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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an official State publication established by authority of 69 Del.
Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed
and any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited by volume, issue, page number and date. An example
would be:

16 DE Reg. 1227 - 1230 (06/01/13)

Refers to Volume 16, pages 1227 - 1130 of the Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2013.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties may participate in the process by which administrative
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
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The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed,
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court
for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.
When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation may be
reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, no judicial review of a regulation is available unless a
complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was
published in the Register of Regulations.

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 
REGULATIONS

ISSUE DATE CLOSING DATE CLOSING TIME

March 1 February 16       4:30 p.m.
April 1 March 15       4:30 p.m.
May 1 April 15       4:30 p.m.
June 1 May 16       4:30 p.m.
July 1 June 15       4:30 p.m.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF

Lori Christiansen, Director; Mark J. Cutrona, Deputy Director; Tara Donofrio, Administrative Specialist
II; Bethany Fiske, Assistant Registrar of Regulations; Robert Lupo, Printer; Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop
Supervisor; Kathleen Morris, Human Resources/Financials; Georgia Roman, Unit Operations Support Specialist;
Victoria Schultes, Administrative Specialist II; Don Sellers, Printer; Yvette W. Smallwood, Registrar of
Regulations; Holly Vaughn Wagner, Research Analyst; Verity Watson, Joint Sunset Analyst; Rochelle Yerkes,
Office Manager; Sara Zimmerman, Legislative Librarian.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed in the
preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that issue of
the Register in which the regulation was published. Proposed regulations are designated with (Prop.); Final
regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with (Emer.); and regulations
that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES OF THE COURTS
Child Placement Review Board

1401 Regulations Governing the Ivyane D.F. Davis Scholarship....................... 19 DE Reg.    186 (Final)

DELAWARE SOLID WASTE AUTHORITY
501 Regulations of the Delaware Solid Waste Authority.......................................... 19 DE Reg.   226 (Prop.)

(Published as final 1/1/16; effective 7/1/16)....................................................... 19 DE Reg.   613 (Final)
502 Statewide Solid Waste Management Plan......................................................... 19 DE Reg.   231 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   616 (Final)

DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
701 Administration and Enforcement ...................................................................... 19 DE Reg.     96 (Prop.)
702 Fire Protection in Building Construction............................................................ 19 DE Reg.     97 (Prop.)
703 Installation, Operation, Maintenance, Testing and Sales of Signaling Systems,

Fire Protection Systems and Fire Extinguishers................................................ 19 DE Reg.     97 (Prop.)
704 Hazardous Processes and Operations.............................................................. 19 DE Reg.     98 (Prop.)
705 General Fire Safety........................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.     99 (Prop.)
706 Specific Occupancy Requirements.................................................................... 19 DE Reg.     99 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Foundation

701 Farmland Preservation Program................................................................. 19 DE Reg.   160 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.   482 (Final)

Harness Racing Commission
501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations, Section 8.0................................. 19 DE Reg.     10 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.    189 (Final)
Standardbred Breeders’ Fund

502 Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund Regulations, Section 13.0 -
Races.................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   161 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   486 (Final)
Thoroughbred Racing Commission

1001 Thoroughbred Racing Rules and Regulations, Sections 10.0 and 14.0... 19 DE Reg.   454 (Prop.)
Section 15.0: Medication; Testing Procedures............................................ 19 DE Reg.    137 (Final)

19 DE Reg.   354 (Prop.)
Sections 18.0 and 19.0................................................................................ 19 DE Reg.      32 (Final)

1002 Delaware Jockeys’ Health and Welfare Benefit Board Regulations......... 19 DE Reg.      33 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Office of the Secretary

103 Accountability for Schools, Districts and the State...................................... 19 DE Reg.   162 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.   234 (Prop.)

106A Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System
Revised....................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.      35 (Final)

107A Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System
Revised....................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.      38 (Final)
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108A Administrator Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal
System Revised........................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.      35 (Final)

252 Required Educational Records and Transfer and Maintenance of
Educational Records................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    355 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.     618 (Final)
284 Licensure and Certification of Public Education Employees in the

Department of Education, in Adult Education and in Prison Education
Programs Whose Work Responsibilities are Directly Related to 
Curriculum and Instruction........................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    163 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.    487 (Final)
286 Application Fee For Educator Licensure..................................................... 19 DE Reg.    358 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.    620 (Final)
503 Instructional Program Requirements........................................................... 19 DE Reg.    455 (Prop.)
505 High School Graduation Requirements and Diplomas................................ 19 DE Reg.    100 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.    303 (Final)
545 K to 12 School Counseling Programs......................................................... 19 DE Reg.    102 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.    305 (Final)
616 Uniform Due Process Procedures for Alternative Placement Meetings and

Explusion Hearings...................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    458 (Prop.)
775 New Teacher Hiring Date Reporting............................................................ 19 DE Reg.    360 (Prop.)
804 Immunizations............................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.      43 (Final)
811 School Health Record Keeping Requirements............................................ 19 DE Reg.    234 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.    490 (Final)
817 Medications and Treatments....................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    362 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.    622 (Final)
902 Gifted or Talented Education Plan............................................................... 19 DE Reg.      48 (Final)
932 Military-Connected Youth............................................................................ 19 DE Reg.    459 (Prop.)
1007 DIAA Sportsmanship................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.    105 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.    493 (Final)
1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics................. 19 DE Reg.    110 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.    461 (Prop.)
1009 DIAA High School Interscholastic Athletics............................................... 19 DE Reg.     111 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.    462 (Prop.)
1150 School Transportation............................................................................... 19 DE Reg.      51 (Final)

19 DE Reg.     112 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.     307 (Final)

Professional Standards Board
1502 Professional Growth Salary Increments.................................................... 19 DE Reg.    364 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.    549 (Prop.)
1506 Emergency Certificate............................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    367 (Prop.)
1512 Issuance and Renewal of Advanced License........................................... 19 DE Reg.    495 (Final)
1513 Denial of Licenses..................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    496 (Final)
1514 Revocation, Limitation, or Suspension of Licenses................................... 19 DE Reg.    498 (Final)
1522 Elementary School Counselor................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    464 (Prop.)
1545 Secondary School Counselor.................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    466 (Prop.)
1559 Skilled and Technical Sciences Teacher................................................... 19 DE Reg.    237 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.    623 (Final)
1560 Art Teacher................................................................................................ 19 DE Reg.      12 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.     499 (Final)
1563 Music Teacher........................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.      14 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.     501 (Final)
1564 Physical Education Teacher...................................................................... 19 DE Reg.      15 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.     503 (Final)
1571 Exceptional Children Special Education Teacher...................................... 19 DE Reg.       17 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.     505 (Final)
1583 School Psychologist.................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.    241 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.    624 (Final)
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1590 Delaware Administrator Standards........................................................... 19 DE Reg.  554 (Prop.)
1595 Certification Programs for Leaders in Education...................................... 19 DE Reg.  243 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   626 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection

3325 Financial Capability Reporting.................................................................. 19 DE Reg.     52 (Final)
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance

Hippotherapy..................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  164 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.   513 (Final)

Private Duty Nursing Services........................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  245 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.  507 (Final)

Reimbursement Methodology for Home Health Services.................................. 19 DE Reg.  253 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.  627 (Final)

Reimbursement Methodology for State Plan Personal Care Services.............. 19 DE Reg.  258 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.  632 (Final)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 3.1-A, Introductory Page 1 (Tele-
medicine)..................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    20 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   191 (Final)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and

Treatment (EPSDT) Services - Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Services for
Individuals Under Age 21............................................................................ 19 DE Reg.  380 (Prop.)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and
Treatment (EPSDT) Services - Mental Health Services.............................. 19 DE Reg.  373 (Prop.)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and
Treatment (EPSDT) Services - Substance Use Disorder Services............. 19 DE Reg.  377 (Prop.)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Multi-State Purchasing Pool Supplemental
Drug Rebate Agreement (SRA).................................................................. 19 DE Reg.     57 (Final)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Pharmaceutical Services Reimbursement -
340B Drug Products.................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  369 (Prop.)

Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, State Plan Rehabilitative Services - Coverage
and Reimbursement for Community Support Services............................... 19 DE Reg.     60 (Final)

Division of Public Health
4304 Medical Orders for Life-Sustaining Treatment or Pre-Hospital Advance

Care Directives............................................................................................ 19 DE Reg.  388 (Prop.)
(Published as final 1/1/16, effective 4/1/16)................................................ 19 DE Reg.  637 (Final)

4406 Home Health Agencies--Aide Only (Licensure)........................................ 19 DE Reg.  388 (Prop.)
4410 Skilled Home Health Agencies (Licensure).............................................. 19 DE Reg.  391 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.  641 (Final)
4452 Clean Indoor Air Act.................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.  169 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.  407 (Final)
4455 Delaware Regulations Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code.................. 19 DE Reg.  138 (Final)
4462 Public Drinking Water Systems................................................................. 19 DE Reg.    22 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.  114 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.  172 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.  517 (Final)

4464 Public Swimming Pools............................................................................ 19 DE Reg.  115 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.  309 (Final)

4465 Delaware Radiation Control Regulations, Part D: Standards for Protection
Against Radiation; Part J: Notices, Instructions and Reports to Workers;
Inspections.................................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.   140 (Final)

4469 Personal Assistance Services Agencies................................................... 19 DE Reg.  392 (Prop.)
4470 State of Delaware Medical Marijuana Code.............................................. 19 DE Reg.   91 (Emer.)

19 DE Reg.  116 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.   409 (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Office of the Commissioner

504 Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines
Brokers and Consultants.............................................................................. 19 DE Reg.  262 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   525 (Final)
602 Motor Vehicle Physical Damage Appraisers................................................ 19 DE Reg.  561 (Prop.)
606 Proof of Automobile Insurance.................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  173 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   414 (Final)
1208 New Annuity Mortality Table for Use in Determining Reserve Liabilities

for Annuities................................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.  263 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.  526 (Final)

1301 Internal Review, Arbitration and Independent Utilization Review of Heath
Insurance Claims......................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  564 (Prop.)

1313 Arbitration of Health Insurance Disputes Between Carriers and Providers 19 DE Reg.  564 (Prop.)
1315 Arbitration of Health Insurance Disputes Between Individuals and Carriers 19 DE Reg.  569 (Prop.)
1316 Arbitration of Health Insurance Disputes Between Carriers and Non-

Network Providers of Emergency Care Services......................................... 19 DE Reg.  573 (Prop.)
1409 Insurance Coverage for Telemedicine and Telehealth............................... 19 DE Reg.  469 (Prop.)
1801 Registration of Insurance Holding Companies.......................................... 19 DE Reg.  396 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   642 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
Fraud and Consumer Protection Division

104 Privacy Policies For Commercial Online Sites, Services, and Applications ..... 19 DE Reg.   578 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Division of Industrial Affairs

1101 Apprenticeship and Training Regulations.................................................. 19 DE Reg.   194 (Final)
1322 Prevailing Wage Regulations.................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   415 (Final)
Office of Workers’ Compensation

1341 Workers’ Compensation Regulations.................................................. 19 DE Reg.  175 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.   416 (Final)

Division of Unemployment Insurance
1202 Unemployment Insurance Regulations..................................................... 19 DE Reg.     64 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Division of Air Quality

1124 Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions..................................... 19 DE Reg.   199 (Final)
1138 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories. 19 DE Reg.    23 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   311 (Final)
1141 Limiting Emissions of Volatile Organic Compounds from Consumer and

Commercial Products................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    25 (Prop.)
Division of Energy and Climate

102 Implementation of Renewable Energy Portfolio Standards Cost Cap
Provisions.................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  270 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.  397 (Prop.)
(Renumbered to 104 in the final)................................................................. 19 DE Reg.  643 (Final)

Division of Fish and Wildlife 
3507 Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Trip Limits, Seasons; Quotas......................... 19 DE Reg.   92 (Emer.)

19 DE Reg.  121 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.   313 (Final)

3542 Tilefish....................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  401 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.  649 (Final)

3711 Conch Minimum Size Limits...................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   315 (Final)
3712 Commercial Conch Dredge Licenses [Commercial Conch Season]......... 19 DE Reg.   315 (Final)
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3900 Wildlife: Section 4.0 Seasons; Section 23.0 Non-native/Invasive Wildlife 19 DE Reg.  176 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.  583 (Prop.)

Division of Parks and Recreation
9201 Regulations Governing State Parks.......................................................... 19 DE Reg.  471 (Prop.)

Division of Waste and Hazardous Substances
1301 Regulations Governing Solid Waste (DRGSW)........................................ 19 DE Reg.   422 (Final)

(DRGSW) - Scrap Tires............................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   418 (Final)
1302 Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste................................................ 19 DE Reg.  181 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.  584 (Prop.)
1351 Underground Storage Tank Systems........................................................ 19 DE Reg.  402 (Prop.)
1375 Regulations Governing Hazardous Substance Cleanup.......................... 19 DE Reg.     65 (Final)

Division of Watershed Stewardship
5101 Sediment and Stormwater Regulations.................................................... 19 DE Reg.  472 (Prop.)
5102 Regulation Governing Beach Protection and the Use of Beaches........... 19 DE Reg.  274 (Prop.)

Division of Water
7301 Regulations Governing the Construction and Use of Wells...................... 19 DE Reg. 587 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
Division of State Police

1300 Board of Examiners of Private Investigators & Private Security Agencies 19 DE Reg.   202 (Final)
2400 Board of Examiners of Constables, Rules 3.0 and 5.0............................. 19 DE Reg.   425 (Final)

Rules 4.0 & 9.0............................................................................................ 19 DE Reg.  404 (Prop.)
(Rule 9.0 published as final 1/1/16, effective 2/11/16).......................... 19 DE Reg.   652 (Final)

Rule 7.0....................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   426 (Final)
5500 Bail Enforcement Agents, Rules 1.0, 4.0 and 6.0..................................... 19 DE Reg.   318 (Final)

Office of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner
Alcoholic Beverage Control Regulations........................................................... 19 DE Reg.  406 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR FAMILIES
Division of Family Services

101 Rules for Early Care and Education and School-Age Centers................... 19 DE Reg.      6 (Emer.)
Division of Prevention and Behavioral Health Services

Qualifications for Juvenile Mental Health Screeners......................................... 19 DE Reg.  473 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Division of Professional Regulation

100 Board of Accountancy................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.     68 (Final)
19 DE Reg.   658 (Final)

300 Board of Architects..................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  124 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.  275 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.   659 (Final)

500 Board of Podiatry........................................................................................ 19 DE Reg.   427 (Final)
1100 Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, Section 10.0, Practical (Clinical)

Examination................................................................................................ 19 DE Reg.   431 (Final)
1400 Board of Electrical Examiners................................................................... 19 DE Reg.   141 (Final)
1725 Polysomnography Advisory Council......................................................... 19 DE Reg.     69 (Final)

19 DE Reg.  184 (Prop.)
1900 Board of Nursing, Sections 2.0, 3.0, 4.0, 5.0 & 9.0................................... 19 DE Reg.  125 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   432 (Final)
2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice.................................................. 19 DE Reg.  276 (Prop.)
2100 Board of Examiners in Optometry............................................................. 19 DE Reg.    26 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   204 (Final)
2500 Board of Pharmacy................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.    26 (Prop.)

subsection 3.8............................................................................................. 19 DE Reg.  125 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.   660 (Final)
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2500 Board of Pharmacy, Sections 5.0 and 10.0......................................... 19 DE Reg.  282 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.   661 (Final)

2700 Board of Registration for Professional Land Surveyors............................. 19 DE Reg.   142 (Final)
19 DE Reg.  589 (Prop.)

2930 Council on Real Estate Appraisers............................................................ 19 DE Reg.     70 (Final)
19 DE Reg.  592 (Prop.)

3000 Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health and Chemical
Dependency Professionals.......................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  283 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.  592 (Prop.)
19 DE Reg.  663 (Final)

3500 Board of Examiners of Psychologists........................................................ 19 DE Reg.   319 (Final)
3700 Board of Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists and Hearing Aid

Dispensers................................................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  284 (Prop.)
3800 Board of Dietetics/Nutrition........................................................................ 19 DE Reg.    27 (Prop.)
4100 Board of Home Inspectors, Sections 4.0, 9.0 and 10.0............................. 19 DE Reg.  184 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.  664 (Final)
5200 Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, Section 5.0,

Programs for Continuing Education Credits................................................. 19 DE Reg.  479 (Prop.)
Uniform Controlled Substances Act Regulations................................................ 19 DE Reg.    27 (Prop.)

Public Service Commission
1202 Policies and Procedures Regarding FOIA Requests................................. 19 DE Reg.   434 (Final)
3001 Rules for Certification and Regulation of Electric Suppliers (Docket No. 49) 19 DE Reg.  595 (Prop.)
3007 Electric Service Reliability and Quality Standards..................................... 19 DE Reg.  126 (Prop.)
4002 Regulations Governing Payphone Service Providers in Delaware

(Docket No. 12), Repeal of.......................................................................... 19 DE Reg.     71 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division of Motor Vehicles

2222 School Bus Driver Qualifications and Endorsements................................ 19 DE Reg.  597 (Prop.)
2225 Delaware Driving Privilege Permit and Driving Privilege Card.................. 19 DE Reg.  603 (Prop.)
2261 Changing of License Plate Numbers and Establishing a Fee for Such

Change........................................................................................................ 19 DE Reg.   527 (Final)
Division of Planning and Policy

2309 Development Coordination Manual........................................................... 19 DE Reg.     73 (Final)
19 DE Reg.   322 (Final)

Division of Transportation Solutions
2401 Utilities Manual Regulations...................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  612 (Prop.)
2402 Delaware Manual in Uniform Traffic Control Devices................................ 19 DE Reg.     76 (Final)
2405 Oversize/Overweight Hauling Permit Policy and Procedures Manual....... 19 DE Reg.  134 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.   324 (Final)
Office of the Secretary

Pedestrian Accessibility Standards..................................................................... 19 DE Reg.  480 (Prop.)

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
Office of Management and Budget

Guidelines for Agency Regulatory Statements Required under the Regulatory
Flexibility Act................................................................................................ 19 DE Reg.  289 (Prop.)

19 DE Reg.  528 (Final)
Division of Facilities Management

4104 Regulations for the Drug Testing of Contractor and Subcontractor
Employees Working on Large Public Works Projects............................ 19 DE Reg.   207 (Final)

Statewide Benefits Office
2007 Disability Insurance Program Rules and Regulations......................... 19 DE Reg.    78 (Final)
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it
shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation.   The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
 14 DE Admin. Code 745

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

745 Criminal Background Check for Public School Related Employment

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 745 Criminal Background Check for Public

School Related Employment. This regulation is being amended to update regulation language due to changes in
Titles 11, 16, and 31 of the Delaware Code related to Background Checks for Child Serving Entities.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before March 7, 2016 to Tina Shockley, Education Associate, Department of Education, Regulatory Review, at 401
Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation may be viewed online at the Register of
Regulation’s website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the Department
of Education, Finance Office, located at the address listed above.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation is intended to help improve student achievement by helping to ensure that
public school employees have sufficient Criminal Background Checks.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation is intended to continue to help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
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The amended regulation is intended to continue to help ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately
protected.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation continues to help ensure that all student’s legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulations does not change the decision making at the local board and
school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements on decision makers.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated do
not change because of the amendment.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendment is consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is no
expected cost to implementing this amended regulation.

745 Criminal Background Check for Public School Related Employment

1.0 Purpose

This regulation shall apply to all individuals seeking pPublic sSchool related employment in a
Delaware pPublic sSchool. Refer to 14 DE Admin. Code 746 Criminal Background Check for Student
Teaching for the requirements and procedures related to criminal background checks for a Student
Teaching Assignments in a Delaware public school. A Criminal Background Check shall be completed
for Employee, Contractors or Volunteers of a Child Serving Entity. It shall consist of a fingerprinted
Delaware and national background check completed by the State Bureau of Identification (SBI) and
the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). Additionally, a Child Protection Registry Check shall be
completed by the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families (DSCYF). Refer to 14
DE Admin. Code 746 Criminal Background Check for Student Teaching for the requirements and
procedures related to Criminal Background Checks for a Student Teaching Placement in a Delaware
Public School.

12.0 Definitions

For purposes of this regulation, the following definitions apply:

“Child Protection Registry Check” means a computer search of the Child Protection Registry to
determine if a person is a perpetrator in any substantiated cases of child abuse or neglect.

"Child Serving Entity” means Public Schools, including Employees of the Department of Education.

“Continuously Employed” means having worked in the same pPublic sSchool district or charter school
for at least ninety one (91) working days in the prior school year. Substitute teachers shall be
considered Continuously Employed when they have worked forty five (45) days in the prior school year
in any combination of Delaware school districts or charter schools Public Schools. Persons who have
participated in a Student Teaching Assignment Placement and who have fulfilled the requirements of
14 DE Admin. Code 746 shall be considered Continuously Employed if they participated for forty five
(45) days in the prior school year in the school district or charter school where they are seeking pPublic
sSchool related employment.

“Contractor” means a person, not an Employee, providing services within a Child Serving Entity and who
has Direct Access to children,
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“Covered Personnel” means the following: an “Employee,” “Contractor,” “Volunteer,” as defined herein, or
any person who is assigned to an extra duty position (also called Extra Pay for Extra Responsibility
(EPER) position) in Public Schools whether the person receives compensation or not.

• All final candidates for public school related employment for compensation;
• All those persons who supply contracted services directly to students of a public school, or

those who supply contracted services to a public school which results in regular direct
access to children in or through a public school; and

• All those persons who have regular direct access to children in or through an extra duty
position (also called Extra Pay for Extra Responsibility (EPER position) in public schools
whether the person receives compensation or not.

Notwithstanding the above definition of Covered Personnel the following persons are not subject to
these regulations:

• Instructors in adult corrections institutions;
• Instructors in adult education programs involving Apprenticeship, Trade Extension, or a

vocational general interest programs, or instructors in Adult Basic Education and GED
programs who do not service students under age 18;

• Directly supervised professional artists sponsored by the Division of the Arts, Arts in
Education Program, Very Special Arts and the Delaware Institute for the Arts in Education;
and

• Substitute food service workers.

“Criminal Background Check” means a fingerprinted Delaware and national background check
completed by the SBI and the FBI. Additionally, a Child Protection Registry Check shall be completed
by DSCYF.

“Direct Access” means, pursuant to this regulation, the opportunity to have personal contact with students
receiving care or education during the course of one’s assigned duties.

“Employee” means any person seeking employment for compensation with a Child Serving Entity, or any
person who for any reason has Direct Access to students at a Child Serving Entity. This definition also
includes any person seeking a Student Teaching Placement in a Public School.

“Public School” means any Public School and includes any board of education, school district,
reorganized school district, special school district, charter school or charter school board and any
person acting as an agent thereof.

“Student Teaching Placement” means a structured, supervised learning experience for a student in a
teacher education program in which the student teacher practices the skills being learned in the
teacher education program and gradually assumes increased responsibility for instruction, classroom
management, and other related duties for a class of students in a local school district or charter school.
These skills are practiced under the direct supervision of the certified teacher who has official
responsibility for the class.

“Superintendent” means the chief school officer of any public school district or charter school, or the
equivalent of a superintendent, or the superintendent’s designee.

“Volunteer” means a person providing volunteer services within a Child Serving Entity and who has Direct
Access to students.

23.0 Procedures for Candidates for Employment, Contractors or for Persons Providing Services Under 
a Contract Volunteers to Obtain a Criminal Background Check

23.1 A final candidate for a Covered Personnel position, as defined in 12.0, in a pPublic sSchool shall be
subject to the following procedures:

23.1.1 After notification by a school district or charter school Public School that he/she is a final candidate
for a Covered Personnel position, the individual shall present him/herself to State Bureau of
Identification SBI personnel at one of the Delaware State Police Troops that processes such
cCriminal bBackground cChecks or at an on site appointment arranged by the school district or
charter school Public School. School districts and charter schools Public Schools at their option
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may require an applicant to submit a cCriminal bBackground cCheck prior to becoming a final
candidate.

23.1.2 The candidate shall cooperate in all respects with this cCriminal bBackground cCheck process, or
his/her application cannot be accepted. On completion of the procedure, the candidate will be
given a Verification Form of Processing by the State Bureau of Identification SBI, which may be
shown to the prospective placing districts and charter schools Public School as proof that the
candidate has completed the procedure. The candidate should retain the Verification Form of
Processing for his/her records.

2.1.3 The candidate shall have an original of the completed criminal background check sent to one
school district or charter school. An original of all information sent to the school district or charter
school shall be sent by the State Bureau of Identification to the candidate.

3.1.3 The candidate shall have an original of the completed Criminal Background Check sent to one
Public School. An original of all information sent to the Public School shall be sent by SBI to the
candidate.

23.1.4 As a part of the application for pPublic sSchool related employment, or as a part of the contract for
services, or the Volunteer agreement, the candidate shall sign a Release for Criminal Background
Check Information form approved by the Department of Education. The release will allow the
school district or charter school Public School that was sent the original of the completed cCriminal
bBackground cCheck to do the following:

23.1.4.1 Confirm the receipt of that original and disclose its contents to the district Public School
sSuperintendents or charter school director or district or charter school chief personnel
officer of other Delaware school districts or charter schools Public Schools considering the
person as a candidate.

23.1.4.2 Send the original cCriminal bBackground cCheck to the placing Public sSchool district or
charter school if the candidate is hired, or placed under contract in another Delaware
school district or charter Public sSchool,.

2.1.4.3 Send any subsequent criminal history information to the person’s employing or contracting
school district(s) or charter school(s).

3.1.4.3 Send any subsequent criminal history information to the person’s employing or contracting
Public School(s).

23.1.5 Each final candidate shall have a determination of suitability made by the school district or charter
school  Public School and forwarded to him/her. If a determination is made to deny a candidate
employment based upon the criminal history, he/she shall have an opportunity to appeal as set
forth in 56.0.

2.1.6 Final candidates for employment or entering into a contract for services may have criminal
background checks from other states accepted, if all of the following conditions are met;

3.1.6 Final candidates for employment or entering into a contract for services may have Criminal
Background Checks from other states accepted, if all of the following conditions are met:

23.1.6.1 The cCriminal bBackground cCheck shall have been conducted within the previous twelve
(12) months and include a federal cCriminal bBackground cCheck;.

23.1.6.2 The cCriminal bBackground cCheck shall be sent directly from the cCriminal bBackground
cCheck agency in the other state to a Delaware school district or charter school Public
School;.

23.1.6.3 A verification from the candidate's most recent employer(s) covering the previous twelve
(12) months, stating that the employer knows of no offenses committed by the candidate
during that time, shall be sent directly from the candidate's most recent employer(s) to the
Delaware school district or charter school Public School which was sent the original
background check.

23.1.6.4 The out of state candidate shall sign a release to allow the school district or charter school
Public School receiving the out of state cCriminal bBackground cCheck and the reference
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to confirm their receipt, disclose their contents and forward them, subject to the same
disclosure regulations that apply to Delaware cCriminal bBackground cChecks.

23.1.7 Except as described herein, all costs associated with obtaining a cCriminal bBackground cCheck
shall be paid for by the person seeking a Covered Personnel position. School districts or charter
schools Public Schools may use funds other than state funds to pay for cCriminal bBackground
cCheck costs and may enter into consortia to pay such costs for persons covered by the law who
work in more than one school district or charter school Public School during the course of the
school year.

34.0 Procedures for School Districts and Charter Public Schools for Criminal Background Checks on 
Candidates for Employment, Contractors or Volunteers or for Persons Providing Services Under a 
Contract

3.1 School districts and charter schools shall require all persons subject to the law and these regulations
to complete a release as a part of the application or contract submissions process and, if they become
a final candidate for a Covered Personnel position, to initiate the criminal background check process
prior to entering into the Covered Personnel position.

4.1 Public Schools shall require all persons subject to the law and these regulations to complete a release
as a part of the application process for employment, volunteering or to provide contracting services,
and if they become a final candidate for a Covered Personnel position, to initiate the Criminal
Background Check process prior to entering into the Covered Personnel position.

34.2 The school district or charter school Public School sent sending the original of a completed cCriminal
bBackground cCheck shall keep the information received in a confidential manner and shall:

34.2.1 If requested by another Delaware school district Public School sSuperintendent or charter school
director  or school district or charter school chief personnel officer and assured that a signed
release is on file in the requesting district or charter school Public School, confirm the receipt of
that original and disclose its contents to the sSuperintendent or director or the chief personnel
officer of the requesting Delaware school district or charter school Public School considering the
person for hire, a contract, or a volunteer opportunity;

34.2.2 If requested by another Delaware school district Public School sSuperintendent or charter school
director or school district or charter school chief personnel officer and sent a copy of the signed
release on file in the requesting district or charter school Public School, send the original cCriminal
bBackground cCheck to the requesting Delaware school district or charter school Public School if
the candidate is placed in a Covered Personnel position; and

3.2.3 If sent any subsequent criminal history information on the person hired, placed under contract or
assuming an extra duty position in another district or charter school, forward such information to
the school district or charter school.

4.2.3 If sent any subsequent criminal history information on the person hired, placed under contract, or
assuming an extra duty (EPER) or Volunteer position in another Public School, forward such
information to the Public School.

34.2.4 School districts or charter schools Public Schools may also share and forward the above
information with the Delaware Department of Education under the same conditions applicable to
school districts or charter schools Public Schools. The provision shall apply only when the
Department of Education is acting in its capacity as an employer, a party to a contract for services
or taking on a person in an extra duty position (EPER).

