out the admissions policies and procedures.
The instruction should have a carefully stated selective

admissions policy which is appropriate to the institution’s
purposes and organization.  Admissions criteria should be
established in consideration of the abilities needed by all
students to achieve satisfactorily in the various programs of
study offered.  The institution must operate in compliance
with announced admission policies and procedures.

For admission, the institution should require either
graduation from an accredited secondary school or other
recognized standards such as the General Education
Development Test scores or the College Entrance
Examination Board scores.  The applicant’s file should
contain a complete transcript of his school record including
courses, grades, and other appropriate information properly
signed by the high school principal, guidance officer or other
duly authorized school official.

The institution should be able to supply evidence such
as correlation between admission credentials and freshman
grades, academic attrition studies, objective test results, and
others, to demonstrate that it selects students qualified to
pursue successfully the program of study for which
admitted.  The institution is expected to admit students in
accordance with its published criteria.

Institutions may at their discretion employ more flexible
and experimental admissions standards.  However, if
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applicants whose qualifications are marginal are accepted as
“risks”, there should be supporting information obtained
through interviews, tests, and recommendations made by
guidance officers or others qualified to judge these
applicants’ potential.  The admission of marginal students
should involve follow-up studies to evaluate whether these
risks were justified and the effects of such admissions on
other students.

Section 6 --Faculty
The quality of education program is determined largely

by the quality of the faculty.  Therefore, any institution of
higher education should have clearly defined criteria for
faculty appointment, incentives for retention, and provisions
for in-service growth and development.

A faculty member should be adequately prepared both
by training and experience in the specific area of the
teaching assignment.  Academic preparation is one valid
index of potential quality.  It is recommended that, except for
certain specialized courses, there should be several faculty
members, particularly Department Chairmen, with doctoral
degrees or the equivalent and all others with master’s
degrees or the equivalent from recognized graduate or
professional programs.  It will be expected that, except in
unusual circumstances, they will have graduate course
credits in the fields in which they teach, and the level of
preparation will increase with the level of teaching
assignment.  Advanced study and scholarly and creative
production are other significant indexes of educational
stature.

In some junior colleges, especially in a single-purpose
professional or technical program such as a business college,
the academic requirements might be slightly lower.
However, at least one-half of the faculty teaching second-
year course work must have a master’s degree, LLB, CPA or

other professional equivalent.1  It is recognized that no one
terminal designation is appropriate for all faculty members.

Following the selection criteria, there should be a well
planned incentive program designed for retention of faculty.
Such a program should include policies on academic
freedom, tenure, retirement, pensions, leaves of absence
including sabbaticals, sick leave, insurance, and other
faculty benefits.  There should be a clear statement of criteria
for each rank and the requirements for promotion.

There should be evidence that there is a faculty
organization to carry out the respective educational
responsibilities.

As contributing factors in the in-service professional

development program for the faculty, there should be a
thorough orientation for all new faculty, periodic evaluation
and critique of instructional methods, and, where
appropriate, evidence of research accomplishment.

Normally, teaching loads should be no more than fifteen
credit hours.  Variations may be made when responsibilities
for other college-related activities are assigned or in
recognition of particularly significant professional
endeavors.  In the case of single courses offered, or weekend
programs presented by non-Delaware institutions, the
workload shall be evaluated to determine that it is
compatible with any other assignment carried by the
instructor and does not constitute a burden that might detract
from the quality of the presentation.

If faculty members serve as advisors, they should be
fully informed about degree requirements, transfer
regulations and any other specific requirements such as state
teacher certification or professional licensing.

Section 7 -- Program
An institution’s educational program includes the total

impact of all the influences which the institution brings to
bear upon the student such as what goes on in the classroom,
laboratory, studio, library, the counseling program, student
activities, playing fields, lounges, cafeterias and dining
rooms, dormitories, lectures and exhibitions, and casual
faculty contacts.

The curriculum and all other experiences should be
designed to meet the specific purposes of the institution.  A
college should be concerned with the total growth of the
student as an individual.

The number and variety of curricula should be
determined by the purposes of the institution, the size of the
student body, and the available personnel and resources of
the institution.  An institution is more likely to serve its
clientele better by doing a few things well rather than by
undertaking too many specialties.  However, each
curriculum design should be broad enough to allow for
individual differences and interests.

Curricula in all fields must evidence recognition of the
relationships between broad education and the acquisition of
techniques and skills.  Degree requirements for each
curriculum should be clearly stated.

The means should exist for continuous evaluation of the
curriculum by the faculty and for modifying it when
necessary.

In a junior college, transfer and career programs should
include a block of courses in liberal education.  It is difficult
and dangerous to try to match exactly a transfer program
with the equivalent in a specific receiving college.  It is
important for a two-year institution to develop its program
on the basis of stated objectives.  However, degree-granting
institutions are expected also to contribute to the overall
development of the student as well as to prepare him for

1. The Accrediting Commission for Business Schools,
Official Directory of Accredited Institutions and Operating
Criteria (The Accrediting Commission for Business Schools,
Detroit, Michigan, 1967) page 49.
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employment.  The State Board of Education recommends a
minimum of 40% of the total program in general or liberal
education.
Section 8 -- Graduation Requirements

For authorization to grant an associate degree, an
institution must:  require no less than 60 semester hours of
academic and pre-professional work or equivalent; must
allow no credit for any course completed with a grade lower
than the passing grade of the institution (D or its equivalent);
and should require no less than an average of 2.0 or specify
clearly what index is required for grade for graduation.
Credit hours should be determined in line with nationally
recognized standards.

For authorization to grant a baccalaureate degree, an
institution shall require a minimum of 120 semester hours
for graduation and no less than a 2.0 overall average (on a
4.0 scale).  The awarding of a large variety of degrees,
especially by a small institution, will be questioned.

The above standards do not preclude the possibility by a
college or professional school in experimenting with or
using other means of evaluation or assessment of a student’s
progress and success in moving through the course or
experience sequence required for graduation.

The graduation requirements need to be clearly
delineated for any institution.

Section 9 -- Facilities
A physical plant in and of itself does not determine the

quality and effectiveness of the educational program.
However, good housing and equipment make better teaching
possible and better enable the institution to accomplish its
stated purposes.

The administrative and faculty facilities, classrooms,
library, laboratories, and student activity centers should be
suitable for their specific purposes, and convenience for
advisement and scheduling, and should promote the highest
standards of learning, health and personal welfare.  As far as
possible, faculty members should have separate offices.

Beginning institutions and those planning expansion
programs should have well designed plans for appropriate
building expansion.

Section 10 -- Library
The institution must provide library facilities adequate

to the effective realization of its stated educational
objectives. The library is the chief resource for both faculty
and students.  The nature and content of the collection will
depend on the institution’s program and objectives.

The physical facilities should be conducive to frequent
and effective use of the collections.  The accommodations
should allow for seating from one-fourth to one-third of the
student body.  However, any situation will be affected by the
availability of other facilities on campus.  The program
should be administered by a professionally trained library

staff adequate in number for the size of the student body.
According to the standards of the American Library

Association1  for a junior college is a minimum of 20,000
volumes for up to 1,000 students, and 50,000 volumes for a
senior college of up to 600 students with 10,000 that an
institutional collection shall be of the size and quality
recommended by the American Library Association for
degree-granting institutions or by the appropriate
professional association.

Other factors to be considered are the sufficiency of
space set aside for quiet study and leisure time reading; the
accessibility of materials for reference, collateral study, and
general reading; the amount of the annual appropriation for
new books; the methods by which new books are selected;
the adequacy of the number of hours the library is open; and
the efficiency of the system of organizing and cataloging the
collections.  In addition to books and periodicals, the library
or other division of the institution should provide the other
media (films, records, video and audio tape, and other
instructional media) necessary to support the institution’s
objectives.

In the case of the non-Delaware institution offering
courses, programs of courses, or degrees in Delaware,
library facilities are to be imported on a temporary basis or
provided through contractual arrangements with other
Delaware institutions so that the material available will
provide adequate support to the courses offered.

Section 11 -- Outcomes
The institution must describe its means for assessing the

extent to which it achieves its stated purposes and objectives
insofar as this is measurable.

Plans for the measurement of outcomes could include
evaluation of undergraduate achievement based on standard
tests; a study of the performance of graduates in graduate or
professional schools (or of transfer students in the junior or
senior years); and a long term study of the achievements
based on data gathered periodically and systematically.

Section 12 -- Catalog and Announcements
The catalogs and all other announcements must give an

accurate description of the actual offerings of the institution
and show evidence that the institution is managed by
educationally competent and morally responsible persons.

The catalog should include:
Identification data, such as volume number, and

date of publication.

Names of the institution, the governing board, and

1. Hirsch, Feliz E. ÒStandards for College Libraries,Ó
College and Research Libraries, Vol. 20, July 1949, pp. 274-
80 page 5.
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the administrative staff and faculty showing earned degrees
and the institutions granting them.

A complete calendar for the academic year.
A statement of its accredited or approval status.
A statement of the origin and objectives of the

institution.
Admission and graduation policies and

requirements.
Detailed schedule of all fees and other charges as

well as refund policies.
Information concerning scholarship funds.
Description of location of the institution; buildings,

grounds and equipment.
List of degrees conferred and requirements for each

degree.
Outline of each curriculum and a description of

each course offered during period covered by the catalog and
an indication of courses offered at other times.  Descriptions
should indicate prerequisites, if any.

Number of weeks of instruction per semester and of
class meetings per week.

Section 13 -- Detailed Procedures for Securing State Board
Approval

As stated in the Policy on Procedures, the State Board of
Education accepts three levels of recognition of an
institution:  1) Recognized Applicant; 2) Provisional
Approval; and 3) Full Approval for five years.

To become a Recognized Applicant, an institution must
complete the questionnaire, “Application To Confer
Academic and Honorary Degrees” required by the State

Board of Education.  This material presented in duplicate1

will be reviewed by an evaluation team mutually acceptable
to the institution and the State Board of Education through
its administrative staff, the State Department of Education.
After the review and a hearing with the Board of Trustees
and the administrative staff of the institution, an on-site
visitation may be required if the institution is actually in
operation. If all the facts gained appear to meet, or show
promise of meeting, a significant portion of the standards as
stated in the Delaware Standards for Approving Institutions
of Higher Education, the institution will be notified of
Recognized Applicant, valid for one or more years.
Recommendations will be made for any changes in or
additions to the information previously submitted which
would be necessary for consideration for Provisional
Approval.  A two year institution should request evaluation
for Provisional Approval no later than the beginning of the
4th semester; four year institutions, no later than the 7th
semester.

Following the on-site visit, required for the second level
of approval, the team shall recommend to the State Board of
Education that either the institution continue to be
recognized only as an Applicant without degree granting
status, or it be granted Provisional Approval with the right to
confer the degrees requested.  Those institutions required to
remain on Applicant Status will be informed of the changes
and improvements necessary to be eligible for Provisional
Status.  There is no guarantee that a Recognized Applicant
institution will be given either Provisional or Full Approval.
A Recognized Applicant institution may incorporate but its
charter may not include the right to confer degrees.

An institution receiving Provisional Approval may
incorporate under Section 125 of Title 8 of the Delaware
Corporation Laws with the right to confer a degree.  If the
institution has previously incorporated without the right to
confer a degree, the charter may be amended to include the
degree-granting privilege.  The institution shall retain this
status until after the first class has been graduated.  Such an
institution must seek full approval within a minimum of two
years following the first graduation but may petition for such
approval within the first year.  The conferring of final
approval may require a second on-site visit.

If a Provisionally Approved institution does not receive
Full Approval within four years after the first graduating
class, the State Board of Education may withdraw all
approval and inform the Corporation Division of the State of
Delaware that the section in the Charter for the institution
which refers to the right to confer degrees is no longer valid.
It shall be the responsibility of the State Board of Education
to keep Recognized Applicants and Provisionally Approved
institutions apprised of the requirements they must meet in
order to achieve the next level of recognition.

Fully Approved institutions shall retain such status for a
period of no longer than five years by which time a progress
report must be filed with a follow-up visitation required if
deemed desirable by the State Department of Education.  If
such an institution is scheduled for a Regional Accreditation
evaluation at the time of either the Final Approval or the
five-year period review and the State Department of
Education has a representative on the valuation team, the
State Board of Education may accept the Regional Approval
in lieu of a separate evaluation.

Provisionally Approved and Fully Approved institutions
shall keep the State Board of Education informed of any
changes in the facts as presented in their applications.

All expenses incurred by a visiting team, with the
exception of personnel from publicly supported educational
institutions, at any stage in the approval procedures must be
born by the institution requesting approval.  If an institution
is located outside of the State of Delaware and is
incorporating in Delaware, it must also pay the expenses of
Delaware representative appointed by the State Board of
Education if such a visit is deemed necessary.

1.  Additional materials may be requested from the institu-

tion.
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PROCEDURES

POLICY ON PROCEDURES TO BE FOLLOWED IN 
APPROVING DEGREE-GRANTING AUTHORITY TO 

INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER EDUCATION1* 
The following procedures are established by the State

Board of Education and are to be followed by any institution
seeking approval to incorporate and to grant a degree under
Delaware Code, Title 8, §125:

1. Authorities of the institution shall make formal
request to the State Board of Education through its secretary,
the State Superintendent of Public Instruction.

2. The State Board of Education shall acknowledge
receipt of the request and authorize the State Superintendent
of Public Instruction to assign personnel in the State
Department of Education to execute the approval
procedures.

3. The Applicant Institution shall complete detailed
application questionnaires and submit data as requested.

4. An appropriate committee shall be appointed by the
Superintendent of Public Instruction to serve as an
evaluation committee to advise the State Board of Education
and the Applicant Institution from the time of application
through final approval.  The committee shall be composed of
persons from the State Department of Education, the
University of Delaware and other persons with experience in
the field of higher education.  Careful attention is to be given
in the appointment of committee personnel to such
specialties as may be required by the particular curricular
offering of the institution concerned.  The “specialty
assignments” will be particularly important in the case of
professional schools.

5. Immediately upon receipt and review of the
application materials, the committee shall prepare a report to
the State Superintendent of Public Instruction with a
recommendation to the State Board of Education.  This
recommendation shall be either to grant the institution status
as a Recognized Applicant or to deny recognition.  The
status of “Recognized Applicant” does not carry
authorization to confer degrees.

6. Near the end of the first full school year of classes
but prior to the close of classes, the institution shall file a
progress report as described and requested by the committee.
The evaluation committee will make an on-site visit to the
institution in order to verify the contents of the report and
evaluate progress to date.  A written report of the
committee’s action is to be sent to the State Superintendent
of Public Instruction with recommendation for action by the
State Board of Education.  The recommendation in this case

shall be: (a) to withdraw approval; or (b) to continue the
status of Recognized Applicant along with a listing of any
specific recommendations to be met by the institution; or (c)
to grant new status of Provisional Approval, with the right to
confer a degree.

7. At a time one or two years following the graduation
of the first class from the institution, on an occasion
mutually agreed upon by the officials of the institution and
the evaluation committee, the institution shall present a third
progress report and the committee shall make an on-site
visit.  In the event that this planned visit is scheduled to
occur at approximately the same time as that of a visit from
the Commission on Higher Education of the Middle States
Association of Colleges and Schools, or another appropriate
specialized accrediting agency, it may be recommended to
the State Board of Education that a favorable report by this
visiting agency be accepted in lieu of a separate report and
on-site visit from the evaluating committee.  The
recommendation on this occasion may be for Final Approval
of the degree-granting authority of the institution.

