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DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

The Delaware Register of Regulations is an official State publication established by authority of 69 Del.
Laws, c. 107 and is published on the first of each month throughout the year.

The Delaware Register will publish any regulations that are proposed to be adopted, amended or repealed
and any emergency regulations promulgated.

The Register will also publish some or all of the following information:

• Governor’s Executive Orders
• Governor’s Appointments
• Agency Hearing and Meeting Notices
• Other documents considered to be in the public interest.

CITATION TO THE DELAWARE REGISTER

The Delaware Register of Regulations is cited by volume, issue, page number and date. An example
would be:

19 DE Reg. 1100 (06/01/16)

Refers to Volume 19, page 1100 of the Delaware Register issued on June 1, 2016.

SUBSCRIPTION INFORMATION

The cost of a yearly subscription (12 issues) for the Delaware Register of Regulations is $135.00. Single
copies are available at a cost of $12.00 per issue, including postage. For more information contact the Division of
Research at 302-744-4114 or 1-800-282-8545 in Delaware.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION IN THE REGULATORY PROCESS

Delaware citizens and other interested parties may participate in the process by which administrative
regulations are adopted, amended or repealed, and may initiate the process by which the validity and applicability
of regulations is determined.

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation,
it shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 27, ISSUE 10, MONDAY, APRIL 1, 2024



INFORMATION ABOUT THE DELAWARE                 
REGISTER OF REGULATIONS

705
The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt, within the time allowed,
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.

Any person aggrieved by and claiming the unlawfulness of any regulation may bring an action in the Court
for declaratory relief.

No action of an agency with respect to the making or consideration of a proposed adoption, amendment or
repeal of a regulation shall be subject to review until final agency action on the proposal has been taken.

When any regulation is the subject of an enforcement action in the Court, the lawfulness of such regulation
may be reviewed by the Court as a defense in the action.

Except as provided in the preceding section, no judicial review of a regulation is available unless a
complaint therefor is filed in the Court within 30 days of the day the agency order with respect to the regulation was
published in the Register of Regulations.
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The table printed below lists the regulations that have been proposed, adopted, amended or repealed in
the preceding issues of the current volume of the Delaware Register of Regulations.

The regulations are listed alphabetically by the promulgating agency, followed by a citation to that issue of
the Register in which the regulation was published. Proposed regulations are designated with (Prop.); Final
regulations are designated with (Final); Emergency regulations are designated with (Emer.); and regulations
that have been repealed are designated with (Rep.).
DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
709 Fire Service Standards......................................................................................    27 DE Reg.470(Prop.)
710 Ambulance Service Regulations........................................................................    27 DE Reg.566(Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Office of the Secretary

806 Regulations for Invasive Plants...................................................................    27 DE Reg. 80 (Prop.)
Thoroughbred Racing Commission

1001 Thoroughbred Racing Rules and Regulations..........................................    27 DE Reg. 10 (Prop.)
 27 DE Reg.153 (Final)

   27 DE Reg.644(Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
Office of the Secretary

105 Residential Child Care Facilities and Day Treatment Programs.................    27 DE Reg. 82 (Prop.)
106A Teacher Appraisal Process 

Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) Revised.....................    27 DE Reg. 99 (Final)
107A Specialist Appraisal Process 

Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II) Revised.....................  27 DE Reg.101 (Final)
108A Administrator Appraisal Process 

Delaware Performance Appraisal System (DPAS II)...................................    27 DE Reg.102 (Final)
235 Teacher of the Year Award..........................................................................    27 DE Reg. 84 (Prop.)
275 Charter Schools..........................................................................................    27 DE Reg.103 (Final)
415 Voluntary School Assessments...................................................................    27 DE Reg. 515(Final)
501 State Content Standards.............................................................................    27 DE Reg. 516(Final)
502 Alignment of Local School District Curricula to the State Content Standards      27 DE Reg. 518(Final)
503 Instructional Program Requirements...........................................................    27 DE Reg. 519(Final)
608 Unsafe School Choice Option Policy..........................................................    27 DE Reg.471(Prop.)

   27 DE Reg.669(Final)
805 The School Health Tuberculosis (TB) Control Program..............................    27 DE Reg.645(Prop.)
901 Dispute Resolution Process for Educational Placement for Children and 

Youth Experiencing Homelessness ............................................................    27 DE Reg.137(Prop.)
902 Gifted or Talented Education Plan...............................................................    27 DE Reg.672(Final)
910 Delaware Requirements for Issuance of the Secondary Credential...........    27 DE Reg. 520(Final)
922 Children with Disabilities Subpart A, Purposes and Definitions..................    27 DE Reg.474(Prop.)
923 Children with Disabilities Subpart B General Duties and Eligibility of Agencies   27 DE Reg.476(Prop.)
925 Children with Disabilities Subpart D, Evaluations, Eligibility Determination,

Individualized Education Programs.............................................................    27 DE Reg.477(Prop.)
1001 Participation in Extra Curricular Activities.................................................  27 DE Reg. 522(Final)
1021 DIAA Committees......................................................................................  27 DE Reg.154 (Final)

 27 DE Reg. 523(Final)
1040 Out-of-Season and Summer Athletic Activities and Contact.....................    27 DE Reg.479(Prop.)
1043 Officials.....................................................................................................  27 DE Reg.158 (Final)
1213 Speech-Language Pathologist Student Loan Repayment Program..........    27 DE Reg. 11 (Prop.)

 27 DE Reg.159 (Final)
1215 High Needs Educator Student Loan Payment Program............................    27 DE Reg. 14 (Prop.)
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   27 DE Reg.162 (Final)
1216 Educator Support Scholarship Program...................................................    27 DE Reg. 18 (Prop.)

   27 DE Reg.165 (Final)

1218 Mental Health Services Student Loan Repayment Program....................    27 DE Reg. 21 (Prop.)
   27 DE Reg.168 (Final)

Professional Standards Board
1501 Salary Supplements for Educators...........................................................    27 DE Reg. 525(Final)
1503 Comprehensive Educator Induction Programs.........................................    27 DE Reg.142(Prop.)

   27 DE Reg.481(Prop.)
1504 Certificate of Eligibility...............................................................................    27 DE Reg.675(Final)
1510 Initial License............................................................................................    27 DE Reg.171 (Final)

   27 DE Reg.483(Prop.)
1516 Professional Standards Board Standing Committees...............................    27 DE Reg.173 (Final)
1517 Paraeducator Permit.................................................................................    27 DE Reg. 526(Final)
1519 Multiple Measures for Demonstrating Content Knowledge.......................    27 DE Reg. 37 (Final)
1539 Health Education Teacher.........................................................................    27 DE Reg.649(Prop.)
1564 Physical Education Teacher......................................................................    27 DE Reg.652(Prop.)
1571 Special Education Teacher of Students with Disabilities...........................    27 DE Reg. 24 (Prop.)

   27 DE Reg.175 (Final)
1552 Junior Reserve Officers’ Training Corps (JROTC) Teacher......................    27 DE Reg.528 (Final)
1553 Driver and Traffic Safety Education Teacher............................................    27 DE Reg.677(Final)
1585 School Behavior Analyst...........................................................................    27 DE Reg.176 (Final)
1586 School Behavior Analyst Assistant...........................................................    27 DE Reg.181 (Final)
1596 Charter School Leader..............................................................................    27 DE Reg. 39 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
Division of Revenue

Regulations Governing Tax Refund Intercept Claims of Other States...............    27 DE Reg.143(Prop.)
Regulation Governing Tax Refund Offset and 

Lottery Winnings Intercept Programs..........................................................    27 DE Reg.105 (Final)
Office of the State Lottery

203 Video Lottery and Table Game Regulations...............................................    27 DE Reg.106 (Final)
   27 DE Reg.484(Prop.)
   27 DE Reg.678(Final)

205 Delaware Charitable Video Lottery Regulations.........................................    27 DE Reg.485(Prop.)
   27 DE Reg.679(Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
Division of Health Care Quality

3345 Personal Assistance Services Agencies...................................................    27 DE Reg. 43 (Final)
3350 Skilled Home Health Agencies (Licensure)..............................................    27 DE Reg. 44 (Final)
3351 Home Health Agencies--Aide Only (Licensure)........................................    27 DE Reg. 45 (Final)

Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance
Continuous Coverage for Children Enrolled in Medicaid...................................    27 DE Reg.486(Prop.)

   27 DE Reg.680(Final)
Fair Hearings: DSSM 5000 and 5304................................................................    27 DE Reg.655(Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - 

Ground Emergency Medical Transportation (GEMT)..................................    27 DE Reg.149(Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan - Pharmacy Over the Counter (OTC) & 

Physician Administered Drugs (PAD)..........................................................    27 DE Reg.147(Prop.)
Title XIX Medicaid State Plan: Temporary Extension to 

COVID-19 Disaster Relief Co-pay & Premium Provisions..........................    27 DE Reg.107 (Final)
US Savings Bonds: DSSM 20330.7..................................................................    27 DE Reg. 46 (Final)

Division of Public Health
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4110 Pharmacists Dispensing and Administering Contraceptives.....................    27 DE Reg.609(FInal)
4202 Control of Communicable and Other Disease Conditions.........................    27 DE Reg.661(Prop.)
4305 Trauma System Regulation.......................................................................    27 DE Reg.529 (Final)
4306 Stroke System Regulation.........................................................................    27 DE Reg.567(Prop.)
4458A Cottage Food Regulations......................................................................    27 DE Reg. 30 (Prop.)
4459 Lead-Based Paint Hazards.......................................................................    27 DE Reg.567(Prop.)
4459A Regulations Governing the Childhood Lead Poisoning

Prevention Act for Children Between the Ages of 22 and 26 Months..........    27 DE Reg.109 (Final)
   27 DE Reg.570(Prop.)

4501 Regulations for Animals Held in Shelter....................................................    27 DE Reg.530 (Final)
Division of Social Services

Delaware’s SNAP EBT System: DSSM 9093, 9093.1, 9093.11.........................    27 DE Reg.111 (Final)
Determining Relative Child Care: DSSM 11006.7..............................................    27 DE Reg. 49 (Final)
Food Benefit Certification: DSSM 9068, 9068.1, 9068.2, 9068.3, 9068.4, 9068.5      27 DE Reg.577(Prop.)
Processing Applications for Child Care: DSSM 11004.1....................................    27 DE Reg.580(Prop.)

Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health
6002 Credentialing Mental Health Screeners and 

Payment for Voluntary Admissions........................................................    27 DE Reg.185 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES
State Employee Benefits Committee

2001 Group Health Insurance Plan Eligibility and Enrollment Rules..................    27 DE Reg.532 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Office of the Commissioner

611 Automobile Insurance Premium Refunds....................................................    27 DE Reg.488(Prop.)
1004 Term and Universal Life Insurance Reserve Financing.............................    27 DE Reg.489(Prop.)

   27 DE Reg.682(Final)
1316 Arbitration of Health Insurance Disputes Between Carriers And 

Non-Network Providers of Emergency Care Services.................................    27 DE Reg.113 (Final)
1406 Third Party Administrators.........................................................................    27 DE Reg.150(Prop.)
2102 Termination of Coverage for Policies of Commercial Governmental and 

Professional Liability Insurance [Formerly Regulation 54]...........................     27 DE Reg.114 (Rep.)

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Division of Industrial Affairs

1341 Workers’ Compensation Regulations........................................................     27 DE Reg.614(Final)
Division of Paid Leave

1401 Rules Defining and Regulating the Healthy Delaware Families Act, 
Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program and the Division of Paid 
Leave ..........................................................................................................    27 DE Reg. 51 (Final)

   27 DE Reg.496(Prop.)
   27 DE Reg.683(Final)

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL
Division of Fish and Wildlife

3503 Striped Bass Recreational Fishing Seasons; Methods of Take; 
Creel Limit; Possession Limit.......................................................................    27 DE Reg.115 (Final)

3505 Striped Bass Commercial Fishing Seasons; Quotas; 
Tagging and Reporting Requirements.................................................. ......         27 DE Reg.466(Emer.)

   27 DE Reg.497(Prop.)
3755 Lobsters (Homarus americanus)...............................................................    27 DE Reg.686(Final)
3801 Shellfish Aquaculture.................................................................................    27 DE Reg.151(Prop.)

Division of Waste and Hazardous Substances
1351 Underground Storage Tank Systems.........................................................    27 DE Reg. 87 (Prop.)
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   27 DE Reg.533 (Final)
1352 Aboveground Storage Tanks.....................................................................    27 DE Reg. 88 (Prop.)

   27 DE Reg.536 (Final)

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
Office of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner

Rule 202 (Formerly Rule 19) A Rule Defining the Words Hotel, Motel, 
Restaurant and Dinner Theater...................................................................    27 DE Reg.186 (Final)

Rule 1201 (Formerly Rule 7) A Rule Requiring Persons Between the 
Ages of 16 and 18 to Secure a Work Permit to be 
Employed by an On-Premises Licensee.....................................................    27 DE Reg.189 (Final)

Rule 1202 (Formerly Rule 7.1) Employment of Persons Who Have Reached 
the Age of 18 Years in Package Stores.......................................................    27 DE Reg.189 (Final)

Police Officer Standards and Training Commission
801 Regulations of the Delaware Council on Police Training............................    27 DE Reg.615(Final)
803 COPT Firearms Instructors Standards and Requirements.........................    27 DE Reg.617(Final)

State Bureau of Identification
Firearms Transaction Approval Program Regulations.......................................    27 DE Reg.661(Prop.)

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Division of Professional Regulation

100 Board of Accountancy.................................................................................    27 DE Reg.666(Prop.)
1100 Board of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene.....................................................    27 DE Reg.584(Prop.)
1700 Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline...............................................    27 DE Reg. 89 (Prop.)
1900 Board of Nursing.......................................................................................    27 DE Reg. 61 (Final)

   27 DE Reg.619(Final)
2000 Board of Occupational Therapy Practice..................................................    27 DE Reg. 91 (Prop.)
2100 Board of Examiners in Optometry.............................................................    27 DE Reg.620(Final)
2500 Board of Pharmacy...................................................................................    27 DE Reg.500(Prop.)
2700 Board of Registration for Professional Land Surveyors............................    27 DE Reg.690(Final)
2930 Council on Real Estate Appraisers...........................................................    27 DE Reg. 94 (Prop.)
3100 Board of Funeral Services........................................................................    27 DE Reg.501(Prop.)
3300 Board of Veterinary Medicine...................................................................    27 DE Reg.190 (Final)
3600 Board of Geologists..................................................................................    27 DE Reg. 31 (Prop.)
3900 Board of Social Work Examiners..............................................................    27 DE Reg.502(Prop.)
5300 Board of Massage and Bodywork.............................................................    27 DE Reg. 63 (Final)
6100 Board of Elevator Mechanics....................................................................    27 DE Reg.539 (Final)
Uniform Controlled Substances Act Regulations...............................................    27 DE Reg. 7   (Emer.)

Office of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner
Rule 203 (Formerly Rule 36) Delivery, Sale and Consumption of Alcoholic Liquors for 

On-Premises Consumption.........................................................................    27DE Reg.563(Emer.)
Rule 601 (Formerly Rule 35.1) Gathering Licenses........................................... .....           27 DE Reg.503(Prop.)

Rule 701 (Formerly Rule 51) A Rule Requiring the Biennial Renewal 
of Wholesale, Retail, and Annual Gathering Licenses................................    27 DE Reg.506(Prop.)

Rule 702 (formerly Rule 51.1) A Rule Requiring the Biennial Renewal of 
Supplier’s Licenses.....................................................................................    27 DE Reg.506(Prop.)

Rule 1008 (Formerly Rule 19.1) Bottle Clubs - Licensing and Operation..........    27 DE Reg.511(Prop.)
Public Service Commission

1002 Minimum Filing Requirements for All Regulated Companies Subject
 to the Jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission.................................    27 DE Reg.117 (Final)

3001 Rules for Certification and Regulation of Electric Suppliers, Net Metering, and 
Community Energy Facilities.......................................................................    27 DE Reg.585(Prop.)

3012 Rules for Regulation of Net Metering........................................................    27 DE Reg.588(Prop.)
3013 Rules for and Regulation of Community Energy Facilities........................    27 DE Reg.590(Prop.)
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DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division of Motor Vehicles

2226 Third Party Commercial Driver License Skills Testing...............................    27 DE Reg. 35 (Prop.)
   27 DE Reg.191(Final)

2266 Vehicle Document Fees............................................................................    27 DE Reg. 94 (Prop.)
Division of Transportation Solutions

1207 Electronic Speed Monitoring System.........................................................    27 DE Reg.592(Prop.)

OFFICE OF THE STATE TREASURER
Delaware EARNS Program Board

Regulations Governing the Expanding Access for Retirement and
Necessary Saving Program.................................................................. ......          27 DE Reg.667(Prop.)
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DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
DIVISION OF INDUSTRIAL AFFAIRS

Statutory Authority: 19 Delaware Code, Sections 105 and 2322B(19 Del.C. §§105 & 2322B)
19 DE Admin. Code 1341

ERRATA

1341 Workers' Compensation Regulations

* Please Note: The Department of Labor regulation, 19 DE Admin. Code 1341 Workers' Compensation
Regulations, was published as proposed in the Delaware Register of Regulations, 27 DE Reg. 317 (11/01/23) and
as final in the Delaware Register of Regulations, 27 DE Reg. 614 (02/01/24). The following subsections were
inadvertently published incorrectly.

New proposed and final subsection 4.10.6 was published as:

4.9.6 4.10.6Inpatient Care

4.9.6.1 4.10.6.1Definition Definition.

4.9.6.1.1 4.6.10.1.1For purposes of this fee schedule, “inpatient” means being admitted to a
hospital setting for twenty-four (24) 24 hours or more. An inpatient admission does not
require official admission to the hospital.

New proposed and final subsection 4.10.6 should have read:

4.9.6 4.10.6Inpatient Care

4.9.6.1 4.10.6.1Definition Definition.

4.9.6.1.1 4.10.6.1.1For purposes of this fee schedule, “inpatient” means being admitted to a
hospital setting for twenty-four (24) 24 hours or more. An inpatient admission does not
require official admission to the hospital.

New proposed and final subsection 4.10.7.1 was published as:

4.9.7.1 4.10.7.1Definition Definition.

4.9.7.1.1 Observation services are those services furnished by a hospital on the hospital’s
premises, and include use of a bed and periodic monitoring by a hospital’s staff. The
service must be reasonable and necessary to evaluate a patient’s condition or to
determine need for inpatient admission. To qualify for observation status, the patient
needs observation due to an unforeseen circumstance or has a medical condition with
a significant degree of instability.

New proposed and final subsection 4.10.7.1 should have read:

4.9.7.1 4.10.7.1Definition Definition.

4.9.7.1.1 Observation services are those services furnished by a hospital on the hospital’s
premises, and include use of a bed and periodic monitoring by a hospital’s staff. The
service must be reasonable and necessary to evaluate a patient’s condition or to
determine need for inpatient admission. To qualify for observation status, the patient
needs observation due to an unforeseen circumstance or has a medical condition with
a significant degree of instability.

New proposed and final subsection 4.13.3 was published as:

4.12.3 4.12.3 The payment system will be adjusted yearly pursuant to 19 Del.C. §2322B(5) for a
procedure, treatment or service in effect in January of that year.
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ERRATA714
New proposed and final subsection 4.13.3 should have read:

4.12.3 4.13.3 The payment system will be adjusted yearly pursuant to 19 Del.C. §2322B(5) for a
procedure, treatment or service in effect in January of that year.

New proposed and final subsection 4.17 was published as:

4.16 4.17Fees for Non-Clinical Services

4.16.1 4.17.1Pursuant to 19 Del.C. §2322B(13), fees for certain non-clinical services are set as follows,
and will be periodically revised upon recommendation of the Workers’ Compensation Oversight
Panel to reflect changes in the cost of providing such services:

New proposed and final subsection 4.17 should have read:

4.16 4.17Fees for Non-Clinical Services

4.16.1 4.17.1Pursuant to 19 Del.C. §2322B(13), fees for certain non-clinical services are set as follows,
and will be periodically revised upon recommendation of the Workers’ Compensation Oversight
Panel to reflect changes in the cost of providing such services:

New proposed and final subsection 4.19.2.2 was published as:

4.18.2.2 4.19.2.2The Delaware Workers’ Compensation Health Care Practice Guidelines remain in
effect and care is presumed compensable when followed. It is the intent of these new
Rules and Regulations that care that was allowed under the previous billing system is still
compensable, and under no circumstances is the new billing system defining what care is
acceptable, but rather a maximum allowable reimbursement.

New proposed and final subsection 4.19.2.2 should have read:

4.18.2.2 4.19.2.2The Delaware Workers’ Compensation Health Care Practice Guidelines remain in
effect and care is presumed compensable when followed. It is the intent of these new
Rules and Regulations regulations that care that was allowed under the previous billing
system is still compensable, and under no circumstances is the new billing system
defining what care is acceptable, but rather a maximum allowable reimbursement.

New proposed and final subsection 4.21.4.2.4.2 was published as:

o 4.21.4.2.4.2 When an anesthesiologist provides medical direction to the CRNA or AA
providing the anesthesia service, then the reimbursement will be divided between the
two of them at fifty percent (50%) 50%.

New proposed and final subsection 4.21.4.2.4.2 should have read:

o 4.21.4.2.4.2 When an anesthesiologist provides medical direction to the CRNA or AA
providing the anesthesia service, then the reimbursement will be divided between the
two 2 of them at fifty percent (50%) 50%.

New proposed and final subsections 4.22.1 and 4.22.1.1 was published as:

4.21.1 General Guidelines General Guidelines
4.21.1.1 Global Reimbursement Global Reimbursement.The reimbursement allowances for surgical

procedures are based on a global reimbursement concept that covers performing the
basic service and the normal range of care required after surgery.

New proposed and final subsections 4.22.1 and 4.22.1.1 should have read:

4.21.1 4.22.1General Guidelines General Guidelines
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4.21.1.1 4.22.1.1Global Reimbursement Global Reimbursement.The reimbursement allowances for
surgical procedures are based on a global reimbursement concept that covers performing
the basic service and the normal range of care required after surgery.

New proposed and final subsection 4.22.1.1.2 was published as:

o 4.22.1.1.2Local infiltration, metacarpal/metatarsal/digital block or topical anesthesia anesthesia.

New proposed and final subsection 4.22.1.1.2 should have read:

o 4.22.1.1.2 Local infiltration, metacarpal/metatarsal/digital block or topical anesthesia anesthesia;

New proposed and final subsection 4.22.1.1.5 was published as:

o 4.22.1.1.5Evaluating the patient in the post anesthesia recovery area

New proposed and final subsection 4.22.1.1.5 should have read:

o 4.22.1.1.5Evaluating the patient in the post anesthesia recovery area area;

New proposed and final subsection 4.22.1.19, 50 Bilateral Procedure was published as:

50 Bilateral Procedure: Unless otherwise identified in the listings, bilateral procedures that
are performed at the same session should be identified by adding modifier 50 to the
appropriate five-digit code. Note: This modifier should not be appended to designated
"add-on" codes (see Appendix D of CPT).

State Note: There will be no reductions to the procedures billed with the modifier
50.

State Note: Procedures performed bilaterally are reported as two line items and
modifier 50 is not appended. These codes are identified with CPT specific language at
the code or subsection level. Modifiers RT and LT may be appended as appropriate. 

New proposed and final subsection 4.22.1.19, 50 Bilateral Procedure should have read:

50 Bilateral Procedure: Unless otherwise identified in the listings, bilateral procedures that are
performed at the same session should be identified by adding modifier 50 to the
appropriate five-digit code. Note: This modifier should not be appended to designated
“add-on” codes (see Appendix D of CPT).

State Note: There will be no reductions to the procedures billed with the modifier 50.
State Note: Procedures performed bilaterally are reported as two line items and
modifier 50 is not appended. These codes are identified with CPT specific language at
the code or subsection level. Modifiers RT and LT may be appended as appropriate. 

New proposed and final subsection 4.23.2.5.3 was published as:

o 4.23.2.5.3Sterile supplies supplies;

New proposed and final subsection 4.23.2.5.3 should have read:

o 4.23.2.5.3Sterile supplies supplies;

New proposed and final subsections 4.26.3.2 and 4.26.3.3 were published as:

4.25.3.2 Diagnostic arthroscopy is not billed when followed by arthroscopic surgery.

4.25.3.3 If there are only minor findings that do not confirm a significant preoperative diagnosis, the
procedure should be billed as a diagnostic arthroscopy.

New proposed and final subsections 4.26.3.2 and 4.26.3.3 should have read:
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4.25.3.2 4.26.3.2 Diagnostic arthroscopy is not billed when followed by arthroscopic surgery.
4.25.3.3 4.26.3.3 If there are only minor findings that do not confirm a significant preoperative

diagnosis, the procedure should be billed as a diagnostic arthroscopy.

New proposed and final subsection 4.26.6.12 was published as:

o 4.26.6.12Closure of wound wound;

New proposed and final subsection 4.26.6.12 should have read:

o 4.26.6.12Closure of wound wound.

New proposed and final subsections 4.28.1.1.2 through 4.28.1.1.5 were published as:

4.27.1.1.2 4.27.1.1.2Whenever the health care payment system does not set a specific fee for a
procedure, treatment or service in the schedule, the amount of reimbursement shall
be a percentage reduction from 85% of the actual charge.