34.3 The school district or charter school Public School, in accordance with 11 Del.C. §8571(b), (d) and (e),
31 Del.C. §309(e), shall make a determination of suitability for employment as an Employee,
Contractor or Volunteer on each person it requested to initiate the cCriminal bBackground cCheck
process. That determination shall be communicated to the person in writing. If a determination is made
to deny a candidate employment based upon the criminal history, he/she shall have an opportunity to
appeal for reconsideration as set forth in 56.0.
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34.4 When a candidate is finally placed in a Covered Personnel position the district or charter school Public
School shall do the following if the original of the completed cCriminal bBackground cCheck is not yet
in its possession:

3.4.1 Make a written request to the school district or charter school that received the original of the
completed criminal background check to forward the original copy to the placing district or charter
school for placement in the employee's or contractor's file. As a part of the request, the placing
district or charter school shall forward a copy of the release signed by the candidate.

4.4.1 Make a written request to the Public School that received the original of the completed Criminal
Background Check to forward the original copy to the placing Public School for placement in the
Employee's, Contractor's, or Volunteer’s file. As a part of the request, the placing Public School
shall forward a copy of the release signed by the candidate.

34.4.2 Notify the State Bureau of Identification SBI that the candidate has become Covered Personnel in
the district or charter school Public School and is no longer associated with the school district or
charter school Public School that received the original of the completed cCriminal bBackground
cCheck.

34.5 A school district or charter school Public School may place the candidate in a Covered Personnel
position provisionally in accordance with 11 Del.C. §8571(f) 31 Del.C. §309(c)(7); however, the school
district or charter school Public School shall require the candidate to comply with the provisions
described in these regulations, including the requirement to initiate the cCriminal bBackground cCheck
prior to being hired placed provisionally as an Employee, Contractor, or Volunteer.

45.0 Length of Validity of Criminal Background Check and Exemption for "Continuous Employment"

45.1 A cCriminal bBackground cCheck obtained under these regulations shall only be valid for twelve (12)
months. If a person is not Continuously Employed by a Delaware school district or charter school
Public School within that period, the district or charter school Public School receiving the original
cCriminal bBackground cCheck need not retain it beyond that time. If the person becomes
Continuously Employed by a Delaware school district or charter school Public School, the original
cCriminal bBackground cCheck shall be kept on file for a minimum of five (5) years.

45.2 Each person who has been Continuously Employed in a pPublic sSchool district or charter school shall
be exempt from the screening provisions of 11 Del.C. §8571 obtaining a Criminal Background Check.

4.3 A person who transfers between Delaware public school districts or charter schools and is placed in a
Covered Personnel position shall comply with 11 Del.C. §8570, et seq., and these regulations before
being hired or providing contracted services. A criminal background check performed within the
previous twelve (12) months and held by another school district, charter school or out of state school,
and supplied under 2.0 and 3.0 of these regulations is one means of complying with 11 Del.C. §8570,
et seq., and these regulations.

5.3 A person who transfers between Delaware Public Schools and is placed in a Covered Personnel
position shall comply with 31 Del.C. §309 and these regulations before becoming an Employee,
Contractor, or Volunteer. A Criminal Background Check performed within the previous twelve (12)
months and held by another Public School or out of state school, and supplied under 3.0 and 4.0 of
these regulations is one means of complying with 31 Del.C. §309, et seq., and these regulations.

56.0 Determination of Suitability and Appeal Process

56.1 A person covered by 11 Del.C. §8570, et seq., 31 Del.C. §309, and these regulations, shall have the
opportunity to respond to a school district or charter school Public School regarding any criminal
history information obtained prior to a determination of suitability for employment as an Employee,
Contractor, or Volunteer being made. See 11 Del.C. §8571(d) 31 Del.C. §309(e)(1)(b). Such a
response shall be made within ten (10) working days of the person's receipt of the cCriminal
bBackground cCheck information from the State Bureau of Identification SBI.

6.1.1 The determination of suitability for employment as an Employee, Contractor, or Volunteer shall be
made by the school district or charter school Public School pursuant to the factors listed in 11
Del.C. §8571(d) 31 Del.C. §309(d) and any other criteria the Public School may establish.
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56.2 The school district or charter school Public School shall communicate the results of the determination
of suitability to the person, in writing, within five (5) working days of the receipt of the person's
response to the criminal history information. If a determination is made to deny a person placement in
a Covered Personnel position employment, based upon the criminal history, the person shall have an
opportunity to appeal for reconsideration as set forth in 5.3.1 through 5.3.3 6.3.

56.3 Appeal for Reconsideration

56.3.1 An appeal for reconsideration shall be initiated by a person notified that he/she is being denied or
being terminated from placement in a Covered Personnel position employment, pursuant to 11
Del.C. §8571 31 Del.C. §309(e)(1)(b), by submitting a letter of appeal to the district Public School
sSuperintendent or charter school director within ten (10) working days of the receipt of written
notice.

56.3.2 The appeal shall be reviewed by the district Public School sSuperintendent or charter school
director and the appellant shall have the right to be heard by the district Public School
sSuperintendent or charter school director within ten (10) working days of the receipt of the letter
of appeal.

56.3.2.1 Local school districts and charter schools Public Schools shall develop procedures for
appeals for reconsideration. The process shall be as informal and accessible as possible,
but shall allow for impartial and complete review.

56.3.3 A written decision shall be rendered by the district Public School sSuperintendent or charter
school director within ten (10) working days of the hearing. A decision made by the district Public
School sSuperintendent or charter school director under this appeal procedure is final, unless the
district or charter school Public School has made specific provisions for appeal to another entity
within the district or charter school Public School. The decision shall not be appealable to the State
Board of Education or to the Department of Education.

67.0 Confidentiality

67.1 All information and records pertaining to cCriminal bBackground cChecks, pursuant to 11 Del.C.
§8570 31 Del.C. §309, et seq., and these regulations, shall be maintained in a confidential manner
including, but not limited to, the following:

67.1.1 Access to cCriminal bBackground cCheck records, and letters of reference accompanying out of
state cCriminal bBackground cChecks, and determination of suitability shall be limited to the
district Public School sSuperintendent or charter school director and the district or charter school
chief personnel office and one person designated to assist in the processing of cCriminal
bBackground cChecks, who will receive training in confidentiality, be required to sign an
agreement to keep such information confidential and employ proper precautions to iensure that
interoffice communications remain confidential.

67.1.2 All such records shall be kept in locked, fireproof cabinets;

67.1.3 No information from such records shall be released without the signed approval of and the
appropriate signed release of the candidate or person placed in a Covered Personnel position.

78.0 Penalties

The district Public School sSuperintendent or charter school director or the district or charter school
chief personnel officer shall report to the appropriate police authorities evidence of any person who
knowingly provides false, incomplete or inaccurate criminal history information or who otherwise
knowingly violates the provisions of 11 Del.C. §8571 31 Del.C. §311.

89.0 Subsequent Criminal History Information

89.1 Subsequent criminal history on a person in a Covered Personnel position may be sent by the State
Bureau of Identification SBI to the district Public School sSuperintendent or charter school director or
district or charter school chief personnel office and shall be used by district or charter school the Public
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School in making a determination about the person's continued suitability for placement in a pPublic
sSchool environment.

89.2 If subsequent criminal history information is mistakenly directed to a district or charter school Public
School other than the current district or charter school Public School of Covered Personnel, the
information shall be forwarded immediately to the employing district or charter school Public School by
the receiving district Public School sSuperintendent, charter school director or district or charter school
chief personnel officer.

89.3 If a person is known to be in a Covered Personnel position in more than one district or charter school
Public School, the sSuperintendent, director or chief personnel officer of the district or charter school
Public School receiving the subsequent criminal history information on that person shall share the
information received immediately with the district Public School sSuperintendent, charter school
director or district or charter school chief personnel officer of the other school district or charter school
Public School(s).

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
 14 DE Admin. Code 746

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

746 Criminal Background Check for Student Teaching

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 746 Criminal Background Check for

Student Teaching. This regulation is being amended due to changes in Titles 11, 16, and 31 of the Delaware Code
related to Background Checks for Child Serving Entities.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before March 7, 2016 to Tina Shockley, Education Associate, Department of Education, Regulatory Review, at 401
Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation may be viewed online at the Register of
Regulation’s website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the Department
of Education, Finance Office located at the address listed above.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation is intended to help improve student achievement as measured against state
achievement standards by clarifying that appropriate criminal background checks have occurred for those child
serving entities such as student teachers.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation is intended to continue to help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
The amendments do not address students’ health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation continues to help ensure that all student’s legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulations does not change the decision making at the local board and
school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
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upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements on decision makers. 

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
does not change because of the amendment.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendment is consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is no
expected cost to implementing this amended regulation.

746 Criminal Background Check for Student Teaching

1.0 Purpose

This regulation shall apply to candidates for a Student Teaching Assignment Placement in a Delaware public
school. A Criminal Background Check shall be completed for Student Teaching Placements at Child Serving
Entities. It shall consist of a fingerprinted Delaware and national background check completed by the State Bureau
of Identification (SBI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). Additionally, a Child Protection Registry Check
shall be completed by the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families (DSCYF). Refer to 14 DE
Admin. Code 745 Criminal Background Check for Public School Related Employment for the requirements and
procedures related to criminal background checks for pPublic sSchool related employment in a Delaware pPublic
sSchool.

12.0 Definitions

For purposes of this regulation, the following definitions apply:

“Administrator of Educator Preparation Program” means the individual identified by the Higher Education
Institution as being responsible for overseeing the placement of candidates into a Student Teaching
Placement in a Delaware Public School.

“Higher Education Institution” or “Institution(s) of Higher Education” means the Delaware college or
university that has a teacher preparation program that places candidates into Student Teaching
Positions Placement in a Delaware pPublic sSchool district or charter school.

“Public School” means any public school and includes any board of education, school district, reorganized
school district, special school district, charter school or charter school board and any person or entity
acting as an agent thereof.

"Student Teacher'' means an individual participating in a Student Teaching Placement.

“Student Teaching Position Placement” means a structured, supervised learning experience for a student in
a teacher education program in which the student teacher practices the skills being learned in the
teacher education program and gradually assumes increased responsibility for instruction, classroom
management, and other related duties for a class of students in a local school district or charter school.
These skills are practiced under the direct supervision of the certified teacher who has official
responsibility for the class.

“Superintendent” means the chief school officer of any public school district or charter school, or the
equivalent of a Superintendent or the Superintendent’s designee.

23.0 Criminal Background Check Requirements and Procedures for Student Teaching Position 
Candidates

23.1 Effective January 1, 2011 April 7, 2016, any candidate for a Student Teaching Position Placement in a
pPublic sSchool district or charter school shall be required to have a criminal background check as
prescribed through this regulation.
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23.2 The higher education institution where candidates for Student Teaching Positions are enrolled shall
require all candidates to complete a Release for Criminal Background Check Information form
approved by the Department of Education as a part of the assignment process for a Student Teaching
Position in a Delaware public school district or charter school. The State Bureau of Identification (SBI)
shall provide the criminal background information and the Department of Services for Children, Youth
and Their Families (DSCYF) shall provide the Child Protection Registry check information to the
individual and to the Higher Education Institution identified by the individual, through the Administrator
of Educator Preparation Program. The Higher Education Institution shall determine whether the
individual is prohibited from being placed per the provisions of 31 Del.C. §309(d) and shall send a
copy of the complete criminal background check and Child Protection Registry check information to
the head of the Public School considering the person as a candidate for a Student Teaching
Placement. If the individual is not prohibited from placement per the provisions of 31 Del.C. §309(d),
but the individual has a criminal conviction or is or has been on the Child Protection Registry, the
Public School shall make a determination regarding suitability for placement using the factors in stated
in statute. Information obtained under this subsection is confidential and may only be disclosed to the
chief school officer, head of the Public School, the chief personnel officer of the school, and one
person in each school who shall be designated to assist in the processing of criminal background
checks, receive training in confidentiality and be required to sign an agreement to keep such
information confidential.

23.3 The candidate for a Student Teaching Position Placement in a Delaware pPublic sSchool district or
charter school shall be subject to the following procedures:

23.3.1 After notification by the hHigher eEducation iInstitution that he/she is a candidate for a Student
Teaching Position Placement, the candidate shall present him/herself to State Bureau of
Identification SBI personnel at one of the Delaware State Police Troops that processes such
criminal background checks or at an on site appointment arranged by the hHigher eEducation
iInstitution.

23.3.2 The candidate shall cooperate in all respects with this criminal background check process, or his/
her application cannot be accepted. On completion of the procedure, the candidate will be given a
Verification Form of Processing by the State Bureau of Identification SBI, which may be shown to
the candidate’s placing hHigher eEducation iInstitution as proof that the candidate has completed
the procedure. The candidate should retain the Verification Form of Processing for his/her records.

23.3.3 The candidate shall request the State Bureau of Identification that SBI send original versions of the
criminal background check to both the candidate and hHigher eEducation iInstitution.

23.3.3.1 Provided further, a candidate attending a private Delaware Higher Education Institution
shall provide a copy of his/her state and federal criminal history record, certified by the
State Bureau of Identification SBI, to the designated person at the placing private
Delaware Higher Education Institution.

23.4 All costs associated with obtaining a criminal background check shall be paid for by the person
seeking a sStudent tTeaching position pPlacement.

34.0 Procedures for Higher Education Institutions and, Public School Districts and Charter Schools for 
the Determination of Suitability for Candidates in Student Teaching Positions.

34.1 The hHigher eEducation iInstitution where the candidate is enrolled and that was sent an original copy
of the completed criminal background check shall make the initial determination for suitability for
sStudent tTeaching pPlacement. The criteria for determining the suitability for sStudent tTeaching
pPlacement shall be at the discretion of the hHigher eEducation iInstitution and may vary among the
various hHigher eEducation iInstitutions in Delaware.

34.1.1 If a determination is made to deny a candidate placement into a sStudent tTeaching position
pPlacement based upon the hHigher eEducation iInstitution’s review of the criminal history, the
hHigher eEducation iInstitution may provide for an appeal process.

34.2 Upon the initial determination for suitability for the candidate to be placed in a pPublic sSchool, the
hHigher eEducation iInstitution liaison responsible for overseeing Student Teaching Position
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pPlacements shall confirm the receipt of the original complete criminal background check and send a
copy of such to the district Public School sSuperintendent or charter school director of the Delaware
school district or charter school considering the person as a candidate for a Student Teaching Position
Placement.

34.3 Each school district and charter school Public School shall make the final determination of suitability
for placement of a candidate in a Student Teaching Position Placement in its school.

34.3.1 Each school district and charter school Public School shall establish the process and criteria for
determining suitability for placement of a candidate in a Student Teaching Position Placement in
its school(s).

34.3.2 The criteria for determining the suitability and subsequent placement of a candidate in a sStudent
tTeaching position Placement may vary among the districts and charter Public sSchools. In
addition, a school district or charter Public sSchool may have criteria for sStudent tTeaching
pPlacement that differs from the criteria for pPublic sSchool employment.

34.3.3 The school district or charter school Public School shall provide the candidate’s hHigher
eEducation iInstitution the decision to place or deny a candidate in a Student Teaching Position
pPlacement in writing.

34.4 Candidates for student teaching may have criminal background checks from other states accepted, if
all of the following conditions are met;

34.4.1 The criminal background check shall have been conducted within the previous twelve (12) months
and include a federal criminal background check;

34.4.2 The criminal background check shall be sent directly from the criminal background check agency
in the other state to the hHigher eEducation iInstitution;

34.4.3 The out of state candidate shall sign a release to allow the hHigher eEducation iInstitution
receiving the out of state criminal background check and the reference to confirm their receipt,
disclose their contents and forward them, subject to the same disclosure regulations that apply to
Delaware criminal background checks.

45.0 Procedures for Maintaining Criminal Background Check Information

45.1 All information and records pertaining to criminal background checks and this regulation shall be
maintained in a confidential manner including, but not limited to, the following:

45.1.1 Access to criminal background check records, letters of reference accompanying out of state
criminal background checks, and determination of suitability shall be limited to the hHigher
eEducation iInstitution officer responsible for student teacher assignments and one person
designated to assist in the processing of criminal background checks; and the district Public
School sSuperintendent or charter school director and the district or charter school chief personnel
officer responsible for the determination of suitability in the placing district or charter school Public
School. These persons shall be required to sign an agreement to keep such information
confidential and employ proper precautions to insure that interoffice communications remain
confidential;

45.1.2 All such records shall be kept in locked, fireproof cabinets;

45.1.3 No information from such records shall be released without the signed approval of and the
appropriate signed release of the candidate or person placed in a Student Teaching Position
Placement.

45.2 The hHigher eEducation iInstitution may dispose of the criminal background check in a secure manner
no earlier than six (6) months after the student graduates from the hHigher eEducation iInstitution.

56.0 Penalties

The hHigher eEducation iInstitution officer responsible for student teacher assignments shall report to
the appropriate police authorities evidence of any person who knowingly provides false, incomplete or
inaccurate criminal history information or who otherwise knowingly violates this regulation.
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67.0 Subsequent Criminal History Information

67.1 Subsequent criminal history on a person in a Student Teaching Position Placement may be sent by the
State Bureau of Identification SBI to the hHigher eEducation iInstitution.

67.2 The hHigher eEducation iInstitution where the candidate is enrolled shall be required to send any
subsequent criminal history information received to the school district or charter school Public School
where the candidate is engaged in student teaching activities.

67.3 The district or charter school Public School where the person is in a Student Teaching Position
Placement may consider any subsequent criminal history received for the person's continued
suitability for the Student Teaching Position Placement.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

747 Criminal Background Check for Private School and Youth Camp Related Employment

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
New Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to create 14 DE Admin. Code 747 Criminal Background Check for Private

School and Youth Camp Related Employment. This regulation is being created due to changes in Titles 11, 16, and
31 of the Delaware Code related to Background Checks for Private Schools.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before March 7, 2016 to Tina Shockley, Education Associate, Department of Education, Regulatory Review, at 401
Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation may be viewed online at the Register of
Regulation’s website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the Department
of Education, Finance Office, located at the address listed above.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the new regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The new regulation is intended to improve student achievement by helping to ensure that Private
School Employees, Volunteers and Contractors have sufficient Criminal Background Checks.

2. Will the new regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The new regulation is
intended to help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the new regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected? The
new regulation is intended to help ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected.

4. Will the new regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The new regulation is
intended to help ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected.

5. Will the new regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The new regulation does not change the decision making at the local board and school
level.

6. Will the new regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels? The new regulation does not place any unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements on decision makers. 

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
does not change because of the new regulation.

8. Will the new regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
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educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The new regulation is consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is no
expected cost to implementing this new regulation.

747 Criminal Background Check for Private School and Youth Camp Related Employment

1.0 Purpose

This regulation shall apply to all individuals seeking Private School related employment in a Delaware Private
School. A Criminal Background Check shall be completed for Employees, Contractors, or Volunteers of a Child
Serving Entity. It shall consist of a fingerprinted Delaware and national background check completed by the State
Bureau of Identification (SBI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). Additionally, a Child Protection
Registry Check shall be completed by the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families (DSCYF).

2.0 Definitions

For purposes of this regulation, the following definitions apply:

“Child Protection Registry Check” means a computer search of the Child Protection Registry to
determine if a person is a perpetrator in any substantiated cases of child abuse or neglect.

“Child Serving Entity” means a Private School or Youth Camp.

“Contractor” means a person, not an Employee, providing services within a Private School and who has
Direct Access to children.

“Covered Personnel” means an “Employee”, “Contractor”, “Volunteer” or all those persons who have
Direct Access to children in or through an extra duty position (also called Extra Pay for Extra
Responsibility Position) in Private Schools whether the person receives compensation or not.

“Criminal Background Check” means a fingerprinted Delaware and national background check
completed by the SBI and the FBI. Additionally, a Child Protection Registry Check shall be completed
by DSCYF.

“Direct Access” means, pursuant to this regulation, the opportunity to have personal contact with students
receiving care of education during the course of one’s assigned duties.

“Employee” mean, pursuant to this regulation, any person seeking employment for compensation with a
Child Serving Entity, or any person who for any reason has Direct Access to children at a Child Serving
Entity.

“Private School” means a school having any or all of grades kindergarten through twelve, operating under
a board of trustees and maintaining a faculty and plant which are properly supervised.

“Volunteer” means a person providing volunteer services within a Child Serving Entity and who has Direct
Access to children.

“Youth Camp” means a Child Serving Entity having custody or control of one or more school-age children,
unattended by parent or guardian, for the purpose of providing a program of recreational, athletic,
education and religious instruction or guidance. The camp operates for up to 12 weeks for three or
more hours per day, during the months of May through September or some portion thereof, or during
holiday breaks in the course of a school year; and is operated in a space or location other than one
subject to licensing pursuant to 31 Del.C. §344.

3.0 Criminal Background Checks for Private School Prospective Employees, Volunteers, and 
Contractors

3.1 A Criminal Background Check shall be completed for Employees, Contractors, or Volunteers of a
Private School, including Youth Camps directly operated by a Private School, in accordance with the
procedures in 14 DE Admin. Code 745 and 31 Del.C. §309(c)(1) and (2).
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3.2 Notwithstanding 3.1 above, Private Schools, including Youth Camps directly operated by a Private
School, may choose to perform a name-based Delaware Criminal Background Check for prospective
Employees, Volunteers, and Contractors through the Delaware Justice Information System and an out-
of-state criminal record check using private, third party providers of such checks, provided that any
out-of-state criminal record check shall include a social security trace search and county-based
criminal record search in the counties in which the individual has resided within the past ten (10) years.

4.0 Exemption

Any Private School, including Youth Camps directly operated by a Private School, may choose not to perform
the Criminal Background Check and Child Protection Registry checks described in 31 Del.C. §309(c)(1) and (c)(2),
provided that the Private School or youth camp that is directly operated by the private school, informs parents or
guardians of the youth in attendance that the school or youth camp is not meeting minimum background check
safety requirements for its staff members. The school or camp must obtain and retain for at least 1 year a signed
acknowledgement of same from the parents or guardians.

5.0 Determination of Suitability

The determination of suitability for employment shall be made by the Private School pursuant to the factors
listed in 31 Del.C. §309(d), procedures in 31 Del.C. §309(e)(1) and any other criteria the Private School may
establish.

6.0 Confidentiality

6.1 All information and records pertaining to Criminal Background Checks, pursuant to 31 Del.C. §309,
and these regulations, shall be maintained in a confidential manner including, but not limited to, the
following:

6.1.1 Access to Criminal Background Check records, and letters of reference accompanying out of state
Criminal Background Checks, and determination of suitability shall be limited to the Private School
head of school or chief personnel officer and one person designated to assist in the processing of
Criminal Background Checks, who will receive training in confidentiality, be required to sign an
agreement to keep such information confidential and employ proper precautions to ensure that
interoffice communications remain confidential.

6.1.2 All such records shall be kept in locked, fireproof cabinets;

6.1.3 No information from such records shall be released without the signed approval of and the
appropriate signed release of the candidate or person placed in a Covered Personnel position.

7.0 Penalties

The Private School head of school or chief personnel officer shall report to the appropriate police authorities
evidence of any person who knowingly provides false, incomplete, or inaccurate criminal history information or who
otherwise knowingly violates the provisions of 31 Del.C. §311.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 775

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

775 New Teacher Hiring Date Reporting

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
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Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 775 New Teacher Hiring Date Reporting.

This regulation is being amended to align teacher hiring date collection with annual reporting done within the
Teacher and Leader Effectiveness branch of the Department of Education and as required by 14 Del.C. §1725.
This regulation was published in the November Register of Regulations and because of comments received is
being republished.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before March 7, 2016 to Tina Shockley, Education Associate, Department of Education, Regulatory Review, at 401
Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation may be viewed online at the Register of
Regulation's website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the Department
of Education, Finance Office located at the address listed above.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation does not address student achievement as measured against state
achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation is intended to continue to help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected?
The amendments do not address students' health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation continues to help ensure that all student's legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change the decision making at the local board and
school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements on decision makers.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
does not change because of the amendment.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendment is consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is no
expected cost to implementing this amended regulation.

775 New Teacher Hiring Date Reporting

1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to outline the criteria and process related to new teacher hiring data
collection and reporting by school districts as required by 14 Del.C. §1725 and align such with annual
reporting done within the Teacher and Leader Effectiveness Branch of the Department of Education.

2.0 Definitions

"Contract Offer Date" shall mean the date an authorized agent or representative of the district notifies
the successful candidate of the intent to hire.
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"Critical Curricular Area" shall mean an area identified as a critical area by the Department of
Education and approved by the State Board of Education.

"District" shall mean a reorganized school district or vocational technical school district established
pursuant to Chapter 10 of Title 14 of the Delaware Code.

"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education.

"Hard to Staff Position" means a position for which school districts have the fewest qualified
applicants.

"New Teacher Hiring Date" shall mean, for purposes of this regulation, the Contract Offer Date as
defined herein.

"Position Availability Date" shall mean the date the district Human Resources Office knows the
available position is released for a new full-time teacher hire.

 "Position Title" shall mean the appropriate teaching position as offered to the teacher from the list of
teacher position titles as provided in the Delaware Educator Data System (DEEDs).

"Position Type" shall mean the appropriate instructional level of the teacher or whether the teacher is
in a critical curricular area Hard to Staff Position.

3.0 New Teacher Hiring Data Report

On or before December 1st of each year, each District shall annually submit a New Teacher Hiring
Date Report an Educator Hiring Practices and Needs Report to the Department on in a format
approved by the Department that includes, but is not limited to, Contract Offer Date, Position
Availability Date, and Position Title Position Type, number of positions available and filled, information
on Hard To Staff Positions, information on recruitment and selection processes, and information on
staffing practices during the most recent hiring season(s). The Department may also require each
District to enter such information on an ongoing basis into an electronic statewide information system.
The report Department shall reflect the district new teacher hiring activity from the "estimated unit
count" as that term is defined pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1704 until November 15th of that same calendar
year review and provide information on educator hiring practices and needs, including hiring activity
related to the "estimated unit count" as that term is defined pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1704, in the annual
Delaware Talent Practices Report (Report). The Report is to be provided no later than March 31st of
the following year.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 923

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

923 Children with Disabilities Subpart B, General Duties and Eligibility of Agencies

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

923 Children with Disabilities Subpart B General Duties and Eligibility of Agencies. The amendments are being
made to align the regulation with 14 Del.C. §3125 related to the establishment and procedures for the creation and
maintenance of a parent council for the parents of students with disabilities. The Department of Education has met
and received preliminary input from the Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens regarding the
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amendments to this regulation.
Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or

before April 7, 2016 to Tina Shockley, Education Associate, Department of Education, Regulatory Review, at 401
Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation may be viewed online at the Register of
Regulation’s website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the Department
of Education, Finance Office located at the address listed above. Note this is a 60 day comment period.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation is intended to help improve student achievement as measured against state
achievement standards by ensuring that students with disabilities are adequately represented via parent councils.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation is intended to help ensure all students receive an equitable education. 

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
The amendments do not address students’ health and safety. 

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation continues to help ensure that all student’s legal rights are respected. 

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amendments do not change decision making at the local or school levels. 

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements on decision makers. 

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject of the regulation
does not change because of the amendments. 

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendments are consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies. 

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing this subject matter.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is not
an expected cost to implementing this regulation with the amendments. 

923 Children with Disabilities Subpart B General Duties and Eligibility of Agencies

Non-regulatory note: Some sections of this regulation are shown in italics. Federal law requires that the Delaware
Department of Education identify in writing any Delaware rule, regulation or policy that is a state-imposed
requirement rather than a federal requirement (see 20 USC §14079(a)(2)). The italicized portions of this regulation
are Delaware-imposed requirements for the education of children with disabilities and are not specifically required
by federal special education law and regulations.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

25.0 Parent Councils

25.1 Each school district and charter school enrolling any child with disabilities shall, on an annual basis,
contact the parents of each such child to attempt to facilitate the creation and maintenance of a Parent
Council for the parents of students with disabilities.

25.2 Parent Councils will advocate generally for students with disabilities and provide person-to-person
support with individual parents and children.

25.3 Each school district and charter school shall collaborate and coordinate with existing parent groups
and other information and support groups to facilitate creation, maintenance, and effectiveness of the
Parent Councils.
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256.0 to 28.0 Reserved

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

923 Children with Disabilities Subpart B General Duties and Eligibility of Agencies

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 924

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

924 Children with Disabilities Subpart C Local Educational Agency Eligibility

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

924 Children with Disabilities Subpart C Local Educational Agency (LEA) Eligibility. The amendments are being
made to align with changes made to 14 Del. Code §3125A regarding training in the legal responsibility of preparing
Individualized Education Programs for students with disabilities who attend charter schools.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before April 7, 2016 to Tina Shockley, Education Associate, Department of Education, Regulatory Review, at 401
Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation may be viewed online at the Register of
Regulation’s website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the Department
of Education, Finance Office located at the address listed above. Note this is a 60 day comment period.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation is intended to help improve student achievement as measured against state
achievement standards by helping to ensure that students with disabilities who attend charter schools are
appropriately identified and receiving services.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation is intended to help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ health and safety are adequately protected?
The amendments do not address students’ health and safety. 

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students’ legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation continues to help ensure that all student’s legal rights are respected. 

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amendments do not change decision making at the local or school levels.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements on decision makers.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability does not change because of the
amendments.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
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subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendments are consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing this subject matter.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is not
an expected cost to implementing this regulation with the amendments.

924 Children with Disabilities Subpart C Local Educational Agency (LEA) Eligibility

Non-regulatory note: Some sections of this regulation are shown in italics. Federal law requires that the
Delaware Department of Education identify in writing any Delaware rule, regulation or policy that is a state-imposed
requirement rather than a federal requirement (see 20 USC §14079a)(2)). The italicized portions of this regulation
are Delaware-imposed requirements for the education of children with disabilities and are not specifically required
by federal special education law and regulations.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)
9.0 Treatment of Charter Schools and their Students.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

9.4 No later than September 1 of each school year each charter school shall identify at least one
professional staff member who holds a current certification in any area of special education in
Delaware. Training shall be completed by September 30 of the current school year. The designee shall
complete annual training approved by DOE regarding the legal responsibilities of charter schools with
respect to preparation of Individual Education Programs for students with disabilities and resources
available to charter schools to assist in preparation of such programs.

