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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

5 DE Reg. 1337 - 1339 (01/1/02)

Refers to Volume 5, pages 1337 - 1339 of the
Delaware Register issued on January 1, 2002.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$120.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written
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evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,

no judicial review of a regulation is available
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER 

OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
 DATE             DATE        TIME

MARCH 1 FEBRUARY 15 4:30 P.M.

APRIL 1 MARCH 15 4:30 P.M.

MAY 1 APRIL 15 4:30 P.M.

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

Walter G. Feindt, Deputy Director; Judi
Abbott, Secretary; Sandra F. Clark,
Administrative Assistant; Jeffrey W. Hague,
Registrar of Regulations; Maryanne McGonegal,
Research Analyst; Ruth Ann Melson, Legislative
Librarian; Deborah J. Messina, Print Shop
Supervisor; Alex W. Mull, Assistant Registrar;
Deborah A. Porter, Administrative  Assistant;
Barbara Ryan, Public Information Clerk; Ted
Segletes, Paralegal;  Don Sellers, Printer; Thom
Shiels, Legislative Attorney; Alice W. Stark,
Legislative Attorney; Mary Jane Starkey, Senior
Secretary;  Marvin L. Stayton, Printer; Rochelle
Yerkes, Senior Secretary.



TABLE OF CONTENTS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 8, FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2002

1547

Cumulative Tables................................................. .......1549

PROPOSED

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Board of Physical Therapists................................. ....... 1556
Board of Veterinary Medicine............................... ....... 1563

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

245 Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards
Scholarship..................................................... ....... 1568

1526  Certification English to Speakers of Other
Languages (Esol) Teachers............................ ....... 1570

1527  Endorsement English to Speakers of Other
Languages (Esol) Teacher.............................. ....... 1570

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Regulations for Assisted Living Facilities............ ....... 1572
Regulations for Nursing Homes Admitting

Pediatric Residents......................................... ....... 1592

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

7004.3  Collection and Management of Food Stamp
Claims ........................................................... ....... 1596

7007  Submission of Food Stamp Payments......... ....... 1597
9028  Filing an Application................................... ....... 1598
9030  Interviews.................................................... ....... 1599
9040  Delays in Processing................................... ....... 1600
9081 Deeming of Sponsor Income........................ ....... 1600
9085 Unclear Information..................................... ....... 1601
14950 Guaranteed Eligibility................................ ....... 1602

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND 
ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL

Division of Air & Waste Management
Waste Management Section

2002 Amendments to Delaware Regulations Governing
Hazardous Waste............................................ ....... 1603

Amendments to Delaware Regulations Governing
Hazardous Waste............................................ ....... 1605

FINAL

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Board of Nursing, Joint Practice Committee,
Advanced Practice Nurses.............................. ......  1606

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

201  School Shared Decision-making Transition
Planning Grants.............................................. ......  1615

205  District Shared Decision-making Transition
Planning Grants.............................................. ......  1616

210  Approval Of School Improvement Grants..... ......  1616
828 Assistance With Medications On Field Trips. ......  1617

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND 
ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL

Division of Air & Waste Management
Waste Management Section

Regulations Governing Hazardous Substance
Cleanup.......................................................... ......  1618

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES AND THE

DIVISION OF HIGHWAY SAFETY

Policy Regulation No. 91 Ignition Interlock Device,
Installation, Removal, and Monthly Monitoring and
Calibration Fees.............................................. ......  1620

GOVERNOR

Executive Order 23, Establishing the Governor’s
Public Works and Procurement Opportunity
Council and Setting Standards for Contracting
by State Agencies........................................... ......  1622

Executive Order 24, December 24, 2001 Holiday. ......  1623
Executive Order 25, Reallocation of State Private

Activity Bond Volume Cap for Calendar Year
2001 and Initial Suballocation of State Private
Activity Bond Volume Cap for Calendar 
Year 2002....................................................... ......  1624

Appointments......................................................... ......  1625

http://www.state.de.us/das/
http://www.doe.state.de.us/
http://www.doe.state.de.us/
http://www.state.de.us/das/
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dltc/dltchome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
http://www.state.de.us/highway/index.htm
http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm


TABLE OF CONTENTS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 8, FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2002

1548

CALENDAR OF EVENTS/HEARING 
NOTICES

Examining Board of Physical Therapists, Notice
of Public Hearing........................................... ....... 1626

Board of Veterinary Medicine, Notice of
Public Hearing................................................ ....... 1626

State Board of Education, Notice of Monthly
Meeting ......................................................... ....... 1626

Health and Social Services, Div. of Long Term Care
Residents Protection,

Regulations for Assisted Living Facilities,
Notice of Public Hearing........................ ....... 1626
Regulations for Nursing Homes Admitting
Pediatric Residents, Notice of Public
Hearing.................................................... ....... 1627

Div. of Social Services, DSSM
7004.3 Collection and Management of Food Stamp
Claims and DSSM 7007 Submission of Food Stamp
Payments, Notice of Public Comment
Period ............................................................ ....... 1627
DSSM 9028, 9030, 9040, 9081, and 9085,
Rules of Food Stamp Program:  Noncitizen
Eligibility and Certification Provisions, Notice
of Public Comment Period............................. .......  1628
DSSM 14950, Medicaid Guaranteed Eligibility
for Medicaid recipients enrolled in the Diamond
State Health Plan, Notice of Public Comment
Period ............................................................ ....... 1628

DNREC, 2002 Amendments to Delaware Regulations
Governing Hazardous Waste, Notice of Public
Hearing.......................................................... ....... 1629
Amendments to Delaware Regulations Governing
Hazardous Waste, Notice of Public Hearing. ....... 1629

Delaware River Basin Commission, Notice of
Public Hearing................................................ ....... 1629



CUMULATIVE TABLES

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 8, FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2002

1549

DELAWARE SOLID WASTE AUTHORITY
Regulations of the Delaware Solid Waste Authority............................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   100  (Final)
Differential Disposal Fee Program......................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   115  (Final)
Statewide Solid Waste Management...................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   117  (Final)

DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
Criminal History Records Check Policy................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1006  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
Division of Professional Regulation (TITLE 24 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)

100 Board of Accountancy......................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.       6  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   119  (Final)
5  DE Reg.   687  (Prop.)

200 Board of Landscape Architecture........................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   446  (Final)
5  DE Reg.   821  (Final)

1100 Board of Dental Examiners................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1251  (Final)
1900 Board of Nursing, Joint Practice Committee, Advanced Practice Nurses........... .......5  DE Reg. 1009  (Prop.)
2900 Real Estate Commission...................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   231  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   697  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1070  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1387  (Final)

2925 Real Estate Commission, Education Guidelines................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   238  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   705  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1071  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1187  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1395  (Final)

3000 Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health........................................... .......5  DE Reg.   452  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1340  (Prop.)

3100 Board of Funeral Services................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   606  (Final)
3300 Board of Veterinary Medicine............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   709  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   999  (Errata)
5  DE Reg. 1400  (Final)

3500 Board of Examiners of Psychologists.................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   612  (Final)
3900 Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners........................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1072  (Final)
5100 Board of Cosmetology and Barbering................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   243  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1260  (Final)
5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork....................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     16  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   717  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   827  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1409  (Final)

Public Service Commission
Delaware PSC’s Rules for the Provision of Telecommunications Services, Docket 

Nos. 10 & 45, Proposed Amendments..................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   435  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1265  (Final)

Reg. Docket No. 13, Rules & Regulations Governing Minimum Standards for
Service Provided by Public Water Companies........................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   722  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1414  (Final)

The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
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Water Utilities, Proposed Regulations Governing, Including the Commission’s Jurisdiction to
Grant and Revoke Certificates of Public Convenience & Necessity Subject to the
Jurisdiction of the PSC............................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   212  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Aquaculture Regulations ...................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1192  (Prop.)
Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund Program................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1274  (Final)
Food Products Inspection Section

Food Products Inspection................................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1345  (Prop.)
Harness Racing Commission

Rule 1, Required Days Off.............................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   247  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   832  (Final)

Rule 3.0, State Steward/Judges....................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   250  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   835  (Final)

Rule 4.0, Associations.................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   252  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   837  (Final)

Rule 5, Owners... ...................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   253  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   838  (Final)

Rule 6.0, Types of Races................................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1196  (Prop.)
Rule 7, Rules of the Race................................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   255  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   841  (Final)
Rule 8, Medications and Foreign Substances................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   258  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   843  (Final)
Rule 8.0, Veterinary Practices, Equine Health Medication............................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1196  (Prop.)

Plant Industries Section
Grain Inspection and Certification Regulations.............................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   458  (Final)

Thoroughbed Racing Commission
Rule 13.0, Claiming Races............................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1214  (Prop.)
Rule 13.01, Owners Entitled........................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     21  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   849  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
101 Delaware Student Testing Program......................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     23  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   620  (Final)
103 School Accountability for Academic Performance................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   724  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1281  (Final)
201 School Shared Decision-making Transition Planning Grants................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1017  (Prop.)
205 District Shared Decision-making Transition Planning Grants................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1017  (Prop.) 
210 Approval of School Improvement Grants................................................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1017  (Prop.)
260 General Appeal Procedures for the Child and Adult Care Food Programs

of the United States Department of Agriculture.................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   461  (Final)
303 Certification Administrative - Assistant Superintendent for Business.................... .......5  DE Reg.   263  (Rep.)

5  DE Reg.   851  (Final)
315 Certification Manager Of School Bus Transportation............................................. .......5  DE Reg.   264  (Rep.)

5  DE Reg.   853  (Final)
316 Certification Supervisor Of School Bus Transportation.......................................... .......5  DE Reg.   265  (Rep.)

5  DE Reg.   853  (Final)
317 Certification School Business Manager................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   265  (Rep.)

5  DE Reg.   853  (Final)
318 Certification Manager Of School Food Service Programs...................................... .......5  DE Reg.   265  (Rep.)

5  DE Reg.   854  (Final)
319 Certification Supervisor Of School Food Service Programs................................... .......5  DE Reg.   266  (Rep.)

5  DE Reg.   854  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1000  (Errata)    

359 Certification Audiology........................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   266  (Rep.)
5  DE Reg.   855  (Final)
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366 Certification School Occupational Therapist........................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   266  (Rep.)
5  DE Reg.   855  (Final)

367 Certification School Physical Therapist.................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   267  (Rep.)
5  DE Reg.   855  (Final)

369 Certification Speech Language Pathologist 5  DE Reg.   855  (Final)
398 Degree Granting Institutions of Higher Education.................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   270  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   859  (Final)
501 State Content Standards........................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   276  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   865  (Final)  
515 High School Diplomas and Record of Performance................................................ .......5  DE Reg.     28  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   625  (Final)
701 Unit Count... ...................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     29  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   627  (Final)
745 Criminal Background Checks for Public Education Employees............................. .......5  DE Reg.   280  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   869  (Final)
828 Assistance with Medications on Field Trips............................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   284  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   873  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1216  (Prop.)

910 General Educational Development.......................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1285  (Final)
915 James H. Groves High School................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1285  (Final)
925 Children with Disabilities........................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   286  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   874  (Final)
1102 Standards for School Bus Chassis and Bodies Placed in Production

on or after March 1, 2002.................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   290  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   879  (Final)

1535 (formerly 305) Certification Administrative - Administrative Assistant................ .......5  DE Reg.   268  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   856  (Final)

1536 (formerly 306) Certification Administrative - Director........................................... .......5  DE Reg.   268  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   857  (Final)

1538 (formerly 308) Certification Administrative - Supervisor....................................... .......5  DE Reg.   269  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   858  (Final)

1584 (formerly 384) Permits - School, Classroom Aides and Autistic Residential
Child Care Specialists.......................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   270  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   859  (Final)
State Board of Education Procedures Manual....................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   880  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
Division of Revenue

Delaware State Lottery Office
Video Lottery Regulations 5.0, 7.0 and 14.0........................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   728  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1286  (Final)
Video Lottery Regulation 5.0 Technology Providers: 

Contracts; Requirements; Duties......................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1019  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1417  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection

Delaware Adult Abuse Registry.............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   515  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1073  (Final)

Group Home Facilities for Persons with Aids......................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   520  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1079  (Final)

Training & Qualifications for Nursing Assistants & Certified Nursing Assistants. .......5  DE Reg.   733  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1346  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1420  (Final)

Division of Public Health
Body Art Establishments, Regulations Governing......................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   319  (Prop.)
Care & Transportation of the Dead, Sec. 6, Preparation of Bodies Dead of Certain

Diseases, Regulations Governing............................................................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1337  (Emer.)
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Control of Communicable and Other Disease Conditions.............................................. .......5  DE Reg.   156  (Final) 
Cosmetology and Barbering Establishments, Regulations Governing........................... .......5  DE Reg.   311  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1291  (Final) 
Managed Care Organizations, Application & Operation of........................................... .......5  DE Reg.   130  (Final)

5  DE Reg. 1025  (Prop.)
5 DE Reg.  1435  (Final)

Non-Nurse Midwife Regulations.................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1021  (Prop.)
Public Drinking Water Systems, Rules and Regulations Governing.............................. .......5  DE Reg.   630  (Final)
Trauma System Rules & Regulations............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.     32  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   632  (Final)
Uniform Controlled Substances Act, Rescheduling of Dronabinol................................ .......5  DE Reg.   747  (Prop.)
Uniform Controlled Substance Regulation No. 4........................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   750  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1460  (Final)
Office of Drinking Water

Public Drinking Water Systems, Regulations Governing........................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1237  (Prop.)
Office of Emergency Medical Services

Air Medical Ambulance Services Regulations........................................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1217  (Prop.)
Division of Social Services

DSSM 
2002Case Closures and Address Changes............................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   327  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   893  (Final)
2015-2019  A Better Chance & General Assistance Program................................. .......5  DE Reg.   181  (Final)
4005.3 Step-Parent Income in the ABC Program.................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   644  (Final)
7002 Food Stamp Claims........................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   174  (Final)
7004 Collection & Management of Food Stamp Claims........................................ .......5  DE Reg.   177  (Final)
7004.3 Collection and Management of Food Stamp Claims................................... .......5  DE Reg.   359  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   929  (Final)
5  DE Reg. 1001  (Errata) 

7005 Terminating and Writing Off Claims.............................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   181  (Final)
9060 Income Deductions......................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1001  (Emer.)

5  DE Reg. 1046  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1465  (Final)

9085 Reporting Changes.......................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1356  (prop.)
9089 DABC and/or GA Food Stamp Households................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   535  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1094  (Final)
11004.7 Child Care Fee........................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   755  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1467  (Final)
13402 A Better Chance Welfare Reform Program.................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   183  (Final)
13403 AFDC Applicants With a Budgeted Need of Less Than $10....................... .......5  DE Reg.   184  (Final)
14110.8.1Prohibitions.............................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   184  (Final)
14300Citizenship and Alienage............................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   184  (Final)
14900Enrollment in Managed Care......................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   185  (Final)
15110.1Medicaid Eligibility.................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   185  (Final)
15200Transitional Medicaid.................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   185  (Final)
16100.1.2Initial Eligibility Determination.............................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   186  (Final)
16230.1.4Deducations from Earned Income........................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   187  (Final)
16500.1Eligibility Requirements............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   187  (Final)
17170Sec. 4913, Disabled Children........................................................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1096  (Final)  
17200Disabled Children, New 25000 Children’s Community Alternative

Disability Program (CCADP).............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   536  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1097  (Final)

18100.2Alien Status................................................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   187  (Final)
20620.1Personal Needs............................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1004  (Emer.)

5  DE Reg. 1049  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1469  (Final)

Eligibility of Inmates & Eligibility of the Breast & Cervical Cancer Group................. .......5  DE Reg.   359  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   925  (Final)
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Food Stamp Program, Noncitizen Eligibility & Certification Provisions of
PL-104-193.. ...................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   328  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   894  (Final)
Reimbursement Methodology for Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs).......... .......5  DE Reg.   173  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Reg. No. 10, Arbitration of Automobile and Homeowner’s Insurance Claims..................... .......5  DE Reg. 1238  (Prop.)
Reg. No. 11, Arbitration of Health Insurance Claims and Internal Review

Processes of Medical Insurance Carriers........................................................................ .......5  DE Reg. 1242  (Prop.)
Reg. No. 81, Prompt Payment of Settled Claims................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   645  (Final)
Reg. No. 84, Privacy of Consumer Financial & Health Information..................................... .......5  DE Reg.   188  (Final)
Reg. No. 85, Valuation of Life Insurance Policies................................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1049  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1470  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Division of Employment & Training

Council on Apprenticeship and Training
Delaware Apprenticeship and Training Law, Section 106.5................................... .......5  DE Reg.   204  (Final)

Office of Labor Law Enforcement
Prevailing Wage Regulations................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   205  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Regulations Governing Delaware’s Coastal Zone................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   930  (Final)
Division of Air & Waste Management

Regulations Governing Hazardous Substance Cleanup.................................................. .......5  DE Reg. 1249  (Prop.)
Regulation 24, Section 2, Definitions............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.   541  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1478  (Final)
Regulation 24, Section 11, Mobile Equipment Repair & Refinishing............................ .......5  DE Reg.   363  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1101  (Final)
Regulation 24, Section 26, Stage I Vapor Recovery....................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   545  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1482  (Final)
Regulation 24, Section 33, Solvent Metal Cleaning....................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   367  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1106  (Final)
Regulation 24, Section 36, Stage II Vapor Recovery ..................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   547  (Prop.)   

5  DE Reg. 1484  (Final)
Regulation 24, Section 46, Lightering Operations......................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   379  (Prop.) 
Regulation 31, Low Enhanced Inspection and Maintenance Program........................... .......5  DE Reg.     44  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   940  (Final)
Regulation 38, Subpart T, Emission Standards for Halogenated Solvent Cleaning....... .......5  DE Reg.   383  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1118  (Final)
Regulation 41, Section 1, Architectural and Industrial Maintenance Coatings.............. .......5  DE Reg.   389  (Prop.)
Regulation 41, Section 2, Consumer Products............................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   560  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1497  (Final)
Regulation 41, Section 3, Portable Fuel Containers....................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   398  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1125  (Final)
Regulation 42, Section 1, Control of NOx Emissions from Industrial Boilers.............. .......5  DE Reg.   400  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1299  (Final)
Regulation 43, Not To Exceed California Heavy Duty Diesel Engine Standards.......... .......5  DE Reg.   756  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1302  (Final)
Division of Fish & Wildlife

Shellfish Regulation Nos. S-7(b), S-9, S-11, S-13 and S-37, Repeal of ........................ .......5  DE Reg.   403  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   496  (Errata)
5  DE Reg.   972  (Final)

Shellfish Regulation No. S-55-A, Horseshoe Crab Dredge Permit Lottery................... .......5  DE Reg. 1128  (Final)
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Shellfish Regulation Nos. S-63, S-65, S-67, S-69, S-71, S-73 and S-75 (Proposed)..... .......5  DE Reg.   496  (Errata)
5  DE Reg.   972  (Final)

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4, Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession
Limits; Seasons ...................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   462  (Final)

Division of Water Resources
Regulations Governing the Design, Installation and Operation of On-Site

Wastewater Treatment and Disposal Systems......................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   760  (Prop.)
Regulations for Licensing Operators of Wastewater Facilities....................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1307  (Final)
Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) for the Murderkill River Watershed, Delaware.. .......5  DE Reg.   404  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1305  (Final)
Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) for Nutrients in the Appoquinimink Watershed. .......5  DE Reg. 1056  (Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Divison of Boiler Safety

Boiler Safety, Rules & Regulations................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   584  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1128  (Final)

Division of Highway Safety
Policy Regulation Number 91, Ignition Interlock Device Installation, Removal,

and Monthly Monitoring and Calibration Fees....................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1058  (Prop.)
Division of State Police

Bounty Hunter/Bail Enforcement Agents....................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1059  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1523  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Division of Historical & Cultural Affairs

Historic Preservation Tax Credit, Regulations Governing............................................. .......5  DE Reg.   405  (Prop.)
Office of the State Banking Commissioner

Reg. No. 5.1101(f).0001 Election to Be Treated for Tax Purposes as a Subsidiary
Corporation of a Delaware Chartered Banking Organization or Trust Company,
National Bank Having its Principal Office in Delaware, or Out-of-state Bank
That Operates a Resulting Branch in Delaware....................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     77  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   647  (Final)
Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0002, Instructions for Preparation of Franchise Tax...................... .......5  DE Reg.     79  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   649  (Final)   
Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0003, Estimated Franchise Tax Report.......................................... .......5  DE Reg.     82  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   652  (Final)
Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0004, Final Franchise Tax Report ................................................. .......5  DE Reg.     83  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   654  (Final)
Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0005, Instructions for Preparation of Franchise Tax for Federal

Savings Banks Not Headquartered in this State but Maintaining Branches
in this State.. ...................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     85  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   656  (Final)   
Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0006, Estimated Franchise Tax Report Federal Savings Banks Not

Headquartered in Delaware..................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     88  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   659  (Final)

Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0007, Final Franchise Tax Report Federal Savings Banks Not
Headquartered in Delaware..................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     89  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   660  (Final)

Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0009, Instructions for Preparation of Franchise Tax for Resulting
Branches in this State of Out-of-State Banks.......................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     90  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   661  (Final)
Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0010, Estimated Franchise Tax Report for Resulting Branches in

this State of Out-of-State Banks.............................................................................. .......5  DE Reg.     94  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   665  (Final)
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Reg. No. 5.1101etal.0011, Final Franchise Tax Report for Resulting Branches in this 
State of Out-of-State Banks..................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.     96  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   667  (Final)
Reg. No. 5.1105.0008, Instructions for Calculation of Employment Tax Credits.......... .......5  DE Reg.     98  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   669  (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Outdoor Advertising, Rules & Regulations........................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   410  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1357  (Prop.)
State Scenic and Historic Highways Program....................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   595  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1129  (Final)

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT
Governor’s Office

Appointments and Nominations..................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   218 
5  DE Reg.   465
5  DE Reg. 1156
5  DE Reg. 1320
5  DE Reg. 1539

Executive Order No. 18, Delaware Spatial Data I-Team 5  DE Reg.   671
Executive Order No. 19, Delaware State Police 5  DE Reg.   976
Executive Order No. 20, State Employees’ Charitable Campaign 5  DE Reg.   976
Executive Order No. 21, Establishment of Early Care & Education Council 5  DE Reg. 1318
Executive Order No. 22, Building Safety 5  DE Reg. 1319
Declaration Of Limited State Of Emergency In New Castle County, Delaware 5  DE Reg.   672
Termination Of Limited State Of Emergency in New Castle County, Delaware 5  DE Reg.   672

Delaware Economic Development Office
Direct Grants Program.................................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg.   512  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg.   817  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1312  (Final)

Energy Alternative Program........................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1062  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg. 1529  (Final)

Matching Funds Program................................................................................................ .......5  DE Reg.   514  (Prop.)
5  DE Reg.   818  (Prop.)

Matching Grants Program............................................................................................... .......5  DE Reg. 1315  (Final)
Regulation No. 5, Procedures Governing the Delaware Strategic Fund......................... .......5  DE Reg.   499  (Prop.)

5  DE Reg. 1141  (Final)  
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

EXAMINING BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPISTS

24 DE Admin. Code 2600
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 

Section 2604 (24 Del.C. §2604)

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Section 2604(1), the Delaware
State Examining Board of Physical Therapists proposes to
revise its rules and regulations.  The proposed changes
reflect the statutory change that allows a physical therapist to
now accept a referral from any licensed health practitioner
who has been granted prescriptive authority.  The proposed
changes also reflect the statutory changes that delineate the
requirements for practicing with a temporary license.  The
proposed changes define the direct supervision of an athletic
trainer in a non-clinical setting.  The proposed changes also
specify the number of continuing education hours required
for licensees whose licenses have lapsed and who have
reapplied for licensure under the conditions which govern
reciprocity.  The proposed regulations serve to implement or
clarify specific sections of 24 Del.C. Chapter 26. 

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Tuesday, March 19, 2002 at 6:00 p.m. in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904. The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Susan

Miccio at the above address.  The final date to submit written
comments shall be at the above scheduled public hearing.
Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed Rules and
Regulations or to make comments at the public hearing
should notify Susan Miccio at the above address or by
calling (302) 744-4506.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

1.0 Definitions
2.0 Board
3.0 Physical Therapist Assistants
4.0 Athletic Trainers
5.0 Support Personnel
6.0 Qualifications of Applicant
7.0 Mandatory Continuing Education Units
8.0 Admission to Practice:  License by Reciprocity
9.0 Temporary Licensure
10.0 Foreign Trained Applicant for Licensure
11.0 Reactivation and Reinstatement
12.0 Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically

Dependent or Impaired Professionals

1.0  Definitions
1.1  Consultation (24 Del.C. § 2612)

1.1.1 Consultation in direct access.  A physician
licensed health practitioner who has been granted
prescriptive authority must be consulted if a patient is still
receiving physical therapy after 30 calendar days have
lapsed from the date of the initial assessment.  This
consultation must be documented and could take place at any
time during the initial thirty day period.  The consultation

Symbol Key
Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.

Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nat ure
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.

http://www.state.de.us/das/
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can be made by telephone, fax, in writing, or in person.
There is nothing in these rules and regulations or in the
Physical Therapy Law that limits the number of
consultations the Physical Therapist can make on the
patient’s behalf.  The consult should be with the patient’s
personal physician licensed health practitioner.  If the patient
does not have a personal licensed health practitioner
physician, the Physical Therapist is to offer the patient at
least three physicians licensed health practitioners from
which to choose.  The referral to a physician licensed health
practitioner after the initial thirty day period must not be in
conflict with 24 Del. C. § 2616 (a)(8) which deals with
referral for profit.  If no physician licensed health
practitioner consult has been made in this initial thirty day
period, treatment must be terminated and no treatment may
be resumed without a physician licensed health practitioner
consult. 

1.1.2  Consultation with written prescription from a
physician, dentist, podiatrist, or chiropractor licensed health
practitioner.  A prescription accompanying a patient must
not be substantially modified without documented
consultation with the referring practitioner.  The consultation
can be made by telephone, fax, in writing, or in person.

1.2  Direct Supervision (24 Del.C. § 2611 (a))
1.2.1  Direct supervision in connection with a

Physical Therapist practicing under a temporary license
means:

1.2.1.1  a licensed Physical Therapist
supervisor shall be on the premises when the individual with
a temporary license is practicing and 

1.2.1.2  evaluations and progress notes written
by the individual with a temporary license shall be co-signed
by the licensed Physical Therapist supervisor.

1.2.2  Direct supervision in relation to a Physical
Therapist Assistant with less than one (1) year experience
means a Physical Therapist shall be on the premises at all
times and see each patient.

1.2.3  Direct supervision in relation to a Physical
Therapist Assistant with one (1) year or more experience
means that a Physical Therapist Assistant must receive on-
site, face to face supervision at least once every fifth
treatment day or once every three weeks, whichever occurs
first.  The supervising Physical Therapist must have at least
one (1) year clinical experience.  The Physical Therapist
must be available and accessible by telecommunications to
the Physical Therapist Assistant during all working hours of
the Physical Therapist Assistant.

1.2.4  The Physical Therapist is responsible for the
actions of the Physical Therapist Assistant when under his/
her supervision. All supervision must be documented.

1.2.5  Direct supervision in connection with an
Athletic Trainer means a Physical Therapist shall be on the
premises at all times in a clinical setting and see every
patient.

1.2.6 Direct supervision in connection with an
athletic trainer in a non-clinical setting means that the
supervising athletic trainer should be personally present and
immediately available to the treatment area.

1.2.6 7 At no time may a Physical Therapist
supervise more than 2 Physical Therapist Assistants, 2
Athletic Trainers or 1 Physical Therapist Assistant and 1
Athletic Trainer.  A Physical Therapist may only supervise 1
Physical Therapist Assistant off site.  Athletic Trainers must
be supervised on site.

1.2.7 8 Direct supervision in connection with
support personnel means a licensed Physical Therapist or
Physical Therapist Assistant shall be personally present and
immediately available within the treatment area to give aid,
direction, and instruction when procedures are performed.

1.3  On site or on premises (24 Del.C. § 2602 (5)), in
connection with supervision of a Physical Therapist
Assistant or Athletic Trainer, means that the Physical
Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer must be in the same
physical building as the supervising Physical Therapist.  On
site or on premises does not refer to attached buildings.

1.4  Support personnel (24 Del.C. § 2615) means a
person(s) who performs certain routine, designated physical
therapy tasks under the direct supervision of a licensed
Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant.  There
shall be documented evidence of sufficient in-service
training to assure safe performance of the duties assigned to
the support personnel.

1.5  Unprofessional Conduct (24 Del.C. § 2616 (7)).
Unprofessional conduct shall include departure from or the
failure to conform to the minimal standards of acceptable
and prevailing physical therapy practice or athletic training
practice, in which proceeding actual injury to a patient need
not be established. 24 Del.C. § 2616 (7).  Such
unprofessional conduct shall include, but not be limited to,
the following:

1.5.1 - Assuming duties within the practice of
physical therapy or athletic training without adequate
preparation or supervision or when competency has not been
maintained.

1.5.2 - The Physical Therapist who knowingly
allows a Physical Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer to
perform prohibited activities is guilty of unprofessional
conduct.

1.5.3 - The Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist
Assistant, or Athletic Trainer who knowingly performs
prohibited activities is guilty of unprofessional conduct.

1.5.4 - The Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist
Assistant who knowingly allows support personnel to
perform prohibited activities is guilty of unprofessional
conduct.

1.5.5 - Performing new physical therapy or athletic
training techniques or procedures without proper education
and practice or without proper supervision.
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1.5.6 - Failing to take appropriate action or to
follow policies and procedures in the practice situation
designed to safeguard the patient.

1.5.7 - Inaccurately recording, falsifying, or altering
a patient or facility record.

1.5.8 - Committing any act of verbal, physical,
mental or sexual abuse of patients.

1.5.9 - Assigning untrained persons to perform
functions which are detrimental to patient safety, for which
they are not adequately trained or supervised, or which are
not authorized under these rules and regulations.

1.5.10 - Failing to supervise individuals to whom
physical therapy tasks have been delegated.

1.5.11 -  Failing to safeguard the patient’s dignity
and right to privacy in providing services regardless of race,
color, creed and status.

1.5.12 - Violating the confidentiality of information
concerning the patient.

1.5.13 - Failing to take appropriate action in
safeguarding the patient from incompetent health care
practice.

1.5.14 - Practicing physical therapy as a Physical
Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant or athletic training
as an Athletic Trainer when unfit to perform procedures or
unable to make decisions because of physical, psychological,
or mental impairment.

1.5.15 - Practicing as a Physical Therapist, Physical
Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer when physical or
mental ability to practice is impaired by alcohol or drugs.

1.5.16 -  Diverting drugs, supplies or property of a
patient or a facility.

1.5.17 - Allowing another person to use his/her
license.

1.5.18 - Resorting to fraud, misrepresentation, or
deceit in taking the licensing examination or obtaining a
license as a Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant
or Athletic Trainer.

1.5.19 - Impersonating any applicant or acting as
proxy for the applicant in a Physical Therapist, Physical
Therapist Assistant, or Athletic Trainer licensing
examination.

1.5.20 - Continuing to treat a patient, who initiated
treatment without a formal referral, for longer than thirty
days without a physician licensed health practitioner consult.

1.5.21 - Substantially modifying a treatment
prescription without consulting the referring physician
licensed health practitioner.

1.5.22 - Failing to comply with the mandatory
continuing education requirements of 24 Del.C. § 2607 (a)
and Section 7 of these rules and regulations.

See 4 DE Reg. 1114 (1/1/01)

2.0  Board
2.1  Specific duties of the officers:

2.1.1  The Chairperson:
2.1.1.1  Shall call meetings of the Board at

least twice a year.
2.1.1.2  Shall represent the Board in all official

functions and act as Board spokesperson.
2.1.2  The Vice-Chairperson:

2.1.2.1  Shall substitute for the Chairperson
during the officer’s absence.

2.1.3  The Secretary:
2.1.3.1  Shall preside when the Chairperson

and Vice-Chairperson are absent.

3.0  Physical Therapist Assistants (24 Del.C. § 2602 (3))
The Physical Therapist Assistant may treat patients only

under the direction of a Physical Therapist as defined in
Sections 1.2.2 and 1.2.3.  The Physical Therapist Assistant
may perform physical therapy procedures and related tasks
that have been selected and delegated by the supervising
Physical Therapist.  The Physical Therapist Assistant may
administer treatment with therapeutic exercise, massage,
mechanical devices, and therapeutic agents that use the
properties of air, water, electricity, sound or light.  The
Physical Therapist Assistant may make minor modifications
to treatment plans within the predetermined plan of care,
assist the Physical Therapist with evaluations, and document
treatment progress.  The ability of the Physical Therapist
Assistant to perform the selected and delegated tasks shall be
assessed by the supervising Physical Therapist.  The
Physical Therapist Assistant shall not perform interpretation
of referrals, physical therapy evaluation and reevaluation,
major modification of the treatment plan, final discharge of
the patient, or therapeutic techniques beyond the skill and
knowledge of the Physical Therapist Assistant or without
proper supervision.

4.0  Athletic Trainers (24 Del.C. § 2602)
The Athletic Trainer in a clinical setting - 24 Del.C. §

2602 (5)).
The Athletic Trainer in a nonclinical setting - 24 Del.C.

§ 2602(5)).

5.0  Support Personnel (24 Del.C. § 2615)
5.1 Treatments which may be performed by support

personnel under direct supervision are:
5.1.1  ambulation
5.1.2  functional activities
5.1.3  transfers
5.1.4  routine follow-up of specific exercises
5.1.5  hot or cold packs
5.1.6  whirlpool/Hubbard tank
5.1.7  contrast bath
5.1.8  infrared
5.1.9  paraffin bath
5.1.10  ultra sound
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5.2  Exceptions - A support person may perform:
5.2.1  patient related activities that do not involve

treatment, including transporting patients, undressing and
dressing patients, and applying assistive and supportive
devices without direct supervision, and

5.2.2  set up and preparation of patients requiring
treatment using Physical Therapist modalities.

5.3  Prohibited Activities - support personnel may not
perform:

5.3.1  evaluation, or
5.3.2  treatments other than those listed in Section

5.1.
See 4 DE Reg. 1114 (1/1/01)

6.0  Qualifications of Applicant (24 Del.C. § 2606)
6.1  Applications, copies of the rules and regulations,

and copies of the Practice Act are available from the
Division of Professional Regulation.

6.2  Applicants for Physical Therapist or Physical
Therapist Assistant licensure shall not be admitted to the
examination without the submission of the following
documents:

6.2.1  Professional Qualifications - proof of
graduation (official transcript) from an educational program
for the Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant
which is accredited by the appropriate accrediting agency as
set forth in the Practice Act. 

6.2.2  A fee in check or money order payable to the
State of Delaware.

6.2.3  A completed application form.
6.3  The Board may use the Physical Therapist and

Physical Therapist Assistant examination endorsed by the
Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy and the
APTA, respectively.

6.4  All applicants for licensure as a Physical Therapist
or Physical Therapist Assistant must successfully pass the
examination described in Section 6.3 in order to become
eligible for licensure. The Board will adopt the criterion-
referenced passing point recommended by the Federation of
State Boards of Physical Therapy.

6.5  Applicants for licensure as an Athletic Trainer must
submit to the Board the following:

6.5.1  Professional Qualifications - proof of
graduation (official transcript) from an educational program
described in 24 Del.C. § 2606(a)(1), whether an accredited
program or National Athletic Trainers Association Board of
Certification (NATA BOC) internship.

6.5.2  Official letter of Athletic Trainer certification
from NATABOC.

6.5.3  A check or money order made payable to the
State of Delaware.

6.5.4  The completed application form.
6.6  Licenses shall expire biennially on every odd

numbered year.  The following items shall be submitted

upon application for renewal:
6.6.1  completed renewal application form,
6.6.2  applicable fee, and
6.6.3  for individuals seeking renewal, evidence of

continuing education courses as provided by Section 7.