8. The evaluation committee should be discharged.
9. If approval of the institution is denied at any of the

three major steps described in this procedure, the institution
shall have the right of appeal to the State Board of Education
but in such appeal will be required to submit necessary
evidence to show cause why approval should be granted or
why temporary approval should be extended for a longer
period of time.

10. Any costs incidental to the evaluation and approval
of a college, except the salary of personnel from the publicly
supported educational institutions in Delaware, shall be the
responsibility of the Applicant Institution.

PART II
Policy statement regarding non-Delaware institutions of 
higher education that offer courses, programs of courses, 

or degrees within the State of Delaware2** 

The State Board of Education by statutory mandate has
a responsibility to review all petitions or applications from
out-of-state institutions wishing to offer credit-bearing
courses or degree programs in the State of Delaware.  The
Board will approve only those offerings that, in the opinion
of the Board, meet minimum standards of quality and are
financially sound.

Section 1 -- Petition or Application from Institution
Out-of-state institutions wishing to offer credit-bearing

courses, programs of courses, or degree programs in
Delaware shall:

1. *Approved by State Board of Education, October 21,
1971.  Edited and approved by State Board of Education,
June 14, 1972.

2. **Approved by State Board of Education, August 16,

1979.
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1. Make application to the State Board of Education
through its secretary at least one academic year before the
requested date of implementation.
2. Shall present final application forms with supporting
documents to the State Board of Education at least six
months prior to the requested date of implementation.

Institutions which are operating or which have made
offerings in the State of Delaware at or prior to the time of
adoption of this policy by the State Board of Education shall
apply for recognition and licensure on or before January 1,
1980 for offerings to be made after June 1, 1980, but prior to
June 1, 1981.

The application or request shall contain supportive
evidence that the following are met or will be met according
to the STANDARDS set forth in this document.  However, if
the institution is accredited in its main campus location by
the regional accrediting agency for that region and if that
accreditation includes extension, satellite or other off-
campus operations, the programs in Delaware will be
licensed upon application and payment of the fee.

An accreditation agency designation of “Recognized
Applicant” or any other less than full accreditation
designation will not be accepted.  Even though an institution
is regionally accredited, the State Board of Education may at
any time require that institution to present a complete and
documented application for license if complaints directed
against the Delaware operation of the institution by
Delaware enrollees seem to warrant a more thorough review.

All applications, whether accredited or not, must show
that:

1. The proposed site or facility is in compliance with
Delaware and local ordinances pertaining to fire, health,
zoning, safety, etc.

2. Degree programs conform to the minimum
standards established by the State Board of Education for
similar institutions operating within the State.

3. The Board of Trustees of the out-of-state institution
must, by resolution, guarantee to the satisfaction of the State
Board of Education that operations in the State of Delaware
will be financially solvent.

Section 2 -- Programs May Be Approved for Periods of One
to Five Years

Initially, programs will not be approved for longer than
a three-year period.  In reference to requests to offer credit-
bearing courses, but not a degree program, approval will be
for a period of only one year.

Section 3 -- Continuing Approval
After the initial approval, renewal approval will be

contingent upon a favorable recommendation based upon
periodic review by the staff of the Division of Certification
and Personnel and usually with the assistance of a
consultant(s) from an institution of higher education.  This

consultant(s) will have expertise in the program or course
offered.

Section 4 -- Obligations To Inform State Board of Education
The institution will be obligated to keep the State Board

of Education informed of the names and addresses of those
responsible for directing the programs from the parent
campus, the names of instructors, the locations of all sites in
Delaware where instruction is offered, and the names and
addresses of students enrolled in the program and/or course.

Section 5 -- Fees
A license fee of $100.00 per out-of-state institution will

be required for each school year of operation.  Program
duration of a shorter period, such as one semester or one
quarter, will pay a minimum fee of $50.00.

Section 6 -- Cost of Evaluation
Any and all costs incidental to the evaluation and

approval of a program or course, except the salary of
personnel from publicly supported education institutions in
Delaware, shall be the responsibility of the applicant
institution.

Section 7 -- Published List
Each year the State Board of Education will publish a

list of all programs and courses approved to operate in the
State.

Section 8 -- Agents:  Agent Permits - Application - Contents
- Fees - Separate Permits

Every agent representing an institution as herein
defined, located outside the State of Delaware, shall make
application for an agent’s permit to the Board, in writing,
upon forms prepared and furnished by the Board.  Each
application shall state the name of the school which the
applicant will represent, contain evidence of the honesty,
truthfulness and integrity of the applicant, shall be verified
under oath by him/her, and shall be accompanied by he
recommendation of two reputable persons, certifying that the
applicant is truthful, honest, and of good reputation, and
recommending that a permit, as an agent, be granted to the
applicant.  The fee for an original permit, as an agent, shall
be determined by the Board, and there shall be an annual
renewal fee determined by the Board.  A separate permit
shall be obtained for each school represented by an agent.

1. Each applicant for a permit to serve as an agent
shall submit with his application a fee in the amount of
$10.00 for the first application.  This fee will be required for
each institution represented by any one agent.  The fee for
renewal of the permit to serve as an agent shall be $5.00 for
each institution represented by the agent.  The agent shall
present a second application for a permit to serve as agent in
conjunction with the application for certification by the
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second institution that he/she will represent.  The fees
required in this regulation shall be in addition to service fees
charged by the Division of Motor Vehicles, Department of
Public Safety.

2. Each agent shall apply for a permit each year at the
same time that the institution he/she is to represent makes
application for a Certificate of Approval.  No permit shall be
issued for a period of more than twelve calendar months. No
agent shall perform the function of his/her assignment and
solicit Delaware enrollees in the institution until he/she has
been issued the appropriate identification permit.

3. The discontinuance of the certification of an
institution for any cause shall make invalid all agent permits
for that institution.

4. The discharge or resignation of any agent shall be
reported immediately to the State Board of Education
through its designated officer.

5. To the extent that any situation warrants the State
Board of Education shall be responsible for publicizing the
discontinuance of any certificate or permit.

6. In any instance where the owner of an institution
indicates that he/she plans to serve as his own agent, separate
fee for the agent permit will be waived, but the permit must
be obtained.  Any additional agents must obtain permits as
otherwise described.

7. The Board, upon approval of an application for or
renewal of a permit, shall prepare and deliver to each agent a
pocket card which, among other things, shall contain the
name and address of the agent and of the employing school,
and shall certify that the person, whose name appears
thereon, is an authorized agent of the institution.

The pocket card shall be a card designed and issued by
the State Department of Education for completion at one of
the Inspection Lanes of Division of Motor Vehicles of the
Department of Public Safety.  The card will include a photo
and the signature of the agent, and shall be secured in a
laminated jacket card shall be paid by the agent at the
Inspection Lane where the photograph will be made and the
card completed.

Section 9 -- Enforcement/Penalties
Violations of the law and regulations relating to

Institutions of Higher Education as herein described shall be
referred to the Attorney General of the State of Delaware
who shall assume responsibility for enforcement of the law
and the regulations.

PART III
Policy statement regarding institutions of higher education, 

located in other states or territories and not offering 
programs in-state, wishing to incorporate in Delaware 

Pursuant to Section 125, Title 8 of the Delaware Code
Annotated, the Division of Corporations of the Delaware
Department of State forwards requests for incorporation

made by private colleges and universities, located outside of
Delaware, and not offering programs in-state, to the State
Board of Education for approval prior to incorporation.

With respect to these requests for incorporation, the
State Board of Education recognizes the following: 1) the
interest of each state and territory of the United States to
grant the authority to award degrees to institutions located
within that state or territory; 2) the legitimate request of
private colleges and universities located outside of Delaware
to make a business decision to incorporate in the State; and
3) the State Board of Education's own right, pursuant to
Section 125, to set reasonable limitations to ensure the
quality of education offered by such institutions of higher
education incorporated in Delaware.

POLICY

Section 1 -- Criteria for Approval
As a matter of comity, the Delaware State Board of

Education will not approve the incorporation of colleges,
universities or other institutions offering credit-bearing
courses, that have a primary site of operation in another state
and do not operate in Delaware, unless the institution already
is approved by the state degree granting authority of the state
in which it is located, or, in states without a degree granting
authority, is accredited by a nationally recognized
accrediting agency or association approved by the United
States Department of Education.  A nationally recognized
accrediting agency or association is one that appears on the
list published as Nationally Recognized Accrediting
Associations, by the Secretary of Education.

Section 2 -- Authority of Administrator 
The Administrator of Programs for Institutions of

Higher Education may approve the incorporation of such
institutions meeting the criteria described above on behalf of
the State Board of Education.

398 Granting Institutions of Higher Education

1.0  Standards for Approval of Post Secondary
Institutions

1.1  Purposes and Objectives
1.1.1  An institution shall present a well-defined

statement of the broad purposes or goals of the institution
and the specific objectives for the students both generally
and in each special program or area of study.  This statement
shall include the reasons for the existence of the institution in
its particular community.  In addition, the purposes shall be
reflected in the types of students and sequence of the
offerings of the college in general and in specific programs.

1.1.1.1  The specific objectives shall be
presented in behavioral terms and shall be the basis for
future student and program evaluation.
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[1.1.1.2  The Department’s regulation 225
Prohibition of Discrimination that prohibits
discrimination on the basis of race, color, creed, national
origin, disability or gender in programs receiving
approval from the Department applies to Degree
Granting Institutions of Higher Education approved by
the Department of Education.]

1.2  Administrative Organization
1.2.1  The organizational pattern of the institution

as a two-year associate or a four-year baccalaureate or
graduate or professional institution, or as a single or multi-
purpose institution, shall be clearly defined and shall be
related to the purposes of the institution.

1.2.2  The institution shall present a definite
statement, including an organizational chart, or its
administrative structure and a description of the functions
and interrelationships of the governing board (board of
trustees), advisory board (if any), the president and the
administrative staff, and the faculty.

1.2.3  The functions and responsibilities of the
board shall be clearly defined in the Bylaws.

1.2.4  The board shall be moderate in size (between
9 and 25 members) and shall represent different points of
view and interests, be selected from persons interested in the
institution, willing to give the time necessary for board
matters and be appointed or elected for regular or
overlapping terms of office.  The large majority of the
members should be other than the salaried administrators of
the institution.

1.2.5  There shall be evidence of established
channels of communication between the governing board
and the administration and faculty.

1.2.6  There shall be evidence that the
administrative staff has the necessary time and assistance to
enable members to discharge their duties efficiently.

1.2.7  There shall be evidence that the
administrative staff is aware of its three major functions;
selection, supervision and support of faculty; selection and
supervision of the students and operation of the facilities for
the benefit of faculty and students.

1.2.8  There shall be definite policies and
procedures concerning academic freedom, tenure,
retirement, pensions, leaves of absence, sick leave, the
determination of rank and promotions, and the professional
development of the faculty, administrative officers and
professional staff.

1.3  Financial Administration
1.3.1  The institution shall demonstrate financial

resources adequate for the effective accomplishment of its
announced purposes.  The income shall be so expended as to
provide equitably for instruction, administration,
maintenance, equipment and supplies, library, and student
activities.

1.3.2  The business management shall be under the

direction of a responsible bonded financial officer charged
with the preparation and supervision of the budget in
accordance with sound financial and educational practices.

1.3.3  A continuing institution shall present an
operating statement and proposed balance sheet for the fiscal
year and a budget summary for each present fiscal year,
comparable in amount of detail to those customarily
prepared for trustees.

1.3.4  Information shall be available on the annual
surplus or deficit at the end of each of the past five fiscal
years.

1.3.5  The general aspects of business
administration and the principles of accounting and reporting
shall adhere to the widely accepted standards published by
the American Council on Education in the current edition of
College and University Business Administration.

1.4  Student Personnel Program
1.4.1  An institution shall provide evidence of an

adequate student personnel program, including student
activities and a counseling service and shall be directed by a
professionally trained person whose responsibilities embrace
the general welfare and discipline of the students.

1.4.2  Provision shall be made in the counseling
service for testing of students’ abilities and interests as aids
to student self-understanding, educational planning and
career decisions.

1.4.3  Depending on the scope of the institution and
whether it is residential or nonresidential in character, the
student personnel program shall be concerned with the living
arrangements and health needs of students and with the
development of a meaningful program of social, recreational
and athletic, education and cultural out of class activities.

1.5  Admission Policies and Procedures
1.5.1  The instruction shall have a carefully stated

selective admissions policy that is appropriate to the
institution’s purposes and organization.  Admission criteria
shall be established in consideration of the abilities needed
by all students to achieve satisfactorily in the various
programs of study offered.  The institution shall operate in
compliance with announced admission policies and
procedures.

1.5.2  The admissions office shall be adequately
staffed to carry out the admissions policies and procedures.

1.5.3  For admission, the institution shall require
either graduation from an accredited secondary school or
other recognized standards such as the General Education
Development Test scores or the College Entrance
Examination Board scores.  The applicant’s file should
contain a complete transcript of the school record including
courses, grades, and other appropriate information properly
signed by the high school principal, guidance officer or other
duly authorized school official.

1.5.4  The institution shall supply evidence such as
correlation between admission credentials and freshman
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grades, academic attrition studies, objective test results and
others, to demonstrate that it selects students qualified to
pursue successfully the program of study for which
admitted.  The institution shall admit students in accordance
with its published criteria.

1.5.4.1  The institution may, at  [their  its]
discretion employ more flexible and experimental
admissions standards but should document with supporting
information the criteria used to judge these students for
admission and evaluate these criteria based on experience.

1.6  Faculty
1.6.1  The institution shall have clearly defined

criteria for faculty appointment, incentives for retention, and
provisions for in-service growth and development.

1.6.2  There shall be a well planned incentive
program designed for retention of faculty.  Such a program
shall include policies on academic freedom, tenure,
retirement, pensions, leaves of absence including
sabbaticals, sick leave, insurance, and other faculty benefits.
There shall be a clear statement of criteria for each rank and
the requirements for promotion.

1.6.3  There shall be a thorough orientation for all
new faculty, periodic evaluation and critique of instructional
methods, and, where appropriate, evidence of research
accomplishment.

1.6.4  If faculty members serve as advisors, they
shall be fully informed about degree requirements, transfer
regulations and any other specific requirements such as state
teacher certification or professional licensing.

1.6.5  There shall be evidence that there is a faculty
organization to carry out the respective educational
responsibilities.

1.7  Program
1.7.1  The number and variety of curricula shall be

determined by the purposes of the institution, the size of the
student body, and the available personnel and resources of
the institution.

1.7.2  Curricula in all fields shall evidence
recognition of the relationships between broad education and
the acquisition of techniques and skills.  Degree
requirements for each curriculum shall be clearly stated.

1.7.3  Transfer and career programs in a junior
college shall include a block of courses in liberal education.

1.8  Graduation Requirements
1.8.1  For authorization to grant an associate

degree, an institution shall require 60 semester hours of
academic and pre-professional work or equivalent, give
credit only for courses completed with a passing grade of the
(D) or its Institutional equivalent and require an average of
2.0 or specify clearly what index is required for graduation.

1.8.2  For authorization to grant a baccalaureate
degree, an institution shall require a minimum of 120
semester hours for graduation and no less than a 2.0 overall
average (on a 4.0 scale).

