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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an
official State publication established by authority
of 69 Del. Laws, c. 107 and is published on the
first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any
regulations that are proposed to be adopted,
amended or repealed and any emergency
regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of
the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Attorney General’s Opinions in full text
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the

public interest.

CITATION TO THE
DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is
cited by volume, issue, page number and date.  An
example would be:

6 DE Reg. 1541-1542 (06/01/03)

Refers to Volume 6, pages 1541-1542 of the
Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2003.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues)
for the Delaware Register of Regulations is
$135.00.  Single copies are available at a cost of
$12.00 per issue, including postage.  For more
information contact the Division of Research at
302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE 
REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties
may participate in the process by which
administrative regulations are adopted, amended
or repealed, and may initiate the process by which
the validity and applicability of regulations is
determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an
agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or
repeal a regulation, it shall file notice and full text
of such proposals, together with copies of the
existing regulation being adopted, amended or
repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the
Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title.  The notice shall describe the nature of the
proceedings including a brief synopsis of the
subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the
agency action, a reference to the legal authority of
the agency to act, and reference to any other
regulations that may be impacted or affected by
the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views;  if in writing, of
the place to which and the final date by which such
views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing,
the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not
be scheduled less than 20 days following
publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will
be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date,
place and a summary of the nature of the proposal
shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware
newspapers of general circulation.   The notice
shall also be mailed to all persons who have made
timely written requests of the agency for advance
notice of its regulation-making proceedings.

The opportunity for public comment shall be
held open for a minimum of 30 days after the
proposal is published in the Register of
Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and
after receipt, within the time allowed, of all written
materials, upon all the testimonial and written
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evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by
subordinates, the agency shall determine whether
a regulation should be adopted, amended or
repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order
which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the
evidence and information submitted;  (2)  A brief
summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of
procedure is being adopted or amended;  (3)  A
decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or
to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and
information received;  (4)  The exact text and
citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)
Any other findings or conclusions required by the
law under which the agency has authority to act;
and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the
agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts,
amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less
than 10 days from the date the order adopting,
amending or repealing a regulation has been pub-
lished in its final form in the Register of Regula-
tions, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal
qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the
unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an
action in the Court for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the
making or consideration of a proposed adoption,
amendment or repeal of a regulation shall be sub-
ject to review until final agency action on the pro-
posal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an
enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of
such regulation may be reviewed by the Court as a
defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section,

no judicial review of a regulation is available
unless a complaint therefor is filed in the Court
within 30 days of the day the agency order with
respect to the regulation was published in the
Register of Regulations. 

CLOSING DATES AND ISSUE DATES 
FOR THE DELAWARE REGISTER 

OF REGULATIONS

ISSUE          CLOSING CLOSING
DATE           DATE        TIME

SEPTEMBER 1 AUGUST 15 4:30 P.M.
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Walter G. Feindt, Deputy Director; Judi
Abbott, Administrative Specialist I; Sandra F.
Clark, Administrative Specialist II; Jeffrey W.
Hague, Registrar of Regulations; Ruth Ann
Melson, Legislative Librarian; Deborah J.
Messina, Print Shop Supervisor; Kathleen
Morris, Unit Operations Support Specialist; Alex
W. Mull, Assistant Registrar; Deborah A. Porter,
Interim Supervisor; Lisa Schieffert, Research
Analyst; Victoria Schultes, Administrative
Specialist II; Ted Segletes, Paralegal;  Don
Sellers, Printer; Alice W. Stark, Legislative
Attorney;   Marvin L. Stayton, Printer; Rochelle
Yerkes, Administrative Specialist II.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 2, FRIDAY, AUGUST 1, 2003



115
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Cumulative Tables................................................. .......  117

PROPOSED

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Standardbred Breeder's Fund Regulations............ .......   119

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

275  Charter Schools ............................................ .......   125
615  School Attendance......................................... .......   130
881 Releasing Students to Persons other than 

their Parents or Legal Guardians ................... .......   131

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Reg.55.0,  Neighborhood Homes for Persons with
Developmental Disabilities............................ .......   132

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

DSSM: 
9081.3, Exempt Aliens................................... .......   150
9085, Reporting Changes............................... .......   150

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

Delaware Prevailing Wage Regulation................. .......   152

FINAL

DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

Board of Nursing................................................... .......   158

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT PROGRAM

703 Mandatory Nutrient Management Plan 
Reporting Implementation Regulation........... .......   160

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

301 General Regulations for Certification of 
Professional Public School Personnel ........... ......    161

605 Student Rights and Responsibilities .............. ......    187
905 Federal Programs General Complaint

Procedures...................................................... ......    188
1530 Certification Administrative - School

Principal.......................................................... ......    190
1531 Certification Administrative – School

Leader I.......................................................... ......    190
1532 Certification Administrative – School

Leader II......................................................... ......    190
1511 Issuance And Renewal Of Continuing

License........................................................... ......    197

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY

Video Lottery, Section 5.1, Technology
Providers: Contracts; Requirements; Duties, 
Section 7.15, Game Requirements................. ......    202

Video Lottery, Section 5.0, Technology
Providers: Contracts; Requirements; Duties,
Section 6.0, Agents:  Duties,  Section 7.0,
Game Requirements....................................... ......    206

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

14300 Citizenship And Alienage........................... ......    212

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
DIVISION OF SECURITIES

Delaware Securities Act, Sections 600, 601, 608, 
700 and 610.................................................... ......    213

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND 
ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL

DIVISION OF FISH & WILDLIFE

Horseshoe Crab Regs., HC-1 thru HC-14.............. ......    220
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 2, FRIDAY, AUGUST 1, 2003

http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/index.htm
http://www.doe.state.de.us/
http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
http://www.delaware.gov/agencies/DeptLabor/Employment_Services
http://www.state.de.us/deptagri/nutrients/index.htm
http://www.professionallicensing.state.de.us/boards/nursing/index.shtml
http://www.doe.state.de.us/
http://lottery.state.de.us/
http://www.state.de.us/attgen/index.htm
http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/DNREC2000/Divisions/FW/FW.htm


TABLE OF CONTENTS116
GENERAL NOTICES

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

DMAP: Rehabilitative Services/Community Support
Services Program........................................... .......   225

CALENDAR OF EVENTS/HEARING 

Dept. of Agriculture, Standardbred Breeder's Fund
Regulations, Notice of Public Hearing.......... .......   230

State Board of Education, Notice of 
Monthly Meeting..................................... ......     230

DHSS, Div. of Long Term Care Residents Protection,
Neighborhood Homes for Persons with
Developmental Disabilities, Regulations for,
Notice of Public Hearing................................ .......   230

Div. of Social Services, DSSM 9081.3, Exempt
Aliens and DSSM 9085, Reporting Changes,
Notice of Public Comment Period................. .......   231

Dept. of Labor, Delaware Prevailing Wage
Regulation, Notice of Public Hearing............ .......   231
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 2, FRIDAY, AUGUST 1, 2003

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html


CUMULATIVE TABLES 117

The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed
in the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that
issue of the Register in which the regulation was published.  Proposed regulations are designated with
(Prop.); Final regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with
(Emer.); and regulations that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION (TITLE 24 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)

100  Board of Accountancy.................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.     7(Prop.)
700  Board of Chiropractic..................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   36(Final)
5300  Board of Massage and Bodywork................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.   40(Final)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Harness Racing Commission

Rule 7.0, Rules of the Race, Sections 7.6.6.3 and 7.3.9......................................................... 7  DE Reg.   42(Final)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION  (TITLE 14 DELAWARE ADMINISTRATIVE CODE)
101  Delaware Student Testing Program........................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.    51(Final)
103  School Accountability for Academic Performance............................................................... 7  DE Reg.    57(Final)
104  Education Profiles for the Schools, Districts and the State.................................................... 7  DE Reg.    65(Final)
215  Strategic Planning.................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    10(Prop.)
608  Unsafe School Choice Option for Students in Persistently Dangerous Schools and for

Students Who Have Been Victims of a Violent Felony.......................................................... 7  DE Reg.    67(Final)
610  Comprehensive School Discipline Program.......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    10(Prop.)
811  School Health Record Keeping Requirements,...................................................................... 7  DE Reg.     68(Final)
815  Physical Examinations and Screening .................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.     68(Final)
817 Administration of Medications and Treatments...................................................................... 7  DE Reg.     68(Final)
878  Guidelines for the School Districts to Comply with the Gun Free Schools Act.................... 7  DE Reg.    12(Prop.)
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD
1504  Delaware Performance Appraisal System for Administrators 7  DE Reg.    13(Prop.)
1593  Delaware Professional Teaching Standards......................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    75(Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS PROTECTION

Adult Abuse Registry, Regulations Governing....................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    82(Final)
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Pre-Hospital Advanced Care Directive Regulations.............................................................. 7  DE Reg.    85(Final)
Public Drinking Water Systems, Regulations Governing....................................................... 7  DE Reg.    94(Final)

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 4.18, Client Cost Sharing for 

Pharmaceutical Services.................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    23(Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 4.19-C, Standards for Payment of Reserved

Beds During Absence from Long-Term Care Facilities.................................................. 7  DE Reg.    28(Prop.)
DSSM
5100 Legal Base...................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96(Final)
5304 Jurisdiction..................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96(Final)
5312 Responses to Hearing Requests..................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96(Final)
5402 Hearings on Decisions................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    96(Final)
5403 Availability of Documents and Records........................................................................ 7  DE Reg.    96(Final)
5405 Fair Hearing Procedures................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.    96(Final)
9007.1  Citizenship and Alien Status...................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    29(Prop.)
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 2, FRIDAY, AUGUST 1, 2003



CUMULATIVE TABLES118
9038, Verification Subsequent to Initial Certification............................................................ 7  DE Reg.    30(Prop.)
9063.3, Income Averaging...................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    30(Prop.)
9085. Reporting Changes........................................................................................................ 7  DE Reg.    30(Prop.)
15120.2, Financial Eligibility................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.    32(Prop.)
15200, Transitional Medicaid/Initial Eligibility..................................................................... 7  DE Reg.    32(Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Reg. 1310, Standards for Prompt, Fair and Equitable Settlement of Claims for Health Care

Services ................................................................................................................................. 7  DE Reg.  100(Final)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF AIR AND WASTE MANAGEMENT

Reg. No. 38, Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories,
Subpart B......................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.     6(Errata)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE
Executive Order No. 44, Creating Principles for Responsible Industry in Delaware............. 7  DE Reg.   103
Executive Order No. 45, Amendment to Executive Order 20 Regarding State

Employees’ Charitable Campaign................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   104
Appointments.......................................................................................................................... 7  DE Reg.   105

HUMAN RELATIONS COMMISSION
Rule 10, Voluntary Termination and Dismissal & Rule 27, Reconsideration................................ 7  DE Reg.     34(Prop.)
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 2, FRIDAY, AUGUST 1, 2003



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 2, FRIDAY, AUGUST 1, 2003

119

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code,

Sections 4815(b)(3)b.2.D & 8103(8)
(29 Del.C. §§ 4815(b)(3)b.2.D & 8103 (8))

Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Regulations

The Department proposes these amendments to the
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Regulations pursuant to 29
Del.C. §4815(b)(3)b.2.D and 29 Del.C. §8103(8). Its
purpose in proposing these amendments is to comply with
Delaware Harness Racing Commission Rules, to make the
program language more specific under certain racing
conditions, to promote fairness, and to allow the races to be
contested within the normal racing card at Harrington
Raceway and Dover Downs. These proposed amendments to
the regulations will be considered at a public hearing
scheduled for Friday, September 5, 2003 at 1:00 P.M. at the
Delaware Department of Agriculture Building in Conference
Room 1. Copies of the proposed amendments may be
obtained from Ms. Judy Davis-Wilson, Director, Delaware
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund by calling (302) 698-4610.
Public comments may be submitted in writing to Ms. Davis-
Wilson on or before September 5, 2003. Also, written
submissions and/or oral comments are welcomed at the
public hearing. The Delaware Department of Agriculture is
located at 2320 South DuPont Highway, Dover, Delaware.

1.0 Introduction
1.1 These regulations are authorized pursuant to

§4815(b)(3)b.2.D of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, which
established in the State of Delaware a Delaware

Standardbred Breeder’s Program (herein “the Program”) for:
1.1.1 Standardbred horses; 
1.1.2 bred in a manner prescribed in Section 2.0

herein;
1.1.3 the product of a registered Delaware

stallion;
1.1.4 who are registered and whose sire and

mare are registered with the Delaware Harness Racing
Commission (herein “the Commission”) and the
Administrator of the Breeder’s Program (herein “the
Administrator”) as such; and,

1.1.5 listed in their registry books. 
1.2 Those horses eligible to race under said Delaware

Standardbred Breeder’s Program shall be any foal of any
registered Delaware stallion standing at a Delaware breeding
farm and either owned by a resident of the State of Delaware
or owned by a non-resident who holds a lease for a period of
the breeding season and will stand the stallion for that full
season on a Delaware breeding farm. A copy of any such
lease shall be filed with the United States Trotting
Association, the Administrator of the Breeder’s Program,
and the Delaware Harness Racing Commission.  

1.3 The Board of the Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s
Program (herein “the Board”) is authorized to do all that is
reasonable and necessary for the proper administration of the
Program and shall prepare, issue and promulgate rules and
regulations providing for:

1.3.1 Classes and divisions of races, eligibility
of horses and owners therefor and purses and bonuses to be
awarded;

1.3.2 Nominating, sustaining and entry fees on
horses and races;

1.3.3 Such temporary programs including

Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text.
Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.-

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it shall file
notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted, amended or repealed, with
the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this title.  The notice shall describe the nature
of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance, issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference
to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the
proposal, and shall state the manner in which persons may present their views;  if in writing, of the place to which and the final
date by which such views may be submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing.  If a public
hearing is to be held, such public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the
proposal in the Register of Regulations.  If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general circulation;   The
notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for advance notice of its
regulation-making proceedings.
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eligibility of horses, breeding, and other matters as may be
necessary to make the Program operable as soon as possible;

1.3.4 Registration and certification of Delaware
stallions, mares bred to such stallions and foals produced
thereby; and,

1.3.5 Such other matters as the board determines
to be necessary and appropriate for the proper administration
and implementation of the Program.

1.4 The funds for the Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s
Program pursuant to §4815(b)(3) of Title 29 of the Delaware
Code and any nominating, sustaining and entry fees
provided for herein shall be administered by the Delaware
Department of Agriculture by deposit in a trust account
entitled Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund. The Board
of the Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s Program shall
approve an annual budget including the payment of purses
and awards, cost of administration, reimbursement of
expenses of members of the Board, promotional expenses,
and any other appropriate expenses.  The budget shall be
administered by the Secretary of Agriculture or his designee
in consultation with the Board and in a manner consistent
with the state laws and procedures. A report shall be
prepared and filed annually by the secretary with the
Delaware Harness Racing Commission and the Board of the
Breeder’s Program Fund setting forth an itemization of all
deposits to and expenditures from said fund.

1.5 Races for the Program shall be run at each licensed
harness track in the State of Delaware. Said races and purses
and awards awarded therefore shall be pursuant to the rules
and regulations of the Board of the Delaware Standardbred
Breeder’s Program hereunder, and the Delaware Harness
Racing Commission.

1.6 The Board of the Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s
Program can amend these regulations through a vote of 2/3
majority of the entire board.  Changes to the rules of
eligibility for the Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s Program
will be effective at the beginning of the next breeding season
and the corresponding racing season.

2.0 Definitions.  The following words and terms, when
used in this part for the purposes of the Delaware
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Program, have the following
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

“Bred” shall refer to any form of insemination inside
the State of Delaware by a Delaware sire, including
insemination using semen transported within the State of
Delaware, provided that such semen is not frozen or
desiccated in any way or at any time. Bred shall also refer to
foals of mares bred outside the State of Delaware by a
Delaware sire through interstate semen transportation when
such semen is not frozen or desiccated in any way or at any
time, provided that owners of mares that produce foals from
Delaware sires eligible for this program that are bred through
interstate semen transportation shall not be eligible for

bonuses paid to owners of mares under the Delaware
Standardbred Breeder’s Program set forth in Section 4
herein. A foal conceived through embryo transplantation is
not eligible for nomination to the Delaware Standardbred
Breeder’s Program under any circumstances.

“Breeder” is the owner of the dam at the time of
breeding through foaling. 

“Breeding Season” season runs from February 15th to
December 31st of the calendar year.

“Delaware-bred horse” is a standardbred by a
Delaware sire and registered with the Harness Racing
Commission and Administrator of the Breeder’s Program,
provided that for the purposes of determining eligibility for
race years 2002 and 2003 Delaware-bred horses shall also
include any foal of a 100% wholly owned mare at the time of
breeding through foaling by a Delaware resident registered
with the Harness Racing Commission and Administrator of
the Breeder’s Program by August 15th of the yearling year.

“Delaware resident” is as defined in §10032 of Title 3
of the Delaware Code.

“Delaware sire” is a standardbred stallion that regularly
stands for a breeding season in Delaware, does not compete
for purses, and is registered with the Harness Racing
Commission and Administrator of the Breeder’s Program. A
Delaware sire may be: a) owned by a resident of the State of
Delaware and standing the entire breeding season in the
State of Delaware; or b) owned by a resident of a state other
than Delaware, but standing the entire breeding season in
Delaware, verified by a copy of a the lease filed with the
Administrator of the Program and the Harness Racing
Commission at the time of registration for the Program, as
provided in section 1.1 above; or c) owned jointly by a
resident (or residents) and non-resident (or non-residents) of
Delaware and standing the entire breeding season in
Delaware with the same lease requirements as in b) above.

“Private Treaty” No stallion participating in the
Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s Program may be offered
under private treaty.  Each stallion registered in the Delaware
Standardbred Breeder’s Program must make public the
maximum possible breeding fee. 

2.1 Such definitions shall not affect the use of that term
by the Delaware Harness Racing Commission for purposes
other than for the Breeder's Fund Program.

3.0 Eligibility for Delaware-bred races.
3.1 To be eligible for races under the Program for race

years 2002 and 2003, a horse, which shall be registered with
the Administrator and Commission by August 15th of its
yearling year, shall be: 1) the product of a 100% wholly
owned mare at the time of breeding through foaling by a
Delaware resident, which mare shall be registered with the
Administrator and Commission by August 15, 2000 for the
breeding seasons of 1999 and 2000 and by August 15, 2001
for the breeding season of 2001; and/or, 2) the product of a
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Delaware-sire, which sire shall be registered with the
Administrator and Commission by March 1, 2000 for the
breeding seasons of 1999 and 2000 and by August 15, 2001
for the breeding season of 2001. 

3.2 To be eligible for races under the Program for race
year 2004, the horse shall be a Delaware sired 2 year old
registered with the Administrator and Commission by
August 15th of its yearling year or a 3 year old product of a
100% wholly owned mare at the time of breeding through
foaling by a Delaware resident, which mare shall have been
registered with the Administrator and Commission by
August 15, 2000 for the breeding seasons of 1999 and 2000
and by August 15, 2001 for the breeding season of 2001 or a
3 year old product of a Delaware-sire, which sire shall have
been registered with the Administrator and Commission by
March 1, 2000 for the breeding seasons of 1999 and 2000
and by August 15, 2001 for the breeding season of 2001. 

3.3 To be eligible for races under the Program for race
year 2005 and thereafter, the horse shall be a Delaware sired
2 or 3year old registered with the Administrator and
Commission by August 15th of its yearling year. 

4.0 Eligibility of breeders for bonus payments.
Bonus payments of eight percent (8%) of money earned

in the Program by the foals shall be paid to the owner of the
mare at the time of breeding that is bred to Delaware sires to
produce that foal.  Bonus payments of two percent (2%) of
money earned in the Program by the foals shall be paid to
owners of stallions standing in Delaware. In order for a
Delaware-bred horse to be eligible to earn an award for its
breeder, in a race conducted by a licensed harness race track
in Delaware, the foals, mares, and stallions shall be
registered in accordance with these regulations with the
Harness Racing Commission and Administrator of the
Breeder’s Program prior to entry for the race. In race year
2002, bonus payments shall be restricted to 2-year-olds.  For
race years 2003 and thereafter, bonus payments shall not
exceed $70,000. In the event such payments would exceed
these limits, owners eligible for bonus payments shall
receive a prorated share of those monies allocated toward the
payment of bonus payments.

5.0 Eligibility of owners of Delaware sires for awards.
In order for a Delaware sire to be eligible to earn an

award for its owner, the sire shall have been registered as a
sire of Delaware with the Harness Racing Commission and
Administrator of the Breeder’s Program during each
breeding season when the sire inseminated the dams that, as
a result of that insemination, produced Delaware-breds. To
be eligible for a sire award, it is necessary that the foal
entitling the sire owner to the award be itself registered in
accordance with these regulations.

6.0 Records of registration.
Foals and sires eligible for registration shall be

registered on official registration forms approved by the
Harness Racing Commission and maintained by the
Administrator of the Breeder’s Program. The registrar shall
certify thereon the name and address of the owner, breeder,
farm where mare was inseminated, farm on which this horse
was foaled, owner of stallion at time the mare was
inseminated, owner of the mare at the time of breeding,
notice of semen transfer, stallion by which the mare was
inseminated following the birth of the standardbred to be
registered, breeder social security or tax identification
number, United States Trotting Association registration
number, name of foal, color and sex of foal, date of foaling,
sire, dam, sire of the dam, signature of the owner, or breeder
or authorized representative and the date of application.  The
registration record shall be maintained at the Administrator
of the Breeder’s Program and be open to public inspection
during normal business days and hours at the State
Department of Agriculture. Immediately upon completion
and filing of the form, the Administrator of the Breeder’s
Program shall cause a correct copy of it to be filed with the
offices of the State Department of Agriculture. 

7.0 Appeals.
A person having an interest in a matter concerning the

registration of a horse in the Breeder’s Program shall have
the right to file objections or exceptions to a registration and
to the facts set forth therein within 30 days of the filing of the
copy of the registration with the Administrator and the
Delaware Harness Racing Commission. The objections or
exceptions shall be filed in writing with the Administrator of
the Breeder’s Program and a duplicate delivered to the
Harness Racing Commission within the 30-day time period.
An interested party aggrieved of an action taken by the
Administrator may appeal to the Commission in the manner
prescribed for appeals.  The Commission shall hear and
determine an appeal de novo. In the absence of objections or
exceptions timely made, a registration shall be deemed final
and binding and an official record of the Commission at the
expiration of the 30th day of the delivery to the Commission.
The Commission shall thereafter have the right on its own
motion to correct an error or inaccuracy that it may find
within the records. 

8.0 Records of expenses.
The Administrator of the Breeder’s Program shall

maintain a complete record of reasonable and necessary
expenses and will submit quarterly estimates to the Board
and the Secretary of Agriculture, on the basis of which the
Secretary may disburse advances. The quarterly estimated
statements of expenses and advances shall be reconciled
annually with a certified statement of expenses to be
prepared by an auditor approved in advance by the Board.
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The Board may thereafter review them and after approval of
allowable items shall then reimburse the Administrator of
the Breeder’s Program for expenses the Board finds
reasonable and appropriate to this program. If advances on
account of expenses exceed actual expenses as approved at
the end of a given year, the excess shall be deemed disbursed
on account of the ensuing year’s expenses. 

9.0 Purses and Bonus Awards
9.1 A purse or bonus awarded under this section shall

be in accordance with the standards for purses at each racing
meet as approved by order of the Commission. The racing
association shall maintain a separate ledger of such purses
and bonuses and shall transmit a certified copy of
allowances, bonus payments, and purses made no later than
the 10th day of each month of the meet to the Commission.
After the Commission has reviewed and approved them, it
shall reimburse the racing association for the advances made
which the Commission finds proper. 

9.2 Administrator of the Breeder’s Program shall
compile awards earned by breeders and owners of Delaware
sires and maintain a separate ledger of them. A certified
report of awards earned shall be forwarded to the
Commission on a monthly basis during the racing season.
The list of awards will be forwarded to Administrator of the
Breeder’s Program who shall ensure payment to the
awardees, subject to approval by the Commission.

9.3 A person interested in the awards, allowances,
prizes and purses and objecting to calculations or
determinations thereof as shown on the records of the
Administrator of the Breeder’s Program and the Harness
Racing Commission shall be responsible for taking written
appeals to the Commission in the manner provided for
appeals from decisions of the Administrator pertaining to
registrations. 

9.4 The Board will have the right to review and
approve fees and charges imposed by the Administrator of
the Breeder’s Program. The charge or fee may not be
imposed without prior approval by the Board. 

9.5 Records, funds and accounts of funds, prizes,
purses, allowances and awards under this program shall be
maintained separate from other records, funds and accounts
and may not become co-mingled with other matters.  The
records, funds and accounts shall be kept continuously open
for inspection by the Administrator of the Breeder’s
Program. 

10.0 Responsibilities-Owners or lessees of
standardbred stallions and mares

10.1 An owner or lessee of a standardbred stallion
who desires to use him for breeding purposes and to have
him qualify for the Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund
Program, shall register the stallion by December 1st of the
approaching breeding season with the Delaware Harness

Racing Commission and the Administrator of the Breeder’s
Program or by January 1st of the approaching breeding
season with an additional supplemental fee equal to the
standard registration fee. For breeding season 1999 and
2000, an owner or lessee of a standardbred stallion who
desires to use him for breeding purposes and to have him
qualify for the Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund
Program, shall register the stallion by March 1, 2000. Unless
the stallion is contracted to stand at stud in the southern
hemisphere, the stallion shall stand in the State of Delaware
for the remainder of the breeding season. If a stallion is
contracted to stand at stud in the southern hemisphere, a
copy of said contract must be provided to the Administrator
of the Program and the Harness Racing Commission at the
time of application for eligibility in the Program or, in the
event the contract is entered into at a subsequent date, within
ten days of entering into the contract.  A virgin standardbred
stallion entering stud for the first time shall be registered
prior to his first breeding and shall stand in the State of
Delaware the remainder of the breeding season, unless he is
contracted to stand at stud in the southern hemisphere. A
stallion shall be registered on an application for standardbred
stallion certificate for eligibility established by the
Administrator of the Breeder’s Program in consultation with
the Harness Racing Commission.

10.2 An owner or lessee of a stallion eligible for the
Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund Program shall
designate a resident of Delaware as the authorized agent who
shall be responsible for the registrations and records of the
farm; and complying with the requirements of the Delaware
Standardbred Breeders’ Fund Program. The "Authorized
Agent" form shall be filed with the stallion registration.

10.3 In order for foals of 100% wholly owned mares
at the time of breeding through foaling by a Delaware
resident to be eligible for races under the Program for race
years 2002 and 2003, said mares shall be registered with the
Administrator and Commission by August 15, 2000 for the
breeding seasons of 1999 and 2000. No fee shall be charged
for registering said mare.

11.0 Sire Registration Fees
11.1 Sires shall initially register for the Delaware

Standardbred Breeder’s Program no later than December 1st
of the approaching breeding season, or no later than January
1st with an additional supplemental registration fee equal to
the regular registration fee. For sires registering in breeding
season 2000, sires shall initially register for the Delaware
Standardbred Breeder’s Program no later than March 1,
2000.

11.2 All fees must accompany this registration and
must be submitted by registered or certified mail.  

11.3 Registration fees for the Delaware
Standardbred Breeder’s Program are non-refundable.

11.4 Sire registration fee for a stallion shall be
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$500.00. Sire registration for those sires standing in the State
of Delaware and registering for breeding seasons prior to
2001 in accordance with these regulations shall be charged a
single fee of $250.00.

11.5 The annual stallion registration fee may be
used to offset reasonable expenses related to administering
and promoting the Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s
Program.  Any fees beyond reasonable expenses shall be
invested in the endowment account of the Delaware
Standardbred Breeder’s Program. 

11.6 The annual stallion registration fee may be
used to offset reasonable expenses related to administering
and promoting the Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s
Program.  Any fees beyond reasonable expenses shall be
invested in the endowment account of the Delaware
Standardbred Breeder’s Program. An owner of a
standardbred stallion registered with the Administrator and
Commission shall submit by December 1st of each year the
stallion registration fee, or January 1st with the supplemental
fee provided in section 10 above and a report for each
stallion that states each mare bred by said stallion during the
preceding twelve (12) months. For breeding seasons prior to
breeding season 2001, an owner of a standardbred stallion
registered with the Administrator and Commission shall
submit by March 1, 2000 the stallion registration fee of $250
and any other documentation required by the Administrator
and Commission to verify where the stallion stood during the
period for which the stallion or its progeny seek to register.

12.0 Sire Renewal Fees
12.1 The registration of a stallion that remains in the

state for more than one (1) breeding season shall be renewed
annually.

12.2 The annual renewal fee for registration of
stallions to the Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund
Program shall be $500.

12.3 The annual stallion registration fee may be
used to offset reasonable expenses related to administering
and promoting the Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s
Program.  Any fees beyond reasonable expenses shall be
invested in the endowment account of the Delaware
Standardbred Breeder’s Program. An owner of a
standardbred stallion registered with the Administrator and
Commission shall submit by December 1st of each year the
stallion registration fee and a report for each stallion that
states each mare bred by said stallion during the preceding
twelve (12) months.

13.0 Penalties and Suspension from the Program 
13.1 If an owner or a lessee of a registered stallion

fails to furnish information the Administrator of the
Breeder’s Program has requested relating to the registration
or renewal of registration of a horse, the Administrator of the
Breeder’s Program shall:

13.1.1 Suspend or deny the registration of the
stallion; and

13.1.2 Schedule a hearing within thirty days of
the denial or suspension.

13.1.2.1 After the hearing, the
Administrator of the Breeder’s Program shall determine
within ten working days whether the failure to furnish
information was willful; and:

13.1.2.1.1 Suspend the registration; or
13.1.2.1.2 Rescind its suspension of the

registration; or
13.1.2.1.3 Deny or revoke the

registration; or
13.1.2.1.4 Deny or revoke the

registration and bar from further registration, horses owned
by the person who executed the application containing false
or misleading information.

13.1.2.2 If the Administrator of the
Breeder’s Program determines that a registration is incorrect,
or an application for registration, renewal of registration, or
transfer of a registered stallion contains false or misleading
information, the Administrator shall:

13.1.2.2.1 Suspend or deny the
registration of the stallion; and

13.1.2.2.2 Summon the person who
executed the application, and any person who has knowledge
relating to the application, to appear before the
Administrator at a hearing;

13.1.2.3 After the hearing, the
Administrator of the Breeder’s Program shall determine
within ten working days whether the person knew or had
reason to know that the information was false or misleading,
and:

13.1.2.3.1 Rescind its suspension or
denial of the registration; or

13.1.2.3.2 Suspend, deny, or revoke the
registration; or

13.1.2.3.3 Deny or revoke the
registration and bar from further registration, horses owned
by the person who executed the application containing false
or misleading information.

13.1.2.4 If a person summoned by the
Administrator of the Breeder’s Program fails to respond to
the summons within ten working days, the Administrator of
the Breeder’s Program shall

13.1.2.4.1 suspend or deny the
registration of the stallion;

13.1.2.4.2 notify the person in writing
of the action taken by the Commission; and

13.1.2.4.3 may deny or revoke the
registration and bar from further registration, horses owned
by the person who executed the application containing false
or misleading information.

13.2 Appeals of decisions to deny or suspend
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registrations by the Administrator of the Breeder’s Program
may be appealed to the Delaware Harness Racing
Commission within thirty days of the action by the
Administrator of the Breeder’s Program, subject to the same
rules and procedures for handling appeals established for the
Delaware Harness Racing Commission.

14.0 Races
14.1 The purses for all races, including walkovers,

under this Breeder’s Program shall be distributed on the
following percentage basis: 50-25-12-8-5.  Points to qualify
for the finals shall be distributed on the same percentage
basis.  In fields with more than five horses, places six
through nine shall receive 4-3-2-1 points, respectively.

14.2 In the case of dead heats, points for the two
positions shall be divided equally among those horses
finishing in a dead heat.  For example, if two horses finish in
a dead heat for second, those horses would divide 25 plus 12
points to receive 18.5 percent of the purse or 18.5 qualifying
points each.  In the case of a tie in points, the fastest time in
either elimination shall determine the horse eligible to enter
the final.  In the case of horses tied in points that have
recorded identical times, the amount of the horses’ lifetime
earnings will decide the horse eligible to enter the final.  In
the case where points, times, and lifetime earnings are equal,
the eligible horse shall be drawn by lot.  All horses must start
in on elimination in order to start in the final.

14.3 The percentage basis established by subsection
(1) of this section shall apply at each of the associations
licensed by the Delaware Harness Racing Commission.

14.4 If circumstances prevent the racing of an event,
and the race is not drawn, all stake payments shall be
refunded to the purse account of the Delaware Standardbred
Breeder’s Fund Program.

14.5 The monies provided for purses and bonus
payments shall be distributed evenly between the races of
each:

14.5.1 Age;
14.5.2 Sex; and
14.5.3 Gait.

14.6 The minimum purses for elimination races for
both pacers and trotters shall be $5,000.  The minimum
purses for finals shall be $30,000.  The Board of the
Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s Program, pursuant to a
recommendation from the Administrator of the Program,
may agree to increase purses should funds and other
conditions permit.

14.7  No horse is eligible to declare unless it has at
least one charted satisfactory performance line within 30
days of declaration and must meet the following qualifying
standards:

2 Year Olds 3 Year Olds
Pacers Trotters Pacers Trotter
2:10 2:14 2:06 2:12

14.8 Horses that meet the qualifying standards for a
preliminary leg at each racetrack are qualified for all
subsequent legs and the final at that racetrack.

14.9 The Administrator of the Delaware
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Program shall be responsible
for races conducted under the Delaware Standardbred
Breeder’s Fund Program and shall ensure that:

14.9.1 each track declares the time specified for
races under this program by proper notice and racing dates
are issued for sires stakes after the track’s race dates are set.

14.9.2 entry for races run under the Delaware
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Program is required to be
received by the Racing Office by noon three days in advance
of the scheduled race date in a box designated for this
purpose. 

14.9.3 The Eligibility and class of all horses
running in races is carefully screened.

14.9.4 The Administrator, or his/her designee, is
present for the judges’ draw for all races conducted under the
Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Program

14.10 Beginning in 2004, the minimum purse for
elimination races for 2-year old trotters and pacers shall be
$7,500.00 and the minimum purse for finals shall be
$75,000.00.

14.11 Beginning in 2005, the minimum purse for
elimination races for 2 and 3-year old trotters and pacers
shall be $7,500.00 and the minimum purse for finals shall be
$75,000.00

15.0 Nominations and Sustaining Payments.
15.1 Nomination and sustaining payments shall be

made to the Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s Fund in U.S.
funds.

15.2 A fee payment required by this section shall be
postmarked no later than the due date that is specified for the
fee by this section.

15.3 Beginning with the yearlings of 2001, the
yearling nomination fee shall be:

15.3.1 Forty (40) dollars each; and
15.3.2 Due by August 15 of the yearling year.

15.4 A nomination shall be accompanied by a
photocopy of the United States Trotting Association
registration certificate.  Supplemental fees of $25 shall be
assessed if the USTA registration certificate does not
accompany the nomination.  No nomination shall be
accepted where a USTA registration certificate is not
obtained and submitted within 60 days of nomination to the
Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s Program.

15.5 If the August 15 deadline to nominate a
yearling is missed, a late supplemental payment of $350
shall be required. The late supplemental payment shall be
accepted if a) it is received by April 1 of the two (2) year old
year; and b) the two (2) year old March 15th payment has
been made.



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 2, FRIDAY, AUGUST 1, 2003

125

15.6 Sustaining payments shall be as follows:
15.6.1 Two (2) Year Old payments.

March 15th $100.00 (must be made to
ensure eligibility as a three (3) year old);

May 15th $200.00;
Declaration Fee (for each track) $500.00

15.6.2 Three (3) year old payments.
March 15th $300.00
Declaration fee (for each track) $500.00

16.0 Investment Plan and Use of Fees
16.1 All proceeds received pursuant to

§4815(b)(3)b.2.D. of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, which
established in the State of Delaware a Delaware
Standardbred Breeder’s Program (herein “the Program”) and
any interest earned on these monies shall be invested in an
endowment account until race year 2002.

16.2 For race year 2002, five hundred thousand
dollars ($500,000) of the proceeds received pursuant to
§4815(b)(3)b.2.D. of Title 29 of the Delaware Code, which
established in the State of Delaware a Delaware
Standardbred Breeder’s Program (herein “the Program”) and
any interest earned on that money in the preceding twelve
(12) months shall be deposited in a separate purse account
for purses and bonus for that race year. For race year 2002,
one million five hundred thousand dollars ($1,500,000) of
the proceeds received pursuant to §4815(b)(3)b.2.D. of Title
29 of the Delaware Code, which established in the State of
Delaware a Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s Program
(herein “the Program”) shall be deposited in the endowment
account.

16.3 For race year 2003 and each race year
thereafter, one million dollars ($1,000,000) of the proceeds
received pursuant to §4815(b)(3)b.2.D. of Title 29 of the
Delaware Code, which established in the State of Delaware a
Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s Program (herein “the
Program”) and any interest earned on that money in the
preceding twelve (12) months shall be deposited in a
separate purse account for purses and bonus for that race
year. Beginning January 1, 2003 and for each race year
thereafter, one million dollars ($1,000,000) of the proceeds
received pursuant to §4815(b)(3)b.2.D. of Title 29 of the
Delaware Code, which established in the State of Delaware a
Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s Program (herein “the
Program”) shall be deposited in the endowment account.

16.4 Any monies from the purse account for the
Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Program at the end
of the race year shall revert to the endowment account of the
Delaware Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Program.

16.5 For race year 2004 and each race year
thereafter, two million dollars ($2,000,000) of the monies
received pursuant to  §4815(b)(3)b.2.D. of Title 29 of the
Delaware Code, and any interest earned on that money in the

preceding twelve (12) months, shall be deposited in a
separate purse account for purses and bonuses for race year
2004 and for each year thereafter.

See 5 DE Reg. 1274 (12/1/01)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 275

Statutory Authority:  14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

275 Charter Schools

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the

State Board of Education to amend regulation 275 Charter
Schools.  A change was made in 4.5.3 on the requirements of
the charter school applicant to provide for the health and
safety of students, employees and guests.  An addition was
made as 8.1.1 that now addresses the enrollment preferences
for founding members of the charter school.  Changes to
10.3 were made to clarify the circumstances that are
necessary for the renewal of school charters and the words
Relative Caregiver were capitalized in the definitions in 2.0.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amendments to the regulation specifically
address the management of charter schools which can be a
factor in improving student achievement. 

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?  The amendments to
the regulation address the management of the charter schools
in order to assure equity of treatment for charter school
students.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amended regulation does address health and safety in the
changes made to section 4.5.3 of the regulation.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation
addresses charter school administration which assists in
protecting students’ legal rights.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level?  The amended regulation will
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
making at the school level.

http://www.doe.state.de.us/
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6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation will not place  unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local school level.

7. Will the decision making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulation is consistent with and not
an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulation?  The amended
regulation is necessary in order to clarify certain elements of
school charters.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There may be
additional costs to the charter schools for compliance with
this regulation especially the amendments concerning
provisions for the health and safety of students employees
and guests.

275 Charter Schools

1.0 Purpose and Effect
1.1 The purpose of these regulations is to provide rules

to govern the implementation of Chapter 5 of Title 14 of the
Delaware Code (hereafter, the “Charter School Law”).   

1.2 These regulations establish the requirements for
applying for a charter to operate a public school, and for
opening and operating the school, when a charter is granted
by the Department of Education with the approval of the
State Board of Education.

1.3 These regulations affect students who attend
Charter Schools, the parents and other care givers of these
students, the directors, staff and administrators of the Charter
Schools, and the students, staff, administrators and boards of
the reorganized school districts of the State.

1.4 These regulations shall bind all Charter Schools and
are incorporated into all charters approved by the
Department with the consent of the State Board.

See 6 DE Reg. 274 (9/1/02)

2.0 Definitions. The following definitions apply for
purposes of interpreting the Charter School Law and these
regulations:

Accountability Committee: Any Charter School
Accountability Committee established by the Department to
review  and report to the Department as provided in Sections
511 and 515 of the Charter School Law.

Applicant: A legal entity organized under the Delaware
General Corporation Law that has applied to the Department
for, but not yet received, a charter to operate a charter school,
or the renewal or modification of such a charter, as the
context indicates.

Audit: An informal financial, programmatic, or
compliance audit of a charter school.

Charter Holder: The legal entity organized under the
Delaware General Corporation Law to which a charter is
issued by the Department with the approval of the State
Board.

Charter School: A non-home based full time public
school that is operated in an approved physical plant under a
charter granted by the Department with the approval of the
State Board for the personal physical attendance of all
students.

DSTP: The Delaware Student Testing Program
established at 14 Del.C. §151, et.seq., and, as the context
requires, the assessments administered pursuant to the
program.

Department: The Delaware Department of Education
First Instructional Day: The first day a Charter School

is open with students in attendance.
Formal Review: The lawful investigation of a Charter

School to determine whether the school is violating the terms
of its charter. Formal reviews may include, but are not
limited to, on site visits, inspection of educational records
and other documents, and interviews of parents, Charter
School employees and others with knowledge of the school’s
operations and educational programs. 

Founding Board of Directors: The duly elected Board
of Directors of an Applicant at the time the original
application for a charter is filed with the Department. 

Parent: The natural or adoptive parent, or the legal
guardian, of a student enrolled in the charter school. “Parent”
also includes individuals authorized to act as “relative
caregivers” Relative Caregivers under the provisions of 14
Del.C. §202(e)(2).

Performance Review: Reserved
Renewal: The approval of an application to continue

operating an existing Charter School for an additional five
year period, available after the school has been in operation
for three years.

Secretary: The Secretary of the Delaware Department
of Education.

State Board: The Delaware State Board of Education.
See 6 DE Reg. 274 (9/1/02)
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3.0 Application Process
3.1 Application Deadlines: Applications to establish

new Charter Schools must be submitted to the Department
between November 1st and December 31st for schools
preparing to admit students the second September 1st
thereafter.

3.2 All applications, whether for an original charter, a
modification of a charter or the Renewal of a charter, shall be
made on forms approved by the Department.

3.3 The Department may require a criminal background
check on any person involved in the preparation of an
application, whether for an original charter, a major
modification or a charter Renewal, and on any person
involved in the development of the proposed Charter School.

3.4 An original and ten (10) copies of a completed
application must be received by the Department by the
application deadline in order for the application to be
considered.  Incomplete applications, or applications
received after the deadline, will not be considered. 

3.5 All written communications from the Department
or the Accountability Committee to an Applicant shall be
sent to the contact person identified in the application, at the
address provided in the application. An Applicant is
responsible for notifying the Department in writing of any
change in the contact person or contact address after its
application is submitted.

3.6 An application is not complete unless all of the
following requirements are met:

3.6.1 All questions on the application form are
answered.

3.6.2 All documentation required by the
application form or subsequently requested by the
Department or the Accountability Committee is received.

3.7 No application for a new Charter School will be
accepted by the Department in any year in which the
Department with the approval of the State Board has decided
not to accept applications.

3.8 Applications will not remain pending from year to
year. Applications that do not result in the issuance of a
charter must be resubmitted in full in subsequent years to be
considered in subsequent years.

3.9 The State Board of Education may designate one or
more of its members to sit as non-voting members of the
Accountability Committee.

3.10 In deciding whether to approve or disapprove
any application for an original charter, a major modification
of a charter or the Renewal of a charter, the Secretary and
State Board shall base the decision on the record.  The record
shall consist of the application and any documents filed
therewith in support of the application, the preliminary and
final report of the Accountability Committee, any response
or other evidence, oral or otherwise, provided by the
Applicant to the Accountability Committee prior to the
issuance of its final report, any comments received at any

public hearing conducted pursuant to the provisions of the
Charter School Law, including comments made at any such
hearing by the applicant in response to the Accountability
Committee’s final report and any written or electronic
comments received at or before any such public hearing.  No
other evidence shall be considered.  Written and electronic
comments must be received by the Education Associate for
Charter Schools no later than the beginning of the public
hearing to be included in the record.

See 6 DE Reg. 274 (9/1/02)

4.0 Standards and Criteria for Granting Charter
4.1 Applicant Qualifications

4.1.1 The Applicant must demonstrate that its
board of directors has and will maintain collective
experience, or contractual access to such experience, in the
following areas:

4.1.1.1 Research-based curriculum and
instructional strategies, to particularly include the
curriculum and instructional strategies of the proposed
educational program.

4.1.1.2 Business Management, including but
not limited to accounting and finance.

4.1.1.3 Personnel management.
4.1.1.4 Diversity issues, including but not

limited to outreach, student recruitment, and instruction.
4.1.1.5 At-risk populations and children with

disabilities, including but not limited to students eligible for
special education and related services.

4.1.1.6 School operations, including but not
limited to facilities management.

4.1.2 The application must identify the certified
teachers, the parents and the community members who have
been involved in the preparation of the application and the
development of the proposed Charter School.

4.1.3 The Applicant’s bylaws must be submitted
with the application and must demonstrate that:

4.1.3.1 The Charter Holder’s board of
directors will include a certificated teacher employed as a
teacher at the Charter School and a Parent of a currently
enrolled student of the school no later than the school’s First
Instructional Day;

4.1.3.2 The Applicant’s business is restricted
to the opening and operation of: Charter Schools, before
school programs, after school programs and educationally
related programs offered outside the traditional school year.

4.1.3.3 The board of directors will meet
regularly and comply with the Freedom of Information Act,
29 Del.C.  Chapter 100 in conducting the Charter School’s
business.

4.2 Student Performance
4.2.1 Minimum Requirements

4.2.1.1 The Applicant must agree and certify
that it will comply with the requirements of the State Public
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Education Assessment and Accountability System pursuant
to 14 Del. C. §§ 151, 152, 153, 154, and 157 and Department
rules and regulations implementing Accountability, to
specifically include the Delaware Student Testing Program.

4.2.1.2 The Applicant must demonstrate that
it has established and will apply measurable student
performance goals on the assessments administered pursuant
to the Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP), and a
timetable for accomplishment of those goals. 

4.2.1.3 At a minimum, the Applicant must
agree and certify that the Charter School’s average student
performance on the DSTP assessments in each content area
will meet the statewide average student performance of
students in the same grades for each year of test
administration.

4.2.2 Special Student Populations
4.2.2.1 An Applicant for a charter proposing

enrollment preferences for students at risk of academic
failure shall comply with the minimum performance goals
established in Subsections 4.2.1.2 and 4.2.1.3.  This
requirement may be waived where the Applicant
demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Department and State
Board that the Charter School will primarily serve at risk
students  and will apply performance goals and timetables
which are appropriate for such a student population. 

4.2.2.2 An Applicant for a charter proposing
an enrollment preference other than a preference for students
at risk of academic failure shall comply with the Section.
4.2.1.  In addition, the Department, with the approval of the
State Board, may require such an Applicant to establish and
apply additional and higher student performance goals
consistent with the needs and abilities of the student
population likely to be served as a result of the proposed
enrollment preferences. 

4.2.3 If the Applicant plans to adopt or use
performance standards or assessments in addition to the
standards set by the Department or the assessments
administered pursuant to the DSTP, the application must
specifically identify those additional standards or
assessments and include a planned baseline acceptable level
of performance, measurable goals for improving
performance and a timetable for accomplishing
improvement goals for each additional indicator or
assessment.  The use of additional performance standards or
assessments shall not replace, diminish or otherwise
supplant the Charter School’s obligation to meet the
performance standards set by the Department or to use the
assessments administered pursuant to the DSTP.

4.3 Educational Program
4.3.1 The application must demonstrate that the

school’s proposed program, curriculum and instructional
strategies are aligned to State content standards, meet all
grade appropriate State program requirements, and in the
case of any proposed Charter High School, includes driver

education.  The educational program shall include the
provision of extra instructional time for at risk students,
summer school and other services required to be provided by
school districts pursuant to the provisions of 14 Del.C. §153.
Nothing in this subsection shall prevent an Applicant from
proposing high school graduation requirements in addition to
the state graduation requirements.

4.3.2 The application must demonstrate that the
Charter School’s educational program has the potential to
improve student performance.  The program’s potential may
be evidenced by:

4.3.2.1 Academically independent, peer
reviewed studies of the program conducted by persons or
entities without a financial interest in the educational
program or in the proposed Charter School; 

4.3.2.2 Prior successful implementation of
the program; and

4.3.2.3 The Charter School’s adherence to
professionally accepted models of student development.

4.3.3 The application must demonstrate that the
Charter School’s educational program and procedures will
comply with applicable state and federal laws regarding
children with disabilities, unlawful discrimination and at risk
populations,  including but not limited to the following
showings.

4.3.3.1 The school’s plan for providing a free
appropriate public education to students with disabilities in
accordance with the Individuals with Disabilities Education
Act, with 14 Del. C. Ch. 31 and with Department Regulation
925, specifically including a plan for having a continuum of
educational placements available for children with
disabilities.

4.3.2.2 The school’s plan for complying with
Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and with the
Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.

4.3.3.3 The school’s plan for complying with
Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

4.3.3.4 The school’s plan for complying with
Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972. 

4.4 Economic Viability.
4.4.1 The application must demonstrate that the

school is economically viable and shall include satisfactory
documentation of the sources and amounts of all proposed
revenues and expenditures during the school’s first three
years of school operation after opening for instructional
purposes.  There must be a budgetary reserve for
contingencies of not less than 2.0% of the total annual
amount of proposed revenues.  In addition, the application
shall document the sources and amounts of all proposed
revenues and expenditures during the start-up period prior to
the opening of the school.

4.4.2 The Department may require that the
Applicant submit data demonstrating sufficient demand for
Charter School enrollment if another Charter School is in the
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same geographic area as the Applicant’s proposed school.
Such data may include, but is not limited to, enrollment
waiting lists maintained by other Charter Schools in the
same geographic area and demonstrated parent interest in the
Applicant’s proposed school.

4.4.3 The application shall identify with
specificity the proposed source(s) of any loan(s) to the
Applicant including, without limitation, loans necessary to
implement the provisions of any major contract as set forth
below,  and the date by which firm commitments for such
loan(s) will be obtained.

4.4.4 The application shall contain a timetable
with specific dates by which the school will have in place the
major contracts necessary for the school to open on
schedule. “Major contracts” shall include, without
limitation, the school’s contracts for equipment, services
(including bus and food services, and related services for
special education), leases of real and personal property, the
purchase of real property, the construction and/or renovation
of improvements to real property, and insurance.  Contracts
for bus and food services must be in place no later than
August 1st of the year in which the school proposes to open
and August 1st of each year thereafter. Contracts for the
lease or purchase of real property, and/or the construction
and/or renovation of improvements to real property must be
in place sufficiently far in advance so that the Applicant
might obtain any necessary certificate of occupancy for the
school premises no later than June 15th of the year in which
the school proposes to open.

4.4.5 Reserved
4.5 Attendance, Discipline, Student Rights and Safety

4.5.1 The application must include a draft
“Student Rights and Responsibilities Manual” that meets
applicable constitutional standards regarding student rights
and conduct, including but not limited to discipline, speech
and assembly, procedural due process and applicable
Department regulations regarding discipline. 

4.5.1.1 The “Student Rights and
Responsibilities Manual” must comply with the Gun- Free
Schools Act of 1994 (20 U.S.C.A. §8921) and Department
Regulation 878

4.5.1.2 The application must include a plan to
distribute the “Student Rights and Responsibilities Manual”
to each Charter School student at the beginning of each
school year. Students who enroll after the beginning of the
school year shall be provided with a copy of the “Student
Rights and Responsibilities Manual” at the time of
enrollment.

4.5.2 The application must include the process
and procedures the Charter School will follow to comply
with the following laws:

4.5.2.1 Chapter 27 of Title 14 of the
Delaware Code and applicable Department regulations
regarding school attendance, including a plan to distribute

attendance policies to each Charter School student at the
beginning of each school year.  Students who enroll after the
beginning of the school year shall be provided with a copy of
the attendance policy at the time of enrollment.

4.5.2.2 Chapter 85 of Title 11 of the
Delaware Code and applicable Department regulations
regarding criminal background checks for public school
related employment.

4.5.2.3 Section 4112 of Title 14 of the
Delaware Code and applicable Department regulations
regarding the reporting of school crimes.

4.5.2.4 The Family Educational Rights and
Privacy Act (FERPA) and implementing federal and
Department regulations regarding disclosure of student
records.

4.5.2.5 The provision of free and reduced
lunch to eligible students pursuant to any applicable state or
federal statute or regulation.

4.5.3 The requirement that the Applicant
provide for the health and safety of students, employees and
guests will be judged against the needs of the student body or
population served. However, the services of at least one (1)
full time nurse must be provided for each facility in which
students regularly attend classes.  The requirement that the
Applicant provide for the health and safety of students,
employees and guests will be judged against the needs of the
student body or population served.  The Applicant must
either agree and certify that the services of at least one (1)
full time registered nurse will be provided for each facility in
which students regularly attend classes, or demonstrate that
it has an adequate plan for providing for the health and safety
of the students. Any such plan must include the Charter
School’s policies and procedures for routine student health
screens and school entry requirements, for administering
medications and treatments to students (including any
proposed self-administration), for monitoring chronic
student medical conditions and for responding to student
health emergencies.

5.0 Nature of Charter
5.1 When granted, a charter is an authorization for the

Charter Holder to open and operate a Charter School in
accordance with the terms of the charter, including the terms
of  any conditions placed on the charter by the Department
with the approval of the State Board.

5.1.1 It is the responsibility of the Charter
Holder to notify the Department in writing of its compliance
with any time frames or other terms or conditions contained
in or imposed on the charter.  The Department may require
the Charter Holder to produce satisfactory evidence,
including written documentation, of compliance.

5.2 Compliance with the charter, including compliance
with the terms of any conditions placed on the charter, is a
condition precedent to the authority to open and operate the
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Charter School. Failure to comply with the terms of the
charter and  any conditions placed on the charter, including
deadlines, operates as a forfeiture of the authority to open the
Charter School regardless of previous approval.  These
regulations are incorporated into and made a part of each
charter approved by the Department with the consent of the
State Board.  A Charter School’s failure to comply with these
regulations may be treated as a failure on the part of the
school to comply with its charter.

See 6 DE Reg. 274 (9/1/02)

6.0 Funding
6.1 The Department may withhold State and local

funding from a Charter Holder not in compliance with the
terms of the charter being funded, including compliance with
any conditions placed on such charter.

6.2 The Department may withhold State and local
funding from a Charter Holder while one or more of its
charters is under formal review.

6.3 State and local funding of any charter on
probationary status will be released in accordance with the
terms of the probation.

6.4 Federal funding for a Charter Holder and under the
control of the Department will be disbursed according to the
laws, regulations and policies of the federal program
providing the funding and the terms of any applicable federal
grant approval including state requirements.

See 6 DE Reg. 274 (9/1/02)

7.0 Reserved
See 6 DE Reg. 274 (9/1/02)

8.0 Enrollment Preferences, Solicitations and Debts
8.1 Enrollment Preferences

8.1.1 Reserved An Applicant to establish a new
Charter School shall indicate in its application whether
children of the Charter School’s founders will be given an
enrollment preference. If a founders’ preference will be
given, the application shall include the standard adopted by
the Founding Board of Directors to determine the  founders.
The standard used to determine the founders shall be
consistent with the requirements of Section 506(b)(4) of the
Charter School Law. If the application is approved, the
Charter Holder shall provide the Department with the
identity of its founders no later than March 1 immediately
preceding the First Instructional Day.