7.0  Mandatory Continuing Education Units (CEU’s) (24
Del.C. §2607 (a))

7.1  Three CEU’s are required for every biennial license
renewal for Physical Therapists, Physical Therapist
Assistants, and Athletic Trainers.  The  Continuing
Education Unit Activity Record (CEUAR) credits shall be
received at the Division of Professional Regulation, Dover,

Delaware, no later than November 30th of every even
numbered year and shall be received every 2 years after such
date.

7.2  Individuals shall maintain the following items in
order to receive credit for CEU’s:

7.2.1  name of applicant seeking renewal
7.2.2  license classification (Physical Therapist,

Physical Therapist Assistant, Athletic Trainer)
7.2.3  license number of applicant
7.2.4  proof of attendance at CEU course
7.2.5  date of CEU course
7.2.6  instructor(s) of CEU course
7.2.7  sponsor of CEU course
7.2.8  title of CEU course
7.2.9  number of hours of CEU course

7.3  Continuing Education Regulations, (24 Del.C. §
2607 (a)).  Each licensed Physical Therapist, Physical
Therapist Assistant and Athletic Trainer is responsible for
continuing his/her education so that professional skills are
maintained in accordance with the advancement of the
profession.  The purpose of this is to help Physical
Therapists, Physical Therapist Assistants, and Athletic
Trainers become more efficient in achieving their objectives.

7.3.1  For a licensee to renew a license, the licensee
must complete three continuing education units over the two

year period immediately preceding November 30th of each

even year.  CEU’s completed before November 30th of the
even year shall not be carried over to the next renewal
period.  Any continuing education completed in the
December or January preceding renewal will apply to the
next renewal period. CEU requirements shall be prorated for
new licensees.  If the license is granted during the six month
period shown below, the following will be required for
renewal:

Odd Numbered Year            Even Numbered Year
1/1-  6/30   2.5 CEUs             1/1-  6/30   1.5 CEUs
7/1-12/31   2.0 CEUs            7/1-12/31     .5 CEUs

7.3.2  One CEU will be given for every 10 hours of
an approved continuing education course.  (1 contact hour =
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.1 CEU).  Each course must include topics relevant to the
field of health care as it pertains to Physical Therapy or
Athletic Training.   Approval of CEU’s shall be within the
discretion of the State Examining Board of Physical
Therapists.  Continuing education units that have been
previously approved during the current licensing period by
another agency such as a national governing body or a fellow
state licensing board shall be acceptable to the Examining
Board for the State of Delaware as appropriate CEU’s.  Any
sponsors or licensees wishing to receive prior written
approval of CEU courses from the Examining Board must
complete a CEU Application Form.  CEU’s may not be
carried over from one biennial period to the next one.

7.3.3  At the time of license renewal, the
appropriate forms will be supplied by the Board.  Proof of
attendance shall be enclosed by the licensee when requested
by the Board.  While course brochures may be used to verify
contact hours, they are not considered to be acceptable proof
for use of verification of course attendance.  All licensees
must complete and submit to the Board the CEUAR.  If
randomly selected, the licensee must submit documentation

of the CEU’s.  The CEUAR is due November 30th of the
even year.  All questionable CEUAR’s will be re-evaluated.

7.3.4  In the event a licensee shall fail to complete
the required credits by November 30, 2000, the Board may
withhold issuance of a permanent license unless the CEUAR
required by Section 7.3.3 is accompanied by a specific plan
for making up the deficiency of necessary credits by March
31, 2001.  The plan shall be deemed accepted by the Board
unless within  60 days after the receipt of the CEUAR the
Board notifies the licensee to the contrary.  Full completion
of the licensee’s plan shall be reported by CEUAR not later
April 15, 2001.  Failure to complete the specific plan may
result in the Board suspending the license issued, following a
hearing pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, for
unprofessional conduct as defined by Section 1.5.22. This
provision no longer applies effective with the 2003 renewal.

7.3.5  The Board has the power to waive any part of
the entire CEU requirement.  Exemptions to the CEU
requirement may be granted due to prolonged illness or other
incapacity.  Application for exemption shall be made in
writing to the Board by the applicant for renewal and must

be received by the Board no later than November 30 th of the
end of the respective CEU term.

7.3.6  CEU’s may be earned through Board
approved courses in colleges and universities, extension
courses, independent study courses, workshops, seminars,
conferences, lectures, videotapes, professional presentations
and publications, and in-services oriented toward the
enhancement of their respective professional’s practice.
CEU programs shall be conducted under responsible
sponsorship, capable direction and qualified instruction.  The
program may include staff development activities of

agencies and cross-disciplinary offerings.
7.3.7  The following are examples of acceptable

continuing education which the Board may approve. The
Board will determine the appropriate number of contact
hours for these categories of continuing education, subject to
any limitation shown below.

7.3.7.1  professional meetings including
national, state, chapter, and state board meetings

7.3.7.2  seminars/workshops
7.3.7.3  staff/faculty in-services
7.3.7.4  first time presentation of professionally

oriented course/lecture (0.3 CEU/hour per presentation)
7.3.7.5  approved self studies including:

- videotapes, if:
-there is a sponsoring agency
-there is a facilitator or program official

present 
-the program official is not the only

attendee
- correspondence course, if a sponsoring

agency provides a certificate of completion
7.3.8  The following are also examples of

acceptable continuing education in
the amount of CEU’s shown.

7.3.8.1  university/college courses:
1.0 CEU for semester
0.8 CEU for trimester
0.7 CEU for quarter

7.3.8.2  passing of licensing examination (1.5
CEU’s)

7.3.8.3  original publication in peer reviewed
publication (0.3 CEU)

7.3.8.4  original publication in non-peer
reviewed publication (0.1 CEU)

7.3.8.5  holding of an office (0.3 CEU), to
include:

- executive officer’s position for the
national or state professional associations (President, Vice-
President, Secretary, Treasurer) 

- member, Examining Board of Physical
Therapists

7.3.8.6  acting as the direct clinical instructor
providing  supervision to a Physical Therapist, Physical
Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer student  officially
enrolled in an accredited institution during an internship (40
contact hours = 0.1 CEU)

8.0  Admission to Practice, Licensure by Reciprocity (24
Del.C. § 2610)

Definition - The granting of a license to an applicant
who meets all the requirements set forth in this section and
24 Del.C. § 2610.

8.1  The reciprocity applicant shall submit the
documentation listed in rules 6.2 or 6.5.
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8.2  An applicant shall be deemed to have satisfied this
section upon evidence satisfactory to the Board that he/she
has complied with the standards set forth below:

8.2.1  The Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist
Assistant applicant has passed the examination in the state,
territory, or the District of Columbia in which he/she was
originally licensed/registered.  The passing score shall be 1.5
standard deviation below the national norm for those
Physical Therapists and Physical Therapist Assistants having
taken the examination prior to 1990.

8.2.2  All Physical Therapist/Physical Therapy
Assistant reciprocity applicants shall supply his/her
examination scores to the Board.  The applicant may obtain
his/her scores from the regulatory body of the state, territory,
or the District of Columbia in which he/she was originally
licensed/registered or from the FSBPT Score Transfer
Service. From Physical Therapist applicants who were
licensed/registered by a state, territory, or the District of
Columbia only prior to 1963, the Board shall accept the
following:

8.2.2.1 - Professional Examination Service-
American Physical Therapy Association (PES-APTA)
examination scores with a passing grade of 1.5 standard
deviation below the national norm on all sections, or

8.2.2.2 - other examining mechanisms which in
the judgment of the Board were substantially equal to the
mechanisms of the State of Delaware at the time of
examination.

8.2.3  For the Athletic Trainer candidate, the
passing score shall be that which was established at time of
examination.  All sections of the examination shall be
passed.  The reciprocity applicant shall supply his/her
examination scores to the Board.

9.0  Temporary Licensure (24 Del.C. § 2611)
9.1  The Board may issue a temporary license to all

applicants who have submitted to the Board the documents
listed in Rule 6.2 and Rule 6.5, respectively, and who have
been determined to be eligible to take the examination.  The
Board shall accept a letter signed by the Physical Therapist
or Physical Therapist Assistant applicant’s school official
stating that the applicant has completed all requirements for
graduation;  provided, however, that the applicant shall
submit to the Board an official transcript as soon as it
becomes available.  The Board will determine the Physical
Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant applicant’s
eligibility to take the examination.  In the case of Athletic
Trainer applicants for temporary license, a letter from
NATA stating the applicant’s eligibility to take the NATA
examination will be required.  All applicants may practice
only under the direct supervision of a licensed Physical
Therapist.  The license shall remain effective for 90 days
from the date of approval.  It shall automatically expire upon
notice to the applicant of his/her failure to pass the license

examination.  After the applicable fee and written
application have been submitted, the Board may renew the
temporary license if the applicant is eligible to retake the
examination.  The temporary license of an applicant may be
extended at the discretion of the Board chair or other officer,
upon a showing of extenuating circumstances pending the
next scheduled Board meeting. Physical Therapist and
Physical Therapist Assistant applicants may practice only
under the direct supervision of a licensed Physical Therapist.
Athletic Trainer applicants may practice only under the
direct supervision of a licensed Athletic Trainer in a non-
clinical setting.  In a clinical setting, Athletic Trainer
applicants may practice only under the direct supervision of
a licensed Physical Therapist.  A temporary license shall
expire upon notice to the applicant of his/her failure to pass
the license examination and may not be renewed.  In all
other cases, a temporary license may be renewed only once.

9.2  Applicants requesting reciprocity as a Physical
Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant, and Athletic
Trainer.  The Board may issue a temporary license to an
applicant upon the applicant’s submission of letters of good
standing from all jurisdictions in which the applicant is or
has ever been licensed.  The temporary licensee may practice
only under the direct supervision of an applicable licensed
professional.

9.3  Applicants engaged in a special project, teaching
assignment, or medical emergency as described in 24 Del.C.
§ 2611 (b) must submit letters of good standing from all
jurisdictions in which the applicant is or has ever been
licensed.

10.0  Foreign Trained Applicant for Licensure  (24 Del.C.
§ 2606 (b))

10.1  Applicants for licensure who are graduates of a
Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant school or
Athletic Trainer program located in a foreign country shall
complete all of the following requirements before being
admitted to the examination.

10.1.1 - The applicant shall submit proof
satisfactory to the Board of graduation from an education
program appropriate to their profession in a foreign country.
Each foreign applicant must demonstrate that they have met
the minimum education requirements as presented by the
Federation of State Boards in the Course Work Evaluation
Tool for Persons Who Received Their Physical Therapy
Education Outside the United States. The applicant shall
arrange and pay for a credential evaluation of such foreign
school’s program to be completed by one of four
independent agencies:

International Educational Research Foundation, Inc.
P.O. Box 3665
Culver City, CA  90231

(Address change 2/1/01)
International Consultants of Delaware, Inc.
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109 Barksdale Professional Center
Newark, DE  19711

Educational Credential Evaluators, Inc.
P.O. Box 92970
Milwaukee, WI  53202-0970

Foreign Credentialing Commission for Physical
Therapists

P.O. Box 25827
Alexandria VA  22313-9998

10.1.2  The applicant shall complete the
requirements of rules 6.2 or 6.5.

10.1.3  The applicant shall pass the examination
described in rules 6.3 and 6.4.

11.0  Reactivation and Reinstatement  (24 Del.C. § 2607)
11.1  Any person who has been registered in the State

and is neither residing within the State nor actively engaged
in the practice of physical therapy in the State may at their
request be placed on the inactive register for the remainder
of the biennial licensure period.  Subsequent requests for
extensions of inactive status should be submitted biennially.
The Board may reactivate an inactive license if the Physical
Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant or Athletic Trainer:

11.1.1  files a written request for reactivation;
11.1.2  has been actively engaged in the practice for

the past five years.  If the licensee has not met this condition,
the following requirements shall be completed:

11.1.2.1 - The Physical Therapist, Physical
Therapist Assistant, or Athletic Trainer working in a clinical
setting shall work under the direct supervision of a Physical
Therapist/Athletic Trainer in Delaware for a minimum of six
months.

11.1.2.2 - The Athletic Trainer working in a
nonclinical setting shall work under the direct supervision of
an Athletic Trainer in Delaware for a minimum of six
months.

11.1.2.3 - At the end of the period, the
supervising Physical Therapist/Athletic Trainer shall certify
to the applicant’s clinical competence on forms supplied by
the Board;

11.1.3  submits proof of completion of 1.5 CEU’s
during the previous 12 months.

11.2  Provided reinstatement is requested within 5 years
of the expiration date, the Board may reinstate the license of
a Physical Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant, or
Athletic Trainer who allowed their license to lapse without
requesting placement on the inactive register if the Physical
Therapist, Physical Therapist Assistant, or Athletic Trainer:

11.2.1  completes a form supplied by the Board
11.2.2  provides proof of completion of 3.0 CEU’s

during the previous 24 months

11.3 If the license has been expired over five years, the
Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist Assistant/Athletic
Trainer must file a new application and provide proof of
completion of 3.0 CEU’s when reapplying under the
provisions which govern reciprocity.

12.0  Voluntary Treatment Option for Chemically
Dependent or Impaired Professionals

12.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the
regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify
the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate
of the report. If the Director of Professional Regulation
receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the
chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's
designate or designates.

12.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.

12.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).

12.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

12.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
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professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.  

12.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:  

12.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.
Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.

12.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.

12.6.3  Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program. 

12.6.4  Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses
incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its
services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option.

12.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/
her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.

12.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional

with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

12.7  The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.  

12.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/her
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.

12.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.

12.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.

12.11  Any person who reports pursuant to this section
in good faith and without malice shall be immune from any
civil, criminal or disciplinary liability arising from such
reports, and shall have his/her confidentiality protected if the
matter is handled in a nondisciplinary matter.

12.12  Any regulated professional who complies with all
of the terms and completes the Voluntary Treatment Option
shall have his/her confidentiality protected unless otherwise
specified in a participating Board's rules and regulations. In
such an instance, the written agreement with the regulated
professional shall include the potential for disclosure and
specify those to whom such information may be disclosed.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE

24 DE Admin. Code 3300
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, 

Section §3306(a)(1) (24 Del.C. 3306(a)(1))

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Section 3306 (a) (1), the
Delaware State Board of Veterinary Medicine proposes to
revise its rules and regulations.  The proposed change
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concerns the retention of veterinary medical records.  The
proposed revision seeks to define unprofessional conduct for
a veterinarian as the destruction of veterinary medical
records before a period of three (3) years have elapsed from
the last entry into the medical record.  The proposed
regulation serves to implement or clarify specific sections of
24 Del.C. Chapter 33. 

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Tuesday, March 12, 2002 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904. The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed regulation.  Any written comments
should be submitted to the Board in care of Susan Miccio at
the above address.  The final date to submit written
comments shall be at the above scheduled public hearing.
Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed regulation
or to make comments at the public hearing should notify
Susan Miccio at the above address or by calling (302)
744-4506.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

1.0 Direct Supervision
2.0 Unprofessional Conduct
3.0 Privileged Communications
4.0 Veterinary Premises and Equipment
5.0 Qualification for Licensure by Examination as a

Veterinarian
6.0 Character of Examination - North American

Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE)
7.0 Reciprocity
8.0 Licensure - Renewal
9.0 Continuing Education
10.0 Voluntary Treatment Option

1.0  DIRECT SUPERVISION (24 Del. C. § 3303(10))
1.1  Direct Supervision - refers to the oversight of any

person performing support activities (support personnel) by
a licensed Delaware veterinarian.  Oversight includes control
over the work schedule of the person performing support
activities and any remuneration the person receives for
performing such activities.  Oversight does not include
remuneration paid directly to support personnel by the
public.  The constant physical presence of the licensed
veterinarian on the premises is not required, however, if the
licensed veterinarian is accessible to support personnel by
electronic means or has arranged for another supervising
licensed veterinarian to be accessible by electronic means.
All acts by support personnel not prohibited by Rule 1.2
which constitute the practice of veterinary medicine under
24 Del. C. § 3302 (6) must be performed under direct
supervision.  Direct supervision of support personnel also

includes:
1.1.1  The initial examination of the animal by the

veterinarian prior to the delegation of work to be performed
by support personnel.  The veterinarian may, however,
authorize support personnel to administer emergency
measures prior to the initial examination.

1.1.2  The development of a treatment plan by the
veterinarian that shall be referenced by support personnel.

1.1.3  The authorization by the veterinarian of the
work to be performed by support personnel.

1.2  At no time may support personnel perform the
following activities (24 Del. C. § 3303(10)):

1.2.1  Diagnosing.
1.2.2  Prescribing.
1.2.3  Inducing Anesthesia.
1.2.4  Performing Surgery.
1.2.5  Administration of Rabies Vaccinations.
1.2.6  Operative dentistry and oral surgery.
1.2.7  Centesis of body structures (not to include

venipuncture and cystocentesis) in other than emergency
situations.

1.2.8  The placement of tubes into closed body
structures, such as chest tubes, in other than emergency
situations (not to include urinary or IV catheters).

1.2.9  Splinting or casting of broken bones in other
than emergency situations. 

1.2.10  Euthanasia.
1.2.11  Issue health certificates.
1.2.12  Perform brucellosis, equine infectious

anemia and tuberculosis tests and other tests which are
regulated by federal and state guidelines.

2.0  UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT (24 Del.C. §
3313(a)(1))

2.1  Unprofessional conduct in the practice of veterinary
medicine shall include, but not be limited to, the following;

2.1.1  Allowing support personnel to perform the
acts forbidden under Section 1.2 of the Rules and
Regulations.

2.1.2  Allowing support personnel to perform tasks
without the required direct supervision as specified in
Section 1.1 of the Rules & Regulations.  

2.1.3  Representation of conflicting interests except
by express consent of all concerned.  A licensee represents
conflicting interests if while employed by a buyer to inspect
an animal for soundness he or she accepts a fee from the
seller.  Acceptance of a fee from both the buyer and the
seller is prima facie evidence of fraud.

2.1.4  Use by a veterinarian of any certificate,
college degree, license, or title to which he or she is not
entitled.

2.1.5  Intentionally performing or prescribing
treatment, which the veterinarian knows to be unnecessary,
for financial gain.
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2.1.6  Placement of professional knowledge,
attainments, or services at the disposal of a lay body,
organization or group for the purpose of encouraging
unqualified groups or individuals to perform surgery upon
animals or to otherwise practice veterinary medicine on
animals that they do not own.

2.1.7  Intentionally left blank. Destruction of any
part of a patient's records before a minimum of three (3)
years have elapsed from the last entry in the medical record
shall be considered unprofessional conduct.  Records are to
include, but are not limited to, information such as written or
electronic documentation, rabies records, radiographs,
ultrasounds, laboratory, and histopathological results.

2.1.8  Cruelty to animals.  Cruelty to animals
includes, but is not limited to, any definition of cruelty to
animals under 11 Del. C. § 1325.

2.1.8.1  Animal housing (such as cages,
shelters, pens and runs) should be designed with maintaining
the animal in a state of relative thermal neutrality, avoiding
unnecessary physical restraint, and providing convenient
access to appropriate food and water. If animals are group
housed, they should be maintained in compatible groups
without overcrowding.

2.1.8.2  Housing should be kept in good repair
to prevent injury to the animal. 

2.1.8.3  Failure to take precautions to prevent
the spread of communicable diseases in housing animals.

2.1.9  Leaving an animal during the maintenance
stage of anesthesia.

2.1.10  Improper labeling of prescription drugs.
The package or label must contain:

2.1.10.1  Name, strength, and quantity of the
drug;

2.1.10.2  Usage directions.
2.1.11  Failure to make childproof packaging

available for prescription drugs upon the request of a client.
2.1.12  Misrepresenting continuing education hours

to the Board.
2.1.13  Failure to obey a disciplinary order of the

Board.

3.0  PRIVILEGED COMMUNICATIONS (24 Del. C. §
3313(a)(7)) 

3.1  Privileged Communications.  Veterinarians must
protect the personal privacy of patients and clients by not
willfully revealing privileged communications regarding the
diagnosis and treatment of an animal.  The following are not
considered privileged communications:

3.1.1  The sharing of veterinary medical
information regarding the diagnosis and treatment of an
animal when required by law, subpoena, or court order or
when it becomes necessary to protect the health and welfare
of other individuals or animals.

3.1.2  The sharing of veterinary medical

information between veterinarians or facilities for the
purpose of diagnosis or treatment of animals.

3.1.3  The sharing of veterinary medical
information between veterinarians and peace officers,
humane society officers, or animal control officers who are
acting to protect the welfare of individuals or animals.

4.0  VETERINARY PREMISES & EQUIPMENT (24
Del. C. § 3313 (9))

4.1  The animal facility shall be kept clean.  A regular
schedule of sanitary maintenance is necessary, including the
elimination of wastes.

4.2  Animal rooms, corridors, storage areas, and other
parts of the animal facility shall be washed, scrubbed,
vacuumed, mopped, or swept as often as necessary, using
appropriate detergents and disinfectants to keep them free of
dirt, debris, and harmful contamination. 

4.3  Animal cages, racks, and accessory equipment,
such as feeders and water utensils, shall be washed and
sanitized as often as necessary to keep them physically clean
and free from contamination.  In addition, cages should
always be sanitized before  new animals are placed in them.
Sanitizing may be accomplished either by washing all soiled
surfaces with a cleaning agent having an effective
bactericidal action or with live steam or the equivalent
thereof.

4.4  Cages or pens from which animal waste is removed
by hosing or flushing shall be cleaned and suitably
disinfected one or more times daily.  Animals should be
removed from cages during servicing in order to keep the
animals dry.

4.5  If litter or bedding such as paper is used in animal
cages or pens, it shall be changed as often as necessary to
keep the animals clean.

4.6  Waste disposal must be carried out in accordance
with good public health practice and federal and state
regulations.  Waste materials should be removed regularly
and frequently so that storage of waste does not create a
nuisance.

4.7  Biomedical waste such as culture plates, tubes,
contaminated sponges, swabs, biologicals, needles, syringes,
and blades, must be disposed of according to federal and
state guidelines.  Before disposing of blood soiled articles,
they shall be placed in a leak-proof disposable container
such as a plastic sack or a plastic-lined bag.

4.8  Proper refrigeration and sterilization equipment
should be available.

4.9  Adequate safety precautions must be used in
disposing animal carcasses and tissue specimens. An animal
carcass shall be disposed of promptly according to federal
and state law and regulations.  If prompt disposal of an
animal carcass is not possible, it shall be contained in a
freezer or stored in a sanitary, non-offensive manner until
such time as it can be disposed.  Livestock shall be disposed
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of by any acceptable agricultural method.
4.10  The elimination or effective control of vermin

shall be mandatory.

5.0  QUALIFICATION FOR LICENSURE BY
EXAMINATION AS A VETERINARIAN (24 Del. C. §
3307) 

5.1  The applicant shall file the following documents:
5.1.1  Completed application form obtained from

the Board office.  The application fee shall be set by the
Division of Professional Regulation.  The check for the
application fee should be made payable to the State of
Delaware.

5.1.2  Official transcript from an AVMA approved
veterinary college or university or its equivalent
(Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary
Graduates).

5.1.3  Letters of good standing from any other
jurisdictions in which the applicant is/or has been licensed.

5.1.4  North American Veterinary Licensing
Examination (NAVLE) score or both the official National
Board Examination (NBE) and Clinical Competency Test
(CCT) scores, unless the applicant meets the statutory
exemptions in 24 Del. C. § 3309.

5.1.5  Check or money order for the amount
established by the Division of Professional Regulation. The
license fee shall by set by the Division of Professional
Regulation.  Fees should be made payable to the “State of
Delaware.”

5.2  Only completed application forms will be accepted.
In the case of incomplete application forms, omissions will
be noted to the applicant.  Any information provided to the
Board is subject to verification.

5.3  Applications for any licensure submitted by final
year veterinary students enrolled in an AVMA accredited
university for the purpose of taking the NAVLE exam will
be considered complete only upon proof of the applicant’s
graduation.  Such applicants must demonstrate probability of
graduation and will not be considered for any licensure until
proof of graduation is submitted to the Board. 

6.0  CHARACTER OF EXAMINATION - NORTH
AMERICAN VETERINARY LICENSING
EXAMINATION (NAVLE) (24 Del. C. § 3306)

6.1  Examination for licensure to practice veterinary
medicine in the State of Delaware shall consist of the North
American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE) after
November 2000 or its successor. 

6.1.1  The passing score for the NAVLE shall be
the score as recommended by the National Board of
Veterinary Medical Examiners or its successor.

7.0  RECIPROCITY (24 Del. C. § 3309)
Applications for licensure by reciprocity shall be the

same application used for licensure by examination and be
subject to the same application requirements set forth in  24
Del. C. § 3309.

8.0  LICENSURE - RENEWAL (24 Del. C. § 3311) 
8.1  All licenses are renewed biennially (every 2 years).

A licensee may have his/her license renewed by submitting a
renewal application to the Board by the renewal date and
upon payment of the renewal fee prescribed by the Division
of Professional Regulation along with evidence of
completion of continuing education requirements.
Continuing education requirements for renewal are specified
in Section 9.0. The failure of the Board to give, or the failure
of the licensee to receive, notice of the expiration date of a
license shall not prevent the license from becoming invalid
after its expiration date.

8.2  Any licensee who fails to renew his/her license by
the renewal date may still renew his/her license during the
one (1) year period immediately following the renewal date
provided the licensee pay a late fee established by the
Division of Professional Regulation in addition to the
established renewal fee and submitting the continuing
education requirements for renewal as specified in Section
9.0.

9.0  CONTINUING EDUCATION (24 Del. C. § 3311(b))
9.1  Any veterinarian actively licensed to practice in the

State of Delaware shall meet the following continuing
education requirements to the satisfaction of the Board.

9.1.1  Twenty-four (24) hours of approved certified
continuing education credits must be completed for the
immediate two year period preceding each biennial license
renewal date. 

9.1.2  The number of credit hours shall be
submitted to the Board with each biennial license renewal
application on the proper reporting form supplied by the
Board.  The continuing education credit hours shall be
submitted to the Board no later than 60 days prior to the
biennial license renewal date.  The Board may audit the
continuing education credit hours submitted by a licensee.

9.1.3  A veterinarian may apply to the Board in
writing for an extension of the period of time needed to
complete the continuing education requirement for good
cause such as illness, extended absence from the country, or
unique personal hardship which is not the result of
professional negligence.

9.2  Continuing Education Requirements for
Reinstatement of Lapsed License

9.2.1  Any veterinarian whose license to practice in
the State of Delaware has lapsed and who has applied for
reinstatement shall meet the following continuing education
requirements to the satisfaction of the Board.

9.2.1.1  Lapse of 12 to 24 months.  Twenty-
four (24) hours of continuing education credits must be
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completed. The 24 hours of continuing education credits
must have been completed within 2 years prior to the request
for reinstatement.

9.2.1.2  Lapse of over 24 months.  Thirty-six
(36) hours of continuing education credits must be
completed. The 36 hours of continuing education credits
must have been completed within 4 years prior to the request
for reinstatement.  

9.3  Continuing Education Requirements for
Reinstatement of Inactive License

9.3.1  Twenty-four (24) hours of continuing
education credits must be submitted for licensees on the
inactive roster who wish to remove their license from
inactive status.  The 24 hours of continuing education credits
must have been completed within 2 years prior to the request
for removal from inactive status.

9.4  The Board may approve continuing education
courses or sponsors upon written application on Board
supplied forms.  In addition, the Board may approve
continuing education courses or sponsors on its own motion.

9.5  The following organizations are approved for
formal continuing education activities.

9.5.1  AVMA.
9.5.2  AVMA accredited schools.
9.5.3  Federal/State/County Veterinary

Associations & USDA.
9.5.4  Compendium on Continuing Education for

the Practicing Veterinarian; NOAH; VIN.
9.5.5  Registry of Approved Continuing Education

(RACE) courses.
9.6  Accreditation by the Board of continuing education

courses will be based upon program content. Continuing
education courses shall be directed toward improvement,
advancement, and extension of professional skill and
knowledge relating to the practice of veterinary medicine.

9.6.1  University course work, subject to Board
approval.  

9.6.2  Veterinary course work completed prior to
graduation may be approved for continuing education credit
for the first renewal period after graduation provided the
course work was completed no more that 2 1/2 years before
the renewal date.

9.6.3  Government Agencies.
9.6.4  Other forms of CE as long as and the activity

is approved by the Board.
9.7  The Board may at any time re-evaluate an

accredited course or sponsor and withdraw future approval
of a previously accredited continuing education course or
sponsor.

10.0  VOLUNTARY TREATMENT OPTION
10.1  If the report is received by the chairperson of the

regulatory Board, that chairperson shall immediately notify
the Director of Professional Regulation or his/her designate

of the report. If the Director of Professional Regulation
receives the report, he/she shall immediately notify the
chairperson of the regulatory Board, or that chairperson's
designate or designates.

10.2  The chairperson of the regulatory Board or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall, within 7 days of
receipt of the report, contact the individual in question and
inform him/her in writing of the report, provide the
individual written information describing the Voluntary
Treatment Option, and give him/her the opportunity to enter
the Voluntary Treatment Option.

10.3  In order for the individual to participate in the
Voluntary Treatment Option, he/she shall agree to submit to
a voluntary drug and alcohol screening and evaluation at a
specified laboratory or health care facility. This initial
evaluation and screen shall take place within 30 days
following notification to the professional by the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate(s).

10.4  A regulated professional with chemical
dependency or impairment due to addiction to drugs or
alcohol may enter into the Voluntary Treatment Option and
continue to practice, subject to any limitations on practice
the participating Board chairperson or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional, deem necessary,
only if such action will not endanger the public health,
welfare or safety, and the regulated professional enters into
an agreement with the Director of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate and the chairperson of the participating
Board or that chairperson's designate for a treatment plan
and progresses satisfactorily in such treatment program and
complies with all terms of that agreement. Treatment
programs may be operated by professional Committees and
Associations or other similar professional groups with the
approval of the Director of Professional Regulation and the
chairperson of the participating Board.

10.5  Failure to cooperate fully with the participating
Board chairperson or that chairperson's designate or
designates or the Director of the Division of Professional
Regulation or his/her designate in regard to the Voluntary
Treatment Option or to comply with their requests for
evaluations and screens may disqualify the regulated
professional from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment
Option, and the participating Board chairperson or that
chairperson's designate or designates shall cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and institution of
disciplinary proceedings, if appropriate, as outlined in
subsection (h) of this section.

10.6  The Voluntary Treatment Option may require a
regulated professional to enter into an agreement which
includes, but is not limited to, the following provisions:

10.6.1  Entry of the regulated professional into a
treatment program approved by the participating Board.



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 8, FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2002

1568

Board approval shall not require that the regulated
professional be identified to the Board. Treatment and
evaluation functions must be performed by separate agencies
to assure an unbiased assessment of the regulated
professional's progress.

10.6.2  Consent to the treating professional of the
approved treatment program to report on the progress of the
regulated professional to the chairperson of the participating
Board or to that chairperson's designate or designates or to
the Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or
his/her designate at such intervals as required by the
chairperson of the participating Board or that chairperson's
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate, and such
person making such report will not be liable when such
reports are made in good faith and without malice.

10.6.3   Consent of the regulated professional, in
accordance with applicable law, to the release of any
treatment information from anyone within the approved
treatment program.

10.6.4   Agreement by the regulated professional to
be personally responsible for all costs and charges associated
with the Voluntary Treatment Option and treatment
program(s). In addition, the Division of Professional
Regulation may assess a fee to be paid by the regulated
professional to cover administrative costs associated with the
Voluntary Treatment Option. The amount of the fee imposed
under this subparagraph shall approximate and reasonably
reflect the costs necessary to defray the expenses of the
participating Board, as well as the proportional expenses
incurred by the Division of Professional Regulation in its
services on behalf of the Board in addition to the
administrative costs associated with the Voluntary
Treatment Option.

10.6.5  Agreement by the regulated professional
that failure to satisfactorily progress in such treatment
program shall be reported to the participating Board's
chairperson or his/her designate or designates or to the
Director of the Division of Professional Regulation or his/
her designate by the treating professional who shall be
immune from any liability for such reporting made in good
faith and without malice.

10.6.6  Compliance by the regulated professional
with any terms or restrictions placed on professional practice
as outlined in the agreement under the Voluntary Treatment
Option.

10.7  The regulated professional's records of
participation in the Voluntary Treatment Option will not
reflect disciplinary action and shall not be considered public
records open to public inspection. However, the participating
Board may consider such records in setting a disciplinary
sanction in any future matter in which the regulated
professional's chemical dependency or impairment is an
issue.

10.8  The participating Board's chairperson, his/her
designate or designates or the Director of the Division of
Professional Regulation or his/her designate may, in
consultation with the treating professional at any time during
the Voluntary Treatment Option, restrict the practice of a
chemically dependent or impaired professional if such action
is deemed necessary to protect the public health, welfare or
safety.  

10.9  If practice is restricted, the regulated professional
may apply for unrestricted licensure upon completion of the
program.

10.10  Failure to enter into such agreement or to comply
with the terms and make satisfactory progress in the
treatment program shall disqualify the regulated professional
from the provisions of the Voluntary Treatment Option, and
the participating Board shall be notified and cause to be
activated an immediate investigation and disciplinary
proceedings as appropriate.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. 
Section 122(d)

245 Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards 
Scholarship

A.  Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B.  Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks to amend regulation

245 Michael C Ferguson Achievement Awards Scholarship.
The amendments are needed to exempt foreign exchange
students on a temporary Visa from receiving the scholarship
award (1.3), to clarify the wording of the exception on the
number of scholarships awarded (2.0), to clarify that the post
secondary institutions or programs that the scholarship
winners attend must be accredited either nationally,
regionally or by a state (4.0), and to remove some
unnecessary procedural language in the amended (5.4 and
5.4.1).

C.  Impact Criteria
1.  Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulation serves as an incentive to
students to do well on the DSTP that measures the state
achievement standards.

2.  Will the amended regulation help ensure that all

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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students receive an equitable education?  The amended
regulations define the conditions of the scholarship awards
and insure that the awards are distributed in an equitable
way.

3.  Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amended regulation addresses the conditions of the
scholarship award not health and safety issues.

4.  Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students' legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation
addresses the conditions of the scholarship award not
student’s legal rights.

5.  Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision makers at the local board
and school level?  The amended regulation will preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6.  Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation will not place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7.  Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?  The decision-making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated will
remain in the same entity.

8.  Will the regulation be consistent with and not an
impediment to the implementation of other state educational
policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing
achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics,
science, language arts and social studies?  

9.  Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the
purpose of the amended regulation?  The Department of
Education is required by statute to maintain regulations in
this area.

10.  What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no
additional cost to the local school boards for compliance
with the amended regulation.

245  Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards
Scholarship

The Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards
Scholarship Program, included in the Educational
Accountability Act of 1998, recognizes students who
demonstrate superior performance on the assessments
administered pursuant to 14 Del. C. Section 153 (c).

1.0  Subject to available funding, the Michael C. Ferguson
Achievement Awards shall be made based on the student’s
score on the results of the annual spring administration of the
Delaware Student Testing Program.  Scores from re-testing

shall not be considered.  The Scholarships may be awarded
to a maximum of 300 eighth grade students in the content
areas of reading, writing and mathematics and to a maximum
of 300 tenth grade students in the content areas of reading,
writing, and mathematics.

1.1  The highest scoring eighth and tenth grade students
in the state in reading, in writing and in mathematics shall
receive the scholarships.

1.1.1  The eighth grade awards may be given to a
maximum of 50 students in reading, a maximum of 50
students in writing and a maximum of 50 students in
mathematics.

1.1.2  The tenth grade awards may be given to a
maximum of 50 students in reading, a maximum of 50
students in writing and a maximum of 50 students in
mathematics.

1.2  The highest scoring eighth and tenth grade students
in the state in reading, in writing and in mathematics, who
participate in the free and reduced lunch program and who
are not already identified as one of the students in section
1.1. shall receive the scholarships.

1.2.1  The eighth grade awards may be given to a
maximum of 50 students in reading, a maximum of 50
students in writing and a maximum of 50 students in
mathematics.

1.2.2  The tenth grade awards may be given to a
maximum of 50 students in reading, a maximum of 50
students in writing and a maximum of 50 students in
mathematics.