4.27.1.1.3 4.27.1.1.3The payment system will be adjusted yearly pursuant to 19 Del.C. §2322B(5).

4.27.1.1.4 4.27.1.1.4Physicians should include CPT codes for specific performance of diagnostic
tests/studies for which specific CPT codes are available. Items used by all physicians
in reporting their services are presented in the introduction. Definitions and
explanations unique to pathology and laboratory are included below.

4.27.1.1.5 4.27.1.1.5The maximum number of times that drug screening, testing, or the like, may
occur is four (4) 4 samples per year absent written pre-authorization by the employer
or its insurance carrier. If the point of care testing is not consistent with that which the
prescriber expected based on the drug or medicine prescribed, then, and only then,
will confirmatory testing be permitted and subject to payment. A maximum charge of
one hundred dollars ($100.00) $100 for point of care testing, or the provider's actual
charge, whichever is less, shall be permitted, regardless of the number of drugs being
screened for and/or the number of dip sticks, testing instruments, materials, or the
like, used.

New proposed and final subsections 4.28.1.1.2 through 4.28.1.1.5 should have read:

4.27.1.1.2 4.28.1.1.2Whenever the health care payment system does not set a specific fee for a
procedure, treatment or service in the schedule, the amount of reimbursement shall
be a percentage reduction from 85% of the actual charge.

4.27.1.1.3 4.28.1.1.3The payment system will be adjusted yearly pursuant to 19 Del.C. §2322B(5).

4.27.1.1.4 4.28.1.1.4Physicians should include CPT codes for specific performance of diagnostic
tests/studies for which specific CPT codes are available. Items used by all physicians
in reporting their services are presented in the introduction. Definitions and
explanations unique to pathology and laboratory are included below.

4.27.1.1.5 4.28.1.1.5The maximum number of times that drug screening, testing, or the like, may
occur is four (4) 4 samples per year absent written pre-authorization by the employer
or its insurance carrier. If the point of care testing is not consistent with that which the
prescriber expected based on the drug or medicine prescribed, then, and only then,
will confirmatory testing be permitted and subject to payment. A maximum charge of
one hundred dollars ($100.00) $100 for point of care testing, or the provider's actual
charge, whichever is less, shall be permitted, regardless of the number of drugs being
screened for and/or the number of dip sticks, testing instruments, materials, or the
like, used.

New proposed and final subsection 4.29.1.2 was published as:
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4.28.1.2 4.29.1.2Initial Evaluation and Re-evaluation by Physical Therapists or Occupational
Therapists Initial Evaluation and Re-evaluation by Physical Therapists or Occupational
Therapists

New proposed and final subsection 4.29.1.2 should have read:

4.28.1.2 4.29.1.2Initial Evaluation and Re-evaluation by Physical Therapists or Occupational
Therapists Initial Evaluation and Re-evaluation by Physical Therapists or Occupational
Therapists

New proposed and final subsection 4.29.1.3 was published as:

4.28.1.3 4.29.1.3Exam Visits to Occupational Therapists or Physical Therapists Exam Visits to
Occupational Therapists or Physical Therapists. Services performed by a physical
therapist and/or occupational therapist shall be performed in conjunction with the
authorized treating physician detailing the type, frequency, and duration of therapy to be
provided. Only physical therapists and/or occupational therapists procedures and services
are billable.

New proposed and final subsection 4.29.1.2 should have read:

4.28.1.3 4.29.1.3Exam Visits to Occupational Therapists or Physical Therapists Exam Visits to
Occupational Therapists or Physical Therapists. Services performed by a physical
therapist and/or occupational therapist shall be performed in conjunction with the
authorized treating physician detailing the type, frequency, and duration of therapy to be
provided. Only physical therapists therapists’ and/or occupational therapists therapists’
procedures and services are billable.

New proposed and final subsection 4.30 was published as:

4.29 4.30Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies

New proposed and final subsection 4.30 should have read as:

4.29 4.30Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies

New proposed and final subsection 5.4.4 was published as:

5.4.4 In the instance of a compensable claim in which open surgery is recommended by the health care
provider and stated by him/her the provider to be within the applicable Practice Guideline, the
following procedure may be followed by the operating surgeon to facilitate resolution of payment
for such treatment: The operating surgeon must specify the particular surgery to be performed and
must certify in writing that:

5.4.4.1.1 (a) the The surgery is causally related to the work accident, accident; and

5.4.4.1.2 (b) the The surgery is within the Practice Guideline, with specific reference to the Practice
Guideline provision relied upon.

5.4.4.1 5.4.4.2The information set forth above must be set forth by the operating surgeon in a separate
written report, not through a copy of office notes and/or records. The employer/carrier
must within 30 days from receipt of the above either accept/pre-authorize or deny such
treatment. If the treatment is denied as non-compliant with the Practice Guidelines, it must
be referred to Utilization Review within 15 days of date of denial in accordance with
§2322F(h)(j). If the treatment is denied as not causally related to the compensable work
accident, the claimant may file a Petition with the Industrial Accident Board to determine
whether the treatment is compensable. If the employer/carrier neither accepts/pre-
authorizes nor denies the treatment within the 30-day period referenced above, then the
treatment will be deemed compensable if performed.
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New proposed and final subsection 5.4.4 should have read as:

5.4.4 In the instance of a compensable claim in which open surgery is recommended by the health care
provider and stated by him/her the provider to be within the applicable Practice Guideline, the
following procedure may be followed by the operating surgeon to facilitate resolution of payment
for such treatment: 

5.4.4.1 The operating surgeon must specify the particular surgery to be performed and must
certify in writing that:

5.4.4.1.1 (a) the The surgery is causally related to the work accident, accident; and

5.4.4.1.2 (b) the The surgery is within the Practice Guideline, with specific reference to the
Practice Guideline provision relied upon.

5.4.4.1 5.4.4.2The information set forth above must be set forth by the operating surgeon in a separate
written report, not through a copy of office notes and/or records. The employer/carrier
must within 30 days from receipt of the above either accept/pre-authorize or deny such
treatment. If the treatment is denied as non-compliant with the Practice Guidelines, it must
be referred to Utilization Review within 15 days of date of denial in accordance with
§2322F(h)(j). If the treatment is denied as not causally related to the compensable work
accident, the claimant may file a Petition with the Industrial Accident Board to determine
whether the treatment is compensable. If the employer/carrier neither accepts/pre-
authorizes nor denies the treatment within the 30-day period referenced above, then the
treatment will be deemed compensable if performed.
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.

Proposed Regulations

Under 29 Del.C. §10115 whenever an agency proposes to formulate, adopt, amend or repeal a regulation, it
shall file notice and full text of such proposals, together with copies of the existing regulation being adopted,
amended or repealed, with the Registrar for publication in the Register of Regulations pursuant to §1134 of this
title. The notice shall describe the nature of the proceedings including a brief synopsis of the subject, substance,
issues, possible terms of the agency action, a reference to the legal authority of the agency to act, and reference to
any other regulations that may be impacted or affected by the proposal, and shall state the manner in which
persons may present their views; if in writing, of the place to which and the final date by which such views may be
submitted; or if at a public hearing, the date, time and place of the hearing. If a public hearing is to be held, such
public hearing shall not be scheduled less than 20 days following publication of notice of the proposal in the
Register of Regulations. If a public hearing will be held on the proposal, notice of the time, date, place and a
summary of the nature of the proposal shall also be published in at least 2 Delaware newspapers of general
circulation. The notice shall also be mailed to all persons who have made timely written requests of the agency for
advance notice of its regulation-making proceedings.
DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 6604(1) (16 Del.C. §6604(1))
1 DE Admin. Code 710

PUBLIC NOTICE

710 Ambulance Service Regulations

The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, pursuant to 16 Del.C. § 6604(1), proposes to revise
regulation 710. The proposed regulations change the age requirement for EMT students in subsection 15.4.3. This
amendment will be in addition to amendments recently proposed in February 2024.

The Board will accept written comments, which should be sent to Sherry Lambertson, Executive Specialist for
the Delaware Fire Prevention Commission, Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, DE
19904. Written comments may also be sent by email to the following email address:
fire.commission@delaware.gov. The Public Comment period will end on Friday, May 3, 2024.

The proposed additions to the rule are reflected in underline. Deletions are reflected in strike through.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 719RFA 04-01-24.pdf

710 Ambulance Service Regulations
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

15.0 Criminal History Background Check

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

15.4 Administrative Policy Pertaining to Criminal History Background Checks

15.4.1 Delaware State Fire School training announcements for EMT courses will include the statement
“Criminal History Background checks will be required as per the regulations”.
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15.4.2 All chiefs of departments, presidents or ambulance captains of volunteer rescue or ambulance
squads or officers of private corporations or entities which have students pre-registered for the
class shall inform the individual that a criminal history background check will be required. It will be
the responsibility of any private EMT training institution to make their students aware that a
criminal history background check is required to become a State Certified EMT and the criminal
history background check be available in order to receive EMT Certification or authorization by the
Commission, or its designee. 

15.4.3 At the start of the EMT course, the student must be 18 17 years of age.

15.4.4 All EMT students must submit to a Federal and State Criminal History Background check
conducted by the State Bureau of Identification. Any student failing to submit to the above will not
be permitted to participate in the course. 

15.4.5 Any volunteer fire, rescue or ambulance company student accepted into a BLS course conducted
by the Delaware State Fire School and does not complete the course will be required to reimburse
the Delaware State Fire School the cost of the course materials.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 719 04-01-24.htm

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

Statutory Authority: 3 Delaware Code, Section 10005 (3 Del.C. §10005)
3 DE Admin. Code 501

PUBLIC NOTICE

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations

Summary
The Harness Racing Commission (the "Commission") proposes to amend its Regulation in accordance with 3
Del.C. §10005. The proposed regulations amend Rules 3.3, 5.3.2.1, 5.3.5, 7.4.1.6, 8.3.5.9.6, and 8.5.1 to change
Racing Office operating procedures, impose accountability on substitute trainers for horse conditions on the day of
a race, and change horse qualifying eligibility to adhere to the practice used by the Commission. Other sections of
the Regulation issued by the Commission are not affected by the aforementioned proposals.

Comments
A copy of the proposed regulations is being published in the April 1, 2024 edition of the Delaware Register of
Regulations. A copy is also on file in the office of the Harness Racing Commission 2320 South Dupont Highway,
Dover, Delaware 19901 and is available for inspection during regular office hours. Copies are also published online
at the Register of Regulations website: https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/current_issue.shtml.

Interested parties may offer written comments on the proposed regulations or submit written suggestions, data,
briefs or other materials to the Commission at the above address as to whether these proposed regulations should
be adopted, rejected or modified. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. § 10118(a), public comments must be received on or
before May 1, 2024. Written materials submitted will be available for inspection at the above address.

Adoption of Proposed Regulation
On or after May 1, 2024, following review of the public comment, the Commission will determine whether to amend
its regulations by adopting the proposed rules or make additional changes because of the public comments
received.
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Effective Date of Amendments to Regulations
If adopted by the Commission, the amendments shall take effect ten days after being published as final in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

Delaware Harness Racing Commission

Mark A. Davis, Executive Director

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 720RFA 04-01-24.pdf

501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

3.0 Officials

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

3.3 Racing Secretary

3.3.1 General Authority. The Racing Secretary is responsible for setting the conditions for each race of
the race meeting, regulating the nomination of entries and determining the amounts of purses and
to whom they are due. The Racing Secretary shall check and verify the eligibility of all horses
entered.

3.3.2 Race Information. The Racing Secretary shall be familiar with the age, class and competitive
ability of all horses racing at the meeting.

3.3.3 Classifications. The Racing Secretary shall classify horses in accordance with these rules.

3.3.4 Listing of Horses. The Racing Office shall:

3.3.4.1 Examine all entry forms and declarations to verify information as set forth therein; and

3.3.4.2 Select the horses to start and the also eligible horses from the declarations in accordance
with these rules. rules;

3.3.4.3 Provide the listing of horses in the daily program. program; and

3.3.4.4 Ensure that no horse races within 48 hours of its last race.

3.3.5 Nominations and Declarations. The Racing Secretary shall examine nominations and declarations
and early closing events, late closing events and stakes events to verify the eligibility of all
declarations and nominations and compile lists thereof for publication.

3.3.6 Conditions. The Racing Secretary shall establish the conditions and eligibility for entering races
and cause them to be published to owners, trainers and the Commission and be posted in the
Racing Secretary's office.

3.3.7 Posting of Entries. Upon completion of the draw each day, the Racing Secretary shall post a list of
entries in a conspicuous location in his office and make the list available to the media.

3.3.8 Winnings

3.3.8.1 For the purpose of establishing conditions, winnings shall be considered to include all
monies and prizes won up to the time of the start of a race. 

3.3.8.2 Winnings during the year shall be calculated by the Racing Secretary from the preceding
January 1.

3.3.9 Cancellation of a Race. In case of unfavorable weather or other unavoidable cause, Associations,
upon notifying of the Presiding Judge may postpone or cancel races. 

(Break in Continuity of Sections)
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5.0 Licensees

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

5.3 Trainers

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

5.3.2 Trainer Responsibility

5.3.2.1 A trainer is responsible for the condition of horses entered in an official race and is
responsible for the presence of any prohibited drug, medication or other substance,
including permitted medication in excess of the maximum allowable level, in such horses.
If there is a principal trainer and one or more additional trainers for a horse, all shall be
responsible for any rules violations with respect to the horse. A positive test for a
prohibited drug, medication or substance, including permitted medication in excess of the
maximum allowable level, as reported by a Commission-approved laboratory, is prima
facie evidence of a violation of this rule. In the absence of substantial evidence to the
contrary, the trainer shall be responsible. Whenever a principal trainer of a horse names a
substitute trainer for program purposes due to his inability to be in attendance with the
horse on the day of the race, or for any other reason, both trainers the principal trainer
shall be responsible for the condition of the horse should the horse test positive and the
substitute trainer may also be held responsible as mitigating and aggravating
circumstances are considered.

5.3.2.2 A trainer shall prevent the administration of any drug or medication or other prohibited
substance that may cause a violation of these rules.

5.3.2.3 A trainer whose horse has been claimed remains responsible for any violation of rules
regarding that horse's participation in the race in which the horse is claimed.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

5.3.5 Substitute Trainers. If any licensed trainer is to be absent from the association grounds where the
trainer's horse is programmed to race the Presiding Judge shall be immediately notified and at that
time a licensed substitute trainer, acceptable to the Presiding Judge, shall be appointed to assume
responsibility for the horses racing during the absence of the regular trainer. The name of the
substitute trainer shall appear on the program if possible.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

7.0 Rules of the Race

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

7.4 Horses Permitted to Race

7.4.1 A horse shall be eligible to be declared in to race provided the following conditions have been met:

7.4.1.1 the eligibility fee, which shall become due and payable when a horse makes its first start in
any type of race in a calendar year, has been paid to the United States Trotting
Association, or a current eligibility certificate has been granted for the horse by the United
States Trotting Association or by the Canadian Trotting Association.

7.4.1.2 the horse has been registered in the current ownership with the Canadian Standardbred
Horse Society or in the United States Trotting Association Register;

7.4.1.3 if leased, a copy of the lease is on file with, and is acceptable to the United States Trotting
Association or Canadian Trotting Association, as appropriate. The horse must race in the
name of the lessee;

7.4.1.4 for overnight races, the horse has qualified at an extended meeting in accordance with the
rules prior to the time of closing of declarations in accordance with the qualifying
standards of the track presenting the race.

7.4.1.5 for added money events, the horse has qualified at an extended meeting in accordance
with the rules prior to the time of closing of declarations.
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7.4.1.6 not more than 30 60 days prior to the time of closing of declarations racing, the horse was
credited with a satisfactory charted past performance line obtained in a purse, qualifying
or schooling race conducted at a charted meeting; provided, however, that with the
permission of the Presiding Judge, a satisfactory charted past performance within more
than 60 days prior to the time of closing of declarations race may be used;

7.4.1.7 the horse is at least two years of age to race at any meeting but not older than 14 years of
age;

7.4.1.8 the horse has not been denerved by any method above its pastern. The decision at any
given time whether the horse has been denerved shall be the State veterinarian's.

7.4.1.9 if a mare has been spayed, the United States Trotting Association or Canadian Trotting
Association, as appropriate, has been notified in writing by the owner, trainer or
veterinarian;

7.4.1.10 the horse does not have a trachea tube or a hole in its throat for a trachea tube;

7.4.1.11 the horse has unimpaired vision in at least one eye; and

7.4.1.12 the horse has been lip tattooed or freeze-branded or Micro Chipped in accordance with the
constitution and bylaws and regulations of the United States Trotting Association or
Canadian Standardbred Horse Society.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

8.0 Veterinary Practices, Equine Health Medication

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

8.3 Medications and Foreign Substances. Foreign substances shall mean all substances, except those
which exist naturally in the untreated horse at normal physiological concentration, and shall include all
narcotics, stimulants, depressants or other drugs or medications of any type. Except as specifically
permitted by these rules, no foreign substance shall be carried in the body of the horse at the time of
the running of the race. Upon a finding of a violation of these medication and prohibited substances
rules, the Presiding Judge or other designee of the Commission shall consider the classification level
of the violation as listed at the time of the violation by the DHRC Uniform Classification Guidelines
found in subsection 8.3.1 of this section, and may consider the most recent recommendations by the
Uniform Classification Guidelines of Foreign Substances as promulgated by the Association of Racing
Commissioners International. In addition, the Presiding Judge or other designee of the Commission
shall consider all other relevant available evidence including but not limited to: i) whether the violation
created a risk of injury to the horse or driver; ii) whether the violation undermined or corrupted the
integrity of the sport of harness racing; iii) whether the violation misled the wagering public and those
desiring to claim the horse as to the condition and ability of the horse; iv) whether the violation
permitted the trainer or licensee to alter the performance of the horse or permitted the trainer or
licensee to gain an advantage over other horses entered in the race; v) the amount of the purse
involved in the race in which the violation occurred. The Presiding Judge may impose penalties and
disciplinary measures consistent with the recommendations contained in subsection 8.3.2 of this
section.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

8.3.5 Furosemide (Salix) and Aminocaproic Acid (Amicar)

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

8.3.5.9 Bleeder List

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

8.3.5.9.6 A horse may be removed from the Bleeder List at the request of the owner or trainer, if
the horse completes a 5-day rest period following such request, and then re-qualifies.
A horse may also discontinue the use of Aminocaproic Acid without a five (5) day rest
period or having to re-qualify provided the horse was on Aminocaproic Acid for thirty
(30) days or more. In addition, Acid, provided that, once a horse discontinues the use
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of Aminocaproic Acid, it is prohibited from using said medication for ninety (90) 90
days from the date of its last administration for Aminocaproic Acid.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

8.5 Trainer Responsibility. The purpose of this subsection is to identify responsibilities of the trainer that
pertain specifically to the health and well-being of horses in his care.

8.5.1 The trainer is responsible for the condition of horses entered in an official workout or race and is
responsible for the presence of any prohibited drug, medication or other substance, including
permitted medication in excess of the maximum allowable level, in such horses. A positive test for
a prohibited drug, medication or substance, including permitted medication in excess of the
maximum allowable level, as reported by a Commission-approved laboratory, is prima facie
evidence of a violation of this regulation. In the absence of substantial evidence to the contrary,
the trainer shall be responsible. Whenever a trainer of a horse names a substitute trainer for
program purposes due to his inability to be in attendance with the horse on the day of the race, or
for any other reason, both trainers the principal trainer shall be responsible for the condition of the
horse should the horse test positive and the substitute trainer may also be held responsible as
mitigating and aggravating circumstances are considered; provided further that, except as
otherwise provided herein, the trainer of record (programmed trainer) shall be any individual who
receives any compensation for training the horse.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 720 04-01-24.htm

DELAWARE STANDARDBRED BREEDERS’ FUND

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 4815(b)(4)b.2 (29 Del.C. §4815(b)(4)b.2)
3 DE Admin. Code 502

PUBLIC NOTICE

502 Standardbred Breeders' Fund Regulations

Summary
The State of Delaware, Department of Agriculture's Standardbred Breeders' Fund ("the Fund") hereby gives notice
of its intention to amend its Regulation in accordance with 29 Del.C. §4815(b)(4)b.2. The proposed regulation
amends Rules 10.2.2 and 10.2.3 by eliminating the restriction on Delaware stallions from being able to breed
during racing season, and instead, permits stallions to compete and breed simultaneously. This proposal is an
attempt to allow greater flexibility to small breeders. Other sections of the Regulation issued by the Commission
are not affected by the aforementioned proposals.

Comments
A copy of the proposed regulations is being published in the April 1, 2024 edition of the Delaware Register of
Regulations. A copy is also on file in the office of the Standardbred Breeders' Fund, 2320 South Dupont Highway,
Dover, Delaware 19901 and is available for inspection during regular office hours. Copies are also published online
at the Register of Regulations website: https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/current_issue.shtml.

The Fund solicits, and will consider, timely filed written comments from interested individuals and groups
concerning these proposed amended regulations. The deadline for the filing of such written comments will be thirty
days (30) after these proposed amended regulations are promulgated in the Delaware Register of Regulations.
Any such submissions should be mailed or hand-delivered to Ms. Judy Davis-Wilson, Administrator, Delaware
Standardbred Breeders' Fund Program whose address is State of Delaware, Department of Agriculture, 2320
South duPont Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901 by May 1, 2024.
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Adoption of Proposed Regulation
On or after May 1, 2024, following review of the public comment, the Fund will determine whether to amend its
regulations by adopting the proposed rules or make additional changes because of the public comments received.

Effective Date of Amendments to Regulations
If adopted by the Fund, the amendments shall take effect ten days after being published as final in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

Delaware Standardbred Breeders Fund

Judy Davis-Wilson, Executive Administrator

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 724RFA 04-01-24.pdf

502 Standardbred Breeders' Fund Regulations
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

10.0 Responsibilities of Owners or Lessees of Delaware Sires

10.1 An owner or lessee of a standardbred stallion who desires to use him for breeding purposes and to
have him qualify for the Delaware Standardbred Breeders' Fund Program, shall register the stallion by
December 1st of the approaching breeding season with the Administrator of the Program or by
January 1st, February 1st, and March 1st of the approaching breeding season with an additional
supplemental fee as set forth in subsection 11.4 of this regulation.

10.1.1 Unless the stallion is contracted to stand at stud in the southern hemisphere, the stallion shall
stand in the State of Delaware for the remainder of the breeding season.

10.1.2 If a stallion is contracted to stand at stud in the southern hemisphere, a copy of said contract must
be provided to the Administrator of the Program at the time of application for registration in the
Program or, in the event the contract is entered into at a subsequent date, within ten days of
entering into the contract.

10.1.3 A virgin standardbred stallion entering stud for the first time shall be registered prior to his first
breeding and shall stand in the State of Delaware the remainder of the breeding season, unless he
is contracted to stand at stud in the southern hemisphere.

10.1.4 A stallion shall be registered on an application established by the Administrator of the Program.

10.2 The owner or lessee of a Delaware sire that is eligible to register for the Delaware Standardbred
Breeders’ Fund Program shall designate an authorized agent who shall be responsible for the
registrations and records of the Delaware sire; for the records of the breeding farm; and complying with
the requirements of the Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund Program.

10.2.1 The "authorized agent" name, current phone number and mailing address shall be incorporated
into the Delaware sire’s registration form and be filed with the Administrator of the Delaware
Standardbred Breeders’ Fund Program.

10.2.2 A Delaware sire may compete for purses within or outside the State of Delaware at any time,
including during breeding season. This subsection shall not relieve any Delaware sire from the
requirements established by this regulation, except that any Delaware sire who competes for
purses shall not be required to be on his registered breeding farm during the time in which he is
racing. However, a Delaware sire may compete for purses outside the State of Delaware, or enter
claiming races inside or outside the State of Delaware, only after the breeding season in the State
of Delaware ends.

10.2.3 A violation of this regulation will disqualify the Delaware sire from registering for racing breeding in
the Delaware Standardbred Breeders’ Fund Program for the racing breeding season of the year
following the violation.
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*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 724 04-01-24.htm

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 122(a) and 151 (14 Del.C. §§122(a) & 151)
14 DE Admin. Code 101

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

101 State Assessment System

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(a) and §151, the Secretary of Education seeks the consent of the State Board of
Education to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 101 State Assessment System. This regulation is being amended to
align with the current assessment system.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover,
Delaware 19901 or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/
community/governance/regulations-code/post-a-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m. EST) on or before
May 1, 2024. Any person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a copy from the
Department at the Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover,
Delaware.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation helps to improve student achievement as measured against state
achievement standards by outlining the current state assessment system.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation will help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected?
The amended regulation does not directly address students' health and safety.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation continues to help ensure that all students' legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change the decision making at the local board and
school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on decision makers. 

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The amended regulation does not change the decision making authority and accountability for
addressing the subject to be regulated.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
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educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is no less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation. 

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are
no material costs to implementing this amended regulation.