8.2 Solicitations.
8.2.1 Any person or entity soliciting

contributions, gifts or other funding on behalf of or for the
benefit of an existing or potential Charter School shall notify
the person or entity solicited that enrollment of an individual
student in the Charter School is not contingent on, or assured
by, any such contribution, gift or other funding.

8.2.2 Written notices of fund raising activities

for the benefit of a Charter School must contain the
following statement: “The [name of school] is a public
school. Contributions and gifts are not required for
admission to the school and will in no way affect or improve
a student’s opportunity for admission.”

8.3 Debts
8.3.1 Any person or entity offering a loan to a

Charter School must be advised by the school that debts of
the school are not debts of the State of Delaware and that
neither the State nor any other agency or instrumentality of
the State is liable for the repayment of any indebtedness.

See 6 DE Reg. 274 (9/1/02)

9.0 Reserved
See 6 DE Reg. 274 (9/1/02)

10.0 Renewals
10.1 Charters are granted for an initial period of 3

years of operation and are renewable every 5 years
thereafter.  A Charter School shall file [it’s its] application
for Renewal not less than six months prior to the end of any
Renewal Period.

10.2 Renewals are only available to the current
Charter Holder and may not be used to transfer a charter to a
different legal entity.

10.3 Charters shall be renewed only if the school
receives a satisfactory Performance Review.  Renewals will
be deferred until any then pending formal review process is
completed.  Charters shall be renewed only if the school
receives a satisfactory Performance Review and is not on
formal review.

11.0 Public Hearings
11.1 Any public hearing conducted by the

Department pursuant to the provisions of the Charter School
Law shall be conducted as a joint public hearing with the
State Board of Education.

See 6 DE Reg. 274 (9/1/02)

Education Impact Analysis
Pursuant To 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

615 School Attendance

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the

State Board of Education to amend regulation 610 School
Attendance in order to clarify the language and to add the
phrase “and whenever a student enrolls or re-enrolls in the
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school during the school year”.  The addition of this phrase
concerning when this policy is explained to students makes
this regulation compatible with the regulations on Student
Rights and Responsibilities.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulation addresses school
attendance which does have an impact on student
achievement.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?  The amended
regulation addresses attendance not equity issues.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  The
amended regulation addresses attendance not health and
safety issues.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation
addresses notification issues concerning attendance policies
which helps to ensure that the students’ legal rights are
respected. 

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level?  The amended regulation will
preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision
making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation does require some additional
notification of students concerning attendance policies.

7. Will the decision making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulation?  The regulation is
necessary to assure all students have a clear understanding of
school attendance policies.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school

boards of compliance with the regulation?  There may be
some minimal cost to the school districts for additional
copies of the documents used to disseminate information on
student attendance policies.

615  School Attendance

1.0 Each school district shall have an attendance policy that
is in accordance with the requirements of the Delaware
Code and which defines and describes the district’s rules
concerning attendance for students K-12.  Each district shall
distribute and explain these policies to every student at the
beginning of each school year and whenever a student
enrolls or re-enrolls in the school during the school year.

See 2 DE Reg. 685 (10/1/98)

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant To
14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

881 Releasing Students to Persons Other Than Their 
Parents or Legal Guardians

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
The Secretary of Education intends to amend regulation

881 Releasing Students to Persons Other Than Their Parents
or Legal Guardians in order to add the category of “Relative
Caregiver” as per 14 Del. C. §202 (e)(2) to the list of
individuals who may have legal care of a child.

C. Impact Criteria
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student

achievement as measured against state achievement
standards?  The amended regulation simply adds the
category of Relative Caregiver to the list of individuals who
may have legal care of a child.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all
students receive an equitable education?  The amended
regulation simply adds the category of Relative Caregiver to
the list of individuals who may have legal care of a child.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ health and safety are adequately protected?  This
amended regulation continues to attempt to protect children
from being sent home from school with unauthorized
persons.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all
students’ legal rights are respected?  The amended regulation
continues to attempt to protect the rights of both the child
and the individual picking up the child at school.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary
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authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level?  The amended regulation preserves
the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at
the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels?  The
amended regulation will not place any unnecessary reporting
or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision
makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will the decision making authority and
accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be
placed in the same entity?  The decision making authority
and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated
will remain in the same entity.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies?  The amended regulation will be consistent with and
not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational
policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social
studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing
the purpose of the amended regulation?  The regulation is
designed to assist in protecting the safety of school children.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school
boards of compliance with the regulation?  There is no cost
to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation.

881  Releasing Students to Persons Other Than Their 
Parents or Legal Guardians Parents/Guardians or 

Relative Caregiver

1.0  Each local school district shall have a policy which
outlines the procedures for releasing students from schools
to persons other than parents or legal guardians their parents/
guardians or Relative Caregiver.

See 2 DE Reg. 778 (11/1/98)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS 
PROTECTION

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code,
Section 1101 (16 Del. C. §1101)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Neighborhood Homes for Persons with Developmental 
Disabilities

     The Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS),
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
(DLTCRP), has drafted regulations replacing in their entirety
regulations pertaining to Neighborhood Homes.  In addition
to replacing regulations currently enforced by DLTCRP,
these regulations incorporate Certification Standards
enforced by the Division of Developmental Disabilities
Services (DDDS), but not previously promulgated as
regulations.  These proposed regulations also replace the
DDDS Certification Standards in their entirety.  The
proposed regulations address provisions required of
Neighborhood Homes including general licensing
requirements, provider performance standards, services
required for persons residing in Neighborhood Homes,
environmental, medical, transportation, and safety standards.
     These regulations were the subject of public hearings on
July 1 and July 2, 2003.  Some comments received during
those public hearings have led to revisions in the proposed
regulations, and those revisions are incorporated in the
accompanying regulations.  Other comments received at the
July public hearings will be discussed in the summary of
evidence when the final order is issued.

Invitation For Public Comment

Public hearings will be held as follows:

Wednesday, September 3, 2003, 9:00 AM 
Room 301, Main Building
Herman Holloway Campus
1901 North DuPont Highway
New Castle

Thursday, September 4, 2003,  10:00 AM
Department of Natural Resources &

Environmental Control Auditorium
89 Kings Highway
Dover

For clarification or directions, please call Gina

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dltc/dltchome.htm
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Loughery at 302-577-6661.
Written comments are invited on these proposed

regulations and should be sent to:

Katie McMillan
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
3 Mill Road, Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806

Written comments will be accepted until the conclusion
of the September 4 public hearing. 

LAWS AND REGULATIONS PERTAINING TO
SANITORIA, REST HOMES, NURSING HOMES, 

BOARDING HOMES
AND RELATED INSTITUTIONS

NEIGHBORHOOD HOME REGULATIONS
STATE OF DELAWARE

State Board of Health Regulations
adopted pursuant to 16 Del.C. §1109

January 10, 1992, revised and adopted by
the State Board of Health on April 2, 1993

These regulations are effective for all providers whose 
licenses expire on January 31, 1993, or thereafter.

TITLE 16 - HEALTH AND SAFETY
PART II, CHAPTER II, SANATORIA, REST HOMES, 

NURSING HOMES, BOARDING HOMES, AND 
RELATED INSTITUTIONS

Sections:
1101. Definitions
1102. Licensing Requirement
1103. Existing Institutions
1104. Application for License
1105. Inspections
1106. Issuance of Licenses
1107. Suspension or Revocation of Licenses
1108. Renewal of License after Suspension or

Revocation
1109 Regulations
1110. Penalties

1101. Definitions
Sanatorium, rest home, nursing home, boarding home,

and related institutions, within the meaning of this chapter,
mean any institution, building, or agency in which
accommodation is maintained, furnished, or offered for any
fee, gift, compensation or reward for the care of more than
one (1) aged; infirm, chronically ill, adult psychiatrically

disabled, or convalescent person. The word "person" shall
not include mother, father, sister, brother, niece, nephew,
mother-in-law*, father-in-law, sister-in-law, or
brother-in-law of any individual operating a facility under
this chapter.

1102. License Requirement
No person shall establish, conduct or maintain in this

State any sanatorium, rest home, nursing home, or boarding
home for the care of human beings without first obtaining a
license from the State Board of Health.

1103. Existing Institutions
No person may continue to operate an existing

sanatorium, rest home, nursing home, boarding home, or
related institution unless such operation shall be approved
and regularly licensed by the State Board of Health as
provided in this chapter.

1104. Application for License
Application for license to establish, maintain, or operate

a sanatorium, rest home, nursing home, boarding home, or
related institution shall be made to the State Board of Health
on forms provided by the State Board of Health stating that
the applicant is over eighteen (18) years of age, the type of
institution to be operated, the location thereof, and the name
of the person in charge.

1105. Inspections
Every institution for which a license has been issued

under this chapter shall be periodically inspected by a
representative of the State Board of Health.

1106. Issuance of Licenses
(a) Licenses shall be issued in the following categories:

(1) Annual License. An annual license (12
months) may be renewed yearly if the holder is in full
compliance with the provisions of this chapter and the rules
and regulations of the State Board of Health.

(2) Provisional License. A provisional license
shall be granted for a term of ninety (90) days only, and shall
be granted only to a home which, although not in full
compliance, is nevertheless demonstrating evidence of
improvement.

(3) Restricted License. A restricted license shall be
granted for a term of ninety (90) days when the home is not
in compliance with the provisions of this chapter, and does
not demonstrate evidence of improvement. The holder of a
restricted license may not admit patients to the home to
which the restricted license applies during the period of
restriction, but the home may remain in operation until such
license is revoked, expires, becomes annual or provisional.

(b) Fees for issuance and renewal of licenses and
provisional licenses issued pursuant to the provisions of this
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chapter shall be established as stated below and shall be
remitted to the General Fund of the State.

(1) Application fees for nursing homes shall be
$250 for nursing homes with 100 beds or fewer, and $375 for
nursing homes with more than 100 beds. Application fees for
intermediate care group homes for mentally retarded persons
shall be $50; application fees for neighborhood group homes
shall be $25; application fees for family care homes shall be
$25. The fee must accompany an application for licensure.

(2) A license, unless sooner suspended or revoked,
shall be renewed annually upon filing by the licensee and a
payment of an annual licensure fee of: $150 for nursing
homes with 100 beds or fewer; $250 for nursing homes with
more than 100 beds; $50 for intermediate care group homes
for the mentally retarded; $25 for neighborhood group
homes; $25 for family care homes.

(3) A provisional or restricted license as
authorized by the State Board of Health shall be issued when
health requirements are not met. Fees shall be the same as
stated in paragraph (2) of this subsection. For health care
facilities that have been issued a provisional or restricted
license, there shall be resubmission of the application fee for
reinspection prior to the issuance of an annual license.

1107. Suspension or Revocation of Licenses
The State Board of Health may suspend or revoke a

license issued under this chapter on any of the following
grounds:

(1) Violation of any of the provisions of this chapter or
the rules or regulations issued pursuant thereto.

(2) Permitting, aiding or abetting the commission of
any illegal act in the institution.

(3) Conduct or practices detrimental to the welfare of
the patient.

Before any license issued under this chapter is
suspended or revoked, thirty (30) days notice shall be given
in writing to the holder of the license, during which time he
may appeal for a hearing before the State Board of Health.

1108. Renewal of License after Suspension or Revocation
If and when the conditions upon the suspension or

revocation of a license are based have been corrected, and
after a proper inspection has been made, a new license may
be granted.

1109. Regulations
The State Board of Health may adopt, amend, or repeal

regulations governing the operation of the institutions
defined in Section 1101 of this Title and shall establish
reasonable standards of equipment, capacity, sanitation, and
any other conditions which might influence the health or
welfare of the residents of such institutions.

1110. Penalties

Whoever operates a sanatorium, rest home, nursing
home, boarding home, or other health related institution
without a license shall be fined not less than Ten Dollars
($10.00) nor more than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00).

Title 16, Chapter 1, Section 107
Whoever refuses, fails or neglects to perform the duties

required under this chapter, or violates, neglects or fails to
comply with the duly adopted regulations or orders of the
Board shall be fined not less than One Hundred Dollars
($100.00) or more than One Thousand Dollars ($1000.00)
together with costs, unless otherwise provided by law.

NEIGHBORHOOD HOME REGULATIONS

The following Regulations were adopted by the State
Board.of Health pursuant to 16 Del. C. §1109 on January 10,
1992 and revised and approved by the State Board of Health
on April 2, 1993.

SECTION 55.0 - DEFINITION
The following standards are designed specifically for

Neighborhood Homes, for five or less persons with mental
retardation, which are licensed by the State Board of Health.
These homes are distinct from Rest (Family Care) Homes
where three or fewer persona live in a home with care and
supervision provided by persons who also reside on the
premises.

These standards address the minimum acceptable level
of living and care conditions for persons with mental
retardation in such facilities. The purpose of these standards
is to provide a sequence of expectations for services
rendered by the Neighborhood Home provider and a system
for Neighborhood Home providers to be accountable to the
State Board of Health, in cooperation with the Division of
Mental Retardation. In addition to these regulations and
where applicable, the provider will be trained in and required
to comply with established Division of Mental Retardation
certification standards.

SECTION 55.1 - GLOSSARY OF TERMS

55.101 Active Treatment - Activities carried out
according to an individualized, written plan to meet that
developmental needs of each client.

55.102 Activities of Daily Living - Activities which
relate to independent functioning and include but are not
limited to getting out of bed, bathing, dressing, eating,
ambulation.

55.103 Client - An individual with mental retardation,
over eighteen years of age, who, with supervision, is capable
of activities of daily living and self-preservation.

55.104 Division of Mental Retardation - hereafter
referred to as DMR or the Division.
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55.105 Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) - A nurse who
is licensed to practice as a practical nurse pursuant to 24 Del.
C. Chapter 19.

55.106 Neighborhood Home - A home providing
housing and habilitation services to five or fewer persons
with mental retardation and licensed pursuant to section
1101. This.definition does not include ICF/MR programs.

55.107 Neighborhood Home Provider - The individual
or organization responsible for the operation of the
Neighborhood Home.

55.108 Physician - A physician licensed to practice
medicinepursuant to 24 Del. C. Chapter 17.

55.109 Registered Professional Nurse (RN) - A nurse
who is a graduate of an approved school of professional
nursing and who is licensed to practice as a professional
registered nurse pursuant to 24 Del. C. Chapter 19.

SECTION 55.2 - LICENSING REQUIREMENTS AND
PROCEDURES

55.201 When a Neighborhood Home pursuant to these
Regulations plans any physical alteration, two copies of
properly prepared plans and specifications for the entire
home are to be submitted to the State Board of Health. An
approval, in writing, is to be obtained before such work is
begun.

55.202 Separate licenses are required for homes
maintained in separate locations, even though operated by
the same Neighborhood Home Provider. A separate license
is not required for separate buildings maintained by the same
Neighborhood Home Provider on the same grounds. A
license is not transferable from one Neighborhood Home
Provider to another or from one location to another.

55.203 The license shall be conspicuously posted in
the Neighborhood Home.

55.204 All applications for renewal of licenses and
requests for waivers shall be filed with the State Board of
Health at least thirty days prior to expiration. Licenses will
be issued for a period not to exceed one year (12 months)
from the date they are issued.

SECTION 55.3 - GENERAL REQUIREMENTS
55.301 All required records maintained by the

institution shall be open to inspection by the authorized
representatives of the State Board of Health and/or
authorized representatives of the Division of Mental
Retardation.

55.302 The term "Neighborhood Home" shall not be
used as part of the name of any program in this State unless
the home is licensedunder these regulations.

55.303 No Neighborhood Home Provider may adopt
rules that conflict with these regulations.

55.304 The State Board of Health shall be notified, in
writing, of any changes in the Neighborhood Home Provider,
ownership or management.

55.305 The Neighborhood Home Provider shall
establish written policies regarding the rights and
responsibilities of clients that are consistent with DMR
standards, and shall make such policies and procedures
available to clients, guardians, next of kin, sponsoring
agency (agencies), and authorized representatives of the
State Board of Health and the Division of Mental
Retardation.

55.306 Each Neighborhood Home shall provide, with
the admission agreement, to all clients or their sponsors a
complete statement enumerating all charges for services,
materials and equipment which shall, or may be, furnished to
the client during the period of residency.

55.307 Each Neighborhood Home shall make known,
in writing, the refund and prepayment policy at the time of
admission, and in the case of third-party payment, an exact
statement of responsibility in the event of retroactive denial.

SECTION 55.4 - CERTIFICATION BY THE DIVISION
OF MENTAL RETARDATION

55.401 A Neighborhood Home Provider shall be
certified by the Division annually pursuant to Division
standards and procedures.

55.402 Application for certification shall be made on
forms provided by the Division. The application shall be
accompanied by:

a. Policies and Procedures Manual for operation
of the Neighborhood Home,

b. a Table of Organization,
c. a staffing schedule,
d. an operating budget.

55.403 The Division shall measure compliance with its
standards and procedures using a certification instrument.
The certification instrument shall be completed based upon
information from the Neighborhood Home Provider, clients,
their representatives, documents provided to the Division by
the provider, and on-site observations and record reviews by
employees of the Division.  The service Neighborhood
Home Provider shall make all documentation and records
deemed necessary by the Division available for the
Division's review and site visits shall be permitted at any
time.  The Division shall have the right of access to any
information directly or indirectly related to the service
Neighborhood Home Provider's operation of the
Neighborhood Home. Documents used by the Division for
certification review shall bear the notice that false statements
therein are punishable.

55.404 A Neighborhood Home Provider shall operate
the Neighborhood Home in accordance with the attachments
to the application for certification and the certification
instrument. A Neighborhood Home Provider shall
immediately report any deviations from such operation to the
Division.

55.405 The financial responsibility, financial
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condition, business experience, and character and general
fitness of the Neighborhood Home shall reasonably warrant
the belief that the Neighborhood Home Provider will operate
a Neighborhood Home honestly, carefully and efficiently.
The Division may investigate and consider the qualifications
of a service Neighborhood Home Provider to determine
whether the service Neighborhood Home Provider meets this
qualification.

55.406 Revocation of a Neighborhood Home license
shall automatically terminate the service Neighborhood
Home Provider's certification relating to such group home
and shall also terminate the contract, if any, with the
Division for the operation of such home.

55.407 All applications for annual recertification shall
be received bythe Division at least 30 days prior to
expiration and shall be accompanied by the attachments set
forth in Section 55.402.

SECTION 55.5 - PROVIDER QUALIFICATIONS
55.501 No person having a communicable disease

shall be permitted to give care or service. All reportable
communicable diseases shall be reported to the County
Health Officer of tuberculin tests (1) performed annually for
all volunteers and employees and (2) performed on all newly
admitted clients. The tuberculin test to be used is the
Mantoux test containing five tu-PPD stabilized with Tween,
Injected intradermally, using a needle and syringe, usually
on the volar surface of the forearm. Persons found to have a
significant reaction (defined as 10 mm of induration or
greater) to tests shall be reported to the Division of Public
Health and managed according to recommended medical
practice.  A tuberculin test as specified, done within the
twelvemonths prior to admission or employment, satisfies
this requirement for asymptomatic individuals.  A report of
this skin test shall be kept on file.

(b) Employees, volunteers and clients who do not
have a significant reaction to the initial tuberculin test (those
individuals who have less than 100 mm induration) should
be retested within 7-21 days to identify those who
demonstrate delayed reactions. Tests done within one year of
a previous test need not be repeated in 7-21days.

55.503 The Neighborhood Home Provider shall have
written personnel policies and procedures that adequately
support sound client care and are available on site.

55.504 Neighborhood Home Providers shall ensure
that each employee is thoroughly familiar with assigned
duties and responsibilities.

a) Job descriptions with employee's individual
responsibilities and duties shall be made available on site.

SECTION 55.6 - ENVIRONMENT
55.601 To, the extent compatible with the need for

accessibility, the interior of non-residential buildings shall
resemble the interior of buildings in the community used for

similar purposes in attributes such as functional arrangement
of rooms, furniture and furnishings and décor.

55.602 Heating apparatus shall not constitute a burn or
smoke hazard to clients served. 

55.603 There shall be sufficient heating, ventilation,
and light in all living and sleeping quarters to provide a
comfortable atmosphere.

55.604 Neighborhood Homes serving physically
handicapped clients shall be accessible to those physically
handicapped clients according to the appropriate American
National Standards Institute (ANSI) Standards and all other
federal and state standards.

55.605 Neighborhood Home shall be sanitary and free
of offensive odors and free of insects, rodents, and vermin.

55.606 Waste and garbage shall be stored, transferred,
and disposed of is a sinner that does not create a nuisance, or
permit the transmission of disease.

55.607 Stairways, ramps, and open-sided porches shall
have adequate lighting and handrails for safety.

a) Non-skid surfaces shall be used when slippery
surfaces present a hazard.

55.608 All stairways and hallways shall be kept free
and clear of obstructions at all times.

SECTION 55.7 - RESIDENTIAL SERVICES
55.701 The Neighborhood Home Provider(s) and staff

shall be responsible for complying with the regulations
herein contained.

55.702 Furniture and furnishings shall be safe,
comfortable, and in good repair and shall resemble those in
homes in the local community, to the extent compatible with
the physical need of clients.

55.703 Neighborhood Homes shall be furnished with
mirrors, including mirrors that are usable by any client who
uses wheelchairs.

55.704 Storage space for out-of-season clothing shall
be provided in each home.

55.705 There shall be provided one or more areas that
are adequate in size and furnished for dining, recreational
and social activities. At least 30 square feet per client will be
assigned to these areas.

a) When a multi-purpose room is used, it shall
have sufficient space to prevent interference of one activity
with another.

b) Basement space may be used for client
activities if there is a minimum of two (2) fire exits.

55.706 There shall be refrigeration for perishable
foods in the Neighborhood Home.

55.707 Exterminator services shall be required when
there is evidence of any infestation.

55.708 Waste material, cans, rubbish and other litter
shall not be permitted to accumulate on the premises of the
Neighborhood Home.



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 2, FRIDAY, AUGUST 1, 2003

137

SECTION 55.8 - SECURITY AND OBSERVATION
55.801 Protective or security features such as fences

and security windows may be used only when justified on
the basis of the needs of clients served and shall preserve as
normal an appearance as possible.

55.802 Doors, walls, and partitions shall not contain
vision panels or other devices to afford observation unless
indicated by the specific needs of all clients who use the
room or area.

SECTION 55.9 - BEDROOMS
55.901 Rooms or other areas of the Neighborhood

Home that are not ordinarily sleeping rooms may not be used
for sleeping purposes.

55.902 Sleeping rooms must be outside rooms and
must provide for quiet and privacy.

a) Adequate electrical outlets shall be
conveniently located in each room with at least one (1) light
fixture switched at the entrance to the bedroom.

55.903 Bedrooms shall have walls that extend from
floor to ceiling, at least one exterior window, and
accommodate no more than two clients.

55.904 Multiple-bed bedrooms shall provide at least
75 square feet per client.

55.905 Single-bed bedrooms shall contain at least 80
square feet.

55.906 Bedrooms shall contain additional space as
needed for bedside assistance and to accommodate the use
and storage of mobility devices and prosthetic equipment.

55.907 If a bedroom is below grade level, it must have
a window that:

a) Is usable as a second means of escape by the
client(s) occupying the room; and

b) Is no more than 44 inches (measured to the
window sill) above the floor unless the facility is surveyed
under the Health Care Occupancy Chapter of the Life Safety
Code, in which case the window must be no more than 36
inches (measured to the window sill) above the floor.

55.908 The Neighborhood Rome shall contain
sufficient storage spaces to accommodate all in-season
clothing of each client;

55.909 and storage space for personal items; to include
minimally closet space and two drawers in a chest of
drawers.

55.910 and sufficient seating and flat surfaces to allow
each client to perform tasks or pursue leisure interests.

55.911 Each client shall have a bed suitable for his or
her physical stature and condition.

55.912 Mattresses, bedding and pillows shall be clean
and provide comfort and sufficient warmth.

55.913 Hospital-type beds, the absence of pillows, flat
pillow, the use of plastic or other materials to keep beds and
pillows dry, or other departures from the normalization
principle shall be justified in each case in the client's record.

55.914 There shall be a sturdy bedside stand, chair,
and reading light for the client.

55.915 Each bedroom window shall have a window
treatment that closes for privacy.

SECTION 55.10 - BATHROOMS
55.1001 There shall be private toilet facilities with a

shower or tub in each Neighborhood Home. These facilities
shall be accessible to the client according to his/her client
needs as documented in the Client Program Plan (IPP).

a) Traffic to and from any room shall not be
through a bedroom or bathroom except where a bathroom
opens directly off the room it serves.

b) There shall be at least one (1) window or
mechanical ventilation to the outside of the bathroom.

c) Toilets, bathing and toileting appliances shall
be equipped for use by physically handicapped clients, as
dictated by the clients' needs.

d) There shall be at least one (1) toilet of
appropriate size for each four (4) clients:

1. Each toilet shall be equipped with a toilet
seat.

2. Toilet tissue shall be readily accessible at
each toilet.

e) There shall be at least one (1) wash basin for
each four (4) clients.

f) There shall be at least one (1) tub or shower for
each four (4) clients.

g) Wash basins shall be available in or
immediately adjacent to bathrooms and/or toilet rooms.

h) Shower and tub areas shall be equipped with
substantial hand-grip bars and slip-resistant surfaces.

i) Bathroom areas shall be equipped with mirrors
for personal grooming. Mirrors shall be installed is such a
way as to minimize the danger of breakage.

SECTION 55.11 - SAFETY AND SANITATION
55.1101 The Neighborhood Home shall comply

with governmental safety and sanitation regulations.
55.1102 The Neighborhood Home's program must

be in compliance with all applicable provisions of Federal,
State -and local laws, regulations and codes pertaining to
health, safety, sanitation, and plumbing.

55.1103 Requirements of the current edition of the
National Fire Protection Association's Life Safety Code shall
be met in all buildings used by the clients.

55.1104 The Neighborhood Home shall maintain
records and reports of periodic fire safety, health, sanitation,
and environmental inspections required by local and state
laws and regulations.

55.1105 The Neighborhood Home shall document
actions taken to correct deficiencies noted in these reports.

55.1106 The Neighborhood Home shall provide
adequate clean linen and dirty linen storage areas.
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55.1107 Hot water at shower, bathing and
handwashing facilities shall not exceed 110 degrees F. (43
degrees C).

55.1108 The Neighborhood Home Provider shall
prepare written policies that outline maintenance (including
electrical maintenance) and cleaning procedures, storage of
cleaning materials and/or pesticides and other potentially
toxic materials.

55.1109 There shall be separate areas of storage of:
a) Food items.
b) Cleaning agents, disinfectants and polishes.
c) Poisons, chemicals and pesticides.
d) Eating, serving and cooking utensils.

SECTION 55.1200 - EMERGENCIES AND
DISASTERS

55.1201 The Neighborhood Home shall have a
minimum of two means of egress.

55.1202 The Neighborhood Home shall have an
adequate number of UL approved smoke detectors in
working order.

a) In a single level Neighborhood Home, a
minimum of one smoke detector shall be placed between the
bedroom area and the remainder of the Neighborhood Home.

b) In a multi-story Neighborhood Home, a
minimum of one smoke detector shall be on each level. On
levels which have bedrooms, the detector shall be placed
between the bedroom area and the remainder of the
Neighborhood Home.

55.1203 There shall be a two and one-half to five
pound ABC Fire Extinguisher in the Neighborhood Home
that is readily accessible and visible.  Extinguisher is to be
checked annually.

55.1204 The Neighborhood Home Provider shall
have written procedures for meeting all emergencies and
disasters such as fire, severe weather, and missing persons
and such procedures shall be communicated to all staff.

55.1205 The procedures shall assign specific
personnel to specific tasks and responsibilities.

55.1206 The procedures shall contain instructions
related to notification procedures and to the use of alarm and
signal systems to provide for alert to clients according to
their disability, visual signals with alarms where there are
clients who cannot hear.

55.1207 Evacuation routes and the location of
fire-fighting equipment shall be posted in areas used by the
public as required by the Life Safety Code and state and
federal regulations. Thenumber and placement of postings
are otherwise dictated by building use and configuration and
by the needs of clients and staff.

55.1208 The Neighborhood Home shall maintain
an adequate communication system to ensure that on and
off-duty personnel and local fire and safety authorities are
notified promptly in the event of an emergency or disaster.

55.1209 The telephone numbers of the nearest
poison control center and the nearest source of emergency
medical services shall be posted.

55.1210 Provisions shall be made for emergency
auxiliary heat and lighting by means of alternate sources of
electric power, alternate fuels, and stand-by equipment, or
arrangements with neighbors or other agencies.

SECTION 55.1300 - EVACUATION DRILLS
55.1301 Evacuation drills shall be held quarterly

for each shift of Neighborhood Home personnel. Drills shall
be held on different days of the week. Drills shall be held at
different times of the day, including times when clients are
asleep.

55.1302 During drills, clients shall be evacuated to
safe areas,  unless their ability to evacuate independently has
been documented, or unless actual evacuation would
endanger the health or safety of those clients.

55.1303 As evidenced by evacuation drill reports
that are maintained by the Neighborhood Home, drills shall
assure that all clients and staff are familiar with the
evacuation requirements and procedures. Any problems
clients have evacuating a building during a drill shall result
in a written plan of specific corrective action(s) to be taken.

55.1304 Clients who are unable to achieve the exit
schedule prescribed by accepted standards with available
assistance shall be either relocated or provided with
additional assistance.

SECTION 55.1400 - TRANSPORTATION
55.1401 The transportation system operated by, or

under contract to, the Neighborhood Home shall meet local
and state licensing, inspection, insurance, and capacity
requirements.

55.1402 Vehicles used to transport clients with
physical disabilities shall be adapted to their needs.

55.1403 Drivers of vehicles shall have valid and
appropriate drivers' license.

55.1404 Emergency transportation shall be
available on a 24-hour basis.

SECTION 55.1500 - MEALTIMES
If meals are served:
55.1501 Dry or staple food items shall be stored at

least four inches above the floor in a ventilated room that is
not subject to waste water backflow or to contamination by
condensation or leakage. 

55.1502 The Neighborhood Home's meal and menu
planning shall be supervised by a registered dietitian or
nutritionist or by an experienced person who consults a
registered dietitian or nutritionist at least quarterly.

55.1503 Clients shall be offered opportunities for
choices in food selection.

55.1504 Menus and records of foods actually
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served shall be retained for a period of three months.
55.1505 Foods served shall provide for sufficient

amounts of food for meals and snacks and a sufficient
variety on a daily, weekly, monthly, and seasonal basis.

55.1506 Meals shall be served so that they are
flavorful, attractive in appearance, at appropriate serving
temperature, and have preserved their nutritional value.

55.1507 The daily diet for each client shall include
a minimum of three balanced meals a day with food from the
four basic food groups. 

55.1508 Nutritional intake of clients receiving a
medically prescribed modified diet shall be followed,
reviewed and monitored by a nurse, dietitian or other
medical personnel as appropriate.

55.1509 Clients shall eat in an upright position or
in a position that is medically indicated.

55.1510 There shall be refrigeration for perishable
foods in the Neighborhood Home.

a) There shall be at least one-refrigerator and one
unit, in proper working order and capable of maintaining
frozen foods in the frozen state and refrigerated foods at
45°F or below.

55.1511 There shall be at least one four-burner
range and one oven (or combination thereof), which is in
proper working order.

55.1512 There shall be a dishwasher, or facilities
for performing a wash, rinse, and a final sanitizing rinse.

55.1513 There shall be at least one operable
window or exhaust system for removal of smoke, odors, and
fumes.

SECTION 55.1600 - MEDICAL AND HEALTH CARE
55.1601 Genetic medical services,including a

physician and dentist, shall be identified.
55.1602 There shall be written policies on physical

examinations for clients.
55.1603 Physical examinations and dental

evaluations shall be made least annually.
55.1604 Upon confirmation of reportable disease,

the appropriate Health Officer of the Division of Public
Health shall be notified by the Neighborhood Home
Provider.

55.1605 The Neighborhood Home Provider shall
insure transportation including for emergency medical
treatment in the event of an emergency with a client.

55.1606 The Neighborhood Home Provider shall
provide or arrange transportation for the client's routine
medical and dental care.

SECTION 55.1700 - MEDICATIONS
55.1701 Clients receiving medication shall be

trained to take their own medication, where possible.
55.1702 Providers who have successfully

completed a Board of Nursing approved medication training

program may assist clients in the taking of medication,
provided that the medication is in the original container and
properly labeled. The medication must be taken exactly as
indicated on the label. The Neighborhood Home Provider
shall maintain a record of all medications taken.

55.1703 No Prescription medication shall be
administered to a client without a written order by a
physician or other legally authorized person.

55.1704 Injectable medication shall only be
administered by registered nurses or licensed practical
nurses.

55.1705 The client's response to prescribed
medication shall be evaluated by the DMR nurse consultant
or private nurse consultant or physician.

55.1706 The Neighborhood Home Provider shall
assist the client in reporting side effects to the physician who
prescribed the medication. Suspected drug reactions shall be
noted in the medication record.

55.1707 Medication errors shall be immediately
reported by the Neighborhood Home staff to the physician.

55.1708 A three-day supply of medication shall be
available at all times. All medication must be stored in its
original container either from the pharmacy or manufacturer
with the proper label and specific directions for
administration.

55.1709 The Neighborhood Home Provider shall
be responsible for the storage of medication. Medication
shall be stored under proper conditions of temperature, light,
humidity and ventilation. Room temperature acceptable for
medication storage is between 59° and 86°F.

55.1710 Medications requiring refrigeration shall
be kept in a separate locked box within the refrigerator. A
temperature monitoring device shall be used and the
temperature shall be maintained between 36° and 46°F.

55.1711 Medications not in possession of clients
shall be kept in a locked cabinet by the person in charge in a
manner so that they are not accessible to unauthorized
personnel.

55.1712 A medication record shall be maintained
for each client.  The record shall show the name and strength
of each medication being consumed by the client. Each dose
consumed shall be recorded by date, time, and initials of
person assisting.

55.1713 Documentation of medication errors and
corrective action taken is maintained by the Neighborhood
Home.

55.1714 A supply of over-the-counter medication
may be stocked by the Neighborhood Home. However, the
use of those medications must be authorized by the client's
physician in writing.

SECTION 55.1800 - CLIENT RECORDS
55.1801 A cumulative record containing all

information and documents necessary for the provision of
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needed service(s) shall be maintained chronologically by or
for each client.

55.1802 The record shall be readily accessible to
those who require such access in order to provide services as
described in the client's plan.

55.1803 All information concerning a client served,
including information contained in an automated data bank,
is confidential and access shall be limited to staff who need
to see the record, or to persons specifically authorized by the
client or legally qualified representatives.

55.1804 Entries in a client's record referring to
actions with another client shall be coded in such a way as to
protect the confidentiality of the clients served.

55.1805 The Neighborhood Home shall be
responsible for the safekeeping of each client's record and
for securing it against loss, destruction, or use by
unauthorized persons as evidenced by policies and practices.

55.1806 The record may be removed from the
Neighborhood Home Provider's jurisdiction and
safe-keeping only in accordance with a court order,
subpoena, or statute. 

55.1807 The record shall be retained for the period
of time required by state law.

SECTION 55.19 - WAIVERS OT STANDARDS
55.1901 Specific standards may be waived by the

State Board of Health so long as each of the following
conditions are met:

a. Strict enforcement of the standard would result
in unreasonable hardship on the Neighborhood Home
Provider.

b. The waiver is in accordance with the particular
needs of the client.

55.1902 A waiver must not adversely affect the
health, safety, welfare, or rights of any client.

55.1903 The request for a waiver must be made to
the State Board of Health in writing by the Neighborhood
Home Provider with substantial detail justifying the request.

55.1904 A waiver granted by the State Board of
Health is not transferable to another Neighborhood Home
Provider in the event of a change in ownership.

55.1905 A waiver shall be granted for the term of
the license.

55.1906 Client capacity for a Neighborhood Home
may be waived from five to six clients where the physical
plant, staffing, and client needs justify such an increase.

SECTION 55.20 - SEVERABILITY
55.2001 Should any section, sentence, clause or

phrase of these regulations be legally declared
unconstitutional or invalid for any reason, the remainder of
said regulations shall not be affected thereby.

SECTION 55.0 - PURPOSE

The following regulations are designed specifically for
Neighborhood Homes, for five or fewer persons with
developmental disabilities, which are licensed by the
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection.  These
homes are distinct from Rest (Family care) Homes where
three or fewer persons live in a home with care and
supervision provided by persons who also reside on the
premises.

These regulations address the minimum acceptable level
of living conditions and supports for persons in
Neighborhood Homes.  The purpose of these regulations is
to provide a sequence of expectations for services rendered
by the Neighborhood Home provider and a system for
Neighborhood Home providers to be accountable to the
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
(DLTRCP) and the Division of Developmental Disabilities
Services  (DDDS).

SECTION 55.1 - DEFINITIONS
55.101 Action Plan - The portion of the Essential

Lifestyle Plan (ELP) that lists, and is used to track, those
desired outcomes which are important to a person.

55.102 Annual Conference - The yearly
interdisciplinary team meeting held with the person served
and his/her family to develop or update the ELP after a
review of the various assessments done on the person and
discussion with the individual as to his/her aspirations and
desires.  The annual conference must be held within 30 days
of the initiation of DDDS funded residential services and be
held no more than 365 days from the previous annual
conference.

55.103 Assessment - The process of gathering
information to describe what has been learned about a
person, and what others need to know or to do to
support the person in attaining a healthy, safe and
meaningful life.

55.104 Behavior Support Plan or Mental Health Plan -
A multi-dimensional, systematic, assessment-based plan that
details how staff should implement the identified behavior
and/or mental health supports.

55.105 Behavior Support Review Committee - A
committee assigned to review behavior intervention
strategies and behavior support plans containing
support procedures.

55.106 Choice - The process by which people make
selections from an array of options which are within the
context of Division of Developmental Disabilities
Services (DDDS) policies and all applicable state and federal
laws and regulations intended to safeguard the person and
the rights of others. 

55.107 Emergency Behavior Interventions - A set of
DDDS sanctioned procedures available to manage an
unanticipated event such as severe aggression or
severe property destruction that places the individual or
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others in imminent danger of physical harm.
55.108 Essential Lifestyle Plan (ELP) - The type of

individualized support plan used by the Division of
Developmental Disabilities Services.  A result of a system
of person-centered planning, the ELP outlines how a person
wants to live, service-related issues which need to be
addressed as well as a plan of action for achieving expressed
lifestyle choices and adequately addressing service-
related issues.

55.109 Evaluation - An assessment process performed
by professionals, according to standardized procedures, that
incorporates the use, when possible, of standardized tests
and measures in addition to informal and observational
measures.

55.110 Goals - Desired outcomes that provide the
framework upon which service and support actions are
based.

55.111 Human Rights Committee (HRC) - A body of
individuals composed of impartial members with no direct
affiliation with the Division of Developmental Disabilities
Services (DDDS), and whose role is to serve as a
monitoring agent to safeguard the rights and personal dignity
of persons served by DDDS.

55.112 Incident - An occurrence or event, a record of
which must be maintained in provider’s files, that results or
might result in harm to a resident.  Incident  includes alleged
abuse, neglect, mistreatment and financial exploitation;
incidents of unknown source which might be attributable to
abuse, neglect or mistreatment; all deaths; falls; and errors
and omissions in medication/treatment.  (Also see
Reportable Incident, 55.123.)

55.113 Individual Records - Those records pertaining
to a person served which are essential for effective
individual planning, plan implementation, establishing
and maintaining a personal history of the person, and for
protecting legal rights of the person, the agency and the
agency staff.

55.114 Interdisciplinary Team - Also known as
“Treatment Team” or “Team,” this is a group consisting of
those who are knowledgeable about the person served,
whose participation is required to identify the supports the
person wants and/or needs so as to help him/her achieve a
healthy, safe and meaningful life.

55.115 Intrusive - The unwanted or uninvited
introduction of procedures or other people/staff into the lives
or daily routines of persons served which is found
bothersome by the person and which causes a perceived
interference with  the life and/or daily routines of the person.

55.116 Least Restrictive - Descriptive of services and
treatments that are delivered with a minimum of limitation,
intrusion, disruption or departure from commonly
accepted patterns of living in the community.

55.117 Neighborhood Home - A single-unit house
providing residential and support services to five or fewer

people and licensed pursuant to 16 Delaware Code,
§1101.  This definition does not include ICF/MR programs.

55.118 Neighborhood Home Provider - An individual
or organization responsible for the operation of the
Neighborhood Home.

55.119 Outcomes -The major expectations and desired
achievements for people’s lives.  The accompanying
supports that are developed should reflect what
people expect from the services and assistance they receive
in order to reach their desired outcomes.

55.120 Person/People/Individual/Resident - Terms
used throughout these regulations that identify someone
receiving services and supports in a Neighborhood Home.

55.121 Physical Environment - Those locations in
which the individual lives, works, recreates or receives
services.

55.122 Physical Restraint - Approved manual methods
that restrict the movement of the individual or the normal
functioning of an individual’s body or portion of  the body. 

55.123 Reportable Incident - An occurrence or event
which must be reported at once to the Division of
Developmental Disabilities Services (DDDS) and for which
there is reasonable cause to believe that a resident has been
abused, neglected, mistreated or subjected to financial
exploitation.  Reportable incident also includes an incident
of unknown source which might be attributable to abuse,
neglect or mistreatment; all deaths; falls with injuries;
and significant errors or omissions in medication/treatment
which cause the resident discomfort or jeopardize the
resident’s health and safety.  DDDS will forward the report
to the Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
(DLTCRP).  (Also see Incident, 55.112.)

55.124 Rights Restriction - The limitation, disruption
or constraint of a person’s freedom to engage in activities
generally allowed to others in society. Such is
permissible only on a case-by-case basis and when there has
been due process, official approval received and the need for
such documented.

55.125 Safety - The absence of recognizable hazards
in the design, construction and maintenance of any
component of the physical environment including equipment
and the establishment of procedures to evaluate and to
reduce risks of physical harm.

55.126 Sanitation - The promotion of hygiene and
prevention of disease by the maintenance of uncontaminated
conditions.

55.127 Screening - The initial part of the assessment
process which is of limited scope and intensity and is
designed to determine whether further evaluation or other
intervention is indicated.

55.128 Self-Limiting Behavior - Any behavior that
significantly interferes with a person’s ability to acquire
meaningful life skills, form and maintain
interpersonal relationships, and/or successfully live in his/
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her community.  A behavior in and of itself is not self-
limiting; rather, it may be viewed contextually relative to the
impact it has on the quality of life of both the person who is
displaying the behavior and on others in the environment
who are affected by the behavior. 

55.129 Supplemental Plans - Detailed instructions or
preparations needed to support an outcome or opportunity.
Types of such plans include learning, motivating,
achieving a personal goal and gaining a new opportunity.
Supplemental plans are used to outline a course of action in
an effort to accomplish an outcome or provide an
opportunity which has been identified in the action plan.

55.130 Support - A broad term used to refer to those
methods designed to help an individual achieve a meaningful
life and to function to his/her fullest capacity.

55.131 Support Coordinator - The staff person
responsible for monitoring and coordinating all activities in
implementing the person’s plan.

55.132 Transfer - Movement of a person from one
program, service or residence to another within DDDS.

SECTION 55.2 - LICENSING  AND GENERAL
REQUIREMENTS 

55.201 When a Neighborhood Home pursuant to these
regulations plans any structural alteration, one copy of
properly prepared plans and specifications for the entire
home shall be submitted to the Division of Long Term Care
Residents Protection (DLTCRP).  The Neighborhood Home
shall receive written approval of the plans before any work is
begun.

55.202 Separate licenses are required for separate
homes, regardless of their proximity, even though operated
by the same Neighborhood Home provider.

A license shall not be transferred from one provider
to another or from one location to another.

55.203 The license shall be conspicuously posted in
the Neighborhood Home.

55.204 All applications for renewal of licenses shall be
filed with DLTCRP at least thirty days prior to expiration.
Licenses shall be issued by DLTCRP for a period not to
exceed one year (12 months) from the date they are issued.

55.205 All required records maintained by the
Neighborhood Home shall be open to inspection by the
authorized representatives of DLTCRP and DDDS.

55.206 The term “Neighborhood Home” shall not be
used as part of the name of any program in this State unless
the home is licensed under these regulations.

55.207 No Neighborhood Home provider shall adopt
rules that conflict with these regulations. 

55.208 DLTCRP shall be notified in writing of any
changes in the ownership or management of a Neighborhood
Home.

55.209 Each Neighborhood Home provider shall
provide with the admission agreement, to all persons or their

family member/guardian, a complete statement enumerating
all charges for services, materials and equipment
which shall, or may be, furnished to the person during the
period of residency.

55.210 Each Neighborhood Home provider shall make
known, in writing, the refund and prepayment policy at the
time of admission, and in the case of third-party
payment, an exact statement of responsibility in the event of
retroactive denial.

SECTION 55.3 - NEIGHBORHOOD HOME
PROVIDER PERFORMANCE STANDARDS

55.301 The Neighborhood Home provider shall have a
written statement of its mission, values and goals which
defines the agency’s proactive commitment to helping
people live the lifestyle they choose and fosters the least
restrictive alternatives of supports and services.

55.302 The Neighborhood Home provider shall have
written policies and procedures that delineate how the civil
rights of the people served are to be ensured. 

55.303 The Neighborhood Home provider shall have a
written procedure to handle appeals of decisions made by the
provider from people receiving services, their advocates,
legal guardians and families.  The procedures shall include
the use of the Appeal to DDDS Decisions policy.

55.304 The Neighborhood Home provider shall have a
written policy that defines and prohibits abuse, neglect,
mistreatment, misappropriation of property and significant
injury of persons served and a procedure for initiating
intervention in all such cases whether the alleged incident
occurred within or outside of the Neighborhood Home.  The
provider shall comply with the provisions of
Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) Policy
Memorandum #46 by reporting all instances of abuse,
neglect, mistreatment, misappropriation of property or
significant injury and the requirements for other reportable
incidents.  (See 55.123.)

55.305 The Neighborhood Home provider shall have a
written policy and procedures for protecting the financial
interests of people served.

55.306 The Neighborhood Home provider shall review
its written policies and procedures at least annually to ensure
that they are in compliance with the requirements of the
applicable laws and regulations.  Copies of all relevant
policies and procedures shall be made available to persons
served or their families at any time and be available to any
party upon request.

55.307 The Neighborhood Home provider shall
maintain a current table of organization identifying its
operational elements and programs and
administrative personnel and illustrating lines of authority,
responsibility and communication.  This document shall be
shared with provider staff.

55.308 The Neighborhood Home provider’s chief



PROPOSED REGULATIONS

DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 2, FRIDAY, AUGUST 1, 2003

143

executive officer shall designate an employee to assume
management responsibility during his or her absence.
All employees shall be informed of who has such
responsibility at any given time and who is to be contacted in
the event of an emergency.

55.309 The Neighborhood Home provider shall
comply with the policies of the Department of Health and
Social Services (DHSS) Human Subjects Review
Board with regard to conducting research involving people
served.  

55.310 In all provider activities and references,
including name, language of staff, internal documents and
communication to the public, the language used shall
reflect the Neighborhood Home provider’s program, its
purposes and promote respect and a positive image of the
people served and the staff who support them.

55.311 Services shall be provided to people who are
otherwise eligible without regard to disability, gender, age,
sexual orientation, race, religion, marital status or
ability to pay.

55.312 The Neighborhood Home provider shall not
employ individuals under the ageof 18.

55.313 The Neighborhood Home provider shall obtain
the results of each employment applicant’s drug screening
for the following drugs:

a. Marijuana/cannabis
b. Cocaine
c. Opiates including heroin
d. Phencyclidine (PCP)
e. Amphetamines
f. Barbiturates
g. Benzodiazepene
h. Methadone
i. Methaqualone
j. Propoxyphene

55.314 The Neighborhood Home provider shall
complete a state and federal criminal background check for
each employment applicant through DLTCRP.

55.315 The Neighborhood Home provider shall ensure
that each employee is thoroughly familiar with assigned
duties and responsibilities.  Job descriptions with
employees’ individual responsibilities and duties shall be
made available on site.

55.316 Orientation and training shall be provided to all
employees in accordance with the training policy of DDDS
and shall be documented, continuously updated and made
available for review upon request.

55.317 The Neighborhood Home provider shall ensure
that staff training is relevant to the support needs of the
people served and shall continuously evaluate
training effectiveness by assessing employees’ demonstrated
competencies and by modifying training programs
accordingly.

55.318 The Neighborhood Home provider shall

provide each person with an oral and written summary of
his/her rights and an explanation of how to exercise those
rights in easily understandable language.  This review shall
be documented in the person’s record and shall occur at least
annually.  The rights of a person shall not be restricted
without due process; any restrictions, including the
need for guardianship, shall be reviewed at least annually.
All investigation into alleged violations of individuals’ rights
and the actions taken to intervene  in such situations shall be
documented.

55.319 Each Neighborhood Home provider shall have
its own human right committee or shall participate in a
system-wide human rights committee. Each human rights
committee shall be responsible for assuring that people’s
rights are supported and shall be approved by the Division of
Developmental Disabilities Services. Human rights
committees shall comply with DDDS minimum standards of
operations of such committees, and their decisions
concerning persons served by DDDS shall be subject to the
review and approval of the DDDS human rights committee.

55.320 Each human rights committee member shall be
provided with a written explanation and training in the
committee’s duties and responsibilities. Any
member who has been involved in the development, review
or approval of a matter before the committee shall be
excluded from decision-making related to that matter.

55.321 The Neighborhood Home provider shall
safeguard and maintain records regarding the funds of
people receiving services and support their efforts
towards independence/self-management of those funds.
Requests to the contrary, other than from the person’s legal
guardian (of property), shall require a recommendation of
the Interdisciplinary Team, accompanied by
substitute safeguards, with approval from the Director of the
DDDS Community Services or Special Populations
program.  Such actions shall be documented in the person’s
record.  The financial records shall be available on request to
the person, his/her legal guardian (of property) or other
individuals or entities authorized by DDDS.

55.322 Funds for one person shall not be commingled
with the funds of another person.  People shall have
community bank accounts in their own names
unless otherwise indicated by them or their legal guardian of
property.

SECTION 55.4 - PERSONS’ SERVICES AND
SUPPORTS

55.401 The Neighborhood Home provider shall
comply with the Patient’s Bill of Rights set forth in 16 Del.
C., Section 1121.  A copy of the Patient’s Bill of Rights shall
be conspicuously posted within the home.

55.402 To the greatest extent possible, the person
chooses where and with whom he/she shall live.

55.403 With due regard to each individual’s right to
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privacy and safety and as agreed upon by the person served,
the person’s family, guardian, advocates, spouse  and friends
shall be encouraged to visit the person in his/her
Neighborhood Home.  Visits shall occur at reasonable times
and may be without prior  notice.

55.404 The Neighborhood Home provider shall
facilitate frequent informal visits by persons to the homes of
their families and friends in accordance with each
party’s desire. 

55.405 People shall be provided with opportunities
and supports to develop and maintain social relationships, to
perform different social roles and to participate in the life of
their community, including attending and participating
in religious activities of their choice.  Wherever possible,
supports shall be adapted to the cultural background,
language and ethnic origin of the person. 

55.406 People shall receive support and instruction as
appropriate to exercise the rights and responsibilities of
citizens such as voting, employment, consumer
affairs, law enforcement, paying taxes or consulting an
attorney.

55.407 People shall be supported in receiving
advocacy and/or legal services as needed.  

55.408 People shall receive support and instruction in
recognizing and respecting the rights of others as reciprocal
to their own.

55.409 If a person is represented by a legal guardian or
a substitute decision maker (as defined in the DDDS Consent
Policy), such shall be documented in the individual plan; and
efforts shall be made to ensure that the person receives
continued education, instruction and support to exercise his/
her rights and make informed decisions.

55.410 People shall decide when and with whom they
wish to share personal information.  Prior to the release of
information, including the person’s name or photo, a written
consent shall be signed by the person (unless legally
adjudicated to need a guardian), a parent (if the person is a
minor), or by a substitute decision maker in accordance with
DDDS policy on confidentiality and release of information.
The consent shall minimally include:

a. The designation of time limit with a maximum
of 365 days;

b. The person to whom the information is to be
released;

c. The exact information to be released;
d. The stipulation that consent may be rescinded

at any time.
55.411 People shall be supported to exercise choice,

including but not limited to choice in the following:
a. Clothing and personal possessions;
b. Telephone use with privacy available;
c. Time, space and opportunity for privacy;
d. Opening mail addressed to them unless other

arrangements are expressly made;

e. Deciding when and where to go unless
otherwise indicated in their plan;

f. Deciding who will assist them with personal
hygiene;

g. Participation in household responsibilities.
55.412  People shall be supported to bathe with the

maximum independence and privacy.
55.413 People who are incontinent shall be bathed or

cleansed immediately upon voiding or soiling.  All soiled
items shall be changed immediately.

55.414 Each person shall have an Essential Lifestyle
Plan written in terms that are understandable to all, where
the person’s goals, dreams and aspirations are stated and
defined.  The person, with the support of the team, shall
determine when and how to measure success and attainment
of his/her desired outcomes; and such criteria shall be
defined in the Essential Lifestyle Plan, as applicable. 

55.415 The person’s plan shall include financial
planning which takes into account the person’s resources,
assets and benefits in conjunction with his/her
personal goals. 

55.416 For each person, an interdisciplinary team
including the support coordinator and specific people
responsible for obtaining services and implementing the
support plan, shall be clearly defined.  Staff of all
Neighborhood Home providers providing any component of
service or support shall take an active role in assuring
effective communication and overall support coordination. 

55.417 The support coordinator shall monitor, review,
analyze, observe the implementation and document all
components of a person’s plan at least monthly.

55.418 If the monthly review determines the need for
any action, such action shall be taken in a timely manner by
the appropriate team member.

55.419  The support coordinator shall assist the person
in locating and obtaining those services and supports
identified by the team and shall assist the person in assuming
management of those activities for which the person
has demonstrated management capacity and/or expressed an
interest.

55.420 The support coordinator shall elicit the
person’s preferences and respect those preferences when
they are consistent with the rights and well-being of
the person and of others.

55.421 The support coordinator shall facilitate the
transfer of the person to another service, service location or
service provider when the person desires such a
transfer and such is consistent with the person’s plan.

55.422 The initial plan and subsequent plans are
developed, at the discretion of the person and/or the
guardian, with the active participation of the following:

a. The person;
b. Support staff who know and care about the

person;
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c. Professionals and others with the expertise to
design and review elements of the plan, including those who
provide supports or treatment.

d. The person’s family, guardian, advocate or
friends.

55.423 The person’s plan shall be reviewed by his/her
team as often as the person decides, but at least yearly (365
days) in conjunction with the person’s annual
conference or when significant changes occur, to determine
the need to continue, revise or terminate services and
supports.  Any applicable information, including previous
plans, shall be reviewed for possible inclusion  in the current
plan.  

