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The Delaware Register of Regulations is an 
official State publication established by authority 
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the 
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any 
regulations that are proposed to be adopted, 
amended or repealed and any emergency 
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of 
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the 

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is 
cited by volume, issue, page number and date. An 
example would be:

9 DE Reg. 415-420 (09/01/05)

Refers to Volume 9, pages 415-420 of the 
Delaware Register issued on September 1, 2005.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) 
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is 
$135.00. Single copies are available at a cost of 
$12.00 per issue, including postage. For more 
information contact the Division of Research at 
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties 
may participate in the process by which 
administrative regulations are adopted, amended 
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which 
the validity and applicability of regulations is 
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency 
proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a 
regulation, it shall file notice and full text of such 
proposals, together with copies of the existing 
regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, 
with the Registrar for publication in the Register of 
Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title. The 
notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings 
including a brief synopsis of the subject, 
substance, issues, possible terms of the agency 
action, a reference to the legal authority of the 
agency to act, and reference to any other 
regulations that may be impacted or affected by 
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which 
persons may present their views; if in writing, of 
the place to which and the final date by which such 
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, 
the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public 
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not 
be scheduled less than 20 days following 
publication of notice of the proposal in the 
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be 
held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place 
and a summary of the nature of the proposal shall 
also be published in at least 2 Delaware 
newspapers of general circulation. The notice shall 
also be mailed to all persons who have made 
timely written requests of the agency for advance 
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be 
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the 
proposal is published in the Register of 
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 8, WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2006



INFORMATION ABOUT THE DELAWARE                 1115

REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written 
materials, upon all the testimonial and written 
evidence and information submitted, together with 
summaries of the evidence and information by 
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether 
a regulation should be adopted, amended or 
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order 
which shall include: (1) A brief summary of the 
evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief 
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the 
evidence and information, except where a rule of 
procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A 
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or 
to take no action and the decision shall be 
supported by its findings on the evidence and 
information received; (4) The exact text and 
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or 
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the 
law under which the agency has authority to act; 
and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the 
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, 
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less 
than 10 days from the date the order adopting, 
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal 
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the 
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an 
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the 
making or consideration of a proposed adoption, 
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an 
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of 
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a 
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, 
no judicial review of a regulation is available 
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court 
within 30 days of the day the agency order with 
respect to the regulation was published in the 
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER OF 

REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
DATE           DATE        TIME

MARCH 1 FEBRUARY 15 4:30 P.M. 

APRIL 1 MARCH 15 4:30 P.M.

MAY 1 APRIL 15 4:30 P.M.

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

Deborah A. Porter, Interim Supervisor; 
Kathleen Morris, Unit Operations Support 
Specialist; Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar of 
Regulations; Steve Engebretsen, Assistant 
Registrar; Victoria Schultes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Lady Johnson, Administrative 
Specialist I; Rochelle Yerkes, Administrative 
Specialist II; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative 
Librarian; Debbie Puzzo, Research Analyst; Judi 
Abbott, Administrative Specialist I; Alice W. 
Stark, Legislative Attorney; Ted Segletes, 
Paralegal; Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop 
Supervisor; Marvin L. Stayton, Printer; Don 
Sellers, Printer.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed 
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that 
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published. Proposed regulations are designated with 
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with 
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE COUNCIL ON POLICE TRAINING
Minimum Standards for Firearms Qualifications.......................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  488  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  768  (Final)

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
Proposed Amendment to the Basin Regulations Water Supply Charges and Comprehensive

Plan Relating to Certificates of Entitlement........................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  674 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Moved to Department of State, 75 Del. Laws, Ch. 88, June 30, 2005.
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

Moved to Department of State, 75 Del. Laws, Ch. 88, June 30, 2005.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

101 On-Farm Home Food Processing Operations.................................................................. 9 DE Reg.    12  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg. 1057 (Final)

225 Prohibition of Discrimination.......................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  676  (Prop.)
525 Requirements for Career-Technical Education Programs  .............................................. 9 DE Reg.  677  (Prop.)

HARNESS RACING COMMISSION
502 Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund.......................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   111  (Final)
Rule 8, Veterinary Practices, Equine Health Medications...................................................... 9 DE Reg.   491  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg. 1031  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg. 1066  (Final)

NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT
1201 Nutrient Management Certification Regulations........................................................... 9 DE Reg.   305  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   966  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

101 Delaware Student Testing Program................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   839  (Prop.)
106 Teacher Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)........... 9 DE Reg.   533  (Final)
107 Specialist Appraisal Process Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)........ 9 DE Reg.   539  (Final)
225 Prohibition of Discrimination.......................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  1069 (Final)
235 Teacher of the Year Award.............................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   846  (Prop.)
275 Charter Schools................................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.     19  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   387  (Final)
396 Private Business and Trade Schools................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   493  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   967  (Final)
405 Minor Capitol Improvement Program............................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   496  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   970  (Final)
525 Requirements for Career-Technical Education Programs................................................ 9 DE Reg. 1070  (Final)
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710 Public School Employees Work Day............................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   847  (Prop.)
716 Maintenance of Local School District Personnel Records.............................................. 9 DE Reg.     27  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   395  (Final)
727 Credit for Experience for Educators and for Secretarial Staff......................................... 9 DE Reg.     28  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   396  (Final)
764 (Previously 364) Credentials for an Interpreter Tutor for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing 9 DE Reg.   113  (Final)
765 (Previously 365) Credentials for a Resident Advisor in the Statewide Programs for 

Autism and for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   115  (Final)
920 Educational Programs for Students with Limited English Proficiency........................... 9 DE Reg.     30  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   398  (Final)
930 Supportive Instruction (Homebound).............................................................................. 9 DE Reg.     34  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   402  (Final)
1006 Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA)................................................ 9 DE Reg.   117  (Final)
1008 DIAA Junior High/Middle School Interscholastic Athletics ........................................ 9 DE Reg.   124  (Final)
1009 DIAA Senior High School Interscholastic Athletics..................................................... 9 DE Reg.   126  (Final)
1105 School Transportation.................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.     35  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   404  (Final)
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

310 Certification Administrative Supervisor/Reading Coordinator   .................................... 9 DE Reg.   679  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg. 1072  (Final)

324 Driver Education and Traffic Safety Education Teacher................................................. 9 DE Reg.     46  (Prop.)
332 Certification Technology Education Teacher................................................................... 9 DE Reg.     49  (Prop.)
370 Certification Teacher of Autistic/Severely Disabled Children........................................ 9 DE Reg.     51  (Prop.)
1513 Denial of Licenses......................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   138  (Final)
1514 Revocation of Licenses and Certificates........................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   553  (Final)
1515 Emergency Certificate................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   555  (Final)
1516 Standard Certificate....................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   849  (Prop.)
1518 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification.............................................. 9 DE Reg.   498  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   852  (Prop.)
1519 Alternative Routes to Teacher Licensure and Certification........................................... 9 DE Reg.   501  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   971  (Final)
1522 Standard Certificate Business Education Teacher......................................................... 9 DE Reg.   504  (Prop.)
1528 Standard Certificate Foreign Language Teacher Comprehensive.................................. 9 DE Reg.     54  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   558  (Final)
1529 Standard Certificate Foreign Language Teacher Secondary, Repeal of......................... 9 DE Reg.     57  (Prop.)
1533 Standard Certificate Foreign Language Teacher Elementary, Repeal of....................... 9 DE Reg.     58  (Prop.)
1544 Art Teacher Elementary................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   680  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  1073 (Final)
1545 Art Teacher Secondary................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   680  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg. 1073  (Final)
1549 Music Teacher Elementary............................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   680  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg. 1073  (Final)
1550 Music Teacher Secondary.............................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   680  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg. 1073 (Final)
1552 Physical Education Teacher Elementary........................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   680  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  1073 (Final)
1553 Physical Education Teacher Secondary......................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   680  (Prop.)
1564 Standard Certificate Driver Education and Traffic Safety Education Teacher.............. 9 DE Reg.   545  (Final)
1565 Standard Certificate  School-To-Work Transition Teacher............................................ 9 DE Reg.   136  (Final)
1568 Standard Certificate Technology Education Teacher..................................................... 9 DE Reg.   547  (Final)
1571 Standard Certificate Teacher of Students with Autism or Severe Disabilities.............. 9 DE Reg.   550 (Final)
1584 Permits Paraeducators.................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   139  (Final)

9 DE Reg.   232  (Final)
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DEPARTMENT OF ELECTIONS FOR NEW CASTLE COUNTY
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Security and Integrity of the Absentee Voting Process........................................................... 9 DE Reg.   855  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF REVENUE

Abandoned or Unclaimed Property Voluntary Disclosure Agreement and Audit Programs  9 DE Reg.   771  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE

Chronic Renal Disease Program............................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  860  (Prop.)
Estate Recovery Program........................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  684  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg. 1074 (Final)
Liens and Adjustments or Recoveries.................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  684  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg. 1076 (Final)
Long Term Care Medicaid...................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  521  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  996  (Final)
9 DE Reg.  859  (Prop.)

Long Term Care Nursing Facilities......................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  509  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  978  (Final)

Medicare Part D Prescription Drug Program.......................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  319  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  775  (Final)

Pharmaceutical Services, Mail Order Pharmacy Services...................................................... 9 DE Reg.  508  (Prop.)
Pharmaceutical Services, Multi-State Pooling Rebate Program............................................. 9 DE Reg.  506  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  975  (Final)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan Inpatient Hospital Services................................................... 9 DE Reg.  326  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  783  (Final)
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

4202 Control of Communicable and Other Disease Conditions............................................. 9 DE Reg.  861  (Prop.)
4406 Home Health Agencies (Licensure)............................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  880  (Prop.)
4462 Public Drinking Water Systems..................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.    59  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  306  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  999  (Final)

4466 Radiation Technologists/Technicians (Certification   ................................................... 9 DE Reg.  902  (Prop.)
4468 Delivery of Hospice Services........................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  415  (Final)
4469 Regulations Governing a Detailed Plumbing Code....................................................... 9 DE Reg.  307  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  786  (Final)
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Child Care Development Fund State Plan for the period October 1, 2004 through
September 30, 2005......................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  562  (Final)

Child Care Subsidy Program.................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  931  (Prop.)
Delaware Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) State Plan Renewal............... 9 DE Reg.  907  (Prop.)
Food Stamp Program.............................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  691  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg. 1077 (Final)
Food Stamp Program, Sections 9016.2, 9039.1, 9041.1, 9063.1, 9078.1 and 9079.1............ 9 DE Reg.  800  (Final)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Pages 2-7, Attachment 1.2-A, Attachment 1.2-B, 

Attachment 1.2-C and Attachment 1.2-D........................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  802  (Final)
DSSM:

1005 Case Record Maintenance and Retention............................................................... 9 DE Reg.  523  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg. 1001 (Final)

3004.1.1 TANF Joint Custody......................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  928  (Prop.)
3006 TANF Employment and Training........................................................................... 9 DE Reg. 1033 (Prop.)
3006.6   Senate Bill 101- 1999 and Employment & Training Activities..  ............... 9 DE Reg.  328  (Prop.)
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3006.6   Senate Bill 101- 1999 and Employment & Training Activities......................... 9 DE Reg.  798  (Final)
4002 Resources................................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg. 1034 (Prop.)
4004  Earned Income....................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)
8028.1 Sources of Earned Income................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  930  (Prop.)
9059 Income Exclusions.................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.    60  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  426  (Final)
9 DE Reg.  477  (Errata)

9074  Self Employment Income...................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)

9075 Procedures for Calculating Income Which Can Be Annualized............................ 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)

9093 Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT)......................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  235  (Final)
11000 Child Care Subsidy Program................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  175  (Prop.)
11003 Eligibility Requirements....................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)
14960 Establishing a Cumulative Maximum on Pharmacy Co-Payments...................... 9 DE Reg.  164  (Emer.)

9 DE Reg.  173  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  569  (Final)

15120  Low Income Families With Children Under Section 1931................................. 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)

16230 Financial Eligibility.............................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)

17300  Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries ....................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)

20103 Financial Eligibility Determination...................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  521  (Prop.)
20200 Excluded Income.................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  239  (Final)
20210 Types of Income................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  168  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  564  (Final)
20310 Reparations........................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  239  (Final)
20700.4.5 Illness or Hospitalization................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  522  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  998 (Final)
20810 Treatment of Couples in Medical Assistance....................................................... 9 DE Reg.  142  (Final)
20910.10, Community Spouse Resource Allowance...................................................... 9 DE Reg.    70  (Prop.)
20950 Initial Eligibility Determinations.......................................................................... 9 DE Reg.    70  (Prop.)

Child Care Subsidy Program.................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  572  (Final)
Pharmaceutical Services Program.......................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.      6  (Emer.)

9 DE Reg.    73  (Prop.)
Refugee Cash Assistance........................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  930  (Prop.)
State Plan for Child Care Development Fund for the period October 1, 2003 through

September 30, 2005......................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  167  (Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan: Attachment 2.6-A, Page 26a (New Page) and Supplement 13

to Attachment 2.6A;......................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.    70  (Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 3.1-A, Page 5 Addendum, 5a Addendum, 5b

Addendum........................................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  420  (Final)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Establishing a Cumulative Maximum on Pharmacy

Copayments..................................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  164  (Emer.)
9 DE Reg.  173  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  569  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
504 Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and

Consultants............................................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   939  (Prop.)
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607 Defensive Driving Course Discount (Automobiles and Motorcycles)................................... 9 DE Reg.  524  (Prop.)
607 Defensive Driving Course Discount (Automobiles and Motorcycles)................................... 9 DE Reg.  944  (Prop.)
702 Required Disclosures for Residential Homeowners............................................................... 9 DE Reg.  438  (Final)
703 Prohibited Practices Related to the Nonrenewal of Residential Homeowners Policies......... 9 DE Reg.  196  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  593  (Final)
907 Records Relating to Consumer Complaints............................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  197  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  595  (Final)
1214 Senior Protection In Annuity Transactions........................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  693  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg. 1081 (Final)
1310 Standards for Prompt, Fair and Equitable Settlement of Claims for Health

Care Services.......................................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  240  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING

106 Apprenticeship and Training Regulations........................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  199  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.  806  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR & WASTE MANAGEMENT

1102 Permits........................................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   207 (Prop.)
9 DE Reg. 1084 (Final)

1144 Control of Stationary Generator Emissions................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   207 (Prop.)
9 DE Reg. 1084 (Final)

1125 Requirements for Preconstruction Review.................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   246 (Final)
1201 Accidental Release Prevention Regulation.................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   696 (Prop.)

DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE
Shellfish:

3210 Horseshoe Crab Reporting Requirements.............................................................. 9 DE Reg.     9  (Emer.)
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

5102 Regulation Governing Beach Protection and the Use of Beaches  ............................... 9 DE Reg.  737  (Prop.)
7203 Regulations Governing the Control of Water Pollution, Section 9.4, Concentrated

Animal Feeding Operation.............................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  440  (Final)
7410 TMDL’s for the Naamans Creek Watershed.................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  224  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.  1002 (Final)
7411 TMDL’s for the Shellpot Creek Watershed.................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  224  (Prop.)
7412 TMDL’s for the Chester River....................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  529  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg. 1102 (Final)
7413 TMDL’s for the Choptank River.................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  529  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg. 1002 (Final)
7414 TMDL’s for the Marshyhope Creek............................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  529  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg. 1002 (Final)
7415 TMDL’s for the Pocomoke River Watersheds............................................................... 9 DE Reg.  529  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg. 1002 (Final)
Regulations Governing Storm Water Discharges Associated with Industrial Activities........ 9 DE Reg.  329  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1100 Board of Dental Examiners............................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.     77  (Final)
9 DE Reg.  1036 (Prop.)

1400 Board of Electrical Examiners....................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   260  (Final)
9 DE Reg.   949  (Prop.)

1900 Board of Nursing........................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   226  (Prop.)
9 DE Reg.   815  (Final)
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2000 Board of Occupational Therapists................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   598  (Final)
2500 Board of Pharmacy........................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.     85  (Final)

9 DE Reg.   951  (Prop.)
2930 Council on Real Estate Appraisers................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  1040 (Prop.)
3000 Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals............................... 9 DE Reg.   231  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg. 1106 (Final)
3100 Board of Funeral Services.............................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   262  (Final)
3500 Board of Examiners of Psychologists............................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   373  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg.   452  (Final)
9 DE Reg.   487 (Errata)
9 DE Reg. 1107  (Final)

3600 Board of Registration of Geologists.............................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   456  (Final)
3700 Board of Examiners of Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists & Hearing Aid

Dispensers........................................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   964 (Prop.)
3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners..................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   265  (Final)
5200 Board of Nursing Home Administrators........................................................................ 9 DE Reg.   104  (Final)

OFFICE OF THE STATE BANKING COMMISSIONER
904 Exceptions to Tying Restrictions..................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   532  (Prop.)

9 DE Reg. 1004 (Final)

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Regulation Docket No. 10, Sale, Resale and Other Provisions of Intrastate Telecommun-

ications Services.............................................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.   375  (Prop.)
Regulation Docket No. 45, Development of Regulations for the Facilitation of Competitive

Entry into the Telecommunications Local Exchange Servicemarket.............................. 9 DE Reg.   375  (Prop.)
Regulation Docket No. 50, The Consideration of Rules, Standards, and Indices to Ensure

Reliable Electrical Service by Electric Distribution Companies .................................... 9 DE Reg.   756  (Prop.)
Regulation Docket No. 55, Regarding the Minimum Standards for Service Provided by 

Public Wastewater Utilities Subject to the Jurisdiction of the Delaware Public Service 
Commission..................................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.   105  (Final)

Regulation Docket No. 56, Notice of Proposed Rule-making and Public Hearing Concerning
Renewable Energy Portfolio Standards........................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  1049 (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF PLANNING AND POLICY

Delaware Bicycle Facility Master Plan.................................................................................. 9 DE Reg.  607  (Final)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE
Appointments ................................................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.    47

9 DE Reg.  268
9 DE Reg.  459
9 DE Reg.  620
9 DE Reg. 1008

Executive Order No. 68, Establishing the Health Disparities Task Force..................................... 9 DE Reg.  144
Executive Order No. 69, Establishing a Committee to Recommend Options for Providing

Additional Funding to, and Accelerating the Construction of, Needed Improvements
Overseen by the Delaware Department of Transportation ..................................................... 9 DE Reg.  145

Executive Order No. 70, State Employees and the Right to Organization and Effective Union
Representation........................................................................................................................ 9 DE Reg.  458

Executive Order No. 71, Directing the Delaware Emergency Management Agency to Organize
Volunteers for Response Efforts Involving Hurricane Katrina and its Aftermath.................. 9 DE Reg.  620

Executive Order No. 72, Declaring a State of Emergency Due to Hurricane Katrina
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and its Aftermath.................................................................................................................... 9 DE Reg.  821
Executive Order No. 73, Establishing a Delaware Healthy Mother and Infant Consortium ........ 9 DE Reg.  821
Executive Order No. 74, Directing the Delaware Emergency Management Agency to Organize

Volunteers for Response Efforts Involving Hurricane Rita and Its Aftermath  ..................... 9 DE Reg.  822
Executive Order No. 75, Establishing the Governor’s Mentoring Initiative................................. 9 DE Reg.  822
Executive Order No. 76, Regarding Management of Labor Relations and Administrative

Proceedings in State Government........................................................................................... 9 DE Reg. 1006
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation.  The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code,
 Section 8051(d) (29 Del.C. §8051(d))

PUBLIC NOTICE
SAN # 2005-11

1. Title of the Regulations:
104 Green Energy Fund Regulation

2. Brief Synopsis Of The Subject, Substance And
Issues:

The purpose of this regulation is to modify the existing
regulation relating to the Green Energy Fund. Senate Bill 44
passed by the General Assembly and signed into law by
Governor Minner in July 2005 expands the definition of
“renewable and alternative energy technologies” to include
biodiesel manufacturing facilities, and allows grants to be
given for biodiesel technology demonstration projects. The
Bill also clarifies that the Green Energy Fund can be used to
promote energy efficiency efforts in addition to efforts to
promote renewables.

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action:
There is no sunset date for this regulation.

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
29 Delaware Code, Chapter 80, Section 8051(d).

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The
Proposal:  

None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
Notice Title: Green Energy Fund Regulation

Public Comment
Division, Program: Office of the Secretary, 

Delaware Energy Office
Notice Start Date: 2/01/2006
Notice End Date: 3/01/2006
Notice: DNREC – Delaware Energy

Office

Notification of Revised Program Regulations for the 
Green Energy Fund

Pursuant to Title 29 Delaware Code, Chapter 80,
Section 8055, the Secretary is required to promulgate rules
and regulations necessary to establish the administration of
the Green Energy Fund.

The proposed modification to the Green Energy Fund
Program Regulation will be available on the DNREC
Website at www.dnrec.state.de.us under “Delaware Energy
Office” and will also be available at the Energy Office web
site, www.delaware-energy.com.

Comments will be accepted by the Delaware Energy
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Office, 146 South Governors Avenue, Dover, DE 19901 via
e-mail to charlie.smisson@state.de.us, or fax to 302-739-
1527 during the comment period of 2/01/2006 to 3/01/2006.

A Public Hearing has been scheduled at the Delaware
Energy Office, 146 South Governors Avenue, Dover, DE
19901 for 6:00 p.m. on March 1, 2006.

7. Prepared By:
Charlie T. Smisson, Jr., 
State Energy Coordinator, Delaware Energy Office
302-739-1530 1/10/2006

104 Regulations for the Green Energy Program

Delaware Energy Office
Green Energy Fund Regulations

April 1, 2004 December 29, 2005

1.0 Purpose
The purpose of this regulation is to prescribe procedures

relating to the Green Energy Fund pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 80, Subchapter 2, the Delaware Energy Act.  It is the
goal in establishing this regulation to provide a streamlined
procedure for distributing Green Energy Funds through the
use of grants and loans.

This regulation provides rules of practice and procedure
for application and disbursement of Green Energy Fund
grants and loans for renewable energy projects and
encouraging energy efficiency projects in Delaware.

2.0 Statutory Authority
These regulations are promulgated under authority of 29

Delaware Code, Section 8051(dc).

3.0 Definitions
For purposes of this regulation, the following words and

phrases shall have the meanings set forth below.
“Department” means the Department of Natural

Resources & Environmental Control, the Delaware Energy
Office, or such other agents as the department or Secretary
may designate.

“Conectiv Power DeliveryDP&L” means the trade
name used by Delmarva Power and Light Company.

“DP&L Service Territory” means the service territory
of Delmarva Power and Light Company, or its successor, as
such territory is reflected in the electric service territory
maps maintained by the Delaware Public Service
Commission under the authority of 26 Del.C. §203B.

“Energy Efficiency Improvement” means an increase
in productivity or output for a given energy input when

compared to conventional technologies or practices. Energy
efficiency improvements may include equipment
replacement, installation of controls, changes in operating
practices, or other measures.

“Energy Efficiency Information Program” or
“Information Program” means a program established mainly
to educate or inform energy consumers about the
environmental and economic benefits of energy efficiency
improvements. Energy efficiency information programs may
include the demonstration of new technologies or the novel
application of existing technologies in order to establish their
environmental and economic benefits.

“Energy Efficiency Technology” means a hardware
device or system that provides an end-use energy service
(e.g., lighting, heating, air conditioning, motion, etc.) using
less energy per unit of output than minimum standards allow
or available conventional equipment.

“Fiscal Year” means the budget and accounting year of
the State beginning on July 1 and ending on June 30.
Reference to a Fiscal Year by year number means the Fiscal
Year ending on June 30 of the named year. For example, a
reference to Fiscal Year 2004 means the period beginning on
July 1, 2003 and ending on June 30, 2004.

“Freeze Tolerance Limit” means the temperature
below which a Qualifying System for Solar Water Heating
might suffer damage attributable to freezing.

“Fuel Cell” is an electrochemical energy conversion
device which converts the chemical energy from a fuel
directly into electricity and heat. 

"Geothermal Heat Pump" means either an open or
closed loop system or direct expansion system that uses the
thermal energy of the ground or groundwater as the heat
source and heat sink for residential or non-residential space
heating and/or cooling. It may provide both space heating
and cooling, cooling only or heating only functions. A closed
loop system consists of a ground heat exchanger in which the
heat transfer fluid is permanently contained in a closed
system. An open loop system consists of a ground heat
exchanger in which the heat transfer fluid is part of a larger
environment. A direct expansion system consists of a
geothermal heat pump system in which the refrigerant is
circulated in pipes buried in the ground, rather than using a
heat transfer fluid, such as water or antifreeze solution in a
separate closed loop, and fluid to refrigerant heat exchanger. 

“Green Energy Fund” means the fund established by
29 Del.C. §80547 and administered by the Department.

“Grid-connected”, “Grid-tied” or “Interconnected”
means a condition in which a Qualifying System that is an
electrical generating system serves and is electrically
connected to an electrical load that is also connected to and
served by the local utility electrical grid. The delivery or
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ability to deliver, any portion of the generating capacity into
the utility electrical grid is not required, nor must the loads
served be only alternating current (AC) loads. The
Photovoltaic or Wind Turbine sSystems need only to be
capable of serving electrical loads that would otherwise be
served by the local utility.

“Kilowatt” means the basic unit of electric power equal
to 1,000 Watts.

“Kilowatt-hour” means the basic unit of electric energy
equal to one Kilowatt of power supplied to or taken from an
electric circuit steadily for one hour. One-Kilowatt hour
equals 1,000 Watt-hours. Electric energy is commonly sold
by the Kilowatt-hour.

“Nonresidential” means all classes of customer
purchasing electric power for uses other than for individual
households. These groups of customers generally purchase
electric power for commercial and industrial purposes.
When used as an adjective with respect to Qualified Systems
or Green Energy Program Grants or Loans, such term refers
to systems owned by, or leased to, or grants or loans awarded
to Nonresidential persons.

“Participating Contractor” is Aan appropriately
Delaware licensed contractor who has submitted to the
Department an application designated by the Department
with all required attachments and maintains in full force all
required insurance and warranties as described in Section
5.2. 

“Passive Solar Design” means Aa residential or non-
residential building design that uses no external mechanical
power, such as pumps or blowers, to collect and move solar
heat.

“Photovoltaic” means an electronic non-mechanical
semiconductor device, most commonly made of silicon that
produces direct current (dcDC) electricity from sunlight.

“Placed in Service” means installed, operational, and
producing output.

“Professional Engineer” means "engineer”, as defined
in Title 24 Del.C., Chapter 28, Professional Engineers,
namely, a person who by reason of his or her advanced
knowledge of mathematics and the physical sciences,
acquired by professional education and practical experience,
is technically and legally qualified to practice Professional
Engineering, and who is licensed by the Delaware
Association of Professional Engineers.

“Purchaser” means the purchaser or lessee of a
Qualifying System.

“Qualifying System” has the meaning as set forth in
Section 5.0.

“Renewable Energy Technology” shall have the
meaning as prescribed in 29 Del.C. Chapter 80. 

“Renewable Fuel” means a non-nuclear fuel that can be

derived from non-fossil energy sources that are naturally
replenishing and virtually inexhaustible.

“Residential” means the class or classes of customers
purchasing electric power for household uses. When used as
an adjective with respect to Qualified Systems or Green
Energy Program Grants, such term refers to systems owned
by, or leased to, or grants awarded to Residential persons.

“Retailer” means the vendor or lessor of a Qualifying
System.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control.

“Solar Pathfinder™” is a non-electronic instrument
that measures the annual solar potential for a given site.

“Solar Shade Analysis” means an on site evaluation
using a Solar Pathfinder™ or functionally equivalent device
that measures the annual solar potential for the given site.

“Solar Water Heating” means the heating of water by
use of the sun’s energy rather than electricity or gas or some
other means.

“State” means the State of Delaware.
“Ton of Capacity” means 12,000 British Thermal Units

(BTU) per hour of cooling capacity.
“Watt” means the basic unit of measure of real electric

power, or rate of doing work.
“Watt-hour” means the basic unit of measure of

electric energy consumption.  The total amount of energy
used in one hour by a device that requires one Watt of power
for continuous operation.

"Wind Turbine" means a mechanical/electrical system
that converts the kinetic energy of blowing wind into
mechanical or electric power.

4.0 Green Energy Fund
The Delaware 142nd General Assembly enacted and

Governor Minner signed into law Senate Bills 93 and 145,
which amended Title 29 of the Delaware Code to include
new provisions for utilizing the Green Energy Fund. The law
was further amended by the Delaware 143rd General
Assembly. The law continues to encourage and promote the
use of renewable electric generation technologies, and
alternate energy technologies, and energy efficiency, by
residential and non-residential (commercial) customers.
Further, the law amends §8054(d) by dividing the Green
Energy Fund into three separate and distinct programs.

The programs outlined in §8054(d) are described in full
in this regulation and include the following:

Green Energy Endowment Program 
Technology Demonstration Program 
Research and Development Program

5.0  Green Energy Endowment Program
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5.1 General Provisions
All grants made under the Green Energy Endowment

Program are on a first-come first-served basis. Allowable
expenditures under the Green Energy Endowment Program
and shall not exceed sixty-five percent (65%) of the total
revenue collected during the previous fiscal year or sixty-
five percent (65%) or the total fund whichever is greater,
including energy efficiency education programs. Energy
efficiency education programs shall not exceed thirty percent
(30%) of allowable Green Energy Endowment Program
expenditures. Under no circumstances will the Department
issue grants for land acquisition in association with any
project proposed in the Green Energy Endowment Program.

Of the total funds available through Green Energy
Endowment Program on an annual basis, the grants made for
residential projects shall not exceed 40% of the total funds
available and the non-residential grants shall not exceed 60%
of the total funds available, including energy efficiency
programs.

Up to seven and one-half percent (7.5%) of the moneys
deposited in the Green Energy Fund each year may be used
for administration of the Fund.

5.2 Eligibility
The Delaware Green Energy Program is available to

Conectiv Power Delivery DP&L electric customers or
persons in Delaware receiving services from a non-regulated
electric supplier which is contributing to the Green Energy
Fund. All eligible equipment and products must be installed
in Delaware. Energy Efficiency Programs must be
implemented in Delaware for the primary benefit of DP&L
customers, or persons in Delaware receiving services from a
non-regulated electric supplier which is contributing to the
Green Energy Fund.

5.3 Renewable Energy Grant Reservation Request
Customers and contractors applying for any grant for a

renewable energy project must provide the following
information to the Department prior to installing the system:

5.3.1 Completed Grant Reservation Form
signed by both customer and contractor

5.3.2 The type of qualifying system
5.3.3 Copy of project estimate, purchase order,

or letter of intent
5.3.4 Copy of the customer’s recent Conectiv

Power Delivery electric bill or a bill from a non-regulated
electric supplier which is contributing to the Green Energy
Fund

5.3.5 System schematic or line drawing
5.3.6 Plot plan illustrating well, turbine, or

module location (wind and geothermal only, photovoltaic
when system is ground mounted)

5.3.7 Manual J calculation (geothermal only)

5.3.8 Detailed system design and a predicted
performance calculation verified by a Professional Engineer.
(Non-residential solar water heating systems only.)

5.3.9 Roof diagram illustrating the following:
5.3.9.1 Roof dimensions (angle, length and

width)
5.3.9.2 Location of collectors or modules on

roof
5.3.9.3 Location of any roof-mounted or

building-mounted equipment
5.3.9.4 Orientation and Tilt of array or

collectors
5.3.9.5 Areas of shading (Provide Solar

Pathfinder results for all cases where shading occurs
between 9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. Results of the solar shade
analysis must determine that 70% of the annual solar path’s
area is shade free to be considered for a grant.)

5.4 Evaluation of Renewable Energy Grant Reservation
Request 

Upon receipt of the Grant Reservation Request and
supporting documents, the Department will perform an
evaluation to check the proposal package for its compliance
with the requirements noted above. If the proposal package
is complete, the Department will process the Grant
Reservation and issue a Confirmation and Claim Form to the
applicant. All requirements as outlined in Section 5.3 must
be provided to the Department prior to processing the grant
reservation. 

The Department will reserve the funds for the project
described in the Grant Reservation Request for six (6)
months from the date of the reservation for residential
applicants and twelve (12) months from the date of
reservation for non-residential applicants. Since all grants
are reserved on a first come-first served basis, viable projects
that are not completed within the required time will be
placed at the end of the queue and issued an extension of six
(6) months from the date of the expired reservation for
residential applicants and twelve (12) months from the date
of expired reservation for non-residential applicants. To be
considered of a reservation extension, the Department will
require a project status and summary in writing fourteen (14)
business days prior to the expiration of the original
reservation.

5.5 Claim for and Distribution of Green Energy
Program Renewable Energy Grants

After installation, the customer and contractor must
provide the following to the Department:

5.5.1 Completed Confirmation and Claim form
signed by customer and contractor

5.5.2 Copy of electrical, plumbing or building
inspection
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5.5.3 Copy of completed and approved Conectiv
Power Delivery DP&L Interconnection Agreement
(photovoltaic, wind, fuel cell) or similar document from a
non-regulated electric supplier which is contributing to the
Green Energy Fund

5.5.4 Copy of product specification sheets
5.5.5 Copy of final sales invoice (invoice must

include actual price paid, itemized list of components, labor,
permit fees, method of payment)

5.5.6 Copy of warranty agreement
5.5.7 Copy of verification of completion of

installation signed by customer and contractor.
Upon receipt of the completed Reservation Claim Form

and all final documentation pertaining to the project as noted
in Section 5.5.1-5.5.6, the Department will evaluate the
Reservation and Claim Form and the required accompanying
documents for consideration of grant approval. The
contractor and customer are fully responsible for insuring
that all forms and documentation have been supplied and the
system meets all program requirements. The Department
may make an inspection of the systems prior to final grant
approval.  

The Department will process the grant within 30 days of
receipt of the Reservation and Claim Form and all
supporting documentation. The Department will ordinarily
process the payment to the purchaser, however, if the
purchaser so requests in writing and documentation reflects
the grant value was reduced directly from the purchase price,
the Department will process the payment to the retailer or
installing contractor.

Upon written request, the Department will pay the grant
in two installments. Twenty-five percent 25% of the grant
paid after the equipment is delivered to the installation site
and all required permits, approvals, certifications from all
jurisdictions having authority are secured. The remaining
twenty-five percent is paid when the system is operational
and approved by the utility and/or appropriate inspection
agent. The Department reserves the right to review any
installation prior to any partial or final grant payment.

5.6 Green Energy Program Renewable Energy Project
Participating Contractor Guidelines 

5.6.1 Participating Contractor Application
Contractors installing qualifying photovoltaic, solar water
heating, geothermal heat pumps, small wind turbines, or fuel
cells must complete the Participating Contractor Application
prior to installing systems within the Green Energy Program.
The application will consist of the following:

5.6.1.1 Name of company and key contact
information

5.6.1.2 Brief history and organizational
structure of company 

5.6.1.3 Education, experience and licensure
5.6.1.4 General liability and statutory

worker’s compensation
5.6.1.5 Statement of reliability and good

standing
5.6.2 Education and Licensure
Participating Contractors shall maintain appropriate

education and licenses to insure that only professionally
designed systems are installed within the Program. The
Participating Contractor must be licensed in the State of
Delaware.

Where industry certification programs have been
promulgated, grant recipients are encouraged to use industry
certified contractors.

5.6.3 Insurance Requirements
The Participating Contractor and anyone acting

under its direction or control or on its behalf shall at its own
expense procure and maintain in full force at all times
Commercial General Liability Insurance with a bodily injury
and property damage combined single limit of liability of at
least ONE MILLION DOLLARS ($1,000,000) for any
occurrence.

5.6.4 Statement of Reliability and Good
Standing

Contractor must be reliable and in good standing
with a “Satisfactory Record” (or no negative reports) with
the Better Business Bureau. The Contractor shall provide a
copy of their Better Business Bureau report to the
Department upon request. Reports may be obtained at the
following address.

BBB of Delaware
1415 Foulk Road, Suite 202
Foulkstone Plaza
Wilmington, DE 19803
Phone: (302)230-0108
Fax: (302)230-0116
Web Site: www.delaware.bbb.org
Email: info@delaware.bbb.org

5.6.5 Limitation of Funds
The Program funds are limited. The Participating

Contractor shall follow program guidelines to insure
reservation of funds prior to installing a qualifying system.

5.6.6 Owner’s Manual Minimum Requirements
Contractors are required to provide each Program participant
with an owner’s manual. At a minimum, the owner’s manual
shall include the following:

5.6.6.1 Name and address of the seller
5.6.6.2 System model name or number
5.6.6.3 Identification and explanation of
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system components
5.6.6.4 Description of system operation
5.6.6.5 Description of system maintenance
5.6.6.6 Description of emergency procedures
5.6.6.7 Vacation procedures
5.6.6.8 Systems warranty

5.7 Renewable Energy Project Warranty
All qualifying systems receiving a Green Energy

Program grant must have a full 5-year warranty against
component failure, malfunction and premature output
degradation. The warranty must cover all components for
which the program incentive is granted and cover the full
cost of repair and replacement of all components of the
system. For professionally installed systems, the warranty
must cover the labor to remove and replace defective
components and systems.

5.8 Renewable Energy Project Code Compliance
All qualifying systems must be installed in accordance

with the standards and specifications of the manufacturers of
the components in the system, in compliance with all
applicable local electric and building codes, local ordinances
and these guidelines. Where discrepancies, if any, exist with
these guidelines and local codes, local codes shall govern.

5.9 Green Energy Program Renewable Energy
Technologies

Renewable energy project equipment must meet the
standards described in Section 5.9:

5.9.1 Photovoltaic Systems 
5.9.1.1 Grant Limits

Subject to availability of funds, the Delaware Green Energy
Program offers grants for grid-connected photovoltaic
systems installed by qualified contractors and customers up
to 50% of the total installed costs. Grants will not exceed
$22,500 per residential dwelling for residential systems and
$250,000 per non-residential facility for non-residential
systems. A photovoltaic system may not have eligible
qualifying photovoltaic system costs in excess of $12 per
Watt.

5.9.1.2 Accepted Products and Equipment
5.9.1.2.1 Grid Interconnected
All photovoltaic modules must be certified

by a nationally recognized testing laboratory as meeting the
requirements of the most recent version of Underwriters
Laboratory Standard 1703.

All qualifying grid-connected systems
must comply with the Institute of Electrical and Electronic
Engineers Standards Board (IEEE) 929, Recommended
Practice for Utility Interface of Photovoltaic (PV) Systems,
IEEE 1547, Standard for Interconnecting Distributed
Resources with the Electric Power Systems and the
appropriate generation interconnection requirements of

Conectiv DP&L’s Power Delivery's, Technical
Considerations Covering Parallel Operations of Customer
Owned Generation of Less than 1 Megawatt and
Interconnected with the Conectiv DP&L Power Delivery
System or similar interconnection requirements from a non-
regulated electric supplier which is contributing to the Green
Energy Fund.  

All inverters must be certified by a
nationally recognized testing laboratory for safe operation
and be certified as meeting the requirements of Underwriters
Laboratory Standards 1741, Standard for Static Inverters and
Charge Controllers for Use in Photovoltaic Power Systems. 

All grid interconnected systems must be
designed and installed to comply with the National Electric
Code (NEC).

5.9.1.2.2 Non-Grid Interconnected or
Stand-Alone

All photovoltaic modules must be certified
by a nationally recognized testing laboratory as meeting the
requirements of the most recent version of Underwriters
Laboratory Standard 1703.

All non-grid interconnected or stand-alone
systems shall be designed and installed to comply with the
National Electric Code (NEC)].

5.9.1.3 Array Orientation and Tilt
Optimum array orientation is a 180° true

bearing. However, the program accepts solar arrays oriented
between South of due East and South of due West or
between 80° and 260° magnetic. Systems installed between
260° and 80° magnetic or North of due East and North of
due West are not eligible for a Green Energy Program Grant.

Optimum array tilt is equal to the latitude at the
installation site. However, the program accepts array tilt
parameters as specified by the module manufacturer which
may allow for tilts greater than and less than latitude.

5.9.1.4 Array Shading
Photovoltaic arrays shall be installed such that

the array has a minimum of six (6) hours of unobstructed
sunshine daily inclusive of solar noon. A "solar window" of
eight (8) hours of unobstructed sunshine is preferred.  

The installing contractor is responsible for
insuring that the system is free from shading. The installing
contractor shall perform a “Solar Shade Analysis” to ensure
the array meets the minimum daily sunshine requirements.
Results of the solar shade analysis must determine that 70%
of the annual solar path’s area is shade free to be considered
for a grant.

5.9.1.5 Aesthetics
Aesthetics must be considered in the design

and mounting of the photovoltaic array. The designing
contractor must provide a roof schematic complete with roof
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dimensions, array placement, orientation and areas of
shading to the Department prior to installation. The
designing contractor must make every attempt to configure
the modules in an aesthetically pleasing manner free from
shading. 

5.9.2 Solar Water Heating
5.9.2.1 Grant Limits
Subject to availability of funds, the Delaware

Green Energy Program offers grants for solar water heating
systems installed by qualified contractors and customers up
to 50% of the total installed cost. Grants will not exceed
$3,000 per residential dwelling for residential systems and
$250,000 per non-residential facility for non-residential
systems.  

Solar water heating systems integrated into a
radiant heating application are eligible for a grant up to 50 %
of the installed cost of the solar energy portion of the system.
Grants will not exceed $5,000 per residential dwelling for
residential systems and $250,000 per non-residential
dwelling for non-residential systems.

5.9.2.2 Accepted Products and Equipment
A solar water heating system must be designed

to reduce or eliminate the need for electric or gas heated
water. 

All qualifying residential solar water heating
systems must be certified to meet the Solar Rating and
Certification Corporation's (SRCC) OG- 300, Operating
Guidelines and Minimum Standards for Certifying Solar
Water Heating Systems: An Optional Solar Water Heating
System Certification and Rating Program and have a Freeze
Tolerance Limit of minus 21 degrees Fahrenheit without
electrical power.

All qualifying non-residential solar water
heating systems and solar energy systems integrated into a
radiant heating application must utilize collectors certified to
meet the Solar Rating and Certification Corporation's
(SRCC) OG-100, Operating Guidelines for Certifying Solar
Collectors.

Non-residential solar water heating systems
will be required to submit a detailed system design and a
predicted performance calculation verified by a Professional
Engineer (P.E.)

5.9.2.3 Collector Orientation and Tilt
Optimum collector array orientation is a 180°

true bearing.  However, the program accepts solar collectors
oriented between South of due East and South of due West or
between 80° and 260° magnetic. Systems installed between
260° and 80° magnetic or North of due East and North of
due West are not eligible for a Green Energy Program Grant.

Optimum collector tilt is equal to the latitude at
the installation site. However, the program accepts collector

tilt parameters as specified by the collector manufacturer
which may allow for tilts greater than and less than latitude.

5.9.2.4 Collector Shading
All collectors shall be installed such that the

collector array has a minimum of six (6) hours of
unobstructed sunshine daily inclusive of solar noon. A "solar
window" of eight (8) hours of unobstructed sunshine is
preferred.  

The installing contractor is responsible for
insuring that the system is free from shading. The installing
contractor shall perform a “Solar Shade Analysis” to ensure
the array meets the minimum daily sunshine requirements.
Results of the solar shade analysis must determine that 70%
of the annual solar path’s area is shade free to be considered
for a grant.

5.9.2.5 Aesthetics
Aesthetics must be considered in the design

and mounting of the solar water heating collectors. The
designing contractor must complete a roof schematic
complete with roof dimensions, collector placement,
orientation and areas of shading to the Department prior to
installation. The designing contractor must make every
attempt to configure the collectors in an aesthetically
pleasing manner.

5.9.3 Small Wind Turbines
5.9.31 Grant Limits
Subject to availability of funds, the Delaware

Green Energy Program offers incentives up to 50% of the
total installed cost for small grid-connected wind turbines
installed by a qualified contractor for a qualified customer.
Small wind turbines shall be at least 500 Watts. Grants will
not exceed $22,500 per residential dwelling for residential
systems and $100,000 per non-residential facility for non-
residential systems. A qualifying wind turbine system shall
not exceed $5.00 per Watt installed.

5.9.3.2 Capacity Limits
Qualifying wind turbine systems shall be at

least 500 Watts. 
The Department may reject applications if the

location of the proposed wind turbine system has an
inadequate wind resource for reasonable utilization of the
equipment as recommended by the turbine manufacturer.
Wind resources can vary significantly; therefore, the
contractor and customer must take care that the location has
adequate wind for the turbine selected. It is strongly
recommended that a professional evaluation of your specific
site be completed. The Department may require additional
evidence of feasibility prior to approving the grant
reservation.

5.9.3.3 Accepted Products and Equipment
5.9.3.3.1 Grid Interconnected
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All qualifying grid-connected small wind
systems must use Underwriters Laboratory listed equipment
and comply with the Institute of Electrical and Electronic
Engineers Standards Board (IEEE) 929, Recommended
Practice for Utility Interface of Photovoltaic (PV) Systems,
IEEE 1547, Standard for Interconnecting Distributed
Resources with the Electric Power Systems and the
appropriate generation interconnection requirements of
Conectiv Power Delivery's, Technical Considerations
Covering Parallel Operations of Customer Owned
Generation of Less than 1 Megawatt and Interconnected with
the Conectiv Power Delivery System or similar
interconnection requirements from a non-regulated electric
supplier which is contributing to the Green Energy Fund.  

All inverters or other systems used in
interconnection must be certified by a nationally recognized
testing laboratory for safe operation and be certified as
meeting the requirements of Underwriters Laboratory
Standards 1741, Standard for Static Inverters and Charge
Controllers for Use in Photovoltaic Power Systems.

All grid interconnected systems must be
designed and installed to comply with the National Electric
Code (NEC).

5.9.3.3.2 Non-Grid Interconnected or
Stand-Alone

All qualifying non-grid interconnected
wind systems must use Underwriters Laboratory certified
listed equipment and systems shall be designed and installed
to comply with the National Electric Code (NEC).

5.9.4 Geothermal Heat Pump Systems
5.9.4.1 Grant Limits
Subject to availability of funds, the Delaware

Green Energy Program offers grants for geothermal heat
pump systems installed by qualified contractors and
customers at the following rates:

Residential:
$600 per ton not exceeding $3,000 per

residential dwelling for residential systems installed with an
Energy Efficiency Ratio (EER) of 15.0 and Coefficient of
Performance (COP) of 3.4 or greater or 50% of the installed
cost whichever is lower, or 

$500 per ton not exceeding $2500 per
residential dwelling for residential systems with an Energy
Efficiency Ratio (EER) of 14.0 and Coefficient of
Performance (COP) of 3.0 or greater or 50% of the installed
cost whichever is lower.

Non-residential:
$600 per ton not exceeding $25,000 per

non-residential facility for non-residential systems with an
Energy Efficiency Ratio (EER) of 15.0 and Coefficient of
Performance (COP) of 3.4 or greater or 50% of the installed

cost whichever is lower, or
$500 per ton not exceeding $25,000 per

non-residential facility for non-residential systems with an
Energy Efficiency Ratio (EER) of 14.0 and Coefficient of
Performance (COP) of 3.0 or greater or 50% of the installed
cost whichever is lower.

5.9.4.2 Accepted Products and Equipment
Qualifying geothermal heat pump systems

must be sized in accordance with good heating, ventilation
and air conditioning design practices for the occupancy,
location and structure. Contractor shall provide a Manual J
calculation, or other equivalent calculation, to determine
proper size of equipment. 

All qualifying systems must have a warranty
for protection of the integrity and performance of the system
for at least five years.  All units installed under this program
must have a minimum EER of 14.0 and COP of 3.0.
Qualifying systems must meet the following:

Closed loop systems shall qualify under rating
conditions in accordance with ISO 13256-1.

Open loop systems shall qualify under rating
conditions in accordance with ISO 13256-1.

DX systems shall qualify under rating
conditions in accordance with ARI 870.

5.9.5 Fuel Cells
5.9.5.1 Grant Limits
Subject to availability of funds, the Delaware

Green Energy Program offers grants for grid-connected fuel
cells installed by qualified contractors and customers up to
50% of the total installed cost for fuel cell systems operating
on a renewable fuel source. Grants will not exceed $22,500
for residential systems and $250,000 for non-residential
systems.

5.9.5.2 Accepted Products and Equipment
5.9.5.2.1 Grid Interconnected
All Qualifying fuel cells systems must

utilize a renewable fuel source and meet the National Fire
Protection Association (NFPA) 853 for Stationary Fuel Cell
Power Plants, the Institute of Electrical and Electronic
Engineers Standards Board (IEEE) 519-Recommended
Practices and Requirements for Harmonic Control in Electric
Power Systems, the most current version of the American
National Standards Institute (ANSI) Z21.83 for Fuel Cell
Power Plants, and input and output protection functions
should be in compliance with ANSI C37.2 Device Function
Number Specifications.

All grid interconnected systems must be
designed and installed to comply with the National Electric
Code (NEC).

5.9.5.2.2 Non-Grid Interconnected or
Stand-Alone
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All non-grid interconnected or stand-alone
systems shall be designed and installed to comply with the
National Electric Code (NEC).

5.10 Energy Efficiency Information Programs
Subject to availability of funds, the Delaware Green

Energy Endowment Program offers grants for energy
efficiency information programs.

Energy Efficiency Information Programs must be
submitted to the Department in the form of a proposal.
Proposals will be requested by the Department as needed to
address specific energy education requirements, or may be
submitted unsolicited. The total of all grants awarded under
the Green Energy Endowment Program for Energy
Efficiency Education Programs shall not exceed thirty
percent (30%) of the allowable expenditures for the Green
Energy Endowment Fund.

To be eligible for consideration, an Energy Efficiency
Information Program must encourage energy efficiency
improvements through education, information, or
promotion. Proposals may target groups of consumers, using
outreach, communications, technical support, or analytical
resources. Energy Efficiency Information Programs may
include residential or nonresidential customers.

Newly available energy efficiency technologies or novel
applications of available energy efficiency technologies may
be included in Energy Efficiency Information Programs to
the extent necessary to demonstrate their capabilities and
their environmental and economic advantages.

Energy Efficiency Information Programs must include
plans to make available and broadly disseminate information
to the targeted consumers. Quantifiable goals including
estimated annual energy savings, numbers of people or
organizations reached, and environmental impacts, must also
be included. Other goals may include measurable market
transformation indicators, such as penetration of new, high
efficiency products into the market place.

Energy Efficiency Information Programs are not
intended to provide equipment rebates or funding for
technology development. The Department will not provide
funding for technology development, general facility or
equipment upgrades, or facility renovations.

6.0 Technology Demonstration Program
6.1 General Provisions 
Subject to the availability of funds, the Green Energy

Fund’s The Technology Demonstration Program provides
grants to projects that demonstrate the market potential for
new renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies
and accelerate the commercialization of these technologies
in Delaware.

Technology Demonstration Program proposals will be

accepted by the Department on a biannual basis. The total of
all grants awarded under the Technology Demonstration
shall not exceed twenty-five percent (25%) of all revenue
collected for the Green Energy Fund during the previous
fiscal year or 25% of the fund balance whichever is greater. 

To be eligible for consideration, a project must
demonstrate a commercially available technology. Research
and Development projects will not be funded under the
Technology Demonstration Program. To be eligible for
consideration, a project must demonstrate either a novel
technology or a novel application of an available technology.
Projects must include a public education component, such as
integration into an educational program or location at a
facility that allows public tours of the installed renewable
energy technology.

The Delaware Technology Demonstration Program
grants are available to applicants located within the State of
Delaware for projects conducted in the State of Delaware.

Under no circumstances will the Department issue
grants for land acquisition in association with any project
proposed in the Technology Demonstration Program.

6.1.12 Grant Limits
Subject to availability of funds, the Green Energy

Fund’s Technology Demonstration Program offers grants to
projects that demonstrate the market potential of renewable
energy technology in Delaware. Individual grants shall not
exceed twenty-five percent (25%) of the cost of the eligible
equipment for a renewable energy technology project and
will not exceed $200,000 per project. Grants for biodiesel
manufacturing facilities shall not exceed twenty-five percent
(25%) of the project cost and no one project may receive
more than $300,000.  

In all cases, the cost of the eligible equipment shall
include only the costs of labor, overhead expenditures,
equipment, materials, and subcontractors incurred during the
performance of the Technology Demonstration Program
contract.  Expenditures made prior to contract award are not
eligible.

6.1.2.3 Code Compliance
All Technology Demonstration Program projects must

be installed in accordance with the standards and
specifications of the manufacturers of the components in the
system and in compliance with all applicable local electric,
plumbing, and building codes and local ordinances to be
considered for application.  

6.1.34 Permits
All Technology Demonstration Program projects must

obtain all relevant permits from the Delaware Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control, other
necessary state, local, regional, and federal permits to be
considered for application.  
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6.1.45 Application Process
Technology Demonstration Program proposals will be

accepted on a biannual basis. Applicants for the Technology
Demonstration Program shall submit their proposals and
supporting information in accordance with Requests for
Proposals issued by the Department.  six (6) copies of the
proposal and supporting documentation to the Department
and Applicants must receive approval prior to beginning the
project. 

In addition to the requirements in Section 6.2, proposals
for grants under Technology Demonstration Program shall
include the following:

6.1.4.1 Detailed project description including
location of project, size of project, description of building,
structure or site 

6.1.4.2 Experience of project team
6.1.4.3 Detailed estimate of total project costs
6.1.4.4 List of project partners
6.1.4.5 Estimated energy impact
6.1.4.6 Letter of commitment from building

owner or manager
6.1.4.7 Project schedule including detailed

milestones
6.1.4.8 Design plans

The Department may request additional information
upon review of initial proposal.

Applications will be reviewed by a committee
established by the Department. The Department will
determine the eligibility for a grant and will, in particular,
consider the education requirements in 6.1.  A statement of
reservation of funds and authorization to proceed will be
issued by the Department upon acceptance as a Technology
Demonstration Program project.The Department reserves
the right to reject any or all proposals if the information
provided is inadequate or incomplete.

6.1.56 Distribution of Technology Demonstration
Grants

The Department will process the invoices from the grant
recipient in accordance with contract terms  within 30 days
of receipt of invoice and supporting documentation.
Invoices may require Ssupporting documentation shall
including,e but not limited to, hours worked, receipts for
expenditures and a brief progress report.

6.27 Accepted Products and Equipment
All Technology Demonstration Program projects

interconnecting with the utility grid must comply with the
Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers Standards
Board (IEEE) 929, Recommended Practice for Utility
Interface of Photovoltaic (PV) Systems and the appropriate
generation interconnection arrangement of Conectiv Power
Delivery DP&L's, Technical Considerations Covering

Parallel Operations of Customer Owned Generation of Less
than 1 Megawatt and Interconnected with the Conectiv
Power Delivery DP&L System or a similar document from a
non-regulated electric supplier. 

All inverters must be certified by a nationally
recognized testing laboratory for safe operation as well as be
certified as meeting the requirements of Underwriters
Laboratory Standards 1741- 1999, Standard for Static
Inverters and Charge Controllers for Use in Photovoltaic
Power Systems.

62.7.1 Photovoltaic Systems
Photovoltaic projects located in Delaware use

photovoltaic electricity to replace or substitute the need for
non-renewable fuel, or include a novel or innovative use of
photovoltaic design are eligible to receive a grant under the
Technology Demonstration Program.  

62.7.2 Solar Thermal
Solar thermal projects located in Delaware that use

solar thermal energy to produce electricity, replace or
substitute the need for non-renewable fuel, or includes a
novel or innovative use of solar thermal design is eligible to
receive a grant under the Technology Demonstration
Program.  

62.7.3 Small Wind Turbines
Small wind turbine projects located in Delaware

may apply for a grant under the Technology Demonstration
Program.  

62.7.4 Fuel Cells
Fuel cell projects located in Delaware using a

renewable or non-renewable energy fuel source may apply
for a grant under the Technology Demonstration Program. 

62.7.5 Hydroelectric Generators
Hydroelectric projects located in Delaware and

placed at existing dams or in free-flowing waterways may be
eligible for a grant under the Technology Demonstration
Program. 

6.2.7.6 Storage, Conversion and Conditioning
Equipment

Storage, conversion and conditioning equipment,
for use with renewable energy products that that include a
novel or innovative use of storage, conversion and
conditioning equipment may be eligible to receive a grant
under the Technology Demonstration Program.

62.7.7 Passive Solar Design 
Passive solar designs that implement novel or

innovative passive solar products may be eligible to receive
a grant under the Technology Demonstration Program.
Grants for passive solar projects shall not exceed 25% of the
installed cost of the project up to a maximum of $3000 per
residential dwelling for residential projects and $20,000 per
non-residential facility for non-residential projects.
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The project shall meet the requirements in Section
6.1 and provide a cost-effectiveness analysis and a Manual J
calculation or equivalent that demonstrates the estimated
energy impact expected over the industry standards that
provide a similar function.  

6.7.8 Biodiesel Manufacturing Facilities
Biodiesel manufacturing facilities located in

Delaware may apply for a grant under the Technology
Demonstration Program.

6.7.9 Energy Efficiency Technologies,
Processes and Practices

New energy efficiency technologies are eligible for
grants under the Technology Demonstration Program. To be
eligible for funding, the applicant must demonstrate that a
measurable improvement in energy efficiency can be
achieved in comparison to conventional technologies,
processes and practices, and that the proposed equipment or
approach is not widely available or in use.

7.0 Research and Development Program
7.1 General Provisions 
Subject to availability of funds, the Green Energy

Fund’s Research and Development Program offers grants to
projects that develop or improve Renewable Energy
Technology in Delaware. The Department will accept
proposals for Research and Development Program grants for
qualifying projects that improve the engineering, adaptation,
or development of products or processes that directly relate
to renewable energy technology.

Research and Development Program proposals will be
accepted by the Department on a biannual basis.  The total of
all grants awarded in any one fiscal year shall not exceed ten
percent (10%) of all revenue collected for the Green Energy
Fund during the previous fiscal year or 10% of the fund
balance whichever is greater.

Subject to the future availability of funds, the
Department will consider multi-year projects in the Research
and Development Program. Proposals seeking grants for
multi-year projects shall not exceed fifty percent (50%) of
the total annual funds available in the Research and
Development Program.

The Delaware Research and Development Program
grants are available to applicants located within the State of
Delaware for projects conducted in the State of Delaware.
Under no circumstances will the Department issue grants for
land acquisition in association with any project proposed in
the Research and Development Program.

7.2 Grant Limits
Subject to availability of funds, the Research and

Development Program offers grants up to thirty-five percent
(35%) of the cost of qualifying projects. Research and

Development Program grants shall not exceed $250,000 per
project. Cost of qualifying projects shall include only the
costs of labor, overhead expenditures, equipment, materials,
and subcontractors incurred during the performance of the
contract. Expenditures made prior to contract award are not
eligible.

Research and Development Program proposals will be
accepted by the Department on a biannual basis. The total of
all grants awarded in any one fiscal year shall not exceed ten
percent (10%) of all revenue collected for the Green Energy
Fund during the previous fiscal year or 10% of the fund
balance whichever is greater.

Subject to the future availability of funds, the
Department will consider multi-year projects in the Research
and Development Program. Proposals seeking grants for
multi-year projects shall not exceed fifty percent (50%) of
the total annual funds available in the Research and
Development Program.

7.3 Application Process
The Department will accept proposals for Research and

Development Program grants for qualifying projects that
improve the engineering adaptation, or development of
products that directly relate to renewable energy technology.
The Department reserves the right to reject any or all
proposals if the information provided is inadequate or
incomplete.

The following describes the general approach
envisioned for these projects. Alternative approaches to
achieve the desired results may be considered, provided that
the work scope is complete, addresses all of the technical
issues, and has a convincing chance for success.

Applicants are to propose projects and tasks that address
all issues described in Section 7.1 with care taken to
emphasize the unique application advantages and
environmental benefits that will result from the proposed
project. The proposal should clearly define why this project
is an improvement over existing products that provide a
similar function.

Research and Development Program proposals will be
accepted on a biannual basis. Applicants for the Research
and Development Program shall submit their proposals and
supporting information in accordance with Requests for
Proposals issued by the Department. Applicants must
receive approval prior to beginning the project. 

Applications will be reviewed by a committee
established by the Department. The Department will
determine the eligibility for a grant and will, in particular,
the eligible costs in 7.2. A statement of reservation of funds
and authorization to proceed will be issued by the
Department upon completion and acceptance of contract
terms.
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7.4 Application Submittal
Research and Development Program proposals must be

submitted and awarded prior to beginning the project.
Failure to respond or follow the instructions regarding the
order and content of the application may result in the
application being deemed non-responsive, or result in an
overall lower score during evaluation. The applicant must
submit six (6) complete copies of the proposal to the
Department for consideration.

The following describes the general approach
envisioned for these projects. Alternative approaches to
achieve the desired results may be considered, provided that
the work scope is complete, addresses all of the technical
issues, and has a convincing chance for success.

7.4 Acceptable Projects
The Department will accept proposals for Research and

Development Program grants for qualifying projects that
improve the engineering adaptation, or development of
products that directly relate to renewable energy and energy
efficiency technologies. The Department reserves the right to
reject any or all proposals if the information provided is
inadequate or incomplete.

Applicants are to propose projects and tasks that address
all issues described in Section 7.1 with care taken to
emphasize the unique application advantages and
environmental benefits that will result from the proposed
project. The proposal should clearly define why this project
is an improvement over existing products that provide a
similar function.

7.5 Application Contents
The applicant must submit six (6) complete copies of

the proposal to the Department consisting of a detailed
description, a time line, a budget, itemized by task and
include the following sections:

7.5.1 Cover Page
The cover page must indicate the name of the

organization, location, project title, and points of contact for
the applicant, including names, titles, addresses, telephone
and facsimile numbers, and electronic mail addresses of key
project participants.  

7.5.2 Table of Contents
The narrative shall include a table of contents and

page numbers corresponding to the elements outlined herein.
7.5.3 Project Summary 
A one-page project summary describing, in general

terms, the proposed project, the proposed project benefits as
a result of the grant, and a total cost estimate including cost
shares and federal contribution must be submitted with the
application. The summary should be informative and only
contain information that is releasable to the public.  

7.5.4 Technical Proposal

The Technical Proposal portion shall be structured
in accordance with the following sections:

The Technical Proposal section should include the
following: 

7.5.4.1 Technical concept, goals, and location
of project

7.5.4.2 Anticipated benefits as a result of the
project

7.5.4.3 Degree to which the proposed project
advances the technology and commercial readiness of
renewable energy technology in Delaware, including
advantages and disadvantages compared to competing
technologies

7.5.4.4 Economic viability of the proposed
project

7.5.4.5 Estimated energy impact (generation
or reduction)

7.5.4.6 Environmental benefits 
7.5.4.7 Impact on electricity reliability, noise

levels, and suitability for grid interconnection
7.5.4.8 Public benefit and value added to

Delaware by successful completion of the proposed project
7.5.4.9 Potential for commercialization and

the estimated market potential of project
7.5.4.10 Advantages of the proposed approach

compared to alternative approaches. 
7.5.5 Work Plan / Statement of Objectives
This section should include the following: 

7.5.5.1 Task-oriented Statement of Objectives
with complete task descriptions

7.5.5.2 Work plan including decision points
and performance-based progress measures

7.5.5.3 Work schedule including intermediate
and major milestones

7.5.6 Budget Narrative
An explanation of the proposed project costs

including Green Energy Fund proceeds, applicant cost share,
and any federal leveraged funds should be provided in this
section.  The Narrative shall include a budget by each task
and include the following: 

7.5.6.1 Job title and number of hours for each
of the individual personnel proposed

7.5.6.2 Proposed equipment, materials,
supplies, overhead and total labor costs.

7.5.7 Organization Qualifications and Personnel
Qualifications

This section should include the following: 
7.5.7.1 Applicant’s current research directly

related to the topic proposed 
7.5.7.2 Applicant’s experience on previous

research and development projects similar in size, scope and
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complexity and the success in completing similar work 
7.5.7.3 Description of the teaming structure

for the project, including the names of the applicant and each
participant involved in the project, as well as business
agreements between the applicant and participants and the
role of each team member 

7.5.7.4 Project management concept with
respect to the proposed tasks, including organizational and
individual responsibilities for each team member 

7.5.7.5 Education, professional training, and
the technical and business-related skills and work experience
of key personnel, on projects similar in size, scope, and
complexity to the topic proposed 

7.5.7.6 Level and reasonableness of the time
commitment 

7.5.8 Personnel Resumes
A resume should be provided for all key personnel

involved in    the proposed project.  Each resume is limited to
a maximum of two pages.

7.6 8.0 Evaluation of Technology Demonstration and
Research and Development Applications

8.1 Compliance Review
Proposals submitted under the Technology

Demonstration and Research and Development Programs
will receive a thorough compliance review. A compliance
review will be performed to check the proposal package for
its compliance with the requirements of the Department’s
Requests for Proposals and the requirements outlined in
Sections 6 and 7. The Department will determine the
eligibility for a grant and will, in particular, consider the
education requirements in 6.1 and the eligible costs in 6.2
and 7.2.

The Department reserves the right to void an
application if the information requested is not received
within the prescribed timeframe when requested or is
inadequate or incomplete.

A statement of reservation of funds and
authorization to proceed will be issued by the Department
upon completion and acceptance of contract terms.

8.2 Evaluation Committee
A compliance review will be performed to check the

proposal package for its compliance with the requirements of
the Research and Development Program. All requirements
as outlined in Section 7.1 and 7.5 must be provided to the
Department to be eligible for the comprehensive evaluation.

The Department reserves the right to void an application
if the information requested is not received within the
prescribed timeframe when requested or is inadequate or
incomplete.

7.6.1 Comprehensive Evaluation

All applications that fulfill the minimum
application requirements, as determined under the
compliance review, will be eligible for comprehensive
evaluation. The comprehensive evaluation of proposals will
be performed by the Department and a committee designated
by the Department. In evaluating applications, the
Department reserves the right to use any assistance deemed
advisable, including qualified personnel from federal
agencies, other government entities, universities, industry,
and contractors. The Department will make every effort to
use unbiased individuals and experts on the review
committee. These individuals will be required to protect the
confidentiality of any specifically identified trade secrets
and/or privileged or confidential commercial or financial
information obtained as a result of their participation in this
evaluation.

The reviewers and their employers, employees,
affiliates, and members shall excuse themselves from
proposing projects under the Research and Development or
Technology Demonstration Programs for the funding period
during which they are serving on the reviewing committee.

8.3 Notification
All applicants will be notified in writing of the

action taken on their applications. Applicants should allow at
least 90 days for the Department evaluation. The status of
any application during the evaluation and selection process
will not be discussed with the applicant or any of its partners.
Unsuccessful application will receive a letter summarizing
the committee’s decision. Unsuccessful applications will not
be returned to applicants.

7.7 Evaluation Criteria of Proposal
7.7.1 Criterion 1:  Technical Description:

Weight: 40%
In general, proposals will be evaluated based on the

overall relevance to Renewable Energy Technology,
including but not limited to any product improving the
engineering of, adapting, or development or Renewable
Energy Technology either as an independent piece of
Renewable Energy Technology or as a component of
Renewable Energy Technology.

Specifically, proposals will be scored based on how
well they address the following requirements: 

7.7.1.1 Technical concept, goals, and location
of project

7.7.1.2 Anticipated benefits as a result of the
project

7.7.1.3 Degree to which the proposed project
advances the technology and commercial readiness of
renewable energy technology in Delaware, including
advantages and disadvantages compared to competing
technologies
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7.7.1.4 Economic viability of the proposed
project

7.7.1.5 Jobs created as a result of project 
7.7.1.6 Advantages of the proposed approach

compared to alternative approaches 
7.7.1.7 Economic viability of the proposed

project 
7.7.1.8 Estimated energy impact (generation

or reduction)
7.7.1.9 Environmental benefits and impacts

of the project
7.7.1.10 Reliability, noise levels, and

suitability for grid interconnection
7.7.1.11 Public benefit and value added to

Delaware by successful completion of the proposed project
7.7.1.12 Projects ability to leverage

federal incentives
7.7.1.13 Projects ability to assist the State

in meeting the goals the State Energy Plan
7.7.2 Criterion 2: Work Plan/Statement of

Objectives:  Weight: 30%
Specifically, applications will be scored based on

how well they address the following requirements:
7.7.2.1 Task-oriented Statement of Objectives

with complete task descriptions
7.7.2.2 Work plan including decision points

and performance-based progress measures Level and
reasonableness of the time commitment

7.7.2.3 Work schedule including intermediate
and major milestone

7.7.2.4 Advantages of the proposed approach
compared to alternative approaches 

7.7.2.5 Intent and commitment to
commercialize results of the proposed project

7.7.3 Criterion 3: Organization and Personnel
Qualifications: Weight: 30%

In general, applications will be evaluated based on
the capabilities of the personnel.  Specifically, applications
will be scored based on how well they address the following
requirements:

7.7.3.1 The applicant’s current research
directly related to the topic proposed 

7.7.3.2 The applicant’s experience on
previous research and development projects similar in size,
scope and complexity and the success in completing similar
work 

7.7.3.3 A description of the teaming structure
for the project, preference will be given to projects involving
participants who represent a diversity (types and sizes) of
proposing organizations, while meeting the eligibility
requirements. The participation of universities, small

businesses, and women or minority owned businesses are
particularly encouraged to apply.

7.7.3.4 The project management concept with
respect to the proposed tasks, including organizational and
individual responsibilities for each team member 

7.7.3.5 The education, professional training,
and the technical and business-related skills and work
experience key personnel, including major subcontractors,
on projects similar in size, scope, and complexity to the topic
proposed 

7.7.3.6 The level and reasonableness of the
time commitment 

7.8 If Selected for Negotiation 
If a proposal is selected for negotiation for a grant,

additional information may be requested. Any request may
specify the documents to be submitted, and to whom they
must be submitted and may include, but not limited to
detailed financial basis for any participant(s) providing cost
sharing. This may include detailed explanation of overhead
costs, hourly rate per staff person, and fringe benefits.  

The Department reserves the right to void an application
if the additional information requested is not received within
the prescribed timeframe or is inadequate or incomplete.

7.9 8.4 Grant Award
If upon completion of the Comprehensive Evaluation,

the review committee finds that the proposed project fits the
criteria of the Technology Demonstration or Research and
Development Programs, then a statement of reservation of
funds and authorization to proceed will be issued by the
Department.

All recipients of Research and Development Program
grants may be required to participate in mandatory
evaluation meetings on a periodic basis. During each
evaluation meeting, the results to date and future plans for
the project will be presented by the Recipient to an
evaluation panel selected by the Department. The results of
each evaluation may be used by the Department to determine
whether the project will continue to receive funding.
Applicants should assume that at least two meetings per year
will be required for evaluation and that up to two additional
review meetings may be held at the applicant’s location.

7.9.1 8.5 Distribution of Research and Development
Grant  Payment for Work Performed

The Department will process the invoices from the grant
recipient usually within 30 days of receipt of invoice and
supporting documentation. Supporting documentation shall
include but not limited to hours worked, receipts for
expenditures and a brief progress report. Additional
documentation and reporting requirements may be necessary
depending on the nature and duration of the work performed.
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8 9.0 Proprietary Application Information
Applicants are hereby notified that the Department

intends to make all applications submitted available to non-
State personnel for the sole purpose of assisting in its
evaluation of the applications. These individuals will be
required to protect the confidentiality of any specifically
identified proprietary information obtained as a result of
their participation in the evaluation.

Proposals submitted may contain trade secrets and/or
privileged or confidential commercial or financial
information which the applicant does not want to be used or
disclosed for any purpose other than evaluation of the
application. The use and disclosure of such data may be
restricted, provided the applicant follows the Department’s
“Request for Confidentiality” procedure contained in the
Department’s “Freedom of Information Act” or “FOIA”
regulation. It is important to understand that this FOIA
regulation’s confidentiality procedure is a necessary part of
this regulation in that any information submitted to the
Department is subject to public review unless deemed to be
confidential by the Secretary in accordance with the criteria
and procedures established in the FOIA regulation.

The burden lies with the applicant asserting the claim of
confidentiality to meet the criteria established in the FOIA
regulation.  

9 10.0 Severability
If any section, subsection, paragraph, sentence, phrase

or word of these regulations is declared unconstitutional by a
court of competent jurisdiction, the remainder of these
regulations shall remain unimpaired and shall continue in
full force and effect, and proceedings there under shall not be
affected.

8 DE Reg. 114 (7/1/04)

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Section 6010 (7 Del.C.§6010)

PUBLIC NOTICE
SAN#  2006-01

1. Title of the Regulations:
Tidal Finfish Regulations

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s

Summer Flounder, Scup and Black Sea Bass Management

Board adopted a compliance requirement stipulating that all
states in the management regime (Massachusetts through
North Carolina) for Black Sea Bass include language in their
regulations that clarify the methodology to be used when
measuring Black Sea Bass for minimum size determinations.
Specifically, each state is required to include language in
total length definitions for Black Sea Bass that exclude any
caudal filament as part of the measurement.  It is proposed to
amend tidal finfish regulation No. 3507 (1) and (2) in order
to include language regarding the caudal filament.

The Summer Flounder Fishery Management Plan
(FMP) details the annual process that the Summer Flounder
Fishery Management Board, the Mid-Atlantic Management
Council and the National Marine Fisheries Service are to use
to establish conservation equivalency for the recreational
summer flounder fishery. These agencies agreed that the
states would implement conservationally equivalent
measures rather than a coastwide management program for
summer flounder in 2006. Delaware is obligated to cap the
summer flounder recreational harvest at 116,000 fish for
2006. The harvest cap has been adjusted downward 22
percent from the previous year’s level of 150, 000 fish
because of slower than projected rebuilding in the stock.
Although Delaware and all the coastal states in the
management regime must adjust their harvest cap
downward, estimates of the Delaware 2005 harvest indicated
that landings of summer flounder were 29 percent below the
adjusted cap imposed for 2006.  As such, it is anticipated that
management measurers for summer flounder in 2006 can be
liberalized and still restrain the harvest below the cap target.
It is proposed that a suite of management options will be
developed that take into consideration the relatively low
landings projected for 2005 and adjust the options that were
presented in the previous years to reflect 29 percent
liberalization in the harvest. These options will include
potential minimum size limits ranging between 16.5 and
17.5 inches in combination with various creel limits that can
range from 2 to 8 fish per day and also incorporate seasonal
closures, if necessary, to restrain the harvest within the 2006
cap. These management options will be reviewed by the
ASMFC Summer Flounder Technical Committee to
determine if the correct data sets and analyses were used to
project landings under the various options. Once the
technical review is completed, those options that were
approved will be presented at a public hearing in order to
receive input from the fishing community on the various
options. 

