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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

2:6 Del. R. 1000 - 1010 (December 1, 1998)
refers to Volume 2, Issue 6, pages 1000 - 1010 of
the Delaware Register issued on December 1,
1998.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$120.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-739-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written



INFORMATION ABOUT THE DELAWARE                 
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 8, MONDAY, FEBUARY 1, 1999

1305

evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,
no judicial review of a regulation is available
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER 

OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
 DATE             DATE        TIME

MARCH 1 FEBRUARY 15 4:30 P.M.

APRIL 1 MARCH 15 4:30 P.M.

MAY 1 APRIL 15 4:30 P.M.

JUNE 1 MAY 15 4:30 P.M.

JULY 1 JUNE 15 4:30 P.M.

DIVISION OF RESEARCH STAFF:

William S. Montgomery, Director,
Division of Research; Walter G. Feindt, Deputy
Director; Kathleen K. Amalfitano, Secretary;
Jeffrey W. Hague, Registrar of Regulations;
Maryanne McGonegal, Research Analyst; Ruth
Ann Melson, Legislative Librarian; Deborah J.
Messina, Print Shop Supervisor; Alex W. Mull,
Assistant Registrar; Deborah A. Porter,
Administrative Secretary; Virginia L. Potts,
Administrative  Assistant; Barbara Ryan, Public
Information Clerk; Don Sellers, Printer; Thom
Shiels, Legislative Attorney; Marguerite P.
Smith, Public Information Clerk; Mary Jane
Starkey, Senior Secretary;  Marvin L. Stayton,
Printer; Rochelle Yerkes, Senior Secretary.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).

Attorney General
Opinion No. 98-IB03, Authority to Delegate Approval of Certain Personnel Transactions. .......2:2 Del.R.   324
Opinion No. 98-IB04, FOIA Complaint Against Appoquinimink School District............... .......2:2 Del.R.   325
Opinion No. 98-IB05, FOIA Complaint Against Appoquinimink School District............... .......2:4 Del.R.   699
Opinion No. 98-IB06, Candidacy of Richard L. Abbott........................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   700
Opinion No. 98-IB07, Sworn Payroll Information, 29 Del.C. 10002.................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   703
Opinion No. 98-IB08, Complaint Against the Town of Townsend....................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   705

Department of Administrative Services
Division of Professional Regulation

Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners..................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   164 (Prop.) 
2:5 Del.R.   775 (Final)

Board of Cosmetology and Barbering............................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   440 (Prop.)
Board of Funeral Services............................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   207 (Final)
Board of Examiners in Optometry.................................................................................. .......2:1 Del.R.     95 (Final)
Board of Examiners of Psychologists............................................................................. .......2:1 Del.R.   103 (Final)

2:3 Del.R.   341 (Prop.)
2:5 Del.R.   776 (Final)

Board of Examiners of Speech/Language Pathologists, Audiologists & Hearing Aid
Dispensers ........................................................................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   370 (Final)

Board of Funeral Services............................................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1061 (Prop.)
Board of Nursing ........................................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   682 (Final)
Board of Pharmacy ........................................................................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.       6 (Prop.)

2:4 Del.R.    683 (Final)
Board of Plumbing Examiners........................................................................................ .......2:7 Del.R.  1065 (Prop.)
Board of Professional Counselors of Mental Health...................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.      12 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.    371 (Final)
Delaware Council on Real Estate Appraisers................................................................. .......2:3 Del.R.    372 (Final)
Delaware Gaming Board, Bingo, Charitable Gambling & Raffles................................ .......2:4 Del.R.    444 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1224 (Final)

Department of Agriculture
Forest Service Regulations for State Forests......................................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   348 (Prop.)
Harness Racing Commission

Administrator of Racing, Definition............................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   457 (Prop.)
2:7 Del.R. 1239 (Final)

Inclusion in List of Commission Officials.............................................................. .......2:4 Del.R.   457 (Prop.) 
2:7 Del.R. 1240 (Final)

Calculation of Time Allowance Based on Weather Conditions..................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   462 (Prop.)
2:7 Del.R. 1244 (Final)

Calculation of Time Allowance Based on Weather Conditions..................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1068 (Prop.)
Commission’s Powers to Appoint Officials................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   456 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1238 (Final)
Commission’s Powers to Appoint Officials................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1068 (Prop.)
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Commission’s Powers to Regulate Drug Testing........................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   457 (Prop.)
2:7 Del.R. 1240 (Final)

Conditions for Non-Winners and Winners of Over $100.00.......................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   461 (Prop.)
2:7 Del.R. 1243 (Final)

Conditions for Number of Horses in Field..................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   461 (Prop.)
2:7 Del.R. 1244 (Final)

Creation of Racing Official Positions............................................................................. .......2:4 Del.R.   457 (Prop.)
Definition of Investigator................................................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   456 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1239 (Final)
Delaware Owned or Bred Races, Addition of................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   458 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1240 (Final)
Conditions for ......................................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   458 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1240 (Final)
Definitions of .......................................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   458 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1240 (Final)
Filing of Claiming Authorization at Time of Declaration, Requirement of................... .......2:4 Del.R.   460 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1242 (Final)
Overnight Events ........................................................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1068 (Prop.)
Payment of Court Reporter Costs by Licensees Filing Appeals..................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   461 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1243 (Final)
Procedure for Determination of Preference Dates.......................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   461 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1244 (Final)
Procedure for Determination of Preference Dates.......................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1068 (Prop.)
Procedure for Horses Placed on Steward’s List.............................................................. .......2:4 Del.R.   461 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1243 (Final)
Prohibition on Racing Claimed Horses.......................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1068 (Prop.)
Prohibition of Racing Horses 15 Years or Older............................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   460 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1243 (Final)
Revision of Procedures for Claiming Horse that Tests Positive for Illegal Substance... .......2:4 Del.R.   460 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1242 (Final)
Selection of Races in Division, Procedure for................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   460 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1243 (Final)
Whipping ........................................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   684 (Final)

Pesticide Rules & Regulations............................................................................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   724 (Prop.)
Thoroughbred Racing Commission

Administrator of Racing, Rule 4.10................................................................................ .......2:7 Del.R. 1070 (Prop.)
Appointment of Racing Officials, Rule 4.01.................................................................. .......2:7 Del.R. 1069 (Prop.)
Investigator, Rule 4.09.................................................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1070 (Prop.)
Limits on Claims, Rule 13.04......................................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1071 (Prop.)
Prohibition on Racing Claimed Horses, Rule 13.18....................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     93 (Final)
Qualification for Stewards, Rule 3.01............................................................................ .......2:7 Del.R. 1069 (Prop.)
Racing Claimed Horses, Rule 13.19............................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.       6 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   373 (Final)
Statment of Purpose ....................................................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1070 (Prop.)

Department of Education
Career Guidance & Placement Counselors............................................................................ .......2:5 Del.R.   740 (Prop.)
Comprehensive School Discipline Program.......................................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   374 (Final)
Constitution & Bylaws of DSSAA........................................................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.   113 (Final)
Cooperative Education Program............................................................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.   110 (Final)
Delaware Testing Requirements for Initial Licensure........................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     32 (Prop.)
Diversified Occupations Programs........................................................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.   111 (Final)
Establishing a School District Planning Process, Repeal of Policy....................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   166 (Prop.)
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General Education Development (GED)............................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     16 (Prop.)
2:3 Del.R.   376 (Final)

James H. Groves High School............................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     17 (Prop.)
2:3 Del.R.   378 (Final)

K - 12 Guidance Programs.................................................................................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   741 (Prop.)
Middle Level Education Regulation...................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   167 (Prop.)
Middle Level Education Section of Handbook for K-12 Education, Repeal of.................... .......2:1 Del.R.     23 (Prop.)
Middle Level Mathematics & Science Certification.............................................................. .......2:1 Del.R.     21 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   377 (Final)
Multicultural Education Regulations..................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   462 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1244 (Final)
Options for Awarding Credit Toward High School Graduation............................................ .......2:7 Del.R. 1071 (Prop.)
Policy for Establishing a School District Planning Process................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   464 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   960 (Final)
Policy for School Districts on the Possession, Use & Distribution of Drugs & Alcohol...... .......2:2 Del.R.   213 (Final)
Prohibition of Discrimination................................................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   465 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1276 (Final)
Promotion Policy ........................................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   171 (Prop.)
Promotion Regulation ........................................................................................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   742 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1247 (Final)
Releasing Students to Persons other than their Parents or Legal Guardians......................... .......2:3 Del.R.   357 (Prop.)

2:5 Del.R.   778 (Final)
Safety ........................................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   215 (Final)
School Attendance ........................................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   172 (Prop.)

2:4 Del.R.   685 (Final)
School Construction ........................................................................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   807 (Prop.)
School Custodians ........................................................................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   353 (Prop.)

2:5 Del.R.   778 (Final)
Student Progress, Grading & Reporting, Repeal of .............................................................. .......2:2 Del.R.   171 (Prop.)

2:4 Del.R.   686 (Final)
Student Rights & Responsibilities......................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.   112 (Final)
Summer School Programs, Repeal of.................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   172 (Prop.)

2:4 Del.R.   687 (Final)
Title I Complaint Process...................................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   217 (Final)
Unit Count ........................................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     25 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   382 (Final)
Department of Finance

Division of Revenue
Proposed Tax Ruling 98- , Contractors License Tax...................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     40 (Prop.)
Proposed Technical Information Memorandum 98-2, Effect of Federal
     Small Business Job Protection Act............................................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.     41 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   384 (Final)
Office of the State Lottery

Video Lottery Regulations, Operations Employees, License Renewal, etc................... .......2:1 Del.R.   115 (Final)
Video Lottery Regulations, 5.2(2) Maximum Bet Limit & 7.9 Redemption Period...... .......2:3 Del.R.   358 (Prop.)

2:5 Del.R.   779 (Final)

Department of Health & Social Services
Division of Public Health

Office of Drinking Water................................................................................................ .......2:7 Del.R. 1094 (Prop.)
Office of Health Facilities Licensing & Certification

Managed Care Organizations.................................................................................. .......2:1 Del.R.     42 (Prop.)
2:6 Del.R.   962 (Final)

Regulations Governing Lead-Based Paint Hazards........................................................ .......2:2 Del.R.   234 (Final)
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Division of Social Services
A Better Chance/Food Stamp Program.......................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.   118 (Final)
Community Support Services/Alcohol-Drug Abuse Provider Manual.......................... .......2:6 Del.R.   811 (Prop.)
Community Support Services/Mental Health Provider Manual..................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   823 (Prop.)
DMAP, 270.10, DMAP 301.25 & DMAP 307.60.......................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   385 (Final)
DMAP, 301.25 Composition of Budget Unit................................................................. .......2:2 Del.R.   219 (Final)
DMAP, 301.25C, Adult Expansion Population.............................................................. .......2:3 Del.R.   387 (Final)
DMAP, Ambulatory Surgical Center Manual................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   495 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   985 (Final)
DMAP Durable Medical Equipment, EPSDT & Practitioner Provider Manuals........... .......2:2 Del.R.   221 (Final)
DMAP, General Policy Manual...................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   497 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   986 (Final)
DMAP, General Policy Manual...................................................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   837 (Prop.)
DMAP, General Policy Manual, Aliens......................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     67 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   389 (Final)
DMAP, General Policy Manual, Medicaid Credit Balance Report (MCBR)................. .......2:7 Del.R. 1076 (Prop.)
DMAP, Inpatient Hospital Manual................................................................................. .......2:4 Del.R.   496 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   986 (Final)
DMAP, Outpatient Hospital Manual.............................................................................. .......2:4 Del.R.   497 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   986 (Final)
DMAP, Practitioner Manual........................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   496 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   985 (Final)
DMAP, Provider Manual, Reimbursement for Services................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.     66 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   389 (Final)
DSSM Section 3005, TANF Program............................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   494 (Prop.)

2:7 DEl.R. 1249 (Final)
DSSM Section 3008, Children Born to Teenage Parent................................................. .......2:1 Del.R.     65 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   981 (Final)
DSSM Section 9007.1, Citizenship & Alien Status........................................................ .......2:3 Del.R.   359 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   982 (Final)
DSSM Section 9068, Food Stamp Program................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   174 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1251 (Final)
DSSM Section 9085, Reporting Changes....................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1054 (Emer.)

2:7 Del.R. 1074 (Prop.)
DSSM Section 9092, Simplified Food Stamp Program................................................. .......2:2 Del.R.   174 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1251 (Final)
DSSM Section 11000 & 12000, Child Care & First Step Program................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   466 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1249 (Final)
DSSM Section 14900, Eligibility Manual...................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   493 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   984 (Final)
DSSM Section 16000, Eligibility Manual...................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   492 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   984 (Final)
DSSM Section 18200, Uninsured Requirement............................................................. .......2:7 Del.R. 1075 (Prop.)
DSSM, Title XXI, Delaware Healthy Children Program, General Policy Manual and

Eligibility Manual.................................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   485 (Prop.)
Long Term Care, Home Health, Ground Ambulance & Hospice Provider Manuals..... .......2:3 Del.R.   389 (Final)
Long Term Care Provider Manual, Durable Medical Equipment.................................. .......2:1 Del.R.     68 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   389 (Final)
Medicaid Eligibility Manual, Renumbering of............................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   359 (Prop.)

2:5 Del.R.   780 (Final)
Medical Necessity, Definition of.................................................................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   748 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1249 (Final)
Non-Emergency Transportation Provider Manual......................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   837 (Prop.)
Non-Emergency Transportation Provider Manual, Unloaded Mileage.......................... .......2:3 Del.R.   389 (Final)
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Outpatient Hospital Provider Manual............................................................................. .......2:6 Del.R.   836 (Prop.)
Pharmacy Provider Manual, Reimbursement for Services............................................. .......2:1 Del.R.     67 (Prop.)

2:3 Del.R.   389 (Final)
Practitioner Provider Manual.......................................................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   836 (Prop.)
Private Duty Nursing Manual......................................................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   838 (Prop.)
Simplified Food Stamp Program, ABC Benefits............................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.   120 (Final)
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)....................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     60 (Prop.)

2:4 Del.R.   688 (Final)
2:5 Del.R.   744 (Prop.)

Work for your Welfare (Workfare) Program.................................................................. .......2:5 Del.R.   745 (Prop.)

Department of Insurance
Regulation No. 37, Defensive Driving Course Discount (Automobiles & Motorcycles) .... .......2:1 Del.R.     68 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   989 (Final)
Regulation No. 47, Education for Insurance Adjusters, Agents, Brokers, Surplus

Lines Brokers & Consultants.......................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.   122 (Final)
Regulation No. 63, Long-Term Care Insurance..................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   187 (Prop.)
Regulation No. 65, Workplace Safety................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.     71 (Prop.)

2:4 Del.R.   688 (Final)
Regulation No. 80, Standards for Prompt, Fair and Equitable Settlements of Claims for

Health Care Services...................................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   277 (Final)

Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control
Delaware Coastal Management Program, Federal Consistency Policies.............................. .......2:4 Del.R.   500 (Prop.)
Delaware Coastal Zone Regulations...................................................................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   749 (Prop.)
Division of Air & Waste Management

Air Quality Management Section
Accidental Release Prevention Regulation.............................................................. .......2:4 Del.R.   629 (Prop.)

2:7 Del.R. 1252 (Final)
Delaware Low Enhanced Inspection & Maintenance (LEIM) Program................. .......2:2 Del.R.   234 (Final)
Regulation 20, New Source Performance Standards for Hospital/Medical/Infectious

Waste Incinerators............................................................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.     75 (Prop.)
2:3 Del.R.   390 (Final)

Regulation 1 & 24, Definition of Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC)................. .......2:1 Del.R.     74 (Prop.)
2:4 Del.R.   690 (Final)

Regulation 1 & 3, Governing the Control of Air Pollution..................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1195 (Prop.)
Regulation 24, Control of Volatile Organic Compound Emissions........................ .......2:5 Del.R.   761 (Prop.)
Regulation 37, NOx Budget Program...................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1170 (Prop.)
Regulation 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for

Source Categories............................................................................................. .......2:5 Del.R.   759 (Prop.)
Waste Management Section

Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste............................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   994 (Final)
Regulations Governing Solid Waste........................................................................ .......2:4 Del.R.   545 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   838 (Prop.)
Division of Fish & Wildlife

Boating Regulations................................................................................................ .......2:6 Del.R.   930 (Prop.)
Reproposal ........................................................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1197 (Prop.)
Shellfish Reg. No. S-55-A, Public Lottery for Horseshoe Crab Dredge Permits.... .......2:7 Del.R. 1055 (Emer.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 10, Weakfish Size Limits, Possession Limits, Seasons...... .......2:7 Del.R. 1213 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 24, Fish Pot Requirements.................................................. .......2:7 Del.R. 1215 (Prop.)
Tidal Finfish Reg. No. 26, American Shad & Hickory Shad Creel Limits............. .......2:7 Del.R. 1216 (Prop.)
Wildlife & Fresh Water Fish Regulations............................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.   916 (Prop.)
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Division of Water Resources
NPDES General Permit Program Regulations Governing Storm Water Discharges

Associated with Industrial Activity.................................................................. .......2:3 Del.R.   393 (Final)
Water Supply Section

Regulations for Licensing Water Well Contractors, Pump Installer Contractors, Well 
Drillers, Well Drivers & Pump Installers......................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   176 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.   997 (Final)
Watershed Assessment Section

Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for Indian River, Indian River Bay, and
Rehoboth Bay, Delaware.................................................................................. .......2:2 Del.R.   183 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R. 1004 (Final)
Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for Nanticoke River & Broad Creek,....... .......2:2 Del.R.   185 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R. 1006 (Final)

Department of Pubic Safety
Rules of the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission, Rule 29.......................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1216 (Prop.)

Department of Services for Children, Youth & Their Families
Office of Child Care Licensing

Child Abuse Registry..................................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.   129 (Final)

Department of State
Office of the State Banking Commissioner

Regulation No. 5.121.0002, Procedures Governing the Creation & Existence
of an Interim Bank................................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   669 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.  1021 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.1403.0001, Procedures Governing Filings and Determinations Respecting

Applications for a Foreign Bank Limited Purpose Branch or Foreign Bank Agency....2:2 Del.R.   299 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.1403.0002, Application by a Foreign Bank for a Certificate of Authority

to Establish a Foreign Bank Limited Purpose Branch or Foreign Bank Agency
Pursuant to 5 Delaware Code §1403....................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   299 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.1403/1101.0003, Regulations Governing the Organization, Chartering
Supervision, Operation and Authority of a Delaware Foreign Bank Limited Purpose
Branch, a Delaware Foreign Bank Agency and a Delaware Foreign Bank
Representative Office.............................................................................................. .......2:2 Del.R.   312 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.1422.0004, Application by a Foreign Bank for a License to Establish
a Foreign Bank Representative Office Pursuant to Subchapter II, Chapter 14,
Title 5, Delaware Code............................................................................................ .......2:2 Del.R.   315 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.2102(b)/2112.0001, Mortgage Loan Brokers Operating Regulations.......2:3 Del.R.   361 (Prop.)
2:5 Del.R.   782 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.2210(d).0001, Licensed Lenders Operating Regulations................... .......2:3 Del.R.   362 (Prop.)
2:5 Del.R.   782 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.2218/2231.0003, Licensed Lenders Regulations Itemized Schedule
of Changes ........................................................................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   364 (Prop.)

2:5 Del.R.   784 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.2741.0001, Licensed Casher of Checks, Drafts or Money Orders

Operating Regulations............................................................................................. .......2:3 Del.R.   365 (Prop.)
2:5 Del.R.   786 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.2743.0002, Licensed Casher of Checks, Drafts or Money Orders
Posting of the Fee Schedule & Minimum Requirements for Content of Books
and Records ........................................................................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   366 (Prop.)

2:5 Del.R.   786 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.2905(e)/122(b).0001, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Companies Minimum

Requirements for Content of Books and Records................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   366 (Prop.)
2:5 Del.R.   787 (Final)
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Regulation No. 5.2905(e).0002, Motor Vehicle Sales Finance Companies Operating
Regulations ........................................................................................................... .......2:3 Del.R.   367 (Prop.)

2:5 Del.R.   788 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.3404.0001, Preneed Funeral Contracts Regulations Governing

Irrevocable Trust Agreements................................................................................. .......2:2 Del.R.   319 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.701/774.0001, Procedures for Applications to Form a Bank, Bank &

Trust Company or Limited Purpose Trust Company, Pursuant to Chapter 7 of
Title 5 of the Delaware Code................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   671 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.  1023 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.751.0013, Procedures Governing the Dissolution of a State Chartered

Bank or Trust Company........................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   296 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.833.0004, Application by an Out-of-State Savings Institution,

Out-of-State Savings & Loan Holding Company or Out-of-State Bank Holding
Company to Acquire a Delaware Savings Bank or Delaware Savings and
Loan Holding Company.......................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   673 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.  1025 (Final)
Regulation No. 5.844.0009, Application by an Out-of-State Bank Holding Company to 

Acquire a Delaware Bank or Bank Holding Company, 5 Del.C. 844..................... .......2:4 Del.R.   676 (Prop.)
2:6 Del.R.  1029 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.853.0001P, Procedures Governing the Registration of Delaware Bank
Holding Companies with the Bank Commissioner Pursuant to the Provision of
Section 853 of Title 5, Delaware Code, Repeal of.................................................. .......2:2 Del.R.   320 (Final)

Regulation No. 5.852.0002, Application to Become a Delaware Bank Holding Company..2:2 Del.R.   297 (Rep.)

Department of Transportation
Aeronautical Regulations...................................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.   130 (Final)
Subdivision Plan Review Fee Procedures.............................................................................. .......2:4 Del.R.   693 (Final)

Governor’s Office
Appointments & Nominations............................................................................................... .......2:1 Del.R.   145

2:2 Del.R.   322
2:3 Del.R.   425
2:4 Del.R.   696
2:5 Del.R.   790
2:6 Del.R.  1037
2:7 Del.R.  1295

Executive Order No. 54 ........................................................................................................ .......2:1 Del.R.    143
Executive Order No. 55 ....................................................................................................... .......2:6 Del.R.  1033
Executive Order No. 56 ........................................................................................................ .......2:7 Del.R.  1293

Public Service Commission
PSC Regulation Docket No. 4, Minimum Filing Requirements for all Regulated

Companies Subject to the Jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission.................... .......2:1 Del.R.     81 (Prop.)
PSC Regulation Docket No. 10 ............................................................................................. .......2:6 Del.R.   946 (Prop.)
PSC Regulation Docket No. 12 (Track III), Rules to Govern Payphone Services................ .......2:4 Del.R.   695 (Final)
PSC Regulation Docket No. 41, Implementation of the Telecommunications Technology

Investment Act ........................................................................................................... .......2:2 Del.R.   280 (Final)
PSC Regulation Docket No. 44, Information Required to be Filed by a Manufacturer to

Establish an Additional Dealer or to Relocate an Existing Dealership Pursuant to
6 Del.C. 4915(a) ........................................................................................................... .......2:4 Del.R.   679 (Prop.)

2:6 Del.R.  1009 (Final)
PSC Regulation Docket No. 45 ............................................................................................. .......2:6 Del.R.   954 (Prop.)



CUMULATIVE TABLES

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 8, MONDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 1999

1315

PSC Regulation Docket No. 47, Discounts for Intrastate Telecommunications and Information
Services Provided to Schools and Libraries................................................................... .......2:7 Del.R. 1057 (Emer.)

2:7 Del.R. 1220 (Prop.)

State Fire Prevention Commission
Part V, Chapter 5, Standard for the Marking, Identification, and Accessibility of Fire Lanes,

Exits, Fire Hydrants, Sprinkler and Standpipe Connections.......................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   765 (Prop.)

Violent Crimes Compensation Board
Rules XXVI, XXVIII, XXIX, XXX...................................................................................... .......2:5 Del.R.   773 (Prop.)
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.

DELAWARE SOLID WASTE 
AUTHORITY

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code
Chapter 64 (7 Del.C. Ch. 64)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Pursuant to 7 Delaware Code, Section 6403 (i), 6403 (j),
6403 (k), 6403 (l), 6406 (a) (11), 6406 (a) (13), 6421 and
other pertinent provisions of 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 64,
the Delaware Solid Waste Authority (DSWA) will conduct a
hearing to consider an amendment to the following
documents:

(a) Statewide Solid Waste Management Plan (adopted
May, 1994), and

(b) Regulations of the Delaware Solid Waste Authority
(adopted October 1997)

(c) Differential Disposal Fee Program (new fee
structure)

The hearing is to provide opportunity for public comment on
the proposed amendments.  The public record will close at
the close of the Hearing.

The hearing will be held February 23, 1999 at 7:00 p.m. in
the Public Meeting Room of the Delaware Solid Waste
Authority, 1128 South Bradford Street, Dover, DE  19903.

Copies of the proposed amendments will be available

February 1, 1999 from the Delaware Solid Waste Authority
upon request.  The proposed amendments will also be
published in the February 1, 1999 edition of the “Register of
Regulations.”

If you have any questions regarding the hearing, please
contact T. E. Houska, Chief of Administrative Services,
Delaware Solid Waste Authority, P.O. Box 455, Dover,
Delaware 19903-0455 or call (302) 739-5361.  Mr. Houska
can also be reached by e-mail: teh@dswa.com. 

T. E. Houska II, P.E.
Chief of Administrative Service

Statewide Solid Waste Management Plan (adopted May,
1994)

Contents
I. Purpose And Authorization 2
II. Definitions 2
III. Collection And Licensing 4
IV. Use of Solid Waste Facilities 11
V. Industrial Process Solid Waste 12
VI. Other Solid Waste Projects 13
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VIII. Recycling 15
IX. Transfer Station Requirements 16
X. Infectious Waste (Reserved) 17
XI. X Review, Enforcement And Sanctions 17
       
Exihibit ALicense Application Form
Exihibit BTransfer Station Monthly Solid Waste Report
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*PLEASE NOTE THAT THE ABOVE PAGE NUMBERS REFER

TO THE ORIGINAL DOCUMENT AND NOT TO THE

REGISTER.

I. PURPOSE AND AUTHORIZATION
These Regulations* are adopted pursuant to the Act to

achieve the goals set forth therein.

II. DEFINITIONS 
"Act" means the Delaware Solid Waste Authority Act, 7

Del. C. Ch. 64.
"CEO" means Chief Executive Officer and Manager of

DSWA.
"Chairman" means the Director designated by the

Governor as chairman of DSWA in accordance with 7 Del.
C. Section 6403(a).

"Department" means the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control of the State of
Delaware.

"Directors" means the directors of DSWA holding
office in accordance with 7 Del. C. Section 6403.

"Dry Waste" means wastes including, but not limited to,
plastics, rubber, lumber, trees, stumps, vegetative matter,
asphalt pavement, asphaltic products incidental to
construction/demolition debris, or other materials which
have reduced potential for environmental degradation and
leachate production. 

"DSWA" means the Delaware Solid Waste Authority,
an instrumentality of the State of Delaware, existing
pursuant to the Act.

"Hazardous Waste" means a solid waste, or combination
of solid wastes, which because of its quantity, concentration,
or physical, or chemical characteristics may cause or
significantly contribute to an increase in mortality or an
increase in serious irreversible, or incapacitating irreversible
illness, or poses a substantial present or potential hazard to
human health or the environment when improperly treated,
stored, transported or disposed of, or otherwise managed.
Without limitation, included within this definition are those
hazardous wastes listed in Sections 261.31, 261.32 and
261.33 of the Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous
Waste and those solid wastes which otherwise exhibit the
characteristics of a hazardous waste as defined in Part 261 of
the Delaware Regulations Governing Hazardous Waste.

"Industrial Process Solid Waste" means solid waste
produced by or resulting from industrial applications,
processes or operations and includes, by way of example and
not by way of limitation, sludges of chemical processes,
waste treatment plants, water supply treatment plants, and air
pollution control facilities and incinerator residues, but does
not include the solid waste generated at an industrial facility
which is comparable to municipal solid waste, such as
cafeteria waste, cardboard, paper and pallets, crates or other
containers constructed of and containing non-hazardous

combustible material. 
* The Department also has promulgated regulations
pertaining to solid waste disposal.

"Junkyard" means an establishment or place of business
which is maintained, operated or used for storing, keeping,
buying or selling junk or wrecked, scrapped, ruined or
dismantled motor vehicles or motor vehicle parts.

"Licensee" means a person holding a license issued by
DSWA pursuant to Article III of these Regulations.

"Municipality" means a county, city, town or other
public body of the State of Delaware.

"Person" means any individual, partnership,
corporation, association, institution, cooperative enterprise,
municipality, commission, political subdivision, or other
duly established legal entity.

"Solid Waste" means any garbage, refuse, sludge from a
waste treatment plant, water supply treatment plant or water
pollution control facility and other discarded material,
including solid, liquid, semi-solid or contained gaseous
material, resulting from industrial, commercial, mining and
agricultural operations, and from community activities, but
does not include solid or dissolved material in domestic
sewage, or solid or dissolved materials in irrigation return
flows or industrial discharges which are point sources
subject to permits under Section 402 of the Federal Water
Pollution Control Act, as amended, or source, special
nuclear, or by-product materials defined by the Atomic
Energy Act of 1954, as amended, or materials separated on-
site by the generator thereof for further use, service or value.

"Solid Waste Facility" means any landfill, recycling
project, including waste to energy projects, collection
station, transfer station, or other solid waste processing or
disposal facility or project operated by, on behalf of, or
under contract with DSWA.

"Toxic Substance" means any chemical substance or
mixture that may present an unreasonable risk of injury to
health or the environment.

"Transfer Station" means any facility where quantities
of solid waste delivered by vehicle are consolidated or
aggregated for subsequent transfer by vehicle for processing,
recycling or disposal.

III. COLLECTION AND LICENSING 

3.01 No person shall collect, transport, and/or deliver
solid waste in the State of Delaware without first having
obtained a license from DSWA, provided, however, that:

a. persons transporting and delivering solid waste that
they created on their premises resulting from their activities
shall not be required to obtain a license therefore; and

b. persons collecting, transporting and/or delivering
solid waste in the course of their employment by a person
holding a license from DSWA shall not be required to obtain
a license therefore; and
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c. a license shall not be required for the collection,
transportation, or delivery exclusively of dry waste, leaves,
street and storm sewer cleaning materials, agricultural
wastes or those materials identified in paragraph 4.02 (a) -
(e) of these Regulations.

3.02 Each Licensee shall deliver solid waste collected in
Delaware to a Solid Waste Facility.  DSWA, based upon the
CEO's determination of threat to public health or welfare or
other emergency, may designate a specific Solid Waste
Facility.

3.02 With respect to solid waste delivered to Solid
Waste Facilities, the CEO, based  upon a determination of
threat to public health or welfare or other emergency, may
designate a specific Solid Waste Facility for use.

3.03
a. Each Licensee shall clearly display on both sides of

the vehicle: 
i. the license stickers provided by DSWA which

are the property of DSWA and subject to cancellation,
suspension and/or revocation.  The license stickers shall be
legible at all times and shall be placed in an area of high
visibility to allow immediate identification by DSWA
Weighmasters and Compliance Officers. License stickers
shall be not be placed on fuel or hydraulic tanks or
reservoirs, or areas where the operation of mechanical parts
would impair the visibility of stickers;

 ii. the Licensee's business name with letters at
least three (3) inches high and of a color that contrasts with
the color of the vehicle.  No name other than the Licensee's
business name shall be displayed.   A regularly used business
logo may also be displayed. 

b. Licensees shall maintain business offices and phone
numbers as follows:

i. Licensees who collect on a yearly average 100
tons per month or more:

(a) each Licensee shall maintain a manned
business office location or locations and designate a
representative in responsible charge thereof;

(b) each Licensee shall provide his business
office street address in addition to a Post Office Box;

(c) telephone coverage with a Delaware
telephone number listed in the appropriate Delaware
Telephone Directory in the business name of the Licensee
shall be maintained by a responsible and authorized person
at the main office during normal business hours.  Licensees
with main offices located outside of the State of Delaware
may utilize a call forwarding service so that a Delaware
telephone number may be dialed to reach an out-of-state
office.  An answering machine shall not satisfy this; and

(d) notification regarding any change of
business location or telephone number shall be provided to

DSWA in writing at least fifteen (15) days prior to such
change.

ii. Licensees who collect on a yearly average less
than 100 tons per month:

(a) each Licensee shall provide a street
address in addition to a Post Office Box for the business
office or dwelling that is able to receive correspondence.  A
Post Office Box shall not satisfy this requirement;

(b) telephone coverage with a Delaware
telephone number listed in the appropriate Delaware
Telephone Directory in the business name of the Licensee
shall be maintained by the Licensee during normal business
hours. Licensees with main offices located outside of the
State of Delaware may utilize a call forwarding service so
that a Delaware telephone number may be dialed to reach an
out-of-state office.  An answering service may be utilized.
An answering machine shall not satisfy this requirement; and 

(c) notification regarding any change of
business location or telephone number shall be provided to
DSWA in writing at least fifteen (15) days prior to such
change.  

3.04
a. Each Licensee shall maintain insurance at the

following minimum amounts:
i. Automobile liability:  $350,000 combined

bodily injury and property damage per occurrence;
ii. General liability: bodily injury $300,000 per

occurrence; property damage: $100,000 per occurrence; and
iii. Workman's Compensation as required by law.

b. Each Licensee shall provide to DSWA new
certification of the coverages specified in subsection 3.04(a)
including a certification within ten (10) days of renewal.
Each such certification of insurance shall provide that
DSWA receive at least thirty (30) days advance notice of any
canceled, discontinued, or diminished coverage.

3.05 Each Licensee shall maintain collection vehicles to
comply with the following minimum requirements:

a. Each collection vehicle body shall be maintained to
prevent fluids from discharging onto the surface of the
ground.

b. Each collection vehicle body shall be capable of
being readily emptied.

c. Each collection vehicle shall be kept in a as much
of a sanitary condition as to control the presence of vectors.

d. Containers, boxes, and other devices excluding
open top trailers referred to as roll-offs, used by Licensees
for collection of solid waste in excess of thirty (30) gallon
capacity shall be enclosed to reduce fluid leakage or
collection of water.

e. Each collection vehicle shall be equipped so that it
can be readily towed, and maintained in good operational
condition for safe and stable operation and/or navigation in
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or about a Solid Waste Facility.
f. Each collection vehicle used or proposed for use by

an applicant or Licensee and the contents of any collection
vehicle shall be subject at all times to inspection by DSWA.

g. All roll-off containers used for collecting,
transporting and delivering of solid waste generated within
the State of Delaware shall display stickers issued by DSWA
near the bottom and front of both sides of each roll-off.
Solid waste described in Section 4.03 shall be exempt from
this requirement.

3.06 Each Licensee shall comply with the following
requirements while collecting, transporting and/or delivering
solid waste.

a. Solid waste shall not be processed, scavenged,
modified, or altered except that it may be compacted and/or
unloaded and reloaded at a transfer station not in violation of
Article IX of these Regulations.

a. Solid waste shall not be processed, scavenged,
modified, or altered unless in compliance with applicable
laws and regulations.

b. Solid waste shall be suitably enclosed or covered to
prevent littering or spillage of solid waste or fluids. 

c. Solid waste shall not be stored in a collection vehicle
for more than twenty-four (24) hours, except when the Solid
Waste Facility is closed for the entire day when the twenty-
four period expires; in that event, the collection vehicle shall
discharge the solid waste at a Solid Waste Facility on the
next day that a Solid Waste Facility is open.

c. Solid waste shall not be stored in a collection
vehicle for more than twenty-four (24) hours unless the solid
waste is being delivered to a Solid Waste Facility and the
facility is closed for the entire day when the twenty four hour
period expires, in which case the collection vehicle may
discharge the solid waste at the facility on the next day that
the facility is open.

d. Any spillage of solid waste shall be immediately
cleaned up and removed.

e. No undue disturbance shall be caused in residential
areas as a result of collection operations.

3.07 All collection vehicles shall be owned in the name
of the Licensee or leased in the name of the Licensee.  Upon
submission of an application for a license each applicant
shall provide a copy of a valid motor vehicle registration
card for each collection vehicle.  If the collection vehicle is
not owned by the applicant, a copy of a written motor
vehicle lease agreement shall also be submitted with the
application.

3.08 Each Licensee shall provide and continuously
maintain backup capability to allow for continued collection,
transportation and/or delivery of solid waste in the event of
equipment breakdown.  As a minimum each Licensee,

except for municipalities with a written agreement with
another municipality for such backup, shall own and/or
lease, in the name of the licensee, at least two fully and
continuously operational collection vehicles, except for
down time for routine maintenance. 

3.09 Only enclosed compactor type vehicles or "roll-
offs" with a cover sufficient to prevent any spillage of, loss
of, or littering of solid waste shall be used by Licensees for
collection, transportation, or delivery of solid waste, except
for vehicles utilized only to collect, transport or deliver the
solid wastes referenced in Section 4.02 (a-e) and Section
4.03, infra, or oversized bulky waste, such as couches and
refrigerators.  Such vehicles used for oversized bulky waste
shall not satisfy part or all of the Section 3.08 requirement
that each Licensee own and/or lease at least two fully and
continuously operational vehicles.  An exception to the
requirements of the first sentence of this section may be
authorized by the CEO or his designee in circumstances
where it is physically impossible to provide solid waste
collection services with such vehicles.

3.10 
a. With the exception of any municipality, each

applicant for a license and each Licensee shall provide to
DSWA and maintain a bond under which the Licensee shall
be jointly and severally bound with a corporate surety
qualified to act in the Courts of Delaware to DSWA for
amounts due to DSWA for fees or charges for services.

b. In lieu of corporate surety, the applicant or Licensee
may provide security for its bond by depositing with DSWA,
one of the following in an amount at least equal to the
amount of the bond:

i. United States Treasury bonds, United States
Treasury notes, United States Treasury certificates of
indebtedness, or United States Treasury bills; or

ii. bonds or notes of the State of Delaware; or
iii. bonds of any political subdivision of the State

of Delaware; or
iv. certificates of deposit or irrevocable letters of

credit from any state or national bank located within the
United States; or

v. United States currency, or check for certified
funds from any state or national bank located within the
United States.

c. The amount of the bond specified in paragraph 3.10
(a) shall be based upon the total solid waste tonnage charged
by the Licensee at Solid Waste Facilities during for the
month of November immediately preceding the license year
for which the license is issued in accordance with the
following schedule:
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If the Licensee has expanded or acquired its business since
the preceding November, then the total tonnage for
November and Bond amount will be adjusted to account for
such increase.  By reference to the accounts, business, or
assets acquired, an estimate will be made of what the charges
in November would have been if the Licensee had been
operating the newly acquired accounts, business, or assets at
that time.

3.11 Any person desiring to collect, transport, and/or
deliver solid waste in the State of Delaware shall submit a
completed application for license to DSWA on forms
provided by DSWA substantially in the form set forth in
Appendix "A" of these Regulations.  DSWA shall approve or
deny license applications within thirty (30) days of receipt of
a completed application.

3.12 DSWA may require information to supplement that
requested in Appendix "A" in reviewing license applications.

3.13 The license period shall be July 1 to June 30
annually.  Applications for license renewal shall be
submitted to DSWA at least thirty (30) days prior to the
expiration date.

3.14 Before any additional collection vehicle or
substitute collection vehicle is utilized for the collection,
transportation, and/or delivery of solid waste, the Licensee
shall submit to DSWA the following:

a. The name, address and telephone number of the
owner of the vehicle.

b. The state motor vehicle registration number.
c. A description of chassis by year and manufacturer.
d. A description of the body by year and

manufacturer.
e. The legal weight limit of the vehicle.
f. The volume of the body of the vehicle in cubic

yards.
g. Evidence of the insurance coverage required by this

Article.

3.15 Each license shall contain the following:
a. Name and address of the Licensee.

b. A listing of all collection vehicles under the license.
c. The location or locations for delivery of solid waste

for each collection vehicle.
d. Special license conditions regarding collection,

transportation, and/or delivery of solid waste, as specified by
DSWA.

3.16 Each license and/or collection vehicle may be
transferred subject to prior approval of DSWA. Except for a
municipality with a written agreement with another
municipality for backup capacity, no person shall be entitled
to collect, transport and/or deliver solid waste under another
person's license.

3.17 Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained
in these Regulations, a Licensee may operate a replacement
vehicle on a temporary basis for a period of fifteen (15) days;
provided further, that the licensee shall provide DSWA an
original signed letter on company letterhead providing the
information listed in Section 3.14 of these Regulations. An
original letter must be submitted for each day of operation
until DSWA license stickers are properly displayed on the
vehicle or the vehicle is removed from temporary service.
Letters must be taken to the weighstation of the Solid Waste
Facility.

3.18 No license shall be issued to any person who:
a. has an account with DSWA that is past due in

accordance with DSWA policies or
b. is obligated to file a report in accordance with

Section 8.02 of these Regulations and has not done so for the
immediately preceding calendar year.

3.19 Any person who first collects and transports solid
waste within the State of Delaware, without having first
obtained a license under this Article, shall not be issued a
license under this Article, until the expiration of one hundred
twenty (120) days after the last day on which such collection
and transportation without a license occurred, as determined
by the CEO, or his designee.

3.20 Any Licensee who does not maintain his principal
place of business in Delaware shall designate an agent, by
name and street address (box number not acceptable), for
service of process within Delaware.  The agent shall be
either an individual resident in Delaware or a corporation
authorized under Title 8 of the Delaware Code to transact
business in Delaware.

3.21 Before a license application is approved or denied,
DSWA shall determine whether the applicant is able and
reasonably certain to comply with these Regulations.  Such
determination may take into account any relevant factors
including, but not limited to, the prior conduct of the

“TONNAGE CHARGED FOR PRIOR
NOVEMBER”

AMOUNT OF
BOND

Less than or equal to 750 tons (minimum)
$5,000

Greater than 750 tons but less than or
equal to 1,500 tons

$25,000

Greater than 1,500 tons $50,000
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applicant or any person, as defined herein, who is employed
by or is otherwise associated with the applicant and may
significantly affect the applicant's performance as it is
related to the licensed activities.  If the application is denied,
the determination shall be reduced to writing and include the
rationale for denial.  Any person denied a license shall be
entitled to request a hearing on such determination before the
Directors of  DSWA in accordance with paragraph 11.01 (b)
hereof.

3.22 No license shall be issued to any person who:
a. holds or has held a license from DSWA which has

been revoked;
b. holds or has held a license from DSWA which has

been suspended, for such period as the license is suspended.
c. holds or has held an interest in any Licensee whose

license from DSWA has been revoked;
d. holds or has held an interest in any Licensee whose

license from DSWA has been suspended, for such period as
the license is suspended.

e. owns, in whole or in part, solid waste operating
assets, including vehicles and routes, which were acquired
from a Licensee whose license from DSWA was revoked or
suspended and who acquired such assets from such Licensee
for less than fair market value.  Applicants for a license may
be required to produce records and other information to
demonstrate that they comply with this paragraph before a
license will be issued.

3.23 A Licensee shall give written notice to DSWA at
least seven (7) days in advance of any of the following:

a. sale or conveyance of a significant portion of its
assets;

b. sale or conveyance of a significant portion of the
equity interest (e.g. stock) held in it;

c. purchase or other acquisition of a significant
portion of the assets of another Licensee;

d. purchase or other acquisition of a significant
portion of the equity interest in another Licensee.  For
purposes of this paragraph, a significant portion shall mean
one-half. Fragmentation of a transfer into smaller portions
shall not be used to avoid the requirements of this paragraph.

IV.   USE OF SOLID WASTE FACILITIES

4.01 
a. Except as otherwise provided in this Article:

i. All solid waste generated within the State of
Delaware shall be delivered to and disposed of at a Solid
Waste Facility;

ii. The owners and occupants of all lands,
buildings, and premises located within the State of
Delaware, and all those persons acting for them or under
contract with them, shall use only Solid Waste Facilities for

the disposal of solid waste generated within the State of
Delaware.

4.01 
a.

i. All solid waste generated within the State of
Delaware shall be delivered to  and disposed of at a Solid
Waste Facility or some other duly licensed or permitted
facility.

ii. The owners and occupants of all lands,
buildings, and premises located within the State of
Delaware, and all of those acting for them or under contract
with them, shall use only Solid Waste Facilities or other duly
licensed or permitted facilities for the disposal of solid waste
generated within the State of Delaware.

b. Subject to the provisions of Section 3.02 and 3.18
of these Regulations, solid waste generated within the State
of Delaware shall be delivered to a Solid Waste Facility or
other duly licensed or permitted facility.

c. Persons delivering solid waste to a Solid Waste
Facility shall pay to DSWA the applicable fees and user
charges.

4.02 The following solid wastes shall not be delivered to a
Solid Waste Facility:

a. Hazardous wastes
b. Explosives
c. Toxic substances
d. Pathological and infectious wastes
e. Radioactive wastes
f. Solid wastes, as determined by the CEO or his

designee, which will, because of their quantity, physical
properties, or chemical composition, have an adverse effect
on the Solid Waste Facility, or the operation of the Solid
Waste Facility, or if an effective means of risk and cost
allocation cannot be achieved.

g. Solid waste generated outside the State of
Delaware.

4.03 The following solid waste may be delivered to a
Solid Waste Facility for disposal, but need not be, upon
payment of the appropriate fee or user charge, provided that
delivery of such solid waste is not otherwise proscribed by
Section 4.02:

a. Agricultural waste generated on a farm.
b. Dirt, sand, crushed rock, concrete, asphalt, inert

demolition and construction debris, trees, bushes, branches,
leaves, and material collected in street and storm sewer
cleaning.  Dry waste.

c. Tires.
d. Non-hazardous waste resulting from emergency

clean-up actions of the Department.
e. Industrial process solid waste exempted by Section

5.03 (b).
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4.04 In the event that an invoice generated from the
charging of fees or user charges at a Solid Waste Facility is
not paid in accordance with DSWA credit policies the
license may be revoked and/or the right to use Solid Waste
Disposal Facilities may be denied to the user.  Before the
license revocation and/or denial of use, the user shall have a
hearing before the Directors of DSWA, and the user shall be
given at least ten (10) days notice of the hearing.  Otherwise,
the procedure for the hearing shall be as set forth in
paragraph 11 10.01 (b) (ii)-(v) of these Regulations.

V. INDUSTRIAL PROCESS SOLID WASTE

5.01
a. Any person causing or allowing industrial process

solid waste to be delivered to any Solid Waste Facility for
disposal shall obtain the approval of DSWA prior to
commencement of such disposal; provided however, that
where more than one person is involved in the generation
and delivery of a particular industrial process solid waste,
approval of DSWA obtained by one person shall be
sufficient.

b. In the event that there are any risks or additional
costs involved in accepting any industrial process solid
wastes, the CEO may impose an industrial process solid
waste disposal surcharge to compensate DSWA for such
risks and additional costs, including administrative expenses
and overhead. The following factors shall be considered in
determining the amount of such industrial process solid
waste surcharge:

i. Quantity of waste to be disposed of;
ii. Degree of risk associated with such disposal;
iii. Additional handling, processing and disposal

costs;
iv. Additional administrative expenses and

overhead;
v. Additional environmental protection controls

including monitoring.
c. The industrial process solid waste surcharge shall

be set by the CEO, without notice and public hearing
thereon, and may be done on a case by case basis.

5.02 Any person causing or allowing industrial process
solid waste to be delivered to a Solid Waste Facility operated
by or on behalf of DSWA shall be deemed to have agreed to
indemnify and hold harmless DSWA from any liability
arising from disposal of such industrial process solid waste
and to have agreed to reimburse DSWA for any costs
reasonably incurred to protect against or reduce any risk
resulting therefrom; provided, however, such person, if such
person has not caused or allowed the delivery of a hazardous
substance within the meaning of the Comprehensive
Environmental Response Compensation Liability Act
(CERCLA), as amended, 42 USC Section 9601, et.seq., shall

not be liable under this subsection to DSWA for harm or
damage caused by the negligence of DSWA.

5.03 It shall be the responsibility of each generator of
industrial process solid waste, in addition to the person
collecting, transporting and delivering it, to obtain the
approval of DSWA for disposal of industrial process solid
waste at the Solid Waste Facility and to assure that such
waste is delivered to the Solid Waste Facility of DSWA for
disposal.  Such solid waste shall be exempted from the
requirement of disposal in a Solid Waste Facility if:

a. DSWA refuses to approve the disposal of such
waste at a Solid Waste Facility; or

b. the generator of such waste determines or agrees to
have such waste disposed of at another properly licensed or
permitted facility;

c. the solid waste is described in Section 4.02 of
Article IV.