1.8.3  All graduation requirements shall be clearly
delineated for any institution.

1.9  Facilities
1.9.1  Administrative and faculty facilities,

classrooms, library, laboratories, and student activity centers
shall be suitable for their specific purposes, and convenience
for advisement and scheduling, and shall promote the
highest standards of learning, health and personal welfare.
[The institution shall comply with applicable state and
federal standards, with respect to the accessibility of
facilities by persons with disabilities.]

1.9.2  Beginning institutions and those planning
expansion programs shall have well designed plans for
appropriate building expansion.

1.10  Library
1.10.1  The institution shall provide library

facilities adequate to the effective realization of its stated
educational objectives.

1.10.2  The physical facilities shall be conducive to
frequent and effective use of the collections.

1.10.3  The accommodations shall allow for seating
from one-fourth to one-third of the student body and there
shall be space set aside for quiet study and leisure time
reading.

1.10.4  The program shall be administered by a
professionally trained library staff adequate in number for
the size of the student body.

1.10.5  The collection of volumes shall meet the
standards of the American Library Association.

1.10.6  In the case of the non-Delaware institution
offering courses, programs of courses, or degrees in
Delaware, library facilities shall be imported on a temporary
basis or provided through contractual arrangements with
other Delaware institutions so that the material available will
provide adequate support to the courses offered.

1.11  Outcomes
1.11.1  The institution shall describe its means for

assessing the extent to which it achieves its stated purposes
and objectives insofar as this is measurable.

1.11.2  Plans for the measurement of outcomes
shall include evaluation of undergraduate achievement based
on standard tests; a study of the performance of graduates in
graduate or professional schools (or of transfer students in
the junior or senior years); and a long term study of the
achievements based on data gathered periodically and
systematically.

1.12  Catalog and Announcements
1.12.1  The catalogs and all other announcements

shall give an accurate description of the actual offerings of
the institution and show evidence that the institution is
managed by educationally competent and morally
responsible persons and shall include specifically:

1.12.1.1  Identification data, such as volume
number, and date of publication.
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1.12.1.2  Names of the institution, the
governing board, and the administrative staff and faculty
showing earned degrees and the institutions granting them.

1.12.1.3  A complete calendar for the academic
year.

1.12.1.4  A statement of its accredited or
approval status.

1.12.1.5  A statement of the origin and
objectives of the institution.

1.12.1.6  Admission and graduation policies
and requirements.

1.12.1.7  Detailed schedule of all fees and other
charges as well as refund policies.

1.12.1.8  Information concerning scholarship
funds.

1.12.1.9  Description of location of the
institution; buildings, grounds and equipment.

1.12.1.10  List of degrees conferred and
requirements for each degree.

1.12.1.11  Outline of each curriculum and a
description of each course offered during period covered by
the catalog and an indication of courses offered at other
times.  Descriptions shall indicate prerequisites, if any.

1.12.1.12  Number of weeks of instruction per
semester and of class meetings per week.

2.0  Procedures for Securing Approval
2.1  Institutions may be granted one of three levels of

recognition:  Recognized Applicant, Provisional Approval or
Full Approval for five years.

2.1.1  Recognized Applicant:  An institution shall
complete the questionnaire, Application to Confer Academic
and Honorary Degrees.  This material, presented in
duplicate, is reviewed by an evaluation team mutually
acceptable to the institution and the Department of
Education.  After the review and a hearing with the Board of
Trustees and the administrative staff of the institution, an on-
site visitation may be required if the institution is actually in
operation.  If all the facts gained appear to meet, or show
promise of meeting, a significant portion of the standards as
stated in the Delaware Standards for Approving Institutions
of Higher Education, the institution shall be notified of
Recognized Applicant status valid for one or more years.
Recognized Applicant status may be extended yearly or may
be terminated. Recommendations shall be made for any
changes in or additions to the information previously
submitted which would be necessary for consideration for
Provisional Approval.  A two year institution shall request
evaluation for Provisional Approval no later than the
beginning of the 4th semester; four year institutions, no later
than the 7th semester.

2.1.2  Provisional Approval:  Following the on-site
visit, required for this second level of approval, the team
shall recommend to the Secretary of Education that either the

institution continue to be recognized only as an Applicant
without degree granting status, or it be granted Provisional
Approval with the right to confer the degrees requested.
Those institutions required to remain on Applicant Status
will be informed of the changes and improvements necessary
to be eligible for Provisional Status.  There is no guarantee
that a Recognized Applicant institution will be given either
Provisional or Full Approval.  A Recognized Applicant
institution may incorporate but its charter shall not include
the right to confer degrees.

2.1.2.1  An institution receiving Provisional
Approval may incorporate under 8 Del. C. Section 125 with
the right to confer a degree.  If the institution has previously
incorporated without the right to confer a degree, the charter
shall be amended to include the degree-granting privilege.
The institution shall retain this status until after the first class
has been graduated.

2.1.2.2  An institution shall seek full approval
within a minimum of two years following the first
graduation but may petition for such approval within the first
year.  The conferring of final approval may require a second
on-site visit.

2.1.2.3  If a Provisionally Approved institution
does not receive full approval within four years after the first
graduating class, the Department of Education may
withdraw all approval and inform the Corporation Division
of the State of Delaware that the section in the charter for the
institution which refers to the right to confer degrees is no
longer valid.

2.1.2.4  It shall be the responsibility of the
Department of Education to keep Recognized Applicants
and Provisionally Approved institutions apprised of the
requirements they must meet in order to achieve the next
level of recognition.

2.1.2.5  For Final Approval an institution must
meet the minimum standards which are found in the
following sections of this document.  However, for certain
types of organizations such as a junior college of business, or
a specialized area within a college such as the library, or a
specialized college or school offering degrees, the
Department of Education reserves the right to use as
additional criteria the regulations of the appropriate
accrediting or approving agency.  For example, the criteria
established by the Accrediting Commission for Business
Schools might be used as supplementary requirements to be
applied to two-year proprietary business colleges; the
standards of the American Association of Collegiate Schools
of Business might be applied to nonprofit two or four year
institutions.  The Guidelines of the American Bar
Association might be the basis of approving a law school or
college.  The standards established by the American Library
Association will be applied to all college libraries except
where more specific standards are available for professional
libraries such as a law library.
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2.1.3  Fully Approved institutions shall retain such
status for a period of no longer than five years by which time
a progress report must be filed with a follow-up visitation
required if deemed desirable by the Department of
Education. If such an institution is scheduled for a Regional
Accreditation evaluation at the time of either the Final
Approval or the five-year period review and the Department
of Education has a representative on the evaluation team, the
Department of Education may accept the Regional Approval
in lieu of a separate evaluation.

2.1.3.1  Provisionally Approved and Fully
Approved institutions shall keep the Department of
Education informed of any changes in the facts as presented
in their applications.

2.2  All expenses incurred by a visiting team, with the
exception of personnel from publicly supported educational
institutions, at any stage in the approval procedures shall be
borne by the institution requesting approval.  If an institution
is located outside of the State of Delaware and is
incorporating in Delaware, it [must shall] also pay the
expenses of Delaware representative appointed by the State
Department of Education if such a visit is deemed necessary.

2.3  Proposals or descriptions for graduate programs
[must shall] be very carefully detailed with emphasis on
admission requirements, standards for maintaining graduate
status, qualifications of staff, opportunities for research,
adaptation of programs to individual needs, and any other
facts pertinent to a good graduate program.

3.0  Institutions of Higher Education Application for
Degree Granting Authority

3.1  The Applicant Institution shall complete detailed
application questionnaires and submit data as requested.

3.2  The Secretary shall appoint an evaluation
committee to advise the Secretary and the Applicant
Institution from the time of application through the final
approval.

3.2.1  The committee shall be composed of persons
from the Department of Education, the University of
Delaware and other persons with experience in the field of
higher education and shall recommend to the Secretary of
Education that the Institution receive status as a Recognized
Applicant or deny recognition.  The status of Recognized
Applicant does not carry authorization to confer degrees.

3.3  Near the end of the first full school year of classes
but prior to the close of classes, the institution shall file a
progress report as described and requested by the committee.
The evaluation committee will make an on-site visit to the
institution in order to verify the contents of the report and
evaluate progress to date.

3.3.1  A written report of the committee’s action
shall be sent to the Secretary of Education with a
recommendation to withdraw approval, to continue the
status of Recognized Applicant along with a listing of any

specific recommendations to be met by the institution or to
grant new status of Provisional Approval, with the right to
confer a degree.

3.4  At a time one or two years following the graduation
of the first class from the institution, on an occasion
mutually agreed upon by the officials of the institution and
the evaluation committee, the institution shall present a third
progress report and the committee shall make an on-site
visit.  In the event that this planned visit is scheduled to
occur at approximately the same time as that of a visit from
the Commission on Higher Education of the Middle States
Association of Colleges and Schools, or another appropriate
specialized accrediting agency, it may be recommended to
the Secretary of Education that a favorable report by this
visiting agency be accepted in lieu of a separate report and
on-site visit from the evaluating committee.  The
recommendation on this occasion may be for final approval
of the degree-granting authority of the institution.

3.5  If approval of the institution is denied at any of the
three major steps described in this procedure, the institution
shall have the right of appeal to the Department of Education
but in such appeal will be required to submit necessary
evidence to show cause why approval should be granted or
why temporary approval should be extended for a longer
period of time.

3.6  Any costs incidental to the evaluation and approval
of a college, except the salary of personnel from the publicly
supported educational institutions in Delaware, shall be the
responsibility of the Applicant Institution.

4.0  Procedures for Approval of Non-Delaware
Institutions of Higher Education that Offer Courses,
Programs of Courses or Degrees Within the State of
Delaware

4.1  Out-of-state institutions wishing to offer credit-
bearing courses, programs of courses, or degree programs in
Delaware shall make application to the Secretary of
Education at least one academic year before the requested
date of implementation.

4.2  Final application forms with supporting documents
shall be presented to the Secretary of Education at least six
months prior to the requested date of implementation.

4.3  An accreditation agency designation of Recognized
Applicant or any other less than full accreditation
designation shall not be accepted.

4.4  Even though an institution is regionally accredited,
the Department of Education may at any time require the
institution to present a complete and documented application
for license if complaints directed against the Delaware
operation of the institution by Delaware enrollees seem to
warrant a more thorough review.

4.5  The Institution shall prove that the proposed site or
facility is in compliance with [applicable Federal,]
Delaware and local ordinances pertaining to fire, health,
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zoning, safety, etc.[governmental laws and standards
pertaining to zoning, occupancy, accessiblity, fire, health
and safety.]

4.6  The Institution shall prove that the degree programs
conform to the minimum standards established by the
Department of Education for similar institutions operating
within the State.

4.7  The Institution shall guarantee, by resolution of
their Board of Trustees, that their operations in the state of
Delaware will be financially solvent.

4.8  Programs shall be approved for periods of one to
five years but initially programs shall be approved for up to
three years.  Credit-bearing courses, but not degree programs
shall be approved for only one year.

4.9  After the initial approval, renewal approval will be
contingent upon a favorable recommendation based upon
periodic review by the staff of the Department of Education
and usually with the assistance of a consultant(s) from an
institution of higher education with expertise in the program
or course offered.

4.10  The institution shall be obligated to keep the
Secretary of Education informed of the names and addresses
of those responsible for directing the programs from the
parent campus, the names of instructors, the locations of all
sites in Delaware where instruction is offered, and the names
and addresses of students enrolled in the program and/or
course.

4.11  A license fee of $100.00 per out-of-state
institution shall be required for each school year of
operation. Program duration of a shorter period, such as one
semester or one quarter, shall pay a minimum fee of $50.00.

4.12  Any and all costs incidental to the evaluation and
approval of a program or course, except the salary of
personnel from publicly supported education institutions in
Delaware, shall be the responsibility of the applicant
institution.

4.13  Each year the Department of Education shall
publish a list of all programs and courses approved to
operate in the State.

4.14  Every agent representing an institution as herein
defined, located outside the state of Delaware, shall make
written application for an agent’s permit to the Department
on forms prepared and furnished by the Department.  Each
application shall state the name of the school which the
applicant will represent, contain evidence of the honesty,
truthfulness and integrity of the applicant, shall be verified
under oath by him/her, and shall be accompanied by the
recommendation of two reputable persons, certifying that the
applicant is truthful, honest, and of good reputation, and
recommending that a permit, as an agent, be granted to the
applicant.  The fee for an original permit, as an agent, shall
be determined by the Department and there shall be an
annual renewal fee determined by the Department.  A
separate permit shall be obtained for each school represented

by an agent.
4.14.1  Each applicant for a permit to serve as an

agent shall submit with the application a fee in the amount of
$10.00 for the first application.  This fee will be required for
each institution represented by any one agent.  The fee for
renewal of the permit to serve as an agent shall be $5.00 for
each institution represented by the agent.  The agent shall
present a second application for a permit to serve as agent in
conjunction with the application for certification by the
second institution that he/she will represent.

4.14.2  Each agent shall apply for a permit each
year at the same time that the institution he/she is to
represent makes application for a Certificate of Approval.
No permit shall be issued for a period of more than twelve
calendar months.  No agent shall perform the function of his/
her assignment and solicit Delaware enrollees in the
institution until he/she has been issued the appropriate
identification permit.

4.14.3  The revocation of the certification of an
institution for any cause shall make invalid all agent permits
for that institution.

4.14.4  The discharge or resignation of any agent
shall be reported immediately to the Department of
Education.

4.14.5  To the extent that any situation warrants the
Department of Education shall be responsible for publicizing
the discontinuance of any certificate or permit.

4.14.6  In any instance where the owner of an
institution indicates that he/she plans to serve as his own
agent, separate fee for the agent permit will be waived, but
the permit must be obtained.  Any additional agents must
obtain permits as otherwise described.

4.15  Violations of the law and regulations relating to
Institutions of Higher Education as herein described shall be
referred to the Attorney General of the State of Delaware
who shall assume responsibility for enforcement of the law
and the regulations.

5.0  Institutions of Higher Education, Located In Other
States or Territories and Not Offering Programs In-State

5.1  Pursuant to 8 Del. C. Section 125, the Division of
Corporations of the Delaware Department of State forwards
requests for incorporation made by private colleges and
universities, located outside of Delaware, and not offering
programs in-state, to the Department of Education for
approval prior to incorporation.

5.1.1  With respect to these requests for
incorporation, the Department of Education recognizes the
following: 1) the interest of each state and territory of the
United States to grant the authority to award degrees to
institutions located within that state or territory; 2) the
legitimate request of private colleges and universities located
outside of Delaware to make a business decision to
incorporate in the State; and 3) the Department of
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Education's own right, pursuant to Section 125, to set
reasonable limitations to ensure the quality of education
offered by such institutions of higher education incorporated
in Delaware.

5.1.2  As a matter of comity, the Department of
Education will not approve the incorporation of colleges,
universities or other institutions offering credit-bearing
courses, that have a primary site of operation in another state
and do not operate in Delaware, unless the institution already
is approved by the state degree granting authority of the state
in which it is located, or, in states without a degree granting
authority, is accredited by a nationally recognized
accrediting agency or association approved by the United
States Department of Education.  A nationally recognized
accrediting agency or association is one that appears on the
list published as Nationally Recognized Accrediting
Associations, by the Secretary of Education.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

PUBLIC NOTICE
Medicaid / Medical Assistance Program

IN THE MATTER OF: |
REVISION OF THE REGULATIONS |
OF DELAWARE'S DIVISION OF        |
SOCIAL SERVICES MANUAL |
SECTION(S) 30000 - 30700 |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

The Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (“Department”) initiated proceedings to update
policies related to the Delaware Prescription Assistance
Program.  The Department’s proceedings to amend its
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Del.C. 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Del.C. 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the November, 2000 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by November 30, 2000 at which time the
Department would receive information, factual evidence and
public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations.