3. Possible Terms of the Agency Action
Delaware is required to comply with specific Fishery

Management Plans approved by the Atlantic States Marine
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Fisheries Commission.  Failure to do so could result in
complete closure of a specific fishery in Delaware

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
7 Del.C. §903, 7 (e)(2)(a)

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected By The
Proposal:

None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their comments or request

additional information by contacting the Fisheries Section,
Division of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE
19901, (302) 739-9914.  A public hearing on these proposed
amendments will be held on March 9, 2006 at 7:30 P.M. in
the DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE
19901. The record will remain open for written comments
until 4:30 PM, March 10, 2006.

7. Prepared By:
Richard Cole, (302) 739-4782, January 10, 2006

3507 Black Sea Bass Size Limit; Landing Permits; 
Qualifying Criteria; Seasons; Quotas (Formerly Tidal 

Finfish Reg.  23)

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial person to have
in possession any black sea bass (Centropristis striata) that
measures less than eleven (11) inches, total length excluding
any caudal filament.

2.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational person to have
in possession any black sea bass that measures less than
twelve (12) inches total length excluding any caudal
filament.

6 DE Reg. 1230 (3/1/03)
6 DE Reg. 1360 (4/1/03)

3.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial fisherman to
land, to sell, trade and or barter any black sea bass in
Delaware unless authorized by a black sea bass landing
permit issued by the Department. The black sea bass landing
permit shall be presumed to transfer with the vessel
whenever it is bought, sold, or otherwise transferred, unless
there is a written agreement, signed by the transferor/seller
and transferee/buyer, or other credible written evidence,
verifying that the transferor/seller is retaining the vessel’s
fishing and permit history for purposes of replacing the

vessel.

4.0 The black sea bass pot fishery and the black sea bass
commercial hook and line fishery shall be considered
separate black sea bass fisheries. The total pounds allocated
to each fishery by the Department shall be as follows: 96
percent of the State’s commercial quota, as determined by
the ASMFC, for the pot fishery; 4 percent for the
commercial hook and line fishery.  

5.0 The Department may only issue a black sea bass landing
permit for the pot fishery to a person who is the owner of a
vessel permitted by the National Marine Fisheries Service in
accordance with 50 CFR §§ 648.4 and who had applied for
and secured from the Department a commercial food fishing
license and has a reported landing history in either the
federal or state reporting systems of landing by pot at least
10,000 pounds of black sea bass during the period 1994
through 2001. Those individuals that have landing history
only in the federal data base must have possessed a state
commercial food fishing license for at least one year during
the time from 1994 through 2001.

6.0 The Department may only issue a black sea bass landing
permit for the commercial hook and line fishery to a person
who has applied for and secured from the Department a
commercial food fishing license and a fishing equipment
permit for hook and line and submitted landings reports in
either the federal or state landing report systems for black
sea bass harvested by hook and line during at least one year
between  1994 and 2001.

1 DE Reg.1767 (5/1/98)
2 DE Reg 1900 (4/1/99)
3 DE Reg 1088 (2/1/00)
4 DE Reg 1665 (4/1/01)
4 DE Reg 1859 (5/1/01)
5 DE Reg 2142 (5/1/02)
6 DE Reg. 348 (9/1/02)
6 DE Reg. 1230 (3/1/03)

7.0 Any overage of the State's commercial quota will be
subtracted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission from the next year's commercial quota.

Any overage of an individual’s allocation will be
subtracted from that individual's allocation the next year and
distributed to those individuals in the appropriate fishery that
did not exceed their quota.

8.0 Each participant in a black sea bass fishery shall be
assigned a equal share of the total pounds of black sea bass
allotted by the Department for   that particular fishery. A
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share shall be determined by dividing the number of pre-
registered participants in one of the two recognized fisheries
into the total pounds of black sea bass allotted to the fishery
by the Department. In order to pre-register an individual
must indicate their intent in writing to participate in this
fishery by 4:30 PM on a date no later than 15 days after this
regulation is signed by the Secretary of the Department.

9.0 It shall be unlawful for a commercial food fisherman to
transfer quota allocation shares of black sea bass to another
commercial food fishermen.

10.0 Each commercial food fishermen participating in a
black sea bass fishery shall report to the Department, via the
interactive voice phone reporting system operated by the
Department, each days landings in pounds at least one hour
after packing out their harvest.

11.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
to have in possession more than 25 black sea bass at or
between the place where said black sea bass were caught and
said recreational fisherman’s personal abode or temporary or
transient place of lodging.

7 DE Reg. 1575 (5/1/04)
6 DE Reg. 1230 (3/1/03)
8 DE Reg. 1488 (4/1/05)

3511 Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits;  
(Formerly Tidal Finfish Reg. 4)

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))
1.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to
have in possession more than four (4) summer flounder at or
between the place where said summer flounder were caught
and said recreational fisherman's personal abode or
temporary or transient place of lodging. (Note: creel limit to
be determined in combination with seasonal closure and size
limit.)

2.0 It shall be unlawful for any person, other than qualified
persons as set forth in section 4.0 of this regulation, to
possess any summer flounder that measure less than
seventeen and one-half (17.5) inches between the tip of the
snout and the furthest tip of the tail. (Note: creel limit to be
determined in combination with seasonal closure and size
limit.)

7 DE Reg. 1575 (5/1/04)

3.0 It shall be unlawful for any person while on board a
vessel, to have in possession any part of a summer flounder
that measures less than seventeen and one-half (17.5) inches

between said part's two most distant points unless said
person also has in possession the head, backbone and tail
intact from which said part was removed. (Note: creel limit
to be determined in combination with seasonal closure and
size limit.)

4.0 Notwithstanding the size limits and possession limits in
this regulation, a person may possess a summer flounder that
measures no less than fourteen (14) inches between the tip of
the snout and the furthest tip of the tail and a quantity of
summer flounder in excess of the possession limit set forth in
this regulation, provided said person has one of the
following:

4.1 A valid bill-of-sale or receipt indicating the date
said summer flounder  were received, the amount of said
summer flounder received and the name, address and
signature of the person who had landed said summer
flounder;

4.2 A receipt from a licensed or permitted fish dealer
who obtained said summer flounder; or

4.3 A bill of lading while transporting fresh or frozen
summer flounder.

4.4 A valid commercial food fishing license and a food
fishing equipment permit for gill nets.

5.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial finfisherman to
sell, trade and or barter  or attempt to sell, trade and or barter
any summer flounder or part thereof that is landed in this
State by said commercial fisherman after a date when the de
minimis amount of commercial landings of summer flounder
is determined to have been landed in this State by the
Department. The de minimis amount of summer flounder
shall be 0.1% of the coast wide commercial quota as set forth
in the Summer Flounder Fishery Management Plan approved
by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission. 

6.0 It shall be unlawful for any vessel to land more than 200
pounds of summer flounder in any one day in this State.

7.0 It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been issued
a commercial food fishing license and fishes for summer
flounder with any food fishing equipment other than a gill
net, to have in possession more than four (4) summer
flounder at or between the place where said summer flounder
were caught and said person's personal abode or temporary
or transient place of lodging. (Note: creel limit to be
determined in combination with seasonal closure and size
limit.)

1 DE Reg. 1767 (5/1/98)
2 DE Reg. 1900 (4/1/99)
3 DE Reg. 1088 (2/1/00)
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4 DE Reg. 1552 (3/1/01)
5 DE Reg.  462 (8/1/01)
5 DE Reg. 2142 (5/1/02)
6 DE Reg. 1358 (4/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1575 (5/1/04)
8 DE Reg. 1488 (4/1/05)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

300 Board of Architecture
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 205 (24 Del.C. §306)
24 DE Admin Code 300

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Board of Architecture in accordance with
24 Del.C. §306 has proposed changes to its rules and
regulations to clarify the late renewal process for continuing
education requirements.

A public hearing will be held on March 1, 2006 at 1:30
p.m. in the second floor conference room B of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware
where members of the public can offer comments. Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
Landscape Architecture, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904. Persons wishing to
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at
the above address. The final date to receive written
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. Section 10115 the Delaware
Board of Architects is proposing to revise its Rules and
Regulations in order to clarify the late renewal process for
continuing education requirements. The proposed changes
delete the existing Section 6.5 of the Board’s Regulations in
their entirety and substitute the following:

6.0 Registration
6.1 Duration - Each certificate of registration issued by

the Board shall be valid for two years, or the expiration of
the current licensing period.

6.2 Continuing Education Requirement For Renewal -
For license or registration periods beginning August 1, 2003,
and thereafter, each holder of a Certificate of Registration

shall complete sixteen (16) hours of continuing education
(Professional Development Units or PDUs) acceptable to the
Board during each biennial licensing period. Completion of
required continuing education is a condition for renewal of a
Certificate of Registration. Each Registered Architect shall
be exempt from the continuing education requirement in his
or her initial biennial licensing period, or any portion
thereof, in which he or she is licensed or registered to
practice.  Each Registered Architect shall be required to
complete and submit forms prescribed by the Board
certifying compliance with the continuing education
requirement for renewal of registration. Required
documentation may include a syllabus, agenda, itinerary or
brochure published by the sponsor of the activity, as well as
proof of attendance.  The Board reserves the right to require
additional information or documentation regarding
continuing education compliance from a Registered
Architect.

6.3 Content: All continuing education shall be obtained
in the areas of Health, Safety and Welfare. The following are
deemed acceptable continuing education: a) NCARB
monograph programs; b) health safety and welfare programs
approved by AIA.

6.4 Hardship Extension: The Board may, in its
discretion, grant an extension of time within which the
continuing education requirement must be completed for
reasons, including, but not limited to, illness, disability,
military service, and exceptional family responsibilities.
The period of hardship extension granted shall be
determined by the Board.  Requests for a hardship extension
must be in writing and submitted to the Board prior to the
expiration of the licensing period.

6.5 Late Renewal. A licensee that has failed to renew
on or before the renewal date may apply to renew their
expired certificate of registration within twelve (12) months
following the renewal date. Such late renewal application
must be accompanied by payment of the renewal fee,
payment of a late fee, and documentation of compliance with
the continuing education requirement.

6.5.1 A licensee that has failed to renew on or
before the renewal date may apply to renew their expired
registration within six (6) months following the renewal
date; provided however, that those licensees with a pending
renewal from the 2003 biennial registration period may
submit such application within six months of the effective
date of this Rule, unless otherwise required by law. 

6.5.2 All late renewal applications must be
accompanied by:

6.5.2.1 Renewal fee
6.5.2.2 Late renewal fee
6.5.2.3 Documentation of compliance with
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the continuing education requirement prior to the renewal date.
6.5.3 A licensee who has failed to complete the

continuing education requirement by the renewal date may
request an extension of time of up to six (6) months following
the renewal date to satisfy the prior license period continuing
education requirement; provided however, that those licensees
with a pending renewal from the 2003 biennial registration
period may satisfy such continuing education requirement with
6 months of the effective date of this Rule, unless otherwise
required by law.

6.5.4 No continuing education completed during
the late period may be used to satisfy future renewal
requirements.

6.6 Not Transferable - A certificate of registration shall
not be transferable.

6.7 Revocation, Suspension, Cancellation or Non-renewal
of Registration - In the event of revocation, cancellation,
suspension or nonrenewal of any registration, the registered
architect shall be required immediately to return his/her
Certificate of Registration, seal and license to the Board.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not
amended, they are not being published. The complete
regulation is available at:
http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title24/
300%20Board%20of%20Architects.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
2000 Board of Occupational Therapy

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 2006(a)(1)  (24 Del.C. §2006(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 2000

PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice in
accordance with 24 Del.C. §2006(a)(1) has proposed
changes to its rules and regulations related to the online
renewal and continuing education.

A public hearing will be held at 4:30 p.m. on March 15,
2006 in the second floor conference room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware
where members of the public can offer comments. Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the State Board of
Occupational Therapy Practice, 861 Silver Lake Blvd,
Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904. Persons
wishing to submit written comments may forward these to
the Board at the above address. The final date to receive

written comments will be at the public hearing.
The Board will consider promulgating the proposed

regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

Proposed Regulations

2.0 Licensure Procedures:
2.1 To apply for an initial license, including relicensure

after expiration,  an applicant shall submit to the Board:
2.1.1 A completed notarized application on

the form approved by the Board;
2.1.2 Verification of a passing score on the

NBCOT standardized exam submitted by the exam
service or NBCOT;

2.1.2.1 If the date of application for licensure
is more than three years following the successful completion
of the NBCOT exam, the applicant shall submit proof of
twenty (20) hours of continuing education in the two years
preceding the application in accordance with Rule 5.0 of
these rules and regulations.

2.1.3 Official transcript and proof of successful
completion of field work submitted by the school directly to
the Board office;

2.1.4 Fee payable to the State of Delaware.
2.2 To apply for a reciprocal license, in addition to the

requirements listed in 24 Del.C. §2011, an applicant shall
submit the following to the Board:

2.2.1 A completed notarized application on the
form approved by the Board;

2.2.2 Verification of a passing score on the
NBCOT standardized exam submitted by the exam service
or NBCOT;

2.2.3 Letter of verification from any state in
which the applicant has been licensed (the applicant is
responsible for forwarding the blank verification form to all
states where they are now or ever have been licensed);

2.2.4 Fee payable to the State of Delaware.
2.3 To apply for renewal, an applicant shall submit:

2.3.1 A completed renewal application on the
form approved by the Board. Beginning in 2006, license
renewal may be accomplished online at
www.dpr.delaware.gov;

2.3.2 Evidence Proof of meeting continuing
education requirements as designated by the Board in
Rule 5 3.0;

2.3.3 Renewal fee payable to the State of
Delaware.

2.4 To apply for inactive status:
A licensee may, upon written request to the Board,
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have his/her license placed on inactive status if he/she is not
actively engaged in the practice of occupational therapy in
the State.

2.5 To apply for reactivation of an inactive license, a
licensee shall submit:

2.5.1 A letter requesting reactivation;
2.5.2 A completed application for renewal;
2.5.3 Proof of continuing education attained

within the past two years (20 contact hours). The twenty (20)
hours must be in accordance with Rule 5.0 of these rules and
regulations;

2.5.4 Fee payable to the State of Delaware.
2.6 To apply for reinstatement of an expired license, an

applicant shall submit (within three (3) years of the
expiration date):

2.6.1 A completed application for renewal;
2.6.2 Proof of continuing education attained

within the past two years (20 contact hours). The twenty (20)
hours must be in accordance with Rule 5.0 3.0 of these rules
and regulations;

2.6.3 Licensure and late fee payable to the State
of Delaware.

6 DE Reg. 1331 (4/1/03)

3.0 Continuing Education
3.1 Continuing Education Content Hours

3.1.1 Proof of cContinuing education (CE) is
required for license renewal and shall be submitted
completed by May 31st of each renewal year. A licensee
who submits completes continuing education that is not
approved by the Board will be notified so that he or she may
obtain additional CE to substitute before the license
expiration date of July 31.

3.1.1.1 Proof of continuing education is
satisfied with an attestation by the licensee that he or she has
satisfied the requirements of Rule 3.0;

3.1.1.2 Attestation may be completed
electronically if the renewal is accomplished online.  In the
alternative, paper renewal documents that contain the
attestation of completion can be submitted;

3.1.1.3 Licensees selected for random audit
are required to supplement the attestation with attendance
verification as provided in 3.1.2.

3.1.2 A log of CE on a form approved by the
Board shall be maintained and submitted. Documentation of
the CE should not be routinely sent with the log but must be
retained during the licensure period to be submitted if the
renewal application is selected for CE audit. Random audits
will be performed by the Board to ensure compliance with
the CE requirement. Licensees selected for the random audit
shall submit the log and attendance verification.

3.1.3 Contact hours shall be prorated for new
licensees in accordance with the following schedule:

3.1.3.1 *21 months up to and including 24
months remaining in the licensing cycle requires 20 hours;

3.1.3.2 *16 months up to and including 20
months remaining in the licensing cycle requires 15 hours;

3.1.3.3 *11 months up to and including 15
months remaining in the licensing cycle requires 10 hours;

3.1.3.4 *10 months or less remaining in the
licensing cycle – exempt.

3.2 Definition of Acceptable Continuing Education
Credits:

Activities must be earned in two (2) or more of the
six (6) categories for continuing education beginning in
section 5.5.

3.3 Continuing Education Content:
3.3.1 Activities must be in a field of health and

social services related to occupational therapy, must be
related to a licensee’s current or anticipated roles and
responsibilities in occupational therapy, and must directly or
indirectly serve to protect the public by enhancing the
licensee’s continuing competence.

3.3.2 Approval will be at the discretion of the
Board. A licensee or continuing education provider may
request prior approval by the Board by submitting an outline
of the activity at least six weeks before it is scheduled. The
Board pre-approves continuing education activities
sponsored or approved by AOTA or offered by AOTA-
approved providers as long as the content is not within the
exclusion in Rule 5.5.1 for courses covering documentation
for reimbursement or other business matters.

3.3.3 CE earned in excess of the required credits
for the two (2) year period may not be carried over to the
next biennial period.

3.4 Definition of Contact Hours:
3.4.1 “Contact Hour” means a unit of measure

for a continuing education activity. One contact hour equals
60 minutes in a learning activity, excluding meals and
breaks.

3.4.2 One (1) academic semester hour shall be
equal to fifteen (15) contact hours.

3.4.3 One (1) academic quarter hour shall be
equal to ten (10) contact hours.

3.4.4 The preparing of original lectures,
seminars, or workshops in occupational therapy or health
care subjects shall be granted one (1) contact hour for
preparation fro for each contact hour of presentation. Credit
for preparation shall be give for the first presentation only. 

3.5 Continuing Education Activities:
3.5.1 Courses: The maximum credit  for course

work shall not exceed nineteen (19) hours. Extension
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courses, refresher courses, workshops, seminars, lectures,
conferences, and  non patient-specific in-service training
qualify under this provision as long as they are presented in a
structured educational experience beyond entry-level
academic degree level and satisfy the criteria in 5.3.1.
Excluded are any job related duties in the workplace such a
fire safety, OSHA or CPR. Also excluded are courses
covering documentation for reimbursement or other business
matters. 

3.5.1.1 Course work involving alternative
therapies shall be limited to five (5)  hours,

3.5.1.2 Course work by homestudy/
correspondence shall be limited to ten (10) hours.

3.5.2 Professional Meetings & Activities: The
maximum number of credit hours shall not exceed ten (10)
hours. Approved credit includes attendance at: DOTA
business meetings, AOTA business meetings, AOTA
Representative Assembly meetings. NBCOT meetings, OT
Licensure Board meetings and AOTA National Round Table
discussions. Credit will be given for participation as an
elected or appointed member/officer on a board, committee
or council in the field of health and social service related to
occupational therapy. Seminars or other training related to
management or administration are considered professional
activities. Excluded are any job related meetings such as
department meetings, supervision of students and business
meetings within the work setting.

3.5.3 Publications: The maximum number of
credit hours shall not exceed fifteen (15) hours. These
include writing chapters, books, abstracts, book reviews
accepted for publication and media/ video for professional
development in any venue.

3.5.4 Presentations: The maximum number of
credit hours shall not exceed fifteen (15) hours. This
includes workshops and community service organizations
presentations that the licensee presents. Credit will not be
given for the presentation of information that the licensee
has already been given credit for under another category.
Excluded are presentations that are part of a licensee’s job
duties. The preparation of original lectures, seminars, or
workshops in occupational therapy or health care subjects
shall be granted one (1) hour for preparation for each contact
hour of presentation. Credit for preparation shall be given for
the first presentation only.

3.5.5 Research/Grants: Credit may  be awarded
one time for  contact hours per study/topic regardless of
length of project, not to exceed ten (10) hours. Contact hours
accumulated under this category may not be used under the
publication category. Licensees must submit documentation
of authorship or letters from authorizing entity to receive
continuing education credit. 

3.5.6 Specialty Certification: Approval for
credit hours for specialty certification, requiring successful
completion of courses and exams attained during the current
licensure period will be at the discretion of the Board.
Examples include Certified Hand Therapist (CHT) and
Occupational Therapist, Board Certified in Pediatrics (BCP).

3.6 The Board may waive or postpone all or part of the
continuing education activity requirements of these
regulations if an occupational therapist or occupational
therapy assistant submits written request for a waiver and
provides evidence to the satisfaction of the Board of an
illness, injury, financial hardship, family hardship, or other
similar extenuating circumstance which precluded the
individual’s completion of the requirements. 

6 DE Reg. 1331 (4/1/03)

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not
amended, they are not being published. The complete
regulation is available at:
http://www.state.de.us/research/AdminCode/title24/
2000%20Board%20of%20Occupational%20Therapy.sh
tml#

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority:  26 Delaware Code,

Section 209(a)  (26 Del.C. §209(a))

PUBLIC NOTICE

In the Matter of the Investigation, on |
Motion of the Commission, into the |
Terms and Conditions Under Which | PSC
Water Utilities Require Advances and/or| Regulation Docket
Contributions In-Aid-of Construction |  No. 15
from Customers or  Developers, |
and the Proper Ratemaking Treatment |
for Such Contributions and Advances |
(Opened March 24, 1987; Reopened |
September 24, 1996; and Reopened |
June 17, 2003) |

ORDER NO. 6814

AND NOW, this 10th day of January, 2006, the
Commission having considered: (a) the record before Senior
Hearing Examiner William F. O'Brien in this matter,
including the evidence and post-hearing briefs; (b) the
Report of the Senior Hearing Examiner dated November 18,
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2005; (c) the written exceptions submitted by the parties to
the Commission; and (d) the arguments of the parties at the
public hearing held before the Commission on December 20,
2005; now, therefore,

IT IS ORDERED:
1. As and for its summary of the evidence pursuant to

29 Del.C. §10118(b)(1), the Commission incorporates by
reference the "Appearances,” "Procedural Background,"
"The Proposed Amendment," and "Summary of Evidence"
sections (sections I, II, III, IV, and V) of the Report of the
Senior Hearing Examiner dated November 18, 2005.

2. The Commission adopts the "Findings and
Recommendations" (section VI) set forth in the Report of the
Hearing Examiner dated November 18, 2005, however, the
Commission finds that the proposed rules may reflect
substantive changes from the earlier published rules (Jan.
2005), and may constitute a new proposal within the
meaning of 29 Del.C. §10118(c). Staff represents that these
proposed rules are as set forth in Attachment “A” to the
Report. A copy of the Report of the Hearing Examiner with
Attachment "A" is attached hereto as Exhibit "A".

3. The Secretary of the Commission shall transmit to
the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Delaware
Register the notice attached hereto as Exhibit "B" and the
proposed regulations attached to the Hearing Examiner's
Report as Attachment "A".

4. The Secretary of the Commission shall cause the
notice attached hereto as Exhibit "B" to be published in The
News Journal and the Delaware State News newspapers on
or before February 1, 2006. 

5. The Secretary of the Commission shall cause the
notice attached hereto as Exhibit "B" and the proposed
regulations attached to the Hearing Examiner's Report as
Attachment "A" to be sent by United States mail to all
persons who have made timely written requests for advance
notice of the Commission's regulation-making proceedings.

6. All written comments, suggestions, and
compilations of data, briefs, or other written materials
concerning the proposed regulations shall be submitted to
the Commission on or before March 3, 2006.

7. The Commission will hold a public hearing on
March 14, 2006 at 1:00 PM to consider adoption of the
proposed regulations attached to the Hearing Examiner's
Report as Attachment "A".

8. The public utilities regulated by the Commission
are notified that they may be charged for the cost of this
proceeding under 26 Del.C. §114.

9. The Commission retains the jurisdiction and
authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may
be deemed necessary or proper.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Arnetta McRae, Chair
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Dallas Winslow, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner
Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

Public Notice of Comment Period and Public Hearing 
and Soliciting Comments Concerning Revisions to 

Regulations

On May 14, 2003, the Division of the Public Advocate
(“DPA”) filed a petition with the Public Service Commission
(“PSC" or "Commission”) asking the Commission to make
revisions and amendments to its regulations concerning the
Terms and Conditions Under Which Water Utilities Require
Advances and/or Contributions In-Aid-Of Construction
From Customers or Developers and the Proper Ratemaking
Treatment for Such Contributions and Advances (“the
Regulations”). These Regulations were originally adopted in
PSC Order No. 2928 (Mar. 15, 1988) and revised in PSC
Order No. 4310 (Sept. 24, 1996).

In PSC Order No. 6198 (June 16, 2003), the
Commission accepted the DPA’s petition to reopen those
earlier regulations. In PSC Order No. 6538 (December 7,
2004), the Commission issued a revised set of regulations for
public comment and designated a Hearing Examiner to
conduct further proceedings. On November 18, 2005, the
Hearing Examiner issued a written report with revised
regulations that were proposed for adoption by the
Commission. On December 20, 2005, the Commission voted
to adopt the Hearing Examiner's Report and publish the
revised regulations for further public comment.

The revised regulations address the following: (a) the
definitions of Contributions In-Aid-Of Construction
(“CIAC"), Advances, Facilities Extension, and New
Services; (b) the computation of CIAC, including costs
categories; (c) the nature of advances; (d) refunds of
advances; (e) the ratemaking treatment of advances; (f) the
gross-up of CIAC; (g) the ratemaking treatment of CIAC; (h)
the true-up of CIAC and advances; (i) that the regulations
apply only to Class A water utilities; (j) that the regulations
will only have prospective application; and (k) matters
necessarily related to the foregoing. The Commission
proposes that its Order promulgating the final version of the
new regulations will provide that the regulations (and the
related docket) will be reopened two years from the effective
date of the new regulations to review the new rate-making
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methodology, and to assess its effectiveness, the CIAC
computation, and related costs categories.  After such review
and assessment, the Commission may, if deemed
appropriate, consider further modifications of the
regulations.

Copies of the present Regulations, the proposed
regulations, and the DPA’s petition to reopen are available
for public inspection at the Commission’s address set out
below during normal business hours.

The Commission has authority to promulgate the
regulations pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209(a) and 29 Del.C.
§10111 et seq.

The Commission hereby solicits written comments,
suggestions, and compilations of data, briefs, or other
written materials concerning the proposed regulations.  Ten
(10) copies of such materials shall be filed with the
Commission at its office located at 861 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware,
19904. All such materials shall be filed with the Commission
on or before March 3, 2006.  Persons who wish to participate
in the proceedings, but who do not wish to file written
materials, are asked to send a letter informing the
Commission of their intention to participate on or before
March 3, 2006.  The Commission will hold a public hearing
to consider the proposed regulations on March 14, 2006 at
1:00 PM at its Dover office identified above.

The proposed regulations and the materials submitted in
connection therewith will be available for public inspection
and copying at the Commission's Dover office during normal
business hours. The fee for copying is $0.25 per page. The
regulations may also be reviewed, by appointment during
normal business hours, at the office of the Division of the
Public Advocate located at the Carvel State Office Building,
4th Floor, 820 North French Street, Wilmington, Delaware
19801, and will also be available for review on the
Commission's website:  www.state.de.us/delpsc. 

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to
participate in these proceedings should contact the
Commission to discuss any auxiliary aids or services needed
to facilitate such review or participation. Such contact may
be in person, by writing, by telephone, or otherwise. The
Commission's toll-free telephone number (in Delaware) is
(800) 282-8574. Any person with questions may also contact
the Commission Staff at (302) 739-4247 or by Text
Telephone at (302) 739-4333.  Inquiries can also be sent by
Internet e-mail to karen.nickerson@state.de.us.

FINDINGS AND RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE 
HEARING EXAMINER

DATED:  November 18, 2005 William F. O’Brien
Senior Hearing Examiner

William F. O’Brien, duly appointed Hearing Examiner
in this Docket pursuant to 26 Del.C. §502 and 29 Del.C. Ch.
101, by Commission Order No. 6538, dated December 7,
2004, reports to the Commission as follows:

I.  APPEARANCES
On behalf of Commission Staff:
MURPHY SPADARO & LANDON
BY:  FRANCIS J. MURPHY, ESQUIRE

On behalf of the Division of the Public Advocate:
G. ARTHUR PADMORE, Public Advocate

On behalf of Homebuilders Association of Delaware, 
Inc.:
THE BAYARD FIRM
BY: WILLIAM D. BAILEY, JR., ESQUIRE

On behalf of United Water Delaware Inc.:
MORRIS, JAMES, HITCHENS & WILLIAMS, LLP
BY: NICHOLAS J. CAGGIANO, JR., ESQUIRE

On behalf of Artesian Water Company, Inc. 
(“Artesian”):
JOHN J. SCHREPPLER, II, ESQUIRE

II. PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND
1. PSC Regulation Docket No. 15 governs the terms

and conditions under which regulated water utilities require
advances or Contributions In-Aid-Of Construction (“CIAC”)
from customers or developers who request water service.
On May 14, 2003, the Division of the Public Advocate
(“DPA”) filed a petition to reopen Regulation Docket No. 15
seeking to amend the current regulation to require water
utilities to collect CIAC in amounts sufficient to protect
existing customers from bearing the costs of system
expansion. By memorandum dated May 16, 2003,
Commission Staff supported DPA’s petition to reopen the
regulation docket.  Then, by Order No. 6198 (June 17,
2003), the Commission reopened Regulation Docket No. 15
to address DPA’s and Staff’s concerns.

2. In order to gain assistance in drafting a proposed
regulation, Staff met on numerous occasions over the course
of many months with representatives of regulated water
utilities, developers, and DPA, and received written and oral
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comments from these participants, as well as from other
interested parties. Although Staff was unable to gain a full
consensus from the participants, Staff completed a draft of
proposed regulations, which it presented to the Commission
in December of 2004.  By Order No. 6538 (Dec. 7, 2004),
the Commission directed Staff to publish notice of the
proposed regulation in the Delaware Register (and in The
News Journal and Delaware State News newspapers) and to
mail it to all certificated water utilities. The Commission set
a deadline of February 4, 2005, for interested parties to file
comments on the proposed regulation.

3. In response to the notice, United Water Delaware
Inc. (“United Water”), Artesian Water Company, Inc.
(“Artesian”), Tidewater Utilities Inc. (“Tidewater”), Home
Builders Association of Delaware, Inc. (“HBA/DE”), The
Reybold Group (“Reybold”), and Knollwood Development
Corporation (“Knollwood”) moved for leave to intervene. In
addition, United Water filed substantive comments and
HBA/DE filed a Motion to Dismiss the case.  Reybold joined
HBA/DE in its Motion to Dismiss, which alleged various
procedural and substantive defects regarding the proposed
regulation.  After receiving responses to the Motion, I denied
the Motion, in a letter dated March 22, 2005. In the same
letter, I granted all of the petitions for intervention.

4. After a period of discovery, Staff, DPA, United
Water and Artesian submitted pre-filed direct testimony on
May 3, 2005; HBA/DE filed direct testimony on May 24,
2005; and Staff, DPA and United Water filed rebuttal
testimony on June 14, 2005. On June 21, 2005, Blenheim
Bayberry LLC (“Blenheim”) submitted written comments
objecting to the proposed regulation. On June 22, 2005, I
conducted a duly-noticed evidentiary hearing, at which
representatives from Staff, DPA, United Water, Artesian, and
HBA/DE moved their prefiled testimony into the record and
made themselves available for cross-examination.
Representatives of Tidewater and Blenheim also attended the
hearing but did not participate.

5. On June 28, 2005, consistent with the post-hearing
schedule, United Water submitted an amended proposed
regulation, which Staff, DPA and Artesian endorsed. On or
about July 25, 2005, DPA and Staff submitted opening
briefs, and Artesian submitted a letter indicating its support
for the United Water amendment. With its brief, Staff
included its final proposed regulation (“Proposed
Regulation”), which included minor revisions to the draft
submitted by United Water on June 28, and which United
Water supported by e-mail dated September 2, 2005.  HBA/
DE and Reybold filed answering briefs on August 22, 2005,
opposing the Proposed Regulation. On September 16, and
September 26, 2005, DPA and staff, respectively, filed their

reply briefs.1
6. On September 16, 2005, HBA/DE requested oral

argument on the post-hearing revisions to the proposed
regulation. Staff, DPA, and Artesian opposed the request.
By letter dated November 14, 2005, I denied the request for
oral argument and entered into evidence Staff’s July 25,
2005 final draft of the proposed regulation (Ex. 12).  I then
closed the record, which now consists of twelve exhibits and
a 198-page verbatim transcript of the proceedings.2  I have
considered all of the record evidence of this docket and,
based thereon, I submit for the Commission’s consideration
these Findings and Recommendations.

III. THE PROPOSED AMENDMENT
7. Staff’s final proposed regulation, which it

submitted as an attachment to its opening brief, is attached
hereto as Attachment “A.” In addition, Staff provided the
following outline of the Proposed Regulation, which
identifies the changes made to the existing regulation:

Section 1.3.14.  This section is new and contains the
definition of the term “Facilities Extension”. “Facilities
Extension” is defined as “the extension of the water
utility’s Mains and appurtenances (“Facilities”) for the
provision of water service.” The term “appurtenances”
includes “valves, hydrants, pumps, sampling equipment
and other miscellaneous items appurtenant to a Main
extension.” 

Section 1.3.15.  This section is new and defines the
term “New Services” as “the extension of pipe from the
water utility’s Mains to the customer’s premises.

Section 3.8.  This section has been revised in three
respects.  First, it requires the water utility to collect
CIAC for a “Facilities Extension” to the extent provided
in sections 3.8.1 and 3.8.2. Second, it a) incorporates the
term “New Services” and b) permits, but does not
compel, the water utility to collect CIAC or Advances

1.  Staff’s and DPA’s opening briefs will be cited as “Staff
OB at __” and “DPA OB at __.”  HBA/DE’s and Reybold’s
answering briefs will be cited as “HBA/DE Br. at __” and
“Reybold Br. at __.”  Staff’s and DPA’s reply briefs will be
cited as “Staff RB at ___” and “DPA RB at ___.”  

2. References to the Exhibits entered into the evidentiary
record of this proceeding will be cited as “(Ex. ___)” or
“(Ex. ___ at ___).”  References to the transcript of the pro-
ceedings will be cited as “(Tr. ___).”
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for “New Services”. Third, it permits the water utility to
pay for the costs of “New Services” and to include the
costs in its rate base.

Section 3.8.1.  This section has been revised to require a
CIAC when a request for a “Facilities Extension” will
require the installation of pipe and/or associated utility
plant.  The CIAC shall be paid to the water utility as
Category 1A, 1B and Category 2 costs, as computed
under sections 3.8.2 and 3.8.6, subject to true-up under
section 3.8.8. The references to Advances in this section
have been eliminated, and the heading of the section has
been modified to reflect its new content.

Section 3.8.2.  The existing section has been deleted in
favor of a new section which delineates how CIAC is to
be computed. CIAC is broken down into three cost
categories in section 3.8.2. The first, Category 1A costs,
are primarily on-site costs directly assignable to a
project. The second, Category 1B costs, are off-site
costs directly assignable to a project. The third,
Category 2 costs, refer to transmission, supply,
treatment and/or other plant costs not directly
assignable to the new project, where the Category 1
costs are not sufficient to supply water to the project.

Category 1A costs are CIAC and include “all on-site
Facilities costs that are directly assignable to a specific
project….”  Category 1A costs include the costs of such
items as “Mains, hydrants, treatment plants, wells,
pump stations, storage facilities, and shall include any
other items that are necessary for the provision of water
utility service." In addition, Category 1A costs include
the cost of “Facilities Extension” from the furthest point
of the project site up to a point 100 feet beyond the
boundary of the project (in the direction of the utility’s
existing Main)….”

Category 1B costs are CIAC.  Category 1B costs are
intended to capture off-site Facilities costs that are
directly assignable to a specific project beyond the 100
feet boundary covered by Category 1A costs. The
section specifically exempts Facilities costs that the
utility elects to incur for company betterment, that are
not needed to supply water service to the project. In
computing Category 1B costs, CIAC shall be calculated
using a minimum of 8 inch diameter pipe, unless a
larger diameter is required by “applicable laws, building
or fire codes, or engineering standards to provide water
service to the project on a stand-alone basis….”

“Category 2 Costs” are CIAC and the term refers to
“transmission, supply, treatment and/or other utility
plant costs to supply water to the project” that are not

“directly assignable” to that specific project.  Under
Category 2, the sponsor of a project, such as a
developer, “shall pay $1,500 per single family
residential water meter service” to defray their portion
of Category 2 costs.  The $1,500 charge is a set amount
that is required for each single family residential water
meter service.

The provision dedicated to “Category 2 Costs”
requires each water utility to file tariff pages, within 120
days from the effective date of the regulations,
containing the charges it will impose for Category 2
Costs for types of metered water service, other than
single family residential service. The regulation requires
that “[s]uch charges shall be determined based on water
meter size or another objective factor.”

The provision about “Category 2 Costs” allows
utilities to hold such amounts and defer accounting for
them as CIAC until such amounts are actually used to
fund capital improvements. At that time, the utility is
“entitled to account for the Category 2 Costs as CIAC to
the extent it is able to make offsetting entries to the
utility’s plant accounts.”

Section 3.8.3.  This section describes the nature of
Advances.  In paragraph (1), the words “constructing
the extension” have been changed to “construction”.  In
paragraph (2), the word “applicable” has been added
before the words “Federal income taxes” for
consistency with the immediately following passage,
which refers to “applicable State taxes”.

Section 3.8.4.  This section relates to “Refunds of
Advances” and has been modified in several respects.
First, a provision describing how the refund of an
Advance is calculated has been deleted. Second, the
words “if any” have been inserted in the first sentence
after the words “plus the tax savings” to clarify that
there may not be any tax savings.  

The final sentence of the section has been changed in
two respects. First, the words “prospective new
customer” have been deleted and the words “person(s)
making the advance” have been substituted in their
place, to clarify that persons other than a new customer
may be making an advance. Second, the minimum
twenty-year period for the refund of advances has been
changed to a maximum five-year period.

Section 3.8.5.  This section deals with the ratemaking
treatment of advances. It has been changed to add the
words “if required” after the words “since the income
taxes”. In addition, the word “customer” has been
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deleted and the words “person(s) making the advance”
substituted in its place. These changes are made for
purposes of clarification and consistency.

Section 3.8.6.  This section has been rewritten largely to
address the gross up of CIAC to account for tax
liabilities. In the first sentence, the term “reasonable
overhead” has been changed to “the utility’s standard
overhead”. In addition, the sentence has been changed
to incorporate the defined term “Facilities Extension”.  

A new second sentence has been added that allows a
utility to gross up the amount of CIAC charged to a
project sponsor, if any portion of contributed property is
deemed taxable income. 

Section 3.8.7.  This section deals with “Ratemaking
Treatment of CIAC” and allows the utility to add to rate
base the Federal and State income taxes associated with
CIAC and paid by the utility.  A change has been made
by adding the words “if required” after the introductory
words “The Federal and State income taxes….”

Section 3.8.8.  This section has been revised to create a
mutual obligation on the part of utilities and persons
paying CIAC and Advances to engage in a “true-up”
process, in circumstances where there has been an
overpayment or underpayment.

Section 3.8.9.  This is a new miscellaneous provision.
It provides that the regulations shall apply only to Class
A Water Utilities, and shall be given prospective effect
only.  It also requires that the docket be reopened within
two years from the effective date of the regulations to
review the methodology and assess the effectiveness of
the CIAC computation and costs categories.

(Staff OB at 7-11.)

IV. SUMMARY OF PUBLIC COMMENT
8. No individual members of the public offered oral or

written comments in this proceeding. Blenheim Bayberry
LLC, a real estate developer, however, submitted written
comments on June 21, 2005, which was the deadline for
written comments from the public. Blenheim objected to the
proposed $1,500 CIAC for residential units (and the
unspecified amount for commercial units), alleging that it
will “provide free capital with which a water utility may
expand its system outside the project in question.” 

9. Blenheim stated that it currently has a project
underway that: (1) includes properties within the service
territories of both Artesian and Tidewater and (2) has an

adequate supply of water on-site. Blenheim recommends
that the regulations be amended to allow Blenheim to modify
the service territories within its project area to best serve the
interests of future homebuyers, based on competing
proposals from Artesian and Tidewater. In addition,
Blenheim recommends that the regulations permit
developers to require water utilities to use on-site supply and
to charge the developer only the cost of the on-site system.
This requirement would apply to those projects where
adequate on-site supply is present and when the cost of the
on-site system, per unit, is materially less than the CIAC
required by the proposed regulations.

10. Blenheim also recommends that higher-cost
utilities, such as Artesian, be held to an established industry
standard for CIAC charges, in order to protect consumers
from paying arbitrarily high costs for expansion. Finally,
Blenheim urged the Commission to apply the new
regulation, if approved, only to properties not already subject
to water service agreements.

V. SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE
A. Prefiled Direct Testimony
11. Commission Staff. Connie S. McDowell, the

Commission’s Chief of Technical Services, submitted pre-
filed direct testimony on behalf of Staff.  (Ex. 3.)  Ms.
McDowell testified that in the last five years two large water
utilities, Artesian and Tidewater, have each filed for two
substantial rate increases as a result of the rapid expansion of
their service territories during that time.  Both Staff and DPA
believe that the companies were not collecting enough CIAC
or advances from developers to cover the source of supply,
pumping equipment and water treatment equipment
necessitated by the system expansion. Consequently,
existing ratepayers are paying these costs in the form of
higher rates.  In one of Artesian’s rate cases (PSC Docket
No. 02-109), the parties agreed that it would be more
appropriate to address the CIAC issue by reopening
Regulation Docket No. 15 than to address the issue solely
with Artesian in that case.

12. Ms. McDowell described the proposed revisions to
the CIAC regulations.  (Id. at 4-5.)  If a developer or
customer requests a “main extension,” which is defined as an
expansion of the system into a location not previously
served, then the utility collects a CIAC for both “Category
1” costs and “Category 2” costs.  Category 1 refers to all the
plant costs directly assignable to the project, including the
mains, services, and hydrants, as well as any supply,
pumping and treatment plant built specifically for the
project. Category 2 refers to supply and treatment plant built
that may be used for more than one project. The utility must
collect a $1,500 CIAC for Category 2 costs for residential
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water meter service and must calculate, on a case-by-case
basis, the amount charged for non-residential service.  Both
CIAC amounts are subject to challenge by the customer or
developer. The utility may collect a refundable advance,
rather than CIAC, for a “new service,” which is the
connection from a customer’s premises to an existing main.

13. Ms. McDowell testified that she calculated the
actual cost, per new customer, to Artesian, Tidewater, and
United Water for Category 2 costs for the years 2001 through
2004, and concluded that the proposed $1,500 CIAC is less
than the cost per new customer for each of these utilities for
the last two years.  (Id. at 5-6.)  Ms. McDowell asserted that
new customers should bear the cost of expansion because
they are the “cost causers.” In addition, if new customers do
not bear the cost of expansion, then water utilities will
continue to file frequent rate cases and water rates will
continue to escalate.

14. DPA.  James D. Cotton, a financial consultant with
The Columbia Group, testified on behalf of DPA.  In his
prefiled direct testimony (Ex. 6), Mr. Cotton testified that
developers should pay for the cost of constructing water
facilities, just as they pay for other necessary components of
homebuilding.  (Id. at 10.) In most new subdivisions,
developers either install the facilities themselves and
“contribute” the facilities to the utility, or they contribute
cash to the utility to fund the utility’s construction of the
facilities, or they contribute some combination of cash and
construction. Under any arrangement, however, the objective
should be for the developers to pay their own costs of
construction.

15. Mr. Cotton testified that the proposed regulations
require developers to pay for on-site facilities and off-site
facilities. (Id. at 11-12.)  Mr. Cotton explained that, currently,
it is more typical for a developer to tie its subdivision into a
larger water supply system, than to construct a stand-alone,
on-site system with its own well and treatment plant. When a
subdivision is tied into a larger system, however, expansion
of the supply source and associated treatment plant may be
very costly. The proposed regulation, therefore, provides for
a second CIAC charge, for off-site facilities (i.e., Category
2), in the amount of $1,500 per residential customer. This fee
helps to offset the costs of building water supply and
treatment facilities that serve many new developments. Mr.
Cotton asserted that a flat fee is appropriate because it would
be nearly impossible to compute the actual cost per customer
in any one development for the investment in common water
supply and treatment plant required to serve future
customers. The flat fee correlates, therefore, with system
needs rather than subdivision needs and provides a more
efficient CIAC process. As such, utilizing a flat fee
significantly reduces the administrative costs of utility

companies, developers and Commission Staff.  (Id. at 12.)
16. Mr. Cotton testified that another major benefit of

the proposal is that it relies on CIAC, rather than refundable
advances.  (Id. at 13.) The amount of an advance is not
known up-front because a utility pays back the advance to
the developer over a number of years as new customers are
added to the system. The amount of a CIAC, on the other
hand, is known by all parties because the transaction is
completed up-front, without any refunds. The numerous
costs associated with advances, including the additional
personnel required to track payments and the litigation
expenses incurred when disputes arise, are absorbed by
ratepayers. Mr. Cotton also provided a proposed scale for
CIAC charges for commercial customers, based on meter
size, because Staff’s initial proposal did not include specific
CIAC charges for commercial customers.  (Id. at 15.)      

17. Artesian. David B. Spacht, Vice President,
Treasurer and Chief Financial Officer of Artesian Resources
Corporation, submitted prefiled direct testimony on behalf of
Artesian. (Ex. 2.) Mr. Spacht testified that Artesian
participated in all the workshops conducted in this
proceeding and he concluded that the proposed revisions to
the CIAC regulations strike a proper balance among the
needs of the utility, its customers and the development
community.  (Id. at 3.) He asserted that the $1,500 fixed
contribution was developed to provide consistency among
different geographic locations for a water utility and
consistency between water utilities for the same geographic
location.  He asserted that the $1,500 charge is based on an
equal sharing between utilities and developers (so that the
utility can maintain an investment in rate base) for
construction costs, based on a small facility design. Small
facility design costs less per customer then a large facility
design. In addition, Mr. Spacht recommended that the
regulation include an “equivalent meter table” to establish
increasing per-customer contribution amounts for off-site
facilities based on the relative size of the services to be
installed within a development.  (Id. at 7.)  

18. United Water. Nancy J. Trushell, Engineering
Manager, submitted prefiled direct testimony on behalf of
United Water.  (Ex. 8.) Ms. Trushell testified that United
Water provides water service to approximately 35,650
customers in northern New Castle County, operating two
surface water treatment plants. While its service territory
consists primarily of three non-contiguous geographical
areas, its entire system is physically interconnected with
transmission lines. Because United Water has treatment
capacity available from its two existing plants, new sources
of supply are not normally part of new facilities projects.
New customers are simply connected to the existing plants,
which are already included in rate base.  (Ex. 8 at 3.)  From
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2001 to 2004, United Water completed 48 developer
projects, adding 1,229 residential, 54 commercial, and 0
industrial customers. United Water requires developers to
provide the funds for 100 percent of the cost of the project
prior to beginning any phase of a project. As such, United
Water does not track revenue from new main extensions, or
make refunds to developers, which would be
administratively burdensome.  (Id. at 7.)

19. HBA/DE.  Francis Julian, Vice President of
Benchmark Builders, Inc. and President of HBA/DE,
submitted prefiled direct testimony on behalf of HBA/DE.
(Ex. 11.)  The HBA/DE consists of approximately 95
homebuilders and 320 “associated” members, whom are
involved in service to the industry. HBA/DE members
employ approximately 10,752 people.

20. Mr. Julian testified that HBA/DE members
typically purchase unimproved land for home construction.
In most cases, the utility has already obtained the issuance of
a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity
(“CPCN”) to serve the site. As a result, the certified utility
holds a monopoly to serve that site even though it may not
even have a water source located on that property to use as
supply. (Id. at 2.) The interested developer, therefore, is
barred from exploring an alternative that would be less
costly than obtaining service by the certificated utility. Mr.
Julian emphasized that the proposed regulation, while
purporting to strike a balance between new and old
customers for the financing of new plant, ignores the fact
that all customers have the burden of paying for the
replacement of worn out plant for any particular
development.  (Id. at 7-8.)  

21. Mr. Julian noted that before obtaining a CPCN,
utility management must have concluded that it could make
a profit in the proposed service territory and, before granting
the CPCN, the Commission must have concluded that the
utility had the means to serve the site. (Id. at 2-3.)  In fact,
the utility may have even paid the original landowner for the
right to serve the site. He asserted, therefore, that the utility
has voluntarily put itself in the situation about which it now
complains.

22. Mr. Julian also objected to the apparent elimination
of advances, which are an alternative to CIAC, and which
are refunded to the developer over time. (Id. at 3.) The denial
of any refunds would eliminate the balance struck between a
utility, who benefits from cost-free capital, and the
homebuilder, who provides the capital and the future income
stream. Mr. Julian also questioned the meaning of the
language of the proposed rule that recognizes the practice of
using refundable advances, while other provisions seem to
eliminate advances and refunds.

23. Mr. Julian disagreed with the other parties’ claims

that tracking refunds is administratively burdensome. (Id. at
4.)  He stated that developers should be required to notify the
utility that service to a new customer is subject to a rebate
and should also notify the utility of any changes to the
payee’s address. He asserted, however, that the Class A
utilities have MIS equipment capable of handling this simple
procedure without hiring new employees. If a developer fails
to keep its contact information up to date, then the refund
should be retained by the utility until it is turned over to the
state escheator, as required by law.

24. Mr. Julian testified that the cost of extending the
main 100 feet beyond the project area is more properly
included in Category 2 rather than Category 1.  (Id. at 5.)  Or,
if boring is necessary to extend the main, then the cost
should be financed with a refundable advance, in order to
recognize that the utility benefits by the extension because of
the revenues it will receive from its certificated area. Mr.
Julian also objected to inclusion in Category 1 of “other
costs necessary for the provision of utility water service”
because these costs are not defined and because there is no
defined procedure for identifying these costs, which should
include input from the developer.  (Id. at 5-6.)

25. Mr. Julian also opposed the inclusion in CIAC of
utility overhead costs, because there is no provision for how
overhead will be calculated and because there is no
justification for marking up every item at the same rate. (Id.
at 6.) In addition, the proposal does not include a procedure
to allow a developer to challenge an overhead rate charged
by a utility. Finally, Mr. Julian urged the exclusion from
CIAC of those costs from state-mandated drought relief
efforts or from the replacement of existing systems because
both types of costs should be borne by all customers,
whether they are new customers or existing customers. (Id at
8-9.)

B. Prefiled Rebuttal Testimony
26. Staff.  In response to Mr. Julian’s testimony, Ms.

McDowell submitted prefiled rebuttal testimony on behalf of
Staff.  (Ex. 4.)  Ms. McDowell testified that builders benefit
from a central water system because county regulations
allow for smaller lots with a central system, which means
that builders can build more homes per acre. Furthermore,
builders can pass the cost of water service on to the
homebuyer in the price of the home just as they do for the
costs of providing streets, street lights, sidewalks, and
wastewater systems.  (Id. at 2.)  In addition, if a builder
believes that a utility is charging it for unreasonable
overhead costs, the builder can contact Commission Staff to
mediate the dispute or it can file a formal complaint with the
Commission. Regarding Mr. Julian’s concerns about a
utility’s statutory, drought-related investments or its
replacement costs for worn out extensions, Ms. McDowell
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testified that such costs are not included as CIAC-recovered
costs.  (Id. at 3.)

27. DPA.  In his prefiled rebuttal testimony, Mr. Cotton
responded to many of Mr. Julian’s assertions. (Ex. 7.)  Mr.
Cotton testified that, by arguing that a utility should pay part
of the cost of new facilities because a utility expects profits
from the associated project, Mr. Julian ignores the impact of
the project on ratepayers, who are forced to bear the cost of
serving the new development. In addition, Mr. Cotton
disagreed with Mr. Julian’s assertion that builders generate
an “income stream” for the utility, noting that it is the
ratepayers who generate the income. He objected to any
sharing of costs attributable to a new development because
of the adverse impact on current ratepayers. In addition, Mr.
Cotton noted that advances must be addressed in the
regulations, even if advances are no longer permitted,
because utilities still carry advances on their books. Mr.
Cotton also asserted that no inequity results from requiring
new customers to pay for their own facilities while requiring
all customers to pay for facilities replacement because new
customers eventually gain the same benefit once the
facilities for their system are replaced or repaired. (Id. at 2-
3.)

28. United Water.  In her prefiled rebuttal testimony,
Ms. Trushell responded to Mr. Julian’s testimony as well as
to certain statements from Ms. McDowell and Mr. Cotton.
(Ex. 9.) Ms. Trushell testified that United Water already
requires all costs associated with connecting a new
development to the United Water system to be paid up front
in a non-refundable CIAC. In this way, new development
costs are borne by the cost causer, administrative expenses
are limited (i.e., no tracking of refunds is necessary), and all
developers are treated equally.  (Id. at 2-3.). Ms. Trushell
noted that by consistently obtaining CIAC to fully fund
extensions for new developments, United Water has avoided
the need to increase its rates since 1998.  (Id. at 13.) 

29. In addition, Ms. Trushell objected to the provision
in the proposal that limits CIAC Category 1 costs for main
extensions to 100 feet beyond the project area.  (Id. at 7.)
Ms. Trushell recommended establishing a “Category 1B,”
under which the utility will recover off-site costs beyond the
100-foot mark.  Otherwise, the utility and its ratepayers will
be asked to absorb the business risk associated with the
proposed development. Ms. Trushell noted that, ironically,
the new regulation could force United Water to collect less
CIAC then it currently collects, if United Water must bear
the construction cost of extensions beyond the 100-foot
mark.  (Id. at 13-14.) As a compromise position, Ms.
Trushell recommended allowing developers to pay for these
costs with advances, refundable over a 5-year period, as new
customers begin to take service.

30. Ms. Trushell disagreed, however, with Mr. Julian’s
assertion that developers have a “right” to use refundable
advances simply because advances are recognized in the
current regulation.  (Id. at 10-11.) According to Ms. Trushell,
the distinction between CIAC and advances in the current
regulation originated because of differences in federal tax
treatment; differences that no longer exist. Ms. Trushell also
made several drafting recommendations in order to clarify
the proposed regulations.

C.  Live Testimony From the June 22, 2005 Hearing
31. Staff.  At the hearing, Ms. McDowell testified that

Staff has accepted certain changes to the proposed
regulations as recommended by United Water and she
submitted a copy of the revised proposed regulation.  (Tr.
452; Ex. 5.)  Under the revised proposal, Category 1 costs
now include, under “Category 1B,” all off-site costs directly
assignable to the project, which occur beyond 100 feet from
the boundary of the project.  “Category 1A” consists of the
former Category 1 costs, which are all on-site facility costs
directly assignable to the project (occurring within 100 feet
from the boundary of the project).  Both sub-categories will
be financed by the builder via non-refundable CIAC.  Ms.
McDowell asserted, however, that she would add a provision
stating that Category 1B costs, which occur when the utility
has to extend a main more than 100 feet from its system, are
determined as if the main installed were an 8-inch main.
Therefore, if the utility decides to install a 12-inch or a 14-
inch main to accommodate future growth, the builder will
only pay the cost of an 8-inch main, which is the minimum
size main that a utility would extend to a new development.
(Tr. 494.)

32. Under the revised proposal, Category 2 still
consists of those costs not directly assignable to a project,
such as common supply or treatment facilities utilized by the
new customers, and are funded via the $1,500 fee for
residential services. (Tr. 445.)  Ms. McDowell also agreed
with United Water’s recommendation that the proposal
include a provision that builders will pay Category 2 costs
for non-residential services at a rate to be determined by the
utility and included in its tariff.  Ms. McDowell would strike
from United Water’s proposal, however, the last statement
under “Category 2” costs that provides for an offset to the
$1,500 fee for direct costs for treatment and supply
contributed by the builder under Category 1.  (Tr. 456.)

33. On cross-examination, Ms. McDowell explained
that Staff decided to use a flat fee for Category 2 costs
because it would be difficult to calculate an actual cost for
each project and because there is a benefit to all parties in
knowing the amount up-front. (Tr. 462-463.)  In addition, if
the cost were calculated on a project-by-project basis, then
the developers again would be in a position to negotiate
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 8, WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2006



PROPOSED REGULATIONS1154
lower charges, which is what the new regulation was
designed to prevent. Taking an average cost for all utilities
and requiring all utilities to charge the same flat fee,
therefore, was the most equitable solution.

34. Ms. McDowell testified that, based on her
compilation of historical Category 2 costs for utilities in
Delaware (attached as “Exhibit 1” to her prefiled direct
testimony), there is little chance that $1,500 exceeds the
actual Category 2 costs.  (Tr. 464.)  She noted, however, that
even if a builder had a particular project where the fee
exceeded actual costs, that builder would likely make up for
it with another project where the $1,500 fee under-
compensated the utility for its actual Category 2 costs.  (Tr.
465.)  

35. When asked if the utilities’ under-collection of
CIAC charges, under the current regulation, is a result of
poor negotiations, Ms. McDowell answered that “it certainly
looks that way.”  (Tr. 547.)  She added, however, that under
rate base, rate of return regulation, utilities are motivated to
under-collect CIAC because whatever capital costs the
utility contributes can be added to rate base. By building rate
base, a utility can earn more profit.  (Tr. 547-548.)

36. Regarding her statement in prefiled testimony that
builders can pass CIAC charges along to the homebuyer in
the price of the home, Ms. McDowell agreed that she
undertook no elasticity of demand studies to support her
contention. (Tr. 471.) She simply relied on common business
sense. Her point, however, was that by knowing its costs up-
front, a builder can price its homes to more accurately reflect
its costs. Under the current regulation, the fees are not set
out, and so developers “continue to negotiate back and forth
with either utility on what the costs would be.”  (Tr. 473.)

37. On re-direct examination, Ms. McDowell testified
that the proposed regulation will reduce the number of rate
cases, which are very costly and which add nothing to the
quality of water service.  (Tr. 485-487.) Artesian’s last rate
case cost about $600,000, which is passed on to the
customers.  She also noted that the regulations only apply to
Class A water utilities, which includes only those utilities
with more then $ 4 million in annual operating revenues.

38. Ms. McDowell also testified that the figures that
she calculated for the historical cost, per new customer, of
the three Class A utilities that she studied do not include
transmission or distribution costs.  (Tr. 596.) She also noted
that the fact that Artesian’s per-customer cost has been
substantially higher than the other two utilities’ per-customer
costs, does not mean that Artesian has been inefficient.
Artesian’s costs have been higher because they utilize more
expensive sources of supply, such as wells, and because they
have had to address water sufficiency supply issues.  (Id.)

39. DPA.  At the hearing, Mr. Cotton testified that he

supports the changes to the proposed regulations, as
provided by Staff at the hearing in Exhibit No. 5.  (Tr. 511.)
On cross-examination, Mr. Cotton asserted that under the
proposal utilities will be remain motivated to accept new
service territories in order to collect additional rates in
between rate cases.  (Tr. 514.)  In addition, it is the nature of
a monopolist to add service territory because, even if it does
not add revenues immediately, there will be profit
opportunities in the future from facility replacements. Mr.
Cotton noted that, historically, those utilities that have
expanded the quickest have been the most successful and
have made the greatest profits.  (Tr. 515.)

40. Mr. Cotton testified that the $1,500 is a fair number,
even though it is very conservative and likely below the
actual cost to the utility.  (Tr. 529, 540.)  Historic costs have
averaged $3,000 per new customer, not including
transmission rates, and the trend is upward. He also
emphasized that existing customers are currently subsidizing
the builder, not the new utility customers.  (Tr. 532.) 

41. United Water.  On cross-examination, Ms. Trushell
testified that she was satisfied that the most recent changes to
the proposal remove the risk to the utility of paying for main
extensions beyond 100 feet rather than collecting such costs
in CIAC.  (Tr. 555.)  She noted, however, that she is
uncertain where to apply the $1,500 fee, from an accounting
perspective.  

42. Ms. Trushell also testified that United Water’s
practice of requiring CIAC for all direct costs of a project,
rather than permitting refundable advances, has not
prevented developers from entering into water service
agreements. (Tr. 571-572.)  She also noted that she knows
that there is a significant administrative burden associated
with tracking advances because she was personally involved
with administering the refunds with United Water
Pennsylvania.  (Tr. 576.) Ms. Trushell also asserted that
while United Water continues to add customers in new
subdivisions, it is not seeking additional certificated areas,
and has not for at least three years.  (Tr. 559, 561, 572.)

43. Artesian. On cross-examination, Mr. Spacht
testified that Artesian currently uses refundable contracts to
finance on-site water mains and hydrants.  (Tr. 424.)  Under
the proposed regulations, Artesian would no longer be able
to offer a refundable contract.

44. Mr. Spacht testified that under the proposed
regulations, Artesian’s rate base would continue to increase
over time, for several reasons.  (Tr. 426.)  First, the $1,500
contribution for off-site costs was designed as a minimum,
and Artesian’s capital costs above the $1,500 would be
added to rate base. In addition, Artesian’s rate base increases
for reasons other than serving new customers, such as
relocations, rehabilitation of older systems, and replacement
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of treatment facilities. (Tr. 442.)  For instance, Artesian
recently constructed two transmission lines under the
Chesapeake and Delaware Canal, in order to better integrate
its system and enhance reliability.  (Tr. 444-445.)

45. Mr. Spacht also testified that a water utility is
motivated to serve new areas, irrespective of rate base
growth, if the expansion promotes regionalization.  (Tr. 432-
433.)  There is not a lot of motivation, however, to serve a
customer in a remote location that is not in a growth area.
However, if the utility already has a CPCN for that area, then
it must serve that customer.  (Tr. 440.)

46. HBA/DE. At the hearing, Mr. Julian testified that
he holds a B.S. degree in finance from the University of
Delaware.  (Tr. 584.)  On cross-examination, Mr. Julian
reiterated that when the Commission grants a CPCN, it must
expect that the utility can make a profit by serving the
territory that is the subject of the CPCN application. (Tr.
586.) In addition, he noted that the long-standing practices
followed by utilities and developers regarding CIAC and
advances are lawful and he asserted that any new regulations
should also follow the applicable statutes. (Tr. 594.)

VI. FINDINGS AND RECOMMENDATIONS
A. Background
47. The Commission reopened this docket to consider

amending its CIAC rules to require Class A water utilities to
collect CIAC from builders or developers in amounts
designed to better protect existing customers from paying for
system expansion.  PSC Order No. 6538 (Dec. 7, 2004.)
According to DPA and Staff, the two large, high-growth
water utilities in Delaware (i.e., Artesian and Tidewater)
have been collecting insufficient CIAC from developers,
relative to their actual costs of system expansion.  Because
of this under-collection of expansion costs, both utilities
have obtained large rate increases in the last five years,
which were warranted by the companies’ inclusion in rate
base of the un-reimbursed portion of the cost of new
facilities. As a result, existing ratepayers are, in large part,
bearing the cost of system expansion and are therefore
subsidizing the builders and developers who cause the costs
to be incurred by building the new homes.

48. The current CIAC regulations do not define the
amount of CIAC that utilities must charge and, in practice,
developers have successfully negotiated CIAC charges with
Artesian and Tidewater that are well below actual costs.
Possible reasons for the below-cost charges include: (1) poor
negotiations (Tr. (McDowell) 547); (2) lower CIAC
collected translates into higher rate base, which means more
return on rate base to the utility (Id.); and (3) competition
between Artesian and Tidewater for new service territories,

with respect to those parcels that have yet to be certificated.3
49. United Water, on the other hand, has not

experienced the rapid growth seen by Artesian and
Tidewater, has not competed with other water utilities for
service territory, and, consequently, has consistently charged
non-refundable CIAC in amounts sufficient to cover its
actual cost of system expansion. As a result, United Water
has not filed for a rate increase since 1998.  (Ex. 9 (Trushell)
at 13.)

50. In order to curb the utilities’ ability to under-charge
for CIAC, Staff drafted amendments to the current regulation
that standardize the determination of CIAC for Class A
utilities and that require cost-based contributions from
builders or developers. Staff’s Proposed Regulation,
therefore, limits a utility’s flexibility to negotiate lower
CIAC amounts with developers and ensures collection of
CIAC that more closely tracks actual incremental costs.

51. In general, the Proposed Regulation requires Class
A water utilities to collect nonrefundable CIAC from
builders or developers in two parts.  First, the utility must
collect CIAC in an amount equal to all of its construction
costs directly assignable to the project in question, both on-
site and off-site (i.e., Category IA and IB costs).  Second, it
must collect $1,500 per residential service4 to help cover its
indirect costs, which relate to common plant utilized for
supply, treatment, and transmission (i.e., Category 2 costs).
Staff selected the $1,500 figure by reviewing the actual
increases in supply and treatment plant, per additional
customer, for Artesian, United Water, and Tidewater for the
years 2000 through 2004.  (Ex. 3 at 5-6.)  For the years 2003
and 2004, these per-customer costs exceeded $1,500 for each

3. Competition for service territory, and the resulting lower
cost of water service to the landowner (in the form of lower,
negotiated CIAC), was the subject of an August 21, 2005
News Journal article that HBA/DE attached to its brief.  In
addition, Ms. McDowell touched on this dynamic when she
referenced a developer’s ability to negotiate CIAC with two
utilities at once. (TR. 473.) Also, see Blenheim’s recommen-
dation, in its June 21, 2005 letter, that it be permitted to
receive proposals for water service agreements from both
Artesian and Tidewater in order to lower its cost for water
service infrastructure.

4. For non residential services, the utilities must file,
within 120 days, proposed tariff pages containing the
charges it will impose for Category 2 costs. Such charges
shall be determined based on meter size or another objective
factor.  Section 3.8.2.
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of the three utilities.
52. In addition, the Proposed Regulation eliminates the

practice of refunding contributions for a “facilities
extension,” which generally refers to a water main extension
to a new subdivision. Refundable advances are still
permitted, however, for a “new service,” which refers to the
extension of pipe from a main to an individual customer.
Utilities may also elect to pay for a new service itself, rather
than charging a CIAC or advance.  (Section 3.8.)

53. Participating in this case, in varying degrees, were
Staff, DPA, three Class A water utilities (i.e., Artesian,
Tidewater, and United Water); HBA/DE, Reybold, and
Knollwood Development.  Staff, DPA, and the water utilities
support (or do not object to) the final Proposed Regulation
and HBA/DE and Reybold object to the Proposed
Regulation. For the following reasons, I recommend that the
Commission deny HBA/DE’s and Reybold’s objections, find
that the Proposed Regulation is just and reasonable, and
therefore adopt the Proposed Regulation.

B. Statutory Authority for the Proposed Regulation
54. Under 26 Del.C. §209(a), the Commission may,

after a hearing, fix “just and reasonable” standards,
regulations, or practices to be followed by any public utility.
By requiring water utilities to collect certain levels of CIAC,
the Proposed Regulation is fixing a standard or practice to be
followed by a public utility. In general, therefore, the
Commission is authorized to adopt the Proposed Regulation,
as long as it is “just and reasonable.”  HBA/DE and Reybold
argue, however, that the Commission does not have the
authority to adopt the Proposed Regulation because it
contradicts other statutory provisions governing
Commission regulation of public utilities. (HBA/DE Br. at
12-19; Reybold Br. at 8-9.)

55. 26 Del.C. §§102(3)(c) and (e).  HBA/DE argues
that because the Proposed Regulation eliminates refundable
advances, it improperly alters §102(3), which references
refunded and non-refunded customer advances in its
definition of “rate base.” (HBA/DE at 13-14.)5 That section,
however, creates no developer entitlement to refunds of
CIAC; it only acknowledges the existence of refunded and
unrefunded contributions and provides the appropriate
ratemaking treatment thereof. By simply providing the
ratemaking treatment for different types of contributions, the
statute reflects no policy favoring allowance of refunds, and
any limitation on such refunds therefore violates no statutory

requirement.
56. To support its argument, HBA/DE cites In re

DNREC, 401 A.2d 93, 95 (Del. Super. 1978) for the
proposition that an agency cannot eliminate something that
is permitted by its enabling statute. (HBA/DE Br. at 12.)  In
that case, however, the applicable statute obligated DNREC
to consider permit applications for activities affecting
wetlands, and the statute provided specific criteria for
approval of such applications. DNREC then adopted a
regulation that prohibited all wetlands activities, refusing to
even consider permit applications. The Court struck down
the regulation because, by denying all wetlands uses without
applying the statutory criteria to each proposed use, such
denials were “arbitrary and capricious.”  (In re DNREC, at
95-96.)  In this case, the Commission is under no specific
statutory obligation to consider requests to use refundable
advances instead of CIAC to finance new construction, and
no such obligation can be inferred generally from the
statute’s delineation of the ratemaking treatment for
refundable advances versus CIAC, under §102(3). The
DNREC case, therefore, does not apply in this instance.

57. Furthermore, the proposed regulation in this case
does not eliminate advances and the §102(3) definitions,
therefore, continue to have effect. First, as noted by DPA,
Class A water utilities in Delaware carry millions of dollars
of advances on their books, and §102(3) will continue to
apply to the ratemaking treatment of such advances. (DPA
RB at 5.)  Second, the Proposed Regulation allows for the
use of refundable advances to finance new services (as
opposed to facilities extensions), which will continue to
receive ratemaking treatment in accordance with §102(3).
Third, those non-Class A water utilities that are not governed
by the Proposed Regulation may continue to refund
advances, even for facilities extensions, if they so choose.
Section 102(3), therefore, continues to have effect in
numerous instances and, as such, HBA/DE’s contention that
the Proposed Regulation runs contrary to §102(3) should be
rejected.

58. 26 Del.C. §§203C(e)(3) and 403(b).  Next, HBA/
DE argues that the Proposed Regulation is “out of harmony
with the new CPCN statute, §§[203C(e)(3)] and 403(b),
which together require the water company to establish and
certify their ability to supply new customers with water at
the house and at the pressure of at least 25 pounds.”  (HBA/
DE Br. at 16.) According to HBA/DE, this provision is
inconsistent with “transferring all costs away from the utility
that has by its own volition obtained a monopoly over the
site.” I agree with DPA and Staff, however, that these
sections have no bearing whatsoever on the Commission’s
authority to adopt the Proposed Regulation. (Staff RB at 7-8;
DPA RB at 6-7.)  

5. HBA/DE made this argument, and the argument relating
to §302 below, in its February 4, 2005 Motion to Dismiss,
which I addressed in my March 22, 2005 denial of the
Motion.
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59. First, the requirement that a utility be able to supply
water to new customers at a certain pressure says nothing
about how the utility funds the incremental infrastructure
required to serve the customers. After all, no one argues that
the current CIAC regulation, under which utilities have been
requiring some level of contribution, violates the CPCN
statute.  In fact, United Water already requires 100 percent of
its direct costs, up-front and nonrefundable, for its projects.
(Ex. 9 (Trushell) at 2-3.) The Proposed Regulation simply
standardizes, across utilities, the CIAC calculation and
ensures that adequate amounts are collected. As noted by
Staff, if HBA/DE’s reading of the CPCN statute were
correct, then builders could simply demand installation of
water service infrastructure at the sole expense of the utility.
(Staff RB at 7.)  Second, the Proposed Regulation does not
transfer “all costs away from the utility.”  It is undisputed in
the record that the $1,500 charge will not cover the actual
Category 2 costs expended, over time, for each new
customer.  (Staff RB at 8.)

60. 26 Del.C. §§314 and 1307.  Next, HBA/DE argues
that the “attempt in the [Proposed Regulation] to bar rate
base growth is ‘out of harmony’ with” §314 (creating the
DSIC rate)6 and §1307 (relating to Water Supply
Coordinating Council (“WSSC”) projects).7 (HBA/DE Br. at
16-17; see also Reybold Br. at 8-9.)  According to HBA/DE,
because these statutory provisions authorize rate increases
(by way of rate base growth) for certain types of capital
improvements, any Commission action intended limit rate
increases (by limiting rate base growth), must violate public
policy. The Proposed Regulation, however, is not intended to
limit rate increases, although that likely will be one of the
positive consequences. It is intended to effect a more
equitable allocation of expansion costs between existing
ratepayers and the developers that are causing expansion to
occur. The public policy invoked in this proceeding,
therefore, is not “low rates.”  It is “just and reasonable” rates,
which is the stated policy of the legislature.  (26 Del.C.

§§303, 309, 311.) 
61. 26 Del.C. §302.  Next, HBA/DE argues that §302,

“presents legislative policies and principles contrary to the
principles that underlie” the Proposed Regulation. (HBA/DE
Br. at 17; see also, Reybold Br. at 8.)  Section 302 requires
that the Commission include as rate base, in a rate case, all
utility facilities that serve existing customers or customers
“reasonably anticipated to be added” within three years,
without imputation of revenues. According to HBA/DE, by
permitting rate base inclusion of unused infrastructure, the
legislature established a policy of rate base treatment of new
facilities, which the Proposed Regulation thwarts. HBA/DE
argues that the Proposed Regulation “makes impossible the
operation of §302 because of its requirement of CIAC
treatment in every instance,” which is an improper
interference with the utility/developer relationship. (HBA/
DE Br. at 18.)  

62. I agree with Staff and DPA, however, that the
determination of rate base and imputation of revenues in a
rate case, under §302, in no way affects whether the
Commission can require a water utility to charge a CIAC for
new construction.  (Staff RB at 4-5; DPA RB at 7-8.) While
§302 may have the effect of burdening ratepayers, rather
than shareholders, with a portion of the cost of new
construction, it does not prevent the Commission from
reasonably allocating a portion of the cost of new
construction to developers rather than existing customers.
The Proposed Regulation and §302 involve, therefore, two
different sets of competing interests.

63. In other ords, that Class A utilities will no longer
need to invoke §302 in rate cases, under the Proposed
Regulation, does not mean that the Proposed Regulation
contradicts the policy behind §302. In enacting §302, the
legislature was protecting utility shareholders from losing
their return on new infrastructure that the Commission might
have excluded from rate base because it was not yet being
used for utility service. Under the Proposed Regulation,
however, utility shareholders remain protected. The
Proposed Regulation merely adds protection for existing
ratepayers from subsidizing system expansion. Furthermore,
§302 will remain effective in rate cases involving non-Class
A water utilities.  For these reasons, § 302 has no impact on
the Commission’s authority to adopt the Proposed
Regulation.