1.3  A Foreign Exchange student who is on a temporary
Visa is not eligible to receive the Michael C. Ferguson
Achievement Award Scholarship.

2.0  Exception: If the implementation of 1.0 results in fewer
than 150 scholarships being awarded at either grade 8 or 10
for either the highest scores on the DSTP without reference
to any other indicators of performance, or the highest scores
on the DSTP for students who participate in free and reduced
lunch programs, the Department shall award additional
scholarships.  Such additional scholarships shall be awarded
to students scoring at the next qualifying level by priority
order of reading, mathematics and writing.  Such additional
awards shall be granted by priority curriculum area until no
more awards can be made without exceeding the 150 limit
previously specified.

2.0 3.0  Students may receive a scholarship in more than one

content area and may also receive scholarships for their 8th

and their 10th grade scores.

4.0  The Michael C. Ferguson Scholarship Award can only
be used at a regionally or nationally accredited post
secondary institution or at a Delaware or other state
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approved private business and trade school in the United
States of America.  The award cannot exceed direct
educational costs.

5.0 3.0  All scholarship awards shall be deposited in an
account at the Delaware Higher Education Commission in an
interest bearing account.  Interest earned shall be utilized by
the Department of Education and/or Delaware Higher
Education Commission to offset administrative expenses
associated with the program.

5.1 3.1  Funds deposited for scholarships through the
Michael C. Ferguson Achievement Awards shall cease to be
available to the recipient if the recipient does not attend a
post secondary institution within five calendar years after
graduating from high school.

5.2 3.2  It is the responsibility of the parent or guardian
to notify the Higher Education Commission of any change of
address during the scholarship eligibility period.  Students
may receive their scholarship awards even if they are living
in another state at the time they attend a post secondary
institution.

5.3 3.3  The Department of Education shall annually
announce the winners of Michael C. Ferguson Scholarships.

5.4 3.4  The Delaware Higher Education Commission
shall send a “Request for Information” form to Michael C.
Ferguson Scholarship recipients in the spring of their high
school senior year to determine whether they plan to use
their scholarship in the following year, and which institution
they will attend. annually to update their account
information

5.4.1 3.4.1  In August following high school
graduation, t The Delaware Higher Education Commission
shall send enrollment verification forms to institutions
identified by recipients.  When completed verification forms
are received by the Delaware Higher Education
Commission, disbursement of scholarship funds will be
made to the institution.

5.4.2 3.4.2  If a student does not plan to attend a
post secondary institution immediately after high school
graduation, it is the parent or guardian’s responsibility to
provide timely notification to the Delaware Higher
Education Commission prior to enrollment in order to
receive payment of the scholarship.

5.4.3 3.4.3  Recipients may defer all or a portion of
payment of Michael C. Ferguson Scholarships beyond their
first post secondary year, but must assume the responsibility
to notify the Delaware Higher Education Commission of
their plans to claim theEducational Impact Analysis Pursuant
to 14 Del. C. Section 122(d)

See DE Reg. 224 (7/1/00)

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant To 14 Del.C. 
Section 122(d)

1526  Certification English to Speakers of Other 
Languages (Esol) Teachers

1527  Endorsement English to Speakers of Other 
Languages (Esol) Teacher

A.  Type of Regulatory Action Requested
Reauthorization of Existing Regulation

B.  Synopsis of Subject Matter of Regulation
The Professional Standards Board seeks the approval of

the State Board of Education to reauthorize the following
regulations:  1526 Certification English to Speakers of Other
Languages (ESOL) Teachers and 1527 Endorsement English
to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Teacher.  These
regulations have been renumbered to reflect their movement
to the Professional Standards Board section of the
regulations.  1526 Certification English to Speakers of Other
Languages (ESOL) Teachers was formerly numbered 326.
1527 Endorsement English to Speakers of Other Languages
(ESOL) Teacher was formerly numbered 327.  There have
been no other changes in the regulations.

C.  Impact Criteria
1.  Will the reauthorized regulations help improve

student achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The reauthorized regulations address
certification requirements for educational personnel which
affects student achievement.

2.  Will the reauthorized regulations help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?  The reauthorized
regulations address certification requirements for
educational personnel.  The regulations address
requirements for teachers who serve students who are
speakers of other languages to help to ensure that those
students receive an equitable education. 

3.  Will the reauthorized regulations help to ensure that
all students' health and safety are adequately protected?  The
reauthorized regulations address certification requirements
for educational personnel, not health and safety.

4.  Will the reauthorized regulations help to ensure that
all students' legal rights are respected?  The reauthorized
regulations address certification requirements for
educational personnel.  The regulations address
requirements for teachers who serve students who are
speakers of other languages to help to ensure that those
students’ legal rights are respected.

5.  Will the reauthorized regulations preserve the
necessary authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level?   The reauthorized regulation
will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of
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decision makers at the local board and school level.
6.  Will the reauthorized regulations place unnecessary

reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?   The
reauthorized regulations will not place unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7.  Will decision making authority and accountability
for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in the
same entity?   The decision-making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated rests
with the Professional Standards Board, in collaboration with
the Department of Education, and with the consent of the
State Board of Education.

8.  Will the reauthorized regulations be consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The reauthorized regulations will be consistent
with, and not an impediment to, the implementation of other
state educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9.  Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the
purpose of the new regulation?  14 Del. C. requires that the
Professional Standards promulgate these regulations.

10.  What is the cost to the state and to the local school
boards of compliance with the reauthorized regulations?
There is no additional cost to local school boards for
compliance with the regulation.

1526  326  Certification English To Speakers Of Other
Languages (ESOL) Teachers

Effective July 1, 1993 April 11, 2002

1.0  The following shall be required for the Standard License
in grades K-12

1.1  Bachelor's degree from an accredited college and,
1.2  Professional Education

1.2.1  Completion of an approved teacher education
program in English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)
or,

1.2.2  A minimum of 24 semester hours to include
Human Development; Methods of Teaching Elementary
Language Arts, or English, or Foreign Language;
Identifying/Treating Exceptionalities, Effective Teaching
Strategies, Multicultural Education, and student teaching
and,

1.3  Specific Teaching Field
1.3.1  Major in English to Speakers of Other

Languages (ESOL) or,
1.3.2  Completion of an approved teacher education

program in English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)
or,

1.3.3  Completion of an approved teacher education
program in English, Foreign Language, or Elementary
Education, with specific courses in: Second Language
Acquisition/Psycholinguistics      3 semester hours; Methods
of Teaching English as a Second Language, or English as a
Second Dialect 3 semester hours; Structure of the English
Language  3 semester hours; Second Language Testing  3
semester hours; Ethnic Studies/Multicultural Education and,
3 semester hours

1.3.4  Successful completion of the intermediate
level of a foreign language.  This requirement may be
satisfied by a Department of Education approved proficiency
test.

2.0  The following shall be required for the Limited Standard
License (not renewable)

2.1  This License may be issued for a period of three
years at the request of a Delaware public school district to a
person who meets the requirements listed below and who is
employed as an English to Speakers of Other Languages
(ESOL) teacher to allow for the completion of the
requirements for the Standard License in 1.0.

2.1.1  Completion of an approved teacher education
program in English, Foreign Language, or Elementary
Education and,

2.1.2  Specialized preparation required:
2.1.2.1  Three semester hours Methods of

Teaching English as a Second Language or English as a
second dialect and,

2.1.2.2  Cross-cultural experience gained
through either college credits (which include field work) or
by work experience.

3.0  Licenses that may be issued for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

1527 327  Endorsement English To Speakers Of Other
Languages (ESOL) Teacher

Effective March 20, 1997 April 11, 2002

1.0  The Following shall be required for the Standard
Endorsement in grades 9-12, in grades 5-8 in
departmentalized middle-level schools, and in adult
education for individuals teaching content area courses
(mathematics, science, English, social studies, etc.) to
classes primarily designed for or primarily composed of
students who are speakers of other languages.  Optional for
all other fully-certified teacher.

1.1  Bachelor's degree from an accredited college and,
1.2  A standard Delaware certificate in the content

area(s) which the individual is teaching to speakers of other
languages and,
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1.3  A minimum of 15 semester hours of coursework in
teaching English as a second language to include the
following:

1.3.1  Second Language Acquisition/
Psycholinguistics 3 semester hours

1.3.2  Methods of teaching English as a Second
Language 3 semester hours

1.3.3  Structure of the English Language 3 semester
hours

1.3.4  Second Language Testing 3 semester hours
1.3.5  Ethnic Studies/Multicultural Education 3

semester hours

2.0  The following shall be required for the Limited Standard
Endorsement

2.1  Bachelor's degree from an accredited college
and,

2.2  A standard Delaware certificate in the content
area(s) that which the individual is teaching to speakers of
other languages.

3.0  Endorsements issued for this position may include
Standard and Limited Standard.
 Scholarship, and may not extend payment beyond the five
year limit.

See 4 DE Reg. 224 (7/1/00)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE 
RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,
Section 1101 (16 Del. C. §1101)

Regulations for Assisted Living Facilities
Public Notice

The Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS),
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection, has
prepared draft regulations pertaining to assisted living
facilities.  These proposed regulations are intended to
replace in their entirety assisted living regulations adopted in
December, 1997.  The proposed regulations specify required
services in assisted living facilities including licensing
requirements, specialized care for memory impairment,
medication management, resident assessments, resident
contracts and service agreements, staffing and physical plant
requirements as well as provisions for resident waivers and
conditions which preclude admission.  The proposed
regulations also include a Uniform Assessment Instrument to
be used for initial and all subsequent assessments of

applicants and residents of assisted living facilities.

Invitation for Public Comment

Public hearings will be held as follows:
Monday, March 11, 2002, 10:00 AM 

Department of Natural Resources &
Environmental Control Auditorium
89 Kings Highway
Dover

Friday, March 15, 2002, 9:00 AM
Room 301, Main Building
Herman Holloway Campus
1901 N. DuPont Highway
New Castle

For clarification or directions, please call Gina
Loughery at 302-577-6661.

Written comments are also invited on these proposed
regulations and should be sent to the following address:

Katie McMillan
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
3 Mill Road, Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806

The last time to submit written comments will be at the
public hearing March 15, 2002.

Delaware Regulations for Assisted Living Agencies
December 15, 1997

Title 16 - Health and Safety

Part II, Chapter 11Sanatoria, Rest Homes, Nursing Homes,
Boarding Homes and Related Institutions.

“Sanatorium, rest home, nursing home, boarding home
and related institutions,” within the meaning of this chapter,
mean any institution, building or agency in which
accommodation is maintained, furnished or offered for any
fee, gift, compensation or reward for the care of more than 1
aged, infirm, chronically ill, adult psychiatrically disabled or
convalescent person.  The word “person” shall not include
mother, father, sister, brother, niece, nephew, mother-in-law,
father-in-law, sister-in-law or brother-in-law of any
individual operating a facility under this chapter.

SECTION 63.0PURPOSE
Assisted Living is a major component of a comprehensive
community-based residential long term care continuum that
provides the necessary level of services to a dependent
elderly or persons with disabilities in the appropriate
environment.  The services are provided based on a social
philosophy of care and must include oversight, food, shelter,
and the provision or coordination of a range of services that
promote the quality of life of the individual.  The social

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dltc/dltchome.htm
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philosophy of care promotes the consumer’s independence,
privacy, dignity and is provided in a homelike environment.
These regulations shall be construed to be consistent with
this section.

SECTION  63.1GLOSSARY OF TERMS
63.101Assisted Living - Assisted living is a residential

arrangement for fee for dependent elderly and adults with
disabilities which provides assistance with activities of daily
living and other services that promote the consumers quality
of life.

 63.102Activities of Daily Living - the tasks for self-
care which are performed either independently or with
supervision or assistance. Activities of daily living include
ambulating, transferring, grooming, bathing, dressing,
eating, and toileting.

63.103 Assistive Technology - Any item, piece of
equipment or product system whether acquired
commercially off the shelf, modified, or customized that is
used to increase or improve functional capabilities of adults
with disabilities.

63.104Bounded choice - limits placed by the assisted
living agency on a consumer’s choices as a result of limited
consumer capacity, societal norms, and/or available
resources.  These boundaries include the prevention of
imminent danger or harm to self and/or others, and the
maintenance of respect for the dignity of others. 

63.105Consumer - a person receiving services in the
assisted living agency.

63.106Durable Medical Equipment - equipment capable
of withstanding repeated use, is primarily and customarily
used to serve a medical purpose, generally is not useful to a
person in the absence of an illness or injury and is needed to
maintain the consumer in the home, i.e. wheelchairs, hospital
beds, oxygen tanks.

63.107Homelike - an environment having the qualities
of a home, including privacy, comfortable surroundings
supported by the use of residential building materials and
furnishings, and the opportunity to modify one’s living area
to suit one’s individual preferences.  A homelike
environment provides consumers with an opportunity for
self-expression and encourages interaction with community,
family and friends.

63.108Incapable of making decisions - inability of a
consumer, based on a service assessment, to understand his/
her own needs for supportive, personal or nursing services;
to choose what, if any, services one wants to receive to meet
those needs; and to understand the outcome likely to result
from that choice.  The term refers to the decision and not the
content or result of the decision.

63.109Individual Living Unit - a self-contained
dwelling unit which has bathing facilities, living and
sleeping space as provided in these regulations. 

63.110Managed risk agreement - the process of

balancing consumer choice and independence with the
health and safety of the consumer.  If a consumer’s
preference or decision places the consumer at risk or is likely
to lead to adverse consequences, such risks and
consequences are discussed with the consumer, and his/her
representative if appropriate, the outcome of which becomes
a part of the service agreement.  In no event shall the
managed risk agreement place other consumers at risk.

63.111Qualified Interpreter - an interpreter who is able
to interpret effectively accurately and impartially both
receptively and expressively, using any necessary
specialized vocabulary.

63.112Representative - a person acting on behalf of the
consumer under Delaware law.

63.113Shared responsibility - the concept that
consumers, their representatives if any, and providers of
assisted living services share responsibility for planning and
decision making affecting the consumer in an assisted living
program.  To participate fully in shared responsibility,
consumers shall be provided with clear and understandable
information about the possible consequences of their
decision-making.

63.114Service Agreement - a written document for each
consumer which describes what services will be provided,
who will provide the services, when the services will be
provided, how the services will be provided, how often
services will be provided and the expected outcome.

63.115Service Assessment - a written document for
each consumer developed by the provider which is used to
identify what services a consumer needs.  This assessment
shall be utilized by the provider to determine if services
needed and desired by the consumer can be met by the
provider.

SECTION 63.2LICENSING REQUIREMENTS AND
PROCEDURES

63.201 License Requirement
No person  or entity shall hold itself out as being an

Assisted Living Agency unless such person or entity has
been duly licensed under these regulations.

A. Issuance of Licenses
(1) Annual License.  An annual license (12

months) may be renewed yearly if the holder is in full
compliance with the provisions of this chapter and the rules
and regulations of the Department of Health and Social
Services.

(2) Provisional License.  A provisional license
shall be granted for a term of ninety (90) days only, and shall
be granted only to an agency which, although not in full
compliance, is nevertheless demonstrating evidence of
improvement.

(3) Restricted License.  A restricted license shall
be granted for a term of ninety (90) days when the agency is
not in compliance with the provisions of this chapter, and
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does not demonstrate evidence of improvement. The holder
of a restricted license may not admit consumers to the
agency to which the restricted license applies during the
period of restriction, but the agency may remain in operation
until such license is revoked, expires, becomes annual or
provisional.

Restricted licenses may be issued by the Office of
Health Facilities Licensing and Certification without
advance notice if the Secretary or his/her designee
determines that any deficiency immediately and seriously
jeopardizes the health or safety of any consumer.  The holder
of the license may appeal the issuance of the restricted
license to the Secretary or his/her designee, however, the
restricted license will remain in effect during the pendency
of the appeal.

B. Suspension or Revocation of Licenses
The Secretary of the Department of Health and

Social Services or his/her designee may suspend or revoke a
license issued under this chapter on any of the following
grounds:

(1) Violation of any of the provisions of this
chapter or the rules and regulations issued pursuant thereto.

(2) Permitting, aiding, or abetting the commission
of any illegal act in the agency.

(3) Conduct or practices detrimental to the welfare
of the consumer.

Before any license issued under this chapter is
suspended or revoked, thirty (30) days notice shall be given
in writing to the holder of the license, during which he/she
may appeal for a hearing before the Secretary of the
Department of Health and Social Services or his/her
designee.

C. Renewal of License after Suspension or Revocation
If and when the conditions upon which the

suspension or revocation of a license are based have been
corrected and after a proper inspection has been made, a new
license may be granted.

63.202 Separate Licenses
A. Separate licenses are required for agencies

maintained in separate locations, even though operated
under the same management.

B. A separate license is not required for separate
buildings maintained by the same management on the same
grounds.

C. A license is not transferable from person to person
or from one location to another.

D. The Department of Health and Social Services may
grant a waiver of Section 63.202A upon written request of
the assisted living provider if the separate locations are
located within a reasonably close physical area or
development address provided the licensee can demonstrate
the ability to meet the requirements set forth in the
regulations.

63.203 Inspections

Every assisted living agency for which a license has
been issued under this chapter shall be periodically inspected
by a representative of the Division of Public Health.

63.204 Application Process
A. All persons or entities applying for a license shall

request a licensure application from the Division of Public
Health, Office of Health Facilities Licensing and
Certification.

B. Applicants shall also submit to the Division of
Public Health, Office of Health Facilities Licensing and
Certification the following information:

1. the names, addresses and types of facility
owned or managed by the applicant;

2. identity of:
(a) each officer and director of the corporation

if the entity is organized as a corporation; 
(b) each general partner or managing member

if the entity is organized as an unincorporated entity;
(c) the governing body if the entity is

government-operated;

(d) proof of not-for-profit status if claiming
tax-exempt status; and

(e) any officers/directors, partners, or
managing members, or members of a governing body who
have a financial interest of 5 percent or more in a licensee’s
operation or related businesses.

3. disclosure of any officer, director, partner,
employee, managing member, or member of the governing
body with a felony criminal record; and

4. name of the individual responsible for the
management of the assisted living agency.

63.205The Department of Health and Social Services
may adopt, amend, or repeal regulations governing the
operation of the agencies defined in Section 1101 of this title
and shall establish reasonable standards of equipment,
capacity, sanitation, and any other conditions which might
influence the health or welfare of the consumers of such
agencies.  

SECTION 63.3GENERAL REQUIREMENTS
63.301All records maintained by the assisted living

agency shall at all times be open to inspection by the
authorized representatives of the Division of Public Health,
Office of Health Facilities Licensing and Certification and
Division of Services for Aging and Adults with Physical
Disabilities, Long Term Care Ombudsman.

63.302No policies shall be adopted by the assisted
living agency which are in conflict with these regulations.

63.303The assisted living agency shall establish written
policies regarding the rights and responsibilities of
consumers, and these policies and procedures shall be made
available to authorized representatives of the Division of
Public Health.
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63.304For cognitively impaired consumers, the assisted
living agency shall develop policies and procedures to: 

A. prevent cognitively impaired consumers from
wandering away from safe areas; and 

B. provide for the safe storage of medications.
63.305Each assisted living agency shall provide with

the admission agreement to all consumers a complete
statement enumerating all charges for services, materials and
equipment which shall, or may be, furnished to the consumer
during the period of occupancy.

63.306Each agency shall make known, in writing, the
refund and prepayment policy at the time of admission, and
in the case of third-party payment, an exact statement of
responsibility in the event of retroactive denial.

63.307The assisted living agency shall arrange for
emergency transportation and care.

63.308Upon the agency’s reasonable belief that the
medical needs of a consumer exceed the needs addressed in
the service agreement, the agency shall promptly discuss and
document with the consumer his need for medical
assessment and shall document the outcome of that
discussion.

63.309Reports of the results of the most recent licensure
survey and plan of correction shall be readily available for
review by the consumer.

SECTION 63.4CONSUMER APPLICATION AND
CONTRACTS

63.401All information provided by the assisted living
agency shall be accurate, precise, easily understood and
readable by a consumer, and in compliance with all
applicable laws.

63.402The assisted living agency shall have a written
application process and provide clear reasons in writing if an
applicant is rejected.

63.403The assisted living agency shall recommend
review of the contract by an attorney or other representative
chosen by the consumer.

63.404The assisted living agency’s contract shall:
A. be easily understood and readable by a consumer or

his/her representative if the consumer is incapable of making
decisions, and any other party signing the contract;

B. be signed by the consumer or his/her representative
if the consumer is incapable of making decisions;

C. conform to all relevant state and local laws and
requirements;

D. cover the following topics:
1. clear and specific occupancy criteria and

procedures (admission, transfer, and discharge);
2. rate structure and payment provisions that are

clear on:
a. covered and non-covered services;
b. service packages and fee for services;
c. regular and extra fees;

d. fees and payment arrangements for any
third-party providers;

e. the provision of at least 60 days written
notice of any rate increases or fee changes;

f. the minimum notification a consumer or
his/her representative if the consumer is incapable of making
decisions must furnish when he/she plans to move out of the
setting for reasons other than health emergencies
(notification requirements may not exceed sixty (60) days);

g. the provisions regarding payment during
unavoidable or optional absences (e.g., hospitalization,
recuperation in a nursing home, or a vacation);

h. the provision of fair and reasonable
billing, payment, and credit policies; and

i. the procedure if consumer can no longer
pay for services.

3. division of responsibility between the assisted
living agency and the consumer or his/her representative if
the consumer is incapable of making decisions (e.g.,
arranging for or overseeing medical care, purchases of
essential or desired supplies, emergencies, monitoring of
health, handling of finances);

4. consumer’s rights set forth in Section 63.7; and
5. explanation of grievance/complaint procedure

and appeals process as set forth in Section 63.714, including
information on outside agencies to which appeals may be
made.

E. include that the assisted living agency shall not
provide services to consumers whose admission is prohibited
under 63.505.

63.405No contract shall be signed before a full
assessment of the consumer has been completed and a
service agreement, with costs, has been executed.  If a
deposit is required prior to move-in, the deposit shall be fully
refundable if the parties cannot agree on the services and
fees upon completion of the assessment.

SECTION 63.5SERVICE ASSESSMENT
63.501A consumer seeking entrance shall have an initial

service assessment completed by appropriately qualified
individuals no more than thirty (30) days prior to admission
which shall be reviewed and revised, if appropriate, within
fourteen (14) days of admission, and as frequently as needed
thereafter.  If the consumer requires specialized medical,
therapeutic, or nursing services, that component of the
assessment must be performed by personnel qualified in that
specialty area.  Regular assessments shall indicate whether
the needs of the consumer are or can be met or arranged for
by the assisted living agency.

63.502The service assessment shall include a medical
evaluation completed by a physician within thirty (30) days
prior to admission.

63.503The service assessment tool shall be developed
by the assisted living agency and shall include an evaluation



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 8, FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2002

1576

of the physical and psychosocial needs of the consumer.
63.504This assessment shall be completed by the

assisted living agency in conjunction with the consumer or
his/her representative if the consumer is incapable of making
decisions.

63.505The assisted living agency shall not admit any
consumer who needs services which cannot be provided or
arranged for by the assisted living agency.  The assisted
living agency shall not provide services to consumers who:

1. need 24 hour nursing services whose medical
conditions are unstable to the point that they require frequent
observation, assessment and intervention by a licensed
professional nurse, including unscheduled nursing services,
unless the attending physician certifies that despite the
presence of this factor, the consumer’s needs may be safely
met by a service agreement developed by the assisted living
agency, the attending physician, a registered nurse, the
consumer or his/her representative if the consumer is
incapable of making decisions, and other appropriate health
care professionals as determined by the consumer’s needs;

2. are bedridden for 14 consecutive days unless a
physician certifies that despite the presence of this factor, the
consumer's needs may be safely met by a service agreement
developed by the assisted living agency, the attending
physician, a registered nurse, the consumer or his/her
representative if the consumer is incapable of making
decisions, and other appropriate health care professionals as
determined by the consumer's needs;

3. need transfer assistance by more than one person
and a mechanical device unless special staffing
arrangements have been made to ensure safe care and
evacuation; 

4. have conditions that exceed program capabilities
(to be enumerated on the contract by the assisted living
agency); or

5. present a danger to self or others or engage in
illegal drug use.

63.506Assisted living agencies are not intended for
persons who require nursing home services that are beyond
the capabilities of the assisted living agency.  Under certain
conditions services may be provided as per 63.505.

SECTION 63.6SERVICE AGREEMENTS
63.601A service agreement based on the needs

identified in the service assessment shall be developed prior
to entrance.  The service agreement shall include the scope,
frequency, and duration of services and monitoring.  The
consumer, or his/her representative if the consumer is
incapable of making decisions, shall review the agreement,
and determine which services he/she will utilize.  The
consumer or his/her representative if the consumer is
incapable of making decisions and other persons with
obligations under the service agreement shall sign the
agreement and shall receive a copy of the signed agreement.

All persons who sign the agreement will be able to fully
comprehend and perform their obligations under the
agreement.

63.602At a minimum, the service agreement must
address the need for the following:

A. personal services;
B. nursing services;
C. food services;
D. environmental services including housekeeping,

laundry, safety, trash removal;
E. social/emotional services including those related to

cognitive deficits; 
F. financial management services; 
G. transportation services;
H. individual living unit furnishings; 
I. notification of family when there is a change in the

health status of the consumer;
J. Assistive technology and durable medical

equipment;
K. rehabilitation services;
L. qualified interpreters for people who are deaf and

hard of hearing; and
M. reasonable accommodations for persons with

disabilities.
63.603The service agreement shall be developed and

followed for each consumer consistent with that person’s
unique physical and psychosocial needs with recognition of
his/her capabilities and preferences.  Each consumer or his/
her representative if the consumer is incapable of making
decisions shall be entitled to actively participate in the
development of the service agreement.

63.604The service agreement shall be reviewed by the
provider and the consumer upon observation of the provider
that the needs of the consumer have changed, or upon the
request of the consumer or his/her representative if the
consumer is incapable of making decisions, but no less
frequently than annually.

63.605The assisted living agency shall be responsible
and accountable for providing the services delineated in the
service agreement.

63.606The service agreement shall be based on the
concepts of shared responsibility and consumer choice,
including bounded choice.

63.607Consumers admitted pursuant to 63.505 shall be
prohibited from executing managed risk agreements.

63.608Choices may be included in the managed risk
agreement section of the service agreement if:

A. The risks are tolerable to all parties
participating in the development of the service agreement; 

B. Mutually agreeable action is negotiated;
C. The consumer making the choices or his/her

representative is capable of making decisions and
understanding the consequences.

63.609  Consistent with the philosophy of bounded
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choice, choice shall be limited to the extent necessary to
prevent harm in cases where the choice may result in severe
or immediate negative consequences to the consumer or
others.  Severe or immediate negative consequences shall
include but not be limited to serious property damage and
significant physical or psychological harm to the consumer
making the choice, another consumer, a staff member or a
visitor.

63.610  If a managed risk agreement is made a part of
the service agreement, it shall:

A. clearly describe the problem, issue or service
that is the subject of the managed risk agreement;

B. describe the choices available to the consumer
as well as the risks and benefits associated with each choice,
the assisted living agency’s recommendations or desired
outcome, and the consumer's desired preference or the
preference that the consumer’s representative believes would
be the consumer’s desired preference if the consumer is
incapable of making decisions;

C. indicate the agreed upon option;
D. describe the agreed upon responsibilities of the

assisted living agency, the consumer and any third party
providers;

E. become a part of the service agreement, be
signed separately by the consumer or his/her representative
if the consumer is incapable of making decisions, the
assisted living agency, and any third party with obligations
under the managed risk agreement that the third party is able
to fully comprehend and perform; and

F. include a time frame for review.
63.611 The assisted living agency shall make no

attempt to use the managed risk portion of the service
agreement to abridge a consumer’s rights or to avoid liability
for harm caused to a consumer by the negligence of the
assisted living agency and any such abridgment or
disclaimer shall be void.

SECTION 63.7CONSUMER’S RIGHTS
63.701Assisted living agencies are required by Title 16

Del.C., Chapter 11, Subchapter II to comply with the
provisions of the Rights of Patients covered therein.

Not all of the rights contained in Subchapter II are
enumerated in these regulations because not all of the rights
are equally relevant for consumers of assisted living
services.  However, consumers of assisted living services are
entitled to all of the rights set forth in Subchapter II,
regardless whether they are specifically regulated herein.

63.702 Each consumer shall be treated with
consideration, respect and full recognition of their dignity
and individuality.

63.703Each consumer shall receive care, treatment and
services which are adequate and appropriate to their needs.
Each consumer shall have the right to an attending physician
of their choice.

63.704 Each consumer or his/her representative if the
consumer is incapable of making decisions, prior to or upon
admission, and during their stay, shall receive a written
statement of the services provided by the assisted living
agency including those required to be offered on an "as-
needed" basis.

A. They shall also receive a statement of related
charges, including any charges for services not covered
under Medicare, Medicaid or the assisted living agency's
basic per diem rate.

B. Upon receiving such statement, the consumer
or his/her representative if the consumer is incapable of
making decisions, shall sign a written receipt which shall be
retained by the assisted living agency.

63.705 Each consumer or his/her representative if the
consumer is incapable of making decisions shall be entitled
to participate in the planning of all of their services including
their medical treatment.

63.706 Each consumer’s medical care program shall
be conducted discreetly and in accordance with the
consumer's need for privacy.

A. Other than the representatives of consumers
who are incapable of making decisions, persons not directly
involved in the provision of care shall not be present during
medical examinations, treatment and case discussion, unless
requested by the consumer or his/her representative if the
consumer is incapable of making decisions.

B. Personal and medical records shall be treated
confidentially; shall not be made public without the consent
of the consumer or his/her representative if the consumer is
incapable of making decisions or a court order and shall not
be released to any person inside or outside the assisted living
agency who has no demonstrable need for such records.
Authorized representatives of the Department of Health and
Social Services with oversight review or inspection
responsibilities shall have full access to all personal and
medical records.

63.707 Each consumer shall receive from the staff of
the assisted living agency a timely, courteous and reasonable
response to their requests.

63.708 The assisted living agency shall disclose to
each consumer or his/her representative if the consumer is
incapable of making decisions the identity of each entity
with which it contracts for consumer care services and any
ownership interest in any health care facility that it
recommends to the consumer.

63.709 Each consumer may associate privately with
people and groups of his/her own choice at any reasonable
hour.

63.710 Each consumer may send and receive mail
promptly and unopened.

63.711 Each consumer shall have 24 hour access to a
telephone where he/she may speak privately.

63.712 Each consumer has the right to manage his/her
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own financial affairs.
A. If, by written request, the assisted living

agency manages the consumer's financial affairs, it shall
have available for inspection a monthly accounting and shall
furnish a quarterly statement to the consumer or a designated
representative.

B. The consumer shall have unrestricted access to
such accounts at reasonable hours.

63.713 Each consumer has the right of privacy in his/
her room, including a door that locks, consistent with the
safety needs of the consumer. 

63.714 Each consumer has the right, personally, or
through others, to present grievances/complaints to the
agency’s staff or director, to the Division of Services for
Aging and Adults with Physical Disabilities, the
Ombudsman or to others including the Division of Public
Health, Office of Health Facilities Licensing and
Certification.

A. The assisted living agency and its staff shall
not impose any  reprisal, restraint, interference, coercion or
discrimination of the consumer as a result of such grievance/
complaint or suggestion.

B. The assisted living agency shall report
immediately and in writing any alleged violation of any of
the provisions of Section 63.7 of these Rules and
Regulations to the Ombudsman.

C. The Ombudsman shall consult with the
complainant to determine if he/she wishes to pursue an
investigation.  If the complainant wishes to pursue the
matter, the Ombudsman shall work closely with the
complainant and the assisted living agency to resolve the
matter.  In any case, the confidentiality of the complainant
shall not be revealed except in accordance with applicable
law.

D. On completion of the investigation, the
Ombudsman shall report the findings to the complainant and
with the complainant's consent to the assisted living agency
wherein the complaint originated.

E. If the grievance/complaint is not resolved to the
satisfaction of the consumer at the end of the investigation
by the Ombudsman, the grievance/complaint findings shall
be forwarded to the Division of Public Health, Office of
Health Facilities Licensing and Certification for appropriate
action after obtaining the consent of the complainant.

F. Nothing in this regulation abrogates any person’s
duties under the Patient Abuse Law, 16 Del. C §1131 et seq.

63.715The assisted living agency shall investigate and
address all grievances/complaints, verbal or written, made
by consumers or their representatives and must document
both the existence of the grievance/complaint and the
resolution of the grievance/complaint.  Records of all such
investigations shall be maintained by the assisted living
agency for five years for review.

63.716The assisted living agency shall develop a formal
internal grievance/complaint process which protects
consumers from reprisal from employees.

63.717This written grievance/complaint process shall be
provided to consumers upon admission to the assisted living
agency.

63.718 A consumer  shall not be required to perform
services for the assisted living agency.

63.719 Each consumer shall have the right to retain
and use their personal clothing and possessions where
reasonable and shall be entitled to security in their storage
and use. 

63.720 No consumer shall be transferred or discharged
by an assisted living agency except for the following:

A. For medical reasons;
B. For the consumer's own welfare or the welfare

of the other consumers;
C. For non-payment of justified charges; or
D. For failure to negotiate a service agreement or

managed risk agreement where applicable.
63.721 If good cause for transfer or discharge exists,

the consumer shall be given thirty (30) days advance notice
of the proposed action and the reasons for the action and may
request an impartial hearing.  In emergency situations, such
notice need not be given.

63.722 If a hearing is requested under Section 63.721,
it shall be held within twenty (20) days of the request.  The
hearing shall be conducted by the Division of Public Health
in accordance with Subchapter III of Del.C, Ch. 101
Administrative Procedure’s Act.  The Deputy Attorney
General for the Division of Public Health may attend as legal
officer in these hearings.

63.723 If the hearing determines in favor of the
consumer, the assisted living agency shall be instructed to
comply.  If the assisted living agency refuses to comply, this
refusal may be grounds for revocation of the license.

63.724 The consumer’s rights shall be posted
conspicuously in a public place in each assisted living
agency.

63.725 Copies of the consumer’s rights shall be
furnished to the consumer or his/her representative if the
consumer is incapable of making decisions, upon admission.

63.726 Receipts for the consumer’s rights statements
signed by the above parties shall be retained in the assisted
living agency’s files.

SECTION 63.8QUALITY ASSURANCE
63.801The assisted living agency shall develop and

implement a documented, ongoing quality assurance
program that includes an internal monitoring process that
tracks performance and measures consumer satisfaction.

63.802On at least a semi-annual basis, the assisted
living agency shall survey each consumer or his/her
representative if the consumer is incapable of making
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decisions regarding their satisfaction with services provided.
A. The assisted living agency shall retain all surveys

which shall be reviewed during inspections.
B. The assisted living agency shall maintain

documentation which addresses what actions were taken as a
result of the surveys.

63.803The grievance/complaint process shall be
incorporated into the quality assurance program. 

SECTION 63.9STAFFING
63.901A staff of persons sufficient in number and

adequately trained, certified or licensed to meet the
requirements of the consumers shall be employed and
comply with 24 Del.C., Chapter 19 and other applicable state
law and corresponding Rules and Regulations.

63.902The assisted living agency shall develop a
staffing plan sufficient in number to meet the needs of the
consumers based on the service agreements in effect at any
given time.

63.903The assisted living agency shall maintain staffing
records which document what personnel were on duty as
well as specific hours worked for each day.

63.904The assisted living agency should provide
appropriate training to staff in compliance with 24 Del. C.,
Chapter 19 and other applicable state law and corresponding
rules and regulations to meet the needs of the consumer. The
content of both individual training and staff training
programs and attendance shall be documented.

63.905The assisted living agency shall provide
orientation training to all new staff.

63.906All personnel records, including employment
applications, shall be maintained consistent with the assisted
living agency policies and applicable state laws.

63.907Each assisted living agency that is licensed shall
have a director who is responsible for the operation of the
program.

63.908  The assisted living agency shall provide either
onsite or on call supervision 24 hours per day. 

63.909  The assisted living agency must be available 24
hours per day to respond if called by the consumer for
assistance.