5.04 Any person aggrieved by a determination of the
CEO or his designee, under this Article or subsection 4.02(f)
of Article IV, may seek review thereof by the Directors of
DSWA in accordance with Section 6427 (f) of the Act, and
Section 11 10.01 of these Regulations.  

VI. OTHER SOLID WASTE PROJECTS

6.01 No person shall finance, acquire, license, construct,
maintain, operate, or use a solid waste disposal, processing,
or recycling project in the State of Delaware that is neither
owned nor operated by, on behalf of, or at the request of
DSWA.

6.02 No person shall cause or assist in the financing,
acquiring, licensing, constructing, maintaining, or operating
of a solid waste disposal, processing, or recycling facility in
the State of Delaware, that is neither owned nor operated by,
on behalf of, or at the request of DSWA.

6.03 This Article VI shall not apply to:
a. Projects dedicated exclusively to the disposal of dry

waste, hazardous waste, agricultural waste, explosives, toxic
substances, radioactive waste, or tires;

b. Projects used exclusively as transfer stations;
c. Recycle centers for source separated materials, such

as aluminum cans;
d. Junkyards;
e. Projects dedicated exclusively to the disposal of

industrial process solid waste that are lawfully permitted for
the disposal of such industrial solid waste.

f. Projects dedicated exclusively to the disposal of
solid waste generated outside the State of Delaware.
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VII. OPERATING IN A SOLID WASTE FACILITY 

7.01 All vehicles entering a Solid Waste Facility to
dispose of solid waste shall proceed to the appropriate scale.
Each vehicle shall come to a full stop before driving onto the
scale, for weighing in or for weighing out.  Quick stopping
or starting on the scales will not be permitted.  All personnel
must remain in the vehicle unless directed by the
Weighmaster  to come to the scale house window.  After
weighing, the vehicle must not leave the scales until
authorized to do so by the Weighmaster and must proceed to
the area designated for disposal of the quantity and type of
waste that is carried in the vehicle.

7.02 After weighing and at the direction of the
Weighmaster, each vehicle shall proceed to the area
designated. Spotters at the landfill face or on the tipping
floor shall direct the vehicles to a dumping location.  At
small load facilities, waste shall be disposed only in the
containers that have been provided.  The contents of each
vehicle shall be discharged as quickly as possible and the
vehicle shall leave as directed by the operating contractor.
Clean-up is allowed only at designated locations.  No roll-off
boxes will be dropped anywhere in a Solid Waste Facility
without the express approval from a DSWA representative.

7.03 Each vehicle operator shall exercise caution, due
care, and safe procedures in all operations at the Solid Waste
Facility.  The speed limit on the facility roads is 25 miles per
hour except where a lower speed limit is indicated.  Vehicle
operators shall follow directions from the DSWA
representative or the operating contractor in all cases of
emergency.

7.04 No hand sorting, picking over, or scavenging of
solid waste will be permitted at any time.

7.05 All vehicle operators and other personnel proceed
onto the landfill at their own risk.  DSWA shall not be liable
for acts or omissions of its contractors, persons using a Solid
Waste Facility, or other third persons in or about a Solid
Waste Facility.

7.06 Persons under the age of 18 are not allowed to enter
any Solid Waste Facility in waste collection and disposal
vehicles.

7.07 No loitering will be permitted in any Solid Waste
Facility.

7.08 DSWA reserves the right to redirect vehicles to
alternate locations within the Solid Waste Facility, if for any
reason in the opinion of DSWA's representative, the original
location cannot handle the load or type of material.

7.09 There shall be no smoking in any Solid Waste
Facility except in areas where smoking is expressly
permitted.

7.10 The Directors of DSWA from time to time may
adopt and post other rules for Solid Waste Disposal
Facilities. It is the responsibility of Licensees and other
persons using Solid Waste Disposal Facilities to familiarize
themselves with and to obey such rules.

7.11 Any vehicle that is immobile and obstructing
facility operations shall be moved to a non-conflicting area
by DSWA representatives after notifying the Licensee's
driver. The Licensee's driver will be given reasonable time to
contact his office either through radio or telephone.  If the
blocking vehicle poses a safety or fire hazard, it will be
removed immediately after giving notice to the driver.
Licensee shall also give written instructions to drivers on
proper procedures for towing.

7.12 To prevent material from falling off vehicles and to
minimize litter, all open vehicles, including but not limited
to pick-up trucks, entering a Solid Waste Facility to dispose
solid waste shall be sufficiently secured through the use of
tarpaulins or ropes or netting or enclosures sufficient to
prevent the material from falling off the vehicles.  

7.13
a. DSWA shall have the right to require unloading of

the contents of the vehicle hauling solid waste to any solid
waste facility for the purpose of inspection.

b. If any hazardous wastes, explosives, toxic
substance, pathological and infectious wastes, radioactive
wastes, or solid wastes generated outside the State of
Delaware are found, then the person delivering such waste to
a Solid Waste Facility shall be subject to the sanctions that
may be imposed under Section 11.02 for violation of Section
4.02 and sanctions for violation of other applicable laws and
regulations and that person shall be notified and given an
opportunity to remove properly all of the waste emptied
from the solid waste collection vehicle at his expense.  If that
is not accomplished within four (4) hours of such notice,
which shall be either in person or by telephone, or, if the
person cannot be reached immediately, either in person or by
telephone, DSWA may proceed to arrange for removal and
proper disposal of the entire load and the person bringing
such material to the Solid Waste Facility shall be liable to
DSWA for all costs incurred by DSWA  in arranging for
proper disposal, including, without limitation, DSWA's out-
of-pocket expenses, contractor's fees, disposal costs,
overhead supervisory costs, legal fees, testing costs, and
transportation costs.
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VIII. RECYCLING

8.01 The following definitions shall apply to this
subarticle:

"Recycling Center" means a facility, established
pursuant to 7 Del. C. S6450 et seq., to receive recyclable
materials.  The Recycling Center includes the recycling
containers marked for the specific recyclable materials
which are to be deposited therein and the area immediately
surrounding them necessary for the purposes of such
recycling centers.  Recycling Centers shall be known as
'RECYCLE DELAWARE' Centers.

"Recyclable Materials" mean those materials which
have been source-separated by the generator thereof for
recycling.  Source separated materials must remain separate
throughout the journey and are not to be re-combined for
transport.

"Recycling" means the process by which solid waste is
transformed or converted into usable material(s) or
product(s).

"Recycler" means a person in the business of collecting,
transporting, and delivering recyclable materials.

8.02 All persons operating facilities within Delaware for
the purpose of recycling solid waste or recyclable materials
other than 'RECYCLE DELAWARE' Recycling Centers
shall file annually with DSWA, on forms prescribed by
DSWA, a report on the nature of the recycling activities
conducted, the quantity and type of materials recycled, and
the disposition of the materials recycled.  Such reports will
be due on April 30 of each year and shall be for the
immediately preceding calendar year.

8.03 At a Recycling Center, no person shall:
a. dispose of solid waste or litter;
b. leave materials outside of recycling containers;
c. deposit into a recycling container any material other

than the specific recyclable material for which the recycling
container is marked to receive;

d. damage, deface, or abuse a recycling container; 
e. block or obstruct vehicles using or serving the

Recycling Center;
f. loiter;
g. scavenge any Recyclable Material; or
h. deposit Recyclable Material that has been collected

from or by a Recycler.

8.04 Each container used for the collection of
Recyclable Material must be clearly marked to prevent
normal trash from being placed into the container, i.e.,
"RECYCLABLE MATERIAL ONLY" - "NO TRASH".

IX. TRANSFER STATION REQUIREMENTS

9.01 Any person operating a transfer station for solid
waste within the State of Delaware shall;

a. prepare daily and maintain (for minimum period of
three years after preparation) records of the solid waste
handled at the transfer station showing the source and final
disposition of such waste after removal from transfer station,
including address of such final disposition.  The records to
be maintained shall be adequate to provide all information
required by the Transfer Station Monthly Solid Waste
Report, annexed hereto as Exhibit B;

b. submit the report required by paragraph 9.01(a) of
these Regulations and verify the accuracy thereof to DSWA
on or before the twentieth (20th) day of the month following
the month for which the report is compiled.  The report shall
be in the form of the Transfer Station Monthly Solid Waste
Report, annexed hereto as Exhibit B;

c. make the records required to be maintained and
preserved by paragraph 9.01(a) of these Regulations
available for inspection by representatives of DSWA during
normal business hours.

9.02 Solid waste originating or collected outside the
State of Delaware shall not be mixed, combined, or
aggregated at any transfer station with solid waste
originating or collected within the State of Delaware that, in
accordance with these Regulations, must be delivered to a
Solid Waste Facility.  

9.03 It shall be the responsibility of the transfer station
operator and those persons hauling to and from the transfer
station to assure that all solid waste collected within the State
of Delaware, and required to be delivered to a Solid Waste
Facility by these Regulations, be delivered to the appropriate
Solid Waste Facility.

9.04 9.02 DSWA through its designated
representatives shall have the right to inspect the transfer
station and solid waste hauling vehicles entering and leaving
the transfer station.

X. INFECTIOUS WASTE (RESERVED)

XI. XREVIEW, ENFORCEMENT AND SANCTIONS

11.01 10.01
a. Any person seeking a license or to have solid waste

disposed of at a Solid Waste Facility who has been aggrieved
by a determination of the CEO or his designee under Section
3.19, 3.21, 4.02, 4.04, 5.01 (b) or 5.04 of these Regulations
may seek review thereof by the Directors of DSWA by filing
a request for review with the CEO within fifteen (15) days of
receipt of notice of such determination.  The hearing shall be
held in accordance with the paragraph of Section 11 10.01
(b) of these Regulations.
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b. 
i. The person filing the request for review under

paragraph 11 10.01 (a) of these Regulations shall be
provided notice by registered mail at least fifteen (15) days
before the time set for the hearing.  The person filing the
request for the hearing shall bear the burden of proof.

ii. The person requesting the hearing may appear
personally or by counsel and may produce competent
evidence in his behalf. Upon the request of the person
requesting the hearing or the CEO, the Chairman of DSWA
shall issue subpoenas requiring the testimony of witnesses
and the production of books, records, or other documents
relevant to the material involved in such hearing.

iii. All testimony at the hearing shall be given
under oath and the Chairman shall administer oaths and all
Directors shall be entitled to examine witnesses.

iv. The hearing may be held as part of a regular
meeting or a special meeting of the Directors of DSWA.
Deliberation shall be held in executive session.

v. The decision of the Directors of DSWA shall
be announced at a public meeting and shall be forwarded to
the person requesting the hearing in written form by
registered mail.

11.02 10.02 Any person who violates a provision of these
Regulations shall be subject to the following sanctions:

a. If the violation has been committed, a civil penalty
of not less than One Hundred ($100) Dollars and not more
than Five Thousand ($5000) Dollars shall be assessed;

b. If a violation continues for a number of days, each
day of such violation shall be considered a separate
violation;

c. If the violation is continuous, or there is substantial
likelihood that it will reoccur, DSWA may seek a temporary
restraining order, a preliminary injunction or permanent
injunction;

d. Any person holding a license issued by DSWA who
violates these Regulations shall be subject to revocation of
such license, or suspension of such license for such period as
determined by DSWA.

e. DSWA personnel are empowered to issue written
notices of violations of these Regulations, without the need
to employ the sanctions set forth above.

11.03 10.03 Any person who violates a provision of these
Regulations may be prevented from entering a Solid Waste
Facility, as determined by the CEO or his  designee, until
that person is in compliance with these Regulations.

EXHIBIT A

TO: DELAWARE SOLID WASTE AUTHORITY
P. O. BOX 455
DOVER, DE 19903-0455

I hereby apply for a Solid Waste Collectors License for the
period of July 1, 19        through June 30, 19       , in
accordance with the Regulations of the Delaware Solid
Waste Authority.  Accordingly, the following is submitted:

(Note: This application will not be processed unless all
requested information is provided.  Each application must be
accompanied by:

1. Proof of insurances as required by Section 3.04;
2. The minimum Bond or Surety, as required by

Section 3.10; and,
3. The vehicle information as requested in Attachment

A of this application.)
4.  A copy of your Delaware Business License.

1. Name of Applicant (Individual or Firm Name):
2. Company/Trade Name:
3. Business Office address/telephone numbers (One
number MUST be a Delaware number):

4. Name, address & telephone number of answering
service if applicable:

OFFICE ADDRESS PHONE #

A.

      (               )

Street  City State Zip

B.

      (               )

Street  City State Zip

C.

      (               )

Street  City State Zip

NAME ADDRESS PHONE #

     (               )

Street  City State Zip

     (              )

Street  City State Zip

     (              )
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5. Name of individuals having administrative
responsibility at each business location:

6. Name, address, telephone number of Registered Agents
or Authorized Representatives:

7. Type of Business:  
  Sole Proprietorship Partnership Municipality
Corporation*  

* If Non-Delaware Corporation, provide proof of
Delaware Registration

8. Date Business was Established:

9. Delaware Business License Number: (contact Division
of Revenue)
 
10. DNREC Waste Haulers Permit Number:

11. Delaware Business License Renewal Date:

12. Federal Taxpayer Identification Number:

13. Name & address of owners or partners in
unincorporated business.  Indicate respective ownership
interest on a percentage basis:

14. Name & address of Officers, Directors, Shareholders
holding in excess of 10% of issued Stock in incorporated
business:

Street  City State Zip

NAME ADDRESS PHONE #

     (               )

Street  City State Zip

     (              )

Street  City State Zip

     (              )

Street  City State Zip

NAME ADDRESS PHONE #

     (               )

Street  City State Zip

     (              )

Street  City State Zip

     (              )

Street  City State Zip

NAME ADDRESS %

Street   City State Zip

Street  City State Zip

Street  City State Zip

Street  City State Zip

Street  City State Zip

Street  City State Zip

NAME ADDRESS %

Street  City State Zip

Street  City State Zip

Street  City State Zip
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15. Indicate if any partnership or corporation other than
applicant has any interest, direct or indirect, in the license
applied for, or in the business conducted under such license.
(If so, state names & addresses and interest of the
partnerships, corporations and principles involved,
indicating the nature and extent of the interest.)

Not applicable   
Provide details if applicable:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

16. Indicate if any individual, partnership or corporation
other than applicant receives or will receive (by way of rent,
salary or otherwise) all or any portion of percentage of the
gross or net profits or income derived from business
conducted under license applied for:

Not applicable   
Provide details if applicable:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

17. Indicate if your company or parent company has ever
been convicted of civil or criminal offenses concerning
waste transporting, processing, or disposal.

   No      Yes  (provide details on separate sheet)

18. Indicate if the applicant, any person mentioned in the
application, or any person having a beneficial interest in the
application has ever been denied an application to collect
solid waste.

Not applicable   

Provide details if applicable:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

19. State general area served by applicant:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

20. Indicate days of the week collections are made:    

  Mon      Tue    Wed      Thur      Fri     Sat      Sun

21. Daily average weight of Household solid waste
collected:_________________ Tons

22. Daily average weight of Municipal solid waste
collected: _________________Tons

23. Daily average weight of Commercial/Industrial solid
waste collected:________________________Tons

24. Indicate location(s) where solid waste is being or will be
delivered:________________________Tons

25. Statement of experience in solid waste collection,
transportation, and/or disposal:
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________
________________________________________________

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION
PROVIDED HEREIN AND ATTACHED HERETO IS
TRUE AND CORRECT AND THAT I HAVE READ AND
AM FAMILIAR WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE
REGULATIONS OF THE DELAWARE SOLID WASTE

Street  City State Zip

Street  City State Zip

Street  City State Zip

TYPE OF WASTE LOCATION
DELIVERED
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AUTHORITY.

Date Signature of Applicant Title

STATE OF COUNTY OF

Before me appeared , who under oath
certifies that the information provided in this application is
true and correct. 

Date Notary Public                              

EXHIBIT B

TRANSFER STATION MONTHLY SOLID WASTE
REPORT

From: Reporting Period:
To: Delaware Solid Waste AuthorityDate:
  

CERTIFICATION I hereby certify that the above
information is true and correct, to the best of my knowledge,
this  day of          , A.D. 19        .

Notary Public President

Differential Disposal Fee Program

 The Delaware Solid Waste Authority (“Authority”),
pursuant to the provisions of 7 Del. C. Ch. 64, hereby adopts
the following program applicable to the fee for disposal of
solid waste at authority facilities:

1. The base rate for disposal of solid waste (excluding
special and industrial process solid waste) shall be $58.50
per ton.

2. For those persons entering into a contract with the
Authority to bring all of their solid waste (excluding special
and industrial process solid waste) which has been collected
in the State of Delaware to Authority facilities, the rebates
set forth shall be paid by the Authority subject to the
folowing:

a. The contract term shall be from the effective
date to June 30, 2002, July 1, 2000 to June 30, 2002, or July
1, 2001 to June 30, 2002.

b. A rebate of $10.00 shall be paid for each ton of
solid waste (excluding special and industrial process solid
waste) delivered to Authority facilities and for which the
base rate disposal fee of $58.50 per ton has been paid to the
Authority.  The rebate shall be paid for the following periods
in which the solid waste (excluding special and industrial
process solid waste) has been delivered:

(i) Effective date through June 30, 1999
(ii) July 1, 1999 through June 30, 2000
(iii) July 1, 2000 through June 30, 2001
(iv) July 2001 through June 30, 2002

c. The rebate for the periods set forth in
Paragraph 2(b) above shall be paid within forty-five (45)
days after full payment has been made to the Authority by
the person entitled to the rebate, for the solid waste
(excluding special and industrial process solid waste)
delivered during the applicable period.

d. An additional rebate shall also be paid in the
event that the solid waste (excluding special and industrial
process solid waste) delivered to the authority facilities

TYPE OF
WASTE

TONS
RECEIVED

TONS
DISPOSED

            DISPOSAL FACILITY
Tons Location

SOLID WASTE DSWA REGULATIONS, SECTION 5

a. Delaware 1.

2.

3.

4.

b. Other 1.

2.

3.

4.

TOTAL

INDUSTRIAL PROCESS WASTE DSWA REGULATIONS, SECTION 3

a. Delaware 1.

2.

3.

4.

b. Other 1.

2.

3.

4.

TOTAL

GRAND
TOTAL



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 8, MONDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 1999

1329

exceeds 800,000 tons for any of the following periods:
(i) July 1, 1999 to June 30, 2000
(ii) July 1, 2000 to June 30, 2001
(iii) July 1, 2001 to June 30, 2002

For each ton of solid waste (excluding special and industrial
process solid waste) in excess of 800,000 tons paid for at the
base rate and delivered to Authority facilities during each
period identified immediately above, the Authority shall set
aside the sum of $8.50 per ton in a fund which shall be
divided among those persons entering into contracts with the
Authority and/or participating in this program.  Each such
person shall be entitled to a share of the fund based on the
percentage of solid waste (excluding special and industrial
process solid waste) which such person delivers to Authority
facilities as a part of the total of all solid waste (excluding
special and industrial process solid waste) delivered to
authority facilities by (1) all persons under contract with the
authority, and (2) all the municipalities, political
subdivisions and governmental instrumentalities and
entities.  The additional rebate for the periods set forth in this
Paragraph 2(d) shall be paid within forty-five (45) days after
full payment has been made to the Authority by the persons
entitled to the rebate.

e. In order to enter into the program, persons
delivering solid waste (excluding special and industrial
process solid waste) collected in the State of Delaware shall
execute contracts with the Authority (I) prior to the effective
date for the contract term from the effective date to June 30,
2002; (ii) on or before June 30, 2000 for the contract term
July 1, 2000 to June 30, 2002; and (iii) on or before June 30,
2001 for the contract term July 1, 2001 to June 30, 2002.

3. Those persons not under contract with the authority
shall be entitled to use the Authority facilities for disposal of
solid waste collected in the State of Delaware, subject to
payment of such rate or rates established by the Authority,
and subject to compliance with the regulations and
requirements of the authority and other applicable laws and
regulations.

4. The contracts utilized to effectuate this program
shall be uniform and shall be consistent with the operative
provisions of the program as set forth herein, and shall
contain such other terms and conditions deemed desirable
and acceptable to the Authority.  Anything to the contrary
contained herein not withstanding, municipalities, political
subdivisions and governmental instrumentalities and entities
which deliver to Authority facilities all their solid waste
(excluding special and industrial process solid waste)
collected in the State of Delaware shall be entitled to the full
benefits of this program, without the need of entering into a
contract with the authority.  The contracts shall inure to the
benefit of and be binding on the persons, including their
successors, assigns, parents, subsidiaries, affiliates, partners,
joint venturers, divisions, and all other entities existing or

newly formed, controlled directly or indirectly by such
persons, through change in ownership or status by transfer of
assets or otherwise, and which engage in the collection and/
or transportation of solid waste (excluding special industrial
process solid waste) generated in the State of Delaware.

5. This Program shall be available to all persons
having active accounts with the Authority effective January
1, 1999 and who have delivered to authority facilities during
the preceding twelve (12) month period a total of at least one
hundred (100) tons of solid waste (excluding special and
industrial process solid waste). For new accounts with the
Authority after January 1, 1999, persons establishing such
accounts shall be entitled to enter the program provided:

(a) the uniform contract referenced in Paragraph 4
herein is executed within sixty (60) days of the date the new
account is established;

(b) the term of the contract extends to June 30,
2002;

(c) the new account is with a new person, and not a
person having an account with the authority as of January 1,
1999; and

(d) the program benefits do not come into effect
until sixty (60) days after the new account is established.

6. For purposes of this program the term “person” is
defined to mean any individual, partnership, corporation,
association, institution, cooperative enterprise, municipality,
commission, political subdivision or other duly established
legal entity.  The term “person” shall also include
successors, assigns, parents, subsidiaries, affiliates, partners,
joint venturers, divisions, and all other entities existing or
newly formed, controlled directly or indirectly by the person,
through change in ownership or status by transfer of assets or
otherwise.

7. This program shall become effective on the
effective date established by the Authority and continue until
June 30, 2002.

Proposed Amendment to the Statewide Solid Waste 
Management Plan

INTRODUCTION

On August 31, 1998 the Delaware Solid Waste
Authority (“DSWA”) announced that it was initiating the
process of updating its Statewide Solid Waste Management
Plan (“Plan”) which was last amended on May 24, 1994.  As
part of the process, written comments were solicited from
the public by October 2, 1998, and it was indicated that
public workshops would be held to discuss comments and
develop a framework/outline for the initial draft of the Plan
revision.

In addition to the comprehensive process of updating
the Plan, the DSWA is undertaking this limited Plan
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amendment in conjunction with regulation changes to afford
the DSWA greater solid waste management program
flexibility.  The management flexibility is set forth hereafter
and is intended to supplement the existing Plan.  To the
extent that there is any inconsistency, this proposed Plan
amendment supercedes.

BACKGROUND

The DSWA has been directed by the Delaware General
Assembly to carry out specific statutory responsibilities
under 7 Delaware Code Chapter 64 (see appendix A of the
Plan as adopted May 1994).  Some of those responsibilities
include:

1. That a statewide comprehensive program for
management, storage, collection, transportation, utilization,
processing and disposal of solid waste be established.

2. That a program for the maximum recovery and
reuse of materials and energy resources derived from solid
wastes be established.

3. That a program for protecting the land, air, surface,
and groundwater resources of the State from depletion and
degradation caused by improper disposal of solid waste be
established.

4. That a statewide solid waste management plan be
developed and implemented by DSWA.

In order to fulfill those responsibilities, the Delaware
General Assembly provided DSWA with statutory
capabilities.  Some of those capabilities include:

1. Plan, design, construct, finance, manage, own,
operate and maintain solid waste management facilities.

2. The receipt, transfer, storage, transportation, and
handling of solid waste and development of support facilities
as deemed necessary by DSWA.

3. Being granted all powers necessary to fulfill these
purposes and to carry out assigned responsibilities.

4. Develop, implement and supervise a program
requiring all persons who haul, convey or transport any solid
waste to obtain a license from DSWA.

5. Charge reasonable fees for services.
6. Control, through regulation or otherwise, the

collection, transportation, storage and disposal of solid
waste, and sanction any person who violates a regulation or a
license condition.

7. Establishment of fees and charges for owners and
occupants of real estate to support budgeting needs.

8. Utilize private industry to the maximum extent
feasible to perform planning, design, management,
collection, construction, operation, manufacturing, and
marketing functions related to solid waste disposal and
resources recovery.

9. Assist in the development of industrial enterprises
based upon resources recovery, recycling, and reuse.

10. Purchase, manage, lease or rent real and personal
property.

11. Do all things necessary for the performance of its
duties, the fulfillment of its obligations, the conduct of its
operations and the conduct of a comprehensive program for
solid waste disposal and resources recovery, and for solid
waste management services.

12. Make short and long range plans for the storage,
collection, transportation or processing and disposal of solid
wastes and recovered resources by the DSWA-owned
facilities.

13. Contract with municipal, county and regional
authorities, state agencies and persons to provide waste
management service in accordance with this chapter and to
plan, design, construct, manage, operate and maintain solid
waste disposal and processing facilities on their behalf.

14. Utilize private industry, by contract, to carry out the
business, design, operating, management, marketing,
planning and research and development functions of the
DSWA or the DSWA may determine that it is in the public
interest to adopt other courses of action.

15. Enter into a contract or contracts with any
municipality providing for or relating to the collection or
treatment and disposal of garbage, solid wastes and refuse
originating in the municipality and the cost and expense of
such collection or treatment and disposal.

The DSWA has, under its statutory provisions
implemented projects to meet the legislated mandate.  Such
projects include:

Delaware Reclamation Project
Cherry Island Landfill Phases I – V
Intermediate Processing Center
Pigeon Point Transfer Station
Pinetree Corners Transfer Station
Sandtown Landfill Areas A – E
Jones Crossroads Landfill Cells 1 –3
Recycle Delaware Centers (120 locations)
Recyclables Marketing Program
Collection Stations (5 locations)
Household Hazardous Waste Collection
Public Education Program

DSWA by contract has participated as a customer in
private sector owned facilities such as Waste to Energy
projects and recycling centers.

The DSWA has identified several future projects to
continue to meet its legislative mandate.  Such projects
include:

Delaware Recycling Center / Materials Recovery
Facility

Central Solid Waste Management Center: Transfer
Station / Materials Recovery Facility

Southern Solid Waste Management Center: Transfer
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Station / Materials Recovery Facility
Cherry Island Landfill Phase VI
Pine Tree Corners Transfers Station Expansion
Sandtown Landfill Areas F – H
Jones Crossroads Landfill Cells 4 –6
Statewide Site Development 
Transportation Operations and Maintenance Centers

The DSWA’s enabling legislation establishes a
statewide solid waste management system which is unique.
The scope of the DSWA’s responsibilities are broad and the
DSWA has implemented a program which not only meets
state needs, but which is regional in nature.  To support the
DSWA’s program, which has involved significant out of
state disposal of solid waste, the DSWA has chosen among
available management options, a statutorily authorized
method of directing the flow of certain solid waste generated
in the state to DSWA facilities.  Although the DSWA’s
method of controlling waste flow is considered valid, the
decision of the United States Supreme Court rendered in C.
A. Carbone, Inc. v. Town of Clarkstown has caused all flow
methods to be scrutinized.

Faced with constantly changing solid waste disposal
objectives and alternatives, many of which could decrease
the DSWA’s participation in out of state disposal activities
and involvement with out of state interests, the DSWA finds
it necessary to have available the maximum flexibility
possible to structure a program which best meets the needs
of the citizens of the state and protects the public health and
the environment.  Accordingly the DSWA by this
amendment to the Plan identifies the alternatives available to
the DSWA for replacing the current method of flow control.

SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT OPTIONS

In addition to the alternatives set forth in Chapter IV of
the Plan, the DSWA shall have available the following solid
waste management options:

1. The provision by contract with solid waste haulers
for solid waste collection and transportation services.

2. The provision of recycling services.
3. Use of differential pricing for solid waste disposal

fees.
4. Establishment of fees and charges for owners and

occupants of real estate to satisfy budgetary needs.
5. Construction or acquisition in whole or in part of

facilities to satisfy solid waste collection, transportation,
transfer, recycling or disposal needs.

The DSWA, in reviewing the management system
options available for establishing user fees, considers
differential pricing for solid waste disposal to be the
preferable alternative of the options set forth above.  The
DSWA in implementing management options may utilize

DSWA staff or contract for services.  The DSWA may enter
into short or long-term agreements under such terms and
conditions considered desirable by the DSWA.  The DSWA
may set and modify the fees it charges in implementing any
of the management options.  In selecting and implementing
options, alternatives and ancillary program features,
including the establishment and modification of fees, the
DSWA shall act through Resolution of its Board of
Directors.

STATE FIRE PREVENTION 
COMMISSION

STATE FIRE MARSHALLS OFFICE

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,
Section 6603 (16 Del.C. 6603)

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will
hold a hearing pursuant to 16 Del. C. §6603 and 29 Del. C.
101 on Tuesday, February 16, 1999, at 2:00 P.M. and 7:00
P.M. in the Commission Chamber, Delaware State Fire
School, Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove
Road, Dover, Delaware.  The Commission is proposing
changes to the following Regulations.

Part V, Chapter 5  Standard for the Marking, Identification,
and Accessibility Of Fire Lanes, Exits, Fire Hydrants,
Sprinkler, and Standpipe Connections.

Persons may view the proposed changes to the
Regulations between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.,
Monday through Friday, at the Delaware State Fire
Prevention Commission, Delaware State Fire School,
Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove Road,
Dover, Delaware, 19904, or the Administrative Office of the
State Fire Marshal located at the Delaware Fire Service
Center, 1537 Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, Delaware,
19904, or the Regional State Fire Marshal’s Offices located
in the First Federal Plaza Building, 704 King Street, Suite
200, Wilmington, Delaware, 19801, and Road 321,
Georgetown, Delaware, 19947.

Persons may present their views in writing by mailing
their views to the Commission at the above addresses prior
to the hearing, and the Commission will consider those
responses received before 10:a.m. on February 16, 1999, or
by offering testimony at the Public Hearing.  If the number
of persons desiring to testify at the Public Hearing is large,
the amount of time allotted to each speaker will be limited.
There will be a reasonable fee charge for copies of the
proposed changes.

http://www.state.de.us/dvfa/html/commission.html
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Part V 
Chapter 5 

Standard For The Marking, Identification, And Accessibility
Of Fire Lanes, Exits, Fire Hydrants, Sprinkler, And
Standpipe

5-1 General.

5-1.1 Scope.

5-1.1.1 This Regulation establishes the minimum
requirements for the design criteria and marking of fire lanes
so as to provide access by emergency services to buildings
and structures, fire hydrants, standpipes and sprinkler
connections.

5-1.1.2 This Regulation also establishes the minimum
requirements for the design criteria and marking of free and
unobstructed areas or zones around fire hydrants; standpipe
and sprinkler connections; building exits for access by
emergency services and to prohibit the blocking of such
areas.

5-1.2 Purpose.

5-1.2.1 The purpose of this Regulation is to provide for
requirements that ensure a reasonable degree of operational
access by emergency services to buildings and structures for
those fire protection and life safety features routinely utilized
by the emergency services.

5-1.3 Application.

5-1.3.1 For the purpose of meeting 5-1.1.1, this regulation
shall apply  to:

(a) All buildings >10,000 square feet in gross floor
area

(b) All buildings: 
(1) 3 or more stories in height    OR
(2) Over 35 feet in height

(c) All buildings or operations  whose primary
occupancy is classified as “High Hazard Occupancy”

5-1.3.2 For the purpose of meeting 5-1.1.2, this regulation
shall apply  to all fire hydrants and fire department
connections which are part of a specific buildings fire
protection features. 

5-1.3.3 This Regulation shall apply to all buildings,
additions or those buildings undergoing a change in
occupancy as specified in Part I, Chapter 1 of these
Regulations.
 

5-1.3.4 This Regulation does not apply to:
(a) One- and two-family dwellings as defined in Part I,

Chapter 1 of these Regulations.
(b) Residential units occupied as one- and two-family

units when constructed in a "townhouse" configuration.

5-1.3.5* Where, in the opinion of the State Fire
Marshal, an occupancy’s fire protection features are such
that fire lanes do not contribute to the overall level of life
safety and/or property conservation, the State Fire Marshal
may modify the requirements of this Chapter.  Such
occupancies shall be identified on a case by case basis and
listed by the State Fire Marshal.

A-5-1.3.5  The intent of this section is to allow the State Fire
Marshal, on a case by case basis, to modify the fire lane
requirements (including the use of forestry lanes) based on
the occupancy’s site configuration, building size and
construction, occupancy classification, and internal features
of fire protection, such as fire alarm signaling and fire
suppression systems.

5-1.4  Definitions.

5-1.4.1 The definitions as found in this section shall be in
addition to the definitions found in other sections of these
Regulations and shall be applicable to Part V, Chapter 5.

Edge of Roadway.  Shall be defined as:
1. Alongside of a curb,  or
2. The outer edge of a roadway,  or
3. The outer edge of the designated fire lane

Yellow Color.  The specific color yellow shall be uniformly
accepted yellow as utilized by State of Delaware Department
of Transportation (DelDOT).

High Hazard Occupancy.   Any building or area classified as
high hazard within the Life Safety Code, NFPA 101, or as
extra hazard within the Standard for the Installation of
Sprinkler Systems, NFPA 13.

5-2 Fundamental Requirements.

5-2.1 Every building, structure or property shall be
provided with sufficient emergency access to and from both
primary and secondary entrances, exits, and necessary
equipment such as fire hydrants, fire department
connections, drafting pads, and like items.

5-2.2 Every fire lane, fire hydrant, fire department
connection and other like items shall be clearly marked in
accordance with applicable sections of this Chapter.
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5-2.3 Every fire lane, fire hydrant, fire department
connection and other like items shall be continuously
maintained free of all obstructions or impediments allowing
full and instant use in case of an emergency.

5-2.4 Every fire lane, fire hydrant, fire department
connection, and other like items shall be maintained by the
property owner to such a degree so as to keep said equipment
properly marked, accessible, and visible at all times.

5-2.5 Where, in the absence of specific instructions, signs
or other notification, the color yellow shall denote "NO
PARKING." 

5-2.6 Where required by this regulation, fire lanes, fire
hydrants, fire department connections and other like items
shall use demarcation lines to define specific areas.

5-2.7 All demarcation lines shall be a minimum of four
inches (4”) in width.

5-2.8 All demarcation lines shall be yellow in color and
only a vivid and durable paint shall be used which is suitable
for road surfaces.

5-2.9 Enforcement action to require the appropriate
design and marking of fire lanes and other like items shall be
as prescribed in this Regulation and 16 Del. C. §6611.

5-2.10 Enforcement action regarding stopping, standing or
parking a vehicle in a fire lane shall be as prescribed in  this
regulation and 21 Del. C. §7001.

5-2.11 Enforcement action regarding stopping, standing or
parking a vehicle within 15 feet of a fire hydrant shall be as
prescribed in this regulation and 21 Del. C. 4179

5-2.12 Four copies of an independent and specific record
type plan, shall be submitted to the State Fire Marshal's
Office providing specific identification and marking details
of access roadways, fire lanes, fire department connections
and fire hydrants.

5-3 Access Roadways.

5-3.1 Where emergency services have to utilize access
roadways between public streets or roads to reach designated
fire lanes, etc. such access roadways shall  be constructed to
meet the minimum engineering specifications and/or
requirements to support emergency apparatus.

5-3.2 Access roadways with no parking on one or both
sides shall be marked as follows:

(1) Curbs painted yellow or a yellow line pursuant to

Figure 1 of these Regulations and
(2) Signs posted along the curb, building line, or side of

the roadway placed at each end of the access roadway and
spaced at 150 foot intervals maximum; all signs shall be
located no less than six feet above the pavement and no
higher than eight feet

5-3.3 Access roadways with parking on both sides shall
not require marking

5-4 Design Of Fire Lanes.

5-4.1 Design and location of fire lanes around buildings,
structures or properties are dependent on many
considerations, such as occupancy, building height,
construction, property grades, etc.  As a result, only those
persons having a good working knowledge of fire
department operations and equipment limitations should
determine fire lane locations.  The following criteria shall be
followed to effect a proposed design for submittal to the
State Fire Marshal or his duly authorized representative for
review and approval.

5-4.2 Primary fire lanes shall be a minimum 24 feet in
width.

5-4.3 Secondary fire lanes shall be a minimum 16 feet in
width.

5-4.4* The minimum width of primary and/or secondary
fire lanes may be reduced when, in the opinion of the State
Fire Marshal, the reduced width will not impact on the
accessibility of fire department emergency vehicles.

A-5.4.4 The intent of this section is to allow the State Fire
Marshall to accept a primary and/or secondary fire lane
width less than what is required by these Regulations.

5-4.5 Fire lanes shall be constructed to meet the
minimum engineering specifications and/or requirements to
support emergency apparatus.

5-4.6 "Speed Bumps" or any other like device used to
reduce vehicle speed will be installed pursuant to the State of
Delaware Department of Transportation specifications.

5-4.7 No parking shall be permitted between a primary
fire lane and  the building.  One row of parking shall be
permitted between a secondary fire lane and  the building.

5-4.8 Overhangs, canopies, balconies, or any other
building feature shall not project over any primary or
secondary fire lane.
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5-5 Location Of  Fire Lanes.

5-5.1 Primary fire lanes shall be required to run along the
"front of the building" as determined by the primary
entrance/exit, windows, balconies, etc.  In cases where there
is more than one primary entrance/exit, each shall be served
by a primary fire lane even if this exceeds the accessibility
percentage as required in Table 5-7.

5-5.2 Secondary fire lanes are acceptable to achieve the
remaining required perimeter accessibility percentage and to
provide access to fire department connections and secondary
exits.

5-5.3 The closest edge of  both primary and secondary
fire lanes shall not be located further than 50 feet from an
exterior wall if one or two stories; 40 feet if three or four
stories and 30 feet if over four stories in height.

5-6 Marking Of Fire Lanes.

5-6.1 General.

5-6.1.1 All fire lanes shall be marked in accordance with
figures 1, 3 and 4 of these regulations
 
5-6.1.2 Fire lanes with no parking between the fire lane and
the building shall be marked as follows:

(1) Curbs painted yellow or 4 inch yellow demarcation
lines on both the inner and outer edges as illustrated in
Figures 1 and 3 of these regulations and

(2) Signs meeting the design of figure 9, posted along 
the curb, building line, or edge of the roadway  placed at
each end of the fire lane and spaced at 150 foot intervals
maximum; all signs shall be located no less than six feet
above the pavement and no higher than eight feet 

5-6.1.3 Fire lanes with parking between the fire lane and
the building shall not require any form of marking as
illustrated in Figures 2 and 4 of these regulations

5-7 Perimeter Accessibility.

5-7.1 Perimeter accessibility is calculated based on
building occupancy, height, and internal fire protection
features.

5-7.2 Table 5-7 shall be used in determining perimeter
accessibility in new buildings.

5-7.3 Table 5-7 shall be used for existing buildings also,
except that only 50 percent of the determined perimeter
accessibility percentage will be required. 

5-7.4 For this regulations purpose, building height shall
be measured from the lowest level of fire department vehicle
access to the floor of the highest occupiable story. 

5-7.5 Perimeter accessibility may be reduced by up to 50
percent when the building is completely protected by an
automatic sprinkler system installed pursuant to the
specifications and standards of the Standard for the
Installation of Sprinkler Systems, NFPA 13, as adopted and/
or modified by these Regulations.
Exception:  Perimeter accessibility shall not be reduced for
Health-Care or Detention and Correctional occupancies.

5-8 Forestry Lanes.

5-8.1 Forestry lanes may only be utilized pursuant to §5-
1.3.5  of  this Regulation.

5-8.2 Forestry lanes shall be a minimum of 16 feet in
width. 

5-8.3 Forestry lanes shall be constructed of no less than
six inches (6”) of crusher run on a well compacted base of
select material with a two inch (2”) maximum cover of top
soil and seed 

5.8.4 All forestry lanes shall be marked by use of no
smaller than three foot (3’) and no longer than five foot (5’)
trees or shrubs spaced 20 feet on center.  Trees and shrubs of
the same size and type shall be placed at the end of the
forestry lane to denote its end

5-8.5 All forestry lanes shall be provided with adequate
curb cuts and each side of the curb cuts shall be provided
with signs the same type of which are specified in §5-6.1.2
of this chapter 

5-9 Marking And Identification Of Exits.

5-9.1 This regulation may be applied to exits  which are
obstructed by the parking of vehicles or other obstructions.

5-9.2 Exits shall have demarcation lines to define specific
areas.

5-9.3 Demarcation lines shall be a minimum of four
inches (4”) in width. 

5-9.4 Demarcation lines shall be yellow in color and only
a vivid and durable paint shall be used which is suitable for
road surfaces. 

5-9.5 Demarcation lines on secondary exits shall be
measured from the center line of the exit way and shall
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extend for a distance of six feet (6’) on either side to the
public way (fire lane). 

5.9.6 Demarcation lines need not be located on sidewalk
surfaces or other pedestrian surfaces not subject to vehicular
traffic but shall extend from the end of the sidewalk surface
to the fire lane. 

5-9.7 No objects, stands, displays, or other impediments
shall be located within the demarcation area.

5-9.8 Four inch steel bollards filled with concrete shall be
installed at the corners of the exit demarcation area.

5-10 Marking And Identification Of Fire Hydrant
Location.

5-10.1 All fire hydrants shall be marked in accordance
with Figures 5, 6 and/or 7.

5-10.2 When fire hydrants  are located along the curb line,
the area between the fire hydrant and the fire lane shall be
stenciled with the words "NO PARKING" which shall
extend to a distance of 15 feet on either side to be measured
from the center line of the fire hydrant (See Figure 5). 

5-10.3 Where fire hydrants are located on a curb island
extension in such a manner that the hydrant is directly
accessible to the access or fire lane, it will only be necessary
to paint the curb island extension for the distance it traverses
the access lane. (See Figure 7)

5-10.4 The distance between a fire hydrant and the nearest
demarcation line of a fire lane shall not be greater than seven
feet (7’) unless an alternate distance is approved by the State
Fire Marshal. 

5-10.5 The steamer connection of all fire hydrants shall be
so positioned so as to be facing the fire lane. 

5-10.6 Where fire hydrants are located in parking lots or
other areas susceptible to blockage by parked vehicles they
shall be treated as follows (See Figure 6):

(a) Fire hydrants shall be protected in all directions for
a distance of seven feet (7’) with barriers or curbing

(b) A fire lane or vehicle access roadway, a minimum
of 16 feet in width, shall run through the parking area and
adjacent to the demarcation area of the fire hydrant. 

5-10.7 All fire hydrants shall have demarcation lines to
define specific areas. 

5-10.8 All demarcation lines shall be a minimum of four
inches (4”) in width. 

5-10.9 All demarcation lines shall be yellow in color  and
only a vivid and durable paint shall be used which is suitable
for road surfaces. 

5-10.10 Four inch steel bollards filled with concrete shall be
installed at the corners of the fire hydrant demarcation area

5-11 Marking And Identification Of Standpipes And
Sprinkler Connections.

5-11.1 In addition to the requirements outlined in Part III,
Chapter 1, §1-1.4.1 of these Regulations, all standpipe and
sprinkler connections shall also be marked in accordance
with Figure 8. 

5-11.2 Demarcation lines shall be measured from the
center line of connection and extend for a distance of four
feet (4’) on either side. 

5-11.3 Demarcation lines need not be located on sidewalk
surfaces but should extend from the end of the sidewalk
surface to the fire lane. 

5-11.4 No objects, stands, displays, or other impediments
shall be located within the demarcation area. 

5-11.5 All standpipe and sprinkler connections and other
such like items shall have demarcation lines to define
specific areas. 

5-11.6 All demarcation lines shall be a minimum of four
inches (4”) in width. 

5-11.7 All demarcation lines shall be yellow in color  and
only a vivid and durable paint shall be used which is suitable
for road surfaces. 

5-11.8 Four inch steel bollards filled with concrete shall be
installed at the corners of the standpipe and sprinkler

Table 5-7
Perimeter Accessibility

Number of Stories
     1-2               3-4             Over 4 
Type of Occupancy     (Up to 25')     (26-50')      (Over 50') 

Place of Assembly 
Class A 100% 100% 100% 
Class B 75% 100% 100% 
Class C 50% 100% 100%

Educational 
All Schools 100% 100% 100% 
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Day Care Facilities75% 100% 100% 

Health Care & Penal 100% 100% 100% 

Business 50% 100% 100%

Mercantile 
Class A 100% 100% 100% 
Class B 75% 100% 100%
Class C 50% 100% 100%

Residential 50% 70% 100% 

NOTE 1: Industrial, Storage, special hazards, and any
occupancy not listed in Table 5-7 will be reviewed on an
individual basis with the nature and degree of the hazard to
be considered.

NOTE 2: See §5-1.3.3 for buildings that are not required
to comply with this Table.
 
NOTE 3: Perimeter accessibility may be reduced by up
to 50 percent when the building is completely protected by
an automatic sprinkler system installed pursuant to the
specifications and standards of the Standard for the
Installation of Sprinkler Systems, NFPA 13, as adopted and/
or modified by these regulations
Exception:  Perimeter accessibility shall not be reduced for
Health-Care or Detention and Correction occupancies

NOTE 4: Where, in the opinion of the State Fire
Marshal, an occupancy’s fire protection features are such
that fire lanes do not contribute to the overall level of life
safety and/or property conservation, the State Fire Marshal
may modify the requirements of this Chapter.  Such
occupancies shall be identified on a case by case basis and
listed by the State Fire Marshal.

F I G U R E  1
P R I M A R Y  F I R E  L A N E

2 4 '

F I R E  L A N E  S I G N
1 5 0 '  O N  C E N T E R

F I R E  L A N E  S I G N
                                      1 5 0 '  O N  C E N T E R

4 "  D E M A R C A T I O N
L I N E S

                                    O R
                                        Y E L L O W  C U R B

P A R K I N G
S P A C E S

                                                                   
      

                                                                

                                                                                     Figure Two
   
                                                                                     RESERVED
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F i g u r e  T h r e e

M a r k i n g  o f  S e c o n d a r y  F i re  L a n e
W ith  a  S i d e w a l k

F I G U R E  3
SECONDARY FIRE LANE

SIDEW A LK

4”  DEM ARCATION LINES
OR  

YELLOW  CURB

FIRE LANE SIGN
A T  EACH END &
1 5 0 ' ON CENTER

FIRE LANE SIGN
A T  EACH END &

1 5 0 ' ON CENTER

F i g u r e  F o u r
M a r k i n g  o f  S e c o n d a r y  F i r e  L a n e

W i t h o u t  a  S i d e w a l k

4 "  E M P H A S I S  L I N E S

6 ’
6 ’

F I R E  L A N E
W I T H  P A R K I N G

N O  P A R K I N G  A R E A

F I G U R E  4
S E C O N D A R Y  F I R E  L A N E

1  R O W
O F  P A R K I N G

A L L O W E D

B U I L D I N G
E X I T

(N O  M A R K I N G S
R E Q U I R E D )

P R O T E C T I O N  A G A I N S T
V E H I C L E  I M P A C T
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F ig u r e  F iv e
M a r k in g  o f  F i r e  H y d r a n t  A lo n g  A  C u r b  L in e

F I G U R E  5
M A R K I N G  O F  F I R E  H Y D R A N T

A L O N G  C U R B  L IN E

4 "
EM P H A S I S

LIN ES

1 5 '

1 5 '

4 "
D E M A R C A T I O N

LIN ES

P A R K I N G

7 '0 "  M A X I M U M

P A R K I N GP R O T E C T I O N
A G A I N S T
VEHICLE
 I M P A C T

F ig u r e  S ix
M a r k in g  a n d  P r o t e c t i o n  o f  F i r e  H y d r a n t  i n  V e h i c l e  P a r k in g  A r e a

F I G U R E  6
M A R K I N G / P R O T E C T I O N

O F  F I R E  H Y D R A N T S

4 "
D E M A R C A T I O N

LIN ES

4 "
EM P H A S I S

LIN E

M O T O R C Y C L E  P A R K I N G

VEHICLE
P A R K I N G

A R E A

1 6 '

VEHICLE
P A R K I N G

A R E A

7 ’

7 '

1 4 '

T R A F F I C
L A N E

P R O T E C T I O N
A G A I N S T
VEHICLE
 I M P A C T
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F i g u r e  S e v e n
M a r k i n g  o f  F i r e  H y d r a n t  o n  a  C u r b  I s l a n d  E x t e n s i o n

7 ' M A X .