64. 26 Del.C. §512.  Next, HBA/DE argues that the
Commission’s “attempt to eliminate negotiations between
the utility and the developer, is plainly inconsistent and out
of harmony with the encouragement of negotiations to
resolve [Commission] matters found in 26 Del.C. §512.”
(HBA/DE Br. at 19.) Section 512 directs the Commission to
encourage the resolution of matters brought before it through

6. The DSIC (“distribution system improvement charge”)
statute allows water utilities to recover DSIC costs without
incurring the expense of a rate case. DSIC costs relate to
improvements to the utility’s distribution system that do not
increase revenues but which are eligible for rate base treat-
ment.  (Staff RB at 5, citing § 314(4)a and b.) 

7. Section 1307, which relates to drought relief, allows
water utilities to recover the cost of twater supply enhance-
ment projects identified by the WSCC as being necessary to
assure adequate water supplies for Delawareans. (Staff RB at
6.)
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the use of settlements and authorizes the Commission to
adopt such settlements, as long as they are found to be in the
public interest. Section 512, however, relates to matters
brought before the Commission, not to the private
negotiations between developers and water utilities. (Staff
RB at 9; DPA RB at 9.)  Section 512, therefore, has no
bearing on the Commission’s authority to adopt the Proposed
Regulation.

65. In fact, the policy underlying §512 actually
supports the Commission’s adoption of the Proposed
Regulation. As noted by DPA, §512 allows the Commission
to avoid expensive and lengthy litigation, by permitting
resolutions by settlement.  (DPA RB at 8-9.)  Similarly, §
314, which permits rate increases for DSIC improvements
without going through a rate case, serves to avoid expensive
and lengthy litigation. The Proposed Regulation, which is
expected to reduce the number of rate cases filed by the
high-growth Class A water utilities, follows this principle.  

C. The $1,500 Flat Fee for Indirect Costs 
66. HBA/DE argues that the $1,500 fee in the Proposed

Regulation for recovery of Category 2 costs is improper.
(HBA/DE Br. at 20-23.) According to HBA/DE, by paying
for costs not directly assignable to a specific project, the
developer is subsidizing all other customers, in addition to
the utility stockholders. HBA/DE also argues that the
provision in the Proposed Regulation that allows for deferred
accounting of the $1,500 fee, to be used for any capital
improvements, shows that the $1,500 will be over-
compensate the utility for actual Category 2 costs
attributable to the developer. (Id at 21-22.) As possible
solutions, HBA/DE recommends, among other things, that:
(1) the $1,500 fee not be imposed by a utility that does not
have Category 2 costs against which to record the fee and (2)
the accounting deferral period be limited to some set period
(e.g., three years), after which the fee is returned to the
developer.

67. First, just because a cost is not directly assignable
to a specific project, does not mean that the cost was not
caused by the project. If a utility employs transmission,
supply and treatment plant that serves numerous
subdivisions, and additions or upgrades to that plant are
required, in part, to serve additional subdivisions, then it is
appropriate to allocate a portion of those costs to the
developers, just as costs directly assignable to a specific
project are allocated to the developers.8 After all, not all
common capital costs will be recovered by the $1,500 fee

and those that are not recovered will be funded by the utility
and added to rate base.  (Tr. (Spacht) at 426, 442, 444.) In
other words, the $1,500 fee was not sized to recover all
common capital costs, only those attributable to system
expansion. As specified in Section 3.8.2, the fee recovers
from developers “their portion of transmission, supply,
treatment and/or other utility plant costs made available by
the water utility.”  (Emphasis added.)    

68. Second, the deferral of accounting of the $1,500,
until the funds are actually used, was added in response to
United Water’s concerns that it may not incur Category 2
costs contemporaneous with the construction of new
facilities, and it did not want to be faced with decreasing its
rate base.  (Tr. (Trushell) 564; Tr. (McDowell) 496, on cross-
examination by counsel for United Water.) Even if the
accounting is deferred, however, the fees will eventually be
used for Category 2 costs, which are driven largely by
system expansion. Moreover, it is unknown whether, in
practice, deferred accounting will be used to any significant
degree.  After all, since 2003, none of the Class A utilities
studied has incurred less than $1,500 per new customer, on
an annual basis, for Category 2 costs.9 And since the
Proposed Regulation includes a mandatory reopening of this
docket after two years, the amount of the fee can be modified
in the unlikely event that actual Category 2 costs fall below
$1,500 per new customer.

69. HBA/DE also warns that the provision under which
the utility, rather than the developer, will pay for Category
1B costs (off-site direct costs) that constitute “company
betterment” “promises to be a battlefield.” (HBA/DE Br. at
20.)  No other party, however, expressed any concern that the
“company betterment” clause would lead to a significant
number of disputes. Even if it does, however, the “company
betterment” provision, like any other, will be subject to
clarification or revision upon the mandatory reopening of the
docket in two years. In the meantime, parties may contact
Commission Staff for prompt assistance in resolving a
dispute or a party may file a complaint with the Commission
for formal adjudication.  (Ex. 4 (McDowell) at 2-3.)

70. HBA/DE also notes that while Section 3.8.8 of the
Proposed Regulation calls for true-up of the Category 1
CIAC charge, Section 3.8.2 defines Category 2 CIAC to
include those Category 1 costs that have not been collected

8. As Mr. Cotton put it, the $1,500 flat fee “looks at system
needs rather than subdivision needs.” (Ex. 6 at 12.)

9. For 2003 and 3004, Artesian has paid $3,241 and $6,082
per customer, United Water has paid $1,574 and $1,637 per
customer, and Tidewater has paid $1,861 and $1,836 per cus-
tomer.  (Ex. 3 at “Exhibit 1.”)  These figures do not include
transmission costs, so total Category 2 costs would be
higher.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 8, WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2006



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1159
under the Category 1 charge.  (HBA/DE Br. at 20.) If the
costs are trued-up, however, then there should be no need to
include any un-collected costs in another category. The
Section 3.8.2 clause including un-collected Category 1 costs,
therefore, appears to be unnecessary.  I do not, however, find
this minor discrepancy, if it is one, to warrant rejection the
Proposed Regulation. In practice, as long as the Section 3.8.2
true-up takes place, Category 2 costs will exclude all
Category 1 costs anyway.  

71. In its brief, Reybold argues that the proposed
$1,500 fee is unjustly discriminatory, because it applies to
customers who purchase a new home and it does not apply to
customers who purchase an existing home. (Reybold Br. at
6, 7.)  As argued by DPA, however, the fee is charged to
developers, not homebuyers, and it is applied equally to all
developers. (DPA RB at 14-15.) The fee, therefore, is not
discriminatory. Whether or not the builder raises the price of
the home in an amount equal to the fee does not alter this
conclusion. Even if the fee is considered a charge to new
water service customers, however, the utility does not charge
buyers of existing homes the $1,500 because the costs that
the fee are designed to recover are the costs associated with
adding new infrastructure, and no new infrastructure is
added for an existing home. Under either perspective,
therefore, the charge is not unjustly discriminatory.

72. Moreover, it would be impossible to determine the
“perfect” allocation of common capital costs between new
and existing customers. As such, while the $1,500 fee is not
perfect, it more accurately (and therefore more fairly)
allocates the cost of system expansion to those who cause
system expansion in comparison to the current regulation.  In
so doing, the fee simply lessens the substantial burden
placed on Artesian’s and Tidewater’s existing ratepayers
who, under the current CIAC regulation, have been
subsidizing new development for years. According to Staff,
DPA, and Artesian, $1,500 is a conservative figure, in that a
higher amount would be justifiable based on the actual
incremental costs of system expansion. (Staff RB at 8; DPA
RB at 13; Tr. (Spacht) 426.) 

D. Conclusion
73. Under 26 Del.C. §209(a), the Commission has the

authority and jurisdiction to fix “just and reasonable”
regulations governing any public utility. The Proposed
Regulation is “just” because it lessens the subsidy that flows
from existing ratepayers to developers under the current
regulation and because it promotes equal treatment by all
Class A utilities for all builders and developers. The
Proposed Regulation is “reasonable” because for Category 1
costs, it requires collection of only the actual, direct costs of
a specific project (subject to true-up) and, for Category 2
costs, it requires a flat $1,500 fee, which reflects the low end

of the range of Category 2 costs historically incurred by the
Class A utilities per new customer added. The Proposed
Regulation is also reasonable in that it likely will reduce the
number of rate cases, thereby avoiding substantial litigation
costs, which are borne by the ratepayers and which do not
add value to the water service provided.

74. For all of the above reasons, I recommend that the
Commission adopt, as just and reasonable, Staff’s proposed
regulation, as seen in Attachment “A” hereto.

Respectfully submitted,
William F. O’Brien, Senior Hearing Examiner
Dated: November 18, 2005

STAFF’S OPENING BRIEF – EXHIBIT C
STAFF’S 7/25/2005 PROPOSAL

“CLEAN” VERSION OF PROPOSED REGULATIONS 

1.3.12 CONTRIBUTION IN-AID-OF CONSTRUCTION
("CIAC") 

Cash, services, funds, property or other value received
from State, municipal, or other governmental agencies,
individuals, contractors, or others for the purpose of
constructing or aiding in the construction of utility plant and
which represent a permanent infusion of capital from sources
other than utility bondholders or stockholders.

1.3.13 ADVANCES  FOR  CONSTRUCTION OF
SERVICES ("ADVANCES") 

Cash, services, funds, property or other value received
by the utility which would be CIAC but for an agreement by
the utility to refund in whole or in part the amount received
so that the Advances initially represent a temporary infusion
of capital from sources other than utility bondholders or
stockholders.

1.3.14 FACILITIES EXTENSION
“Facilities Extension” means the extension of the water

utility’s Mains and appurtenances (“Facilities”) for the provision of
water service. As used in this definition, “appurtenances” include
valves, hydrants, pumps, sampling equipment and other
miscellaneous items appurtenant to a Main extension.

1.3.15 NEW SERVICES
“New Services” means the extension of pipe from the

water utility’s Mains to the customer’s premises.

3.8 CONTRIBUTIONS IN-AID-OF CONSTRUCTION
AND ADVANCES

A utility shall require CIAC for Facilities Extensions to
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the extent provided in §§3.8.1 and 3.8.2 herein below.
Nothing contained herein shall prevent a utility from
requiring CIAC, or Advances, or neither, for the provision of
New Services. Nothing herein shall prevent any utility from
paying for, and including in its rate base, the costs of New
Services.

3.8.1 CIAC REQUIREMENT FOR FACILITIES
EXTENSIONS

A utility shall require a CIAC when the request for a
Facilities Extension will require the installation of pipe and/
or associated utility plant.  All charges henceforth to
contractors, builders, developers, municipalities,
homeowners, or other project sponsors, seeking the
construction of water Facilities from a water utility company
shall be in the form of a CIAC to be paid to the water utility
as Category 1A, 1B and Category 2 costs, as computed under
§§3.8.2 and 3.8.6, subject to true-up under §3.8.8. 

3.8.2 COMPUTATION OF CIAC
Category 1A Costs.
All on-site Facilities costs that are directly assignable to

a specific project are Category 1A costs and shall be
designated by the utility and paid for by the contractor,
builder, developer, municipality, homeowner, or other
project sponsor, as CIAC, with no refunds. These costs
include such items as Mains, hydrants, treatment plants,
wells, pump stations, storage facilities, and shall include any
other items that are necessary for the provision of utility
water service. The cost of a Facilities Extension from the
furthest point of the project site up to a point 100 feet beyond
the boundary of the project (in the direction of the utility’s
existing Main) shall be considered a Category 1A Cost.

Category 1B Costs.
All off-site Facilities costs that are directly assignable to

a specific project from such point 100 feet beyond the
boundary of the project and continuing to the utility’s
existing Main are Category 1B Costs and shall be designated
by the utility and funded by the contractor, builder,
developer, municipality, homeowner, or other project
sponsor, as a CIAC not subject to refund. These costs
include such items as Mains, hydrants, treatment plants,
wells, pump stations, storage facilities, and shall include any
other items that are necessary for the provision of utility
water service. Notwithstanding the foregoing, Category 1B
Costs shall not include, and the utility shall be entitled to pay
for and include in its rate base, any additional Facilities costs
elected to be incurred by the utility in connection with the
Facilities Extension for company betterment. In determining
whether Category 1B Costs are directly assignable to a
project, or elected as company betterment, the CIAC shall be

calculated based on the cost of installing Mains using a
minimum of 8 inch diameter pipe, provided, however, that
where Mains of a larger diameter are required by applicable
laws, building or fire codes, or engineering standards to
provide water service to the project on a stand-alone basis,
the CIAC shall be calculated based on the cost of installing
Mains using such larger diameter pipe.

Category 2 Costs.
Category 2 Costs refer to transmission, supply,

treatment and/or other utility, plant costs that are not directly
assignable to a specific project or where the Category 1 costs
have not included sufficient direct costs for transmission,
supply, treatment, and/or other utility plant costs to supply
water to the project. The contractor, builder, developer,
municipality, homeowner or other project sponsor shall pay
$1,500 per single family residential water meter service for
their portion of transmission, supply, treatment and/or other
utility plant costs made available by the water utility. These
costs will be contributed by the contractor, builder,
developer, municipality, homeowner, or other project
sponsor, as CIAC, with no refunds. Within one hundred and
twenty (120) days following the effective date of these
regulations, each water utility shall file with the Commission
proposed tariff pages containing the charges it will impose
for Category 2 costs for single family residential and other
types of metered water service. Such charges shall be
determined based on meter size or another objective factor.
The utility may account for such amounts by applying such
amounts to pay for or offset any capital costs, including new
and/or replacement plant, whether incurred in connection
with the project or otherwise. The utility shall be entitled to
hold amounts received as Category 2 Costs, and defer
accounting for them as CIAC, until such amounts are
actually used to fund capital improvements, at which time
the utility shall be entitled to account for the Category 2
Costs as CIAC to the extent it is able to make offsetting
entries to the utility’s plant accounts.

3.8.3 ADVANCES
An Advance may consist of the following components:

1. An amount equal to the entire estimated cost
(including reasonable overhead costs) of construction; plus

2. Any applicable Federal income taxes, and
applicable State taxes, that may be generated to the account
of the utility as a result of the Advance.

3.8.4 REFUNDS OF ADVANCES
By April 30th of each year, the utility will refund a

portion of the Advance representing each additional
customer connected during the previous calendar year based
on a standard formula developed by the utility (the "net
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refund amount") plus the tax savings, if any, which the utility
receives from deducting the Advance refund payment (the
sum of which is referred to as the "gross refund amount"). In
no event shall the total amount refunded by a utility (the sum
of the gross refund amounts) exceed the amount received by
such utility as an Advance (as finally determined by the
utility after compliance with Rule 3.8.8). At the end of the
negotiated refund period, no further refunds or payments
will be made. If, at the end of such refund period, an
Advance has not been fully refunded, the remaining un-
refunded Advance will be considered a CIAC and will be
treated for accounting and ratemaking purposes as a CIAC.
The utility and the person(s) making the Advance shall
determine the period in which the refund of the Advance
may occur, but such period shall not exceed five (5) years. 

3.8.5 RATEMAKING TREATMENT OF ADVANCES
An Advance will be considered as a non-taxable

transaction for ratemaking purposes since the income taxes,
if required, will be provided by the person(s) making the
Advance. 

3.8.6 GROSS UP OF CIAC 
A CIAC will consist of an amount equal to the entire

estimated cost, including the utility’s standard overhead
costs, of constructing the Facilities Extension. If any portion
of property contributed by the contractor, builder, developer,
municipality, homeowner, or other project sponsor is deemed
taxable income to the utility, the utility shall be permitted to
gross up the amount of the CIAC to include such tax
liability.

3.8.7 RATEMAKING TREATMENT OF CIAC
The Federal and State income taxes, if required,

associated with the CIAC and paid by the utility receiving
the CIAC, may be added to rate base, at which time the
utility will have an opportunity to earn a fair return on this
amount.

3.88 TRUE-UP OF CONTRIBUTIONS AND
ADVANCES

Where the estimated amount of the CIAC or Advance
exceeds the finally determined cost of the Facilities Extension
or New Services, that excess amount shall be returned to the
person making the CIAC or Advance.

Where the estimated amount of the CIAC or Advance falls
short of the finally determined cost of the Facilities Extension or
New Services, that shortage amount shall be paid to the utility
by the person making the CIAC or Advance.

3.8.9 MISCELLANEOUS; CLASS A WATER

UTILITIES AFFECTED; PROSPECTIVE APPLICATION;
REOPENING OF DOCKET

The regulations governing CIAC and Advances shall:
1. apply only to Class A Water Utilities, and
2. apply prospectively and therefore shall not affect or

apply to circumstances where the water utility has already
entered into a  water service agreement with the contractor,
builder, developer, municipality, homeowner, or other
person, regarding the construction of water facilities.

PSC Regulation Docket 15 shall be reopened two years
from the effective date of the revised regulations governing
CIAC and Advances to review the extension methodology
and to assess its effectiveness, and the CIAC computation
and costs categories.  After such review and assessment, the
Commission may, if deemed appropriate, consider further
modifications. 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
Statutory Authority:  26 Delaware Code,

Section 209(a)  (26 Del.C. §209(a))

PUBLIC NOTICE

In the Matter of the Adoption of Rules |
to Govern Remedies Available in the |
Event of Alleged Beaches of Inter- | PSC
Connection Agreements Between | Regulation Docket
Telecommunications Carriers (Opened | No. 52
April 16, 2002; Reopened December 20,|
2005) |

ORDER NO. 6801

This 20th day of December, 2005, the Commission
determines and Orders the following:

1. In PSC Order No. 5933 (Apr. 16, 2002), the
Commission felt that it might be prudent to explore whether
the Commission should adopt specific rules governing what
actions are, or are not, permissible in the case of an alleged
breach of the terms of an interconnection agreement and
what procedures, including notice to the Commission and
Commission approval, might have to precede any such
actions. The premise for such rules would be to ensure that
consumers not suffer the consequences of contractual
disputes between carriers and find themselves disconnected
or limited in their choices. Therefore, the Commission
opened Regulation Docket No. 52.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 8, WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2006

http://www.state.de.us/delpsc/default.shtml


PROPOSED REGULATIONS1162
2. Since that time, Staff has developed a few different
versions of proposed rules and have had discussions with the
various telecommunications carriers concerning these rules.
As a result of those discussions, Staff is now requesting the
Commission to consider the rules as set forth in Exhibit “A.”

3. The proposed rules simply instruct
telecommunications carriers that during disputes between
carriers, the companies cannot terminate or suspend service
which would affect Delaware consumers and instruct
telecommunications carriers who want to abandon service of
the process of informing customers and relevant parties
before terminating service. 

Now, therefore, IT IS ORDERED:
1. That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §§209 and 703(3), the

Commission proposes to consider the rules as set forth in
Exhibit “A” to this Order.

2. That, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §§1133 & 10115, the
Secretary shall transmit a copy of this Order, with the
attached exhibits, to the Registrar of Regulations for
publication in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

3. That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209 and 29 Del.C.
§10115(a)(2) & (b), the Secretary shall cause the form of
public notice attached as Exhibit “B” to be published in two-
column format, outlined in black, in the following
newspapers on the following dates:

The News Journal (January 10, 2006)
Delaware State News (January 11, 2006)

In addition, the Secretary shall mail a copy of this Order,
with its exhibits, to the Division of the Public Advocate and
to all persons or entities who have made written requests for
advanced notice of this Commission’s rule-making
proceedings. The Secretary shall file a certification of the
completion of these tasks by February 15, 2006.

4. That interested persons or entities may submit
written suggestions, compilations of data, briefs, or other
written materials concerning these proposed amendments on
or before Friday, March 3, 2006.  Pursuant to 26 Del.C.
§209(a), the Commission, through its designated Hearing
Examiner, will hold a public hearing on the proposed
amendments on Wednesday, March 22, 2006, beginning at
10:00 a.m. in the Commission’s office located at 861 Silver
Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 100, Dover,
Delaware.

5. That, pursuant to 26 Del.C. §502 and 29 Del.C.
§10117, the Commission designates Hearing Examiner Ruth
Ann Price to organize, classify, summarize, and make
recommendations concerning the rules proposed by this
Order in light of the submitted materials and public hearings.
Hearing Examiner Price is specifically authorized to conduct
further hearings or direct submission of additional

documents if deemed necessary or appropriate.
6. The Commission reserves the jurisdiction and

authority to enter such further Orders in this matter as may
be deemed necessary or proper by Order of the Commission.

BY ORDER OF THE COMMISSION:
Arnetta McRae, Chair
Joann T. Conaway, Commissioner
Jeffrey J. Clark, Commissioner
Jaymes B. Lester, Commissioner
Dallas Winslow, Commissioner

ATTEST:
Karen J. Nickerson, Secretary

PUBLIC NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULES

In PSC Order No. 5933 (Apr. 16, 2002), the
Commission felt that it might be prudent to explore whether
the Commission should adopt specific rules governing what
actions are, or are not, permissible in the case of an alleged
breach of the terms of an interconnection agreement and
what procedures, including notice to the Commission and
Commission approval, might have to precede any such
actions. The premise for such rules would be to ensure that
consumers not suffer the consequences of contractual
disputes between carriers and find themselves disconnected
or limited in their choices. Therefore, the Commission
opened Regulation Docket No. 52.

Staff has developed rules to address the Commission’s
concerns by instructing telecommunications carriers that
during disputes between carriers, the companies cannot
terminate or suspend service which would affect Delaware
consumers and instructing telecommunications carriers who
want to abandon service of the process of informing
customers and relevant parties before terminating service.

The text of these proposed rules are attached to PSC
Order No. 6801.  That Order and the exhibits are reproduced
in the February 2006 edition of the Delaware Register of
Regulations. The Order and exhibits can also be reviewed
on-line at the PSC’s website at www.state.de.us/delpsc. You
can also obtain a paper copy of the Order at the PSC’s Dover
office.  Those paper copies will cost $0.25 per page.
 You can file written comments, suggestions, briefs,
compilations of data, or other materials concerning these
proposed amendments to the Telecom Rules. Such material
(10 copies) must be submitted to the Commission on or
before Friday, March 3, 2006. Send the material to the
Commission’s Dover office at the following address:
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 9, ISSUE 8, WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2006



PROPOSED REGULATIONS 1163
Delaware Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building
Suite 100
Dover, Delaware, 19904
Attn: PSC Reg. Dckt. No. 52

In addition, the PSC will conduct a public hearing on
these proposed changes on Wednesday, March 22, 2006,
beginning at 10:00 AM. The hearing will take place in the
Commission’s Office located at the address denoted above.
You may also submit additional materials then.

If you are handicapped and need assistance or aids in
participating in this matter, please contact the PSC to discuss
the needed assistance or aids. You can contact the PSC with
questions or requests about this matter at the Commission's
toll-free telephone number (800) 282-8574 (Delaware only)
or (302) 739-4333 (including text telephone). You can also
send inquiries by Internet e-mail addressed to
karen.knickerson@state.de.us.

EXHIBIT  "A"

RULES TO GOVERN IN THE EVENT OF ALLEGED 
BREACHES OF INTERCONNECTION 

AGREEMENTS BETWEEN 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS CARRIERS AND THE 

PROCESS FOR CARRIERS TO ABANDON SERVICE 
TO ITS DELAWARE CUSTOMERS

Rule 1. Unless permitted by Order of the Commission, no
party to a telecommunications interconnection agreement
(“party” or “carrier”) may refuse to comply with the terms of
the interconnection agreement in a manner that affects
service to a Delaware customer (including refusal to
terminate the other party’s traffic, suspension of inter-carrier
services, and refusal to execute customer carrier-selection or
other service orders), even if such party believes that the
other party has breached their interconnection agreement.

Rule 2. Any party to a telecommunications interconnection
agreement who believes that the other party has breached
their agreement must promptly notify the other party and
Commission Staff in writing of the dispute. The carriers shall
then provide Commission Staff with a monthly status report
regarding the dispute until such time that the carriers resolve
the matter or until a Formal Complaint or mediation request
is filed with the Commission.

Rule 3. If the carriers cannot resolve their dispute, then
either carrier may file a Formal Complaint or may request

mediation of the dispute in accordance with the Rules of
Practice and Procedure of the Delaware Public Service
Commission.

Rule 4. Any carrier who wishes to abandon its
telecommunications services to end-users in Delaware must
first file an application with the Commission for approval, in
accordance with the Commission’s Rules for the Provision
of Telecommunications Services.  On the same day of filing
its application, the carrier shall send notification of its
request for abandonment to its Delaware customers and to
the Division of the Public Advocate.  Such notice shall direct
customers to select a replacement carrier by a specified
deadline (no less than 45 days from the date of notice) and
shall include a list of certificated telecommunications
carriers that can be selected by the Delaware customer.  No
later than seven days before the deadline, the carrier shall
provide to Commission Staff a list of those customers
(including addresses and telephone numbers) who did not
select a replacement carrier. In the event a customer cannot
be reached or fails to respond, the Commission may assign a
local exchange carrier on a market pro rata share basis or
other basis deemed appropriate by the Commission. In no
event may the abandoning carrier terminate any Delaware
customer unless permitted by Order of the Commission.

DEPARTMENT OF 
TRANSPORTATION

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
Statutory Authority:  21 Delaware Code,

Section 302 and 29 Delaware Code, Chapter 101
(21 Del.C. §302 and 29 Del.C. Ch. 101)

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware Department of Transportation Division of
Motor Vehicles, pursuant to 21 Del.C. §302 and 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101, Subchapter II, proposes to repeal thirty-three
rules and regulations previously enforced by the Division,
and described in detail below this notice. The repeals are
proposed because these rules and regulations are either
obsolete under later-enacted state or federal laws, or have
already become part of state law. Written comments
concerning this proposed repeal should be sent by March 2,
2006 to Jack Eanes, Chief of Operations, Division of Motor
Vehicles, 303 Transportation Circle, P.O. Box 698, Dover,
Delaware 19903.
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Regulations to be Repealed

Delaware Motorist Protection Act

Regulation Number 1

May 24, 1974

Concerning: Issuance of an Insurance Identification Card
Concerning: Notice of-Cancellation or Termination

1. INSURANCE IDENTIFICATION CARD
Effectively immediately, all companies licensed to write

Automobile Insurance in the State of Delaware must furnish
insurance Identification Cards to all named insureds. The
size, weight, color, and content of the card shall be as
follows:

A. Size: Approximately 3 ½”" x 2 ¼”.
B. Weigh Optional.
C. Color: White.
D. Content: Information shall include- the following:

1. Company Name. Group name may be shown
instead, if it will identify the specific Company involved.

2. Named Insured. Must be the same as that
shown on the motor vehicle registration.

3.  Address Optional.
4. Policy Number. 
5. Effective Date. Good indefinitely. No

expiration date to be shown.
6. Vehicle(s) Insured. Information may be

completed by indicating any of the following, depending on
the type of policy or coverage involved:

a. Year, Make and Vehicle Identification
Number of the vehicle(s) insured. Model of the vehicle may
be shown as the. Make. Year and Make of the vehicle may be
abbreviated, but the complete VIN must be shown. If  only a
portion of the VIN is available, this should be shown with
instructions to the insured to fill in the missing digits.
Otherwise, the insured should be instructed to fill in the
entire VIN; or

b. “All Owned Vehicles"; or
c. "Fleet".

7. Named Insured's Signature. Optional. 
The order of the information to be contained on

the ID Card may be rearranged at the option of the Company,
provided there is no drastic change and the rearrangement is
necessary to accommodate a fixed printout system already
established by a Company.

Additional information may also be printed on the
bottom or reverse side of the ID Card, provided this
information is appropriately captioned.

This Notice shall be of the following specifications:
A. Size: 6” x 3 ½”
B. Color: Green.
C. Weight: Optional.
D. Content: Information shall be shown as in the

following example:
DELAWARE NOTICE OF CANCELLATION OR

TERMINATION
Insurance Company and Address
Policy Number
Named Insured and Address
Effective Date of
Cancellation or
Termination
Year   Make Identification Number
To be filed with the Division of Motor Vehicles, Safety

Responsibility Section, P. C., Post Office Box 698, Dover,
Delaware 19901.

The order of information to be contained on the Notice
may be rearranged at the option of the Company.

The Notice must be filed with the Division of Motor
Vehicles immediately after the effective date of actual
cancellation or termination.

Upon receipt of the Notice, the Division of Motor
Vehicles will send to the registrant a form letter with
instructions for him to complete and return the insurance
verification statement at the bottom of the letter. Except
under unusual circumstances warranting investigation,
which the Division believes will be very infrequent,
certification by the registrant is not expected to be, sent to
the Company for verification. 

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 2
FEBRUARY 20, 1975

Concerning: STANDARDS WHICH MAY BE APPLIED 
BY THE MEDICAL ADVISORY BOARD

In accordance with Title 21, Chapter 27, Section 2722,
Delaware Code, the following standards are to be
implemented immediately:

The Executive Secretary of the State Board of Health,
members of the Medical Advisory Board, and the Motor
Vehicle Division may accept and employ evaluations made
by the Division of Alcoholism Services, a Division of the
Department of Health and Social Services, in matters
concerning alcoholism and excessive alcoholic beverage
consumption.

The Board may also act upon other reliable relevant
information and recommendations concerning whether a
drinking problem does or does not exist while they are
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arriving at an opinion, or making recommendations to the
Division of Motor Vehicles. 

(The purpose of this Policy Regulation is to enable the
Division of Motor Vehicles and the Division of Alcoholism
Services to provide pertinent facts to the Board when action
has been taken by the Motor Vehicle Division against a
driver or applicant.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 4
MARCH 6, 1975

SUBJECT:Change of Name on Drivers' Licenses 

Effective immediately, whenever a change of name on a
driver's license is applied for and a new photo license is
issued, a fee of $1.00 is to be charged.

This new policy is implemented to help cover the photo
and administrative costs of issuing such new license. 

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 7
MARCH 25, 1975
AMENDED ON MARCH 6, 1979

SUBJECT:   Vanity Tags for Commercial Vehicles

To Be Changed From:
Effective immediately, vanity tags may be issued on any

commercial registered motor vehicle which has a gross
weight not exceeding 5, 000 pounds.

To Be Changed To:
Effective March 6, 1979, vanity tags may be issued on

any commercial registered motor vehicle which has a gross
weight not exceeding 8, 000 pounds.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 9
APRIL 8, 1975

SUBJECT: Waiver of Requirement of Inspection for Certain
Vehicles 

Whereas, many vehicles are traded or transferred, and
Whereas many license tags on these vehicles are

retained-onto newly purchased vehicles other vehicles, thus,
making the traded-in vehicles unregistered, and

Whereas many of these traded-in vehicles mere just
inspected prior to such trade-in, and

Whereas the Motor Vehicle Division is not only
interested in-safety, but also saving fuel and other costs not
only for the Division but also the citizens and businesses in
this State

The following policy will be implemented immediately:

If a Delaware certificate of title on a registered vehicle,
for which there are 6 full months or more remaining on the
registration is presented to the Motor Vehicle Division for a
tag retention, thus making the surrendered title an "U" title
(unregistered vehicle), the title clerk is to enter the previous
expiration date and her initials in the expiration block on the
face of the new "U" title prior to returning the title to the
owner.

If the title is presented back to the Delaware Motor
Vehicle Division for registration within three months after
the date of issue shown on the face of the "U” title, no
inspection card required. 

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 10
MAY 30, 1975

Concerning: Authorized Emergency Vehicles

Effective immediately, the following motor vehicles are
hereby designated as authorized, emergency vehicles, as
specified under Section 4106, Title 21, of the Delaware
Code:

Any motor vehicle used by a fire chief, assistant fire
chief, fire engineer or fire policeman, when such motor,
vehicle is being operated with blue lights flashing and in the
performance of their duties.

POLICY REGULATION NO. 11 (RESCINDED)
January 28 , 1982

M E M O R A N D U M
TO: Lane Managers

Title Supervisors
Registration Supervisors
Cashiers
T. Marvel Everett
Betty Knotts

FROM: Robert J. Voshell, Director 
Division of Motor Vehicles 

RE: Policy Regulation No. 11 (Rescinded)

Effective immediately, Policy Regulation No. 11 issued
on September 25, 1975, regarding Fee For A Duplicate
Antique License Plate is hereby rescinded.

Since the Division is now issuing antique license plates
which are similar to the other license plates which we issue
and are the same in cost, the $15.00 fee is no longer
necessary.
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The fee for a duplicate antique license plate shall be
$3.00, which is the same fee for all duplicate license plates.
Please mark Policy Regulation No. 11 "Rescinded" as of
January 28, 1982.

Please be advised that the Division no longer issues the
porcelain antique license plates.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 13
January 9, 1976

Concerning:     Driver License Reinstatement Standards

In accordance with Title 21, Chapter 3, Section 302,
Delaware Code, the following standards may be
implemented immediately.

The Director of the Motor Vehicle Division and those
persons, designated to act on his behalf in the performance
of duties, rules, regulations, and of duties, rules, regulations
and policies of the Division may accept and employ
professional evaluations made by the Division of
Alcoholism Services, a Division of the Department of Health
and Social Services, in matters concerning alcoholism and
excessive alcoholic beverage consumption.

The Division may act upon reliable relevant information
and recommendations concerning whether a 'drinking
problem does or does not exist while they are problem does
or does not exist while they are arriving at a decision for the
purpose of reinstatement after suspension or revocation or
licensing a new applicant.

In all cases where the Division delays licensing for the
purpose of obtaining a professional evaluation or refuses to
issue a license to an applicant or suspends or revokes the
privileges of a licensed driver in matters concerning the
excessive use of alcoholic beverages, the opportunity of a
hearing shall be granted upon written request to the Director.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 16
APRIL 20, 1976

SUBJECT:Use Of Blue Lights

In accordance with Section 302, Chapter 3, Title 21, of
the Delaware Code, the Division of State Police is hereby
authorized to use blue lights in conjunction with red and
white lights on Tactical Accident Control (TAC) patrol cars.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 20
OCTOBER 18, 1976

Concerning:  NOTICE OF TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP
OF A VEHICLE

In accordance with Title 21, Chapter 25, the transferor
of any vehicle must notify the Division of Motor Vehicles of
such transfer if the transfer is. to someone other than a
licensed Delaware dealer.

Because of the growing number of telephone
notifications we have been receiving; and because of the
possibility of errors in handling notifications ~ verbally; and
because of the growing, concern over presenting
verbally-taken notifications of transfers in future court
actions, the following Regulation Is effective immediately.

The notice of transfer, of a vehicle must be submitted in
writing by the transferor. The notice should include: license
plate number, make of vehicle, year of vehicle, serial number
(if available), date and time of transfer, purchaser's name and
address and seller's name and address.

This notice is not required if the owner appears at the
Motor Vehicle Division to transfer the title to the new owner
or if the transfer is to a registered dealer.

However, the Division recommends a notice of transfer
to be submitted if the transfer is to a dealer.

The computer record will be flagged as transferred, and
the written statement will be attached to the title background
file.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 22
APRIL 22, 1977

SUBJECT: Posting Traffic Violations For Juveniles

Effective immediately, no traffic violations will be
entered on the driving records of those individuals who have
not reached 16 years of age, unless the traffic violation is
related to alcohol or drugs.

All traffic violations will be entered on the driving
records of those individuals who are 16 years of age or older,
regardless of the driver license status or eligibility.

The Motor Vehicle Division will, however, abide by
Orders issued by the Family Court pursuant to Title 10,
Section 937 (b-I6) and enter the appropriate information on
the driving record as directed, regardless of age.

This Regulation is the result of a meeting held on April
20, 1977, between Robert D. Thompson. Chief Judge of the
Family Court for the State of Delaware, and John R.
Downey, Manager of the Driver Improvement Section,
concerning conflicting laws in Title 21 and Title 10, Section
937, which relates to "Delinquency".

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 28
APRIL 26, 1976
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SUBJECT: Salvaged Vehicles, Scrapped Vehicles, Junked
Vehicles, Rebuilt Vehicles, Dismantled Vehicles

As Required By Title 21, Delaware Code:
Section 1. Responsibilities of vehicle owner when a

vehicle is scrapped or dismantled -beyond repair (Section
2512, Title 21)

"Whenever any motor vehicle for which a title has been
issued by the Delaware Motor Vehicle Division, whether
such vehicle is registered or unregistered, is scrapped,
permanently dismantled, damaged or destroyed beyond
repair or otherwise made perm unusable as a motor vehicle,
the owner thereof within 30 days shall remove the registered
plate and shall immediately give or send such plate and the
certificate of title to the Motor Vehicle Division for
cancellation.

The Department shall upon receipt of the certificate of
title, issue and send to the own non-negotiable receipt for the
vehicle described on the certificate of title. Such
non-negotiable receipt shall be deemed to meet all State
proofs of ownership requirements.''

Procedures to be followed:
(a) If the owner scraps, permanently dismantles,

damages' or destroys a vehicle, and there is no settlement
with an insurance company on the basis of total loss, the
owner must comply with the requirements under Section I
above.

(b) When an insurance company as a result of
having paid a total loss claim acquires a certificate of title to
a vehicle and obtains possession or control of the vehicle
fore cause other than theft, such company must comply with
the requirements under Section 1 above. 

(c) Within 30 days of a theft of a vehicle, if an
insurance company has acquired a certificate of title to a
vehicle and obtains possession of the vehicle in settlement of
a theft lost claim, and upon recovery of the vehicle it is
determined that the vehicle has been damaged to an extent
that it would be considered a total loss under the provisions
of comprehensive and collision insurance, such insurance
company "must comply with requirements under Section 1
above. 

(d) Whenever any owner sells or transfers a
vehicle, whether registered or unregistered which is
considered to be scrapped, permanently dismantled,
damaged or destroyed-: beyond repair or otherwise made
permanently unusable as a vehicle, such owner shall comply
with the requirements under Section 1 above.

(e) Whenever any vehicle, Whether registered or
unregistered, is acquired,' either from in state or from
another state, and the vehicle was purchased as salvage,

junked ox to be dismantled, the purchaser -must comply with
the requirements under Section 1 above. However, if the
seller of the vehicle has complied with those requirements,
and the new purchaser has in his possession a.
non-negotiable receipt for a salvage vehicle, no further
requirements are necessary.

Section 2. Procedures to follow when a junked vehicle
(for which a non-negotiable receipt has been issued) is sold
to another party.

(a) Assign the non-negotiable receipt for a salvage
vehicle on the reverse side to the purchaser.

(b) Purchaser must retain non-negotiable receipt at
the office or location where vehicle  maintained.

Section 3. Procedures to follow if the junked vehicle is
to be retitled or re-registered.

(a) Vehicle must be inspected by Delaware. State
Police Auto Unit. Non-negotiable receipt must be presented.

(b) Vehicle must pass safety inspection at Motor
Vehicle Division Inspection Lane.

(c) Vehicle will be retitled as the original
manufacture and year for which it was previously titled,
unless, the Auto Theft Unit determines that enough different
components have been used to classify it as an assembled
vehicle.

(d) When the new Delaware certificate of title is
typed, the word RECONSTRUCTED will entered in the
"use" block on the face of the title.

Section 4.    Fees
(a) If a non-negotiable receipt (salvage title) is

desired, there is , a fee of $2.00 $15.00 to be paid at the time
of application. 

(b) If owner submits the title as being' junked,
salvaged, etc. and there is no further nee of a won-negotiable
receipt (salvage title), the Motor Vehicle Division .will send
a letter to the owner acknowledging receipt of the title and
tag. There is no fee for this. However, this vehicle can never
be titled again. The letter must be maintained on file and
produced upon request by any authorized agent of the Motor
Vehicle Division or 1abor  enforcement agency. 

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 33
DECEMBER 10, 1979

(Replaces and Supersedes PolicyRegulation 33 Issued
August 10, 1978) 
OCTOBER 15, 1982 (Revised)
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CONCERNING:Designation of Representative of the
Secretary for Holding Administrative and/or Implied
Consent Hearings

Approved employees are:
Motor Vehicle Director
Driver Services Chief
Driver Improvement Manager 
Driver Improvement Assistant Manager
Employees classified as Driver Services Officer III
Employees classified as Driver Services Officer IV
Vehicle Services Chief

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 38
MARCH 15, 1979

CONCERNING: Vehicle Document Fees 

Pursuant to Title 30, Section 3003, Delaware Code, the
following regulation is established, effective immediately.

The word "transfer" as utilized in Section 3002, Title 30,
shall include the following:

Change of business entity status
Examples:Haven Trucks to Fast Express
John Doe Trucks, Inc. to John Doe, Inc.
Joe Smith Buses to Smith Buses, Inc.
Joe Smith to Smith Buses

Change ownership between private individuals
Examples:Joe Smith to Tom Jones -
Joe Smith to Harry Smith &/or Tom Smith
Helen Jones to Ralph Jones

The above listed types of transfers must be'
accompanied by a notarized bill of sale pursuant to Section
3002(b) or a notarized affadavit. If neither a notarized bill of
sale or a notarized affadavit is available, the document shall
be based on the current NADA book value.

The word "transfer" shall not include the following:.
Change of name of a private individual because of

marriage, divorce or legal requirements
When a co-owner is being dropped or added to the

owner as listed on the title
Examples: Joe Smith to Joe Smith &/or Mary Smith

  Joe Smith &/or Mary Smith to Mary Smith
Joe Smith &/or Smith Bus Lines to Smith Bus

Lines
No notarized bill of sale or affadavit is required for these

types of transfers.
Other types of transfers not covered by this regulation

will be processed as prescribed in Title 30, Chapter 30,
Delaware Code.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 39
MARCH 5, 1979

CONCERNING: Reinstatement of Drivers’ Licenses/
Privileges

Unless otherwise provided by law, a suspension or
revocation of a driver's license or driving privileges shall not
be extended or continued for the reason that our Division has
not received the driver's license. 

The suspension/revocation period is effective as stated
on the official notice of suspension/revocation, and the
Division of Motor Vehicles has no statutory means to extend
or continue a suspension for failing to surrender a license.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 42
MARCH 5, 1979

CONCERNING:Hearings Prior to Mandatory Driver
License Revocations/Suspensions

A hearing is not required prior to a mandatory driver
license suspension and/or revocation unless the conviction
does not apply to the person suspended/revoked.

Mandatory revocations are for those offenses cited in
Section 2732(a) and Section 2732 (c) of Title 21.

Mandatory suspensions are for those offenses cited in
§2732(b); §314 (uncollectable check); §2733(h); §2733(k);
§2942; §2118(k).

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 44
 MARCH 14, 1979

CONCERNING: Reinspection Of Vehicles Rejected At
Time Of Inspection

Whereas, the conservation of fuel is becoming more and
more important; and

Whereas, many vehicles are rejected at time of
inspection for items that are not really significent in relation
to highway safety;

Therefore; be it resolved that the following Regulation
is adopted by the Department and shall remain in effect until
rescinded.

(A) Vehicles which are rejected at time of inspection for
brakes, wheel alignment, or any front end problems which
require the vehicle to be hoisted in the Lane, must pass
through the inspection lanes for their rechecks and approval.

(B) Vehicles which are rejected at time of inspection for
items other than those mentioned in the above paragraph (A)
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do not have to pass through the Lanes for recheck and
approval.

(1) These vehicles may be presented-at .the exit
end of the Lanes for checking by inspectors; or

(2) A repair order, statement, or bill showing that
the rejected items) has been repaired' is acceptable proof to
approve the vehicle. The repair order, statement, or bill must
be on pre-printed business forms, showing the name and
address of the business responsible far the repairs. A note on
plain paper or a telephone call is not acceptable.

This regulation does not-apply to school bus
inspections.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 47
Issued May 30, 1979
Revised September 24, 1979
Revised May 13, 1980
Revised April 2, 1982

CONCERNING: School Bus Operator License Eligibility

To be eligible for a school bus operator endorsement on
a driver’s license, the applicant must:

(1)Comply with the provisions of Title 21, Sections
2708 and 2709.

(2) For purposes of definition, a “satisfactory driving
record” as mentioned in Sections 2708 and 2709 shall be as
follows:

(a) a record that has a “point: total of 8 points or
less during the immediate past 3 years; and

(b) no “driving while under the influence of liquor
or drugs” convictions during the immediate past 5 years; and

(c) no entries of “Trial Waiver” (4177B) during the
immediate past 5 years; and

(d) no revocation of driver’s license or driving
privileges during the immediate past 5 years; and

(e) no conviction of vehicular assault during the
immediate past 5 years.

(3) All non-resident applicants (both initial applicants
and those applying for renewal) shall present to the Division
of Motor Vehicles and official copy of their driving record
from the state where they are licensed. No application or
renewal shall be accepted without such driving record. 

(4) All non-residents applications must be qualified
pursuant to the provisions of Section 2708, Title 21,
Delaware Code.

(5) The out-of-state driving record shall be screened
with the same criteria as used for Delaware resident school
bus drivers.

(6) Form MV-1E is to be completed and used as the
photo license input card. 

(7)  The 3-point credit for attending the Defensive
Driving Course shall not be considered when determining
the eligibility of a school bus operator.

MEMORANDUM

To:  T. Marvel Everett                Title and Registration Clerks
       Lane Managers                     Cashiers
      Title Supervisors                   Information Clerks
      Registration Supervisors         Inspectors

FROM:           Robert J. Voshell, Director
                      Division of Mother Vehicles

SUBJECT:    H.B. 71 as amended – Inspection of Motor
Vehicles Built Prior to 1943

Pursuant to H. B. 71 enacted on April 17, 1979, the
attached Policy Regulation is to be implemented effective
immediately.

If the Antique Vehicle Inspection Form 'is- properly
completed, simply use it in lieu of the inspection card.
Validate it as you would a normal inspection card and return
it to Betty Knotts' office in the daily work.

If the vehicle is inspected by our employees, use an
inspection card, as in past procedures.

The law, and these procedures apply to all motor
vehicles built in 1942 and prior.

This includes those vehicles already registered as
antique vehicles and those Delaware registered vehicles
which are not registered as antiques.

All inspections for pre 1943 vehicles being registered
for the first time in Delaware must be performed by
employees of the Division of Motor Vehicles.

Inspections for renewals of the pre 1943 vehicles can be
performed by those designated persons on the attached list.

for renewals of pre 1943 vehicles can be performed by
those designated persons on the attache.
Attachment

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 48
AUGUST 6, 1979

CONCERNING: Inspection of Antique Vehicles Built Prior
To 1943

Pursuant to House Bill No. 71 as amended, enacted on
April 17, 1979, which amended Section 2199, Chapter 21,
Title 21, Delaware Code, the following types of safety
inspection shall apply to pre-1943 vehicles:
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1. Normal inspection performed at the Division of
Motor Vehicles' Inspection Lanes.

OR
2. Off-site inspection by a qualified employee of the

Division of Motor Vehicles. There shall be an  inspection fee
of $5.00 for an off-site inspection. An appointment must be
made in advance by the owner, with the Lane Manager.

OR
3. Inspection performed by designated inspection

officers of the recognized antique vehicle clubs in Delaware.
The inspection officers will complete forms as required by
the Division of Motor Vehicles. These forms are to be given
to the antique vehicle owner, who must submit the form to
the Division of Motor Vehicles at time of renewal of
registration.

All inspections for the initial registration in Delaware
must be performed by employees of the Division of Motor
Vehicles.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 49
AUGUST 15, 1979

Concerning:  Issuance Of Conditional' Driver Licenses To
Non-Residents

Pursuant to Title 21, Section 302, 4177 B, 417? C, and
4177 D, the following regulation and procedures are
established effective immediately.

1. A non-resident driver, who qualifies as a first
offender pursuant to § 4177 B (d),may elect to voluntarily
enroll in 

    an approved course of instruction and/or program of
rehabilitation in order to obtain a conditional license.

2.  The non-resident applicant, in addition to compliance
with the provisions under 4177 C, must present the 
Division a current copy of his/her driving record from the
state of residence (which issued his/her current driver's
license).

3.  The out-of-state driver's license must be surrendered
to the Division for the period of revocation.

4. A notice of the revocation will be forwarded to the
licensing authority in the applicant's home state. 

5. All other provisions of Title 21, Delaware Code, will
apply.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 52
JUNE 20, 1980

CONCERNING: Period of Revocation of Driver's License/
Driving
Privileges Pursuant to Section 4202(b) , Title 21

Upon receiving a conviction for a violation of Section
4202(a) the driver's license and/or driving privileges shall be
revoked for a period of one (1) year under Section 4202(b) ,
Title 21 Delaware Code. 

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 54
DECEMBER 12, 1980

CONCERNING: The Issuance Of A Subsequent
Occupational Driver's License After A Conviction For
Violating The Provisions Of Such  Occupational License

Whereas, Title 21, Chapter 27, Section 2733(h) states
the following:

"(h) The Department, upon receiving a record of
convictions of any person upon a charge of operating a
motor vehicle in violation of the restriction imposed upon
said occupational license during the period of "such
occupational license, shall immediately extend the period of
such suspension for an additional like period and shall
forthwith direct such person to surrender said occupational
license to the Department." and;

Whereas; Title 21 does not set forth exactly when a
subsequent occupational license can be issued;

The following policy is hereby adopted pursuant to Title
21, Chapter 3, Section 302:

No application for a subsequent occupational license
will be accepted prior to the expiration of the suspension
period for which the .cancelled occupational license was
issued.

This policy does not-alter the total number of
occupational licenses (three) that an individual can be issued
pursuant to Section 2733(g) of Del. Code 21.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 55
FEBRUARY 17, 1981

CONCERNING: Waiver Of Examinations For Driver
Education Students

The examination required by 21 Del.C. §27I3(a) of an'
applicant for an operator's license may consist of an
examination of proof that the applicant has successfully
completed a course in driver education in a public or private
high school in this state if such a course is approved by the
State Board of Education and meets the standards for such
courses 'described by that Board. The visual acuity test will
be administered to all applicants. 

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 58
AUGUST 21, 1981
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CONCERNING: Driver Licenses (Towing Mobile Homes &
Goosenecked Trailers)

Whereas, there have been many questions from law'
enforcement officials, Motor Vehicle Division employees
and Delaware licensed drivers regarding the proper class of
licenses required for pulling mobile homes with tractors and
pulling goosenecked trailers with pickup trucks; and

Whereas, the Delaware laws are not specific in defining
these types of' vehicles; and 

Whereas , these two types of vehicles were not
considered as tractor and semi-trailer combinations when the
classified driver license system was implemented;

The following Departmental Policy Regulation is
effective immediately:

The type of license required for any operator of a motor
vehicle who is towing a mobile home or a goosenecked
trailer shall be governed, by the registered gross weight of
the towing vehicle.

For purposes of the classified license system, these two
types of vehicles shall not be considered tractor-trailer
combinations.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 59
SEPTEMBER 16, 1981

CONCERNING: Driving Experience For School Bus
Operators

Whereas the current laws do not provide for driving
experience- prior to obtaining a school bus operator's driver's
license or endorsement; and

Whereas the current laws do provide that the minimum
age for a school bus driver applicant shall be at least 18
.years of age and not over 70 years of age; and

Whereas Section 2707(a) of Title 21 requires at least
one year's previous driving experience prior to obtaining a
Class B or Class C license; and

Whereas the Department believes prior driving
experience should also be required for the operation of
school buses;

The following Policy Regulation is hereby adopted
pursuant to Title 21, Sections 302 and 2708, Delaware
Code:

No person shall be issued a school bus operator's
endorsement or school bus license unless such person has
held a valid driver's license for at least one year prior to the
application for such school bus endorsement or school bus
license.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 64

DECEMBER 3, 1981
CONCERNING: Establishing A Fee For Changing A
Driver’s License Number

Whereas, the Division of Motor Vehicles has changed
the driver's license numbers for many drivers during the past
few years just to give such drivers a better license
number; and

Whereas this service is not required since the driver has
a properly assigned licensed number; and

Whereas there is a cost to the Division for typing an
application, taking a photo, using film, using plastic chip,
keypunching, verifying and processing the new record to the
computer, and deleting the old record from the computer
from the computer

Be it therefore resolved that effective immediately the
following fees are to be assessed for a change of driver’s
license number:

$1.00  Cost of Material
  10. 00  Service Charge
$11.00    Total

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 66
FEBRUARY 22, 1982

CONCERNING: School Bus Drivers License/Renewals

Pursuant to Title 21, Chapter 27; Section 2708(b) , of
the Delaware Code, a school bus driver's license shall be
renewed annually, prior- to the start of the school year, at a
time set by Department regulation.

In accordance with the above mentioned law, the
Department has determined that, school bus drivers' licenses
or endorsements shall expire on August 31 each year.

An eye test is required at time of renewal.
A school bus operator may apply for a renewal of the

school bus endorsement anytime beginning July 1. A blue D.
P.I. card must be submitted to the Division. The driving
record will be reviewed.

A new applicant applying on or after July 1 will be
issued a school bus endorsement/license expiring August 31
of the following year.

A new applicant applying before July 1 will be issued a
school bus endorsement/license expiring August 31 of the
current year.

If the applicant's school bus endorsement /license has
expired over one year, the applicant must present a blue card
issued by the Department of Public Instruction and submit to
an eye test, written examination and road test. The applicant
does not have to re-attend the required classroom training. If
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the applicant fails any part of the test/examination, such
applicant must wait 10 days before being retested.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 67
FEBRUARY 22, 1982
(Revised February 26, 1982)

CONCERNING: Issuance Of 30-Day Permits To School
Bus Operators

Pursuant to Title 21, Chapter 27, Section 2708(a-7), the
Division of Motor Vehicles is authorized to issue a
temporary nonrenewable permit for 30 calendar days to an
applicant for a school  bus driver's licenses/endorsement,
upon recommendation of the area transportation supervisor
and after the applicant has passed the road test, physical
examination and eye test. 

In accordance with the above mentioned law the
following, policy and procedures are hereby adopted:

The Transportation Supervisor, upon receipt of the valid
physical examination form, will supply the applicant with a
Delaware School Bus Driver's Handbook, a Division of
Motor Vehicles Driver's Manual, and the pink card:

The applicant, after studying the Handbook and Manual,
can take the pink card to the Motor Vehicle -Division office
and request and eye test, written test, and road test. Upon
satisfactory completion of the three tests, the applicant will
be eligible to receive a temporary 30-day school bus
operator's permit.

When the holder of the 30-day permit completes the
required classroom training, he will be issued the yellow
card.

The yellow card will be presented to the same Motor
Vehicle Division office and the school bus operator's
endorsement will be issued without any further testing,
provided the temporary permit is still valid. If the permit has
expired, the applicant must meet the same requirements as
any other applicant.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 68
MARCH 15, 1982

CONCERNING: Types of Driver Licenses Required For
The Operation of School Buses

Pursuant to Title 21, Section 2708, a valid school bus
endorsement shall be required on the driver's license of an
operator of a school bus when such school bus is
transporting pupils. Such school bus endorsement can be
issued on a "Class A”, "Class B", or "Class C" drivers
license and is to be considered legal when operating a school

bus regardless of the gross registered .weight of such school
bus.

Pursuant to Title 21, Section 2708(c), a school bus
license or endorsement is not required when the` school bus
is being operated for other than school activities. However,
when the school bus is being operated for other than school
activities, the operator must be properly licensed with the
appropriate class license for the gross registered weight of
the school bus.

Example:  An operator of a school bus, such school bus
having a gross registered weight of 21,000 lbs. ,operating a
school bus for other than school activities must hold a valid
"Class B" or "Class C" driver's license.

If the gross registered weight, in the example, is 20,000
lbs. or less, operator can hold a valid "Class All, "Class B" or
"Class C" driver's license.

For "other than school activities" the normal Classified
Driver's License System applies.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 69
 MARCH 18, 1982

CONCERNING: Exempt Registration Fees For Disabled
Veterans

Title 21, Section 2164 of the Delaware Code reads as
follows:
"2164. Registration and inspection of motor vehicles of
disabled veterans.

A motor vehicle owned by a disabled veteran who
obtained such 'a vehicle pursuant to 38 U.S.C.A. § 1901 et
seq. or Public Law 538, 93rd Congress shall be registered,
but shall be exempt from the payment of registration fees.
The Secretary shall furnish, without cost, number and
registration plates for all such vehicles of such design as will
distinguish them from other plates for which fees are paid.
Nothing herein contained shall be construed as exempting
such vehicles from the requirement of inspection."

Upon a written request to the Division's Deputy
Attorney General dated January 11, 1982, the following
clarification of the federal law was received dated January
26, 1982, from Deputy Attorney General James J. Hanley.

"Section 2164 is limited to registration of a motor vehicle:
1. Owned by a disabled veteran who obtained such a

vehicle pursuant to federal law. The provisions of 38 U.S.C.
91903 state that the federal lacy entitles a disabled veteran to
receive only one car. Since he can only obtain one car with
federal money, he can only benefit from the exemption in 21
Del. C. 92164 one time.
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2. Federal law also provides for adaptive equipment to
be installed in a car. This benefit is not limited to one time.
The veteran can have the equipment installed on a car that he
subsequently purchases without any federal assistance in the
purchase.

3. Since Delaware -law is only concerned with a car
purchased with federal assistance, and not with cars
provided adaptive equipment, the exemption of 21 Del.C.
§2164 is a one time privilege."

Based on the above clarification an exempt vehicle
registration is to be given on one vehicle only for a disabled
veteran.

Example:John Doe received a one-time payment from
the Veterans' Administration toward the purchase of a
vehicle. The registration fee (and only the registration fee)
for this vehicle-is exempted for as long as this disabled
veteran owns the vehicle. However, the vehicle must be
inspected for safety each year.  If John Doe (owner) trades
this vehicle in on another vehicle at some point in the future,
the newly acquired vehicle does not qualify for an exempt
registration fee. The newly acquired vehicle still does not
qualify for an exempt .registration fee even though the
disabled veteran may receive federal funds for payment to
install special adaptive equipment or to replace or repair
such special adaptive equipment.

Prior to granting any future exemption for registration
fee at the time a certificate of title is issued it will be required
that the applicant submit to the Division a letter from the
Veteran Administration stating the following:

"Division of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 698-.
Dover, Delaware

Dear,
This is to certify that a service-connected disabled

veteran, has received a one-time payment in the amount of
$4, 400. 00 toward the purchase of an automobile or other
conveyance.

The veteran is also entitled to payment for the adaptive
equipment, its repair, replacement or re-installation required
because of disability for the safe operation of the vehicle
purchased with VA assistance or for a previously or
subsequently  acquired vehicle.

These entitlements are pursuant to 38U. S. C. 1901 and
following.

Sincerely,"

The above letter has been drafted by the Veterans
Administration and will be provided bi them to persons
receiving the one-time payment toward the purchase of a
vehicle. It will be amended to include the date of the grant.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 80
NOVEMBER 6, 1986
CONCERNING: School Bus Driver Applicants

Pursuant to 21 Del.C. §.2708, amended on July 8, 1986,
the following policy regulation becomes effective
immediately.

(a)  Applicants training to be school bus drivers
pursuant to 21 Del.C. §.2708(a)(4) may drive a school bus
with a valid Delaware Class A, B or C license or a
comparable valid out-of-state operator's license in
preparation for taking the road test at the Delaware Motor
Vehicle Division to qualify for a 30-day-non-renewable
temporary permit, provided they are accompanied by a
certified Delaware School Bus Driver Trainer as an
instructor and no other passengers are aboard.

When applicants are prepared to take the written test,
eye test and road test in the school bus, they may drive the
bus to the Motor Vehicle Division alone provided they
possess a pink card issued by the local Transportation
Supervisor.

Upon satisfactory completion of all three tests
administered by the Division of Motor Vehicles, the
applicant will receive a 30-day non-renewable temporary
permit issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles. The permit
will enable the applicant to drive's school bus with children.
aboard for 30 calendar days during which time the complete
12 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of on-bus
training under the-supervision of a Certified Delaware
School Bus Driver Trainer must be completed. When the
required 18 hours of training and all other requirements have
been met, the applicant may apply to the local transportation
supervisor for a yellow card. The yellow card will enable the
applicant to go to the Motor Vehicle Division to get a
"school bus endorsement" added to the Delaware license or
be issued a specific school bus driver's license when an
out-of-state license is involved.

(b) A person road testing a school bus, providing
emergency service, going to and from the Motor Vehicle
Division Inspection Lanes or providing other required
maintenance or service may drive a school bus without a
school bus license provided there are no children aboard.

House of Representatives
133RD GENERAL ASSEMBLY
HOUSE BILL NO. 163
AS AMENDED BY

House Amendment No.  1
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AN ACT TO AMEND CHAPTER 27, TITLE 21 OF THE
DELAWARE CODE RELATING TO THE
QUAILIFICATION FOR SCHOOL BUS DRIVERS
LICENSES.
BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF
THE STATE OF DELAWARE

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 85
June 1, 1990

CONCERNING: DENIAL OF TEMPORARY LICENSE IN
CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES

Pursuant to 21 Del.C. Sections 302, and 2742, and
Polity Regulation Number 3, the following Policy
Regulation is hereby adopted.

Whereas, 21 Del.C. Section 2742 (e) states; "The officer
shall take the Delaware license or permit of the driver in any
such case and issue a temporary license effective only for 15
days with a provision for an additional period if a written
request for hearing is received by the Division of Motor
Vehicles within the 15 day period." and; s

Whereas, Policy Regulation Number 3 promulgates
rules and procedures for licensing which defines "good
behavior" as a basis for licensing.
Therefore, be it resolved that when an individual -requests a
hearing pursuant to 21 Del.C. Section 2742 for Probable
Cause or Refused Chemical Test the hearing shall 1 granted.
However, driving authority of any type shall not be issued in
the following circumstances:

1.  The individual's license is currently suspended and/or
revoked.

2.  The violation for which the hearing is being
requested is within one (1) year after the date of license
reinstatement from an alcohol and/or drug offense.

3.  The violation for which the hearing is being
requested is within six (6) months after the date of license
reinstatement from a suspension or revocation other than
alcohol and/or drugs. A further violation following
reinstatement of a suspension and/or revocation shows an
apparent disregard for the licensing authority.

4.  The individual is currently driving on a conditional,
restricted, temporary, or other type of limited license.

POLICY REGULATION NUMBER 86
JANUARY 1, 1991

SUBJECT:Fees For Furnishing Computerized Lists Of
Vehicles Or Drivers

Whereas the State of Delaware enacted legislation
increasing certain fees by 15 percent (House Substitute 2 for
House Bill No- 724); and

Whereas the fees for computerized lists of vehicles and/
or drivers have not begin increased since approximately
1975; and

Whereas the cost of supplying these lists have escalated
during the past 15 years;

The following fees are effective immediately whenever
the Division Furnishes computerized lists: 

***Initial set up fee -- $375.00
(must be paid in advance and submitted with the

request)
***Records charge -- $11.50 per 1,000 records or

portion thereof  (Requestor will be billed for this amount
which must be paid prior to the release of the information.)
All checks are to be made payable to the "Division of Motor
Vehicles"
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received; (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,
Section 1220(a) (14 Del.C. §1220(a))

14 DE Admin. Code 101

ORDER

101 Delaware Student Testing Program

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the
State Board of Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code
101 Delaware Student Testing Program in order to reflect the
changes made to 14 Del.C. §152 concerning the granting of
high school diplomas for the years 2005 through 2008 and
beyond. The changes made to 14 Del.C. §152 reflect the
requirements set by Senate Bill 72 and House Bill 3 from the
deliberations of the 143rd General Assembly.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on December 2,
2005, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. No
Comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14
DE Admin. Code in order to reflect the changes made to 14
Del.C. §152 concerning the granting of high school
diplomas for the years 2005 through 2008 and beyond as per
the requirements set by Senate Bill 72 and House Bill 3 from
the deliberations of the 143rd General Assembly.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 101.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §152, 14 DE Admin. Code
101 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE
Admin. Code hereby amended shall be in effect for a period
of five years from the effective date of this order as set forth
in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 101 amended hereby
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 101 in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of
Education.
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V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §152 on January 19, 2006.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 19th day of  January 2006.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

Approved this 19th day of January 2006

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Jean W. Allen, President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr., Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Gregory A. Hastings
Barbara Rutt
Dennis J. Savage

1.0 Definition
The Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP) shall

include the assessments of all students in grades K-10 in the
areas of reading, writing and mathematics and the
assessments of all students in grades 4, 6, 8, and 11 in the
areas of science and social studies. The DSTP shall also
include the participation of Delaware students in the
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) as
determined by the Department of Education. All districts and
charter schools shall participate in all components of the
DSTP including field test administrations.

1.1 All students in said grades shall be tested except
that students with disabilities and students with limited
English proficiency shall be tested according to the
Department of Education’s Guidelines for the Inclusion of
Students with Disabilities and Students with Limited English
Proficiency, as the same, may from time to time be amended
hereafter.

1.2 The Department of Education shall determine the
dates upon which the DSTP will be administered, and will
advise the school districts and charter schools of those dates.

2.0 Levels of Performance
There shall be five levels of student performance

relative to the State Content Standards on the assessments
administered to students in grades 3, 5, 8 and 10 in reading,
mathematics and writing and to students in grades 4, 6, 8 and
11 in social studies and science. In reading, writing and

mathematics at grades 3, 5, 8 and 10 and science and social
studies at grades 4, 6, 8 and 11 the cut points for Exceeds the
Standard and Meets the Standard shall be determined by the
Department of Education with the consent of the State Board
of Education, using advice from a standard setting body.
The standard setting body shall utilize a proven method for
setting standards on test instruments that utilizes student
work in making the recommendation. Beginning with the
2006 assessments, there shall be the same five levels of
performance for students in grades 4, 6, 7 and 9 in reading,
mathematics and writing.Said levels are defined and shall be
determined as follows:

2.1 Distinguished Performance (Level 5): A student's
performance in the tested domain is deemed exceptional.
Students in this category show mastery of the Delaware
Content Standards beyond what is expected of students
performing at the top of the grade level. Student
performance in this range is often exemplified by responses
that indicate a willingness to go beyond the task, and could
be classified as "exemplary." The cut points for
Distinguished Performance shall be determined by the
Department of Education.

2.2 Exceeds the Performance Standard (Level 4): A
student's performance in the tested domain goes well beyond
the fundamental skills and knowledge required for students
to Meet the Performance Standard. Students in this category
show mastery of the Delaware Content Standards beyond
what is expected at the grade level. Student performance in
this range is often exemplified by work that is of the quality
to which all students should aspire, and could be classified as
"very good." The cut points for Exceeds the Performance
Standard shall be determined by the Department of
Education, with the consent of the State Board of Education.

2.3 Meets the Performance Standard (Level 3): A
student's performance in the tested domain indicates an
understanding of the fundamental skills and knowledge
articulated in the Delaware Content Standards. Students in
this category show mastery of the Delaware Content
Standards at grade level.  Student performance in this range
can be classified as "good." The cut points for Meets the
Performance Standard shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education.

2.4 Below the Performance Standard (Level 2): A
student's performance in the tested domain shows a partial or
incomplete understanding of the fundamental skills and
knowledge articulated in the Delaware Content Standards.
Students who are Below the Performance Standard may
require additional instruction in order to succeed in further
academic pursuits, and can be classified as academically
“deficient.” The cut points for Below the Performance
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Standard shall be determined by the Department of
Education, with the consent of the State Board of Education.

2.5 Well Below the Performance Standard (Level 1): A
student's performance in the tested domain shows an
incomplete and a clearly unsatisfactory understanding of the
fundamental skills and knowledge articulated in the
Delaware Content Standards. Students who are Well Below
the Performance Standard have demonstrated broad
deficiencies in terms of the standards indicating that they are
poorly prepared to succeed in further academic pursuits and
can be classified as “very deficient.” The cut points for Well
Below the Performance Standard shall be determined by the
Department of Education, with the consent of the State
Board of Education.

7 DE Reg. 51 (7/1/03)
8 DE Reg. 425 (9/1/04)

3.0 Other Indicators of Student Performance
3.1 Local school districts and charter schools may

consider other indicators of student performance relative to
the state content standards pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153(b)
when determining the placement of students who score at
Level 1 or Level II on a mandated retake of a portion of the
DSTP. Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153(d)(2) and 153(d)(12),
local school districts and charter schools may also consider
other indicators of student performance relative to the state
content standards when determining if a student may
advance to the next grade level without attending summer
school. The only other indicators of student performance that
may be considered by a local school district or charter school
are: student performance on district administered tests
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153(e)(1); student performance on
end-of-course assessments; student classroom work products
and classroom grades supported by evidence of student work
that demonstrates a student’s performance pursuant to 14
Del.C. §153(a).

3.2 Any local school district or charter school planning
to use other indicators of student performance shall submit
the proposed indicators to the Department of Education by
September 1st of each year.

3.2.1 Any such submission must include a
demonstration of how an indicator of student performance
aligns with and measures state content standards and the
level of performance required to demonstrate performance
equivalent to meeting state content standards.

3.2.2 Any proposed indicators of student
performance must be approved by the Department of
Education following consultation with the Student
Assessment and Accountability Committee and the State
Board of Education.

3.3 An academic review committee composed of
educators in the student’s local school district or charter
school may then determine if a student has demonstrated
proficient performance relative to the state content standards
using evidence from the other indicators of student
performance as approved by the Department of Education.

3.3.1 The academic review committee shall be
composed of two classroom teachers from the student’s
tested grade, one classroom teacher from the grade to which
the student may be promoted, one guidance counselor or
other student support staff member and two school building
administrators.

3.3.2 The supervisor of curriculum or
instruction for the school district or charter school or his/her
designee shall chair the committee.

3.3.3 Placement of students with disabilities
who are eligible for special education and related services is
determined by the student’s IEP team.

7 DE Reg. 325 (9/1/03)

4.0 Individual Improvement Plan (IIP)
4.1 The following students are required to have an

Individual Improvement Plan:
Students who score below Level 3 Meets the

Standard, on the reading portion of the 3rd, 5th or 8th grade
Delaware Student Testing Program or the mathematics
portion of the 8th grade Delaware Student Testing Program
shall have an Individual Improvement Plan prepared by
school personnel and signed by the teacher(s), principal or
designee and the student’s parent, guardian or Relative
Caregiver.

4.1.1 Students assessed on the DSTP in grades
2, 4, 6, 7, and 9 who are not progressing satisfactorily toward
the standards or who score at Level 1 or Level 2 in reading
shall have an Individual Improvement Plan prepared by
school personnel and signed by the teacher(s), principal or
designee and a parent or legal guardian of the student.
Students assessed on the DSTP in grades 6, 7, and 9 who are
not progressing satisfactorily toward the standards or who
score at Level 1 or Level 2 in mathematics shall have an
Individual Improvement Plan prepared by school personnel
and signed by the teacher(s), principal or designee and the
student’s parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver.

4.2 The Individual Improvement Plan shall be on a
form adopted by the student’s school district or charter
school. The IIP shall be placed in a student’s cumulative file
and shall be updated based on the results of further
assessments. Such assessments may include further DSTP
results as well as local assessments, classroom observations
or inventories. For students with an Individualized
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Education Program (IEP), the IEP shall serve as the
Individual Improvement Plan (IIP).

4.3 The Individual Improvement Plan shall at a
minimum identify a specific course of study for the student
that the school will provide and the academic improvement
activities that the student shall undertake to help the student
progress towards meeting the standards. Academic
improvement activities may include mandatory participation
in summer school, extra instruction and/or mentoring
programs.

4.4 Individual Improvement Plan shall be prepared by
school personnel and signed by the teacher(s), principal or
designee and the student’s parent, guardian or Relative
Caregiver who must sign and return a copy of the student’s
Individual Improvement Plan to the student’s school by the
end of the first marking period.

4.5 Disputes initiated by a student’s parent or legal
guardian or Relative Caregiver concerning the student’s IIP
shall be decided by the academic review committee. Any
dispute concerning the content of a student’s IEP is subject
to resolution in conformity with the Regulations, Children
with Disabilities.

7 DE Reg. 51 (7/1/03)
8 DE Reg. 425 (9/1/04)

5.0 Summer School Programs for Students in Grades 3,
5, and 8 as required pursuant to 14 Del.C. §153

5.1 Summer school programs shall be provided by the
student’s district of residence with the following exceptions:

5.1.1 Where a student attends another district as
a result of school choice or attends a charter school the
district of choice or charter school shall provide the summer
school program.

5.1.2 Where by mutual agreement of both
districts or a charter school and  the student’s parent,
guardian or Relative Caregiver another district provides
services.

5.1.3 Where by mutual agreement of the
student’s school district or a charter school and the student’s
parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver, the parent, guardian
or Relative Caregiver arranges for summer school
instruction to be provided outside the public school system.
Under such conditions the parent, guardian or Relative
Caregiver shall be responsible for the cost of providing non-
public school instruction unless the districts or the charter
school and parents or guardian agree otherwise.
Requirements for secondary testing shall be met.

5.1.4 Where a student has been offered
admission into a [vocational career] technical school
district or charter school that district or charter school may
provide summer school services.

8 DE Reg. 425 (9/1/04)

6.0 High School Diploma Index as Derived from the 10th

Grade Assessments Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §152
6.1 Students who graduate from a Delaware public high

school, as members of the class of 2004 and beyond shall be
subject to the diploma index for a distinguished diploma as
stated herein.

6.1.1 Beginning in 2002 for the graduating class
of 2004, the Department shall calculate a diploma index
based upon the student’s grade 10 Delaware Student Testing
Program performance levels in reading, writing, and
mathematics.

6.1.2 Beginning in 2005 for the graduating class
of 2006, the Department shall calculate a diploma index
based upon the student’s grade 10 Delaware Student Testing
Program performance levels in reading, writing,
mathematics and the grade 11 Delaware Student Testing
Program performance levels in science and social studies.

6.2 A student may choose to participate in additional
scheduled administrations of the DSTP in order to improve
his/her diploma index. The highest earned performance level
in each content area will be used in calculating the diploma
index.

6.3 The diploma index shall be calculated by
multiplying the earned performance level in each content
area by the assigned weight and summing the results.

6.3.1 Beginning with the year 2002, the
assigned weights shall be .40 for reading, .40 for
mathematics, and .20 for writing for the graduating class of
2004 and 2005.