SUMMARY OF INFORMATION SUBMITTED:

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD)
submitted observations and recommendations to clarify the
following sections: Section 30000 - deleting "disabled
individuals" and inserting "individuals with disabilities";
Section 30203 - reference "individual" instead of "family
income" by deleting "household"; and, Section 30305 -
clarify "the individual must not have or must be ineligible
for". As such, the Delaware Prescription Assistance Program
policy has been amended to grammatically clarify the
language.   

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the November, 2000 Register of Regulations and
amended should be adopted as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Delaware Prescription Assistance Program
are adopted and shall be final effective January 10, 2001.

December 13, 2000
Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D.
Secretary

DELAWARE PRESCRIPTION ASSISTANCE 
PROGRAM

30000 Delaware Prescription Assistance Program
30100 Definitions
30200 General Application Information
30201 Disposition of Applications
30202 Timely Determination of Eligibility
30203 Reporting Changes in Circumstances
30300 Technical Eligibility
30301 Citizenship and Alienage
30302 State Residency
30303 Social Security Number
30304 Aged or Disabled Requirement
30305 No Other Prescription Drug Coverage
30305.1 Exceptions to No Other Prescription Drug

Coverage
30306 Inmate of a Public Institution
30400 Financial Eligibility
30401 Countable Income
30402 Excluded Income
30403 Eligibility Determination
30404 Effective Date of Coverage
30405 Redetermination of Eligibility
30500 Benefits
30501 Limitations on Benefits
30502 Co-payment Requirement
30503 Waiver of Co-payment for Good Cause

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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30600 Confidentiality
30601 Release of Information to DPAP Providers
30602 Release of Information to Others
30700 Fair Hearings

30000 DELAWARE PRESCRIPTION ASSISTANCE
PROGRAM

The 140th General Assembly amended Title 16,
Delaware Code, by adding Chapter 30B to enact the
Delaware Prescription Drug Payment Assistance Program.
The purpose of this act is to provide payment assistance for
prescription drugs to low-income senior and disabled
individuals who are ineligible for, or do not have,
prescription drug benefits or coverage through federal, state,
or private sources.  

The program is administered by the Fiscal Agent under
contract with the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services.

The rules in this section set forth the eligibility
requirements for coverage under the Delaware Prescription
Assistance Program (DPAP).  The DPAP is implemented
January 1, 2000, with benefits beginning January 14, 2000.

30100  Definitions
Contractor:  the agent who is under contract with the

State to administer the DPAP.
Department:  the Department of Health and Social

Services or DHSS
Division:  the Division of Social Services or DSS

30200  General Application Information
The application for DPAP must be made in writing on

the prescribed DSS form.  This request for assistance can be
made by the applicant, guardian, or other individual acting
for the applicant with his knowledge and consent.  The
application filing date is the date the application is received
in either the Contractor's office or a DSS office.  

DPAP will consider an application without regard to
race, color, age, sex, disability, religion, national origin, or
political belief as per Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of
1964.

Filing an application gives the applicant the right to
receive a written determination of eligibility and the right to
appeal the written determination.

30201  Disposition of Applications
The Contractor must include in each applicant’s case

record facts to support the Contractor's decision on his
application.  The Contractor must dispose of each
application by a finding of eligibility or ineligibility, unless:

a) there is an entry in the case record that the applicant
voluntarily withdrew the application, and that the Contractor

sent a notice confirming his decision;
b) there is a supporting entry in the case record that the

applicant has died; or
c) there is a supporting entry in the case record that the

applicant cannot be located.
d) Certain factors of eligibility must be verified.  If all

information requested is not received, the Contractor cannot
determine or redetermine eligibility.  This may result in
denial of the application or the termination of eligibility.
Verifications received and/or provided may reveal a new
eligibility issue not previously realized and this may require
additional verifications.  Failure to provide additional
requested verifications may result in denial or termination of
eligibility.

All applicants will receive a notice of acceptance or
denial.

30202  Timely Determination of Eligibility
A time standard of 45 days will apply.  This standard

equals the period from the application filing date to the date
that the notice of decision is mailed.  The standard must be
met except in unusual circumstances, such as:

• A decision cannot be made because the applicant or
his representative delays or fails to take a required
action.

• There is an administrative or other emergency
beyond the Contractor's control.

30203  Reporting Changes in Circumstances
At time of application and redetermination, each

individual household must be informed that he is responsible
for notifying the Contractor of all changes in his
circumstances, which could potentially affect his eligibility
for DPAP.  

30300  Technical Eligibility
The following requirements are factors of eligibility

specific to DPAP.

30301  Citizenship and Alienage
The individual must be a U.S. citizen or a lawfully

admitted alien.

30302  State Residency
The individual must be living in the State of Delaware.

30303  Social Security Number
Each individual applying for DPAP must furnish his or

her Social Security number.

30304  Aged or Disabled Requirement
The individual must meet one of the following

requirements:
a) be age 65 or over, or 
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b) be an individual between the ages of 19 and 64 who
is receiving disability benefits under Title II of the Social
Security Act.  An individual is considered to meet the
"receiving disability benefits" requirement if the individual
is a former recipient of either Social Security Disability
Insurance benefits or Supplemental Security Income benefits
and was required by the Social Security Administration to
accept Social Security Survivors benefits.

30305  No Other Prescription Drug Coverage
The individual must not have or be ineligible for,

prescription drug benefits or coverage through federal, state,
or private sources regardless of any annual limitations to the
benefits.  

The individual must not have or be ineligible for:

a) Medicaid prescription benefits
b) prescription drug benefits through a Medicare

supplemental policy
c) prescription drug benefits through a third party

payer
d) the Nemours Health Clinic Pharmaceutical benefit

as defined on 1/1/99

30305.1  Exceptions to No Other Prescription Drug
Coverage

Individuals who are eligible for the following drug
benefits will not be excluded from eligibility for DPAP:

a) individuals eligible for Medicaid as Family
Planning Only

b) individuals covered under a specific disease state
insurance program, for example a policy that pays only for
cancer drugs

c) individuals who are members of a discount drug
program in which the policy does not actually pay for the
drugs, for example American Association of Retired Persons
(AARP)

d) individuals eligible for drug coverage through the
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation

e) individuals eligible for drug coverage through the
Division of Alcoholism, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health.  

30306  Inmate of a Public Institution
An individual who is an inmate of a public institution is

not eligible for DPAP.  
An individual is an inmate when serving time for a

criminal offense or confined involuntarily in State or Federal
prisons, jail, detention facilities, or other penal facilities.  An
individual awaiting trial in a detention center is considered
an inmate of a public institution.

30400  Financial Eligibility
Income is any type of money payment that is of gain or

benefit to a family  an individual.  Income is either counted
or excluded for the eligibility determination.

30401  Countable Income
Countable income includes but is not limited to:

1. Social Security benefits – as paid after deduction
for Medicare premium

2. Pension – as paid
3. Veterans Administration Pension – as paid
4. U.S. Railroad Retirement Benefits – as paid
5. Wages – net amount after deductions for taxes and

FICA
6. Senior Community Service Employment – net

amount after deductions for taxes and FICA
7. Interest/Dividends – gross amount
8. Capital Gains – gross amount from capital gains on

stocks, mutual funds, bonds.
9. Credit Life or Credit Disability Insurance Payments

– as paid 
10. Alimony – as paid
11. Rental Income from entire dwelling – gross rent

paid minus standard deduction of 20% for expenses
12. Roomer/Boarder Income – gross room/board paid

minus standard deduction of 10% for expenses
13. Self Employment – countable income as reported to

Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
14. Unemployment Compensation - as paid

30402  Excluded Income
Excluded income includes but is not limited to:

1. Annuity payments
2. Individual Retirement Account (IRA) distributions
3. Payments from reverse mortgages
4. Capital gains from the sale of principal place of

residence
5. Conversion or sale of a resource (i.e. cashing a

certificate of deposit)
6. Income tax refunds 
7. Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)
8. Vendor payments (bills paid directly to a third party

on behalf of the individual)
9. Government rent/housing subsidy paid directly to

individual (i.e. HUD utility allowance)
10. Loan payments received by individual
11. Proceeds of a loan
12. Foster care payments made on behalf of foster

children living in the home
13. Retired Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP)
14. Veterans Administration Aid and Attendance

payments
15. Victim Compensation payments
16. German reparation payments
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17. Agent Orange settlement payments
18. Radiation Exposure Compensation Trust Fund

payments
19. Japanese-American, Japanese-Canadian, and

Aleutian restitution payments
20. Payments from long term care insurance or for

inpatient care paid directly to the individual

30403  Eligibility Determination
To be eligible for DPAP:
(a) the individual must have countable income that is

less than 200% of the Federal Poverty Level, or
(b) the individual has countable income that is equal to

or greater than 200% of the Federal Poverty Level and the
individual has prescription drug expenses that exceed 40%
of his countable income.

The Federal Poverty Level (FPL) is published annually.
The income eligibility standard based on the FPL will be
issued within 10 business days after the FPL is published.
The revised income eligibility  standard will be used to
determine eligibility for the month following the month in
which the standard is issued.

30404  Effective Date of Coverage
Coverage begins on the first day of the month following

the month that eligibility is determined.  There is no
retroactive coverage.  Eligible individuals will receive an
identification card for DPAP.

30405  Redetermination of Eligibility
A redetermination of eligibility must be completed by

July of each year.  If an individual's initial coverage begins
in April, May, or June, a redetermination will not be required
until July of the following year.

30500  Benefits
Prescription drugs covered under DPAP are restricted to

medically necessary products manufactured by
pharmaceutical companies that agree to provide
manufacturer rebates.  Policy and guidelines will follow the
existing Delaware Medical Assistance Program limitations.
Services covered include generic and brand name
prescription drugs that have been approved as safe and
effective by the Federal Food and Drug Administration as
well as cost effective over-the-counter drugs prescribed by a
practitioner.  Necessary diabetic supplies not covered by
Medicare will also be covered.  Medications that are covered
by Medicare are not covered under DPAP.

30501  Limitations on Benefits
Payment assistance to each eligible individual shall not

exceed $2,500.00 per State fiscal year.  Individuals will
receive a notice when 75% of the $2,500.00 cap has been
expended.

30502  Co-payment Requirement
There is a co-payment of $5.00 or 25% of the cost of the

prescription whichever is greater.  The pharmacy will not
dispense or provide the prescription until the co-payment is
collected.

30503  Waiver of Co-payment for Good Cause
At the written request of the individual, the co-pay

requirement may be waived for good cause.  
Good cause for waiver of the co-payment is:

The individual has experienced a catastrophic
situation resulting in unexpected, extraordinary expenses
related to loss or significant damage to shelter or the well
being of the individual or his immediate family.  

The written request must explain the circumstances
that led to the request.  Verification of the circumstances is
required in the form of collateral evidence that may include,
but is not limited to, repair bills and police or insurance
reports.  The DPAP will provide written notification to the
individual regarding the good cause decision.  If good cause
is granted, the co-payments will be waived for the remainder
of the fiscal year. 

30600  Confidentiality
DPAP will provide safeguards that restrict the use or

disclosure of information about applicants and recipients to
purposes directly connected with the administration of the
DPAP.

Purposes directly related to administration of the DPAP
include establishing eligibility, providing services for
recipients, determining the amount of medical assistance,
and conducting or assisting an investigation, prosecution, or
civil or criminal proceeding related to the administration of
the program.

At a minimum, the types of information about
applicants and recipients that must be safeguarded and not
released without consent include:

1. Names and addresses;
2. Medical services provided;
3. Social and economic conditions or

circumstances;
4. Contractor evaluation of personal information;
5. Medical data, including diagnosis and past

history of disease or disability;
6. Information received for verifying income

eligibility and amount of medical assistance payments; and
7. Information about third party liability.

30601  Release of Information to DPAP Providers
DPAP providers have a contractual obligation to

safeguard information about recipients.  Providers may have
access to certain eligibility information if they can provide:

a. a DPAP identification number, or 
b. two of the following identifying factors:



FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 4, ISSUE 7, MONDAY, JANUARY 1, 2001

1184

individual's full name, date of birth, Social Security number;
AND

c. the date of service.

Providers who supply the above identifying factors may
be given the following information:

a. correct spelling of the recipient's name;
b. DPAP number;
c. date of birth;
d. an indication whether the individual is eligible for

the date of service given or for a range of dates given.
Providers may not be given all periods of eligibility.

30602  Release of Information to Others
At the time of application, individuals are informed that

all eligibility information is confidential and disclosure
without written permission of the individual is limited.
DPAP has the authority to responsibly share information
concerning applicants and recipients with:

a. DHSS employees; 
b. Federal or federally assisted programs that provide

assistance to individuals on the basis of need (SSI, HUD);
c. contracted service providers 

Information may be released to comply with a subpoena
or other valid court order. 

DPAP must obtain specific written permission from the
individual before releasing information to any other persons
or sources.

30700  Fair Hearings
A fair hearing is an administrative hearing held in

accordance with the principles of due process.  An
opportunity for a fair hearing will be provided, subject to the
provisions in policy at DSSM 5000 - 5607.

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
DELAWARE SECURITIES ACT

Statutory Authority:  6 Delaware Code,
Sections 7313, 7314 and 7325
(6 Del.C. 7313, 7314 & 7325)

NOTICE OF INFORMAL RULEMAKING BY THE 
SECURITIES DIVISION

The Delaware Securities Division of the Attorney
General’s Office hereby gives notice that it will amend Rule
508(a) to accomplish the following:

Update the Division’s referenced securities manuals to
reflect the trademark change of Moody’s to Mergent’s.

The legal authority for this action is found in Section

10113(b)(4) of the Administrative Procedures Act and
section 7325 of the Delaware Securities Act.  This change
will take effect 30 days after the date of publication of this
notice.

James B. Ropp 
Securities Commissioner

REGULATION

§500  Registration Not Required of Federal Covered
Securities 

Federal covered securities, as defined in Section
7302(a)(17) of the Act, are not required to be registered]
under Section 7304 of  the Act.  Notwithstanding this rule,
however, notice filings are required  for registered
investment company offerings under Rule 403; and for
offers or sales of securities in Delaware  pursuant to SEC
Rule 506, 17 C.F.R. §230.506.

See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98) 

§501 Designated Exchange Exemption
Any security listed or approved for listing upon notice

of issuance on the  Boston Stock Exchange or the Chicago
Board Options Exchange is exempted from  Sections 7304,
7309A and 7312 of the Act pursuant to Section 7309(a)(8) of
the Act.

See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98)

§502 Limited Offering Exemption
(a)  Any offer or sale of securities made in compliance

with SEC Rule 505,  17 C.F.R. §230.505 (Exemption for
Limited Offers and Sales of Securities Not  Exceeding
$5,000,000) of Regulation D under the Securities Act of
1933 and the  provisions of this Rule is exempt from
registration under Section 7309(b)(9) of the  Act.