EX T ENDED ISLAND

F I G U R E  7
M ARKING OF FIRE

HYDRANT ALONG CURB

NOTE:
SHADED AREA OF CURB

TO BE PAINTED YELLOW .

F i g u r e  E ig h t
M a r k in g  o f  S t a n d p ip e  a n d  S p r i n k l e r  C o n n e c t i o n s

F I G U R E  8
S T A N D P I P E/S P R I N K LER

C O N N ECT I O N

4 "  D EM A R C A T I O N  L IN E

4 "  EM P H A S I S  L IN E
4 '

4 '

N O T E:
S I G N  LET T E R I N G  T O  B E

A  M I N I M U M  O F
3  I N C H ES  I N  H E I G H T  W I T H
RED  S C O T C H  L IT E  L E T T E R S

O N  W H I T E S C O T C H  LI T E
B A C K G R O U N D .

M I N I M U M  1 2 ”  X  1 8 ”
“ F I R E  D E P T .

C O N N ECT I O N ”

F I R E  D E P A R T M EN T
C O N N ECT I O NP A R K I N G

P E R M I T T E D

P A R K I N G
P E R M I T T E D

P R O T ECT I O N
A G A I N S T
V E H I C L E
I M P A C T
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DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

DELAWARE BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL 
THERAPY

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 2007(a)(1) (24 Del.C. 2007(a)(1)

Notice of Public Hearing

Please Take Notice, pursuant to 29 Del.C., Chapter 101
and 24 Del.C., §2007(a)(1), the Delaware Board of
Occupational Therapy has developed and proposes to adopt
comprehensive Rules and Regulations.  The regulations will
describe the Board’s organization, operations and rules of
procedure, the process and requirements for licensure and
certain standards of conduct applicable to the practice of
occupational therapy.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Wednesday, March 17, 1999 at 4:30 p.m. in
the Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904.  The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Mary
Paskey at the above address.  Final date to submit written
comments shall be at the above scheduled public hearing.
Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed Rules and
Regulations or to make comments at the public hearing
should contact Mary Paskey at the above address or by
calling (302) 739-4522, ext. 207.

This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

FINAL DRAFT
Delaware State Board of Occupational Therapy

Proposed Rules And Regulations
Draft Effective 01/06/99

 
Table of Contents

RULE 1: Definitions/Requirements for Supervision of
OTA/L 

RULE 2: Licensure Procedure
RULE 3:  Temporary Licensure/Examination

Eligible OT
RULE 4:  Temporary Licensure/Examination

Eligible OTA
RULE 5:  Continuing Education

Rule 1: Supervision/consultation Requirements for
Occupational Therapy Assistants:

(A)   “Occupational therapy assistant” shall mean a person
licensed to assist in the practice of occupational therapy
under the supervision of an occupational therapist. Title 24,
Delaware Code, §2002(4).  (emphasis added)

“Under the supervision of an occupational therapist”
means the interactive process between the licensed
occupational therapist and the occupational therapy
assistant.  It shall be more than a paper review or
co-signature.  The supervising occupational
therapist is responsible for insuring the extent, kind,
and quality of the services rendered by the
occupational therapy assistant.

The phrase, “Under the supervision of an occupational
therapist,” as used in the definition of occupational therapist
assistant includes, but is not limited to the following
requirements:

1. Communicating to the occupational therapy
assistant the results of  patient/client  evaluation and
discussing the goals and program plan for the patient/client;

2. In accordance with supervision level and applicable
health care, educational, professional and institutional
regulations, reevaluating the patient/client, reviewing the
documentation, modifying the program plan if necessary and
co-signing the plan.   

3. Case management;
4. Determining program termination;
5. Providing information, instruction and assistance as

needed;
6. Observing the occupational therapy assistant

periodically; and
7. Preparing on a regular basis, but at least annually, a

written appraisal of the occupational therapy assistant’s
performance and discussion of that appraisal with the
assistant.

The supervisor may assign to a competent occupational
therapy assistant the administration of standardized tests, the
performance of activities of daily living evaluations and
other elements of patient/client evaluation and reevaluation
that do not require the professional judgment and skill of an
occupational therapist.

(B) Supervision for Occupational Therapy Assistants is
defined as follows:

1. Direct Supervision requires the supervising
occupational therapist to be on the premises and immediately
available to provide aid, direction, and instruction while
treatment is performed in any setting including home care.
Occupational therapy assistants with experience of less than
one (1) full year are required to have direct supervision.
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2. Routine Supervision requires direct contact at least
every two (2) weeks at the site of work, with interim
supervision occurring by other methods, such as telephonic
or written communication.  

3. General Supervision requires at least monthly direct
contact, with supervision available as needed by other
methods.

(C) Minimum supervision requirements:
1. Occupational therapy assistants with experience of

less than one (1) full year are required to have direct
supervision.

Occupational therapy assistants with experience greater
than one (1) full year must be supervised under either direct,
routine or general supervision based upon skill and
experience in the field as determined by the supervising OT.

2. Supervising occupational therapists must have at
least one (1) year clinical experience after they have received
permanent licensure. 

3. An occupational therapist can supervise no more
than three (3) occupational therapy assistants (two (2) if in
separate locations).

4. Levels of supervision should be determined by the
occupational therapist before the individuals enter into a
supervisor/supervisee relationship.  The chosen level of
supervision should be reevaluated regularly for
effectiveness.

5. The supervising occupational therapist, in
collaboration with the occupational therapy assistant, shall
maintain a written supervisory plan specifying the level of
supervision and shall document the supervision of each
occupational therapy assistant. Levels of supervision should
be determined by the occupational therapist before the
individuals enter into a supervisor/supervisee relationship.
The chosen level of supervision should be reevaluated
regularly for effectiveness.

This plan shall be reviewed at least every six months or
more frequently as demands of service changes.

6. A supervisor who is temporarily unable to provide
supervision shall arrange for substitute supervision by an
occupational therapist licensed by the Board with at least one
(1) year of clinical experience, as defined above, to provide
supervision as specified by Rule 1 of these rules and
regulations.

RULE 2:LICENSURE PROCEDURES:

(A) To apply for an initial license, an applicant shall submit
to the Board:

(1) A completed notarized application on the form
approved by the Board;

(2) Verification of a passing score on the NBCOT
standardized exam submitted by the exam service or
NBCOT;

(3) Official transcript and proof of successful
completion of field work submitted by the school directly to
the Board office;

(4) Fee payable to the State of Delaware.

(B) To apply for a reciprocal license, in addition to the
requirements listed in Title 24, Delaware Code, §2011, an
applicant shall submit the following to the Board:  

(1) A completed notarized application on the form
approved by the Board;

(2) Verification of a passing score on the NBCOT
standardized exam submitted by the exam service or
NBCOT;

(3) Letter of verification from any state in which the
applicant has been licensed ( the applicant is responsible for
forwarding the blank verification form to all states where
they are now or ever have been licensed);

(4) Fee payable to the State of Delaware.
 
(C) To apply for renewal, an applicant shall submit:

(1) A completed renewal application on the form
approved by the Board;

(2) Evidence of meeting continuing education
requirements as designated by the  Board in Rule 5;

(3) Renewal fee payable to the State of Delaware.

(D) To apply for inactive status:
A licensee may, upon written request to the Board, have

his/her license placed on inactive status if he/she is not
actively engaged in the practice of occupational therapy in
the State.

(E) To apply for reactivation of an inactive license, a
licensee shall submit:

(1) A letter requesting reactivation;
(2) A completed application for renewal
(3) Proof of continuing education attained within the

past two years (20 contact hours) The twenty (20) hours
must be in accordance with Rule 5 of these rules and
regulations;

(4) Fee payable to the State of Delaware. 

(F) To apply for reinstatement of an expired license, an
applicant shall submit (within three (3) years of the
expiration date):

(1) A completed application for renewal;
(2) Proof of continuing education attained within the

past two years (20 contact hours).  The twenty (20) hours
must be in accordance with Rule 5 of these rules and
regulations;

(3) Licensure and late fee payable to the State of
Delaware.
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RULE 3:   TEMPORARYLICENSURE/EXAMINATION
ELIGIBLE OT:

(A) To apply for a temporary license, an applicant shall
submit to the Board:

(1) A completed, notarized application on the form
approved by the Board;

(2) Official transcript and proof of successful
completion of field work submitted by the school directly to
the Board office;

(3) A letter indicating the date on which the applicant
proposes to take the NBCOT examination;

(4) A signed agreement from an occupational therapist
currently licensed by the state of Delaware certifying that the
applicant will be supervised while practicing, in accordance
with the definitions for supervision as stated herein,
in paragraph (c);

(5) Fee payable to the State of Delaware.

(B) Following the examination, the temporary licensee shall
submit to the Board a notarized copy of the verification of
exam scores , if the Board has not directly received the
results of the examination.  If the temporary licensee has not
successfully passed the examination the temporary license
will be surrendered to the Board immediately upon
notification of exam results.

(C) Supervision of the exam-eligible occupational therapist
with a temporary license shall be defined as follows:

(1) The supervising occupational therapist must hold a
current license to practice in the state of Delaware;

(2) Must have completed a minimum of one year of
practice from the date of their permanent licensure status;

(3) Supervision must consist of daily face to face
contact between the supervisor and the temporary licensee;

(4) The supervising occupational therapist shall at no
time supervise more than four (4) temporarily licensed
occupational therapists.  In the event that the temporary
licensees should be working at separate sites, the supervising
therapist shall supervise no more than two (2) temporarily-
licensed therapists. A supervising therapist can assume
responsibility for no more than five (5) including
temporarily licensed OTs and OTAs and licensed OTAs. 

RULE 4:  TEMPORARY LICENSURE/EXAMINATION
ELIGIBLE OTA:

(A) To apply for a temporary license, an applicant shall
submit to the Board:

(1) A completed, notarized, application on the form
provided by the Board;

(2) Official transcript and proof of successful
completion of field work submitted by the school directly to
the Board Office;

(3) A letter indicating the date on which the applicant
proposes to take the NBCOT examination;

(4) A signed agreement from an occupational therapist
currently licensed by the state of Delaware certifying that the
applicant will be supervised while practicing, in accordance
with the definitions for supervision as stated herein,
in paragraph (c);

(5) Fee payable to the State of Delaware.

(B) Following the examination, if the Board has not directly
received the results of the examination, the temporary
licensee shall submit to the Board a notarized copy of the
verification of exam scores,.  If the temporary licensee has
not successfully passed the examination, the temporary
license will be surrendered to the Board immediately upon
notification of exam results.

(C) Supervision for the examination-eligible occupational
therapy assistant with a temporary license shall be defined as
follows:

(1) The supervising occupational therapist must hold a
current license to practice in the state of Delaware;

(2) Must have completed a minimum of one year of
practice from the date of their permanent licensure status;

(3) Direct Supervision as defined in Rule 1 shall be
required of all temporarily licensed occupational therapy
assistants;

(4) The supervising occupational therapist shall at no
time supervise more than three (3) temporarily licensed
occupational therapy assistants.  A supervising therapist can
assume responsibility for no more than five (5) including
temporarily licensed OT, OTAs and licensed OTAs).

RULE 5:  CONTINUING EDUCATION:  
(A) Continuing Education Units (CEUs): 
Contact hours shall be prorated for new licensees in

accordance with the following schedule:

**21 months up to and including 24 months remaining
in the licensing cycle requires .........    20 hours

**16 months up to and including 20 months remaining
in the licensing cycle requires .........    15 hours

**11 months up to and including 15 months remaining
in the licensing cycle requires ........     10 hours

**10 months or less remaining in the licensing
cycle........      exempt

(B) Definition of Acceptable Continuing Education Credits:
Credits must be earned in two (2) or more of the seven

(7) categories for continuing education beginning on page 8.

(C) Continuing Education Content:
Activities must be in a field of health and social services

related to occupational therapy. Approval will be at the
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discretion of the Board.  CEUs earned in excess of the
required credits for the two (2) year period may not be
carried over to the next biennial period.

(D) Definition of Contact Hours:
(1) Academic course work, correspondence courses, or

seminar/workshop shall be equivalent to one (1) contact
hour.  

(2) One (1) academic semester hour shall be equal to
fifteen (15) contact hours.

(3) One (1) academic quarter hour shall be equal to ten
(10) contact hours.  

(4) The preparing of original lectures, seminars, or
workshops in occupational therapy or health care subjects
shall be granted one (1) contact hour for preparation for each
contact hour of presentation.  Credit for preparation shall be
given for the first presentation only.

(E) Categories for Continuing Education:
(1) COURSES:  The maximum number of hours for

course work which shall not exceed nineteen (19) hours, (1.9
CEUs), are hour-for-hour program content only, courses
from extension courses, refresher courses, workshops,
seminars, lectures, conferences, in-services, as long as they
enhance occupational therapy services.  Excluded are any
job related duties in the workplace such as fire safety, OSHA
or CPR.

(2) PROFESSIONAL MEETINGS & ACTIVITIES:
The maximum number of credit hours shall not exceed ten
(10) hours, (1.0 CEUs). Approved credit includes attendance
at:  DOTA business meetings, AOTA 
business meetings, AOTA Representative Assembly
meetings, NBCOT meetings, OT Licensure Board meetings
and AOTA National Round Table discussions.  Credit will
be given for participation as an elected or appointed
member/officer on a board, committee or council in the field
of health and social service related to occupational therapy.
Excluded are any job related meetings such as department
meetings, supervision of students and business meetings
within the work setting.  

(3) PUBLICATIONS:  The maximum number of credit
hours shall not exceed fifteen (15) hours, (1.5 CEUs). These
include writing chapters, books, abstracts, book reviews
accepted for publication and media/video for professional
development in any venue.  Prior approval by the Board for
individual credit is mandatory for the licensee. Publications
submitted at the close of the licensure period, which have not
been previously reviewed and approved by the Board, will
not be considered for continuing education credits.

(4) PRESENTATIONS:  The maximum number of
credit hours shall not exceed fifteen (15) hours, (1.5 CEUs).
This includes workshops and community service
organizations presentations that the licensee presents.  Credit
will not be given for the presentation of information that the

licensee has already been given credit for under another
category.

(5) RESEARCH/GRANTS:  May be used one time for
CEUs per study/topic regardless of length of project, not to
exceed ten (10) hours, (1.0 CEUs). CEUs accumulated under
this category may not be used under the publication
category.  Licensee must submit documentation of
authorship or letters from authorizing entity to receive
continuing education credit. Documentation must be
presented for prior Board approval to determine the number
of CEU hours.

(6) SPECIALTY CERTIFICATION:  Approval of
credit hours for specialty certification, requiring successful
completion of courses and exams attained during the current
licensure period will be at the discretion of the Board.
Examples include Certified Hand Therapist (CHT) and
Certified Pediatric Occupational Therapist (BCP).  

(7) HOME STUDY COURSES:  The maximum
number of credit hours shall not exceed ten (10) hours, (1.0
CEUs).  These include distance learning and correspondence
courses.  Documentation must be presented for prior Board
approval for home study courses.  

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

DELAWARE  REAL  ESTATE COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
Section 2905 (24 Del. C. Section 2905)

Notice of Public Hearing

The Delaware Real Estate Commission, in accordance
with 24 Delaware Code, Section 2905(a)(1) and 29
Delaware Code, Section 10115 of the Administrative
Procedures Act, hereby give notice that it shall hold a public
hearing on March 18, 1999 at 1:30 p.m. in the second floor
Conference Room A of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver
Lake Boulevard, Dover Delaware.

The Commission shall receive input in writing or by
oral testimony from interested persons regarding revisions of
the rules and regulations: Rule I.C.I (Responsibility). Add
sentence specifying responsibility of broker to see that all
agents affiliated with his/her office are currently licensed;
Rule II.A.2. Non-substantive changes updating the title of
the education guidelines. Rule XII. (Inducements). Add
subsection B permitting a broker or salesperson who must be
a resident or non-resident licensee to give a rebate/discount/
any other thing of value to a purchaser or seller and C which
requires the licensee to disclose to his or her principal any
rebate or discount made to buyer.
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The final date for interested persons to submit views in
writing or orally shall be at the above scheduled public
hearing. Anyone wishing to make oral or written comments
or who would like a copy of the proposed changes may
contact the Commission office at 302-739-4522, extension
219, or write to the Delaware Real Estate Commission , 861
Silver Lake Boulevard Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904-2467.   

Delaware  Real  Estate  Commission
Rules  And  Regulations
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Section II
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Delaware Real Estate Commission Rules And Regulations

I. Introduction
A. Authority

1. Pursuant to 24 Del. C. Section 2905, the
Delaware Real Estate Commission is authorized and
empowered and hereby adopts the rules and regulations
contained herein.

2. The Commission reserves the right to make
any amendments, modifications or additions hereto, that, in
its discretion are necessary or desirable.

3. The Commission reserves the right to grant
exceptions to the requirements of the rules and regulations
contained herein upon a showing of good cause by the party
requesting such exception, provided such exception is not
inconsistent with the requirements of 24  Del. C. Chapter 29.

B. Applicability
The rules and regulations contained herein, and any

amendments, modifications or additions hereto are
applicable to all persons presently licensed as real estate
brokers or real estate salespersons, and to all persons who
apply for such licenses.

C. Responsibility
1. It is the responsibility of the employing broker

to insure that the rules and regulations of the Commission
are complied with by licensees. Every broker is responsible
for making certain that all of his or her sales agents are
currently licensed, and that their agents make timely
application for license renewal.  A broker’s failure to meet
that responsibility may result in a civil fine against the
broker of up to $1,000.00 per agent.

2. Each office location shall be under the
direction of a broker of record, who shall provide complete
and adequate supervision of that office.  A broker serving as
broker of record for more than one office location within the
State shall apply for and obtain an additional license in his
name at each branch office.  The application for such
additional license shall state the location of the branch office
and the name of a real estate broker or salesperson licensed
in this State who shall be in charge of managing the branch
office on a full time basis.

A broker shall not serve as broker of record unless
said broker has been actively engaged in the practice of real
estate, either as a licensed salesperson or a licensed broker,
for the preceding three (3) years.

Where an unforeseen event, such as a resignation or
termination from employment, death, emergency, illness,
call to military service or training, or a sanction imposed by
the Commission causes or necessitates the removal of the
sole licensed broker in an office, arrangements may be made
with the Commission for another broker to serve as broker of
record for said office on a temporary basis.

The employment of a sales manager, administrative
manager, trainer, or other similar administrator shall not
relieve the broker of record of the responsibilities contained
and defined herein.  

3. The failure of any licensee to comply with the
Real Estate Licensing Act and the rules and regulations of
the Commission may result in disciplinary action in the form
of a reprimand, civil penalty, suspension or revocation of the
broker’s and/or salesperson’s  license.

II. REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING A
SALESPERSON'S LICENSE

The Commission shall consider any applicant who has
successfully completed the following:

A. Course
1. The Commission shall consider any applicant

who has successfully completed an accredited course in Real
Estate Practice.
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2. Effective May 1, 1978, all real estate courses
shall be limited to thirty-five (35) students in each class.
This applies to both day and night courses.  All other
regulations regarding real estate courses are issued under the
"Guidelines for Fulfilling the Delaware Real Estate
Continuing Education Requirements". The Commission
reserves the right to grant exception to this limitation.

B. Examination
1. Within twelve (12) months of completing an

accredited course, the applicant must make application to the
Commission by submitting a score report showing
successful completion of the examination required by the
Commission.  The applicant must forward all necessary
documentation to the Commission to be considered for
licensure.

2. An applicant may sit for the examination a
maximum of three (3) times after successful completion of
an approved course in real estate practice.  If an applicant
fails to pass the examination after three (3) attempts at such,
the applicant shall be required to retake and successfully
complete an approved course in real estate practice before
being permitted to sit for the examination again.

C. Ability to conduct business
1. The Commission reserves the right to reject an

applicant based on his or her inability to transact real estate
business in a competent manner or if it determines that the
applicant lacks a reputation for honesty, truthfulness and fair
dealings.

2. The minimum age at which a salesperson's
license can be issued is eighteen (18).

D. Fees
The Commission shall not consider an application for a

salesperson's license unless such application is submitted
with evidence of payment of the following fees:

1. Salesperson's application fee established by the
Division of Professional Regulation pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Section 8807(d).

III. REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING A REAL
ESTATE BROKER'S LICENSE

The Commission shall consider the application of any
person for a broker’s license upon completion of the
following:

A. Course
1. The Commission shall consider the application

of any person for a license after said applicant has
successfully completed an accredited course.

2. Effective May 1, 1978, all courses shall be
limited to thirty-five (35) students in each class.

B. Experience
1. A salesperson must hold an active license in

the real estate profession for five (5) continuous years
immediately preceding application for a broker's license.

2. The applicant shall submit to the Commission a

list of at least thirty (30) sales or other qualified transactions,
showing dates, location, purchaser's name and seller's name.
These sales must have been made by the applicant within the
previous five (5) years through the general brokerage
business and not as a representative of a builder, developer,
and/or subdivider.  Transactions involving time-shares,
leases, or property management are not qualified
transactions for purposes of obtaining a real estate broker's
license. The Commission reserves the right to waive any of
the above requirements, upon evidence that the applicant
possesses sufficient experience in the real estate business or
demonstrates collateral experience to the Commission.

3. The list of thirty (30) sales or other qualified
transactions and/or the variety of the licensee's experience
must be approved by the Commission.

C. Examination
Within twelve (12) months of completing an

accredited course, the applicant must submit a score report
showing successful completion of the examination required
by the Commission and submit all necessary documentation
including the credit report required by Paragraph E of this
rule to the Commission to be considered for licensure.

D. Ability to conduct business
1. The Commission reserves the right to reject an

applicant based on his or her ability to transact real estate
business in a competent manner or if it determines that the
applicant lacks experience, a reputation for honesty,
truthfulness and fair dealings.

2. The minimum age at which a person can be
issued a broker's license is twenty-three (23).

E. Credit Report
Each applicant shall submit a credit report from an

approved credit reporting agency, which report shall be
made directly to the Commission.

F. Fees
The Commission shall not consider an application

for a broker's license unless such application is submitted
with evidence of payment of the following fees:

1. Broker's application fee established by the
Division of Professional Regulation pursuant to 29 Del. C.
Sec. 8807(d).

IV. RECIPROCAL LICENSES
A. Requirements

1. A non-resident of this State who is duly
licensed as a broker in another state and who is actually
engaged in the business of real estate in the other state may
be issued a non-resident broker's license under 24 Del. C.
Sec. 2909(a).

2. A non- resident salesperson who is duly
licensed as a salesperson in another state and who is actually
engaged in the business of real estate in the other state may
be issued a non-resident salesperson's license provided such
non-resident salesperson is employed by a broker holding a
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broker's license issued by the Commission.
3. The Commission, at its discretion, may issue a

non-resident broker's or salesperson's license without the
course and examination required by Rules II.B. or III.C.
provided the non-resident broker or salesperson passed an
equivalent course and examination in his/her resident state
and provided that such other state extends the same privilege
to Delaware real estate licensees.

V. ESCROW ACCOUNTS
A. All moneys received by a broker as agent for his

principal in a real estate transaction shall be deposited within
three (3) banking days after a contract of sale or lease has
been signed by both parties, in a separate escrow account so
designated, and remain there until settlement or termination
of the transaction at which time the broker shall make a full
accounting thereof to his or her principal.

B. All moneys received by a salesperson in connection
with a real estate transaction shall be immediately delivered
to the appropriate broker.

C. A broker shall not co-mingle money or any other
property entrusted to him with his money or property, except
that a broker may maintain up to $100.00 of his/her own
funds in the escrow account to cover bank service charges
and to maintain the minimum balance necessary to avoid the
account being closed.

D. A broker shall maintain in his office a complete
record of all moneys received or escrowed on real estate
transactions, including the sources of the money, the date of
receipt, depository, and date of deposit; and when a
transaction has been completed, the final disposition of the
moneys.  The records shall clearly show the amount of the
broker's personal funds in escrow at all times.

E. An escrow account must be opened by the broker in
a bank with an office located in Delaware in order to receive,
maintain or renew a valid license.

F. The Commission may summarily suspend the
license of any broker who fails to comply with Paragraph D,
who fails to promptly account for any funds held in escrow,
or who fails to produce all records, books, and accounts of
such funds upon demand.  The suspension shall continue
until such time as the licensee appears for a hearing and
furnishes evidence of compliance with the Rules and
Regulations of the Commission.

G. Interest accruing on money held in escrow belongs
to the owner of the funds unless otherwise stated in the
contract of sale or lease.

VI. TRANSFER OF BROKER OR SALESPERSON
A. All licensees who transfer to another office, or

brokers who open their own offices, but who were associated
previously with another broker or company, must present a
completed transfer form to the Commission signed by the
individual broker or company with whom they were

formerly associated, before the broker's or salesperson's
license will be transferred.  In addition all brokers who are
non-resident licensees must also provide a current certificate
of licensure.

B. The Commission reserves the right to waive this
requirement upon a determination of good cause.  

C. All brokers of record who move the physical
location of their office shall notify the Commission in
writing at least 30 days, or as soon as practical, prior to such
move by filing a new office application.

VII. BUSINESS TRANSACTIONS AND PRACTICES
A. Written Listing Agreements

Listing Agreements for the rental, sale, lease or
exchange of real property, whether exclusive, co-exclusive
or open shall be in writing and shall be signed by the seller or
owner.

B. Copy of agreements
Every party to a listing agreement, agreement of

purchase and sale, or lease shall be furnished with an
executed copy of such contract or contracts.  It shall be the
responsibility of the licensee to deliver an executed copy of
the agreements to the principals within a reasonable length
of time after execution.

C. Advertising
1. Any licensee who advertises, on signs,

newspapers or any other media, property personally owned
and/or property in which a licensee has any ownership
interest, and said property is not listed with a broker, must
include in the advertisement that he/she is the owner of said
property and that he/she is a real estate licensee.

2. Any licensee who advertises in newspapers or
any other media, property personally owned and/or property
in which the licensee has any ownership interest, and said
property is listed with a broker, must include in the
advertisement the name of the broker under whom he/she is
licensed, that he/she is the owner of said property, and that
he/she is a real estate licensee.  This subsection does not
apply to signs.

3. Any licensee who advertises, by signs,
newspaper, or any other media, any property for sale, lease,
exchange, or transfer that is listed with a broker must include
in the advertisement the name of the broker under whom the
licensee is licensed.

4. All advertisements for personal promotion of
licensees must include the name of the company under
whom the licensee is licensed.

D. Separate Office
1. Applicants for broker's licenses and those

presently licensed must maintain separate offices in which to
conduct the real estate business.  Nothing contained herein,
however, shall preclude said persons from sharing facilities
with such other businesses as insurance, banking, or others
that the Commission shall deem compatible.
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2. Where the office is located in a private home,
said office must have a separate entrance and must be
approved by the Commission.  The broker must place a
permanent sign indicating the name under which the office is
licensed, in a conspicuous location. 

E. Compensation
1. Licensees shall not accept compensation from

more than one party to a transaction, even if permitted by
law, without timely disclosure to all parties to the
transaction.

2. When acting as agent, a licensee shall not
accept any commission, rebate, or profit on expenditures
made for his principal-owner without the principal’s
knowledge and informed consent.

F. Duty to Cooperate
Brokers and salespersons shall cooperate with all

other brokers and salespersons involved in a transaction
except when cooperation is not in the client’s best interest.
The obligation to cooperate does not include the obligation
to share commissions or to otherwise compensate another
broker or salesperson.

VIII. RENEWAL OF LICENSES
A. Renewal Required by Expiration Date on License

In order to qualify for license renewal as a real
estate salesperson or broker in Delaware, a licensee shall
have completed 15 hours of continuing education within the
two year period immediately preceding the renewal.  The
broker of record for the licensee seeking renewal shall
certify to the Commission, on a form supplied by the
Commission, that the licensee has complied with the
necessary continuing education requirements.  This
certification form shall be submitted by the licensee together
with his/her renewal application and renewal fee.  The
broker of record shall retain for a period of one (1) year, the
documents supporting his/her certification that the licensee
has complied with the continuing education requirement.  A
licensee who has not paid the fees and/or met the
requirements for the renewal of his or her license by the
expiration date shown thereon, shall not list, sell, lease or
negotiate for others after such date.

B. Delinquency Fee
1. If a licensee fails to renew his or her license

prior to the expiration date shown thereon, he or she shall be
required to pay the full license fee and an additional
delinquency fee equal to one half of the license fee.  If a
licensee fails to renew his or her license within 60 days of
the expiration date shown thereon, the license shall be
cancelled.

2. Failure to receive notice of renewal by a
licensee shall not constitute a reason for reinstatement.

C. Reinstatement of License
1. A cancelled license shall be reinstated only

after the licensee pays the necessary fees, including the

delinquency fee, and passes any examinations required by
the Commission.  If the licensee fails to apply for renewal
within 6 months of the cancellation date, the licensee shall
be required to take the state portion of the examination.  If
the licensee fails to apply for renewal before the next
renewal period commences (two years), the licensee shall be
required to pass both the state and the national portions of
the examination.

2. No person whose license has been revoked will
be considered for the issuance of a new license for a period
of at least two (2) years from the date of the revocation of the
license.  Such person shall then fulfill the following
requirements: he or she shall attend and pass the real estate
course for salespersons; take and pass the Commission's
examination for salespersons; and any other criteria
established by the Commission.  Nothing above shall be
construed to allow anyone to take the course for the purpose
of licensing until after the waiting period of two (2) years.
Nothing contained herein shall require the Commission to
issue a new license upon completion of the above mentioned
requirements, as the Commission retains the right to deny
any such application.

IX. AVAILABILITY OF RULES AND REGULATIONS
A. Fee Charge for Primers

Since licensees are required to conform to the
Commission's Rules and Regulations and the Laws of the
State of Delaware, these Rules and Regulations shall be
made available to licensees without charge. However, in
order to help defray the cost of printing, students in the real
estate courses and other interested parties may be required to
pay such fee as stipulated by the Division of Professional
Regulation for the booklet or printed material.

X. DISCLOSURE
A. A licensee who is the owner, the prospective

purchaser, lessor or lessee or who has any personal interest
in a transaction, must disclose his or her status as a licensee
to ALL persons with whom he or she is transacting such
business, prior to the execution of any agreements and shall
include on the agreement such status.

B. Any licensee advertising real estate for sale stating
in such advertisement, "If we cannot sell your home, we will
BUY your home", or words to that effect, shall disclose in
the original listing contract at the time he or she obtains the
signature on the listing contract, the price he will pay for the
property if no sales contract is executed during the term of
the listing.  Said licensee shall have no more than sixty (60)
days to purchase and settle for the subject property upon
expiration of the original listing or any extension thereof.

C. A licensee who has direct contact with a potential
purchaser or seller shall disclose in writing whom he/she
represents in any real estate negotiation or transaction.  The
disclosure as to whom the licensee represents should be
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made at the 1st substantive contact to each party to the
negotiation or transaction.  In all cases such disclosure must
be made  prior to the presentation of an offer to purchase.  A
written confirmation of disclosure shall also be included in
the contract for the real estate transaction.

The written confirmation of disclosure in the
contract shall be worded as follows:

With respect to agent for seller:  "This broker, any
cooperating broker, and any salesperson working with either,
are representing the seller's interest and have fiduciary
responsibilities to the seller, but are obligated to treat all
parties with honesty.  The broker, any cooperating broker,
and any salesperson working with either, without breaching
the fiduciary responsibilities to the seller, may, among other
services, provide a potential purchaser with information
about the attributes of properties and available financing,
show properties, and assist in preparing an offer to purchase.
The broker, any cooperating broker, and any salesperson
working with either, also have the duty to respond accurately
and honestly to a potential purchaser's questions and disclose
material facts about properties, submit promptly all offers to
purchase and offer properties without unlawful
discrimination." 

With respect to agent for buyer:  "This broker, and
any salesperson working for this broker, is representing the
buyer's interests  and has fiduciary responsibilities to the
buyer, but is obligated to treat all parties with honesty. The
broker, and any salesperson working for the broker, without
breaching the fiduciary responsibilities to the buyer, may,
among other services, provide a seller with information
about the transaction.  The broker, and any salesperson
working for the broker, also has the duty to respond
accurately and honestly to a seller's questions and disclose
material facts about the transaction, submit promptly all
offers to purchase through proper procedures, and serve
without unlawful discrimination."

In the case of a transaction involving a lease in
excess of 120 days, substitute the term "lessor" for the term
"seller", substitute the term "lessee" for the terms "buyer"
and "purchaser", and substitute the term "lease" for
"purchase" as they appear above.

D. If a property is the subject of an agreement of sale
but being left on the market for backup offers, or is the
subject of an agreement of sale which contains a right of first
refusal clause, the existence of such agreement must be
disclosed by the listing broker to any individual who makes
an appointment to see such property at the time such
appointment is made.

XI. HEARINGS
A. When a complaint is filed with the Commission

against a licensee, the status of the broker of record in that
office shall not change.

B. There shall be a maximum of one (1) postponement

for each side allowed on any hearing which has been
scheduled by the Commission.  If any of the parties are
absent from a scheduled hearing, the Commission reserves
the right to act based upon the evidence presented.

XII. INDUCEMENTS
A. Real Estate licensees cannot use commissions or

income received from commissions as rebates or
compensation paid to or given to NON-LICENSED
PERSONS, partnerships or corporations as inducements to
do or secure business, or as a finder's fee.

B. This Rule does not prohibit a real estate broker or
salesperson from giving a rebate or discount or any other
thing of value directly to the purchaser or seller of real
estate.  The real estate broker or salesperson, however, must
be licensed as a resident or non-resident licensee by the
Commission under the laws of the State of Delaware.

C. A real estate broker or salesperson has an
affirmative obligation to make timely disclosure, in writing,
to his or her principal of any rebate or discout that may be
made to the buyer.

XIII. NECESSITY OF LICENSE
A. For any property listed with a broker for sale, lease

or exchange, only a licensee shall be permitted to host or
staff an open house or otherwise show a listed property.
That licensee may be assisted by non-licensed persons
provided a licensee is on site.  This subsection shall not
prohibit a seller from showing their own house.

B. For new construction, subdivision, or development
listed with a broker for sale, lease or exchange, a licensee
shall always be on site when the site is open to the general
public, except where a builder and/or developer has hired a
non-licensed person who is under the direct supervision of
said builder and/or developer for the purpose of staffing said
project.

XIV. OUT OF STATE LAND SALES APPLICATIONS
A. All applications for registration of an out of state

land sale must include the following:
1. A completed license application on the form

provided by the Commission.
2. A $100 filing fee made payable to the State of

Delaware.
3. A valid Business License issued by the State of

Delaware, Division of Revenue.
4. A signed Appointment and Agreement

designating the Delaware Secretary of State as the
applicant’s registered agent for service of process.  The form
of Appointment and Agreement shall be provided by the
Commission.  In the case of an applicant which is a
Delaware corporation, the Commission may, in lieu of the
foregoing Appointment and Agreement, accept a current
certificate of good standing from the Delaware Secretary of



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 8, MONDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 1999

1349

State and a letter identifying the applicant’s registered agent
in the State of Delaware.

5. The name and address of the applicant’s
resident broker in Delaware and a completed Consent of
Broker form provided by the Commission.  Designation of a
resident broker is required for all registrations regardless of
whether sales will occur in Delaware.

6. A bond on the form provided by the
Commission in an amount equal to ten (10) times the amount
of the required deposit.

7. Copies of any agreements or contracts to be
utilized in transactions completed pursuant to the
registration.

B. Each registration of an out of state land sale must be
renewed on an annual basis.  Each application for renewal
must include the items identified in sub-sections 2 through 4
of Section A above and a statement indicating whether there
are any material changes to information provided in the
initial registration.  Material changes may include, but are
not limited to, the change of the applicant’s resident broker
in Delaware; any changes to the partners, officers and
directors’ disclosure form included with the initial
application; and any changes in the condition of title.

C. If, subsequent to the approval of an out of state land
sales registration, the applicant adds any new lots or units or
the like to the development, then the applicant must, within
thirty days, amend its registration to include this material
change.  A new registration statement is not required, and the
amount of the bond will remain the same.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

DELAWARE GAMING CONTROL BOARD

Statutory Authority: 28 Delaware Code,
Section 1122 (28 Del.C. 1122) 

The Delaware Gaming Control Board proposed
amendments to the Bingo Regulations and charitable
Gambling Regulations.  The Board proposes these
regulations pursuant to 28 Del. C. §1122 and 29 Del. C.
§10111.  A copy of the proposed regulations are attached to
this letter.

The public may obtain copies of the existing regulations
and proposed regulations from the Board’s office, Division
of Professional Regulations, c/o Lynn Houska, Cannon
Building, Suite #203, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE
19904, phone (302) 739-4522.  The Board will accept
written comments from February 1, 1999, until March 2,
1999.  A public hearing will be held at the Board’s monthly
meeting on March 3, 1999, at 1:00 p.m. at the Common

Building, second floor conference room.
The Board proposes to amend Charitable Gambling

Regulation 3.12 to provide for filing of an after occasion
report within fifteen (15) days of the last day of the function
consistent with 28 Del. C. §1140.  The Board proposes to
amend Bingo Regulation 1.04(7) to further define the cookie
jar bingo games by providing: 1) that no licensee can start a
third cookie jar bingo jackpot without first giving away their
first cookie jar bingo jackpot; and, 2) if a licensee has not
given away a first cookie jar jackpot as required, then the
licensee must hold a separate bingo coverall game as the last
game to award the jackpot.

Regulations Governing Charitable Gambling
Other than Raffles

3.12: Reports After the Function.
Within fifteen (15) days of the last day of the Function,

the member-in-charge shall submit a report to the Board
stating the amount of Gross Receipts, the Net Proceeds and
the list of expenses incurred.  This report must indicate the
specific charitable purposes for which the proceeds will be
used.

Regulations Governing Bingo

1.04(7): Conduct of Bingo.
No prizes greater in an amount or value than $250 shall

be offered or given in any single game and the aggregate
amount or value of all prizes offered or given in all games
played on a single occasion shall not exceed $1,000.  All
winners shall be determined and all prizes shall be awarded
in any game played on any occasion within the same
calendar day as that upon which the game is played.  The
value of any promotional giveaways, which shall be no more
than $500 per annum to be distributed at an organizational
anniversary date and no more than three (3) holiday dates per
year shall not be counted towards the dollar amounts
described in this section.  However, a licensee may offer
inducements, including but not limited to cookie-jar bingo
games that do not exceed $500 per game per night, free
refreshments, and free transportation of players to and from
bingo events, to attract bingo players to the bingo event,
provided that the fair market value of inducements is limited
to 15% of the total amount of all other prizes offered or
given during the bingo event.

Any amounts in any cookie-jar bingo games shall not be
included in the limitations of this section or in any prize
money limitations.  A bingo licensee may not have more
than two $500 cookie jar bingo pots at any one time which
are to be awarded to players.  The licensee must award the
first cookie jar bingo pot before it may start a third cookie jar
bingo pot.  In the event that a licensee has a first cookie jar
bingo pot of $500 and then accrues a second cookie jar bingo
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pot of $500, the licensee must award the first cookie jar pot
to a player on the occasion at which the second cookie jar pot
reaches the $500 limit.  On such occasion, if the first cookie
jar pot is not awarded by the end of the occasion, the licensee
shall conduct a final special bingo game of “full card” or
“black out” bingo using a separate, single card, and the first
$500 cookie jar shall be won by the player or players who
first covers al spaces on their entire card.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to repeal the regulation School Calendar and
Required Days and Hours of Instruction, I.D.2., page A-7 in
the Handbook for K-12 Education. The repeal is necessary
because the regulation is simply a repeat of Del. C., Section
1049, and does not need to be in regulation since it is already
in the Del. C.

School Calendar And Required Days And
Hours of Instruction

From Handbook For K-12 Education

2. School Calendar And Required Days And Hours of
Instruction

Delaware Code, Title 14, Section 1049 as amended in
January 1996 gives local school boards the following
authority concerning the school calendar and hours of
instruction:

a. Local school boards will determine the hours of
daily school sessions, holidays when district schools will be
closed and days on which teachers attend educational
improvement activities.

b. District calendars shall be adopted by April 30 for
the ensuing year and may only be amended following 30
days public notice.

c. Requirements Related to Calendar Days
(1) Grades 1-12 must attend at least 180 days of

school.
(2) Kindergarten students must attend 176 days of

school in either a morning or afternoon session or the
equivalent.

(3) Up to 4 days per semester may be abbreviated
for parent-teacher conferences, curriculum development,
semester examinations, or other school improvement
activities.

(a) Except for the first and last day of the
school year any such abbreviated day shall be at least 3 1/2

hours exclusive of lunch and shall not be scheduled on a
school day preceding a scheduled holiday.

(b) Morning and afternoon sessions of
kindergarten shall be alternated on such abbreviated days.

d. Requirements Related to Hours
(1) For grades 1-12 the length of the regular school

day shall be at least six hours exclusive of lunch.
(a) A district may schedule days with fewer

than six hours so long as the total scheduled hours of
instruction do not fall below 1,060 hours.
(2) The actual hours of instruction may be less than 1,060
hours due to unplanned delays or early dismissals of not
more than two hours in each instance which are caused by
weather or other unforeseen emergency circumstances.

The Secretary seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to repeal the regulation on Technology, I.L.7.,
page A-39 in the Handbook for K-12 Education.  The repeal
is necessary because it is simply a technical assistance
statement and does not regulate anything.

TECHNOLOGY

FROM HANDBOOK FOR K-12 EDUCATION

7. TECHNOLOGY
a. Philosophy

Technological advancements have become a part of
our society affecting all segments of our lives. Educators
recognize the potential of these advancements in supporting
instruction, preparing students for a technological age and
assisting with information management.

At all levels of education, educators are very
interested in the effect technology has on instruction and
have implemented various technologies to enhance
instruction.  The state recognizes the need to establish
priorities for instructional technology, coordinate the use of
technology, and promote training and staff development to
assure full benefit of technology.

b. Specific information on the Technology issues can
be found in the State Instructional Technology Plan.

(State Board Approved April 1990)

http://www.doe.state.de.us/index_js.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

OFFICE OF VITAL STATISTICS

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,
Section 3102 (16 Del.C. 3102)

Notice of Public Hearing

The Office of Vital Statistics, Division of Public Health
of  the Department of Health and Social Services, will hold a
public hearing to discuss proposed Regulations for the Vital
Statistics Code (Title XVI, Chapter 31, Delaware Code).
These proposed regulations describe procedures the Office
of Vital Statistics will utilize in registering, maintaining, and
releasing vital events for the State of Delaware.

This public hearing will be held on Monday, March 15,
1999 beginning at 10:00 a.m. in Room 309, Jesse Cooper
Building, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for
review by contacting:

Mr. Michael Richards
Office of Vital Statistics
Division of Public Health
Jesse Cooper Building
P. O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903
Telephone:  302.739.4721

Anyone wishing to present their oral comments at this
hearing should contact Mr. Michael Richards at (302) 577-
6666 by March 8, 1999.  Anyone wishing to submit written
comments as a supplement to, or in lieu of oral testimony
should submit such comments by March 19, 1999 to:

Mr. Michael Richards, Director
Office of Vital Statistics
Division of Public Health
PO Box 637
Dover, Delaware  19903

Regulations for Title 16, Chapter 31  Relating 
to Vital Statistics

Del. Code. §3104 has established in the Division of
Public Health an Office of Vital Statistics which shall install,
maintain and operate the only system of vital statistics
throughout this State.  The Office of Vital Statistics shall
have branch offices in each county.  The Department of
Health and Social Services shall designate one such branch
as the central Office of Vital Statistics, and this branch shall

be responsible for the supervision of the operation of the
other vital statistics offices throughout this State.

Regulation 1. Duties and Responsibilities of Branch Offices
(Authorization: Section 3105)

The State Registrar may delegate such duties and
responsibilities to branch offices as he or she deems
necessary to insure the efficient operation of the system of
vital statistics.  These duties may include any or all of the
following:

(a) The receipt, processing, and maintenance of records
of birth, death, fetal death, and marriage occurring within
their respective counties.  This includes the receipt of these
records from the person responsible for their filing, checking
them for accuracy and completeness, and forwarding them to
the central Office of Vital Statistics at intervals prescribed by
the State Registrar.

(b) Issuance of certified copies of birth, death, fetal
death and marriage records.  The records from which the
certified copies are issued shall be those maintained in the
branch office or shall be provided by the central Office of
Vital Statistics.  All forms and procedures used to issue the
certified copies shall be provided or approved by the State
Registrar.  If it is deemed appropriate and feasible, any
branch office may be provided access to all birth, death and
marriage records filed in Delaware.

(c) Acting as the agent of the State Registrar in their
designated area and providing assistance to physicians,
hospitals, funeral directors, and others in matters related to
the system of vital statistics.

(d) Performing such other duties as may be prescribed
by the State Registrar.

Regulation 2. Record Preservation
(Authorization: Section 3107)

When an authorized reproduction of a vital record has
been properly prepared by the State Registrar in accordance
with Title 29, Chapter 5 of the Delaware Code and when all
steps have been taken to insure the continued preservation of
the information, the record from which such authorized
reproduction was made may be disposed of in accordance
with an approved disposition schedule. Such record may not
be disposed of, however, until the quality of the authorized
reproduction has been tested in accordance with Title 29,
Chapter 5 of the Delaware Code to insure that acceptable
certified copies can be issued and until a security copy of
such document has been placed in a secure location removed
from the building where the authorized reproduction is
housed.  Such security copy shall be maintained in such a
manner to insure that it can replace the authorized
reproduction should the authorized reproduction be lost or
destroyed.

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dph/dphhome.htm
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The State Registrar shall update the appropriate
retention and disposition schedules as necessary.  The State
Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs shall adhere to
applicable state laws and regulations pertaining to vital
records.

Regulation 3. Form and Completion of Certificates and 
Reports (Authorization:  Sections 3108 & 3109)

Regulation 3.1.  Media, Forms, Certificates, Electronic Data
Files.

All forms, certificates, records, electronic data files, and
reports used in the system of vital statistics are the property
of the Department of Health and Social Services and shall be
surrendered to the State Registrar upon demand.  The forms
prescribed and distributed by the State Registrar for
reporting vital statistics shall be used only for official
purposes.  Only those forms furnished or approved by the
State Registrar shall be used in the reporting of vital statistics
or in making copies thereof. Electronic data records shall be
accepted only when standards set by the State Registrar are
met.

Regulation 3.2.  Requirements for Preparation of
Certificates.

All forms, certificates, and reports relating to vital
statistics must either be type written or printed legibly in
black, unfading ink, or stored on electronic media approved
by the State Registrar.  All signatures required shall be
entered in black, unfading ink or stored electronically.
Unless otherwise directed by the State Registrar, no
certificate shall be complete and correct and acceptable for
registration:

(a) That does not contain the certifier's name typed or
printed legibly;

(b) that does not supply all items of information called
for thereon or satisfactorily account for their omission;

(c) that contains alterations or erasures;
(d) that does not contain handwritten signatures as

required;
(e) that is marked "copy" or "duplicate";
(f) that is a carbon copy;
(g) that is prepared on an improper form;
(h) that contains improper or inconsistent data;
(i) that contains an indefinite cause of death which

denotes only symptoms of disease or conditions resulting
from disease;

(j) that is not prepared in conformity with regulations
or instructions issued by the State Registrar. 

Regulation 4. Disclosure and Copies of Data from Vital 
Records (Authorization: Section 3110)

To protect the integrity of vital records:
(a) The State Registrar or other custodians of vital

records shall not permit inspection of these records, or
disclose information contained in vital statistics records, or
copy or issue a copy of all or part of any such record unless
he or she is satisfied that the applicant is authorized to obtain
a copy or abstract of such record.

(1) Family members doing genealogical research
and genealogists representing a family member may obtain
copies of records needed for their research.  Unless the
registrant is deceased, appropriate authorizations shall be
required from the registrant or relevant family members as
defined in section 3110(b) for the release of the records. If
family members, or genealogists representing them, are
unable to establish the death of a registrant or to identify
those closer family members authorized by Section 3110(b),
they may obtain copies of marriage and death records only
upon presentation of evidence satisfactory to the State
Registrar that they are directly descended from a parent or
grandparent of the registrant.