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 726RFA 04-01-24.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 726 04-01-24.htm

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 122(b)(3), 122(b)(8), 181, and 183 (14 Del.C. 
§§122(b)(3), 122(b)(8), 181 & 183)

14 DE Admin. Code 506

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

506 Policies for Dual Enrollment and Awarding Dual Credit

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUIRED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122(b)(3), 122(b)(8), 181, and 183, the Delaware Department of Education

("Department"), including the Delaware Higher Education Office, developed amendments to 14 DE Admin. Code
506 Dual Enrollment and Awarding Dual Credit. The regulation requires public schools to develop policies
concerning dual enrollment in a high school and postsecondary institution and awarding dual credit. The proposed
amendments are to Section 4.0, which concerns quality assurance and granting of postsecondary credit, and are
consistent with HB 116 of the 152nd General Assembly. HB 116 was signed into law on February 28, 2024 and is
effective August 1, 2024.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover,
Delaware 19901 or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/
community/delaware-education-laws-and-regulations/provide-public-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m.
EST) on or before May 2, 2024. Any person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a
copy from the Department at the Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal
Street, Dover, Delaware.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation concerns dual enrollment and dual credit and is not designed to help improve
student achievement as measured against state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
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regulation will help to ensure that all students receive an equitable education by requiring public schools to develop
policies concerning dual enrollment in a high school and postsecondary institution and awarding dual credit.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected?
The amended regulation concerns dual enrollment and dual credit and is not designed to help ensure that all
students' health and safety are adequately protected.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation concerns dual enrollment and dual credit and is not designed to help ensure that all students' legal rights
are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change the necessary authority and flexibility of
decision making at the local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place any
unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates on decision makers at the local board and
school levels. The proposed changes are based on HB 116, which was signed into law on February 28, 2024 and
is effective August 1, 2024.

7. Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? The amended regulation does not change the decision making authority and accountability for
addressing the subject to be regulated.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with
and not an impediment to the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? There are
no material costs to comply with this amended regulation.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 727RFA 04-01-24.pdf

506 Policies for Dual Enrollment and Awarding Dual Credit

1.0 Purpose

Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122(b)(3), 122(b)(8), 181, and 183, the purpose of this regulation is to ensure all
school districts and charter schools have policies regarding dual enrollment and the awarding of dual credit to
promote consistency and equity across the state.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning:

“Accredited Postsecondary Institution” means an accredited higher education institution, including
any in-state and out-of-state college or university, alternative routes for teacher licensure and
certification programs approved by the Delaware Secretary of Education and authorized to operate in
Delaware, and adult education career training/registered apprenticeship programs.

“Articulation Agreement” means the agreement between the accredited postsecondary institution
and school district, school or charter school that specifies, at a minimum, student eligibility and
participation requirements, the course syllabus, the expected course competencies, grading policy,
attendance policy, and conditions for awarding dual credit. Further provided, student eligibility and
participation requirements shall be based on multiple indicators of readiness that may include a
combination of tests, course grades, teacher recommendations or portfolios.

“Dual Credit” means the credit awarded at both the high school and postsecondary levels.
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"Dual Credit Course" means a course for which a student may receive both high school credit
towards graduation and postsecondary credit. The course may be taken in a variety of settings such as
in a high school, on a postsecondary institution campus, or electronically. Examples of a dual credit
course include Advanced Placement or "AP", International Baccalaureate or "IB".

“Dual Enrollment” means simultaneous enrollment in both a high school and an accredited
postsecondary institution.

“Dual Enrollment Course” means a course for which a student may receive both high school credit
towards graduation and postsecondary credit while simultaneously registered at both the high school
and the accredited postsecondary institution.

“Principal” or "Principal's Designee" means the person at the high school who is assigned to
approve the courses that may result in credit for that high school.

"Student Success Plan" means a written plan which sets postsecondary goals based on a student's
career interest.

3.0 District Policy Requirement

3.1 School districts and secondary charter schools shall develop policies for dual enrollment and the
awarding of dual credit that at a minimum meet the following criteria:

3.1.1 All courses for which dual credit is awarded shall incorporate any applicable state content
standards;

3.1.2 All courses for which dual credit is awarded shall be taken at or through an articulation agreement
with an accredited postsecondary institution except for AP or IB courses;

3.1.3 All students shall be provided information regarding dual enrollment and the awarding of dual
credit opportunities;

3.1.4 All eligible students, as determined in the articulation agreement, shall have access to dual credit
and dual enrollment courses;

3.1.5 Funding sources such as College Board waivers or other grants shall be identified as well as the
procedures for applying and the procedures for the awarding of such funds or waivers.   No
student shall be denied access to dual credit or dual enrollment courses because of the student’s
or family’s inability to pay;

3.1.6 All students shall be notified of any resources to help pay for dual enrollment courses;

3.1.7 Students shall have multiple points of access for dual credit and dual enrollment courses including,
but not limited to, courses offered on the high school campus, courses offered on the
postsecondary institution campus, courses offered online, or a combination of any of the above;

3.1.8 Any school district seeking to contract with an out-of-state institution to offer dual credit courses
shall seek an institutional review by the Delaware Higher Education Office prior to executing the
contract;

3.1.9 All courses for which dual credit is awarded through an accredited postsecondary institution shall
be taught by an approved dual credit instructor;

3.1.10 Any course that offers dual credit shall have the prior approval for the awarding of dual credit by
the principal or the principal’s designee of the high school in which the credit is to be awarded; and

3.1.11 Dual enrollment and dual credit shall be included in the Student Success Plan (SSP), as required
in 14 DE Admin. Code 505, for students electing to participate.

4.0 Quality Assurance and Granting of Postsecondary Credit

4.1 All AP and IB courses used for purposes of dual credit shall meet the requirements of their respective
program authorizers.

4.1.1 Postsecondary credit for AP or IB courses shall be at the discretion of the credit granting
accredited postsecondary institution.
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4.1 All AP courses used for purposes of dual credit shall meet the requirements of their respective
program authorizers. Postsecondary credit for AP courses shall meet the requirements of 14 Del.C.
§§9001E - 9002E.

4.2 All IB courses used for purposes of dual credit shall meet the requirements of their respective program
authorizers. Postsecondary credit for IB courses shall be at the discretion of the credit granting
accredited postsecondary institution.

4.2 4.3 All courses for which dual credit is granted shall meet the requirements of the sponsoring accredited
postsecondary institution as outlined in the articulation agreement.

4.4 The effective date of Section 4.0 is August 1, 2024.

5.0 Reporting of Dual Enrollment and awarding of Dual Credit

Each school district and secondary charter school shall indicate on a student’s high school transcript any dual
enrollment courses or dual credit courses taken and any courses for which dual credit has been granted by the
student. In addition, any dual credit that has been awarded to the student shall be indicated on the student's high
school transcript.

6.0 Policy Reporting Requirements

6.1 Each school district and secondary charter school shall have an electronic copy of its current policy for
dual enrollment and awarding dual credit on file with the Department of Education.

6.2 Each school district and secondary charter school shall provide an electronic copy of any dual
enrollment and dual credit policy within 90 days of such revision including any revisions made as a
result of changes to Federal, state or local law, regulations, guidance or policies.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Section 122(b)(2) (14 Del.C. §122(b)(2))
14 DE Admin. Code 603

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(d)

603 Compliance with the Gun-Free Schools Act

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUIRED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF THE REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(b)(2), the Delaware Department of Education ("Department") developed

amendments to 14 DE Admin. Code 603 Compliance with the Gun-Free Schools Act. The regulation concerns the
written policy requirements to implement the Gun-Free Schools Act (20 U.S.C. §7961) and the reporting
requirements for districts and charter schools in Delaware. The regulation was reviewed in accordance with 29
Del.C. §10407. The proposed amendments include adding Section 1.0, which concerns the content of the
regulation; adding Section 2.0, which provides defined terms; and changes to Sections 3.0 and 4.0 to align the
proposed regulation with 20 U.S.C. §7961 and 11 Del.C. §1457A.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover, Delaware 19901
or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/
regulations-code/post-a-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m. EST) on or before May 2, 2024. Any person
who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a copy from the Department at the Office of
the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware.
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C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation concerns the policy and reporting requirements under the Gun-Free Schools
Act and is not designed to help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation concerns the policy and reporting requirements under the Gun-Free Schools Act and is not designed to
help ensure all students receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure all students' health and safety are adequately protected? The
amended regulation will help to ensure all students' health and safety are adequately protected by providing policy
and reporting requirements to help ensure gun-free schools.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation concerns the policy and reporting requirements under the Gun-Free Schools Act and is not designed to
help ensure all students' legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change authority and flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level.

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.
The reporting requirements in Section 4.0 align with the requirements under the Gun-Free Schools Act. 

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
the same entity? By statute (14 Del.C. §122(b)(2)), the Department promulgates regulations governing the
protection of the health and physical welfare of public school students in Delaware. The amended regulation does
not change the Department's decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject regulated.

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts, and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies, and in particular to state
educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic subjects of mathematics, science, language
arts, and social studies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? There is not a
less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of this amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the amended regulation?
There is no expected cost to the state and to the local school boards of complying with this amended regulation.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 730RFA 04-01-24.pdf

603 Compliance with the Gun-Free Schools Act

1.0 Content

Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §122(b)(2), this regulation provides the written policy requirements to implement the
Gun-Free Schools Act (20 U.S.C. §7961) and the reporting requirements for Delaware public schools.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning:

"Department" means the Delaware Department of Education established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §101.

"Firearm" has the same meaning given such term in the Gun-Free Schools Act (20 U.S.C. §7961(b)(3).

1.0 3.0 Written Policy Required
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1.1 3.1 Each school district and charter school shall have a written policy implementing the Gun-Free Schools
Act [(20 U.S.C. §7961)] and complying with 11 Del.C. §1457(j) §1457A or its successor statute. At a
minimum, the policy must contain the following elements:

1.1.1 3.1.1A student who is determined to have brought a firearm to school, or to have possessed a
firearm at school, shall be expelled for not less than one 1 school year.

1.1.2 3.1.2Modification Pursuant to 11 Del.C. §1457A(f), modification to the expulsion requirement may be
made on a case by case basis by the chief school officer local school board or charter school
board of directors. Any modification to the expulsion requirement must be made in writing reported
to the Department.

1.1.3 The definition of "Firearm" shall be the same as the meaning given to the term in the federal Gun-
Free Schools Act.

3.2 A copy of the school district's or charter school's current policy shall be in the school district or charter
school's Student Handbook or Code of Conduct.

2.0 4.0 Submission of the Policy Information to the State Department of Education

2.1 4.1 Each school district and charter school shall submit the following to the Delaware Department of
Education annually, in such form as the Department requires:

2.1.1 4.1.1An electronic copy of its policy implementing the Gun-Free Schools Act [(20 U.S.C. §7961)] and
complying with 11 Del.C. §1457(j) §1457A or its successor statute; and

2.1.2 4.1.2An electronic copy of any revised policy implementing the Gun-Free Schools Act [(20 U.S.C.
§7961)] and complying with 11 Del.C. §1457(j) §1457A or its successor statute under the policy
implemented in accord with this regulation within ninety (90) 90 days of such revision regardless of
whether revisions were made as a result of changes to federal, state or local law, regulations,
guidance or policies; and

2.1.3 4.1.3Descriptions of the Description of the circumstances surrounding expulsions imposed under 11
Del.C. §1457(j) §1457A or its successor statute and under the policy implemented in accord with
this regulation. The description must include all of the following:

4.1.3.1 The name of the school;

4.1.3.2 The number of students expelled from the school; and

4.1.3.3 The type of firearms.

3.0 5.0 Individuals with Disabilities Act

Nothing in this regulation shall alter a district or charter school's duties pursuant to the Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 122(a) and 604(b) (14 Del.C. §§122(a) and 
604(b))

14 DE Admin. Code 737

PUBLIC NOTICE

Education Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del.C. Section 122(d)

737 Tuition Billing for Special Schools and Programs

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation
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B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122(a) and 604(b), the Secretary of Education intends to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 737
Tuition Billing for Special Schools and Programs. This amendment is needed to update language pertaining to
tuition eligibility and processing of tuition billing and payments per 14 Del. Code Chapter 6.

The Department of Education published the proposed amendments in the Register of Regulations on November 1,
2023, and published a General Notice in the December 1, 2023 Register of Regulations extending the public
comment period through January 31, 2024 to ensure all parties were able to provide public comment.

The Department of Education received several written comments, some of which were in support of the amended
regulation and some which suggested changes such as the following:

Issue: In Section 2.0, the definition of a "Sending School District" be amended to "mean any reorganized school
district, eligible to issue tuition tax under Title 14 Chapter 6, which sends a resident student to a receiving school
district or charter school. This change would clarify that vocational-technical districts cannot be billed as they are
not eligible to issue tuition tax.
Response: The Department of Education amended the definition of reorganized school district to clarify that the
term does not include vocational-technical or charter schools.

Issue: Kendall Massett, Executive Director of the Delaware Charter Schools Network submitted comments on
behalf of charter schools in Delaware and Shawn Larrimore, Ed.D., President of the Delaware Chief School
Officers Association submitted comments on behalf of Delaware Reorganized School Districts requesting
extensive revisions be made to the proposed regulation.
Response: After review and consultation with stakeholders, the Department of Education amended the proposed
regulation in its entirety to reflect a formulaic approach to alleviate concerns regarding consistency and uncertainty.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover,
Delaware 19901 or through the Department of Education's online submission form at https://
education.delaware.gov/community/governance/regulations-code/post-a-comment/ by the close of business (4:30
p.m. EST) on or before May 2, 2024. Any person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may
obtain a copy from the Department of Education at the Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend
Building, 401 Federal Street, Dover, Delaware.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? This regulation will provide additional funding to charter schools which could potentially improve
achievement.

2.  Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? This regulation
will provide additional funding to charter schools which could potentially improve the equitable education of
students.

3.  Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected?
This regulation will help to ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected.

4.  Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? This regulation
does not address the legal rights of students. 

5.  Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at the local
board and school level? This regulation will preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision making at
the local board and school level.

6.  Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? This regulation does not create unnecessary reporting
requirements.

7.  Will the decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed
in the same entity? This regulation does not address decision making authority and accountability for addressing
the subject to be regulated be placed in the same entity.
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8.  Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts and social studies? This regulation will not impede the
implementation of other state educational policies.

9.  Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for this purpose.

10.  What is the cost to the State and to the local school boards of compliance with the regulation? This
regulation does not result an additional cost to the State.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 732RFA 04-01-24.pdf

737 Tuition Billing for Special Schools and Programs

1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to outline the process for the tuition billing and payments between local school
districts and tuition generating Special Schools and Special Programs.

2.0 Definitions

In this regulation, the following terms shall have the meanings indicated below:

“Direct Services” means the provision of instructional and educational services by the authorized
Special School or Special Program that are readily identifiable to that program.

“Educational Related Expenses” means those expenses that are necessary to operate the Special
School or Special Program to meet the criteria for which it was established and includes, but is not
limited to, Direct Services and Indirect Costs as those terms are defined herein.

“Indirect Costs” means those costs that have been incurred for common or joint purposes. These
costs benefit more than one cost objective (e.g. award, project or activity) and cannot be readily and
specifically identified with a particular final cost objective without efforts disproportionate to the results
achieved. If an authorized Special School or Special Program elects to apply an indirect cost rate it
shall not apply a rate that exceeds the Restricted Rate approved by the Department of Education in
the fiscal year.

“Inter-district student” means a student who is attending a Special School or Special Program
operated by any school district other than the school district in which the student’s parents, Relative
Caregiver or legal guardian resides.

“Intra-district student” means a student who is attending a Special School or Special Program
operated by the school district in which the student’s parents, Relative Caregiver or legal guardian
resides.

“Local School District” means a reorganized school district or vocational technical school district
established pursuant to Chapter 10 of Title 14 of the Delaware Code.

“Special Program” means a program established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §203 or that has been
approved as a Special Program by the Department of Education with the consent of the State Board of
Education.

"Special School" means a school established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §203 or that has been approved
as a Special School by the Department of Education with the consent of the State Board of Education.

“Time and Effort Log” means the record of actual time worked in the Special School or Special
Program by a local school district employee.

“Tuition Billing form” means the standardized template developed and approved by the Department
of Education, and based on current state law, to determine the tuition costs allowable per pupil
attending a Special School or Special Program.
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3.0 Process for Determining Tuition Eligibility

3.1 A local school district may charge tuition for an intra- or inter- district student enrolled in a Special
School or Special Program based on the following criteria:

3.1.1 The student shall be enrolled and attending the Special School or Special Program as of

September 30th of the current school year; and

3.1.2 The charges attributed to the Special School or Special Program shall be limited to Educational
Related Expenses or those expenses that have been approved by the Department of Education.

3.2 A local school district operating a tuition eligible Special School or Special Program may not reallocate
state units earned for the Special School or Special Program, if such reallocation requires an increase
in the tuition tax rate or tuition billing amount. If a reallocation of state units earned will not require such
an increase, districts may reallocate positions as necessary to ensure the most efficient delivery of
services, except for those instances currently prohibited by state law, including but is not limited to, 14
Del.C., §1703(o).

4.0 Process for Tuition Billing

4.1 A local school district shall calculate the tuition charges by using the most current Tuition Billing forms
and instructions developed and approved by the Department of Education.

4.2 The local school district shall submit tuition bills to the Department of Education for certification no later

than November 15th of each year.

4.3 The Department of Education shall certify that the billing is true and correct no later than twenty (20)
working days after receipt. No bill for tuition charges shall be paid until it has been certified by the
Secretary of Education.

4.4 Upon certification, the local school district shall provide a copy of the certified tuition bill to the
district(s) whose students are being served by the Special School or Special Program.

4.4.1 A district may bill for its students being served by a Special School or Special Program that it
operates. All stipulations within this regulation shall be followed for intra district students.

4.5 Any local school district that has received a tuition bill from another local school district shall pay the

tuition charges no later than January 1st of the current school year.

4.6 All billing disputes shall be documented through written explanation and provided to the finance officer
of the local school district operating the Special School or Special Program.

4.6.1 Only charges in dispute may be held; the undisputed remainder of the tuition bill shall be paid as
described in 4.5.

4.6.2 Billing disputes shall be resolved and charges paid before the end of the current school year.

4.7 If any tuition bill is adjusted within the current school year after already being certified by the
Department, and if the adjustments alter the Special School or Special Program’s cost, individual
enrollment, total enrollment or tuition rate per pupil from what was already certified, the district shall
resubmit the tuition bill to the Department for approval and include reasons for change(s).

4.8 Tuition billings for a Special School or Special Program serving out-of-state students shall be submitted
to the Department of Education on a form entitled “Establishment of Tuition Costs for Out-of-State/
Country Students with Disabilities.” The Department of Education shall certify the tuition bill in
accordance with 14 Del.C., Chapter 6 and other sections of this regulation.

5.0 Tuition Billing Form and Reconciliation

5.1 For all estimated and actual tuition rate data, the sum of the sending district enrollments shall be equal
to the exact number of students in the total program enrollment.

5.2 Tuition bills shall be prepared and submitted in accordance with this regulation for intra-district
students served by an approved Special School or Special Program.

5.3 Tuition billings that yield an increase or decrease of 10% or more per pupil over the prior year estimate
shall include a detailed explanation for the rate change.
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6.0 Waivers

Tuition charges may be waived in accordance with 14 Del.C. Chapter 6.

7.0 Audit and Record Retention Requirements

The local school district shall follow the requirements for audit and record retention as prescribed by the Office
of the Auditor of Accounts and Department of State – Delaware Public Archives.

1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to outline tuition eligibility and the process for tuition billing and payments, per
14 Del.C. Ch. 6.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, have the following meaning:

"Educational related expenses" means those expenses that are necessary to operate a special school or
special program to meet the criteria for which it was established and includes direct services and
indirect costs as defined herein. Direct services mean the provision of instructional and educational
services by the authorized special school or special program that are readily identifiable to that
program. Indirect costs mean costs incurred for common or joint purposes. Indirect costs benefit more
than one cost objective (e.g. award, project or activity) and cannot be readily and specifically identified
with a particular final cost objective without efforts disproportionate to the results achieved. If an
authorized special school or special program elects to apply an indirect cost rate, it shall not apply a
rate that exceeds the restricted rate approved by the Department of Education in the fiscal year.

"Receiving district" means any reorganized school district which enrolls in its schools any pupil who is not
a resident of such receiving district pursuant to 14 Del.C. §601(1).

"Reorganized school district" means the same as defined in 14 Del.C. §1002(3) and does not include
vocational-technical or charter schools. 

"Sending district" means any reorganized school district which sends to the schools of a receiving district
any pupil who is not a resident of such receiving district pursuant to 14 Del.C. §601(3).

"Special program" means a program established pursuant to 14 Del.C. §203, or that has been approved
as a special program by the Department of Education with the consent of the State Board of
Education.

"Special school" means a standalone school, operating with a separate budget unit within the State's
accounting system.

3.0 Process for Determining Tuition Eligibility

3.1 A local reorganized school district may bill tuition for students enrolled in a special school or special
program and those students classified as pre-kindergarten, intensive or complex based on the
following criteria:

3.1.1 The student shall be enrolled and attending as of September 30th of the current school year; and

3.1.2 The charges shall be limited to educational related expenses.

3.2. A local reorganized school district operating a tuition-eligible special school or special program may
not reallocate state units earned for the special school or special program, if such reallocation requires
an increase in the tuition tax rate or tuition billing amount. If a reallocation of state units earned will not
require such an increase, districts may reallocate positions as necessary to ensure the most efficient
delivery of services, except for those instances currently prohibited by state law, including 14 Del.C.
§1703(o).

3.3 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §509(f), a charter schools will receive tuition funding for students classified as
intensive and complex.
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3.3.1 The student shall be enrolled and attending the charter school as of September 30th of the current
school year.

3.3.2 Funding received by a charter school for this purpose shall be placed in a unique appropriation
identified by the Department of Education and shall only be used for educational related expenses
directly tied to intensive and complex students.

4.0 Process for Local Reorganized School District Tuition Billing

4.1 A receiving district shall calculate tuition bills by using the most current tuition billing forms and
instructions for any tuition expenditures for tuition-eligible students, excluding private placements
approved through the Interagency Collaborative Team as authorized by 14 Del.C. §3124. A tuition
billing form means the standardized templates developed and approved by the Department of
Education.

4.2 A receiving district shall submit tuition bills to the Department of Education for certification no later than
November 15th of each year.

4.2.1 This timeline is critical to ensuring timely payment of obligations to support students by January
1st in accordance with 14 Del.C. §602(d), and therefore must be met by all reorganized school
districts eligible to submit tuition bills.

4.2.2 Failure to meet this deadline may result in the Department of Education's inability to certify tuition
bills.

4.3 The Department of Education shall certify that the billing is true and correct no later than 20 working
days after receipt. No bill for tuition charges shall be paid until it has been certified by the Secretary of
Education.

4.4 Upon certification, the receiving district shall provide a copy of the certified tuition bill to the sending
districts whose students are being served by the special school or special program or who are enrolled
in the receiving district and classified as pre-kindergarten, intensive or complex.

4.5 In accordance with 14 Del.C. §602(d), any sending district that has received a tuition bill from a
receiving district shall pay the tuition charges no later than January 1st of the current school year. In
the event payment is delayed beyond the statutorily required date, the Department of Education may
process tuition payments from the sending district's local tuition appropriation.

4.6 Any billing disputes on behalf of the sending district shall be documented through written explanation
and provided to the Chief Financial Officer (or equivalent) of the receiving district and the Department
of Education no later than December 31st.

4.6.1 Only charges in dispute may be held, while the undisputed remainder of the tuition bill shall be
paid.

4.6.2 Billing disputes shall be resolved by the parties and charges paid before the end of the current
school year. If disputes have not been resolved by May 1st of each year, both parties shall notify
the Department of Education of the circumstances and the Department of Education shall provide
a resolution no later than June 1st of the same year. Upon review, the Department of Education
shall provide a written decision to both parties, and that decision will serve as the basis for final
certification of the tuition bill for immediate payment.

4.7 If any tuition bill is adjusted within the current school year after being certified by the Department of
Education, and if the adjustments alter the cost, individual enrollment, total enrollment or tuition rate
per pupil from what was already certified, the sending district shall resubmit the tuition bill to the
Department of Education for approval and include reasons for changes.

4.8 Tuition billings for serving out-of-state students in accordance with 14 Del.C. §606 shall be submitted
to the Department of Education on a form entitled "Establishment of Tuition Costs for Out-of-State/
Country Students with Disabilities." The Department of Education shall certify the tuition bill in
accordance with 14 Del.C. Ch. 6 and this regulation.

4.9 For all estimated and actual tuition rate data, the sum of the sending district enrollments shall be equal
to the exact number of students in the total program enrollment.
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4.10 Tuition billings that yield an increase or decrease of 10% or more per pupil over the prior year estimate
shall include a detailed explanation for the rate change.

5.0 Process for Charter School Tuition Funding

5.1 No later than September 15th of each year, the Department of Education shall calculate a per pupil
amount for each tuition-eligible student within each local reorganized school district, utilizing the
methodology outlined below.

5.1.1 Eligible tuition expenditures are prior year total local tuition expenditures for a reorganized school
district less local tuition expenditures for private placements, tuition-eligible English learners (also
known as multi language learners) programs and pre-kindergarten services. Reorganized school
districts shall use unique appropriations for a pre-kindergarten local tuition and local tuition-eligible
English learner programs, as identified by the Department of Education. Additionally, reorganized
school districts must follow the established account code guidance to properly identify local tuition
expenditures for private placements.

5.1.2 Eligible Division I units are prior year Division I intensive and complex units of a local reorganized
school district, excluding units attributed to pre-kindergarten and special schools.