6.3.2 Beginning with the year 2005, the
assigned weights shall be .20 for reading, .20 for
mathematics, .20 for writing, .20 for science and .20 for
social studies for the graduating class of 2006 and beyond. 

6.4 Students shall qualify for a State of Delaware
Distinguished High School diploma or a traditional State of
Delaware High School diplomas as follows:

6.4.1 A student shall be awarded a
Distinguished State Diploma upon attainment of a diploma
index greater than or equal to 4.0 provided that the student
has attained a Performance Level 3 or higher in each content
area and provided that the student has met all other
requirements for graduation as established by the State and
local districts or charter schools.

6.4.1.1 Beginning with the graduating class
of 2006 through and including the graduating class of 2007,
"Other Academic Indicators" may be substituted for specific
content area DSTP scores. The Other Academic Indicators
shall be:
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6.4.1.1.1 SAT Verbal score between

544 and 621 representing a Performance Level 4 on the
reading portion of the diploma index;

6.4.1.1.2 SAT Verbal score of 622 or
higher representing a Performance Level 5 on the reading
portion of the diploma index;

6.4.1.1.3 SAT Mathematics score
between 547 and 617 representing a Performance Level 4 the
mathematics portion of the diploma index;

6.4.1.1.4 SAT Mathematics score of
618 or higher representing a Performance Level 5 on the
mathematics portion of the diploma index;

6.4.1.1.5 SAT II Writing score
between 554 and 646 representing a Performance Level 4
[on the writing portion of the diploma index];

6.4.1.1.6 SAT II Writing score of 647
or higher representing a Performance Level 5 on the writing
portion of the diploma index; 

6.4.1.1.7 Advanced Placement score
of 3 representing a Performance Level 4 on the diploma
index; and

6.4.1.1.8 Advanced Placement score
of 4 or 5 representing a Performance Level 5 on the diploma
index.

6.4.1.1.9 Advanced Placement scores
may be substituted for specified content areas including, but
not limited to, Advanced Placement English Literature and
Composition for the reading portion of the diploma index;
Advanced Placement English Language and Composition
for the writing portion of the diploma index; Advanced
Placement Calculus AB, BC or Statistics for the
mathematics portion of the diploma index; Advanced
Placement Biology, Chemistry, Environment Science, or
Physics B and C for the science portion of the diploma
index; and Advanced Placement Economics (macro, micro),
European History, Government and Politics Comp,
Government and Politics U.S., Human Geography,
Psychology, U.S. History, or World History for the social
studies portion of the diploma index.

[6.4.1.1.10 Other nationally
administered tests which have scores that can be
converted to the SAT scale may be used if the converted
score is equal to or higher than the SAT cut score.]

6.4.2 A student who does not qualify for a
Distinguished diploma based solely on the diploma index
may request the high school submit official documentation
of the Other Academic Indicators to the Department.

6.4.2 3 A student shall be awarded a Standard
traditional State of Delaware Diploma upon attainment of a
diploma index greater than or equal to 3.0 and provided that

the student has met all other requirements for graduation as
established by the State and local districts or charter schools.

6.4.3 A student shall be awarded a Basic State
Diploma upon attainment of a diploma index less than 3.0
and provided that the student has met all other requirements
for graduation as established by the State and local districts
or charter schools.

6.5 Parent, Guardian or Relative Caregiver
Notification: Within 30 days of receiving student
performance levels and/or diploma indices, school districts
and charter schools shall provide written notice of the same
and the consequences thereof to the student’s parent,
guardian or Relative Caregiver. 

7 DE Reg. 51 (7/1/03)
8 DE Reg. 425 (9/1/04)

7.0 Security and Confidentiality
In order to assure uniform and secure procedures, the

Delaware Student Testing Program shall be administered
pursuant to the Delaware Student Testing Program
Coordinators Handbook, as the same, may from time to time
be amended hereafter.

7.1 Every district superintendent, district test
coordinator, school principal, school test coordinator and test
administrator shall sign the certification provided by the
Department of Education regarding test security before,
during and after test administration.

7.2 Violation of the security or confidentiality of any
test required by the Delaware Code and the Regulations of
the Department of Education shall be prohibited.

7.3 Procedures for maintaining the security and
confidentiality of a test shall be specified in the appropriate
test administration materials in 14 Del.C. §170 through
§174.

7.4 Procedures for Reporting Security Breaches 
7.4.1 School Test Coordinators shall report any

questionable situations to the District Test Coordinators
immediately.

7.4.2 District Test Coordinators shall report all
situations immediately to the State Director of Assessment
and Analysis. 

7.4.2.1 Within 5 days of the incident the
District Test Coordinator shall file a written report with the
State Director of Assessment and Analysis that includes the
sequence of events leading up to the situation, statements by
everyone interviewed, and any action either disciplinary or
procedural, taken by the district.

7.4.2.2 Following a review of the report by
the State Director of Assessment and Analysis and the
Associate Secretary of Education for Assessment and
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Accountability, an investigator from the State Department of
Education will be assigned to verify the district report.

7.4.2.3 Within 10 days of the receipt of the
report from the District Test Coordinator, the assigned
investigator shall meet with the district personnel involved in
the alleged violation. The meeting will be scheduled through
the District Test Coordinator and the investigator shall be
provided access to all parties involved and/or to any
witnesses.

7.4.2.4 The investigator shall report the
findings to the Associate Secretary for Assessment and
Accountability. Following the review the Associate
Secretary shall make a ruling describing any
recommendations and or required actions.

7.4.2.5 The ruling shall be delivered within
10 days of the receipt of all reports and information and
records shall be kept of all investigations.

8.0 Procedures for Reviewing Questions and Response
Sheets from the Delaware Student Testing Program
(DSTP)

8.1 School personnel, local school board members and
the public may request to review the Delaware Student
Testing Program (DSTP) questions. In order to review the
DSTP questions individuals shall make a request in writing
to the State Director of Assessment and Analysis for an
appointment at the Department of Education.

8.1.1 At the time of the appointment, the
individual shall: provide proper identification upon arrival,
sign a confidentiality document, remain with a Department
of Education staff member while reviewing the test
questions and take nothing out of the viewing area.

8.1.2 The Department of Education’s
responsibility is to do the following: schedule the review at a
mutually agreeable time, notify the local district that the
review has been requested, review the procedures for
looking at the DSTP questions, assist the individual(s) as
requested and keep records of all reviews.

8.1.3 In cases where more than one individual is
requesting to view the DSTP questions, the local school
district shall send a representative to sit in on the review.

8.2 A student’s parent, guardian or Relative Caregiver
may request to view the test questions and that student’s
responses. In order to review the DSTP questions and that
student’s responses, the student’s parent, guardian or
Relative Caregiver shall make a request in writing to the
State Director of Assessment and Analysis for an
appointment at the Department of Education. The
Department shall be allowed sufficient time to secure a copy
of student responses from the test vendor.

8.2.1 At the time of the appointment, the
individual shall: provide proper identification upon arrival,
sign a confidentiality document, remain with a Department
of Education staff member while reviewing the test
questions and take nothing out of the viewing area.

8.2.2 The Department of Education’s
responsibility is to do the following: schedule the review at a
mutually agreeable time, notify the local district that the
review has been requested, review the procedures for
looking at the DSTP questions, assist the individual(s) as
requested and keep records of all reviews.

8.2.3 In the case of the stand-alone writing
response, the student’s parent, guardian or Relative
Caregiver may go to the local school district or charter
school to view the test responses.

4 DE Reg. 464 9/1/00
5 DE Reg. 620 (9/1/01)
8 DE Reg. 425 (9/1/04)

9.0 Invalidations and Special Exemptions
9.1 Invalidations for students in grades 3, 5, 8 and 10

for reading, writing and mathematics and grades 4, 6, 8 and
11 for science and social studies: Invalidations are events or
situations that occur during the administration of the DSTP
assessments which may result in a statistically unreliable
score report for a student. Invalidations may occur as a result
of either: intentional student conduct, including but not
limited to cheating and disruptive behavior; or unforeseen
and uncontrollable events, including but not limited to onset
of illness.

9.1.1 Reporting of situations that occur during
testing.

9.1.1.1 The school building principal or
designee shall notify the District Test Coordinator in writing
within 24 hours of events or situations that the principal
reasonably believes may result in an invalid score report for
a student(s).

9.1.1.2 The District Test Coordinator shall
notify the Department of Education staff person assigned to
the district for test security purposes as soon as the
Coordinator learns of events or situations which may result
in invalidation(s).

9.1.1.2.1 The District Test
Coordinator shall submit a DSTP Incident Report Form
within three business days of the events. Written reports
from the building principal or designee and any staff must be
included with the DSTP Incident Report Form.

9.1.1.3 The Director of Assessment for the
Department of Education shall determine whether the
reported events warrant invalidating a student(s) score and
such decision shall be final.
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9.1.1.3.1 If the Director determines

that the events also warrant a security investigation the
matter will be referred to the Department of Education staff
person assigned to the district for test security purposes.

9.1.2 Consequences of invalidations.
9.1.2.1 Whenever the Director of Assessment

for the Department of Education determines that a student’s
assessment test score is invalid as a result of an intentional
act of the student, the student will be assigned a performance
level 1 (well below standard) for that assessment and will be
subject to such consequences as may otherwise be imposed
pursuant to law for students who score at performance level
1 of the assessment; the assessment test score of any such
student shall be reported and counted in the test scores of the
student’s school for all purposes, including school and
district accountability.

9.1.2.2 Whenever the Director of Assessment
for the Department of Education determines that a student’s
assessment test score is invalid as a result of an event which
is unforeseen and beyond the control of the student and if the
student is unable to participate in a regularly scheduled test
make-up, the student shall not be subject to any of the
consequences as would otherwise be imposed pursuant to
law; the assessment score of any such student shall not be
reported or counted in the test scores of the student’s school
for any purpose, including school and district accountability.

9.2 Special Exemptions for students in grades 3, 5, 8,
and 10 for reading, writing and mathematics and grades 4, 6,
8 and 11 for science and social studies: A special exemption
may be available when a student’s short-term, physical or
mental condition prevents the student from participating in
the DSTP assessments even with accommodations, or when
an emergency arising before the start of the test prevents the
student’s participation.

9.2.1 Special exemptions for students who are
tested according to the Department of Education’s
Guidelines for Inclusion of Students with Disabilities and
Students with Limited English Proficiency are also available
as provided in the Guidelines.

9.2.2 Requests for special exemptions based on
physical or mental condition.

9.2.2.1 Special exemptions based on a
student’s physical or mental condition may be available for
students suffering from terminal illnesses or injuries or
receiving extraordinary short-term medical treatment for
either a physical or psychiatric condition. Requests for
exemptions on these grounds shall be accompanied by a
signed statement from the student’s treating physician
which; describes the nature of the terminal condition or
extraordinary treatment; confirms that the terminal condition
or the extraordinary treatment arose more than 60 calendar

days before the test administration for which the exemption
is requested and has substantially prevented the student from
accessing educational services since its inception; and
confirms that the condition or treatment is expected to be
resolved or completed within 12 months of the test
administration.

9.2.2.2 The District Test Coordinator shall
submit a completed Request for Special Exemption Form to
the Director of Assessment for the Department of Education
at least 60 calendar days before the first day of testing. A
copy of the physician’s statement required in the preceding
subsection will accompany the request.

9.2.2.2.1 The Director of Assessment
shall convene a review committee of not less than three
Department of Education  staff to review requests for special
exemptions. The Director shall submit a recommendation on
each request to the Associate Secretary for Assessment and
Accountability.

9.2.2.2.2 The Associate Secretary
shall decide whether a request for a special exemption based
on physical or mental conditions should be granted. The
Associate Secretary shall notify the District Test Coordinator
of the decision. The Associate Secretary’s decision shall be
final.

9.2.3 Request for special exemptions based on
emergency.

9.2.3.1 Emergencies are unforeseen events or
situations arising no more than 60 calendar days before the
start of the test administration. They may include, but are not
limited to, death in a student’s immediate family, childbirth,
accidents, injuries and hospitalizations.

9.2.3.2 Special exemptions due to an
emergency may be requested for the entire test or for one or
more content areas, as the district determines appropriate.

9.2.3.3 The District Test Coordinator shall
notify the Director of Assessment for the Department of
Education as soon as the Coordinator learns of events or
situations which may result in a request for a special
exemption due to an emergency.

9.2.3.3.1 The District Test
Coordinator shall submit a completed DSTP Request for
Special Exemption Form to the Director of Assessment for
the Department of Education  within 7 calendar days of the
last day for make up testing. Requests for exemptions on
these grounds shall be accompanied by a signed statement
from the student’s treating physician which describes the
nature of the situation.

9.2.3.3.2 The Director of Assessment
shall convene a review committee of not less than three
Department of Education staff to review requests for special
exemptions due to an emergency. The Director shall submit
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a recommendation on each request to the Associate
Secretary for Assessment and Accountability.

9.2.3.3.3 The Associate Secretary
shall decide whether a request for a special exemption based
on an emergency should be granted. The Associate Secretary
shall notify the District Test Coordinator of the decision. The
Associate Secretary’s decision shall be final.

9.2.4 Consequences of Special Exemptions.
9.2.4.1 Any special exemption granted by the

Department of Education is limited to the testing period for
which it was requested and does not carry forward to future
test administrations.

9.2.4.2 Students who are granted a special
exemption shall be included in the participation rate
calculation for school and district accountability pursuant to
14 DE Admin. Code 103.2.4 unless their medical condition
prevents them from being in school during the testing period.

9.2.4.3 Students who are granted a special
exemption shall not be subject to any of the student testing
consequences for students in grades 3, 5, or 8 for the testing
period to which the exemption applies.

5 DE Reg. 2115 (5/1/02)
8 DE Reg. 425 (9/1/04)

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,
Section 1220(a) (14 Del.C. §1220(a))

14 DE Admin. Code 235

ORDER

235 Teacher of the Year Award

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE
Admin. Code 235 Teacher of the Year Award in order to
clarify in 1.4 the required status of a district or charter school
nominee for the Teacher of the Year award during their
nominated year.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on December 2,
2005, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. No
comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend 14

DE Admin. Code 235 in order to clarify in 1.4 the required
status of a district or charter school nominee for the Teacher
of the Year award during their nominated year.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 235.
Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch. 89, 14 DE Admin.
Code 235 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE
Admin. Code 235 hereby amended shall be in effect for a
period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 235 amended hereby
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 235 in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. Ch. 89 on January 5, 2006.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 5th day of January 2006.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

1.0 Qualifications
To be considered for the Teacher-of-the-Year award, a

person shall have taught, continuously or intermittently, for
an accumulative period of three years or more previous to
the date of such person’s nomination; shall have been
formally nominated; and be actively teaching in this state at
the time of nomination. A nominee shall have met all the
requirements for a Standard Certificate for the position held,
as approved by the Professional Standards Board,
Department of Education and the State Board of Education.

To be considered for the Teacher of the Year award a
person shall:

1.1 Have taught, continuously or intermittently, for an
accumulative period of three years or more in a Delaware
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public school previous to the date of such person's
nomination.

1.2 Have been formally nominated.
1.3 Be actively teaching in their district or charter

school in this state at the time of their nomination.
1.4 Continue to actively teach in the nominating district

or charter school for the duration of the [school] year of their
nomination.

1.4.1 If the nominee chooses to leave the district
or charter school during the selection period the district or
charter school shall submit another nominee.

1.5 Meet all the requirements for a Standard Certificate
for the position held and hold a valid and current license, as
approved by the Professional Standards Board, Department
of Education and the State Board of Education.

7 DE Reg. 1178 (3/1/04)

2.0 Nominations
The following shall apply in preparing nominations in

accordance with the requirements of the Act.
2.1 The Department of Education shall meet annually

with the district coordinators of the Teacher of the Year
Program and the coordinator representative for the charter
schools for the purpose of providing them with detailed
instructions and proper forms for the presentation of
nominees. Each district is invited to nominate one teacher
employed by the district and the charter schools are invited
to select one nominee to represent all of the charter schools.

2.1.1 Nominees shall be skillful and dedicated
teachers, pre-kindergarten through grade 12. Administrative
personnel such as principals and guidance counselors are not
eligible to be considered for State Teacher of the Year.
Nominees for State Teacher of the Year who are not actively
engaged in teaching in a public school at the time at which
observations are made pursuant to Section 2.2 below shall be
disqualified.

2.2 Nominees shall submit a portfolio describing
themselves and setting forth their positions on educational
issues. Format will be based on the National Teacher of the
Year program.

2.3 Following the submission of the portfolios, selected
Department of Education staff members and selected former
state and local district Teachers of the Year shall be assigned
in pairs to read the portfolios of two nominees and observe
those nominees in the classroom based on the criteria
stipulated in the Teacher of the Year Nomination
Information Document Program Guide that is updated each
year. Another group of Department of Education Staff
members shall be assigned to read all of the portfolios and
rate them based on forms found in the Teacher of the Year
Nomination Information Document Program Guide. Based

on the numerical ratings from both the portfolio readers and
from the observations, three nominees shall be identified as
finalists for consideration by a panel of judges.

2.4 The panel of judges shall include: the current State
Teacher of the Year; the President of the State Congress of
Parents and Teachers; the President of the State Student
Council Association; a member of the State Board of
Education; a representative of the Chamber of Commerce;
the President of the Delaware State Education Association;
and the Chair of the Professional Standards Board or, if
necessary, their designees.

2.5 The judges shall recommend one person for the
Secretary of Education to declare as the State Teacher of the
Year.

3 DE Reg. 104 (7/1/99)
7 DE Reg. 1178 (3/1/04)

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,
Section 1220(a) (14 Del.C. §1220(a))

14 DE Admin. Code 710

ORDER

710 Public School Employees Work Day

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to reauthorize 14
DE Admin. Code 710 Public School Employees Work Day.
As part of the five year cycle of review for all of the
Administrative Code for education this regulation has been
reviewed and requires reauthorization.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on December 2,
2005, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”. No
Comments were received.  

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to reauthorize
14 DE Admin. Code 712. As part of the five year cycle of
review for all of the Administrative Code for education this
regulation has been reviewed and requires reauthorization. 

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to reauthorize 14 DE Admin. Code 712.
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Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122, 14 DE Admin. Code
712 attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is hereby reauthorized.
Pursuant to the provision of 14 Del.C. §122(e), 14 DE
Admin. Code 712 hereby reauthorized shall be in effect for
a period of five years from the effective date of this order as
set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of 14 DE Admin. Code reauthorized hereby
shall be in the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said
regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 712 in the
Administrative Code of Regulations for the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on January 5, 2006.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 5th day of January 2006.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

1.0 Required Work Hours
Absent an existing collective bargaining agreement to

the contrary, district employees who work less than the
specified time shall have their annual salary adjusted
accordingly. Upon ratification of a new or extension of an
existing collective bargaining agreement, the local district
shall establish hours and days worked that are consistent
with those specified below. Otherwise, effective July 1, 2001
a workday for public school employees shall be defined as
follows:

1.1 Teacher - minimum of 7 1/2 hours, inclusive of 1/2
hour for lunch, plus the amount of time required for the
discharge of such duties and services as may be reasonably
expected and required of a member of the professional staff
of a public school. (14 Del.C. §1305 defines the number of
teacher workdays per year and 14 Del.C. §1328 defines the
duty free period.)

1.2 Aide/Paraprofessional - minimum of 7 1/2 hours
inclusive of 1/2 hour for lunch.

1.3 Custodian - minimum of 8 hours inclusive of 1/2
hour for lunch.

1.4 Administrator - minimum of 7 1/2 hours exclusive
of lunch plus the amount of time required for the discharge
of such duties and services as may be reasonably expected
and required of a member of the professional staff of a public
school.

1.5 Food Service Manager - minimum of 7 hours
exclusive of lunch.

1.6 Secretary - minimum of 7 1/2 hours exclusive of
lunch.

3 DE Reg. 1077 (2/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 1254 (2/1/01)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 1250-1252 (14 Del.C. 1250-1252)
14 DE Admin. Code 1518

ORDER

1518 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and 
Certification

I.  Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend 14 DE
Admin. Code 1518 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure
and Certification. It is necessary to adopt this regulation to
provide regulatory guidance for the implementation of the
Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and Certification,
pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1250 through 1252. This regulation
concerns the establishment by one or more of Delaware’s
institutions of higher education of a special institute for
teacher licensure and certification for individuals who hold a
bachelor’s degree in an area other than education to
participate in course work and other experiences necessary
to be eligible for teacher licensure and certification in critical
needs areas, including special education. Comments
received from the Governor’s Advisory Council for
Exceptional Children recommended that the timeline for
repayment of tuition in the event an individual does not work
in a Delaware school be changed. That has been addressed
and a period of one year is now provided for repayment of
tuition.
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II.  Findings of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board
of Education find that it is appropriate to adopt this
regulation to comply with changes in statute.

III.  Decision to Adopt the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is
appropriate to amend the regulation. Therefore, pursuant to
14 Del.C. §1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit
“B” is hereby adopted. Pursuant to the provision of 14
Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this
order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1518 of the Administrative
Code of Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

APPROVED BY THE PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS
BOARD THE 5TH DAY OF JANUARY, 2006

Harold Roberts, Chair Sharon Brittingham
Norman Brown Heath Chasanov
Edward Czerwinski Angela Dunmore
Karen Gordon Barbara Grogg
Bruce Harter Leslie Holden
Carla Lawson Mary Mirabeau
Gretchen Pikus Karen Schilling Ross
Carol Vukelich

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE DEPARTMENT OF
EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED this 19th day of January, 2006

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Jean W. Allen, President

Richard M. Farmer, Jr., Vice President
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Gregory A. Hastings
Barbara Rutt
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1518 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and 
Certification

1.0 Content
This regulation shall apply to the Special Institute for

Teacher Licensure and Certification, pursuant to 14 Del.C.
§§1250 through 1252.

2.0 Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this

regulation, shall have the following meaning unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Educator” means a person licensed and certified by
the State under chapter 12 of 14 Del.C. to engage in the
practice of instruction, administration or other related
professional support services in Delaware public schools,
including charter schools, pursuant to rules and regulations
promulgated by the Standards Board and approved by the
State Board, but does not include substitute teachers.

“Emergency Certificate” means a certificate issued to
an educator who holds a valid Delaware Initial, Continuing,
or Advanced License, but lacks necessary skills and
knowledge to meet certification requirements in a specific
content area.

“Examination of Content Knowledge” means a
standardized test which measures knowledge in a specific
content area, such as PRAXIS™ II.

“Examination of General Knowledge” means a
standardized test which measures general knowledge and
essential skills in mathematics or quantitative and verbal
skills, including reading and writing, such as PRAXIS ™ I
and which, for the purposes of this regulation, means a pre-
professional skills test.

“Initial License” means the first license issued to an
educator that allows an educator to work in a position
requiring a license in a Delaware public school.

“Major or Its Equivalent” means no fewer than thirty
(30) credit hours in a content area.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Delaware
Department of Education.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to
verify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill
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and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards
Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of
the State pursuant to 14 Del.C. §104.

3.0 Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and
Certification

One or more of Delaware’s teacher training institutions
may establish a Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and
Certification to provide a program for college graduates
without a license and/or certificate to become licensed and
certified to teach in Delaware public schools. Tuition may
not be charged to participants.

3.1 Candidates for admission to a Special Institute for
Teacher Licensure and Certification shall:

3.1.1 Hold a bachelor’s degree in a field other
than Education from a regionally accredited college or
university, with a major or its equivalent in a content area
that has designated as a critical needs area by the
Department.

3.1.2 Have a grade point index in the major field
of the bachelor’s degree which is two-tenths of a point
higher than the grade point index required for students
entering regular teacher education programs at the teacher
education institution(s).

3.1.3 Pass an examination of general
knowledge, such as PRAXIS™ I, or provide an acceptable
alternative to the PRAXIS™ I test scores, as set forth in 14
DE Admin. Code 1510.

3.1.4 Must agree to teach at least one (1) year in
a Delaware public school for each year funding was
received. Such service must be completed within five (5)
years of successful completion of the Special Institute for
Teacher Licensure and Certification program.

3.1.4.1 Failure to meet the requirement set
forth in 3.1.4 above shall result in the individual within sixty
(60) days arranging for repayment of a sum equivalent to the
tuition which would have been paid for the coursework
leading to licensure and certification; or

3.1.4.2 An individual may also satisfy the
requirement set forth in 3.1.4 above by providing a notarized
statement, accompanied by evidence of unsuccessful
applications, that the individual has made a good faith effort
to seek employment in at least five (5) Delaware public
school districts, but has been unable to secure a teaching
position in any of those districts.

3.1.4.3 An individual whose license and
certificate have been revoked for cause  prior to fulfilling the

service set forth in 3.1.4 shall, within sixty (60) days, arrange
for repayment of their remaining obligation.

4.0 Format of the Special Institute for Teacher
Licensure and Certification

4.1 A Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and
Certification in a secondary content area which corresponds
to the major field of study in the bachelor’s degree program
shall consist of:

4.1.1 One (1) summer of courses in the Special
Institute;

4.1.2 One (1) semester of student teaching or
one (1) year of supervised, full-time teaching experience in a
Delaware public school; and

4.1.3 Additional coursework as set forth by the
teacher training institution which constitutes the program of
study leading to initial licensure and certification.

4.2 A Special Institute for Teacher Licensure and
Certification in elementary or special education shall consist
of:

4.2.1 Two (2) summers of courses, one (1)
immediately before and one 
(1)after a student teaching experience or one year of full-
time teaching experience;

4.2.2 One (1) semester of student teaching or
one (1) year of supervised, full-time teaching experience in a
Delaware public school; and

4.2.3 Additional coursework as set forth by the
teacher training institution which constitutes a program of
study leading to initial licensure and certification.

5.0 Examination of Content Knowledge
Prior to completion of the Special Institute for Licensure

and Certification, participants must successfully pass the
appropriate examination of content knowledge, such as the
PRAXIS™ II examination, if applicable and available.

6.0 Licensure and Certification of Special Institute
Participants

6.1 The Department shall issue an Initial License of no
more than three (3) years duration conditioned on continued
enrollment in the Special Institute and an Emergency
Certificate to an individual employed to complete the one (1)
year of full-time teaching experience in lieu of student
teaching.

6.2 Upon successful completion of the Special Institute
for Teacher Licensure and Certification program, an
individual shall be issued an Initial License valid for the
balance of the three (3) year term, and a Standard Certificate.
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DEPARTMENT OF ELECTIONS FOR 
NEW CASTLE COUNTY

Statutory Authority: 15 Delaware Code,
Section 5522(b) (15 Del.C. §5522(b))

ORDER

Security and Integrity of the Absentee Voting Process

The proposed regulation regarding Security and
Integrity of the Absentee Voting Process was published in
the Register of Regulations in conformity with Delaware
law.  One written comment was received, it was not pertinent
to the proposed regulation.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The proposed regulation was promulgated to describe
the process for insuring the security and integrity of the
absentee voting process in New Castle County. The written
comment suggested that the Department provide absentee
ballots in alternative formats to meet the needs of disabled
persons. The comment does not pertain to the proposed
regulation and the Department will forward it to the
Commissioner of Elections and the Departments of Elections
for Kent and Sussex Counties for discussion.

Findings of Fact

15 Del.C. §522 (b) requires that the Department of
Elections for New Castle County promulgate a regulation
regarding the security and integrity of the absentee voting
process. The proposed regulation meets or exceeds that
requirement.

Decision and Order

Based on the provisions of 15 Del.C. §5522 (b) and the
record, we hereby adopt Regulation 2006-001 to be effective
ten (10) days from the date this Order is published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of this regulation appeared in the Register of
Regulations Vol. 9, Issue 6, pages 855-859, December 1,
2005.

IT IS SO ORDERED by unanimous vote this 10th day
of January, 2006.

BOARD OF ELECTIONS FOR NEW CASTLE
COUNTY

Orval L. Foraker, Jr. President
Noel H. Kuhrt, Acting Secretary
William A. Baker, Sr.
Helen M. Dudlek
Marilynn Parks
Paul F. Lanouette
James A. Sterling
Marilyn P. Whittington

* Please note that no changes were made to the
regulation as originally proposed and published in the
December 2005 issue of the Register at page 855 (9 DE
Reg. 855 (12/01/05)).  Therefore, the final regulation is
not being republished.  Please refer to the December
2005 issue of the Register or contact the Deparment of
Elections for New Castle County.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE

Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,
Section 512 (31 Del.C. §512)

Notice of Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation
Long Term Care Medicaid

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Chapter 5, Section 512, notice is hereby
given that the proposed regulation published in Volume 9,
Issue 6, Number 859 of the December 1, 2005 issue of the
Delaware Register of Regulations is withdrawn.

Summary of Withdrawal

On December 1, 2005, the Division of Medicaid and
Medical Assistance (DMMA) published for public comment
a proposal to amend the rules in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM) used to determine eligibility for
medical assistance. DMMA proposed to expands the terms
at DSSM 20910.1 and DSSM 20910.2 to clearly define who
is an institutionalized spouse and who is a community
spouse to include persons receiving (20910.1) and not
receiving (20910.2) Medicaid under any of the Medicaid
Long Term Care Programs. The clarifications will assist
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staff in determining if a spousal calculation needs to be
completed. These changes will enable the Social Worker to
process the case in a more accurate and timely manner.

In response to the public notice, the Delaware
Developmental Disabilities Council (DDDC), the
Governor's Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens
(GACEC) and, the State Council for Persons with
Disabilities (SCPD) offered the following observations
summarized below.

First, both proposed Sections 20910.1 and 20910.2
“carve out” “Assisted Living Waiver” as a distinct program
from “Home and Community Based Services”. This is
inconsistent with attached Section 20100, which includes
“Assisted Living Waiver” as a form of HCBS. This creates
an unnecessary inconsistency in the regulatory scheme.

Second, the attached Section 3710 of the CMS State
Medicaid Manual allows application of the long-term care
and spousal impoverishment standards to §1915(c) HCBS
waiver participants. Delaware accepted this option in 1993.
See attached Section 20900. By analogy, it may be
inappropriate to define community spouse as someone
participating in HCBS programs apart from §1915(c)
waivers. Specifically, the reference to “any of the Long
Term Care Medicaid programs such as...” may be overbroad
since it encompasses more than §1915(c) waivers. The CMS
definition of “community spouse” in attached Section 3710
is simply a spouse “not living in a medical institution or
nursing facility.” There is no authorization to limit
“community spouse” to someone receiving any form of
Medicaid LTC assistance.

DMMA withdraws its proposed regulation published on
December 1, 2005 at 9 DE Reg. 859 as of February 1, 2006. 

Long Term Care Medicaid

DMMA NOTICE OF WITHDRAWAL #06-01

REVISIONS:

20910.1 Institutionalized Spouse
An individual who is in a medical institution or nursing

facility and is married to a spouse who is not in a medical
institution or nursing facility and who is not receiving
HCBS. Medicaid under any of the Long Term Care
Medicaid programs such as Home and Community Based
Services, Nursing Home Medicaid or Assisted Living
Waiver.

20910.2 Community Spouse
An individual who is married to an institutionalized

spouse and who does not receive HCBS An individual who

is not receiving Medicaid under any of the Long Term Care
Medicaid programs such as Home and Community Based
Services, Nursing Home Medicaid or Assisted Living
Waiver and is married to an institutionalized spouse.

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,
Section 122(3).0 (16 Del.C. §122(3).0)

16 DE Admin. Code 4202

ORDER

4202 Control of Communicable and Other Disease 
Conditions

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“DHSS”)
initiated proceedings to adopt amendments to the State of
Delaware Regulations for the Control of Communicable and
Other Disease Conditions. The DHSS proceedings to adopt
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Chapter 101 and authority as prescribed by 16 Delaware
Code, Sections 122; 128; 129; 504; 505; 507; 702 and 707.

On December 1, 2005 (Volume 9, Issue 6), DHSS
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations its notice
of proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10115. It requested that written materials and
suggestions from the public concerning the proposed
regulations be delivered to DHSS by January 3, 2006, after
which time DHSS would review information, factual
evidence and public comment to the said proposed
regulations.

Written comments were received during the public
comment period and evaluated. The results of that evaluation
are summarized in the accompanying “Summary of
Evidence.”

Findings of Fact

Based on comments received, non-substantive changes
were made to the proposed regulations. The Department
finds that the proposed regulations, as set forth in the
attached copy should be adopted in the best interest of the
general public of the State of Delaware.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
State of Delaware Regulations for the Control of Contagious
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and Other Disease Conditions are adopted and shall become
effective February 10, 2006, after publication of the final
regulation in the Delaware Register of Regulations. 

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, January 13, 2006

Summary of Evidence

In accordance with Delaware Law, public notices
regarding proposed amendments to the Department of
Health and Social Services (DHSS) Regulations for the
Control of Communicable and Other Disease Conditions
were published in the Delaware State News, the News
Journal and the Delaware Register of Regulations. Written
comments were received on the proposed regulations during
the public comment period (December 1, 2005 through
January 3, 2006). Entities offering written comments
included:

• State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD)
• Bayhealth Medical Center Infection Control

Department
• Delaware Health Care Facilities Association
• Christiana Care Health System Infection Control
• Delaware Regional APIC
• Nemours duPont Hospital for Children Infection

Control
• Blood Bank of Delmarva

Public comments and the DHSS (Agency) responses are
as follows:

Multiple statutory provisions in Title 16 (Chapters 5 and
7) and Title 20 (Chapter 31) covering reporting of
communicable diseases, voluntary and involuntary
treatment, and due process procedures sometimes overlap
and are not uniformly consistent. There are multiple
provisions which indicate that the Title 20 (public health
emergencies) provisions supersede any inconsistent
provisions in Title 16. See, e.g., Title 16 Del.C. §§505(c),
508(g), and 532. This “loose” integration of statutes
undermines the development of a single set of regulations.

Agency Response: The agency is not authorized to
change statute. A purpose of the proposed regulations is to
provide more consistency between the regulations and the
statute.

The definition of “epidemic or outbreak” merits review.
Literally, the declaration of a state of emergency due to a
widespread illness cannot be considered an epidemic or
outbreak. It is recognized that Title 20, Del.C. §§3137, 3138,

and 3140 grant certain emergency powers in the event of a
state of emergency. However, Title 20 does not contain
mandatory reporting provisions. By including a “state of
emergency” in the definition of “epidemic or outbreak”, the
regulations would reinforce the mandate in Section 3.0 that
health care providers report “outbreaks”, “clusters of
illness”, and all cases related to a health emergency.
Alternatively, perhaps a definition of “public health
emergency” (Section 3.2) could be included which would
include diseases/conditions identified in a state of
emergency declaration.

Agency Response: The agency will amend the
definition of “Epidemic” or “Outbreak” and add the
definition of public health emergency to the regulation.

Section 4.4: This section authorizes, but does not
require, primarily non-medical persons to report notifiable
diseases. The preface indicates that the section is intended to
supplement the mandatory reporting provisions in the
regulations. The proposed revision in this section deletes
“every nurse”, ostensibly since nurses are within the
definition of “health care provider” who would be subject to
mandatory reporting. However, the term “dentist” is retained
in Section 4.4 despite the inclusion of dentists in the
definition of “health care provider”.  The term “dentist”
should logically be deleted from Section 4.4.

Agency Response:  The agency will delete “dentist”
from Section 4.4

There is some inconsistency between Sections 3.1 and
3.2.1 and Section 4.4. Sections 3.1 and 3.2.1 require any
person identified in Section 4 to report knowledge of a
notifiable disease. In contrast, Section 4.4 literally makes
such reporting by many persons optional, i.e., reporting is
“requested and authorized” but not required. This creates
ambiguity in the regulatory scheme.

Agency Response: The agency will amend the
regulation such that Section 3.1 reads “Any health care
provider having knowledge of any outbreak…shall
report…”

The term “engaged in sensitive situations” in Section
5.3.1 is grammatically odd. How does one engage in a
setting? DPH may wish to consider alternative terminology.

Agency Response: The phrase “engage in sensitive
situations” has been part of the regulations since their
inception. Experience suggests that it appears to be well
understood.

The Section 6.0 quarantine and isolation due process
procedures are derived from Title 20 Del.C. §3136 which is
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only applicable to public health emergencies. The Code
directs that DPH regulations extend similar rights to persons
quarantined under Title 16 Del.C. §§505-506.  However,
there are separate due process procedures for quarantine for
sexually transmitted diseases which contemplates J.P. Court
proceedings [Title 16 Del.C. §§704-705]. There are also
separate due process standards applicable to quarantine for
tuberculosis [Title 16 Del.C. §§526 and 529]. The proposed
regulations make no such distinctions and ostensibly apply
one set of due process standards to all quarantines.

Agency Response: The agency will add Section 6.10 to
the regulation to address additional due process rights.

Section 11.1:  Recommend Universal precautions be
changed to Standard Precautions throughout the document
and defined per CDC. Universal Precautions addressed only
bloodborne Pathogens. Standard Precautions is designed to
reduce the transmission risks of all communicable diseases.

Agency Response: The agency will change all
references to “universal precautions to “standard
precautions.”

Section 11.3.2.2: Air-borne needs to be either defined in
the data dictionary or changed.  The term is confusing with
the CDC list of air-borne organisms. For example,
meningitis from N. meningitides or Haemophilus influenzae
is considered Droplet precautions per CDC, not air-borne. If
the term air-borne is used to describe “organisms that travel
by air”, that should be defined in the data dictionary to
prevent confusion.

Agency Response: The agency will change all
references to “air-borne” to “air-borne and droplet spread.”

Appendix II Organisms and Samples to be sent to the
Division of Public Health Laboratory. Sending isolates of
Staphylococcus aureus, sterile sites, Methicillin resistant,
and Vancomycin resistant Enterococci VRE will
significantly increase the workload for all of the clinical
laboratories around the state and the Delaware State Public
Health Lab without improving care to our population.
CCHS disagrees with the utility of sending those isolates and
demographic data.  What is being done with the information,
especially the patient demographics? Can the requirement
for demographic information on the resistant organisms be
delayed until DERSS is fully operational and can download
this information automatically? Can we continue with our
current method of reporting resistant organisms?

Agency Response: The agency will revise the proposed
regulations so as to not require sending isolates to the agency
laboratory for: “staphylococcus aureus, sterile sites,
Methicllin resistant,” and “Vancomycin resistant

Enterococci (VRE) sterile sites.” The agency will provide a
provision that reporting of demographic information for
antimicrobial resistant organisms can be delayed until such
information can be reported though electronic means.

Under definitions, add Isolation Precautions, as defined
by the CDC Isolation Guideline: Airborne Precautions;
Droplet Precautions; and, Contact Precautions. Also include
types of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) needed to
work safely within each type of Isolation Precaution.

Agency Response:  The agency considers the regulation
of hospital infection control to be beyond the scope of these
regulations.

Replace the old terminology of ‘nosocomial’ with
Healthcare-Associated Infection (HAI) as defined by the
CDC Isolation Guideline.

Agency Response: The agency will include this
terminology in the definition of nosocomial infection.

In the definition of Contagious Diseases add ‘vector-
borne’ since infections such as Lyme Disease, Rocky
Mountain Spotted Fever, and Malaria are considered
Notifiable.

Agency Response: The agency considers this to be
included in “animal-to-person,” which is part of the
definition of contagious diseases.

In the definition of Bloodborne Pathogens, add ‘Tissue,
CSF, Synovial fluid, Peritoneal fluid, Pericardial fluid, and
Amniotic fluid’.

Agency Response: The agency is assuming that this
comment pertains to Section 11.3.3.1. The agency will add
the suggested language.

In reporting of Varicella, is Infection Control required to
report ‘confirmed cases’ only? If clinically diagnosed cases
are to be included, we will need to create processes for
information capture on the Hospital side (likely, a manual
process).

Agency Response: Section 2.1 states that the
“occurrence or suspected occurrence” of notifiable diseases
listed in the Appendix shall be reported. Therefore non-
confirmed varicella shall be reported if that diagnosis is
clinically suspected.

Under definitions ‘Resistant Organism’ is now referred
to as ‘Multi-Drug Resistant Organism (MDRO)’.

Agency Response: The agency will include this
terminology in the definition of resistant organism. 
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Section 11.10: Under ‘Testing of Patients for Infection’,

will this prevent testing a source patient when an exposure
event occurs to a medical care provider (Post Exposure
Testing for HIV and Hepatitis)? Our understanding is
Delaware Law, Chapter 12 does allow for source patient
testing when related to an exposure event.  Can this be
clarified?

Agency Response:  Section 11.10 pertains only to the
provisions of Section 11.0 (Notification of Emergency
Medical Care Providers of Exposure to Communicable
Diseases” and does not explicitly prohibit patient testing (it
just does not authorize it). Title 16, Chapter 12 of the
Delaware Code still applies.

Appendix II Organisms and Samples to be sent to the
Division of Public Health Laboratory: Should ESBLs
isolated from sterile samples also be sent to the DPHL?

Agency Response: The agency reviewed this comment
in the context of other comments made on sending
antimicrobial resistant isolates to the Division’s laboratory.
The agency concluded that the inconvenience and time
necessary to send ESBL does not justify the potential for
disease control. 

Enteric Pathogen infections in Health Care Personnel –
the CDC Guidelines for Health Care Personnel allows return
to work after symptoms resolve, unless local Regulations
require exclusion from duty. What is the DPH reference for
Enteric infection Regulation? The citation appears to be
missing..

Agency Response: The agency is not clear about what
section of the proposed regulation is being commented upon.
A hospital employee with an enteric infection would be a
matter of hospital infection control and generally outside the
scope of these regulations. However, the agency can provide
recommendations addressing this situation.

The document language does not make clear the level of
Hospital participation with DERSS. There is no clarity
regarding ‘automatic electronic transfer’ of
epidemiologically-important information from Hospital to
DERSS. Automatic electronic transfer addresses accuracy
and timeliness of the information. It also addresses the
timeliness of Emergency Room Syndromic Surveillance
Reporting, which may be 24-72 hours behind when using the
current reporting mechanisms.

Agency Response: The regulations will be clarified to
indicate that the agency will provide technical specifications,
and that the hospital must make a good faith effort to
conform to such specifications.

Section 3.0 Report of Outbreaks: The regulation never
stipulates what constitutes an outbreak, i.e. 3 cases on one
wing or 3% of the whole house-wide population.  It indicates
an increase above the expected number, however, no specific
guidance for what that average number is has been supplied.
The section is extremely vague and does not include disease
specific guidelines, i.e. one case of active TB = an outbreak,
3 cases of gastrointestinal illness on the same unit or 3% of
the facility population. 

Agency Response: The definition states “clearly in
excess of normal expectancy.” The agency asserts that this
definition is sufficiently specific.

Section 4.0 Persons/Institutions required to report:
What is the definition of “unattended death” and why is it
reported by the medical examiner? What about extended
care facilities, group homes, etc, where a medical examiner
is not usually present?

Agency Response: The regulations will be revised to
make clear that the medical examiner will report the
occurrence of a notifiable disease for all cases he or she
examines.

Section 4.3.3 Reporting of antibiotic resistant
organisms: Is the lab required to report first, and how does
the care facility/hospital know if it has been reported? Who
is required to report this? One organism could be reported
multiple times if this section is followed. Why are they
reporting every case? MDRO’s are becoming endemic and
usually the only time they are reported is in an outbreak
situation or if a new genetic shift/drift is identified.

Agency Response: See previous comment and response
on this Section. The facility can develop their own
procedures to report.

Section 5.3 Sensitive situations: What does this mean?
Reference to definition in “Part II I” is not in the document.
The definition does not include specific examples, which
makes following very difficult. Too vague and needs more
information.

Agency Response: The phrase is defined in Section 1.0.
The inaccurate reference to Part II I will be changed.

Section 6.0 Quarantine and Isolation: There is no
difference in the proposed definitions, so one term needs to
be used only.  It is assumed this section is not referring to
MDRO’s, but is referring to epidemiologically significant
infections, i.e. E.bola, Avian flu, SARS, etc. By current
guidelines we “isolate the organism”, not the patient, for
illnesses other than those types. Section 6.3.2 makes
absolutely no sense, as it states “isolated individuals must be
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confined separately from quarantined individuals.” What is
the difference? The term Isolation applies to Standard and
Transmission based precautions, and in this case, is different
from quarantine, but is referenced inappropriately in this
section as being interchangeable.

Agency Response: The terms are separately defined in
Section 1.0. Quarantine refers to exposed, well persons who
may be infected. Isolation refers to ill, infected persons.
Section 6.3.2 indicates that quarantined persons must be
confined separately from isolated patients. Isolation and
quarantine, under this regulation, may be implemented at the
discretion of the agency in the community or in a hospital.
However, unless so ordered by the agency, it does not
supersede hospital isolation procedures. The agency asserts
that this section is sufficiently clear.

Section 7.5.3.1 Diagnostic examination (TB): Why
would gastric contents be considered for screening?  Extra
pulmonary cases of TB are not transmissible person to
person, so this section should focus on screening and
diagnosis of laryngeal or pulmonary TB only. Why doesn’t
this section speak to admission screening and annual
symptom surveillance for inpatients? There is no clear
guidelines how to screen, only dealing with active disease. Is
there a separate regulation/guideline for this?

Agency Response: The reporting of gastric contents
would be required for diagnosis only at the discretion of the
agency. The agency asserts that the section appropriately
requires diagnosis of extra-pulmonary TB. Even though it is
not communicable, it contributes to understanding of the
epidemiology of TB in Delaware and it may indicate the
need to investigate the source of the extra-pulmonary TB for
adequate disease control. However, as the comment
indicates, extra-pulmonary TB is usually not infections.
Therefore the word “infectious” will be stricken from
7.5.3.1. Regulation of admission screening and annual
symptom surveillance for inpatients is a matter hospital
infection control procedures and is beyond the scope of these
regulations.

Section 11.1 Definitions: The term “Universal
Precautions” must be stricken from the regulation, as it has
not existed since November of 1996. Standard and
Transmission based Precautions is the correct verbiage and
the section must reflect this changes made in the 1996
HICPAC guidelines. Barrier precautions not required at all
times, the verbiage reads “as necessary”. One does not use
full PPE to walk into a patient room any longer. The
guidelines are very clear, including the grid fro what type/
how often precautions are needed. Please review the
documents to update the regulation.

Agency Response: “Standard precautions” will replace
“universal precautions.” Because the regulations use the
word “appropriate” barrier precautions, the agency asserts
that the section is sufficiently clear.

Section 11.2.1.6 Exposure to communicable disease:
Use of safety sharps, unless a reasonable alternative is not
available needs to be included, yet is not mentioned. This is
an OSHA mandate.

Agency Response: The words, “and safety sharps” will
be added.

Section 11.3.3.2.1 Airborne pathogens: Varicella should
be but is not mentioned in this section and it is an airborne
pathogen.  Meningococcal disease and H. flu are not spread
by airborne means, but by large droplet nuclei, which fall
under the category of Droplet Precautions, not Airborne.
Airborne illnesses require N95 masks/respirators prior to
entering a resident’s room. Droplet Precautions require a
surgical mask within 3 feet of the infected individual.
Therefore, they are different processes and entities.

Agency Response:  See previous comment and response
on this Section. The agency will conduct a more extensive
review of this section in the near future.

Section 11.10 Testing of Patients for Infection: Again,
screening for TB needs to be addressed. Why are there no
provisions for post acute/non hospital settings?

Agency Response: The Section does not specifically
authorize testing (including TB), but does not prevent it.
Section 1.1 defines receiving medical facility as a hospital or
similar facility who receives a patient for continued medical
care. This definition would include post acute/non hospital
settings.

It is unclear as to the significance of sharing specimens
or culture results for agents causing certain diseases listed.
The question is what exactly are they going to do with such
results, or specimens? There isn’t a problem referring agents
of bioterrism (the document should define what those are),
or even Vanco I/R Stpah aureus, but routine MRSA’s, or
Strep pneumonias’s don’t seem significant. We are confident
in our abilities to accurately detect these organisms, thus it is
not clear as to why they are wanted.

Agency Response: See previous comments and
responses on antimicrobial resistant organisms.

It looks like a version of our antibiogram (pg 6) “In
addition, the number of susceptible and non-susceptible
isolates…shall be reported monthly…”. We pull our
antibiogram yearly, not quite sure why this information
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would need to be reported monthly.

Agency Response: The data that is requested monthly is
only the total number of susceptible and non-susceptible
isolates by organism. No personal identifying, susceptibility
patterns, or other information is required on this report
denominator data that is utilized to determine incidence and
prevalence rates. 

Section 1.0 Definitions: A better definition of Resistant
Organism would be necessary.

Agency Response: Since no specific concern about the
definition was submitted with this comment, the agency will
leave the definition as is. However, based on another
comment, the agency updated the definition of Resistant
Organism by adding Multi-Drug Resistant Organism to the
definition.

Under Sections 2.2 and 7.3.2.3, there is a concern about
48 hour reporting, since IC is not a 24 hour department and
generally does the reporting. We would recommend 3 or 4
“working days” as better time/terminology.

Agency Response: The agency’s mission would be
impaired by further delaying disease reports. The
development of electronic reporting should make it easier for
hospitals and laboratories to report timely.  Section 7.3.2.3
pertains to STD. Title 16, Chapter 702 of the Delaware
Code requires reports of STD to be made within one
working day.

Under Section 4.2.2 took away the definition of
practitioner in 4.1, but referred to it in this section.

Agency Response: The phrase “attending practitioner”
will be replaced by “health care provider” in Section 4.2.2

Under 4.3.3 defining antibiotic resistant organisms,
since IC reports electronically will the labs be able to
interface, the requirements to report MIC/Zone. There may
not be enough space in the current DERSS 100 character
field. SSN is not listed here as a reporting requirement. Can
the total number of susceptible and non-susceptible isolated
be entered on the line? Referral to the “reporting officer” is
mentioned. It would be beneficial if the state could provide
the reporting officer for a facility, or even one per county.

Agency Response: The concerns are procedural in
nature and not a matter of regulation. The agency is working
on plans to accommodate reports. Section 4.2 refers to a
reporting officer who shall be appointed by each hospital.
Reporting officers are not provided by the state. 

In Section 4.4, jail and prison are used interchangeably.
Are they the same?

Agency Response: The word “jail” in Section 4.4 will
be changed to “prison.”

Under Section 7.4.2.4, we usually call HIV with the
report, will that continue to be acceptable?

Agency Response: As specified in this Section, other
means of reporting are permitted upon approval of the
Division.

Section 11.4.1, requires every employer of an EMS
provider and every organization that supervises volunteer
EMS providers to register a designated officer. Under the
current system, there does not seem to be an ongoing
maintenance of this system, and we would recommend
including how this should be done and who is responsible for
overseeing this so that the Medical Facility can notify the
appropriate designated officer as per the form that was
approved by the State Board of Health. Ongoing education
with these designated officers should also be addressed in
this document.

Agency Response: The agency will conduct a thorough
review of Section 11.0 in the near future.

Under the new listing of reportable organisms, what is
the significance of reporting CMV. We think at best we
should only be reporting neonatal infections with CMV.
Additionally, we also have concern over the requirement for
reporting ESBL resistance. We don’t know the significance
and potentially would be talking about a large number of
reports. The other issue we have is why is it important that
MRSA and VRE be reported in 48 hours? A great percentage
of these isolates are colonization not infection and are not
significant enough to require 48 hour reporting. It would be
almost impossible to report all STD’s within 24 hours.

Agency Response: The agency will change the
proposed reportable disease list to include only neonatal
CMV. Reporting of ESBL, as well as other antimicrobial
organisms is necessary for the agency to understand its
epidemiology in Delaware. The agency will include a
provision that the requirement to report demographic
information for antibiotic resistant organisms may be
delayed until electronic reporting mechanisms are in place
for this purpose. The time frame for STD reporting is
specified in law (Title 16, Chapter 702). The agency is not
authorized to change this requirement..

Clinical labs will be unable to meet 24 hour deadline to
send isolates to the Public Health Lab. 3 to 4 working days
would be more realistic. What forms need to be submitted
with the isolates since they go to the lab and not the
epidemiology section? Also, will the state courier service be
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available all of this time?
Agency Response: The agency will be unable to

effectively fulfill its disease control mission if isolates are
delayed 3 or 4 days. Forms and courier service questions
should be directed to the Division of Public Health
Laboratory and are not a matter of regulation.

Under the definition section if the word “carriers” is
used, it should be co-jointly with the terminology
colonization.

Agency Response:  A carrier may be infected as well as
colonized with a pathogen. The definition is consistent with
“Control of Communicable Disease Manual”, 18th edition,
published by the American Public Health Association.

Section 1.0 Definitions:  “HIV Infection” to include
HIV NAT (Nucleic Acid Testing) as an option.

Agency Response: The definition in Section 1.0
provides examples only. HIV NAT would therefore be
included. 

Section 2.0, subsection 2.2.1, specifies that reports
pursuant to this subsection shall be made electronically,
telephonically, facsimile, or in writing within 48 hours of
recognition to the Division Director or designee, except as
otherwise noted in these regulations or specified in the
Appendices to these regulations. The Blood Bank of
Delmarva’s policy is to notify the office of Division of
Public Health immediately after mailing a letter to the donor
regarding his/her confirming test results, which usually
occurs within 72 hours from receipt of confirmatory test
results.

Agency Response: The agency cannot effectively fulfill
its mission for disease control without timely reports. The
Blood Bank has the choice of notifying the donor sooner, or
notifying the Division first.

Section 7.3, subsection 7.3.2.2 states that a donor’s race
and the name of the physician to be included in the report
submitted to the Division of Public Health. The Blood Bank
of Delmarva does not document the donor’s race and his/her
physician’s name.

Agency Response: Section 2.2.2 indicates that such
information is only required when available.

Section 7.4, subsection 7.4.2.2 states that the blood bank
has to include the race of the donor and laboratory findings
including all CD4 T-lymphocytes percentage and test results
and viral load detection test results (detectable and non
detectable), and the name and address of the health care
provider and that of the processing laboratory. The Blood

Bank of Delmarva does not document the donor’s race and
his/her healthcare provider’s name. The CDC T-lymphocyte
and viral load detection test results are not available to the
Blood Bank of Delmarva, Inc., these results may be
available to the donor’s physician or the clinic that conducts
diagnostic testing recommended by the donor’s physician.

Agency Response: Section 2.2.2 indicates that such
information is only required when available.

Section 7.4, subsection 7.4.2.4 states that reports of
HIV/AIDS shall be routed to the Division of Public Health
office with 48 hours of diagnosis or treatment. The Blood
Bank of Delmarva, Inc., only tests a donor’s sample for the
presence of the virus and anti-bodies, the diagnostic test for
HIV/AIDS is performed by the donor’s physician.

Agency Response: The words “positive test” will be
added to Section 7.4 to clarify the intent

Appendix I to include West Nile Virus disease.
Agency Response: West Nile Virus is an arbovirus,

which is reportable. Appendix I will be modified to make
this clear.

In addition to non-substantive amendments mentioned
above, many minor grammatical corrections were made to
further clarify the proposed regulations.

The public comment period was open from December 1,
2005 to January 3, 2006.

Verifying documents are attached to the Hearing
Officer’s record. The regulation has been approved by the
Delaware Attorney General’s office and the Cabinet
Secretary of DHSS.

4202 Control of [Communicable Contagious] and Other 
Disease Conditions

1.0 Applicable Codes
These regulations are adopted by the Department of

Health & Social Services pursuant to 16 Del. C. §122(1), (2),
(3) (a and j), (4), (5); §128; §129; §151; §503; §504; §505;
§507; §508; §702; §706 and 707. These regulations were
originally adopted on August 2, 1984 effective September 1,
1984, and subsequently amended.

1.0 Definitions
The following terms shall mean:
"Carrier" A person who harbors pathogenic organisms

of communicable disease but who does not show clinical
evidence of the disease and serves as a potential source of
infection.
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“Case" A person whose body has been invaded by an

infectious agent with the result that clinical symptoms have
occurred. 

"Child Care Facility" Any organization or business
created for, and having as its major purpose, the daily care
and/or education of children under the age of 7 years.

"Communicable Disease" means an illness due to a
specific infectious agent or its toxic products which arises
through transmission of that agent or its products from a
reservoir to a susceptible host either directly as from an
infected person or animal or indirectly, through an
intermediate plant or animal host, vector, or the inanimate
environment means “Contagious Disease”.

"Contact" A person or animal that has been in such
association with an infected person or animal or a
contaminated environment as to have had opportunity to
acquire the infection.

"Contagious Disease" An infectious disease that can
be transmitted from person to person, or animal to person.

“Designee” The person named by the Director of the
Division of Public Health to assume a specific responsibility.

"Division" The Division of Public Health.
“Division Director” The Director of the Division of

Public Health.
“Directly Observed Therapy (DOT)” an adherence-

enhancing strategy in which a health care worker or other
designated person watches the patient swallow each dose of
medication.

"Epidemic" or "Outbreak" The occurrence in persons
in a community, institution, region, or other defined area of
cases of an illness of similar nature clearly in excess of
normal expectancy.[,  but not upon declaration of a state
of emergency due to such illness of similar nature.]

"Health care provider" Any person or entity who
provides health care services, including, but not limited to,
hospitals, medical clinics and offices, special care facilities,
medical laboratories, physicians, pharmacists, dentists,
physician assistants, nurse practitioners, registered and other
nurses, paramedics, emergency medical or laboratory
technicians, and ambulance and emergency medical
workers.

“HIV Infection” repeatedly reactive screening tests for
HIV antibody (for example, enzyme immunoassay) with
specific antibody identified by the use of supplemental tests
such as Western Blot or immunofluorescence assay; or direct
identification of virus in host tissues by virus isolation (for
example, culture); or HIV antigen detection (for example
p24 antigen); or a positive result on any other highly specific
licensed test for HIV.

"Infectious disease" A disease caused by a living
organism or other pathogen, including a fungus, bacillus,

parasite, protozoan or virus. An infectious disease may or
may not be transmissible from person to person or animal to
person.

"Isolation" The physical separation and confinement of
an individual or group of individuals who are infected or
reasonably believed to be infected with a contagious or
possibly contagious disease from non-isolated individuals to
prevent or limit the transmission of the disease to non-
isolated individuals.

"Medical Examiner" A physician appointed pursuant
to 29 Del.C. §4703 or 7903(a)(3) who is authorized to
investigate the causes and circumstances of death.

"Nosocomial Disease" A disease occurring in a patient
in a health-care facility and in whom it was not present or
incubating at the time of admission. [Also known as
Healthcare Associated Infection.]

"Notifiable Disease" An infectious communicable
disease or condition of public health significance required to
be reported to the Division of Public Health in accordance
with these Rules.

"Notification" A written[, electronic,] or verbal report
as required by any section of these Rules.

"Outbreak"  Refer to definition of "Epidemic".
“Post-Secondary Institution” Means and includes

state universities, private colleges, technical and community
colleges, vocational technical schools and hospital nursing
schools.

[“Public Health Emergency” is an occurrence or
imminent threat of an illness or health condition that is
believed to be caused by any of the following:

1. Bioterrorism;
2. The appearance of a novel or previously controlled

or eradicated infectious agent or biological toxin; or
3. A chemical attack or accidental release;
and, Poses a high probability of any of the following

harms:
1. A large number of deaths in the affected

populations;
2. A large number of serious or long-term

disabilities in the affected population; or
3. Widespread exposure to an infectious or toxic

agent that poses a significant risk of substantial future
harm to a large number of people in the affected
population.]

"Quarantine" An official order that limits the freedom
of movement and actions of persons or animals in order to
prevent the spread of notifiable disease or other disease
condition. The Division Director or designee shall determine
which persons or animals are subject to quarantine and shall
issue appropriate instructions The physical separation and
confinement of an individual or group of individuals who are
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or may have been exposed to a contagious or possibly
contagious disease and who do not show signs or symptoms
of contagious disease from non-quarantined individuals to
prevent or limit the transmission of the [to] disease to non-
quarantined individuals.

“Resistant Organism” Any organism which
traditionally was inactivated or killed by a drug but has, over
time, developed mechanisms to render that drug ineffective.
[Also known as Multi-Drug Resistant Organism.]

"Sensitive Situation" A setting, as judged by the
Director of the Division of Public Health or designee in
which the presence of a person or animal infected with or
suspected of being infected with a notifiable or other
communicable disease or condition which may affect the
public health would increase significantly the probability of
spread of such disease and would, therefore, constitute a
public health hazard, but not a public health emergency as
defined in Title 20 3132(11) of the Delaware Code.
Sensitive situations may include, but are not limited to,
schools, child-care facilities, hospitals, and other patient-
care facilities, food storage, food processing establishments
or food outlets.

"Source of Infection" The person, animal, object or
substance from which an infectious agent passes directly to
the host.

"Suspect" A person or animal whose medical history
and symptoms suggest that he or it may have or may be
developing a[n communicable infectious] disease
condition.

"Syndromic Surveillance" Surveillance using signs
and symptoms that precede diagnosis and may signal a
sufficient probability of a case or an outbreak to warrant
further public health response.

2.0 Notifiable Diseases or Conditions to be Reported 
Conditions to be Reported, Timeliness and Manner of 
Reporting

2.1 Notifiable Diseases Reporting
The notifiable diseases specified in the Appendices

to these regulations are declared as dangerous to the public
health. The occurrence or suspected occurrence of these
diseases, including those identified after death, shall be
reported as defined in Section 3 to the Division of Public
Health. Such reports shall be made within 48 hours of
recognition except as otherwise provided in these
regulations. Reports shall be made by telephone or in writing
except for certain specified diseases as indicated by a (T)
which shall be reported immediately by telephone. Certain
diseases are reportable in number only and are indicated by
an (N). The Division of Public Health may list additional

diseases and conditions on its reporting forms for which
reporting is encouraged but not required.

2.2 Timeliness and Content of Notifiable Disease
Reports

2.2.1 Reports pursuant to this subsection shall
be made electronically, telephonically, [by] facsimile, or in
writing within 48 hours of recognition to the Division
Director or designee, except as otherwise noted in these
regulations or specified in the Appendices to these
regulations.

2.2.2 Except as otherwise provided by these
regulations, reports of notifiable or other diseases or
conditions required to be reported by these regulations shall
contain sufficient information to contact person reporting.
When available, the following information shall be reported:
the  name, address, telephone number, date of birth, race,
gender, and disease of the person ill or infected, the date of
onset of illness; the name, address, and telephone number of
the person's health care provider; and any pertinent
laboratory information.

2.3 Ordinary Skill
Any person who is required to report a disease or

other condition under this Section shall use ordinary skill in
determining the presence of the reportable disease or
condition.  If the determination of the disease or condition is
disputable and the disease or condition may have potential
public health concern or may potentially be an indicator of a
public health emergency, the Division Director or designee
may request tests through the Division's laboratory or
another certified laboratory to help resolve uncertainty.

2.4 Privacy Protection
The Division of Public Health is the state's

recognized public health authority as defined in HIPAA (45
CFR § 164.501) pursuant to 45 CFR § 164.512 (b). Covered
entities may disclose without individual authorization,
protected health information to public health authorities. As
the recognized public health authority for the State of
Delaware, the Division of Public Health is authorized by law
to collect or receive protected health information for the
purpose of preventing or controlling disease, injury or
disability, including, but not limited to, the reporting of
disease, injury, vital events such as birth or death, and the
conduct of public health surveillance, public health
investigations, and public health interventions. The
information required to be reported represents the minimum
necessary to carry out our public health mandates pursuant to
45 CFR § 164.514(d) of the HIPAA Privacy Rule.

2.5 Electronic Reporting Systems
The Division may establish a system for electronic

reporting to improve the accuracy and timeliness of
reporting notifiable diseases. The system shall be
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technologically designed to ensure data security and
compatibility with other state and federal public health
reporting systems to the extent feasible. Those authorized to
participate in electronic reporting systems must meet
minimum standards for compliance and training as
determined by the Division.

2.6 Syndromic Surveillance Reporting
The Division may establish a state-wide syndromic

surveillance system. The system shall be technologically
designed to ensure data security and compatibility with other
state and federal public health reporting systems to the extent
feasible. Those authorized to participate in syndromic
surveillance must meet minimum standards for compliance
and training as determined by the Division. The Director will
establish what syndromes will be reported. The Director may
change and/or add reportable syndromes to assure the
monitoring of health events of public health importance.

3.0 Report of Outbreaks and Potential Causes of a 
Public Health Emergency

3.1 Outbreaks
[A health care provider or any other person

identified in Section 4 Any health care provider,] having
knowledge of any outbreak of any notifiable disease or
clusters of any illness which may be of public concern, shall
report such outbreaks within 24 hours to the Division
Director or designee.

3.2 Public Health Emergencies
3.2.1 A health care provider or any other person

having knowledge of a public health emergency shall
immediately report all cases of persons who harbor any
illness or health condition, or symptoms of said illness or
health condition, that may be potential causes of a public
health emergency. The Division Director or designee may
declare certain illnesses or health conditions as public health
emergencies which shall be reported.

3.2.2 A pharmacist shall report any unusual or
increased prescription rates, unusual types of prescriptions,
or unusual trends in pharmacy visits that may be potential
causes of a public health emergency. Prescription-related
events that require a report include, but are not limited to:

3.2.2.1 An unusual increase in the number of
prescriptions to treat fever, respiratory or gastrointestinal
complaints;

3.2.2.2 An unusual increase in the number of
prescriptions for antibiotics or other pharmaceuticals or sales
of over-the-counter pharmaceuticals; and

3.2.2.3 Any prescription that treats a disease
that is relatively uncommon or may be associated with
terrorism.

4.0 Reporting of Notifiable Diseases Persons and 
Institutions Required to Report

4.1 Attending Practitioners
Reports required by Sections 1 and 2 shall be made

to the Division Director or designee by any attending
practitioner, licensed or otherwise permitted in Delaware to
practice medicine, osteopathic medicine, chiropractic,
naturopathy, or veterinary medicine, who diagnoses or
suspects the existence of any disease on the notifiable
disease list or by the medical examiner in cases of
unattended deaths.

4.1 Health Care Providers
Reports required by Sections 2 and 3 shall be made

to the Division Director or designee by any health care
provider who diagnoses or suspects the existence of any
disease required to be reported or by the medical examiner in
[such] cases of [unattended deaths that he or she
examines].

4.2 Hospitals
4.2.1 The chief administrative officer of each

civilian hospital, long-term care    facility, or other patient-
care facility shall (and the United States military and
Veterans Administration Hospitals are requested to) appoint
an individual from the staff, hereinafter referred to as
"reporting officer,"  who shall be responsible for reporting
cases or suspect cases of diseases on the notifiable disease
list in persons admitted to, attended to, or residing in the
facility.

3.3.2 Such case reports shall be made to the
Division Director or designee within 48 hours of recognition
or suspicion, except as otherwise provided in these
regulations.

4.2.2 Reporting of a case or suspect case of a
notifiable disease by a hospital fulfills the requirements of
the [attending practitioner health care provider] to report;
however, it is the responsibility of the attending practitioner
to ensure that the report is made pursuant to Section 4.1.

4.2.3 The hospital reporting officer shall also
report to the Division Director or designee communicable
diseases not specified in Section 2, should the disease occur
in a nosocomial disease outbreak situation which may
significantly impact the public health.  Such reports shall be
made within 24 hours of the recognition of such a situation.

4.2.4 Hospitals [authorized shall make a good
effort to meet the technologic standards provided by the
Division] to report notifiable diseases electronically per
Section 2.5 and syndromic surveillance data per Section 2.6.
[Hospitals meeting said standards] shall use this method of
reporting.

4.3 Laboratories
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4.3.1 Any person in charge of a clinical or
hospital laboratory, or other facilities in which a laboratory
examination of any specimen derived from a human body
and submitted for microbiologic examination shall share
with the Division of Public Health Laboratory specimens or
culture results for agents causing certain diseases listed in
the Appendices of these regulations. In addition, such
laboratories shall report to the Division of Public Health
results of laboratory examinations of specimens indicating or
suggesting the existence of;

4.3.1.1 A notifiable disease to the Division of
Public Health within 48 hours of when the results were
obtained or as soon as possible, except as otherwise provided
in these regulations.

4.3.1.2 A suspected agent of bioterrorism
immediately upon when results were obtained 

4.3.1.3 Any other potential agent or specimen
that may be the cause of an outbreak or public health
emergency immediately upon when results were obtained.

4.3.2 The Director or designee may contact the
patient or the potential contacts so identified from laboratory
reports only after consulting with the attending practitioner,
when the practitioner is known and when said consultation
will not delay the timely control of a communicable disease.

3.4.3 Laboratories identifying salmonella or
shigella organisms in the stool specimens shall forward
cultures of these organisms or the stool specimens
themselves to the Public Health Laboratory for confirmation
and serotyping.

4.3.3 Reporting of antibiotic resistant
organisms. Any person in charge of a clinical or hospital
laboratory, or other facility in which a laboratory
examination of any specimen derived from a human body
and submitted for microbiologic examination yields a non-
susceptible species of microorganism identified in Appendix
II I by (A), will report the infected person's name, address,
date of birth, race, sex, site of isolation, date of isolation and
MIC/Zone diameter to the Division of Public Health. [Upon
request, the Division may waive the requirement for the
reporting of said demographic information until such
time that electronic reporting facilitates its reporting.]  In
addition, the number of susceptible and non-susceptible
isolates of any of these organisms shall be reported monthly
to the Division of Public Health.

4.3.4 Laboratories authorized to report
notifiable diseases electronically per Section 2.5, shall use
this method of reporting.

4.4 Others
In addition to those who are required to report

notifiable diseases, the following are requested and
authorized to notify the Division Director or designee of the

name and address of any person in his or her family, care,
employ, class, jurisdiction, custody of control, who is
suspected of being afflicted with a notifiable disease
although no health care provider, as in Section 4.1 above,
has  been consulted: every parent, guardian, householder;
every nurse, [every dentist], every midwife, every
superintendent, principal, teacher or counselor of a public or
private school; every administrator of a public or private
institution of higher learning; owner, operator, or teacher of
a child-care facility; owner or manager of a dairy, restaurant,
or food storage, food-processing establishment or food
outlet; superintendent or manager of a public or private
camp, home or institution; director or supervisor of a
military installation; military or Veterans Administration
Hospital, [jail prison], or juvenile detention center.

3.5 Confidentiality
Information identifying persons or institutions

submitted in reports required in Sections 3.1 - 3.4 shall be
held confidential to the extent permitted by law.

3.6 Information in Reports
Information included in reports required in Sections

3.1-3.4 shall contain sufficient information to contact the
patient and/or the patient's attending physician. When
available, the name, address, telephone number, date of
birth, race, gender, and disease of the person ill or infected,
the date of onset of illness; the name, address, and telephone
number of the attending physician; and any pertinent
laboratory information, shall be provided.

5.0 Investigation of Case
5.1 Action to Be Taken

Upon being notified of a case or suspected case of a
notifiable disease or an outbreak of a notifiable disease or
other disease condition in persons or animals, the Director of
the Division or designee may take action as permitted in
these Rules, and additionally as deemed necessary to protect
the public health. If the nature of the disease and the
circumstances warrant, the Director of the Division or
designee may make or cause to be made an examination of
the patient to verify the diagnosis, make an investigation to
determine the source of infection, and take other appropriate
action to prevent or control the spread of the disease. These
actions may include, but shall not be limited to, confinement
on a temporary basis until the patient is no longer infectious,
and obligatory medical treatment in order to prevent the
spread of disease in the community.

5.2 Examination of Patient
Any person suspected of being afflicted with any

notifiable disease shall be subject to physical examination
and inspection by any designated representative of the
Division of Public Health, except that a duly authorized
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warrant or court order shall be presented to show just cause
in instances where the suspect refuses such examination and
inspection. Such examination shall include the submission of
bodily specimens when deemed necessary by the Division
Director or designee.

5.3 Sensitive Situations
5.3.1 No person known to be infected with a

communicable contagious disease or suspected of being
infected with a communicable contagious disease shall
engage in sensitive situations as defined in [Part II I Section
1.0] of these regulations until judged by the Division
Director or designee to be either free of such disease or no
longer a threat to public health. Such action shall be in
accord with accepted public health practice and reasonably
calculated to abate the potential public health risk.

 5.3.2 When, pursuant to Section 5.3.1, it is
necessary to require that a person not engage in a sensitive
situation because that person is infected or suspected of
being infected with a communicable contagious disease, the
Division Director or designee shall provide, in writing,
instructions specifying the nature of the restrictions and
conditions necessary to terminate the restrictions. These
written instructions shall be provided to the person infected
or suspected of being infected with a communicable
contagious disease and to that person's employer or other
such individual responsible for the sensitive situation.

5.3.3 The Division Director or designee shall
have the authority to exclude from attendance in a child care
facility any child or employee suspected of being infected
with a communicable contagious disease that, in the opinion
of the Division Director or designee, significantly threatens
the public health. In addition, no person shall attend or be
employed in a child care facility who has the following
symptoms: 

5.3.3.1 unusual diarrhea, severe coughing,
difficult or rapid breathing, yellowish skin or eyes, pinkeye,
or an untreated louse or scabies infestation;

5.3.3.2 fever (100 F by oral thermometer or
101 F by rectal thermometer or higher) accompanied by one
of the following:  unusual spots or rashes, sore throat or
trouble swallowing, infected skin patches, unusually dark
tea-colored urine, gray or white stool, headache and stiff
neck, vomiting, unusually cranky behavior, or loss of
appetite.

5.3.3.3 any other symptoms which, in the
opinion of the Division Director or designee suggest the
presence of a [communicable contagious] disease that
significantly threatens the public health. Exclusion from a
childcare facility in this case shall be effective upon written
notification pursuant to Section 5.3.2.

5.0 Quarantine
5.1 Establishment

When quarantine of humans is required for the
control of any notifiable disease or other disease or
condition, the Division Director or designee shall have the
authority to initiate procedures to establish a quarantine.

5.2 Requirements
5.2.1 The Division Director or designee shall

ensure that provisions are made for proper observations of
such quarantined persons as frequently as necessary during
the quarantine period.

5.2.2 Quarantine orders shall be in effect for a
time period in accord with accepted public health practice.

5.3 Transportation
5.3.1 Transportation or removal of quarantined

persons may be made only with prior approval of the
Division Director or designee.

5.3.2 Transportation or removal of quarantined
persons shall be made in accordance with orders issued by
the Division Director or designee.