55.424 Plans shall be implemented within 30 days of
the development of an initial plan and within 30 days of each
subsequent annual conference.  The initial plan shall be
revised within 60 days of initiation of Neighborhood Home
services.

55.425 Supplemental plans shall be in place as
required by the person’s action plan, and shall be based on
the person’s learning styles. 

55.426 Reassessments for those persons receiving
services, including direct or indirect clinical services, shall
be completed annually in preparation for the annual
conference or when there is an indication of need.
Reassessments shall be available in preparation for the
person’s annual conference.

55.427 Meetings concerning the person shall be
scheduled at a date, time and location suitable for all team
members, especially the person and his/her parents, guardian
and/or advocate.

55.428 The Neighborhood Home provider’s policies
and practices relative to behavior supports, as evidenced in
writing and in ongoing activities, shall be congruent with the
policies and practices of DDDS and emphasize positive
approaches and behavior interventions.

55.429 The Neighborhood Home provider shall have
its own, or use the DDDS behavior support committee which
shall include:

a. Persons qualified to evaluate published
behavior support research studies and the technical adequacy
of proposed behavior support interventions;

b. Medical and other professionals qualified to
evaluate proposals for the use of interventions to manage
behavior. 

55.430 Prior to the use of behavior intervention
strategies, and absent a crisis situation or psychiatric
emergency requiring an immediate response, the following
activities shall take place:

a. The physical and social environments shall be
analyzed to determine their role in contributing to the self-
limiting behavior;

b. The necessary modifications shall be made to the
environment based on that analysis;

c. Medical treatment shall be obtained for any
possible physiological cause of the behavior; and

d. The treatment team shall discuss and document the
risk/benefits of the proposed procedure. 

55.431 Prior to the use of behavior intervention
strategies, persons who will implement behavior support
procedures shall have been trained in the 
procedures specified in the person’s plan.

a. Include a risk/benefit analysis, in non-technical
terms, which identifies the risks associated with not
providing the intervention, the risks associated
with providing the intervention, and the benefits of the
proposed intervention;

b. Include a detailed plan of action the team
intends to follow to reduce or eliminate the need for the
intrusive intervention/drugs;

c. Specify provisions for at least a quarterly
reevaluation for the need for continuation of the
intervention/drugs;

d. Include alternative supports; and
e. Be discussed with the person/guardian relative

to the rationale for such treatment and the risks/benefits
involved.

55.443 Each mental health plan utilizing psychotropic
medications for the treatment of a diagnosed psychiatric
illness shall:

a. Include a risk/benefit analysis, in non-technical
terms, which identifies the risks associated with not
providing the intervention, the risks associated
with providing the intervention, and the benefits of the
proposed intervention;

b. Specify provisions for ongoing reevaluation of
the need for continuing the use of medication;

c. Include alternative supports, as appropriate;
and

d. Be discussed with the person/guardian relative
to the rationale for such  treatment and the risks/benefits
involved.

SECTION 55.5 - ENVIRONMENT
55.501 Neighborhood Home providers shall ensure a

home-like environment for each licensed home.  Functional
arrangement of rooms, furnishings, and decor shall be
compatible with the need for accessibility.

55.502 Furniture and furnishings shall be safe,
comfortable, and in good repair and shall resemble those in
homes in the local community, to the extent
compatible with persons’ choice and the physical needs of
the people living in the home.  To the extent possible,
personal furniture shall be chosen by individuals.

55.503 Heating apparatus shall not constitute a burn,
smoke or carbon monoxide hazard to persons served or their
support staff.

55.504 Temperature, humidity, ventilation, and light in
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all living and sleeping quarters shall be maintained to
provide a comfortable atmosphere.

55.505 Homes serving persons with physical
challenges shall be accessible to those persons with physical
challenges according to the appropriate American
National Standards Institute (ANSI) Standards and all other
federal and state  standards.

55.506 Protective or security features such as fences
and security windows may be used only when justified on
the basis of the needs of persons served and shall preserve as
normal an appearance as possible. 

55.507 Use of security or observational devices shall
constitute a restrictive procedure and require consent and
review by the human rights committee. The need for such
devices shall be documented in the person’s behavior
support plan. 

55.508 Homes shall be sanitary, free of offensive
odors, insects and uncontrolled  pests.  Exterminator services
shall be required upon evidence of any infestation.

55.509 Waste and garbage shall be stored, transferred,
and disposed of in a manner that does not create a nuisance,
or permit the transmission of disease.  Litter shall not be
permitted to accumulate on the premises.

55.510 Stairways, ramps, walkways and open-sided
porches shall have adequate lighting and handrails for safety.
Non-skid surfaces shall be used when slippery surfaces
present a hazard.

55.511 All stairways, hallways, doorways and
walkways shall be kept free and clear of obstructions at all
times.

55.512 Mirrors shall be furnished in bedrooms and
bathrooms, including mirrors that are accessible by persons
who use wheelchairs.  

55.513 Each home shall provide storage space for both
in season and out of season clothing and storage space for
personal items to include, minimally, closet space and four
drawers in a chest of drawers.

55.514 Each home shall contain a clothes washer and
dryer that are accessible to people unless people use
commercial laundromats or are being supported to
do so.

55.515 Basement space may be used for activities for
people in the home if there is a minimum of two (2) fire
exits.

55.516 If a bedroom is below grade level, it must have
a window that 

a. Is usable as a second means of escape by the
person(s) occupying the  room; and

b. Is no more than 36 inches (measured to the
window sill) above the floor as required under the Health
Care Occupancy Chapter of the Life Safety
Code.

SECTION 55.6 - MEALTIMES
55.601 The home’s meal and menu planning shall be

supervised by a registered dietitian or nutritionist or by
anexperienced person who consults a registered
dietitian or nutritionist as needed.  Therapeutic diet orders,
meal and menu planning shall be reviewed, monitored and
updated as recommended by the nutritionist/dietitian with a
minimum of an annual evaluation.  Therapeutic
diets shall require a physician’s order.

55.602 Nutritional intake of persons receiving a
medically prescribed modified diet shall be followed,
reviewed and monitored by a nurse, dietitian or other
medical personnel as appropriate, as determined by the
dietitian or  physician.

55.603 Persons shall be offered opportunities for
choices in food selection and are actively involved in menu
planning and food preparation as part of the daily
meal routine.

55.604 Menus and records of foods actually served
shall be retained for a period of three months.

55.605 Foods shall be provided in sufficient amounts
for meals and snacks and in sufficient variety on a daily,
weekly, monthly, and seasonal basis.

55.606 The daily diet for each person shall include a
minimum of three balanced meals a day with food from the
four basic food groups.

55.607 Meals shall be served so that they are flavorful,
attractive in appearance, at appropriate serving temperature,
and have preserved their nutritional value.

55.608 Meals should be provided in locations which
provide the opportunity for socialization, choice, sanitation,
and also support the person’s preference.

55.609 Persons shall eat in an upright position or in a
position that is medically indicated.

55.610 There shall be at least one refrigerator and one
freezing unit, in proper working order and capable of
maintaining frozen foods in the frozen state and refrigerated
foods at 41 degrees F. or below.

55.611 Dry or staple food items shall be stored at least
four inches above the floor in a ventilated room that is not
subject to waste water back flow or to
contamination by condensation or leakage.

55.612 There shall be at least one four-burner range
and one oven (or combination thereof), which is in proper
working order.

55.613 There shall be a dishwasher or facilities for
performing dishwashing.

55.614 There shall be at least one operable window or
exhaust system for removal of smoke, odors, and fumes in
the cooking area.

55.615 There shall be three days supply of food in
each home at all times as posted on the menus.  Opened
foods that are to be stored shall immediately be
dated with the date that the foods were opened.
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SECTION 55.7 - MEDICAL AND HEALTH CARE
55.701 Each person shall have a primary care

physician and a dentist and shall receive an annual physical
and dental examination unless otherwise recommended by
the appropriate professional.  Routine screening and
laboratory examinations shall be obtained when such are
determined warranted by the physician.

55.702 Within 30 days after services are initiated by
the agency, the following screenings shall be scheduled if the
need for such is identified by the physician, person,
advocate, guardian or team:

a. Nutritional;
b. Visual;
c. Auditory;
d. Speech and language;
e. Occupational therapy;
f. Physical therapy;
g. Assistive technology;
h. Other screenings as identified.

55.703When requested by the person, advocate,
guardian or team or when indicated by the screening results,
the person shall receive a comprehensive evaluation in the
area(s) within 90 days. 

55.704 Each person shall have his/her own toothbrush
which is used regularly and stored antiseptically. 

55.705 Persons shall be supported, to the extent
possible, to attend to their own  health care needs by making
medical and dental appointments, cooperating in receiving
medical and dental treatment and in self-administering their
 medications.

55.706 The Neighborhood Home provider shall have
policies and procedures for infection control as it pertains to
persons, staff, and visitors.  Upon confirmation of reportable
disease, the appropriate County Health Officer of
the Division of Public Health shall be notified.

55.707 The Neighborhood Home provider shall have
on file results of tuberculin tests:  

a. Performed annually for all employees and
volunteers, and

b. Performed on all newly admitted persons.  The
tuberculin test to be used is the Mantoux test containing 5
TU-PPD stabilized with Tween, injected
intradermally, using a needle and syringe, usually on the
volar surface of the forearm.  Persons found to have a
significant reaction (defined as 10 mm of induration or
greater) to tests shall be reported to the Division of
Public Health and managed according to recommended
medical practice. A tuberculin test as specified, done within
the twelve months prior to employment or admission, or a
chest x-ray showing no evidence of active
tuberculosis shall satisfy this requirement.

55.708 Each person’s health and immunization history
shall be updated continuously.  

55.709 Persons who require adaptations of the

environment or who use adaptive, corrective, mobility,
orthotic, prosthetic, communication or other assistive
devices or supports shall receive instruction in their proper
use and shall receive professional assessments annually, or
as otherwise prescribed, to ascertain the continued
applicability and fitness of those devices or supports.

55.710 Adaptive, corrective, mobility, orthotic and
prosthetic equipment shall be available, kept clean and in
good repair and used as appropriate.

55.711 If any of the above supports are needed or
used, the person’s plan shall specify:

a. the reason for each support;
b. the situations in which each is to be applied;

and
c. a schedule for the use of each support. 

SECTION 55.8 - MEDICATIONS
55.801 Individuals receiving medication shall be

instructed in self-administration to the limit of their
understanding.  The Neighborhood Home Provider shall also
include instruction in the purpose, dosage and possible side
effects of the prescribed medication to the limit of the
person’s understanding.

55.802 Individuals who administer their own
medication shall:

a. Understand the purpose of the medication,
dosage times and possible side effects;

b. Know what to do if a dosage is missed, extra
medication is taken or an adverse reaction is experienced;

c. Be educated in the maintenance of his/her own
medication history and in the recording of information
needed by the physician to determine medication and dosage
effectiveness.

55.803 Medications shall be used only by the person
for whom they were prescribed.

55.804 Injectable medication shall only be
administered by licensed practical nurses,  registered nurses
or other licensed medical professionals.

55.805 Providers who have successfully completed a
Board of Nursing approved Assistance with Self-
Administration of Medication (AWSAM) training program
may assist persons in the taking of medication, provided that
the medication is in the original container and properly
labeled.  The medication shall be taken exactly as indicated
on the label.  

55.806 A medication record shall be maintained for
each person.  The record shall show the name and strength of
each medication being taken by the person. Each dose
administered shall be recorded by date, time and initials of
person or persons assisting.  Effectiveness shall be
monitored by clinical support staff.

55.807 The Neighborhood Home Provider shall assist
the person in reporting side effects to the physician who
prescribed the medication.  Suspected drug reactions shall be
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noted in the medication record and documented in the
active file of the person.

55.808 All medication errors and corrective actions
shall be documented and reported in accordance with
provider written policy.

55.809 Serious medication errors and reactions to
medication shall be reported immediately to the physician
and to the Neighborhood Home provider’s chief executive
officer or to a person designated by written policy. 

55.810 A three-day supply of medication shall be
available at all times.  All medication shall be stored in its
original container either from the pharmacy,
physician or manufacturer with the proper label and specific
directions for assistance.

55.811 Medications to be applied externally shall be
distinguishable from medications to be taken internally by
means of packaging, labeling and segregation within storage
areas. 

55.812 Medication shall be stored and locked under
proper conditions of temperature, light, humidity and
ventilation.  Room temperature acceptable for medication
storage is between 59 and 86 degrees Fahrenheit.

55.813 Medications requiring refrigeration shall be
kept in a separate locked box within the refrigerator.  A
temperature monitoring device shall be used and the
temperature shall be maintained between 36 and 42 degrees
Fahrenheit.

55.814 A supply of over-the-counter medication shall
be stocked at each home. However, the use of such
medications must be authorized by the person’s
physician in writing, and their use documented in the
medication record and in the person’s active file.

55.815 Discontinued and outdated medications and
containers with illegible or missing labels shall be promptly
disposed of in a safe manner.

SECTION 55.9 - PERSONS’ RECORDS
55.901 A cumulative record containing all information

and documents related to supporting and providing services
to the person shall be maintained chronologically for each
person.

55.902 The record shall be readily accessible to those
who require such access in order to provide services as
described in the person’s support plan.

55.903 All information concerning a person served,
including information contained in an automated data bank,
is confidential; and access shall be limited to staff
who need to see the record, or to persons specifically
authorized by the person or legally qualified  representatives.

55.904 Entries in a person’s record referring to actions
with another person shall be coded in such a way as to
protect the confidentiality of the persons served.

55.905 The provider shall be responsible for the
safekeeping of each person’s record and for securing it

against loss, destruction, or use by unauthorized persons
as evidenced by policies and practices.

55.906 Incident reports, with adequate documentation,
shall be completed for each incident.  Adequate
documentation shall consist of the name of the
resident(s) involved; the date, time and place of the incident;
a description of  the incident; a list of other parties involved,
including witnesses; the nature of any injuries; resident
outcome; and follow-up action, including notification of the
resident’s family or guardian, attending physician and
DDDS or law enforcement authorities when appropriate.
Incident reports shall be kept on  file by the provider.
Reportable incidents shall be communicated immediately
to the Division of Developmental Disabilities Services.

SECTION  55.10 - TRANSPORTATION
55.1001 The transportation system operated by, or

under contract to, the home shall meet local and state
licensing, inspection, insurance, and capacity
requirements.

55.1002 Vehicles used to transport persons shall be
equipped  with a seat belt for each person and a means of
communication.  Vehicles used to transport persons with
physical impairments shall be adapted to their needs.

55.1003 Drivers of vehicles shall have valid and
appropriate driver’s licenses.

55.1004 Emergency transportation shall be available on
a 24-hour basis.

55.1005 The provider shall provide or arrange
transportation for a person’s routine medical and dental care.

SECTION 55.11 - SAFETY AND SANITATION
55.1101 The Neighborhood Home’s program shall

comply with all applicable provisions of federal, state and
local laws, regulations and codes pertaining to
health, safety, sanitation and plumbing.

55.1102 The provider shall maintain records and reports
of periodic fire safety, health, sanitation, and environmental 
inspections required by local and state laws and regulations.
The provider shall document actions taken to correct
deficiencies noted in these reports.

55.1103 The provider shall prepare written policies that
outline maintenance (including electrical maintenance) and
cleaning procedures, storage of cleaning materials and/or
pesticides and other toxic materials.

55.1104 Hot water at shower, bathing and handwashing
facilities shall not exceed 115 degrees F.  

55.1105 There shall be adequate, safe and separate
areas of storage of:

a. Food items;
b. Cleaning agents, disinfectants and polishes;
c. Poisons, chemicals and pesticides;
d. Eating, serving and cooking utensils;
e. Clean and dirty linen.
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55.1106 Firearms shall be prohibited on the premises of
the Neighborhood Home.

55.1107 Active attention shall be directed to avoiding
hazards to the people supported, such as dangerous
substances, sharp objects, unprotected electrical outlets,
slippery floors or stairs, exposed heating devices, scalding
water or broken glass.  However, people shall be prepared
for and progressively exposed to routine risks that are likely
to be encountered in normal environments. 

SECTION 55.12 - BEDROOMS
55.1201 Rooms or other areas of the Neighborhood

Home that are not ordinarily sleeping rooms may not be used
for sleeping purposes. 

55.1202 Sleeping rooms shall have an outside window
and must provide for quiet and privacy.  Adequate electrical
outlets shall be conveniently located in each room with at
least one (1) light fixture switch at the entrance to the
bedroom.

55.1203 Bedrooms shall have walls that extend from
floor to ceiling, and shall accommodate no more than two
persons.

55.1204 Multi-bed bedrooms shall provide at least 75
square feet per person.

55.1205 Single-bed bedrooms shall contain at least 100
square feet.

55.1206 Bedrooms shall contain space, as needed, for
bedside assistance and to accommodate the use and storage
of mobility devices and prosthetic equipment.

55.1207 Each person shall have a bed suitable for his or
her physical statute and condition.

55.1208 Mattresses, bedding and pillows shall be clean
and provide comfort and sufficient support and warmth.

55.1209 The use of hospital-type beds, plastic or other
materials to keep beds and pillows dry, flat pillows or the
absence of pillows or other departures from
normalcy shall be justified in each case in the person’s
record and reviewed at least annually.

55.1210 There shall be a sturdy bedside stand, chair, a
desk or table, and reading light for the person.

55.1211 Each bedroom window shall have a window
treatment that closes for privacy.

55.1212 People shall be encouraged, and assisted as
needed, to decorate their  bedrooms as they choose.   

SECTION 55.13 - BATHROOMS
55.1301 There shall be private toilet facilities with a

shower or tub in good repair in each home.  These facilities
shall be accessible to the person according to his/her needs
and shall facilitate maximum independence.

55.1302 Traffic to and from any room shall not be
through a bedroom or bathroom except where a bathroom
opens directly off the room it serves.

55.1303 There shall be at least one (1) window or

mechanical ventilation to the outside of the bathroom. 
55.1304 Toilets, bathing and toileting appliances shall

be equipped for use by physically handicapped persons, as
dictated by such persons’ needs.

55.1305 There shall be at least one (1) toilet of
appropriate size for each four (4) persons.  Each toilet shall
be equipped with a toilet seat and toilet tissue.

55.1306 There shall be at least one (1) wash basin for
each four (4) persons.

55.1307 There shall be at least one (1) tub or shower for
each four (4) persons.

55.1308 Wash basins shall be available in or
immediately adjacent to bathrooms and/or toilet rooms.

55.1309 Shower and tub areas shall be equipped with
substantial hand-grip bars and slip-resistant floor surfaces.

SECTION 55.14 - EMERGENCIES AND DISASTERS
55.1401 Fire safety in Neighborhood Homes shall

comply with the rules and regulations of the State Fire
Prevention Commission or the appropriate local jurisdiction.
All applications for a license or renewal of a license shall
include a letter certifying compliance by the Fire Marshal
with jurisdiction.  Notification of non-compliance with the
applicable rules and regulations shall be grounds for
revocation of a license. 

55.1402 The home shall have a minimum of two means
of egress.

55.1403 The home shall have an adequate number of
UL approved smoke detectors  in working order.

a. In a single level home, a minimum of one
smoke detector shall be placed between the bedroom area
and the remainder of the home.

b. In a multi-story home, a minimum of one
smoke detector shall be on each level.  On levels which have
bedrooms, the detector shall be placed between the bedroom
area and the remainder of the home.

55.1404 There shall be at least one functional two and
one-half to five pound ABC fire extinguisher on each floor
of living space in the home that is readily accessible, visible
and mounted on the wall.  Inspections shall be completed by
the service company or as regulated by the Fire Marshal.
Each  extinguisher shall be checked annually.

55.1405 The provider shall have written procedures for
meeting all emergencies and disasters such as fire, severe
weather, and missing persons; and such procedures shall be
communicated to all staff.

55.1406 The procedures shall assign specific personnel
to specific tasks and responsibilities.

55.1407 The procedures shall contain instructions
related to the use of alarm and signal systems.  Provisions
shall be made to alert persons living in the home
according to their abilities, and these provisions shall be
included in the procedures.

55.1408 Evacuation routes and the location of fire-
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fighting equipment shall be posted in areas used by the
public as required by the applicable fire safety
regulations.  The number and placement of postings are
otherwise dictated by building use and configuration and by
the needs of persons and staff.

55.1409 The provider shall maintain an adequate
communication system to ensure that on and off-duty
personnel and local fire and safety authorities are notified
promptly in the event of an emergency or disaster.

55.1410 The telephone numbers of the nearest poison
control center and the nearest source of emergency medical
services shall be posted.

55.1411 Provisions shall be made for emergency
auxiliary heat and lighting by means of alternate sources of
electric power, alternate fuels, and stand-by
equipment, or arrangements with neighbors, other agencies
or community resources.

SECTION 55.15 - EVACUATION DRILLS
55.1501 Drills shall be held quarterly for each shift with

one drill per calendar month.  Evacuation drills shall be held
on different days, at different times, including  times when
people are asleep.

55.1502 The location of egress during these evacuation
drills shall be varied, with window evacuation procedures
discussed as an alternative, if not practiced. 

55.1503 During drills, persons shall be evacuated with
staff assistance to the designated safe area outside of the
home.

55.1504 As evidenced by evacuation drill reports that
are maintained by the Neighborhood Home, drills shall
assure that all persons and staff are familiar with the
evacuation requirements and procedures.  Any problems
persons have evacuating a building during a drill shall result
in a written plan of specific corrective action(s) to be taken.

55.1505 Persons who are unable to achieve the exit
schedule prescribed by the Life/Safety Code with available
assistance shall be either relocated or provided with
additional assistance.

SECTION 55.16 - WAIVERS OF STANDARDS
55.1601 Specific standards may be waived by the

Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection provided
that each of the following conditions is met:

a. Strict enforcement of the standard would result
in unreasonable hardship  on the provider.

b. The waiver is in accordance with the particular
needs of the person.

c. A waiver must not adversely affect the health,
safety, welfare, or rights of any person.

d. Residents may be informed of the waiver
request and asked for input, as appropriate.

55.1602 The request for a waiver must be made to the
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection in writing

by the provider with substantial detail justifying  the request.
The Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection will
inform  the provider of its decision within 30 days of receipt
of the written request.

55.1603 A waiver granted by the Division of Long
Term Care Residents Protection is not  transferable to
another Neighborhood Home provider in the event of a
change in ownership.

55.1604 A waiver shall be granted for a period up to the
term of the license.

SECTION 55.17 - SEVERABILITY
55.1701 Should any section, sentence, clause or phrase

of these regulations be legally declared unconstitutional or
invalid for any reason, the remainder of said regulations
shall not be affected thereby.

Adopted   / /03

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Statutory Authority:  31 Delaware Code,

Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Stamp Program 

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Section 107, Delaware Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid/
Medical Assistance Program is proposing to amend the
policy of the Food Stamp Program in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM).  The proposed changes address
exempt aliens and reporting changes and are effective
October 1, 2003.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by August 31, 2003.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

http://www.state.de.us/dhss/dss/dsshome.html
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Summary Of Proposed Changes

1. DSSM 9081.3 - Exempt Aliens: new rules broaden
the exemptions from sponsor deeming, especially children
under 18 years of age, effective October 1, 2003.

2. DSSM 9085 - Reporting Changes: extends
simplified reporting rules to all households except for the
elderly or disabled household with no earned income.
 
Citation:

Title IV of the Farm Security and Rural Investment Act
of 2002 ("Farm Bill"). 

DSS PROPOSED REGULATION #03-25

REVISIONS:

9081.3 Exempt Aliens
The deeming of sponsor income in steps 1-5 above do

not apply to:
1. Children under 18 years of age regardless of when

they entered the United States;
2. Immigrants whose deeming period had ended;
3. Sponsored aliens who are ineligible for food stamps

because of immigration status will not have the sponsor's
income deemed to other eligible members of the alien's
household;

1. 4. An alien who is a member of his or her
sponsor's food stamp household;

2. 5. An alien who is sponsored by an organization
or group as opposed to an individual;

3. 6. An alien who is not required to have a sponsor
under the Immigration and Nationality Act, such as a
refugee, a parolee, an asylee, or a Cuban or Haitian entrant;

7. An alien whose sponsor has not signed a legally
binding affidavit of support, the INS Form I-864 or I-864-A;

4. 8. A battered alien spouse, alien parent of a
battered child, or child of a battered alien, for 12 months
after a determination is made that the battering is
substantially connected to the need for benefits, and the
battered individual does not live with the batterer.  After 12
months, do not deem the batterer's income and resources if
the battery is recognized by a court or the INS had a
substantial connection to the need for benefits, and the alien
does not live with the batterer.

5. 9. An indigent alien who has been determined
unable to obtain food or shelter taking into account the
alien's own income plus any cash, food or housing, or other
assistance provided by other individuals, including the
sponsor(s).

9085 Reporting Changes
[273.12]

Certified food stamp households are required to report

the following changes in circumstances:
Simplified Six Month Reporting Requirements

The following reporting requirements are for all
households except those households where all members are
elderly or disabled and without earned income, homeless, or
migrant or seasonal farmworkers:

• Households are required to only report income
changes when the monthly income exceeds 130
percent of the poverty income guideline for the
household size that existed at the time of
certification or recertification.

• When a household's monthly income exceeds the
130 percent of the poverty income guideline, the
household is required to report that change within
ten days after the end of the month that the
household determines the income is over the 130
percent amount.

• Households will not have to report any changes in
the household composition, residence and resulting
changes in shelter costs, acquisition of non-
excluded licensed vehicles, when liquid resources
exceed $2000, and changes in the legal child
support obligation.

Additional reporting requirement for ABAWD
individuals:

• Adults living in a home without any minor children,
who are getting food stamps because they are
working over 20 hours a week, must report when
they start working less than 20 hours per week.

Reporting requirements for households not eligible for
the simplified six month reporting requirements above:

• Changes in the sources of or in the amount of gross
unearned income of more than $25, except changes
in the public assistance grants. Since DSS has prior
knowledge of all changes in the public assistance
grants, action shall be taken on the DSS
information.  Changes reported in person or by
telephone are to be acted upon in the same manner
as those reported on the change report form;

• All changes in household composition, such as the
addition or loss of a household member;

• Changes in residence and the resulting changes in
shelter costs;

• The acquisition of a licensed vehicle not fully
excludable under DSSM 9051 (for non-
categorically eligible households);

• When cash on hand, stocks, bonds, and money in a
bank account or savings institution reach or exceed
a total of $2,000 (for non-categorically eligible
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households); 
• Changes in the legal obligation to pay child

support; and
• Changes in work hours that bring an ABAWD

individual below 20 hours per week, averaged
monthly.

Certified households must report changes within ten
(10) days of the date the change becomes known to the
household.

An applying household must report all changes related
to its food stamp eligibility and benefits at the certification
interview.  Changes, as provided in this Section, which occur
after the interview but before the date of the notice of
eligibility, must be reported by the household within ten (10)
days of the date of the notice.

Only the reporting requirements in this Section and no
other reporting requirements can be imposed by the
Division.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Statutory Authority:  29 Delaware Code, 

Section 6960 (29 Del.C. §6960)

Pursuant to the Authority granted to the Department of
Labor under 29 Del.C. §8503(7), the Department is
proposing an amendment to regulations under 29 Del.C.
§6960, “Prevailing Wage Requirements”.  Interested parties
are invited to present their views at the public hearing which
is scheduled for

9:00 a.m., Thursday, August 21, 2003,
Division of Motor Vehicles,
2nd Floor Conference Room,
Public Safety Building,
303 Transportation Circle,
Dover, DE  19901.

Interested parties can obtain copies of the proposed
amendments at no charge by contacting the Office of Labor
Law Enforcement at:

4425 North Market Street
Wilmington, DE  19802
or by telephone at (302) 761-8318.

PREVAILING WAGE REGULATIONS

3.0 Concepts and Definitions
3.1 This section presents definitions and explanations

to provide a basic understanding of elements inherent in

collecting wage data and issuing wage determinations, and
enforcing prevailing rates.

3.1.1 Activity Covered. 29 Del.C. §6960 applies
to every contract or aggregate of contracts relating to a
public works project in excess of $100,000 for now
construction (including painting or decorating) or $15,000
for alteration, repair, renovation, rehabilitation, demolition
or reconstruction (including painting and decorating of
building or works) to which this State or any subdivision
thereof is a party and for which the State appropriated any
part of the funds and which requires or involves the
employment of mechanics and/or laborers.

3.1.2 "Building" or "Work".  The terms
"building" or "work" generally include construction activity
as distinguished from manufacturing, furnishing of
materials, or servicing and maintenance work.  The terms
include without limitation, buildings, structures, and
improvements of all types, such as bridges, dams, plants,
highways, parkways, streets, tunnels, sewers, mains, power
lines, pumping stations, heavy generators, railways, airports,
terminals, docks, piers, wharves, buoys, jetties, breakwaters,
levees, canals, dredging, shoring, rehabilitation and
reactivation of plants, scaffolding, drilling, blasting,
excavating, clearing, and landscaping.  The manufacture or
furnishing of materials, articles, supplies or equipment is not
a "building" or "work" within the meaning of the regulations
unless conducted at the site of such a building or work.

3.1.3 Laborers and Mechanics.  The terms
"laborer" and "mechanic" includes at least those workers
whose duties are manual or physical in nature (including
those workers who use tools or who are performing the work
of a trade), as distinguished from mental or managerial.  The
term "laborer" or "mechanic" includes apprentices and
Supportive Service Program (SSP) trainees.  The term does
not apply to workers whose duties are primarily
administrative, executive, or clerical, rather than manual.
Persons employed in a bona fide executive, administrative,
or professional capacity are not deemed to be laborers or
mechanics.  Working foremen who devote more than twenty
(20) percent of their time during a workweek to mechanic or
laborer duties are deemed to be laborers and mechanics for
the time so spent.

The terms "laborers" and "mechanics" do
not apply to watchmen, guards, dispatchers, or
weighmasters.  The following classifications of workers are
recognized by the Department:

Asbestos Workers Bricklayers
Carpenters Cement Finishers
Electrical Line Worker Electricians
Elevator Constructors Glaziers
Iron Workers Laborers
Millwrights Painters
Pile Driver Plasterers

http://www.delaware.gov/agencies/DeptLabor/Employment_Services
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Plumbers/Pipefitters/Steamfitters
Power Equipment Operators
Roofer- Composition
Roofer - Shingle, Slate and Tile
Sheet Metal Workers Soft Floor Layers
Sprinkler Fitters
Terrazzo/Marble/Tile Setters
Terrazzo/Marble/Tile Finishers
Truck Drivers

Definitions for each classification are
contained in a separate document entitled "Classifications of
Workers Under Delaware's Prevailing Wage Law." Workers
performing tasks not listed in the Department's definitions
(but performed by mechanics and laborers on public
projects) shall be classified by the Department.  The
Department will utilize the U.S. Department of Labor's
Dictionary of Occupational Titles (Fourth Edition, Revised
1991) to determine the correct classifications of workers, as
those definitions relate to the classifications recognized by
the Department.  In cases of conflicts or voids in the
Dictionary of Occupational Titles, the Department may
utilize additional sources including, but not limited to, the
U.S. Department of Labor, employer organizations,
employee organizations, or other government agencies
involved in classifying workers.  Classification
determinations shall be recorded by the Department as they
are made and shall be published annually.

Laborers and mechanics are to be paid the
appropriate wage rates for the classification of work actually
performed, without regard to skill.

3.1.4 Apprentices and Supportive Service
Program Trainees.

3.1.4.1 Definitions.  As used in this section:
3.1.4.1.1 The term "apprentice" means

persons who are indentured and employed in a bona fide
apprenticeship program and individually registered by the
program sponsor with the Delaware Department of Labor.

3.1.4.1.2 The term "apprenticeship
agreement" means a written agreement between an
apprentice and either his/her employer or a joint
apprenticeship committee which contains the terms and
conditions of the employment and training of the apprentice.

3.1.4.1.3 The term "apprenticeship
program" means a complete plan of terms and conditions for
the employment and training of apprentices.

3.1.4.1.4 The term "Joint
apprenticeship committee" means a local committee equally
representative of employers and employees which has been
established by a group of employers with a bona fide
bargaining agent or agents to direct the training of
apprentices with whom it has made agreements.

3.1.4.1.5 The term "SSP Trainee" or
"trainee" means a participant in the "Supportive Service

Program" mandated by the Federal Highway Administration
for federally aided state highway projects.

3.1.4.1.6 The term "registration"
means the approval by the Department of Labor of an
apprenticeship program or agreement as meeting the basic
standards adopted by the Bureau of Apprenticeship and
Training, United States Department of Labor.  The term
"registration" for SSP Trainees means the individual
registration of a participant in a program which has received
prior approval, evidenced by formal certification by the U.S.
Department of Labor, Employment and Training
Administration.

3.1.4.2 Employment of Apprentices and SSP
Trainees on State Projects.

3.1.4.2.1 Apprentices and SSP
Trainees will be permitted to work as such on State contracts
in excess of $100,000 for new construction or $15,000 for
alteration, repair, renovation, rehabilitation, demolition or
reconstruction only when they are registered with the
Department of Labor or an approved SSP Training Program.

3.1.4.2.2 The mechanic's rate on all
such State contracts is that rate determined by the
Department of Labor.  The percentage of the mechanic's rate
that the registered apprentice or SSP Trainee receives will be
the percentage that the apprentice or trainee qualifies for
under the terms of the individual's formal Apprenticeship/
Trainee agreement.

3.1.4.2.3 Any person employed at an
apprentice or trainee wage rate who is not registered as
above, shall be paid the wage rate determined by the
Department of Labor for the classification of work (s)he
actually performed.

3.1.4.2.4 The ratio of apprentices to
mechanics on the site of any work covered by 29 Del.C.
§6960 in any craft classification may not be greater than the
ratio permitted to the contractor for the entire workforce
under the registered apprenticeship program.  Any
apprentice performing work on the job site in excess of the
ratio permitted under the registered program must be paid
not less than the wage rate that the applicable wage
determination specifies for the work (s)he actually performs.
Entitlement to mechanic's wages shall be based upon
seniority in the apprenticeship program or (in the case of
equal seniority) seniority on the job site.

3.1.4.3 Records.
3.1.4.3.1 Every employer who

employs an apprentice or SSP trainee under this part must
keep the records required by 19 Del.C. Ch.9 and 11,
including designation of apprentices or trainees on the
payroll.  In addition, every employer who employs
apprentices or SSP trainees shall preserve the agreements
under which the individuals were employed.

3.1.4.3.2 Every joint apprenticeship
committee or SSP Program sponsor shall keep a record of
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the cumulative amount of work experience gained by the
apprentice or trainee.

3.1.4.3.3 Every joint apprenticeship
committee shall keep a list of the employers to whom the
apprentice was assigned and the period of time (s)he worked
for each.  Every SSP Program sponsor shall keep a list of the
projects to which the trainee was assigned and the period of
time (s)he worked on each.

3.1.4.3.4 The records required by
paragraphs 3.1.4.3.1, 3.1.4.3.2, and 3.1.4.3.3 of this section
shall be maintained and preserved for at least three (3) years
from the termination of the apprenticeship or training period.
Such records shall be kept safe and accessible at the place or
places of employment or at a central location where such
records are customarily maintained.  All records shall be
available at any time for inspection and copying by the
Department of Labor.

3.1.5 Working Foremen. 29 Del.C. §6960 does
not apply to (and therefore survey data are not collected for)
workers whose duties are primarily administrative, executive
or clerical, rather than manual.  However, working foremen
who devote more than twenty (20) percent of their time
during a workweek to mechanic or laborer duties are
laborers and mechanics for the time so spent and data will be
collected for the hours spent as laborers or mechanics.

3.1.6 Helpers.  Helper classifications are not
recognized by the Department of Labor. All laborers and
mechanics are to be paid the appropriate wage rate for the
classification of work actually performed, without regard to
skill.

3.1.7 Construction Projects.  In the wage
determination process, the term "project" refers to
construction activity as distinguished from manufacturing,
furnishing of materials, or servicing and maintenance work
away from the site of the work and consists of all
construction necessary to complete a facility regardless of
the number of contracts involved so long as all contracts
awarded are closely related in the purpose, time and place.
For example, demolition or site clearing work preparatory to
construction is considered a part of the project.

3.1.7.1 Character Similar. 29 Del.C. §6960
requires the predetermination of wage rates which are
prevailing on projects of a "character similar to the
construction work." As a general rule, the Department
identifies projects by end use type and classifies then into
three major categories:

3.1.7.1.1 Building Construction.
Building construction generally is the construction of
sheltered enclosures with walk-in access for the purpose of
housing persons, machinery, equipment, or supplies.  It
includes all construction of such structures, the installation
of utilities and the installation of equipment, both above and
below grade level as well as incidental grading, utilities and
paving.  Additionally, such structures need not be

"habitable" to be building construction.  The installation of
heavy machinery and/or equipment shall not change the
project's character as a building.  Examples: Alterations and
additions to nonresidential buildings; Apartment buildings (5
stories and above); Arenas (enclosed); Auditoriums;
Automobile parking garages; Banks and financial buildings;
Barracks; Churches; Hospitals; Hotels; Industrial buildings;
Institutional buildings; Libraries; Mausoleums; Motels;
Museums; Nursing and convalescent facilities; Office
buildings; outpatient clinics; Passenger and freight terminal
buildings; Police stations; Post offices; City halls; civic
centers; Commercial buildings; Court houses; Detention
facilities; Dormitories; Farm buildings; Fire stations; Power
plants; Prefabricated buildings; Remodeling buildings;
Renovating buildings; Repairing buildings; Restaurants;
Schools; Service stations; Shopping centers; Stores; Subway
stations; Theaters; Warehouses; Water and sewage treatment
plants (building only).

3.1.7.1.2 Heavy Construction.  Heavy
projects are those that are not properly classified as either
"building" or "highway".  Unlike these classifications, heavy
construction is not a homogeneous classification.  Examples
of Heavy construction: Antenna towers; Bridges (major
bridges designed for commercial navigation); Breakwaters;
Caissons (other than building or highway); Canals;
Channels; Channel cut-offs; Chemical complexes or
facilities (other than buildings); Cofferdams; Coke ovens;
Dams; Demolition (not incidental to construction); Dikes;
Docks; Drainage projects; Dredging projects; Electrification
projects (outdoor); Flood control projects; Industrial
incinerators (other than building); Irrigation projects; Jetties;
Kilns; Land drainage (not incidental to other construction);
Land leveling (not incidental to other construction); Land
reclamation; Levees; Locks, Waterways; oil refineries; Pipe
lines; Ponds; Pumping stations (pre-fabricated drop-in
units); Railroad construction; Reservoirs; Revetments;
Sewage collection and disposal lines; Sewers (sanitary,
storm, etc.); Shoreline maintenance; Ski tows; Storage tanks;
swimming pools (outdoor); Subways (other than buildings);
Tipples; Tunnels; Unsheltered piers and wharves; Viaducts
(other than highway); Water mains; Waterway construction;
Water supply lines (not incidental to building); Water and
sewage treatment plants (other than buildings); Wells.

3.1.7.1.3 Highway Construction.
Highway projects include the construction, alteration or
repair of roads, streets, highways, runways, taxiways, alleys,
trails, paths, parking areas, greenway projects and other
similar projects not incidental to building or heavy
construction.  Examples: Alleys; Base courses; Bituminous
treatments; Bridle paths; Concrete pavement; Curbs;
Excavation and embankment (for road construction);
Fencing (highway); Grade crossing elimination (overpasses
or underpasses); Parking lots; Parkways; Resurfacing streets
and highways; Roadbeds; Roadways; Shoulders; Stabilizing
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courses; Storm sewers incidental to road construction; Street
Paving; Guard rails on highway; Highway signs; Highway
bridges (overpasses; underpasses; grade separation);
Medians; Surface courses; Taxiways; Trails.

3.1.7.1.4 Multiple Categories.  In
some cases a project includes construction items that in
themselves encompass different categories of construction.
Generally, a project is considered mixed and a "multiple
schedule" used if the construction items are substantial in
relation to project cost, i.e. more than twenty (20) percent.
Only one schedule is used if construction items are
"incidental" in function to the overall character of a project
(e.g., paving of parking lots or an access road on a building
project), and if there is not a substantial amount of
construction in the second category.

3.1.7.2 Site of Work.  A basic characteristic
of the construction industry is the continual shift in the site
of employment. 29 Del.C. §6960 provides that prevailing
wages are to be paid to "...all mechanics and laborers
employed directly upon the site of the work..." (emphasis
added).  The site of the work is limited to the physical place
or places where the construction called for in the contract
will remain when work on it has been completed.

3.1.8 Prevailing Wage Rates.  Every contract
and the specifications for every contract to which section
6960 applies are required to contain a provision stating the
minimum wages to be paid various classes of laborers and
mechanics.  These rates are to be based upon the wages that
the Department of Labor determines to be prevailing for the
corresponding classes of laborers and mechanics employed
on projects of a character similar to the contract work in the
county in which the work is to be performed, as reported in
the Department's annual prevailing wage survey.

The prevailing wage shall be the wage
paid to a majority of employees performing similar work as
reported in the Department's annual prevailing wage survey
or, in the absence of a majority, the weighted average wage
paid to all employees reported.

3.1.9 Wages.  The term "wages" means the basic
hourly rate of pay plus fringe benefits as defined below.

3.1.10 Fringe Benefits.  Fringe benefits may be
considered in determining whether an employer has met his/
her prevailing wage obligations.  As a general rule, any
fringe benefit may be considered as long as the employer is
not legally required to provide it.  Therefore, benefits such as
health, welfare or retirement benefits, vacation, holiday pay
or sick leave pay could be considered fringe benefits.
Employer payments for unemployment insurance, workers'
compensation, FICA, etc. (which are required by law) would
not be considered fringe benefits.

In order to be considered a valid fringe
benefit, payments must be made either in cash, or
contributed to an irrevocable escrow account at least once
each month.  "Irrevocable" means that the benefit may not be

forfeited.  However, a benefit plan can be considered by the
Department provided that payments to the plan are made
irrevocably by the employer, even though certain employees
may forfeit their individual rights to the benefits under
certain prescribed conditions.  Thus, if payments are made
by the employer, and no return of those payments is possible,
the plan would be acceptable, even though individual
employees might not receive the benefits under certain
situations.  Benefits forfeited by such employees remain in
an escrow account for the use of the other employees.

The actual cost of the benefit to the
employer is the basis for evaluating the value of the fringe
benefit. Administration costs are not considered fringe
benefits.

The cost of the benefits must be
apportioned between employment on both public and private
projects.  Thus, the total value of the benefit would be
divided by the total amount of time worked.  This will result
in benefit per unit of time which would be equally applicable
to public and private employment projects.  Example: an
employee works two weeks (80 hours) on a public project
and two weeks (80 hours) on a private project.  The
employer pays $160 for the employee's health insurance for
the month.  The value of the benefit is $1.00 per hour.  The
employer is not permitted to apply the entire premium to the
public project alone.

3.1.11 Peak Week.  In determining prevailing
wages, the Department utilizes a "peak week" survey
concept to ensure that wage and fringe benefit data obtained
from employers reflects for each classification, the payroll
period during which the greatest number of workers in each
classification are used on a project.  The survey solicits the
number of employees and wages paid at each given rate
during the peak week.  The contractor or reporting
organization selects the week (between July 1 to December
31 of the previous year) during which the greatest number of
each classification of laborers and mechanics was working.
Peak weeks may be different for each classification of
worker.

3.1.12 Wage Determinations.  A "wage
determination" is the listing of wages (including fringe
benefits) for each classification of laborers and mechanics,
which the Administrator has determined to be prevailing in a
given county and type of construction.  Wage determinations
are issued annually.

3.1.13 Maintenance Work.  To "maintain" means
to preserve or keep in an existing state or condition to
prevent a decline, lapse, or cessation from that state or
condition.  Wages paid to workers performing maintenance
work shall not be used in determining prevailing wage rates.

3.1.14 Area.  The term "area" in determining
wage rates under 29 Del.C. §6960 shall mean the county of
the State in which the work is to be performed.  The term
"area" in determining classifications of workers under 29
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Del.C. §6960 shall mean the State of Delaware.
3.1.15 Secretary.  "Secretary" means the

Secretary of Labor for the State of Delaware.
3.1.16 Administrator.  "Administrator" means the

Administrator of the Office of Labor Law Enforcement for
the Delaware Department of Labor, Division of Industrial
Affairs.

3.1.17 Department.  "Department" means the
Delaware Department of Labor.

See 1 DE Reg. 519 (11/1/97)
See 4 DE Reg. 1186 (1/1/01)
See 4 DE Reg. 205 (7/1/01)

6.0 Issuing Wage Determinations.
6.1 Publication of Preliminary Determination.

On or before February 15th of each year, the
Department shall publish a "Preliminary Determination of
Prevailing Wage Rates." In the event that February 15th falls
on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the Department shall
issue the preliminary results on the next Department
business day following February 15th.

6.2 Appeals.
From February 15th to February 25th, the

Administrator of the Office of Labor Law Enforcement will
consider protests and inquiries relating to the preliminary
results.  An interested person seeking review or
reconsideration of a wage determination must present a
request in writing accompanied by a statement with any
supporting data or other pertinent information.

Requests for reconsideration must be substantive
and specific in order to be considered by the Department.
For example: A request stating that, "the highway rates don't
look right", would not be considered substantive or specific.
However, a request stating that, "residential rates appear to
have been erroneously included for carpenters in New Castle
County Building Construction" would be considered
substantive and specific.

From February 25th to March 1st, the Department
will attempt to gather information necessary to resolve
objections and requests for reconsideration.  However, no
appeals, objections, or requests will be considered if
received by the Department after the February 25th deadline.
The Department will respond in writing to all interested
persons who submit a written request for review.

An appeal from the Administrator's decision must
be made in writing and received by the Secretary of Labor
within five calendar days from the date of the postmark on
the Administrator's decision.  The Secretary or his/her
designee shall render a final decision in writing.

6.3 Issuance of Determination
On or before March 15th of each year, the

Department shall publish its annual "Prevailing Wage
Determination." The Determination shall be valid for a
period of one year or until subsequent rates or amendments

are issued by the Department.
Public agencies (covered by the provisions of 29

Del.C. §6960) are required to use the rates which are in
effect on the date of the publication of specifications for a
given project.  "Date of publication" means the date on
which the specifications are made available to interested
persons (as specified in the published bid notice).  In the
event that a contract is not executed within one hundred and
twenty (120) days from the earliest date the specifications
were published, the rates in effect at the time of the
execution of the contract shall be the applicable rates for the
project.

6.4 Post Determination Actions.  Wage determinations
will be modified only for the purpose of correcting errors.
Determinations will not be modified to include survey data
received after the close of the survey period.

6.4.1 Amendment to Correct Errors of
Inadvertence.  Amendments may be issued to correct
inadvertent errors in the written text of a wage
determination.  The sole purpose is to correct wage
schedules so that the wage determination will accurately and
fully reflect the actual rates prevailing in the locality at the
time the wage determination-was issued.  Such amendments
(which may be issued at any time) are used to correct errors
due to transposition of rates and other clerical mistakes made
in processing the schedule; they are not used to correct errors
in judgment.  Contracts which have already been awarded
will not be affected by such amendments.  Amendments
issued more than ten (10) days prior to a bid opening must be
used.  Amendments issued less than ten (10) days prior to a
bid opening may be disregarded.

6.4.2 Amendment to Correct Errors in Survey
Data.  Amendments which affect the validity of a wage
determination may be issued to correct errors in rates
resulting from erroneous information submitted by survey
participants.

When the Department of Labor is notified
in writing that a survey participant has submitted erroneous
data (with regard to wages, fringe benefits, characterization
of project, classification of workers, or county in which the
work was performed), the Department shall determine the
validity of the data.  Corrections, if warranted, shall be made
in the form of amended determinations at the end of each
calendar quarter (beginning with the date the wage
determination was issued).  Contracts which have already
been awarded will not be affected by such amendments.
Amendments issued more than ten (10) days prior to a bid
opening must be used.  Amendments issued less than ten
days prior to a bid opening may be disregarded.

6.4.3 Incorrect Wage Determinations: Before
Contract Award.

If notification is received from the
Department of Labor any time prior to the contract award
that the bid documents contain the wrong wage schedule,
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such schedule or wage determination shall no longer be valid
and may not be used - without regard to whether the bid
opening has occurred.

If the bid documents contain no wage
schedule, it is the contractor's (or subcontractor's)
responsibility to contact the Department of Labor for the
correct wage schedule. Such requests must be in writing.
Responses to such requests will be in writing.  Any
contractor or subcontractor found using an incorrect wage
schedule will be required to pay the correct wages based
upon the proper classification of work as determined by the
Department of Labor.

6.4.4 Lack of Valid Wage Determination: After
Contract Award.  If a contract is awarded without a wage
determination or awarded with an incorrect wage
determination, the contractor is responsible for the payment
of the appropriate prevailing wage rates as determined by the
Department of Labor.

6.4.5 Additional Classifications.  Any class of
laborers or mechanics which is not listed in the applicable
wage determination but which is to be employed under the
contract is to be classified by the Department of Labor in
accordance with the procedures set forth in Part III, Section
C, of these regulations.

6.4.6 Determination of Wages for
Classifications for Which No Rates Are Published.
Whenever a public project requires the services of a laborer
or mechanic for which no rate has been published, the
Department shall be notified in writing and shall determine
the worker classification (from among the 246 classifications
recognized by the Department of Labor) and the rate to be
paid. The rate shall be determined as follows:

6.4.6.1 Using "Building Construction" rates
as the baseline rate in each county, the Department of Labor
will determine the relationship between the "Building
Construction" rates and the rates of the type of construction
for which the rate is sought.  To determine the relationship,
(which is to be expressed as a percentage), the Department
will use only those rates which were determined by data
received in the relevant survey.

6.4.6.2 The Department will compare only
those classifications for which corresponding rates were
determined.

6.4.6.3 The total of the corresponding rates
will be determined for each type of construction.  The Heavy
or Highway total will be divided into the Building rate to
find the percentage of the Heavy or Highway rate to the
Building rate.

6.4.6.4 The Department of Labor will
multiply the Building rate for the requested classification of
worker by the percentage determined in "c" to establish the
applicable prevailing wage rate.

Hypothetical example:
A plumber's rate is needed for a New

Castle County project.  The Department of Labor has not
published a rate for this classification.

The Department of Labor will determine
the relationship between New Castle County Highway rates
and Building rates, comparing only corresponding rates
which were actually determined by the relevant survey (rates
carried forward from previous years due to lack of sufficient
data are not to be used).

N.C.C.  Building N.C.C. Highway
Bricklayers $19.65 $12.29
Carpenters   23.37   21.69
Cement Finishers   23.55   15.52
Laborers   13.62   10.60
Power Equipment Operator  22.94  15.77
Truck Drivers  15.15   13.75

$118.28 $89.62
$89.62  ÷  118.28=75.77%

The plumber's rate for New Castle County
Building is $26.54. $26.54 x 75.77% = $20.11

The plumber's rate for New Castle County
Highway = $20. 11

The same method can be used between
corresponding types of construction when the Building
construction rates do not contain a rate for the requested
classification of worker; i.e., Heavy construction rates in
Sussex County can be compared with Heavy construction
rates in New Castle.

See 1 DE Reg. 519 (11/1/97)
See 5 DE Reg. 205 (7/1/01)

* PLEASE NOTE:  AS THE REST OF THE SECTIONS WERE
NOT AMENDED THEY ARE NOT BEING PUBLISHED. 
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Symbol Key

Roman type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated.  Underlined text  indicates new text
added at the time of the proposed action.  Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted. [Bracketed Bold
language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued.  [Bracketed stricken through] indicates language
deleted at the time the final order was issued.  

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is published in
the Register of Regulations.  At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed of all written materials,
upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with summaries of the evidence and
information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation should be adopted, amended or repealed and
shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include:  (1)  A brief summary of the evidence and information submitted;  (2)
A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being
adopted or amended;  (3)  A decision to adopt, amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be
supported by its findings on the evidence and information received;  (4)  The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted,
amended or repealed;  (5)  The effective date of the order;  (6)  Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under
which the agency has authority to act; and (7)  The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days from the
date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the Register of Regulations,
unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

DEPARTMENT OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
BOARD OF NURSING

24 DE Admin. Code 1900
Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code,
    Section 1906(1) (24 Del. C. §1906(1))

Pursuant to due notice of the time and place of hearing
published in the News Journal and in the Delaware State
News and in compliance with the requirements of 29 Del.C.
§ 10115, the Delaware Board of Nursing ("Board") under its
authority to enact rules and regulations specified in 24
Del.C. § 1906(1), conducted a public hearing concerning
proposed modifications to the Rules and Regulations of the
Board.  The proposed modifications and additions were
published in the Delaware Register of Regulations Volume 6,
Issue 12, Sunday, June 1, 2003 beginning at Page 1541.

The public hearing was held on July 9, 2003 as
scheduled in Conference Room A, Cannon Building, 861
Silver Lake Boulevard, Dover, Kent County, Delaware.  A
quorum of the Board was present for the hearing.

Summary Of The Evidence

The following is a summary of the evidence and
information provided at the hearing pursuant to 29 Del.C. §
10118.

Iva J. Boardman, R.N., M.S.N., Executive Director of the
Board of Nursing, was sworn and testified concerning the
development of the proposed modification to the Rules and
Regulations of the Board.  Ms. Boardman noted that the
proposed modifications were developed to refine the method
of selection of committee members and to establish clearly a
two year term of service for the committee members.  The
proposal was also to provide a method to review committee
attendance for members of the Board’s Advisory
Committees and provide for the possible replacement of
members who missed three or more consecutive committee
meetings.

There were no written comments received by the Board
of Nursing concerning the proposed change to the Rules and
Regulations; no members of the public appeared at the
public hearing; and, other than as note above, there were no
oral comments made at the public hearing.

Findings Of Fact And Conclusions

The Board finds that the procedures required for the
modification of Rules and Regulations have been
accomplished as required and that the proposed change
furthers the public purposes of the Board of Nursing and
clarified the Regulations regarding the selection and terms
for members of the Board’s Advisory Committees.
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Decision And Order

Based upon the findings and conclusions set forth
above, the undersigned, constituting a quorum of the
Delaware Board of Nursing, adopt the proposed
modification to the Rules and Regulations published in the
Register of Regulations in Volume 6, Issue 12, Sunday, June
1, 2003, beginning at page 1541 as a modification to the
Rules and Regulations of the Board, effective August 11,
2003 or ten (10) days  after publication of this Order and the
final Regulation in the Register of Regulations whichever is
later.  Since there is no change to the modification as
proposed, the final regulation will be the same as set forth in
the hereto attached Exhibit.

SO ORDERED THIS 9TH DAY OF JULY, 2003.
BY ORDER OF THE BOARD OF NURSING
Jan Monihan, RN, M.Ed.
James Van Der Wall
Til Purnell
Robert Lawson
Deborah Maichle, MSN, NP
Ruth Fournier, MSN, RN
Diana Padula, L.P.N.
Doris L. Dayton
Gwen Hines, L.P.N.
Lucille Gambardella, Ph.D., RN, CS, APN-BC, Board

Vice President
Janet M. West, Board President

12.0 Advisory Committees
12.1 Appointment of Committees

12.1.1 The Board may appoint advisory
committees to assist in the performance of its duties.

12.1.2 Advisory committees will be chaired by a
Board member.

12.1.3 Each advisory committee shall consist of
no less than five members who have expertise in the subject
assigned.

12.1.4 Any such advisory committee shall
function in the public interest, and no member shall be
designated as representative of any agency or organization.