(b)  To qualify for the limited offering exemption under
Section  7309(b)(9), the following conditions and limitations
must be met:

(1)  No commission, fee or other remuneration shall
be paid or given,  directly or indirectly, to any person for
soliciting any prospective purchaser in this  state unless such
person is appropriately registered under the Act.  It is a
defense to a  violation of this subsection if the issuer sustains
the burden of proof to establish that  he or she did not know
and in the exercise of reasonable care could not have known
that the person who received a commission, fee or other
remuneration was not  appropriately registered under the
Act. 

(2)  The limited offering exemption is not available
if the issuer, any of  its directors, officers, general partners,
trustees, beneficial owners of ten percent or  more of a class
of its equity interests, promoters currently connected with it
in any  capacity, or any person (other than a broker-dealer

http://www.state.de.us/securities/
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currently registered under the  Act) that has been or will be
paid or given, directly or indirectly, a commission or  similar
remuneration for the solicitation of a prospective purchaser
or in connection  with sales of securities under this
exemption: 

(i)  within ten years before the first sale of
securities in an  offering under this exemption has filed a
registration statement or application for  exemption from
registration that is currently subject to a stop order under any
state's  securities laws; 

(ii)  within ten years before the first sale of
securities in an  offering under this exemption has been
convicted of or has pleaded nolo contendere  to a felony or
misdemeanor in connection with the offer, purchase, or sale
of a  security or in connection with the making of a false
filing with the SEC or with a  state securities administrator,
or a felony involving fraud or deceit, including, but  not
limited to, forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under
false pretenses,  larceny, conspiracy to defraud, or theft; 

(iii)  is subject to an order, judgment or decree
of a court of  competent jurisdiction temporarily or
preliminarily restraining or enjoining, or is  subject to an
order, judgment, or decree of a court of competent
jurisdiction entered  within ten years before the first sale of
securities in an offering under this exemption  permanently
restraining or enjoining, that person from engaging in or
continuing any  conduct or practice in connection with the
offer, purchase, or sale of a security or in  connection with
the making of a false filing with the SEC or a state securities
administrator; 

(iv)  is the subject of any order or judgment
which prohibits,  denies or revokes the use of any exemption
from registration in connection with the  offer, purchase or
sale of securities; 

(v)  is subject to a state administrative order
entered by a state  securities administrator in which fraud or
deceit was found, if the final order was  entered within ten
years before the first sale of securities in an offering under
this  exemption. 

(3)  Not later than 15 days after the first sale of
securities under this  regulation, the issuer shall file with the
Commissioner a manually signed notice on a  completed
SEC Form D (Notice of Sale of Securities Pursuant to
Regulation D,  Section 4(6), and/or Uniform Limited
Offering Exemption), as filed with the SEC  and as that form
may be amended from time to time. That filing shall
constitute an  affirmation by the issuer that it has complied
with SEC Rule 505 and that upon  written request the issuer
shall furnish to the Commissioner any and all information
furnished by the issuer or its agents to the offerees. 

(4)  An issuer relying on the exemption from
registration under  Section 7309(b)(9) of the Act and this
regulation that is not filing SEC From D  with the SEC shall
file with the Commissioner, not later than 15 days after the

first sale of securities under this regulation, or within six
months of  commencement of the offering (whichever occurs
first), a Delaware Form D-1  (Notice of Sale of Securities
Pursuant to Delaware Securities Act Section 7309(b)(9)). 

(5)  In all sales to nonaccredited investors in
Delaware, one of the  following conditions must be satisfied
or the issuer and any person acting on its  behalf shall have
reasonable grounds to believe and after making reasonable
inquiry  shall believe that one of the following conditions are
satisfied:

 (i)  The investment is suitable for the
purchaser upon the basis of  the facts, if any, disclosed by the
purchaser as to the purchaser's other security  holdings,
financial situation and needs. 

(ii)  The purchaser either alone or with his or
her purchaser representative(s) has such knowledge and
experience in financial and business  matters that he or she is
or they are capable of evaluating the merits and risks of the
prospective investment.     

(c)  Neither this regulation nor the Act provide an
exemption from the  provisions of Section 7303 of the Act.  

(d)  The burden of proving an exemption under this
regulation is on the  person claiming the exemption.

(e)  The Commissioner may, by rule or order, increase
the number of  purchasers or waive any other condition of
this exemption.

§505 Offers of Securities Through the Internet 
(a)  A communication that is placed on the Internet by or

on behalf of an  issuer that is designed to raise capital and/or
to distribute information on securities,  products or services
and that is directed generally to anyone having  access to the
Internet, whether through postings on "Bulletin Boards,"
displays on  "Home Pages," or otherwise (an "Internet
Communication") shall not constitute an  offer within the
meaning of Section 7302(11)(a) of the Act, and shall
therefore not be required to be registered] under the Act,
provided that: 

(1)   The Internet Communication indicates by a
prominent legend at the beginning of the Internet
Communication that the securities are not being offered to
any person in a state where such offer or sale would be in
violation of  the law]; 

(2)   An offer of the issuer's securities is not
otherwise directed to any  person in Delaware by, or on
behalf of, the issuer; and 

(3)   Unless otherwise exempt under the Act, no
sale of the issuer's  securities is made in Delaware, as a result
of the Internet Communication. 

(b)  Reliance on the exemption provided by this rule
does not preclude an  issuer from relying on other available
exemptions for offers provided under the Act. 

(c)  The term "Internet" for the purposes of this rule
includes the Internet,  the World Wide Web and similar
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proprietary and common carrier electronic systems.

§508 Recognized Securities Manuals 
(a)  Each of the following manuals shall be deemed a

"Recognized Securities  Manual" for the purposes of 6 Del.
C. §7309(b)(2): 

(1)  [Moody's Mergent’s] Industrial Manual 
(2)  [Moody's Mergent’s] Transportation Manual 
(3)  [Moody's Mergent’s] Public Utility Manual 
(4) [[Moody's Mergent’s] Bank and Finance

Manual 
(5)   Standard & Poor's Standard Corporation

Records
See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98)

(6)   Fitch's Individual Stock Bulletin 
(7)  [Moody's Mergent’s] OTC Industrial Manual 

(b)  The term "manual" for purposes of this rule includes
all commonly  recognized formats of publications, including
CD-ROM and electronic dissemination  over the Internet.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
OFFICE OF LABOR LAW ENFORCEMENT

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, 
Section 8503(7) (29 Del.C. §8503(7))

IN RE: |
|

ADOPTION OF AMENDMENT TO |
PREVAILING WAGE REGULATIONS |

ORDER

Nature of the Proceedings

1. Pursuant to notice in accordance with 29 Del.C. §
10115, the Department of Labor proposed an amendment to
the Prevailing Wage Regulations.  The Prevailing Wage
Regulations implement the provisions of Delaware's
Prevailing Wage Law, 29 Del.C. §6960, “Prevailing wage
requirements.”  A copy of the amendment is attached as
Exhibit “A”. 

2. The public hearing was held at 9:00 a.m. on
Wednesday, November 29, 2000, in the Industrial Affairs
Conference Room, Room 203, of the Department of Labor
Office Building, 4425 North Market Street, Wilmington,
Delaware, the time and place designated to receive written
and oral comments.

3. As designated by the Secretary of Labor, Lisa
Blunt-Bradley, Susan S. Anders, Administrator of the Office
of Labor Law Enforcement, was present to receive testimony

and evidence at the 9:00 a.m. November 29, 2000 hearing in
Wilmington, Delaware.

Summary of the Evidence

4. There was no testimony offered.  Ms. Anders stated
that the public record would be held open following the
hearing, until December 1, to receive further written
submissions.

5. No further written submissions were received. 

Findings of Fact

6. Recommendations were submitted to the Secretary
of Labor following the public
hearing process to adopt the proposed amendment. 
Conclusions of Law

7. The Department of Labor proposed the amendment
to the Prevailing Wage Regulations pursuant to its authority
granted in 29 Del. C. § 8503.

Decision To Adopt

8. It is the decision and Order of the Department of
Labor that the proposed amendment to the Prevailing Wage
Regulations, a true and correct copy of which is attached
hereto as Exhibit “A”, is hereby ADOPTED.

SO ORDERED, this _____ day of December, 2000.
Lisa Blunt-Bradley
Secretary of Labor

III.  CONCEPTS AND DEFINITIONS

This section presents definitions and explanations to
provide a basic understanding of elements inherent in
collecting wage data and issuing wage determinations, and
enforcing prevailing rates.

A.  Activity Covered. 29 Del.C. §6960 applies to every
contract or aggregate of contracts relating to a public works
project in excess of $100,000 for now construction
(including painting or decorating) or $15,000 for alteration,
repair, renovation, rehabilitation, demolition or
reconstruction (including painting and decorating of building
or works) to which this State or any subdivision thereof is a
party and for which the State appropriated any part of the
funds and which requires or involves the employment of
mechanics and/or laborers.

B.  "Building" or "Work".  The terms "building" or
"work" generally include construction activity as
distinguished from manufacturing, furnishing of materials,
or servicing and maintenance work.  The terms include
without limitation, buildings, structures, and improvements
of all types, such as bridges, dams, plants, highways,

http://www.delawareworks.com/
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parkways, streets, tunnels, sewers, mains, power lines,
pumping stations, heavy generators, railways, airports,
terminals, docks, piers, wharves, buoys, jetties, breakwaters,
levees, canals, dredging, shoring, rehabilitation and
reactivation of plants, scaffolding, drilling, blasting,
excavating, clearing, and landscaping.  The manufacture or
furnishing of materials, articles, supplies or equipment is not
a "building" or "work" within the meaning of the regulations
unless conducted at the site of such a building or work.

C.  Laborers and Mechanics.  The terms "laborer" and
"mechanic" includes at least those workers whose duties are
manual or physical in nature (including those workers who
use tools or who are performing the work of a trade), as
distinguished from mental or managerial.  The term
"laborer" or "mechanic" includes apprentices and Supportive
Service Program (SSP) trainees.  The term does not apply to
workers whose duties are primarily administrative,
executive, or clerical, rather than manual.  Persons employed
in a bona fide executive, administrative, or professional
capacity are not deemed to be laborers or mechanics.
Working foremen who devote more than twenty (20) percent
of their time during a workweek to mechanic or laborer
duties are deemed to be laborers and mechanics for the time
so spent.

The terms "laborers" and "mechanics" do not apply
to watchmen, guards, dispatchers, or weighmasters.  The
following classifications of workers are recognized by the
Department:

Asbestos Workers
Boilermakers
Bricklayers
Carpenters
Cement Finishers
Electricians
Elevator Constructors
Glaziers
Iron Workers
Laborers
Millwrights
Painters
Plasterers
Plumbers/Pipefitters/Steamfitters
Power Equipment Operators
Roofers
Sheet Metal Workers
Soft Floor Layers
Sprinkler Fitters
Terrazzo/Marble/Tile Setters
Terrazzo/Marble/Tile Finishers
Truck Drivers

Definitions for each classification are contained in a
separate document entitled "Classifications of Workers

Under Delaware's Prevailing Wage Law." Workers
performing tasks not listed in the Department's definitions
(but performed by mechanics and laborers on public
projects) shall be classified by the Department.  The
Department will utilize the U.S. Department of Labor's
Dictionary of Occupational Titles (Fourth Edition, Revised
1991) to determine the correct classifications of workers, as
those definitions relate to the classifications recognized by
the Department.  In cases of conflicts or voids in the
Dictionary of Occupational Titles, the Department may
utilize additional sources including, but not limited to, the
U.S. Department of Labor, employer organizations,
employee organizations, or other government agencies
involved in classifying workers.  Classification
determinations shall be recorded by the Department as they
are made and shall be published annually. Definitions for
each classification are contained in a separate document
entitled, “Classifications of Workers Under Delaware’s
Prevailing Wage Law.”  Workers shall be classified by the
Department of Labor with the advice of the Prevailing Wage
Advisory Council members.  Classification determinations
shall be recorded by the Department as they are made and
shall be published annually.

Laborers and mechanics are to be paid the
appropriate wage rates for the classification of work actually
performed, without regard to skill.

D.  Apprentices and Supportive Service Program
Trainees.

1.  Definitions.  As used in this section:
a.  The term "apprentice" means persons who

are indentured and employed in a bona fide apprenticeship
program and individually registered by the program sponsor
with the Delaware Department of Labor.

b.  The term "apprenticeship agreement" means
a written agreement between an apprentice and either his/her
employer or a joint apprenticeship committee which contains
the terms and conditions of the employment and training of
the apprentice.

c.  The term "apprenticeship program" means a
complete plan of terms and conditions for the employment
and training of apprentices.

d.  The term "Joint apprenticeship committee"
means a local committee equally representative of employers
and employees which has been established by a group of
employers with a bona fide bargaining agent or agents to
direct the training of apprentices with whom it has made
agreements.

e.  The term "SSP Trainee" or "trainee" means
a participant in the "Supportive Service Program" mandated
by the Federal Highway Administration for federally aided
state highway projects.

f.  The term "registration" means the approval
by the Department of Labor of an apprenticeship program or
agreement as meeting the basic standards adopted by the
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Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training, United States
Department of Labor.  The term "registration" for SSP
Trainees means the individual registration of a participant in
a program which has received prior approval, evidenced by
formal certification by the U.S. Department of Labor,
Employment and Training Administration.

2.  Employment of Apprentices and SSP Trainees
on State Projects.

a.  Apprentices and SSP Trainees will be
permitted to work as such on State contracts in excess of
$100,000 for new construction or $15,000 for alteration,
repair, renovation, rehabilitation, demolition or
reconstruction only when they are registered with the
Department of Labor or an approved SSP Training Program.

b.  The mechanic's rate on all such State
contracts is that rate determined by the Department of Labor.
The percentage of the mechanic's rate that the registered
apprentice or SSP Trainee receives will be the percentage
that the apprentice or trainee qualifies for under the terms of
the individual's formal Apprenticeship/Trainee agreement.

c.  Any person employed at an apprentice or
trainee wage rate who is not registered as above, shall be
paid the wage rate determined by the Department of Labor
for the classification of work (s)he actually performed.

d.  The ratio of apprentices to mechanics on the
site of any work covered by 29 Del.C. §6960 in any craft
classification may not be greater than the ratio permitted to
the contractor for the entire workforce under the registered
apprenticeship program.  Any apprentice performing work
on the job site in excess of the ratio permitted under the
registered program must be paid not less than the wage rate
that the applicable wage determination specifies for the work
(s)he actually performs.  Entitlement to mechanic's wages
shall be based upon seniority in the apprenticeship program
or (in the case of equal seniority) seniority on the job site.

3.  Records.
a.  Every employer who employs an apprentice

or SSP trainee under this part must keep the records required
by Title 19, Delaware Code, Chapters 9 and 11, including
designation of apprentices or trainees on the payroll. In
addition, every employer who employs apprentices or SSP
trainees shall preserve the agreements under which the
individuals were employed.

b.  Every joint apprenticeship committee or SSP
Program sponsor shall keep a record of the cumulative
amount of work experience gained by the apprentice or
trainee.

c.  Every joint apprenticeship committee shall keep
a list of the employers to whom the apprentice was assigned
and the period of time (s)he worked for each.  Every SSP
Program sponsor shall keep a list of the projects to which the
trainee was assigned and the period of time (s)he worked on
each.

d.  The records required by paragraphs (a), (b), and

(c) of this section shall be maintained and preserved for at
least three (3) years from the termination of the
apprenticeship or training period.  Such records shall be kept
safe and accessible at the place or places of employment or
at a central location where such records are customarily
maintained.  All records shall be available at any time for
inspection and copying by the Department of Labor.