5.3.3 Quarantine shall be resumed immediately
upon arrival of quarantined person at point of destination for
the period of time in accord with accepted public health
practices.

5.4 Disinfection
5.4.1 Concurrent disinfection is required of

infectious or potentially infectious secretions or excretions
of any quarantined person or animal or of objects
contaminated by such secretions or excretions. The
collection, storage and disposal, of such contaminated matter
and disinfection procedures shall be approved by the
Division Director or designee.

5.4.2 Disinfection shall also be carried out at the
termination of the period of quarantine and shall be applied
to the quarter vacated.  The disinfection procedures shall be
as approved by the Division Director or designee.

6.0 Quarantine and Isolation
6.1 The Division's authority may exercise the following

over persons:
6.1.1 To establish and maintain places of

isolation and quarantine;
6.1.2 To isolate and quarantine individuals

subject to the procedures enumerated in this section; and
6.1.3 To require isolation or quarantine of any

person by the least restrictive means necessary to protect the
public health, subject to the other provisions of this section.
All reasonable means shall be taken to prevent the
transmission of infection among the isolated or quarantined
individuals.

6.2 Standard for quarantine or isolation.
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6.2.1 Persons shall be isolated or quarantined if
it is determined by clear and convincing evidence that the
person to be isolated or quarantined poses a significant risk
of transmitting a disease to others with serious
consequences. A person's refusal to accept medical
examination, vaccination or treatment shall constitute prima
facie evidence that said person should be quarantined or
isolated.

6.2.2 Isolation or quarantine of any person shall
be terminated when such person no longer poses a
significant risk of transmitting a disease to others with
serious consequences.

6.3 Character of isolation and quarantine area
6.3.1 To the extent possible, the premises in

which persons are isolated or quarantined shall be
maintained in safe and hygienic manners designed to
minimize the likelihood of further transmission of infection
or other harm to persons subject to isolation or quarantine.
Adequate food, clothing, medication and other necessities
and competent medical care shall be provided.

6.3.2 Isolated individuals must be confined
separately from quarantined individuals.

6.3.3 The health status of isolated and
quarantined individuals must be monitored regularly to
determine if their status should change. If a quarantined
individual subsequently becomes infected or is reasonably
believed to have become infected with a contagious or
possibly contagious disease, the individual must promptly be
moved to isolation.

6.4 Transportation
6.4.1 Transportation or removal of quarantined

or isolated persons may be made only with prior approval of
the Division Director or designee.

6.4.2 Transportation or removal of quarantined
or isolated persons shall be made in accordance with orders
issued by the Division Director or designee.Quarantine or
isolation shall be resumed immediately upon arrival of
quarantined or isolated person at point of destination for the
period of time in accord with accepted public health
practices.

6.5 Disinfection
6.5.1 Concurrent disinfection is required of

infectious or potentially infectious secretions or excretions
of any quarantined or isolated person or animal or of objects
contaminated by such secretions or excretions. The
collection, storage and disposal, of such contaminated matter
and disinfection procedures shall be approved by the
Division Director or designee.

6.5.2 Disinfection shall also be carried out at the
termination of the period of quarantine or isolation and shall
be applied to the quarter vacated. The disinfection

procedures shall be as approved by the Division Director or
designee.

6.6 Control of quarantine and isolation area.
6.6.1 A person subject to isolation or quarantine

shall obey the Division's rules and orders, shall not go
beyond the isolation or quarantine premises, and shall not
put himself or herself in contact with any person not subject
to isolation or quarantine other than a physician or other
health care provider, public health authority, or person
authorized to enter isolation or quarantine premises by the
Division's authority. Any person entering isolation or
quarantine premises may be isolated or quarantined.

6.6.2 No person, other than a person authorized
by the Division, shall enter isolation or quarantine premises.
If by reason of an unauthorized entry into an isolation or
quarantine premises, the person poses a danger to public
health, that person may be subject to isolation or quarantine
pursuant to the provisions of this section.

6.7 Procedures for isolation and quarantine. The
following procedures shall protect the due process rights of
individuals:

6.7.1 The Division shall petition the Superior
Court for an order authorizing the isolation or quarantine of
an individual or groups of individuals. Said petition shall
specify the following:

6.7.1.1 The identity of the individual or group
of individuals subject to isolation or quarantine;

6.7.1.2 The premises subject to isolation or
quarantine;

6.7.1.3 The date and time at which the
Division request isolation or quarantine to commence;

6.7.1.4 The suspected contagious disease, if
known;

6.7.1.5 A statement of compliance with the
conditions and principles for isolation and quarantine;

6.7.1.6 A statement of the basis upon which
isolation or quarantine is justified.

6.7.1.7 A statement of what effort, if any, has
been made to give notice of the hearing to the individual or
group of individuals to be isolated or quarantined, or the
reason supporting the claim that notice should not be
required.

6.7.2 Ex parte orders. Before isolating or
quarantining a person, the Division shall obtain a written
order, which may be an ex parte order, from the Superior
Court authorizing such action. An order, which may be an ex
parte order, shall be requested as part of a petition filed in
compliance with 6.1 through 6.2. The Court shall grant an
order, which may be an ex parte order, upon finding by clear
and convincing evidence that isolation or quarantine is
warranted pursuant to the provisions of this Section. A copy
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of the authorizing order shall be given to the person ordered
to be isolated or quarantined, along with notification that the
person has a right to a hearing under subsection (6.7).

6.7.3 Temporary quarantine or isolation pending
filing of a petition. Notwithstanding the preceding
subsections, the Division may isolate or quarantine a person
without first obtaining a written order, which may be an ex
parte order, from the Court if a physician determines that any
delay in the isolation or quarantine of the person would pose
an immediate and severe danger to the public health.
Following such isolation or quarantine, the Division shall
file a petition within 24 hours. In addition, if the Division
exercises its powers, it must provide a written directive to
the individuals or groups under temporary quarantine or
isolation indicating the identities of the individuals or groups
subject to the directive, the premises subject to isolation or
quarantine, the date and time that the directive commences,
the suspected contagious disease (if known).

6.7.4 Speedy hearing. The Court shall grant a
hearing within 72 hours of the filing of a petition when an
individual has been isolated or quarantined.

6.7.5 Consolidation of claims. The Court may
order consolidation of individual claims into a group of
claims where:

6.7.5.1 The number of individuals involved
or to be affected is so large as to render individual
participation impractical;

6.7.5.2 There are questions of law or fact
common to the individual claims or rights to be determined;

6.7.5.3 The group claims or rights to be
determined are typical of the affected individuals' claims or
rights; and

6.7.5.4 The entire group will be adequately
represented in the consolidation, giving due regard to the
rights of affected individuals.

6.8 Relief for isolated and quarantined persons.
6.8.1 On or after 10 days following a hearing, a

person isolated or quarantined pursuant to the provisions of
this section may request in writing a Court hearing to contest
his or her continued isolation or quarantine. The hearing
shall be held within 72 hours of receipt of such request,
excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays. A request
for a hearing shall not alter the order of isolation or
quarantine. At the hearing, the Division must show by clear
and convincing evidence that continuation of the isolation or
quarantine is warranted because the person poses a
significant risk of transmitting a disease to others with
serious consequences.

6.8.2 A person isolated or quarantined pursuant
to the provisions of this section may request a hearing in the
Superior Court for remedies regarding his or her treatment

and the terms and conditions of such quarantine or isolation.
Upon receiving a request for either type of hearing, the Court
shall fix a date for a hearing. The hearing shall take place
within 10 days of the receipt of the request by the Court. The
request for a hearing shall not alter the order of isolation or
quarantine.

6.8.3 If upon a hearing, the Court finds that the
isolation or quarantine of the individual is not warranted
under the provisions of this section, then the person shall be
immediately released from isolation or quarantine. If the
Court finds that the isolation or quarantine of the individual
is not in compliance with the provisions of this section, the
Court may then fashion remedies appropriate to the
circumstances of the necessity for the isolation or quarantine
and in keeping with the provisions of this section.

6.8.4 No person shall be permanently
terminated from employment by a Delaware employer as a
result of being isolated or quarantined pursuant to this
section. However, this paragraph shall not apply to a person
who has been quarantined as a result of refusing to comply
with an examination, treatment or vaccination program, nor
shall it apply to a person whose conduct caused the necessity
for the isolation or quarantine.

6.9 Additional due process protections.
6.9.1 A record of proceedings before the Court

shall be made and retained for at least 3 years.
6.9.2 The petitioner shall have the right to be

represented by counsel or other lawful representative, and
the State shall provide counsel to indigent persons against
whom proceedings are initiated pursuant to this section.

6.9.3 The manner in which the request for a
hearing is filed and acted upon will be in accordance with the
existing laws and rules of the Superior Court or any such
rules that are developed by the Court, provided that hearings
should be held by any means that will allow all necessary
persons to participate in the event that a public health
emergency makes personal appearances impractical.

[6.10 The provisions of this section are subject to
the provisions of Title 16, Sections 520-532 of the
Delaware Code. Provisions of 16 Delaware Code,
Sections 520-532 that conflict with provisions of this
section take precedence over this section.]

7.0 Control of Specific [Communicable Contagious] 
Diseases 

7.1 Vaccine Preventable Diseases
7.1.1 All preschool children who are enrolled in

a child care facility must be age-appropriately vaccinated
against diseases prescribed by the Division Director. For
those diseases so prescribed, the most current
recommendations of the federal Center's for Disease Control
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and Prevention's Advisory Committee on Immunization
Practices' (ACIP) shall determine the vaccines and
vaccination schedules acceptable for compliance with this
regulation. 

7.1.2 Any child entering private school must be
age-appropriately vaccinated against diseases prescribed by
the Division Director, prior to enrolling in school.  For those
diseases so prescribed, the most current recommendations of
the federal Center's for Disease Control and Prevention's
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices' (ACIP)
shall determine the vaccines and vaccination schedules
acceptable for compliance with this regulation. This
provision pertains to all children between the ages of 2
months and 21 years entering or being admitted to a
Delaware private school for the first time including, but not
limited to, foreign exchange students, immigrants, students
from other states and territories and children entering from
public schools.

7.1.3 Acceptable documentation of the receipt
of immunization as required by Sections 7.1.1 - 7.1.2 shall
include either a medical record signed by a physician, or a
valid immunization record issued by the State of Delaware
or another State, which specifies the vaccine given and the
date of administration.

7.1.4 Immunization requirements pursuant to
sections 7.1.1 - 7.1.2 shall be waived for:

7.1.4.1 children whose physicians have
submitted, in writing, that a specific immunizing agent
would be detrimental to that child; and,

7.1.4.2 children whose parents or guardians
present a notarized document that immunization is against
their religious beliefs.

7.1.5 Child care facilities and private schools
(grades K-12) shall maintain on file an immunization record
for each child.  The facility will also be responsible to report
to the Division Director or designee on an annual basis the
immunization status of its enrollees.

7.1.6 Parents whose children present
immunization records which show that immunizations are
lacking will be allowed l4 days (or such time as may be
appropriate for a particular vaccination) to complete the
required age-appropriate doses of vaccine for their children.
In instances where more than l4 days will be necessary to
complete the age-appropriate immunization schedule, an
extension may be allowed in order to obtain the required
immunizations. Extension of the 14-day allowance because
of missed appointments to receive needed immunizations
shall not be permitted.

7.1.7 When a child's records are lost and the
parent states that the child has completed his/her series of
immunizations, or a child has been refused admission or

continued attendance at a child care facility or private school
for lack of acceptable evidence of immunization as specified
in this regulation, a written certification must be provided by
a health care provider who has administered the necessary
age-appropriate immunizations to the child according to the
current ACIP immunization schedule.

7.1.8 It is the responsibility of the child care
facility or private school to exclude a child prior to
admission or from continued attendance who has failed to
document required immunizations pursuant to this section.

7.1.9 Upon the occurrence of a case or suspect
case of one of the vaccine preventable diseases specified in
pursuant to sections 7.1.1 and 7.1.2, any child not
immunized against that disease shall be excluded from the
premises, until the Division Director or designee has
determined that the disease risk to the unimmunized child
has passed. Such exclusion shall apply to all those in the
facility who are admitted under either medical or religious
exemption as well as to those previously admitted who have
not yet received vaccine against the disease which has
occurred. If, in the judgment of the Division Director or
designee, the continued operation of the facility presents a
risk of the spread of disease to the public at large, he/she
shall have the authority to close the facility until the risk of
disease occurrence has passed.

7.1.10 All full-time students of post-secondary
educational institutions and all full and part-time students in
such educational institutions if engaged in patient-care
related curriculums (included but not limited to nursing,
dentistry and medical laboratory technology), shall be
required to show evidence of immunity to measles, rubella
and mumps prior to enrollment by the following criteria:

7.1.10.1 Measles immunity:
7.1.10.1.1 persons born before January

1, 1957; or
7.1.10.1.2 physician documented

history of measles disease; or
7.1.10.1.3 serological confirmation of

measles immunity; or
7.1.10.1.4 a documented receipt from a

physician or health facility that two doses of measles vaccine
were administered after 12 months of age.

7.1.10.2 Rubella immunity:
7.1.10.2.1 persons born before January

1, 1957; except women who could become pregnant; or
7.1.10.2.2 laboratory evidence of

antibodies to rubella virus; or
7.1.10.2.3 a documented receipt from a

physician or health facility that rubella vaccine was
administered on or after 12 months of age.

7.1.10.3 Mumps immunity:
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7.1.10.3.1 persons born before January

1, 1957; or
7.1.10.3.2 physician diagnosed history

of mumps disease; or
7.1.10.3.3 laboratory evidence of

immunity; or
7.1.10.3.4 a documented receipt from a

physician or health facility that mumps vaccine was
administered on or after 12 months of age.

7.1.11 Immunization requirements pursuant to
section 6.1.10 shall be waived for:

7.1.11.1 A student whose licensed physician
certifies that such immunization may be detrimental to the
student's health;

7.1.11.2 A student who presents a notarized
document that immunization is against their religious
beliefs.

7.1.12 The student health service, the admissions
office and the office of the university or college registrar are
jointly responsible for implementing Section 7.1.10 through
notification of immunization requirements, the collection
and verification of documented vaccine histories,
identification and notification of students not in compliance
and imposition of sanctions for non-compliance.

7.1.13 Students who can not show evidence of
immunity to measles pursuant to 6.1.10 and who cannot
show documented receipt of ever having received measles
vaccine shall be permitted to enroll on the condition that 2
doses be administered within 45 days or at the resolution of
an existing medical contraindication. Students who cannot
show evidence of immunity to rubella and/or mumps or who
have had only 1 dose of measles vaccine shall be permitted
to enroll on the condition that measles, mumps and rubella
immunizations be obtained within 14 days or at the
resolution of an existing medical contraindication. However,
in implementing these requirements, doses of a measles
containing vaccine shall not be given closer than 28 days
apart.

7.1.14 The Division Director may maintain a
registry of the immunization status of persons vaccinated
against any vaccine preventable diseases (hereafter called an
"immunization registry").

7.1.14.1 Physicians and other health care
providers who give   immunizations shall report information
about the immunization and the person to whom it was given
for addition to the immunization registry in a manner
prescribed by the Division Director or designee.

7.1.14.2 The Division Director or designee
may disclose information from the immunization registry
without a patient's, parent's, or guardian's written release
authorizing such disclosure to the following:

7.1.14.2.1 The person immunized, or a
parent or legal guardian of the person immunized, or persons
delegated in writing by same.

7.1.14.2.2 Employees of public
agencies or research institutions, however only when it can
be shown that the intended use of the information is
consistent with the purposes of this section.

7.1.14.2.3 Health records staff of
school districts and child care facilities.

7.1.14.2.4 Persons who are other than
public employees who are entrusted with the regular care of
those under the care and custody of a state agency including
but not limited to operators of day care facilities, group,
residential care facilities and adoptive or foster parents.

7.1.14.2.5 Health insurers, however
only when the person immunized is a client of the health
insurer.

7.1.14.2.6 Health care professionals or
their authorized employees who have been given
responsibility for the care of the person immunized.

7.1.14.3 If any person authorized in
subsection 7.1.14.2 discloses information from the
immunization registry for any other purpose, it is an
unauthorized release and such person may be subject to civil
and criminal penalty. 

7.2 Ophthalmia Neonatorum
Any physician, nurse, midwife, or other health care

provider so permitted to under the law, who attends the birth
of an infant in Delaware, shall provide or cause to be
provided prophylactic treatment against inflammation of the
eyes of the newborn. Said prophylactic treatment shall be
provided within 1 hour of birth and consist of (1) 1% silver
nitrate in single-dose containers, or (2) a 1-2 centimeter
ribbon of sterile ophthalmic ointment containing tetracycline
(1%) or erythromycin (0.5%) in single-use tubes, or (3) other
treatment recommended for this purpose as published in the
most recent edition of the U.S. Preventive Services Task
Force, Guide to Clinical Preventive Services.

7.3 Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STDs)
7.3.1 Appendix I list[s] STDs regarded to cause

significant morbidity and mortality, can be screened,
diagnosed and treated, or are of major public health concerns
such that surveillance of the disease occurrence is in the
public interest, and therefore shall be designated as sexually
transmitted and reportable pursuant to 16 Del.C. Ch. 7. For
the purposes of this section, a suspect is any person[;] having
positive or clinical findings of a STD; or in whom
epidemiologic evidence indicates a STD may exist; or is
identified as a sexual contact of a STD case, and is provided
treatment for the STD on that basis.

7.3.2 Reporting STDs
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7.3.2.1 A physician or any other licensed
health care provider professional who diagnoses, suspects or
treats a reportable STD and every administrator of a health
facility or prison in which there is a case of a reportable STD
shall report such case to the Division of Public Health.
Unless reportable in number only as specified in Appendix I,
Reports provided under this rule shall specify the infected
person's name, address, date of birth, gender and race as well
as the date of onset, name and stage of disease, type and
amount of treatment given and the name and address of the
submitting licensed health care professional.

7.3.2.2 Any person who is in charge of a
clinical or hospital laboratory, blood bank, mobile unit, or
other facility in which a laboratory examination of any
specimen derived from a human body yields microscopic,
cultural, serological, or other evidence suggestive of a
reportable STD shall notify the Division of Public Health.
Unless reportable in number only as specified in Appendix I,
Reports provided under this rule shall specify the name, date
of birth, race, gender and address of the person[s] from
whom the specimen was obtained, laboratory findings, and
the name and address of the physician and that of the
processing clinical laboratory. [Identifying and
demographic information shall be required only if made
known to the reporting laboratory or hospital in which
the laboratory is part.]

7.3.2.3 The manner and timing of reports
required by this Section 7.3 shall be made in accordance
with Section 2 of these regulations unless otherwise
specified by these regulations. for STD's designated with the
letter "T" in Appendix I shall be made by telephone, fax, or
other rapid electronic means within 1 working day.  Reports
required by this Section for STD's designated with the letter
"N" in Appendix I shall be made at the request of the
Division of Public Health, in number only, and in
demographic categories specified by the Division of Public
Health.  All other reports required by this Section for STD's
listed in Appendix I shall be placed into the United States
mail, faxed, telephoned, or otherwise routed to the Division
of Public Health within one working day of diagnosis,
suspicion, or treatment.

7.3.2.4 All reports and notification made
pursuant to this section are confidential and protected from
release except under the provisions of Title 16 Del.C. §710,
and §711. From information received from laboratory
notifications, the Division of Public Health may contact
attending physicians. The Division of Public Health shall
inform the attending physician, if the notification indicates
the person has an attending physician, before contacting a
person from whom a specimen was obtained. However, if
delays resulting from informing the physician may enhance

the spread of the STD, or otherwise endanger the health of
either individuals or the public, the Division of Public Health
may contact the person without first informing the attending
physician.

7.3.2.5 Any person or facility required to
report a STD under this Section shall permit the Division of
Public Health to examine records in order to evaluate
compliance with this section.

7.4   Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV), Acquired
Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS)

7.4.1 HIV/AIDS infection is regarded to cause
significant morbidity and mortality, can be screened,
diagnosed and treated, and is of major public health concern,
such that surveillance of the disease occurrence is in the
public interest, and therefore shall be designated as
notifiable and reportable pursuant to 16 Del.C. Ch. 5. Under
this provision the following shall be reported:

7.4.1.1 A diagnosis of HIV, according to the
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention case definition
of HIV

7.4.1.2 A diagnosis of AIDS, according the
Centers for Disease

[7.4.1.3] Control and Prevention case
definition of AIDS

7.4.1.[43] A positive confirmed result of
any test approved and indicative of the presence of HIV.

7.4.1.[54] All CD4 T-lymphocyte
percentage and test results and all viral load detection test
results (detectable and undetectable)

7.4.1.[65] A perinatal exposure of a
newborn to HIV.

6.4.1 Reporting HIV Infection
7.4.2 Reporting of HIV/AIDS and perinatal

exposure of newborns to HIV.
7.4.2.1 A physician or any other licensed

health care professional health care provider who diagnoses
or treats HIV/AIDS and every administrator of a health care
facility or prison in which there is an HIV/AIDS infected
person or perinatal exposure to HIV shall report such
information to the Division of Public Health. Reports
provided under this rule shall specify the infected person's
name, address, date of birth, gender, mode of transmission
and race as well as the date of HIV positive laboratory result,
date of perinatal exposure, date of AIDS diagnosis and stage
of disease, type and amount of treatment given and the name
and address of the submitting licensed health care
professional health care provider.

7.4.2.2 Any person who is in charge of a
clinical or hospital laboratory, blood bank, mobile unit, or
other facility in which a laboratory examination of any
specimen derived from a human body yields serological or
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other evidence of HIV/AIDS, including perinatal exposure
to HIV, shall notify the Division of Public Health. Reports
provided under this rule shall specify the name, date of birth,
race, gender and address of the person from whom the
specimen was obtained, laboratory findings, including all
CD4 T-lymphocyte percentage and test results and all viral
load detection test results (detectable and undetectable), and
the name and address of the physician  health care provider
and that of the processing clinical laboratory.

7.4.2.2.1 Reports made on the basis of
an HIV test to detect antibodies shall only be made if
confirmed with a Western Blot or other confirmatory test.

7.4.2.2.2 All facilities obtaining blood
from human donors for the purpose of transfusion or
manufacture of blood products shall report HIV/AIDS
consistent with 7.4.2.2.

7.4.2.2.3 Any laboratory that
examines specimens, or reporting source finding evidence of
HIV, shall permit the Division of Public Health to examine
the records of said laboratory, facility, or office in order to
evaluate compliance with this section.

6.4.2.3 Reports made on the basis of an HIV
test to detect antibodies shall only be made if confirmed with
a Western Blot or other confirmatory test.

6.4.2.4 All facilities obtaining blood from
human donors for the  purpose of transfusion or manufacture
of blood products shall report HIV consistent with 6.4.2.2.

6.4.2.5 Reports of HIV infection required by
Section 6.4 shall be placed into the United States mail, using
a special envelope that will be provided by the Division of
Public Health, and routed to the Division within 48 hours of
diagnosis or treatment.  Any other reporting method must be
approved in advance and must be in a time frame acceptable
to the Division.

6.4.2.6 Any laboratory that examines
specimens, or reporting source finding evidence of HIV,
shall permit the Division of Public Health to examine the
records of said laboratory, facility, or office in order to
evaluate compliance with this section.

7.4.2.3 Reports made on the basis of perinatal
HIV exposure shall be made regardless of confirmatory
testing.

7.4.2.4 Reports of HIV/AIDS, required by
Section 7.4 shall be placed into the United States mail, using
a special envelope that will be provided by the Division of
Public Health, and routed to the Division within 48 hours of
diagnosis [positive test,] or treatment. Any other reporting
method must be approved in advance and must be in a time
frame acceptable to the Division.

6.4.2.7 As it is the intent of the Division of
Public Health to continue the availability of anonymous HIV

counseling and testing, and as it is not the practice to collect
the name or other identifying information from a person who
is anonymously tested for HIV, and therefore no name is
available to be reported, nothing in these regulations shall
preclude the performance of anonymous HIV testing.

7.4.2.5 As it is the intent of the Division of
Public Health to continue the availability of anonymous HIV
counseling and testing, and as it is not the practice to collect
the name or other identifying information from a person who
is anonymously tested for HIV, and therefore no name is
available to be reported, nothing in these regulations shall
preclude the performance of anonymous HIV testing.

6.4.3 Confidentiality of HIV Reports
7.4.3 Confidentiality of HIV/AIDS Reports

7.4.3.1 The Division of Public Health will
evaluate reports of HIV/AIDS for completeness and
potential referrals for service. All case reports will be kept in
a confidential and in a secure setting. Once this function is
completed, the patient's name will be converted to a code
and then destroyed. From that time forward, the code will be
used in lieu of the name to determine if the patient has been
previously reported. In carrying out this function, the
Division shall destroy the name as expeditiously as possible,
but not later than 90 days from receipt of the report.

7.4.3.2 The Division of Public Health will
evaluate its procedures for HIV/AIDS named-based
reporting on a continuous basis [after implementation] for
timeliness, completeness of reporting, and security of
confidential information.

7.4.3.3 The Division of Public Health will
follow the December 10, 1999 Morbidity and Mortality
Weekly Report Recommendations and Reports, "CDC
Guidelines for National Human Immunodeficiency Virus
Case Surveillance, Including Monitoring for Human
Immunodeficiency Virus Infection and Acquired
Immunodeficiency Syndrome" document as it pertains to
patient records and confidentiality, or any subsequent
revisions of said document.

7.4.3.4 All reports and notification made
pursuant to this section are confidential and protected from
release except under the provisions of 16 Del.C. §710, §711
and §1201-4, §1201A-4A. Any person aggrieved by a
violation of this Section shall have a right of action in the
Superior Court and may recover for each violation:

7.4.3.4.1 Against any person who
negligently violates a provision of this regulation, damages
of $1,000 or actual damages, whichever is greater.

7.4.3.4.2 Against any person who
intentionally or recklessly violates a provision of this
subchapter, damages of $5,000 or actual damages,
whichever is greater.
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7.4.3.4.3 Reasonable attorneys' fees.
7.4.3.4.4 Such other relief, including

an injunction, as the court may deem appropriate.
7.4.3.4.5 Any action under this

regulation is barred unless the action is commenced within 3
years after the cause of action accrues. A cause of action will
accrue when the injured party becomes aware of an
unauthorized disclosure.

7.4.3.5 From information received from
reports of HIV infection, the Division of Public Health may
contact attending physicians. The Division of Public Health
shall inform the attending physician, if the notification
indicates the person has an attending physician, before
contacting a person on whom the report is made. However, if
delays resulting from informing the physician may enhance
the spread of HIV, or otherwise endanger the health of any
individuals, the Division of Public Health may contact the
person without first informing the attending physician.

6.4.4 Duty to Disclose the Identity of Sexual or
Needle-sharing Partners of HIV Infected Patients 

7.4.4 Duty to Disclose the Identity of Sexual or
Needle sharing Partners of HIV Infected Patients

7.4.4.1 Any physician, or any other licensed
health care professional acting on the orders of a physician,
(hereafter referred to as provider), health care provider
diagnosing or caring for an HIV infected patient shall
disclose the identity of the patient's sexual or needle-sharing
partner(s) (if known), including spouses to the Division of
Public Health so that the partner(s) may be notified of his or
her risk of infection, provided that:

a. The patient's condition satisfies the
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention definition of
AIDS, or has an HIV infection as evidenced by a positive
antibody test which is confirmed by Western Blot, or based
upon other tests accepted by prevailing medical opinion, the
patient is considered to be infected with HIV;

7.4.4.1.1 The provider knows of an
identifiable partner at risk of infection who may not have
been informed of their potential risk; and

7.4.4.1.2 The provider believes there
is a significant risk of harm to the partner; and

7.4.4.1.3 Reasonable efforts have been
made to counsel the patient pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1202(e),
urging the patient to notify the partner, and the patient has
refused or is considered to be unlikely to notify the partner.

e. The provider has made reasonable
efforts to inform the patient of the intended disclosure and to
give the patient the opportunity to express a preference as to
whether the partner be notified by the provider, the patient,
or the Division.

7.4.4.2 Any health care provider diagnosing
or caring for an HIV infected patient shall also report to the
Division of Public Health relevant facts about a patient that
does not pose a threat to an identifiable partner but, in the
professional judgment of the provider based upon stated
intended acts, the patient may threaten further spread of HIV
to the general population. In this instance the conditions
specified in Section 7.4.4.1.3, 6.4.4.1 (d) and 6.4.4.1 (e) shall
apply. Disclosure shall be for the purpose of providing
appropriate counseling to the patient.

7.4.4.3 Procedures for disclosing information
pursuant to this section shall be specified by the Division.
Such procedures shall (a) include the requirement that, prior
to the Division identifying and notifying a partner,
reasonable efforts be made by the Division to counsel the
patient and urge the patient's voluntary notification of a
partner; (b) specify Division employees permitted to receive
the disclosed information; and (c) describe the manner in
which partners will be notified pursuant to these regulations.

6.4.4.4 The provider will prepare and
maintain contemporaneous records of compliance with each
element of these regulations.

7.4.4.4 Division shall have the authority to re-
ascertain names for previously reported HIV cases and
report them as deemed necessary.

7.5   Tuberculosis
7.5.1 Any person afflicted with or suspected of

being afflicted with tuberculosis disease and in need of
hospitalization and unable to pay the cost, shall be
hospitalized at public expense wherever and whenever
facilities are available and provided that private or third
party funds are not available for this purpose.

7.5.2 Reporting Tuberculosis
7.5.2.1 Physicians, pharmacists, nurses,

hospital administrators, medical examiners, morticians,
laboratory administrators, and other health care providers
who provide health care services to a person with diagnosed,
suspected or treated tuberculosis (TB) shall report such a
case to the Division of Public Health specifying the infected
person's name, address, date of birth, race, gender, date of
onset, site of disease, prescribed anti-TB medications, and,
in the case of laboratory administrators, the name and
address of the submitting health professional.  A report shall
be telephoned into the Division of Public Health within two
working days of the provision of service or laboratory
finding. 

7.5.2.2 Any person who is in charge of a
clinical or hospital    laboratory or other facility in which a
laboratory examination of sputa, gastric contents, or any
other specimen derived from human body yields
microscopic, cultural, serological or other evidence
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suggestive of tubercle bacilli shall notify the Division of
Public Health by telephone within two working days of the
occurrence.

7.5.2.3 Any health care provider, who has
knowledge about a person with multiple drug-resistant
tuberculosis (MDR-TB), even if the confirmed or suspected
TB cases had been previously reported, shall report the
occurrence to the Division of Public Health within two days
of the occurrence.

7.5.2.4  Persons with TB who have
demonstrated an inability or an unwillingness to adhere to a
prescribed treatment regimen, who refuse medication, or
who show other evidence of not taking anti-TB medications
as prescribed, shall be reported to the Division of Public
Health within two days of the occurrence.

7.5.3 Diagnostic Examinations
7.5.3.1  Any persons suspected of having

infectious tuberculosis shall have a Mantoux tuberculin skin
test, a chest radiograph, and laboratory examinations of
sputum, gastric contents or other body discharges as may be
required by the Division Director or designee to determine
whether said patient represents an infectious case of
tuberculosis.

7.5.3.2 The Division Director or designee
shall determine the names of household and other contacts
who may be infected with tuberculosis and cause them to be
examined for the presence of tuberculosis disease.  

7.5.4 Clinical Management
7.5.4.1  In addition to fulfilling the reporting

requirements of 7.5.2, health care providers shall manage
persons with active TB disease by following one of three
courses of action:

7.5.4.1.1 they shall immediately refer
the client to the Division of Public Health for comprehensive
medical and case management services; or

7.5.4.1.2 they shall provide
comprehensive assessment, treatment, and follow-up
services (including patient education, directly observed
therapy and contact investigation) to the client and his/her
contacts consistent with current American Thoracic Society
and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (ATS/
CDC) guidelines; or

7.5.4.1.3 they shall initiate appropriate
medical treatment and refer the client to the Division of
Public Health for coordination of community services and
case management including directly observed therapy
(DOT). 

If the health care provider chooses
7.5.4.1.2 or 7.5.4.1.3 above, then the Division Director or
designee may ask the health care provider for information
about the care and management of the patient, and the health

care provider shall assure that the requested information is
communicated.

7.5.4.2 Patients with infectious tuberculosis
who are dangerous to public health may be required by the
Division Director or designee to be hospitalized, isolated, or
otherwise quarantined. Whenever facilities for adequate
isolation and treatment of infectious cases are available in
the home and patient will accept said isolation, it shall be left
to the discretion of the Division Director or designee as to
whether these or other facilities shall be used.

8.0 Preparation for Burial.
See 16 Del.C. Ch. 31 and Department of Health and

Social Services regulations promulgated thereunder, entitled
"Regulations Concerning Care and Transportation of the
Dead".

9.0 Disposal of Infectious Articles, Remains.
No person shall dispose of articles, or human or animal

remains known or suspected to be capable of infecting others
with a communicable disease in such a manner whereby
exposure to such infectious agents may occur. See also
"Regulations Concerning Care and Transportation of the
Dead", Section 10 ("Disposition of Amputated Parts of
Human Bodies").

10.0 Diseased Animals.
10.1 Importation and Sale

No person shall bring into this state or offer for sale
domestic or wild animals infected or suspected to be infected
with a disease communicable from animals to man.

10.2 Notification
It shall be the duty of persons having custody of

care of animals infected or suspected to be infected with a
disease transmitted from animals to man to notify the
Division Director or designee of the infection.

11.0 Notification of Emergency Medical Care 
Providers of Exposure to Communicable Diseases.

11.1 Definitions  
For the purposes of this section, the following

definitions shall apply.
"Emergency medical care provider" fire fighter,

law enforcement officer, paramedic, emergency medical
technician, correctional officer, ambulance attendant, or
other person who serves as employee or volunteer of an
ambulance service and/or provides pre-hospital emergency
medical service.

"Receiving medical facility" hospital or similar
facility that receives a patient attended by an emergency
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medical care provider for the purposes of continued medical
care.

"[Universal Standard] precautions" those
precautions, including the appropriate use of hand washing,
protective barriers, and care in the use and disposal of
needles and other sharp instruments, that minimize the risk
of transmission of communicable diseases between patients
and health care providers. [Universal Standard] precautions
require that all blood, body fluids, secretions, and excretions
of care providers use appropriate barrier precautions to
prevent exposure to blood and body fluids of all patients at
all times.

11.2 [Universal Standard] Precautions
11.2.1 Didactic Instruction

Education and training with respect to
universal precautions shall be a mandatory component of
any required training and any required continuing education
for all emergency medical care providers who have patient
contact. Training shall be appropriately tailored to the needs
and educational background of the person(s) being trained.
Training shall include, but not be limited to, the following:

11.2.1.1 Mechanisms and routes of
transmission of viral, bacterial, rickettsial, fungal, and
mycoplasmal human pathogens.

11.2.1.2 Proper techniques of hand
washing, including the theory supporting the effectiveness of
hand washing, and guidelines for waterless hand cleansing in
the field.

11.2.1.3 Proper techniques and
circumstances under which barrier methods of protection
(personal protective equipment) from contamination by
microbial pathogens are to be implemented. The instruction
is to include the theory supporting the benefits of these
techniques. 

11.2.1.4 The proper techniques of
disinfection and clean-up of spills of infectious material.
This instruction is to include the use of absorbent, liquid, and
chemical disinfectants.

11.2.1.5 Instruction regarding the
reporting and documentation of exposures to infectious
agents and the requirement for employers to have an
exposure control plan.

11.2.1.6 The proper disposal of
contaminated needles and other sharps. The instruction is to
include information about recapping needles and using
puncture-resistant, leak-resistant containers[, and safety
sharps].

11.2.1.7 First aid and immediate care of
wounds which may be incurred by an emergency medical
care provider.

11.2.2 Practical or Laboratory Instruction

Practical sessions addressing the field
application of the above didactic instruction must be part of
the curriculum. The practical sessions shall provide a means
of hands-on experience and training in the proper use of
personal protective equipment, hand-washing disinfection,
clean-up of infectious spills, handling and disposal of
contaminated sharps, and the proper completion of reporting
forms.

1[21].2.3 Approval of Curricula
Any provider of mandatory education and

training and continuing education pursuant to this section
must submit a curriculum for approval by the Division of
Public Health and shall not utilize curricula that are not
regarded by the Division of Public Health to be in substantial
compliance with 10.2.1 and 10.2.2.

11.3 Communicable Diseases
11.3.1 Communicable Disease Defined

For the purposes of Section 11 only,
exposure to patients infected with the following
communicable disease agents shall warrant notification to an
emergency medical care provider pursuant to this section:

Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)
Hepatitis B Virus
Hepatitis C Virus
Meningococcal disease
Haemophilus influenzae
Measles
Tuberculosis 
Uncommon or rare pathogens

11.3.2 Infection Defined
For the purposes of Section 11 only, a

patient shall be considered infected with a communicable
disease when the following conditions are satisfied:

11.3.2.1 Blood-borne pathogens
11.3.2.1.1 HIV - ELISA and western

blot (or other confirmatory test accepted by prevailing
medical opinion) tests must be positive.

11.3.2.1.2 Hepatitis B - positive for
hepatitis B surface antigen.

11.3.2.1.3 Hepatitis C - (1) IgM anti-
HAV negative, and (2) IgM anti-Hbc negative or HBsAg
negative, and (3) serum aminotransferase level more than
two and one half times the upper limit of normal, or anti-
HcB positive.  Hepatitis C antibody screening test and more
specific supplemental test positive.

11.3.2.2 Air-borne [and droplet spread]
pathogens

11.3.2.2.1 Meningococcal disease -
compatible clinical findings and laboratory confirmation
through isolation of Neisseria meningitides from a normally
sterile site.
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11.3.2.2.2 Haemophilus influenzae -

compatible clinical findings of epiglottitis or meningitis and
laboratory confirmation through isolation of Haemophilus
influenzae from a normally sterile site or from the epiglottis.

11.3.2.2.3 Measles - compatible clinical
findings with or without laboratory confirmation by one of
the following methods: (1) presence of the measles virus
from a clinical specimen, or (2) four-fold rise in measles
antibody level by any standard serologic assay, or (3)
positive serologic test for measles IgM antibody.

11.3.2.2.4 Tuberculosis - compatible
clinical findings of pulmonary disease and identification of
either acid-fast bacilli in sputum or the pathogen by culture.

11.3.2.3 Uncommon or rare pathogens
Infection with uncommon or rare

pathogens determined by the Division of Public Health on a
case-by-case basis.

11.3.3 Exposure Defined
11.3.3.1 Blood-borne pathogens

Exposure of an emergency medical
care provider to a patient infected with a blood-borne
pathogen as defined in 11.3.2.1 shall include a needle-stick
or other penetrating injury with an item contaminated by a
patient's blood, plasma, pleural fluid, peritoneal fluid,
[tissue, cerebrospinal fluid, synovial fluid, peritoneal
fluid, pericardial fluid, amniotic fluid,] or any other body
fluid or drainage that contains blood or plasma. Contact of
these fluids with mucous membranes or non-intact skin of
the emergency medical care provider or extensive contact
with intact skin shall also constitute exposure.

11.3.3.2 Air-borne [and droplet spread]
pathogens

Exposure of an emergency medical
care provider to a patient infected with an air-borne [or
droplet spread] pathogen as defined in 11.3.2.2 shall be as
follows:

11.3.3.2.1 Meningococcal disease and
Haem[o]philus influenza - Close contact with an infected
patient's oral secretions or sharing the same air space with an
infected patient for one hour or longer without the use of an
effective barrier such as a mask.

11.3.3.2.2 Measles - Sharing confined
air space with an infected patient, regardless of contact time.

11.3.3.2.3 Tuberculosis - Sharing
confined air space with an infected patient, regardless of
contact time.

11.3.3.3 Uncommon or rare pathogens
The Division of Public Health shall

determine definition of exposure to an uncommon or rare
pathogen on a case-by-case basis.

11.3.3.4 Ruling on infection and exposure

When requested by the emergency
medical care provider or receiving medical facility, the
Division of Public Health shall investigate and issue
judgment on any differences of opinion regarding infection
and exposure as otherwise defined in 11.3.

11.4 Request for Notification
11.4.1 Every employer of an emergency medical

care provider and every organization which supervises
volunteer emergency medical care providers must register
the name(s) of a designated officer who shall perform the
following duties. The designated officer shall delegate these
duties as may be necessary to ensure compliance with these
regulations.

11.4.1.1 receive requests for notification
from emergency medical care providers;

11.4.1.2 collect facts relating to the
circumstances under which the emergency medical care
provider may have been exposed;

11.4.1.3 forward requests for notification
to receiving medical facilities;

11.4.1.4 report to the emergency medical
care provider findings provided by the receiving medical
facility; and

11.4.1.5 assist the emergency medical care
provider to take medically appropriate action if necessary.

11.4.2 Receiving medical facilities must register
with the Division of Public Health the name or office to
whom notification requests should be sent by an emergency
medical care provider and who is responsible for ensuring
compliance with this section.

11.4.3 If an emergency medical care provider
desires to be notified under this regulation, the officer
designated pursuant to 11.4.1 shall notify the receiving
medical facility within 24 hours after the patient is admitted
to or treated by the facility on a form that is prescribed or
approved by the State Board of Health.

11.5 Notification of Exposure to Air-borne [and
droplet spread] Pathogens

11.5.1 Notwithstanding any requirement of
11.4.3, a receiving medical facility must make notification
when an emergency medical care provider has been exposed
to an air-borne [or droplet spread] communicable disease
pursuant to 11.3.2.2 and 11.3.3.2. Such notification shall
occur as soon as possible but not more that 48 hours after the
exposure has been determined and shall apply to any patient
upon whom such a determination has been made within 30
days after the patient is admitted to or treated by the
receiving medical facility.

11.5.2 To determine if notification is necessary
pursuant to this section, a receiving medical facility must
review medical records of a patient infected with an air-
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borne [or droplet spread] communicable disease to
determine if care was provided by an emergency medical
care provider. If medical records do not so indicate, the
receiving medical facility shall assume that no notification is
required.

11.6 Notification of Exposure when Requested
11.6.1 When a request for notification has been

made pursuant to 10.4.3, the receiving medical facility shall
attempt to determine if the patient is infected with a
communicable disease and if the emergency medical care
provider has or has not been exposed. Information provided
on the request for notification and medical records and
findings in possession of the receiving medical facility shall
be used to make this determination. If a determination is
made within 30 days after the patient is admitted to or treated
by the receiving medical facility, the receiving medical
facility shall notify the officer designated pursuant to 10.4.1
as soon as possible but not more than 48 hours after the
determination. The following information shall be provided
in the notification:

11.6.1.1 The date that the patient was
attended by the emergency medical care provider; 

11.6.1.2 Whether or not the emergency
medical care provider was exposed;

11.6.1.3 If the emergency medical care
provider was exposed, the communicable disease involved.

11.6.2 If, after expiration of the 30-day period
and because of insufficient information, the receiving
medical facility has not determined that the emergency
medical care provider has or has not been exposed to a
communicable disease, the receiving medical care facility
shall so notify the officer designated pursuant to Section
11.4.1 as soon as possible but not more than 48 hours after
expiration of the 30-day period. The following information
shall be provided in the notification:

11.6.2.1 The date that the patient was
attended by the emergency medical care provider; 

11.6.2.2 That there is insufficient
information to determine if an exposure has occurred;

11.6.3 The receiving medical facility shall
provide to the Division of Public Health a copy of each form
completed pursuant to 11.4 which shall include information
about whether or not the patient is infected, and if the
emergency medical care provider is considered by the
receiving medical facility to have been exposed.

11.7 Manner of Notification
A receiving medical facility must make a good faith

effort, which is reasonably calculated based upon the health
risks, the need to maintain confidentiality, and the urgency
of intervention associated with the exposure, to
expeditiously notify the officer designated pursuant to

11.4.1. If notification is by mail, and if, in the judgment of
the receiving medical facility the circumstances warrant, the
receiving medical facility shall ensure by telephone or other
appropriate means that the designated officer of the
emergency medical care provider has received notification.

11.8 Transfer of Patients
If, within the 30-day limitation defined in 11.5.1

and 11.6.1 a patient is transferred from a receiving medical
facility to a second receiving medical facility, the receiving
medical facility must provide the second facility with all
requests for notification made by emergency medical care
providers for that patient. The second receiving medical
facility must make notification to the officer designated
pursuant to 11.4.1 if the facility determines within the
remaining part of the 30-day period that the patient is
infected and shall otherwise comply with these regulations.

11.9 Death of Patient
If, within the 30-day limitation defined in

11.5.1 and 11.6.1, a patient is transferred from a receiving
medical facility to a medical examiner, the receiving medical
facility must provide the medical examiner with all requests
for notification made by emergency medical care providers
for that patient. The medical examiner must make
notification to the designated officer if the medical examiner
determines that the patient is infected with a communicable
disease, and shall otherwise comply with these regulations.

11.10 Testing of Patients for Infection
Nothing in this regulation shall be construed to

authorize or require a medical test of an emergency medical
care provider or patient for any infectious disease.

11.11 Confidentiality
All requests and notifications made pursuant to

these regulations shall be used solely for the purposes of
complying with these regulations and are otherwise
confidential.

11.0 Enforcement
11.1 Authorization

The Department of Health and Social Services or
the Director of the Division of Public Health or their
designated representatives are authorized to enforce these
regulations to accomplish the following:

11.1.1 To insure compliance of persons who
refuse to submit themselves or others for whom they are
responsible, including their animals, to necessary inspection,
examination, treatment, sacrifice of the animal, or
quarantine.

11.1.2 To insure coordination of actions of
individuals, local authorities, or state authorities in the
control of communicable disease.
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11.1.3 To insure the reporting of notifiable

diseases or other disease conditions as required in these
Rules.

11.2Penalties
Except as otherwise provided by the Delaware

Code or this regulation, failure to comply with the
requirements of this regulation will be subject to prosecution
pursuant to 16 Del.C., §107.  The Department of Health and
Social Services may seek to enjoin violations of this
regulation.

APPENDIX I
NOTIFIABLE DISEASES

Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) (S)
Lymphogranuloma Venereum (S)
Anthrax (T) Malaria
Botulism (T) Measles (T)
Brucellosis Meningitis (all types other
than

meningococcal)
Campylobacteriosis Meningococcal Infections
(all types ) (T)
Chancroid (S) Mumps (T)
Chlamydia trachomatis infection (S)Nosocomial Disease
Outbreak (T)
Cholera (T)
CryptosporidiosisPelvic Inflammatory Disease (resulting 
from gonococcal and/or chlamydial infections) (S)
CyclosporidiosisPertussis (T)
Diphtheria (T)Plague (T)
E. Coli  0157:H7 infection (T)Poliomyelitis (T)
EncephalitisPsittacosis
EhrlichiosisRabies (man, animal) (T)
Foodborne Disease Outbreaks (T)Reye Syndrome
GiardiasisRocky Mountain Spotted Fever
Gonococcal Infections (S)Rubella (T)
Granuloma Inguinale (S)Rubella (congenital) (T)
Hansen's Disease (Leprosy)Salmonellosis
Hantavirus infection (T)Shigellosis 
Hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS)Streptococcal disease
(invasive group A) 
Hepatitis A (T)
Hepatitis B (S)Streptococcal toxic shock syndrome (STSS)
Syphilis (S)
Hepatitis C & unspecifiedSyphilis (congenital)  (T) (S)
Herpes (congenital) (S)Tetanus
Herpes (genital) (N) Toxic Shock Syndrome
HistoplasmosisTrichinosis
Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) Tuberculosis
Human papillomavirus (genital warts) (N) Tularemia

Influenza  (N)Typhoid Fever (T)
Lead PoisoningVaccine Adverse Reactions
Legionnaires DiseaseVaricella (N)
LeptospirosisWaterborne Disease Outbreaks (T)
Lyme DiseaseYellow Fever (T)

(T) report by rapid means.
(N) report in number only when so requested
For all diseases not marked by (T) or (N):
(S) - sexually transmitted disease, report required in 1 day
Others - report required in 2 days

APPENDIX I
State of Delaware - List of Notifiable Diseases/Conditions 

AIDS (S)
Amoebiasis
Anthrax (T)
Arbovir[usesal human infections (including West Nile
Virus, Eastern Equine Encephalitis, etc,)]
Babesiosis
Botulism (T)
Brucellosis (T)
Campylobacteriosis
Chancroid (S)
Chickenpox (Varicella)
Chlamydia (S)
Cholera (toxigenic Vibrio cholerae 01 or 0139) (T)
Coccidioidomycosis
Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease (T)
Cryptosporidiosis
Cyclosporiasis
Cytomegalovirus [(neonatal only)]
Dengue Fever (T)
Diphtheria (T)
Enterhemorrhagic E.coli including but not limited to E.coli
0157:H7 (T)
Ehrlichiosis
Encephalitis
Enterococcus species, Vancomycin resistant (A)
ESBL resistance (Extended-Spectrum B-lactamases) (A)
Foodborne Disease Outbreak (T)
Giardiasis
Glanders (T)
Gonorrhea (S) 
Granuloma inguinale (S)
Guillain-Barre
Hansen's Disease (Leprosy)
Hantavirus (T)
Haemophilus influenzae, invasive
Hemolytic Uremic Syndrome (T)
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Hepatitis A (T)
Hepatitis B
Hepatitis C
Hepatitis Other
Herpes, congenital (S)
Herpes, genital (S)
Histoplasmosis
HIV (S)
Human Papillomavirus (S)
Influenza
Influenza Associated Infant Mortality (T)
Kawasaki Syndrome
Lead Poisoning
Legionellosis
Leptospirosis
Listeriosis
Lyme Disease
Lymphogranuloma venereum (S)
Malaria 
Measles (T)
Melioidosis
Meningitis
Meningococcal Infections, all types (T)
Monkey Pox (T)
Mumps (T)
Norovirus
Nosocomial [(Healthcare Associated)] Disease Outbreak
(T)
Pelvic Inflammatory Disease (N. gonorrhea, C. trachomatis,
or unspecified) (S)
Pertussis (T)
Plague (T)
Poliomyelitis (T)
Psittacosis
Q Fever
Rabies (man and animal) (T)
Reye Syndrome
Rheumatic Fever
Ricin Toxin (T)
Rickettsial Disease
Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever
Rubella (including congenital which is rapidly reportable)
Salmonellosis
Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS) (T)
Shigatoxin Production
Shigellosis
Silicosis
Smallpox (T)
Staphylococcal Enterotoxin (T)
Staphylococcal aureus, Methicillin Resistant (MRSA) (A)

Staphylococcal aureus, Vancomycin Intermediate or
Resistant (VISA, VRSA) (T) (A)
Streptococcal Disease, invasive group A or B (T)
Streptococcus pneumoniae, invasive (sensitive and resistant)
(A)
Syphilis (S)
Tetanus (T)
Toxic Shock Syndrome (Streptococcal or Staphylococcal)
Toxoplasmosis
Trichinellosis
Tuberculosis (T)
Tularemia (T)
Typhoid Fever (T)
Typhus Fever (endemic flea borne, louse borne, tick borne)
Vaccine Adverse Reaction
Vibrio, non-cholera
Viral Hemorrhagic Fevers (T)
Waterborne Disease Outbreaks (T)
Yellow Fever (T)
Yersiniosis

(T) - report by rapid means (telephone, fax or other
electronic means) 
(S) - sexually transmitted disease, report required within 24
hours
(A) - Drug Resistant Organisms required to be reported
within 48 hours
Others - report required within 48 hours

APPENDIX II
DRUG RESISTANT ORGANISMS REQUIRED TO BE 

REPORTED

Staphylococcus aureus intermediate or resistance  to
Vancomycin (MIC >8ug/ml)

Streptococcus pneumoniae drug-resistant, invasive disease

APPENDIX II
Organisms and Samples to be sent to the Division of 

Public Health Laboratory

1. Clinical or hospital laboratories, or other facilities,
that presumptively identify or are unable to rule out the
following organisms shall send an isolate or specimen to the
Delaware Public Health Laboratory for testing immediately:

Brucella species
Burkholderia mallei
Burkholderia pseudomallei
Clostridium botulinum
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Franciscella tularensis
Yersinia pestis
Bacillus anthracis

2. Any environmental sample deemed as credible
threats for harboring a toxin or a biological agent of
terrorism shall be sent to the Delaware Public Health
Laboratory for testing immediately upon identification:

3. Clinical specimens from patients potentially
exposed to a chemical agent of terrorism shall be sent to the
Public Health Laboratory for testing immediately upon
identification.

4. Clinical specimens from suspect human cases of the
following infections shall be sent to the Delaware Public
Health Laboratory for testing immediately upon
identification

Monkeypox
Variola (Smallpox)
Vaccinia
SARS

5. The following isolates from humans shall be sent to
the Delaware Public Health Laboratory for testing within 24
hours of identification:

Enterohemorrhagic E. coli, including 0157
Haemophilus influenzae, sterile sites
Mycobaterium tuberculosis
Listeria monocytogenes
Neisseria meningitidis, sterile sites
Salmonella species
Shigella species
Streptococcus pneumoniae, sterile sites, Penicillin

resistant
Staphylococcus aureus, sterile sites, Methicillin

resistant
Staphylococcus aureus, Vancomycin intermediate

or resistant (VISA, VRSA)
Vancomycin resistant Enterococci, (VRE) sterile

series
Vibrio cholerae and Non-cholerae

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Statutory Authority:  16 Delaware Code,

Section 7406 (16 Del.C. §7406)
16 DE Admin. Code 4466

ORDER

4466 Radiation Technologists/Technicians (Certification)

Nature of the Proceedings

The Delaware Authority on Radiation Protection (The
Authority) initiated proceedings to adopt Rules and
Regulations Governing the State of Delaware Regulations
Governing Certification of Radiation Technologists/
Technicians. The Authority’s proceedings to adopt
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Chapter 101 and authority as prescribed by 16 Delaware
Code, Chapter 74.

On December 1, 2005, The Authority published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations (Vol. 9, Issue 6) its notice
of proposed regulations, pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10115. It requested that written materials and
suggestions from the public concerning the proposed
regulations be delivered to The Authority by January 6,
2006, or be presented at a public hearing on January 4, 2006,
after which time The Authority would review information,
factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed
regulations.

Findings of Fact

No verbal comments were received during the public
hearing and no written comments were received during the
official public comment period. The public comment period
was open from December 1, 2005 through January 6, 2006.
Verifying documents are attached to the Hearing Officer’s
record. The regulation has been reviewed and approved by
the Delaware Attorney General’s office.

The Authority finds that the proposed regulations, as set
forth in the attached copy should be adopted in the best
interest of the general public of the State of Delaware.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the State of
Delaware Regulations Governing Certification of Radiation
Technologists/Technicians are adopted and shall become
effective February 10, 2006, after publication of the final
regulation in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

William L. Holden, III, Chair, January 13, 2006
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* Please note that no changes were made to the
regulation as originally proposed and published in the
December 2005 issue of the Register at page 902 (9 DE
Reg. 902). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. Please refer to the December 2005 issue of
the Register or contact the Division of Public Health.

A complete set of the rules and regulations for the
Division of Public Health is available at:

http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/index.html

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Delaware Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) State Plan Renewal

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services (DSS) initiated proceedings to
renew Delaware's eligibility status for the Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program provided
for in the enactment of the Personal Responsibility and Work
Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA), (P.L.
104-193). The Department’s proceedings to amend its
regulations were initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code
Section 10114 and its authority as prescribed by 31
Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the December 2005 Delaware Register of
Regulations requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by December 31, 2005 at which time the
Department would receive information, factual evidence and
public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations. Additionally, Delaware’s TANF State Plan can
be viewed on the Department’s website at:
http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/index.html.

Summary of Proposed Changes

Title of Notice
Delaware TANF State Plan for Federal Fiscal Years

2006 – 2008 

Background
The State Plan outlines the provisions under which the

State will administer the TANF program for Federal Fiscal
Years 2006-2008. Under Section 402 of the Personal
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of
1996 (P.L. 104-193), the State is required to submit the
TANF State Plan to the Department of Health and Human
Services (DHHS), Administration for Children and Families
(ACF) biennially in order to receive certification to be
eligible for continued Federal TANF funding. In order to
continue to receive TANF funding, Delaware must file for
renewal with the DHHS by December 31, 2005.

One of the requirements of the grant application is that
the public submit comment on the plan and its design of
services.  All comments received during the comment period
will receive consideration for the development of the TANF
State Plan. 

Summary of Proposed Changes

• Delaware has been operating its TANF program
under Section 1115 waivers from the Social
Security Act, as approved on December 12, 1995,
and amended on September 27, 1996.

• DSS is not making any program “changes” but
added information about the new E&T system and
made minor updates to the language on pages 3, 4,
6, 7, 24, and 32. 

• Please note that DSS has updated Exhibit 1 on page
9 and Exhibit 2 on page 10 to reflect the
implementation of the self-employment standard
deduction. [Bracketed Bold type] indicates the text
added at the time the final order is issued.

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response 

No public comments were received.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the December 2005 Register of Regulations should
be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to renew Delaware's eligibility status for the
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program
is adopted and shall be final effective February 10, 2006.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, January 13, 2006 
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DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #06-03

RENEWAL:

DELAWARE STATE PLAN FOR TANF

This new State Plan is submitted to renew Delaware’s
eligibility status for the Temporary Assistance for Needy
Families (TANF) program provided for in the enactment of
the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity
Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA), (P.L. 104-193).

Delaware has been operating its TANF program under
Section 1115 waivers from the Social Security Act, as
approved on December 12, 1995, and amended on
September 27, 1996. The waiver expired on September 30,
2002.

The current short-term reauthorization of TANF leaves
much unknown about the future of the program, and
Delaware is unwilling to make major changes to our TANF
program without full knowledge of new federal
requirements. Enactment of either the House or Senate
Finance Committee Reauthorization Bill would make many
changes in TANF, but Delaware cannot build such changes
into this Plan without knowing which of the many
conflicting provisions will prevail.

Delaware’s TANF program requires immediate work
from caretakers in time-limited families; those who cannot
secure unsubsidized employment immediately are placed in
a Work for Your Welfare component. 

Since Delaware is unable at this time to plan what
alternative provisions might be required by enactment of
long-term reauthorization legislation, we have opted to
continue operating Delaware’s TANF program as it is
currently designed with minor changes to be in compliance
with certain TANF requirements.

Delaware is closely watching the progress of federal
TANF reauthorization and will submit any needed
Amendments to this State Plan as quickly as possible after
new legislative requirements become known.

GOALS, RESULTS AND PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT

Goals
The goal of Delaware’s TANF Program is to provide a

welfare system based on a philosophy of mutual
responsibility.  In working toward that goal, the State will
strive to place individuals in private or public sector
unsubsidized employment that enables them to enter and
maintain meaningful jobs and interrupts the
intergenerational welfare dependency cycle. To that end,
TANF creates positive incentives for families to become

employed, and expects families to accept responsibility to
become self-supporting. 

 Five key principles form the foundation of TANF:
1. Work should pay more than welfare.
2. Welfare recipients must exercise personal 

responsibility in exchange for benefits.
3. Welfare should be transitional, not a way of 

life.
4. Both parents are responsible for supporting 

their children; and
5. The formation and maintenance of two-parent 

families should be encouraged, and teenage 
pregnancy and unwed motherhood should be 
discouraged.

Involvement of Local Governments, the Public, and
Private Sector Organizations

Welfare Reform in Delaware has a long history of active
involvement and partnership between and among state and
local governments and the private sector. Over a multi-year
period, Delaware has engaged government, the public and
the private sector in dialog about the welfare system and
ways to change it.

Since its introduction in January of 1995, in the form of
a waiver request, all sectors have had the opportunity to
influence Delaware’s welfare reform program in a series of
public meetings and forums.

A collaborative partnership among the Department of
Health and Social Services (DHSS), Department of Labor
(DOL), and the Delaware Economic Development Office
(DEDO) worked to develop Delaware’s original TANF
program; and the Delaware Transit Corporation (DTC) has
joined these components in planning any changes required.

From 1995 to the present, the TANF collaborative team
has involved other stakeholders in a number of ways.
Community partner involvement runs the gambit from
support letters for TANF-related grants, to participating in
the resultant project planning and implementation, to
membership on an initiative's advisory/oversight council.
Partnerships include the City of Wilmington's HOPE VI
subsidized housing project; the Delaware Ecumenical
Council on Children and Families' rural outreach project; the
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation's employment efforts
with people with disabilities; the National Corps/VISTA
welfare-to-work mentoring program; and the Division of
Substance Abuse and Mental Health's Youth Offender Re-
entry initiative. Presentations on TANF are ongoing by
request to the various Section 8 and Public Housing entities;
to non-profits such as the First State Community Action
Agency and the Latin American Community Center; and to
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local churches, healthcare centers, childcare providers,
schools and youth centers (e.g., Boys & Girls Club).

The Social Services Advisory Council, consisting of
educators, health professionals, religious leaders,
representatives of community-based organizations,
advocates, and government leaders, all appointed by the
Governor, continues to provide advice on improving the
delivery of Delaware’s social programs. In addition, the
Division of Social Services has regularly conducted focus
groups with clients in all counties of the States, most
recently in 2000 and 2001. 

The requirement for a 45 day public comment period
was accomplished by making the plan available for public
review and comment through the following means:

• The original State Plan was published in the
Delaware Register on October 1, 2002;

• The State Plan was published on the Delaware web
site at http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dhss.htm on
September 15, 2002; and

• Stakeholder groups as represented by the Social
Services Advisory Council, the TANF Employer
Committee, and TANF program contractors were
provided with individual copies of the Plan.

• This State Plan is being published in the Delaware
Register and on the Delaware web site. 

Delaware is proud to say that the administration
addressed and continues to build on the themes the public
identified not only in TANF but in many other areas of
public policy that support low income families, including the
Administration’s economic development, education, and
family policies. A brief summary of where public policies
intersect with welfare system change include:

• easing transition from welfare to work by:
• passing through to TANF recipients a portion

of the child support collected
• enhancing child support collection strategies

and achieving record child support collections
• changing the way the welfare system budgets

income so that families go off assistance only
after achieving income at 75 percent of the
federal poverty level

• increasing Delaware’s investment in child care
so that there is no subsidized child care waiting
list for eligible working families with income
up to 200% of the federal poverty level

• increasing the income threshold below which
individuals are not required to file personal
income tax returns to $15,449 for married

couples and $9,399 for single individuals;
increasing the personal credit from $100 to
$110; and reducing the tax rate for all
individuals, other than the top tax bracket, by .4
percentage points

• increasing the State minimum wage to $6.15 an
hour as of September, 2000. 

• increasing the earnings potential of TANF
individuals through a State Earned Income Tax
Credit for 2006.

• ensuring access to health care for Delaware families
through:

• providing Medicaid coverage to uninsured
adults as well as all children in families with
income at or below 100 percent of the federal
poverty level

• providing medical coverage for uninsured
children in families with income up to 200% of
the federal poverty level, through the Delaware
Healthy Children Program (DHCP)

• providing transitional Medicaid for two years
for families with children who exit welfare, at
incomes up to 185% of poverty.

 • improving education for children by:
• expanding access to the Early Childhood

Education Program (ECAP)
• providing extra instructional time for low-

achieving students
• operating the Parents as Teachers program

statewide
• operating the Mentoring for Students program

for students who need an adult role model
• implementing a comprehensive program to

ensure safe, disciplined schools
• raising academic standards and graduation

requirements and pushing for school choice
and charter schools

 • recruiting, through the Delaware Economic
Development Office (DEDO), new companies and
maintaining existing employers with good jobs that
provide career opportunities
• strengthening Delaware’s families by:
• helping many thousands of welfare recipients

go to work, and providing continuing supports
to working families

• initiating voluntary paternity establishment
• providing transportation support for job

seekers and new workers 
• establishing more effective welfare to work

programs with a work first approach to
employment and training services, while
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providing opportunities for educational
advancement

• enabling families with both parents to receive
benefits and services

• participating with community-based
organizations and the faith community to
support targeted, fragile populations

• discouraging teen pregnancy through the
Alliance on Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention

• extending home visits to all first time parents
following a child’s birth

• cracking down on domestic violence to protect
vulnerable women and children

• enforcing the Sexual Predator Act to protect
vulnerable youth and prevent teen pregnancy.

Results to be Measured and Methods for Measuring 
Progress

Delaware has committed to evaluate its welfare system.
The State had a multi-year contract with Abt Associates to
evaluate TANF.  We measured:

• the number of individuals working;
• the number of individuals sanctioned;
• the caseload size; and
• the number of months of receipt of TANF.

Recent reports by the evaluator include:

• The ABC Evaluation - A Better Chance for 
Welfare Recipients? What the Public Thinks,
March, 1999;

• The ABC Evaluation - Enrollment of Families
in Delaware’s A Better Chance Program: A
Report on the First Three Years, March, 1999

• The ABC Evaluation - Carrying and Using the
Stick: Financial Sanctions in Delaware’s A
Better Chance Program, May, 1999.

• Will Welfare Reform Influence Marriage and
Fertility? Early Evidence from the ABC
Demonstration, June, 1999.

• The ABC Evaluation - Verifying School
Attendance of Welfare Recipients’ Children,
June 2000

• The ABC Evaluation – Impacts of Welfare
Reform on Child Maltreatment, August 2000

• A report, Turning the Corner -- ABC at 4
Years, November 2000

• The DABC Evaluation How Have They Fared?
Outcomes After Four Years for the Earliest

DABC Clients, August 2001
• The DABC Evaluation Institutional Aspects of

Welfare Reform in Delaware, August 2001

These reports can be located at
http:\\www.abtassoc.com/reports/welfare-download.html.
Note that at one time, Delaware’s TANF program was
known as A Better Chance or ABC.  

Delaware is was also one of four states participating in a
Welfare Reform and Family Formation research project
designed to provide an increased understanding of how
changes in welfare policies have affected childbearing,
marriage, and other family structure factors. Abt Associates
is teaming teamed with a University of California research
team in analyzing random assignment data collected in
Delaware.

Ensuring Accountability
TANF is administered by the Division of Social

Services (DSS), State of Delaware Department of Health and
Social Services. While DHSS is the lead agency, program
administration is accomplished through a partnership of
DSS, Department of Labor (DOL), Delaware Economic
Development Office (DEDO), and the Delaware Transit
Corp (DTC).

Delaware completed a massive automation
enhancement effort, to incorporate new technology in a
complete redesign of DCIS.  DCIS II is a large-scale, client/
server, interactive eligibility determination and benefit
issuance system. DCIS II automates: client registration,
application entry, eligibility determination, benefit
calculation, benefit issuance and work programs for more
than 100 variations of cash, Medicaid, child care and food
stamp programs, administered by the Delaware Division of
Social Services. DCIS II provides automated program
support and supports the information needs at the state and
local office level. DCIS II also incorporates program
changes required by P.L. 104-193.

The most recent enhancements to DCIS II provide for
on-line real-time communications between DSS workers and
Employment Connection contractors. DSS now provides
automated referral of non-exempted individuals to
contractors, contractor staff are now able to send automated
alerts to DSS workers, and contractors and DSS workers are
able to share case notes about participants. In addition,
contractors now directly enter hours of work participation
into the system, facilitating the computation of grants for
Work for Your Welfare participants.

Delaware is participating in the income and eligibility
verification system (IEVS) required by section 1137 of the
Social Security Act.
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In addition, the State operates a fraud control program
and will disqualify individuals found to have committed an
intentional program violation based on findings of
administrative disqualification hearings and findings of
prosecution or court actions. Delaware has adopted the
penalties for intentional program violations used by the Food
Stamp Program; 12 months for the first offense and 24
months for a second instance. An individual committing a
third offense is permanently disqualified. 

NEEDY FAMILIES

Definition of Needy Families
For program purposes, needy families are a child and or

child(ren) and caretaker relatives whose combined income
and  financial resources are not equal to or higher than the
standards established by the State. The following sections
describe these standards and how they are applied to
applicants and recipients.

Income and Resource Rules for Determining Need
For purposes of determining need Delaware will

continue to utilize the already established income and
resource rules of the TANF program. The following specific
features of Delaware’s TANF program shall continue to
apply:

• The equity value of a primary automobile up to
$4,650 is excluded in determining the
household resources.

• The cash value of a life insurance policy will
be excluded.

• In addition to the current resource limit,
families will be allowed to establish special
Education and Business Investment Accounts
(EBIA) of up to $5,000.00, including interest.
• Families will contribute directly to their

EBIAs.
• Funds in such accounts will not be

considered as a resource. Withdrawals
from such accounts must be for approved
purposes, as defined in TANF.  If funds
are withdrawn for non-approved purposes,
the money will be counted as a resource in
the month received. Approved reasons for
withdrawal of funds for self-sufficiency
needs include, but are not limited to:
dependent care expenses, security deposit
for an apartment or house, or vehicle
repair costs. 

• Financial Assistance received from school
grants, scholarships, vocational rehabilitation
payments, JTPA payments, educational loans,
and other loans that are expected to be repaid
will not be counted as income for TANF
program purposes. Also, other financial
assistance received that is intended for books,
tuition, or other self-sufficiency expenses will
be excluded.

• Earnings of dependent children, regardless of
student status, will be disregarded in
determining the family’s eligibility and the
amount of TANF benefits.

• A one-time bonus payment of $50.00 will be
paid from TANF funds to eligible teens who
graduate from high school by age 19. This
bonus, which will be paid directly to the high
school graduate, will be disregarded as income.

Income Tests to Determine Eligibility
There are two income tests to determine financial

eligibility. The first test is a gross income test, and the
second is a net income test.

• Comparing the family’s income to 185% of the
applicable standard of need is the gross income
test.  Both applicants and recipients must pass
this income test. 

• The other income test compares a family’s
income, after applying certain disregards, to the
applicable standard.  This is a net income test.
• For applicants, defined as families who

have not received assistance in at least one
of the four months immediately preceding
the application, the net income is
compared to the payment standard.

• For recipients, defined as families who
have received assistance in at least one of
the four months preceding the application
or are current recipients, the net income is
compared to the standard of need.

• A family’s income must be less than the
gross and net income limits to be
financially eligible for TANF. Once
eligibility is established, the grant amount
is determined.

• Gross income is the total of the earned and
unearned income. 
• Wages and self-employment income

are examples of earned income.  
• Social Security benefits, child
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support, and stepparent income are
examples of unearned income.
Stepparent income will be included if
the child’s natural parent lives in the
home. 

Exhibit 1 contains the calculation steps for TANF 
applicants.

Exhibit 1: Determining Applicant Eligibility for TANF 
Benefits

Step 1) The gross income will be compared to 185% of
the applicable TANF standard of need. [If the case has self-
employment income subtract the self-employment
standard deduction, if applicable, from the gross self-
employment income. Add to that any other earned
income.] Assistance will be denied if the income exceeds
185% of the applicable TANF standard of need.

Step 2) The standard work deduction ($90.00) and
child care expenses will be subtracted from each wage
earner’s earnings. The applicant’s net earned income will be
added to unearned income to determine the net family
income. The net income will be compared to the payment
standard. Assistance will be denied if the income exceeds the
payment standard.  

If the income is less than the payment standard,
Step 3) The standard work deduction ($90.00), child

care, and the $30 plus 1/3 disregard (if applicable) will be
subtracted from each earner’s earned income. This net
earned income will be added to the unearned income to
calculate the family’s net income. The net income will be
subtracted from the applicable standard of need to obtain the
deficit. The deficit will be multiplied by 50%; the number
calculated is the remainder.  The grant is either the
remainder or the payment standard whichever is less.

Exhibit 2 provides the calculations for TANF recipients.

Exhibit 2: Determining Recipient Eligibility for TANF 
Benefits

Step 1) The gross income will be compared to 185% of
the applicable TANF standard of need. [If the case has self-
employment income subtract the self-employment
standard deduction, if applicable, from the gross self-
employment income. Add to that any other earned
income.] Assistance will be denied if the income exceeds
185% of the applicable TANF standard of need.

Step 2) The standard work deduction ($90.00), child
care, and the $30 plus 1/3 disregard (if applicable) will be

subtracted from each earner’s earned income. The net earned
income will be added to unearned income to calculate the
family’s net income. Assistance will be denied if the income
exceeds the standard of need.  

If the income is less than the standard of need,
Step 3) The net income will be subtracted from the

applicable standard of need; the number calculated is the
deficit. The deficit will be multiplied by 50%; the number
calculated is the remainder. The grant is either the remainder
or the payment standard whichever is less.

The TANF standards apply to all benefits and services
provided to needy families except for Emergency
Assistance, discussed on page twelve (12) and Attachment
A; and child care, described on pages three (3), twelve (12),
and twenty-four (24). Delaware has established separate
need standards for these programs.

Fill-the-Gap Budgeting
Fill the Gap budgeting will be used for recipient

families to determine continued eligibility and the amount of
TANF benefits, so that families can retain more of their
income. By having a standard of need which is greater than
the payment standard a “gap” is created. The difference
between the family’s income and the need standard is called
the deficit. The state pays a percentage of the deficit up to a
maximum benefit level or payment standard.

• Three standards will be used in financial
eligibility calculations: 185% of the standard
of need, the need standard and the payment
standard.  185% of the standard of need will be
used in the gross income test.  

• The standard of need used is 75% of the
Federal Poverty level. This includes
allowances for food, clothes, utilities, personal
items, and household supplies.

Diversion Assistance Program
Delaware operates a Diversion Assistance program

intended to help a family through a financial problem which
jeopardizes employment and which, if not solved, could
result in the family needing regular ongoing assistance. The
Diversion Assistance payment will not exceed $1,500 or the
financial need resulting from the crisis, whichever is less.
Diversion Assistance, which is available to both applicant
and recipient families, is not a supplement to regular
assistance but is in place of it.

Eligibility requirements for Diversion Assistance are as
follows:
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• the parent must be living with his/her natural or
adopted children;

• the family has not received a Diversion Assistance
payment in the past 12 months;

• the Diversion Assistance amount will alleviate the
crisis;

 • the parent is currently employed but having a
problem which jeopardizes the employment or has
been promised a job but needs help in order to
accept the job;

 • the family’s income would qualify the family
for TANF as a recipient household. (When
calculating eligibility for Diversion Assistance the
family is given the $30 plus 1/3 disregard, if
applicable, and the family’s net income is compared
to the Standard of Need.);

 • the family’s resources would qualify for
TANF.