5.2 The per pupil expense amounts shall be calculated as outlined in the following steps:

5.2.1 The eligible tuition expenditures determined in subsection 5.1.1 shall be divided by the number of
eligible units determined in subsection 5.1.2.

5.2.2 The intensive per pupil rate shall be determined by dividing the amount calculated in subsection
5.2.1 by the intensive unit ratio as defined in 14 Del.C. §1703 (a).

5.2.3 The complex per pupil rate shall be determined by dividing the amount calculated in subsection
5.2.1 by the complex unit ratio as defined in 14 Del.C. §1703 (a).

5.3 Charter tuition funding shall be calculated by multiplying the number of intensive and complex students
enrolled at the charter school in the current school year by the respective amounts calculated in
subsections 5.2.2 and 5.2.3 for each respective sending district. The resulting tuition amount shall be
multiplied by 50% to arrive at a final charter tuition funding amount.

5.4 Charter tuition funding shall be calculated by the Department of Education by November 30th. The
sending district shall pay the tuition charges no later than January 1st of the current school year. In the
event payment is delayed beyond the due date, the Department of Education may process tuition
payments from the sending district's local tuition appropriation.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 122(b)(15) and 303 (14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) & 
303)

14 DE Admin. Code 1008

PUBLIC NOTICE

1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Repeal of Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) and 303, the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association ("DIAA"), acting

in consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), proposes to repeal
subsection 2.3 of 14 DE Admin. Code 1008 DIAA Junior High and Middle School Interscholastic Athletics because
it will be incorporated into a new regulation, 14 DE Admin. Code 1028 Student Athlete Eligibility: Enrollment and
Attendance.
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In accordance with 14 Del.C. §122(d), the Department is required to perform and issue a written educational
impact analysis of any new proposed regulation and of any regulation that is proposed to be continued. Because
this regulation is proposed to repeal a subsection only, the Department is not required to perform and issue a
written educational impact analysis.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover,
Delaware 19901 or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/
community/delaware-education-laws-and-regulations/provide-public-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m.
EST) on or before May 2, 2024. Any person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a
copy from the Department at the Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal
Street, Dover, Delaware.

*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 738RFA 04-01-24.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 738 04-01-24.htm

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 122(b)(15) and 303 (14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) & 
303)

14 DE Admin. Code 1009

PUBLIC NOTICE

1009 DIAA High School Interscholastic Athletics

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Repeal of Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) and 303, the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association ("DIAA"), acting

in consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), proposes to repeal
subsection 2.3 of 14 DE Admin. Code 1009 DIAA High School Interscholastic Athletics because it will be
incorporated into a new regulation, 14 DE Admin. Code 1028 Student Athlete Eligibility: Enrollment and
Attendance.

In accordance with 14 Del.C. §122(d), the Department is required to perform and issue a written educational
impact analysis of any new proposed regulation and of any regulation that is proposed to be continued. Because
this regulation is proposed to repeal a subsection only, the Department is not required to perform and issue a
written educational impact analysis.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover,
Delaware 19901 or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/
community/delaware-education-laws-and-regulations/provide-public-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m.
EST) on or before May 2, 2024. Any person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a
copy from the Department at the Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal
Street, Dover, Delaware.
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*Please Note: 
(1) The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by

29 Del.C. Ch. 104, is available at:
https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 739RFA 04-01-24.pdf

(2) Due to the size of the proposed regulation, it is not being published here. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 739 04-01-24.htm

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 122(b)(15) and 303(b)(1)d (14 Del.C. 
§§122(b)(15) & 303(b)(1)d)

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del. C. §122(d)

1028 Student Athlete Eligibility: Enrollment and Attendance

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Adoption of a New Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) and 303(b)(1)d, the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association Board of

Directors ("Board"), acting in consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education
("Department"), proposes the adoption of 14 DE Admin. Code 1028 Student Athlete Eligibility: Enrollment and
Attendance. The regulation sets forth the enrollment and attendance requirements for students to be eligible to
participate in interscholastic athletics. The proposed regulation includes specifying the content of the regulation in
Section 1.0; adding defined terms to, and incorporating defined terms from existing regulations into, Section 2.0;
adding the purpose of the Enrollment Rule to subsection 3.1; adding language concerning waivers to subsections
3.2.1 and 3.2.2; adding subsection 3.5, which concerns students who enroll in a school initially under a permanent
change of station (PCS); adding proposed subsection 3.6, which concerns students who are not legally enrolled in
a Delaware public school due to homelessness; and adding subsection 4.1, which concerns the purpose of the
Attendance Rule. Additionally, the Board is simultaneously proposing to repeal existing sections from 14 DE
Admin. Code 1008 and 14 DE Admin. Code 1009 and incorporate them into this new regulation. Specifically,
proposed Section 3.0 is formerly subsections 2.3.1, 2.3.2, and 2.3.3 of 14 DE Admin. Code 1008 and subsections
2.3.1, 2.3.2, 2.3.3, and 2.3.4 of 14 DE Admin. Code 1009, except that "tryout" has been added to subsection 3.2
and proposed subsection 3.3 includes clarification changes. Proposed Section 4.0 is formerly subsections 2.3.5,
2.3.6, and 2.3.7 of 14 DE Admin. Code 1008 and subsections 2.3.6, 2.3.7, and 2.3.8 of 14 DE Admin. Code 1009,
except that "tryout" has been added to subsections 4.2 and 4.3.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover,
Delaware 19901 or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/
community/delaware-education-laws-and-regulations/provide-public-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m.
EST) on or before May 2, 2024. Any person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a
copy from the Department at the Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal
Street, Dover, Delaware.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the new regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The new regulation will help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement
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standards by setting forth enrollment and attendance requirements for students to be eligible to participate in
interscholastic athletics.

2. Will the new regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The new regulation
concerns eligibility requirements for students and is not designed to help to ensure students in Delaware public
schools receive an equitable education.

3. Will the new regulation help to ensure all students' health and safety are adequately protected? The new
regulation will help to help ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected. Proposed
subsection 4.2.2 mandates that a student who is not in attendance at school due to illness or injury is not permitted
to participate in interscholastic athletics. 

4. Will the new regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The new regulation will
help ensure students' legal rights are respected by including additional language that is consistent with 14 Del.C.
§§401-414 (School District Enrollment Choice Program), 14 Del.C. §§160A-177A (Interstate Compact on
Education for Children of Military Families), and 42 U.S.C. §11434a(2) (McKinney-Vento Education for Homeless
Children and Youths Act).

5. Will the new regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local
board and school level? The new regulation does not change authority or flexibility of decision makers at the local
board and school level. By statute (14 Del.C. § 303(b)), DIAA develops rules and regulations relating to middle and
secondary school interscholastic athletics for schools in Delaware, including the regulation of athletic programs of
all public schools and such nonpublic schools that elect to become full or associate DIAA Member Schools. The
Board enforces the regulations (14 Del.C. §304).

6. Will the new regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon
decision makers at the local board and school levels? The new regulation does not place unnecessary reporting or
administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
the same entity? The Board enforces the regulations relating to interscholastic athletics in Delaware (14 Del.C.
§304).

8. Will the new regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts, and social studies? The new regulation is consistent with, and not
an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the new regulation? There is not a less
burdensome method for addressing the purpose of this new regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the new regulation? The
new regulation concerns eligibility requirements for students. There is no cost to the state or local school boards for
complying with the new regulation. 

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 740RFA 04-01-24.pdf

1028 Student Athlete Eligibility: Enrollment and Attendance

1.0 Content

In accordance with 14 Del.C. §303, this regulation sets forth the eligibility to participate in interscholastic
athletics at the middle and high school levels for students who enroll in and attend Member Schools.

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning:

"Contest" means a formal competition in which students or school teams compete to determine a winner.

"Member School" means a full or associate member school of the DIAA.

"Practice" means working on skills for a particular sport within a single team at a Member School as guided by
coaches and includes team workouts and inner-team scrimmages.
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"School day" means an actual school attendance days during the regular academic school year, including a
partial day that students are in attendance at school for instructional purposes as adopted by the
school district or governing body of the school. School day does not weekends, holidays, and summer
school.

"Scrimmage" means an informal competition between schools in which a final score is not kept, the time
periods are permitted to be modified, the results of the competition are not reported to the media, the
coaches are permitted to interrupt the play to provide instruction, and the competition is strictly for
practice purposes.

"Tryout" means a demonstration of skills to make a team in order to be eligible to practice.

"Student with a disability" means a "child with a disability" as that term is defined in 14 DE Admin. Code 922
or a qualified person with a disability under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

3.0 Eligibility: Enrollment

3.1 Purpose of the Enrollment Rule - The purpose of the Enrollment Rule is to promote loyalty and school
spirit which lends itself to cohesion of the student body, to help promote amateurism by drawing
student athletes only from each school's student population, to avoid professionalism and over-
emphasis on student athletes, and to discourage team-shopping.

3.2 Enrollment Rule - A student shall be legally enrolled in the Member School which they represent in
order to participate in a tryout, practice, scrimmage, or contest. A student who attends 2 different
schools during the regular school day shall be eligible to participate only at the school at which the
student is receiving instruction in the core academic areas and is satisfying the majority of graduation
requirements, not at a school at which the student receives specialized educational instruction such as
vocational training. A student shall not participate in a tryout, practice, scrimmage, or contest during
the time an in-school or out-of-school suspension is in effect or during the time the student is assigned
to an alternative school for disciplinary reasons.

3.2.1 A waiver of the Enrollment Rule does not mean that a student athlete can automatically participate
in an interscholastic tryout, practice, scrimmage, or contest with a Member School in which the
student is not legally enrolled. If a waiver of the Enrollment Rule is granted, the school that the
student athlete wishes to represent determines whether to allow the student athlete to participate
in an interscholastic tryout, practice, scrimmage, or contest as a representative of the school.
DIAA does not have the authority to authorize a student athlete to participate in interscholastic
athletics as a representative of a school in which the student athlete is not legally enrolled.

3.2.2 A request for a waiver of the Enrollment Rule shall be approved by the Superintendent or the Head
of School of the school that the student athlete wishes to represent before the request is submitted
to DIAA.  Any such waiver request that is not approved by the Superintendent or Head of School
will be deemed incomplete by DIAA and will not be processed by DIAA.

3.3 A student with a disability who is placed in a school or program by the student's school district or
charter school shall be eligible to participate in interscholastic athletics as set forth in subsections 3.3.1
through 3.3.4. Subsection 3.3 does not apply to students who are placed in alternative schools or
programs for disciplinary reasons through the Comprehensive School Discipline Improvement
Program (14 Del.C. §§ 1601 - 1607). For the purpose of subsection 3.3, campus means a contiguous
land area containing 1 or more school buildings.

3.3.1 If the school or program in which the student is placed sponsors the interscholastic sport in
question, the student shall be eligible to participate only at the school or program in which the
student is placed.

3.3.2 If the school or program in which the student is placed does not sponsor the interscholastic sport in
question and the student is served in a regular school for all or part of the school day, the student
shall be eligible to participate only at that regular school.

3.3.3 If the school or program in which the student is placed does not sponsor the interscholastic sport in
question, the student is served exclusively in the school or program, and the school or program is
located on the campus of a regular school, the student shall be eligible to participate only at the
regular school on the same campus.
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3.3.4 If the school or program in which the student is placed does not sponsor the interscholastic sport in
question, the student is served exclusively in the school or program, and the school or program is
not located on the campus of a regular school, the student shall be eligible to participate only at
the regular school designated to serve the school's or program's students. A school district or
charter school that administers schools or programs in which a student with a disability may be
placed and that has multiple regular schools determines the regular school at which the student
may participate in interscholastic athletics.

3.4 Enrollment Requirements for the School District Enrollment Choice Program

3.4.1 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §407(a)(2), a student who is enrolled in a traditional public, vocational, or
charter school outside of the student's feeder pattern through the School District Enrollment
Choice Program shall remain enrolled in the school for a minimum of 2 years. A waiver request is
not required and the student is not ineligible under this subsection if 1 of the exceptions as
provided in 14 Del.C. §407(a)(2) applies or the student's enrollment in the school is terminated as
provided in 14 Del.C. §407. Even if a waiver request is not required and the student is not
ineligible under this subsection, a waiver request may be required and the student may be
ineligible under the Transfer Rule.

3.4.2 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §506(d), a student who is in their first year of attendance at a charter school
shall remain enrolled in the charter school for a minimum of 1 year. A waiver request is not
required and the student is not ineligible under this subsection if good cause exists as provided in
14 Del.C. §506(d).

3.5 Consistent with 14 Del.C. §§ 160A-177A (Interstate Compact on Education for Children of Military
Families), if a Member School has an insufficient number of enrolled students to form a team in a
particular sport and the school district decides to allow a student who has enrolled in the school initially
under a permanent change of station (PCS) order to participate in a tryout, practice, scrimmage, or
contest on a team at another school within the school district, the student is eligible to participate in a
tryout for the team, a practice with the team, and scrimmages and contests against other school teams
and is not required to submit a waiver request. For the purpose of this regulation, permanent change of
station (PCS) means the assignment or transfer of a military service member to a different permanent
duty station, to include relocation to place of retirement, when retirement is mandatory, under a
competent authorization/order that does not specify the duty as temporary, provide for further
assignment to a new permanent duty station, or direct the military service member to return to the old
permanent duty station.

3.6 If the student is not legally enrolled in a Delaware public school due to homelessness as defined in the
McKinney-Vento Education for Homeless Children and Youths Act, 42 U.S.C. §11434a(2), a waiver of
the Enrollment Rule is not required and the student shall be eligible to participate in a tryout, practice,
scrimmage, or contest at the Delaware public school in which the student seeks to enroll.

4.0 Eligibility: Attendance

4.1 Purpose of the Attendance Rule - The purpose of the Attendance Rule is to help ensure that student
athletes adhere to their school's attendance policy so that they maintain the academic standard
required for interscholastic athletic participation and to promote graduation in a timely manner.

4.2 Attendance Rule

4.2.1 A student shall be legally in attendance at school in order to participate in a tryout, practice,
scrimmage, or contest except when excused by proper school authorities in accordance with pre-
established written school policy. For the purpose of the Attendance Rule, legally in attendance
means present at school as determined by a pre-established policy adopted by the local school
board or governing body of the student's school.

4.2.2 A student who is not legally in attendance at school due to illness or injury shall not be permitted to
participate in a tryout, practice, scrimmage, or contest on that day.

4.2.3 A student who fails to complete a semester or is absent for 1 or more semesters for reasons other
than personal illness or injury shall be ineligible for 90 school days from the student's reentry to
school.
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4.3 An ineligible student who participates in a tryout, practice, scrimmage, or contest in violation of
subsection 4.2 shall, when the student regains eligibility, be prohibited from trying out, practicing,
scrimmaging or competing for an equivalent number of days.

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 122(b)(15) and 303 (14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) & 
303)

14 DE Admin. Code 1035

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del. C. §122(d)

1035 In-Season Athletic Activities and Contact

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) and 303, the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association Board of

Directors ("Board"), acting in consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education
("Department"), proposes to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1035 In-Season Athletic Activities and Contact. The
regulation sets forth the requirements for athletic activities and contact during the period of time from the beginning
of the season until the last scheduled date for DIAA championships for the sport's season. The proposed
amendments are to add "event" as a defined term to Section 2.0 and amend Section 6.0, which concerns
sanctioning of invitationals, meets, and tournaments. The proposed amendments are based on the current practice
for sanctioning.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover,
Delaware 19901 or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/
community/delaware-education-laws-and-regulations/provide-public-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m.
EST) on or before May 2, 2024. Any person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a
copy from the Department at the Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal
Street, Dover, Delaware.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation concerns requirements for athletic activities and contact during the period of
time from the beginning of the season until the last scheduled date for DIAA championships for the sport's season
and is not designed to help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement standards. 

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation concerns requirements for athletic activities and contact during the period of time from the beginning of
the season until the last scheduled date for DIAA championships for the sport's season and is not designed to help
to ensure students in Delaware public schools receive an equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure all students' health and safety are adequately protected? The
amended regulation concerns requirements for athletic activities and contact during the period of time from the
beginning of the season until the last scheduled date for DIAA championships for the sport's season, which will
help to ensure all students' health and safety are adequately protected.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation concerns requirements for athletic activities and contact during the period of time from the beginning of
the season until the last scheduled date for DIAA championships for the sport's season and is not designed to help
ensure students' legal rights are respected.
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5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change authority or flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level. By statute (14 Del.C. § 303(b)), DIAA develops rules and regulations relating to
middle and secondary school interscholastic athletics for schools in Delaware, including the regulation of athletic
programs of all public schools and such nonpublic schools that elect to become full or associate DIAA Member
Schools. The Board enforces the regulations (14 Del.C. §304).

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
the same entity? The Board enforces the regulations relating to interscholastic athletics in Delaware (14 Del.C.
§304).

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts, and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? There is not a
less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of this amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the amended regulation?
There is no expected cost to the state or to the local school boards of compliance with the amended regulation. 

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 744RFA 04-01-24.pdf

1035 In-Season Athletic Activities and Contact
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

2.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, shall have the following meaning:

"Board" means the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association Board of Directors established pursuant to
14 Del.C. Ch. 3.

"Competition" means a contest between schools in which student athletes compete.

"Event" means an invitational, meet, or tournament.

"In-Season" means the period of time from the beginning of the season until the last scheduled date for DIAA
championships for the sport's season.

"Member School" means a full or associate member school of the DIAA.

"Practice" means working on skills for a particular sport within a single team at a Member School as guided by
coaches and includes team workouts and inner-team scrimmages.

"School day" or "School days" means actual school attendance days during the regular academic school
year including a partial day that students are in attendance at school for instructional purposes as
adopted by the district or governing body of the school not to include weekends, holidays, summer
school, etc.

"Scrimmage" means an informal competition between schools in which a final score is not kept, the time
periods are permitted to be modified, the results of the competition are not reported to the media, the
coaches are permitted to interrupt the play to provide instruction, and the competition is strictly for
practice purposes.

"Unified Partner" means a student who is not identified as a Unified Athlete, is enrolled at a DIAA Member
School, and does not appear on any school eligibility report submitted to DIAA for a non-Unified school
team in the same sport.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)
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6.0 Sanctioning of Competitions

6.1 Purpose of Sanctioning - The purpose of sanctioning an Event is to enhance the likelihood the Event
will adhere to the criteria in subsection 6.3, serve to promote sound regulation of the conditions under
which students and teams compete, encourage well-managed rules and regulations, add an element
of due diligence that encourages Member Schools' compliance with rules and regulations, protect the
welfare of student athletes, protect the existing programs sponsored by Member Schools and thereby
promote the opportunity for a larger number of student athletes to gain the benefits of interscholastic
competition, help to reduce the abuses of excessive competition, promote uniformity in obtaining
approval for Events, and help protect students from exploitation.

6.1 6.2 Member Schools may participate in tournaments or meets Events involving 4 or more schools only if
the event Event has been sanctioned by DIAA and, if applicable, by the NFHS. 

6.3 Tournaments or meets Events shall be sanctioned by DIAA in accordance with the following criteria:
criteria in subsections 6.3.1 through 6.3.8.

6.1.1 6.3.1The event Event shall not be for determining a state, regional or national champion.

6.1.2 6.3.2The event Event shall be organized, promoted, and conducted by and all profits go to a
nonprofit organization. Involvement by a commercial organization shall be limited to providing
financial support.

6.1.3 6.3.3Nonsymbolic competition awards shall have a value of not more than $50.00 $150 per recipient
and shall require the prior approval of the Executive Director.

6.1.4 6.3.4Nonschool event Event organizers shall submit a full financial report to the DIAA office within 90
calendar days of the completion of the event Event.

6.1.5 6.3.5The event Event organizer shall submit a list of out of state schools which have been invited to
participate in the Event to the DIAA office and such schools shall be subject to approval by the
Executive Director.

6.1.6 6.3.6Out of state schools which are not members of their state athletic association shall verify in
writing that their participating athletes are in compliance with their state athletic association's
eligibility rules and regulations.

6.1.7 6.3.7The event Event organizer shall not accept financial support or sell advertising to companies
involved in the production or distribution of alcohol and tobacco products.

6.1.8 6.3.8The event Event organizer shall comply with all applicable NFHS sanctioning requirements,
including that the Event shall be sponsored or co-sponsored by a member school of the host state
athletic association.

6.4 In order to compete in Events out-of-state or in a state that does not border Delaware, a Member
School shall ensure that the sponsoring institution or agency applied to its home association for
sanctioning and DIAA Member Schools are listed as participants.

6.5 Process for Sanctioning

6.5.1 Event Involving DIAA Member Schools Only (Sponsored by DIAA Member School)

6.5.1.1 For an Event that involves only DIAA Member Schools (4 or more) and is sponsored by a
DIAA Member School, the sponsoring DIAA Member School shall complete the
"Application for Sanction of DIAA Member Schools Only Athletic Event" form.

6.5.1.2 The completed form shall be submitted to the Executive Director at least 30 days prior to
the date of the proposed Event.

6.5.1.3 The Executive Director or designee will determine whether to grant the application.

6.5.2 Event Involving DIAA Member Schools Only (Not Sponsored by DIAA Member School

6.5.2.1 For an Event that involves only DIAA Member Schools (4 or more) and is not sponsored
by a DIAA Member School, the organization sponsoring the Event shall complete the
"Application for Sanction of DIAA Member Schools Only Athletic Event" form.

6.5.2.2 The completed form shall be submitted to the Executive Director at least 30 days prior to
the date of the proposed Event.

6.5.2.3 The Executive Director or designee will determine whether to grant the application.
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6.5.3 Event Involving 1 or more Schools from Bordering States (Sponsored by DIAA Member School)

6.5.3.1 For an Event that involves schools located in Maryland, Pennsylvania, or New Jersey and
is sponsored by a DIAA Member School, the sponsoring DIAA Member School shall
complete the "Application to State Association for Sanction of Interstate Athletic Event"
form.

6.5.3.2 The completed form shall be submitted to the Executive Director at least 30 days prior to
the date of the proposed Event.

6.5.3.3 The Executive Director or designee will determine whether to grant the application.

6.5.4 Out-of-State Event Involving 1 or more DIAA Member Schools

6.5.4.1 For an out-of-state Event involving 1 or more DIAA Member Schools, the state association
designee from a border state or NFHS Sanctioning Office shall send the appropriate
sanctioning form.

6.5.4.2 The completed form shall be submitted to the Executive Director at least 30 days prior to
the date of the proposed Event.

6.5.4.3 The Executive Director or designee will determine whether to grant the application.

6.2 6.6 Participation in a nonsanctioned event Event shall result in payment of a $100.00 $100 fine. A second
offense shall result in a $250.00 $250 fine and loss of eligibility to participate in sanctioned events
Events for the remainder of the sport season. A third offense shall result in a $500.00 $500 fine and
loss of eligibility to participate in sanctioned events Events for the remainder of the school year.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 744 04-01-24.htm

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 122(b)(15) and 303 (14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) & 
303)

14 DE Admin. Code 1043

PUBLIC NOTICE

Educational Impact Analysis Pursuant to 14 Del. C. §122(d)

1043 Officials

A. TYPE OF REGULATORY ACTION REQUESTED
Amendment to Existing Regulation

B. SYNOPSIS OF SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§122(b)(15) and 303, the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association Board of

Directors ("Board"), acting in consultation and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education
("Department"), developed amendments to 14 DE Admin. Code 1043 Officials. The regulation concerns the
requirements for DIAA-recognized officials' associations, requirements for officials who officiate at DIAA Member
Schools, and the fees for officiating contests and competitions. The Board proposes to amend the rates for
officiating regular season contests in subsection 5.1 and amend the fees for officiating scrimmages in subsection
5.3.

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so in writing by submitting them to the
Department of Education, Office of the Secretary, Attn: Regulation Review, 401 Federal Street, Suite 2, Dover,
Delaware 19901 or through the Department's online submission form at https://education.delaware.gov/
community/delaware-education-laws-and-regulations/provide-public-comment/ by the close of business (4:30 p.m.
EST) on or before May 2, 2024. Any person who wishes to receive a copy of the proposed regulation may obtain a
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copy from the Department at the Office of the Secretary on the second floor of the Townsend Building, 401 Federal
Street, Dover, Delaware.

C. IMPACT CRITERIA
1. Will the amended regulation help improve student achievement as measured against state achievement

standards? The amended regulation pertains to officials and is not designed to help improve student achievement
as measured against state achievement standards.

2. Will the amended regulation help ensure that all students receive an equitable education? The amended
regulation pertains to officials and is not designed to help to ensure students in Delaware public schools receive an
equitable education.

3. Will the amended regulation help to ensure all students' health and safety are adequately protected? The
amended regulation does not change the requirement that officials complete a course regarding concussion in
sports, which is designed to help ensure that all students' health and safety are adequately protected.

4. Will the amended regulation help to ensure that all students' legal rights are respected? The amended
regulation pertains to officials and is not designed to help ensure students' legal rights are respected.

5. Will the amended regulation preserve the necessary authority and flexibility of decision-makers at the local
board and school level? The amended regulation does not change authority or flexibility of decision makers at the
local board and school level. By statute (14 Del.C. § 303(b)), DIAA develops rules and regulations relating to
middle and secondary school interscholastic athletics for schools in Delaware, including the regulation of athletic
programs of all public schools and such nonpublic schools that elect to become full or associate DIAA Member
Schools. The Board enforces the regulations (14 Del.C. §304).