(2) The term "authorized representative" shall
include an attorney, physician, funeral director, or other
designated agent acting in behalf of the registrant or his or
her family.

(3) The natural parents of adopted children, when
neither has custody, and commercial firms or agencies
requesting listings of names and addresses shall not be
authorized to obtain copies or abstracts of the record.

(b) The State Registrar or local custodian shall not
issue a certified copy of a record until the applicant has
provided sufficient information to locate the record.
Whenever it shall be deemed necessary to establish an
applicant's right to information from a vital record, the State
Registrar or local custodian may also require identification
of the applicant or a sworn statement.

(c) When 72 years have elapsed after the date of birth,
or 40 years have elapsed after the date of death or marriage,
such records in the custody of the State Registrar shall
become available to any person upon submission of an
application containing sufficient information to locate the
record.  The State Registrar shall collect the same fee for
each copy issued or search of the files made, as is charged
for a single certified copy.  The same fee shall apply for vital
records in the possession of the Division of Historical and
Cultural Affairs.

(d) All forms and procedures used in the issuance of
certified copies of vital records in the state shall be uniform
and provided or approved by the State Registrar.  All
certified copies issued shall have security features that deter
the document from being altered, counterfeited, duplicated,
or simulated without ready detection.  All certified copies
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shall include, at a minimum, the following security features:
(1) sensitized security paper;
(2) background security design;
(3) copy void pantograph;
(4) consecutive numbering;
(5) engraved border;

(e) A certified copy or other copy of a death certificate
containing the cause of death information shall not be issued
except as follows:

(1) Upon specific request of the spouse, children,
parents, or other next of kin of the decedent or their
respective authorized representatives; or

(2) when a documented need for the cause of death
to establish a legal right or claim has been demonstrated; or

(3) when the request for the copy is made by or on
behalf of an organization that provides benefits to the
decedent's survivors or beneficiaries; or

(4) upon specific request by local, state, or Federal
agencies for research or administrative purposes approved
by the Department of Health and Social Services; or

(5) when needed for statistical or research
activities provided requests for such information conform to
the Regulations Governing The Release of Vital Statistics
Data For Research And Statistical Purposes established by
the Department of Health and Social Services; or

(6) upon receipt of an order from a court of
competent jurisdiction ordering such release.

(f) Nothing in these regulations shall be construed to
permit disclosure of information contained in the
"Information for Medical and Health Use Only" section of
the certificate of birth or the "Information for Statistical
Purposes Only" section of the certificate of marriage or
certificate of divorce or annulment unless specifically
authorized by the Department of Health and Social Services
for statistical or research purposes.  Such data shall not be
subject to subpoena or court order and shall not be
admissible before any court, tribunal, or other judicial body.

(g) When the State Registrar receives information that
a certificate may have been registered through fraud or
misrepresentation, he or she shall withhold issuance of any
copy of that certificate pending an administrative hearing.
The sole purpose of the hearing shall be to determine
whether their is sufficient evidence to continue to withhold
issuance of copies of said certificate.  The State Registrar
shall offer the registrant or the registrant's authorized
representative notice and opportunity to be heard.  If upon
conclusion of the hearing no fraud or misrepresentation is
found, copies may be issued.  If upon conclusion of the
hearing fraud or misrepresentation is found, the State
Registrar shall remove the certificate from the file.  The
certificate and evidence shall be retained but shall not be
subject to inspection or copying except upon order of a court
of competent jurisdiction or by the State Registrar for
purposes of administering the vital statistics program.

Regulation 5. Birth Registration
(Authorization:  Section 3121)

Regulation 5.1.  Out-of-Institution Birth - Documentary
Evidence.

When a birth occurs in Delaware outside of a hospital or
institution, and the birth certificate is filed before six months,
additional evidence in support of the facts of birth may be
required.

A certificate for the birth shall be completed and filed
upon presentation of the following evidence by the
individual responsible for filing the certificate:

(a) Evidence of pregnancy, such as but not limited to:
(1) Prenatal record, or
(2) a statement from a physician or other health

care provider qualified to determine pregnancy, or
(3) a home visit by a public health nurse or other

health care provider, or
(4) other evidence acceptable to the State

Registrar.
(b) Evidence that the infant was born alive, such as but

not limited to:
(1) A statement from the physician or other health

care provider who saw or examined the infant, or
(2) an observation of the infant during a home visit

by a public health nurse, or
(3) other evidence acceptable to the State

Registrar.
(c) Evidence of the mother's presence in this state on

the date of the birth, such as but not limited to:
(1) If the birth occurred in the mother's residence,

(a) A driver's license, or a state-issued
identification card, which includes the mother's current
residence on the face of the license/card, or

(b) a rent receipt that includes the mother's
name and address, or

(c) any type of utility, telephone, or other bill
that includes the mother's name and address, or

(d) other evidence acceptable to the State
Registrar.

(2) If the birth occurred outside of the mother's
place of residence, and the mother is a resident of Delaware,
such evidence shall consist of:

(a) An affidavit from the tenant of the
premises where the birth occurred, that the mother was
present on those premises at the time of the birth, and

(b) evidence of the affiant's residence similar
to that required in paragraph (c)(1) of this regulation, and

(c) evidence of the mother's residence in
Delaware similar to that required in paragraph (c)(1) of this
regulation, or

(d) Other evidence acceptable to the State
Registrar.

(3) If the mother is not a resident of Delaware,
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such evidence must consist of clear and convincing evidence
acceptable to the State Registrar.

Regulation 5.2.  Determination of Mother.
For the purposes of birth registration, the mother is

deemed to be the woman who gives birth to the child, unless
otherwise provided by state law or determined by a court of
competent jurisdiction prior to the filing of the birth
certificate.  

Regulation 6. Infants of Unknown Parentage;Foundling 
Registration  (Authorization:  Section 3122)

The report for an infant of unknown parentage shall be
registered on a current certificate of live birth and shall:

(a) Have "foundling" plainly marked in the top margin
of the certificate;

(b) show the required facts as determined by
approximation and have parentage data left blank;

(c) show the name and title of the custodian in lieu of
the attendant.

If a report of a foundling is later placed in a special file
as provided by Section 3122(d) of the Delaware Code, the
State Registrar may inspect such information for purposes of
properly administering the vital statistics program or as
otherwise provided by state law.

Regulation 7. Death Registration
(Authorization:  Section 3123)

Regulation  7.1.  Acceptance of Death Certificate with
Incomplete Personal Information.

If all the personal information necessary to complete a
certificate of death is not available within the time prescribed
for filing of the certificate, the funeral director or person
acting as such, shall file the certificate with all information
that is available and satisfactorily account for all the items
that are omitted.  

A supplemental report providing the personal
information omitted from the original certificate shall be
filed by the funeral director or person acting as such with the
State Registrar as soon as possible, but in all cases within 30
days of the date the death occurred.

The supplemental report shall be used to revise the
existing certificate of death; and the certificate of death shall
be marked "Revised".

Regulation 7.2.  Replacement of Pending Certificate
When a pending certificate of death is filed pursuant to

Section 3123(e), a revised certificate of death providing the
medical information omitted from the original certificate
shall be completed by the certifier within thirty days of the
date the death occurred, or within sixty days if an extension
has been applied for through the State Registrar.  The revised

certificate shall be forwarded to the funeral director or
person acting as such.  The funeral director will complete all
the personal information and file the revised certificate of
death with the Office of Vital Statistics.  The revised
certificate of death shall replace the pending certificate of
death and shall be considered the original.  Such certificate
shall not be marked "Revised".

Regulation 7.3.  Hospital or Institution May Assist in
Preparation of Certificate.

When a death occurs in a hospital or other institution
and the death is not under the jurisdiction of the medical
examiner, the person in charge of such institution, or his or
her designated representative, may initiate the preparation of
the certificate of death as follows:

(a) (1) Place the full name of the decedent and the
date, time, and place of death on the certificate of death and
obtain the medical certification of cause of death from the
attending physician or;

(2) place the full name of the decedent and the
date, time, and place of death on the certificate of death and
obtain the  pronouncing physician's attestation.

(b) present the partially completed certificate of death
to the funeral director or person acting as such.

Regulation 8. Adoption
(Authorization:  Section 3126)

Regulation 8.1.  Certificates.
(a) Whenever an adoption decree is amended or

annulled, the clerk of the court shall prepare a report thereof.
This report shall include such facts as are necessary to
identify the original certificate of adoption and the facts
amended in the adoption decree as shall be necessary to
properly amend the birth record.

(b) When the State Registrar shall receive a certificate
of adoption, report of annulment of adoption, or amendment
of a decree of adoption for a person born outside Delaware,
he or she shall forward such certificate or report to the State
Registrar in the state of birth.

Regulation 8.2.  New Certificate.
The new certificate of birth prepared after adoption shall

be on the form in use at the time of its preparation and shall
include the following items and such other information
necessary to complete the certificate:

(a) The name of the child;
(b) the date and city and/or county of birth as

transcribed from the original certificate;
(c) the names and personal particulars of the adoptive

parents;
(d) the name of the attendant, printed or typed;
(e) the State File number assigned to the original

certificate of birth;
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(f) the original filing date
The information necessary to locate the existing

certificate and to complete the new certificate shall be
submitted to the State Registrar on forms prescribed or
approved by him or her.  

Regulation  8.3.   Existing Certificate to Be Placed in a
Special File.

After preparation of the new certificate, the existing
certificate and the evidence upon which the new certificate
was based shall be placed in a special file.  Such file shall not
be subject to inspection except upon order of a court of
competent jurisdiction or by the State Registrar for purposes
of properly administering the vital statistics program or as
otherwise provided by state law.

Regulation 9. Acknowledgement or Establishment of 
Paternity (Authorization:  Section 3127)

The new certificate of birth prepared after
acknowledgement or establishment of paternity shall be on
the form in use at the time of its preparation and shall include
the following items and such other information necessary to
complete the certificate:

(a) The name of the child;
(b) the date and city and/or county of birth as

transcribed from the original certificate;
(c) the names and personal particulars of the natural

parents;
(d) the name of the attendant, printed or typed;
(e) the State File number assigned to the original

certificate of birth;
(f) the original filing date.
The information necessary to locate the existing

certificate and to complete the new certificate shall be
submitted to the State Registrar on forms prescribed or
approved by him or her.  

Regulation 10. Amendment of Vital Records
(Authorization:  Section 3131)

Regulation 10.1.  Amendment of Minor Errors on Birth
Certificates During the First Year. 

Amendment of obvious errors, transposition of letters in
words of common knowledge, or obvious omissions may be
made by the State Registrar within the first year after the
date of birth either upon his or her own observation or query
or upon request of a person as defined in Regulation 10.3.
When such additions or minor amendments are made by the
State Registrar, a notation as to the source of the
information, together with the date the change was made and
the initials of the authorized agent making the change shall
be made on the certificate in such a way as not to become a
part of any certified copy issued.  The certificate shall not be

marked "Amended."

Regulation 10.2.  All Other Amendments.
Unless otherwise provided in these regulations or in the

statute, all other amendments to vital records shall be
supported by:

(a) An affidavit setting forth:
(1) Information to identify the certificate;
(2) the incorrect data as it is listed on the

certificate;
(3) the correct data as it should appear; and

(b) One or more items of documentary evidence which
support the alleged facts and which were established at least
five years prior to the date of application for amendment or
within seven years of the date of the event.   

The State Registrar shall evaluate the evidence
submitted in support of any amendment, and when he or she
finds reason to doubt its validity or adequacy, the
amendment may be rejected and the applicant advised of the
reasons for this action.

Regulation 10.3.  Who May Apply. 
(a) To amend a certificate of birth, application may be

made by one of the parents, if the registrant is under age 18;
the guardian, the registrant if 18 years of age or over; or the
individual responsible for filing the certificate.

(b) To amend a certificate of death, application may be
made by the next of kin, the informant listed on the
certificate of  death, or the funeral director or person acting
as such who submitted the certificate of death. Applications
to amend the medical certification of cause of death may be
made only by the physician who provided the medical
certification or the medical examiner.

(c) To amend a certificate of marriage, application
must be made jointly by both parties to the marriage or by
the survivor.  In the event the marriage to which the
application relates was terminated by divorce or annulment
on or before the date of application for amendment, the
applicant may request amendment only of those items on the
certificate of marriage which relate to the applicant.

Regulation 10.4.  Amendment of Registrant's Given Names
on Certificates of Birth Within the First Year.

Until the registrant's first birthday, given names may be
amended upon receipt of an affidavit signed by the parent(s)
named on the certificate or the guardian, person, or agency
having legal custody of the registrant.

After one year from the date of birth the provisions of
Regulation 10.2 must be followed to amend a given name if
the name was entered incorrectly on the certificate of birth.
A legal change of name order must be submitted from a
court of competent jurisdiction to change a given name after
one year.
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Regulation 10.5.  Addition of Given Names on Certificates
of Birth.

Until the registrant's seventh birthday, given names, for
a child whose birth was recorded without given names, may
be added to the certificate upon receipt of an affidavit signed
by the parent(s) named on the certificate or the guardian,
person, or agency having legal custody of the registrant.

After seven years the provisions of Regulation 10.2
must be followed to add a given name.

Regulation 10.6.  Legal Change of Name.
Upon receipt of a certified copy of an order of a court of

competent jurisdiction changing the name of a person born
in Delaware and upon request of such person or his or her
parents, guardian, or legal representative, the State Registrar
shall amend the certificate of birth to show the new name.

Regulation 10.7.  Amendment of Cause of Death.
The cause of death may be amended only upon receipt

of a signed statement or an approved electronic notification
from the physician or medical examiner who originally
certified the cause of death.  In the absence or inability of the
physician or with his or her approval the cause of death may
be amended upon receipt of a signed statement or an
approved electronic notification from his or her associate
physician, or the chief medical officer of the institution in
which death occurred, or a medical examiner who assumes
jurisdiction of the case provided such individual has access
to the medical history of the case. The State Registrar may
require documentary evidence to substantiate the requested
amendment.

Regulation 10.8.  Amendment of the Same Item More than
Once.

Once an amendment of an item is made on a vital
record, that item shall not be amended again except upon
receipt of a court order from a court of competent
jurisdiction.

Regulation 10.9.  Methods of Amending Certificates.
Certificates of birth, death, and marriage may be

amended by the State Registrar in the following manner:
(a) Completing the item in any case where the item was

left blank on the existing certificate.
(b) Drawing a single line through the item to be

amended and inserting the correct data immediately above or
to the side thereof.  The line drawn through the original entry
shall not obliterate such entry.

(c) Amending a record maintained in an electronic file
by changing the item(s) to be amended.  The date of the
amendment must be made part of the record and the original
information must also be retained.

(d) Upon receipt of a certified copy of an order of a
court of competent jurisdiction indicating the sex of an

individual born in Delaware has been changed by surgical
procedure and whether such individual's name has been
changed, the certificate of birth of such individual shall be
amended by preparing a new certificate.  The item numbers
of the entries that were amended shall not, however, be
identified on the new certificate or on any certified copies
that may be issued of that certificate.

Regulation 10.10.  Denial of Amendment.
When an applicant does not submit the minimum

documentation required for amending a vital record or when
the State Registrar has cause to question the validity or
adequacy of the applicant's sworn statements or the
documentary evidence, and if the deficiencies are not
corrected, the State Registrar shall not amend the vital record
and shall advise the applicant of the reason for this action
and shall further advise the applicant of the right of appeal to
a court of competent jurisdiction.

Regulation 10.11.  Notification of Amendment.
(a) When a certificate or report is amended under this

section by the State Registrar, the State Registrar shall report
the amendment to any other custodian of the vital record and
their record shall be amended accordingly.

(b) When an amendment is made to a certificate of
marriage by the local official issuing the marriage license,
copies of such amendment shall be forwarded to the State
Registrar.

Regulation 11. Delayed Registration of Birth
(Authorization:  Section 3131)

Regulation 11.1.  Delayed Certificate of Birth Form.
All certificates registered six months or more after the

date of birth are to be registered on a delayed certificate of
birth form prescribed and furnished by the State Registrar.

Regulation 11.2.  Who May Request the Registration of a
Delayed Certificate of Birth. 

Any person born in Delaware whose birth is not
recorded in the state, his/her parent or guardian, or any other
person age 18 or older acting for the registrant and having
personal knowledge of the facts of birth may request the
registration of a delayed certificate of birth, subject to these
regulations and instructions issued by the State Registrar.

Each application for a delayed certificate of birth shall
be signed and sworn to before an official authorized to
administer oaths by the person whose birth is to be registered
if such person is 18 years of age or over and is competent to
sign and swear to the accuracy of the facts stated therein;
otherwise the application shall be signed and sworn to by
one of the parents of the registrant, his/her guardian, or any
other person age 18 or older having personal knowledge of
the facts of birth.
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Regulation 11.3.  Facts to be Established for a Delayed
Registration of Birth.

The minimum facts which must be established by
documentary evidence shall be the following:

(a) The full name of the person at the time of birth;
(b) the date of birth and state of birth;
(c) the full maiden name of the mother;
(d) the full name of the father; except that if the mother

was not married either at the time of conception or birth the
name of the father shall not be entered on the delayed
certificate except as provided in Regulation 11.4.

Regulation 11.4.  Delayed Registration Following a Legal
Change of Status.

When evidence is presented reflecting a legal change of
status by adoption, legitimation, or acknowledgment of
paternity, a new delayed certificate may be established to
reflect such change.  The existing certificate and the
evidence upon which the new certificate was based shall be
placed in a special file.  Such file shall not be subject to
inspection except upon order of a court of competent
jurisdiction or by the State Registrar for purposes of properly
administering the vital statistics program.

Regulation 11.5.  Documentary Evidence - Requirements.
To be acceptable for filing, the name of the registrant at

the time of the birth and the date and place of birth entered
on a delayed certificate of birth shall be supported by at
least:

(a) A hospital record created at the time of birth, or two
pieces of acceptable documentary evidence, if the record is
filed within ten years after the date of birth; or

(b) three pieces of acceptable documentary evidence, if
the record is filed ten years or more after the date of birth.

Facts of parentage shall be supported by at least one
document. 

Regulation 11.6.  Documentary Evidence - Acceptability.
The State Registrar shall determine the acceptability of

all documentary evidence submitted. 
(a) Documents presented, including but not limited to

census, hospital, church, and school records, must be from
independent sources and shall be in the form of the original
record or a duly certified copy thereof or a signed statement
from the custodian of the record or document.  Affidavits of
personal knowledge are not acceptable as evidence to
establish a delayed certificate of birth.

(b) All documents submitted in evidence: 
(1) For persons aged ten or older, must have been

established at least ten years prior to the date of application,
or within three years of the date of birth;

(2) for persons under ten, must be dated at least
one year prior to the date of application or within the first
year of life.

Regulation 11.7.  Abstraction of Documentary Evidence.
The State Registrar, or his or her designated

representative, shall abstract on the delayed certificate of
birth a description of each document submitted to support
the facts shown on the delayed birth certificate.  This
description shall include:

(a) The title or description of the document;
(b) the name and address of the custodian.
(c) the date of the original filing of the document being

abstracted;
(d) all birth facts required by Regulation 11.3 contained

in each document accepted as evidence.
All documents submitted in support of the delayed birth

registration shall be returned to the applicant after review.

Regulation 11.8.  Verification by the State Registrar. 
The State Registrar, or his or her designated

representative shall verify:
(a) That no prior birth certificate is on file for the

person whose birth is to be recorded;
(b) That he or she has reviewed the evidence submitted

to establish the facts of birth;
(c) That the abstract of the evidence appearing on the

delayed certificate of birth accurately reflects the nature and
content of the document.

Regulation 11.9.  Dismissal After One Year. 
Applications for delayed certificates which have not

been completed within one year from the date of application
may be dismissed at the discretion of the State Registrar.
Upon dismissal, the State Registrar shall so advise the
applicant and all documents submitted in support of such
registration shall be returned to the applicant.

Regulation 11.10.  Delayed Registration for the Deceased.
No delayed certificate of birth shall be registered for a

deceased person.

Regulation 11.11.  Denial of Registration.
When an applicant does not submit the minimum

documentation required for delayed registration or when the
State Registrar has cause to question the validity or adequacy
of the applicant's sworn statement or the documentary
evidence, and if the deficiencies are not corrected, the State
Registrar shall not register the delayed certificate of birth
and shall advise the applicant of the reasons for this action,
and shall further advise the applicant of his or her right to
seek an order from a court of competent jurisdiction.

Regulation 12. Delayed Registration of Death
(Authorization:  Section 3131)

The registration of a death after the time prescribed by
statute and regulations shall be registered on the current
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certificate of death form in the manner prescribed below:
(a) If the attending physician or medical examiner at

the time of death and the attending funeral director or person
who acted as such are available to complete the certificate of
death, it may be completed without additional evidence and
filed with the State Registrar.  For those certificates filed six
months or more after the date of death, the physician or
medical examiner and the funeral director or person who
acted as such must state in accompanying affidavits that the
information on the certificate is based on records kept in
their files.

(b) In the absence of the attending physician or medical
examiner and the funeral director or person who acted as
such, the certificate may be filed by the next of kin of the
decedent and shall be accompanied by two documents which
identify the decedent and his or her date and place of death.

In all cases, the State Registrar may require additional
documentary evidence to prove the facts of death.

A summary statement of the evidence submitted in
support of the delayed registration shall be endorsed on the
certificate.

Regulation 13. Delayed Registration of Marriage 
(Authorization:  Section 3131)

The registration of a marriage after the time prescribed
by statute shall be made on the current certificate of marriage
form in the manner prescribed below:

(a) The certificate must be filed with the Clerk of the
Peace where the marriage license was originally issued.

(b) To be acceptable for registration by the State
Registrar the delayed certificate of marriage must be
supported by:

(1) A copy of the license or of the application for
license if the license was granted, and

(2) a signed statement from the officiant or the
custodian of the records of the officiant and from one
witness to the wedding ceremony indicating that a marriage
ceremony was performed and the date and place of the
marriage.

(c) In all cases, the State Registrar may require
additional documentary evidence to prove the facts of
marriage.

(d) When an applicant does not submit the minimum
documentation required for delayed registration or when the
State Registrar has cause to question the validity or adequacy
of the statements or the documentary evidence, and if the
deficiencies are not corrected, the State Registrar shall not
register the delayed certificate of marriage and shall advise
the applicant of the reasons for this action, and shall further
advise the applicant of his or her right to seek an order from
a court of competent jurisdiction.

DIVISION OF MENTAL RETARDATION

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,
Section 505 (31 Del.C. 505)

Public Notice
DMR Eligibility Criteria

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS)/Division of Mental Retardation is
amending its eligibility criteria.

Comments, written suggestions, compilations of data,
testimony, briefs or other written materials concerning this
change must be received by mail no later than March 3,
1999, at the DMR Administrative Office, Jesse Cooper
Building, Federal Street, Dover, DE  19903, attention Susan
Morrison Smith.  Materials filed thereafter will not be
considered except where good cause for lateness is
demonstrated.  Copies of all written submissions filed with
the Division of Mental Retardation office will be available
for public inspection in the DMR Administrative Office at
the address given above.  Please call (302) 739-4881, for an
appointment if you wish to review the materials.  Individuals
with disabilities who wish to participate in these
proceedings, or review the materials submitted, should
contact the Division to discuss auxiliary aids or services
needed to facilitate such review or participation.  Such
contact may be in person, in writing or by telephone by using
the Telecommunications Relay Service, or otherwise.

Revision:

“Mental retardation refers to substantial limitations in
present functioning.  It is characterized by significantly
subaverage intellectual functioning, existing concurrently
with related limitations in two or more of the following
applicable adaptive skill areas:  communication, self-care,
home living, social skills, community use, self-direction,
health and safety, functional academics, leisure, and work.
Mental retardation manifests before age 18.”

The Division of Mental Retardation provides services to
those individuals whose disability meets all of the following
conditions: 

(A) (i) is attributable to mental retardation (1992
AAMR definition) and/or (ii) Autism (DSM IV) and/or
(iii)Prader Willi (documented medical diagnosis) and/or (iv)
is attributable to a neurological condition closely related to
mental retardation because such condition results in an
impairment of general intellectual functioning and adaptive

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dmr/dmrhome.htm
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behavior similar to persons with mental retardation and
requires treatment and services similar to those required for
persons with impairments of general intellectual functioning

(B) manifested before age 22
(C) is expected to continue indefinitely
(D) results in substantial functional limitations in 2 or

more of the following adaptive skill areas:
1) communication
2) self-care
3) home living
4) social skills
5) community use
6) self-direction
7) health and safety
8) functional academics
9) leisure
10) work

(E) reflects the need for lifelong and individually
planned services

(F) intellectual functioning and adaptive behavior is
determined by using  established standardized tests approved
by the Division.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

REGISTER NOTICE 

1. Title of the Regulations:
Amendments  to  the  Delaware 1999 Rate-of-progress

Plan for Kent and New Castle Counties:  for Demonstrating
Progress Toward Attainment of the National Ambient Air
Quality Standard for Ground Level Ozone

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The Amendments consist of  1) updated calculations of

emission reduction credits resulting from the imposition of
facility caps on NOx emissions as required by Air Quality
Regulation #37;  2) the removal from the original Plan of the
peak ozone season equivalent of 8.5 tons per year of credited
reductions attributed to emission controls on the spill
diversion tank at Motiva Enterprises’ waste water treatment
system;  3) the inclusion of a contingency plan to cover the
Clean Air Act requirement for a minimum of an additional 3

percent reduction held in reserve in case of failure to meet
the emission target levels in 1999.

3. Possible Terms of The Agency Action:
None

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
• 7 Del. C., Chapter 60 Section 6010
• Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:  

None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
March 16, 1999 6:00 p.m. DNREC Auditorium, 89

Kings Highway, Dover, DE

7. Prepared by:
Alfred_R. Deramo, Program Manager (302) 739-4791

January 15, 1999

Amendments  to The Delaware 1999 Rate-of-Progress Plan  
for Kent and New Castle Counties (Submitted to US EPA in 

December 1997)

For Demonstrating  Progress Toward Attainment of the 
National Ambient Air Quality Standard for Ground-Level 

Ozone

Submitted by Delaware Department of Natural Resources 
and Environmental Control, Dover, Delaware

January 1999

Table of Contents          Page

1. Introduction 1
2. Reevaluations of voc and nox emission reductions 2

2.1 VOC Emission Reductions from Benzene
Waste Rule and Delaware Regulation 24.28 2

2.2 NOx Emission Reductions from Delaware
RACT Applicable Point Sources in Kent County 2

2.3 NOx Emission Reductions from OTC
Regional Controls and Delaware Regulation 37 5

2.4 Summary of VOC and NOx Emission
Reductions after Amendments 9

2.5 Requirements for VOC and NOx
Emission Reductions 9

3. Contingency Plan of Delaware’s 1999
Rate-Of-Progress Plan       12
3.1 Contingency Requirements for

Emission Reductions       12
3.2 Control Measures to Meet

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm


PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 8, MONDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 1999

1360

Contingency Requirements      12

Appendix M (Amended). VOC Emission Reductions
from Federal Benzene Waste Rule
and Delaware Regulation 24.28 M-0

Appendix P. MOBILE5a Input and Output Files for
Stage II Vapor Recovery Program with
Annual Inspections P-0

List of Tables          Page

Table 3-15 (Amended). NOx Emission Reductions
from Delaware RACT Applicable Point Sources
in Kent County 4

Table 3-19 (Amended). NOx Emission Reductions
from OTC Regional Control Requirements
and Delaware Regulation 37 7

Table 1.  Summary of 1999 VOC and NOx
Emission Reductions (in TPD) 9

Table 1-16 (Amended). Calculation of Creditable
VOC Emission Reductions ( in TPD) for 1999 RPP   10

Table 1-17 (Amended). Percents of VOC and NOx
Emission Reductions for 1996-1999 Period       10

Table 2.  Summary of Contingency Measures and
Emission Reductions       17

Table M-1. 1990 Base Year Uncontrolled VOC
Emissions from Motiva’s Wastewater Treatment
Plant                   M-1

Table M-2.  Summary of VOC Emissions at
Motiva’s Wastewater Treatment Plant          M-5

List of Acronyms 

AQM: Air Quality Management Section 
BEA: Bureau of Economic Analysis 
CAAA: Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 
CE: Control Efficiency
CMSA: Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area 
CO: Carbon Monoxide 
DelDOT:Delaware Department of Transportation 
DNREC:Delaware Department of Natural Resources

and Environmental Control
EPA: United States Environmental Protection Agency 
ER: Emission Reduction
GF: Growth Factor
mmBTU:Million British Thermal Unit
MOU: Memorandum Of Understanding

MW: Megawatt
NAA: Non-Attainment Area
NAAQS:National Ambient Air Quality Standard 
NOx: Oxides of Nitrogen 
OTC: Ozone Transport Commission
OTR: Ozone Transport Region
RACT: Reasonably Available Control Technology
RE: Rule Effectiveness
RP: Rule Penetration
RPP: Rate-of-Progress Plan 
SCC: Source Classification Code 
SIC: Standard Industrial Classification 
SIP: State Implementation Plan 
TPD: Tons Per Day
TPY: Tons Per Year
VOC: Volatile Organic Compound 
VRS: Vapor Recovery System

List of References 
1. Federal Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C.A. '7401 et seq., as

amended by the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990, P.L.
101-549, November 15, 1990.

2. NOx Substitution Guidance, Office of Air Quality
Planning and Standards, U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, December,
1993.

3. The Delaware 1999 Rate-of-Progress Plan for Kent
and New Castle Counties, Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control, Air Quality Management
Section, Dover, Delaware, December 1997.

4. The Delaware 15% Rate-of-Progress Plan,
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control, Air Quality Management Section, Dover, Delaware,
February, 1995.

5. Delaware Regulations Governing the Control of Air
Pollution, Division of Air and Waste Management,
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control, Dover, Delaware, Updated to March
8, 1995.

6. Memorandum of Understanding among the States of
the Ozone Transport Commission on Development of a
Regional Strategy Concerning the Control of Stationary
Source Nitrogen Oxide Emissions, Stationary and Area
Source Committee, Ozone Transport Commission,
Washington, D.C., September 1994. 

7. The 1990 OTC NOx Baseline Emission Inventory,
EPA-454/R-95-013, Office of Air Quality Planning and
Standards, US EPA, Research Triangle Park, North
Carolina, July 1995.

8. NOx Budget Program Regulation No. 27, Department
of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, Air
Quality Management Section, Dover, Delaware, December
1997.

9. Guidance on the Post-1996 Rate-of-Progress Plan and



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 8, MONDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 1999

1361

the Attainment Demonstration, Office of Air Quality
Planning and Standards, US EPA, Research Triangle Park,
North Carolina, February 1994.

10. Guidance on Issues Related to 15 Percent Rate-of-
Progress Plans, Policy memorandum, M.H. Shapiro, Acting
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11. Procedures for Emission Inventory Preparation Vol.
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Carolina, 1992.

1. INTRODUCTION
The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (Ref. 1,

hereafter referred to as CAAA) set forth National Ambient
Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for six air pollutants.  Two
counties in Delaware, i.e., Kent and New Castle, exceed the
1-hour ground-level ozone standard, and have been
classified by US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as
severe nonattainment areas.  Under Section 182(d) of the
CAAA, Delaware is required to submit to EPA a revision of
its State Implementation Plan (SIP), for every 3-year period
after 1996, that achieves an actual VOC emission reduction
of at least 3% per year over the 3-year period for these two
counties.  Under certain conditions, the CAAA allows
substitution of anthropogenic nitrogen oxides (NOx)
emission reductions for the post-1996 VOC emission
reduction requirements (Ref. 2).  The revision of Delaware’s
SIP for the period of 1996-1999, termed as Delaware 1999
Rate-of-Progress Plan was submitted to EPA in December,
1997 (Ref. 3, hereafter referred to as the Delaware 1999 RPP
or simply 1999 RPP).  Detailed information regarding the
CAAA’s requirements for attaining the 1-hour NAAQS for
the ground-level ozone, as well as Delaware’s state
implementation plans for meeting these requirements, can be
found in Delaware’s 1999 RPP (Ref. 3).

This document contains amendments to Delaware’s
1999 Rate-of-Progress Plan submitted to EPA in December,
1997.  The document will specify individual portions of the
original 1999 RPP that are being amended.  In brief, the
amendments include (1) reevaluations of some VOC and
NOx emission reductions in Part III of the 1999 RPP, (2)
recalculation of VOC and NOx emission reductions in the
milestone year of 1999 to meet the rate-of-progress
requirements, and (3) development of a contingency plan for
the 1999 RPP.  The portions in the original 1999 RPP that
are not amended by this document remain valid.  

The agency with direct responsibility for preparing and
submitting this document is the Delaware Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control  (DNREC),
Division of Air and Waste Management, Air Quality
Management Section (AQM), under the direction of Darryl

D. Tyler, Program Administrator.  The working
responsibility for Delaware’s air quality planning falls
within the Planning and Community Protection Branch of
the Air Quality Management Section of DNREC, under the
management of Raymond H. Malenfant, Program Manager.
Alfred R. Deramo, Program Manager of Emissions
Research, Planning and Attainment Group within the
Planning and Community Protection Branch, is the project
manager and chief editor of this document.  The following
personnel under Alfred R. Deramo are instrumental in
preparing this document:

Principal Author:
Frank F. Gao, Ph.D., P.E., Environmental Engineer.
Technical Advisor and Quality Assurance Reviewer:
Mohammed A. Mazeed, Ph.D., P.E., Environmental

Engineer.
Technical Supporting Staff: 
Point sources: John L. Outten, Environmental Scientist.
Area Sources: Jack L. Sipple, Environmental Scientist.
Mobile Sources: Mark H. Glaze, Resource Planner

2. Reevaluations of VOC and NOx emission reductions

2.1  VOC Emission Reductions from Benzene Waste Rule
and Delaware Regulation 24.28 

This subsection shall replace the corresponding
subsection on page 3-43 of the 1999 RPP, entitled “3.
Benzene Waste Rule”.

The waste water treatment system at the facility of
Motiva Enterprises (formerly Star Enterprise) in New Castle
County (Point 50, SCC 30600503) is subject to the National
Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants
(NESHAP), Benzene Waste Rule (40CFR61 Subpart FF),
and Section 28 of Delaware Air Regulation 24 (Ref. 5,
hereafter referred to as Regulation 24.28).  Process
modifications and emission controls having been planned
and implemented for the system to comply with the above
rule and regulation can reduce VOC emissions significantly.
A detailed discussion of these process modifications and the
associated VOC emission reductions is included in
Appendix M, as amended in and attached to this document.
The 1999 Control Strategy Projection emissions are
determined using point source projection Equation P-3 (page
3-10, 1999 RPP) with a control efficiency of 86.6% as
derived and explained in the amended Appendix M.  

As calculated in the amended Appendix M, the 1999
Control Strategy Projection for VOC emissions from
Motiva’s wastewater treatment plant is 0.763 TPD in the
peak ozone season.  The corresponding 1999 Current
Control Projection for this source is 2.485 TPD.  Thus, the
total VOC emission reduction from this source is:

ER1999 (TPD) = 2.485 - 0.763 = 1.722 TPD in the
peak ozone season   
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The VOC emission reductions expected at Motiva’s
wastewater treatment plant are from process modifications
and controls planned by Motiva to comply with either the
Federal Benzene Waste Rule or Delaware Air Regulation
24.28 for petroleum refinery.   In July 1992, DNREC
acknowledged a total of 75 TPY VOC emission reductions
from the spill diversion tank (a component unit of the
wastewater treatment system) to offset VOC emissions from
Motiva’s then-planned ether project (DNREC Secretary’s
Order No. 92-0044, July 14, 1992).   Since Motiva has
estimated that the ether project would lead to a VOC
emission increase of only 66.5 TPY, an extra credit of 8.5
TPY (i.e., 75 - 66.5 = 8.5 TPY) could remain unused.
Delaware decides not to use this extra 8.5 TPY credit in its
1999 RPP.  It should be pointed out that the 1.722 TPD VOC
emission reductions calculated above do not include this
extra acknowledged credit (Appendix M). 

2.2 NOx Emission Reductions from Delaware RACT
Applicable Point Sources in Kent County

This subsection amends Table 3-15 of the original 1999
RPP (page 3-50), entitled “NOx Emission Reductions from
Delaware  NOx  RACT  Applicable  Sources  in  Kent
County”.  The amended Table 3-15 provided herein shall
replace the original Table 3-15.

In the original Table 3-15, six sources (or nine records)
in Kent County are listed as affected by Delaware NOx
RACT regulations (Ref. 5).  Among them, the sources of
Dover Electric and the source of Kraft General Foods have
become affected by Delaware Air Regulation 37, the NOx
Budget Program (Ref. 8), after the regulation was
promulgated in December 1997.  Emission reductions from
these sources will be discussed in the next subsection of this
document. As a result, only the three sources at Dover Air
Force Base are still affected by the relevant NOx RACT
controls.  The amended Table 3-15 lists these three sources
and the corresponding NOx emission reductions from them.
Calculations of emission reductions from these three sources
presented in the original 1999 RPP remain valid.  As shown
in the amended table, the total NOx emission reductions
from these three sources are 0.018 TPD.  Delaware will take
this 0.018 TPD reduction, instead of 1.051 TPD as indicated
in the original Table 3-15, as reduction credit to meet the
rate-of-progress requirements for the milestone year of 1999.

Table 3-15 (Amended)
NOx Emission Reductions from Delaware NOx RACT

Applicable Point sources in Kent County (in TPD)

1 Low NOx Burning technology.                    
2 Operation at less than 5% maximum capacity during the
peak ozone season.        

2.3  NOx Emission Reductions from OTC Regional Controls
and Delaware Regulation 37 

This subsection shall replace a corresponding
subsection from page 3-53 to page 3-57 in the 1999 RPP,
entitled “7. OTC Regional NOx MOU Controls for 

Stationary Sources”. 
In late 1994, the States of the Ozone Transport

Commission (OTC), including Delaware, adopted a
Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on emission
reductions from certain large stationary NOx sources within
the Ozone Transprt Region (Ref. 6).  The OTC MOU
specifies   regional control strategies that require reductions
in NOx emissions from fossil fuel-fired boilers and indirect
heat exchangers with maximum gross heat input of at least
250 million British thermal units per hour (mmBTU/hr) and

1990 Applicabl
e

1990 Current Control 1999
NOx

Source 1990 Emission Control Capacity Control Growth Control Strategy Emission

Plant
Name

Point SCC Emission Rate Technolo
gy

Factor Efficiency Factor Proj. Proj. Reductio
n

(TPD) (lb/
mmBTU)

(%) (%)  (a) (b) (c)=(a)-
(b)

Dover
Air
Force
Base

1 1-03-
004-01

0.050 0.367 LNB1 -- 35.0 1.10 0.055 0.040 0.015

2 1-03-
004-01

0.030 0.368 <5%
Capacity
2  

13.38 8.4 1.10 0.033 0.031 0.002

4 1-03-
004-01

0.017 0.372 <5%
Capacity

7.63 2.6 1.10 0.019 0.018 0.001

Total
Reduc
tion
(TPD)     

0.018
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electric generating units greater or equal to 15 megawatts
(MW).  The MOU requires the OTC States to develop
regulations for the control of NOx emissions from those
NOx sources in two phases, i.e., Phase II and Phase III.
Further, the MOU specifies the level of reductions in the
OTC’s “Inner Zone” consisting of central eastern portion of
the OTC, and the “Outer Zone” consisting of the remainder
of the OTR.  For Delaware, Kent and New Castle Counties
fall in the inner zone and Sussex in the outer zone. 

The Phase II of the OTC regional control strategy
requires the affected sources to reduce NOx emissions by
65% of their 1990 emission levels, or to limit NOx emission
rates below 0.20 lbs/mmBTU, by May 1, 1999.  The Phase
III strategy requires a NOx emission reduction of 75% of the
1990 level, or an emission rate limit of 0.15 lbs/mmBTU, by
May 1, 2003.  The OTC States have developed the 1990
OTC NOx Baseline Emission Inventory (Ref. 7).  In this
document, the OTC States have (1) developed the 1990 NOx
emission baselines for all relevant sources, and (2)
established for these sources emission budgets in terms of
total emissions to be allowed between May 1 and September
30 starting from 1999 (Phase II) and from 2003 (Phase III).
The established 5-month budgets, with limited reserves, will
serve as NOx emission caps for the affected sources during
the regulated season, i.e., from May 1 to September 30, in
the years of corresponding phases. 

The OTC MOU Phase II requirements affect Delaware’s
1999 Rate-of-Progress Plan.  To fulfill the Phase II
requirements, Delaware has promulgated its Air Regulation
37, which contains a compliance deadline of May 1999 (Ref.
8, hereafter referred to as Regulation 37).  Sources in Kent
and New Castle Counties covered by Regulation 37 are
listed in Table 3-19 (Amended) along with their SCC codes
and 1990 baseline 5-month emission levels. 

Based on the OTC MOU Phase II allocated budgets and
reserves, the 5-month emission allowances (i.e., the total
emissions allowed between May 1 and September 30) have
been set forth in Regulation 37 for individual sources listed
in Table 3-19 (Amended).  Due to the capping nature of the
allowances, the control strategy projections for all these
sources are calculated using point source projection
Equation P-5, as presented in the 1999 RPP (page 3-11).
The emission reductions from these sources in 1999
(ER1999) are obtained using the following equation 

     ER1999 = EMIS1999-current control – EMIS1999-control strategy

where EMIS1999-current control is the current control
projection emission as determined in Part II of the 1999
RPP, and EMIS1999-control strategy is the control strategy

projection emission as determined using Equation P-5.  The
following is an example of how to calculate NOx emission
reduction from an affected source.

Example: NOx Emission Reduction from Implementing
OTC Regional Control and Delaware Regulation 37

Delmarva Power Edge Moor Point 002 (Table 3-19,
amended) in New Castle County is a source covered by
Regulation 37.  Emission and control data for this source are
as follows:

CRTPOL = 4.552 TPD in peak ozone season;
EMISby5 = 655.8 tons in 5 months (May 1 to Sept. 30 in

1990 Base Year);
ERpy5 = 242 tons in 5 months (Regulation 37

allowance, 
May 1 to Sept. 30 in 1999);

RULEFF= 100% (i.e., no rule effectiveness)
REpy = 80%.

The 1999 control strategy projection for this source can
be obtained using Equation P-5: 

         EMISpy(TPD) = 4.552(TPD) x 242(ton/5mon) x (200-80) =2.016TPD
          

655.8(ton/5mon)  (200-100)

The 1999 current control projection of this source is 4.134
TPD (from page F-76, Appendix F, 1999 RPP).  Thus, the
NOx emission reduction from this source for the 1999 RPP
is 

ER1999 = 4.134 TPD - 2.016 TPD = 2.118 TPD

Following the same procedures, the NOx emission
reductions from all sources in Kent and New Castle Counties
covered by Regulation 37 can be obtained.  The results are
summarized in Table 3-19 (Amended).  In Table 3-19
(Amended), sources of Dover Electric and First State Power
are located in Kent County, and all other sources are located
in New Castle County.  The sum of NOx emission
reductions from sources in Kent County is 1.491 TPD, while
the sum of NOx emission reductions from sources in New
Castle County is 27.416 TPD.  The total NOx emission
reductions from the two counties due to implementation of
Regulation 37 is 28.907 TPD in the peak ozone season.
Delaware will take this 28.907 TPD NOx emission
reduction, instead of 24.650 TPD as indicated in the original
Table 3-19 in the 1999 RPP, as reduction credit to meet the
rate-of-progress requirements for the milestone year of 1999.
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2.4  Summary of VOC and NOx Emission Reductions after
Amendments

As a result of the amendments in the foregoing
subsections, VOC and NOx emission reductions in 1999
from the affected sources have changed, and thus the total

VOC and NOx emission reductions for the entire
nonattainment area (i.e., Kent and New Castle counties)
have changed as well.  A summary of these changes is
presented in Table 1. 

Table 3-19 (Amended). 
Sources Affected by OTC NOx MOU Phase II Regional Controls* and Projected Emission Reductions (in TPD)

     1990  MOU Phase II 1999 Current 1999 Control     NOx
Source 1990   Emission     Emission Control Strategy  Emission

Plant Name*** Point SCC Emission    Baseline    Allowance Projection Projection           Reduction**
(TPD)   (Ton/5month)    (Ton/5month) (TPD)  (TPD)    (TPD)

Delmarva Power 002 2-01-001-01 0.003 0.6 2.0 0.003 0.013   -0.010
Delaware City 

Delmarva Power 001 2-01-001-01 0.012 0.7 2.0 0.011 0.041 -0.030
Edge Moor 002 1-01-002-12 4.552 655.8 242.0 4.134 2.016 2.118
New Castle County 1-01-004-04 

1-01-005-01 
003 1-01-002-12 8.009 928.7 346.0 8.581 3.580 5.001

1-01-004-04 
1-01-005-01 
1-01-006-04 

004 1-01-004-01 12.138 1,436.0 650.0 17.865 6.589 11.276
1-01-005-01 
1-01-006-01 

Delmarva Power 001 2-01-001-01 0.575 49.0 50.0 0.791 0.704 0.087
Hay Road 2-01-002-01 
New Castle County 002 2-01-001-01 0.329 33.6 35.0 0.450 0.411 0.039

2-01-002-01 
Dover Electric 001 1-01-004-01 1.741 91.6 73.0 0.660 0.863 -0.203
McKee Run 1-01-005-01
Kent County 1-01-006-01 

 002 1-01-004-01 0.429 56.3 45.0 0.445 0.411 0.034
1-01-005-01
1-01-006-01 

003 1-01-004-01 2.980 411.7 186.0 3.577 1.615 1.962
1-01-005-01
1-01-006-01 

First State Power 001 1-02-002-19 1.431 201.2 203.0 1.431 1.732 -0.301
Kent County  1-02-004-05 
Motiva Enterprises 006 3-06-001-06 0.370 104.3 105.0 0.399 0.446 -0.047
Delaware City 3-06-001-11  
New Castle County 019 3-06-001-06 0.137 20.1 21.0 0.147 0.171 -0.024

034 3-06-001-06 0.470 69.5 71.0 0.507 0.576 -0.069
067 1-01-004-01 1.354 229.0 94.0 1.321 0.667 0.654

1-01-007-01 
068 1-01-004-01 4.241 588.5 207.0 4.581 1.790 2.791

1-01-007-01 
1-01-008-01 

069 1-01-004-01 4.301 647.4 228.0 4.646 1.818 2.828
1-01-007-01 
1-01-008-01 

070 1-01-004-01 4.324 610.7 216.0 4.670 1.835 2.835
1-01-007-01 
1-01-008-01 

074 3-06-001-06 0.263 116.7 118.0 0.284 0.318 -0.034

Total Reductions  (TPD) 28.907

* The OTC Phase II NOx Control Strategy has been implemented in Delaware via Delaware Air Pollution Regulation 37.  This
table does not include four small sources of Delmarva Power (Christiana Substations 1 and 2, Madison Street Substation, and
West Substation).  The NOx emissions from these four small sources were not included in Delaware’s 1990 Base Year
Emission Inventory because they were smaller than the 25 TPY threshold.  

** A negative sign indicates an actual emission increase.

*** Plant names changes since 1990: (1) First State Power Point 001 was formerly Kraft General Foods Point 001. (2) Motiva
Enterprises was formerly Star Enterprise.  Motiva’s Point 067 was formerly Delmarva Power’s Point 001 at Delaware City.   
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Table 1.  Summary of 1999 VOC and NOx Emission
Reductions (in TPD)    

 VOC NOx

Control Measure/Source Original*      Amended Original*      Amended
Benzene Waste Rule &
Delaware Reg. 24.28 1.743   1.722       -                      -
Delaware NOx RACT in
Kent County - -   1.051 0.018

OTC Regional Controls &
Delaware Reg. 37           -        - 24.650 28.907

Nonattainment Area
Total Reductions 49.553 49.532 36.856 40.080

* Data are obtained from Table 3-8, page 3-26, Delaware
1999 RPP (Ref. 3). 