SECTION 63.10ENVIRONMENT
63.10.1All accommodations shall comply with

applicable federal, state and local laws including:
A. Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Section 504;

B. Fair Housing Amendments Act of 1988; and
C. Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.

63.10.2Kitchens shall be available to consumers either
in their individual living unit or in an area readily accessible
to each consumer.

63.10.3Individual living units without kitchens shall
have an appropriately designed central kitchen readily
accessible to the consumer.  The assisted living agency shall

establish policies and procedures to ensure that this kitchen
is used and maintained in such a way as to provide for the
following:

A. a clean and sanitary environment;
B. safe storage of food; and
C. a means to enable hand washing and sanitizing of

dishes, utensils and food preparation equipment.
63.10.4Bathing facilities shall be available to consumers

either in their individual living unit or in an area readily
accessible to each consumer.

63.10.5Assisted living agencies that prepare meals to
consumers shall meet the State of Delaware Regulations
Governing Public Eating Places.

63.10.6The assisted living agency shall provide a
homelike environment in all common areas.

63.107Sharing of a bedroom shall be limited to two
consumers, upon their mutual consent.

SECTION 63.11FIRE SAFETY AND EVACUATION
PLANS

63.11.1Fire safety in assisted living agencies shall
comply with the adopted Rules and Regulations of the State
Fire Prevention Commission.  All applications for license or
renewal of license must include with the application a letter
certifying compliance by the Fire Marshal having
jurisdiction.  Notification of non-compliance with the Rules
and Regulations of the State Fire Prevention Commission
shall be grounds for revocation of the license.

63.11.2The assisted living agency shall develop an
evacuation plan for each consumer in the event of an
emergency.

63.11.3The assisted living agency shall be responsible
to have adequate staff to meet the evacuation plan needs of
each consumer at any given time.

SECTION 63.12RECORDS
63.12.1The assisted living agency shall be responsible

for maintaining appropriate records for each consumer.
These records shall document the implementation of the
service agreement for each consumer.  Clinical records for
consumers shall conform to professional standards for
medical records.

63.12.2Records shall be available at all times to legally
authorized persons; otherwise such records shall be held
confidential.  The consent of the consumer or his/her
representative if the consumer is incapable of making
decisions shall be obtained before any personal information
is released from his/her records as authorized by these
regulations or Delaware law.

63.12.3The assisted living agency consumer records
shall be retained for a minimum of five (5) years before
being destroyed following discharge.



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 8, FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2002

1580

Delaware Regulations for Assisted Living Facilities

These regulations are promulgated in accordance with
16 Del. C., Chapter 11.

December 31, 2001

When finalized, these regulations will replace the December
15, 1997 regulations.

SECTION 63.0 PURPOSE
The Department of Health and Social Services is issuing

these regulations to promote and ensure the health, safety,
and well-being of all residents of assisted living facilities.
These regulations are also meant to ensure that service
providers will be accountable to their residents and the
Department and to differentiate assisted living care from
nursing home care.  The regulations establish the minimal
acceptable level of services for residents of assisted living
facilities.

SECTION 63.1 AUTHORITY AND APPLICABIILITY
These regulations are promulgated in accordance with

16 Del. C. Chapter 11 and shall apply to any facility
providing assisted living to elderly individuals or adults with
disabilities.  The term “assisted living” shall not be used as
part of the official name of any facility in this State unless
the facility has been so licensed by the Department of Health
and Social Services.  

SECTION 63.2 GLOSSARY OF TERMS
63.201 Activities of Daily Living (“ADLs”) - Normal

daily activities including but not limited to ambulating,
transferring, range of motion, grooming, bathing, dressing,
eating, and toileting.

63.202 Administration of Medication - The process
whereby a single dose of a prescribed drug is given to a
resident by an authorized licensed person, as described in 24
Del. C., Section 1902.

63.203 Assisted Living - A special combination of
housing, supportive services, supervision, personalized
assistance and health care designed to respond to the
individual needs of those who need help with activities of
daily living and/or instrumental activities of daily living.

63.204 Assisted Living Facility – A licensed entity
that provides the services described in 63.203. 

63.205 Assistive technology - Any item, piece of
equipment or product system whether acquired
commercially off the shelf, modified, or customized that is
used to increase or improve functional capabilities of adults
with disabilities.

63.206 Assistance With Self-Administration of
Medication (“AWSAM”) - Help with medication provided
by facility personnel who are not nurses or nurse
practitioners but who have successfully completed a Board

of Nursing-approved medication training program in
accordance with the Delaware Nurse Practice Act, 24 Del.
C., Chapter 19, and applicable rules and regulations.  Help
with medication includes holding the container, opening the
container, and assisting the resident in taking the medication,
other than by injection, following the directions of the
original container, and documenting in the medication log
that each medication has been taken by the residents.

63.207 Communicable Disease - An illness caused by
a microorganism or its toxin characterized by spread from
host to victim by air, contact, blood, or bodily fluids.

63.208 Contract – A legally binding written agreement
between the facility and the resident which enumerates all
charges for services, materials, and equipment, as well as
non-financial obligations of both parties, as specified in
these regulations.

63.209 Cueing - The act of guiding residents, verbally
or by gestures, to facilitate memory and/or organize verbal
and/or behavioral responses.

63.210 Department - Department of Health and Social
Services.

63.211 Division - Division of Long Term Care
Residents Protection.

63.212 Durable Medical Equipment - Equipment
capable of withstanding repeated use, primarily and
customarily used to serve a medical purpose, generally not
useful to a person in the absence of an illness or injury, and
needed to maintain the resident in the facility, i.e.,
wheelchairs, hospital beds, oxygen tanks.

63.213 Homelike - An environment having the
qualities of a home, including privacy, comfortable
surroundings supported by the use of residential building
materials and furnishings, and the opportunity to modify
one’s living area to suit one’s individual preferences, in
accordance with the facility’s policies.  A homelike
environment provides residents with an opportunity for self-
expression and encourages interaction with community,
family, and friends.

63.214 Hospice - An agency licensed by the State of
Delaware that provides palliative and supportive medical
and other health services to terminally ill residents and their
families.

63.215  Incident - An occurrence or event, a record of
which must be maintained in facility files, that results or
might result in harm to a resident.  Incident includes alleged
abuse, neglect, mistreatment and financial exploitation;
incidents of unknown source which might be attributable to
abuse, neglect or mistreatment; all deaths; falls; and errors or
omissions in medication/treatment.  (Also see Reportable
Incident, 63.222.)

63.216 Individual Living Unit - A separate dwelling
area within an assisted living facility which has living and
sleeping space for one or more residents, as prescribed in
these regulations.
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63.217 Instrumental Activities of Daily Living
(“IADLs”) - Home management skills, such as shopping for
food and personal items, preparing meals, or handling
money.

63.218 Managed/Negotiated Risk Agreement – A
signed document between the resident and the facility, and
any other involved party, which describes mutually
agreeable action balancing resident choice and independence
with the health and safety of the resident or others.

63.219 Medication Log – A written document in
which licensed personnel and unlicensed personnel who
have completed AWSAM training record administration/
assistance with the resident’s medications.  The log shall list
the resident’s name; date of birth; allergies; reason the
medication is given; prescribing practitioner and phone
number; special instructions; and the dosage, route(s), and
time(s), for all medications received/taken with staff
administration or staff assistance.  The log is signed/initialed
by a staff member after each resident has received/taken the
appropriate medication, or when the medication was not
taken/given as prescribed.

63.220 Medication Management by an Adult Family
Member/Support Person – Any help with prescription or
non-prescription medication provided by an adult family
member/support person, as identified in the resident’s
contract and service agreement.

63.221 Personal Care Supplies - Those supplies, often
disposable, used by a resident, such as incontinence products
and hygiene supplies.

63.222 Reportable Incident - An occurrence or event
which must be reported at once to the Division and for which
there is reasonable cause to believe that a resident has been
abused, neglected, mistreated or subjected to financial
exploitation.  Reportable incident also includes an incident
of unknown source which might be attributable to abuse,
neglect or mistreatment; all deaths; falls with injuries; and
significant errors or omissions in medication/treatment
which cause the resident discomfort or jeopardize the
resident’s health and safety.  (Also see Incident, 63.215.)

63.223 Representative - A person acting on behalf of
the resident pursuant to Delaware law.

63.224 Resident - An individual 18 years old or older
who lives in an assisted living facility.  Where appropriate in
the context of these regulations, “resident” as used herein
includes an authorized representative as defined in 63.223.

63.225 Resident Assessment - Evaluation of a
resident’s physical, medical, and psychosocial status as
documented in a Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI), by
a registered nurse.

63.226 Resident Assistant – Any unlicensed direct
caregiver who, under the supervision of the assisted living
director or director of health services, assists the resident
with personal needs and monitors the activities of the
resident while on the premises to ensure his/her health,

safety, and well-being.
63.227 Secretary - Secretary of the Department of

Health and Social Services.
63.228 Service Agreement - A written document

developed with each resident which describes what services
will be provided, who will provide the services, when the
services will be provided, how the services will be provided,
and, if applicable, the expected outcome.

63.229 Shared Responsibility - The concept that
residents and assisted living facilities share responsibility for
planning and decision-making affecting the resident.

63.230  Significant Change - A major deterioration or
improvement in a resident’s health status or ability to
perform ADLs; a major alteration in behavior or mood
resulting in ongoing problematic behavior or the elimination
of that behavior on a sustained basis.  Significant change
does not include ordinary, day-to-day fluctuations in health
status, functioning, and behavior, or a short-term illness such
as a cold, unless these fluctuations continue to recur, nor
does it include deterioration that will normally resolve
without further intervention.

63.231 Third-Party Provider - Any party, including a
family member, other than the assisted living facility which
furnishes services/supplies to a resident.

63.232 Uniform Assessment Instrument (“UAI”) - A
document setting forth standardized criteria developed by
the Division to assess each resident’s functional, cognitive,
physical, medical, and psychosocial needs and status.  The
assisted living facility shall be required to use the UAI to
evaluate each resident on both an initial and ongoing basis in
accordance with these regulations.

SECTION 63.3 LICENSING REQUIREMENTS AND
PROCEDURES

63.301 No entity shall hold itself out as being an
assisted living facility unless such entity has been duly
licensed under these regulations and in accordance with state
law.  The Secretary or his/her designee shall issue a
provisional or annual license for a specified number of beds.

63.302 Procedures for assisted living facility
applications and for issuance, posting, and renewal of
licenses shall be in accordance with 16 Del. C., Chapter 11,
Subchapter I., Licensing By The State.

63.303 Inspections and monitoring shall be conducted
in accordance with 16 Del. C., Chapter 11, Subchapter I.,
Licensing By The State.

63.304 Upon receipt of written notice of a violation of
these regulations, the assisted living facility shall submit a
written plan of action to correct deficiencies cited within 10
working days or such other time period as may be required
by the Department.  The plan of action shall address
corrective actions to be taken and include all measures and
completion dates to prevent their recurrence:  1)  how the
corrective action will be accomplished for those residents
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found to have been affected by the deficient practice;  2)
how the facility will identify other residents having the
potential to be affected by the same deficient practice;  3)
what measures will be put into place or systemic changes
made to ensure that the deficient practice will not recur; and
4)  how the facility will monitor its corrective actions to
ensure that the deficient practice is being corrected and will
not recur, i.e., what program will be put into place to monitor
the continued effectiveness of the systemic changes.

63.305 The Department may impose civil money
penalties and/or other enforcement remedies in accordance
with the procedures outlined in 16 Del. C., Chapter 11,
Subchapter I., Licensing By The State.

63.306 The Department may suspend or revoke a
license, or refuse to renew it, in accordance with 16 Del. C.,
Chapter 11, Subchapter I., Licensing By The State.

63.307 Separate licenses are required for agencies
maintained in separate locations, even though operated
under the same management.  A separate license is not
required for separate buildings maintained by the same
management on the same grounds.  Under conditions of
assignment or transfer of ownership, a new license shall be
required. 

63.308  If a facility or part of a facility plans to close:
A.  The assisted living facility shall notify

representatives of the appropriate state agencies of the plan
of closure at least 90 days before the planned closure.

B.  The facility staff must notify each resident
advising him/her of the action in progress at least 90 days
before the planned closure.

C.  The resident must be given the opportunity to
designate a preference for a specific facility or for other
arrangements.

D.  The assisted living facility must arrange for the
relocation to other facilities in the area in accordance with
the residents’ preference, if possible.

E.  Any applicant for admission to the assisted
living facility shall be advised of the planned closure date.

F.  All residents’ records and any medications must
accompany the residents to their new residences.

63.309 The Department may adopt, amend or repeal
regulations governing the operation of the agencies defined
in 16 Del. C., Chapter 11, Subchapter I., Licensing By The
State. 

SECTION 63.4  GENERAL REQUIREMENTS
63.401 All written information provided by the
assisted living facility shall be accurate, precise, easily
understood and readable by a resident, and in compliance
with all applicable laws.

63.402 All records maintained by the assisted living
facility shall at all times be open to inspection by the
authorized representatives of the Department, as well as
other agencies as required by state and federal laws and

regulations.  Such records shall be made available in
accordance with 16 Del. C., Chapter 11, Subchapter I.,
Licensing By The State.

63.403 The assisted living facility shall adopt internal
written policies and procedures pursuant to these
regulations.  No policies shall be adopted by the assisted
living facility which are in conflict with these regulations.

63.404 The assisted living facility shall establish and
adhere to written policies and procedures regarding the
rights and responsibilities of residents, and these policies and
procedures shall be made available to authorized
representatives of the Department, facility staff, and
residents.

63.405 The assisted living facility shall develop and
adhere to policies and procedures to prevent residents with
diagnosed memory impairment from wandering away from
safe areas.  However, residents may be permitted to wander
safely within the perimeter of a secured unit.

63.406 The assisted living facility shall arrange for
emergency transportation and care.

63.407 Inspection summaries and compliance history
information shall be posted by the facility in accordance with
16 Del. C., Chapter 11, Subchapter I., Licensing By The
State.

63.408 An assisted living facility shall recognize the
authority of a representative acting on the resident’s behalf
pursuant to Delaware law, as long as such representative
does not exceed his/her authority.  The facility shall request
and keep on file any documents such as an advance
directive, living will, do not resuscitate, and power(s) of
attorney.

63.409 An assisted living facility shall not admit,
provide services to, or permit the provision of services to
individuals who, as established by the resident assessment:

A. Require care by a nurse that is more than
intermittent or for more than a limited period of time;

B. Require skilled monitoring, testing, and
aggressive adjustment of medications and treatments where
there is the presence of, or reasonable potential of, an acute
episode unless there is an RN to provide appropriate care;

C. Require monitoring of a chronic medical
condition that is not essentially stabilized through available
medications and treatments;

D. Are bedridden for more than 14 days;
E. Have developed stage three or four skin ulcers;
F. Require a ventilator;
G. Require treatment for a disease or condition

which requires more than contact isolation;
H. Have an unstable tracheotomy or have a stable

tracheotomy of less than 6 months’ duration;
I. Have an unstable peg tube;
J. Require an IV or central line;
K. Wander such that the assisted living facility

would be unable to provide adequate supervision and/or
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security arrangements;
L. Exhibit behaviors that present a threat to the

health or safety of themselves or others, such that the
assisted living facility would be unable to eliminate the
threat either through immediate discharge or use of
immediate appropriate treatment modalities with measurable
documented progress within 45 days; and 

M. Are socially inappropriate as determined by the
assisted living facility such that the facility would be unable
to manage the behavior after documented, reasonable efforts
within 60 days.

63.410 The provisions of Section 63.409 above do not
apply to residents under the care of a Hospice program
licensed by the Department as long as the Hospice program
provides written assurance that, in conjunction with care
provided by the assisted living facility, all of the resident’s
needs will be met without placing other residents at risk.

SECTION 63.5  RESIDENT WAIVERS
63.501 An assisted living facility may request a

resident-specific waiver so that it may serve a current
resident who temporarily requires care otherwise excluded in
section 63.409.  A waiver request shall contain
documentation by a physician stating that the resident’s
condition is expected to improve within 90 days. 

63.502 The facility shall provide interim needed
services by appropriate health care professionals while any
waiver request is pending.

63.503 The assisted living facility shall submit in
writing a request for a waiver, which shall include the
following information:

A. An explanation of why the assisted living
facility is seeking the waiver, to include physician
documentation and a service agreement which details how
staff will provide care;

B. An explanation of why denial of the waiver
will impose a substantial hardship for the resident;

C. An explanation of why the waiver will not
adversely affect the resident for whom the waiver is sought
or other residents; and

D. The duration of the waiver, not to exceed 90
days.

63.504 In evaluating a waiver request submitted under
this regulation, the Department shall review the statements
in the application and may:

A. Inspect the assisted living facility;
B. Confer with the Assisted Living Director or

his/her designee;
C. Discuss the request with the resident to

determine whether he/she believes a waiver is in his/her best
interest; and/or

D.  Review other waivers currently in place at the
assisted living facility.

63.505 The Department shall issue a written decision

on a waiver request submitted pursuant to these regulations
within 5 business days of receipt of the request.  If the
Department grants the waiver, the written decision shall
include the waiver’s duration.  If the Department denies the
waiver, the written decision shall explain the reason(s) for
the denial.  The assisted living facility may submit a revised
waiver request no later than five days after the receipt of the
denial.  While the second waiver request is pending, the
facility shall provide needed services by health care
professionals as outlined in the second waiver request.  

63.506 If an assisted living facility violates any
condition of a waiver, or if it appears to the Department that
the health or safety of residents will be adversely affected by
the continuation of a waiver, the Department may revoke it.
The revocation may be appealed; however, discharge
proceedings shall be commenced immediately.

SECTION 63.6 SPECIALIZED CARE FOR MEMORY
IMPAIRMENT

63.601 Any assisted living facility which offers to
provide specialized care for residents with memory
impairment shall be required to disclose its policies and
procedures which describe the form of care or treatment
provided, in addition to that care and treatment required by
the rules and regulations herein.

63.602 Said disclosure shall be made to the
Department and to any person seeking specialized care for
memory impairment in an assisted living facility.

63.603 The information disclosed shall explain the
additional care that is provided in each of the following
areas:

A. Philosophy: a written statement of the agency’s
overall philosophy and mission which reflects the needs of
residents affected by memory impairment;

B. Resident Population: a description of the
resident population to be served;

C. Pre-Admission, Admission & Discharge: the
process and criteria for placement, transfer or discharge from
this specialized care;

D. Assessment, Care Planning & Implementation:
the process used for assessment and establishing and
updating the service agreement and its implementation;

E. Staffing Plan & Training Policies: staffing
plan, orientation, and regular in-service education for
specialized care;

F. Physical Environment: the physical
environment and design features, including security systems,
appropriate to support the functioning of adults with memory
impairment;

G. Resident Activities: the frequency and types of
resident activities;

H. Family Role in Care: the family involvement
and family support programs;

I. Psychosocial Services: the process for
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addressing the mental health, behavior management, and
social functioning needs of the resident;

J.  Nutrition/Hydration: the frequency and types of
nutrition and hydration services provided; and

K.  Program Costs: the cost of care and any
additional fees.

63.604 Any significant changes in the information
provided by the assisted living facility shall be reported to
the Department at the time the changes are made.

SECTION 63.7  MEDICATION MANAGEMENT 
63.701 An assisted living facility shall establish and

adhere to written medication policies and procedures which
shall address:

A. Obtaining and refilling medication;
B. Storing and controlling medication;
C. Disposing of medication; and
D. Administration of medication, self-

administration of medication, assistance with self-
administration of medication, and medication management
by an adult family member/support person.

63.702 Each assisted living facility shall have a drug
reference guide, with a copyright date no older than 2 years,
available and accessible for use by employees.

63.703 Medication stored by the assisted living facility
shall be stored and controlled as follows:

A. Medication shall be stored in a locked
container, cabinet, or area that is only accessible to
authorized personnel;

B. Medication that is not in locked storage shall
not be left unattended and shall not be accessible to
unauthorized personnel;

C. Medication shall be stored in the original
labeled container; 

D. A bathroom or laundry room shall not be used
for medication storage; and

E. All expired or discontinued medication,
including those of deceased residents, shall be disposed of
according to the assisted living facility’s medication policies
and procedures.

63.704 Residents who self-administer medication shall
be provided with a locked container.

63.705 A separate medication log must be maintained
for each resident documenting administration of medication
by staff and staff assistance with self-administration.

63.706 Within 30 days after a resident’s admission and
concurrent with all UAI-based assessments, the assisted
living facility shall arrange for an on-site review by an RN of
the resident’s medication regime if he or she self-administers
medication.  The purpose of the on-site review is to assess
the resident’s cognitive and physical ability to self-
administer medication or the need for assistance with or staff
administration of medication.  

63.707 The assisted living facility shall ensure that the

review required by section 63.706 is documented in the
resident’s records, including any recommendations given by
the reviewer.

63.708 Concurrently with all UAI-based assessments,
the assisted living facility shall arrange for an on-site
medication review by a registered nurse, for residents who
need assistance with self-administration or staff
administration of medication, to ensure that:

A. Medications are properly labeled, stored and
maintained;

B. Each resident receives the medications that
have been specifically prescribed in the manner that has been
ordered;

C. The desired effect of each medication is
achieved, and if not, that the appropriate authorized
prescriber is so informed; 

D.  Any undesired side effects, adverse drug
reactions, and medication errors are identified and reported
to the appropriate authorized prescriber; and

E.  Any unresolved discrepancy of controlled
substances shall be reported to the Delaware Office of
Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs.

63.709 Records shall be kept on file at the facility for
those who have completed the AWSAM course which is
required by 24 Del. C., Chapter 19 for those who assist the
residents with self-administration of medication.

63.710 Each assisted living facility shall complete an
annual AWSAM report on the form provided by the Board
of Nursing.  The report must be submitted pursuant to the
Delaware Nurse Practice Act, 24 Del. C., Chapter 19.

SECTION 63.8  INFECTION CONTROL
63.801 The assisted living facility shall establish

written procedures to be followed in the event that a resident
with a communicable disease is admitted or an episode of
communicable disease occurs.  It is the responsibility of the
assisted living facility to see that:

A. The necessary precautions stated in the written
procedures are followed; and

B. All rules of the Delaware Division of Public
Health are followed so there is minimal danger of
transmission to staff and residents.

63.802 Any resident found to have active tuberculosis
in an infectious stage may not continue to reside in an
assisted living facility.

63.803 A resident, when suspected or diagnosed as
having a communicable disease, shall be placed on the
appropriate isolation or precaution as recommended for that
disease by the Centers for Disease Control.  Those with a
communicable disease which has been determined by the
Director of the Division of Public Health to be a health
hazard to visitors, staff, and other residents shall be placed
on isolation care until they can be moved to an appropriate
room or transferred.  
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63.804  The admission or occurrence of a resident with a
notifiable disease within an assisted living facility shall be
reported to the County Public Health Administrator.  See
Appendix A. 

63.805  The assisted living facility shall have on file
results of tuberculin tests:  

1)  performed annually for all employees and 2)
performed on all newly admitted residents.  The tuberculin
test to be used is the Mantoux test containing 5 TU-PPD
stabilized with Tween, injected intradermally, using a needle
and syringe, usually on the volar surface of the forearm.
Persons found to have a significant reaction (defined as 10
mm of induration or greater) to tests shall be reported to the
Division of Public Health and managed according to
recommended medical practice.  A tuberculin test as
specified, done within the twelve months prior to
employment, or a chest x-ray showing no evidence of active
tuberculosis shall satisfy this requirement for asymptomatic
individuals. A report of this skin test shall be kept on file.

63.806 The assisted living facility shall have on file
evidence of annual vaccination against influenza for all
residents, as recommended by the Immunization Practice
Advisory Committee of the Centers for Disease Control,
unless medically contraindicated.  All residents who refuse
to be vaccinated against influenza must be fully informed by
the facility of the health risks involved.  The reason for the
refusal shall be documented in the resident’s medical record.

63.807 The assisted living facility shall have on file
evidence of vaccination against pneumococcal pneumonia
for all residents older than 65 years and as recommended by
the Immunization Practice Advisory Committee of the
Centers for Disease Control, unless medically
contraindicated.  All residents who refuse to be vaccinated
against pneumococcal pneumonia must be fully informed by
the facility of the health risks involved.  The reason for the
refusal shall be documented in the resident’s medical record.

63.808 The assisted living facility shall have policies
and procedures for infection control as it pertains to staff,
residents, and visitors.

63.809  All assisted living facility staff shall be required
to use Standard Precautions. 

SECTION 63.9  RESIDENT APPLICATIONS AND
CONTRACTS

63.901 The assisted living facility shall have a written
application process and provide clear reasons in writing if an
applicant is rejected.

63.902 The assisted living facility shall recommend
review of the contract by an attorney or other representative
chosen by the resident.

63.903 Prior to executing the contract, each assisted
living facility shall provide to the prospective resident a
complete statement enumerating all charges for services,
materials and equipment which shall, or may be, furnished to

the resident during the period of occupancy.
63.904 The resident shall sign a contract within 3

business days after admission that:
A. Is a clear and complete reflection of

commitments agreed to by the parties and the actual
practices that will occur in the assisted living program;

B. Is accurate, precise, legible, and written in
plain language; and

C.  Conforms to all relevant state and local laws and
regulations.

63.905 The assisted living facility shall retain the
contract on-site and make it available for review by the
Department or its designee.  The facility shall also provide a
copy to the resident.

63.906 The contract or service agreement shall
include, at a minimum, the following non-financial
provisions:

A. A listing of basic and optional services
provided by the assisted living facility including the
availability of licensed nursing staff;

B.  A listing of optional services that may be
provided by third parties; 

C. A statement of the resident’s rights, as set forth
in 16 Del. C., Chapter 11, Subchapter II and an explanation
of the assisted living facility’s grievance procedures;

D.  Occupancy provisions, including:
1. Policies regarding bed and room

assignment, including the specific room and bed assigned to
the resident at the time of admission;

2. Policies regarding residents modifying
their living area;

3. Procedures to be followed when the
assisted living facility temporarily or permanently changes
the resident’s accommodation by:

a. Relocating the resident within the
facility;

b. Making a change in roommate
assignment; and

c. Increasing or decreasing the number
of individuals occupying a room.

4. Procedures to be followed in transferring
the resident to another facility;

5. Security procedures which the licensee
shall implement to protect the resident and the resident’s
property;

6. The staff’s right to enter a resident’s room;
7. The resident’s rights and obligations

concerning use of the facility, including common areas;
8.  The assisted living facility’s policy in case

of unavoidable or optional absences such as hospitalizations,
recuperative stays in other settings, or vacation, and payment
terms; 

9. Provisions for interim service in the event
of an emergency; and
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10.  An acknowledgment that the resident has
reviewed all assisted living facility rules, requirements,
restrictions, or special conditions that the facility will impose
on the resident.

E. Discharge/temporary absence policies and
procedures, including:

1. Those actions, circumstances, or
conditions that temporarily disqualify individuals from
continued residence in the assisted living facility or may
result in the resident’s discharge from the facility;

2. The procedures which the assisted living
facility shall follow if it intends to discharge a resident and
thereby terminate the contract, including a provision under
which the assisted living facility shall give at least 30 days
notice to the resident before the effective date of the
discharge and termination of the contract, except in the case
of a health emergency or substantial risk to the health and
safety of the other residents or facility staff;

3. The procedures which the resident shall
follow if the resident wishes to terminate the contract,
including a provision that the resident, or appropriate
representative, shall give at least 30 days notice to the
assisted living facility before the effective date of the
termination, except in the case of a health emergency; 

4. The procedures which the assisted living
facility shall follow in helping the resident find an
appropriate placement;

5. In a living unit in which more than one
resident is the contracting party, the terms under which the
contract may be modified in the event of one of the
resident’s discharge or death, including the provisions for
termination of the contract and appropriate refunds. 

F. Obligations of the facility and the resident as
to:

1. Arranging for or overseeing medical care;
and

2. Monitoring of the status of the resident.
G. The assisted living facility’s formal internal

grievance process which shall protect residents from reprisal
by the facility or its employees. 

H. An inventory of the resident’s personal
belongings, if the resident so desires.

63.907 The contract shall include, at a minimum, the
following financial provisions:

A. Party responsible for:
1. Handling the finances of the resident;
2. Purchasing or renting essential or desired

equipment and supplies;
3.  Arranging and contracting for services not

covered by the contract;
4. Ascertaining the cost of and purchasing

durable medical equipment; and
5. Disposing of the resident’s property upon

discharge or death of the resident.

B. Rate structure and payment provisions
including:

1. All rates to be charged to the resident,
including, but not limited to:

a. Service packages;
b. Fee for service rates; and
c. Other ancillary charges.

2. Notification of the rate structure and the
criteria to be used for imposing additional charges for the
provision of additional services, if the resident’s service and
care needs change;

3. Identification of the persons responsible
for payment of all fees and charges and a clear indication of
whether the person’s responsibility is or is not limited to the
extent of the resident’s funds;

4. A provision which provides at least 60
days notice of any rate increase, except if necessitated by a
change in the resident’s medical condition;

5. Billing, payment, and credit policies,
including the procedures that the assisted living facility will
follow in the event the resident can no longer pay for
services provided or for services or care needed by the
resident; and

6. A description of any prepaid fees or
charges and the terms governing refund of those fees or
charges in the event of a resident’s discharge from the
assisted living facility or termination of the contract.

63.908 The contract shall be amended by the parties to
reflect any applicable increase or decrease in charges.

63.909 All notices to be provided pursuant to an
assisted living contract shall be in writing and mailed or
hand-delivered to the resident.

63.910 No contract shall be signed before a full
assessment of the resident has been completed and a service
agreement has been executed.  If a deposit is required prior
to move-in, the deposit shall be fully refundable if the parties
cannot agree on the services and fees upon completion of the
assessment.

SECTION 63.10  RESIDENT ASSESSMENT
Each assisted living facility shall use a Uniform

Assessment Instrument (UAI) developed by the Division.
The UAI shall be used in conducting all resident
assessments.

63.1002  A resident seeking entrance shall have an
initial UAI-based resident assessment completed by a
registered nurse (RN) acting on behalf of the assisted living
facility no more than 30 days prior to admission.  In all
cases, the assessment shall be completed prior to admission.
Such assessment shall be reviewed by an RN within 30 days
after admission and, if appropriate, revised.  If the resident
requires specialized medical, therapeutic, nursing services,
or assistive technology, that component of the assessment
must be performed by personnel qualified in that specialty
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area. 
 63.1003 Within 30 days prior to admission, a

prospective resident shall have a medical evaluation
completed by a physician.

63.1004 The resident assessment shall be completed in
conjunction with the resident.

63.1005 The UAI, developed by the Department, shall
be used to update the resident assessment.  At a minimum,
regular updates must occur 30 days after admission, annually
and when there is a significant change in the resident’s
condition. 

63.1006  If the needs of a resident exceed the care which
the assisted living facility can provide and a waiver has not
been requested, the facility shall assist the resident in making
arrangements for an appropriate transfer within 30 days.
While a transfer is pending, the assisted living facility shall
coordinate the provision of services needed by the resident.

63.1007 The assisted living facility shall provide an
instrument to assess interests, strengths, talents, skills and
preferences of each resident within 30 days of admission to
be used in activity planning.

SECTION 63.11 SERVICES
63.1101  The assisted living facility shall ensure that:

A.  Three meals, snacks and prescribed food
supplements are available during each 24-hour period, 7
days per week;

B.  Meals and snacks are varied, palatable, and of
sufficient quality and quantity to meet the daily nutritional
needs of each resident with specific attention given to the
special dietary needs of each resident;

C.  Food service complies with the Delaware Food
Code; and

D.  A resident who chooses not to follow prescribed
dietary recommendations shall be provided documented
counseling on potential adverse outcomes. 

63.1102 As part of the licensure approval and renewal
process, an assisted living applicant or licensee shall submit
at least a 4-week menu cycle with documentation by a
dietician or nutritionist that the menus are nutritionally
adequate.  Thereafter, menus are to be written at least one
week in advance and maintained on file, as served, for two
months.

63.1103  The assisted living facility shall ensure that the
resident’s service agreement is being properly implemented. 

63.1104 In accordance with the service agreement, the
assisted living facility shall provide or ensure the provision
of all necessary personal services, including all activities of
daily living, and shall ensure that personal care supplies are
available.

63.1105 The assisted living facility shall ensure that
laundry and housekeeping services are offered and that all
areas of the facility are maintained in a clean and orderly
condition.

63.1106 In accordance with the service agreement, the
assisted living facility shall be responsible for facilitating
access to appropriate health care and social services for the
resident.

63.1107 The assisted living facility shall assess each
resident and provide or arrange appropriate opportunities for
social interaction and leisure activities which promote the
physical and mental well-being of each resident, including
facilitating access to spiritual activities consistent with the
preferences and background of the resident.

SECTION 63.12  SERVICE AGREEMENTS
63.1201 A service agreement based on the needs

identified in the UAI shall be completed prior to or no later
than the day of admission.  The resident shall participate in
the development of the agreement.  The resident and the
facility shall sign the agreement and each shall receive a
copy of the signed agreement.  All persons who sign the
agreement must be able to comprehend and perform their
obligations under the agreement.

63.1202 The service agreement or contract shall address
the physical, medical, and psychosocial services that the
resident requires as follows:

A. Assistance with activities of daily living and
instrumental activities of daily living;

B. Services provided by licensed nurses; 
C. Food, nutrition, and hydration services;
D. Environmental services including

housekeeping, laundry, safety, trash removal;
E. Psychosocial/emotional services including

those related to memory impairment and other cognitive
deficits;

F. Banking, record keeping, and personal
spending services;

G. Transportation services;
H. Individual living unit furnishings;
I. Notification procedures when an incident

occurs or there is a change in the health status of the resident;
J. Assistive technology and durable medical

equipment;
K. Rehabilitation services;
L. Qualified interpreters for people who have a

hearing impairment or do not speak English; and
M. Reasonable accommodations for persons with

disabilities as defined by applicable state and federal law.
63.1203 The resident’s personal attending physician(s)

shall be identified in the service agreement by name,
address, and telephone number.

63.1204 The facility shall be responsible for appropriate
documentation in the service agreement for services
provided or arranged by the facility.  

63.1205 The service agreement shall be developed and
followed for each resident consistent with that person’s
unique physical and psychosocial needs with recognition of
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his/her capabilities and preferences.
63.1206 The service agreement shall be reviewed when

the needs of the resident have changed and, minimally, in
conjunction with each UAI.  Within 10 days of such
assessment, the resident and the assisted living facility shall
execute a revised service agreement, if indicated.

63.1207 The service agreement shall be based on the
concepts of shared responsibility and resident choice. To
participate fully in shared responsibility, residents shall be
provided with clear and understandable information about
the possible consequences of their decision-making.  If a
resident’s preference or decision places the resident or others
at risk or is likely to lead to adverse consequences, a
managed/negotiated risk agreement section may be included
in the service agreement.

63.1208 The following are criteria for a managed/
negotiated risk agreement:  

A. The risks are tolerable to all parties
participating in the development of the managed/negotiated
risk agreement;

B. Mutually agreeable action is negotiated to
provide the greatest amount of resident autonomy with the
least amount of risk; and

C. The resident living in the facility is capable of
making choices and decisions and understanding
consequences.

63.1209 If a managed/negotiated risk agreement is made
a part of the service agreement, it shall:

A.  Clearly describe the problem, issue or service
that is the subject of the managed/negotiated risk agreement;

B.  Describe the choices available to the resident as
well as the risks and benefits associated with each choice,
the assisted living facility’s recommendations or desired
outcome, and the resident’s desired preference;

C.  Indicate the agreed-upon option;
D. Describe the agreed upon responsibilities of the

assisted living facility, the resident, and any third parties;
E. Become a part of the service agreement, be

signed separately by the resident, the assisted living facility,
and any third party with obligations under the managed/
negotiated risk agreement that the third party is able to fully
comprehend and perform; and

F. Include a time frame for review.
63.1210 The assisted living facility shall have sufficient

staff to meet its responsibilities under the managed/
negotiated risk agreement.