6. Will the amended regulation place unnecessary reporting or administrative requirements or mandates
upon decision makers at the local board and school levels? The amended regulation does not place unnecessary
reporting or administrative requirements or mandates upon decision makers at the local board and school levels.

7. Will decision making authority and accountability for addressing the subject to be regulated be placed in
the same entity? The Board enforces the regulations relating to interscholastic athletics in Delaware (14 Del.C.
§304).

8. Will the amended regulation be consistent with and not an impediment to the implementation of other state
educational policies, in particular to state educational policies addressing achievement in the core academic
subjects of mathematics, science, language arts, and social studies? The amended regulation is consistent with,
and not an impediment to, the implementation of other state educational policies.

9. Is there a less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of the amended regulation? There is not a
less burdensome method for addressing the purpose of this amended regulation.

10. What is the cost to the state and to the local school boards of compliance with the amended regulation? In
accordance with 14 Del.C. §304(6), the Board establishes the fees for officiating contests and competitions at
DIAA Member Schools. The Officials' Committee recommended the proposed amendments to the Board.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 747RFA 04-01-24.pdf

1043 Officials
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

5.0 Fees for Officiating Contests and Competitions

5.1 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §304(6), the Board has established the following fees for officiating regular
season contests and Competitions. The Board has the authority to review and amend the fees.
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 27, ISSUE 10, MONDAY, APRIL 1, 2024

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 747RFA 04-01-24.pdf


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 749
Sport Level Number of

Officials per Contest Time Adjustment          

Rate per Official
(Regular
Season
Contests)

Baseball

Varsity 2 $95 $97

Subvarsity 2 $70 $72

Middle School 2 $60 $62

Basketball

Boys' Varsity 3, or 2 upon request $95 $97

Girls' Varsity 2, or 3 upon request $95 $97

Subvarsity 2 8 minute quarters $70 $72

Subvarsity 2 7 minute quarters $70 $72

Subvarsity 2 6 minute quarters $70 $72

Middle School 2 6 minute quarters $60 $62

Cross
Country

Starter/Referee Upon request $80 $82

Timer/Judge Upon request $80 $82

Field Hockey

Varsity 2 $95 $97

Subvarsity 2 $70 $72

Middle A 2 25 minute halves $60 $62

Middle B 2 25 minute or less
halves at the Member
School's discretion

$60 $62

Football

Varsity 5 $95 $97

Timer 1 $60 $62

Subvarsity 3 8 or 10 minute quarters $70 $72

Middle School 3 8 minute quarters $60 $62

Lacrosse
(Boys' and
Girls')

Varsity 2, or 3 if requested $95 $97

Subvarsity 2 $70 $72

Middle School 2 $60 $62

Soccer
(Boys' and
Girls')

Varsity 2, or 3 if requested $95 $97

Subvarsity 2 $70 $72

Subvarsity 3 $60 $62

Middle A 2 30 minute halves $60 $62

Middle B 2 30 minute or less
halves

$60 $62
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5.2 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §304(6), the fee for traveling to and from contests and Competitions shall be $0
for 0 to 15 miles, $5 for 16 to 40 miles, $10 for 41 to 60 miles, and $20 for 61 or more miles from the
official's residence.

5.3 Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §304(6), the fees for officiating a scrimmage shall be as follows:

Softball

Varsity 2 $95 $97

Subvarsity 2 $70 $72

Middle School 2 $60 $62

Swimming
and Diving

Referee 1 $80 $82

Judge 1 $80 $82

Track and
Field

Starter/Referee Upon request $80 $82

Timer/Judge Upon request $80 $82

Volleyball
(Boys' and
Girls')

Varsity 2 $95 $97

Linesman 2 by request $45 $46

Subvarsity 2 $70 $72

Middle School 2 $60 $62

Wrestling

Varsity 1 $95 $97

Subvarsity 1 $70 $72

Varsity+ 1 $95 $97, then
$5 per match,
up to 9
matches; not to
exceed $45

Middle School 1 $60 $62

Middle+ 1 $60 $62, then
$5 per match,
up to 9
matches; not to
exceed $45

Sport Standard Crew Size Scrimmage Fee (per hour up
to 2 hours)

Baseball 2 $57 ($114 total) $58 ($116
total)

Basketball - Boys' 3 $57 ($114 total) $58 ($174
total)

Basketball - Girls' 2 $57 ($114 total) $58 ($116
total)
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5.4 For the purpose of determining the fee for officiating a play day, each court or field is considered a
single scrimmage.

5.5 The fee for state tournament contests and Competitions shall be the rate at the varsity level as
provided in subsection 5.1 and an additional:

5.5.1 $5 for first, second, and quarterfinal rounds of Competition.

5.5.2 $10 for the semi-final round of Competition.

5.5.3 $15 for the final or championship contest.

5.6 The Officials' Committee shall work with the Executive Director to help determine the fee amount for
officiating a state tournament contest.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 747 04-01-24.htm

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY

Statutory Authority: 29 Delaware Code, Section 4805 (29 Del.C. §4805)
10 DE Admin. Code 203

PUBLIC NOTICE

203 Video Lottery and Table Game Regulations

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulations

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §4805, the Delaware State Lottery proposes to amend 10 DE Admin. Code 203 Video
Lottery and Table Game Regulations. The Delaware State Lottery will seek public comments on the issue of
whether certain amendments to its current regulation should be adopted.

Field Hockey 2 $57 ($114 total) $58 ($116
total)

Football 5 $57 ($114 total) $58 ($290
total)

Lacrosse - Boys' and Girls' 2 $57 ($114 total) $58 ($116
total)

Soccer - Boys' and Girls' 2 $57 ($114 total) $58 ($116
total)

Softball 2 $57 ($114 total) $58 ($116
total)

Swimming 2 $48 ($96 total) $49 ($98 total)

Volleyball - Boys' and Girls' 2 $57 ($114 total) $58 ($116
total)

Wrestling 1 $57 ($114 total) $58
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The proposed amendments are to subsections 4.18, 4.19, 14.14.1, 14.14.2, 14.14.3 in 10 DE Admin. Code 203.

The amendment to these subsections will simplify current regulations that unnecessarily assign different term
lengths to initial gaming licenses versus renewal gaming licenses. 

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so by submitting written comments by the
close of business on or before May 1, 2024 at the offices of the Delaware State Lottery at 1575 McKee Road, Suite
102, Dover, DE 19904. A copy of these regulations is available from the above address or may be viewed at the
Delaware State Lottery office at the same address.

C. Summary of Proposal

The first proposed amendment is to subsection 4.18 and makes all Gaming Vendor licenses valid for 3 years.

The second proposed amendment is to subsection 4.19 and makes all Non-Gaming Vendor licenses valid for 4
years. 

The third proposed amendment is to subsection 14.14.1 and makes all Gaming Room Service licenses valid for 5
years. 

The fourth proposed amendment is to subsection 14.14.2 and makes all Gaming Service licenses valid for 4 years.

The fifth proposed amendment is to subsection 14.14.3 and makes all Key licenses valid for 3 years.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 751RFA 04-01-24.pdf

203 Video Lottery and Table Game Regulations
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

4.0 Licensing of Service Companies; Gaming and Non-Gaming Vendors 

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

4.18 Gaming vendors shall be licensed for an initial term of 2 years and succeeding renewal terms a term of
3 years. The initial term of a gaming vendor license shall expire and be renewable on the last day of
the month on the second third anniversary of the issuance date. The renewal term for a gaming vendor
license shall expire and be renewable on the last day of the month on the third anniversary of the
issuance date.

4.19 Non-gaming vendors and gaming excursion providers shall be licensed for an initial a term of 3 years
and succeeding renewal terms of 4 years. The initial term of a license for a non-gaming vendor or a
gaming excursion provider shall expire and be renewable on the last day of the month on the third
fourth anniversary of the issuance date. The renewal term for a non-gaming vendor or a gaming
excursion provider shall expire and be renewable on the last day of the month on the fourth
anniversary of the issuance date.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

14.0 Employee License Procedure

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

14.14 License Terms and Renewal Filing Requirements

14.14.1 Gaming room service employee licenses shall be for an initial a term of 5 years. The initial term of
a gaming room service employee license shall expire and be renewable on the last day of the
month on the fifth anniversary of the issuance date. Gaming room service employee license
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 27, ISSUE 10, MONDAY, APRIL 1, 2024

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 751RFA 04-01-24.pdf


PROPOSED REGULATIONS 753
renewals shall be for a term of 6 years. The renewal term of a gaming room service employee
license shall expire and be renewable on the last day of the sixth anniversary of the issuance date.

14.14.2 Gaming employee licenses shall be for an initial a term of 3 4 years. The initial term of a gaming
employee license shall expire and be renewable on the last day of the month on the third fourth
anniversary of the issuance date. Gaming employee license renewals shall be for a term of 4
years. The renewal term of a gaming employee license shall expire and be renewable on the last
day of the month of the fourth anniversary of the issuance date.

14.14.3 Key employee licenses shall be for an initial a term of 2 3 years. The initial term of a key employee
license shall expire and be renewable on the last day of the month on the second third anniversary
of the issuance date. Key employee license renewals shall be for a term of 3 years. The renewal
term of a key employee license shall expire and be renewable on the last day of the month on the
third anniversary of the issuance date.

14.14.4 At a minimum of 60 days prior to expiration, each employee licensee shall submit a new and
updated license application form for a background investigation.

14.14.5 An employee license shall remain valid pending the disposition of a license renewal application
filed in accordance with the timelines set forth herein.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 751 04-01-24.htm

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Section 6010(a) and (c) (7 Del.C. §6010(a) & (c))
7 DE Admin. Code 1130

PUBLIC NOTICE

SAN # 2023-09
DOCKET # 2023-R-A-0015

1130 Title V State Operating Permit Program

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
        7 DE Admin. Code 1130 "Title V State Operating Permit Program"

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) is proposing to amend 7 DE

Admin. Code 1130, Section 6.0 "Permit Contents", subsections 6.7 and 6.1.3.3.3.1 to remove emergency
affirmative defense provisions and references. 7 DE Admin. Code 1130 is based on Title 40 of the Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR) Part 70, which outlines requirements for state operating permit programs. Subsection 6.7 of
1130 includes guidance on claiming affirmative defenses for emission exceedances for emergencies.

On July 21, 2023, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) issued a final rule (88 FR 47029) which
removed all emergency affirmative defense provisions for state and federal operating permit programs in 40 CFR
Part 70.6(g) and 71.6(g). Therefore, the Division is proposing to remove the emergency affirmative defense
provisions and references from 7 DE Admin. Code 1130, to maintain consistency with the current federal
requirements.

Additional amendments correct a typographical error (7 DE Admin. Code 1130, Section 8.0 of Appendix A
"Insignificant Activities"). This correction is not substantive and does not change the intent or purpose of the
regulation.
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3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:
    7 Del.C. Ch. 60, Section 6010 (a) and (c).

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
    None.

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
A virtual public hearing (Docket # 2023-R-A-0015) will be held on Thursday, April 25, 2024, beginning at 6 p.m.

The web link to the virtual hearing can be accessed through the DNREC Public Hearings site at https://de.gov/
dnrechearings. If prompted for a password, please use: 098243. To access the audio-only portion of the virtual
hearing, dial 1-646-931-3860 and enter the Meeting ID 889 9258 3729. Closed captioning in over 20 languages,
including English and Spanish, is available to attendees via the Zoom platform utilized for all DNREC Public
Hearings.

Those wishing to offer verbal comments during DNREC public hearings must pre-register no later than noon
on the date of the virtual hearing at https://de.gov/dnreccomments or by telephone at 302-739-9001.

The proposed amendments may be inspected online starting April 1, 2024 at http://regulations.delaware.gov/
services/current_issue.shtml, or in-person, by appointment only, by contacting Taylor Englert by phone at 302-323-
4542 or by email at Taylor.Englert@delaware.gov.

The Department will accept public comment through the close of business on Friday, May 10, 2024. Comments
will be accepted in written form via email to DNRECHearingComments@delaware.gov, or by using the online form
at https://de.gov/dnreccomments, or by U.S. mail to the following address:

Theresa Smith, Hearing Officer
DNREC - Office of the Secretary
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901

7. PREPARED BY:
Taylor Englert
Division of Air Quality-DNREC
715 Grantham Ln, New Castle, DE 19720
Phone: (302)323-4542; email: Taylor.Englert@delaware.gov

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 753RFA 04-01-24.pdf

1130 Title V State Operating Permit Program
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

08/11/22

6.0 Permit Contents

6.1 Standard Permit Requirements. Each permit issued under this regulation shall include all applicable
requirements that apply to the permitted source at the time of issuance. Each permit shall include the
following elements:

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

6.1.3 Monitoring and Related Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

6.1.3.3 With respect to reporting, the permit shall incorporate all applicable reporting requirements
and require the following:
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6.1.3.3.1 A permit issued under these regulations shall require the permittee to submit a report
of any required monitoring every six months. To the extent possible, the schedule for
submission of such reports shall be timed to coincide with other periodic reports
required by the permit, including the permittee's annual compliance certification.

6.1.3.3.2 Each report submitted under 6.1.3.3.1 of this regulation shall identify any deviations
from permit requirements since the previous report, and any deviations from the
monitoring, recordkeeping and reporting requirements under the permit.

6.1.3.3.3 In addition to semiannual monitoring reports, each permittee shall be required to
submit supplemental reports as follows:

6.1.3.3.3.1 Any deviation resulting from emergency conditions as defined in 6.7 of this
regulation shall be reported within two working days of the date on which the
permittee first becomes aware of the deviation, if the permittee wishes to assert the
affirmative defense authorized under 6.7 of this regulation; [Reserved]

6.1.3.3.3.2 Any deviation that poses an imminent and substantial danger to public health,
safety, or the environment shall be reported immediately upon discovery and after
activating the appropriate site emergency plan;

6.1.3.3.3.3 Any other deviations that are identified in the permit as requiring more
frequent reporting than the permittee's semiannual report shall be reported on the
schedule specified in the permit;

6.1.3.3.3.4 All reports of deviations from permit conditions shall identify the probable
cause of the deviations and any corrective actions or preventative measures taken.

6.1.3.3.3.5 Nothing herein shall relieve the permittee from any reporting requirements
under federal, state or local laws.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

6.7 Emergencies [Reserved]

6.7.1 Definition

“Emergency” means any situation arising from sudden and reasonably unforeseeable events
beyond the control of the source, including acts of God, which situation requires immediate
corrective action to restore normal operation, and that causes the source to exceed a technology-
based emission limitation under the permit, due to unavoidable increases in emissions attributable
to the emergency.

6.7.2 Effect of an emergency. An emergency constitutes an affirmative defense to an action brought for
noncompliance with such technology-based emission limitations if the conditions of 6.7.3 of this
regulation are met.

6.7.3 The affirmative defense of emergency shall be demonstrated through properly signed,
contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant evidence that:

6.7.3.1 An emergency occurred and that the permittee can identify the cause or causes of the
emergency;

6.7.3.2 The permitted facility was at the time being operated in a prudent and professional manner
and in compliance with generally accepted industry operations and maintenance
procedures;

6.7.3.3 During the period of the emergency the permittee took all reasonable steps to minimize
levels of emissions that exceeded the emission standards, or other requirements in the
permit; and

6.7.3.4 The permittee submitted notice of the emergency to the Department within two working
days of the time when emission limitations were exceeded due to the emergency. Such
notice must contain a description of the emergency, any steps taken to mitigate emissions,
and corrective actions taken.

6.7.4 In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking to establish the occurrence of an
emergency has the burden of proof.
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6.7.5 The provision of 6.7 of this regulation is in addition to any emergency provision contained in any
applicable requirement.

(Break in Continuity of Sections)

APPENDIX A: INSIGNIFICANT ACTIVITIES

Any information called-for by the permit application in 5.4 of this regulation need not be submitted for
the activities and emissions levels described in this appendix; however, the source must provide a list
of any such activities that are excluded because of size, emissions rate, or production rate. An
application may not omit information needed to determine the applicability of, or to impose, any
applicable requirement. The emissions from the activities described in this appendix shall be included
when determining the applicability of any applicable requirement.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

8.0 Internal combustion engines and in vehicles used for transport of passengers or freight, except as may be 
provided in subsequent regulations.

*Please Note: As the rest of the sections were not amended, they are not being published. A copy of the
regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 753 04-01-24.htm

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
OFFICE OF THE ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 4 Delaware Code, Section 304 (4 Del.C. §304)
4 DE Admin. Code 601

PUBLIC NOTICE

601 (Formerly Rule 35.1) Gathering Licenses

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
under the authority of 4 Del.C. §304, the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner proposes to update
its rules related to gathering licenses issued by the Office of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner.

The Commissioner previously noticed and published proposed changes to 4 DE Admin Code 601 in the
January 1, 2024 edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations and afforded a 30 day period for public comment.
The Commissioner published a General Notice on February 1, 2024, to extend the public comment period an
additional 30 days, until March 4, 2024, because of a nonfunctioning email address included in the notice.

Based upon the comments received during the public comment period, which has expired, the Commissioner
determined that substantive changes to the regulation are needed and hereby notices and proposes additional
changes for public comment. These additional changes relate primarily to how a nonprofit organization is defined;
the new proposed changes track specific language used by the Internal Revenue Service. In addition, the
proposed changes include a specific post-gathering event report, a report which requests 3 numbers related to the
sales and net proceeds of alcohol, including total alcohol sales and/or portion of ticket sales related to alcohol;
costs of the alcohol; and the net proceeds from the sale of alcohol at the event.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10116, persons wishing to submit written comments, suggestions, briefs, and
compilations of data or other written materials concerning the proposed regulations should direct them to the
following address:

Doug Denison
Deputy Commissioner
Office of the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner
820 N. French St., 10th Floor
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Wilmington, DE 19801

Comments may also be directed via electronic mail to oabccquestions@delaware.gov. Any written submission
in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed regulations must be received by the Delaware Alcoholic
Beverage Control Commissioner no later than 4:00 p.m. EST, May 2, 2024.

The action concerning determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon
consideration of the written comments and any other written materials filed by the public.

Background

The Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner ("Commissioner" or "Office") is authorized by the
General Assembly of the State of Delaware, to establish, by rules and regulations, an effective control of the
business of manufacture, sale, dispensation, distribution and importation of alcoholic liquors within and into the
State of Delaware, including the time, place and manner in which alcoholic liquors shall be sold and dispensed, not
inconsistent with Title 4 of the Delaware Code, known as the Delaware Liquor Control Act ("DLCA") or with any
other law of the State. The Commissioner is further authorized to adopt and promulgate rules and regulations not
inconsistent with Title 4 or of any other law of the State, and such rules and regulations shall have the force and
effect of law; provided, however that no such rule or regulation shall extend, modify or conflict with any law of this
State or the reasonable implications thereof; and provided further, however, that such rules and regulations, as
established by the Commissioner, shall focus primarily on public safety and the best interests of the consumer and
shall not unduly restrict competition within the alcoholic beverage industry. 

Summary of Proposal

 4 DE Admin. Code 601 is updated to clarify requirements for a gathering license. Those include that the
Internal Revenue Service must recognize the organization as a charitable organization; the floor plan must show
the location of the gathering as stated in the rule; and an affiliated license, as described in 4 DE Admin. Code 601,
is prohibited from receiving proceeds from a gathering where the nonprofit organization includes members of a
licensed manufacturer of beer, wine, or spirits.

Further updates include a revised Section 2.0 that sets forth proposed defined terms in underline. The current
Section 2.0 regarding gathering license requirements is struck-through and moved to a new Section 3.0 with
proposed changes in underline.

Additional proposed changes include clarifying entities as nonprofit organizations and defining the meaning of
social, economic, and civic groups.

Statutory Authority 4 Del.C. §304.

4 Del.C. §304 enables the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner to adopt and promulgate rules
and regulations not inconsistent with Title 4 of the Delaware Code and all such rules and regulations shall have the
force and effect of law; provided, that no such rule or regulation shall extend, modify or conflict with any law of the
State of Delaware or the reasonable implications thereof.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 756RFA 04-01-24.pdf

601 (Formerly Rule 35.1) Gathering Licenses

1.0 Purpose and Scope

1.1 This rule regulation implements the definition of "gathering of persons" under the Delaware Liquor
Control Act.

"Gathering of persons" or "gathering" means a banquet, picnic, bazaar, fair, or similar private
gathering, or similar public gathering, where food or drink are sold, served, or dispensed by non-profit
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organizations such as churches, colleges, universities, volunteer fire companies, political parties, or
other similar non-profit groups having a common civic, social, educational, or religious purpose, or
where entrance tickets are sold or entrance fees are required by those non-profit organizations.

1.2 The purpose of a licensed gathering of persons is to raise funds or to further the stated mission and
goals of the nonprofit organization. 

1.3 To qualify for a license, the event to be licensed as a gathering of persons is one which is planned,
coordinated, and hosted by or on behalf of the nonprofit organization and is advertised to the public as
an event that will raise funds or otherwise further the stated mission and goals of the organization.

1.4 The holder of the gathering license is responsible for the sale and service of alcoholic liquors. The sale
and service of alcoholic liquors includes the purchase, receipt, storage, and dispensing of alcoholic
products. All proceeds from the sale or service of alcoholic liquors pursuant to a gathering license shall
be retained by the holder of the gathering license and shall not be shared with other persons,
businesses, or organizations.

2.0 Gathering License Definitions

2.1 The organization must be a not-for-profit organization.

2.2 The organization must submit proof of incorporation or file an alternative, for example, Articles of
Association.

2.3 Form 990 must be filed with the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner. If the
organization is new, proof from the Department of Treasury that non-profit status has been requested
must be filed with the application.

2.4 Religious organizations must file Form 1065.

2.5 Political organizations must be registered and acknowledged by the Department of Elections.

2.6 Application must be completed and submitted with proper fee.

2.7 Daily gathering applications must be completed and submitted ten (10) working days prior to the
scheduled gathering.

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, have the following meaning:

"Affiliated licensee" means a licensed manufacturer of beer, wine, or spirits whose members, all or in
part, are members of a nonprofit organization that is issued a gathering license.

"Gathering of persons" or "gathering" is defined in 4 Del.C. §101(22) and means a banquet, picnic,
bazaar, fair, or similar private gathering, or similar public gathering, where food or drink are sold,
served, or dispensed by nonprofit organizations such as churches, colleges, universities, volunteer fire
companies, political parties, or other similar nonprofit groups having a common civic, social,
educational, or religious purpose, or where entrance tickets are sold or entrance fees are required by
those nonprofit organizations.

"Social, civic and educational groups" or "groups" as used in 4 Del.C. §101(22) and defined by the IRS,
means nonprofit social welfare organizations and business leagues (operated exclusively to promote
social welfare or common business interests in which no earnings inure to the benefit of a private
individual or shareholder); veterans organizations; fraternal orders and societies; and nonprofit entities
organized with members, for exempt purposes, supported by membership dues/assessments, with
earnings that do not benefit a person having a personal or private interest in the organization's
activities, and with organizational documents that do not contain any discriminatory provisions.

3.0 Gathering License - Requirements

3.1 A group as defined in this regulation shall submit an application in the form prescribed by the Delaware
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner and pay the appropriate fee.

3.2 The group must submit proof of incorporation or formation.

3.3 The group must submit a recent IRS Form 990 that has been filed by the nonprofit group and accepted
by the IRS within the last 3 years. If the group has been organized in the prior calendar year, it must
submit proof from the IRS that nonprofit status has been requested.
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3.4 Religious groups must file IRS Form 1065 or demonstrate a current affiliation with a church or diocese.

3.5 Political groups must submit proof of current registration with the Delaware Department of Elections or
with the Federal Election Commission.

3.6 The group must submit a floor plan of the premises where the gathering will take place, to include all
seating, alcohol service areas, alcohol storage, entertainment areas, food service and preparation
areas, and all points of ingress and egress.

3.7 A daily gathering license application must be completed and submitted 10 working days prior to the
first scheduled gathering listed on the application.

3.8 Within 60 days after a licensed gathering has taken place, the holder of the license shall submit a
completed and signed post event report (a sample form can be obtained from the Office) which shall
include: total alcohol sales and/or portion of ticket sales related to alcohol; cost of the alcohol; and the
net proceeds from the sale of alcohol at the event. The holder of the license may submit all information
by electronic means.

3.8.1 If a group fails to submit the information required by subsection 3.8 of this regulation, future
gathering licenses may not be granted to the organization.

3.8.2 A group that has obtained a biennial gathering license may submit the report required by
subsection 3.8 of this regulation on a quarterly basis, in lieu of 60 days after each event. Failure to
submit the information required may result in cancellation of the biennial gathering license.

3.9 If a gathering license is issued to a nonprofit group with an affiliated licensee, the affiliated licensee
shall not receive any alcohol proceeds from the gathering. For purposes of this regulation, "proceeds
from the gathering" does not include the purchase of alcoholic beverages provided for the gathering.

3.10 The requirements of subsections 3.2, 3.3, 3.8 and 3.9 of this regulation shall not apply to a volunteer
fire company, a religious organization, or a political organization.