9.4.1 Each charter school shall notify DOE of any changes in staff appointed as designee(s) within
seven (7) business days of the staff change.

9.4.2 The initial and refresher training shall be the annual training in special education regulations,
policies, procedures, and procedural safeguards as outlined in IDEA and Delaware Administrative
Code as it relates to special education. DOE shall annually publish date(s) for this training.

9.45 Reserved

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1413(a)(5); 14 Del.C. §§505 and 3110)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

28.0 State Agency Eligibility

28.1 Any Sstate agency that desires to receive a sub grant for any fiscal year under 14 DE Admin. Code
928.5.0 shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the DOE that:

28.1.1 All children with disabilities who are participating in programs and projects funded under Part B of
the Act receive FAPE, and that those children and their parents are provided all the rights and
procedural safeguards described in these regulations; and

28.1.2 The agency meets the other conditions of this subpart that apply to LEAs.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1413(h); 14 Del.C. §3110)

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

924 Children with Disabilities Subpart C Local Educational Agency Eligibility
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OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 925

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

925 Children with Disabilities Subpart D, Evaluations, Eligibility Determination, Individualized Education 
Programs

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

925 Children with Disabilities Subpart D, Evaluations, Eligibility Determination, Individualized Education Programs.
The amendments are being made to align with changes made to 14 Del.C. Ch. 31 which includes progress on
transition goals and conduct of Individualized Education Program (IEP) meetings, notice of such meetings and
parent input prior to IEP meetings. The amendments also include notice that the DOE, in response to the
Department of Justice, shall survey annually parents who have children with IEPs to ensure compliance with state
and federal laws and this regulation.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before April 7, 2016 to Tina Shockley, Education Associate, Department of Education, Regulatory Review, at 401
Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation may be viewed online at the Register of
Regulation's website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the Department
of Education, Finance Office located at the address listed above. Note this is a 60 day comment period.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation is intended to help improve student achievement as measured against state
achievement standards by ensuring that IEP meetings are conducted properly, that parents are adequately notified
regarding the student's IEP and that transition goals are clear.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation is intended to help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected?
The amendments do not address students' health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation continues to help ensure that all student's legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amendments do not change decision making at the local or school levels.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements on decision makers.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability does not change because of the
amendments.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendments are consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing this subject matter.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 19, ISSUE 8, MONDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2016

http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml
http://www.doe.k12.de.us/site/default.aspx?PageID=1


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 719
10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is not
an expected cost to implementing this regulation as amended.

925 Children with Disabilities Subpart D, Evaluations, Eligibility Determination, Individualized Education 
Programs

Non-regulatory note: Some sections of this regulation are shown in italics. Federal law requires that the Delaware
Department of Education identify in writing any Delaware rule, regulation or policy that is a state-imposed
requirement rather than a federal requirement (see 20 USC §14079(a)(2)). The italicized portions of this regulation
are Delaware-imposed requirements for the education of children with disabilities and are not specifically required
by federal special education law and regulations.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

20.0  Definition of Individualized Education Program

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

20.2 Transition services: Beginning with the earlier of the first IEP to be in effect when the child turns
fourteen (14) or enters the eighth (8th) grade, or younger if determined appropriate by the IEP Team,
and updated annually thereafter, the IEP must include:

20.2.1 Appropriate measurable postsecondary goals based upon age appropriate transition assessments
related to training, education, employment, and, where appropriate, independent living skills; and

20.2.2 The transition services and activities (including courses of study) needed to assist the child in
reaching those goals.

20.2.2.1 The IEP team shall discuss employment options with children and parents consistent with
Delaware's Employment First Policy articulated by 19 Del.C. §743.

20.2.2.2 Progress made on activities and services that reasonably enable the child to reach their
postsecondary goals in transition IEPs shall be reported with the same frequency as
academic goals.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

21.0 IEP Team

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

21.7 No public agency, or any person acting under the authority of a public agency, shall discriminate or
take any adverse employment or contract action against any person based upon statements that
person makes while advocating for a student in connection with an IEP, including statements made in
preparation for or at a meeting, review, or conference concerning a child with a disability's free and
appropriate public education.

21.7.1 Entities or persons who violate this subsection shall be subject to the same sanctions as persons
or entities that engage in unlawful employment practices under 19 Del.C. Ch. 7.

22.0 Parent Participation

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

22.2 Information provided to parents: The notice required under 22.1 shall:

22.2.1 Indicate the purpose, time, and location of the meeting and who will be in attendance; and

22.2.2 Inform the parents of the provisions in 21.1.6 and 21.3 (relating to the participation of other
individuals on the IEP Team who have knowledge or special expertise about the child), and 21.6
(relating to the participation of the Part C service coordinator or other representatives of the Part C
system at the initial IEP Team meeting for a child previously served under Part C of the Act).

22.2.2.1 The IEP Team shall provide notice to the parent, and if appropriate, the child, that they
may request the presence of any teacher, paraprofessional, and any additional staff
members at an IEP meeting.
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22.2.3 A full copy of the procedural safeguards under state and federal law and regulations shall be
offered to the parents at the IEP meeting.

22.2.4 The IEP Team shall provide notice to the parent, and if appropriate, the child, that they may
request any data (e.g. classroom assessments, formative assessments, behavior data, related
service reports, Response to Intervention data) in the agency's possession relevant to the child's
needs or disability prior to the IEP meeting.

22.3 The IEP team will ensure parent input by:

22.3.1 The IEP team shall provide a questionnaire requesting the input of a child's parent, and where
appropriate, the input of the child, with respect to the child's progress to date and additional
proposed steps that should be taken to adjust the child's goals, curriculum, services, aids,
modifications, and/or other elements of the child's Individualized Education Program.

22.3.1.1 The questionnaire shall be sent with or prior to the written meeting notice inviting the
parent to attend the IEP meeting.

22.3.2 If the IEP Team prepares a draft of the IEP prior to the date of the IEP meeting, the IEP Team shall
provide the parent, and if appropriate, the child, with a copy of the draft IEP accompanied by a
letter clearly indicating that the document is a draft for discussion purposes only and is therefore
subject to revisions.

22.3.3 The Department in collaboration with the Governor's Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens
shall create and provide a draft letter and associated guidance to assist public agencies with the
content and application of the letter referred to in subsection 22.3.2.

22.2.34 For a child with a disability beginning with the earlier of the first IEP to be in effect when the child turns
fourteen (14) or enters the eighth (8th) grade, or younger if determined appropriate by the IEP Team,
the notice shall also indicate that a purpose of the meeting will be the consideration of the
postsecondary goals and transition services for the child, in accordance with 20.2 and that the agency
will invite the student; and identify any other agency that will be invited to send a representative. The
invitation to the child shall be in writing.

22.35 Other methods to ensure parent participation: If neither parent can attend an IEP Team meeting, the
public agency shall use other methods to ensure parent participation, including individual or
conference telephone calls, consistent with 28.0 (related to alternative means of meeting
participation).

22.46 Conducting an IEP Team meeting without a parent in attendance: A meeting may be conducted
without a parent in attendance if the public agency is unable to convince the parents that they should
attend. In this case, the public agency shall keep a record of its attempts to arrange a mutually agreed
on time and place, such as:

22.46.1 Detailed records of telephone calls made or attempted and the results of those calls;

22.46.2 Copies of correspondence sent to the parents and any responses received; and

22.46.3 Detailed records of visits made to the parent's home or place of employment and the results of
those visits.

22.46.4 Use of interpreters or other action, as appropriate. The public agency shall take whatever action is
necessary to ensure that the parent understands the proceedings of the IEP Team meeting,
including arranging for an interpreter for parents with deafness or whose native language is other
than English.

22.57 Parent copy of child's IEP: The public agency shall give the parent a copy of the child's IEP at no cost
to the parent.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1414(d)(1)(B)(i); 14 Del.C. §3110)

22.8 The Department of Education, in conjunction with the Department of Justice, shall annually survey a
random and representative sample of parents and their children who have Individualized Education
Programs with respect to the parents' and children's satisfaction with the IEP process. Information
gathered through this survey shall be used by the Department of Education and Department of Justice
to conduct follow-up examinations with school districts and charter schools as to their good faith
compliance with state and federal laws and regulations.
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22.8.1 Information gathered through this survey shall also be used by the Department of Education in
carrying out monitoring duties as outlined in 14 DE Admin. Code 927 to ensure compliance with
state and federal laws and regulations.

22.8.2 A summary of the survey results will be made available on the Department of Education's website.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:
925 Children with Disabilities Subpart D, Evaluations, Eligibility Determination, Individualized Education 

Programs

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 926

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

926 Children with Disabilities Subpart E Procedural Safeguards for Parents and Children

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

926 Children with Disabilities Subpart E Procedural Safeguards for Parents and Children. The amendments are
being made to align with changes made to 14 Del.C. §3131(b) regarding IEP meeting minutes being digitally
provided by the public agency if initiated, as well as prior written notice for proposed changes.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by the close of business on or
before April 7, 2016 to Tina Shockley, Education Associate, Department of Education, Regulatory Review, at 401
Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901. A copy of this regulation may be viewed online at the Register of
Regulation's website, http://regulations.delaware.gov/services/current_issue.shtml, or obtained at the Department
of Education, Finance Office located at the address listed above. Note this is a 60 day comment period.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation is intended to help improve student achievement as measured against state
achievement standards by ensuring meeting minutes of IEP meetings are provided electronically.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation is intended to help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected?
The amendments do not address students' health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation continues to ensure that all student's legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amendments do not change decision making at the local or school levels.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements on decision makers.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The decision making authority and accountability does not change because of the
amendments.
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8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amendments are consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing this subject matter.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There is not
an expected cost to implementing this regulation with the amendments.

926 Children with Disabilities Subpart E Procedural Safeguards for Parents and Children

Non-regulatory note: Some sections of this regulation are shown in italics. Federal law requires that the Delaware
Department of Education identify in writing any Delaware rule, regulation or policy that is a state-imposed
requirement rather than a federal requirement (see 20 USC §14079(a)(2)). The italicized portions of this regulation
are Delaware-imposed requirements for the education of children with disabilities and are not specifically required
by federal special education law and regulations.

1.0 General Procedural Safeguards and Opportunity to Examine Records and Educational Programs

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

1.5 Minutes of Meetings. A parent, a parent’s authorized representative, or any public agency conducting a
meeting, review or conference may take minutes of the meeting, review or conference concerning a
child with a disability's free and appropriate public education. Minutes may be taken by a disclosed
recording device or by a stenographer. The cost of recording the minutes is the responsibility of the
person or agency electing to take minutes. Once taken, public agency minutes shall be maintained
subject to the confidentiality requirements of these regulations and any other applicable Delaware or
federal law. If initiated by the public agency, parents must be offered a digital copy.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1414(e), 1415(b)(1); 14 Del. C. §§3110, 3130 and 3131)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3.0 Prior Notice by the Public Agency: Content of Notice

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

3.2 Content of notice: The notice required in 3.1 shall include:

3.2.1 A written description of the action proposed or refused by the agency; and

3.2.2 An written explanation of why the agency proposes or refuses to take the action; and

3.2.3 A written description of each evaluation procedure, assessment, record, or report the agency used
as a basis for the proposed or refused action; and

3.2.4 A written statement that the parents of a child with a disability have protection under the
procedural safeguards of these state and federal regulations and, if this notice is not an initial
referral for evaluation, the means by which a copy of a description of the procedural safeguards
can be obtained; and

3.2.5 Sources for parents to contact to obtain assistance in understanding the provisions of these
regulations, including contact information for parent assistance programs, legal assistance
programs, and the Delaware State Bar Association; and

3.2.6 A written description of any other options the IEP Team considered and the reasons why those
options were rejected; and

3.2.7 A written description of other factors which are relevant to the agency’s proposal or refusal; and

3.2.8 A full explanation of all the procedural safeguards available to the parents. A written summary of
procedural safeguards must be available to the parents under state and federal law and
regulations.

3.2.8.1 A full copy of the procedural safeguards under state and federal law and regulations shall
be provided to the parents at the IEP meeting.
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(Break in Continuity Within Section)

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

926 Children with Disabilities Subpart E Procedural Safeguards for Parents and Children

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
OFFICE OF UNCLAIMED PROPERTY, STATE ESCHEATOR

Statutory Authority: 12 Delaware Code, Section 1154 (12 Del.C. §1154)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Voluntary Disclosure Agreement and Escheat Examination Manual

In compliance with the State’s Administrative Procedures Act (Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
under the authority of 12 Del.C. §1154, the Delaware Department of Finance’s Office of Unclaimed Property, State
Escheator, proposes to revise and replace its regulations related to its Voluntary Disclosure Agreements and
Escheat Examinations.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10116, persons wishing to submit written comments, suggestions, briefs, and
compilations of data or other materials concerning the proposed regulations should direct them to the following
address:

David Gregor

State Escheator

Department of Finance

820 N. French Street

Wilmington, DE 19801

Notice may also be directed via electronic mail to david.gregor@state.de.us. Any written submission in
response to this notice and relevant to the proposed regulations must be received by the Department of Finance no
later than 4:30 p.m. EST, Friday, April 1, 2016.

The action concerning determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon the
results of Department analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed by other
interested persons.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that the Delaware Department of Finance’s Office of
Unclaimed Property, State Escheator, proposes to promulgate a manual to create a framework to ensure greater
transparency and predictability in the process. The goal is for holders of unclaimed property to have a basic
understanding of the processes available to them as well as the State’s expectations. The standards contained in
this “Voluntary Disclosure Agreement and Escheat Examination Manual” are to be implemented consistently, so as
to ensure fair and uniform treatment of holders of unclaimed property.

Statutory Authority
Delaware Code, Title 12, §1154

Background

On January 29, 2015, the Governor of Delaware signed into law Senate Bill 11 of the 148th General Assembly, 
which directed the Delaware Secretary of Finance to complete the development of a detailed manual containing 
procedural guidelines for the conduct of Delaware unclaimed property examinations.
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*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

Voluntary Disclosure Agreement and Escheat Examination Manual

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1100 BOARD OF DENTISTRY AND DENTAL HYGIENE

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 1106(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §1106(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 1100

PUBLIC NOTICE

1100 Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene

The Delaware Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1106(a)(1), proposes to revise its
regulations. The proposed amendments to subsections 4.0 and 4.1 seek to clarify that the statutory requirement
set forth at 24 Del.C. §1122(a)(1) requiring dental candidates to have "received a degree in dentistry from an
accredited dental college or university accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American
Dental Association" may obtain such a degree through either a pre-doctoral dental education program or a post-
doctoral dental program of at least 24 months in any specialty that includes a clinical component. The proposed
changes at subsection 12.2.28 seek to clarify that fee-splitting is a basis for discipline of a Delaware dentist or
dental hygienist.

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule change on March 17, 2016 at 3:00 PM, Second Floor
Conference Room A, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments should be sent
to Jennifer Witte, Administrator of the Delaware Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, Cannon Building, 861
Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments will be accepted until April 1, 2016.

1100 Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

4.0 Qualifications of Applicant; Education and Residency Requirements [24 Del.C. §1122(a)(3)]

4.1 An applicant for licensure as a dentist, whether by examination or endorsement, shall have received a
degree in dentistry from an accredited dental college or university accredited by the Commission on
Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association. Such a degree may consist of either a pre-
doctoral dental education program or a post-doctoral dental program of at least 24 months in any
specialty that includes a clinical component.

4.12 An applicant for licensure as a dentist must have completed 1 year as a dental intern within a general
practice residency accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA).

4.23 An applicant who has completed a CODA approved specialty residency of 4 years or more will be
deemed to have satisfied the general practice residency requirement.

4.34 An applicant who has completed a CODA approved specialty residency of less than 4 years must
demonstrate that the specialty residency program meets the following criteria:

4.34.1 The program must meet the goals, objectives, proficiencies and competencies set forth in
Standard 2.4 of the CODA Accreditation Standards for Advanced Education Programs in General
Practice Residency, ©2007.

4.34.2 The program must include a rotation of at least 70 hours in anesthesia and a rotation of at least 70
hours in medicine.

4.45 An applicant for licensure as a dentist by reciprocity who has had at least 3 years of active dental
practice in another state or territory of the United States is not required to provide evidence of a
general practice or specialty residency.
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4.45.1 Active practice shall be defined as an average of at least 1000 hours of direct patient care per
year. Satisfactory evidence of active practice may include, but is not limited to, W-2 forms, 1099
forms, tax returns, and/or written verification of hours from the dental practice administrator. The
Board reserves the right to request supplemental verification and to reject incomplete
documentation.

4.56 An applicant for licensure as a dental hygienist by reciprocity must demonstrate active practice during
3 of the 5 years immediately preceding the application in the state in which the applicant currently is or
has been licensed.

4.56.1 Active practice shall be defined as an average of at least 350 hours of direct patient care per year.
Satisfactory evidence of active practice may include, but is not limited to, W-2 forms, 1099 forms,
tax returns, and/or written verification of hours from the dental practice administrator. The Board
reserves the right to request supplemental verification and to reject incomplete documentation.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

12.0 Unprofessional Conduct Defined

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

12.2 Unprofessional conduct shall include but is not limited to the following:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

12.2.28 Engaging directly or indirectly in the provision or receipt of anything of value for recommending a
dentist or hygienist's services. Quarterly office gifts with a total annual value of $1000 or less
unrelated to a specific referral are acceptable.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1100 Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 1799I(c) (24 Del.C. §1799I(c))
24 DE Admin. Code 1799

PUBLIC NOTICE

1799 Genetic Counselor Advisory Council

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1799I(c), the Genetic Counselor Advisory Council (“the Council”) of the Delaware
Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline has proposed revisions to its rules and regulations pertaining to license
renewal and continuing education requirements.

A public hearing will be held on March 4, 2016 at 3:30 p.m. in the second floor conference room B of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Genetic
Counselor Advisory Council, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904. Persons wishing to submit
written comments may forward these to the Council at the above address. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the
final date to receive written comments will be March 19, 2016, which is 15 days following the public hearing.

1799 Genetic Counselor Advisory Council
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

4.0 Renewal of License

4.1 Each license shall be renewed biennially. The failure of the Council and/or Board to notify a licensee of
his/her expiration date and subsequent renewals does not, in any way, relieve the licensee of the
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PROPOSED REGULATIONS726
requirement to renew his/her certificate pursuant to the regulations of the Council and 24 Del.C. Ch.
17, Subchapter 11.

4.2 Renewal may be effected by: License renewal shall be accomplished online at www.dpr.delaware.gov
and shall include:

4.2.1 filing a renewal application on the prescribed online application approved by the Council and
provided by the Division of Professional Regulation. License renewal may be accomplished online
at www.dpr.delaware.gov;

4.2.2 providing other information as may be required by the Council to ascertain the licensee's good
standing;

4.2.31 attesting on the renewal application to having completed attestation of completion of the
continuing education required by Rule 5.0; and

4.2.42 payment of fees as determined by the Division of Professional Regulation.

4.3 As a condition of renewal, each licensee shall maintain his/her certification with the American Board of
Genetic Counseling, the American Board of Medical Genetics, or an organization that is recognized as
equivalent.

4.4 As a condition of renewal, the licensee shall provide the Council with any other information as may be
required by the Council to ascertain the licensee's good standing.

4.35 Failure of a licensee to renew his/her license shall cause his/her license to expire. A licensee whose
license has expired may renew his/her license within one (1) year after the expiration date upon
fulfilling items 4.2.1 - 4.2.4 and 4.2.2 above, certifying that he/she has not practiced genetic counseling
in Delaware while his/her license has expired, and paying the renewal fee and a late fee as determined
by the Division of Professional Regulation.

4.46 No licensee will be permitted to renew his/her license once the one (1) year period has expired.

4.57 The former licensee may re-apply under the same conditions that govern applicants for new licensure
under 24 Del.C. Ch. 17, Subchapter 11.

4.68 No genetic counselor shall practice in the State of Delaware during the period of time that his/her
Delaware license has expired.

5.0 Continuing Education

5.1 Continuing Education Credit Hours Required for Renewal

5.1.1 Licensees are required to complete five (5) three (3) Continuing Education Units (CEU) biennially.
A continuing education unit is equivalent to ten contact hours (a contact hour is 60 minutes).
Licensees shall retain all certificates and other documented evidence of participation in an
approved/accredited continuing education program for a period of at least (5) five years.

5.1.2 Proof of continuing education is satisfied with an attestation by the licensee that he or she has
satisfied the Requirements of Rule 5.0.

5.1.3 Attestation must be completed electronically at the time of renewal.

5.1.4 Licensees selected for random audit pursuant to Rule 6.0 will be required to supplement the
attestation with attendance verification.

5.1.5 CEU hours shall be prorated for new licensees. A licensee for renewal shall follow the following
schedule of reporting CEUs: if, at the time of renewal, you have been licensed for less than one
year, NO continuing education is required; licensed for more than one year, but less than two
years, half of the continuing education (21.5 CEUs) is required, all of which shall be Category 1
CEUs pursuant to Rule 5.3.2; licensed for two or more years, the full amount (53 CEUs) is
required.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

5.3 Acceptable Activities /Continuing Education Program Offerings

5.3.1 The overriding consideration in determining whether a specific activity/program qualifies as
acceptable continuing education shall be that it is a planned program of learning which contributes
directly to professional competence in the practice of Genetic Counseling
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5.3.2 Licensees shall demonstrate that they have obtained CEUs in the categories and according to the
criteria established by the American Board of Genetic Counselors (ABGC) for recertification, as
may be amended from time to time.

5.3.2.1 CEUs must be completed during the biennial renewal cycle.

5.3.2.2 The percentage of CEUs obtained in each category should be scaled to fit the biennial
renewal period. The breakdown of CEUs should shall be as follows: ABGC guidelines for
recertification and be scaled for the renewal period. For example current guidelines state:
at least 60% 2 Category 1 CEUs, and up to but no more than 40% 1 Category 2 CEU.s,
PACs may substitute for up to .06 Category 1 CEU.s for up to 20% of the total CEUs.
Therefore, for a full 2 year renewal cycle the CEU breakdown should be comprised of at
least 3.0 Category 1 CEUs, up to but no more than 2.0 Category 2 CEUs. If using PACs
the breakdown would be as follows: at least 2.0 Category 1 CEUs, up to but no more than
2.0 Category 2 CEUs and up to but no more than 1.0 PACs.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1799 Genetic Counselor Advisory Council

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 2906(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §2906(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 2925

PUBLIC NOTICE

2925 Real Estate Commission Education Committee

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2906(a)(1), the Delaware Real Estate Commission has proposed revisions to the Real
Estate Commission Education Guidelines (the “Guidelines”).

A public hearing will be held on March 10, 2016 at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor conference room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Real
Estate Commission, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904. Persons wishing to submit written
comments may forward these to the Commission at the above address. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the final
date to receive written comments will be March 25, 2016, which is 15 days following the public hearing. The
Commission will deliberate on all of the public comments at its regularly scheduled meeting on April 14, 2016, at
which time the Commission will decide whether to adopt the revisions as proposed.

The Commission has proposed a new Rule 4.0 to address distance education. Rule 4.0 provides that
prelicensing education, for both salespeople and brokers, and continuing education, may be accomplished through
distance education. The proposed rule establishes standards for distance education courses, providers and
instructors to ensure that applicants and licensees receive appropriate training. Other rules are revised to
accommodate the new Rule 4.0.

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

2925 Real Estate Commission Education Committee
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DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF MAINTENANCE AND OPERATIONS

Statutory Authority: 17 Delaware Code, Section 1103 (17 Del.C. §1103)
2 DE Admin. Code 2601

PUBLIC NOTICE

2601 Outdoor Advertising

Background

The Department of Transportation has developed a general revision of its Outdoor Advertising regulations.
Among other changes, the regulations clarify standards for public service signs as well as decorative residential
subdivision signs. It also changes the time period for agri-produce signs to reflect seasonal products outside of the
typical growing season.

Public Comment Period

The Department will take written comments on the proposed Outdoor Advertising Regulations from February 1,
2016 through March 2, 2016. The proposed Regulations appear below.

Any request for copies of the proposed Regulations, or any questions or comments regarding this document
should be directed to:

Jeff Leonard

Outdoor Advertising and Roadside Control Manager

Division of Maintenance and Operations

Delaware Department of Transportation

250 Bear-Christiana Road

Bear, DE 19701

(302) 326-4585 (telephone)

(302) 739-2895 (fax)

jeff.leonard@state.de.us

2601 Outdoor Advertising
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

12.0 Standards for Public Service Signs

12.1 General

12.1.1 No public service sign shall be erected or maintained without first securing a permit from the
Department as required by these regulations. Applications for permits shall be processed in
accord with procedures promulgated by the Department. A certification by the Department of
Public Instruction Education (DOE) that each shelter on which signs are or are to be erected is
needed to provide shelter for students at that location shall accompany each application.
Applications and approval shall be processed in accord with procedures promulgated by the
Department.

12.1.2 Shelters shall bear an identifying tag indicating the name and contact information of the party
responsible for the shelter and any signs affixed to it. Such identification tags shall be placed
within the interior of the shelter and cannot exceed 2 square feet.

12.1.3 Shelters located within the right-of-way of any public highway shall not display any type of
advertising sign except an identification tag as defined in subsection 12.1.2.
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12.1.4 At such time a shelter is no longer deemed necessary by the DOE, or is no longer being occupied
by students, any and all signs affixed to such shelter shall be removed immediately. This
paragraph does not apply to identification tags as defined in subsection 12.1.2.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

12.5 Spacing

12.5.1 Only two public service signs shall be permitted at any one location. Signs will only be approved
for a shelter provided it does not in any way obscure or otherwise interfere with the effectiveness
of an official traffic sign, signal, or device TCD, or which obstructs or interferes with the driver's
view of approaching, merging, or intersection traffic, or which interferes with the safe and free flow
of traffic in any way.

13.0 Standards for On Premise Signs

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

13.10 Decorative Residential Subdivision Signs

13.10.1 Decorative residential subdivision signs which basically indicate the name of the individual
suburban community are, for the purposes of these rules and regulations, considered a type of on
premise signs and are allowable provided:

13.10.1.1 They are erected within the subdivision limits,

13.10.1.2 The prime intent is identification of the subdivision,

13.10.1.3 They have received prior approval from the Division and

13.10.1.4 They meet all eligibility tests specified in this paragraph.

13.10.1.5 The above provisions in this section apply to decorative residential subdivision signs
erected adjacent to any state maintained roadway within this State.

13.10.2 The following signs are expressly prohibited:

13.10.2.1 Signs located in such a manner as to obscure or otherwise interfere with the effectiveness
of an official TCD, or obstruct or interfere with the driver's view of approaching, merging, or
intersecting traffic,

13.10.2.2 Signs which are erected or maintained upon trees or utility poles or painted or drawn upon
rocks or other natural features,

13.10.2.3 Obsolete signs,

13.10.2.4 Signs which are structurally unsafe or in disrepair,

13.10.2.5 Signs which move or have any animated or moving parts,

13.10.2.6 Signs located in rest areas or parklands,

13.10.2.7 Signs containing the names of builders or developers.

13.10.3 Placement

13.10.3.1 New signs shall be placed on an established easement, or private property at the entrance
to the subdivision. In areas where no easement is available due to limited site frontage, or
placement on private property is not possible, provisions may be made to locate the sign
within the right-of-way provided that:

13.10.3.1.1 Signs shall be compliant with the standards as set forth under the National
Cooperative Highway Research Program 350 (NCHRP 350), the Manual for
Assessing Safety Hardware (MASH), or the most current version in effect at the time.

13.10.3.1.2 Signs do not present a sight distance or safety hazard.

13.10.3.1.3 A right-of-way use agreement is executed with the Department.

13.10.4 Lighting

13.10.4.1 Signs may be illuminated subject to the following:

13.10.4.1.1 Signs which contain, include, or are illuminated by any flashing, intermittent, or
moving light or lights are prohibited. The use of a variable message sign (VMS) as
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defined in Section 4.0 of these regulations shall be prohibited for decorative
residential subdivision signs.

13.10.4.1.2 Signs which are not effectively shielded so as to prevent beams or rays of light from
being directed at any portion of the traveled way of any highway or which are of such
intensity or brilliance as to impair the vision of the driver of any motor vehicle, or which
otherwise interfere with any driver's operation of a motor vehicle are prohibited.

13.10.4.1.3 No sign may be so illuminated as to interfere with the effectiveness of or obscure an
official TCD.

14.0 Standards for Agri-Produce Signs

14.1 General

14.1.1 Agri-produce signs shall not be allowed to be erected on the Interstate system unless they fully
meet the requirements for "on premise" signs as set out in Section 13.0 of these regulations.

14.1.2 On other systems, agri-produce signs shall be considered as "on premise" signs and shall be
subject to the same requirements and conditions as described for "on premise" signs in Section
13.0 of these regulations with the following exceptions:

14.1.2.1 Free standing agri-produce signs shall be allowed to remain erected only during the
seasonal period from May 1 through September 30 of the item being advertised. During
the off season signs of this type shall be removed.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

14.3 Lighting

14.3.1 Signs may be illuminated, subject to the following:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

14.3.1.4 VMS signs shall follow guidelines as defined in subsection 13.8.1.4.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

15.0 Standards for Outdoor Advertising Signs, Displays, and Devices in Areas Zoned Industrial or 
Commercial Within the Controlled Area

15.1 General

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

15.1.3 On-premise signs, displays, and devices which do not meet criteria set forth in Section 13.0 shall
be considered "off-premise" advertising and shall be subject to the following conditions and
requirements.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

15.5 Spacing

15.5.1 For Interstate and controlled access highways, the structure for outdoor advertising sign shall be
at least 500 feet from any similar structure.