12.2 Membership of Committees
12.2.1 Potential members shall submit resumes

and receive Board approval prior to appointment. The
Executive Director of the Board of Nursing shall make a call
for applications for potential members to fill vacancies on
the Board’s advisory committees.  The potential members
shall submit their resumes to the Executive Director.  The
resumes shall be reviewed by the Executive Director and
each committee chair of the Board of Nursing.  They shall
then make recommendations with rationales to the Board of
Nursing for approval and appointment of the members to

advisory committees.
12.2.2 Members may include Registered Nurses,

Licensed Practical Nurses, Advanced Practice Nurses and
lay persons.

12.2.3 Members shall serve two-year terms.
12.2.4 The Executive Director shall verify

members’ continued interest in serving on the Board’s
advisory committees prior to expiration of their two-year
term.  The Executive Director shall submit the names of the
committee members who are interested in serving another
term to the Board of Nursing for reappointment.

12.2.5 Members who miss three consecutive
meetings shall be reported to the Board, which may appoint
a replacement member.

12.3 Joint Practice Committee
12.3.1 Nursing Membership

12.3.1.1 Members are selected 24 Del.C., §
1906(19)

12.3.1.2 The Board of Nursing shall appoint
the Advanced Practice Nurses (APN) under the following 
guidelines:

12.3.1.2.1 At least one of the APN
members shall be a Clinical Specialist, one APN member a
Certified Nurse Midwife, one APN member a Certified
Registered Nurse Anesthetist, and two APN members Nurse
Practitioners. If there is no qualified APN available in the
needed specialty, then appointments shall be made from
APNs in other specialties. 

12.3.1.2.2 The APNs must have
independent prescriptive authority to be a member of the
JPC.

12.3.1.2.3 The Board of Nursing shall
appoint one public member.

12.3.1.3 One of the Board of Nursing
appointees shall be a current Board of Nursing Member.

12.3.1.4 The Executive Director of the Board
of Nursing shall make a call for applications for potential
members to fill vacancies on the JPC. The potential
members shall submit their resumes to the Executive
Director. The resumes shall be reviewed by the Executive
Director and the APN member of the Board of Nursing.
They shall then make recommendations to the Board of
Nursing for approval and appointment of the members to the
JPC.

12.3.1.5 Members shall serve two-year terms.
12.3.1.6 The Executive Director shall verify

members' continued interest in serving on the JPC prior to
expiration of their two-year term. The Executive Director
shall submit the names of the JPC members who are
interested in serving another term on the JPC to the Board of
Nursing for reappointment to the JPC. 

12.3.1.7 Members who miss three consecutive
meetings shall be reported to the appointing Board, which
may appoint a replacement member.
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12.3.1.8 JPC shall be staffed by the Executive
Director of the Board of Nursing or designee who shall assist
the JPC in carrying out its duties.

12.3.2 Officers
12.3.2.1 JPC members shall elect a Chair and

Vice-Chair each September.
12.3.2.2 The Chair shall preside at meetings

and hearings.
12.3.2.3 The Vice-Chair shall preside at the

meetings and hearings in the absence of the Chair.
12.3.2.4 In the absence of the Chair and Vice-

Chair, the next senior member shall preside.
12.3.3 Meetings

12.3.3.1 Meetings will be scheduled in
accordance with all Laws and Rules and Regulations that
apply to Committees under the Division of Professional
Regulation.

12.3.3.2 Five members of the JPC constitute a
quorum.

12.3.3.3 A meeting calendar shall be approved
by the JPC each September.

12.3.3.4 The JPC shall meet as necessary to
carry out its responsibilities as defined in 24 Del. C.,
1906(20).

12.3.3.5 The Board of Nursing Members on
the JPC shall give the committee report at each Board of
Nursing meeting. The Executive Director shall give the
report if the Board Member is absent.

See 5 DE Reg. 1606 (2/1/02)

* PLEASE NOTE:  AS THE REST OF THE REGULATIONS
WERE NOT CHANGED, THEY ARE NOT BEING REPRINTED
HERE.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
NUTRIENT MANAGEMENT PROGRAM

3 DE Admin Code 703
Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code,

Sections 2220, 2221 (3 Del.C. §§ 2220, 2221)

Memorandum For Record

SUBJECT: Secretary’s order adopting regulations
establishing requirements for implementation of mandatory
nutrient management plan reporting.

DATE: July 8, 2003

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118, I hereby enter this Order
which adopts regulations establishing requirements for
implementation of mandatory nutrient management plan

reporting pursuant to Delaware’s nutrient management law
(3 Del.C. Chapter 22) and Section 5, 72 Del. Laws, c. 60,
and for persons selected for mandatory nutrient management
plan reporting to register with the Delaware Nutrient
Management Commission.  Authority for the regulations
appears at Title 3 Del.C. Chapter 22.

1. Brief summary of evidence and information
submitted.

The Department of Agriculture (“Department”), in
conjunction with the Delaware Nutrient Management
Commission (“Commission”) posted public notice of the
proposed regulations in the June 1, 2003 Register of
Regulations.  The proposal stated that the Department, in
conjunction with the Commission, would receive and
consider written comments on the proposed regulations from
any person, and included directions for the submission of
such comments. No written public comments were received
during the comment period.

2. Brief summary of findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information.

The public was given notice and an opportunity to
provide the Department and the Commission with comments
in writing on the proposed regulations. No comments were
received from the public.

The proposed regulations require persons notified that
they have been selected by the Commission to be phased into
the nutrient management planning program and mandatory
nutrient management plan reporting to register with the
Commission within a certain period of time after receiving
such notice. I find that the proposed regulations will enable
the Nutrient Management Program to more smoothly
implement the phase-in of the Delaware Nutrient
Management law (3 Del.C. Chapter 22) and mandatory
nutrient management plan reporting, as required by Section
5, 72 Del. Laws, c. 60, and to more efficiently target
resources to those persons affected. I find that adoption of
the proposed regulations in their proposed form is in the best
interests of the public and consistent with the Commission’s
duties under 3 Del.C. Chapter 22 and Section 5, 72 Del.
Laws, c. 60.

3. Decision to adopt the regulations.
I hereby adopt the regulations as proposed and set forth

below.

4. Text and citation of such regulations adopted.
The exact test and citation of the regulations adopted

herein appear below.

5. The effective date of the Order.
The Order shall take effect ten (10) days from the date

the Order has been published in its final form in the Register
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of Regulations.

Michael T. Scuse
Delaware Department of Agriculture, Secretary

703 Mandatory Nutrient Management Plan Reporting 
Implementation Regulations

Developed with the Guidance, Advice and Consent of
The Delaware Nutrient Management Commission

PREAMBLE

These regulations have been developed pursuant to Title
3, Chapter 22, of the Delaware Code [72 Del. Laws, c. 60].
That statute established the Delaware Nutrient Management
Commission and authorized the Commission to develop,
review, approve, and enforce nutrient management
regulations, including regulations governing a nutrient
management planning program and the development of
nutrient management plans. These regulations were
developed by the Commission and the Delaware Department
of Agriculture.  They are adopted with the guidance, advice,
and consent of the Commission.

1.0 Authority
1.1 These regulations are promulgated pursuant to the

authority provided by Sections 2220 and 2221, Chapter 22,
Title 3, of the Delaware Code.

2.0 Purpose
2.1 The purpose of these regulations is to establish

requirements for implementation of mandatory nutrient
management plan reporting pursuant to Section 5, 72 Del.
Laws, c. 60.

3.0 Registration Requirement For Persons Selected For
Mandatory Nutrient Management Plan Reporting
Pursuant To Section 5, 72 Del. Laws, c. 60.

3.1 Persons notified that they have been selected by the
Commission to be phased into the nutrient management
planning program and mandatory nutrient management plan
reporting (pursuant to Section 5, 72 Del. Laws, c. 60) shall
register with the Commission within thirty (30) days of
receiving such notice.  Registration shall be made in writing,
by completing and submitting, to the Nutrient Management
Program Administrator, a registration form approved by the
Commission.

3.2 Failure to register within the required period shall
subject the person(s) failing to respond to the penalty
provisions of Title 3, Chapter 22, of the Delaware Code.

3.3 If the Commission sends such notification by
registered mail, the return receipt or other official proof of
delivery shall constitute presumptive evidence that the notice

mailed was received by the person(s) or the latter’s agent;
and the notation of refusal shall constitute presumptive
evidence that the refusal was by the person(s) or the latter’s
agent.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
14 DE Admin. Code 301

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code,
Section 122(d) (14 Del.C. §122(d))

Regulatory Implementing Order

Regulation 301 General Regulations For Certification Of 
Professional Public School Personnel

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend
regulation 301 General Regulations for Certification of
Professional Public School Personnel by deleting it in its
entirety and replacing it with regulations 1505 Professional
Growth Programs, 1510 Initial License, 1513 Denial of
License, 1514 Revocation of License, 1515 Emergency
Certificate, 1516 Standard Certificate, 1519 Alternative
Routes to Certification, and 1520 Substitute Teacher.
Regulations 1511 Issuance and Renewal of Continuing
License and 1584 Permits also contain matters that were
addressed in 301, thereby rendering those sections of 301
General Regulations for Certification of Professional Public
School Personnel redundant.  It is necessary to amend this
regulation in order to comply with changes in statute
regarding the licensure and certification of educators.
Additional changes in statute, enacted after the initial
publication of this regulation, necessitated further
amendments to the regulation.  Those amendments made
since the original publication of this regulation in the
February, 2003 Register of Regulations were made to
address additional changes in statute.  Changes in the
proposed amended regulations have also been made in
response to comments received from the Department of
Education.  1520 Substitute Teacher has been amended by
deleting it in its entirety and reserving the number for future
development. The regulation has been reconstituted as
separate regulations which address the matters previously
regulated in 301, but which comply with recent changes in
statute.  The reconstituted regulations, listed below, have
also been renumbered to reflect their movement to the
Professional Standards Board section of the Department
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regulations.  The effective date of regulation 1505 has been
changed to reflect changes enacted in the FY ‘04 State
budget.  The definition of “student teaching program” in
regulation 1510 has been clarified.  This clarification does
not constitute a substantive change.

1505 Professional Growth Programs 
1510 Initial License
1513 Denial of License
1514 Revocation of License
1515 Emergency Certificate 
1516 Standard Certificate
1519 Alternate Routes to Certification
1520 Reserved

The existing 301 General Regulations for Certification
of Professional Public School Personnel are affected by the
amended regulations in the ways indicated in the column on
the right, below:

Notice of the proposed adoption of the regulation was
published in the News Journal and the Delaware State News
on May 21, 2003, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.
The notice invited written comments.  Comments were
received from the Department of Education and others and
suggested changes have been incorporated into the proposed

amendment

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board
of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation to comply with changes in statute regarding the
licensure and certification of educators.

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board
of Education also note that more changes to Regulation 301
are anticipated as other parts of Title 14 of the Delaware
Code become effective.  Specifically, for example, §1305(q)
of Title 14 now becomes effective in fiscal year 2004.  This
law imposes new requirements for increases in salary due to
movement across the salary schedule for teachers and others.
The Boards recognize that the subsection of Regulation 301
addressing “Professional Growth Programs” must be further
amended to meet the requirements of §1305(q).  It is being
readopted at this time to accommodate the delayed effective
date of that law.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is
appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to
14 Del. C. § 1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as
Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of
14 Del. C. § 122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be
in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of
this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulations adopted shall be in the form
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulations shall be
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code § 301, §1510, §1513, and
§1514 in the Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

Approved By The Professional Standards Board The
10th Day Of July, 2003.

Harold Roberts, Chair Sharon Brittingham
Heath Chasanov Patricia Clements
Edward Czerwinski Karen Gordon
Barbara Grogg Bruce Harter
Leslie Holden Carla Lawson
Mary Mirabeau John Pallace
Karen Schilling Ross Carol Vukelich

1.0  Definitions Incorporated in reconstituted 
regulations

2.0  Current Licenses, Certificates and 
Permits

1511  Issuance and Renewal of 
Continuing License, 1584  Permits

2.7.2  Substitute Teacher 1520  Substitute Teacher

3.0  Testing Requirements 1510  Initial License

4.0  Application for Initial License 1510  Initial License

4.7  Denial of License 1513  Denial of License

5.0  Renewal of Licenses 1511  Issuance and Renewal of 
Continuing License

6.0  Licensure Agreements/Reciprocity 1510  Initial License, 1511  Issuance 
and Renewal of Continuing License

7.0  Revocation of Licenses/
Certification

1514  Revocation of License

8.0  Denial of License/Certifications 1513  Denial of License

9.0  Professional Growth Programs 1505  Professional Growth Programs 
stricken by change in statute

10.0  Certification/National Board of 
Professional Teaching Standards

11.0  Alternative Routes to 
Certification Program for Secondary 
Teachers

1519  Alternative Routes to 
Certification
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Geraldine A. Williams

FOR IMPLEMENTATION BY THE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED this 19th day of July, 2003.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

301 General Regulations for Certification of Professional 
Public School Personnel

1.0 Definitions of terms
Credential Evaluation for Licensure through Transcript

Analysis: A process through which persons who have not
graduated from a state approved teacher education program
in a specific field may obtain a Standard license in Delaware.
Official college/university transcripts shall be submitted to
the Department of Education where they are audited for
compliance with licensure requirements for the specific
field.

Evaluation/Prescription Letter: A letter issued by
Department of Education after the evaluation of an
individual's college transcripts and other official documents.
This letter lists any deficiencies that need to be met related to
specific requirements for licensure in Delaware, as stated in
this Manual. The letter may include deficiencies, such as
coursework, test scores, experience verification and/or may
state other specifics which need to be met for Standard
licensure.

Initial Standard Certificate: A license that was issued in
Delaware from 1982 through 1991. Issuance of this license
indicates the individual met all requirements current during
that time period for a specific area of licensure. In addition,
the qualifying scores for the Pre-Professional Skills Tests
were met before the Initial Standard Certificate was issued.
This license had a validity period of five years, after which
the license was converted to a Standard license, upon
documentation of appropriate employment or coursework.
(See Refresher Coursework and Recency Requirement)
Expired Initial Standard licenses may be renewed as
Standard licenses in the same content area provided refresher
requirements are met.

Internship: One year of supervised, full time, successful
experience in a setting appropriate to the area of licensure.
An Internship may be sponsored by a college or university in

conjunction with a particular set of program requirements; or
it may be sponsored locally through employment by a
district and in conjunction with the Department of
Education.

Interstate Certification Agreement (ICA): A formal
contract signed by individual member states of NASDTEC,
in pairs, specifying the parameters of reciprocity. The
Interstate Agreement is a binding, legal agreement/contract
between two states. The states agree to accept teachers from
programs approved under NASDTEC Standards as well as
fully licensed, experienced personnel. The NASDTEC
organization facilitates the signing of the agreement through
an arm called the Interstate Contract Association.
Reciprocity established in this manner operates under
specific conditions that are clearly defined by the Interstate
Agreement.

Licensure Via Approved Program: A process for
acquiring a teaching license in Delaware and other
NASDTEC states that requires graduating from a
state-approved teacher education program and meeting
specific testing requirements set by the Delaware State
Board of Education. Individuals who receive a Standard
license in Delaware based on an approved program are
eligible for reciprocity with other states. Each state has its
own individual set of testing requirements which the
candidate must meet.

Limited Standard License: A license that is issued to an
individual who is employed in a Delaware public school
setting, but does not meet all of the requirements for
Standard licensure in the area(s) of employment. It may be
issued for a period of between one and six years. No salary
reduction is required. This license is nonrenewable.

NASDTEC: National Association of State Directors of
Teacher Education and Certification, a national organization
of State Department certification personnel and Standards
Boards members who have the responsibility for state
certification and program approval. This organization has
developed and adopted a set of Standards which is used by
each member state, in as much as possible. These Standards
form the basis for the Reciprocity Agreement.

NCATE: National Council for the Accreditation of
Teacher Education: One of two national accrediting bodies
approved by the United States Department of Education.
NCATE accreditation is voluntary in Delaware. Colleges/
Universities apply to NCATE seeking to have both the
education unit of the college/university and specific
education programs given national recognition. Each
program must still be approved by that state's Department of
Education in order to have students graduating from such
programs receive licensure in that state.

Occupational/Vocational Testing: The testing in the
vocational field is a performance test in a particular trade
given under strict guidelines. The National Occupational and
Career Testing Institute (NOCTI) is the only vocational test
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 2, FRIDAY, AUGUST 1, 2003



FINAL REGULATIONS164
available that allows an individual to demonstrate skill
competency in a trade such as welding or plumbing. The
NOCTI organization designs the competency tests and trains
staff at institutional settings to administer the NOCTI
examinations under specific standardized conditions. As the
NTE is used to validate certain aspects of teaching, the
NOCTI is used to validate certain skills in vocational trade
areas.

Partial Assignment: A teaching assignment that is for no
more than two periods per day for a one-year period only.
The individual who is given a partial assignment shall have
previously taken at least fifteen semester hours of
coursework in the content area of the partial assignment. The
intent of the partial assignment is to meet specific emergency
needs a district might encounter on a short term basis, for
example, an enrollment bulge. If the district's situation
warrants that the teacher remain in this assignment after the
initial one year period, the teacher will be granted a Limited
Standard license, allowing three additional years to meet all
of the requirements for Standard licensure.

Permits: Permits are given for specific positions within
the local school districts that do not require a Bachelor's
degree, the PRAXIS I tests or a Standard license. Permits are
currently given to aides of all types and substitute teachers.

Processing Fee: A nonrefundable, one-time fee that
shall accompany all applications for initial Delaware
certification for each evaluation requested.

Professional and Occupational Licenses: Certain
noneducational fields require State of Delaware licenses to
practice. These fields include Electricians, Plumbers,
Cosmetologists, etc. as well as Nurses, Speech Pathologists,
Physicians and others. If an individual works in a school
setting and a State license is required for practice in
Delaware, it is also required for the education position and
for the licensure/certification of that individual. For
example, all School Nurses must meet specific coursework
and degree requirements for their educational position. In
addition, they are required to maintain their State of
Delaware license and continue its renewal according to
Nursing Board requirements for continuing education.

Professional Status Certificate: A certificate that is
issued after an individual has met all requirements for
Standard licensure in a specific area and has been employed
in a Delaware public school in that same area for three
consecutive years. It is issued for a five-year period. The
renewal of this certificate is a function of continued
employment in a public school for three years out of each
five-year renewal period.

Provisional License: A substandard license that required
a 10% reduction in salary. It has not been issued since 7/1/91
and is no longer a valid Delaware license.

Recency Requirement: A requirement for either 6
semester hours of appropriate coursework or appropriate full
time employment within the five year period immediately

preceding application or evaluation for licensure. Recency
requirements are as indicated: (1) the applicant's Bachelor's
degree shall be conferred within the most recent five-year
period; or (2) the applicant shall have completed appropriate
college-level coursework within the most recent five-year
period; or (3) the applicant shall have been employed in a
full time position, in the area of licensure request, for three
years during the most recent five year period.

Reciprocity: A process whereby an individual with a
license or certificate issued by one state can receive an
equivalent license in another state without meeting
additional coursework requirements. Other nonacademic
requirements such as professional work experience or testing
may still be required for the license. The process operates
under a very specific set of previously agreed upon rules
between the two states.

Refresher Coursework: Six semester hours of
college-level coursework, taken either at the Bachelor's or
Master's level from a regionally accredited institution, is
required to meet the Recency Requirement for licensure.
Coursework shall include one professional education
elective and one elective in the specific content area of
licensure. This coursework is required only if the applicant is
unable to meet Delaware's Recency Requirement.

Revocation of License/Certificate/Permit: Revocation is
the process of rescinding a Delaware license/certificate/
permit for reasons of immorality, misconduct in office,
incompetence, willful neglect of duty or disloyalty.
Revocation may be considered at the request of a local
school district or initiated by the Secretary of Education.

Specialized Assignment License: An assignment that is
deemed necessary by a local public school district but for
which no specific requirements for licensure exist is termed
a Specialized Assignment. The license is issued on the basis
of a job description for the position. A Standard License will
be issued to an employed individual who meets all the
qualifications of the job description, including passing
PRAXIS I scores. A Limited Standard license will be issued
if any requirements or qualifications are not met and can be
attained. A Temporary License shall be issued when the
person hired does not meet the job description for the
position. Any certificate issued for a Specialized Assignment
is valid only for the specific position for which it was issued.
The certificate is not valid for use in another position,
another district, or another state.

Standard License: A license issued when an individual
has met all requirements for a specific area of licensure,
including the testing requirement. It is issued for an
indefinite period of time except within the Delaware public
school setting, where it is current for a five year period. This
license can only be renewed when the individual is currently
working in a public school setting or other setting for which
it is required by the State of Delaware, such as the
correctional system.
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Temporary License: A one-year nonrenewable license
issued to a district employee who meets neither the Standard
nor Limited Standard requirements for a specific Delaware
license and who is hired after August 15th of that school
year. A 10% salary reduction is required. This license is a
one year, nonrenewable license and can be issued only one
time to the same individual in the same area of licensure.
Unless the individual holds a Standard license in another
area, they are not eligible for a salary increment.

2.0 Current Licenses, Certificates and Permits
2.1 Professional Status Certificate: The Professional

Status certificate shall be issued to personnel employed in
areas which require at least a baccalaureate degree for full
certification, as well as to individuals who hold Standard
Trade and Industry licenses. Thus, this license will be
available to superintendents, assistant superintendents,
directors, administrative assistants, supervisors, principals,
assistant principals, teachers, librarians, guidance
counselors, school nurses and other personnel who must
have a minimum of a bachelor's degree for full certification.

2.1.1 This license shall be issued to persons who
meet the requirements for a Standard license and who have
been employed by a Delaware public school system for three
(3) consecutive years of the previous five (5) years in the
type of position for which the certificate is appropriate. The
certificate shall be issued for a period of five (5) fiscal years.

2.2 Standard License: The Standard License shall be
issued to personnel employed in areas which require at least
a baccalaureate degree for full certification, as well as to
individuals who meet all requirements for Trade and
Industry licenses. Thus, this license will be available to
superintendents, assistant superintendents, directors,
administrative assistants, supervisors, principals, assistant
principals, teachers, librarians, guidance counselors, school
nurses and other personnel who must have a minimum of a
bachelor's degree for full certification.

2.2.1 The Standard license shall be issued upon
completion of all requirements in a single area of licensure,
along with successful completion of the State of Delaware's
requirement for testing 3.0, for a period of five (5) years. 

2.2.2 The Standard license shall be issued to the
following categories of employees which do not require a
baccalaureate degree for full licensure, and/or which do not
require successful completion of the State of Delaware's
testing requirements (3.3): Manager of School Food Service
Programs, Transportation Manager, Administrative Support
Personnel, formerly Educational Secretaries. The issuance of
this license shall not affect either the salary paid or the
negotiating rights of individuals as currently specified in the
Del. C.

2.2.3 The Standard license shall be issued to an
employee of a Delaware public school district who has been
employed in a Specialized Assignment, for which no

specific requirements are defined, and who possesses the
competencies and skills required for the special assignment
(example: museum curator, laboratory technician,
coordinator, etc.). The employee's credentials, including
evidence of the skills and competencies stated in the job
description and posting, will be collected by the employing
district and sent to the State Certification Office along with a
copy of the job description and the qualifications posted for
the position. A determination regarding licensure will be
made by the State Office of Certification. The state testing
requirement for teacher licensure shall be met for this
position.

2.2.3.1 A Standard Endorsement requires a
Standard license as well as specific requirements defined
under the individual licensure requirements. 

2.3 Limited Standard License-Non-Renewable
(Substandard): The Limited Standard license may be issued
for a period of one (1) to six (6) years depending on
circumstances defined below. The Limited Standard license
carries no salary penalty and is nonrenewable. This license
shall not be issued at the request of an individual. It is issued
to employees of a public school district or other state agency
requiring certified educational personnel, upon the request of
the personnel designee of the organization, if the employee
has not fully satisfied the requirements for a Standard license
and one or more of the following conditions shall apply:

2.3.1 Limited Standard- Test (LS- T) Issued for a
period not to exceed two (2) fiscal years to persons who have
not, as yet, satisfied the State Board of Education testing
requirement.

2.3.1.1 The local school district superintendent
shall request that this license be issued to a new employee
who has not been previously employed in a Delaware public
school district, and who has not shown evidence of
satisfactory performance on the PRAXIS I/PPST. The
effective date for this nonrenewable license shall be July 1 of
the year in which the employment began and the expiration
date shall be June 30 of the next, consecutive fiscal year.

2.3.2 Limited Standard Coursework (LS-C) Issued
for a period of up to three (3) fiscal years to a public school
employee who is lacking no more than twelve (12) graduate
or undergraduate college level semester hours and who has
successfully met all testing requirements. A Limited
Standard- Coursework license may be issued to:

2.3.2.1 An employee who meets all course
requirements for a Standard license, but who has been out of
college five (5) years or more. Six (6) semester hours of
college level coursework will be required to be taken during
the life of the Limited Standard license, or prior to the
issuance of the Standard license (see 5.7), or

2.3.2.2 An employee who holds an expired
Initial Standard, Standard or Professional Status license/
certificate, but who has not taught on that license for at least
three (3) years during the most recent five-year period (see
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5.7). Six (6) semester hours of college level coursework will
be required of such an applicant for renewal of the Standard
license or an employee who meets the requirements for the
Limited Standard;

2.3.2.3 An employee who is reassigned to
continue for more than one (1) year in a partial assignment
(see 2.6). At that point, the employee shall have three (3)
years to complete all the specific requirements for licensure
in the area of the partial assignment, regardless of the
number of credits needed. Said employee shall hold a
current, valid, Standard license in another, similar-related
content area

2.3.3 Limited Standard-Vocational (LS-V) May be
issued for a period of up to six (6) years for employees who
need more than sixty 60) semester hours of college level
course work and who are required to satisfy the state's
testing requirement within that six (6) year period.

2.3.4 Limited Standard - Shortage/Critical Need
(LS-S) May be issued for up to three (3) years in areas of
shortage designated annually by the State Department of
Education. Requirements are established in accordance with
areas of need by the State Office of Certification, as
approved by the Secretary and the State Board of Education.
In this instance, the license may be issued to an employee
who has at least a Bachelor's degree with a major in the
subject area identified as being an area of critical shortage.

2.3.5 Limited Standard - Internship (LS-I) May be
issued for a period of one (1) year for employees who meet
all requirements for a Standard license other than student
teaching or an internship requirement; and/or who have been
accepted to participate in an approved Internship program;
and/ or are teaching through a special program. A Limited
Standard Internship license may be issued to an employee
who is:

2.3.5.1 An exchange teacher from a foreign
country or a teacher in an exchange program between states
or schools or institutions of higher education and/or state
education agencies within the United States or

2.3.5.2 A teacher from a foreign country who
holds a valid certificate/license from that country and a
degree equivalent to a Bachelor's degree as defined in the
United States; or

2.3.5.3 A person employed by a Delaware
public school district who will have the first year of
employment used in lieu of student teaching or who is in the
process of serving one year of supervised experience in order
to meet an experience requirement stated for a specific
license. Either case requires the prior approval of the State
Office of Certification (see 4.5).

2.3.6 A teacher holding a Standard or Professional
Status Certificate in either Elementary (grades 1-8) or
Middle Level (grades 5-8) who is assigned to teach grade 7
and/or 8 math and/or science, regardless of the number of
credits needed for full certification. During the term of the

Limited Standard Certificate, the teacher shall complete the
requirements for the Standard Certificate in the area(s) of the
assignment. This regulation will be effective for three years
from 7/1/98 through 6/30/2000.

2.4 Temporary License- Non-Renewable: Issued at the
request of a local district superintendent under emergency
conditions to a person who is unable to meet the licensure
requirements at the Standard or Limited Standard level. This
license classification carries a reduction in salary and shall
not be requested prior to August 15 of any year. The
Temporary license is a one-year, non-renewable license.
Salary for an employee issued a Temporary license in an
academic area shall be 10% less than the salary for an
employee issued a Standard license with the same
experience and salary level. Salary for a Temporary licensed
person in an area of Trade & Industry shall be reduced by
$400.00 from that of the Standard licensed person having the
same experience and salary level. A Temporary license may
be issued to an employee who meets one of the three
situations listed below:

2.4.1 Academic (10% salary reduction)
2.4.1.1 A Non-degree employee for a regular

teaching position who is currently engaged in pursuing a
Bachelor's degree and who has completed all professional
education requirements including student teaching, but who
lacks no more than six (6) semester hours of credits for
completion of the Bachelor's degree requirements or;

2.4.1.2 A non-degree employee for a regular
teaching position who has completed no less than two (2)
years of college training and who has no less than three (3)
years of successful teaching experience; or 

2.4.1.3 An employee who is a graduate of a
nonaccredited college. No higher level license may be issued
until the degree is validated (see 4.6.3).

2.4.2 A person whose credentials for any
assignment do not meet Limited Standard licensure
requirements. The 10% salary reduction will or will not be in
effect as indicated below:

2.4.2.1 If the assignment in the area of
Temporary licensure is a full daily schedule, then a 10%
salary reduction is required.

2.4.2.2 If the assignment in the area of
Temporary licensure is one-half or more of the full daily
schedule, then a 10% salary reduction is required.

2.4.2.3 If the assignment in the area of
Temporary licensure is less than half of the full daily
schedule, and the individual has a Standard license in the
primary area of assignment, then no reduction in salary is
required

2.4.3 Trade and Industry ($400.00 salary
reduction): A non-degree employee for a Trade and Industry
teaching position who has less than six (6) years of work
experience or two (2) years beyond the learning period in the
trade or industrial occupation to be taught.
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2.4.4 Special Situations
2.4.4.1 May be issued to any employed person

who fails to meet the requirements for renewal of a
Professional Status certificate, a Standard license, or the
requirements specified under the Limited Standard license,
provided the local district superintendent or designee
chooses to make a written request for the Temporary license.
Salary reduction will be based on whether the employee
holds an Academic or Trade and Industry position; or

2.4.4.2 at the written request of the local
district superintendent or designee to an employee who fails
to meet the coursework requirements specified for a
Standard or Limited Standard license within the period
specified by that license. Such request shall not be made
when an employee fails to meet the testing requirement
within the time specified by the Limited Standard Test; or

2.4.4.3 to an individual at the specific written
request of the employing local district superintendent to the
Secretary of Education of the Department of Education,
upon providing appropriate documentation as specified in
3.5.1.2.1 and 3.5.1.2.2.

2.5 Failure to Meet Requirements
2.5.1 An employee who accepts employment in a

public school district and is licensed below the level of a
Standard license (Limited Standard or Temporary), by
accepting the position agrees that any deficiencies will be
completed within the specified period of that license. Such
licenses are non-renewable. Consequently, if the specific
requirements stated for Standard licensure are not met when
the license expires, the individual is without licensure in
Delaware and may be terminated by the local school district
(see 2.4).

2.6 Teaching Assignment Out of Licensed Area
2.6.1 When a written request is received from the

local Superintendent prior to reassignment, a partial teaching
assignment of no more than two (2) classes or class periods
may be authorized for one (1) school year, if the person
assigned the partial meets the following requirements:

2.6.1.1 Holds a current, valid Delaware
Standard teaching license in a field other than that in which
the partial assignment is to be made; and has at least fifteen
(15) semester hours in the content area of the partial
assignment.

2.6.2 If it is necessary to continue the partial
assignment past the initial year, regardless of the coursework
deficiency, the individual shall be placed on a Limited
Standard license in that area. During the three (3) year period
of the Limited Standard, all requirements for the Standard
license shall be met.

2.7 Permits: Permits are issued for specific positions
within the local school districts that do not require either a
Bachelor's degree or the Test approved for licensure by the
Delaware State Board of Education. Individuals who hold
permits are not considered "certified professional employees

of the public school system" as that phrase is used in 19
Delaware Code, Chapter 1301.

2.7.1 Aide: A permit shall be required for all
persons employed either full time or part time as school or
classroom aides with local, state, federal or other funds.

2.7.2 Substitute Teacher (Delaware Code, Title 14,
§1230).

2.7.2.1 Class A: May be issued to an applicant
who holds, or is eligible to hold a valid Standard Delaware
teacher's license or such a certificate/license that has expired.
The PPST is not required to hold this classification.

2.7.2.2 Class B: May be issued to an applicant
with or without a bachelor's degree who meets at least the
requirements for a Temporary license (see 2.0).

2.7.2.3 Class C: May be issued to an applicant
who is not eligible for either Class A or Class B Permit, but
who is recommended to the Secretary of Education by the
superintendent of a Delaware public school district.

2.7.2.4 Class D: May be issued to an applicant
who is eligible for or holds a Class A, B, or C permit, but
who prefers on a given date to perform substitute teaching
assignments as a volunteer worker, or at a wage rate to be
determined by the Board of Education of the employing
school district.

2.8 Provisions for Exceptions and Changes
2.8.1 An exception to the existing licensure/

certification regulations may be made by the Secretary of
Education at the request of the local chief school officer; or
in the case of an exception for the chief school officer, by the
president of the local board.

2.8.2 An annual report stating the number and type
of exception requests, as well as the disposition of each
exception, shall be sent to the State Board of Education at
the end of each fiscal year beginning with Fiscal Year 1997.

2.8.3 In the event of the consolidation of school
districts where reassignment of a certified personnel is
necessary, the following rules shall apply:

2.8.3.1 Personnel shall be considered certified
for the position to which assigned and a certificate issued.

2.8.3.2 Such certificate or certificates shall be
valid in the consolidated district for the duration of the
reassignment or subsequent assignments resulting from
consolidation.

2.9 Effect of Changes in Rules and Regulations Adopted
7/1/93

2.9.1 State of Delaware Approved Programs: An
individual attending a college/university in the State of
Delaware and currently enrolled in a program approved by
the State of Delaware prior to July 1993 shall not be affected
by any of the changes adopted July 1, 1993, as specified in
the General Regulations for Certification of Professional
Public School Personnel and the Specific Regulations of the
same provided that he/she received the "Institutional
Recommendation" of the college/university.
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2.9.2 Evaluation for Licensure via Transcript
Analysis: Individuals who have received a credential
evaluation by transcript analysis that has resulted in
evaluation/prescription letter(s) in their credential file at the
Department of Education will have a period of time to
complete the requirements stated in those respective letters,
according to the following schedule:

2.9.2.1 All evaluation/prescription letters based
on certification regulations adopted prior to the 1974
regulations shall become invalid on June 30, 1993. These
individuals shall be required to meet the General Regulations
for Certification of Professional Public School Personnel and
the Specific Regulations of the same as adopted for
certification effective July 1, 1993.

2.9.2.2 All evaluation/prescription letters dated
June 30, 1990 through June30, 1993 shall become invalid on
June 30, 1996. Effective July 1, 1996 these individuals shall
be required to meet the General Regulations for Certification
of Professional Public School Personnel and the Specific
Regulations of the same as adopted for licensure effective
July 1, 1993.

2.9.3 Individuals Employed and Certified on
Substandard Certificates: An employee who has been issued
a Delaware substandard certificate (Limited Standard,
Provisional, Temporary) prior to July 1, 1993, shall continue
on that certificate until the requirements specified are met or
the certificate expires or the employee no longer occupies
the position for which the certificate was issued. In that latter
two cases, the employee shall be required to meet the July 1,
1993 regulations, if reassigned or reemployed at some later
date, for a position requiring that same licensure.

3.0 Testing Requirements
3.1 Any applicant seeking initial licensure in Delaware

shall provide the state Office of Certification with official
test scores for one or more of the following tests of essential
skills in Reading, Writing and Mathematics: The
Pre-Professional Skills Tests (PPST) and/or The PRAXIS I
Paper and Pencil Tests;- and/or The PRAXIS I Computer
Based Tests.

3.2 Test Scores. (Revised May 1994)
3.2.1 The following minimum passing scores are

required in the areas of Reading, Writing and Mathematics
for each of the Tests of essential skills.

3.2.1.1 Pre-professional Skills Test Taken
between 7/1/83 and 10/22/93 Reading - 175, Mathematics -
175, Writing - 172 and/or 

3.2.1.2 PRAXIS I - Paper and Pencil Tests
(Passed 7/94) (Tests taken on 10/23/93 and thereafter):
Reading - 175, Mathematics - 174, Writing 173 and/or 

3.2.1.3 PRAXIS I - Computer Based Tests
(Passed 7/94) (Tests taken on 10/23/93 and thereafter):
Reading - 322, Mathematics - 319, Writing 319 

3.3 Testing Exemptions include individuals holding

Delaware certificates issued prior to July 1, 1983 or having a
completed file on record with the Office of Certification as
of July 1, 1983 which resulted in an evaluation letter for a
certificate/license that is currently in effect, are not required
to take the PPST/ PRAXIS I. The exemption based on an
evaluation letter prior to July 1, 1983 shall expire on 6/30/94,
since letters of that date will become invalid after 6/30/94
(see 2.6.2).

3.3.1 In addition, the following licenses and/or
permits do not require the PPST/PRAXIS I:
Manager of School Food Service Program
Supervisor of School Food Service Program
Transportation Manager
Supervisor of School Bus Transportation
Administrative Support (formerly Secretarial Personnel)
Interpreter Tutor for Hearing Impaired
Permit Substitute Teacher
Permit - Aides

3.4 Acceptable alternatives to the PRAXIS I test scores
include:

3.4.1 Scores from the California Test of Basic
Skills (CTBS) shall be in lieu of PPST/PRAXIS I scores
under the following conditions:

3.4.1.1 The scores were required to receive a
certificate/license in another state and the test was taken as a
condition of meeting certification/licensure requirements in
that state; and

3.4.1.2 The scores total 123, with at least 37 in
each category; and.

3.4.1.3 Effective 7/1/96, the following test
scores can be used to exempt an applicant for initial
Delaware licensure from the corresponding portion of the
PPST/ PRAXIS I: Effective 7/1/97- SAT Tests taken after 4/
1/95 and presented for exemption must meet the score
indicated due to a re-centering of the SAT.

3.4.1.4 Alternate Test And Score Praxis I
Exemption 
GRE Verbal 490 PRAXIS I Reading
SAT Verbal 480 PRAXIS I Reading
*SAT Verbal 560 PRAXIS I Reading
(After 4/1/95)
GRE Quantitative 540 PRAXIS I Mathematics
SAT Mathematics 520 PRAXIS I Mathematics
Mathematics
*SAT Mathematics 540 PRAXIS I Mathematics
(After 4/1/95)
NTE Core Battery:
Communications Skills 670 PRAXIS I Writing

3.5 Testing Timeline
3.5.1 Individuals may be hired in a Delaware public

school district prior to having taken or passed the PPST/
PRAXIS I. The employee has the period of time, from the
date of hire to the end of the next, consecutive fiscal year to
present passing PPST/PRAXIS I scores to the employing
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school district and the State Office of Certification, should
employment remain continuous.

3.5.1.1 Any Standard Aptitude Test (SAT)
scores and/or Graduate Records Exam (GRE) scores and/or
NTE Communication Skills scores intended to be used as an
exemption for the PPST/PRAXIS I, shall be submitted
within the same time line and scores should pre-date the
employment date.

3.5.1.2 Once this period has expired, the
individual will be without any valid Delaware license and
employment may not be continued unless one of the
following conditions is met:

3.5.1.2.1 Official documentation is
provided to the Department of Education, Office of
Certification, showing successful completion of all parts of
the PPST/PRAXIS I OR

3.5.1.2.2 Based on documented
effectiveness, the superintendent of a public school district
may submit a written request to the Secretary of Education to
grant a third/fourth year for an individual to successfully
complete all parts of the PPST/PRAXIS I tests. The request
shall include:

3.5.1.2.2.1 A letter from the
individual's immediate supervisor attesting to the employee's
effectiveness in the position; and copies of the employee's
evaluations (Delaware Performance Appraisal System - 3
Formative and 1 Summative) from the current school year,
which demonstrate effective performance.

3.5.1.2.3 If the extension is granted, the
individual shall:

3.5.1.2.3.1 Be placed on a one-year
Temporary License at a ten (10) percent reduction in state
salary; and

3.5.1.2.3.2 By October 31 complete
training in all parts of the PPST/PRAXIS I for which
qualifying scores have not been attained, by using the
Learning Plus computer tutorial package or other available
training programs.

3.5.1.2.3.3 By December 31 take the
PPST/PRAXIS I at least once; and twice during the third/
fourth year of employment.

3.5.1.2.3.4 By January 31 the district
shall verify the above to the Department of Education.

3.5.1.3 In the event that employment is
terminated from a Delaware public school district prior to
passing the PPST/PRAXIS I and prior to the end of the next
consecutive fiscal year, an individual may be rehired and be
granted the amount of time remaining on the original license,
to meet the testing requirement. The total time the employee
shall be employed, without demonstrating passing PPST/
PRAXIS I scores, shall not exceed the amount of time from
original date of hire to the end of the next, consecutive fiscal
year, whether the employment remains continuous or not.

3.5.1.4 When employment is not involved,

there is no time restriction for meeting the testing
requirement; however, the test shall be taken prior to
submitting an application for certification and the testing
requirements may change.

3.5.2 PPST/PRAXIS I scores need not be passing to
initiate the application process. Official scores that are
passing shall be received prior to the issuance of any
Standard license requiring the test (see 3.3 and 3.3.1).

3.5.3 There is no limit on the number of times an
individual may take the PPST/PRAXIS I. Once passed, a
section need not be taken again.

3.5.3.1 Passing scores in each area (Reading,
Writing, Mathematics) may be attained in any testing format.

3.5.4 Presentation of Test Scores to the State
Certification Office.

3.5.4.1 Test scores shall be official and Official
scores are generally computer coded to the Department of
Education at the test site, and are sent directly from
Educational Testing Service to the Office of Certification.

3.5.4.2 Unopened, unaltered envelopes
containing PPST/PRAXIS I scores that were sent to the
individual may be accepted as official. The State Office of
Certification, shall determine whether the scores are
acceptable as presented.

3.5.4.3 If an individual cannot provide official
scores as described above, the applicant may have an official
set of scores sent to the State Office of Certification, directly,
by contacting the Educational Testing Service. After five
years, test scores are considered invalid by ETS and retesting
is required as a means of providing official scores.

3.5.4.4 Direct verification from another State
Department of Education shall be considered as official. An
original of the grade form shall be forwarded directly from
the other State Department to the Delaware Office of
Certification. This method shall be used only when those
avenues described in 3.5.4.1, 3.5.4.2, and 3.5.4.3 have been
exhausted.

3.5.4.5 Acceptable means for providing
Scholastic Aptitude Tests (SAT) and Graduate Record Exam
(GRE) scores are:

3.5.4.5.1 Have scores sent directly from
the Education Testing Service to the State Office of
Certification.

3.5.4.5.2 Have an official college
transcript forwarded directly to the State Office of
Certification, if a particular institution lists SAT and/or GRE
scores on its transcript.

3.5.4.5.3 Have high school transcript
signed and sealed by the registrar and sent directly to the
State Office of Certification, for SAT verification.

3.6 It shall be the responsibility of the individual
employee/applicant to bear any/all costs related to testing/
retesting, and the presentation of official scores to the State
Office of Certification.
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3.7 Department of Education Employees: All employees
of the Department of Education hired after 7/94 shall pass
PRAXIS I or provide equivalent scores from other
acceptable assessments. These scores shall be presented to
the State Office of Certification as official scores (see 3.5.4).

3.8 Certification Testing Data from Delaware
Institutions of Higher Education with State Approved
Teacher Education Programs.

3.8.1 The State Office of Certification shall receive
the same certification testing information, data or reports
that are provided to each institution of higher education
having a State of Delaware approved program in education.

3.8.2 The request for such information shall be
made directly to the Educational Testing Service or other
testing vendor by the State Office of Certification only. Data
or reports related to alternative test scores, SAT, GRE, and
NET Core Battery, which can be used in Delaware for an
exemption from specific portions of the PRAXIS I tests,
shall also be provided upon request.

4.0 Application for Initial License
4.1 An applicant for initial licensure shall file an

application with the State Office of Certification. The
application shall be supported by official transcripts and
other documentation that may be necessary to perform the
credential evaluation. It shall be the responsibility of the
applicant to provide the necessary documentation in an
appropriate official form. Any and all costs related to
providing appropriate documentation shall be the
responsibility of the applicant.

4.2 Credentials for Application
4.2.1 All documentation to support an application

request for licensure shall be official. Transcripts shall be
signed and sealed by the college/university registrar. If
presented in a sealed, unaltered envelope to the Office of
Certification, transcripts stamped with "Issued to the
Student" are considered official. The Office of Certification
shall determine, solely, whether a transcript or other
document is official.

4.2.2 All other documentation shall be originals,
unless otherwise specified in the Application Packet.

4.2.3 Test scores shall be received directly from the
Educational Testing Service; or be otherwise official (see
3.5.4).

4.2.4 Credentials required for application, if
employed or non-employed, are the same, they shall include:

4.2.4.1 Application for Certification Form.
4.2.4.2 Official transcripts of all institutions

listed on Application for Certification Form at the time of
application for initial licensure.

4.2.4.3 Institutional Recommendation/
Verification of Approved Program.

4.2.4.4 Official PPST/PRAXIS I scores. If not
employed in a public school district at the time of initial

application, official PPST/PRAXIS I scores are required to
apply for an initial evaluation for licensure. Individuals who
are employed in the Delaware public school system have a
period of time to submit passing scores (see 3.5).

4.2.4.5 Nonresident processing fee
(nonrefundable), if applicable.

4.2.4.6 Experience verification, when
applicable.

4.2.4.7 Copy of out-of-state certificates/
licenses.

4.3 Receipt of Credentials for Persons Employed in the
Delaware Public School System.

4.3.1 All credentials for licensure other than PPST/
PRAXIS I scores (where applicable) should be received in
the State Office of Certification, prior to employment. If this
is not possible, then the credentials shall be received no later
than two (2) months from the date of employment. Under
these circumstances, it is the responsibility of the district,
before employment, to determine that the person is eligible
to be certified for the position.

4.3.2 If a complete credential file has not been
received by the State Office of Certification, within two (2)
months of the employment date, the applicant shall be paid
at the rate of a substitute teacher until required
documentation for licensure has been received. Under
extenuating circumstances, the district may make a written
request for a waiver.

4.3.3 Upon receipt of the appropriate credentials
and evaluation for license, the individual's salary level, based
on verified degree, experience, military service, and type of
license shall be determined, and shall be made retroactive to
the date of employment.

4.4 Recency of Coursework
4.4.1 If an applicant's Bachelor's degree has not

been conferred within the most recent five-year period; or if
the applicant has not completed appropriate college-level
coursework within the most recent five-year period from the
date of evaluation for licensure or 3 years of full time
experience in the area of the license during the last 5 years,
then six (6) semester hours of refresher coursework may be
necessary, even if all other requirements are satisfied (see
5.7). Refresher coursework shall be taken in a regionally
accredited college or university. All courses shall meet the
approval of the Office of Certification. Inservice coursework
is not appropriate to meet the recency requirement.

4.5 Student Teaching
4.5.1 Successful student teaching at the appropriate

level under the supervision of an accredited teacher
preparation institution shall be required for all standard
licenses, with the exception of the process described below:

4.5.1.1 In lieu of student teaching, one (1) year
of full-time, successful elementary, secondary school, or
appropriate college/university sponsored internship training
in Delaware, under supervision, and given prior approval by
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the State Office of Certification may be substituted. This
regulation shall not be used until the individual has met all
other requirements, leaving student teaching as the sole
remaining requirement to be met for Standard licensure.

4.5.1.2 In lieu of student teaching, the six (6)
semester hour student teaching requirement shall be met via
a year of experience, as approved by the State Office of
Certification, and six (6) additional elective semester hours
in professional education in the area of licensure or any area
designated by the employing school district and approved by
the State Office of Certification.

4.5.1.2.1 The State Office of Certification must
give prior approval to this year of experience. The one (1)
year of experience shall be served at the same level or in the
same content area as required for that license (K-4,
elementary 1-8, secondary 7-12, Special Education, Math,
English, etc.). Experience served before approval is obtained
from the State Office of Certification is not appropriate to
meet this requirement.

4.5.1.2.2 Private school experience in lieu of
student teaching shall be served in a regionally accredited/
regularly organized private school. An appropriate
evaluation system, that is equivalent to the Delaware
Performance Appraisal System, shall be in force in order for
the private setting to qualify as an approved site. A private
school is not required to participate in this process. It is
voluntary and is a service to the applicant for Delaware
licensure. Private school experience served before approval
is obtained from the State Office of Certification is not
appropriate to meet this requirement.

4.5.1.2.3 An applicant who did not attain an
undergraduate index sufficient for eligibility for student
teaching at the appropriate level; or an applicant who, for
some other reason, was denied permission by the college to
engage in this experience; may not be certified to teach in
Delaware until the restriction is removed by the college. This
individual shall meet the Specific Requirements for the area
of licensure sought, since the approved program
recommendation is not available.

4.6 Other Considerations for Initial Licensure
4.6.1 Foreign Credentials

4.6.1.1 Applicants with study outside the
United States who are not employed in the Delaware public
school system should submit academic credentials either in
the original or in legible certified reproductions. An analysis
of the degree equivalency is required. The State Office of
Certification has no staff trained in foreign credential
analysis. For this reason, the individual shall submit
credentials to an approved consulting firm specializing in
foreign credential analysis/translation. An official
translation/evaluation accompanying the original shall be
required. The translation/evaluation will assist the Office of
Certification in determining the applicant's licensure status.
Semester hour equivalents and verification of certification/

licensure as a teacher in the foreign country may also be
necessary to complete the evaluation for licensure in
Delaware. A list of appropriate foreign credential
consultants is available from the State Office of
Certification. Since this service is not provided by the
Department of Education, the cost is the full responsibility of
the applicant.

4.6.1.1.1 In making application for
licensure, the individual with foreign credentials shall follow
the standard procedure for all applicants; however, it is more
efficient to submit transcripts for foreign credential analysis
first. Any teaching experience claimed must be properly
verified. If an applicant with foreign credentials is unable to
provide all the required information, a license to teach in
Delaware cannot be issued (see 2.0); and

4.6.1.1.2 Applicants who are part of a
foreign exchange program should refer to 2.3.5.

4.6.2 Professions and Occupations License
4.6.2.1 In areas of licensure where a State of

Delaware professional license or registration is required by
law, the applicant must present a current, valid license or
registration upon application for a teaching license. The
State license or registration shall be renewed as required by
law. For initial licensure, a copy of a current, valid State of
Delaware license shall be submitted with all requests for
renewal of a Delaware license that requires the license.

4.6.2.1.1 At any time an individual allows
the required license to lapse or become invalid for any
reason, the Delaware teaching license which requires such
professional licensure shall become invalid as well.

4.6.3 All graduate and undergraduate degrees and
coursework accepted for licensure must be earned from a
college or institution approved by the appropriate regional or
national accrediting agency; however, applicants from
nonaccredited colleges may validate the Bachelor's degree
by the completion of six (6) graduate level credits from an
accredited institution or through the National Teacher
Examinations (NTE) (see 4.6.5.1).

4.6.4 Correspondence coursework or courses
delivered by video tape shall have a regionally accredited
institution as the grantor of credit in order to meet
requirements for licensure, and shall be presented to the
Office of Certification on an official transcript from said
regionally accredited institution. Six (6) semester hours of
coursework is the maximum amount of credit allowable via
correspondence (see 4.6.6).

4.6.5 Proficiency Examinations
4.6.5.1 A satisfactory score (fiftieth percentile

or better) on the National Teacher Examinations (NTE)/
PRAXIS II Content Tests may be used:

4.6.5.1.1 to validate work from
nonaccredited colleges (see 4.6.3 and 4.6.4);

4.6.5.1.2 to complete requirements for the
major teaching field if the applicant holds a Bachelor's
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degree but lacks six (6) semester hours or less for full
licensure and has at least one (1) year of successful teaching
experience in the area required for the license;

4.6.5.1.3 as a substitute for coursework for
an additional teaching field. This applies to a person who is
fully certified and who has satisfactory experience in his/her
major teaching field of at least three (3) years on the
Standard license (documentation of both experience and
level of performance required), and who wishes to qualify
for another teaching field;

4.6.5.1.4 by an applicant who needs only
refresher credits as required under Recency Requirement
(see 5.7);

4.6.5.1.5 to complete requirements for
foreign language in the areas of French, German and Spanish
or any other specific content areas for which the National
Teacher Exam (NTE/PRAXIS II) has been developed and
for which the State of Delaware offers licensure;

4.6.5.1.6 to validate proficiency as a native
speaker; or proficiency of a language gained through
cross-cultural experiences such as living abroad.

4.6.5.2 Occupational Vocational Testing (NOCTI)
4.6.5.2.1 This test may be taken to

complete requirements in the occupational vocational
education area of Trade and Industry, with approval of the
State Department of Education and they determine the
appropriate cut scores of the NOCTI competency
examinations for each trade area.

4.6.5.2.1.1 The appropriate NOCTI
can be used for nine (9) semester hours of credit in the
vocational elective area of the Specific Requirements of the
Trade and Industry license and nine (9) semester hours
toward a salary increment.

4.6.5.2.1.2 The NOCTI can be used as
part of an undergraduate bachelor's degree program in
vocational education. The degree-granting college/university
will determine the credit value of the exam in light of the
completion on the Bachelor's degree.

4.6.5.2.1.3 The NOCTI cannot be
used for both 4.6.3.2.1.1 and 4.6.3.2.1.2 above.

4.6.6 Correspondence Coursework
4.6.6.1 Not more than six (6) semester hours of

required courses for licensure in any single area may be
secured by correspondence work. This correspondence work
shall be successfully completed through an accredited
college or in a school listed by a recommended accrediting
agency such as the National Home Study Council.

4.6.6.1.1 Any courses presented in a video
or distance learning format shall be considered as a
correspondence course, as long as attendance on campus in a
formal classroom setting is not required. Consequently,
video courses and distance learning shall be taken through a
regionally accredited college and a maximum of six (6)
semester hours are allowable.

4.6.7 Fees Required
4.6.7.1 A $10.00 nonresident initial processing

fee will be charged for each original evaluation for licensure
at the time of initial application. A resident of Delaware is an
applicant who has been a resident of Delaware for at least
one (1) year. Checks are to be made payable to the Delaware
Department of Education, shall accompany each Application
for Certificate, and are not refundable. Applications
submitted without this fee shall be returned unprocessed.

4.6.7.2 A $5.00 fee will be charged for each
duplicate certificate/license. Checks are to be made payable
to the Department of Education. Cash or postage stamps are
not acceptable.

4.6.8 The effective date of each license shall be the
actual date of issuance or employment, whichever is earlier;
or the first of the month following the completion of the
semester in which coursework requirements were completed
or the date of completion of testing requirements when no
other requirements were needed. The expiration date shall be
the end of the fiscal year, as appropriate for the license being
issued.

4.6.9 An applicant for initial licensure who meets
all minimum requirements may, in some cases, be issued the
appropriate license for only one (1) year when offered
employment in a Delaware public school district. The
license may be continued/extended for its full term after one
(1) year of successful, full-time teaching experience in a
public school setting and upon the recommendation of the
local district superintendent.