OFFICE OF THE ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 4 Delaware Code, Sections 304 and 721 (4 Del.C. §§304 and 721)

PUBLIC NOTICE

911 A Rule Permitting Limited Self-Delivery of Beer

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
under the authority of 4 Del.C. §304, the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner proposes to
establish a new rule related to permitting limited self-delivery of beer in the State.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10116, persons wishing to submit written comments, suggestions, briefs, and
compilations of data or other written materials concerning the proposed regulations should direct them to the
following address:

Doug Denison
Deputy Commissioner
Office of the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner
820 N. French St., 10th Floor
Wilmington, DE 19801

Comments may also be directed via electronic mail to OABCCrulescomments@delaware.gov. Any written
submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed regulations must be received by the Delaware
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner no later than 4:00 p.m. EST, May 2, 2024.

The action concerning determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon
consideration of the written comments and any other written materials filed by the public.

Background
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The Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner ("Commissioner" or "Office") is authorized by the
General Assembly of the State of Delaware, to establish, by rules and regulations, an effective control of the
business of manufacture, sale, dispensation, distribution and importation of alcoholic liquors within and into the
State of Delaware, including the time, place and manner in which alcoholic liquors shall be sold and dispensed, not
inconsistent with Title 4 of the Delaware Code, known as the Delaware Liquor Control Act ("DLCA") or with any
other law of the State. The Commissioner is further authorized to adopt and promulgate rules and regulations not
inconsistent with Title 4 or of any other law of the State, and such rules and regulations shall have the force and
effect of law; provided, however that no such rule or regulation shall extend, modify or conflict with any law of this
State or the reasonable implications thereof; and provided further, however, that such rules and regulations, as
established by the Commissioner, shall focus primarily on public safety and the best interests of the consumer and
shall not unduly restrict competition within the alcoholic beverage industry.

Summary of Proposal

 4 DE Admin. Code 911 is a new proposed regulation that sets forth criteria and requirements to permit limited
self-delivery of beer that may be authorized by the Commissioner in accordance with the Delaware Liquor Control
Act. 4 Del.C. §721.

Statutory Authority 4 Del.C. §304, 4 Del.C. §721

4 Del.C. §304 enables the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner to adopt and promulgate rules
and regulations not inconsistent with Title 4 of the Delaware Code and all such rules and regulations shall have the
force and effect of law; provided, that no such rule or regulation shall extend, modify or conflict with any law of the
State of Delaware or the reasonable implications thereof. 

4 Del.C. §721 enables the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner to authorize any brewery to
sell and to deliver beer to any person in this State who holds a license to receive and resell beer, if a duplicate bill
of each sale is filed with or mailed to the Commissioner, provided that the Commissioner shall not authorize the
resale and delivery of beer to licenses within this State by any brewery whose total domestic sales, including all
affiliated licenses whether in or out of this State, exceeds 6 million barrels of beer in a single calendar year.

*Please Note: The Regulatory Flexibility Analysis and Impact Statement for this regulation, as required by
29 Del. C. Ch. 104, is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/proposed/27 DE Reg 759RFA 04-01-24.pdf

911 A Rule Permitting Limited Self-Delivery of Beer

1.0 Preamble

Section 721 of Title 4 of the Delaware Code permits the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner
("Commissioner" or "Office") to authorize "any brewery to sell and to deliver beer to any person in this State who
holds a license to receive and resell beer" provided certain requirements are met. This regulation is promulgated to
implement self-delivery of beer by those licensed as brewers. This regulation is consistent with the Commissioner's
authority to regulate time, place, and manner in which beer is sold or dispensed, and provide guidance and
regulations for self-delivery of beer.

2.0 Purpose and Scope

2.1 Liquor licenses issued pursuant to Title 4 of the Delaware Code, the Delaware Liquor Control Act, are
approved based upon the documents submitted as part of the initial application. Authorization to
conduct business beyond the premises so licensed must be presented to and approved by the
Commissioner.

2.2 This regulation provides procedures, standards, and fees for self-delivery of beer by a licensed
brewery, as defined herein.
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3.0 Definitions

The following words and terms, when used in this regulation, have the following meaning unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

"Brewery" as that term is used in 4 Del.C. §721 and as used in this regulation, means a brew pub or
microbrewery licensed by the Commissioner pursuant to 4 Del.C. §§512B or 512C.

"Self-delivery" means:

1) Delivery by a brewery;

2) In a vehicle owned or leased by the brewery;

3) Of not more than 1,500 barrels annually of its own beer that it manufactures; and

4) To a premises licensed by the Commissioner as a retailer pursuant to 4 Del.C. §101(41) and on-
premise licensees pursuant to 4 Del.C. §512.

4.0 Procedures

4.1 A Delaware licensed brewery, producing no more than 5,000 barrels of beer a year across all suppliers
or manufacturers that share common ownership and control as defined in 4 Del.C. §512G(b), may
apply, upon forms provided by the Commissioner, for authorization to self-deliver its own beer
produced at the licensee's approved premises as follows:

4.1.1 The brewery must submit an application for a warehouse, and provide such documentation as
required by the Commissioner, including a lease, landlord approval, and a floor plan.

4.1.2 No more than 1,500 barrels of beer, or its equivalent, may be self-delivered annually by the
brewery.

4.1.3 Only the brewery and its employees may deliver its manufactured beer and only in vehicles owned
or leased by the brewery.

4.1.4 On a quarterly basis, a report documenting each sale shall be filed electronically with the
Commissioner that includes the following:

4.1.4.1 The date and address of each licensee to whom a delivery was made during the prior
quarter; 

4.1.4.2 The quantity of products delivered and whether the product was provided by the bottle,
can, half bottle, keg, half keg, quarter keg, or sixtel; and

4.1.4.3 The total gallons delivered during the quarter. The brewery shall track total gallons
delivered through self-delivery so as not to exceed 1,500 barrels of beer delivered through
self-delivery, per year.

4.1.5 Self-delivery over 1,500 barrels a year will result in forfeiture of the authorization to self-deliver.

4.2 If approved by the Commissioner, a brewery may use an additional facility to warehouse beer.

4.2.1 The brewery must submit an application for a warehouse, and provide such documentation as
required by the Commissioner, including a lease, landlord approval, and a floor plan.

4.2.2 The filing fee for an application for a warehouse is $25, and the inspection fee is $100.

5.0 Additional Requirements

5.1 Breweries authorized to self-deliver must do all of the following:

5.1.1 Report to the Division of Revenue, pursuant to 4 Del.C. §581(b), all sales of beer that were self-
delivered to retailers.

5.1.2 Comply with 4 DE Admin. Code 904 by publishing a monthly price list for beer that will be
available for sale through self-delivery. Publication may also occur on the Commissioner's
webpage if The Delaware Beverage Guide is unable to accommodate price lists for self-delivery.

5.1.3 Comply with all state credit and transportation regulations and other business licensure
requirements.
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5.1.4 Comply with the 18-hour product at-rest requirement pursuant to 4 DE Admin. Code 903, Section
6.0. A written request for variance to that at-rest requirement may be granted for good cause
shown.

5.1.5 Place a placard on the vehicle transporting the beer, that includes the words "Delaware Alcoholic
Beverage Control Commissioner - License Number ………" (Insert the brewery's license number)
in letters at least two inches high, uncovered, and clearly visible. 

5.2 No brewery shall make a delivery except to a Delaware licensed package store or a Delaware licensed
on-premise retail licensee during the hours and dates the package store or on-premise licensee is
open to receive such delivery.

5.3 No brewery shall contract with a third-party entity to deliver beer. No brewery shall permit anyone other
than an employee of the brewery to deliver beer pursuant to this regulation.

5.4 Peddling beer is not permitted. Orders for all beer shall be received, in writing, from customers before
the loaded vehicles leave the brewery's premises and a copy must be on the vehicle at all times during
delivery. No beer in excess of that ordered shall be carried on the vehicles.

5.5 A brewery authorized to self-deliver shall not discriminate among retailers when filling orders. Quantity
discounts and post-offs do not apply to self-delivery.

5.6 A requirement that a retailer purchase 1 product in order to purchase another is prohibited. This
prohibition includes combination sales if 1 or more products may be purchased only in combination
with other products and not individually.

5.7 No brewery shall engage in any trade practice which can reasonably be expected to injure any retailer
through discriminatory practices, nor engage in any trade practices which can reasonably be expected
to cause, encourage, or induce a consumer to purchase, receive, or consume beer in excessive
amounts or an at any unduly rapid rate.

5.8 Failure to comply with this regulation and any other provision of the Delaware Liquor Control Act or
Commissioner's regulations may result in suspension or revocation of authorization for self-delivery.

6.0 Inventory and Recording Sales

6.1 Pursuant to 4 Del.C. §304(a)(2) and (5) and 4 Del.C. §581(c), the Division of Alcohol and Tobacco
Enforcement ("DATE") and the Division of Revenue may inspect the establishment of any licensed
Delaware brewery and inventory any or all beer in the brewery's possession, as well as sale invoices
or bills of sale for beer delivered, at any time they deem reasonable and necessary to carry out their
statutory duties to verify the reporting and collection of taxes payable to the State of Delaware.

6.2 Every sale of beer through self-delivery shall be recorded by the brewery on a written invoice or bill of
sale containing, at a minimum, the following:

6.2.1 Name of the brewery;

6.2.2 Name of the retailer;

6.2.3 Date of sale;

6.2.4 Quantity of beer sold;

6.2.5 Price of beer sold;

6.2.6 Brand/name of product sold;

6.2.7 Size of container; and

6.2.8 Date of delivery.

6.3 Upon the driver's return to the brewery's premises, the driver shall sign the copy of the invoice/bill of
sale to indicate the beer was delivered to the destination listed.

6.4 This signed copy of the invoice/bill of sale shall be available for inspection by the Commissioner at all
times.

7.0 Fees

7.1 The filing fee to request limited self-delivery is $25.
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7.2 When required by the Commissioner, the inspection fee is $25.

7.3 The biennial fee for limited self-delivery is $100.

7.4 The biennial fee for a warehouse is $100.
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Symbol Key

Arial type indicates the text existing prior to the regulation being promulgated. Underlined text indicates new
text added at the time of the proposed action. Language which is stricken through indicates text being deleted.
[Bracketed Bold language] indicates text added at the time the final order was issued. [Bracketed bold stricken
through] indicates language deleted at the time the final order was issued.

Final Regulations

The opportunity for public comment shall be held open for a minimum of 30 days after the proposal is
published in the Register of Regulations. At the conclusion of all hearings and after receipt within the time allowed
of all written materials, upon all the testimonial and written evidence and information submitted, together with
summaries of the evidence and information by subordinates, the agency shall determine whether a regulation
should be adopted, amended or repealed and shall issue its conclusion in an order which shall include: (1) A brief
summary of the evidence and information submitted; (2) A brief summary of its findings of fact with respect to the
evidence and information, except where a rule of procedure is being adopted or amended; (3) A decision to adopt,
amend or repeal a regulation or to take no action and the decision shall be supported by its findings on the
evidence and information received; (4) The exact text and citation of such regulation adopted, amended or
repealed; (5) The effective date of the order; (6) Any other findings or conclusions required by the law under which
the agency has authority to act; and (7) The signature of at least a quorum of the agency members.

The effective date of an order which adopts, amends or repeals a regulation shall be not less than 10 days
from the date the order adopting, amending or repealing a regulation has been published in its final form in the
Register of Regulations, unless such adoption, amendment or repeal qualifies as an emergency under §10119.
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS BOARD

Statutory Authority: 14 Delaware Code, Sections 1203, 1205(b), and 1210 (14 Del.C. §§1203, 
1205(b), & 1210)

14 DE Admin. Code 1510

ORDER

1510 Initial License

I. SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE AND INFORMATION SUBMITTED
Pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203, 1205(b), and 1210, the Professional Standards Board, acting in consultation

and cooperation with the Delaware Department of Education ("Department"), developed amendments to 14 DE
Admin. Code 1510 Initial License. The regulation sets forth the requirements for issuance and retention of an
educator's Initial License. The proposed amendments include adding the requirement that an applicant hold a
bachelor's degree prior to commencing 91 days of substitute teaching to subsection 4.1.3.1.3; adding an additional
requirement consisting of four different options to subsection 4.1.3.1.4; clarify Section 6.0; strike subsection 9.3
and subsections 15.1.1.1 through 15.1.1.7, which concern the Comprehensive Educator Induction Program.

Notice of the proposed regulation was published in the Register of Regulations on January 1, 2024. The
Professional Standards Board did not receive any written submittals concerning the proposed regulation.

II. ASSESSMENT OF THE IMPACT ON ACHIEVEMENT OF THE STATE'S GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS 
REDUCTION TARGETS AND RESILIENCY TO CLIMATE CHANGE

The Secretary of Education has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(3) and
has determined that any assessment of the impact of the proposed regulation is not practical.

III. FINDINGS OF FACTS
On February 1, 2024, the Professional Standards Board voted to propose 14 DE Admin. Code 1510 Initial
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License, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A, for adoption by the Department subject to the State Board of
Education's approval.

The Department finds that the proposed amendments to the regulation are necessary to implement 14 Del.C.
Ch. 12 and are designed to improve the quality of the Delaware educator workforce and to improve student
performance. Accordingly, the Department finds that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code 1510 Initial
License.

IV. DECISION TO AMEND THE REGULATION
For the foregoing reasons, the Department concludes that it is appropriate to amend 14 DE Admin. Code

1510 Initial License subject to the State Board of Education's approval. On February 15, 2024, the State Board of
Education approved amending 14 DE Admin. Code 1510 Initial License. Therefore, pursuant to 14 Del.C. §§1203,
1205(b), and 1210, 14 DE Admin. Code 1510 Initial License, attached hereto as Exhibit A, is hereby amended.

V. TEXT AND CITATION
The text of 14 DE Admin. Code 1510 Initial License amended hereby shall be in the form attached hereto as

Exhibit A and said regulation shall be cited as 14 DE Admin. Code 1510 Initial License in the Administrative Code
of Regulations for the Department.

VI. EFFECTIVE DATE OF ORDER
The effective date of this Order shall be ten days from the date this Order is published in the Register of

Regulations.

IT IS SO ORDERED the 15th day of February, 2024.

Department of Education

Mark A. Holodick, Ed.D., Secretary of Education

Approved this 15th day of February, 2024.

State Board of Education

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
January 2024 issue of the Register at page 483 (27 DE Reg. 483). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/final/27 DE Reg 764 04-01-24.htm

/s/ Shawn Brittingham, President /s/ Harvey Kenton, Jr.

/s/ Deborah Stevens, Vice President /s/ Provey Powell, Jr.

/s/ Candice Fifer /s/ Wali W. Rushdan, II

/s/ Meredith L. Griffin, Jr.
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Statutory Authority: 16 Delaware Code, Section 122(3)t (16 Del.C. §122(3)t)
16 DE Admin. Code 4459

ORDER

4459 Lead-Based Paint Hazards

NATURE OF THE PROCEEDINGS:
Delaware Health and Social Services ("DHSS"), Division of Public Health ("DPH") initiated proceedings to

publish Regulation 4459 Lead-Based Paint Hazards. These proceedings were initiated pursuant to 29 Del.C. Ch.
101 and the authority as prescribed by 16 Del.C. §122(3)t).

DHSS initially published the proposed amendments to this regulation in the December 2023 issue of the
Delaware Register of Regulations ("Register") (27 DE Reg. 407 (12/01/23). Substantive changes were made to the
regulation because of the public comment received (between December 1, 2023, and January 8, 2024). DHSS/
DPH published the re-proposed regulation which included the additional revisions in the February 1, 2024, issue of
the Register (27 DE Reg. 567). DHSS requested that written materials and suggestions from the public concerning
the re-proposed regulation be delivered to DHSS by March 4, 2024, after which time DHSS would review
information, factual evidence, and public comment to the said proposed regulations.

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE:
No comments were received during the public comment period (of February 1, 2024, through March 4, 2024).

Two minor changes are being made to the regulation as proposed, which include revisions to the definition of
"Training Provider" and technical changes in subsection 3.2.1.2.

IMPACT ON THE STATE'S GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS REDUCTION TARGETS AND RESILIENCY TO
CLIMATE CHANGE:

The DPH Division Director has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del. C. §10118(b)(3) and has
determined that if promulgated, the regulation would have a de minimis impact on the State's resiliency to climate
change because neither implementation nor compliance with the regulation would reasonably involve the increase
in greenhouse gas emissions.

FINDINGS OF FACT:
Minor changes were made to the regulation since publication as re-proposed. The Department finds that the

re-proposed regulations, and additional technical changes, as set forth in the attached copy should be adopted in
the best interest of the public of the State of Delaware.

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, that re-proposed Regulation 4459 Lead-Based Paint Hazards is adopted and
shall become effective April 11, 2024 (ten days), after publication of the final regulation in the Delaware Register of
Regulations. 

3/13/2024 | 8:47 AM EDT                
Date Josette D. Manning, Esq.

DHSS Cabinet Secretary

4459 Lead-Based Paint Hazards
(Break in Continuity of Sections)

2.0 Definitions

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

"Training provider" means a firm that has been approved by the Delaware Department of [Education
Health and Social Services] to provide training in Delaware and accredited by the Secretary to
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conduct accredited lead-based paint activities training programs to individuals engaged in lead-based
paint activities.

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

3.0 Accreditation of Training Programs and Application and Renewal Requirements

(Break in Continuity Within Section)

3.2 Application process. The following are procedures a training provider shall follow to receive
accreditation to offer lead-based paint activities courses:

3.2.1 A training provider seeking accreditation shall submit a written application to the Secretary
containing the following information:

3.2.1.1 The training provider’s business name, address, and telephone number.

3.2.1.2 Written evidence that the [applicant applicant's instructor] has been approved by the
Delaware Department of Education as a training provider [if the training is part of any
public education curriculum].

*Please note that no additional changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published
in the February 2024 issue of the Register at page 567 (27 DE Reg. 567). Therefore, the final regulation is
not being republished here in its entirety. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/final/27 DE Reg 766 04-01-24.htm

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Section 903 (7 Del.C. §903)
7 DE Admin. Code 3505

Secretary's Order No: 2024-F-0007

RE: Approving Final Amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 3505 - Striped Bass Commercial Fishing Seasons; 
Quotas; Tagging and Reporting Requirements

Date of Issuance: March 05, 2024

Effective Date: April 11, 2024

3505 Striped Bass Commercial Fishing Seasons; Quotas; Tagging and Reporting Requirements.

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
("Department" or "DNREC") pursuant to 7 Del.C. §§6006 and 6010, and all other relevant statutory authority, the
following findings of fact based on the record, reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the Secretary in
the above-referenced regulatory proceeding.

Background, Procedural History and Findings of Fact

This Order relates to 7 DE Admin. Code 3505 - Striped Bass Commercial Fishing Seasons; Quotas; Tagging
and Reporting Requirements ("Regulation"). The Department proposes revisions to the Regulation that will enable
the Department to modify the anchor gill net season to better synchronize the season with the availability and
market for striped bass, as recommended by the Advisory Council on Tidal Finfisheries ("Council"). 

The Department has the authority, under to 7 Del. C. §903, to implement management measures to enhance
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the conservation and management of coastal finfisheries. Striped bass have been coming into Delaware Bay and
River earlier in the year as the waters warm up, and the market for striped bass has been increasing earlier in the
season. The striped bass gill net season is open from February 15 through May 31. There are two main types of
gillnetting techniques, drift gillnetting and anchor gillnetting. Currently, the drift gill net season is open for the
duration of the striped bass gillnet season (February 15-May 31) and the anchor gill net season is only open from
March 1 through May 10.

In accordance with 7 Del. C. §923, the Department limits the anchor gill net season. The anchor netting
technique is more efficient than the drift netting technique however, it is also more destructive. While anchor gill
netting accounts for 90% of striped bass gill net landings, the discard mortality rate associated with the anchor gill
netting technique has a higher mortality rate of 41% compared to 8% for drift netting. Additionally, anchor gillnetting
has also been linked to the mortality of other species including the Endangered Species Act-listed Atlantic
Sturgeon and waterbirds, which have been discovered deceased in anchor gillnets.

On September 19, 2023, the Council unanimously approved a motion to recommend a modification to the
anchor gill net season by adding two weeks in February and to eliminate two weeks between the end of April and
beginning of May from the anchor gill netting season. This recommendation stems from the early arrival of striped
bass into Delaware Bay and River as temperatures rise, and the increased market demand for striped bass earlier
in the season. With the consideration of maintaining a 10-week duration and aligning the season with the
availability and market demand for striped bass during the spring season, the Department proposed Amendments

to modify the anchor gill netting season to begin on February 15th and conclude on April 26th.

To that, as set forth in 29 Del.C. §10119, the Department implemented Secretary Order # 2023-F-0031 ("EO")
on December 1, 2023. The EO adopted amendments to the Regulations, effective February 15, 2024, and revised
the 2024 anchor gill net season from the current dates of March 1 through May 10 to February 15 through April 26.
The emergency regulations, as contained in the EO, were intended as interim measures, necessary to avoid the
risk of harm to public health, safety, and welfare, pending the formal adoption of regulations pursuant to the
Administrative Procedures Act.

Pursuant to 29 Del C. Ch. 101 and 7 Del. C. §903, the Department published its proposed regulation
Amendments in the January 1, 2024, Delaware Register of Regulations. Subsequent to publishing the proposed
Amendments, the Council met on January 17, 2024, to further discuss the concerns raised by the late-season
netters regarding the reduction of the anchor gill net season between the end of April and beginning of May. The
Department proposed a compromise to adjust the dates of the season to include a couple of days into the month of
May without extending its duration.

The Department revised proposed Amendments to commence the anchor gillnet season on February 19 after
4 pm, allowing anglers to deploy their anchor gill nets the night before the commencement of anchor gillnet season
on February 20. This season would then extend through May 2. This slight adjustment maintains the 10-week
duration for anchor gillnetting, while considering late-season netters, optimizing the spring anchor gill net season,
and the market demand for striped bass.

The Department has the statutory basis and legal authority to act with regard to the formal promulgation of
these revised proposed Amendments, pursuant to 7 Del. C. §903. As previously noted, the Department published
its initial proposed regulation Amendments in the January 1, 2024, Delaware Register of Regulations. Thereafter,
the public hearing regarding this matter was held on January 30, 2024. There were ten (10) members of the public
in attendance. The Department presented the revised proposed Amendments at its public hearing that was held on
January 30, 2024. The revisions, as set forth in the revised proposed Amendments, were properly vetted by the
Department at the time of the virtual hearing and do not constitute a significant alteration to what was initially
proposed. Therefore, no further public notification is required by the Department.

Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §10118(a), the hearing record ("Record") remained open for receipt of written comment
for 15 days following the public hearing. The Record formally closed for comment in this matter at close of business
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on February 14, 2024, with ten (10) comments received by the Department for the formal promulgation.

It should be noted that all notification and noticing requirements concerning this matter were met by the
Department. Proper notice of the hearing was provided as required by law.

Subsequent to the close of the Record, and at the request of presiding Hearing Officer Theresa Smith, the
Department's Division of Fish and Wildlife staff prepared a Technical Response Memorandum ("TRM"). The TRM
responds to the comments received by the Department in this matter and provides a thorough discussion in
response to the suggestions and questions provided by the public.

Following receipt of the Department's TRM as noted above, the Hearing Officer prepared her Hearing Officer's
Report dated February 15, 2024 ("Report"), which expressly incorporated both the Department's proposed
Amendments and the TRM into the Record generated in this matter. The Report documents the proper completion
of the required regulatory amendment process, establishes the Record, and recommends the adoption of the
proposed Amendments as attached to the Report as Appendix "A."

Reasons and Conclusions

Based on the Record developed by the Department's experts in the Division of Fish and Wildlife, and
established by the Hearing Officer's Report, I find that the revised proposed regulatory Amendments to 7 DE
Admin. 3505 - Striped Bass Commercial Fishing Seasons; Quotas; Tagging and Reporting Requirements, are well
supported. I further find that the Department's experts fully developed the record to support adoption of these
revised Amendments. Therefore, the recommendations of the Hearing Officer are hereby adopted, and I direct that
the revised proposed Amendments be promulgated as final.

The following reasons and conclusions are entered:

1. The Department has the statutory basis and legal authority to act with regard to this proposed regulatory
promulgation, pursuant to 7 Del. C. §903;

2. The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority, pursuant to 7 Del.C. Chapter 60, to issue an
Order adopting these revised proposed Amendments as final;

3. The Department provided adequate public notice of the initial proposed Amendments and subsequently the
revised proposed Amendments, all proceedings in a manner required by the law and regulations, and provided the
public with an adequate opportunity to comment on the same, including at the time of the public hearing held on
January 30, 2024, and during the 15 days subsequent to the hearing (through February 14, 2024), before making
any final decision; 

4. Promulgation of the revised proposed Amendments to 7 DE Admin. 3505 - Striped Bass Commercial Fishing
Seasons; Quotas; Tagging and Reporting Requirements will enable the Department to modify the anchor gill net
season to better synchronize the season with the availability and market for Striped Bass;

5. The Department has reviewed the revised proposed Amendments in light of the Regulatory Flexibility Act,
consistent with 29 Del.C. Ch. 104, and has selected Exemption "B1," as this regulation is not substantially likely to
impose additional cost or burdens upon individuals and/or small businesses;

6. The Department has reviewed this revised proposed regulatory promulgation in the light of 7 Del.C. §10003
and 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(3), and has determined that conducting such an assessment regarding the impact of this
regulation on the achievement of the State of Delaware's greenhouse gas emissions reduction targets is not
practical;

7. The Department's proposed regulatory Amendments, as initially published in the January 1, 2024, Delaware
Register of Regulations, and subsequently revised, as set forth in Appendix "A" hereto, are adequately supported,
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are not arbitrary or capricious, and are consistent with the applicable laws and regulations. Consequently, they
should be approved as final regulatory Amendments, which shall go into effect ten days after their publication in the
next available issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations; 

8. The Department shall submit the revised proposed Amendments as final regulatory amendments to the
Delaware Register of Regulations for publication on April 1, 2024, and provide such other notice as the law and
regulation require, and the Department determines is appropriate; and

9. The Department's emergency regulations implemented by Emergency Order # 2023-F-0031 will expire on April
11, 2024, when the final regulations become effective.