15.5.2 For non-controlled access highways, outside incorporated areas, the structure for any sign shall
be at least 300 feet from any similar structure. For non-controlled access highways within
incorporated areas, the structure for any sign shall be at least 100 feet from any similar structure.

15.5.3 When structures are separated by building or other artificial obstructions in such a manner that
only one sign facing located within the above spacing distances is visible from the highway at one
time, variances may upon application be granted by the Department.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

20.0 Certification of Political Subdivisions

20.1 General

20.1.1 Subsection (a) of Section 1103 1110, Subchapter 1, Chapter 11, Title 17 of the Delaware Code
provides for the Department to certify a political subdivision as having effective control when such
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political subdivision has established and is enforcing regulations as to the size, spacing, and
lighting of outdoor advertising signs, displays and devices in zoned commercial and industrial
areas within its zoning jurisdiction.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

2601 Outdoor Advertising

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Statutory Authority: 21 Delaware Code, Section 302 (21 Del.C. §302)

PUBLIC NOTICE

2289 Transportation Network Companies

The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) gives notice of intent to create a new regulation Title 2
Transportation Regulation 2289 Transportation Network Companies. This regulation sets forth regulations and
procedures to clearly identify the roles and responsibilities of each party as they relate to Transportation Network
Companies (TNC) and the safe movement of persons using a TNC service for transportation via a TNC digital
network in the State of Delaware.

Public Comment Period

The DMV will take written comments on the proposed new Regulation 2289 of Title 2, Delaware Administrative
Code, from February 1, 2016 through March 2, 2016. 

The public may submit their comments to Ken Shock, Chief of Compliance and Investigations, Delaware
Division of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 698, Dover, Delaware 19903, or by fax to (302) 736-7993 Attn: Ken Shock.

2289 Transportation Network Companies

1.0 Authority

The authority to promulgate this regulation is 21 Del.C. §302.

2.0 Purpose

This administrative rule sets forth regulations and procedures to clearly identify the roles and
responsibilities of each party as they relate to Transportation Network Companies (TNC) and the safe
movement of persons using a TNC service for transportation via a TNC digital network in the State of
Delaware.

3.0 Definitions

For purposes of this regulation:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of Transportation.

"Digital Network" means any online-enabled application, software, website or system offered or utilized by
a transportation network company that enables the prearrangement of rides with transportation
network company drivers.

"Director" means the Director or Chief Executive Officer of the Delaware Transit Corporation of the
Department of Transportation.

"Division" means the Delaware Transit Corporation.

"Highway" means any road, lane, or street maintained by the State, or any municipality or county thereof,
for use by the traveling public.
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"Permit" means a formal authorization granted to a transportation network company, issued by the
Delaware Department of Transportation, to operate a transportation network company's digital network
or software application. The permit does not limit the number of transportation network company
drivers and vehicles vetted by the transportation network company to operate on the digital network or
software application.

"Permit Holder" means a transportation network company approved by the Delaware Department of
Transportation to operate in State of Delaware.

"Personal Vehicle" means a motor vehicle that has been approved to be used by a transportation network
company driver to perform rides arranged through a transportation network company digital network.

"Prearranged Ride" means the period of time that begins when a transportation network company driver
accepts a requested ride through a digital network, continues while the transportation network
company driver transports the rider in a personal vehicle, and ends when the rider departs from the
personal vehicle.

"Rider" means an individual or persons who use a transportation network company's digital network to
connect with a transportation network driver who provides prearranged rides to the rider in the
transportation network company driver's personal vehicle between points chosen by the rider.

"Transportation Network Company (TNC) Driver" means an individual who uses a personal vehicle for
hire, displaying the emblem or logo of the TNC they are operating for, to provide transportation
services for passengers that are matched to that individual through a TNC's digital network, regardless
of whether the individual is an employee or independent contractor for the TNC.

"Transportation Network Company (TNC) Services" means transportation of a rider between points
chosen by the passenger and prearranged through the use of a TNC digital network or software
application. TNC Services shall begin when a TNC driver accepts a request for transportation received
through the approved TNC's digital network, continue while the TNC driver transports riders in the TNC
driver's vehicle, and end when the rider exits the TNC driver's vehicle.

"Transportation Network Company (TNC) Vehicle" shall mean a personal vehicle that is used by a TNC
Driver to provide transportation services requested through TNC's digital network or software
application.

4.0 TNC responsibilities

4.1 To operate within the State of Delaware, a TNC must:

4.1.1 File with the Delaware Secretary of State Articles of Incorporation or Foreign Articles of
Incorporation.

4.1.2 Meet all applicable business licensure requirements under the Delaware Code and Delaware
Department of Revenue's regulations.

4.1.3 Obtain a permit authorizing the operation of TNC services in the State of Delaware.

4.1.4 Verify that every TNC driver authorized to operate on the TNC's digital network has the insurance
coverage in accordance with Section 6.0 of this regulation.

4.1.5 Verify that each TNC driver is at least 18 years of age and has a valid driver license.

4.1.6 Advise each TNC driver that they are responsible for complying with applicable law, including
Delaware's hands free cell phone law.

4.1.7 Advise each TNC driver that any person conducting business in the State of Delaware is required
to obtain a Delaware business license from the Delaware Division of Revenue. In addition, each
TNC driver may also be required to obtain a business license within each municipality the TNC
driver provides TNC services in.

4.1.8 Undertake the necessary steps as described in Section 5.0 to ensure the safety of its riders.

4.1.9 Maintain the following information about each TNC driver:

4.1.9.1 The TNC driver's driver license number and state of licensure;

4.1.9.2 Documentation showing the TNC driver is authorized to operate in accordance with this
regulation;
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4.1.9.3 The vehicle registration number, license plate number, and state of vehicle registration for
each personal vehicle that the TNC driver uses for TNC Services; and

4.1.9.4 Documentation showing that the vehicle has been inspected in accordance with this
regulation.

4.1.10 Provide a customer support telephone number, email address, or hyperlink on its digital
application or website for rider inquiries.

4.1.11 Prior to a rider entering a TNC driver's personal vehicle, make available to the rider the method by
which the TNC calculates fares, the applicable rate being charged, and the option to receive an
estimated fare.

4.1.12 Within 24 hours following the completion of a trip, cause to be transmitted an electronic receipt to
the passenger that lists:

4.1.12.1 The origin and destination of the trip;

4.1.12.2 The total time and distance of the trip; and

4.1.12.3 An itemization of the total fare paid, if any.

4.1.13 Comply with all applicable laws relating to accommodation of service animals.

4.1.14 Require all TNC drivers to display, at all times, while logged into the TNC's digital network, a sign,
emblem, or logo that can sufficiently identify the vehicle as being associated with the TNC or its
associated digital network.

4.1.15 Submit to the Division at the time of application and each year thereafter,

4.1.15.1 An attestation that the requirements set forth in this regulation have been met, and

4.1.15.2 Within 30 days of submitting its initial and annual attestation, the TNC shall also submit a
permit fee of $5000.00.

5.0 Rider and TNC Vehicle Safety

5.1 A TNC must obtain and review a driving history research report for each prospective TNC driver.

5.1.1 A TNC must check, at least annually, the driving record of every TNC driver in order to verify that
the TNC driver has not accrued any disqualifying moving violations as described in this regulation.

5.2 Prior to approving a TNC driver to provide TNC services, a TNC must conduct, or have a third party
conduct, a local, state and national criminal background check for each prospective TNC driver that
includes:

5.2.1 Multi-State/Multi-Jurisdiction Criminal Records Locator or other similar commercial nationwide
database with validation (primary source search); and

5.2.2 National Sex Offender Registry database.

5.3 A TNC must disqualify any prospective TNC driver whose background check or driving history reveals
that:

5.3.1 The individual is a match in the National Sex Offender Registry database;

5.3.2 Within the last three years, the prospective TNC driver has been convicted of or has pled guilty to
any of the following offenses, either under Delaware law or a substantially similar law of another
state or of the United States:

5.3.2.1 More than three moving violations:

5.3.2.2 Driving while license is suspended or revoked under 21 Del.C. §2756;

5.3.2.3 Attempting to flee or elude a police officer under 21 Del.C. §4103;

5.3.2.4 Speeding 20 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit;

5.3.3 The prospective TNC driver has had his or her license suspended, revoked, or disqualified in this
State or any other jurisdiction for moving violations during the preceding 3 years;

5.3.4 The prospective TNC driver has ever been convicted of or has pled guilty to any of the following
offenses, either under Delaware law or a substantially similar law of another state or of the United
States:

5.3.4.1 An offense classified as a Class A or violent Class B felony;
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5.3.4.2 Any crime against a child;

5.3.4.3 Any crime constituting a felony sexual offense;

5.3.4.4 Any crime constituting a felony homicide, including, but not limited to, murder,
manslaughter and vehicular homicide;

5.3.5 Within the last seven years, the prospective TNC driver has been convicted of or has pled guilty to
any of the following offenses, either under Delaware law or a substantially similar law of another
state or of the United States:

5.3.5.1 Driving under the influence under 21 Del.C. §§4177, 4177J, 4177L, or 4177M; 

5.3.5.2 Any crime constituting a felony offense, including any crime constituting a felony offense
against public administration involving bribery, improper influence or abuse of office;

5.3.5.3 A hit and run offense under 21 Del.C., Ch. 42;

5.3.5.4 Driving over 100 mph; or

5.3.5.5 Reckless driving under 21 Del.C. §4175.

5.4 The indefinite review period described in subsection 5.3.4 shall only apply to prospective TNC drivers
who reside in a state where a consumer reporting agency may disclose criminal offense convictions
rendered at any time. For all other prospective TNC drivers, the review period for the offenses
described in subsection 5.3.4 shall be equivalent to the maximum time period for which convictions
may be reviewed under applicable state law.

5.5 A TNC must on an annual basis verify that:

5.5.1 Each TNC driver's personal vehicle, authorized for providing TNC services, is registered in
Delaware, and it required to pass a safety inspection for said registration; has a valid safety
inspection certificate or sticker issued by the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles; and

5.5.2 Each TNC driver's personal vehicle with over 10,000 miles, authorized for providing TNC services,
and that is registered in another state; has passed a motor vehicle safety inspection authorized or
approved by a state governmental agency for personal vehicles; provided that, the initial safety
inspection for a personal vehicle used by a new TNC driver may be conducted within 90 days of
beginning TNC services.

5.5.2.1 A copy of a TNC driver's personal vehicle safety inspection shall be kept in the vehicle at
all times.

5.5.2.2 At a minimum the TNC driver is responsible for maintaining his or her personal vehicle in
accordance with safety inspection requirements set forth in 21 Del.C. §2143.

5.6 A TNC must implement a zero tolerance policy regarding a TNC driver's activities while accessing the
TNC's digital network and/or providing TNC services.

5.6.1 The zero tolerance policy shall address the use of drugs or alcohol while a TNC driver is providing
TNC services or is logged into the TNC's digital network but is not providing TNC Services, and
the TNC shall provide notice of this policy on its website, as well as procedures to report a
complaint about a TNC driver with whom a rider was matched and whom the rider reasonably
suspects was under the influence of drugs or alcohol during the course of the trip.

5.6.2 Upon receipt of such rider complaint alleging a violation of the zero tolerance policy, the TNC shall
immediately suspend such TNC driver's access to the TNC's digital platform, and shall conduct an
investigation into the reported incident. The suspension shall last, at a minimum, the duration of
the investigation.

5.7 No personal vehicle shall be driven recklessly, or so as to endanger life, limb, or property. Extreme
caution in the operation of motor vehicles shall be exercised under hazardous conditions, such as
snow, ice, sleet, fog, mist, rain, dust, smoke, or any other condition, which adversely affects visibility or
traction.

5.8 No personal vehicle shall be driven by a TNC driver while his/her ability or alertness is so impaired
through fatigue, illness, or any other cause, as to make it unsafe for him/her to drive or to continue to
drive a motor vehicle; nor shall he/she be required or knowingly be permitted to drive while in such
condition, except in case of grave emergency where the hazard to passengers would be increased by
observance of the foregoing regulation.
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5.9 No TNC driver provide TNC services while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or narcotic or habit
producing drugs, use drugs or drink while on duty any alcoholic liquor or beverage, nor shall he/she
knowingly be permitted to do so.

5.10 No TNC or TNC driver shall knowingly permit the transportation of high explosives, acids, inflammable
liquids, loaded guns or any other article which will endanger life or limb, in any personal vehicle used
for providing TNC services. This provision shall not apply to firearms carried by police officers or by
members of the armed forces while on duty or while en route to or from duty.

5.11 No TNC or TNC driver shall permit the transportation of express or parcel freight to such an extent as
will interfere with the safety or reasonable comfort of riders.

6.0 Insurance Requirements

6.1 All TNCs, TNC drivers, and personal vehicles must be covered with insurance as specified in the
regulation. It shall be unlawful and a violation of this regulation to lease or operate a personal vehicle
that is not insured to the extent required herein.

6.2 The insurance coverage required by this regulation may be placed with an insurer licensed under
Delaware law or with a surplus lines insurer eligible under Delaware law.

6.3 The insurance coverage required by this regulation may be satisfied by any combination of policies
maintained by either a TNC or TNC driver.

6.4 The insurance requirements must be disclosed on each TNC's digital network and website.

6.5 Each TNC must file its insurance policies under seal with the Department as part of applying for a
permit. The permit for the TNC will automatically expire upon expiration of the insurance policy, unless
and until the TNC provides an updated insurance policy and applies to renew the permit.

6.6 A TNC's insurance shall provide coverage in the event a TNC driver maintains an insurance policy as
described in this regulation and the TNC driver's policy has declined coverage, ceased to exist or has
been cancelled.

6.7 TNC insurance requirements are defined by three service periods:

Period 1: Software Application open - waiting for a match.

Period 2: Match accepted - but passenger not yet picked up (i.e. driver is on his/her way to pick up the
passenger).

Period 3: Passenger in the vehicle and until the passenger exits the vehicle.

6.7.1 Period 1 - TNCs shall provide primary insurance in the amount of at least fifty thousand dollars
($50,000) for death and personal bodily injury per person, one hundred thousand dollars
($100,000) for death and personal injury per incident, and twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000)
for property damage. TNCs may satisfy this requirement through: (a) TNC insurance maintained
by the driver; (b) TNC insurance maintained by the TNC that provides coverage if a driver does not
maintain the required TNC insurance, or if the driver's TNC insurance ceases to exist or is
cancelled; or (c) a combination of (a) and (b).

6.7.2 Periods 2 and 3 - TNCs must provide primary commercial liability insurance in the amount of one
million dollars ($1,000,000) per accident. TNCs may satisfy this requirement through: (a) TNC
insurance maintained by the driver, if the TNC verifies that the driver's TNC insurance covers the
driver's use of a vehicle for TNC services; (b) TNC insurance maintained by the TNC; or (c) a
combination of (a) and (b).

6.7.3 Period 2 and 3 - TNCs shall also provide uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist
coverage in the minimum amount required under 18 Del.C. §3902. TNCs may satisfy this
requirement through: (a) TNC insurance maintained by the driver, if the TNC verifies that the
driver's TNC insurance covers the driver's use of a vehicle for TNC services; (b) TNC insurance
maintained by the TNC; or (c) a combination of (a) and (b). The policy may also provide this
coverage during any other time period, if requested by a participating driver relative to insurance
maintained by the driver.

6.8 If involved in an accident while providing TNC Services:
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6.8.1 The TNC and/or a TNC driver must provide proof of insurance information to the other party
involved in the accident.

6.8.2 Notify the TNC and the Division of the accident within 30 days.

7.0 Additional Requirements

7.1 A TNC driver shall not solicit riders or service through a street hail or pick up, nor shall a TNC driver
discharge a rider at a designated taxicab stand, no stopping or standing zone, or other area where a
personal vehicle may not enter.

7.2 No TNC driver shall operate a personal vehicle within the State of Delaware, without first complying
with all applicable business licensing requirements as determined by the Delaware Division of
Revenue,

7.3 No TNC driver shall operate a vehicle that has not been approved for TNC services or is unaffiliated
with a TNC while on the TNC's digital network.

7.4 Payment for TNC services shall only be made electronically via the TNC digital network. Cash
payment shall not be accepted by the TNC driver.

7.5 Smoking is not permitted in a personal vehicle while providing TNC services.

7.6 The rider area of a TNC vehicle shall be clean, sanitary, and free of debris at all times.

8.0 Audit and Compliance

8.1 To maintain sufficient recordation of TNC operations in Delaware, the Division shall:

8.1.1 Maintain a file which includes, at a minimum:

8.1.1.1 A copy of the TNC's business license filed with the Delaware Division of Revenue if the
TNC is required to obtain a business license.

8.1.1.2 A copy of the TNC's Certificate of Insurance for the policy required to be maintained under
this regulation which identifies the Office of Public Carrier Regulation as a Certificate
Holder.

8.1.1.3 A copy of the attestation provided by the TNC in accordance with Section 4.0.

8.2 To ensure a TNC's compliance with this regulation, the Division or its employees or duly authorized
agents:

8.2.1 In response to a specific complaint or accident, may inspect those records held by the TNC whose
review is specifically necessary for the investigation and resolution of the complaint or accident.

8.2.2 No more than quarterly, request that the TNC transmit to the Division records and information that
the TNC is required to maintain in accordance with this regulation for up to fifty (50) TNC drivers;
provided that, the TNC shall undertake best efforts not to share records and information about the
same TNC driver during consecutive reporting periods.

8.2.2.1 Within ten (10) business days of receiving a request, the TNC shall transmit the records to
the Division via a secure delivery method, which may include use of encryption security. If,
after this initial review, the Division has a reasonable basis to conclude that the TNC is not
in compliance with this regulation, the Division may, upon reasonable notice, conduct a
supplemental audit of records and information for an additional selection of TNC drivers at
a mutually agreed location.

8.3 Any records or information that the TNC discloses to the Division pursuant to this regulation are
deemed to be confidential, regardless of whether the records or information are marked as such, and
shall not be disclosed by the Division to a third party or another governmental entity without the TNC's
express written permission, unless required to be disclosed by applicable law or court order.

8.3.1 In the event that a third party submits a request to the Division for a TNC's confidential information
under the Delaware Freedom of Information Act, 29 Del.C. §10001, et seq. or any other law or a
lawsuit is filed seeking the disclosure of the TNC's confidential information, the Division shall: (i)
assert applicable exemptions to the request as set forth in the Delaware Freedom of Information
Act, 29 Del.C. §10001, et seq., or other applicable law; and (ii) promptly notify the TNC that it has
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received a request and inform the TNC of whether it will release the requested record(s) so that
the TNC has an opportunity to prevent disclosure.

8.4 The Division shall destroy any records it receives from the TNC pursuant to subsection 9.2.2 within
one hundred and eighty (180) days of receiving such records unless required by law to retain the
records for a longer period or the record relates to a TNC driver who the Division has a reasonable
basis to believe is not properly authorized to operate in Delaware.

8.5 The Division shall review the status of the TNC to ensure the TNC remains in good standing with the
Delaware Division of Corporations.

8.6 A TNC shall keep and make available to the division, when required, records in accordance with this
regulation for a period of at least four years.

8.7 Per 21 Del.C. §2144, at any time and notwithstanding the possession of current registration plates, as
provided by this title, the Secretary, or any authorized agent of the Department or any police officer
may, upon reasonable cause, require the owner or operator of a vehicle to stop and submit such
vehicle and the equipment to such further inspection and test with reference thereto as may be
appropriate. In the event such vehicle is found to be in an unsafe condition or lacking the required
equipment or is not in proper repair and adjustment, the officer shall give a written notice to the driver
and shall send a copy thereof to the Department. The notice shall require that such vehicle and its
equipment be placed in safe condition and in proper repair and adjustment and/or that proper
equipment be obtained, and that a certificate of inspection and approval for such vehicle be obtained
within 5 days thereafter.

8.8 Within sixty (60) days of notification of audit results, the TNC may file with the Division a petition for
redetermination of such assessments. Petitions for redetermination shall not be considered after sixty
(60) days. Every petition for redetermination shall state specifically the reason(s) which the petitioner
believes entitles the petitioner to such determination. It shall be the duty of the Director, within ninety
(90) days after the receipt of the petition, to provide in writing to the petitioner, a determination affirming
the original audit results or any changes that resulted from the petitioner's request for redetermination.

9.0 Fines and Permit Revocation

The Division may impose a fine or revoke a permit consistent with Delaware law, after providing to the
TNC thirty (30) days' notice and the opportunity for a hearing, if a TNC fails to comply with the
requirements of this regulation. Revocation of a permit would terminate a TNC's ability to operate its
digital network within the State of Delaware.

10.0 Severability

If any part of this rule is held to be unconstitutional or otherwise contrary to law by the court of
competent jurisdiction, said portions shall be severed and the remaining portions of this rule shall
remain in full force and effect under Delaware law.

DIVISION OF PLANNING AND POLICY

Statutory Authority: 17 Delaware Code, Sections 132(e), 507, 508 and 29 Delaware Code,
Section 8404(8)

(17 Del.C. §§132(e), 507 & 508; 29 Del.C. §8404(8))
2 DE Admin. Code 2309

PUBLIC NOTICE

2309 Development Coordination Manual

Pursuant to the authority provided by 17 Del.C. §§132(e), 507, and 508, as well as 29 Del.C. §8404(8), the
Delaware Department of Transportation (DelDOT) adopted the Development Coordination Manual. 
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The Department, through its Division of Planning and Public Policy, seeks to adopt general revisions to its
existing regulations, the Development Coordination Manual, to address procedural changes, add or modify
technical requirements, clarify and amend design criteria, and generally clarify the role of external technical
references and guidance materials (as supporting documentation for design firms that are implementing the
regulations). These collective changes are both technical and administrative in nature and serve in part to clarify
the intent of the Department as enacted through these regulations.

Public Comment Period

DelDOT will take written comments on these proposed general revisions to Section 2309 of Title 2, Delaware
Administrative Code, from February 1, 2016 through March 2, 2016. The public may submit their comments to:

Marc Coté, P.E., Assistant Director, Planning Development Coordination via email

(Marc.Cote@state.de.us) or in writing to his attention, 

Division of Planning

Delaware Department of Transportation

P.O. Box 778

Dover, DE 19903

Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation it is not being published here. The following links
to the proposed regulation are provided below:

Preface (http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/february2016/proposed/Preface.pdf)
Chapter 1 Access Standards (http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/february2016/proposed/

Chap1.pdf)
Chapter 2 Traffic Analysis and Improvements (http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/february2016/

proposed/Chap2.pdf)
Chapter 3 Record Plan Design (http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/february2016/proposed/

Chap3.pdf)
Chapter 4 Construction Plans (http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/february2016/proposed/

Chap4.pdf)
Chapter 5 Design Elements (http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/february2016/proposed/Chap5.pdf)
Chapter 6 Construction Administration (http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/february2016/proposed/

Chap6.pdf)
Chapter 7 Residential Access (http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/february2016/proposed/

Chap7.pdf)
Chapter 8 Miscellaneous Access Guidelines (http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/february2016/

proposed/Chap8.pdf)
Chapter 9 Manual Updates (http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/february2016/proposed/Chap9.pdf)
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text added at the time of the proposed action. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued. [Bracketed bold stricken
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time
allowed of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together
with summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 503

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

503 Instructional Program Requirements

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
503 Instructional Program Requirements. This regulation is being amended to: (1) remove outdated references to
previous school years regarding occurrence of physical fitness assessments, (2) include instructional requirements
for World Languages and (3) clarify instructional requirements for Career and Technical Education.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on
December 1, 2015, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit "A". Comments were received from Governor's Advisory
Council for Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities generally endorsing the
regulation, but with one comment regarding the use of the term "licensed medical provider" being the appropriate
term to us. In order to align with similar regulations, the Department changed the term to "Licensed Healthcare
Provider" and defined it in subsection 5.4.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 4 DE Admin. Code 503 Instructional Program
Requirements in order to remove outdated references to previous school years regarding occurrence of physical
fitness assessments, include instructional requirements for World Languages and to clarify instructional
requirements for Career and Technical Education.
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III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 503
Instructional Program Requirements. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 503
Instructional Program Requirements attached hereto as Exhibit "B" is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision
of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 503 Instructional Program Requirements hereby amended shall be in
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 4 DE Admin. Code 503 Instructional Program Requirements amended hereby shall be in the form
attached hereto as Exhibit "B", and said regulation shall be cited as 4 DE Admin. Code 503 Instructional Program
Requirements in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on January 21,
2016. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 21st day of January 2016.
Department of Education
Steven Godowsky, Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st day of January 2016
State Board of Education

503 Instructional Program Requirements

1.0 English Language Arts

1.1 Local school districts and each charter schools shall provide instructional programs in English
Llanguage Aarts for each grade K to 12.

1.2 All public school students in each grade K to 8 shall be enrolled in an English language arts program.

1.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credits in English language arts
necessary to graduate from high school.

2.0 Mathematics

2.1 Local school districts and each charter schools shall provide instructional programs in mathematics for
each grade K to12.

2.2 All public school students in each grade K to 8 shall be enrolled in a mathematics program.

2.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credits in mathematics necessary to
graduate from high school.

3.0 Science

3.1 Local school districts and each charter schools shall provide instructional programs in science for each
grade K to 12.

3.2 All public school students in each grade K to 8 shall be enrolled in a science program.

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory B. Coverdale, Jr.

Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President (absent) Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.

G. Patrick Heffernan Nina L. Bunting

Barbara B. Rutt
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3.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credits in science necessary to graduate
from high school.

4.0 Social Studies

4.1 Local school districts and each charter schools shall provide instructional programs in social studies
for each grade K to 12.

4.2 All public school students in each grade K to 8 shall be enrolled in a social studies program.

4.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credits in social studies necessary to
graduate from high school.

5.0 Physical Education

5.1 Local school districts and each charter schools shall provide instructional programs in physical
education for each grade K to 12 with the exception of the James H. Groves High School program.

5.2 All public school students in each grade 1 to 8 shall be enrolled in a physical education program.

5.3 All public school students in grades 9 to 12 shall complete the credit in physical education necessary
to graduate from high school.

5.3.1 In addition to the one credit required for high school graduation, only one additional elective credit
in physical education may be used to fulfill the graduation requirements.

5.4 The physical education requirements may be waived only for students who have an excuse from a
qualified physician licensed [medical healthcare] provider[, which is defined as anyone lawfully
authorized to diagnose and prescribe medical treatment or restriction,] or objections based on
religious beliefs. The local school district or charter school shall have the authority to grant such
waivers. The local school district or charter school shall maintain records of the waivers granted and
upon request, make them available for review consistent with Federal and state confidentiality laws.

5.5 Local school districts and charter schools shall annually assess the physical fitness of each student in
grades 4 and 7, and in grade 9 or 10. Beginning in the 2006-2007 school year and annually thereafter,
all students in grade 4 will be assessed. Beginning in the 2007-2008 school year and annually
thereafter all students in grade 7 and in grade 9 or 10 will be assessed. The physical fitness
assessment tool used by the districts and charter schools shall be one designated by the Delaware
Department of Education.

5.5.1 The local school districts and charter schools shall provide the results of the physical fitness
assessment to the parent(s) guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver of each student. The districts and
charter schools shall also report this information to the Delaware Department of Education in a
format determined by the Department.

5.5.1.1 The Delaware Department of Education shall annually report the statewide grade level
results of the physical fitness assessment to the public.

6.0 Visual and Performing Arts

6.1 Local school districts and each charter schools shall provide instructional programs in the visual and
performing arts for each grade K to 12 with the exception of the James H. Groves High School
program.

6.2 All public school students in each grade 1 to 6 shall be enrolled in a visual and performing arts
program.

7.0 Career and Technical Education

7.1 Local school districts and charter schools, when consistent with the charter school's approved
program, shall provide instructional program(s) in two or more vocational technical education areas in
grades 7 and 8 that demonstrate alignment to career and technical education programs of study within
the high school feeder pattern(s).
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7.1.1 No later than the 2017-2018 school year, career and technical instructional program(s) in grades 7
and 8 shall be aligned to career and technical education programs of study at the high school
level.

7.2 All public school students in grades 9 through 12 in local school districts, and charter schools when
consistent with the charter school's approved program, shall be provided with the opportunity to enroll
in and complete a career and technical education program of study.

8.0 World Language

8.1 Local school districts and charter schools with any of grades 9 through 12 shall provide instructional
programs in world languages for grades 9 through 12.

8.2 All public school students in grades 9 through 12 shall complete the credits in world languages
required to graduate from high school.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

932 Military-Connected Youth

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to create 14 DE Admin. Code
932 Military-Connected Youth. This regulation is being created to align with 14 Del.C. §122(b)(28) which requires
the development of a process for districts and charter schools to annually identify enrolled students who are
"military-connected" youth. This is necessary to ensure school officials are aware of their military connection
should they require any special services or supports.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on
December 1, 2015, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit "A". No comments were received for this regulation.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to create 14 DE Admin. Code 932 Military-Connected Youth to align
with 14 Del.C. §122(b)(28) which requires the development of a process for districts and charter schools to
annually identify enrolled students who are "military-connected" youth. This is necessary to ensure school officials
are aware of their military connection should they require any special services or supports.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to create 14 DE Admin. Code 932
Military-Connected Youth. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 932 Military-Connected
Youth attached hereto as Exhibit "B" is hereby created. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE
Admin. Code 932 Military-Connected Youth hereby created shall be in effect for a period of five years from the
effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 932 Military-Connected Youth created hereby shall be in the form attached
hereto as Exhibit "B", and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 932 Military-Connected Youth in
the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.
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V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on January 21,
2016. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 21st day of January 2016.
Department of Education
Steven Godowsky, Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st day of January 2016
State Board of Education

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
December 2015 issue of the Register at page 459 (19 DE Reg. 459). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

932 Military-Connected Youth

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 1008

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics. The amendments incorporate the ability for the
DIAA Board to waive the age rule for students with physically or mentally limiting disabilities; update the middle
school wrestling weight control program; bring practice regulations more in line with national best practice models;
provide member schools with a policy to determine appropriate placement for transgendered students participating
on interscholastic athletic teams; update coaches' regulation to mandate an approved concussion course; and
make non-substantive changes to improve readability. 