E.  Working Foremen. 29 Del.C. §6960 does not apply
to (and therefore survey data are not collected for) workers
whose duties are primarily administrative, executive or
clerical, rather than manual.  However, working foremen
who devote more than twenty (20) percent of their time
during a workweek to mechanic or laborer duties are
laborers and mechanics for the time so spent and data will be
collected for the hours spent as laborers or mechanics.

F.  Helpers.  Helper classifications are not recognized by
the Department of Labor.  All laborers and mechanics are to
be paid the appropriate wage rate for the classification of
work actually performed, without regard to skill.

G.  Construction Projects.  In the wage determination
process, the term "project" refers to construction activity as
distinguished from manufacturing, furnishing of materials,
or servicing and maintenance work away from the site of the
work and consists of all construction necessary to complete a
facility regardless of the number of contracts involved so
long as all contracts awarded are closely related in the
purpose, time and place.  For example, demolition or site
clearing work preparatory to construction is considered a
part of the project.

1.  Character Similar. 29 Del.C. §6960 requires the
predetermination of wage rates which are prevailing on
projects of a "character similar to the construction work." As
a general rule, the Department identifies projects by end use
type and classifies then into three major categories:

a.  Building Construction.  Building
construction generally is the construction of sheltered
enclosures with walk-in access for the purpose of housing
persons, machinery, equipment, or supplies.  It includes all
construction of such structures, the installation of utilities
and the installation of equipment, both above and below
grade level as well as incidental grading, utilities and paving.
Additionally, such structures need not be "habitable" to be
building construction.  The installation of heavy machinery
and/or equipment shall not change the project's character as a
building. Examples: Alterations and additions to
nonresidential buildings; Apartment buildings (5 stories and
above); Arenas (enclosed); Auditoriums; Automobile
parking garages; Banks and financial buildings; Barracks;
Churches; Hospitals; Hotels; Industrial buildings;
Institutional buildings; Libraries; Mausoleums; Motels;
Museums; Nursing and convalescent facilities; Office
buildings; outpatient clinics; Passenger and freight terminal
buildings; Police stations; Post offices; City halls; civic
centers; Commercial buildings; Court houses; Detention
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facilities; Dormitories; Farm buildings; Fire stations; Power
plants; Prefabricated buildings; Remodeling buildings;
Renovating buildings; Repairing buildings; Restaurants;
Schools; Service stations; Shopping centers; Stores; Subway
stations; Theaters; Warehouses; Water and sewage treatment
plants (building only).

b.  Heavy Construction.  Heavy projects are
those that are not properly classified as either "building" or
"highway".  Unlike these classifications, heavy construction
is not a homogeneous classification.  Examples of Heavy
construction: Antenna towers; Bridges (major bridges
designed for commercial navigation); Breakwaters; Caissons
(other than building or highway); Canals; Channels; Channel
cut-offs; Chemical complexes or facilities (other than
buildings); Cofferdams; Coke ovens; Dams; Demolition (not
incidental to construction); Dikes; Docks; Drainage projects;
Dredging projects; Electrification projects (outdoor); Flood
control projects; Industrial incinerators (other than building);
Irrigation projects; Jetties; Kilns; Land drainage (not
incidental to other construction); Land leveling (not
incidental to other construction); Land reclamation; Levees;
Locks, Waterways; oil refineries; Pipe lines; Ponds;
Pumping stations (pre-fabricated drop-in units); Railroad
construction; Reservoirs; Revetments; Sewage collection
and disposal lines; Sewers (sanitary, storm, etc.); Shoreline
maintenance; Ski tows; Storage tanks; swimming pools
(outdoor); Subways (other than buildings); Tipples; Tunnels;
Unsheltered piers and wharves; Viaducts (other than
highway); Water mains; Waterway construction; Water
supply lines (not incidental to building); Water and sewage
treatment plants (other than buildings); Wells.

c.  Highway Construction.  Highway projects
include the construction, alteration or repair of roads, streets,
highways, runways, taxiways, alleys, trails, paths, parking
areas, greenway projects and other similar projects not
incidental to building or heavy construction.  Examples:
Alleys; Base courses; Bituminous treatments; Bridle paths;
Concrete pavement; Curbs; Excavation and embankment
(for road construction); Fencing (highway); Grade crossing
elimination (overpasses or underpasses); Parking lots;
Parkways; Resurfacing streets and highways; Roadbeds;
Roadways; Shoulders; Stabilizing courses; Storm sewers
incidental to road construction; Street Paving; Guard rails on
highway; Highway signs; Highway bridges (overpasses;
underpasses; grade separation); Medians; Surface courses;
Taxiways; Trails.

d.  Multiple Categories.  In some cases a
project includes construction items that in themselves
encompass different categories of construction.  Generally, a
project is considered mixed and a "multiple schedule" used if
the construction items are substantial in relation to project
cost, i.e. more than twenty (20) percent.  Only one schedule
is used if construction items are "incidental" in function to
the overall character of a project (e.g., paving of parking lots

or an access road on a building project), and if there is not a
substantial amount of construction in the second category.

2.  Site of Work.  A basic characteristic of the
construction industry is the continual shift in the site of
employment. 29 Del.C. §6960 provides that prevailing
wages are to be paid to "...all mechanics and laborers
employed directly upon the site of the work ..." (emphasis
added).  The site of the work is limited to the physical place
or places where the construction called for in the contract
will remain when work on it has been completed.

H.  Prevailing Wage Rates.  Every contract and the
specifications for every contract to which section 6960
applies are required to contain a provision stating the
minimum wages to be paid various classes of laborers and
mechanics.  These rates are to be based upon the wages that
the Department of Labor determines to be prevailing for the
corresponding classes of laborers and mechanics employed
on projects of a character similar to the contract work in the
county in which the work is to be performed, as reported in
the Department's annual prevailing wage survey.

The prevailing wage shall be the wage paid to a
majority of employees performing similar work as reported
in the Department's annual prevailing wage survey or, in the
absence of a majority, the weighted average wage paid to all
employees reported.

I.  Wages.  The term "wages" means the basic hourly
rate of pay plus fringe benefits as defined below.

J.  Fringe Benefits.  Fringe benefits may be considered
in determining whether an employer has met his/her
prevailing wage obligations.  As a general rule, any fringe
benefit may be considered as long as the employer is not
legally required to provide it.  Therefore, benefits such as
health, welfare or retirement benefits, vacation, holiday pay
or sick leave pay could be considered fringe benefits.
Employer payments for unemployment insurance, workers'
compensation, FICA, etc. (which are required by law) would
not be considered fringe benefits.

In order to be considered a valid fringe benefit,
payments must be made either in cash, or contributed to an
irrevocable escrow account at least once each month.
"Irrevocable" means that the benefit may not be forfeited.
However, a benefit plan can be considered by the
Department provided that payments to the plan are made
irrevocably by the employer, even though certain employees
may forfeit their individual rights to the benefits under
certain prescribed conditions.  Thus, if payments are made
by the employer, and no return of those payments is possible,
the plan would be acceptable, even though individual
employees might not receive the benefits under certain
situations.  Benefits forfeited by such employees remain in
an escrow account for the use of the other employees.

The actual cost of the benefit to the employer is the
basis for evaluating the value of the fringe benefit.
Administration costs are not considered fringe benefits.
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The cost of the benefits must be apportioned
between employment on both public and private projects.
Thus, the total value of the benefit would be divided by the
total amount of time worked.  This will result in benefit per
unit of time which would be equally applicable to public and
private employment projects.  Example: an employee works
two weeks (80 hours) on a public project and two weeks (80
hours) on a private project.  The employer pays $160 for the
employee's health insurance for the month.  The value of the
benefit is $1.00 per hour.  The employer is not permitted to
apply the entire premium to the public project alone.

K.  Peak Week.  In determining prevailing wages, the
Department utilizes a "peak week" survey concept to ensure
that wage and fringe benefit data obtained from employers
reflects for each classification, the payroll period during
which the greatest number of workers in each classification
are used on a project.  The survey solicits the number of
employees and wages paid at each given rate during the peak
week.  The contractor or reporting organization selects the
week (between July 1 to December 31 of the previous year)
during which the greatest number of each classification of
laborers and mechanics was working.  Peak weeks may be
different for each classification of worker.

L.  Wage Determinations.  A "wage determination" is
the listing of wages (including fringe benefits) for each
classification of laborers and mechanics, which the
Administrator has determined to be prevailing in a given
county and type of construction.  Wage determinations are
issued annually.

M.  Maintenance Work.  To "maintain" means to
preserve or keep in an existing state or condition to prevent a
decline, lapse, or cessation from that state or condition.
Wages paid to workers performing maintenance work shall
not be used in determining prevailing wage rates.

N.  Area.  The term "area" in determining wage rates
under 29 Del.C. §6960 shall mean the county of the State in
which the work is to be performed.  The term "area" in
determining classifications of workers under 29 Del.C.
§6960 shall mean the State of Delaware.

O.  Secretary.  "Secretary" means the Secretary of Labor
for the State of Delaware.

P.  Administrator.  "Administrator" means the
Administrator of the Office of Labor Law Enforcement for
the Delaware Department of Labor, Division of Industrial
Affairs.

Q.  Department.  "Department" means the Delaware
Department of Labor.

See 1 DE Reg. 519 (11/1/97)
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER 
NUMBER EIGHTY-THREE

WHEREAS, the State of Delaware is committed to
providing equal employment opportunities to all
Delawareans;

WHEREAS, the State of Delaware is committed to
maintaining a high quality workforce that draws upon the
talents of our diverse citizenry to operate our government
effectively for the benefit of the State’s citizens;

WHEREAS, the State of Delaware aspires to be an
exemplary employer that embraces the diversity and value of
all of its citizens;

WHEREAS, the State of Delaware has consistently
recognized the importance of equality of treatment for all of
its citizens;

WHEREAS, as many private employers have
recognized, a work environment valuing honesty, openness
and respect for diversity promotes personal, social and
economic growth and well-being;

WHEREAS, this Administration believes that the
employment practices of the State of Delaware should be
nondiscriminatory in intent and effect in order to promote
public confidence in the fairness and integrity of
government;

WHEREAS, it is within the Governor’s power to
provide by Executive Order for the equality of treatment
with respect to employment opportunities of State
employees and applicants for State employment;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Thomas R. Carper, by virtue of
the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby order and declare the following
:
SECTION I.  NONDISCRIMINATION IN
EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES.

A.  No state agency or department under the authority of
the Governor shall discriminate against any employee or
applicant for employment on the basis of race, color,
religious creed, ancestry, union membership, age, gender,
marital status, sexual orientation, national origin, handicap
or disability in the provision of any services or benefits by
such state agency or department.

B.  All state agencies and departments shall prohibit
discrimination based on race, color, religious creed,
ancestry, union membership, age, gender, marital status,
sexual orientation, national origin, handicap or disability in
any matter pertaining to employment by the state including,
but not limited to, hiring, job appointment, promotion,
tenure, recruitment, and compensation.

C.  To the extent not otherwise provided by statute,
regulation or existing Executive Order, the Office of State
Personnel (“SPO”) is hereby directed to promulgate clear
and consistent guidelines prohibiting discrimination based
on race, color, religious creed, ancestry, union membership,
age, gender, marital status, sexual orientation, national
origin, handicap or disability to  maintain an environment
where only job related criteria are used to assess employees
or prospective employees of the State.

D.  Complaints based on non-compliance with this
Executive Order shall proceed as outlined in paragraph
(F)(3) of Executive Order Twenty-Eight.  Particular effort
should be made to conduct investigations with due regard to
confidentiality.  SPO shall provide access to counseling for
employees who feel aggrieved and shall encourage the
resolution of employee problems on an informal basis.

SECTION II.  APPLICABILITY OF EXECUTIVE
ORDER.

A.  This Order shall apply to all Cabinet Departments
and Executive Agencies of the State. The members of the
General Assembly, the Judiciary and Non-Executive
Agencies are also encouraged to adopt this Order or
promulgate forthwith plans applicable to their respective
employees and agencies.

SECTION III.  EFFECTIVE DATE.

A. This Order shall become effective immediately.

Thomas R. Carper, Governor

Attest:
Edward J. Freel, Secretary of State

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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BOARD/COMMISSION        TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE          OFFICE

Child Placement Review Board Ms. Betty A. Carson 12/06/03
Mr. Charles E. Ivins, Jr. 12/06/01
Ms. Elaine I. Keating 12/06/03

Delaware Commission on Veterans Affairs Mr. James Thompson 11/22/04

Delaware Commission for Women Ms. Estella M. White 12/10/03

Delaware Emergency Medical Services Mr. James L. Cubbage Pleasure of the
Oversight Council Governor

Delaware Health Resources Board Mr. Frederick Carey 10/24/03

Delaware State Housing Authority Ms. Catherine M. Gregory, Pleasure of the
 Acting Director Governor

Juvenile Justice Advisory Group Mr. Michael Arrington Pleasure of the
Governor

Honorable M.Jane Brady Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. F. Brian Gimlet Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Portia Roy Pleasure of the 
Governor

Mr. Guy H. Sapp Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Willie Savage, II Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Larry Sullivan Pleasure of the
Governor

State Board of Electrical Examiners Mr. William J. Carson 12/06/03

Workforce Investment Board Ms. Catherine M. Gregory Pleasure of the
Governor

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

FINAL VERSION
December 2000

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
HEARING PROCEDURES AND RULES

RULE MAKING HISTORY:

Initial adoption date (see Register of Regulations at
www.state.de.us/research/assembly.htm):

1.0  Scope and Purpose of Rules
The State Board of Education (“the State Board”) is

authorized by several sections of the Education Code (Title
14 of the Delaware Code) to adopt or approve rules and
regulations, resolve disputes, hear appeals, and review
decisions of the Secretary of Education.  The State Board is
also governed by the Administrative Procedures Act
(Chapter 101 of Title 29 of the Delaware Code), except
where specifically exempted by other law.

These Hearing Procedures and Rules (“Rules”) shall
govern the practice and procedure before the State Board in
hearings, appeals, and regulatory proceedings.

2.0  General Provisions
2.1  These Rules shall be liberally construed to secure a

just, economical, and reasonably expeditious determination
of the issues presented in accordance with the State Board’s
statutory responsibilities and with the Administrative
Procedures Act.

2.2  The State Board may for good cause, and to the
extent consistent with law, waive any of these Rules, either
upon application or upon its own motion.

2.3  Whether a proceeding constitutes an evidentiary
hearing, an appeal or regulatory action shall be decided by
the State Board on the basis of the applicable laws.  A
party’s designation of the proceeding shall not be controlling
on the State Board or binding on the party.

2.4  The State Board may appoint a representative to act
as a hearing officer for any proceeding before the State
Board.  Except as otherwise specifically provided, the duties
imposed, and the authority provided, to the State Board by
these Rules shall also extend to its hearing officers.

2.5  Notwithstanding any part of these Rules to the
contrary, the State Board, or its counsel, designee or hearing
officer, may conduct prehearing conferences and
teleconferences to clarify issues, confer interim relief,
specify procedures, limit the time available to present
evidence and argument, and otherwise expedite the

proceedings.
2.6  The State Board may administer oaths, issue

subpoenas, take testimony, hear proofs and receive exhibits
into evidence at any hearing.  Testimony at any hearing shall
be under oath or affirmation.