63.1211 The assisted living facility shall not use
managed/negotiated risk agreements to provide care to
residents with needs beyond the capability of the facility.  A
managed/negotiated risk agreement shall not be used to
supersede any requirements of these regulations. 

63.1212 The assisted living facility shall make no
attempt to use the managed/negotiated risk portion of the
service agreement to abridge a resident’s rights or to avoid

liability for harm caused to a resident by the negligence of
the assisted living facility and any such abridgement or
disclaimer shall be void.

SECTION 63.13  RESIDENT RIGHTS
63.1301 Assisted living facilities are required by 16 Del.

C., Chapter 11, Subchapter II, to comply with the provisions
of the Rights of Patients covered therein.  

63.1302 Each resident has the right of privacy in his/her
room, including a door that locks, consistent with the safety
needs of the resident.  

SECTION 63.14  QUALITY ASSURANCE
63.1401 The assisted living facility shall develop,

implement, and adhere to a documented, ongoing quality
assurance program that includes an internal monitoring
process that tracks performance and measures resident
satisfaction.

63.1402 On at least a semi-annual basis, the assisted
living facility shall survey each resident regarding his/her
satisfaction with services provided.

A. The assisted living facility shall retain all
surveys for at least one year which shall be reviewed during
inspection.

B.  The assisted living facility shall maintain
documentation for at least one year which addresses what
actions were taken as a result of the surveys.

SECTION 63.15  STAFFING
63.1501  As used herein “staff” includes permanent

employees of the assisted living facility and independent
contractors, including “temps.”

63.1502 A staff of persons sufficient in number and
adequately trained, certified or licensed to meet the
requirements of the residents shall be employed and shall
comply with applicable state laws and regulations. 

63.1503  All direct care staff shall be familiar with the
service agreement for each resident for whom they provide
care. 

63.1504  Every assisted living facility shall have a
Director.  Facilities licensed for 25 beds or more shall have a
full-time Nursing Home Administrator.  Facilities licensed
for 5 through 24 beds shall have a part-time Nursing Home
Administrator on-site and on-duty at least 20 hours a week.
If the assisted living facility is part of a continuing care
retirement community (CCRC) or part of a campus under the
same ownership, the CCRC or campus may operate under
one licensed Nursing Home Administrator.

63.1505  The Nursing Home Administrator shall
comply with the provisions of 24 Del. C., Chapter 52, and
the Board’s Rules and Regulations.

63.1506 The Director/Nursing Home Administrator
shall have overall responsibility for managing the assisted
living facility such that all requirements of state law and
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regulations are met.
63.1507  The Director of a facility for 4 beds or fewer

shall meet one of the following criteria:
A.  A baccalaureate degree in a health or social

services field or business administration; or
B.  An associates degree in a health or social

services field or business administration and at least 2 years
of full-time equivalent work experience in these disciplines;
or

C.  An RN with a combined total of 4 years full-
time equivalent education and related work experience; or 

D.  At least 4 years full-time equivalent work
experience as an LPN, or 5 years full-time equivalent work
experience in a health or social services field or business
administration.

63.1508  The Director of a Facility for 4 beds or fewer
shall be on-site at least 8 hours a week.

63.1509  Each facility for 4 beds or fewer shall have a
full-time, on-site house manager who shall at a minimum:

A. Possess a high school diploma or its
equivalent; 

B. Be certified as a CNA with at least three years
experience providing care in a health care setting; 

C. Complete an orientation program in
accordance with the CNA regulations; and

D.  Receive, at a minimum, 12 hours of regular in-
service education annually, which may include but not be
limited to the topics listed below:  

1. The health and psychosocial needs of the
population being served;

2. The resident assessment process;
3. Use of service agreements;
4. Cuing, coaching, and monitoring residents

who self-administer medications, with or without assistance;
5. Providing assistance with ambulation,

personal hygiene, dressing, toileting, and feeding;
6. 16 Del. C., Chapter 11, pertaining to

resident’s rights; reporting of abuse, neglect, mistreatment,
and financial exploitation; and the Ombudsman Program;

7. Fire and life safety, and emergency
disaster plans;

8. Infection control, including Standard
Precautions;

9. Basic food safety;
10. Basic first aid, CPR, and the Heimlich

Maneuver; and
11. Hospice services.

63.1510 Assisted living facilities administering
therapies and/or treatments shall have staff adequate in
number and appropriately qualified and/or licensed.

63.1511  Every assisted living facility shall have a
Director of Nursing who is a registered nurse.  Facilities
licensed for 25 assisted living beds or more shall have a full-
time Director of Nursing.  Facilities licensed for 5 through

24 assisted living beds shall have a part-time Director of
Nursing on-site and on-duty at least 20 hours a week. The
nursing director of a facility for 4 assisted living beds or
fewer shall be on-site at least 8 hours a week.

63.1512 The Director of Nursing shall comply with the
provisions of 24 Del. C., Chapter 19 and the rules and
regulations of the Board of Nursing.

63.1513 The Director of Nursing shall have overall
responsibility for the coordination, supervision and
provision of the nursing department /services.

63.1514Assisted living facility resident assistants shall,
at a minimum:

A. Be at least 18 years old;
B. Participate in a facility-specific orientation

program that covers the following topics:
1. Fire and life safety, and emergency

disaster plans;
2. Infection control, including Standard

Precautions;
3. Basic food safety;
4. Basic first aid and the Heimlich

Maneuver;
5. Job responsibilities;
6. The health and psychosocial needs of the

population being served;
7. The resident assessment process; and 
8. The use of service agreements;
9. 16 Del. C., Chapter 11, pertaining to

residents’ rights; reporting of abuse, neglect, mistreatment,
and financial exploitation; and the Ombudsman Program;

10. Hospice services.
C.  Receive, at a minimum, 12 hours of regular in-

service education annually which may include but not be
limited to the topics listed in 63.1514 B;

D. Receive training to competently assist in
activities of daily living or provide documentation of such
training, and

E. Complete a Delaware Board of Nursing-
approved AWSAM training course if assisting with self-
administration of medications.

63.1515  The assisted living facility shall have a staffing
plan which shall specify supervisory responsibilities,
including the person responsible in the Assisted Living
Director’s absence.

63.1516 The assisted living facility shall maintain
staffing records which document what personnel were on
duty as well as specific hours worked for each day.

63.1517 The assisted living facility shall maintain a
copy of each employee’s signature and handwritten initials.

63.1518 The assisted living facility shall maintain
records of each employee’s regular in-service education
hours.

63.1519 The assisted living facility shall provide
orientation training to all new staff.  
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63.1520 Temporary agency staff placed in a facility in
which they have not worked within the past 6 months shall
undergo an orientation prior to beginning their first shift.
The orientation shall cover the following topics:

A.  Tour of the facility;
B.  Fire and disaster plans;
C.  Emergency equipment and supplies;
D.  Communication and documentation

requirements of the facility;
E.  Process for reporting emergencies and change of

condition; and
F.  Review of current assigned resident issues/

needs.
63.1521 All personnel records for permanent

employees, including employment applications, shall be
maintained for a minimum of five years consistent with the
assisted living facility policies and applicable state laws.

63.1522 At a minimum, every assisted living facility
shall have an awake staff person on-site 24 hours per day
who is qualified to administer or assist with self-
administration of medication (“AWSAM”) and who has
knowledge of emergency procedures, basic first aid, CPR,
and the Heimlich Maneuver.  

63.1523 Written policies and procedures shall be
required and adhered to for any assisted living facility
utilizing volunteers.

SECTION 63.16 ENVIRONMENT AND PHYSICAL
PLANT

63.1601  Each assisted living facility shall comply with
applicable federal, state and local laws including:

A. Rehabilitation Act, Section 504;
B. Fair Housing Act as amended; and
C. Americans with Disabilities Act.

63.1602 Assisted living facilities shall:
A. Be in good repair;
B. Be clean;
C. Have a hazard-free environment; and
D. Have an effective pest control program.

63.1603 Heating and cooling systems in common areas
shall be maintained at a temperature between 68° F and 85°
F.  A resident with an individual temperature-controlled
residential room or unit may heat and cool to provide
individual comfort.  

63.1604 Common areas shall be lighted to assure
resident safety.

63.1605 For all new construction and conversions of
assisted living facilities with more than 10 beds, there shall
be at least 100 square feet of floor space, excluding alcoves,
closets, and bathroom, for each resident in a private bedroom
and at least 80 square feet of floor space for each resident
sharing a bedroom.

A. Sharing of a bedroom shall be limited to 2
residents;

B.  Each facility shall have locked storage available
for the resident’s valuables, in accordance with the facility’s
policies;

C. Bedrooms and all bathrooms used by residents
in assisted living facilities, except in specialized care units
for memory impairment, shall be equipped with an intercom
or other mechanical means of communication for resident
emergencies.  For specialized care units for memory
impairment, staff must be equipped to communicate resident
emergencies immediately.

63.1606 Resident kitchens shall be available to residents
either in their individual living unit or in an area readily
accessible to each resident.  Residents shall have access to a
microwave or stove/conventional oven, refrigerator, and
sink.  The assisted living facility shall establish and adhere to
policies and procedures to ensure that common kitchens are
used and maintained in such a way as to provide:

A. A clean and sanitary environment;
B. Safe storage of food; and
C. A means to enable hand washing and sanitizing

of dishes, utensils and food preparation equipment.
63.1607  Bathroom facilities shall be available to

residents either in their individual living units or in an area
readily accessible to each resident.  There shall be at least 1
working toilet, sink, and tub/shower for every 4 residents.

63.1608  Hot water at resident bathing and hand-
washing facilities shall not exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit.

SECTION 63.17 FIRE SAFETY AND OTHER
EMERGENCY PLANS

63.1701 The assisted living facility shall comply with
all applicable state and local fire and building codes. All
applications for license or renewal of license shall include a
letter certifying compliance by the Fire Marshal having
jurisdiction.  Notification by the Fire Marshal of non-
compliance with the Rules and Regulations of the State Fire
Prevention Commission shall be grounds for enforcement
remedies in 16 Del. C., Chapter 11, Subchapter I, Licensing
By The State.

63.1702  The assisted living facility shall:
A.  Develop and implement through staff training

and drills a plan for use in fire and other emergencies, which
clearly outlines the procedures to be followed and the
responsibilities designated to staff.

63.1703  Develop a plan for relocation and/or
evacuation and continuous provision of services to residents
in the event of permanent or temporary closure of the
assisted living facility.  The evacuation plan shall be
approved by the Fire Marshal having jurisdiction and shall
include the evacuation route, which shall be conspicuously
posted on each floor and in each unit.

63.1704 The assisted living facility shall promote staff
knowledge of fire and other emergency safety by:

A. Orienting staff to the emergency plan and to
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individual responsibilities within 24 hours of the
commencement of job duties;

B. Documenting completion of orientation in staff
member’s personnel file with employee’s signature;

C. Conducting facility fire drills in accordance
with State of Delaware Fire Prevention Regulations;

D. Conducting other facility emergency drills or
training sessions on all shifts at least annually; and 

E. Maintaining records for two years of facility
fire and other emergency drills/training sessions.

63.1705 The assisted living facility shall promote
resident fire and other emergency safety by:

A. Orienting residents to the emergency plan
within 24 hours of their admission into the assisted living
facility;

B. Documenting the orientation such that it is
signed and dated by the resident; and

C. Maintaining records identifying residents
needing assistance for evacuation.  

SECTION 63.18  RECORDS AND REPORTS
63.1801 The assisted living facility shall be responsible

for maintaining appropriate records for each resident. These
records shall document the implementation of the service
agreement for each resident.

63.1802 Records shall be available, along with the
equipment to read them if electronically maintained, at all
times to legally authorized persons; otherwise such records
shall be held confidential. 

63.1803  The assisted living facility resident clinical
records shall be retained for a minimum of 5 years following
discharge before being destroyed.

63.1804  In cases in which facilities have created the
option for an individual’s record to be maintained by
computer, rather than hard copy, electronic signatures shall
be acceptable.  In cases when such attestation is done on
computer records, safeguards to prevent unauthorized access
and reconstruction of information must be in place.  The
following is an example of how such a system may be set up:

A.  There is a written policy, at the assisted living
facility, describing the attestation policy(ies) in force at the
facility;

B.  The computer has built-in safeguards to
minimize the possibility of fraud;

C.  Each person responsible for an attestation has an
individualized identifier;

D.  The date and time is recorded from the
computer’s internal clock at the time of entry;

E.  An entry is not to be changed after it has been
recorded; and

F.  The computer program controls what sections/
areas any individual can access/enter data based on the
individual’s personal identifier.

63.1805 Incident reports, with adequate documentation,

shall be completed for each incident.  Adequate
documentation shall consist of the name of the resident(s)
involved; the date, time and place of the incident; a
description of the incident; a list of other parties involved,
including witnesses; the nature of any injuries; resident
outcome; and follow-up action, including notification of the
resident’s representative or family, attending physician and
licensing or law enforcement authorities when appropriate.

Incident reports shall be kept on file in the facility.
Reportable incidents shall be communicated immediately to
the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection, 3 Mill
Road, Suite 308, Wilmington, DE 19806; phone number: 
1-877-453-0012; fax number: 1-877-264-8516.

63.1806Waivers may be granted by the Division for
good cause.

63.1807Should any section, sentence, clause or phrase
of these regulations be legally declared unconstitutional or
invalid for any reason, the remainder of said regulations
shall not be affected thereby.

APPENDIX A
Notifiable Diseases

Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (S)
Anthrax (T)
Botulism (T)
Brucellosis
Campylobacteriosis
Chancroid (S)
Chlamydia trachomatis infections (S)
Cholera
Cryptosporidiosis 
Cyclosporidiosis
Diphtheria (T)
E. Coli 0157:H7 infection (T)
Encephalitis
Ehrlichiosis 
Foodborne Disease Outbreaks (T)
Giardiasis
Gonococcal infections (S)
Granuloma Inguinale (S)
Hansen’s Disease (Leprosy)
Hantavirus infection (T)
Hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS)
Hepatitis A (T)
Hepatitis B (S)
Hepatitis C & unspecified
Herpes (congenital) (S)
Herpes (genital) (N)
Histoplasmosis
Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) (N)
Human papillomavirus (genital warts) (N)
Influenza (N)
Lead Poisoning
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Legionnaires Disease
Leptospirosis
Lyme Disease
Lymphogranuloma Venereum (S)
Malaria
Measles(T)
Meningitis (all types other than meningoccal)
Meningococcal infections (all types) (T)
Mumps (T)
Pelvic Inflammatory  Disease (resulting from gonococcal
and/or chlamydial infections) (S)
Pertussis (T)
Plague (T)
Poliomyelitis (T)
Psittacosis
Rabies (man, animal) (T)
Reye’s Syndrome
Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever
Rubella (T)
Rubella (congenital)(T)
Salmonellosis
Shigellosis
Smallpox (T)
Streptococcal disease (invasive group A)
Streptococcal toxic shock syndrome (STSS)
Syphilis (S)
Syphilis (congenital) (T)
Tetanus
Toxic Shock Syndrome
Trichinosis
Tuberculosis
Tularemia
Typhoid Fever (T)
Vaccine Adverse Reactions
Varicella
Waterborne Disease Outbreaks (T)
Yellow Fever (T)

Also, any unusual disease and
adverse reaction to vaccine

(T) report by rapid means
(N) report in number only when so requested
For all diseases not marked by (T) or (N):

(S) – sexually transmitted disease, report
         required in 1 day
Others – report required in 2 days

County Health Offices:
New Castle County 995-863
Kent County 739-5305
Sussex County 856-5355

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS 
PROTECTION

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, 
Section 1119C (16 Del.C. §1119C)

Regulations for Nursing Homes Admitting Pediatric 
Residents

Public Notice

The Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS),
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection, has
prepared draft regulations pertaining to nursing homes
admitting pediatric residents.  These regulations are intended
to supplement, and not supplant, general nursing home
regulations and other applicable laws.  The regulations
specify required services for pediatric residents including
facility, medical, therapy, nutritional, nursing, educational
and family services.

Invitation for Public Comment

Public hearings will be held as follows:
Monday, March 4, 2002, 10:00 AM 

Department of Natural Resources &
Environmental Control Auditorium
89 Kings Highway
Dover

Wednesday, March 6, 2002, 9:00 AM
Room 301, Main Building
Herman Holloway Campus
1901 N. DuPont Highway
New Castle

For clarification or directions, please call Gina
Loughery at 302-577-6661.

Written comments are also invited on these proposed
regulations and should be sent to the following address:

Robert Smith
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
3 Mill Road, Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806

The last time to submit written comments will be at the
public hearing March 6, 2002.

Section 79.100 - Purpose
79.101 - As set forth in 16 Del. C., Chapter 11, Section

1101:  
  “…the primary purpose of the licensing and regulation

of nursing facilities and similar facilities is to ensure that
these facilities provide a high quality of care and quality of
life to their residents.”

79.102 - Given that most nursing facilities and similar

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dltc/dltchome.htm
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facilities provide services to adults who are elderly and/or
physically disabled, children with special needs housed in
these facilities require unique and carefully coordinated
plans of pediatric care as well as developmentally
appropriate, family-friendly environments. 

79.103 - These regulations outline minimum acceptable
levels of care and treatment for this population.

79.104 - A facility must be in compliance with all state
and local laws and regulations applicable to facility
personnel, provision of services and physical plant.

Section 79.200 - Authority and Applicability
79.201 - These regulations are adopted in

implementation of 16 Del. C., Chapter 11 and are applicable
to any licensed nursing facility which provides care or
services to one or more persons under 18 years of age.

79.202  These regulations are intended to supplement,
and not supplant, general regulations promulgated in
conformity with 16 Del. C., Chapter 11 and other applicable
laws.

Section 79.300 - Definitions
79.301 - “Adult Resident” - any person residing in the

facility 18 years of age and older.
79.302 - “Care Plan” - a specific document that

includes, but is not limited to, identified resident-based goals
and defined action steps for providing appropriate care and
treatment.

79.303 - “Certified Nursing Assistant ” - an individual
certified in accordance with 16 Del. C., Chapter 30A, under
the supervision of a licensed nurse, who provides care which
does not require the judgement and skills of a licensed nurse.
The care may include, but is not limited to, the following:
bathing, dressing, grooming, toileting, ambulating,
transferring and feeding, observing and reporting the general
well-being of the persons(s) to whom they are providing
care.

79.304  “Department” - Department of Health and
Social Services.

79.305  “Division” - Division of Long Term Care
Residents Protection.

79.306  “Licensee” - the person or organization to
whom a license is granted and who has full legal authority
and responsibility for the governance and operation of  a
nursing home and/or similar facility. 

79.307  “Pediatric Resident” - any person residing in a
long term care facility under 18 years of age and for whom
there is a care plan including medical care, treatment and
other related services.

79.308  “Primary Care Nurse (PCN)” - a Registered
Nurse with at least a  Bachelor’s Degree in nursing with
expertise in the care of children with special needs.  The
PCN is responsible for the day to day delivery of all services
specified in the care plan.

79.309  “Primary Care Provider (PCP)” - a physician
licensed to practice in the State of Delaware with expertise in
the care of children with special needs designated to
coordinate medical care on a day to day basis.

79.310 - “Social Worker” - an individual with a
bachelor’s degree in social work or in a human services field
including but not limited to sociology, special education,
rehabilitation counseling, and psychology.  An individual
with a bachelor’s degree in any other related field may
qualify if the individual  can demonstrate competency in
coordinating care for medically fragile populations either
through course work or experience.  A minimum of one  year
of supervised experience is required in a long term care
setting working  directly with individuals and their families.

Section 79.400 - General Requirements
79.401 - Prior to admission, an interdisciplinary team of

healthcare professionals  shall evaluate the potential
pediatric resident to determine whether the licensee can meet
the pediatric resident’s needs.  The care plan must contain
documentation of the pre-admission assessment with
approval by the primary care provider and parents/guardian
with notification to the responsible state agencies.

79.402  The licensee shall admit and retain only children
with special needs whose specific medical, nursing, and
psychosocial needs the licensee can meet.

79.403  The licensee through licensed healthcare
professionals shall ensure that an interdisciplinary team is
formulated for each pediatric resident.  The interdisciplinary
team shall include, but not be limited to, the Primary Care
Nurse, a representative from each pediatric service received
by the pediatric resident, a nutritionist, a representative from
the educational program, social worker and Primary Care
Provider.  The team shall meet quarterly or more frequently
as needed and review and document the care plan and
Individual Education Plan (IEP) formulated for the pediatric
resident.

Section 79.500 - Facility Requirements
79.501- Pediatric residents shall only share rooms with

other residents of the same sex.
79.502  The licensee must provide a tobacco-free

environment for pediatric residents.
79.503  The licensee must provide and maintain all

clinically indicated pediatric resuscitation equipment for
children with special needs.  Oxygen, suction equipment,
and electrical outlets must be at each bedside with access to
an emergency power system.  A pediatric resuscitation cart
shall be provided on each pediatric unit/wing and shall
include: dosage appropriate emergency drugs, resuscitation
equipment including a pediatric backboard for
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), an easily readable list
of drug dosages.  A defibrillator designed for pediatric use
with paddle sizes appropriate for pediatric residents and an
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easily readable chart indicating jolt dosages must be
provided on each pediatric unit/wing.  Equipment must be in
good working order and must be checked daily by a
registered nurse for proper functioning and must be
documented as such.

79.504 - A nursing staff member certified in Pediatric
Advanced Life Support  (PALS) shall be present in the unit
where pediatric residents reside and when pediatric residents
are present.

79.505 - All nurses caring for pediatric residents must
be certified in infant and pediatric cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR).

79.506 - An audio monitoring system shall be utilized
whenever a pediatric resident is left unattended. The
monitoring system must include heart rate and respiratory
rate alarms audible to the nursing station.  Any pediatric
resident with a tracheotomy and/or ventilator must also be
monitored by a pulse oximetry with alarms audible to the
nursing station.  The monitors must be used when pediatric
residents are unsupervised and/or in their rooms for quiet
time and nap/bed time.   A plan to answer and respond to
alarms must be in place and reviewed by all facility staff
members.

79.507 - The licensee through licensed healthcare
professionals shall ensure that each pediatric resident is
assessed by appropriate professionals for the need for
assistive technology.  The licensee shall ensure provision of
appropriate assistive technology as prescribed as well as
training in its use for staff members.

Section 79.600 - Medical Services
79.601 - The licensee through licensed healthcare

professionals shall ensure the delivery of individualized,
comprehensive services to each pediatric resident in
conformity with a care plan. 

79.602 - The PCN shall be the liaison among treating
physicians. 

79.603 - Pediatric services must be multidisciplinary
and individualized. The services provided to each pediatric
resident must be developmentally specific and appropriate to
the age group being served. 

79.604 - The licensee shall provide access to emergency
medical care 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, as outlined in a
written policy which is updated annually.  The policy shall
be reviewed with all staff members and mock situations
performed and documented at least twice a year.

79.605   The licensee through licensed healthcare
professionals shall ensure complete physical assessments are
performed on pediatric residents by the PCP or a Primary
Care Nurse on admission/readmission and monthly
thereafter. Documentation of complete physical assessment
must be included in the pediatric resident’s chart for review
by all medical and nursing staff.

79.606  The licensee through licensed healthcare

professionals shall ensure that each pediatric resident
receives immunizations in accordance with current national
pediatric standards.  

79.607 - The licensee through licensed healthcare
professionals shall ensure timely medically necessary
referrals to pediatric medical sub-specialists and pediatric
surgical specialists as needed. 

79.608 - The licensee through licensed healthcare
professionals shall ensure that each pediatric resident over
the age of 3 years receives an annual dental exam  and
necessary treatment.

79.609 - The licensee through licensed healthcare
professionals shall ensure that each pediatric resident has an
age-appropriate eye, hearing  and vision exam according to
current national pediatric standards.

Section 79.700 - Therapy Services
79.701 - The licensee shall ensure that qualified

individuals specializing in the healthcare of children with
special needs (e.g., physical therapist, occupational therapist,
speech therapist, nutritionist) plan and administer the
treatments for each pediatric resident.

79.702 - The licensee through licensed healthcare
professionals shall ensure that the plan for therapy and
progress toward goals is reviewed and revised at least
quarterly and is incorporated into the care plan.  The nature,
duration, frequency, and provider of therapy services shall
be specified in the care plan. 

Section 79.800 - Nutritional Services
79.801  The licensee through licensed healthcare

professionals shall ensure that each pediatric resident has an
individually appropriate care plan that addresses the
nutritional needs of that resident including the recommended
daily allowance (RDA) of vitamins and minerals according
to current national pediatric standards.

79.802  The licensee through licensed healthcare
professionals shall ensure that infants and children are held
during oral feeding as needed.  

79.803  The licensee through licensed healthcare
professionals shall consult with the PCP regarding the
introduction of solid foods and the pediatric resident’s
progress in advancing to table foods.

79.804  The licensee through licensed healthcare
professionals shall ensure each pediatric resident is meeting
his/her optimal developmental potential regarding eating
habits/eating techniques.

79.805  The licensee through licensed healthcare
professionals and support staff shall assist pediatric residents
to convene in a common dining area and partake in social
gatherings around meal times, including children who are
fed by tube.

79.806  The licensee shall ensure proper documentation
of meal intake every shift.
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Section 79.900 - Nursing Services
79.901 - The licensee shall ensure that at least one

registered nurse is present on every shift.  That nurse must
have at least one year of previous employment in a pediatric
setting.  This nurse may be the Primary Care Nurse (PCN).

79.902  The licensee through licensed healthcare
professionals shall ensure that a sufficient number of nursing
staff are assigned to the pediatric care unit to provide care in
accordance with each pediatric resident's care plan and to
meet each pediatric resident’s needs.  The licensee shall
provide sufficient nursing and support staff so that each
pediatric resident receives daily interaction from a variety of
staff members.  Interaction includes, but is not limited to,
frequent conversation, play and holding/cuddling of
pediatric residents to provide daily stimulation.

79.903 The licensee shall ensure that all pediatric
nursing procedures are written in a policy and procedure
manual. The manual must be accessible to all staff members
caring for pediatric residents.  Each individual policy must
be reviewed and updated at least annually.

79.904 - In addition to the facility standard orientation,
the licensee shall ensure that upon hiring, all pediatric
nursing and support staff complete an orientation to the
pediatric unit/wing which is documented in the staff
members’ personnel files.  

79.905 - The licensee shall ensure that each nursing and
support staff member providing care to pediatric residents
receives training and demonstrates competence prior to
performing any specialized skill or procedure on a pediatric
resident.  Written evidence of training and demonstration of
competence must be included in each nursing and support
staff member’s personnel file. 

79.906 - The licensee through licensed healthcare
professionals and support staff shall ensure that mouth care,
skin care, passive range of motion, hygiene and other
dependent care activities are performed as specified in the
care plan.

Section 79.1000 - Educational Services
79.1001 - The licensee in coordination with appropriate

educational professionals shall ensure that each pediatric
resident eligible for services under the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) is offered such services in
conformity with 14 Del.C., Chapter 31 and 16 Del. C.,
Chapter 2, Subchapter II, and any regulations implemented
under those laws. 

79.1002  The licensee shall maximize the coordination
of each pediatric resident’s care plan with any Individual
Education Plan (IEP) or Individual Family Service Plan
(IFSP) to ensure consistency and promotion of the pediatric
resident’s optimal benefit.  In implementation of this duty,
the PCN and Social Worker shall collaborate with
responsible schools or school districts in development and
revision of care plans, IEPs, and IFSPs.

Section 79.1100 - Family Services
79.1101 - The Social Worker and other involved staff

members shall promote positive family interaction and
provide comprehensive instruction in providing care, as
needed.  The licensee shall have written guidelines for:

• family visits to the facility and flexibility in
accommodating such visits,

• the pediatric resident’s visits to the home setting,
• telephone contacts between the pediatric resident

and the family,
• the provision of privacy between the pediatric

resident and the family,
• the inclusion of the family in planning of care.
79.1102  The Social Worker and other involved staff

members shall ensure that family support services are
provided which include, but are not limited to,
transportation, health education, counseling/support groups,
home visiting, and coordination of care.  The provision of
quality services shall be family-based, community-based and
culturally appropriate.

79.1103  The Social Worker shall provide assistance to
families to obtain services including Social Security,
Medicaid, and other public/private assistance  programs.  

79.1104  The licensee through licensed healthcare
professionals shall facilitate discharge planning and
coordination of outside resources.  The licensee shall
encourage the option of discharging the pediatric resident to
the home if resources are available and the family is willing.

Section 79.1200 - Miscellaneous Services
79.1201 - The licensee shall ensure that each pediatric

resident has adequate, clean, well-fitting clothing that is
weather appropriate.  Clothing must be used exclusively by
one pediatric resident and not shared in common. 

79.1202  The licensee shall ensure that each pediatric
resident has individual personal hygiene items that are in
proper condition for use and are not shared for use with other
residents.  These items include, but are not limited to,
bathing soap, toothbrush, toothpaste, hair brushes/comb, and
other toiletries.

79.1203  The licensee through licensed healthcare and
educational professionals shall ensure that each pediatric
resident engages in activities on a daily basis which directly
relate to the following developmental areas:

o   neurosensory,
o   fine motor development,
o   gross motor development,
o   social/emotional,
o   speech/language/communication.

79.1204 - The licensee shall ensure adequate staff to
enable pediatric residents to participate in daily play
activities and crafts.  The licensee shall provide indoor and
outdoor play and activity equipment that is appropriate for
the ages and developmental levels of the pediatric residents.
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79.1205 - The licensee shall provide recreational
therapy for the pediatric residents which will include
supervised outdoor activity and play time, weather
permitting and the pediatric resident’s condition permitting.  

79.1206 - The licensee though the Activities Director
shall ensure that appropriate alternative recreational
activities are provided for pediatric residents unable to
participate in group activities.

79.1207 - The licensee shall ensure that all shared play
equipment is properly disinfected and that needed infection
control precautions are taken.

79.1208 - The licensee shall ensure that pediatric
residents are transported in accordance with current national
safety standards.

79.1209 - A registered nurse must accompany pediatric
residents on all school-related field trips.  Portable
resuscitation equipment must be supplied and accompany
the pediatric residents.

Section 79.1300 - Resuscitation Orders
79.1301 - Upon admission to the facility, the PCP and

PCN shall discuss with the parents/guardian of the pediatric
resident procedures to follow in terms of a Do Not
Resuscitate (DNR) status and shall include in the pediatric
resident’s chart, documentation of  either DNR or Full Code
status.

79.1302 - The DNR status of a pediatric resident shall
not prohibit full participation by that pediatric resident in
school/recreational field trips and/or events.

Section 79.1400 - Waiver
79.1401 - Waivers may be granted by the Division for

good cause.

Section 79.1500 - Severability
79.1501 - Should any section, sentence, clause or phrase

of these regulations be legally declared unconstitutional or
invalid for any reason, the remainder of said regulations
shall not be affected thereby.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. §505)

Public Notice
Division of Social Services

Food Stamp Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,

Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Food Stamp
Program is proposing to implement policy changes to the
following sections of the Division of Social Services
Manual, Section 7004.3 and 7007.   

Summary of Changes

DSSM 7004.3 Collection and Management of Food
Stamp Claims

• Adds the requirement which states that EBT
collections must be non-settling;

• Reduces the state’s retention rates for amounts of
claims collected.

DSSM 7007 Submission of Food Stamp Payments
• Adds the requirement that prohibits the refund of

over-collected claims when a balance adjustment
using expunged EBT benefits is responsible for the
over-collection.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Mary Ann Daniels, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by February 28, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

REVISION

7004.3  Collection and Management of Food Stamp
Claims

4)  Benefits from EBT accounts.
ARMS must allow a household to pay its claim using

benefits from its EBT benefit account as follows:
a)  Collecting from active (or reactivated) EBT

benefits – the agency needs written permission or oral
permission for one-time reductions with the agency sending
the household a receipt of the transaction within ten (10)
days.

The written permission must include:
1.  A statement that this collection activity is

strictly voluntary;
2.  The amount of the payment;
3.  The frequency of the payments;
4.  The length (if any) of the agreement;
5.  A statement that the household may revoke

this agreement at any time.
b)  Collecting from stale EBT benefits – the agency

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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must mail or otherwise deliver to the household written
notification that the agency intends to apply the benefits to
the outstanding claim and give the household at least ten (10)
days to notify the agency that it doesn’t want to use these
benefits to pay the claim.

c)  Making an adjustment with expunged EBT
benefits – the agency must adjust the amount of any claim by
subtracting any expunged amount from the EBT benefit
account and this can be done anytime.

d)  A collection from an EBT account must be non-
settling against the benefit drawdown account.

7007  Submission of Food Stamp Payments
ARMS will retain the value of funds collected for

inadvertent household errors, intentional Program violation,
or administrative error claims.  This amount includes the
total value of allotment reductions to collect claims, but does
not include the value of benefits not issued as a result of a
household member being disqualified.  The State's letter of
credit will be amended on a quarterly basis to reflect the
State's retention of 25 20 percent of the value of inadvertent
household error claims collected and 50 35 percent of the
value of intentional Program violation claims collected, as
well as full retention by FNS of all administrative error
overissuance recoveries.

ARMS will submit quarterly a Form FNS-209, Status of
Claims Against Households, no later than 30 days after the
end of each calendar year quarter, even if no payments have
been collected.  In accounting for inadvertent household
error and intentional Program violation claims, collection,
cash, or coupon repayments and the value of allotments
recovered or offset by restoration of lost benefits will be
included.  However, the value of benefits not issued during
the period of disqualification will not be considered
recovered allotments and will not be used to offset an
intentional Program violation claim.

ARMS may retain any amounts recovered on a claim
being handled as an inadvertent household error claim prior
to obtaining a determination by an administrative
disqualification hearing official or a Court of appropriate
jurisdiction that intentional Program violation was
committed at the rate applicable to intentional Program
violation claims, once the determination or signed document
is obtained.  In such cases, ARMS must include a note in an
attachment to the FNS-209 showing the additional amounts
being retained on amounts already recovered as a result of
the change in status of the claim.

If a household has overpaid a claim, ARMS is to pay the
household any amounts overpaid as soon as possible after
the overpayment becomes known.  The household will be
paid by whatever method ARMS deems appropriate
considering the household's circumstances.  A refund is
prohibited when a balance adjustment using expunged EBT
benefits is responsible for the over-collection.

Overpaid amounts of a claim which have previously
been reported as collected via the FNS-209 and which have
been repaid to the household will be reported in the
appropriate column on the FNS-209 for the quarter in which
the repayment occurred.  The amount of the repayment will
be subtracted from the total amount collected.  The
appropriate retention rate will be applied to the reduced
collection total.

In cases where the State has been billed by FNS for
negligence, any amounts collected from households, which
were caused by the State’s negligence, will be credited by
FNS.  When submitting these payments, ARMS must
include a note as an attachment to the FNS-209 showing the
amount that should be credited against the State's bill.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 505 (31 Del.C. §505)

Public Notice
Division of Social Services 

Food Stamp Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Food Stamp
Program is proposing to implement policy changes to the
following sections of the Division of Social Services
Manual:  9028, 9030, 9040, 9081, and 9085.  These changes
are based on the Federal Final Rules of Food Stamp
Program:  Noncitizen Eligibility and Certification Provisions
of Public Law 104-193, as Amended by Public Laws 104-
208, 105-33, 105-185.  

Summary of Changes

1.  Under application and interview procedures, the
changes require the Division of Social   Services (DSS):

• to make clear that disadvantages and requirements
of applying for cash assistance do not apply to food
stamps,

• to encourage applicants to continue to apply for
food stamps if they decide not to apply for cash
assistance,

• to inform households that receiving food stamps
will have no bearing on any other program’s time
limits,

• to inform households that stop getting cash
assistance that they still may be eligible for food

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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stamp benefits,
• to inform applicants that the office interview can be

waived by conducting a telephone interview for
hardship cases,

• to assign households waived the face-to-face
interview normal certification periods, and

• to notify households that miss their interview
appointment that they are responsible for making
another appointment.