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on
December 1, 2015, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit "A". Comments were received from Governor's Advisory
Council for Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities and a thorough review was
done by the DIAA Board of Directors. Comments received were: (1) the definition of "Student with a Disability" not
being clear. The Department clarified the definition to include a "qualified person with a disability under” Section
504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and (2) various grammatical changes made throughout the regulation
regarding the use of plural pronouns such as "they" and "their" which is relative to the "student". The Department
appreciates this observation but did not change the terms as the usage does not impact the content of the
regulation.

There was also several comments which were considered but did not result in changes to this regulation.
These include: (1) the age waiver protocol for students with disabilities being limited to an IEP and not expanded to
cover 504 Plans, and the involvement of the IEP team, (2) concerns with students with disabilities participating at

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory B. Coverdale, Jr.

Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President (absent) Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.

G. Patrick Heffernan Nina Lou Bunting

Barbara B. Rutt
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their special school only and not as part of a non-segregated team, (3) concerns with accommodations not being
made for students with a disability under a Section 504 Plan, and (4) concerns with placing the "burden of proof" for
hardship issues on the student.   These are all very important issues which the DIAA Board of Directors wishes to
carefully consider as part of the ongoing comprehensive review of all DIAA regulations. 

Additionally, the State Board of Education expressed concerns that the regulation permits members schools to
determine a policy about transgendered students participating in interscholastic sports, in accordance with the
minimum standards designated by DIAA, rather than the Department of Education setting the policy. In support of
the decision remaining at the local level, the Department received a letter from the Delaware Chief School Officers
Association noting that the consensus among all 19 school district superintendents is that the decision regarding
the participation of transgendered students in interscholastic sports should remain at the local level. Thus there
was no change within the regulation regarding transgendered students.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle
School Interscholastic Athletics in order to incorporated the ability for the DIAA Board to waive the age rule for
students with physically or mentally limiting disabilities; update the middle school wrestling weight control program;
bring practice regulations more in line with national best practice models; provide member schools with a policy to
determine appropriate placement for transgendered students participating on interscholastic athletic teams; update
coaches' regulation to mandate an approved concussion course; and make non-substantive changes to improve
readability.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1008
DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE
Admin. Code 1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics attached hereto as Exhibit "B" is
hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 1008 DIAA Junior High and
Middle School Interscholastic Athletics hereby amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from the
effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics amended
hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit "B", and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin.
Code 1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics in the Administrative Code of Regulations
for the Department of Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on January 21,
2016. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 21st day of January 2016.
Department of Education
Steven Godowsky, Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st day of January 2016
State Board of Education
Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory B. Coverdale, Jr.

Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President (absent) Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.

G. Patrick Heffernan Nina Lou Bunting
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1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics

1.0 National Federation of State High Schools, Conferences, Contracts, Equivalency Rules and 
Definitions

1.51 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

“Student With a Disability” means a “child with a disability” as that term is defined in 14 DE Admin. Code
922 or [a qualified person with a disability under] Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the December 2015 issue of the Register at page 461 (19 DE Reg. 461). Therefore, the final regulation is
not being republished here in its entirety. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b) (14 Del.C. §122(b))
14 DE Admin. Code 1009

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

1009 DIAA High School Interscholastic Athletics

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
1009 High School Interscholastic Athletics. The proposed amendments which incorporated the ability for the DIAA
Board to waive the age rule for students with disabilities; updated the transfer rule in choice schools; addressed
schools that close or discontinue a sport; amended eighth grade participation regulations in order to limit eighth
grade transfers for athletics; expand participation for international students; amended pre-participation medical
examination requirements to provide parents a better opportunity to use insurance for the required examination;
updated wrestling weight control protocol; better aligned practice regulations with national best practice models;
provided member schools with a policy for transgendered students participating on interscholastic athletic teams;
mandated an approved concussion course for coaches; and made other non-substantive changes to improve
readability. 

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News on
December 1, 2015, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit "A". Comments were received from Governor's Advisory
Council for Exceptional Citizens and the State Council for Persons with Disabilities and a thorough review was
done by the DIAA Board of Directors. Comments received were: (1) the definition of "Student with a Disability" not
being clear. The Department clarified the definition to include a "qualified person with a disability under” Section
504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. (2) regarding age eligibility in Section 2.1.1. The Department believes the
language is clear as it promotes equity of competition, and diminishes the inherent risk associated with sports
participation and is also universally applied in interscholastic athletics. (3) concerns with the use of the word
"eligible" in Section 2.3.4. The Department removed the word "eligible" and replaced it with "be legally enrolled" in
the December 1 publication of the submitted regulation. We believe this was a publication error, and the regulation
reads "be legally enrolled." (4) concerns with restrictions placed on F-1 and J-1 Visa students. The restrictions are
in place to maintain competitive equity, guard against illegal recruitment and to ensure all students have an
opportunity to participate. (5) various grammatical changes made throughout the regulation regarding the use of

Barbara B. Rutt
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plural pronouns such as "they" and "their" which is relative to the "student". The Department appreciates this
observation but did not change the terms as the usage does not impact the content of the regulation.

There was also several comments which were considered but did not result in changes to this regulation.
These include: (1) the age waiver protocol for students with disabilities being limited to an IEP and not expanded to
cover 504 Plans, and the involvement of the IEP team, (2) concerns with students with disabilities participating at
their special school only and not as part of a non-segregated team, (3) concerns with accommodations not being
made for students with a disability under a Section 504 Plan, and (4) concerns with placing the "burden of proof" for
hardship issues on students. These are all very important issues which the DIAA Board of Directors wishes to
carefully consider as part of the ongoing comprehensive review of all DIAA regulations. 

Additionally, the State Board of Education expressed concerns that the regulation permits members schools to
determine a policy about transgendered students participating in interscholastic sports, in accordance with the
minimum standards designated by DIAA, rather than the Department of Education setting the policy. In support of
the decision remaining at the local level, the Department received a letter from the Delaware Chief School Officers
Association noting that the consensus among all 19 school district superintendents is that the decision regarding
the participation of transgendered students in interscholastic sports should remain at the local level. Thus there
was no change within the regulation regarding transgendered students.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1009 High School Interscholastic
Athletics in order to incorporated the ability for the DIAA Board to waive the age rule for students with physically or
mentally limiting disabilities; update the middle school wrestling weight control program; bring practice regulations
more in line with national best practice models; provide member schools with a policy to determine appropriate
placement for transgendered students participating on interscholastic athletic teams; update coaches' regulation to
mandate an approved concussion course; and make non-substantive changes to improve readability.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1009
High School Interscholastic Athletics. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code 1009 High
School Interscholastic Athletics attached hereto as Exhibit "B" is hereby amended. Pursuant to the provision of 14
Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE Admin. Code 1009 High School Interscholastic Athletics hereby amended shall be in effect
for a period of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1009 High School Interscholastic Athletics amended hereby shall be in the
form attached hereto as Exhibit "B", and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1009 High School
Interscholastic Athletics in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of Education.

V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on January 21,
2016. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 21st day of January 2016.
Department of Education
Steven Godowsky, Secretary of Education

Approved this 21st day of January 2016
State Board of Education
Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., President Gregory B. Coverdale, Jr.
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1009 DIAA High School Interscholastic Athletics

1.0 National Federation of State High Schools, Conferences, Contracts, Equivalency Rules, and 
Definitions

1.51 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

“Student With a Disability” means a “child with a disability” as that term is defined in 14 DE Admin. Code
922 or [a qualified person with a disability under] Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

2.0 Eligibility: No Student Shall Represent a School in an Interscholastic Scrimmage or Contest if He/
She the Student Does Not Meet the Following Requirements

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

2.3 Eligibility, Enrollment and Attendance

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

2.3.3 Students with disabilities who are placed in special schools or programs

2.3.3.1 Definitions:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

[“Student With a Disability” means a “child with a disability” as that term is defined in
14 DE Admin. Code 922.]

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

2.3.4 A student who is participating in the Delaware School Choice Program, as authorized by 14 Del.C.
Ch. 4, is obligated to attend the choice school for a minimum of two (2) years unless the students
custodial parent(s), legal guardian(s) or Relative Caregiver relocate to a different school district or
the student fails to meet the academic requirements of the choice school. If a student attends a
choice school for less than two (2) years and subsequently returns to his/her their home school,
the student must receive a release from the “choice district” in order to legally enroll at his/her their
home school. Without a release, the student would not be [eligible] legally enrolled and
consequently would be ineligible to participate in interscholastic athletics. Notwithstanding this
section, the transfer regulation still applies to all students participating in the Delaware School
Choice Program who transfer to another school regardless of whether they are released by the
sending school or are not released.

*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the December 2015 issue of the Register at page 462 (19 DE Reg. 462). Therefore, the final regulation is
not being republished here in its entirety. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1009 DIAA High School Interscholastic Athletics

Jorge L. Melendez, Vice President (absent) Terry M. Whittaker, Ed.D.

G. Patrick Heffernan Nina Lou Bunting
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Pharmaceutical Services Reimbursement – 340B Drug Products

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA)
initiated proceedings to amend the Delaware Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding Pharmaceutical Services,
specifically, to clarify reimbursement methodology for entities that purchase 340B drug products. The Department's
proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10114 and its authority as prescribed by
31 Del.C. §512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10115 in the
November 2015 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by November 30, 2015 at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL:

The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) is proposing to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding
Pharmaceutical Services, specifically, to clarify reimbursement methodology for entities that purchase 340B drug
products.

Statutory Authority
• Veterans Health Care Act of 1992, Public Law 102-585, Section 602, limitations on prices of drugs

purchased by certain clinics and hospitals, as amended by the Patient Protection and Affordable Care
Act (Pub. L. No. 111-148), Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010 (Pub. L. No. 111-152)
and Medicare and Medicaid Extenders Act of 2010 (Public Law 111-309)

• 1927(a)(1) and 1927 (a)(4) of the Social Security Act, authorizes state to enter directly into separate or
supplemental rebate agreements with manufacturers

• 1902(a)(19) of the Social Security Act, care and services under a Medicaid state plan be provided in a
manner consistent with simplicity of administration and the best interests of beneficiaries

• Section 340 of the Public Health Service Act, 42 U.S.C. §256b, imposes ceilings on prices drug
manufacturers may charge for medications sold to specified health care facilities

• 42 CFR Part 10, 340B Drug Pricing Program
• 42 CFR §440.120, Prescribed drugs 
• 42 CFR §447.201, State plan requirements
• 42 CFR §447.205, Public notice of changes in Statewide methods and standards for setting payment

rates

Background
Under the Medicaid program, States may provide coverage of outpatient drugs as an optional service under

section 1905(a)(12) of the Social Security Act (the Act). Section 1903(a) of the Act provides for Federal financial
participation (FFP) in State expenditures for these drugs. In general, in order for payment to be made available
under section 1903 for covered outpatient drugs, manufacturers must enter into a Medicaid drug rebate agreement
as set forth in section 1927(a) of the Act. Section 1927 of the Act provides specific requirements for rebate
agreements, drug pricing submission and confidentiality requirements, the formulas for calculating rebate
payments, and requirements for States for covered outpatient drugs.
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Medicaid Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreements
The federal Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990, section 4401 added §1927 to the Social Security Act.

Section 1927 provides that States may enter separate or supplemental drug rebate agreements as long as such
agreements achieve drug rebates equal to or greater than the drug rebates set forth in the Secretary's national
rebate agreement with drug manufacturers, which is published at 56 F.R. 7049 (1991). Specifically, the drug rebate
statute, at section 1927(a)(1) of the Social Security Act (Act), provides that "the Secretary may authorize a State to
enter directly into agreements with a manufacturer." Also, section 1927(a)(4) of the Act provides that any drug
rebate agreement between a State and drug manufacturers and in effect on November 5, 1990, may constitute a
rebate agreement in compliance with the statute if the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
determines that any such agreement "provides for rebates that are at least as large as the rebates otherwise
required under this section." CMS accordingly believes that Congress intended that States that seek CMS approval
under section 1927(a)(1) to enter directly into agreements with manufacturers must ensure that any such
agreement will achieve drug rebates that are at least equal to the rebates set forth in the Secretary's rebate
agreements with manufacturers. Currently, prescription drug manufacturers are required to enter into a rebate
agreement. 

Section 340B Drug Discount Program
The drug rebate program was amended in November 1992 by Public Law 102-585, the Veterans' Health Care

Act (VHCA) of 1992. Under VHCA, Congress created the 340B program which is administered by the Health
Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Office of Pharmacy Affairs (OPA). The 340B program requires
manufacturers of drugs that are paid for by state Medicaid programs to enter into an agreement with HRSA to
provide statutory discounts on drugs to "covered entities". This legislation was designed to establish price controls
to limit the cost of drugs to Federal purchasers and to certain Federal grantees. It was a follow-up to the Medicaid
Drug Rebate Program, enacted as part of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990 (OBRA90). Title IV of the
VHCA contains three sections-all of which deal with drug pricing issues:

• Section 601 is an introduction to general issues about drugs purchased by the Department of Veterans
Affairs and other specific types of clinics and hospitals.

• Section 602 provides drug discounts to certain grantees and other eligible covered entities.
• Section 603 establishes limitations on prices that a manufacturer may charge for drugs purchased by the

Department of Veterans Affairs and certain other Federal agencies. 
Section 602 of the VHCA enacted Section 340B of the Public Health Service (PHS) Act. 
Section 340B of the Public Health Service Act, 42 U.S.C. §256b, "imposes ceilings on prices drug

manufacturers may charge for medications sold to specified health care facilities." The 340B program requires
manufacturers to enter into a Pharmaceutical Pricing Agreement (PPA) with the Secretary of Health and Human
Services. Under the 340B program and in accordance with the PPA, pharmaceutical manufacturers agree to
charge at or below statutorily defined prices, known as the 340B ceiling prices, for sales to qualified 340B entities. 

When reimbursing for 340B-purchased drugs, State Medicaid agencies have a responsibility to accurately
reimburse covered entities and appropriately claim Medicaid rebates from drug manufacturers. State Medicaid
agencies can use pre-pay edits and post-pay reviews to ensure accurate reimbursements. With respect to rebates,
State Medicaid agencies should exclude claims for 340B-purchased drugs (340B claims) from Medicaid rebate
requests to prevent subjecting drug manufacturers to duplicate discounts (i.e., selling 340B-purchased drugs to
covered entities at the discounted ceiling prices and providing Medicaid rebates on the same drugs).

Participation in the 340B program is voluntary; eligible entities must notify HRSA of their intention to participate
by completing appropriate registration forms. Upon receipt and approval of the forms, HRSA adds the entity to its
covered entity database, which is available on HRSA's web site. The 340B entity is responsible for alerting
wholesalers and manufacturers of its participation and referring them to the database for confirmation so it can
purchase covered outpatient drugs at or below the ceiling prices. The Section 340B Drug Discount Program is a
complex program. Utilization of this program requires an understanding of detailed concepts of drug pricing and
procurement. 

Summary of Proposal
Rationale and Justification

Among the services provided to recipients of services under the Delaware Medical Assistance Program
(DMAP) are prescription drugs and related pharmacy services. Expenditures for pharmacy services are offset in
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part by rebate agreements with suppliers of prescription drugs. 
Drug manufacturers use the potential for a 340B discounted price to dispute rebate payment. Pharmacy

providers enrolled with the Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) have declared that they do not use
public health service products. This policy change will formalize this process and prevent incurring additional
operational costs/resources to collect rebates due the state.

Purpose
To add language to the Medicaid State plan to clarify that providers of pharmaceutical services who have

access to 340B medications are not dispensing nor administering them to treat Medicaid patients. This will allow
claims from these entities to be included in the Federal and supplemental rebate programs.

Summary of Proposed Changes
This SPA action addresses the need to ensure the state is able to meet the full scope of responsibilities to

manage the Delaware Medical Assistance Program's interactions with the 340B program. 
If implemented as proposed, this reimbursement methodology plan amendment will accomplish the following,

effective January 1, 2016:
The amendment is to specifically prohibit the use of 340B-purchased medications for Medicaid patients. This

will simplify the rebate program and eliminate one area for provider audits. Public health service providers have the
ability to purchase medications at severely discounted prices. These products are excluded from all rebate
programs associated with Medicaid patients. Based on HRSA guidelines, these contracted entities have the ability
to include or exclude Medicaid patients from using these medications. If contracted entities chose to use drugs
purchased via the 340B discount, they must only charge the actual acquisition cost and a professional dispensing
fee, when the medication is dispensed, and not administered. 

To date, with few exceptions, every contracted entity listed on the 340B participating providers' file has
responded in writing that they do not use these products for Delaware Medicaid patients. The Affordable Care Act
has added another level of complexity to this process by excluding some drugs based on specific diagnoses. The
340B program has become increasingly difficult to manage based on retrospective changes to the HRSA website
as there are no tools to gather 340B prices nor is there any accountability mechanism to monitor if the drug was
purchased through a wholesaler or through the public health service process.

The agency's proposal involves no change in the definition of those eligible to receive pharmaceutical services,
and the Medicaid prescribed drugs benefit available to eligible recipients remains the same.

Public Notice
In accordance with the federal public notice requirements established at Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social

Security Act and 42 CFR 447.205 and the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) gives
public notice and provides an open comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to
provide input to the methods and standards governing payment methodology for pharmaceutical services. All
comments were to be received by 4:30 p.m. on November 30, 2015.

CMS Review and Approval
The provisions of this draft state plan amendment (SPA) are subject to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid

Services (CMS) review and approval. The draft SPA page(s) may undergo further revisions before and after
submittal to CMS based upon public comment and/or CMS feedback. The final version may be subject to
significant change.

Provider Manual Update
Also, upon CMS approval, the applicable Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Policy

Specific Manuals will be updated. Manual updates, revised pages or additions to the provider manual are issued,
as required, for new policy, policy clarification, and/or revisions to the DMAP program. Provider billing guidelines or
instructions to incorporate any new requirement may also be issued. A newsletter system is utilized to distribute
new or revised manual material and to provide any other pertinent information regarding manual updates.
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Cost/Budgetary Impact
The proposed amendment is being implemented to clarify current practices attested to by DMAP pharmacy

providers. Therefore, there is no impact on the General Fund.

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response And Explanation of Change(s)
The Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO) and, the State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD)

offered the following observations and recommendations summarized below. The Division of Medicaid and Medical
Assistance (DMMA) has considered each comment and responds as follows.
BIO

BIO represents an industry devoted to discovering new treatments and ensuring patient access to them.
Accordingly, we support both the Medicaid and 340B programs as important mechanisms to improve access to
therapies for indigent patients. We believe that compliance with applicable program requirements by all parties-
including manufacturers-is an important part of ensuring the sustainability of both programs. We therefore applaud
the state of Delaware for taking action to address the duplicate discount prohibition (i.e., the prohibition on
obtaining both a Medicaid drug rebate and a 340B discount on the same unit of product), which is an issue that
cuts across both programs. We submit these comments to recommend that the Division outline how the state will
ensure compliance with the Proposed Amendment, if adopted, as well as issue accompanying guidance to assist
stakeholders in operationalizing the proposed new requirement.

BIO Supports State Medicaid Policies that Build Upon Federal Efforts to Prevent Duplicate Discounts.
The 340B and Medicaid programs overlap in a number of areas, which complicates efforts by federal

regulators and others to ensure compliance with the respective program requirements. BIO is extremely concerned
that, particularly over the last five years, manufacturers have been subject to a significant volume of duplicate
discounts, in violation of the requirements of the 340B and Medicaid statutes. While we are supportive of recent
steps taken by both HRSA and the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) to prevent and identify
duplicate discounts, we do not believe that these steps are sufficient. For this reason, we are extremely supportive
of state policies that build upon federal efforts to minimize the potential for duplicate discounts. To the extent that
the Proposed Amendment is adopted, we strongly urge the Division both to establish mechanisms to ensure
compliance with the proposed policy and to issue further guidance to assist stakeholders in operationalizing it. We
also urge the Division to adopt additional policies that reflect best practices in this area. Finally, we also
recommend that the Division consider establishing an exceptions process whereby covered entities could seek
permission to "carve in," provided that protections are in place to prevent duplicate discounts. We describe our
specific recommendations in each of these areas in the balance of this letter.

The Division Should Articulate How It Intends to Oversee and Enforce Compliance with the proposed Amendment.
In the Proposed Amendment, the Division has proposed to "clarify the reimbursement methodology for entities

that purchase 340B drug products." We strongly support the state's efforts to require covered entities to adopt a
uniform billing methodology for both Medicaid FFS and MCO utilization. However, BIO urges the Division to specify
the mechanisms it will use to ensure that any 340B products these providers inadvertently furnish to Medicaid
patients would be excluded from Medicaid rebate invoices submitted to manufacturers, resulting in duplicate
discounts.

In addition, while we applaud the state for its efforts to ensure compliance with all 340B and MDRP
requirements, we urge the Division to continue to play an active role in resolving those disputes that do arise
regarding rebate invoices, including disputes pertaining to potential duplicate discounts. While we appreciate the
state's efforts to minimize the potential for such disputes through the Proposed Amendment, these efforts do not
eliminate the state's role and obligations related to the operation of the MDRP.

The Division Should Issue Further Guidance to Assist Stakeholders in Operationalizing Its Proposed Policy, If
Finalized, as Well as Adopt Policies that Reflect Best Practices in this Area.

In addition to establishing oversight and enforcement mechanisms to ensure compliance with the Proposed
Amendment, if adopted, BIO also urges the Division to provide further guidance to stakeholders regarding how the
proposed policy of mandatory carve-out should be operationalized, particularly in the contexts of managed care
utilization, replenishment models, and contract pharmacy arrangements. We also urge the Division to adopt certain
best practices to assist the state to both prevent and identify duplicate discounts moving forward.
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The Division Should Provide Additional Guidance Regarding How the Proposed Policy of Mandatory "Carve Out"
Should be Operationalized in the Managed Medicaid Context.

As noted previously, covered entities that "carve out" (i.e., use only non-340B- priced drugs for Medicaid
patients) must be able to identify who is a Medicaid patient so that the covered entity can ensure that it is not
dispensing 340B-priced drugs to that patient. Otherwise, these entities will unquestionably be providing 340B-
priced products to their Medicaid patients, which, as described above, would likely result in duplicate discounts.
However, there are systemic limitations with respect to covered entities' ability to identify Medicaid patients,
particularly for those beneficiaries enrolled in Medicaid MCOs. We therefore urge the Division to ensure that the
state's two Medicaid MCOs have Medicaid-specific BIN/PCN combinations, so that each BIN/PCN combination
denotes either Medicaid or commercial utilization. In addition, we urge the Division to establish mechanisms to
assist entities in identifying Medicaid patients more effectively, such as, cross-checking Medicaid MCO utilization
data against lists of 340B covered entities- a policy recommended by OIG.

The Division Should Provide Additional Guidance Regarding How the Proposed Policy of Mandatory "Carve Out"
Should be Operationalized in the Contexts of Replenishment Models and Contract Pharmacy Arrangements.

The Division also should issue guidance as to how the proposed policy should be operationalized by those
340B-participating Medicaid providers that utilize a "replenishment model" to virtually manage their prescription
drug inventories. We urge the Division to work with covered entities in the state to ensure that there is a
mechanism for tracking Medicaid patients in the context of replenishment models. If this proves to be impractical or
impossible, we would urge the Division to direct 340B-participating Medicaid providers to identify prescriptions as
340B at the point-of-sale.

A similar concern exists with respect to contract pharmacy arrangements. By way of background, HRSA has
allowed covered entities to contract with outside pharmacies (aka "contract pharmacies") to dispense 340B-
purchased drugs since 1996. Under these arrangements, the covered entity purchases the drug, but the product is
shipped to and dispensed by the contract pharmacy-an arrangement referred to as "bill to, ship to"-and it is
generally the pharmacy that then seeks reimbursement for the product. We urge the Division to specify
requirements for contract pharmacies to identify patients as Medicaid (including managed Medicaid) at the point-of-
sale, and to ensure that this information is consistently reported both directly to covered entities, as well as through
the inventory management software utilized to manage the contract pharmacy arrangement to ensure 340B stock
is not sued or reported for these prescriptions.

The Division Should Adopt Certain Best Practices to Assist the State in Both Preventing and Identifying Duplicate
Discounts Moving Forward.

Because we understand that Delaware currently does not have comprehensive Medicaid billing policies related
to the 340B Program, we believe that the Division also should take this opportunity to outline comprehensive
policies on this topic to assist the state in both preventing and identifying duplicate discounts. 

The Division Should Consider Creating an Exceptions Process for Covered Entities to Elect to Carve-In, Provided
that Protections are In Place to Prevent Duplicate Discounts.

BIO supports Delaware's efforts to address the duplicate discount prohibition. We are particularly supportive of
the state's proposal to require covered entities to adopt a uniform determination across both Medicaid FFS and
managed care. However, we are concerned that requiring all covered entities to uniformly carve out (i.e., use non-
340B products for Medicaid patients) could impose an undue administrative burden on some of the most
vulnerable safety-net providers in the state. Accordingly, we urge the Division to consider creating an exceptions
process for covered entities to elect to carve-in, provided that protections are in place to prevent duplicate
discounts.

Conclusion.
BIO appreciates the opportunity to comment on the Division's Proposed Amendment. We very much support

the state's efforts to prevent duplicate discounts and promote program integrity and hope that our comments will be
a useful tool as the Division refines its proposed regulations. 

Agency Response: DMMA thanks BIO for its support of the proposed changes to our outpatient drug
reimbursement regulations. We are grateful for the insight and suggestions that you have shared with us. We will
take your comments into consideration as we move forward with implementation of this regulation. No change was
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made to the regulation as a result of these comments.

SCPD
As background, federal law authorizes states to negotiate rebate agreements with drug manufacturers.

Federal law (340B program) also requires drug manufacturers to enter into agreements with HRSA to provide
discounts on drugs to covered entities. The interplay of these laws is complicated. However, State Medicaid
agencies must exclude from State rebate requests drugs that have already been discounted under the 340B
program.

In practice, drug manufacturers are contesting State rebate requests based on their perception that the drugs
have already been discounted under the 340B program. DMMA has determined that its providers do not generally
use 340B discounted drugs for Medicaid patients. To obviate drug manufacturer argument, DMMA is amending the
State Plan to categorically bar providers from using 340B discounted drugs for Medicaid patients. SCPD endorses
the proposed regulation since the proposed regulation should remove an impediment to drug manufacturer rebate
payments to the State.

Agency Response: DMMA thanks the Council for its endorsement. No change was made to the regulation as
a result of these comments.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the November 2015 Register of Regulations
should be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend Delaware Title XIX Medicaid State
Plan regarding Pharmaceutical Services, specifically, to clarify reimbursement methodology for entities that
purchase 340B drug products, is adopted and shall be final effective February 11, 2016. 

January 19, 2016
Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS

DMMA FINAL ORDER REGULATION #16-001
REVISION: 
ATTACHMENT 4.19-B

   Page 14

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE: DELAWARE

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES – OTHER TYPES OF CARE

REIMBURSEMENT FOR PHARMACEUTICALS

Overview
The Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) will reimburse pharmaceuticals using the lower of:

• The usual and customary (U & C) charge to the general public for the product,
• National Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC) or if a NADAC is not available the Average Wholesale

Price (AWP) minus 19%,
• A State-specific maximum allowable cost (DMAC) when the purchase price is not appropriately

represented by either the NADAC or the Average Wholesale Price (AWP) minus 19%,
• The Federal Upper Limit (FUL) will not be used since the NADAC reflects the actual acquisition cost.

[Contracted] [Ee]ntities that qualify for special purchasing under Section 602 of the Veterans Health Care Act of
1992, Section 340-B of the Public Health Service Act covered entities, selected disproportionate share hospitals
and entities exempt from the Robinson-Patman Price Discrimination Act of 1936 must charge the DMAP no more
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than their actual acquisition cost (AAC) plus a professional dispensing fee. The AAC must be supported by invoice
and payment documentation.

[Contracted] [Ee]ntities that purchase Section 340B of the Public Health Service Act products are prohibited from
using their stock for DMAP patients either directly or through coverage of the Managed Care Organization.

Professional Dispensing Fee
The professional dispensing fee rate is ten dollars ($10.00). There is one-time professional fee per thirty (30)-day
period unless the class of drugs is routinely prescribed for a limited number of days.

Definitions
Delaware Maximum Allowable Cost (DMAC) - a maximum price set for reimbursement:

• when a single source product has Average Selling Prices provided by the manufacturer that indicates the
AWP is exaggerated, or

• when the NADAC does not reflect the most current cost of a multiple source drug, or
• if a single provider agrees to a special price.

Any willing provider can dispense the product.

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - Mental Health Services

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA)
initiated proceedings to amend the Delaware Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding Early and Periodic
Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services, specifically, coverage and reimbursement methodologies
for rehabilitative mental health services. The Department's proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated
pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Del.C. §512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10115 in the
November 2015 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by December 1, 2015 at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL:

The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services/Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DHSS/DMMA) proposes to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding
the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Program, specifically, coverage and
reimbursement methodologies for rehabilitative mental health services.