4.7 Denial of License
4.7.1 A license may be denied to an applicant for

initial licensure for the following reasons: lack of good
moral character, misconduct in office, incompetence, willful
neglect of duty, disloyalty or falsification of credentials.

4.7.2 Notwithstanding any other provisions stated
herein, no license shall be issued to an applicant for initial
licensure, for licensure through reciprocity, or for renewal of
licensure, if:

4.7.2.1 There is legal evidence that the
applicant is not of good moral character; or

4.7.2.2 The applicant has had a certificate or
license revoked in another state for immorality, misconduct
in office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty or
falsification of credentials.

5.0 Renewal of Licenses
5.1 The Professional Status certificate is valid for five

(5) fiscal years and shall be renewed upon expiration
provided the employee shall have been employed, full-time,
for at least three (3) school years during the aforesaid
five-year term, in the type of position for which the
certificate was issued.

5.1.1 In the event that the Professional Status
certificate expires and the holder has not been employed full-
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time, for three (3) of the most recent five-year period, in the
type of position for which the Professional Status certificate
was issued, the employee shall be required to take refresher
coursework as required in 5.7. Credits earned during the
period when the certificate was valid may be applied, if
appropriate, toward meeting the refresher requirements as
long as the coursework is not older than five (5) years. Upon
completion of the refresher coursework, a regular Standard
license will be issued/renewed.

5.1.2 The holder of an expired Professional Status
certificate, who does meet either the three-year employment
requirement for renewal or the refresher requirements to
qualify for a regular Standard license or renewal of such,
may qualify for a Limited Standard license in the same area,
if such certification is requested by a local district
superintendent as a condition of employment or continued
employment.

5.2 Standard license: The Standard license shall be
renewed upon expiration, provided the employee shall have
been employed in a Delaware public school district or other
state agency requiring certified educational personnel, for at
least three (3) school years during the most recent five-year
period. Said employment shall have been in the type of
position for which the license was issued and for which it is
valid.

5.2.1 The Standard license shall be renewed only
when the employment is not for three (3) consecutive years,
thus rendering the employee ineligible for a Professional
Status certificate. If employment in the appropriate position
is for three (3) consecutive years, the individual shall be
issued the Professional Status certificate and the Standard
license in that area shall not be renewed.

5.2.2 Standard licenses are typically not renewed
for individuals employed outside the Delaware public school
system and appropriate agencies that require certified
educational personnel. The Standard license shall not be
renewed for individuals employed within the Delaware
public school system, unless it is required in the area to
which the employee is currently assigned. Regular Standard
licenses that are not renewed are valid indefinitely. Renewal
of these licenses shall be made only when an assignment/
reassignment within the public school system requires the
employee to hold that specific license.

5.2.3 In the event of a reassignment to an area in
which the Standard license has expired, and when the holder
of that expired license has not been employed for three (3) of
the most recent five-year period in a position for which it
was issued, the holder shall be required to take the refresher
coursework described in 5.7. Six (6) semester hour credits
from regionally accredited colleges/universities earned
during the period when the license was valid but expired
may be applied, if appropriate, toward meeting the refresher
requirement.

5.2.4 The regular Standard license may be renewed

for personnel who previously held a Professional Status
certificate, and who do not meet the three-year, full-time
employment renewal requirement but who have completed
the required refresher coursework. The Standard license
shall be renewed at the time the Professional Status
certificate expires, provided the holder is employed by a
Delaware public school district or state agency requiring
certified educational personnel, in a position requiring that
license.

5.2.5 The holder of an expired license who meets
neither the service requirements nor the refresher
requirements for renewal, may qualify for a Limited
Standard license, if employed by a Delaware public school
district or state agency requiring certified educational
personnel, provided such license is requested by a local
district superintendent or appropriate personnel officer.

5.3 The Initial Standard certificate was valid for a period
of five (5) years between October 1, 1982 and June 30, 1991
and is not renewable. The holder of an Initial Standard
certificate who has been employed, full-time, by a Delaware
public school district or state agency requiring certified
educational personnel for at least three (3) years of the
aforesaid five-year term, and in the type of position for
which the certificate was issued, shall be eligible for a
regular Standard certificate upon expiration of the Initial
Standard certificate. The Initial Standard certificate has not
been issued since July 1, 1991. Since that time, the regular
Standard certificate replaced the Initial Standard certificate
as the initial certificate in Delaware. In the situation
described above, the Standard certificate would be issued for
the next consecutive five-year period.

5.3.1 After three (3) consecutive years of service in
the type of position for which the Initial Standard certificate
was issued, the holder of the Initial Standard is eligible for a
Professional Status certificate in the same area. If employed
in a Delaware public school district or an agency that
requires certified educational personnel, a regular Standard
certificate will not also be issued at that time. It may be
issued later, as appropriate.

5.3.2 The holder of an expired Initial Standard
certificate who has not completed, within the most recent
five-year period, three (3) years of employment in the type
of position for which the certificate was issued, may be
issued a regular Standard license upon completion of six (6)
semester hours of approved refresher work, independent of
employment. A written request must be submitted if the
individual is outside the Delaware public school system.

5.3.3 The holder of an expired Initial Standard
certificate may be issued a Limited Standard license at the
request of a local district superintendent/state agency,
provided he/she is employed in a Delaware public school
district or state agency requiring certified educational
personnel, and in the event they meet neither the experience
or the refresher requirements.
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5.4 A Limited Standard license is issued for up to three
(3) years at the request of a local district superintendent, and
is not renewable (see 2.3).

5.5 A Temporary license is valid for one (1) year and is
not renewable. If an applicant for licensure who was
employed on the basis of a Temporary license later qualifies
for a regular Standard then the appropriate license may be
issued.

5.6 Individuals who are not employed in a Delaware
Public School District or other State Agency Requiring
Certified Educational Personnel.

5.6.1 A Professional Status certificate, issued to an
individual while employed in a Delaware public school
district, shall not be renewed. It is considered to be a valid
Delaware license for an indefinite period of time.

5.6.1.1 Upon returning to employment within
the Delaware public school system, the Standard license that
was initially issued/used during the previous employment,
shall be renewed when either 5.6.1.1.1 or 5.6.1.1.2 below
can be met:

5.6.1.1.1 verification of the completion of
the appropriate refresher coursework as specified in 5.7.

5.6.1.1.2 provision of appropriate
documentation of three (3) years full-time experience within
the most recent five-year period, teaching in the same area as
the Professional Status certificate.

5.6.1.2 Upon employment in a Delaware public
school district, a Limited Standard license may be issued for
a period of up to three (3) years at the request of a local
district superintendent/designee while the refresher
coursework requirement is being met.

5.6.2 The Standard license, although valid for an
indefinite period of time, is typically not renewed for a
five-year period until the individual holder is employed in a
Delaware public school district or other state agency which
employs certified educational personnel. At the time of
employment within the public school system, and upon
presentation of verification of appropriate refresher
coursework (see 5.7).

5.6.2.1 If an individual with a valid regular
Standard license that is more than five (5) years past its latest
issuance date, seeks employment, he/she will be eligible for
renewal with documentation of appropriate refresher
coursework or experience. If coursework has not been taken,
the regular Standard license cannot be renewed until such
time as the refresher is taken. However, this individual shall
be eligible at the request of the local district superintendent,
to be issued a three-year Limited Standard license while the
appropriate refresher coursework is completed.

5.7 Recency Requirement
5.7.1 Upon initial application for licensure, or when

an additional area(s) of licensure is/are requested, or upon
license renewal, at least six (6) semester hours of the
coursework shall have been taken within the most recent

five-year period. The recency requirement may be satisfied
through appropriately documented employment in the area
of license request, for three (3) years out of the most recent
five-year period. Should neither of these criteria be met, six
(6) semester hours of refresher coursework as specified
below, shall be required prior to Standard licensure or
renewal of license.

5.7.2 Refresher coursework for licensure shall be
taken in a regionally accredited college or university. Said
refresher may be either graduate or undergraduate level
coursework, as was appropriate to meet the original
requirements for licensure in that particular area. Inservice
coursework is not appropriate. A total of six (6) semester
hours of refresher coursework is required for license renewal
or to update any degree or coursework that is more than five
(5) years old (see 4.4).

5.7.2.1 If required, the refresher coursework
shall be related to the specific area of licensure requested,
with three (3) semester hours to be taken in the subject/
content area of the license and three (3) additional semester
hours to be taken in professional education directly related to
the certified area. Refresher coursework shall meet the
approval of the State Office of Certification. Refresher
coursework shall be required for:

5.7.2.1.1 Renewing (upon employment in
or assignment to a position) any valid, expired, renewable
certificate/license where the individual has not been
employed in an assigned position requiring that license for
three (3) of the most recent five-year period;

5.7.2.1.2 Updating the recency of any
degree or coursework that is older than five (5) years as it
applies to the use of such coursework or the completion of a
degree used to obtain initial licensure for a new area;

5.7.2.1.3 Updating the recency of any
degree or coursework that is older than five (5) years as it
applies toward meeting the requirements for any additional
area(s) of licensure, after initial licensure.

6.0 Licensure Agreements/Reciprocity
6.1 Individuals graduating from Teacher education

programs that are approved and accredited by the National
Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) or
the National Association of State Directors of Teacher
Education and Certification (NASDTEC) Certification
Reciprocity System or The Interstate Certification Project
(ICP) and have full recommendation from their degree
granting institution shall be accepted for full licensure in
Delaware upon passing the reading, mathematics and writing
parts of the Pre-Professional Skills Tests (PPST/PRAXIS I).

6.2 Interstate Certification Project (ICP)
6.2.1 Classroom Teacher: An applicant with a

bachelor's degree granted after January 1, 1964 in teacher
education whose program is on the list of approved programs
for the ICP will be automatically certified to teach in
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Delaware in his/her major area if he/she is fully
recommended for teaching by the degree-granting
institution.

6.2.1.1 An applicant with a bachelor's degree
who holds a valid initial regular certificate/license from one
of the states in the ICP and who has at least 27 months of
successful teaching experience within the immediate past
seven (7) years with at least eighteen (18) months of that
teaching under the license now offered, is eligible for a
Delaware license in the same area. (A copy of the certificate/
license and verification of experience is required.)

6.2.2 All other licensed education personnel (except
Superintendents and Assistant Superintendents).

6.2.2.1 An applicant from one of the states in
the ICP who holds a valid initial regular certificate/license
from the state and who has a minimum of 27 months of
successful performance of professional school services
under the certificate/license is eligible for a Delaware license
in the same area if he/she has attained the same degree level
of education required by Delaware. A copy of the certificate/
license and verification of experience is required.

6.2.3 Licensed Educational Personnel from Other
States (except local District Superintendent)

6.2.3.1 An applicant with a bachelor's degree
who is fully licensed/certified in another state and who has a
minimum of three (3) years of satisfactory experience within
the immediate past five (5) years in the specific teaching area
covered by that certificate/license, will be licensed in that
area if he/she meets the total number of credits required by
Delaware in professional education and the specific field,
but not necessarily the specific courses required in Delaware
if he/she has attained the same degree level of education
required by Delaware.

7.0 Revocation of Licenses/Certification
7.1 Any license other than that of Professional Status

may be revoked by the Secretary of Education for the
reasons of immorality, misconduct in office, incompetence,
willful neglect of duty, disloyalty, or falsification of
credentials.

7.2 Revocation Requested by a School District
7.2.1 When any certified person is dismissed for

immorality, the board making such a determination pursuant
to 14 Del. C. shall, upon final decision, give written notice to
the Secretary of Education of its desire to request the
revocation of that individual's license(s).

7.2.2 When any certified person is dismissed for
misconduct in office, incompetence, disloyalty, or willful
and persistent insubordination, the board making such a
determination pursuant to 14 Del. C. may, upon final
decision, give written notice to the Secretary of Education of
its desire to request the revocation of that individual's
license(s).

7.2.3 The certified copy of the decision of the board

shall be substantial evidence for the Secretary of Education
to revoke the license(s) without a hearing. The district shall
forward its record with regard to the dismissal and any
hearing thereon.

7.2.4 The notice of the revocation(s) by the
Secretary of Education shall be sent to the person by
certified mail and shall give notice that it may be appealed to
the Delaware State Board of Education within thirty (30)
days.

7.3 Revocation or Denial by the Secretary of Education
7.3.1 In a case where the Secretary of Education has

good reason to believe that a certified person not employed
by a public school district has been convicted of a crime
which is evidence of immorality, the Secretary of Education
may initiate proceedings to revoke the person's license(s).

7.3.2 Any revocation by the Secretary of Education,
or any denial of licensure or denial of renewal of license
shall be subject to the following:

7.3.2.1 The Secretary of Education shall ensure
that there has been a fair investigation of the facts, that there
is substantial evidence for the basis of the decision, and that
the person is given notice of the decision and the reasons.

7.3.2.2 The notice of the decision shall be sent
to the person by certified mail, and the person shall have
thirty (30) days, from receipt, to request an informal hearing
before the State.

7.3.2.3 If such a hearing is requested, the
Secretary of Education shall give the person twenty (20)
days prior notice of the date, time and place of the informal
hearing. The notice shall inform the person of the right to
present his position and to be represented by counsel.

7.3.2.4 The Secretary of Education shall render
a decision in writing, setting out the reasons within twenty
(20) days. The decision shall be sent to the person by
certified mail, and shall give notice that it may be appealed
to the State Board of Education within thirty (30) days of
receipt.

7.3.3 All appeals to the State Board of Education
regarding revocation or denial of licensure are pursuant to 29
Del. C., Chapter 101.

8.0 Denial of Licenses/Certificates
8.1 A license may be denied to an applicant for initial

licensure for the following reasons: Lack of Good Moral
Character, Misconduct in Office, Incompetence, Willful
Neglect of Duty, Disloyalty or Falsification of Credentials.

8.2 Notwithstanding any other provisions stated herein,
no license shall be issued to an applicant for initial licensure,
for licensure through reciprocity, or for renewal of licensure,
if:

8.2.1 There is legal evidence that the applicant is
not of good moral character; or

8.2.2 The applicant has had a certificate or license
revoked in another state for immorality, misconduct in
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office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty or
falsification of credentials.

9.0 Professional Growth Programs
9.1 Definitions of Terms

9.1.1 Graduate Level Course: Any course to be
used herein which is offered at a regionally accredited
college or university that is considered graduate level at that
institution.

9.1.2 Undergraduate Course: Any course to be used
herein which is offered by a regionally accredited college or
university which carried college credit for an Associate or
Bachelor's degree.

9.1.3 Inservice Credits: Any project course offered
by a local Delaware school district or other agency that has
the approval of the Delaware State Department of Education;
or any course offered by the Delaware State Department of
Education. (To be used in a Professional Growth Program,
completion of these courses must have the prior approval of
the local employing school district superintendent.)

9.1.4 Individual Professional Growth Credits:
Individual activities, i.e. projects, travel, and work
experience, which contribute to the professional growth of
the school employee in his/her assignment. Individual
Professional Growth credits must have the prior approval of
the Delaware State Department of Education and the local
employing school district superintendent. A written
evaluation report by the individual earning the credit shall be
required at the conclusion of the activity.

9.1.4.1 A minimum of one (1) and a maximum
of three (3) inservice credits will be allowed for each
activity, for a maximum of nine (9) Individual Professional
Growth credits.

9.1.5 Credit Calculation: All credits must be
expressed in terms of semester hours. College or university
credits expressed in quarter hours and approved CEUs will
be converted to semester hours by multiplying the number of
quarter hours by two-thirds. In the case in-service credits,
fifteen (15) clock hours of class time is considered the
equivalent of one (1) credit. Credits earned for Professional
Growth activities will be calculated in the same manner as
in-service credits.

9.2 Acceptable Grades
9.2.1 All grades for college-level credit submitted

for a Professional Growth Program must be a grade that
earns a "C" or better from the granting institution. In the case
of credits earned on a pass-fail basis, a grade of pass is
acceptable.

9.3 Acceptable Credits
9.3.1 Credits for the Professional Growth Programs

(B+15, B+30, M+15, M+30, M+45) shall be earned after the
Bachelor's degree has been conferred. They may be
graduate, undergraduate, or in-service. CEUs from
regionally accredited colleges can also be used (1 CEU = 10

clock hours = 2/3 semester hour)
9.3.2 Up to nine (9) Individual Professional Growth

credits may be counted from theB+15 through the M+45.
9.3.3 Undergraduate and graduate credits must be

earned at regionally accredited institutions of higher
learning. Any credits not counted toward a graduate degree
shall be counted in the B+15, B+30, M+15, M+30, M+45
programs.

9.3.4 Undergraduate, in-service, and Individual
Professional Growth credits shall have the prior approval of
the employing local district superintendent/designee before
submission to the State Office of Certification. These credits
shall be relevant and usable to the applying employee.

9.3.5 For Trade and Industry teachers, a Bachelor's
degree equivalent shall be two years of college and six years
of work experience, 14 Del. C., § 1301.

9.4 Salary Increment: An applicant shall hold a
Delaware Standard or Limited Standard license before a
Professional Growth Program salary increment can be
approved.

9.5 Admittance to Graduate School: Applicants for a
Professional Growth Program need not be admitted to a
graduate school in order to have graduate level courses
accepted for these programs.

9.6 Acceptable Professional Degrees
9.6.1 Professional degrees earned in areas other

than professional education will not be accepted for the
Professional Growth Program unless the degree is directly
related to an area of specialty in which the individual is
employed.

9.6.2 To be counted for the Professional Growth
Program, a degree for any individual involved in instruction,
curriculum, or the supervision of instruction must be a
degree in professional education.

9.6.3 Individual courses in any area may be
considered for acceptance in the Professional Growth
Program upon receipt of a written rationale from the
applicant with an endorsement by his/her local employing
school district superintendent.

9.7 Usable Credits: All credits and programs to be
accepted for the Professional Growth Program/state
supported salary increments shall be relevant and usable to
the professional school employee and may be approved or
disapproved by the local employing school district
superintendent.

9.8 Excess Graduate Level Credits: Graduate level
credits earned after a Bachelor's degree or before earning a
Master's degree may be used in the B+15 and the B+30
Professional Growth Programs so long as the same credit is
used only one time. Credits earned in excess of those
required for the Master's degree by the granting institution
can be used in a M+15, M+30 and M+45 Professional
Growth Program.

9.9 Effective Date of Salary Adjustment
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9.9.1 The salary adjustment shall be made after the
evaluation and approval of the candidate's application by the
State Office of Certification. The adjustment will be
authorized to be made retroactive to the first of the month
following the date certified by transcript, official grade slip,
or approved in-service slip, as to when the program or credit
was completed.

9.9.2 Retroactive salary adjustment may be by a
single payment or by payments divided equally among all
the pay periods remaining in a current fiscal year as may be
determined by the district or state fiscal officers.

9.10 Appeals Committee: A committee shall be called to
review and make recommendations regarding an appeal that
may result as these rules are administered. The committee
shall include the following: One (1) representative from the
professional organization which represents the applicant,
One (1) staff member from the Department of Education;
and one (1) representative from the Chief School Officers
organization.

9.11 Application Procedures
9.11.1 The applicant shall secure the proper form

from the local school district office, complete the form, and
to return it to his/her school district office for transmittal to
the State Office of Certification.

9.11.2 The applicant shall arrange for the
appropriate authority or institution to provide verification, if
needed, regarding graduate level of courses or any other
information that might be needed to support his/her
application for the Professional Growth Program.

9.11.3 Application for evaluation shall not be
submitted prior to the completion of the Professional Growth
Program.

9.11.4 A salary increment for the current fiscal year
(July 1 - June 30) based upon approval of the application
must be received in the State Office of Certification by June
1. This cut-off date is necessary to allow adequate time for
evaluation and notification to the district payroll office for
salary adjustment. Applications received after this date will
be approved effective the first day in the new fiscal year. No
salary credit shall be retroactive into a prior fiscal year.

10.0 Certification/National Board of Professional Teaching
Standards

10.1 To be eligible to apply for national board
certification (and, therefore, for the award) an individual
shall:

10.1.1 Hold a baccalaureate degree from a
regionally-accredited institution of higher education.

10.1.2 Verify the completion of at least three years
of successful, full-time experience teaching in one or more
elementary, middle-level, and/or secondary schools.
Substitute teaching does not count for this experience.

10.1.3 Be currently employed in a Delaware public
school.

10.2 Application Procedures
10.2.1 By a date prescribed each year, teachers

interested in applying for national certification shall request,
complete, and return an Award Application to the State
Office of Certification. If more than fifteen (15) applications
are received in any given year, a total of fifteen applicants to
receive the awards will be chosen by lottery.

10.2.2 The applicant shall complete the forms and
return them to the State Office of Certification by the annual
deadline for processing and submission to the National
Board. The application for national board certification shall
be completed in full and returned before the individual can
obtain the award specified in this policy.

10.2.3 The application for national board
certification and the $500.00 initial application fee shall be
sent from the State Office of Certification directly to the
National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

10.2.4 As bills are sent to the teacher by the NBPTS
for additional application fees and related costs up to a total
of $2,000.00, the teacher will forward the bills to the Office
of Professional Standards and Certification for payment to
the National Board.

10.2.5 A teacher may receive an award only one
time for working toward national certification in a particular
field/level.

10.2.6 Should a teacher/applicant be involved in
another national board certification program like the
Princeton Project, which also pays part of the fees for the
national certification, this program will pay the other part of
the fees and related costs up to the total of $2,000.00 for all
support.

10.2.7 The Documents that shall be submitted to
complete the application and reporting process include the
Award Application and the NBPTS Application.

10.3 Salary Adjustment: School district personnel
offices shall verify for the State Office of Certification
completion of national board certification by any teacher
paid under 14 Del.C. §1305.

11.0 Alternative Routes To Certification Program For
Secondary Teachers

11.1 Eligibility for Participation in Program is defined
in 14 Del.C. §1260.

11.2 Candidates employed for secondary teaching
positions who do not meet the certification requirements for
a limited standard or standard Delaware certificate and who
do not meet the criteria will be issued a one-year temporary
certificate and will be required to meet the Delaware
certification requirements for the area in which they are
teaching.

11.3 School districts or charter schools employing a
secondary-level candidate for the alternative routes program
must meet the criteria set forth in 14 Del.C. §1260.

11.4 The Alternative Routes to Certification Program
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shall be offered in three interrelated but distinct components
- a summer institute of intensive study, a practicum
experience the first year of teaching, and seminars in
teaching during and immediately following the first year of
teaching.

11.4.1 A summer institute of approximately 120
instructional (clock) hours completed by the candidate prior
to the beginning of his/her teaching assignment. This
includes an orientation to the policies, organization and
curriculum of the employing school district or Charter
School, instructional strategies and classroom management
and adolescent development.

11.4.1.1 Candidates employed too late to
participate in the summer institute will complete the
practicum experience and seminars on teaching during the
first school year and will participate in the summer institute
following their first year of teaching.

11.4.2 A one-year, full-time practicum
experience which includes a period of intensive on-the-job
mentoring and supervision beginning the first day in which
the candidate assumes full responsibility for a classroom and
continuing for a period of thirty (30) weeks.

11.4.3 Seminars on Teaching that provide
alternative routes to certification teachers with
approximately 120 instructional (clock) hours during the
first year of their teaching assignment and during a one week
intensive seminar the following summer.

11.4.4 Mentoring Support: Mentoring support
shall be carried out in accordance with Section 1261 (b) (2)
(3) of 14 Del. C.

11.4.5 Evaluation/Supervision: Evaluation/
supervision shall be conducted as per Section 1261 (b) (2)
(3) of 14 Del. C.

11.5 Program Evaluation: Those responsible for
alternative routes to certification programs approved by the
State Office of Certification shall develop a program
evaluation process. The focus of the program evaluation
must be to demonstrate the degree to which teachers who
complete the program are effective in the classroom.

1505 Professional Growth Programs (Effective through 
6/30/03[04] only)

1.0 Content: This regulation shall apply to professional
growth programs for educators, pursuant to 14 Del. C. §
1305.

2.0 Definitions: The following words and terms, when used
in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Graduate level course” means any course to be used
herein which is offered at a regionally accredited college or

university that is considered graduate level at that institution.
“Individual professional growth credits” means

individual activities (i.e., projects, travel, and work
experience) which contribute to the professional growth of
the school employee in his/her assignment. 

“In-service credit” means credit offered by school
districts, charter schools, Delaware educationally related
organizations, the Department, or individual professional
growth programs and approved by the state in-service
committee.

3.0 Credits.
3.1 Three (3) in-service credits will be allowed for each

activity, for a maximum of nine (9) individual professional
growth credits.  Individual professional growth credits must
have the prior approval of the Department and the local
employing school district superintendent or charter school
principal.  A written evaluation report by the individual
earning the credit shall be required at the conclusion of the
activity.

3.2  Credit Calculation.
3.2.1 All credits must be expressed in terms of

semester hours. College or university credits expressed in
quarter hours and approved CEUs will be converted to
semester hours by multiplying the number of quarter hours
by two-thirds. In the case in-service credits, fifteen (15)
clock hours of class time is considered the equivalent of one
(1) credit. Credits earned for professional growth activities
will be calculated in the same manner as in-service credits.

3.3 Acceptable Grades
3.3.1 All grades for college-level credit

submitted for a professional growth
program must be a grade that earns a "C" or better from the
granting institution. In the case of credits earned on a pass-
fail basis, a grade of pass is acceptable.

3.4 Acceptable Credits
3.4.1 Credits for the professional growth

programs
 (B+15, B+30, M+15, M+30, M+45) shall be earned after the
Bachelor's degree has been conferred. They may be
graduate, undergraduate, or in-service. CEUs from
regionally accredited colleges can also be used (1 CEU = 10
clock hours = 2/3 semester hour)

3.4.2 Up to nine (9) individual professional
growth credits may be counted from the B+15 through the
M+45.

3.4.3 Undergraduate and graduate credits must
be earned at regionally accredited institutions of higher
learning. Any credits not counted toward a graduate degree
shall be counted in the B+15, B+30, M+15, M+30, M+45
programs.

3.4.4 Undergraduate, in-service, and individual
professional growth credits shall have the prior approval of
the employing local district superintendent/designee before
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submission to the State Office of Certification. These credits
shall be relevant and usable to the applying employee.

3.4.5 For Trade and Industry teachers, a
Bachelor's degree equivalent shall be two years of college
and six years of work experience (14 Del. C., § 1301).

3.5 Salary Increment.
3.5.1 An applicant shall hold a Delaware

Standard or Limited Standard license before a Professional
Growth Program salary increment can be approved.

3.6 Admittance to Graduate School: Applicants for a
professional growth program need not be admitted to a
graduate school in order to have graduate level courses
accepted for these programs.

3.7 Acceptable Professional Degrees
3.7.1 Professional degrees earned in areas other

than professional education will not be accepted for the
professional growth program unless the degree is directly
related to an area of specialty in which the individual is
employed.

3.7.2 To be counted for the professional growth
program, a degree for any individual involved in instruction,
curriculum, or the supervision of instruction must be a
degree in professional education.

3.7.3 Individual courses in any area may be
considered for acceptance in the professional growth
program upon receipt of a written rationale from the
applicant with an endorsement by his/her local employing
school district superintendent.

3.8  Usable Credits.
3.8.1 All credits and programs to be accepted

for the professional growth program/state supported salary
increments shall be relevant and usable to the professional
school employee and may be approved or disapproved by the
local employing school district superintendent.

3.9 Excess Graduate Level Credits.
3.9.1 Graduate level credits earned after a

Bachelor's degree or before earning a Master's degree may
be used in the B+15 and the B+30 professional growth
programs so long as the same credit is used only one time.
Credits earned in excess of those required for the Master's
degree by the granting institution can be used in a M+15,
M+30 and M+45 professional growth program.

3.10 Effective Date of Salary Adjustment
3.10.1 The salary adjustment shall be made after

the evaluation and approval of the candidate's application by
the Office of Professional Accountability. The adjustment
will be authorized to be made retroactive to the first of the
month following the date certified by transcript, official
grade slip, or approved in-service slip, as to when the
program or credit was completed.

3.10.2 Retroactive salary adjustment may be by a
single payment or by payments divided equally among all
the pay periods remaining in a current fiscal year as may be
determined by the district or state fiscal officers.

3.11 Appeals Committee.
3.11.1 A committee shall be called to review and

make recommendations regarding an appeal that may result
as these rules are administered. The committee shall include
the following: One (1) representative from the professional
organization which represents the applicant, One (1) staff
member from the Department; and one (1) representative
from the Chief School Officers organization.

3.12 Application Procedures
3.12.1 The applicant shall secure the proper form

from the local school district office, complete the form, and
to return it to his/her school district office for transmittal to
the Office of Professional Accountability.

3.12.2 The applicant shall arrange for the
appropriate authority or institution to provide verification, if
needed, regarding graduate level of courses or any other
information that might be needed to support his/her
application for the professional growth program.

3.12.3 Application for evaluation shall not be
submitted prior to the completion of the professional growth
program.

3.13 A salary increment for fiscal year 2004 (July 1
- June 30) based upon approval of the application must be
received in the Office of Professional Accountability by June
1. This cut-off date is necessary to allow adequate time for
evaluation and notification to the district payroll office for
salary adjustment.  No salary credit shall be retroactive into a
prior fiscal year.

1510 Issuance Of Initial License Issuance Of Initial 
License

1.0 Content:  This regulation shall apply to the issuance of
an initial license for educators, pursuant to 14 Del. C. §
1210.

2.0 Definitions:  The following words and terms, when used
in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Alternative Routes to Licensure and Certification”
means programs approved by the Department of Education
to certify or license candidates who hold bachelors degrees
with appropriate to the instructional field they desire to
teach, but who did not complete a regionally accredited
educator preparation program.

“Composite score” means a total of an applicant’s
scores on all three (3) subtests of Praxis I which is equal to,
or greater than, the sum of the passing scores on the three
subtests.

“Date of hire” means the effective date of employment
by a school district, charter school, or other employing
authority.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 2, FRIDAY, AUGUST 1, 2003



FINAL REGULATIONS180
“Educator” means a public school employee who holds
a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del. C., Chapter
12, and includes teachers and administrators, and as
otherwise defined by the Standards Board and the State
Board, pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 1203, but does not include
substitute teachers.

“Examination of general knowledge” means a
standardized test which measures general knowledge and
essential skills in mathematics or quantitative and verbal
skills, including reading and writing.

“Exigent circumstances” means unanticipated
circumstances or circumstances beyond the educator’s
control, including, but not limited to, expiration of a license
during the school year, serious illness of the educator or a
member of his/her immediate family, activation to active
military duty, and other serious emergencies which
necessitate the educator’s temporarily leaving active service.

“Jurisdiction” means a state, territory or country.
“License” means a credential which authorizes the

holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

“Mentoring” means activities prescribed by the
Department and/or other employing authority in which a
holder of an initial license must engage during the three-year
term of the initial license.

“Novice applicant” means an applicant who has not
previously held an initial license in Delaware.

“Standard Certificate” means a credential issued to
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students. 

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards
Board established pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of
the State pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 104.

“Student teaching program” means a [program
accredited by the National Association of State Directors of
Teacher Education and Certification or the National Council
for the Accreditation of Teacher Education, which includes]
traditional student teaching [placement within a National
Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and
Certification or National Council for the Accreditation of
Teacher Education approved program offered by a
college or university,] [programs,] or such alternatives as
deemed appropriate to the program, such as supervised
internships or other field based experience recognized as a
required component of the regionally accredited educator
preparation program.  For the purposes of this regulation,
student teaching program also means one year of teaching
experience consisting of a minimum of 91 days of long term
teaching experience at one assignment.

3.0 In accordance with 14 Del. C. § 1210, the Department
shall issue an  initial license to a novice applicant who

submits evidence of (1) receipt of a bachelors degree from a
regionally accredited 4-year college or university; (2)
completion of a student teaching program, or one year of
teaching experience consisting of a minimum of 91 days of
long term teaching experience at one assignment, or
enrollment in an Alternative Routes to Licensure and
Certification program, and (3) a passing score on an
examination of general knowledge, such as PRAXIS I, or
such other alternative as may be established by the Standards
Board, with the approval of the State Board. For the
purposes of this regulation, a bachelor’s degree for a trades
and industry teacher shall be two (2) years of college or
technical training, plus six (6) years of trade experience.  An
initial license shall also be issued to an applicant currently
licensed as an educator in another jurisdiction with less than
three years of teaching experience or to an applicant who
previously held a valid Delaware standard or professional
status certificate who has been out of the profession for more
than three years. In addition to an initial license, applicants
must also apply for a standard certificate in the particular
area, subject, or category in which they wish to be employed,
and must verify that they possess the prescribed knowledge,
skill and/or education to practice in that area, subject, or
category.  (See 14 DE Admin. Code 1516). 

3.1 An applicant for an initial license shall submit the
application form, official transcripts, and official scores on
an examination of general knowledge to the Department.

3.1.1 Official transcripts shall be forwarded
directly from the issuing institution or by the applicant in an
unopened, unaltered envelope.

3.2 Examination of General Knowledge Requirements
3.2.1 An applicant seeking initial licensure in

Delaware shall provide the Department with official test
scores for one or more of the following tests of essential
skills in reading, writing and mathematics: the PRAXIS I
Tests or such alternatives as set forth in 3.2.4 below.

3.2.2 Scores of Examinations of General
Knowledge. 

3.2.2.1 The following minimum passing
scores are required in the areas of reading, writing and
mathematics for each of the examinations of essential skills.

3.2.2.1.1 Pre-professional Skills Test
Taken between 7/1/83 and 10/22/93: reading - 175,
mathematics - 175, writing - 172.

3.2.2.1.2 PRAXIS I - Paper and Pencil
Tests (Tests taken on 10/23/93 and thereafter) and
computerized pre-professional skills tests taken 1/1/02 and
thereafter: reading - 175, mathematics - 174, writing - 173. 

3.2.2.1.3 PRAXIS I - Computer Based
Tests (Tests taken on10/23/93 and thereafter): reading - 322,
mathematics - 319, writing - 319. 

3.2.3 Individuals holding Delaware certificates
issued prior to July 1, 1983 are exempt from the testing
requirements.
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3.2.4 Acceptable alternatives to the PRAXIS I
test scores include:

3.2.4.1 Scores from the California Test of
Basic Skills (CTBS) shall be accepted in lieu of PPST/
PRAXIS I scores if the test was taken as a condition of
meeting certification or licensure requirements in that state
and the scores total 123, with a minimum of at least 37 in
each category.

3.2.4.2 Scholastic Aptitude Tests (SAT)
taken after 4/1/95 and presented for exemption must meet
the scores set forth below due to a re-centering of the SAT.

3.2.4.2.1 A minimum score of 520 on
the SAT Mathematics taken prior to 4/1/95, and a minimum
score of 540 on the SAT Mathematics test taken thereafter
will be accepted as fulfillment of the PRAXIS I Mathematics
requirement. 

3.2.4.2.2 A minimum score of 480 on
the SAT Verbal test taken prior to 4/1/95, and a minimum
score of 560 on the SAT verbal test taken thereafter will be
accepted as fulfillment of the PRAXIS I reading
requirement.

3.2.4.3 Graduate Record Examination (GRE)
scores presented  for exemption must meet the scores set
forth below.

3.2.4.3.1 A minimum score of 490 on
the Graduate Record Examination (GRE) Verbal test will be
accepted as fulfillment of the PRAXIS I reading
requirement.

3.2.4.3.2 A minimum score of 540 on
the Graduate Record Examination (GRE) Quantitative test
will be accepted as fulfillment of the PRAXIS I mathematics
requirement. 

3.2.4.4 National Teacher Examination (NTE)
Core Battery Communications Skills with a minimum score
of 670 will be accepted as fulfillment of the PRAXIS I
writing requirement

3.2.5 Any Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT)
scores, Graduate Records Exam (GRE) scores or NTE
Communication Skills scores intended to be used as an
exemption for the PPST/PRAXIS I, shall be submitted
within the same time line as that required for PRAXIS I and
scores must pre-date the employment date.

3.2.6 Timeline for Examination of General
Knowledge.

3.2.6.1 An applicant for an initial license
must pass PRAXIS I or an approved alternative within the
period of time from the date of hire to the end of the next,
consecutive fiscal year.  [An initial license issued without
the passage of PRAXIS I shall be suspended at the end of the
fiscal year during which the license was issued if proof of
passage of PRAXIS I has not been provided.  This
suspension shall remain in effect until the license holder
passes PRAXIS I or until the initial license expires,
whichever first occurs.]  Notwithstanding the foregoing, the

superintendent of the employing school district or charter
school [or other employing authority] may submit to the
Secretary of Education a written request for a one-year
extension.  The request must document the effectiveness of
the applicant. 

3.2.6.1.1 An applicant for an initial
license who does not achieve a passing score on PRAXIS I,
but whose score on PRAXIS I is within 2 points of the
passing score on the reading, writing, or mathematics section
of PRAXIS I may use a composite score to meet the
requirements of passage.  Notwithstanding the use of a
composite score, an applicant who seeks to teach in the
secondary content areas of mathematics or English/language
arts must meet the passing score in that content area.

3.2.6.2 An applicant in a vocational trade and
industry area must pass PRAXIS I or an approved alternative
within six (6) years of the date of employment or before the
expiration of the initial license, whichever is later.

3.2.7 There is no limit on the number of times
an individual may take the PPST/PRAXIS I.  Once passed, a
section need not be taken again.

3.2.7.1 Passing scores in each area (reading,
writing, mathematics) may be attained in any testing format.    

3.2.8Submission of Scores of Examination of
General Knowledge.

3.2.8.1 Test scores shall be official and sent
directly from Educational Testing Service or other test
vendor to the Department.

3.2.8.2 Unopened, unaltered envelopes
containing PPST/PRAXIS I scores, or scores of acceptable
alternatives,  sent to the individual may be accepted as
official.  The Department shall determine whether the scores
as presented are acceptable.

3.2.8.3 Direct verification from another State
Department of Education shall be considered as official.  An
original of the grade form shall be forwarded directly from
the other State Department to the Department.  This method
will be accepted only when official test scores from
Educational Testing Service are not available.

4.0 An initial license is valid for three (3) years, unless
revoked, and may not be renewed.  Notwithstanding the
foregoing, an initial license issued to an applicant in a
vocational trade and industry area is valid for up to six (6)
years to provide time for completion of specified college
level course work required for certification.

4.1 An initial license issued to an applicant who is not
currently employed by a school district, charter school, or
other employing authority shall be inactive until such time as
an applicant is employed by a public school district or
charter school.  Once employed, the initial license shall be in
effect for three (3) years from the date of hire until the last
day of the month of issuance three (3) years later, except in
the case of the vocational and trade industry areas which
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shall expire on the last day of the month of issuance six (6)
years later.

4.2 During the term of the initial license, license
holders are required to participate in mentoring and other
prescribed professional development activities offered by the
Department and by the school district or charter school or
other employing authority in which they are employed.

5.0 Applicants with Foreign Credentials.
5.1 Applicants graduating from foreign institutions

shall provide an analysis of the degree equivalency, along
with all other required application materials, which shall be
reviewed by the Department. 

6.0 The Department may extend an initial license for a
period not to exceed one (1) year, exigent circumstances
warranting the necessity of such extension.

6.1 A license holder whose license expires during the
school year may have the initial license extended until the
last day of the fiscal year upon a request from the district
superintendent, charter school administrator, or other
employing authority.  This extension shall be considered an
exigent circumstances and shall not exceed one (1) year in
length.

7.0 An educator may take a leave of absence of up to three
(3) years with no effect upon the validity or expiration of the
initial license.

8.0 An applicant shall disclose his or her criminal
conviction history upon application for an initial license.
Failure to disclose a criminal conviction history is grounds
for denial or revocation of an initial license as specified in 14
Del. Code, § 1219.

9.0 This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of
an initial license, except as specifically addressed herein. 

9.1 Educators whose applications for certification in
Delaware were received prior to August 31, 2003,  and
whose applications and credentials have been reviewed by
the Department and resulted in the issuance of an evaluation
or prescription letter shall be required to meet the General
Regulations for Certification of Professional Public School
Personnel and the Specific Regulations as adopted for
certification effective July 1, 1993. 

9.2 Educators employed on a Limited Standard
Certificate or a Temporary Certificate issued prior to August
31, 2003  shall continue on that certificate until the
requirements specified are met or the certificate expires,
whichever comes first.   In no case shall a Limited Standard
or Temporary Certificate be valid after July 1, 2008.

10.0 The Secretary of Education may, at the request of
the superintendent of a local school district or charter school

administrator or other employing authority, review licensure
credentials on an individual basis and grant a license to an
applicant who otherwise does not meet the requirements for
initial license, but whose effectiveness [of][is] documented
by the local school district, charter school, or other
employing authority.

1513 Denial Of Licenses

1.0 Content: This regulation shall apply to the denial of an
initial license, continuing license and/or advanced license for
educators pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 1217.

2.0 Definitions: The following words and terms, when used
in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise.

“Advanced license” means a license issued as part of
the three-tiered licensure system set  forth in 14 Del. C. §
1213 and § 1214.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Continuing license” means a license issued as part of
the three-tiered licensure system  set forth in 14 Del. C. §
1211 and §1212.

“Educator” means a public school employee who holds
a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del. C., Chapter
12, and includes teachers and administrators, and as
otherwise defined by the Standards Board and the State
Board, pursuant to 14 Del. C., § 1203, but does not include
substitute teachers.

“Good moral character” means conduct which is
consistent with the rules and principles  of morality expected
of an educator.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent
with the rules and principles of morality expected of an
educator and may reasonably be found to impair an
educator’s  effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness or
otherwise.

“Initial license” means a license issued as part of the
three-tiered licensure system set forth in 14 Del. C. § 1210.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Delaware
Department of Education.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards
Board established pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 1205.

“State” means the State of Delaware.
“Unfit” means lack of good moral character,

misconduct in office, incompetence, a pattern of ineffective
teaching, wilful neglect of duty, disloyalty or falsification of
credentials.

3.0 Upon a finding that an applicant is unfit to be licensed in
the State, the Department may refuse to issue an initial
license, continuing license or an advanced license to an
applicant who otherwise meets the requirements set forth in
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14 DE Admin. Code 1510, 1511, and 1512.
3.1 The Secretary shall give written notice to the

applicant of the denial and the reasons therefore.  The notice
of denial shall be sent by certified mail and shall give notice
that a full and fair hearing may be requested before the
Standards Board within thirty (30) days.

3.2 An applicant who is denied an initial, continuing, or
advanced license may appeal the decision, and is entitled to a
full and fair hearing before the Standards Board. Hearings
shall be conducted in accordance with the Standard Board’s
Hearing Procedures and Rules.

4.0 Notwithstanding any other provisions stated herein or in
14 DE Admin. Code 1510, 1511, and 1512, no license shall
be issued to an applicant for an initial, continuing or
advanced license if:

4.1 There is legal evidence that the applicant is not of
good moral character; or

4.2 The applicant has had a certificate or license
revoked in another state for immorality, misconduct in
office, incompetence, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty or
falsification of credentials.

1514 Revocation Of Licenses

1.0 Content: This regulation shall apply to the revocation of
an initial license, continuing license and/or advanced license
for educators, pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 1218.

2.0 Definitions: The following words and terms, when used
in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Advanced license” means a license issued as part of
the three-tiered licensure system set forth in 14 Del. C. §
1213 and 1214.

“Continuing license” means a license issued as part of
the three-tiered license system set forth in 14 Del. C. § 1211
and 1212.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Dismissal” means (1) dismissal by a school board or
board of directors where the license holder is employed by a
public school district or a charter school for immorality,
misconduct in office, incompetency, willful neglect of duty
or disloyalty; or (2) the license holder’s voluntary
resignation of employment in the face of disciplinary action
for immorality; or (3) the license holder’s conviction of a
crime which is evidence of immorality.

“Educator” means a public school employee who holds
a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del. C., Chapter
12, and includes teachers and administrators, and as
otherwise defined by the Standards Board and the State
Board pursuant to 14 Del. C., § 1203, but does not include
substitute teachers.

“Immorality” means conduct which is inconsistent
with the rules and principles of morality expected of an
educator and may reasonably be found to impair an
educator’s effectiveness by reason of his or her unfitness or
otherwise.

“Initial license” means a license issued as part of the
three-tiered licensure system set forth in 14 Del. C. § 1210.

“License holder” or “licensee” means any individual
who holds an initial license, continuing license and/or
advanced license, and until a continuing license is issued, a
limited standard, standard, or professional status certificate.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Delaware
Department of Education.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards
Board established pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 1205.

“State” means the State of Delaware.

3.0 An initial, continuing or advanced license may be
revoked upon the dismissal of the license holder for
immorality, misconduct in office, incompetency, willful
neglect of duty or disloyalty, and must be revoked upon a
finding that the license holder made a materially false or
misleading statement in his or her license application.

3.1 Revocation Requested by a School District or
Charter School.

3.1.1 When any license holder is dismissed by a
school board, or board of directors, or other employing
authority for immorality, the board making such a
determination pursuant to 14 Del. C. shall, upon final
decision, give written notice to the Secretary of its desire to
request the revocation of that individual’s license.

3.1.2 When any license holder is dismissed by a
school board or board of directors or other employing
authority for misconduct in office, incompetence, willful
neglect of duty or disloyalty, the board making such a
determination pursuant to 14 Del. C. may, upon final
decision, give written notice to the Secretary of its desire to
request the revocation of that individual’s license.

3.1.3 When a license holder employed by a
school board or board of directors or other employing
authority voluntarily resigns in the face of disciplinary action
for immorality and an investigation has been initiated by the
school board or board of directors, or other employing
authority, the board shall, upon accepting the resignation,
give written notice to the Secretary.

3.1.4 Upon receipt of written notification from
the school board or board of directors or other employing
authority, the Secretary shall give written notice to the
license holder of the intended revocation and the reasons
therefore.  The notice of revocation shall be sent by certified
mail and shall give notice that a full and fair hearing may be
requested before the Standards Board within thirty (30) days.
Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standard
Board’s Hearing Procedures and Rules.
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3.1.5 If the licensee fails to request a formal
hearing before the Standards Board within thirty (30) days of
the notice of revocation, the Secretary shall send written
notification by certified mail to the individual revoking his/
her license.

3.2 Revocation by the Secretary of Education
3.2.1 The Secretary may initiate proceedings to

revoke a license holder’s license when she/he has good
reason to believe that any of the following circumstances
exist:

3.2.1.1 The license holder has been convicted
of a crime which is evidence of immorality;

3.2.1.2 The license holder who is not
employed by a public school district or charter school or
other employing authority has voluntarily resigned his/her
employment in the face of an open investigation for
immorality; or

3.2.1.3 The license holder has had a
certificate or license revoked in another state for immorality,
misconduct in office, incompetency, willful neglect of duty
or disloyalty or falsification of credentials.

3.2.2 The Secretary shall give written notice to
the license holder of the intended revocation and the reasons
therefor.  The notice of revocation shall be sent by certified
mail and shall give notice that a full and fair hearing may be
requested before the Standards Board within thirty (30) days.
Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Standard
Board’s Hearing Procedures and Rules.

3.2.3 If the licensee fails to request a formal
hearing before the Standards Board within thirty (30) days of
the notice of revocation, the Secretary shall send written
notification by certified mail to the individual revoking his/
her license.

4.0 Duty of License Holder to Report.
4.1 Notwithstanding any other provisions stated herein,

a license holder shall send written notification to the
Secretary within thirty (30) days of the happening of any of
the following events:

4.1.1 The license holder is dismissed by a
school board, board of directors, or other employing
authority for immorality;

4.1.2 The license holder voluntarily resigns
employment in the face of disciplinary action for immorality
and/or an open investigation for immorality;

4.1.3 The license holder is convicted of a crime
which is evidence of immorality; or

4.1.4 The license holder has had a certificate or
license revoked in another state for immorality, misconduct
in office, incompetency, willful neglect of duty, disloyalty or
falsification of credentials.

4.2 The failure of the license holder to report any of the
above events to the Secretary of Education shall be grounds
for revoking a license.

5.0 When a license is revoked, all certificates held by the
license holder shall be revoked.  Educators are entitled to a
full and fair hearing before the Professional Standards
Board.  Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the
Standards Board’s Hearing Procedures and Rules.

1515 Emergency Certificate

1.0 Content: This regulation shall apply to the issuance of
an emergency certificate, pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 1221.

2.0 Definitions: The following words and terms, when used
in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Certified” means holding a certificate in a specific
content area at designated grade levels.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Educator” means a public school employee who holds
a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del. C., chapter
12, and includes teachers and administrators, and as
otherwise defined by the Standards Board and the State
Board, pursuant to 14 Del. C. §1203, but does not include
substitute teachers.

“Emergency certificate” means a certificate issued to
an educator who holds a valid Delaware initial, continuing,
or advanced license, but lacks necessary skills and
knowledge to meet certification requirements in a specific
content area.

“Employing district” means a school district, charter
school, or other employing authority that proposes to employ
an educator under an emergency certificate.

“Exigent circumstances” means unanticipated
circumstances or circumstances beyond the educator’s
control, including, but not limited to, expiration of a license
during the school year, serious illness of the educator or a
member of his/her immediate family, activation to active
military duty, and other serious emergencies which
necessitate the educator’s temporarily leaving active service.
“Satisfactory evaluation” means an overall rating of “basic”
or higher on an annual DPAS summative evaluation.

“Standard certificate” means a credential issued to
verify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

3.0 Upon request from the employing district, the
Department may issue an emergency certificate, valid for up
to three years, to an educator who holds a valid Delaware
initial, continuing, or advanced license, or a valid standard or
professional status certificate, but who is not eligible for
certification in the area of need.  An emergency certificate
may not be renewed.  Notwithstanding the foregoing, an
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emergency certificate issued to an educator in a vocational
trade and industry area is valid for up to six (6) years to
provide time for completion of specified college level course
work required for certification.

3.1 In its request for the issuance of an emergency
certificate, the employing district must:

3.1.1 Document its efforts to hire a certified
educator by supplying the Department with copies of job
postings, recruitment efforts, and advertisements.

3.1.2 Establish that the proposed recipient of an
emergency certificate is competent by submitting evidence
of the educator’s license and other considerations, which
may include, but are not limited to, evidence of course work
or work experience in the area for which the emergency
certificate is requested, which the employing district applied
in determining the proposed recipient’s competence.

3.1.3 Set forth a written plan to support and
assist the proposed recipient in achieving the skills and
knowledge necessary to meet the applicable certification
requirements.

3.2 Failure by the employing district to fulfill the
conditions set forth in 3.1 above will result in denial of the
emergency certificate.

3.3 The emergency certificate shall be in effect for
three (3) years from the month in which the applicant is
employed until the last day of the month of issuance three (3)
years later, except in the case of an emergency certificate
issued to a vocational trades and industry teacher, which
shall expire on the last day of the month of issuance six (6)
years later.

3.3.1 A certificate holder whose emergency
certificate expires during the school year may have the
emergency certificate extended until the last day of the fiscal
year.  This extension shall be considered an exigent
circumstance and shall not exceed one (1) year in length.

4.0 At the end of each school year during which an
emergency certificate is in effect, the employing district
shall file a status report with the Department, which shall:

4.1 Establish that the recipient of the emergency
certificate has demonstrated competence through receiving a
satisfactory evaluation on the Delaware Performance
Appraisal System.

4.2 Document the progress made by the recipient of the
emergency certificate toward fulfilling the plan established
by the employing district to meet the applicable certification
requirements.

4.3 Failure by the employing district to fulfill the
conditions set forth in 4.1 and 4.2 above will result in
suspension of the emergency certificate.  A suspension may
be lifted upon fulfillment by the employing district of the
conditions set forth in 4.1 and 4.2 above.

5.0 Prior to the expiration of an emergency certificate, the

recipient must meet the requirements for issuance of a
standard certificate (See 14 DE Admin. Code 1516).
6.0 The Secretary of Education may, upon the written
request of the superintendent of a local school district or
charter school administrator or other employing authority,
review credentials submitted in application for an emergency
certificate on an individual basis and grant an emergency
certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for an emergency certificate, but whose
effectiveness is documented by the local school district or
charter school administrator or other employing authority.

7.0 An emergency certificate shall be revoked in the event
the educator’s initial, continuing, or advanced license or
limited standard, standard, or professional status certificate
is revoked in accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code 1514.
An educator is entitled to a full and fair hearing before the
Professional Standards Board.  Hearings shall be conducted
in accordance with the Standards Board’s Hearings
Procedures and Rules.

1516 Standard Certificate

1.0 Content: This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a
standard certificate, pursuant to 14 Del. C. ' 1220.

2.0 Definitions: The following words and terms, when used
in this regulation, shall  have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Certified” means holding a certificate in a specific
content area at designated grade levels.

“Certification” means the issuance of a certificate,
which may occur regardless of a recipient’s assignment or
employment status.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Educator” means a public school employee who holds
a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del. C., Chapter
12, and includes teachers and administrators, and as
otherwise defined by the Standards Board and the State
Board pursuant to 14 Del. C., § 1203, but does not include
substitute teachers.

AExamination of content knowledge@ means a
standardized test which measures knowledge in an specific
content area.

ALicense@ means a credential which authorizes the
holder to engage in the practice for which the license is
issued.

AStandard Certificate@ means a credential issued to
certify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students. 

AStandards Board@ means the Professional Standards
Board established pursuant to 14 Del. C. ' 1201.
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AState Board@ means the State Board of Education of
the State pursuant to 14 Del. C. ' 104.

3.0 The Department shall issue a standard certificate to an
educator who holds a valid Delaware initial, continuing, or
advanced license or limited standard, standard, or
professional status certificate who has acquired the
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a
particular category of students, or has graduated from a
Delaware approved program, or holds a valid and current
certificate in the area requested from another state.
Educators may hold certificates in more than one area. 

3.1 An educator may document the acquisition of the
prescribed knowledge, skill and/or education to practice in a
particular area, to teach a particular subject or to instruct a
particular category of students by:

3.1.1 Submitting evidence of having graduated
from a Delaware approved educator preparation program; or

3.1.2 Holding a valid and current certificate
from another state; or

3.1.3 Achieving a passing score on an
examination of content knowledge, such as PRAXIS II.
This section is subject to the establishment of passing scores
for PRAXIS II examinations by the Department, and their
approval by the Professional Standards Board, with
concurrence from the State Board of Education.

3.1.3.1 National Board for Professional
Teaching Standards in the area, subject, or category in which
the standard certificate is to be issued will be accepted in lieu
of a passing score on PRAXIS II.

3.1.3.2 In areas, subjects or categories where
an examination of content knowledge is neither available nor
applicable, the applicant must meet the requirements set
forth in the relevant Department regulation governing the
issuance of a standard certificate in the area for which a
standard certificate is sought.

4.0 An applicant for a standard certificate shall submit
evidence of (1) receipt of a bachelors degree from a
regionally accredited 4-year college or university; (2)
official transcripts and, if applicable, official scores on the
PRAXIS II examination or a notarized copy of the National
Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certificate.  If
applied for simultaneously with application for an initial
license, the applicant shall provide all required
documentation for that application in addition to the
documentation cited above. 