2.  Exempts deeming of sponsor income for indigent
aliens.

3.  Deletes several sections from sponsor deeming rules.
4.  Requires DSS to notify households about unclear

information by sending them written Request for Contact
(RFC) notice.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Mary Ann Daniels, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by February 28, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

REVISION

9028  Filing an Application

[273.2(c)]
Households must file a food stamp application by

submitting the form to a certification office either in person,
through an authorized representative, by fax or other
electronic transmission, by mail, or by completing an on-line
electronic application.  Applications signed through the use
of electronic signature techniques or applications containing
a handwritten signature and then transmitted by fax or other
electronic transmission are acceptable.  DSS must document
the date the application was filed by recording the date of
receipt at the local office.  

The length of time DSS has to deliver benefits is
calculated from the date the application is filed in the food
stamp claim office designated to accept the household's
application, except when a resident of a public institution is
jointly applying for SSI and food stamps prior to his/her
release from an institution in accordance with DSSM 9015.
Certify residents of public institutions who apply for food
stamps prior to their release from the institution in
accordance with DSSM 9039 or DSSM 9041, as appropriate.
The date received will be documented on the application.  

Each household has the right to file, and should be

encouraged to file an application form on the same day it
contacts any food stamp office during office hours and
expresses interest in obtaining food stamps or expresses
concerns which indicate food insecurity. 

DSS shall make clear to applicants that the
disadvantages and requirements of applying for cash
assistance do not apply to food stamps.  Applicants shall be
encouraged to continue an application with food stamps.
DSS shall inform households that receiving food stamps will
have no bearing on any other program’s time limits that may
apply to the household.

Mail an application form the same day households
request food stamp assistance either by telephone or written
notice.  Advise the household that it does not have to be
interviewed before filing the application and may file an
incomplete application form as long as the form contains the
applicant's name and address, and the signature of a
responsible household member or the household's authorized
representative.  Where there is more than one certification
office in a project area, any office must accept applications
when filed, but must subsequently refer the household to the
proper office for the eligibility determination.  Mail
applications received in the wrong office to the correct office
the same day.   

Applications filed at incorrect office locations are
considered filed and the receiving office will forward the
application to the correct office.  If the household is eligible
for expedited services, the receiving office will fax the
application and proof of identity to the correct office and
alert the office by phone about the fax.  The correct office
will issue the expedited benefits and, if necessary, schedule
an appointment for an interview.  

When a resident of an institution is jointly applying for
SSI and food stamps prior to leaving the institution, the
filing date of the application to be recorded by DSS on the
application is the date of release of the applicant from the
institution.

Have application forms readily accessible to potentially
eligible households in each regional office and provide them
to those groups and organizations involved in outreach
efforts.  DSS will provide a means for applicants to
immediately begin the application process with name,
address, and signature by having applicants complete and
sign a copy of the on-line Referral for Assistance or the first
page of the hard-copy application.  Households that
complete an on-line electronic application in person have the
opportunity to review the information that has been recorded
electronically and to receive a copy for their records.

When a household contacts the wrong certification
office in person or by telephone, the household will be given
the address and phone number of the correct office.  The
office contacted in person will provide the household an
opportunity to file an application that same day.  The office
will forward the application to the correct office the same



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 8, FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2002

1599

day.  If the household has mailed its application to the wrong
certification office, forward it to the proper office on the
same day.

Provide each household at the time of application for
(re)-certification with a notice (Form 105) that informs the
household of the verification requirements the household
must meet as part of the application process.  The notice
must also inform the household of the Division's
responsibility to assist the household in obtaining required
verification provided the household is cooperating as
specified in DSSM 9029.

9030  Interviews

[273.2(e)]
Households must have a face-to-face interview with an

eligibility worker at initial certification and at least once
every 12 months thereafter, unless the face-to-face interview
has been waived.  DSS must inform applicants that the face-
to-face interviews will be waived for hardship situations.
Hardship conditions include, but are not limited to: being
elderly or disabled, illness, care of a household member,
hardships due to residency in a rural area, prolonged severe
weather, or work or training hours which prevent the
household from participating in an office interview.

DSS may not require a household to report for an in-
office interview during their certification period although
they may requests a household to do so.

Interview may be conducted at the food stamp office or
other mutually acceptable location, including a household
residence.  Interviews conducted at the household’s
residence must be scheduled in advance.  

The head of household, spouse, any other responsible
member of the household, or an authorized representative
may be interviewed.  Advise the households of their rights
and responsibilities during the interview, including the
appropriate processing standard and the responsibility to
report changes.  The interview will be conducted as an
official and confidential discussion of household
circumstances and will be limited strictly to facts that relate
directly to food stamp eligibility criteria.  The applicant's
right to privacy will be protected during the interview.  

The eligibility worker must explore and resolve with the
household any unclear and incomplete information. 

Households applying for cash assistance must be
informed that time limits and other requirements that apply
to the cash assistance program do not apply to the receipt of
food stamps.  Inform households that stop receiving cash
assistance due to reaching a time limit, getting a job, or other
reasons, that they may still be eligible for food stamp
benefits.

Waive the office interview if requested by any
household which is unable to appoint an authorized
representative and which has no household member able to

come to the food stamp office because they are elderly or
disabled, have transportation difficulties, are working, or
similar hardships.  Determine if the transportation
difficulties or other similar hardship warrants a waiver of the
office interview and document in the case record why a
request for a waiver was granted or denied.

Inform applicants that DSS will waive the office
interview and conduct a telephone interview on a case-by-
case basis because of household hardship situations.
Hardship situations include, but are not limited to, illness,
transportation difficulties, care of a household member,
hardships due to residency in a rural area, prolonged severe
weather, or work or training hours which prevent the
household from participating in an in-office interview.
Document the casefile to show when a waiver was granted
due to hardship. 

Waiver of the face-to-face interview does not exempt
the household from the verification requirements.  nor
should it affect the length of the households' certification
period.  A waiver of the face-to-face interview cannot not
affect the length of the household’s certification period.
Assign households waived the face-to-face interview normal
certification periods.

However, special verification procedures may be used
such as substituting a collateral contact in cases where
documentary evidence would normally be required.

Households for whom the office interview is waived
will be offered either a telephone interview or a home visit.
Home visits will be scheduled in advance with the
household.

DSS will schedule an interview for all applicant
households who are not interviewed on the day they submit
their applications.  All interviews will be scheduled as
promptly as possible to ensure eligible households receive an
opportunity to participate within 30 days after the
application is filed.  If the household does not appear for the
first interview, reschedule an interview only one time unless
the household requests a further appointment.

If the household misses its interview appointment, DSS
will notify the household that it missed the interview and that
the household is responsible for making another
appointment.  DSS will not deny the application prior to the

30th day after the application was filed is the household fails
to appear for the interview. If the household requests a
second interview during the 30-day application processing
period and is determined eligible, DSS will prorate benefits
from the date of application.

Applicant and participant households which are unable
to obtain certification services without missing time from
work must be given appointments for such services.

The applicant may bring any person he or she chooses to
the interview.



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 8, FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2002

1600

9040  Delays in Processing

[273.2(h)]
4.  For households that have failed to appear for an

interview, DSS must notify the household that it missed the
scheduled interview and that the household is responsible for
rescheduling a missed interview.  If the household contacts
DSS within the 30-day processing period, DSS must
schedule a second interview.  have attempted to reschedule
the initial interview within 30 days following the date the
application was filed.  If the household fails to schedule a
second interview, or the However, if the household has
failed to appear for the first interview and a subsequent
interview is postponed at the household's request or cannot
otherwise be rescheduled until after the 20 days but before
the 30th day following the date the application was filed, the
household must appear for the interview, bring verification,
and register members for work by the 30th day; otherwise,
the delay will be the fault of the household.  If the household
has failed to appear for the first interview, fails to schedule a
second interview, and/or the and a subsequent interview is
postponed at the household's request until after the 30th day
following the date the application was filed, the delay will be
the fault of the household.  If the household has missed both
scheduled interviews and requests another interview, any
delay will be the fault of the household.

9081.3  Exempt Aliens
Exempt aliens:

The deeming of sponsor income in 9081.2 (steps 1-
5) above do not apply to:

1.  An alien who is a member of his or her sponsor’s
food stamp household;

2.  An alien who is sponsored by an organization or
group as opposed to an individual;

3.  An alien who is not required to have a sponsor
under the Immigration and Nationality Act, such as a
refugee, a parolee, an asylee, or a Cuban or Haitian entrant;

4.  A battered alien spouse, alien parent of a
battered child, or child of a battered alien, for 12 months
after a determination is made that the battering is
substantially connected to the need for benefits, and the
battered individual does not live with the batterer.  After 12
months, do not deem the batterer’s income and resources if
the battery is recognized by a court or the INS and had a
substantial connection to the need for benefits, and the alien
does not live with the batterer.

5.  An indigent alien that has been determined
unable to obtain food or shelter taking into account the
alien’s own income plus any cash, food, or housing, or other
assistance provided by other individuals, including the
sponsor(s).

Indigent alien determination:

A.  Inquire about sponsored alien status if an alien
is a Lawful Permanent Resident (LPR).

B.  If the LPR is an eligible sponsored alien, make
an indigence determination. 

An eligible sponsored alien is an alien eligible
to receive food stamps according to DSSM 9007.1.

C.  Determine the eligible sponsored alien’s total
household income by adding the eligible alien’s household’s
own income, the cash contributions of the sponsor and
others, and the value of any in-kind assistance the sponsor or
others provide.

Accept whatever dollar value, if any, is given
for any in-kind assistance provided by the person(s)
providing the assistance.  In-kind assistance includes, but is
not limited to, food, housing, clothing, or transportation.

Compare the total household income as
determined above to the 130 percent of the poverty income
guidelines for the household size.

If the total income does not exceed the 130
percent of the poverty income guidelines for the household
size, the alien is indigent.

D.  If the alien is indigent, then process the case as
normal and deem only the actual amount of the cash support
received from the sponsor.  The cash support does not
include the value of the in-kind assistance.

E.  If the alien is not indigent, then the eligible
sponsored alien must provide information on the total
amount of the sponsor’s income and resources and follow
the regular sponsor deeming procedures.  

F.  If the alien is indigent, only deem the income
actually provided to the alien for the period beginning on the
date the determination was made and ending 12 months after
such date.  

G.  Each indigence determination is renewable for
additional 12-month periods.

H.  The names of each eligible sponsored alien
determined to be indigent and the sponsor(s) names are to be
sent to the Food Stamp Policy Administrator after a
determination is made.
9081.6  Demands for restitution.

Exclude any sponsor who is participating in the Food
Stamp Program from any demand made under 8 CFR
213a.4(1) [Affidavit of Support on Behalf of Immigrants]for
the value of food stamp benefits issued to an eligible
sponsored alien he or she sponsors.

9081.7  Memorandum of Agreement
An agreement will be signed by the Secretaries of the

Departments of Agriculture and State setting forth the
specific information that must be released by all parties to
facilitate identification of the alien and sponsor and enable
DSS to perform required verification of information for
eligibility purposes as specified in DSSM 9081.5 .
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9081.8  Overissuance Due to Incorrect Sponsor
Information

Any sponsor of an alien and the alien will be jointly and
severely liable for repayment of any overissuance of
coupons as a result of incorrect information provided by the
sponsor.  However, if the alien's sponsor had good cause or
was without fault for supplying the incorrect information,
the alien's household will be solely liable for repayment of
the overissuance.

Where the sponsor did not have good cause, decide
whether to establish a claim for the overissuance against the
sponsor or the alien's household, or both.  DSS may choose
to establish claims against both parties at the same time or to
establish a claim against the party it deems most likely to
repay first.  If a claim is established against the alien's
sponsor first, ensure that a claim is established against the
alien's household whenever the sponsor fails to respond to
DMS' demand letter within 30 days of receipt.  DMS will
return to the alien's sponsor and/or the alien's household any
amount repaid in excess of the total amount of the claim.

9081.9  Collecting Claims Against Sponsors
Initiate collection action by sending the alien's sponsor a

written demand letter which informs the sponsor of the
amount owed, the reason for the claim, and how the sponsor
may pay the claim.  The sponsor will also be informed that
the sponsor will not be held responsible for repayment of the
claim if the sponsor can demonstrate that he/she had good
cause or was without fault for the incorrect information
having been supplied to the Division.  In addition, DMS will
follow up the written demand letter with personal contact, if
possible. The sponsor is entitled to a fair hearing either to
contest a determination that the sponsor was at fault where it
was determined that incorrect information had been provided
or to contest the amount of the claim.

DMS may pursue other collection actions, as
appropriate, to obtain payment of a claim against any
sponsor which fails to respond to a written demand letter.
DMS may terminate collection action against a sponsor at
any time if it has documentation that the sponsor cannot be
located or when the cost of further collection is likely to
exceed the amount that can be recovered.

If the alien's sponsor responds to the written demand
letter and is financially able to pay the claim at one time,
DMS will collect a lump sum cash payment.  DMS may
negotiate a payment schedule with the sponsor for
repayment of the claim, as long as payments are provided in
regular installments.  Payments will be submitted to FNS in
accordance with the procedures specified in 7004.3
Collection and Management of Food Stamp Claims.  For
submission to FNS, any funds collected from the sponsor
will be reported and the State's retention will be based on
whether the corresponding claim against the alien's
household is being treated as an inadvertent household error

claim or intentional misrepresentation or fraud claim.

9081.10 Collecting Claims Against Alien Households
Prior to initiating collection action against the

household of a sponsored alien for repayment of an
overissuance caused by incorrect information having been
supplied concerning the alien's sponsor or sponsor's spouse,
determine whether such incorrect information was supplied
due to inadvertent error or intentional misrepresentation or
an act of intentional Program violation on the part of the
alien.  If sufficient documentary evidence exists to
substantiate that the incorrect information concerning the
alien's sponsor or sponsor's spouse was provided due to
intentional misrepresentation on the part of the alien, pursue
the case in accordance with the procedures specified in
DSSM 2023 for misrepresentation disqualifications.  The
claim against the alien's household will be handled as an
inadvertent household error claim prior to the determination
of intentional misrepresentation by an administrative
disqualification hearing official or a court of appropriate
jurisdiction. If DSS determined that the incorrect
information was supplied due to misunderstanding or
unintended error on the part of the sponsored alien, the claim
will be handled as an inadvertent household error claim in
accordance with the procedures specified in DSSM 7002.2 .
These actions will be taken regardless of the current
eligibility of the sponsored alien or the alien's household.

9085.5  Unclear Information
When information about changes in a household’s

circumstances are unclear and DSS cannot determine the
effect on the household’s benefit, DSS must clarify and
verify the changes as follows:

1.  DSS must issue a written request for contact (RFC)
which clearly advises the household of the verification it
must provide or the actions it must take to clarify its
circumstances.

2.  Allow the household at least ten (10) days to respond
and to clarify its circumstances either by telephone or by
correspondence, as directed by DSS.

3.  If the household fails to respond to the RFC, or does
respond but refuses to provide sufficient information to
clarify its circumstances, DSS will terminate the case and
issue a notice of adverse action explaining the reason for the
action.  Inform the household that a new application must be
filed if the household wishes to continue to receive benefits.

4.  When the household responds to the RFC and
provides sufficient information, process the changes
according to DSSM 9085.3 and DSSM 9085.4.

9085.5 6 Failure to Report

[273.12(d)]
If a household fails to report a change as required under
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DSSM 9085 and, as a result, receives benefits to which it is
not entitled, file a claim against the household in accordance
with DSSM 7000.  If the discovery is made within the
certification period, the household is entitled to a notice of
adverse action in advance if the household's benefits are
reduced.  A household is not to be held liable for a claim
because of a change in household circumstances which it is
not required to report.  Do not terminate individuals for
failure to report a change unless the individual is disqualified
in accordance with the disqualification procedures specified
in DSSM 2023 .

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. §505)

Public Notice
Division of Social Services 

Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid/
Medical Assistance Program is proposing to implement a
policy change to the following section of the Division of
Social Services Manual (DSSM): DSSM 14950.  The
proposed change eliminates Medicaid Guaranteed Eligibility
for Medicaid recipients enrolled in the Diamond State Health
Plan.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Mary Ann Daniels, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by February 28, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

REVISION:

14950 Guaranteed Eligibility
All guaranteed eligibility will end effective 5/31/02.

Individuals who lose eligibility effective 12/31/01 may
receive up to five more months of guaranteed eligibility.
Individuals who lose eligibility 1/31/02 or after will not
receive a period of guaranteed eligibility.

Section 1902(e)(2) of the Social Security Act, as
amended by the Balanced Budget Act of 1997, permits up to
six months of guaranteed eligibility for individuals if they
are enrolled in a managed care organization.   Delaware has
selected this option with an effective date of December 1,
1999.

The six-month period of guaranteed eligibility is
available to Medicaid recipients enrolled in the Diamond
State Health Plan.

The rules in this section set forth the eligibility
requirements, conditions and limitations, and medical
coverage benefits for the six-month period of guaranteed
eligibility.

14950.1 Six Month Period of Guaranteed Eligibility
A six-month period of guaranteed eligibility is defined

as a six-month period of continuous enrollment in a managed
care organization under the Diamond State Health Plan
(DSHP).  The following individuals may be found eligible
for a six-month period of guaranteed eligibility:

1.  a first-time Medicaid recipient
2.  an individual who becomes eligible for Medicaid

again following a period of at least one month of ineligibility
for Medicaid.

The guaranteed eligibility period begins with the first of
the month in which the individual enrolls in the DSHP and
continues for six consecutive months.  The individual who is
enrolled in DSHP retains eligibility for Medicaid services,
even if the individual otherwise loses Medicaid eligibility.

14950.2 Limitations on Guaranteed Eligibility
Individuals who have been continuously enrolled in the

Diamond State Health Plan for a period of six months or
more are not eligible for guaranteed eligibility as of:

a)  the effective date of this policy 
b)  the effective date of managed care enrollment

following a Diamond State Health Plan open enrollment
period.
14950.3 Individuals Who Become Eligible for Medicaid
Following at Least One Month of Ineligibility

Individuals who are disenrolled from the DSHP and are
subsequently reenolled because they become eligible for
Medicaid again, may receive a new six-month period of
guaranteed eligibility.  This includes individuals who have
already had a six-month period of guaranteed eligibility.
There must be at least a one-month lapse in Medicaid
eligibility in order to receive a new guaranteed eligibility
period.  

These individuals will be reenrolled in the same
managed care organization in which they were a member
prior to the month of ineligibility for Medicaid unless it has
been more than one year since the loss of eligibility.  If it has
been more than one year since the individual’
s eligibility for Medicaid, the individual may choose a new

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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managed care organization.

14950.4 Individuals Who Become Exempt from
Enrollment in the DSHP

For individuals who become exempt from enrollment in
the DSHP during the six-month period of guaranteed
eligibility but are still Medicaid eligible, the remaining
portion of the six-month guaranteed eligibility period will
accrue to the individual.  If the individual loses his or her
exempt status and must reenroll, the remaining portion of the
guaranteed eligibility period will be granted to the
individual.

14950.5 Individuals Who Transfer Between DSHP
Managed Care Organizations

For individuals who transfer from one DSHP managed
care organization to another DSHP managed care
organization prior to the end of the six-month period of
guaranteed eligibility, the remaining portion of the
guaranteed period will follow the individual to the new
managed care organization

14950.6 Termination of Guaranteed Eligibility
The six-month period of eligibility terminates the

earliest of:
the last day of the sixth month following the effective

date of enrollment in the DSHP or the last day of the month
in which the individual:

a)  dies
b)  moves out-of-state or is no longer a Delaware

resident
c)  becomes an inmate of a public institution
d)  requests termination of Medicaid eligibility and/or

managed care enrollment
e)  becomes eligible for long term care Medicaid
f)  becomes eligible for or entitled to Medicare
g)  becomes eligible for CHAMPUS
h)  becomes eligible for another comprehensive medical

managed care program administered by the Delaware
Medical Assistance Program

i)  is otherwise ineligible for the DSHP.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapters 
60 and 63 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60 and 63)

1. Title of the Regulations:
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste

(DRGHW).

2.  Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
In order for the State of Delaware to maintain

authorization from the U. S. Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) to administer its own hazardous waste
management program, the State must maintain a program
that is equivalent to and no less stringent than the Federal
program.  To accomplish this, the State regularly amends the
DRGHW by adopting amendments previously promulgated
by EPA.  In addition, the State will be proposing
miscellaneous changes to the DRGHW that correct existing
errors, adds clarification or enhances the current program.

3.  Possible Terms of the Agency Action:
None

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
Amendments to DRGHW are proposed and amended in

accordance with the provisions found at 7 Delaware Code,
Chapters 60 & 63.

5.  Other Regulations That May Be Affected by the
Proposal:

None

6.  Notice of Public Comment:
The public hearing on the proposed amendments to

DRGHW will be held on Tuesday March 12, 2002 beginning
at 6:00 p.m. in the Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89
Kings Highway, Dover, DE.  In addition, those affected by
the proposed amendments are invited to attend a workshop
to be conducted on March 27, 2002 at the Smyrna Rest Area,
Smyrna, DE.  Pre-registration for the workshop is required.

7.  Prepared By:
Donald K. Short, Environmental Scientist, Solid and

Hazardous Waste Management - (302) 739-3689

2002 Amendments to Delaware Regulations
Governing Hazardous Waste

Synopsis

This synopsis presents a brief description of the 2002
amendments to Delaware Regulations Governing
Hazardous Waste (DRGHW) and a list of those sections
generally affected by the amendments.  This summary is
provided solely for the convenience of the reader.

These changes incorporate certain RCRA amendments
promulgated by U. S. EPA into Delaware’s hazardous waste
management program.  The State is required to adopt these

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
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amendments in order to maintain its hazardous waste
program delegation and remain current with the Federal
RCRA hazardous waste program.

The State is also making miscellaneous changes to the
existing regulations for the purpose of correcting errors and
to add consistency or clarification to the existing regulations.
Some amendments are being made to the existing
regulations in order to improve or enhance the performance
of the hazardous waste management program.

Summaries for the regulatory amendments are listed
below and organized by EPA’s promulgating Federal
Register notice.  For additional information, please contact
the Solid and Hazardous Waste Management Branch at
(302) 739-3689. 

1.  Title:  Chlorinated Aliphatics Listing and LDRs for
Newly Identified Wastes

Federal Register Reference:  65 FR 67068-67133
Federal Promulgation Date:  November 8, 2000

Summary:  This amendment adds two wastes (K174
and K175) generated by the chlorinated aliphatics industry to
the list of hazardous wastes at 40 CFR 261.32.  The new
wastes will be subjected to stringent management and
treatment standards under RCRA, and to emergency
notification requirements.  EPA is allowing a contingent-
management listing approach for one of these new wastes.
Under this approach, the waste will not be a listed hazardous
waste if sent to a specific type of management facility.

Sections of the DRGHW effected by this
amendment: §261.32; Part 261 Appendix VII & VIII;
§268.33; §268.40/Table; and §268.48(a)/Table.

2.  Title:  Mixed Waste Rule
Federal Register Reference:  66 FR 27218 - 27266
Federal Promulgation Date:  May 16, 2001

Summary: This rule promulgates conditional
exemptions for:  (1) low-level mixed wastes (LLMW) from
most RCRA Subtitle C storage and treatment regulations,
and (2) LLMW and technologically enhanced naturally
occurring and/or accelerator-produced radioactive material
(NARM) from most RCRA Subtitle C manifesting,
transportation, and disposal regulations when specified
conditions are met.  With this rule, the EPA intends to
provide regulatory flexibility and relief to facilitate the
disposal of certain LLMW and eligible NARM.

Sections of the DRGHW effected by this
amendment:  New subpart N (§§266.210 to 266.360) is
added to Part 266.

3.  Title:  Mixture and Derived-From Revisions
Federal Register Reference:  66 FR 27266 - 27297
Federal Promulgation Date:  May 16, 2001

Summary: This rule finalizes the retention of the
mixture rule and the derived-from rule with two revisions.
The first revision expands the exclusion for mixtures and/or
derivatives of wastes listed solely for the ignitability,
corrosivity and/or reactivity characteristic.  The second
revision is a new conditional exemption from the mixture
and derived-from rules for mixed wastes.

Sections of the DRGHW effected by this
amendment:  §261.3, paragraphs (a), (c), (g), and (h).

4.  Title:  Change of Official EPA Mailing Address
Federal Register Reference:  66 FR 34374 - 34376
Federal Promulgation Date:  June 28, 2001

Summary:  This rule updates the official mailing
address for EPA, due to the relocation of the majority of its
Headquarters offices to downtown Washington, DC.

Sections of the DRGHW effected by this
amendment:  §260.11(a)(11).

5.  Miscellaneous Changes

Summary:  Proposed miscellaneous changes to
DRGHW include non-substantive corrections for
typographical or grammatical errors; reinsertion of
paragraph (i) in §265.1085 that was correctly adopted but
not incorporated in the final regulations; a degree symbol in
§279.11, Table 1 is corrected; and the title of Appendix VIII
to Part 268 is corrected.  

In addition, the SHWMB proposes to: delete language
referencing approval by the Secretary of alternative test
methods for ignitability found at the end of §§261.21(a)(1)
and (a)(3); require generators subject to contingency plan
requirements in §264.53 to maintain a printed copy of the
plan; prohibit use of a letter to request an EPA Identification
Number by used oil transporters; and requiring the first
attempt at repair of devices subject to subparts AA, BB, and
CC of parts 264 and 265 to begin immediately after detecting
a leak or defect in the device.

Sections of the DRGHW effected by this
amendment:  §§260.21(a)(1) and (a)(3); §264.53(a),
§264.344(c)(1), §264.1033(i)(3)(ii), §§264.1052(c)(2) and
(d)(6)(iii), §264.1053(g)(2), §264.1057(d)(2),
§264.1058(c)(2), §264.1084(k)(1), §264.1085(f)(1),
§264.1086(c)(4)(iii), §265.37(a), §265.1033(k)(3)(ii),
§265.1052(d)(6)(ii), §265.1053(g)(2), §265.1057(d)(2),
§265.1058(c)(2), §265.1085(i), §265.1085(k)(1),
§265.1086(f)(1), §265.1087(c)(4)(iii), Part 265 Appendix I,
Part 268 Appendix VIII, §279.11 Table 1, and §279.42(b).
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DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Chapters 
60 and 63 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60 and 63)

1.  Title of the Regulations:
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste

(DRGHW).

2.  Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
In order for the State of Delaware to maintain

authorization from the U. S. Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) to administer its own hazardous waste
management program, the State must maintain a program
that is equivalent to and no less stringent than the Federal
program.  To accomplish this, the State regularly amends the
DRGHW by adopting amendments previously promulgated
by EPA. 

3.  Possible Terms of the Agency Action:
None

4.  Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
Amendments to DRGHW are proposed and amended in

accordance with the provisions found at 7 Delaware Code,
Chapters 60 & 63.

5.  Other Regulations That May Be Affected by the
Proposal:

None

6.  Notice of Public Comment:
The public hearing on the proposed amendments to

DRGHW will be held on Tuesday March 12, 2002 beginning
at 6:00 p.m. in the Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89
Kings Highway, Dover, DE. 

7.  Prepared by:
Donald K. Short, Environmental Scientist, Solid and

Hazardous Waste Management - (302) 739-3689

Amendments to Delaware Regulations Governing 
Hazardous Waste

Synopsis

This synopsis presents a brief description of the
amendments to Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous
Waste (DRGHW) and a list of those sections generally
affected by the amendments.  This summary is provided
solely for the convenience of the reader.

This change incorporates three new hazardous waste
streams promulgated by EPA into Delaware’s hazardous

waste management program.  The State is required to
maintain equivalency with the Federal hazardous waste
program in order to maintain its RCRA program delegation.

A summary of the proposed regulatory amendment is
listed below and references EPA’s promulgating Federal
Register notice.  For additional information, please contact
the Solid and Hazardous Waste Management Branch at
(302) 739-3689. 

1.  Hazardous Waste Management System; Identification
and Listing of Hazardous Waste: Inorganic Chemical
Manufacturing Wastes; Land Disposal Restrictions for
Newly Identified Wastes; and CERCLA Hazardous
Substance Designation and Reportable Quantities

Federal Register Reference:  65 FR 58258-58300
Federal Promulgation Date:  November 20, 2001
Federal Effective Date:  May 20, 2002

Summary:  On November 20, 2001 the Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA) promulgated a listing as hazardous
three wastes generated from inorganic chemical
manufacturing processes to be identified with the waste
codes K176, K177, and K178.  EPA promulgated these
regulations under the Resource Conservation and Recovery
Act (RCRA), which directed EPA to determine whether
certain wastes generated by inorganic chemical
manufacturing industries presented a substantial hazard to
human health or the environment.  The effects of listing
these three wastes as hazardous are to subject them to:
comprehensive management and treatment standards under
Subtitle C of RCRA; and emergency notification
requirements for releases to the environment under the
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation,
and Liability Act (CERCLA).  The final rule also added the
toxic constituents found in the wastes being listed as
hazardous to the list of constituents that serves as the basis
for classifying wastes as hazardous and establishing
treatment standards for the wastes.

Finally, EPA applied universal treatment standards
(UTS) under the Land Disposal Restrictions program to the
inorganic chemical manufacturing wastes listed in that
rulemaking.  The listed wastes must be treated to meet these
treatment standards for specific constituents prior to land
disposal.

Sections amended by these changes: DRGHW
§§261.4(b)(15), 261.32, Appendix VII to Part 261; adds new
§268.36, and amends §268.40/Table.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF NURSING

24 DE Admin. Code 1900
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 1906(19) (24 Del.C. §1906(19))

Order

WHEREAS, pursuant to 24 Del. C. §1906(19) the
Board of Nursing is empowered to create a regulatory
committee entitled the Joint Practice Committee which, with
the approval of the Board of Medical Practice, has the
responsibility for promulgating Rules and Regulations
regarding advanced practice nurses who have independent
practice and/or independent prescriptive authority; and,

WHEREAS, the Committee has proposed to adopt
amendments to the Rules and Regulations which govern
certain complaints against advance practice nurses and to
establish guidelines for the membership on and the operation
of the Joint Practice Committee as more specifically set forth
in the Notice and proposed Rules and Regulations appearing
in the Delaware Register of Regulations, VOLUME 5,
ISSUE 5, published November 1, 2001; and,

WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10115, notice was
given to the public that a hearing would be held on
December 18, 2001, at 5:30 p.m. in Room 216 of the
Delaware Technical and Community College Stanton

Campus, 400 Christiana-Stanton Road, Newark, Delaware to
consider the proposed Rules and Regulation changes; and,

WHEREAS, the notice invited interested persons to
submit comments orally or in writing regarding the proposed
amendments and a hearing was held on December 18, 2001
at which a quorum of the Joint Practice Committee was
present; and,

WHEREAS, there were no written comments submitted
by the public at the public hearing. There were written
comments filed by the Executive Director of the Board of
Medical Practice making suggestions to add the word
"Nursing" prior to the term "Membership" and that the word
"selected" be replaced by the word "appointed" referring to
membership on the Joint Practice Committee. The
Committee has determined that 24 Del. C. §1906(19) sets the
statutory basis for selection of the membership of the Joint
Practice Committee for both nurse members and non nurse
members and thus the section will be modified in accordance
with the suggested changes to address only membership
appointed by the Board of Nursing. Also, the figures "24"
will be inserted to clarify the reference to the Delaware
Code.

NOW, THEREFORE, based on the authority of the
Joint Practice Committee to promulgate, adopt and revise
rules and regulations pursuant to 24 Del. C. §1906(20), it is
the decision of the Joint Practice Committee of the Board of
Nursing with the minor changes discussed above, subject to
the approval of the Board of Medical Practice, to adopt as
proposed the Rules and Regulations modifications and
additions (with the minor non substantive modifications

http://www.state.de.us/das/


FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 8, FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2002

1607

noted above), a copy of which are attached hereto as Exhibit
"A" and incorporated herein.  The Joint Practice Committee
finds that appropriate notice of the proposed changes and
additions to the Rules and Regulations has been given in
accordance with the Delaware Administrative Procedures
Act (29 Del. C. ch 101).  The Committee also finds that such
changes and modifications serve to clarify the process for
investigating and adjudicating complaints against Advanced
Practice Nurses in matters concerning independent practice
and prescriptive authority and to establish guidelines for the
selection of Committee members as well as for the staffing
and operation of the Joint Practice Committee.  The
Committee therefore concludes that such Rules and
Regulations should be adopted after the approval of the
Board of Medical Practice, with an effective date of ten (10)
days from the date of publication of this Order in the
Delaware Register of Regulations, pursuant to 29 Del. C.
§10118(e). Such publication shall be made only after
approval of the attached Rules and Regulations has been
granted by the Board of Medical Practice.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 18th day of December 2001.

Joint Practice Committee Of The Board Of Nursing
(As Authenticated By A Quorum Of The Committee):

Judith Hendricks Deborah Maichle
Robert Lawson Patricia Heinemann
Cal Friedman Tony Bianchetta, MD
Jean Raymond

Order

AND NOW, to-wit, this 8th day of January, 2002 the
Board of Medical Practice has considered the Rules and
Regulations which were promulgated and approved by the
Joint Practice Committee of the Board of Nursing by Order
dated December 18, 2001; and,

WHEREAS, The Board has had the opportunity to
submit written comments concerning the proposed Rules;
the Rules and Regulations which comments were considered
and approved; 

NOW THEREFORE, the Rules and Regulations as
attached to the December 18, 2001 Order of the Joint
Practice Committee are hereby APPROVED.

By Order Of The Board:
Galicano Inguito, M.D. Constantine Michell, D.O.
Francis Marro, M.D. Catherine Hickey, Esq.
Bentley Hollander, M.D. Vance Daniels
Karl McIntosh, M.D. Michael Green
Edward McConnell, M.D. V.R Sukumar, M.D.
Bruce Bolasny, M.D. Stephen Fanto, M.D.
Carolyn McKown Janet Kramer, M.D. 

8.0  Rules and Regulations for Advanced Practice Nurse
Prescriptive Authority/Independent Practice for the
State of Delaware

8.1  Authority
These rules and regulations are adopted by the

Delaware Board of Nursing  under the authority of the
Delaware Nurse Practice Act, 24 Del.C. §§1902(d),
1906(1), 1906(7).

8.2  Purpose
8.2.1  The general purpose of these rules and

regulations is to assist in protecting and  safeguarding the
public by regulating the practice of the Advanced Practice
Nurse.

8.3  Scope 
8.3.1  These rules and regulations govern the

educational and experience requirements  and standards of
practice for the Advanced Practice Nurse.  Prescribing
medications and treatments independently is pursuant to the
Rules and  Regulations promulgated by the Joint Practice
Committee as defined in 24 Del.C. §1906(20). The
Advanced Practice Nurse is responsible and accountable  for
her or his practice.  Nothing herein is deemed to limit the
scope of  practice or prohibit a Registered Nurse from
engaging in those activities that constitute the practice of
professional nursing and/or professional nursing in a
specialty area.

8.4  Definitions
“Advanced Practice Nurse”as defined in 24

Del.C. §1902(d)(1).   Such a nurse will be given the title
Advanced Practice Nurse by state licensure, and may use the
title Advanced Practice Nurse within his/her specific
specialty area.

“Certified Nurse Midwife (C.N.M.)” A
Registered Nurse who is a provider for normal maternity,
newborn and well-woman gynecological care.  The CNM
designation is received after  completing an accredited post-
basic nursing program in midwifery at schools of medicine,
nursing or public health, and passing a certification
examination administered by the ACNM Certification
Council, Inc. or other nationally recognized, Board of
Nursing approved certifying organization.

“Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist
(C.R.N.A.)” A Registered Nurse who has graduated from a
nurse anesthesia educational program accredited by the
American Association of  Nurse Anesthetists’ Council on
Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational programs,
and who is certified by the American Association of Nurse
Anesthetists’ Council on Certification of Nurse Anesthetists
or other nationally recognized, Board of Nursing approved
certifying organization.