Statutory Authority
• Section 1905(r) of the Social Security Act, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment

Services
• 42 CFR §441 Subpart B, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) of Individuals

under Age 21
• 42 CFR §440.60, Medical or other remedial care provided by licensed practitioners
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• 42 CFR §440.130, Diagnostic, screening, preventive, and rehabilitative services
• 42 CFR §447.205, Public notice of changes in statewide methods and standards for setting payment rates
• State Medicaid Manual, Section 5010, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment Services

Background
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment Services

The Medicaid program's benefit for children and adolescents is known as Early and Periodic Screening,
Diagnostic and Treatment services, or EPSDT. Under federal Medicaid law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(r) [1905(r) of the
Social Security Act], EPSDT provides a comprehensive array of prevention, diagnostic, and treatment services for
low-income infants, children and adolescents under age 21, as specified in Section 1905(r) of the Social Security
Act (the Act). The EPSDT benefit is more robust than the Medicaid benefit for adults and is designed to assure that
children receive early detection and care, so that health problems are averted or diagnosed and treated as early as
possible. The goal of EPSDT is to assure that individual children get the health care they need when they need it -
the right care to the right child at the right time in the right setting.

Within the scope of EPSDT benefits under the federal Medicaid law, states are required to cover any service
that is medically necessary "to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition identified by
screening," whether or not the service is covered under the Delaware Medicaid State Plan. The services covered
under EPSDT are limited to those within the scope of the category of services listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C.
§ 1396d (a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act].

States have an affirmative obligation to make sure that Medicaid-eligible children and their families are aware
of EPSDT and have access to required screenings and necessary treatment services. States also have broad
flexibility to determine how to best ensure such services are provided. In general, they either administer the benefit
outright (through fee-for-service arrangements) or provide oversight to private entities with whom they have
contracted to administer the benefit (e.g., managed care entities). States must arrange (directly or through
delegations or contracts) for children to receive the physical, mental, vision, hearing, and dental services they need
to treat health problems and conditions.

Medicaid Rehabilitative Services
Treatment for mental health and substance use issues and conditions is available under a number of Medicaid

service categories, including hospital and clinic services, physician services, and services provided by a licensed
professional such as a psychologist. States should also make use of rehabilitative services. While rehabilitative
services can meet a range of children's treatment needs, they can be particularly critical for children with mental
health and substance use issues. Rehabilitative services are defined to include:

any medical or remedial services (provided in a facility, a home, or other setting)
recommended by a physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the scope
of their practice under State law, for the maximum reduction of physical or mental disability and
restoration of an individual to the best possible functional level.

Like other services covered under EPSDT, rehabilitative services need not actually cure a disability or
completely restore an individual to a previous functional level. Rather, such services are covered when they
ameliorate a physical or mental disability, as discussed above. Moreover, determinations of whether a service is
rehabilitative must take into consideration that a child may not have attained the ability to perform certain functions.
That is, a child's rehabilitative services plan of care should reflect goals appropriate for the child's developmental
stage.

Depending on the interventions that the individual child needs, services that can be covered as rehabilitative
services include:

• Community-based crisis services, such as mobile crisis teams, and intensive outpatient services;
• Individualized mental health and substance use treatment services, including in non-traditional settings

such as a school, a workplace or at home;
• Medication management;
• Counseling and therapy, including to eliminate psychological barriers that would impede development of

community living skills; and
• Rehabilitative equipment, for instance daily living aids.
With respect to the provision of rehabilitative services, including those noted above, CMS requires more
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specificity of providers and services due to the wide spectrum of rehabilitative services coverable under the broad
definition. CMS would expect a state to include in their State Plan the services, and providers with their
qualifications, as well as a reimbursement methodology for each service it provides. 

Summary of Proposal
Note: This Mental Health Services state plan amendment (SPA) is second of three (3) proposed SPA actions
related to Medicaid rehabilitative services for individuals under age 21 to clarify coverage and payment
methodology under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) program.
Purpose

The purpose of this notice is to clarify service descriptions, reimbursement methodologies, and provider
qualifications for rehabilitative mental health services under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and
Treatment (EPSDT) State Plan and to request comments from the public.

On February 23, 2011, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) sent a companion letter to the
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) concerning a previously approved State Plan Amendment
#08-004, School-Based Health Services. CMS performed a program analysis of corresponding coverage sections
not originally submitted with this SPA. This analysis revealed concerns regarding the monthly bundled rates for
rehabilitative child mental health and substance use disorder services under the EPSDT program. CMS
determined that the service descriptions and reimbursement language for rehabilitative child mental health and
substance use disorder services fails to comply with 42 CFR 430.10 and 42 CFR 447.252 which implement in part
Section 1902(a)(30)(A) of the Social Security Act, to require collectively that States comprehensively describe the
methodologies that they use to reimburse service providers. The methodologies must be understandable, clear,
unambiguous and auditable.

Proposal
In order to comport with 42 CFR 430.10 and 42 CFR 447.252, DMMA proposes to clarify existing rehabilitative

mental health services and reimbursement methodology language currently described at Attachment 3.1-A and
Attachment 4.19-B in the Delaware Medicaid State Plan by:

• defining the reimbursable unit of service;
• describing payment limitations;
• providing a reference to the provider qualifications per the State Plan;
• publishing location to access State developed fee schedule rates.
The agency's proposal involves no change in the definition of those eligible to receive mental health services

benefit under the Medicaid Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Program, and the
mental health services benefit available to eligible recipients remains the same.

Summary of Proposed Changes
The proposed Medicaid Rehabilitative Mental Health Services SPA clarifies coverage for outpatient and

residential mental health services for children under the Medicaid program including care by unlicensed
practitioners and Evidence-Based Practices (EBPs). If implemented as proposed, the coverage and
reimbursement methodology plan amendments will accomplish the following, effective July 1, 2016:

Crisis intervention for children, unlicensed mental health practitioners (including Community Psychiatric
Support and Treatment, Psychosocial Rehabilitation, and family peer support services) and all residential
programs providing children's mental health services to reflect the current rehabilitative services not covered under
other Medicaid authorities. The rates for these services will be set using the same modeled rate methodology as
the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH) PROMISE (Promoting Optimal Mental Health for
Individuals through Supports and Empowerment) fee schedule for unlicensed practitioners and programs. The
rates may vary from PROMISE depending upon the need for adaptions to the rates for accessibility of services by
children and differences in service delivery.

Public Notice
In accordance with the federal public notice requirements established at Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social

Security Act and 42 CFR 447.205 and the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) gives
public notice and provides an open comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to
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provide input to the methods and standards governing payment methodology for rehabilitative mental health
services under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) program. Comments were to
be received by 4:30 p.m. on December 1, 2015.

CMS Review and Approval
The provisions of this draft state plan amendment (SPA) are subject to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid

Services (CMS) review and approval. The draft SPA page(s) may undergo further revisions before and after
submittal to CMS based upon public comment and/or CMS feedback. The final version may be subject to
significant change.

Provider Manual Update
Also, upon CMS approval, the applicable Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Policy

Specific Manuals will be updated. Manual updates, revised pages or additions to the provider manual are issued,
as required, for new policy, policy clarification, and/or revisions to the DMAP program. Provider billing guidelines or
instructions to incorporate any new requirement may also be issued. A newsletter system is utilized to distribute
new or revised manual material and to provide any other pertinent information regarding manual updates.

Fiscal Impact Statement
The purpose of this state plan amendment is to update and reorganize both the services (Attachment 3.1-A)

and reimbursement (Attachment 4.19-B) sections of the Medicaid State Plan that primarily address rehabilitative
services early and periodic screening, diagnostic, and treatment (EPSDT) program.

This amendment is not for the purpose of making program changes. Rather, this is part of DHSS/DMMA's
continuing effort in working with CMS to assure the reimbursement pages clearly correspond to the service
sections of the state plan and to implement the required wording regarding fee schedules and the dates for which
reimbursement rates were set for these services. There are no intended content changes other than improved
descriptions. 

The proposed amendment imposes no increase in cost on the General Fund as the proposed services in this
State plan amendment will be budget neutral. 

Federal budget impact for federal fiscal years 2016 and 2017 is projected as follows:

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGES

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observations and
recommendations summarized below. The Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) has considered
each comment and responds as follows.

As background, the Division notes that Federal EPSDT standards require State Medicaid programs to offer a
comprehensive array of services for individuals under age 21. In the mental health and substance abuse contexts,
such services include "rehabilitative services." On February 23, 2011, CMS sent DMMA a letter sharing concerns
with the Division's monthly bundled rates for rehabilitative child mental health and substance abuse services under
the EPSDT program. In response, DMMA proposes to add clarifying language to the Medicaid State Plan in
through the following: 1) defining the reimbursable unit of service; 2) describing payment limitations; 3) providing a
reference to the provider qualifications; and 4) publishing the location if State fee scheduled rates.

For unlicensed providers, DMMA proposes to adopt the same rate methodology applied to the PROMISE
program.

The Division anticipates "no increase in cost on the General Fund" but a significant federal budget impact, i.e.,
$837,865.32 in FFY17. The logical inference is that the changes will result in drawing down considerable federal
matching funds.

First in §4.b, Attachment 3.1-A, Page 2c Addendum, the text categorically requires school provided services to

Federal Fiscal Year 2016 Federal Fiscal Year 2017

$195,802.39 $837,865.32
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be included in an IEP/IFSP. SCPD has the following two concerns in this context: A. Many students with disabilities
have Section 504 plans, not an IEP or IFSP. If CMS standards do not categorically require Medicaid services in
schools to be listed in an IEP/IFSP, it would be preferable to remove this limitation. B. There may be students with
acute, but short-term disabilities (e.g., PTSD from child abuse) who will not qualify for classification under the
IDEA. However, the school may wish to provide mental health services given the acute nature of the disability. It
would be preferable to allow Medicaid billing under these circumstances.

Agency Response: Your comments raised issues that are outside the scope of this regulation. This regulation
proposes to clarify existing rehabilitative mental health services and reimbursement methodology language; it
involves no change in the definition of those eligible to receive mental health services benefit under the Medicaid
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Program, and the mental health services benefit
available to eligible recipients remains the same. No change was made to the regulation as a result of this
comment.

Second, in Attachment 3.1-A, Page 2d Addendum, DMMA proposes to strike an authorization to cover "any
other medical or remedial care provided by licensed medical providers as authorized under 42 CFR 440.60…" No
rationale is provided for striking the provision. SCPD recommends retention. 

Agency Response: DMMA thanks the Council for its comment. The provision was struck because it is
duplicative with another section of the State Plan. SPA TN 13-0018 includes services for Other Licensed
Practitioners for all ages in a statewide and comparable manner. No change was made to the regulation as a result
of this comment.

Third, several sections require a covered service to be "face-to-face". See, e.g., Attachment 3.1-A, Page 2e.5
Addendum, Psychosocial Rehabilitation: Attachment 3.1-A, Page 2.e.7 Addendum, Crisis Intervention; Attachment
3.1-A, Page 2.e.9 Addendum, Crisis Intervention and Family Peer Support. There is some "tension" between these
categorical limitations and the DMMA State Plan Amendment authorizing any Medicaid-funded services to be
provided via telemedicine. See 18 DE Reg. 227 (September 1, 2014).

Agency Response: DMMA agrees with your request to provide clarity on telemedicine usage and has
amended the language to do so.

Attachment 3.1-A, Page 2e.2 Addendum has been amended to include the following language: "Any
Rehabilitative service may be provided via telemedicine consistent with the specifications, conditions, and
limitations set by the Department of Medical Assistance (DMAP)."

Fourth, there are multiple sections requiring a provider to be at least 21 years old. See, e.g., Attachment 3.1-A,
Page 2e.6 Addendum, Psychosocial Rehabilitation; Attachment 3.1-A, Page 2e7 Addendum, Crisis Intervention;
Attachment 3.1-A, Page 2e10 Addendum, Family Peer Support; Attachment 3.1-A, Page 2e16 Addendum, Direct
Care Staff. This ostensibly violates the regulations to the federal Age Discrimination Act, 45 CFR Part 91, which
limits age discrimination in federally funded programs. If an adult meets licensing, degree, or skill-set standards,
age is not a sustainable basis to bar qualifying as a federally funded provider. 

Agency Response: DMMA respectfully disagrees with the Council's comment. The proposed regulations are
in accordance with the requirements of 45 CFR Part 91. Age considerations in the proposed regulation fall under
the exceptions to 45 CFR Part 91 regarding the "Normal operation or statutory objective of any program or activity"
and are thus permissible under Part 91.

The prohibition against age discrimination does not include an absolute prohibition against separate treatment
on the basis of age. In the proposed regulation, age is used as a measure or approximation of maturity applied
solely to individuals who will be approved for providing services (not those individuals receiving services). It is a
factor essential to the effective provision of behavioral health services. Maturity, not age, is the basis separate
treatment on the basis of age

The use of age as a standard of maturity is an established practice in Delaware (and other states) and is
supported, for example, by existing standards including the State of Delaware Job Classifications and Minimum
Requirements as listed by OMB (minimum age for Youth Care Worker is age 21) and Delacare Standards (3.16 -
3.20) that specify that workers within an RTC setting must be age 21 years or older. 

No change was made to the regulation as a result of this comment.
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FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the November 2015 Register of Regulations
should be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend Delaware Title XIX Medicaid State
Plan regarding Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services, specifically, coverage
and reimbursement methodologies for rehabilitative mental health services, is adopted and shall be final effective
February 11, 2016.

January 19, 2016
Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS

*Please Note: Due to the size of the final regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the regulation
is available at:

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - Mental Health Services

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - Substance Use Disorder 
Services

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA)
initiated proceedings to amend the Delaware Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding Early and Periodic
Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services, specifically, coverage and reimbursement methodologies
for Medicaid rehabilitative substance use disorder services. The Department's proceedings to amend its
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Del.C §10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Del.C §512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Del.C §10115 in the
November 2015 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by December 1, 2015 at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services/Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DHSS/DMMA) proposes to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding
the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Program, specifically, coverage and
reimbursement methodologies for Medicaid rehabilitative substance use disorder services.

Statutory Authority
• Section 1905(r) of the Social Security Act, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment

Services
• 42 CFR §441 Subpart B, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) of

Individuals under Age 21
• 42 CFR §440.60, Medical or other remedial care provided by licensed practitioners
• 42 CFR §440.130, Diagnostic, screening, preventive, and rehabilitative services
• 42 CFR §447.205, Public notice of changes in statewide methods and standards for setting payment

rates
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• State Medicaid Manual, Section 5010, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment
Services

Background
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment Services

The Medicaid program's benefit for children and adolescents is known as Early and Periodic Screening,
Diagnostic and Treatment services, or EPSDT. Under federal Medicaid law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(r) [1905(r) of the
Social Security Act], EPSDT provides a comprehensive array of prevention, diagnostic, and treatment services for
low-income infants, children and adolescents under age 21, as specified in Section 1905(r) of the Social Security
Act (the Act). The EPSDT benefit is more robust than the Medicaid benefit for adults and is designed to assure that
children receive early detection and care, so that health problems are averted or diagnosed and treated as early as
possible. The goal of EPSDT is to assure that individual children get the health care they need when they need it -
the right care to the right child at the right time in the right setting.

Within the scope of EPSDT benefits under the federal Medicaid law, states are required to cover any service
that is medically necessary "to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition identified by
screening," whether or not the service is covered under the Medicaid State Plan. The services covered under
EPSDT are limited to those within the scope of the category of services listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. §
1396d (a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act].

States have an affirmative obligation to make sure that Medicaid-eligible children and their families are aware
of EPSDT and have access to required screenings and necessary treatment services. States also have broad
flexibility to determine how to best ensure such services are provided. In general, they either administer the benefit
outright (through fee-for-service arrangements) or provide oversight to private entities with whom they have
contracted to administer the benefit (e.g., managed care entities). States must arrange (directly or through
delegations or contracts) for children to receive the physical, mental, vision, hearing, and dental services they need
to treat health problems and conditions.

Medicaid Rehabilitative Services
Treatment for mental health and substance use issues and conditions is available under a number of Medicaid

service categories, including hospital and clinic services, physician services, and services provided by a licensed
professional such as a psychologist. States also make use of rehabilitative services. While rehabilitative services
can meet a range of children's treatment needs, they can be particularly critical for children with mental health and
substance use issues. Rehabilitative services are defined to include:

any medical or remedial services (provided in a facility, a home, or other setting) recommended by
a physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the scope of their practice under
State law, for the maximum reduction of physical or mental disability and restoration of an
individual to the best possible functional level.

Like other services covered under EPSDT, rehabilitative services need not actually cure a disability or
completely restore an individual to a previous functional level. Rather, such services are covered when they
ameliorate a physical or mental disability, as discussed above. Moreover, determinations of whether a service is
rehabilitative must take into consideration that a child may not have attained the ability to perform certain functions.
That is, a child's rehabilitative services plan of care should reflect goals appropriate for the child's developmental
stage.

Depending on the interventions that the individual child needs, services that can be covered as rehabilitative
services include:

• Community-based crisis services, such as mobile crisis teams, and intensive outpatient services;
• Individualized mental health and substance use treatment services, including in non-traditional settings

such as a school, a workplace or at home;
• Medication management;
• Counseling and therapy, including to eliminate psychological barriers that would impede development of

community living skills; and
• Rehabilitative equipment, for instance daily living aids.
With respect to the provision of rehabilitative services, including those noted above, CMS requires more

specificity of providers and services due to the wide spectrum of rehabilitative services coverable under the broad
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definition. CMS expects a state to include in their State Plan the services, and providers with their qualifications, as
well as a reimbursement methodology for each service it provides. 

Summary of Proposal
Note: This Substance Use Disorder Services (SUDs) state plan amendment (SPA) is first of three (3) proposed
SPA actions related to Medicaid rehabilitative services for individuals under age 21 to clarify coverage and
payment methodology under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) program.

Purpose 
The purpose of this notice is to clarify service descriptions, reimbursement methodologies, and provider

qualifications for rehabilitative substance use disorder services under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis,
and Treatment (EPSDT) State Plan and to request comments from the public.

On February 23, 2011, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) sent a companion letter to the
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) concerning a previously approved State Plan Amendment
#08-004, School-Based Health Services. CMS performed a program analysis of corresponding coverage sections
not originally submitted with this SPA. This analysis revealed concerns regarding the monthly bundled rates for
rehabilitative child mental health and substance use disorder services under the EPSDT program. CMS
determined that the service descriptions and reimbursement language for rehabilitative child mental health and
substance use disorder services fails to comply with 42 CFR 430.10 and 42 CFR 447.252 which implement in part
Section 1902(a)(30)(A) of the Social Security Act, to require collectively that States comprehensively describe the
methodologies that they use to reimburse service providers. The methodologies must be understandable, clear,
unambiguous and auditable.

Proposal
In order to comport with 42 CFR 430.10 and 42 CFR 447.252, DMMA proposes to clarify existing rehabilitative

substance use disorder services and reimbursement methodology language currently described at Attachment 3.1-
A and Attachment 4.19-B in the Delaware Medicaid State Plan by:

• defining the reimbursable unit of service;
• describing payment limitations;
• providing a reference to the provider qualifications per the State Plan;
• publishing location to access State developed fee schedule rates.
The agency's proposal involves no change in the definition of those eligible to receive substance use disorder

services benefit under the Medicaid Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Program,
and the substance use disorder services benefit available to eligible recipients remains the same.

Summary of Proposed Changes
The proposed Medicaid Rehabilitative Substance Use Disorder (SUD) Services SPA ensures that the already

approved SUD state plan amendment for adults also provides coverage of SUD services for children under the
Medicaid program. This SPA is a revised version of the Rehabilitative Services SPA recently approved for the State
of Delaware for adults and authorizes SUD outpatient and residential services. If implemented as proposed, the
coverage and reimbursement methodology plan amendments will accomplish the following, effective July 1, 2016:
The new SPA will make small changes that allow the Department of Services to Children, Youth and Their Families
(DSCYF) to set program requirements for children. The Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH)
will still license the programs. This SPA includes one change requested by the industry to correct the scope of
practice for licensed chemical dependency professional (LCDP) and Certified Dependency and Addiction
Counselors (CDACs). DSCYF will use the Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Current Procedural
Terminology/Healthcare Common Procedures Coding System (CPT/HCPCS) fee schedule for licensed
practitioners and set modeled rates for unlicensed practitioners and programs (thus, no changes are needed to the
SPA reimbursement pages for SUD). The EPSDT rates for unlicensed practitioners and programs will be the same
or similar to the adult SUD rates depending upon the need for adaptions to the rates for accessibility of services by
children.
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Public Notice
In accordance with the federal public notice requirements established at Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social

Security Act and 42 CFR 447.205 and the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) gives
public notice and provides an open comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to
provide input to the coverage and payment methodology for rehabilitative substance use disorder services under
the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) program. Comments must be received by
4:30 p.m. on December 1, 2015.

CMS Review and Approval
The provisions of this draft state plan amendment (SPA) are subject to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid

Services (CMS) review and approval. The draft SPA page(s) may undergo further revisions before and after
submittal to CMS based upon public comment and/or CMS feedback. The final version may be subject to
significant change.

Provider Manual Update
Also, upon CMS approval, the applicable Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Policy

Specific Manuals will be updated. Manual updates, revised pages or additions to the provider manual are issued,
as required, for new policy, policy clarification, and/or revisions to the DMAP program. Provider billing guidelines or
instructions to incorporate any new requirement may also be issued. A newsletter system is utilized to distribute
new or revised manual material and to provide any other pertinent information regarding manual updates.

Fiscal Impact Statement
The purpose of this state plan amendment is to update and reorganize both the services (Attachment 3.1-A)

and reimbursement (Attachment 4.19-B) sections of the Medicaid State Plan that primarily address rehabilitative
services under the early and periodic screening, diagnostic, and treatment (EPSDT) program.

This amendment is not for the purpose of making program changes. Rather, this is part of DHSS/DMMA's
continuing effort in working with CMS to assure the reimbursement pages clearly correspond to the service
sections of the state plan and to implement the required wording regarding fee schedules and the dates for which
reimbursement rates were set for these services.

There are no intended content changes other than improved descriptions. The proposed amendment imposes
no increase in cost on the General Fund as the proposed services in this State plan amendment will be budget
neutral. The federal fiscal impact associated with this amendment will be zero dollars.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGES

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observations and
recommendations summarized below. The Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) has considered
each comment and responds as follows.

As background, the Division notes that Federal EPSDT standards require State Medicaid programs to offer a
comprehensive array of services for individuals under age 21. On February 23, 2011, CMS sent DMMA a letter
sharing concerns with the Division's monthly bundled rates for rehabilitative child mental health and substance
abuse services under the EPSDT program. In response, DMMA proposes to add clarifying language to the
Medicaid State Plan in through the following: 1) defining the reimbursable unit of service; 2) describing payment
limitations; 3) providing a reference to the provider qualifications; and 4) publishing the location if State fee
scheduled rates.

The changes are highly prescriptive and detailed.
Agency Response: With respect to the provision of rehabilitative services, CMS requires more specificity of

providers and services due to the wide spectrum of rehabilitative services coverable under the broad definition.
CMS expects the State Plan to include a description of the services, and providers with their qualifications, as well
as a reimbursement methodology for each service. No change was made to the regulation as a result of this
comment.
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FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the November 2015 Register of Regulations
should be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend Delaware Title XIX Medicaid State
Plan regarding Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services, specifically, coverage
and reimbursement methodologies for Medicaid rehabilitative substance use disorder services, is adopted and
shall be final effective February 11, 2016. 

Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS, January 19, 2016
*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
November 2015 issue of the Register at page 377 (19 DE Reg. 377). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - Substance Use Disorder 
Services

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital 
Services for Individuals under Age 21

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

Delaware Health and Social Services ("Department") / Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA)
initiated proceedings to amend the Delaware Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding Early and Periodic
Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services, addressing Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Services for
Individuals under Age 21, specifically, coverage and reimbursement methodology for psychiatric residential
treatment facilities (PRTFs). The Department's proceedings to amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29
Del.C §10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31 Del.C §512.

The Department published its notice of proposed regulation changes pursuant to 29 Del.C §10115 in the
November 2015 Delaware Register of Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by December 1, 2015 at which time the Department would
receive information, factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

SUMMARY OF PROPOSAL

The purpose of this notice is to advise the public that Delaware Health and Social Services/Division of
Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DHSS/DMMA) proposes to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan regarding
the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Program addressing Inpatient Psychiatric
Hospital Services for Individuals under Age 21, specifically, coverage and reimbursement methodology for
psychiatric residential treatment facilities (PRTFs).

Statutory Authority
• Section 1905(r) of the Social Security Act, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment

Services
• Section 1905(a)(16), Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Services for Individuals under Age 21
• 42 CFR §441 Subpart B, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) of

Individuals under Age 21
• 42 CFR §440.60, Medical or other remedial care provided by licensed practitioners
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• 42 CFR §440.130, Diagnostic, screening, preventive, and rehabilitative services
• 42 CFR §447.205, Public notice of changes in statewide methods and standards for setting payment

rates
• State Medicaid Manual, Section 5010, Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment

Services

Background
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment Services

The Medicaid program's benefit for children and adolescents is known as Early and Periodic Screening,
Diagnostic and Treatment services, or EPSDT. Under federal Medicaid law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(r) [1905(r) of the
Social Security Act], EPSDT provides a comprehensive array of prevention, diagnostic, and treatment services for
low-income infants, children and adolescents under age 21, as specified in Section 1905(r) of the Social Security
Act (the Act). The EPSDT benefit is more robust than the Medicaid benefit for adults and is designed to assure that
children receive early detection and care, so that health problems are averted or diagnosed and treated as early as
possible. The goal of EPSDT is to assure that individual children get the health care they need when they need it -
the right care to the right child at the right time in the right setting.

Within the scope of EPSDT benefits under the federal Medicaid law, states are required to cover any service
that is medically necessary "to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition identified by
screening," whether or not the service is covered under the Medicaid State Plan. The services covered under
EPSDT are limited to those within the scope of the category of services listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. §
1396d (a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act].

States have an affirmative obligation to make sure that Medicaid-eligible children and their families are aware
of EPSDT and have access to required screenings and necessary treatment services. States also have broad
flexibility to determine how to best ensure such services are provided. In general, they either administer the benefit
outright (through fee-for-service arrangements) or provide oversight to private entities with whom they have
contracted to administer the benefit (e.g., managed care entities). States must arrange (directly or through
delegations or contracts) for children to receive the physical, mental, vision, hearing, and dental services they need
to treat health problems and conditions.

Medicaid Rehabilitative Services
Treatment for mental health and substance use issues and conditions is available under a number of Medicaid

service categories, including hospital and clinic services, physician services, and services provided by a licensed
professional such as a psychologist. States also make use of rehabilitative services. While rehabilitative services
can meet a range of children's treatment needs, they can be particularly critical for children with mental health and
substance use issues. Rehabilitative services are defined to include:

any medical or remedial services (provided in a facility, a home, or other setting) recommended by
a physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the scope of their practice under
State law, for the maximum reduction of physical or mental disability and restoration of an
individual to the best possible functional level.

Like other services covered under EPSDT, rehabilitative services need not actually cure a disability or
completely restore an individual to a previous functional level. Rather, such services are covered when they
ameliorate a physical or mental disability, as discussed above. Moreover, determinations of whether a service is
rehabilitative must take into consideration that a child may not have attained the ability to perform certain functions.
That is, a child's rehabilitative services plan of care should reflect goals appropriate for the child's developmental
stage.

Depending on the interventions that the individual child needs, services that can be covered as rehabilitative
services include:

• Community-based crisis services, such as mobile crisis teams, and intensive outpatient services;
• Individualized mental health and substance use treatment services, including in non-traditional settings

such as a school, a workplace or at home;
• Medication management;
• Counseling and therapy, including to eliminate psychological barriers that would impede development of

community living skills; and
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• Rehabilitative equipment, for instance daily living aids.
With respect to the provision of rehabilitative services, including those noted above, CMS requires more

specificity of providers and services due to the wide spectrum of rehabilitative services coverable under the broad
definition. CMS expects a state to include in their State Plan the services, and providers with their qualifications, as
well as a reimbursement methodology for each service it provides. 

Inpatient Psychiatric Services for Individuals under Age 21 Benefit
The Psychiatric Services for Individuals under Age 21 benefit at section 1905(a)(16) of the Act, is optional. The

benefit must be provided in all States to those individuals who are determined during the course of an Early and
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) screen to need this type of inpatient psychiatric care.
Under the EPSDT provision, States must provide any services listed in section 1905(a) of the Act that is needed to
correct or ameliorate defects and physical and mental conditions discovered by EPSDT screening, whether or not
the service is covered under the State plan.

This benefit has a long title, and so is often referred to as "Psych under 21". Most states have chosen to
provide this optional benefit. Services are provided in psychiatric hospitals or psychiatric units in a hospital, or
psychiatric facilities for which states may define accreditation requirements, subject to requirements at 42 CFR 441
Subpart D. Among the requirements for this service is certification of need for inpatient care, and a plan of care for
active treatment, developed by an interdisciplinary team.

This benefit is significant as a means for Medicaid to cover the cost of inpatient mental health services. The
federal Medicaid program does not reimburse states for the cost of institutions for mental diseases (IMDs) except
for young people, who receive this service, and individuals age 65 or older served in an IMD. No later than age 22,
individuals are transitioned to community services, or non-Medicaid inpatient services.

Many states provide psych under 21 service through psychiatric residential treatment facilities (PRTFs). A
PRTF provides comprehensive mental health treatment to children and adolescents (youth) who, due to mental
illness, substance abuse, or severe emotional disturbance, are in need of treatment that can most effectively be
provided in a residential treatment facility. All other ambulatory care resources available in the community must
have been identified, and if not accessed, determined to not meet the immediate treatment needs of the youth.

PRTF programs are designed to offer a short term, intense, focused mental health treatment program to
promote a successful return of the youth to the community. Specific outcomes of the mental health services include
the youth returning to the family or to another less restrictive community living situation as soon as clinically
possible and when treatment in a PRTF is no longer medically necessary. The residential treatment facility is
expected to work actively with the family, other agencies, and the community to offer strengths-based, culturally
competent, medically appropriate treatment designed to meet the individual needs of the youth including those
identified with emotional and behavioral issues.