The Diversion Assistance payment may be used for
items and/or services such as but not limited to:

• transportation (such as vehicle repairs, tires,
insurance, driver’s license fee, gas);

• clothing such as uniforms or other specialized
clothing and footwear or other employment-
related apparel;

• tools and equipment;
• medical expenses not covered by Medicaid

(e.g., eye glasses);
• union dues, special fees, licenses or

certificates;
• up-front costs of employment such as agency

fees and testing fees;
• unpaid child care expenses which, if they

remain unpaid, preclude the provision of future
child care;

• relocation expenses for verified employment in
another county or state.  These expenses may
include moving equipment rental, gas, and
lodging for the days of the move and the first
month’s rent, rental and utility deposit.

Diversion Assistance payments will be made to a third
party vendor, not the parent. When the parent receives
Diversion assistance (s)he agrees to forego TANF cash
assistance as follows:

• $0 through $500.99 for 1 month;
• $501 through $1,000.99 for 2 months;
• $1,001 through $1,500 for 3 months.

The once a year limitation on Diversion Assistance and
the period of ineligibility can be eliminated when good cause
exists. Good cause exists when circumstances beyond the
client’s control make re-application for Diversion Assistance
for TANF necessary. Examples of good cause are the
employer lays off the parent or a serious illness forces the
parent to stop working.

The family is eligible for TANF related Medicaid in the
month in which the diversion Assistance payment is made.
The family would remain eligible for Section 1931 Medicaid
(TANF related Medicaid) until the family’s income exceeds
the Standard of Need. If the family’s income exceeds the
standard of need because of increased earnings or loss of the
$30 plus 1/3 disregard and the parent is working, the family
may be eligible for Transitional Medicaid.

Diversion Assistance does not count as income in the
child care programs, and families receiving Diversion
Assistance may also be eligible to receive child care under
Delaware’s working poor child care program if their income
does not exceed 200 percent of the federal poverty level.
Receipt of Diversion Assistance would not bar receipt of
Food Stamp benefits, and Food Stamp applications will be
actively solicited from individuals requesting diversion
assistance.

Diversion Assistance does not count against the time
limit on receipt of assistance.

The family will not have to assign child support to the
state. Child support received by the parent or the Division of
Child Support Enforcement (DCSE) will belong to the
family. DCSE will not use child support to offset or
reimburse the Diversion Assistance.

Diversion Assistance is not intended to replace TANF’s
Emergency Assistance Program or Supportive Services
payments, which will continue. The TANF Emergency
Assistance Program provides identical benefits that were
provided under Delaware’s State Plan in effect on August
21, 1996. (See Attachment A) Rather, Diversion Assistance
expands the opportunities to access as well as the value of
services to support employment.

ELIGIBILITY FOR ASSISTANCE UNDER THE TANF 
PROGRAM

Conditions of Eligibility
If the income tests described above are met, a family

will be eligible to receive TANF assistance subject to the
following conditions.

Relationship/Living Arrangements
A child must be living in the home of any relative by

blood, marriage, or adoption who is within the fifth degree of
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kinship to the dependent child or of the spouse of any person
named in the above group even though the marriage is
terminated by death or divorce.

The caretaker of a teen parent who is not a parent must
demonstrate valid circumstances why the teen is not living
with a parent and must agree to be a party to the Contract of
Mutual Responsibility and fulfill the same responsibilities
thereunder as a parent.

Fugitive Felons; Individuals Convicted of Drug Related
Felonies

Fugitive felons and parole violators are ineligible for
TANF assistance. In addition, as of August 22, 1996,
individuals convicted of drug related felonies are
permanently barred from the date of conviction.

Family Cap Provision
No additional cash benefits will be issued due to the

birth of a child, if the birth occurs more than ten (10)
calendar months after the date of application for benefits
under TANF. 

The family cap will not apply: 

• when the additional child was conceived as a
result of incest or sexual assault,

• to children who do not reside with their parents
• to children born prior to the period identified

above who return or enter the household
• to a child that was conceived in a month the

assistance unit (i.e., the entire family) was not
receiving TANF, but this does not apply in
cases that close due to being sanctioned.

The family cap will apply to children who are the
firstborn of minors included in a TANF grant, except that the
family cap does not apply to firstborn children of minors
where the child was born prior to March 1997, the date that
Delaware began its TANF program.

The additional child(ren) is included in the standard of
need for purposes of determining eligibility; and the income
and resources of the child, including child support, is
included in determining the family’s income and resources.
However, the child(ren) is not included in determining the
payment standard for the family.

• The additional child(ren) is considered a
recipient for all other purposes, including
categorical Medicaid coverage, TANF child
care, and Food Stamp benefits.

• Child support received for capped children is
passed directly through to the family. 

Denial of Benefits to Babies Born and Residing with
Unmarried Teen Parents.

Cash assistance is not provided to babies born on and
after January 1, 1999 to unmarried minor teen parents. This
applies to both applicants and recipients. For all other
purposes, these babies will be considered TANF recipients.
They may also be eligible to receive Food Stamps, Medicaid
and child care as well as vouchers for the baby’s needs.  This
provision applies as long as the teen parent resides in the
home with the baby, is unmarried or less than eighteen (18)
years of age.

Denial of Benefits for Fraudulent Misrepresentation to
Obtain Assistance in Two States

Any individual who misrepresents residence to receive
TANF, Medicaid, or Food Stamp benefits in two states shall
be subject to a ten-year bar if convicted in a state or federal
court.

Treatment of Eligible Non-Citizens
Qualified non-citizens who enter the United States

before August 22, 1996 shall be eligible to receive the same
benefits and services and shall be subject to the same
conditions and requirements as all other applicants and
recipients.

Qualified aliens entering the United States on or after
August 22, 1996, who are exempt from benefit restrictions as
specified in Federal law, are eligible to receive the same
benefits and services and shall be subject to the same
conditions and requirements as all other applicants and
recipients.

Qualified non-citizens who enter the United States on or
after August 22, 1996 are, after five years, eligible to receive
the same benefits and services and shall be subject to the
same conditions and requirements as all other applicants and
recipients. 

Program Type
Depending on circumstances, families are placed in

either the Time-Limited TANF program or the Non Time-
limited TANF program. 

Delaware’s Time-Limited TANF Program has a work
first approach. Participants are expected to meet immediate
work requirements in order to receive benefits. 

Effective October 1, 1998, Delaware began funding its
two parent program with state only funds. The eligibility
requirements, services and benefits for this state funded two-
parent program are the same as the single parent Time-
Limited program

Time-limits for Delaware’s Time-Limited TANF
Program and the interactions between time-limits and work
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requirements are described in the sections entitled, Work:
Time Limits and Work, and TANF Benefits to Needy
Families: Time Limits.  

Families with the following status will receive benefits
in the Non Time-limited program:

• Families that the agency has determined are
unemployable, either because a parent is too
physically or mentally disabled to work in an
unsubsidized work setting or because the
parent is needed in the home to care for a child
or another adult disabled to that extent; 

• Families headed by a non-needy, non-parent
caretaker;

• Families headed by a non-eligible non-citizen
parent who is not eligible to receive TANF
benefits; 

• Families where the agency has determined that
the adult caretaker is temporarily
unemployable; and 

• Families in which the adult files a claim or has
a claim being adjudicated for SSI or disability
insurance under OASDI. In this case, the
family must sign an agreement to repay cash
benefits received under the Non Time-limited
TANF program from the proceeds of the first
SSI/DI check received. The amount repaid will
not exceed the amount of the retroactive SSI/
DI benefit.

Contract of Mutual Responsibility requirements and
sanctions for noncompliance apply to families in the Non
Time-limited TANF program. Recognizing that Delaware’s
exemptions from time-limits are broader than those
prescribed by the current TANF legislation, we are prepared
to provide some benefits utilizing state MOE funding if this
later becomes necessary in order to remain within TANF’s
time limit requirements.

Contract of Mutual Responsibility
The caretaker of children in the TANF program enters

into a Contract of Mutual Responsibility with the Division of
Social Services (DSS) of the Department of Health and
Social Services (DHSS). Applicants and recipients have a
face-to-face interview. During this interview, the DSS
worker explains to the recipient the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility (CMR) and those elements specific to the
client.

The Contract lists the responsibilities of the family and
the supports the State will provide. The family’s
responsibilities include, but are not limited to: employment-

related activities, school attendance and immunization
requirements for children, family planning, parenting
education classes, and substance abuse treatment
requirements. The State provides supports to families
including but not limited to: employment-related activities,
training activities, child care, Medicaid, and other services
identified during the development of the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility.

The Contract is designed to be individualized to the
specific needs and situation of each family. Therefore, the
exact requirements within the Contract may vary from
family to family. This document can be revised as the needs
and the situation of the family evolve.

Services related to these CMR requirements will be
available to the participant. If the services specified in the
CMR are not reasonably available to the individual, the
participant will not be sanctioned for failure to comply and
the Contract will be modified to reflect that the service is
currently unavailable.

It is mandatory that all caretakers enter into a Contract
of Mutual Responsibility. Contracts are completed for
families in the Time Limited TANF Program and the Non
Time-limited TANF program as well as for teen parents.
Both caretakers in an assistance unit and non-needy
caretaker payees are required to develop and comply with
CMRs. Other family members within the assistance unit may
be required to comply with provisions of the Contract, and
are subject to sanction for non-compliance. 

If the caretaker is a non-needy caretaker relative, the
individual would not be required to participate in
employment-related activities but will be required to
participate in other Contract activities.

If a caretaker objects to certain aspects of the Contract,
the caretaker needs to present these objections up front, at
the time of the initial Contract. If good cause can be
demonstrated,  the Contract can be amended to rectify the
objections.

When staff has reason to believe that the family needs
other services to become employed or to increase work hours
and wages, these services will be identified and specified in
the Contract of Mutual responsibility. 

The fiscal sanction for not cooperating, without good
cause, in development of the Contract will be an initial
$50.00 reduction in benefits. This reduction will increase
each month by $50.00, either until there is compliance or the
case is closed. The sanction will end with demonstrated
compliance. 

Individuals from Another State
All families meeting the status eligibility requirements

set forth above shall be eligible for TANF benefits using
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Delaware rules, regardless of how long they have been
residents of the State.

Statewideness
All definitions and determinations of need shall be

applied on a statewide basis.

Protection of Privacy of Assisted Families
31 Delaware Code, Chapter 11, Section 1101 provides

that public assistance information and records may be used
only for purposes directly connected with the administration
of public assistance programs. Thus, all information
gathered regarding individuals for public assistance purposes
is considered confidential and will be safeguarded by DSS.
By safeguarding public assistance information, DSS protects
its clients from being identified as a special group based on
financial needs and protects their right to privacy.

General information regarding expenditures, numbers of
clients served, and other statistical information is a matter of
public record and may be made available to any interested
party.  Other than the exceptions noted below, DSS will not
release any information regarding a particular individual
without the individual’s written consent.

• DSS Regional Operations Managers have the
authority to disclose the address of a recipient
to a Federal, State or local law enforcement
officer at the officer’s request if the officer
furnishes the agency with the name of the
recipient and notifies the agency that the
recipient:
• is fleeing to avoid prosecution; or 
• is a fleeing felon (or in the case of New

Jersey is fleeing from conviction of a high
misdemeanor); or 

• is violating a condition of probation or
parole; or

• has information that is necessary for the
officer to conduct his or her official duties;
and

• the location or apprehension of the
recipient is within such official duties.

• If a law enforcement officer requests
information that does not meet the guidelines
indicated above, a subpoena from a court of
law is required before the information can be
released.

• DSS is required to report to the Division of
Family Services in situations where it believes
a home is unsuitable because of neglect, abuse
or exploitation of a child.

• A Court Appointed Special Advocate
(CASA) is given permission to inspect
and/or copy any records relating to the
child and his or her family guardian
without their consent. The CASA has the
authority to interview all parties having
significant information relating to the
child. The CASA must also be notified of
any staffing, investigations or proceedings
regarding the child, so that (s)he may
participate and represent the child.
• If information is released under the

procedures applying to CASA,
pertinent details of the reasons for the
release shall be documented and
written notification of this release
shall be sent to the last known address
of the individual to whom the record
refers.

• DSS has the authority to disclose information
concerning applicants and recipients provided
it pertains to:
1) an investigation, prosecution, or criminal

or civil proceeding conducted in
connection with public assistance
programs.

2) the administration of any other Federal or
federally assisted program which provides
assistance, in cash or in kind, or services,
directly to individuals on the basis of
need. The agency must assure DSS that
such information will remain confidential
and will be used only to pursue services
for the individual. Other means tested
programs include the Supplemental
Security Income Program, School Lunch
and Breakfast Program, the Energy
Assistance Program, and the Low Income
Housing Program.

• Other agencies (such as Family and Children
Services of Delaware, Inc., Catholic Social
Services, Legal Aid, etc.) must provide written
permission from the recipient before public
assistance information may be released.

• Other governmental agencies may obtain lists
of recipients from DSS if the information will
be used to perform services for DSS, and the
agency can assure DSS that the lists will remain
confidential.
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APPEALS PROCESS

DSS will provide timely and adequate notice for actions
taken which affect eligibility or benefit level. Adequate
notice means a written notice that includes a statement of
what action the agency intends to take, the reasons for the
intended agency action, the specific regulations supporting
such action, explanation of the individual’s right to request a
fair hearing, and the circumstances under which assistance
may be continued if a hearing is requested.

Timely notice means a notice which is mailed no later
than 10 days before the date of action (i.e., 10 days before
the intended change would be effective). When DSS learns
of facts indicating that assistance should be discontinued,
suspended, terminated, or reduced because of the probable
fraud of the recipient, and, where possible, such facts have
been verified through secondary sources, notice of a grant
adjustment is timely if mailed at least five days before the
action would become effective.

An opportunity for a hearing will be granted to any
applicant who requests a hearing because his/her claim for
assistance is denied or is not acted upon with reasonable
promptness and to any applicant or recipient who is
aggrieved by any Agency action.

To be considered by the Agency, a request for a hearing
must be a clear expression in writing by the appellant or his/
her representative to the effect that (s)he wants the
opportunity to present his/her case to higher authority. The
freedom to make such a request will not be limited or
interfered with in any way and the Division will assist the
appellant in submitting and processing his/her request. A
hearing need not be granted when either State or Federal law
requires automatic grant adjustments for classes of
recipients, unless the reason for an individual appeal is
incorrect grant computation.

WORK

Goals for Work
Delaware’s TANF program is based on the belief that

assistance provided is transitional and should not become a
way of life. The State maintains that the way for persons to
avoid dependency on welfare is for them to find and
maintain employment. Thus the primary goal of TANF is to
help recipients find private sector work and to help them
keep such work by providing them with necessary supports.

To assist families in obtaining and maintaining
employment, the State will engage the efforts of the
Departments of Health and Social Services, Labor and
Economic Development and Delaware’s private sector to
provide job readiness and placement opportunities, health

and child care, the EITC, and family services.  In turn,
TANF recipients who have the capacity to work will be
required to accept work, to keep their children in school, to
cooperate with child support, to bear the costs of additional
children they conceive while on welfare, and to leave the
welfare rolls after a defined time period.

State Agencies Involved
Delaware Health and Social Services, Labor, and

Economic Development have a unique partnership. All three
agencies are responsible for moving welfare clients to work.
These three agencies have collaborated in developing
Delaware’s TANF program, in public information, in
implementation, and continue to collaborate in managing the
initiative.

The Delaware Transit Corporation (DTC) in the
Department of Transportation has joined the TANF
collaborative team, and has assisted to develop a statewide
transportation system plan for TANF, using vans and other
vehicle sources. 

Minutes for the TANF collaboration team for the
previous six months are included as Attachment B. 

In May 2001, the Business Planning Committee, a
subcommittee of the TANF collaborative team that deals
with transportation initiatives, sponsored a transportation
forum in each of the three counties. The purpose of the
forums was to bring together businessmen, community
leaders and other stake holders to develop and advance
innovative, non-traditional solutions to varying
transportation problems faced by each county. 

Transportation forum highlights were a panel discussion
by the lead agencies that shared some "points of pride" in the
program and gaps and needs in transportation, Best Practices
Ideas and Transportation Information, Employer
Recognition of Innovative Success Solutions and brain-
storming sessions to identify transportation issues and to
gather ideas for further development. Each forum was
designed to highlight transportation problems that were
county specific. Sussex County Government, represented by
the Sussex County Administrator, was particularly effective
in explaining the population growth, the economic growth
and the problems created by their largely rural area. 

As a result of the forums, the Business Planning
Committee has been able to identify some cross-cutting
themes statewide as well as county specific. They have also
been able to identify ideas that need further development and
which will be used as the Committee continues to find
innovative solutions to transportation problems. One over-
riding theme from the forums was the lack of knowledge of
the current transportation options available. This has led to
the production of a transportation video which highlights all
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the options available to assist individuals as they move from
dependency to self-sufficiency.

Another special partnership is that between the Division
of Social Services and the Division of Child Support
Enforcement.  Both agencies are part of Delaware Health
and Social Services. This close linkage has enabled them to
partner throughout TANF development and implementation.

Involvement of Community, Education, Business, 
Religious, Local Government and Non-Profit 

Organizations to Provide Work

As noted in the discussion on page 2, every sector has
been actively involved in the development of Delaware’s
TANF program and continues to be involved.

A TANF Employer Committee, consisting of
representatives of both the public and private sector, assists
in placing welfare recipients in unsubsidized jobs and
provides advice on direction, policy, and implementation of
welfare-to-work efforts. This committee was established
through HB 251.  A major accomplishment of the Employer
Committee in conjunction with DEDO and the Department
of Education was the development of a program, Career Soft
Skills Essentials for employers, which is now posted on the
internet at www.delawareworkforce.com. The committee
regularly advises the collaborative team about TANF
employment issues. Minutes of committee meetings for the
prior year are included as Attachment C. 

To further promote employer interest in hiring TANF
recipients, the Departments of Labor and Economic
Development meet with members of the business
community at regularly scheduled events like monthly
Chamber of Commerce meetings as well as at special events.
For example, to roll out Career Soft Skills Essentials, DEDO
hosted two conferences to link employers with trainers.

The Social Services Advisory Council is established by
executive order. The Governor appoints council members to
advise the directors of both the Division of Social Services
and the Division of Child Support Enforcement on matters
related to public assistance and child support services.
Council members represent the community, advocates, non-
profit providers, educators, and interested citizens. 

DSS and DCSE management regularly meet with the
Social Services Advisory Council to discuss TANF and
other Social Services and Child Support programs. Minutes
of Social Services Advisory Council meetings in 2005, along
with information on current Council members, are attached.
(Attachment D)

Client specific focus groups were also conducted by the
Director of DSS in 2000 and 2001. The 2000 focus groups,
held in different locations throughout the state from May

through November, asked recipients a series of questions
about the TANF program, to ascertain their knowledge of
various program requirements, and their experiences
obtaining assistance from DSS workers and contractors. The
2001 client focus groups were held from June through
October. They asked a series of questions about client work
and sanction experiences, and ascertained information about
specific services that had been of assistance and obstacles
that clients had to overcome to obtain and retain
employment. (Attachment E)

Based on these focus groups, there seemed to be a solid
majority opinion that people understood the rules, that
sanctions are appropriate, and that some people do need a
push to get motivated to get back into the job market.
However, clients did wish for more flexibility for individual
circumstances, and requested more assistance with
transportation and in juggling schedules so that program
requirements could be met.

Special interest groups such as One Church, One Family
and New Pathways have chosen to focus their resources on
welfare families and provided mentoring support to welfare
families.

Role of Public and Private Contractors in Delivery of 
Services

Delaware has contracted with private for-profit and non-
profit providers and the local community college network to
provide job readiness, job placement and retention services
to welfare clients since 1986. These contractual
arrangements continue under TANF. Contractors include
community and faith-based social services agencies and
organizations offering specialized services.

A number of community providers across the state
provide academic remediation to TANF recipients.

Who Must Participate
All adult caretakers and other adults in the time-limited

assistance unit who are not exempt must participate in TANF
employment and training related activities. The two
exemptions are: 1) a parent caring for a child under 13 weeks
of age; and 2) an individual determined unemployable by a
health care professional.

Teen parents are required to attend elementary,
secondary, post-secondary, vocational, or training school,
participate in a GED program or work. Delaware will use
state MOE funds for benefits we provide to unmarried non-
graduate teen parents who are working, rather than in an
educational or training activity.
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Services to Move Families to Work
Delaware's goal is to place the adult recipient in

unsubsidized employment as quickly as possible. To
accomplish this goal, the current menu of services includes:

• Work readiness/Life skills 
• Job search/Job placement
• Job retention
• Work Experience/OJT
• Education, including vocational education, as

described in SB 101, effective July 2, 1999
• Provide financial management training.
• Work-related activities that assist in obtaining

or maintaining employment or improve work
performance.
Non-exempt TANF participants will
participate in the job search program,
consisting of job readiness classes and
supervised job search activity. Unsuccessful
job search participants can be placed in another
job search sequence or another work-related
activity such as an alternative work experience,
OJT, remediation or a skills training program.

Clients must keep appointments with Employment and
Training staff, cooperate in the development of the
employment activities included in their Contract of Mutual
Responsibility, and participate in employment and training
activities. The penalty for non-compliance with any of the
above client responsibilities will be subject to sanctions as
described in “Sanctions: Failure to Comply with the Contract
and Imposition of Sanctions” on page 29.

The State implemented a new Employment and
Training Management  Information System (ETMIS) July
2005 that was incorporated into the existing Delaware Client
Information System (DCIS). This new ETMIS can track
referrals, hours of participation, and sanctions. The ETMIS
provides greater accountability and tracking of participants
to ensure the highest possible work participation rates. While
an excellent management evaluation tool, it will also provide
Delaware with the ability to determine where changes need
to be made to ensure the success of the individuals in
meeting program goals.

Work
Until January 1, 2000, one-parent families in the Time-

Limited Temporary Program were required to immediately
engage in meaningful job search and comply with conditions
set forth in their Contract of Mutual Responsibility including
work, education, and training activities. Failure to comply
with the work requirements resulted in the imposition of an

employment and training sanction. Recipients who were
unable to locate private sector jobs despite good faith efforts
to do so, were eligible to receive Work For Your Welfare
payments, for participating in a workfare job, for a
maximum of two more years.

Effective January 1, 2000, families initially applying for
or reapplying for benefits can only receive benefits if they
are employed or immediately participate in a Work For Your
Welfare position. Failure to comply with the work
requirements contained in their Contract of Mutual
Responsibility results in the imposition of an employment
and training sanction.

Single parent households are required to participate in
Work for Your Welfare up to 30 hours per week, determined
by dividing TANF and Food Stamp benefits by the minimum
wage. If the hours determined by dividing the grants by the
minimum wage exceed 30 hours per week, participants are
to complete no more than 30 hours maximum participation
hours. In addition to participating in Work For Your
Welfare, individuals must participate in 10 hours of job
search, education or a vocational activity per week. 

Participants who fail to complete the hours required by
dividing their grant by the minimum wage will have their
grant adjusted.  For each hour not worked, participants will
have the grant adjusted downward by the amount of the
minimum hourly wage. Participants who fail to complete the
10 hours of job search, education or a vocational activity per
week are subject to employment and training sanctions.

In two parent households, one parent must participate in
Work For Your Welfare and the second parent must
participate in a work-related activity, including child care.
The requirements for parents in two-parent households are
unchanged.

The January 1, 2000 change in the work requirements
for one-parent families means that, to receive Time-Limited
TANF benefits in Delaware, both one-parent and two-parent
families must either be employed or participate in a Work
For Your Welfare position with supplementary activities as
required. Delaware’s requirement for immediate work
activities exceeds the federal TANF mandate.

An individual enrolled in the TANF Time-Limited
Program who, in accordance with the requirements in their
Contract of Mutual Responsibility, participates in
unsubsidized employment of at least twenty- five hours per
week is not required to participate in Work for Your
Welfare. Individuals participating in a combination of such
employment and education of at least twenty (20) hours per
week are also not required to participate in Work For Your
Welfare. TANF Contracts of Mutual Responsibility are
designed to fit individual circumstances. It is possible for an
individual enrolled in the TANF Time-Limited Program who
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is engaged in at least twenty (20) hours of combined work
and allowable education activities to meet work
requirements, if their Contract of Mutual Responsibility
contains such an activity agreement.

Recognizing that Delaware’s hourly requirements for
participation in work and work-related activities are broader
than those prescribed by the current TANF legislation, we
are prepared to provide some benefits utilizing state MOE
funding if this later becomes necessary in order to continue
to meet TANF work participation requirements.   

Time limits for Delaware’s Time-Limited TANF
Program are described in the section entitled, TANF
Benefits to Needy Families: Time Limits.

Protecting Current Workers from Displacement
Regarding the Work for Your Welfare program, DSS

conforms to Section (a)(5) of the Federal Unemployment
Tax Act which requires that a job offered cannot be available
as a result of a strike or labor dispute, that the job cannot
require the employee to join or prohibit the employee from
joining a labor organization, and that program participants
are not used to displace regular workers.

In addition DSS ensures that no participants, including
but not limited to those placed in either a Work For Your
Welfare placement or a community work experience
program, displace regular paid employees of any of the
organizations providing either the placement or the
community work experience. Such assurance complies with
State law contained in 31 Delaware Code, Chapter 9,
Section 905(b). This assurance also complies with Section
407(f) of TANF, which requires that DSS will not use
federal funds under TANF to place individuals in a work
activity when:

• any individual is on a layoff from the same or a
substantially equivalent job;

• the employer has terminated any regular
employee or otherwise caused an involuntary
reduction of its workforce in order to fill the
vacancy created with an adult receiving TANF
benefits.

In addition, DSS has established a grievance procedure,
in conformance with Section 407(f)(3) of TANF, for
resolving complaints for any alleged violation of
nondisplacement requirements. Employees or their
representatives who believe that their jobs are being
displaced or infringed upon shall present their complaint to
the employment contractor with authority over the
placement.  If the contractor is unable to resolve the problem
within 15 days, the employee or representative may file a

formal grievance in writing to the DSS Director’s Office,
who will hear a formal grievance. The employee will have
an opportunity to: present his/her grievance on the record;
present evidence; bring witnesses and cross examine
witnesses; be represented by counsel; and receive a written
decision.

Grievance hearings will be scheduled within 30
calendar days of receipt of the formal grievance, and a
written decision will be issued within 30 days of the hearing.
If either party is dissatisfied with the State’s written
decision, they may appeal the decision to the U.S.
Department of Labor within 20 days of receipt of the written
decision. The procedures for appeal, which must be sent to
the Office of Administrative Law Judges, in the U.S.
Department of Labor, will be provided in writing with the
decision.

Supportive Services
Delaware recognizes the importance of available child

care in helping recipients participate in work-related
activities, and securing and retaining unsubsidized
employment. To that end, the financial resources provided
for child care have been significantly increased from the
FY95 child care funding level to the current request for
funding.

Supportive Services, such as child care, and TANF
provided assistance with other work-related expenses, such
as eye examinations and corrective lenses, dental, and
physicals not covered by Medicaid, transportation, fees,
training, and work-related equipment, uniforms, shoes, and
supplies will be available where possible. Services are
provided by voucher or directly. In addition, TANF will, on
a case by case basis, pay fees to purchase certificates,
licenses, or testing needed to obtain employment. Medical
services are not part of these supportive services. DSS will
determine when such services are necessary for a TANF
recipient to participate.  The services shall include:

• Support provided by contractors to retain
employment for one (1) year

• Health care for Delaware citizens through:
• providing Medicaid coverage to uninsured

adults with income at or below 100 percent of
the federal poverty level 

• providing medical coverage for uninsured
children in families with income up to 200% of
the federal poverty level, through the Delaware
Healthy Children program

• providing transitional Medicaid via 1931d
program effective October 1, 2002, for two
years for families with children who exit
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welfare, at incomes up to 185% of poverty.

Subsidized child care for families who leave TANF to
go to work for a period of two years, as long as family
income remains below 200 percent of the federal poverty
level. In addition, to help individuals retain unsubsidized
employment beyond two (2) years, Delaware also provides
subsidized child-care to other low income working families
until the family’s income exceeds 200 percent of the federal
poverty level.

• Job search programs and other assistance from the
Department of Labor to find a job; and

• ongoing job retention assistance.

Additional Targeted Support

Family Development Profile
The Family Development Profile is used by Delaware to

identify possible social, familial, and emotional barriers to
self-sufficiency, insofar as they impact an individual’s
ability to obtain and retain employment. Participants who
complete the Profile answer questions about their self-
esteem and health, and relationships with family members
and other individuals. The Profile includes the capacity to
identify mental health problems.

DSS workers report that the Profile frequently surfaces
major domestic issues which participants need to resolve.
By utilizing the Profile, workers are able to refer participants
for assistance in resolving domestic violence and other abuse
situations. Further efforts to assist individuals to resolve
domestic violence and other abuse situations are described in
a later section: Parental Responsibility: Addressing
Problems of Statutory Rape and Domestic Violence.

Substance Abuse
As part of the application and redetermination

processes, workers ask clients a series of questions, called
the CAGE questions, to identify substance abusers for
referral to appropriate services. Through the Bridge Program
and referrals to the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental
Health (DSAMH), Delaware’s TANF program offers
assessment and non-medical treatment services for all
substance abusers identified through this and other methods.
DSAMH and the Division of Medicaid and Medical
Assistance (DMMA) will ensure that if medical treatment
services are needed they are paid from other than TANF
funds.

Supporting Teens
Delaware is targeting youth by providing special

services. Through the Department of Education, Delaware
provides a family literacy program which includes parenting
skills training and other services to teen parents and their
children to prevent repeat pregnancies.

Beginning with FY 1999 funds were allocated for
Delaware’s Teen Pregnancy Prevention Initiative, Teen
Hope, to support activities for at-risk teens in six School
Based Health Centers (SBHCs) and one community site.
The program, utilizing the Transtheoretical Behavior
Change Model, helps youth develop skills to make better
sexual and health related decisions. Initial programs have
been very successful. In addition, wellness centers located in
27 high schools provide medical, health and counseling
services to high school students.

Several other initiatives are being operated. The
AmeriCorp Grant partnership grant with DHSS as lead was
awarded in 1999. Under this grant, Planned Parenthood is
managing an effort to have AmeriCorp members provide a
responsible adult presence and a structured environment for
youth to learn, as a strategy to prevent teen pregnancy, in the
lives of at-risk teens in selected target areas.  The Abstinence
Education Grant currently provides mini-grants to agencies
providing skills building community programs for teens.

Delaware has undertaken, through an Alliance on
Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention (AAPP), a grassroots
community and media outreach campaign to convince
teenagers to postpone sexual activity and to avoid becoming
or making someone else pregnant. AAPP works directly
with parents in this initiative to improve communication
between parents and children around sexuality and
pregnancy prevention. In addition, AAPP provides
preventive education and distributes information on
preventing teen pregnancy, utilizing a number of kinds of
interventions. For example, two full-time community
educators visit schools, community centers, churches, and
camps; and provide workshops/training to parents and
children around sexuality and teen pregnancy prevention.
AAPP also maintains a resource center for the community
and lends or gives away brochures, videos, curriculum,
posters, books, and other communications about teen
pregnancy prevention and sexuality. 

The Wise Guys initiative is an adolescent male
responsibility program that uses an established Wise Guys
curriculum over a ten-week period. The program, operating
in six high school based health centers, promotes character
development and prevention of adolescent pregnancy by
teaching young males self-responsibility in several areas. 

Delaware’s teen pregnancy prevention campaign also
uses billboards to convey the message, and statewide
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conferences to provide assistance implementing prevention
activities.

Delaware’s TANF program provides a positive
incentive to teenagers to graduate high school by age 19 by
awarding a one-time $50 bonus. Additionally, TANF
requires teenage mothers currently on welfare to live with
their parent(s) or a responsible adult, stay in school,
immunize their children and participate in parenting
education.

Services to teens are also discussed in the Section
entitled Parental Responsibility: Efforts to Reduce Out-Of-
Wedlock Births.

Delivery of Services Across State
Delivery of services will be consistent across the State

TANF BENEFITS TO NEEDY FAMILIES

Computing the Benefit
Eligibility will be determined prospectively. After

establishing eligibility, benefits will be computed
prospectively.  Income per time period will be converted to a
monthly income figure by utilizing the following conversion
factors:

Weekly 4.33
Bi-weekly 2.16
Semi-monthly 2.00

EXAMPLE:  Given a weekly income of $85, multiply by
4.33 to arrive at a monthly income of $368.05.

The benefit amount will be determined by using
prospective budgeting and the best estimate of earned and
unearned income for the assistance unit.  The payment will
not be changed until the next eligibility determination,
unless the recipient reports a change that would result in an
increase in the benefit or there is a significant change in
circumstances as defined below.

• A significant change is defined as any of the
following:

• change in household size; 
• new source of employment;
• loss of unsubsidized employment or a change

in employment status from full time to part
time which was beyond the recipient’s control; 

• an increase of forty (40) hours or more in
unsubsidized employment per month; 

• receipt of a new source of unearned income; or
• increases or decreases in existing sources of

unearned income totaling $50.00 or more per

month.

The recipient needs to verify all changes in
circumstances.

EXAMPLE: An applicant applies in May. The applicant is
employed. The applicant is working 20 hours per week and
earns $5.65 per hour. The best estimate of wages is
calculated by multiplying 20 hours times $5.65 ($113.00 per
week), then multiplying the weekly figure by 4.33 to
determine the monthly income of $485.90.

Redeterminations
At least one redetermination is required every six (6)

months.  TANF emphasizes work and work related activity.
Mandating face-to-face redeterminations might undermine
that goal. Therefore, mail-in redeterminations, with a
telephone interview are used as an option to encourage
recipients to continue participating in employment and
training activities or to keep working.

When a redetermination is due, the recipient must
complete a new DSS application form or a DSS renewal
form. The redetermination could be completing a paper form
or participating in an automated interactive interview. A
redetermination is complete when all eligibility factors are
examined and a decision regarding continuing eligibility is
reached.

The assistance case will be closed if a recipient fails,
without good cause, to complete the redetermination review.
Likewise, the assistance case of a recipient who fails,
without good cause, to provide requested information
necessary to establish continued eligibility will be closed.

As part of the verification process for continuing
eligibility, the person will provide verification that (s)he has
carried out the elements of the individual Contract of Mutual
Responsibility.  

Time Limits
Under TANF, cash benefits are time-limited for

households headed by employable adults age 18 or older
who are included in the grant. Prior to January 1, 2000,
Delaware limited receipt of TANF, for families in the Time-
Limited Program, to twenty-four (24) cumulative months.
During the time-limited period, employable adults received
full benefits if they met the requirements of their Contract of
Mutual Responsibility, including employment-related
activities.

After the first 24 month cumulative period ended,
families headed by employable adults could continue to
receive cash benefits for an additional 24 cumulative months
only as long as the adults participated in a Work For Your
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Welfare work experience program or they were working and
family income was below the need standard of 75 percent of
the Federal Poverty Level. 

Effective January 1, 2000 the time limit for receipt of
TANF cash benefits is thirty-six (36) cumulative months.

During the time-limited period, employable adult
recipients receive full cash benefits only as long as they meet
the requirements of their Contract of Mutual Responsibility,
including participation in employment-related activities. The
ultimate goal of this time-limited period is to support the
employable adult’s search for, and placement in, an
unsubsidized job. Time limits will not apply when
Delaware’s unemployment rate substantially exceeds the
national average or is greater than 7.5 percent.

Individuals found eligible for TANF prior to January 1,
2000 will still have a forty-eight (48) month time limit even
if they reapply for benefits on or after January 1, 2000.

DSS will track the time remaining before a family’s
time limits expire and notify families on a quarterly basis of
the time they have remaining before the time limits expire.
At least two (2) months prior to the end of the 36 or 48
cumulative months in which a family has received
assistance, DSS will remind the family that assistance will
end and notify the family of the right to apply for an
extension. 

Extensions will be provided only to those families who
can demonstrate that:

• the agency substantially failed to provide the
services specified in the individual’s Contract
of Mutual Responsibility; the related extension
will correspond to the time period for which
services were not provided; or

• despite their best efforts to find and keep
employment, no suitable unsubsidized
employment was available in the local
economy to the employable adult caretaker; the
maximum extension under such circumstances
will be 12 months.

Extensions may also be granted where other unique
circumstances exist. Extensions will not be granted if the
adult caretaker received and rejected offers of employment,
quit a job without good cause, or was fired for cause or if the
adult caretaker did not make a good faith effort to comply
with the terms of the Contract of Mutual Responsibility. 

Retroactively, starting October 1, 1995, Delaware
exempted months in which a person worked twenty hours or
more per week from counting toward the Delaware lifetime
time limit when the countable income of the family is below
the need standard. Beginning in May 2005, Delaware

exempts months in which a person works twenty-five hours
or more from counting toward the Delaware lifetime time
limit when the countable income of the family is below the
need standard. So that families who have not reached the
State’s 36/48 month time limit won’t reach the Federal 60
month time limit, benefits for these families are provided
under a segregated program using State MOE funding,
beginning October 1, 1999. However, both the federal and
Delaware time clocks continue to run for individuals who
meet their work participation requirements by participating
in a combination of employment and education for at least
twenty (20) hours a week; and for individuals who meet their
work participation requirements by participating in
education for at least twenty (20) hours a week.

After the time limit has been reached, benefits will be
provided to families that have been granted an extension
only for a maximum period of 12 months and only in the
Work For Your Welfare component. Thus, for Time-Limited
families, unless the caretaker is employed at least twenty-
five (25) hours per week, the maximum period for receipt of
benefits to families enrolled in the Time-Limited TANF
Program will be sixty (60) cumulative months for families
with a forty-eight (48) cumulative time limit and forty-eight
(48) months for families with a thirty-six (36) month time
limit. Delaware will comply with federal requirements so
that no family receives more than sixty (60) months of
TANF paid through federal TANF block grant. 

Sanctions:  Failure to Comply with the Contract and the
Imposition of Sanctions

The Contract of Mutual Responsibility encompasses
three broad categories of requirements: 1) enhanced family
functioning; 2) self-sufficiency; and 3) teen responsibility
requirements.

1) Enhanced family functioning requirements of the
Contract include, but are not limited to, acquiring
family planning information and attending
parenting education sessions, ensuring that children
are immunized, and participating in substance
abuse assessment and treatment. Sanction for non-
compliance with these requirements is an initial $50
which will increase by $50 every month until there
is compliance with the requirement. The initial $50
reduction will be imposed whether the family fails
to comply with one, or more than one requirement.
Clients will have to comply with all requirements
before the sanction can end.

2) Self-sufficiency requirements of the Contract of
Mutual Responsibility are employment and
training, work-related activities, and ensuring
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school attendance requirements for dependent
children under age 16.

• The sanction for non-compliance with
these requirements is a 1/3 reduction of the
benefit for the first occurrence, 2/3
reduction for the second occurrence and a
total and permanent loss of the benefit for
the third occurrence for work related
activities. A third occurrence of the
penalty for a child under 16 not attending
school is loss of all cash benefits but is
curable when the parent demonstrates
compliance. The duration of the first and
second sanctions will each be two months
or until the person complies. If, at the end
of the two month period, there is no
demonstrated compliance, the sanction
will increase to the next level.

• Clients will have to demonstrate
compliance with all self-sufficiency
requirements before all benefits are
restored.

• For the purpose of determining that the
individual’s failure to comply has ended,
the individual must participate in the
activity to which (s)he was previously
assigned, or an activity designed by the
Employment and Training provider to lead
to full participation, for a period of two
weeks before ending the sanction.

• The penalty for individuals who quit their
jobs without good cause and do not
comply with subsequent job search
requirements will be loss of all cash
benefits.  The penalty for individuals who
quit their jobs without good cause, but
who comply with subsequent job search
requirements, will be:
• for a first offense, a 1/3 reduction in

TANF, to be imposed for a period of
two months;

• for a second offense, a 2/3 reduction
in TANF, to be imposed for a period
of two months;

• for a third offense, a permanent loss
of all cash benefits.

• For dependent children under age 16, including
teen parents, the sanction will not be imposed if
the parent of the teen is working with school
officials or other agencies to remediate the

situation.
3) Teen responsibility requirements include

maintaining satisfactory school attendance, or
participation in alternative activities such as
training or employment, for dependent children 16
years of age and older. The sanction for non-
compliance with these requirements is to remove
the needs of the teen from the TANF benefit and to
remove the needs of the caretaker if the caretaker
does not work to remedy the situation. Complying
with the requirements ends the sanction.

Failing to comply with both the enhanced family
functioning and self-sufficiency requirements will result in
combined penalties.  For example, both a $50 reduction and
a 1/3 reduction to the benefit could be assessed for first
failures to comply in two areas. Demonstrated compliance
will not excuse penalties for the period of noncompliance.
Sanctions will be imposed for the full period of
noncompliance.

Benefit Delivery: Direct Payments and Vouchers
Currently, Delaware uses check issuance as the payment

method for TANF.
Delaware directly pays for center-based child care

authorized for TANF participants, where the center agrees to
accept the Delaware child care reimbursement rate.  Some
caretakers, however, receive vouchers to self-arrange and
pay for their child care. Delaware will reimburse these
caretakers, up to the rates published in the Child Care and
Development Fund (CCDF) plan, for the cost of child care
provided by licensed and license-exempt child care
providers.

STAFF TRAINING

TANF training has been incorporated into the Cash
Grant training which is required for all new financial
services staff. APHSA training has now been incorporated
into Interviewing and Coaching training which is required
for all new staff.

PARENTAL RESPONSIBILITY

Adults and minor parent(s) are required to comply with
parenting expectations outlined in the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility.

Cooperation with Child Support Enforcement
Participants in TANF must cooperate with the Division

of Child Support Enforcement as a condition of eligibility.
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In addition, all families are required to provide sufficient
information to permit Delaware to obtain child support on
behalf of the family.  Exceptions can be made when the
caretaker demonstrates that pursuit of child support would
create a danger to the caretaker or the child(ren).  It is the
responsibility of the client to provide documentation to
verify such a good cause claim.

Failure of a caretaker, without good cause, to cooperate
with and provide information to the DCSE to permit the
State to pursue the collection of child support on behalf of
dependent children will result in a full family sanction, until
compliance. Applicants who fail to provide information so
that Delaware may pursue child support collections will be
denied.  To cure the child support sanction, the caretaker will
provide sufficient information to permit Delaware to pursue
child support collections on behalf of the needy children in
the family.

When a child lives with both the natural father and the
mother but paternity has not been legally established, the
parents will be referred to the Division of Child Support
Enforcement (DCSE) for a voluntary acknowledgment of
paternity. 

When a child lives with the natural father but paternity
has not been legally established, the father will complete a
declaration of natural relationship document and will
provide acceptable verification of relationship.

When a child lives with a relative of the natural father
but paternity has not been legally established, the relative
must complete a declaration of natural relationship
document and provide acceptable verification of
relationship.

In Delaware, DCSE determines non-cooperation with
child support requirements.  In addition, effective January 1,
1999 DCSE began making the determination of good cause.

Distribution of Child Support Collections to TANF
Recipients

Delaware, a fill-the-gap state in 1975, uses fill-the-gap
to make sure that families do not experience a net loss of
income due to the State retaining Child Support paid by
absent parents. A portion of Child Support payments is not
counted in calculating the grant.

Efforts to Reduce Out-of-Wedlock Births
Delaware believes that the number of out-of-wedlock

births to teens must be reduced significantly to eliminate
poverty and dependency. A study by Doble Research
Associates commissioned by the Governor’s Family
Council, in June, 1998, concluded that Delaware’s efforts to
reduce teen pregnancy, including establishing more after-
school programs, strongly enforcing child-support

enforcement and the Sexual Predator Act, and making teen
mothers ineligible for cash assistance, are solidly supported
by public opinion. We are undertaking a number of
statewide initiatives to reduce adolescent pregnancy. Many
of these initiatives are being coordinated through the
activities of the Alliance for Adolescent Pregnancy
Prevention (AAPP). Ventures include the provision of
adolescent health services through school-based health
centers and improving teen utilization of our family planning
centers.

The AAPP is a statewide public and private partnership
charged with the development and implementation of a
comprehensive plan to prevent adolescent pregnancy in
Delaware. The organizational structure of the Alliance
includes a 12 member advisory board appointed by the
Governor and a statewide membership of over 200 schools,
agencies, organizations, churches, and individuals concerned
with teen pregnancy. Staff and program support for the
Alliance is provided through a contract from the Division of
Public Health (DPH) to the Medical Center of Delaware.

Since its inception, the AAPP has awarded mini-grants
to non-profit youth organizations to provide community
based teen pregnancy programs; implemented a statewide
media campaign to increase community awareness; and
worked with existing coalitions to establish teen pregnancy
prevention programs.  AAAP plans and activities include:

• statewide leadership to develop a visible, viable
structure for mobilizing resources needed to impact
the problem;

• data development to develop a methodology to
monitor rates in real time;

• public relations efforts to increase community
awareness and involvement; and

• identifying barriers to teen utilization of family
planning services and developing solutions

The Division of Public Health has the lead
responsibility in Delaware to implement initiatives to reduce
teen pregnancy. Using the strategies and recommendations
presented by AAPP, DPH activities include school based
health centers, family planning clinics, parenting education,
and the peer leadership program. The “teen friendly”
services provided at Department of Public Health Units
located at State Service Centers have resulted in a significant
increase in use.  In addition, all clients seen in Sexually
Transmitted Disease Clinic sites receive counseling on
family planning, as well as pregnancy prevention supplies.

Based on a report by Adolescent Health Survey
Research (AHSR), which used a survey and focus groups
with youth and their parents conducted early in 1999 to
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identify top strategies in pregnancy prevention, Delaware
implemented a number of initiatives to prevent subsequent
births, including:

• Smart Start, an enhanced prenatal program that
attempts to decrease low birth weight babies, infant
mortality, and maternal mortality, through social
service, nutritional, and nursing support to at-risk
pregnant women;

• Placing information on our combined Food Stamp/
cash assistance/MA applications for the following
telephone numbers: Planned Parenthood, AAPP
and Delaware Helpline, to obtain information on
pregnancy prevention/family planning.

In addition, family planning and reproductive health
services are provided to adults in eight public health
locations in Delaware; and similar services are provided to
adults by Planned Parenthood of Delaware in five locations
in the state. Minority populations are targeted through family
planning and reproductive health services available at three
Federally Qualified Health Centers in Delaware; and family
planning and reproductive health services are available to
Delaware State University students through the DSU health
center.

These Delaware initiatives to reduce out-of-wedlock
births are complemented and strengthened by the policies of
TANF which:

• Require adults and minor parent(s) to obtain family
planning information from the provider of their
choice; 

• Provide for a fiscal sanction of an initial $50
reduction in benefits for failure, without good
cause, to obtain family planning information. This
reduction will increase each month by $50.00,
either until there is compliance or the case is closed.
The sanction will end when the adult and/or minor
parent(s) obtains the family planning information at
the provider of their choice;

• Eliminate benefit increases for children conceived
while a caretaker is receiving TANF, and apply this
family cap to children who are the firstborn of
minors included in a TANF grant where the
children are born after March 1, 1997; and

• Treat two parent families the same as single parent
families. 

The goals for the Division of Public Health teen
pregnancy prevention are mirrored in the ‘Responsible

Sexual Behavior’ section of the Healthy Delaware 2010
guidebook.  They include:

a. By 2010, increase the proportion of teens who
abstain from sexual intercourse or use condoms if currently
sexually active from 79% to 85%.

b. By 2004, implement an evidence-based media
campaign to promote responsible sexual behavior

c. By 2010, maintain the proportion of youth that
report remaining abstinent before age 13 at 90%

d. By 2005, reduce the birth rate for teenagers
aged 15 through 17 from 39.2 to 33.3 per 1,000.

Goals a. and c. are measured through the Youth Risk
Behavior Survey administered every two years by the
Department of Education. Goal b. has been satisfied by the
implementation of an ongoing teen pregnancy prevention
media campaign managed by the Alliance for Adolescent
Pregnancy Prevention through Christiana Health Care under
contract by DPH. Goal d. is measured by the Delaware
Health Statistics Center. 

DSS will see that TANF families receive education
about the benefits of marriage and planning to have children
when they can be best supported by both parents within the
financial management component of their training. Our goal
is to reduce the out of wedlock birth rate by 1% each year
beginning with FFY 2004. 

Initiatives to Promote Two-Parent Families
To provide broad-based support for working families,

Delaware was one of the first States to recognize that the
special eligibility requirements that applied to two-parent
families contributed both to the non-formation and the break
up of two-parent households. The six-quarter work history
requirement was particularly responsible for non-marriage of
teen parents, who had not yet worked enough to meet this
qualification. The denial of benefits to two-parent families if
one of the parents was working at least 100 hours a month
also contributed to the low work rate of two-parent families
which were receiving AFDC. 

When Delaware eliminated these special deprivation
requirements as part of our welfare reform waiver, the
numbers of two-parent families receiving TANF soared, and
we believe that, without the TANF change, many of these
households would have applied for and been found eligible
for benefits as single mother families. These never formed
two-parent households would have had profound effects on
the ability of the family to exit welfare and on the future
success of the children. We have found that the average
length of stay on TANF is much lower for two-parent
families, reflecting the greater incidence of retained
employment when two adults are able to engage in work and
share child care duties.
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Delaware has always allowed taxpayers to file
separately and applied the progressive rate structure to each
spouse’s income separately, which avoided most tax
increases resulting from marriage. However, a marriage
penalty could still result from uneven standard deduction
amounts. By increasing the standard deduction amount for
married taxpayers to exactly twice the single standard
deduction beginning January 1, 2000, enactment of HB 411
has effectively eliminated the income tax “marriage penalty”
in the State of Delaware

Addressing Problems of Statutory Rape and Domestic
Violence

Statutory Rape
The Sexual Predator Act of 1996 imposes more

severe criminal sanctions on adult males who are
significantly older than their victims and holds them
financially accountable when children are born as a
result of violations of this law.

The legislation requires a cooperative agreement as part
of a multi-faceted effort to combat teenage pregnancy and
reform welfare. Specifically, the law requires the Attorney
General’s Office, the Department of Health and Social
Services, the Department of Services to Children Youth and
Their Families, the Department of Public Instruction and law
enforcement agencies statewide to establish a cooperative
agreement specifying the various roles of the agencies
involved. The Memorandum of Understanding establishing
the cooperative agreement, executed on December 10, 1996,
and SB 346 are provided as Attachment F.

Victims of Domestic Violence
As required under the optional Certification of

Standards and Procedures to Ensure that a State Will Screen
for and Identify Domestic Violence, DSS will refer
identified victims of domestic violence to appropriate
services such as shelters and counseling and to Family
Court. Under the Protection from Abuse Act (PFA), 10
Delaware Code, Chapter 9, Sections 1041-1048
(Attachment G), Family Court has the power and authority
to expeditiously adjudicate all matters related to domestic
violence including court ordered restraints, custody, property
and financial resources.

Through this strong domestic violence Law, Delaware is
clearly committed to assisting victims of domestic violence
to overcome circumstances which put them in physical,
emotional and/or financial jeopardy; and to assist them is
seeking redress and a safe environment for themselves and
their families. The Law is a strong deterrent to domestic
violence, according to a study by the National Center for

State Courts, released on December 2, 1996. The study
reported that 86 percent of those who sought protection
under the Law, which permits individuals in danger of
serious physical abuse to obtain a protection order, were no
longer being physically abused.

 In addition, using our Family Development Profile,
caseworkers ask a series of screening questions designed to
identify victims of domestic violence.  (See Attachment H)
So that we are certain that workers can use this tool to
effectively identify domestic violence issues, beginning
1998 all staff members at each of Delaware’s 17 field sites
receive a full day of Domestic Violence Training, focused on
the impact of domestic violence on clients and their ability to
abide by the conditions of the Contract of Mutual
Responsibility. As part of this training, staff learn how to
recognize and assist women who are victims of domestic
violence. DSS has continued this training on an ongoing
basis and now provides the training not only to field staff but
to all staff.

We believe that our methodology of resolving domestic
violence situations as quickly as possible, as provided for
under a strong statute, is the most appropriate and best
course of action to assist current victims and to prevent
future violence where possible. 

Delaware certifies that the Family Development Profile
establishes a procedure that screens for domestic violence
and that, pursuant to a determination of good cause, program
requirements may be waived if it is determined that
compliance would make it more difficult for individuals to
escape violence. However, decisions to waive compliance
with TANF requirements will be made on an individual, case
by case basis, and will not endorse an individual’s failure to
behave proactively to ameliorate destructive domestic
violence situations. For our program to work, domestic
violence victims must take actions to recover their lives,
using the relief provided by the domestic violence statute
and the other resources Delaware makes available.

TRIBES

Delaware has no federally recognized tribes.

ADMINISTRATION

Structure of Agency
The Department of Health and Social Services is the

cabinet level agency designated by the State as responsible
for Delaware’s public assistance programs as allowed under
Title IV-A of the Social Security Act. Within the
Department, the Division of Social Services administers
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these programs. (Organizational chart included as
Attachment I to State Plan.)

Administrative Spending
Delaware will comply with federal requirements.

Compliance With Participation Rates
Delaware intends to meet the participation rate

requirements set forth in the TANF legislation. Recognizing
that Delaware’s hourly requirements for participation in
work and work-related activities are broader than those
prescribed by the current TANF legislation, we are prepared
to provide some benefits utilizing state MOE funding if this
later becomes necessary in order to continue to meet TANF
work participation requirements. Delaware will comply with
federal requirements.

Maintenance of Effort 
Delaware is aware of and intends to fully comply with

the requirements of the law (P.L. 104-193) to maintain a
prescribed level of historic state expenditures. Delaware will
ensure that expenditures of state funds for benefits and
services (“Qualified State Expenditures” as defined in the
law) for TANF participants (either in the Part A federally
funded program or non-Part A state funded program) who
are TANF eligibles will equal or exceed the required annual
spending level.

As a 1975 fill-the-gap state, Delaware has opted to
continue to use fill-the-gap for the issuance of child support
disregard and child support supplemental payments to TANF
clients.  Delaware considers these payments to be “cash
assistance” to eligible families and therefore to be within the
definition of “Qualified State Expenditures”. 

Financial eligibility criteria for MOE-funded
assistance or services are the same as for other TANF
assistance or services, except that MOE claimed for child
care under the provisions of section 263.3 will follow the
financial eligibility criteria established in the CCDF State
Plan and associated State regulations.

Implementation Date and Plan Submittal Date
The plan is submitted for certification of completeness

on December, 2005. The implementation date for the
provisions of this plan is October 1, 2005.  Any subsequent
amendments to this Plan will be indicated by amending the
page of the Plan that describes the program or function being
changed.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) – 
Joint Custody

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services (DSS) initiated proceedings the
Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates to
Joint Custody and TANF. The Department’s proceedings to
amend its regulations were initiated pursuant to 29
Delaware Code Section 10114 and its authority as
prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the December 2005 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by December 31, 2005 at which time the
Department would receive information, factual evidence and
public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations.

Summary of Proposed Regulation

Citation
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity

Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996

Background
There are often situations when two parties want to

receive TANF benefits for the same child at the same time.
In most circumstances, the party that has physical custody
and cares for the child most of the time will be able to
receive the TANF benefits. When the parties have joint
custody or shared custody, determining which party can
receive those benefits is more difficult. 
Summary of Proposal

DSSM 3004.1.1, Joint Custody:  Adds specific language
to describe the criteria and procedures for determining which
party receives TANF when two parties have joint custody or
shared custody.
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Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response 
with Explanation of Changes 

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD)
offered the following observations and recommendations
summarized below. DSS considered each comment and
responds as follows:

First, in recent years the Family Court has issued
“shared custody” as well as “joint custody” orders. The
Division may wish to clarify in its definition of “joint
custody” that is intended to also cover “shared custody”
situations.

Second, the regulation offers conflicting or ambiguous
guidance on the authorized applicant for TANF in joint
custody context. On the one hand, the fourth full paragraph
establishes a “first to file” approach irrespective of primary
residence. On the other hand, the sixth paragraph establishes
a primary residence standard and only applies a “first to file”
approach if residency is equally split.

This apparent conflict should be resolved.  SCPD
recommends that DSS consider the attached analogous
Maryland regulation for its Temporary Cash Assistance
(TCA) Program.  It is clear and concise:

Joint Custody
A. Allow a child to receive assistance in only one TCA

household
B. With joint custody, apply the following rules:

1. When the child spends the majority of the time with
one parent, that parent may receive TCA if otherwise
eligible.

2. When the child spends equal time with both
parents:

• The parents decide who applies for TCA, or if they
cannot agree

• The parent who applies first claims the child.

Agency Response: First, the agency recognizes and
points out that our similar terms may have different
definitions than the courts. Second, DSS sees no conflict in
the guidance on the authorized applicant for TANF in the
joint custody context. The overall premise is that when there
is joint custody, the first party to apply and be determined
eligible will receive TANF for the child. This will always be
the case except when both parents wish to apply at the same
time. In these cases, the agency leans in favor of the parent
who maintains the primary residence of the child. To clarify
the agency’s intent, the sentence [This also covers shared
custody situations.] and the phrase [at the same time] in
bracketed bold type has been added to DSSM 3004.1.1.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
forth in the December 2005 Register of Regulations should
be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) as it relates to Joint Custody and TANF is adopted
and shall be final effective February 10, 2006.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, January 13, 2006 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #06-04

NEW:

DSSM 3004.1.1 Joint Custody

The home exists even if the responsible caretaker
relative or child is temporarily absent per DSSM 3023.4,
3023.5, and 3023.6 for TANF purposes. Joint custody cases
can complicate deciding if a child is eligible for TANF and
with which specified relative.

The Division of Social Services uses the following
terms and definitions. (Note: The court system may use
similar terms having different definitions.)

Joint Custody-Two parties are given the control to make
major life decisions for a child. Joint custody exists when
two parties are given, by court decree, the responsibility for
making the major decisions in a child's life. [This also
covers shared custody situations.] (This is not meant to be
an exhaustive list but a guide. There may be other decisions
that fall into this category.) Major life decisions revolve
around:

• Religious upbringing;
• Medical treatment options; and
• Education.

• Primary Residence - The physical home/location of
the child the majority of the time. The court may
indicate which party should maintain a primary
residence for the child. This decision is often with
one party but can sometimes be an equal split
between the adults seeking custody. A court decree
indicating that one party has the primary residence
does not automatically mean only that party is
permitted to apply for and receive TANF for that
child.

• Day-to-Day Care and Control- The person(s) who
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provide the care for the child the majority of the
time. These care decisions do not necessarily rise to
the level of major life decisions but they are the
ones that the responsible adult makes on a daily
basis.

The Division of Social Services provides that in joint
custody situations, the first party to apply for and have
eligibility determined for TANF can receive it for that child.
This is permitted, whether or not the party in the joint
custody case has the primary residence of the child. We
allow this situation because the child will have just one
parent providing the day-to-day care or no parent providing
the day-to-day care at any given time. This only applies in
joint custody cases.

When both parties in the joint custody arrangement wish
to receive TANFB [at the same time]:

• Determine with whom the child resides most of
the time; and

• Determine who maintains the day-to-day care
and control of the child.

The party with whom the child resides most of the time
and the party who maintains the daily care and control of the
child will be able to receive TANF for that child. If both
parties have equal time and decision making for the child
each month, then the party that applies first will be able to
receive the TANF benefits.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 512  (31 Del.C. §512)

ORDER

Refugee Cash Assistance
Self-Employment Income Standard Deduction

Nature of the Proceedings

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services / initiated proceedings to amend
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM) as it relates
to implementing a simplified way to calculate self-
employment income for Refugee Cash Assistance. The
Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section

512.
The Department published its notice of proposed

regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the December 2005 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions
from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by December 31, 2005 at which time the
Department would receive information, factual evidence and
public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations.

Summary of Proposed Changes

Background
Determining self-employment income is complicated

and error prone. Current food stamp rules do not allow
certain business costs that the Internal Revenue Service
(IRS) allows for tax purposes. Gathering the correct
information from tax records can be cumbersome for staff.
Verification of gross proceeds is fairly easy to obtain but
verifying the costs of doing business is not.  

Summary of Proposed Change
DSSM 8028.1, Sources of Income: The previous

regulation that was adopted to implement the self-
employment standard deduction (October 2005 issue of the
Delaware Register) did not include Refugee Cash Assistance
(RCA).  This notice corrects the omission.

Summary of Comments Received with Agency Response 

DSS has considered the one comment received and
responds as follows:

As the spouse of a self-employed person, I think this
proposal has not come soon enough. We have been kicked
out of every assistance program that we've applied to
because the gross check appears to workers as over the limit.
The fact is providing proof of all business expenses is
cumbersome and timely and frankly, workers either are not
knowledgeable or patient enough to work through the maze
of expenses. Please go forward with this regulation quickly,
it's the hard working people who are trying to get ahead that
are getting left behind!

Agency Response: DSS appreciates your comment.
The agency’s intent is to simplify the process for our self-
employed customers and to make it easier for staff to
accurately calculate the deductions.

Findings of Fact

The Department finds that the proposed changes as set
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forth in the December 2005 Register of Regulations should
be adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the Division of Social Services Manual
(DSSM) as it relates to implementing a simplified way to
calculate self-employment income for Refugee Cash
Assistance is adopted and shall be final effective February
10, 2006.

Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS, January 13, 2006 

DSS FINAL ORDER REGULATION #05-70

REVISIONS:

8028.1 Sources of Earned Income
1. Wages - Gross earnings paid to the employee

before deductions for taxes, FICA, insurance, etc. are
counted. Sick pay or vacation pay is considered as a wage as
long as it is paid as a wage. If sick pay is paid through an
insurance company as disability pay, it is considered
unearned income.  

NOTE: Earnings paid to employees under contract are
averaged over the number of months covered by the
contract.

EXAMPLE: A teacher is under contract for a full calendar
year, but may choose to collect his pay during the school
year.  His wages for public assistance purposes are budgeted
over the full year.

2. Self employment - Gross earned income from self
employment is determined by subtracting business expenses
(supplies, equipment, etc.) from gross proceeds. The
individual's personal expenses (lunch, transportation, income
tax, etc.) are not deducted as business expenses but are
deducted by using the standard allowance for work
connected expenses (See DSSM 8028.2 and DSSM 8028.3).

Self employed persons must submit evidence of gross
proceeds and business expenses or income tax statements to
verify earnings.

3. Farming - Farming is defined as raising crops,
livestock, or poultry for profit. Gross earned income from
farming is determined by subtracting the farmer's operating
expenses from sales.  Produce grown for home consumption
is not considered income.

4. Room and Board Income - [See DSSM 8030 for
treatment of cash payments for shared living expenses.]
Income from the operation of a rooming and/or boarding
home is considered earned income. The following disregards
are deducted from gross proceeds as operating expenses.
These expenses are deducted before any earned income
disregards are subtracted from income.

Roomers only   subtract $10.00 per month per person.
(A roomer is a person who rents living space in the home.)

Boarders only   subtract $30.00 per month per person.
(A boarder is a person who purchases meals provided in the
home, but does not live there.)

Roomers and Boarders   subtract $46.00 per month per
person.  (A roomer and boarder does both.)

EXAMPLE:An individual operates a rooming and boarding
home.  She has three (3) roomers who each pay $60.00 per
month and two (2) roomers and boarders who each pay
$100.00 per month.

$180.00 -  Payment from roomers $60 x 3
30.00 -  Disregards for roomers $10 x 3
$150.00 

$200.00 -  Payment from roomers and boarders($100 x 2)
92.00
$108.00 -  Disregard for roomers and boarders ($46 x 2) 

$150.00
+108.00
$258.00   Total gross income from roomers and

boarders (Earned income disregards appropriate to the
category of assistance are subtracted in the budgeting
process.  See DSSM 8028.2 ).

Self-Employment Standard Deduction for Producing
Income

The cost for producing income is a standard deduction
of the gross income. This standard deduction is a percentage
of the gross income determined annually and listed in the
Cost-of-Living Adjustment (COLA) notice each October.

The standard deduction is considered the cost to
produce income. The gross income test is applied after the
standard deduction. The earned income deductions are then
applied to the net self-employment income and any other
earned income in the household.

The standard deduction applies to all self-employed
households with costs to produce income. To receive the
standard deduction, the self-employed household must
provide and verify they have business costs to produce
income. The verifications can include, but are not limited to,
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tax records, ledgers, business records, receipts, check
receipts, and business statements. The self-employed
household does not have to verify all their business costs to
receive the standard deduction.

Self-employed households not claiming or verifying any
costs to produce income will not receive the standard
deduction.

The self-employment standard deduction will be
reviewed annually to determine if an adjustment in the
percentage amount is needed

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code,

Sections 311 & 1718 (18 Del.C. §§ 311, 1718)
18 DE Admin. Code 504

ORDER

504 Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, 
Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and Consultants

Proposed changes to Regulation 504 relating to
Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, Brokers,
Surplus Lines Brokers and Consultants were published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations on December 1, 2005.
The comment period remained open until January 3, 2006.
There was no public hearing on the proposed changes to
Regulation 504. Public notice of the proposed changes to
Regulation 504 in the Register of Regulations and two
newspapers of general circulation was in conformity with
Delaware law.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

No public comment was received as a result of the
publication of the proposed changes for comment. With the
experience of the Atlantic and Gulf Coast states in 2005
generally and Delaware’s experience with the Glenville
flood in 2003 and Hurricane Jeanne in 2004 specifically, it is
important that Delaware licensed property and casualty
producers who sell homeowners and personal lines
coverages be familiar with flood insurance programs and
how to offer the best possible flood protection to Delaware
consumers. Consumers will be better informed about the
insurance products and coverage on flood policies by
requiring producers who sell flood insurance to include a
two hour course of instruction in flood insurance as part of
the their biennial continuing education requirement.

The adjustment to the required ethics hours from four to

three allows Delaware to conform to the same requirement
as other states as part of the uniformity agreement within the
National Association of Insurance Commissioners that
resulted from the passage of the Gramm Leach Bliley Act.

Findings of Fact

Based on Delaware law and the record in this docket, I
make the following findings of fact:

1. Any producer who sells homeowners and/or
personal lines coverage should be required to attend a
minimum of two hours of continuing education in flood
insurance as part of that producer’s mandatory continuing
education requirement under 18 Del.C. Ch. 17 and
Regulation 504.

2. In order to be consistent with other states in the
National Association of Insurance Commissioners as part of
the uniformity agreement, it is appropriate to reduce the
mandatory number of course hours of continuing education
in ethics from four to three.

3. Paragraph 12 relating to the effective date is
confusing as written and applies to prior amendments to the
Regulation. Paragraph 12 can be removed without affecting
the substance of the regulation and its removal does not
require publication and comment since it is technical in
nature and is permitted by 29 Del.C. §10113(b).

Decision and Effective Date

Based on the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§311(a) and 1718
and 29 Del.C. §§10113-10118 and the record in this docket,
I hereby adopt Regulation 504 as amended and as may more
fully and at large appear in the version attached hereto to be
effective on March 1, 2006. 

Text and Citation

The text of the proposed amendments to Regulation 504
last appeared in the Register of Regulations Vol. 9, Issue 6,
pages 939-944. 

IT IS SO ORDERED this 13th  day of January 2006. 

Matthew Denn, Insurance Commissioner

504 Continuing Education for Insurance Agents, 
Brokers, Surplus Lines Brokers and Consultants

1.0 Statutory Authority and Purpose
This Regulation is established and promulgated

pursuant to 18 Del.C. §§314, 1718 and 29 Del.C. Ch.101.
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The purpose of this Regulation is to establish requirements
for insurance education and ethics for resident insurance
adjusters, public adjusters, producers, surplus lines brokers
and for standards for education providers and instructors in
order to ensure a high level of professionalism for the benefit
of Delaware consumers.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

2.0  Definitions
"Administrative record" means any document relating

to course approval, course offerings, attendance, course
completions or credits, and any other records required to be
kept by the Delaware Insurance Code, and any rule or order
of the Department.

"Audit" means Insurance Department activity to
monitor the offering of courses or examinations, including
visits to classrooms, test sites, and administrative offices
where documentation of individual attendance and
completion records and documentation of instructor
credentials is maintained. Audit may include re-evaluating
approved classroom course outlines, self-study programs
and distance learning programs based on current guidelines.

"Authorized representative" or “provider
representative” means the person designated by the entity
as responsible for the timely filing of all required
Department forms and documentation for courses and for the
maintenance of necessary administrative records including
but not limited to classes held, examinations monitored,
instructor qualifications, and attendance records. Where this
regulation provides for an act by an entity sponsor or
provider, such act shall be performed by an authorized
representative.

“Commissioner” means the Insurance Commissioner
of the State of Delaware and/or such designee appointed by
the Commissioner.

"Completion" when used in the context of:
Self-Study, means a passing grade of 70% or better

on the examination.
Class, means attendance for the full amount of time

approved for each course.
Seminar means attendance for the full amount of

time assigned for each workshop or break-out session
selected.

"Compliance date" means the last day of February of
even numbered years. Each biennial license shall commence
on March 1st and end on the last day of February  of even
numbered years. 

"Contact person" means the person at the entity level
with authority to transact business for the entity; through
contracts, licenses, or other means, usually as the owner or

corporate officer, and who designates the school official to
represent the entity.

"Continuously licensed" means an uninterrupted
license without lapse due to suspension, revocation,
voluntary surrender, cancellation or non-renewal for a period
of 12 months or greater.

"Course" means any class, self-study, seminar or
distance learning course for insurance producers, surplus
lines brokers, adjuster and public adjustor licensees or other
insurance professionals that has been approved by the
Department for the purpose of complying with continuing
education requirements.

"Credit hour (CEUs)” means one (1) unit of credit
based on a classroom hour or approved hour of credit for a
seminar or self-study program.

"Department" means the Delaware Department of
Insurance.

"Disciplinary action" means administrative action that
has been taken against an individual or entity as a licensee or
approved course provider, instructor, or school official for
which probation, suspension, or revocation of any license
(issued by this or any other state, country, or territory) or
approved status has been ordered or consented to or for
which a fine has been entered for a wrongdoing against a
consumer or a licensee.

“Distance learning” or “Distance education” means
instructional delivery that does not constrain the student to
be physically present in the same location as the instructor.
Distance education includes but is not limited to: audio,
instructional television, videotape, teleconferencing, audio/
video conferencing, and computer conferencing, web based
instruction, traditional self-study course(s) including CDs
and DVDs as supplied materials and  any other planned
learning that normally occurs in a different place from
teaching and as a result requires special techniques of course
design, special instructional techniques, special methods of
communication by electronic and other technology, as well
as special organizational and administrative arrangements
approved by the Department.

"Entity sponsor" or “sponsor” means a natural
person, firm, institution, partnership, company, corporation,
or association offering, sponsoring, or providing courses
approved by the Department in eligible continuing education
subjects.

"Ethics credits" means the study of fiduciary
responsibility, commingling of funds, payment and
acceptance of commissions, unfair claims practices,
professionalism, policy replacement consideration, handling
or supervising the affairs or funds of another, conflicts of
interest and matters that deal with individual character and
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personal characteristics such as honesty, integrity and
professionalism in the insurance industry.

"Hour" means sixty (60) minutes of class or seminar
time, of which at least fifty (50) minutes must be instruction,
with a maximum of ten minutes of break per hour all of
which must be accounted for on the agenda or syllabus. For
self-study courses, "hour" means sixty (60) minutes of time
including reading and studying which would be necessary to
successfully complete the final examination (actual exam
time not included). 

"Initially Licensed" means the first insurance license
issued an individual by this Department authorizing the
transaction of insurance business in this state to which the
continuing education requirement applies.

"Recognized association" means an insurance industry
association established for at least 5 years.

"School official" means the person designated by the
entity as responsible for the timely filing of all required
Department forms and documentation for courses and for the
maintenance of necessary administrative records including
but not limited to classes held, examinations monitored,
instructor qualifications, and attendance records.

"Syllabus" means an agenda showing the schedule of
how a continuing education course is to be presented
including time allotment to subject matter and including any
meals and break times.

2 DE Reg. 122 (7/1/98)
8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

3.0 Course Providers
3.1 A provider who sponsors a continuing education

course must be approved by the Department and shall be
operated by, including but not limited to, an authorized
insurance company, a recognized insurance agents’
association, an insurance trade association, a self-insurance
fund, a non-profit educational institute, national provider, a
member of a state Bar Association, an independent program
of instruction, or an institution of higher learning.
Application for entity approval shall be concurrent with
application for course approval and shall be submitted on
written forms or in an electronic format approved by the
Department. The Department may approve of or participate
in reciprocal agreements relating to continuing education
with the NAIC and/or its members. In assessing a provider’s
application for approval, the Department may consider,
among other factors, whether the management of a provider,
including officers, directors, or any other person who
directly or indirectly controls the operation of the provider,
fails to possess and demonstrate the competence, fitness and
reputation deemed necessary to serve the provider in such
position.

3.2 General Requirements and Responsibilities.
3.2.1 Providers shall maintain the records of

each individual completing a course for three (3) years from
the date of completion and shall send the Department a roster
of those in attendance within thirty (30) days of the course
completion date on forms or in electronic format prescribed
by the Department.

3.2.2 Providers shall notify the Producer
Licensing Education Section, within thirty (30) days of a
change in their mailing address or administrative office
address.

3.2.3 Course providers will provide each
licensee successfully completing their program a Certificate
of Completion for attendees’ records only after successful
completion of the entire approved education course/activity.
Entity Sponsors are required to distribute a Certificate of
Completion to each licensee successfully completing the
educational activity within thirty (30) calendar days.

3.2.4 Course providers shall obtain the
Department’s approval for each course offered. No prior
approval shall be required for any course offered through
any NAIC sponsored reciprocal agreement but course credit
under this regulation shall only be allowed for those subjects
eligible for course credit in Delaware.

3.2.5 No partial credit may be granted for any
course unless an emergency arises. In case of an emergency,
a written explanation shall be provided to the Department
upon request.

3.2.6 Self-study courses shall contain an exam
that shall be graded by the sponsor or an approved third
party. No credit shall be given for a failing grade.