“Clinical Nurse Specialist (C.N.S.)” A Registered
Nurse with advanced nursing educational preparation who
functions in primary, secondary, and tertiary settings with
individuals, families, groups, or communities.  The CNS
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designation is received after graduation from a Master’s
degree program in a clinical nurse specialty or post Master’s
certificate, such as gerontology, maternal-child, pediatrics,
psych/mental health, etc.   The CNS must have national
certification in the area of specialization at the advanced
level if such a certification exists or as specified in 8.9.4.1 of
these Rules and Regulations.  The certifying agency must
meet the established criteria approved by the Delaware
Board of Nursing.

“Nurse Practitioner (N.P.)” A Registered Nurse
with advanced nursing educational preparation who is a
provider of primary healthcare in a variety of settings with a
focus on a specific area of practice.  The NP designation is
received after graduation from a Master’s program or from
an accredited post-basic NP certificate program of at least
one academic year in length in a nurse practitioner specialty
such as acute care, adult, family, geriatric, pediatric, or
women’s health, etc.  The NP must have national
certification in the area of specialization at the advanced
level by a certifying agency which meets the established
criteria approved by the Delaware Board of Nursing.

“Audit” The verification of existence of a
collaborative agreement for a minimum of 10% of the total
number of licenses issued during a specified time period.

“Board”  The Delaware Board of Nursing
“Clinical Nursing Specialty” a delimited focus of

advanced nursing practice. Specialty areas can be identified
in terms of population, setting, disease/pathology, type of
care or type of problem.  Nursing administration does not
qualify as a clinical nursing specialty.

See 3 DE Reg. 1373 (4/1/00)
“Collaborative Agreement” Written verification

of health care facility approved clinical privileges; or health
care facility approved job description; or a written document
that outlines the  process for consultation and referral
between an Advanced Practice Nurse and a licensed
physician, dentist, podiatrist, or  licensed Delaware health
care delivery system.

“Guidelines/ Protocols” Suggested pathways to be
followed by an Advanced Practice Nurse for  managing a
particular medical problem. These guidelines/protocols  may
be developed collaboratively by an Advanced Practice Nurse
and a licensed physician, dentist or a podiatrist, or licensed
Delaware health  care delivery system.

“National Certification” That credential earned by
a nurse who has met requirements of a  Board approved
certifying agency.

The agencies so approved include but are not
limited to:

American Academy of Nurse Practitioners
American Nurses Credentialing Center
American Association of Nurse

Anesthetists Council on Certification of Nurse  Anesthetists
American Association of Nurse

Anesthetists Council on Recertification of Nurse
Anesthetists

National Certification Corporation for the
Obstetric, Gynecologic and Neonatal  Nursing Specialties

National Certification Board of Pediatric
Nurse Practitioners and Nurses.

ACNM Certification Council, Inc.
“Post Basic Program”

A combined didactic and clinical/preceptored
program of at least one academic year of full time study in
the area of advanced nursing practice with a minimum of
400 clinical/preceptored hours.

The program must be one offered and
administered by an approved health agency and/or institution
of higher learning,

Post basic means a program taken after
licensure is achieved.

“Scope of Specialized Practice” That area of
practice in which an Advanced Practice Nurse has a Master’s
degree or a post-basic program certificate in a clinical
nursing specialty with national certification.

“Supervision” Direction given by a licensed
physician or Advanced Practice Nurse to an Advanced
Practice Nurse practicing pursuant to a temporary permit.
The supervising physician or Advanced Practice Nurse must
be periodically available at the site where care is provided,
or available for immediate guidance.

8.5  Grandfathering Period
8.5.1  Any person holding a certificate of state

licensure as an Advanced Practice Nurse that is valid on July
8, 1994 shall be eligible for renewal of such licensure under
the conditions and standards prescribed herein for renewal of
licensure.

8.6  Standards for the Advanced Practice Nurse
8.6.1  Advanced Practice Nurses view clients and

their health concerns from an integrated multi-system
perspective.

8.6.2  Standards provide the practitioner with a
framework within which to operate and with the means to
evaluate his/her practice. In meeting the standards of
practice of nursing in the advanced role, each practitioner,
including but not limited to those listed in 8.6.2 of these
Rules and Regulations:

8.6.2.1  Performs comprehensive assessments
using appropriate physical and psychosocial parameters;

8.6.2.2  Develops comprehensive nursing care
plans based on current theories and advanced clinical
knowledge and expertise;

8.6.2.3  Initiates and applies clinical treatments
based on expert knowledge and technical competency to
client populations with problems ranging from health
promotion to complex illness and for whom the Advanced
Practice Nurse assumes primary care responsibilities. These
treatments include, but are not limited to psychotherapy,
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administration of anesthesia, and vaginal deliveries;
8.6.2.4  Functions under established

guidelines/protocols and/or accepted standards of care;
8.6.2.5  Uses the results of scientifically sound

empirical research as a basis for nursing practice decisions;
8.6.2.6  Uses appropriate teaching/learning

strategies to diagnose learning impediments;
8.6.2.7  Evaluates the quality of individual

client care in accordance with quality assurance and other
standards;

8.6.2.8  Reviews and revises guidelines/
protocols, as necessary;

8.6.2.9  Maintains an accurate written account
of the progress of clients for whom primary care
responsibilities are assumed;

8.6.2.10  Collaborates with members of a
multi-disciplinary team toward the accomplishment of
mutually established goals;

8.6.2.11  Pursues strategies to enhance access
to and use of adequate health care services;

8.6.2.12  Maintains optimal advanced practice
based on a continual process of review and evaluation of
scientific theory, research findings and current practice;

8.6.2.13  Performs consultative services for
clients referred by other members of the multi-disciplinary
team; and

8.6.2.14  Establishes a collaborative agreement
with a licensed physician, dentist, podiatrist, or licensed
Delaware health care delivery system to facilitate
consultation and/or referral as appropriate in the delivery of
health care to clients.

8.6.3  In addition to these standards, each nurse
certified in an area of specialization and recognized by the
Board to practice as an Advanced  Practice Nurse is
responsible for practice at the level and scope defined for
that specialty certification by the agency which certified the
nurse.

8.7  Generic Functions of the Advanced Practice Nurse
Within the Specialized Scope of Practice include but are not
limited to:

8.7.1  Eliciting detailed health history(s)
8.7.2  Defining nursing problem(s)
8.7.3  Performing physical examination(s)
8.7.4  Collecting and performing laboratory tests
8.7.5  Interpreting laboratory data
8.7.6  Initiating requests for essential laboratory

procedures
8.7.7  Initiating requests for essential x-rays 
8.7.8  Screening patients to identify abnormal

problems
8.7.9  Initiating referrals to appropriate resources

and services as necessary
8.7.10  Initiating or modifying treatment and

medications within established guidelines

8.7.11  Assessing and reporting changes in the
health of individuals, families and communities

8.7.12  Providing health education through teaching
and counseling

8.7.13  Planning and/or instituting health care
programs in the community with other health care
professionals and  the public

8.7.14  Delegating tasks appropriately
8.7.15  Prescribing medications and treatments

independently pursuant to Rules and  Regulations
promulgated by the Joint Practice Committee as defined in
24 Del.C. §1906(20).

8.8  Criteria for Approval of Certification Agencies
8.8.1  A national certifying body which meets the

following criteria shall be recognized by the Board to satisfy
24 Del.C. §1902(d)(1).

8.8.2  The national certifying body:
8.8.2.1  Is national in the scope of its

credentialing.
8.8.2.2  Has no requirement for an applicant to

be a member of any organization.
8.8.2.3  Has educational requirements which

are consistent with the requirements of  these rules.
8.8.2.4  Has an application process and

credential review which includes documentation that the
applicant’s education is in the advanced nursing practice
category being certified, and that the applicant’s clinical
practice is in the certification category.

8.8.2.5  Uses an examination as a basis for
certification in the advanced nursing practice category which
meets the following criteria:

8.8.2.5.1  The examination is based upon
job analysis studies conducted using standard methodologies
acceptable to the testing community;

8.8.2.5.2  The examination represents the
knowledge, skills and abilities essential for the delivery of
safe and effective advanced nursing care to the clients;

8.8.2.5.3  The examination content and its
distribution are specified in a test plan  (blueprint), based on
the job analysis study, that is available to examinees;

8.8.2.5.4  Examination items are reviewed
for content validity, cultural sensitivity and correct scoring
using an established mechanism, both before use and
periodically;

8.8.2.5.5  Examinations are evaluated for
psychometric performance;

8.8.2.5.6  The passing standard is
established using acceptable psychometric methods, and is
reevaluated periodically; and

8.8.2.5.7  Examination security is
maintained through established procedures

8.8.2.6  Issues certification based upon passing
the examination and meeting all other certification
requirements.
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8.8.2.7  Provides for periodic recertification
which includes review of qualifications and continued
competency.

8.8.2.8  Has mechanisms in place for
communication to Boards of Nursing for timely verification
of an individual’s certification status, changes in
certification  status, and changes in the certification program,
including qualifications, test  plan and scope of practice.

8.8.2.9 Has an evaluation process to provide
quality assurance in its certification program.

8.9  Application for Licensure to Practice as an
Advanced Practice Nurse

8.9.1  Application for licensure as a Registered
Nurse shall be made on forms supplied by the Board.

8.9.2  In addition, an application for licensure to
practice as an Advanced Practice Nurse shall be made on
forms supplied by the Board.

8.9.2.1  The APN applicant shall be required to
furnish the name(s) of the licensed  physician, dentist,
podiatrist, or licensed Delaware health care delivery system
with whom a current collaborative agreement exists.

8.9.2.2  Notification of changes in the name of
the licensed physician, dentist,  podiatrist, or licensed
Delaware health care delivery system shall be forwarded to
the Board office.

8.9.3  Each application shall be returned to the
Board office together with appropriate documentation and
non-refundable fees.

8.9.4  A Registered Nurse meeting the practice
requirement as listed in 8.11 and all other requirements set
forth in these Rules and Regulations may be issued a license
as an Advanced Practice Nurse in the specific area of
specialization in which the nurse has been nationally
certified at the advanced  level and/or has earned a Master’s
degree in a clinical nursing specialty.

8.9.4.1  Clinical nurse specialists, whose
subspecialty area can be categorized under a broad scope of
nursing practice for which a Board-approved national
certification examination exists, are required to pass this
certification  examination to qualify for permanent licensure
as an Advanced Practice Nurse.  This would include, but not
be limited to medical-surgical and psychiatric-mental health
nursing.  If a more specific post-graduate level certification
examination that has Board of Nursing approval is available
within the clinical nursing specialist’s subspecialty area at
the time of licensure application, the applicant may
substitute this examination for the broad-based clinical
nursing  specialist certification examination.

8.9.4.2  Faculty members teaching in nursing
education programs are not required to be licensed as
Advanced Practice Nurses.  Those faculty members teaching
in graduate level clinical courses may apply for licensure as
Advanced Practice Nurses and utilize graduate level clinical
teaching hours to fulfill the practice requirement as stated in

8.11.2.1.
8.9.5  Renewal of licensure shall be on a date

consistent with the current Registered Nurse renewal period.
A renewal fee shall be paid.

8.9.6  The Board may refuse to issue, revoke,
suspend or refuse to renew the license as an Advanced
Practice Nurse or otherwise discipline an applicant or a
practitioner who fails to meet the requirements for licensure
as an Advanced  Practice Nurse or as a registered nurse, or
who commits any disciplinary offense under the Nurse
Practice Act, 24 Del.C. Ch. 19, or the Rules and  Regulations
promulgated pursuant thereto. All decisions regarding
independent practice and/or independent prescriptive
authority are made by the Joint Practice Committee as
provided in 24 Del.C. §1906(20) - (22).

8.10  Temporary  Permit for Advanced Practice Nurse
Licensure

8.10.1  A temporary permit to practice, pending
Board approval for permanent licensure, may be issued
provided that:

8.10.1.1  The individual applying has also
applied for licensure to practice as a  Registered Nurse in
Delaware, or

8.10.1.2  The individual applying holds a
current license in Delaware, and

8.10.1.3  The individual submits proof of
graduation from a nationally accredited or Board approved
Master’s or certificate advanced practice  nursing program,
and has passed the certification examination, or 

8.10.1.4  The individual is a graduate of a
Master’s program in a clinical nursing specialty for which
there is no certifying examination, and can show evidence of
at least 1000 hours of clinical nursing practice within the
past 24 months.

8.10.1.5  Application(s) and fee(s) are on file in
the Board office.

8.10.2  A temporary permit to practice, under
supervision only, may be issued at the discretion of the
Executive Director provided that:

8.10.2.1  The individual meets the
requirements in 8.10.1.1 or 8.10.1.2, and 8.10.1.5 and; 

8.10.2.2  The individual submits proof of
graduation from a nationally accredited or Board approved
Master’s or certificate advanced practice nurse program,
and;

8.10.2.3  The individual submits proof of
admission into the approved certifying agency’s examination
or is seeking a temporary permit to practice under
supervision to accrue the practice hours required to sit for the
certifying examination or has accrued the required practice
hours and is scheduled to take the first advanced certifying
examination upon eligibility or is accruing the practice hours
referred to in 8.10.2.4; or,

8.10.2.4  The individual meets 8.10.2.1 and
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8.10.2.2 hereinabove and is awaiting review by the
certifying agency for eligibility to sit for the certifying
examination.

8.10.3  If the certifying examination has been
passed, the appropriate form must accompany the
application.

8.10.4  A temporary permit may be issued:
8.10.4.1  For up to two years in three month

periods.
8.10.4.2  At the discretion of the Executive

Director.
8.10.5  A temporary permit will be withdrawn:

8.10.5.1  Upon failure to pass the first
certifying examination

8.10.5.1.1  The applicant may petition the
Board of Nursing to extend a temporary permit under
supervision until results of the next available certification
exam are available by furnishing the following information:

8.10.5.1.1.1  current employer
reference,

8.10.5.1.1.2  supervision available,
8.10.5.1.1.3  job description,
8.10.5.1.1.4  letter outlining any

extenuating circumstances,
8.10.5.1.1.5  any other information

the Board of Nursing deems necessary.
8.10.5.2  For other reasons stipulated under

temporary permits elsewhere in these Rules and Regulations.
3 DE Reg. 1373 (4/1/00)

8.10.6  A lapsed temporary permit for designation
is equivalent to a lapsed license and the same rules apply.

8.10.7  Failure of the certifying examination does
not impact on the retention of the basic professional
Registered Nurse licensure.

8.10.8  Any person practicing or holding oneself
out as an Advanced Practice Nurse in any category without a
Board authorized license in such category shall be
considered an illegal practitioner and shall be subject to the
penalties provided for violations of the Law regulating the
Practice of Nursing in Delaware, (24 Del.C. Ch. 19).

8.10.9  Endorsement of Advanced Practice Nurse
designation from another state is processed the same as for
licensure by endorsement, provided that the applicant meets
the criteria for an Advanced Practice Nurse license in
Delaware.

8.11  Maintenance of Licensure Status: Reinstatement
8.11.1  To maintain licensure, the Advanced

Practice Nurse must meet the requirements for recertification
as established by the certifying agency.

8.11.2  The Advanced Practice Nurse must have
practiced a minimum of 1500 hours in  the past five years or
no less than 600 hours in the past two years in the  area of
specialization in which licensure has been granted.

8.11.2.1  Faculty members teaching in graduate

level clinical courses may count a maximum of 500 didactic
course contact hours in the past five years or 200  in the past
two years and all hours of direct on-site clinical supervision
of students to meet the practice requirement.

8.11.2.2  An Advanced Practice Nurse who
does not meet the practice requirement may be issued a
temporary  permit to practice under the supervision of a
person licensed to practice medicine, surgery, dentistry, or
advanced  practice nursing, as determined on an individual
basis by the Board.

8.11.3  The Advanced Practice Nurse will be
required to furnish the name(s) of the licensed physician,
dentist, podiatrist, or licensed Delaware health care delivery
system with whom a current collaborative agreement exists.

8.11.4  Advanced Practice Nurses who fail to renew
their licenses by February 28, May 31, or September 30 of
the renewal period shall be considered to have lapsed
licenses. After February 28, May 31, or September 30 of the
current licensing period, any requests for reinstatement of a
lapsed license shall be presented to the Board for  action.

8.11.5  To reinstate licensure status as an Advanced
Practice Nurse, the requirements for recertification and 1500
hours of practice in the past five years or no less  than 600
hours in the past two years in the specialty area must be met
or the  process described in 8.11.4 followed.

8.11.6  An application for reinstatement of
licensure must be filed and the appropriate fee paid.

8.12  Audit of Licensees
8.12.1  The Board may select licensees for audit

two months prior to renewal in any biennium.  The Board
shall notify the licensees that they are to be audited for
compliance of having a collaborative agreement.

8.12.1.1  Upon receipt of such notice, the
licensee must submit a copy of a current  collaborative
agreement(s) within three weeks of receipt of the notice.

8.12.1.2  The Board shall notify the licensee of
the results of the audit immediately  following the Board
meeting at  which the audits are  reviewed.

8.12.1.3  An unsatisfactory audit shall result in
Board action.

8.12.1.4  Failure to notify the Board of a
change in mailing address will not absolve the licensee from
audit requirements.

8.12.2  The Board may select licensees for audit
throughout the biennium.

8.13  Exceptions to the Requirements to Practice
8.13.1  The requirements set forth in 8.9 shall not

apply to a Registered Nurse who is duly enrolled as a bona
fide student in an approved  educational  program for
Advanced Practice Nurses as long as the practice is confined
to the educational requirements of the program and is under
the direct supervision of a qualified instructor.

8.14  Definitions
8.14.1  Collaborative Agreement - Includes 
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8.14.1.1  A true collegial agreement between
two parties where mutual goal setting, access, authority, and
responsibility for actions belong to individual parties and
there is a conviction to the belief that this collaborative
agreement will continue to enhance patient outcomes and

8.14.1.2  a written document that outlines the
process for consultation and referral between an Advanced
Practice Nurse and a duly licensed Delaware physician,
dentist, podiatrist or licensed Delaware health care delivery
system.  This document can include, but not be limited to,
written verification of health care facility approved clinical
privileges or a health care facility approved job description
of the A.P.N.  If the agreement is with a licensed Delaware
health care delivery system, the individual will have to show
that the system will supply appropriate medical back-up for
purposes of consultation and referral.

8.14.2  National Certification - That credential
earned by an Advanced Practice Nurse who has met
requirements of a Boardof Nursing approved certifying
agency.

8.14.3   Pharmacology/Pharmacotherapeutics -
refers to any course, program, or offering that would include,
butnot be limited to, the identification of individual and
classes of drugs, their indications and contraindications, their
likelihood of success, their dosages, their side-effects and
their interactions.  It also encompasses clinical judgement
skills and decision making.  These skills may be based on
thorough interviewing, history taking, physical assessment,
test selection and interpretation, patho-physiology,
epidemiology, diagnostic reasoning, differentiation of
conditions, treatment decisions, case evaluation and non-
pharmacologic interventions.

8.14.4  Prescription Order - includes the
prescription date, the name of the patient, the name, address,
area of specialization and business telephone number of the
advanced practice nurse prescriber, the name, strength,
quantity, directions for use, and number of refills of the drug
product or device prescribed, and must bear the name and
prescriber ID number of the advanced practice nurse
prescriber, and when applicable, prescriber’s D.E.A. number
and signature.  There must be lines provided to show
whether the prescription must be dispensed as written or
substitution is permitted.

8.15  Requirements for Initial Independent Practice/
prescriptive Authority

An APN who has not had independent prescriptive
authority within the past two years in Delaware or any other
jurisdiction who is applying for independent practice and/or
independent prescriptive authority shall:

8.15.1  Be an Advanced Practice Nurse
(APN)holding a current permanent license issued by the
Board of Nursing (BON).  If the individual does not hold
national certification, eligibility will be determined on a case
by case basis.

8.15.2  Have completed a post basic advanced
practice nursing program that meets the criteria as
established in Section 4.7 of Article 7 of the Rules and
Regulations of the Delaware Board of Nursing with
documentation of academic courses in advanced health
assessment, diagnosis and management of problems within
the clinical specialty, advanced patho-physiology and
advanced pharmacology/pharmacotherapeutics.  In the
absence of transcript verification of the aforementioned
courses, applicants shall show evidence of content
integration through course descriptions, course syllabi, or
correspondence from school officials. If the applicant cannot
produce the required documentation, such applicant may
petition the Joint Practice Committee for consideration of
documented equivalent independent prescriptive authority
experience.

8.15.3 Submit a copy of the current collaborative
agreement to the Joint Practice Committee (JPC).  The
collaborative agreement(s) shall include arrangements for
consultation, referral and/or hospitalization complementary
to the area of the nurse's independent practice.

8.15.4  Show evidence of the equivalent of at least
thirty hours of advanced pharmacology and
pharmacotherapeutics related continuing education within
the two years prior to application for independent practice
and/or independent prescriptive authority.  This may be
continuing education programs or a three credit, semester
long graduate level course.  The thirty hours may also occur
during the generic APN program as integrated content as
long as this can be documented to the JPC.  All offerings will
be reviewed and approved by the JPC.

8.15.5  Demonstrate how submitted continuing
education offerings relate to pharmacology and therapeutics
within their area of specialty.  This can be done by
submitting the program titles to show content and dates
attended.  If the JPC questions the relevance of the offerings,
the applicant must have available program descriptions, and/
or learner objectives, and/or program outlines for submission
to the JPC for their review and approval.

8.16  Requirements for Independent Practice/
prescriptive Authority by Endorsement

An APN who has had prescriptive authority in
another jurisdiction who is applying for independent practice
and/or independent prescriptive authority shall:

8.16.1  Show evidence of meeting 8.15.1 and
8.15.3.

8.16.2  Show evidence of having current
prescriptive authority in another jurisdiction.

8.16.3  Have no  encumbered APN designation(s)
in any jurisdiction.

8.16.4  Show evidence of completion of a minimum
of ten hours of JPC approved pharmacology/
pharmacotherapeutics related continuing education within
the area of specialization and licensure within the past two
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years.
8.17  Application

8.17.1  Names and credentials of qualified
applicants will be forwarded to the Joint Practice Committee
for approval and then forwarded to the Board of Medical
Practice for review and final approval.

8.18  Prescriptive Authority
8.18.1  APNs may prescribe, administer, and

dispense legend medications including Schedule II - V
controlled substances, (as defined in the Controlled
Substance Act and labeled in compliance with 24 Del.C.
Section 2536(C), parenteral medications, medical
therapeutics, devices and diagnostics.

8.18.2  APNs will be assigned a provider identifier
number as outlined by the Division of Professional
Regulation.

8.18.3  Controlled Substances registration will be as
follows:

8.18.3.1  APNs must register with the Drug
Enforcement Agency and use such DEA number for
controlled substance prescriptions.

8.18.3.2  APNs must register biennially with
the Office of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs in accordance
with 16 Del.C., Section 4732(a).

8.18.4 APNs may request and issue professional
samples of legend, including schedule II-V controlled
substances, and over-the-counter medications that must be
labeled in compliance with 24 Del.C., Section 2536(C).

8.18.5 APNs may give verbal prescription orders.
8.19  Prescriptive Writing

8.19.1  All prescription orders will be written as
defined by the Delaware Board of Pharmacy as defined in
8.14.4.

8.20  Renewal
8.20.1  Maintain current APN licensure.
8.20.2 Maintain competency through a minimum of

ten hours of JPC approved pharmacology/
pharmacotherapeutics related continuing education within
the area of specialization and licensure per biennium.  The
pharmacology/ pharmacotherapeutics content may be a
separate course or integrated within other offerings.

8.21  Disciplinary Proceedings
8.21.1  Complaints against an APN will be

forwarded to the Division of Professional Regulation.
Acomplaint related to independent practice/prescriptive
authority will be referred to the Joint Practice Committee for
review and disposition and then forwarded to the Board of
Medical Practice for review and final approval in an
expeditious manner.

8.21.2  All other complaints regarding APNs will
continue to be under the sole jurisdiction of the Board of
Nursing.

See 4 DE Reg. 296 (8/1/00)
8.21.1 Pursuant to 24 Del. C., §1906(19)(c), the

Joint Practice Committee is statutorily empowered, with the
approval of the Board of Medical Practice, to grant
independent practice and/or prescriptive authority to nurses
who qualify for such authority.  The Joint Practice
Committee is also empowered to restrict, suspend or revoke
such authority also with the approval of the Board of
Medical Practice.

8.21.2  Independent practice or prescriptive
authority may be restricted, suspended or revoked where the
nurse has been found to have committed unprofessional
conduct in his or her independent practice or prescriptive
authority or if his or her mental or physical faculties have
changed or deteriorated in such a manner as to create an
inability to practice or prescribe with reasonable skill or
safety to patients.

8.21.3  Unprofessional conduct, for purposes of
restriction, suspension or revocation of independent practice
or prescriptive authority shall include but not be limited to:

8.21.3.1  The use or attempted use of any false,
fraudulent or forged statement or document or use of any
fraudulent, deceitful, dishonest or immoral practice in
connection with any acquisition or use of independent
practice or prescriptive authority;

8.21.3.2  Conviction of a felony;
8.21.3.3  Any dishonorable or unethical

conduct likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public;
8.21.3.4 Use, distribution or prescription of any

drugs or medical devices other than for therapeutic or
diagnostic purposes;

8.21.3.5  Misconduct, incompetence, or gross
negligence in connection with independent or prescriptive
practice;

8.21.3.6  Unjustified failure upon request to
divulge information relevant to authorization or competence
to independently practice or exercise prescriptive authority
to the Executive Director of the Board of Nursing or to
anyone designated by him or her to request such
information.

8.21.3.7  The violation of the Nurse Practice
Act or of an Order or Regulation of the Board of Nursing or
the Board of Medical Practice related to independent
practice or prescriptive authority.

8.21.3.8  Restriction, suspension, or revocation
of independent practice or prescriptive authority granted by
another licensing authority in any state, territory or federal
agency.

8.21.4 Complaints concerning the use or misuse of
independent practice or prescriptive authority received by
the Division of Professional Regulation or the Board of
Nursing shall be investigated in accordance with the
provisions of Title 29, Section 8807 governing
investigations by the Division of Professional Regulation.
As soon as convenience permits, the Board of Nursing shall
assign an Investigating Board Member to assist with the
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investigation of the complaint.  The Investigating Board
Member shall, whenever practical, be a member of the Joint
Practice Committee.

8.21.5  Upon receipt of a formal complaint from the
Office of the Attorney General seeking the revocation,
suspension or restriction of independent practice or
prescriptive authority, the Committee Chairperson shall
promptly arrange for not less than a quorum of the
Committee to convene for an evidentiary hearing concerning
such complaint upon due notice to the licensee against whom
the complaint has been filed.  Such notice shall comply with
the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act (29 Del.
C., Chapter 101).

8.21.6 The hearing shall be conducted in
accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act  (29 Del.
C., §101), and after the conclusion thereof, the Joint Practice
Committee will promptly issue a written Decision and Order
which shall be based upon the affirmative vote of a majority
of the quorum hearing the case.

8.21.7  Any written Decision and Order of the Joint
Practice Committee which imposes a restriction, suspension
or revocation of independent practice or prescriptive
authority shall not be effective prior to the approval of the
Board of Medical Practice.

12.0  Advisory Committees
12.1  Appointment of Committees

12.1.1  The Board may appoint advisory
committees to assist in the performance of its duties.

12.1.2  Advisory committees will be chaired by a
Board member.

12.1.3  Each advisory committee shall consist of
members who have expertise in the subject assigned.

12.1.4  Any such advisory committee shall function
in the public interest, and no member shall be designated as
representative of any agency or organization.

12.2  Membership of Committees
12.2.1  Potential members shall submit resumes and

receive Board approval prior to appointment.
12.2.2  Members may include Registered Nurses,

Licensed Practical Nurses, Advanced Practice Nurses and
lay persons.

12.3  Joint Practice Committee
12.3.1 [Nursing] Membership

12.3.1.1 Members are selected [24] Del. C., §
1906(19)

12.3.1.2 The Board of Nursing shall appoint
the Advanced Practice Nurses (APN) under the following
guidelines:

12.3.1.2.1  At least one of the APN
members shall be a Clinical Specialist, one APN  member a
Certified Nurse Midwife, one APN member a Certified
Registered Nurse Anesthetist, and two APN members Nurse
Practitioners.  If there is no qualified APN available in the

needed specialty, then appointments shall be made from
APNs in other specialties. 

12.3.1.2.2  The APNs must have
independent prescriptive authority to be a member of the
JPC.

12.3.1.2.3  The Board of Nursing shall
appoint one public member.

12.3.1.3  One of the Board of Nursing
appointees shall be a current Board of Nursing Member.

12.3.1.4  The Executive Director of the Board
of Nursing shall make a call for applications for potential
members to fill vacancies on the JPC.  The potential
members shall submit their resumes to the Executive
Director.  The resumes shall be reviewed by the Executive
Director and the APN member of the Board of Nursing.
They shall then make recommendations to the Board of
Nursing for approval and appointment of the members to the
JPC.

12.3.1.5  Members shall serve two-year terms.
12.3.1.6  The Executive Director shall verify

members’ continued interest in serving on the JPC prior to
expiration of their two-year term. The Executive Director
shall submit the names of the JPC members who are
interested in serving another term on the JPC to the Board of
Nursing for reappointment to the JPC.  

12.3.1.7  Members who miss three consecutive
meetings shall be reported to the appointing Board which
may appoint a replacement member.

12.3.1.8  JPC shall be staffed by the Executive
Director of the Board of Nursing or designee who shall assist
the JPC in carrying out its duties.

12.3.2  Officers
12.3.2.1  JPC members shall elect a Chair and

Vice-Chair each September.
12.3.2.2  The Chair shall preside at meetings

and hearings.
12.3.2.3  The Vice-Chair shall preside at the

meetings and hearings in the absence of the Chair.
12.3.2.4  In the absence of the Chair and Vice-

Chair, the next senior member shall preside.
12.3.3  Meetings

12.3.3.1  Meetings will be scheduled in
accordance with all Laws and Rules and Regulations  that
apply to Committees under the Division of Professional
Regulation.

12.3.3.2  Five members of the JPC constitute a
quorum.

12.3.3.3  A meeting calendar shall be approved
by the JPC each September.

12.3.3.4  The JPC shall meet as necessary to
carry out its responsibilities as defined in 24 Del. C.,
§1906(20).

12.3.3.5  The Board of Nursing Members on
the JPC shall give the committee report at each Board of
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Nursing meeting.  The Executive Director shall give the
report if the Board Member is absent.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 

Section 122(a) (14 Del.C. §122(a))

Regulatory Implementing Order

201  School Shared Decision-making Transition
Planning Grants

205  District Shared Decision-making Transition
Planning Grants

210  Approval Of School Improvement Grants

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks the approval of the
State Board of Education to reauthorize the following
regulations: 201 School Shared Decision-Making Transition
Planning Grants, 205 District Shared Decision-Making
Transition Planning Grants and 210 Approval of School
Improvement Grants.  These regulations have not changed
and are recommended for re-authorization because 14 Del.C.
Chapter 8, School Shared Decision-Making requires the
Department of Education to have regulations in these three
areas.  The implementation timetables in Chapter 8 have
passed and recourses are no longer available but the statute
remains in the Delaware Code and the regulations must be
preserved.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on October 18,
2001, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice
invited written comments and none were received from the
newspaper advertisements. 

II. Findings Of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is necessary to re-authorize
these regulations because 14 Del.C. Chapter 8 School
Shared Decision-Making requires the Department of
Education to have regulations on these issues.

III. Decision To Re-adopt The Regulations

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is necessary to re-authorize the regulations.  Therefore,
pursuant to 14 Del.C. Chapter 8, the regulations attached
hereto as Exhibit "B" are hereby re-authorized.  Pursuant to
the provisions of 14 Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby

re-authorized shall be in effect for a period of five years from
the effective date of this order as set fourth in Section V.
below.

IV.  Text And Citation

The text of the regulations re-authorized hereby shall be
in the form attached hereto as Exhibit "B," and said
regulations shall be cited in the Regulations of the
Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. Chapter 8, in open session at
the said Board's regularly scheduled meeting on December
20, 2001.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)
days from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 20th day of December 2001.

Department Of Education
Valerie A Woodruff, Secretary of Education

Approved this 20th day of December 2001.

State Board Of Education
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President  
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Robert J. Gilsdorf
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

201  School Shared Decision-Making Transition 
Planning Grants

1.0  Requests for a school shared decision-making
transition planning grant shall be submitted via the local
board of education to the Office of the Secretary of
Education, Delaware Department of Education, P.O. Box
1402, Townsend Building, Dover, DE 19903.  Grant
requests shall include the following information:

2.0  A copy of the Report and Recommendations of the
School Advisory Committee.  The Report must be signed by
a representative of each stakeholder group that participated
in the process and should include the following information,
indicating that the requirements of 14 Del. C. § 804. have
been met.

2.1  School Advisory Committee (list names and
groups represented)

2.2  Listing of the structured conversations and a

http://www.doe.state.de.us/


FINAL REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 5, ISSUE 8, FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 2002

1616

brief description of the activities
2.3  Brief description of how stakeholders made a

good faith effort to communicate with their constituent
groups

2.4  Recommendation to develop a school transition
plan to implement shared decision-making

2.5  Process for establishing a school transition plan
2.6  Process for determining the composition and

roles and responsibilities delegated to the School Transition
Team

3.0  The School Transition Team (list names and groups
represented).

3.1  A description of the process for the School
Transition Team to reach decisions and resolve conflicts.

4.0  Assurance that the school has committed to develop
a school improvement plan including comprehensive school
improvement goals tied to state and local academic
performance standards and strategies to achieve these goals
and including staff development for building the necessary
capacities and skills to successfully implement shared
decision-making and improve parental involvement.

5.0  A description of the plan for communicating the
results of the school improvement plan to the broader school
community for information and critical review.

6.0  A description of how the various stakeholder groups
will formally express their opinion regarding the school
transition plan prior to its adoption by the local board of
education.

7.0  Signatures of each stakeholder group representative
indicating the stakeholder's belief that the grant should be
awarded to the school.  Any stakeholder refusing to sign
should explain why as part of the grant request.

8.0  Assurance that a copy of the Report and
Recommendations is posted within the school for public
review.

9.0  Assurance that each stakeholder signing the Report
and Recommendations has received a copy of the signed
report, as well as a copy of the grant request.

10.0  Procedure to be used by interested parties to obtain
a copy of the school grant request.

205  District Shared Decision-Making Transition 
Planning Grants

1.0  Requests for a district shared decision-making
transition planning grant shall be submitted to the Office of
the Secretary of Education, Delaware Department of
Education, P.O. Box 1402, Townsend Building, Dover, DE
19903.  Grant requests shall include the following
information:

1.1  The Board Resolution endorsing both the
concept of shared decision-making and the Report and
Recommendations of the District Advisory Committee.

1.2  A copy of the Report and Recommendations of

the District Advisory Committee.  The Report must be
signed by a representative of each stakeholder group that
participated in the process and should include the following
information, indicating that the requirements of 14 Del. C. §
802 have been met.

1.2.1  District Advisory Committee (list names
and groups represented)

1.2.2  Listing of the structured conversations
and a brief description of the activities

1.2.3  Brief description of how stakeholders
made a good faith effort to communicate with their
constituent groups

1.2.4  Recommendation to develop a district
transition plan to implement shared decision-making

1.2.5  Process for establishing a district
transition plan

1.2.6  Process for determining the composition
and roles and responsibilities delegated to the District
Transition Team

1.3  The District Transition Team (list names and
groups represented).

1.4  A description of the process for the District
Transition Team to reach decisions and resolve conflicts.

1.5  A description of the plan for communicating
the results of the district transition plan to the broader school
community for information and critical review.

1.6  Acknowledgment that within the district
transition plan there must be a policy for supporting shared
decision-making activities from the local budget, including
the school improvement planning process set forth in 14 Del.
C. § 806, and acknowledgment that funds must be
specifically identified and made available for use by school
committees.

1.7  A description of how the various stakeholder
groups will formally express their opinion regarding the
district transition plan prior to its adoption by the local board
of education.

1.8  Signatures of each stakeholder group
representative indicating the stakeholder's belief that the
grant should be awarded to the district.  Any stakeholder
refusing to sign should explain why as part of the grant
request.