2.5  Requirements for VOC and NOx Emission reductions
As required by the adequate rate-of-progress in

emission reductions set forth in the CAAA, Delaware has
determined that the required target level of total VOC
emissions in its nonattainment areas (i.e., Kent and New
Castle counties) in 1999 should be 101.814 tons per day
(TPD) in the peak ozone season (page 1-24, 1999 RPP).  In
the 1999 RPP, Delaware has also shown that the 1999
control strategy projection for VOC emissions (or the actual
target level) would be 110.185 TPD which is higher than the
required target level (page 1-24, page 3-1, 1999 RPP).  Thus,
it is necessary for Delaware to use NOx emission reductions
to substitute for VOC emission reductions.   As explained in
the 1999 RPP, Delaware meets all the conditions set forth by
EPA for NOx substitution (Section 1.3, page 1-21, Section
1.4, page 1-25, 1999 RPP). 

As determined in Part II of the 1999 RPP (Table 2-1,
page 2-2), the 1999 current control projections of VOC
emissions is 159.738 TPD.  Delaware will use the total
amended 49.532 TPD VOC emission reductions in its 1999
Rate-of-Progress Plan.  As a result, the 1999 control strategy
projection for VOC emissions shall be amended to be
110.206 TPD (i.e., 159.738 - 49.532 = 110.206 TPD).  This
amended control strategy projection shall serve as a new (or
amended) 1999 VOC emission target level and replace the
original target level of 110.185 TPD (page 1-29, 1999 RPP).
Because of this amendment, the rate-of-progress
requirements on VOC and NOx emission reductions in 1999
must be reassessed.

First, the creditable VOC emission reductions need to be
recalculated.  The calculation is shown in the amended Table
1-16, which shall replace the original Table 1-16, page 1-28
of the 1999 RPP, entitled “VOC Emissions Reductions
Creditable for 3% per Year Rate of Progress Requirement
for 1996-1999 Period in Tons per Peak Ozone Season Day”.

Table 1-16 (Amended)
Calculation of Creditable VOC Emission Reductions ( in
TPD) for 1999 RPP

Description       VOC Emissions
1996 VOC Emission Target Level*115.815 (u)
VOC Fleet Turnover for 1996-1999 Period 1.910 (v)
1999 VOC Control Strategy Projection 110.206 (w)
Creditable VOC Emission Reduction 3.699 (x)=(u)-(v)-(w)

*The 1996 VOC emission target level is obtained from
Delaware 15% Rate-of-Progress Plan (Reference 4). 

Second, the percentage of NOx emission reductions
required for substitution needs to be determined.  As
indicated in the 1999 RPP, the 1990 adjusted base year VOC
emission level is 134.343 TPD (page 1-23, 1999 RPP). The
percentage of the creditable VOC emission reductions in
Table 1-16 (Amended) with respect to the 1990 adjusted
base year emission is 2.75% (i.e., 3.699/
134.343=0.0275=2.75%).  The percentage of NOx emission
reductions required for substitution can be determined from
EPA’s requirement, that is, the total percentage of VOC and
NOx emission reductions must be at least equal to 9% for the
3-year period of 1996-1999.  Thus, the required NOx
emission reduction for substitution will be 9.00% - 2.75% =
6.25%.  In other words, the total percentage of VOC
reduction plus NOx reduction must be at least 9%, as shown
in Table 1-17 (Amended), which shall replace the original
Table 1-17, page 1-28, 1999 RPP, entitled “Percent of VOC
and NOx Emissions Reductions Needed for 1996-1999
Period”.

Table 1-17 (Amended)
Percents of VOC and NOx Emission Reductions for 1996-
1999 Period 

Milestone VOC Reduction (%)   NOx Reduction (%)    Total Reduction (%)
Period    (a)       (b)              (c)=(a)+(b)
1996 - 1999  2.75        6.25              9.00

As indicated in Table 1-15 of the 1999 RPP, the total
1990 adjusted base year NOx emission is 158.895 TPD
(page 1-27, 1999 RPP).  By multiplying with the NOx
substitution percentage in Table 1-17 (Amended), the NOx
emission reductions in 1999 must be at least 158.895x6.25%
= 9.931 TPD to meet the rate-of-progress requirements. As a
result, the target level of NOx emissions in 1999 will be
158.895 - 9.931 = 148.964 TPD.   

As determined in Part II of the 1999 RPP (Table 2-1,
page 2-2), the 1999 current control projections of NOx
emissions is 184.059 TPD.  To meet the 1999 NOx emission
target of 148.964 TPD, a NOx emission reduction of 35.095
TPD must be achieved (i.e., 184.095 - 148.964 = 35.095
TPD).  Since the 1999 NOx emission reductions are
expected to be 40.080 TPD, which is greater than the
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required 35.095 TPD, Delaware believes that the control
measures proposed in the 1999 RPP, as amended by this
document, are adequate for meeting the rate-of-progress
requirements set forth by the CAAA.  Delaware decides to
use 35.095 TPD of the total expected 40.080 TPD (Table 1
in the previous subsection) in the main plan of the 1999 RPP,
and use the remainder (i.e., 40.080 - 35.095 = 4.986 TPD) in
the contingency plan of the 1999 RPP.  

3. Contingency Plan of Delaware’s 1999 RPP 

3.1 Contingency Requirements for Emission Reductions 
The CAAA requires States with nonattainment areas to

implement specific control measures if the area fails to make
reasonable further progress, fails to meet any applicable
milestone, or fails to attain the national ambient air quality

standards by the applicable attainment date.1 The EPA has
interpreted this CAAA provision as a requirement for States
with moderate and above ozone nonattainment areas to
include sufficient contingency measures in their Rate-of-
Progress Plans so that, upon implementation of such
measures, additional emission reductions of at least 3% of
the adjusted 1990 base year emissions would be achieved
(Ref. 9). Under the same provision of the CAAA, EPA also
requires that the contingency measures must be fully-
adopted control measures or rules, so that, upon failure to
meet milestone requirements or attain the standards, the
contingency measures can be implemented without any
further rulemaking activities by the States and/or EPA.  

To meet the requirements for contingency emission
reductions, EPA allows States to use NOx emission
reductions to substitute for VOC emission reductions in their
contingency plans.  The condition set forth by EPA for NOx
substitution is that States must achieve a minimum of 0.30%
VOC reductions of the total 3% contingency reduction, and
the remaining 2.70% reduction can be achieved through
NOx emission controls (Ref. 10).  Delaware decides to
include both VOC and NOx emission controls in its
contingency plan for the 1999 Rate-of-Progress Plan. 

1 CAAA, Title I, Part D, Section 172(c)(9) and
Section182(c)(9).

3.2 Control Measures to Meet Contingency Requirements
Delaware proposes to achieve the required contingency

emission reductions through  controls over both VOC and
NOx emissions.  The VOC emission reductions will be
obtained from implementing an annual inspection schedule
for the Stage II Vapor Recovery Systems, and the NOx
emission reductions will be achieved through a combination
of controls on various sources in the peak ozone season.  The
contingency measures and the associated VOC and NOx
emission reductions are discussed in detail in the following

subsections.

3.2.1 Stage II Vapor Recovery System with Annual
Inspections 

The CAAA requires States with moderate and above
ozone nonattainment areas to submit a SIP revision requiring
owners or operators of gasoline dispensing facilities to
install and operate a system for gasoline vapor recovery

during refueling process for motor vehicles.2 Under this
requirement, Delaware has developed its Stage II Vapor
Recovery Program, which is defined in Section 36 of
Delaware Air Regulation 24 (Ref. 5).  The Delaware’s stage
II vapor recovery regulation gives the regulatory agency the
right to perform compliance inspections as needed.
Currently, a triennial inspection schedule is performed by
the responsible agency (Underground Storage Tank Branch
of DNREC). Delaware has taken credit for VOC emission
reductions from this triennial inspection schedule in Part III
of the 1999 RPP, where the emission reductions are
estimated using a control efficiency (CE) of 95%, a rule
penetration (RP) of 97%, and a rule effectiveness (RE) of
65.3% according to an EPA guidance document (page 3-69,
1999 RPP).  The total creditable VOC emission reduction
from the triennial inspection is 1.780 TPD, as indicated in
Part III of the 1999 RPP (page 3-72).  

Additional VOC emission reductions can be obtained
from the Stage II Vapor Recovery Program when the
inspection frequency is increased.  If the program is
conducted with an annual inspection schedule, the rule
effectiveness (RE) value of this control will increase from
65.3% to 90.5%, resulting in additional VOC emission
reductions.  In other words, the program is more effective for
reducing VOC emissions with a higher inspection frequency.
Delaware proposes to perform an annual inspection schedule
for its Stage II Vapor Recovery Program as a contingency
measure. Based on a 95% control efficiency, a 97% rule
penetration, and a 90.5% rule effectiveness, the emission
factor generated from MOBILE5a is 0.92 grams of VOC per
gallon of gasoline for both Kent and New Castle Counties.
The MOBILE5a input and output files determining the 1999
stage II annual inspection emission factors for Kent and New
Castle Counties are provided in Appendix P.

As per EPA’s  guidance document Procedures for
Emissions Inventory Preparation, Volume IV: Mobile
Sources (Ref. 11), the in-use efficiency of stage II vapor
recovery system applies to both spillage and displacement.
Therefore, the effect of the vapor recovery program on
spillage and displacement will be determined separately. 

2 CAAA, Title I, Part D, Section 182(b)(3).

(a) Effect of Stage II Vapor Recovery with Annual
Inspections on Spillage



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 8, MONDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 1999

1367

As explained in Part III of the 1999 RPP (page 3-70), a
baseline spillage factor of 0.31 g/gal has been used in the
MOBILE5a modeling.  The actual spillage factor can be
estimated using the 95% control efficiency, 90.5% rule
effectiveness, and 97% rule penetration, which gives 

Spillage Factor= 0.31 - (0.31 x  95% x  90.5% x  97%)
   = 0.05 grams VOC/gallon gasoline

The 1999 Control Strategy Projection of VOC
emissions from spillage can be determined using Equation
A-3 as explained in the 1999 RPP (page 3-16).  Using the
0.05 g/gal emission factor, the projected emissions are:

Kent County:
ACTLEV= 183,131 gallons gasoline/day (1990

Baseline Inventory Throughput)
EMFpy     = 0.05 grams VOC/gallon gasoline
GFpy = 0.89

Conversion Factor  = 0.0022lb/gram x    ton
2000 lb

New Castle County
ACTLEV = 587,283 gallons gasoline/day

(1990 Baseline Inventory Throughput) 
EMFpy = 0.05 grams VOC/gallon gasoline
GFpy = 0.89

Conversion Factor  = 0.0022lb/gram x  ton
2000 lb

EMISpy=587,283 x 0.05 x 0.89 x 0.0022 = 0.029 TPD
   2000

The additional VOC emission reductions for spillage by
switching a triennial inspection schedule to an annual
inspection schedule are the differences between the
projected emissions for the triennial program and the annual
program.  The additional reductions are:

Kent County
Projection with triennial inspection (page 3-70,

1999 RPP) = 0.022 TPD;
Projection with annual inspection (calculated above)

= 0.009 TPD;
Additional Emission Reduction = 0.022 - 0.009

= 0.013 TPD.

New Castle County
Projection with triennial inspection (page 3-70,

1999 RPP) = 0.069 TPD;
Projection with annual inspection (calculated above)

= 0.029 TPD;
Additional Emission Reduction = 0.069 - 0.029

= 0.040 TPD.

Additional VOC Emission Reduction for Spillage:

ERspill = 0.013 + 0.040 = 0.053 TPD in the peak ozone

season.

(b)  Effect of Stage II Vapor Recovery with Annual
Inspections on Displacement 

As explained in Part III of the 1999 RPP (page 3-70),
the emission factor of 0.92 g/gal from MOBILE5a accounts
for emissions from both displacement and spillage.  Thus,
the emission factor for displacement can be determined by
subtracting 0.05 g/gal (determined earlier) from 0.92 g/gal,
which gives 

Displacement Factor = 0.92 – 0.05 = 0.87 grams VOC/gallon
gasoline

The 1999 Control Strategy Projection emissions from
displacement can be determined using Equation A-3 as
explained in the 1999 RPP (page 3-16).  Using the 0.87 g/gal
emission factor, the projected emissions are:

Kent County
ACTLEV = 183,131 gallons gasoline/day

(1990 Baseline Inventory Throughput)
EMFpy = 0.87  grams VOC/gallon gasoline
GFpy = 0.89
Conversion Factor  = .0022lb/gram x  ton

2000lb
EMISpy=183,131 x 0.87 x 0.89 x 0.0022 = 0.500 TPD

   2000
New Castle County

ACTLEV = 587,283 gallons gasoline/day
(1990 Baseline Inventory Throughput) 

EMFpy = 0.87 grams VOC/gallon gasoline

GFpy = 0.90
Conversion Factor  = .0022lb/gram  x  ton

 2000 lb

EMISpy=587,283 x 0.87 x 0.89 x 0.0022 = 0.500 TPD
   2000

The additional VOC emission reductions for
displacement by switching a triennial inspection schedule to
an annual inspection schedule are the differences between
the projected emissions for the triennial program and the
annual program.  The additional reductions are:

Kent County
Projection with triennial inspection (page 3-71,

1999 RPP) = 0.294 TPD;
Projection with annual inspection (calculated above)

= 0.156 TPD;
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Addition VOC Emission Reduction = 0.294 - 0.156
= 0.138 TPD.

New Castle County
Projection with triennial inspection (page 3-72,

1999 RPP) = 0.943 TPD;
Projection with annual inspection (calculated above)

= 0.500 TPD;
Additional VOC Emission Reduction = 0.943 - 0.500

= 0.443 TPD.

Additional VOC Emissions Reduction for Displacement:

ERdisplace = 0.138 + 0.443  = 0.581 TPD in the peak ozone

season.

The total additional VOC emission reduction from
Stage II Vapor Recovery Program with an annual inspection
schedule is the sum of the additional reductions for spillage
and displacement, that is,

ERtotal  =  0.053 + 0.581  = 0.634 TPD in the peak ozone
season.

In its 1999 Rate-of-Progress Plan, Delaware has
determined its 1990 adjusted base year inventory level of
VOC emissions to be 134.343 TPD (page 1-23, 1999 RPP).
The additional  0.634 TPD VOC emission reduction
estimated above is (0.634/134.343) = 0.0047 = 0.47% of the
1990 adjusted base year VOC emissions, thus, satisfying the
0.30% minimum requirement on VOC emission reductions
for the contingency plan.  The rest of the contingency
reductions will be obtained through NOx controls, which
will be discussed in the following subsection.

3.2.2 NOx Emission Controls in Peak Ozone Season 
As determined above, 0.47% of the 3.00% contingency

requirement will be obtained by VOC emission reductions
from annual inspection of Stage II vapor recovery systems.
The remaining 2.53% (i.e., 3.00% - 0.47% = 2.53%) is the
percentage required for NOx reduction substitution.  The
adjusted 1990 base year NOx emission level has been
determined to be 158.895 TPD in the 1999 RPP (page 1-27,
1999 RPP).  Thus, the NOx emission reductions for
contingency purpose will be at least 158.895 x 2.53% =
4.020 TPD.  

In Subsection 2.5 of this document, Delaware has
demonstrated that, through adequate NOx emission controls,
a 4.985 TPD NOx emission reduction will be achieved, in
addition to those needed to meet the minimum rate-of-
progress requirements for the 1999 RPP.  Delaware shall use
this additional 4.985 TPD NOx emission reduction in the
contingency plan based on the following judgements.  First,

this additional reduction satisfies the required minimum
amount of NOx reduction substitution for contingency
purpose, i.e., 4.020 TPD as determined above.  Second, this
additional reduction is achieved from a combination of
control measures included in Delaware’s 1999 RPP as
amended by this document.  All these control measures are
fully-adopted measures or rules.  Thus, no further
rulemaking actions by the State and/or EPA are needed when
all or part of the 4.985 TPD NOx reduction becomes
necessary to serve the contingency purpose.  Third, unused
part of the 4.985 TPD can be transferred to backfill shortfalls
in the contingency plan and/or the overall control strategy in
Delaware’s 2002 and/or 2005 rate-of-progress plans without
further rulemaking actions.       

3.2.3 Summary of Contingency Measures and Emission
Reductions

A summary of the contingency measures and the
associated additional VOC and NOx emission reductions are
presented in Table 2.   As shown in Table 2 and in the
discussions above, the contingency measures proposed in
this plan are adequate for meeting the contingency
requirements set forth by EPA.
 
Table 2. Summary of Contingency Measures and Emission
Reductions

EmissionReduction (TPD)
Contingency Measures       VOC             NOx
Stage II Vapor Rec. with Annual Inspection          0.634     -

Required VOC Emission Reductions          0.634      -
NOx Controls in Peak Ozone Season      - 4.986

Minimum NOx Emission Reductions     - 4.020

APPENDIX  M
(Amended)

VOC EMISSION REDUCTIONS FROM THE FEDERAL 
BENZENE WASTE RULE AND DELAWARE AIR 

REGULATION 24.28 AT WASTEWATER TREATMENT 
PLANT OF MOTIVA ENTERPRISES

(Note: This amended Appendix M shall replace the original 
version in Delaware’s  1999 RPP dated December 1997)

1. Background  
In order to comply with the Federal Benzene Waste

Rule and Section 28 of Delaware Air Pollution Control
Regulation 24 (hereafter referred to as Regulation 24.28),
Motiva Enterprises (formerly Star Enterprise) in New Castle
County planned to implement a number of process
modifications and emission controls to its waste water
treatment plant prior to 1996.  These modifications and
controls include:

(1) Oily Water Sewer: Using passive ventilation
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through carbon canisters for active manholes and sealing
inactive manholes.

(2) CPI Separator: Sealing the existing fixed roof,
adding a nitrogen blanket, and passively venting emissions
to a carbon absorption canister.

(3) API Separator: Using a combination of fixed and
floating covers and venting emissions to a carbon absorption
canister.

(4) Equalization Tanks: Covering with floating roofs.
(5) Spill Diversion Tank: Covering with a floating

roof.
(6) Dissolved Air Flotation Unit: Retrofitting with

fixed roof covers and venting emissions to a control device.
In the 1990 Base Year Inventory, VOC emissions from

the oily water sewer manholes, the CPI and API separators,
the equalization tanks, the spill diversion tanks, and the
dissolved air floatation unit were reported as a whole with
one value of 2.3130 TPD in the per peak ozone season.  In
order to project future emissions from the treatment system,
a breakdown of the 1990 emissions for individual units with
modifications and/or new controls has been developed from
information provided by Motiva Enterprises via a letter from
Motiva’s Plant Manager, R.G. Soehlke, to R. Taggart,
Program Manager, Engineering and Compliance Section of
DNREC, dated on March 6, 1992 (Attachment 1).  A
summary of the breakdown of 1990 base year emissions
from Motiva’s wastewater treatment system is presented in
Table M-1.

Table M-1 1990 Base Year Uncontrolled VOC Emissions 
from Motiva’s Wastewater Treatment Plant

Unit Description 1990 Base Year Emissions*                  
     VOC (TPY)      VOC (TPD)      Non-Benzene VOC (TPY)

Oily Water Sewer     6.2             0.017         5.0
CPI Separator     7.3             0.020          5.8
API Separator 563.0           1.542             562.5
Equalization Tanks       115.9            0.318             114.5
Spill Diversion Tank         75.0                0.205                   75.0
Dissolved Air Floatation   81.0      0.222   80.0
Total                       848.4      2.324 842.8

* Notes: (1) VOC emissions from oily water sewer was
omitted in 1990 Base Year Inventory due to its small
emission rate.  (2) Total VOC emission in 1990 Base Year
Inventory is 2.313 TPD.  The small discrepancy herein
resulted from rounding error and including the oily water
sewer. 

2. VOC Emission Reductions from Individual Units
Motiva Enterprises has provided information about the

effect of the planned modifications and  controls on VOC
emissions for each unit.  Such information has been used to
project VOC emissions from the wastewater treatment
system in the future milestone years.  Details of VOC
emission projections in 1999 are discussed in this section.

(1) Oily Water Sewer

Per the Benzene Waste Rule, hydrocarbon removal with
carbon canisters must be 95 percent effective.  Therefore,
VOC emissions after modifications to the oily water sewer
can be estimated using the 1990 emission in Table M-1 and a
95% control efficiency, which gives

(0.017 TPD)x(1-95%) = 0.001 TPD 

(2) CPI Separator
Per the Benzene Waste Rule, hydrocarbon removal with

carbon canisters must be 95 percent effective.  Therefore,
VOC emissions after modifications to the CPI Separator can
be estimated using the 1990 emission in Table M-1 and a
95% control efficiency as follows 

TPD)x(1-95%) = 0.001 TPD 

(3) API Separator
The emissions from the API Separator will be controlled

by both covering the unit and venting emissions to a carbon
absorption canister. Motiva has estimated the amount of
VOC emissions that will be vented to the carbon absorption
canister from the covered API Separator by using AP-42
methodology for determining breathing losses from the
fixed-roof tanks.  This emission rate is 61.7 TPY which is
equal to a daily rate of 0.169 TPD.  These emissions will be
sent to a carbon absorption canister which must have a
control efficiency of 95% per the Benzene Waste Rule.
Therefore, the emissions to the atmosphere after the
installation of controls on the API Separator can be
determined as 

(0.169 TPD)x(1.00 – 95%) = 0.008 TPD

Therefore, the amount of VOC that is captured by the
carbon absorption canister is 

0.169 TPD - 0.008 TPD = 0.161 TPD

The reduction in VOC emissions from the API
Separator is due not only to the carbon absorption device,
but also to the fact that the covers on the API Separator keep
more volatile organic compounds in the liquid phase rather
than vaporizing to the atmosphere.  Therefore, a higher
volume of VOCs in the liquid phase will go to downstream
units in the wastewater treatment plant. Because they may
eventually be emitted to the atmosphere from a downstream
unit, these VOCs must be accounted for when determining
overall emissions from the wastewater treatment plant.  The
additional amount of VOCs in the liquid phase that will go to
the downstream units is determined as follows.

First, the decrease in VOC emissions due to the new
controls is determined by subtracting the controlled
emissions from the uncontrolled emissions.  The controlled
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emissions have been previously calculated to be 0.008 TPD.
The uncontrolled emissions are 1.542 TPD (Table M-1).
Therefore, the total decrease in VOC emissions is

(1.542 TPD)uncontrolled – (0.008 TPD)controlled = 1.534 TPD

The vapor portion of the 1.534 TPD decrease is the
amount of VOC that will be removed by the carbon
absorption canister.  This amount has been previously
calculated to be 0.161 TPD. The portion of the total VOC
reduction that remains in the liquid phase is the difference
between the total VOC reduction and the vapor portion that
is removed by the carbon absorption canister, which is   

1.534 TPD - 0.161 TPD = 1.373 TPD remaining in liquid
phase

According to Motiva Enterprises, 55 percent of the
1.373 TPD, or 0.755 TPD, will be removed in the API
Separator and will go to the Coker.  Therefore, the amount of
VOCs that will remain in the liquid phase and go to
downstream units is

1.373 TPD  - 0.755 TPD = 0.618 TPD 

(4) Equalization Tanks 
Based on AP-42 methodology, the emissions from the

equalization tanks after installation of floating roofs will
essentially be zero.  Therefore, the decrease in VOC
emissions from these tanks is equal to the 0.318 TPD as
listed in Table M-1.  The floating roofs on the equalization
tanks will cause an increase in liquid VOCs to downstream
units similar to the increase caused by the API Separator
covers.  The amount of VOCs from the equalization tanks
that will remain in the liquid phase is equal to the emission
reduction of 0.318 TPD.  Therefore, the net increase in
VOCs to downstream units is the sum of the 0.618 TPD
liquid VOCs previously calculated from the API Separator
covers and the 0.318 TPD liquid VOCs resulting from the
floating roofs on the equalization tanks.  Thus, the total
increase is 0.618 + 0.318 = 0.936 TPD liquid phase VOCs
that will go to the Dissolved Air Floatation Unit.

(5) Spill Diversion Tank 
The VOC emissions from the spill diversion tank will

essentially be zero after installation of the floating roof. The
uncontrolled VOC emissions of 75 TPY (or 0.205 TPD)
from the spill diversion tank (Table M-1)  are the result of
maintaining an oil layer on the top of the tank to control
odor.  This practice will no longer be necessary after
installation of the floating roof, thus, the VOC emissions of
0.205 TPD from the spill diversion tank will be totally
eliminated from the process.  Consequently, there will be no
increase in VOC loading on any downstream units from the
Spill Diversion Tank.  

A portion of the emission reduction from the spill
diversion tank will be used to offset VOC emissions from a
new Ether Project at Motiva Enterprises facility.  This
portion of the emission reduction is not creditable for
meeting the Rate-of-Progress requirements.  The Ether
Project is expected to produce a VOC emission of 66.5 TPY,
which is equal to a daily emission of 0.182 TPD.   A 1:1
offset of the 0.182 TPD is needed from the VOC reduction at
the spill diversion tank. Therefore, a controlled emission of
0.182 TPD is attributed to the spill diversion tank.  In this
manner, the amount of emission reductions to be credited to
the 1999 RPP from the spill diversion tank will exclude the
amount of reduction needed to offset the Ether Project,
which gives 

Creditable Reduction for 1999 RPP = 0.205 - 0.182 = 0.023
TPD

(6) Dissolved Air Floatation (DAF) Unit 
The VOC emissions from the DAF unit will be

controlled by both covering the unit and venting emissions to
a control device.  Per the Benzene Waste Rule, the control
device must have a 95% VOC removal efficiency.  Based on
design data, Motiva Enterprises have estimated the
emissions that will be vented to the control device from the
covered DAF unit to be 4.8 TPY, which is equal to a daily
emission of 0.013 TPD.  The emissions to the atmosphere
from the control device are then determined to be

(0.013 TPD)x(1.00 – 95%) = 0.001 TPD

The amount of VOC that will be removed by the control
device is

 0.013 TPD - 0.001 TPD = 0.012 TPD

The covers on the DAF unit will cause an increase in
liquid phase VOCs to downstream units similar to the
increase caused by the API Separator and the equalization
tanks.   Similarly, the decrease in VOC emissions due to the
new controls is determined by subtracting the controlled
emissions from the uncontrolled emissions.  The controlled
emissions have been previously estimated to be 0.001 TPD,
while the uncontrolled emissions are 0.222 TPD, as listed in
Table M-1.  Therefore, the total decrease in VOC emissions
from the DAF unit is

0.222 TPD - 0.001 TPD = 0.221 TPD

The vapor portion of the 0.221 TPD reduction is the
amount of VOC that is removed by the control device.  This
amount has been previously calculated to be 0.012 TPD.
The portion of the total VOC reduction that remains in the
liquid phase is the difference between the total VOC



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 8, MONDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 1999

1371

reduction and the vapor portion, that is   

0.221 TPD - 0.012 TPD = 0.209 TPD

This amount is added to the previously calculated 0.936
TPD liquid phase VOCs, which comes to the DAF unit from
the API Separators and the equalization tanks, resulting in a
cumulative increase in liquid phase VOCs of 1.145 TPD.
According to Motiva Enterprises, 80 percent of this 1.145
TPD, or 0.916 TPD,  will  be removed in the DAF unit and
will go to the Coker.  Therefore, the amount of liquid phase
VOCs that will go to downstream units is

1.145 TPD - 0.916 TPD = 0.229 TPD

Of the 0.229 TPD liquid phase VOCs going downstream
from the DAF unit, Motiva Enterprises state that 50% will be
bio-degraded in the first stage aeration unit.  The remainder
will be emitted to the atmosphere.  Therefore, the net
increase in VOC emissions to the atmosphere due to
downstream loading from all units is

(0.229 TPD)x(0.50) = 0.115 TPD to the atmosphere         

A summary of VOC emissions from individual units at
Motiva’s wastewater treatment plant after implementing the
planned modifications and controls is presented in Table M-
2.

Table M-2
Summary of VOC Emissions at Motiva’s Wastewater 

Treatment Plant

Source Unit      Controlled VOC Emissions (TPD)
Oily Water Sewer 0.001
CPI Separator 0.001
API Separator 0.008
Equalization Tanks 0.000
Spill Diversion Tank 0.182*
Dissolved Air Floatation Unit 0.001
Downstream Loading 0.115
Total Emission 0.308

*For offsetting VOC emissions from the ether project.

3. 1999 Control Strategy Projections and Emission
Reductions

The 1999 Control Strategy Projection for the Motiva
Enterprises wastewater treatment plant can be calculated
using an overall control efficiency which accounts for VOC
emission reductions from all process modifications and
controls at the treatment plant.  This 1999 Overall Control
Efficiency (CE1999) can be determined using the 1990
uncontrolled emissions from Table M-1 and the estimated

controlled emissions from Table M-2, which gives

CE1999 = 2.324 - 0.308  x 100% = 86.8%

2.324

The VOC emissions from Motiva’s wastewater
treatment plant are projected to 1999 using projection
Equation P-3 as presented in the 1999 RPP (page 3-10). The
parameters needed for the projection are

1990 Actual Emissions =  2.324 TPD (From Table M-1)
1999 Overall Control 

Efficiency =  86.8% = 0.868 (Calculated above)
1999 Rule Effectiveness =  80% = 0.80 (Default value)
1990 Control Efficiency =  0% = 0 (No controls in 1990)
1990 Rule Effectiveness =  100% = 0 (No rule effect in 1990)
1999 Growth Factor =  1.08 (Page 2-9, 1999 RPP)

The 1999 control strategy projection of VOC emissions
is

EMIS1999 = 2.324 x 1-86.8% x 80% x 1.08=0.767TPD

   1-0% x 100%

The VOC emission reduction at Motiva’s wastewater
treatment plant due to process modifications and new
controls is the difference between the 1999 Current Control
Projection emissions and the 1999 Control Strategy
Projection emissions.  The 1999 Current Control Projection
emissions can be obtained using Equation P-6 (page 3-12,
1999 RPP), that is, multiplying the 1990 Base Year
Emissions with the 1999 growth factor 
 

EMIS1999 - Current Control  =  2.324 x 1.08 = 2.510 TPD

Therefore, the VOC emission reduction in 1999
(ER1999) from Motiva’s wastewater treatment plant is
expected to be

ER1999 =  2.510 TPD - 0.767 TPD  = 1.743 TPD  

4. Emission Reduction Credit for 1999 Rate-of-Progress
Plan

The VOC emission reductions at Motiva’s wastewater
treatment plant resulted from process modifications and
controls planned by Motiva to comply with either the
Federal Benzene Waste Rule or Delaware Air Regulation
24.28 for petroleum refinery.  In July 1992, DNREC
acknowledged the total VOC emission reduction of 75 TPY
from the spill diversion tank to offset VOC emissions from
Motiva’s then-planned ether project (DNREC Secretary’s
Order No. 92-0044, July 14, 1992).   Since Motiva estimated
that the ether project would lead to a VOC emission increase
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of 66.5 TPY, a portion of the acknowledged VOC emission
reduction, that is, 75 - 66.5 = 8.5 TPY, is included in the total
emission reductions estimated in Section 3. Delaware
decides (1) not to use this 8.5 TPY acknowledged reduction
in its 1999 RPP for reduction credit, and (2) to exploit
alternative reductions (e.g., NOx emission reductions) to
fulfill the emission reduction requirements in the 1999 RPP.
This decision reflects DNREC’s consideration to follow the
Final Order and Decision, issued by the Environmental
Appeals Board, the State of Delaware, on November 20,
1998 (Attachment 2). 

The 8.5 TPY VOC reduction is estimated with respect to
the 1990 base year.  It cannot be simply subtracted from the
1999 total VOC emission reductions projected previously in
Section 3.  Instead, similar steps used in Section 3 should be
applied to the source that produces this reduction, namely,
the spill diversion tank.  Delaware makes the following
analysis to determine the 1999 VOC emission reduction
resulting from this 8.5 TPY.  

The 1990 base year VOC emission from Motiva’s
wastewater treatment plant (EMIS1990) can be expressed as

EMIS1990  =  EMIS1990CRED  +  EMIS1990NONCR(1)

where EMIS1990CRED is the emissions from which reduction
credits will be taken in 1999, and EMIS1990NONCR is the

emissions from which the reductions will not be taken as
credit in 1999.  The 1999 current control projection is 

EMISCC1999 = EMIS1990 x GF = EMIS1990CRED x GF +
EMIS1990NONCR x GF   (2)

where GF is the growth factor.  The first part of Eq. 2 is the
credit portion and the second part is the non-credit portion.
The 1999 control strategy projection is

EMISCS1999 = EMIS1990CRED x GF x (1 - CECRED% x

RE%) + EMIS1990NONCR x GF x (1 - CENONCR% x RE%) 
       (3)

where CECRED% is the control efficiency of the credited
sources and CENONCR% is the control efficiency for the
non-credited sources.  Again, the first part of Eq. 3 is the
credit portion and the second part is the non-credit portion.
The emission reduction in 1999 (ER1999) is

ER1999= EMISCC1999 - EMISCS1999 = ER1999CRED +
ER1999NONCR = EMIS1990CRED x GF - EMIS1990CRED x
GF x (1 - CECRED% x RE%) + EMIS1990NONCR x GF -

EMIS1990NONCR x GF x (1 - CENONCR% x RE%)        (4)

The emission reduction from the credit sources is

ER1999CRED =EMISCC1999CRED

= EMISCS1999CRED = EMIS1990CRED x GF -
EMIS1990CRED x GF x (1 - CECRED% x RE%)     (5)

The emission reduction from the non-credit sources is 

ER1999NONCR =  EMISCC1999NONCR

= EMISCS1999NONCR = EMIS1990NONCR x
GF - EMIS1990NONCR x GF x (1 -CENONCR% x RE%)

       (6)

For credit sources, the total 1990 emission can be
obtained from Table M-1 minus 8.5 TPY, that is, 848.4 - 8.5
= 839.9 TPY, or 2.301 TPD.  The controlled emission from
these sources has been calculated previously in Table M-2.
Thus, the control efficiency for the credit sources is 

CE1999CRED = 2.301 - 0.308 x 100% = 86.6%
2.301       (7)

Applying Eq. 5 and assuming an 80% rule effectiveness,
the emission reduction credit can be calculated as

ER1999CRED = EMISCC1999CRED - EMISCS1999CRED

= 2.301 x 1.08 - 2.301 x 1.08 x 
(1 - 86.6% x 80%) 

= 2.485 - 0.763 = 1.722 TPD

For the non-credit source, the 1990 emission is 8.5 TPY,
or 0.023 TPD.  The controlled emission for this source is
0.000 TPD (emission from the spill diversion tank after
installation of floating roof).  Thus, the control efficiency for
the non-credit source is 

CE1999CRED = 0.023 - 0.00 x 100% = 100%
0.023 (8)

Applying Eq. 6 and assuming an 80% rule effectiveness,
the emission reduction from the non-credit source can be
calculated as

ER1999nonCR = 0.023 x 1.08 - 0.023 x 1.08 x (1 - 100% x

80%) = 0.020 TPD

As mentioned previously, Delaware decides not to take
this reduction as credit in its 1999 RPP.  Therefore, the
emission reduction credit for Delaware’s 1999 RPP is only
1.722 TPD as calculated above.
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Attachment 1 to Appendix M  (Amended)

(A hardcopy of this attachment is available upon request.
The request should be addressed to: Alfred Deramo,
Program Manager, ERPA Program, DNREC, 156 S. State
St., Dover, DE 19901. Telephone 302-739-4791, fax 302-
739-3106.)

Letter from Motiva’s Plant Manager, R.G. Soehlke, to R.
Taggart, Program Manager, Engineering and Compliance
Section of DNREC, dated on March 6, 1992, and the
documentation attached to this letter, entitled “Summary of
VOC Emission Effect Resulting from Compliance with the
Benzene Waste Rule on the Waste Water Treatment Plant”. 

Attachment 2 to Appendix M  (Amended)

(A hardcopy of this attachment is available upon request.
The request should be addressed to: Alfred Deramo,
Program Manager, ERPA Program, DNREC, 156 S. State
St., Dover, DE 19901. Telephone 302-739-4791, fax 302-
739-3106.)

Final Order and Decision, the Environmental Appeals
Board, the State of Delaware, November 20, 1998.

Appendix P

Mobile 5a Input and Output Files for Stage Ii Vapor 
Recovery Program With Annual Inspections

(A hardcopy of this appendix is available upon request.  The
request should be addressed to: Alfred Deramo, Program
Manager, ERPA Program, DNREC, 156 S. State St., Dover,
DE 19901. Telephone 302-739-4791, fax 302-739-3106.)

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code,
Section 1902(a)(5) (7 Del.C. 1902(a)(5))

Register Notice

1. Title of The Regulation:
Shellfish Regulations No. S-23 Lobster-pot Design; No.

S-25 Lobster-Pot, Season and Limits for Commercial
Lobster Pot License and S-26, Possession of V-notched
Lobsters Prohibited.

2. Brief Synopsis of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
In order to comply with the requirements of

Amendment 3 to the Interstate Fishery Management Plan for
American Lobster, new lobster pot design criteria are

required to allow the escape of undersized lobsters, to allow
any lobster to escape if a pot is lost and limit the size of pots.
Mature female lobsters are marked and released by
fishermen in New England when they are carrying eggs.
The possession of these marked females with a V-notch in
one of their tail flippers is prohibited in order to protect
known mature female lobsters.  It is also required that
landing limits be implemented to prohibit the landing of
more than 100 lobsters per one day trip or up to 500 per 5
day trip that are not taken by pots in the Exclusive Economic
Zone (3-200 nautical miles in the Ocean).

3. Possible Terms of The Agency Action:
None

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
§1902 (a)(5), 7 Del. C.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by The
Proposal:

None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, calling or
visiting the Division of Fish and Wildlife, Fisheries Section,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901 (302) 739-3441, prior
to 4:30 PM on Friday, March 5, 1999.  A public hearing on
these proposed amendments to Shellfish Regulation Nos. 23
and 25 and new Shellfish Regulation No.26 will be held in
the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at 7:30
PM on Thursday February 25, 1999.

7. Prepared by:
Charles A. Lesser(302)-739-3441January 11, 1999

Proposed amendments to Shellfish Regulation 
No. S-23, LOBSTER-POT DESIGN.

Section 1.  Amend Shellfish Regulation No. S-23,
LOBSTER-POT DESIGN in subsection (a) by striking the
words “one (1) ¾” x 6”” and substitute in lieu there of the
words “1 15/16 inches by 5 ¾ inches.”

Further amend Shellfish Regulation No. S-23,
LOBSTER-POT DESIGN by adding a new subsection (b) to
read as follows:

“(b)  It shall be unlawful for any person to set, tend
or conduct shellfishing for lobsters with any pot or
trap, not constructed entirely of wood, excluding
heading or parlor twine and the escape vent, in the
waters under the jurisdiction of this State that does

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fandw.htm
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not contain a ghost panel covering an opening that
measures at least 3 3/4 inches by 3 3/4 inches. A
ghost panel means a panel, or other mechanism,
designed to allow the escapement of lobster after a
period of time if the pot or trap has been abandoned
or lost.  The panel must be constructed of, or
fastened to the pot or trap with, one of the following
untreated materials:  wood lath, cotton, hemp, sisal
or jute twine not greater than 3/16 inch in diameter,
or non-stainless, uncoated ferrous metal not greater
than 3/32 inch in diameter.  The door of the pot or
trap may serve as the ghost panel, if fastened with a
material specified in this subsection.  The ghost
panel must be located in the outer parlor(s) of the
pot or trap and not the bottom of the pot or trap.”

Further amend Shellfish Regulation No. S-23,
LOBSTER-POT DESIGN by adding a new subsection (c) to
read as follows:

“(c)  It shall be unlawful for any recreational or
commercial lobster pot fisherman to possess a
lobster pot or trap with a volume larger than 22,950
cubic inches.”

Section 2.  EFFECTIVE DATE

These amendments to Shellfish Regulation No. S-23
shall become effective 30 days from the date the Order
adopting these amendments is issued by the Secretary of the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control.

SHELLFISH REGULATION NO. S-23

S-23 LOBSTER-POT DESIGN
(a)  It shall be unlawful for any person to set, tend or

conduct shellfishing for lobsters with any pot or trap in the
waters under the jurisdiction of the State unless said pot or
trap has an escape vent, slot or port of not less than one (1)
¾” x 6”  1 15/16 inches by 5 ¾ inches located in the parlor
section of each pot or trap.

“(b)  It shall be unlawful for any person to set, tend or
conduct shellfishing for lobsters with any pot or trap, not
constructed entirely of wood, excluding heading or parlor
twine and the escape vent, in the waters under the
jurisdiction of this State that does not contain a ghost panel
covering an opening that measures at least 3 3/4 inches by 3
3/4 inches. A ghost panel means a panel, or other
mechanism, designed to allow the escapement of lobster
after a period of time if the pot or trap has been abandoned or
lost.  The panel must be constructed of, or fastened to the pot
or trap with, one of the following untreated materials:  wood
lath, cotton, hemp, sisal or jute twine not greater than 3/16

inch in diameter, or non-stainless, uncoated ferrous metal not
greater than 3/32 inch in diameter.  The door of the pot or
trap may serve as the ghost panel, if fastened with a material
specified in this subsection.  The ghost panel must be located
in the outer parlor(s) of the pot or trap and not the bottom of
the pot or trap.”

“(c)  It shall be unlawful for any recreational or
commercial lobster pot fisherman   to possess a lobster pot or
trap with a volume larger than 22,950 cubic inches.”

Proposed amendment to Shellfish Regulation No. S-25,
LOBSTER-POT, SEASON AND LIMITS FOR
COMERCIAL LOBSTER POT LICENSE.

Section 1.  Amend Shellfish Regulation No. S-25,
LOBSTER-POT SEASON AND LIMITS FOR
COMMERCIAL LOBSTER POT LICENSE by adding a
new subsection (c) to read as follows:

“(c)  It shall be unlawful for any person, licensed to
catch or land lobsters for commercial purposes in
this State, who uses gear or methods other than pots
or traps outside the jurisdiction of this State, to land
more than 100 lobsters per day for each day at sea
during the same trip up to a maximum of 500
lobsters per trip for trips 5 days or longer.”

Section 2.  EFFECTIVE DATE.

This amendment to Shellfish Regulation No. S-25 shall
become effective 30 days from the date the Order adopting
this amendment is issued by the Secretary of the Department
of Natural Resources and Environmental Control.

SHELLFISH REGULATION S-25

S-25 LOBSTERS-POT, SEASON AND LIMITS FOR
COMMERCIAL LOBSTER POT   LICENSE

(a) It shall be lawful for any person who has a valid
Commercial Lobster Pot License to  harvest lobsters in the
waters under the jurisdiction of the State at any time as
permitted by law on any date except Sunday.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person who has a valid
Commercial Lobster Pot License   to harvest lobsters in the
waters under the jurisdiction of the State at any time as
permitted by law on any date except Sunday.

“(c) It shall be unlawful for any person, licensed to
catch or land lobsters for  commercial purposes in this State,
who uses gear or methods other than pots or traps outside the
jurisdiction of this State, to land more than 100 lobsters per
day for each day at sea during the same trip, up to a
maximum of 500 lobsters per trip for trips 5 days or longer.”
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Proposed Shellfish Regulation to prohibit the possession of
V-notched lobsters.

Section 1.  Add a new Shellfish Regulation No. S-26 to read
as follows:

“S-26 POSSESSION OF V-NOTCHED LOBSTERS
PROHIBITED

It shall be unlawful for any person to possess a V-
notched female lobster.  V-notched female lobster means
any female lobster bearing a V-notch, a straight-sided
triangular cut without setal hairs at least ¼ inch in depth and
tapering to a sharp point, in the flipper next to the right of
center flipper as viewed from the rear of the female lobster.
V-notched female lobster also means any female lobster
which is mutilated in a manner which could hide, obscure or
obliterate such a mark.  The right flipper will be examined
when the underside of the lobster is down and its tail is
toward the person making the determination.”

Section 2.  EFFECTIVE DATE
This Shellfish Regulation No. S-26 shall become

effective 30 days from the date the Order adopting this
regulation is issued by the Secretary of the Department of
Natural Resources and Environmental Control.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Section 903(e)(2)(a) (7 Del.C. 903(e)(2)(a))

Register Notice

1. Title of The Regulation:
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4 Summer Flounder Size

Limits; Possession Limits; Season.

2. Brief Synopsis of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
In order to remain in compliance in 1999 with the

Summer Flounder Fishery Management Plan, as amended,
Delaware must reduce its recreational fishery harvest by
40% of the 1997 recreational harvest.  There are several
ways to accomplish this reduction.  If Delaware retains the
15 inch minimum size limit and 8 fish creel limit for summer
flounder, a seasonal closure is required.  There are four
options for a closed season.  If Delaware raises its minimum
size limit to 16 inches and retains the 8 fish creel limit, a
much shorter closed season is required.  Lowering the creel
limit will have a minimal effect on reducing the harvest.

The Division of Fish and Wildlife’s preferred option is
to retain the 15 inch minimum size limit and 8 fish creel limit
and close the recreational and commercial hook and line
season on January 1 through May 28 and again on

September 12 through December 31.  Other seasonal closure
options that are the conservation equivalent of the preferred
option are January 1 through July 13; August 9 through
December 31 or July 15 through August 8.  

Delaware’s commercial hook and line fishery for
summer flounder will continue to have the same minimum
size limit, creel limit and seasonal closure(s) as the
recreational fishery in order to keep commercial landings of
summer flounder below Delaware’s commercial quota of
11,100 pounds.

3. Possible Terms of The Agency Action:
Requirements in the Summer Flounder Fishery

Management Plan require changes to reduce recreational
harvest by 40% of the 1997 landings.  If Delaware does not
comply, the summer flounder fishery may be closed.

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
§903 (e)(2)(a), 7 Del. C.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by The
Proposal:

None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, calling or
visiting the Division of Fish and Wildlife, Fisheries Section,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901 (302)-739-3441 prior
to 4:30 PM on Friday, March 5, 1999.  A public hearing on
proposed amendments to TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION
NO. 4 will be held in the Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control auditorium, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE at 7:30 PM on Thursday, February 25,1999.

7. Prepared by:
Charles A. Lesser(302)-739-3441January 15, 1999

Proposed Amendment to Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4
Summer Floundr Size Limits; Possession Limits; Seasons.

Section 1.  Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4, Summer
Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits; Seasons by adding
a new subsection to read as follows:

“(k) It shall be unlawful for any recreational
fisherman or any commercial hook and line
fisherman to take and reduce to possession any
summer flounder or to land any summer flounder
during the periods beginning at 12:01 AM on
January 1 and ending at midnight on May 28 and
beginning at 12:01 AM on September 12 and
ending at midnight on December 31.  To land shall
mean to bring on shore.”

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fandw.htmhttp://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fandw.htm
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Section 2.  Effective Date
This amendment to Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4 shall

become effective 30 days from the date the Order adopting
this amendment is issued by the Secretary of the Department
of Natural Resources and Environmental Control.

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4 Summer Flounder Size
Limits; Possession Limits; Seasons.

a) It shall be lawful for any person to take and reduce
to possession summer flounder from the tidal waters of this
State at any time except as otherwise set forth in this
regulation.

b) It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
to have in possession more than eight (8) summer flounder at
or between the place where said summer flounder were
caught and said recreational fisherman's personal abode or
temporary or transient place of lodging.

c) It shall be unlawful for any person, other than
qualified persons as set forth in paragraph (f) of this
regulation, to possess any summer flounder that measure less
than fifteen (15) inches between the tip of the snout and the
furthest tip of the tail.

d) It shall be unlawful for any person, other than a
licensed commercial fisherman with a gill net permit, while
on board a vessel, to have in possession any part of a
summer flounder that measures less than fifteen (15) inches
between said part's two most distant points unless said
person also has in possession the head, backbone and tail
intact from which said part was removed.

e) It shall be unlawful for any licensed commercial
finfisherman with a gill net permit to have in possession any
part of a summer flounder that measures less than fourteen
(14) inches between said part's two most distant points
unless said person also has in possession the head, backbone
and tail intact from which said part was removed.

f) Notwithstanding the size limits and possession
limits in this regulation, a person may possess a summer
flounder that measures no less than fourteen (14) inches
between the tip of the snout and the furthest tip of the tail and
a quantity of summer flounder in excess of the possession
limit set forth in this regulation, provided said person has
one of the following: 

1) A valid bill-of-sale or receipt indicating the
date said summer flounder were received, the amount of said
summer flounder received and the name, address and
signature of the person who had landed said summer
flounder;

2) A receipt from a licensed or permitted fish
dealer who obtained said summer flounder; or

3) A bill of lading while transporting fresh or
frozen summer flounder.

g) Notwithstanding the size limits in this regulation, a

person may possess a summer flounder that measures no less
than fourteen (14) inches between the tip of the snout and the
furthest tip of the tail, provided said person has one of the
following:

1) A valid commercial finfishing license and gill
net  permit issued by the Department; or 

2) A valid vessel permit issued by the Regional
director, NMFS, to fish for and retain summer flounder in
the EEZ or a dealer permit issued by the Regional Director
or NMFS, as set forth in 50CFR, Part 625.

h) It shall be unlawful for any commercial
finfisherman to sell, trade and or barter or attempt to sell,
trade and or barter any summer flounder or part thereof that
is landed in this State by said commercial fisherman after a
date when the de minimis amount of commercial landings of
summer flounder is determined to have been landed in this
State by the Department.  The de minimis amount of summer
flounder shall be 0.1% of the coast wide commercial quota
as set forth in the Summer Flounder Fishery Management
Plan approved by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission.

i) It shall be unlawful for any vessel to land more than
200 pounds of summer flounder in any one day in this State.

j) It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been
issued a commercial foodfishing license and fishes for
summer flounder with any food fishing equipment other than
a gill net, to have in possession more than eight (8) summer
flounder at or between the place where said summer flounder
were caught and said persons personal abode or temporary or
transient place of lodging.

k) It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman
or any commercial hook and line fisherman to take and
reduce to possession any summer flounder or to land any
summer flounder during the periods beginning at 12:01 AM
on January 1 and ending at midnight on May 28 and
beginning at 12:01 AM on September 12 and ending at
midnight on December 31.  To land shall mean to bring on
shore.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Section 903(e)(2)(a) (7 Del.C. 903(e)(2)(a))

Register Notice

1. Title of the Regulation:
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 23 Black Sea Bass Size

Limit; Trip Limits; Seasons; Quotas.