3.2.7 One Continuing Education Credit shall
consist of fifty (50) minutes of qualifying classroom
instruction.

3.2.8 Course Providers are responsible for the
actions of their school officials, instructors, speakers and
monitors.

3.2.9 Entity sponsors and instructors shall
conduct themselves in a professional manner and may not
misrepresent any course material or other information.

3.2.10 Course approvals, once granted by the
Department, shall remain valid until modified or terminated
by the entity sponsor or Department. Any changes or
modifications to one or more courses by an entity sponsor
shall not be valid until submitted to and approved by the
Department in writing. All courses approved for credit as of
November 1, 2004 shall not be subject to re-approval under
the provisions of this section.

3.2.11 No activity may be advertised as having
been approved until the sponsor receives written notification
from the Department.
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8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

4.0 Instructors
4.1 An entity sponsor shall certify to the Department

that the instructor shall possess one or more of the following
qualifications:

4.1.1 A minimum of 3 years working experience
in the subject matter being taught.

4.1.2 An approved professional designation in
accordance with Section 9.3 from a recognized association.

4.1.3 A degree from an accredited school in the
subject matter being taught.

4.1.4 Special expertise, such as employment
with a governmental entity; or a documented history of
research or study in the area.

4.1.5 An instructor who is a licensee shall
receive the same number of continuing education credits
granted to participants. The instructor may not receive
additional credit for teaching the same course more than
once in a biennium reporting period.

4.1.6 Instructors shall have the authority and
responsibility to deny credit to anyone who disrupts the class
or is inattentive. Based on the course provider’s policies,
refunds may be given. It will be a violation of this regulation
for an instructor or school official to knowingly allow during
the class, the activities of sleeping, reading of books,
newspapers, or other non-course materials, use of a cellular
phone, or to allow absence from class other than authorized
breaks. Penalties will be assessed against participant,
instructor, and school, as provided in this regulation.
Approval of a course will constitute approval of submitted
instructors.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

5.0 Department’s Action upon Violation or Non-
conformity by Course Provider or Instructor

If the Department determines that a course provider or
instructor has violated any provisions of this regulation, the
Department may withdraw approval of the entity sponsor or
instructor or may order a refund of course fees to licensees
who attended the course, or both. The Department may also
refuse to approve courses conducted by specific sponsors or
instructors if the Department determines that past offerings
by those entity sponsors or instructors have not been in
compliance with insurance education laws, rules and
regulations. The Department or his/her designee(s) may
perform course provider audits on all educational activity
proposed to be available to licensees of this State.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

6.0 Appeals

6.1 Appeals shall be conducted in accordance with the
Delaware Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch.101
and 18 Del.C. §§323-28.

6.2 Providers may appeal to the Commissioner or
Commissioner’s designee, from any adverse decision on
their request concerning continuing education activity.
Appeals shall be in writing and minimally contain:

6.2.1 A synopsis of the issue,
6.2.2 The basis for the appeal,
6.2.3 The name, address, and telephone number

of a contact person,
6.2.4 A copy of the original course submission

and supporting documents, and
6.2.5 A copy of any correspondence from the

Continuing Education Advisory Council or the Insurance
Department.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

7.0 Required Forms
7.1 Requests for entity sponsor approval shall be made

to the Department on such forms as shall be authorized by
the Department.

7.2 Requests for entity sponsor course approval shall be
made to the Department on such forms as shall be authorized
by the Department.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

8.0 Licensee’s Responsibility
8.1 Each licensee shall retain each original course

completion certificate for a period of 3 years. The course
completion certificate may be required in the event of a
discrepancy between the licensee’s records and the
Department’s records. Each licensee may be subjected to a
Department audit of continuing education requirements.
Failure to comply with a Department audit may result in suspension
of a licensee’s license. Each licensee will have thirty (30) days
to produce such records upon request or audit by the
Department.

8.2 General Requirements. Resident licensees and
producers not otherwise exempted shall earn, at a minimum,
the number of education credits described below.

8.2.1 Resident licensees required to fulfill
continuing education requirements shall complete twenty-
four (24) credit hours of Department approved education
subjects, four three (43) of which shall be in ethics subjects
during each biennium reporting period. If the resident
producer holds a health license and solicits long term care
policies, as part of his/her biennial requirement, the producer
must complete at least three (3) hours of training in
Delaware long term care insurance that consists of product
knowledge, laws, rules and regulations. Any resident
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licensee who is authorized to write homeowners or personal
lines coverage shall be required to complete a two (2) hour
continuing education course related to flood insurance and
the National Flood Insurance Program as part of the twenty-
one (21) general credit hours necessary to maintain a
Delaware resident license. [The flood education
requirement shall become effective for reporting periods
on or after March 1, 2006.]

8.2.2 Resident adjusters, public adjusters and
Fraternal Agents shall be required to fulfill twelve (12) credit
hours of Department approved education subjects, four (4)
of which shall be in ethics subjects during each biennium
reporting period.

8.2.3 Resident licensees will receive a
continuing education transcript at least ninety (90) days prior
to the end of a license biennium by mail or by electronic
access as the Department deems appropriate. The licensee is
responsible for reviewing the transcript for accuracy. To dispute
the Department’s accounting, the licensee must submit a
written exception thereto prior to the biennium deadline and
include a copy of the providers course completion certificate.

8.2.4 The maximum number of carryover
credits shall not exceed five (5) credits in a biennium
reporting period. Carryover shall not apply to ethics credit
requirements. Credits in excess of the mandatory
requirements set forth in section 8.2.1 may be applied to the
licensee’s general course requirements.

8.2.5 No continuing education requirement shall
apply to newly licensed individuals during the biennium in
which such individuals are licensed.

8.3 Automatic credit. An individual continuously licensed for
twenty-five (25) years or longer prior to the start of a biennium
reporting period or who holds a professional designation shall
receive an automatic credit of twelve (12) credits in each
biennium. The Department shall maintain a list of approved
professional designations. Automatic credits may not be
applied to satisfy the mandatory continuing education
courses set forth in section 8.2.1.

8.4 License reinstatement after suspension, revocation
or cancellation. All resident licensees whose licenses were
canceled, suspended or revoked for a period of twelve (12)
months or more shall first complete all licensing
requirements under 18 Del.C. §1706 including the retaking
of  exams for all lines of authority under which the
individual proposes to transact insurance. Any licensee who
is reinstated under the provisions of this subsection shall not
be entitled to the waiver provided for in section 8.2.5.

8.5 Extension of time. For good cause shown, the
Department may grant an extension of time during which the
requirements imposed by this regulation may be completed.
The extension shall not exceed twelve (12) months. The
extension will not alter the requirements or due date of the

succeeding biennium period. "Good cause" includes
disability, natural disaster, or other extenuating
circumstances. Each request for extension of time shall be in
writing from the licensee and shall include details and any
documentation to support the request. Each request must be
received by the Department no less than thirty (30) days
before the expiration of the biennium period.

8.6 Waiver of Continuing Education Requirements.
The requirements of this regulation may be waived in
writing by the Department for good cause shown. "Good
cause" includes long-term illness or incapacity and any other
emergency situations deemed appropriate by the
Department. Request for waivers of continuing education
requirements shall be made in writing and shall be submitted
to the Department no later than thirty (30) days prior to the end of
the biennium for which such waiver is requested. Those
individuals serving full time in the armed forces of the
United States of America on active duty outside of the State
of Delaware shall notify the Department upon their return by
supplying a copy of their activation orders as part of their
application for a waiver. Any waiver granted pursuant to this
regulation shall be valid only for the biennium for which
waiver application was made.

8.7 Sixty (60) days prior to the start of each biennium,
the Department shall prepare and publish a list of those lines
of insurance for which the producers are exempt from the
requirements of section 8.

8.8 Resident adjusters licensed for the lines of Fidelity
and Surety and/or Marine and Transportation are exempt from the
provisions of section 8.2.2 of this regulation. Nonresident
adjusters and public adjusters must meet the license
requirements of their home state.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

9.0 Penalty for Noncompliance
9.1 Pursuant to 18 Del.C. §§334, 1712, and 1718, any

licensee who fails to complete the minimum requirements of
this regulation, and who has not been granted an extension of
time to comply under section 8.5 of this regulation shall be
subject to an administrative penalty up to and including a
$2000.00 fine and suspension of license(s) for one year.
Submission of false or fraudulent information shall result in
an administrative penalty up to and including a $15,000.00
fine and permanent revocation of license.

9.2 Any appointment(s) of such licensee suspended for
failure to comply with this regulation shall likewise be
suspended by operation of law. Upon satisfactory
completion of education requirements in arrears and
payment of any administrative fine imposed within a period
of twelve (12) months, all license(s) and appointments shall
be reinstated unless or until the insurer notifies the
Department and licensee in writing of the insurer’s intent to
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terminate such appointment. If suspension is for a period of
twelve (12) months or greater, the licensee is subject to
compliance with 18 Del.C. §1706 including the retaking of
examinations for all line(s) of authority for which the
individual licensee seeks a license.

9.3 The Commissioner may, by Order based upon a
reasonable belief that a violation of Title 18 occurred,
require any individual licensed under 18 Del.C. Ch. 17 to
complete in addition to biennium insurance education
requirements, approved continuing education course work to
ensure the maintenance and improvement of a licensee’s
insurance skills and knowledge.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

10.0 Continuing Education Advisory Council
10.1 The Council shall consist of fourteen (14)

licensees drawn from the professional organizations and the
insurance industry in the State, 5 from the life and health
field, 5 from the property and casualty field and four (4)
from the claims settlement field.

10.2 One of the primary responsibilities of the
Council shall be to review applications for course approvals
and make recommendations to the Department   regarding
acceptance/rejection and the number of CEUs to be granted
if accepted.

10.3 The Council shall also advise the Department
on matters of concern as they arise and be the liaison
between the Department and the professional organizations.

10.4 Members shall serve a term of 2 years. Any
member may be reappointed for successive terms. The
committee shall meet every 2 months on the third Tuesday of
the month or additionally as required. The members of the
committee shall serve without pay and shall not be
reimbursed for any expenses.

10.5 The Department’s decision with respect to any
Entity Sponsor submission shall be final.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

11.0 Separability
If any provision of this Regulation shall be held invalid,

the remainder of the Regulation shall not be affected
thereby.

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

[12.0 Effective Date
This Regulation shall become effective March 1,

1998 and shall remain in effect until rescinded. Prior to
the aforementioned date the provisions of Regulation 504
(Formerly Regulation 47) as last amended in 1987 shall
remain in effect. The amendments to this Regulation
shall become effective November 15, 2004. Any matters

that are not merely procedural in nature arising prior to
November 15, 2004 shall be governed by the provisions of
the prior version of this regulation in effect at the time
the matter arose.]

8 DE Reg. 703 (11/1/04)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
18 Delaware Code, Sections 311 and 2503

(18 Del.C. §§311 and 2503)
18 DE Admin. Code 607

ORDER

607 Defensive Driving Course Discount (Automobiles 
and Motorcycles)

Public hearings were held on November 1, 2005 and
January 5, 2006 to receive comments on proposed
Regulation 607 relating to the Defensive Driving Course
Discount for Automobiles and Motorcycles. Public notice of
the two hearings and publication of the proposed Regulation
607 and subsequent amendments to the original proposal in
the Register of Regulations and two newspapers of general
circulation was in conformity with Delaware law. Twenty-
four persons attended the November 1st public hearing and
nine persons attended the January 5th public hearing. There
were thirty-four written comments received by the
Department.
 

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The main objectives of the proposed amendments to
Regulation 607 are to update and streamline the course
approval process and to clarify the complaint, hearing and
adjudication process for alleged violations of the regulation.
Additionally, with the improvements in technology, the
proposed amendments are designed to accommodate the
consumers’ desires for an alternative to live classroom
presentations, namely course availability on the internet.

The initial form of the proposed amendments was
published on October 1, 2005 in the Delaware Register of
Regulations. The initial proposal contained a requirement
that drivers taking a course be required to pass an exam
approved by the Department of Insurance (“the
Department”) with a score of at least 75%. The Department
received seventeen written comments opposed to the testing
requirement and a number of persons spoke against the
proposed test requirement at the public hearing held on
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November 1, 2005. 

A second major change proposed in the regulation was
transferring responsibilities currently being administered by
the Defensive Driving Credentials Committee to a more
traditional administrative review process. The concerns
raised by the public comment to this part of the proposed
changes were less substantive and more oriented to a
concern about whether there would be a reduction in public
access under the Freedom of Information Act to the
deliberative process of course approval or the complaint
process.  I have determined that the benefit to consumers of a
faster, more efficient review process, combined with the
availability under the Freedom of Information Act of most
documents involved in an administrative review process,
will allow the Department to provide consumers more
affordable choices while still allowing for appropriate public
review of the process.

At the conclusion of the first public hearing on
November 1st, I informed the public that the proposed
changes to the regulation would be revised based on the
public comment received as of November 1st. The most
significant change was to eliminate the proposed testing
requirement. The other changes prompted by the public
comment were (1) to revise the language of the proposed
changes to clarify the requirement that online or CD-ROM
courses be set up so that a student taking such a course
would be required to commit the same time, five hours of
instructional time, to complete an online course as would be
required for a live classroom course; (2) clarify the
requirements for live assistance for online course takers; and
(3) clarification of the procedures governing the
identification of students taking the online course and
receiving a course completion certificate from the online
provider.

The revisions to the proposed regulation were published
in the Delaware Register of Regulations on December 1,
2005. A public hearing on the revisions was conducted on
January 5, 2006. Two course providers submitted public
comment prior to the public hearing on January 5th. They
were concerned about the inconvenience to online students
who would be required to appear in person at a particular
place to prove their identity in order to obtain a course
completion certificate. This requirement would present a
hardship to students and members of the military serving
outside the State of Delaware and was inconsistent with the
option to take the course online as opposed to a scheduled
classroom environment.

In both hearings, there were concerns raised about the
possibility of persons other than a course registrant taking
the course for someone else in order to get them credit under
false pretenses. A classroom course provider stated that it

was inconsistent to require classroom students to prove their
identity prior to taking the course but not requiring the same
for online students. However, since the online course is not
the same as a classroom environment, it is not inconsistent to
allow for some procedural differences to accommodate the
particular needs of each course method. The proposed
changes in the regulation allow for the Department to assure
that all providers have appropriate security in place as a
condition of course approval to eliminate or at least
minimize the potential for fraudulent conduct.

One course provider suggested that the letter required in
section 6.10 need only be given once, with the registration or
with the course completion certificate, but not twice as
required by the proposed regulation. 

Findings of Fact

Based on Delaware law and the record in this docket, I
make the following findings of fact:

1. 18 Del.C. §2503(6) and (7) provides that the
Commissioner “shall require a reduction in rates for a 3-year
period for any person who voluntarily attends and
successfully completes” either a motor vehicles or
motorcycles accident prevention course “which is approved
by the Commissioner.” That statutory provision is silent as
to the methods by which such approval is given however, 18
Del.C. §311(a) provides that the Commissioner may make
reasonable rules and regulations necessary for the
administration or effectuation of any provision of Title 18.

2. The continuation of course approval and complaint
investigation and adjudication by the Defensive Driving
Credentials Committee under current Regulation 607 is
cumbersome, inefficient, and time consuming. In a time
where technological advances occur at a rapid rate, it is in
the public interest that the Department provides for a
streamlined, efficient system for the review of applications
for course certification as well as for the prompt review of
questions or complaints from providers or the public at large.

3. The changes to the complaint filing, investigation
and adjudication procedures modernize the regulation and
bring it into conformity with the format used by most of the
State’s licensing boards.  Compare 29 Del.C. §8735(h).

4. The regulation requires six hours of class time
broken into fifty minutes of instruction and ten minutes of
break time. An online course that provides five hours of
actual instructional time meets the requirements of the
regulation.

5. There was general agreement among the comments
received that the current system needs improvement and
there were no comments suggesting that the proposed
regulation extends, modifies or conflicts with any Delaware
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law.
6. The suggestion that section 6.10 be amended to

require only one delivery of the Department’s letter is valid.
Amending the last sentence of section 6.10 to read as follows
is merely technical and does not require republication as set
forth in 29 Del.C. §10113(b):  “On-line courses shall place
the letter with registration on-line and/or shall provide a hard
copy with the certificate of completion.”

Decision and Effective Date

Based on the provisions of 18 Del.C. §§311 and 2503
and 29 Del.C. §§ 10113-10118 and the record in this docket,
I hereby adopt Regulation 607 as may more fully and at large
appear in the version attached hereto to be effective on
February 11, 2006. 

Text and Citation

The text of the proposed amendments to Regulation 607
last appeared in the Register of Regulations Vol. 9, Issue 6,
pages 944-49. 

IT IS SO ORDERED this 5th day of January, 2006. 

Matthew Denn, Insurance Commissioner

607 Defensive Driving Course Discount (Automobiles 
and Motorcycles)

1.0 Purpose and Authority
The purpose of this Regulation is to provide a discount

applicable to total premiums for persons who voluntarily
attend and complete a Defensive Driving Course and to
provide criteria for Defensive Driving Courses, Providers
and Instructors. This Regulation is adopted pursuant to 18
Del.C. §314, and 18 Del.C. §2503 and promulgated in
accordance with the procedures specified in the
Administrative Procedures Act, 29 Del.C. Ch. 101.

2 DE Reg. 989 (12/1/98)

2.0 Definitions
“Classroom courses” for the purpose of this regulation

means a defensive driving program conducted with students
and instructors in a location common to all. These courses
may include the use of audio or visual aides or materials.

“Committee” for the purpose of this regulation means
the Defensive Driving Credentials Committee.

“Department” means the Delaware Insurance
Department.

“On-line courses” for the purpose of this regulation
means instruction provided online or offline through the use
of a computer  (or digital reader) including the use of CD
roms ROMS or similar pre-recorded media) or websites.

“Providers” means cCorporate sponsor for any course
as well as the individual who  signs the application for the
course.

3.0 Minimum Requirements
A Defensive Driving Course Discount shall be applied

to the total premiums for bodily injury liability coverage,
property damage liability coverage, and personal injury
protection coverage provided:

3.1 The automobile or motorcycle is individually
owned or jointly owned by husband and wife or by members
of the same household and is classified and rated as a private
passenger automobile or motorcycle; and

3.2 The driver who customarily operates the
automobile or motorcycle has a certificate certifying
voluntary attendance and successful completion within the
last 36 months from the date of application of a motor
vehicle accident prevention course or motorcycle rider
course, as appropriate, which is approved by the Insurance
Commissioner Department.

2 DE Reg. 989 (12/1/98)

4.0 Application
4.1 A 10% discount shall be applied with respect to the

applicable premium(s) for each automobile or motorcycle
insured under a policy if all operators named on the policy as
insureds complete the course. If fewer than all the operators
covered as principal or occasional drivers complete the
course, then the discount shall be a fraction of 10%. The
fraction shall be the number of operators completing the
course, divided by the total number operators. The discount
shall begin at the inception date of the policy or the first
renewal date following application by the insured and shall
terminate at the policy expiration date subsequent to the
expiration of three years since completion of the course.

4.2 An insured who has received a defensive driving
discount as outlined in section 4.1 above may take a
refresher defensive driving course within the ninety days
prior to the three year expiration date thereof or within two
years thereof to receive a 15% discount for an additional
three year period as outlined in section 4.1  above. Discounts
shall not overlap. The discount may be applied as a
multiplier or on an additive basis compatible with the rating
system in use by the company.

2 DE Reg. 989 (12/1/98)
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5.0 Implementation

5.1 In the effective date of the Act, the discount shall be
first applied to policies written to be effective on or after July
14, 1982 (automobile), or July 19, 1990 (motorcycle), or
with renewal dates on or after July 14, 1982 (automobile), or
July 19, 1990 (motorcycle), if applied for by the insured, and
shall remain in effect for a 3-year period from the effective
date of such policies.

5.2 The discount may be applied as a multiplier or on
an additive basis compatible with the rating system in use by
the company.

5.32 All courses certified by this Department as of
September 1, 2004 shall apply for re-certification under the
provisions of section 7 of this regulation on or before
January 1, 2005. All courses not certified by this Department
prior to September 1, 2004 shall apply for certification under
the provisions of section 7 of this regulation.

6.0 Defensive Driving Course Credential Committee
6.1 The Commissioner hereby forms an entity known

as the Defensive Driving Course Credential Committee
("Committee"). In appointing Committee members, the
Commissioner shall consider the following characteristics:

6.1.1 Knowledge of principles of teaching and
learning;

6.1.2 Knowledge of safe driving principles; and
6.1.3 Kknowledge of Delaware Motor Vehicle

laws.
6.2 The Committee shall be composed of five citizens

of this State who are not employed by or have any financial
interest in any course provider and who meet the standards
set forth in sections 10.1.1 through 10.1.4.

6.3 Duties. The Committee shall:
6.3.1 Elect its Chairperson and shall make

recommendations to the Commissioner concerning the
duties set forth herein;

6.3.2 Review and examine defensive driving
course provider, instructors and prospective providers and
instructors to its satisfaction. Recommend certification,
denial of certification or de-certification of a course provider
or prospective provider and applicants.

6.3.3 Review and examine defensive driving
courses and shall provide occasional monitoring of courses
to ensure each course continues to meet the Committee’s
minimum requirements, as outlined in this Regulation. The
Committee may from time to time recommend amendments
to course requirements 

6.3.4 Certify approved course providers and
individual instructors for a two year period so long as the
course sponsor/instructor continues to meet the requirements
of this Regulation; and

6.3.5 Conduct any other such activity
reasonably related to the furtherance of its duties.

76.0 Certification Criteria for Defensive Driving
Programs and Providers

Each course provider shall:
76.1 Submit to the Department for approval written

instructor and student materials for any defensive driving
course to be offered that minimally includes the elements
listed in this section.  On-line courses shall provide free site
access to the Department a Committee member for purposes
of verification of compliance. The course materials for each
defensive driving course shall include, at a minimum, the
following:

76.1.1 The definition of defensive driving and the
collision prevention theory serving as the basis for the
course; 

76.1.2 A discussion of vVehicle safety devices,
including the use of seat belts, child restraint devices and
their proper use and relationship to a child’s age and size,
including the correct placement of a child in a vehicle.
Vehicle air bag systems shall be explained in detail with
special attention to proper passenger seating and proper use
of anti-lock braking systems and how they compare to
standard braking systems; 

76.1.3 A discussion of driving situations as they
relate to the condition of the driver, driver characteristics,
use of alcohol and legal/illegal drugs, including a discussion
of Delaware law on drinking and driving and the use of
drugs;

76.1.4 A discussion of the factors affecting
driving and how they pertain to driving defensively,
including, but not limited to:

76.1.4.1 The condition of the driver, the
vehicle, the road, sun glare, weather and lighting;

76.1.4.2 Distractions such as use of cellular
telephones while driving, adjusting radios, audio and video
tapes and compact discs, talking with a passenger, reading
and eating;

76.1.5 A discussion, including specific
requirements of Delaware law where applicable, of pertinent
driving situations, including stopping distances, proper
following distances, proper intersection driving, stopping at
railroad crossings, right-of-way and traffic devices as well as
situations involving passing and being passed and how to
protect against head-on collisions; and 

76.1.6 Consideration of the hazards and
techniques of various driving situations such, as but not
limited to, city, highway, expressway and rural driving,
proper use of exit and entrance ramps, driving in parking lots
and a discussion of Delaware law concerning school buses.
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76.1.7 A discussion of aggressive driving
including but not limited to identifying an aggressive driver
and providing appropriate defensive driving techniques.
Discussion shall also include identifying oneself as an
aggressive driver and the appropriate manner to respond.

76.2 Require instructors in classroom
courses to present information in a manner consistent with
the approved curriculum and otherwise in accordance with
the standards set forth herein.

76.3 Require on-line courses to provide toll free
telephone lines staffed by knowledgeable customer service
personnel who can assist with content based questions at all
times during which the course is accessible online. For
courses which are accessible offline, the provider must
provide toll free telephone access at such times and for such
hours as shall be approved by the Department.

76.4 Require that each student receives a minimum
of six hours of classroom or on-line time for the initial
course and three hours of classroom or on-line time for the
refresher advanced (renewal) course. Each classroom hour
shall consist of not less than 50 minutes of instructional time
devoted to the presentation of course curriculum. Online
courses shall be structured to provide the same learning time
as required for the classroom and shall submit to the
Department any materials necessary to demonstrate their
ability to comply with the minimum time requirement set
forth in this section.

76.5 Require that registration shall be completed
prior to the beginning of any type of instruction and shall not
be counted as instructional time.

76.6 Require its instructors in classroom courses to
be in the classroom with the students during any and all
periods of instructional time.

76.7 Require instructors in classroom courses to
maintain an atmosphere appropriate for class-work.

76.8 Material required to be covered by this
Regulation shall be discussed by the instructor in a
classroom situation and be included as on screen information
in an on-line course.

76.9 Supply students who complete a defensive
driving course and who have presented a valid Delaware
driver’s license and/or government issued photo
identification with a certificatione of completion that
includes, at a minimum, the name of the student, the date of
the class, the name of the defensive driving course and the
course sponsor’s authorized signature.

6.9.1 All online courses shall be required to
obtain the student’s driver’s license number as part of the
student identification information prior to permitting the
student access to the course materials.

6.9.2 No online course provider shall issue a
certificate of completion online or offline. All such providers
shall appoint an agent or agents in Delaware with an address
and telephone number easily accessible by all students who
shall personally compare the online identification
information with the information on the student’s Delaware
driver’s license and/or government-issued photo
identification prior to the hand delivery of a certification of
completion as described in section 6.9.

76.10 All courses shall provide all students with a
copy of a letter provided by the Committee Department
informing the student how to provide comment or file a
complaint regarding a defensive driving course. This letter
shall be in hard copy form for classroom courses. On-line
courses shall place the letter with registration on-line and[/
or] shall provide a hard copy with the certificate of
completion.

76.11 Notify the Division of Motor Vehicles of each
student’s successful completion of the course in the manner
and form required by the Division. 

8.0 Complaints, De-certification, Suspension and
Probationary Status

8.1 Complaints received by the Department of
Insurance against course providers and/or instructors shall be
directed to the Chairperson for the Committee.The
Chairperson shall forward the complaint, in writing or by
electronic mail, to the provider and shall request a response.
The provider shall respond in writing or by electronic mail
within fifteen working days. At the next meeting, the
Committee shall determine whether the complaint is in an
area over which it has the authority to take action or to make
a recommendation. The results shall be reported to the
course provider in writing as soon as reasonably possible.

8.2 Course providers and instructors may be de-
certified, placed on probation for not more than 90 calendar
days, or have certification suspended indefinitely upon a
finding of the Committee that the course presented does not
meet the criteria set forth in this Regulation. Investigations
relating to issues of compliance shall be directed by the
Committee.

8.3 Prior to de-certification, placement on probation or
suspension of certification, the course provider or instructor
or both shall be notified, in writing, by the Committee. The
course provider or instructor or both shall be given a
reasonable opportunity to submit evidence of compliance in
his or her defense.

8.4 A course provider or instructor who is placed on
probationary status and does not show proof of compliance
with the standards set forth herein within 90 calendar days
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shall be subject to de-certification at the end of the
probationary period. 

8.5 A course provider or instructor or both may be de-
certified, suspended or placed on probation for the
following:

8.5.1Falsification of information on, or
accompanying, the Application for Certification/Re-
certification;

8.5.2Falsification of, or failure to keep and provide
adequate student records and information as required herein;

8.5.3Falsification of, or failure to keep and provide
adequate financial records and documents as required; and 

8.5.4Failure to comply with any section of this
Regulation.

9.0 Appeal Procedures
9.1 Within 10 business days after the date of written

notification of certification denial, suspension, probation or
de-certification, the course provider or instructor or both
may file an appeal requesting review of the action taken.

9.2 The appeal shall be addressed to the Committee,
citing the reasons for the request, and accompanied by any
other relevant substantiating information.

9.3 The Committee shall conduct all hearings pursuant
to 29 Del.C. Ch.101 of the Delaware Code Annotated.

7.0 Complaints, Hearings, De-certification, Suspension
and Probationary Status

7.1 The following procedure shall be followed for the
investigation of complaints against course providers and/or
instructors certified under section 6.0 of this Regulation (the
term "course provider" as used in section 7.0 of this
Regulation shall include individual instructors as may be
appropriate in the context of this section):

7.1.1 Any person who desires to file a complaint
against any course provider must do so in writing.

7.1.2 The complaint shall state the name of the
course provider and the facts that allegedly constitute the
basis for the complaint.  If either of these elements is missing
from the complaint, the Department may, in its discretion,
dismiss the complaint without further notice or a hearing.

7.1.3 The Department, upon determining that
the complaint is complete as provided in section 7.1.2 above,
shall, within 15 days of the receipt of the complaint, assign a
docket number to the complaint and shall transmit a copy of
the complaint by certified mail, receipted email or other
receipted delivery service to the course provider named in
the complaint at the course provider's address of record in
the Department's files. The named course provider may file
an answer to the complaint within 20 calendar days with the
Department.

7.1.4. The Department shall assign a staff
member to investigate the complaint and the course
provider’s response. 

7.1.5 The staff member, as part of the
investigation, shall provide a report of the staff member’s
findings and recommendations to the Commissioner or his
designee for further action as may be appropriate under this
section. The report shall list the evidence reviewed, the
witnesses interviewed and cite the law or regulation alleged
to have been violated and the facts to support such finding.
The report shall contain a written recommendation either to
take such action as may be authorized by this section or to
dismiss the complaint.

7.1.6 A dismissal of the complaint shall be
without prejudice and no further action shall be taken by the
Department. The Department shall provide a written
notification of the Department’s action and the basic
reason(s) therefor to the complainant and to the course
provider.  

7.2 Upon a recommendation for further action under
section 7.1 of this Regulation, the Commissioner shall
determine whether the course provider should be warned
(with or without conditions), placed on probation (with or
without conditions) for not more than 90 days, suspended for
a period not to exceed 6 months, or to be permanently
decertified for one or more violations of this Regulation. For
purposes of the enforcement of this Regulation and the
protection of the public, progressive discipline is not
required.  

7.3 Upon making a determination as provided for in
section 7.2 of this Regulation, the Department shall provide
written notice to the course provider by certified mail,
receipted email or other receipted delivery service. A copy
of the notice shall be provided to the complainant. The
notice shall include the following:

7.3.1 a summary of the complaint;
7.3.2 a summary of the information obtained in

the investigation;
7.3.3 findings of fact and/or law; and
7.3.4 the sanction to be imposed by the

Department. 
7.4 Upon receipt of the notice provided for in section

7.3 of this Regulation, the course provider shall have the
rights to a hearing and appeal as provided for in 18 Del.C.
§§323-28.

7.5 Nothing in section 7.0 of this Regulation shall
preclude the course provider from entering into a consent
agreement with the Department.

7.6 A course provider or instructor who receives a
warning or is placed on probation and does not show proof
of compliance with the conditions of the warning or
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probation within the time set forth in the consent agreement
or order may be subject to suspension or decertification.

7.7 In addition to the other provisions of this
Regulation, a course provider may be placed on probation,
suspended or decertified for any one or more of the
following:

7.7.1 Falsification of information on, or
accompanying, the Application for Certification/Re-
certification;

7.7.2 Falsification of, or failure to keep and
provide, adequate student records and information as
required herein; or

7.7.3 Falsification of, or failure to keep and
provide, adequate financial records and documents as
required.

108.0 Certification Process for Defensive Driving
Instructors

108.1 Basic Requirements. Each instructor shall:
108.1.1 Be at least 18 years of age; 
108.1.2 Be a high school graduate or have a

G.E.D.; 
108.1.3 Provide a certified copy of his or her

driving record showing he or she holds a valid driver’s
license with no more than four (4) points, no suspensions or
revocations in the past two years; and

108.1.4 Have no felony convictions during the past
four years and no criminal convictions evidencing moral
turpitude. The Committee reserves the right toDepartment
may require a criminal history background check of all
applicants for an instructor’s certification.

10.2 The Committee may recommend that Basic
Requirements sections 10.1.2 through 10.1.4 hereof be
waived upon a finding that an instructor is qualified and fit to
act as an instructor. 

10.38.2 Re-certification. Every two years each
instructor shall:

10.38.2.1 Submit evidence that he or she has
taught the certified course a minimum of 12 hours the
previous calendar year;

10.38.2.2 Submit evidence that he or she
attended an in-service update training seminar, or other
training session, as provided by, or specified by, a certified
defensive driving course sponsor; and 

10.38.2.3 Submit a form as prescribed by the
CommitteeDepartment certifying that he or she continues to
meet the requirements of an instructor as outlined in this
Regulation. and;

10.38.2.4 Submit a certified copy of his or her
driving record.

10.3.58.3 The above-described submissions shall be
filed not later than January 31st of the year in which re-
certification is desired. The Committee Department shall
accept requests for re-certification not earlier than November
15th of the preceding year and make reasonable efforts to act
on such requests within 30 days of receipt thereof.

8.4 The Department may provide procedural guidelines
and directives through the use of bulletins and/or circular
letters through the Commissioner’s website from time to
time as may be appropriate.

11.0 Meetings
The committee shall set a day and time for quarterly

meetings.  Other meetings may be set as needed.

12 9.0 Effective Date
12.1 This actregulation shall become effective on

September February 11, 20046. The procedural guidelines
set forth in this regulation shall govern the disposition of any
matter pending before the Defensive Driving Credentials
Committee as of the effective date of this regulation.

2 DE Reg. 989 (12/01/98)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

Secretary’s Order No: 2005-W-0052

Regulations Governing Storm Water Discharges 
Associated with Industrial Activities

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control (“Department” or “DNREC”), the following
findings, reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of
the Secretary in the above-referenced rulemaking
proceeding.

On February 10, 2003, the Department approved this
proposed rulemaking proceeding Start Action Notice
(“SAN”) 2003-03 in order to reissue and amend Regulations
Governing Storm Water Discharges Associated with
Industrial Activities (“Regulations”). The Regulations are
based upon a federal program that enables the Department to
issue a general permit under certain circumstances. The
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Department determined that the regulation of storm water
discharges associated with industrial activities was suitable
for the general permit program in order to protect the
environment and water quality from the harm posed from
unregulated storm water discharges.

The Department drafted proposed regulations, held
three public workshops in New Castle County, Kent County
and Sussex County on July 6, 7, and 14, 2005, published
Proposed Regulations in the September 1, 2005 Delaware
Register of Regulations, and held a public hearing on
September 29, 2005. Based on the record of decision,
including the public hearing record reviewed in the
December 23, 2005 Hearing Officer’s Report (“Report”)
appended hereto, I find and conclude that the recommended
regulations should be adopted as final regulations. 

The regulations are well-supported and consistent with
the law and regulations. They will allow the Department to
exercise its authority to protect the environment from the
harm posed from unregulated storm water discharges from
industrial activities. The regulations will allow the
Department to continue the federal program, but they also
reflect considerable improvements, as reviewed by the
Report. The result is a significant reduction in the number of
regulations through the repeal and consolidation of the
existing regulations without any loss of regulatory control.
In conclusion, the following findings and conclusions are
entered:

The Department, acting through this Order of the
Secretary, adopts as final regulations the recommended
regulations set forth in the Appendix B to the Report;

The issuance of the final regulations will protect and
improve the environment from possible harm associated
with unregulated release of storm water discharges
associated with industrial activities;
 The final regulations are approved by this Order were
developed consistent with the applicable law and regulatory
standards and are adequately supported by sound technical
analysis in the record; 

 The Department provided adequate public notice of the
proceeding and the public hearing, held a public hearing, and
considered all timely and relevant public comments in
making its determination;
 The Department’s proposed regulations, as published in
the September 1, 2005, Delaware Register of Regulations,
and with the minor change set forth in Appendix B to the
Report, are well-supported, are consistent with the
applicable laws and regulations, and should be approved as
final regulations to go into effect ten days after its
publication in the next available issue of the Delaware
Register of Regulations; and that;
 The Department shall provide written notice to the

persons affected by the Order, as determined by those who
participated in this rulemaking at either the public workshop
or at the public hearing, including participation through the
submission of written comments.

John A. Hughes, Secretary

Date of Issuance:  January 28, 2005
Effective Date: February 11, 2006

* Please note: The only change to the proposed
regulation was the movong of “§9.1.01.9  Best
Management Practices” from the Appendix to the body
of the regulation. Since the balance of the regulation
contained no changes from the proposed it is not being
republished here.

An HTML version is available on the monthly
register website.
http://www.state.de.us/research/register/february2006/
final/index.shtml

For an Adobe PDF version click here.

[§9.1.01.9  Best Management Practices
The Department is authorized under the federal

regulations (40 CFR 122.44) to impose Best Management
Practices (BMPs) to control or abate the discharge of
pollutants in lieu of numeric effluent limitations when the
Department finds that BMPs are reasonably necessary to
achieve effluent limitations and standards, or to carry
out the purposes and intent of the State and Federal Acts. 

The Department shall maintain a list of Best
Management Practices that would eliminate or reduce
the contact of industrial materials, areas, and or
activities with storm water. These BMPs are a means to
meet the requirements for BMPs listed in as applicable
and are considered the minimum set of required BMPs
for an industrial activity. Equivalent BMPs may be
selected which result in equal or better quality of
stormwater discharge.]
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DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

1400 Board of Electrical Examiners
Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,

Section 1406(a)(1)  (24 Del.C. §1406(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 1400

ORDER

A public hearing was held to receive comments on
January 4, 2006, at the regularly scheduled meeting of the
Board of Electrical Examiners. The Board considered
changes to its Rules and Regulations, 7.0 Expiration and
Renewal and 8.0 Continuing Education, that were published
in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 9, Issue 6, December 1,
2005. 

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

No written or verbal comments were received.

Findings of Fact With Respect to the Evidence and 
Information

The Board finds that the changes clarify the online
renewal process as well as the auditing of continuing
education for compliance.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board of Electrical Examiners hereby adopts the
Rules and Regulations as proposed to be effective 10 days
following final publication in the Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the Rules and Regulations appears in the
Register of Regulations, Vol. 9, Issue 6, December 1, 2005 at
page 949.

BOARD OF ELECTRICAL EXAMINERS

Jacob Good, President C. Leroy James
Andy Strouse, Vice President Steven Dignan
Shirley Good Donald King
Donald Collins James Anderson

Date: January 4, 2006

7.0 Expiration and Renewal.

7.1  The biennial licenses granted by the Board shall
automatically terminate on June 30th of each even numbered
year or on such other date as is specified by the Division of
Professional Regulation. It is the responsibility of the
licensee to file a renewal application with the Board. The
failure of the Board to notify a licensee of his/her expiration
date does not in any way relieve the licensee of the
requirements of filing a renewal application with the Board.
Beginning in 2006, license renewal may be accomplished
online at www.dpr.delaware.gov.

7.2 As a condition of renewal, each applicant must
show proof  of continuing education as required in the Rules
and Regulations. Extra continuing education hours do not
carry over to the next licensing period. Renewal applications
will be audited by the Board for compliance with the
continuing education requirements.

7.3 A license is expired when a licensee has failed to
either complete the requirements for renewal or obtain
permission for  inactive status. A licensee may activate an
expired license within one year of the date the renewal
application was due by meeting all requirements and paying
an additional fee set by the Division of Professional
Regulation.

7.4 A licensee with a valid license may request in
writing to be placed on inactive status. An inactive status can
be effective for up to two years and renewed biennially by
application to the Division upon proof of 10 hours of
continuing education. Said license may be reactivated by the
Board upon written request, proof of insurance, and payment
of a prorated fee to be computed by the Division of
Professional Regulation.

7.5 A  licensee is not authorized to work as a licensed
electrician in this State during the period of inactive status.

7.6 An individual whose license has expired for more
than one year must reapply as a new applicant. Any prior
training and experience satisfies can be used to satisfy the
requirements under 24 Del.C. §1408(a). However, the
applicant must take the examination required by §1408(5)
again and achieve a passing score unless he or she previously
passed an approved licensure test that covered the National
Electric Code that is the standard in Delaware at the time of
the new application .

4 DE Reg. 1788 (5/1/01)
9 DE Reg. 260 (8/1/05)

8.0 Continuing Education
8.1 Continuing education (CE) is required of all

licensees and proof shall be submitted to the Board
completed by April June 30 of any year after 2000 in which a
license is to be renewed. For example, if a license must be
renewed June 30, 2001, the proof of completion of CE  is
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due on April 30, 2001. A licensee who has submitted CE
hours that are not allowed  will be notified so that he or she
may obtain replacement CE before the June 30 expiration of
the license.

8.1.1 Proof of continuing education is satisfied
with an attestation by the licensee that he or she has satisfied
the requirements of  Rule 8.0.

8.1.2 Attestation may be completed
electronically if the renewal is accomplished online. In the
alternative, paper renewal documents that contain the
attestation of completion  can be submitted.

8.1.3 Licensees selected for random audit will
be required to supplement the attestation with attendance
verification pursuant to Rule 8.5.

8.2 Courses must be approved by the Board in order to
qualify as CE. Approved courses appear on the website of
the Division of Professional Regulation at
www.dpr.delaware.gov. Licensees may also contact the
Administrative Assistant of the Board at the Division of
Professional Regulation to determine whether particular
courses have been approved.

8.2.1 Courses shall be designed to maintain and
enhance the knowledge and skills of licensees related to
providing electrical services.

8.2.2 Sponsors or licensees can obtain Board
approval of courses at any time by completing a form
approved by the Board and including a course outline with
the number of classroom hours and name the curriculum
vitae or resume of the instructor.

8.2.3 Sponsors or licensees seeking pre-
approval should submit the request as provided in 8.1.2 at
least 60 days before the CE course  is being offered.

8.2.4 Approval of CE automatically expires on
September 1, 2002 and every three years thereafter on each
September 1. A sponsor or licensee must reapply for
approval as provided in 8.2.12.

8.3 Licensees shall complete 10 hours of approved CE
during each renewal period with the following exceptions - a
person licensed less than one year does not need to complete
CE at the first renewal; a person licensed one year but less
than two years must submit 5 CE hours at the first renewal.
Beginning with the licensee’s second renewal, 5 of the 10
CE hours required for renewal must be related to the
National Electrical Code.

8.4 The Board may consider a waiver of CE
requirements or acceptance of partial fulfillment based on
the Board’s review of a written request with supporting
documentation of hardship.

8.5 A log of CE on a form approved by the Board shall
be maintained and submitted. Documentation of the CE
should not be routinely sent with the log but must be retained

during the licensure period to be submitted if the renewal
application is selected for CE audit. Random audits will be
performed by the Board to ensure compliance with the CE
requirements. Licensees selected for the random audit shall
submit attendance verification.

8.5.1 The Board will notify licensees within sixty
(60) days after June 30 that they have been selected for audit.

8.5.2 Licensees selected for random audit shall be
required to submit verification within ten (10) days of receipt
of notification of selection for audit.

4 DE Reg. 1788 (5/1/01)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Electrical
Examiners is available at:
http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/electrician/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
2500 Board of Pharmacy

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 2509  (24 Del.C. §2509)

24 DE Admin. Code 2500

ORDER

A hearing was held to receive comments on January 13,
2006 at a regularly scheduled meeting of the State Board of
Pharmacy. The Board considered proposed changes to
Regulations 3.0, 5.0  and 13.0 as published in the Register of
Regulations at 9 DE Reg 951 12-01-05.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

1. The Board received a letter dated January 4, 2006
supporting the proposed changes from the National
Association of Chain Drug Stores.

Findings of Fact with Respect to the Evidence
and Information Submitted

The Board finds that the changes to Regulation 3.0
protect the public with specific requirements for a pharmacy
while providing flexibility for the various practice settings.

Regulation 5.0 is updated to eliminate “reconstitution”
in the definition of compounding. In addition, selling
compounded products on the order of a practitioner for his or
her office use with individual patients is permitted.

Centralized prescription processing is governed by new
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Regulation 5.12 as a means to make dispensing based on a
central database efficient and safe.

Regulation 13.0 applicable to Nuclear Pharmacies was
simplified and updated to provide for some consistency with
other jurisdictions.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board hereby adopts the changes to Regulations
3.0, 5.0 and 13.0 to be effective 10 days following
publication of this order in the Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the revised rules remains as published in
Register of Regulations at 9 DE Reg 951 12-01-05.

SO ORDERED this 13th day of January, 2006.

STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY
John E. Murphy, R.Ph., President 
Don Holst, R.Ph., Vice President
Daniel Hauser, Pharm. D.
Karen J. Dey, R.Ph.
Angelo Chiari, R.Ph.

3.0 Pharmacy Requirements
3.1 Pharmacist in Charge 

3.1.1 Application for permit to operate a
pharmacy in the State of Delaware must be on a form
approved by the Board.  The form shall include the statement
to be signed by the pharmacist in charge, "I understand that I
am responsible for conducting and managing the
prescription department in compliance with applicable State
and Federal laws."

3.1.2 The Board interprets the responsibilities of
the Pharmacist-in-Charge to include, but not be limited to
the following:

3.1.2.1 Maintain necessary pharmaceutical
equipment and reference texts in accordance with the State
Board of Pharmacy requirements.

3.1.2.2 Maintain records required by the
Uniform Controlled Substances Act and other relevant State
and Federal regulations.

3.1.2.3 Maintain proper security of particular
pharmacy operation during and after normal business hours.

3.1.2.4 Establish procedures within operation
that maintain standard of practice as it relates to the
dispensing of pharmaceuticals. These procedures shall
include proper supervision of supportive personnel and

delegation of authority to another pharmacist when not on
duty.

3.1.2.5 The pharmacist on duty is directly
responsible for his own actions.

3.1.2.6 Notify the Board of Pharmacy in
writing within 10 days of termination as
pharmacist-in-charge.

3.2 Owner's Affidavit. The owner or owners and, in the
case of a corporation, an authorized official of the
corporation must present an affidavit properly notarized
containing the statement, "I hereby swear or affirm that the
foregoing statements are correct and do hereby agree to
abide by the pharmacy laws of the State of Delaware and to
all rules and regulations of the Delaware State Board of
Pharmacy." The Board must be notified within 10 days of
change of ownership.

3.3 Equipment and Reference Materials. Each
pharmacy shall have the following equipment and maintain a
library of the latest edition and supplements of current
reference sources (either hard copy or electronically
accessible) appropriate to the individual pharmacy practice
and to the care of the patients served.  The reference sources
must:

3.3.1 References:
3.3.1.1 Provide information on the

therapeutic use, dosing, pharmacology, adverse effects, and
interactions of drugs dispensed to patient. 

3.3.1.2 Provide information helpful in the
counseling of patients on the use of drugs dispensed.

3.3.1.3 Enable the pharmacist to properly
compound medicines within accepted standards of pharmacy
practice. 

3.3.1.4 Include a listing of therapeutic
equivalents for drugs dispensed.

3.3.1.5 Include current Delaware and federal
laws and regulations governing pharmacy and controlled
substances.

3.3.1.6 Provide any other information
necessary to the safe and effective practice of pharmacy for
the specific practice setting.

3.3.2 Equipment
3.3.2.1 Prescription Scale, Class A

Set of Metric Weights if balance is used
3.3.2.2 Graduates, (must be glass) Metric 

One of Each:
 30 ml
 60 ml

125 ml
500 ml
(or Set with both metric and Apothecary

Graduations may be used)
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3.3.2.3 Mortars and Pestles

One 8 ounce glass
One 8 ounce wedgewood

3.3.2.4 Filter Paper
3.3.2.5 Prescription/physician Order Files
3.3.2.6 Two Spatulas
3.3.2.7 One Glass Funnel
3.3.2.8 One Glass Stirring Rod
3.3.2.9 Ointment Slab or Papers
3.3.2.10 Distilled Water

Each Pharmacy shall have such additional
equipment as is necessary to perform a specific procedure.

All equipment must be clean and must be
maintained in such a manner that allows the pharmacist to
accurately weigh, measure and compound ingredients.

3.3.1 Equipment:  Each pharmacy shall have all
equipment appropriate to the individual pharmacy practice
and to the care of the patients served.

3.3.1.1 All equipment must be clean and must
be maintained in such a manner that allows the pharmacist to
accurately weigh, measure and compound ingredients.

3.3.1.2 Equipment may include such things as
prescription scale, metric graduates, mortars and pestles,
filter paper, spatulas, funnel, stirring rod, ointment slab or
papers, distilled water, and prescription/physician order
files.

3.3.2 References:  Each pharmacy shall
maintain a library of the latest edition and supplements of
current reference sources, either hard copy or electronically
accessible, appropriate to the individual pharmacy practice
and to the care of the patients served.  References must:

3.3.2.1 Provide information on the
therapeutic use, dosing, pharmacology, adverse effects, and
interactions of drugs dispensed.

3.3.2.2 Provide information helpful in the
counseling of patients on the use of drugs dispensed.

3.3.2.3 Enable the pharmacist to properly
compound medicines within accepted standards of pharmacy
practice.

3.3.2.4 Include a listing of therapeutic
equivalents for drugs dispensed.

3.3.2.5 Include current Delaware and Federal
laws and regulations governing pharmacy and controlled
substances.

3.3.2.6 Provide any other information
necessary to the safe and effective practice of pharmacy for
the specific practice setting.

3.4 Physical Facilities. Have sufficient size, space,
sanitation, and environmental control for adequate
distribution, dispensing and storage of drugs and devices.
Such facilities shall include:

3.4.1 A dispensing area of adequate size and
space for proper compounding, dispensing and storage of
drugs and devices, to ensure the safety and well being of the
public and pharmacy personnel.

3.4.2 Sufficient environmental control, i.e.
lighting, ventilation, heating and cooling to maintain the
integrity of drugs and devices. The area in which drugs and
devices are stored shall be accurately monitored using
control devices to maintain room temperature between 59
degrees and 86 degrees Fahrenheit.

3.4.3 The pharmacy department or prescription
area must contain a sink with hot and cold running water.  It
must be large enough to accommodate the equipment
required by the Board so that the utensils can be properly
washed and sanitized.

3.4.4 Suitable refrigeration with appropriate
monitoring device. Refrigerators and freezers (where
required) will be maintained within the USP/NF range:

Refrigerator - 36 degrees to 46 degrees
Fahrenheit

Freezer - Minus 13 degrees to plus 14 degrees
Fahrenheit.

A sign with letters not less than 3/4" in height
in the vicinity of the prescription department visible to the
public which shows the name of the pharmacists employed
at that pharmacy or the name of the pharmacist on duty.

3.5 Building Standards. An application to operate a
new pharmacy must include (3) copies of floor plans drawn
to scale of the proposed prescription department. The floor
plans must include the following:

3.5.1 The requirements listed in §2534(f)(1)
through (4).

3.5.2 An area which assures patient privacy will
be provided to facilitate counseling. This area must afford
the patient privacy from auditory detection by any
unauthorized person or persons. An area partitioned by a 5
foot divider on 2 sides with a minimum of 9 square feet
would satisfy this requirement in most settings.

3.5.3 The floor plans shall include the location
of the sink, all doors, storage room, approved Schedule II
controlled substance safe or cabinet, and the method of
securing the prescription department from floor to ceiling,
when the prescription department is closed and the
remainder of the store is open.

3.5.4 The floor plans must include the type of
alarm system to be installed, and the name, address and
phone number of alarm provider. The alarm system, as
required by Regulation 5 of the Delaware Controlled
Substance Act, must be reviewed and approved for
compliance by the Office of Narcotics and Dangerous
Drugs.
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3.5.5 The above requirements shall also apply
for any remodeling or change of location of the prescription
department. The pharmacist-in-charge or applicant for
permit must submit the floor plans requirements to the
Delaware Board of Pharmacy and the Office of Narcotics
and Dangerous Drugs prior to any construction and at least
15 days prior to the next scheduled Board of Pharmacy
meeting for its review.

3.6 Security. When the pharmacist is not physically
present and the operation is open for business, the pharmacy
department shall be physically or electronically secured from
floor to ceiling. The partitioned off section required by 24
Del.C. §2534 must be five feet high measured from the
floor. A conspicuous sign with letters not less than three
inches in height, reading "PRESCRIPTION
LABORATORY TEMPORARILY CLOSED, NO
PROFESSIONAL SERVICES RENDERED," or words of
similar import, must be posted in the front section of the
operation or in front of the prescription area, room or
partitioned off section where it can be seen by the public.

3.7 Board Interview. Applicants for permit to operate a
pharmacy in the State of Delaware must appear before the
Board for an interview. The owner or authorized official
must be present in addition to the pharmacist-in-charge.
Whenever there is a change of pharmacist-in-charge, if that
person has never held that position in the State of Delaware,
he/she must appear before the Board for an interview within
ninety days after assuming the position.

Regulation 3.5.2 revised 6/16/97
Regulation 3.5.6 revised Effective date 10/11/98
2 DE Reg. 683 (10/1/98)
6 DE Reg. 488 (10/1/02)
7 DE Reg. 309 (9/1/03)
7 DE Reg. 1666 (6/1/04)
9 DE Reg. 85 (7/1/05)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5.0 Dispensing
5.1 Definitions

“Agent”  An employee of the pharmacy supervised
by the pharmacist or a person acting on behalf of the ultimate
user.

“Automated Data Processing System (ADP)”  A
system utilizing computer software and hardware for the
purposes of recordkeeping.

“Cell”  Any container which holds the medication
for automatic dispensing.

“Central Prescription Processing” The
processing by a Pharmacy of a request from another
Pharmacy to fill or refill a prescription drug order or to

perform processing functions such as dispensing, DUR,
claims adjudication, refill authorizations and therapeutic
interventions. 

“Common Data Base”  A file or data base created
by ADP that enables authorized users to have common
access to this file regardless of physical location.

“Compounding” The art of the extemporaneous
preparation and manipulation of drugs as a result of a
practitioner's prescription order or initiative based on the
practitioner/patient/pharmacist relationship in the course of
professional practice, including the reconstitution of
powders for administration and the preparation of drugs in
anticipation of drug orders based on routine, regularly
observed prescribing patterns. Pharmaceutical compounding
must be in compliance with FFDCA Section 503A and any
regulations promulgated by FDA concerning compounding,
pertaining to this section.

“Computer”  Programmable electronic device,
capable of multifunctions including but not limited to
storage, retrieval and processing of information.

“Controlled Substance” Those drug items
regulated by Federal (CSA of 1970) and/or State Controlled
(dangerous) Substances Act.

“CRT”  Cathode Ray Tube used to impose visual
information on a screen.

“Delivery”  The transfer of a dispensed
prescription to the ultimate user (patient) or his/her agent.

“Dispensing” To furnish or deliver a drug to an
ultimate user by or pursuant to the lawful order of a
practitioner; including the preparation, packaging, labeling
or compounding necessary to prepare the drug for that
delivery.

“Downtime” That period of time when a computer
is not operable.

“Facsimile (FAX) Prescription”  A facsimile
prescription is an order which is transmitted by an electronic
device over telephone lines which sends an exact copy image
to the receiver (pharmacy).

“Final Container” is that which holds the article,
designed to hold a quantity of drug product intended for
administration as a single dose, multiple dose, or a single
finished device intended for use promptly after the container
is opened.

“New Medication” A medication not previously
dispensed by the pharmacy for the ultimate user.

“Patient Counseling” The offer to discuss the
patient's prescription made by the pharmacist or the
pharmacist's designee in a face-to-face communication with
the patient or his/her agent, unless in the professional
judgment of the pharmacist it is deemed impracticable and in
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such instances, it would be permissible for the offer to
counsel to be made through alternative means.  

“Pertinent Patient Medication Information”
Information which increases the patient's ability to minimize
the risks and enhance the benefits of drug use. The type of
information the pharmacist should consider is contained in
the latest edition of USP DI "Advice for the Patient."

“Prescriber” A practitioner authorized to prescribe
and acting within the scope of this authorization.

“Prescription” An order for medication which is
dispensed to or for an ultimate user, but does not include an
order for medication which is dispensed for immediate
administration to the ultimate user, (e.g., an order to dispense
a drug to a bed patient for immediate administration in a
hospital is not a prescription.) A written order from a
practitioner authorized to prescribe and acting within the
scope of this authorization, (other terminology: prescription
order) or a telephone order reduced to writing by the
pharmacist.

“Printout”  A hard copy produced by computer
that is readable without the aid of any special device.

“Reduced to Writing”
For new prescriptions this means the

preparation of a paper document containing all the
information required for a written prescription including the
State requirement (Section 2553)for drug product selection;

For a refill authorization, it may be handled as
a new prescription as in above, or by placing on the original
prescription or the patient profile (whichever document is
consistently used to document refills) the date, a statement
"O.K. for 'x' number of additional refills", or words of
similar import, and the pharmacist's initials. In no instance,
shall the refill authorizations exceed the legal limits
established by State and Federal laws.

If the prescriber authorizing additional refills
differs from the Prescriber whose name appears on the
signature line of the original prescription, then that
authorization is considered a new prescription and must be
handled as described above.

“Regulatory Agency” Any Federal or State agency
charged with enforcement of pharmacy or drug laws and
regulations.

“Stop Date” A date established by an appropriate
authority which indicates when medication will no longer be
administered or dispensed in the absence of a specific time
period directed by the prescriber.

“Supportive personnel” A person who is not
registered as an intern or pharmacist with the Board who
may perform tasks as authorized by this Regulation.

5.2 The practice of dispensing shall include, but not be
limited to the following acts which shall be performed only

by a pharmacist, or a pharmacy intern or student
participating in an approved College of Pharmacy
coordinated, practical experience program under the direct
supervision of a pharmacist.

5.2.1 Receive oral prescriptions and reduce
them immediately to writing.

5.2.2 Certification of the prescription order -
(This involves authenticating the prescription, confirming
proper dosage and instructions, and reviewing for
incompatibility, etc.)

5.2.3 The pharmacist, intern or student who
dispenses the original prescription shall hand-sign or initial
the prescription. Initials mechanically or electronically
generated are acceptable in lieu of the above provided that
the individual verifies either on a daily printout or in a bound
log book daily that the information on the prescription is
correct.  The verification must be hand-signed and dated by
the individual.

5.3 Patient Counseling
5.3.1 Before dispensing or delivering a new

medication to a patient or his or her agent, a pharmacist or
pharmacy intern under the direct supervision of the
pharmacist, shall conduct a prospective drug review. A
pharmacist or pharmacy intern or student participating in an
approved College of Pharmacy coordinated practical
experience program and working under the direct
supervision of the pharmacist, shall conduct a prospective
drug review. A prospective drug review may be conducted
before refilling a prescription to the extent deemed
appropriate. A prospective drug review shall include
screening for potential drug therapy problems due to
therapeutic duplication, drug-drug interactions, including
serious interactions with over-the-counter drugs,
drug-disease contraindications, if disease is known, incorrect
drug dosage or duration of drug treatment, drug-allergy
interactions, and clinical abuse or misuse based on available
information received by the pharmacist.

5.3.2 A pharmacist, or a pharmacy intern or
student participating in an approved College of Pharmacy
coordinated practical experience program and working under
the direct supervision of a pharmacist shall, with each new
medication dispensed, provide verbal counseling to the
patient or the patient's agent on pertinent medication
information.  The counseling may include, but not be limited
to the following:

5.3.2.1 the name and description of the
prescribed drug;

5.3.2.2 the dosage and the dosage form;
5.3.2.3 the method and route of

administration;
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5.3.2.4 the duration of the prescribed drug
therapy;

5.3.2.5 any special directions and precautions
for preparation, administration, and use by the patient that
the pharmacist determines are necessary;

5.3.2.6 common severe side effects or
adverse effects or interactions and therapeutic
contraindications that may be encountered, how to avoid
them, and what actions should be taken if they occur;

5.3.2.7 patient techniques for self-monitoring
of the drug therapy;

5.3.2.8 proper storage;
5.3.2.9 prescription refill information;
5.3.2.10 the action to be taken in the event of a

missed dose; and
5.3.2.11 current over-the-counter medication

use.
5.3.3 This section does not apply to a

pharmacist dispensing drugs for inpatient use in a hospital or
other institution where the drug is to be administered by a
nurse or other appropriate health care provider.

5.3.4 Nothing in this section requires a
pharmacist or pharmacy intern or student participating in an
approved College of Pharmacy coordinated practical
experience program and working under the direct
supervision of a pharmacist, to provide patient counseling
when a patient or the patient's agent refuses the counseling.
There must be a record in a uniform place that documents a
patient's acceptance or refusal of counseling.

5.3.5 If the dispensed prescription is delivered
by an agent of the pharmacy when the pharmacist is not
present (i.e. home delivery, pharmacist off duty and
non-resident pharmacies) written or printed information
shall be included with the prescription. The patient or his/her
agent shall be informed that the pharmacist will be available
for consultation.

5.4 Supportive personnel
5.4.1 Qualifications and training

5.4.1.1 The pharmacist-in-charge is
responsible for ensuring proper training of all supportive
personnel. The actual training may be delegated to a
pharmacist or other trained supportive personnel.

5.4.1.2 The areas of training required are to
be determined by the pharmacist-in-charge and will be
appropriate to  the practice site and responsibilities assigned
to the supportive personnel.  Areas of training shall include:

5.4.1.2.1 general drug and dosage
form knowledge

5.4.1.2.2 medical terminology 
5.4.1.2.3 pharmaceutical calculations

5.4.1.2.4 prescription labeling
requirements

5.4.1.2.5 general filling/dispensing
responsibilities

5.4.1.2.6 patient profile record system
requirements

5.4.1.2.7 requirements for patient
counseling

5.4.1.2.8 confidentiality
5.4.1.2.9 safety practices

        5.4.1.2.10 inventory functions
5.4.1.2.11 knowledge of applicable

State and Federal Statutes and Regulations
5.4.1.2.12 other site-specific

parameters
5.4.1.3 The general content of the training

program must be maintained in the policy and procedure
manual.

5.4.1.4 Documentation of successful training
in specific areas by oral or written evaluation will be
maintained and will be available for inspection by the Board
of Pharmacy. 

5.4.2 Supervision. Supportive personnel must be
supervised by a registered pharmacist who will be
responsible for  the activities of these persons.

5.4.3 Activities allowed
5.4.3.1 Supportive personnel will be allowed

to perform only those duties permitted by this regulation.
5.4.3.2 Supportive personnel may aid in the

dispensing of prescriptions as authorized in Section 2513
under the supervision of a pharmacist by performing the
following tasks:

5.4.3.2.1 Obtaining the medication
from stock.

5.4.3.2.2 Typing the label after the
pharmacist has interpreted the directions.

5.4.3.2.3 Counting, pouring and
selecting prefabricated medications and selecting individual
prepackaged unit dose medication provided that these are not
in conflict with the state and federal law (Federal
Comprehensive Controlled Substances Act) and that a final
check by the pharmacist is made after the medication is
placed in the final container prior to dispensing and
administration to the patient. There will be a final check by a
licensed pharmacist prior to dispensing and administration,
except where the Board of Pharmacy grants, in writing, an
exemption for good cause shown.

5.4.3.3 Compounding is the responsibility of
the pharmacist or pharmacy intern under the direct
supervision of the pharmacist. All compounding must be in
compliance with FFDCA Section 503A and any regulations
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promulgated by FDA concerning compounding pertaining to
this section. The pharmacist may utilize the assistance of
supportive personnel if the following is performed:

5.4.3.3.1 The formulation is
developed by the pharmacist before proceeding with the
compounding.

5.4.3.3.2 The compounding
ingredients are checked by the pharmacist before proceeding
with the compounding.

5.4.3.3.3 Every weight and
measurement is checked by the pharmacist before
proceeding with the compounding.

5.4.3.3.4 The finished product is
checked by the pharmacist before dispensing.

5.4.3.3.5 A log is maintained showing
the identity of the person actually compounding the
medication and the identity of the pharmacist who has
performed each of the checks indicated above for each step
of the procedure. If policies and procedures are in place
ensuring adequate checks by the pharmacist per regulation,
the requirement for a log will be waived.

5.4.3.4 Only supportive personnel or persons
being trained as supportive personnel as required by this
regulation, may perform the activities defined by this
regulation.

5.5 Automatic Dispensing Devices. If any automatic
counting device is used by a pharmacy, each cell shall have
clearly displayed thereon, the date filled, the name of the
drug, the batch number, the manufacturer's name, and the
expiration date of the particular batch number. No drug can
be added to the cell until the present supply is depleted. 

5.6 Authorization for renewal of prescriptions. A
prescription written for medication which, pursuant to State
and Federal law, may be sold, dispensed, or furnished only
upon prescription, shall not be renewed without specific
authorization of the prescriber. The pharmacist shall in his/
her professional judgment refill prescriptions in keeping
with the number of doses ordered and the directions for use.
Refills beyond one year of the date of the original
prescription shall not be dispensed without further
authorization of the prescriber.

5.7 Mandatory Patient Profile Record System
5.7.1 A patient profile record system must be

maintained at all pharmacies for persons for whom
prescriptions are dispensed. The patient profile system shall
be devised so as to entitle the immediate retrieval of
information necessary to enable the dispensing pharmacist to
identify previously dispensed medication at the time a
prescription is presented for dispensing.  

5.7.2 The following information shall be
recorded by a pharmacist or designee:

5.7.2.1 The family name and first name of the
person for whom the medication is intended (the patient);

5.7.2.2 The address of the patient and phone
number;

5.7.2.3 The patient's age, or date of birth, and
gender;

5.7.2.4 The original date the medication is
dispensed pursuant to the receipt of a prescriber’s
prescription;

5.7.2.5 The number or designation
identifying the prescription;

5.7.2.6 The prescriber's name;
5.7.2.7 The name, strength, quantity,

directions and refill information of the drug dispensed;
5.7.2.8 The initials of the dispensing

pharmacist and the date of dispensing medication as a
renewal (refill) if said initials and such date are not recorded
on the original prescription;

5.7.2.9 If the patient refuses to give all or part
of the required information, the pharmacist shall so indicate
and initial in the appropriate area.

5.7.2.10 Pharmacist comments relevant to the
patient's drug therapy, including any other information
peculiar to the specific patient or drug.

5.7.3 The pharmacist or pharmacy intern under
the direct supervision of a pharmacist shall attempt to
ascertain and shall record any allergies and idiosyncrasies of
the patient and any chronic disease states and frequently
used over-the-counter medication as communicated to the
pharmacist by the patient.  If the answer is none, this must be
indicated on the profile.

5.7.4 Upon receipt of a new prescription, a
pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or student participating in a
College of Pharmacy practical experience program under the
direct supervision of a pharmacist must examine the
patient’s profile record before dispensing the medication to
determine the possibility of a harmful drug interaction or
reaction.  Upon recognizing a potential harmful reaction or
interaction, the pharmacist shall take appropriate action to
avoid or minimize the problem with shall, if necessary,
include consultation with the prescriber.

5.7.2.5 The number or designation
identifying the prescription;

5.7.2.6 The prescriber's name;
5.7.2.7 The name, strength, quantity,

directions and refill information of the drug dispensed;
5.7.2.8 The initials of the dispensing

pharmacist and the date of dispensing medication as a
renewal (refill) if said initials and such date are not recorded
on the original prescription;
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5.7.2.9 If the patient refuses to give all or part
of the required information, the pharmacist shall so indicate
and initial in the appropriate area.

5.7.2.10 Pharmacist comments relevant to the
patient's drug therapy, including any other information
peculiar to the specific patient or drug.

5.7.3 The pharmacist or pharmacy intern under
the direct supervision of a pharmacist shall attempt to
ascertain and shall record any allergies and idiosyncrasies of
the patient and any chronic disease states and frequently
used over-the-counter medication as communicated to the
pharmacist by the patient. If the answer is none, this must be
indicated on the profile.

5.7.4 Upon receipt of a new prescription, a
pharmacist pharmacy intern or student participating in a
College of Pharmacy practical experience program under the
direct supervision of a pharmacist must examine the patient's
profile record before dispensing the medication to determine
the possibility of a harmful drug interaction or reaction.
Upon recognizing a potential harmful reaction or interaction,
the pharmacist shall take appropriate action to avoid or
minimize the problem which shall, if necessary, include
consultation with the prescriber.

5.7.5 A patient profile record must be
maintained for a period of not less than one year from the
date of the last entry in the profile record unless it is also
used as a dispensing record.

5.8 Exchange of Valid Non-Controlled Prescriptions
Between Pharmacies

5.8.1 Verbal Exchange of Prescriptions - When
a pharmacy receives a verbal request for a prescription
transfer, it may be honored provided that:

5.8.1.1 The request comes from a registered
pharmacist.

5.8.1.2 The copy is immediately reduced to
writing and contains the information required on a written
prescription as listed in Regulation 5.0, and  includes the first
and last name of the pharmacist transmitting the information.

5.8.1.3 The prescription used for refills must
be clearly identified as a copy. 

5.8.1.4 The copy shows the date and the file
number of the original prescription and indicates the name
and address of the pharmacy providing the copy.

5.8.1.5 The copy shows the last date of
dispensing.

5.8.1.6 Only the actual number of refills
remaining are indicated.

5.8.1.7 A notation indicating a copy was
given and refills are no longer valid must be placed on either
the original prescription or patient profile. The document

used must be the same one used for the recording of refills
per the pharmacy's policy.

5.8.2 A copy prepared or transmitted that does
not meet the requirements of this Regulation is deemed to be
an invalid prescription.

5.8.3 Written copies of prescriptions are for
information only and are not valid for refilling.

5.9 Automated Data Processing Systems
5.9.1 Profiles. When ADP's are used to maintain

patient profile records, all the requirements of Delaware
Pharmacy Regulation 5.0 must be met.

5.9.2 Prescription (Drug Order) Information.
Prescription information (drug order) shall include, but not
be limited to:

5.9.2.1 Original dispensing date
5.9.2.2 Name and address of patient (patient

location if in an institution)
5.9.2.3 Name of prescriber
5.9.2.4 DEA number of prescriber in the case

of a controlled substance
5.9.2.5 Name, strength, dosage form and

quantity, (or Stop Date), and route of administration if other
than oral form of drug prescribed

5.9.2.6 Renewals authorized
5.9.2.7 Directions of use for patient

5.9.3 Records of Dispensing. Records of
dispensing for original and refill prescriptions are to be made
and kept by pharmacies for three years. Information must be
immediately accessible for a period of not less than one year
from the date of last entry.  Information beyond one year but
up to three years from the date of last entry may be
maintained off-line but must be produced no later than five
days upon request from proper authorities. The information
shall include, but not be limited to:

5.9.3.1 Quantity dispensed
5.9.3.2 Date of dispensing
5.9.3.3 Serial Number (or equivalent if an

institution)
5.9.3.4 The identification of the pharmacist

responsible for dispensing
5.9.3.5 Record of renewals to date
5.9.3.6 Name and strength of medicine

5.9.4 Record Retrieval (Documentation of
Activity).  Any such ADP system must provide via CRT
display and or hard copy printout a current history of all
authorized prescription activity. This information shall
include, but not be limited to:

5.9.4.1 Serial number of prescription
(equivalent if an institution)

5.9.4.2 Date of processing
5.9.4.3 Quantity dispensed
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5.9.4.4 The identification of the pharmacist

responsible for dispensing
5.9.4.5 Medication dispensed

5.9.5 Auxiliary Recordkeeping System. An
auxiliary recordkeeping system shall be established for the
documentation of renewals if the ADP is inoperative for any
reason. The auxiliary system shall insure that all renewals
are authorized by the original prescription and that the
maximum number of renewals are not exceeded. When the
ADP is restored to operation, the information regarding
prescriptions dispensed and renewed during the inoperative
period shall be entered into the automated data processing
system.

5.9.6 Common Data Base. Two or more
pharmacies may establish and use a common data file or
base to maintain required or pertinent dispensing
information. Pharmacies using such a common file are not
required to transfer prescriptions or information for
dispensing purposes between or among pharmacies
participating in the same common prescription file or data
base; provided however, any such common file must contain
complete and adequate records of such prescription and
renewals dispensed. Where common data base is used, this
shall not be considered a transfer under Board Regulation
5.0 for non-controlled substances.

5.9.7 Transfer of Prescriptions via ADP. A
pharmacist may transfer a prescription electronically (ADP)
for Schedule III, IV, or V controlled substances to another
pharmacy for renewal purposes in accordance with Title 21,
Code of Federal Regulations Section 1306.26.  A pharmacist
may transfer a prescription electronically (ADP) for
non-controlled drug for renewal purposes in accordance with
current State Regulations.

5.9.7.1 Any pharmacy using ADP must
comply with all applicable State and Federal regulations.

5.9.7.2 A pharmacy shall make arrangements
with the supplier of data processing services or materials to
assure that the pharmacy continues to have adequate and
complete prescription and dispensing records if the
relationship with such supplier terminates for any reason. A
pharmacy shall assure continuity in maintenance of records.

5.9.7.3 The computer record shall reflect the
fact that the prescription order has been transferred, the
name of the pharmacy to which it was transferred, the date of
transfer, the name of the pharmacist transferring
information, and any remaining refill information, if
applicable.

5.9.7.4 The pharmacist receiving the
transferred prescription drug order shall reduce it to writing
with the following information:

5.9.7.4.1 Write the word
"TRANSFER" on the face of the transferred prescription.

5.9.7.4.2 Provide all information
required to be on the prescription drug order pursuant to
State and Federal laws and regulations.

5.9.7.5 To maintain the confidentiality of
patient's prescriptions (drug orders) or other pertinent
records, there must exist adequate safeguards of security.
This shall also pertain to prevent non-user access.

5.10 Electronic Transmission Of Prescriptions
5.10.1 All Prescription Drug Orders

communicated by way of Electronic Transmission shall:
5.10.1.1 be transmitted directly to a

Pharmacist in a licensed Pharmacy of the patient’s choice
with no intervening Person having access to the Prescription
Drug Order;

5.10.1.2 identify the transmitter’s phone
number for verbal confirmation, the time and date of
transmission, and the identity of the Pharmacy intended to
receive the transmission, as well as any other information
required by Federal or State law;

5.10.1.3 be transmitted by an authorized
Practitioner or his designated agent; and

5.10.1.4 be deemed the original
Prescription Drug Order provided it meets the requirements
of this subsection.

5.10.2 The prescribing Practitioner may authorize
his agent to communicate a Prescription Drug Order orally
or by way of Electronic Transmission to a Pharmacist in a
licensed Pharmacy, provided that the identity of the
transmitting agent is included in the order.

5.10.3 The Pharmacist shall exercise professional
judgment regarding the accuracy, validity, and authenticity
of the Prescription Drug Order communicated by way of
Electronic Transmission consistent with existing Federal or
State laws and rules.