  Lisa Borin Ogden
 for Shawn M. Garvin
Secretary

3505 Striped Bass Commercial Fishing Seasons; Quotas; Tagging and Reporting Requirements.

3505 Striped Bass Commercial Fishing Seasons; Quotas; Tagging and Reporting Requirements.

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 It is unlawful for any commercial food fisherman using a gill net to take and reduce to possession any
striped bass at any time except when said commercial food fisherman is authorized by the Department
to participate in a commercial gill net fishery for striped bass established herein. A commercial food
fisherman may use a gill net to take and reduce to possession striped bass during the period beginning
at 12:01 A.M. on February 15 and ending at 4:00 P.M. on May 31 next ensuing. It is unlawful to use
any gill net having a stretched-mesh size greater than four (4) inches to take striped bass during the
period February 15 until and including the last day in February beginning at 12:01 A.M. on [April 27
February 15 and ending at 4:00 PM on February 19 and beginning at 12:01 A.M. on May 2] and
ending at 4:00 P.M. on May 31 unless the net is drifted. A commercial food fisherman may use a gill
net to take and reduce to possession striped bass during the period beginning at 12:01 A.M. on
November 15 and ending at 4:00 P.M. on December 31 next ensuing provided at least two (2) percent
of the commercial allocation of striped bass for the gill net fishery, as determined by the Department,
was not landed in the February - May gill net fishery. In order for a commercial food fisherman to be
authorized by the Department to participate in a commercial gill net fishery, said commercial food
fisherman shall have a valid food fishing equipment permit for a gill net and shall register in writing with
the Department to participate in said fishery by February 1 for the February 15 - May 31 gill net fishery
and by November 1 for the December gill net fishery.

2.0 It is unlawful for any commercial food fisherman using a hook and line to take and reduce to
possession any striped bass at any time except when said commercial food fisherman is authorized by
the Department to participate in a commercial hook and line fishery for striped bass established herein.
Except as otherwise provided, a commercial food fisherman may use a hook and line to take and
reduce to possession striped bass during the period beginning at 12:01 A.M. on April 1 and ending at
4:00 P.M. on December 31 next ensuing. In order for a commercial food fisherman to be authorized to
participate in the commercial hook and line fishery, said commercial food fisherman shall register in
writing with the Department to participate in said fishery by February 1.

3.0 The striped bass gill net fishery in February - May, the striped bass gill net fishery in November -
December and the striped bass hook and line fishery in April - December shall be considered separate
striped bass fisheries. Each participant in a striped bass fishery shall be assigned an equal share of
the total pounds of striped bass allotted by the Department to that fishery. A share shall be determined
by dividing the number of pre-registered participants in that fishery into the total pounds of striped bass
allotted to that fishery by the Department. The total pounds of the State’s ASMFC commercial striped
bass quota will be allotted to each fishery by the Department as follows: 95% for the February 15 - May
31 gill net fishery, 5% for the April - December hook and line fishery and, provided that in excess of two
(2)% of the February 15 - May 31 gill net fishery allocation was not landed, said remainder for the
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November - December gill net fishery. Any overage of the State's commercial quota will be subtracted
from the next year's commercial quota proportionally to the appropriate fishery.

4.0 It is unlawful for any commercial food fisherman to land, during a striped bass fishing season, more
than the total pounds assigned by the Department to said individual commercial food fisherman.

5.0 It is unlawful for any commercial food fisherman to possess any landed striped bass that does not
have locked into place through the mouth and gill (operculum) opening a striped bass harvest tag
issued to said commercial fisherman by the Department.

6.0 The Department may issue tags to commercial food fishermen who register in writing with the
Department to participate in a striped bass fishery. Each participant shall initially be issued a quantity
of striped bass harvest tags that is to be determined by the Department by dividing said participant’s
assigned share in pounds by the estimated weight of a striped bass expected to be landed. If a
commercial food fisherman needs additional tags to fulfill his or her assigned share, the Department
shall issue additional tags after verifying the balance of the share from reports submitted by an official
weigh station to the Department.

7.0 It is lawful for a commercial food fisherman who is authorized to be issued striped bass harvest tags by
the Department to transfer said tags to another commercial food fisherman, provided said transfer is
made prior to said tags being issued by the Department.

8.0 It is unlawful for any commercial food fisherman to apply a tag to a striped bass unless said tag had
been issued or legally transferred to said commercial food fisherman by the Department.

9.0 It is unlawful to apply any striped bass tag issued by the Department to a striped bass if said tag had
previously been applied to another striped bass.

10.0 It is unlawful for any commercial food fisherman to sell, barter or trade any striped bass, to attempt to
sell, barter or trade any striped bass or to transport, to have transported or to attempt to have
transported any striped bass out of the State unless said striped bass has been weighed and tagged at
an official weigh station.

11.0 The Department may appoint individuals and their agents as official weigh stations to weigh and tag all
striped bass landed in a commercial striped bass fishery. Official weigh stations, if requested, shall be
compensated by the Department for each striped bass weighed and tagged. An official weigh station
shall enter into an agreement with the Department to maintain records and report on a regular basis
each commercial food fisherman’s daily landings of striped bass weighed and tagged at said station.
The Department shall provide official weigh stations with tags to be applied to each striped bass
weighed.

12.0 Each commercial food fisherman participating in a striped bass fishery shall file a complete and
accurate report with the Department on forms provided by the Department on all striped bass landed
during said fishery. Each report shall be filed with the Department within 30 days after the end date of
each fishery. All unused tags issued or legally transferred to a commercial food fisherman shall be
returned to the Department with said report. Failure to file a complete and accurate report or failure to
return all unused tags may disqualify the commercial food fishermen from future striped bass fisheries.
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DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Sections 901 (c & d) and 903(e)(2)a.1 (7 Del.C. 
§§901(c&d) & 903(e)(2)a.1)
7 DE Admin. Code 3511

Secretary's Order No.: 2024-F-0006

RE: Approving Final Regulation, pursuant to 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1, to Amend 7 DE Admin. Code 3511 
Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits; Season

Date of Issuance: February 28, 2024

Effective Date of the Amendment: 48 hours following publication of this Secretary's Order and regulation on the 
Department's website: https://de.gov/dnrecorders

3511 Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits; Season

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
("Department" or "DNREC"), pursuant to 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1, and all other relevant statutory authority, the
following findings of fact based on the reasons and conclusions are entered as an order of the Secretary in the
above-referenced regulatory amendment.

Notwithstanding 29 Del.C. Ch. 101 (which sets forth the standardized procedures whereby a state agency shall
promulgate regulations), the Department also has the statutory authority under 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1 to
promulgate certain regulations in order to adopt a specified management measure for finfish, subject to 7 Del.C.
Ch. 9, Finfishing in Tidal Waters, by the issuance of a Secretary's Order. The Department is allowed to follow this
abbreviated regulatory promulgation process only in instances where the management measures are specified by,
and ensures compliance or maintains consistency with, a fisheries management plan or rule established by the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, the Atlantic Coastal Fisheries Cooperative Management Act, the
Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council, or the National Marine Fisheries Service.

Whenever the Department promulgates a regulation pursuant to 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1, it shall also (1)
publish on its website a public notice with a copy of the Secretary's Order and final regulation that implements the
specific management measure; and (2) file the Secretary's Order and regulation that implements the specified
management measure in the next available issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations. The final regulation
becomes effective 48 hours after the Department has published the aforementioned public notice on its website, as
mandated by 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.2.

Background, Procedural History and Findings of Fact

This order amends 7 DE Admin. Code 3511 Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits; Season as part
of an effort to reduce Summer Flounder mortality in the recreational fishery by adopting specified management
measures approved by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission's ("ASMFC") Summer Flounder, Scup,
and Black Sea Bass Board ("Board") at its February 14, 2024, meeting. Specifically, this amendment sets the
recreational open season as January 1 through May 31 with a 16" minimum size and four fish daily possession
limit, and June 1 through December 31 with a 17.5" minimum size and four fish daily possession limit. This order is
necessary to keep Delaware compliant with the ASMFC Addendum XXXIV to the Summer Flounder, Scup, and
Black Sea Bass Fishery Management Plan: Harvest Control Rule for Recreational Management of Summer
Flounder, Scup, Black Sea Bass, and Bluefish.

The Board was required to take action to constrain the 2024 and 2025 recreational Summer Flounder harvest
because the harvest is otherwise anticipated to exceed the Recreational Harvest Limit ("RHL") in both years. Using
DELAWARE REGISTER OF REGULATIONS, VOL. 27, ISSUE 10, MONDAY, APRIL 1, 2024

https://de.gov/dnrecorders
https://dnrec.delaware.gov/fish-wildlife/


FINAL REGULATIONS 773
the percent reduction method under the Harvest Control Rule, the Board is requiring all regions in the Summer
Flounder management unit to reduce recreational harvest by 28% for 2024 and 2025 recreational Summer
Flounder. Measures will be restricted to achieve the full 28% reduction in 2024 and then will remain unchanged in
2025 unless new information suggests a major change in the expected impacts of those measures on the stock or
the fishery. The Board has required all regions in the management unit to develop management measures that are
expected to meet the required reduction in their region based on projections generated by the Recreational
Demand Model and thus constrain harvest to the RHL for the entire management unit. The Delmarva Summer
Flounder Region, to which Delaware belongs, proposed and had approved by the Board the previously stated
measure that reduces harvest by 28%.

The Department has the statutory basis and legal authority to act with regard to promulgation of the proposed
amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 3511 Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits; Season pursuant to 7
Del. C. §§901 (c & d) and 903(e)(2)a.1. This specific management measure is required by the ASMFC Summer
Flounder, Scup, and Black Sea Bass Board action taken on February 14, 2024.

ORDER

In accordance with 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1, it is hereby ordered, this 28th day of February, 2024 that the above
referenced amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 3511 Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits; Season, a
copy of which is hereby attached, are necessitated to ensure Delaware's compliance with the ASMFC Addendum
XXXIV and are hereby adopted. The above referenced amendment shall take effect 48 hours following publication
of this Secretary's Order and regulation on the Department's website in accordance with 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.2.

Lisa Borin Ogden
For Shawn M. Garvin
Secretary

3511 Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits; Season

3511 Summer Flounder Size Limits; Possession Limits; Season

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))

1.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to have in possession more than four (4) summer
flounder at or between the place where said summer flounder were caught and said recreational
fisherman's personal abode or temporary or transient place of lodging.

2.0 It shall be unlawful for any person, other than qualified persons as set forth in section 4.0 of this
regulation, to possess any summer flounder that measure less than sixteen inches between the tip of
the snout and the furthest tip of the tail from January 1 through May 31 and less than seventeen and a
half inches from June 1 through December 31.

3.0 It shall be unlawful for any person, to have in possession any part of a summer flounder that measures
less than sixteen inches from January 1 through May 31 and less than seventeen and a half inches
from June 1 through December 31 between said part's two most distant points unless said person also
has in possession the head, backbone and tail intact from which said part was removed.

4.0 Notwithstanding the size limits and possession limits in this regulation, a person may possess a
summer flounder that measures no less than fourteen inches between the tip of the snout and the
furthest tip of the tail and a quantity of summer flounder in excess of the possession limit set forth in
this regulation, provided said person has one of the following:

4.1 A valid bill-of-sale or receipt indicating the date said summer flounder were received, the amount
of said summer flounder received and the name, address and signature of the person who had
landed said summer flounder;
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4.2 A receipt from a licensed or permitted fish dealer who obtained said summer flounder; or

4.3 A bill of lading while transporting fresh or frozen summer flounder.

4.4 A valid commercial food fishing license and a food fishing equipment permit for gill nets.

5.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial finfisherman to sell, trade and or barter or attempt to sell, trade
and or barter any summer flounder or part thereof that is landed in this State by said commercial
fisherman after a date when the de minimis amount of commercial landings of summer flounder is
determined to have been landed in this State by the Department. The de minimis amount of summer
flounder shall be 0.1% of the coast wide commercial quota as set forth in the Summer Flounder
Fishery Management Plan approved by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission.

6.0 It shall be unlawful for any vessel to land more than 200 pounds of summer flounder in any one day in
this State.

7.0 It shall be unlawful for any person, who has been issued a commercial food fishing license and fishes
for summer flounder with any food fishing equipment other than a gill net, to have in possession more
than four summer flounder at or between the place where said summer flounder were caught and said
person's personal abode or temporary or transient place of lodging.

DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Sections 901 (c & d) and 903(e)(2)a.1 (7 Del.C. 
§§901(c&d) & 903(e)(2)a.1)
7 DE Admin. Code 3526

Secretary's Order No.: 2024-F-0005

RE: Approving Final Regulation, pursuant to 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1, to Amend 
7 DE Admin. Code 3526 Scup Size Limit

Date of Issuance: February 28, 2024

Effective Date of the Amendment: 48 hours following publication of this Secretary's Order and regulation on the 
Department's website: https://de.gov/dnrecorders

3526 Scup Size Limit

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
("Department" or "DNREC"), pursuant to 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1, and all other relevant statutory authority, the
following findings of fact based on the reasons and conclusions are entered as an order of the Secretary in the
above-referenced regulatory amendment.

Notwithstanding 29 Del.C. Ch. 101 (which sets forth the standardized procedures whereby a state agency shall
promulgate regulations), the Department also has the statutory authority under 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1 to
promulgate certain regulations in order to adopt a specified management measure for finfish, subject to 7 Del.C.
Ch. 9, Finfishing in Tidal Waters, by the issuance of a Secretary's Order. The Department is allowed to follow this
abbreviated regulatory promulgation process only in instances where the management measures are specified by,
and ensures compliance or maintains consistency with, a fisheries management plan or rule established by the
Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, the Atlantic Coastal Fisheries Cooperative Management Act, the
Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council, or the National Marine Fisheries Service.

Whenever the Department promulgates a regulation pursuant to 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1, it shall also (1)
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publish on its website a public notice with a copy of the Secretary's Order and final regulation that implements the
specific management measure; and (2) file the Secretary's Order and regulation that implements the specified
management measure in the next available issue of the Delaware Register of Regulations. The final regulation
becomes effective 48 hours after the Department has published the aforementioned public notice on its website, as
mandated by 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.2.

Background, Procedural History and Findings of Fact

This order amends 7 DE Admin. Code 3526 Scup Size Limit as part of an effort to reduce Scup mortality in the
recreational fishery by adopting specified management measures approved by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries
Commission's ("ASMFC") Summer Flounder, Scup, and Black Sea Bass Board ("Board") at its February 14, 2024,
meeting. Specifically, this amendment reduces the daily possession limit for Scup from 40 to 30. This order is
necessary to keep Delaware compliant with the ASMFC Addendum XXXIV to the Summer Flounder, Scup, and
Black Sea Bass Fishery Management Plan: Harvest Control Rule for Recreational Management of Summer
Flounder, Scup, Black Sea Bass, and Bluefish.

The Board was required to take action to constrain the 2024 and 2025 recreational Scup harvest because the
harvest is that ("RHL") in both years. Using the percent reduction method under the Harvest Control Rule, the
Board is requiring all regions in the Scup management unit to reduce recreational harvest by 10% for 2024 and
2025. Measures will be restricted to achieve the full 10% reduction in 2024 and then will remain unchanged in 2025
unless new information suggests a major change in the expected impacts of those measures on the stock or the
fishery. The Board has required all regions in the management unit to develop management measures that are
expected to meet the required reduction in their region based on projections generated by the Recreational
Demand Model. The Southern Scup Region, to which Delaware belongs, proposed and had approved by the
Board the previously stated measure that reduces harvest by 10%.

The Department has the statutory basis and legal authority to act with regard to promulgation of the proposed
amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 3526 Scup Size Limit pursuant to 7 Del. C. §§901 (c & d) and 903(e)(2)a.1. This
specific management measure is required by the ASMFC Summer Flounder, Scup, and Black Sea Bass Board
action taken on February 14, 2024.

ORDER

In accordance with 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.1, it is hereby ordered, this 28th day of February, 2024 that the above
referenced amendments to 7 DE Admin. Code 3526 Scup Size Limit, a copy of which is hereby attached, are
necessitated to ensure Delaware's compliance with the ASMFC Addendum XXXIV and are hereby adopted. The
above referenced amendment shall take effect 48 hours following publication of this Secretary's Order and
regulation on the Department's website in accordance with 7 Del. C. §903(e)(2)a.2.

Lisa Borin Ogden
For Shawn M. Garvin
Secretary

Scup

3526 Scup Size Limit.

(Penalty Section 7 Del.C. §936(b)(2))
1.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to have in possession any scup, Stenotomus

chrysops, that measures less than nine inches, total length.
2.0 It shall be unlawful for any person who has been issued a commercial food fishing license by the

Department to possess any scup that measures less than nine inches, total length.
3.0 It shall be unlawful for any commercial finfisherman to sell, trade or barter or attempt to sell, trade or

barter any scup or part thereof that is landed in this State by said commercial finfisherman after a date
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when the de minimis amount of commercial landings of scup is determined to have been landed in this
State by the Department. The de minimis amount of scup shall be 0.1% of the coastwide commercial
quota as set forth in the Scup Fishery Management Plan approved by the Atlantic State Marine
Fisheries Commission.

4.0 It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman to have in possession more than 40 30 scup at or
between the place where said scup were caught and said recreational fisherman's personal abode or
temporary or transient place of lodging.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS

Statutory Authority: 24 Delaware Code, Section 3906(a)(1) (24 Del.C. §3906(a)(1))
24 DE Admin. Code 3900

ORDER

3900 Board of Social Work Examiners

After due notice in the Delaware Register of Regulations and two Delaware newspapers, a public hearing was held
on January 22, 2024 at a scheduled meeting of the Delaware Board of Social Work Examiners ("Board") to receive
comments regarding proposed amendments to the Board's rules and regulations. The proposed amendments
change the requirements for direct supervision to specify that supervision may be through 100% live video
conferencing at the discretion of the supervisor. The Code of Ethics is also revised to expand the prohibition
against discrimination to include gender identity and gender expression and to state that all licensees must comply
with the Code of Ethics adopted by the National Association of Social Workers. Telehealth requirements are
revised to exempt individuals practicing through a Delaware interstate telehealth registration from the prerequisite
that the individual hold a Delaware license. Language pertaining to licensure by grandfathering is stricken because
the grandfathering window has closed. Finally, revisions have been made to ensure compliance with style
requirements.

The proposed changes to the rules and regulations were published in the Delaware Register of Regulations,
Volume 27, Issue 7, on January 1, 2024. Notice of the January 22, 2024 hearing was published in the News
Journal (Exhibit 1) and the Delaware State News. Exhibit 2. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. § 10118(a), the date to receive
final written comments was February 6, 2024. The Board deliberated on the proposed revisions at its regularly
scheduled meeting on March 18, 2024.

Summary of the Evidence and Information Submitted

The following exhibits were made a part of the record:

Board Exhibit 1: News Journal Affidavit of Publication.
Board Exhibit 2: Delaware State News Affidavit of Publication.

There was no public comment presented in the form of testimony at the January 22, 2024 hearing. Further, no
written comment was submitted either before the hearing or during the 15 day period following the hearing.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

Pursuant to 24 Del.C. § 3906(a)(1), the Board has the statutory authority to promulgate rules and regulations.

The public was given notice and an opportunity to provide the Board with comments in writing and by testimony on
the proposed amendments to the Board's rules and regulations. There was no verbal testimony or written comment
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submitted. In these circumstances, the Board finds no reason to amend the rules and regulations as proposed.

Decision and Effective Date

The Board has reviewed the proposed regulation as required by 29 Del.C. §10118(b)(3) and has determined that
any assessment of the impact of the proposed regulation on the State's resiliency to climate change is not practical.
The Board further finds that the rules and regulations shall be adopted as final in the form proposed. These
changes will become effective ten days following publication of this Final Order in the Delaware Register of
Regulations.

Text and Citation

The exact text of the rules and regulations, as amended, is attached to this order as Exhibit A.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 18th day of March 2024 by the Delaware Board of Social Work Examiners.

DELAWARE BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS

*Please note: Electronic signatures ("/s/") were accepted pursuant to 6 Del.C. §12A-107(d).

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
January 2024 issue of the Register at page 502 (27 DE Reg. 502). Therefore, the final regulation is not being
republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/final/27 DE Reg 776 04-01-24.htm

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS

Statutory Authority: 21 Delaware Code, Section 4170A (21 Del.C. §4170A)

ORDER

1207 Electronic Speed Monitoring System

Pursuant to the authority provided by 21 Del.C. §4170A, the Delaware Department of Transportation (DelDOT)
established an Electronic Speed Monitoring System (ESMS) program along qualifying roadways across the State
of Delaware.

The Department, through its Division of Transportation Solutions is adopting the regulation to administer the
ESMS program, which is established in support of DelDOT's Highway Safety Improvement Program and, in
particular, its Strategic Highway Safety Plan, which has identified speeding as an emphasis area to target the
overall program goal of reducing fatalities and serious injuries on all public roads.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

1. The public was given notice and the opportunity to provide comments in writing concerning the proposed
regulation. This proposed regulation was originally published in the December 2023 Register and then re-
proposed and replaced in the February 2024 Register. The Department is now finalizing that which was
proposed in the February 2024 Register.

/s/ Jamie Brown, LCSW /s/ Joseph Anastasio, LCSW

/s/ Fran Franklin, Ph.D., LCSW /s/ Kim Epolito

/s/ Janet Urdahl, LCSW Dajoun Sewell (ABSENT)

/s/ Victor Kyler
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2. The proposed regulations are useful and proper, and the Department believes that the adoption of these
regulations is appropriate.

3. Per Section 10118 (b)(3) of Title 29 regarding the State's greenhouse gas emissions reduction targets and
resiliency to climate change, assessment is not practical for this regulation.

Decision and Effective Date

Based on the provision of Delaware law and the record of this docket, I hereby adopt the Electronic Speed
Monitoring System as set forth in the version attached, to be effective April 11, 2024.

It is ordered on this 14 day of March, 2024.

Nicole Majeski, Secretary
Delaware Department of Transportation

*Please note that no changes were made to the regulation as originally proposed and published in the
February 2024 issue of the Register at page 592 (27 DE Reg. 592). Therefore, the final regulation is not
being republished. A copy of the final regulation is available at:

https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/final/27 DE Reg 777 04-01-24.htm
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

Statutory Authority: 18 Delaware Code, Sections 3366 and 3570A (18 Del.C. §§ 3366 and 
3570A)

NOTICE

Autism Spectrum Disorders Coverage

The purpose of this notice is to comply with 18 Del.C. §§3366(b) (Health Insurance Contracts - Autism
spectrum disorders coverage) and 3570A(b) (Group and Blanket Health Insurance - Autism spectrum disorders
coverage), which require that:

After December 31, 2012, the Insurance Commissioner shall, on or before April 1 of each calendar year,
publish in the Delaware Register of Regulations an adjustment to the maximum benefit [for coverage for
applied behavior analysis services, which is] equal to the change in the United States Department of Labor
Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers (CPI-U) in the preceding year and the published adjusted
maximum benefit shall be applicable to all health insurance policies issued or renewed thereafter.

The General Assembly established the maximum benefit on August 13, 2012 at $36,000 per twelve-month
period per person (See SB No. 22/SA Nos 1&3, 146th Gen. Assem. (2011-2012)), and specified that the benefit
"shall not be subject to any limits on the number of visits an individual may make to an autism services provider, or
that a provider may make to an individual, regardless of the locations in which services are provided."

Using the CPI-U Historical Tables published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics at https://www.bls.gov/
regions/mid-atlantic/data/consumerpriceindexhistorical_us_table.htm, the maximum benefit for coverage for
applied behavior analysis services per person for 2024 is $37,582.78. The maximum per person 2024 benefit shall
go into effect on April 1, 2024 and shall remain in effect until March 31, 2025. 

Questions concerning this notice should be directed to:

Delaware Department of Insurance
ATTN: Consumers Division - Autism spectrum disorders coverage
1351 West North St., Ste. 101
Dover, DE 19904
compliance@delaware.gov (please put "Autism spectrum disorders coverage" in the subject line of the

email).
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR QUALITY

Statutory Authority: 7 Delaware Code, Sections 6006 and 6010 (7 Del.C. §§ 6006 & 6010)

Secretary’s Order No.: 2024-A-0011

RE:             Approving Final Revision to Delaware's State Implementation Plan: Second Limited 
Maintenance Plan Under the 2006 24-hour Fine Particulate Matter National Ambient Air Quality Standard

Date of Issuance: March 12, 2024

Effective Date of the Amendment: March 12, 2024

Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
("Department" or "DNREC"), pursuant to 7 Del.C. §§6006 and 6010, and all other relevant statutory authority, the
following findings of fact based on the record, reasons and conclusions are entered as an Order of the Secretary in
the above-referenced promulgation.