2.7  The State Board may elect to conduct joint hearings
with the Department of Education and other state and local
agencies.  These Rules may be modified as necessary for
joint hearings.

2.8  Any party to a proceeding before the State Board
may be represented by counsel.  An attorney representing a
party in a proceeding before the State Board shall notify the
Executive Secretary of the State Board (“Executive
Secretary”) of the representation in writing as soon as
practical.  Attorneys who are not members of the Delaware
Bar may be permitted to appear pro hac vice before the State
Board in accordance with Rule 72 of the Rules of the
Delaware Supreme Court.

2.9  The State Board may continue, adjourn or postpone
proceedings for good cause at the request of a party or on its
own initiative.  Absent a showing of exceptional
circumstances, requests for postponements of any matter
scheduled to be heard by the State Board shall be submitted
to the Executive Secretary in writing at least three (3)
business days before the date scheduled for the proceeding.
The President of the State Board shall then decide whether to
grant or deny the request for postponement.  If a hearing
officer has been appointed, the request for postponement
shall be submitted to the hearing officer, who shall then
decide whether to grant or deny the request.

2.10  A copy of any document filed with or submitted to
the State Board or its hearing officer shall be provided to all
other parties to the proceeding, or to their legal counsel.
Where a local or other school board participates in a
proceeding, copies of filed documents shall be directed to
the executive secretary of the board, unless that board
appoints a different representative for such purpose.

2.11  For purposes of these Rules, unless otherwise
specified “day” shall mean a calendar day.  “Business day”
shall mean weekdays Monday through Friday, except when
those days fall on a legal holiday. 

3.0  De Novo and Other Evidentiary Hearings
3.1  Section 3.0 governs proceedings where a statute or

regulation provides the right to an original or to a de novo
hearing before the State Board to decide a specific
controversy or dispute.

3.2  Petitions for Hearing
3.2.1  A party may initiate a hearing on matters

within the State Board’s jurisdiction by delivering a petition
for hearing to the Executive Secretary.  The petition shall be
in writing and shall be signed by the party making the
request (or by the party’s authorized representative).  It shall
set forth the grounds for the action in reasonable detail and

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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shall identify the source of the State Board’s authority to
decide the matter.

3.2.2  The petition for hearing shall be filed within a
reasonable time after the controversy arises, but in no event
shall a petition be filed more than thirty (30) days after the
petitioning party’s receipt of notice that official action has
been taken by an authorized person, organization, board or
agency.

3.2.3  A copy of the petition for hearing shall be
delivered to all other parties to the proceeding at the time it is
sent to the Executive Secretary.  A copy of any other paper
or document filed with the State Board or its hearing officer
shall, at the time of filing, also be provided to all other
parties to the proceeding.  If a party is represented by legal
counsel, delivery to legal counsel is sufficient.

3.2.4  Upon receipt of an adequately detailed
petition for hearing, the Executive Secretary shall place the
matter on the agenda of the next State Board meeting.  At the
next meeting, the State Board will either assign the matter to
a hearing officer or determine a hearing date for the matter.
The parties shall be given at least twenty (20) days notice of
the hearing date.

3.2.5  A party shall be deemed to have consented to
an informal hearing (as that term is used in Section 10123 of
the Administrative Procedures Act) unless the party notifies
the Executive Secretary in writing that a formal public
hearing is required.  Such notice must be delivered to the
Executive Secretary within three (3) days of the receipt of
the notice scheduling the hearing.

3.3  Record of Prior Proceedings
3.3.1  If proceedings were previously held on the

matters complained of in the petition, the agency which
conducted those proceedings shall file a certified copy of the
record of the proceedings with the Executive Secretary.

3.3.2  The record shall contain any written decision,
a certified copy of any rule or regulation involved, any
minutes of the meeting(s) at which a disputed action was
taken, a certified, verbatim transcript of the proceedings
conducted by the agency below and all exhibits presented to
the agency.  The certified transcript shall be prepared at the
direction and expense of the agency below.

3.3.3  The record shall be filed with the Executive
Secretary within ten (10) days of the date the Executive
Secretary notifies the agency that the petition has been filed,
unless directed otherwise.  A copy of the record shall be sent
to the petitioner when it is submitted to the Executive
Secretary.

3.4  Record Review
3.4.1  If a hearing was previously held on the

matters complained of in the petition, the parties to the
proceeding before the State Board may agree to submit the
matter to the State Board or its hearing officer on the existing
record without the presentation of additional evidence.

3.4.2  If the parties agree to submit the matter for

decision on the existing record, they shall support their
positions in written statements limited to matters in the
existing record.  The parties’ written statements shall be
submitted according to a schedule determined by the State
Board.

3.4.3  If the parties agree to submit the matter for
decision on the existing record, they may nonetheless
request oral argument by notifying the Executive Secretary
in writing at least ten (10) days before the date written
statements are due.  Oral argument shall be limited to the
matters raised in the written statements and shall be limited
to fifteen (15) minutes per side with an additional five (5)
minutes for rebuttal.

3.4.4  If the parties agree to submit the matter for
decision on the existing record, the State Board’s decision
shall be based on the existing record, the written statements
and oral argument, if any.

3.5  Evidentiary hearings
3.5.1  Evidentiary hearings will be held when there

has not been a prior hearing, when the parties do not agree to
rest on the existing record, or when the State Board or its
hearing officer otherwise decide to receive additional
evidence.

3.5.2  The hearing will proceed with the petitioner
first presenting its evidence and case.  The responding party
may then present its case.  The petitioner will then have an
opportunity to present rebuttal evidence.

3.5.3  Opening and closing arguments and post
hearing submissions of briefs or legal memoranda will be
permitted in the discretion of the State Board or hearing
officer.

3.5.4  Any person who testifies as a witness shall
also be subject to cross examination by the other parties to
the proceeding.  Any witness is also subject to examination
by the State Board or its hearing officer.

3.6  Evidence
3.6.1  Strict rules of evidence shall not apply.

Evidence having probative value commonly accepted by
reasonably prudent people in the conduct of their affairs may
be admitted into evidence.

3.6.2  The State Board or its hearing officer may
exclude evidence and limit testimony as provided in Section
10125(b) of the Administrative Procedures Act.

3.6.3  Objections to the admission of evidence shall
be brief and shall state the grounds for the objection.
Objections to the form of the question will not be
considered.

3.6.7  Any document introduced into evidence at
the hearing shall be marked by the State Board or the hearing
officer and shall be made a part of the record of the hearing.
The party offering the document into evidence shall provide
a copy of the document to each of the other parties and to
each of the State Board members present for the hearing
unless otherwise directed.
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3.6.8  Requests for subpoenas for witnesses or other
sources of evidence shall be delivered to the Executive
Secretary in writing at least fifteen (15) days before the date
of the hearing, unless additional time is allowed for good
cause.  The party requesting the subpoena is responsible for
delivering it to the person to whom it is directed.

3.7  Creation of Record before State Board
3.7.1  Any party may request the presence of a

stenographic reporter on notice to the Executive Secretary at
least ten (10) days prior to the date of the hearing or oral
argument.  The requesting party shall be liable for the
expense of the reporter and of any transcript the party
requests.

3.7.2  If a stenographic reporter is not present at the
hearing or argument, the State Board shall cause an
electronic recording of the hearing to be made by tape
recorder or other suitable device.  Electronic recordings shall
be destroyed unless a written request to preserve it is made to
the Executive Secretary within three months of the final
order issued in the hearing.

3.8  State Board Decision
3.8.1  When the State Board has appointed a

hearing officer, the hearing officer shall submit a proposed
written decision for the consideration of the State Board.

3.8.2  The proposed decision shall comply with
Section 10126(a) of the Administrative Procedures Act.  The
proposed decision shall be submitted to the State Board and
the parties within a reasonable time of the conclusion of the
proceedings before the hearing officer.

3.8.3  The parties shall have twenty (20) days from
the date the proposed order is delivered to them to submit in
writing to the State Board and the other party any
exceptions, comments and arguments respecting the
proposed order.

3.8.4  To the extent possible, the State Board shall
consider a matter conducted by a hearing officer at its next
regular meeting following the parties’ submissions, if any, or
the end of the comment period, whichever comes first.

3.8.5  The State Board shall consider the entire
record of the case and the hearing officer’s proposed
decision and written comments thereto, if any, in reaching its
final decision. The State Board’s decision shall be
incorporated in a final order which shall be signed and
mailed to the parties.

4.0  Appeals
4.1  Section 4.0 governs proceedings where a statute or

regulation provides the right to appeal to the State Board a
decision which resolved a specific controversy or dispute.
These proceedings include, but are not limited to, appeals of
school district decisions involving rules and regulations of

the school board (14 Del. C.  1058)1, and appeals of
decisions of the Delaware Secondary School Athletic

Association (DSSAA).
4.2  For purposes of Section 4.0:

4.2.1  “Party” shall mean any person or
organization who participated in the proceedings before the
agency which rendered the decision being appealed.

4.2.2  “Decision” shall mean the official action
taken to resolve the dispute presented below and shall
include the factual findings, the rule involved and the
agency’s conclusion.  “Decision” shall not include policy
making or the adoption of rules and regulations of future
applicability.

4.3  For purposes of determining the State Board’s
jurisdiction under Section 1058 of the Education Code,
“controversies involving the rules and regulations of the
school board” shall mean the presentation before the local
school board of a dispute involving the application of rules
and regulations of the local board in a particular factual
context. Certain decisions involving the application of rules
and regulations of the local board may not be appealed to the
State Board, including:

4.3.1  Decisions involving student disciplinary
actions where a student is suspended from school for ten (10)
or fewer days, except where a request to expunge the
disciplinary action from the student’s record has been denied
by the local board.

4.3.2  Personnel actions which are covered under a
collective bargaining agreement or are otherwise subject to
adjudication by the Public Employment Relations Board.

4.3.3  Termination of employees conducted in
accordance with Chapter 14 of the Education Code.

4.3.4  Termination or nonrenewal of public school
administrators and confidential employees, as those terms
are defined in Section 4002 of the Education Code, at the
conclusion of an employment contract.

4.4  Notice of appeal
4.4.1  A party may initiate an appeal by filing a

notice of appeal with the Executive Secretary.  The notice
shall be in writing, shall be signed by the party making the
request (or by the party’s authorized representative), and
shall be delivered to the Executive Secretary by registered or
certified mail.

4.4.2  The notice of appeal shall briefly state the
decision from which the appeal is taken, the law, rule or
regulation involved in the decision, the names of the parties,
and the grounds for the appeal.

1. The State Board of Education has held that local
boards of education are not subject to the Administrative
Procedures Act while conducting disciplinary proceedings.
See R.T. v. Sussex County Vocational-Technical School Dis-
trict Board of Education, SBE No. 99-12 (February 17,
2000) and M.B. v. Sussex Technical School District Board of
Education, SBE No. 00-03 (April 3, 2000). 
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4.4.3  The notice of appeal must be postmarked
within thirty (30) days of the receipt of the written notice of
the decision from which the appeal is taken.

4.4.4  A copy of the notice of appeal shall be sent to
the agency which made the decision at the same time the
original notice of appeal is sent to the Executive Secretary.
A copy of any other paper or document filed with the State
Board shall be provided to all parties to the proceeding at the
time of filing.

4.4.5  Upon receipt of an adequately detailed notice
of appeal involving a student disciplinary decision or a
decision of the Delaware Secondary School Athletic
Association (DSSAA), the Executive Secretary shall assign
the matter to a hearing officer from a roster of hearing
officers approved by the State Board.  The Executive
Secretary shall provide the notice of appeal and the hearing
officer assignment to the State Board at its next meeting. 

4.4.6  Upon receipt of an adequately detailed notice
of appeal involving any matter other than a student
disciplinary decision or a decision of DSSAA, the Executive
Secretary shall consult with the President of the State Board
to determine whether the matter should be assigned to a
hearing officer or placed on the State Board’s next meeting
agenda.  The President shall have the authority to authorize
the Executive Secretary to assign a hearing officer to the
matter from a roster of hearing officers approved by the State
Board.  In such case, the Executive Secretary shall provide
the notice of appeal and the hearing officer assignment to the
State Board at its next meeting.  Nothing in this subsection
shall prevent the State Board from later assigning the matter
to a hearing officer.

4.5  The record on appeal
4.5.1  Unless instructed otherwise, within ten (10)

days of the receipt of the notice of appeal, the agency which
made the decision under appeal shall forward the record of
the proceedings below to the Executive Secretary.  A copy of
the record shall be sent to the party filing the appeal at the
same time.

4.5.2  The record shall include the agency’s written
decision, a certified copy of any rule or regulation involved,
the minutes of the meeting(s) at which the decision was
made, a certified, verbatim transcript of the hearing
conducted by the agency or party below, and all exhibits
presented to the agency.  The certified transcript shall be
prepared at the direction and expense of the agency below.

4.5.3  If a certified transcript of the proceedings
below is not or cannot be provided to the State Board, the
Executive Secretary shall remand the case to the agency with
an instruction that the agency hold a new hearing within ten
(10) days.

4.6  Proceedings on appeal
4.6.1  The State Board of Education or its hearing

officer shall establish and notify the parties of the date when
the State Board or its hearing officer will consider the

appeal, hereafter referred to as the consideration date. The
parties shall be given at least twenty (20) days notice of the
consideration date.  The parties may agree to shorten or
waive the notice of the consideration date.

4.6.2  Written statements of position and legal
briefs or memoranda, if any, shall be filed no later than (10)
days prior to the consideration date.  Failure to file a written
statement by the time specified may result in a postponement
of the consideration date until the statement is filed, or a
consideration of the appeal without the written statement, at
the discretion of the State Board or its hearing officer.

4.6.3  The written statement must clearly identify
the issues raised in the appeal.  Briefs or legal memoranda
shall be submitted with the written statement if the appeal
concerns a legal issue or interpretation.

4.6.4  Oral argument
4.6.4.1  A party may request that oral argument

be heard on the consideration date.  A request for oral
argument shall be submitted with the written statement of
appeal.  There will be no oral argument unless it is requested
when the written statement of appeal is submitted.

4.6.4.2  Oral argument, if requested, shall be
limited to fifteen (15) minutes per side with five additional
minutes for rebuttal.

4.6.4.3  Any party may request the presence of
a stenographic reporter at oral argument by notifying the
Executive Secretary at least ten (10) days prior to the date of
the argument.  The requesting party shall be liable for the
expense of the reporter.  If a stenographic reporter is not
present at the argument, the State Board or hearing officer
shall cause an electronic transcript of the hearing to be made
by tape recorder or other suitable device.  Electronic
transcripts shall be destroyed unless a written request to
preserve it is made to the Executive Secretary within three
months of the final order issued in the appeal.

4.6.4.4  If the State Board or hearing officer
permits a party to present oral argument on an issue which
was not identified by the party in their written statement,
briefs or legal memoranda, or if in the course of the
argument, the State Board or hearing officer raises an issue
which was not previously raised by either party, the parties
shall have a reasonable opportunity to comment in writing
within five (5) business days of the oral argument.

4.6.4.5  The State Board or its hearing officer
may limit or restrict argument that is irrelevant, insubstantial
or unduly repetitive.