5.10.4 All electronic equipment for receipt of
Prescription Drug Orders communicated by way of
Electronic Transmission shall be maintained so as to ensure
against unauthorized access.

5.10.5 Persons other than those bound by a
confidentiality agreement pursuant to Section 2.A. (2)(k)
shall not have access to Pharmacy records containing
Confidential Information or personally identifiable
information concerning the Pharmacy’s patients.

5.10.6 Controlled substance prescriptions may
only be electronically transmitted via a facsimile.

5.10.7 Facsimile prescriptions must meet the
following requirements in addition to the above listed
electronic Transmission requirements.
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5.10.7.1 The prescription order shall
include the fax number of the transmitter, the number of
transmitted pages, the name, phone number, and electronic
number of the pharmacy intended to receive the
transmission, and a confidentiality statement in bold type
stating the electronic transmission should not be seen by
unauthorized persons.  

5.10.7.2 Unless the prescription is written
for a schedule II controlled substance, the prescriber should
not issue the written prescription to the patient.

5.10.7.3 A facsimile transmitted
prescription order must be reduced to writing, unless
received as a non-fading document, with a notation that the
order was received by facsimile.

5.10.7.4 The receiving facsimile machine
must be in the prescription department to protect
patient-pharmacist-authorized prescriber confidentiality and
security.

5.10.7.5 Both non-controlled and
controlled substance prescriptions may be transmitted via
facsimile following state and federal requirements. All
prescription orders for controlled substances shall be
hand-signed by the practitioner.

5.11 Return of Medications and Supply
5.11.1 Prescriptions and items of personal

hygiene shall not be accepted for return or exchange by any
pharmacist or pharmacy after such prescription or items of
personal hygiene have been taken from the premises where
sold, distributed or dispensed.

5.11.2 Products under the direct control of a
health care professional which are packaged in manufacturer
unit dose or tamper-proof unopened bulk containers, tamper
proof seal in tact, including unused multi-dose punch cards,
may be redispensed in accordance with expiration dating in
customized patient medication package. Partially used
products may not be redispensed. Nothing in this regulation
precludes the Federal laws and regulations.

5.12 Centralized Prescription Processing
5.12.1 A Pharmacy may perform or outsource

centralized prescription processing, services provided the
parties:

5.12.1.1 have the same owner; or
5.12.1.2 have a written contract outlining

the services to be provided and the responsibilities and
accountabilities of each party in fulfilling the terms of said
contract in compliance with federal and state laws and
regulations; and

5.12.1.3 share a common electronic file or
have appropriate technology to allow access to sufficient
information necessary or required to fill or refill a
prescription drug order.

            5.12.2 The parties performing or contracting for
centralized prescription processing services shall maintain a
policy and procedures manual and documentation that
implementation is occurring in a manner that shall be made
available to the Board for review upon request and that
includes, but is not limited to, the following:

5.12.2.1 A description of how the parties
will comply with federal and state laws and regulations;

5.12.2.2 The maintenance of appropriate
records to identify the responsible pharmacist(s) in the
dispensing and counseling processes;

5.12.2.3 The maintenance of a mechanism
for tracking the prescription drug order during each step in
the dispensing process;

5.12.2.4 The maintenance of a mechanism
to identify on the prescription label all pharmacies involved
in dispensing the prescription drug, order;

5.12.2.5 The provision of adequate
security to protect the confidentiality and integrity of patient
information;

5.12.2.6 The maintenance of a quality
assurance program for pharmacy services designed to
objectively and systematically monitor and evaluate the
quality and appropriateness of patient care, pursue
opportunities to improve patient care, and resolve identified
problems.

5.12.3 In addition to the requirements of 24
Del.C. §2536, all drugs dispensed to a patient that have been
filled via a centralized prescription processing system shall
bear a label containing an identifiable code that provides a
complete audit trail of the dispensing of the drug and
pharmaceutical care activities.

5.13 Compounded medications for office use
5.13.1 On the order of a practitioner,

compounded products may be sold to the practitioner for use
in his or her office to administer to individual patients, but
not for resale.

Effective Date:  October 11, 1996
Effective Date:  April 14, 1997 Section 5.4 revised 
Effective Date:  June 11, 1998
Amended Effective September 11, 1999
1 DE Reg. 1965 (6/1/98)
3 DE Reg. 431 (9/1/99)
4 DE Reg. 163 (7/1/00)
4 DE Reg. 682 (10/1/00)
9 DE Reg. 85 (7/1/05)

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

13.0  Nuclear Pharmacy Regulations
13.1  Purpose and Scope
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13.1.1  The purpose of this regulation is to

recognize the practice of nuclear pharmacy as a specialty of
pharmacy practice to be regulated by the Delaware State
Board of Pharmacy. As such, the following rules are
included to address those areas specific to this specialty
practice.

13.1.2  Nuclear Pharmacy practice refers to a
patient oriented service that embodies the scientific
knowledge and professional judgment required to improve
and promote health through the assurance of the safe and
efficacious use of radiopharmaceuticals and other drugs.

13.2  Definitions
“Authentication of Product History” includes,

but is not limited to, identifying the purchasing source, the
ultimate fate, and any intermediate handling of any
component of a radiopharmaceutical.

“Authorized Personnel” means any individual
trained through management to be permitted to perform
assigned duties in a safe and effective manner.

“Authorized User” means any individual or
institution named on a radioactive materials licensed.

“Nuclear Pharmacy” is a pharmacy which
provides radiopharmaceutical services.

“Qualified Nuclear Pharmacist” is a currently
licensed pharmacist in the State of Delaware who meets
either of the following criteria:

Must be currently certified as a nuclear pharmacist
by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties.

Must have successfully completed a minimum of
700 contact hours of instruction in nuclear pharmacy and the safe
handling and use of radioactive materials from a nationally
accredited college of pharmacy or from an American Council on
Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE)-approved training program.
The training qualifications are described in 13.6.

“Radiopharmaceutical Quality Assurance”
means, but is not limited to, the performance of tests on
radiopharmaceuticals to ascertain the radionuclidic,
radiochemical, chemical, physical, and microbiological
purity and the interpretation of the resulting data to
determine their suitability for use in humans and animals,
including internal test assessment, authentication of product
history, and the keeping of proper records.

“Radiopharmaceutical Services” means, but shall
not be limited to, the procurement, storage, handling,
preparation, labeling, quality assurance testing, dispensing,
delivery, record keeping, and disposal of
radiopharmaceuticals and other drugs.

“Radiopharmaceuticals” are radioactive drugs as
defined by the FDA to include any drug which exhibits
spontaneous disintegration of unstable nuclei with the
emission of nuclear particles or photons and includes any
non radioactive reagent kit or nuclide generator which is

intended to be used in the preparation of any such substance.
This definition does not include drugs such as carbon
containing compounds or potassium containing salts which
contain trace quantities of naturally occurring radionuclides.
The term radiopharmaceutical also includes any biological
product which is labeled with a radionuclide or intended
solely to be labeled with a radionuclide.

“Restricted Area” means any area the access to which is
controlled by the license for purpose of protection of individuals
from exposure to radiation and radioactive materials.

“Unrestricted Area” means any area the access to
which is not controlled by the licensee for purpose of
protection of individuals from exposure to radiation and
radioactive materials.

13.3  Nuclear Pharmacy—general Requirements.  The
process employed by any permit holder in this state
concerning the handling of radioactive materials must
involve procedures for the purchase receipt, storage,
manipulation, compounding, distribution and disposal of
radioactive materials.  In order to insure the public health
and safety in this respect, a nuclear pharmacy in this state
shall meet the following general requirements:

13.3.1  A nuclear pharmacy may be managed only
by a qualified pharmacist acting in the capacity of a
pharmacist-in-charge who shall be responsible for the
compliance with all laws and regulations, both state and
federal pertaining to radiopharmaceuticals and
radiopharmaceutical services. An actively licensed qualified
nuclear pharmacist must personally supervise the operation
of only one nuclear pharmacy when radiopharmaceutical
services are being performed.

13.3.2  The nuclear pharmacy area shall be secured from
access by unauthorized personnel.

13.3.3  Each nuclear pharmacist shall maintain accurate
records of the acquisition, inventory, distribution, and disposal of
all radiopharmaceuticals.

13.3.4  All nuclear pharmacies shall provide
adequate space for radioactive storage and a product decay
area.

13.3.5  Nuclear pharmacies shall comply with all
applicable laws and regulations of federal and state agencies
for the procurement, secure storage, inventory, preparation,
distribution and disposal of radiopharmaceuticals and other
drugs.

13.3.6  Radiopharmaceuticals are to be distributed
only upon a prescription order from an authorized licensed
medical practitioner or through the practitioner's agent.

13.3.7  A nuclear pharmacist shall transfer
radioactive materials in accordance with all applicable laws
and regulations.

13.3.8  A nuclear pharmacy upon receiving an oral
prescription order for a radiopharmaceutical shall
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immediately have the prescription order reduced to writing
or recorded in a data processing system which shall contain
at least the following:

13.3.8.1  the name of the authorized user or his
agent;

13.3.8.2  the date of distribution and the time of
administration of the radiopharmaceutical;

13.3.8.3  the name of procedure;
13.3.8.4  the name of the radiopharmaceutical;
13.3.8.5  the prescription number assigned to

the order for the radiopharmaceutical;
13.3.8.6  any specific instructions; and
13.3.8.7  the initials of the person who received

the order.
13.3.8.8  When the order is for a therapeutic or

blood-product radiopharmaceutical, the patient's name must
be obtained and recorded prior to dispensing.

13.3.8.9  If the product is for a therapeutic
radiopharmaceutical the patient's name must be obtained and
recorded (i.e. verified) by a pharmacist when the pharmacy
receives an oral prescription.

13.3.9  In addition to other labeling requirements of
the Board of Pharmacy for non-radioactive pharmaceuticals,
the immediate outer container shield of a
radiopharmaceutical to be dispensed shall be labeled with:

13.3.9.1  the name and address of the
pharmacy;

13.3.9.2  the name of the prescriber;
13.3.9.3  the name of the procedure;
13.3.9.4  the standard radiation symbol;
13.3.9.5  the words "caution Radioactive

material";
13.3.9.6  the prescription number of the

radiopharmaceutical;
13.3.9.7  the radionuclide and chemical form;
13.3.9.8  the amount of radioactive material

contained in millicuries (mCi), or microcuries (uCi) and the
corresponding time that applies to this activity, if different
from 13.3.9.9 of this paragraph;

13.3.9.9  the calibration date and time;
13.3.9.10  the expiration date and time;
13.3.9.11  if a liquid, the volume;
13.3.9.12  if a solid, the number of items or

weight;
13.3.9.13  if a gas, the number of ampules or

vials;
13.3.9.14  molybdenum-99 content to USP

limits; and
13.3.9.15  the name of the patient or the words

"Physicians Use Only" in the absence of a patient name.  If
the order is for a therapeutic or blood-product

radiopharmaceutical, the patient's name must be obtained
and recorded prior to dispensing.  The requirements of this
subsection shall be met when the name of the patient is
readily retrievable from the physician upon demand.

13.3.10  The immediate inner container label of a
radiopharmaceutical to be distributed shall also be labeled
with:

13.3.10.1  the standard radiation symbol
13.3.10.2  the words "Caution Radioactive

Material"
13.3.10.3  the radionuclide;
13.3.10.4  the amount of radioactivity in mCi

or uCi;
13.3.10.5  the calibration date and time
13.3.10.6  the prescription number of the

radiopharmaceutical; and
13.3.10.7  the pharmacy name; and
13.3.10.8  the name of the patient or the words

"Physicians use only" in the absence of a patient name.  If
the order is for a therapeutic or blood-product
radiopharmaceutical, the patient's name must be on the label.

13.4  Nuclear Pharmacy—minimum Requirements.  All
nuclear pharmacies must meet the requirements of the Department
of Health and Rehabilitative Services for the control of radiation
hazards and applicable requirements of the Federal Food and Drug
Administration.  In addition, in order to insure compliance with
general safety requirements, the following additional minimum
requirements must be met by a nuclear pharmacy:

13.4.1  Physical Facilities
13.4.1.1  Each nuclear pharmacy shall have an

area for the storage, compounding, distribution and disposal
of radiopharmaceuticals which shall be adequate to
completely separate such radioactive pharmaceuticals from
pharmacy areas which contain non radioactive medicinal
drugs.

13.4.1.2  The nuclear pharmacy facility shall
have adequate space commensurate with the scope of
services.

13.4.2  Equipment:
13.4.2.1  Vertical laminar air flow unit (hood)

used as a shielded radiation containment drawing station;
13.4.2.2  Exhaust/fume unit (hood) with engineering

controls to assure airborne concentrations in compliance with
federal regulations for storage and handling of all volatile
radioactive drugs, if applicable;

13.4.2.3  Vertical laminar flow biological safety
cabinet to be used for all compounding of applicable
radiopharmaceuticals (i.e. blood products; white blood cells
procedures);

13.4.2.4  Dose calibrator;
13.4.2.5  Well scintillation counters;
13.4.2.6  Area rate meters;
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13.4.2.7  Geiger-Mueller (GM) Survey meters;
13.4.2.8  Refrigerator;
13.4.2.9  Microscope;
13.4.2.10  Hemacytometer
13.4.2.11  Leaded glass syringe shields;
13.4.2.12  Personal radiation detection devices

13.4.3  Supplies:
13.4.3.1  Syringes and vials required to

perform practice;
13.4.3.2  Disposable gloves and protective lab

coats;
13.4.3.2  Supplies to insure sterile practices for

I.V. solutions and preparations;
13.4.3.3  Supplies to perform thin layer

chromotography;
13.4.3.4  Lead transport shields for syringes

and vials;
13.4.3.5  D.O.T. type 7A approved transport

containers and other labels and supplies for shipping
radioactive materials.

13.4.4  Library/Current references:  In addition to
the reference requirements of Regulation 3.0, a nuclear
pharmacy shall maintain a reference library which shall
include the following:

13.4.4.1  NRC Title 10 CFR, Code of Federal
Regulations;

13.4.4.2  NRC Title 21 CFR, Code of Federal
Regulations;

13.4.4.3  NRC Title 49 CFR, Code of Federal
Regulations;

13.4.4.4  NABP Nuclear Pharmacy Practice
Guidelines;

13.4.4.5  A minimum of three current edition
texts dealing with nuclear medicine science;

13.4.4.6  A copy of the procedure manual.
13.4.4.7  Delaware Radiation Control

Regulations
13.5  Records.

13.5.1  Policy and procedure manual. All nuclear
pharmacies shall maintain a policy and procedure manual. The
nuclear pharmacy policy and procedure manual is a compilation of
written policy and procedure statements.

13.5.2  A technical operations manual governing all
nuclear pharmacy functions shall be prepared.  It shall be
continually revised to reflect changes in techniques, organization,
etc.  All pharmacy personnel shall be familiar with the contents of
the manual.

13.5.3  The nuclear pharmacy policies and procedures
manual shall be prepared by the pharmacist-in-charge with input
from other pharmacy staff members.

13.6  Training Qualifications

13.6.1  A pharmacist licensed to practice pharmacy
in this state who performs a radiopharmaceutical service
shall, prior to engaging in such specialized practice, be
qualified as a nuclear pharmacist and licensed by the Board
of Pharmacy.

13.6.2  Qualifications for a nuclear pharmacist are
as follows:

13.6.2.1  A pharmacist shall:
13.6.2.1.1  be a pharmacist licensed by the

Board to practice pharmacy in Delaware.
13.6.2.1.2  submit to the Board either:

13.6.2.1.2.1  Certification that he or
she has successfully completed a minimum of four months
on the job training providing radioactive drug services under
the supervision of a nuclear pharmacist;

13.6.2.1.2.2  certification that he or
she has successfully completed a nuclear pharmacy training
program in an accredited college; or

13.6.2.1.2.3  an application, in
affidavit form, along with such other information the Board
may require, requesting partial or equivalent credit for
education and experience gained in programs not sponsored
by an accredited college of pharmacy.

13.6.2.2  A qualified pharmacist seeking
licensure as a nuclear pharmacist in the state shall submit to
the Board of Pharmacy a course outline from an accredited
college of pharmacy or other program recognized by the
Delaware Board of Pharmacy (a program comparable to
those offered by accredited colleges of pharmacy for the
training of nuclear pharmacists), and a certificate of training
which provides a minimum of 200 clock hours of formal
didactic training, which includes:

13.6.2.2.1  Radiation protection (45
hours);

13.6.2.2.2  Radiation physics and
instrumentation (85 hours);

13.6.2.2.3  Mathematics of radioactivity
(20 hours);

13.6.2.2.4  Radiation biology (20 hours);
and

13.6.2.2.5  Radiopharmaceutical
chemistry (30 hours).

13.6.2.3  Proof of attaining a minimum of 500
hours of clinical nuclear pharmacy training under the
supervision of a qualified nuclear pharmacist.  The training
and experience shall include, but shall not be limited to the
following:

13.6.2.3.1  Procurement
13.6.2.3.2  Compounding
13.6.2.3.3  Quality Assurance
13.6.2.3.4  Dispensing
13.6.2.3.5  Distribution
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13.6.2.3.6  Health and Safety
13.6.2.3.7  Provisions of Information and

Consultation
13.6.2.3.8  Monitoring patient outcome
13.6.2.3.9  Research and Development

13.7  Nuclear Pharmacist Continuing Education
13.7.1  Proof satisfactory that a nuclear pharmacist

licensed pursuant to this section, has met the requirements
necessary for biennial renewal of this license shall be constituted by
the following:

13.7.1.1  The licensee has completed no less than ten
(10) out of the total requirements of 30 hours of coursework each
two-year period by or through a committee-approved provider (e.g
ACPE), instructionally designed to provide in-depth treatment of
nuclear pharmacy practice.

13.7.1.2  Content of nuclear pharmacist
continuing education program can include, but not be limited
to the following:

13.7.1.2.1  Formulation and quality
control issues in nuclear pharmacy

13.7.1.2.2  Radionuclide therapy in
nuclear pharmacy

13.7.1.2.3  Radiopharmaceutical updates
for target organs

13.7.1.2.4  Current concepts in radiation
physics, radiation biology and exposure.

13.7.1.2.5  Current principles of radiation
safety

13.7.1.2.6  Current principles of nuclear
pharmacy management

13.7.1.2.7  Advances in drug,
radiopharmacuetical, or related technology (including but
not limited to monoclonal antibodies, peptides, magnetic
resonance imaging, positron emission tomography, novel
radionuclide therapy and other applicable issues.

Effective 09/23/95
13.1 Purpose and Scope.

The Practice of Nuclear/Radiological
Pharmacy is hereby recognized as a specialty of Pharmacy
practice, regulated by the Delaware Board of Pharmacy.  As
such, the following rules are included to address those areas
specific or unique to this specialty practice. Nuclear/
Radiological Pharmacy Practice refers to patient-oriented
and institutional services that embody the scientific
knowledge and professional judgment required to improve
and promote health through the assurance of the safe and
efficacious use of radiopharmaceuticals and other drugs.

13.2 Definitions
“Authentication of Product History” means, but

is not limited to, identifying the purchase sources, and any
handling of any Component of a radiopharmaceutical.

“Internal Test Assessment” means, but is not
limited to, conducting those tests of quality assurance
necessary to ensure the integrity of the product.

“Nuclear Pharmacy” means a Pharmacy
providing radiopharmaceutical services or, as provided in
Section 3 of these rules, an appropriate area of any
Institutional Facility.

“Qualified Nuclear Pharmacist” means a
currently licensed Pharmacist in the State of Delaware, who
is certified as a Nuclear Pharmacist by a certification Board
recognized by the Delaware Board of Pharmacy, or who
meets the following standards set by the Delaware Board of
Pharmacy:

Satisfied the minimum standards of training for
“authorized user status” of   radioactive material as included
in the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) licensure
guide.

Completed a minimum of 200 contact hours of
instruction in nuclear Pharmacy and the safe handling and
the use of radioactive materials from a program approved by
the NRC or the Office of Radiation Control (ORC), with
emphasis in the following areas:  radiation physics and
instrumentation; radiation protection; mathematics of
radioactivity; radiation biology; and radiopharmaceutical
chemistry.

Attained a minimum of 500 hours of clinical
nuclear Pharmacy training under the supervision of a
qualified nuclear Pharmacist.

“Radiopharmaceutical Quality Assurance”
means, but is not limited to, the performance of appropriate
chemical, biological, and physical tests on potential
radiopharmaceuticals and the interpretation of the resulting
data to determine their suitability for use in humans and
animals, including internal test assessment, authentication of
product history, and the keeping of proper records.

“Radiopharmaceutical Service” means, but is not
limited to, the procurement, storage, handling preparation,
labeling, quality assurance testing, dispensing, delivery,
recordkeeping, and disposal of radiopharmaceuticals and
other drugs.

“Radiopharmaceuticals” are radioactive drugs as
defined by the FDA.

13.3 General Requirements for Pharmacies
Providing Radiopharmaceutical Services.

13.3.1 Nuclear Pharmacy License.  A License to
operate a Pharmacy providing radiopharmaceutical services
shall only be issued to a Qualified Nuclear Pharmacist.  All
personnel performing tasks in the preparation and
distribution of radioactive drugs shall be under the direct
supervision of a Qualified Nuclear Pharmacist.  A Qualified
Nuclear Pharmacist shall be responsible for all operations of
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the Pharmacy and shall be in personal attendance at all times
that the Pharmacy is open for business.

13.3.2 Nuclear Pharmacies shall have adequate
space and equipment,     commensurate with the scope of
services required and provided, meeting minimal space
requirements established for all pharmacies in the State or as
otherwise defined by the Delaware State Board of Pharmacy.

13.3.3 The Nuclear Pharmacy area shall be
secured from unauthorized  personnel.

13.3.4 Nuclear Pharmacies shall maintain records
of acquisition, inventory, and disposition of all radioactive
drugs and other radioactive materials in accordance with
NRC statute(s) and regulation(s).

13.3.5 All pharmacies handling
radiopharmaceuticals shall provide a radioactive storage and
product decay area.  Detailed floor plans shall be submitted
to the State Board of Pharmacy and the State Office of
Radiation Control and NRC before approval of the license.

13.3.6 Radiopharmaceuticals are to be dispensed
only upon a Prescription Drug Order from a Practitioner
authorized to possess, use, and administer
radiopharmaceuticals.

13.3.7 The permit to operate a Nuclear Pharmacy
is conditioned upon an approved State Office of Radiation
Control or NRC license. Copies of the Radiation Control
Agency, ORC and NRC inspection reports shall be made
available upon request for Board inspection.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Pharmacy is
available at:
http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/pharmacy/index.shtml

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
3700 Board of Examiners of Speech/Language 

Pathologists, Audiologists & Hearing Aid 
Dispensers

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 3706(a)(1)  (24 Del.C. §3706(a)(1))

24 DE Admin. Code 3700

ORDER

A public hearing was held to receive comments on
January 11, 2006, at the regularly scheduled meeting of the
Board of Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists, and
Hearing Aid Dispensers.  The Board considered changes to

its Rules and Regulations, to wit, 9.3 Standards of
Professional Integrity, that were published in the Register of
Regulations, Vol. 9, Issue 6, December 1, 2005.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

No written or verbal comments were received.

Findings of Fact with Respect to the Evidence and 
Information

The Board finds that the change to Rule 9.3.1.8 protects
the public by ensuring that products and services are
advertised so that the terms of the transaction are clear and
understandable.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board of Speech/Language Pathologists,
Audiologists, and Hearing Aid Dispensers hereby adopts the
Rules and Regulations as proposed to be effective 10 days
following final publication in the Register of Regulations.

Text and Citation

The text of the change to the Rules and Regulations
appears in the Register of Regulations, Vol. 9, Issue 6,
December 1, 2005 at page 964.

BOARD OF SPEECH LANGUAGE/PATHOLOGISTS,
AUDIOLOGISTS, AND HEARING AID DISPENSERS

Gary Marencin, President George A. Christensen
Michael A. Michelli, Secretary Cynthia Parker
Illene Courtright Elizabeth V. Daudt
Carol Guilbert

9.0 Code of Ethics for Speech-Language Pathologists,
Audiologists, and Hearing Aid Dispensers

9.1 PREAMBLE. The preservation of the highest
standards of conduct and integrity is vital to achieving the
statutory declaration of objectives in 24 Del.C. §3701.
Adopting a code of ethics by regulation puts licensees on
notice of the kinds of activity that violate the level of care
and protection to which the clients are entitled. The
provisions are not intended to be all-inclusive but rather they
should serve as examples of obligations that must be
satisfied to maintain minimum standards.

9.2 Standards of Professional Conduct
9.2.1 A licensee who violates the following

Standards of Professional Conduct may be guilty of illegal,
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negligent, or incompetent practice and disciplined pursuant
to 24 Del.C. §3715(a)(2).

9.2.1.1 Licensees shall provide all services
competently. Competent service refers to the use of
reasonable care and diligence ordinarily employed by
similarly licensed individuals. 

9.2.1.2 Licensees shall use every resource,
including referral, to provide quality service.

9.2.1.3 Licensees shall maintain reasonable
documentation of professional services rendered.

9.2.1.4 Licensees shall not evaluate or treat a
client with speech, language, or hearing disorders solely by
correspondence. Correspondence includes
telecommunication.

9.2.1.5 Licensees shall delegate responsibility
only to qualified individuals as permitted by law with
appropriate supervision. 

9.2.1.6 Licensees who have evidence that a
practitioner has violated the Code of Ethics or other law or
regulation shall present that information by complaint to the
Division of Professional Regulation for investigation.

9.3 Standards of Professional Integrity.
9.3.1 A licensee who violates the following

Standards of Professional Integrity may be guilty of
consumer fraud, deception, restraint of competition, or price-
fixing and disciplined pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3715(a)(6). 

9.3.1.1 Licensees shall not charge for services
not rendered nor misrepresent the services or products
dispensed.

9.3.1.2 Licensees shall inform clients of the
nature and possible effects of services. Care must be taken to
speak to a client in lay terms that he or she can understand. 

9.3.1.3 Licensees may use clients in research
or as subjects of teaching demonstrations only with their
informed consent. An informed consent must be explained
and written in lay terms.

9.3.1.4 Licensees shall inform clients in any
matter where there is or may be a conflict of interest.
Conflicts of interest may be found when a client is steered to
a particular provider by one with an expectation of financial
gain (kickbacks) or a provider is involved in double dipping
by providing services in a private practice that he or she is
obligated to provide though public employment (double-
dipping).

9.3.1.5 Licensees shall make no guarantees of
the results of any product or procedure but may make a
reasonable statement of prognosis.

9.3.1.6 Licensees shall provide services or
dispense products only when benefits can reasonably be
expected.

9.3.1.7 Licensees shall not engage in
misrepresentation, dishonesty, fraud, or deceit.
Misrepresentation includes statements likely to mislead or an
omission of material information.

9.3.1.8 Licensees who advertise shall provide
information in a truthful manner that is direct and not likely
to mislead the public. Any written disclaimer or condition
that limits or modifies an offer of services or merchandise
must be provided in a clear and conspicuous manner in a
type size that is at least one-half the size of the type used in
making the offer of services or merchandise

9.3.2 A licensee who violates the following
Standards of Professional Integrity may be guilty of
misrepresentation, impersonation, or facilitating unlawful
practice and disciplined pursuant to 24 Del.C. §3715(a)(1).

9.3.2.1 Licensees shall accurately represent
any credentials, education, and experience to the public.

9.3.2.2 A licensee who has evidence that an
individual is practicing the profession without a license in
violation of 24 Del.C. §3707 has a duty to report that
information to the Division of Professional Regulation.

9.4 Miscellaneous Professional Standards
9.4.1 A licensee who violates the following

Professional Standards may be subject to disciplinary action
under 24 Del.C. §3715(a)(7)

9.4.1.1 Licensees shall respect the privacy of
clients and not reveal, written authorization, any professional
or personal information unless required by law.

9.4.1.2 Licensees shall not discriminate on
the basis of race, sex, age, religion, national origin, sexual
orientation, or disability.

9.4.1.3 Licensees shall offer services and
products on their merits and should refrain from making
disparaging comments about competing practitioners or their
services and products.

8 DE Reg. 1106 (2/1/05)

*Please Note:  As the rest of the sections were not
amended they are not being published.  A complete set of
the rules and regulations for the Board of Speech/
Language Pathologists, Audiologists, and Hearing Aid
Dispensers is available at:
http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/speechaudio/index.shtml
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GOVERNOR’S EXECUTIVE ORDERS
STATE OF DELAWARE

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-SEVEN

RE: Regarding State Employee Obligations and
Compensation During Severe Weather
Conditions and Emergencies

WHEREAS, while State offices strive to remain open
and operational with regularly scheduled hours, severe
weather conditions and other emergencies may require
modification of the operation and staffing of State agencies
based on anticipated or actual conditions to ensure the
health, safety and welfare of both citizens and employees;
and

WHEREAS, it is imperative that within the Executive
Branch there be a uniform policy, with appropriate
flexibility, consistent with existing State Merit Rules, on
State employee obligations and compensation during
extreme weather situations and other emergencies; and

WHEREAS, the State’s human resource professionals
and Labor Management Committee have recommended a
policy that clarifies practices for employee obligations and
compensation during severe weather and other emergencies,

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Ruth Ann Minner, by virtue
of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby declare and order the following:

1. The policy entitled “Employee Obligations During
Severe Weather Conditions and Emergencies” dated
December 19, 2005, and attached hereto as Exhibit A, is
adopted as the policy to govern operation of Executive
Branch agencies during severe weather conditions and other
emergencies that may require changed hours of operation
and/or reporting times for affected State employees.

2. The attached policy is applicable to all employees
of the Executive Branch of the government of the State of
Delaware, except personnel of the Delaware State Police and
the Delaware National Guard. The policy is to be followed
by all State departments and agencies other than the General
Assembly, the judiciary and offices under their respective
jurisdictions.

3. Executive Order Number 36, approved by
Governor Castle on February 6, 1987 and Executive Order
Number 76, approved by Governor Carper on February 4,
2000, are hereby rescinded.

4. The provisions of this policy shall be effective as of
December 6, 2005.

Approved: January 3, 2006

Ruth Ann Minner,
Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State

EXHIBIT A

EMPLOYEE OBLIGATIONS DURING SEVERE 
WEATHER CONDITIONS AND EMERGENCIES

1. Definitions: The following definitions will apply
throughout this policy.

“Essential Employee”: An employee who is
indispensable to the emergency service function of his or her
employing agency or department and is required to assist the
department or agency in meeting its operational needs.

“Non-Essential Employee”: An employee who is
not necessary to the emergency service function of his or her
employing agency or department and is not required to
report to work.

“Report When Contacted Employee”: An employee
who is not required to report to work during severe weather
or emergency situations unless there is the approval of the
agency and the employee has been specifically contacted by
a management representative or management
representative’s designee (or informed by notification
system such as a telephone tree or telephone hotline
established by management or informed by HRM website or
by official information provided by the designated news
media). These employees are not on stand-by status and are
not required to remain by the telephone.

“SHOC/DFS Employees”: Employees of the State
Health Operations Center, and Division of Family Services
Investigation, Treatment and After Hours Response
Employees. SHOC/DFS Employees may have different
requirements to follow than the Report When Contacted
Employees and are required to follow the specific
instructions of the agency and shall be deemed essential at
such time an emergency is declared (depending on the type
of emergency).

“HRM”: The Human Resources Management unit
of the Office of Management and Budget.

2. The Governor, or Governor’s designee, has the sole
authority to excuse employees of the Executive Branch from
reporting to work during extreme weather conditions or
other natural or man-made disasters or emergencies. In
appropriate circumstances, the Governor shall issue an Order
stating that, because of expected or existing conditions,
certain employees (as designated in this policy) are excused
from reporting to work. Unless such an Order has been
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issued, all employees of the Executive Branch shall report to
and remain at work for their regularly scheduled hours or
shift.

3. The Order may be applicable to all Executive
Branch employees in the entire State, or only to those
employees in one geographical region of the State, or a
combination of the geographical regions. The Order may be
limited regarding the purpose for which it is issued, such as
permitting the use of Delaware National Guard personnel
and equipment, and so may not affect Executive Branch
employees in any respect.

4. The Order may require certain employees to work
during the emergency. Those required to work during times
when the Governor has excused some employees from
reporting to work are referred to as “Essential” employees.
An Essential employee is defined as one who is
indispensable to the emergency service function of the
employing agency or department and is required to assist the
department or agency in meeting its emergency operational
needs, e.g., food, medical, housing maintenance, personal
care, hospital care, emergency road service. These examples
are not exhaustive. All other employees (other than the
SHOC/DFS employees defined earlier) shall be designated
as “Report When Contacted” or “Non-Essential” employees.
Such Report When Contacted or Non-Essential employees
are not required to report to work unless there is the approval
of the agency and the employees have been specifically
contacted by a management representative or management
representative’s designee (or informed by a notification
system such as a telephone tree or telephone hotline
established by management or informed by HRM’s website
or by official information provided by the designated news
media). These employees are not on stand-by status and are
not required to remain by the telephone. Such employees
shall not be called into work without a compelling and
justifiable operational reason. As long as all other applicable
laws, rules and regulations are not violated, non-merit
agencies may make more restrictive reporting policies in
order to meet operational needs, but cannot make less
restrictive policies.

5. All State agencies must designate all Essential and
SHOC/DFS employees by job classification, budget position
number and payroll unit in the PHRST system. Each State
agency shall review these classifications annually, at a
minimum, and report any revisions to the Director of HRM,
and make appropriate changes in PHRST, by October 31st
each year.

6. Department and agency heads shall designate
employees as Essential or SHOC/DFS employees depending
upon their necessity in carrying out the emergency service
responsibilities of the department or agency. These
employees shall be notified accordingly in writing, and a list
of employees and/or classifications designated as Essential

or SHOC/DFS employees shall be posted in a conspicuous
location and distributed to the appropriate Exclusive
Bargaining Representatives. The status of employees who
are designated as Essential or SHOC/DFS employees at the
time an emergency is declared, and who report to work
during the emergency pursuant to such designation, shall not
be changed with respect to that emergency subsequent to
their reporting to work without being compensated for their
normally assigned hours or shift. Depending on the type of
emergency, the Governor’s Order may exempt certain group
of Essential employees or management may advise such
employees.

7. Essential employees who live or work in a region or
regions covered by the Governor’s Order, and who are
required to work, are entitled to compensation at their
regular hourly rate plus equal time off for all hours worked
during their regularly scheduled work hours or shift. All
Essential employees who work additional hours shall be
compensated in accordance with existing rules and policies
governing overtime payment. Employees covered by the
Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) are compensated for
overtime at time and a half and receive equal time off while
employees exempt from the FLSA are compensated at
straight time rates and receive equal time off. Exceptions to
this may be found in the Budget epilogue or Merit Rules for
specific groups of employees.

8. During any specified time periods when Essential
employees are required to report to work and other State
employees have been given approval by the Governor to not
report to work (during normal state business hours of 8 a.m.
to 4:30 p.m.), those who work will receive an additional hour
of compensation for each hour worked. Agencies have the
authority to determine whether the additional compensation
will be paid time or compensatory time. Any employee
(whether essential or not) who is already on paid leave
during such time will not be charged leave for those specific
hours.

9. Unless the Governor’s Order covers a day which is
a statutory holiday of the State, the emergency day shall not
be considered a holiday for pay purposes. When employees
work at times when it is both a holiday and an emergency,
they will receive additional equal time off as compensation
for the holiday in addition to equal time off (or pay based on
other merit and FLSA rules) for the emergency. Employees
in a paid status during the holiday would still receive
payment for the holiday in their regular paycheck whether or
not they are required to work that day.

10. Upon direction of the Governor (or a designee), if
an emergency develops during working hours, department
heads and other chief administrative officers within the
Executive Branch may allow their Report When Contacted
or Non-Essential employees to leave work early. No loss of
pay or accumulated time off will occur in the event of early
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dismissal for this reason. Under no circumstances, however,
will early dismissal operate to excuse an unauthorized
absence from work.

11. If a natural or man-made emergency forces any
employee to be late for work, the employee shall contact his
or her supervisor, inform the supervisor of the impending
lateness, and state the expected time of arrival for work.
Reasonable delay (not to exceed two hours) in arriving at
work due to poor travel conditions will not be a basis for
charging annual leave.

12. If Essential employees are required to work but are
specifically prevented by the police or other emergency
personnel from traveling to their work site due to a natural or
man-made emergency, and after notifying such emergency
personnel of their Essential status, the employees shall
immediately notify their supervisors of the obstruction and
shall be excused and not charged for the absence. Employees
who are required to work but who do not report to work for
any other reason shall immediately notify their supervisors
and shall not be paid for the absence. Employees in this
category may request approval to use annual leave,
accumulated compensatory time, if any, or have their pay
docked; however, employees cannot assume that it will be
granted and may be subject to disciplinary action if approval
is not received for the absence.

13. Before approving pay for after-the-fact sick leave
during an emergency, a department or agency head may
require either a physician’s certificate or a written statement
by the employee setting forth the reason for the absence.
Essential employees are responsible to report to work and
may be subject to disciplinary action if there is a disregard of
this policy. All determinations as to whether leave will be
approved or whether there will be docking and/or
disciplinary action will be made on a case-by-case basis
taking into consideration the totality of circumstances
preventing the employee from reporting to work.

14. An employee, who already is on authorized paid
leave during an emergency, will not be charged leave for the
duration of the emergency. Upon the employee’s return to
work from such leave, the employee’s leave records will be
credited accordingly.

15. Casual/seasonal employees may be designated as
“Essential”. Agencies are encouraged to allow casual/
seasonal employees designated as Report When Contacted
or Non-Essential to flex their schedules to make up work
hours lost as casual/seasonal employees are only paid for the
actual hours they work. While casual/seasonal employees
are paid for the time actually worked, they are not eligible
for the equal time off provision.

16. All Report When Contacted or Non-Essential
employees on an alternate or compressed schedule shall have
their time adjusted in accordance with that schedule and
other applicable rules and regulations whenever there is an

emergency Order. Employees not scheduled to work during
the emergency will not be impacted unless the emergency
day is also a state holiday. If it is a state holiday, employees
must still submit leave slips or work additional time to cover
the difference between a 7.5 or 8.0 State-paid holiday and
their compressed hours or shift.

17. Employees on approved leave without pay will not
be impacted by this policy.

18. Rest/sleep time, for all employees regardless of
FLSA status, is compensable in accordance with the
regulations of the Fair Labor Standards Act.

19. Normally home to work travel is not compensable.
However, during an emergency situation, it is possible that
an employee must report from home to a location other than
the employee’s regular reporting location. If the emergency
reporting location is further from the employee’s home than
the employee’s regular reporting location, agencies shall
compensate such employees for their additional travel time
as well as for mileage, if appropriate, minus the normal
commute time.

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-EIGHT

RE: Regarding Implementation of Financial
Management Measures for the Department of
Transportation and the Transportation Trust
Fund

WHEREAS, on June 1, 2005, Executive Order No. 69
was adopted, establishing a Transportation Development and
Funding Options Committee; and

WHEREAS the Committee recognized that the
Delaware Department of Transportation (“DelDOT”) is
unique among all State agencies in that it must attempt to
forecast many uncertain outcomes in order to build a
proposed planning, design, and construction/acquisition
program; and

WHEREAS, on November 30, 2005, the Transportation
Development and Funding and Options Committee delivered
a series of recommendations, including recommendations
that the State implement certain financial management
measures to improve forecasting and reporting of revenues
and expenditures for the State’s Transportation Trust Fund
(“TTF”); and

WHEREAS, certain measures recommended by the
Committee, such as capital project spending checkbooks and
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partnering in the State’s implementation of Enterprise
Resource Planning Financial project, have already been
initiated by DelDOT; and

WHEREAS, certain additional measures recommended
by the Committee can be implemented administratively, and
such measures will ensure better financial management and
reporting by DelDOT and the TTF,

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by
virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor of the State
of Delaware, do hereby declare and order the following:

1. DelDOT shall provide a monthly operating
expenditure report to the Director of the Office of
Management and Budget (“OMB”). Monthly operating
expenditure reports shall at a minimum review both
expenditures to date as well as forecasted yearly
expenditures. These reports shall be presented in a format
agreed to by DelDOT and OMB staff.

2. DelDOT shall provide a quarterly capital
expenditure report to the Director of OMB. Quarterly capital
expenditure reports shall list at a minimum both
expenditures to date as well as forecasted yearly
expenditures. These reports shall be presented in a format
agreed to by DelDOT and OMB staff.

3. There is established a Transportation Finance
Advisory Committee, consisting of the Secretary of
DelDOT, the Secretary of Finance, the Director of OMB and
such other members as shall be appointed by the Governor.
A chairperson of the Transportation Finance Advisory
Committee shall be designated by the Governor.

4. The Transportation Finance Advisory Committee
shall develop and review revenue and expenditure estimates
for the TTF on a regular basis. The Transportation Finance
Advisory Committee shall advise the Delaware Financial
Advisory Council on revenue and expenditure estimates for
the TTF.

5. At least annually, the Transportation Finance
Advisory Committee shall conduct a comprehensive review
of revenue and expenditure estimates in coordination with a
review of the Capital Improvements Program adopted
pursuant to Title 29, Delaware Code, Chapter 84. The
Committee shall present findings and conclusions
concerning the feasibility and sustainability to the Council
on Transportation and to the Governor. This review will also
include an assessment of the extent to which the Capital
Improvements Plan meets the 50/50 “pay go” standard and
the 2.25 coverage test historically used in the State’s
transportation budget program. The first comprehensive
review of revenue and expenditure estimates and the Capital
Improvements Plan shall be undertaken on or before October
31, 2006.

Approved: January 9, 2006

Ruth Ann Minner,
Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER SEVENTY-NINE

RE: Establishing a Governance Structure for the
Delaware Veterans’ Home

WHEREAS, the State of Delaware is committed to
establishing a dedicated long term care facility to serve the
State’s veterans; and

WHEREAS, in April 2004, the General Assembly
passed legislation to expedite funding and construction of a
State veterans’ home, in cooperation with the United States
Department of Veterans’ Affairs; and

WHEREAS, a special steering committee formed in
2004 has been working to organize, oversee and guide the
significant decisions relating to the development, siting,
design and construction of the Veterans’ Home (the
“Home”); and

WHEREAS, the special steering committee has
included representation by, among others, the Office of the
Governor, members of the General Assembly, the Office of
Management and Budget, the Controller General’s office,
the Secretary of State, and the Commission on Veterans’
Affairs; and

WHEREAS, it is now appropriate to designate the
appropriate organizational structure to further prepare for the
opening of this facility in January, 2007; and

WHEREAS, to ensure the effective operation and
administration of the Home and to ensure it will focus on the
unique needs of veterans, it is best to establish the Home as a
separate organizational unit within the Department of State;
and

WHEREAS, Delaware veterans must continue to be
integral partners in the success of the Home; and

WHEREAS, a Delaware Veterans’ Home Advisory
Board (the “Board”) is necessary to oversee the operations of
the Delaware Veterans’ Home and serve as an advocate for
those who reside there,
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NOW, THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by

virtue of the powers vested in me as the Governor of the
State of Delaware, DO HEREBY ORDER AND
DECLARE, this 19th day of January, 2006, as follows:

1. The Delaware Veterans’ Home shall be established
as a separate division within the Department of State. The
Secretary of State is directed to undertake all action
authorized or required under Title 29, Delaware Code,
Section 8703 to organize administrative activities for the
Home.

2. The Secretary of State shall have responsibility of
the operations and oversight of the Home to include but not
be limited to the following:

a. Report annually to the Governor and General
Assembly regarding the Home's budget and operations;

b. Appoint a Veterans’ Home administrator who
shall have responsibilities for the day to day operations of
the Home which shall include but not limited to:

(1) Providing long term care or domiciliary
care services to eligible veterans residing at the Home in
accordance with all applicable Delaware and federal statutes;

(2) With the concurrence of the Veterans’
Home Advisory Board as established in paragraph 3 below,
establishing admissions criteria and policies for entrance into
the Home;

(3) Establishing, revising, and collecting
charges for residential room and board. Such procedures and
charges shall require the concurrence of the Veterans’ Home
Advisory Board;

(4) Employing all other staff necessary for the
efficient management of the Home;

(5) Ensuring the appropriate accounting for all
financial transactions of the Home;

(6) Ensuring that all laws, rules, regulations,
and policies pertaining to the Home are observed;

(7) Coordinating with the federal Department
of Veterans’ Affairs for services provided at the Home; and

(8) Producing reports concerning the Home to
the Veterans’ Home Advisory Board at such times and in
such detail as the Board directs.

3. There is hereby established a Veterans’ Home
Advisory Board.

a. The Board shall consist of (13) members, all of
whom shall be residents of this State as follows;

i. Lieutenant Governor;
ii. The Secretary of State;
iii. Secretary of Health and Social Services;
iv. Chair of Veterans’ Commission;
v. Executive Director of Veterans Affairs;
vi. a representative nominated by the

American Legion;

vii. a representative nominated by Veterans of
Foreign Wars;

viii. a representative nominated by the
Wilmington Veterans’ Administration Medical Center
Administrator;

ix. a physician who is a veteran;
x. a nurse who is a veteran;
xi. a representative of Delaware’s business

community; and
xii. Chair of the House Veterans’ Committee

and Chair of the Senate Veterans’ Committee or
xiii. An honorably discharged veteran

appointed by the Speaker and another honorably discharged
veteran appointed by the Pro Tempore.

b. The Governor shall appoint all non-legislative
members of the Board and shall designate a member of the
Board to serve as Chairperson at the pleasure of the
Governor. Members of the Board designated by subsections
a.i. through a.v. of paragraph 3 shall serve during their terms
of office in the positions identified in paragraph 3. All other
members shall serve terms of three years. Each Board
member shall serve until a successor has been appointed. In
the event a Board member vacates his or her position, is
unable to serve, or is removed for cause, the Governor shall
appoint a replacement to serve the unexpired term of the
departing Board member.

c. Except as otherwise provided, the Board shall
have the following powers:

i. Establish the mission and purpose of the
Home;

ii. Approve the Home’s programs and
services and evaluate their effectiveness;

iii. Advise the Secretary of State and the
Veterans’ Home Administrator as to the effective operations
of the Home;

iv. Approve key policies for operations of the
Home, including significant changes affecting on-going
programs, proposed programs, and long-range planning;

v. Hear and render decisions on veterans’
appeals regarding admissions or affordability;

vi. Help raise resources for the Home;.
vii. Advocate to the Governor, General

Assembly and to the public on critical issues facing the
Home; and

viii. Adopt policies, procedures, and bylaws
regarding the operation of the Board.

Approved: January 19, 2006
Ruth Ann Minner,
Governor

ATTEST:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
Cabinet Committee on Energy, Chair The Honorable Jennifer W. Davis Pleasure of the
Governor

Cabinet Committee on Energy, Member Mr. Phillip J. Cherry Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Lee Ann Walling Pleasure of the
Governor

Council on Real Estate Appraisers Mr. Stephen R. Huston 11/22/2008

Council on the Blind Ms. Audrey M. Markel 10/13/2007

Court of Common Pleas, Chief Judge The Honorable Alex J. Smalls 12/2/2017

Delaware Advisory Council on Career and Mr. Paul T. Morris, Jr. Pleasure of the
Technical Education Governor

Delaware Technical and Community College Mr. John M. Maiorano 11/8/2008
Board of Trustees, Trustee Ms. Suzanne C. Moore 11/8/2008

Louis F. Owens, Jr., M.D. 11/8/2008

Department of Education Equalization Ms. Emily M. Falcon Pleasure of the
Committee Governor

Diamond State Port Corporation, Board of Mr. Frederick C. Sears, II 11/8/2008
Directors, Director

Family Court, Commissioner The Honorable David W. Jones 12/7/2011
The Honorable Sonja Truitt Wilson 12/2/2011

Healthy Mother and Infant Consortium Ms. Marihelen Barrett Pleasure of the
Governor

Garrett H. Colmorgen, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Katherine L. Esterly, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Reverend John F. Holden Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Catharine A. Kanefsky Pleasure of the
Governor
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE    OFFICE
Healthy Mother and Infant Consortium Ms. Lolita Lopez Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Susan Noyes Pleasure of the
Governor

Anthony M. Policastro, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Mariann Powell Pleasure of the
Governor

Agnes M. Richardson, Ph.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Ms. Rosa Rivera Pleasure of the
Governor

Mr. Alvin Snyder Pleasure of the
Governor

Judy Walrath, Ph.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Healthy Mother and Infant Consortium, Chair David A. Paul, M.D. Pleasure of the
Governor

Healthy Mother and Infant Consortium, Ms. Jacquelyne W. Gorum Pleasure of the
Vice Chair Governor

Industrial Accident Board Mr. Terrence M. Shannon 11/8/2011

Kent County Justice of the Peace The Honorable Ernst M. Arndt 11/16/2011
The Honorable Ellis B. Parrott 11/16/2011
The Honorable Robert B. Wall, Jr. 11/16/2011

Merit Employees Relations Board Mr. Joseph D. Dillon 11/8/2008

New Castle County Family Court, Mr. Alan N. Cooper 12/7/2017
Associate Judge The Honorable Joelle P. Hitch 12/7/2017

New Castle County Justice of the Peace The Honorable Sidney J. Clark, Jr. 11/17/2011
The Honorable Wayne R. Hanby 11/14/2011
The Honorable Kathleen C. Lucas 11/14/2011
The Honorable Sean P. McCormick 11/10/2011
The Honorable Katharine B. Ross 11/14/2011
The Honorable Rosalie O. Rutkowski 11/10/2011
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BOARD/COMMISSION TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE
New Castle County Justice of the Peace The Honorable David R. Skelley 11/14/2011
The Honorable Paul J. Smith 11/14/2011

Public Integrity Commission Mr. William W. Dailey, Jr. 11/8/2012
Ms. Barbara H. Green 11/8/2012

Public Service Commission Mr. Jeffrey J. Clark 5/1/2009

State Board of Education Mr. Gregory A. Hastings 11/8/2010
Ms. Barbara B. Rutt 11/8/2011

State Coastal Zone Industrial Control Board Mr. Robert D. Bewick, Jr. 11/8/2010

State Employee Benefits Advisory Council Mr. Thomas J. Chapman 11/29/2008
Ms. Patricia A. McKinney 11/29/2008
Mr. Edwin A. Tos  5/16/06

Superior Court, Associate Judge The Honorable M. Jane Brady  12/7/2017
The Honorable Fred S. Silverman  11/30/2017

Superior Court, Commissioner The Honorable Mark S. Vavala  11/22/2011
The Honorable David A. White  11/22/2011

Superior Court, Member The Honorable William C. Carpenter, Jr.  11/29/2017

Sussex County Justice of the Peace The Honorable Jeni L. Coffelt  11/21/2011
The Honorable Herman G. Hagan  11/29/2011
The Honorable Richard D. Comly, Jr.  12/2/2011

Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board Mr. A. Wayne Meluney  5/1/2009
Mr. Elmer L. Newlin, III  5/1/2011

Wastewater Facilities and Surface Water Mr. Gary L. Burcham  11/8/2008
Management Advisory Council Mr. Andrew T. Manus  11/8/2008

Mr. Brian M. McGlinchey  11/8/2008
Mr. Christopher M. O’Keefe  11/8/2008
The Honorable Daniel B. Short  11/8/2008
Mr. David W. Singleton  11/8/2008
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION
Statutory Authority:  7 Delaware Code,

Chapter 60 (70 Del.C. Ch. 60)

General Register Notice

1. Title of the regulations:
2006, 2007 and 2008 Clean Air Act Title V and

Synthetic Minor Operating Permit Program Fees

2. Brief synopsis of the subject, substance and issues:
Pursuant to 7 Del.C. §6097(c) and amending 143rd

General Assembly SB113 signed July 12, 2005; the
Department shall publish each source name, base fee
information and user fee information in the Delaware
Register of Regulations. The latest fee structure as outlined
in SB113 will be charged to Title V and Synthetic Minor
permitted facilities during calendar years 2006, 2007 and

2008. Any questions should be directed to the Air Quality
management Section at (302)739-9402.

3. Possible terms of the action agency:
N/A

4. Statutory basis:
7 Del.C. Ch. 60 §6097 and Clean Air Act Amendments

of 1990

5. Other regulations that may be affected by the
proposal:

None

6. Notice of public comment:
N/A

7. Prepared by:
Carol Cassell Rhodes on January 12, 2006

Clean Air Act Title V Operating Permit Program
Sources and Information as of Calendar Year 2006

Source Name User 
Fee
Ban

 User Fee
Billing 

Base Fee
Category

 Base Fee
Billing 

 Billing
Total 

1 Alfred I. DuPont Hospital for Children H  $ 5,000 E $6,000  $11,000
2 Allen Family Foods, Inc. G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
3 Allens Hatchery Inc., Allens Milling Division G   2,000 D 15,000  $17,000
4 American Infrastructure - MD, Inc. dba 

Independence Construction Materials
G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000

5 AMI G 2,000 D 15,000  $17,000
6 Amtrak Wilmington Maintenance Facility G 2,000 E 6,000 $8,000
7 Arlon, Inc. G  2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
8 AstraZeneca Pharmaceutical LLC, Fairfax G      2,000 D     15,000  $17,000
9 AstraZeneca, Newark G    2,000 F       3,000  $5,000

10 Bank One/JP Morgan Chase Core Data Center 2 G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000

11 Bayhealth Medical Center - Kent General Hospital G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
12 Bayhealth Medical Center - Milford Memorial 

Hospital
G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000

13 Camdel Metals Corporation              G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
14 Christiana Care - Christiana Hospital Power Plant 

Department
H 5,000 E 6,000  $11,000

15 Christiana Materials, Inc. G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
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16 Ciba Specialty Chemicals Corporation G 2,000 D          5,000       $17,000
17 Citisteel USA                          I 12,000 E 6,000  $18,000
18 City of Dover - McKee Run Generating Station K 50,000 C 30,000  $80,000
19 City of Dover - Van Sant Generating Station G 2,000 D 15,000  $17,000
20 City of Lewes, Board of Public Works G  2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
21 City of Seaford - Electric Power Plant H 5,000 F 3,000  $8,000
22 Clean Earth of New Castle         G 2,000 D 15,000  $17,000
23 Coastal Coatings G        2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
24 Coker Concrete G         2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
25 Color-Box, LLC G         2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
26 Computer Science Corporation G 2 ,000 E 3,000  $5,000
27 Conectiv Delmarva Generation - Christiana Peaking 

Station
G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000

28 Conectiv Delmarva Generation - Delaware City 
Peaking Station

G 2,000 F  3,000  $5,000

29 Conectiv Delmarva Generation - Edge Moor Power 
Plant

M 125,000 C 30,000  $155,000

30 Conectiv Delmarva Generation - West Substation G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
31 Conectiv Thermal Systems G         2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
32 Convectiv Delmarva Generation - Hay Road Power 

Complex
J      25,000 B 60,000  $85,000

33 Crowell Corporation G         2,000 E  6,000  $8,000
34 Custom Decorative Moldings G         2,000 F

3,000
 $5,000

35 Cytec Industries, Inc. G         2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
36 Dade Behring Inc. G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
37 Dana Railcar Service, Inc. G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
38 Dassault Falcon Jet - Wilmington Corporation G 2,000 D 15,000  $17,000
39 Delaware Hospital for the Chronically Ill G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
40 Delaware Recyclable Products, Inc. G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
41 Delaware Solid Waste Authority - Cherry Island G 2,000 C 30,000  $32,000
42 Delaware Solid Waste Authority - Sandtown G         2,000 D 15,000  $17,000

43 Delaware Solid Waste Authority - Southern G 2,000 C 30,000  $32,000
44 Delaware State University G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
45 Delaware Terminal Company (Magellan 

Midstream Partners LP)     
G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000

46 Department of Corrections - Delaware Correctional 
Center, Smyrna

G 2,000 C 30,000  $32,000

47 Department of Corrections - Howard R. Young 
Correctional Institute, Wilmington

G  2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
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48 Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
49 Design Contracting G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
50 DiamlerChrysler Corporation J  25,000 C 30,000  $55,000
51 Diamond Materials, LLC G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
52 Dover Air Force Base H 5,000 C 30,000  $35,000
53 Dover Downs Gaming and Entertainment, Inc. G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
54 Dover Products Company G  2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
55 Dow Reichhold Specialty Latex LLC G 2,000 B 60,000  $62,000
56 DuPont Chestnut Run  I 12,000 D 15,000  $27,000
57 DuPont Edgemoor  H 5,000 C 30,000  $35,000
58 DuPont Experimental Station J 25,000 B 60,000  $85,000
59 DuPont Stine - Haskell Laboratory H 5,000 C 30,000  $35,000
60 DuPont Wilmington Office Buildings G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
61 E-A-R Specialty Composites S.B.U. AEARO G 2,000 D 15,000  $17,000
62 Eastern Shore Natural Gas Co. - Bridgeville 

Compressor Station
G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000

63 Eastern Shore Natural Gas Co. - Delaware City 
Compressor Station

G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000

64 Edgemoor Materials, Inc. G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
65 FMC Corporation                         G 2,000 C 30,000  $32,000
66 Formosa Plastics Corporation       H 5,000 C 30,000  $35,000
67 FP International, Inc.                    G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
68 Gardner Asphalt Corporation (GAC) - Seaford 

Delaware Plant
G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000

69 GE Energy - Ceramic Composite Products, LLC G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
70 General Motors Corporation             I 12,000 C 30,000  $42,000
71 Hanover Foods Corporation            G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
72 Hardcore Composites G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
73 Harris Manufacturing Company, Inc.     G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
74 Hercules Incorporated - Research Center H 5,000 C 30,000  $35,000
75 Hirsh Industries, Inc. G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
76 Honeywell International - Delaware Plant G 2,000 C 30,000  $32,000
77 IKO Production Wilmington, Inc. G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
78 ILC Dover LP G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
79 Indian River Power LLC            M 125,000 B 60,000  $185,000
80 International Petroleum Corporation of Delaware G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
81 INVISTA L 75,000 B 60,000  $135,000
82 Justin Tanks, LLC                   G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
83 Kraft Foods North America, Inc. - Dover G  2,000 D 15,000  $17,000
84 Kuehne Company G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
85 Macdermid, Inc.                     G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
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86 Maritrans                           K 50,000 E 6,000  $56,000
87 Material Recovery G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
88 MBNA America Bank, NA, Bracebridge Corp. - 

Bracebridge Complex
G 2,000 D 3,000  $5,000

89 MBNA America Bank, NA, Bracebridge Corp. - 
Christiana Complex

G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000

90 MBNA America Bank, NA, Bracebridge Corp. - 
Crozier Center

G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000

91 MBNA America Bank, NA, Bracebridge Corp. - 
Deerfield Center

H 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000

92 Medal, LP G 2,000 F 15,000  $17,000
93 Metal Masters Food Service Equipment Company G  2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
94 Middletown Materials, LLC (Christiana Materials - 

Middletown)
G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000

95 Mountaire Farms of Delaware, Inc. - Millsboro I 12,000 C 30,000  $42,000
96 Mountaire Farms of Delmarva - Selbyville H 5,000 E 6,000  $11,000
97 Mountaire Farms of Delmarva, Inc. (Frankford 

Feedmill)
H 5,000 E 6,000  $11,000

98 Multi-Tech, Inc., D & B Products Insulation 
Division

G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000

99 Nanticoke Memorial Hospital G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
100 New Castle Hot Mix, Inc. G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
101 New London Textile, Inc. G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
102 Noramco, Inc. G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
103 NRG Dover Energy Center, LLC     K 50,000 B 60,000  $110,000
104 NVF Company, Yorklyn G 2,000 D 15,000  $17,000
105 Occidental Chemical Corporation   G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
106 Orient Corporation of America G  2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
107 P & A LLC - Maryland G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
108 Pats Aircraft LLC G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
109 Pennsy Supply, Inc. dba Tilcon - Bay Road G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
110 Pennsy Supply, Inc. dba Tilcon - Edward J. Kaye 

Construction
G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000

111 Pennsy Supply, Inc. dba Tilcon – Georgetown G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
112 Pennsy Supply, Inc. dba Tilcon - Gumboro G 2,000 D 15,000  $17,000
113 Pennsy Supply, Inc. dba Tilcon - Portable Crusher G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
114 Pennsy Supply, Inc. dba Tilcon - Terminal Avenue G 2,000 C 30,000  $32,000
115 Perdue Agri-Recycle, LLC G 2,000 D 5,000  $17,000
116 Perdue Farms, Inc. - Bridgeville G  2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
117 Perdue Farms, Inc. - Georgetown     H 5,000 E 6,000  $11,000
118 Perdue Farms, Inc. - Milford G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
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119 Pinnacle Food Corporation G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
120 Playtex Products, Inc. – Plant 1 G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
121 PPG Industries, Inc. G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
122 Premcor Refining Group - Marketing Terminal 

(Valero)
G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000

123 Premcor Refining Group, Inc. - Delaware City 
(Valero)

M 125,000 A 200,000  $325,000

124 Printpack, Inc.                     H 5,000 C 30,000  $35,000
125 Procter & Gamble Dover Wipes Company H 5,000 D 15,000  $20,000
126 PTFE Compounds Inc. G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
127 Pure Green Industries, Inc. G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
128 Rohm & Haas Electronic Materials, CMP TE G 2,000 C 30,000  $32,000
129 Sara Lee Intimate Apparel G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
130 Sea Watch International LTD G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
131 SPI Pharma, Inc. G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
132 SPI Polyols, Inc.                       J 25,000 D 15,000  $40,000
133 St. Francis Hospital (Christiana Care Health 

Services)
G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000

134 Sunoco, Inc. (R&M)                      K 50,000 B 60,000  $110,000
135 Transflo Terminal Services, Inc. G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
136 Uniqema G 2,000 D 15,000  $17,000
137 Unisource Worldwide, Inc. G 2,000 F 3,000  $5,000
138 University of Delaware, Newark     G 2,000 D 15,000  $17,000
139 VFL Technology Corporation G 2,000 F 3,000  $ 5,000
140 W. L. Gore & Associates, Inc. - Papermill Road G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000
141 Warren F. "Sam" Beasley Power Station - DEMEC G 2,000 D 15,000  $17,000
142 Wilmington Hospital (Christiana Care  Health 

Services)
G 2,000 E 6,000  $8,000

143 Wilmington Wastewater Treatment Plant G  2,000 D 15,000  $17,000
Program Grand Totals  $1,091,000 $1,889,000  $2,980,000
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DELAWARE RIVER BASIN 
COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware River Basin Commission will hold a
public hearing and business meeting on Wednesday, March
1, 2006 at 10:15 a.m. at the Commissioner’s office, 25 State
Police Driver, West Trenton, New Jersey. For more
information contact Pamela M. Bush, Esq., Commission
Secretary and Assistant General Counsel, at 609-883-9500
extension 203.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly
meeting on Thursday, February 16, 2006 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Townsend Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Notification of Revised Program Regulations for the 
Green Energy Fund

Pursuant to Title 29 Delaware Code, Chapter 80,
Section 8055, the Secretary is required to promulgate rules
and regulations necessary to establish the administration of
the Green Energy Fund.

The proposed modification to the Green Energy Fund
Program Regulation will be available on the DNREC
Website at www.dnrec.state.de.us under “Delaware Energy
Office” and will also be available at the Energy Office web
site, www.delaware-energy.com.

Comments will be accepted by the Delaware Energy
Office, 146 South Governors Avenue, Dover, DE 19901 via
e-mail to charlie.smisson@state.de.us, or fax to 302-739-
1527 during the comment period of 2/01/2006 to 3/01/2006.

A Public Hearing has been scheduled at the Delaware
Energy Office, 146 South Governors Avenue, Dover, DE
19901 for 6:00 p.m. on March 1, 2006.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Title of the Regulations:
Tidal Finfish Regulations

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s

Summer Flounder, Scup and Black Sea Bass Management
Board adopted a compliance requirement stipulating that all
states in the management regime (Massachusetts through
North Carolina) for Black Sea Bass include language in their
regulations that clarify the methodology to be used when
measuring Black Sea Bass for minimum size determinations.
Specifically, each state is required to include language in
total length definitions for Black Sea Bass that exclude any
caudal filament as part of the measurement.  It is proposed to
amend tidal finfish regulation No. 3507 (1) and (2) in order
to include language regarding the caudal filament.

The Summer Flounder Fishery Management Plan
(FMP) details the annual process that the Summer Flounder
Fishery Management Board, the Mid-Atlantic Management
Council and the National Marine Fisheries Service are to use
to establish conservation equivalency for the recreational
summer flounder fishery. These agencies agreed that the
states would implement conservationally equivalent
measures rather than a coastwide management program for
summer flounder in 2006.  Delaware is obligated to cap the
summer flounder recreational harvest at 116,000 fish for
2006. The harvest cap has been adjusted downward 22
percent from the previous year’s level of 150, 000 fish
because of slower than projected rebuilding in the stock.
Although Delaware and all the coastal states in the
management regime must adjust their harvest cap
downward, estimates of the Delaware 2005 harvest indicated
that landings of summer flounder were 29 percent below the
adjusted cap imposed for 2006.  As such, it is anticipated that
management measurers for summer flounder in 2006 can be
liberalized and still restrain the harvest below the cap target.
It is proposed that a suite of management options will be
developed that take into consideration the relatively low
landings projected for 2005 and adjust the options that were
presented in the previous years to reflect 29 percent
liberalization in the harvest. These options will include
potential minimum size limits ranging between 16.5 and
17.5 inches in combination with various creel limits that can
range from 2 to 8 fish per day and also incorporate seasonal
closures, if necessary, to restrain the harvest within the 2006
cap. These management options will be reviewed by the
ASMFC Summer Flounder Technical Committee to
determine if the correct data sets and analyses were used to
project landings under the various options. Once the
technical review is completed, those options that were
approved will be presented at a public hearing in order to
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receive input from the fishing community on the various
options. 

Notice of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their comments or request

additional information by contacting the Fisheries Section,
Division of Fish and Wildlife, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE
19901, (302) 739-9914. A public hearing on these proposed
amendments will be held on March 9, 2006 at 7:30 P.M. in
the DNREC Auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE
19901. The record will remain open for written comments
until 4:30 PM, March 10, 2006.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

300 Board of Architecture
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware Board of Architecture in accordance with
24 Del.C. §306 has proposed changes to its rules and
regulations to clarify the late renewal process for continuing
education requirements.

A public hearing will be held on March 1, 2006 at 1:30
p.m. in the second floor conference room B of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware
where members of the public can offer comments. Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the Delaware Board of
Landscape Architecture, 861 Silver Lake Blvd, Cannon
Building, Suite 203, Dover DE 19904. Persons wishing to
submit written comments may forward these to the Board at
the above address. The final date to receive written
comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. Section 10115 the Delaware
Board of Architects is proposing to revise its Rules and
Regulations in order to clarify the late renewal process for
continuing education requirements. The proposed changes
delete the existing Section 6.5 of the Board’s Regulations in
their entirety.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
2000 Board of Occupational Therapy

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice in
accordance with 24 Del.C. §2006(a)(1) has proposed

changes to its rules and regulations related to the online
renewal and continuing education.

A public hearing will be held at 4:30 p.m. on March 15,
2006 in the second floor conference room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware
where members of the public can offer comments. Anyone
wishing to receive a copy of the proposed rules and
regulations may obtain a copy from the State Board of
Occupational Therapy Practice, 861 Silver Lake Blvd,
Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904. Persons
wishing to submit written comments may forward these to
the Board at the above address. The final date to receive
written comments will be at the public hearing.

The Board will consider promulgating the proposed
regulations at its regularly scheduled meeting following the
public hearing.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

On May 14, 2003, the Division of the Public Advocate
(“DPA”) filed a petition with the Public Service Commission
(“PSC" or "Commission”) asking the Commission to make
revisions and amendments to its regulations concerning the
Terms and Conditions Under Which Water Utilities Require
Advances and/or Contributions In-Aid-Of Construction
From Customers or Developers and the Proper Ratemaking
Treatment for Such Contributions and Advances (“the
Regulations”). These Regulations were originally adopted in
PSC Order No. 2928 (Mar. 15, 1988) and revised in PSC
Order No. 4310 (Sept. 24, 1996).

In PSC Order No. 6198 (June 16, 2003), the
Commission accepted the DPA’s petition to reopen those
earlier regulations. In PSC Order No. 6538 (December 7,
2004), the Commission issued a revised set of regulations for
public comment and designated a Hearing Examiner to
conduct further proceedings. On November 18, 2005, the
Hearing Examiner issued a written report with revised
regulations that were proposed for adoption by the
Commission. On December 20, 2005, the Commission voted
to adopt the Hearing Examiner's Report and publish the
revised regulations for further public comment.

The revised regulations address the following: (a) the
definitions of Contributions In-Aid-Of Construction
(“CIAC"), Advances, Facilities Extension, and New
Services; (b) the computation of CIAC, including costs
categories; (c) the nature of advances; (d) refunds of
advances; (e) the ratemaking treatment of advances; (f) the
gross-up of CIAC; (g) the ratemaking treatment of CIAC; (h)
the true-up of CIAC and advances; (i) that the regulations
apply only to Class A water utilities; (j) that the regulations
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will only have prospective application; and (k) matters
necessarily related to the foregoing. The Commission
proposes that its Order promulgating the final version of the
new regulations will provide that the regulations (and the
related docket) will be reopened two years from the effective
date of the new regulations to review the new rate-making
methodology, and to assess its effectiveness, the CIAC
computation, and related costs categories.  After such review
and assessment, the Commission may, if deemed
appropriate, consider further modifications of the
regulations.

Copies of the present Regulations, the proposed
regulations, and the DPA’s petition to reopen are available
for public inspection at the Commission’s address set out
below during normal business hours.

The Commission has authority to promulgate the
regulations pursuant to 26 Del.C. §209(a) and 29 Del.C.
§10111 et seq.

The Commission hereby solicits written comments,
suggestions, and compilations of data, briefs, or other
written materials concerning the proposed regulations. Ten
(10) copies of such materials shall be filed with the
Commission at its office located at 861 Silver Lake
Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 100, Dover, Delaware,
19904. All such materials shall be filed with the Commission
on or before March 3, 2006.  Persons who wish to participate
in the proceedings, but who do not wish to file written
materials, are asked to send a letter informing the
Commission of their intention to participate on or before
March 3, 2006.  The Commission will hold a public hearing
to consider the proposed regulations on March 14, 2006 at
1:00 PM at its Dover office identified above.

The proposed regulations and the materials submitted in
connection therewith will be available for public inspection
and copying at the Commission's Dover office during normal
business hours.  The fee for copying is $0.25 per page.  The
regulations may also be reviewed, by appointment during
normal business hours, at the office of the Division of the
Public Advocate located at the Carvel State Office Building,
4th Floor, 820 North French Street, Wilmington, Delaware
19801, and will also be available for review on the
Commission's website:  www.state.de.us/delpsc.

Any individual with disabilities who wishes to
participate in these proceedings should contact the
Commission to discuss any auxiliary aids or services needed
to facilitate such review or participation. Such contact may
be in person, by writing, by telephone, or otherwise. The
Commission's toll-free telephone number (in Delaware) is
(800) 282-8574. Any person with questions may also contact
the Commission Staff at (302) 739-4247 or by Text
Telephone at (302) 739-4333.  Inquiries can also be sent by
Internet e-mail to karen.nickerson@state.de.us.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

PUBLIC NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULES

In PSC Order No. 5933 (Apr. 16, 2002), the
Commission felt that it might be prudent to explore whether
the Commission should adopt specific rules governing what
actions are, or are not, permissible in the case of an alleged
breach of the terms of an interconnection agreement and
what procedures, including notice to the Commission and
Commission approval, might have to precede any such
actions. The premise for such rules would be to ensure that
consumers not suffer the consequences of contractual
disputes between carriers and find themselves disconnected
or limited in their choices. Therefore, the Commission
opened Regulation Docket No. 52.

Staff has developed rules to address the Commission’s
concerns by instructing telecommunications carriers that
during disputes between carriers, the companies cannot
terminate or suspend service which would affect Delaware
consumers and instructing telecommunications carriers who
want to abandon service of the process of informing
customers and relevant parties before terminating service.

The text of these proposed rules are attached to PSC
Order No. 6801.  That Order and the exhibits are reproduced
in the February 2006 edition of the Delaware Register of
Regulations. The Order and exhibits can also be reviewed
on-line at the PSC’s website at www.state.de.us/delpsc.  You
can also obtain a paper copy of the Order at the PSC’s Dover
office.  Those paper copies will cost $0.25 per page.
 You can file written comments, suggestions, briefs,
compilations of data, or other materials concerning these
proposed amendments to the Telecom Rules. Such material
(10 copies) must be submitted to the Commission on or
before Friday, March 3, 2006. Send the material to the
Commission’s Dover office at the following address:

Delaware Public Service Commission
861 Silver Lake Boulevard
Cannon Building
Suite 100
Dover, Delaware, 19904
Attn: PSC Reg. Dckt. No. 52

In addition, the PSC will conduct a public hearing on
these proposed changes on Wednesday, March 22, 2006,
beginning at 10:00 AM. The hearing will take place in the
Commission’s Office located at the address denoted above.
You may also submit additional materials then.

If you are handicapped and need assistance or aids in
participating in this matter, please contact the PSC to discuss
the needed assistance or aids. You can contact the PSC with
questions or requests about this matter at the Commission's
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toll-free telephone number (800) 282-8574 (Delaware only)
or (302) 739-4333 (including text telephone). You can also
send inquiries by Internet e-mail addressed to
karen.knickerson@state.de.us.

DEPARTMENT OF 
TRANSPORTATION

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

The Delaware Department of Transportation Division of
Motor Vehicles, pursuant to 21 Del.C. §302 and 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101, Subchapter II, proposes to repeal thirty-three
rules and regulations previously enforced by the Division,
and described in detail below this notice. The repeals are
proposed because these rules and regulations are either
obsolete under later-enacted state or federal laws, or have
already become part of state law. Written comments
concerning this proposed repeal should be sent by March 2,
2006 to Jack Eanes, Chief of Operations, Division of Motor
Vehicles, 303 Transportation Circle, P.O. Box 698, Dover,
Delaware 19903.
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