Background, Procedural History and Findings of Fact

This Order relates to the Department's proposed revision to Delaware's State Implementation Plan ("SIP")
addressing the Second Limited Maintenance Plan ("LMP") Under the 2006 24-hour Fine Particulate Matter
("PM2.5") National Ambient Air Quality Standard ("NAAQS"). Delaware is required by Section 110 of the federal
Clean Air Act ("CAA") to submit to U.S. Environmental Protection Agency ("EPA") a SIP that provides for the
implementation, maintenance, and enforcement of the NAAQS established by the EPA. 

A SIP is a complex, fluid document containing regulations, source-specific requirements, and non-regulatory
items such as plans and inventories. Delaware periodically submits revisions to the SIP as required by the CAA to
address air quality nonattainment and maintenance issues. The CAA requires that any proposed SIP revision be
made available for public comment and presented at a public hearing prior to submitting to EPA for adoption.

The EPA establishes the PM2.5 NAAQS to safeguard human health, welfare, and the environment against
criteria pollutants. Particulate Matter consists of solid particles and liquid droplets found in the atmosphere. Fine
particles, known as PM2.5, possess the ability to infiltrate deep into the lungs and degrade environmental health by
reducing visibility. The maintenance plan aims to maintain air quality below the NAAQS and includes provisions for
contingency measures in the event of PM2.5 NAAQS exceedance.

On December 14, 2009, EPA designated the Philadelphia-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE ("Philadelphia NAA") as
nonattainment for the 2006 24-hour PM2.5 NAAQS. Subsequently, years later in 2014, the Philadelphia NAA was
classified as "Moderate" non-attainment. The Philadelphia Area includes New Castle County in Delaware;
Burlington, Camden, and Gloucester Counties in New Jersey; and Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and
Philadelphia Counties in Pennsylvania.

The EPA requires states with nonattainment areas that are redesignated to attainment to establish a
maintenance plan outlining procedures in the event an area experiences an exceedance of the 2006 24-hour

PM2.5 NAAQS threshold of 35 micrograms per cubic meter of air (µg/m3). Moreover, the plan must include control
measures to uphold maintenance and contingency provisions to assure that the State will promptly correct any
violation of the standard occurring after the area's redesignation as attainment. Additionally, the plan must
implement these measures to maintain attainment for 10 years. 

In 2012, Delaware submitted the first 10-year maintenance plan and redesignation request, through 2025, in
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adherence to Section 175A of the CAA. This plan formally requested that EPA redesignate the moderate
nonattainment area to attainment for the 2006 24-hr PM2.5 NAAQS. As a result, the EPA approved Delaware's 10-
year Maintenance Plan on August 5, 2014, and effective September 4, 2014, the area was redesignated as
attainment for the PM2.5 NAAQS under the final rule (79 FR 45350). 

As outlined in Section 175A of the CAA and 42 U.S.C. §7505(b) states must submit revisions to the first 10-
year maintenance plan eight years after the EPA approved the area's original redesignation (September 4, 2014).
The second maintenance plan constitutes a SIP revision and must provide for maintenance of the relevant NAAQS
in the area for an additional 10 years following the first 10-year period, including contingency measures to ensure
prompt correction of any violation of the NAAQS. Additionally, Section 175A of the CAA further states that the plan
shall contain additional measures, if any, deemed necessary to ensure such maintenance. Mobile vehicle emission
budgets for transportation conformity purposes are also established within the second maintenance plan.

While Section 175A of the CAA mandates Delaware to submit a second maintenance plan by September 4,
2022, the EPA's Region III Office of Air Program Planning deferred the submission of the revised SIP, in order to
create specific Limited Maintenance Program guidance for PM2.5. 

On October 27, 2022, the EPA released Guidance on the Limited Maintenance Plan Option for Moderate PM2.5

Nonattainment Areas and PM2.5 Maintenance Areas (PM2.5 LMP Guidance). The EPA developed this guidance for
areas that have been meeting the PM2.5 NAAQS for five years or longer, have a 'moderate' designation, have
already been redesignated to attainment, and are in the process submitting a second maintenance plan under the
CAA Section 175A. The PM2.5 LMP Guidance applies the EPA's 2001 Limited Maintenance Plan Option for
Moderate PM10 Nonattainment Areas Guidance (PM10 LMP Guidance). The PM10 LMP Guidance gave States with
low design values and limited growth in on-road motor vehicle PM10 emissions, the option of submitting a Limited
Maintenance Plan.

This guidance allows Delaware to adhere to an LMP under two conditions: (1) if the annual average design
values ("ADV") of PM2.5 are below the identified threshold level or below the critical design value ("CDV") for New
Castle County and 2) future growth in the area does not exceed the motor vehicle regional emissions analysis test
requirements. An LMP requires states to submit a plan based on an analysis of current and historical air quality
data.

The Department conducted analysis of Delaware's PM2.5 24-hr NAAQS 3-year interval average within the past
five years, specifically monitoring New Castle County from 2014-2020. The analysis determined the ADV for PM2.5

in New Castle County measured 19.00 µg/m3. This design value is less than the CDV, which amounts to 30.3 µg/

m3 for Delaware. Therefore, New Castle County meets the first criterion of having low design values and qualifies
to submit an LMP. 

Furthermore, the Department demonstrated that the Motor Vehicle Analysis is less than the CDV for Delaware

(30.3 µg/m3). Utilizing the 2017 Emissions Inventory data and the projected increase in vehicle miles traveled
(VMT) over the 10-year maintenance period between 2025-2035 (0.065) and the New Castle County's ADV of

19.00 µg/m3, the Department calculated the motor vehicle analysis for New Castle County is 19.43 µg/m3. This
analysis concludes Delaware meets the second criterion necessary for submitting an LMP. 

In accordance with EPA's PM2.5 LMP Guidance, additional guidance received from EPA's Region 3 Office of
Air Program Planning, and the requirements of Section 175A of the CAA, the Department is proposing revisions to
the SIP, to satisfy the requirements of the second 10-year Particulate Matter Limited Maintenance Plan. The
second PM2.5 LMP ensures that Delaware will continue to maintain the NAAQS through 2035 and addresses the
following elements:
• Emission Inventory - 2008 Attainment Year Inventory to identify the level of emissions sufficient to achieve the

NAAQS and 2017 emissions inventory to show emissions reductions.
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• Monitoring Network - description of PM2.5 monitoring network.
• Control Measures - controls needed to attain the NAAQS.
• Contingency Plan - specific control measures that could be implemented if the area fails to meet the 2006 24-

hr PM2.5 NAAQS.
• Maintenance Demonstration - demonstrates that the area has continued to meet the NAAQS.

The Department has the statutory basis and legal authority to act with regard to the proposed SIP revision
pursuant to 7 Del.C. Chapter 60. The Department published the General Notice of this proposed SIP revision, and
of the January 23, 2024, public hearing to be held in this matter, in the January 1, 2024, Delaware Register of
Regulations. The Record remained open for comment following the public hearing through February 7, 2024. No
public comment was received by the Department during any phase of this hearing matter. All proper notification
and noticing requirements concerning this matter were met by the Department. Proper notice of the hearing was
provided as required by law.

The Department's presiding hearing officer, Theresa Smith, prepared a Hearing Officer's Report dated
February 8, 2024 ("Report"). The Report documents the proper completion of the required SIP revision process,
establishes the Record, and recommends the approval of the proposed SIP revision into Delaware's SIP
document. The Department will meet the attainment plan requirements associated with the PM2.5 NAAQS, as set
forth in Section 175A of the CAA and 42 U.S.C. §7505(b) and provide EPA with revisions to Delaware's SIP -
Second Limited Maintenance Plan Under the 2006 24-hour Fine Particulate Matter National Ambient Air Quality
Standard, as attached to the Report as Appendix "A."

Reasons and Conclusions

Based on the Record developed by the Department's experts and established by the Hearing Officer's Report,
I find that the Department's proposed revision to Delaware's SIP - Second Limited Maintenance Plan Under the
2006 24-hour Fine Particulate Matter National Ambient Air Quality Standard, meets the attainment plan
requirements associated with the PM2.5 NAAQS, as set forth in Section 175A of the CAA and 42 U.S.C. §7505(b).
I further find that the Department's experts in the Division of Air Quality fully developed the Record to support
adoption of the proposed SIP revisions as final. Therefore, the recommendations of the Hearing Officer are hereby
adopted, and I direct that the same be promulgated as final.

The following reasons and conclusions are hereby entered:

1. The Department has the statutory basis and legal authority to act with regard to this proposed SIP revision,
pursuant to 7 Del.C. Ch. 60;

2. The Department has jurisdiction under its statutory authority, pursuant to 7 Del.C. Ch. 60, to issue an Order
adopting this proposed SIP revision as final;

3. The Department provided adequate public notice of this proposed SIP modifications, and all proceedings
associated with the same, in a manner required by the law and regulations. The Department provided the
public with an adequate opportunity to comment on the proposed SIP revisions, and held the Record open for
receipt of public comment subsequent to the date of the hearing (through February 7, 2024), consistent with
Delaware law, in order to consider the same before making any final decision;

4. The Department's Hearing Officer's Report, including its established Record and the recommended
proposed SIP revisions as set forth in Appendix "A," is hereby adopted to provide additional reasons and
findings for this Order;

5. Promulgation of the proposed SIP revisions will enable the Department to meet the attainment plan
requirements associated with the PM2.5 NAAQS, as set forth in Section 175A of the CAA and 42 U.S.C.
§7505(b) and provide EPA with revisions to Delaware's SIP - Second Limited Maintenance Plan Under the
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2006 24-hour Fine Particulate Matter National Ambient Air Quality Standard;

6. The Department's proposed SIP revision, as published in the January 1, 2024 Delaware Register of
Regulations is set forth in Appendix "A" as noted above, and is adequately supported, is not arbitrary or
capricious, and is consistent with the applicable laws and regulations. Consequently, it is approved as a final
revision to Delaware's SIP document, which shall become effective immediately upon the signing of this Order;

7. The Department has an adequate Record for its decision, and no further public hearing is appropriate or
necessary; and

8. The Department shall submit this Order approving as final revisions to Delaware's SIP document to the
Delaware Register of Regulations for publication in its next available issue and provide such other notice as the
law and regulation require and the Department determines is appropriate.

 Shawn M. Garvin
Secretary

*Please Note: Due to the size and formatting requirements of the notice document, it is being attached here
as a PDF document:
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/general/Appendix A - Proposed Daily 2006 PM25 Limited 

Maintenance Plan 12-13-2023.pdf
http://regulations.delaware.gov/register/april2024/general/Attachment to Appendix A- Proposed Daily 2006 

PM25 Limited Maintenance Plan 12-13-2023.pdf

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
DIVISION OF TRANSPORTATION SOLUTIONS

Traffic Engineering Section
Statutory Authority: 21 Delaware Code, Section 4505(d)(1) (21 Del.C. §4505(d)(1))

NOTICE

Senate Bill 89 as amended by Senate Amendment 1 - Keenwick West Subdivision

March 4, 2024

Yvette Smallwood
Registrar of Regulations
411 Legislative Avenue
Dover, DE 19901

Ms. Smallwood, 

The Delaware General Assembly introduced Senate Bill 89 as amended by Senate Amendment 1 on March 18,
2021. The legislation which relates to traffic control devices for size and weight of vehicles and loads was
subsequently signed by Governor Carney on June 30, 2021. 

The legislation, which amends §4505 of Title 21 of the Delaware Code, provides as follows:

§4505. Traffic control devices.
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(d)(1) The Secretary of the Department shall submit an order issued under subsection (c) of this section to
the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Register of Regulations. The Secretary shall also publish
the order on the Department's website with other similar orders.

In accordance with 21 Del. C. §4505(d)(1), Notice is hereby given by Delaware Department of Transportation,
Traffic Engineering Section, as approved and ordered by the Secretary of the Department of Transportation
pursuant to 21 Del. C. §4505(c), for the following permanent traffic control device for the safe movement of traffic in
the area:

"No Trucks Over 2 Axles Except Local Services" on all local streets in the Keenwick West subdivision

Please accept this notification by the Delaware Department of Transportation in order to publish the information in
the Register of Regulations.

Thank you, 
Peter Haag
Chief of Traffic Engineering
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DELAWARE RIVER BASIN COMMISSION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The Delaware River Basin Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, May 8, 2024, commencing at
1:30 p.m. The public hearing will be conducted remotely. The draft docket decisions and draft resolutions that will
be subjects of the public hearing, along with details about the remote platform and how to attend, will be posted on
the Commission's website, www.drbc.gov, at least ten (10) days prior to the meeting date.

The Commission's quarterly business meeting will be held on Wednesday, June 5, 2024, commencing at 10:30
a.m. at the Tusten Theatre, 210 Bridge Street, Narrowsburg, NY 12764. An agenda will be posted on the
Commission's website, www.drbc.gov, at least ten (10) days prior to the meeting date.

For additional information, including links to live streams of these events, please visit the DRBC website at
www.drbc.gov or contact Patricia Hausler at patricia.hausler@drbc.gov.

Pamela M. Bush, J.D., M.R.P.
Commission Secretary and Assistant General Counsel

DELAWARE STATE FIRE PREVENTION COMMISSION
PUBLIC NOTICE

710 Ambulance Service Regulations

The Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission, pursuant to 16 Del.C. § 6604(1), proposes to revise
regulation 710. The proposed regulations change the age requirement for EMT students in subsection 15.4.3. This
amendment will be in addition to amendments recently proposed in February 2024.

The Board will accept written comments, which should be sent to Sherry Lambertson, Executive Specialist for
the Delaware Fire Prevention Commission, Delaware Fire Service Center, 1463 Chestnut Grove Road, Dover, DE
19904. Written comments may also be sent by email to the following email address:
fire.commission@delaware.gov. The Public Comment period will end on Friday, May 3, 2024.

The proposed additions to the rule are reflected in underline. Deletions are reflected in strike through.

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
HARNESS RACING COMMISSION

PUBLIC NOTICE
501 Harness Racing Rules and Regulations

Summary
The Harness Racing Commission (the "Commission") proposes to amend its Regulation in accordance with 3
Del.C. §10005. The proposed regulations amend Rules 3.3, 5.3.2.1, 5.3.5, 7.4.1.6, 8.3.5.9.6, and 8.5.1 to change
Racing Office operating procedures, impose accountability on substitute trainers for horse conditions on the day of
a race, and change horse qualifying eligibility to adhere to the practice used by the Commission. Other sections of
the Regulation issued by the Commission are not affected by the aforementioned proposals. 

Comments
A copy of the proposed regulations is being published in the April 1, 2024 edition of the Delaware Register of
Regulations. A copy is also on file in the office of the Harness Racing Commission 2320 South Dupont Highway,
Dover, Delaware 19901 and is available for inspection during regular office hours. Copies are also published online
at the Register of Regulations website: https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/current_issue.shtml.

Interested parties may offer written comments on the proposed regulations or submit written suggestions, data,
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briefs or other materials to the Commission at the above address as to whether these proposed regulations should
be adopted, rejected or modified. Pursuant to 29 Del.C. § 10118(a), public comments must be received on or
before May 1, 2024. Written materials submitted will be available for inspection at the above address.

Adoption of Proposed Regulation
On or after May 1, 2024, following review of the public comment, the Commission will determine whether to amend
its regulations by adopting the proposed rules or make additional changes because of the public comments
received.

Effective Date of Amendments to Regulations
If adopted by the Commission, the amendments shall take effect ten days after being published as final in the
Delaware Register of Regulations.

Delaware Harness Racing Commission

Mark A. Davis, Executive Director

DELAWARE STANDARDBRED BREEDERS’ FUND
PUBLIC NOTICE

502 Standardbred Breeders' Fund Regulations

Summary
The State of Delaware, Department of Agriculture's Standardbred Breeders' Fund ("the Fund") hereby gives notice
of its intention to amend its Regulation in accordance with 29 Del.C. §4815(b)(4)b.2. The proposed regulation
amends Rules 10.2.2 and 10.2.3 by eliminating the restriction on Delaware stallions from being able to breed
during racing season, and instead, permits stallions to compete and breed simultaneously. This proposal is an
attempt to allow greater flexibility to small breeders. Other sections of the Regulation issued by the Commission
are not affected by the aforementioned proposals.

Comments
A copy of the proposed regulations is being published in the April 1, 2024 edition of the Delaware Register of
Regulations. A copy is also on file in the office of the Standardbred Breeders' Fund, 2320 South Dupont Highway,
Dover, Delaware 19901 and is available for inspection during regular office hours. Copies are also published online
at the Register of Regulations website: https://regulations.delaware.gov/register/current_issue.shtml.

The Fund solicits, and will consider, timely filed written comments from interested individuals and groups
concerning these proposed amended regulations. The deadline for the filing of such written comments will be thirty
days (30) after these proposed amended regulations are promulgated in the Delaware Register of Regulations.
Any such submissions should be mailed or hand-delivered to Ms. Judy Davis-Wilson, Administrator, Delaware
Standardbred Breeders' Fund Program whose address is State of Delaware, Department of Agriculture, 2320
South duPont Highway, Dover, Delaware 19901 by May 1, 2024.

Adoption of Proposed Regulation
On or after May 1, 2024, following review of the public comment, the Fund will determine whether to amend its
regulations by adopting the proposed rules or make additional changes because of the public comments received.

Effective Date of Amendments to Regulations
If adopted by the Fund, the amendments shall take effect ten days after being published as final in the Delaware
Register of Regulations.

Delaware Standardbred Breeders Fund
Judy Davis-Wilson, Executive Administrator
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DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
PUBLIC NOTICE

The State Board of Education meets monthly, generally at 5:00pm on the third Thursday of the month. These
meetings are open to the public. The Board rotates locations of regular meetings among the three counties.

The State Board of Education provides information about meeting dates and times, materials, minutes, and
audio recordings on its website: 
https://education.delaware.gov/community/governance/state-board-of-education/sbe-monthly-meetings/

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
OFFICE OF THE STATE LOTTERY

PUBLIC NOTICE
203 Video Lottery and Table Game Regulations

A. Type of Regulatory Action Required
Amendment to Existing Regulations

B. Synopsis of Subject Matter of the Regulation
Pursuant to 29 Del.C. §4805, the Delaware State Lottery proposes to amend 10 DE Admin. Code 203 Video
Lottery and Table Game Regulations. The Delaware State Lottery will seek public comments on the issue of
whether certain amendments to its current regulation should be adopted.

The proposed amendments are to subsections 4.18, 4.19, 14.14.1, 14.14.2, 14.14.3 in 10 DE Admin. Code 203.

The amendment to these subsections will simplify current regulations that unnecessarily assign different term
lengths to initial gaming licenses versus renewal gaming licenses. 

Persons wishing to present their views regarding this matter may do so by submitting written comments by the
close of business on or before May 1, 2024 at the offices of the Delaware State Lottery at 1575 McKee Road, Suite
102, Dover, DE 19904. A copy of these regulations is available from the above address or may be viewed at the
Delaware State Lottery office at the same address.

C. Summary of Proposal

The first proposed amendment is to subsection 4.18 and makes all Gaming Vendor licenses valid for 3 years.

The second proposed amendment is to subsection 4.19 and makes all Non-Gaming Vendor licenses valid for 4
years. 

The third proposed amendment is to subsection 14.14.1 and makes all Gaming Room Service licenses valid for 5
years. 

The fourth proposed amendment is to subsection 14.14.2 and makes all Gaming Service licenses valid for 4 years.

The fifth proposed amendment is to subsection 14.14.3 and makes all Key licenses valid for 3 years.
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DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENTAL 
CONTROL

DIVISION OF AIR QUALITY
PUBLIC NOTICE

1130 Title V State Operating Permit Program

1. TITLE OF THE REGULATIONS:
        7 DE Admin. Code 1130 "Title V State Operating Permit Program"

2. BRIEF SYNOPSIS OF THE SUBJECT, SUBSTANCE AND ISSUES:
The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) is proposing to amend 7 DE

Admin. Code 1130, Section 6.0 "Permit Contents", subsections 6.7 and 6.1.3.3.3.1 to remove emergency
affirmative defense provisions and references. 7 DE Admin. Code 1130 is based on Title 40 of the Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR) Part 70, which outlines requirements for state operating permit programs. Subsection 6.7 of
1130 includes guidance on claiming affirmative defenses for emission exceedances for emergencies.

On July 21, 2023, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) issued a final rule (88 FR 47029) which
removed all emergency affirmative defense provisions for state and federal operating permit programs in 40 CFR
Part 70.6(g) and 71.6(g). Therefore, the Division is proposing to remove the emergency affirmative defense
provisions and references from 7 DE Admin. Code 1130, to maintain consistency with the current federal
requirements.

Additional amendments correct a typographical error (7 DE Admin. Code 1130, Section 8.0 of Appendix A
"Insignificant Activities"). This correction is not substantive and does not change the intent or purpose of the
regulation.

3. POSSIBLE TERMS OF THE AGENCY ACTION:
None.

4. STATUTORY BASIS OR LEGAL AUTHORITY TO ACT:
    7 Del.C. Ch. 60, Section 6010 (a) and (c).

5. OTHER REGULATIONS THAT MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE PROPOSAL:
    None.

6. NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT:
A virtual public hearing (Docket # 2023-R-A-0015) will be held on Thursday, April 25, 2024, beginning at 6 p.m.

The web link to the virtual hearing can be accessed through the DNREC Public Hearings site at https://de.gov/
dnrechearings. If prompted for a password, please use: 098243. To access the audio-only portion of the virtual
hearing, dial 1-646-931-3860 and enter the Meeting ID 889 9258 3729. Closed captioning in over 20 languages,
including English and Spanish, is available to attendees via the Zoom platform utilized for all DNREC Public
Hearings.

Those wishing to offer verbal comments during DNREC public hearings must pre-register no later than noon
on the date of the virtual hearing at https://de.gov/dnreccomments or by telephone at 302-739-9001.

The proposed amendments may be inspected online starting April 1, 2024 at http://regulations.delaware.gov/
services/current_issue.shtml, or in-person, by appointment only, by contacting Taylor Englert by phone at 302-323-
4542 or by email at Taylor.Englert@delaware.gov.

The Department will accept public comment through the close of business on Friday, May 10, 2024. Comments
will be accepted in written form via email to DNRECHearingComments@delaware.gov, or by using the online form
at https://de.gov/dnreccomments, or by U.S. mail to the following address:

Theresa Smith, Hearing Officer
DNREC - Office of the Secretary
89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901
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7. PREPARED BY:
Taylor Englert
Division of Air Quality-DNREC
715 Grantham Ln, New Castle, DE 19720
Phone: (302)323-4542; email: Taylor.Englert@delaware.gov

DEPARTMENT OF STATE
OFFICE OF THE ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSIONER

PUBLIC NOTICE
601 (Formerly Rule 35.1) Gathering Licenses

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
under the authority of 4 Del.C. §304, the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner proposes to update
its rules related to gathering licenses issued by the Office of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner.

The Commissioner previously noticed and published proposed changes to 4 DE Admin Code 601 in the
January 1, 2024 edition of the Delaware Register of Regulations and afforded a 30 day period for public comment.
The Commissioner published a General Notice on February 1, 2024, to extend the public comment period an
additional 30 days, until March 4, 2024, because of a nonfunctioning email address included in the notice.

Based upon the comments received during the public comment period, which has expired, the Commissioner
determined that substantive changes to the regulation are needed and hereby notices and proposes additional
changes for public comment. These additional changes relate primarily to how a nonprofit organization is defined;
the new proposed changes track specific language used by the Internal Revenue Service. In addition, the
proposed changes include a specific post-gathering event report, a report which requests 3 numbers related to the
sales and net proceeds of alcohol, including total alcohol sales and/or portion of ticket sales related to alcohol;
costs of the alcohol; and the net proceeds from the sale of alcohol at the event.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10116, persons wishing to submit written comments, suggestions, briefs, and
compilations of data or other written materials concerning the proposed regulations should direct them to the
following address:

Doug Denison
Deputy Commissioner
Office of the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner
820 N. French St., 10th Floor
Wilmington, DE 19801

Comments may also be directed via electronic mail to oabccquestions@delaware.gov. Any written submission
in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed regulations must be received by the Delaware Alcoholic
Beverage Control Commissioner no later than 4:00 p.m. EST, May 2, 2024.

The action concerning determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon
consideration of the written comments and any other written materials filed by the public.

OFFICE OF THE ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSIONER
PUBLIC NOTICE

911 A Rule Permitting Limited Self-Delivery of Beer

In compliance with the State's Administrative Procedures Act (Title 29, Chapter 101 of the Delaware Code) and
under the authority of 4 Del.C. §304, the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner proposes to
establish a new rule related to permitting limited self-delivery of beer in the State.

In accordance with 29 Del.C. §10116, persons wishing to submit written comments, suggestions, briefs, and
compilations of data or other written materials concerning the proposed regulations should direct them to the
following address:
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Doug Denison
Deputy Commissioner
Office of the Delaware Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner
820 N. French St., 10th Floor
Wilmington, DE 19801

Comments may also be directed via electronic mail to OABCCrulescomments@delaware.gov. Any written
submission in response to this notice and relevant to the proposed regulations must be received by the Delaware
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner no later than 4:00 p.m. EST, May 2, 2024.

The action concerning determination of whether to adopt the proposed regulations will be based upon
consideration of the written comments and any other written materials filed by the public.
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