What is a Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility?
A Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility (PRTF) is any non-hospital facility with a provider agreement with

a State Medicaid Agency to provide the inpatient services benefit to Medicaid-eligible individuals under the age of
21 (psych under 21 benefit). The facility must be accredited by Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare
(JCAHO) or any other accrediting organization with comparable standards recognized by the State. PRTFs must
also meet the requirements in §441.151 through 441.182 of the CFR. The regulatory authority for PRTFs includes
Section 1864(a) of the Social Security Act (the Act), which authorizes the Secretary to enter into an agreement with
the State. Authority also includes Section 1902(a)(9)(A), which authorizes the state agency or other appropriate
medical agency, to be responsible for establishing and maintaining health standards, and Section 1902(a)(33)(B),
licensing requirement.

Summary of Proposal
Note: This Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Services for Individuals under Age 21 state plan amendment (SPA) is third
of three (3) proposed SPA actions related to Medicaid rehabilitative services under the Early and Periodic
Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) program.

Purpose 
The purpose of this notice is to clarify service descriptions and reimbursement methodologies for Inpatient

Psychiatric Hospital Services for Individuals under Age 21 and to request comments from the public.
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On February 23, 2011, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) sent a companion letter to the
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) concerning a previously approved State Plan Amendment
#08-004, School-Based Health Services. CMS performed a program analysis of corresponding coverage sections
not originally submitted with this SPA. This analysis revealed concerns regarding the monthly bundled rates for
rehabilitative child mental health and substance use disorder services under the EPSDT program. CMS
determined that the service descriptions and reimbursement language for rehabilitative child mental health and
substance use disorder services fails to comply with 42 CFR 430.10 and 42 CFR 447.252 which implement in part
Section 1902(a)(30)(A) of the Social Security Act, to require collectively that States comprehensively describe the
methodologies that they use to reimburse service providers. The methodologies must be understandable, clear,
unambiguous and auditable.

Proposal
In order to comport with 42 CFR 430.10 and 42 CFR 447.252, DMMA proposes to clarify existing rehabilitative

child mental health and substance use disorder services reimbursement methodology language currently
described at Medicaid State plan page Attachment 3.1-A and new Attachment 4.19-A.3 by:

• defining the reimbursable unit of service;
• describing payment limitations;
• providing a reference to the provider qualifications per the State Plan;
• publishing location to access State developed fee schedule rates.
The agency's proposal involves no change in the definition of those eligible to receive the inpatient psychiatric

hospital services for individuals under age 21 benefit under the Medicaid Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis,
and Treatment (EPSDT) Program, and the "Psych under 21" benefit available to eligible recipients remains the
same.

Summary of Proposed Changes
The proposed "Psych under 21" SPA provides a reimbursement methodology for psychiatric residential

treatment facilities (PRTFs) for children in compliance with CMS guidance. On November 28, 2012, CMS issued
an informational bulletin clarifying that states may structure coverage and payment for the benefit category of
inpatient psychiatric hospital or facility services for individuals under age 21 to ensure youth receiving inpatient
psychiatric services would receive medically necessary Medicaid services to meet their medical, psychological,
social, behavioral, and developmental needs as identified in their plan of care. This clarification is intended to
describe flexibility currently available to states to ensure the provision of medically necessary Medicaid services to
children in inpatient psychiatric facilities.

To view the CMCS Informational Bulletin regarding Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Services for Individuals under
age 21, use the following link to the CMS website: http://www.medicaid.gov/Federal-Policy-Guidance/downloads/
CIB-11-28-12.pdf.

The proposed effective date for this state plan amendment is July 1, 2016.

Public Notice
In accordance with the federal public notice requirements established at Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social

Security Act and 42 CFR 447.205 and the state public notice requirements of Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware
Code, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) gives
public notice and provides an open comment period for thirty (30) days to allow all stakeholders an opportunity to
provide input to the methods and standards governing payment methodology for the rehabilitative inpatient
psychiatric hospital services for individuals under age 21 benefit under the Early and Periodic Screening,
Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) program. Comments were to be received by 4:30 p.m. on December 1, 2015.

CMS Review and Approval
The provisions of this draft state plan amendment (SPA) are subject to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid

Services (CMS) review and approval. The draft SPA page(s) may undergo further revisions before and after
submittal to CMS based upon public comment and/or CMS feedback. The final version may be subject to
significant change.

Provider Manual Update
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Also, upon CMS approval, the applicable Delaware Medical Assistance Program (DMAP) Provider Policy
Specific Manuals will be updated. Manual updates, revised pages or additions to the provider manual are issued,
as required, for new policy, policy clarification, and/or revisions to the DMAP program. Provider billing guidelines or
instructions to incorporate any new requirement may also be issued. A newsletter system is utilized to distribute
new or revised manual material and to provide any other pertinent information regarding manual updates.

Fiscal Impact Statement
The purpose of this state plan amendment is to update and reorganize both the services (Attachment 3.1-A)

and reimbursement (Attachment 4.19-A and Attachment 4.19-B) sections of the Medicaid State Plan that primarily
address rehabilitative services under the early and periodic screening, diagnostic, and treatment (EPSDT)
program.

This amendment is not for the purpose of making program changes. Rather, this is part of DHSS/DMMA's
continuing effort in working with CMS to assure the reimbursement pages clearly correspond to the service
sections of the state plan and to implement the required wording regarding fee schedules and the dates for which
reimbursement rates were set for these services.

There are no intended content changes other than improved descriptions. The proposed amendment imposes
no increase in cost on the General Fund as the proposed services in this State plan amendment will be budget
neutral. The federal fiscal impact associated with this amendment will be zero dollars.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS RECEIVED WITH AGENCY RESPONSE AND EXPLANATION OF CHANGES

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observations and
recommendations summarized below. The Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA) has considered
each comment and responds as follows.

As background, the Division notes that Federal EPSDT standards require State Medicaid programs to offer a
comprehensive array of services for individuals under age 21. In the mental health and substance abuse contexts,
such services include "rehabilitative services" and "inpatient psychiatric services for individuals under age 21." On
February 23, 2011, CMS sent DMMA a letter sharing concerns with the Division's monthly bundled rates for
rehabilitative child mental health and substance abuse services under the EPSDT program. Moreover, CMS issued
a bulletin in 2012 which increased flexibility in covering costs of services to persons under age 21 in inpatient
psychiatric facilities.

DMMA is now implementing the CMS guidance by adopting a Medicaid State Plan Amendment based on a
CMS template. The amendment results in no increase to the General Fund.

SCPD Endorses the proposed regulation since the changes are needed to conform to CMS guidance,
increases flexibility, and results in no cost in General Funds to the State. 

Agency Response: DMMA thanks the Council for its endorsement. No change was made to the regulation as
a result of this comment.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set forth in the November 2015 Register of Regulations
should be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed regulation to amend Delaware Title XIX Medicaid State
Plan regarding Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Program addressing Inpatient
Psychiatric Hospital Services for Individuals under Age 21, specifically, coverage and reimbursement methodology
for psychiatric residential treatment facilities (PRTFs), is adopted and shall be final effective February 11, 2016. 

January 19, 2016
Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, DHSS

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
November 2015 issue of the Register at page 380 (19 DE Reg. 380). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital 

Services for Individuals under Age 21
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Section 311, 3370, and 3571R
(18 Del.C. §§311, 3370, & 3571R)

ORDER
Docket No. 2988-2015

1409 Insurance Coverage for Telemedicine and Telehealth

Proposed Regulation 1409 relating to Insurance Coverage for Telemedicine and Telehealth was published in
the Delaware Register of Regulations on December 1, 2015. The comment period remained open until December
31, 2015. There was no public hearing on proposed Regulation 1409. Public notice of the proposed Regulation
1409 was published in the Register of Regulations in conformity with Delaware law.

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

Comments were received on the proposed Regulation 1409 from:
• ERISA Industry Committee - Allison M. Wils, Director, Health Policy
The collective comments were reviewed and considered, with no amendments being suggested. No

substantive changes were made to the proposed Regulation 1409.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Based on Delaware law and the record in this docket, I make the following findings of fact:

1. 18 Del.C. §§311, 3370, and 3571R require a regulation to set forth rules and procedural requirements
which the Commissioner deems necessary to carry out the provisions of the Code.

2. The requirements of proposed Regulation 1409 best serve the interests of the public and of insurers and
comply with Delaware law.

DECISION AND EFFECTIVE DATE

Based on the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§311, 3370, and 3571R; and 29 Del.C. Ch. 101, and the record in this
docket, I hereby adopt proposed Regulation 1409 as may more fully and at large appear in the version attached
hereto to be effective 10 days after being published as final.

TEXT AND CITATION

The text of proposed Regulation 1409 last appeared in the Register of Regulations Vol. 19, Issue 6, pages 469-
471.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 1st day of February, 2016.
Karen Weldin Stewart, CIR-ML
Insurance Commissioner

1409 Insurance Coverage for Telemedicine and Telehealth

1.0 Authority

This regulation is adopted by the Commissioner pursuant to the authority granted by 18 Del.C. §§311, 3370
and 3751R and is promulgated in accordance with 29 Del.C. Chapter 101.
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2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Distant site” means a site at which a health care provider legally allowed to practice in the state is
located while providing health care services by means of telehealth.

“Originating site” means a site in Delaware at which a patient is located at the time health care
services are provided to him or her by means of telehealth, unless the term is otherwise defined with
respect to the provision in which it is used; provided, however, notwithstanding any other provision of
law, insurers and providers may agree to alternative siting arrangements deemed appropriate by the
parties.

“Store and forward transfer” means the transmission of a patient’s medical information either to or
from an originating site or to or from the provider at the distant site, but does not require the patient
being present nor must it be in real time.

“Telehealth” means the use of information and communications technologies consisting of
telephones, store and forward transfers, remote patient monitoring devices or other electronic means
which support clinical health care, provider consultation, patient and professional health-related
education, public health, and health administration services.

"Telemedicine" means a form of telehealth which is the delivery of clinical health-care services by
means of real time 2-way audio, visual, or other telecommunications or electronic communications,
including the application of secure video conferencing or store and forward transfer technology to
provide or support health-care delivery, which facilitate the assessment, diagnosis, consultation,
treatment, education, care management and self-management of a patient's health care by a health-
care provider practicing within his or her scope of practice as would be practiced in-person with a
patient, and legally allowed to practice in the State, while such patient is at an originating site and the
health-care provider is at a distant site.

3.0 Compliance with Statutes Regarding Telemedicine and Telehealth

Each insurer proposing to issue individual or group accident and sickness insurance policies providing
hospital, medical and surgical, or major medical coverage on an expense-incurred basis; each health service
corporation providing individual or group accident and sickness subscription contracts; and each managed care
organization and health maintenance organization providing a health care plan for health care services shall
comply with the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§3370 and 3571R, and this regulation.

4.0 Telehealth

4.1 Each insurer proposing to issue individual or group accident and sickness insurance policies providing
hospital, medical and surgical, or major medical coverage on an expense-incurred basis; each health
service corporation providing individual or group accident and sickness subscription contracts; and
each managed care organization and health maintenance organization providing a health care plan for
health care services shall provide coverage for the cost of such health care services provided through
telehealth. Coverage for health care services provided through telehealth shall be provided so long as
the underlying health care service is a covered service and the health care provider providing the
service is licensed to furnish the service under State law and is practicing within the scope of State law.

4.2 No insurer proposing to issue individual or group accident and sickness insurance policies providing
hospital, medical and surgical, or major medical coverage on an expense-incurred basis; health
service corporation providing individual or group accident and sickness subscription contracts; or
managed care organization or health maintenance organization providing a health care plan for health
care services shall impose any limitation on the ability of an insured to seek medical care through the
use of telehealth service solely because the health care service is being provided through telehealth.
Such prohibited limitations shall include, but not be limited to, preauthorization, medical necessity or
homebound requirements.
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5.0 Severability

If any provision of this regulation or the application of any such provision to any person or circumstance shall
be held invalid, the remainder of such provisions, and the application of such provision to any person or
circumstance other than those as to which it is held invalid, shall not be affected.

6.0 Effective Date

This regulation shall become effective [on February _ _, 2016 ten (10) days after being published as a final
regulation].

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)
7 DE Admin. Code 1141

Secretary’s Order No.: 2016-A-0002

1141 Limiting Emissions of Volatile Organic Compounds from Consumer and Commercial Products

Date of Issuance: January 15, 2016
Effective Date of the Amendment: February 11, 2016

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
(“Department” or “DNREC”) pursuant to 7 Del.C. §§6006, 6010, the following findings of fact based on the record,
reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the Secretary in the above-referenced regulatory proceeding.

Background, Procedural History and Findings of Fact

This Order relates to proposed regulation Amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code §1141, Limiting Emissions of
Volatile Organic Compounds from Consumer and Commercial Products, Section 2.0: Consumer Products. The
Department’s Division of Air Quality (“DAQ”) commenced the regulatory development process with Start Action
Notice 2014-09 dated December 8, 2014. The Department published its initial proposed regulation Amendments in
the July 1, 2015 Delaware Register of Regulations. The Department then held a public hearing on August 4, 2015.
Consistent with 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the public hearing record remained open for public comment through August
19, 2015.

The purpose of this proposed regulatory promulgation is to adopt as final the aforementioned proposed
Amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1141, Limiting Emissions of Volatile Organic Compounds from Consumer and
Commercial Products, Section 2.0: Consumer Products (“Amendments”), in order for Delaware to adopt revisions to
the Consumer Products Model Rules developed by the Ozone Transport Commission (“OTC”) to further reduce
emissions of volatile organic compounds (“VOCs”) to aid in meeting the 8-hour ground-level ozone National
Ambient Air Quality Standard (“NAAQS”) in 2015. The Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”) has designated a
part of Delaware in non-attainment for the 2008 NAAQS for ground-level ozone, also known as smog. Ground-level
ozone is formed through the reaction of VOCs and other compounds in the ambient air, particularly on hot, sunny
days. High concentration of ozone can cause or exacerbate difficulty in breathing, asthma and other serious
respiratory problems, a health problem that could be more severe for children and the elderly. Thus, Delaware
must continue to enact regulations to gain further reductions of the emissions of VOC.

Delaware’s first consumer product regulation was approved in 2002, and later revised in 2009. This present
regulatory action was based upon guidelines as set forth in the OTC Model Rules, which were developed by a
team of environmental personnel from a number of OTC states, and are based upon the 2006 and 2009
amendments to the California Air Resources Board (“CARB”) consumer products rule. The OTC is an organization
authorized under the Clean Air Act (“CAA”) to provide assistance to the northeast and mid-Atlantic states in
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attaining the ground-level ozone NAAQS. Based upon the relatively high VOC emissions attributable in general to
the consumer products category and the relatively poor air quality in parts of California, CARB has established a
continuing program to make significant reductions in VOC emissions of regulated consumer products and to add
new products to their rules on a regular basis. The OTC has adopted a policy of following behind the CARB rule
amendment process, allowing sufficient time for their rules to be in force to work out any problems.

In June of 2010, the OTC approved the third model rule for consumer products based upon CARB’s 2006
amendments. Shortly thereafter, the Consumer Specialty Products Association (“CSPA”), a group representing
many U.S. manufacturers of consumer products, asked the OTC to adopt two major CARB product additions
previously unregulated: Multi-Purpose Solvents and Paint Thinners at 3% VOC content. OTC agreed, and
bypassed adopting the CARB 2008 amendments and went directly to the CARB 2009 amendments to capture the
solvents and thinners reduction.   These revisions became the fourth OTC Consumer Products Model Rule, which
was approved in May of 2012. The OTC states agreed to delay enacting the third OTC Model Rule and make both
the third and fourth revisions at the same time.

Delaware developed a draft regulation in January of 2015, which was sent to 37 stakeholders for comment. In
response, the Department’s Division of Air Quality (“DAQ”) received nine replies, and included some of those
comments in the proposed regulation amendment. In this present action, the Department’s DAQ proposes to revise
the Consumer Products regulation by adding and deleting certain products and product forms listed in the OTC
Model Rules, yielding 120 regulated products and product forms in the revised regulation. Multiple existing
products will have their VOC content reduced. Also, ten new products and product forms will be added to the list of
regulated compounds. Additionally, new definitions will be added, and many will be revised, some extensively, to
improve clarity. These proposed revisions are needed to further reduce VOC emissions to aid in meeting the
ground-level ozone NAAQS.

CARB has a long history of regulating consumer products, has performed significant scientific studies, and
held many stakeholder meetings to insure product categories were correctly identified, and that VOC content
targets specified in their initial and updated rules were attainable. The Department believes that CARB and OTC
stakeholder meetings provided ample opportunity for consumer product manufacturer involvement regarding this
matter.

The aforementioned proposed Amendments were presented and thoroughly vetted by the Department at the
public hearing on August 4, 2015. Members of the public attended that public hearing, and provided comment to
the Department regarding the same, both at the time of the hearing and during the post-hearing time period. The
public comment period closed on August 19, 2015.

Subsequent to the record closing for comment after this public hearing, the Department’s DAQ conducted a
thorough review of the hearing record and prepared its formal Technical Response Memorandum (“TRM”), dated
November 19, 2015, which documents the Department’s review of the record, and offers DAQ’s response to all
comments received throughout this regulatory process. In many instances, the comments received by the
Department expressed support for the proposed regulatory amendments, and DAQ thanked those commenters for
their support in this matter. Other commenters suggested revisions to portions of 7 Del. Admin. Code 1141 which
were not contained in Section 2.0, and therefore not a part of this specific proposed regulatory amendment
promulgation. In such instances, DAQ thanked those commenters for their suggestions, and advised (where
applicable) that the Department has already begun its review process for future regulatory amendments related to
those concerns, and anticipated completion of the same in the near future. Yet other commenters requested
allowances be made within the proposed regulation amendments for limited use of certain solvents (such as
methylene chloride); however, given the health hazards associated with the use of such products (and the
unnecessary exposure of the same to Delaware consumers), DAQ denied those requests.

One comment received by the Department from Doug Raymond (of Raymond Regulatory Resources), on
behalf of Stoner, Inc. (“Stoner”), resulted in DAQ making changes to the proposed regulatory amendments in this
matter. Stoner sells a tire coating currently regulated under the EPA’s Aerosol Coating rule. The Department’s
proposed amendments, if promulgated as initially published, would regulate this product as a Rubber/Vinyl
Protectant, which would, in turn, require a drastic reformulation of this product by Stoner. Mr. Raymond noted that
the effective date for the Rubber/Vinyl Protectant rule was proposed to be January 1, 2016, while all of the other
proposed amendments under this rule had their effective dates set to be January 1, 2017. Mr. Raymond
respectfully requested that the Department delay this particular effective date from the originally proposed deadline
of January 1, 2016, to January 1, 2017, noting that, such change would “…allow for consistency throughout the
rule and provide Stoner the much needed time for further reformulation of the current product.”
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In its response to Mr. Raymond’s comments, DAQ acknowledged the difficulty associated with Stoner having to
reformulate its product, and also recognized that, at this point, the original effective deadline of January 1, 2016
had already passed. Moreover, if the regulation amendments were promulgated as initially proposed, it would give
the regulated community absolutely no time to come into compliance with regard to this particular deadline. Thus,
the Department has agreed to revise the proposed regulatory amendments, thereby extending the aforementioned
Rubber/Vinyl Protectant rule compliance deadline from January 1, 2016 to the general rule compliance date of
January 1, 2017.

It should be noted that, while the Department has made revisions to the proposed Amendments to 7 DE
Admin. Code 1141, Section 2.0 as a result of the comment received in this matter as noted above (and also to
correct previous clerical error), such changes are non-substantive, as they neither alter the meaning or intent of the
proposed regulatory amendments, and therefore, no additional noticing or re-publication of the same is
necessitated at this time. It should also be noted that all proper notification and noticing requirements concerning
this matter were met by the Department. Proper notice of the hearing was provided as required by law.

Subsequent to receiving the Division of Air Quality’s aforementioned TRM, The Department’s presiding hearing
officer, Lisa A. Vest, then prepared a Hearing Officer’s Report dated January 8, 2016 (“Report”). The Report
documents the proper completion of the required regulatory development process, establishes the record, and
recommends the adoption of the revised proposed regulatory Amendments as attached to the Report as Appendix
“B”.

Reasons and Conclusions

Based on the record developed by the Department’s experts and established by the Hearing Officer’s Report, I
find that the revised proposed regulatory Amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1141, Limiting Emissions of Volatile
Organic Compounds from Consumer and Commercial Products, Section 2.0: Consumer Products, are well-
supported. Therefore, the recommendations of the Hearing Officer are hereby adopted, and I direct that the revised
proposed regulatory Amendments be promulgated as final.

I find that the Department’s experts in the Division of Air Quality fully developed the record to support adoption
of these revised regulatory Amendments. The adoption of these revised regulatory Amendments will allow
Delaware’s regulations to remain consistent with the guidelines set forth in the Model Rules of the Ozone Transport
Commission states, further reduce VOC emissions to aid in meeting the new 8-hour ground-level ozone NAAQS, and
assist Delaware in achieving healthy air quality for its citizens; 

In conclusion, the following reasons and conclusions are entered:

1. The Department has the statutory basis and legal authority to act with regard to the revised proposed
Amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1141, Limiting Emissions of Volatile Organic Compounds from
Consumer and Commercial Products, Section 2.0: Consumer Products, pursuant to 7 Del.C., Ch. 60;

2. The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority, pursuant to 7 Del.C. Ch. 60, to issue an
Order adopting these revised proposed regulatory amendments as final;

3. The Department provided adequate public notice of the proposed regulatory amendments and all
proceedings in a manner required by the law and regulations, provided the public with an adequate
opportunity to comment on the proposed regulatory amendments, including at the time of the public
hearing held on August 4, 2015, and held the record open through close of business on August 19,
2015, consistent with 29 Del.C. §10118(a), in order to consider public comment on these proposed
regulatory amendments before making any final decision;

4. While the Department has made revisions to the initial proposed regulatory amendments to 7 DE
Admin. Code 1141, Limiting Emissions of Volatile Organic Compounds from Consumer and
Commercial Products, Section 2.0: Consumer Products, as set forth above, such changes are non-
substantive, as they neither alter the meaning or intent of the proposed regulatory amendments, and
therefore no additional re-publication or noticing of this proposed regulation is necessitated at this
time;

5. The Department’s Hearing Officer’s Report, including its established record and the recommended
revised proposed regulatory Amendments as set forth in Appendix “B”, are hereby adopted to provide
additional reasons and findings for this Order; 
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6. Promulgation of the revised proposed regulatory amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1141, Limiting
Emissions of Volatile Organic Compounds from Consumer and Commercial Products, Section 2.0:
Consumer Products, will enable the Department to (1) make Delaware’s regulation consistent with the
guidelines as set forth in the Model Rules of the Ozone Transport Commission states; (2) add 10 new
definitions and revise 32 definitions to improve clarity and increase understanding to the regulated
community; and (3) further reduce VOC emissions to aid in meeting the new 8-hour ground-level ozone
NAAQS, and assist Delaware in achieving healthy air quality for its citizens;

7. The Department has reviewed these revised proposed regulatory Amendments in the light of the
Regulatory Flexibility Act, consistent with 29 Del.C. Ch. 104 (version applicable to all regulations
initially published on or before December 31, 2015), and believes the same to be lawful, feasible and
desirable, and that the recommendations as proposed should be applicable to all Delaware citizens
equally;

8. The Department’s revised proposed regulatory Amendments, as intially published in the July 1, 2015
Delaware Register of Regulations, and as revised and set forth in Appendix “B” as noted above, are
adequately supported, are not arbitrary or capricious, and are consistent with the applicable laws and
regulations. Consequently, they are approved as final revised regulatory amendments, which shall go
into effect ten days after their publication in the next available issue of the Delaware Register of
Regulations; and

9. The Department shall submit this Order approving as final the revised proposed Amendments to 7 DE
Admin. Code 1141, Limiting Emissions of Volatile Organic Compounds from Consumer and
Commercial Products, Section 2.0: Consumer Products, to the Delaware Registrar of Regulations for
publication in its next available issue, and provide such other notice as the law and regulation require
and the Department determines is appropriate.

David S. Small, Secretary

*Please Note: Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

1141 Limiting Emissions of Volatile Organic Compounds from Consumer and Commercial Products

DIVISION OF WASTE AND HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCES

TANK MANAGEMENT BRANCH

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapters 60 and 74 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60 & 74)
7 DE Admin. Code 1351

Secretary's Order No.: 2016-WH-0001

1351 Underground Storage Tank Systems

Date of Issuance: January 12, 2016
Effective Date of the Amendment: February 11, 2016

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
("Department" or "DNREC") pursuant to 7 Del.C. §§6006, 6010, the following findings of fact based on the record,
reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the Secretary in the above-referenced regulatory proceeding.

Background, Procedural History and Findings of Fact

This Order relates to proposed regulation Amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1351: Delaware Regulations
Governing Underground Storage Tank Systems. The Department's Division of Waste and Hazardous Substances,
Tank Management Section, commenced the regulatory development process with Start Action Notice 2015-04
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dated June 24, 2015. The Department published its initial proposed regulation Amendments in the November 1,
2015 Delaware Register of Regulations. The Department then held a public hearing on December 1, 2015.
Consistent with 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the public hearing record remained open for public comment through
December 16, 2015.

The purpose of this proposed regulatory promulgation is to adopt as final the aforementioned proposed
Amendments to the Delaware Regulations Governing Underground Storage Tank Systems ("Amendments"), in
order to remain consistent with current Delaware law. Specifically, DNREC is taking this action to clarify several
issues resulting from amending 7 Del.C. Ch. 74, the Delaware Underground Storage Tank Act, in October of 2014
(note: said amendments have an effective date of January 1, 2016), to wit: (1) amend the existing regulatory
language concerning cleanup liability relating to releases from USTs from the proximate cause standard to that of
strict (joint and several) liability, effective January 1, 2016; (2) update the ways by which owners and operators of
UST facilities currently and in the future may manage and reduce their cleanup liability; (3) add regulatory
language that describes "All Appropriate Inquiry for Residential Properties"; and (4) clarify how the Department will
use environmental covenants and deed notices to ensure the long term stewardship of leaking underground
storage tank sites that are either undergoing or have had corrective actions completed in the past.

It should be noted that the changes to the aforementioned UST cleanup liability also apply to residential
properties that have had a release from a home heating fuel UST. DNREC's new Heating Fuel UST Closure
Assistance Program, launched in March of 2015, now provides for the Department to pay to remove or close in
place residential and commercial tanks buried below ground that hold 1,100 gallons or less of heating fuel. Since
its inception, DNREC has received over 175 applications for the program, and has removed or closed in place over
111 tanks. Response from property owners in Delaware has been overwhelmingly positive, as they are grateful for
the financial assistance, and are relived to be rid of a potential liability on their property.

The above-referenced proposed Amendments, which reflect the statutory changes referenced above, were
presented and thoroughly vetted by the Department at the public hearing on December 1, 2015. Members of the
public attended the December 1, 2015 hearing, however, no comment was received by the Department with regard
to this proposed regulatory promulgation. It should be noted that all proper notification and noticing requirements
concerning this matter were met by the Department. Proper notice of the hearing was provided as required by law. 

The Department's presiding hearing officer, Lisa A. Vest, prepared a Hearing Officer's Report dated January 7,
2016 ("Report"). The Report documents the proper completion of the required regulatory amendment process,
establishes the record, and recommends the adoption of the proposed Amendments as attached to the Report as
Appendix "A".

Reasons and Conclusions

Based on the record developed by the Department's experts and established by the Hearing Officer's Report, I
find that the proposed regulatory Amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1351: Delaware Regulations Governing
Underground Storage Tank Systems are well-supported. Therefore, the recommendations of the Hearing Officer
are hereby adopted, and I direct that the proposed regulatory Amendments be promulgated as final.

I find that the Department's experts in the Division of Waste and Hazardous Substances, Tank Management
Section, fully developed the record to support adoption of these regulatory Amendments. The adoption of these
regulatory Amendments will allow Delaware to modify existing regulatory language concerning cleanup liability
relating to releases from USTs from the proximate cause standard to that of strict (joint and several) liability,
effective January 1, 2016, update the ways by which owners and operators of UST facilities currently and in the
future may manage and reduce their cleanup liability, add regulatory language that describes "All Appropriate
Inquiry for Residential Properties", and clarify how the Department will use environmental covenants and deed
notices to ensure the long term stewardship of leaking underground storage tank sites that are either undergoing or
have had corrective actions completed in the past.

In conclusion, the following reasons and conclusions are entered:

1. The Department has the statutory basis and legal authority to act with regard to the proposed
Amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 1351: Delaware Regulations Governing Underground Storage
Tank Systems, pursuant to 7 Del.C. Ch. 74;

2. The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority, pursuant to 7 Del.C. Ch. 60, to issue an
Order adopting these proposed regulatory amendments as final;
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3. The Department provided adequate public notice of the proposed regulatory amendments and all
proceedings in a manner required by the law and regulations, provided the public with an adequate
opportunity to comment on the proposed regulatory amendments, including at the time of the public
hearing held on December 1, 2015, and held the record open through close of business on December
16, 2015, consistent with 29 Del.C. §10118(a), in order to consider public comment on these proposed
regulatory amendments before making any final decision;

4. The Department's Hearing Officer's Report, including its established record and the recommended
proposed regulatory Amendments as set forth in Appendix "A", are hereby adopted to provide
additional reasons and findings for this Order; 

5. The adoption of these proposed regulatory Amendments will allow Delaware to (1) modify existing
regulatory language concerning cleanup liability relating to releases from USTs from the proximate
cause standard to that of strict (joint and several) liability, effective January 1, 2016; (2) update the
ways by which owners and operators of UST facilities currently and in the future may manage and
reduce their cleanup liability; (3) add regulatory language that describes "All Appropriate Inquiry for
Residential Properties"; and (4) clarify how the Department will use environmental covenants and
deed notices to ensure the long term stewardship of leaking underground storage tank sites that are
either undergoing or have had corrective actions completed in the past;

6. The Department has reviewed these proposed regulatory Amendments in the light of the Regulatory
Flexibility Act, consistent with 29 Del.C. Ch. 104 (version applicable to all regulations initially published
on or before December 31, 2015), and believes the same to be lawful, feasible and desirable, and that
the recommendations as proposed should be applicable to all Delaware citizens equally;

7. The Department's proposed regulatory Amendments, as published in the November 1, 2015 Delaware
Register of Regulations, and as set forth in Appendix "A" as noted above, are adequately supported,
are not arbitrary or capricious, and are consistent with the applicable laws and regulations.
Consequently, they are approved as final regulatory amendments, which shall go into effect ten days
after their publication in the next available issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations; and

8. The Department shall submit this Order approving as final the proposed Amendments to 7 DE Admin.
Code 1351: Delaware Regulations Governing Underground Storage Tank Systems to the Delaware
Register of Regulations for publication in its next available issue, and provide such other notice as the
law and regulation require and the Department determines is appropriate.