2. Brief Synopsis of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
The fishing mortality rate on the black sea bass is under

the target level described in the Black Sea Bass Fishery
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Management Plan.  Therefore the recreational seasonal
closure is no longer needed.  The current seasonal closure of
August 1 – August 15 for recreational fishermen will be
dropped.

3. Possible Terms of The Agency Action:
States musts comply with the minimum requirements of

the Black Sea Bass Fishery Management Plan or face a
closure of the fishery.

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
§ 903 (e)(2)(a), 7 Del. C.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by The
Proposal:

None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, calling or
visiting the Division of Fish and Wildlife, Fisheries Section,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901 (302) 739-3441, prior
to 4:30 PM on Friday, March 5, 1999.  A public hearing on
proposed amendments to TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION
NO. 23 will be held in the Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control auditorium, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE at 7:30 PM on Thursday, February 25, 1999.

7. Prepared by:
Charles A. Lesser  (302)739-3441January 11,1999

Proposed Amendment to Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 23
Black Sea Bass Size Limits; Trip Limits; Seasons; Quotas

Section 1.  
Amend Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 23 Black Sea Bass

Size Limit; Trip Limits; Seasons; Quotas by striking
subsection (b) in its entirety.

Section 2.  Effective Date
These amendments to Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 23

shall become effective 30 days from the date the Order
adopting these amendments is issued by the Secretary of the
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control.

Tidal Finfish Regulaton  No. 23

Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 23 Black Sea Bass Size Limit;
Trip Limits; Seasons; Quotas

a) It shall be unlawful for any person to have in
possession any black sea bass  Centropritis striata that
measures less than ten (10) inches, total length.  

b) It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman

to take and reduce to possession  any black sea bass or to
land any black sea bass during the period beginning at 12:01
a.m. on August 1 and ending at midnight on August 15.

c) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess on
board a vessel at any time or to land   after one trip more than
on the following quantities of black sea bass during the
quarter listed:  

First Quarter (January, February and March) – 11,000 lbs.
Second Quarter (April, May and June) – 7,000 lbs.
Third Quarter (July, August and September) – 3,000 lbs.
Fourth Quarter (October, November and December) – 4,000
lbs. 

“One trip” shall mean the time between a vessel
leaving its home port and the next time said vessel
returns t any port in Delaware.”

d) It shall be unlawful for any person to fish for black
sea bass for commercial purposes or to land any black sea
bass for commercial purposes during any quarter indicated in
subsection (c) after the date in said quarter that the National
Marine Fisheries Services determines that quarter’s quota is
filled.”
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.  

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY & BARBERING

Statutory Authority:  24 Delaware Code,
Section 5106 (24 Del.C. 5106)

BEFORE THE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY AND 
BARBERING OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN RE: |
ADOPTION OF RULES AND |
REGULATIONS |

ORDER ADOPTINGING RULES AND REGULATIONS

AND NOW, this 25th day of January, 1999, in
accordance with 29 Del.C. 10118 and for the reasons stated
hereinafter, the Board of Cosmetology and Barbering ('the
Board") enters this Order adopting Rules and Regulations.

Nature of the Proceedings

The Board proposes to add provisions to one of its
existing rules and to adopt three new regulations to
supplement its existing rules.  Notice of the public hearing
on the Board's proposal was published in the Delaware

Register of Regulations on October 1, 1998 and in two
Delaware newspapers of general circulation, all in accord
with 29 DelC. 10115. (An affidavit from personnel of the
News Journal confirming such publication and a copy of the
notice that appeared in The Delaware State News were
received into evidence at the public hearing.) The public
hearing was held as noticed on October 26, 1998.  The Board
continued accepting comments on the proposed additions
through October 30, 1998.  The Board deliberated on the
public comments at its November 30, 1998 meeting.  This is
the Board's Decision and Order ADOPTING the regulations
as proposed.

Evidence and Information Submitted at the Public Hearing

The Board received two written comments into
evidence at the public hearing: (1) a summary of a survey
conducted by the Maryland cosmetology board identifying
the positions of twenty different state cosmetology boards on
the use of electric nail drills and the use of laser technology;
and (2) a summary from the American Electrology
Association of the position of various state medical licensing
boards on the use of lasers for hair removal.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

The public was given appropriate notice of the Board's
intention to revise and add to its Rules and Regulations and
had an adequate opportunity to provide the Board with
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comments on the proposed changes. The Board further
concludes that its consideration of the proposed Rules and
Regulations is- within the Board's authority under 
24 DelC. 5106(l).

The first change proposed by the Board is to add

provisions to current Rule 12.1 The additions establish time
frames in which apprentice hours must be completed and
allow the Board to extend the time frames when an applicant
demonstrates good cause for exception. The Board believes
that by setting both minimum and maximum time frames,
the proposed rule assures that the apprentice hours will be
concentrated enough to be an effective learning experience,
yet not so rushed as to be cursory.  The Board notes that the
time parameters are tailored to the type of apprenticeship and
finds that the provision for good cause exceptions will allow
the Board to mitigate any unintended and unnecessarily
harsh effect the rules may have in individual cases.

Proposed Rule 14 makes licensees and registrants of the
Board responsible for assuring that their employees are
appropriately licensed in Delaware and subjects them to
disciplinary action by the Board for failing to do so.  The
Board finds that this rule advances the statutory prohibition

on unlicensed practice2 and is consistent with the standards
of conduct expected of licensed professionals.

Proposed Rule 15 outlines the documentation that an
applicant for licensure must provide the Board.  It also
specifically requires that applicants who have received their
education and training from non-domestic programs must
provide the Board with translated documents, if necessary,
and with an evaluation from an educational credential
evaluation agency showing that his or her training and
experience are equivalent to the statutory requirements for
licensure.  The Board believes that this rule is necessary to
put applicants on notice of the type of documentation the
Board requires and to bring conformity to the large numbers
of applications the Board reviews.  The requirement of
educational credential evaluations is necessary to help the
Board fairly and consistently assess the qualifications of
applicants trained in other countries, where the educational
process is often organized differently.

Finally, proposed Rule 16 adopts National Interstate
Council standards for infection control, adopts the health and
safety regulations developed by the Division of Public
Health, limits the use of electric files to artificial nails and
prohibits the use of laser technology for hair removal.  The
rule also makes violating any of these standards a ground for
discipline, as a necessary enforcement mechanism for the
standards.  The Board notes that one of the recommendations
from its 1998 "sunset review" was adoption of the NIC
standards.  More generally, the Board finds that it is essential
to establish health and safety standards in a profession that
provides personal services, often using potentially dangerous
tools and chemicals.

Likewise, the Board finds that the, use of electric nail
files and drills on natural nails creates an unreasonable and
unnecessary risk of injury to clients and therefore, their use
should be  limited to artificial nails. In this regard, the Board
notes that the information submitted by Maryland's licensing
agency suggests that several other states have already
imposed restrictions on the use of electric nail equipment, or
are considering doing so.  While the Board does not consider
the Maryland summary dispositive, it does tend to confirm
the existence of a public safety issue.

The prohibition on using lasers for hair removal flows
from the Board's conclusion that such services not work
generally performed by cosmetologists.  The-Board finds
that the possible harm from the use of lasers is serious and
the risk of allowing licensees to perform this type of hair
removal for cosmetic purposes is unwarranted.  In this
regard, the Board notes the submission of the American
Electrology Association, suggesting that the medical
licensing boards of at least twenty states have limited the use
of laser for hair removal to physicians or personnel working
under the supervision of a doctor.

In summary, the Board concludes that the proposed
additions to its Rules and Regulations are necessary for the
enforcement of Chapter 51 of Title 24 of The Delaware Code
and for the full effective and fair performance of the Boards
duties under that chapter. The Board also finds that adopting
the regulations as proposed is in the best interests of the
citizens of the State of Delaware and is necessary to protect
the general public and to regulate and oversee the practices
of cosmetology, barbering and affiliated professions.  The
Board, therefore, adopts the proposed additions to existing
Rule 12 and new Rules 14, 15 and 16 as set forth in Exhibit
"A" attached hereto.

ORDER

NOW, THEREFORE, by unanimous vote of a quorum
of the Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, IT IS HEREBY
ORDERED THAT:

1. Proposed Rules and Regulations 14, 15 and 16, and
the additions to existing Rule 12, are approved and adopted
in the exact text attached hereto as Exhibit "A."

2. The effective date of this Order is ten (10) days from
the date of its publication in the Delaware-Register of
Regulations, pursuant to 29 DelC. 10118(e).

3. The Board reserves the jurisdiction and authority to
issue such other and further orders in this matter as may be
necessary and proper. 

1 As part of this rule-making process the format and
numbering style of the Rules and Regulations have also been
updated 29 Del.C 10113(4) allows the Board to informally
adopt these nonsubstantive changes in style and form and the
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Board has done so in an effort to make the Rules easier to
use and consistent with the style of other agency regulations.
This Order refers to the new numbering style.

2  See 24 Del C   5103.

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation
as originally proposed and published in the October 1998
issue of the Register at page 440 (2:4 Del.R. 440).
Therefore, the final regulation is not being republished.
Please refer to the October 1998 issue of the Register or
contact the Division of Professional Regulation, Board of
Cosmetology and Barbering.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, 

Section 1237 (3 Del.C. 1237)

On November, 23, 1998, the Pesticide Section of the
Delaware Department of Agriculture held a public meeting
to hear comments on the proposed amendments to the
Delaware pesticide Rules and Regulations.  We accepted
written comments until December 23, 1998.

After a brief review of the amendments comments were
accepted.  Comments were received from twelve (12)
members of the regulated community and one (1) member of
the University of Delaware Cooperative Extension service.
Each of the twelve members of the regulated community
stated that they were in favor of the amendments as written.
The representative from the University of Delaware
Cooperative Extension Service (education) spoke in favor of
the amendments as written.  A question was raised
concerning the availability of training for recertification.
The Delaware Pest Control Association and University of
Delaware Cooperative Extension Service have stated that
they will be increasing the number of programs that they
provide which will add to the current training programs
available.  In addition to the increased training that is
proposed, the Agricultural Specialist stated that based upon
programs that have been approved over the past three years
training is currently available to meet the increased training
requirement.
There were no written comments received on the proposed
changes.

Based upon the comments received the Delaware
Department of Agriculture, Pesticide Section will adopt
these proposed amendments with the Order attached.

Amendments to the Rules and Regulations of the
Delaware Pesticide Law

In accordance with the authority vested in the State of
Delaware, Department of Agriculture, to establish rules and

procedures for the enforcement of the Delaware Pesticide
Law, 3 DelC., Chapter 12, the amendments to the Delaware
Pesticide Rules and Regulations, as printed in 2:5 Del.R.
724-740 (November 1, 1998), are promulgated.  The
effective date of these amendments shall be February 10,
1999.

Date 5 January 1999
John F. Tarburton
Secretary of Agriculture

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation
as originally proposed and published in the November
1998 issue of the Register at page 724 (2:5 Del.R. 724).
Therefore, the final regulation is not being republished.
Please refer to the November 1998 issue of the Register
or contact the Department of Agriculture.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, 

Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. 122(d))

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

REGULATORY IMPLEMENTING ORDER

SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION

I.  SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND 
INFORMATION SUBMITTED

The Secretary seeks the approval of the State Board of
Education to amend the regulations on School Construction.
These regulations are found in the School Construction
Manual, May 1991.  The School Construction Manual is a
combination of technical assistance, Department of
Education Regulations and sections of the Delaware Code,
particularly Title 14, Chapter 20, Standard School
Construction and Title 29, Chapter 75, School Construction
Capital Improvements.  The purpose of the amendments is to
isolate the regulatory sections from the technical assistance
and the Del. C. citations.  Three main regulations have been
identified.  They include Major Capital Improvement
Programs, Minor Capital Improvement Programs and
Satellite Schools.  These regulations define the process and
procedures that local school districts must follow for Major
and Minor Capital Improvement Projects and when opening
a satellite school.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on December
11, 1998 in the form hereto attached as Exhibit A.  The

http://www.doe.state.de.us/index_js.htm
http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/index.htmhttp://www.state.de.us/deptagri/index.htm
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notice invited written comments and none were received
from the newspaper advertisements.

II.  FINDINGS OF FACT

The Secretary finds that it is necessary to amend these
regulations in order to clarify their content and to put them
into regulatory form.

III.  DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATIONS

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is necessary to amend the regulations.  Therefore, pursuant
to 14 Del. C., Section 122, the regulations attached hereto as
Exhibit B are hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provisions of
14 Delaware Code, Section 122(e), the regulations hereby
amended shall be in effect for a period of five years from the
effective date of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV.  TEXT AND CITATION

The text of the regulations amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit B, and said regulations
shall be cited in the document entitled the Regulations of the
Department of Education.

V.  EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C., Section 122, on January 21,
1999.  The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 21st day of January, 1999.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Dr. Iris T. Metts, Secretary of Education 

Approved this 21st day of January, 1999.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. James L. Spartz, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Nancy A. Doorey
John W. Jardine, Jr.
Dr. Joseph A. Pika
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

EXHIBIT B

400.2 Major Capital Improvement Programs

1.0 Major Capital Improvement Programs are projects in
excess of $250,000.

2.0 Procedures for Approval of a Site for School
Construction

2.1 Local school districts shall contact the State
Department of Education for a site review when they
propose to purchase a site for school purposes. All
prospective sites shall be reviewed at one time.  It is
preferable that at least four (4) sites be considered.

2.2 The Department of Education will forward all
prospective sites to the following agencies for their review
and comments.  The Department of Education will
consolidate the responses of the other agencies in order to
review and rank the prospective sites and list all reasons for
approval or rejection.  The Department shall then notify the
school district concerning their final decision.

2.2.1 State Planning Coordination Office
2.2.2 The Budget Office
2.2.3 The Department of Natural Resources and

Environmental Control
2.2.4 The Department of Agriculture
2.2.5 The Department of Transportation
2.2.6 The Local Planning Agency having

jurisdiction

3.0 Educational Specifications, Schematic Plans,
Preliminary Plans, and Final Plan  Approvals

3.1 Educational Specifications are defined as a
document which presents to an architect what is required of
an educational facility to house and implement the
educational philosophy and institutional program in an
effective way.

3.1.1 Educational Specifications shall be
approved by the local school board and the State Department
of Education.  The State Department will require ten
working days for completion of the review and approval
process.

3.2 All Schematic Plans shall be approved by the local
school board and the Department of Education and these
approved plans should be sent to the county or city planning
office for information purposes only.

3.3 All Preliminary Plans shall be approved by the local
school board and the State Department of Education.

3.4 All final plans shall be approved by the local school
board and the State Department of Education.

3.5 The Local School District must involve the
following groups in reviewing these plans prior to the final
approval.

3.5.1 Fire Marshal to review the plans for fire
safety.
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3.5.2 Division of Public Health, Bureau of
Environmental Health, Sanitary Engineering for Swimming
Pools, and the County Health Unit for information on
Kitchens and Cafeterias.

3.5.3 Division of Facilities Management, Chief
of Engineering & Operations for compliance with building
codes.

3.5.4 Division of Highways for review of the
Site Plan showing entrances and exits.

3.5.5 Architectural Accessibility Board for
access for persons with disabilities.

4.0 Certificates of Necessity
4.1 The Certificate of Necessity is a document issued

by the Department of Education which certifies that a
construction project is necessary and sets the scope and cost
limits for that project.

4.2 Certificates of Necessity shall be obtained
sufficiently in advance to meet all prerequisites for the
holding of a local referendum as it must be quoted in the
advertisement for the referendum and shall be issued only at
the written request of the local school district.

5.0 Notification, Start of Construction, Completion of
Construction and Certificate of Occupancy

5.1 The school district shall submit to the State
Department of Education and the State Budget Director a
construction schedule, showing start dates, intermediate
stages and final completion dates.

5.2 The school district shall notify the State
Department of Education, the State Budget Director and the
Insurance Coverage Office at the completion of the
construction, which is defined as when the school district,
with the concurrence of the architect, accepts the building as
complete.

5.3 The school district shall notify the State
Department of Education, the State Auditor, and the State
Budget Director upon approval of the Certificate of
Occupancy.

5.4 Local school districts shall submit to the
Department of Education a copy of the electronic autocad
files. Electronic autocad files shall be submitted no later than
30 calendar days after the completion of any major
renovation or addition to an existing facility.

6.0 Purchase Orders:  All purchase orders for any major
capital improvement project shall be approved by both the
State Department of Education and the Director of Capital
Budget and Special Projects prior to submission to the
Division of Accounting.

7.0 Change Orders
7.1 Change Orders are changes in the construction

contract negotiated with the contractor.  The main purpose is

to correct design omissions, faults of unforeseen
circumstances which arise during the construction process.

7.2 All Change Orders must be agreed upon by the
architect, the school district and the contractor and shall be
forwarded to the State Department of Education.

7.2.1 Submission of a Change Order must
include the following documents: Completed purchase order
as applicable; Local Board of Education minutes identifying
and approving the changes; Completed AIA document
G701; Correspondence which gives a breakdown in
materials, mark-up and other expenses; and, if not contained
in any of the preceding, an explanation of need plus any
drawings needed to explain the requested change.

8.0 Transfer of funds between Projects
8.1 The transfer of funds between projects during the

bidding and construction process shall have the written
approval of the State Department of Education.
Acceptability of the transfer of funds will meet the following
criteria:

8.1.1 No project may have more than 10% of its
funding moved to another project.  For example - no more
than $10,000 could be transferred from a $100,000 project to
any other project.

8.1.2 No project may have more than 10%
added to its initial funding.  For example - no more than
$10,000 would be transferred from all other projects to a
project originally budgeted at $100,000.

9.0 Educational Technology:  All school buildings being
constructed or renovated under the Major Capital
Improvement Program shall include, in the project, wiring
for technology that meets the Delaware Center for
Educational Technology standards appropriate to the
building type, such as high school, administration, etc.  The
cost of such wiring shall be borne by project funds.

10.0 Administration of the New School:  The principal
of a new school may be hired for up to one (1) year prior to
student occupancy to organize and hire staff.  The State
portion of salary/benefits may be paid from Major Capital
Improvement Programs.

400.3  Minor Capital Improvement Program

1.0 The Minor Capital Improvement Program is a program
to provide for the planned and programmed maintenance and
repair of the school plant.  The program’s primary purpose is
to keep real property assets in their original condition of
completeness and efficiency on a scheduled basis.  It is not
for increasing the plant inventory, changing its composition
or more frequent maintenance activities.  Minor Capital
Improvement projects are projects that cost less than
$250,000 unless the project is for roof repair.  The three year
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program is submitted annually and should be comprised of
work necessary for good maintenance practice.

1.1 Minor Capital Improvement projects shall be
submitted to the State Division of Accounting prior to any
work being done.  A separate purchase order must be
submitted for each project.  (One copy of the approved
purchase order will be returned to the district for their
information and record.)

1.2 The local school district shall send a copy of the
purchase order to the State Department of Education.

1.3 The following areas are authorized for Minor
Capital Improvement Project funds: roofs, heating system,
ventilation & air conditioning systems, plumbing & water
systems, electrical systems, windows, (sashes, frames),
doors, floors, ceilings, masonry, structural built-in
equipment, painting (fire suppression and life safety),
maintenance of site, typewriters and office machines used
for instructional purposes only, renovations/alterations/
modernization that does not require major structural
changes.

1.4 Use of Funds:  Funds allocated for a specific project
shall be used only for that project.  Program funds may not
be used for routine janitorial supplies, upkeep of grounds nor
any movable equipment.  Recurring items such as broken
glass and torn window screens, may not be repaired or
replaced with these funds.

1.5 Invoices:  Invoices may be sent directly to the
Division of Accounting for processing after work has been
completed and accepted, except for invoices with an
adjustment which must be approved by the State Department
of Education before transmittal to the Division of
Accounting.

2.0 Vocational Equipment Replacement Requests
2.1 Requests for the replacement of vocational

equipment may be made under the Minor Capital
Improvement Program.  Requests shall be made when the
equipment is within three years of its estimated life so
districts can accumulate the necessary dollars to purchase the
item.

2.2 Equipment shall be defined as a movable or
fixed unit, not built-in, that:

2.2.1 retains its original shape and
appearance with use.

2.2.2 is non-expendable, i.e., is not
consumed in use.

2.2.3 represents an investment in money
which makes it feasible and advisable to capitalize.

2.2.4 does not lose its identity through
incorporation into a different or more complex unit.

2.3 The equipment shall meet the following criteria
to be replaced:

2.3.1 Item is non-expendable.
2.3.2 Item has a minimum 10-year life

expectancy.

2.3.3 Item has a unit cost of $500 or more.
2.3.4 Item is worn-out or not repairable.
2.3.5 Item is obsolete and five or more

years old.
2.3.6 Item was originally purchased with

State, State and local, or local funds only.
2.4 Funds:  Funds shall be allocated based on the

percentage of a district's Vocational Division II Units to the
total of such units of all participating districts.  This
percentage is applied to the total funds available in a given
year for capital equipment.  Vocational schools are 100%
State funded and all others are funded 60% State and 40%
local.

2.5 Purchase Orders:  Funds may be expended
anytime during the life of the Act which appropriated the
funds, usually, a three-year period.  Appropriations may be
accumulated over those three years and expended for a major
replacement when a sufficient balance is attained.  However,
should funds prove insufficient after three years of
appropriations, the district must supplement the program
from their own or other resources.  Funds unexpended when
the appropriating Act expires will revert to the State.

3.0 Cost Limitations:  The maximum cost of a Minor
Capital Improvement project is $250,000 except roof
repairs/replacements which are not cost limited.  Non-roof
projects exceeding the ceiling shall be requested in the Major
Capital Improvement Program.

4.0 Temporary Employees:  Workers may be hired
under the Minor Capital Improvement Program provided
they are temporary hires and directly involved in the
planning, constructing, or record maintenance of the
construction project.

400.4  Satellite School Agreements

1.0 Satellite school facilities shall be subject to the same
health and safety codes required of other public school
facilities.  Plans and specifications of proposed satellite
school facilities shall be submitted for review and approval,
as appropriate, to the following agencies by the local district
or charter school board:

1.1 Fire Marshal of Appropriate Jurisdiction.
1.2 Architectural Accessibility Board.
1.3 Division of Public Health for food preparation and

serving area and swimming pools.
1.4 Department of Natural Resources & Environmental

Control, wastewater and erosion control.
1.5 Local Building Officials to provide Certificate of

Occupancy or Approval.
1.6 State Risk Manager.
1.7 State Department of Education.

2.0 Documentary evidence of review and approval by the
authorities listed as a. through g. shall be provided to the
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State Department of Education.

3.0 Upon receipt of the aforementioned documentary
evidence, the State Department of Education shall cause a
review of the plans or inspection of the proposed facilities to
be conducted by appropriate Department staff to determine
the adequacy of the facilities for the intended educational
purpose considering such items as size, adequacy of sanitary
facilities, adequacy of lighting and ventilation, etc.

4.0 Certificates of Occupancy or Occupancy Permits shall
be obtained from the appropriate jurisdictional authorities
prior to occupancy of the facilities by the satellite school.  A
copy of such certificate or permit shall be provided to the
State Department of Education.  The satellite school
facilities shall be subject to the same periodic inspections for
health and safety as other public schools.

5.0 The reorganized school district or charter school shall
confer with the State Risk Manager regarding any liabilities
that they and their employees may be subject to and shall
provide appropriate protection and coverage for same.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 512(31 Del.C. 512) 

BEFORE THE DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF 
HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

REVISION OF THE REGULATIONS |
OF THE MEDICAID/MEDICAL |
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:
The Delaware Department of Health and Social

Services (“Department”) initiated proceedings to update
policies related outpatient hospital, practitioner, non-
emergency medical transportation, private duty nursing
community support services, and general policies.  The
Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the December 1998 Delaware Register of
Regulations, requiring written materials and suggestions

from the public concerning the proposed regulations to be
produced by January 1, 1999, at which time the Department
would receive information, factual evidence and public
comment to the said proposed changes to the regulations.

No written or verbal comments were received relating to
this proposed rule.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes as set

forth in the December 1998 Register of Regulations should
be adopted as written.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulations of the Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program are
adopted and shall be final effective February 10, 1999.

Gregg C. Sylvester, M.D. 1/13/99
Secretary

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation
as originally proposed and published in the December
1998 issue of the Register at page 836 (2:6 Del.R. 836).
Therefore, the final regulation is not being republished.
Please refer to the December 1998 issue of the Register or
contact the Department of Health and Social Services.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 512 (31 Del.C. 512) 

BEFORE DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL 
SERVICES

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

REVISION OF THE REGULATIONS |
OF THE A BETTER CHANCE |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:
The Delaware Health and Social Services / Division of

Social Services / A Better Chance Program is proposing to
implement a policy change to the Division of Social
Services’ Manual Section 3024. This change adds categories
of non-citizens who are eligible to receive TANF. The
Balanced Budget Act of 1997 allowed certain immigrants
who were barred from receiving benefits under the Personal
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act
(PRWORA) of 1996.

On November 1, 1998, the DHSS published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations pages 744-745, its notice
of proposed regulation changes, pursuant to 29 Delaware
Code Section 10115.  It requested that written materials and

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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suggestions from the public concerning the proposed
regulations be delivered to DHSS by November 30, 1998, at
which time the Department would review information,
factual evidence and public comment to the said proposed
changes to the regulations. There were no written or oral
comments to the proposed regulation.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed change, as set

forth in the attached copy should be made in the best interest
of the general public of the State of Delaware.
     THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation of the A Better Chance are adopted and shall
become effective ten days after publication of the final
regulation in the Delaware Register. 

December 14, 1998
GREGG C. SYLVESTER, MD
SECRETARY

3024 Citizens and Aliens
[233.50]

Only U.S. citizens and qualified aliens, as defined in
section 431 of PRWORA, are eligible to receive public
assistance benefits.

Citizens are those persons born in the 50 states and the
district of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, U.S. Virgin
Islands, and Northern Mariana Islands. Children born
outside of the United States are citizens if both parents are
citizens.

Qualified aliens who entered the United States prior to
August 22, 1996 are treated as if they were United States
citizens. Qualified aliens are defined as aliens who are:

1. An alien lawfully admitted for permanent
residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA);

2. An alien granted asylum under section 208 of
the INA;

3. A refugee admitted to the United States under
section 207 of the INA;

4. An alien paroled into the United States under
section 212(d)(5) of the INA for a period of at least 1 year;

5. An alien whose deportation is being withheld
under section 243(h) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1,
1997, or whose removal is being withheld under section
241(b)(3) of the INA;

6. An alien granted conditional entry under
section 203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1,
1980;

7. An alien who is a Cuban or Haitian entrant; or
8. An alien who (or whose child or parent) has

been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty in the United
States and otherwise satisfies the requirements of 8 U.S.C.
1641(c).

Qualified aliens admitted on or after August 22, 1996,

are barred from receiving cash benefits for five (5) years,
except for certain excepted groups described below who are
not subject to the bar. The following excepted groups of
aliens are exempt from the 5-year ban on benefits:

1. Qualified aliens lawfully residing in the State who
are honorably discharged veterans and who fulfill minimum
active-duty service requirements, or who are on non-training
active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces, or who are the spouse,
unmarried dependent child, or unremarried surviving spouse
of such a veteran or active-duty personnel, provided that, in
the latter case, the marriage satisfied the requirements of 38
U.S.C. § 1304;

2. Refugees, for a period of five years after the date
they entered the U.S. as refugees;

3. Asylees, for a period of five years after obtaining
such status;  

4. Aliens whose deportation of removal has been
withheld, for a period of five years after obtaining such
status; 

5. Cuban/Haitian entrants, as defined in section 501(e)
of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980, for a
period of five years after they obtain such status; and

6. Amerasian immigrants from Vietnam, admitted to
the U.S. pursuant to section 84 of the Foreign Operations,
Export Financing, and Related Programs Appropriations Act
of !988, for a period of five years after their admission.

Documentation
1. Lawful permanent resident status is verified by:
• INS Form I-551; or
• Unexpired temporary I-551 stamp in foreign pass-
port or on INS Form I-94.

2. Refugee status is verified by:
• INS Form I-94 annotated with stamp showing
admission under section 207 of the INS;
• INS Form I-688B (Employment Authorization
Card) annotated "274a12(a)(3);
• INS Form I=766 (Employment Authorization Doc-
ument) annotated "A3"; or
• INS Form I-571 (Refugee travel Document).

3. Asylee status is verified by:
• INS Form I-94 annotated with stamp showing grant
of asylum under § 208 of the INA;
• INS Form I-688B (Employment Authorization
Card) annotated "274a12(a)(5);
• INS Form I-766 (Employment Authorization Docu-
ment) annotated "A5"; 
• Grant letter from the Asylum Office of INS; or
• Order from an immigration judge granting asylum.

4. The status of an alien whose deportation is withheld is
verified by:
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• INS Form I-688B (Employment Authorization
Card) annotated "274a12(a)(10); 
• INS Form I-766 (Employment Authorization Docu-
ment) annotated "A10"; or
• Order from an immigration judge showing deporta-
tion withheld under §243(h) of the INA as in effect prior
to April 1, 1997, or removal withheld under §241(b)(3)
of the INA.

5. Cuban/Haitian entrant status is verified by:
• INS Form I-551 (Alien Registration Receipt Card)
with the code CU6, CU7, or CH6;
• An unexpired temporary I-551 stamp in foreign
passport or on INS Form I-94 with the code CU^ or
CU&;
• INS Form I-94 with stamp showing parole as
"Cuban/Haitian Entrant" (Status Pending);
• INS Form I-94 showing parole into the United
States on or after October 10, 1980; and
• Cuban or Haitian passport, identity card, birth cer-
tificate, or other reasonable evidence of Cuban or Hai-
tian nationality

6. Amerasian immigrant status is verified by:
• INS Form I-551 with the code AM6, AM7, or
AM8; or
• Unexpired temporary I-551 stamp in foreign pass-
port or on INS Form I-94 with the code AM1, AM2, or
AM3.

7. For aliens who (or whose child or parent) is claiming
that they have been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty
in the United States and otherwise meets the requirements of
8 U.S.C. 1641(c) call PPDU to determine if the
documentation provided is satisfactory.

Aliens admitted as temporary residents are not eligible
for public assistance benefits.  Included are visitors, tourists,
diplomats, and students.

Citizenship and alien status are verified at the time of
application.

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code, 
Section 512 (31 Del.C. 512) 

BEFORE DELAWARE HEALTH AND SOCIAL 
SERVICES

IN THE MATTER OF: |
|

NEW WORK FOR YOUR WELFARE |
REGULATIONS |

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:
The Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of

Social Services, initiated proceedings to create new policy
governing Work For Your Welfare guidelines to the
Division of Social Services’ Manual Sections 3031 through
3031.5, pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act. The
policy changes arose from Delaware’s A Better Chance
welfare reform initiatives. 

On November 1, 1998, the DHSS published in the
Delaware Register of Regulations (pages 754-748) its notice
of proposed regulation changes, pursuant to 29 Delaware
Code Section 10115. It requested that written materials and
suggestions from the public concerning the proposed be
delivered by November 30, 1998, at which time the
Department would review information, factual evidence and
public comment to the said proposed changes to the
regulations.

It was determined that no written materials or
suggestions had been received from any individual or the
public.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
The Department finds that the proposed changes, as set

forth in the attached copy should be made in the best interest
of the general public of the State of Delaware.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the proposed
regulations of the Work For Your Welfare program shall
become effective ten days after publication of the final
regulation in the Delaware Register.

January 12, 1999  
GREGG C. SYLVESTER, MD
SECRETARY

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation
as originally proposed and published in the November
1998 issue of the Register at page 745 (2:5 Del.R. 745).
Therefore, the final regulation is not being republished.
Please refer to the November 1998 issue of the Register
or contact the Department of Health and Social Services.

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dss/dsshome.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR & WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

Secretary’s Order No. 99-A-0002

Date of Issuance:  January 13, 1999

Re: Proposal to Amend Regulations Governing the Control
of Air Pollution Nos. 24 & 38 Relating to Dry Cleaning
Facilities using Perchloroethylene

Effective Date of Regulatory Amendments: June 30, 1999

I. Background
The Department has proposed to amend Regulations

No. 38 and 24 of the Delaware Regulations Governing the
Control of Air Pollution concerning the regulation of dry
cleaning facilities in Delaware that use perchloroethylene
(“PERC”) as a cleaning solvent.  These changes will affect
facilities state wide, and affect a significant percentage of
facilities in New Castle County that are operated by
individuals to whom Korean is their first language.

Prior to the public hearings, public workshops
concerning the proposed regulatory changes were held in all
three counties.  Workshops were held on September 22,
1998 (in Newark), September 23, 1998 (in Dover),
September 28, 1998 (in Newark) and September 30, 1998 (in
Georgetown).  The workshop that was held on September
28th in Newark was also translated into Korean.

In all, four public hearings were conducted concerning
these regulatory changes. The first hearing was held at the
Delaware Technical & Community College, Terry Campus,
in Dover, on December 1, 1998, beginning at approximately
7:30 p.m.  The second hearing was held at the Delaware
Technical & Community College, Stanton Campus in
Newark on Wednesday, December 2, 1998, beginning at
approximately 7:30 p.m.  The third hearing was held at the
Delaware Technical & Community College, Owens
Campus, in Georgetown on Thursday, December 3, 1998
beginning at approximately 7:50 p.m.  Finally, an additional
public hearing was translated into the Korean language
(“Translated Hearing”).  The Translated Hearing was held in
New Castle County at the Delaware Technical &
Community College, Stanton Campus in Newark on
Wednesday, December 2, 1998, beginning at approximately
8:30 p.m.  Proper notice of all four hearings was provided as

required by law.
By memorandum dated January 13, 1999, the Hearing

Officers submitted their report and recommendation, and
that document is expressly incorporated into this Order by
reference.  

II. Findings
1. Proper notice of all four hearings was provided as

required by law.
2. Public workshops were held before the hearing to

educate the regulated community, and one of them was
translated into Korean for the benefit of the regulated
community.  

3. In all, four public hearings were held to provide
significant public notice and opportunity to comment on the
proposed regulatory action.  In addition, one of the public
hearings was translated into Korean in order to provide even
greater opportunity for public comment.

4. AQM’s response document and suggested changes
to the regulatory proposal were extremely well thought out,
and rationally based in the evidence in the record of these
proceedings.

5. None of the changes made to the proposal after it
was subject to public notice constitute significant changes.  

6. To allow further time for dry cleaners to comply
with the proposed  regulatory changes, the effective date of
the changes shall be June 30, 1999.  

III. Order
In view of the above findings, it is hereby ordered the

proposed regulatory changes be adopted in the manner and
form provided by law.  

IV. Reasons
Adoption of these changes to the Regulations

Governing the Control of Air Pollution will further the
policies and purposes of 7 Del. C. Chapter 60, in that it will
allow the Department to regulate the Hazardous Air
Pollutant perchloroethylene in a manner that is consistent
with the federal regulations.  In addition, delaying the
effective date of this regulation until June 30, 1999, will
allow additional time for the regulated community to
understand and comply with the regulations. 

Mary L. McKenzie, Acting Secretary

The Department amends Regulation 24 by repealing
Section 39.  Section 39 and the Table of Contents reference
to Section 39 follows.

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
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Section 39 - Perchloroethylene Dry Cleaning [RESERVED].
1/11/93 2/11/99

a. Applicability.
1. This Section applies to any perchloroethylene dry

cleaning facility.
2. Perchloroethylene dry cleaning facilities that are

coin-operated are exempt from the provisions of paragraphs
(c)(1) and (c)(2) of this Section.

3. Any other facilities that the Department determines
are demonstrated to experience hardships that justify
exclusion are exempt from the provisions of paragraphs
(c)(1) and (c)(2) of this Section provided that their
exemption is approved as part of a State Implementation
Plan (SIP) or Federal Implementation Plan (FIP) revision.

b. Definitions.  As used in this Section, all terms not
defined herein shall have the meaning given them in the
November15,1990 Clean Air Act Amendments, or in
Section2 of this regulation.

"Dry cleaning facility" means a facility engaged in the
cleaning of fabrics in an essentially nonaqueous solvent by
means of one or more washes in solvent, extraction of excess
solvent by spinning, and drying by tumbling in an airstream.
The facility includes, but is not limited to, any washer, dryer,
filter and purification system, waste disposal system, holding
tank, pump, and attendant piping and valves.

c. Standards. The owner or operator of a perchloroethylene
dry cleaning facility subject to this Section shall:

1. Vent the entire dryer exhaust through a properly
functioning carbon adsorption system or equally effective

control device.
2. Emit no more than 100parts per million volumetric

(ppmv) of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from the
dryer control device before dilution.

3. Maintain the system so as to prevent the leaking of
liquid VOC and prevent perceptible vapor losses from
gaskets, seals, ducts, and related equipment.

4. Cook or treat all diatomaceous earth filters so that
the residue contains 25kilograms (kg) (55pounds [lb]) or less
of VOC per 100kg (220lb) of wet waste material.

5. Reduce the VOCs from all solvent stills to 60kg
(132lb) or less per 100kg (220lb) of wet waste material.

6. Drain all filtration cartridges in the filter housing
for at least 24hours before discarding the cartridges.

7. Dry or store all drained cartridges so that VOC is
not emitted to the atmosphere.

d. Compliance provisions.
1. Compliance with paragraphs(c)(1), (c)(6), and

(c)(7) of this Section shall be determined by means of a
visual inspection.

2. Compliance with paragraph(c)(3) of this Section
shall be determined by means of a visual inspection of the
following components:

i. Hose connections, unions, couplings and
valves.

ii. Machine door gaskets and seatings.
iii. Filter head gasket and seating.
iv. Pumps.
v. Base tanks and storage containers.
vi. Water separators.
vii. Filter sludge recovery.
viii. Distillation unit.
ix. Diverter valves.
x. Saturated lint from lint basket.
xi. Cartridge filters.

3. Compliance with paragraph(c)(2) of this Section
shall be determined by one of the following:

i. A test as described in EPA Guideline Series
document, "Measurement of Volatile Organic Compounds,"
EPA-450/2-78-041.

ii. Proof of the proper installation, operation, and
maintenance of equipment that has been demonstrated to be
adequate to meet the emission limit in paragraph(c)(2) of this
Section.

4. Compliance with paragraphs (c)(4) and (c)(5) of
this Section shall be determined by means of the test method
in paragraph(e) of this Section.

e. Test methods.  The test method in paragraph (e) of this
Section shall be used to determine compliance with
paragraphs(c)(4) and (c)(5) of this Section.

1. Applicability of the method.  This method is
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applicable to the sampling and determination of
perchloroethylene in wet waste material from diatomaceous
earth filters and solvent stills at perchloroethylene dry
cleaners on a weight percent basis.

2. Principle.  Samples are obtained from waste
material at a perchloroethylene dry cleaning facility.  A
known sample mass is mixed with water and placed in a
glass still equipped with a Liebig straight-tube-type reflux
condenser and a Bidwell-Sterling-type graduated trap.
Water and perchloroethylene in the sample are separated
through repeated distillation until all of the
perchloroethylene has been recovered in the trap and the
volume recorded.  The mass of perchloroethylene collected
is determined from the product of its volume and specific
gravity.  The total weight of perchloroethylene obtained is
divided by the total weight of sample analyzed to obtain the
perchloroethylene content of the wet waste residue.

3. Apparatus.  The following apparatus shall be used:
i. Flask.  Round-bottom, short-necked flask

having a nominal capacity of 500milliliters (ml).
ii. Condenser.  Liebig straight-tube type, with a

jacket not less than 400millimeters (mm) long and with an
inner tube having an outside diameter of 10 to 13mm.

iii. Trap. Bidwell-Sterling type, graduated from 0
to 5ml in 0.1-ml divisions.  Calibrate at four or more points
by first filling the trap with water and then adding a
hydrophobic solvent with a specific gravity greater than
water from a standard buret having a calibrated capacity at
least equal to that of the trap.  The error of the indicated
volume shall not exceed 0.05ml.

iv. Heater.  Any suitable gas burner or electric
heater for the glass flask.

v. Sample container.  Metal can with a leakproof
closure, 150ml.

4. Sampling procedure.
i. From distiller (cooker).

A. After a cycle of perchloroethylene
distilling and when the still bottoms have come
approximately to room temperature (i.e., 21 to 38EC), obtain
three 150-ml samples of the wet waste residue from the
distiller (cooker) drain.  Completely fill each of the three
sample containers to prevent evaporation loss. 

B. Immediately close the sample container
lids securely.

C. Label the containers using waterproof and
oil-proof ink.

D. Store the samples in a cool, dry
atmosphere.

E. Transfer the samples to the appropriate
laboratory for analysis within 48 hours of obtaining the
samples.  The samples shall remain sealed until the time of
analysis.

ii. From wet waste containers.
A. Large unmixed containers.  Using a clean

sampling spoon, spatula, or other appropriate device, obtain
three 150-ml samples.  Each sample shall be comprised of
three 50-ml subsamples, one each from the top, midpoint,
and bottom of the wet waste container.  Transfer the three
subsamples that comprise each of the 150-ml samples to a
sample container.  Each of the three sample containers
should be completely filled to prevent evaporation loss.

B. Small containers.  If the waste container
can be thoroughly mixed prior to sampling, mix the
container contents thoroughly and obtain three 150-ml
samples by pipetting.  The pipette should have a capacity of
at least 150 ml and should be long enough to reach within 2
cm of the bottom of the wet waste container.  Each 150-ml
sample should be transferred to a sample container.  Each
sample container should be completely filled to prevent
evaporation loss.

C. Immediately close the sample container
lids securely.

D. Label the containers using waterproof and
oil-proof ink.

E. Store the samples in a cool, dry
atmosphere.

F. Transfer the samples to the appropriate
laboratory for analysis within 48hours of obtaining the
samples.  The samples shall remain sealed until the time of
analysis.

5. Analysis procedure.
i. Conduct duplicate analyses of each sample and

record the recovered perchloroethylene from each analysis.
ii. For each analysis, weigh and record the weight

of an empty flask and stopper (Wi) to the nearest 0.1mg.
iii. Mix each unopened sample container by

shaking.
iv. Open the sample container and immediately

transfer approximately 20 ml of wet waste material to the
flask.

v. Stopper the flask and reseal the sample
container. 

vi. Weigh and record the weight of the flask plus
added portion, di, to the nearest 0.1g.  The mass added to the
flask shall not exceed 35g.

vii. Add water to the flask to make a total mixture
volume of approximately 250ml.

viii. Fill the trap with cold water.
ix. Connect the flask to the distillation trap.
x. Assemble the apparatus so that the tip of the

condenser is directly over the indentation in the trap.
xi. Heat the flask so that refluxing starts within 7

to 10minutes.  Adjust the rate of boiling so that the
condensed distillate is discharged from the condenser at a
rate of 1 to 3drops per second.

xii. From the time refluxing starts, obtain readings
of the amount of perchloroethylene collected after 5, 15, and
30minutes, and each following 15minutes.  End the test
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when the volume of perchloroethylene is increased by not
more than 0.1ml in a 15-minute period or the amount of
perchloroethylene exceeds the trap capacity.

xiii. At the end of the test run, turn off the heater.
Allow the equipment to stand at least 30 minutes to allow the
distillate to settle clear and to cool to room temperature. 

xiv. Read the volume of perchloroethylene
collected in the trap.  If the amount of perchloroethylene
exceeded the calibrated capacity of the trap, report the
volume of perchloroethylene as 5.0ml plus.

6. Calculations.
i. Calculate the total mass of the portion in the

flask:

Si  =  di  -  Wi

 where:

Si = Weight of wet waste portion, g.
Wi = Weight of the empty flask and stopper, g.
di = Weight of flask plus wet waste portion, g.

ii. Calculate the total mass of perchloroethylene
(fi) collected in the trap from each analysis:

Fi  = Vi x D
where

fi = Weight of perchloroethylene in the wet waste
portion, g.

Vi = Volume of perchloroethylene collected in the
trap, ml.

D = Density of perchloroethylene at 20EC,
1.6227g/ml.

iii. Calculate the perchloroethylene content of the
wet waste (R) using the following equation:

n
3 fi

i=1
R = --------- x 100
n
3 Si

i=1

where:
R = The perchloroethylene content of the wet

waste, expressed in kg per 100kg (lb per 200 lb) wet waste
material.

fi = Weight of perchloroethylene in the wet waste
portion, g.

Si = Weight of wet waste portion, g.
n = The total number of analyses.

7. Precision and Accuracy.
i. Accuracy.  Concentrations of audit samples

obtained by the analyst shall agree within 10 percent of the
actual concentrations.  If the 10-percent specification is not
met, reanalyze the compliance samples and audit samples,
and include initial and reanalysis values in the test report.

ii. Precision.  Duplicate results produced by the
same analyst should be considered suspect if they differ by
more than 5 percent.

f. Recordkeeping.  Each owner or operator of a
perchloroethylene dry cleaning facility subject to this
Section shall maintain the following records in a readily
accessible location for at least 5 years and shall make these
records available to the Department upon verbal or written
request:

1. A record of control equipment maintenance, such as
replacement of the carbon in a carbon adsorption unit.

2. A record of the results of visual leak inspections
conducted in accordance with paragraph (d) of this Section. 

3. The results of all tests conducted in accordance
with the requirements described in paragraphs (d)(3) and
(d)(4) of this Section.

g. Reporting requirements.  The owner or operator of any
facility containing sources subject to this Section shall:

1. Comply with the initial compliance certification
requirements of Section5(a) of this regulation.

2. Comply with the requirements of Section5(b) of
this regulation for excess emissions related to the control
devices required to comply with paragraph (c) of this
Section, as well as any other State of Delaware exceedance
reporting requirements.

DIVISION OF AIR & WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Chapter 60 (7 Del.C. Ch. 60)

Secretary’s Order No. 99-A-0002

Date of Issuance:  January 13, 1999

Re:  Proposal to Amend Regulations Governing the Control
of Air Pollution Nos. 24 & 38 Relating to Dry Cleaning
Facilities using Perchloroethylene

Effective Date of Regulatory Amendments: June 30, 1999

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
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I. Background
The Department has proposed to amend Regulations

No. 38 and 24 of the Delaware Regulations Governing the
Control of Air Pollution concerning the regulation of dry
cleaning facilities in Delaware that use perchloroethylene
(“PERC”) as a cleaning solvent.  These changes will affect
facilities state wide, and affect a significant percentage of
facilities in New Castle County that are operated by
individuals to whom Korean is their first language.

Prior to the public hearings, public workshops
concerning the proposed regulatory changes were held in all
three counties.  Workshops were held on September 22,
1998 (in Newark), September 23, 1998 (in Dover),
September 28, 1998 (in Newark) and September 30, 1998 (in
Georgetown).  The workshop that was held on September
28th in Newark was also translated into Korean.