5.0 If an applicant holds a valid initial, continuing, or
advanced Delaware license or a limited standard, standard or
professional status certificate and is requesting additional
standard certificates, only that documentation necessary to
demonstrate acquisition of the prescribed knowledge, skill

and/or education required for the additional standard
certificate requested is required.

6.0 This regulation shall apply to all requests for issuance of
a standard certificate, except as specifically addressed
herein.  Educators holding a Professional Status Certificate
or a Standard Certificate issued on or before August 31,
2003 shall be issued a Standard Certificate for each area in
which they held a Professional Status Certificate or a
Standard Certificate.  The Department shall also recognize a
limited standard or temporary certificate issued prior to
August 31, 2003, provided that the educator successfully
completes the requirements set forth in the limited standard
or temporary certificate.  Requirements must be completed
by the expiration date of the limited standard certificate.

7.0 A standard certificate is valid regardless of the
assignment or employment status of the holder of a
certificate or certificates, and is not subject to renewal.  It
shall be revoked in the event the educator’s initial,
continuing, or advanced license or limited standard,
standard, or professional status certificate is revoked in
accordance with 14 DE Admin. Code 1514.  An educator is
entitled to a full and fair hearing before the Professional
Standards Board.  Hearings shall be conducted in accordance
with the Standards Board’s Hearing Procedures and Rules.

8.0 The Secretary of Education may, upon the written
request of the superintendent of a local school district or
charter school administrator or other employing authority,
review credentials submitted in application for a standard
certificate on an individual basis and grant a standard
certificate to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a standard certificate, but whose
effectiveness is documented by the local school district or
charter school administrator or other employing authority.

1519 Alternative Routes to Teacher Licensure and 
Certification Program 

1.0 Content: This regulation shall apply to the alternative
routes to licensure and certification program, pursuant to 14
Del. C. §§ 1260 through 1264.

2.0 Definitions: The following words and terms, when used
in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Educator” means a public school employee who holds
a license issued under the provisions of 14 Del. C., Chapter
12, and includes teachers and administrators, and as
otherwise defined by the Standards Board and the State
Board pursuant to 14 Del. C., § 1203, but does not include
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substitute teachers.
“Emergency certificate” means a certificate issued to an

educator who holds a valid Delaware initial, continuing, or
advanced license, but lacks necessary skills and knowledge
to meet certification requirements in a specific content area.

“Examination of general knowledge” means a
standardized test which measures general knowledge and
essential skills in mathematics or quantitative and verbal
skills, including reading and writing.

“Initial license” means the first license issued to an
educator that allows an educator to work in a position
requiring a license in a Delaware public school.

“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Delaware
Department of Education.

“Standard certificate” means a credential issued to
verify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards
Board established pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 1201.

“State Board” means the State Board of Education of
the State pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 104.

3.0 Candidates seeking participation in the alternative
routes for teacher licensure and certification program shall
be issued an initial license and a standard or emergency
certificate or certificates of no more than three years
duration.  Candidates must:

3.1 hold a bachelor’s degree from a regionally
accredited college or university in a major appropriate to the
instructional field they desire to teach;

3.2 pass an examination of general knowledge, such as
PRAXIS I, or provide an acceptable alternative to the
PRAXIS I test scores, as set forth in DE. Admin. Code 1510;

3.3 obtain an acceptable health clearance and an
acceptable criminal background check clearance; and

3.4 obtain and accept an offer of employment in a
position that requires licensure and certification.

4.0 The Alternative Routes to Teacher Licensure and
Certification Program shall consist of three interrelated but
distinct components - a summer institute of intensive study,
a practicum experience the first year of teaching, and
seminars in teaching during and, immediately following, the
first year of teaching.

4.1 A summer institute of approximately 120
instructional (clock) hours completed by the candidate prior
to the beginning of his/her teaching assignment. This
includes an orientation to the policies, organization and
curriculum of the employing school district or charter
school, instructional strategies and classroom management
and child or adolescent development.

4.1.1 Candidates employed too late to
participate in the summer institute will complete the

practicum experience and seminars on teaching during the
first school year and will participate in the summer institute
following their first year of teaching.

4.2 A one-year, full-time practicum experience which
includes a period of intensive on-the-job mentoring and
supervision beginning the first day in which the candidate
assumes full responsibility for a classroom and continuing
for a period of thirty (30) weeks.

4.3 Seminars on teaching that provide alternative routes
to licensure and certification teachers with approximately
120 instructional (clock) hours during the first year of their
teaching assignment and during a one week intensive
seminar the following summer.

5.0 Mentoring Support: Mentoring support shall be carried
out in accordance with Section 1261 (b) (2) and (3) of 14
Del. C.

6.0 Evaluation/Supervision: Evaluation/supervision shall be
conducted as per Section 1261 (b) (2) (3) of 14 Del. C.

7.0 Program Evaluation: Those responsible for alternative
routes to certification programs approved by the Standards
Board and the State Board shall develop a program
evaluation process. The focus of the program evaluation
must be to demonstrate the degree to which teachers who
complete the program are effective in the classroom.

8.0 The Secretary may implement other alternative routes to
teacher licensure and certification programs, provided the
programs meet the minimum criteria set forth in this
regulation.

1520  Substitute Teacher  – RESERVED

Regulatory Implementing Order

605 Student Rights and Responsibilities

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend regulation
605 Student Rights and Responsibilities.  The amended
regulation now includes charter schools and corrections have
been made to the title of the Department of Education
Guidelines and to the titles of the regulations that should be
used in developing the district and charter school policies.
The regulation was re-advertised in the June 2003 Register
of Regulations to add the phrase “and whenever a student
enters or re-enters the school during the school year” to the
requirement that schools shall distribute and explain these
policies to every student at the beginning of every school
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year.  In the final approved version of the regulation the
Secretary has substituted the words enrolls and re-enrolls for
the words enters and re-enters to improve clarity.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on May 22,
2003, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  No
comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts

The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation in order to add a reference to charter schools and
to update the references to guidelines and to titles of other
regulations.  A phrase was also added to assure that students
always receive copies of rights and responsibility documents
as they enroll or re-enroll in a school.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore,
pursuant to 14 Del. C. §122, the regulation attached hereto as
Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of
14 Del. C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be
in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of
this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code § 605 in the
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C. §122 on July 8, 2003.  The
effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the
date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 8th day of July 2003.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

605  Student Rights and Responsibilities

1.0  All local school districts shall have their own policies on
student rights and responsibilities and shall distribute and
explain these policies to every student in the school district
at the beginning of every school year.  The local district’s
policies shall be based on the Technical Assistance Manual

for the Development of District Policies on Student Rights
and Responsibilities and on the Department of Education
regulations, Policy for the School Districts on the
Possession, Use or Distribution of Drugs and Alcohol, and
School District Compliance with the Gun-Free Schools Act.

605  Student Rights and Responsibilities

1.0  All local school districts and charter schools shall have
their own policies on student rights and responsibilities and
shall distribute and explain these policies to every student at
the beginning of every school year and whenever a student
[enters or re-enters enrolls or re-enrolls in] the school
during the school year.  These policies shall be based on the
Department of Education document Guidelines for the
Development of District Policies on Student Rights and
Responsibilities, as may be from time to time revised by the
Department of Education, and on Department of Education
regulations, Possession, Use or Distribution of Drugs and
Alcohol, and Compliance with the Gun-Free Schools Act.

Regulatory Implementing Order

905 Federal Programs General Complaint Procedures*

I. Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The Secretary of Education intends to amend regulation
905 Federal Programs General Complaint Procedures in
order to correct the names of the federal statutes referenced
in 1.0 and to clarify the language and intent of the regulation.
In 2.2 sixty calendar days was changed to sixty working days
and in 3.2 thirty calendar days was changed to sixty working
days to make it the same as 2.2.  Corrections have also been
made to the mailing address in 5.0 and the reference to
children with disabilities in the note on IDEA.  In the final
document the word “shall” has been removed and the words
“is encouraged to” have been  reinstated.  The Secretary
would prefer that individuals and organizations settle
disputes at the local level but recognizes the right of an
individual or organization to file a complaint directly with
the state or federal government. The number of the
regulation has also been changed to 258 placing it in section
200 of the Regulations of the Department of Education,
Administrations and Operations.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the
News Journal and the Delaware State News on May 22,
2003, in the form hereto attached as Exhibit “A”.  No
comments were received.

II. Findings of Facts
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The Secretary finds that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation in order to update the names and the numbers of
the federal statutes referred to in the regulation, change the
response time to 60 working days, clarify the wording and
change the number of the regulation.

III. Decision to Amend the Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Secretary concludes that
it is appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore,
pursuant to 14 Del. C. §122, the regulation attached hereto as
Exhibit “B” is hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision of
14 Del. C. §122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be
in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of
this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text and Citation

The text of the regulation amended hereby shall be in
the form attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation
shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code § 258 in the
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V. Effective Date of Order

The actions hereinabove referred to were taken by the
Secretary pursuant to 14 Del. C. §122 on July 8, 2003.  The
effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days from the
date this Order is published in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 8th day of July 2003.

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

[258 905]  Federal Programs General Complaint
Procedures*

1.0  Programs that are covered by this complaint process
include: Part A of Title I, Improving Basic Programs
Operated by the Local Education Agency; Part B of Title I,
Even Start Family Literacy Program; Part C of Title I,
Migrant Education; Part D of Title I, Children and Youth
who are Neglected, Delinquent, or at Risk of Dropping Out;
Title II Eisenhower Professional Development Program;
Subpart 2 of Part A Title III, State and Local Programs for
School Technology Resources; Part A of Title IV, Safe and
Drug Free Schools and Communities; and Title VI,
Innovative Education Program Strategies, as required under
the Elementary Secondary Education Act (ESEA) of 1965,
as amended by the Improving America’s Schools Act
(IASA) of 1994.  In addition the Delaware Department of
Education is extending the complaint procedures to include
programs under the Goals 2000: Educate America Act of

1994.
1.0 This complaint process shall apply to the following
programs: Title I Part A Improving Basic Programs
Operated by Local Education Agencies; Title I Part B-1
Reading First; Title I Part B-2 Early Reading First; Title I
Part B-3 William F. Goodling Even Start Family Literacy
Program; Title I Part C Education of Migratory Children;
Title I Part D Prevention and Intervention Programs for
Children and Youth Who are Neglected, Delinquent, or at
Risk; Title I Part F Comprehensive School Reform; Title I
Part G Advanced Placement; Title II Part A Teacher and
Principal Training and Recruiting Fund, Grants to States;
Title II Part A-5-2151(B) School Leadership; Title II Part D
1 and 2 Enhancing Education Through Technology; Title III
Language Instruction for Limited English Proficient and
Immigrant Students; Title IV Part A Safe and Drug Free
Schools and Communities; Title IV Part B 21st Century
Community Learning Centers; Title V Part A Innovative
Programs and Title V Part B-1 Public Charter Schools.

2.0 An organization or an individual may file a written,
signed complaint regarding an alleged violation of Federal
Program Statutes or regulations by the Delaware Department
of Education or the Local Education Agency. The alleged A
written and signed complaint shall be filed with the
Delaware Department of Education and may involve either a
Local Education Agency or the State Education Agency.

2.1 The complaint shall include a statement specifying
the alleged violation by that the State Education Agency or a
Local Education Agency. has violated a requirement of a
Federal statute or regulation that applies to these Local
Education Agency programs and the facts on which the
statement is based.  Such statement shall include facts and
documentation of the alleged violation.

2.2 The Delaware Department of Education shall
resolve investigate the complaint and issue a written report
including findings of fact and a decision to the parties
included in the complaint within sixty (60) calendar working
days of the receipt of the complaint.  An extension of the
time limit may be made by the Delaware Department of
Education only if exceptional circumstances exist with
respect to a particular complaint.

2.3 The Delaware Department of Education may
conduct an independent on-site investigation of the
complaint, if it is determined that an on-site investigation is
necessary.

3.0 An organization or an individual [is encouraged to
shall] [is encouraged to] file a written, signed complaint
with the Local Education Agency, prior to submission of the
complaint to the Delaware Department of Education,
concerning an alleged violation by the Local Education
Agency of a Federal statute or regulation that applies to the
Local Education Agency’s program.

3.1 The complaint shall include a statement specifying
the alleged violation by that the Local Education Agency has
violated a requirement of a Federal statute or regulation that
applies to the Local Education Agency’s programs and the
facts on which the statement is based. Such statement shall
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include facts and documentation of the alleged violation.
3.2 The superintendent or the agency head of the Local

Education Agency shall resolve investigate the complaint
and issue a written report including findings of fact and a
decision to the parties involved in the complaint within thirty
calendar sixty (60) working days of the receipt of the
complaint.

3.3 An appeal of the Local Education Agency decision
may be made by the complainant to the Delaware
Department of Education.  The appeal shall be in writing and
signed by the individual [or by an individual
representative of the organization] making the appeal.
The Delaware Department of Education shall resolve
address the appeal in the same manner as a complaint, as
indicated in 2.0.

4.0 Any party to the complaint has the right to request that
the Secretary, U. S. Department of Education, review the
final decision of the Delaware Department of Education.
The request for an appeal of the decision to the Secretary, U.
S. Department of Education, shall be made in writing to the
Delaware Department of Education within sixty days of the
receipt of the decision.

5.0 Complaints and appeals to the Delaware Department of
Education shall be mailed to the following address:

Director of Unified Planning and Quality
Assurance School Improvement

Delaware Department of Education
P. O. Box 1402
Dover, Delaware 19903

* IDEA Part B, as amended, has other specific remedies
and procedural safeguards specified under Section 615 of the
Act to protect disabled students with disabilities.  See
Regulation 925, Children with Disabilities.

See 2 DE Reg. 217 (8/1/98)

PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Regulatory Implementing Order

302 Certification Administrative– Superintendent
304 Certification Administrative – Assistant 

Superintendent for Curriculum
311 Certification Administrative – Elementary School 

Principal or Assistant Principal
312 Certification Administrative – Secondary School 

Principal or Assistant Principal
313 Certification Administrative – Principal of a School 

for Children with Disabilities
1530 Certification Administrative - School Principal
1531 Certification Administrative – School Leader I
1532 Certification Administrative – School Leader II

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend these
regulations.  It is necessary to amend these regulations in
order to comply with changes in statute regarding the
licensure and certification of educators.  The regulations
have been renumbered to denote their inclusion in the
Professional Standards Board section of the regulations.
Further, but amending these regulations, the number of
regulations will be reduced from eight to three, thereby
furthering the goal of reducing the number and complexity
of regulations.  These regulations were previously published
in the October, 2002, Register of Regulations and in the
March, 2003, Register of Regulations.  Comments received
during the public comment period of the previous
publication of these regulations have been considered.
Principal of an adult education program has been removed.
These regulations address only pK-12 schools and do not
address adult education programs.  Concerns about special
qualifications for principals of schools for exceptional
children have also been addressed.  Comments were
received from the Department of Education, the Governor’s
Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens, the State
Council for Persons with Disabilities, and others.  Comments
were considered, and additional changes which are not
substantive in nature have been incorporated into the
proposed amendments as a result of the comments received.
Comments received from the State Board of Education have
been addressed.

Notice of the proposed adoption of these regulations
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State
News on May 21, 2003, in the form hereto attached as
Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.  No
written comments were received.  Comments received from
the State Board of Education resulted in a clarification,
which is not considered a substantive change.

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board
of Education find that it is appropriate to amend these
regulations to comply with changes in statute regarding the
licensure and certification of educators.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is
appropriate to amend the regulations.  Therefore, pursuant to
14 Del. C. § 1205(b), the regulations attached hereto as
Exhibit “B” are hereby amended.  Pursuant to the provision
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of 14 Del. C. § 122(e), the regulations hereby amended shall
be in effect for a period of five years from the effective date
of this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulations adopted shall be in the form
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulations shall be
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code §1530, §1531, and §1532 in the
Regulations of the Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

Approved By The Professional Standards Board The
10th Day Of July, 2003.

Harold Roberts, Chair Sharon Brittingham
Heath Chasanov Patricia Clements
Edward Czerwinski Karen Gordon
Barbara Grogg Bruce Harter
Leslie Holden Carla Lawson
Mary Mirabeau John Pallace
Karen Schilling Ross Carol Vukelich
Geraldine A. Williams

For Implementation By The Department Of
Education:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED This 17th Day Of July, 2003

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

311  Certification Administrative - Elementary School 
Principal Or Assistant Principal

Effective July 1, 1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for the principal of a building containing any combination of
grades K-8 designated as an elementary school, and is valid
for a principal of a middle level school.

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally

accredited college and,
1.2 Experience

1.2.1 A minimum of three years of successful,
full-time classroom teaching experience at the elementary
level or two years of elementary classroom teaching
experience, as specified, and a one-year internship in
Administration at the elementary level and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 Master's degree from a regionally

accredited college with an approved program in Elementary
School Administration and,

1.3.2 A minimum of three semester hours in
each of the following areas:

1.3.2.1 Child Development
1.3.2.2 Methods of Teaching Reading at the

elementary level
1.3.2.3 Methods of Teaching Mathematics at

the elementary level or,
1.3.3 Completion of any graduate program in

Elementary School Administration and,
1.3.4 A minimum of three semester hours in

each of the following areas:
1.3.4.1 Child Development
1.3.4.2 Methods of Teaching Reading at the

elementary level
1.3.4.3 Methods of Teaching Mathematics at

the elementary level or,
1.3.5 A Master's degree in any field and,
1.3.6 A  three-semester hour graduate level

course in each of the following areas:
1.3.6.1 Elementary School Administration
1.3.6.2 Supervision/Evaluation of Staff
1.3.6.3 Curriculum Development
1.3.6.4 School Business Management
1.3.6.5 School Law/Legal Issues in Education
1.3.6.6  Human Relations and

1.3.7 A minimum of three semester hours in
each of the following areas:

1.3.7.1 Child Development
1.3.7.2 Methods of Teaching Reading at

elementary level
1.3.7.3 Methods of Teaching Mathematics at

elementary level 

(The requirements specified in 1.3.1 and 1.3.2 and 1.3.3.
may be met by previously taken undergraduate coursework
or through undergraduate or graduate level coursework taken
specifically to meet these requirements.)
2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License:

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years, at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
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Standard License in 1.0.
2.2 Master's degree from a regionally accredited

college and,
2.3 Meets requirements listed in 1.2 and,
2.4 Within six semester hours of the coursework

specified in 1.3.2 or 1.3.4 or 1.3.6 and 1.3.7.

3.0 Licenses that may be issues for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

312 Certification Administrative   Secondary School 
Principal Or Assistant Principal

Effective July 1, 1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for the principal of a building containing grades 7-12
designated as a junior high school, high school, vocational
high school or a senior high school.  Valid for a principal of
a middle level school.

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally

accredited college and,
1.2 Experience

1.2.1 Minimum of three years successful, full-
time classroom teaching experience at the secondary level or
two years of successful, full-time secondary classroom
teaching experience and a one year internship in School
Administration at the secondary level and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 Master's degree from an accredited college

in an approved program for Secondary School
Administration; and

1.3.2 A minimum of three semester hours of
Adolescent Development, if not taken at the undergraduate
level or,

1.3.3 Completion of a graduate program in
Secondary School Administration and,

1.3.4 A minimum of three semester hours of
Adolescent Development, if not taken at the undergraduate
level or,

1.3.5 A Master's degree in any field and,
1.3.6 A three semester hour graduate level

course in each of the following areas
1.3.6.1 Secondary School Administration
1.3.6.2 Supervision/Evaluation of Staff
1.3.6.3 Curriculum Development
1.3.6.4 School Business Management
1.3.6.5 School Law/Legal Issues in Education
1.3.6.6 Human Relations
1.3.6.7 Three semester hours Adolescent

Development, taken at the graduate or undergraduate level.

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited

Standard License:
2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a

period of three years at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License as in 1.0.

2.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally
accredited college and,

2.1.2 Meets the requirements in 1.2 and,
2.1.3 Within six semester hours of the

completion of the coursework in 1.3.6.

3.0 Licenses that may be issues for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

313  Certification Administrative   Principal Of A School 
For Children With Disabilities

Effective July 1, 1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for a principal of a school for children with disabilities.

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally

accredited college and,
1.2 Experience

1.2.1 Three years of full-time, successful
classroom experience as a teacher of children with
disabilities, while holding a Standard License to teach
children with disabilities. Standard certification is limited to
these areas of special education:  LD, SED, MD, VI, HI, PI,
Autistic/Severely Disabled and combinations thereof and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 A Master's degree in any field from a

regionally accredited college; and
1.3.2 The individual shall meet the State of

Delaware's requirement for Standard certification as an
Elementary or Secondary School Principal; and

1.3.3 The individual shall hold, or be eligible to
hold a Standard License as a teacher of exceptional children
LD, SED, MD, VI, HI, PI, Autistic or Severely Disabled and
combinations thereof.

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years, at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License in 1.0.

2.1.1 Meets all requirements in 1.1, 1.2, 1.3.1
and,

2.1.2 Within six semester hours of meeting the
requirement in 1.3.2.
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3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

1530 Certification Administrative B School Principal/
Assistant Principal

1.0 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a standard
certificate for school principal and assistant principal,
pursuant to 14 Del. C. ' 1220.

2.0 Definitions: The following words and terms, when used
in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Standards Board@ means the Professional Standards
Board established pursuant to 14 Del. C. ' 1201.

AStandard certificate@ means a credential issued to
verify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

AState Board@ means the State Board of Education of
the State of Delaware established pursuant to 14 Del. C. '
104.

“Teaching experience” means meeting students on a
regularly scheduled basis, planning and delivering
instruction, developing or preparing instructional materials,
and evaluating student performance in any pK-12 setting.

3.0 The following shall be required for the Standard
Certificate for the principal or assistant principal of an
elementary or intermediate school, a middle school, a high
school, or a school for exceptional students.

3.1 Educational requirements
3.1.1 A masters degree in educational leadership

from a regionally accredited college, or
3.1.2 A masters degree in education from a

regionally accredited college and a current and valid
principal or assistant principal certificate from another state,
or

3.1.3 A masters degree in any field from a
regionally accredited college and successful completion of a
Delaware approved alternative routes to certification
program for school leaders.  Until approval and
implementation of an alternative routes to certification
program occurs, candidates completing the standard
certificate in accordance with 3.1.3.1 of this regulation shall
fulfill the following requirements.

3.1.3.1 A three semester hour graduate level
course in each of the following areas:  School
Administration (at the level to be initially assigned),
Supervision/ Evaluation of Staff, Curriculum Development,
School Business Management, School Law/Legal Issues in
Education, Human Relations, and, if not taken at the
undergraduate level, Child/Adolescent/Human

Development.
3.2 Experience requirements

3.2.1 A minimum of three (3) years of teaching
experience at the level to be initially assigned as a school
principal or assistant principal, except at the middle level,
where the teaching experience may be at any pK-12 level, or
as a principal or assistant principal of a school for
exceptional students, where the teaching experience must
have been with one or more of the categories of exceptional
children served by the school.

1535 Certification Administrative - Administrative 
Assistant

Effective October 11, 2001

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
1.1 Degree required

1.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally
accredited college and,

1.2 Experience
1.2.1 A minimum of three years of successful,

full-time classroom teaching experience, or three years of
administrative experience, and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 Specific training or satisfactory experience

including an internship and/or fieldwork in the area in which
employed. 

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years, at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License in 1.0.

2.1.1 Master's degree from an accredited college
and,

2.1.1.1 Meets the requirements of 1.2 and,
2.1.1.2 Within six semester hours of meeting

the requirements as specified in 1.3.

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

See 5 DE Reg. 856 (10/1/01)

1536  Certification Administrative - Director 

Effective October 11, 2001

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for persons employed to be responsible for the
administration of specialized instructional areas.

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree plus thirty semester hours
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of graduate level coursework from a regionally accredited
college(s) and,

1.2 Experience
1.2.1 A minimum of three years of successful,

full-time classroom teaching experience or,
1.2.2 A minimum of three years of successful,

full-time administrative experience in the specific area to be
directed, within a school system or,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 Master's degree plus thirty semester hours

of graduate level coursework from a regionally accredited
college(s) with a major in Educational Supervision and
Curriculum or Educational Administration or Educational
Leadership, or Human Resource Management; and Twenty-
one semester hours of graduate level coursework specific to
the area to be directed or,

1.3.2 Master's degree in any field plus thirty
semester hours of graduate level coursework from a
regionally accredited college(s) to include the following
graduate level coursework:

1.3.2.1 A minimum of twenty-one semester
hours of graduate level coursework specific to the area to be
directed and,

1.3.2.2 A minimum of twenty-one semester
hours of graduate level coursework in the area of
administration, to include at least one course in each of the
following areas:

1.3.2.2.1Curriculum Development and
Instruction

1.3.2.2.2Supervision/Evaluation of Staff
1.3.2.2.3School Business Management
1.3.2.2.4School Law/Legal Issues in

Education
1.3.2.2.5Human Resource Management
1.3.2.2.6Human Development (to include

child/adolescent development)
1.3.2.2.7Organizational Management

(NOTE: Any of the requirements listed in 1.3.1. or 1.3.2 may
be met by coursework taken either within or in addition to
the Master's degree plus thirty semester hours.)

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years, at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License in 1.0.

2.1.1 Master's degree plus thirty semester hours
of graduate level coursework from a regionally accredited
college; and

2.1.2 Meets all experience requirements in 1.2
and

2.1.3 Meets the Specialized Professional

Preparation requirement in the specialized area 1.3.2.1 and is
within six semester hours of meeting the administrative
coursework in 1.3.2.1.

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

See 5 DE Reg. 856 (10/1/01)

1538  Certification Administrative - Supervisor 

Effective October 11, 2001

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for persons employed to be responsible for the
administration of specialized areas.

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally

accredited college and,
1.2 Experience

1.2.1 A minimum of three years of successful,
full-time classroom teaching experience in the instructional
area to be supervised and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 Master's degree from a regionally

accredited college with a major in Educational Supervision
and Curriculum and,

1.3.2 Fifteen semester hours of graduate level
coursework, specific to the area to be supervised or,

1.3.3 A Master's degree in any field from a
regionally accredited college with the following graduate
level coursework included within, or in addition to, the
degree:

1.3.3.1 A minimum of fifteen semester hours
of graduate level coursework in the area to be supervised
and,

1.3.3.2 A minimum of fifteen semester hours
of graduate level coursework in administration to include
one course in each of the following areas:

1.3.3.2.1Human Relations
1.3.3.2.2School Law/Legal Issues

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License in 1.1.

2.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally
accredited college; and

2.1.2 Meets all requirements in 1.2.
2.1.3 Within six semester hours of meeting the

specific coursework requirements in 1.3.1 and 1.3.2, or
within six semester hours of meeting the specific coursework
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requirements in 1.3.3.1 and 1.3.3.2.

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

See 5 DE Reg. 856 (10/1/01)

1531 Certification Administrative B School Leader I

1.0 The following shall apply to the issuance of a standard
certificate for directors, supervisors, administrative
assistants, coordinators, and managers in instructional areas,
pursuant to 14 Del. C. ' 1220.

2.0 Definitions: The following words and terms, when used
in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“Standards Board@ means the Professional Standards
Board established pursuant to 14 Del. C. ' 1201.

AStandard certificate@ means a credential issued to
verify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

AState Board@ means the State Board of Education of
the State of Delaware established pursuant to 14 Del. C '
104.

“Teaching experience” means meeting students on a
regularly scheduled basis, planning and delivering
instruction, developing or preparing instructional materials,
and evaluating student performance in any pK-12 setting.

3.0 The following shall be required for the standard
certificate for directors, supervisor, administrative assistants,
coordinators, and managers in instructional areas.

3.1 Educational requirements
3.1.1 A masters degree in educational leadership

from a regionally accredited college, or
3.1.2 A masters degree in education from a

regionally accredited college and a current and valid
equivalent central office administrative certificate from
another state, or

3.1.3 A masters degree in any field from a
regionally accredited college and successful completion of a
Delaware approved alternative routes to certification
program for school leaders.  Until approval and
implementation of an alternatives routes to certification
program occurs, candidates completing the standard
certificate in accordance with 3.1.3.1 of this regulation shall
fulfill the following requirements;

3.1.3.1 A minimum of twenty-four semester
hours of graduate level course work, completed either as
part of the masters degree or in addition to it, in
administration, to include at least one course in each of the
following areas: Curriculum Development, Supervision/
Evaluation of Staff, Human Relations, and School Law/

Legal Issues and in the area(s) to be supervised (may include
courses in curriculum, instruction, and/or methods), and

3.3 Experience requirements
3.3.1 A minimum of three (3) years of teaching

experience at the pK-12 level. Teaching experience for
directors, supervisors, administrative assistants,
coordinators, and managers of programs for exceptional
children must have been with exceptional children.

302  Certification Administrative - Superintendent

Effective July 1, 1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for the Superintendent and the general Assistant
Superintendent in all school districts.

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree plus thirty graduate

semester hours or a Doctor's degree from a regionally
accredited college or university and,

1.2 Experience
1.2.1 A minimum of three years of successful,

full-time elementary or secondary experience, at the
building-level, as a teacher or administrator and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 Graduate level coursework must include

the following areas:
1.3.1.1 Personnel Administration
1.3.1.2 Supervision/Evaluation of Staff
1.3.1.3 Curriculum Development and

Instruction
1.3.1.4 School Business Management
1.3.1.5 School Law/Legal Issues in Education
1.3.1.6 Human Resource Management
1.3.1.7 Organizational Management
1.3.1.8 Child or Adolescent Development, if

not taken at the undergraduate level.

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years, at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License as listed in 1.0.

2.1.1 Requirements listed in 1.1. and 1.2.
2.1.2 Within six semester hours as required in

1.3

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

304  Certification Administrative - Assistant 
Superintendent For Curriculum
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Effective July 1, 1993

1.0 The following shall be required for the Standard License
for an individual who is employed to be in charge of the
specialized areas of curriculum/program development within
a public school district.

1.1 Degree required
1.1.1 Master's degree from a regionally

accredited college plus 30 graduate semester hours and,
1.2 Experience

1.2.1 A minimum of three years of successful,
full-time elementary or secondary experience, at the
building-level, as a teacher or administrator and,

1.3 Specialized Professional Preparation
1.3.1 A minimum of 18 semester hours of

graduate level coursework in Curriculum to include:
curriculum development, design, implementation and
evaluation and,

1.3.2 A minimum of 18 semester hours of
graduate level coursework in the area of administration, to
include one course in each of the following areas:

1.3.2.1 Supervision/Evaluation of Staff
1.3.2.3 School Business Management
1.3.2.3 School Law/Legal Issues in Education
1.3.2.4 Human Resource Management
1.3.2.5 Organizational Management
1.3.2.6 Personnel Administration
1.3.2.7 Child Development if not taken at

undergraduate level 1.2.1.8 Adolescent Development if not
taken at undergraduate level.

2.0 The following shall be required for the Limited
Standard License

2.1 The Limited Standard License may be issued for a
period of three years at the request of a Delaware public
school district, to a person employed in the above position to
allow for the completion of the requirements for the
Standard License in 1.0.

2.1.1 Meets requirements specified in 1.1 and
1.2 and,

2.1.2 Within nine semester hours of meeting the
requirements in 1.3.1 and 1.3.2.

3.0 Licenses that may be issued for this position include
Standard and Limited Standard.

1532 Certification Administrative B School Leader II

1.0 This regulation shall apply to the issuance of a standard
certificate for school district superintendents and assistant
superintendents, pursuant to 14 Del. C. ' 1220.

2.0 Definitions: The following words and terms, when used
in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless

the context clearly indicates otherwise:
“Full-time school leadership@ means full-time

experience as a principal or assistant principal or as a district
level administrator.

AStandards Board@ means the Professional Standards
Board established pursuant to 14 Del. C. ' 1201.

AStandard certificate@ means a credential issued to
verify that an educator has the prescribed knowledge, skill
and/or education to practice in a particular area, teach a
particular subject, or teach a category of students.

AState Board@ means the State Board of Education of
the State of Delaware established pursuant to 14 Del. C. '
104.

“Teaching experience” means meeting students on a
regularly scheduled basis, planning and delivering
instruction, developing or preparing instructional materials,
and evaluating student performance in any pK-12 setting.

3.0 The following shall be required for the Standard
Certificate for school district superintendents and assistant
superintendents.

3.1 Educational requirements.
3.1.1 A doctoral degree in educational

leadership from a regionally accredited college, or
3.1.2 A masters or doctoral degree in education

from a regionally accredited college and a current
superintendent or assistant superintendent certificate from
another state, or

3.1.3 A masters or doctoral degree in any field
from a regionally accredited college and successful
completion of a Delaware approved alternative routes to
certification program for school leaders/superintendents.
Until approval and implementation of an alternative routes to
certification program occurs, candidates completing the
standard certificate in accordance with 3.1.3 of this
regulation shall provide evidence of graduate course work in
the following areas, either as part of the masters or doctoral
degree program or in addition to it.

3.1.2.1 Personnel Administration
3.1.2.2 Supervision/Evaluation of Staff
3.1.2.3 Curriculum Development and

Instruction
3.1.2.4 School Business Management
3.1.2.5 School Law/Legal Issues in Education
3.1.2.6 Human Resource Management
3.1.2.7 Organizational Management
3.1.2.8 Child or Adolescent Development, if

not taken at the undergraduate level.
3.2 Experience requirements

3.2.1 A minimum of five (5) years of
[teaching] experience [as a teacher or specialist or full-
time school leadership] at the pK-12 level[, or any
combination of the three types of experiences, at the
building or district level.][; or
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3.2.2 A minimum of five (5) years of full-
time pK-12 leadership experience;
 or

3.2.3 Any combination of these types of
experience which totals a minimum of five (5) years.

3.2.4 The required experience may be
acquired at either the building or district level.]

Regulatory Implementing Order

1511 Issuance And Renewal Of Continuing License

I.  Summary Of The Evidence And Information 
Submitted

The Professional Standards Board, acting in cooperation
and consultation with the Department of Education, seeks
the consent of the State Board of Education to amend this
regulation. This regulation concerns requirements for the
issuance and renewal of a continuing license.  This
regulation shall apply to the issuance and renewal of a
continuing license as established by 14 Del. C. § 1211 and §
1213.  It is necessary to amend this regulation in order to
comply with changes in statute which were recently enacted.
Included in the changes are the inclusion of expiration of a
license during the school year as an exigent circumstance,
including the Department’s authority to issue a continuing
license to an applicant licenses as an educator in another
jurisdiction who provides evidence of having completed
three or more years of successful teaching, and the
Department’s authority to issue a continuing license to an
applicant who does not otherwise meet the requirements for
a continuing license after individual review of the
applicant’s credentials.  Clarifying language has been added
to address questions about professional conferences and
workshops. 

Notice of the proposed amendment of the regulation
was published in the News Journal and the Delaware State
News on May 21, 2003, in the form hereto attached as
Exhibit “A”.  The notice invited written comments.  No
comments were received. 

II.  Findings Of Facts

The Professional Standards Board and the State Board
of Education find that it is appropriate to amend this
regulation to comply with changes in statute regarding the
licensure and certification of educators.

III.  Decision To Adopt The Regulation

For the foregoing reasons, the Professional Standards
Board and the State Board of Education conclude that it is
appropriate to amend the regulation.  Therefore, pursuant to
14 Del. C. § 1205(b), the regulation attached hereto as
Exhibit “B” is hereby adopted.  Pursuant to the provision of
14 Del. C. § 122(e), the regulation hereby amended shall be
in effect for a period of five years from the effective date of
this order as set forth in Section V. below.

IV. Text And Citation

The text of the regulation amended shall be in the form
attached hereto as Exhibit “B”, and said regulation shall be
cited as 14 DE Admin. Code § 1511 in the Regulations of the
Department of Education.

V.  Effective Date Of Order

The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10) days
from the date this Order is published in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

Approved By The Professional Standards Board The
10th Day Of July, 2003

Harold Roberts, Chair Sharon Brittingham
Heath Chasanov Patricia Clements
Edward Czerwinski Karen Gordon
Barbara Grogg Bruce Harter
Leslie Holden Carla Lawson
Mary Mirabeau John Pallace
Karen Schilling Ross Carol Vukelich
Geraldine A. Williams

For Implementation By The Department Of
Education:

Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education

IT IS SO ORDERED This 19th Day Of July, 2003

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Dr. Joseph A. Pika, President
Jean W. Allen, Vice President
Richard M. Farmer, Jr.
Mary B. Graham, Esquire
Valarie Pepper
Dennis J. Savage
Dr. Claibourne D. Smith

1511 Issuance And Renewal Of Continuing License 

1.0 Content: This regulation shall apply to the issuance and
renewal of a continuing license for educators, pursuant to 14
Del.C. § 1211 and § 1213 2.
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2.0 Definitions:  The following words and terms, when used
in this regulation, shall have the following meaning unless
the context clearly indicates otherwise:

“College credit” means graduate or undergraduate level
coursework and continuing education units (CEUs)
completed at, or through, a regionally accredited college or
university.

“Clock-hour” means actual time spent in professional
development, not credit hours.

“Cooperating teacher or intern supervisor” means an
individual working with student teachers or graduate or
undergraduate interns as part of a state-approved educator
preparation program.

“Clusters” means focused groups of approved
professional development activities that lead to measurable
and observable knowledge and skills.  Clusters must be
approved by the Standards Board and the State Board.

“Curriculum or assessment development” means
work with a local, state, national, or international education
agency or organization designing curriculum or assessments
for improved educational practice in an area related to an
individual’s professional responsibilities.

“Delaware Administrator Standards” means
standards for education administrators approved by the
Secretary of Education and the State Board of Education, as
per 14 Del. Admin Code 394 1594, Delaware Administrator
Standards.

“Delaware Professional Teaching Standards” means
standards of teaching approved by the Secretary of
Education and the State Board of Education, as per 14 Del.
Admin Code 393 1593, Delaware Professional Teaching
Standards.

“Department” means the Delaware Department of
Education.

“Educational project” means an individual
professional growth project of 15 or more clock hours,
including a research project not related to a course for which
credit is claimed, completed to enhance the individual’s
professional practice, with the development of a final
product or report.

“Educational travel” means a travel experience
including 15 or more clock hours of work time directly
related to the individual’s professional responsibilities,
including a final project to be used to enhance the
individual’s work.

“Educator” means an employee paid under 14 Del.C.
§1305. means a public school employee who holds a license
issued under the provisions of 14 Del. C., Chapter 12, and
includes teachers and administrators, and as otherwise
defined by the Standards Board and the State Board,
pursuant to 14 Del. C. § 1203, but does not include substitute
teachers.

“Exigent circumstances” means unanticipated
circumstances or circumstances beyond the educator’s

control, including, but not limited to, expiration of a license
during the school year, serious illness of the educator or a
member of his/her immediate family, activation to active
military duty, and other serious emergencies which
necessitate the educator’s temporarily leaving active service.

“Formal study group” means documented
participation in a study group, related to an individual’s
professional responsibilities, such as reviewing, discussing,
and implementing strategies from a book or creating a group
product as part of an action research project, as a form of
professional development.

“Initial License” means a license issued as part of the
three-tiered licensure system set forth in 14 Del. C. § 1210.

“Knowledge and skills” means understandings and
abilities that, when acquired by educators, lead to more
effective instruction.

“Mentoring” means training and service in providing
mentoring support or assistance through a formally
organized and approved state or district mentoring program
to educators during the initial licensure period.

“NBPTS or similar national certification” means a
certificate from the National Board for Professional
Teaching Standards, or similar body as approved by the
Standards Board, verifying completion of all requirements in
an individual’s job-related area of the profession or, in the
case of an individual seeking, but not earning, the national
certificate, verification of the clock hours devoted to
completing the requirements for the national certificate.

“Peer coaching” means training and service as a peer
coach or peer assistant in a formally organized and approved
state or school district peer-coaching or peer assistance
program.

“Presentation” means preparation and presentation as a
workshop or conference presenter or course instructor on a
topic related to the individual’s professional responsibilities.
“Professional conference, workshop, institute, or academy”
means a program offered either within, or outside, the state
that contributes to the participant’s professional knowledge
or skills in effectively conducting his/her work in education.

“Professional development” means classes, seminars,
workshops, collaborative work groups, learning
communities, cohort school or district teams which result in
the acquisition of knowledge and skills which lead to more
effective instruction.

“Professional development activities” means activities
designed to enhance knowledge and skill to promote
continuous professional growth and to improve educator
performance.

“Professional development cluster” or “cluster”
means a focused group of professional development
activities that leads to measurable and observable knowledge
and skills.

“Professional portfolio” means a formal collection of
artifacts and exhibits that include required examples of an
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individual’s professional work based upon specific
performance tasks or standards.

“Professional programs or committees” means job
related service, designed to enhance the profession.

“Publication” means the preparation of a formally
published book, article, report, study, or grant that
contributes to the education profession or adds to the body of
knowledge in an individual’s specific field, but does not
include such items prepared as part of a course for which an
individual is also claiming credit.

“Standards Board” means the Professional Standards
Board established pursuant to 14 Del.C., § 104.

“State” means State of Delaware.
“State Board” means the State Board of Education of

the State of Delaware established in response to 14 Del.C. §
104.

3.0 Issuance of Initial Continuing License:  In accordance
with 14 Del.C. § 1211, the Department shall issue, upon
application, a continuing license to an educator who has
successfully completed the requirements under the initial
licensure as set forth in 14 Del.C. § 1210 and § 1211.  The
Department shall issue a continuing license to an applicant
licensed as an educator in another jurisdiction who provides
evidence of having completed three (3) or more years of
successful teaching experience. A continuing license is valid
for 5 years unless extended pursuant to 14 Del.C. §1216 or
revoked for cause, as defined in 14 Del.C. §1218. 

3.1 An applicant for a continuing license shall submit
the approved application form to the Department.  Copies of
DPAS II annual summative evaluations for the period of
initial licensure shall be submitted with an initial application
for a Continuing License.  An applicant with more than one
(1) unsatisfactory DPAS II annual summative evaluation
during the period of initial licensure is ineligible to be issued
a continuing license.  Incomplete applications will not be
processed. 

4.0 The Department may issue a continuing license to an
educator who previously held a valid Delaware certificate
that has expired.

4.1 An educator returning to employment and holding a
current standard or professional status certificate will be
issued a continuing license upon employment.

4.2 An educator who previously held a valid Delaware
standard or professional status certificate which has expired
and who has been out of the profession for less than three (3)
years may be issued a continuing license, valid for 5 years,
upon employment and application on the approved form and
evidence of previous Delaware certification.

4.3 An educator who has completed three (3) or more
years of successful teaching and who holds a continuing
license which has expired who has been out of the profession
for more than three (3) years may be issued a continuing

license, but must, within the first year of employment,
successfully complete a district-sponsored mentoring
program which focuses on current best practices in
curriculum, instruction and assessment aligned to state
standards.

4.4 An educator holding a limited standard or
temporary certificate and currently employed as an educator
in a Delaware public school will be issued a continuing
license upon completing all requirements for the current
standard certificate.  Requirements must be completed by the
expiration date of the limited standard or temporary
certificate.

4.5 An educator holding a current or expired
professional status or standard certificate assigned to work
outside the area covered by the professional status or
standard certificate will be issued a continuing license, with
an emergency certificate for the new area issued one year at
a time for a maximum for a period of three years to enable
the educator to fulfill the requirements for the standard
certificate in the area of the new assignment.  Professional
status or standard certificates held by an educator at the time
of reassignment will be added to the continuing license as
standard certificates.

5.0 Renewal of a Continuing License:  In accordance with
14 Del.C. §1212, the Department shall renew a continuing
license, valid for an additional 5 years, to an educator who
has fulfilled the 90-clock hour requirement for professional
development. At least one-half of the required hours (45
hours every five years) for educators must be in activities to
relate to the educator’s work with students or staff.
Satisfactory evidence of such completion, as set forth in
Section 3.1, shall be submitted to the Department with the
application for renewal.  The 90-clock hours of professional
development must have taken place during the term of the
continuing license.

5.1 Options for Relicensure 
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Re-licensure Options – Specifications – Teachers/
specialists/administrators

OPTION MAX. HOURS HOUR VALUE VERIFICATION CRITERIA

College Credit No limit 1 semester hour =
15 clock hours.
1 quarter hr./CEU =
10 clock hours.

Official Transcripts.
Original Grade Slips.
Original Certificate of
Completion for
CEUs.

Must be completed at a regionally
accredited college.
Must be taken for credit with grade
of "C" or better or a "P" in pass/fail
course.

“Clusters” of skills &
knowledge.
Planned school Prof. Dev.
Day if activities Part of
Approved Cluster

No limit Verified clock hours in
completion of cluster
activities.

Approval Slip or Form
Verifying Completion.

Cluster must be prior-approved
by Professional Development &
Associated Compensation
Committee, the Professional
Standards Board and the State
Board of Education.

Professional Conference/
Workshop/ Institute or
Academy

30 clock hours per year
45 clock hours per cycle

Verified clock hours actively
involved in workshop or
conference sessions

Original Certificate of
Attendance or
Completion OR Letter from
Supervisor/Conference
Staff.  Copies/ Exhibits of
products developed by
Applicant.
Course Attendance Slip 

Must include only time spent in
those portions of the workshop
or conference program that
contribute to the participant's
knowledge, competence,
performance, or effectiveness in
education. [Includes
workshops offered by districts
or other employing authorities
either as part of professional
development day or after
school hours.]

Mentoring 30 per year
45 per cycle

Verified clock hours
involved in mentoring
activities      

Activity Documentation
Form.
(No prior approval required)

Must be mentoring of teacher,
administrator, or specialist.
Must be part of a formal state/
local program.

 Cooperating
 Teacher/Intern
 Supervisor

30 per year
45 per cycle

Verified clock hours
involved in support of
student teacher or intern

Activity Documentation
Form completed by higher
education director of field-
based clinical studies.
(No prior approval required)

Must be supervision of graduate
or undergraduate intern or
student teacher in a state-
approved educator preparation
program.

Presentation 10 per 3 clock hour
course;  30 per longer
course;  45 per cycle

Verified clock hours
preparing and presenting   

Activity Documentation
Form*
(Prior approval required)

Must include only actual time
preparing and presenting a
course, workshop, or
presentation. (Clock hours
limited to first preparation and
presentation of individual
course, workshop, or
presentation.)

Educational Project 30 per year
45 per cycle

Verified clock hours
completing project.
Minimum of 15
clock hours

Activity Documentation
Form*
(Prior approval required)

Project must have been prior
approved by the Professional
Development & Associated
Compensation Committee.
Must have obtained final
approval after completion and
verification by P[C]DAC

Curriculum/
Assessment Development

30 per year
45 per cycle

Verified clock hours of
service; Minimum of 3 clock
hours

Original documentation
from committee chair
verifying actual clock hours
of participation

Must be service on formal
committee organized by local,
state, national, or international
education agency or
organization.
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5.2 Documentation of Clock Hours for Relicensure
5.2.1 For renewal of the continuing license,

educators may complete and document clock hours for the
variety of activities described under relicensure options.
When college or university courses are used to fulfill the
requirements, the following equivalencies will be used:
1 semester hour = 15 clock hours, 1 quarter hour = 10 clock
hours, 1 CEU = 10 clock hours. To be documented for clock
hours, activities must meet the criteria set forth in the
regulations and must be appropriately verified and applied
for.  Activities requiring prior approval must be approved by

the educator’s immediate supervisor.  Professional
development activities that are part of a DPAS II assistance
plan may be used to satisfy this requirement.

5.2.2 Criteria for determining if activities are
acceptable for clock hour credit include the following:

5.2.2.1 The activity enhances the knowledge
and skills in the educator’s job or contributes to his/her
school or profession.

5.2.2.2  The activity meets one of the
relicensure options.

5.2.2.3 The activity addresses one of the
standards for the educator’s area of the profession.

Educational Travel 3 per day
30 per cycle

Verified clock hours of
experience. Minimum of 15
clock hours per travel
activity.  Final Project.

Activity Documentation
Form*
(Prior approval required)

Must be prior approved by
Professional Development &
Associated Compensation
Committee.
Must have obtained final
approval after completion and
verification by PCAC.

Professional Programs/
Committees

30 per year
45 per cycle

Verified clock hours of
service or experience.

Original documentation
from committee chair or
activity leader verifying
actual clock hours of
participation.

Must be a formal activity
provided through a recognized
local, state, national, or
international education agency
or organization

Peer Coaching 30 per year
45 per cycle

Verified clock hours of
service or experience.

Activity Documentation
Form.
(No prior approval required)

Must be part of a formal
program.

Publication 30 per year
45 per cycle

30 clock hours for book.
Up to 15 clock hours per
other publication.

Copy of Publication or
Document.

Must contribute to the education
profession or add to the body of
knowledge in the individual's
specific field.
Must be commercially
published or a formally
approved document or formally
published in a medium
sanctioned by a recognized state
or national agency or
organization. If a grant, must be
approved for funding.

Professional Portfolio (to be
developed by Standards
Board).

30 per year
45 per cycle

45 clock hours for 
completed and
approved portfolio.

The Completed/Approved
Portfolio.

Must satisfy the standards
established for teaching
portfolios.
Must be submitted to DOE by
December 31 of the final year of
the certificate for assessment
and approval.

NBPTS Certification or
similar National
Certification    
                             

30 per year
45 per cycle

45 clock hours for attaining
national certification

Not complete –verified clock
hours completing portfolio
activities.

A Valid Copy of the
National Certificate.
For candidate not
completing certificate -
   Activity Documentation
Form.
(No prior approval required)

Holds a certificate indicated by
NBPTS as related to an
individual’s work or
assignment.
Certificate or participation as a
candidate must be completed
and verified by the expiration
date of the Delaware certificate.

Formal Study Groups 30 per year
45 per cycle

Verified clock hours
working as a member of a
study group.

Activity Documentation
Form and The Product of the
Study.*
(Prior approval required)

Must relate to the individual’s
work or assignment.
Must include a product.
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5.2.2.4 The activity is completed during the
term of the educator’s current continuing license.

5.2.2.5 The activity addresses specific
Professional Teaching or Administrator Standards.

5.2.2.6  Participation in, or completion of, the
activity can be documented.

5.3 The Re-Licensure Application, Activity
Documentation Form, and, where required, original or
official documents will be used to verify activities for
renewal of a continuing license. Official transcripts or
original grade slips are required documentation for
successful completion of college courses.

5.4 For applicants who change positions (grade levels,
content areas, areas of supervisory responsibility, etc.)
during the five-year term of a continuing license, clock hours
documented must have been appropriate to the educator’s
position at the time the clock hours were completed.

6.0 To obtain renewal of a continuing license, educators are
required to participate in professional development activities
totaling 90 clock hours every five years.  The 90 clock hours
must be completed during the five-year term of the license.
All activities must relate to the 14 Del. Admin. Code 393
1593, Delaware Professional Teaching or 14 Del. Admin
Code 394 1594, Delaware Administrator Standards.

7.0 Candidates for renewal of a continuing license may
select from a variety of professional development options, as
set forth in the relicensure options approved by the
Professional Standards Board, set forth in Section 5.1 and
contained in the Guidelines for Issuance and Renewal of a
Continuing License. The activities selected must be beyond
the normal or specified requirements of the position.
Professional development activities which fulfill the criteria
for relicensure for which educators receive compensation
may be submitted in fulfillment of the 90-clock hour
requirement for relicensure.  Graduate credits used to satisfy
the 90 clock hour requirement for license renewal may, if
part of a matriculated program, also be used for a salary
increment on the state salary schedule[., if they meet the
requirements set forth in 14 DE Admin. Code 1505.]   The
activities or options used to satisfy the 90 clock hour
requirement for license renewal may be part of an approved
professional development cluster eligible for a salary
supplement. 

8.0 The Department may extend a continuing license for a
period not to exceed one year, exigent circumstances
warranting the necessity of such extension.

9.0 An educator may take a leave of absence of up to three
years with no effect upon the validity or expiration of the
continuing license.

10.0An applicant shall disclose his or her criminal
conviction history upon application for a continuing license.
Failure to disclose a criminal conviction history is grounds
for denial or revocation of a continuing license as specified
in 14 Del.C., § 1219.

11.0This regulation shall apply to all requests for continuing
license, issuance and renewal, except as specifically
addressed herein. Educators holding a Professional Status
Certificate or a Standard Certificate expiring on June 30,
2001 shall have until June 30, 2007 to meet the new
continuing license renewal standards.  All administrators in
instructional areas issued a continuing license as of July 1,
2001, shall have until June 30, 2007 to meet the new
continuing license renewal standards.  Educators holding a
Professional Status Certificate or a Standard Certificate
expiring July 1, 2001 or thereafter shall be required to satisfy
the new continuing license renewal standards as set forth
herein.

12.0A license holder whose license expires during the
school year may have the continuing license extended until
the last day of the school year.  This extension shall be
considered an exigent circumstance and shall not exceed one
(1) year in length.

13.0The Secretary of Education may, upon the written
request of the superintendent of a local school district or
charter school administrator or other employing authority,
review credentials submitted in application for a continuing
license on an individual basis and grant a continuing license
to an applicant who otherwise does not meet the
requirements for a continuing license, but whose
effectiveness is documented by the local school district or
charter school administrator or other employing authority.

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, 
Section 4805(a) (29 Del.C. §4805(a))

ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10113(b)(5) and 29 Del. C.
§4805(a), the Delaware Lottery Office hereby issues this
Order adopting amendments to Video Lottery Regulations
5.1 and 7.15 in order to make the Video Lottery Regulations
consistent with recent statutory changes made by House Bill
No. 269 passed by the 142nd General Assembly on June 18,
2003 and signed by Governor Ruth Ann Minner on June 19,
2003.  
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The Lottery makes the following findings and
conclusions:

1. On June 18, 2003, the General Assembly
passed House Bill No. 269, 74 Del. Laws 53 (2003).  House
Bill No. 269, Section 6, amended 29 Del. C. §4820(b) that
increased the maximum number of video lottery machines
for each video lottery agent from 2,000 to 2,500.  House Bill
No. 269, Section 4, also amended 29 Del. C. §4819(c) that
extended the operating hours for video lottery agents.

2. The Lottery now issues this Order to amend
Video Lottery Regulation 5.1 to provide for the maximum of
2,500 machines per video lottery agent as now provided for
by §4820(b).  The Lottery also amends Video Lottery
Regulation 7.15 to provide for the same operating hours now
stated in §4819(c) as amended.

3. Since these Video Lottery Regulations
amendments are enacted to provide for consistency with
controlling Lottery statutes, 29 Del. C. chapter 48, the
amendment is not  subject to the standard notice
requirements under the Administrative Procedure Act, 29
Del. C. §10113(a).

4. The Video Lottery Regulations are amended as
follows:. 

5. This Order will be published in the August 1,
2003 issue of the Register of Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 9th day of July, 2003

Wayne Lemons, Lottery Director

5.0  Technology Providers:  Contracts; Requirements;
Duties

5.1 The Director shall, pursuant to the procedures set
forth in chapter 69 of the Delaware Code, enter into
contracts with licensed technology providers as he or she
shall determine to be appropriate, pursuant to which the
technology providers shall furnish by sale or lease to the
State video lottery machines in such numbers and for such
video games as the Director shall approve from time to time
as necessary for the efficient and economical operation of
the Lottery, or convenience of the players, and in accordance
with the agents' business plans as approved and amended by
the Director.  No more than 1,000 video lottery machines
shall be located within the confines of an agent's premises
unless the Director approves up to an additional 1,000 1,500
machines or other number approved by the Director as
permitted by law.