1.9  Assurance that a copy of the Report and
Recommendations is posted within the district for public
review.

1.10  Assurance that each stakeholder signing the
Report and Recommendations has received a copy of the
signed report, as well as a copy of the grant request.

1.11  Procedure to be used by interested parties to
obtain a copy of the district grant request.

210  Approval of School Improvement Grants

1.0  A school that has an approved shared decision-
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making transition plan as specified in 14 Del. C. §806, may
apply for a school improvement implementation grant.  To
apply for a grant, the principal of the eligible school should
submit a letter of request to the Office of the Secretary of
Education, Delaware Department of Education, P. O. Box
1402, Townsend Building, Dover, DE 19903.  Requests shall
include the following information:

1.1  Evidence that the local board of education has
adopted the school's transition plan; and

1.2  The school improvement plan containing the
following components:

1.2.1  Comprehensive school improvement
goals tied to state and local academic performance standards
and strategies to achieve these and other goals identified by
the school, including staff development and parental
involvement;

1.2.2  A description of the rationale for the
proposed governance structure, stating how and why the
governance process should improve decision-making and
support continuous improvement in teaching and student
learning;

1.2.3  Evidence of review by the broader
school community with agreement that the school
improvement plan is consistent with the school district plan
and evidence that the local board of education has formally
adopted the school's improvement plan;

1.2.4  A proposed budget that explains the use
of resources allocated to the school to support strategies for
achieving the school improvement goals;

1.2.5  The structural changes or procedures for
providing the necessary time and skill-building to support
shared decision-making and continuous improvement in
teaching and student learning;

1.2.6  The assessment and evaluation process
that the school will use to measure its progress toward
achieving its stated goals;

1.2.7  A proposed timeline for phasing-in the
school improvement plan; and

1.2.8  A proposed budget for the use of the
school improvement grant.

2.0  A school with an approved application shall be
eligible for a school improvement grant for the following (3)
years as provided in the annual appropriations act.
Subsequent applications may be made only after the review
and evaluation of the school improvement plan required by
14 Del. C. §808 is completed and the results of such are
included in the school's application.

See 1 DE Reg. 1400 (3/1/98)

Regulatory Implementing Order

828 Assistance With Medications On Field Trips

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Secretary of Education seeks to amend Regulation
828 Assistance with Medications on Field Trips.  The
amendment is necessary to delete the phrase "and a
statement releasing the assistant from liability" from section
2.1. which requires a prior written request from the parent or
guardian for the administration of medications on field trips.
The use of that phrase raises issues relating to conditioning
the receipt of services by special education students upon the
granting of a release of liability.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News November 26,
2001, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The notice
invited written comments and none were received from the
newspaper advertisements. 

II. Findings Of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend this
regulation because The use of the phrase "and a statement
releasing the assistant from liability" raises issues relating to
conditioning the receipt of services by special education
students upon the granting of a release of liability.

III. Decision To Amend The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is necessary to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant
to 14 Del.C. §122, the regulation attached hereto as Exhibit
"B" is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of 14
Del.C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be in
effect for a period of five years from the effective date of this
order as set fourth in Section V. below.

IV.  Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit "B," and said regulation
shall be cited in the Regulations of the Department of
Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122 on January 7, 2002.
The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from
the date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.
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IT IS SO ORDERED this 7th day of January 2002.

Department Of Education
Valerie A Woodruff, Secretary of Education

828  Assistance With Medications on Field Trips

1.0  Definitions
“Assist a student with medication” means assisting a

student in the self-administration of a medication, provided
that the medication is in a properly labeled container as
hereinafter provided.  Assistance may include holding the
medication container for the student, assisting with the
opening of the container, and assisting the student in self-
administering the medication. Lay assistants shall not assist
with injections.  The one exception is with emergency
medications where standard emergency procedures prevail
in lifesaving circumstances.

“Field trip” means any off-campus, school-sponsored
activity.

“Medication” means a drug taken orally, by inhalation,
or applied topically, and which is either prescribed for a
student by a physician or is an over-the-counter drug which a
parent or guardian has authorized a student to use.

“Paraprofessionals” mean teaching assistants or aides.

2.0  Teachers, administrators and paraprofessionals
employed by a student’s local school district are
authorized to assist a student with medication on a field
trip subject to the following provisions:

2.1  Assistance with medication shall not be provided
without the prior written request or consent of a parent or
guardian.  Said written request or consent shall contain clear
instructions including:  the student’s name; the name of the
medication; the dose; the time of administration; and the
method of administration.; and a statement releasing the
assistant from liability.  At least one copy of said written
request or consent shall be in the possession of the person
assisting a student with medication on a field trip.

2.2  The medication shall be in a container which is
clearly labeled with the student’s name, the name of the
medication, the dose, the time of administration, and the
method of administration.  If the medication has been
prescribed by a physician, it shall be in a container which
meets United States Pharmacopoeia/National Formulary
standards and, in addition to the information otherwise
required by this section, shall bear the name of the
prescribing physician, and the name and telephone number
of the dispensing pharmacy.

2.3  A registered nurse employed by the school district
in which the student is enrolled shall determine which
teachers, administrators and paraprofessionals are qualified
to safely assist a student with medication. Each such person
shall complete a Board of Nursing approved training course

developed by the Delaware Department of Education,
pursuant to 24 Del.C. 1921.  Said nurse shall complete
instructor training as designated by the Department of
Education and shall submit a list of successful staff
participants to the Department of Education. No person shall
assist a student with medication without written
acknowledgement that he/she has completed the course and
that he/she understands the same, and will abide by the safe
practices and procedures set forth therein.

2.4  Each school district shall maintain a record of all
students receiving assistance with medication pursuant to
this regulation.  Said record shall contain the student’s name,
the name of the medication, the dose, the time of
administration, the method of administration, and the name
of the person assisting.

2.5  Except for a school nurse, no employee of a school
district shall be compelled to assist a student with
medication.  Nothing contained herein shall be interpreted to
otherwise relieve a school district of its obligation to staff
schools with certified school nurses.

See 5 DE Reg. 873 (10/1/01)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 91 (7 Del.C. Ch. 91)

Secretary's Order No.:  2002-A-0002

Proposed Amended Regulations Governing
Hazardous Substance Cleanup

Section 14.5: Brownfields Determination Criteria

Date of Issuance:January 14, 2002

Effective Date of the Amendment:February 11, 2002

I. Background

On Tuesday, January 8, 2002, the Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control-Site
Investigation and Restoration Branch ("DNREC-SIRB"}
held a public hearing at the DNREC Lukens Drive facility,
391 Lukens Drive, New Castle, Delaware, in order to receive
comments on the Proposed Amended Regulations
Governing Hazardous Substance Cleanup (September 1996)
("HSCA Regulations"). This hearing was held pursuant to 7

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
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Del.C. Chapter 91 following the procedural guidelines found
in 7 Del. C. Chapter 60.

This amendment to the HSCA Regulations is being
proposed pursuant to Senate Bill 183, which authorizes the
Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control (DNREC or the Department) to
certify all or part of a real property as a Brownfield. SB 183
also defines a Brownfield as, "…any vacant, abandoned or
underutilized real property, the development or
redevelopment of which may be hindered by the reasonably
held belief that the real property may be environmentally
contaminated". The proposed regulation is a new provision
in Section 14: Funding and Response Costs. The amended
regulation is referenced as 14.5: Brownfields Determination
Criteria.

II. Findings and Conclusions

1. Proper notice of the hearing was provided as
required by law.

2. Based on the record developed in the course of this
hearing, it appears that DNREC-SIRB has provided a sound
basis for the proposed amendment to the Regulations
Governing Hazardous Substance Cleanup, Section 14,
including reasoned responses to the various comments made
in this matter.  The Response Document is attached hereto
and made a part of this Order.  Thus, the proposed
regulations should be adopted with the minor, non-
substantive revision regarding the term "use" in 1.A as
indicated.

3. This rulemaking represents the first step in an
evolving effort to develop sound and comprehensive
requirements which will implement the legislative intent of
Senate Bill 183.

III.  Order

It is hereby ordered that the proposed amendment to the
Regulations Governing Hazardous Substance Cleanup,
Section 14, be promulgated in final form, with one minor
revision as indicated, in accordance with the customary
statutory procedure.

IV.  Reasons

The amendment to the Regulations Governing
Hazardous Substance Cleanup, Section 14, will aid the State
of Delaware in remediating and redeveloping properties
contaminated with the release(s) of hazardous substances,
also referred to as Brownfields, and will assist the
Department in furtherance of the policy and purposes of 7
Del. C. Chapter 91, the Hazardous Substance Cleanup Act.

Nicholas A DiPasquale, Secretary

Regulation Governing the Delaware Hazrdous
Substance Cleanup Act

Subsection 14.5:  Brownfields Determination Criteria
(1) Criteria for Certification.  The Department may

certify all or part of a parcel of real property as a Brownfield
based on the following criteria:

(a) The property must meet the following [use]
criteria:

(i) All or that part of the property must be
abandoned, vacant or underutilized; and

(ii) All or that part of the property must be
subject to either a current or prospective development or
redevelopment plan; and 

(iii) The property must satisfy one of the
following conditions:

(A) The party seeking the Brownfield
certification must have sufficient information or
environmental data to show that the development or
redevelopment may be hindered by the reasonably held
belief that the property may be contaminated;

(B) The property is one of the following
classes of uses, which are deemed to fulfill the requirement
for information or environmental data concerning
contamination, which may hinder development or
redevelopment:

(I) Salvage yards;
(II) Permitted or non-permitted

landfills;
(III) Lands that have been subject

to historical filling with material other than clean soil;
(IV) Known hazardous substance

release sites that have not been remediated, including those
previously identified by DNREC-SIRB and which are within
its inventory of hazardous substance release sites; 

(V) Gas stations; and
(VI) Dry cleaners.

The activities listed in (3)(B) (I) – (VI)
apply to current or former sites that have not been
remediated under HSCA; if the parcel has undergone a
previous remediation under HSCA, the applicant must not
have caused or contributed to the new release of hazardous
substance(s). 

(b) The property must not be subject to any
enforcement action from any State or Federal environmental
agency unless such enforcement action is, in the opinion of
the Secretary, adequately resolved with the applicable
agency.

(c) The applicant, including the employees or
agents thereof, must not, in the opinion of the Secretary,
have intentionally caused the contamination of the property
in violation of applicable laws, or be a chronic violator of
state or federal environmental laws.

(d) Any Brownfield certification decision is at the
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sole discretion of the Secretary, or his designee
(2) Application for Certification.  

(a) Brownfield certification shall be provided only
to those persons who     apply for a certification from the
DNREC-SIRB. Such application shall contain the following
information:

(i) Name and address of the person seeking
the certification, and their relationship to the property;

(ii) Address of the property including tax
parcel designation;

(iii) Current use of the property and its zoning
classification;

(iv) Intended or proposed development or
redevelopment plan; and

(v) Reason(s) to believe that the property may
be contaminated, and why such contamination may hinder
development or redevelopment.

(vi) Upon request by the Secretary, or his
designee, the applicant shall provide any and all
documentation regarding all environmental investigations of
the property, or chronic violator status of the applicant
pursuant to 7 Del. C. Section 7904.

(b) Brownfield certification shall be provided only
to those persons who are willing to enter into the Voluntary
Cleanup Program (VCP), or who agree to any other
settlement agreement approved by the Department pursuant
to HSCA.

(3) Effect of Brownfield Certification. 
(a) Certification of all or part of a parcel of real

property as a Brownfield places it in the inventory of
hazardous substance release sites. 

(b) Properties certified as being a Brownfield may
be considered in the preparation of funding
recommendations under Section 14.1 through 14.4. 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES AND THE

DIVISION OF HIGHWAY SAFETY

Statutory Authority: 21 Delaware Code,
Section 4177F(e) (21 Del.C. §4177F(e))

Summary Of The Evidence

A properly noticed hearing was scheduled on November
29, 2001 pursuant to 21 Del.C. § 4177F(e) and 29 Del.C. Ch.
101 in the second floor conference room, Public Safety
Building, Dover, Delaware to receive public comment on the
proposed Policy Regulation Number 91 concerning Ignition
Interlock Device Installation, Removal and Fees. The
attendance sheet and recording of public comments are
attached to this order.

No public comment was received.

Findings Of Fact

Based on the evidence received, the Division of Motor
Vehicles finds the following facts:

1. The implementation of the fee schedule in this
Regulation will assist participation in the Ignition Interlock
program.

The Law

The Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles'
authority to promulgate a fee schedule for Ignition Interlock
usage is provided by 21 Del. C. § 4177F(e) that states:

(e) Installment payment of costs; indigent program.
The Division of Motor Vehicles shall establish a
payment plan for participants.  The plans shall be
administered by the service provider and the
participant shall make all payments under the plan
to the service provider.  The initial payment shall
include the installation cost and 2 months' lease for
a minimum charge and a minimum down payment
of $180.  The participant shall thereafter make
payments every 2 months for the lease of the
equipment in the amount of $110 until the balance
is paid.  The Division may increase the minimum
amount by regulation.  Any taxes due shall be
payable in addition to minimum amounts at the
time of each payment.The Division shall further
develop and implement an indigent plan for
impoverished persons, which shall be available on a
lottery basis.  For every 20 devices installed at
regular prices, at least 1 device shall be provided at
approximately half price under this program.

Decision

The Director hereby adopts Policy Regulation Number
91 as proposed and a copy of this Regulation as adopted is
attached to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 3rd, day of January, 2002.

James L. Ford, Secretary, Department of Public Safety
Michael D. Shahan, Director, Division of Motor Vehicles

http://www.state.de.us/highway/index.htm
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Policy Regulation Number 91
Concerning:  Ignition Interlock Device Installation, 

Removal, and Monthly Monitoring and Calibration Fees.

I.  Authority
The authority to promulgate this regulation is 21 Del.C.

§4177F(e).

II.  Purpose
Title 21 Del.C. §4177F established a program utilizing

the Ignition Interlock device for those individuals with an
alcohol-related violation or offense.  After surveying the fees
charged by surrounding jurisdictions for similar services,
this policy regulation will establish a fee schedule for all
expenses related to installation and lease of the device.

III.  Applicability
This policy regulation concerns Title 21 Del.C. §4177F.

IV.  Substance of Policy
1.  Installation of Device

All persons who voluntarily or as a result of a court
order, install an Ignition Interlock device in a motor vehicle
monitored in conjunction with the Division of Motor
Vehicles, will be charged a fee by the provider for that
service, and this fee will include the cost of removing the
device at the termination of the program.

The service providers shall charge a fee not to
exceed $100.00 for installation of the Interlock device, but
this amount includes a rebate of $30.00 which will be
returned to the client at the time of removal.  This fee shall
be the responsibility of the clients.

2.  Monthly Monitoring & Calibration
All persons with an Ignition Interlock device

installed in a vehicle monitored in conjunction with the
Division of Motor Vehicles, shall be charged a fee for the
monthly electronic monitoring and regular calibration of the
device.  

The service providers shall charge a fee not to
exceed $75.00 for monthly monitoring and calibration. This
fee shall be the responsibility of the clients.

3.  Initial down Payment
The initial payment will include the installation fee

and the first month’s monitoring and calibration. The initial
payment, therefore, shall not exceed $175.00 and the bi-
monthly payment shall not exceed $150.00

4.  Other Fees
The Division of Motor Vehicles recognizes that

Service providers may charge fees for other services outside
the scope of this policy regulation, including but not limited
to fees for missed appointments, device resets, and optional
insurance programs relating to damage or loss of the device.  

5.  Definition of Alcohol Related Violations and
Offenses

For purposes of this policy regulation, alcohol-
related violations and offenses shall mean violations of
Sections 2740, 2742, 4177, 4177B, 4175 of Title 21,
conforming statutes of other states or the District of
Columbia, or local ordinances in conformity therewith.

VI.  Severability
If any part of this Regulation is held to be

unconstitutional or otherwise contrary to law by a court of
competent jurisdiction, said portion shall be severed and the
remaining portions of this Regulation shall remain in full
force and effect under Delaware law.

VII.  Effective Date
The following regulation shall be effective 10 days from

the date the order is signed and it is published in its final
form in the Register of Regulations in accordance with 29
Del. C. §10118(e).
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER TWENTY-THREE

RE: ESTABLISHING THE GOVERNOR'S
PUBLIC WORKS AND PROCUREMENT
OPPORTUNITY COUNCIL AND SETTING
STANDARDS FOR CONTRACTING BY
STATE AGENCIES

WHEREAS, by Executive Order No. 71, dated
December 7, 1999, former Governor Carper established the
Governor's Building and Trades Council;

WHEREAS, by Executive Order No. 78, dated March
17, 2000, former Governor Carper established certain goals
for state agencies with respect to awarding public works
contracts and changed the membership of the Governor's
Building and Trades Council;

WHEREAS, since its formation, the Governor's
Building and Trades Council has advised the Governor on a
variety of public works and procurement issues, including
but not limited to public works contracts in the building and
construction industry;

WHEREAS, since the entry of Executive Order No. 78,
the State has commissioned and received a disparity study
prepared by MGT of America, Inc., dated June 26, 2001 (the
"Disparity Study");

WHEREAS, the Disparity Study was limited in scope to
assess only potential disparity in the utilization of minority-
owned and women-owned firms with respect to certain large
public works contracts in the areas of bridge and road
construction, and building construction;

WHEREAS, the Disparity Study provides evidence that
there are perceived barriers for minority-owned and women-
owned businesses to avail themselves of opportunities to
contract with the State with respect to the public works
projects and the types of contracts reviewed, and that there
may be under-utilization of minority-owned and women-
owned firms for certain public works contracts with the
State;

WHEREAS, the State remains committed to providing
equal employment opportunities to all Delawareans, and to
fostering the creation, growth and success of women and
minority construction firms and professional service firms
related to the construction industry;

WHEREAS, the State is also committed to eliminating
all discrimination in all areas of State procurement, in
accordance with applicable federal and State law, and is
further committed to ensuring that qualified, available
minority-owned and women-owned businesses have a full
and fair opportunity to contract with the State, both directly

and as subcontractors, for public works contracts, supply
contracts, and professional and other services contracts;

WHEREAS, the coordinated efforts of the public and
private sectors are necessary to significantly increase the
participation of women and minorities in all aspects of State
contracting and procurement; and

WHEREAS, the State must maintain a practical and
efficient outreach program that promotes sound recruitment,
education and business support practices;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Ruth Ann Minner, by virtue of
the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of
Delaware, do hereby order and declare the following:

1. The Governor's Building and Trades Council is
abolished, and is hereby replaced with the Governor's Public
Works and Procurement Opportunity Council (the
"Council").

2. The charge of the Council shall be (a) to work in
conjunction with the State of Delaware to maximize
participation by qualified minority-owned and women-
owned businesses in public works projects and other areas of
procurement funded wholly or partially by the State, and (b)
to develop a statewide recruitment and business support
strategy to ensure that public and private initiatives are
coordinated and focused so as to provide the support and
assistance required to significantly increase the participation
of women and minorities in all areas of State contracting and
procurement. For purposes of this Order, "public works
projects" shall include contracts for construction,
reconstruction, demolition, alteration and repair work and
maintenance work paid for, in whole or in part, with public
funds.

3. The Council shall be composed of the following:
(i) A Chairperson, to be selected by the Governor;
(ii) Director of the Delaware Economic

Development Office;
(iii) Secretary of the Department of Labor;
(iv) Secretary of the Department of Administrative

Services;
(v) Secretary of the Department of Transportation;
(vi) A representative of the Office of the Mayor of

the City of Wilmington;
(vii)A representative of the Latin American

Community Center;
(viii)A representative of the Delaware Commission

for Women;
(ix) A representative of the State of Delaware

branch of the National Association for the Advancement of
Colored People ("NAACP");

(x) A representative of the Metropolitan
Wilmington Urban League;

(xi) A representative of the Interdenominational
Ministries Action Council of Delaware, Inc.;

(xii)A representative of the Delaware Contractors'

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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Association;
(xiii)A representative of the Associated Builders

and Contractors;
(xiv)A representative of the Delaware Building and

Trades Council;
(xv) A representative of the Delaware Construction

Council;
(xvi)A representative of the YWCA Department for

Economic Advancement;
(xvii)A representative of the Minority Business

Association;
(xviii)A representative of the Korean American

Merchants' Association;
(xix)A representative of the National Association of

Women in Construction;
(xx) A representative of the African American

Chamber of Commerce of Pennsylvania, New Jersey and
Delaware, who is also a resident of the State of Delaware;

(xxi)A representative of the Delaware Small
Business Development Center; and

(xxii)One At-Large member to be selected by the
Governor.

4. The Department of Administrative Services shall:
(i) Supply staff support to the Council;
(ii) Communicate and coordinate the

implementation of the Council's recommendations across
State agencies; and,

(iii) Coordinate the activities of State agencies with
the private sector.

5. Every State agency having authority over
contracting on behalf of the State shall strive, through its
outreach efforts and coordination with the Council, the
Department of Administrative Services, and the private
sector, to maximize the number of minorities and women as
a component of the total workforce during the course of a
public works project.

6. Every State agency having authority over
contracting on behalf of the State shall actively pursue
contracting opportunities among qualified minority owned
and women-owned businesses.

7. Every State agency with authority over State
contracting shall provide information to the Department of
Administrative Services concerning bids and/or inquiries by
minority-owned and/or women-owned firms interested in
contracting with the State to engage in public works
activities, or to provide goods, or professional or non-
professional services to the State, so that the Department of
Administrative Services can maintain an active data-base of
such information.

8. Documented efforts should be made to increase the
participation of qualified minority-owned and women-
owned businesses in public works contracting with the State,
and to increase the number of qualified minority-owned and
women-owned firms that supply goods, professional

services, and non-professional services to the State.
9. The Department of Administrative Services shall

collect data concerning the compliance with this Order by
affected State agencies, and shall submit reports to the
Council and the Governor's Office documenting the efforts
of State agencies to meet the goals of this order during the
prior six months, on January 31 and July 31 of each year.

10. Executive Order No. 71 and Executive Order No.
78 are rescinded in their entirety.

Approved this 10th day of December, 2001.
Ruth Ann Minner, Governor

Attest:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State

STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER TWENTY-FOUR

RE: DECEMBER 24, 2001 HOLIDAY

WHEREAS, December 24, 2001 is the day before the
statutory Christmas Day holiday; and

WHEREAS, I wish to allow State of Delaware
employees an additional day this year to be with their
families during the holiday season.

I, RUTH ANN MINNER, GOVERNOR OF THE
STATE OF DELAWARE, HEREBY ORDER ON THIS
19TH DAY OF DECEMBER, 2001:

1.  December 24, 2001 is declared a holiday pursuant to
Rule 6.0100 of the Merit Rules of the State of Delaware.

2.  Public offices of the state subject to my authority will
be closed on December 24, 2001.

Ruth Ann Minner, Governor

Attest:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER
NUMBER TWENTY-FIVE

RE: REALLOCATION OF STATE PRIVATE
ACTIVITY BOND VOLUME CAP FOR
CALENDAR YEAR 2001 AND INITIAL
SUBALLOCATION OF STATE PRIVATE
ACTIVITY BOND VOLUME CAP FOR
CALENDAR YEAR 2002

WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5091, the State's
private activity bond volume cap ("Volume Cap") for 2001
under § 103 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (the
"Code") has been allocated among various state and local
government issuers; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Executive Order Number
Eighty-Four, $75,000,000 of the Volume Cap for 2001
which had been allocated to the State of Delaware was
further suballocated between the Delaware Economic
Development Authority and the Delaware State Housing
Authority; and

WHEREAS, the allocation of Volume Cap in Executive
Order Number Eighty-Four is subject to modification by
further Executive Order; and

WHEREAS, the State's Volume Cap for 2001 and 2002
is allocated among the various State and local government
issuers by 29 Del. C. §5091(a); and

WHEREAS, Kent County has reassigned $15,000,000
of its unallocated Volume Cap for 2001 to the State of
Delaware; and

WHEREAS, Sussex County has reassigned $10,500,000
of its unallocated Volume Cap for 2001 to the State of
Delaware; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware Economic Development
Authority has reassigned $37,500,000 of its unallocated
Volume Cap for 2001 to the Delaware State Housing
Authority; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del.C. §5091(b), the State's
$75,000,000 Volume Cap for 2002 is to be suballocated by
the Governor among the Delaware State Housing Authority,
the Delaware Economic Development Authority and other
governmental issuers within the State; and

WHEREAS, the Secretary of Finance recommends (i)
that the $25,500,000 unallocated Volume Cap for 2001
reassigned to the State of Delaware by other issuers be
suballocated to the Delaware State Housing Authority for
carry forward for use in future years; and (ii) that the
$37,500,000 of unallocated Volume Cap reassigned by the
Delaware Economic Development Authority be suballocated
to the Delaware State Housing Authority for carry forward

for use in future years; and (iii) that the State's $75,000,000
Volume Cap for 2002 be allocated equally between the
Delaware State Housing Authority and the Delaware
Economic Development Authority; and

WHEREAS, the Chairperson of the Delaware Economic
Development Authority and the Chairperson of the Delaware
State Housing Authority concur in the recommendations of
the Secretary of Finance.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RUTH ANN MINNER, by the
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware,
do hereby declare and order as follows:

1.  The $25,500,000 of unallocated Volume Cap for
2001 that has been reassigned by other issuers to the State of
Delaware is hereby reassigned to the Delaware State
Housing Authority for carry forward use, in addition to the
$37,500,000 previously suballocated to the Delaware State
Housing Authority for 2001 under Executive Order Eighty-
Four and the $37,500,000 of unallocated Volume Cap for
2001 that has been reassigned by the Delaware Economic
Development Authority, for a total carry forward amount of
$100,500,000.

2. The $75,000,000 allocation to the State of Delaware
of the 2002 Volume Cap is hereby suballocated:
$37,500,000 to the Delaware State Housing Authority and
$37,500,000 to the Delaware Economic Development
Authority.

3.  The aforesaid suballocations have been made with
due regard to actions taken by other persons in reliance upon
previous suballocations to bond issuers.

Approved this 21st day of December, 2001
Ruth Ann Minner, Governor

Attest:
Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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BOARD/COMMISSION      TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE   OFFICE

Board of Architects Mr. Goodwin K. Cobb, IV 12/06/04

Board of Audiologists, Speech Patholgists &
Hearing Aid Dispensers Mr. Leslie J. Moore 1/07/05

Board of Landscape Architects Ms. Barbara A. Hanson 1/07/05
Mr. Eric J. Sturm 1/07/05
Ms. Denise E. Weller 1/07/05

Board of Occupational Therapy Mr. David C. Mangler 1/07/05
Ms. Dana Maurer 1/07/05
Ms. Mara Beth Schmittinger 1/07/05

Board of Registration of Geologists Mr. Jerome Cooper 1/07/05
Mr. R. Peder Hansen 1/07/05

Child Placement Review Board Executive Committee Ms. Shirley Ann Cupery, Chair Pleasure of the
Governor

Health Facilities Authority Mr. William G. Neaton 1/07/07
Mr. Leonard W.Quill 1/07/07

Magistrate Screening Committee Ms. Michele Price-McCoy Pleasure of the
Governor

Real Estate Commission of Delaware Mr. James David Weldin 11/27/04

Selective Service Board Ms. Cynthia M.Christiansen   Forwarded to the
    President

of the United States
Mr. Edward M.Rush, Jr.   Forwarded to the

    President
of the United States

State Examining Board of Physical Therapists Ms. Ruth Ann Messick 12/06/04

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

EXAMINING BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPISTS

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Section 2604(1), the Delaware
State Examining Board of Physical Therapists proposes to
revise its rules and regulations.  The proposed changes
reflect the statutory change that allows a physical therapist to
now accept a referral from any licensed health practitioner
who has been granted prescriptive authority.  The proposed
changes also reflect the statutory changes that delineate the
requirements for practicing with a temporary license.  The
proposed changes define the direct supervision of an athletic
trainer in a non-clinical setting.  The proposed changes also
specify the number of continuing education hours required
for licensees whose licenses have lapsed and who have
reapplied for licensure under the conditions which govern
reciprocity.  The proposed regulations serve to implement or
clarify specific sections of 24 Del.C. Chapter 26. 

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Tuesday, March 19, 2002 at 6:00 p.m. in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904. The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Any written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Susan
Miccio at the above address.  The final date to submit written
comments shall be at the above scheduled public hearing.
Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed Rules and
Regulations or to make comments at the public hearing
should notify Susan Miccio at the above address or by
calling (302) 744-4506.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to 29 Del.C.
Chapter 101 and 24 Del.C. Section 3306 (a) (1), the
Delaware State Board of Veterinary Medicine proposes to
revise its rules and regulations.  The proposed change
concerns the retention of veterinary medical records.  The
proposed revision seeks to define unprofessional conduct for
a veterinarian as the destruction of veterinary medical
records before a period of three (3) years have elapsed from
the last entry into the medical record.  The proposed

regulation serves to implement or clarify specific sections of
24 Del. C. Chapter 33. 

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Tuesday, March 12, 2002 at 1:00 p.m. in the
Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon Building,
861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Delaware, 19904. The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed regulation.  Any written comments
should be submitted to the Board in care of Susan Miccio at
the above address.  The final date to submit written
comments shall be at the above scheduled public hearing.
Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed regulation
or to make comments at the public hearing should notify
Susan Miccio at the above address or by calling (302)
744-4506.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its
monthly meeting on Thursday, February 15, 2002
at 9:00 a.m. in the Townsend Building, Dover,
Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE

RESIDENTS PROTECTION

63  Regulations for Assisted Living Facilities

Public Notice

The Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS),
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection, has
prepared draft regulations pertaining to assisted living
facilities.  These proposed regulations are intended to
replace in their entirety assisted living regulations adopted in
December, 1997.  The proposed regulations specify required
services in assisted living facilities including licensing
requirements, specialized care for memory impairment,
medication management, resident assessments, resident
contracts and service agreements, staffing and physical plant
requirements as well as provisions for resident waivers and
conditions which preclude admission.  The proposed

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dltc/dltchome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/das/
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regulations also include a Uniform Assessment Instrument to
be used for initial and all subsequent assessments of
applicants and residents of assisted living facilities.

Invitation for Public Comment

Public hearings will be held as follows:
Monday, March 11, 2002, 10:00 AM 

Department of Natural Resources &
Environmental Control Auditorium
89 Kings Highway
Dover

Friday, March 15, 2002, 9:00 AM
Room 301, Main Building
Herman Holloway Campus
1901 N. DuPont Highway
New Castle

For clarification or directions, please call Gina
Loughery at 302-577-6661.

Written comments are also invited on these proposed
regulations and should be sent to the following address:

Katie McMillan
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
3 Mill Road, Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806
The last time to submit written comments will be at the

public hearing March 15, 2002.

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE

RESIDENTS PROTECTION

79  Regulations for Nursing Homes Admitting Pediatric 
Residents

Public Notice

The Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS),
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection, has
prepared draft regulations pertaining to nursing homes
admitting pediatric residents.  These regulations are intended
to supplement, and not supplant, general nursing home
regulations and other applicable laws.  The regulations
specify required services for pediatric residents including
facility, medical, therapy, nutritional, nursing, educational
and family services.

Invitation for Public Comment

Public hearings will be held as follows:
Monday, March 4, 2002, 10:00 AM

Department of Natural Resources &
Environmental Control Auditorium
89 Kings Highway
Dover

Wednesday, March 6, 2002, 9:00 AM
Room 301, Main Building
Herman Holloway Campus
1901 N. DuPont Highway
New Castle

For clarification or directions, please call Gina
Loughery at 302-577-6661.

Written comments are also invited on these proposed
regulations and should be sent to the following address:

Robert Smith
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
3 Mill Road, Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806

The last time to submit written comments will be at the
public hearing March 6, 2002.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Public Notice
Division of Social Services 

Food Stamp Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Food Stamp
Program is proposing to implement policy changes to the
following sections of the Division of Social Services
Manual, Section 7004.3 and 7007.   

Summary of Changes

DSSM 7004.3 Collection and Management of Food
Stamp Claims

• Adds the requirement which states that EBT
collections must be non-settling;

• Reduces the state’s retention rates for amounts of
claims collected.

DSSM 7007 Submission of Food Stamp Payments
• Adds the requirement that prohibits the refund of

over-collected claims when a balance adjustment
using expunged EBT benefits is responsible for the
over-collection.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dltc/dltchome.htm
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Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Mary Ann Daniels, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by February 28, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Public Notice
Division of Social Services 

Food Stamp Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Food Stamp
Program is proposing to implement policy changes to the
following sections of the Division of Social Services
Manual:  9028, 9030, 9040, 9081, and 9085.  These changes
are based on the Federal Final Rules of Food Stamp
Program:  Noncitizen Eligibility and Certification Provisions
of Public Law 104-193, as Amended by Public Laws 104-
208, 105-33, 105-185.  

Summary of Changes

1.  Under application and interview procedures, the
changes require the Division of Social   Services (DSS):

• to make clear that disadvantages and requirements
of applying for cash assistance do not apply to food
stamps,

• to encourage applicants to continue to apply for
food stamps if they decide not to apply for cash
assistance,

• to inform households that receiving food stamps
will have no bearing on any other program’s time
limits,

• to inform households that stop getting cash
assistance that they still may be eligible for food
stamp benefits,

• to inform applicants that the office interview can be
waived by conducting a telephone interview for
hardship cases,

• to assign households waived the face-to-face
interview normal certification periods, and

• to notify households that miss their interview
appointment that they are responsible for making
another appointment.

2.  Exempts deeming of sponsor income for indigent
aliens.

3.  Deletes several sections from sponsor deeming rules.
4.  Requires DSS to notify households about unclear

information by sending them written Request for Contact
(RFC) notice.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Mary Ann Daniels, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by February 28, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Public Notice
Division of Social Services 

Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid/
Medical Assistance Program is proposing to implement a
policy change to the following section of the Division of
Social Services Manual (DSSM): DSSM 14950.  The
proposed change eliminates Medicaid Guaranteed Eligibility
for Medicaid recipients enrolled in the Diamond State Health
Plan.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Mary Ann Daniels, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by February 28, 2002.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

Title of the Regulations:
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste

(DRGHW).

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
In order for the State of Delaware to maintain

authorization from the U. S. Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) to administer its own hazardous waste
management program, the State must maintain a program
that is equivalent to and no less stringent than the Federal
program.  To accomplish this, the State regularly amends the
DRGHW by adopting amendments previously promulgated
by EPA.  In addition, the State will be proposing
miscellaneous changes to the DRGHW that correct existing
errors, adds clarification or enhances the current program.

Notice of Public Comment:
The public hearing on the proposed amendments to

DRGHW will be held on Tuesday March 12, 2002 beginning
at 6:00 p.m. in the Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89
Kings Highway, Dover, DE.  In addition, those affected by
the proposed amendments are invited to attend a workshop
to be conducted on March 27, 2002 at the Smyrna Rest Area,
Smyrna, DE.  Pre-registration for the workshop is required.

DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

WASTE MANAGEMENT SECTION

Title of the Regulations:
Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste

(DRGHW).

Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
In order for the State of Delaware to maintain

authorization from the U. S. Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) to administer its own hazardous waste
management program, the State must maintain a program
that is equivalent to and no less stringent than the Federal
program.  To accomplish this, the State regularly amends the

DRGHW by adopting amendments previously promulgated
by EPA. 

Notice of Public Comment:
The public hearing on the proposed amendments to

DRGHW will be held on Tuesday March 12, 2002 beginning
at 6:00 p.m. in the Richardson and Robbins Auditorium, 89
Kings Highway, Dover, DE.

Prepared by:
Donald K. Short, Environmental Scientist, Solid and

Hazardous Waste Management - (302) 739-3689

DELAWARE RIVER BASIN 
COMMISSION

P.O. BOX 7360
25 STATE POLICE DRIVE

WEST TRENTON, NEW JERSEY 08628-0360

The Delaware River Basin Commission will meet on
Wednesday, February 6, 2002 in West Trenton, New Jersey.
For more information contact Pamela M. Bush, Commission
Secretary and Assistant General Counsel, at (609) 883-9500
ext. 203.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/AWM/AWM.htm
http://www.state.nj.us/drbc/drbc.htm
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