In all, four public hearings were conducted concerning
these regulatory changes. The first hearing was held at the
Delaware Technical & Community College, Terry Campus,
in Dover, on December 1, 1998, beginning at approximately
7:30 p.m.  The second hearing was held at the Delaware
Technical & Community College, Stanton Campus in
Newark on Wednesday, December 2, 1998, beginning at
approximately 7:30 p.m.  The third hearing was held at the
Delaware Technical & Community College, Owens
Campus, in Georgetown on Thursday, December 3, 1998
beginning at approximately 7:50 p.m.  Finally, an additional
public hearing was translated into the Korean language
(“Translated Hearing”).  The Translated Hearing was held in
New Castle County at the Delaware Technical &
Community College, Stanton Campus in Newark on
Wednesday, December 2, 1998, beginning at approximately
8:30 p.m.  Proper notice of all four hearings was provided as
required by law.

By memorandum dated January 13, 1999, the Hearing
Officers submitted their report and recommendation, and
that document is expressly incorporated into this Order by
reference.  

II. Findings
1. Proper notice of all four hearings was provided as

required by law.
2. Public workshops were held before the hearing to

educate the regulated community, and one of them was
translated into Korean for the benefit of the regulated
community.  

3. In all, four public hearings were held to provide
significant public notice and opportunity to comment on the
proposed regulatory action.  In addition, one of the public
hearings was translated into Korean in order to provide even
greater opportunity for public comment.

4. AQM’s response document and suggested changes
to the regulatory proposal were extremely well thought out,
and rationally based in the evidence in the record of these

proceedings.
5. None of the changes made to the proposal after it

was subject to public notice constitute significant changes.  
6. To allow further time for dry cleaners to comply

with the proposed  regulatory changes, the effective date of
the changes shall be June 30, 1999.  

III. Order
In view of the above findings, it is hereby ordered the

proposed regulatory changes be adopted in the manner and
form provided by law.  

IV. Reasons
Adoption of these changes to the Regulations

Governing the Control of Air Pollution will further the
policies and purposes of 7 Del. C. Chapter 60, in that it will
allow the Department to regulate the Hazardous Air
Pollutant perchloroethylene in a manner that is consistent
with the federal regulations.  In addition, delaying the
effective date of this regulation until June 30, 1999, will
allow additional time for the regulated community to
understand and comply with the regulations. 

Mary L. McKenzie, Acting Secretary

The Department amends Regulation 38 by adding
Subpart M, which follows.  Subpart M does not change any
of the existing subparts of Regulation 38 and shall be placed
between existing Subpart B and Subpart Q.

REGULATION NO. 38  Amendment

EMISSION STANDARDS FOR HAZARDOUS
AIR POLLUTANTS FOR SOURCE CATEGORIES

2/11/ 6/30/99

Subpart M  Perchloroethylene Air Emission Standards for
Dry Cleaning Facilities

The provisions of Sections 63.320 through 63.325 in
Subpart M, of Title 40, Part 63 of the Code of Federal
Regulations, dated July 1, 1997 are hereby adopted by
reference with the following changes:

(a) Except in section 63.325 of this subpart,
“Department” shall replace “Administrator”.

(b) Paragraph 63.320(b) shall be replaced with the
following language: “Each dry cleaning system that
commences construction or reconstruction on or after
December 9, 1991, shall be in compliance with the
provisions of this subpart beginning on February 11, 1999
June 30, 1999 or immediately upon startup, whichever is
later, except for dry cleaning systems complying with
section 112(i)(2) of the Clean Air Act.”
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(c) Paragraph 63.320(c) shall be replaced with the
following language: “Each dry cleaning system that
commenced construction or reconstruction before December
9, 1991, and each new transfer machine system and its
ancillary equipment that commenced construction or
reconstruction on or after December 9, 1991 and before
September 22, 1993, shall be in compliance with the
provisions of this subpart beginning on February 11, 1999
June 30, 1999.”

(d) Dry cleaning machine systems subject to
paragraphs 63.320(d) or 63.320(e) shall also be subject the
requirements of 63.324(c).

(e) Paragraph 63.320(f) shall be replaced with the
following language: “

(f)(1) If the total yearly perchloroethylene
consumption of a dry cleaning facility determined according
to Sec. 63.323(d) is initially less than the amounts specified
in paragraph (d) or (e) of this section, but later exceeds those
amounts, the existing dry cleaning system(s) and new
transfer machine system(s) and its (their) ancillary
equipment installed between December 9, 1991 and
September 22, 1993 in the dry cleaning facility must comply
with Sec. 63.322, Sec. 63.323, and Sec. 63.324 by 180
calendar days from the date that the facility determines it has
exceeded the amounts specified, or by June 30, 1999,
whichever is later.

(2) Following review of notification submitted in
accordance with 63.324(c)(1), the Department may
determine that the dry cleaning facility shall not be subject to
the additional requirements imposed under paragraph (f)(1),
if , unless there has been no exceedance during the prior 36
months and ---

(i) The total yearly perchloroethylene
consumption falls below and remains below the amounts
specified in paragraph (d) or (e) before and after the next
purchase of perchloroethylene, or

(ii) The exceedance occurred due to the initial
filling of a newly installed dry-to-dry machine and the total
yearly perchloroethylene consumption, exclusive of the
quantity of perchloroethylene purchased to initially fill the
newly installed dry-to-dry machine, remains below the
amounts specified in paragraph (d) or (e).

    (2) A dry cleaning facility identified in paragraph
(f)(1) above shall comply with Sec. 63.322, Sec. 63.323, and
Sec. 63.324 within 180 calendar days from the date that the
facility determined that it exceeded the amounts specified in
paragraph (d) or (e).@

(f) Paragraph 63.320(i) shall be replaced with the following
language: 

“(i)(1)If the total yearly perchloroethylene consumption
of a dry cleaning facility determined according to Sec.
63.323(d) is initially less than the amounts specified in
paragraph (g) of this section, but then exceeds those

amounts, the dry cleaning facility becomes a major source
and all dry cleaning systems located at that dry cleaning
facility must comply with the appropriate requirements for
major sources under Secs. 63.322, 63.323, and 63.324 by
180 calendar days from the date that the facility determines it
has exceeded the amounts specified, or by June 30, 1999,
whichever is later.

(2) Following review of notification submitted in
accordance with 63.324(c)(1), the Department may
determine that the dry cleaning facility shall not be subject to
the additional requirements imposed under paragraph (i)(1),
if , unless there has been no exceedance during the prior 36
months and ---

(i) The total yearly perchloroethylene
consumption falls below and remains below the amounts
specified in paragraph (g) before and after the next purchase
of perchloroethylene, or

(ii) The exceedance occurred due to the initial
filling of a newly installed dry-to-dry machine and the total
yearly perchloroethylene consumption, exclusive of the
quantity of perchloroethylene purchased to initially fill the
newly installed dry-to-dry machine, remains below the
amounts specified in paragraph (g).

(2) A dry cleaning facility identified in paragraph
(i)(1) above shall comply with the appropriate requirements
for major sources under Sec. 63.322, Sec. 63.323, and Sec.
63.324 within 180 calendar days from the date that the
facility determined that it exceeded the amounts specified in
paragraph (g).”

(g) Paragraph 63.320(j) shall be replaced with the
following language: 

(j)(1)All coin-operated dry cleaning machines are
exempt from Sec. 63.320(f), Sec. 63.322, Sec. 63.323, and
Sec. 63.324, except paragraphs 63.322 (c), (d), (i), (j), (k),
(l), and (m), 63.323(d), and 63.324 (a), (b), (c), (d)(1), (d)(2),
(d)(3), (d)(4), and (e).

(2) Facilities consisting of only coin-operated dry
cleaning machines, unless otherwise subject to Regulation
30 permitting requirements, are exempt from paragraph
63.320(k).”

(h) Paragraph 63.320(k) shall be replaced with the
following language: “The owner or operator of any source
subject to the provisions of this subpart M is subject to
Regulation 30 permitting requirements. These affected
sources, if not major or located at major sources as defined
under Regulation 30, are deferred by the Department from
Regulation 30 permitting until December 9, 1999. All
sources receiving deferrals shall submit Regulation 30
permit applications by December 9, 2000. All sources
receiving deferrals still must meet the compliance schedule
as stated in Sec. 63.320.”

(i) The definition of Administrator found in Section
63.321 shall be replaced with the following language:
“Administrator means the Administrator of the United
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States Environmental Protection Agency.”
(j) The definition of Department is added to the list of

definitions found in Section 63.321 with the following
language: “Department means the Department of Natural
Resources and Environmental Control as defined in Title 29,
Delaware Code, Chapter 80, as amended.”

(k) The definition of Diverter valve found in Section
63.321 shall be replaced with the following language:
“Diverter valve means a flow control device or flow control
devices that prevents room air from passing through a
refrigerated condenser when the door of the dry cleaning
machine is open.”

(k l) The opening to paragraph 63.322(b) shall be
replaced with the following language: “The owner or
operator of each new dry-to-dry machine and its ancillary
equipment and of each new transfer machine system and its
ancillary equipment installed on or after September 22,
1993:”

(l m) Paragraph 63.322(m) shall be replaced with the
following language: “The owner or operator of a dry
cleaning system shall repair all perceptible leaks detected
under paragraph (k) or (l) of this section within 24 hours. If
repair parts must be ordered, either a written or verbal order
for those parts shall be initiated within 2 working days of
detecting such a leak. Such repair parts shall be installed
within 5 working days after receipt.”

(n) The opening to paragraph 63.323(b) shall be
replaced with the following language: “When a carbon
adsorber is used to comply with Sec. 63.322(a)(2), Sec.
63.322(h) or exhaust is passed through a carbon adsorber
immediately upon machine door opening to comply with
Sec. 63.322(b)(3), the owner or operator shall measure the
concentration of perchloroethylene in the exhaust of the
carbon adsorber weekly with a colorimetric detector tube,
while the dry cleaning machine is venting to that carbon
adsorber at the end of the last dry cleaning cycle prior to
desorption of that carbon adsorber to determine that the
perchloroethylene concentration in the exhaust is equal to or
less than 100 parts per million by volume. The owner or
operator shall:”

(m o)The opening to paragraph 63.324(a) shall be
replaced with the following language: “Each owner or
operator of a dry cleaning facility shall notify the
Department in writing by February 11, 1999 June 30, 1999
or upon startup, whichever is later, and provide the following
information:”

(n p) The opening to paragraph 63.324(b) shall be
replaced with the following language: “Each owner or
operator of a dry cleaning facility shall submit to the
Department on or before the 30th day following start-up or
February 11, 1999 June 30, 1999, whichever is later, a
notification of compliance status providing the following
information and signed by a responsible official who shall
certify its accuracy:”

(o q) The opening to p Paragraph 63.324(c) shall be
replaced with the following language: “(c)(1) Each owner or
operator of an area source dry cleaning facility that exceeds
the solvent consumption amounts specified in paragraphs
63.320 (d), (e) or (g) shall notify the Department not later
than 30 days after the exceedance occurred. The notification
shall provide the following information and shall be signed
by a responsible official who shall certify its accuracy:

(i) The name and address of the dry cleaning
facility;

(ii) A copy of the yearly perchloroethylene
consumption records that indicate that there was an
exceedance of the applicable amount specified in paragraphs
63.320 (d), (e) or (g); 

(iii) The circumstances that led to the
exceedance; and

(iv) A statement that all information contained
in the notification is true and accurate.

(2) Each owner or operator of an area source dry
cleaning facility that becomes subject to additional
requirements under Sec. 63.320 (f)(1) or (i)(1) shall submit
to the Department on or before the dates specified in Sec.
63.320 (f)(2 1) or (i)( 2 1), a notification of compliance
status providing the following information and signed by a
responsible official who shall certify its accuracy:

(i) The new yearly perchloroethylene solvent
consumption limit based upon the yearly solvent
consumption calculated according to Sec. 63.323(d);

(ii) Whether or not they are in compliance with
each applicable requirement of Sec. 63.322; and

All information contained in the statement is
accurate and true.” 

(p) Paragraph 63.324(d)(1) shall be replaced with the
following language: “The volume of perchloroethylene
purchased each month by the dry cleaning facility as
recorded from perchloroethylene purchases; if no
perchloroethylene is purchased during a given month then
the owner or operator would enter zero gallons into the log.
If the purchased perchloroethylene was to used to initially
fill a newly installed dry-to-dry machine, the volume and
date of the purchase is identified separately from the other
monthly purchases;”

(q r) The opening to paragraph 63.325(a) shall be
replaced with the following language: “Any person
requesting that the use of certain equipment or procedures be
considered equivalent to the requirements under Sec. 63.322
shall collect, verify, and submit to the Administrator (with
copy to the Department) the following information to show
that the alternative achieves equivalent emission
reductions:”
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STATE OF DELAWARE
EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

DOVER

EXECUTIVE ORDER 
NUMBER FIFTY-SEVEN

TO: HEADS OF ALL STATE DEPARTMENTS,
AGENCIES AND AUTHORITIES, AND ALL
POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS AND GOVERNMENTAL
UNITS OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

RE: REALLOCATION OF STATE PRIVATE ACTIVITY
BOND VOLUME CAP FOR CALENDAR YEAR 1998
AND INITIAL SUBALLOCATION OF STATE PRIVATE
ACTIVITY BOND VOLUME CAP FOR CALENDAR
YEAR 1999

WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del.C. 5091, the State's
private activity bond volume cap ("Volume Cap") for 1998
under Section 103 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (the
"Code") has been allocated among various state and local
government issuers; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Executive Order Number
Forty-Nine, $75,000,000 of the Volume Cap for 1998 which
had been allocated to the State of Delaware was further
suballocated between the Delaware Economic Development
Authority and the Delaware State Housing Authority; and

WHEREAS, the allocation of Volume Cap in Executive
Order Number Forty-Nine is subject to modification by
further Executive Order; and 

WHEREAS, the State's Volume Cap for 1998 and 1999
is allocated among the various State and local government
issuers by 29 Del.  C. 5091 (a); and

WHEREAS, Kent County has reassigned $15,000,000
of its unallocated Volume Cap for 1998 to the State of
Delaware; and

WHEREAS, Sussex County has reassigned $15,000,000
of its unallocated Volume Cap for 1998 to the State of
Delaware; and

WHEREAS, the Delaware Economic Development
Authority has reassigned $19,340,000 of its unallocated
Volume Cap for 1998 to the Delaware State Housing
Authority; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to 29 Del.  C. 5091 (b), the State's
$75,000,000 Volume Cap for 1999 is to be suballocated by
the Governor among the Delaware State Housing Authority,
the Delaware Economic Development Authority and other
governmental issuers within the State; and

WHEREAS, the Secretary of Finance recommends (i)
that the $30,000,000 unallocated Volume Cap for 1998
reassigned to the State of Delaware by other issuers be
suballocated to the Delaware State Housing Authority for
carry forward for use in future years; and (ii) that the
$19,340,000 of unallocated Volume Cap reassigned by the
Delaware Economic Development Authority be suballocated
to the Delaware State Housing Authority for carry forward
for use in future years; and (iii) that the State's $75,000,000
Volume Cap for 1999 be allocated equally between the
Delaware State Housing Authority and the Delaware
Economic Development Authority; and

WHEREAS, the Chairperson of the Delaware Economic
Development Authority and the Chairperson of the Delaware
State Housing Authority concur in the recommendations of
the Secretary of Finance.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Thomas R. Carper, by the
authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Delaware,
do hereby declare and order as follows:

1. The $30,000,000 of unallocated Volume Cap for
1998 that has been reassigned by other issuers to the State of
Delaware is hereby reassigned to the Delaware State
Housing Authority for carry forward use, in addition to the
$37,500,000 previously suballocated to the Delaware State
Housing Authority for 1998 under Executive Order Forty-
Nine and the $19,340,000 of unallocated Volume Cap for
1998 that has been reassigned by the Delaware Economic
Development Authority, for a total carry-forward amount of
$86,840,000.

2. The $75,000,000 allocation to the State of Delaware
of the 1999 Volume Cap is hereby suballocated $37,500,000
to the Delaware State Housing Authority and $37,500,000 to
the Delaware Economic Development Authority.

3. The aforesaid suballocations have been made with
due regard to actions taken by other persons in reliance upon
previous suballocations to bond issuers.

Approved this 28th day of December, 1998

Thomas R. Carper
Governor

Attest:

Edward J. Freel
Secretary of State

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htmhttp://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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BOARD/COMMISSION      TERM OF
       OFFICE APPOINTEE        OFFICE

Advisory Panel on Intergovernmental Mr. R. Thorpe Moeckel, 12/24/01
Planning & Coordination Chairperson

Board of Cosmetology & Barbering Mr. John P. Bonarigo 12/04/01
Ms. Bonnie J. Paynter 04/30/00

Board of Examiners of Private Investigators Mr. James R. Gettier 12/04/01
& Sec. Agencies

Council on Boiler Safety Mr. Theobald P. Omlor, Jr. 12/24/01
Mr. Dennis E. Stordahl 12/24/01

Council on Development Finance Mr. Steven Biener 12/24/01
Mr. Donald J. Lynch 12/24/01
Ms. Ann T. Tansey 12/24/01
Mr. F. Samuel Wilcox 12/24/01

Council on Environmental Control The Honorable Robert J. Voshell 12/24/01

Delaware Bicycle Council Mr. Paul W. Layton 04/18/00

Delaware Commission on Veterans Affairs Mr. Charles A. Kashner 12/24/02
Mr. Reese E. Phillips 12/24/02

Delaware Harness Racing Commission Mr. Robert W. Kerr 04/28/00

Delaware Health Care Commission Mr. A. Herbert Nehrling, Jr. 12/04/02

Delaware Institute of Medical Education Dr. Kim L. Carpenter 12/24/01
& Research Mr. Charles S. McDowell 12/24/01

Human Relations Commission Ms. Nicole Cunningham 12/04/02
Ms. Mary Powell 12/04/02
Ms. Latricia Odette Wright 12/04/02

Juvenile Justice Advisory Group Ms. Melissa A. Grey Pleasure of
the Governor

Pesticide Advisory Committee Mr. John Barndt 12/04/01

State Board of Electrical Examiners Mr. Steven Dignan 12/04/01
Mr. Bruce A. Goldsborough 12/04/01

http://www.state.de.us/governor/index.htm
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STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 98-IB09

September 25, 1998

Mr. Milton F. Morozowich
RD 2, Box 166
Bridgeville, DE 19933

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
Woodbridge School District

Dear Mr. Morozowich:
This letter is our written determination in response to

your letter of July 29, 1998 (received by this Office on
August 5, 1998) alleging that the Woodbridge School
District (the "School District") violated the Freedom of
Information Act, 29 Del.C. Sections 10001 - 10005
("FOIA").  You claim that the School District discussed five
matters in executive session at a meeting on July 28, 1998
which are not authorized by FOIA.  Those matters were: (1)
Secretarial - Central Office;  (2) WES Assistant Principal;
(3) J.V. Football; (4) Student Code of Conduct and (5)
Cafeteria.

By letter dated August 6, 1998, we asked the School
District to respond to your complaint within ten days.  The
School District asked for an extension of time to respond,
which we granted.  By letter dated August 28, 1998, the
School District responded to your allegations, denying any
violation of FOIA.  The School District provided us with
copies of a Memorandum dated July 28, 1998 from Dr.
Kevin E. Carson to Dr. Robert C. Sutton (personnel
recommendations for the July 28, 1998 meeting), the agenda
posted for the meeting, and the minutes of that meeting and
the executive, session.

The School District acknowledges that FOIA does not
authorize a public body to go into executive session to
discuss a subject like a student code of conduct.  The School
District points out, however, that shortly after the subject
came up, "Dr.  Sutton advised the Board that the topic was
not appropriate for executive session, at which time the
discussion ended."

As the Chancery Court has noted, "[t]here is always a
risk that a public body will drift into discussing matters
beyond the proper purpose of an executive session."
Common Cause of Delaware v. Red Clay Consolidated
School District, Del.  Ch., 1995 WL 733401, at p. 3 (Dec. 5,
1995) (Balick, V.C.). But there is no FOIA violation if this is
brought to the public body's attention in time, and
"discussion of that subject would immediately cease." Id.
We agree with the School Board that "a public body should
be encouraged, rather than punished, for attempting to curtail

inappropriate discussions in executive session." We find no
violation of FOIA in the limited, immediately curtailed,
discussion of a student code of conduct.

Two of the matters discussed during the executive
session on July 28, 1998 ("Secretarial Central Office" and
"WES Assistant Principal") fall within the "personnel"
exception under FOIA, 29 Del.C. Section 10004(b)(9)
(discussion of the "names, competency and abilities of
individual employees").  The reference to "Cafeteria" was a
discussion of contract negotiations for trash removal.  Labor
negotiations are a proper subject for executive session.  See
29 Del.C. Sections 10004(b)(6) and 10002(d)(7) (exemption
records "involving labor negotiations or collective
bargaining").
 As for "J.V. Football," it is not clear whether that
subject fell within the personnel exception since we do not
know if the School District was considering any specific
coaches at the time.  The minutes of the meeting state that
you made motion "to consider a Contingency Budget for
Junior Varsity Football and hire an Assistant Coach with the
guarantee of 50% salary if program does not make; with an
option to go to Varsity if programs does not make." If there
were some discussion of this contingency budget during
executive session, then that may have violated FOIA.  But
since you were the member of the School District who
sponsored the contingency budget, we do not think it
appropriate at the same time for you to challenge the validity
of action you took.

Finally, you suggest in your complaint letter that the
agenda posted for the July 28, 1998 meeting failed to give
proper notice of the subjects for executive session.  The
agenda listed two subjects: "Personnel" and "Negotiations."
Having reviewed the minutes of the meeting, we find that the
discussion during the executive session on July 28 dealt with
personnel matters and contract negotiations.  The notice
provided, therefore, was not deficient or misleading.
 

Conclusion

Based on your complaint, the School District’s
response, and the documents provided to us, we determine
that the School District did not commit any violation of
FOIA in connection with the July 28, 1998 meeting.

Very truly yours,
W. Michael Tupman

Approved:
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

http://www.state.de.us/attgen/index.htm
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STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 98-IB10

October 2, 1998

The Honorable Thomas J. Cook
State Election Commissioner
32 Loockerman Street, M101
Dover, Delaware 19904

Re: Candidacy of Douglas Salter

Dear Commissioner Cook:

You have asked "whether there would be any violation
of federal, state or constitutional law if an active state
trooper campaigned for or was elected to the office of State

Representative in the State of Delaware."1 Your request has
been prompted by the candidacy of Douglas Salter, an active
state trooper, who is a candidate for State Representative in
the 17th Representative District.  The inquiry actually raises
two questions.  The first, whether Mr. Salter may campaign
for the office of State Representative, can be easily
answered.  The second question, whether, if elected, he can
serve as both a State Representative and as a state trooper, is
more complex.

As to the first issue, assuming Mr. Salter is engaging in
campaign activities in conformity with any relevant State
Police regulations, and assuming he is not in violation of any
federal law, he is guaranteed by the Law Enforcement
Officers Bill of Rights "the same rights to engage in political
activity as are afforded any other person." 11 Del.C. § 9200.
This broad grant of authority clearly, includes the right to
campaign for elective office.

The more significant issue is whether, if elected, Mr.
Salter, a sergeant in the Delaware State Police, would violate
the prohibition against holding dual office contained in Art.

II § 14 of1 the Delaware Constitution2 by serving both as a
State Representative and as a state trooper.  Stated
differently, the question to be resolved is not whether Mr.
Salter may run for State Representative but whether his
election to, and assumption of, the office of State
Representative would result in his resignation from the State
Police by operation of law.  See Opinion of the Justices,
Del.Supr., 245 A.2d 172, 174 (1968).  In the Opinion of the
Justices, in answer to questions propounded by the

Governor, the Supreme Court held that proposed legislation
that would have prohibited a person from receiving a salary
as a "mere employee" of the State while also serving as a
Senator or Representative was unconstitutional as exceeding
the prohibition contained in Art. 11 § 14 Del.  Const.  Id. at
174.  In reaching its conclusion, the Court recognized that
not every state employee is the holder of a state "office" so
as to preclude the employee from serving as a Senator or
Representative as well.  Id.

In determining what is a state "office" and therefore who
is a "public officer," the Supreme Court has identified certain
criteria which must be weighed against the facts of the
particular case.  Specifically, the Court has stated that:

[n]o single definition will despositively identify
who is a "public officer," as that term is used in
several separate sections of the Delaware
Constitution.  In determining who is a public
officer, this Court has identified four non-exclusive
criteria which are most frequently indicative of a
public office: (1) the exercise of some portion of the
State's sovereign power, (2) tenure in office, (3)
fees and emoluments, and (4) oaths of office.
(Footnote omitted) (Emphasis added).

Opinion of the Justices, Del.Supr., 672 A.2d 4, 7 (1995); See
also Raduszewski v. Superior Court, Del.Supr., 232 A2d. 95
(1967); and State ex rel.  Biggs v. Corely, Del.Supr., 172 A.
415 (1934).

In Raduszewski v. Superior Court, Del.Supr., 232 A.2d
95 (1967), the Court when determining whether an employee
of the Motor Vehicle Department could be charged with
certain common law offenses which, at that time, only
applied to persons holding public office, decided that a
motor vehicle inspector was a public employee not a public
officer.  The Court cited two earlier cases Green v. Glen,
Del.  Super., 4 A.2d 366 (1939) and Martin v. Trivitts, Del.
Super., 103 A.2d 779 (1954) in which the Court found that
because the duties of the Secretary of the Department of
Elections were not defined by statute but could be changed at
will by the Department, the Secretary was, by necessity, not
a public officer but instead was a public employee.  The
Court in Trivitts held:

1. Although we are aware that other uniformed officers
may have campaigned for or been elected to office, we find
no record of this office having previously opined on this
issue.

2.
 Section 14 provides in part:

"No Senator or Representative shall, during the time for
which he shall have been elected, be appointed to any civil
office under this State which shall have been created, or the
emoluments of which shall have been increased during such
time.  No ... person holding any office under this State ...
shall during his continuance ... in office be a Senator or
Representative . . ."

http://www.state.de.us/attgen/index.htm
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A position, the duties of which are undefined by
law and which can be changed at the will of the
superior, is not a public office but a mere public
employment.  In order to constitute a public office,
and the incumbent a public officer, it is necessary
that the powers and duties of the position be
conferred and defined by law. (Citations omitted).

Id. at 780.
When applying this body of law to the instant case, we

look to the statute creating the Delaware State Police.
Although the powers and duties of the State Police generally
are set out in 11 Del.C. § 8302, 11 Del.C. § 8301 provides
that "[t]he Department may classify such state police
according to such rank as the Department determines, and
according to the duties assigned to them from time to time by
the Department." (Emphasis added).  Thus, like the
Secretary of the Department of Elections, Sergeant Salter
has such duties as are assigned to him by the Department of
Public Safety.  According to his job description, Sergeant
Salter is charged with making recommendations to improve
and create policies and programs, but may not implement
such polices and programs.  He reports to the Planning
Director, who reports to the Superintendent.  Although
Sergeant Salter, took an oath, as do all Delaware law
enforcement officers, he has no fixed term or tenure in
office, and his duties are undefined by law and can be
changed at will by the Department.

We conclude that Mr. Salter, if elected and sworn in as a
State Representative will not be deemed to have forfeited his
employment with the State Police, since we find that his
position with the State Police constitutes "mere
employment" not "office holding." We believe that this
conclusion is consistent with prior courts interpretations and
opinions of this office dealing with matters related to the
election process in Delaware.  As has been consistently held:

The right of a person to be a candidate for a public
office is a fundamental one that should be restricted
only by clear constitutional or statutory language.
"[A]ny question or doubts of eligibility of a
candidate should be resolved in favor of the
candidate. " (Citations omitted). (Emphasis added).

Democratic Party of the State of Delaware v. Department of
Elections for New Castle County, et al., Del.  Super., C.A.
No. 94C-08-227,1994 WL 555405, Ridgely, P.J. (Sept.
6,1994) at 6, aff'd.   Del.  Supr., 650 A.2d 1305 (1994)
(Table); Att'y Gen.  Op. 98-IB-06; Att'y Gen.  Op. 94-I024.

Of course, our conclusion is based on the law as it
presently exists.  We offer no opinion on the broader issue of
whether it is good public policy to permit state police
officers or other state employees also to serve as elected
officials. That general policy matter lies within the province

of the General Assembly and can be addressed by it through
amendment to Art. 11 § 14 of the Delaware Constitution
should it deem such an amendment to be in the public's
interest.

Finally, despite some published misstatements to the
contrary, you are aware that opinions of the Attorney
General are advisory and not legally binding on those to
whom they are given.  Council 81, AFSCME v. State,
Department of Finance, Del.  Ch., 288 A.2d 453 (1972).
Therefore, as we have previously advised, we believe the
only way to resolve this matter definitively is for one of the
parties in interest to place the issue before a court of
competent jurisdiction.

If you have any further questions, please feel free to
contact us.

Very truly yours,
Malcolm S. Cobin
Assistant State Solicitor

Approved
Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 98-IB11

November 6, 1998

Richard L. Sklut, DDS
2205 Sliverside Road
Wilmington, DE 19810

Re: Opinion of the Attorney General concerning the
licensing of oral maxillofacial surgeons

Dear Dr. Sklut:

On behalf of the Delaware Board of Dental Examiners,
you have asked whether a board certified oral and
maxillofacial surgeon with a certificate to practice medicine
and surgery in the State of Delaware can practice such
surgery in this State without also being licensed as a dentist.

Oral and maxillofacial surgery is a unique dental
specialty in that it is commonly practiced by both physicians
and dentists with adequate training and while it is not a
recognized as a medical specialty, it is recognized as a dental
specialty by the American Dental Association.  In fact, the
organization which provides national board certification for
oral and maxillofacial surgeons, the Board of Oral and
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Maxillofacial Surgery, requires a dental degree or other
dental education approved by the American Dental
Association as a condition of national board certification.
 It is our opinion that the issuance of a dental license by
the Board of Dental Examiners is required even for a duly
licensed medical doctor to practice exclusively as an oral and

maxillofacial surgeon in Delaware.1

In relevant part, the practice of medicine is defined in
the Medical Practice Act (24 Del.C. chapter 17) as including
surgery and all respective branches thereof, 24 Del.C. §
1703(a).  This is a broad definition and, although such
surgery is nationally recognized as a dental specialty, it is
nonetheless, broadly speaking, a branch of surgery.
Therefore, in the absence of other particular statutory
language, a duly licensed Delaware medical doctor, as a part
of his or her medical practice could practice such surgery.

Accordingly, one must inquire whether other statutory
enactments condition the terms under which a medical
doctor can practice oral and maxillofacial surgery in
Delaware.  There are a number of states in which oral and
maxillofacial surgery may be practiced under either a
medical license or a dental license.  In fact, that situation
apparently pertained in Delaware in the Code of 1915 where
Chapter 30, Part 7 of Section 890 provided "Nothing in this
chapter shall be so construed as to interfere with the rights
and privileges of physicians and surgeons in the discharge of
their professional duties."

In 1933, in 38 Del. Laws ch. 48, § 30, the General
Assembly included the following limiting language in the
dental act: "... unless he practices dentistry as a specialty."
That language is substantially similar to the wording found
in the present act in 24 Del.C. § 1134(b)(1).  There is a clear
legislative intent to limit the broad scope of the statutory
description of surgery as it appears in the Medical Practice
Act.  It should also be noted that 24 Del.C. § 1764 expressly
provides that the Medical Practice Act does not apply to
dentists or to dental surgery.  This statutory exemption
addresses the fact that a duly licensed dentist may, if
qualified, perform oral surgery without being licensed as a
physician.  It does not answer the question of whether a duly
licensed physician also needs a dental license to practice oral
and maxillofacial surgery in Delaware.  The answer to that
question turns on the specific wording of the Dental Practice
Act and not the Medical Practice Act.

The provisions governing the requirements and
conditions for the issuance of a dental license are contained
in Chapter II, Title 24 of the Delaware Code.  Twenty-four
Del.C. § 1134(b)(1) provides that nothing in chapter I I
prevents "[a] legally qualified physician or surgeon from
extracting teeth or treating pathological conditions about the
mouth, teeth, oral tissues or of radiographing such tissues
unless the person practices dentistry as a specialty."
(Emphasis supplied.)

The statute governing dental practice cannot limit the
medical doctor's right to perform surgery.  However, since
oral and maxillofacial surgery is a dental specialty, and the
practice of that specialty is governed by the provisions of 24
Del.C. ch. 11, a licensed medical doctor cannot practice oral
and maxillofacial surgery in Delaware without practicing
dentistry as a specialty.  Therefore having a medical license
would not obviate the need for a concurrent dental license in
order to perform oral and maxillofacial surgery in Delaware.

It is therefore the advice of the office of the Attorney
General that the Board may conclude that an oral and
maxillofacial surgeon (irrespective of board certification),
either with or without a license to practice medicine and
surgery in Delaware, must have a dental license issued by
the Board of Dental Examiners to practice lawfully this
dental specialty within Delaware.

Very truly
Michael M. Tischer
Deputy Attorney General

Approved:

Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 98-IB12

November 10, 1998

Mr.  Milton F.Morozowich
R.D. 2, Box 166
Bridgeville, DE 19933

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
Woodbridge School District

Dear Mr. Morozowich:
This is our written determination in response to your

letter of September 23, 1998 alleging that the Woodbridge

1. This opinion does not address any credentialing or by-
law requirements of hospitals or other facilities, except to
observe that it is our understanding that there are hospitals in
Delaware where the practice of oral and maxillofacial
surgery is placed within the dental department and others
where it is within the department of surgery. Such placement
is not dispositive of the question of whether or not a dental
license is required under current Delaware law.
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School District (the "School District") violated the Freedom
of Information Act, 29 Del.C. Sections 10001-10005
("FOIA").

You claim that the School District violated the open
meeting requirements of FOIA by: (1) holding a public
meeting on September 17, 1998 at a place which could not
accommodate the members of the public who wanted to
attend- (2) continuing to meet and discuss public business
after some members of the public had been directed
elsewhere, and (3) by meeting privately with the Band
Director after the public meeting.

By letter dated September 30, 1998 we asked the School
District for its response to your complaint.  The School
District asked for an extension of time until October 26,
1998, which we granted.

By letter dated October 21, 1998, the School District
responded, enclosing a copy of the notice and agenda for the
September 17, 1998 meeting and the minutes.  According to
the School District, at the time it posted the notice of the
September 17, 1998 meeting, the School District did not
expect a large crowd for the group discussion with the PTA.
A larger group of people showed up after the September 15,
1998 resignation of the Band Director (Ty Sponsler) wanting
to know whether the School District would accept his
resignation.  As stated in the School District's letter: "When
it became apparent to the Board that night that a large
number of the members of the public who were in attendance
were there to discuss the band director's resignation, the
Board believed it made adequate accommodations by
indicating to those parents that when the Board finished the
discussion with the PTA it would move to the cafeteria
which would accommodate the large number of music
booster parents in attendance."

The School District contends that it did not tell anybody
to leave the library.  The music boosters were informed "that
the band discussion would be held in the cafeteria in order to
accommodate the large number of music boosters in
attendance.  This is confirmed in the minutes.

As for the alleged "private" meeting afterwards, the
School District claims that two board members were
approached by Mr. Sponsler. who wanted to apologize to
them about the circumstances of tile meeting.  After a third
board member approached, "Mr.  Morozowich walked up
and informed tile three that 'you can't talk with him, this is a
quorum."'

By letter dated October 29, 1998, you responded to the
School Board's letter.  You dispute that the music boosters
were able to enter the library, but rather had to stand outside.
You also dispute that the meeting in the cafeteria started at
8:10 p.m., as the School Board contends.  You claim that it
started at 8:30 p.m. The remainder of your October 29, 1998
letter is a reiteration of your original complaint.

1. Adequate Meeting Facilities

FOIA does not require that the meeting place of a public
body have a seat for every potential citizen.  The selection of
the meeting site may violate the open meeting law only if it
was unreasonable.  In making that determination, our Office
"'need not look for optimal outcomes, but must seek to
determine whether the local governmental unit achieved a
reasonable balance under the circumstances presented at the
time the decision was made."' Att'y Gen.  Op. 96-IB23 (June
20, 1995) (quoting State v. Village Board of Greendale, Wis.
Supr., 494 N.W.2d 408, 420 (1993)).

At the time the September 17, 1998 meeting was
scheduled, it was reasonable for the School District to expect
a smaller group of people for the PTA group discussion.  The
School District had no reason to expect the larger crowd of
music boosters who showed up concerned about Mr.
Sponsler's resignation two days before.  It was also
reasonable for the School District to bifurcate the meeting
and address the resignation issue in a larger forum (the
cafeteria) to accommodate the music boosters.  We find that
the site selections by the School District were reasonable,
and did not violate FOIA.  The School District is not
required to schedule its meetings in a room (like the
auditorium, as you would have liked) to accommodate any
possible number of persons who might attend.  It is only
when a public body has reason to believe that a large crowd
is to be expected that larger accommodations may be
required under tile open meeting law.

2. The Library Meeting

There is conflicting evidence whether any members of
the public were denied access to the library so as to be
unable to hear and participate in the PTA group discussion.
According to the School District, a number of music
boosters did attend that meeting, though the majority were
not interested and went to the cafeteria to await discussion of
the resignation issue.  You claim that the music boosters
were forced to stand outside the library, until they were
directed to go to the cafeteria.

The minutes tend to support the School District since
there is reference to an apology to the PTA "for the size of
the group," suggesting the presence of the music boosters.
For purposes of FOIA, however, we do not have to resolve
this factual dispute.  There is no evidence that the music
boosters were interested in the PTA issues being discussed in
the library.  They were there to talk about the Band
Director's resignation, which was discussed in the cafeteria,
as you agree in your letter of October 29, 1998: "At
approximately 8:30 P.M., the Board President called upon
the "Music Boosters" spokesperson for comment, followed
by individual comment from the Bank Director, individual
parents, students, and community members in attendance."
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Whether the meeting in the cafeteria started at 8:10 p.m.
(according to the School District) or 8:30 p.m. (according to
you) is irrelevant.

We find no violation of the open meeting law with
respect to the PTA group discussion in the library.

3. The "Private Meeting" Afterwards

There is no evidence that the alleged "private" meeting
by several members of the board was a deliberate attempt to
discuss public business outside the requirements of the open
meeting laws.  Even if Mr. Sponsler's attempts to apologize
to individual members of the board were deemed a matter of
"public business," it is not disputed that this "private session"
(as you call it) was "adjourned" after it was, as you describe
it, "interrupted" by you.  At most, this may have been a
technical violation of the open meeting law which did not
affect any substantial right of the citizenry to be involved in
the discussion of public business.

Conclusion

Based on your complaint, the School District's response,
and the documents provided to us, we determine that the
School District did not commit any violation of FOIA in
connection with the September 17, 1998 meeting.

Very truly yours
W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

Approved:

Michael J. Rich
State Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 98-IB13

December 8, 1998

Mr. John Lopes
P.O. Box 694
Laurel, DE 19956

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
Town of Laurel

Dear Mr. Lopes:
In your letter dated August 29, 1998 (received by this

Office on September 2, 1998), you alleged that the Town of
Laurel (the "Town") had violated the Delaware Freedom of
Information Act, 29 Del.C. Sections 10001-10005 ("FOIA"),
by denying you access to public records.  Specifically, you
allege that the Town did not provide you with copies of
notices sent out by the Code Enforcement Officer from April
1, 1997 to March 31, 1998 regarding violations of the
Housing Code.

By letter dated September 17, 1998, we asked the Town
to respond to this issue.  By letter dated September 28, 1998,
the Town responded.  The Town took the position that, since
there are potential criminal penalties for violations of the
Housing Code, the notices you asked to see are excepted
from disclosure under F0IA under the "investigative file"
exception.  Alternatively, the Town claims that the records
are protected by the common law right of privacy.

On October 9, 1998, we asked the Town for further
information to support their legal position, which we
received on October 12, 1998.  The release of this decision
was unfortunately delayed by our inability to timely
complete the necessary internal review process which we
follow for every FOIA complaint.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Section 10003(a) of FOIA provides: "All public records
shall be open to inspection and copying by any citizen of the
State during regular business hours by the custodian of the
records for the appropriate public body." Section
10002(d)(3) excepts from the definition of a "public record"
"[i]nvestigatory files compiled for civil or criminal law-
enforcement purposes including pending investigative files,
pretrial and presentence investigations, and child custody
and adoption files where there is no criminal complaint at
issue."

OPINION

Although the statute refers to "pending" investigations,
the Chancery Court has held that the "investigative file"
exception to FOIA applies even after the file has been
closed.  See NewsJournal Co. v. Billingsley, Del.  Ch., 1980
WL 3043 (Nov. 20, 1980) (Hartnett, V. C.). Moreover, the
investigatory file exception applies to administrative
agencies, not just criminal law enforcement agencies such as
the police.  See, e.g., Equitable Trust Co. v. State, Md.  Spec.
App., 399 A.2d 908 (1979) (state human relations
commission investigating charges of racial discrimination);
State ex rel. McGee v. Ohio Board of Psychology, Ohio
Supr., 550 N.E.2d 945, 947 (1990) (per curiam) (exception
applied to "investigative activities of state licensing
boards").

The Town's Code Enforcement Officer is charged with
investigating violations of the Housing Code and enforcing,
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if necessary, through criminal prosecution, violations of the
Code.  See Laurel Code Section 87-11 ("The provisions of
this chapter shall be enforced by the Code Enforcement
Officer."); Section 87-85 ("Violations and penalties" --
violation of the Housing Code is a "misdemeanor and, upon
conviction thereof, shall be fined . . . or imprisoned for a
term not to exceed thirty (30) days, or both").

If the Code Enforcement Officer has reason to believe
that there is a Housing Code violation, then notice must be
given and an opportunity to remediate.  See Laurel Code
Section 87-74.  If the owner does not remediate, then the
Town Solicitor can seek equitable relief (see Section 87-
85.B.), or the Town can ask the Attorney General's Office to
prosecute the matter criminally.  According to the Town
Solicitor, he has worked with the Attorney General's Office
on a number of occasions in the past for criminal
enforcement of Housing Code violations.

The Code Enforcement Officer is the kind of
investigative agency whose files FOIA excepts from
disclosure. Accordingly, the notices of Housing Code
violations which you have asked to inspect and copy are not
"public records" for purposes of FOIA.  This investigative
file exception applies whether or not the investigating
agency decides "to file charges." McGee, supra.  Indeed, the
policies behind the exception are even more compelling
when the agency decides not to take enforcement action, in
order to protect the "identity of uncharged suspects." Id,

If any particular investigation in which you are
interested resulted in criminal charges, then that becomes a
matter of public record.  While a citizen could still be denied
access to the investigative agency's files under FOIA, the
citizen may have access to whatever criminal records are
available through the courts.

You raised three other issues in your complaint letter.
Regarding Issue 2, FOIA does not require a public body to
advise a citizen of his or rights under the statute to enforce
the law.  As for Issue 3, as a general rule you are correct that
the reason why a citizen wants access to public records is not
relevant, and that public records must be made available for
inspection during normal business hours, not at the
"convenience" of the public body.  On the other hand, we
have determined in the past that a public body can enact a
rule or regulation requiring that an appointment be made in
advance to inspect and copy records.

As for Issue 4, you are also correct that, as a general
rule, the reason why a citizen wants access to public records
is not relevant (unless the personal privacy rights of other
citizens are involved).  We decline, however, to render an
advisory opinion on Issues 3 and 4, since you either had
access to the documents you requested, or they are excepted
from disclosure under FOIA.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we determine that the Town
did not violate FOIA by denying you access to public
records.

Very truly yours,
W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

APPROVED:

Michael J. Rich
State  Solicitor

STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION
NO. 98-IB14

December 17, 1998

Ms. Nancy H. Turner
176 West Main Street
Newark, DE 19711

RE: Freedom of Information Act Complaint Against
City of Newark

Dear Ms. Turner:
This is the Attorney General's written determination in

response to your letter dated August 19, 1998 (received by
this Office on August 26, 1998) alleging that the City of
Newark (the "City") violated the Freedom of Information
Act, 29 Del.C. Sections 10001-10005 ("FOIA").
Specifically, you allege that the City denied you the right to
copy the minutes of an executive session held on June 9,
1997.  You further allege that the City allowed another
citizen, Alice Shurtleff, to copy these same records.

By letter dated September 28, 1998, we asked the City
to respond to your complaint but to limit its response to two
questions: (1) Whether the City provided other citizens with
access to the minutes of the June 9, 1997 executive session;
and (2) How does the City decide, as a matter of general
practice, whether it will disclose minutes of executive
session to the public.
 By letter dated September 29, 1998, you asked us to
clarify between reasonable access to public records, and the
opportunity to copy records.  You pointed out that, as a
Council member, you had access to minutes of executive
sessions, but that the City would not let you copy them.  By

http://www.state.de.us/attgen/index.htm


ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 2, ISSUE 8, MONDAY, FEBRUARY 1, 1999

1403

letter dated October 2, 1998, we clarified this point for
purposes of the City's response to your complaint.

By letter dated October 5, 1998, we received the City's
response.  The City noted that the minutes of the executive
session on June 9, 1997 was the subject of recent litigation,
Turner v. City of Newark, Del. Ch., C.A. No. 15787 (Mar.
17, 1998) (Chandler, C.). The City contends that you did not
"move or request that the Council vote on public disclosure
of the 'non-protocol' personnel matters discussed on June 9,
1997" after the Chancery Court ruled in your favor.  In
contrast, another citizen, "Ms.  Shurtleff made a formal
request for the minutes.  That request was placed before City
Council.  On July 27, 1998, the Council determined that
public disclosure of the requested portions of the minutes
would no longer defeat the lawful purpose for which the
session was called under 29 Del.C. Section 10004(f)." The
City maintains that its general practice is to consider requests
for disclosure of minutes of executive session on a case-by-
case basis.  "[T]he Council acts on such request [by a citizen]
or motion [by a Council member] after consulting with its
attorney."

By letter dated October 7, 1998, the City further
responded to your claim that you were denied the right to
copy minutes of executive session.  "In order to preserve the
integrity and confidentiality of Executive Session minutes,
the Secretary has adopted a practice of not distributing
personal copies to Council Members.  Until and unless the
Council has made a determination that public disclosure will
no longer 'defeat the lawful purpose' of an Executive
Session, the Secretary does not permit any Member of
Council to have a personal file copy of a set of Executive
Session minutes." The City stated "that Ms. Turner has been
provided nothing more nor less than her former colleagues
on the Council in regard to access." The City distinguishes
between Ms. Turner's position as a Council member, to
which she is entitled to "access," and her position as a citizen
to inspect and copy records for whatever use.  The City
characterizes the FOIA complaint, not as an " access" issue,
but rather as a complaint "about a procedure which the City
of Newark has adopted to attempt to maintain the integrity of
Executive Session materials while permitting controlled
access to Council Members upon request."

By letter dated October 12, 1998, you replied to the
City's October 5, 1998 response.  You dispute what the City
claims as its historical practice of voting to decide whether to
honor a request (from a citizen) or a motion (from a Council
member) to release minutes of executive session.  You stated
that the City's stated practice was "boldly inconsistent" with
the way in which the City had handled a request, one year
earlier, from another citizen (Mr.  Alfred Tarrant).

The Chancery Court Litigation

On July 1, 1997, you sued the City of Newark for

violating FOIA by going into executive session on June 9,
1997 to discuss matters that were not authorized by statute.
The Court found that certain of the matters discussed clearly
fell within the "personnel" exception for executive session:
(1) the hiring of a new City Assistant Administrator; (2) the
Police Chief's possibly taking a new job out-of-state; and (3)
interviews for a new City Finance Director.  At issue was
whether the portion of the executive session, described as
"Council Protocol," was a "personnel" matter.  That portion
of the meeting "involved a lengthy and candid discussion
among the Mayor and certain Council members over the
words and actions of other members of the Council and the
public perception of Council performance.  This discussion
included personal criticisms, by some members of the
Council, of the motivations of other members.  This
discussion evidently arose in part because of one
councilman's concerns about a potential nominee to the
City's Ethics Board." Letter Opinion at p. 3.