4.7  Standard and Scope of Review
4.7.1  The appellate review of the State Board shall

be limited to the record of the proceedings below. Neither
the State Board nor the hearing officer will consider
testimony or evidence which is not in the record.  If the State
Board determines that the record is insufficient for its
review, it shall remand the case to the agency below with
instructions to supplement the record.
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4.7.2  The standard of review shall be determined
by the law creating the right of appeal.  In the absence of a
specific statutory standard, the substantial evidence rule will
be applied, that is, neither the State Board nor the hearing
officer will substitute its judgment for that of the agency
below if there is substantial evidence in the record for its
decision and the decision is not arbitrary or capricious.  The
State Board will make an independent judgment with respect
to questions of law.

4.8  State Board Decision
4.8.1  After considering the record from the

proceedings below, the written submissions and the
arguments made by the parties, if any, the hearing officer
shall submit a proposed written decision for the
consideration of the State Board.

4.8.2  The proposed decision shall comply with
Section 10126(a) of the Administrative Procedures Act.  The
proposed decision shall be submitted to the State Board and
the parties within fifteen (15) days of the consideration date
or the filing of any post argument submissions.

4.8.3  The parties shall have twenty (20) days from
the date the proposed order is delivered to them to submit in
writing to the State Board and the other party any
exceptions, comments and arguments respecting the
proposed order.  The parties may agree to shorten or waive
the comment period, or to consent to the hearing officer’s
recommendation without additional comment.  When the
parties consent to the hearing officer’s recommendation,
they shall so advise the Executive Secretary.  

4.8.4  The State Board shall consider the appeal at
its next regular meeting following receipt of the parties’
exceptions, comments, and arguments, if any, or the end of
the comment period, whichever occurs first.

4.8.5  The State Board shall consider the entire
record of the case and the hearing officer’s proposed
decision and any written comments thereto, in reaching its
final decision.  The State Board’s decision shall be
incorporated in a final order which shall be signed and
mailed to the parties.

4.9  Student Discipline Appeals
4.9.1  To the extent possible, appeals of decisions

involving student discipline will be scheduled for
consideration by the hearing officer within thirty (30) days
of the receipt of the notice of appeal.

4.9.2  If an appeal involves disciplinary action
against a student receiving special education and related
services, the record must include evidence that a
Manifestation Determination Review was conducted
pursuant to the Department of Education’s Administrative
Manual for Special Education Services.  Failure to provide
such evidence may result in reversal or remand to agency for
additional proceedings.

4.9.3  An appeal of or dispute about the
Manifestation Determination Review must be made to the

Department of Education as provided in the Administrative
Manual for Special Education Services.  The State Board of
Education will not review such determinations.

5.0  Public Regulatory Hearings
5.1  Section 5.0 governs public hearings before the State

Board or its hearing officers where the State Board is
required to hold, or decides to hold, such hearings before
adopting or approving rules and regulations or taking other
regulatory action.  See Note 1.

5.2  Notice that the State Board has scheduled a public
regulatory hearing shall be provided as required in Section
10115 of the Administrative Procedures Act.  Notice of the
public hearing shall also be circulated to individuals and
agencies on the State Board’s mailing list for meeting
agendas.  The notice of the hearing shall indicate whether the
State Board will conduct the hearing, or designate a hearing
officer for that purpose.

5.3  Creation of record of public hearing
5.3.1  Any party may request the presence of a

stenographic reporter on notice to the Executive Secretary at
least ten (10) days prior to the date of the hearing.  The
requesting party shall be liable for the expense of the
reporter and of any transcript the party requests.

5.3.2  If a stenographic reporter is not present at the
hearing, the State Board shall cause an electronic recording
of the hearing to be made by tape recorder or other suitable
device.  Electronic recordings shall be destroyed unless a
written request to preserve it is made to the Executive
Secretary within three months of the final order issued in the
hearing.  Any party requesting that a written transcript be
made from the recording shall bear the cost of producing the
transcript.

5.4  Subpoenas
5.4.1  The State Board or its hearing officer may

issue subpoenas for witnesses or other evidence for the
public hearing.  Where possible, such subpoenas shall be
delivered to the party to whom they are directed at least ten
(10) days prior to the public hearing.

5.4.2  The State Board or its hearing officer may
also, in its discretion, issue subpoenas at the request of a
person interested in the proceedings.  Requests for such
subpoenas shall be delivered to the Executive Secretary at
least fifteen (15) days prior to the date of the hearing, unless
additional time is allowed for good cause.

5.4.3  The party requesting the subpoena is
responsible for delivering it to the person to whom it is
directed. 

5.5  Documents
5.5.1  The State Board or its hearing officer shall, at

the beginning of the hearing, mark as exhibits any
documents it has received from the public as comment and
any other documents which it will consider in reaching its
decision.  Documents received during the hearing shall also
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be marked as exhibits.
5.5.2  Any person or party submitting a document

before or during the public hearing shall provide at least
eight (8) copies of the document to the State Board, unless
directed otherwise.

5.6  Witnesses
5.6.1  The order of witnesses appearing at the

hearing shall be determined by the State Board or its hearing
officer.  The State Board or its hearing officer may direct an
agency or organization to designate a single person to
present the agency or organization’s position at the public
hearing.

5.6.2  The State Board or its hearing officer may
limit a witness’s testimony and the admission of other
evidence to exclude irrelevant, insubstantial or unduly
repetitious comment and information.

5.6.3  Any person who testifies at a public hearing
shall be subject to examination by the State Board or its
hearing officer.  The State Board or its hearing officer may
in their discretion allow cross examination of any witness by
other participants in the proceedings.

5.7  At the conclusion of the public hearing, the State
Board shall issue its findings and conclusions in a written
order in the form provided in Section 10118(b) of the
Administrative Procedures Act.  The Board’s order shall be
rendered within a reasonable time after the public hearing.

Note 1:  The State Board is not subject to the Administrative
Procedures Act when approving (or refusing to approve)
regulations or regulatory action of the Department of
Education, provided that the Department has complied with
applicable portions of the Act.  See 14 Del. C.  105(b).
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

COMMISSION ON ADULT ENTERTAINMENT 
ESTABLISHMENTS

Notice of Public Hearing

Commission on Adult Entertainment Establishments

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Sections 1604(g) and 1618(c),
the Delaware Commission on Adult Entertainment
Establishments proposes to adopt rules and regulations
pursuant to its authority under 24 Del.C. §1618(c).  The
proposed regulations (Rule 1.0) will establish various
sanctions, which the Commission may impose, for violations
of certain provisions of Title 24, Chapter 16 of the Delaware
Code.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Thursday, February 1, 2001 at 9:00 a.m. in
the ABCC  Conference Room, Third Floor, Carvel State
Office Building, 820 N. French St., Wilmington, DE. The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Mary
Paskey at Division of Professional Regulation, 861 Silver
Lake Blvd., Dover, Delaware 19904.  The final date to
submit written comments shall be at the above scheduled
public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the
proposed Rules and Regulations or to make comments at the
public hearing should notify Mary Paskey at the above
address or by calling (302) 739-4522.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF NURSING

The Delaware Board of Nursing in accordance with 24
Del.C., Subsection 1906(1) and 24 Del.C., Chapter 19A
(Article VI(d)) has proposed to amend 6.10.1.1 of the
Board’s Rules and Regulations.

This proposed rules and regulations change requires that
employers submit to the Board by April 15 a list of only the
nurses employed with a nursing license from another
compact state. 

A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, February
14, 2001 at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor Conference Room
A, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,

Delaware.
Anyone desiring a copy of the proposed change of the

Rules and Regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware
Board of Nursing, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon
Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE  19904, (302) 739-4522, ext.
215 or 216.  Persons desiring to submit written comments on
the revised rules and regulations may forward these
comments to the above address.  The final date to receive
written comments will be February 14, 2001.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

COUNCIL ON REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS

The Delaware Council on Real Estate Appraisers has
proposed to revise provisions of its rules and regulations.
The proposals are intended to eliminate the two year
limitation on obtaining experience to qualify for licensure,
clarify the responsibilities of licensees who collaborate with
other licensees and licensees who supervise licensed
trainees, and incorporate provisions of the Administrative
Procedures Act and the Freedom of Information Act.  The
regulations provide for a supplement to be made available
that explains the requirements for licensure determined by
the Appraiser Qualifications Board that are incorporated
under Delaware Law.  The Inactive Status is eliminated.

A public hearing will be held on February 20,2001 at
10:00 in Conference Room A on the second floor of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover,
Delaware 19904 where members of the public can offer
comments.  Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the
Proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from Dana
Spruill, Administrative Assistant, Division of Professional
Regulation, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon Building, Suite
203, Dover, DE 19904. Individuals may submit written
comments at the above address.  The final date for receipt of
written comments will be at the public hearing.

The Council will consider promulgating the proposed
rules and regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting
following the conclusion of the public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF PSYCHOLOGISTS

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Sections 3506(a)(1) and (4), the
Delaware Board of Examiners of Psychologists proposes to
revise its rules and regulations.  These revisions are to clarify
the acceptable passing score on the EPPP examination for
various examination administrations, and to implement new
computer based testing procedures established by the
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards for
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administration of the Examination for Professional Practice
in Psychology. 

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Monday, February 5, 2001 at 9:00 a.m. in
the Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware,
19904.  The Board will receive and consider input in writing
from any person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.
Any written comments should be submitted to the Board in
care of Gayle Franzolino at the above address.  The final
date to submit written comments shall be at the above
scheduled public hearing.  Anyone wishing to obtain a copy
of the proposed Rules and Regulations or to make comments
at the public hearing should notify Gayle Franzolino at the
above address or by calling (302) 739-4522, extension 220.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

PLEASE NOTE THE AMENDMENT TO
SECTION 6.3.3.13 PROPOSED IN NOVEMBER 2000
(4 DE REG. 776 (11/1/00)) WAS NOT ADOPTED AND
IS BEING REPROPOSED.

The Commission will hold a public hearing on the
proposed rule amendment on January 23, 2001 at 10:00 a.m.
at the Dover Downs, Dover DE. The Commission will
accept written comments from January 1, 2001 through
January 30, 2001. Written comments should be sent to John
Wayne, Administrator of Racing, Department of
Agriculture,  2320 S. DuPont Highway, Dover DE19901.

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR 
CHILDREN, YOUTH AND

THEIR FAMILIES
DIVISION OF FAMILY SERVICES

The Delaware Department of Services for Children,
Youth and Their Families, Division of Family Services will
hold public hearings to discuss proposed  “Regulations for
Entry on to and Expungement from the Central  Child Abuse
Registry” 

Public hearings will be held January 22, 2001 from 5:30
p.m. - 7:30 p.m. in the DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings
Highway, Dover, Delaware; January 25, 2001 from 5:30

p.m. - 7:30 p.m. at the Alexis I. duPont Middle School
Auditorium, 3130 Kennett Pike, Greenville, Delaware; and
February 6, 2001 from 5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. in the Sussex
Central High School Auditorium, 301 W. Market Street,
Georgetown, Delaware.

Anyone wishing to submit written comments as a
supplement to or in lieu of oral testimony should submit such
comments by January 30, 2001 to:

Linda M. Shannon, Program Manager - 
Intake and Investigation

Division of Family Services
1825 Faulkland Road
Wilmington DE 19805
or by faxed to: (302)633-2625

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
The State Board of Education will hold its
monthly meeting on Thursday, January 19, 2001 at
1 p.m. in the Townsend Building, Dover,
Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE

REGISTER NOTICE

TITLE OF THE REGULATION:
TIDAL FINFISH REGULATIONS

BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

To amend Tidal Finfish Regulations in order to remain
in compliance with fishery management plans, as amended
and adopted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission, the Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council
and/or the U.S. Department of Commerce.
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4 SUMMER FLOUNDER
SIZE LIMITS; POSSESSION LIMITS; SEASON is
proposed to be amended to adjust the recreational fishing
season closure dates, creel limit and/or minimum size limit
in order to implement any adjustments to fishing mortality
required in the Summer Flounder Fishery Management Plan.
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 7, STRIPED BASS
POSSESSION SIZE LIMIT; EXCEPTIONS is proposed to
be amended to eliminate the commercial slot size limits of

http://www.state.de.us/kids/index.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/dnrec2000/
http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/index.htm
http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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20 inches-32 inches and in its place return to a commercial
minimum size limit of 20 inches or to not amend and leave
the slot size limit of 20 inches – 32 inches in place.  It also is
proposed to allow the transfer of striped bass tags among
commercial food fishermen prior to any tags being
distributed by the Department.

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 9, BLUEFISH
POSSESSION LIMITS is proposed to be amended by
increasing the daily possession limit from 10 bluefish to 15
bluefish per day.
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 10 WEAKFISH SIZE LIMITS;
POSSESSION LIMITS; SEASONS is proposed to be
amended to change the 2000 dates when it was illegal to take
weakfish with any gear other than hook and line in the
Delaware Bay and Ocean to the corresponding calendar
dates in 2001.  These dates involve 35 days.
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 14, SPANISH MACKEREL
SIZE LIMIT AND CREEL LIMIT is proposed to be
amended by increasing the daily possession limit from 10
Spanish mackerel per day.

POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
There are no sunset dates for these regulations.

However, if Delaware is found to be out of compliance with
a Fishery Management Plan by the Atlantic States Marine
Fisheries Commission, that particular fishery may be closed
by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Commerce.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, calling or
visiting the Fisheries Section, Division of Fish and Wildlife,
89 Kings Highway, Dover Delaware 19901, (302)739-3441.
A public hearing on these proposed amendments will be held
at the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover DE at 7:30
PM on Thursday January 25, 2001.  The record will remain
open for written comments until 4:30 PM on January 31,
2001.

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN
COMMISSION

P.O. Box 7360 West Trenton

The Delaware River Basin Commission will meet on
Wednesday, January 9, 200, in West Chester, Pennsylvania.
For more information contact Pamela M. Bush at (609) 883-
9500 extention 203.

http://www.state.nj.us/drbc/
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NAME ________________________________  ADDRESS __________________________________

ORGANIZATION _______________________     CITY _________________   FAX ______________

PHONE _____________      STATE ___________   ZIP _____________    EMAIL ________________

Please check the specific service(s) to which you wish to subscribe :

                    SERVICES                                                                                                       ANNUAL COST
One copy of all legislation introduced:

_ Picked up by subscriber *-  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $100
_ Mailed daily via First Class postage -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $775

One copy of all legislation signed by the Governor:
_ Mailed via First Class postage   -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $195

One copy of House and Senate calendars:
_ 1st Session set  -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $75
_ Picked up by subscriber *-  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $100
_ Mailed daily via First Class postage -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $775

One copy of all Governor’s Advisories:
_ Mailed via First Class postage   -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $25

Daily Legislative Agendas and weekly Standing Committee Notices:
_ Via Fax  -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  -   -    -   -  -  -  - -  - -  - $150

* Subscribers who choose to pick up their materials at Legislative Hall are requested to do so at least once a week, due to
limited on-site file space.  Thank you.

If you have any questions about our subscription services, please contact the Division of Research by dialing, toll-free,  (800)
282-8545 (in  state) or via E-Mail at jhague@state.de.us.  Please dial (302) 739-4114 if you are calling from outside
Delaware.

Please return this order form to the Division of Research at P.O. Box 1401, Legislative Hall, Dover, Delaware, 19903, or fax it
to (302) 739-3895 as soon as possible.  (Don’t forget to make a copy for your own files).  You will be billed upon our receipt
of your order. Your service(s) will begin, promptly, when payment is received and the General Assembly convenes.  Thank
you for using the Subscription Services of the Division of Research.