David S. Small, Secretary

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
November 2015 issue of the Register at page 402 (19 DE Reg. 402). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1351 Underground Storage Tank Systems

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
OFFICE OF THE ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 4 Delaware Code, Section 304(a) (4 Del.C. §304(a))
4 DE Admin. Code

ORDER

Alcoholic Beverage Control Regulations

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Commissioner has proposed amendments to 4 DE Admin. Code to reflect the current regulatory
environment. The proposed regulations were available on the website of the Registrar of Regulations as well as at
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the Office of the Commissioner.
The notice of the proposed regulations was first made on September 1, 2014 and the same proposals were

made on November 1, 2015. Three hearings were held to receive comments, September 24, 2014 in Wilmington,
Delaware; September 30, 2104 in Dover, Delaware; and October 1, 2014 in Georgetown, Delaware. In addition
comments were solicited and received by e-mail and by regular mail.

Many participants of the hearings and those commenting through e-mails praised the proposed changes and
urged the adoption of the proposals. There were a few persons who testified on specific proposals that suggested
that the proposed changes were better than the current Rule, but did not go far enough. These participants agreed
that the proposed rules should be adopted, and then further changes should be explored. The comments
expressed support for the adoption of the Rules with the following exceptions:

Rule 2.1: Concern was expressed about the expansion of the type (specifically concerned about
allowing the sale of cheeses) and area where products other than alcohol, ice and mixers might be
displayed. Others expressed concern that the proposed rule did not go far enough in that it still
prohibited the sale of meats and bread.

Rule 7.1: Broadening the employment of minors in a package store, Comments were made that allowing
minors in stores selling alcohol is contrary to the public policy limiting access to alcohol to persons
over the age of 21.

Rule 8: Concern was raised about the abolishment of the requirement of a surety bond in the amount
of $20,000.

Rule 11: Concern was expressed about the mandating of hours for stores.

Rule 27: Concern that deleting the words “package store” would result in unintended consequences.

Rule 29: Concern was raised that the requirement of a monthly book unduly increases the cost of
alcohol to consumers.

Rule 36: Concern was raised about decreasing the time where patrons of on-premises licensees could
consume alcoholic beverages purchased prior to 1:00 a.m. from 2:00 a.m. to 1:30 a.m.

Rule 43: Concern was raised that the inclusion of spouses of employees, stockholders, directors and
officers of Suppliers and Wholesalers would be overly broad.

Rule 52: Opposition was raised to including premises other than restaurants and hotels in the
prohibition of minors standing or sitting at service counters.

Rule 77: Opposition was raised to reducing the licensing fee for a Direct Shipper.

Unnumbered:

A. One person commented that it would be a good idea to permit a “BYOB” night at restaurants.

B. There was a recommendation to increase the amount of alcohol that it is permissible for one
retailer to purchase from another retailer from one case per day to five cases per day.

II. FINDINGS OF FACTS

The Commissioner finds that it is appropriate to amend 4 DE Admin. Code as outlined in the proposed Rules.
The comments made by the public were generally in favor of the proposals. With regard to the specific negative
comments the following is the Commissioner’s findings:

Rule 2.1: The proposal to increase the area where items other than alcohol, mixers and ice can be
displayed from 20 square feet to the larger of 20 square feet or 5% of the floor space was intended to
recognize that all off-premises licensees are not the same size, This change in the Rule would allow a
larger store to have a proportionally larger area to display these products. Many off-premises retailers
have expressed an interest in “pairing” wines and cheeses and specifically allowing cheeses to be sold
clarifies the confusing language currently found in these sections. Further expansion of the rule to
permit the sale of meats and breads would bring the package stores closer to being a “grocery store”
or “delicatessen” that is prohibited under Title 4 Section 516 from obtaining a license.

Rule 7.1: Persons who have reached the age of 18 may work in a store. (See Title 4, Section 904(m)).
The current rule limits those persons who can utilize this statute to children of the owner of a store.
There is no reason to believe that this limitation will result in better, more responsible minors employed
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in a store. The statutory provision is permissive, thus any store that is concerned about the
employment of a minor in the store may choose not to employ any person under the age of 21.

Rule 8: The requirement of a surety bond in the amount of $20,000 for a wholesaler has been
abandoned prior to the change from the Commission to the Commissioner. Any entity applying for a
license as a wholesaler must demonstrate that it has the financial stability to acquire such a license.
The deletion of this requirement is appropriate.

Rule 11: The current Rule requires all stores to be open from 9:00 a.m. until 1:00 a.m. unless a
variance is granted by the Commissioner. The proposed rule reduces the requirement to 10 hours
(significantly reduced from the currently required 16 hours) while still mandating that the store meet the
need and convenience of the public.

Rule 27: The deletion of the words “package store” from new Roman Numeral IV would change the
intent of the rule and is therefore inappropriate. These words will not be removed.

Rule 29: The Rule does not require a “book” form, rather a “publication” that can be distributed. The
Wholesalers may agree to any “publication” form as long as all stores may access the pricing list and
there are records maintained to insure compliance with the Rule.

Rule 36: As pointed out in the correspondences, reducing the time when alcohol can be consumed
from 2:00 a.m. to 1:30 a.m. will result in many of the patrons drinking the beverages more rapidly. In
addition, it would likely result in areas with a higher concentration of licensees with more congestion of
persons leaving the establishments as there would be less staggering of closing times. The change of
hours from 2:00 a.m. to 1:30 a.m. will not be made.

Rule 43: The current rule prohibits employees, stockholders and officers of Suppliers and Wholesalers
from having a position with another tier. This is in keeping with the provisions of Title 4 Section 506. By
adding a spouse to these restrictions, the policy behind this statute and rule is not thwarted by a
subterfuge of violating the policy through a spouse. A general prohibition is appropriate and
applications for variances can be made explaining the nature of the relationship and the duties and
authority of the persons involved. The proposal to modify the rule will be adopted.

Rule 52: The prohibition of minors sitting or standing at service counters should apply to all
establishments, not just restaurants and hotels. Clubs, bowling alleys, brew-pubs and other on-
premises licensees should be prohibited from having minors sitting or standing at a bar where alcohol
is being dispensed. The proposed rule change is adopted as proposed.

Rule 77: The fee for a Direct Shipper was statutorily decreased, therefore the change of the fee found
in the Rule is required.

Unnumbered:

A. The proposal to have a “BYOB” night at restaurants is statutorily prohibited, thus no change in the
rule can be made.

B. A proposal to increase the amount of alcohol a retailer can purchase from another retailer from
one case per day to fives per day would be a change that was not proposed in this rule making
procedure. We will consider that at some point in the near future.

III. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATIONS

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that it is appropriate to amend 4 DE Admin. Code as
proposed with two exceptions. The proposal to delete the words “package store” from Rule 27 is not approved and
they will remain as part of that rule. Rule 36 will not change the time when patrons can consume on the premises
from 2:00 a.m. to 1:30 a.m. and it shall remain at 2:00 a.m.

IV. TEXT AND CITATION

The text of 4 DE Admin. Code as revised and amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit
"A", and said regulation shall be cited as 4 DE Admin. Code in the Administrative Code of Regulations for the
Office of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner.
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V. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the Commissioner pursuant to 4 Del.C. §§304(a) and 308
on January 15, 2016. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in
the Delaware Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 15th day of January 2016.

Office of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner
John H. Cordrey, Commissioner

Approved this 15th day of January 2016

* Please Note: Due to the size and extent of the revisions they are not printed here. A PDF version is
available at the following link:

Alcoholic Beverage Control Regulations

DEPARTMENT OF SERVICES FOR CHILDREN, YOUTH AND THEIR 
FAMILIES

DIVISION OF PREVENTION AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 5001(11); 29 Delaware Code, Section 9005(7)
(16 Del.C. §5001(11) & 29 Del.C. §9005(7))

ORDER

Qualifications for Juvenile Mental Health Screeners

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:

Delaware Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families (DSCYF) initiated the process to
adopt the State of Delaware Regulations Governing the Qualifications for Juvenile Mental Health Screeners. The
DSCYF proceedings to adopt regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Del.C. Ch. 101 and authority as prescribed
by 16 Del.C. §5001, (11).

During the 147th Delaware General Assembly, HB 346, AN ACT TO AMEND TITLE 16 OF THE DELAWARE
CODE RELATING TO THE COMMITMENT OF THE MENTALLY ILL, was signed into law. The new law created a
definition for “Juvenile Mental Health Screener” and authorized DSCYF to establish regulations concerning the
credentialing process and criteria for Juvenile Mental Health Screeners.

On December 1, 2015 (Volume 19, Issue 6), DSCYF published in the Delaware Register of Regulations its
proposal to promulgate regulations, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10113. After receiving written public comment, DSCYF
is amending the proposed regulation by changing the first sentence of 3.2.3.2 to read as follows: “Current
employment or contract relationship required with one of the following: DSCYF operated facility, DSCYF crisis
services, or a Delaware licensed mental health hospital under contract with DSCYF.” Since this only clarifies a
definition, it is not a substantive change.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

Language relating to the Qualifications for Juvenile Mental Health Screeners is being promulgated as a new
regulation in accordance with 16 Del.C. §5001, (11).

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the State of Delaware Regulations Governing Qualifications of Juvenile
Mental Health Screeners is adopted and shall become effective February 11, 2016, after publication of the final
regulation in the Delaware Register of Regulations.
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Carla Benson-Green, Secretary
January 15, 2016

Qualifications for Juvenile Mental Health Screeners
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3.0 Qualifications of Applicants for Credentialed Mental Health Screener

3.1 Psychiatrists, Board Certified Emergency Physicians, and Physicians.

3.1.1 Psychiatrists, board certified emergency physicians and physicians who meet the criteria of 16 DE
Admin. Code §§6002.3.1 - 6002.3.3 may detain or abrogate a detainment for a psychiatric
evaluation of any person, over or under age 18 as detailed in 16 DE Admin. Code §6002.

3.2 Licensed Non-Physician Mental Health Professionals

3.2.1 A credentialed Licensed Non-Physician Mental Health Professional, who meets the qualifications
enumerated in this regulation, may detain or abrogate a detainment for a psychiatric evaluation of
a person under the age of 18.

3.2.2 Licensed Non-Physician Mental Health Professionals must meet the following qualifications:

3.2.2.1 Registered Nurse. Each applicant shall document current licensure by the State of
Delaware as a Registered Nurse with a BSN degree and in good standing, as set forth in
24 Del.C. Ch. 19;

3.2.2.2 Advanced Practice Nurse. Each applicant shall document current licensure by the State of
Delaware as an Advanced Practice Nurse in good standing, as set forth in 24 Del.C. Ch.
19;

3.2.2.3 Licensed Clinical Social Worker. Each applicant shall document current licensure in the
State of Delaware as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker in good standing, as set forth in 24
Del.C. Ch. 39 and have at least 2 years/4000 hours of post masters clinical experience;

3.2.2.4 Licensed Professional Counselor of Mental Health. Each applicant shall document current
licensure by the State of Delaware as a Licensed Professional Counselor of Mental Health
in good standing, as set forth in 24 Del.C. Ch. 30 and have at least 2 years/4000 hours of
post masters clinical experience;

3.2.2.5 Licensed Psychologist. Each applicant shall document current licensure by in the State of
Delaware as a Licensed Clinical Psychologist in good standing, as set forth in 24 Del.C.
Ch. 35;

3.2.2.6 Other Licensed Behavioral Health Professional. The Secretary of the Division of Services
for Children Youth and Their Families may designate other behavioral or mental health
professionals, who are licensed under Delaware Law, and the Secretary may set
requirements for their qualifications to serve as juvenile mental health screeners.

3.2.3 Additional requirements; Licensed Non-Physician Mental Health Professionals

3.2.3.1 Licensed Non-Physician Mental Health Professionals must complete DPBHS’s juvenile
mental health screener training, or the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health
mental health screener training, in order to be authorized to act as a juvenile mental health
screener.

3.2.3.2 Current employment or contract relationship required [with one of the following: DSCYF
operated facility, DSCYF crisis services, or a Delaware licensed mental health
hospital under contract with DSCYF]. A credentialed Licensed Non-Physician Mental
Health Professional will no longer be considered a Juvenile Mental Health Screener, and
his authority to detain or abrogate detainments will end, when the professional is no longer
employed by the DSCYF operated facility, or employed by or under contract with the
DSCYF to perform crisis services, or is no longer employed by or under contract with a
Delaware licensed mental health hospital under contract with the DSCYF.

3.2.3.3 For non-physician juvenile mental health screeners, consultation with another juvenile
mental health screener is required. If both juvenile mental health screeners are non-
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physicians, they must concur with the detainment. A physician with juvenile mental health
screener status may override the detainment determination of a non-physician juvenile
mental health screener.

3.2.3.4 Each applicant under this section must be approved or credentialed by the DPBHS.

*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the December 2015 issue of the Register at page 473 (19 DE Reg. 473). Therefore, the final regulation is
not being republished here in its entirety. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

Qualifications for Juvenile Mental Health Screeners

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1725 POLYSOMNOGRAPHY ADVISORY COUNCIL

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 1799W(c) (24 Del.C. §1799W(c))
24 DE Admin. Code 1725

ORDER

1725 Polysomnography Advisory Council

The Delaware Polysomnography Advisory Council, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §§1799W(c), proposed to amend
the regulations governing the practice of polysomnography in the State of Delaware to clarify that the practice
of polysomnography is always deemed to occur where the patient is located.

Following publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations on September 1, 2015 a public hearing was
held on September 28, 2015. Written comment periods were held open for thirty days, and fifteen days
following the public hearing.

SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED

At the time of the deliberations, the Board considered the following documents:

Board Exhibit 1- Affidavit of publication of the public hearing notice in the News Journal;

Board Exhibit 2 - Affidavit of publication of the public hearing notice in the Delaware State News.

There was no verbal testimony given at the public hearing on September 28, 2015. No written comments
were received by the Board during the initial thirty day public comment period; nor were any written comments
received after the public hearing during the fifteen day 29 Del.C. §10118(a) second public comment period.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS

1. The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide the Board with comments in writing and by
testimony at the public hearing on the proposed amendments to the Board’s regulations.

2. There were no public comments provided to the Board during the two written public comment periods,
or the public hearing.

3. Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1799W(c), the Board has statutory authority to promulgate rules and regulations
clarifying specific statutory sections of its statute.

4. The proposed regulations seek to clarify that polysomnographic trainees are limited to a total of two
years of training before they are required to either obtain a license or cease practicing.

5. Having received no public comments, the Board finds no reason to amend the regulations as proposed.

DECISION AND EFFECTIVE DATE

The Board hereby adopts the changes to its rules and regulations as proposed, to be effective 10 days
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following publication of this order in the Register of Regulations . The new regulations are attached hereto as
Exhibit A.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 30th day of November, 2015 by the Delaware Polysomnography Advisory Council.

AND NOW, this 5th day of January, 2016; 

WHEREAS, the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline has considered the attached recommendation
of the Polysomnography Advisory Council for approval of amended rules and regulations related to licensure
renewal; and

WHEREAS, the Board has determined to approve the aforesaid rules and regulations as proposed by the
Polysomnography Advisory Council and attached hereto as Exhibit A.

NOW THEREFORE IT IS ORDERED by the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline:

1. The rules and regulations recommended by the Polysomnography Advisory Council governing
licensure renewal are hereby approved by the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline.

2. The rules and regulations shall be effective ten days after publication of this Final Order in the
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 5th day of January, 2016;
:

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
September 2015 issue of the Register at page 184 (19 DE Reg. 184). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

1725 Polysomnography Advisory Council

Steven D. Conley, President Theodore S. Kruppa, III

Grace R. Denault Paul Walker

Joseph M. Parise, D.O., President Gregory D. Adams, M.D.

Stephen G. Cooper, M.D. (absent) Mary Lomax, Ed.D., Public Member

Georges A. Dahr, M.D. Vonda Calhoun, Public Member 

Barry L. Bakst, D.O. Karyl Rattay, M.D.

N.C. Vasuki, Public Member Malvine Richard, Ed.D., Public Member

Garrett H. Colmorgen, M.D. Mary Ryan, Public Member

Stephen Lawless, M.D. Sharon Williams-Mayo, Public Member
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DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware River Basin Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, February 10, 2016 beginning at
1:30 p.m. A business meeting will be held the following month on Wednesday, March 16, 2016 beginning at 10:30
a.m. The hearing and meeting are open to the public and will be held at the Washington Crossing Historic Park
Visitor Center, 1112 River Road, Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania. For more information, visit the DRBC web
site at www.drbc.net or contact Pamela M. Bush, Commission Secretary and Assistant General Counsel, at
609-883-9500 extension 203 and pamela.bush@drbc.nj.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly meeting on Thursday, February 18, 2016 at 9:00 a.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
OFFICE OF UNCLAIMED PROPERTY, STATE ESCHEATOR

PUBLIC NOTICE
Voluntary Disclosure Agreement and Escheat Examination Manual

In compliance with the State’s Administrative Procedures Act (Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
under the authority of 12 Del.C. §1154, the Delaware Department of Finance’s Office of Unclaimed Property, State
Escheator, proposes to revise and replace its regulations related to its Voluntary Disclosure Agreements and
Escheat Examinations.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10116, persons wishing to submit written comments, suggestions, briefs, and
compilations of data or other materials concerning the proposed regulations should direct them to the following
address:

David Gregor

State Escheator

Department of Finance

820 N. French Street

Wilmington, DE 19801

Notice may also be directed via electronic mail to david.gregor@state.de.us. Any written submission in
response to this notice and relevant to the proposed regulations must be received by the Department of Finance no
later than 4:30 p.m. EST, Friday, April 1, 2016.

The action concerning determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon the
results of Department analysis and the consideration of the comments and written materials filed by other
interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

PUBLIC NOTICE
Statewide Transition Plan

Home and Community-Based Services Settings
Transition Plan Updates

In accordance with the public notice requirements of 42 CFR 441.301(6)(B)(iii), 42 CFR 441.710(3)(iii), and
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Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code, Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of Medicaid
and Medical Assistance (DMMA) gives notice related to the state’s plan to comply with new federal regulations
governing the settings in which the delivery of services to Medicaid Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS)
waiver recipients may be provided.

Purpose
The purpose of this posting is to provide public notice and receive public input for consideration regarding

Delaware Medicaid’s Proposed Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Settings Transition Plan,
specifically the HCBS Transition Plan Updates.

Overview
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) published regulations in the Federal Register (42 CFR

441.301(c)(4)-(6) on January 16, 2014, effective March 17, 2014, which changed the definition of Home and
Community-Based Services (HCBS) settings. Because Delaware’s 1115 Demonstration refers to the 1915(c)
authority for HCBS services, the state must comply with these regulatory changes. Delaware does not have a
1915(k) waiver. The transition plan must describe the process by which the state will ensure that service settings
used in each of its home and community-based waivers meet “community-like” expectations. The final rule
provides for a five-year transition process that will allow states to implement this rule in a manner that supports
continuity of services for Medicaid recipients and minimizes disruptions in service during implementation; as such,
all such services must be in compliance with CMS requirements before March 2019.

For additional information about the CMS HCBS final rule, use the following link to the CMS website:
http://www.medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Long-Term-Services-and-
Supports/Home-and-Community-Based-Services/Home-and-Community-Based-Services.html.
Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS)/Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance (DMMA)
previously provided an opportunity for comment on Delaware’s HCBS Transition Plan.

Transition Plan Update
The Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) is updating the Delaware Statewide Transition Plan

(the Plan) to reflect the current status of implementation activities as of February 2016.  We direct you to the
following sections of the Plan that contain updated information: 

1. February 2016 Update to the Division of Developmental Disability Services (DDDS) Waiver
Assessment and Remediation Plan and February 2016 Update to Diamond State Health Plan (DSHP)
Demonstration and Remediation Plan for new information since publication of the Plan in September
2015;

2. Attachment 5 for the CMS comments and DHSS’ responses;

3. Attachment 6 for updated state systemic assessments by provider setting type;

4. Attachment 7 for DDDS provider surveys; and

5. Attachment 8 for DSHP provider and member survey instruments and findings, and Managed Care
Organizations (MCOs) self-assessment instrument. 

We have updated the Statewide Transition Plan Timeline matrices on pages 10 and 11 to show any tasks, dates,
and completion statuses that have been revised. Moving forward, we plan to update the Plan as needed to reflect
the status of implementation activities as they occur.

Draft of Proposed Statewide 1915 HCBS Settings Transition Plan Update
This public notice, transition plan containing updates, and other related information for participating in and

submitting comment are posted online at:
http://dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dmma/hcbs_trans_plan.html. Delaware will be submitting its updated
Transition Plan to CMS by March 31, 2016.
Hard copies are available by contacting Arlene Baal at Arlene.Baal@state.de.us.

Hard copies are available for review at the Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance, 1901 North DuPont
Highway, Holloway Campus, Lewis Building, Conference Room 198, New Castle, Delaware 19720 from 8:00 a.m.
– 4:30 p.m.
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Public Hearings
DHSS/DMMA will provide the following opportunities to the public to provide input on the proposed (HCBS)

Settings Transition Plan Updates in person. Three (3) public hearings are scheduled. The detailed information for
each public hearing is shown below. 

1. NEW CASTLE COUNTY

Friday, March 4, 2016

4:00pm – 6:00pm

Delaware State Police

Troop 2

Robert Paris Community Room

100 Lagrange Avenue

Newark, Delaware 19702

Phone: 302-834-2620 - main line

(Visitor parking is in the front of the building)

2. Sussex County

Monday, March 7, 2016

1:30am-3:30pm

Thurman Adams State Service Center

(Formerly, Georgetown State Service Center)

546 South Bedford Street

Georgetown, Delaware 19947

Phone: 302-856-5211 or 302-856-5574

(Visitor parking is designated by signs and is close to the entrance of the building)

3. KENT COUNTY

Monday, March 7, 2016  ***CORRECTION***
5:00pm – 7:00pm

Delaware Department of Transportation 
Administration Center

800 Bay Road

Dover, Delaware 19901

Phone: 302-760-2000

(Visitor parking is in the front of the building)

The State will take verbal and written comments at the public hearings. The input provided will be summarized
and used to formulate Delaware’s final statewide transition plan that will be submitted to CMS.

If you require special assistance or auxiliary aids and/or services to participate in the public hearing (e.g., sign
language or wheelchair accessibility), please call the following contact at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing for
arrangements: Arlene Baal at (302) 255-9561

The prompt submission of requests helps to ensure the availability of qualified individuals and appropriate
accommodations in advance.

Public Comment Submission Process
As required by 42 CFR Part 441.301, DHSS/DMMA must provide, at a minimum, a thirty-day public notice and

comment period. Per Del. Code, Title 29, Ch. 101 §10118 (a), the public comment period will be extended to 15
days after the final public hearing. The public is invited to review and comment on the State’s proposed Transition
Plan Updates. Comments must be received by 4:30 p.m. on March 22, 2016. Comments and input regarding the
draft transition plan may be submitted in the following ways:
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 19, ISSUE 8, MONDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2016



CALENDAR OF EVENTS/HEARING NOTICES 785
By email: DMMA_PublicHearing@state.de.us

By fax: 302-255-4481 to the attention of HCBS Transition Plan Updates

By written comments sent to:

HCBS Transition Plan Updates

Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance

Planning, Policy & Quality Unit

1901 North DuPont Highway

P.O. Box 906

New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 

Please identify in the subject line: Draft Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Settings Transition
Plan Updates.

The summary of comments, in addition to a summary of modifications made in response to the public
comments, will be added to the Delaware’s updated HCBS Transition Plan. The state will post on the DMMA
website a summary of public comments and our responses and, the final updated transition plan with any
modifications after the receipt of public comments.

Stephen M. Groff July 27, 2015
Director
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

PUBLIC NOTICE
1100 Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene

The Delaware Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1106(a)(1), proposes to revise its
regulations. The proposed amendments to subsections 4.0 and 4.1 seek to clarify that the statutory requirement
set forth at 24 Del.C. §1122(a)(1) requiring dental candidates to have "received a degree in dentistry from an
accredited dental college or university accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American
Dental Association" may obtain such a degree through either a pre-doctoral dental education program or a post-
doctoral dental program of at least 24 months in any specialty that includes a clinical component. The proposed
changes at subsection 12.2.28 seek to clarify that fee-splitting is a basis for discipline of a Delaware dentist or
dental hygienist.

The Board will hold a public hearing on the proposed rule change on March 17, 2016 at 3:00 PM, Second Floor
Conference Room A, Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments should be sent
to Jennifer Witte, Administrator of the Delaware Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, Cannon Building, 861
Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904. Written comments will be accepted until April 1, 2016.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

1799 Genetic Counselor Advisory Council

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §1799I(c), the Genetic Counselor Advisory Council (“the Council”) of the Delaware
Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline has proposed revisions to its rules and regulations pertaining to license
renewal and continuing education requirements.

A public hearing will be held on March 4, 2016 at 3:30 p.m. in the second floor conference room B of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Genetic
Counselor Advisory Council, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904. Persons wishing to submit
written comments may forward these to the Council at the above address. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the
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final date to receive written comments will be March 19, 2016, which is 15 days following the public hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

2925 Real Estate Commission Education Committee

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. §2906(a)(1), the Delaware Real Estate Commission has proposed revisions to the Real
Estate Commission Education Guidelines (the “Guidelines”).

A public hearing will be held on March 10, 2016 at 9:00 a.m. in the second floor conference room A of the
Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, where members of the public can offer comments.
Anyone wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Real
Estate Commission, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware 19904. Persons wishing to submit written
comments may forward these to the Commission at the above address. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the final
date to receive written comments will be March 25, 2016, which is 15 days following the public hearing. The
Commission will deliberate on all of the public comments at its regularly scheduled meeting on April 14, 2016, at
which time the Commission will decide whether to adopt the revisions as proposed.

The Commission has proposed a new Rule 4.0 to address distance education. Rule 4.0 provides that
prelicensing education, for both salespeople and brokers, and continuing education, may be accomplished through
distance education. The proposed rule establishes standards for distance education courses, providers and
instructors to ensure that applicants and licensees receive appropriate training. Other rules are revised to
accommodate the new Rule 4.0.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF MAINTENANCE AND OPERATIONS

PUBLIC NOTICE
2601 Outdoor Advertising

The Department of Transportation has developed a general revision of its Outdoor Advertising regulations.
Among other changes, the regulations clarify standards for public service signs as well as decorative residential
subdivision signs. It also changes the time period for agri-produce signs to reflect seasonal products outside of the
typical growing season.

The Department will take written comments on the proposed Outdoor Advertising Regulations from February 1,
2016 through March 2, 2016. The proposed Regulations appear below.

Any request for copies of the proposed Regulations, or any questions or comments regarding this document
should be directed to:

Jeff Leonard

Outdoor Advertising and Roadside Control Manager

Division of Maintenance and Operations

Delaware Department of Transportation

250 Bear-Christiana Road

Bear, DE 19701

(302) 326-4585 (telephone)

(302) 739-2895 (fax)

jeff.leonard@state.de.us
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DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
PUBLIC NOTICE

2289 Transportation Network Companies

The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) gives notice of intent to create a new regulation Title 2
Transportation Regulation 2289 Transportation Network Companies. This regulation sets forth regulations and
procedures to clearly identify the roles and responsibilities of each party as they relate to Transportation Network
Companies (TNC) and the safe movement of persons using a TNC service for transportation via a TNC digital
network in the State of Delaware.

The DMV will take written comments on the proposed new Regulation 2289 of Title 2, Delaware Administrative
Code, from February 1, 2016 through March 2, 2016. 

The public may submit their comments to Ken Shock, Chief of Compliance and Investigations, Delaware
Division of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 698, Dover, Delaware 19903, or by fax to (302) 736-7993 Attn: Ken Shock.

DIVISION OF PLANNING AND POLICY
PUBLIC NOTICE

2309 Development Coordination Manual

Pursuant to the authority provided by 17 Del.C. §§132(e), 507, and 508, as well as 29 Del.C. §8404(8), the
Delaware Department of Transportation (DelDOT) adopted the Development Coordination Manual.

The Department, through its Division of Planning and Public Policy, seeks to adopt general revisions to its
existing regulations, the Development Coordination Manual, to address procedural changes, add or modify
technical requirements, clarify and amend design criteria and generally clarify the role of external technical
references and guidance materials, (as supporting documentation for design firms that are implementing the
regulations). These collective changes are both technical and administrative in nature and serve in part to clarify
the intent of the Department as enacted through these regulations.

DelDOT will take written comments on these proposed general revisions to Section 2309 of Title 2, Delaware
Administrative Code, from February 1, 2016 through March 2, 2016. The public may submit their comments to:

Marc Coté, P.E., Assistant Director, Planning Development Coordination via email

(Marc.Cote@state.de.us) or in writing to his attention, 

Division of Planning

Delaware Department of Transportation

P.O. Box 778

Dover, DE 19903
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