5.2 All contracts with technology providers who are
video lottery machine manufacturers  shall include without
limitation, provisions to the following effect:

5.2.1 The technology provider shall furnish a
person to work with the agency and its consultants to provide
assistance as needed in establishing, planning and executing
acceptance tests on the video lottery machines provided by

such technology provider. Technology provider assistance
shall be provided as requested by the agency in
troubleshooting communication and technical problems that
are discovered when video lottery machines are initially
placed at the agent's site;

5.2.2 The technology provider shall submit
video lottery machine illustrations, schematics, block
diagrams, circuit analysis, technical and operation manuals,
program source code and object code and any other
information requested by the Director for purposes of
analyzing and testing the video lottery machines. A
maximum of one-hundred ($100) shall be permitted for
wagering on a single play of any video game;

5.2.3 For testing, examination and analysis
purposes, the technology provider shall furnish working
models of video lottery machines, associated equipment, and
documentation at locations designated by the Director.   The
technology provider shall pay all costs of any testing,
examination, analysis and transportation of the video lottery
machines, which may include the entire dismantling of the
machines and some tests that may result in damage or
destruction to one or more electronic components of the
machines.   The agency and its agents shall have no liability
for any damage or destruction.   The agency may require that
the technology provider provide specialized equipment or
the agency may employ the services of an independent
technical laboratory expert to test the video lottery machine
at the technology provider's expense;

5.2.4 Technology providers shall submit all
hardware, software, and test equipment necessary for testing
of their video lottery machines, and shall provide the director
with keys and locks subject to the Director's specifications
for each approved video lottery machine;

5.2.5 The EPROMs of each video lottery
machine shall be certified to be in compliance with
published specifications;

5.2.6 No video lottery machine shall be put into
use prior to certification of its model by the Director;

5.3 All contracts with technology providers shall
include without limitation, provisions to  the following
effect:

5.3.1 Technology providers shall agree to
promptly report any violation or any facts or circumstances
that may result in a violation of these rules;  provide
immediate access to all its records and its physical premises
for inspection at the request of the Director;  attend all trade
shows or conferences as required by the Director;

5.3.2 Technology providers shall agree to
modify their hardware and software as necessary to
accommodate video game changes directed by the agency
from time to time;  

5.3.3 Technology providers shall provide such
bonds and provide evidence of such insurance as the
Director shall require from time to time and in such amounts
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and issued by such companies as the Director shall approve;
and

5.3.4 Technology providers shall have a valid
license to conduct business in the State of Delaware, shall
comply with all applicable tax provisions, and shall in all
other respects be qualified to conduct business in Delaware.

5.4 Each video lottery machine certified by the Director
shall bear a decal and shall conform to the exact
specifications of the video lottery machine model tested and
certified by the Director.

5.5 No video lottery machine may be transported out of
the State until the decal has been removed and no decal shall
be removed from a video lottery machine without prior
agency approval.

5.6 Technology providers shall hold harmless the
agency, the State of Delaware, and their respective
employees for any claims, loss, cost, damage, liability or
expense, including, without limitation, legal expense arising
out of any hardware or software malfunction resulting in the
wrongful award or denial of credits or cash.

5.7 A technology provider shall not distribute a video
lottery machine for placement in the state unless the video
lottery machine has been approved by the agency. Only
licensed technology providers may apply for approval of a
video lottery machine or associated equipment. The
technology provider shall submit two copies of video lottery
machine illustrations, schematics, block diagrams, circuit
analysis, technical and operation manuals, program source
code and object code, and any other information requested
by the agency for purposes of analyzing and testing the video
lottery machine or associated equipment.

5.8 The agency may require that two working models
of a video lottery machine be transported to the location
designated by the agency for testing, examination, and
analysis. The technology provider shall pay all costs of
testing, examination, analysis and transportation of such
video lottery machine models, which may include the entire
dismantling of the video lottery machine and tests which
may result in damage or destruction to one or more
electronic components of such video lottery machine model.
The agency may require that the technology provider
provide specialized equipment or the services of an
independent technical expert in testing the terminal.

5.9 After each test has been completed, the agency shall
provide the video lottery machine technology provider with
a report that contains findings, conclusions, and pass/fail
results.  Prior to approving a particular video lottery machine
model, the agency may require a trial period not in excess of
sixty (60) days for a licensed agent to test the video lottery
machine. During the trial period, the technology provider
may not make any modifications to the video lottery
machine model unless such modifications are approved by
the agency.

5.10The technology provider is responsible for the

assembly and initial operation, in the manner approved and
licensed by the agency, of all its video lottery machines and
associated equipment.   The technology provider may not
change the assembly or operational functions of any of its
video lottery machines approved for placement in Delaware
unless a "request for modification to an existing video lottery
machine prototype" is made to the agency, that request to
contain all appropriate information relating to the type of
change, reason for change, and all documentation required.
The agency must approve such request prior to any changes
being made, and the agency shall reserve the right to require
second testing of video lottery machines after modifications
have been made.

5.11Each video lottery machine approved for placement
in a licensed agent's place of business shall conform to the
exact specifications of the video lottery machine prototype
tested and approved by the agency. Any video lottery
machine which does not so conform shall be disconnected
from the Delaware video lottery system until compliance has
been achieved.   Each video lottery machine shall at all times
operate and be placed in accordance with the provisions of
these regulations.

5.12The following duties are required of all licensed
technology providers, without limitation:

5.12.1 Manufacture terminals and associated
equipment for placement in Delaware in accordance with the
specifications of the agency.

5.12.2 Manufacture terminals and associated
equipment to ensure timely delivery to licensed Delaware
agents.

5.12.3 Maintain and provide an inventory of
associated equipment to assure the timely repair and
continued, approved operation and play of licensed video
lottery machines acquired under the contract for placement
in Delaware.

5.12.4 Provide an appropriate number of service
technicians with the appropriate technical knowledge and
training to provide for the service and repair of its licensed
video lottery machines and associated equipment so as to
assure the continued, approved operation and play of those
licensed video lottery machines acquired under contract for
placement in Delaware.

5.12.5 Obtain any certification of compliance
required under the applicable provisions of rules adopted by
the Federal Communications Commission.

5.12.6 Promptly report to the agency any
violation or any facts or circumstances that may result in a
violation of State or Federal law and/or any rules or
regulations adopted pursuant thereto.

5.12.7 Conduct video lottery operations in a
manner that does not pose a threat to the public health,
safety, or welfare of the citizens of Delaware, or reflect
adversely on the security or integrity of the video lottery.

5.12.8 Hold the agency and the State of Delaware
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and its employees harmless from any and all claims that may
be made against the agency, the State of Delaware, or the
employees of either, arising from the technology provider's
participation in or the operation of a video lottery game.

5.12.9 Defend and pay for the defense of all
claims that may be made against the agency, the State of
Delaware, or the employees of either, arising from the
technology provider's participation in video lottery
operations.

5.12.10 Maintain all required records.
5.12.11 Lease or sell only those licensed video

lottery machines, validation units and associated equipment
approved under these regulations.

5.12.12 It shall be the continuing duty of the
technology provider licensee to provide the Director with an
updated list of the names and addresses of all its employees
who are involved in the daily operation of the video lottery
machines. These employees will include individuals or their
supervisors involved with (1) the repair or maintenance of
the video lottery machines, or (2) positions that provide
direct access to the video lottery machines. It shall be the
continuing duty of the technology provider licensee to
provide for the bonding of each of these individuals to
ensure against financial loss resulting from wrongful acts on
their parts.

5.12.13 It shall be the ongoing duty of the
technology provider licensee to notify the Director of any
change in officers, partners, directors, key employees, video
lottery operations employees, or owners.   These individuals
shall also be subject to a background investigation.   The
failure of any of the above-mentioned individuals to satisfy a
background investigation may constitute "cause" for the
suspension or revocation of the technology provider's
license.

5.12.14 Provide the agents with the technical
ability to distribute the proceeds of the video lottery in
accordance with the requirements of these regulations and 29
Del.C. Ch. 48.

5.12.15 Supervise its employees and their
activities to ensure compliance with these rules.

5.12.16 Promptly report to the Lottery any
violation or any facts or circumstances that may result in a
violation of State or Federal law and/or any rules or
regulations pursuant thereto, excluding violations
concerning motor vehicle laws.

5.12.17 Comply with such other requirements as
shall be specified by the Director.

See 2 DE Reg. 115 (7/1/98)
See 2 DE Reg. 779 (11/1/98)
See 3 DE Reg. 1082 (2/1/00)
See 5 DE Reg. 1286 (12/1/01)
See 5 DE Reg. 1417 (1/1/02)  

7.0 Game Requirements
7.1 The Director shall authorize such video games to be

played on the agent's premises in conformity with approved
business plans, as amended.

7.2 Video games shall be based on bills, coins, tokens
or credits, worth between $.05 and $100.00 each, in
conformity with approved business plans as amended.

7.3 The Director, in his or her discretion, may authorize
extended play features from time to time to which the
maximum wager limit of $100.00 shall not apply.

7.4 Each video game shall display the amount wagered
and the amount awarded for each possible winning
occurrence based on the number of credits wagered.

7.5 Each video game shall provide a method for players
to view payout tables.

7.6 Each player shall be at least twenty-one (21) years
of age.  In the event an underage player attempts to claim a
prize, the video lottery agent should treat the play of the
game as void and the underage player shall not be entitled to
any prize won or a refund of amounts bet.

7.7 Agents shall redeem credit slips or tokens presented
by a player in accordance with procedures proposed by the
agent and approved by the Director prior to the opening of
the premises for video game play.   Such procedures shall be
modified at the direction of the Director in his or her sole
discretion at any time. Nothing in this subsection (7.7) shall
prohibit the use of coin-in/coin-out machines.

7.8 Credit slips may be redeemed by a player at the
designated place on the premises where the video game
issuing the credit slip is located during the one hundred and
eighty (180) day redeeming period commencing on the date
the credit slip was issued.

7.9 No credit slip shall be redeemed more than one (1)
year from the date of issuance. No jackpot from a coin-in/
coin-out machine shall be redeemed more than one (1) year
from the date on which the jackpot occurred.  Funds reserved
for the payment of a credit slip or expired unclaimed jackpot
shall be treated as net proceeds if unredeemed one (1) year
from the date of issuance of the credit slip or occurrence of
the winning jackpot.  The one year redemption policy in this
regulation shall be prominently displayed on the premises of
the video lottery agent.

7.10No payment for credits awarded on a video lottery
machine may be made unless the credit slip meets the
following requirements:

7.10.1 It is presented on a fully legible, valid,
printed credit slip on paper approved by the agency,
containing the information as required;

7.10.2 It is not mutilated, altered, unreadable, or
tampered with in any manner, or previously paid;

7.10.3 It is not counterfeit in whole or in part; and
7.10.4 It is presented by a person authorized to

play.
7.11Method of Payment  -  The management of each
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licensed agent shall designate employees authorized to
redeem credit slips during the hours of operation. Credits
shall be immediately paid in cash or by check when a player
presents a credit slip for payment meeting the requirements
of this section.   No credits may be paid in tokens, chips or
merchandise.

7.12Restrictions on Payment  -  Agents may only
redeem credit slips for credits awarded on video lottery
machines located on its premises.   The agency and the State
of Delaware are not liable for the payment of any credits on
any credit slips.

7.13Redeemed Tickets Defaced  -  All credit slips
redeemed by a licensed agent shall be marked or defaced in a
manner that prevents any subsequent presentment and
payment.

7.14Liability for Malfunction  -  The agency and the
State of Delaware are not responsible for any video lottery
machine malfunction or for any error by the agent that
causes credit to be wrongfully awarded or denied to players.

7.15Video lottery machines shall not be operated or
available for play on Christmas, or after 4:00 a.m. on Easter,
or between the hours of 2:00 4:00 a.m. and 1:00 12:00 p.m.
on Sundays, or between the hours of 2:00 4:00 a.m. and 8:00
a.m. on any day other than Sunday.

See 2 DE Reg. 115 (7/1/98)
See 2 DE Reg. 779 (11/1/98)
See 5 DE Reg. 1286 (12/1/01)

OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY
Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, 
Section 4805(a) (29 Del.C. §4805(a))

ORDER

Pursuant to 29 Del. C. §10118 and 29 Del. C. §4805(a),
the Delaware Lottery Office issues this Order adopting
proposed amendments to the Video Lottery Regulations.
Following notice and a public hearing held on June 27, 2003
on the proposed Video Lottery Regulation amendments, the
Lottery makes the following findings and conclusions: 

Summary Of Evidence

1. The Lottery posted public notice of the proposed
amendments in the June 1, 2003 Register of Regulations and
in the Delaware Capital Review and the Delaware State
News.  The proposed amendments to the Video Lottery
Regulations are as follows:

i) amend Video Lottery Regulation 5.2.1(2) to
provide that the maximum bet of $100 is subject to Video
Lottery Regulation 7.3 which permits the Director to

authorize extended plays or games on a video lottery
machine;

ii) amend Video Lottery Regulation 6.10 to
provide that video lottery agents exercise caution and good
judgment in extending credit and act in compliance with all
federal and state laws;

iii) repeal Video Lottery Regulation 6.18 which
prohibits video lottery agents from providing financial
assistance or credit to players;  

iv) amend Video Lottery Regulation 6.30 to
provide that no automated teller machine may be within
twenty-five feet of any video lottery machine;  

v) amend Video Lottery Regulation 7.2 to lower
the minimum bet on video lottery machines from $.05 to
$.01;  and 

vi) amend Video Lottery Regulation 7.3 to provide
that the Director may authorize extended plays and games on
video lottery machines which are not subject to the $100
maximum bet.

2. The Lottery held a public hearing on June 27, 2003
and received no public comments.  The Lottery received no
written comments from the public during the month on June,
2003.

Findings Of Fact And Conclusions

3. The public was given notice and an opportunity to
provide the Lottery with comments in writing and by
testimony at the public hearing on the proposed amendments
to the Video Lottery Regulations.

4. The Lottery finds that the proposed amendments to
the Video Lottery Regulations are necessary for the agency
to achieve its statutory duty under 29 Del. C. §4805(a) to
maximize net revenues consonant with the dignity of the
State and general welfare of the people of Delaware.  The
Lottery concludes that the proposed amendments to the
Video Lottery Regulations should be adopted in the
proposed form.  The Lottery adopts the proposed
amendments to Video Lottery Regulations 5.2.1(2), 6.10,
6.18, 6.30, 7.2, and 7.3.

5. The effective date of this Order shall be ten (10)
days from the publication of this order in the Register of
Regulations on August 1, 2003.  A copy of the enacted
Video Lottery Regulation amendments is attached as Exhibit
#1 to this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 7th day of July, 2003.

Don Johnson, Deputy Director for Video Lottery 
Operations

5.0 Technology Providers:  Contracts; Requirements;
Duties

5.1 The Director shall, pursuant to the procedures set
forth in 29 Del.C. §6924 enter into contracts with licensed
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technology providers as he or she shall determine to be
appropriate, pursuant to which the technology providers
shall furnish by sale or lease to the State video lottery
machines in such numbers and for such video games as the
Director shall approve from time to time as necessary for the
efficient and economical operation of the lottery, or
convenience of the players, and in accordance with the
agents' business plans as approved and amended by the
Director.   No single technology provider shall supply more
than 65% of the total number of video lottery machines at the
premises of any agent.   No more than 1,000 video lottery
machines shall be located within the confines of an agent's
premises unless the Director approves up to an additional
1,000 machines or other number approved by the Director as
permitted by law.

5.2 All contracts with technology providers shall
include without limitation, provisions to the following
effect:

(1) The technology provider shall furnish a person
to work with the agency and its consultants to provide
assistance as needed in establishing, planning and executing
acceptance tests on the video lottery machines provided by
such technology provider.  Technology provider assistance
shall be provided as requested by the agency in
troubleshooting communication and technical problems that
are discovered when video lottery machines are initially
placed at the agent's site;

(2) The technology provider shall submit video
lottery (2) The technology provider shall submit video
lottery machine illustrations, schematics, block diagrams,
circuit analysis, technical and operation manuals, program
source code and object code and any other information
requested by the Director for purposes of analyzing and
testing the video lottery machines.  A maximum of $100
shall be permitted for wagering on a single play of any video
game except that the Director pursuant to Regulation 7.3
may authorize extended plays or games on a video lottery
machine in excess of the $100 maximum bet limit.

(3) For testing, examination and analysis purposes,
the technology provider shall furnish working models of
video lottery machines, associated equipment, and
documentation at locations designated by the Director.  The
technology provider shall pay all costs of any testing,
examination, analysis and transportation of the video lottery
machines, which may include the entire dismantling of the
machines and some tests that may result in damage or
destruction to one or more electronic components of the
machines.   The agency and its agents shall have no liability
for any damage or destruction.   The agency may require that
the technology provider provide specialized equipment or
the agency may employ the services of an independent
technical laboratory expert to test the video lottery machine
at the technology provider's expense;

(4) Technology providers shall submit all

hardware, software, and test equipment necessary for testing
of their video lottery machines;

(5) The EPROMs of each video lottery machine
shall be certified to be in compliance with published
specifications;

(6) No video lottery machine shall be put into use
prior to certification of its model by the Director;

(7) Technology providers shall agree to promptly
report any violation or any facts or circumstances that may
result in a violation of these rules;  provide immediate access
to all its records and its physical premises for inspection at
the request of the Director;  attend all trade shows or
conferences as required by the Director;  provide the
Director with keys and locks subject to the Director's
specifications for each approved video lottery machine;

(8) Technology providers shall agree to modify
their hardware and software as necessary to accommodate
video game changes directed by the agency from time to
time;  

(9) Technology providers shall provide such bonds
and provide evidence of such insurance as the Director shall
require from time to time and in such amounts and issued by
such companies as the Director shall approve;  and

(10) Technology providers shall have a valid
license to conduct business in the State of Delaware, shall
comply with all applicable tax provisions, and shall in all
other respects be qualified to conduct business in Delaware.

5.3 Each video lottery machine certified by the Director
shall bear a decal and shall conform to the exact
specifications of the video lottery machine model tested and
certified by the Director.

5.4 No video lottery machine may be transported out of
the State until the decal has been removed and no decal shall
be removed from a video lottery machine without prior
agency approval.

5.5 Technology providers shall hold harmless the
agency, the State of Delaware, and their respective
employees for any claims, loss, cost, damage, liability or
expense, including, without limitation, legal expense arising
out of any hardware or software malfunction resulting in the
wrongful award or denial of credits or cash.

5.6 A technology provider shall not distribute a video
lottery machine for placement in the state unless the video
lottery machine has been approved by the agency.   Only
licensed technology providers may apply for approval of a
video lottery machine or associated equipment. The
technology provider shall submit two copies of video lottery
machine illustrations, schematics, block diagrams, circuit
analysis, technical and operation manuals, program source
code and object code, and any other information requested
by the agency for purposes of analyzing and testing the video
lottery machine or associated equipment.

5.7 The agency may require that two working models
of a video lottery machine be transported to the location
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designated by the agency for testing, examination, and
analysis.   The technology provider shall pay all costs of
testing, examination, analysis and transportation of such
video lottery machine models, which may include the entire
dismantling of the video lottery machine and tests which
may result in damage or destruction to one or more
electronic components of such video lottery machine model.
The agency may require that the technology provider
provide specialized equipment or the services of an
independent technical expert in testing the terminal.

5.8 After each test has been completed, the agency shall
provide the video lottery machine technology provider with
a report that contains findings, conclusions, and pass/fail
results.   Prior to approving a particular video lottery
machine model, the agency may require a trial period not in
excess of sixty (60) days for a licensed agent to test the video
lottery machine.  During the trial period, the technology
provider may not make any modifications to the video
lottery machine model unless such modifications are
approved by the agency.

5.9 The technology provider is responsible for the
assembly and initial operation, in the manner approved and
licensed by the agency, of all its video lottery machines and
associated equipment.   The technology provider may not
change the assembly or operational functions of any of its
video lottery machines approved for placement in Delaware
unless a "request for modification to an existing video lottery
machine prototype" is made to the agency, that request to
contain all appropriate information relating to the type of
change, reason for change, and all documentation required.
The agency must approve such request prior to any changes
being made, and the agency shall reserve the right to require
second testing of video lottery machines after modifications
have been made.

5.10Each video lottery machine approved for placement
in a licensed agent's place of business shall conform to the
exact specifications of the video lottery machine prototype
tested and approved by the agency.   Any video lottery
machine which does not so conform shall be disconnected
from the Delaware video lottery system until compliance has
been achieved.   Each video lottery machine shall at all times
operate and be placed in accordance with the provisions of
these regulations.

5.11The following duties are required of all licensed
technology providers, without limitation:

(1) Manufacture terminals and associated
equipment for placement in Delaware in accordance with the
specifications of the agency.

(2) Manufacture terminals and associated
equipment to ensure timely delivery to licensed Delaware
agents.

(3) Maintain and provide an inventory of
associated equipment to assure the timely repair and
continued, approved operation and play of licensed video

lottery machines acquired under the contract for placement
in Delaware.

(4) Provide an appropriate number of service
technicians with the appropriate technical knowledge and
training to provide for the service and repair of its licensed
video lottery machines and associated equipment so as to
assure the continued, approved operation and play of those
licensed video lottery machines acquired under contract for
placement in Delaware.

(5) Obtain any certification of compliance required
under the applicable provisions of rules adopted by the
Federal Communications Commission.

(6) Promptly report to the agency any violation or
any facts or circumstances that may result in a violation of
State or Federal law and/or any rules or regulations adopted
pursuant thereto.

(7) Conduct video lottery operations in a manner
that does not pose a threat to the public health, safety, or
welfare of the citizens of Delaware, or reflect adversely on
the security or integrity of the video lottery.

(8) Hold the agency and the State of Delaware and
its employees harmless from any and all claims that may be
made against the agency, the State of Delaware, or the
employees of either, arising from the technology provider's
participation in or the operation of a video lottery game.

(9) Defend and pay for the defense of all claims
that may be made against the agency, the State of Delaware,
or the employees of either, arising from the technology
provider's participation in video lottery operations.

(10) Maintain all required records.
(11) Lease or sell only those licensed video lottery

machines, validation units and associated equipment
approved under these regulations.

(12) It shall be the continuing duty of the
technology provider licensee to provide the Director with an
updated list of the names and addresses of all its employees
who are involved in the daily operation of the video lottery
machines.   These employees will include individuals or
their supervisors involved with (1) the repair or maintenance
of the video lottery machines, or (2) positions that provide
direct access to the video lottery machines.   It shall be the
continuing duty of the technology provider licensee to
provide for the bonding of each of these individuals to
ensure against financial loss resulting from wrongful acts on
their parts.

(13) It shall be the ongoing duty of the technology
provider licensee to notify the Director of any change in
officers, partners, directors, key employees, video lottery
operations employees, or owners.   These individuals shall
also be subject to a background investigation.  The failure of
any of the above-mentioned individuals to satisfy a
background investigation may constitute "cause" for the
suspension or revocation of the technology provider's
license.
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(14) Provide the agents with the technical ability to
distribute the proceeds of the video lottery in accordance
with the requirements of these regulations and 29 Del. C.
chapter 48.

6.0 Agents:   Duties
The following duties are required of all licensed agents:
6.1 Provide a secure location for the placement,

operation, and play of all licensed video lottery machines
located on the licensed agent's premises.

6.2 Permit no person to tamper with or interfere with
the approved operation of any licensed video lottery
machine.

6.3 Assure that telephone lines from the agency's
central computer to the licensed video lottery machines
located on the licensed agent's premises are at all times
connected, and prevent any person from tampering or
interfering with the continuous operation of the lines.

6.4 With respect to video lottery operations, contract
only with officers, directors, owners, partners, key
employees, and suppliers of video lottery equipment and
paraphernalia authorized by the agency to participate in
video lottery operations within the State of Delaware.

6.5 Ensure that licensed video lottery machines are
placed and remain as placed unless the agency authorizes
their movement within the sight and control of the agent or a
designated employee, through physical presence and by the
use of surveillance cameras at all times.

6.6 Ensure that licensed video lottery machines are
placed and remain as placed in the specific area of the
premises as approved by the lottery.   Any relocation of a
licensed video lottery machine or machines requires prior
approval from the agency.

6.7 Monitor video lottery machine play and prevent
access to or play by persons who are under the age of
twenty-one (21) years or who are intoxicated, or whom the
agent has reason to believe are intoxicated.

6.8 Commit no violations of the laws of this State
concerning the sale, dispensing, and consumption on the
premises of alcoholic beverages that result in suspension or
revocation of an alcoholic beverage license.

6.9 Maintain at all times sufficient change and cash in
denominations accepted by the video machines located in the
premises.

6.10Extend no credit Exercise caution and good
judgment in extending credit for video lottery machine play,
and comply with all applicable federal and state laws.

6.11Exercise caution and good judgment in providing
cash for checks presented for video lottery machine play.

6.12Report promptly all video lottery machine
malfunctions to the appropriate technology provider and
agency and notify the agency of any technology provider
failure to provide service and repair of such terminals and
associated equipment.

6.13Conduct agency approved advertising and
promotional activities related to video lottery operations.

6.14Install, post and display prominently at locations
within or about the premises signs, redemption information
and other promotional material as may be required by the
agency.

6.15Permit video lottery games to be played only during
those hours established and approved by the Director.

6.16Assume responsibility for the proper and timely
payment to players of credits or tokens awarded.

6.17Prohibit the possession, use or control of gambling
paraphernalia on the premises not directly related to the
lottery or horse racing or harness horse racing and prohibit
illegal gambling on the premises.

6.18Provide no form of financial assistance or grant
credits other than credits issued by a video lottery machine to
enable players to play video games. (Reserved)

6.19Attend all meetings, seminars, and training sessions
required by the agency.

6.20Supervise its employees and their activities to
ensure compliance with these rules.

6.21Assume responsibility for the proper and immediate
redemption of all credits; however, no credits may be
redeemed by a person under twenty-one (21) years of age,
and no credits submitted for redemption beyond the 365 day
time limit will be redeemed.

6.22Provide dedicated power and a proper video lottery
machine environment in accordance with the specifications
of the agency.

6.23Furnish to the Director complete information
pertaining to any change in ownership of the agent or the
owner of the premises or beneficial owner (other than a
change in ownership by an owner of less than twenty (20)
percent of the issued and outstanding capital stock of the
agent or premises owner if such stock is publicly traded).

6.24Promptly report to the lottery any violation or any
facts or circumstances that may result in a violation of State
or Federal law and/or any rules or regulations pursuant
thereto, excluding violations concerning motor vehicle laws.

6.25Conduct video lottery operations in a manner that
does not pose a threat to the public health, safety, or welfare
of the citizens of Delaware, or reflect adversely on the
security or integrity of the lottery.

6.26Hold the Director, the State of Delaware, and
employees thereof harmless from and defend and pay for the
defense of any and all claims which may be asserted against
the Director, the State or the employees thereof, arising from
the participation in the video lottery system, except claims
arising from the negligence or willful misconduct of the
Director, the State or the employees thereof.

6.27Maintain all required records.
6.28Provide at the request of the Director immediate

access to the premises and to all records related to any aspect
of these regulations, including without limitation the duties
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imposed by these regulations.
6.29 Keep current on all payments, tax obligations

and other obligations to the agency and other licensees with
whom video lottery business is conducted.   The agent shall
pay the players and transfer the net proceeds to the State
lottery fund in conformity with the requirements set forth in
these regulations and 29 Del. C. chapter 48.

6.30Ensure that there are no automated teller machines
(ATMs) on the premises or within twenty-five (25) fifty (50)
feet of the boundary of the premises any video lottery
machine on the premises.

6.31Locate all video lottery machines within the
viewing range of closed circuit television cameras at all
times, including both normal business hours and those
periods when video lottery operations are closed.   The
presence of these cameras is to ensure the integrity of the
lottery, the video lottery operations, and the safety of the
patrons.

6.32Comply with such other requirements as shall be
specified by the Director.   The agent shall submit to the
Director a description of its system of internal procedures
and administrative and accounting controls which shall
conform to the rules and regulations of the agency and be
otherwise satisfactory to the Director in his or her sole
discretion.

6.33Provide, on a continuing basis, to the Director the
names and addresses of all employees who are involved in
the daily operation of the video lottery machines.   These
employees will include individuals or their supervisors
involved with (1) the security of the video lottery machines,
(2) the handling or transporting of proceeds from the video
lottery machines, or (3) positions that provide direct access
to video lottery machines.   It shall be the continuing duty of
the video lottery agent licensee to provide for the bonding of
any of the above-mentioned employees to ensure against
financial loss resulting from wrongful acts on their parts.
Likewise, the agent shall post a bond or irrevocable letter of
credit in a manner and in an amount established by the
agency.   Any such bonds shall be issued by a surety
company authorized to transact business in Delaware and
said company shall be approved by the State Insurance
Commissioner as to solvency and responsibility.

6.34Notify the Director on a continuing basis of any
change in officers, partners, directors, key employees, video
lottery operations employees, and owners.   Such persons
will also be subject to a background investigation.   The
failure of any of the above-mentioned persons to satisfy a
background investigation may constitute "cause" for the
suspension or revocation of the video lottery agent's license,
provided that an agent is first given a reasonable opportunity
to remove or replace such person if the agent was unaware of
such "cause" prior to the background investigation.

6.35As soon as it is known to the agent, file with the
Director a copy of any current or proposed agreement and

disclose to the Director any other relationship between the
agent, its parents, subsidiaries, related entities, partners,
owners, directors, officers or key employees for the sale,
lease, maintenance, repair or other assignment of the agent's
premises, or any other relationship of any vendor,
manufacturer or other person who stands to benefit
financially from the possession or use of video lottery
machines by such agent.

6.36Comply with the applicable requirements contained
in Title 3, §10048 and §10148 and Title 28, §427 of the
Delaware Code.   The agent shall file an annual report, due
January 15th of each year, which provides sufficient
information for the Director to determine whether the agent
has satisfied the requirements of this provision.

6.37Comply with the provisions of the business plans as
approved and amended.

6.38Comply on a continuing basis with the
requirements for obtaining or retaining a license under the
provisions of these regulations and 29 Del. C. chapter 48. 

7.0 Game Requirements
7.1 The Director shall authorize such video games to be

played on the agent's premises in conformity with approved
business plans, as amended.

7.2 Video games shall be based on bills, coins, tokens
or credits, worth between $.01 $.05 and $100.00 each, in
conformity with approved business plans as amended.

7.3 The Director, in his or her discretion, may authorize
extended plays or games on a video lottery machine features
from time to time to which the maximum wager limit of
$100 shall not apply.

7.4 Each video game shall display the amount wagered
and the amount awarded for each possible winning
occurrence based on the number of credits wagered.

7.5 Each video game shall provide a method for players
to view payout tables.

7.6 Each player shall be at least twenty-one (21) years
of age.  In the event an underage player attempts to claim a
prize, the video lottery agent should treat the play of the
game as void and the underage player shall not be entitled to
any prize won or a refund of amounts bet.

7.7 Agents shall redeem credit slips or tokens presented
by a player in accordance with procedures proposed by the
agent and approved by the Director prior to the opening of
the premises for video game play.   Such procedures shall be
modified at the direction of the Director in his or her sole
discretion at any time.   Nothing in this subsection (7.7) shall
prohibit the use of coin-in/coin-out machines.

7.8 Credit slips may be redeemed by a player at the
designated place on the premises where the video game
issuing the credit slip is located during the one hundred and
eighty  (180) day redeeming period commencing on the date
the credit slip was issued.

7.9 No credit slip shall be redeemed more than one
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hundred and eighty (180) days from the date of issuance.
No jackpot from a coin-in/coin-out machine shall be
redeemed more than one hundred and eighty (180) days from
the date on which the jackpot occurred.  Funds reserved for
the payment of a credit slip or expired unclaimed jackpot
shall be treated as net proceeds if unredeemed one hundred
and eighty one (181) days  from the date of issuance of the
credit slip or occurrence of the winning jackpot.  The one
hundred and eighty day redemption policy in this regulation
shall be prominently displayed on the premises of the video
lottery agent.

7.10No payment for credits awarded on a video lottery
machine may be made unless the credit slip meets the
following requirements:

(1) It is presented on a fully legible, valid, printed
credit slip on paper approved by the agency, containing the
information as required;

(2) It is not mutilated, altered, unreadable, or
tampered with in any manner, or previously paid;

(3) It is not counterfeit in whole or in part; and
(4) It is presented by a person authorized to play.

7.11Method of Payment  -  The management of each
licensed agent shall designate employees authorized to
redeem credit slips during the hours of operation.   Credits
shall be immediately paid in cash or by check when a player
presents a credit slip for payment meeting the requirements
of this section.   No credits may be paid in tokens, chips or
merchandise.

7.12Restrictions on Payment  -  Agents may only
redeem credit slips for credits awarded on video lottery
machines located on its premises.   The agency and the State
of Delaware are not liable for the payment of any credits on
any credit slips.

7.13Redeemed Tickets Defaced  -  All credit slips
redeemed by a licensed agent shall be marked or defaced in a
manner that prevents any subsequent presentment and
payment.

7.14Liability for Malfunction  -  The agency and the
State of Delaware are not responsible for any video lottery
machine malfunction or for any error by the agent that
causes credit to be wrongfully awarded or denied to players.

7.15Video lottery machines shall not be operated or
available for play on Christmas, Easter, or between the hours
of 2:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. on Sundays, or between the hours
of 2:00 a.m. and 8:00 a.m. on any day other than Sunday.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Statutory Authority: 31 Delaware Code,

Section 107 (31 Del.C. §107)

Note: The June 2003 issue of the Delaware Register Of
Regulations inadvertently contained unrelated text,
specifically Sections 15120.2 and 15200.  The order
adopting the final version is published below without the
added text.  At this time, DSS plans no further
restrictions to the Transitional Medicaid Program.

Nature Of The Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend
the Division of Social Services Manual (DSSM).  The
proposed change amends the rules used to determine
eligibility for the State-funded medical assistance program.
The Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the June 2003 Delaware Register of Regulations,
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by June
30, 2003 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

Effective September 1, 2003, the State-funded medical
assistance coverage is limited to those aliens who meet the
following residency requirements:

• In order to be found eligible for the State-funded
benefits, a legally residing nonqualified alien or a
qualified alien must have resided in Delaware for at
least three (3) consecutive months before he or she
may be found eligible; and, 

• A legally residing nonqualified alien or a qualified
alien cannot use inpatient days in an institution to
help establish this three (3) month residency
requirement.

Summary Of Comments Received With Agency 
Response

The Governor's Advisory Council For Exceptional
Citizens (GACEC), the Delaware Developmental
Disabilities Council (DDDC), and the State Council for
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Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) oppose the proposed
regulations as it undermines TWWIAA (Ticket to Work and
Workforce Incentives Improvement Act) implementation
and discourages employment of persons with low incomes
and/or disabilities.  They have the following concerns:

First, 1996 Federal legislation limited Medicaid
eligibility of some aliens.  The State opted to provide full or
limited coverage using solely State funds.  DSS now
proposes to restrict eligibility of covered aliens to those who
can document State residency for at least 3 consecutive
months exclusive of inpatient days in institutions.
Consistent with the attached June 11, 2003 News Journal
article, Delaware ranks 48th in the nation for infant deaths,
ahead of only Alabama and Mississippi.  Barring aliens from
safety-net programs, including prenatal, delivery, and post-
natal care, is shortsighted and may actually bring about an
increase in the numbers of people with disabilities. 

Agency Response: DSS implements the regulation for
two reasons: 1) to limit individuals from other countries
coming to Delaware institutions and then, applying for state-
only medical assistance; and, 2) to sustain the program as
currently funded.

Second, DSS Proposes changes to DSSM 15200, which
addresses transitional Medicaid, in March 2003.  The SCPD,
GACEC, and DDDC endorsed continuation of transitional
Medicaid for persons losing TANF eligibility due to earned
income.  However, we endorsed a 24-month extension rather
than a 12-month extension for families qualifying after
October 1, 2002.  DSS adopted the final regulation with no
changes in May 2003.  Now, DSS proposes to amend the
same regulation.  It proposes a further restriction, i.e.,
families eligible prior to September 1, 2003 will be eligible
for a 12-month earned income disregard.  Families
establishing eligibility after September 1, 2003 will not
receive the 12-month earned income disregard.

Agency Response: The June 2003 issue of the Delaware
Register of Regulations inadvertently contained unrelated
text, specifically sections 15120.2 and 152000.  The order
adopting the final version is published in the August 2003
issue without the added text.  At this time, DSS plans no
further restrictions to the transitional Medicaid program.

Findings Of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes, as set
forth in the June 2003 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the State-funded medical assistance
program as it relates to eligibility is adopted and shall be
final effective August 10, 2003.

Karryl McManus for Vincent P. Meconi, 
Secretary, DHSS 
7/15/03

REVISIONS:

14300 Citizenship And Alienage
The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity

Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA, P.L. 104-193)
enacted on August 22, 1996, significantly changed Medicaid
eligibility for individuals who are not citizens of the United
States.  The legislation revised the categories of noncitizens
who may be determined eligible for Medicaid.  The
legislation identifies noncitizens as qualified aliens or
nonqualified aliens.  The term qualified refers to groups of
aliens whose members may establish Medicaid eligibility
under certain circumstances and subject to certain
limitations.  For specific groups of aliens identified as
nonqualified, eligibility is limited to the treatment of an
emergency medical condition as defined in this section.  

In State Fiscal Year 1998, (SFY 98), the Delaware
legislature appropriated State only funds to provide coverage
of full Medicaid benefits to legally residing noncitizens who
are ineligible for full Medicaid benefits because of
PRWORA.  Coverage for these aliens will be provided on a
fee for service basis and is subject to the availability of State
funding.  In the event State funding is exhausted, the benefits
will be reduced to coverage of emergency services and labor
and deliver only.  

Aliens who may be found eligible for full Medicaid
coverage using the state funds include  legally residing
nonqualified aliens and qualified aliens subject to the 5 year
bar. Illegally residing aliens and ineligible aliens are not
eligible for full Medicaid coverage, but remain eligible for
emergency services and labor and delivery only.

Medicaid coverage for legally residing nonqualified
aliens, qualified aliens subject to the PRWORA 5 year bar,
illegally residing aliens, and ineligible aliens is limited to
emergency services and labor and delivery only as described
in DSSM 14360.

All applicants, whether aliens or citizens, must meet the
technical and financial eligibility criteria of a specific
eligibility group such as SSI related group, AFDC related
group, or poverty level related group.  Not every alien,
qualified or nonqualified, will be eligible for Medicaid,
emergency services and labor and delivery only, or the State
funded benefits.

In order to be found eligible for the State funded
benefits, a legally residing nonqualified alien or a qualified
alien who is subject to the PRWORA 5 year bar, must have a
current Delaware domicile and must have resided in
Delaware for at least three (3) consecutive months before he
or she may be found eligible.  Documentation of three (3)
consecutive months of Delaware residency is required for
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the eligibility determination.  Documentation includes but is
not limited to a lease or landlord statement, a mortgage
statement or deed, or a Delaware drivers license.

A legally residing nonqualified alien or a qualified alien
subject to the PRWORA 5 year bar cannot use inpatient days
in an institution to help establish this three (3) month
residency requirement.  This includes but is not limited to
institutions such as inpatient hospitals, long term care
facilities, residential treatment centers, inpatient substance
abuse facilities, and institutions for mental diseases.

14320.1 Medicaid Eligibility For Qualified Aliens
(PRWORA and/Or State Funds)

Effective January 1, 1998, all qualified aliens,
regardless of the date of entry into the U.S., may be found
eligible for full Medicaid benefits.  This does not include
long term care services.  Legally residing nonqualified aliens
may be found eligible for Medicaid long term care services
upon residing in the United States for five years. 

The PRWORA policy (as amended by the Balanced
Budget Act) which follows describes the eligibility for
qualified aliens. prior to the appropriation of State funds.  In
the event such State funding is exhausted, eligibility for
qualified aliens will be determined using the PRWORA
policy described below.

Certain qualified aliens will be Medicaid eligible.  Other
qualified aliens will receive State funded benefits.  The adult
expansion population under the 1115 demonstration waiver
entitled Diamond State Health Plan, is not eligible for
emergency services and labor and delivery only or the State
funded benefits.  

The Delaware legislature appropriated State only funds
to provide full Medicaid benefits to legally residing
noncitizens who are ineligible for full Medicaid because of
PRWORA.  Under PRWORA, certain qualified aliens
entering the U.S. on or after 8/22/96 are subject to a 5 year
bar on eligibility.  Coverage for full Medicaid benefits for
the qualified aliens who are under the PRWORA 5 year bar
is subject to the availability of State funds.

14320.5 Eligibility For State Funded Benefits (Qualified
Aliens)

The following qualified aliens who enter the U.S. on or
after 8/22/96 and are subject to the PRWORA 5 year bar
may be found eligible for State funded benefits.

• Lawful permanent resident
• Aliens granted parole (parolees)
• Aliens granted conditional entry (conditional

entrants)
• Battered immigrants

The adult expansion population under the 1115
demonstration waiver entitled, Diamond State Health Plan,
is not eligible for the State funded benefits.  State funded

coverage does not include long term care.
Effective September 1, 2003, these aliens must meet a

three (3) month residency requirement as described in
DSSM 14300.

Once these aliens have been in the U.S. for five years,
they may be found eligible for Medicaid.

14330.2 Eligibility For State Funded Benefits
(Nonqualified Aliens)

Effective January 1, 1998, legally residing nonqualified
aliens, regardless of the date of entry into the U.S., may be
found eligible for full Medicaid benefits. This does not
include long term care services.  Legally residing
nonqualified aliens may be found eligible for Medicaid long
term care services upon residing in the United States for five
years.   

The Delaware legislature appropriated State only funds
to provide full coverage of Medicaid benefits to legally
residing noncitizens who are ineligible for full Medicaid
benefits because of PRWORA.  Coverage for full Medicaid
benefits for these legally residing nonqualified aliens is
subject to the availability of State funds.  In the event such
State funding is exhausted, eligibility for legally residing
nonqualified aliens will be determined using the PRWORA
policy described in Section 14330.1.  The adult expansion
population, under the 1115 demonstration waiver, entitled
Diamond State Health Plan, is not eligible for state-funded
benefits.

Legally residing nonqualified aliens may be found
eligible for State funded benefits.  The adult expansion
population under the 1115 demonstration waiver entitled,
Diamond State Health Plan, is not eligible for the State
funded benefits.  State funded coverage does not include
long term care.

Effective September 1, 2003, these aliens must meet a
three (3) month residency requirement as described in
DSSM 14300.

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
DIVISION OF SECURITIES
DELAWARE SECURITIES ACT

Statutory Authority:  6  Delaware Code,
Sections 7325(b) (6 Del. C. §7325(b))

Order Adopting Rules and Regulations Pursuant to the 
Delaware Securities Act

On April 1, 2003, the Division of Securities of the
Delaware Department of Justice (“Division”) published in
the Delaware Register of Regulations proposed revisions to
the Rules and Regulations Pursuant to the Delaware
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Securities Act. The proposed revisions were held open for
public comment until May 1, 2003.

Summary of Evidence and Information Submitted

During the thirty day comment period, no evidence or
information was provided to the Division regarding the
proposed revisions. 

Findings of Fact

The Commissioner determines that the adoption of the
proposed revisions to the Rules and Regulations Pursuant to
the Delaware Securities Act is appropriate.

Decision to Adopt the Proposed Revisions

Wherefore, It is Hereby Ordered, pursuant to 6 Del.C.
7325 and 29 Del.C. 10118, the the proposed revisions  to the
Rules and Regulations Pursuant to the Delaware Securities
Act, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A, are adopted to
be effective ten (10) days following publication of this order
in the Delaware Register of Regulations.

SO ORDERED THIS 9TH DAY OF JULY, 2003.

James B. Ropp, Securities Commissioner

Part F. Broker-Dealers, Broker-Dealer  Agents, and
Issuer Agents

§600 Registration of Broker-Dealers 
(a) A person applying for a license as a broker-dealer

in Delaware shall make  application for such license on Form
BD (Uniform Application for Broker-Dealer  Registration).
Amendments to such applications shall also be made on
Form BD.

(b) An applicant who is registered or registering under
the Securities  Exchange Act of 1934 shall file its
application, together with the fee required by  Section 7314
of the Act, with the NASD Central Registration Depository
("CRD")  and shall file with the Commissioner such other
information as the Commissioner  may reasonably require. 

(c) An applicant who is not registered or registering
under the Securities  Exchange Act of 1934 shall file its
application; the fee required by Section 7314 of  the Act; and
an audited financial statement prepared in accordance with
17 C.F.R.  §240.17a-5(d) with the Commissioner, together
with such other information as the  Commissioner may
reasonably require. 

(d) A broker-dealer registered with the Commissioner
shall  register at least one agent] with the Commissioner.
Except for a broker-dealer that is a sole proprietorship or the
substantial equivalent, a broker-dealer registered with the

Commissioner shall register with the Commissioner at least
on broker-dealer agent.

(e) Registration expires at the end of the calendar year.
Any broker-dealer  may renew its registration by filing with
the NASD CRD, or with the Commissioner  in the case of a
broker-dealer not registered under the Securities Exchange
Act of  1934, such information as is required by the NASD,
together with the fee required by  Section 7314 of the Act.

See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98)

§601 Registration of Broker-Dealer Agents 
(a) A person applying for a license as a broker-dealer

agent in Delaware shall  make application for such license on
Form U-4 (Uniform Application for Securities  Industry
Registration or Transfer).  Amendments to such application
shall also be  made on Form U-4.

(b) An applicant for registration as an agent for a
broker-dealer that is a  member of the NASD shall file his or
her application, together with the fee required  by Section
7314 of the Act, with the NASD CRD and shall file with the
Commissioner such other information as the Commissioner
may reasonably require. 

(c) Any applicant for registration as an agent for a
broker-dealer that is not an  NASD member shall file his or
her application, together with the fee required by  Section
7314 of the Act, with the Commissioner, together with such
other  information as the Commissioner may reasonably
require. 

(d) Any applicant for a broker-dealer agent license
must also successfully complete the Uniform Securities
Agent State Law Examination (Series  63 or 66)
administered by the NASD.  The Commissioner may waive
the exam  requirement upon good cause shown.

(e) (d) Registration expires at the end of the calendar
year.  Any broker-dealer  agent may renew its registration by
filing with the NASD CRD, or with the  Commissioner in
the case of a broker-dealer agent employed by a
broker-dealer not  registered under the Securities Exchange
Act of 1934, such information as is  required by the NASD,
together with the fee required by Section 7314 of the Act.

See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98) 

§602 Registration of Issuer Agents 
(a) A person applying for a license as an issuer agent in

Delaware shall make  application for such license on Form
U-4 (Uniform Application for Securities  Industry
Registration or Transfer). Amendments to such application
shall also be  made on Form U-4. 

(b) An applicant for registration as an issuer agent shall
file his or her  application and the fee required by Section
7314 of the Act with the Commissioner,  together with such
further information as the Commissioner may reasonably
require. 

(c) Any applicant for an issuer agent license must also
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successfully complete the Uniform Securities Agent State
Law Examination (Series  63 or 66) administered by the
NASD. The Commissioner may waive the exam
requirement upon good cause shown.

See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98)

§603 Continuing Obligation of Registrants to Keep
Information Current 

(a) Persons registering or registered as broker-dealers,
broker-dealer agents  or issuer agents are required to keep
reasonably current the information set forth in  their
applications for registration and to notify the Commissioner
of any material  change to any information reported in their
application for registration.  An  applicant or registrant who
is registered with the NASD may notify the  Commissioner
of such material change by filing an amendment through the
NASD CRD.  All other persons shall notify the
Commissioner directly.

(b) Failure to keep current the information set forth in
an application or to  notify the Commissioner of any material
change to any information reported in the  application shall
constitute a waiver of any objection to or claim regarding
any  action taken by the Commissioner in reliance on
information currently on file with  the Commissioner.

See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98)

§604 Minimum Financial Requirements and
Financial Reporting Requirements of Broker-Dealers 

(a) Each broker-dealer registered or required to be
registered under the Act shall comply with SEC Rules
15c3-1 (17 C.F.R. §240.15c3-1), 15c3-2 (17 C.F.R.
§240.15c3-2), and 15c3-3 (17 C.F.R. §240.15c3-3).

(b) Each broker-dealer registered or to be registered
under the Delaware Securities Act shall comply with SEC
Rule 17a-11 (17 C.F.R. §240.17a-11) and shall file with the
Commissioner, upon request, copies of notices and reports
required under SEC Rules 17a-5(17 C.F.R. §240.17a-5),
17a-10 (17 C.F.R. §240.17a-10), and 17a-11 (17 C.F.R.
§240.17a-11).

(c) To the extent that the SEC promulgates changes to
the above-referenced rules, broker-dealers in compliance
with such rules as amended shall not be subject to
enforcement action by the Securities Division for violation
of this section to the extent that the violation results solely
from the broker-dealer’s compliance with the amended rule.

§605 Bonding Requirements of Intrastate
Broker-Dealers

Every broker-dealer registered or required to be
registered under the Act whose business is exclusively
intrastate, who does not make use of any facility of a
national securities exchange, and who is not registered under
Section 15 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 shall be
bonded in an amount of not less than $100,000 by a bonding

company qualified to do business in this state. 

§606 Record keeping Requirements of
Broker-Dealers

(a) Unless otherwise provided by order of the SEC,
each broker-dealer registered or required to be registered
under the Act shall make, maintain, and preserve books and
records in compliance with SEC Rules 17a-3 (17 C.F.R.
§240.17a-3), 17a-4 (17 C.F.R. §240.17a-4), 15c2-6 (17
C.F.R. §240.15c2-6) and 15c2-11 (17 C.F.R. §240.15c2-11).

(b) To the extent that the SEC promulgates changes to
the above-referenced rules, broker-dealers in compliance
with such rules as amended shall not be subject to
enforcement action by the Securities Division for violation
of this section to the extent that the violation results solely
from the broker-dealer’s compliance with the amended rule. 

§607 Use of the Internet for General Dissemination  of
Information on Products and  Services

(a) Broker-dealers and broker-dealer agents who use
the Internet to distribute  information on securities, products
or services through  communications made on the Internet
directed generally to anyone having access to  the Internet,
and transmitted through postings on Bulletin Boards,
displays on "Home  Pages" or otherwise (an "Internet
Communication") shall not be deemed to be "transacting
business" in Delaware for purposes of Section 7313 of the
Act based  solely on the Internet Communication if the
following conditions are met:

(1) The Internet Communication contains a legend
in which it is clearly  stated that: 

(i) the broker-dealer or agent in question may
only transact business in a state requiring registration if first
registered, excluded or exempted  from state broker-dealer
or agent registration requirements, as the case may be; and 

(ii) follow-up, individual responses to persons
in Delaware by such broker-dealer, or agent that involve
either the effecting or attempting to effect  transactions in
securities, will not be made absent compliance with state
broker-dealer or agent registration requirements, or an
applicable exemption or exclusion;

(2) The Internet Communication contains a
mechanism, including and  without limitations, technical
"firewalls" or other implemented policies and  procedures,
designed reasonably to ensure that prior to any subsequent,
direct  communication with prospective customers or clients
in Delaware, said broker-dealer  or agent is first registered in
Delaware or qualifies for an exemption or exclusion  from
such requirement.  Nothing in this paragraph shall be
construed to relieve a  state registered broker-dealer or agent
from any applicable securities registration  requirement in
Delaware; 

(3) The Internet Communication does not involve
either effecting or  attempting to effect transactions in
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securities in Delaware over the Internet, but is  limited to the
dissemination of general information on securities, products
or services; and

(4) In the case of an agent: 
(i) the affiliation with the broker-dealer is

prominently disclosed within  the Internet Communication; 
(ii) the broker-dealer with whom the agent is

associated retains  responsibility for reviewing and
approving the content of any Internet  Communication by the
agent; 

(iii) the broker-dealer or investment adviser
with whom the agent is associated first authorizes the
distribution of information on the securities, products or
services through the Internet Communication; and 

(iv) in disseminating information through the
Internet Communication, the agent acts within the scope of
the authority granted by the broker-dealer; 

(b) The position expressed in this rule extends to state
broker-dealer and  agent registration requirements only, and
does not excuse compliance with  applicable securities
registration, antifraud or related provisions; 

(c) Nothing in this rule shall be construed to affect the
activities of any  broker-dealer and agent engaged in
business in this state that is not subject to the  jurisdiction of
the Commissioner as a result of the National Securities
Markets  Improvement Act of 1996, as amended.

See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98)

§608 Registration Exemption for Certain Canadian
Broker-Dealers

(a) A Canadian broker-dealer which meets the
conditions of this rule as set forth below shall be exempt
from the registration requirement of Section 7313 of the Act.

(b) To be eligible for this exemption, the broker-dealer
must be resident in Canada, have no office or other physical
presence in Delaware, and comply with the following
conditions:

(1) Only effects or attempts to effect transactions
in securities with, or for, one or more of the following;

(i) A person from Canada who is temporarily
present in Delaware, with whom the Canadian broker-dealer
had a bona fide business-client relationship before the person
entered Delaware;

(ii) A person from Canada who is present in
Delaware, whose transactions are in a self-directed tax
advantaged retirement plan in Canada of which the person is
the holder or contributor; or

(iii) A "U.S. institutional investor" or a "major
U.S. institutional investor" to the extent permitted by SEC
Reg. §240.15a-6 (17 CFR §240.15a-6) As otherwise
permitted by the act; and

(2) Is registered in its home province or territory,
and a member in good standing of a self-regulatory
organization or stock exchange in Canada;

(3) Files with the Securities Commissioner a
notice in the form of the current application required by the
jurisdiction in which its head office is located;

(4) Files with the Securities Commissioner a
consent to service of process in a form which complies with
the requirements of Section 7327 of the Act.

(5) Discloses to its clients in Delaware that it is not
subject to the full regulatory requirements of the Act; and

(6) Is not in violation of Section[s] 7303 or 7316
of the Act or any rules promulgated thereunder.

(c) Exempt transactions. Offers or sales of any security
effected by a broker-dealer who is exempt from registration
under this Regulation are exempt from the registration
requirements of Section 7304 of the Act and the filing
requirements of Section 7312 of the Act.

(d) Agent exemption:  An agent who represents a
Canadian broker-dealer who is exempt from registration
under this Regulation is also exempt from the registration
requirement of Section 7313 of the Act, provided such agent
maintains his or her provincial or territorial registration in
good standing.  

(e) Denial, Suspension or Revocation.  The
Commissioner may by order deny, suspend, or revoke the
exemption of a particular Canadian broker-dealer provided
pursuant to Rule 608 if he finds that the order is in the public
interest and that the Canadian broker-dealer (or any partner,
officer, director, or any person occupying a similar status or
performing similar functions, or any person directly or
indirectly, controlling the broker-dealer) has done anything
prohibited by Section 7316(a)(1) to (8),(12) or (13). 

§609 Dishonest or Unethical Practices
(a) Each broker-dealer and broker-dealer agent

registered in Delaware is  required to observe high standards
of commercial honor and just and equitable  principles of
trade in the conduct of their business.  The acts and practices
described  below in this rule, among others, are considered
contrary to such standards and may  constitute grounds for
denial, suspension or revocation of registration or such other
action authorized by the Act. 