The Chancery Court rejected the City's argument that
the "Protocol" portion of the executive session fell within the
"Personnel" exception to FOIA.  The Court found that during
the "Protocol," no personnel file "was discussed or circulated
among Council members . . . And certainly no disclosures of
confidential information about individual members of the
Council or employees of the City occurred . . . ." Letter
Opinion at pp. 6-7.  The discussion during the Protocol
"easily qualified" as "'public business.' Council members
were engaged in a frank debate over a matter of public policy
about which members of the public have a right to be
informed as a means both to observe the performance of
their public officials and, perhaps, to better understand the
decisions that they make." Letter Opinion at p. 7.

The Chancery Court believed that the "members of the
Council acted honestly and in good faith in convening the
executive session and in undertaking a discussion of both
personnel issues and Council protocol issues." Letter
Opinion at pp. 8-9.  Nevertheless, the Court held that "the
nonpersonnel matters discussed during the executive session
were 'public business' and should have been discussed fully
and openly during the June 9 meeting." Id. at p. 9.

Pertinent Statutes

FOIA excepts from the definition of "public record" any
"record of discussions held in executive session pursuant to
subsections (b) and (c) of Section 10004 of this title;......” 29
Del.C. Section 10002(d))(10).  Subsection (b) of Section
10004 authorizes a public body to go into executive session
for any of nine reasons, including "personnel matters." See
29 Del.C. Section 10004(b)(9).

In the Chancery Court litigation, the Court demarcated
what portions of the June 9, 1997 executive session were
within the "personnel" exception under FOIA.  The Council
"Protocol" portion of the meeting was not within that
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exception, so any minutes of that portion of the meeting are
"public records" under FOIA and must be made available for
inspection and copying upon request by a citizen.

As for the portion of the minutes dealing with
"personnel" matters, a public body has discretion under
FOIA to make minutes of executive session available to the
public if it determines that public disclosure would no longer
"defeat the lawful purpose for the executive session." 29
Del.C. Section 10004(f).

Legal Analysis

It is difficult to segregate the FOIA issue raised by your
complaint from the procedure by which the Council,
historically or on ad hoc basis, decides whether to release
minutes of executive session to the public.  The City argues
that its policies and procedures regarding the release of
confidential is not governed by FOIA because the City has
discretion to decide whether disclosure of the minutes of an
executive sessions would no longer "defeat the lawful
purpose for the executive session." Irrespective of the
Council's procedural requirements, however, FOIA is
implicated if the process works to deny any citizen
reasonable access to records that can be disclosed under
FOIA.

Your request for the minutes of the June 9, 1997
meeting was forestalled by the Chancery Court litigation
until the Court ruled in your favor on March 18, 1998.  The
City then decided to release the pages of the minutes of the
"Protocol" section of the June 9, 1997 meeting, On March
31, 1998, you then renewed your request for the minutes, not
only for the "Protocol" portion, but also for the portion
dealing with personnel matters.  Under Section 10004(f) of
FOIA, the City had discretion to release the section of
minutes regarding personnel matters if it believed that the
personal privacy of the individual(s) involved would not be
compromised.  You also asked for the minutes of executive
sessions held on July 14 and September 22, 1997.  Those
minutes were not at issue in the Chancery Court litigation.

By memorandum dated March 31, 1998, the City
Secretary denied your request for the minutes of the three
executive sessions, citing a memorandum dated June 18,
1997 ("[o]nce Council as a whole, and/or its legal counsel,
decides the release of these minutes will not compromise the
confidential nature of the topic discussed, I will then release
them as directed").  Apparently, it is the City's position that it
was then incumbent upon you to cause the Council to place
on its agenda a vote to decide whether to release the minutes
of the June 9, 1997 meeting per your request under FOIA.

Subsequently, another citizen, Helen Shurtleff, made a
request for the personnel portions of the June 9, 1997
executive session minutes.  At its meeting on July 27, 1998,
the Council voted unanimously to release to Ms. Shurtleff
the first four pages of the minutes dealing with personnel

matters.
FOIA does not prescribe any procedures by which a

public body determines whether disclosure of the minutes
would "no longer defeat the purpose" of the executive
session.  Since the decision is discretionary, a public body
could, as long as the need for protection of the records exists,
follow a uniform rule of not disclosing the minutes of
executive session under any circumstances.  However, once
the public body determines that disclosure would no longer
defeat the purpose of the executive session and that the
record may be publicly disclosed, availability must be
permitted in a consistent and fair manner.

"When the agency exercises its permissive disclosure
authority, public inspection follows." Black Panther Party v.
Kehoe, 42 Cal.App.3d 645 (1974).  The public records laws
do not permit a government agency "to indulge in selective
disclosure . . . Records are completely public or completely
confidential.  The Public Records Act denies public officials
any power to pick and choose the recipients of disclosure."
Id. at 656.

The City tries to distinguish between Ms. Shurtleff, who
it claims "made a formal request for the minutes" of the June
9, 1997 meeting, and you, who did not "move or request that
the Council vote on public disclosure of the 'non-protocol'
personnel matters discussed on June 9, 1997." This
distinction is untenable.  FOIA only requires a citizen to
request reasonable access to inspect and copy records.  If a
request is made to copy minutes of an executive session, it is
not incumbent upon the citizen to frame that request using
particular words of art or to ask for a vote by the public body
to decide whether disclosure would "no longer defeat" the
purpose of the executive session.  The FOIA request itself
triggers the requirement that the public body follow its
normal procedures to determine whether the records may be
made available to the public.

We do not find anything in the record provided to us to
show that your request for the minutes of the January 9, 1997
executive session was any different than Ms. Shurtleff's.
Once the Council decided to release the complete minutes to
Ms. Shurtleff, the minutes became a public record for all
purposes and should have been provided to you as well.

We do not decide the question of access to or for copies
of the minutes of the executive session meetings on July 14
and September 22, 1997.  There is no evidence in any of the
documents submitted to our office in connection with this
complaint to suggest that the reason for going into executive
session on those dates was not authorized by statute, or that
the City has released copies of the minutes of those two
meetings to any other citizen.  In fact, the city secretary's
memorandum of March 31, 1998 incorporates a June 18,
1997 memorandum to you setting forth the policy and
procedure which must be followed to obtain public access to
the minutes.  Since the Council has not voted in accordance
with its policy to make those minutes public, there is no
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FOIA violation as to the Council's refusal to provide the
minutes of the meetings of July 14 and September 22, 1997
to you.

Conclusion

Based on your complaint, the City's responses, your
reply, and the documents provided to us by both parties, we
determine that the City violated the public records provisions
of FOIA by not providing you with a complete copy of the
minutes of the executive session held on June 9, 1997 after
the Chancery Court issued its Letter Opinion dated March
17, 1998, in light of the Council's decision to make the same
minutes available to Ms. Shurtleff.  To remedy that FOIA
violation, we direct the City to provide you with a copy of
those minutes within thirty days of the date of this letter.

Very truly yours,
W. Michael Tupman
Deputy Attorney General

Approved

Michael F. Rich
State Solicitor
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Senate Bill No. 250, Section 10: The Department of
Education shall promulgate the rules and regulations
necessary to implement this Act in an orderly fashion that
provides adequate lead time for school districts to align their
practices, plans, and policies with the requirements of this
Act.  Within 150 days after enactment, the Department shall
publish a master schedule for the regulations required under
this Act which will indicate when anticipated drafts will be
available and when State Board of Education consideration
of such  regulations is anticipated.

Senate Bill Substitute #1 to Senate Bill 250

Regulatory Action Required by the Department of Education

SECTION OF THE 
ACCOUNTABILITY 

LEGISLATION FROM
14 DEL.C.

REGULATIONS NECESSARY 
TO IMPLEMENT THE

LEGISLATION

TIME LINE FOR AVAILABLE 

DRAFTS OF REGULATIONS 

AND CONSIDERATION BY THE 

STATE BOARD

Section 152, State High School

Diploma Requirements

Establish the level of perfor-

mance in reading, writing, mathe-

matics, science and social studies

necessary to graduate from high

school.

September 1999-December 1999

for reading, writing and mathemat-

ics. 

September 2002-December 2002

for science and social studies.

May establish the level of perfor-

mance required in reading, writ-

ing, mathematics, science and

social studies for a state distin-

guished achievement diploma and

may include other criteria.

September 1999-December 1999

for reading, writing and mathemat-

ics. 

September 2002-December 2002

for science and social studies.

Section 153, Matriculation and

Academic Promotion Require-

ments

Provide appropriate accommoda-

tions for administering the assess-

ment to students with disabilities

to address the academic improve-

ment activities required of stu-

dents whose performance is

inadequate to demonstrate grade

level proficiency.

April 1999-June1999

Ensure that assessments are

administered in accordance with

security procedures.

April 1999-June 1999

http://www.doe.state.de.us/index_js.htm
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Name and define the five levels

of individual student performance

relative to the state content stan-

dards in reading, writing, mathe-

matics, science and social studies.

September 1999-December 1999

for reading, writing and mathemat-

ics.  

September 2002-December 2002

for science and social studies to

define the levels of individual per-

formance needed to calculate

school and district performance

levels.

SECTION OF THE 
ACCOUNTABILITY 

LEGISLATION FROM
14 DEL. C.

REGULATIONS NECESSARY 
TO IMPLEMENT THE 

LEGISLATION

TIME LINE FOR AVAILABLE 
DRAFTS OF REGULATIONS 

AND CONSIDERATION BY THE 
STATE BOARD

Define the term “grade level pro-

ficiency”. 

September 1999-December 1999

May specify the role of other

individual student indicators in

determining a student’s perfor-

mance level.

September 1999-December 1999

Establish a program to recognize

superior and proficient perfor-

mance on the state assessments in

reading, writing, mathematics,

science and social studies.

September 1999-December 1999

Define the appropriate action

steps for students in grades 3, 5,

8, and 10, whose performance on

the reading assessment is either

approaching grade level, below or

far below grade level perfor-

mance.

September 1999-December 1999

Define the appropriate action

steps for students in grades 8 and

10, whose performance on the

mathematics assessment is either

approaching grade level, below or

far below grade level perfor-

mance.

September 1999-December 1999
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For further information, contact Carol O’Neill Mayhew.

SECTION OF THE 
ACCOUNTABILITY 

LEGISLATION FROM
14 DEL. C.

REGULATIONS NECESSARY 
TO IMPLEMENT THE 

LEGISLATION

TIME LINE FOR AVAILABLE 
DRAFTS OF REGULATIONS 

AND CONSIDERATION BY THE 
STATE BOARD

Section 154, School Accountabil-

ity for Academic Performance

Ensure that all eligible students

take the state assessments.

April 1999-June 1999

Establish an equitable composite

scoring system for schools with

two assessment grades.

September 2000-December 2000

Establish criteria for the determi-

nation of whether a school is eli-

gible for recognition for superior

performance or is subject to

improvement and accountability

activities.

September 2000-December 2000

Determine the weight to be given

each subject tested by the assess-

ments in calculating the compos-

ite score for each building.

January 2001-March 2001

Develop an appeal process for

those schools who seek to chal-

lenge their accreditation classifi-

cation.

January 2001-March 2001

Section 155, School District and

School Board Accountability for

Academic Performance 

Establish criteria for the determi-

nation of whether a school district

is eligible for recognition for

superior performance or is subject

to improvement and accountabil-

ity activities.

September 2000-December 2000

Develop an appeal process for

those districts who seek to chal-

lenge their accreditation classifi-

cation.

January 2001-March 2001
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES AND

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
This is not a regulation, but is a formalization of a

commitment that the State “intends to forbear” from
adopting a California Motor Vehicle Control Program,
sometimes called the “California Car Program”,  until 2006.

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE
AND ISSUES:

About a year ago, (then) Secretary Tulou committed to
not adopting a California car option, and this process, called
a SIP revision, formalizes that commitment. The Department
of Natural Resources and Environmental Control is using the
DE Register as a vehicle to address the public outreach
aspect of this commitment.  There should be no issues
involved with this commitment, since the State is only
committing to take no action, rather than committing to take
an action.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO
ACT:

7 Del.C. , Chapter 60

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:

None

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
Provided in the News Journal and Delaware State News.

7. PREPARED BY:
Raymond H. Malenfant 302-730-4791

Delaware’s State Implementation Plan (SIP) Revision 
For the Implementation of the National Low Emission 

Vehicle (NLEV) Program

On June 6, 1997, in recognition of the progress made
between the twelve States and the District of Columbia
which comprise the northeast Ozone Transport Commission
(the OTC States) and the automobile manufacturers in
developing an NLEV program, the EPA finalized the main
regulatory framework rules for the NLEV program.  For the
details of this action, see 62 Fed. Reg. 31192.  On January 7,
1998, EPA finalized its supplemental NLEV program rules
addressing the reciprocal commitments necessary to

effectuate the NLEV program.  See 63 Fed. Reg. 926. These
rules established voluntary exhaust emissions standards for
new light-duty vehicles that are not quite as stringent as
those of the California Low Emission Vehicle (CAL-LEV)
program. The CAL-LEV program was provided as an option
to any State under Section 177 of the Clean Air Act as
Amended in 1990, which is nonattainment of the ozone
standard.  The EPA has determined that implementation of
these voluntary standards on a national basis under the
NLEV program would provide emissions benefits to the
OTC States substantially equivalent to those obtainable from
the implementation of the CAL-LEV program in all of the
OTC States (the OTC-LEV program), due to the expanse of
the program. Further, the standards, which are applicable in
the OTC States starting with the 1999 model year and in the
remaining states except for California starting with the 2001
model year, are more stringent than those standards that the
EPA is authorized to mandate for implementation prior to
the 2004 model year. Generally, this program will be in
effect until 2006.

By letter dated January 14, 1998, Governor Thomas
Carper advised EPA Administrator Carol Browner of
Delaware’s commitment to the NLEV program.  The letter
also directed Secretary Tulou to complete the State=s opt-in
by taking the necessary steps to adopt appropriate
regulations and submit the requisite state implementation
plan (SIP) revision committing the State to NLEV in
accordance with the EPA NLEV regulations.  These EPA
NLEV regulations specify that the states shall submit their
SIP revisions to the EPA by March 1, 1999.  This action
allows for more substantive public awareness than the
singular action taken by the Governor to participate in the
NLEV Program.  Any action more stringent than the action
taken herein is expected to require specific authority by the
Legislature of the State of Delaware.  

On March 2, 1998, after having received notifications
from all manufacturers that they voluntarily opted into the
NLEV program, the EPA made its finding that the NLEV
program is in effect starting in the OTC States with the 1999
model year and in the remainder of the Nation (except for
California) with the 2001 model year. See 63 Fed. Reg.
11374.

Social Impact

Implementation of the NLEV program by EPA will
significantly aid the State of Delaware in its efforts to
achieve and maintain the NAAQS for ozone by reducing the
in-use emissions of air contaminants from gasoline-fueled
motor vehicles, and thereby make the air in Delaware more
healthful than would otherwise be possible.

Motor vehicles are significant contributors of carbon
monoxide, volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and oxides
of nitrogen (NOx).  In the presence of sunlight, VOCs, NOx

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/
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and other compounds in the ambient air react to form ozone.
VOCs are a subcategory of a much broader spectrum of
organic chemical compounds, including hydrocarbons
(HCs). HCs are compounds composed of only hydrogen and
carbon atoms.

Carbon monoxide is a poisonous gas at certain threshold
levels.  It is absorbed into the bloodstream and may have
both direct and indirect effects on the cardiovascular system.
This poisonous gas interferes with the oxygen-carrying
ability of the blood.  Exposure to CO aggravates angina and
other aspects of coronary heart disease and decreases
exercise tolerance in persons with cardiovascular problems.
In fetuses, infants, elderly persons, and individuals with
respiratory diseases, elevated levels of CO are also a serious
health risk.

NOx by themselves exhibit serious human health
effects.  For example, although nitric oxide (NO) itself is a
relatively nonirritating gas, it is readily oxidized to nitrogen
dioxide (NO2), which can damage respiratory defense
mechanisms, allowing bacteria to proliferate and invade the
lung tissue.  NOx cause irritation to the lungs, lower
resistance to respiratory infections, and contribute to the
development of emphysema, bronchitis, and pneumonia.
NOx also react chemically in the air to form nitric acid,

which contributes to acid rain formation.
Some VOCs, including benzene, formaldehyde and

1,3-butadiene, are classified as air toxics.  They have been
associated with the onset of cancer and other adverse health
effects.  As is mentioned above, VOCs participate in
photochemical reactions with NOx to create ozone and other
oxidants harmful to health.  Ground level ozone is a major
public health problem in Delaware.  Studies have proven that
ozone has severe and debilitating effects on lung capacity
and can have detrimental effects on respiration.  A series of
EPA studies indicate that ozone exposures as low as 0.08
ppm, which is the newly-promulgated 8-hour National
Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for ozone, can
impair lung function.  Even at low levels, ozone can cause
average humans to experience breathing difficulty, chest
pains, coughing and irritation to the nose, throat and eyes.
For individuals who already experience respiratory problems
or who are predisposed to respiratory ailments, these
symptoms can become much more severe, forcing those
individuals to alter their lifestyles to avoid unnecessary
exposure.

In addition, chronic ozone exposure studies performed
on laboratory animals indicate that long-term exposure to
ozone affects lung physiology and morphology.  These
studies suggest that humans exposed to ozone over
prolonged periods of time can experience chronic respiratory
injuries resulting in premature or accelerated aging of human
lung tissue.

During the May to October ozone season of this year,

the 8-hour National Ambient Air Quality Standard
(NAAQS) for ozone was exceeded on 34 days, statewide,
with 21 of these same days recording exceedances at more
than one of the State’s six (6) ozone monitoring sites.  It is
clear, therefore, that the ozone levels in Delaware must be
reduced in order to protect the health and welfare of the
residents of the State.  While the State has never violated the
NAAQS for CO, it is critical that we continue to maintain
this important health standard.

Economic Impact

It is expected that the cost of some motor vehicles
produced under the NLEV Program may increase slightly
over a comparable vehicle not produced under the NLEV
Program, but that differential, if any, will only impact model
year (MY) 1999 and 2000 vehicles.  Beginning with MY
2001, all vehicles produced nationwide will be subject to the
NLEV program.  The early introduction of the NLEV to the
northeast is in recognition of that area’s experience with
higher ozone concentrations that the balance of the nation,
except for California.

Environmental Impact

The implementation of these amendments will have a
positive impact on the environment by reducing the
emissions of VOCs, and NOx, thereby reducing the
formation of ground-level ozone, and by reducing the
emissions of CO.  The primary impact of both ground-level
ozone and CO is upon human health and well-being.  In
addition to human health effects, studies have shown that
increasing ozone levels damage foliage.  One of the earliest
and most obvious manifestations of ozone impact on the
environment is this type of damage to sensitive plants.
Subsequent effects include reduced plant growth and
decreased crop yield.  A reduction in ambient ozone
concentrations will mitigate damage to foliage, fruits,
vegetables and grain.  Considering Delaware’s vast
agricultural activity, this is an important factor in
determining overall impact.

Decreased ozone levels will also reduce the level of the
degradation of various man-made materials, such as rubber,
plastics, dyes and paints.  This degradation is caused by the
oxidizing properties of ozone.  However, if the
photochemical production of ground-level ozone can be
limited, as it will be with the implementation of the proposed
amendments, this degradation can be significantly reduced.

Regulatory Requirements

This program is not a regulation in any traditional sense.
A stated earlier, the OTC requested EPA to adopt such a
program as this NLEV Program.  EPA agreed to this request
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and promulgated the program which is now in effect. The
action taken herein utilizes the traditional SIP process to
assure that public awareness of the program has been
accomplished.  It is implicit in the  “commitments” made by
Delaware in this action that Delaware recognizes its
authority to adopt a motor vehicle emission control program
identical to that of California, but also recognizes that the
NLEV program is “substantially equivalent” to those same
California emission standards.  For that reason, and for the
reason that the NLEV program will not require any State
resources to implement the program, Delaware has chosen to
participate in the NLEV Program. 

Full text of the proposal follows.  The entire text is new
and therefor displayed in the conventional bold italics type.
This action will not be included in the Delaware Regulations
Governing the Control of Air Polution since there is no
regulatory impact on the public.

Delaware’s National Low Emission Vehicle (NLEV) 
Program

Section 1 - Applicability

The environmental benefits of this federal program will
be realized in all counties in the State of Delaware.

Section 2 - Definitions

The following terms, when used in this program
description, shall have the following meanings: 

ANLEV Program@ or ANational Low Emission Vehicle
Program@ means a federally enforceable, voluntary
nationwide clean car program designed to reduce smog and
other pollution from new motor vehicles and that would
achieve emission reductions from new motor vehicles in the
Ozone Transport Region equivalent to or greater than would
be achieved by the adoption of the CAL-LEV Program by all
the OTC states.

Section 3 – Program Participation

(a) For the duration of Delaware=s participation in
NLEV, manufacturers may comply with NLEV or equally
stringent mandatory Federal standards in lieu of compliance
with any program, including the provisions of this
subchapter and including any mandates for sales of ZEVs,
adopted by the State pursuant to the authority provided in
'177 of the Clean Air Act (CAA), 42 U.S.C. ''7401 et seq.,
applicable to passenger cars, light-duty trucks up through
6,000 pounds GVWR, and/or medium-duty vehicles from
6,001 to 14,000 pounds GVWR if designed to operate on
gasoline, as these categories of motor vehicles are defined in
the California Code of Regulations, Title 13, Division 3,

Chapter 1, Article 1, '1900, incorporated herein by
reference.

(b) Delaware’s participation in NLEV extends until the
commencement of model year 2006, except as provided in
40 C.F.R. 86.1707.  If, no later than December 15, 2000, the
EPA does not adopt standards at least as stringent as the
NLEV standards provided in 40 C.F.R. Part 86, subpart R,
that apply to new motor vehicles in model year 2004, 2005
or 2006, the State=s participation in NLEV extends only until
the commencement of model year 2004, except as provided
in 40 C.F.R. '86.1707.

(c) If a covered manufacturer, as defined at 40 C.F.R.
86.1702, opts out of the NLEV program pursuant to the EPA
NLEV regulations at 40 C.F.R. '86.1707, the transition from
NLEV requirements to any State Clean Air Act '177
Program applicable to passenger cars, light-duty trucks up
through 6000 pounds GVWR, and/or medium-duty vehicles
from 6001 to 14,000 pounds GVWR if designed to operate
on gasoline, as these categories of motor vehicles are defined
in the California Code of Regulations, Title 13, Division 3,
Chapter 1, Article 1, '1900, incorporated herein by reference
will proceed in accordance with the EPA NLEV regulations
at 40 C.F.R. '86.1707.

Section 4 – Commitments 

(a) The State commits to support NLEV as an
acceptable alternative to the State=s Section 177 Program for
the duration of the State=s participation in NLEV.

(b) The State recognizes that its commitment to NLEV
is necessary to ensure that NLEV remain in effect.

(c) The State is submitting this SIP revision in
accordance with the applicable Clean Air Act requirements
at '110 and EPA regulations at 40 C.F.R. Part 86 and 40
C.F.R. Parts 51 and 52.

Section 5 – Agreement to Forbear Adoption of Replacement
Programs

For the duration of Delaware=s participation in NLEV,
the State intends to forbear from adopting and implementing
a ZEV mandate effective prior to model year 2006.
Notwithstanding the previous sentence, if, no later than
December 15, 2000, the US EPA does not adopt standards at
least as stringent as the NLEV standards provided in 40
C.F.R. Part 86, subpart R that apply to new motor vehicles in
model year 2004, 2005, or 2006, the State intends to forbear
from adopting and implementing a ZEV mandate effective
prior to model year 2004.
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Delaware River Basin Commission

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking

Proposed Amendments to the Commission's Ground 
Water Protected Area Regulations

for Southeastern Pennsylvania

Notice is hereby given that the Delaware River Basin
Commission will hold a public hearing to receive comments
on proposed amendments to its Ground Water Protected
Area Regulations for Southeastern Pennsylvania with
respect to the establishment of numerical ground water
withdrawal limits for 62 subbasins which are entirely or
partially within the Ground Water Protected Area.  Limits,
based upon baseflow frequency analyses, were initially
specified for the 14 subbasins in the Neshaminy Creek
Basin.  Limits for the remaining 62 subbasins are based upon
additional baseflow frequency analyses provided by the U.S.
Geological Survey in 1998.  Although the limits within the
Neshaminy Creek Basin remain unchanged, the withdrawal
limits for the entire protected area are presented in this
notice.

DATES: The public hearing will be held on Tuesday, March
9, 1999 beginning at 1:00 p.m. and continuing until
5:00p.m., as long as there are people present wishing to
testify.  The hearing will resume at 7:00 p. m. and continue
until 9:00 p.m., as long as there are people present wishing to
testify.

The deadline for inclusion of written comments in the
hearing record will be announced at the hearing.  Persons
wishing to testify at the hearing are requested to register with
the Secretary in advance of the hearing.

ADDRESSES: Written comments should be submitted to
Susan M. Weisman, Delaware River Basin Commission,
P.O. Box 7360, West Trenton, New Jersey 08628.  The
public hearings will be held in the Hearing Room of the
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection's
Southeastern Regional Office at 555 E. North Lane, Lee
Park Suite 6010, Conshohocken, Pennsylvania.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Copies
of the Commission's Ground Water Protected Area
Regulations for Southeastern Pennsylvania may be obtained
by contacting Susan M. Weisman, Commission Secretary, at
(609) 883-9500 ext. 203.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

Background and Rationale
The Commission's Ground Water Protected Area

Regulations for Southeastern Pennsylvania were adopted in
1980 to prevent depletion of ground water, protect the
interests and rights of lawful users of the same water source,
and balance and reconcile alternative and conflicting uses of
limited water resources in the area.  Lowered water tables
resulting from withdrawals in excess of recharge rates have
led to reduction of flows in some perennial streams in the
region and have dried up some stream reaches which
previously flowed all year.  Such reductions in base flow
interfere with instream and downstream water uses,
adversely affect fisheries and aquatic life, and threaten to
reduce the capacity of streams in the region to assimilate
pollutants.

On January 28, 1998, the Commission adopted
amendments to the Ground Water Protected Area
Regulations which established a two-tiered system of
withdrawal limits.  The first tier serves as a warning that a
subbasin is "potentially stressed".  In potentially stressed
subbasins, applicants for new or expanded ground water
withdrawals are required to implement one or more
programs to mitigate adverse impacts of additional ground
water withdrawals. Acceptable programs include:
conjunctive use of ground water and surface water;
expanded water conservation; control of ground water
infiltration to the receiving sewer systems; and artificial
recharge and spray irrigation.  The second tier serves as the
maximum withdrawal limit.  The Commission seeks to
prevent ground water withdrawals from exceeding the
maximum withdrawal limit.

The regulations also provide incentives for holders of
existing DRBC dockets and protected area permits to
implement the above-cited conjunctive use and conservation
programs to mitigate the adverse impacts of their ground
water withdrawals.  If docket or permit holders successfully
implement one or both programs, the Commission could
extend the docket or permit duration for up to ten years.

The regulations also specify administrative criteria for
issuing and review of dockets and permits as well as protocol
for updating and revising withdrawal limits to provide
additional protection for streams designated by the
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania as "high quality" or
"exceptional value", or to correspond with any integrated
resources plans adopted by municipalities for subbasins.

The ground water study which provided the basis for the
withdrawal limits for the subbasins in the Neshaminy Creek
Basin was prepared by the U. S. Geological Survey in
cooperation with the Commission and is entitled 'Water-Use
Analysis Program for the Nesharniny Creek Basin, Bucks
and Montgomery Counties, Pennsylvania." The U S.
Geological Survey was contracted by the Commission to
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prepare, a similar study to investigate the withdrawal limits
for the remaining subbasins in the protected area.  The
results of both studies are recorded on CD-ROM which is
available from the Commission.  Specific software, the
Access database and ArcView from ESRI are required to
view the CD-ROM.  To review the CD-ROM at the
Commission's offices, please contact Judith Strong, at (609)
883-9500 ext. 263 for an appointment.  To order the
CD-ROM at a cost of $10, please contact Carolyn Hartman
at (609)883-9500 ext. 249.  To review the CD-ROM at
locations within the protected area, please contact Susan M.
Weisman at (609) 883-9500 ext. 203.

The subject of the hearing will be as follows:

Amendment to the Commission's Ground Water
Protected Area Regulations for Southeastern Pennsylvania
Relating to the Establishment of Numerical Ground Water
Withdrawal Limits for Subbasins in the Protected Area.

It is proposed to:

1. Amend the Ground Water Protected Area Regulations for
Southeastern Pennsylvania as follows:

Subsection 6.i.(3) is hereby revised to read as follows:

(3) The potentially stressed levels and withdrawal limits for
all delineated basins and subbasins are set forth below:

Neshaminy Creek Basin
Subbasin Potentially Withdrawal

 Stressed   Limit
   (mgy)          (mgy)

West Branch Neshaminy Creek Basin       1054   1405
Pine Run Basin 596     795
North Branch Neshaminy Creek 853   1131
Doylestown Subbasin Neshaminy Creek 710     946
Warwick Subbasin Neshaminy Creek 889    1185
Warrington Subbasin Little Nesharniny Creek 505     673
Park Creek Basin 582     776
Warminster Subbasin Little Neshaminy

Creek       1018     1355
Mill Creek Basin       1174    1565
Northampton Subbasin Nesharniny Creek 596     794
Newtown Creek 298     397
Core Creek Basin 494     658
Ironworks Creek Basin 326     434
Lower Section Subbasin Neshaminy Creek 3026        4034

Schuylkill River Basin
Subbasin

Hay Creek 974    1299

  Potentially Withdrawal
    Stressed      Limit
   (mgy)          (mgy)

Lower Reach Manatawny-Ironstone Creek 1811 2414
Pigeon Creek   611   815
Schuylkill-Crow Creek 1157 1543
Schuylkill-Mingo Creek   671   895
Schuylkill-Plymouth-Mill Creeks 4446 5929
Schuylkill-Sixpenny Creek 1490 1987
Schuylkill-Sprogels Run 1091 1455
Schuylkill-Stony Creek   687   916
Schuylkill-Trout Creek 1082 1443
Stony Creek 1242 1655
Valley Creek 1885 2486

French and Pickering Creek Subbasins
Subbasin

Lower Reach French Creek   634   845
Lower Reach Pickering Creek 1716 2288
Middle Reach French Creek 1608 2145
South Branch French Creek 1044 1393
Upper Reach French Creek 1295 1726
Upper Reach Pickering Creek 1358 1811

Perkiomen and Skippack Creek Subbasins
Subbasin

East Branch Perkiomen-Indian Creeks   633   844
East Branch Perkiomen-Mill Creeks   720   961
East Branch Perkiornen-Morris Run 1214 1619
Hosensack-Indian Creeks 1257 1676
Lower Reach Skippack Creek 1069 1426
Perkiomen-Deep Creeks 1047 1396
Perkiomen-Lodal Creeks 1200 1600
Perkiomen-Macoby Creek 1252 1669
Swamp-Middle Creeks 1423 1898
Swamp-Minister Creeks   547   730
Swamp-Scioto Creeks   746   994
Towarnencin Creek     466   622
Unarni-Licking Creeks   992 1322
Unami-Ridge Valley Creeks 1068 1424
Upper Reach Perkiomen Creek 1223 1631
Upper Reach Skippack. Creek   813 1084
West Branch Perkiomen Creek 1566 2088

Delaware River Basin
Subbasin

Jericho Creek   421   562
Mill Creek 1600 2134
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Potentially   Withdrawal
 Stressed   Limit
     (mgy)         (mgy)

Paunnacussing Creek   513   684
Pidcock Creek   563   751
Upper Reach Cobbs Creek   871 1161
Upper Reach Crum Creek 1290 1721
Upper Reach Darby Creek 1625 2167
Upper Reach East Branch Chester Creek 1865 2487
Upper Reach Frankford Creek 1414 1886
Upper Reach Poquessing Creek 1008 1344
Upper Reach Ridley Creek 1707 2275

Tohickon Subbasin
Subbasin

Tohickon-Beaver-Morgan Creeks 1156 1541
Tohickon-Deep Run   956 1274
Tohickon-Geddes-Cabin Runs   602   803
Tohickon-Lake Nockamixon   556   741
Tohickon-Three Mile Run   726   968

Pennypack and Wissahickon Subbasins
Subbasin

Lower Reach Wissahickon Creek 2750 3666
Upper Reach Wissahickon Creek 1302 1738
Middle Reach Pennypack Creek 1295 1727
Upper Reach Pennypack Creek 1358 1811

Brandywine Creek Subbasin
Subbasin

East Branch Brandywine-Taylor Run 1054 1405
Middle Reach Brandywine Creek   823 1098
Upper Reach Brandywine Creek 1614 2153
West Branch Brandywine-Beaver Run 2110 2813
West Branch Brandywine-Broad Run 2380 3173
West Valley Creek 1673 2231

Lehigh Subbasin
Subbasin

Upper Reach Saucon Creek   946 1262

*  mgy means million gallons per year

Subject to public notice and hearing, this section may be
updated or revised based upon new and evolving information
on hydrology and streamflow and ground water monitoring
or in accordance with (2).

2. This regulation shall be effective immediately.
Delaware River Basin Compact, 75 Stat. 688.

Susan M. Weisman
Secretary
January 4, 1999
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DELAWARE SOLID WASTE 
AUTHORITY

PUBLIC NOTICE

Pursuant to 7 Delaware Code, Section 6403 (i), 6403 (j),
6403 (k), 6403 (l), 6406 (a) (11), 6406 (a) (13), 6421 and
other pertinent provisions of 7 Delaware Code, Chapter 64,
the Delaware Solid Waste Authority (DSWA) will conduct a
hearing to consider an amendment to the following
documents:

(a) Statewide Solid Waste Management Plan (adopted
May, 1994), and

(b) Regulations of the Delaware Solid Waste Authority
(adopted October 1997)

(c) Differential Disposal Fee Program (new fee
structure)

The hearing is to provide opportunity for public
comment on the proposed amendments.  The public record
will close at the close of the Hearing.

The hearing will be held February 23, 1999 at 7:00 p.m.
in the Public Meeting Room of the Delaware Solid Waste
Authority, 1128 South Bradford Street, Dover, DE  19903.

Copies of the proposed amendments will be available
February 1, 1999 from the Delaware Solid Waste Authority
upon request.  The proposed amendments will also be
published in the February 1, 1999 edition of the “Register of
Regulations.”

If you have any questions regarding the hearing, please
contact T. E. Houska, Chief of Administrative Services,
Delaware Solid Waste Authority, P.O. Box 455, Dover,
Delaware 19903-0455 or call (302) 739-5361.  Mr. Houska
can also be reached by e-mail: teh@dswa.com.

STATE FIRE PREVENTION 
COMMISSION

STATE FIRE MARSHALLS OFFICE

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission will
hold a hearing pursuant to 16 Del.C. §6603 and 29 Del.C.
101 on Tuesday, February 16, 1999, at 2:00 P.M. and 7:00
P.M. in the Commission Chamber, Delaware State Fire
School, Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove
Road, Dover, Delaware.  The Commission is proposing
changes to the following Regulations.

Part V, Chapter 5 Standard for the Marking,
Identification, and Accessibility Of Fire Lanes, Exits, Fire
Hydrants, Sprinkler, and Standpipe Connections.

Persons may view the proposed changes to the
Regulations between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.,
Monday through Friday, at the Delaware State Fire
Prevention Commission, Delaware State Fire School,
Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove Road,
Dover, Delaware, 19904, or the Administrative Office of the
State Fire Marshal located at the Delaware Fire Service
Center, 1537 Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, Delaware,
19904, or the Regional State Fire Marshal’s Offices located
in the First Federal Plaza Building, 704 King Street, Suite
200, Wilmington, Delaware, 19801, and Road 321,
Georgetown, Delaware, 19947.

Persons may present their views in writing by mailing
their views to the Commission at the above addresses prior
to the hearing, and the Commission will consider those
responses received before 10:a.m. on February 16, 1999, or
by offering testimony at the Public Hearing.  If the number
of persons desiring to testify at the Public Hearing is large,
the amount of time allotted to each speaker will be limited.
There will be a reasonable fee charge for copies of the
proposed changes.

 DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

DELAWARE BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL 
THERAPY

Notice of Public Hearing

Please Take Notice, pursuant to 29 Del.C. Chapter 101
and 24 Del.C. §2007(a)(1), the Delaware Board of
Occupational Therapy has developed and proposes to adopt
comprehensive Rules and Regulations.  The regulations will
describe the Board’s organization, operations and rules of
procedure, the process and requirements for licensure and
certain standards of conduct applicable to the practice of
occupational therapy.

A public hearing will be held on the proposed Rules and
Regulations on Wednesday, March 17, 1999 at 4:30 p.m. in
the Second Floor Conference Room A of the Cannon
Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Dover, DE 19904.  The
Board will receive and consider input in writing from any
person on the proposed Rules and Regulations.  Written
comments should be submitted to the Board in care of Mary
Paskey at the above address.  Final date to submit written
comments shall be at the above scheduled public hearing.
Anyone wishing to obtain a copy of the proposed Rules and
Regulations or to make comments at the public hearing
should contact Mary Paskey at the above address or by
calling (302) 739-4522, ext. 207.

http://www.state.de.us/dvfa/html/commission.html
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This notice will be published in two newspapers of
general circulation not less than twenty (20) days prior to the
date of the hearing.

DELAWARE  REAL  ESTATE COMMISSION

Notice of Public Hearing

The Delaware Real Estate Commission, in accordance
with 24 Delaware Code, Section 2905(a)(1) and 29
Delaware Code, Section 10115 of the Administrative
Procedures Act, hereby give notice that it shall hold a public
hearing on March 18, 1999 at 1:30 p.m. in the second floor
Conference Room A of the Cannon Building, 861 Silver
Lake Boulevard, Dover Delaware.

The Commission shall receive input in writing or by
oral testimony from interested persons regarding revisions of
the rules and regulations: Rule I.C.I (Responsibility). Add
sentence specifying responsibility of broker to see that all
agents affiliated with his/her office are currently licensed;
Rule II.A.2. Non-substantive changes updating the title of
the education guidelines. Rule XII. (Inducements). Add
subsection B permitting a broker or salesperson who must be
a resident or non-resident licensee to give a rebate/discount/
any other thing of value to a purchaser or seller and C which
requires the licensee to disclose to his or her principal any
rebate or discount made to buyer.

The final date for interested persons to submit views in
writing or orally shall be at the above scheduled public
hearing. Anyone wishing to make oral or written comments
or who would like a copy of the proposed changes may
contact the Commission office at 302-739-4522, extension
219, or write to the Delaware Real Estate Commission , 861
Silver Lake Boulevard Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904-2467.

DELAWARE GAMING CONTROL BOARD

The Delaware Gaming Control Board proposed
amendments to the Bingo Regulations and charitable
Gambling Regulations.  The Board proposes these
regulations pursuant to 28 Del. C. §1122 and 29 Del. C.
§10111.  A copy of the proposed regulations are attached to
this letter.

The public may obtain copies of the existing regulations
and proposed regulations from the Board’s office, Division
of Professional Regulations, c/o Lynn Houska, Cannon
Building, Suite #203, 861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, DE
19904, phone (302) 739-4522.  The Board will accept
written comments from February 1, 1999, until March 2,
1999.  A public hearing will be held at the Board’s monthly

meeting on March 3, 1999, at 1:00 p.m. at the Common
Building, second floor conference room.

The Board proposes to amend Charitable Gambling
Regulation 3.12 to provide for filing of an after occasion
report within fifteen (15) days of the last day of the function
consistent with 28 Del. C. §1140.  The Board proposes to
amend Bingo Regulation 1.04(7) to further define the cookie
jar bingo games by providing: 1) that no licensee can start a
third cookie jar bingo jackpot without first giving away their
first cookie jar bingo jackpot; and, 2) if a licensee has not
given away a first cookie jar jackpot as required, then the
licensee must hold a separate bingo coverall game as the last
game to award the jackpot.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its
monthly meeting on Thursday, February 18, 1999
at 11:00 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Notice of Public Hearing

The Office of Vital Statistics, Division of Public Health
of  the Department of Health and Social Services, will hold a
public hearing to discuss proposed Regulations for the Vital
Statistics Code (Title XVI, Chapter 31, Delaware Code).
These proposed regulations describe procedures the Office
of Vital Statistics will utilize in registering, maintaining, and
releasing vital events for the State of Delaware.

This public hearing will be held on Monday, March 15,
1999 beginning at 10:00 a.m. in Room 309, Jesse Cooper
Building, Dover, Delaware.

Copies of the proposed regulations are available for
review by contacting:

Mr. Michael Richards
Office of Vital Statistics
Division of Public Health
Jesse Cooper Building
P. O. Box 637
Dover, Delaware 19903
Telephone:  302.739.4721

Anyone wishing to present their oral comments at this
hearing should contact Mr. Michael Richards at (302) 577-

http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dph/dphhome.htm
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6666 by March 8, 1999.  Anyone wishing to submit written
comments as a supplement to, or in lieu of oral testimony
should submit such comments by March 19, 1999 to:

Mr. Michael Richards, Director
Office of Vital Statistics
Division of Public Health
PO Box 637
Dover, Delaware  19903

DIVISION OF MENTAL RETARDATION

Public Notice
DMR Eligibility Criteria

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and with 42CFR §447.205, and under the
authority of Title 31 of the Delaware Code, Chapter 5,
Section 505, the Delaware Department of Health and Social
Services (DHSS)/Division of Mental Retardation is
amending its eligibility criteria.

Comments, written suggestions, compilations of data,
testimony, briefs or other written materials concerning this
change must be received by mail no later than March 3,
1999, at the DMR Administrative Office, Jesse Cooper
Building, Federal Street, Dover, DE  19903, attention Susan
Morrison Smith.  Materials filed thereafter will not be
considered except where good cause for lateness is
demonstrated.  Copies of all written submissions filed with
the Division of Mental Retardation office will be available
for public inspection in the DMR Administrative Office at
the address given above.  Please call (302) 739-4881, for an
appointment if you wish to review the materials.  Individuals
with disabilities who wish to participate in these
proceedings, or review the materials submitted, should
contact the Division to discuss auxiliary aids or services
needed to facilitate such review or participation.  Such
contact may be in person, in writing or by telephone by using
the Telecommunications Relay Service, or otherwise.

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT SECTION

REGISTER NOTICE 

1. Title of the Regulations:
Amendments  to  the  Delaware 1999 Rate-of-progress

Plan for Kent and New Castle Counties:  for Demonstrating
Progress Toward Attainment of the National Ambient Air
Quality Standard for Ground Level Ozone

2. Brief Synopsis of the Subject, Substance and Issues:
The Amendments consist of  1) updated calculations of

emission reduction credits resulting from the imposition of
facility caps on NOx emissions as required by Air Quality
Regulation #37;  2) the removal from the original Plan of the
peak ozone season equivalent of 8.5 tons per year of credited
reductions attributed to emission controls on the spill
diversion tank at Motiva Enterprises’ waste water treatment
system;  3) the inclusion of a contingency plan to cover the
Clean Air Act requirement for a minimum of an additional 3
percent reduction held in reserve in case of failure to meet
the emission target levels in 1999.

3. Possible Terms of The Agency Action:
None

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
• 7 Del. C., Chapter 60 Section 6010
• Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE
AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:  

None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
March 16, 1999 6:00 p.m. DNREC Auditorium, 89

Kings Highway, Dover, DE

7. Prepared by:
Alfred R. Deramo, Program Manager (302) 739-4791

January 15, 1999

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Register Notice

1. Title of The Regulation:
Shellfish Regulations No. S-23 Lobster-pot Design; No.

S-25 Lobster-   Pot, Season and Limits for Commercial
Lobster Pot License and S-26, Possession of V-notched
Lobsters Prohibited.

2. Brief Synopsis of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
In order to comply with the requirements of Amendment 3 to
the Interstate Fishery Management Plan for American
Lobster, new lobster pot design criteria are required to allow

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/aandw.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fandw.htm
http://www.state.de.us/govern/agencies/dhss/irm/dmr/dmrhome.htm
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the escape of undersized lobsters, to allow any lobster to
escape if a pot is lost and limit the size of pots.  Mature
female lobsters are marked and released by fishermen in
New England when they are carrying eggs.  The possession
of these marked females with a V-notch in one of their tail
flippers is prohibited in order to protect known mature
female lobsters.  It is also required that landing limits be
implemented to prohibit the landing of more than 100
lobsters per one day trip or up to 500 per 5 day trip that are
not taken by pots in the Exclusive Economic Zone (3-200
nautical miles in the Ocean).

3. Possible Terms of The Agency Action:
None

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
§1902 (a)(5), 7 Del. C.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by The
Proposal:

None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, calling or
visiting the Division of Fish and Wildlife, Fisheries Section,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901 (302) 739-3441, prior
to 4:30 PM on Friday, March 5, 1999.  A public hearing on
these proposed amendments to Shellfish Regulation Nos. 23
and 25 and new Shellfish Regulation No.26 will be held in
the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental
Control auditorium, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE at 7:30
PM on Thursday February 25, 1999.

7. Prepared by:
Charles A. Lesser(302)-739-3441January 11, 1999

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Register Notice

1. Title of The Regulation:
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 4 Summer Flounder Size

Limits; Possession Limits; Season.

2. Brief Synopsis of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
In order to remain in compliance in 1999 with the

Summer Flounder Fishery Management Plan, as amended,
Delaware must reduce its recreational fishery harvest by
40% of the 1997 recreational harvest.  There are several
ways to accomplish this reduction.  If Delaware retains the
15 inch minimum size limit and 8 fish creel limit for summer

flounder, a seasonal closure is required.  There are four
options for a closed season.  If Delaware raises its minimum
size limit to 16 inches and retains the 8 fish creel limit, a
much shorter closed season is required.  Lowering the creel
limit will have a minimal effect on reducing the harvest.

The Division of Fish and Wildlife’s preferred option is
to retain the 15 inch minimum size limit and 8 fish creel limit
and close the recreational and commercial hook and line
season on January 1 through May 28 and again on
September 12 through December 31.  Other seasonal closure
options that are the conservation equivalent of the preferred
option are January 1 through July 13; August 9 through
December 31 or July 15 through August 8.  

Delaware’s commercial hook and line fishery for
summer flounder will continue to have the same minimum
size limit, creel limit and seasonal closure(s) as the
recreational fishery in order to keep commercial landings of
summer flounder below Delaware’s commercial quota of
11,100 pounds.

3. Possible Terms of The Agency Action:
Requirements in the Summer Flounder Fishery

Management Plan require changes to reduce recreational
harvest by 40% of the 1997 landings.  If Delaware does not
comply, the summer flounder fishery may be closed.

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
§903 (e)(2)(a), 7 Del. C.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by The
Proposal:

None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, calling or
visiting the Division of Fish and Wildlife, Fisheries Section,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901 (302)-739-3441 prior
to 4:30 PM on Friday, March 5, 1999.  A public hearing on
proposed amendments to TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION
NO. 4 will be held in the Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control auditorium, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE at 7:30 PM on Thursday, February 25,1999.

7. Prepared by:
Charles A. Lesser(302)-739-3441January 15, 1999

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fandw.htm
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DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Register Notice

1. Title of the Regulation:
Tidal Finfish Regulation No. 23 Black Sea Bass Size

Limit; Trip Limits; Seasons; Quotas.

2. Brief Synopsis of The Subject, Substance And Issues:
The fishing mortality rate on the black sea bass is under

the target level described in the Black Sea Bass Fishery
Management Plan.  Therefore the recreational seasonal
closure is no longer needed.  The current seasonal closure of
August 1 – August 15 for recreational fishermen will be
dropped.

3. Possible Terms of The Agency Action:
States musts comply with the minimum requirements of

the Black Sea Bass Fishery Management Plan or face a
closure of the fishery.

4. Statutory Basis or Legal Authority to Act:
§ 903 (e)(2)(a), 7 Del. C.

5. Other Regulations That May Be Affected by The
Proposal:

None

6. Notice of Public Comment:
Individuals may present their opinions and evidence

and/or request additional information by writing, calling or
visiting the Division of Fish and Wildlife, Fisheries Section,
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901 (302) 739-3441, prior
to 4:30 PM on Friday, March 5, 1999.  A public hearing on
proposed amendments to TIDAL FINFISH REGULATION
NO. 23 will be held in the Department of Natural Resources
and Environmental Control auditorium, 89 Kings Highway,
Dover, DE at 7:30 PM on Thursday, February 25, 1999.

7. Prepared by:
Charles A. Lesser  (302)739-3441  January 11,1999

   

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/fandw.htm