(b) Broker-Dealers.  For the purposes of 6 Del.C.
§7316(a)(7), dishonest or unethical practices by a
broker-dealer shall include, but not be limited to, the
following conduct:

(1) Engaging in an unreasonable and unjustifiable
delay in the delivery  of securities purchased by any of its
customers or in the payment, upon request, of  free credit
balances reflecting completed transactions of any of its
customers, or  failing to notify customers of their right to
receive possession of any certificate of  ownership to which
they are entitled; 

(2) Inducing trading in a customer's account that is
excessive in size  or frequency in view of the customer's
investment objective, level of sophistication  in investments,
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and financial situation and needs; 
(3) Recommending a transaction without

reasonable grounds to  believe that such transaction is
suitable for the customer in light of the customer's
investment objective, level of sophistication in investments,
financial situation and  needs, and any other information
material to the investment; 

(4) Executing a transaction on behalf of a customer
without prior  authorization to do so;

(5) Exercising any discretionary power in effecting
a transaction for a  customer's account without first obtaining
written discretionary authority from the  customer, unless the
discretionary power relates solely to the time and/or price for
the execution of orders; 

(6) Executing any transaction in a margin account
without securing  from the customer a properly executed
written margin agreement promptly after the  initial
transaction in the account;

(7) Failing to segregate and identify customer's
free securities or  securities held in safekeeping;

(8) Hypothecating a customer's securities without
having a lien  thereon unless the broker-dealer secures from
the customer a properly executed  written consent promptly
after the initial transaction, except as permitted by SEC
regulations; 

(9) Entering into a transaction with or for a
customer at a price not  reasonably related to the current
market price of the security or receiving an  unreasonable
commission or profit (commissions or profits equal to 10%
or more of  the price of a security are presumed to be
unreasonable); 

(10) Failing to furnish to a customer purchasing
securities in an  offering, no later than the date of
confirmation of the transaction, either a final  prospectus or a
preliminary prospectus and an additional document, which,
together  with the preliminary prospectus, includes all
information set forth in the final  prospectus; 

(11) Charging unreasonable and inequitable fees for
services  performed, including miscellaneous services such
as collection of monies due for  principal, dividends or
interest, exchange or transfer of securities, appraisals,
safekeeping, or custody of securities and other services
related to its securities  business; 

(12) Charging any fee for which no notice is given
to the customer, and  consent obtained, prior to the event
incurring the fee; 

(13) Offering to buy from or sell to any person any
security at a stated  price, unless such broker-dealer is
prepared to purchase or sell, as the case may be, at  such
price and under such conditions as are stated at the time of
such offer to buy or  sell; 

(14) Representing that a security is being offered to
a customer "at the  market" or a price relevant to the market
price, unless such broker-dealer knows or  has reasonable

grounds to believe that a market for such security exists
other than  that made, created or controlled by such
broker-dealer, or by any person for whom he  is acting or
with whom he is associated in such distribution, or any
person controlled  by, controlling or under common control
with such broker-dealer; 

(15) Effecting any transaction in, or inducing the
purchase or sale of,  any security by means of any
manipulative or deceptive device, practice, plan,  program,
design or contrivance, that may include but not be limited to: 

(i) Effecting any transaction in a security that
involves no  change in the beneficial ownership thereof; 

(ii) Entering an order or orders for the
purchase or sale of any  security with the knowledge that an
order or orders of substantially the same size, at
substantially the same time and substantially the same price,
for the sale of any such  security, has been or will be entered
by or for the same or different parties for the  purpose of
creating a false or misleading appearance of active trading in
the security  or false or misleading appearance with respect
to the market for the security;  provided, however, nothing in
this subparagraph shall prohibit a broker-dealer from
entering bona fide agency cross transactions for its
customers; or 

(iii) Effecting, alone or with one or more other
persons, a series  of transactions in any security creating
actual or apparent active trading in such  security or raising
or depressing the price of such security for the purpose of
inducing the purchase or sale of such security by others; 

(16) Guaranteeing a customer against loss in any
securities account of  such customer carried by the
broker-dealer or in any securities transaction effected  by the
broker-dealer with or for such customer; 

(17) Publishing or circulating or causing to be
published or circulated,  any notice, circular, advertisement,
newspaper article, investment service, or  communication of
any kind that purports to report any transaction as a purchase
or  sale of any security, unless such broker-dealer believes
that such transaction was a  bona fide purchase or sale of
such security; or that purports to quote the bid price or  asked
price for any security, unless such broker-dealer believes
that such quotation  represents a bona-fide bid for, or offer
of, such security; 

(18) Using any advertising or sales presentation in
such a fashion as to  be deceptive or misleading.  An
example of such practice would be a distribution of  any
nonfactual data, material, or presentation based on
conjecture, unfounded or  unrealistic claims or assertions in
a brochure, flyer, or display by words, pictures,  graphs or
otherwise designed to supplement, detract from, supersede
or defeat the  purpose or effect of any prospectus or
disclosure; 

(19) Failing to disclose that the broker-dealer is
controlled by,  controlling, affiliated with or under common
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control with the issuer of any security  before entering into
any contract with or for a customer for the purchase or sale
of  such security, and, if such disclosure is not made in
writing, it shall be supplemented  by the giving or sending of
written disclosure at or before the completion of the
transaction; 

(20) Failing to make a bona fide public offering of
all the securities  allotted to a broker-dealer for distribution,
whether acquired as an underwriter or a  selling group
member, or from a member participating in the distribution
as an  underwriter or selling group member; 

(21) Failing or refusing to furnish a customer, upon
reasonable request,  information to which he is entitled,
including: 

(i) with respect to a security recommended by
the broker-dealer, material information that is reasonably
available; and 

(ii) a written response to any written request
or complaint; 

(22) Making a recommendation that one customer
buy a particular  security and that another customer sell that
security, where the broker-dealer acts as  a principal and
such recommendations are made within a reasonably
contemporaneous time period, unless individual suitability
considerations or  preferences justify the different
recommendations; 

(23) Where the broker-dealer holds itself out as a
market maker in a  particular security, or publicly quotes bid
prices in a particular security, failing to  buy that security
from a customer promptly upon the customer's request to
sell; 

(24) Recommending a security to its customers
without conducting a  reasonable inquiry into the risks of
that investment or communicating those risks to  its agents
and its customers in a reasonably detailed manner and with
such emphasis  as is necessary to make the disclosure
meaningful; 

(25) Representing itself as a financial or investment
planner,  consultant, or adviser, when the representation does
not fairly describe the nature of  the services offered, the
qualifications of the person offering the services, and the
method of compensation for the services; 

(26) Falsifying any record or document or failing to
create or maintain  any required record or documents; 

(27) Violating any ethical standard in the conduct
rules promulgated by  the National Association of Securities
Dealers; or 

(28) Aiding or abetting any of the conduct listed
above. 

(c) Broker-Dealer Agents and Issuer Agents.  For the
purposes of 6 Del. C.  §7316(a)(7), dishonest or unethical
practices by a broker-dealer agent or an issuer  agent shall
include, but not be limited to, the following conduct: 

(1) Engaging in the practice of lending or

borrowing money or  securities from a customer, or acting as
a custodian for money, securities or an  executed stock
power of a customer; 

(2) Effecting securities transactions not recorded
on the regular books  or records of the broker-dealer that the
agent represents, unless the transactions are  authorized in
writing by the broker-dealer prior to execution of the
transaction; 

(3) Establishing or maintaining an account
containing fictitious  information in order to execute
transactions that would otherwise be prohibited; 

(4) Sharing directly or indirectly in profits or
losses in the account of  any customer without the written
authorization of the customer and the broker-dealer  that the
agent represents; 

(5) Dividing or otherwise splitting the agent's
commissions, profits or  other compensation from the
purchase or sale of securities with any person not also
registered as an agent for the same broker-dealer or for a
broker-dealer under direct  or indirect common control; 

(6) Where a recommendation is made that an
unsophisticated customer  purchase an over-the-counter
security that (A) trades sporadically or in small  volume, and
(B) is not traded on any United States securities exchange
(excluding  the Spokane Exchange) or on the NASDAQ
National Market System, failing to  inform the customer that
he may not be able to find a buyer if the customer would
subsequently want to sell the security; 

(7) Where a recommendation is made to purchase
an over-the-counter  security in which the asked price is
greater than the bid by 25 percent or more,  failing to inform
the customer of the bid and the asked prices and of the
significance  of the spread between them should the
customer wish to resell the security; 

(8) Using excessively aggressive or high pressure
sales tactics, such as  repeatedly telephoning and offering
securities to individuals who have expressed  disinterest and
have requested that the calls cease, or using profane or
abusive  language, or calling prospective customers at home
at an unreasonable hour at night  or in the morning; 

(9) Conducting or facilitating securities
transactions outside the scope  of the agent's relationship
with his broker-dealer employer unless he has provided
prompt written notice to his employer; 

(10) Acting or registering as an agent of more than
one broker-dealer  without giving written notification to and
receiving written permission from all such  broker-dealers;
or 

(11) Holding himself out as an objective investment
adviser or  financial consultant without fully disclosing his
financial interest in a recommended  securities transaction at
the time the recommendation is made; 

(12) Engaging in any of the conduct specified in
subparagraph (b)  above; or 
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 7, ISSUE 2, FRIDAY, AUGUST 1, 2003



FINAL REGULATIONS 219
(13) Aiding or abetting any of the conduct listed
above. 

(d) Prohibited practices in connection with investment
company shares. For purposes of 6 Del. C. §7316(a)(7),
unethical practices by a broker-dealer, broker-dealer agent or
issuer agent shall include, but not be limited to, the following
conduct: 

(1) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  failing to adequately disclose
to a customer all sales charges, including asset based  and
contingent deferred sales charges, which may be imposed
with respect to the  purchase, retention or redemption of such
shares; 

(2) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  stating or implying to a
customer, either orally or in writing, that the shares are sold
without a commission, are "no load" or have "no sales
charge" if there is associated  with the purchase of the shares
a front-end loan, a contingent deferred sales load, a  SEC
Rule 12 b-1 fee or a service fee which exceeds.25 percent of
average net  fund assets per year, or in the case of closed-end
investment company shares,  underwriting fees,
commissions or other offering expenses;

(3) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  failing to disclose to a
customer any relevant sales charge discount on  the purchase
of shares in dollar amounts at or above a breakpoint or the
availability  of a letter of intent feature which will reduce the
sales charges to the customer; 

(4) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares, recommending to a customer
the purchase of a specific class of investment company
shares in connection with a multi-class sales charge or fee
arrangement without  reasonable grounds to believe that the
sales charge or fee arrangement associated  with such class
of shares is suitable and appropriate based on the customer's
investment objectives, financial situation and other securities
holdings, and the  associated transaction or other fees; 

(5) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares, recommending to a customer
the purchase of investment company shares which  results in
the customer simultaneously holding shares in different
investment  company portfolios having similar investment
objectives and policies without  reasonable grounds to
believe that such recommendation is suitable and appropriate
based on the customer's investment objectives, financial
situation and other  securities holdings, and any associated
transaction charges or other fees; 

(6) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares, recommending to a customer
the liquidation or redemption of investment company  shares
for the purpose of purchasing shares in a different
investment company  portfolio having similar investment
objectives and policies without reasonable  grounds to

believe that such recommendation is suitable and appropriate
based on the  customer's investment objectives, financial
situation and other securities holdings  and any associated
transaction charges or other fees; 

(7) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  stating or implying to a
customer, either orally or in writing, the fund's current yield
or income without disclosing the fund's most recent average
annual total return,  calculated in a manner prescribed in
SEC Form N-1A, for one, five and ten year  periods and fully
explaining the difference between current yield and total
return;  provided, however, that if the fund's registration
statement under the Securities Act  of 1933 has been in effect
for less than one, five, or ten years, the time during which the
registration statement was in effect shall be substituted for
the periods otherwise  prescribed;

(8) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  stating or implying to a
customer, either orally or in writing, that the investment
performance of an investment company portfolio is
comparable to that of a savings  account, certificate of
deposit or other bank deposit account without disclosing to
the  customer that the shares are not insured or otherwise
guaranteed by the FDIC or any  other government agency
and the relevant differences regarding risk, guarantees,
fluctuation of principal and/or return, and any other factors
which are necessary to ensure that such comparisons are fair,
complete and not misleading; 

(9) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  stating or implying to a
customer, either orally or in writing, the existence of
insurance, credit quality, guarantees or similar features
regarding securities held, or  proposed to be held, in the
investment company's portfolio without disclosing to the
customer other kinds of relevant investment risks, including
but not limited to,  interest rate, market, political, liquidity,
or currency exchange risks, which may  adversely affect
investment performance and result in loss and/or fluctuation
of principal notwithstanding the creditworthiness of such
portfolio securities; 

(10) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  stating or implying to a
customer, either orally or in writing,

(i) that the purchase of  such shares shortly
before an ex-dividend date is advantageous to such customer
unless there are specific, clearly described tax or other
advantages to the customer,  or

(ii) that a distribution of long-term capital
gains by an investment company is part  of the income yield
from an investment in such shares; 

(11) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  making representations to a
customer, either orally or in writing, that the broker-dealer or
agent knows or has reason to know are based in whole or in
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part on  information contained in dealer-use-only material
which has not been approved for  public distribution; or 

(12) Aiding or abetting any of the conduct listed
above. 

(13) In connection with the offer or sale of
investment company shares,  the delivery of a prospectus
shall not be dispositive that the broker-dealer or agent  has
fulfilled the duties set forth in the subparagraphs of this rule. 

(e) The conduct set forth above is not exclusive.
Engaging in other  conduct such as forgery, embezzlement,
theft, exploitation, nondisclosure,  incomplete disclosure or
misstatement of material facts, manipulative or deceptive
practices, or aiding or abetting any unethical practice, shall
be deemed an unethical  business practice and shall also be
grounds for denial, suspension or revocation of  registration.

See 1 DE Reg 1978 (6/1/98)

§610 Examination Requirement
An individual applying to be registered as a broker-

dealer or a broker-dealer agent under the Act must
successfully complete the Uniform Securities Agent State
Law Examination (Series 63 or 66) administered by the
NASD.  The Commissioner may waive the exam
requirement upon good cause shown.

Part G. Investment Advisers and Investment Adviser
Representatives

§700 Registration of Investment Advisors 
(a) A person applying for a license as an investment

adviser in Delaware  shall make application for such license
on Form ADV (Uniform Application for  Investment
Adviser Registration under the Investment Advisers Act of
1940). Amendments to such application shall also be made
on Form ADV. 

(b) The applicant shall file the following items with the
Commissioner:  (i)  the application on Form ADV; (ii) the
fee required by Section 7314 of the Act; (iii)  a balance sheet
prepared in accordance with Schedule G of Form ADV; (iv)
a list of all investment adviser  representatives employed by
the investment adviser; and (v)proof of compliance with
Rule 710 by filing an Investment Adviser Affidavit available
at http://www.state.de.us/securities or by contacting the
Division of Securities; and (vi) such other information as the
Commissioner may reasonably require.

(c) Registration expires at the end of the calendar year.
Any investment  adviser may renew its registration by filing
with the Commissioner an updated Form  ADV, together
with the fee required by Section 7314 of the Act and a list of
all  investment adviser representatives employed by the
investment adviser. 

(d) Every investment adviser must have  at least one
investment  adviser representative registered with the
Commissioner to obtain or to maintain its license as an

investment adviser.  Except for an investment advisor that is
a sole proprietorship or the substantial equivalent, an
investment adviser registered with the Commissioner shall
register with the Commissioner at least one investment
advisor representative.

See 4 DE Reg 510 (9/1/00)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES AND 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, 
Sections 103 and 1902 (7 Del.C. §§103, 1902)

Order No.  2003-f-0039
                                                         

Summary Of Evidence And Information

Horseshoe crabs are a vital component to the estuarine
foodweb and support several important commercial
industries.  Horseshoe crabs are important in the diets of the
federally protected loggerhead sea turtle, and the eggs are a
seasonally important food item in the diets of at least seven
species of commercially and/or recreationally important
finfish species.  Horseshoe crab eggs also are an important
component in the diets of migratory shorebirds using
Delaware Bay, which serves as one of the most important
migratory stopover sites in North America.  The spectacle of
the birds feeding on horseshoe crab eggs supports an
ecotourism industry of regional significance.  In addition,
horseshoe crabs are harvested for the manufacture of
Limulus Amoebocyte Lysate (LAL).  LAL is the worldwide
standard for testing virtually all pharmaceuticals for the
presence of gram negative bacteria.  Horseshoe crabs are
also extensively harvested for use as a primary bait in the
American eel and conch (whelk) pot fisheries and to a lesser
extent in several other fisheries. Although the epicenter of
horseshoe crab spawning and nursery areas is in the
Delaware Bay, the horseshoe crab resource is cooperatively
managed coastwide through the Atlantic States Marine
Fisheries Commission (ASMFC).  The ASMFC has
recognized the particular importance of the Delaware Bay to
horseshoe crabs and migratory shorebirds.  

Horseshoe crabs take 8 - 12 years to reach sexual
maturity.  Current estimates place fecundity at
approximately 88,000 eggs annually.  To place this in
context, weakfish often reach sexual maturity in one year
and a large (22-inch) female may produce 1,700,000 eggs in
a single spawning season. Therefore, failure to adequately
protect the horseshoe crab resource may result in
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consequences not fully realized for a period of 8 - 12 years.
There are several sources of fishery-independent survey

information available for assessing the status of the
horseshoe crab population using the Delaware Bay.  The
Delaware Division of Fish and Wildlife conducts both 30-
foot and 16-foot trawl surveys in the Delaware portion of the
Delaware Estuary.  The Division's 16-foot trawl survey is
used to monitor juvenile horseshoe crab relative abundance.
Juvenile (<160mm) horseshoe crab relative abundance has
declined marginally (P=0.0632) since 1992 and young-of-
the-year relative abundance has generally followed a
declining trend, though not statistically significant.
Horseshoe crab relative abundance in the Division's 30-foot
trawl survey has declined significantly (P=0.0007) relative
to 1990; however, since 1998 when stringent management
measures were adopted, there has been no detectable trend in
horseshoe crab relative abundance.  In addition, the
Delaware Bay horseshoe crab spawning survey indicated
that the index of spawner abundance has been stable since
1999.  These indices are currently the best long-term fishery-
independent surveys available for assessing horseshoe crabs.

Although there is evidence that horseshoe crabs are
stable at a low level of abundance (relative to the early
1990's), there is concern that this stability is not sufficient to
ensure adequate horseshoe crab egg resources are available
for migratory shorebird populations, particularly red knots
(Calidris canutus rufa). Surface horseshoe egg densities at
five of six beaches sampled in Delaware declined in 2002
relative to 2001, with a less than a two percent increase at a
single beach.  Surface egg densities at six beaches sampled
in New Jersey by the Department of Environmental
Protection declined significantly (P < 0.0001) from 2000 to
2002.  Though these surveys are not sufficient to provide a
statistically robust baywide indicator of surface egg
abundance, they do suggest that egg availability has declined
in recent years.  

Of further concern, are indications that the red knot
population has declined in recent years.  Aerial survey data
provided by the New Jersey Department of Environmental
Protection indicate that wintering red knot populations in
Bahia Lomas, Chile declined from 45,705 in 2000 to 20,000
in 2003 and that wintering populations in Chile and
Argentina (combined) declined from 67,496 in 1986 to
29,271 in 2002.  Though it is difficult to establish direct
causal links between these declines and evidence of declines
in horseshoe crab egg availability on Delaware Bay, a more
precautionary management approach is warranted based on
the available information and the risks associated with a
failure to act.   

The Delaware Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control and the New Jersey Department of
Environmental Protection have both agreed to measures that
will increase the availability of horseshoe crab eggs and
allow for the continuance of a reduced commercial fishery.

New Jersey took action in 2003 by Emergency Order to
restrict their harvest to 150,000 horseshoe crabs and to close
the season from May 1 through June 7.  Subsequent to the
expiration of the 60 allowable period for emergency
regulations to remain in effect, New Jersey implemented
these same catch restrictions and closure by the normal
regulatory process.  By taking similar action for the 2004
fishing season, Delaware would be acting in concert with
New Jersey.  Failure to act in a timely manner could result in
long-term negative consequences for horseshoe crabs,
dependant wildlife and dependant industries. 

Findings Of Fact

• Section 103 of 7 Delaware Code entitles the
Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control to promulgate regulations
that it deems necessary for the protection and
conservation of any protected species of wildlife,
including those measures needed to protect
shorebirds.  Section 1902 of 7 Delaware Code also
entitles the Department to pass regulations designed
to provide for the preservation and improvement of
the shellfish resources of this state, including
horseshoe crabs.  

• The Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission’s
(ASMFC’s) Horseshoe Crab Board voted to initiate
development of an addendum to the Horseshoe
Crab Fishery Management Plan that would impose
a harvest cap of 150,000 horseshoe crabs for both
New Jersey and Delaware and include a seasonal
closure on harvesting from May 1 through June 7.

• The ASMFC’s Shorebird Technical Committee
recommended a 66-75% reduction in horseshoe
crab harvest for the states of Delaware, New Jersey,
and Maryland in a risk adverse strategy to ensure
that adequate numbers of spawning horseshoe crabs
are available to meet the bird’s dietary needs for
horseshoe crab eggs.

• The New Jersey Department of Environmental
Resources passed an emergency regulation in the
spring of 2003 to restrict their horseshoe crab
harvest to the agreed upon 150,000 crabs and also
closed their harvesting season from May 1 through
June 7.  Since the expiration of the 60-day
emergency closure period, New Jersey has
implemented more permanent regulations for the
remainder of 2003 and next year.

• Although there is evidence that horseshoe crabs are
stable at a low level of abundance (relative to the
early 1990's), there is concern that this stability is
not sufficient to ensure adequate horseshoe crab
egg resources are available for migratory shorebird
populations, particularly red knots (Calidris
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canutus rufa), or to allow the horseshoe crab
population to rebuild to levels of abundance
observed in the early 1990s.  

Conclusions

I have reached the following conclusions:

• These regulation changes (attached) are necessary
to conserve the horseshoe crab resource and to
benefit the estuarine fishes, marine reptiles and the
shorebirds that utilize horseshoe crab eggs and
early life stages as a food resource.  The rationale
for these regulatory changes are as stated above and
in the Hearing Officer’s Report to the Secretary of
the Department of Natural Resources and
Environmental Control, July 9, 2003.

Order

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, the 15th  day of July,
2003 that the amendments and additions to shellfish
regulation Nos. S-50 through S-61, copies of which are
attached hereto, are adopted pursuant to Sections 103, 1902,
2701, and Chapters 18 and 28 of 7 Delaware Code.

John A. Hughes, Secretary, Department of Natural
Resources And Environmental Control

The following regulations are adopted pursuant to Title 
7, Delaware Code, Chapters 1, 18, 19, 27, and 28.

2S-50 HC-1 Definitions
The following definitions shall apply to terms in

Chapter 27, Title 7, Delaware Code relative to horseshoe
crabs.

1) 'Dispose of said crabs properly' shall mean
bury on the beach, incorporate into soil as fertilizer or any
other method approved by the Department.

2) Personal, non-commercial use' shall mean to be
used as food, fertilizer or bait or otherwise properly disposed
without trading, bartering, or selling by one individual to
another, or without transporting, shipping, or causing to be
transported or shipped, out of state.

3) 'Collect' shall mean to take live horseshoe
crabs by any means other than by dredge.

4) 'Dredge' shall mean to use any device to gather,
scrape, scoop, fish for or otherwise take bottom dwelling
horseshoe crabs.

5) 'Bait saving device' shall mean any device that
when so deployed in or on a pot reduces either the rate at
which bait, meaning horseshoe crabs or parts thereof, must
be replenished or reduces the number or quantity of
horseshoe crabs used as bait.  

HC - 2   Horseshoe Crabs As Bait In Pots; Conch Pots
(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to place more

than one-half of a female  horseshoe crab or one male
horseshoe crab as bait in any type of pot on any one day in
the waters of this State.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to fish with a
conch pot that is not equipped with a bait saving device,
provided that a horseshoe crab or parts thereof are used as
bait.

 
S - 51  HC-3 Seasons And Area Closed To Taking
Horseshoe Crabs With Dredges

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
dredge or attempt to collect or dredge by means of a dredge
horseshoe crabs [or parts thereof] from any state or federal
land owned in fee simple or the tidal waters of this state
during a period beginning at 12:01 am on May 1 and
continuing through midnight, June 30, next ensuing. except
that It shall be lawful for persons with valid horseshoe crab
collecting permits and eel licensees and their alternates may
to collect [adult] horseshoe crabs on Tuesday and Thursday
from state owned lands to the east of state road No. 89 (Port
Mahon Road) from 12:01 a.m. on June 8 and continuing
through midnight on June 30.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
attempt to collect, any horseshoe crabs [or parts thereof]
from any land not owned by the state or federal government
during the period beginning at 12:01 a.m. on May 1 and
continuing through midnight, June 7 30, next ensuing.,
except that  It shall be lawful, during a period beginning at
12:01 a.m. on June 8 and continuing through midnight on
June 30, for persons with valid horseshoe crab collecting
permits and eel licensees and their alternates to may collect
horseshoe crab [adults] on Mondays, Wednesdays and
Fridays from such private lands.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
attempt to collect any horseshoe crabs from any land not
owned by the State or federal government unless said person
has on his or her person written permission, signed by the
owner of said land with the owner's address and phone
number, indicating the individual to whom permission to
collect horseshoe crabs is granted.

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
dredge or to attempt to collect or dredge horseshoe crabs at
any time prior to May 1 in any given year after during a
calendar year after 35% of the annual quota of the date the
Department determines the annual quota of horseshoe crabs
are, approved for Delaware by the Atlantic States Marine
Fisheries Commission, is landed."

S-52  HC-4 Requirement For Collecting Horseshoe
Crabs For Persons Under 16

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
horseshoe crab collecting permit to collect any horseshoe
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crabs as an alternate to a person with a valid commercial eel
fishing license.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person under the age of
sixteen (16) years to possess more than six (6) any horseshoe
crabs unless accompanied by a person who has been issued a
valid horseshoe crab scientific collecting, commercial
collecting or dredge permit.

S-53 HC-5 Number Of Persons Accompanying A
Person With A Valid Horseshoe Crab Collecting Permit

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
horseshoe crab commercial collecting permit when
collecting horseshoe crabs to be assisted by more than three
(3) persons under the age of 16 who are not required to have
valid horseshoe crab commercial collecting permits.

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person 16 years of age
or older who does not have a valid commercial horseshoe
crab collecting permit, to assist any person with a valid
commercial horseshoe crab collecting permit in the
handling, loading or driving a vehicle used to transport
horseshoe crabs collected by said horseshoe crab collecting
permittee while within 300 feet of the shoreline of the water
from which said horseshoe crabs are collected or the point on
shore where said horseshoe crabs are landed from a vessel.

S-54 HC-6 Possession Limit Of Horseshoe Crabs, 
Exceptions

(a) Unless otherwise authorized, it shall be unlawful
for any person to possess more than six (6) a horseshoe
crabs, except a person with a validated receipt from a person
with a valid horseshoe crab commercial collecting or dredge
permit for the number of horseshoe crabs in said person's
possession.  A receipt shall contain the name, address and
signature of the supplier, the date and the number of
horseshoe crabs obtained.

(b) Any person who has been issued a valid
commercial eel fishing license by the Department or said
person's alternate while in the presence of the licensee, is
exempt from the prohibition on the possession limit of six
(6) horseshoe crabs, provided said commercial eel fishing
licensee has submitted all required reports of his/her and his/
her alternate's previous week's harvest of horseshoe crabs
with the Department in accordance with S-57 HC-10.  Any
person who has been issued a commercial eel fishing license
and said person's alternate while in the presence of the
licensee, may collect horseshoe crabs by hand without a
horseshoe crab commercial collecting permit provided all
horseshoe crabs taken are for personal, non-commercial use,
as bait for the licensee's eel pots fished in this state.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license to be assisted in collecting
horseshoe crabs by any person who is not listed on his
commercial eel fishing license as the alternate.

(d) Any person with both a valid commercial eel

fishing license and a valid    commercial horseshoe crab
collecting permit shall be considered as a commercial
horseshoe crab collecting permittee for purposes of
enforcing the provisions of chapter 27, 7 Del. C. Chapter 27
and/or shellfish regulations pertaining to horseshoe crabs.

(e) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license to commingle any horseshoe
crabs collected either by said commercial eel fishing licensee
or by his or her alternate with horseshoe crabs either
collected by a person with a valid horseshoe crab dredge
permit or by a person with a valid commercial horseshoe
crab collecting permit.

(f) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
horseshoe crab dredge permit or with a valid commercial
horseshoe crab collecting permit to commingle any
horseshoe crab dredged or collected by said horseshoe crab
dredge permittee or horseshoe crab collecting permittee with
horseshoe crabs collected by any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license.

(g) It shall be unlawful for any person to possess more
than 300 cubic feet of horseshoe crabs except in a stationary
cold storage or freezer facility.

(h) It shall be unlawful for any person to collect or
attempt to collect more than 300 cubic feet of horseshoe
crabs during any 24 hour period beginning at 12:01 AM and
continuing through midnight next ensuing.

S-55 HC-7 Horseshoe Crab Dredging Restrictions
(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to dredge

horseshoe crabs in the area in Delaware Bay designated as
leased Sshellfish grounds except on one's own leased
shellfish grounds or with permission from the owner of
leased shellfish grounds.  The area in Delaware Bay
designated as leased shellfish grounds is within the
boundaries that delineate leasable shellfish grounds and is
described as follows:  Starting at a point on the "East Line"
in Delaware at Loran-C coordinates 27314.50/42894.25 and
continuing due east to a point at Loran-C coordinates
27294.08/42895.60 and then 27270.80/42852.83 and then
continuing southwest to a point at Loran-C coordinates
27281.31/42803.48 and then continuing west to a point at
Loran-C coordinates 27280.75/42795.50 and then in a
northerly direction on a line 1000' offshore, coterminous
with the existing shoreline to the point of beginning on the
"East Line."

(b) It shall be unlawful for any person, who operates a
vessel and has on board said vessel a dredge of any kind, to
have on board or to land more than 1500 horseshoe crabs
during any 24 hour period beginning at 12:01 a.m. and
continuing through midnight next ensuing.

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person, who operates a
vessel and has on board said vessel a dredge of any kind, to
have or possess on board said vessel any       horseshoe crabs
at any time during the period beginning 12:01 a.m. on May 1
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and continuing through midnight, June 30, next ensuing.
(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to land

horseshoe crabs taken from the Exclusive Economic Zone
unless said person has a valid horseshoe crab dredge permit."

S-55-A HC-8  Horseshoe Crab Dredge Permit Lottery
(a) The Department of Natural Resources and

Environmental Control shall hold an annual lottery to select
eligible individuals for the five horseshoe crab dredge
permits authorized to be issued each year if more than five
applications are received by the Department.  Applications
for an annual commercial horseshoe crab permit shall be
accepted by the Department until 4:30 PM December 31 or
4:30 PM on the Friday preceding if December 31 is a
Saturday or Sunday.  If an annual lottery is necessary it shall
be conducted at 1:00 PM on January 1, or the first work day
thereafter, in the Richardson and Robbins Building, 89
Kings Highway, Dover, Delaware."

(b) To be eligible an applicant for a horseshoe crab
dredge permit shall be the current holder of and  oyster
harvesting license issued by the Department."

Note:  This regulation was adopted by order of the Secretary
on March 4, 1997, as "S-55."  However, with the adoption of
a second S-55 ("Horseshoe Crab Dredging Restrictions") on
February 11, 1998, this regulation has been designated as "S-
55-A.

S-56 HC-9 Horseshoe Crab Sanctuaries
(a) All state and federal lands owned in fee simple are

horseshoe crab sanctuaries during the period beginning
12:01 a.m. on May 1 through midnight June 30.

(b) Any land owner(s) may register their land with the
Department to be designated as a horseshoe crab sanctuary
for a period to be specified by the land owner(s).

(c) It shall be unlawful to collect any horseshoe crabs
at any time from a horseshoe crab sanctuary except as
provided in S-51  HC-3 (a)." 

S-57 HC-10 Horseshoe Crab Reporting
Requirements

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person who has been
issued a horseshoe crab dredge permit, a horseshoe crab
commercial collecting permit or a commercial eel pot license
to not report his/her harvest of horseshoe crabs to the
Department on a weekly basis.  Said weekly reports shall not
be required to be submitted to the Department during any
month said person indicates previously in writing to the
Department that he/she will not be harvesting horseshoe
crabs.  Any person required to submit a weekly report on his/
her harvest of horseshoe crabs to the Department shall
submit said report on or before 4:30PM on the Monday
following the week covered by said report.  If Monday is a
legal State holiday, said report shall be submitted on or

before 4:30PM on Tuesday, next ensuing.  For purposes of
this section, a week shall commence at 12:01AM on Monday
and conclude at midnight on Sunday, next ensuing.  Said
report shall include but not be limited to said person's unique
identification number assigned by the Department, the dates
and location horseshoe crabs were harvested, the number
and sex of horseshoe crabs harvested and the method of
harvest of horseshoe crabs.  Said report shall be submitted to
the Department by telephone by calling a phone number,
dedicated by the Department for the reporting of harvested
horseshoe crabs, and entering the required data by code or
voice as indicated.

(b) Any person who fails to submit a weekly report on
his/her harvest of horseshoe crabs to the Department on time
shall have his/her permit to dredge or his/her permit or
authority to collect horseshoe crabs suspended until all
delinquent reports on harvested horseshoe crabs are received
by the Department."

(c) In addition to the requirement to phone in weekly
catch reports, horseshoe crab collectors and harvesters and
commercial eel fishermen are required to compile and file
monthly log sheets detailing daily landings of horseshoe
crabs on forms supplied by the Department.  These forms
must be submitted by the 10th day of the month next
ensuing.  Failure to submit these monthly reports on a timely
basis may be cause for horseshoe crab collecting or
horseshoe crab dredge permit revocation or non-renewal of
said permit the following year; or in the case of a
commercial eel licensee, forfeiture of permission to possess
or use horseshoe crabs as bait for the remainder of the year.

S-59 HC-11 Horseshoe Crab Commercial Collecting
Permit Eligibility And Renewal Requirements

(a) The Department may only issue a horseshoe crab
commercial collecting  permit to a person who makes
application for such a permit in calendar year 1998, and who,
prior to July 1,  1997, had applied for and secured from the
Department at least 2 valid horseshoe crab commercial
collecting permits.  Any person holding a horseshoe crab
commercial collecting permit in 1998 may apply for renewal
of their horseshoe crab commercial collecting permit by
April 1 each year.  Failure of  If any person holding a
horseshoe crab commercial collecting  permit from the
previous year fails to apply for renewal of their horseshoe
crab commercial collecting permit by April 1, will limit they
forfeit  their eligibility to obtain a horseshoe crab
commercial collecting permit in the future. in the lottery
process of subsection (b).

(b)  When the total number of horseshoe crab
commercial collecting permits drops to 45 or below, as of
April 2 of any year, the Department may schedule a lottery to
take place prior to April 30 of that year to allow the total
number of horseshoe crab commercial collecting permits to
increase to 50."
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S-60 HC-12 Prohibitions; Sale Of Horseshoe Crabs
(a) It shall be unlawful for any person who collects or

dredges horseshoe crabs, except a person with a valid
horseshoe crab commercial collecting permit or a person
with a valid horseshoe crab dredge permit, to sell, trade and/
or barter or to attempt to sell, trade and/or barter any
horseshoe crab."

S-61 HC-13 Collecting Horseshoe Crabs At Night,
Prohibited

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person with a valid
commercial eel fishing license to collect horseshoe crabs
between sunset and sunrise."

S-62 HC-14 Horseshoe Crab Annual Harvest Limit
(a) The annual harvest limit for horseshoe crabs taken

and/or landed in the State shall be 150,000 or whatever the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission has approved
as Delaware's current annual quota, whichever number is
less.

(b) When the Department has determined that the
annual horseshoe crab quota has been met, the Department
shall order the horseshoe crab fishery closed and no further
horseshoe crabs may be taken during the remainder of the
calendar year.
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES

 Rehabilitative Services/Community Support Services 
Program

Nature Of The Proceedings:

Delaware Health and Social Services (“Department”) /
Division of Social Services initiated proceedings to amend
the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan.  Pursuant to the notice
requirements of 42 CFR 447.205, the Department publishes
this notice of proposed changes in methods and standards for
establishing payment rates for the Rehabilitative Services/
Community Support Services Program under the Delaware
Medicaid/Medical Assistance Program (DMAP).  The
Department’s proceedings to amend its regulations were
initiated pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section 10114 and
its authority as prescribed by 31 Delaware Code Section 512.

The Department published its notice of proposed
regulation changes pursuant to 29 Delaware Code Section
10115 in the June 2003 Delaware Register of Regulations,
requiring written materials and suggestions from the public
concerning the proposed regulations to be produced by June
30, 2003 at which time the Department would receive
information, factual evidence and public comment to the
said proposed changes to the regulations.

No comments were received during the public comment
period.

Summary Of Proposed Changes

• Division name change: DADAMH to the Division
of Substance Abuse and Mental Health (DSAMH);

• Add Rehabilitative Services Assistant to the list of
staff qualified to provide support services;

• Psychosocial rehabilitative therapy will be provided
in 4-hour blocks, instead of 5-hour blocks;

• Residential Rehabilitation Services facilities shall
be required to comply with all applicable facility
licensing requirements; 

• Delete from the list of limitations on services, the
following: 1) minimum of one face-to-face clinical
contact per week; 2) clients treated with psychotro-
pic drugs must be evaluated monthly face-to-face
by a physician; and 3) component services may not
be subcontracted to independent provider organiza-
tions.

• Allows DSAMH to move to uniform daily rates for
the services; essentially, from a fee-for-service to a
monthly case rate (per member per month for each
client who received a service during that month).

Findings Of Fact:

The Department finds that the proposed changes, as set
forth in the June 2003 Register of Regulations should be
adopted.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that the proposed
regulation to amend the Title XIX Medicaid State Plan
regarding the Rehabilitative Services/Community Support
Services Program is adopted and shall be final effective
August 10, 2003.

Karryl McManus  for Vincent P. Meconi, Secretary, DHSS 
7.15.03

Attachment 3.1-A
Page 6a

State: DELAWARE

LIMITATIONS ON REHABILITATIVE SERVICES

13d. Rehabilitative Services:
Rehabilitative Services are limited to: 1) community

support services for individuals who would benefit from
services designed for or associated with mental illness,
alcoholism or drug dependence, excluding those services of
an educational or vocational nature; and 2) day health and
rehabilitation services for individuals who would benefit
from services designed for or associated with the treatment
of mental retardation or developmental disabilities.

1) Community Support Services

ELIGIBLE PROVIDERS
Providers are organizations certified by the

Division of Alcoholism, Drug Substance Abuse and Mental
Health (Division) in accordance with the Delaware Medical
Assistance Program Medicaid Provider Manual for
Rehabilitative/Community Support Service Programs.

DEFINITION OF COMMUNITY SUPPORT
SERVICES

Community support services are medically
related treatment, rehabilitative and support services
provided through self-contained programs by teams of
clinicians, associate clinicians and assistant clinicians under
the supervision of a physician.

FREQUENCY, DURATION AND SCOPE
Community support services are provided, as

medically necessary subject to the limitations of the state
plan, to assist eligible persons cope with the symptoms of
their illnesses, minimize the effects of their disabilities on
their capacity for independent living and prevent or limit
periods of hospital treatment.
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Eligible recipients are Medicaid recipients who
would benefit from services designed for or associated with
mental illness, alcoholism or drug addiction.  The provider's
physician must certify medical necessity for community
support services based on a completed comprehensive
medical/psycho-social evaluation.

QUALIFIED STAFF
Community support programs may bill

Medicaid for community support services only when
authorized as medically necessary by a physician and
delivered by qualified staff.  Services rendered by any
qualified staff other than a physician must be provided under
a physician's supervision as defined in the Medicaid Provider
Manual for Rehabilitative/Community Support Service
Programs.  Component community service activities require
specific staff qualifications as defined in the Medicaid
Provider Manual for Rehabilitative/Community Support
Service Programs.  Following are illustrative definitions of
staff listed as qualified to provide one or more community
support service activities.

1. Physician:  a person with a Medical
Degree or Doctor of Osteopathy degree, who is licensed to
practice Medicine in Delaware and has completed (or is
enrolled in) an accredited residency training program in
psychiatry, internal medicine or family practice.

2. Clinician:  a person with a doctoral or
master's degree in psychology, social work, nursing,
rehabilitation or counseling from an accredited college or
university (or a registered nurse with a certificate in mental
health nursing from the American Nurses Association).

3. Associate Clinician: a person with a
bachelor's degree in a human service field or a registered
nurse.

4. Assistant Clinician: a person with an
associate degree, a licensed practical nurse or a certified
counselor lacking the academic credentials of an associate
clinician.

5. Rehabilitative Services Assistant: a person
with a high school diploma or GED who has received
documented training that shall, at a minimum, include: 1) a
complete course in medications used in the treatment used in
the treatment of mental illness including side effects
assigned; 2) a course in mental illness including symptoms
of the major mental illnesses, mood and personality
disorders; 3) a course in first aid, including CPR training.

A clinician with clinical/administrative
experience in provision of community support services
serves as program coordinator.  A physician serves as
clinical supervisor, providing direct supervision of the
aspects of the program that relate to client treatment and
providing clinical supervision of staff.  The physician is
available full- or part-time at provider sites to provide direct
service, to provide direct supervision to other staff, and to

participate in assessment of client needs and planning of
service provision.  The physician has 24-hour backup
arrangements with other physicians for coverage when he/
she is unavailable.

COVERED SERVICES
Enrolled providers may bill Medicaid for

community support services when one or more of the
following community support service activities are rendered
to eligible recipients by qualified staff:

Comprehensive Medical/Psychosocial
Evaluation: A multi-functional assessment of the client
conducted by a physician (psychiatrist, internist or family
practitioner), and clinicians under the supervision of the
physician, to establish the medical necessity of provision of
services by the community support service provider and to
formulate a treatment plan.

The comprehensive medical/psychosocial
evaluation will be conducted with 30 days of admission to
the program and at least annually thereafter.  It must be
documented in the client's record on forms approved by the
Division.

The comprehensive medical/psychosocial
evaluation will include the following assessments: 1) extent
and effects of drug and/or alcohol use; 2) medical systems
survey; 3) medication history; 4) psychiatric history and
mental status examination; 5) social history/update; 6)
quality of life inventory; 7) social skills and daily living
skills assessment; 8) diagnosis on all axes in accordance with
DSM-III-R criteria; and 9) clinical risk factors.  The
evaluation will also include the formulation and review with
the client of an individual treatment plan.

Physician Services: Services provided within
the scope of practice of medicine or osteopathy as defined by
State law and by or under the personal supervision of an
individual licensed under State law to practice medicine or
osteopathy.

In the context of community support service
programs, physician services refer to medical or psychiatric
assessment, treatment, and prescription of pharmacotherapy.
Medical and psychiatric nursing services including
components of physical assessment, medication assessment
and medication administration provided by registered nurses
and licensed practical nurses are provided under personal
supervision of the physician.

Emergency Services: Therapy performed in a
direct and face-to-face involvement with the client available
on a 24-hour basis to respond to a psychiatric or other
medical condition which threatens to cause the admission of
the client to a hospital, detoxification or other crisis facility.
Emergency services are provided by a physician, clinician,
or associate clinician or rehabilitative services assistant.

Counseling and Psychotherapy: Counseling is
supportive psychotherapy performed as needed in a direct
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and face-to-face involvement with the client available on a
24-hour basis to listen to, interpret and respond to the client's
expression of her/his physical, emotional and/or cognitive
functioning or problems.  It is provided within the context of
the goals of the program's clinical intervention as stated in
the client's treatment plan.  Its purpose is to help the client
achieve and maintain psychiatric and/or drug/alcohol-free
stability.  Its broader purpose is to help clients improve their
physical and emotional health and to cope with and gain
control over the symptoms of their illnesses and effects of
their disabilities.  Counseling is provided by physicians,
clinicians, associate clinicians and assistant clinicians who
are credentialed counselors or learning and practicing under
direct supervision by a credentialed clinician.

In addition to supportive psychotherapy there
are several highly specific modalities of psychotherapy, each
based on an empirically valid body of knowledge about
human behavior.  Provision of each requires specific
credentials.  Although the nature of the client's needs and the
specific modality of therapy determine its duration,
psychotherapy has circumscribed goals, a definite schedule
and a finite duration.  Examples include: psychodynamic
therapy, psychoeducational therapy, multi-family group
therapy, and cognitive therapy.  The assessments, treatment
plans and progress notes in client records must justify,
specify and document the initiation, frequency, duration and
progress of such specialized modalities of psychotherapy.

Psychotherapy may be provided by physicians
and clinicians who are credentialed in specific modalities or
learning and practicing under the supervision of one who is
credentialed.

Psychiatric Rehabilitative Services:
Rehabilitative therapy provided on an individual and small
group basis to assist the client to gain or relearn skills needed
to live independently and sustain medical/psychiatric
stability.  Psychiatric rehabilitation is provided primarily in
home and community based settings where skills must be
practiced.  Psychiatric rehabilitative services are provided by
a physician, clinician, associate clinician, or assistant
clinician or rehabilitative services assistant.

Psychosocial Rehabilitation Center Services:
Facility based, group rehabilitative therapy for clients who
can not be adequately served through only individualized
home and community based psychiatric rehabilitative
services.  Psychosocial rehabilitative therapy is provided to
assist the client to gain or relearn skills needed to live
independently and sustain medical / psychiatric stability.
Therapy is provided in 5 4-hour blocks for up to five days
per week at a psychosocial rehabilitation center facility.
Services are provided by a physician, clinician, associate
clinician, or assistant clinician or rehabilitative services
assistant.

Residential Rehabilitation Services: Facility-
based, 24-hour rehabilitative therapy for clients who can not

be adequately served through psychosocial rehabilitation
center and/or individualized home and community based
psychiatric rehabilitative services.  Residential rehabilitation
services are provided to assist the client to gain or relearn
skills needed to live independently and sustain medical /
psychosocial stability.  Residential Rehabilitation Services
are provided in a licensed mental health group home or a
licensed alcoholism and drug abuse residential treatment
program facilities shall be required to comply with all
applicable facility licensing requirements.  Services are
provided by a physician, clinician, associate clinician, or
assistant clinician or rehabilitative services assistant.

Services must be authorized by a physician's
determination of medical necessity, must be supported by an
individual treatment plan signed by the physician and must
be supervised by a physician in a manner prescribed by the
Medicaid Provider Manual for Rehabilitative / Community
Support Service Programs.

LIMITATIONS
Services provided beyond 60 days following

entry to the program, or the anniversary date of entry to the
program, without completion of a comprehensive medical
and psychosocial assessment, treatment plan and physician's
certification of medical necessity are not reimbursable.
Psychosocial rehabilitation center services must be re-
certified by the program physician every six months.

Vocational counseling, vocational training at a
classroom or job site, academic/remedial educational
services and services which are solely recreational in nature
are not reimbursable by Medicaid.

Services must be provided in accordance with
the Medicaid Provider Manual.

Providers must attempt to provide each client a
minimum of one face-to-face clinical contact per week.

Services provided in an institution for mental
diseases are not reimbursable.

Clients who are treated with psychotropic
medication must be evaluated monthly face-to-face by a
physician.

Component services of community support
service programs may not be sub-contracted to independent
provider organizations.

Room and board services are not coverable.

Attachment 4.19-B
Page 4

Reimbursement  Methodologies for Rehabilitative Services:

1) Community Support Service Programs
General Provisions:

Payment for community support services is based
on a fee for service, the rates for which are calculated on a
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prospective basis for each fiscal year.  Rates exclude costs
related to room and board.  Rates are based on the provider's
budget, projected census of active clients and productivity
standards of billable staff time.  Rates are based on each
provider's projected operating expenses, and thus may vary
from provider to provider.  For each provider, a single rate
will be paid for all service units, with the exception of
Psychosocial Rehabilitation Center and Residential
Rehabilitation Service units, the rates for which shall be
separately determined.  These expenses are costs which are
allowable and reasonable as defined within the Division of
Alcoholism, Drug Abuse and Mental Health (DADAMH)
Provider Reimbursement Manual.  Prospective costs are the
costs reported in each provider's annual budget submitted to
DADAMH in accordance with the Division's prescribed
methodology.  Each provider's prospective budget and rate
per unit of community support service is subject to approval
by DADAMH.  A rate setting committee (including
representatives of the Department of Health and Social
Services' Divisions of Social Services and Management
Services) recommends the rates to be established for each
provider by DADAMH.  Providers are required to submit
quarterly cost/expenditure reports against the prospective
rate-setting budget.

Reimbursement Methodology for Community Support
Services

Rates for Community Support Services as defined in
Attachment 3.1-A will be established by a rate setting
committee composed of representatives of various Divisions
of the Delaware Department of Health and Social Services,
including the Division of Social Services (DSS), the
Division of Management Services, and the Division of
Substance Abuse and Mental Health.

Rates for all services with the exception of Psychosocial
Rehabilitation Center Services and Residential
Rehabilitation Services are to be set initially and for three
subsequent fiscal years based upon a trend analysis of
Medicaid expenditures for individualized home and
community based Community Support Services during the
base period of SFY 2000 through SFY 2002 and adjusted
thereafter by the rate setting committee. 

Rates for Psychosocial Rehabilitation Center Services
and Residential Rehabilitation Services are provider specific
and are calculated by determining the total costs for each
provider of the respective services, including cost of services
to all clients regardless of Medicaid eligibility.

New Programs:
New providers will submit projected costs of services.

The rate setting committee will compare the provider's
proposed budget against a statewide model budget to
determine the reasonableness of various cost components.
The prospective rate for providers of new community

support service programs (other than Psychosocial
Rehabilitation Centers and Residential Rehabilitation) will
be initially set based on anticipated 40 percent utilization of
budgeted billable units in the first year, 70 percent in the
second year, 90 percent in the third year and 100 percent in
the fourth and successive years.  Psychosocial Rehabilitation
Center services will be initially set based on anticipated 90
percent utilization of budgeted billable units in the first year,
and 100 percent in the second and successive years.
Residential Rehabilitation services will be established based
on an anticipated ongoing occupancy rate of 90 percent.
Rates for new providers will be set and reviewed semi-
annually during the implementation years for each.  Actual
provider utilization of budgeted billable units will be
monitored.  A significant upward variation from that upon
which the rate was initially set will prompt a prospective
mid-year rate adjustment commensurately based upon
utilization during the previous period.
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Regulations

The Department proposes these amendments to the
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund Regulations pursuant to 29
Del.C. §4815(b)(3)b.2.D and 29 Del.C. §8103(8). Its
purpose in proposing these amendments is to comply with
Delaware Harness Racing Commission Rules, to make the
program language more specific under certain racing
conditions, to promote fairness, and to allow the races to be
contested within the normal racing card at Harrington
Raceway and Dover Downs. These proposed amendments to
the regulations will be considered at a public hearing
scheduled for Friday, September 5, 2003 at 1:00 P.M. at the
Delaware Department of Agriculture Building in Conference
Room 1. Copies of the proposed amendments may be
obtained from Ms. Judy Davis-Wilson, Director, Delaware
Standardbred Breeder’s Fund by calling (302) 698-4610.
Public comments may be submitted in writing to Ms. Davis-
Wilson on or before September 5, 2003. Also, written
submissions and/or oral comments are welcomed at the
public hearing. The Delaware Department of Agriculture is
located at 2320 South DuPont Highway, Dover, Delaware.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The State Board of Education will hold its monthly meeting
on Thursday, august 21, 2003 at 1:00 p.m. in the Townsend
Building, Dover, Delaware.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND 
SOCIAL SERVICES

DIVISION OF LONG TERM CARE RESIDENTS 
PROTECTION

PUBLIC NOTICE

Neighborhood Homes for Persons with Developmental 
Disabilities

     The Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS),
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
(DLTCRP), has drafted regulations replacing in their entirety
regulations pertaining to Neighborhood Homes.  In addition
to replacing regulations currently enforced by DLTCRP,
these regulations incorporate Certification Standards
enforced by the Division of Developmental Disabilities

Services (DDDS), but not previously promulgated as
regulations.  These proposed regulations also replace the
DDDS Certification Standards in their entirety.  The
proposed regulations address provisions required of
Neighborhood Homes including general licensing
requirements, provider performance standards, services
required for persons residing in Neighborhood Homes,
environmental, medical, transportation, and safety standards.
     These regulations were the subject of public hearings on
July 1 and July 2, 2003.  Some comments received during
those public hearings have led to revisions in the proposed
regulations, and those revisions are incorporated in the
accompanying regulations.  Other comments received at the
July public hearings will be discussed in the summary of
evidence when the final order is issued.

Invitation For Public Comment

Public hearings will be held as follows:

Wednesday, September 3, 2003, 9:00 AM 
Room 301, Main Building
Herman Holloway Campus
1901 North DuPont Highway
New Castle

Thursday, September 4, 2003,  10:00 AM
Department of Natural Resources &

Environmental Control Auditorium
89 Kings Highway
Dover

For clarification or directions, please call Gina
Loughery at 302-577-6661.

Written comments are invited on these proposed
regulations and should be sent to:

Katie McMillan
Division of Long Term Care Residents Protection
3 Mill Road, Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806

Written comments will be accepted until the conclusion
of the September 4 public hearing. 
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DIVISION OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

PUBLIC NOTICE

Food Stamp Program 

In compliance with the State's Administrative
Procedures Act (APA - Title 29, Chapter 101 of the
Delaware Code) and under the authority of Title 31 of the
Delaware Code, Section 107, Delaware Health and Social
Services (DHSS) / Division of Social Services / Medicaid/
Medical Assistance Program is proposing to amend the
policy of the Food Stamp Program in the Division of Social
Services Manual (DSSM).  The proposed changes address
exempt aliens and reporting changes and are effective
October 1, 2003.

Any person who wishes to make written suggestions,
compilations of data, testimony, briefs or other written
materials concerning the proposed new regulations must
submit same to Sharon L. Summers, Policy and Program
Implementation Unit, Division of Social Services, P.O. Box
906, New Castle, Delaware by August 31, 2003.

The action concerning the determination of whether to
adopt the proposed regulation will be based upon the results
of Department and Division staff analysis and the
consideration of the comments and written materials filed by
other interested persons.

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

Pursuant to the Authority granted to the Department of
Labor under 29 Del.C. §8503(7), the Department is
proposing an amendment to regulations under 29 Del.C.
§6960, “Prevailing Wage Requirements”.  Interested parties
are invited to present their views at the public hearing which
is scheduled for:

9:00 a.m., Thursday, August 21, 2003,
Division of Motor Vehicles,
2nd Floor Conference Room,
Public Safety Building,
303 Transportation Circle,
Dover, DE  19901.

Interested parties can obtain copies of the proposed
amendments at no charge by contacting the Office of Labor
Law Enforcement at:

4425 North Market Street
Wilmington, DE  19802
or by telephone at (302) 761-8318.
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